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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.






EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Carolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

June 1, 2021
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 217

EXTENDING TRANSPORTATION-RELATED PROVISIONS
IN PREVIOUS EXECUTIVE ORDERS

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2020, the undersigned issued Exec. Order No. 116, 34 N.C.
Reg. 1744-1749 (April 1, 2020), which declared a State of Emergency to coordinate the State’s
response and protective actions to address the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) public
health emergency and to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of residents and visitors located
in North Carolina (““Declaration of a State of Emergency™): and

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a
global pandemic; and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States declared the ongoing
COVID-19 outbreak a pandemic of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant an emergency
declaration for all states, tribes, territories, and the District of Columbia pursuant to Section 501(b)
of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. § 5121-5207
(the “Stafford Act™); and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States pursuant to Sections
201 and 301 of the National EmergenciesAct, 50 U.S.C. § 1601, ¢/ seqg. and consistent with
Section 1135 of the Social Security Act, as amended (42 U.S.C. § 1320b-5), declared that the
COVID-19 pandemic in the United States constitutes a national emergency, retroactive to March
1,2020; and

WHEREAS, on March 25, 2020, the President of the United States, pursuant to Section
401 of the Stafford Act, approved a Major Disaster Declaration, FEMA-4487-DR, for the State of
North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, in responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, and for the purposes of protecting
the health, safety and welfare of the people of North Carolina, the undersigned has issued
Executive Order Nos. 116-122, 124-125,129-131, 133-136, 138-144, 146-153,155-157, 161-165,
169-173, 176-177, 180-181, 183-185 and 188-193: 195, 197-198, 200, 204-207, 209-212, 215-
216, and

WHEREAS, more than one million and three thousand (1,003,000) people in North
Carolina have had COVID-19, and more than thirteen thousand one hundred (13,100) people in
North Carolina have died from the disease; and
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

WHEREAS, in recent weeks North Carolina has seen improvement in key COVID-19
metrics, including COVID-19 daily diagnoses, the percent of total COVID-19 tests that are
positive, the number of emergency department visits that are due to COVID-like illnesses, and the
number of COVID-19 associated hospitalizations; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina is taking measured, evidence-based approaches to pandemic
recovery, including promoting COVID-19 safety precautions, expediting vaccine rollout, and
developing workplace safety measures; and

WHEREAS, due to the measures taken to date by the undersigned and the resilience and
persistence of all North Carolinians, the state’s key COVI1D-19 metrics continue to improve; and

WHEREAS, on May 14, 2021, the undersigned, as a result of improving COVID-19
trends, signed Executive Order No. 215 lifting most COVID-19 restrictions related to social
distancing, face covering requirements, and capacity limits; and

WHEREAS, the uninterrupted supply of fuel oil, diesel oil, gasoline, kerosene, propane,
and liquid petroleum gas to residential and commercial establishments is an essential need of the
public and any interruption in the delivery of those fuels threatens the public welfare; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 116, issued on March 10, 2020, included certain
suspensions of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; and

WHEREAS, on May 26, 2021, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(“FMCSA”) issued Extension of the Expanded Modified Emergency Declaration No. 2020-002
to provide regulatory relief for commercial motor vehicle operations that provide direct assistance
in support of emergency relief efforts related to COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, the undersigned has determined that the Executive Order needs to remain in
place to allow for the continued expedited movement of vehicles in the state and to be ready in
case there is a spike in the disease among the non-vaccinated population; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 119, issued on March 20, 2020, the undersigned
facilitated critical motor vehicle operations; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 197, issued on February 26, 2021, extended the
transportation related provisions in Executive Order Nos. 116, 119, 133, 140, 146, 150, 157, 164,
and 192; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 116 invoked the Emergency Management Act, and
authorizes the undersigned to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in
the response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(2), the undersigned may make,
amend, or rescind necessary orders, rules, and regulations within the limits of the authority
conferred upon the Governor in the Emergency Management Act; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(3) authorizes and empowers the
undersigned to delegate any Gubernatorial vested authority under the Emergency Management
Act and to provide for the subdelegation of any authority; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.70(b), allows for the undersigned to declare by
executive order that the health, safety, or economic well-being of persons or property in this state
require that the maximum hours of service prescribed by the Department of Public Safety pursuant
to N.C. Gen Stat. § 20-381 and similar rules be waived for persons transporting essentials or
assisting in the restoration of utility services.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:
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Section 1. Extensions

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above and set forth in the relevant Executive
Orders referenced below, the undersigned orders as follows:

A. Executive Order Nos. 116 and 119.

1.

Sections 3, 5 and 5.5 of Executive Order No. 119 (which were extended by Executive
Order Nos. 133, 140, 146, 150, 157, 164, 197 and reissued in No. 192) are hereby extended
through August 31, 2021.

Section 5 of Executive Order No. 116 (which was amended by Section 6 of Executive
Order No. 119, Section 1 of Executive Order No. 146, Section 1 of Executive Order No.
150, Section 1 of Executive Order No. 157, Section 1 of Executive Order No. 192 and
extended by Executive Order Nos. 133, 140, 146; 150, 157, 164, 197 and reissued in No.
192) is extended pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.70(b) through August 31, 2021.

Section 5 of Executive Order No. 116 is amended as follows:

In order to ensure adequacy and location of supplies and resources to respond to COVID-
19, DPS, in conjunction with the North Carolina Department of Transportation (“DOT"),
shall waive the maximum hours of service for drivers prescribed by DPS pursuant to N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 20-381 subject to the restrictions and limitations in this Executive Order, if
the driver is transporting medical supplies and equipment related to the testing, diagnosis
and treatment of COVID-19; vaccines, constituent products, and medical supplies and
equipment including ancillary supplies/kits for the administration of vaccines, related to
the prevention of COVID-19; and supplies and equipment necessary for community
safety, sanitation, and prevention of community transmission of COVID-19, such as
masks, gloves, hand sanitizer, soaps and disinfectants, essential fuels such as fuel oil,
diesel oil, gasoline, kerosene, propane, and liquid petroleum gas to residential and
commercial establishments; and food, water, livestock, poultry, feed for livestock and
poultry and other supplies and equipment in support of the Plan or other efforts to address
the public health threat posed by COVID-19. These maximum hours may be waived
through the duration of the State of Emergency or until further notice. Direct assistance
does not include routine commercial deliveries, including mixed loads with a nominal
quantity of qualifying emergency relief added to obtain the benefits of this Executive
Order.

This Executive Order does not amend the sixty (60) day postponement of DMV -related
hearings established in Section 3.f of Executive Order No. 119.

The first sentence of Section 8 of Executive Order No. 119 is amended to read:

“This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until
the end of the calendar day on August 31, 2021, or until rescinded or superseded
by another applicable Executive Order.”

B. Miscellaneous provisions. For avoidance of doubt:

 E8

Future Executive Orders may extend the term of the restrictions, delegations, and
requirements listed above.

An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration of a State of Emergency will automatically
rescind this Executive Order.

Section 2. Distribution

I hereby order that this Executive Order be: (1) distributed to the news media and other

organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; (2) promptly
filed with the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, the Secretary of State,
and the superior court clerks in the counties to which it applies, unless the circumstances of the
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State of Emergency would prevent or impede such filing: and (3) distributed to others as necessary
to ensure proper implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 3. Effective Date

This Executive Order is effective immediately. This Executive Order shall remain in effect
until August 31, 2021, unless repealed, replaced. or rescinded by another applicable Executive
Order. An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration of a State of Emergency will automatically
rescind this Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of
the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 1*' day of June in the year of our
Lord two thousand and twenty-one.

oy Coop:
Governor

,5 Do ;”x,)ﬁ/lhcu/aﬂa 00

Elaine F. Marsha
Secretary of State
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IN ADDITION

Public Notice
North Carolina Environmental Management Commission
Division of Water Resources/Water Quality Permitting Section
1617 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1617
Notice of Intent to Reissue an NPDES General Wastewater Permit

The North Carolina Environmental Management Commission proposes to reissue the following NPDES wastewater general permit:

NPDES General Permit No. NCG530000 for the discharge of treated wastewater resulting from seafood packing and rinsing operations,
as well as from fish farms and hatcheries defined as concentrated aquatic animal production (CAAP) facilities with production levels
above specified minimums.

Written comments regarding the proposed general permit will be accepted until 30 days after the publish date of this notice. The Director
of the NC Division of Water Resources (DWR) may hold a public hearing should there be a significant degree of public interest. Please
mail comments and/or information requests to DWR at the above address. Interested persons may visit the DWR at 512 N. Salisbury
Street, Raleigh, NC to review information on file. Additional information on this notice may be found on our website at:
https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-permits/wastewater-branch/npdes-wastewater/public-notices.

For questions or comments about NPDES General Permit NCG530000 for the discharge of treated wastewater resulting from seafood
packing and rinsing operations, as well as from fish farms and hatcheries defined as concentrated aquatic animal production (CAAP)
facilities with production levels above specified minimums, please contact Brianna Young via e-mail at brianna.young@ncdenr.gov.
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 16 - BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Dental Examiners intends to amend the rule cited as 21
NCAC 160 .0402.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.hcdentalboard.org

Proposed Effective Date: November 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: August 12, 2021

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Location: 2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville,
NC 27560

Reason for Proposed Action: 21 NCAC 160 .0402 is proposed
for amendment to set out standards for approval of nitrous oxide
courses and instructors.

Comments may be submitted to: Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter
Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560

Comment period ends: August 30, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

L] State funds affected

L] Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)

] Approved by OSBM

X No fiscal note required

SUBCHAPTER 160 — NITROUS-OXIDE-OXYGEN
CONSCIOUS SEDATION

SECTION .0400 - QUALIFICATIONS TO PERFORM
FUNCTIONS

21 NCAC 160 .0402
REQUIREMENTS
(a) A Dental Assistant may aid and assist a licensed dentist in the
monitoring of nitrous oxide-oxygen inhalant sedation by
completing a Board-approved course totaling at least seven hours
that covers the following topics:

EDUCATIONAL

(8] definitions and descriptions of physiological
and psychological aspects of pain and anxiety;
2 the states of drug-induced central nervous

system depression through all levels of
consciousness and unconsciousness, with
special emphasis on the distinction between the
conscious and unconscious state;

3 respiratory and circulatory physiology, and
related anatomy;

4) pharmacology of agents used in the nitrous
oxide techniques being taught, including drug
interaction and incompatibility;

5) patient monitoring, with particular attention to
vital signs and reflexes related to
consciousness;

(6) prevention, recognition, and management of
complications and life threatening situations
that may occur during the use of the nitrous
oxide techniques, including cardio pulmonary
resuscitation;

@) description and use of ventilation sedation
equipment; and
(8) potential health hazards of trace anesthetics,

and proposed techniques for elimination of
these potential health hazards.
(b) Courses approved to satisfy the educational requirements of
this Rule shall be provided and taught by:

€8} an_instructor who is a dentist holding an
unrestricted license as defined by 21 NCAC
16A .0101(7);

2) an instructor licensed pursuant to 21 NCAC
16B .0701; or

3) a dental hygienist or dental assistant under the

direction of an instructor who satisfies the
requirements of Subparagraph (b)(1) or (b)(2)
of this Rule, who shall be physically present
and _administer _nitrous oxide if it is
administered in the course.
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(c) Courses shall be reviewed at any Board meeting and approved Authority G.S. 90-29(b)(6); 90-29(c)(10); 90-29(c)(13); 90-48;
by a majority of the Board to satisfy the educational requirements 90-223.

of this Rule. A list of approved courses is available on the Board's

website at www.ncdentalboard.org.
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APPROVED RULES

This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on May 20, 2021 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF
Definitions 01 NCAC 41C .0101* 35:08 NCR
Eligibility 01 NCAC 41C .0201* 35:08 NCR
Criteria for Energy Conservation Loans 01 NCAC 41C .0202* 35:08 NCR
Loan Percentage and Conditions and Limitations 01 NCAC 41C .0203* 35:08 NCR
Pre-Application Conference 01 NCAC 41C .0204* 35:08 NCR
Application Procedures 01 NCAC 41C .0205* 35:08 NCR
Application Review 01 NCAC 41C .0206* 35:08 NCR
Loan Approval 01 NCAC 41C .0207* 35:08 NCR
Loan Agreement and Promissory Note 01 NCAC 41C .0208* 35:08 NCR
Reports 01 NCAC 41C .0209* 35:08 NCR
Monitoring 01 NCAC 41C .0210% 35:08 NCR
Default 01 NCAC 41C .0211* 35:08 NCR
Technical Analysis Required 01 NCAC 41C .0301* 35:08 NCR
Technical Analyst Disqualifications 01 NCAC 41C .0302* 35:08 NCR
Report Required 01 NCAC 41C .0303* 35:08 NCR
Definitions 01 NCAC 41D .0102* 35:08 NCR
Banking 01 NCAC 41D .0201* 35:08 NCR
Selling 01 NCAC 41D .0202* 35:08 NCR
Proceeds and Distribution 01 NCAC 41D .0301* 35:08 NCR
Reports 01 NCAC 41D .0401* 35:08 NCR
SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
Background Investigation 12 NCAC 10B .0305* 35:15 NCR
COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION
Public Water Supply Categories 15A NCAC O07H .0401* 34:09 NCR
AECs Within Public Water Supplies 15A NCAC 07H .0404* 34:09 NCR
Small Surface Water Supply Watersheds 15A NCAC O07H .0405* 34:09 NCR
Public Water Supply Well Fields 15A NCAC 07H .0406 34:09 NCR
Permit Issuance and Transfer 15A NCAC 07J .0406* 34:09 NCR
Civil Penalties 15A NCAC 07J .0409* 34:09 NCR
TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF
Titling and Registration of Branded Vehicles 19A NCAC 03C .0202* 35:14 NCR
Manufacturer's Certificate Of Origin 19A NCAC 03C .0220* 35:14 NCR
Reqistration: Qut-of-State Registered Vehicles 19A NCAC 03C .0221* 35:14 NCR
Registration: Custom Built Motor Vehicles And Trailers 19A NCAC 03C .0222* 35:14 NCR
Reqistration: Motor Homes: Etc. 19A NCAC 03C .0223* 35:14 NCR
Purchase Information 19A NCAC 03C .0224* 35:14 NCR
36:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2021




APPROVED RULES

Registration: Buses to be Operated for Hire 19A NCAC 03C .0226 35:14 NCR
Title Only 19A NCAC 03C .0228* 35:14 NCR
Powers of Attorney: Guardians 19A NCAC 03C .0230* 35:14 NCR
Minors May Own Vehicles 19A NCAC 03C .0234* 35:14 NCR
Application for Duplicate Title 19A NCAC 03C .0235* 35:14 NCR
Penalty for Failure to Make Transfer Within 28 days 19A NCAC 03C .0236* 35:14 NCR
Van Pool License Plate 19A NCAC 03C .0403* 35:14 NCR
Original Registration: Staggered Registration System 19A NCAC 03C .0404* 35:14 NCR
Application for License 19A NCAC 03C .0414* 35:14 NCR
Golf Carts 19A NCAC 03C .0419* 35:14 NCR
Handicapped Placard 19A NCAC 03C .0420* 35:14 NCR
Vehicles Used for Passenger and Property Carrying 19A NCAC 03C .0421* 35:14 NCR
Trucks and Truck-Tractors (Private Property Carrying) 19A NCAC 03C .0424* 35:14 NCR
Special Mobile Equipment 19A NCAC 03C .0425* 35:14 NCR
Temporary Registration Plate 19A NCAC 03C .0426* 35:14 NCR
Application for Replacement License or Validation Stickers 19A NCAC 03C .0428* 35:14 NCR
License Plate Transfer 19A NCAC 03C .0429* 35:14 NCR
Transporter's Registration 19A NCAC 03C .0432* 35:14 NCR
Driveway Reaqistration 19A NCAC 03C .0433* 35:14 NCR
Highway Use Tax 19A NCAC 03C .0436* 35:14 NCR
For Hire Operations 19A NCAC 03C .0501* 35:14 NCR
For Hire Operations Defined 19A NCAC 03C .0520* 35:14 NCR
Taxicab 19A NCAC 03C .0521* 35:14 NCR
General Information 19A NCAC O03E .0401* 35:14 NCR
Administrative Financial Responsibility Hearings 19A NCAC O03F .0602* 35:14 NCR
Transfer of Certification 19A NCAC 03G .0208* 35:14 NCR
Date of Cancellation 19A NCAC 03G .0212 35:14 NCR
Driver Education Permit 19A NCAC 03G .0301* 35:14 NCR
Classroom Facility 19A NCAC 031 .0303* 35:14 NCR
Registration: Insurance: Inspection 19A NCAC 03I .0402* 35:14 NCR
Requirements 19A NCAC 031 .0501* 35:14 NCR
Requirements 19A NCAC 03J .0201* 35:14 NCR
Duplicate Copy 19A NCAC 03J .0204* 35:14 NCR
Classroom Facility 19A NCAC 03J .0303* 35:14 NCR
Inspections 19A NCAC 03J .0305* 35:14 NCR
Course of Instruction 19A NCAC 03J .0306* 35:14 NCR
Student Requirements 19A NCAC 03J .0307* 35:14 NCR
Reqistration: Insurance: Inspection 19A NCAC 03J .0402* 35:14 NCR
Requirements 19A NCAC 03] .0601* 35:14 NCR
DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Premises 21 NCAC 16J .0101* 35:12 NCR
Sterilization and Infection Control 21 NCAC 16J .0103 35:12 NCR
INTERPRETER AND TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD

Continuing Education Requirements 21 NCAC 25 .0501* 35:16 NCR
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LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD
Fee Schedule 21 NCAC 28B .0601 35:12 NCR

MEDICAL BOARD

Definitions 21 NCAC 32M .0101* 34:17 NCR
Scope of Practice 21 NCAC 32M .0102* 34:17 NCR
Nurse Practitioner Registration 21 NCAC 32M .0103* 34:17 NCR
Education and Certification Requirements for Registration... 21 NCAC 32M .0105* 34:17 NCR
Annual Renewal of Approval to Practice 21 NCAC 32M .0106* 34:17 NCR
Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 32M .0107* 34:17 NCR
Inactive Status 21 NCAC 32M .0108 34:17 NCR
Quality Assurance Standards for a Collaborative Practice ... 21 NCAC 32M .0110* 34:17 NCR

NURSING, BOARD OF

Definitions 21 NCAC 36 .0801* 35:13 NCR
Scope of Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0802* 35:13 NCR
Nurse Practitioner Registration 21 NCAC 36 .0803* 35:13 NCR
Education and Certification Requirements for Registration... 21 NCAC 36 .0805* 35:13 NCR
Annual Renewal of Approval to Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0806* 35:13 NCR
Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 36 .0807* 35:13 NCR
Inactive Status 21 NCAC 36 .0808 35:13 NCR
Quality Assurance Standards for a Collaborative Practice ... 21 NCAC 36 .0810* 35:13 NCR
Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 36 .0815 35:11 NCR
COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 36 .0817 35:11 NCR

ONSITE WASTEWATER CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION BOARD

Definitions 21 NCAC 39 .0101* 35:14 NCR
Types of Certification 21 NCAC 39 .0102* 35:14 NCR
Application Requirements for Certification 21 NCAC 39 .0201* 35:14 NCR
Schedule of Certification Fees 21 NCAC 39 .0301 35:14 NCR
On-site Wastewater Contractor, Inspector, or Evaluator EX... 21 NCAC 39 .0401 35:14 NCR
Time and Place of Examination 21 NCAC 39 .0402 35:14 NCR
Issuance of Certificates 21 NCAC 39 .0404* 35:14 NCR
Licensure for Military-Trained Applicant; Licensure for M... 21 NCAC 39 .0405* 35:14 NCR
Requirements 21 NCAC 39 .0601* 35:14 NCR
Approval of Continuing Education Courses 21 NCAC 39 .0602* 35:14 NCR
Determination of Credit 21 NCAC 39 .0603 35:14 NCR
Recordkeeping 21 NCAC 39 .0604 35:14 NCR
Extension of Time 21 NCAC 39 .0605 35:14 NCR
Revocation, or Suspension of Certification 21 NCAC 39 .0701* 35:14 NCR
Code of Ethics 21 NCAC 39 .0801* 35:14 NCR
Waiver or Extension 21 NCAC 39 .0904 35:14 NCR
Definitions 21 NCAC 39 .1001* 35:14 NCR
General Reguirements for Contractors and Inspectors 21 NCAC 39 .1002* 35:14 NCR
Definitions 21 NCAC 39 .1101 35:14 NCR
General Requirements for Evaluators 21 NCAC 39 .1102* 35:14 NCR
General Exclusions for Evaluators 21 NCAC 39 .1103* 35:14 NCR
36:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2021
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Required Documents for Evaluators

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD

Rule Waivers

21 NCAC 39

21 NCAC 61

1104 35:14 NCR

.0901* 35:16 NCR

SPEECH AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR

Waiver

Telepractice
Definitions

General Requirements

Licensee Requirements

Authorized Tasks of Audiology Assistants

Supervision and Continuing Competence Requirements

21 NCAC 64 .0108 35:14 NCR
21 NCAC 64 .0219* 35:14 NCR
21 NCAC 64 .1101* 35:14 NCR
21 NCAC 64 .1102 35:14 NCR
21 NCAC 64 .1103* 35:14 NCR
21 NCAC 64 .1104* 35:14 NCR
21 NCAC 64 .1105 35:14 NCR

TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL ©)] "Letter of Intent" means written notification of

QUALITY the Department of Environmental Quality's

intent to originate the loan, subject to the

01 NCAC 41C .0101 DEFINITIONS conditions and limitations of the Energy
For the purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions Improvement Loan Program.

apply: (10) "Payback™ means the total energy conservation

@ "Allowable Costs" means origination cost, measure  costs  (including installation,
letter of credit fee (first year), engineering equipment, and engineering design) divided by
design fee, and implementation of an eligible the total annual estimated utility cost savings
energy conservation measure. All allowable for a period of years.
costs to be included in the loan shall be incurred (11) "Program” means the Energy Improvement
after the execution date of the Letter of Intent. Loan Program.

(2) Applicant" means any commercial or industrial (12) "Recycling Projects" means projects that
business,  nonprofit  organization  local extract and reprocess energy, water, and
government entity, or resident applying for a materials for reuse in buildings, transportation
loan under the Program. systems, environmental management,

3 "Combustion efficiency test" means a test consumer products, or outreach.
performed as part of a heating system (13) "Renewable” means solar, wind, biomass, or
maintenance to measure how well the furnace hydropower resources.
or boiler is performing. (14) "Repayment Schedule™ means a schedule of

(@) "Commercial or industrial business" means a periodic payments based upon payback as
commercial or industrial concern that provides projected in the Technical Analysis rounded to
goods or services for profit from a location in the next quarter. Prepayments shall reduce the
North Carolina. term of the loan with periodic payments

(5) "Commercially available” means available to remaining unchanged.
the general public and does not include (15) "State Energy Office" means the State Energy
experimental or research-related technologies. Office, Division of Energy, within the N. C.

(6) "Credit worthiness" means the ability of the Department of Environmental Quality.
applicant to meet the lending institution's (16) "Technical Analysis " means a report
standard lending criteria. identifying and analyzing the cost-effective

(7) "Energy conservation measure” means a capital energy conservation improvements that
commercially available energy efficient device, the applicant wishes to implement.
technique, or technology, designed to reduce a7 "Technical Analyst" means a licensed engineer,
energy consumption, peak demand, or utility architect, or certified Home Energy Rating
costs at an existing or proposed commercial or System, "HERS" ®, rater that conducts the
industrial business, nonprofit organization, technical analysis for the purposes of this
local government entity, or residence. Subchapter.

(8) "Financial Services Division" means the Fiscal (18) "Third-Party Technical Analyst" means a
Management Division within the N.C. Technical Analyst who performs the Technical
Department of Environmental Quality. Analysis and does not have a financial interest

in the commercial or industrial business,
36:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2021
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(19)

History Note:
344.44(b)(4);

nonprofit organization, residence or local
government entity, or in the sale and installation
of any proposed energy conservation measure.
"Useful life" means the period during which an
asset or property is expected by the
manufacturer to continue by the manufacturer
to function for the purpose for which the asset
or property was acquired.

143B-

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

Eff. September 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

01 NCAC 41C .0201

ELIGIBILITY

The following are eligible to apply for loans:

1)

()

History Note:
344.44(b)(4);

A commercial or industrial business, nonprofit
organization, local government entity, or
resident located in North Carolina that owns the
existing building or site of planned construction
where the energy conservation measures will be
made, or that has a lease or management
agreement for the proposed building site or
building extending beyond the term of the loan.
However, when the owner of the building or
building site authorizes the approved energy
conservation  measures, the lease or
management agreement need not extend
beyond the term of the loan.

A commercial or industrial business, nonprofit
organization, local government entity, or
resident relocating to North Carolina that owns
the site of planned construction where the
energy conservation measures will be made, or
that has a lease or management agreement for
such proposed building or building site
extending beyond the term of the loan.
However, when the owner of the building or
building site authorizes the approved energy
conservation  measures, the lease or
management agreement need not extend
beyond the term of the loan.

143B-

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

Eff. September 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

01 NCAC 41C .0202

CRITERIA FOR ENERGY

CONSERVATION LOANS
Energy conservation projects for which the loans are desired shall
meet the following criteria:

(1)
()

The building site where the measures are to be
installed shall be in North Carolina.

The project shall demonstrate in the Technical
Analysis the ability to conserve energy through
efficient energy use or the utilization of
renewable energy resources that results in
energy savings based upon a net reduction in

®)
(4)
®)

(6)

)

®)

9)

History Note:
344.44(b)(4);

the use of nonrenewable resources. The energy
conservation measure shall be based on a
Technical Analysis report as defined in Rule
.0101 of this Subchapter, conducted within the
previous year.

A maximum total loan indebtedness in
accordance with G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(2).

The project shall utilize commercially available
energy conservation measures.

The installation of the energy conservation
measure may, at the discretion of the applicant,
commence after the Financial Services Division
issues the Letter of Intent; however, the
origination of the loan shall still be subject to
the conditions and limitations of the Program,
pursuant to Rule .0203 of this Section.

The energy conservation measure shall be
demonstrated, within the Technical Analysis, to
have a payback of less than one over a period of
20 years or less.

Each energy conservation measure shall be
demonstrated to have a payback of less than one
over the useful life of the energy conservation
measure.

Eligible energy conservation measures shall fall
under one of the following categories:

@) lighting systems;

(b) heating,  ventilation, and  air
conditioning systems;

(c) electrical distribution systems
(motors, variable speed drives, fans,
etc.);

(d) energy management systems;

(e) boiler efficiency systems;

) energy recovery systems, including
on-site generation of electricity;

(9) alternate/renewable energy systems;

(h) building envelope (doors, windows,
roofs, etc.);

(i industrial process or fabrication
systems;

0 load management systems;

(k) fuel conversion projects;

(U] other demand-related improvements;
and

(m) recycling projects.

The energy conservation measure shall meet
applicable State air and water quality standards,
in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B, 02D, and
02L, which are incorporated by reference,
including all subsequent amendments.

143B-

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

Eff. September 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.
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01 NCAC 41C .0203 LOAN PERCENTAGE AND
CONDITIONS AND LIMITATIONS
(@) The interest rate on the loan shall be set pursuant to G.S.
143B-344.44(c) by the State Energy Office based on the
following:
1) previous State Energy Office loan recipients get
one percent deduction with closed loans and no
defaults to zero percent;

2 loans made to residents and small businesses
shall receive a one percent interest rate;
3) loans made to nonprofit organizations and local

governments projects shall receive a two
percent interest rate; and

4) loans made to commercial and industrial
entities shall receive a three percent interest
rate.

(b) Loans shall be made subject to the following conditions:
(1) the repayment schedule shall be based on the

estimated payback as shown in the Technical
Analysis Report, pursuant to Rule .0303 of this
Subchapter;

)] the commercial or industrial business, nonprofit
organization, local government entity, or
resident shall make payments at least once a
month;

3 the total amount of the loan, or any portion
thereof, may be repaid at any time before the
total amount is due, without penalty;

4) rebates received through other program
offerings of the State Energy Office for projects
undertaken from loan proceeds shall be used to
reduce the amount of principal;

(5) the borrower shall warrant that all work or
construction done with the proceeds of a loan
under this program shall comply with all
building codes;

(6) project implementation shall begin within 90
days after approval of the application. If delays
are encountered following loan closing, any
arbitrage profits will be repaid to the Energy
Loan Fund,;

(7 loan payments or drafts shall be sent or
delivered to the Financial Service Division, in
accordance with 04 NCAC 12D .0101; and

(8) a letter of credit from a bank approved to do
business in North Carolina shall secure the loan
against non-payment and also serve as a
quarterly drafting mechanism for loan
repayment from the bank.

(c) Loans shall be made subject to the following limitations:

1) the amount of the loan shall not exceed
allowable costs;

2) loans shall not be used to replace an existing
loan; and

3) no loans shall be forgiven.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143B-344.44;
Eff. August 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

01 NCAC 41C .0204
CONFERENCE

(@) The potential applicant shall schedule a pre-application
conference with the State Energy Office by email, telephone, or
office visit at least one week prior to submission of a project
application. During the pre-application conference, the parties
shall:

PRE-APPLICATION

@ ensure the application procedures are
understood; and
2 reach an understanding among all parties that

the project is eligible for approval in
accordance with Rule .0202 of this Section.
(b) Parties present at the pre-application conference shall include
representatives from the Financial Services Division, the State
Energy Office, and the applicant or the applicant's engineer.
(c) The applicant shall offer verbal, and if available, written
project descriptions.
(d) The applicant shall provide water and air quality permits
required for the project.
(e) The applicant shall provide the final Technical Analysis.
History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);
Eff. August 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41C .0205 APPLICATION PROCEDURES
The applicant shall complete an application on a form provided
by the Financial Service Division, which can be found at
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/Ir/state-energy-office. The
application shall contain the following information:
(8] the name and mailing address, including the
county, of the applicant;
2 the address, building name (where applicable)
or site description, including photographs, to

locate where the energy conservation
measure(s) will be installed;

3 the name of a contact person, including title and
telephone number;

(@) the loan amount requested;

5) the estimated dates of implementation and

completion of the project;

(6) a copy of the Technical Analysis approved by
the State Energy Office;

@) identification of the commercial lending
institution that is providing the letter of credit,
depository, and repayment services;

(8) commercial or industrial business, nonprofit
organizations, or local government entity
applicants shall provide financial data,
including financial statements from the last five
years and profit and loss statements, on which
to base a determination of the applicant's
creditworthiness. Residential applicants shall
provide a credit report.

History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);
Eff. August 1, 2004;

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);
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Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

01 NCAC 41C .0206 APPLICATION REVIEW
(@) The Department shall conduct concurrent administrative and
Technical Analysis reviews as follows:

(1) the administrative review shall be conducted by
the Financial Services Division and may
include any financial data or information
needed to complete the review. Additional data

may be requested if the initial data is
incomplete.
2 the Technical Analysis review shall be

conducted by the State Energy Office and shall
consider each energy conservation measure for
which funding is requested, including the
accuracy of energy calculations, engineering
principles considered, and labor and material
costs relative to the current local market.

(b) Following the reviews in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the State

Energy Office shall approve those energy conservation measures

that were determined to meet the requirements of this Subchapter.

History Note: 143B-

344.44(b)(4);

Eff. August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41C .0207 LOAN APPROVAL
Following the review set forth in Rule .0206 of this Section, the
State Energy Office shall approve the application provided:
(1) the administrative and Technical Analysis
reviews satisfy the requirements of this

Subchapter;

2 the credit worthiness of the applicant is
established; and

3 funds are available.

History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);
Eff. August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41C .0208
PROMISSORY NOTE
After an application for a loan is approved, a loan agreement shall
be executed between the Financial Services Division and the
borrower. The loan agreement shall include a promissory note and
other documents including security agreements, mortgages, and
recordings. It shall also contain the covenants and representations
as to the borrower's qualification to borrow for the loan, intended
use of the loan proceeds, conditions under which the loan will be
repaid, as well as events requiring the acceleration, the rights and
responsibilities of the parties, and the terms and conditions of the
loan. The requirements to secure the loan shall be included in the
loan agreement. Loans shall be secured through bank letter of
credit.

LOAN AGREEMENT AND

Eff. August 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

01 NCAC 41C .0209 REPORTS
Reports shall be submitted by the borrower as follows:

1) progress reports shall be submitted quarterly to
the State Energy Office during the period of
implementation or while installation is in
progress and shall include a description of:

(a) the current status;

(b) any problems; and

(c) a forecast of expectations or
deviations from the Technical
Analysis, prepared in accordance with
Rule .0303 of this Subchapter.

) a final report certified by the Technical Analyst
shall be submitted to the State Energy Office
upon completion of the project. The report shall
include a description of:

@) the measures implemented,;
(b) the actual cost of each measure; and
(c) the adjusted estimated payback, based
on the actual cost.
History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);
Eff. September 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41C .0210 MONITORING

The Financial Service Division shall monitor the use of the funds
under this program through review of reports. The State Energy
Office shall monitor those buildings or projects where the energy
conservation projects are in progress to verify the installation of
the energy conservation measures conforms to the approved
Technical Analysis. At least one visit shall be made to the site of
each energy conservation project during the life of the loan.
History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);

Eff. August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41C .0211 DEFAULT

If the borrower violates any of the terms of the loan agreement,
the Financial Services Division shall place the borrower in
default. Borrowers determined to be in default shall be notified by
certified mail and the terms of the loan agreement and letter of
credit shall be executed.

History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);

Eff. August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41C .0301
REQUIRED

TECHNICAL ANALYSIS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3); 143B- (@) An application for an energy conservation loan shall be
344.44(b)(4); accompanied by a Technical Analysis that has been conducted by
36:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2021
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a third-party Technical Analyst and approved by the State Energy
Office as fulfilling the energy aspects of the Program.

(b) The Technical Analysis shall address only the specific energy
conservation measures for which the loan is being requested. Each
energy conservation measure analyzed shall be an individual
recommendation incorporating technical and economic analyses
of the measure, considering building, process, and equipment
characteristics, and energy use patterns pertinent to the
improvement. The Technical Analysis shall include the estimated
cost of the implementation, a construction schedule, and expected
energy savings.
History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);

Eff. September 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41C .0302
DISQUALIFICATIONS
(@) A third-party Technical Analyst shall not have a financial
interest in the commercial or industrial business, nonprofit
organization, local government entity, or residence or in the sale
and installation of any proposed energy conservation , measure.
However, the third-party Technical Analyst is permitted to
provide construction management services to an approved
applicant.

(b) An outline of qualifications of the Technical Analyst,
documenting previous experience in energy conservation in
building construction, mechanical systems, or manufacturing
processes shall be submitted in writing to the State Energy Office.

TECHNICAL ANALYST

History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);
Eff. September 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41C .0303 REPORT REQUIRED
A third-party Technical Analyst shall submit three copies of the
results of a Technical Analysis in writing on a form provided by

the State Energy Office, which can be found at
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/Ir/state-energy-office. The report
shall include the following:

1) a description of the facility characteristics and
energy data, including the operational
characteristics of the energy-using systems;

2 a description and engineering analysis of each
energy conservation measure, including the
following:
€)] an estimate of the cost of design,

acquisition, and installation, including
monitoring equipment to assess the
performance  of the  measure,
discussing  assumptions as the
Technical Analyst deems necessary;
(b) an estimate of the annual energy saved
and energy cost savings by fuel type,
using engineering standards and
practices that are recognized by the
North Carolina State Board of

Examiners for  Engineers and
Surveyors, including all formulae,
data, and assumptions presented in
arriving at the estimate;

(c) the results of a combustion efficiency
test, if furnace or boiler modifications
or replacements are being
implemented:;

(d) the payback period of each energy
conservation measure; and

(e) a proposed construction schedule for
each energy conservation measure;
and

?3) the energy use and cost data for each fuel type

used for the prior billing period.
History Note: 143B-
344.44(b)(4);
Eff. September 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(3);

01 NCAC 41D .0102 DEFINITIONS
For the purposes of this Chapter, the following definitions apply:

(8] "AFV" means the same as defined in G.S.143-
58.4.

2 "Alternative fuel” means the same as defined in
G.S. 143-58.4.

3 "B20" means the same as defined in G.S. 143-
58.4.

(@) "Biodiesel Fuel Use Credit" means an EPAct

credit given by the U.S. Department of Energy
(DOE) for each 450 gallons of pure biodiesel
purchased for use in blends of 20% or higher.
No credit shall be granted for the petroleum
portion of biodiesel fuel blends, pursuant to 10

CFR 490.703.

5) "Department” means the same as defined in
G.S. 143-58.4. [

(6) "E85" means the same as defined in G.S. 143-
58.4.

) "Energy Policy Act" means the same as defined
in G.S. 143-58.4.

8) "EPAct credit" means the same as defined in
G.S. 143-58.4.

9 "FFV" means a flexible fuel vehicle that is

capable of operating on both E85 and gasoline.

(10) "LDV" means a light duty vehicle that has less
than an 8,500 Ib gross vehicle weight rating
(GVWR).

(11) "NC Alternative Fuel Consortium" means a
voluntary group of State agencies, institutions,
and interested entities that meet quarterly and is
hosted by the State Energy Office to coordinate
alternative fuel and petroleum displacement
activities in North Carolina.

(12) "OEM" means original
manufacturer.

(13) "SEQ" means the State Energy Office.

equipment
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(14) "U.S. DOE" means the United States
Department of Energy.
(15) "U.S. EPA" means the United States

Environmental Protection Agency.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2007;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5;

01 NCAC 41D .0201 BANKING
(@) EPActs credits shall be accrued and banked according to the
following:

1) The U.S. DOE Alternative Fuel Transportation
Program 10 CFR Part 490, which is
incorporated by reference including subsequent
amendments and editions and can be found at
no charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-
bin/ECFR?page=browse, requires that 75% of
LDVs acquired by state fleets shall be FFVs,
compressed natural gas vehicles, propane
vehicles, or electric vehicles;

)] One credit shall be earned for each OEM or
EPA certified retrofit FFV, compressed natural
gas vehicle, propane vehicle, or electric vehicle
purchased;

3 Credits that exceed the annual minimum State
AFV acquisition requirements shall be banked
through the U.S. Department of Energy's
Alternative Fuel Transportation Program to
meet future year requirements or traded,;

4) State fleet cars can earn Biodiesel Fuel Use
Credits to meet 50% of their annual AFV
acquisition requirements by purchasing and
using biodiesel; and

(5) Biodiesel Fuel Use Credits cannot be traded or
banked.

(b) Credits shall be determined by State agencies in cooperation
with the State Energy Office in the following manner:

(1) Each year by December 1%, every State
department, institution, and agency subject to
EPAct requirements shall provide the State
Energy Office with the types of wvehicles
purchased, the vehicle identification numbers,
and the dates of purchase to determine the
number of EPAct credits generated by the State;
and

2 The SEO shall submit an annual EPAct credit
report to the U.S. DOE by December 31st.

(c) The following provisions shall be used in determining credits:

1) EPAct credits eligible for sale include FFVs if
the FFVs are operating on E85;

(2) EPAct credits generated through the use of B20
are not eligible for sale or transfer; however,
they shall be used by the State to meet 50% of
Energy Policy Act requirements; and

3) State agencies and institutions that purchase
FFVs shall record the use of E85 for the FFVs.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5;

Eff. May 1, 2007;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

01 NCAC 41D .0202 SELLING
(a) The State Energy Office shall form a Credit Selling Work
Group to determine the number of excess credits to be sold as
follows:
1) The Credit Selling Work Group shall consist of:
(A) the Department of Administration
Motor Fleet Management designee;
(B) the Department of Transportation
Equipment Unit designee;
© the State Energy Office designee; and
(D) the Designees of other State agencies
and institutions that generate EPAct
credits; and
2 The Credit Selling Work Group shall determine
the asking price for credits.
(b) The State Office shall obtain approval from the Energy Policy
Council prior to selling EPAct credits, pursuant to G.S. 113B-
6(3).
(c) The State Office shall sell EPAct credits in accordance with
the provisions of the Energy Policy Act.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2007;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5;

01 NCAC 41D .0301
DISTRIBUTION
(a) Funds generated by the sale or transfer of EPAct credits by
the State Energy Office shall be deposited into the Alternative
Fuel Revolving Fund.

(b) The following shall be undertaken to determine the
distribution of proceeds from the Alternative Fuel Revolving
Fund:

PROCEEDS AND

D The State Energy Office shall annually inform
the NC Alternative Fuel Consortium of the
amount of revenue accrued to the Alternative
Fuel Revolving Fund and the percentage of
these funds that were generated by participating
State agencies, institutions, or entities;

2) The State Energy Office shall organize
meetings of the NC Alternative Fuel
Consortium and the Credit Selling Work Group
to discuss and prioritize distribution of funds;

3) An annual plan for the dispersion of Alternative
Fuel Revolving Funds shall be prepared by the
State Energy Office based on recommendations
of the Alternative Fuels Consortium and the
Credit Selling Work Group; and

4 The Energy Policy Council shall review and
approve the annual plan, pursuant to G.S. 113B-
6(3).

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2007;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5;

36:01

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

JULY 1, 2021




APPROVED RULES

01 NCAC 41D .0401 REPORTS

(@ Progress reports shall be submitted biannually by State
departments, agencies, and institutions that receive funds from the
Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund.

(b) The progress report shall include a description of the current
project, number of gallons of alternative fuel or vehicles
purchased, and forecast of expectation or deviation from the
project schedule.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2007;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5;

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

12 NCAC 10B .0305
INVESTIGATION
(@) Prior to the background investigation conducted by the
employing agency to determine the applicant's suitability for
employment and certification, the applicant shall complete the
Commission's Personal History Statement (F-3) to provide
information regarding his or her former names, education,
address(es), family, financial, employment, and military history,
as well as any prior criminal or civil charges, actions, or behavior.
The information provided on this form shall serve as a basis for
the investigation. The Commission-mandated Personal History
Statement (F-3) submitted to the Division shall be completed no
more than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment.
The Personal History Statement (F-3) is available on the
Commission's website at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/sheriffs/all-commission-forms-publications/.
(b) If the Personal History Statement (F-3) was completed more
than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the
Personal History Statement (F-3) shall be updated by the applicant
who shall initial and date all changes or a new Personal History
Statement (F-3) must be completed.
(c) The employing agency shall ensure the properly notarized and
dated signatures are affixed to the Personal History Statement (F-
3). It shall also certify that the results of the background
investigation are consistent with the information provided by the
applicant on the Personal History Statement (F-3); if not, the
employing agency shall provide the applicant the opportunity to
update the F-3 prior to submission to the Division.
(d) The employing agency, prior to employment, shall examine
the applicant's character traits and habits displayed in his or her
performance as a justice officer and shall determine whether the
applicant is of good moral character as defined in Rule
.0301(a)(8). The investigator shall summarize the results of the
investigation on the Commission-mandated Background
Investigation Form (F-8) which shall be signed and dated by the
investigator. The Background Investigation Form (F-8) is
available on the Commission's website.
(e) The Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall include
records checks from:

(1) a Statewide search of the Administrative Office

of the Courts (AOC) computerized system;

BACKGROUND

2 the national criminal record database accessible
through the Division of Criminal Information
(DCI) network;

3) the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles,
if the applicant has ever possessed a driver's
license issued in North Carolina; and

(@) out-of-state motor vehicles check obtained
through the Division of Criminal Information or
obtained through the any other state's Division
of Motor Vehicles if the applicant held a license
in that state(s) within the 10 year period prior to
the date of appointment.

(f) The background investigation must also include records
checks from jurisdictions where the applicant resided within the
10 year period prior to the date of appointment and where the
applicant attended high school, as follows:

1) Where the applicant resided in jurisdictions in
North Carolina, Clerk of Court records checks
shall be acceptable;

2) Where the applicant resided in another country,
an Interpol records check shall be acceptable
provided the country is a member of Interpol;
or if the applicant was in the United States
military, a military records check shall be
acceptable; or if neither, efforts shall be made
and documented to attempt to obtain a records
check from the country and submitted if
available; and

3 Where the applicant resided in a state other than
North Carolina, a records check through the
Division of Criminal Information using the
Out-of-State Computer Name Query (1Q) shall
be acceptable provided the state will respond to
that type of inquiry. If not, then either a records
check response from both the municipality,
city, or town where the applicant resided and
the county-wide Sheriff's Office or Police
Department obtained through traditional
correspondence, or a records check from the
appropriate county-wide or state-wide record
holding agency shall be acceptable.

(9) If the applicant had prior military service, the Background
Investigation must also include a copy of the applicant's DD214
that shows the characterization of discharge for each discharge
that occurred and military discipline received, if any. If the
DD214 indicates a discharge characterization of any type other
than Honorable, then a military records check shall also be
required.

(h) All records checks shall be performed on each name by which
the applicant for certification has ever been known since the age
of 12. If the applicant has had an official name change that
occurred after the applicant had reached the age of 12 years of
age, then the name change shall be documented.

(i) The employing agency shall forward to the Division certified
copies of any criminal charge(s) and disposition(s) known to the
agency or listed on the applicant's Personal History Statement (F-
3). The employing agency shall explain any charges or other
violations that may result from the records checks required in
Paragraph (e) of this Section that do not pertain to the applicant
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for certification. This documentation shall be included with all
other documentation required in 12 NCAC 10B .0408.

(i) The employing agency shall include a signed and notarized
Release Authorization Form that authorizes the Division staff to
obtain documents and records pertaining to the applicant for
certification that may be required in order to determine whether
certification may be granted.

(k) The employing agency shall provide the results of a
completed and processed form AOC-CR-280, Law Enforcement
Application for Verification of Expunction under G.S. 15A-145.4,
15A-145.5, 15A-145.6, 15A-145.8A or 15A-146, for each
applicant presented for certification. The AOC-CR-280 form is
available on the Commission's website.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17E-7;

Eff. January 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; January 1, 2009; January 1, 2007;
August 1, 2002; January 1, 1994; January 1, 1993; January 1,
1992; January 1, 1990;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

15A NCAC 07H .0401
CATEGORIES
Public water supply AECs include the following categories:
valuable small surface water supply watersheds and public water
supply well fields.

PUBLIC WATER SUPPLY

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113A-107(a);
113A-113(b)(3)a; 113A-124;

Eff. September 9, 1977;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

113A-107(b);

15A NCAC 07H .0404
SUPPLIES

AECS WITHIN PUBLIC WATER

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a);
113A-113(b)(3)a; 113A-124;

Eff. September 9, 1977;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; November 1, 1984; January 24, 1978;
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

113A-107(b);

15A NCAC 07H .0405 SMALL SURFACE WATER
SUPPLY WATERSHEDS

(@) Description. Small surface water supply watersheds are
catchment areas situated only within the coastal area which
contain a water body classified as WS-I1l by the Environmental
Management Commission. These bodies of water serve as supply
for drinking, culinary, or food processing purposes.

(b) Use Standards. The CRC or local permitting officer shall
approve a CAMA permit upon finding that the project is in accord
with the following standards:

QD Ground absorption sewage disposal systems
shall be located a minimum of 100 feet from
WS-I111 surface waters.

2 A national pollution discharge elimination
system (NPDES) permit shall be secured if
required.

3) Land-disturbing activities including land
clearing, grading, and surfacing shall be in
compliance with the mandatory standards of
G.S. 113A-57.

(c) Designated Small Surface Water Supply Watersheds AECs
shall follow the standards set forth in this Paragraph. The Fresh
Pond located between Kill Devil Hills and Nags Head on Bodie
Island and adjacent catchment area.

1) The lake is approximately one-quarter mile
west of the U.S. 158 bypass.

2 To protect the water quality of Fresh Pond, the
construction of septic tanks and other sources
of pollution shall be regulated as follows:

(A) Within 500 feet, horizontal distance of
the edge of the pond, no construction
of sewers, septic tanks nitrification
fields or other possible sources of
pollution shall be permitted.

(B) Between the distances of 500 feet and
1200 feet from the edge of the pond,
construction of septic tank systems
shall be limited to one single septic
tank system serving a single family
residence not to exceed four bedrooms
or its equivalent volume of sewage, on
a lot or tract of land not less than
40,000 square feet.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a);
113A-113(b)(3)a; 113A-124;

Eff. September 9, 1977;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; September 1, 1988; November 1,
1984; February 18, 1980;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

113A-107(b);

15A NCAC 07H .0406
FIELDS

(a) Description. Public water supply well fields are areas of
well-drained sands that extend downward from the surface into
the shallow ground water table that supplies the public with
potable water. These surficial well fields are confined to a
definable geographic area identified by the North Carolina
Department of Environmental Quality and can be found at
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=26f4e2b3140f4e58825e48781ccebf5e.

(b) Use Standards. Development within these AECs shall be
consistent with the following standards:

1) No ground absorption sewage disposal or
subsurface pollution injection systems shall be
placed within the designated AEC boundary
except to replace systems existing as of July 24,
1987,

PUBLIC WATER SUPPLY WELL
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(2) Development shall not limit the quality or
quantity of the public water supply or the
amount of rechargeable water;

3) The development shall not cause salt water
intrusion or result in the discharge of
contaminants, as defined in 15A NCAC 02L
.0202, into standing or groundwater; and

4) Groundwater absorption sewage treatment
systems may also be used within the AEC
boundary if the following provisions are met:
(A) the system is serving development on

a lot that was platted as of July 24,
1987;

(B) there is no other viable method of
waste treatment for the permittable
development of such lot;

© there is no space outside the
boundaries of the AEC on the lot upon
which the treatment system could be
located; and

(D) the Environmental Health Section of
the North Carolina Department of
Health and Human Services, prior to
the permit decision by the Division of
Coastal Management under G.S.
113A-118, 113A-119, and 113A-120,
reviews and approves the proposed
system as complying with existing
rules.

(c) Designated public water supply well field. The CRC has
designated Cape Hatteras Well Field as a public water supply well
field which shall be subject to the use standards as set out in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The County of Dare is supplied with
raw water from a well field located south of N.C. 12 on Hatteras
Island between Frisco and Buxton. The area of environmental
concern is bounded by a line located 1,000 feet from the
centerlines of three tracts. The first tract is identified as "well
field* on maps entitled "Cape Hatteras Wellfield Area of
Environmental Concern" approved by the Coastal Resources
Commission on July 24, 1987, and extends approximately 12,000
feet west from Water Association Road. The second tract is
conterminous with the first tract, is identified as "future well field"
on said maps and extends approximately 8,000 feet to the east of
Water Association Road. The third tract is identified as "future
well field" on said maps and extends approximately 6,200 feet
along the National Park Service boundary east of Water
Association Road. A map of the Cape Hatteras Well Field AEC is
available from the Division of Coastal Management, 400
Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113A-107(a);
113A-113(b)(3)a.; 113A-124; 113A-124(c)(8);
Eff. September 9, 1977;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1997; April 1, 1995; May 1, 1990;
October 1, 1987,

November 1, 1984;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

113A-107(b);

15A NCAC 07J .0406
TRANSFER

(a) Upon the approval of an application and the issuance of the
permit, the permit shall be delivered to the applicant, or to any
person designated by the applicant to receive the permit, by hand,
first class mail or any means.

(b) Anyone holding a permit shall not assign, transfer, sell, or
otherwise dispose of a permit to a third party, unless approval is
granted by the Director of the Division of Coastal Management
pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule.

(c) A permit may be transferred to a new party at the discretion
of the Director of the Division of Coastal Management upon
finding each of the following:

PERMIT ISSUANCE AND

(D) a written request from the new owner or
developer of the involved properties;
2 a deed, a sale, lease, or option to the proposed

new party showing the proposed new party as
having the sole legal right to develop the

project;

3 that the applicant transferee will use the permit
for the purposes for which it was issued;

4) no change in conditions, circumstances, or facts
affecting the project;

5) no change or modification of the project as

proposed in the original application.
(d) A person aggrieved by a decision of the Director as to the
transfer of a permit may request a declaratory ruling by the
Coastal Resources Commission as per 15A NCAC 07J .0600.
(e) The applicant for a permit transfer shall submit with the
request a check or money order payable to the Department in the
sum of one hundred dollars ($100.00).

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-118(c);
113A-119.1; 113A-124(c)(8);

Eff. March 15, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; March 1, 1991; March 1, 1990;
October 15, 1981;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

113A-119(a);

15A NCAC 07J .0409 CIVIL PENALTIES
(&) Purpose and Scope. This Rule provides the procedures and
standards governing the assessment, remission, settlement, and
appeal of civil penalties assessed by the Coastal Resources
Commission and the Director pursuant to G.S. 113A-126(d).
(b) Definitions. The terms used in this Rule shall be as defined in
G.S. 113A-103 and as follows:
(8] "Act" means the Coastal Area Management Act
of 1974, G.S. 113A-100 through 134.
2 "Delegate” means the Director or other
employees of the Division of Coastal
Management, or local permit officers to whom
the Commission has delegated authority to act
pursuant to this Rule.

?3) "Director" means the Director, Division of
Coastal Management.
(@) "Respondent” means the person to whom a

notice of violation has been issued or against
whom a penalty has been assessed.
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(c) Investigative costs. In addition to any civil penalty, the costs
incurred by the Division for any investigation, inspection, and
monitoring associated with assessment the civil penalty may be
assessed pursuant to G.S. 113A-126(d)(4a). The amount of
investigative costs assessed shall be based upon factors including
the amount of staff time required for site visits, investigation,
enforcement action, interagency coordination, and for monitoring
restoration of the site.

(d) Notice of Violation. The Commission authorizes employees
of the Division of Coastal Management to issue in the name of the
Commission notices of violation to any person engaged in an
activity which constitutes a violation for which a civil penalty may
be assessed.

(e) Procedures for Notification of Civil Penalty Assessment.

(1) The Commission delegates to the Director the
authority to assess civil penalties according to
the procedures set forth in Paragraph (g) of this
Rule.

(2) If restoration of affected resources is not
required, the Director shall issue a civil penalty
assessment within 90 days from the date of the
Notice of Violation. If restoration of affected
resources is required, the Director may issue a
civil penalty assessment within 60 days after
the Division determines that restoration of the
adversely impacted resources is complete or
once the date restoration was required has
passed without having been completed.

(f) Procedures for Determining the Amount of Civil Penalty
Assessment.
1) Pursuant to G.S. 113A-126(d)(1), penalties for

violations of permit conditions, shall be

assessed as follows:

(A) Major development that could have
been permitted under the

Commission's rules at the time the
notice of violation is issued shall be
assessed a penalty equal to two times
the relevant CAMA permit application
fee as set forth in Rule .0204 of this
Subchapter, plus investigative costs.
(B) Major development that could not
have been permitted under the
Commission's rules at the time the
notice of violation is issued shall be
assessed an amount equal to the
relevant CAMA permit application
fee, plus a penalty pursuant to
Schedule A of this Rule, plus
investigative costs. If a violation
affects more than one area of
environmental concern (AEC) or
coastal resource as listed within
Schedule A of this Rule, the penalties
for each affected AEC shall be
combined not to exceed ten thousand
dollars ($10,000) per G.S. 113A-
126(d)(1). Any structure or part of a
structure that is constructed in
violation of existing Commission
rules shall be removed or modified as
necessary to bring the structure into

major development violations, including compliance with the Commission's
rules.
SCHEDULE A
Major Development Violations
Penalties for Major Development Permit Violations By Size of Violation (sq. ft.)

Area of < 101- | 501- | 1001- | 3001- | 5001- 11,001- | 15,001- | 20,001- | >25,000
Environmental 100 500 | 1,000 | 3000 5000 8000 | 11,000 | 15,000 | 20,000 | 25,000
Concern Affected
Estuarine Waters | $250 | $375 | $500 | $1,500 | $2,000 | $3,500 | $5,000 | $7,000 | $9,000 | $10,000 | $10,000
or Public Trust

Areas (1)

Primary Nursery | $100 | $225 | $350 | $850 $1,350 | $2,850 | $4,350 | $3,000 | $1,000 n/a n/a

Areas

Mudflats and $100 | $225 | $350 | $850 $1,350 | $2,850 | $4,350 | $3,000 | $1,000 n/a n/a
Shell Bottom

Submerged $100 | $225 | $350 | $850 $1,350 | $2,850 | $4,350 | $3,000 | $1,000 n/a n/a

Aquatic

Vegetation

$250 | $375 | $500 | $1,500 | $2,000 | $3,500 | $5,000 | $7,000 | $9,000 | $10,000 | $10,000
Coastal Wetlands
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$250 | $350 | $450 | $850 $1,250 | $2,450 | $3,650 | $5,250 | $7,250 | $9,250 | $10,000
Coastal Shorelines
Wetlands (2) $100 | $200 | $300 | $700 $1,100 | $2,300 | $3,500 | $4,750 | $2,750 | $750 n/a
ORW- Adjacent | $100 | $200 | $300 | $700 $1,100 | $2,300 | $3,500 | $4,750 | $2,750 | $750 n/a
Areas
Ocean Hazard | $250 | $350 | $450 | $850 $1,250 | $2,450 | $3,650 | $5,250 | $7,250 | $9,250 | $10,000
System (3)(4)
Primary or Frontal | $100 | $200 | $300 | $700 $1,100 | $2,300 | $3,500 | $4,750 | $2,750 | $750 n/a
Dune
Public Water | $250 | $350 | $450 | $850 $1,250 | $2,450 | $3,650 | $5,250 | $7,250 | $9,250 | $10,000
Supplies (5)
Natural and | $250 | $350 | $450 | $850 $1,250 | $2,450 | $3,650 | $5,250 | $7,250 | $9,250 | $10,000
Cultural Resource
Areas (6)
Q) Includes the Atlantic Ocean from the normal subsequently undertook
high water mark to three miles offshore. development  without a
)] Wetlands that are jurisdictional by the Federal permit;
Clean Water Act. (i) the person received written
3 If the AEC physically overlaps another AEC, instructions from one of the
use the greater penalty schedule. Commission's delegates that
4) Includes the Ocean Erodible, Inlet Hazard Area, the proposed development
and Unvegetated Beach Area. was not permissible under the
(5) Includes Small Surface Water Supply, Commission's  rules,  or
Watershed and Public Water Supply Well received denial of a permit
Fields. application for the proposed
(6) Includes Coastal Complex Natural Areas, activity, and subsequently
Coastal Areas Sustaining Remnant Species, undertook the development
Unique Geological Formations, Significant without a permit;
Coastal  Archaeological Resources, and (iii) the person committed
Significant Coastal Historical Architectural previous violations of the
Resources. Commission's rules; or
© Assessments for violations by public (iv) the person refused or failed to

agencies, i.e. towns, counties, and
State agencies shall be determined in
accordance with Parts (1)(A) and (B)
of this Paragraph.
Willful and intentional violations. The
penalty assessed in accordance with
Parts (1)(A) and (B) of this Paragraph.
shall be doubled for willful and
intentional violations except that the
doubled penalties assessed under this
Subparagraph shall not exceed ten
thousand dollars ($10,000) or be less
than two thousand dollars ($2,000) for
each separate violation. For the
purposes of G.S. 113A-126(d)(2), the
following actions shall be considered
willful and intentional:

(1) the person received written
instructions from one of the
Commission's delegates that
a permit would be required
for the development and

(D)

B

(F)

restore a damaged area as

ordered by one of the

Commission's delegates.
Assessments against contractors. Any
contractor, subcontractor, or person
functioning as a contractor shall be
subject to a notice of violation and
assessment of a civil penalty in
accordance with Paragraph (f) of this
Rule. Such penalty shall be in addition
to that assessed against the landowner.
When a penalty is being doubled
pursuant to Part (D) of this
Subparagraph and the element of
willfulness is present only on the part
of the contractor, the landowner shall
be assessed the standard penalty and
the contractor shall be assessed the
doubled penalty.
Assessments
violations.

for Continuing
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M Pursuant to G.S. 113A- Division's order in a
126(d)(2), each day that the judicial proceeding.
violation continues after the The continuing penalty period shall
date specified in the notice of resume if the respondent terminates
violation for the negotiations without reaching an
unauthorized  activity to agreement with the Division, fails to
cease or restoration to be comply with court ordered restoration,
completed shall be or fails to meet a deadline for
considered a  separate restoration that was negotiated with
violation and shall be the Division.
assessed an  additional 2 Pursuant to G.S. 113A-126(d)(1), penalties for
penalty. minor development violations, including
(i) Refusal or failure to restore a violations of permit conditions, shall be
damaged area as directed in assessed as follows:
the restoration order shall be (A) Minor development that could have
considered a  continuing been permitted under the
violation and shall be Commission's rules at the time the
assessed an  additional notice of violation is issued shall be
penalty. When resources assessed a penalty equal to two times
continue to be affected by the the relevant CAMA permit application
violation, the amount of the fee, plus investigative costs.
penalty shall be determined (B) Minor development that could not
according to Part (B) of this have been permitted under the
Subparagraph. The Commission's rules at the time the
continuing penalty period notice of violation is issued shall be
shall be calculated from the assessed an amount equal to the
date  specified in the relevant CAMA permit application fee
restoration  order  which as set forth in Rule .0204 of this
accompanies the notice of Subchapter, plus a penalty pursuant to
violation for the Schedule B of this Rule, plus
unauthorized  activity to investigative costs. If a violation
cease or restoration to be affects more than one area of
completed and run until: environmental concern (AEC) or
()] the Division coastal resource as listed within
determines that the Schedule B of this Rule, the penalties
terms of the for each affected AEC shall be
restoration order are combined. Any structure or part of a
satisfied,; structure that is constructed in
) the respondent violation of existing Commission
enters into rules shall be removed or modified as
negotiations  with necessary to bring the structure into
the Division; or compliance with the Commission's
(nn the respondent rules.
contests the
SCHEDULE B
Penalties for Minor Development Permit Violations By Size of Violation
Size of Violation (sq. ft.)
Area of <100 | 101- | 501- | 1001- | 3001- | 5001- | 8001- | 11,001 | 15,001 | 20,001 | >25,000
Environmental 500 | 1,000 | 3000 | 5000 | 8000 | 11,000 - - -
Concern Affected 15,000 ] 20,000 | 25,000
$225 | $250 | $275 | $325 | $375 | $450 | $525 $625 $750 $875 $1,000
Coastal Shorelines
ORW- Adjacent $125 | $150 | $175 | $225 | $275 | $350 | $425 $375 $250 $125 n/a
Areas
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Ocean Hazard | $225 | $250 | $275 | $325 | $375 | $450 | $525 $625 $750 $875 $1,000
System (1)(2)
Primary or Frontal | $125 | $150 | $175 | $225 | $275 | $350 | $425 $375 $250 $125 n/a
Dune
Public Water | $225 | $250 | $275 | $325 | $375 | $450 | $525 $625 $750 $875 $1,000
Supplies (3)
Natural and Cultural | $225 | $250 | $275 | $325 | $375 | $450 | $525 $625 $750 $875 $1,000
Resource Areas (4)
(1) Includes the Ocean Erodible, Inlet Hazard Area, development  without a
and Unvegetated Beach Area. permit;
(2) If the AEC physically overlaps another AEC, (i) the person received written
use the greater penalty schedule. instructions from the local
3) Includes Small Surface Water Supply permit officer or one of the
Watersheds, defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0404 Commission's delegates that
and Public Water Supply Well Fields, defined the proposed development
in 15A NCAC 07H .0406. was not permissible under the
(@) Includes Coastal Complex Natural Areas, Commission's  rules, or
Coastal Areas Sustaining Remnant Species, received denial of a permit
Unique Geological Formations, Significant application for the proposed
Coastal  Archaeological Resources, and activity, and subsequently
Significant Coastal Historical Architectural undertook the development
Resources as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0505, without a permit;
.0506, .0509, and .0510. (iii) the  person  committed
© Violations by public agencies, e.g., previous violations of the
towns, counties, and State agencies, Commission's rules; or
shall be handled by the local permit (iv) the person refused or failed to
officer or one of the Commission's restore a damaged area as
delegates within their respective ordered by the local permit
jurisdictions except that in no case officer or one of the
shall a local permit officer handle a Commission's delegates.
violation committed by the local (B) Assessments against contractors. Any
government they represent. Penalties contractor, subcontractor, or person
shall be assessed in accordance with functioning as a contractor shall be
Parts (A) and (B) of this subject to a notice of violation and
Subparagraph. assessment of a civil penalty in
(D) Willful and intentional violations. The accordance with Paragraph (f) of this

penalty assessed under Parts (A) and

(B) of this Subparagraph shall be

doubled for willful and intentional

violations except that the doubled
penalties  assessed  under this

Subparagraph shall not exceed one

thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for each

separate violation. For the purposes of

G.S. 113A-126(d)(2), the following

actions shall be considered willful and

intentional:

Q) the person received written
instructions from the local
permit officer or one of the
Commission's delegates that
a permit would be required
for the development and
subsequently undertook

(F)

Rule. Such penalty shall be in addition
to that assessed against the landowner.
When a penalty is being doubled
pursuant to Part (D) of this
Subparagraph and the element of
willfulness is present only on the part
of the contractor, the landowner shall
be assessed the standard penalty and
the contractor shall be assessed the
doubled penalty.
Assessments of Continuing violations.
) Pursuant to G.S. 113A-
126(d)(2), each day that the
violation continues after the
date specified in the notice of
violation for the
unauthorized  activity to
cease and restoration to be
completed shall be
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considered a
violation and
assessed an
penalty.

(ii) Refusal or failure to restore a
damaged area as directed in
the restoration order shall be

separate
shall be
additional

considered a  continuing
violation and shall be
assessed an additional

penalty. The amount of the
penalty shall be determined
according to Part (B) of this
Subparagraph. The
continuing penalty period
shall be calculated from the
date  specified in the
restoration  order  which
accompanies the notice of
violation for the
unauthorized activity to
cease and restoration to be
completed and run until:

()] the Division
determines that the
terms of the
restoration order are

satisfied;

) the respondent
enters into
negotiations  with
the local permit
officer or  the
Division; or

) the respondent

contests the local
permit officer's or
the Division's order
in a judicial
proceeding.
The continuing penalty period shall
resume if the respondent terminates
negotiations without reaching an
agreement with the local permit
officer or the Division, fails to comply
with court ordered restoration, or fails
to meet a deadline for restoration that
was negotiated with the local permit
officer or the Division.

(9) Reports to the Commission. Action taken by the Director shall
be reported to the Commission at the next regularly scheduled
Commission meeting. Such reports shall include information on

respondent(s) against whom penalties have
been assessed,;

respondent(s) who have paid a penalty,
requested remission, or requested an
administrative hearing;

respondent(s) who have failed to pay; and

(4)

cases referred to the Attorney General for
collection.

(h) Settlements. The Commission hereby delegates to the
Director the authority to enter into a settlement of an appeal of a
civil penalty at any time prior to the issuance of a decision by the
administrative law judge in a contested case under G.S. 150B-23,
and shall not require the approval of the Commission. Any
settlement agreement proposed subsequent to the issuance of a
decision by the administrative law judge in a contested case under
G.S. 150B-23 shall be submitted to the Commission for approval.

History Note:
113A-126(d);

Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-124(c)(8);

Eff. January 24, 1980;
ARRC Objection August 18, 1988;
Amended Eff. January 1, 1989; November 1, 1986; November 1,

1984;

ARRC Objection Lodged Eff. January 18, 1991;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; February 1, 2008; July 1, 1991;

June 1, 1991;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

19A NCAC 03C .0202

TITLING AND REGISTRATION

OF BRANDED VEHICLES
Upon application for title and registration of a motor vehicle as
defined in G.S. 20-4.01(33), the following rules apply:

)

@

©)

(4)

Flood vehicles shall be branded "Water/Flood
Damage Vehicle” on the title and
"WATR-FLD" on the registration card.
Non-USA vehicles shall be titled and registered
with an inspector's report to verify the vehicle
meets Environmental Protection Agency
standards and that the vehicle is operable. The
title shall reflect the brand Non-USA vehicle.
If a NC Salvage Certificate of Title MVR-40 is
being transferred to an individual or dealer and
the vehicle is six model years old or newer, then
the title and registration records shall notate a
Total Loss Claim and it must be accompanied
by:
@) LT-275 Report of Initial Examination
of Salvage Vehicle;
(b) LT-276 Affidavit of Rebuilder or
Owner; and
(c) LT-277 Report of Final Examination
of Rebuilt or Reconstructed Vehicle.
If the three Documents referenced in this Rule
are not submitted with the title, then a LT-270
Report of Examination Vehicle is required, and
the title shall be branded as Reconstructed with
Total Loss Claim noted. The registration
records shall reflect Reconstructed and Total
Loss Claim.
If a branded out of state title is transferred from
an insurance company's name to an individual
or dealer and the vehicle is six model years old

the following:
1)
)
©)
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(5)

(6)

()

(8)

©)

or newer, then the title brand on the previous
title will be included on the new NC Certificate
of Title, and it shall be accompanied by:
€)] LT-275 Report of Initial Examination
of Salvage Vehicle;
(b) LT-276 Affidavit of Rebuilder or
Owner; and
(c) LT-277 Report of Final Examination
of Rebuilt or Reconstructed Vehicle.
If the three documents above are not submitted
with the title, a LT-270 Report of Examination
of Motor Vehicle, shall be required and the title
shall be branded as Reconstructed.
If a NC Salvage Certificate of Title MVR-40 is
being transferred to an individual or dealer and
the vehicle is older than six model years, the
previous title's brand be included on the new
NC Salvage Certificate of Title MVR-40 and
the inspector's report shall not be required.
If a branded out-of-state title is transferred from
an insurance company's name to an individual
or dealer, and the vehicle is older than six model
years, it must be accompanied by a LT-270
Report of Examination of Motor Vehicle. The
previous title's brand shall be included on the
new NC Certificate of Title.
If a branded out-of-state title is submitted to the
Division and in an individual's name or is
assigned to an individual or dealer, the previous
title's brand shall be included on the new NC
Certificate of Title and an inspector's report
shall not be required, regardless of the year.
If a branded out-of-state title is submitted to the
Division in a dealer's name or is assigned to an
individual or dealer, regardless of the year, it
must be accompanied by a LT-20 Report of
Examination of Motor Vehicle. The previous
title's brand shall be included on the new NC
Certificate of Title.
Salvage rebuilt vehicles will be branded if a NC
Salvage Certificate of Title, MVR-40, is being
transferred to an individual or dealer and is six
model years old or newer, then the title and
registration records shall notate Total Loss
Claim and must be accompanied by:
@ LT-275 Report of Initial Examination
of Salvage Vehicle;
(b) LT-276 Affidavit of Rebuilder or
Owner; and
(© LT-277 Report of Final Examination
of Rebuilt or Reconstructed Vehicle.
If the three documents above are not submitted
with the title, a LT-270 Report of Examination
of Motor Vehicle is required, and the title will
be branded as Reconstructed with Total Loss
Claim noted. The registration records shall
reflect Reconstructed and Total Loss Claim.
For vehicles more than six model years old, the

current brand shall be included on the new NC
Certificate of Title.

(10) If a NC Salvage Certificate of Title, MVR-40,
is being transferred to an individual or dealer
and is more than six model years old, the
current brand shall be included on the new NC
Salvage Certificate of Title, MVR-40, and an
inspector's report shall not be required.

(11) If an out-of-state title in the name of an
insurance company without a brand is
transferred to an individual or dealer and the
vehicle is six model years old or newer, it shall
be accompanied by the LT-270 Report of
Examination of Motor Vehicle and the new title
shall be branded in accordance with the
applicable rules and G.S. 20-39, 20-71.3, and
20-109.1.

(12) If an out-of-state title or a NC Certificate of
Title is being transferred to an insurance
company's name and is more than six model
years old, a NC Salvage Certificate of Title,
MVR-40, will notate Total Loss Claim and
shall be branded Salvage Rebuilt.

(13) Junk vehicles are marked "Junked" on the
registration records only. The title must be
submitted indicating the vehicle is incapable of
operation or use upon the highways and has no
resale value except as a source of parts or
scraps.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-4.01(33); 20-39;
20-71.3; 20-109.1;

Eff. July 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; January 1,
1988;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0220 MANUFACTURER'S
CERTIFICATE OF ORIGIN

(@) The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin shall contain the
information set forth in G.S. 20-4.01(20) and the following

information:
1) the manufacturer's name and address (may be
preprinted); and
2 a countersignature of an agent (rubber stamped

or written). The countersignature is the
signature of the authorized person at the
dealership.
(b) Upon transfer of a vehicle to a transferee in accordance with
G.S. 20-52.1, a dealer shall complete the Assignment of
Manufacturer's Certificate and shall comply with the following:

1) If the purchaser is not a licensed dealer, the
certificate of title shall be obtained prior to
further transfer.

2 When a transfer is made by a manufacturer to a
dealer, the dealer shall make the transfer on the
reverse side of the Manufacturer's Certificate.

3 The transfer shall match the name on the
dealer's license.
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4) Lien information shall be recorded in the
transfer.
(5) Transfers shall be notarized.

(6) Alterations shall void the Manufacturer's
Certificate and shall require the return of the
certificate to the manufacturer for correction.

History Note:
20-52.1; 20-54;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-4.01; 20-39; 20-52;

19A NCAC 03C .0221 REGISTRATION OF OUT-OF-
STATE REGISTERED VEHICLES

The applicant shall provide the following when registering a
vehicle in North Carolina that is currently registered in another
state, district, or territory:

1) the documentary proof of ownership, such as
out-of-state vehicle registration or out-of-state
certificate of title;

)] proof of liability insurance as required by G.S.
20-309; and

3 the payment of fees and taxes.

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-52; 20-85;
20-309; 105-187.6(c);

Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0222 REGISTRATION: CUSTOM
BUILT MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAILERS
Registration of a custom-built motor vehicle or trailer requires the
following:
(D) the bills of sale for the principal parts or two
appraisals from two different NC dealers with
Indemnity Bonds;
(2) the cancellation of the title if the number on the
motor or frame is registered in North Carolina;
(3) the form MVR-1 Title Application and any
lienholder information that is required for
titling vehicles in North Carolina;
(@) the MVR-55 Affidavit for Custom or Replica
Built Vehicles, which is a notarized statement
that the vehicle was built from parts described
by the bills of sale and must be completed in its
entirety; and
(5) the LT-270 Report of Examination of Motor
Vehicles, is completed after an inspection by a
motor vehicles inspector; and
(6) the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin for
motor, frame, and transmission assigned to an
individual or Indemnity Bond.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-4.01; 20-39; 20-53;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; August 1, 1982;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0223 REGISTRATION: MOTOR
HOMES, ETC.

(@  The manufacturer of the chassis shall provide a
Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin to the manufacturer of the
motor home. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin shall show
the serial number of the chassis.

(b) If an application for registration of a customized van is
presented with a Manufacturer's Certificate or Origin describing
the van and another certificate describing the conversion kit, then
an owner's statement explaining changes is required to determine
the trade name, body style, and license classification of the van.

History Note:
20-52.1; 20-53;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-4.01; 20-39; 20-52;

19A NCAC 03C .0224 PURCHASE INFORMATION

In addition to the requirements set forth in G.S. 20-52(a), an
applicant shall provide the following purchase information on the
title application:

(8] The name and address of the person or firm
from whom the vehicle was acquired;

2 The date of purchase and whether the vehicle is
new or used;

3) The dealer's certificate number;

@) Whether the vehicle was acquired for use in

North Carolina;
(5) The purchase price, verified by bill of sale on

new vehicle;

(6) The state of last registration;

) The odometer reading and federal odometer
statement; and

(8) The ad valorem tax certification.

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-52;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0226 REGISTRATION: BUSES TO BE
OPERATED FOR HIRE

The registration for a bus to be operated for hire shall include the
empty weight of the bus calculated to the nearest 100 pounds.

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-87;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0228 TITLE ONLY

To obtain a Certificate of Title without a license plate, the
applicant shall verify that a license fee or transfer is not due by
indicating on the Application for Title.

History Note:
20-79;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-50; 20-73;
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Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0230
GUARDIANS

POWERS OF ATTORNEY:

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-77;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0234 MINORS MAY OWN VEHICLE
History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39;

Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0235
DUPLICATE TITLE
(@) A lienholder applying for a duplicate certificate of title shall
have the owner sign the application.

(b) When a certificate of title is lost after the release of a lien, the
lienholder's affidavit that the lien has been satisfied shall
accompany the owner's application for a duplicate certificate of
title or for an electronic lienholder, the lienholder shall request the
lien be released electronically. A paper lien release shall not be
accepted on an electronic lien.

(c) A duplicate certificate of title takes precedence over the
original unless a false statement made in the application
invalidates the duplicate.

(d) If the original certificate of title is lost after being endorsed,
the purchaser shall submit notarized affidavits tracing the chain of
ownership from the registered owner to the present owner and any
lien cancellations involved along with his or her application for a
duplicate certificate of title.

(e) If the original certificate of title is lost and the vehicle has
been sold or traded, the owner shall apply for a duplicate
certificate of title and assign to the purchaser on the application.
The Division shall not issue a duplicate certificate of title until 15
days after the receipt of the application.

APPLICATION FOR

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-68; 20-54;
Eff. March 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0236 PENALTY FOR FAILURE
TOMAKE TRANSFER WITHIN 28 DAYS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-73; 20-77;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1991;
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0403 VAN POOL LICENSE PLATE
History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1984; February 1, 1982;
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-87; 20-88.1;

19A NCAC 03C .0404 ORIGINAL REGISTRATION:
STAGGERED REGISTRATION SYSTEM

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1978;
Amended Eff. February 1, 1982;
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-50; 20-66;

19A NCAC 03C .0414 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE
History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-50; 20-66; 20-79;
20-81.7; 20-83; 20-86.1;

Eff. March 1, 1982;

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0419 GOLF CARTS

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-4.01; 20-39; 20-87; 20-88.1;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0420 HANDICAPPED PLACARD
Handicapped persons who do not own an automobile may be
issued distinguishing placards for a fee of five dollars ($5.00). If
the handicapped placard is lost or stolen, a fee of five dollars
(%5.00) shall be required for replacement.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-37.6(c);

Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; December 1, 1993;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0421 VEHICLES USED FOR
PASSENGER AND PROPERTY CARRYING
The property carrying registration fee applies to the following
vehicles when used to transport property:

D vehicles designed by the manufacturer as utility

sedans, couriers, coupe-pickups, sedan
delivery, and carpenters;

2 station wagons and multi-purpose vehicles with
the seat removed; and

3 passenger cars with interiors so constructed or
altered as to permit the transportation of
property.

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-87; 20-88;
Eff. March 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0424 TRUCKS AND TRUCK
TRACTORS (PRIVATE PROPERTY CARRYING)
Wrecker vehicles used to transport property and move disabled
vehicles, or used to move vehicles that are not disabled, shall be
classed as trucks and licensed as property carrying vehicles.

History Note:
20-118;

Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;

Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-79; 20-84; 20-88;
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Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0425 SPECIAL MOBILE EQUIPMENT
(@) The special mobile equipment license affidavit MVR-295
shall accompany each application for title and include the

following:
(1) Vehicle Information including year, make,
body style, model, VIN number;
2 Owner information including owner name and

ID or North Carolina Driver License number,

address, tax county and insurance information;

and

3) Must be Notarized.

(b) If the vehicle is from a state having no registration
requirements, bills of sale from at least the last two owners shall
be required. The bill of sale to the current owner shall be
notarized. If there is only one prior owner, one bill of sale shall be
required. If no bill of sale can be provided, an indemnity bond
shall be required.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-87(10); 20-88;
Eff. March 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0426
PLATE

When a temporary license plate is issued on a property carrying
vehicle, the registration is valid only for the empty weight of the
vehicle. If the vehicle is found to be carrying property, the regular
license plate fee shall be retroactively assessed as of the time of
the application of the temporary license plate.

TEMPORARY REGISTRATION

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-50;
Eff. March 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0428 APPLICATION FOR
REPLACEMENT LICENSE OR VALIDATION
STICKERS

To be issued a replacement license plate or validation sticker, the
owner must certify that he or she has liability insurance pursuant
to G.S. 20-109.

History Note:
109;
Eff. March 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-64; 20-66; 20-68; 20-

19A NCAC 03C .0429 LICENSE PLATE TRANSFER
History Note:
20-66;

Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-42; 20-64; 20-65;

19A NCAC 03C .0432
REGISTRATION
An application for transporter registration shall include valid
insurance information and all other requirements as noted on
MVR-16A. Form MVR-16A shall include the following:

TRANSPORTER'S

1) the vehicle owner's driver's license number,
name, address, and telephone number;

2 the vehicle owner's insurance information;

?3) the vehicle owner's license plate number;

4 if a North Carolina dealer, the NC Dealer
number shall be required or the name of the
customer's repair facility.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-79.2;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1984;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0433 DRIVEAWAY REGISTRATION
Prior to the issuance of driveaway plates, a driveaway company
shall obtain and maintain insurance that would cover any new
vehicle being operated by the company.

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-87(8);
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0436 HIGHWAY USE TAX
History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-39; 105-187.3;
Eff. November 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994;
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0501 FOR HIRE OPERATIONS

A carrier seeking a for-hire license shall meet any applicable
requirements of city boards in accordance with G.S. 160A-304,
the North Carolina Utilities Commission in accordance with G.S.
62-260, and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement and the
International Registration Plan prior to the issuance of a license.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-4.01; 20-39; 20-44; 20-50;
20-86; 20-87; 20-88; 20-382;

Eff. July 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1982;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0520
DEFINED

FOR HIRE OPERATIONS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-4.01; 20-39; 62-3; 62-276;
Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03C .0521 TAXICAB
(a) Taxis operating more than five miles outside an incorporated
city or town shall certify via affidavit on form MVR-320 that they

36:01

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

JULY 1, 2021




APPROVED RULES

are outside the corporate limits and are exempt from local
requirements.
(b) Form MVR-320 shall include the following:

(1) the year, make, body style, and VIN number of

the vehicle;
(2) the principal operator of the vehicle;
(3) the acknowledgment that the applicant will not

travel within five miles of a city limit or are
required to obtain a certificate of convenience
and necessity from the city; and

4) an attestation under oath before a notary that the
information on the application is true and also a
complete affidavit of the applicant.

History Note:
20-87;

Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-4.01; 20-37; 20-39; 20-86;

19A NCAC 03E .0401 GENERAL INFORMATION
(@) Apportionable vehicles used or intended for use in two or
more jurisdictions that allocate or proportionally register vehicles
for the transportation of persons or property, shall be registered in
accordance with the provisions of the International Registration
Plan. The International Registration Plan is hereby incorporated
by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions,
which can be found at no cost at the Division's International
Registration Plan offices in Charlotte or Raleigh, and online at
https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/programs/commercial -
trucking/Pages/default.aspx.
(b) The term "Apportionable Vehicle" as used in this Rule means
any vehicle, except recreational vehicles, vehicles displaying
restricted plates, city pick up and delivery vehicles, buses used in
transportation of chartered parties, and government-owned
vehicles, used, or intended for use, in two or more member
jurisdictions that allocate or proportionally register vehicles and
is used for the transportation of persons for hire or designed, used
or maintained for the transportation of property and:

(1) is a power unit having two axles and a gross

vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle
weight in excess of 26,000 pounds;

(2) is a power unit having three or more axles
regardless of weight; or
3 is used in combination when the weight of such

combination exceeds 26,000 pounds gross

vehicle weight.
(c) Vehicles, or combinations thereof, having a gross vehicle
weight of 26,000 pounds or less and two-axle vehicles and buses
used in transportation of chartered parties may be proportionally
registered at the option of the registrant.
(d) The Raleigh and Charlotte offices of the North Carolina
Division of Motor Vehicles shall register vehicles under the
International Registration Plan. Registrants or other interested
persons shall obtain the International Registration Plan manual
and the application schedule forms from:

(1) North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles
I.R.P. Section
1425 Rock Quarry Road

Suite 100
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610; or
2 North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles

I.R.P. Unit

6016 Brookshire Blvd.

Charlotte, North Carolina 28216.
(e) The principles for implementation of this registration
reciprocity agreement among states of the United States and
provinces of Canada shall be found in the most recent publication
of the International Registration Plan Policies and Procedures
Manual, the Uniform Operation Audit Procedures Guidelines and
the North Carolina Department of Transportation, Division of
Motor Vehicles International Registration Plan Manual.
(f) The forms for the International Registration Plan and rental
vehicles shall be obtained from the International Registration Plan
Section (IRP) of the Division of Motor Vehicles, Raleigh, North
Carolina.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. April 30, 1997; December 1, 1993; November 1,
1991;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-86.1; 20-91;

19A NCAC 03F .0602  ADMINISTRATIVE FINANCIAL
RESPONSIBILITY HEARINGS

(@) Any person who has received notice of a driver's license
suspension due to an motor vehicle accident for failure to file
proof of financial responsibility may request a hearing.

(b) Request for a hearing shall be made in writing to the Division
within 15 days from the date shown on the proposed suspension
order.

(c) The receipt of a request for hearing shall extend the original
effective date of the suspension order for 30 days or until the
hearing is held, whichever is later.

(d) The petitioner shall furnish the Division with a statement of
the circumstances of the accident in which his or her vehicle was
involved, grounds relied upon to exonerate him or her from
suspension, and a certified copy of any traffic court judgment
related to the accident. This information shall be received at the
Division at least five days prior to the date fixed for hearing.

(e) If the hearing officer establishes that liability insurance was
in effect on the date of the accident, or that the petitioner has
assumed financial responsibility for the damages in the accident,
the officer shall rescind the Division's prior notice of revocation.

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-279.2; 20-279.5;
Eff. November 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03G .0208
CERTIFICATION
Certification as a school bus driver may be transferred from any
part of this State to any other if all records compiled by the School
Bus and Traffic Safety Representative in the former district for
which the driver drove shall be forwarded to the School Bus and
Traffic Safety Representative in the new district.

TRANSFER OF
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-39(b); 20-218;
Eff. April 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03G .0212 DATE OF CANCELLATION
History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-39(b); 20-218;

Eff. April 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03G .0301 DRIVER EDUCATION PERMIT
The student's vision and physical condition shall be checked by a
representative of the Division or medical personnel and the results
recorded on the permit. The restricted instruction permit shall be
signed by a representative of the Division.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1978;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; February 1,
1982;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-7(m); 20-39;

19A NCAC 031.0303 CLASSROOM FACILITY

In order for a commercial driving school to obtain and maintain a
license, the school shall conduct classwork in a facility approved
by the Division of Motor Vehicles. The classroom facility shall
meet the following requirements:

(1) not less than 120 square feet, which includes at
least 70 square feet for the instructor and his or
her equipment and 12 square feet for each
student;

)] lighting, heating, and ventilation systems that
are in compliance with all State and local laws
and ordinances including zoning, public health,
safety, and sanitation;

3 seats and writing surfaces for all students;
presentations visible from all seats; charts,
diagrams, mock-ups, and pictures relating to the
operation of motor vehicles, traffic laws,
physical forces, and correct driving procedures;
a copy of the Driver's Handbook published by
the Division for each student; lesson materials
to reflect current motor vehicle laws for each
student; and

(@) restroom facilities for the class size.

History Note:
Eff. July 2, 1979;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; April 1,
1989; June 1, 1982;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-322;

19A NCAC 031 .0402
INSPECTION

(a) Each vehicle used by the school shall be insured by a company
licensed to do business in North Carolina against liability in the
amount of at least fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) because of
injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident,

REGISTRATION: INSURANCE:

one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) because of bodily injury
to or death of one person in any one accident, and three hundred
thousand dollars ($300,000) because of bodily injury to or death
of two or more persons in any one accident. This insurance
coverage shall be secured on an annual basis. In the event
coverage for any vehicle used for driver instruction or training
shall not be renewed, the school shall give written notice to the
Division at least 10 days prior to the expiration date of the
coverage. A certificate of insurance coverage shall be filed by the
insurance underwriter with the Division. Cancellation shall be
accomplished upon 15 days prior written notice to the Division by
the insurance underwriter.

(b) Each vehicle used by a school shall be listed and inspected in
the manner prescribed by Rule .0401 of this Section. Each vehicle
shall be inspected and approved by a representative of the
Division before it is used and then annually.

History Note:
Eff. July 2, 1979;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; May 1, 1987;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-321; 20-322;

19A NCAC 031 .0501 REQUIREMENTS
(a) Each instructor of a commercial driver training school or
branch shall:

(8] have four years or more of experience as a
licensed operator of a motor vehicle;
2 not be denied on the basis of criminal record in

accordance with if they have been convicted of
a felony in the 10 years preceding the date of
application;

©) not have had a revocation or suspension of his
driver's license in the five years preceding the
date of application;

4) have graduated from high school or hold a high
school equivalency certificate;

5) not have had convictions for moving violations
totaling five or more points in the three years
preceding the date of application;

(6) have  completed the  80-contact-hour,
community-college course for driver education
teachers; an equivalent course approved by the
Commissioner, or an Instructor Training
Program conducted by an licensed Commercial
Driver Training School within four years prior
to application;

@) complete the written test administered by a
School Bus and Traffic Safety representative;
(Allowed only one retest)

(8) complete the Miller Road Test given by a
School Bus and Traffic Safety representative;
(Allowed only one retest)

9) be issued an instructor's learning permit, valid
for a three month probationary period;

(10) submit a criminal background check from the
Clerk of Court for each county of residence for
the past 10 years;
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(11)

(12)

be observed, evaluated, and recommended by a
School Bus and Traffic Safety representative
within the three month probationary period; and
be exempt from the 80-contact-hour basic
course, Miller Road Test, and the probationary
period if the applicant is an accredited driver
education teacher with a current certificate
based on the requirements of the State Board of
Education and if he or she completes the written
Commercial Driver Education exam with a
score of 80 or above, and if the test is
administered by a School Bus and Traffic
Safety representative. The applicant is allowed
only one retest.

(b) An applicant will be issued an instructor's learner's permit
which will be valid for three months. To be eligible for an
instructor's learner's permit, the applicant shall meet requirements
in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (10) of this Rule and shall:

(1)

)

3)

(4)

()

submit an Instructor Application with a sixteen
dollar ($16.00) application fee, copy of high
school diploma or high school equivalency
certificate, and physical examination form;
conduct two hours of classroom instruction
within the three-month probationary period,
while being observed and evaluated by a School
Bus and Traffic Safety representative, if the
instructor wants to be licensed as a classroom
instructor;

conduct two hours of behind the wheel
instruction within the three-month probationary
period, while being observed and evaluated by
a School Bus and Traffic Safety representative,
if the instructor wants to be licensed for behind
the wheel instruction;

be recommended by a School Bus and Traffic
Safety representative to receive an instructor's
license;

be exempt from Subparagraphs (b)(2), (3), and
(4) of this Rule if the applicant is an accredited
driver education teacher with a current

®)

(6)

Y]
®)

complete the written test administered by a
School Bus and Traffic Safety Representative;
(Allowed only one retest)

complete the Miller Road Test given by a
School Bus and Traffic Safety Representative;
(Allowed only one retest)

be recommended by a School Bus and Traffic
Safety representative; and

shall renew instructor trainer license every
other year, in conjunction with school renewal.

(d) Each application for a commercial driver training instructor

shall consist of:

M)
@
®)
(4)

©®)

(6)

History Note:
Eff. July 2, 1979;

SBTS-612 (application for instructor license)
shall be completed and signed by the applicant;
SBTS-602 (physical exam report) shall be
completed and signed by a licensed physician;

satisfactory evidence of high school graduation
or equivalency;

evidence of completion of NCDMV 80-hour
basic driver education instructor course or
equivalent;

a driver license record check for the previous
three years if applicant has other than a North
Carolina driver license or local background
check for all counties they have resided in for
the last 10 years for North Carolina residents;
or

a check or money order in the amount of sixteen
dollars ($16.00).

Authority G.S. 20-33; 20-322; 20-323; 20-324;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1994;
December 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; September 1, 1990;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03J .0201

REQUIREMENTS

(a) The Division shall not issue a commercial truck driver training
school license to any individual, partnership, group, association,
or corporation unless:

certificate based on the requirements of the 1) The individual, partnership, group, association,
State Board of Education. or corporation has at least one motor vehicle
(¢) An instructor at an approved commercial driver training registered or leased in the name of the school,
school may apply for an Instructor Trainer license. The Instructor which vehicle has been inspected by a
Trainer shall: representative of the Division and vehicle
(D) have five consecutive years as an active insurance certified as required by this
licensed instructor; Subchapter for use by the school for driver
2 submit an application for Instructor Trainer training purposes and driver instruction.
License; 2 The individual, partnership, group, association,
3) complete two hours of classroom observation or corporation has at least one person licensed
by a School Bus and Traffic Safety by the Division as a commercial truck driver
representative while training instructors, not training instructor for that school.
driver education students; ?3) Each manager or owner-operator of a
4) complete two hours of behind-the-wheel commercial truck driver training school or
observation by a School Bus and Traffic Safety branch shall:
representative while training instructors, not (A) be subject to an evaluation of any
driver education students; existing criminal record in accordance
with G.S. 93B-8.1(b1);
(B) be at least 18 years of age; and
36:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2021
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© not have had a revocation or
suspension of his or her classified
license in the two years preceding the

date of application.
4) In the case of a foreign commercial truck driver
training school, recruiting in North Carolina,
the school submits the following items to the

Division:

(A) a copy of the school's license;

(B) a course description, including topics
taught and the length of the course;

© a list of equipment available for
training;

(D) a copy of the contract complete with
the fee charged; and
(E) the names of the persons who
represent the school in North Carolina;
provided, Subparagraphs (a)(1) and
(2)(4)(C) of this Rule shall not apply
to schools offering seminar training
only.
(b) AIll commercial truck driver training schools licensed and
recruiting in North Carolina shall submit to the Division a surety
bond in the amount of thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) for
schools offering courses of instruction of 160 hours or more and
ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for schools offering seminar
training only.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 20-37.13(b); 20-321; 20-322;
20-323; 93B-8.1(b1);

Eff. May 1, 1987;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; January 1, 1994; February 1, 1991;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

19A NCAC 03J.0204 DUPLICATE COPIES

All applications, either original or renewal, for a commercial
driver training school or branch shall be completed in duplicate.
The original copy of each form shall be submitted to the
Enforcement Commercial Driver License (CDL) Compliance
Section of the Division of Motor Vehicles, 1417 North Church
Street, Rocky Mount, North Carolina 27804-3117. A copy of each
form shall be filed at the place of business.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1987;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; February 1, 1991;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-321; 20-324;

19A NCAC 03J.0303  CLASSROOM FACILITY
The classroom facility shall meet the following minimum
requirements:

1) An overall size of 120 square feet, including at
least 70 square feet for the instructor and his or
her equipment and 12 square feet for each
student.

2 Lighting, heating, and ventilation systems that
are in compliance with all State and local laws
and ordinances including zoning, public health,
safety, and sanitation.

?3) Seats and writing surfaces for all students;
blackboards or whiteboards visible from all
seats; charts, diagrams, mock-ups, and pictures
relating to the operation of motor vehicles,
traffic laws, physical forces, and correct driving
procedures; a copy of the Driver's Handbook
published by the Division for each student; and
other textbooks deemed necessary by the

instructor.
4 Restroom facilities shall be provided.
(5) Covered shelter shall be provided for students

when on the field range to protect them from the
weather when not driving.

(6) Seminar only courses shall provide seats and
writing surfaces for all students and printed
instructional materials deemed necessary by the
instructor. Seminars shall be conducted at any
location meeting the requirements in this Rule
provided prior notice is given to and approval is
given by the Commercial Driver License (CDL)
Compliance Section.

History Note:
323; 20-328;

Eff. May 1, 1987;
Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; February 1, 1991;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-320; 20-321; 20-322; 20-

19A NCAC 033.0305 INSPECTIONS

The Division shall make periodic inspections, at least annually, of
schools and branches to determine compliance with statutes and
rules. The inspection shall be made during business hours by
authorized representatives of the Division. Inspections shall
include examination of all school records, contracts, classroom
facilities, training devices, instructional materials and
instructional methods, vehicles, and any other item required by
law or regulation. Each owner, partner, associate, corporate
officer, or employee of any commercial driver training school
shall cooperate with the Division's representative and, upon
request, shall exhibit all records, instructional aids, equipment,
and any other items which are required for the inspection. Refusal
to permit inspections shall be grounds for revocation of the
license. Records shall be retained by the school for a period of
three years.

History Note:
325; 20-327;

Eff. May 1, 1987;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; January 1, 1994;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-321; 20-322; 20-323; 20-

19A NCAC 03J.0306 COURSE OF INSTRUCTION

(&) The commercial truck driving course to be taken by licensed
persons who are 18 years old or older shall meet the following
requirements:

@ Minimum hours of instruction:
(A) classroom instruction, including
testing 50 hours
(B) field instruction 50 hours
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© highway behind-the-wheel training

20 hours
(D) observation (highway behind-the-
wheel) 40 hours

Total - 160 hours
The hours of instruction may be expressed in credit hours
provided the school is accredited by an accrediting agency
recognized by the United States Department of Education and the
conversion ratio of that accrediting agency is used.

2 Content of classroom and behind-the-wheel
instruction:
(A) laws relating to interstate and

intrastate operations;

(B) pre-trip inspection;

© coupling and  uncoupling  of
combination units, if the equipment to
be driven includes such units;

(D) placing the vehicle in operation;

(E) use of the vehicle's controls and
emergency equipment;

(F) operation in inner-city and interstate

highway traffic and passing;

(G) turning the vehicle;

(H) braking and slowing the vehicle by
means other than applying the brakes;

()] backing and parking the vehicle;

) experience operating property hauling
vehicles with a minimum gross
vehicle weight of 49,000 pounds or
experience operating passenger motor
coach vehicles having a minimum
capacity of 46 persons; and

(K) completing driver's daily log books.

3 Other requirements include:

(A) the 160 hours of instructions required
by this Rule shall be completed in no
less than four calendar weeks;

(B) three hours of the 20 hours of behind-
the-wheel highway training shall be
completed by each student between
dusk and dawn;

© one vehicle shall be provided for each
three  students during highway
training. Four students per vehicle are
permitted if the vehicle has been
inspected and approved by the
Division. The Division shall approve
the vehicle if it determines the vehicle
will seat four people. No more than
four students per vehicle and no more
than four vehicles per instructor shall
be allowed for field training; and

(D) a Driver's Daily Log shall be kept for
each student to reflect the 160 hours of
instruction.

(b) Credit for prior instruction or training given by another
agency or school may be granted. Such credit may be granted by
the school to which the candidate is applying if the prior
instruction or training is equivalent to the corresponding part or

parts of the course required by this Rule for commercial truck
driving course and if such credit is confirmed and authorized as
equivalent by the Enforcement Section of the Division.

(c) In addition to the course requirements of Paragraph (a) of this
Rule, schools may offer a "Refresher Course™ which shall meet
the following requirements:

1) Minimum hours of instruction shall total 80
hours as follows:
(A) Classroom instruction, labs, and
testing 25 hours
(B) Field instruction 25 hours

© Highway behind the wheel training

10 hours
(D) Observation (highway behind-the-
wheel) 20 hours

Total - 80 hours
The hours of instruction may be expressed in credit hours
provided the school is accredited by an accrediting agency
recognized by the United States Department of Education and the
conversion ratio of that accrediting agency is used.

2 Content of Classroom and behind the wheel
instruction shall be as follows:
(A) laws relating to interstate and

intrastate operations;

(B) pre-trip inspection;

© coupling and  uncoupling  of
combination units, if the equipment to
be driven includes such units;

(D) placing the vehicle in operation;

(E) use of the wvehicle's controls and
emergency equipment;

R operation n inner-city and interstate

highway traffic and passing;

(G) turning the vehicle;

H) braking and slowing the vehicle by
means other than applying the brakes;

0] backing and parking the vehicle;

) experience operating property hauling
vehicles with a minimum gross weight
of 49,000 pounds or experience
operating passenger motor coach
vehicles having a minimum capacity
of 46 passengers; and

(K) completing driver's daily log books.

3) Other requirements are as follows:

(A) the 80 hours of instruction required by
this Rule shall be completed in no less
than two calendar weeks;

(B) two hours of the 10 hours behind the
wheel highway training shall be
completed by each student between
dusk and dawn;

© one vehicle shall be provided for each
three  students during highway
training. Four students per vehicle are
permitted if the vehicle has been
inspected and approved for such use
by the Division. The Division shall
approve the vehicle if it determines the
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vehicle will seat four people. No more
than four students shall be allowed per
vehicle for field training; and;

(D) a drivers log shall be kept for each
student to reflect the 80 hours of
instruction.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1987;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1997;
January 1, 1994; May 1, 1990;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-321; 20-322; 20-323,;

19A NCAC 033 .0307 STUDENT REQUIREMENTS

The owners or officers of the school shall inform students 18 years
of age or older but less than 21 years of age of the age restrictions
as set forth in 49 CFR Part 391.11 and limitations established by
the United States Department of Transportation Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration and G.S. 20-37.13.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1987;
Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; January 1, 1994; May 1, 1990;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-37; 20-321; 20-323; 20-328;

19A NCAC 03J .0402
INSPECTION

(a) Each vehicle used by the school on the highway shall be titled
and registered as required by G.S. 20-52 and bear a current
inspection certificate. Each yard vehicle used by the school shall
be titled as required by G.S. 20-52.

(b) Eachvehicle used by the school shall be insured by a company
licensed to do business in North Carolina against liability in the
amount of at least twenty five thousand dollars ($25,000) because
of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one
accident, fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) because of bodily injury
to or death or one person in any one accident, and one hundred
thousand dollars ($100,000) because of bodily injury to or death
of two or more persons in any one accident. This insurance
coverage shall be secured on an annual basis. In the event
coverage for any vehicle used for driver instruction or training
shall not be renewed, the school shall give written notice to the
Division at least 10 days prior to the expiration date of the
coverage. A certificate of insurance coverage shall be filed by the
insurance underwriter with the Division. Cancellation shall be
accomplished upon 15 days prior written notice to the Division by
the insurance underwriter.

(c) Each vehicle used by a school shall be listed and inspected in
the manner prescribed in 49 CFR 396. In addition, each vehicle
shall be inspected to meet the requirements of Rule .0401 of this
Section and approved by a representative of the Division before it
is used. Each vehicle shall be inspected and approved by a
representative of the Division annually and at any other time.

REGISTRATION: INSURANCE:

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1987;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-37.22; 20-51(15)(a); 20-321;

19ANCAC 03J.0601 REQUIREMENTS

Students taking a refresher course or a course of 160 hours or
more shall contract with a commercial truck driver training
school. The contract shall contain the following information:

1) The agreed total contract charges and full terms
of payment thereof.
) The number, nature, time, and extent of lessons
contracted for, including:
@) minimum hours of instruction as
required in Rule .0306 of this
Subchapter; and
(b) rate for use of school vehicle for a

driver's license road test, if an extra
charge is made.

3 A statement which reads as follows: This
agreement constitutes the entire contract
between the school and the student, and any
verbal assurances or promises not contained
herein shall bind neither the school nor the
student.

4) A statement which reads as follows: This
school is licensed by the State of North
Carolina, Division of Motor Vehicles.

5) A statement which reads as follows: If you, as
a student, are unable to settle a dispute with the
school, please direct your grievances to the
North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles,
Commercial Driver License (CDL)
Compliance Section, 1417 North Church Street,
Rocky Mount, North Carolina 27804-0001.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1987;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; January 1, 1994;
February 1, 1991; May 1, 1990;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 20-321; 20-322; 20-323;

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 16 — BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 16J .0101 PREMISES
(&) The premises of a dental facility shall be kept free of rubbish
and any substances that create a hazard, as follows:

@ all floors shall be free of obstacles to cleaning;

2) reception areas, hallways, treatment areas,
office facilities, and other walking surfaces
shall be free of obstruction;

3) all equipment and instruments that have been
used for patient dental care shall be handled in
accordance with Rule .0103 of this Subchapter;
and

(@) solid wastes and medical wastes shall be
handled and disposed of in accordance with
15A NCAC 18A .1300, which is incorporated
by reference, including subsequent
amendments.
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(b) The premises shall be kept free of all insects and vermin.

(c) Water shall be piped under pressure to all equipment and
fixtures where the use of water is required. The water supply shall
meet the requirements in 15A NCAC 18A .1700 or 15A NCAC
18C, which are incorporated by reference, including subsequent
amendments.

(d) All plumbing shall comply with applicable local plumbing
ordinances and with the North Carolina State Plumbing Code,
which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, and is available at no cost online at
https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/codes-current-and-past.

() Comfortable and sanitary conditions for patients and
employees shall be maintained at all times, as follows:

1) floors, including carpeted areas, shall be kept
clean, dry, odor free, and in good repair;

2 walls and ceilings shall be kept clean and in
good repair;

3) doors, windows, and window treatments shall

be kept clean and in good repair;

4) equipment, furniture, and light fixtures,
including in reception areas, shall be kept clean
and in good repair;

(5) rooms shall be heated, cooled, and ventilated to
maintain a temperature between 65°F (19°C)
and 85°F (30°C), and ventilation equipment
shall be kept clean and in good repair; and

(6) moisture shall be controlled such that there is
no evidence of microbial growth on interior
surfaces and objects.

() All liquid and human waste, including floor wash water, shall
be disposed of through trapped drains into a public sanitary sewer
system in localities where such system is available. In localities
where a public sanitary system is not available, liquid and human
waste shall be disposed of in accordance with 15A NCAC 18A
.1300 and 15A NCAC 18C.

(g) There shall be functioning toilet facilities on the premises of
every dental office. The toilet facilities and fixtures shall be kept
clean and in good repair, and shall conform to standards set out in
15A NCAC 18A .1300.

(h) No animals shall be allowed in any area of a dental office
where clinical work is being performed, except service animals in
accordance with G.S. 168-4.2 and the Americans with Disabilities
Act, or certified facility dogs. For purposes of this Rule, a
"certified facility dog" shall be defined as a dog that is trained and
certified by a program that is accredited by or a member of
Assistance Dogs International, Animal Assisted Intervention
International, or a similar organization whose purpose is to
promote standards of training, placement, and utilization of
assistance dogs (an "assistance dog program™). While in the dental
office, the facility dog shall be handled by a dentist, dental
hygienist, dental assistant, or other employee designated by the
dentist who is trained and certified by an assistance dog program.
(i) For purposes of this Rule, "clean" means washed and free from
dirt, grime, bodily fluids or tissue, foreign material, or unwanted
matter. "Good repair" means capable of being cleaned and used
for its intended purpose in a safe manner.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-41(a)(23); 90-48;
Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2015; May 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 16J .0103 STERILIZATION AND
INFECTION CONTROL

(a) All instruments or equipment used in the treatment of dental
patients shall be sterilized according to manufacturer
specifications.

(b) All settings in which licensees engage in the practice of
dentistry or dental hygiene ("dental settings") shall comply with
the recommendations and guidelines of the Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention ("CDC") for infection prevention and
control directed at or applicable to dental settings. The CDC
recommendations and guidelines are incorporated by reference,
including subsequent amendments and editions, and are available
at no cost online at https://www.cdc.gov.

(c) All licensees are responsible for utilizing and maintaining
sterilization and infection control techniques and precautions as
required by this Rule to prevent the cross contamination and
transmission of infection to all persons.

History Note:
233(ab);

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; May 1, 1991;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90-41(a)(23); 90-48; 90-

B I i I G S

CHAPTER 25 - INTERPRETER AND
TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD

21 NCAC 25 .0501
REQUIREMENTS
(a) A licensee shall earn at least two continuing education units
("CEUSs") each licensure year. At least 1.0 of those CEUs shall be
earned in professional studies and at least 1.0 of those CEUs shall
be earned in a setting in which three or more persons come
together at the same location at the same time as a group to listen
to a lecture, to view a demonstration, to participate in group
discussions, or to learn through any combination of these or
similar activities.

(b) A licensee may carry over up to two surplus CEUs earned in
one licensure year to the next licensure year to meet the
requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The licensee shall
demonstrate that he or she earned the CEU credits sought to be
carried over in the licensee's license renewal application packet
submitted for the carry over year in order to receive credit
therefore. Surplus CEUs shall only be carried forward from the
licensure year in which they were earned to the next subsequent
licensure year and not beyond.

(c) A licensee may not earn CEUs while interpreting, whether or
not the licensee is compensated for his or her services.

CONTINUING EDUCATION
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(d) The Board shall waive the continuing education requirements
in this Rule for any individual who is currently licensed by and in
good standing with the Board if the individual is serving in the
armed forces of the United States and if G.S. 105-249.2 grants the
individual an extension of time to file a tax return. The waiver
shall be in effect for any period that is disregarded under Section
7508 of the Internal Revenue Code in determining the taxpayer's
liability for a federal tax.

(e) For the 2020-21, 2021-22, 2022-23, and 2023-24 licensure
years only, the Board waives the in-person course requirements
of Paragraph (a) of this Rule and licensees may take all of their
CEUs for those licensure years electronically. However, this
waiver shall not apply to any surplus CEUs earned during the
2023-24 licensure year and sought by the licensee to be carried
over to the 2024-25 licensure year.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-8; 90D-11; 93B-15;
Eff. March 21, 2005;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2011; August 1, 2007;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018;

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. April 11, 2021;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021.

R I i S S e S R G I I S O

CHAPTER 28 - LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS'
LICENSING BOARD

21 NCAC 28B .0601 FEE SCHEDULE
() The Board shall charge the following fees:

(1) Application: $75.00;

) Examination: $150.00;

(3) Individual license fee: $100.00;

(@) Corporate license fee: $100.00;

(5) License renewal: $100.00;

(6) Late renewal: $25.00;

(7 Individual license reinstatement: $100.00;

(8) Corporate license reinstatement: $100.00;

9) License by reciprocity: $100.00; and
(10) Duplicate license: $25.00.

(b) If the Board elects to use a testing service for the preparation,
administration, or grading of examinations, the Board shall charge
the applicant the actual cost of the examination services and a
prorated portion of the examination fee.

(c) The late renewal and reinstatement fees shall be imposed for
renewal applications submitted after August 1. All licenses shall
expire on August 1 unless renewed.

(d) All fees charged by the Board are non-refundable.

History Note:
21;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016;
Eff. September 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021, June 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(10); 89D-

Rk i i S S S I A A I

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD

21 NCAC 32M .0101 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply to this Subchapter:

(D) "Approval to Practice" means authorization by
the Joint Subcommittee of the Medical Board
and the Board of Nursing for a nurse
practitioner to practice within her or his area of
educational preparation and certification under
a collaborative practice agreement with a
physician licensed by the Medical Board in
accordance with this Subchapter.

2 "Back-up Supervising Physician" means a
physician licensed by the Medical Board who,
by signing an agreement with the nurse
practitioner and the primary supervising
physician(s), shall provide supervision,
collaboration, consultation, and evaluation of
medical acts by the nurse practitioner in
accordance with the collaborative practice
agreement when the primary supervising
physician is not available. Back-up supervision
shall be in compliance with the following:

(@) The signed and dated agreements for
each back-up supervising physician(s)
shall be maintained at each practice
site.

(b) A physician in a graduate medical
education program, whether fully
licensed or holding only a resident's
training license, shall not be named as
a back-up supervising physician.

(c) A fully licensed physician in a
graduate medical education program
who is also practicing in a non-training
situation and has a signed
collaborative practice agreement with
the nurse practitioner and the primary
supervising physician may be a back-
up supervising physician for a nurse

practitioner in the non-training
situation.
3 "Board" means the North Carolina Board of
Nursing.
(@) "Collaborative practice agreement" means the

arrangement for nurse practitioner-physician
that provides for the continuous availability to
each other for ongoing  supervision,
consultation, collaboration, referral, and
evaluation of care provided by the nurse
practitioner.

(5) "Emergency"” means a state of emergency as
defined in G.S. 166A-19.3 and proclaimed by
the Governor or by the General Assembly.

(6) "Joint Subcommittee" means the subcommittee
composed of members of the Board and
members of the Medical Board to whom
responsibility is given by G.S. 90-8.2 and G.S.
90-171.23(b)(14) to develop rules to govern the
performance of medical acts by nurse
practitioners in North Carolina.
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@) "Medical Board" means the North Carolina
Medical Board.
(8) "National Credentialing Body" means one of

the following credentialing bodies that offers
certification and re-certification in the nurse
practitioner's specialty area of practice:

€)] American  Nurses  Credentialing
Center (ANCC);
(b) American  Academy of  Nurse

Practitioners National Certification
Board (AANPNCB);

(© American Association of Critical Care

Nurses Certification  Corporation
(AACN);
(d) National Certification Corporation of

the Obstetric, Gynecologic and
Neonatal Nursing Specialties (NCC);
and

(e) the Pediatric Nursing Certification
Board (PNCB).

9 "Nurse Practitioner™ or "NP" means a registered
nurse who holds an active unencumbered
license approved to practice consistent with the
nurse's area of nurse practitioner academic
educational ~ preparation and  national
certification under an agreement with a
physician licensed by the Medical Board for
ongoing supervision, consultation,
collaboration, and evaluation of medical acts
performed. Such medical acts are in addition to
those nursing acts performed by virtue of
registered nurse (RN) licensure. The NP is held
accountable under the RN license for those
nursing acts that he or she may perform.

(10) "Primary Supervising Physician” means a
physician with an active unencumbered license
with the Medical Board who shall provide on-
going supervision, collaboration, consultation,
and evaluation of the medical acts performed by
the nurse practitioner as defined in the
collaborative practice agreement. Supervision
shall be in compliance with the following:

(@) The primary supervising physician
shall assure both Boards that the nurse
practitioner is qualified to perform
those medical acts described in the
collaborative practice agreement.

(b) A physician in a graduate medical
education program, whether fully
licensed or holding only a resident's
training license, shall not be named as
a primary supervising physician.

(© A fully licensed physician in a
graduate medical education program
who is also practicing in a non-training
situation may supervise a nurse
practitioner in the non-training
situation.

(11) "Registration"” means authorization for a
registered nurse to use the title nurse
practitioner in accordance with this Subchapter.

(12) "Supervision" means the physician's function of
overseeing medical acts performed by the nurse
practitioner.

(13) "Volunteer Approval® means approval to
practice consistent with this Subchapter except
without expectation of direct or indirect
compensation or payment (monetary, in kind,
or otherwise) to the nurse practitioner.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-
18(c)(14); 90-18.2;

Eff. January 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; December 1, 2009; December
1, 2006; August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999; January 1, 1996;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 32M .0102 SCOPE OF PRACTICE

The nurse practitioner's scope of practice is defined by academic
educational preparation and national certification and maintained
competence. A nurse practitioner shall be held accountable by
both Boards for a broad range of personal health services
managing patient care for which the nurse practitioner is
educationally prepared and for which competency has been
maintained, with physician supervision and collaboration as
described in Rule .0110 of this Subchapter. These services
include:

(8] promotion and maintenance of health;

2 prevention of illness and disability;

3 diagnosing, treating, and managing acute and
chronic illnesses;

4) guidance and counseling for both individuals
and families;

5) prescribing, administering, and dispensing
therapeutic measures, tests, procedures, and
drugs;

(6) planning for situations beyond the nurse
practitioner's scope of practice and expertise by
consulting with and referring to other health
care providers as appropriate; and

@) evaluating health outcomes.

History Note:
18.2;

Eff. January 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999; January 1, 1996;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-

21 NCAC 32M .0103
REGISTRATION
(a) The Board shall register an applicant as a nurse practitioner
who:

NURSE PRACTITIONER
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1) has an active unencumbered license or privilege
to practice as a registered nurse in North
Carolina or compact state and, when applicable,
an active unencumbered approval, registration,
or license as a nurse practitioner in another
state, territory, or possession of the United

States;

(2) has completed a nurse practitioner education
program as outlined in Rule .0105 of this
Subchapter;

3) is certified as a nurse practitioner by a national

credentialing body consistent with Rule
.0101(8) of this Subchapter; and
4) has supplied additional information necessary
to evaluate the application as requested by the
Board on a case-by-case basis.
(b) Applicants who have graduated from a nurse practitioner
program after January 1, 2005 who are seeking first-time nurse

practitioner registration shall:

1) hold a Master's or higher degree in Nursing or
related field with primary focus on Nursing;
)] have completed a graduate or post-graduate

level nurse practitioner education program
accredited by a national accrediting body; and

3 provide documentation of certification by a
national credentialing body.

History Note:
18.2;

Eff. August 1, 2004;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; November 1, 2008; December
1, 2006;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-

21 NCAC 32M .0105 EDUCATION AND
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR
REGISTRATION AND APPROVAL AS A NURSE
PRACTITIONER

(@ A nurse practitioner applicant seeking registration or first-
time approval to practice after January 1, 2000, shall provide
evidence of current certification as a nurse practitioner by a
national credentialing body.

(b) A nurse practitioner applicant seeking registration or first-
time approval to practice who completed a nurse practitioner
education program prior to December 31, 1999 shall provide
evidence of completion of a course of education that contains a
core curriculum including 400 contact hours of didactic education
and 400 contact hours of preceptorship or supervised clinical
experience. The core curriculum shall contain the following

components:
1) health assessment and diagnostic reasoning
including:
(A) historical data;
(B) physical examination data;
(© organization of data base;

(2) pharmacology;
3) pathophysiology;

4 clinical management of common health
problems and diseases such as the following
shall be included in the nurse practitioner's
academic program:

(A) respiratory system;

(B) cardiovascular system;

© gastrointestinal system;

(D) genitourinary system;

(E) integumentary system;

P hematologic and immune systems;
(G) endocrine system;

(H) musculoskeletal system;

)] infectious diseases;

) nervous system;

(K) behavioral, mental health, and
substance abuse problems;

(5) clinical preventative services, including health
promotion and prevention of disease;

(6) client education related to Subparagraph (b)(4)
and (5) of this Rule; and

) role development including legal, ethical,
economical, health policy, and interdisciplinary
collaboration issues.

(c) Nurse practitioner applicants exempt from components of the
core curriculum requirements listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule
are:

@ Any nurse practitioner approved to practice in
North Carolina prior to January 18, 1981, is
permanently exempt from the core curriculum
requirement.

2) A nurse practitioner certified by a national
credentialing body prior to January 1, 1998,
who also provides evidence of satisfying
Subparagraphs (b)(1) — (3) of this Rule shall be
exempt from core curriculum requirements in
Sub-paragraphs (b)(4) — (7) of this Rule.
Evidence of satisfying Subparagraphs (b)(1) —
(3) of this Rule shall include:

(A) a narrative of course content; and
(B) contact hours.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14);

Eff. January 1, 1991;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 32M .0005 Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. May 1, 1999; January 1, 1996;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 32M .0104 Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; December 1, 2006; August 1,
2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 32M .0106 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF
APPROVAL TO PRACTICE

(a) Each registered nurse who is approved to practice as a nurse
practitioner in this State shall annually renew each approval to
practice with the Board no later than the last day of the nurse
practitioner's birth month by:
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1) Maintaining current North Carolina RN
licensure or privilege to practice;
(2) Maintaining certification as a nurse practitioner

by a national credentialing body identified in
Rule .0101(8) of this Subchapter;

3) Attesting to completion of continuing
competence requirements, and submitting
evidence of completion if requested by the
Board, as specified in Rule .0107 of this
Subchapter;

4) Submitting the fee required in Rule .0115 of
this Subchapter; and

(5) Completing the renewal application.

(b) Ifthe nurse practitioner has not renewed by the last day of her
or his birth month, the approval to practice as a nurse practitioner
shall expire.

History Note:
90-18(c)(14);
Eff. January 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999;

Recodified from Rule .0105 Eff. August 1, 2004;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; November 1, 2008;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021; March 1, 2017.

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-8.2(a);

21 NCAC 32M .0107 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE)
(@) In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice,
the nurse practitioner shall maintain certification as a nurse
practitioner by a national credentialing body identified in Rule
.0101(8) of this Subchapter and earn 50 contact hours of
continuing education each year, beginning with the first renewal
after initial approval to practice has been granted. A minimum of
20 hours of the required 50 hours must be in the advanced practice
nursing population focus of the NP role for which approval has
been granted by the American Nurses Credentialing Center
(ANCC) or Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical
Education (ACCME), other national credentialing bodies, or
practice-relevant courses in an institution of higher learning.

(b) Every nurse practitioner who prescribes controlled substances
shall complete at least one hour of the total required continuing
education (CE) hours annually consisting of CE designed
specifically to address controlled substance prescribing practices
and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain
management. CE that includes recognizing signs of the abuse or
misuse of controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment options
shall qualify for the purposes of this Rule.

(c) Documentation shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner
for the previous five calendar years and made available upon
request to either Board.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3);
18(c)(14); S.L. 2015-241, s. 12F;

Eff. January 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999;
Recodified from Rule .0106 Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; April 1, 2008;

90-8.2; 90-

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2021; March 1, 2017.

21 NCAC 32M .0108 INACTIVE STATUS

(a) Any nurse practitioner who wishes to place her or his approval
to practice on an inactive status shall notify the Board in writing.
(b) A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice
status shall not practice as a nurse practitioner.

(c) A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice
status who reapplies for approval to practice shall meet the
qualifications for approval to practice in Rules .0103(a)(1),
.0104(a) and (b), .0107, and .0110 of this Subchapter and receive
notification from the Board of approval prior to beginning
practice after the application is approved.

(d) A nurse practitioner who has not practiced as a nurse
practitioner in more than two years shall complete a nurse
practitioner refresher course approved by the Board in accordance
with Paragraphs (0) and (p) of 21 NCAC 36 .0220 and consisting
of common conditions and management of these conditions
directly related to the nurse practitioner's area of academic
education and national certification. A nurse practitioner refresher
course participant shall be granted an approval to practice that is
limited to clinical activities required by the refresher course.

History Note:
18.2; 90-171.36;
Eff. January 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; January 1, 2013; December 1,
2009; December 1, 2006; August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-

21 NCAC 32M .0110 QUALITY ASSURANCE
STANDARDS FOR A COLLABORATIVE PRACTICE
AGREEMENT

The following are the quality assurance standards for a
collaborative practice agreement:

1) Availability: The primary or back-up
supervising physician(s) and the nurse
practitioner shall be continuously available to
each other for consultation by direct
communication or telecommunication.

2 Collaborative Practice Agreement:

(@) shall be agreed upon, signed, and
dated by both the primary supervising
physician and the nurse practitioner,
and maintained in each practice site;

(b) shall be reviewed at least yearly. This
review shall be acknowledged by a
dated signature sheet, signed by both
the primary supervising physician and
the nurse practitioner, appended to the
collaborative practice agreement, and
available for inspection by either

Board;
(c) shall include the drugs, devices,
medical  treatments, tests, and
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3)

(4)

()

procedures that may be prescribed,

ordered, and performed by the nurse

practitioner consistent with Rule .0109

of this Subchapter; and

(d) shall include a pre-determined plan for
emergency services.

The nurse practitioner shall demonstrate the

ability to perform medical acts as outlined in the

collaborative practice agreement upon request
by members or agents of either Board.

Quality Improvement Process:

@ The primary supervising physician
and the nurse practitioner shall
develop a process for the ongoing
review of the care provided in each
practice site, including a written plan
for evaluating the quality of care
provided for one or more frequently
encountered clinical problems.

(b) This plan shall include a description of
the clinical problem(s), an evaluation
of the current treatment interventions,
and if needed, a plan for improving
outcomes within an identified time
frame.

(© The quality improvement process
shall include scheduled meetings
between the primary supervising
physician and the nurse practitioner
for a minimum of every six months.
Documentation for each meeting
shall:

0] identify clinical problems
discussed, including progress
toward improving outcomes
as stated in Sub-ltem (4)(b)
of this Rule, and
recommendations, if any, for
changes in treatment plan(s);

(i) be signed and dated by those
who attended; and

(iii) be available for review by
either Board for the previous
five calendar years and be
retained by both the nurse
practitioner and primary
supervising physician.

Nurse Practitioner-Physician Consultation. The

following requirements establish the minimum

standards for consultation between the nurse
practitioner —and  primary  supervising
physician(s):

@ During the first six months of a
collaborative  practice  agreement
between a nurse practitioner and the
primary supervising physician, there
shall be monthly meetings to discuss
practice-relevant clinical issues and
quality improvement measures.

(b) Documentation of the meetings shall:

) identify  clinical  issues
discussed and actions taken;

(i) be signed and dated by those
who attended; and

(iii) be available for review by
either Board for the previous
five calendar years and be
retained by both the nurse
practitioner and primary
supervising physician.

History Note Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-
18(c)(14); 90-18.2; 90-171.23(b)(14);

Eff. January 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999; January 1, 1996;
March 1, 1994;

Recodified from Rule .0109 Eff. August 1, 2004;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2009;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

BRI I i O I E CEE E E E

CHAPTER 36 — BOARD OF NURSING

21 NCAC 36 .0801 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply to this Section:

1) "Approval to Practice" means authorization by
the Joint Subcommittee of the Medical Board
and the Board of Nursing for a nurse
practitioner to practice within her or his area of
educational preparation and certification under
a collaborative practice agreement with a
physician licensed by the Medical Board in
accordance with this Section.

2) "Back-up Supervising Physician" means a
physician licensed by the Medical Board who,
by signing an agreement with the nurse
practitioner and the primary supervising
physician(s) shall provide supervision,
collaboration, consultation, and evaluation of
medical acts by the nurse practitioner in
accordance with the collaborative practice
agreement when the primary supervising
physician is not available. Back-up supervision
shall be in compliance with the following:

(@) The signed and dated agreements for
each back-up supervising physician(s)
shall be maintained at each practice
site.

(b) A physician in a graduate medical
education program, whether fully
licensed or holding only a resident's
training license, shall not be named as
a back-up supervising physician.

(c) A fully licensed physician in a
graduate medical education program
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®3)
(4)

()

(6)

()
(8)

(9)

who is also practicing in a non-training
situation and has a signed
collaborative practice agreement with
the nurse practitioner and the primary
supervising physician may be a back-
up supervising physician for a nurse
practitioner in the non-training
situation.
"Board" means the North Carolina Board of
Nursing.
"Collaborative practice agreement” means the
arrangement for nurse practitioner-physician
that provides for the continuous availability to
each other for ongoing  supervision,
consultation, collaboration, referral, and
evaluation of care provided by the nurse
practitioner.
"Emergency"” means a state of emergency as
defined in G.S. 166A-19.3 and proclaimed by
the Governor or by the General Assembly.
"Joint Subcommittee™ means the subcommittee
composed of members of the Board and
members of the Medical Board to whom
responsibility is given by G.S. 90-8.2 and G.S.
90-171.23(b)(14) to develop rules to govern the
performance of medical acts by nurse
practitioners in North Carolina.
"Medical Board" means the North Carolina
Medical Board.
"National Credentialing Body" means one of
the following credentialing bodies that offers
certification and re-certification in the nurse
practitioner's specialty area of practice:

@ American  Nurses  Credentialing
Center (ANCC);
(b) American  Academy of  Nurse

Practitioners National Certification
Board (AANPNCB);

(© American Association of Critical Care
Nurses  Certification — Corporation
(AACN);

(d) National Certification Corporation of

the Obstetric  Gynecologic and
Neonatal Nursing Specialties (NCC);
and
(e) the Pediatric Nursing Certification
Board (PNCB).
"Nurse Practitioner” or "NP" means a registered
nurse who holds an active unencumbered
license approved to practice consistent with the
nurse's area of nurse practitioner academic
educational ~ preparation and  national
certification under an agreement with a
physician licensed by the Medical Board for
ongoing supervision, consultation,
collaboration, and evaluation of the medical

NP is held accountable under the RN license for
those nursing acts that he or she may perform.
(10) "Primary Supervising Physician” means a
physician with an active unencumbered license
with the Medical Board who shall provide
ongoing supervision, collaboration,
consultation, and evaluation of the medical acts
performed by the nurse practitioner as defined

in the collaborative practice agreement.
Supervision shall be in compliance with the
following:

(a) The primary supervising physician

shall assure both Boards that the nurse
practitioner is qualified to perform
those medical acts described in the
collaborative practice agreement.

(b) A physician in a graduate medical
education program, whether fully
licensed or holding only a resident's
training license, shall not be named as
a primary supervising physician.

(c) A fully licensed physician in a
graduate medical education program
who is also practicing in a non-training
situation may supervise a nurse
practitioner in the non-training
situation.

(11) "Registration” means authorization for a
registered nurse to use the title nurse
practitioner in accordance with this Section.

(12) "Supervision" means the physician's function of
overseeing medical acts performed by the nurse
practitioner.

(13) "Volunteer Approval® means approval to
practice consistent with this Section except
without expectation of direct or indirect
compensation or payment (monetary, in kind,
or otherwise) to the nurse practitioner.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(14); 90-
18.2; 90-171.20(4); 90-171.23(b); 90-171.95B;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(a) Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; December 1, 2009; December
1, 2006; August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 36 .0802 SCOPE OF PRACTICE

The nurse practitioner's scope of practice is defined by academic
educational preparation and national certification and maintained
competence. A nurse practitioner shall be held accountable by
both Boards for a broad range of personal health services for
which the nurse practitioner is educationally prepared and for
which competency has been maintained, with physician
supervision and collaboration as described in Rule .0810 of this
Section. These services include:

acts performed. Such medical acts are in (D) promotion and maintenance of health;
addition to those nursing acts performed by 2 prevention of illness and disability;
virtue of registered nurse (RN) licensure. The
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3) diagnosing, treating, and managing acute and
chronic illnesses;

4) guidance and counseling for both individuals
and families;

(5) prescribing, administering, and dispensing
therapeutic measures, tests, procedures, and
drugs;

(6) planning for situations beyond the nurse
practitioner's scope of practice and expertise by
consulting with and referring to other health
care providers as appropriate; and

@) evaluating health outcomes.

History Note:
171.23(b)(14);
Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(b) Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90-18(c)(14); 90-18.2; 90-

21 NCAC 36 .0803
REGISTRATION
(a) The Board shall register an applicant as a nurse practitioner
who:

NURSE PRACTITIONER

@ has an active unencumbered license or privilege
to practice as a registered nurse in North
Carolina or compact state and, when applicable,
an active unencumbered approval, registration,
or license as a nurse practitioner in another
state, territory, or possession of the United

States;

)] has completed a nurse practitioner education
program as outlined in Rule .0805 of this
Section;

3 is certified as a nurse practitioner by a national

credentialing body consistent with Rule
.0801(8) of this Section; and
4) has supplied additional information necessary
to evaluate the application as requested by the
Board on a case-by-case basis.
(b) Applicants who have graduated from a nurse practitioner
program after January 1, 2005 who are seeking first-time nurse
practitioner registration shall:

(D) hold a Master's or higher degree in Nursing or
related field with primary focus on Nursing;
2 have completed a graduate or post-graduate

level nurse practitioner education program
accredited by a national accrediting body; and

3) provide documentation of certification by a
national credentialing body.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-18(c)(14); 90-18.2; 90-
171.23(b); 90-171.95B;

Eff. August 1, 2004;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; November 1, 2008; December
1, 2006;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 36 .0805 EDUCATION AND
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR
REGISTRATION AND APPROVAL AS A NURSE
PRACTITIONER

(a) A nurse practitioner applicant seeking registration or first-
time approval to practice after January 1, 2000, shall provide
evidence of current certification as a nurse practitioner by a
national credentialing body.

(b) A nurse practitioner applicant seeking registration or first-
time approval to practice who completed a nurse practitioner
education program prior to December 31, 1999 shall provide
evidence of completion of a course of education that contains a
core curriculum including 400 contact hours of didactic education
and 400 hours of preceptorship or supervised clinical experience.
The core curriculum shall contain the following components:

1) health assessment and diagnostic reasoning

including:

(A) historical data;

(B) physical examination data;
© organization of data base;

2 pharmacology;

©) pathophysiology;

4) clinical management of common health
problems and diseases such as the following
shall be included in the nurse practitioner's
academic program:

(A) respiratory system;

(B) cardiovascular system;

© gastrointestinal system;

(D) genitourinary system;

(E) integumentary system;

R hematologic and immune systems;
(G) endocrine system;

H) musculoskeletal system;

0] infectious diseases;

)] nervous system;

(K) behavioral, mental health, and
substance abuse problems;

5) clinical preventative services, including health
promotion and prevention of disease;

(6) client education related to Subparagraph (b)(4)
and (5) of this Rule; and

@) role development including legal, ethical,
economical, health policy, and interdisciplinary
collaboration issues.

(c) Nurse practitioner applicants exempt from components of the
core curriculum requirements listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule
are:

@ Any nurse practitioner approved to practice in
North Carolina prior to January 18, 1981, is
permanently exempt from the core curriculum
requirement.

2) A nurse practitioner certified by a national
credentialing body prior to January 1, 1998,
who also provides evidence of satisfying
Subparagraph (b)(1)-(3) of this Rule shall be
exempt from core curriculum requirements in
Subparagraph (b)(4)-(7) of this Rule. Evidence
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of satisfying Subparagraph (b)(1)-(3) of this
Rule shall include:

(A) a narrative of course content; and

(B) contact hours.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-18(c)(4);

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36.0227(d) Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; December 1, 2006; August 1,
2004;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 36 .0806 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF
APPROVAL TO PRACTICE

(@) Each registered nurse who is approved to practice as a nurse
practitioner in this State shall annually renew each approval to
practice with the Board no later than the last day of the nurse
practitioner's birth month by:

(1) Maintaining current North Carolina RN
licensure or privilege to practice;
)] Maintaining certification as a nurse practitioner

by a national credentialing body identified in
Rule .0801(8) of this Section;

3 Attesting to completion of continuing
competence requirements, and submitting
evidence of completion if requested by the
Board, as specified in Rule .0807 of this
Section;

4) Submitting the fee required in Rule .0813 of
this Section; and

(5) Completing the renewal application.

(b) If the nurse practitioner has not renewed by the last day of her
or his birth month, the approval to practice as a nurse practitioner
shall expire.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(c)(14);
90-171.23(b)(14); 90-171.95B;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36.0227(e) Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; December 1, 2009; November 1,
2008; August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 36 .0807 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE)
(@) In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice,
the nurse practitioner shall maintain certification as a nurse
practitioner by a national credentialing body identified in Rule
.0801(8) of this Section and earn 50 contact hours of continuing
education each year, beginning with the first renewal after initial
approval to practice has been granted. A minimum of 20 hours of
the required 50 hours must be in the advanced practice nursing
population focus of the NP role for which approval has been
granted by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) or
Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical Education
(ACCME), other national credentialing bodies, or practice-
relevant courses in an institution of higher learning.

(b) Every nurse practitioner who prescribes controlled substances
shall complete at least one hour of the total required continuing
education (CE) hours annually consisting of CE designed

specifically to address controlled substance prescribing practices
and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain
management. CE that includes recognizing signs of the abuse or
misuse of controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment options
shall qualify for the purposes of this Rule.

(c) Documentation shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner
for the previous five calendar years and made available upon
request to either Board.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-8.2; 90-14(a)(15); 90-
18(c)(14); 90-171.23(b)(14); 90-171.42; S.L. 2015-241, s 12F;
Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(f) Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; December 1, 2009; April 1, 2008;
August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 36 .0808 INACTIVE STATUS

(a) Any nurse practitioner who wishes to place her or his approval
to practice on an inactive status shall notify the Board in writing.
(b) A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice
status shall not practice as a nurse practitioner.

(c) A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice
status who reapplies for approval to practice shall meet the
qualifications for approval to practice in Rules .0803(a)(1),
.0804(a) and (b), .0807, and .0810 of this Section and receive
notification from the Board of approval prior to beginning
practice after the application is approved.

(d) A nurse practitioner who has not practiced as a nurse
practitioner in more than two years shall complete a nurse
practitioner refresher course approved by the Board in accordance
with Paragraphs (0) and (p) of 21 NCAC 36 .0220 and consisting
of common conditions and management of these conditions
directly related to the nurse practitioner's area of academic
education and national certification. A nurse practitioner refresher
course participant shall be granted an approval to practice that is
limited to clinical activities required by the refresher course.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-18(c)(4);
171.36; 90-171.95B;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(g) Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; January 1, 2013; December 1,
2009; December 1, 2006; August 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

90-18.2; 90-

21 NCAC 36 .0810 QUALITY ASSURANCE
STANDARDS FOR A COLLABORATIVE PRACTICE
AGREEMENT

The following are the quality assurance standards for a
collaborative practice agreement:

1) Availability: The primary or back-up
supervising physician(s) and the nurse
practitioner shall be continuously available to
each other for consultation by direct
communication or telecommunication.

2 Collaborative Practice Agreement:

(a) shall be agreed upon, signed, and
dated by both the primary supervising
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physician and the nurse practitioner,
and maintained in each practice site;
(b) shall be reviewed at least yearly. This
review shall be acknowledged by a
dated signature sheet, signed by both
the primary supervising physician and
the nurse practitioner, appended to the
collaborative practice agreement, and
available for inspection by either

Board;
(© shall include the drugs, devices,
medical treatments, tests, and

procedures that may be prescribed,
ordered, and performed by the nurse
practitioner consistent with Rule .0809
of this Section; and

(d) shall include a pre-determined plan for
emergency services.
3) The nurse practitioner shall demonstrate the

ability to perform medical acts as outlined in the

collaborative practice agreement upon request

by members or agents of either Board.
(@) Quality Improvement Process:

@ The primary supervising physician
and the nurse practitioner shall
develop a process for the ongoing
review of the care provided in each
practice site, including a written plan
for evaluating the quality of care
provided for one or more frequently
encountered clinical problems.

(b) This plan shall include a description of
the clinical problem(s), an evaluation
of the current treatment interventions,
and if needed, a plan for improving
outcomes within an identified time
frame.

(©) The quality improvement process
shall include scheduled meetings
between the primary supervising
physician and the nurse practitioner
for a minimum of every six months.
Documentation for each meeting
shall:

0] identify clinical problems
discussed, including progress
toward improving outcomes
as stated in Sub-item (4)(b)
of this Rule, and
recommendations, if any, for
changes in treatment plan(s);

(i) be signed and dated by those
who attended; and

(iii) be available for review by
either Board for the previous
five calendar years and be
retained by both the nurse
practitioner and primary
supervising physician.

(5) Nurse Practitioner-Physician Consultation. The
following requirements establish the minimum
standards for consultation between the nurse

practitioner  and  primary  supervising

physician(s):

(@) During the first six months of a
collaborative  practice  agreement

between a nurse practitioner and the
primary supervising physician, there
shall be monthly meetings to discuss
practice-relevant clinical issues and
quality improvement measures.
(b) Documentation of the meetings shall:
) identify  clinical  issues
discussed and actions taken;
(i) be signed and dated by those
who attended; and
(iii) be available for review by
either Board for the previous
five calendar years and be
retained by both the nurse
practitioner and primary
supervising physician.

History Note:
90-171.23(b)(14);
Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(i) Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; August 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90-8.2; 90-18(c)(14); 90-18.2;

21 NCAC 36 .0815 REPORTING CRITERIA
(@) The Department of Health and Human Services
("Department™) may report to the North Carolina Board of
Nursing ("Board") information regarding the prescribing practices
of those nurse practitioners (“prescribers') whose prescribing:
D falls within the top two percent of those
prescribing 100  morphine  milligram
equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or
2) falls within the top two percent of those
prescribing 100 MMEs per patient per day in
combination with any benzodiazepine and who
are within the top one percent of all controlled
substance prescribers by volume.
(b) In addition, the Department may report to the Board
information regarding prescribers who have had two or more
patient deaths in the preceding 12 months due to opioid poisoning
where the prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets of an opioid
to the decedent and the prescriptions were written within 60 days
of the patient deaths.
(¢) In addition, the Department may report to the Board
information regarding prescribers who meet three or more of the
following criteria, if there are a minimum of five patients for each
criterion:
@ at least 25 percent of the prescriber's patients
receiving opioids reside 100 miles or greater
from the prescriber's practice location;
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(2) the prescriber had more than 25 percent of
patients receiving the same opioids and
benzodiazepine combination;

3) the prescriber had 75 percent of patients
receiving opioids self-pay for the prescriptions;

4) the prescriber had 90 percent or more of
patients in a three-month period that received
an opioid prescription that overlapped with
another opioid prescription for at least one
week;

(5) more than 50 percent of the prescriber's patients
received opioid doses of 100 MME or greater
per day excluding office-based treatment
medications; and

(6) the prescriber had at least 25 percent of patients
who used three or more pharmacies within a
three-month period to obtain opioids regardless
of the prescriber.

(d) The Department may submit these reports to the Board upon
request and may include the information described in G.S. 90-
113.73(b).

(e) The reports and communications between the Department and
the Board shall remain confidential pursuant to G.S. 90-113.74.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.74;
Eff. April 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2018;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 36 .0817 COVID-19 DRUG
PRESERVATION RULE
(@) The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is
used in this Rule:

(D) Hydroxychloroquine;

2 Chloroquine;

3 Lopinavir-ritonavir;
4) Ribavirin; and
(5) Darunavir.

(b) A nurse practitioner shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if
that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber
consistent with the evidence of its use.
(c) When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any
prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19
shall:
(D) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has
been diagnosed with COVID-19;
2 Be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and
3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is
issued in conformance with this Rule, including
not being refilled through an emergency
prescription refill.
(d) A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for
the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-
19 by someone who has not yet been diagnosed.
(e) A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally
only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the
pharmacy by the nurse practitioner, or the nurse practitioner's

agent, and that information is recorded in writing in accordance
with 21 NCAC 46 .1819(e).

() This Rule does not affect orders for administration to
inpatients of health care facilities.

(9) This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug
for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted
Drug on or before March 10, 2020.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-8.2; 90-171.23(b)(14);
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 21, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Expired Eff. April 11, 2021;

Eff. June 1, 2021.

EE R S i R

CHAPTER 39 - ON-SITE WASTEWATER
CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION
BOARD

21 NCAC 39.0101 DEFINITIONS

In addition to the terms defined in Article 5 of Chapter 90A of the
General Statutes, the following definitions apply to the Rules in
this Chapter:

(8] "Authorized On-Site Wastewater Evaluator”
means the same as defined in G.S. 130A-
336.2(a); hereafter referred to as "evaluator".

2) "Building  being  constructed”  means
construction of a site-built single family
residence constructed pursuant to Article 1,
Chapter 87 of the N.C. General Statutes.

©) "College course” means a semester unit or
quarter unit-based instruction given at a college
or university that is relevant to on-site
wastewater contractor or inspector activities,
and is pre-approved by the board as set out in
Rule .0603 of this Chapter.

(@) "Course or Activity" means any course or
activity with a purpose and objective that
maintains, improves, or expands skills and
knowledge relevant to the practice of on-site
wastewater contractor or inspector activities
and pre-approved in accordance with G.S. 90A-
79(b) and Rule .0602 of this Section.

5) "Evaluation and findings" mean, at a minimum,
the information required in G.S. 130A-335(e).
(6) "Licensed soil scientist" means an individual

licensed in accordance with Chapter 89F of the
North Carolina General Statutes.

@) "Notice of Intent to Construct" means, at a
minimum, that information required by G.S.
130A-336.2(b) and is provided as a form by the
Department of Health and Human Services.

(8) "Personally supervise" means to direct and
control all on-site wastewater contractor or
inspector activities during the time those
activities are being conducted.

©)] "Professional development hour" or "PDH"
means an hour of instruction or presentation
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and is the basic unit of credit for all courses or
activities related to satisfying continuing
education requirements.

"Repair” means construction activity or
alteration to an existing on-site wastewater
system that is necessary to comply with a
Construction Authorization for a repair permit
issued by the Local Health Department or
through the Authorized On-Site Wastewater
Evaluator option pursuant to G.S. 130A-336.2.
"Seal" means the seal required by G.S. 130A-
336.2(d)(2) for certified Authorized On-Site
Wastewater Evaluator.

(10)

(11)

21 NCAC 39 .0102 TYPES OF CERTIFICATION

"Subordinate” means the same as defined in
G.S. 89F-3(10).

(12)

History Note:
336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016; January 1, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-71; 90A-72; 90A-74; 130A-

(@) The levels of certification for on-site wastewater contractors are as follows:

Level Description of Activities
I Single Septic Tank, Conventional (Gravel) Gravity System
1 Grade I, plus:
Multiple tanks, Grease Traps, Single Pump or Single Siphon, Fill Systems, Sand Lined Trench, and any approved gravity
or single pump dispersal system not specified in Grade Level 11l or Grade Level IV
Il Grade Il, plus:
Dual pumps or Dual Siphons, Systems of >1500 gpd to <3000 gpd, Low-Pressure Dispersal, Flow Equalization, and any
system requiring ground water lowering with a pump
v Grade Ill, plus:
Systems >3000 gpd, Multiple Off-Site Systems, Industrial Process Wastewater, Residential Wastewater Treatment
Systems (RWTS), TS-I and TS-11 System, Drip Dispersal Systems, and Wastewater Reuse Systems or any Pretreatment
Component.
(b) Inspectors are certified to inspect all on-site wastewater ) The contractor certification level
systems referenced in Paragraph (a). requested;
(c) Evaluators shall be certified pursuant to G.S. 130A-336.2. (K) Certification number, if renewal,
(L) Required certification fee or annual
History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 130A- fee for level of certification;
336.2; (M) Dates, locations, hours, and providers
Eff. February 1, 2011; of required education and training;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without (N) Applicant signature; and
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; (@) Social Security Number.

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39 .0201 APPLICATION
REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION

(@) Applications for certification shall be submitted on forms
provided by the Board.

(D) Applications for a contractor or inspector shall
include:
(A) Applicant's name;
(B) Company address;
© Phone number;
(D) Date of birth;
(E) Email address, if available;
(F) Company or employer name and
address;
(©)] Company phone number;
(H) County where company is located;
()] If the certification is for contractor or

inspector;

O]

Applications for evaluator shall include:

(A) Applicant's name;

(B) Company address;

© Phone number;

(D) Date of birth;

(B) Email address, if available;

(3] Company or employer name and
address;

(G) Company phone number;

(H) County where company is located;

m Required certification fee;

) Dates, locations, hours, providers, and
completion certificate that includes the
required Board-approved evaluator
course;

(K) Copy of current Errors and Omission

Policy declaration page, as required by
G.S. 130A-336.2;
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(L) Copy of current General Liability
Policy declarations page, as required
by G.S. 130A-336.2;

(M) Copy of current Soil Scientist License
pursuant to Chapter 89F;

(N) Verification of minimum of five years'
experience in on-site wastewater soil
science;

(0)] Applicant signature; and

(P) Social Security Number.

(b) Applications for renewal shall be submitted annually on forms
provided by the Board and shall include:

1) Certification holder's name;

2 Company name;

3) Company address;

4) Certification number(s)

(5) Copy of required continuing education
documentation;

(6) Annual renewal fee;

@) Current copies of all required insurance
declarations pages;

(8) Evaluators will also submit current copy of LSS
license; and

9 Applicant signature.
(c) Incomplete applications and applications not accompanied by
the fee as set forth in Rule .0301 of this Chapter shall not be
processed and shall be returned to the applicant.
(d) Upon approval of an application pursuant to the requirements
of this Chapter, the Board shall schedule an applicant to take the
required examination.
(e) The Board may request verification of education and training.
(f) All certified contractors, inspectors, or evaluators shall submit
a renewal application by November 15 of each year. If a renewal
applicant's renewal application is not received by the Board until
after December 31 of that calendar year, the renewal applicant
shall pay a late fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) in accordance
with G.S. 90A-78(b). If a renewal application is received by the
Board after December 31, it will not be processed until the late
fee is received.
(9) If the renewal application is postmarked more than 90 days
after December 31, the person must meet the requirements for re-
certification.
(h) Applications for new certifications requiring testing pursuant
to G.S. 90A-77 must be received by the Board at least 15 days
prior to the scheduled date of the examination.
(i) Any person requesting a certification level upgrade shall
submit a request in writing and pay the difference in the fees set
forth in Rule .0301 of this Chapter. Requests must be received no
less than 24 hours prior to the scheduled date of the examination.
(i) In cases where the applicant is ineligible for examination for
failure to meet the requirements set forth in Rules and statutes, the
applicant shall be notified by letter and advised of the reason for
ineligibility.
(k) Applicants who have supplied false information must wait 12
months before resubmitting an application for certification or
renewal and must forfeit all fees paid.

History Note:
78; 130A-336.2;

Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 90A-

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39.0301 SCHEDULE OF
CERTIFICATION FEES
(a) Application fees are as follows:

Grade Level Initial Fee Renewal
Fee

I $150.00 $75.00

I $200.00 $75.00

11 $250.00 $75.00

v $300.00 $75.00

Inspector Certificate $200.00 $75.00

Combination Contractor | Sum of | $125.00

Certification Grade Level and | individual

Inspector Certificate fees

On-site Wastewater Evaluator | $300.00 $100.00

(b) Application fees shall not be pro-rated.

(c) The fee for re-instatement of a revoked or suspended
certification is five hundred dollars ($500.00).

(d) The fee for certificate replacement or duplication is twenty-
five dollars ($25.00).

(e) The fee for late renewal is twenty-five dollars ($25.00). This
fee is charged if the renewal request is received after December
3L

(f) The fee for each returned check is twenty-five dollars
($25.00).

(9) All fees are non-refundable.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 25-3-506; 90A-72(a); 90A-74;
90A-75; 90A-77(f); 90A-78(b); 130A-336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39 .0401 ON-SITE WASTEWATER
CONTRACTOR, INSPECTOR, OR EVALUATOR
EXAMINATIONS

(a) On-site wastewater contractor, inspector, or evaluator
examinations shall be comprehensive examinations that are
standardized statewide.

(b) The exam questions shall be specific to the grade level being
sought by the applicant.

(c) Any applicant seeking a combination certification shall take
and pass each exam specific to the grade level certifications being
sought.

(d) Each applicant shall obtain a passing score of at least 70
percent. Results of the examination shall be reported as either
"pass" or "fail."
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History Note:
336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 130A-

21 NCAC 39 .0402
EXAMINATION
(@ The Board may schedule on-site wastewater contractor,
inspector, or evaluator examinations in addition to the required
examinations pursuant to G.S. 90A-77. Additional examinations
may be scheduled by the Board if the Board determines that the
three scheduled examinations are insufficient due to the number
of applicants for examination or the time between examinations.
Information regarding the date, time, and place shall be made
available on the Board's web site or upon request.

(b) The Board shall notify each applicant filing for examination
in writing of the date, time, and place of the examination.

TIME AND PLACE OF

History Note:
336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 130A-

21 NCAC 39 .0404 ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES
(a) After an examination grading, the applicant shall be informed
in writing by the Board or its authorized representatives as to the
results of his or her examination. The Board shall not respond to
requests for exam results.

(b) Upon successful completion of the examination and all
requirements for certification the applicant shall be issued a
certification card.

(c) Questions by the applicant concerning the examination must
be made in writing to the Board within six months of the
notification date.

(d) Anapplicant who fails to pass an examination shall be entitled
to and notified of the privilege to review his examination in the
presence of one or more Board members or its authorized
representative at a location approved by the Board.

(e) Each certified on-site wastewater contractor, inspector, or
evaluator shall be assigned a unique certification number.
Certification numbers are not transferable and shall not be used
by another onsite wastewater contractor, inspector, or evaluator.
() Upon successful completion of the examination, each
evaluator shall be issued a seal.

History Note:
336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 130A-

21 NCAC 39.0405 LICENSURE FOR MILITARY-
TRAINED APPLICANT; LICENSURE FOR MILITARY
SPOUSE

(a) Upon receipt of a request for licensure pursuant to G.S. 93B-
15.1 from a military-trained applicant, the Board shall issue a
license upon the applicant's satisfying the following conditions:

1) Submit a complete  Application  for
Certification;

2 Submit a license fee in accordance with G.S.
90A-75 and Rule .0301 of this Chapter;

?3) Provide documentation to satisfy conditions set
outin G.S. 93B-15.1(a)(1) and (2);

4 For evaluator, provide documentation from the

N.C. Board for Licensing of Soil Scientists that
requirements set out in G.S. 89F have been
satisfied; and
(5) Provide documentation that the applicant has
not committed any act in any jurisdiction that
would constitute grounds for refusal,
suspension, or revocation of a license in North
Carolina at the time the act was committed.
(b) Upon receipt of a request for licensure pursuant to G.S. 93B-
15.1 from a military spouse, the Board shall issue a license upon
the applicant's satisfying the following conditions:

(8] Submit a complete  Application  for
Certification;

2) Submit a license fee in accordance with G.S.
90A-75 and Rule .0301 of this Chapter;

3 Submit documentation demonstrating that the
applicant is married to an active member of the
U.S. military;

4) Provide documentation to satisfy conditions set
outin G.S. 93B-15.1(b)(1) and (2);

5) For evaluator, provide documentation from the

N.C. Board for Licensing of Soil Scientists that
requirements set out in G.S. 89F have been
satisfied; and

(6) Provide documentation that the applicant has
not committed any act in any jurisdiction that
would constitute grounds for refusal,
suspension, or revocation of a license in North
Carolina at the time the act was committed.

History Note:
130A-336.2;

Eff. April 1, 2014;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority: G.S. 90A-74; 90A-75; 93B-15.1;

21 NCAC 39 .0601 REQUIREMENTS

(a) Every certified on-site wastewater contractor, inspector, or
evaluator shall obtain Professional Development Hours (PDH)
units during the renewal period as described in the following
table:
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Level Annual PDH Units
Required

| 3

I 3

11 6

v 6

Inspector 6

Combination Contractor Grade | 6

Level and Inspector

Evaluator 12

(b) The certified on-site wastewater contractor, inspector, or
evaluator shall select courses and activities that have been
approved as set out in Rule .0602 of this Chapter.

(c) Professional Development Hours (PDH) shall be accepted by
the Board for approved courses pursuant to Rule .0602 of this
Chapter. Hours for all other courses shall be submitted by
providers to the Board for approval pursuant to Rule .0602 of this
Chapter. If not approved, no PDH shall be granted for the course.
(d) Each on-site wastewater contractor, inspector, or evaluator
shall attend at least 85 percent of the class in order to receive
credit. Any attendee present for less time shall not receive credit
for the class. The class provider or authorized representative shall
certify that each class attendee meets the requirement of this
Paragraph.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 90A-
78; 90A-79; 130A-336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016; January 1, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39 .0602 APPROVAL OF CONTINUING
EDUCATION COURSES
(@) All continuing education courses shall be approved by the
Board before PDH can be granted.
(b) All continuing education courses shall be approved on an
annual basis.
(c) The Board shall approve courses in accordance with G.S.
90A-79 that instruct on on-site wastewater contractor, inspector,
or evaluator activities and that enhance a contractor's, inspector's,
or evaluator's knowledge of construction, installation, repair, or
inspection of wastewater systems. The Board shall determine that
courses and activities result in the maintenance, improvement, or
expansion of skills and knowledge related to the practice of on-
site wastewater contractor, inspector, or evaluator activities.
Providers may request approval of courses or activities from the
Board by obtaining and completing a form available on the
Board's website (www.ncowcich.info) or by a written request to
the Board that provides the following information:

1) Course content;

(2) Course schedule;

(3) Level of instruction provided (Level 1, 2, 3, 4,

Inspector, or level 4/Inspector); Combination

Contractor Grade Level and Inspector, or

evaluator;

4 Qualifications of instructors (including both
education and experience); and

(5) Materials provided, field experiences, and other
activities available in connection with the
course(s).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 90A-
78; 90A-79; 130A-336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39.0603 DETERMINATION OF CREDIT
History Note:
78; 90A-79;
Eff. February 1, 2011;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 90A-

21 NCAC 39 .0604 RECORDKEEPING
Each contractor, inspector, or evaluator shall maintain records of
any completed PDH courses including the following:

1) A log showing the type of activity claimed,
sponsoring organization, location, duration,
instructors or speaker's name, and PDH credits
earned; or

2 Attendance verification records in the form of
completion certificates or other documents
supporting evidence of attendance.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 90A-
78; 90A-79; 130A-336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39 .0605 EXTENSION OF TIME
(a) The Board shall grant an on-site wastewater contractor,
inspector, or evaluator an extension of time to complete
continuing education (CE) requirements during a period of
service in the Armed Forces of the United States upon submission
of the following to the Board:
1) written request for extension; and
2 documentation that the requestor is serving in
the Armed Forces of the United States and is
eligible for an extension of time to file a tax
return pursuant to G.S. 105-249.2.
(b) The Board shall grant an on-site wastewater contractor,
inspector, or evaluator an extension of time to obtain CE
requirements if he or she has a disability or illness that prevents
him or her from complying with CE requirements. In order to
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receive the waiver, the requestor shall provide the Board with the

following:
1) written request for waiver; and
(2) documentation that describes the disability or

illness and explains how the disability or illness
prevents the contractor, inspector, or evaluator
from complying with the Board's CE
requirements. Documentation includes a letter
from a licensed physician, nurse practitioner
(NP), or physician assistant (PA).
(c) Where on a case-by-case basis the Board determines that due
to an undue hardship (such as natural disaster or illness of family
member) the contractor, inspector, or evaluator could not
reasonably be expected to comply with the Board's CE
requirements, the contractor, inspector, or evaluator shall be
granted an extension of time in which to obtain the required CE
credits. To be considered for an extension of time, a requestor
shall submit the following:

(1) written request for extension; and
(2) documentation that supports the reason for the
extension.

(d) The Board shall grant a waiver of CE requirements upon
submission of documentation that a contractor, inspector, or
evaluator is in active duty while serving in the Armed Forces and
is or has been deployed for at least eight months during the
twelve-month period during which CE credits were required.

(e) An extension granted under Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this Rule
shall not exceed one year. Prior to the expiration of the one year
extension of time, a contractor, inspector, or evaluator may
request an additional extension in accordance with this Rule.
Except as set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Board shall
grant no more than two consecutive extensions.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 90A-
78; 90A-79; 93B-15; 130A-336.2;

Eff. February 1, 2011;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39 .0701 REVOCATION, OR
SUSPENSION OF CERTIFICATION

(@) The Board may revoke or suspend the certification of an on-
site wastewater contractor, inspector, or evaluator in accordance
with the provisions of G.S. 90A-80, 90A-81, and Article 3A of
Chapter of 150B of the NC General Statutes. For holders of the
Combination Contractor Grade Level and Inspector certifications,
the Board may revoke or suspend either or both certifications.

(b) Following a revocation or suspension, a certificate holder
shall relinquish his or her certificate or seal by submission to the
Board of the original certificate or seal and a notarized statement
of relinquishment.

(c) The Board may restrict the certificate of an on-site wastewater
contractor, inspector, or evaluator. Written notice of the
restriction shall be delivered in accordance with the provisions of
service in G.S. 150B-42. A copy of the letter shall be kept in the
on-site wastewater contractor, inspector, or evaluator's file. The
on-site wastewater contractor, inspector, or evaluator shall be
given the opportunity to put a letter of rebuttal into the file with

the Board. The letter shall be received by the Board within 30 days
of receipt of the written notice.

History Note:
81; 130A-336.2;
Eff. February 1, 2011;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-80; 90A-

21 NCAC 39.0801 CODE OF ETHICS

(a) Contractors, inspectors, and evaluators shall at all times
recognize their primary obligation is to protect the public in the
performance of their professional duties and shall conduct the
practice of those duties in a manner that protects the public health,
safety and welfare.

(b) Opinions expressed by contractors, inspectors, or evaluators
in the discharge of their duties shall only be based on their
education and experience.

(c) No contractor, inspector, or evaluator shall disclose any
information about the results of an inspection or evaluation
without the approval of the client for whom the inspection or
evaluation was performed, or the client's designated
representative, except as required by law.

(d) No contractor, inspector, or evaluator shall accept
compensation or any other consideration from more than one
interested party for the same service without the consent of all
interested parties.

(e) No contractor, inspector, or evaluator shall accept or offer
commissions or allowances, directly or indirectly, from or to other
parties dealing with the client in connection with work for which
the licensee is responsible.

() No contractor, inspector, or evaluator shall provide an
appraisal nor express an opinion of the market value of the
inspected property during an inspection or in the inspection report.
(g) Before the execution of a contract to perform an on-site
wastewater system inspection, an inspector shall disclose to the
client any interest the inspector has in a business that may affect
the client. No licensee shall allow his or her interest in any
business to affect the quality or results of the inspection work that
the inspector may be called upon to perform.

(h) Before the execution of a contract to perform an on-site
wastewater system installation, a contractor shall disclose to the
client any interest a contractor has in a business that may affect
the client. No licensee shall allow his or her interest in any
business to affect the quality or results of the installation work that
the contractor may be called upon to perform.

(i) Before the execution of a contract to perform an on-site
wastewater system evaluation, an evaluator shall disclose to the
client any interest the evaluator has in a business that may affect
the client. No evaluator shall allow his or her interest in any
business to affect the quality or results of the evaluation work that
the evaluator may be called upon to perform. Pursuant to G.S.
130A-336.2(d)(1), the evaluator shall not form a direct business
relationship with any technology.

(j) Contractors shall not knowingly or willfully install a non-
permitted system.
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(k) Contractors shall not knowingly or willfully install a system
or any part of a system other than what is specified in the permit.
() Contractors, inspectors, and evaluators shall not engage in
false or misleading advertising, documentation, and reporting or
otherwise misrepresent any matters to the public.

(m) Contractors, inspectors, and evaluators shall discharge their
duties in accordance with Article 5 of Chapter 90A of the North
Carolina General Statutes and the rules of the Board.

(n) No inspector shall subcontract with another inspector for an
on-site wastewater system inspection without the knowledge and
signed consent of the client.

(o) The contractor of record shall be the responsible party for an
on-site wastewater system installation or repair that is permitted
through the local health department.

(p) The evaluator of record shall be responsible for the work
conducted by a subordinate.

(@) The evaluator shall not perform any of the functions
performed by a professional engineer for engineered wastewater
systems described in G.S. 130A-336.1

(r) Evaluators who fail to comply with G.S. 89F-19 and have their
soil scientist license revoked or suspended shall also have their
authorization as an evaluator revoked or suspended.

(s) Employees of a local health department or DHHS shall not
construct, install, or repair, or offer to construct, install, or repair,
onsite wastewater systems outside of their employment with a
local health department or DHHS.

(t) Evaluators shall not perform duties of contractors or inspectors
on any system on which they are the evaluator.

History Note:
336.2;

Eff. November 1, 2011;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-70; 90A-72; 90A-74; 130A-

21 NCAC 39 .0904 WAIVER OR EXTENSION

The Board may waive or extend any rule in this Chapter that is
not statutorily required if a certificate holder submits a written
request. Factors the Board shall use in determining whether to
grant the waiver or extension are:

1) degree of disruption to the Board,;

2 cost to the Board;

3 degree of benefit to the public;

(@) whether the requesting party had control over
the circumstances that required the requested
waiver or extension;

(5) notice to and opposition by the public;

(6) need for the waiver or extension; and

(7 previous requests for waivers or extensions
submitted from the requesting party.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90A-74; 150B-19(6);
Emergency Adoption Eff. May 20, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 24, 2020;

Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39.1001
As used in this Section:
(D) "Automatic safety controls" means devices
designed and installed to protect systems and
components from excessively high or low
pressures and temperatures, excessive electrical
current, loss of water, high water, fire, freezing,
or other unsafe conditions.

DEFINITIONS

2 "Component" means a readily accessible and
observable part of an on-site wastewater
system.

?3) "Cross connection" means any physical

connection or arrangement between potable
water and the on-site wastewater system or any
other source of contamination.

(@) "Dangerous or adverse situations" means
situations that pose a threat of injury to the
inspector, or those situations that require the use

of special protective clothing or safety
equipment, such as personal protection
equipment.

5) "Describe” means a written report of a

condition found within the system or any
observed component of the inspected system.

(6) "Dismantle” means to take apart or remove any
component, device, or piece of equipment that
is bolted, screwed, or fastened by other means
that would not be taken apart or removed by a
homeowner or operator in the course of normal
household maintenance.

@) "Enter" means to go into an area to inspect all
readily accessible, readily openable, and readily
visible components.

(8) "Hydraulic Load Test" means the introduction
of water or waste water into a system for the
purposes of mimicking the system's peak flows.

9 "Inflow" means extraneous water directly
entering a component, such as via a sump
pump, foundation drain, condensate line, or

infiltration.

(10) "Normal operating controls” means certified
operator or homeowner-operated devices.

(11) "Normal wear and tear" means superficial

blemishes or defects that do not interfere with
the functionality of the component or system.

(12) "Operate” means to cause systems or equipment
to function.
(13) "Readily accessible™ means approachable or

enterable for inspection without the risk of
damage to any property or alteration of the
accessible space, equipment, or opening.

(14) "Readily openable access panel” means a panel
provided for homeowner or certified operator
maintenance and operation that has removable
or operable fasteners or latch devices in order to
be lifted off, swung open, or otherwise removed
for inspection. This definition is limited to those
wastewater system components not blocked by
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(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

(19)

History Note:

stored items, furniture, building components or
landscaping.

"Readily visible" means seen by using natural
or artificial light without the use of equipment
or tools other than a probe, flashlight, or mirror.
"Roof drainage systems" means gutters,
downspouts, leaders, splash blocks, and similar
parts used to carry water off a roof and away
from a building.

"Shut down" means a condition or conditions
wherein a piece of equipment or system cannot
be operated by the device or control that a
homeowner should normally use to operate it.
If its safety switch or circuit breaker is in the
"off" position, or its fuse is missing or blown,
the inspector is not required to reestablish the
circuit for the purpose of operating the
equipment or system.

"Statement of responsibility" means a signed
and dated document, from the contractor to the
system owner, that acknowledges the
requirements of the onsite wastewater system
specified by the evaluator.

"Structural component” means a wastewater
system component that supports non-variable
forces or weights (dead loads) and variable
forces or weights (live loads), such as a control
panel support, septic tank, D-box, or manifold.
Authority G.S. 90A-71; 90A-74: 130A-336.2;

Eff. October 1, 2011;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 39 .1002 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS
(@) Inspectors shall:

(1)

()

3)

(4)

Provide to the client or the client's

representative a written contract, signed by both

the client or client's representative and the
inspector, before the on-site wastewater system
inspection is performed that:

(A) States that the on-site wastewater
system inspection is conducted in
accordance with Rules .1004, .1005,
and .1006 of this Section; and

(B) Describes what services shall be
provided and their cost;

Obtain written permission from the owner or

owner's representative to perform the

inspection;

Inspect readily openable and accessible

installed systems and components listed in Rule

.1005 of this Section;

Submit a written report to the client or client

representative within 10 business days of the

inspection that:

(A) Describes  those  systems  and
components required to be described

in Rules .1005 through .1006 of this
Section;

(B) States which systems and components
designated for inspection in this
Section have been inspected, and state
any  systems or  components
designated for inspection that were not
inspected, and the reason for not
inspecting. Failure to locate the system
or components for inspection or
"could not locate" shall not be the
same as "not visible." If the system or
component is not located, the written
report shall state the failure to locate
the system or components for
inspection or "could not locate;"

© States any systems or components
inspected that do not function as
intended or harm the wastewater
treatment system;

(D) States whether the condition reported
requires  repair or  subsequent
observation, or warrants further
evaluation by the local health
department. The statements shall
describe the component or system and
how the condition is defective, explain
the consequences of the condition, and
refer the recipient to the local health
department or a certified on-site
wastewater contractor; and

(B) States the name, license number, and
signature of the certified inspector;
5) Maintain records for a period of seven years.

(b) Contractors that contract with an owner of a system permitted
by an evaluator in accordance with G.S. 130A-336.2 shall:

D Submit to the evaluator and Board the insurance
declaration page verifying errors and
omissions, liability, or other coverage, as
appropriate for the system designed, prior to
commencing installation;

2) Be responsible for all aspects of the
construction and installation of the wastewater
system and its components, including
adherence to specifications and any special
inspections that are prepared, signed, and sealed
by the evaluator; and

3) Submit a dated and signed statement of
responsibility to the owner of the wastewater
system, prior to commencement of work.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90A-71; 90A-72; 90A-74; 130A-
336.2;

Eff. October 1, 2011;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.
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21 NCAC 39 .1101
As used in this Section:

1) "Accepted wastewater dispersal system" means
as defined in G.S. 130A-343.

(2) "Authorized inspector" or "Independent
inspector” means an individual employed or
contracted by an evaluator to observe and direct
the construction of the wastewater system
designed, planned, and specified by the

DEFINITIONS

evaluator.

3) "Notice of intent to construct” means the form
developed by DHHS pursuant to G.S. 130A-
336.2(b).

4) "Special inspection" means any continuous or

intermittent inspection or visitation performed
by the evaluator at the construction site on
behalf of the owner.

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-74; 130A-336.2;

21 NCAC 39 .1102
FOR EVALUATORS
In addition to the duties set forth in G.S. 130A-136.2, evaluators
shall:

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

@ Provide a "notice of intent to construct” to the
owner of a proposed wastewater system, so the
owner can submit it to the local health
department that has jurisdiction over the
location of the proposed wastewater system;
(2) Prepare a signed and sealed statement of special
inspections that includes the following items:
@ The materials, systems, components,
and work subject to special
inspections and testing;

(b) The type, frequency, and extent of
each special inspection and each test;

3) Notify the owner if the system will require the
owner to enter into a contract with a water
pollution control system operator certified
pursuant to Part 1 of Article 3 of Chapter 90A
of the General Statutes; and

4) Maintain records for a period of seven years.
This shall include a signed and dated copy of
the operation and management program that
was provided to the system owner and all
inspection reports.

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 130A-336.2;

21 NCAC 39 .1103
EVALUATORS
Evaluators shall not:
1) Offer or perform any act or service contrary to
Article 5 of G.S. 90A, G.S. 130A-336.2, or the
rules of this Chapter;

GENERAL EXCLUSIONS FOR

2 Form a direct business relationship with any
technology that may result in a conflict of
interest;

3 Perform any of the functions performed by a

professional  engineer  for  engineered
wastewater systems described in G.S. 130A-
336.1; and

(@) Offer or perform engineering, architectural,
plumbing, electrical, pesticide or any other job
function requiring an occupational license in
the jurisdiction where the evaluation,
inspection, installation, or repair is taking place,
unless the evaluator holds a valid occupational
license in that field, in which case the evaluator
shall inform the client that the evaluator is so
licensed.

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 130A-336.2;

21 NCAC 39.1104
EVALUATORS
Evaluators shall provide the owner with the following documents
at the post-construction conference:

(8] a signed and sealed copy of reports on soil
conditions and site features, layouts, drawings,
specifications, justification on any proposed
design daily flow reductions, and any special
inspection reports or corrections made during
the construction of the system;

2) the owner's operation and management
program established for the specific wastewater
system installed;

3 any reports and findings related to the
evaluation, siting, and construction of the
wastewater system; and

4) information to the owner on procedures for
final submittal to the local health department.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 90A-74; 130A-336.2;

EE R S S I S I S I I I S

CHAPTER 61 - RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD

21 NCAC 61 .0901 RULE WAIVERS
(a) If the Governor declares a state of emergency issued under
G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Board may waive the following
provisions in its rules:
1) The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0201(a)(4) that requires each
applicant for an initial license to provide a copy
of current certification in Basic Life Support
(BLS);
2 The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0201(b)(1) that states that for
applicants who have not practiced respiratory
care for a period of time greater than one year,
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but less than five years, the applicant must
provide evidence of 12 hours of continuing
education, that meet the requirements of 21
NCAC 61 .0401, for each full year of inactivity;

3) The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0204(a)(4) that requires following
the late renewal of any license, an additional
late fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00);

4) The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0302(c) that requires each applicant
for renewal to provide proof of completion of

continuing  education  requirements  as
established in this Chapter;
(5) The requirement for licensure set forth in 21

NCAC 61 .0302(e) that requires each applicant
for renewal to provide a copy of current
certification in Basic Life Support (BLS);
(6) The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0302(f) that requires licenses lapsed
in excess of 24 months shall not be renewable;
@) The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0302(e) that requires an individual
licensed on inactive status to convert his or her
license to active status by payment of the
renewal fee and late fee and provide evidence
of the completion of a minimum of 12 hours of
continuing  education that meets the
requirements of 21 NCAC 61 .0401 for each
full year of inactivity;
(8) The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0401(a) for continuing education
requirements;
9 The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0401(e) that requires a licensee to be
subjected to a random audit for proof of
compliance with the Board's requirements for
continuing education; and
(10) The requirement for licensure set forth in 21
NCAC 61 .0401(f) that requires continuing
education audits be submitted to the Board no
later than 30 days of receipt of the audit notice.
(b) The waivers granted pursuant to this Rule shall only apply
during the effective period of the state of emergency.
(c) Waivers granted pursuant to this Rule will be posted on the
Board's website at www.ncrcb.org.

History Note: Authority  G.S.
90-652(9); 90-652(11); 90-652(13);
Emergency Adoption Eff. March 30, 2020;
Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2020.
Temporary Adoption Expired March 12, 2021;
Eff. June 1, 2021.

90-652(1);  90-652(2);

EE R R S I S S S S I S I

CHAPTER 64 —- BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH
AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND
AUDIOLOGISTS

21 NCAC 64 .0108 WAIVER
The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not
statutorily required if a licensee submits a written request. Factors
the Board shall use in determining whether to grant the waiver
are:

1) degree of disruption to the Board;

) cost to the Board;

3 degree of benefit to the public;

4 whether the requesting party had control over
the circumstances that required the requested
waiver;

(5) notice to and opposition by the public;

(6) need for the waiver; and

@) previous requests for waivers submitted from

the requesting party.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-304; 150B-19(6);
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020;

Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 64 .0219 TELEPRACTICE
(a) For purposes of this Rule the following words shall have the
following meanings:

(8] "Patient site" means the patient's physical
location at the time of the receipt of the
telepractice services.

2) "Provider" means a licensed speech and
language pathologist or audiologist who
provides telepractice services.

3) "Provider site" means the licensee's physical
location at the time of the provision of the
telepractice services.

4) "Telepractice" means  the use of
telecommunications and information
technologies for the exchange of encrypted
patient data from patient site to provider site for
the provision of speech and language pathology
and audiology services to patients through
hardwire or internet connection via real time
interaction or store forward techniques.

(b) Telepractice shall be obtained in a manner to ensure patient
confidentiality.

(c) Telepractice is subject to the same standard of practice stated
in Rule .0216 of this Chapter as if the person being treated were
physically present with the licensee.

(d) Telepractice constitutes the practice of Speech and Language
Pathology and Audiology in both the patient site and provider site.
Providers must hold a license in the state of the provider site and
shall be in compliance with the statutory and regulatory
requirements of the patient site.

(e) Registered Speech and Language Pathology Assistants and
Audiology Assistants under the supervision of licensed providers
shall be allowed to engage in telepractice under the same level of
direct supervision as required by 21 NCAC 64 .1003(e)(1), (2),
and (6).

(f) Licensees and staff involved in telepractice must be trained in
the use of telepractice equipment.
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(9) Notification of telepractice services shall be provided to the
patient and guardian if the patient is a minor or under
guardianship. The notification shall include the right to refuse
telepractice services and options for alternate service delivery.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-304(a)(3);

Eff. September 1, 2010;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 2016;

Emergency Amendment Eff. March 27, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 64 .1101 DEFINITIONS

() "Assistant” means an Audiology Assistant who is registered
by a Primary Supervising Licensee with the Board.

(b) "Board" means the North Carolina Board of Examiners for
Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists.

(c) "Licensee" means an individual who holds a current
permanent license in audiology from the North Carolina Board of
Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and
Audiologists.

(d) "Primary Supervising Licensee” means the Licensee as
defined in this Rule who supervises the majority of the Assistant's
work, who is responsible for the Assistant's registration with the
Board, and who bears the responsibility for all supervision
requirements and notification responsibility to the Board of any
changes in registration information.

(e) "Registration" means the process through which an Assistant
is approved by the Board to work with a Licensee to provide
services to the public.

(f) "Secondary Supervising Licensee” means a Licensee as
defined in this Rule who supervises the Assistant in the absence
of the Primary Supervising Licensee to cover variations in work
hours.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3);
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020;

Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 64 .1102 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
() For registration, Assistants must present:

(D) Evidence of high school diploma or equivalent;
and
2 A letter of certification of the Assistant's

competency provided by a supervising

audiologist that attests to one of the following:

(A) the supervising audiologist has trained
the Assistant in tasks allowed in Rule
.1104 of this Section;

(B) the Assistant has provided the
supervising audiologist with evidence
that he or she has completed training
in the tasks allowed in Rule .1104 of
this Section; or

(© the supervising audiologist has
assessed and is satisfied with the

competency of the Assistant to

perform the tasks allowed in Rule

.1104 of this Section.
(b) Assistants who conduct pure tone audiometry under general
supervision by the licensee must have completed a Certified
Occupational Hearing Conservationists (COHC) or a program
with equivalent certification requirements. If the assistant has
completed training under the NC Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters
Board, then proof of successful completion of the NCHADFB
exam would also meet the requirement.
(c) A Licensee who is employed full-time (30 hours/week or
more) may register to be primary supervisor of no more than two
Assistants at any one time. A Licensee who is employed part-time
(less than 30 hours/week) may register to supervise no more than
one Assistant at any one time. The Primary Supervising Licensee
shall ensure that the Assistant complies with this Section, and with
ethical standards set forth in the Board's Practice Act and rules.
Secondary Supervising Licensees in the same practice may also
supervise the Assistant, provided that such supervision is
conducted in accordance with the rules set forth in this Section.
(d) The Primary Supervising Licensee must keep the Board
apprised of any changes in registration information as follows:

(8] Changes of supervising licensee(s) shall require
prior written approval of the Board and the
Primary Supervising Licensee must submit the
request in writing at least 10 days prior to the
effective date.

2) The Primary Supervising Licensee must submit
changes that do not directly relate to patient
care, such as change of address, to the Board in
writing within 10 business days of the effective
change. Such changes do not require pre-
approval from the Board.

(e) The Primary Supervising Licensee shall remit to the Board an
annual registration fee for the Assistant in an amount of forty
dollars ($40.00).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3);
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020;

Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 64 .1103 LICENSEE REQUIREMENTS

(a) Licensees who register an Assistant shall be licensed in North
Carolina, or hold equivalent qualifications from another state, for
the previous two years prior to registering an Assistant with the
Board. Temporary license holders shall not register Assistants.
(b) Licensees who register an Assistant shall attest to the
Assistant's understanding and review of the registration and
supervision process (scope of practice, ethics, written protocols,
record keeping) set forth in the rules of this Section.

(c) Licensees must submit the application and annual fee for
registration of the Assistant to the Board. The application shall
include the following information:

@ assistant's name, address, and telephone
number;

2 employer name;

3 number of hours worked per week by

supervising licensee;
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4) primary supervising licensee's name, address,
and telephone number;

(5) secondary supervising licensee's name, address,
and telephone number, if applicable; and

(6) all locations where the assistant is to provide
services.

(d) Licensees shall inform all patients when services are being
provided by an Assistant and the Assistant must wear a badge that
includes the job title: "Audiology Assistant."

(e) Tasks and duties that are within the scope of responsibilities
for an Assistant are listed in Rules .1104 and .1105 of this Section.
The Supervising Licensee shall be responsible for all patient
services performed by the Assistant. The Supervising Licensee
shall determine the assignment of tasks and the amount and type
of supervision to ensure quality of care considering relevant
factors such as the skills of the Assistant, the needs of the patient,
and the service setting. Before assigning treatment tasks to an
Assistant, the Licensee shall evaluate the patient files and develop
a plan for the care and follow an established protocol.

(f) Any time an Assistant provides services during a patient
encounter, the Supervising Licensee or Assistant shall document
the Assistant's services in the patient's medical record. If the
Assistant documents the services, the Supervising Licensee shall
co-sign the medical record. The Supervising Licensee shall be
responsible for the accuracy and compliance of the
documentation. These signed and dated patient encounter records
must be retained as part of the patient's file for the time period
specified in Rule .0209 of this Chapter and may be requested by
the Board.

(g) The Board may do random audits of records to determine
compliance with the rules in this Chapter.

(h) When patient services are being rendered by an Assistant, the
Supervising Licensee must be available to observe and supervise
the Assistant, when necessary.

(i) The Primary Supervising Licensee shall assess the Assistant's
competencies during the initial 60 days of employment using a
performance-based competency assessment. The completed
assessment shall be submitted to the Board within 90 days of
registration. A new competency assessment must be completed
and filed within 90 days each time the Primary Supervising
Licensee changes.

(i) Assistants shall only engage in those activities related to the
practice of Audiology as set forth in Rules .1104 and .1105 of this
Section. An Assistant's activities related to the practice of
Audiology not set forth therein shall be regarded as the unlicensed
practice of Audiology.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3);
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020;

Eff. June 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 64 .1104 AUTHORIZED TASKS OF
AUDIOLOGY ASSISTANTS
(& An audiology assistant may engage in the following direct
patient services:
(1) Obtaining partial or selected case history
information from patients and families;

2 Administering audiologic screening protocols,
as directed by the supervising audiologist.
These screening procedures, including tests and
checklists or parts of tests and checklists, shall
have the purpose of determining the need for
further diagnostic testing by the supervising
audiologist and must meet the following

criteria:

(A) have administration protocols and
methods;

(B) consist of test items that require no
more than a binary judgment (i.e., yes-
no, present-absent, pass/refer);

© require no more than a specifically-
elicited single response; and

(D) require no clinical interpretation by
the assistant;

3 Preparing or positioning patients for evaluation

or treatment following guidelines of the
supervising audiologist and of the facility;

4) Basic hearing device repair and trouble
shooting;
5) Assistance with procedures related to the fitting

and dispensing of hearing devices, not to
include cerumen management. Ear mold
impressions must be conducted with the
supervision of an audiologist;

(6) Instructing patients in care and use of devices
dispensed by the supervising audiologist; and

@) Providing services previously mentioned
through telehealth to extend access to clinical
care.

(b) Subject to Paragraph (c) of this Rule, an audiology assistant
must engage in the following indirect patient services:

(8] Reporting any workplace conduct that appears
to be unethical in violation of Section .0300 of
this Chapter or illegal to the supervising
audiologist or to the Board of Examiners;

2 Requesting assistance from the supervising
audiologist, as needed, in order to ensure
continuous service quality;

3 Observing universal precautions and safety
procedures; and
4) Releasing patients only to the care of care-

givers of record.
(c) Direct patient services for evaluation as set forth in Paragraph
(@) of this Rule are not within the approved scope of
responsibilities for assistants who are not Certified Occupational
Hearing Conservationists (COHC). Audiology assistants who are
not COHC may assist in the evaluation of both pediatric and adult
patients, but only under the supervision of the supervising
audiologist who is present in the room and attending to the
assistant's activities 100 percent of the time. Audiology Assistants
who are COHC may conduct unmasked pure-tone audiometry
under supervision by the licensee for adult patients. Direct patient
services to children under the age of 21 years old are not within
the approved scope of activities for assistants unless under the
supervision of the supervising audiologist who is physically
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present in the room and attending to 100 percent of the assistant's ?3)
activities.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3);

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020;

Eff. June 1, 2021. 4

21 NCAC 64 .1105 SUPERVISION AND

CONTINUING COMPETENCE REQUIREMENTS (5)
Following registration by a supervising audiologist, a registered

assistant shall:

1) discuss job expectations with the supervising
audiologist(s) in order to have a mutual (6)
understanding of job scope and responsibilities;

(2) participate in a specified amount of supervised History Note:

training according to a written plan for all tests
and clinical equipment that will be used for
assessment and treatment of the patient;

receive employment evaluations on a scheduled
basis from the supervising audiologist(s) to
assess the assistant's performance, strengths,
and weaknesses of the assistant and to establish
development goals for continuous performance
improvement;

request assistance, additional instruction, and
additional supervision from the supervising
audiologist, when needed;

participate in various types of educational
activities in order to enhance skill and
knowledge, as assigned by the supervising
audiologist; and

read information assigned by the audiologist.

Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3);

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020;
Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020;
Eff. June 1, 2021.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission July 15, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific instructions and
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address the Commission
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting. Please refer to
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair)
Margaret Currin Paul Powell
Jeff Hyde Randy Overton
Robert A. Rucho Barbara A. Jackson

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
July 15, 2021 August 19, 2021
September 16, 2021 October 21, 201

VI.

AGENDA
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
THURSDAY, JULY 15, 2021, 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
Approval of the minutes from the last meeting

Follow-up matters
A. Coastal Resources Commission — 15A NCAC 07J .0403, .0404, .0405, .0407, .0410; 07K .0207
(Snyder)

Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between May 21, 2021, through June 21, 2021
e Social Services Commission 10A NCAC 70M (Reeder)

Social Services Commission 10A NCAC 71, 72 (May)

Department of Insurance (Reeder)

Industrial Commission (Reeder)

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Reeder)

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (Reeder)

Coastal Resources Commission (Reeder)

Board of Dental Examiners (May)

Medical Board/Board of Nursing 21 NCAC 32M (Reeder)

Medical Board (Reeder)

Board of Nursing/Medical Board 21 NCAC 36 (Reeder)

Board of Pharmacy (Reeder)

Social Work Certification and Licensure Board (May)

Veterinary Medical Board (Reeder)

Office of Administrative Hearings

Building Code Council (Reeder)

Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting

Existing Rules Review
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VII. Commission Business
o Next meeting: August 19, 2021

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
May 21, 2021 through June 21, 2021

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 70 concern Children's Services.

The rules in Subchapter 70M concern adoption standards including general provisions (.0100); organization and
administration (.0200); functions of a public adoption agency (.0300); regular monthly cash adoption assistance and
vendor payments (.0400); out-of-state adoption fees (.0500); non-recurring adoption costs (.0600); and special need
adoption incentive fund (.0700).

Definitions 10A NCAC 70M .0102
Adopt*

Public Adoption Agencies 10A NCAC 70M .0201
Readopt with Changes*

Functions of a Public Adoption Agency 10A NCAC 70M .0301
Readopt with Changes*

Services to Adoptive Applicants 10A NCAC 70M .0302
Readopt with Changes*

Multiethnic Placement Act Requirements for Adoptive Home ... 10A NCAC 70M .0304
Readopt with Changes*

Regular Monthly Cash Adoption Assistance and Vendor Payments 10A NCAC 70M .0401
Readopt with Changes*

Eligibility Requirements for Regular Monthly Cash Assista... 10A NCAC 70M .0402
Readopt with Changes*

Procedures/Reimbursement of Adoption Assistance Benefits 10A NCAC 70M .0403
Readopt without Changes*

Eligibility Requirements for the Special Children Adoptio... 10A NCAC 70M .0404
Readopt/Repeal*

Payments from the Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund 10A NCAC 70M .0405
Readopt/Repeal*

Out of State Adoption Fees 10A NCAC 70M .0501
Readopt with Changes*

General Eligibility Requirements 10A NCAC 70M .0502
Readopt/Repeal*

Public Adoption Agency Requirements 10A NCAC 70M .0601
Readopt with Changes*

Eligible Non-Recurring Adoption Expenses 10A NCAC 70M .0602
Readopt with Changes*

Requirements 10A NCAC 70M .0603
Readopt/Repeal*

Prohibition on Reimbursement Caps 10A NCAC 70M .0604
Readopt with Changes*

Eligibility Requirements for the Special Need Adoption In... 10A NCAC 70M .0701
Adopt*

Payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund 10A NCAC 70M .0702
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Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 71K concern problem pregnancy services.

Methods of Provision 10A NCAC 71K .0101
Readopt/Repeal*
Freedom of Choice 10A NCAC 71K .0102
Readopt/Repeal*

The rules in Chapter 71 concern adult and family support.

The rules in Subchapter 71L concern the maternity home funds.

Nature and Scope 10A NCAC 71L .0101
Readopt with Changes*

Approval Criteria 10A NCAC 71L .0102
Readopt with Changes*

Application Process 10A NCAC 71L .0103
Readopt with Changes*

Additional Requirements for the Private Agency 10A NCAC 71L .0104
Readopt/Repeal*

Procedure for Approval and Payment 10A NCAC 71L .0105
Readopt with Changes*

Development of Service Plan 10A NCAC 71L .0106
Adopt*

Assessing the Appropriateness of Alternative Types of Liv... 10A NCAC 71L .0107
Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 710 concern refugee assistance services.

Refugee Assistance Services 10A NCAC 710 .0101
Readopt without Changes*

Service Goals 10A NCAC 710 .0102
Readopt with Changes*

Methods of Service Provision 10A NCAC 710 .0103
Readopt with Changes*

Eligibility 10A NCAC 710 .0104

Readopt with Changes*

The rules in Chapter 71 are from the Social Services Commission and cover various adult and family support
services. These are generally administered by the Division of Social Services within the Department of Health and
Human Services. The rules in Subchapter 71U cover the Food Assistance Program. They include administration and
supervision (.0100); all the program’s substantive requirements transferred from the program manual (.0200); the
substantive requirements to complete various forms (.0300); and electronic benefit transfer cards and fair hearings
(.0400).

Administration and Supervision 10A NCAC 71U .0101
Readopt with Changes*

Intentional Program Violation Disqualification 10A NCAC 71U .0201
Readopt with Changes*

Fair Hearings 10A NCAC 71U .0203
Readopt/Repeal*

Denial of Zero Benefit Households 10A NCAC 71U .0204
Readopt without Changes™

Immediate Termination or Reduction of Assistance 10A NCAC 71U .0205

Readopt without Changes*

36:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2021
60




RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

Standard Utility Allowances 10A NCAC 71U .0206
Readopt without Changes*

Social Security Numbers 10A NCAC 71U .0207
Readopt without Changes™

Second Party Review 10A NCAC 71U .0209
Readopt without Changes*

Income Exclusions 10A NCAC 71U .0210
Readopt without Changes*

Vehicle Determinations 10A NCAC 71U .0211
Readopt/Repeal*

Transitional FNS Benefits 10A NCAC 71U .0212
Readopt without Changes™

Simplified Reporting 10A NCAC 71U .0213
Readopt with Changes*

Deductions 10A NCAC 71U .0214
Readopt/Repeal*

Resource Exclusions 10A NCAC 71U .0215
Readopt without Changes*

Medical Deductions for Medicare Prescription Drug Card Be... 10A NCAC 71U .0216
Readopt/Repeal*

Household Application 10A NCAC 71U .0302
Readopt without Changes*

Authorized Representative Form 10A NCAC 71U .0303
Readopt without Changes*

Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) Card Replacement Fee 10A NCAC 71U .0401
Readopt without Changes*

Fair Hearings 10A NCAC 71U .0402
Readopt/Repeal*

The rules in Subchapter 71V concern the low income energy assistance program.

Groups Covered 10A NCAC 71V .0102
Readopt with Changes*

Eligibility Requirements 10A NCAC 71V .0103
Readopt with Changes*

Benefit Levels 10A NCAC 71V .0104
Readopt/Repeal*

Method of Payment 10A NCAC 71V .0105
Readopt with Changes*

Duplicate Payments and Overpayments 10A NCAC 71V .0106
Readopt with Changes*

Suspected Fraud 10A NCAC 71V .0107
Readopt with Changes*

Appeals 10A NCAC 71V .0108
Readopt/Repeal*

Eligibility Requirements 10A NCAC 71V .0201
Readopt with Changes*

Benefit Levels 10A NCAC 71V .0202
Readopt with Changes*

Method of Payment 10A NCAC 71V .0203
Readopt with Changes*

Overpayments and Suspected Fraud 10A NCAC 71V .0204

Readopt with Changes*
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Appeals 10A NCAC 71V .0205
Readopt/Repeal*

The rules in Subchapter 71W concern general program administration (.0100); coverage (.0200); application process
(.0300); eligibility factors (.0400); redetermination of eligibility (.0500); payment procedures (.0600); emergency
assistance coverage (.0700); unemployed parent program (.0800); and transitional child care (.0900).

Definitions 10A NCAC 71W .0101
Readopt with Changes*

Initial Interview 10A NCAC 71W .0302
Readopt with Changes*

Eligibility Determination Process 10A NCAC 71W .0303
Readopt without Changes*

Effective Date 10A NCAC 71W .0304
Readopt without Changes™

United States Citizenship 10A NCAC 71W .0403
Readopt without Changes™

Kinship and Living with a Specified Relative 10A NCAC 71W .0404
Readopt with Changes*

Residence 10A NCAC 71W .0405
Readopt with Changes*

Dreams 10A NCAC 71W .0407
Readopt with Changes*

Income 10A NCAC 71W .0408
Readopt with Changes*

Prospective Budgeting and Quarterly Reporting 10A NCAC 71W .0410
Readopt with Changes*

Jobs Program (JOBS) 10A NCAC 71W .0412
Readopt/Repeal*

Two-Parent Families 10A NCAC 71W .0413
Readopt/Repeal*

Interview 10A NCAC 71W .0502
Readopt without Changes*

Home Visits 10A NCAC 71W .0503
Readopt without Changes*

Check Issuance 10A NCAC 71W .0601
Readopt with Changes*

Receipt and Use of Checks 10A NCAC 71W .0602
Readopt/Repeal*

Lost, Stolen and Forged Checks 10A NCAC 71W .0603
Readopt/Repeal*

Correction of Overpayments 10A NCAC 71W .0604
Readopt with Changes*

Corrections of Underpayments 10A NCAC 71W .0605
Readopt without Changes*

Client Fraud and Intentional Violations 10A NCAC 71W .0606
Readopt with Changes*

Determination of Payment Amount 10A NCAC 71W .0607
Readopt/Repeal*

Benefit Levels 10A NCAC 71W .0704

Readopt with Changes*
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The rules in Chapter 72 concern educational assistance including general rules (.0100); eligibility (.0200); and
application (.0300).

Definitions 10A NCAC 72 .0102
Amend*

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 6 are from the Agent Services Division.

The rules in Subchapter 6A cover general provisions (.0100); forms (.0200); examinations (.0300); licensing (.0400);
license renewals and cancellations (.0500); license denials (.0600); prelicensing education (.0700); continuing
education (.0800); and public adjusters (.0900).

Licensing of Resident Agent, LTD Representative and Adjuster 11  NCAC 06A .0402
Amend*
Renewal of Agent Appts: Licenses/Limited Reps 11  NCAC 06A .0501
Amend*

The rules in Chapter 13 are from the Agent Services Division - Non-Insurance Entities including general provisions
(.0100); insurance premium finance companies (.0300); motor clubs (.0400); and bail bondsmen and runners (.0500).

Salesmen to be Licensed Insurance Agents 11 NCAC 13 .0410
Amend*

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 23E concern the administrative rules of the Industrial Commission including administration
(.0100); fees (.0200); and the rules of the commission (.0300).

Emergency Orders and Directives of the Chief Justice of t... 11 NCAC 23E .0302
Adopt*

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This
Commission has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention
standards for criminal justice personnel (not including sheriffs).

The rules in Subchapter 9A cover the Commission organization and procedure (.0100) and enforcement of the rules
(.0200).

Summary Suspensions 12 NCAC 09A .0206
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs
(.0200); criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification
of post-secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600).

Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice Officers 12 NCAC 09B .0101
Amend*

Certification Training for School Resource Officers 12 NCAC 09B .0313
Amend*

Trainee Attendance 12 NCAC 09B .0404
Amend*
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The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100);
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers
intermediate and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers,
and probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program
(.0600); and forms (.0700).

Physical and Mental Standards 12 NCAC 09G .0205
Amend*
Moral Character 12 NCAC 09G .0206
Amend*
Suspension: Revocation: or Denial of Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0504
Amend*
Summary Suspension 12 NCAC 09G .0506
Amend*

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200);
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers
(.0400); standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900);
certificate and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators
(.1000-.1700); in-service training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100).

Certification and Training for School Resources Officers 12 NCAC 10B .0510
Amend*

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies
(.0400); natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction
or maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in
estuarine and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or
ditches in estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility
lines with attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines
(.1600); emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the
mean high-water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard
AECs (.1900); authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public
trust waters and ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and
public trust waters (.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200);
replacement of existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal
wetlands (.2300); placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement
of structures; the reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation of existing
canals, basins, channels, or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500);
construction of wetland, stream and buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program
or the North Carolina Wetlands Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland
enhancement in estuarine and public trust waters (.2700).

AECs Within Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0304
Amend*

Technical Standards for Beach Fill Projects 15A NCAC 07H .0312
Amend*
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The rules in Subchapter 7J concern procedures for handling major development permits, variance requests, appeals
from minor development permit decisions and declaratory rulings. They include definitions (.0100); permit application
and procedures (.0200); hearing procedures (.0300); final approval and enforcement (.0400); general permits
(.0500); declaratory rulings and petitions for rulemaking (.0600); procedures for considering variance petitions
(.0700); general permit procedure (.1100); static vegetation line exception procedures (.1200); and development line
procedures (.1300).

Requesting the Static Line Exception 15A NCAC 07J .1201
Readopt without Changes*
Review of the Static Line Exception Request 15A NCAC 07J .1202
Readopt without Changes*
Procedure for Approving the Static Line Exception 15A NCAC 07J .1203
Readopt without Changes™
Review of the Large-Scale Beach-Fill Project and Approved... 15A NCAC 07J .1204
Readopt without Changes*
Revocation and Expiration of the Static Line Exception 15A NCAC 07J .1205
Readopt without Changes*
Local Government and Communities with Static Vegetation L... 15A NCAC 07J .1206
Readopt without Changes*
Requesting the Development Line 15A NCAC 07J .1301
Readopt without Changes*
Procedures for Approving the Development Line 15A NCAC 07J .1302
Readopt without Changes*
Local Governments and Communities with Development Lines 15A NCAC 07J .1303

Readopt without Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 7K set out activities in areas of environmental concern (AECs) which do not require a Coastal
Area Management Act (CAMA) permit. These include activities that are not considered development (.0100); exempt
minor maintenance and improvement (.0200); and exempt federal agency activities (.0400).

Single Family Residences Exempted 15A NCAC 07K .0208
Readopt without Changes*

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

The rules in Subchapter 16Q concern general anesthesia and sedation including definitions (.0100); general
anesthesia (.0200); parenteral conscious sedation (.0300); enteral conscious sedation (.0400); renewal of permits
(.0500); reporting and penalties (.0600); and penalty for non-compliance (.0700).

Application for General Anesthesia or Sedation Permit, Pe... 21 NCAC 16Q .0102
Adopt*

Iltinerant (Mobile) General Anesthesia Permit, Equipment a... 21 NCAC 16Q .0206
Amend*

Annual Review of General Anesthesia and Itinerant (Mobile... 21 NCAC 16Q .0207
Amend*

Annual Renewal of Moderate Parenteral and Enteral Conscio... 21 NCAC 16Q .0305
Amend*

Annual Renewal of Moderate Pediatric Conscious Sedation P... 21 NCAC 16Q .0407
Amend*

Minimal Conscious Sedation Credentials and Permit 21 NCAC 16Q .0504
Amend*

Minimal Conscious Sedation Clinical Requirements and Equi... 21 NCAC 16Q .0505
Amend*

Annual Renewal of Minimal Conscious Sedation Permit 21 NCAC 16Q .0506
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Adopt*
Procedure for Minimal Conscious Sedation Evaluation or In... 21 NCAC 16Q .0507
Adopt*

MEDICAL BOARD/BOARD OF NURSING
The rules in Subchapter 32M regulate the approval, registration and practice of nurse practitioners (.0100).

Prescribing Authority 21 NCAC 32M .0109
Amend*

MEDICAL BOARD
The rules in Subchapter 32M regulate the approval, registration and practice of nurse practitioners (.0100).

Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 32M .0117
Amend*

NURSING, BOARD OF/NC MEDICAL BOARD

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners
(.0800).

Prescribing Authority 21 NCAC 36 .0809
Amend*

PHARMACY, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other
health facilities (.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs
dispensed by nurse and physician assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions
(.2000); elections (.2100); continuing education (.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in
health departments (.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700);
compounding (.2800); product selection (.2900); disposal of unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner
(-3100); impaired pharmacist peer review program (.3200); and registry of pharmacist technicians (.3300).

Compounding 21 NCAC 46 .2801
Amend*

SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE BOARD

The rules in Chapter 63 deal with Social Work Certification including general rules (.0100); certification (.0200);
examinations (.0300); renewal of certification (.0400); ethical guidelines (.0500); disciplinary procedures (.0600);
adoption of rules (.0700); and professional corporations and limited liability companies.

Work Experience 21 NCAC 63 .0211
Amend*

VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD

The rules in Chapter 66 are from the Veterinary Medical Board including statutory and administrative provisions
(.0100); practice of veterinary medicine (.0200); examination and licensing procedures (.0300); rules petitions
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hearings (.0400); declaratory rulings (.0500); administrative hearings procedures (.0600); administrative hearings

decisions related rights (.0700) and judicial review (.0800).

Veterinary Telemedicine
Adopt*

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF

21 NCAC 66 .0211

The rules in Chapter 1 are general provisions for the Office of Administrative Hearings including petition for rule-

making and declaratory rulings.

Cost To Public
Amend*

26 NCAC 01 .0103

The rules in Chapter 3 are from the Hearings Division and cover procedure (.0100); mediated settlement conferences
(.0200); simplified procedures for medicaid applicant and recipient repeals (.0400); and electronic filing (.0500).

Official Record
Amend*

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

2018 NC Residential Code/Mandatory Requirements
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/General
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Heat Pumps

Amend*

NC Residential Code/References UL/CSA/ANCE 60335-2-40 & A...
Amend*

2018 NC Building Code

Amend*

2018 NC Mechanical Code/General

Amend*

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Forced-Air Furnaces and Heat Pumps
Amend*

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Factory-Built Equipment and Appli...
Amend*

2018 NC Mechanical Code/References UL/CSA 60335-2-40 & AS...
Amend*

2018 NC Energy Code/Definitions

Amend*

2018 NC Energy Code/Mandatory Requirements
Amend*

2018 NC Fire Code/Revocation

Repeal*

2018 NC Fire Code/Emergency Responder Communications Cove...
Amend*

2020 NC Electrical Code
Adopt*

26 NCAC 03 .0123

N1106.2
M1402.1
M1403.1
Chapter 44
403.4.5/916
908.1
918.1/918.2
1101.2
Chapter 15
Chapter 2
R406.2
304.4.4

510
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential.
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge

JULIAN MANN, I

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter
J. Randall May

David Sutton

Selina Malherbe

J. Randolph Ward
Stacey Bawtinhimer
Michael Byrne
Karlene Turrentine

Year | Code | Number Date Petitioner Respondent ALJ
Decision
Filed
Published
20 | CPS 03025 5/21/2021 Jonathan E Blood NC Crime Victims Compensation Sutton
Commission
20 | DOJ 04576 5/10/2021 | Abraham Jeremiah NC Criminal Justice Education and May
McMillion Training Standards Commission
20 | DOJ 04990 5/21/2021 Trashunda Mo'na NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Bawtinhimer
Keyes Standards Commission
19 | DST 02895; 5/28/2021 Davidson County Retirement Systems Division Culpepper
02896; Board of Education; Department of State Treasurer
02897, Henderson County
02898; Board of Education;
02899; Blue Ridge
02900; Community College
03752 Board of Trustees;
Granville County
Board of Education;
Mitchell County
Board of Education;
Moore County
Board of Education;
Elkin City Schools
Board of Education
19; | DST 03422; 5/28/2021 Wilkes County NC Retirement Systems Division Culpepper
20 03424, Board of Education Office of State Treasurer; Retirement
03425; on Behalf of The Systems Division Office of State
03430; Wilkes County Treasurer; Retirement Systems
03431; Schools; Johnston Division Office of State Treasurer;
03444; County Board of Retirement Systems Division
03753; Education on Department of State Treasurer;
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03754; Behalf of The Retirement Systems Division
06275; Johnston County Department of State Treasurer;
02876; Schools; Union Retirement Systems Division
02877 County Board of Department of State Treasurer;
Education on Retirement Systems Division
Behalf of The Department of State Treasurer;
Union County Retirement Systems Division
Schools; Clinton Department of State Treasurer;
City Schools Board Retirement Systems Division
of Education; Wake Department of State Treasurer; NC
County Board of Department of State Treasurer,
Education; Chapel Retirement Systems Division; NC
Hill-Carrboro Board Department of State Treasurer,
of Education; Retirement Systems Division
Lincoln County
Board of Education;
Granville Cournty
Board of Education;
Scotland County
Board of Education;
Madison County
Board of Education;
Swain County
Board of Education
20 | INS 04908 5/12/2021 Kimberly Jo North Carolina State Health Plan May
Salisbury
21 INS 00333 5/13/2021 Beth Anne Ulrich NC State Health Plan | Bawtinhimer
18 | OSP 04894 5/26/2021 Iris S Brown New Hanover CC/DPS Lassiter
Unpublished
19 | CSE | 05954 5/10/2021 | Ramon Sepulveda NC Department of Health and Human Culpepper
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 04151 5/17/2021 | Jack R Doughten NC Department of Health and Human May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 04294 5/11/2021 | Nigel Kelly NC Department of Health and Human Bawtinhimer
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 04318 5/11/2021 | Martin Delgado NC Department of Health and Human Bawtinhimer
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 04331 5/3/2021 | Kevin E Hedgepeth NC Department of Health and Human Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 04332 5/3/2021 | Kevin E Hedgepeth NC Department of Health and Human Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 04351 5/4/2021 | Steven M NC Department of Health and Human Lassiter
Hunsinger Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
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20

CSE

04392

5/12/2021

Justin Haley
Freeman

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

May

20

CSE

04395

5/20/2021

Jason Cooper

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04484

5/11/2021

Richard W
Williams

Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04496

5/11/2021

Daniel David Hayes
"

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04497

5/11/2021

James Grant

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04510

5/5/2021

Salim H Laverpool

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04513

5/19/2021

Graciano Ramos-
Hernandez

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Turrentine

20

CSE

04515

5/18/2021

Kenneth Foster

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04533

5/19/2021

Robert A Ball

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Sutton

20

CSE

04559

5/11/2021

Antonio Adams

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04570

5/3/2021

Phillip G Covington

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04601

5/21/2021

Richard E Copeland

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04606

5/5/2021

Robert Jenkins

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04612

5/20/2021

Darryl Adderly

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04628

5/18/2021

Mour Mamadou
Diop

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04666

5/11/2021

Kevin G Landis

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04668

5/5/2021

Eric M Taylor Sr

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Bawtinhimer

20

CSE

04691

5/10/2021

Juan R Edwards

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Byrne

20

CSE

04715

5/4/2021

Martin Cridge Jr

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Byrne
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20 | CSE | 04722 5/21/2021 | Vincent A Lzediuno NC Department of Health and Human May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 04777 5/28/2021 | Persivia Collins NC Department of Health and Human Byrne
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 04992 5/3/2021 | Teresa Myers NC Department of Health and Human Bawtinhimer
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 | CSE | 05080 5/7/2021 | Trudy Ann Brown NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
21 | CSE | 00011 5/3/2021 | Kathryn NC Department of Health and Human Bawtinhimer
Edgecombe Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
21 | CSE | 01242 5/7/2021 | Chris Newman Jr. NC Department of Health and Human Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
21 | CSE | 01298 5/24/2021 | Kenneth Cox NC Department of Health and Human Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
21 | DCS | 01457 5/13/2021 | Jessamy Hubbard NC Department of Health and Human Bawtinhimer
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
21 | DHR | 00418 5/5/2021 | Hotel Indigo NC Department of Health and Human | Mann
Carolos Rubio Services
21 | DHR | 00992 5/3/2021 | Absolute Home & NC Department of Health and Human Byrne
Community Services, Division of Health Service
Services Inc Regulation, Mental Health Licensure
and Certification
21 | DHR | 01470 5/12/2021 | David Michael NC Department of Health and Human Malherbe
Kistler Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
21 | INS | 01385 5/12/2021 | Megan E Gavin State Health Plan Byrne
21 | INS | 01490 5/13/2021 | Deyonta M Thacker North Carolina Department of State Malherbe
Treasurer
21 | INS | 01491 5/20/2021 | Michael K Silver North Carolina Department of Malherbe
Treasurer
21 | MIS | 01190 4/16/2021; Shahsultan Jaffer Durham Police Department and Byrne
5/10/2021 Durham Civilian Review Board
21 | OSP | 01614 5/14/2021 | Tabitha C Moore Rutherford County Department of Byrne
Social Services
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