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The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the HHS - Division of Health Service 

Regulation intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules 

cited as 10A NCAC 14C .1601, .1603, .1701, .1703, .1901, .1903, 

.2401, .2701, .2703, .3701, .3703, readopt without substantive 

changes the rule cited as 10A NCAC 14C .2403, and repeal 

through readoption the rules cited as 10A NCAC 14C .2301, 

.2303, .2501, .2503, .2601, and .2603. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 31, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  By Webex. Participants may log in 15 minutes before 

meeting begins. To join the meeting by audio only or by audio and 

video: Copy this link to your browser (preferably Google 

Chrome):  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/onstage/g.php?MTID=ee186691

c2ec542255615a59edf2f4214.  

Meeting password (case sensitive): rules. Access code: 161 511 

9699.  

To join the meeting by telephone audio only: Call telephone 

number: 415-655-0003; Access code: 161 511 9699 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 14C, Certificate 

of Need Regulations, these 18 proposed rules for readoption were 

part of the 39 rules determined as "Necessary With Substantive 

Public Interest," requiring readoption.  With input from 

stakeholders, substantive changes are being made to 11 of these 

proposed rules, non-substantive changes are being made to one 

proposed rule, and six rules are proposed for readoption as a 

repeal.  

 

Substantive changes have been made to definitions to revise and 

update terms that apply to CON application performance 

standards for cardiac catheterization equipment, open-heart 

surgery services and heart-lung bypass machines, linear 

accelerators, magnetic resonance imaging scanners, positron 

emission tomography scanners and intermediate care facilities 

for individuals with intellectual disabilities. 

 

Substantive changes have been made to these proposed rules to 

revise, condense, clarify, and remove unnecessary text in the 

Certificate of Need applicant performance standards criteria for 

acquiring fixed, shared fixed, or mobile cardiac catheterization 

equipment, a fixed or mobile MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) 

scanner, a fixed or mobile PET (positron emission tomography), 

and a linear accelerator pursuant to a need determination in the 

State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the 

review period. The performance projections for proposed MRI 

scanner acquisition applicants has been lowered. Substantive 

changes have been made to revise, condense, clarify, and remove 

unnecessary text in the performance standards criteria for 

developing a new open-heart surgery service and acquiring a 

heart-lung bypass machine.  

 

The six rules proposed for readoption as a repeal are no longer 

necessary because the Certificate of Need applicant performance 

standards are obsolete for CT (computed tomography) scanners, 

substance use disorder (chemical dependency treatment) beds, 

and psychiatric beds.   

 

In addition, non-substantive and technical changes were made to 

the proposed rules. Non substantive changes include updating to 

ICF/IID terminology and removing references to State Medical 

Facilities Plan adjusted need determinations no longer relevant. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 13, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by 

the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the 

rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-

21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves 

the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, 

delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further 

questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14C – CERTIFICATE OF NEED 

REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .1600 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

CARDIAC CATHETERIZATION EQUIPMENT AND 

CARDIAC ANGIOPLASTY EQUIPMENT 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1601 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved" means the equipment was not in 

operation prior to the beginning of the review 

period and had been issued a certificate of need. 

(2) "Capacity" of an item of cardiac catheterization 

equipment means 1500 diagnostic-equivalent 

procedures per year. One therapeutic cardiac 

catheterization procedure is valued at 1.75 

diagnostic-equivalent procedures. One cardiac 

catheterization procedure performed on a 

patient age 14 or under is valued at two 

diagnostic-equivalent procedures. All other 

procedures are valued at one 

diagnostic-equivalent procedure. 

(3) "Cardiac catheterization equipment" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in G.S. 

131E-176(2f). 

(4) "Cardiac catheterization procedure," for the 

purpose of determining utilization in a 

certificate of need review, means a single 

episode of diagnostic or therapeutic 

catheterization which occurs during one visit to 

a cardiac catheterization room, whereby a 

flexible tube is inserted into the patient's body 

and advanced into the heart chambers to 

perform a hemodynamic or angiographic 

examination or therapeutic intervention of the 

left or right heart chamber, or coronary arteries. 

A cardiac catheterization procedure does not 

include a simple right heart catheterization for 

monitoring purposes as might be done in an 

electrophysiology laboratory, pulmonary 

angiography procedure, cardiac pacing through 

a right electrode catheter, temporary pacemaker 

insertion, or procedures performed in dedicated 

angiography or electrophysiology rooms. 

(5) "Cardiac catheterization room" means a room 

or a mobile unit in which there is cardiac 

catheterization or cardiac angioplasty 

equipment for the performance of cardiac 

catheterization procedures. Dedicated 

angiography rooms and electrophysiology 

rooms are not cardiac catheterization rooms. 

(6) "Cardiac catheterization service area" means a 

geographical area defined by the applicant, 

which has boundaries that are not farther than 

90 road miles from the facility, if the facility has 

a comprehensive cardiac services program; and 

not farther than 45 road miles from the facility 

if the facility performs only diagnostic cardiac 

catheterization procedures; except that the 

cardiac catheterization service area of an 

academic medical center teaching hospital 

designated in 10A NCAC 14B shall not be 

limited to 90 road miles. 

(7) "Cardiac catheterization services" means the 

provision of diagnostic cardiac catheterization 

procedures or therapeutic cardiac 

catheterization procedures performed utilizing 

cardiac catheterization equipment in a cardiac 

catheterization room. 

(8) "Comprehensive cardiac services program" 

means a cardiac services program which 

provides the full range of clinical services 

associated with the treatment of cardiovascular 

disease including community outreach, 

emergency treatment of cardiovascular 

illnesses, non-invasive diagnostic imaging 

modalities, diagnostic and therapeutic cardiac 

catheterization procedures, open heart surgery 

and cardiac rehabilitation services. Community 

outreach and cardiac rehabilitation services 

shall be provided by the applicant or through 

arrangements with other agencies and facilities 

located in the same city. All other components 

of a comprehensive cardiac services program 

shall be provided within a single facility. 

(9) "Diagnostic cardiac catheterization procedure," 

for the purpose of determining utilization in a 

certificate of need review, means a cardiac 

catheterization procedure performed for the 

purpose of detecting and identifying defects or 

diseases in the coronary arteries or veins of the 

heart, or abnormalities in the heart structure, but 

not the pulmonary artery. 

(10) "Electrophysiology procedure" means a 

diagnostic or therapeutic procedure performed 

to study the electrical conduction activity of the 

heart and characterization of atrial ventricular 

arrhythmias. 
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(11) "Existing" means the equipment was in 

operation prior to the beginning of the review 

period. 

(12) "High-risk patient" means a person with 

reduced life expectancy because of left main or 

multi-vessel coronary artery disease, often with 

impaired left ventricular function and with 

other characteristics as referenced in the 

American College of Cardiology/ Society for 

Cardiac Angiography and Interventions 

Clinical Expert Consensus Document on 

Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory Standards 

(June 2001) report. 

(13) "Mobile equipment" means cardiac 

catheterization equipment and transporting 

equipment which is moved to provide services 

at two or more host facilities. 

(14) "Percutaneous transluminal coronary 

angioplasty (PTCA)" is one type of therapeutic 

cardiac catheterization procedure used to treat 

coronary artery disease in which a 

balloon-tipped catheter is placed in the diseased 

artery and then inflated to compress the plaque 

blocking the artery. 

(15) "Primary cardiac catheterization service area" 

means a geographical area defined by the 

applicant, which has boundaries that are not 

farther than 45 road miles from the facility, if 

the facility has a comprehensive cardiac 

services program; and not farther than 23 road 

miles from the facility if the facility performs 

only diagnostic cardiac catheterization 

procedures; except that the primary cardiac 

catheterization service area of an academic 

medical center teaching hospital designated in 

10A NCAC 14B shall not be limited to 45 road 

miles. 

(16) "Therapeutic cardiac catheterization 

procedure," for the purpose of determining 

utilization in a certificate of need review, means 

a cardiac catheterization procedure performed 

for the purpose of treating or resolving 

anatomical or physiological conditions which 

have been determined to exist in the heart or 

coronary arteries or veins of the heart, but not 

the pulmonary artery. 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Angiography procedures" means procedures 

performed using cardiac catheterization 

equipment that are not cardiac catheterization 

services. 

(2) "Approved cardiac catheterization equipment" 

means cardiac catheterization equipment that 

was issued a certificate of need but is not being 

used to provide cardiac catheterization services 

as of the application deadline for the review 

period. 

(3) "Cardiac catheterization equipment" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(2f). 

(4) "Cardiac catheterization services" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(2g). 

(5) "Diagnostic-equivalent cardiac catheterization 

procedures" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in the annual State Medical Facilities 

Plan in effect as of the first day of the review 

period. 

(6) "Existing cardiac catheterization equipment" 

means cardiac catheterization equipment that is 

being used to offer cardiac catheterization 

services as of the application deadline for the 

review period. 

(7) "Fixed cardiac catheterization equipment" 

means cardiac catheterization equipment that is 

not mobile or shared fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment. 

(8) "Fixed cardiac catheterization equipment 

service area" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in the annual State Medical Facilities 

Plan in effect as of the first day of the review 

period. 

(9) "Host site" means the location where the mobile 

cardiac catheterization equipment provides 

cardiac catheterization services. 

(10) "Mobile cardiac catherization equipment" 

means cardiac catheterization equipment that is 

moved weekly to provide cardiac 

catheterization services at two or more host 

sites. 

(11) "Mobile cardiac catheterization equipment 

service area" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in the annual State Medical Facilities 

Plan in effect as of the first day of the review 

period. 

(12) "Proposed cardiac catheterization equipment" 

means the cardiac catheterization equipment 

proposed in the certificate of need application. 

(13) "Shared fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment" means fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment that is used to perform cardiac 

catheterization procedures and angiography 

procedures. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183; 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1603 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire cardiac catheterization 

equipment shall demonstrate that the project is capable of meeting 

the following standards: 

(1) each proposed item of cardiac catheterization 

equipment, including mobile equipment but 

excluding shared fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment, shall be utilized at an annual rate of 

at least 60 percent of capacity excluding 

procedures not defined as cardiac 
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catheterization procedures in 10A NCAC 14C 

.1601(5), measured during the fourth quarter of 

the third year following completion of the 

project; 

(2) if the applicant proposes to perform therapeutic 

cardiac catheterization procedures, each of the 

applicant's therapeutic cardiac catheterization 

teams shall be performing at an annual rate of 

at least 100 therapeutic cardiac catheterization 

procedures, during the third year of operation 

following completion of the project; 

(3) if the applicant proposes to perform diagnostic 

cardiac catheterization procedures, each 

diagnostic cardiac catheterization team shall be 

performing at an annual rate of at least 200 

diagnostic-equivalent cardiac catheterization 

procedures by the end of the third year 

following completion of the project; 

(4) at least 50 percent of the projected cardiac 

catheterization procedures shall be performed 

on patients residing within the primary cardiac 

catheterization service area; 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment shall: 

(1) demonstrate that each existing item of cardiac 

catheterization equipment, excluding mobile 

equipment, located in the proposed primary 

cardiac catheterization service area of each host 

facility shall have been operated at a level of at 

least 80 percent of capacity during the 12 month 

period reflected in the most recent licensure 

form on file with the Division of Health Service 

Regulation; 

(2) demonstrate that the utilization of each existing 

or approved item of cardiac catheterization 

equipment, excluding mobile equipment, 

located in the proposed primary cardiac 

catheterization service area of each host facility 

shall not be expected to fall below 60 percent of 

capacity due to the acquisition of the proposed 

mobile cardiac catheterization equipment; 

(3) demonstrate that each item of existing mobile 

equipment operating in the proposed primary 

cardiac catheterization service area of each host 

facility shall have been performing at least an 

average of four diagnostic-equivalent cardiac 

catheterization procedures per day per site in 

the proposed cardiac catheterization service 

area in the 12 month period preceding the 

submittal of the application; 

(4) demonstrate that each item of existing or 

approved mobile equipment to be operating in 

the proposed primary cardiac catheterization 

service area of each host facility shall be 

performing at least an average of four 

diagnostic-equivalent cardiac catheterization 

procedures per day per site in the proposed 

cardiac catheterization service area in the 

applicant's third year of operation; and 

(5) provide documentation of all assumptions and 

data used in the development of the projections 

required in this Rule. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to acquire cardiac catheterization 

equipment excluding shared fixed and mobile cardiac 

catheterization shall: 

(1) demonstrate that its existing items of cardiac 

catheterization equipment, except mobile 

equipment, located in the proposed cardiac 

catheterization service area operated at an 

average of at least 80 percent of capacity during 

the twelve month period reflected in the most 

recent licensure renewal application form on 

file with the Division of Health Service 

Regulation; 

(2) demonstrate that its existing items of cardiac 

catheterization equipment, except mobile 

equipment, shall be utilized at an average 

annual rate of at least 60 percent of capacity, 

measured during the fourth quarter of the third 

year following completion of the project; and 

(3) provide documentation of all assumptions and 

data used in the development of the projections 

required in this Rule. 

(d)  An applicant proposing to acquire shared fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment as defined in the applicable State 

Medical Facilities Plan shall: 

(1) demonstrate that each proposed item of shared 

fixed cardiac catheterization equipment shall 

perform a combined total of at least 225 cardiac 

catheterization and angiography procedures 

during the fourth quarter of the third year 

following completion of the project; and 

(2) provide documentation of all assumptions and 

data used in the development of the projections 

required in this Rule. 

(e)  If the applicant proposes to perform cardiac catheterization 

procedures on patients age 14 and under, the applicant shall 

demonstrate that it meets the following additional criteria: 

(1) the facility has the capability to perform 

diagnostic and therapeutic cardiac 

catheterization procedures and open heart 

surgery services on patients age 14 and under; 

and 

(2) the proposed project shall be performing at an 

annual rate of at least 100 cardiac 

catheterization procedures on patients age 14 or 

under during the fourth quarter of the third year 

following initiation of the proposed cardiac 

catheterization procedures for patients age 14 

and under. 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment pursuant to a need determination in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of 

the review period shall: 

(1) identify the existing fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment owned or operated 

by the applicant or a related entity and located 
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in the proposed fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment service area; 

(2) identify the approved fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment owned or operated 

by the applicant or a related entity and located 

in the proposed fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment service area; 

(3) provide projected utilization of the cardiac 

catheterization equipment identified in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment during each of the 

first three full fiscal years of operation 

following completion of the project; 

(4) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Paragraph; and 

(5) project that the cardiac catheterization 

equipment identified in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

and (a)(2) of this Paragraph and the proposed 

fixed cardiac catheterization equipment shall 

perform 900 or more diagnostic-equivalent 

cardiac catheterization procedures per unit of 

cardiac catheterization equipment during the 

third full fiscal year of operation following 

completion of the project. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire shared fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment pursuant to a need determination in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of 

the review period shall: 

(1) provide projected utilization of the proposed 

shared fixed cardiac catheterization equipment 

during each of the first three full fiscal years of 

operation following completion of the project; 

(2) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Paragraph; and 

(3) project that the proposed shared fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment shall perform 225 or 

more diagnostic-equivalent cardiac 

catheterization and angiography procedures 

during the third full fiscal year of operation 

following completion of the project. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to acquire mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment pursuant to a need determination in the 

State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the 

review period shall: 

(1) identify the existing mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment owned or operated 

by the applicant or a related entity that provides 

cardiac catheterization services at host sites 

located in the proposed mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment service area; 

(2) identify the approved mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment owned or operated 

by the applicant or a related entity that will 

provide cardiac catheterization services at host 

sites located in the proposed mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment service area; 

(3) provide projected utilization of the cardiac 

catheterization equipment identified in 

Subparagraphs (c)(1) and (c)(2) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment during each of the 

first three full fiscal years of operation 

following completion of the project; 

(4) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (c)(3) of this Paragraph; and 

(5) project that the cardiac catheterization 

equipment identified in Subparagraphs (c)(1) 

and (c)(2) of this Paragraph and the proposed 

mobile cardiac catheterization equipment shall 

perform 225 or more diagnostic-equivalent 

cardiac catheterization procedures per unit of 

cardiac catheterization equipment during the 

third full fiscal year of operation following 

completion of the project. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .1700 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

OPEN-HEART SURGERY SERVICES AND HEART-

LUNG BYPASS MACHINES 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1701 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved heart-lung bypass machine" means 

a heart-lung bypass machine that was not 

operational prior to the beginning of the review 

period. 

(2) "Capacity" of a heart-lung bypass machine 

means 400 adult-equivalent open heart surgical 

procedures per year. One open heart surgical 

procedure on persons age 14 and under is 

valued at two adult open heart surgical 

procedures. For purposes of determining 

capacity, one open heart surgical procedure is 

defined to be one visit or trip by a patient to an 

operating room for an open heart operation. 

(3) "Cardiac Surgical Intensive Care Unit" means 

an intensive care unit as defined in 10A NCAC 

14C .1201(2) and that is for exclusive use by 

post-surgical open heart patients. 

(4) "Existing heart-lung bypass machine" means a 

heart-lung bypass machine in operation prior to 

the beginning of the review period. 

(5) "Heart-lung bypass machine" has the same 

meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(10a). 

(6) "Open heart surgery services" has the same 

meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(18b). 

(7) "Open heart surgical procedures" means 

specialized surgical procedures that: 

(a) utilize a heart-lung bypass machine 

(the "pump"); and 

(b) are designed to correct congenital or 

acquired cardiac and coronary disease 

by opening the chest for surgery on the 
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heart muscle, valves, arteries, or other 

parts of the heart. 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved heart-lung bypass machine" means 

a heart-lung bypass machine that was issued a 

certificate of need but is not being used as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 

(2) "Existing heart-lung bypass machine" means a 

heart-lung bypass machine that is being used as 

of the application deadline for the review 

period. 

(3) "Health service facility" shall have the same 

meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(9b). 

(4) "Heart-lung bypass machine" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(10a). 

(5) "Open-heart surgical procedure" means one 

visit by a patient to an operating room for open 

heart surgery services. 

(6) "Open-heart surgery services" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(18b). 

(7) "Proposed heart-lung bypass machine" means 

the heart-lung bypass machine proposed in the 

application under review. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183; 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1703 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant that proposes to develop open-heart surgery 

services shall: 

(1) demonstrate that the projected utilization and 

proposed staffing patterns are such that each 

open heart surgical team shall perform at least 

150 open heart surgical procedures in the third 

year following completion of the project; and 

(2) document the assumptions and provide data 

supporting the methodology used to make these 

projections. 

(b)  An applicant that proposes to acquire a heart-lung bypass 

machine shall demonstrate either: 

(1) that the applicant's projected annual utilization 

of its existing, approved, and proposed heart-

lung bypass machines (other than a machine 

acquired pursuant to 10A NCAC 14C 

.1703(b)(3)) will be at least 200 open heart 

surgical procedures per machine during the 

third year following completion of the project; 

(2) that the projected annual utilization of its 

existing, approved, and proposed heart-lung 

bypass machines (other than a machine 

acquired pursuant to 10A NCAC 14C 

.1703(b)(3)), will be at least 900 hours per year 

during the third year following completion of 

the project, as measured in minutes used or 

staffed on standby for all procedures; or 

(3) that the proposed machine is needed to provide 

coverage for open-heart surgery emergencies 

and will not be scheduled for use at the same 

time as the applicant's equipment used to 

support scheduled open heart surgical 

procedures. 

(a)  A health service facility that proposes to develop a new open-

heart surgery service shall: 

(1) provide the projected number of open-heart 

surgical procedures to be performed during 

each of the first three full fiscal years of 

operation following completion of the project; 

(2) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Paragraph; and 

(3) project to perform 150 or more open-heart 

surgical procedures in the third full fiscal year 

of operation following completion of the 

project. 

(b)  A health service facility that proposes to acquire a heart-lung 

bypass machine, excluding a heart-lung bypass machine proposed 

to be acquired pursuant to Policy AC-6 in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review 

period, shall: 

(1) provide the number of existing heart-lung 

bypass machines owned or operated by the 

health service facility; 

(2) provide the number of approved heart-lung 

bypass machines that will be owned or operated 

by the health service facility; 

(3) provide projected utilization of the existing and 

approved heart-lung bypass machines 

identified in Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of 

this Paragraph and the proposed heart-lung 

bypass machine during each of the first three 

full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(4) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (b)(3) of this Paragraph; and 

(5) project that the existing and approved heart-

lung bypass machines identified in 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed heart-lung bypass 

machine will be used during the third full fiscal 

year of operation following completion of the 

project: 

(A) to perform 200 or more open-heart 

surgical procedures per heart-lung 

bypass machine; or 

(B) for 900 hours or more per heart-lung 

bypass machine, including time in use 

and time spent on standby, for all types 

of procedures. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .1900 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

RADIATION THERAPY EQUIPMENT LINEAR 

ACCELERATORS 
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10A NCAC 14C .1901 DEFINITIONS 

These definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved linear accelerator" means a linear 

accelerator which was not operational prior to 

the beginning of the review period. 

(2) "Complex Radiation treatment" is equal to 1.0 

ESTV and means: treatment on three or more 

sites on the body; use of techniques such as 

tangential fields with wedges, rotational or arc 

techniques; or use of custom blocking. 

(3) "Equivalent Simple Treatment Visit [ESTV]" 

means one basic unit of radiation therapy which 

normally requires up to fifteen (15) minutes for 

the uncomplicated set-up and treatment of a 

patient on a megavoltage teletherapy unit 

including the time necessary for portal filming. 

(4) "Existing linear accelerator" means a linear 

accelerator in operation prior to the beginning 

of the review period. 

(5) "Intermediate Radiation treatment" means 

treatment on two separate sites on the body, 

three or more fields to a single treatment site or 

use of multiple blocking and is equal to 1.0 

ESTV. 

(6) "Linear accelerator" shall have the same 

meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(14g). 

(7) "Linear accelerator service area" means a single 

or multi-county area as used in the development 

of the need determination in the applicable 

State Medical Facilities Plan. 

(8) "Megavoltage unit" means MRT equipment 

which provides a form of teletherapy that 

involves the delivery of energy greater than, or 

equivalent to, one million volts by the emission 

of x-rays, gamma rays, electrons, or other 

radiation. 

(9) "Megavoltage radiation therapy (MRT)" means 

the use of ionizing radiation in excess of one 

million electron volts in the treatment of cancer. 

(10) "MRT equipment" means a machine or energy 

source used to provide megavoltage radiation 

therapy including linear accelerators and other 

particle accelerators. 

(11) "Radiation therapy equipment" means medical 

equipment which is used to provide radiation 

therapy services. 

(12) "Radiation therapy services" means those 

services which involve the delivery of 

controlled and monitored doses of radiation to 

a defined volume of tumor bearing tissue within 

a patient. Radiation may be delivered to the 

tumor region by the use of radioactive implants 

or by beams of ionizing radiation or it may be 

delivered to the tumor region systemically. 

(13) "Radiation therapy service area" means a single 

or multi-county area as used in the development 

of the need determination in the applicable 

State Medical Facilities Plan. 

(14) "Simple Radiation treatment" means treatment 

on a single site on the body, single treatment 

field or parallel opposed fields with no more 

than simple blocks and is equal to 1 ESTV. 

(15) "Simulator" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in G.S. 131E-176(24b). 

(16) "Special technique" means radiation therapy 

treatments that may require increased time for 

each patient visit including: 

(a) total body irradiation (photons or 

electrons) which equals 2.5 ESTVs; 

(b) hemi-body irradiation which equals 

2.0 ESTVs; 

(c) intraoperative radiation therapy which 

equals 10.0 ESTVs; 

(d) neutron and proton radiation therapy 

which equals 2.0 ESTVs; 

(e) intensity modulated radiation 

treatment (IMRT) which equals 1.0 

ESTV; 

(f) limb salvage irradiation at lengthened 

SSD which equals 1.0 ESTV; 

(g) additional field check radiographs 

which equals .50 ESTV; 

(h) stereotactic radiosurgery treatment 

management with linear accelerator or 

gamma knife which equals 3.0. 

ESTVs; and 

(i) pediatric patient under anesthesia 

which equals 1.5 ESTVs. 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved LINAC" means a linear accelerator 

(LINAC) that was issued a certificate of need 

but is not being used to provide services as of 

the application deadline for the review period. 

(2) "Equivalent Simple Treatment Visit (ESTV)" 

shall have the same meaning as defined in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as 

of the first day of the review period. 

(3) "Existing LINAC" means a LINAC that is 

being used to provide services as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 

(4) "LINAC service area" shall have the same 

meaning as defined in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the 

review period. 

(5) "Linear accelerator (LINAC)" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(14g). 

(6) "Proposed LINAC" means the LINAC 

proposed in the application under review. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1903 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire a linear accelerator shall 

demonstrate that each of the following standards will be met: 

(1) an applicant's existing linear accelerators 

located in the proposed radiation therapy 
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service area performed at least 6,750 ESTV 

treatments per machine or served at least 250 

patients per machine in the twelve months prior 

to the date the application was submitted; 

(2) each proposed new linear accelerator will be 

utilized at an annual rate of 250 patients or 

6,750 ESTV treatments during the third year of 

operation of the new equipment; and 

(3) an applicant's existing linear accelerators 

located in the proposed radiation therapy 

service area are projected to be utilized at an 

annual rate of 6,750 ESTV treatments or 250 

patients per machine during the third year of 

operation of the new equipment. 

(b)  A linear accelerator shall not be held to the standards in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule if the applicant provides documentation 

that the linear accelerator has been or will be used exclusively for 

clinical research and teaching. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to acquire radiation therapy 

equipment other than a linear accelerator shall provide the 

following information: 

(1) the number of patients who are projected to 

receive treatment from the proposed radiation 

therapy equipment, classified by type of 

equipment, diagnosis, treatment procedure, and 

county of residence; and 

(2) the maximum number and type of procedures 

that the proposed equipment is capable of 

performing. 

(d)  The applicant shall document all assumptions and provide 

data supporting the methodology used to determine projected 

utilization as required in this Rule. 

An applicant proposing to acquire a LINAC pursuant to a need 

determination in the annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect 

as of the first day of the review period shall: 

(1) identify the existing LINACs owned or 

operated by the applicant or a related entity and 

located in the proposed LINAC service area; 

(2) identify the approved LINACs owned or 

operated by the applicant or a related entity and 

located in the proposed LINAC service area; 

(3) provide projected utilization of the LINACs 

identified in Items (1) and (2) of this Rule and 

the proposed LINAC during each of the first 

three full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(4) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

for the projected utilization required by Item (3) 

of this Rule; 

(5) project that the LINACs identified in Items (1) 

and (2) of this Rule and the proposed LINAC 

shall perform during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project: 

(A) 6,750 or more ESTVs per LINAC; or 

(B) serve 250 or more patients per 

LINAC. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .2300 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY EQUIPMENT 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2301 DEFINITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2303 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .2400 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITIES FOR 

INDIVIDUALS WITH INTELLECTUAL DISABILITIES 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2401 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in this Rule shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Intermediate care facility for the mentally 

retarded (ICF/MR)" shall have the same 

meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(14a). 

(2) "Active treatment" means: 

(a) regular participation in professionally 

developed and supervised activities, 

experiences, or therapies in 

accordance with an individual plan of 

care; 

(b) an individual plan of care which is a 

written plan that is based on individual 

choice and sets forth measurable goals 

or behaviorally stated objectives and 

prescribes an integrated program of 

individually designed activities, 

experiences or therapies necessary to 

achieve such goals or objectives; 

(c) an interdisciplinary professional 

evaluation consisting of complete 

medical, social, or psychological 

diagnosis and an evaluation of the 

individual's need for the facility's care, 

prior to admission but not to exceed 

three months before admission to the 

facility or, in the case of individuals 

who make application while in such 

facility, before requesting payment 

under the plan; 

(d) re-evaluation medically, socially, and 

psychologically, at least annually by 

the staff involved in carrying out the 

resident's individual plan of care, 

including review of the individual's 

progress toward meeting the plan of 

care, assessment of continuing need 

for facility care, and consideration of 

alternate methods of care; and 

(e) an individual plan (as part of the 

individual's total plan of care) 

developed prior to discharge that is 

based on individual choice by a 

qualified developmental disabilities 
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professional and other appropriate 

professionals, which includes the 

present residence, specifying the type 

of care and services that will be 

needed to enable the individual to 

function in a different environment 

and also includes provisions for 

protective supervision. 

(3) "Qualified Developmental Disabilities 

Professional" means a staff person in an 

ICF/MR facility designated to be responsible 

for supervising the implementation of each 

resident's individual plan of care, integrating 

the various aspects of the facility's program, 

recording each resident's progress and initiating 

periodic review of each individual plan of care. 

A Qualified Developmental Disabilities 

Professional shall meet the minimum 

qualifications for employment as defined in the 

42 CFR 483.430 which is incorporated by 

reference including all subsequent 

amendments. 

(4) "Catchment area" means the geographic part of 

the State served by a specific area authority 

("Area authority" means the Mental Health, 

Developmental Disabilities, and Substance 

Abuse Authority.) 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Catchment area" means as defined in G.S. 

122C-3(4). 

(2) "Intermediate care facility for individuals with 

intellectual disabilities" means as defined in 

G.S. 131E-176(14a). 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1), (5); 131E-177(1); 131E-177(5); 

131E-183. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2403 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .2500 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER (CHEMICAL 

DEPENDENCY TREATMENT) BEDS 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2501 DEFINITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2503 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .2600 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

PSYCHIATRIC BEDS 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2601 DEFINITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2603 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183. 

 

SECTION .2700 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

MAGNETIC RESONANCE IMAGING SCANNER 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2701 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved MRI scanner" means an MRI 

scanner which was not operational prior to the 

beginning of the review period but which had 

been issued a certificate of need. 

(2) "Capacity of fixed MRI scanner" means 100 

percent of the procedure volume that the MRI 

scanner is capable of completing in a year, 

given perfect scheduling, no machine or room 

downtime, no cancellations, no patient 

transportation problems, no staffing or 

physician delays and no MRI procedures 

outside the norm. Annual capacity of a fixed 

MRI scanner is 6,864 weighted MRI 

procedures, which assumes two weighted MRI 

procedures are performed per hour and the 

scanner is operated 66 hours per week, 52 

weeks per year. 

(3) "Capacity of mobile MRI scanner" means 100 

percent of the procedure volume that the MRI 

scanner is capable of completing in a year, 

given perfect scheduling, no machine or room 

downtime, no cancellations, no patient 

transportation problems, no staffing or 

physician delays and no MRI procedures 

outside the norm. Annual capacity of a mobile 

MRI scanner is 4,160 weighted MRI 

procedures, which assumes two weighted MRI 

procedures are performed per hour and the 

scanner is operated 40 hours per week, 52 

weeks per year. 

(4) "Dedicated breast MRI scanner" means an MRI 

scanner that is configured to perform only 

breast MRI procedures and is not capable of 

performing other types of non-breast MRI 

procedures. 

(5) "Existing MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

in operation prior to the beginning of the review 

period. 

(6) "Extremity MRI scanner" means an MRI 

scanner that is utilized for the imaging of 

extremities and is of open design with a field of 

view no greater than 25 centimeters. 

(7) "Fixed MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

that is not a mobile MRI scanner. 

(8) "Magnetic Resonance Imaging" (MRI) means a 

non-invasive diagnostic modality in which 

electronic equipment is used to create 

tomographic images of body structure. The 

MRI scanner exposes the target area to 

nonionizing magnetic energy and radio 
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frequency fields, focusing on the nuclei of 

atoms such as hydrogen in the body tissue. 

Response of selected nuclei to this stimulus is 

translated into images for evaluation by the 

physician. 

(9) "Magnetic resonance imaging scanner" (MRI 

Scanner) is defined in G.S. 131E-176(14m). 

(10) "Mobile MRI region" means either the eastern 

part of the State which includes the counties in 

Health Service Areas IV, V and VI (Eastern 

Mobile MRI Region), or the western part of the 

State which includes the counties in Health 

Service Areas I, II, and III (Western Mobile 

MRI Region). The counties in each Health 

Service Area are identified in Appendix A of 

the State Medical Facilities Plan. 

(11) "Mobile MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

and transporting equipment which is moved at 

least weekly to provide services at two or more 

campuses or physical locations. 

(12) "MRI procedure" means a single discrete MRI 

study of one patient. 

(13) "MRI service area" means the Magnetic 

Resonance Imaging Planning Areas, as defined 

in the applicable State Medical Facilities Plan, 

except for proposed new mobile MRI scanners 

for which the service area is a mobile MRI 

region. 

(14) "MRI study" means one or more scans relative 

to a single diagnosis or symptom. 

(15) "Multi-position MRI scanner" means an MRI 

scanner as defined in the State Medical 

Facilities Plan, pursuant to a special need 

determination for a demonstration project. 

(16) "Related entity" means the parent company of 

the applicant, a subsidiary company of the 

applicant (i.e., the applicant owns 50 percent or 

more of another company), a joint venture in 

which the applicant is a member, or a company 

that shares common ownership with the 

applicant (i.e., the applicant and another 

company are owned by some of the same 

persons). 

(17) "Temporary MRI scanner" means an MRI 

scanner that the Certificate of Need Section has 

approved to be temporarily located in North 

Carolina at a facility that holds a certificate of 

need for a new fixed MRI scanner, but which is 

not operational because the project is not yet 

complete. 

(18) "Weighted MRI procedures" means MRI 

procedures which are adjusted to account for 

the length of time to complete the procedure, 

based on the following weights: one outpatient 

MRI procedure without contrast or sedation is 

valued at 1.0 weighted MRI procedure, one 

outpatient MRI procedure with contrast or 

sedation is valued at 1.4 weighted MRI 

procedures, one inpatient MRI procedure 

without contrast or sedation is valued at 1.4 

weighted MRI procedures; and one inpatient 

MRI procedure with contrast or sedation is 

valued at 1.8 weighted MRI procedures. 

(19) "Weighted breast MRI procedures" means MRI 

procedures which are performed on a dedicated 

breast MRI scanner and are adjusted to account 

for the length of time to complete the 

procedure, based on the following weights: one 

diagnostic breast MRI procedure is valued at 

1.0 weighted MRI procedure (based on an 

average of 60 minutes per procedure), one 

MRI-guided breast needle localization MRI 

procedure is valued at 1.1 weighted MRI 

procedure (based on an average of 66 minutes 

per procedure), and one MRI-guided breast 

biopsy procedure is valued at 1.6 weighted MRI 

procedures (based on an average of 96 minutes 

per procedure). 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Adjusted MRI procedure" shall have the same 

meaning as defined in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the 

review period. 

(2) "Approved MRI scanner" means a magnetic 

resonance imaging (MRI) scanner that was 

issued a certificate of need but is not being used 

to provide services as of the application 

deadline for the review period. 

(3) "Existing MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

that is being used to provide services as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 

(4) "Fixed MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

that is not a mobile MRI scanner. 

(5) "Fixed MRI scanner service area" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first 

day of the review period. 

(6) "Host site" means the location where the mobile 

MRI scanner provides services. 

(7) "Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner" 

shall have the same meaning as defined in G.S. 

131E-176(14m). 

(8) "Mobile MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

that is moved weekly to provide services at two 

or more host sites. 

(9) "Mobile MRI scanner service area" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first 

day of the review period. 

(10) "Proposed MRI scanner" means the MRI 

scanner proposed in the application under 

review. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2703 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire a mobile magnetic 

resonance imaging (MRI) scanner shall: 
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(1) demonstrate that each existing mobile MRI 

scanner which the applicant or a related entity 

owns a controlling interest in and operates in 

the mobile MRI region in which the proposed 

equipment will be located, except temporary 

MRI scanners, performed 3,328 weighted MRI 

procedures in the most recent 12 month period 

for which the applicant has data [Note: This is 

not the average number of weighted MRI 

procedures performed on all of the applicant's 

mobile MRI scanners.]; with the exception that 

in the event an existing mobile MRI scanner has 

been in operation less than 12 months at the 

time the application is filed, the applicant shall 

demonstrate that this mobile MRI scanner 

performed an average of at least 277 weighted 

MRI procedures per month for the period in 

which it has been in operation; 

(2) demonstrate annual utilization in the third year 

of operation is reasonably projected to be at 

least 3328 weighted MRI procedures on each of 

the existing, approved and proposed mobile 

MRI scanners owned by the applicant or a 

related entity to be operated in the mobile MRI 

region in which the proposed equipment will be 

located [Note: This is not the average number 

of weighted MRI procedures performed on all 

of the applicant's mobile MRI scanners.]; and 

(3) document the assumptions and provide data 

supporting the methodology used for each 

projection required in this Rule. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed magnetic resonance 

imaging (MRI) scanner, except for fixed MRI scanners described 

in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, shall: 

(1) demonstrate that the existing fixed MRI 

scanners which the applicant or a related entity 

owns a controlling interest in and locates in the 

proposed MRI service area performed an 

average of 3,328 weighted MRI procedures in 

the most recent 12 month period for which the 

applicant has data; 

(2) demonstrate that each existing mobile MRI 

scanner which the applicant or a related entity 

owns a controlling interest in and operates in 

the proposed MRI service area except 

temporary MRI scanners, performed 3,328 

weighted MRI procedures in the most recent 12 

month period for which the applicant has data 

[Note: This is not the average number of 

weighted MRI procedures performed on all of 

the applicant's mobile MRI scanners.]; 

(3) demonstrate that the average annual utilization 

of the existing, approved and proposed fixed 

MRI scanners which the applicant or a related 

entity owns a controlling interest in and locates 

in the proposed MRI service area are 

reasonably expected to perform the following 

number of weighted MRI procedures, 

whichever is applicable, in the third year of 

operation following completion of the proposed 

project: 

(A) 1,716 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows no fixed MRI scanners are 

located, 

(B) 3,775 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows one fixed MRI scanner is 

located, 

(C) 4,118 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows two fixed MRI scanners are 

located, 

(D) 4,462 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows three fixed MRI scanners are 

located, or 

(E) 4,805 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows four or more fixed MRI 

scanners are located; 

(4) if the proposed MRI scanner will be located at 

a different site from any of the existing or 

approved MRI scanners owned by the applicant 

or a related entity, demonstrate that the annual 

utilization of the proposed fixed MRI scanner is 

reasonably expected to perform the following 

number of weighted MRI procedures, 

whichever is applicable, in the third year of 

operation following completion of the proposed 

project: 

(A) 1,716 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows no fixed MRI scanners are 

located, 

(B) 3,775 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows one fixed MRI scanner is 

located, 

(C) 4,118 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows two fixed MRI scanners are 

located, 

(D) 4,462 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows three fixed MRI scanners are 

located, or 

(E) 4,805 weighted MRI procedures in 

MRI service areas in which the SMFP 

shows four or more fixed MRI 

scanners are located; 

(5) demonstrate that annual utilization of each 

existing, approved and proposed mobile MRI 

scanner which the applicant or a related entity 

owns a controlling interest in and locates in the 

proposed MRI service area is reasonably 

expected to perform 3,328 weighted MRI 

procedures in the third year of operation 
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following completion of the proposed project 

[Note: This is not the average number of 

weighted MRI procedures to be performed on 

all of the applicant's mobile MRI scanners.]; 

and 

(6) document the assumptions and provide data 

supporting the methodology used for each 

projection required in this Rule. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed dedicated breast 

magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner for which the need 

determination in the State Medical Facilities Plan was based on 

an approved petition for an adjustment to the need determination 

shall: 

(1) demonstrate annual utilization of the proposed 

MRI scanner in the third year of operation is 

reasonably projected to be at least 1,664 

weighted MRI procedures which is .80 times 1 

procedure per hour times 40 hours per week 

times 52 weeks per year; and 

(2) document the assumptions and provide data 

supporting the methodology used for each 

projection required in this Rule. 

(d)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed extremity MRI 

scanner for which the need determination in the State Medical 

Facilities Plan was based on an approved petition for an 

adjustment to the need determination shall: 

(1) demonstrate annual utilization of the proposed 

MRI scanner in the third year of operation is 

reasonably projected to be at least 80 percent of 

the capacity defined by the applicant in 

response to 10A NCAC 14C .2702(f)(7); and 

(2) document the assumptions and provide data 

supporting the methodology used for each 

projection required in this Rule. 

(e)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed multi-position MRI 

scanner for which the need determination in the State Medical 

Facilities Plan was based on an approved petition for a 

demonstration project shall: 

(1) demonstrate annual utilization of the proposed 

multi-position MRI scanner in the third year of 

operation is reasonably projected to be at least 

80 percent of the capacity defined by the 

applicant in response to 10A NCAC 14C 

.2702(g)(7); and 

(2) document the assumptions and provide data 

supporting the methodology used for each 

projection required in this Rule. 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed MRI scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing fixed MRI scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

and located in the proposed fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(2) identify the approved fixed MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity and located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area; 

(3) identify the existing mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area during the 12 months 

before the application deadline for the review 

period; 

(4) identify the approved mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area; 

(5) provide projected utilization of the MRI 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

through (a)(4) of this Paragraph and the 

proposed fixed MRI scanner during each of the 

first three full fiscal years of operation 

following completion of the project; 

(6) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Paragraph; 

(7) project that the fixed MRI scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed fixed MRI scanner 

shall perform during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project: 

(A) 3,364 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are four or more fixed MRI 

scanners in the fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(B) 3,123 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are three fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(C) 2,883 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are two fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(D) 2,643 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there is one fixed MRI scanner in the 

fixed MRI scanner service area; or 

(E) 1,201 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per MRI scanner if there 

are no existing fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

and 

(8) project that the mobile MRI scanners identified 

in Subparagraphs (3) and (4) of this Paragraph 

shall perform 3,328 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per mobile MRI scanner during the 

third full fiscal year of operation following 

completion of the project. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire a mobile MRI scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 
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(1) identify the existing mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area during the 12 months 

before the application deadline for the review 

period; 

(2) identify the approved mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area; 

(3) identify the existing fixed MRI scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

that are located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area; 

(4) identify the approved fixed MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will be located in the proposed 

mobile MRI scanner service area; 

(5) identify the existing and proposed host sites for 

each mobile MRI scanner identified in 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner; 

(6) provide projected utilization of the MRI 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (b)(1) 

through (b)(4) of this Paragraph and the 

proposed mobile MRI scanner during each of 

the first three full fiscal years of operation 

following completion of the project; 

(7) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (b)(6) of this Paragraph; 

(8) project that the mobile MRI scanners identified 

in Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner shall perform 3,328 or more adjusted 

MRI procedures per MRI scanner during the 

third full fiscal year of operation following 

completion of the project; and 

(9) project that the fixed MRI scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (b)(3) and (b)(4) of this 

Paragraph shall perform during the third full 

fiscal year of operation following completion of 

the project: 

(A) 3,364 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are four or more fixed MRI 

scanners in the fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(B) 3,123 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are three fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(C) 2,883 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are two fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(D) 2,643 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there is one fixed MRI scanner in the 

fixed MRI scanner service area; or 

(E) 1,201 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per MRI scanner if there 

are no fixed MRI scanners in the fixed 

MRI scanner service area. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .3700 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

POSITRON EMISSION TOMOGRAPHY SCANNER 

 

10A NCAC 14C .3701 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved positron emission tomography 

(PET) scanner" means a PET scanner which 

was not operational prior to the beginning of the 

review period but which had been issued a 

certificate of need. 

(2) "Cyclotron" means an apparatus for 

accelerating protons or neutrons to high 

energies by means of a constant magnet and an 

oscillating electric field. 

(3) "Dedicated PET Scanner" means PET Scanners 

as defined in the applicable State Medical 

Facilities Plan. 

(4) "Existing PET scanner" means a PET scanner 

in operation prior to the beginning of the review 

period. 

(5) "Mobile PET Scanner" means a PET scanner 

and transporting equipment that is moved, at 

least weekly, to provide services at two or more 

host facilities. 

(6) "PET procedure" means a single discrete study 

of one patient involving one or more PET scans. 

(7) "PET scan" means an image-scanning sequence 

derived from a single administration of a PET 

radiopharmaceutical, equated with a single 

injection of the tracer. One or more PET scans 

comprise a PET procedure. 

(8) "PET scanner service area" means the PET 

Scanner Service Area as defined in the 

applicable State Medical Facilities Plan. 

(9) "Positron emission tomographic scanner" 

(PET) is defined in G.S. 131E-176(19a). 

(10) "Radioisotope" means a radiochemical which 

directly traces biological processes when 

introduced into the body. 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved PET scanner" means a positron 

emission tomography (PET) scanner that was 

issued a certificate of need but is not being used 

to provide services as of the application 

deadline for the review period. 

(2) "Existing PET scanner" means a PET scanner 

that is being used to provide services as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 
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(3) "Fixed PET scanner" means a PET scanner that 

is not mobile. 

(4) "Fixed PET scanner service area" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first 

day of the review period. 

(5) "Host site" means the location where the mobile 

PET scanner provides services. 

(6) "Mobile PET scanner" means a PET scanner 

that is moved weekly to provide services at two 

or more host sites. 

(7) "Mobile PET scanner service area" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first 

day of the review period. 

(8) "PET scanner" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in G.S. 131E-176(19a). 

(9) "Proposed PET scanner" means the PET 

scanner proposed in the application under 

review. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .3703 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire a dedicated PET scanner, 

including a mobile dedicated PET scanner, shall demonstrate that: 

(1) the proposed dedicated PET scanner, including 

a proposed mobile dedicated PET scanner, shall 

be utilized at an annual rate of at least 2,080 

PET procedures by the end of the third year 

following completion of the project; 

(2) if an applicant operates an existing dedicated 

PET scanner, its existing dedicated PET 

scanners, excluding those used exclusively for 

research, performed an average of at least 2,080 

PET procedures per PET scanner in the last 

year; and 

(3) its existing and approved dedicated PET 

scanners shall perform an average of at least 

2,080 PET procedures per PET scanner during 

the third year following completion of the 

project. 

(b)  The applicant shall describe the assumptions and provide data 

to support and document the assumptions and methodology used 

for each projection required in this Rule. 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed PET scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing fixed PET scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

and located in the proposed fixed PET scanner 

service area; 

(2) identify the approved fixed PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity and located in the proposed fixed PET 

scanner service area; 

(3) identify the existing mobile PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided services at host sites 

located in the proposed fixed PET scanner 

service area during the 12 months before the 

application deadline for the review period; 

(4) identify the approved mobile PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide services at host sites 

located in the proposed fixed PET scanner 

service area; 

(5) provide projected utilization of the PET 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

through (a)(4) of this Paragraph and the 

proposed fixed PET scanner during each of the 

first three full fiscal years of operation 

following completion of the project; 

(6) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Paragraph; and 

(7) project that the PET scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed fixed PET scanner 

shall perform 2,080 or more procedures per 

PET scanner during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire a mobile PET scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing mobile PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided services at host sites 

located in the proposed mobile PET scanner 

service area during the 12 months before the 

application deadline for the review period; 

(2) identify the approved mobile PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide services at host sites 

located in the proposed mobile PET scanner 

service area during the first three full fiscal 

years following completion of the project; 

(3) identify the existing fixed PET scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

and located in the proposed mobile PET 

scanner service area; 

(4) identify the approved fixed PET scanners 

owned and operated by the applicant or a 

related entity and located in the proposed 

mobile PET scanner service area; 

(5) identify the existing and proposed host sites for 

each mobile PET scanner identified in 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed mobile PET 

scanner; 

(6) provide projected utilization of the PET 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (b)(1) 

through (b)(4) of this Paragraph and the 

proposed mobile PET scanner during each of 

the first three full fiscal years of operation 

following completion of the project; 
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(7) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (b)(6) of this Paragraph; and 

(8) project that the PET scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed mobile PET 

scanner shall perform 2,080 or more procedures 

per PET scanner during the third full fiscal year 

of operation following completion of the 

project. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Environmental 

Quality intends to adopt the rule cited as 15A NCAC 07O .0203, 

amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 07O .0102, .0105, and 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

07O .0101, .0103, .0104, .0201, and .0202. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-main 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 26, 2021 

Time:  12:30 p.m. 

Location:  Division of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 

Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  15A NCAC 07O has remained 

largely unchanged since it was first adopted in 1986. The 

Department of Environmental Quality is proposing rule 

amendments for the North Carolina Coastal Reserve. These 

amendments will satisfy the Legislative Periodic Review and 

Expiration of Existing Rules process requirements (G.S. 150B-

21.3A), and address priority updates to enhance clarity of existing 

rules and address issues and gaps to ensure effective management 

of the North Carolina Coastal Reserve in accordance with G.S. 

113A-129.1-3 (Coastal Area Management Act). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rebecca Ellin, NC Division 

of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, 

NC 28557; phone (252) 838-0880; email 

rebecca.ellin@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 13, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07O - NORTH CAROLINA COASTAL 

RESERVE 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0101 STATEMENT OF PURPOSE 

The principal purposes of the North Carolina Coastal Reserve and 

supporting programs are to: 

(1) preserve coastal ecosystems representative of 

the various biogeographic regions and 

typologies in North Carolina and to make them 

available for continuous future study of the 

processes, functions, and influences which 

shape and sustain the coastal ecosystems; 

(2) provide new information on coastal ecosystem 

processes to decisionmakers as a basis for the 

promotion of sound management of coastal 

resources; 

(3) provide a focal point for educational activities 

that increase the public awareness and 

understanding of coastal ecosystems, effects of 

humans man on them, and the importance of the 

coastal systems to the state and the Nation; 

(4) accommodate traditional recreational activities, 

uses, commercial fishing, and other uses of the 

Reserve as long as they do not disturb the 

Reserve environment and are compatible with 

the research and educational activities within 

the Reserve components. taking place there. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 143B-10. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0102 DEFINITIONS AS USED IN THIS 

SUBCHAPTER 

Definitions as used in this Subchapter are: 

(1) "Coastal Reserve" means those coastal land and 

water areas areas, which include land and water 
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portions of an estuary and adjacent transitional 

areas and uplands, set aside as a natural field 

laboratory and classroom to be maintained in 

their natural state to provide for long-term 

opportunities for research, education and 

compatible traditional uses recreation and 

enjoyment of natural and scenic beauty. The 

Coastal Reserve includes the North Carolina 

National Estuarine Research Reserve. 

(2) "Estuary" means that part of a river or stream or 

body of water having unimpaired connection 

with the open sea, where sea water is 

measurably diluted with fresh water derived 

from land drainage. 

(3) "Research Reserve" means a group of areas or 

components, each of which may include all or 

the key land and water portion of an estuary and 

adjacent transitional areas and uplands, 

constituting to the extent feasible a natural unit, 

set aside as a natural field laboratory to provide 

long-term opportunities for research, education, 

and interpretation of the ecological 

relationships within the area. The Coastal 

Reserve includes the North Carolina National 

Estuarine Research Reserve. 

(4)(3) "Reserve" means any area designated pursuant 

to this Subchapter. 

(5)(4) "Traditional uses" means public trust uses as 

defined in G.S. 1-45.1, including fishing, 

hunting, navigation, and recreation. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 143B-10. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0103 RESPONSIBILITIES: DUTIES 

OF THE COASTAL RESERVE PROGRAM 

The Coastal Reserve Program of the Division of Coastal 

Management shall be responsible for managing and protecting the 

North Carolina Coastal Reserve; for promoting and coordinating 

research and educational programs at the components while 

allowing for compatible traditional uses; for maintaining a 

management plan for the Reserve; for maintaining cooperative 

agreements with scientific, educational, and resource 

management agencies and private citizens that will assist in the 

management of the Reserve; and for providing new information 

on coastal processes to coastal management decisionmakers. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 143B-10. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0104 STATE AND LOCAL COASTAL 

RESERVE ADVISORY COMMITTEES 

Advisory committees shall be established for each individual 

Reserve component component. The committees and shall advise 

the Reserve staff. coordinator. Members of the committees shall 

include researchers, educators, managers, partner agencies and 

organizations, and citizens that use or are affected by the Reserve. 

Reserve and its components. The committees shall be appointed 

by the Secretary of the Department of Environment, 

Environmental Quality. Health, and Natural Resources. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 143B-10. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0105 RESERVE COMPONENTS 

(a)  The North Carolina Coastal Reserve includes the following 

components: 

(1) Zeke's Island; 

(2) Rachel Carson; 

(3) Currituck Banks; 

(4) Masonboro Island; 

(5) Permuda Island; 

(6) Buxton Woods; 

(7) Bald Head Woods; 

(8) Kitty Hawk Woods; 

(9) Bird Island; and 

(10) Emily and Richardson Preyer Buckridge. 

The North Carolina National Estuarine Research Reserve includes 

components in Subparagraphs (a)(1) - (4) of this Rule. 

(b)  Detailed boundary maps for each component are maintained 

and available for inspection at the Division of Coastal 

Management, 400 Commerce Avenue, Morehead City NC 28557. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 143B-10. 

 

SECTION .0200 - MANAGEMENT: USE AND 

PROTECTION OF THE NORTH CAROLINA COASTAL 

RESERVE 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0201 MANAGEMENT PLAN 

The Division of Coastal Management shall prepare a management 

plan for the Reserve. The management plan shall contain specific 

policies for research, education, natural resource management, 

and traditional uses at each component. The Secretary of the 

Department of Environment, Environmental Quality Health, and 

Natural Resources shall approve the management plan and its 

revisions. The Division of Coastal Management shall seek input 

from the local advisory committees, the Coastal Resources 

Commission, and the public on revisions to the management plan. 

The Division of Coastal Management shall monitor and manage 

the Reserve components and report to the Secretary violations of 

the approved plan and any other situations that may be harmful to 

the natural resources of the Reserve. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 143-341; 143-342; 

143B-10. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0202 RESERVE USE 

REQUIREMENTS 

The following use requirements shall apply to all the lands and 

waters within the boundaries of the components of the Reserve: 

(1) The essential natural character of the Reserve 

shall be maintained. 

(2) Traditional recreational uses within each 

component shall be allowed to continue as long 

as the activities are consistent with 15A NCAC 

07O .0101(4). do not disrupt the natural 

integrity of the Reserve or any research or 

educational projects. Incompatible traditional 

uses are prohibited and shall include: 
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(a) fishing, hunting, or trapping activities 

not allowed by federal, state state, and 

local rules; 

(b) target shooting; and 

(c) mechanical hydraulic clam dredging 

dredging. within Reserve boundaries; 

(d) use of vehicles off designated 

corridors at components where 

vehicles are allowed for upland 

transportation according to the 

management plan; and 

(e) production of noise disruptive to local 

wildlife and the aesthetic enjoyment of 

the Reserve as a natural area. 

(3) No user shall It is prohibited to disturb a an 

authorized research or natural resource 

monitoring project or research equipment in 

place at the Reserve. 

(4) Camping or any form of habitation habitation, 

whether on the uplands uplands, or wetlands 

wetlands, of the Reserve is prohibited or waters 

within Reserve boundaries, shall not be allowed 

unless written permission is posted by the 

Division of Coastal Management except on the 

uplands at the Masonboro Island Reserve, 

where camping is allowed for no more than two 

consecutive nights. 

(5) Fires are prohibited except at the Masonboro 

Island Reserve on open sand and away from 

vegetation. 

(5)  Personal property not authorized by the 

management agency may not be placed within 

the boundaries of the Reserve for more than two 

consecutive days. 

(6) Users of the Reserve shall not It is prohibited to 

disturb or remove any live animals, except 

those allowed by local or state hunting hunting, 

trapping, and fishing rules as they apply to the 

Reserve, or vegetation vegetation, fungi, or 

cultural resources within the Reserve unless 

such action is part of a research or educational 

project approved authorized by the 

management agency. Division of Coastal 

Management. 

(7) Persons wishing to engage in scientific research 

and monitoring, or collection of natural and 

cultural materials for scientific purposes within 

the Reserve shall first secure written permission 

authorization from the management agency. 

Division of Coastal Management prior to 

beginning said activity. Written authorization 

does not eliminate the need to obtain any other 

federal, state, or local authorization, nor to 

abide by regulations adopted by any federal, 

state, or local agency. Application for 

authorization shall be made by contacting 

Reserve staff at the Division of Coastal 

Management. 

(8) No activity shall be allowed which might 

pollute any stream or body of water in the 

Reserve. Acts of pollution shall include: 

(a) Deposition of solid materials not indigenous 

to the local coastal ecosystem; and 

(b) Discharge of liquids other than 

uncontaminated estuarine water. 

(8) It is prohibited to produce noise disruptive to 

local wildlife or the aesthetic enjoyment of the 

Reserve as a natural area. 

(9) No other It is prohibited to conduct or engage 

in acts or uses which are detrimental to the 

maintenance of the Reserve property in its 

natural condition shall be allowed including, 

but not limited to, disturbances of the soil, 

mining, commercial or industrial uses, timber 

harvesting, ditching and draining, and 

deposition of waste materials. Disposal of 

dredge spoil materials within existing U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers easements at Reserve 

components may be allowed with authorization 

from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and 

N.C. Department of Administration, in 

consultation with the Division. 

(10) The following requirements pertain to littering, 

dumping, deposition, and pollution: 

(a) It is prohibited to leave any personal 

property unattended within the 

boundaries of any Reserve component 

longer than 24 hours, at which point it 

shall be considered litter in accordance 

with G.S. 14-399 and subject to 

removal at the owner's expense and/or 

prosecution. 

(b) It is prohibited to abandon or allow to 

be abandoned any vessels of any kind 

within the boundaries of any Reserve 

component. Vessels not removed 

within 30 days will be considered litter 

in accordance with G.S. 14-399 and 

subject to removal at the owner's 

expense and/or prosecution. 

(c) It is prohibited to dispose of any litter, 

as described in G.S. 14-399, within the 

boundaries of any Reserve 

component. 

(d) It is prohibited to dump, deposit, 

place, or allow to be abandoned any 

autos, appliances, trash, debris, 

garbage, shell or discarded material(s) 

of any kind within the boundaries of 

any Reserve component. 

(e) It is prohibited to conduct or engage in 

activities that pollute any land, 

wetland, stream, creek or other body 

of water within the boundaries of any 

Reserve component, in accordance 

with G.S. 75A-10, 76-40. 
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(11) The following requirements pertain to vehicles 

and parking: 

(a) Motorized vehicles as defined in G.S. 

20-4.01 (23) are prohibited within the 

boundaries of any Reserve component 

while not actively engaged in a 

Reserve-based activity, Reserve 

business, or an activity authorized by 

the Division of Coastal Management. 

(b) Motorized vehicles are prohibited 

outside of designated corridors within 

the boundaries of Reserve components 

where vehicles are allowed for upland 

transportation according to the 

management plan. 

(c) It is prohibited to allow a motorized 

vehicle to block traffic, gates, 

driveways or emergency vehicle 

access. 

(d) It is prohibited to park a motorized 

vehicle within the boundaries of any 

Reserve component overnight, or 

allow a motorized vehicle to remain 

anywhere within the boundaries of any 

Reserve component unattended or 

abandoned for longer than 12 hours 

except at the Currituck Banks Reserve 

parking lot where there is a 2 hour 

limit. 

(e) The Division or its agents may 

immobilize or tow any motorized 

vehicle that is in violation of this Rule 

at the owner's expense. 

(f) Non-motorized vehicles are prohibited 

where the use of the vehicle will 

damage natural resources, on 

pedestrian trails not designated for this 

use, and in any areas of Reserve 

components not customarily used for 

such purpose. 

(12) The Division staff and its authorized agents are 

exempt from this rule when engaged in 

management activities, such as incorporation of 

natural materials, beneficial use of dredged 

materials, or other engineering practices that 

protect, restore, or enhance the natural character 

of the Reserve. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 113-264; 143B-10. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0203 SPECIAL ACTIVITY 

AUTHORIZATION 

The following Items shall apply to special activity authorization 

within the boundaries of the components of the Reserve: 

(1) Written authorization is required for organized 

events, commercial activities and other special 

activities or uses within the boundaries of any 

Reserve component not included in the primary 

uses of research, education, and compatible 

traditional uses. 

(2) A request for written authorization shall be 

made by contacting Reserve staff at the 

Division of Coastal Management. Written 

authorization does not eliminate the need to 

obtain any other federal, state, or local 

authorization, nor to abide by regulations 

adopted by any federal, state, or local agency. 

(3) A request for written authorization shall be 

made a minimum of 30 days prior to and up to 

one year in advance of the activity or use. The 

request shall include the name, address and 

phone number of the applicant; the name of the 

organization (if any); the name, address and 

phone number of a contact person; the date, 

time, duration, nature and location of the 

proposed activity or use; the estimated number 

of persons expected to participate; the 

equipment to be used during the activity; and 

other information necessary to allow for 

evaluation of an application. 

(4) The Reserve Manager or designee shall provide 

written authorization unless one or more of the 

following apply: 

(a) A prior request for a written 

authorization for a similar activity or 

use has been made and granted; and 

the activities or uses authorized by the 

written authorization do not allow 

multiple activities or uses of that 

location during the same timeframe; 

(b) The activity or use will threaten the 

health, safety and welfare of persons 

using the Reserve; 

(c) The activity or use is of such a nature 

or duration that it cannot be conducted 

or performed in the location due to: 

(i) the potential for damage to 

the Reserve or facilities; 

(ii) interference with research or 

education programs, or site 

management activities of the 

Reserve; 

(iii) disturbance of wildlife, 

habitats, or other natural 

features of the Reserve; or 

(iv) burden placed on public 

agencies by the activity; 

(d) The activity or use conflicts with the 

principal purposes of the Reserve as 

defined in 15A NCAC O70 .0101; or 

(e) The activity or use does not comply 

with the Reserve use requirements 

found in section 15A NCAC O70 

.0202 or dedicated nature preserve 

letters of allocation under G.S. 143B 

Article 2 Part 42 Nature Preserves Act 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

36:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 15, 2021 

112 

or would constitute a violation of other 

applicable law or regulation. 

(5) The written authorization may contain 

conditions consistent with protection and use of 

the Reserve for the purposes for which it is 

operated. 

(6) The authorized user shall not transfer or assign 

authorization, or grant any part of an authorized 

use, to any person not indicated on the written 

authorization request. 

(7) If a request is denied, the applicant shall be 

informed in writing, with the reason(s) for the 

denial. 

(8) Participants engaged in activities authorized 

under this Rule shall also be subject to Reserve 

Rules. 

(9) A written authorization only authorizes uses or 

activities that conform to the terms contained in 

the authorization or in applicable federal, state, 

and local rules and existing laws. Violation of 

the terms and conditions of a written 

authorization, including engaging in any 

activities or uses not expressly authorized, shall 

result in revocation of the authorization by the 

Division of Coastal Management. Violations 

shall be subject to any other civil and/or 

criminal penalties prescribed by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 133-264; 143B-10. 

 

 

TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Division of Motor Vehicles 

intends to adopt the rule cited as 19A NCAC 03A .0105 and 

readopt without substantive changes the rule cited as 19A NCAC 

03B .0201. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdot.gov/about-us/how-we-operate/policy-

process/rules/Pages/default.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 2, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Register to attend and view the Virtual Meeting using 

a computer, tablet or smartphone:  

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/80421154338392491

67 After registering, you will receive a confirmation email 

containing information about joining the webinar.  If no computer 

access, please call in to the meeting at 1-415-655-0060 then dial 

attendee access code: 796-332-697. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Division of Motor Vehicles 

headquarters office has moved its physical location to Rocky 

Mount, North Carolina. The agency wishes to adopt a rule, 19A 

NCAC 03A .0105, to notify interested parties of the agency's 

physical and mailing locations, as well as the agency's web page. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of 

Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years or 

they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review of Subchapters 

19A NCAC 03B, 03C, 03D, 03E, 03F, 03G, 03I, and 03J these 

proposed rules were determined as “Necessary With Substantive 

Public Interest” thus necessitating readoption. 

 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rule to be necessary without substantive changes and is 

recommended for readoption: 19A NCAC 03B .0201. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Hannah D. Jernigan, 1501 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1501; email 

Rulemaking@ncdot.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by 

the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the 

rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-

21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 

5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves 

the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, 

delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further 

questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 03 - DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03A - ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

 

19A NCAC 03A .0105 GENERAL INFORMATION 

The following is general information about the Division of Motor 

Vehicles: 
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(1) The mailing address is 3101 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27697-3101. 

(2) The physical location is 1515 North Church 

Street, Rocky Mount, North Carolina 27804. 

(3) The web page address is www.ncdmv.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-2. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03B - DRIVER LICENSE SECTION 

 

SECTION .0200 - DRIVER'S LICENSE ISSUANCE 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0201 DRIVER'S LICENSE 

EXAMINATION AND ONLINE RENEWAL 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 26 – BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Landscape Architects intends to adopt the rule cited as 

21 NCAC 26 .0212 and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 26 

.0101, .0105, .0107, .0201, .0206, .0209, .0210, .0303, .0306, 

.0308-.0315, and .0510. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbola.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 2, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Virtual Meeting; Via Zoom; Meeting ID 895 3485 

9419; Meeting Passcode: 326489 ((301)715-8592 from a 

telephone) 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  A number of the amendments 

merely correct previous drafting errors and make due dates for 

fees, etc. consistent; the term "license" is defined and the term 

"license" is substituted for the term "registration" in numerous 

instances; five amendments make adjustments in light of licensees 

now having a secure on-line licensing portal; soil scientist is 

added as an additional licensed profession who can be an officer 

in a landscape architectural firm; a deadline to report a 

disciplinary action in another jurisdiction has been added and the 

process for complaints to the Board spelled out; the scope of 

practice for the design of walls has been added; and, the extension 

of deadlines during a declared national or State emergency 

(previously a temporary rule} are being made permanent. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Barbara U. Geiger, P.O. Box 

21225, Raleigh, NC 27-6928; phone (919) 850-9088; email 

barbara.geiger@ncbola.org 

 

Comment period ends:  September 13, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by 

the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the 

rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-

21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 

5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves 

the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, 

delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further 

questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 – STATUTORY AND ADMINISTRATIVE 

PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0101 AUTHORITY: NAME AND 

LOCATION OF BOARD 

The "North Carolina Landscape Architecture Act," G.S. Chapter 

89A, establishes and authorizes the "North Carolina Board of 

Landscape Architects," hereafter called the "Board." Unless 

otherwise directed, all communications shall be addressed to the 

Board at Post Office Box 41225, Raleigh, North Carolina 27629. 

Applications and other information is available on the Board's 

website: www.ncbola.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0105 FEES 

(b)  The fee for any initial license application shall be one hundred 

dollars ($100.00). 

(b)  Examination fees payable to the Board shall be paid prior to 

the examination and in accordance with G.S 89A-6. 

(c)  The initial fee for a license by examination or comity shall be 

one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(d)  The initial fee for a corporate certificate of registration shall 

be two hundred dollars ($200.00). 

(e)  The fee for the annual renewal of any certificate of registration 

of any person, firm, or corporation shall be one hundred dollars 

($100.00). 

(f)  Annual renewal fees received after July 1st June 30th of each 

year shall be subject to a late fee of fifty dollars ($50.00). Lapse 

of license renewal in excess of one year shall require an 

application for reinstatement and an application fee of one 

hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(g)  The fee for re-issue of a lost or damaged certificate shall be 

twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 
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(h)  If the accompanying payment in the amount of the renewal 

fee is dishonored by the firm's drawee bank for any reason, the 

Board shall suspend the firm registration until the renewal fee is 

paid. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 89A-5; 89A-6; Eff. February 1, 1976. 

 

21 NCAC 26. 0107 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions in G.S. 89A-1, for purposes of this 

Section, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Board Executive" means the administrator of 

the Board. 

(2) "CLARB" means the Council of Landscape 

Architectural Registration Boards. 

(3) "Contact hour" means 60 continuous minutes. 

(4) "CEAC" means the Continuing Education 

Advisory Committee of the Board. 

(5) "Direct Supervision" means the level of 

supervision by a licensed professional 

overseeing the work of another in which both 

work in circumstances where professional 

contact is relevant and routine, and the 

supervisor has both control over and detailed 

professional knowledge of the work prepared 

under his or her supervision. 

(6) "Education Activity" means an activity that 

increases the professional knowledge or skills 

of a licensee and relates to the protection or 

enhancement of the health, safety and welfare 

of the public and is approved by the Board. 

(7) "Examination" means the process by which the 

Board determines the experience, academic or 

other qualifications and fitness for practice of 

an applicant, and may include a written 

examination administered by the Board or a 

third party. 

(8) "Foreign Corporation" means a foreign 

corporation as defined in G.S. 55B-16(b). 

(9) "LAAB" means the Landscape Architecture 

Accreditation Board. 

(10) "LARE" means the Landscape Architecture 

Registration Exam administered by the 

CLARB. 

(11) "License" means registration with the Board 

and use of "RLA" as a designator for Registered 

Landscape Architect shall denote licensure by 

the Board. 

(11)(12) "License Year" means July 1 1st through June 

30. 30th. 

(12)(13) "Resident licensed professional" means a 

licensee who spends a majority of the licensee's 

normal working time in a specifically identified 

place of business within North Carolina. Such 

time shall not be less than a majority of the 

operating hours of the business. A licensed 

professional shall be the resident licensee at 

only one place of business at one time unless 

each business is at least one- third owned by the 

resident professional and is approved by the 

Board after a determination that the businesses 

are integrated in operation, ownership, office 

location, and that the licensee will be in 

responsible charge of the professional services. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(2); 89A-5. 

 

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF REGISTERED 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0201 BOARD LISTING OF 

INDIVIDUAL AND FIRM NAMES 

Every individual licensee, partnership, firm or corporation has the 

continuing responsibility of keeping the Board advised of his, her 

or its current mailing address and other contact information and 

the name or names under which he, she or it is practicing 

landscape architecture. Each licensee or firm shall notify the 

Board of any and all keep current its online profile and within 10 

days of the change update changes of association, address or 

contact information. Upon the dissolution or change of a 

professional relationship, the member or members thereof shall 

notify the Board in writing concerning such dissolution, and of 

the succeeding status and addresses of the individual or firm. 

Notice to the Board required by this Rule shall be provided within 

10 days of the change. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(2). 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0206 NAME OF FIRM 

(a)  The name of a landscape architectural firm shall not include 

the proper name of any officer or employee who is not a licensed 

landscape architect, architect, geologist, soil scientist, land 

surveyor or professional engineer. 

(b)  The word "associate" may be used only with reference to a 

licensee who is a principal or regular employee of the firm. The 

plural form may be used only when justified by the number of 

licensees in addition to those licensees whose proper names are 

included in the firm name as follows: 

(1) Example: Proper Name and (&) Associates 

shall refer to a principal landscape architect and 

at least two licensed landscape architectural 

employees. 

(2) Example: Proper Name Associates shall refer to 

at least one principal landscape architect and at 

least one licensed landscape architectural 

employee. 

(3) Example: Assumed Name Associates shall 

refer to at least one principal landscape 

architect and at least one licensed landscape 

architectural employee, or two or more 

principal landscape architects. 

(c)  Names Previously in Effect. This Rule shall not be construed 

to require any firm to seek approval of, or to change, any name 

duly adopted in conformity with Board Rules in effect at the date 

of such adoption. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-5; 89A-3.1. 
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21 NCAC 26 .0209 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

Registrants A licensee shall not: 

(1) allow one's his or her name to be associated 

with an undertaking in any professional 

capacity without having served specifically in 

that capacity; 

(2) accept compensation in whole or in part from 

fees, commissions, earnings, commercial or 

speculative profit deriving from sales of 

materials or services provided to a Landscape 

Architect's client by others; 

(3) make exaggerated or misleading statements or 

claims about any personal qualifications, 

experience or performance; 

(4) fail to disclose to a client or employer the 

existence of any financial interest which bears 

upon the Landscape Architectural landscape 

architectural services or project in any way; 

(5) fail to respond within 30 calendar days to any 

inquiry from the Board; or 

(6) fail to supervise his or her practice. Each office 

maintained for the preparation of drawings, 

specifications, reports or other professional 

work shall have a registered landscape architect 

employed in that office who shall have direct 

knowledge and supervisory control of such 

work, except field offices maintained only for 

the purpose of project construction 

administration shall have at least one employee 

present with the supervising landscape architect 

maintaining control and making periodic visits. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 89A-7. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0210 DISHONEST PRACTICE 

(a)  Registrants A licensee shall not: 

(1) knowingly make any deceptive or false 

statement about another's professional work or 

maliciously injure or attempt to injure the 

prospects, practice, or employment position of 

those so engaged; 

(2) knowingly make any deceptive or false 

statements in an application for examination or 

in any other statements or representations to the 

Board, to any public agency, to a prospective or 

actual client, or to another Landscape Architect; 

or 

(3) fail to notify this Board, if registered as a 

Landscape Architect in North Carolina, the 

Board of disciplinary action by a Landscape 

Architectural Board landscape architect 

licensing, registration or certification entity in 

another jurisdiction. jurisdiction within five 

business days of that jurisdiction's final action 

in the matter. 

(b)  Because of the inherent conflict of interest with construction 

services, a landscape architect shall not provide contracting 

services, including combined design and construction (design-

build) practice, unless he or she does the following: 

(1) Uses uses the term "limited landscape 

architectural services" in all representations to 

the public and the client; and 

(2) Affixes affixes a notation on each construction 

drawing and the cover of technical 

specifications stating stating: "These 

construction drawings and technical 

specifications represent the full extent of the 

limited landscape architectural services 

provided for this project." 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 89A-7. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0212 SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

The scope of practice as defined by G.S. 89A-1(3) and G.S. 89A-

2(b) shall be limited only by the licensee possessing the requisite 

knowledge and experience to provide the service. Consistent with 

the North Carolina State Building Code a licensee shall not design 

any retaining wall greater than five vertical feet in height from the 

finished grade unless the licensee has the requisite knowledge and 

experience to determine the appropriate construction material and 

calculate the embedment, vertical load, backfill and other criteria. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-1; 89A-2. 

 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION AND LICENSING 

PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0303 LICENSE BY COMITY 

(a)  To assure that the requirements of the other state are at least 

equivalent to those of this state, an applicant for a license by 

comity shall show education and experience equal to those 

required of applicants residing in this State who seek licensure by 

examination. 

(b)  An application for a license by comity shall be made on the 

on-line form provided by the Board available on the Board's 

website: www.ncbola.org and shall be accompanied by the fee. 

(c)  To be approved for a license by comity the applicant shall 

meet the following requirements: 

(1) Provide evidence of having successfully 

completed the written examination established 

by the CLARB or hold a certificate issued by 

the CLARB; 

(2) Provide certification from the proper official of 

any state having a landscape architectural 

licensure or registration act that the individual 

is currently certified, licensed, or registered and 

in good standing in that state; 

(3) Submit such additional information concerning 

the applicant's qualifications as may be 

requested by the Board; and 

(4) Submit examples of work upon request. 

(d)  In lieu of the requirements of Subparagraph (c)(1) of this 

Rule, an applicant for licensure by comity who was licensed prior 

to the adoption of a national written examination shall show proof 

of having met the requirements of their his or her licensing state 

at the time of their licensure. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(3); 89A-4(c). 
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21 NCAC 26 .0306 REINSTATEMENT AFTER 

REVOCATION 

Any person whose certificate of registration license is revoked 

shall be reinstated at any time by majority vote of the Board if 

there is a finding that the cause for revocation no longer exists. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0308 DUTIES AND FUNCTIONS OF 

CONTINUING EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

(CEAC) 

(a)  CEAC members shall be reimbursed per diem and travel 

expenses for official meetings at rates equivalent to rates allowed 

for Board members. 

(b)  CEAC members shall serve at the discretion of the Board. The 

Board Chair shall appoint the CEAC Chair who shall serve at the 

discretion of the Board Chair. 

(c)  Each continuing education activity recommended for 

approval by the Board shall, in the opinion of a majority of the 

members of the CEAC, have a direct relationship to the practice 

of landscape architecture as defined in Chapter 89A of the General 

Statutes of North Carolina and contain elements that will enhance 

the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of North Carolina 

served by North Carolina licensed landscape architects. 

(d)  The CEAC shall meet at least once during each three month 

quarter of the year and act on each course, seminar, webinar, 

session, or program submitted for its review on the Board's 

Continuing Education Activity Approval form located on its 

website or available from the licensee's secure online profile. 

through the licensee or provider's secure online profile. The 

CEAE CEAC shall review submissions in accordance with 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Each program shall be recommended 

for approval, recommended for disapproval, or deferred for lack 

of information. Programs recommended for approval shall be 

accompanied by a brief statement of findings by the committee of 

how the program meets the criteria established by this Rule. 

(e)  An activity may be recommended for pre-approval by the 

CEAC before it actually occurs by following the same procedure 

for submission as utilized for post-activity approval. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0309 EXEMPTIONS AND EXTENSION 

OF TIME 

(a)  A registrant licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for any of the following reasons: 

(1) New registrants licensees by way of 

examination or comity for the current 

registration year. 

(2) A licensee serving on temporary active duty in 

the armed forces of the United States for a 

period of time exceeding 90 consecutive days 

in a year or as provided by G.S. 93B-15(b), 

whichever is greater. 

(3) A licensee experiencing physical disability or 

illness if supporting documentation is approved 

by the Board. Such documentation shall be in 

the form of a sworn statement by the registrant, 

licensee, a statement from a physician, or 

medical records which show that the disability 

or illness, prevented registrant's the licensee's 

participation in a course that the registrant 

licensee had enrolled, or prevented registrant's 

the licensee's participation in the continuing 

education program for at least 90 consecutive 

days in a year. 

(4) A licensee with emeritus status from the Board. 

(b)  In order to return to active practice, registrants licensees who 

have received an exemption shall complete continuing education 

requirements for each exempted year, not to exceed two years. 

(c)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a licensee from obtaining by active 

participation in Board approved continuing education, the Board 

may extend the compliance period if requested by the licensee up 

to 90 days beyond the effective period of the state of emergency. 

Any license renewed in reliance on this exemption shall be issued 

conditionally and shall automatically expire on the 90th day if 

compliance is not documented in the licensee's secure online 

profile by that date. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5; 93B-15; Eff. March 1, 2015. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0310 REINSTATEMENT CRITERIA 

(a)  A former licensee may only apply for reinstatement pursuant 

to G.S. 89A-5 if he or she has earned all delinquent contact hours 

within the 12 months preceding the application. However, if the 

total number of contact hours required to become current exceeds 

24, 30, then upon application, the Board shall determine the 

number of hours required. 

(b)  An application for reinstatement shall be made on the form 

provided by the Board on its website, or by U.S. Mail if requested, 

website: www.ncbola.org by checking the appropriate box for 

"reinstatement" and shall be accompanied by the fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0311 APPLICATIONS CONTINUING 

EDUCATION REQUESTS FOR APPROVAL 

(a)  Renewal applications require the completion of a continuing 

education form through the licensee's secure online profile 

specified outlining specifying credit claimed, claimed. which 

located on the licensee's secure online profile. The licensee shall 

report and supply sufficient detail on the form to permit audit 

verification, certify the form continuing education by signature, 

and submit the form with the license renewal application and the 

fee. 

(b)  The following schedule for submittal of hours shall apply: 

(1) Application for approval of continuing 

education shall be submitted online or by paper 

application located on the Board's website or 

available from through the licensee's secure 

online profile. 

(2) The deadline for submittal of an application 

shall be seven days prior to the regularly 

scheduled meeting of the CEAC. 

(3) Activity forms Renewal requests submitted 

after May 15th cannot be guaranteed approval 

within the license renewal year. 
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(4) Applications Requests for approval of 

continuing education shall be completed in full 

and the answers to the essay questions 

contained in the application shall be in 

complete sentences, using proper grammar. 

(5) Administrative staff, the CEAC, and the Board 

may defer any application request deemed 

unsatisfactory incomplete and return it to the 

registrant licensee for further information or if 

the application request does not meet the 

requirements set forth in this Section. It is the 

responsibility of the licensee to submit 

sufficient information to satisfy the 

requirements of this Section. 

(6) Failure of a registrant licensee to complete the 

continuing education requirements, or failure to 

file a report of completed continuing education 

are grounds for denial of license renewal and 

renewal, possible suspension of license, or 

denial of consideration for future license 

reinstatement. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0312 COMPLIANCE 

(a)  Compliance with annual continuing education requirements 

shall be determined through an audit process conducted by the 

Board. Determination of individuals to be audited shall be 

accomplished through a random selection process or as the result 

of information received or obtained by the Board that gives rise to 

the need for an audit. Licensees selected for auditing shall provide 

the Board with the following documentation of the continuing 

education activities claimed for the renewal period: 

(1) Attendance attendance verification records in 

the form of transcripts, completion certificates, 

or other documents supporting evidence of 

attendance; and attendance. 

(2) Information regarding course content, 

instructors, and sponsoring organization, for 

activities presented by other than approved 

sponsors as defined in Rule .0313 of this 

Section. 

(b)  Attendance records shall be maintained by individual 

licensees for a period of three years for audit verification 

purposes. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0313 INDIVIDUAL LICENSES 

(a)  License registration A licensee shall be renewed on or before 

the first day in July June 30th of each year. No less than 30 days 

prior to the renewal date, the Board shall send a renewal reminder 

to each individual licensee. The licensee shall complete the 

current license renewal documentation required by the Board and 

found in the licensee's secure online profile. The licensee shall 

submit to the Board the completed license renewal 

documentation, along with the annual license renewal fee. The 

Board shall not accept incomplete renewal documentation. If the 

accompanying charge, draft, or check in the amount of the 

renewal fee is dishonored by the landscape architect's drawee 

bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend the license until the 

renewal fee is paid. When the annual renewal has been completed 

according to the provisions of G.S. 89A-5 and Rule .0307 of this 

Section, the Board Executive shall approve renewal of the license 

for the current license year. 

(b)  If the Board has not received the annual renewal fee and 

completed renewal documentation, on or before the first day of 

July each year the license shall expire and be delinquent. The 

license may be renewed at any time within one year of being 

deemed delinquent, upon the return of the completed completion 

of the renewal documentation, as found in the licensee's secure 

online profile, the process, payment of the annual renewal fee and 

the late renewal fee, along with demonstration of compliance with 

Rule .0307 of this Section. After one year from the date of 

delinquency the license may no longer be renewed, but the 

licensee shall seek reinstatement. Reinstatement shall occur 

according to the provisions of G.S. 89A-5 and Rule .0301 of this 

Section. 

(c)  Renewal fees are non-refundable. 

(d)  Any individual who is currently licensed by and in good 

standing with the Board who is serving in the armed forces of the 

United States shall not be subject to late fees, suspension, or 

revocation for failure to renew licensure on or before the first day 

of July June 30th each year, provided that the individual has been 

granted an extension of time to file a tax return as set forth in G.S. 

105-249.2. The licensee shall, however, comply with the 

continuing education requirement of Rule .0310 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-5; 89A-6. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0314 CORPORATE PRACTICE OF 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE 

(a)  Prior to offering and rendering landscape architectural 

services as set forth in G.S. 89A and Rule .0206 of this Chapter, 

all corporations shall, submit an application for registration and 

must be granted registration by the Board. Application for 

registration to practice landscape architecture within the State of 

North Carolina shall be made upon forms entitled "Application 

for Organization Certificate of Registration" on the appropriate 

application for organization certificate of registration for a 

corporation or a PLLC provided by the Board on its website and 

include the required application fee. Certificates for corporate 

practice may be issued only under the provisions of G.S. Chapter 

55B, except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule and G.S. 

Chapter 57C. 

(b)  Applications for certificate of registration as exempt from the 

Professional Corporation Act under the provisions of G.S. 55B-

15 shall be made upon forms provided by the Board. Completed 

applications shall be through the Board's website: 

www.ncbola.org accompanied by the corporate application fee. 

To be eligible as an exempt corporation under the provisions of 

G.S. 55B-15, the following conditions shall exist: 

(1) The corporation or limited liability company 

must have been incorporated or organized prior 

to June 5, 1969 and permitted by law to render 

professional services, or must be a corporate 

successor to such corporation or limited 

liability company as defined by G.S. 55B-15; or 
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(2) The corporation or limited liability company 

must have been incorporated or organized prior 

to October 1, 1979 and must have been a bona 

fide firm engaged in the practice of landscape 

architecture and such services as may be 

ancillary thereto within the State of North 

Carolina prior to that date. 

(c)  Firm registration must be renewed on or before June 30th. If 

the Board has not received the annual renewal fee and completed 

application on or before June 30th, the firm license shall expire 

and be delinquent. No less than 30 days prior to the renewal date, 

the Board shall send a notice of renewal to each registered firm. 

The firm shall designate a firm manager to complete the renewal 

documentation required by the Board. The Board shall not accept 

incomplete renewal documentation. Renewal documentation shall 

be accompanied by the renewal fee. If the accompanying payment 

in the amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the firm's 

drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend the firm 

registration until the renewal fee is paid. When the annual renewal 

has been completed according to the provisions of G.S. 89A-5, 

the Board Executive shall approve renewal for the firm 

registration for the current renewal year. The firm license 

registration shall not be renewed until the individual landscape 

architect in responsible charge for the firm has completed the 

individual renewal process. 

(d)  Within one year of expiration, the firm license registration 

may be renewed at any time upon the return of the completed 

renewal documents, the annual renewal fee, and the late renewal 

fee. After one year from the date of expiration for non-payment 

of the annual renewal fee, the licensee registered firm shall not be 

eligible to seek reinstatement, renewal, as set forth in G.S. 89A-

5, and the Board may reinstate the firms' certificate of registration 

only as allowed by G.S. 89A-4. 

(e)  Renewal fees are non-refundable. 

(f)  Each A registered corporation shall may adopt a seal pursuant 

to Rule .0207 of this Chapter. 

(g)  In addition to the requirements and limitations of G.S. Chapter 

55 and G.S. Chapter 55B, the firm name used by a landscape 

architectural corporation shall conform with Rule .0206 of this 

Chapter and be approved by the Board before being used. This 

Rule shall not prohibit the continued use of any firm name 

adopted in conformity with the General Statutes of North Carolina 

and the Board's rules in effect at the date of such adoption. 

(h)  Landscape architects may practice in this State through duly 

authorized limited liability companies only as provided under 

G.S. 57C-2-01(c). Any limited liability company that offers to 

practice or practices landscape architecture in this State shall 

comply with the same requirements applicable to professional 

corporations under Rules .0201, .0206, .0214, .0218 and .0219 of 

this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-5; 55B-10; 55B-15; 89A-3.1(4). 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0315 OUT-OF-STATE ENTITIES 

(a)  Landscape architectural entities from other states may be 

granted certificates of registration for practice in this State upon 

receipt by the Board of a completed application, fees, the 

submission of a certified copy of its corporate charter, or other 

corresponding documents, amended as may be necessary to 

ensure compliance with all requirements of Chapter 55B, the 

Professional Corporation Act of the State of North Carolina, and 

the payment of the firm application fee. In addition to the other 

requirements as set out in G.S. 83A-8, 89A-2(a1), out-of-state (or 

"foreign") entities shall, prior to registration, receive from the 

Secretary of State of North Carolina a certificate of authority to 

do business within the State. A certificate for filing for a 

certificate of authority shall be obtained from the Board prior to 

submitting the application to the Secretary of State. 

(b)  An out-of-state entity may be permitted to practice landscape 

architecture within the State of North Carolina provided that it 

complies with G.S. 55B. If an out-of-state entity offers landscape 

architectural services, then it shall comply with requirements set 

forth in G.S. 89A. An out-of-state entity shall have at least one 

officer or director licensed in the State as a landscape architect. 

Two-thirds of the issued and outstanding shares of the out-of-state 

corporations shall be held by a landscape architect, architect, 

geologist, soil scientist, engineer, or land surveyor licensed to 

practice the profession in a jurisdiction of the United States. 

However, the entity shall designate at least one landscape 

architect who is licensed in the State of North Carolina to be in 

responsible charge for the entity's practice of landscape 

architecture within the State of North Carolina. Notwithstanding 

the requirements of this Rule, an individual landscape architect 

who is licensed under G.S. Chapter 89A, et seq., may practice as 

an individual. 

(c)  An out-of-state limited liability company may practice 

landscape architecture, if the limited liability company complies 

with G.S. Chapter 57C and at least one member and one manager 

or member/manager is licensed as a landscape architect, architect, 

geologist, soil scientist, engineer, or land surveyor to comply with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  An out of state limited liability partnership may practice 

landscape architecture, if the limited liability partnership 

complies with G.S. 59-84.2, and at least one partner is licensed in 

this State as an individual pursuant to Rule .0301 of this Section. 

(e)  If the Board has not received the annual firm renewal fee and 

completed application on or before June 30th, the firm registration 

shall expire and be deemed delinquent. The firm registration may 

be renewed at any time within one year upon the payment of the 

annual renewal fee and the late renewal fees. After one year from 

the date of expiration for non-payment of the annual renewal fee, 

the license shall be automatically revoked. The Board may 

reinstate the firm's certificate of registration, as allowed by Rule 

.0301 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-6; 83A-6; 89A-2(a1); 

Eff. March 1, 2015. 

 

SECTION .0500 - BOARD DISCIPLINARY 

PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0510 COMPLAINTS AND 

DISCIPLINARY REVIEW PROCESS 

(a)  Any person may file a complaint against a licensed Landscape 

Architect for an alleged violation of G.S. Chapter 89A or 21 

NCAC 26 on a form provided on the Board's website: 

www.ncbola.org which may also be requested from the Board 

staff. 
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(b)  The complaint shall set forth the facts upon which the 

complaint is based and the complainant shall confirm he or she 

believes the facts stated are true and that he or she are prepared to 

prove them at a hearing. Supporting documents may be provided. 

(a)(c)  Allegations or evidence of a violation of the Landscape 

Architecture Licensing Act or the rules in this Chapter shall be 

preliminarily reviewed by the Board Chair and legal counsel to 

the Board. Upon a determination that evidence of a violation 

exists, the matter shall be subject to Board investigation and may 

ultimately be subject to disciplinary action by the Board. 

(b)(d)  An investigation shall be initiated by a written notice and 

explanation of the allegation being forwarded to the person 

licensee or entity against whom the charge is made and a response 

shall be requested of the person licensee or firm so charged within 

30 days of receipt of said notice to show compliance with all 

lawful requirements for retention of the license. Notice of the 

charge and of the alleged facts or alleged conduct shall be given 

personally or by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

(c)(e)  In the discretion of the Board Chair, a field investigation 

may be performed. 

(d)(f)  After additional evidence has been obtained, the Board 

Chair shall either: 

(1) recommend dismissal of the charge; or 

(2) refer the matter to the Disciplinary Review 

Committee. 

(e)(g)  If the Board Chair recommends dismissal, the Chair shall 

give a summary report to the Board and a vote shall be called to 

dismiss the complaint. If the Board does not vote to dismiss the 

complaint, the matter shall be forwarded to the Disciplinary 

Review Committee for further consideration. 

(f)(h)  The Disciplinary Review Committee shall be made up of a 

minimum of one member of the Board and the ,the Board Chair. 

Chair, and legal counsel to the Board. 

(g)(i)  Upon review of the evidence, and further investigation if 

necessary, the Disciplinary Review Committee shall present to the 

Board a written recommendation that may include the following: 

(1) The charge be dismissed as unfounded or that 

the Board is without jurisdiction over the 

matter; 

(2) The charge is admitted as true, whereupon the 

Board may accept the admission of guilt by the 

person licensee or entity charged and discipline 

the person licensee or entity accordingly; 

(3) The Board may accept a proposed settlement 

negotiated in an effort to resolve the alleged 

violations; or 

(4) The charge be presented to the full Board for a 

hearing and determination of sanctions by the 

Board in accordance with the substantive and 

procedural requirements of the provisions of 

G.S. 150B, Article 3A. 

(h)(j)  A consultant to the Disciplinary Review Committee shall 

be designated by the legal counsel of the Board if the Chair of the 

Disciplinary Review Committee determines that it needs 

assistance. The consultant shall be a currently licensed landscape 

architect selected from former Board members or other licensed 

professionals who are knowledgeable with the Board's processes 

and have expressed an interest in serving as a consultant. The 

consultant shall review all case materials and assist the 

Disciplinary Review Committee in making a recommendation as 

to the merits of the case. 

(i)(k)  At least 15 days written notice of the date of consideration 

by the Board of the recommendations of the Disciplinary Review 

Committee shall be given to the person licensee or entity against 

whom the charges have been brought and the person submitting 

the charge. complaint. 

(j)(l)  When the Board issues a notice of hearing against whom the 

licensee or entity the charges are brought, the person licensee or 

entity may request in writing a settlement conference to pursue 

resolution of the issue(s) through informal procedures. If, after the 

completion of a settlement conference, the person or entity and 

the Board's Disciplinary Review Committee do not agree to a 

resolution of the dispute for the full Board's consideration, the 

original disciplinary review process shall commence. During the 

course of the settlement conference, no sworn testimony shall be 

taken. 

 

Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(7),(8),(9); 89A-7. 

 

 

TITLE 25 – OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to amend the rule 

cited as 25 NCAC 01C .0405 with changes from the proposed text 

noticed in the Register, Volume 35 Issue 4. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-

rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 30, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  STATEOP Meeting_150 919 662-4657 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  25 NCAC 01C .0405 - REPRINT 

DUE TO DUPLICATION WITH 25 NCAC 01C .0407.  This Rule 

is being updated to include inmates, interns, and externs as 

exceptions to the mandatory break-in-service requirement for 

temporary employment.  These three categories of temporary 

employees are already exempted in the Temporary Employment 

Policy and in practice.  The updated Rule also more clearly 

defines each of exception categories.  It also clarifies that the Rule 

applies to all temporaries employed by the state. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Denise H. Mazza, 116 West 

Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27613; phone (984) 236-0823; email 

Denise.Mazza@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 13, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
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written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by 

the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the 

rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-

21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 

5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves 

the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, 

delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further 

questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01C – PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0400 - APPOINTMENT 

 

25 NCAC 01C .0405 TEMPORARY APPOINTMENT 

(a)  A temporary appointment is an appointment for a limited term 

to a permanent or temporary position, to fill a workforce need for 

a limited period of time. Temporary employees may not be used 

to permanently expand the workforce beyond authorized levels. 

Temporary appointments shall not to exceed 12 11 consecutive 

months, subject to the following exemptions: 

(1) Full-time Students, students shall be exempt 

from the 12-months maximum limit. "Students" 

include those defined as those undergraduate 

students taking at least 12 semester credit hours 

or graduate students taking at least nine 

semester 9 credit hours. 

(2) Retired employees, employees defined as those 

individuals drawing a retirement income or 

Social Security benefits may have temporary 

appointments for more than 12 months if and he 

or she signs having signed a statement that he 

or she is they are not available for, nor seeking 

permanent employment. "Retired employees" 

include those drawing a retirement income or 

social security benefits. 

(3) Inmates that are on a work-release program. 

(4) Interns defined as those students who regardless 

of the number of credit hours enrolled work to 

gain occupational experience for a short period 

of time, not to exceed three months. 

(5) Externs defined as those students who 

regardless of the number of credit hours 

enrolled are employed as part of a written 

agreement between the state and an academic 

institution by which the student is paid and 

earns course credit. 

(b)  Employees with a temporary appointment shall not earn or 

accrue leave, leave or receive total state service credit, retirement 

credit, severance pay, or priority reemployment consideration. 

(c)  This Rule applies to all temporaries employed by the state. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to repeal the rule 

cited as 25 NCAC 01C .0407. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-

rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 30, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  STATEOP Meeting_150 919 662-4657 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  25 NCAC 01C .0407 - Deletes this 

rule as it is redundant of the text included in 25 NCAC 01C .0405. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Denise H. Mazza, 116 West 

Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27613; phone (984) 236-0823; email 

Denise.Mazza@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 13, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by 

the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the 

rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-

21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 

5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves 

the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, 

delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further 

questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

25 NCAC 01C .0407 TEMPORARY PART-TIME 

APPOINTMENT 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10D .0103 

 

Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 17, 

2021 

 

Reason for Action:  G.S. 150B-21.1(7)d, 150B-21.1(a)(7)b, and 

150B-21.3(b2).  Temporary amendments to this rule are 

necessary to establish hunting seasons and manage game lands.  

This rule was adopted by the Agency in February 2021 and was 

objected to. At this point, permanent rulemaking is contrary to 

public interest, as changes need to be in place before August 1, 

2021 when the public is notified of the upcoming 2021-22 hunting 

seasons.  To avoid confusing the regulated public, the agency is 

adopting this rule under temporary procedures. 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 

(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 

designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 

any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 

the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 

Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 

lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 

prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 

(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 

purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 

screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 

herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 

portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 

in or attached to the tree. 

(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 

lands only during the open season for game animals and game 

birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 

or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 

dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 

lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons. On 

managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 

(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 

than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 

(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates; 

(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 

(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; and 

(5) not operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 

(1) On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons 

shall: 

(A) not enter the posted impoundment 

areas earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the 

permitted hunting dates; 

(B) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such 

hunting dates; 

(C) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 

(D) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; 

and 

(E) not operate any vessel or vehicle 

powered by an internal combustion 

engine. 

(2) On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited: 

(A) hunting with a firearm between 9:30 

AM and 12:30 PM; 

(B) the use of a firearm to take deer that 

are run or chased by dogs; 

(C) hunting with a firearm within 500 

yards of a place of religious worship, 

as defined by G.S. 14-54.1(b), or any 

accessory structure thereof. thereof, 

and 

(D) hunting migratory game birds. 

On designated youth waterfowl days, youths may hunt on 

managed waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to 

sunset. On designated veterans and military waterfowl days, 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 

designated as permit-only areas from ½ hour before sunrise to 

sunset. Restrictions (1), (1)(A), (1)(C), (3), and (5)(1)(E) in this 

Paragraph shall apply. On waterfowl impoundments that have a 

posted "Scouting-only Zone," trapping during the trapping season 

and waterfowl hunting on designated waterfowl hunting days are 

the only activities allowed on the portion of the impoundment 

outside of the posted "Scouting-only Zone." No person shall 

attempt to obscure the sex or age of any bird or animal taken by 

severing the head or any other part thereof, or possess any bird or 

animal that has been so mutilated. No person shall place, or cause 

to be placed on any game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods 

without prior written authorization of the Commission or its 

agent. A decision to grant or deny authorization shall be made 

based on the best management practices for the wildlife species in 
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question. No person shall take or attempt to take any game birds 

or game animals attracted to such foods. 

(e)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 

refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 

taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 

the federally-announced season. 

(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken during the open seasons 

and hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 

for game lands in this Rule that specifically 

allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 

Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 

Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 

either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 

each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 

may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 

7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 

Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken on the open days of 

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 

Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

(4) For purposes of this Section, "Seven Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

game may be taken during the open season on 

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, 

Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. 

(5) For purposes of this Section, "Four Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken during the open seasons 

and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, Thursdays, 

Saturdays, and Sundays. Raccoon and opossum 

hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. on 

Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m. on Fridays, and 7:00 

a.m. on Mondays. 

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 

with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 

where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0109. 

(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 

game lands: 

(1) Alcoa Yadkin River Game Land in Davidson, 

Davie, Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly 

counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter in that 

portion in Montgomery county, and 

deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season in those 

portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 

and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 

hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 

(A) Six Seven Day per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of 

three hunting days during the 

November Bear Season and the 

second Saturday, Monday, and 

Tuesday first three hunting days 

during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 

counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie , Martin, 

and Washington counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(5) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(6) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 

rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 

shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 

of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 

Lake Tract is by permit only. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 
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(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 

foxes shall be prohibited from 

February 15 through August 1. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(8) Brunswick County Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(9)(8) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(10)(9) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday three 

hunting days during of the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days of the second week second 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 

December Bear Season. If any of these 

days falls on a Tuesday, Friday or 

Saturday, bear hunting is allowed on 

those days. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(11)(10) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 

Wilkes Counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 

Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the Saturday of the second 

week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(12)(11) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 

Land s in Robeson County 

(A) Three Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(13)(12) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 

Granville, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

On the posted waterfowl 

impoundments a special permit is 

required for all waterfowl hunting 

after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on that portion west of NC 

50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. On designated bicycle riding 

areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 

from May 15 through August 31, and 

on Sundays only from September 1 

through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 
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Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 

designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 

Camping Area and shall not exceed a 

maximum stay of two consecutive 

nights. Campfires are prohibited in 

this camping area. 

(14)(13) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(15)(14) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 

that portion known as the Roan Island 

Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the portion of the game 

land that is west of the Black River, 

north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 

Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 

south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(16)(15) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(D) Bear hunting on the Salters Creek 

Tract is by permit only. 

(E) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(17)(16) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 

Caswell County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding riding, including all 

equine species, is allowed seven days 

per week from May 16 through August 

31, only during June, July, and 

August, and on Sundays only, 

September 1 through May 15. during 

the remainder of the year except 

during open turkey and deer seasons. 

Horseback riding is allowed only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 

on those gated roads and trails that are 

posted for equestrian use. People age 

16 or older horseback riding on this 

game land shall possess a Game Lands 

license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 

following roads is permit-only for all 

quail and woodcock hunting, and all 

bird dog training: From Yanceyville 

south on NC 62 to the intersection of 

SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 

intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 

1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 

east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 

NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 

intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 

1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 

east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 

NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 

by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 

Shooting Range. 

(18)(17) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding riding, including all 

equine species, is allowed seven days 

per week from May 16 through August 

31, only during June, July, and 

August, and on Sundays only 

September 1 through May 15. during 

the remainder of the year except 

during open turkey and deer seasons.

 . 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(19)(18) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(20)(19) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 

and Hertford counties. 
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(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday three 

hunting days during of the November 

bear season and the second Saturday, 

Monday, and Tuesday first three 

hunting days during the second week 

of the December bear season except 

that portion of Chowan Swamp Game 

Land in Gates County that is east of 

Highway 158/13, south of Highway 

158, west of Highway 32, and north of 

Catherine Creek and the Chowan 

River where the bear season is the 

same as the season dates for the Gates 

County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

during May 16 through August 31 and 

on Sundays only September 1 through 

May 15 on those roads that are open to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails posted for equestrian 

use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(21)(20) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(22)(21) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 

County. 

(A) Three Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract 

shall be by permit only. 

(23)(22) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 

Jones counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

day in October through the end of all 

waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting 

from designated Disabled Sportsmen 

blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl 

Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 

first two open days of dove season on 

posted areas. During the rest of dove 

season, no permit is required to hunt 

doves. 

(F) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(24)(23) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 

County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 

shall be hunted by permit only from 

November 1 through the end of all 

waterfowl seasons. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 

accompany the permitted individual or 

party provided the guides do not use a 

firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 

extend 5 yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 

hunting by permitted waterfowl 

hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(H) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(25)(24) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted for equestrian 

use. People age 16 or older horseback 

riding on this game land must possess 

a Game Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(26)(25) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 

of bombing range. 

(D) The use and training of dogs is 

prohibited from March 1 through June 

30. 

(27)(26) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(28)(27) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 

and Transylvania counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 

hunt permit holders during scheduled 

permit hunts. 

(29)(28) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(30)(29) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 

counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(31)(30) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 

Pamlico counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October through the end 

of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl 

hunting is by permit only on the 

following waterfowl impoundments: 

Pamlico Point, Campbell Creek, 

Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith 

Creek, and Hobucken. 

(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 

Waterfowl Impoundments all 

activities, except waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days 

and trapping during the trapping 

season, are restricted to the posted 

Scouting-only Zone during the period 

November 1 through March 15. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 

September 1 through January 1 and 

April 1 through May 15 to individuals 

that possess a valid hunting 

opportunity permit. 

(H) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Beaufort 

County portion north of NC 33 except 

for that portion east of Smith Creek 

and south of Campbell Creek. 

(I) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(32)(31) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 

Polk counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(33)(32) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) On that portion north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road, 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on that portion of 

the game land that is north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road. 

(34)(33) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments shall be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) Bear may only be taken the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of 

three hunting days during the 

November Bear Season and the 

second Saturday, Monday, and 

Tuesday first three hunting days 

during the second week of the 

December Bear Season, except for that 

portion designated as bear sanctuary. 

(35)(34) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 

Wake counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(36)(35) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 

Transylvania County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season 

(37)(36) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(38)(37) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) On that portion north of the Bear 

Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 

Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 

Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 

west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 

hunting are permit only. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 

bear is prohibited: 

(i) all open days on that portion 

of the game land that is south 

of Baby Branch extending 

west to Stag Park Road, west 

of Shaw Road, north of 

Meeks Road extending west 

to Stag Park Road and east of 

Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Fridays, with the exception 

of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's days, and 

except for the area north of 

Bear Garden Road, west of 

Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 

east of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River, south of NC 53 

and west of NC 50, where the 

use of dogs for deer and bear 

hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 

September 1 to the last day of 

February and April 1 to May 15 to 

individuals that possess valid hunting 

opportunity permits, unless otherwise 

authorized by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 
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(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 

Access Permit may operate an All 

Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 

yards of trails designated for Disabled 

Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(39)(38) Hyco Game land in Person County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(40)(39) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(41)(40) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 

holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is prohibited October 1 

through March 31, except by lawful 

waterfowl hunting permit holders and 

only on those days written on the 

permits. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas is limited to August 31 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14. 

(42)(41) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 

Orange, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 

(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding riding, including all 

equine species, is prohibited except 

allowed only on those areas posted as 

American Tobacco Trail and other 

areas posted for equestrian use. Unless 

otherwise posted, horseback riding is 

permitted on posted portions of the 

American Tobacco Trail anytime the 

trail is open for use. On all other trails 

posted for equestrian use, horseback 

riding is allowed seven days per week 

from May 16 through August 31, only 

during June, July, and August, and on 

Sundays only from September 1 

through May15. the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. People age 16 or older 

must shall obtain who ride horseback 

on trails occurring entirely within the 

game land boundaries shall possess a 

Game Lands license. license prior to 

engaging in horseback riding on any 

area other than the American Tobacco 

Trail. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. 

(43)(42) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(44)(43) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 

during the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 

and no screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 

turkey is prohibited. 
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(45)(44) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 

waterfowl impoundments is by permit 

only. 

(46)(45) Lee Game Land in Lee County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(47)(46) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(48)(47) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(49)(48) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 

Edgecombe and Halifax counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(50)(49) Mayo Game Land in Person County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Christmas and New Year's 

Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(51)(50) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Three Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday Tuesday 

thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(52)(51) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 

Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 

that portion located in Transylvania 

County. 

(53)(52) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 

counties. 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 

on the opening day of dove season is 

by permit only. 

(54)(53) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 

100 yards of the Neuse River on that 

portion of the game land that lies west 

of NC-43. 

(55)(54) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 

counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(56)(55) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through the fourth 

Friday before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 
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Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 

activities are prohibited: 

(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine; 

and 

(ii) Swimming. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(57)(56) North River Game Land in Camden and 

Currituck counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 

impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(58)(57) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 

Currituck County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(59)(58) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 

Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 

that portion in Anson and Richmond 

counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(E) Horseback riding is allowed seven 

days per week from May 16 through 

August 31, and on Sundays only 

September 1 through May 15 only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 

gated roads and trails posted for 

equestrian use. only during the 

following times: 

(i) during June, July, and 

August; and 

(ii) on Sundays during the other 

months or parts of months 

when deer and turkey seasons 

are closed. 

(F) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting shall be prohibited on that 

portion south of US-74. 

(60)(59) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 

(A) Three Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

Season through the second Tuesday 

thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(61)(60) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 

Watauga, and Yancey counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 

Black Bear (McDowell County), 

Linville River (Burke County), and 

Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 

McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(D) The use of bicycles shall be restricted 

to designated trails on the Linville 

River Tract (Burke County). Persons 

engaged in the act of hunting on the 

Linville River Tract during any open 

day of an applicable season for game 

birds or game animals shall be exempt 

from this restriction. 

(62)(61) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails from May 16 

through August 31 and Sundays from 

September 1 through October 31. All 

horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through May 15. 

(63)(62) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(64)(63) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 

in Wilkes County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 

(65)(64) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(66)(65) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 

Martin, and Northampton counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by Permit 

only. 

(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 

Commission business or by permit 

holders. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas, provided, however, 

that camping is allowed at any time 

within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 

on the state-owned portion of the game 

land. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(67)(66) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 

(68)(67) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Three Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(69)(68) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 to the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(70)(69) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 

Hunting is by permit only. 

(71)(70) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 

(A) Three Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(72)(71) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 

Richmond, and Scotland counties 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 

October 22 through March 31 except 

as follows: 

(i) deer of either-sex may be 

taken with archery 

equipment on all the open 

days of the archery season 

through the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

with blackpowder firearms 

and archery equipment all the 

open days of the 

blackpowder firearms season 

through the third Wednesday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

and only deer with visible 

antlers may be taken with all 

legal weapons from the 

second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(ii) dove may be taken all open 

days from the opening day of 

the dove season through the 

third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 

be taken all the open days 

from the second Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day 

through the Saturday 

following Thanksgiving 

Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 

days from the second 

Saturday preceding 

Thanksgiving Day through 
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the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 

open days during any 

waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 

may be taken as part of a 

Disabled Sportsmen Program 

Permit Hunt; and 

(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 

taken on open days from 

sunrise Monday on or nearest 

October 15 through the last 

day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

is the open hunting days from the 

second Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day through the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 

Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 

from the Saturday on or nearest to 

Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 

Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 

J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 

the third Monday after Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on all open hunting days 

during the archery season, by permit 

during the Deer with Visible antlers 

season, and the blackpowder firearms 

season as stated in this Subparagraph. 

Only deer with visible antlers may be 

taken from the third Monday after 

Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 

open days from the fourth Saturday 

preceding Thanksgiving Day through 

the Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1. Deer of either sex 

may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on all open hunting days 

during the blackpowder firearms 

season and by permit during the Deer 

With Visible Antlers season. Only 

deer with visible antlers may be taken 

from the third Monday after 

Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 

by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 

waterfowl may be taken on the 

opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 

prohibited unless participating in 

authorized field trials. Horseback 

riding is allowed on the remainder of 

the Sandhills Game Land seven days 

per week on roads that are open to 

vehicular traffic and gated roads and 

trails posted for equestrian use. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 

Complex. 

(73)(72) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 

Counties counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(74)(73) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 

Madison counties. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 

and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 

10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 

the opening day through the second 

Saturday of dove season. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(75)(74) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 

(76)(75) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
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(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(77)(76) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 

Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the Saturday of the second 

week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails during the 

following dates: 

(i) January 2 through March 31; 

(ii) May 16 through August 31; 

(iii) Sundays only - April 1 

through May 15; and 

(iv) Sundays only - September 1 

through January 1. 

(78)(77) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 

and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments may be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(79)(78) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 

Cumberland counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 

or trapping days except for: 

(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 

permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 

Road to access Suggs Mill 

Pond Lake at the dam. 

(D) During the period of November 1 

through January 31, except on 

Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 

Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 

Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 

only by waterfowl hunters possessing 

a valid and current Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(E) During the period of November 1 

through March 15, the use of vessels 

on managed waterfowl impoundments 

is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 

waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 

and current Hunting Opportunity 

Permit issued by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission pursuant to 

G.S. 113-264(d). 

(80)(79) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 

Brunswick counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(81)(80) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited 
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(82)(81) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(83)(82) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 

County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(84)(83) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 

overnight camping at any designated 

campground is 14 days within any 30 

day period from May 1 through 

August 31. After 14 consecutive days 

of camping all personal belongings 

must be removed from the game land. 

(85)(84) Tillery game Game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(86)(85) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(87)(86) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 

Montgomery, and Randolph counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl may be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 

Range. 

(88)(87) Vance Game Land in Vance County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 

handguns for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 

tract. 

(89)(88) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of 

three hunting days during the 

November Bear Season and the 

second Saturday, Monday, and 

Tuesday first three hunting days 

during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(90)(89) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 

County 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91)(90) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow 

County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 
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(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October through the end 

of all waterfowl seasons, a permit is 

required for hunting posted waterfowl 

impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 

have the following restrictions: 

(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 

requires a valid Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by 

the Wildlife Resources 

Commission pursuant to G.S. 

113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 

and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 

deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(92)(91) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and 

Pender counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Long 

Ridge Tract. 

(93)(92) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season.  

(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 

the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 

shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 

September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 

issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 

permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 

making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 

cooperator agent or by phone. 

(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting 

except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current 

permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 

River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 

Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 

Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 

Refuge; 

(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 

of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 

Lands; and 

(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—

DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 

County requires written permission from the Commission. 

Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 

Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 

entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 

agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 

need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 

investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 

public interest. 

(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 

season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner 

of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to 

hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs 

for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or bear 

season. 

(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 

Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 

game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 

permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(m)  Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared 

by the Commission to be Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days, 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 

designated as permit-only areas. 

(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 

Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 

disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 

schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 

and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 

hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 

stated on each permit. 

(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 

species. 

(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on 

Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, 

the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 

113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 3, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; September 

1, 1995; July 1, 1995; September 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this replaces the amendment 

approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

May 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; October 1, 2006; August 1, 2006; May 1, 2006; February 

1, 2006; June 1, 2005; October 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; August 1, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission June 17, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Barbara A. Jackson 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

     July 15, 2021 August 19, 2021 
 September 16, 2021 October 21, 2021 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
June 17, 2021 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, June 17, 2021, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting in accordance with the 
provisions of G.S. 143-318.13.   
 
Commissioners Barbara Jackson and Bob Rucho were present in the Commission Room.  Commissioners present via 
WebEx were Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, and Randy 
Overton. 
 
Staff members present were Julie Brincefield and Commission Counsel Amanda Reeder. Staff members Alex Burgos, and 
Commission Counsel Amber May and Ashley Snyder were present via WebEx. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:01 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding. 
 
The Chair read into the record the statement of economic interest for Barbara Jackson, which stated there was no actual 
conflict of interest, but found the potential for a conflict of interest. The potential conflict identified does not prohibit service 
on the Commission. 
 
Justice Jackson fills the role of a public member on the Commission. She is an attorney/mediator and serves as a board 
member of the Conservatives for Criminal Justice Reform (CCJR). In addition, her spouse is an Assistant Deputy 
Commissioner with the North Carolina Department of Labor. Therefore, Justice Jackson has the potential for a conflict of 
interest and should exercise appropriate caution in the performance of her public duties, should issues involving her clients, 
CCJR or the North Carolina Department of Labor come before the Commission for official action. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the May 20, 2021 meeting. There 
were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
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Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob 
Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Department of Environmental Quality  
01 NCAC 41D .0101 and .0302 – Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 
Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07J .0403, .0404, .0405, .0407, .0410; and 07K .0207 - The agency is addressing the objections from the May 
meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles  
Prior to the review of the rules from the Department of Transportation, Commissioner Bryan recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because his family is involved in litigation with the agency. 
 
19A NCAC 03C .0232 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob 
Rucho – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles  
Prior to the review of the rules from the Department of Transportation, Commissioner Bryan recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because his family is involved in litigation with the agency. 
 
19A NCAC 03F .0201, .0202, .0203; and 03I .0307 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, 
ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 
Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Real Estate Commission 
21 NCAC 58A .0104, .0105, .0110, .0114, .0120, .0503, .1601, .2202; 58H .0210, and .0303 –  
21 NCAC 58A .0104, .1601, and .2202 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the remaining rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, 
and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners  
21 NCAC 62 .0407 and .0411 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 
Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Building Code Council 
Residential Code, N1101.13(R401.2) – Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(d), the rule is being returned upon the written request 
of the agency.  No further action will be taken by the Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Child Care Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 09 .2828 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, 
and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Medical Care Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob 
Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
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Private Protective Services Board  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob 
Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 14B NCAC 16 .0807 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob 
Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners  
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides a varied scope of legal services to 
the Board, some of which includes advice on rulemaking. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Licensing Board for General Contractors  
Prior to the review of the rules from the Licensing Board for General Contractors, Commissioner Choi recused herself and 
did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides a varied scope of legal 
services to the Board, some of which includes advice on rulemaking. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board   
Prior to the review of the rules from the Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board, Commissioner Choi recused herself and 
did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides a varied scope of legal 
services to the Board, some of which includes advice on rulemaking. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 10D .0103 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, 
and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Travis Narron, a member of the regulated public, addressed the Commission. 
 
Tamara Zmuda with the Department of Justice, and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
Commissioners Bryan and Currin were appointed to review the OAH rules coming before the Commission at the July 
meeting. 
 
The Chair thanked Commissioner Choi for her service on the Commission, as Commissioner Choi is not seeking 
reappointment to the Commission.  
 
The meeting adjourned at 9:41 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, July 15, 2021, at 9:00 a.m. 
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Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
 

 

Rules Review Commission Meeting June 17, 2021 
Held Via WebEx 

   

Name   Agency  

Dr. Joe Siragusa Chiro Bd 

Tichina Hamer DHHS 

Lorie Pugh DHHS 

Chuck Lewis DHHS 

Laura Rowe Treasurer 

Joelle Burleson DENR 

Tom Mitchell DHHS 

Makeda Harris NCHA 

Elizabeth Kountis DENR 

Patrick Knowlson DENR 

Dedra Alston DHHS 

Mark Lance Congressional Sportsmen 

Rahatul Ashique DENR   

Ashley Pekrul WRC 

Helen Landi DOT 

Jennifer Everett DEQ 

John Barkley DOJ 

Hannah Jernigan DOT 

Melissa Vuotto REC 

Rob Patchett REC 

Donna Coffey DHHS 

Nadine Pfeiffer DSHR 

Robert Glass Good Manning 

Travis Narron  

Carrie Ruhlman WRC 

Hannah Jernigan DOT 

Wally Ainsworth DHHS 

Joelle Burleson Dental Bd 

Dr. Joe Siragusa Chiro Bd 

Tichina Hamer DHHS 

Lorie Pugh DHHS 

Chuck Lewis DHHS 

Elizabeth Kountis DENR 
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List of Approved Permanent Rules 

June 17, 2021 Meeting 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Purpose and Organization 01 NCAC 41D .0101 

Fund Disbursements 01 NCAC 41D .0302 

 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

Enhanced Program Standards for a Rated License for Family... 10A NCAC 09 .2828 

 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Qualifications of Medication Staff 10A NCAC 13F .0403 

Test for Tuberculosis 10A NCAC 13F .0406 

Qualifications of Supervisor-In-Charge 10A NCAC 13G .0402 

Qualifications of Medication Staff 10A NCAC 13G .0403 

Test for Tuberculosis 10A NCAC 13G .0405 

Abbreviations 10A NCAC 13P .0101 

Definitions 10A NCAC 13P .0102 

Transport of Stretcher Bound Patients 10A NCAC 13P .0222 

Educational Programs 10A NCAC 13P .0501 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for EMR, EMT, AEMT, Pa... 10A NCAC 13P .0502 

Renewal of Credentials for EMR, AEMT, Paramedic, and EMD 10A NCAC 13P .0504 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for Level 1 EMS Instru... 10A NCAC 13P .0507 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for Level II EMS Instr... 10A NCAC 13P .0508 

Renewal of Credentials for Level I and Level II EMS Instr... 10A NCAC 13P .0510 

Reinstatement of Lapsed EMS Credential 10A NCAC 13P .0512 

Continuing Education EMS Educational Program Requirements 10A NCAC 13P .0601 

Basic and Advanced EMS Educational Institution Requirements 10A NCAC 13P .0602 

Renewal Designation Process 10A NCAC 13P .0905 

State Trauma System 10A NCAC 13P .1101 

Chemical Addiction or Abuse Recovery Program Requirements 10A NCAC 13P .1401 

Conditions for Restricted Practice with Limited Privileges 10A NCAC 13P .1403 

Reinstatement of an Unencumbered EMS Credential 10A NCAC 13P .1404 

Failure to Complete the Chemical Addiction or Abuse Recov... 10A NCAC 13P .1405 

EMS Educational Institutions 10A NCAC 13P .1505 

EMS Personnel Credentials 10A NCAC 13P .1507 

Procedures for Qualifying for an EMS Credential Following... 10A NCAC 13P .1511 

 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Reporting Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0110 

Involvement in Administrative Hearing 14B NCAC 16 .0113 

Application for Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0201 

Renewal or Re-issue of Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0203 

Determination of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .0204 

Reports 14B NCAC 16 .0404 

Private Investigator's Use of a Badge 14B NCAC 16 .0405 

P.S.E. Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0602 
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Application for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0701 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0703 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0707 

Trainer Name to be Submitted to Director 14B NCAC 16 .0708 

Application/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0801 

Concealed Weapons 14B NCAC 16 .0808 

Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0902 

Accreditation Standards 14B NCAC 16 .1203 

Application for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registr... 14B NCAC 16 .1301 

Training Requirements for Armed Armored Car Service Guards 14B NCAC 16 .1407 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Water Quality Management Plans 15A NCAC 02B .0227 

Cape Fear River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0311 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1701 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .1702 

Emission Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1703 

Test Methods and Procedures 15A NCAC 02D .1704 

Operational Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1705 

Compliance Provisions 15A NCAC 02D .1706 

Monitoring Provisions 15A NCAC 02D .1707 

Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1708 

Recordkeeping Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1709 

Compliance Schedule 15A NCAC 02D .1710 

 

TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF 

Registration Information and Certified Records Fees 19A NCAC 03C .0232 

Traffic Accident Summary 19A NCAC 03F .0201 

Fatal Accident Reports 19A NCAC 03F .0202 

Special Holiday Reports 19A NCAC 03F .0203 

Courses of Instruction 19A NCAC 03I .0307 

 

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Structure of Board 21 NCAC 10 .0103 

North Carolina Examination 21 NCAC 10 .0203 

Continuing Education Seminars 21 NCAC 10 .0207 

Waiver 21 NCAC 10 .0216 

 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 12A .0201 

Permits and Inspections 21 NCAC 12A .0212 

Renewal of License 21 NCAC 12A .0503 

Waiver 21 NCAC 12A .0607 

Attendance; Roster Reports and Certificates 21 NCAC 12B .0204 

Course Requirements 21 NCAC 12B .0301 
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LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

Practice of Landscape Contracting; Display of License Number 21 NCAC 28B .0103 

Maintain Current Information 21 NCAC 28B .0204 

Continuing Education Units 21 NCAC 28B .0402 

Continuing Education Records; Audit 21 NCAC 28B .0403 

Turf 21 NCAC 28B .0503 

Walls 21 NCAC 28B .0508 

 
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Advertising 21 NCAC 58A .0105 

Broker-In-Charge 21 NCAC 58A .0110 

Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure S... 21 NCAC 58A .0114 

Prohibited Acts 21 NCAC 58A .0120 

License Renewal 21 NCAC 58A .0503 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of Education Provider ... 21 NCAC 58H .0210 

Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0303 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SPECIALIST EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Renewal 21 NCAC 62 .0407 

Specialized Training 21 NCAC 62 .0411 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 
June 17, 2021 Meeting 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Hunting on Game Lands 15A NCAC  10D  .0103  

 

http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=72087
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=72087
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=72087
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

DONALD R. VAN DER VAART 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Michael Byrne 

Selina Malherbe    Karlene Turrentine 

      
 

 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 CPS 03025 5/21/2021 Jonathan E Blood  v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Sutton 

             

20 DOJ 04576 5/10/2021 Abraham Jeremiah 

McMillion 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

May 

20 DOJ 04990 5/21/2021 Trashunda Mo'na 

Keyes  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

             

19 DST 02895; 

02896; 

02897; 

02898; 

02899; 

02900; 

03752 

5/28/2021 Davidson County 

Board of Education; 

Henderson County 

Board of Education; 

Blue Ridge 

Community College 

Board of Trustees; 

Granville County 

Board of Education; 

Mitchell County 

Board of Education; 

Moore County 

Board of Education; 

Elkin City Schools 

Board of Education 

v. Retirement Systems Division 

Department of State Treasurer 

Culpepper 

19; 

20 

DST 03422; 

03424; 

03425; 

03430; 

03431; 

03444; 

03753; 

03754; 

5/28/2021 Wilkes County 

Board of Education 

on Behalf of The 

Wilkes County 

Schools; Johnston 

County Board of 

Education on 

Behalf of The 

v. NC Retirement Systems Division 

Office of State Treasurer; Retirement 

Systems Division Office of State 

Treasurer; Retirement Systems 

Division Office of State Treasurer; 

Retirement Systems Division 

Department of State Treasurer; 

Retirement Systems Division 

Culpepper 
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06275; 

02876; 

02877 

Johnston County 

Schools; Union 

County Board of 

Education on 

Behalf of The 

Union County 

Schools; Clinton 

City Schools Board 

of Education; Wake 

County Board of 

Education; Chapel 

Hill-Carrboro Board 

of Education; 

Lincoln County 

Board of Education; 

Granville Cournty 

Board of Education; 

Scotland County 

Board of Education; 

Madison County 

Board of Education; 

Swain County 

Board of Education 

Department of State Treasurer; 

Retirement Systems Division 

Department of State Treasurer; 

Retirement Systems Division 

Department of State Treasurer; 

Retirement Systems Division 

Department of State Treasurer; 

Retirement Systems Division 

Department of State Treasurer; NC 

Department of State Treasurer, 

Retirement Systems Division; NC 

Department of State Treasurer, 

Retirement Systems Division 

             

20 INS 04908 5/12/2021 Kimberly Jo 

Salisbury  

v. North Carolina State Health Plan May 

21 INS 00333 5/13/2021 Beth Anne Ulrich  v. NC State Health Plan Bawtinhimer 

             

18 OSP 04894 5/26/2021 Iris S Brown  v. New Hanover CC/DPS Lassiter 

        

    Unpublished    

        

19 CSE 05954 5/10/2021 Ramon Sepulveda  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

20 CSE 04151 5/17/2021 Jack R Doughten  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04294 5/11/2021 Nigel Kelly  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04318 5/11/2021 Martin Delgado  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04331 5/3/2021 Kevin E Hedgepeth  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04332 5/3/2021 Kevin E Hedgepeth  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04351 5/4/2021 Steven M 

Hunsinger  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 04392 5/12/2021 Justin Haley 

Freeman  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 
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20 CSE 04395 5/20/2021 Jason Cooper  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04484 5/11/2021 Richard W 

Williams  

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04496 5/11/2021 Daniel David Hayes 

III  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04497 5/11/2021 James Grant  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04510 5/5/2021 Salim H Laverpool  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04513 5/19/2021 Graciano Ramos-

Hernandez  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Turrentine 

20 CSE 04515 5/18/2021 Kenneth Foster  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04533 5/19/2021 Robert A Ball  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04559 5/11/2021 Antonio Adams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04570 5/3/2021 Phillip G Covington  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04601 5/21/2021 Richard E Copeland  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04606 5/5/2021 Robert Jenkins  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04612 5/20/2021 Darryl Adderly  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04628 5/18/2021 Mour Mamadou 

Diop  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04666 5/11/2021 Kevin G Landis  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04668 5/5/2021 Eric M Taylor Sr  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04691 5/10/2021 Juan R Edwards v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04715 5/4/2021 Martin Cridge Jr  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04722 5/21/2021 Vincent A Lzediuno  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

36:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 15, 2021 

148 

20 CSE 04777 5/28/2021 Persivia Collins  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04992 5/3/2021 Teresa Myers  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 05080 5/7/2021 Trudy Ann Brown  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

21 CSE 00011 5/3/2021 Kathryn 

Edgecombe  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

21 CSE 01242 5/7/2021 Chris Newman Jr.  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

21 CSE 01298 5/24/2021 Kenneth Cox v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

  
          

 

21 DCS 01457 5/13/2021 Jessamy Hubbard  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

21 DHR 00418 5/5/2021 Hotel Indigo 

Carolos Rubio  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Mann 

21 DHR 00992 5/3/2021 Absolute Home & 

Community 

Services Inc  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

Byrne 

21 DHR 01470 5/12/2021 David Michael 

Kistler  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

21 INS 01385 5/12/2021 Megan E Gavin  v. State Health Plan Byrne 

21 INS 01490 5/13/2021 Deyonta M Thacker  v. North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer 

Malherbe 

21 INS 01491 5/20/2021 Michael K Silver  v. North Carolina Department of 

Treasurer 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

21 MIS 01190 4/16/2021; 

5/10/2021 

Shahsultan Jaffer  v. Durham Police Department and 

Durham Civilian Review Board 

Byrne 

  
          

 

21 OSP 01614 5/14/2021 Tabitha C Moore  v. Rutherford County Department of 

Social Services 

Byrne 

 

 


