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The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Child Care Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 10A 

NCAC 09 .3101-.3104. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Whats-New 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 28, 2021 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/onstage/g.php?MTID=e39ad490

11322dde164a73a0af0d61d02 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The NC Child Care Commission 

(Commission) previously adopted emergency and temporary 

rules to meet working families’ needs and to allow for compliance 

with the Governor's declaration of a state of emergency due to the 

Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19).  

 

Per this declaration, schools were closed to prevent the spread of 

the disease, but child care centers could continue operating, with 

additional precautions, to provide care so essential workers could 

maintain critical functions. Due to some child care programs not 

operating at full capacity, and the unusual need for care for 

school-age children during what is typically the school day, 

families had limited options for daytime care for school-age 

children learning remotely. The Commission adopted emergency 

and temporary rules to grant child care centers temporary 

flexibility to repurpose existing space or open new space to 

provide safe, daytime care to school-age children and help 

parents remain in the workforce.  

 

The Commission proposes to adopt permanent rules to extend this 

flexibility through the duration of the state of emergency. The 

proposed permanent rules would allow existing, currently 

licensed child care facilities to immediately utilize space, in 

addition to what is currently licensed for their facility, to provide 

temporary care to school-age children who are learning remotely, 

rather than in typical in-person school, only during a declared 

state of emergency. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dedra Alston, 2201 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 814-6307; email 

Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES 

 

SECTION .3100 – CARE FOR SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

DURING STATE OF EMERGENCY 

 

10A NCAC 09 .3101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Section apply to care for school-age children, as 

defined by 10A NCAC 09 .0102(41), during the declared State of 

Emergency to coordinate the State's response and protective 

actions to address the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) 

public health emergency and to provide for the health, safety, and 

welfare of residents and visitors located in North Carolina 

("Declaration of a State of Emergency") and any subsequent 

declared State of Emergency arising out of or related to the 

COVID-19 public health emergency. All rules in Section .2500 of 

this Chapter apply except as provided in this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .3102 DEFINITIONS 

The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as follows 

except when the context of the rule requires a different meaning. 

(1) "Public schools" means: 

(a) any building that is approved for 

school occupancy and which houses 

school-age children as part of the 
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public school system during the school 

year; or 

(b) a remote learning facility. 

(2) "Remote learning facility" means any building 

that is used by a public school system, pursuant 

to a contractual arrangement, to house school-

age children enrolled in that public school 

system during the school year for the purpose 

of facilitating online or remote learning 

programs, and that follows any and all guidance 

or considerations offered by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention related to 

mitigation strategies, the protection of students, 

teachers, and staff, or slowing the spread of 

COVID-19 in K-12 schools. The information 

and documents are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, and may be accessed at 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/schools-

childcare/schools.html at no cost. 

(3) "Contractual arrangement" means a written 

agreement wherein the public school unit, as 

defined in G.S. 115C-5(7A), agrees as follows: 

(a) to be responsible for the enrollment 

and attendance of school-age children 

at a remote learning facility; and 

(b) that it shall be liable for any incidents 

or occurrences at the remote learning 

facility in the same way it would be 

liable if the school-age child(ren) were 

in a building that is approved for 

school occupancy and which houses 

any part of the public school system. 

Notwithstanding the foregoing, this 

provision shall not prohibit the public 

school unit from obtaining liability 

insurance or from contracting with the 

remote learning facility regarding 

indemnification or other terms 

regarding the apportionment of 

liability between themselves for 

incidents or occurrences. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .3103 PUBLIC SCHOOLS 

Pursuant to G.S. 110-86(2)(e), public schools are not child care 

and are, therefore, exempt from licensure. Notwithstanding any 

other provision of this Section, all NC Pre-K programs, as defined 

in Section .3000 of this Chapter, and Developmental Day 

Services, as defined in Section .2900 of this Chapter, and any 

program or arrangement housed in a public school that is not 

operated by the public school unit and provides care to three or 

more infants, toddlers, or preschoolers on a regular basis of at 

least once per week for more than four hours from persons other 

than their guardians or full time custodians or from persons not 

related to them by birth, marriage, or adoption are child care as 

defined in G.S. 110-86(2) and requires a child care license. 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .3104 ADDING SPACE AT LICENSED 

CENTERS FOR CARE OF SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

If an operator of a licensed child care center wishes to use 

additional space not previously approved for child care, regardless 

of location, to care for school-age children during the Declaration 

of a State of Emergency, the operator shall notify the Division of 

the desired change pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .0204, but shall 

have six months to obtain any required inspections of the 

additional space by the local health, building, and fire inspections 

in accordance with G.S. 110-91(1), (4), and (5). If all other 

standards set forth in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter are met, the 

operator may provide care to school-age children in the additional 

space and the Division shall document the same in a manner that 

will notify parents and the public of the change. Once the operator 

provides documentation that the additional space conforms to all 

applicable sanitation, building, and fire standards, and if all 

applicable requirements of G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Chapter 

are met, the Division shall issue a new license pursuant to 10A 

NCAC 09 .0204. If a health, building, or fire inspection reveals 

that the additional space does not conform to the required 

standards, the Division may issue a provisional license as set forth 

in 10A NCAC 09 .2204. Any space that the operator desires to 

use as additional space for care of school-age children, which is 

not located within the currently licensed facility, shall not be 

required to meet the outdoor space and fencing requirements of 

G.S. 110-91(6). If there is no outdoor space at the additional space 

to be used for care of school-age children, that is not located 

within the currently licensed facility, operators shall not be 

required to meet the requirements of 10A NCAC 09 .0508(c). 

Notwithstanding any other provision in this Section, operators 

shall provide indoor space for daily gross motor activities when 

outdoor space is not available. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

HHS - Division of Health Benefits intends to adopt the rule cited 

as 10A NCAC 21A .0304. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/meetings-and-notices/rules-actions 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 17, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Join by dialing (877) 336-1839, entering access code 

3956100. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 108A-79(i) 

(Public Assistance and Social Services Appeals and Access to 

Records) and 108A-54 (Authorization of Medical Assistance 

Program; administration), the Department is authorized to adopt 

rules to implement the program including appeals processes.   
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DHB wishes to permit Medicaid hearing officers to conduct 

appeal hearings by electronic means with the parties attending at 

the DSS office in order to streamline disposition, reduce staff time 

spent on travel, and offer alternative means of holding hearings 

in the event a local DSS office is closed due to emergency. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(8) a copy of the fiscal note may be 

obtained from DHB. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shazia Keller, 1985 Umstead 

Drive, 2501 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone 

(919) 218-1372; email MedicaidRulesComments@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 21 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

ADMINISTRATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 21A - GENERAL PROGRAM 

ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPEALS 

 

10A NCAC 21A .0304 CONDUCTING DEPARTMENT 

APPEAL HEARINGS BY TELEPHONE OR 

ELECTRONIC MEANS 

For public assistance and social services de novo appeals, 

including appeals of cases involving disability filed pursuant to 

G.S. 108A-79(i): 

(1) The Department shall conduct the appeal 

hearing by telephone or other electronic means 

with the parties attending at the county 

department of social services with jurisdiction 

over the case. 

(2) The Department shall notify the appellant of the 

hearing by First Class U.S. Mail. 

(3) In the case of an emergency that causes a 

county department of social services to be 

closed to the public, the parties shall attend by 

telephone or other electronic means. The 

county department of social services shall make 

available by electronic mail, U.S. Mail or 

physical pick up the case file materials the 

appellant is entitled to examine pursuant to G.S. 

108A-79(i)(1). 

(4) The Department shall continue such appeal 

hearings as necessary to fulfill procedural rights 

of the appellant as defined by 42 CFR 431.242, 

which is incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and 

available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov. 

 

Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-79; 108A-80(d); 42 CFR 431.205; 

42 CFR 431.240; 42 CFR 431.242. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

HHS - Division of Health Benefits intends to amend the rule cited 

as 10A NCAC 23B .0102. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/meetings-and-notices/rules-actions 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 17, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Join by dialing (877) 336-1839, entering access code 

3956100. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to S.L. 2020-78 Section 

4D.2, DHB is codifying its existing practice of issuing annual 

Medicaid ID cards. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shazia Keller, 1985 Umstead 

Drive, 2501 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone 

(919) 218-1372; MedicaidRulesComment@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
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on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 23 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

ADMINISTRATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23B - BENEFITS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL 

 

10A NCAC 23B .0102 ISSUANCE 

(a)  Cards shall be issued by the State at any time of the month 

for: 

(1) Approved applications; 

(2) Cases authorized after meeting a deductible; 

(3) Requests by the county agency. Change in 

primary care provider; or 

(4) Change in LME/MCO catchment area. 

(b)  Cards shall be issued by the state at the beginning of each 

month for clients authorized for the month.  

(b)(c)  Cards shall be issued requested by the county agency for 

issuance by the state for: 

(1) Emergencies as indicated in the Eligibility 

Manuals; 

(2) Replacement of lost, stolen, burned or incorrect 

cards; 

(3) Non-receipt of a state issued card; and 

(4) Requests by a second county during a county 

transfer. 

(c)(d)  Cards shall be issued by the State 12 months from the last 

issuance date if the client remains eligible.  

 

Authority G.S. 108A-54; S.L. 2020-78, s. 4D.2. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to adopt the rule cited as 

10A NCAC 41A .0107. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 28, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  COVID-19, a novel coronavirus, 

was identified as the cause of an emerging infectious disease 

outbreak in December 2019 in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. 

This novel coronavirus causes respiratory illness ranging in 

severity from mild illness to death. The North Carolina Division 

of Public Health is working closely with the Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention (CDC) to monitor and respond to this 

pandemic in North Carolina.  

 

Due to the widespread community transmission of this serious, 

infectious disease, testing is occurring in non-traditional 

environments, such as community-based testing sites. For this 

reason, reporting requirements need to be extended to other types 

of healthcare providers potentially involved in testing, such as 

nurses, pharmacists, and dentists. It is also imperative that public 

health officials receive not only positive tests results, but also 

negative test results, to better understand the prevalence of the 

disease in North Carolina.  

 

To address this, the legislature enacted S.L. 2020-4 Sec. 

4.10(a)(1) and the State Health Director issued a temporary 

order, pursuant to her authority under G.S. 130A-141.1, requiring 

healthcare providers and laboratories to report all COVID-19 

diagnostic test results, both positive and negative, effective July 

7, 2020. On September 15, 2020, the Commission for Public 

Health (CPH) adopted 10A NCAC 41A .0107 under emergency 

procedures and simultaneously proposed to adopt 10A NCAC 

41A .0107 under temporary procedures to continue the reporting 

requirement. The temporary rule was adopted by CPH at its 

meeting on November 4, 2020.  This proposed permanent rule 

would ensure the continuation of the requirement that healthcare 

providers and laboratories report all COVID-19 diagnostic test 

results, both positive and negative, to public health officials. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
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Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0100 - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0107 REPORTING OF COVID-19 

DIAGNOSTIC TEST RESULTS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "COVID-19 diagnostic test" means any nucleic 

acid or antigen test that identifies SARS-CoV-

2, the virus that causes COVID-19. 

(2) "Electronic laboratory reporting" means the 

automated messaging of laboratory reports sent 

to the Division of Public Health using a 

machine-readable electronic communication 

protocol. 

(3) "Healthcare provider" means a healthcare 

provider as defined in G.S. 130A-476(g). 

(4) "Laboratory" means a facility that performs 

testing on specimens obtained from humans for 

the purpose of providing information for health 

assessment and for the diagnosis, prevention, or 

treatment of disease and is certified by the 

United States Department of Health and Human 

Services under the Clinical Laboratory 

Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) 

and implementing regulations. This definition 

includes a healthcare provider who performs 

testing in an on-site facility that meets these 

requirements. 

(b)  Each person in charge of a laboratory providing diagnostic 

service in this State shall report the results of all COVID-19 

diagnostic tests to the Division of Public Health using electronic 

laboratory reporting. For purposes of COVID-19, a novel 

coronavirus under Rule .0101(c)(1) of this Section, the required 

method of reporting set out in Rules .0101(c) and .0102(d)(3) of 

this Section shall not apply. The report shall include all of the 

elements required to be reported under the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services, laboratory data 

reporting guidance, which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent amendments and editions, and available 

free of charge at https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/covid-

19-laboratory-data-reporting-guidance.pdf. 

(c)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a laboratory: 

(1) submits a COVID-19 Laboratory Data 

Automation Registration form to the Division 

of Public Health and acts to onboard to 

electronic laboratory reporting. This form shall 

be submitted within seven calendar days of the 

date the laboratory starts performing COVID-

19 diagnostic testing and shall contain the 

following elements: 

(A) the name, address, phone number, and 

CLIA number of the laboratory; 

(B) the name, address, and phone number 

of the person in charge of the 

laboratory or that person's designee; 

(C) the type of test performed, testing 

capacity, and whether the laboratory 

will use a third-party laboratory to 

perform part or all of the testing; and 

(D) if the laboratory will use a third-party 

laboratory to perform part or all of the 

testing, the information in Parts (A)-

(B) of this Subparagraph for the third-

party laboratory; and 

(2) until onboarding to electronic laboratory 

reporting is complete: 

(A) reports the results of positive COVID-

19 diagnostic tests to the Division of 

Public Health, including all elements 

required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

by telefax; and 

(B) reports the aggregate number of 

positive and negative nucleic acid 

COVID-19 diagnostic tests and the 

aggregate number of positive and 

negative antigen COVID-19 

diagnostic tests per day to the Division 

of Public Health through an online 

survey available at: 

https://files.nc.gov/covid/documents/e

CATR-Reference-Guide.pdf. 

(d)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a laboratory that completes fewer than 50 

total COVID-19 diagnostic tests per week submits results as set 

out in Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule. 

(e)  Healthcare providers who order COVID-19 diagnostic testing 

in this State shall: 

(1) report the results of positive COVID-19 

diagnostic tests by telefax to the local health 

director in the county or district where the 

patient resides. The report shall contain: 

(A) patient first and last name, date of 

birth, address, county of residence, 

phone number, sex, race, and 

ethnicity; 

(B) provider name, address, phone 

number, and NPI; 

(C) the specimen collection date, the test 

order date, and the test result date; 

(D) the test result; and 
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(E) all other available elements required in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and 

(2) report the aggregate number of positive and 

negative nucleic acid COVID-19 diagnostic 

tests and the aggregate number of positive and 

negative antigen COVID-19 diagnostic tests 

per day to the Division of Public Health through 

an online survey. 

(f)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a healthcare provider: 

(1) verifies that the laboratory that receives the 

specimen for testing will report the test result in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and 

(2) includes patient first and last name, date of 

birth, address, county of residence, phone 

number, sex, race, ethnicity, and specimen 

collection date on the lab order. 

(g)  The requirement for healthcare providers to report COVID-

19 diagnostic test results, as set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

is separate from the requirement for physicians to report suspected 

infections of COVID-19, a novel coronavirus, including positive 

COVID-19 diagnostic test results, in accordance with G.S. 130A-

135 and Rules .0101(a) and .0102(a) of this Section. 

(h)  Laboratories and healthcare providers who are required to 

report under this Rule shall report positive COVID-19 diagnostic 

test results immediately upon receiving the result and negative 

COVID-19 diagnostic test results within 24 hours of receiving the 

result. Results reported to a local health department under this 

Rule shall be forwarded to the Division of Public Health within 

24 hours of receipt by the local health department. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-139; 130A-141; 

130A-141.1; S.L. 2020-4, s. 4.10(a)(1); P.L. 100-578; 42 C.F.R. 

493. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to amend the rule cited as 

10A NCAC 41A .0212. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 30, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  COVID-19, a novel coronavirus, 

was identified as the cause of an emerging infectious disease 

outbreak in December 2019 in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. 

This novel coronavirus causes respiratory illness ranging in 

severity from mild illness to death. The North Carolina Division 

of Public Health is working closely with the Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention (CDC) to monitor and respond to this 

pandemic in North Carolina.  

 

On June 18, 2020, the North Carolina Commission for Public 

Health (CPH) received a petition for rulemaking from the North 

Carolina Board of Funeral Service, requesting that CPH consider 

amending rule 10A NCAC  41A .0212 to set out the proper 

precautions to prevent infection in the handling and 

transportation of the bodies of persons infected with COVID-19 

and require notification of those precautions. Pursuant to G.S. 

150B-20, CPH fully considered and granted the petition at its 

meeting on August 5, 2020. At a special meeting on September 15, 

2020, CPH adopted an amendment to 10A NCAC 41A .0212 

under emergency procedures and simultaneously proposed to 

amend 10A NCAC 41A .0212 under temporary procedures. The 

temporary amendment was adopted on November 4, 2020. This 

proposed permanent amendment would ensure that these changes 

do not expire from the Administrative Code. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH  

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0200 - CONTROL MEASURES FOR 

COMMUNICABLE DISEASES 
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10A NCAC 41A .0212 HANDLING AND 

TRANSPORTATION OF BODIES 

(a)  Persons handling the body of any person who has died shall 

comply with the standard precautions for all patient care 

published by the United States Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, which are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

any subsequent amendments and editions, and available free of 

charge at: https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/basics/standard-

precautions.html. 

(a)(b)  It shall be the duty of the physician physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner attending to any person who dies 

and is known to be infected with HIV, plague, or hepatitis B B, or 

COVID-19 or any person who dies and is known or reasonably 

suspected to be infected with smallpox, rabies, severe acute 

respiratory syndrome (SARS), or Jakob-Creutzfeldt to provide 

written written, verbal, or electronic notification to all individuals 

handling the body of the proper precautions to prevent infection. 

infection, as set forth in Paragraphs (d), (e), and (f) of this Rule. 

This written written, verbal, or electronic notification shall be 

provided to the funeral service director, funeral service worker, or 

body transporter personnel at the time the body is removed from 

any hospital, nursing home, or other health care facility. When the 

patient dies in a location other than a health care facility, the 

attending physician physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner shall notify the funeral service director, funeral 

service worker, or body transporter personnel verbally of the 

precautions required as soon as the physician physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner becomes aware of the death. These 

precautions are noted in Paragraphs (b)(d), (e), and (c). (f) of this 

Rule. The duty to notify shall be considered met if performed by 

one of the following individuals: 

(1) the physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner attending to the person who died; 

or 

(2) a designated representative of the physician, 

physician assistant, or nurse practitioner. 

(c)  It shall also be the duty of a medical examiner with jurisdiction 

pursuant to G.S. 130A-383 over the body of any person who dies 

and is known to be infected with COVID-19 to provide written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to the funeral service director, 

funeral service worker, or body transporter at the time the body is 

removed from medical examiner custody of the proper 

precautions to prevent infection. infection, as set forth in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. These precautions are noted in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. The duty to notify shall be considered 

met if performed by a designated representative of the medical 

examiner. 

(b)(d)  The body of any person who died and is known or 

reasonably suspected to be infected with smallpox or severe acute 

respiratory syndrome (SARS) or any person who died and is 

known to be infected with plague shall not be embalmed. The 

body shall be enclosed in a strong, tightly sealed outer case which 

that will prevent leakage or escape of odors as soon as possible 

after death and before the body is removed from the hospital 

room, home, building, or other premises where the death 

occurred. This case shall not be reopened except with the consent 

of the local health director. Nothing in this Paragraph shall 

prohibit cremation. 

(c)(e)  Persons handling the body of any person who died and is 

known to be infected with HIV or hepatitis B or any person who 

died and is known or reasonably suspected to be infected with 

Jakob-Creutzfeldt or rabies shall be provided written written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to observe blood and body fluid 

precautions. 

(f)  Persons handling the body of any person who died and is 

known to be infected with COVID-19 shall be provided written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to observe the COVID-19 

guidance for funeral home workers published by the United States 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments 

or editions, and available free of charge at: 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/funeral-faqs.html. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-144; 130A-146. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Code Officials Qualification Board intends to amend the rule 

cited as 11 NCAC 08 .0734. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncosfm.gov/licensing-cert/code-officials-

qualification-board-coqb/coqb-board-statutes-and-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 27, 2021 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  NCDOI, Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603, Hearing Room 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule is being proposed for 

amendment to provide clarification to the modification of venting 

and the change out of gas appliance that fall within the score of 

this rule. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Loretta Peace-Bunch, 325 

North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603; phone (919) 807-

6004; email Loretta.Peace-Bunch@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
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The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0700 - QUALIFICATION BOARD-STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0734 RESIDENTIAL CHANGEOUT 

INSPECTOR 

(a)  Qualifications and types: 

(1) A residential changeout inspector shall be 

authorized to inspect the replacement of a 

residential appliance as described in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph for one-and-

two family dwellings, and individual residential 

units of condominiums and apartments 

provided the individual residential appliance 

serves only that residential dwelling unit. 

(2) A residential changeout inspector may inspect 

the replacement of heating and air conditioning 

appliances and water heaters, provided that all 

of the following apply: 

(A) the new appliance requires no 

alterations to the existing ducting, fuel 

type, venting, or piping systems other 

than that required for transitioning to 

the new appliance; 

(B) any venting associated with the new 

appliance shall be allowed to be 

installed, replaced, and repaired where 

such venting does not pass through a 

rated assembly; 

(C) any new gas appliance shall be of the 

same category as the appliance being 

replaced; 

(B)(D) the new appliance does not require 

relocation, excluding minor 

adjustments in the same general 

vicinity; 

(C)(E) the installation of the new appliance 

does not require the relocation or 

addition to the existing electrical 

system, except the replacement of the 

appliance's branch circuit overcurrent 

device, or the replacement of the 

appliance's branch circuit where such 

circuit does not pass through a rated 

assembly shall be allowed; and 

(D)(F) the electrical branch circuit serving the 

appliance is single phase. 

(b)  The inspection performance log referenced in this Rule is 

available on the Office of State Fire Marshal website. The 

inspection performance log shall describe the criteria for 

authenticating the applicant and supervisors' qualifications, and 

the inspections performed. 

(c)  Every applicant shall: 

(1) provide documentation that the applicant 

possesses a minimum of a high school 

education or a high school equivalency 

certificate; 

(2) provide notarized certification by a city or 

county manager, clerk, or director of inspection 

department that the applicant will be 

performing "code enforcement," as defined in 

G.S. 143-151.8(a)(3), as an employee of that 

city or county; or provide certification by the 

head of the Engineering and Building Codes 

Division of the North Carolina Department of 

Insurance that the applicant will be performing 

"code enforcement," as defined in G.S. 143-

151.8(a)(3), for a State department or agency; 

(3) successfully complete courses developed by the 

Board. All applicants must successfully 

complete a law and administration course and a 

residential changeout inspections course. For 

the purpose of entry into the written 

examination administered by the Board, 

courses must be completed within five years of 

the exam in Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph. 

These courses shall be administered and taught 

in the N.C. Community College System or 

other educational agencies accredited by a 

regional accrediting association. The North 

Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of 

State Fire Marshal may administer and teach 

certification courses for the purposes of 

developing program content and professional 

development. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"successful completion" is defined as 

attendance of a minimum of 80 percent of the 

hours taught and achieving a minimum score of 

70 percent on the course exam; and 

(4) achieve a passing grade of 70 percent on the 

written examination administered by the Board. 

(d)  Residential Changeout Inspector. A standard certificate, 

residential changeout inspector, shall be issued to any applicant 

who possesses a probationary residential changeout inspection 

certificate pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 08 .0602, complies with 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and one of the following education and 

experience qualifications: 

(1) possess any level standard certificate as an 

electrical inspector, mechanical inspector, or 

plumbing inspector; or 

(2) all the following: 
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(A) at least six months of conducting 

residential changeout inspections with 

a probationary residential changeout 

inspection certificate; and 

(B) completion and submission of an 

inspection performance log as 

administered by the North Carolina 

Department of Insurance, Office of 

State Fire Marshal. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Private Protective Services Board intends to amend the rules cited 

as 14B NCAC 16 .0201, .0806, .0904, .1202, and .1203. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/private-

protective-services-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 22, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These amendments are currently 

temporary rules to ease the burden on licensees during the current 

pandemic. They are being proposed as a permanent amendment 

to alleviate any similar burden for a future national or State 

declared emergency. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax 

(919) 715-0370; email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an 

applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator trainees applying for a license shall make 

available for inspection a log of experience on a form provided by 

the Board. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 

(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with a Board 

investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another 
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Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. During a national or State declared state of 

emergency that restricts or prohibits travel, the personal meeting 

requirement may be waived if requested by the applicant in lieu 

of alternative means of communication. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-12. 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 

registration permit identification card or his or 

her employer shall complete an online form on the website 

provided by the Board. This online form shall be submitted not 

more than 90 days prior to expiration of the applicant's current 

armed registration and shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history search obtained by 

the reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy 

of the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application 

for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(d)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 

light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 

(e)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a registered armed security guard from 

requalifying, the Board may extend the deadline for 

requalification up to 60 days beyond the effective period of the 

state of emergency. Any registration renewed pursuant to this 

Paragraph shall be issued conditionally and shall automatically 

expire on the 60th day if requalification requirements have not 

been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete an online renewal form on the website 

provided by the Board. This form shall be submitted online not 

less than 30 days prior to the expiration of the 

applicant's current certificate and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) uploaded online a certificate of successful 

completion of a firearms trainer refresher 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety consisting of a minimum of 

eight hours of classroom and practical range 

training in safety and maintenance of the 

applicable firearm (i.e. handgun, shotgun, or 

rifle), range operations, control and safety 

procedures, and methods of firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) uploaded online a statement of the results of a 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

service designated by the Board pursuant to 

G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state where the 

applicant has resided within the preceding 48 

months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 
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the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(c)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue 

to instruct during the period between the failure to qualify and the 

expiration of his or her permit. 

(d)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for 

personal requalification. 

(e)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a certified firearms trainer from requalifying, 

the Board may extend the deadline for requalification up to 60 

days beyond the effective period of the state of emergency. Any 

certificate renewed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued 

conditionally and shall automatically expire on the 60th day if 

requalification requirements have not been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .1200 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1202 REQUIRED CONTINUING 

EDUCATION HOURS 

(a)  Each licensee shall complete 12 credit hours of continuing 

education training during each two year renewal period. 

(b)  Credit shall be given only for classes that have been approved 

by the Board as set forth in Rule .1203 of this Section. 

(c)  A licensee who attends a complete meeting of a regularly 

scheduled meeting of the Board shall receive two credit hours for 

each meeting that the licensee attends, with credit being given for 

a maximum of two meetings per year with no more than four 

credit hours per year and eight credit hours per renewal period. 

(d)  No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during a 

renewal period for online courses. However, during a national or 

State declared state of emergency that restricts or prohibits a 

licensee from attending live continuing education courses or a 

meeting of the Board, all required hours may be obtained online 

and credit shall be given upon written request to the Director. 

(e)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-22. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(a)  CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by 

submitting the following information to the Board for 

consideration: 

(1) the nature and purpose of the course; 

(2) the course objectives or goals; 

(3) the outline of the course, including the number 

of training hours for each segment; and 

(4) the name of the instructor. 

(b)  To determine if a course will receive approval from the Board, 

the Board shall complete the following review: 

(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and 

Education Committee for the appointment of a 

sub-committee that shall review the course 

under consideration. The sub-committee shall 

consist of at least two industry members of the 

Training and Education Committee. Other 

members of the sub-committee may be 

appointed at the discretion of the Training and 

Education Committee Chairman. 

(2) The sub-committee shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the 

industry, and if the course meets its stated 

objectives or goals. 

(3) When the sub-committee completes its review, 

it shall report to the Training and Education 

Committee. The Training and Education 

Committee shall review the course to determine 

if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if 

the course meets its stated objectives and goals. 

The Training and Education Committee shall 

then report the findings with a recommendation 

of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, 

the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority 

vote if the course will be approved for continuing education 

credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the 

course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and 

if the course meets its stated objectives or goals. 

(d)  Each approved course shall remain an approved course for 

four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the 

course instructor changes. 

(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education 

credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight 

hour cap of continuing education credit every two years. 

(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting 

institutions shall be granted standing approval when the 

institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the 

Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another 

state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security 

profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and 

investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour not to 

exceed eight credit hours. 

(g)  Online courses shall be approved by the Board based on 

compliance with the standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during 

a renewal period for online courses. 

(h)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health 

intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18A .2651-.2655, 

.2661 and readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A 

NCAC 18A .2650, .2670, and .2674. 
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 28, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The North Carolina Commission 

for Public Health is proposing to update these rules to align with 

the United States Food and Drug Administration’s 2017 Food 

Code and Supplement as well as to reflect current requirements 

and practices and clarify language. In addition, 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650, .2670, and .2674 are being readopted with substantive 

changes pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and 

Expiration of Existing Rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .2600 – THE SANITATION OF FOOD 

SERVICE ESTABLISHMENTS 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2650 GENERAL – ADOPTION BY 

REFERENCE 

The 2009 2017 Food Code, Code and the accompanying 2017 

Food Code Supplement, not including subsequent amendments 

and editions, established by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Food and Drug Administration (hereinafter 

referred to as the "Food Code") is are hereby incorporated by 

reference. The A copy of the Food Code is available online and 

free of charge at: www.fda.gov/food/fda-food-code/food-code-

2017. may be accessed from the internet at 

www.fda.gov/Food/FoodSafety/RetailFoodProtection/FoodCode

/default.htm, or a copy can be obtained by contacting the U.S. 

Department of Commerce, National Technical Information 

Service, at (703) 605-6040, and is also available for inspection at 

the Division of Public Health, N.C. Department of Health and 

Human Services. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2651 DEFINITIONS 

The provisions of this Rule make amendments, additions, and 

deletions to the Food Code incorporated by reference in Rule 

.2650 of this Section. In Chapter 1, the following apply: 

(1) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Commissary' 

means a food establishment that services a 

mobile food unit or a pushcart." 

(2) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Congregate 

nutrition sites' means food establishments 

where food preparation is limited to same day 

service, reheating of potentially hazardous food 

(time/temperature control for safety food), 

time/temperature control for safety food, and 

operated under the rules of the Division of 

Aging and Adult Services, N.C. Department of 

Health and Human Services." 

(3) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Department' 

means the N.C. Department of Health and 

Human Services." 

(4) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), "Equipment (1)" to 

read: "means an article that is used in the 

operation of a food establishment such as a 

freezer, grinder, hood, ice maker, meat block, 

mixer, oven, reach-in refrigerator, scale, sink, 

slicer, stove, table, temperature measuring 

device for ambient air, or warewashing 

machine." 

(4)(5) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), amend "Food 

establishment (2)(b)" to read: "An operation 

that is conducted in a mobile, stationary, 

temporary, or permanent facility or location and 

where consumption is on or off the premises." 

(5)(6) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), amend "Food 

establishment (3)" to read: "'Food 

establishment' does not include entities 

exempted as described in G.S. 130A-250 or 

establishments that only serve such items as dip 

ice cream, popcorn, candied apples, or cotton 

candy." 
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(6)(7) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Food stand' 

means a food establishment that prepares or 

serves food and that does not only provide 

provides seating facilities for customers to use 

while eating or drinking." as set forth in G.S. 

130A-248(a6)." 

(7)(8) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Good repair' 

means equipment and utensils shall be 

maintained in a state of repair and condition that 

meets the requirements specified under Parts 4-

1 and 4-2 of the Food Code as amended by Rule 

.2654." 

(8)(9) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), amend "Imminent 

health hazard" to: to read: "'Imminent health 

hazard' means an imminent hazard as defined in 

G.S. 130A-2(3)." 

(9)(10) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Limited food 

services establishment' means a food 

establishment as defined in G.S. 130A-247(7)." 

(10)(11) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Local health 

director' means a local health director as 

defined in G.S. 130A-2(6)." 

(11)(12) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), amend "Meat" to 

read: "'Meat' means the flesh of animals used as 

food including the dressed flesh of cattle, 

swine, sheep, or goat, other edible animals, and 

as defined in G.S. 106-549.15(14), except fish, 

poultry, and wild game animals as specified 

under Subparagraphs 3-201.17(A)(3) and (4)." 

(12)(13) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Mobile food 

unit' means a food establishment or pushcart 

with no permanent utility connections, except 

for an onsite electrical connection, that is 

designed to be readily moved and vend food." 

food and that does not provide seating facilities 

for customers to use while eating or drinking." 

(13)(14) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), amend "Person" to: 

to read: "'Person' means person as defined in 

G.S. 130A-2(7)." 

(14)(15) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), amend "Poultry (1)" 

to read: "Any domesticated bird (chickens, 

turkeys, ducks, geese, guineas, ratites, or 

squabs), whether live or dead, as defined in 9 

CFR 381.1 Poultry Products Inspection 

Regulations Definitions, Poultry, and G.S. 106-

549.51(26); and" 

(15)(16) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Pushcart' 

means a mobile piece of equipment or vehicle 

used to vend food." 

(16)(17) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Registered 

Environmental Health Specialist' means a 

Registered Environmental Health Specialist as 

defined in G.S. 90A-51(2b) and 90A-51(4) and 

authorized agent of the Department." 

(17)(18) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: amend 

"Regulatory Authority" to read: "'Regulatory 

Authority' means the Department or authorized 

agent of the Department." 

(18)(19) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Restaurant' 

means a food establishment that prepares or 

serves food and provides seating." 

(19)(20) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Supplemental 

cooking room' means a separate attached or 

detached structure in that food is cooked on 

grills, pits, or fireplaces and no other processing 

occurs." 

(20)(21) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), amend "Temporary 

food establishment" to: to read: "(1) 

"'Temporary 'Temporary food establishment' 

means a food establishment that operates for a 

period of time not to exceed 21 days in one 

location, affiliated with and endorsed by a 

transitory fair, carnival, circus, festival, or 

public exhibition. Food establishments that 

operate in the same event location for more than 

21 days per calendar year are not eligible for a 

temporary food establishment permit. Domestic 

yard sales and businesses such as auctions, flea 

markets, or farmers' markets are not eligible for 

a temporary food establishment permit." as 

defined in G.S. 130A-247(8).(2) 'Temporary 

food establishment' does not include domestic 

yard sales and businesses such as auctions and 

flea markets." 

(21)(22) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Temporary 

food establishment commissary' means a food 

establishment affiliated with a temporary food 

establishment that prepares food in advance of 

or off-site. off-site from the event. The 

temporary food establishment commissary 

permit shall be valid for no more than 21 

consecutive days the time period described in 

G.S. 130A-247(8) and shall be permitted no 

more than 7 days prior to commencement of the 

event. Food establishments that operate in the 

same location for more than 21 days the time 

period described in G.S. 130A-247(8) per 

calendar year are not eligible for a temporary 

food establishment commissary permit. Food 

shall not be sold directly from the temporary 

food establishment commissary. The temporary 

food establishment commissary shall comply 

with all temporary food establishment 

requirements." 

(22)(23) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), add: "'Transitional 

Permit' means a permit issued by the regulatory 

authority upon the transfer of ownership or 

lease of an existing food establishment to allow 

the correction of construction and equipment 

problems that do not represent an immediate 

threat to public health. as defined at G.S. 130A-

248(c). The transitional permit shall expire 180 

days after the date of issuance." 

(23)(24) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), delete the definition 

of "Vending machine." 

(24)(25) In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), delete the definition 

of "Vending machine location." 
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Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2652 MANAGEMENT AND 

PERSONNEL 

The provisions of this Rule make amendments, additions, and 

deletions to the Food Code incorporated by reference in Rule 

.2650 of this Section. In Chapter 2, the following apply: 

(1) In Paragraph 2-101.11(B), amend to read: "In a 

food establishment with two or more separately 

permitted departments that are the legal 

responsibility of the same permit holder and 

that are located on the same premises, the 

permit holder may designate a single person in 

charge who is present on the premises during all 

hours of operation, and who is responsible for 

each separately permitted food establishment 

on the premises." 

(2) In Section Paragraph 2-102.11, 2-102.11(A), 

amend the last sentence in the first paragraph 

to: to read: "The person in charge shall 

demonstrate this knowledge by being a certified 

food protection manager who has shown 

proficiency of required information through 

passing a test that is part of an accredited 

program. The person in charge is not required 

to be a certified food protection manager when 

the food establishment is not operating and food 

is not being prepared, packaged, or served for 

immediate consumption." "Complying with 

this code by having no violations of priority 

items during the current inspection; or" 

(3) In Section 2-102.11, delete (A), (B), and (C). 

(4) In Subpart 2-102, add Section 2-102.12, 

Certified Food Protection Manager, to read: 

"2-102.12 Certified Food Protection Manager. 

(A) At least one employee who has 

supervisory and management 

responsibility and the authority to 

direct and control food preparation 

and service shall be a certified food 

protection manager who has shown 

proficiency of required information 

through passing a test that is part of an 

American National Standards Institute 

(ANSI)-accredited program. 

(B) This section does not apply to 

congregate nutrition sites and Risk 

Category I food establishments as 

defined in 10A NCAC 46 .0213." 

(C) The requirements of this section are 

effective on January 1, 2014. 

(5)(3) In Section 2-102.20, replace "Paragraph 2-

102.11(B)" with "Section 2-102.11." In 

Paragraph 2-102.12(B), amend to read: "This 

section does not apply to congregate nutrition 

sites and Risk Category I food establishments 

as defined in 10A NCAC 46 .0213." 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2653 FOOD 

The provisions of this Rule make amendments, additions, and 

deletions to the Food Code incorporated by reference in Rule 

.2650 of this Section. In Chapter 3, the following apply: 

(1) In Paragraph 3-201.11(A), add at the end: 

"Food from food establishments in states 

adjacent to North Carolina may be sold within 

North Carolina if the food establishments are 

under jurisdiction of the local or state 

enforcement body in that originating state and 

approved by the regulatory authority in North 

Carolina. Carolina in accordance with G.S. 

130A-248(b). To determine the extent of 

compliance with this Code, the regulatory 

authority shall obtain reports regarding 

compliance and compliance history from 

responsible authorities in other jurisdictions 

where the food establishments are located." 

(2) In Paragraph 3-301.11(B), amend to read: 

"Except when washing fruits and vegetables as 

specified under Section 3-302.15 or as specified 

in Paragraphs (D) and (E) of this section, food 

employees may not contact exposed ready-to-

eat food with their bare hands and shall use 

suitable utensils such as deli tissue, spatulas, 

tongs, single-use gloves, or dispensing 

equipment." 

(3) In Paragraph 3-301.11(D), amend to read: 

"Paragraph (B) of this section does not apply to 

a food employee who contacts exposed, ready-

to-eat food with bare hands at the time the 

ready-to-eat food is being added as an 

ingredient to a food that is to be cooked in the 

food establishment to heat all parts of the food 

to a temperature of at least 74°C (165°F)." 

(4) In Section 3-301.11, redesignate existing 

Paragraph (D) as new Paragraph (E). 

(5) In Subparagraph 3-301.11(D)(7), replace 

"(D)(1)-(6)" with "(E)(1)-(6)." 

(6)(2) Delete Section 3-305.13. 

(7)(3) In Section 3-306.12, delete (B). 

(8) In Paragraph 3-403.11(D), amend to read: 

"Reheating for hot holding as specified under 

Paragraphs (A) through (C) of this section shall 

be completed within 2 hours and the time the 

food is between 5°C (41°F) or 7°C (45°F) and 

the temperatures specified under Paragraphs 

(A) through (C) of this section may not exceed 

2 hours." 

(9) In Paragraph 3-501.12(A), amend to read: 

"Under refrigeration that maintains the food 

temperature at 5°C (41°F) or less, or at 7°C 

(45°F) or less as specified under Subparagraph 

3- 501.16(A)(2)(b)." 

(10) In Paragraph 3-501.13(A), amend to read: 

"Under refrigeration that maintains the food 
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temperature at 5°C (41°F) or less, or at 7°C 

(45°F) or less as specified under Subparagraph 

3-501.16(A)(2)(b)." 

(11) In Paragraph 3-501.13(B), amend to read: 

"Completely submerged under running water: 

(1) At a water temperature of 21°C (70°F) or 

below, 

(2) With sufficient water velocity to agitate and 

float off loose particles in an overflow, 

(3) Such that for ready-to-eat food, the 

temperature of thawed portions do not rise 

above 5°C (41°F), or 7°C (45°F) as specified 

under Subparagraph 3-501.16(A)(2)(b), and 

(4) Such that for raw animal food requiring 

cooking as specified under Paragraph 3-

401.11(A) or (B), thawed portions are not 

above 5°C (41°F), or 7°C (45°F) as specified 

under Subparagraph 3-501.16(A)(2)(b), for 

more than 4 hours including: 

(a) The time the food is exposed to the 

running water and the time needed for 

preparation for cooking, or 

(b) The time it takes under 

refrigeration to lower the food 

temperature to 5°C (41°F), or 7°C 

(45°F) as specified under 

Subparagraph 3-501.16(A)(2)(b);" 

(12) In Subparagraph 3-501.14(A)(2), amend to 

read: "Within a total of 6 hours from 57°C 

(135°F) to 5°C (41°F) or less, or to 7°C (45°F) 

or less as specified under Subparagraph 3-

501.16(A)(2)(b)." 

(13) In Paragraph 3-501.14(B), amend to read: 

"Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 

control for safety food) shall be cooled within 4 

hours to 5C (41F) or less, or to 7°C (45F) or 

less as specified under Subparagraph 3-

501.16(A)(2)(b) if prepared from ingredients at 

ambient temperature such as reconstituted 

foods and canned tuna." 

(14) In Subparagraph 3-501-16(A)(2), amend to 

read: 

"At a temperature specified in the following: 

(a) 5°C (41°F) or less; or 

(b) 7°C (45°F) or between 5°C (41°F) and 7°C 

(45°F) in existing refrigeration equipment that 

is not capable of maintaining the food at 5°C 

(41°F) or less if: 

(i) The equipment is in place and in 

use in the food establishment; 

and 

(ii) On or before, January 1, 2019, the 

equipment is upgraded or replaced to 

maintain food at a temperature of 5°C 

(41°F) or less." 

(15) In Paragraph 3-501.17(A), amend to read: 

"(A) Except when packaging food using a 

reduced oxygen packaging method as specified 

under Section 3-502.12, and except as specified 

in Paragraphs (D) and (E) of this section, 

refrigerated, ready-to eat, potentially hazardous 

food (time/temperature control for safety food) 

prepared and held in a food establishment for 

more than 24 hours shall be marked to indicate 

the date or day by which the food shall be 

consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded, 

based on the temperature and time 

combinations specified below. The day of 

preparation shall be counted as Day 1. 

(1) 5°C (41°F) or less for a maximum of 7 days; 

or 

(2) 7°C (45°F) or between 5°C (41°F) and 7°C 

(45°F) for a maximum of 4 days in existing 

refrigeration equipment that is not capable of 

maintaining the food at 5°C (41°F) or less if: 

(a) The equipment is in place and in 

use in the food establishment, and 

(b) On or before, January 1, 2019, the 

equipment is upgraded or replaced to 

maintain food at a temperature of 5°C 

(41°F) or less." 

(16) In Paragraph 3-501.19(B), amend to read: "If 

time without temperature control is used as the 

public health control up to a maximum of 4 

hours:" 

(17) In Subparagraph 3-501.19(B)(1), amend to 

read: "The food shall have an initial 

temperature of 5°C (41°F) or less, or 7°C 

(45F) or less when removed from cold holding 

temperature control, or 57C (135F) or greater 

when removed from hot holding temperature 

control;" 

(18) In Paragraph 3-801.11(D), amend to read: 

"Food employees may not contact ready-to-eat 

food as specified under Paragraphs 3-301.11(B) 

and (E)." 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2654 EQUIPMENT, UTENSILS, AND 

LINENS 

The provisions of this Rule make amendments, additions, and 

deletions to the Food Code incorporated by reference in Rule 

.2650 of this Section. In Chapter 4, the following apply: 

(1) Delete Sections 4-204.14, 4-204.19, 4-204.111, 

4-204.121, and 4-204.123. 

(2) In Section 4-205.10, amend to read: "Except for 

toasters, mixers, microwave ovens, water 

heaters, and hoods, food equipment shall be 

used in accordance with the manufacturer's 

intended use and certified or classified for 

sanitation by an American National Standards 

Institute (ANSI)-accredited certification 

program. If the equipment is not certified or 

classified for sanitation, the equipment shall 

meet comply with Parts 4-1 and 4-2 of the Food 

Code as amended by this Rule. Nonabsorbent 
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wooden shelves that are in good repair may be 

used in dry storage areas." 

(3) In Section 4-301.14, amend to read: 

"Ventilation hood systems and devices shall 

prevent grease or condensation from collecting 

on equipment, walls, and ceilings." 

(4) In Section 4-502.14, amend to read: "Except as 

permitted under G.S. 130A-248(c3), mollusk 

and crustacea shells shall not be used more than 

once as serving containers." 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2655 WATER, PLUMBING, AND 

WASTE 

The provisions of this Rule make amendments, additions, and 

deletions to the Food Code incorporated by reference in Rule 

.2650 of this Section. In Chapter 5, the following applies: Delete 

Paragraph 5-203.11(C) and Section 5-501.14. 

(1) In Paragraph 5-202.12(A), change the risk 

designation from "priority foundation item" to 

"core item." 

(2) Delete Section 5-501.14. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2661 INSPECTIONS AND 

REINSPECTIONS 

(a)  Upon entry into a food establishment, the regulatory authority 

shall provide identification and the purpose in visiting that 

establishment. The regulatory authority shall inquire as to the 

identity of the person in charge and invite the person in charge to 

accompany the regulatory authority during the inspection. If no 

employee is identified as the person in charge, the regulatory 

authority shall invite an employee to accompany the regulatory 

authority on the inspection. Following the inspection, the 

regulatory authority shall offer to review the results of the 

inspection with the person in charge or employee, as applicable. 

(b)  The grading of food establishments shall be conducted using 

an inspection form furnished by the regulatory authority. The 

form shall provide for the following information: 

(1) The the name and mailing address of the food 

establishment; 

(2) The the name of the permit holder; 

(3) The the permit status and score given; 

(4) Standards standards of construction and 

operation as listed in .2651 through .2677 of 

this Section; 

(5) An an explanation for all points deducted; 

(6) The the signature of the regulatory authority; 

and 

(7) The the date. 

(c)  The grading of food establishments shall be based on the 

standards of operation and construction as set forth in Rules .2650 

through .2676 of this Section. 

(d)  The Food Establishment Inspection form shall be used to 

document points assessed for violation of the rules of this Section 

as follows: 

(1) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2652 of this Section related 

to person in charge present, demonstration of 

knowledge, certification by accredited program 

or performs duties shall equal no more than 2 

points. 1 point. 

(2) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2652 of this Section related 

to the person in charge being a certified food 

protection manager by having certification 

from an accredited program shall equal no more 

than 1 point. 

(2)(3) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2652 of this Section related 

to management awareness, policy present, and 

allergy awareness shall equal no more than 3 

points. 

(3)(4) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2652 of this Section related 

to proper use of reporting, restriction, and 

exclusion shall equal no more than 3 points. 

(5) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2652 of this Section related 

to procedures responding to vomiting and 

diarrheal events shall equal no more than 1 

point. 

(4)(6) Violation of Chapters 2 and 3 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2652 and .2653 of this 

Section related to proper eating, tasting, 

drinking, or tobacco use shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 1 point. 

(5)(7) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2652 of this Section related 

to no discharge from eyes, nose, and mouth 

shall equal no more than 1 point. 

(6)(8) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2652 of this Section related 

to hands clean and properly washed shall equal 

no more than 4 points. 

(7)(9) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to no bare hand contact with ready-to-eat food 

or approved alternate method properly followed 

shall equal no more than 3 4 points. 

(8)(10) Violation of Chapters 5 and 6 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2655 and .2656 of this 

Section related to handwashing facilities 

supplied and accessible shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 

(9)(11) Violation of Chapters 3 and 5 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2653 and .2655 of this 

Section related to food obtained from an 

approved source shall equal no more than 2 

points. 

(10)(12) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 
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to food received at proper temperature shall 

equal no more than 2 points. 

(11)(13) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to food in good condition, safe, and 

unadulterated shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(12)(14) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to required records available, shellstock tags, 

and parasite destruction shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 

(13)(15) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to food separated and protected shall equal no 

more than 3 points. 

(14)(16) Violation of Chapter 4 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2654 of this Section related 

to food-contact surfaces cleaned and sanitized 

shall equal no more than 3 points. 

(15)(17) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to disposition of returned, previously served, 

reconditioned, and unsafe food shall equal no 

more than 2 points. 

(16)(18) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to cooking time and temperatures shall equal no 

more than 3 points. 

(17)(19) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to reheating for hot holding shall equal no more 

than 3 points. 

(18)(20) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to cooling time and temperatures shall equal no 

more than 3 points. 

(19)(21) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to hot holding temperatures shall equal no more 

than 3 points. 

(20)(22) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to cold holding temperatures shall equal no 

more than 3 points. 

(21)(23) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to date marking and disposition shall equal no 

more than 3 points. 

(22)(24) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to time as a public health control procedures 

and records shall equal no more than 2 3 points. 

(23)(25) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to consumer advisory provided for raw or 

undercooked foods shall equal no more than 1 

point. 

(24)(26) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to pasteurized foods used and prohibited foods 

not offered shall equal no more than 3 points. 

(25)(27) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to food additives approved and properly used 

shall equal no more than 1 point. 

(26)(28) Violation of Chapter 7 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2657 of this Section related 

to toxic substances properly identified, stored, 

and used shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(27)(29) Violation of Chapters 3, 4 and 8 of the Food 

Code as amended by Rules .2653, .2654, and 

.2658 of this Section related to compliance with 

variance, specialized process, and HACCP plan 

shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(28)(30) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to pasteurized eggs used where required shall 

equal no more than 1 point. 

(29)(31) Violation of Chapters 3 and 5 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2653 and .2655 of this 

Section related to water from an approved 

source shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(30)(32) Violation of Chapter 8 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2658 of this Section related 

to variance obtained for specialized processing 

methods shall equal no more than 1point. 2 

points. 

(31)(33) Violation of Chapters 3 and 4 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2653 and .2654 of this 

Section related to proper cooling methods used 

or adequate equipment for temperature control 

shall equal no more than 1 point. 

(32)(34) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to plant food properly cooked for hot holding 

shall equal no more than 1 point. 

(33)(35) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to approved thawing methods used shall equal 

no more than 1 point. 

(34)(36) Violation of Chapter 4 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2654 of this Section related 

to thermometers provided and accurate shall 

equal no more than 1 point. 

(35)(37) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to food properly labeled or original container 

shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(36)(38) Violation of Chapters 2 and 6 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2652 and .2656 of this 

Section related to insects and rodents not 

present or no unauthorized animals or persons 

shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(37)(39) Violation of Chapters 3 and 6 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2653 and .2656 of this 

Section related to contamination prevented 

during food preparation, storage, and display 

shall equal no more than 2 points. 
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(38)(40) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2652 of this Section related 

to personal cleanliness shall equal no more than 

1 point. 

(39)(41) Violation of Chapters 3 and 4 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2653 and .2654 of this 

Section related to wiping cloths properly used 

and stored shall equal no more than 1 point. 

(40)(42) Violation of Chapters 3 and 7 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2653 and .2657 of this 

Section related to washing fruits and vegetables 

shall equal no more than 1 point. 

(41)(43) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to in-use utensils properly stored shall equal no 

more than 1 point. 

(42)(44) Violation of Chapter 4 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2654 of this Section related 

to utensils, equipment, and linens properly 

stored, dried and handled shall equal no more 

than 1 point. 

(43)(45) Violation of Chapter 4 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2654 of this Section related 

to single-use and single-service articles 

properly stored and used shall equal no more 

than 1 point. 

(44)(46) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2653 of this Section related 

to gloves used properly shall equal no more 

than 1 point. 

(45)(47) Violation of Chapters 3 and 4 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2653 and .2654 of this 

Section related to equipment, food and non-

food contact surfaces approved, cleanable, 

properly designed, constructed and used shall 

equal no more than 2 points. 1 point. 

(46)(48) Violation of Chapter 4 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2654 of this Section related 

to warewashing facilities installed, maintained, 

used, and test strips shall equal no more than 1 

point. 

(47)(49) Violation of Chapter 4 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule.2654 of this Section related to 

non-food contact surfaces clean shall equal no 

more than 1 point. 

(48)(50) Violation of Chapter 5 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2655 of this Section related 

to hot and cold water available and adequate 

pressure shall equal no more than 2 points. 1 

point. 

(49)(51) Violation of Chapter 5 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2655 of this Section related 

to plumbing installed and proper backflow 

devices shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(50)(52) Violation of Chapter 5 of the Food Code as 

amended by Rule .2655 of this Section related 

to sewage and wastewater properly disposed 

shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(51)(53) Violation of Chapters 5 and 6 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2655 and .2656 of this 

Section related to toilet facilities properly 

constructed, supplied, and cleaned shall equal 

no more than 1 point. 

(52)(54) Violation of Chapters 5 and 6 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2655 and .2656 of this 

Section related to garbage and refuse properly 

disposed and facilities maintained shall equal 

no more than 1 point. 

(53)(55) Violation of Chapters 4 and 6 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2654 and .2656 of this 

Section related to physical facilities installed, 

maintained, and clean shall equal no more than 

1 point. 

(54)(56) Violation of Chapters 4 and 6 of the Food Code 

as amended by Rules .2654 and .2656 of this 

Section related to meets ventilation and lighting 

requirements and designated areas used shall 

equal no more than 1 point. 

(e)  In filling out the inspection form, points may be deducted only 

once for a single occurrence or condition existing within or 

outside of the food establishment. Deductions shall be based on 

actual violations of the rules of this Section observed during the 

inspection. The regulatory authority shall take zero, one-half, or a 

full deduction of points depending upon the severity or the 

recurring nature of the core item violations. Priority items or 

priority foundation items may be corrected during the inspection 

and no more than one-half of the total point value shall be 

deducted when the violation meets the following criteria: 

(1) The the priority item or priority foundation item 

violation was not documented on the previous 

inspection; and 

(2) Correction correction of the item is documented 

on the inspection form. 

(f)  At the time of inspection, if a priority item or priority 

foundation item violation is observed and not corrected, the 

regulatory authority shall take one-half or a full deduction of 

points depending upon the severity or the recurring nature of the 

violation. The regulatory authority shall specify a time frame of 

no more than 10 calendar days to correct the priority items or 

priority foundation items. 

(g)  In determining whether items or areas of a food establishment 

are clean for purposes of enforcing the rules set forth in this 

Section and grading a food establishment, the regulatory authority 

shall consider, among other things: 

(1) The the age of the accumulated material; 

(2) The relative percentage of items which are 

clean and not clean; 

(3)(2) The the cleaning practices of the food 

establishment; and 

(4)(3) The the health risk posed by the circumstances. 

(h)  Upon request of the permit holder or his or her representative 

a reinspection shall be made. In the case of a food establishment 

that requests an inspection for the purpose of raising the 

alphabetical grade, and that holds an unrevoked permit, the 

regulatory authority shall make an unannounced inspection within 

15 calendar days from the date of the request. 
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(i)  In the case of food establishments that have been closed for 

failure to comply with the rules of this Section, a reinspection to 

consider the issuance or reissuance of a permit shall be scheduled 

by made at the earliest convenience of the regulatory authority. 

(j)  In Section 8-304.11 of the Food Code delete (K). 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2670 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR PUSHCARTS AND MOBILE FOOD UNITS 

Notwithstanding the provisions set forth in Rules .2671 and .2672, 

pushcarts and mobile food units shall comply with all 

requirements in this Section with the following exceptions: 

(a)(1) A permit shall be issued by the regulatory 

authority that inspects the commissary from 

which a pushcart or mobile food unit is to 

operate , if the regulatory authority determines 

that the pushcart or mobile food unit complies 

with the rules of this Section. The permit shall 

be maintained on the pushcart or mobile food 

unit and made available to the regulatory 

authority upon request. 

(b)(2) The regulatory authority that issues the permit 

shall be provided by the permit holder a list of 

counties and locations where each pushcart or 

mobile food unit will operate. 

(c)(3) Prior to initiating food service operations in a 

particular county, the pushcart or mobile food 

unit permit holder shall provide the regulatory 

authority in each county in which food service 

operations are proposed a list of locations 

where they will operate. Such lists must be kept 

current. 

(d)(4) Pushcarts or mobile food units shall operate in 

conjunction with a permitted commissary and 

shall report at least daily to the commissary for 

supplies, cleaning, and servicing. Facilities, in 

compliance with this Section, shall be provided 

at the commissary for storage of all supplies. 

The pushcart shall also be stored in an area that 

protects it from dirt, debris, vermin, and other 

contamination. Water faucets used to supply 

water for pushcarts or mobile food units shall 

be protected to prevent contact with chemicals, 

splash, and other sources of contamination. 

Solid waste storage and liquid waste disposal 

facilities must also be provided on the 

commissary premises. 

(e)  All food shall be obtained from sources that comply with 

Chapter 3 of the Food Code as amended by Rule .2653 of this 

Section. 

(f)  All potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 

safety food) shall be maintained at temperatures as required in 

Chapter 3 of the Food Code as amended by Rule .2653 of this 

Section. A metal stem-type thermometer accurate to 1C (2F) 

shall be available to check food temperatures. 

(g)(5) Single service articles shall be used for serving 

customers. Single-service articles shall be 

purchased in sanitary containers, shall be stored 

therein in a clean, dry place until used, and shall 

be handled in a manner to prevent 

contamination. 

(h)  All garbage and other solid waste shall be stored and disposed 

in an approved manner. 

(i)  Employees shall wear effective hair restraints, clean outer 

clothing, and maintain good hygienic practices as specified in Part 

2-4 of the Food Code as amended by Rule .2652 of this Section. 

(j)  Employees shall comply with the requirements in Subpart 2-

201 of the Food Code as amended by Rule 2652. of this Section 

(k)  Equipment and utensils shall meet the requirements in Parts 

4-1 and 4-2 of the Food Code as amended by Rule .2654 of this 

Section. 

(l)  The pushcart or mobile food unit shall be kept clean and free 

of flies, roaches, rodents, and other vermin. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2674 LIMITED FOOD SERVICES 

ESTABLISHMENTS 

Limited food services establishments shall comply with all the 

requirements in Rules .2650 through .2662 of this Section, except 

as follows: that the following provisions apply in lieu of Rules 

.2654(2) and .2659(a) and (b), Section 5-204.11(b) of the Food 

Code as amended by Rule .2655 of this Section, and Sections 8-

201.11 and 8-201.12 of the Food Code as amended by Rule .2658 

of this Section: 

(1) The permit for a limited food services 

establishment shall be posted in a conspicuous 

place where it can be readily seen by the public 

at all times. Permits for limited food services 

establishments shall expire on December 31 of 

each year. one year from the date of issuance. A 

new permit from the regulatory authority shall 

be obtained before the limited food services 

establishment shall be allowed to operate each 

year. Transitional permits shall not be issued. 

(2) The permit application shall be submitted to the 

local health department at least 30 days prior to 

construction or commencing operation. The 

permit application shall include a proposal for 

review and approval by the local health 

department that includes a menu, plans, and 

specifications for the proposed limited food 

services establishment, and location location, 

hours, and dates of operation. 

(3) Limited food services establishments shall not 

prepare any potentially hazardous food 

(time/temperature control for safety food) 

time/temperature control for safety food prior to 

the day of sale. 

(4) Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 

control for safety food) Time/temperature 

control for safety food that has been heated at 

the limited food services establishment and 

remains at the end of the day shall not be served 
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or placed in refrigeration to be used another 

day. 

(5) All meats, poultry, and fish shall be purchased 

in a pre-portioned and ready-to-cook form. 

(6) Equipment in the limited food services 

establishment that is not certified or classified 

for sanitation by an ANSI-accredited certificate 

program that is in good repair and operating 

properly may be used. At least a two-

compartment sink shall be provided. The sink 

shall be of sufficient size to submerge, wash, 

rinse, and sanitize utensils and shall have 

splashback protection. At least one drainboard, 

table, or counter space shall be provided for air-

drying. 

(7) Only single-service articles shall be used. used 

as tableware as defined in Chapter 1 of the Food 

Code. 

(8) Limited food services establishments may 

prepare reheat pre-cooked and cook food in 

accordance with the overhead protection 

requirements set forth in Rule .2669(b) of this 

Section. 

(9) Floors, walls, and ceilings of limited food 

services establishments shall meet the 

requirements of this Section, except those 

limited food services establishments preparing 

food in accordance with Rule .2669(b) of this 

Section. Limited food establishments shall use 

dustless methods of floor cleaning and all, 

except emergency floor cleaning, shall be done 

during those periods when the least amount of 

food and drink is exposed, such as after closing, 

or between meals. 

(10) All areas in which food is handled, prepared, or 

in which utensils are washed, shall be provided 

with artificial lighting that complies with 

Section 6-202.11 of the Food Code as amended 

by Rule .2656 of this Section. 

(11) A handwashing sink shall be provided in food 

service areas for use by employees only. 

(12) Toilet facilities shall be provided for use by 

employees. Public toilet facilities provided on 

the grounds of the facility where the associated 

amateur athletic event is taking place are 

acceptable. Toilet facilities for the public are 

not required. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248; S.L. 2011-394, Section 15(a); 2019-

129. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners intends to amend the rules cited 

as 21 NCAC 10 .0204, .0213, .0304 and repeal the rules cited as 

21 NCAC 10 .0201, .0205, and .0206. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncchiroboard.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 8, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Via Zoom: 

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83902423399?pwd=Q1NaNGZBS01E

N0U5NGoyaitmS0dnUT09 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 10 .0201 -Repealed as unnecessary; existing rule 

restates statutory language and definition of "good character" 

contained therein is potentially unclear. 

21 NCAC 10 .0204 -To combine information about initial 

licensure and renewal within one rule. 

21 NCAC 10 .0205 -Repealed as substantive content was 

transferred to amended rule .0204. 

21 NCAC 10 .0206 -Repealed as substantive content was 

transferred to amended rule .0213. 

21 NCAC 10 .0213 -To streamline the existing application and 

renewal process for clinical assistants and radiologic 

technologists under one category to be known as "Certified 

Chiropractic Assistants." 

21 NCAC 10 .0304 -To streamline the process for recognizing 

and applying for specialties. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dr. Joe Siragusa, NC Board 

of Chiropractic Examiners, 9121 Anson Way, Suite 200, Raleigh, 

NC 27615 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHIROPRACTIC 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0201 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

LICENSURE 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-143.1; 150B-9(d). 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0204 LICENSURE LICENSURE; 

RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  Initial Licensure. The initial license awarded to an applicant 

who passed the examination shall be mailed to the address 

appearing on the application form. 

(b)  Change of Contact Information. The licentiate shall inform 

the Board of any change in his or her contact information. 

Updated contact information shall be forwarded to the Board 

office email at ncboce@ncchiroboard.com, by regular mail to the 

Board office located at 6070 Six Forks Rd., Ste. L, Raleigh, NC 

27609, or fax at (704) 793-1385 ncboce@ncchiroboard.com 

within 30 days after any such change. 

(c)  General. The renewal, cancellation, and restoration of a 

license are governed by G.S. 90-155 and this Rule. A current 

license that is not renewed shall be cancelled 30 days after the 

Tuesday immediately following the first Monday in January of 

the ensuing year. A licentiate desiring license renewal shall 

submit to the Board, on or before the date of cancellation, a 

completed license renewal form accompanied by the renewal fee 

as provided in Paragraph (i) of this Rule. The renewal fee shall 

not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit card through the 

Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, or by a check made 

payable to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 

(d)  License Renewal Notification and Form. On or before 

December 1 of each year, the Board shall email to each licentiate, 

at the licentiate's current email address on file with the Board, 

license renewal instructions. The license renewal form with 

instructions shall also be available at the Board's website, 

www.ncchiroboard.com, or upon request at the Board's office. A 

licentiate desiring license renewal shall note on the form changes 

in name, address, specialty, employment circumstances, and 

criminal convictions since the last renewal form was submitted to 

the Board. The licentiate shall also note on the form any 

professional development continuing education for which the 

licentiate seeks credit pursuant to Rule .0210(d) of this Chapter. 

(e)  Continuing Education. As used in G.S. 90-155, one "day" of 

continuing education shall mean nine hours. Except as provided 

in Paragraphs (f), (g) and (h) of this Rule, a licentiate seeking 

license renewal shall obtain 18 hours (2 days) of Board-approved 

continuing education each calendar year. At least 10 hours shall 

be obtained by attending in-person educational sessions. As many 

as eight hours may be obtained in the manner set forth in Rule 

.0210 of this Chapter. The Board shall not award credit for any 

continuing education hours until the sponsor or licentiate submits 

to the Board the sponsor's certificate of attendance or course 

completion. 

(f)  First-Year Continuing Education Exemptions. A licentiate 

who was enrolled in chiropractic college at any time during the 

year of initial licensure or a licentiate initially licensed after 

September 1st of the current year shall be permitted to renew his 

or her license for the ensuing year without obtaining continuing 

education but shall be required to submit a license renewal form 

and pay the renewal fee. In subsequent years, a licentiate shall not 

be permitted to renew his or her license until the continuing 

education requirements set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule are 

satisfied. 

(g)  Hardship Waivers. A licentiate seeking a hardship waiver of 

the continuing education requirement shall make written 

application to the Board no later than December 15th of the 

current year explaining the nature and circumstances of the 

hardship. Upon the applicant's showing that compliance with the 

continuing education requirement poses an undue hardship, the 

Board may waive the requirement in whole or part or grant an 

extension of time within which to comply. "Undue hardship" shall 

include protracted medical illness, natural disaster, or extended 

absence from the United States. 

(h)  Military Hardship. A licentiate who is serving in the Armed 

Forces of the United States and to whom G.S. 93B-15(a) grants 

an extension of time to pay a renewal fee shall also be granted an 

identical extension of time to complete the continuing education 

required for license renewal. 

(i)  Renewal Fee. A renewal fee in the maximum amount allowed 

by G.S. 90-155 shall be paid by each licentiate applying for 

renewal. 

(j)  Restoration of Cancelled License; Evidence of Proficiency. In 

order to provide evidence of proficiency, a former licentiate 

whose license has been cancelled for 180 or fewer days due to 

non-compliance with G.S. 90-155 shall be re-examined and shall 

pay the non-refundable application fee prescribed in Rule 

.0202(d) of this Chapter and shall demonstrate compliance with 

continuing education requirements. A former licentiate whose 

license has been cancelled for more than 180 days shall comply 

with Rule .0203(f) of this Chapter in addition to this Paragraph. 

Payment of the application fee shall not constitute payment of the 

reinstatement fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) mandated by 

G.S. 90-155. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-145; 90-155; 90-148; 93B-15. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0205 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-155; 93B-15. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0206 CERTIFICATION OF 

RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS 

 

Authority G.S. 90-143.2; 90-154.3. 
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21 NCAC 10 .0213 CERTIFICATION OF CLINICAL 

ASSISTANTS CERTIFIED CHIROPRACTIC 

ASSISTANTS 

(a)  Classification of Applicants. Applicants for clinical assistant 

competency certification shall be classified as follows: 

(1) Reciprocity applicants. A "reciprocity 

applicant" means an applicant who is currently 

certified or registered as a clinical assistant in 

another state whose requirements for 

certification or registration are substantially 

similar to or more stringent than the 

requirements for certification in North 

Carolina. 

(2) New applicants. A "new applicant" means any 

applicant who is not a reciprocity applicant. 

(b)  Requirements for Certification. Every applicant, regardless of 

classification, shall complete an application form available on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com and requiring the 

applicant to confirm and submit documentary evidence 

satisfactory to the Board that the applicant is at least 18 years of 

age, a high school graduate or the equivalent, and possessed of 

good moral character. A photocopy of the applicant's birth 

certificate, driver's license, or government-issued identification 

card shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's age. 

A photocopy of the applicant's high school diploma, transcript, or 

general equivalency diploma (G.E.D.) shall constitute prima facie 

evidence of the applicant's graduation from high school. An 

affidavit attesting to good moral character and signed by a 

chiropractic physician or other responsible party who knows the 

applicant and is not related to the applicant shall constitute prima 

facie evidence of the applicant's good moral character. Every 

applicant, regardless of classification, shall pay to the Board an 

initial certification fee in the amount of twenty dollars ($20.00). 

The initial certification fee shall not be paid in cash and may be 

paid by credit card through the Board's website at 

https://ncchiroboard.com or by a check made payable to the North 

Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. In addition to the 

general certification requirements, an applicant shall satisfy the 

requirements for the appropriate category of certification, as 

follows: 

(1) Reciprocity Applicants. A reciprocity applicant 

shall submit a copy of the applicant's current 

certification or registration as a clinical 

assistant in a state with which North Carolina 

reciprocates and shall also submit written 

confirmation from the state's certifying 

authority or registrar that the applicant is in 

good standing in that state. 

(2) New Applicants. A new applicant shall submit 

evidence that the applicant has completed an 

approved clinical assistant education program 

as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. A 

certificate of completion filed with the Board 

by the program sponsor shall constitute prima 

facie evidence that the applicant has obtained 

the required education. A new applicant shall 

also take and pass the standard proficiency 

examination administered by or under the 

authority of the Board, as described in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  Education Programs. In order to be approved by the Board, a 

clinical assistant education program for new applicants shall be at 

least 24 hours in length, of which at least six hours shall be in-

person didactic training with an instructor or instructors who, 

based on education and experience, are competent to teach the 

portion of the curriculum they have been assigned. Credit for 

online coursework shall not exceed 18 hours, and all online 

coursework shall precede didactic training. The education 

program shall provide sufficient instruction in the five subjects set 

forth in G.S. 90-143.4(c) to enable its graduates to satisfy all 

applicable standards of care. To obtain approval of an education 

program, the program sponsor shall submit to the Board, at least 

60 days prior to the proposed starting date, all instructional 

materials to be used in the program, including a syllabus of the 

didactic training, and a curriculum vitae for each instructor. 

(d)  Examinations. The proficiency examination for new 

applicants shall assess both academic knowledge and practical 

skills acquired through education programs and shall be 

administered in person at least four times per year on dates and at 

locations to be announced by the Board at least 90 days in advance 

and published on the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. 

In its discretion, the Board may authorize additional testing 

sessions based on the number of applications received. The 

minimum passing score on the examination is 75 percent. 

(e)  Certificate Expiration and Renewal. Unless renewed, a 

certificate of competency shall expire on June 30th of the third 

year following the year in which it was issued. A certificate holder 

seeking to renew shall submit evidence that the applicant has 

completed six hours of Board-approved continuing education. A 

certificate of attendance or completion issued by the course 

sponsor and filed with the Board shall constitute prima facie 

evidence that the applicant has completed the number of hours 

recited in the certificate. The applicant shall pay to the Board a 

renewal fee in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). The 

renewal fee shall not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit 

card through the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com or 

by a check made payable to the North Carolina Board of 

Chiropractic Examiners. 

(f)  Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed 

due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 60 days, the 

certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by making up the 

accrued deficiency in continuing education. If the lapse is greater 

than 60 days, no make-up continuing education shall be required, 

but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the proficiency 

examination for new applicants. Regardless of the length of lapse, 

a certificate holder seeking reinstatement shall pay the renewal fee 

set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(g)  Exemptions. Graduates of accredited chiropractic colleges 

and students enrolled in accredited chiropractic colleges who are 

serving college-sponsored preceptorships in North Carolina are 

deemed by the Board to have satisfied all requirements imposed 

by this Rule and shall be deemed competent to perform the duties 

of a clinical assistant. Any person who qualifies for exemption 

and who works as a clinical assistant in this state for more than 

180 days shall submit the application form described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule and note the claim of exempt status. Exempt 

persons shall not be required to pay a certification fee. 
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(h)  Displaying Certificate. The holder of a certificate issued 

pursuant to this Rule shall display the certificate in the 

chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a location 

where the certificate may be viewed by patients. 

(a)  Designation. The Board shall classify Certified Chiropractic 

Assistants as follows: 

(1) Level 1 – Clinical 

(2) Level 2 – X-ray 

For purposes of this Rule, a Certified Chiropractic Assistant – 

Level 1 is the same as a "chiropractic clinical assistant" as defined 

in G.S. 90-143.4(a). For purposes of this Rule, a Certified 

Chiropractic Assistant – Level 2 is the same as a "diagnostic 

imaging technician" as defined in G.S. 90-143.2 and may be 

referred to as a "radiologic technologist", "X-ray tech", and "X-

ray technician." 

(b)  Application Procedure. Anyone seeking to be certified as a 

Chiropractic Assistant shall submit an application found on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. All applicants shall: 

(1) Be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) Demonstrate that he or she graduated from high 

school or the equivalent; 

(3) Possess good moral character as determined by 

the Board; and 

(4) Submit an application fee of thirty-five dollars 

($35.00). 

(c)  New Applicants – Level 1. 

(1) Education. In addition to the requirements set 

forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, new 

applicants shall submit evidence of completion 

of a clinical assistant education program at least 

24 hours in length, of which at least 6 hours 

shall be in-person didactic training with an 

instructor or instructors who, based on 

education and experience, are competent to 

teach the portion of the curriculum they have 

been assigned. Credit for online coursework 

shall not exceed 18 hours, and all online 

coursework shall precede didactic training. The 

education program shall provide sufficient 

instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 

90-143.4(c) to enable its graduates to satisfy all 

applicable standards of care. To obtain approval 

of an education program, the program sponsor 

shall submit to the Board, at least 60 days prior 

to the proposed starting date, all instructional 

materials to be used in the program, including a 

syllabus of the didactic training, and a 

curriculum vitae for each instructor. 

(2) Examination. The proficiency examination for 

new applicants shall assess both academic 

knowledge and practical skills acquired through 

education programs and shall be administered 

at least four times per year on dates and at 

locations to be announced by the Board at least 

30 days in advance and published on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. In 

its discretion, the Board may authorize 

additional testing sessions based on the number 

of applications received. The minimum passing 

score on the examination is 75 percent. 

(d)  New Applicants – Level 2. 

(1) Education. In addition to the requirements set 

forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, new 

applicants shall complete a radiological 

technologist education program at least 50 

hours in length, of which at least 6 hours shall 

be in-person didactic training with an instructor 

or instructors who, based on education and 

experience, are competent to teach the portion 

of the curriculum they have been assigned, and 

completion of the practical requirement as set 

forth in Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule. The 

education program shall provide sufficient 

instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 

90-143.2 to enable its graduates to satisfy all 

applicable standards of care governing the 

production of X-rays. To obtain approval of an 

education program, the program sponsor shall 

submit to the Board, at least 60 days prior to the 

proposed starting date, all instructional 

materials to be used in the program, including a 

syllabus of the didactic training and a 

curriculum vitae for each instructor. Any 

person registered as "active" with the American 

Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists shall be deemed to have satisfied 

the educational requirements of this paragraph. 

(2) Practical Requirement. Upon completion of the 

training set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this 

Rule, a person desiring certification as a 

Certified Chiropractic Assistant – Level 2 shall 

undergo a Practical whereby the person is 

evaluated by his or her program sponsor on the 

following competencies while performing x-

ray examinations under the direct supervision 

of a sponsor for four different patients: 

(A) Image quality; 

(B) Marking sides of the body; 

(C) Technique input to controller; 

(D) Tube/focal film distance; 

(E) Bucky/tube alignment; 

(F) Patient positioning; 

(G) Gonad shielding; 

(H) Ability to name additional views in the 

series; and 

(I) Collimation. 

The person shall submit written documentation 

of the Practical evaluation on a form prescribed 

by the Board that is available on the Board's 

website at https://ncchiroboard.com/x-ray-

technician. 

(3) Examination. The competency examination 

shall be administered at least three times per 

year. The Board shall publish on its website, 

https://ncchiroboard.com, the date, time, and 

location of the examination at least 30 days in 

advance. In its discretion, the Board may 
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authorize additional testing sessions based on 

the number of applications received. The 

minimum passing score is 75 percent. 

(e)  Reciprocity Applicants. A "reciprocity applicant" means an 

applicant who is currently certified or registered as a clinical 

assistant or X-ray technician in another state whose requirements 

for certification or registration are substantially similar to or more 

stringent than the requirements for certification in North Carolina. 

A reciprocity applicant shall submit a copy of the applicant's 

current certification or registration as a clinical assistant in a state 

with which North Carolina reciprocates and shall also submit 

written confirmation from the state's certifying authority or 

registrar that the applicant is in good standing in that state. 

(f)  Certification Expiration and Renewal. Starting with 

certifications issued or renewed on or after July 1, 2022, a 

certificate of competency shall expire on June 30th of the second 

year following the year in which it was issued unless otherwise 

renewed. A certificate holder seeking to renew shall submit 

evidence that the applicant has completed six hours of Board-

approved continuing education. A Level 2 certificate holder shall 

complete six hours of education applicable to a Level 1 renewal 

plus six hours in radiologic technology. A certificate of attendance 

or completion issued by the course sponsor and filed with the 

Board shall constitute prima facie evidence that the applicant has 

completed the number of hours recited in the certificate. The 

applicant shall pay to the Board a renewal fee in the amount of 

fifty dollars ($50.00). 

(g)  Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed 

due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 60 days, the 

certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by making up the 

accrued deficiency in continuing education. If the lapse is greater 

than 60 days, no make-up continuing education shall be required, 

but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the proficiency 

examination for new applicants. Regardless of the length of lapse, 

a certificate holder seeking reinstatement shall pay the renewal fee 

set forth in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(h)  Exemptions. Graduates of accredited chiropractic colleges 

and students enrolled in accredited chiropractic colleges who are 

serving college-sponsored preceptorships in North Carolina are 

deemed by the Board to have satisfied all requirements imposed 

by this Rule and shall be deemed competent to perform the duties 

of a clinical assistant. Any person who qualifies for exemption 

and who works as a clinical assistant in this state for more than 

180 days shall submit the applicant pursuant to this Rule and note 

the claim of exempt status. Exempt persons shall not be required 

to pay a certification fee. 

(i)  Displaying Certificate. The holder of a Level 1 certificate 

issued pursuant to this Rule shall display the certificate in the 

chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a location 

where the certificate may be viewed by patients. The holder of a 

Level 2 certificate issued pursuant to this Rule shall display the 

certificate in the x-ray room of the chiropractic clinic in which the 

holder is employed in a location where the certificate may be 

viewed by patients. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.2; 90-143.4; 90-154.3. 

 

SECTION .0300 - RULES OF UNETHICAL CONDUCT 

21 NCAC 10 .0304 DESIGNATION OF 

SPECIALTIES 

(a)  Definitions. For purposes of this Rule, the following 

definitions shall apply: 

(1) Claim of Specialization: any use of the 

designations listed in this Rule or any 

representation stating or implying that, by 

virtue of additional training, a licentiate 

possesses greater expertise in any aspect of 

health care than is possessed by chiropractic 

physicians who have not had additional 

training. The mere recitation of academic 

degrees awarded to a licentiate does not 

constitute a claim of specialization. 

(2) Publication: includes but is not limited to 

representations made in a licentiate's 

advertising, whether printed or broadcast; 

written representations appearing on 

professional stationery, business cards, 

curriculum vitae or office signage; and oral 

representations made in judicial proceedings. 

(b)  Recognized Specialties. The Board of Examiners recognizes 

only the specialties listed in this Rule. Any published claim of 

specialization outside the listed subject areas or any published 

claim of specialization made by or at the behest of a licentiate who 

has not satisfied all applicable provisions of this Rule constitutes 

false or misleading advertising. 

(c)  Chiropractic Orthopedics. This specialty is designated by the 

terms "Diplomate of the American Board of Chiropractic 

Orthopedics" ("DABCO"), "Diplomate of the Academy of 

Chiropractic Orthopedics" ("DACO"), "Fellow of the Academy 

of Chiropractic Orthopedics" ("FACO") or "Chiropractic 

Orthopedist." In order to claim chiropractic orthopedics as a 

specialty, a licentiate shall first: 

(1) Complete a post-graduate course of study in 

orthopedics at least 300 hours in length and 

offered by a college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Pass all parts of the DABCO examination, or all 

parts of an examination deemed by the Board of 

Examiners to be the equivalent of the DABCO 

examination, and cause a copy of the DABCO 

diploma or its equivalent to be filed with the 

Board of Examiners. 

(d)  Chiropractic Radiology. This specialty is designated by the 

terms "Diplomate of the American Chiropractic Board of 

Radiology" ("DACBR") or "Chiropractic Radiologist." In order 

to claim chiropractic radiology as a specialty, a licentiate shall 

first: 

(1) Complete a post-graduate course of study in 

radiology at least 300 hours in length and 

offered by a college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Pass all parts of the DACBR examination, or all 

parts of an examination deemed by the Board of 

Examiners to be the equivalent of the DACBR 

examination, and cause a copy of the DACBR 

diploma or its equivalent to be filed with the 

Board of Examiners. 
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(e)  Chiropractic Neurology. This specialty is designated by the 

terms "Diplomate of the American Chiropractic Neurology 

Board" ("DACNB"), "Diplomate of the International Board of 

Chiropractic Neurology" ("DIBCN") or "Chiropractic 

Neurologist." In order to claim chiropractic neurology as a 

specialty, a licentiate shall first: 

(1) Complete a post-graduate course of study in 

neurology at least 300 hours in length and 

offered by a college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Pass all parts of the DACNB or DIBCN 

examination, or all parts of an examination 

deemed by the Board of Examiners to be the 

equivalent of the DACNB or DIBCN 

examinations, and cause a copy of the DACNB 

or DIBCN diploma or their equivalent to be 

filed with the Board of Examiners. 

(f)  Chiropractic Internal Disorders. This specialty is designated 

by the terms "Diplomate of the American Board of Chiropractic 

Internists" ("DABCI") or "Chiropractic Internist." In order to 

claim chiropractic internal disorders as a specialty, a licentiate 

shall first: 

(1) Complete a post-graduate course of study in 

internal disorders at least 300 hours in length 

and offered by a college approved by the 

Council on Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Pass all parts of the DACBI examination, or all 

parts of an examination deemed by the Board of 

Examiners to be the equivalent of the DACBI 

examination, and cause a copy of the DACBI 

diploma or its equivalent to be filed with the 

Board of Examiners. 

(g)  Chiropractic Pediatrics. This specialty is designated by the 

terms "Diplomate of the International Council on Chiropractic 

Pediatrics" ("DICCP") or "Chiropractic Pediatrician." In order to 

claim chiropractic pediatrics as a specialty, a licentiate shall first: 

(1) Complete a post-graduate course of study in 

pediatrics at least 300 hours in length and 

offered by a college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Pass all parts of the DICCP examination, or all 

parts of an examination deemed by the Board of 

Examiners to be the equivalent of the DICCP 

examination, and cause a copy of the DICCP 

diploma or its equivalent to be filed with the 

Board of Examiners. 

(h)  Chiropractic Sports Injuries. This specialty is designated by 

the terms "Diplomate of the American Chiropractic Board of 

Sports Physicians" ("DACBSP") or "Chiropractic Sports 

Physician." In order to claim chiropractic sports injuries as a 

specialty, a licentiate shall first: 

(1) Complete a post-graduate course of study in 

sports injuries at least 300 hours in length and 

offered by a college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Pass all parts of the DACBSP examination, or 

all parts of an examination deemed by the 

Board of Examiners to be the equivalent of the 

DACBSP examination, and cause a copy of the 

DACBSP diploma or its equivalent to be filed 

with the Board of Examiners. 

(i)  Chiropractic Nutrition. This specialty is designated by the 

terms "Diplomate of the American Chiropractic Board of 

Nutrition" ("DACBN") or "Chiropractic Nutritionist." In order to 

claim chiropractic nutrition as a specialty, a licentiate shall first: 

(1) Complete a post-graduate course of study in 

nutrition at least 300 hours in length and offered 

by a college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Pass all parts of the DACBN examination, or all 

parts of an examination deemed by the Board of 

Examiners to be the equivalent of the DACBN 

examination, and cause a copy of the DACBN 

diploma or its equivalent to be filed with the 

Board of Examiners. 

(j)  Chiropractic Rehabilitation. This specialty is designated by the 

terms "Diplomate of the American Chiropractic Rehabilitation 

Board" ("DACRB") or "Chiropractic Rehabilitation Specialist." 

In order to claim chiropractic rehabilitation as a specialty, a 

licentiate shall first: 

(1) Complete a post-graduate course of study in 

rehabilitation at least 300 hours in length and 

offered by a college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Pass all parts of the DACRB examination, or all 

parts of an examination deemed by the Board of 

Examiners to be the equivalent of the DACRB 

examination, and cause a copy of the DACRB 

diploma or its equivalent to be filed with the 

Board of Examiners. 

(a)  Definitions. For purposes of this Rule, the following 

definitions shall apply: 

(1) Claim of Specialization: any use of the 

designations listed in this Rule or any 

representation stating or implying that, by 

virtue of additional training, a licentiate 

possesses greater expertise in any aspect of 

health care than is possessed by chiropractic 

physicians who have not had additional 

training. The mere recitation of academic 

degrees awarded to a licentiate does not 

constitute a claim of specialization. 

(2) Publication: representations regarding any 

claim of specialization made by a licentiate 

which may include representations made in 

advertising, whether printed or broadcast; 

written representations appearing on 

professional stationery, business cards, 

curriculum vitae, or office signage; and oral 

representations made in judicial proceedings. 

(b)  Recognized Specialties. The Board of Examiners recognizes 

the specialties in the following fields of practice: 

(1) Chiropractic Orthopedics; 

(2) Chiropractic Radiology; 

(3) Chiropractic Neurology; 

(4) Chiropractic Internal Disorders; 

(5) Chiropractic Pediatrics; 

(6) Chiropractic Sports Injuries; 
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(7) Chiropractic Nutrition; and 

(8) Chiropractic Rehabilitation. 

(c)  Any licentiate wishing to request a specialty designation not 

listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall first submit a written 

request to the Board and provide evidence that the designation 

meets the criteria set forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. A 

licentiate shall not publish the specialty designation until the 

Board has approved, in writing, the specialty designation 

requested. 

(d)  Criteria for approval. In order to publish a claim of 

specialization as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule or upon 

request of a specialty pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a 

licentiate shall demonstrate the following: 

(1) Evidence of completion of a post-graduate 

course of study in the specialty requested at 

least 300 hours in length and offered by a 

college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 

(2) Evidence that the licentiate has passed an 

examination offered by a 501(c)(3) 

organization whose testing for specialization is 

recognized by the House of Delegates of the 

American Chiropractic Association or an exam 

deemed by the Board to be an equivalent. 

(e)  Claim of Specialty. Any published claim of specialization 

outside the recognized specialties or any published claim of 

specialization made by or at the behest of a licentiate who has not 

satisfied all applicable provisions of this Rule constitutes false or 

misleading advertising. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154; 90-154.2(5). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Funeral Service intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 34B .0707 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 34C 

.0202. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbfs.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 16, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC Board of Funeral Service, 1033 Wade Avenue, 

Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 27605 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Rule 21 NCAC 34B .0707 and 

Rule 21 NCAC 34C .0202 regulate the use by a funeral 

establishment and crematory, respectively, of temporary 

refrigeration units and off-site refrigeration units to ensure 

proper protocols for a decedent's identification, care, and chain 

of custody. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Stephen Davis, NC Board of 

Funeral Service, 1033 Wade Avenue, Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 

27605; phone (919) 733-9380; email sdavis@ncbfs.org 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34B - FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

SECTION .0700 - PREPARATION OF DEAD BODIES 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0707 REFRIGERATION 

(a)  Any refrigeration unit procured and maintained by a funeral 

establishment must satisfy the following requirements: 

(1) be capable of storing at least three adult human 

bodies, each measuring up to seven feet in 

length and three hundred pounds in weight, in 

the holding facility; 

(2) be capable of maintaining an interior 

temperature of 40 degrees Fahrenheit while 

loaded with the maximum number of bodies for 

which it is designed; 

(3) shall have sealed concrete, stainless steel, 

galvanized, aluminum, or other flooring in 

walk-in units; 

(4) shall have stainless steel, aluminum, or other 

non-corrosive materials for the remainder of all 

units; and 

(5) be subject to inspection by Board inspectors at 

all times. 

(b)  The Board shall allow funeral establishments to procure and 

maintain one or more temporary refrigeration units. Any such 

temporary refrigeration unit must satisfy the requirements set 

forth in Subparagraphs (a)(2)-(5) of this Rule. Any such 

temporary refrigeration unit not located inside the funeral 
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establishment shall be kept locked at all times when human 

remains are stored inside. 

(c)  Human remains stored in a refrigeration unit, as set forth in 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, must be kept in a container 

that complies with G.S. 90-210.121(9)(b)-(f). 

(d)  Prior to using a refrigeration unit that is not located on its 

premises, a funeral establishment shall provide the Board with a 

written document that sets forth the following: 

(1) the name, contact information, and license 

number, if applicable, of the entity that owns 

the property on which the refrigeration unit is 

located; 

(2) the physical address of the property on which 

the refrigeration unit is located; 

(3) the name, contact information, and license 

number, if applicable, of the entity responsible 

for maintaining the refrigeration unit that meets 

the requirements of Paragraphs (a) and (b) of 

this Rule; 

(4) certification from both the licensed manager of 

the funeral establishment and an officer, owner, 

member, or partner of the entity responsible for 

maintaining the refrigeration unit in compliance 

with Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, 

acknowledging that: 

(A) the funeral establishment shall use the 

refrigeration unit for the storage of 

human remains; 

(B) the refrigeration unit complies with 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule; 

(C) a log documenting the chain of 

possession of human remains shall be 

maintained, which sets forth the name 

of the decedent, the funeral 

establishment or other entity for whom 

the human remains are being stored, 

and the date and time that human 

remains are placed inside and removed 

from the refrigeration unit; 

(D) the Board inspectors shall have access 

to the refrigeration unit at all times; 

(E) any licensee or permit holder that uses 

or maintains a refrigeration unit that is 

not compliant with this Rule is subject 

to disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 

210.25(d)(4) and 90-210.25(e)(1)(j). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23; 90-210.27A(h), (l). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34C - CREMATORIES 

 

SECTION .0200 - EQUIPMENT AND PROCESSING 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0202 REFRIGERATION 

(a)  Crematory and hydrolysis licensees shall have located on its 

premises a refrigeration unit that: capable of storing at least three 

adult human bodies, each measuring up to seven feet in length and 

three hundred pounds in weight, in the holding facility. Each 

refrigeration unit required by this Rule shall be capable of 

maintaining an interior temperature of 40 degrees Fahrenheit 

while loaded with the maximum number of bodies for which it is 

designed; shall be a sealed concrete, stainless steel, galvanized, 

aluminum, or other flooring in walk-in units; and shall be stainless 

steel, aluminum, or other non-corrosive materials for the 

remainder of all units. 

(1) is capable of storing at least three adult human 

bodies, each measuring up to seven feet in 

length and three hundred pounds in weight, in 

the holding facility; 

(2) is capable of maintaining an interior 

temperature of 40 degrees Fahrenheit while 

loaded with the maximum number of bodies for 

which it is designed; 

(3) has sealed concrete, stainless steel, galvanized, 

aluminum, or other flooring in walk-in units; 

and 

(4) has stainless steel, aluminum, or other non-

corrosive materials for the remainder of all 

units. 

(b)  A refrigeration unit in compliance with Subparagraphs (a)(1)-

(4) of this Rule shall satisfy a crematory or hydrolysis licensee's 

compliance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule if the refrigeration unit 

is housed in a funeral establishment, crematory, or hydrolysis 

licensee sharing common ownership with, and located on the 

same contiguous piece of property as, the crematory or hydrolysis 

licensee. 

(b)(c)  Unembalmed human remains retained in the custody of a 

crematory or hydrolysis licensee for more than 24 hours prior to 

cremation or hydrolysis shall be kept in a refrigeration unit. 

Human remains stored in a refrigeration unit, as set forth in 

Paragraphs (a) and (c) of this Rule, must be kept in a container 

that complies with G.S. 90-210.121(9)(a)-(f). The Board shall 

allow a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to procure and maintain 

one or more temporary refrigeration units. Any such temporary 

refrigeration unit must satisfy the requirements set forth in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(4) of this Rule. Any such temporary 

refrigeration unit not located inside the crematory shall be kept 

locked at all times when human remains are stored inside. 

(d)  Prior to using a refrigeration unit that is not located on its 

premises, a crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall provide the 

Board with a written document that sets forth the following: 

(1) the name, contact information, and license 

number, if applicable, of the entity that owns 

the property on which the refrigeration unit is 

located; 

(2) the physical address of the property on which 

the refrigeration unit is located; 

(3) the name, contact information, and license 

number, if applicable, of the entity responsible 

for maintaining the refrigeration unit that meets 

the requirements of Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(4) of 

this Rule; 

(4) certification from both the manager of the 

crematory and an officer, owner, member, or 

partner of the entity responsible for maintaining 

the refrigeration unit in compliance with 

Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(4) of this Rule, 

acknowledging that: 
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(A) the crematory or hydrolysis licensee 

shall use the refrigeration unit for the 

storage of human remains; 

(B) the refrigeration unit complies with 

Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(4) of this Rule; 

(C) a log documenting the chain of 

possession of human remains shall be 

maintained, which sets forth the name 

of the decedent, the funeral 

establishment or other entity for whom 

the human remains are being stored, 

and the date and time that human 

remains are placed inside and removed 

from the refrigeration unit; 

(D) the Board inspectors shall have access 

to the refrigeration unit at all times; 

(E) any licensee or permit holder that uses 

or maintains a refrigeration unit that is 

not compliant with this Rule is subject 

to disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 

210.25(d)(4) and 90-210.25(e)(1)(j). 

(c)  The provisions of this Rule shall not be construed to require a 

crematory facility and hydrolysis facility that share common 

ownership and are located on a single contiguous piece of 

property to maintain more than one refrigeration unit. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.121(9),(12); 90-210.123(g); 

90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h). 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on April 15, 2021 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

PLANT CONSERVATION BOARD 

Protected Plant Species List 02 NCAC 48F .0301* 35:07 NCR 

COMMERCE - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY, DIVISION OF 

Notice to Employer of Potential Charges 04 NCAC 24D .0102 35:13 NCR 

Requirements for Requesting Noncharging of Benefit Payments 04 NCAC 24D .0103 35:18 NCR 

Time for Filing Requests for Noncharging 04 NCAC 24D .0104 35:18 NCR 

Determination on Requests for Noncharging 04 NCAC 24D .0105 35:18 NCR 

Appealing Denial or Request for Noncharging 04 NCAC 24D .0106 35:18 NCR 

Notice of Employer Quarterly Charges 04 NCAC 24D .0201* 35:13 NCR 

Requirements for Filing Protests to List of Charges 04 NCAC 24D .0202 35:13 NCR 

Grounds for Protesting List of Charges 04 NCAC 24D .0203 35:13 NCR 

Telephone Hearings Before the Board of Review 04 NCAC 24F .0303 35:13 NCR 

In-Person Hearings 04 NCAC 24F .0304* 35:13 NCR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Responsibilities of the School Director 12 NCAC 09B .0202* 35:12 NCR 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09B .0209* 35:12 NCR 

Evaluation for Training Waiver 12 NCAC 09B .0403* 35:12 NCR 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 12 NCAC 09E .0105* 35:12 NCR 

Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09G .0414* 35:12 NCR 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Terms and Conditions of Detention Officer Instructor Cert... 12 NCAC 10B .0905* 35:13 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of a Limited Lecturer Certification 12 NCAC 10B .0909* 35:13 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of Telecommunicator Instructor Certi... 12 NCAC 10B .0915* 35:13 NCR 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Standards and Requirements for Shellfish Leases and Franc... 15A NCAC 03O .0201* 35:07 NCR 

Shellfish Lease Applications 15A NCAC 03O .0202* 35:07 NCR 

Permanent Secondary Nursery Areas 15A NCAC 03R .0104 35:07 NCR 

Special Secondary Nursery Areas 15A NCAC 03R .0105 35:07 NCR 

Oyster Sanctuaries 15A NCAC 03R .0117 35:07 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Closures and Waivers 15A NCAC 10A .1102 35:11 NCR 

Wildlife Taken for Depredations 15A NCAC 10B .0106* 35:10 NCR 

Attendance of Traps 15A NCAC 10B .0110* 35:11 NCR 

Permitted Archery Equipment 15A NCAC 10B .0116 35:11 NCR 

Bear 15A NCAC 10B .0202 35:11 NCR 

Deer (White Tailed) 15A NCAC 10B .0203* 35:11 NCR 
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Wild Quail Management Areas 15A NCAC 10B .0227* 35:11 NCR 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 15A NCAC 10C .0205* 35:11 NCR 

Possession of Certain Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0211 35:11 NCR 

Largemouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0305* 35:11 NCR 

Striped Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0314 35:11 NCR 

Trout 15A NCAC 10C .0316 35:11 NCR 

Smallmouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0321 35:11 NCR 

Alabama Bass and Spotted Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0322* 35:11 NCR 

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0401 35:11 NCR 

Taking Nongame Fishes for Bait or Personal Consumption 15A NCAC 10C .0402 35:11 NCR 

General Regulations Regarding Use 15A NCAC 10D .0102* 35:11 NCR 

Brunswick County 15A NCAC 10F .0305* 35:11 NCR 

Wildlife Control Agent License Eligibility and Requirements 15A NCAC 10H .1501 35:10 NCR 

Depredation Permits Issued by Wildlife Control Agents 15A NCAC 10H .1502 35:10 NCR 

Manner of Take 15A NCAC 10H .1503* 35:10 NCR 

Records and Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 10H .1504 35:10 NCR 

Wildlife Control Agent License Renewal and Revocation 15A NCAC 10H .1505* 35:10 NCR 

Alligator Control Agent Certification Eligibility and Req... 15A NCAC 10H .1506* 35:10 NCR 

Additional Permit Requirements for Alligator Control Agents 15A NCAC 10H .1507* 35:10 NCR 

Alligator Control Agent Certification Eligibility and Req... 15A NCAC 10H .1508 35:10 NCR 

Alligator Control Agent Certification Renewal and Revocation 15A NCAC 10H .1509 35:10 NCR 

Hunting on Wildlife Conservation Areas 15A NCAC 10J .0103* 35:11 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .1701 35:12 NCR 

General Provisions for Structural Fill Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1702 35:12 NCR 

Notification for Structural Fill Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1703 35:12 NCR 

Siting for Structural Fill Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1704 35:12 NCR 

Design, Construction, and Operation for Structural Fill F... 15A NCAC 13B .1705 35:12 NCR 

Closure of Structural Fill Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1706 35:12 NCR 

Recordation of Structural Fill Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1707 35:12 NCR 

Other Uses for Coal Combustion By-Products 15A NCAC 13B .1708 35:12 NCR 

Storage and Containment of Coal Combustion By-Products 15A NCAC 13B .1709 35:12 NCR 

Annual Reporting 15A NCAC 13B .1710 35:12 NCR 

Requirements for Existing Structural Fills 15A NCAC 13B .1713* 35:12 NCR 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Floors 15A NCAC 18A .0140* 35:07 NCR 

Walls and Ceilings 15A NCAC 18A .0141* 35:07 NCR 

Lighting 15A NCAC 18A .0142 35:07 NCR 

Ventilation 15A NCAC 18A .0143 35:07 NCR 

Premises 15A NCAC 18A .0146* 35:07 NCR 

Sewage Disposal 15A NCAC 18A .0150* 35:07 NCR 

Employees' Personal Articles 15A NCAC 18A .0154 35:07 NCR 

Supply Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0155 35:07 NCR 

Separation of Operations 15A NCAC 18A .0159 35:07 NCR 

Raw Crustacea Receiving and Refrigeration 15A NCAC 18A .0160 35:07 NCR 

Cooked Crustacea Refrigeration 15A NCAC 18A .0163 35:07 NCR 
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Delivery Window or Shelf 15A NCAC 18A .0167 35:07 NCR 

Freezing 15A NCAC 18A .0169 35:07 NCR 

Shipping 15A NCAC 18A .0170 35:07 NCR 

Whole Crustacea or Crustacea Products 15A NCAC 18A .0171 35:07 NCR 

Cooked Claw Shipping Conditions 15A NCAC 18A .0172* 35:07 NCR 

Recall Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .0179 35:07 NCR 

Sampling and Testing 15A NCAC 18A .0180 35:07 NCR 

Hazard Analysis 15A NCAC 18A .0188 35:07 NCR 

HACCP Plan 15A NCAC 18A .0189* 35:07 NCR 

Sanitation Monitoring 15A NCAC 18A .0190 35:07 NCR 

Standards for an Approved Shellfish Growing Area 15A NCAC 18A .0431 35:07 CFR 

Laboratory Procedures 15A NCAC 18A .0704* 35:07 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .0901* 35:07 NCR 

Classification of Shellfish Growing Waters 15A NCAC 18A .0902 35:07 NCR 

Sanitary Survey 15A NCAC 18A .0903* 35:07 NCR 

Approved Waters 15A NCAC 18A .0904* 35:07 NCR 

Conditionally Approved Waters 15A NCAC 18A .0905* 35:07 NCR 

Restricted Areas 15A NCAC 18A .0906* 35:07 NCR 

Prohibited Waters 15A NCAC 18A .0907* 35:07 NCR 

Unsurveyed Areas 15A NCAC 18A .0908 35:07 NCR 

Buffer Zones 15A NCAC 18A .0909* 35:07 NCR 

Reclassification 15A NCAC 18A .0910 35:07 NCR 

Public Health Emergency 15A NCAC 18A .0913* 35:07 NCR 

Laboratory Procedures 15A NCAC 18A .0914* 35:07 NCR 

TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF 

Purpose 19A NCAC 03C .0101 35:14 NCR 

Forms 19A NCAC 03C .0102 35:14 NCR 

Function 19A NCAC 03C .0201* 35:14 NCR 

Class of License Plate 19A NCAC 03C .0225* 35:14 NCR 

Date First Operated 19A NCAC 03C .0227* 35:14 NCR 

Signature 19A NCAC 03C .0229* 35:14 NCR 

Leased Vehicles 19A NCAC 03C .0233* 35:14 NCR 

Display of License Plate Renewal Sticker 19A NCAC 03C .0237* 35:14 NCR 

Self-Propelled Camping Vehicles 19A NCAC 03C .0423 35:14 NCR 

Personalized Plates and Specialty Plates 19A NCAC 03C .0427* 35:14 NCR 

Purchase of Out-Of-State Vehicles: Removal of Plates 19A NCAC 03C .0431* 35:14 NCR 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Eligibility 25 NCAC 01E .0908* 35:04 NCR 

 
The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Marking Shellfish Leases and Franchises 15A NCAC 03O .0204* 35:07 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Marking Shellfish Leases and Franchises 15A NCAC 10D .0103* 35:11 NCR 
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EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Marking Shellfish Leases and Franchises 16 NCAC 06G .0508* 34:13 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 48F .0301 PROTECTED PLANT SPECIES LIST 

The North Carolina Plant Conservation Board hereby establishes the following list of protected plant species (** indicates federally 

listed): 

Species     Status 

(1) Acmispon helleri    Threatened 

Carolina Prairie-trefoil; 

(2) Acrobolbus ciliatus   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A liverwort; 

(3) Adiantum capillus-veneris   Threatened 

Venus Hair Fern; 

(4) Adlumia fungosa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Climbing Fumitory; 

(5) Aeschynomene virginica**  Threatened 

Sensitive Jointvetch; 

(6) Agalinis virgata    Threatened 

Branched Gerardia; 

(7) Agrostis mertensii   Endangered 

Arctic Bentgrass; 

(8) Aletris lutea    Threatened 

Yellow Colic-root; 

(9) Allium allegheniense   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Allegheny Onion; 

(10) Allium keeverae    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Keever's Onion; 

(11) Alnus crispa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Green Alder; 

(12) Amaranthus pumilus**   Threatened 

Seabeach Amaranth; 

(13) Amorpha confusa    Threatened 

Savanna Indigo-bush; 

(14) Amorpha georgiana   Endangered 

Georgia Indigo-bush; 

(15) Amphicarpum muhlenbergianum  Endangered 

Florida Goober Grass, Blue Maidencane; 

(16) Anemone berlandieri   Endangered 

Southern Anemone; 

(17) Anemone caroliniana   Endangered 

Prairie Anemone; 

(18) Arabis adpressipilis   Endangered 

Hairy Rockcress; 

(19) Arethusa bulbosa    Endangered 

Bog Rose; 

(20) Aristida condensata   Threatened 

Big Three-awn Grass; 

(21) Aristida simpliciflora   Endangered 

Chapman's Three-awn; 

(22) Arnoglossum ovatum var. lanceolatum Endangered 

Savanna Indian-plantain; 

(23) Asclepias cinerea    Special Concern, Historical 

Carolina Milkweed; 

(24) Asclepias pedicellata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 
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Savanna Milkweed; 

(25) Asplenium heteroresiliens   Endangered 

Carolina Spleenwort; 

(26) Asplenium monanthes   Endangered 

Single-sorus Spleenwort; 

(27) Asplenium ruta-muraria var. cryptolepis Special Concern, Vulnerable 

American Wall-rue; 

(28) Astragalus michauxii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sandhills Milkvetch; 

(29) Baccharis glomeruliflora   Endangered 

Silverling; 

(30) Bacopa caroliniana   Threatened 

Blue Water-hyssop; 

(31) Bacopa innominata   Special Concern, Historical 

Tropical Water-hyssop; 

(32) Balduina atropurpurea   Endangered 

Purple-disk Honeycomb-head; 

(33) Baptista aberrans    Endangered 

Eastern Prairie Blue Wild Indigo 

(34) Baptisia alba    Threatened 

Thick-pod White Wild Indigo; 

(35) Baptisia bracteata    Special Concern, Historical 

Creamy Wild Indigo; 

(36) Berberis canadensis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

American Barberry; 

(37) Betula cordifolia    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Mountain Paper Birch; 

(38) Bouteloua curtipendula var. curtipendula Threatened 

Sideoats Grama; 

(39) Bromus ciliatus    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Fringed Brome; 

(40) Buchnera americana   Endangered 

American Bluehearts; 

(41) Buckleya distichophylla   Threatened 

Piratebush; 

(42) Bulbostylis warei    Special Concern, Historical 

Ware's Hair Sedge; 

(43) Calamagrostis cainii   Endangered 

Cain's Reedgrass; 

(44) Calamagrostis canadensis var. canadensis Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Canada Reedgrass; 

(45) Calopogon multiflorus   Endangered 

Many-flowered Grass-pink; 

(46) Caltha palustris var. palustris  Endangered 

Marsh Marigold; 

(47) Camassia scilloides   Threatened 

Wild Hyacinth; 

(48) Campanula rotundifolia   Endangered 

Bluebells; 

(49) Campylium stellatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Yellow Starry Fen Moss; 

(50) Cardamine dissecta   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Dissected Toothwort; 

(51) Cardamine longii    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Long's Bittercress; 

(52) Cardamine micranthera**   Endangered 

Small-anthered Bittercress; 

(53) Carex arctata    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Black Sedge; 
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(54) Carex argyrantha    Endangered 

Hay Sedge; 

(55) Carex barrattii    Special Concern, Historical 

Barratt's Sedge; 

(56) Carex basiantha    Endangered 

Widow Sedge; 

(57) Carex buxbaumii    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Brown Bog Sedge; 

(58) Carex calcifugens    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Calcium-fleeing Sedge; 

(59) Carex careyana    Threatened 

Carey's Sedge; 

(60) Carex cherokeensis   Threatened 

Cherokee Sedge; 

(61) Carex conoidea    Threatened 

Cone-shaped Sedge, Field Sedge; 

(62) Carex cristatella    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Crested Sedge; 

(63) Carex eburnea    Threatened 

Bristle-leaf Sedge; 

(64) Carex exilis    Endangered 

Coastal Sedge; 

(65) Carex hormathodes   Threatened 

Marsh Straw Sedge; 

(66) Carex impressinervia   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Ravine Sedge; 

(67) Carex jamesii    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

James's Sedge; 

(68) Carex lasiocarpa var. americana  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Slender Sedge; 

(69) Carex lutea**    Endangered 

Golden Sedge; 

(70) Carex meadii    Endangered 

Mead's Sedge; 

(71) Carex oligocarpa    Threatened 

Rich-woods Sedge; 

(72) Carex oligosperma   Endangered 

Few-seeded Sedge; 

(73) Carex pedunculata var. pedunculata  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Longstalk Sedge; 

(74) Carex radfordii    Threatened 

Radford's Sedge; 

(75) Carex reniformis    Threatened 

Kidney Sedge; 

(76) Carex superata    Threatened 

Limestone Forest Sedge; 

(77) Carex tenax    Endangered 

Wire Sedge; 

(78) Carex trichocarpa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Hairy-fruited Sedge; 

(79) Carex trisperma    Endangered 

Three-seeded Sedge; 

(80) Carex utriculata    Endangered 

Beaked Sedge; 

(81) Carex vesicaria    Endangered 

Inflated Sedge;  

(82) Carex vestita    Threatened 

Velvet Sedge; 

(83) Carya laciniosa    Threatened 
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Big Shellbark Hickory; 

(84) Carya myristiciformis   Endangered 

Nutmeg Hickory; 

(85) Caulophyllum giganteum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Northern Blue Cohosh; 

(86) Celastrus scandens   Endangered 

American Bittersweet; 

(87) Cetraria arenaria    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sand-loving Iceland Lichen; 

(88) Chamerion angustifolium ssp.   Endangered 

circumvagum Fireweed; 

(89) Chasmanthium nitidum   Threatened 

Shiny Spanglegrass; 

(90) Chelone cuthbertii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Cuthbert's Turtlehead; 

(91) Chenopodiastrum simplex   Threatened 

Mapleleaf Goosefoot; 

(92) Chiloscyphus appalachianus  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A liverwort; 

(93) Chiloscyphus muricatus   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A liverwort; 

(94) Chrysoma pauciflosculosa   Endangered 

Woody Goldenrod; 

(95) Cirsium carolinianum   Endangered 

Carolina Thistle; 

(96) Cirsium lecontei    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

LeConte's Thistle; 

(97) Clematis occidentalis var. occidentalis Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Mountain Clematis; 

(98) Clinopodium georgianum   Endangered 

Georgia Calamint; 

(99) Collinsonia verticillata   Threatened 

Whorled Horsebalm; 

(100) Conioselinum chinense   Threatened 

Hemlock-parsley; 

(101) Coptis trifolia    Threatened 

Goldthread; 

(102) Coreopsis aristulata   Threatened 

Short-awned Coreopsis; 

(103) Corydalis micrantha   Threatened 

Slender Corydalis; 

(104) Coryphopteris simulata   Endangered 

Bog Fern; 

(105) Crataegus pallens    Threatened 

Pale Hawthorn; 

(106) Crinum americanum var. americanum Special Concern, Historical 

Swamp-lily; 

(107) Crocanthemum bicknellii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Plains Sunrose; 

(108) Crocanthemum carolinianum  Endangered 

Carolina Sunrose; 

(109) Crocanthemum corymbosum  Threatened 

Pinebarren Sunrose; 

(110) Crocanthemum georgianum  Endangered 

Georgia Sunrose; 

(111) Crocanthemum nashii   Endangered 

Florida Scrub Sunrose, Florida Scrub  

Frostweed; 

(112) Crocanthemum propinquum  Threatened 
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Creeping Sunrose; 

(113) Crocanthemum rosmarinifolium  Threatened 

Rosemary Sunrose; 

(114) Croton monanthogynus   Endangered 

Prairie-tea Croton; 

(115) Cyperus dentatus    Special Concern, Historical 

Toothed Flatsedge; 

(116) Cyperus granitophilus   Threatened 

Granite Flatsedge; 

(117) Cyperus lecontei    Threatened 

LeConte's Flatsedge; 

(118) Cyperus subsquarrosus   Special Concern, Historical 

Small-flowered Halfchaff; 

(119) Cyperus tetragonus   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Four-angled Flatsedge; 

(120) Cyperus virens    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Greens Flatsedge; 

(121) Cystopteris tennesseensis   Endangered 

Tennessee Bladder-fern; 

(122) Dactylorhiza viridis   Threatened 

Long-bracted Frog Orchid; 

(123) Dalibarda repens    Endangered 

Robin Runaway; 

(124) Delphinium exaltatum   Threatened 

Tall Larkspur; 

(125) Deschampsia cespitosa ssp. glauca  Threatened 

Tufted Hairgrass; 

(126) Desmodium ochroleucum   Special Concern, Historical 

White Tick-trefoil, Creamy Tick-trefoil; 

(127) Desmodium sessilifolium   Special Concern, Historical 

Sessile Tick-trefoil; 

(128) Diarrhena americana   Threatened 

Eastern Beakgrain; 

(129) Dichanthelium annulum   Endangered 

Ringed Witchgrass; 

(130) Dichanthelium caerulescens  Threatened 

Blue Witchgrass; 

(131) Dichanthelium hirstii   Endangered 

Hirst Brothers' Witchgrass; 

(132) Dichanthelium spretum   Endangered 

Eaton's Witchgrass; 

(133) Dichanthelium strigosum var. glabrescens Threatened 

Hairless Witchgrass; 

(134) Diervilla rivularis    Threatened 

Riverbank Bush-honeysuckle; 

(135) Dionaea muscipula   Threatened 

Venus Flytrap; 

(136) Diplachne maritima   Endangered 

Salt-meadow Grass; 

(137) Drosera filiformis var. filifformis  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Threadleaf Sundew; 

(138) Echinacea laevigata**   Endangered 

Smooth Coneflower; 

(139) Eleocharis cellulosa   Threatened 

Gulfcoast Spikerush; 

(140) Eleocharis elongata   Endangered 

Florida Spikerush; 

(141) Eleocharis parvula   Threatened 

Dwarf Spikerush; 
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(142) Eleocharis robbinsii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Robbins' Spikerush; 

(143) Eleocharis vivipara   Threatened 

Viviparous Spikerush; 

(144) Elymus trachycaulus ssp. trachycaulus Threatened 

Slender Wheatgrass; 

(145) Enemion biternatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Eastern Isopyrun; 

(146) Epidendrum conopseum   Threatened 

Green-fly Orchid; 

(147) Erigenia bulbosa    Threatened 

Harbinger-of-spring; 

(148) Eriocaulon aquaticum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Seven-angled Pipewort; 

(149) Eriocaulon parkeri   Threatened 

Estuary Pipewort; 

(150) Eriocaulon texense   Endangered 

Texas Hatpins; 

(151) Eriogonum tomentosum   Special Concern, Historical 

Southern Wild-buckwheat 

(152) Erythrina herbacea   Endangered 

Coralbean; 

(153) Eupatorium leptophyllum   Endangered 

Limesink Dog-fennel; 

(154) Eupatorium paludicola   Endangered 

Bay Boneset; 

(155) Euphorbia commutata   Threatened 

Cliff Spurge; 

(156) Euphorbia cordifolia   Threatened 

Heartleaf Sandmat; 

(157) Euphorbia mercurialina   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Cumberland Spurge; 

(158) Filipendula rubra    Endangered 

Queen-of-the-Prairie; 

(159) Fimbristylis perpusilla   Threatened 

Harper's Fimbry; 

(160) Gaillardia aestivalis var. aestivalis  Endangered 

Sandhills Blanket-flower; 

(161) Galactia mollis    Threatened 

Soft Milk-pea; 

(162) Gaylussacia brachycera   Endangered 

Box Huckleberry; 

(163) Gaylussacia nana    Endangered 

Dwarf Dangleberry; 

(164) Gaylussacia orocola   Endangered 

Appalachian Dwarf Huckleberry; 

(165) Gelsemium rankinii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Swamp Jessamine; 

(166) Gentiana alba    Special Concern, Historical 

Pale Gentian; 

(167) Gentiana latidens    Threatened 

Balsalm Mountain Gentian; 

(168) Gentianopsis crinita   Endangered 

Eastern Fringed Gentian; 

(169) Geum aleppicum    Endangered 

Yellow Avens; 

(170) Geum geniculatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Bent Avens; 

(171) Geum laciniatum    Endangered 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2021 

2553 

Rough Avens; 

(172) Geum radiatum**   Endangered 

Spreading Avens; 

(173) Gillenia stipulata    Threatened 

Indian Physic; 

(174) Glyceria laxa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Lax Mannagrass; 

(175) Gratiola lutea    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Golden Hedge-hyssop; 

(176) Gymnocarpium appalachianum  Threatened 

Appalachian Oak Fern; 

(177) Gymnoderma lineare**   Endangered 

Rock Gnome Lichen; 

(178) Harperella nodosa [Ptilimnium nodosum]** Endangered 

Harperella; 

(179) Helanthium tenellum   Endangered 

Dwarf Burhead; 

(180) Helenium brevifolium   Endangered 

Littleleaf Sneezeweed; 

(181) Helenium vernale    Endangered 

Spring Sneezeweed; 

(182) Helianthus floridanus   Threatened 

Florida Sunflower; 

(183) Helianthus laevigatus   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Smooth Sunflower; 

(184) Helianthus occidenatlis ssp. occidentalis Special Concern, Historical 

Naked-stem Sunflower; 

(185) Helianthus schweinitzii**   Endangered 

Schweinitz's Sunflower; 

(186) Helonias bullata**   Threatened 

Swamp Pink; 

(187) Hexastylis contracta   Endangered 

Mountain Heartleaf; 

(188) Hexastylis naniflora**   Threatened 

Dwarf-flowered Heartleaf; 

(189) Hibiscus aculeatus   Threatened 

Comfortroot; 

(190) Hottonia inflata    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Featherfoil; 

(191) Houstonia montana**   Endangered 

Roan Mountain Bluet; 

(192) Hudsonia montana**   Threatened 

Mountain Golden-heather; 

(193) Hudsonia tomentosa   Threatened 

Sand Heather; 

(194) Hydrastis canadensis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Goldenseal; 

(195) Hymenocallis occidentalis var. occidentalis Special Concern, Historical 

Hillside Spider-lily; 

(196) Hymenocallis pygmaea   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Waccamaw River Spiderlily; 

(197) Hypericum adpressum   Special Concern, Historical 

Bog St. John's-wort; 

(198) Hypericum brachyphyllum  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Coastal Plain St. John's-wort; 

(199) Hypericum fasciculatum   Endangered 

Peelbark St. John's-wort; 

(200) Hypericum radfordiorum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Radford's St. John's-wort; 
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(201) Hypericum suffruticosum   Special Concern, Historical 

Pineland St. John's-wort; 

(202) Hypotrachyna virginica   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Virginia Loop Lichen; 

(203) Ilex collina    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Long-stalked Holly; 

(204) Ipomoea imperati    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Beach Morning-glory; 

(205) Ipomoea macrorhiza   Special Concern, Historical 

Manroot; 

(206) Isoetes microvela    Threatened 

Thin-wall Quillwort; 

(207) Isoetes piedmontana   Threatened 

Piedmont Quillwort; 

(208) Isotria medeoloides**   Threatened 

Small Whorled Pogonia; 

(209) Iva microcephala    Threatened 

Small-headed Marsh Elder; 

(210) Jeffersonia diphylla   Threatened 

Twinleaf: 

(211) Juncus articulatus    Special Concern, Historical 

Jointleafed Rush; 

(212) Juncus caesariensis   Endangered 

New Jersey Rush; 

(213) Juniperus communis var. depressa  Threatened 

Dwarf Juniper; 

(214) Kalmia angustifolia   Threatened 

Sheep-laurel; 

(215) Koeleria spicata    Special Concern, Historical 

Spike Trisetum; 

(216) Lachnocaulon minus   Threatened 

Brown Bogbutton; 

(217) Lechea maritima var. virginica  Threatened 

Maritime Pinweed; 

(218) Lechea torreyi var. congesta  Endangered 

Torrey's Pinweed; 

(219) Lejeunea blomquistii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A liverwort; 

(220) Liatris aspera    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Rough Blazing-star; 

(221) Liatris helleri**    Threatened 

Heller's Blazing-star; 

(222) Liatris microcephala   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Small-head Blazing-star; 

(223) Lilium canadense    Endangered 

Canada Lily; 

(224) Lilium grayi    Threatened 

Gray's Lily; 

(225) Lilium philadelphicum var. philadelphicum Endangered 

Wood Lily; 

(226) Lilium pyrophilum   Endangered 

Sandhills Lily; 

(227) Limosella australis   Threatened 

Awl-leaf, Mudwort; 

(228) Lindera melissifolia**   Endangered 

Pondberry; 

(229) Lindera subcoriacea   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Bog Spicebush; 

(230) Linum floridanum var. chrysocarpum Threatened 
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Yellow-fruited Flax; 

(231) Linum sulcatum    Special Concern, Historical 

Glade Flax; 

(232) Liparis loeselii    Endangered 

Fen Orchid; 

(233) Lithospermum canescens   Threatened 

Hoary Puccoon; 

(234) Litsea aestivalis    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Pondspice; 

(235) Lobelia boykinii    Endangered 

Boykin's Lobelia; 

(236) Lophiola aurea    Endangered 

Golden-crest; 

(237) Ludwigia lanceolata   Endangered 

Lanceleaf Seedbox; 

(238) Ludwigia linifolia   Threatened 

Flaxleaf Seedbox; 

(239) Ludwigia ravenii    Endangered 

Raven's Seedbox; 

(240) Ludwigia sphaerocarpa   Endangered 

Globe-fruit Seedbox; 

(241) Ludwigia suffruticosa   Threatened 

Shrubby Seedbox; 

(242) Lupinus villosus    Endangered 

Pink Sandhill Lupine; 

(243) Lycopodiella inundata   Endangered 

Northern Bog Clubmoss; 

(244) Lysimachia asperulifolia**  Endangered 

Rough-leaf Loosestrife; 

(245) Lysimachia borealis   Threatened 

Northern Starflower; 

(246) Lysimachia fraseri   Endangered 

Fraser's Loosestrife; 

(247) Macbridea caroliniana   Endangered 

Carolina Birds-in-a-Nest, Carolina  

Bogmint; 

(248) Magnolia macrophylla   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Bigleaf Magnolia; 

(249) Malaxis spicata    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Florida Adder's-mouth; 

(250) Marshallia grandiflora   Special Concern, Historical 

Large-flowered Barbara's-buttons; 

(251) Marshallia legrandii   Endangered 

Oak Barrens Barbara's-buttons; 

(252) Marshallia trinervia   Special Concern, Historical 

Broadleaf Barbara's-buttons; 

(253) Melanthium woodii   Threatened 

Ozark Bunchflower; 

(254) Melica nitens    Endangered 

Three-flowered Melic; 

(255) Menyanthes trifoliata   Threatened 

Buckbean; 

(256) Micranthes pensylvanica   Endangered 

Swamp Saxifrage; 

(257) Mnesithea cylindrica   Special Concern, Historical 

Carolina Jointgrass; 

(258) Mononeuria groenlandica   Threatened 

Greenland Sandwort; 

(259) Mononeuria paludicola   Endangered 
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Godfrey's Sandwort; 

(260) Mononeuria uniflora   Endangered 

Single-flowered Sandwort; 

(261) Moranopteris nimbata   Threatened 

West Indian Dwarf Polypody; 

(262) Muhlenbergia glomerata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Spiked Muhly; 

(263) Muhlenbergia sobolifera   Threatened 

Rock Muhly; 

(264) Muhlenbergia torreyana   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Pinebarren Smokegrass; 

(265) Myrica gale    Endangered 

Sweet Gale; 

(266) Myriophyllum laxum   Endangered 

Loose Water-milfoil; 

(267) Myriophyllum tenellum   Endangered 

Leafless Water-milfoil; 

(268) Nabalus albus    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

White Rattlesnakeroot; 

(269) Narthecium montanum   Special Concern, Historical 

Appalachian Yellow Asphodel; 

(270) Oenothera perennis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Perennial Sundrops; 

(271) Oldenlandia boscii   Threatened 

Bosc's Bluet; 

(272) Oligoneuron album   Endangered 

Prairie Goldenrod; 

(273) Oligoneuron jacksonii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Southeastern Bold Goldenrod; 

(274) Oligoneuron rigidum   Threatened 

Midwestern Bold Goldenrod; 

(275) Orbexilum macrophyllum   Special Concern, Historical 

Bigleaf Scurfpea; 

(276) Orbexilum onobrychis   Special Concern, Historical 

Lanceleaf Scurfpea; 

(277) Orbexilum pedunculatum   Endangered 

Western Sampson's Snakeroot; 

(278) Oreojuncus trifidus   Threatened 

Highland Rush; 

(279) Orthochilus ecristatus   Endangered 

Spiked Medusa; 

(280) Pachysandra procumbens   Endangered 

Allegheny Spurge; 

(281) Packera crawfordii   Endangered 

Crawford's Ragwort; 

(282) Packera millefolium   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Blue Ridge Ragwort; 

(283) Packera paupercula var. appalachiana Threatened 

Appalachian Ragwort; 

(284) Packera paupercula var. paupercula  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Balsam Ragwort; 

(285) Packera schweinitziana   Threatened 

New England Ragwort; 

(286) Packera serpenticola   Threatened 

Buck Creek Ragwort; 

(287) Palustricodon aparinoides var. aparinoides Threatened 

Marsh Bellflower; 

(288) Panicum flexile    Threatened 

Wiry Panic Grass; 
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(289) Parnassia caroliniana   Threatened 

Carolina Grass-of-parnassus; 

(290) Parnassia grandifolia   Threatened 

Bigleaf Grass-of-parnassus; 

(291) Paronychia herniarioides   Endangered 

Michaux's Whitlow-wort; 

(292) Paspalum dissectum   Endangered 

Mudbank Crown Grass; 

(293) Pedicularis lanceolata   Threatened 

Swamp Lousewort; 

(294) Pellaea wrightiana   Endangered 

Wright's Cliff-brake; 

(295) Persicaria hirsuta    Endangered 

Hairy Smartweed; 

(296) Phacelia maculata   Endangered 

Flatrock Phacelia; 

(297) Phegopteris connectilis   Endangered 

Northern Beech Fern; 

(298) Phemeranthus piedmontanus  Endangered 

Piedmont Rock-pink; 

(299) Pinguicula lutea    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Yellow Butterwort; 

(300) Pinguicula pumila   Threatened 

Small Butterwort; 

(301) Pityopsis graminifolia   Endangered 

A Silkgrass; 

(302) Plantago cordata    Endangered 

Heart-leaf Plantain; 

(303) Plantago sparsiflora   Threatened 

Pineland Plantain; 

(304) Platanthera herbiola   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Tubercled Rein Orchid; 

(305) Platanthera integra   Threatened 

Yellow Fringeless Orchid; 

(306) Platanthera integrilabia**   Threatened 

White Fringeless Orchid; 

(307) Platanthera nivea    Endangered 

Snowy Orchid; 

(308) Platanthera peramoena   Threatened 

Purple Fringeless Orchid; 

(309) Platanthera shriveri   Endangered 

Shriver's Purple Fringed Orchid; 

(310) Poa saltuensis    Threatened 

Old-pasture Bluegrass; 

(311) Polemonium reptans var. reptans  Threatened 

Spreading Jacob's Ladder; 

(312) Polygala hookeri    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Hooker's Milkwort; 

(313) Polygala senega    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Seneca Snakeroot; 

(314) Polygonella articulata   Special Concern, Historical 

Northern Wireweed, Coast Jointweed; 

(315) Polygonum glaucum   Endangered 

Seabeach Knotweed; 

(316) Ponthieva racemosa   Threatened 

Shadow-witch; 

(317) Portulaca smallii    Threatened 

Small's Portulaca; 

(318) Potamogeton illinoensis   Endangered 
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Illinois Pondweed; 

(319) Primula meadia    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Eastern Shooting-star; 

(320) Pseudognaphalium helleri   Endangered 

Heller's Rabbit-tobacco; 

(321) Ptilimnium costatum   Threatened 

Big Bishop-weed; 

(322) Pyrola elliptica    Threatened 

Elliptic Shinleaf; 

(323) Pyxidanthera brevifolia   Threatened 

Sandhills Pyxie-moss; 

(324) Quercus elliottii    Endangered 

Running Oak; 

(325) Quercus ilicifolia    Endangered 

Bear Oak 

(326) Quercus minima    Endangered 

Dwarf Live Oak; 

(327) Quercus prinoides   Endangered 

Dwarf Chinquapin Oak; 

(328) Ranunculus ambigens   Special Concern, Historical 

Water-plantain Spearwort; 

(329) Ranunculus hederaceus   Threatened 

Ivy-leaved Water Crowfoot; 

(330) Rhexia aristosa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Awned Meadow-beauty; 

(331) Rhodiola rosea    Endangered 

Roseroot; 

(332) Rhododendron prinophyllum  Threatened 

Election Pink; 

(333) Rhus michauxii**   Endangered 

Michaux's Sumac; 

(334) Rhynchospora crinipes   Threatened 

Alabama Beaksedge; 

(335) Rhynchospora decurrens   Threatened 

Swamp Forest Beaksedge; 

(336) Rhynchospora harperi   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Harper's Beaksedge: 

(337) Rhynchospora macra   Threatened 

Southern White Beaksedge; 

(338) Rhynchospora microcarpa   Threatened 

Southern Beaksedge; 

(339) Rhynchospora odorata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Fragrant Beaksedge; 

(340) Rhynchospora pleiantha   Threatened 

Coastal Beaksedge; 

(341) Rhynchospora thornei   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Thorne's Beaksedge; 

(342) Rhynchospora tracyi   Threatened 

Tracy's Beaksedge; 

(343) Rubus strigosus    Threatened 

American Red Raspberry; 

(344) Rudbeckia heliopsidis   Endangered 

Sun-facing Coneflower; 

(345) Ruellia ciliosa    Threatened 

Sandhills Wild-petunia; 

(346) Ruellia humilis    Threatened 

Low Wild-petunia; 

(347) Ruellia purshiana    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Pursh's Wild-petunia; 
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(348) Ruellia strepens    Endangered 

Limestone Wild-petunia; 

(349) Sabal palmetto    Threatened 

Cabbage Palmetto; 

(350) Sabatia kennedyana   Threatened 

Plymouth Gentian; 

(351) Sageretia minutiflora   Threatened 

Small-flowered Buckthorn; 

(352) Sagittaria chapmanii   Threatened 

Chapman's Arrowhead; 

(353) Sagittaria fasciculata**   Endangered 

Bunched Arrowhead; 

(354) Sagittaria isoetiformis   Threatened 

Quillwort Arrowhead; 

(355) Sagittaria macrocarpa   Threatened 

Streamhead Arrowhead; 

(356) Sagittaria weatherbiana   Endangered 

Grassleaf Weatherby's Arrowhead; 

(357) Sarracenia jonesii**   Endangered 

Mountain Sweet Pitcher Plant; 

(358) Sarracenia minor var. minor  Endangered 

Hooded Pitcher Plant; 

(359) Sarracenia oreophila**   Endangered 

Green Pitcher Plant; 

(360) Sarracenia purpurea var. montana  Endangered 

Southern Appalachian Purple Pitcher Plant; 

(361) Sceptridium jenmanii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Alabama Grape-fern; 

(362) Schisandra glabra    Threatened 

Magnolia Vine; 

(363) Schwalbea americana**   Endangered 

Chaffseed; 

(364) Scirpus flaccidifolius   Endangered 

Reclining Bulrush; 

(365) Scirpus lineatus    Threatened 

Drooping Bulrush; 

(366) Scleria baldwinii    Threatened 

Baldwin's Nutrush; 

(367) Scleria bellii    Endangered 

Smooth-seeded Hairy Nutrush; 

(368) Scleria reticularis    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Netted Nutrush; 

(369) Sclerolepis uniflora   Threatened 

Sclerolepis; 

(370) Scutellaria australis   Endangered 

Southern Skullcap; 

(371) Scutellaria galericulata   Special Concern, Historical 

Hooded Skullcap; 

(372) Scutellaria leonardii   Endangered 

Shale-barren Skullcap; 

(373) Scutellaria nervosa   Endangered 

Veined Skullcap; 

(374) Sedum pusillum    Endangered 

Puck's Orpine; 

(375) Senecio suaveolens   Endangered 

Sweet Indian-plantain; 

(376) Sesuvium maritimum   Endangered 

Slender Sea-purslane; 

(377) Sesuvium portulacastrum   Endangered 
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Shoreline Sea-purslane; 

(378) Seymeria pectinata ssp.pectinata  Special Concern, Historical 

Comb Seymeria; 

(379) Shortia brevistyla    Threatened 

Northern Oconee Bells; 

(380) Shortia galacifolia   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Southern Oconee Bells; 

(381) Sideroxylon tenax   Threatened 

Tough Bumelia; 

(382) Silene ovata    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Mountain Catchfly; 

(383) Silphium connatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Virginia Cup-plant; 

(384) Silphium perfoliatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Common Cup-plant; 

(385) Sisyrinchium dichotomum**  Endangered 

White Irisette; 

(386) Solidago leavenworthii   Endangered 

Leavenworth's Goldenrod; 

(387) Solidago plumosa    Threatened 

Yadkin River Goldenrod; 

(388) Solidago radula    Endangered 

Western Rough Goldenrod; 

(389) Solidago spithamaea**   Threatened 

Blue Ridge Goldenrod; 

(390) Solidago tortifolia   Endangered 

Leafy Pineywoods Godenrod; 

(391) Solidago verna    Threatened 

Spring-flowering Goldenrod; 

(392) Solidago villosicarpa   Threatened 

Carolina Maritime Goldenrod: 

(393) Sparganium acaule   Endangered 

Greenfruit Bur-reed; 

(394) Spartina pectinata    Threatened 

Freshwater Cordgrass; 

(395) Sphagnum contortum   Threatened 

Contorted Peatmoss; 

(396) Sphagnum warnstorfii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Fen Peatmoss; 

(397) Spigelia marilandica   Threatened 

Pink-root; 

(398) Spiraea corymbosa   Endangered 

Rock Spiraea; 

(399) Spiraea virginiana**   Threatened 

Virginia Spiraea; 

(400) Spiranthes lacera var. lacera  Endangered 

Northern Slender Ladies'-tresses; 

(401) Spiranthes laciniata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Lace-lip Ladies'-tresses; 

(402) Spiranthes longilabris   Endangered 

Giant Spiral Orchid; 

(403) Spiranthes lucida    Endangered 

Shining Ladies'-tresses; 

(404) Spiranthes ochroleuca   Threatened 

Yellow Nodding Ladies'-tresses; 

(405) Sporobolus heterolepis   Threatened 

Prairie Dropseed; 

(406) Sporobolus teretifolius   Endangered 

Wireleaf Dropseed; 
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(407) Sporobolus virginicus   Threatened 

Seashore Dropseed; 

(408) Stachys appalachiana   Endangered 

Appalachian Hedge-nettle; 

(409) Stachys eplingii    Endangered 

Epling's Hedge-nettle; 

(410) Stachys matthewsii   Endangered 

Yadkin Hedge-nettle; 

(411) Stenanthium gramineum    Endangered 

Featherbells; 

(412) Stenanthium leimanthoides  Threatened 

Pinebarrens Death-camas; 

(413) Stylisma aquatica    Endangered 

Water Dawnflower; 

(414) Stylisma pickeringii var. pickeringii Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Pickering's Dawnflower; 

(415) Swida asperifolia    Endangered 

Roughleaf Dogwood; 

(416) Swida racemose    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Gray Dogwood; 

(417) Symphyotrichum concinnum  Endangered 

Narrow-leaved Smooth Aster; 

(418) Symphyotrichum depauperatum  Endangered 

Serpentine Aster; 

(419) Symphyotrichum georgianum  Threatened 

Georgia Aster; 

(420) Symphyotrichum oblongifolium  Threatened 

Eastern Aromatic Aster; 

(421) Symphyotrichum rhiannon   Threatened 

Buck Creek Aster; 

(422) Synandra hispidula   Threatened 

Synandra; 

(423) Taxus canadensis    Threatened 

Canada Yew; 

(424) Thalictrum cooleyi**   Endangered 

Cooley's Meadowrue; 

(425) Thalictrum macrostylum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Small-leaved Meadowrue; 

(426) Thaspium pinnatifidum   Endangered 

Mountain Thaspium; 

(427) Thermopsis fraxinifolia   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Ash-leaved Golden-banner; 

(428) Tiedmannia [Oxypolis] canbyi**  Endangered 

Canby's Dropwort; 

(429) Triantha glutinosa   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sticky Bog Asphodel; 

(430) Trichostema brachiatum   Endangered 

Glade Bluecurls; 

(431) Trichostema nesophilum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Dune Bluecurls; 

(432) Tridens ambiguus    Endangered 

Pineland Triodia; 

(433) Tridens chapmanii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Chapman's Triodia; 

(434) Tridens strictus    Special Concern, Historical 

Spike Triodia; 

(435) Trifolium carolinianum   Special Concern, Historical 

Carolina Clover; 

(436) Trifolium reflexum   Threatened 
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Buffalo Clover; 

(437) Trillium discolor    Threatened 

Pale Yellow Trillium; 

(438) Trillium flexipes    Threatened 

Bent White Trillium; 

(439) Trillium pusillum var. ozarkanum  Endangered 

Alabama Least Trillium; 

(440) Trillium pusillum var. pusillum  Endangered 

Carolina Least Trillium; 

(441) Trillium pusillum var. virginianum  Endangered 

Virginia Least Trillium; 

(442) Trillium recurvatum   Threatened 

Prairie Trillium; 

(443) Trillium sessile    Threatened 

Sessile-flowered Trillium; 

(444) Trillium simile    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sweet White Trillium; 

(445) Turritis glabra    Endangered 

Tower Mustard; 

(446) Urtica chamaedryoides   Threatened 

Dwarf Stinging Nettle; 

(447) Utricularia cornuta   Threatened 

Horned Bladderwort; 

(448) Utricularia geminiscapa   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Two-flowered Bladderwort; 

(449) Utricularia minor    Special Concern, Historical 

Small Bladderwort; 

(450) Utricularia olivacea   Threatened 

Dwarf Bladderwort: 

(451) Utricularia resupinata   Endangered 

Northeastern Bladderwort; 

(452) Vaccinium macrocarpon   Threatened 

Cranberry; 

(453) Vandenboschia boschiana   Endangered 

Appalachian Filmy-fern; 

(454) Veronica americana   Threatened 

American Speedwell; 

(455) Waldsteinia lobata   Endangered 

Lobbed Barren-strawberry; 

(456) Warea cuneifolia    Endangered 

Carolina Pineland-cress; 

(457) Woodsia ilvensis    Endangered 

Rusty Cliff Fern; 

(458) Xyris floridana    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Florida Yellow-eyed-grass; 

(459) Xyris scabrifolia    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Roughleaf Yellow-eyed-grass; 

(460) Xyris serotina    Special Concern, Historical 

Acid-swamp Yellow-eyed-grass; 

(461) Xyris stricta    Endangered 

Pineland Yellow-eyed-grass; 

(462) Zephyranthes simpsonii   Endangered 

Florida Atamasco-lily. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-202.15; 

Eff. July 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; August 1, 2006; March 1, 2004; July 1, 1998; April 1, 1993; December 1, 1992; September 1, 1991; 

August 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 26, 2017; 
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Amended Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0102 NOTICE TO EMPLOYER OF 

POTENTIAL CHARGES 

(a)  DES shall notify each employer in writing of potential charges 

to the employer's account. The notice shall contain the: 

(1) date of the notice; 

(2) claimant's name and social security number; 

(3) date the claimant's benefit year began; 

(4) claimant's weekly benefit amount and weekly 

earnings allowance; 

(5) employer's reporting number used to report 

wages for the claimant; 

(6) base period wages reported by the employer by 

calendar quarter and dollar amount; 

(7) employer's percentage of total base period 

wages reported; 

(8) maximum potential charge amount that can be 

applied to the employer's experience rating 

account if the claimant exhausts his or her 

benefits; 

(9) a statement containing the employer's right to 

protest the notice; and 

(10) a statement containing the employer's right to 

notify the Division within 15 days of the 

mailing date of the notice if the claimant did not 

work for the employer or the wages are 

incorrect. 

(b)  DES shall provide notice of potential charges to the 

employer's account using the following forms, as applicable: 

(1) Notice of Claim and Potential Charges to Your 

Account; 

(2) Notice of Unemployment Claim, Wages 

Reported and Potential Charges; 

(3) Notice of Initial Claim and Potential Charges to 

Reimbursable Employer; 

(4) Notice of Initial Claim and Potential Charges 

for Claimants on Temporary Layoff. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.1; 96-11.2; 96-11.3; 

96-11.4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021; July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0103 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

REQUESTING NONCHARGING OF BENEFIT 

PAYMENTS 

04 NCAC 24D .0104 TIME FOR FILING REQUESTS 

FOR NONCHARGING 

04 NCAC 24D .0105 DETRMINATION ON 

REQUESTS FOR NONCHARGING 

04 NCAC 24D .0106 APPEALING DENIAL OF 

REQUEST FOR NONCHARGING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.1; 96-11.3, 96-11.4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .0201-.0203 Eff March 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0201 NOTICE OF EMPLOYER 

QUARTERLY CHARGES 

DES shall notify each employer in writing of the quarterly list of 

charges to the employer's 

Account using Form NC CLM 626-9 that shall contain the: 

(1) date of the notice; 

(2) charging quarter ending date; 

(3) employer's name and mailing address; 

(4) claimant's name and social security number; 

(5) date the claimant's benefit year began; 

(6) employer's reporting number used to report 

wages for the claimant; 

(7) benefit charges to the employer for each listed 

claimant; and 

(8) a statement containing the employer's right to 

protest the list of charges. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.2; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 

96-11.5; 96-15; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0202 REQUIREMENTS FOR FILING 

PROTESTS TO LIST OF CHARGES 

An employer who protests the benefit charges to its account shall 

make the protest in writing within 30 days of the mailing date of 

Form NC CLM 626-9 to DES's Claims Unit in accordance with 

04 NCAC 24A .0104(s), and shall list all grounds for the protest 

as prescribed under Rule .0203 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .0103 Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021; October 1, 2017. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0203 GROUNDS FOR PROTESTING 

LIST OF CHARGES 

An employer shall only file protests for: 

(1) the reasons set forth in G.S. 96-11.3; 

(2) clerical errors in the list of charges; 

(3) charges resulting from individuals who were 

never employed by the employer; or 

(4) the claimant has new separation from 

employment occurring between the date that the 

claimant's benefit year began and the last week 

ending date for which the claimant was paid 

benefits, and a base period employer did not 

have an opportunity to request noncharging on 

the subsequent separation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 96-11.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .0105 Eff. March 1, 2017; 
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Amended Eff. May 1, 2021; October 1, 2017. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0303 TELEPHONE HEARINGS 

BEFORE THE BOARD OF REVIEW 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .1103 Eff. October 1, 2017;  

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0304 IN-PERSON HEARINGS 

(a)  Hearings shall be conducted in-person by the Board of 

Review, or a Board designee, as required by G.S. 96-4(q). 

(b)  Upon good cause, as defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105(28), the 

Board of Review, upon its own accord, may designate alternate 

means of hearing, for example, by telephone, video, or web 

conferencing 

(c)  A party may object to the venue of hearing or alternate means 

of hearing designated by the Board. The Board will consider such 

objection if it is filed with the Board within 10 days of the issuance 

of a notice of hearing. The objection shall be in writing and 

provide good cause as to the reason for a request in a change of 

venue. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .1104 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE 

SCHOOL DIRECTOR 

(a)  In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each 

Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum 

in accordance with the curriculum standards 

established in this Subchapter; 

(2) Select and schedule instructors who are 

certified by the Commission; 

(3) Provide each instructor with a current 

Commission course outline and all necessary 

additional information concerning the 

instructor's duties and responsibilities; 

(4) Notify each instructor that he or she shall 

comply with the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide and 

provide him or her access to the most current 

version of the Course Management Guide; 

(5) Ensure each instructor utilizes Commission 

approved lesson plans and instructional 

materials; 

(6) Arrange for the availability of appropriate 

audiovisual aids and materials, publications, 

facilities, and equipment for training in all topic 

areas; 

(7) Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any 

supplemental rules and requirements 

determined by the school to be necessary or 

appropriate for: 

(A) effective course delivery; 

(B) establishing responsibilities and 

obligations of agencies or departments 

employing or sponsoring course 

trainees; and 

(C) regulating trainee participation and 

demeanor, ensuring trainee 

attendance, and maintaining 

performance records; 

(8) If appropriate, recommend housing and dining 

facilities for trainees; 

(9) Administer the course delivery in accordance 

with Commission approved lesson plans and 

course management guides; 

(10) Maintain direct supervision, direction, and 

control over the performance of all persons to 

whom any portion of the planning, 

development, presentation, or administration of 

a course has been delegated. The 

comprehensive final examination shall be 

administered by the Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission; and 

(11) Report the completion of each presentation of a 

Commission-certified criminal justice training 

course to the Commission, utilizing forms 

required for submission, which are located on 

the Agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-

and-publications/. 

(b)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Deliver training in accordance with the most 

current version of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide as 

published by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy; 

(2) Schedule course presentation to include 12 

hours of instruction each week during 

consecutive calendar weeks, except that there 

may be as many as three one-week breaks until 

course requirements are completed; 

(3) Schedule only specialized instructors certified 

by the Commission to teach those high-liability 

areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this 

Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as 

assistant instructors or role players; 

(4) With the exception of the First Responder, 

Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous 

Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule 

.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one 

specialized instructor certified by the 

Commission for every six trainees while 

engaged in a practical performance exercise; 
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(5) Schedule one specialized instructor certified by 

the Commission for every eight trainees while 

engaged in a practical performance exercise in 

the topical area "Subject Control Arrest 

Techniques";  

(6) Schedule no single individual to instruct more 

than 35 percent of the total hours of the 

curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course 

presentation; 

(7) Not less than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course, submit to the Commission a 

Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0211. 

The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall 

indicate a requested date and location for the 

administration of the State comprehensive 

exam, and include the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; and 

(B) a copy of any rules and requirements 

for the school. A copy of those rules 

shall also be given to each trainee and 

to the executive officer of each 

trainee's employing or sponsoring 

agency or department at the time the 

trainee enrolls in the course; 

(8) Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by 

the Commission to monitor, a presentation of 

each instructor once during each three year 

certification period in each topic taught by the 

instructor and prepare a written evaluation on 

the instructor's performance and suitability for 

subsequent instructional assignments. The 

observations shall be of sufficient duration to 

ensure that the instructor is using the 

Instructional System Design model, and that the 

delivery is objective-based, documented by, 

and consistent with a Commission-approved 

lesson plan. For each topic area, the School 

Director's evaluation shall be based upon the 

course delivery observations, the instructor's 

use of the approved lesson plan, and the results 

of the student evaluations of the instructor. For 

probationary instructors, the evaluations 

conducted by another instructor shall be 

prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation (Form F-16) and forwarded to the 

Commission. Based on this evaluation, the 

School Director shall recommend approval or 

denial of requests for General Instructor 

Certification. For all other instructors, these 

evaluations shall be prepared on the Criminal 

Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16), be 

kept on file by the school for a period of three 

years, and shall be made available for 

inspection by a representative of the 

Commission upon request. In the event the 

evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or 

her performance was less than acceptable, the 

School Director shall forward a copy of the 

evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor 

who is evaluating the instructional presentation 

of another instructor shall hold certification in 

the same instructional topic area as that for 

which the instructor is being evaluated; 

(9) Administer or designate a staff person to 

administer course specific tests during course 

delivery: 

(A) to determine and record the level of 

trainee comprehension and retention 

of instructional subject matter; 

(B) to provide a basis for a final 

determination or recommendation 

regarding the minimum degree of 

knowledge and skill of each trainee to 

function as an inexperienced law 

enforcement officer; and 

(C) to determine subject or topic areas of 

deficiency for the application of Rule 

.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and 

(10) Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a 

school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement 

Training, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include: 

(A) a "Student Course Completion" form 

for each individual enrolled on the day 

of orientation; 

(B) a "Certification and Test Score 

Release" form; 

(C) the "Police Officer Physical Ability 

Test (POPAT) Post-Course" final 

form; and 

(D) the orientation class enrollment roster. 

(c)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the 

School Director shall: 

(1) Schedule course presentation pursuant to Rule 

.0209 of this Subchapter; 

(2) Schedule evaluators as follows: 

(A) each evaluator, as well as the 

instructors, shall have completed a 

Commission-certified instructor 

training course or an equivalent 

instructor training course utilizing the 

Instructional Systems Design model, 

an international model with 

applications in education, military 

training, and private enterprise; and 

(B) each instructor and evaluator shall 

document successful participation in a 

program presented by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy for 
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purposes of familiarization and 

supplementation relevant to delivery 

of the instructor training course and 

trainee evaluation; 

(3) Not fewer than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the course, submit to the 

Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)] with 

the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; 

(B) the names and last four digits of the 

social security numbers of all 

instructors and evaluators; and 

(C) a copy of any rules and requirements 

for the school; and 

(4) Not more than 10 days after course completion, 

submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery 

Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the 

following: 

(A) class enrollment roster; 

(B) a course schedule with the designation 

of instructors and evaluators utilized 

in delivery; 

(C) scores recorded for each trainee on the 

70 minute skill presentation; and 

(D) designation of trainees who completed 

the course in its entirety and whom the 

School Director finds to be competent 

to instruct. 

(d)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, 

or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall: 

(1) select and schedule speed measurement 

instrument instructors who are certified by the 

Commission as instructors for the specific 

speed measurement instruments in which the 

trainees are to receive instruction as follows: 

(A) provide to the instructor the 

Commission form(s) for motor skill 

examination on each trainee; 

(B) require the instructor to complete the 

motor skill examination form on each 

trainee indicating the level of 

proficiency obtained on each specific 

instrument; and 

(C) require each instructor to sign each 

individual form and submit the 

original to the School Director; 

(2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled 

starting date, submit to the Director of the 

Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of 

Speed Measuring Instrument Course 

Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall 

contain a period of course delivery including 

the proposed starting date, course location, 

requested date and location for the 

administration of the State exam, and the 

number of trainees to be trained on each type of 

approved speed measurement instrument. The 

Director of the Standards Division shall review 

the request and notify the School Director 

within thirty business days if the request is 

approved or denied; and 

(3) upon completing delivery of the Commission-

certified course, and not more than 10 days after 

the conclusion of a school's offering of a 

certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-

Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed 

measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall 

notify the Commission regarding the progress 

and achievements of each trainee by submitting 

a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report 

shall include the original motor-skill 

examination form(s) completed and signed by 

the certified instructor responsible for 

administering the motor-skill examination to 

the respective trainee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; April 1, 2009; 

November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; August 1, 

2000; January 1, 1996; November 1, 1993; December 1, 1987; 

January 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING  

(a)  The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor 

certification shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of classroom 

instruction, plus the time required to conduct practical exercises, 

student presentations, and post testing presented during a period 

of no more than 15 business days. 

(b)  Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide 

the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions 

of a criminal justice instructor. 

(c)  Each Instructor Training course shall include the following 

identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each 

area: 

(1) Orientation and Pre-Test  1 Hour  

(2) Instructional Systems Design (ISD)  

    5 Hours 

(3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and 

Legal Responsibilities  2 Hours 

(4) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership 

    4 Hours 
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(5) Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional 

Resources   2 Hours 

(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting 

    3 Hours 

(7) Adult Learning   2 Hours 

(8) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills 

    5 Hours 

(9) Classroom Management  3 Hours 

(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical 

Exercises   3 Hours 

(11) The Evaluation Process of Learning  

    4 Hours 

(12) Audio Visual Aids  5 Hours 

(13) Course Closing and Post-test 1 Hour  

(14) Completion of tasks associated with practical 

exercises, student presentations, and post 

testing; the number of hours required to 

complete this portion of the curriculum shall be 

based on the number of enrolled students, 

available facilities, and number of instructors. 

(d)  The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor 

training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at 

the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from 

the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; 

January 1, 2015; December 1, 2009; August 1, 2005; November 

1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January 

1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; January 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0403 EVALUATION FOR TRAINING 

WAIVER 

(a)  The Standards Division staff shall evaluate each law 

enforcement officer's training and experience to determine if 

equivalent training has been completed as specified in Rule 

.0402(a) of this Section. Applicants for certification with prior law 

enforcement experience shall have been employed in a full-time, 

sworn law enforcement position in order to be considered for 

training evaluation under this Rule. Applicants for certification 

with a combination of full-time and part-time experience shall be 

evaluated on the basis of the full-time experience only. The 

following criteria shall be used by Standards Division staff in 

evaluating a law enforcement officer's training and experience to 

determine eligibility for a waiver of training requirements: 

(1) Persons having completed a Commission-

accredited basic training program and not 

having been duly appointed and sworn as a law 

enforcement officer within one year of 

completion of the program shall complete a 

subsequent Commission-accredited basic 

training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a) 

of this Section, and shall achieve a passing 

score on the State Comprehensive Examination 

prior to obtaining probationary law 

enforcement certification, unless the Director 

determines that a delay in applying for 

certification was not due to neglect on the part 

of the applicant, in which case the Director shall 

accept a Commission-accredited basic training 

program that is over one year old. The 

appointing agency shall request in writing the 

extension of the one year period, which shall 

not exceed 30 days from the first year 

anniversary of the passing of the State 

Comprehensive Examination; 

(2) Out-of-state transferees shall be evaluated to 

determine the amount and quality of their 

training and experience. Out-of-state 

transferees shall not have a break in service 

exceeding three years. At a minimum, 

out-of-state transferees shall have two years' 

full-time, sworn law enforcement experience 

and have completed a basic law enforcement 

training course accredited by the transferring 

state. An individual's attendance at his or her 

basic law enforcement class shall not count 

towards the two years' full-time sworn law 

enforcement experience. Prior to employment 

as a certified law enforcement officer, 

out-of-state transferees shall complete with a 

passing score the employing agency's in-service 

firearms training and qualification program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. In addition, 

out-of-state transferees shall complete the 

Legal Unit in a Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course as 

prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination within 

the 12 month probationary period; 

(3) Persons who have completed a 369-hour basic 

law enforcement training program accredited 

by the Commission under guidelines 

administered beginning October 1, 1984, have 

been separated from a sworn position for over 

one year but less than three years, and who have 

had a minimum of two years' experience as a 

full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in 

North Carolina shall complete the Legal Unit in 

a Commission-accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course as prescribed in 

Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter and shall 

achieve a passing score on the State 
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Comprehensive Examination within the 12 

month probationary period. Prior to 

employment as a certified law enforcement 

officer, these persons shall complete with a 

passing score the employing agency's in-service 

firearms training and qualification program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E; 

(4) Persons who have completed a 396-hour basic 

law enforcement training program accredited 

by the Commission under guidelines 

administered beginning October 1, 1984, have 

been separated from a sworn position more than 

one year but less than five years and who have 

a minimum of two years' experience as a full-

time, sworn law enforcement officer in North 

Carolina, who have not been convicted of a 

disqualifying criminal offense as listed in Rule 

.0111(1) of this Subchapter, and who have 

successfully completed the mandatory in-

service training requirements pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09E .0105 or 12 NCAC 10B .2005, with 

the exception of Firearms Training and 

Requalification, during each year the person 

was separated from a sworn position prior to 

employment as a certified law enforcement 

officer shall complete the topic areas within the 

following time frames: 

(A) Prior to employment as a certified law 

enforcement officer, the person shall 

complete the appointing agency's in-

service firearms training and 

qualification program as prescribed in 

12 NCAC 09E; 

(B) Prior to employment as a certified law 

enforcement officer, the person shall 

achieve a passing score on the 

practical skills testing for the First 

Responder, Law Enforcement Driver 

Training, and Subject Control Arrest 

Techniques topics set forth in Rule 

.0205(b)(5) of this Subchapter. The 

person shall also successfully 

complete the Police Officer Physical 

Abilities Test. The practical skills 

testing and the Police Officer Physical 

Abilities Test may be completed either 

in a Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training course or 

under the instruction of a 

Commission-certified instructor for 

that particular skill. The person shall 

also meet the requirements per Rule 

.0101 of this Subchapter; and 

(C) Within 12 months of being issued 

probationary certification, the person 

shall complete the remaining topics in 

the legal unit of instruction in the 

Basic Law Enforcement Training 

course as set forth in Rule .0205(b)(1) 

of this Subchapter. The person shall 

achieve a passing score on the 

appropriate topic tests for each course. 

The person may undertake each of 

these legal unit topics of instruction 

either in a Commission-accredited 

Basic Law Enforcement Training 

course or under the instruction of a 

Commission-certified instructor for 

that particular topic of instruction. 

An individual's attendance at his or her basic 

law enforcement class shall not count towards 

the two years' full-time sworn law enforcement 

experience. Persons who meet the criteria of 

this Part shall be processed as a probationary 

certification and shall serve a one-year 

probationary period as defined in 12 NCAC 

09C .0303;  

(5) Persons out of the law enforcement profession 

for over one year but less than three years who 

have had less than two years' experience as a 

full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in 

North Carolina shall complete a Commission-

accredited basic training program, as prescribed 

in Rule .0405(a) of this Section, and achieve a 

passing score on the State Comprehensive 

Examination; 

(6) Persons out of the law enforcement profession 

for over three years who do not meet the criteria 

of Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph shall 

complete a Commission-accredited basic 

training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a) 

of this Section, regardless of prior training or 

experience, and shall achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination; 

(7) Persons who separated from law enforcement 

employment during their probationary period 

after having completed a Commission-

accredited basic training program and who have 

separated from a sworn law enforcement 

position for more than one year shall complete 

a subsequent Commission-accredited basic 

training program and shall achieve a passing 

score on the State Comprehensive 

Examination; 

(8) Persons who separated from a sworn law 

enforcement position during their probationary 

period after having completed a Commission-

accredited basic training program and who have 

separated from a sworn law enforcement 

position for less than one year shall serve a new 

12 month probationary period as prescribed in 

Rule .0401(a) of this Section, but shall not be 

required to complete an additional training 

program; 

(9) Persons who have completed a minimum 

160-hour basic law enforcement training 

program accredited by the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Training and Standards 
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Council under guidelines administered 

beginning on July 1, 1973, and continuing 

through September 30, 1978, and who have 

separated from a sworn law enforcement 

position for over one year but less than two 

years shall complete the Legal Unit and the 

topical area entitled "Law Enforcement Driver 

Training" of a Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course as 

prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) and 

.0205(b)(5)(C) of this Subchapter and shall 

achieve a passing score on the State 

Comprehensive Examination within the 12 

month probationary period; 

(10) Persons who have completed a minimum 

160-hour basic law enforcement training 

program accredited by the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Training and Standards 

Council under guidelines administered 

beginning on July 1, 1973, and continuing 

through September 30, 1978, and have been 

separated from a sworn law enforcement 

position for two or more years shall complete a 

Commission-accredited basic training program, 

as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this Section, 

regardless of training and experience, and shall 

achieve a passing score on the State 

Comprehensive Examination; 

(11) Persons who have completed a minimum 

240-hour basic law enforcement training 

program accredited by the Commission under 

guidelines administered beginning October 1, 

1978, and continuing through September 30, 

1984, and have been separated from a sworn 

position over one year but less than three years 

shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination within 

the 12 month probationary period; 

(12) Persons previously holding law enforcement 

certification in accordance with G.S. 17C-10(a) 

who have been separated from a sworn law 

enforcement position for over one year and who 

have not previously completed a minimum 

basic training program accredited by either the 

North Carolina Criminal Justice Training and 

Standards Council or the Commission shall 

complete a Commission-accredited basic 

training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of 

this Section, and shall achieve a passing score 

on the State Comprehensive Examination prior 

to employment; 

(13) Individuals seeking certification with the 

Commission who have been appointed as 

Special Agents with the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation; United States Secret Service; 

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms; and 

Drug Enforcement Administration; as well as 

United States Marshals and Deputy United 

States Marshals, who have not had a break in 

service exceeding three years, shall be 

evaluated to determine the amount and quality 

of their training and experience. At a minimum, 

federal law enforcement officers shall have two 

years' full-time, sworn law enforcement 

experience and have completed a basic law 

enforcement training course as required by their 

appointing federal agency. Prior to employment 

as a certified law enforcement officer, these 

individuals shall complete with a passing score 

the employing agency's in-service firearms 

training and qualification program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. These 

individuals shall complete the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training topics pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09B .0205(b)(1)(A), (b)(1)(C), 

(b)(1)(D), (b)(1)(F), (b)(2)(A), (b)(2)(C), 

(b)(2)(E), (b)(2)(F), (b)(2)(I), (b)(3)(B), 

(b)(3)(D), (b)(4)(E), (b)(5)(A), (b)(6)(A), 

(b)(6)(B), (b)(6)(C), and shall achieve a passing 

score on the State Comprehensive Examination 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0406 within the 12 

month probationary period. Individuals who 

submit to the Commission documentation of 

completion of training equivalent to the topics 

set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0205(b)(2)(A), 

(b)(2)(C), (b)(2)(E), (b)(2)(F), (b)(2)(I), 

(b)(3)(B), (b)(3)(D), (b)(4)(E), (b)(5)(A), 

(b)(6)(A), (b)(6)(B), and (b)(6)(C) shall not be 

required to complete those topics; 

(14) Federal law enforcement transferees other than 

those listed in Paragraph (13) of this Rule who 

have not had a break in service exceeding three 

years shall be evaluated to determine the 

amount and quality of their training and 

experience. At a minimum, federal law 

enforcement officers shall have two years' full-

time, sworn law enforcement experience and 

have completed a basic law enforcement 

training course as required by their appointing 

federal agency. Prior to employment as a 

certified law enforcement officer, transferees 

shall complete with a passing score the 

employing agency's in-service firearms training 

and qualification program as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 09E .0106. At a minimum, transferees 

shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination within 

12 month probationary period; 

(15) Applicants with part-time experience who have 

a break in service in excess of one year shall 

complete a Commission-accredited basic 

training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of 
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this Section, and shall achieve a passing score 

on the State Comprehensive Examination prior 

to employment; 

(16) Applicants who hold or previously held 

certification issued by the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission (Sheriffs' Commission) shall be 

subject to evaluation based on the applicant's 

active or inactive certification status with the 

Sheriffs' Commission. A deputy sheriff 

certified with the Sheriffs' Commission shall be 

considered active if he or she has performed any 

law enforcement function during the previous 

12 months. A deputy sheriff certified with the 

Sheriffs' Commission shall be considered 

inactive if he or she has not performed a law 

enforcement function during the previous 12 

months. 

(A) The Standards Division shall issue 

certification to an applicant holding 

active general certification with the 

Sheriffs' Commission provided that 

the applicant: 

(i) Does not have a break in 

service of greater than 12 

months; 

(ii) Has completed the 

mandatory in-service 

training requirements 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.2005 for each year 

certification was held; and 

(iii) Held active status with the 

Sheriffs' Commission within 

12 months of the date the 

applicant achieved a passing 

score on the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training State 

Comprehensive 

Examination. 

(B) The Standards Division shall issue 

certification to an applicant holding 

inactive certification with the Sheriffs' 

Commission provided that the 

applicant: 

(i) Holds inactive probationary 

or general certification with 

the Sheriffs' Commission; 

(ii) Has served a minimum of 24 

months of full time sworn 

service or does not have a 

break in service of greater 

than 12 months; 

(iii) Has completed the 

mandatory in-service 

training requirements 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.2005, with the exception of 

Firearms Training and 

Requalification, during each 

year certification was held; 

and 

(iv) Held active status with the 

Sheriffs' Commission within 

12 months of the date the 

applicant achieved a passing 

score on the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training State 

Comprehensive 

Examination. 

(C) An applicant awarded certification 

with the Sheriffs' Commission by 

means of the Sheriffs' Standards 

BLET Challenge as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 10B .0505(6)(b) shall meet the 

following requirements in order to 

obtain probationary certification from 

the Commission: 

(i) Have a minimum of 24 

months of sworn, full-time 

law enforcement service; 

(ii) Not have a break in service of 

greater than 12 months; and 

(iii) Have completed all 

mandatory in-service 

requirements pursuant to 12 

NCAC 10B .0505 during the 

previous two years. 

(D) An applicant who is a criminal justice 

officer, as defined in G.S. 17C-2(3), 

and who is elected Sheriff shall be 

reinstated by the Commission upon 

the conclusion of the period of service 

as Sheriff and in conformance with 12 

NCAC 09C .0303; 

(17) Alcohol law enforcement agents who received 

basic alcohol law enforcement training prior to 

November 1, 1993, and transfer to another law 

enforcement agency in a sworn capacity shall 

be subject to evaluation of their prior training 

and experience on an individual basis. The 

Standards Division staff shall determine the 

amount of training required of these applicants, 

based upon the type of certification held by the 

applicant and the length of any break in the 

applicant's sworn, full-time service; 

(18) Wildlife enforcement officers who separate 

from employment with the Wildlife 

Enforcement Division and transfer to another 

law enforcement agency in a sworn capacity 

shall be subject to evaluation of their prior 

training and experience on an individual basis. 

The Standards Division staff shall determine 

the amount of training required of these 

applicants, based upon the type of certification 

held by the applicant and the length of any 

break in the applicant's sworn, full-time service; 
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(19) Active duty, guard, or reserve military members 

failing to complete all of the required annual in-

service training topics, as defined in 12 NCAC 

09E .0105 of this Chapter, due to military 

obligations are subject to the following training 

requirements as a condition for return to active 

criminal justice status. The agency head shall 

verify the person's completion of the 

appropriate training by submitting a statement, 

on Form F-9C, Return to Duty Request form. 

This form is located on the agency's website: 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-

publications/; 

(A) Active duty members of the armed 

forces eligible for probationary 

certification pursuant to this 

Paragraph and active duty, guard, or 

reserve military members holding 

probationary or general certification as 

a criminal justice officer who fail to 

complete all of the required annual in-

service training topics due to military 

obligations for up to a period of three 

years shall complete the previous 

year's required in-service training 

topics, the current year's required in-

service training topics, and complete 

with a passing score the appointing 

agency's in-service firearms training 

and qualification program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E prior to 

their return to active criminal justice 

status; 

(B) Active duty, guard, or reserve military 

members holding probationary or 

general certification as a criminal 

justice officer who fail to complete all 

of the required annual in-service 

training topics due to military 

obligations for a period greater than 

three years shall complete the 

following topic areas within the 

following time frames: 

(i) The person shall complete 

the previous year's required 

in-service training topics, the 

current year's required in-

service training topics, and 

complete the appointing 

agency's in-service firearms 

training and qualification 

program as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 09E prior to their 

return to active criminal 

justice status; 

(ii) The person shall achieve a 

passing score on the practical 

skills testing for the First 

Responder, Law 

Enforcement Driver 

Training, and Subject 

Control Arrest Techniques 

topics enumerated in Rule 

.0205(b)(5) of this 

Subchapter prior to returning 

to active criminal justice 

status. This practical skills 

testing may be completed 

either in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training course 

or under the instruction of a 

Commission-certified 

instructor for that particular 

skill. The person shall 

complete one physical fitness 

assessment in lieu of the 

Fitness Assessment and 

Testing topic. The person 

shall also be examined by a 

physician per Rule .0104(b) 

of this Subchapter; and 

(iii) The person shall complete 

some of the topics in the legal 

unit of instruction in the 

Basic Law Enforcement 

Training course as set forth in 

Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter. The required 

topics include Motor Vehicle 

Law; Juvenile Laws and 

Procedures; Arrest, Search 

and Seizure/Constitutional 

Law; and ABC Laws and 

Procedures. The person shall 

achieve a passing score on 

the appropriate topic tests for 

each course. The person may 

undertake each of these legal 

unit topics of instruction 

either in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training course 

or under the instruction of a 

Commission-certified 

instructor for that particular 

topic of instruction. The 

person shall complete each of 

the enumerated topics of 

instruction within 12 months 

from the beginning of his or 

her return to active criminal 

justice status; and 

(20) An active duty member of the armed forces who 

completes the basic training course in its 

entirety as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this 

Subchapter, annually completes the mandatory 
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in-service training topics as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 09E .0105, with the exception of the 

Firearms and Qualification testing 

requirements contained in 12 NCAC 09E 

.0105(a)(3) for each year subsequent to the 

completion of the basic training course, and 

achieves a passing score on the State 

Comprehensive Examination as prescribed in 

Rule .0406 of this Subchapter within five years 

of separating from active duty status shall be 

eligible for probationary certification as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09C .0303 for a period 

of 12 months from the date he or she separates 

from active duty status in the armed forces. All 

mandatory in-service training topics as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 shall be 

completed by the individual prior to receiving 

probationary certification.  

(b)  In the event the applicant's prior training is not equivalent to 

the Commission's standards, the Commission shall prescribe as a 

condition of certification supplementary or remedial training to 

equate previous training with current standards. 

(c)  If certifications issued by the Commission require satisfactory 

performance on a written examination as part of the training, the 

Commission shall require the examinations for the certification. 

(d)  If an evaluation of the applicant's prior training and 

experience determines that required attendance in the entire Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course is unnecessary, the Director of 

the Standards Division shall determine the amount of training the 

individual shall complete during his or her probationary period. 

(e)  The following criteria shall be used by Standards Division 

staff in evaluating prior training and experience of local 

confinement personnel to determine eligibility for a waiver of 

training requirements: 

(1) Persons who hold probationary, general, or 

grandfather certification as local confinement 

personnel and separate after having completed 

a Commission-accredited course as prescribed 

in Rule .0224 or .0225 of this Subchapter and 

have been separated for one year or more shall 

complete a subsequent Commission-accredited 

training course and achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination during 

the probationary period as prescribed in Rule 

.0401(a) of this Section; 

(2) Persons who separated from a local 

confinement personnel position after having 

completed a Commission-accredited course as 

prescribed in Rule .0224 or .0225 of this 

Subchapter and who have been separated for 

less than one year shall serve a new 12 month 

probationary period, but shall be required to 

complete an additional training program; 

(3) Applicants who hold or previously held 

"Detention Officer Certification" issued by the 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 

Training Standards Commission shall be 

subject to evaluation of their prior training and 

experience on an individual basis. No 

additional training shall be required where the 

applicant obtained certification and 

successfully completed the required 120 hour 

training course and has not had a break in 

service in excess of one year; and 

(4) Persons holding certification for local 

confinement facilities who transfer to a district 

or county confinement facility shall complete 

the course for district and county confinement 

facility personnel, as adopted by reference in 

Rule .0224 of this Subchapter, and achieve a 

passing score on the State Comprehensive 

Examination during the probationary period as 

prescribed in Rule .0401(a) of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 93B-

15.1; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; January 1, 2017; October 1, 2016; 

November 1, 2014; August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; March 1, 

1992; July 1, 1989; February 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0105 MINIMUM TRAINING 

SPECIFICATIONS: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING  

(a)  The following topics, specifications, and hours shall be 

included in each law enforcement officer's annual in-service 

training courses. For the purposes of this Subchapter, a credit shall 

be equal to one hour of traditional classroom instruction. All 

sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a minimum of 24 

in-service training credits. The following topics, totaling 16 

credits, shall be specifically required: 

(1) 2022 Domestic Violence: The Psychology of 

Whether to Stay or Go (2 hours/credits);  

(2) 2022 Creating a Safety Net (2 hours/credits; 

Juvenile Minority Sensitivity Training);  

(3) 2022 Firearms and Qualification (4 

hours/credits);  

(4) 2022 Legal Update (4 hours/credits); 

(5) 2022 Ethics: Preempting Misconduct and 

Increasing Integrity (2 hours/credits); and  

(6) 2022 Practicing Proactive Wellness (2 

hours/credits); 

(7) Topics of Choice (8-12 hours/credits); 

(A) Incorporating a Co-Response: 

Partnering with Community 

Professionals (2 hours/credits); 

(B) The Process of De-escalation: 

Listening, Talking, Defensive Tactics 

(2-4 hours/credits); 

(C) Civil Unrest: Local Leaders Discuss 

Lessons Learned (2 hours/credits); 

(D) Subversive Groups: Maneuvering 

Encounters with Fringe Groups (2 

hours/credits); and  
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(E) Raising the Bar: Enhancing 

Community Engagement (2 

hours/credits). 

(b)  All sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a 

minimum of 10 in-service credits, in topics identified by their 

respective agency heads. The agency head may choose any topic, 

provided the lesson plan is written in Instructional Systems 

Design format and is taught by an instructor who is certified by 

the Commission. Alternatively, topics delivered pursuant to Rule 

.0104(1) of this Section and National Certification Programs 

administered by the International Association of Directors of Law 

Enforcement Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed 

during the mandated in-service year, shall satisfy in part or in 

whole the topic requirements set forth by the agency head. To 

satisfy this requirement these topics shall not be required to be 

written in Instructional Systems Design format or delivered by an 

instructor certified by the Commission. 

(c)  The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual" 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied 

as a guide for conducting the annual in-service firearms training 

program. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office 

of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(d)  The "In-Service Lesson Plans" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum 

curriculum for conducting the annual in-service training program. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(e)  Lesson plans are designed to be delivered in hourly 

increments. A student who completes an online in-service training 

topic shall receive the number of credits that correspond to the 

number of hours of traditional classroom training, regardless of 

the amount of time the student spends completing the course. 

(f)  Completion of training shall be demonstrated by passing a 

written test for each in-service training topic, as follows: 

(1) A written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed by the 

agency or the North Carolina Justice Academy 

for each in-service training topic requiring 

testing. The Firearms and Qualifications in-

service course and topics delivered pursuant to 

Rule .0104 of this Section shall be exempt from 

this written test requirement; 

(2) A student shall pass each test by achieving at 

least 70 percent correct answers; and 

(3) A student who completes a topic of in-service 

training in a traditional classroom setting or 

online and fails the end of topic exam shall be 

given one attempt to re-test. If the student fails 

the exam a second time, the student shall 

complete the in-service training topic in a 

traditional classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; 

July 1, 2016; January 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1, 

2014; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; April 1, 

2009; April 1, 2008; February 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; January 1, 2021; January 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0414 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor 

certification shall consist of at least the minimum number of hours 

of instruction as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0209 to be completed 

within 15 business days. 

(b)  Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide 

the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions 

of a criminal justice instructor. 

(c)  The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the curriculum for 

instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be 

inspected at the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive  

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the 

North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; 

January 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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12 NCAC 10B .0905 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

DETENTION OFFICER INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

Detention Officer Instructor shall serve a probationary period. 

The expiration dates of any existing Commission-issued 

Probationary General Detention Officer Instructor Certifications 

shall be set to expire concurrently with the expiration of the 

instructor's Probationary General Instructor Certification issued 

by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission. If the time-period before the expiration 

date is less than one year, then the eight hours of instruction as 

specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be waived for this 

shortened term and Full General Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification shall be issued provided all other conditions for Full 

General Detention Officer Instructor Certification status as set out 

in Paragraph (b) of this Section are met. If the applicant has a Full 

General Instructor certification with no expiration date, the 

expiration date for the Probationary Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification shall be set for a period of one year from date of 

issue. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be awarded Full General 

Detention Officer Instructor Certification at the end of the 

probationary period if the instructor's certification required in 12 

NCAC 10B .0904(a) remains valid, and the instructor submits to 

the Division a completed Request for Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification Form I-2, with either: 

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school 

director accompanied by certification on a 

Commission Instructor Evaluation Form F-16 

that the instructor taught a minimum of eight 

hours as specified in Paragraph (e) of this Rule 

in a Commission-certified Detention Officer 

Certification Course, or in a Commission-

recognized Detention Officer In-Service 

Course as set out in the Mandated In-Service 

Training Manual published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy, during his or her 

probationary year; or 

(2) a favorable written evaluation as specified in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule by a Commission 

member or Division staff member based on an 

on-site classroom evaluation of the 

probationary instructor in a Commission-

certified Detention Officer Certification Course 

or in a Commission-recognized Detention 

Officer In-Service Course. The evaluation shall 

be certified on a Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation Form F-16. In addition, instructors 

evaluated by a Commission member or 

Division staff member must also teach a 

minimum of eight hours in a Commission-

certified Detention Officer Certification Course 

during his or her probationary year. 

(c)  The expiration dates of any existing commission-issued Full 

General Detention Officer Instructor Certifications shall be set to 

expire concurrently with the expiration of the instructor's 

Probationary General Instructor Certification issued by the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission. If the time-period before the expiration date is less 

than three years, then the 12 hours of instruction shall be waived 

for this shortened term and Full General Detention Officer 

Instructor Certification shall be renewed. If the applicant has a 

Full General Instructor Certification with no expiration date, the 

expiration date for the Full General Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification shall be set for a period of three years from the date 

of issue. Full General Detention Officer Instructor Certification 

shall remain valid so long as the instructor's certification required 

in 12 NCAC 10B .0904(a) remains valid, and that the instructor 

submits to the Division every three years a Form I-2 renewal 

application and either: 

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school 

director accompanied by certification on a 

Commission Instructor Evaluation Form that 

the instructor satisfactorily taught a minimum 

of 12 hours as specified in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule in a Commission-certified Detention 

Officer Certification Course, or in a 

Commission-recognized Detention Officer In-

Service Course, during the previous three year 

period; or 

(2) a favorable written evaluation as specified in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule by a Commission 

member or Division staff member based on a 

minimum 12 hours, on-site classroom 

observation of the instructor in a Commission-

certified Detention Officer Certification 

Course. 

(d)  In the event a General Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification (either Probationary or Full) is terminated for failure 

to comply with Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the individual may re-

apply for certification meeting the initial conditions for the 

certification, and also provide documentation that he or she has 

audited the number of hours of instruction that he or she failed to 

teach in a delivery of an certified Detention Officer Certification 

Course. 

(e)  A Criminal Justice Instructor Evaluation Form F-16 records a 

rating of instructional ability, student participation, and 

presentation of the lesson plan consistent with the requirements 

for successfully completing the Criminal Justice Instructor 

Training as set out in 12 NCAC 09B .0209. 

(1) Instructional ability includes the instructor's: 

(A) voice quality (projection, articulation, 

speech rate); 

(B) verbal skill (fluency and clarity); 

(C) physical appearance and mannerisms 

(attire, posture, body language, eye 

contact, movement); 

(D) personal qualities of the instructor 

(knowledge, self-confidence, tact, 

enthusiasm, sensitivity); and 

(E) selection and use of training aids (use 

of writing surface and other aids, 

effective use of multimedia, 

transparencies, and slides, relates aids 

to objectives, and use of aids when 

scheduled). 

(2) Student participation includes the instructor's: 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2021 

2575 

(A) use of questions to encourage 

discussion and response to student 

questions; 

(B) ability to encourage class 

participation, maintain the students' 

attention, and engagement of all 

students effectively; 

(C) organization in the arrangement of the 

classroom for maximum effect, 

ensuring all training tools/items are 

ready when needed, and presentation 

for the class lesson; and 

(D) exercise control and discipline of the 

students to maintain proper behavior 

and orderliness in the classroom, 

ability to remain in control during 

classroom discussions, and handle 

class disruptions and problems. 

(3) Presentation of lesson plan includes the 

instructor's: 

(A) full coverage of the lesson plan; 

(B) presentation of information in logical 

sequence; 

(C) timing of presentation to allow for 

sufficient time for questions and 

discussion; 

(D) transition of subjects with continuous 

progression and development of 

lesson; 

(E) emphasis of key points and frequent 

summarization of topics to entire 

lesson or course and use of examples 

to clarify the subjects; 

(F) frequent establishment of relevance of 

the topics to entire lesson or course 

and use of examples to clarify the 

subjects; and 

(G) consistency of presentation in 

following the lesson plan. 

(f)  Individuals may, for just cause, be granted an extension to 

successfully teach the required minimum number of hours of 

instruction only once and not to exceed 12 months. For purposes 

of this Rule, "just cause" means accident, illness, emergency, 

course cancellation, or other exceptional circumstances that 

precluded the instructor from fulfilling the teaching requirement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2006; January 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

January 1, 1996; January 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0909 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF A 

LIMITED LECTURER CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

Limited Lecturer shall serve a probationary period. The expiration 

dates of any existing Commission-issued Limited Lecturer 

Certifications, where the individual holds instructor certification 

under the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission, shall be set to expire concurrently with 

the other instructor certification(s) issued by the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 

In the event the instructor does not hold instructor certification 

under the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission, but holds another instructor 

certification(s) issued through this Commission, the expiration 

date shall be set to expire concurrently with the other instructor 

certification(s) issued by this Commission. Where the instructor 

holds no certification through either Commission, certification as 

a Limited Lecturer shall remain effective for 12 months from the 

date of issuance. The lecturer shall apply for Full Limited Lecturer 

Certification at or before the expiration date. If the time-period 

before the expiration date is less than one year, then the four hours 

of instruction shall be waived for this shortened term and Full 

Limited Lecturer Certification shall be issued provided all other 

conditions for Full Limited Lecturer Certification status as set out 

in this Rule are met. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for Full Limited 

Lecturer status at the end of the probationary period if the 

instructor submits to the Commission: 

(1) documentation on a Detention Officer 

Certification Form I-2 of at least four hours of 

instruction occurring within the probationary 

period in an area of the instructor's expertise 

related to each topic for which Limited Lecturer 

Certification was granted; and 

(2) documentation that all other certifications 

required in 12 NCAC 10B .0908 remain valid. 

(c)  The expiration dates of any existing Commission-issued Full 

Limited Lecturer Certifications shall be set to expire concurrently 

with the expiration of the corresponding instructors' certification 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission. In the event the instructor does 

not hold instructor certification under the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, but holds 

another instructor certification(s) issued through this 

Commission, the expiration date shall be set to expire 

concurrently with the other instructor certification(s) issued by 

this Commission. The lecturer shall apply for recertification at or 

before the expiration date. If the time period before the expiration 

date is less than three years, then the six hours of instruction shall 

be waived for this shortened term and Full Limited Lecturer 

Instructor Certification will be renewed provided all other 

conditions for Full status as set out in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph are met. Full Limited Lecturer Certification remains 

valid so long as the lecturer submits to the Division every three 

years a Detention Officer Certification Form I-2: 

(1) of documenting at least six hours of instruction 

occurring within the three-year certification 

period in an area of the instructor's expertise 

related to each topic for which Limited Lecturer 

Certification was granted; and 

(2) documenting that all other certifications 

required in 12 NCAC 10B .0908 remain valid. 

(d)  In the event a Limited Lecturer Instructor Certification (either 

Probationary or Full) is terminated for failure to comply with 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2021 

2576 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the individual may re-apply for 

certification meeting the initial conditions for the certification, 

and also provide documentation on a Detention Officer 

Certification Form I-2 that he or she has audited the number of 

hours of instruction he or she failed to teach in the topic area for 

which Limited Lecturer Certification was granted in the 

respective area of expertise. 

(e)  Individuals may, for just cause, be granted an extension to 

successfully teach the required minimum number of hours 

instruction only once not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of 

this Rule, "just cause" means accident, illness, emergency, course 

cancellation, or other exceptional circumstances that precluded 

the instructor from fulfilling the teaching requirement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; January 1, 

1992; January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0915 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

TELECOMMUNICATOR INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

Telecommunicator Instructor shall serve a probationary period. 

The expiration dates of any existing Commission-issued 

Probationary General Telecommunicator Instructor Certifications 

shall be set to expire concurrently with the expiration of the 

instructor's Probationary General Instructor Certification issued 

by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission. If the time-period before the expiration 

date is less than one year, then the eight hours of instruction 

required for Probationary Telecommunicator Instructor 

Certification shall be waived for this shortened term and Full 

General Telecommunicator Instructor Certification shall be 

issued provided all other conditions for Full General 

Telecommunicator Instructor Certification as set out in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule are met. If the applicant has a Full General 

Instructor Certification through the Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission with no expiration date, the 

Probationary Telecommunicator Officer Instructor Certification 

shall be set for one year from date of issue. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be awarded Full 

Telecommunicator Instructor Certification at the end of the 

probationary period if the instructor's certification required in 12 

NCAC 10B .0914(a) remains valid, and the instructor through 

application, submits to the Division a completed Request for 

Telecommunicator Instructor Certification Form I-2T, with 

either: 

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school 

director accompanied by certification on a 

Commission Instructor Evaluation Form that 

the instructor taught a minimum of eight hours 

as specified in Paragraph (e) of this Rule in a 

Commission-certified Telecommunicator 

Certification Course, or in a Commission-

recognized Telecommunicator In-Service 

Training Course as set out in the Mandated In-

Service Training Manual published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy during his or 

her probationary year; or 

(2) a favorable written evaluation as specified in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule by a Commission 

member or Division staff member based on an 

on-site classroom evaluation of the 

probationary instructor in a Commission-

certified Telecommunicator Certification 

Certification Course, or in a Commission-

recognized Telecommunicator In-Service 

Training Course. The evaluation shall be 

certified on a Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation Form F-16. In addition, instructors 

evaluated by a Commission or Division staff 

member must also teach a minimum of eight 

hours in a Commission-certified 

Telecommunicator Certification Course during 

his or her probationary year. 

(c)  The expiration dates of any existing Commission-issued Full 

General Telecommunicator Instructor Certifications shall be set 

to expire concurrently with the expiration of the instructor's 

Probationary General Instructor Certification issued by the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission. If the time-period before the expiration date is less 

than three years, then the 12 hours of instruction shall be waived 

for this shortened term and Full General Telecommunicator 

Instructor Certification shall be renewed. If the applicant has a 

Full General Instructor Certification with no expiration date, the 

expiration date for the Full Telecommunicator Officer Instructor 

Certification shall be set for three years from the date of issue. 

Full Telecommunicator Instructor Certification shall remain valid 

so long as the instructor's certification required in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0904(a) remains valid, and the instructor submits to the Division 

every three years a completed Request for Request for 

Telecommunicator Instructor Certification Form I-2T, with 

either: 

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school 

director accompanied by certification on a 

Commission Instructor Evaluation Form that 

the instructor satisfactorily taught a minimum 

of 12 hours as specified in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule in a Commission-certified 

Telecommunicator Certification Course, or a 

Commission-recognized Telecommunicator In-

Service Training Course during the previous 

three year period; or 

(2) a favorable written evaluation as specified in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule by a Commission 

member or Division staff member based on a 

minimum 12 hours, on-site classroom 

observation of the instructor in a Commission-

certified Telecommunicator Certification or a 

Commission-recognized Telecommunicator In-

Service Training Course. 

(d)  In the event a General Telecommunicator Instructor 

Certification (either Probationary or Full) is terminated for failure 
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to comply with Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the individual may re-

apply for certification meeting the initial conditions for the 

certification, and also provide documentation that he or she has 

audited the number of hours of instruction that he or she failed to 

teach in a delivery of a certified Telecommunicator Certification 

Course. 

(e)  An Instructor Evaluation Form records a rating of 

instructional ability, student participation, and presentation of the 

lesson plan consistent with the requirements for successfully 

completing the Criminal Justice Instructor Training as set out in 

12 NCAC 09B .0209. 

(1) Instructional ability includes the instructor's: 

(A) voice quality (projection, articulation, 

speech rate); 

(B) verbal skill (fluency and clarity); 

(C) physical appearance and mannerisms 

(attire, posture, body language, eye 

contact, movement); 

(D) personal qualities of the instructor 

(knowledge, self-confidence, tact, 

enthusiasm, sensitivity); and 

(E) selection and use of training aids (use 

of writing surface and other aids, 

effective use of multimedia, 

transparencies, and slides, relates aids 

to objectives, and use of aids when 

scheduled). 

(2) Student participation includes the instructor's: 

(A) use of questions to encourage 

discussion and response to student 

questions; 

(B) ability to encourage class 

participation, maintain the students' 

attention, and engagement of all 

students effectively; 

(C) organization in the arrangement of the 

classroom for maximum effect, 

ensuring all training tools/items are 

ready when needed, and presentation 

for the class lesson; and 

(D) exercise of control and discipline of 

the students to maintain proper 

behavior and orderliness in the 

classroom, ability to remain in control 

during classroom discussions, and 

handle class disruptions and problems. 

(3) Presentation of lesson plan includes the 

instructor's: 

(A) full coverage of the lesson plan; 

(B) presentation of information in logical 

sequence; 

(C) timing of presentation to allow for 

sufficient time for questions and 

discussion; 

(D) transition of subjects with continuous 

progression and development of 

lesson; 

(E) emphasis of key points and frequent 

summarization of topics to reinforce 

learning; 

(F) frequent establishment of relevance of 

the topics to entire lesson or course 

and use of examples to clarify the 

subjects; and 

(G) consistency of presentation in 

following the lesson plan. 

(f)  Individuals may, for just cause, be granted an extension to 

successfully teach the required minimum number of hours of 

instruction only once not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of 

this Rule, "just cause" means accident, illness, emergency, course 

cancellation, or other exceptional circumstances that precluded 

the instructor from fulfilling the teaching requirement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2006; January 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0201 STANDARDS AND 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND 

FRANCHISES 

(a)  All areas of the public bottom underlying Coastal Fishing 

Waters shall meet the following standards and requirements, in 

addition to the standards in G.S. 113-202, in order to be deemed 

suitable for leasing for shellfish aquaculture purposes: 

(1) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not 

contain a "natural shellfish bed," as defined in 

G.S. 113-201.1, or have 10 bushels or more of 

shellfish per acre; 

(2) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be 

closer than 250 feet from a developed shoreline 

or a water-dependent shore-based structure, 

except no minimum setback is required when 

the area to be leased borders the applicant's 

property, the property of "riparian owners" as 

defined in G.S. 113-201.1 who have consented 

in a notarized statement, or is in an area 

bordered by undeveloped shoreline. For the 

purposes of this Rule, a water-dependent shore-

based structure shall include docks, wharves, 

boat ramps, bridges, bulkheads, and groins; 

(3) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be 

closer than 250 feet to an existing lease; 

(4) the proposed shellfish lease area, either alone or 

when considered cumulatively with existing 

leases in the area, shall not interfere with 

navigation or with existing, traditional uses of 

the area; and 
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(5) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be 

less than one-half acre and shall not exceed 10 

acres. 

(b)  To be suitable for leasing for shellfish aquaculture purposes, 

shellfish water column leases superjacent to a shellfish bottom 

lease shall meet the standards in G.S. 113-202.1 and shellfish 

water column leases superjacent to franchises recognized 

pursuant to G.S. 113-206 shall meet the standards in G.S. 

113-202.2. 

(c)  Franchises recognized pursuant to G.S. 113-206 and shellfish 

bottom leases shall be terminated unless they meet the following 

requirements, in addition to the standards in and as allowed by 

G.S. 113-202: 

(1) they produce and market 10 bushels of shellfish 

per acre per year; and 

(2) they are planted with 25 bushels of seed 

shellfish per acre per year or 50 bushels of 

cultch per acre per year, or a combination of 

cultch and seed shellfish where the percentage 

of required cultch planted and the percentage of 

required seed shellfish planted totals at least 

100 percent. 

(d)  Shellfish water column leases shall be terminated unless they 

meet the following requirements, in addition to the standards in 

and as allowed by G.S. 113-202.1 and 113-202.2: 

(1) they produce and market 40 bushels of shellfish 

per acre per year; or 

(2) the underlying bottom is planted with 100 

bushels of cultch or seed shellfish per acre per 

year. 

(e)  The following standards shall be applied to determine 

compliance with Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule: 

(1) Only shellfish marketed, planted, or produced 

as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101 as the 

fishing activities "shellfish marketing from 

leases and franchises," "shellfish planting effort 

on leases and franchises," or "shellfish 

production on leases and franchises" shall be 

included in the shellfish lease and franchise 

reports required by Rule .0207 of this Section. 

(2) If more than one shellfish lease or franchise is 

used in the production of shellfish, one of the 

leases or franchises used in the production of 

the shellfish shall be designated as the 

producing lease or franchise for those shellfish. 

Each bushel of shellfish shall be produced by 

only one shellfish lease or franchise. Shellfish 

transplanted between shellfish leases or 

franchises shall be credited as planting effort on 

only one lease or franchise. 

(3) Production and marketing information and 

planting effort information shall be compiled 

and averaged separately to assess compliance 

with the requirements of this Rule. The shellfish 

lease or franchise shall meet both the 

production requirement and the planting effort 

requirement within the dates set forth in G.S. 

113-202.1 and G.S. 202.2 to be deemed in 

compliance for shellfish bottom leases. The 

shellfish lease or franchise shall meet either the 

production requirement or the planting effort 

requirement within the dates set forth in G.S. 

113-202.1 and G.S. 202.2 to be deemed in 

compliance for shellfish water column leases. 

(4) All bushel measurements shall be in standard 

U.S. bushels. 

(5) In determining production and marketing 

averages and planting effort averages for 

information not reported in bushel 

measurements, the following conversion 

factors shall be used: 

(A) 300 oysters, 400 clams, or 400 

scallops equal one bushel; and 

(B) 40 pounds of scallop shell, 60 pounds 

of oyster shell, 75 pounds of clam 

shell, or 90 pounds of fossil stone 

equal one bushel. 

(6) Production and marketing rate averages shall be 

computed irrespective of transfer of the 

shellfish lease or franchise. The production and 

marketing rates shall be averaged for the 

following situations using the time periods 

described: 

(A) for an initial shellfish bottom lease or 

franchise, over the consecutive full 

calendar years remaining on the 

bottom lease or franchise contract 

after December 31 following the 

second anniversary of the initial 

bottom lease or franchise; 

(B) for a renewal shellfish bottom lease or 

franchise, over the consecutive full 

calendar years beginning January 1 of 

the final year of the previous bottom 

lease or franchise term and ending 

December 31 of the final year of the 

current bottom lease or franchise 

contract; 

(C) for a shellfish water column lease, 

over the first five-year period for an 

initial water column lease and over the 

most recent five-year period thereafter 

for a renewal water column lease; or 

(D) for a shellfish bottom lease or 

franchise issued an extension period 

under Rule .0208 of this Section, over 

the most recent five-year period. 

(7) In the event that a portion of an existing 

shellfish lease or franchise is obtained by a new 

lease or franchise holder, the production history 

for the portion obtained shall be a percentage of 

the originating lease or franchise production 

equal to the percentage of the area of lease or 

franchise site obtained to the area of the 

originating lease or franchise. 

(f)  Persons holding five or more acres under all shellfish bottom 

leases and franchises combined shall meet the requirements 

established in Paragraph (c) of this Rule before submitting an 
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application for additional shellfish lease acreage to the Division 

of Marine Fisheries. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 113-202.1; 113-202.2; 113-206; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1997; March 1, 1995; March 1, 1994; 

September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; October 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review of 15A NCAC 03O 

.0204). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0202 SHELLFISH LEASE 

APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Application forms are available from the Division of Marine 

Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557 for 

persons desiring to apply for a shellfish lease. Each application 

shall be accompanied by a map or diagram prepared at the 

applicant's expense including an inset vicinity map showing the 

location of the proposed shellfish lease with detail sufficient to 

permit on-site identification pursuant to G.S. 113-202(d1).  

(b)  As a part of the application, the applicant shall submit a 

Shellfish Lease Management Plan for the area to be leased for 

shellfish aquaculture purposes on a form provided by the Division 

that shall: 

(1) state the methods through which the applicant 

will cultivate and produce shellfish consistent 

with the requirements in accordance with Rule 

.0201 of this Section; 

(2) state the time intervals during which phases of 

cultivation and production will be achieved; 

(3) state the materials and techniques that will be 

utilized in management of the shellfish lease; 

(4) forecast the results expected to be achieved by 

the Shellfish Lease Management Plan 

activities; 

(5) describe the productivity of any other shellfish 

leases or franchises held by the applicant; and 

(6) state the locations of each corner defining the 

area to be leased with no more than eight 

corners. 

(c)  The completed application, map or diagram, and Shellfish 

Lease Management Plan for the requested shellfish lease shall be 

accompanied by the non-refundable filing fee set forth in G.S. 

113-202(d1), G.S. 113-202.1(c)(1), and G.S. 113-202.2(c)(1). An 

incomplete application shall be returned and not considered 

further until re-submitted complete with all required information. 

(d)  Applicants and transferees not currently holding a shellfish 

lease, and applicants and transferees holding one or more shellfish 

leases that are not meeting production requirements, shall 

complete the Shellfish Aquaculture Education Program provided 

by the Division. The Shellfish Aquaculture Education Program 

shall provide the applicant information on shellfish aquaculture 

including: 

(1) shellfish lease application process; 

(2) shellfish lease requirements and techniques; 

(3) shellfish sanitation and National Shellfish 

Sanitation Program requirements; 

(4) shellfish harvest requirements; 

(5) aquaculture permits; 

(6) best management practices; and 

(7) shellfish lease user conflict avoidance. 

(e)  After an application is deemed to have met all requirements 

and is accepted by the Division, the applicant shall mark the area 

for which a shellfish lease is requested with stakes at each corner 

in accordance with Rule .0204(a)(1)(A) of this Section. The 

applicant shall attach to each stake a sign, provided by the 

Division containing the name of the applicant, the date the 

application was filed, and the estimated acres. The applicant shall 

be responsible for ensuring the sign remains in place until the 

shellfish lease application process is completed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 113-206; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; September 1, 2005; May 1, 1997; 

September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review of 15A NCAC 03O 

.0204). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0204 MARKING SHELLFISH LEASES 

AND FRANCHISES 

(a)  All shellfish leases and franchises shall be marked by the lease 

or franchise holder as follows: 

(1) Shellfish bottom leases and franchises shall be 

marked by: 

(A) stakes of wood or plastic material no 

less than three inches in diameter and 

no more than 12 inches in diameter at 

the mean high water mark and 

extending at least four feet above the 

mean high water mark for each corner, 

except stakes more than 12 inches in 

diameter approved as part of a Coastal 

Area Management Act Permit issued 

in accordance with G.S. 113A-118 and 

G.S. 113-229 shall be allowed. The 

stakes shall be firmly jetted or driven 

into the bottom at each corner as 

identified in Rule .0202(b)(6) of this 

Section. 

(B) signs displaying the number of the 

shellfish lease or franchise and the 

name of the lease or franchise holder 

printed in letters at least three inches 

high shall be firmly attached to each 

corner stake. 

(C) yellow light reflective tape or yellow 

light reflective devices on each corner 

stake. The yellow light reflective tape 

or yellow light reflective devices shall 

be affixed to each corner stake, shall 

cover a vertical distance of not less 

than 12 inches, and shall be visible 

from all directions. 

(D) supplementary stakes of wood or 

plastic material no less than three 
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inches in diameter and no more than 

four inches in diameter, not farther 

apart than 150 feet or closer together 

than 50 feet and extending at least four 

feet above the mean high water mark, 

shall be placed along each boundary, 

except if doing so interferes with the 

use of traditional navigation channels. 

(2) Shellfish water column leases shall be marked 

at each corner of the area by signs giving notice 

and providing caution in addition to the 

required signs as identified and approved by the 

Secretary in the Shellfish Lease Management 

Plan as set forth in Rule .0202 of this Section. 

(b)  Stakes marking areas of management within shellfish bottom 

leases or franchises, as approved in the Shellfish Lease 

Management Plan, shall conform to Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule and 

may not exceed one for each 1,200 square feet. Marking at 

concentrations of stakes greater than one for each 1,200 square 

feet constitutes use of the water column and a shellfish water 

column lease is required in accordance with G.S. 113-202.1 or 

G.S. 113-202.2. 

(c)  All areas claimed in filings made pursuant to G.S. 113-205 as 

deeded bottoms through oyster grants issued by the county clerk 

of court or as private bottoms through perpetual franchises issued 

by the Shellfish Commission shall be marked in accordance with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, except the sign shall include the 

number of the franchise rather than the number of the shellfish 

lease. However, claimed areas not being managed and cultivated 

shall not be marked. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to exclude or attempt to exclude the public 

from allowable public trust use of navigable waters on shellfish 

leases and franchises including fishing, hunting, swimming, 

wading, and navigation. 

(e)  The Division has no duty to protect any shellfish lease or 

franchise not marked in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 76-40; 113-134; 113-182; 

113-201; 113-202; 113-202.1; 113-202.2; 113-205; 113-206; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1997; March 1, 1994; October 1, 

1992; September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0104 PERMANENT SECONDARY 

NURSERY AREAS 

The permanent secondary nursery areas referenced in 15A NCAC 

03N .0105(a) are delineated in the following coastal water areas: 

(1) Roanoke Sound: 

Inner Shallowbag Bay - west of a line beginning 

on the northeast shore at a point 35° 54.6729' N 

– 75° 39.8099' W; running southerly to the 

southeast shore to a point 35° 54.1722' N – 75° 

39.6806' W; 

(2) in the Pamlico Long Sound Area: 

(a) Long Shoal River - north of a line 

beginning at the 5th Avenue Canal at 

a point 35° 35.2120' N – 75° 53.2232' 

W; running easterly to the east shore 

on Pains Point to a point 35° 35.0666' 

N – 75° 51.2000' W; 

(b) Pains Bay - east of a line beginning on 

Pains Point at a point 35° 35.0666' N – 

75° 51.2000' W; running southerly to 

Rawls Island to a point 35° 34.4666' N 

– 75° 50.9666' W; running easterly to 

the east shore to a point 35° 34.2309' 

N – 75° 50.2695' W; 

(c) Wysocking Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning at Benson Point at a point 

35° 22.9684' N – 76° 03.7129' W; 

running northeasterly to Long Point to 

a point 35° 24.6895' N – 76° 01.3155' 

W; 

(d) Juniper Bay-Cunning Harbor - north 

of a line beginning on the west shore 

of Juniper Bay at a point 35° 20.6217' 

N – 76° 15.5447' W; running easterly 

to a point 35° 20.4372' N – 76° 

13.2697' W; running easterly to the 

east shore of Cunning Harbor to a 

point 35° 20.3413' N – 76° 12.3378' 

W; 

(e) Swanquarter Bay - north of a line 

beginning at The Narrows at a point 

35° 20.9500' N – 76° 20.6409' W; 

running easterly to the east shore to a 

point 35° 21.5959' N – 76° 18.3580' 

W; 

(f) Deep Cove - The Narrows - north and 

east of a line beginning on the west 

shore at a point 35° 20.9790' N – 76° 

23.8577' W; running southeasterly to 

Swanquarter Island to a point 35° 

20.5321' N – 76° 22.7869' W; and west 

of a line at The Narrows beginning on 

the north shore to a point 35° 20.9500' 

N – 76° 20.6409' W; running southerly 

to Swanquarter Island to a point 35° 

20.7025' N – 76° 20.5620' W; 

(g) Rose Bay - north of a line beginning 

on Long Point at a point 35° 23.3404' 

N – 76° 26.2491' W; running 

southeasterly to Drum Point to a point 

35° 22.4891' N – 76° 25.2012' W; 

(h) Spencer Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning on Roos Point at a point 35° 

22.3866' N – 76° 27.9225' W; running 

northeasterly to Long Point to a point 

35° 23.3404' N – 76° 26.2491' W; 

(i) Abel Bay - northeast of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

35° 23.6463' N – 76° 31.0003' W; 

running southeasterly to the east shore 

to a point 35° 22.9353' N – 76° 

29.7215' W; 
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(j) Mouse Harbor - west of a line 

beginning on Persimmon Tree Point at 

a point 35° 18.3915' N – 76° 29.0454' 

W; running southerly to Yaupon 

Hammock Point to a point 35° 

17.1825' N – 76° 28.8713' W; 

(k) Big Porpoise Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning on Big Porpoise Point at a 

point 35° 15.6993' N – 76° 28.2041' 

W; running southwesterly to Middle 

Bay Point to a point 35° 14.9276' N – 

76° 28.8658' W; 

(l) Middle Bay - west of a line beginning 

on Deep Point at a point 35° 14.8003' 

N – 76° 29.1923' W; running southerly 

to Little Fishing Point to a point 35° 

13.5419' N – 76° 29.6123' W; 

(m) Jones Bay - west of a line beginning 

on Mink Trap Point at a point 35° 

13.4968' N – 76° 31.1040' W; running 

southerly to Boar Point to a point 35° 

12.3253' N – 76° 31.2767' W; and 

(n) in the Bay River Area: 

(i) Bonner Bay - southeast of a 

line beginning on the west 

shore at a point 35° 09.6281' 

N – 76° 36.2185' W; running 

northeasterly to Davis Island 

Point to a point 35° 10.0888' 

N – 76° 35.2587' W; and 

(ii) Gales Creek-Bear Creek - 

north and west of a line 

beginning on Sanders Point 

at a point 35° 11.2833' N – 

76° 35.9000' W; running 

northeasterly to the east shore 

to a point 35° 11.9000' N – 

76° 34.2833' W; 

(3) in the Pamlico and Pungo Rivers Area: 

(a) Pungo River - north of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

35° 32.2000' N – 76° 29.2500' W; 

running east near Beacon "21" to the 

east shore to a point 35° 32.0833' N – 

76° 28.1500' W; 

(b) Pungo Creek - west of a line beginning 

on Persimmon Tree Point at a point 

35° 30.7633' N – 76° 38.2831' W; 

running southwesterly to Windmill 

Point to a point 35° 31.1546' N – 76° 

37.7590' W; 

(c) Scranton Creek - south and east of a 

line beginning on the west shore at a 

point 35° 30.6810' N – 76° 28.3435' 

W; running easterly to the east shore 

to a point 35° 30.7075' N – 76° 

28.6766' W; 

(d) Slade Creek - east of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 35° 

27.8879' N – 76° 32.9906' W; running 

southeasterly to the east shore to a 

point 35° 27.6510' N – 76° 32.7361' 

W; 

(e) Fortescue Creek - east of a line 

beginning on Pasture Point at a point 

35° 25.9213' N – 76° 31.9135' W; 

running southerly to the Lupton Point 

shore to a point 35° 25.6012' N – 76° 

31.9641' W; 

(f) Pamlico River - west of a line 

beginning on Ragged Point at a point 

35° 27.5768' N – 76° 54.3612' W; 

running southwesterly to Mauls Point 

to a point 35° 26.9176' N – 76° 

55.5253' W; 

(g) North Creek - north of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 35° 

25.3988' N – 76° 40.0455' W; running 

southeasterly to the east shore to a 

point 35° 25.1384' N – 76° 39.6712' 

W; 

(h) South Creek - west of a line beginning 

on Hickory Point at a point 35° 

21.7385' N – 76° 41.5907' W; running 

southerly to Fork Point to a point 35° 

20.7534' N – 76° 41.7870' W; 

(i) Bond Creek/Muddy Creek - south of a 

line beginning on Fork Point at a point 

35° 20.7534' N – 76° 41.7870' W; 

running southeasterly to Gum Point to 

a point 35° 20.5632' N – 76° 41.4645' 

W; 

(j) in the Goose Creek Area, Campbell 

Creek - west of a line beginning on the 

north shore at a point 35° 17.3600' N – 

76° 37.1096' W; running southerly to 

the south shore to a point 35° 16.9876' 

N – 76° 37.0965' W; and 

(k) Oyster Creek-Middle 

Prong - southwest of a line beginning 

on Pine Hammock at a point 35° 

19.5586' N – 76° 32.8830' W; running 

easterly to Cedar Island to a point 35° 

19.5490' N – 76° 32.7365' W; and 

southwest of a line beginning on Cedar 

Island at a point 35° 19.4921' N – 76° 

32.2590' W; running southeasterly to 

Beard Island Point to a point 35° 

19.1265' N – 76° 31.7226' W; 

(4) in the Neuse River Area: 

(a) Lower Broad Creek - west of a line 

beginning on the north shore at a point 

35° 05.8314' N – 76° 35.3845' W; 

running southwesterly to the south 

shore to a point 35° 05.5505' N – 76° 

35.7249' W; 

(b) Greens Creek - north of a line 

beginning on the west shore of Greens 
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Creek at a point 35° 01.3476' N – 76° 

42.1740' W; running northeasterly to 

the east shore to a point 35° 01.4899' 

N – 76° 41.9961' W; 

(c) Dawson Creek - north of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

34° 59.5920' N – 76° 45.4620' W; 

running southeasterly to the east shore 

to a point 34° 59.5800' N – 76° 

45.4140' W; 

(d) Goose Creek - north and east of a line 

beginning at a point on the west shore 

at a point 35° 02.6642' N – 76° 

56.4710' W; running southeasterly to a 

point on Cooper Point 35° 02.0908' N 

– 76° 56.0092' W; 

(e) Upper Broad Creek - northeast of a 

line beginning at a point on Rowland 

Point on the north shore at a point 35° 

02.6166' N – 76° 56.4500' W; running 

southeasterly to the south shore to a 

point 35° 02.8960' N – 76° 56.7865' 

W; 

(f) Clubfoot Creek - south of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

34° 54.5424' N – 76° 45.7252' W; 

running easterly to the east shore to a 

point 34° 54.4853' N – 76° 45.4022' 

W; and 

(g) in the Adams Creek Area, Cedar 

Creek - east of a line beginning on the 

north shore at a point 34° 56.1203' N – 

76° 38.7988' W; running southerly to 

the south shore to a point 34° 55.8745' 

N – 76° 38.8153' W; 

(5) Newport River - west of a line beginning near 

Penn Point on the south shore at a point 34° 

45.6960' N – 76° 43.5180' W; running 

northeasterly to the north shore to a point 34° 

46.8490' N – 76° 43.3296' W; 

(6) Virginia Creek - all waters of the natural 

channel northwest of the primary nursery area 

line; 

(7) Old Topsail Creek - all waters of the dredged 

channel northwest of the primary nursery area 

line; 

(8) Mill Creek - all waters west of a line beginning 

on the north shore at a point 34° 20.6420' N – 

77° 42.1220' W; running southwesterly to the 

south shore to a point 34° 20.3360' N – 77° 

42.2400' W; 

(9) Pages Creek - all waters west of a line 

beginning on the north shore at a point 34° 

16.1610' N – 77° 45.9930' W; running 

southwesterly to the south shore to a point 34° 

15.9430' N – 77° 46.1670' W; 

(10) Bradley Creek - all waters west of a line 

beginning on the north shore at a point 34° 

12.7030' N – 77° 49.1230' W; running southerly 

near the dredged channel to a point 34° 12.4130' 

N – 77° 49.2110' W; 

(11) Cape Fear River - all waters bounded by a line 

beginning on the south side of the Spoil Island 

at the intersection of the Intracoastal Waterway 

and the Cape Fear River ship channel at a point 

34° 01.5780' N – 77° 56.0010' W; running 

easterly to the east shore of the Cape Fear River 

to a point 34° 01.7230' N – 77° 55.1010' W; 

running southerly and bounded by the shoreline 

to the Ferry Slip at Federal Point at a point 33° 

57.8080' N – 77° 56.4120' W; running northerly 

to Bird Island to a point 33° 58.3870' N – 77° 

56.5780' W; running northerly along the west 

shoreline of Bird Island and the Cape Fear 

River spoil islands back to the point of origin; 

(12) Lockwood Folly River - all waters north of a 

line beginning on Howells Point at a point 33° 

55.3680' N – 78° 12.7930' W and running in a 

westerly direction along the Intracoastal 

Waterway near Intracoastal Waterway Marker 

"46" to a point 33° 55.3650' N – 78° 13.8500' 

W; 

(13) Saucepan Creek - all waters north of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 33° 

54.6290' N – 78° 22.9170' W; running 

northeasterly to the east shore to a point 33° 

54.6550' N – 78° 22.8670' W; and 

(14) Davis Creek - all waters east of a line beginning 

on Horse Island at a point 33° 55.0160' N – 78° 

12.7380' W; running southerly to Oak Island to 

a point 33° 54.9190' N – 78° 12.7170' W; 

continuing upstream to the primary nursery line 

and Davis Canal, all waters southeast of a line 

beginning on Pinner Point at a point 33° 

55.2930' N – 78° 11.6390' W; running 

southwesterly across the mouth of Davis Canal 

to the spoil island at the southwest intersection 

of the Intracoastal Waterway and Davis Canal 

to a point 33° 55.2690' N – 78° 11.6550' W. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; March 1, 1994; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 3R .0004 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; August 1, 2004; May 1, 1997; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0105 SPECIAL SECONDARY 

NURSERY AREAS 

The special secondary nursery areas referenced in 15A NCAC 

03N .0105(b) are designated in the following coastal water areas: 

(1) Roanoke Sound: 

(a) Outer Shallowbag Bay - west of a line 

beginning on Baum Point at a point 

35° 55.1461' N – 75° 39.5618' W; 
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running southeasterly to Ballast Point 

to a point 35° 54.6250' N – 75° 

38.8656' W; including the canal on the 

southeast shore of Shallowbag Bay; 

and 

(b) Kitty Hawk Bay/Buzzard Bay - within 

the area designated by a line beginning 

at a point on the east shore of 

Colington Creek at a point 36 

02.4360' N – 75 42.3189' W; running 

westerly to a point 36 02.6630' N – 

75 41.4102' W; running along the 

shoreline to a point 36 02.3264' N – 

75 42.3889' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 36 02.1483' 

N – 75 42.4329' W; running along the 

shoreline to a point 36 01.6736' N – 

75 42.5313' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 36 01.5704' 

N – 75 42.5899' W; running along the 

shoreline to a point 36 00.9162' N – 

75 42.2035' W; running southeasterly 

to a point 36 00.8253' N – 75 

42.0886' W; running along the 

shoreline to a point 35 59.9886' N – 

75 41.7284' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 35 59.9597' 

N – 75 41.7682' W; running along the 

shoreline to the mouth of Buzzard Bay 

to a point 35 59.6480' N – 75 

32.9906' W; running easterly to Mann 

Point to a point 35 59.4171' N – 75 

32.7361' W; running northerly along 

the shoreline to the point of beginning; 

(2) in the West Bay Area:  

(a) West Thorofare Bay - south of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

34° 57.2199' N – 76° 24.0947' W; 

running easterly to the east shore to a 

point 34° 57.4871' N – 76° 23.0737' 

W; 

(b) Long Bay-Ditch Bay - west of a line 

beginning on the north shore of Ditch 

Bay at a point 34° 57.9388' N – 76° 

27.0781' W; running southwesterly to 

the south shore of Ditch Bay to a point 

34° 57.2120' N – 76° 27.2185' W; then 

south of a line running southeasterly to 

the east shore of Long Bay to a point 

34° 56.7633' N – 76° 26.3927' W; and 

(c) Turnagain Bay - south of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

34° 59.4065' N – 76° 30.1906' W; 

running easterly to the east shore to a 

point 34° 59.5668' N – 76° 29.3557' 

W; 

(3) in the Core Sound Area: 

(a) Cedar Island Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning near the gun club dock at a 

point 34° 58.7203' N – 76° 15.9645' 

W; running northeasterly to the south 

shore to a point 34° 57.7690' N – 76° 

16.8781' W; 

(b) Thorofare Bay-Barry Bay - northwest 

of a line beginning on Rumley 

Hammock at a point 34° 55.4853' N – 

76° 18.2487' W; running northeasterly 

to Hall Point to a point 34° 54.4227' N 

– 76° 19.1908' W; 

(c) Nelson Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning on the west shore of Nelson 

Bay at a point 34° 51.1353' N – 76° 

24.5866' W; running northeasterly to 

Drum Point to a point 34° 51.6417' N 

– 76° 23.7620' W; 

(d) Brett Bay - north of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 34° 

49.4019' N – 76° 26.0227' W; running 

easterly to Piney Point to a point 34° 

49.5799' N – 76° 25.0534' W; and 

(e) Jarrett Bay - north of a line beginning 

on the west shore near Old Chimney at 

a point 34° 45.5743' N – 76° 30.0076' 

W; running easterly to a point east of 

Davis Island 34° 45.8325' N – 76° 

28.7955' W; 

(4) in the North River Area: 

(a) North River - north of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 34° 

46.0383' N – 76° 37.0633' W; running 

easterly to a point on the east shore 34° 

46.2667' N – 76° 35.4933' W; and 

(b) Ward Creek - east of a line beginning 

on the north shore at a point 34° 

46.2667' N – 76° 35.4933' W; running 

southerly to the south shore to a point 

34° 45.4517' N – 76° 35.1767' W; 

(5) New River - all waters upstream of a line 

beginning on the north side of the N.C. 

Highway 172 Bridge at a point 34° 34.7680' N 

– 77° 23.9940' W; running southerly to the 

south side of the bridge at a point 34° 34.6000' 

N – 77° 23.9710' W; 

(6) Chadwick Bay - all waters west of a line 

beginning on the northeast side of Chadwick 

Bay at a point 34° 32.5630' N – 77° 21.6280' 

W; running southeasterly to a point near Marker 

"6" at 34° 32.4180' N – 77° 21.6080' W; 

running westerly to Roses Point at a point 34° 

32.2240' N – 77° 22.2880' W; following the 

shoreline in Fullard Creek to a point 34° 

32.0340' N – 77° 22.7160' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34° 32.2210' N – 77° 

22.8080' W; following the shoreline to the west 

point of Bump's Creek at a point 34° 32.3430' 

N – 77° 22.4570' W; running northeasterly to 
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the east shore to a point 34° 32.4400' N – 77° 

22.3830' W; following the shoreline of 

Chadwick Bay back to the point of origin; and 

(7) Intracoastal Waterway - all waters in the 

Intracoastal Waterway maintained channel 

from a point near Marker "17" north of 

Alligator Bay 34° 30.7930' N – 77° 23.1290' W; 

to a point near Marker "49" at Morris Landing 

at a point 34° 28.0820' N – 77° 30.4710' W; and 

all waters in the Intracoastal Waterway 

maintained channel and 100 feet on either side 

from Marker "49" to the N.C. Highway 50-210 

Bridge at Surf City. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; March 1, 1994; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 3R .0005 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; August 1, 2004; May 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0117 OYSTER SANCTUARIES 

The Oyster Sanctuaries referenced in 15A NCAC 03K .0209 are 

delineated in the following coastal water areas: 

(1) Pamlico Sound area: 

(a) Croatan Sound: within the area 

described by a line beginning at a 

point 35 48.2842' N - 75 38.3360' 

W; running southerly to a point 35 

48.1918' N - 75 38.3360' W; running 

westerly to a point 35 48.1918' N - 

75 38.4575' W; running northerly to a 

point 35 48.2842' N - 75 38.4575' 

W; running easterly to the point of 

beginning. 

(b) Crab Hole: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

43.6833' N - 75 40.5083' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 43.5000' N - 

75 40.5083' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 43.5000' N - 75 40.7500' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

43.6833' N - 75 40.7500' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(c) Pea Island: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

05.4760' N - 76 23.5370' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 05.4760' N - 

76 23.4040' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 05.3680' N - 76 23.4040' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

05.3680' N - 76 23.5370' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(d) Long Shoal: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

33.8600' N - 75 49.9000' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 33.8600' N - 

75 49.7670' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 33.7510' N - 75 49.7670' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

33.7510' N - 75 49.9000' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(e) Gibbs Shoal: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35° 

27.3550' N - 75° 55.9190' W; running 

southerly to a point 35° 27.1010' N - 

75° 55.9190' W; running westerly to a 

point 35° 27.1010' N - 75° 56.2300' 

W; running northerly to a point 35° 

27.3550' N - 75° 56.2300' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(f) Deep Bay: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

22.9126' N - 76 22.1612' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 22.7717' N - 

76 22.1612' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 22.7717' N - 76 22.3377' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

22.9126' N - 76 22.3377' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(g) West Bluff: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

18.3160' N - 76 10.2960' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 18.3160' N - 

76 10.0690' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 18.1290' N - 76 10.0690' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

18.1290' N - 76 10.2960' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(h) Middle Bay: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

14.1580' N - 76 30.1780' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 14.1150' N - 

76 30.1780' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 14.1150' N - 76 30.3320' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

14.1580' N - 76 30.3320' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(i) Swan Island: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

05.6170' N - 76 27.5040' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 05.6020' N - 

76 26.7650' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 05.4850' N - 76 26.7640' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

05.4990' N - 76 27.5030' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(j) Raccoon Island: within the area 

described by a line beginning at a 

point 35 05.4760' N - 76 23.5370' 

W; running southerly to a point 35 

05.4760' N - 76 23.4040' W; running 

westerly to a point 35 05.3860' N - 
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76 23.4040' W; running northerly to a 

point 35 05.3680' N - 76 23.5370' 

W; running easterly to the point of 

beginning. 

(k) West Bay: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 34 

58.8517' N - 76 21.3632' W; running 

southerly to a point 34 58.7661' N - 

76 21.3632' W; running westerly to a 

point 34 58.7661' N - 76 21.4735' 

W; running northerly to a point 34 

58.8517' N - 76 21.4735' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(2) Neuse River area: 

(a) Little Creek: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

02.6940' N - 76 30.9840' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 02.6940' N - 

76 30.7940' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 02.5380' N - 76 30.7940' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

02.5380' N - 76 30.9840' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(b) Neuse River: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35° 

00.4910' N - 76° 31.9350' W; running 

southerly to a point 35° 00.3750' N - 

76° 31.9350' W; running westerly to a 

point 35° 00.3750' N - 76° 32.0750' 

W; running northerly to a point 35° 

00.4910' N - 76° 32.0750' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-204; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1102 EMERGENCY CLOSURES AND 

WAIVERS 

(a)  The Commission may prohibit or restrict public access to and 

use of Wildlife Resources Commission property if the 

Commission finds that the closure is necessary to protect public 

health, public safety, or wildlife resources. Closures exercised 

under this Paragraph shall only be exercised for the duration of 

the threat. 

(b)  The Commission may waive any rule in this Chapter or 

portion thereof, that is not statutorily required, upon declaration 

of a national emergency, disaster, or state of emergency, by a 

federal, state, or local governmental authority impacting North 

Carolina. Waivers exercised under this Paragraph shall only be 

exercised for the duration of the declaration. 

(c)  The Commission may delegate emergency closure and waiver 

authority to the Executive Director. 

(d)  The following factors shall be considered in determining 

whether to restrict or prohibit public access or use, or waive 

requirements of rule: 

(1) need for the closure or waiver; 

(2) degree of benefit to the public, if applicable; 

(3) degree of benefit to the resource, if applicable; 

(4) degree of disruption to the Commission; and 

(5) cost to the Commission. 

(e)  All closures and waivers shall be posted on the Commission 

website at www.ncwildlife.org. 

(f)  It is unlawful to use, enter, or remain on Wildlife Resources 

Commission Property that is closed pursuant to this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-306(c); 

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0106 WILDLIFE TAKEN FOR 

DEPREDATIONS 

(a)  Depredation permits shall authorize the taking, destruction, 

transfer, removal, transplanting, or driving away of undesirable, 

destructive, or excess wildlife or wildlife resources as specified in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(b)  The following conditions shall apply to depredation permits: 

(1) depredation permits shall be prepared on a form 

supplied by the Commission; and 

(2) depredation permits shall only be issued by 

authorized employees of the Commission or 

licensed Wildlife Control Agents (WCA). 

(c)  Depredation permits shall not be required for the owner or 

lessee of a property to take wildlife while committing 

depredations on that property; however, the manner of take, 

disposition of dead wildlife, and reporting requirements specified 

in this Rule shall apply. 

(d)  No permit shall be issued to take endangered or threatened 

species of wildlife listed under 15A NCAC 10I, except alligators, 

by reason of depredations to property. The Executive Director or 

his or her designee may issue depredation permits for Special 

Concern species listed in 15A NCAC 10I .0105 and for alligators. 

An individual may take an endangered or threatened species in 

immediate defense of his or her own life or of the lives of others 

without a permit. Any endangered or threatened species that may 

constitute a demonstrable but non-immediate threat to human 

safety shall be reported to a federal or Commission wildlife 

enforcement officer, who, upon verification of the report, may 

take or remove the specimen as provided by 15A NCAC 10I 

.0102. Depredation permits for other species may be issued under 

the following conditions: 

(1) for taking wildlife that is or has been damaging 

or destroying property, provided there is 

evidence of property damage. No permit may 

be issued for the taking of migratory birds and 

other federally-protected animals unless a 

corresponding, valid U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service depredation permit(s), if required, has 

been issued. A permit issued pursuant to this 

Rule shall name the species allowed to be taken 

and may include limitations as to age, sex, type 
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of depredation, location of animal or damage, 

and local laws. The permit shall be issued to a 

landholder or an authorized representative of a 

unit of local government for depredations on 

public property. The permit shall be used only 

by individuals named on the permit. 

(2) for taking of wildlife resources in 

circumstances of overabundance or when the 

wildlife resources present a danger to human 

safety. Cities, as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), 

seeking a depredation permit pursuant to these 

circumstances shall apply to the Commission 

using an application available from the 

Commission. The application shall include the 

following information: 

(A) the name and location of the city; 

(B) the acreage of the affected property; 

(C) a map of the affected property; 

(D) the signature of an authorized city 

representative; 

(E) the nature of the overabundance or the 

threat to public safety; and 

(F) a description of previous actions taken 

by the city to ameliorate the problem. 

(e)  Each depredation permit shall have an expiration date. A 

depredation permit authorizes the possession of wildlife resources 

taken under the authority of the permit. Depredation permits shall 

be retained as long as the wildlife resource is in the authorized 

individual's possession. Individuals taking wildlife resources 

under the authority of a depredation permit shall comply with the 

conditions of the permit and the requirements specified in this 

Rule. 

(f)  Manner of Taking: 

(1) Taking Without a Permit. Wildlife taken 

without a permit while committing 

depredations to property may, during the open 

season on the species, be taken by the 

landholder by any lawful method. During the 

closed season, such depredating wildlife may 

be taken without a permit only by the use of 

firearms or archery equipment as defined in 

15A NCAC 10B .0116. 

(2) Taking With a Permit. Wildlife taken under a 

depredation permit may be taken only by the 

method or methods authorized by the permit. 

When trapping is authorized, in order to limit 

the taking to the intended purpose, the permit 

may specify a reasonable distance from the 

property sought to be protected, within which 

the traps shall be set. The Executive Director, 

Commission employee, or WCA may also state 

in a permit authorizing trapping whether or not 

bait or lure may be used and the type of bait or 

lure that is authorized based upon factors such 

as type of depredation, locations of animal or 

damage, and local laws. In addition to any 

trapping restrictions that may be contained in 

the permit, the method of trapping shall be in 

accordance with the requirements and 

restrictions imposed by G.S. 113-291.6 and 

other local laws passed by the General 

Assembly. No depredation permit shall 

authorize the use of poisons or pesticides in 

taking wildlife except in accordance with the 

provisions of the North Carolina Pesticide Law 

of 1971, G.S. 143, Article 52, the Structural 

Pest Control Act of 1955, G.S. 106, Article 4C, 

and G.S. 113, Article 22A. No depredation 

permit shall authorize the taking of wildlife by 

any method by any landholder upon the lands 

of another except when the individual is listed 

as a second party on a depredation permit. 

(3) Intentional Wounding. It is unlawful for any 

landholder, with or without a depredation 

permit, to intentionally wound a wild animal in 

a manner so as not to cause its immediate death 

as suddenly and humanely as the circumstances 

permit. 

(g)  Disposition of Wildlife Taken: 

(1) Generally. Except as provided by 

Subparagraphs (2) through (5) of this 

Paragraph, any wildlife killed without a permit 

while committing depredations shall be buried 

or disposed of in a safe and sanitary manner on 

the property where taken. Wildlife killed under 

a depredation permit may be transported to an 

alternate disposal site if desired. Anyone in 

possession of carcasses of animals being 

transported under a depredation permit shall 

have the depredation permit in his or her 

possession. Except as provided by 

Subparagraphs (2) through (5) of this 

Paragraph, all wildlife killed under a 

depredation permit shall be buried or otherwise 

disposed of as stated on the permit. 

(2) Deer and feral swine. The edible portions of 

feral swine and deer may be retained by the 

landholder for consumption but shall not be 

transported from the property where the 

depredations took place without a valid 

depredation permit. The landholder may give a 

second party the edible portions of feral swine 

or deer taken under a depredation permit. The 

receiver of the edible portions shall hold a copy 

of the depredation permit. The nonedible 

portions of any deer carcass, including head, 

hide, feet, and antlers, shall be disposed of as 

specified in Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph 

or turned over to a wildlife enforcement officer 

for disposition. 

(3) Fox. Any fox killed under a depredation permit 

may be disposed of as described in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph or, upon 

compliance with the fur tagging requirements 

of 15A NCAC 10B .0400, the carcass or pelt 

thereof may be sold to a licensed fur dealer. 

(4) Furbearing Animals. The carcass or pelt of any 

furbearing animal killed during the open season 
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for taking such furbearing animal for control of 

depredations to property, whether with or 

without a permit, may be sold to a licensed fur 

dealer provided that the person offering such 

carcass or pelt for sale has a valid hunting or 

trapping license; provided further that bobcats 

and otters may only be sold upon compliance 

with any required fur tagging requirement set 

forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0400. 

(5) Animals Taken Alive. Wild animals in the order 

Carnivora, armadillos, groundhogs, nutria, and 

beaver shall be humanely euthanized either at 

the site of capture or at a facility designed to 

humanely handle the euthanasia, or such wild 

animals must be released on the property where 

captured. Feral swine shall be euthanized while 

still in the trap in accordance with G.S. 113-

291.12. For all other animals taken alive, the 

animal shall be euthanized or released on 

property with permission of the landowner. 

When the relocation site is public property, 

written permission shall be obtained from the 

local, State, or federal official authorized to 

manage the property before any animal may be 

released. Animals transported or held for 

euthanasia shall be euthanized within 12 hours 

of possession. Anyone in possession of live 

animals being transported for relocation or 

euthanasia under a depredation permit shall 

have the depredation permit in his or her 

possession. 

(h)  Reporting Requirements. Any landholder who kills an 

alligator; coyote in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, 

or Washington; deer; Canada goose; bear; elk; or wild turkey 

under a valid depredation permit shall report the kill on the form 

provided with the permit, including the number and species of 

animal(s) killed, and submit the form upon the expiration date of 

the depredation permit to the Commission. Any landowner who 

kills a coyote in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, and 

Washington shall report the kill, including the number of coyotes 

killed, on the form provided with the depredation permit. The 

killing and method of disposition of every alligator; coyote in the 

counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington; bear; 

or elk taken without a permit shall be reported to the Wildlife 

Resources Commission within 24 hours following the time of 

such killing. 

(i)  Exemption for Animal Control Officers. Animal Control 

Officers, as defined by G.S. 130A-184(1) when in the 

performance of official duties, shall be exempt from obtaining a 

depredation permit when taking wild animals that: 

(1) exhibit visible signs of rabies; 

(2) exhibit unprovoked aggression that may be 

associated with rabies; 

(3) are suspected to be rabid; or 

(4) have or may have exposed humans, pets, or 

livestock to rabies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

113-291.4; 113-291.6; 113-300.1; 113-300.2; 113-307; 113-331; 

113-333; 113-334(a); 113-337; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; August 1, 2010; 

July 1, 2010; May 1, 2008; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1997; July 1, 

1995; January 1, 1995; January 1, 1992; August 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2014 and shall remain in 

effect until amendments expire as specified in G.S. 150B-21.1(d) 

or the United States District Court for the Eastern District of 

North Carolina's court order number 2:13-CV-60-BOs signed on 

May 13, 2014 is rescinded, whichever date is earlier. The court 

order is available at www.ncwildlife.org; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 27, 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021; October 1, 2019; December 1, 2016; 

July 1, 2016; May 1, 2016. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0110 ATTENDANCE OF TRAPS 

(a)  Every trap shall be visited daily and any animal caught therein 

removed, except for completely submerged conibear type traps 

which shall be visited once every 72 hours and any animal caught 

therein removed. 

(b)  Remote trap checking systems may be used in lieu of visiting 

the trap, provided the system has the following features: 

(1) a control unit that monitors the trap in real-time 

and reports trap status and unit status to a 

centralized application database at least once 

every 12 hours; 

(2) a software application that notifies the user of 

unit status, trap activity, and system health 

issues within 10 minutes of these events via 

email, text-based messaging systems, or an in-

application notification; and 

(3) an on-demand test procedure that is used at each 

deployment of a unit to confirm that the unit is 

placed in a location where its wireless 

communication can be received and processed. 

(c)  If the remote trap checking system control unit reports a trap 

closure, the trap shall be physically visited within 24 hours of the 

time the trap was reported closed. 

(d)  If a remote trap checking system control unit fails to report its 

status after a 12-hour period, or reports a system health issue, the 

trap shall be physically visited within 24 hours of the last time a 

status report was sent. 

(e)  Remote trap checking system users shall maintain records of 

trap status and notification alarms for at least seven days after 

receipt. Records shall be made available for inspection upon 

request by a representative of the Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.6; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; July 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0116 PERMITTED ARCHERY 

EQUIPMENT 

(a)  "Archery equipment" means any device that has a solid, 

stationary handle, two limbs, and a string, that uses non-
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pneumatic means to propel a single arrow or bolt and may be used 

to take game and nongame species. 

(b)  When used for taking bear, deer, elk, wild turkey, alligator, 

and feral swine, longbows and recurved bows shall have a 

minimum pull of 40 pounds, compound bows having a minimum 

pull of 35 pounds, and crossbows shall have a minimum pull of 

100 pounds.  

(c)  Archery equipment utilizing an elastic string and having a 

minimum pull of 40 pounds may be used to take deer, wild turkey, 

small game animals, nongame animals, and nongame fish. 

(d)  Only arrows and bolts with a fixed minimum broadhead width 

of seven-eighths of an inch or a mechanically opening broadhead 

with a width of at least seven-eighths of an inch in the open 

position shall be used for taking bear, deer, elk, wild turkey, 

alligator, and feral swine. 

(e)  Blunt-type arrow heads may be used in taking small animals 

and birds including rabbits, squirrels, quail, grouse, and 

pheasants. 

(f)  Poisonous, drugged, or explosive arrowheads shall not be used 

for taking any wildlife. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1(a); 

Eff. September 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2012; July 10, 2010; May 

1, 2007; August 1, 2002; July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; 

August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0202 BEAR 

(a)  Open Seasons for hunting bear shall be from the: 

(1) Monday on or nearest October 15 through the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving and the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving through January 1 

in and west of Surry, Wilkes, Caldwell, Burke, 

and Cleveland counties; 

(2) Second Monday in November through January 

1 in Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, 

Cumberland, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, 

Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson 

counties; 

(3) Second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Beaufort, Bertie, Craven, 

Hertford, Jones, Martin, and Washington 

counties; 

(4) Second Saturday in November through the third 

Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Dare, Hyde, and Tyrrell 

counties; 

(5) Second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Currituck, Gates, and 

Perquimans counties; 

(6) Second Sunday in November through the 

following Sunday, when November 1 falls on a 

Sunday the season shall be from the third 

Sunday in November through the following 

Sunday, and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Camden, Chowan, and 

Pasquotank counties; 

(7) Third Saturday in November though the fifth 

Sunday thereafter in Edgecombe, Greene, 

Halifax, Lenoir, Nash, Northampton, Pitt, 

Wayne, and Wilson counties; and 

(8) Concurrent with the open season for all lawful 

weapons for hunting deer as specified in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0203(a)(1) in Alamance, 

Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, 

Catawba, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Durham, 

Franklin, Forsyth, Gaston, Granville, Guilford, 

Harnett, Hoke, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, 

Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, 

Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Union, 

Vance, Wake, Warren, and Yadkin counties. 

(b)  Restrictions 

(1) For purposes of this Paragraph, "bait" means 

any natural, unprocessed food product that is a 

grain, fruit, nut, vegetable, or other material 

harvested from a plant crop that is not modified 

from its raw components. 

(2) Bears shall not be taken with the use or aid of: 

(A) any processed food product as defined 

in G.S. 113-294(r), any animal, animal 

part or product, salt, salt lick, honey, 

sugar, sugar-based material, syrups, 

candy, pastry, gum, candy block, oils, 

spices, peanut butter, or grease; 

(B) any extracts of substances identified in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph; 

(C) any substances modified by 

substances identified in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph, including any extracts 

of those substances; or 

(D) any bear bait attractant, including 

sprays, aerosols, scent balls, and scent 

powders. 

(3) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait from the 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving in the counties in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(4) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait during 

the entire open season in the counties identified 

in Subparagraphs (a)(2) through (a)(6) of this 

Rule. 

(5) Bears shall not be taken while in the act of 

consuming bait. 

(6) Hunters shall not take bears using dogs in the 

following counties: Alamance south of 

Interstate 85, Anson west of N.C. Hwy 742, 

Cabarrus, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Franklin, 

Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Lee, Lincoln, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange south of 
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Interstate 85, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, 

Stanly, Union, and Wake south of N.C. Hwy 

98. In all other counties and parts of counties, 

hunters may take bears using dogs and may 

release dogs in the vicinity of bait. 

(c)  No Open Season. It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted 

bear sanctuaries except when authorized by permit issued by the 

Commission. See 15A NCAC 10D .0106 for posted bear 

sanctuaries. 

(d)  The daily bag limit for bear is one, the possession limit is one, 

and the season limit is one. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 

113-291.7; 113-305; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; September 1, 1995; July 1, 1995; July 

1, 1994; April 14, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amendment Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. December 27, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 

2006; June 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 31, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0203 DEER (WHITE-TAILED) 

(a)  Open Seasons (All Lawful Weapons) for hunting deer: 

(1) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or 

spikes protruding through the skin, as 

distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by 

skin or velvet, may be taken on all game lands 

except Buffalo Cove, Nicholson Creek, 

Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and South 

Mountains Game Lands (Refer to 15A NCAC 

10D .0103 for Deer With Visible Antlers 

seasons on these Game Lands), during the 

following seasons: 

(A) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in all of Beaufort, 

Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, 

Columbus*, Cumberland, Craven, 

Dare, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, 

Jones, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, 

Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, 

Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, 

and Washington counties. 

*Unlawful to hunt or kill deer in Lake 

Waccamaw or within 50 yards of its 

shoreline. 

(B) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in all of Bertie, 

Camden, Chowan, Currituck, 

Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, 

Halifax, Hertford, Johnston, Martin, 

Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, 

Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Wake, 

Warren, Wayne, and Wilson counties. 

(C) Saturday before Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1 in all of Alexander, 

Alleghany, Ashe, Catawba, 

Cleveland, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, 

Iredell, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford, 

Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and 

Yadkin counties. 

(D) Monday of Thanksgiving week 

through the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving Day in all of Avery, 

Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, 

Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, 

Henderson, Jackson, Macon, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Swain, 

Transylvania, and Yancey counties. 

(E) Two Saturdays before Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1 in all of 

Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, 

Chatham, Davidson, Durham, 

Granville, Guilford, Lee, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange, 

Person, Randolph, Rockingham, 

Rowan, Stanly, and Union counties. 

(F) Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through January 1 in those parts of 

Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank 

counties known as the Dismal Swamp 

National Wildlife Refuge; in those 

parts of Hyde, Tyrrell, and 

Washington counties known as the 

Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife 

Refuge; in that part of Hyde county 

known as Lake Mattamuskeet 

National Wildlife Refuge; in those 

parts of Dare and Hyde counties 

known as Alligator River National 

Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of 

Anson and Richmond counties known 

as the Pee Dee National Wildlife 

Refuge; and in that part of Currituck 

County known as the Mackay Island 

National Wildlife Refuge. 

(2) Deer of Either Sex. Except on Game Lands, 

deer of either sex may be taken during the open 

seasons and in the counties and portions of 

counties listed in Parts (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), 

(F), and (G) of this Subparagraph (Refer to 15A 

NCAC 10D .0103 for either-sex deer seasons 

on Game Lands). Deer of either sex may be 

taken during the open season identified in Part 

(H) of this Subparagraph. 

(A) The open either-sex deer hunting dates 

established by the U.S. Fish and 
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Wildlife Service during the period 

from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through January 1 in 

those parts of Camden, Gates, and 

Pasquotank counties known as the 

Dismal Swamp National Wildlife 

Refuge; in those parts of Hyde, 

Tyrrell, and Washington counties 

known as the Pocosin Lakes National 

Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of 

Anson and Richmond counties known 

as the Pee Dee National Wildlife 

Refuge; and in those parts of Currituck 

County known as the Currituck 

National Wildlife Refuge and the 

Mackay Island National Wildlife 

Refuge. 

(B) The open either-sex deer hunting dates 

established by the appropriate military 

commands at each of the military 

installations listed in this Paragraph, 

during the period from Saturday on or 

nearest October 15 through January 1 

in that part of Brunswick County 

known as the Sunny Point Military 

Ocean Terminal, in that part of Craven 

County known and marked as Cherry 

Point Marine Base, in that part of 

Onslow County known and marked as 

the Camp Lejeune Marine Base, on 

Fort Bragg Military Reservation, and 

on Camp Mackall Military 

Reservation. 

(C) Youth either-sex deer hunts. First 

Saturday in October for youth either-

sex deer hunting by permit only on a 

portion of Belews Creek Steam 

Station in Stokes County designated 

by agents of the Commission; the third 

Saturday in October for youth either-

sex deer hunting by permit only on 

Mountain Island State Forest in 

Lincoln and Gaston counties; and the 

second Saturday in November for 

youth either-sex deer hunting by 

permit only on apportion of Warrior 

Creek located on W. Kerr Scott 

Reservoir, Wilkes County designated 

by agents of the Commission. A youth 

is defined as a person under 18 years 

of age. 

(D) The first open Saturday of the Deer 

with Visible Antlers season described 

in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 

all of Buncombe*, Haywood, 

Henderson, Madison, and 

Transylvania counties. 

*Except for that part east of NC 191, 

south of the French Broad and 

Swannanoa Rivers, west of US 25, and 

north of NC 280 

(E) The first open day of the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

through the first Saturday thereafter in 

all of Avery, Burke, Caldwell, 

McDowell, Mitchell, and Yancey 

counties. 

(F) The first open day of the Deer with 

Visible Antlers season described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

through the second Friday thereafter in 

all of Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford 

counties. 

(G) All the open days of the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 

and east of Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes, 

Alexander, Catawba, Lincoln, and 

Gaston counties and in the following 

parts of counties: Buncombe: That 

part east of NC 191, south of the 

French Broad and Swannanoa Rivers, 

west of US 25, and north of NC 280; 

and Henderson: That part east of NC 

191 and north and west of NC 280. 

(H) The fourth Saturday in September in 

all counties, subject to the following 

restriction: only persons under the age 

of 18 years may hunt. 

(b)  Open Seasons (Archery) for hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the 

bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

deer may be taken with archery equipment 

during the following seasons: 

(A) Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through the day immediately 

preceding the first open day of the 

Blackpowder Firearms and Archery 

Seasons described in Subparagraph 

(c)(1) of this Rule; and the Sunday 

immediately following the closing of 

blackpowder firearms and archery 

season identified in Part (c)(1)(B) of 

this Rule to the Sunday before 

Thanksgiving in the counties and parts 

of counties having the open seasons 

for Deer With Visible Antlers 

specified by Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule 

except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 

Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 

South Mountains Game Lands (Refer 

to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 for Archery 

seasons on these Game Lands). 

(B) Sunday immediately following the 

closing of the open season for Deer 

With Visible Antlers through January 
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1 in the counties and parts of counties 

having the open season for Deer With 

Visible Antlers specified by Part 

(a)(1)(D) of this Rule. 

(2) Restrictions 

(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 

the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 

113-291.5, dogs may not be used for 

hunting deer during the archery 

season, except a single dog on a leash 

may be used to retrieve a dead or 

wounded deer in accordance with G.S. 

113-291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 

authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 

for taking deer may be used during the 

archery deer hunting season. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken during 

archery seasons specified by Part 

(b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 

(D) Only deer with antlers or spikes 

protruding through the skin, as 

distinguished from knobs or buttons 

covered by skin or velvet, shall be 

taken during the archery season 

specified by Part (b)(1)(B) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  Open Seasons (Blackpowder Firearms and Archery) for 

hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may 

be taken only with blackpowder firearms and 

archery equipment during the following 

seasons: 

(A) Two Saturdays preceding the first day 

of the Deer with Visible Antlers 

seasons described in Parts (a)(1)(A), 

(B), (C), (E), and (F) of this Rule 

through the second Friday thereafter 

except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 

Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 

South Mountains Game Lands (Refer 

to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 for 

Blackpowder Firearms and Archery 

seasons on these Game Lands): 

(B) Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the second Saturday thereafter 

in the counties and parts of counties 

having the open seasons for Deer With 

Visible Antlers specified by Part 

(a)(1)(D) of this Rule. 

(2) Restrictions 

(A) Deer of either sex may be taken during 

blackpowder firearms and archery 

season in any county or county part set 

forth in Part (a)(2)(G) of this Rule that 

has either-sex days for all lawful 

weapons and in the following 

counties: Polk, Rutherford, 

McDowell, Burke, Caldwell, and 

Cleveland. Deer of either sex may be 

taken on the first Saturday day of this 

season only in all other counties. 

(B) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 

the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 

113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for 

hunting deer during the blackpowder 

firearms and archery seasons, except a 

single dog on a leash may be used to 

retrieve a dead or wounded deer in 

accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k). 

(3) As used in this Rule, "blackpowder firearms" 

means Any firearm - including any firearm with 

a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or 

similar type of ignition system - manufactured 

in or before 1898, that cannot use fixed 

ammunition; any replica of this type of firearm 

if such replica is not designed or redesigned for 

using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed 

ammunition; and any muzzle-loading rifle, 

muzzle-loading shotgun, or muzzle-loading or 

cylinder-loading handgun that is designed to 

use blackpowder, blackpowder substitute, or 

any other propellant loaded through the muzzle, 

cylinder, or breech and that cannot use fixed 

ammunition. 

(d)  Open Season (Urban Season) for hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the 

bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

deer of either sex may be taken with bow and 

arrow in participating cities in the State, as 

defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), from the second 

Saturday following January 1 through the sixth 

Sunday thereafter. Deer shall not be taken on 

any game land or part thereof that occurs within 

a city boundary. 

(2) Participation. Cities that intend to participate in 

the urban season shall send a letter to that effect 

no later than April 1 of the year prior to the start 

of the urban season to the Executive Director or 

his designee at 1722 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Cities shall also 

submit a map of the city's boundaries within 

which the urban season shall apply. 

(3) Restrictions: 

(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 

the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 

113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for 

hunting deer during the urban season, 

except a single dog on a leash may be 

used to retrieve a dead or wounded 

deer in accordance with G.S. 113-

291.1(k). 
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(B) Only archery equipment of the types 

authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 

for taking deer shall be used during the 

urban season. 

(e)  Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two of 

which may be deer with visible antlers and four of which may be 

antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or 

buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from spikes 

protruding through the skin. In addition to the bag limits described 

above, a hunter may obtain multiple bonus antlerless deer harvest 

report cards from the Wildlife Resources Commission or any 

Wildlife Service Agent to allow the harvest of two additional 

antlerless deer per card for deer harvested during the season 

described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule within the boundaries of 

participating municipalities, except on State-owned game lands. 

Antlerless deer harvested and reported on the bonus antlerless 

harvest report card shall not count as part of the possession and 

season limit. The bag limits described above do not apply to deer 

harvested in areas covered in the Deer Management Assistance 

Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those 

individuals using Commission-issued DMAP tags and reporting 

harvest as described on the DMAP license. Season bag limits shall 

be set by the number of DMAP tags issued and in the hunters' 

possession. All deer harvested under this program, regardless of 

the date of harvest, shall be tagged with these DMAP tags and 

reported as instructed on the DMAP license. The hunter does not 

have to validate the Big Game Harvest Report Card provided with 

the hunting license for deer tagged with the DMAP tags. Any deer 

harvested on lands enrolled in the DMAP and not tagged with 

DMAP tags may only be harvested during the regularly 

established deer seasons subject to all the restrictions of those 

seasons, including bag limits, and reported using the big game 

harvest report card or the bonus antlerless harvest report card. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 

113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996, July 1, 

1995; December 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (Approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020; August 1, 2018; 

August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; 

August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; August 1, 2011; July 10, 2010; 

June 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0227 WILD QUAIL MANGEMENT 

AREAS 

(a)  A "Wild Quail Management Area" shall be land maintained 

to enhance enjoyment of sportsmen and support wild bobwhite 

quail conservation under signed agreement between the 

landowner(s) and the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(b)  The following qualifications shall apply to all Wild Quail 

Management Areas: 

(1) At least 500 acres of contiguous land; and 

(2) A minimum of 225 acres or 15 percent of the 

land, whichever is greater, shall be maintained 

in year-round bobwhite quail habitat. 

(c)  Wild bobwhite quail habitat shall be any early successional 

habitat dominated by herbaceous vegetation or shrub cover 

consisting of a mixture of young saplings, shrubs, forbs, and 

woody plants typically less than ten feet tall with scattered open 

patches of grasses, wildflowers, and vines. Forest stands shall 

have a basal area no greater than 60 square feet per acre. Land 

managed and maintained primarily for human uses such as large 

lawns, golf courses, sod-forming pastures, production agriculture 

fields, monoculture hayfields, solar energy, or production timber 

stands shall not qualify as early successional habitat. 

(d)  Landowners interested in establishing a Wild Quail 

Management Area shall contact the Commission as described on 

the Commission's website at www.ncwildlife.org. 

(e)  The signed agreement between the landowner(s) and the 

Commission shall include:  

(1) a list of all owners of land included in the Wild 

Quail Management Area; 

(2) county parcel identification information for 

each parcel to be included in the Wild Quail 

Management Area; 

(3) a scaled map of the Wild Quail Management 

Area with the areas to be maintained in year-

round bobwhite quail habitat identified; 

(4) management practices to be used to maintain 

bobwhite quail habitat and populations; and 

(5) any reporting requirements in addition to the 

minimum requirements in Subparagraph (g)(6) 

of this Rule that are specific to the individual 

Wild Quail Management Area. 

(f)  Property inspection: 

(1) All potential properties shall be inspected by a 

representative of the Commission prior to 

acceptance into the program to determine that 

the proposed land and habitat will qualify to 

become a Wild Quail Management Area; and 

(2) Wild Quail Management Areas shall be 

inspected by a representative of the 

Commission at least once every five years to 

determine that the requirements of the signed 

agreement and this rule are being met. 

(g)  The following shall apply to all Wild Quail Management 

Areas: 

(1) No domestically raised upland game birds shall 

be released on Wild Quail Management Areas.  

(2) The hunting of wild bobwhite quail shall only 

be permitted during the established seasons in 

15A NCAC 10B .0208. 

(3) Supplemental feeding, if conducted, shall be for 

the primary purpose of ensuring that wild 

bobwhite quail populations remain stable 

during droughts or other periods of stressful 

environmental conditions. Supplemental feed 

shall: 
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(A) be broadcast into quail habitat along a 

minimum linear distance of at least 

one mile per 100 acres of habitat at a 

rate of three bushels per mile; 

(B) be broadcast on a bi-weekly schedule 

during at least five months each year 

(C) be broadcast using a non-stationary 

spreader; 

(D) be only natural grains or seed; and 

(E) not be placed to attract birds for the 

purpose of hunting. 

(4) Except for wild bobwhite quail on Wild Quail 

Management Areas, no wild birds shall be taken 

near or with the aid of supplemental feed. 

(5) Trapping for raccoon, striped skunk, and 

opossum on Wild Quail Management Areas for 

the purpose of nest predator control shall be 

allowed from the end of the established 

trapping season in 15A NCAC 10B .0303 

through May 31. Enclosed foot-hold traps with 

a one-way trigger or cage traps may be used, 

and trapped raccoons, striped skunks, and 

opossums may be euthanized or released at the 

trap site. 

(6) An annual report for the period of June 1 

through May 31 shall be submitted to the 

Commission within 30 days of the end of the 

reporting period, and shall include the 

following: 

(A) number of days and hours wild 

bobwhite quail were hunted; 

(B) total annual harvest of wild bobwhite 

quail; 

(C) total number of coveys flushed; 

(D) supplemental feeding activities; 

(E) number of trap nights, number of 

animals trapped and their disposition 

or release, by species, for trapping 

activity conducted during trapping 

seasons established by 15A NCAC 

10B .0303; and 

(F) number of trap nights, number of 

animals trapped and their disposition 

or release, by species, for trapping 

activity conducted outside of trapping 

seasons established by 15A NCAC 

10B .0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113- 291.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 

WATERS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Natural bait" means any living or dead 

organism (plant or animal), or parts thereof, or 

prepared substances designed to attract fish by 

the sense of taste or smell. 

(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one 

point. 

(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 

neither contains nor has been treated by any 

substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 

or smell. 

(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed 

with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or any 

similar material to which no additional hook, 

spinner, spoon or similar device is added. 

(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years 

of age. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply: 

(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are all waters 

included in this Rule and so designated in 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and Lures 

Only Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 

Waters where only artificial flies and lures 

having one single hook may be used. No trout 

may be possessed or harvested while fishing 

these streams. Waters designated as such 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where between October 

1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 

before the first Saturday of the following June, 

it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more 

than one single hook on an artificial lure, or 

harvest or possess trout while fishing. From 

6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 

noon that same day, only youth anglers may 

fish and these waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. From noon on the first Saturday in 

June until October 1, anglers of all ages may 

fish and these waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(5) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-

specific regulations apply. Waters designated 

as such do not include tributaries unless 

otherwise noted. 

(6) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 

Waters which are identified as such in this Rule 

or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures 

having only one single hook may be used. No 

person shall possess natural bait while fishing 

these waters. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(7) "Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where all artificial lures 

and natural baits, except live fish, may be used 

provided they are fished using only one single 
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hook. Waters designated as such include 

tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(8) "Undesignated Waters" are all other waters in 

the State. These waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions.  

(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits 

for trout in all waters are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 

county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 

are so designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 

indicated in this Paragraph. All other waters are classified as 

Undesignated Waters. 

(1) Alleghany 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Little River (S.R. 1133 bridge to 275 

yards downstream of the intersection 

of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 1129 [marked 

by a sign on each bank]) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Pine Creek  

Bledsoe Creek 

Brush Creek (N.C. 21 bridge to 

confluence with Little River, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Cranberry Creek 

(Big) Glade Creek 

Little River (275 yards downstream 

from the intersection of S.R. 1128 and 

S.R. 1129 [marked by a sign on each 

bank] to McCann Dam) 

Meadow Fork 

Pine Swamp Creek 

Piney Fork 

Prathers Creek 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park 

(2) Ashe County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Horse Creek (Virginia state line to 

Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, excluding 

tributaries) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Horse Creek (S.R. 1324 bridge to 

North Fork New River) 

Helton Creek (SR 1372 bridge to 

North Fork New River) 

South Fork New River (upstream end 

of Todd Island to the SR 1351 bridge) 

Trout Lake 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Beaver Creek (N.C. 221 to confluence 

of Beaver Creek and South Beaver 

Creek) 

Big Horse Creek (Mud Creek at S.R. 

1363 to S.R. 1324 bridge) 

Big Laurel Creek (S.R. 1315 bridge to 

confluence with North Fork New 

River) 

Buffalo Creek (S.R. 1133 bridge to 

N.C. 194-88 bridge) 

Cranberry Creek (Alleghany Co. line 

to South Fork New River) 

Nathans Creek 

North Fork New River (Watauga Co. 

line to Sharp Dam) 

Old Fields Creek (N.C. 221 to South 

Fork New River) 

Peak Creek (headwaters to Trout 

Lake, except Blue Ridge Parkway 

waters) 

Roan Creek 

Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Elk River (portion on Lees-McRae 

College property, excluding the 

millpond) 

Lost Cove Creek (game land portion, 

excluding Gragg Prong and 

Rockhouse Creek) 

Wilson Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boyde Coffey Lake 

Elk River (S.R. 1305 crossing 

immediately upstream of Big Falls to 

the Tennessee state line) 

Linville River (Land Harbor line 

[below dam] to the Blue Ridge 

Parkway boundary line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Milltimber Creek 

North Toe River — upper (Watauga 

St. to Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 

Family Recreational Park, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

North Toe River — lower (S.R. 1164 

to Mitchell Co. line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Squirrel Creek 

Wildcat Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Birchfield Creek 

Cow Camp Creek 

Cranberry Creek (headwaters to U.S. 

19E/N.C. 194 bridge) 

Gragg Prong 
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Horse Creek 

Kentucky Creek 

North Harper Creek 

Plumtree Creek 

Roaring Creek 

Rockhouse Creek 

Shawneehaw Creek (portion adjacent 

to Banner Elk Greenway) 

South Harper Creek 

Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Carter Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Bent Creek (headwaters to N.C. 

Arboretum boundary line) 

Cane Creek (headwaters to S.R. 3138 

bridge) 

Corner Rock Creek (Little Andy 

Creek to confluence with Walker 

Branch) 

Dillingham Creek (Corner Rock 

Creek to Ivy Creek) 

Ivy Creek (Ivy River)(Dillingham 

Creek to U.S. 19-23 bridge) 

Lake Powhatan 

Reems Creek (Sugar Camp Fork to 

U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Rich Branch (downstream from the 

confluence with Rocky Branch) 

Stony Creek 

Swannanoa (S.R. 2702 bridge near 

Ridgecrest to Wood Avenue bridge 

[intersection of N.C. 81 and U.S. 74A 

in Asheville], except where posted 

against trespassing) 

(5) Burke County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Henry Fork (portion on South 

Mountains State Park) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Jacob Fork (Shinny Creek to lower 

South Mountains State Park 

boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Carroll Creek (game land portion 

above S.R. 1405) 

Henry Fork (lower South Mountain 

State Park line downstream to S.R. 

1919 at Ivy Creek) 

Linville River portion within Linville 

Gorge Wilderness area and portion 

below Lake James powerhouse from 

upstream bridge on S.R. 1223 to 

Muddy Creek) 

(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Catawba River (Muddy Creek to City 

of Morganton water intake dam) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on South 

Mountains State Park, except those 

waters identified in Parts A and B of 

this Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Wilson Creek (game land portion 

below Lost Cove Creek to Philips 

Branch) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boone Fork Pond 

Buffalo Creek (mouth of Joes Creek to 

McCloud Branch) 

Joes Creek (first falls upstream of S.R. 

1574 to confluence with Buffalo 

Creek) 

Wilson Creek (Phillips Branch to 

Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Yadkin River (Happy Valley Ruritan 

Community Park to S.R. 1515) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Buffalo Creek (Watauga Co. line to 

Long Ridge Branch including game 

land tributaries) 

Joes Creek (Watauga Co. line to first 

falls upstream of the end of S.R. 1574) 

Rockhouse Creek 

(7) Cherokee County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davis Creek (confluence of Bald and 

Dockery creeks to Hanging Dog 

Creek) 

Hyatt Creek (Big Dam Branch to 

Valley River) 

Junaluska Creek (Ashturn Creek to 

Valley River) 

Shuler Creek (Joe Brown Hwy [S.R. 

1325] bridge to Tennessee state line) 

Valley River (S.R. 1359 to U.S. 19 

Business bridge in Murphy) 

(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Apalachia Reservoir 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 
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Bald Creek (game land portion) 

Dockery Creek (game land portion) 

North Shoal Creek (game land 

portion) 

(8) Clay County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Fires Creek (Rockhouse Creek to the 

foot bridge in the USFS Fires Creek 

Picnic Area) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Buck Creek (game land portion 

downstream of U.S. 64 bridge) 

Fires Creek (foot bridge in the USFS 

Fires Creek Picnic Area to S.R. 1300) 

Tusquitee Creek (Compass Creek to 

lower S.R. 1300 bridge) 

(9) Graham County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS 

footbridge at the old railroad junction 

to USFS Rd. 2579) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 

to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Panther Creek (confluence of Stand 

Creek and Rock Creek to Lake 

Fontana) 

Santeetlah Creek (Johns Branch to 

Lake Santeetlah) 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS Road 

2579 to S.R. 1127 bridge) 

Stecoah Creek (upper game land 

boundary to Lake Fontana) 

Tulula Creek (S.R. 1201 to lower 

bridge on S.R. 1275) 

West Buffalo Creek 

Yellow Creek (Lake Santeetlah 

hydropower pipeline to Cheoah River) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Little Buffalo Creek 

South Fork Squally Creek 

Squally Creek 

(D) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Deep Creek 

Long Creek (game land portion) 

(10) Haywood County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

West Fork Pigeon River (Queen Creek 

to the first game land boundary 

upstream of Lake Logan) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Cold Springs Creek (Fall Branch to 

Pigeon River) 

Jonathan Creek (upstream S.R. 1302 

bridge to Pigeon River, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Pigeon River (Stamey Cove Branch to 

upstream U.S. 19-23 bridge) 

Richland Creek (Russ Avenue [U.S. 

276] bridge to U.S. 19 bridge) 

West Fork Pigeon River (Tom Creek 

to Queen Creek, including portions on 

game lands, except Middle Prong) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Hurricane Creek 

(11) Henderson County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

North Fork Mills River (game land 

portion below the Hendersonville 

watershed dam) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

(Rocky) Broad River (end of S.R. 

1611 to Rutherford County line) 

Cane Creek (railroad bridge upstream 

of S.R. 1551 bridge to U.S. 25 bridge) 

Clear Creek (Laurel Fork to S.R. 

1582) 

Green River (Lake Summit 

powerhouse to game land boundary) 

(Big) Hungry River (S.R. 1885 to 

Green River) 

(12) Jackson County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Flat Creek 

Tuckasegee River (upstream from the 

Clark property) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Tuckasegee River (downstream N.C. 

107 bridge to the falls located 275 

yards upstream of the U.S. 23-441 

bridge [marked by a sign on each 

bank]) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Balsam Lake 

Bear Creek Lake 

Cedar Cliff Lake 

Cullowhee Creek (Tilley Creek to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Dark Ridge Creek (Jones Creek to 

Scott Creek) 

Greens Creek (Greens Creek Baptist 

Church on S.R. 1370 to Savannah 

Creek) 
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Savannah Creek (Shell Branch to 

Cagle Branch) 

Scott Creek (Dark Ridge Creek to 

Tuckasegee River, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Tanasee Creek Lake 

Tuckasegee River — upper (John 

Brown Branch to the downstream 

N.C. 107 bridge) 

Tuckasegee River — lower (falls 

located 275 yards upstream of U.S. 23-

441 bridge [marked by a sign on each 

bank] to S.R. 1534 bridge at Wilmot) 

Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Gage Creek 

North Fork Scott Creek 

Tanasee Creek 

Whitewater River (downstream from 

Silver Run Creek to South Carolina 

state line) 

Wolf Creek (except Balsam Lake and 

Wolf Creek Lake) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

the South Carolina state line) 

Lower Fowler Creek (game land 

portion) 

Scotsman Creek (game land portion) 

(13) Macon County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Nantahala River (Whiteoak Creek to 

Nantahala hydropower discharge 

canal) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Burningtown Creek (Left Prong to 

Little Tennessee River) 

Cartoogechaye Creek (downstream 

U.S. 64 bridge to Little Tennessee 

River) 

Cliffside Lake 

Cullasaja River (Sequoyah Dam to 

U.S. 64 bridge near junction of S.R. 

1672) 

Nantahala River — upper (Dicks 

Creek to Whiteoak Creek) 

Nantahala River — lower (Nantahala 

hydropower discharge canal to Swain 

Co. line) 

Queens Creek Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

South Carolina state line) 

Jarrett Creek (game land portion) 

Kimsey Creek 

Overflow Creek (game land portion) 

Park Creek 

Tellico Creek (game land portion) 

Turtle Pond Creek (game land portion) 

(14) Madison County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge to 

the U.S. 25-70 bridge) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge 

at Belva to the confluence with Big 

Laurel Creek) 

Spring Creek (N.C. 209 bridge at Hot 

Springs city limits to iron bridge at end 

of Andrews Ave.) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Laurel Creek (Puncheon Fork to 

the S.R. 1318 [Big Laurel Rd.] bridge 

downstream of Bearpen Branch) 

Big Pine Creek (S.R. 1151 bridge to 

French Broad River) 

Little Ivy Creek (confluence of Middle 

Fork and Paint Fork at Beech Glen to 

confluence with Ivy Creek at Forks of 

Ivy) 

Max Patch Pond 

Meadow Fork Creek (Meadow Fork 

Campground to Spring Creek) 

Puncheon Fork (Wolf Laurel Branch 

to Big Laurel Creek) 

Roaring Fork (Fall Branch to Meadow 

Fork) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (confluence of 

Big Creek and Mill Creek to N.C. 208 

bridge at Belva) 

Shut-in Creek 

Spillcorn Creek 

Spring Creek (junction of N.C. 209 

and N.C. 63 to USFS Rd. 223) 

West Fork Shut-in Creek (lower game 

land boundary to confluence with East 

Fork Shut-in Creek) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Big Creek (headwaters to the lower 

game land boundary) 

(15) McDowell County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Newberry Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Catawba River (portion adjacent to 

Marion Greenway) 

Curtis Creek (game land portion 

downstream of the USFS boundary at 

Deep Branch) 
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Mill Creek (U.S. 70 bridge to I-40 

bridge) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Armstrong Creek (Cato Holler line 

downstream to upper Greenlee line) 

Catawba River (Catawba Falls 

Campground to Old Fort Recreation 

Park) 

Little Buck Creek (game land portion) 

North Fork Catawba River 

(headwaters to North Cove School at 

S.R. 1569 bridge) 

(16) Mitchell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane Creek (N.C. 226 bridge to S.R. 

1189 bridge) 

North Toe River (U.S. 19E bridge to 

N.C. 226 bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Rock Creek (headwaters to N.C. 

226 bridge at S.R. 1307 intersection) 

Cane Creek (S.R. 1219 to N.C. 226 

bridge) 

East Fork Grassy Creek 

Grassy Creek (East Fork Grassy Creek 

to mouth) 

Little Rock Creek (Green Creek 

bridge to Big Rock Creek, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

North Toe River (Avery Co. line to 

S.R. 1121 bridge) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Green Creek (headwaters to Green 

Creek bridge, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

Little Rock Creek (above Green Creek 

bridge, including all tributaries, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Wiles Creek (game land boundary to 

mouth) 

(17) Polk County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Green River (Fishtop Falls Access 

Area to the confluence with Cove 

Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Green River (Mouth of Cove Creek to 

the natural gas pipeline crossing) 

North Pacolet River (Joels Creek to 

N.C. 108 bridge) 

(18) Rutherford County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

(Rocky) Broad River (Henderson Co. 

line to U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

(19) Stokes County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Dan River (Virginia state line 

downstream to a point 200 yards 

below the end of S.R. 1421) 

(20) Surry County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Ararat River (portion adjacent to the 

Ararat River Greenway) 

Mitchell River (0.6 miles upstream of 

the end of S.R. 1333 to the lowermost 

bridge on S.R. 1330) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Ararat River (S.R. 1727 bridge 

downstream to the N.C. 103 bridge) 

Big Elkin Creek (dam 440 yards 

upstream of N.C. 268 bridge to a point 

265 yards downstream of N.C. 268 

[marked by a sign on each bank]) 

Fisher River (Cooper Creek)(Virginia 

state line to I-77 bridge) 

Little Fisher River (Virginia state line 

to N.C. 89 bridge) 

Lovills Creek (U.S. 52 Business 

bridge to Ararat River) 

Pauls Creek (Virginia state line to .3 

miles below S.R. 1625 bridge) 

(21) Swain County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 

Tuckasegee River (U.S. 19 bridge to 

Slope Street bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Alarka Creek (game land boundary to 

Fontana Reservoir) 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 

to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Connelly Creek (Camp Branch to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Deep Creek (Great Smoky Mountains 

National Park Boundary line to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Nantahala River (Macon Co. line to 

existing Fontana Lake water level) 

(22) Transylvania County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Davidson River (headwaters to Avery 

Creek, excluding Avery Creek, 
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Looking Glass Creek and Grogan 

Creek) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Fork French Broad River (East 

Fork Baptist Church to the 

downstream S.R. 1107 bridge) 

Little River (confluence of Lake 

Dense to 100 yards downstream of 

Hooker Falls) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davidson River (Avery Creek to lower 

USFS boundary) 

French Broad River (confluence of 

North Fork French Broad River and 

West Fork) 

French Broad River to the Island Ford 

Rd. [S.R. 1110] Access Area 

Middle Fork French Broad River 

(upstream U.S. 178 bridge to French 

Broad River) 

West Fork French Broad River (S.R. 

1312 to confluence with North Fork 

French Broad River) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Gorges State 

Park 

Whitewater River (downstream from 

Silver Run Creek to South Carolina 

state line) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

North Fork French Broad River (game 

land portion downstream of S.R. 

1326) 

Thompson River (S.R. 1152 to South 

Carolina state line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

(23) Watauga County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Laurel Creek (confluence of North and 

South Fork Laurel creeks to Elk 

Creek, excluding tributaries) 

Pond Creek (headwaters to Locust 

Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding the pond 

adjacent to Coffee Lake) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Lake Coffey 

Watauga River – upper (S.R. 1114 

bridge to Valle Crucis Community 

Park lower boundary) 

Watauga River – lower (S.R. 1103 

bridge to confluence with Laurel 

Creek) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Beaverdam Creek (confluence of 

Beaverdam Creek and Little 

Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 

tributary adjacent to the intersection of 

S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203) 

Beech Creek 

Buckeye Creek (Buckeye Creek 

Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap Creek) 

Buckeye Creek Reservoir 

Cove Creek (S.R. 1233 bridge at 

Zionville to S.R. 1214 bridge at 

Sherwood) 

Dutch Creek (second bridge on S.R. 

1134 to mouth) 

Elk Creek (S.R. 1510 bridge at Triplett 

to Wilkes Co. line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Laurel Creek (S.R. 1123 bridge at S.R. 

1157 intersection to Watauga River) 

Meat Camp Creek (S.R. 1340 bridge at 

S.R. 1384 intersection to N.C. 194) 

Middle Fork New River (adjacent to 

intersection of S.R. 1539 and U.S. 321 

to South Fork New River) 

Norris Fork Creek 

South Fork New River (canoe launch 

70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 bridge 

to lower boundary of Brookshire Park) 

Stony Fork (S.R. 1500 bridge at S.R. 

1505 intersection to Wilkes Co. line) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Dutch Creek (headwaters to second 

bridge on S.R. 1134) 

Howard Creek 

Maine Branch (headwaters to North 

Fork New River) 

North Fork New River (from 

confluence with Maine and Mine 

branches to Ashe Co. line) 

Watauga River (Avery Co. line to S.R. 

1580 bridge) 

Winkler Creek (lower bridge on S.R. 

1549 to confluence with South Fork 

New River) 

(24) Wilkes County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Prong Roaring River (Bullhead 

Creek downstream to Stone Mountain 

State Park lower boundary) 

Elk Creek — upper (Watauga Co. line 

to lower boundary of the Blue Ridge 

Mountain Club) 

Elk Creek — lower (portion on 

Leatherwood Mountains 

development) 
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Reddies River (Town of North 

Wilkesboro water intake dam to 

confluence with the Yadkin River) 

Stone Mountain Creek (from falls at 

Alleghany Co. line to confluence with 

East Prong Roaring River and 

Bullhead Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Basin Creek (S.R. 1730 bridge to 

confluence with Lovelace Creek) 

Bell Branch Pond 

Boundary Line Pond 

Cub Creek (.5 mile upstream of S.R. 

2460 bridge to S.R. 1001 bridge) 

Darnell Creek (North Prong Reddies 

River)(downstream ford on S.R. 1569 

to confluence with North Fork 

Reddies River) 

East Prong Roaring River (Stone 

Mountain State Park lower boundary 

to S.R. 1002 bridge) 

Fall Creek (S.R. 1300 bridge to 

confluence with South Prong Lewis 

Fork, except where posted against 

trespassing) 

Middle Fork Reddies River (Clear 

Prong)(headwaters to bridge on S.R. 

1580) 

Middle Prong Roaring River 

(headwaters to second bridge on S.R. 

1736) 

North Fork Reddies River (Vannoy 

Creek)(headwaters to Union School 

bridge on S.R. 1559) 

Pike Creek 

Pike Creek Pond 

South Fork Reddies River (S.R. 1355 

bridge to confluence with Middle Fork 

Reddies River) 

South Prong Lewis Fork (Fall Creek to 

U.S. 421 bridge adjacent to S.R. 1155 

intersection) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park, except East Prong Roaring 

River from Bullhead Creek 

downstream to the Stone Mountain 

State Park lower boundary where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply, and Stone Mountain 

Creek from falls at Alleghany County 

line to confluence with East Prong 

Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 

Stone Mountain State Park where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

South Toe River (headwaters to Upper 

Creek) 

Upper Creek 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane River (Blackberry Ridge Rd. to 

downstream boundary of Cane River 

County Park) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Bald Mountain Creek (except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Cane River (Bee Branch [S.R. 1110] 

to Bowlens Creek) 

Price Creek (junction of S.R. 1120 and 

S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek) 

South Toe River (Clear Creek to lower 

boundary line of Yancey Co. 

Recreation Park, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Cattail Creek (bridge at Mountain 

Farm Community Rd. to N.C. 197 

bridge) 

Lickskillet Creek 

Middle Creek (game land boundary to 

mouth) 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 6/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0211 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN 

FISHES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, sell, or 

stock in the public or private waters of North Carolina any live 

individuals of: 

(1) African longfin eel (Anguilla mossambica); 

(2) amur sleeper (Perccottus glenii); 

(3) applesnail (any species of the genus Pomacea); 
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(4) Asian swamp eel, swamp or rice eel 

(Monopterus albus); 

(5) Australian red claw crayfish or red claw 

(Cherax quadricarinatus, or other species in the 

genus Cherax); 

(6) bigclaw crayfish (Faxonius placidus); 

(7) bighead carp (Hypophthalmichthys nobilis); 

(8) black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus); 

(9) brown hoplo (Hoplosternum littorale); 

(10) Chinese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

chinensis); 

(11) Creole painted crayfish (Faxonius palmeri 

creolanus); 

(12) Crucian Carp (Carassius carassius); 

(13) European eel (Anguilla anguilla); 

(14) European minnow (Phoxinus phoxinus); 

(15) European perch (Perca fluviatilis); 

(16) Japanese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

japonica); 

(17) marbled Crayfish or Marmorkrebs 

(Procambarus virginalis or Procambarus fallax 

f. virginalis); 

(18) olive mysterysnail (Viviparus subpurpureus); 

(19) Oriental weatherfish (Misgurnus 

anguillicaudatus); 

(20) piranha (any species of the genera Pristobrycon, 

Pygocentrus, Pygopristis, or Serrasalmus); 

(21) Prussian Carp (Carassius gibelio); 

(22) quagga mussel (Dreissena rostriformis 

bugensis) or any mussel in the family 

Dreissenidae; 

(23) red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis); 

(24) red-rim melania (Melanoides tuberculatus or 

Melanoides tuberculata); 

(25) redtail catfish (Phractocephalus 

hemioliopterus); 

(26) round goby (Neogobius melanostomus); 

(27) rudd (Scardinius erythropthalomus or 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus); 

(28) ruffe (Gymnocephalus cernuus or 

Gymnocephalus cernua); 

(29) rusty crayfish (Faxonius rusticus); 

(30) shortfin eel (Anguilla australis); 

(31) silver carp (Hypophthalmichthys molitrix); 

(32) snakehead fish (from the Family Channidae, 

formerly Ophiocephalidae); 

(33) tubenose goby (Proterorhinus marmoratus, 

Proterorhinus semilunaris, and Proterorhinus 

semipellucidus); 

(34) virile crayfish (Faxonius virilis); 

(35) walking catfish (any member of the genus 

Batrachus); 

(36) white amur or grass carp (Ctenopharyngodon 

idella), except for triploid individuals as 

permitted in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

(37) yellow bass (Morone mississippiensis); or 

(38) zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha). 

(b)  A person may buy, possess, or stock grass carp that have been 

certified to be triploid or sterile, only for the purpose of 

controlling aquatic vegetation under a permit issued by the 

Executive Director or his or her designee based on an evaluation 

of the potential for escapement and threat to sensitive aquatic 

habitats. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live river 

herring, also known as alewife or blueback herring, in the waters 

of the Little Tennessee River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah 

and Cedar Cliff Lake, including all the tributaries and 

impoundments thereof, and on adjacent shorelines, docks, access 

ramps, and bridge crossings. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274(c)(1c); 113-

292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2013; August 1, 2011; June 1, 2009, June 

1, 2005; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0305 LARGEMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is five fish, except 

in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (j), and (l) of this 

Rule. There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass, but 

only two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters 

identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), 

and (l) of this Rule. There is no closed season, except for waters 

identified in Paragraph (l) of this Rule. 

(b)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 

Granville County the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 

fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 

possessed. 

(c)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 

inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 

Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 

(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. The minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 12 inches. 

(e)  The minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches in 

the following: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 

(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 

(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 

(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 

(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and all their tributaries including 

Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim 

River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, 

Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 

Northwest River, Scuppernong River, Alligator 

River, including the Alligator/Pungo Canal east 

of the NC Hwy 264/45 bridge, and all other 
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associated tributaries and canals in these river 

systems. 

(f)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn Reservoir 

in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 

(g)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 

minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches, and no fish 

between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(h)  In Shearon Harris Reservoir in Chatham and Wake counties 

and Lake Hampton in Yadkin County, there is no minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass, but only two Largemouth Bass less 

than 14 inches and no Largemouth Bass between 16 and 20 inches 

may be possessed. 

(i)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass is 18 inches. 

(j)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of 

Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass is five fish 

in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth 

Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be 

possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, or 

Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

(k)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde County, 

the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches and only 

one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be possessed. 

(l)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town of 

Southern Shores in Dare County and in the ponds associated with 

Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, no Largemouth Bass may 

be possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 10, 1990, for a period of 180 

days to expire on November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 22, 1990, for a period of 168 

days to expire on November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 1991, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 8, 2002 [This rule replaces the 

rule proposed for permanent amendment effective July 1, 2002 

and approved by RRC in May 2001]; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC in April 2002); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

November 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; March 1, 2012; August 1, 

2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; July 1, 2008; May 1, 2008; 

May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four 

fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), 

(e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit 

for these fish is 20 inches, except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. 

There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraphs (g), (h), (i), (j), and (k) of this Rule. 

(b)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 

River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 

Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 

inches from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through 

September 30, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids 

is four in the aggregate with no minimum size limit. 

(c)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 

size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from 

October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for 

these fish from June 1 through September 30. 

(d)  In Lake Norman, Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island 

Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake 

Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for Striped 

Bass and its hybrids is 16 inches. 

(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 

the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may 

be greater than 22 inches. 

(f)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 

tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 

is 18 inches. 

(g)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 

rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 

impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 

in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 

in Paragraphs (f), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule, the daily creel limit 

for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. The 

minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season for 

taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed from May 1 through 

September 30. 

(h)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 

tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds 

associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the 

season for taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-

round. 

(i)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which 

includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and 

their tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing Striped 

Bass and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-

coastal fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to 

Roanoke Rapids Lake dam. During the open season, the daily 

creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the 
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aggregate, and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish 

between 22 inches and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in 

the daily creel limit. Only one fish larger than 27 inches may be 

possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(j)  In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, 

Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck 

Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries 

(excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their 

tributaries), the Striped Bass fishing season, size limits, and creel 

limits are the same as those established by rules or proclamations 

of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent joint or coastal 

fishing waters. 

(k)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, 

by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for 

Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and 

their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions of any 

proclamation issued under this authority. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0316 TROUT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for trout in Hatchery-Supported Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The open season is from 7 a.m. on the first Saturday in April 

until March 1, except for waters designated in Paragraph (g) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  The daily creel limit for trout in Wild Trout Waters and Wild 

Trout/Natural Bait Trout Waters is four fish. The minimum size 

limit for these fish is seven inches. There is no closed season. 

(c)  No trout may be harvested from Catch and Release/Artificial 

Flies and Lures Only Trout Waters. Trout may not be possessed 

while fishing these waters. 

(d)  The daily creel limit for trout in Delayed Harvest Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The Youth-only Delayed Harvest Trout Water Season is 

from 6 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 12 p.m. that same 

day. During this season only individuals under the age of 18 may 

fish. From 12 p.m. on the first Saturday in June until September 

30, the Delayed Harvest Trout Waters Season is open for all 

anglers. From October 1 to one-half hour after sunset on the 

Friday before the first Saturday in June, trout may not be 

harvested or possessed while fishing these waters. Delayed 

Harvest Trout Waters are closed to all fishing from one-half hour 

after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday in June to 6 

a.m. on the first Saturday in June. 

(e)  The daily creel limits, size limits, and seasons for trout in 

Special Regulation Trout Waters are as follows: 

(1) Apalachia Reservoir (Cherokee County) the 

daily creel limit is three trout. There is no 

minimum size limit, but only one may be 

greater than 14 inches. There is no closed 

season. 

(2) Catawba River (Burke County) from Muddy 

Creek to the City of Morganton water intake 

dam the daily creel limit is two fish. The 

minimum size limit is 14 inches. There is no 

closed season. 

(f)  The daily creel limit for trout in undesignated trout waters is 

seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. 

(g)  There is no closed season on taking trout from Linville River 

within Linville Gorge Wilderness Area and the impounded waters 

of the following power reservoirs and municipally-owned water 

supply reservoirs open to the public for fishing. 

(1) Bear Creek Lake; 

(2) Buckeye Creek Reservoir; 

(3) Calderwood Reservoir; 

(4) Cedar Cliff Lake; 

(5) Cheoah Reservoir; 

(6) Cliffside Lake; 

(7) Tanassee Creek Lake; 

(8) Queens Creek Lake; and 

(9) Wolf Lake. 

(h)  In designated Public Mountain Trout Waters the season for 

taking all species of fish is the same as the trout fishing season. 

(i)  All trout water designations and manners of take are set forth 

in 15A NCAC 10C .0205. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0321 SMALLMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Smallmouth Bass is five fish, except 

in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule. 

There is no minimum size limit for Smallmouth Bass, but only 

two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 

in Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule. There is no closed 

season. 

(b)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 

inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 

Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 

(c)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for 

Smallmouth Bass. 

(d)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit 

for Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass is five 

fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for Smallmouth 

Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be 

possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, or 

Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 
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15A NCAC 10C .0322 ALABAMA BASS AND SPOTTED 

BASS 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Alabama Bass or Spotted Bass, 

except for waters identified in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. 

There is no minimum size limit or closed season. 

(b)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. 

(c)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit 

for Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass is five 

fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for Spotted 

Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be 

possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, or 

Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0401 MANNER OF TAKING 

NONGAME FISHES 

(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, it is unlawful 

to take nongame fishes from the inland fishing waters of North 

Carolina in any manner other than with hook and line, grabbling, 

or special device with a special device fishing license. 

(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken by hook and line, grabbling, or 

special device with a special device fishing license at any time 

without restriction as to size limits or creel limits, except as 

designated in this Rule. 

(c)  Special devices may only be used to take nongame fishes with 

a special device fishing license in those counties and waters with 

open season designated in Rule .0407 of this Section. 

(d)  Archery equipment may only be used for the take of catfish 

on Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line and all tributaries. 

(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take 

nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206. 

(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in 

designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout 

fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0316. 

(g)  Freshwater mussels, including the Asiatic clam (Corbicula 

fluminea), may be taken only from impounded waters, except 

mussels shall not be taken in: 

(1) Lake Waccamaw in Columbus County; and 

(2) University Lake in Orange County. 

The daily possession limit for freshwater mussels is 200 in the 

aggregate, except there is no daily possession limit for the Asiatic 

clam (Corbicula fluminea). 

(h)  Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace width of five 

inches (point to point) and it is unlawful to possess more than 50 

crabs per person per day or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel per day. 

(i)  While boating on or fishing in the following inland fishing 

waters, no person shall take river herring (alewife and blueback 

herring) that are greater than six inches in length, or possess such 

herring regardless of origin in: 

(1) Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam; 

(2) Tar River downstream of Rocky Mount Mill 

Dam; 

(3) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 

(4) Cape Fear River downstream of Buckhorn 

Dam; 

(5) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(6) Lumber River, including Drowning Creek; 

(7) all the tributaries to the rivers listed above; and 

(8) all other inland fishing waters east of I-95. 

(j)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 

on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, it is unlawful to take channel or blue catfish by 

means other than hook and line; the daily creel limit for channel 

catfish is seven. Waters where this creel limit applies shall be 

posted on-site with signs indicating the creel limit. 

(k)  The daily creel limit for blue catfish greater than 32 inches is 

one fish in the following waters: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Mountain Island Lake; 

(3) Lake Wylie; 

(4) Badin Lake; 

(5) Lake Tillery; 

(6) John H. Kerr Reservoir (North Carolina 

portion); 

(7) Dan River (Downstream of the Union Street 

Dam in Danville, VA); 

(8) Lake Gaston (North Carolina portion); and 

(9) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir. 

(l)  The daily creel limit is five catfish in aggregate on the Pee Dee 

River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina 

state line and all tributaries. 

(m)  The daily creel limit for American eels taken from or 

possessed, regardless or origin, while boating on or fishing in 

inland fishing waters is 25, and the minimum size limit is 9 inches. 

Eels greater than 9 inches in length and with a minimum body 

depth greater than ½ inch may be cut for use as bait. 

(n)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake James, 

Lookout Shoals Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, and Lake 

Wylie, except that one fish per day may be taken with archery 

equipment. 

(o)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake Norman 

and the North Carolina portion of John H. Kerr Reservoir, except 

for scientific study by permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(p)  In inland fishing waters, gray trout (weakfish) recreational 

seasons, size limits, and creel limits are the same as those 

established by Marine Fisheries Commission rule or 

proclamations issued by the Fisheries Director in adjacent joint or 

coastal fishing waters. 

(q)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish specified 

in Paragraphs (h), (i), (k), (m), and (p) of this Rule having a size 

limit so as to render it impractical to measure its total original 

length, except as provided in Paragraph (m) of this Rule. No 

person while fishing shall change the appearance of any nongame 

fish specified in Paragraphs (g), (h), (j), (k), (l), (m), (n), (o), and 

(p) of this Rule having a daily creel limit so as to obscure its 
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identification or render it impractical to count the number of fish 

in possession, except as provided in Paragraph (m) of this Rule. 

(r)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 

special device with a special device fishing license may be sold, 

with the following exceptions: 

(1) alewife and blueback herring, excluding those 

less than six inches in length collected from 

Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, and Warren 

counties); 

(2) blue crab; and 

(3) bowfin. 

(s)  Margined madtom and tadpole madtom shall not be taken or 

possessed from inland fishing waters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; 

August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0402 TAKING NONGAME FISHES 

FOR BAIT OR PERSONAL CONSUMPTION 

(a)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait or personal 

consumption in the inland waters of North Carolina using 

equipment other than: 

(1) a net of dip net design not greater than six feet 

across; 

(2) a seine of not greater than 12 feet in length 

(except in Lake Waccamaw in Columbus 

County where there is no length limitation) and 

with a bar mesh measure of not more than one-

fourth inch; 

(3) a cast net; 

(4) a bow net for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of bow nets is authorized in 15A NCAC 

10C .0407; 

(5) a dip net when used in conjunction with a 

licensed hand-crank electrofisher; 

(6) a gig (except in Public Mountain Trout Waters); 

(7) up to three traps for the seasons and waters in 

which the use of traps is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(8) up to two eel pots; 

(9) a spear gun for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of a spear gun is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(10) minnow traps not exceeding 12 inches in 

diameter and 24 inches in length, with funnel 

openings not exceeding one inch in diameter, 

from which all fish and animals are removed 

daily, and that are labeled with the user's 

Wildlife Resources Commission customer 

number or name and address; 

(11) a hand-held line with a single bait attached; 

(12) a single, multiple-bait line for taking crabs not 

to exceed 100 feet in length, marked on each 

end with a solid float no less than five inches in 

diameter, bearing legible and indelible 

identification of the user's name and address, 

and under the immediate control and attendance 

of the person using the device, with a limit of 

one line per person and no more than one line 

per vessel; or 

(13) a collapsible crab trap with the largest open 

dimension not greater than 18 inches and that 

by design is collapsed at all times when in the 

water, except when it is being retrieved or 

lowered to the bottom, with a limit of one trap 

per person. 

(b)  The use of equipment under this Rule requires a valid license 

that provides basic inland fishing privileges. 

(c)  It is unlawful to sell nongame fishes or aquatic animals taken 

under this Rule. 

(d)  Game fishes taken shall be returned unharmed to the water, 

except white perch may be taken when captured in a cast net being 

used to collect nongame fishes for bait or personal consumption 

in all impounded waters west of I-95 and in the Tar River 

Reservoir (Nash County). 

(e)  No person shall take or possess during one day more than 200 

nongame fish in aggregate for bait or personal consumption 

subject to the size and creel limits identified in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0401. 

(f)  Any fishes taken for bait purposes are included within the 

daily possession limit for that species. 

(g)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait from the following 

waters: 

(1) Public Mountain Trout Waters (except in 

impounded waters of power reservoirs and 

municipally-owned water supply reservoirs); 

(2) Bear Creek in Chatham County; 

(3) Deep River in Chatham, Lee, and Moore 

counties and downstream of Coleridge Dam in 

Randolph County; 

(4) Fork Creek in Randolph County; and 

(5) Rocky River in Chatham County. 

(i)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish having a 

size limit identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 so as to render it 

impractical to measure its total original length, except as provided 

in 15A NCAC 10C .0401(m). No person while fishing shall 

change the appearance of any nongame fish having a daily creel 

limit identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 so as to obscure its 
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identification or render it impractical to count the number of fish 

in possession, except as provided in 15A NCAC 10C .0401(m). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-272.3; 

113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1993; July 1, 

1992; May 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; 

August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; 

August 1, 2010; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0102 GENERAL REGULATIONS 

REGARDING USE 

(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions 

apply: 

(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means any 

structure that is used for hunter concealment, 

constructed from manmade or natural 

materials, and that is not disassembled and 

removed at the end of each day's hunt. 

(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a 

firearm for purposes other than hunting, 

trapping, or self-defense. 

(3) "Youth" means individuals under 18 years of 

age. 

(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than 

hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the 

landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified 

the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions 

on entry or usage: 

(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands 

posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to 

bow and arrow hunting and falconry only. On 

these areas, deer of either sex may be taken on 

all open days of any applicable deer season. 

(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted 

as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No 

person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow 

and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety 

zone on any game land. Falconry is exempt 

from this provision. 

(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game 

lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the 

use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted 

as "Restricted Zones" are closed to all use by 

the general public, and entry upon such an area 

for any purpose is prohibited without first 

having obtained written approval of such entry 

or use from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. Entry shall be 

authorized only when such entry will not 

compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Restricted Zone and the person 

or persons requesting entry are able to 

demonstrate a valid need or such person is a 

contractor or agent of the Commission 

conducting official business. "Valid need" 

includes issues of access to private property, 

scientific investigations, surveys, or other 

access to conduct activities in the public 

interest. 

(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game 

lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" 

are closed to all use by the general public, and 

entry upon such an area for any purpose is 

prohibited without first having obtained written 

approval of such entry or use from an 

authorized agent of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. An area of a game land may be 

declared a Temporary Restricted Zone when 

there is a danger to the health or welfare of the 

public.  

(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game 

lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the 

discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is 

prohibited. 

(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of 

game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting 

Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is 

prohibited, except as allowed by permit as 

provided in G.S. 113-264(d). 

(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands 

posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the 

general public shall be prohibited from sunset 

to sunrise. 

(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands 

posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed 

to all use by the general public during the dates 

specified on the sign, and entry upon such an 

area for any purpose is prohibited without first 

obtaining written approval of such entry or use 

from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 

Resources Commission by calling 919-707-

0150 and requesting a permit. 

The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area 

where the game land is located before establishing the following 

zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted deer hunting, day 

use only, or sensitive habitat. After the input meeting, the public 

comments shall be presented at an official Commission meeting 

for final determination. 

(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit any litter, trash, garbage, or 

other refuse at any place on any game land except in receptacles 

provided for disposal of such refuse at designated camping and 

target-shooting areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary landfills shall 

be established on any game land by any person, firm, corporation, 

county, or municipality, except as permitted by the landowner. 

(d)  Use of weapons. No person shall discharge: 

(1) any weapon within 150 yards of any game land 

building or designated game land camping area, 

except where posted otherwise; 
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(2) any weapon within 150 yards of any residence 

located on or adjacent to game lands, except on 

Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan game lands; 

and 

(3) any firearm within 150 yards of any residence 

located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse 

and Jordan Game Lands. 

No person shall hunt with or have in possession any shotgun shell 

containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on any posted 

waterfowl impoundment on any game land, except shotgun shells 

containing lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Every 

individual carrying a concealed handgun shall adhere to the 

requirements set forth in G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing 

the concealed handgun permit is not North Carolina. On Butner-

Falls of Neuse, Jordan, Kerr Scott, and Vance game lands, no 

person shall possess loaded firearms, ammunition, bows and 

arrows, crossbows, or other weapons except as provided in the 

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 36, Chapter III, Part 327.13, 

which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, free of charge, at: 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=75b0c14fb2c26906cf64a267eb69b052&mc=true&nod

e=se36.3.327_ 

113&rgn=div8. On Buckhorn, Chatham, Harris, Hyco, Lee, 

Mayo, and Sutton Lake game lands; Pee Dee River Game Land 

north of U.S. 74; and that portion of R. Wayne Bailey- Caswell 

Game Land that is located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119, 

no person shall possess a firearm during closed hunting seasons 

or closed hunting days for game birds or game animals, except 

under the following conditions: 

(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel 

not greater than seven and one-half inches in 

length and shooting only short, long, or long 

rifle ammunition carried as a side arm; 

(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately 

available for use; 

(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in 

field trials on field trial areas; or 

(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping 

areas for defense of persons and property. 

(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping 

(1) Requirement. Except as provided in 

Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph, any person 

entering upon any game land for the purpose of 

hunting, trapping, running dogs, or training 

dogs using wildlife shall have in his or her 

possession a game lands license in addition to 

the appropriate hunting or trapping license, or a 

license that conveys the game land use 

privilege. 

(2) For Commission-sanctioned field trials, active 

participants (as defined in 15A NCAC 10B 

.0114) in a field trial using wildlife shall 

possess a game lands license in addition to the 

appropriate North Carolina hunting license, or 

a license that conveys the game land use 

privilege, except non-residents may substitute 

hunting licenses from their state(s) of residence. 

(3) For any other field trial using wildlife occurring 

on game lands, judges and active participants 

shall possess a game lands license in addition to 

the appropriate North Carolina hunting license, 

or a license that conveys the game land use 

privilege. 

(4) Exceptions: 

(A) a person under 16 years of age may 

hunt on game lands on the license of 

his parent or legal guardian; 

(B) on the game lands described in Rule 

.0103(e)(1) of this Section, the game 

lands license is required only for 

hunting doves; all other activities are 

subject to the control of the 

landowners. 

(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. Any individual or 

organization sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial 

area shall file with the Commission an application to use the area 

and facility accompanied by the facility use fee computed at the 

rate of two hundred dollars ($200.00) for each scheduled day of 

the trial. The total facility use fee shall cover the period from 

12:00 noon of the day preceding the first scheduled day of the trial 

to 10:00 a.m. of the day following the last scheduled day of the 

trial. The facility use fee shall be paid for all intermediate days on 

which for any reason trials are not run but the building or facilities 

are used or occupied. A fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per 

day shall be charged to sporting, educational, or scouting groups 

for scheduled events utilizing the club house only. No person or 

group of persons or any other entity shall enter or use in any 

manner any of the physical facilities located on the Sandhills Field 

Trial area without first having obtained written approval of such 

entry or use from an authorized agent of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission, and no such entry or use of any such facility shall 

exceed the scope of or continue beyond the approved use. The 

Sandhills Field Trial facilities shall be used only for field trials 

scheduled with the approval of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. No more than 16 days of field trials may be 

scheduled for occurrence on the Sandhills facilities during any 

calendar month, and no more than four days may be scheduled 

during any calendar week; provided, that a field trial requiring 

more than four days may be scheduled during one week upon 

reduction of the maximum number of days allowable during some 

other week so that the monthly maximum of 16 days is not 

exceeded. Before October 1 of each year, the North Carolina Field 

Trial Association or other organization desiring use of the 

Sandhills facilities between October 22 and November 18 and 

between December 3 and March 31 shall submit its proposed 

schedule of such use to the Wildlife Resources Commission for 

its consideration and approval. The use of the Sandhills Field Trial 

facilities at any time by individuals for training dogs is prohibited; 

elsewhere on the Sandhills Game Lands dogs may be trained only 

on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays from October 1 through 

April 1. Dogs may not be trained or permitted to run unleashed 

from April 1 through August 15 on any game land located west of 

I-95, except when participating in field trials sanctioned by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission. Dogs may not be trained or 

permitted to run unleashed from March 15 through June 15 on any 

game land located east of I-95, except when participating in field 
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trials sanctioned by the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

Additionally, on game lands located west of I-95 where special 

hunts are scheduled for sportsmen participating in the Disabled 

Sportsman Program, dogs may not be trained or allowed to run 

unleashed during legal big game hunting hours on the dates of the 

special hunts. A field trial shall be authorized when such field trial 

does not conflict with other planned activities on the Game Land 

or field trial facilities, and the applying organization can 

demonstrate their experience and expertise in conducting genuine 

field trial activities. Entry to physical facilities, other than by field 

trial organizations under permit, shall be granted when they do not 

conflict with other planned activities previously approved by the 

Commission and they do not conflict with the mission of the 

agency. 

(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 

10B .0110, .0302, and .0303, trapping of furbearing animals, 

armadillos, coyotes, and groundhogs is permitted on game lands 

during the applicable open trapping seasons established by rule. 

Foxes can be trapped on game lands from November 1 through 

the end of February in any county with an open fox trapping 

season that falls between November 1 and the end of February. 

Foxes may not be taken by trapping on game lands in counties 

with a closed fox trapping season or during any fox trapping 

season that occurs outside the dates of November 1 through the 

end of February. Additionally, fox trapping is allowed on game 

lands in Clay, Graham, Henderson, Macon, and Tyrrell counties 

with a daily bag limit of two and a season bag limit of 10 from the 

first to the fourth Saturday in January. Trapping is prohibited: 

(1) on the J Robert Gordon Field Trial Area of 

Sandhills Game Land; 

(2) in posted "safety zones" located on any game 

land; 

(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands 

bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the 

south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 

215 on the west; 

(4) on the John's River Waterfowl Refuge in Burke 

County; 

(5) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands; and 

(6) from April 1 through October 31. 

At each trap, trappers may use a single bait site of grain, fruit, or 

other foods when trapping if the food is not a processed food 

product as defined in G.S. 113-294(r), is less than three cubic 

inches and is covered to prevent it from being seen from above. 

Feathers, including those with attached skin or entire bird wings, 

hair with or without skin or hide, and bones that include no 

attached meat, organs, or viscera do not need to be covered. 

(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle 

on any game land except on those roads constructed, maintained, 

and opened for vehicular travel and those trails posted for 

vehicular travel, unless such person: 

(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled 

bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game 

Land; or 

(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph 

(k) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access 

Program Permit as described in Paragraph (m) 

of this Rule and is abiding by the rules 

described in Paragraph (m). 

(i)  Camping. 

(1) No person shall camp on any game land except 

on an area designated by the landowner for 

camping. 

(2) On game lands owned by the State of North 

Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife 

Resources Commission is the primary 

custodian, the maximum period of consecutive 

overnight camping at any designated camping 

area is 14 days within any 30-day period from 

May 1 through August 31. After 14 consecutive 

days of camping, all personal belongings shall 

be removed from the game land. 

(j)  Swimming. Swimming is prohibited in the lakes located on 

the Sandhills Game Land. 

(k)  Disabled Sportsman Program. In order to qualify for permit 

hunts for disabled sportsmen offered by the Commission and use 

of designated blinds during those hunts, an individual shall 

possess a Disabled Veteran Sportsman license, a Totally Disabled 

Sportsman license, or a disabled sportsman hunt certification 

issued by the Commission. In order to qualify for the certification, 

the applicant shall provide medical certification of one or more of 

the following disabilities: 

(1) missing 50 percent or more of one or more 

limbs, whether by amputation or natural causes; 

(2) paralysis of one or more limbs; 

(3) dysfunction of one or more limbs rendering the 

person unable to perform the task of grasping 

and lifting with the hands and arms or unable to 

walk without mechanical assistance, other than 

a cane; 

(4) disease, injury, or defect confining the person 

to a wheelchair, walker, or crutches; or 

(5) deafness. 

On game lands where the privileges described in Paragraph (m) 

of this Rule apply, participants in the program may operate 

electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, or other passenger 

vehicles: 

(1) on ungated or open-gated roads normally closed 

to vehicular traffic; and 

(2) on any Commission-maintained road open for 

vehicular travel and those trails posted for 

vehicular travel. 

Each program participant may be accompanied by one companion 

provided such companion has in his possession the companion 

card issued by the Commission. Hunters who qualify under the 

Disabled Sportsman Program and their companions may access 

special hunting blinds for people with disabilities during regularly 

scheduled, non-permit hunting days on a first come basis, except 

for those blinds located on the Restricted Area of Caswell Game 

Land. 

(l)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-

raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated 

animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise 

permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or 

hatchery-raised fish on game lands without prior written 

authorization. It is unlawful to move wild fish from one stream to 

another on game lands without prior written authorization. 

Written authorization shall be given when release of such animals 
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is determined by a Wildlife Resources Commission biologist not 

to be harmful to native wildlife in the area and such releases are 

in the public interest or advance the programs and goals of the 

Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(m)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate 

motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on Game 

Lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled 

persons as defined in Paragraph (k) of this Rule and people who 

have obtained a Disabled Access Program permit are exempt from 

the previous sentence but shall comply with the terms of their 

permit. Furthermore, disabled persons, as defined under the 

federal Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 126) may use 

wheelchairs or other mobility devices designed for indoor 

pedestrian use on any area where foot travel is allowed. 

(n)  Disabled Access Program. Permits issued under this program 

shall be based upon medical evidence submitted by the person 

verifying that a handicap exists that limits physical mobility to the 

extent that normal utilization of the game lands is not possible 

without vehicular assistance. Persons meeting this requirement 

may operate electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, and other 

passenger vehicles on any Commission-maintained road open for 

vehicular travel and those trails posted for vehicular travel and 

ungated or open-gated roads otherwise closed to vehicular traffic 

on game lands owned by the Wildlife Resources Commission and 

on game lands whose owners have agreed to such use. Those 

game lands, or parts thereof, where this Paragraph applies are 

designated online, at www.ncwildlife.org. This Paragraph does 

not permit vehicular access on fields, openings, roads, paths, or 

trails planted for wildlife food or cover. One companion, who is 

identified by a companion card issued to each qualified disabled 

person, may accompany a disabled person to provide assistance, 

provided the companion is at all times in visual or verbal contact 

with the disabled person. The companion may participate in all 

lawful activities while assisting a disabled person, provided 

license requirements are met. Any vehicle used by a qualified 

disabled person for access to game lands under this provision shall 

display the vehicular access permit issued by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission in the passenger area of the vehicle where 

it can easily be seen by Commission staff outside the vehicle. It is 

unlawful for anyone other than disabled persons as defined in 

Paragraph (k) of this Rule and those holding a Disabled Access 

Permit to hunt, during waterfowl season, within 100 yards of a 

waterfowl blind designated by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission as a Disabled Sportsman's hunting blind. 

(o)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is 

prohibited on any game land, including land or water. For the 

purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's 

intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the 

person's genitals, pubic area, anal area, or female breasts below a 

point from the top of the areola while in a public place. 

(p)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the 

Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for 

any purpose other than for firearm or bow and arrow 

marksmanship, development of shooting skills, or for other safe 

uses of firearms and archery equipment. All other uses, including 

camping, building fires, operating concessions or other activities 

not directly involved with recreational or competitive shooting are 

prohibited, except for activities that have been approved by the 

Commission and for which a permit has been issued may be 

conducted, provided that the permit authorizing such activity is 

available for inspection by wildlife enforcement officers at the 

time the activity is taking place. No person, when using any 

shooting range, shall deposit any debris or refuse on the grounds 

of the range. This includes any items used as targets, except that 

clay targets broken on the range, by the shooter, may be left on 

the grounds where they fall. No person shall shoot any items made 

of glass on the grounds of the range. No person may leave any 

vehicle or other obstruction in such a location or position that it 

will prevent, impede, or inconvenience the use by other persons 

of any shooting range. No person shall leave parked any vehicle 

or other object at any place on the shooting range other than such 

a place or zone as is designated as an authorized parking zone and 

posted or marked as such. No person shall handle any firearms or 

bow and arrow on a shooting range in a careless or reckless 

manner. No person shall intentionally shoot into any target holder, 

post, or other permanent fixture or structure while using a 

shooting range. No person shall shoot a firearm in a manner that 

would cause any rifled or smoothbore projectiles to travel off of 

the range, except that shotgun shot, size No. 4 or smaller may be 

allowed to travel from the range if it presents no risk of harm or 

injury to any person(s). Persons using a shooting range shall obey 

posted range safety rules and those persons who violate range 

safety rules or create a public safety hazard shall leave the 

shooting range if directed to by law enforcement officers or to 

leave by Commission employees. No person shall handle any 

firearms on a shooting range while under the influence of an 

impairing substance. The consumption of alcohol or alcoholic 

beverages on a shooting range is prohibited. Open days and hours 

of operation shall be designated on signs and at least one such sign 

shall be posted at the entrance to each shooting range. No person, 

when using any shooting range, shall do any act that is prohibited 

or neglect to do any act that is required by signs or markings 

placed on such area under authority of this Rule for the purpose 

of regulating the use of the area. 

(q)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and 

August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to 

motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. only. These roads 

shall be posted with the opening and closing times. 

(r)  No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of any bird 

or animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, or 

possess any bird or animal that has been so mutilated. 

(s)  Baiting. Except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, no 

person shall place, or cause to be placed on any game land, salt, 

grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written authorization 

from an agent of the Commission. Written authorization may be 

provided for Commission authorized projects or Commission 

contractors to meet specific objectives. Except as authorized by 

rule, no person shall take or attempt to take any wild birds or wild 

animals attracted to such foods. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-134; 113-264; 

113-270.3; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-305; 113-306; 143-

318.10; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; April 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 11, 1993; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; July 1, 

1994; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; June 1, 2011; 

August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 

2006; November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020; August 1, 2017; 

August 1, 2016; May 1, 2015; August 1, 2014. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 

(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 

designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 

any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 

the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 

Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 

lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 

prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 

(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 

purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 

screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 

herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 

portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 

in or attached to the tree. 

(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 

lands only during the open season for game animals and game 

birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 

or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 

dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 

lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons.  

(1) On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons 

shall: 

(A) not enter the posted impoundment 

areas earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the 

permitted hunting dates; 

(B) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such 

hunting dates; 

(C) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 

(D) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; 

and 

(E) not operate any vessel or vehicle 

powered by an internal combustion 

engine. 

(2) On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited: 

(A) hunting with a firearm between 9:30 

a.m. and 12:30 p.m.; 

(B) the use of a firearm to take deer that 

are run or chased by dogs; 

(C) hunting with a firearm within 500 

yards of a place of religious worship, 

as defined by G.S. 14-54.1(b), or any 

accessory structure thereof; and 

(D) hunting migratory game birds. 

On designated youth waterfowl days, youths may hunt on 

managed waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to 

sunset. On designated veterans and military waterfowl days, 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 

designated as permit-only areas from ½ hour before sunrise to 

sunset. Restrictions (1)(A), (1)(C), and (1)(E) in this Paragraph 

shall apply. On waterfowl impoundments that have a posted 

"Scouting-only Zone," trapping during the trapping season and 

waterfowl hunting on designated waterfowl hunting days are the 

only activities allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside 

of the posted "Scouting-only Zone."  

(e)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 

refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 

taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 

the federally-announced season. 

(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken during the open seasons 

and hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 

for game lands in this Rule that specifically 

allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 

Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 

Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 

either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 

each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 

may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 

7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 

Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken on the open days of 

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 

Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

(4) For purposes of this Section, "Seven Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

game may be taken during the open season on 

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, 

Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays.  

(5) For purposes of this Section, "Four Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken during the open seasons 

and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, Thursdays, 

Saturdays, and Sundays. Raccoon and opossum 

hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. on 

Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m. on Fridays, and 7:00 

a.m. on Mondays.  

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 

with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 

where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0109. 

(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 

game lands: 
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(1) Yadkin River Game Land in Davidson, Davie, 

Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter in that 

portion in Montgomery county, and 

deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season in those 

portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 

and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 

hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 

(A) Seven Day per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 

November Bear Season and the 

second Saturday, Monday, and 

Tuesday of the December Bear 

Season. 

(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 

counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie and 

Washington counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(5) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(6) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 

rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 

shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 

of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 

Lake Tract is by permit only. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 

foxes shall be prohibited from 

February 15 through August 1. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(8) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(9) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 

November Bear Season and the 

second Saturday, Monday, and 

Tuesday of the December Bear 

Season.  

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(10) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 

Wilkes Counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 

Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the Saturday of the second 

week thereafter. 
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(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(11) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 

Land in Robeson County 

(A) Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(12) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 

Granville, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

On the posted waterfowl 

impoundments a special permit is 

required for all waterfowl hunting 

after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on that portion west of NC 

50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. On designated bicycle riding 

areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 

from May 15 through August 31, and 

on Sundays only from September 1 

through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 

designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 

Camping Area and shall not exceed a 

maximum stay of two consecutive 

nights. Campfires are prohibited in 

this camping area. 

(13) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(14) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 

that portion known as the Roan Island 

Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the portion of the game 

land that is west of the Black River, 

north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 

Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 

south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(15) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(D) Bear hunting on the Salters Creek 

Tract is by permit only. 

(E) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(16) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 

Caswell County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding, including all equine 

species, is allowed seven days per 

week from May 16 through August 31, 

and on Sundays only, September 1 

through May 15. Horseback riding is 

allowed only on roads opened to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails that are posted for 

equestrian use. People age 16 or older 
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horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 

following roads is permit-only for all 

quail and woodcock hunting, and all 

bird dog training: From Yanceyville 

south on NC 62 to the intersection of 

SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 

intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 

1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 

east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 

NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 

intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 

1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 

east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 

NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 

by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 

Shooting Range. 

(17) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding, including all equine 

species, is allowed seven days per 

week from May 16 through August 31, 

and on Sundays only September 1 

through May 15. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(18) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(19) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 

and Hertford counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 

November bear season and the second 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 

December bear season except that 

portion of Chowan Swamp Game 

Land in Gates County that is east of 

Highway 158/13, south of Highway 

158, west of Highway 32, and north of 

Catherine Creek and the Chowan 

River where the bear season is the 

same as the season dates for the Gates 

County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

during May 16 through August 31 and 

on Sundays only September 1 through 

May 15 on those roads that are open to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails posted for equestrian 

use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(20) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(21) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 

County. 

(A) Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract 

shall be by permit only. 

(22) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 

Jones counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

day in October through the end of all 

waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting 
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from designated Disabled Sportsmen 

blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl 

Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 

first two open days of dove season on 

posted areas. During the rest of dove 

season, no permit is required to hunt 

doves. 

(F) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(23) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 

County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 

shall be hunted by permit only from 

November 1 through the end of all 

waterfowl seasons. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 

accompany the permitted individual or 

party provided the guides do not use a 

firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 

extend 5 yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 

hunting by permitted waterfowl 

hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(H) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(24) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted for equestrian 

use. People age 16 or older horseback 

riding on this game land must possess 

a Game Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(25) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 

of bombing range. 

(D) The use and training of dogs is 

prohibited from March 1 through June 

30. 

(26) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(27) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 

and Transylvania counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 

hunt permit holders during scheduled 

permit hunts. 

(28) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(29) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 

counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(30) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 

Pamlico counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October through the end 

of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl 

hunting is by permit only on the 

following waterfowl impoundments: 

Pamlico Point, Campbell Creek, 

Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith 

Creek, and Hobucken. 

(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 

Waterfowl Impoundments all 

activities, except waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days 

and trapping during the trapping 

season, are restricted to the posted 
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Scouting-only Zone during the period 

November 1 through March 15. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 

September 1 through January 1 and 

April 1 through May 15 to individuals 

that possess a valid hunting 

opportunity permit. 

(H) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Beaufort 

County portion north of NC 33 except 

for that portion east of Smith Creek 

and south of Campbell Creek. 

(I) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(31) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 

Polk counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(32) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) On that portion north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road, 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on that portion of 

the game land that is north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road. 

(33) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments shall be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) Bear may only be taken the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 

November Bear Season and the 

second Saturday, Monday, and 

Tuesday of the December Bear 

Season, except for that portion 

designated as bear sanctuary. 

(34) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 

Wake counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(35) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 

Transylvania County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season 

(36) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(37) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 
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(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) On that portion north of the Bear 

Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 

Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 

Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 

west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 

hunting are permit only. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 

bear is prohibited: 

(i) all open days on that portion 

of the game land that is south 

of Baby Branch extending 

west to Stag Park Road, west 

of Shaw Road, north of 

Meeks Road extending west 

to Stag Park Road and east of 

Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Fridays, with the exception 

of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's days, and 

except for the area north of 

Bear Garden Road, west of 

Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 

east of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River, south of NC 53 

and west of NC 50, where the 

use of dogs for deer and bear 

hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 

September 1 to the last day of 

February and April 1 to May 15 to 

individuals that possess valid hunting 

opportunity permits, unless otherwise 

authorized by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 

Access Permit may operate an All 

Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 

yards of trails designated for Disabled 

Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(38) Hyco Game land in Person County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(39) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(40) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 

holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is prohibited October 1 

through March 31, except by lawful 

waterfowl hunting permit holders and 

only on those days written on the 

permits. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas is limited to August 31 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14. 

(41) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 

Orange, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 

(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding, including all equine 

species, is allowed only on those areas 

posted as American Tobacco Trail and 

other areas posted for equestrian use. 

Unless otherwise posted, horseback 

riding is permitted on posted portions 

of the American Tobacco Trail 

anytime the trail is open for use. On all 

other trails posted for equestrian use, 

horseback riding is allowed seven 

days per week from May 16 through 

August 31, and on Sundays only from 

September 1 through May 15. People 

age 16 or older shall obtain a Game 

Lands license prior to engaging in 

horseback riding on any area other 

than the American Tobacco Trail. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
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(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. 

(42) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(43) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 

during the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 

and no screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 

turkey is prohibited. 

(44) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 

waterfowl impoundments is by permit 

only. 

(45) Lee Game Land in Lee County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(46) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(47) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(48) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 

Edgecombe and Halifax counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(49) Mayo Game Land in Person County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Christmas and New Year's 

Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(50) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Tuesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(51) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 

Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 

that portion located in Transylvania 

County. 
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(52) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 

counties. 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 

on the opening day of dove season is 

by permit only. 

(53) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 

100 yards of the Neuse River on that 

portion of the game land that lies west 

of NC-43. 

(54) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 

counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(55) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through the fourth 

Friday before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 

activities are prohibited: 

(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine; 

and 

(ii) Swimming. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(56) North River Game Land in Camden and 

Currituck counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 

impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(57) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 

Currituck County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(58) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 

Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 

that portion in Anson and Richmond 

counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(E) Horseback riding is allowed seven 

days per week from May 16 through 

August 31, and on Sundays only 

September 1 through May 15 only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 

gated roads and trails posted for 

equestrian use.  

(F) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting shall be prohibited on that 

portion south of US-74. 

(59) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 

(A) Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season 

through the second Tuesday 

thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(60) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 

Watauga, and Yancey counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 

Black Bear (McDowell County), 

Linville River (Burke County), and 

Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 

McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(D) The use of bicycles shall be restricted 

to designated trails on the Linville 

River Tract (Burke County). Persons 

engaged in the act of hunting on the 

Linville River Tract during any open 

day of an applicable season for game 

birds or game animals shall be exempt 

from this restriction. 

(61) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails from May 16 

through August 31 and Sundays from 

September 1 through October 31. All 

horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through May 15. 

(62) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(63) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 

in Wilkes County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 

(64) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(65) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 

Martin, and Northampton counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by Permit 

only. 

(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 

Commission business or by permit 

holders. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas, provided, however, 

that camping is allowed at any time 

within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 

on the state-owned portion of the game 

land. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(66) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 

(67) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(68) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 to the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(69) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 

Hunting is by permit only. 

(70) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 

(A) Four Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(71) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 

Richmond, and Scotland counties 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 

October 22 through March 31 except 

as follows: 

(i) deer of either-sex may be 

taken with archery 

equipment on all the open 

days of the archery season 

through the fourth Friday 
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before Thanksgiving Day; 

with blackpowder firearms 

and archery equipment all the 

open days of the 

blackpowder firearms season 

through the third Wednesday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

and only deer with visible 

antlers may be taken with all 

legal weapons from the 

second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(ii) dove may be taken all open 

days from the opening day of 

the dove season through the 

third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 

be taken all the open days 

from the second Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day 

through the Saturday 

following Thanksgiving 

Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 

days from the second 

Saturday preceding 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 

open days during any 

waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 

may be taken as part of a 

Disabled Sportsmen Program 

Permit Hunt; and 

(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 

taken on open days from 

sunrise Monday on or nearest 

October 15 through the last 

day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

is the open hunting days from the 

second Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day through the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 

Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 

from the Saturday on or nearest to 

Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 

Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 

J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 

the third Monday after Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on all open hunting days 

during the archery season, by permit 

during the Deer with Visible antlers 

season, and the blackpowder firearms 

season as stated in this Subparagraph. 

Only deer with visible antlers may be 

taken from the third Monday after 

Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 

open days from the fourth Saturday 

preceding Thanksgiving Day through 

the Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1. Deer of either sex 

may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on all open hunting days 

during the blackpowder firearms 

season and by permit during the Deer 

With Visible Antlers season. Only 

deer with visible antlers may be taken 

from the third Monday after 

Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 

by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 

waterfowl may be taken on the 

opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 

prohibited unless participating in 

authorized field trials. Horseback 

riding is allowed on the remainder of 

the Sandhills Game Land seven days 

per week on roads that are open to 

vehicular traffic and gated roads and 

trails posted for equestrian use. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 

Complex. 

(72) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 

counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
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(73) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 

Madison counties. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 

and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 

10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 

the opening day through the second 

Saturday of dove season. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(74) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 

(75) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(76) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 

Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the Saturday of the second 

week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails during the 

following dates: 

(i) January 2 through March 31; 

(ii) May 16 through August 31; 

(iii) Sundays only - April 1 

through May 15; and 

(iv) Sundays only - September 1 

through January 1. 

(77) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 

and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(78) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 

Cumberland counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 

or trapping days except for: 

(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 

permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 

Road to access Suggs Mill 

Pond Lake at the dam. 

(D) During the period of November 1 

through January 31, except on 

Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 

Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2021 

2622 

Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 

only by waterfowl hunters possessing 

a valid and current Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(E) During the period of November 1 

through March 15, the use of vessels 

on managed waterfowl impoundments 

is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 

waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 

and current Hunting Opportunity 

Permit issued by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission pursuant to 

G.S. 113-264(d). 

(79) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 

Brunswick counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(80) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited 

(81) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(82) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 

County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(83) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 

overnight camping at any designated 

campground is 14 days within any 30 

day period from May 1 through 

August 31. After 14 consecutive days 

of camping all personal belongings 

must be removed from the game land. 

(84) Tillery Game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(85) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(86) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 

Montgomery, and Randolph counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl may be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 

Range. 

(87) Vance Game Land in Vance County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 

handguns for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 

tract. 

(88) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 

Washington counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
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(C) Bear may only be taken the first 

Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 

November Bear Season and the 

second Saturday, Monday, and 

Tuesday of the December Bear 

Season. 

(89) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 

County 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(90) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow 

County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October through the end 

of all waterfowl seasons, a permit is 

required for hunting posted waterfowl 

impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 

have the following restrictions: 

(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 

requires a valid Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by 

the Wildlife Resources 

Commission pursuant to G.S. 

113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 

and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 

deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and 

Pender counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Long 

Ridge Tract. 

(92) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding, including all equine 

species, is prohibited. 

(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 

the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 

shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 

September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 

issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 

permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 

making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 

cooperator agent or by phone. 

(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting 

except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current 

permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 

River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 

Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 

Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 

Refuge; 

(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 

of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6) Dare County—Roanoke Marshes Game Lands; 

and 

(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—

DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 

County requires written permission from the Commission. 

Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 

Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 

entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 

agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 

need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 

investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 

public interest. 

(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 

season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner 

of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to 

hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs 

for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or bear 

season. 

(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 

Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 

game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 

permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 
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(m)  Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared 

by the Commission to be Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days, 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 

designated as permit-only areas. 

(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 

Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 

disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 

schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 

and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 

hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 

stated on each permit. 

(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 

species. 

(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on 

Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, 

the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 

113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 3, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; September 

1, 1995; July 1, 1995; September 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this replaces the amendment 

approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

May 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; October 1, 2006; August 1, 2006; May 1, 2006; February 

1, 2006; June 1, 2005; October 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; August 1, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0305 BRUNSWICK COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters and 

portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Lockwoods Folly River in the Town of 

Varnamtown, from a point at 33.94966 N, 

78.22587 W, 500 yards northwest of the boat 

ramp located at the end of SR 1123 otherwise 

known as Fisherman Road, to a point at 

33.94498 N, 78.22206 W, 180 yards southeast 

of the boat ramp, and including the portion of 

the river otherwise known as Mill Creek where 

it meets Lockwoods Folly River directly across 

from the boat ramp, to a point 100 feet northeast 

at 33.94687 N, 78.22235 W; 

(2) Calabash River in the Town of Calabash, from 

a point in the water at the end of Marina Drive 

at 33.88638 N, 78.56254 W to a point 650 yards 

southwest at the southern end of the deep-sea 

fishing docks at 33.88344 N, 78.56751 W; 

(3) the Small Boat Harbor, shore to shore 

beginning at its intersection with the 

Intracoastal Waterway at a point at 33.91685 N, 

78.02865 W; 

(4) Shallotte River east of SR 1233, otherwise 

known as Village Point Road SW south of the 

Town of Shallotte, shore to shore from its 

intersection with the Intracoastal Waterway at a 

point at 33.91477 N, 78.37103 W to point 500 

feet north at 33.91613 N, 78.37126 W; 

(5) Montgomery Slough otherwise known as Davis 

Creek, within 100 yards of the hotel and marina 

at the northern end of 57th Place West in the 

Town of Oak Island; 

(6) the waters in the natural and concrete canals 

located on the south side of the Intracoastal 

Waterway, east of N.C. Highway 904 in the 

Town of Ocean Isle Beach; 

(7) Town Creek east of SR 1609, otherwise known 

as Clearview Lane in Town Creek Township, 

shore to shore from a point at 34.16788 N, 

78.07139 W, north and east around a bend in 

the creek to a point at 34.16910 N, 78.07030 W; 

(8) Montgomery Slough, otherwise known as 

Davis Creek, shore to shore from its entrance at 

the Intracoastal Waterway west of SW Yacht 

Drive at a point at 33.92145 N, 78.19408 W, to 

the canal end at NE 40th Street in the Town of 

Oak Island;  

(9) Intracoastal Waterway in the Town of Sunset 

Beach, shore to shore from a point 150 yards 

east of the Sunset Boulevard South bridge at 

33.88173 N, 78.50995 W, to a point 50 yards 

west of the bridge at 33.88111 N, 78.51194 W; 

and 

(10) Intracoastal Waterway in the Town of Ocean 

Isle Beach, shore to shore from a point 100 

yards east of the NC Hwy 904 Odell 

Williamson Bridge at 33.89578 N, 78.43870 

W, to a point 100 yards west of the bridge at 

33.89567 N, 78.44092 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be the 

designated agencies for the placement of markers implementing 

this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard 

and the United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Aldermen of Varnamtown for 

areas indicated in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the Board of Commissioners of Brunswick 

County for areas indicated in Subparagraphs 

(a)(2) through (8) of this Rule;  
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(3) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission for the area indicated in 

Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule; and 

(4) the Town of Ocean Isle Beach for the area 

indicated in Subparagraph (a)(10) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; January 

1, 1989; January 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021; July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1501 WILDLIFE CONTROL AGENT 

LICENSE ELIGIBILITY AND REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The following definitions shall apply in this Section: 

(1) "Wildlife control agent" or "WCA" means an 

individual that holds a current and valid wildlife 

control agent license issued by the 

Commission. 

(2) "Wildlife control agent license" or "WCA 

license" means a license issued by the 

Commission that authorizes an individual to 

engage in wildlife damage control or wildlife 

removal activities by means of a depredation 

permit. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to engage in wildlife damage control or 

wildlife removal activities for compensation, including eviction 

or exclusion activities, without first obtaining a wildlife control 

agent (WCA) license from the Commission, except that licensed 

trappers taking wild animals during the applicable open trapping 

season for that species shall not be required to obtain a WCA 

license. 

(c)  Individuals meeting the following requirements shall qualify 

for a WCA license: 

(1) completion of a Commission-approved, WCA 

training course, that reviews the following: 

(A) wildlife laws and rules, including 

methods of take, trapping, and 

depredation; and 

(B) safe, humane wildlife handling 

techniques. 

(2) a passing score of at least 80 percent on the 

WCA examination as specified in Paragraph (e) 

of this Rule. 

(3) no wildlife misdemeanor convictions, as 

specified in G.S. 113-294 or G.S. 14, Article 47, 

that resulted in a license suspension or 

revocation within the five years preceding 

completion of the WCA training course. 

(d)  Individuals may register for a Commission-approved training 

course at www.ncwildlife.org/wca. Required information shall 

include the following: 

(1) the applicant's name, mailing address, email 

address, residence address, telephone number, 

driver's license number, and date of birth; and 

(2) organizational affiliation, if applicable. 

(e)  Individuals scoring at least an 80 percent on the WCA 

examination provided by the Commission shall be deemed to have 

received a passing score and to have successfully demonstrated 

knowledge of wildlife laws and safe, humane wildlife handling 

techniques. Individuals failing to obtain a passing score on the 

WCA examination shall receive one opportunity to re-take the 

examination and receive a passing score without being required to 

retake the WCA training course. 

(f)  A WCA license shall not be transferable between individuals. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1502 DEPREDATION PERMITS 

ISSUED BY WILDLIFE CONTROL AGENTS 

(a)  WCAs may issue depredation permits to landholders and may 

be listed as a second party on the permit to provide wildlife 

damage control or wildlife removal services. Depredation permits 

shall be issued and administered in accordance with the applicable 

provisions and requirements of 15A NCAC 10B .0106. 

(b)  WCAs shall not issue depredation permits for the following: 

(1) any endangered, threatened, or special concern 

species listed in 15A NCAC 10I .0103 - .0105; 

(2) coyotes in Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, or 

Washington counties; 

(3) big game animals, including Black Bear, 

White-tail Deer, and Wild Turkey; 

(4) elk; and 

(5) bats. 

(c)  WCAs shall be authorized to issue depredation permits for the 

taking of wildlife not prohibited in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

provided there is evidence that the wildlife is or has been 

damaging or destroying property. 

(d)  Depredation permits shall not be issued for the taking of 

migratory birds unless a corresponding, valid U.S. Fish and 

Wildlife Service depredation permit, as required by 50 CFR 

21.41, has been obtained, if required. 

(e)  WCAs shall not receive compensation for the issuance of 

depredation permits; however, nothing in this Section shall be 

construed to limit the ability of a WCA to receive compensation 

for investigations or wildlife damage control and removal 

services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1503 MANNER OF TAKE 

(a)  WCAs shall comply with applicable manner of taking and 

disposition of wildlife requirements specified in 15A NCAC 10B 

.0106. 

(b)  A WCA license number shall be equivalent to a trapper 

identification number for the purpose of meeting trap 

identification requirements specified in G.S. 113-291.6(b)(4) for 

all trap types used. 

(c)  WCAs shall only engage in bat eviction and exclusion 

activities from August 1 through April 30 of the next calendar 

year unless otherwise approved by the Commission, on a case-by-
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case basis, for reasons of public health and safety, species 

conservation, or animal health. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1504 RECORDS AND REPORTING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  WCAs shall maintain the following records: 

(1) a copy of each depredation permit issued; and 

(2) the species, number, and disposition of each 

animal taken, organized by county. 

(b)  WCAs shall submit the following information to the 

Commission each calendar quarter for each animal taken pursuant 

to a depredation permit: 

(1) depredation permit number and date of issue of 

the permit that authorized take; 

(2) WCA license number; 

(3) county where permit issued; 

(4) type of damage; 

(5) species; 

(6) number of animals estimated to be taken; 

(7) number of animals taken; 

(8) method of take; and 

(9) disposition of animal. 

(c)  Records shall be available for inspection by representatives of 

the Commission upon request or during the Commission's 

business hours. 

(d)  Records shall be retained by the WCA for 12 months 

following expiration of the WCA license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1505 WILDLIFE CONTROL AGENT 

LICENSE RENEWAL AND REVOCATION 

(a)  A WCA may renew his or her WCA license by completing at 

least one Commission-approved continuing education course 

within the previous year. A list of Commission-approved 

continuing education courses may be found at 

www.ncwildlife.org/wca. 

(b)  WCAs that do not renew their license for two consecutive 

calendar years shall be ineligible for renewal and shall be required 

to repeat the requirements specified in 15A NCAC 10H .1501, 

prior to obtaining a new WCA license. 

(c)  The Executive Director or his or her designee may warn, cite, 

or revoke a WCA's license, if the WCA violates any provision of 

G.S. 14, Article 47; G.S. 113, Subchapter IV; any rules 

promulgated by the Commission; conditions of the WCA license; 

or standards taught in a Commission-approved WCA training 

course. The determination whether to warn, cite, or revoke a 

WCA's wildlife control agent license shall be based upon the 

seriousness of the violation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1506 ALLIGATOR CONTROL AGENT 

CERTIFICATION ELIGIBILITY AND REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The following definitions shall apply in this Section: 

(1) "Alligator control agent" or "ACA" means a 

licensed Wildlife Control Agent that holds a 

current and valid alligator control agent 

certification issued by the Commission. 

(2) "Alligator control agent certification" or "ACA 

certification" means a certification issued by 

the Commission that authorizes a Wildlife 

Control Agent to engage in alligator damage 

control or alligator removal activities by means 

of a Commission-issued depredation permit. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to engage in alligator damage control or 

alligator removal activities for compensation without first 

obtaining an alligator control agent (ACA) certification from the 

Commission. 

(c)  Only individuals with a valid WCA license shall be eligible 

for ACA certification. 

(d)  WCAs meeting the following requirements shall qualify for 

ACA certification: 

(1) completion of a Commission-approved ACA 

training course that reviews the following: 

(A) alligator rules; 

(B) procedures for alligator data collection 

activities; and 

(C) safe, humane alligator capture, 

handling, and transporting techniques. 

(2) a passing score on the ACA written 

examination as specified in Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

(3) demonstration to the Commission of necessary 

equipment to safely and humanely capture and 

relocate alligators, including ropes, cables, 

snares, poles, passive integrated transponder 

(PIT) tag reader, and an alligator transport 

device. 

(e)  WCAs may register for a Commission-approved ACA 

training course at www.ncwildlife.org/wca 

(f)  WCAs scoring at least an 80 percent on the ACA examination 

provided by the Commission shall be deemed to have received a 

passing score. WCAs failing to obtain a passing score on the 

examination shall receive one opportunity to re-take the 

examination and receive a passing score without being required to 

retake the ACA training course. 

(g)  An ACA certification shall not be transferable between 

individuals. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1507 ADDITIONAL PERMIT 

REQUIREMENTS FOR ALLIGATOR CONTROL 

AGENTS 

(a)  ACAs shall obtain an endangered species permit from the 

Commission each calendar year prior to conducting any alligator 

handling and relocation activities. 
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(b)  ACAs shall only handle alligators after a separate depredation 

permit for each alligator has been issued by the Executive Director 

or his or her designee. 

(c)  In emergency situations, where an alligator must be moved 

without delay due to a current or imminent threat to human safety, 

the safety of the alligator, or disruption of traffic, ACAs shall 

obtain an authorization code from a representative of the 

Commission prior to conducting any alligator handling and 

relocation activities. Authorization codes may be obtained from 

Commission District Biologists or by contacting the 

Commission's communications center at 1-800-662-7137 to be 

directed to an appropriate Commission representative. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1508 ALLIGATOR CONTROL AGENT 

RECORDS AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  ACAs shall maintain alligator datasheets for each alligator 

handled or relocated, which shall include the following 

information: 

(1) dates and times of capture and release; 

(2) the GPS locations of the capture and release 

sites; 

(3) PIT tag number inserted or found upon 

scanning; 

(4) scute numbers removed; 

(5) total length and snout-to-vent length 

measurements; 

(6) gender as determined by cloacal examination; 

(7) general observations on physical condition 

including any injuries observed; and 

(8) the Commission-issued depredation permit 

number or authorization code.  

(b)  ACAs shall follow the reporting requirements on the 

endangered species permit. 

(c)  Records shall be available for inspection by representatives of 

the Commission upon request or during the Commission's 

business hours. 

(d)  Records shall be retained by the ACA for 12 months following 

expiration of the ACA certification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1509 ALLIGATOR CONTROL AGENT 

CERTIFICATION RENEWAL AND REVOCATION 

(a)  An ACA may renew his or her alligator control agent 

certification by certifying proof of attending at least one 

Commission-approved alligator-specific continuing education 

course within the previous year. A list of Commission-approved 

renewal courses may be found at www.ncwildlife.org. 

(b)  ACAs shall maintain a valid WCA license at all times. 

(c)  The Executive Director or his or her designee may warn, cite, 

suspend, or revoke an ACA's certification, if the ACA violates 

any provision of G.S. 14, Article 47, or G.S. 113, Subchapter IV, 

or any rules promulgated by the Commission; conditions of the 

certification; or standards taught in a Commission-approved ACA 

training course. The determination whether to warn, cite, suspend, 

or revoke an ACA's certification shall be based upon the 

seriousness of the violation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10J .0103 HUNTING ON WILDLIFE 

CONSERVATION AREAS 

(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any area 

designated and posted as a wildlife conservation area shall be 

under the influence of alcohol or any narcotic drug. 

(b)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 

purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 

screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any area designated and posted 

as a wildlife conservation area. This prohibition shall not apply to 

lag-screw steps or portable stands that are removed after use with 

no metal left remaining in or attached to the tree. 

(c)  Time and Manner of Taking. Except where closed to hunting 

or limited to specific dates by the rules of this Chapter hunting on 

areas designated and posted as wildlife conservation areas is 

permitted during the open season for the game or furbearing 

species being hunted. Waterfowl hunters shall not enter the areas 

earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates, and hunting 

is prohibited after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates; decoys may 

not be set out prior to 4:00 a.m. and must be removed by 3:00 p.m. 

each date. No person shall operate any vessel or vehicle powered 

by an internal combustion engine on the waters of any area 

designated and posted as a wildlife conservation area. No person 

shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of any bird or animal taken 

by severing the head or any other part thereof, or possess any bird 

or animal which has been so mutilated. No person shall place, or 

cause to be placed on any area designated and posted as a wildlife 

conservation area, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without prior 

written authorization of the Commission or its agent and no 

person shall take or attempt to take any game birds or game 

animals attracted to such foods. No person shall use an electronic 

calling device for the purpose of attracting wild birds or wild 

animals. No live wild animals or wild birds shall be removed from 

any designated wildlife conservation area except with the written 

permission of the landowner. 

(d)  Hunting Dates: 

(1) Any game may be taken during the open 

seasons and hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays and Thanksgiving, 

Christmas, and New Year's Days. In addition, 

deer may be taken with bow and arrow on the 

opening day of the bow and arrow season for 

deer. Raccoon and opossum hunting may 

continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 7:00 

a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 

Saturdays.  

(2) Except as otherwise indicated, the following 

designated wildlife conservation areas or 

indicated portions thereof are closed to all 

hunting: 

(A) Nona Pitt Hinson Cohen Wildlife 

Conservation Area - Richmond 

County. 
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(B) John D. Lewis Wildlife Conservation 

Area - Wayne County. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-136; 113-264; 

113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-305; 

Eff. February 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; October 1, 1994. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1701 DEFINITIONS 

15A NCAC 13B .1702 GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR 

STRUCTURAL FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1703 NOTIFICATION FOR 

STRUCTURAL FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1704 SITING FOR STRUCTURAL 

FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1705 DESIGN, CONSTRUCTION, AND 

OPERATION FOR STRUCTURAL FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1706 CLOSURE OF STRUCTURAL 

FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1707 RECORDATION OF 

STRUCTURAL FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1708 OTHER USES FOR COAL 

COMBUSTION BY-PRODUCTS 

15A NCAC 13B .1709 STORAGE AND CONTAINMENT 

OF COAL COMBUSTION BY-PRODUCTS 

15A NCAC 13B .1710 ANNUAL REPORTING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1713 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

EXISTING STRUCTURAL FILLS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to existing structural fills. The 

definitions found in G.S. 130A-290 and G.S. 130A-309.201 shall 

apply to this Rule. For the purposes of this Rule, "existing 

structural fill" shall mean a structural fill in which coal 

combustion products were placed prior to September 20, 2014 in 

accordance with the rules of this Subchapter that were effective at 

the time of placement of the coal combustion products. Prior 

editions of the rules in this Section can be obtained free of charge 

from the Division of Waste Management at 217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603. This Rule shall not apply to structural 

fills contracted for on or after September 20, 2014. 

(b)  Upon closure, an existing structural fill shall comply with the 

requirements of G.S. 130A-309.222(a). For the purposes of this 

Rule, "final cover" as required in G.S. 130A-222(a)(1) shall mean 

one of the following: 

(1) no less than 12 inches of compacted earth and 

an additional six inches of soil capable of 

supporting native plant growth on the surface; 

(2) an impervious surface such as concrete or 

asphalt; or 

(3) a building or structure that does not allow 

infiltration of precipitation. 

(c)  Following closure, an existing structural fill shall be 

maintained to comply with the requirements set forth in G.S. 

130A-309.220(a)(1), (5), (6), (8), (9) and (11), except that the 

requirements shall not retroactively apply to the design, 

construction, development, or operation of an existing structural 

fill. An existing structural fill is subject to the groundwater quality 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02L and the surface water quality 

standards set forth in 15A NCAC 02B. 

(d)  Following closure, an existing structural fill shall comply with 

following: 

(1) the landowner of the property where the 

existing structural fill is located shall not move 

or change the property boundaries in a way that 

reduces the existing 25-foot buffer between the 

existing structural fill and the property 

boundaries; 

(2) the landowner of the property where the 

existing structural fill is located shall maintain 

the existing 100-foot buffer between the 

existing structural fill and any sources of 

drinking water on land under the control of that 

landowner; and 

(3) final cover as defined in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule shall be maintained. 

(e)  An existing structural fill shall be recorded in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-309.223, except that every use of the term "coal 

combustion residuals" shall be replaced with the term "coal 

combustion products." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.207; 

130A-309.226; 

Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0140 FLOORS 

Floors shall be of concrete or other impervious material, 

constructed so that they are easily cleanable and shall be sloped 

so that water drains. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0141 WALLS AND CEILINGS 

(a)  Walls and ceilings shall be constructed of smooth, easily 

cleanable, non-corrosive, impervious material. 

(b)  Insulation on cooked crustacea cooler walls shall be covered 

to the ceiling with a smooth, easily cleanable, non-corrosive, 

impervious material. 

(c)  Doors and windows shall be tightly fitted and maintained in 

good repair so as to keep insects and weather out of the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 
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15A NCAC 18A .0142 LIGHTING 

(a)  Natural or artificial lighting shall be provided in all parts of 

the facility. Minimum lighting intensities shall be as follows: 

(1) 50 foot-candles on working surfaces in the 

picking and packing rooms and areas. 

(2) 10 foot-candles measured at a height of 30 

inches above the floor throughout the rest of the 

processing portion of the facility. 

(b)  Light bulbs within the processing portion of the facility shall 

be shatterproof or shielded to prevent product contamination in 

case of breakage. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0143 VENTILATION 

All rooms and areas shall be ventilated. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0146 PREMISES 

(a)  Premises under the control of the owner shall be kept clean at 

all times. Waste materials, rubbish, other articles, or litter shall 

not be permitted to accumulate on the premises. 

(b)  Measures shall be taken to prevent the harborage and breeding 

of insects, rodents, and other vermin on premises. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0150 SEWAGE DISPOSAL 

All sewage and other liquid wastes shall be disposed of in a public 

sewer system or in the absence of a public sewer system, by an 

on-site method approved by the Division of Marine Fisheries.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0154 EMPLOYEES' PERSONAL 

ARTICLES 

Employees' street clothing, aprons, gloves, and personal articles 

shall not be stored in rooms or areas described in Rule .0159(b) of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0155 SUPPLY STORAGE 

Shipping containers, boxes, and other supplies shall be stored in a 

storage room or area. The storage room or area shall be kept clean. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0159 SEPARATION OF OPERATIONS 

(a)  Facility design shall provide for continuous flow of raw 

materials and product to prevent contamination by exposure to 

areas involved in earlier processing steps, refuse, or other areas 

subject to contamination. 

(b)  The following processes shall be carried out in separate rooms 

or areas: 

(1) raw crustacea receiving or refrigeration; 

(2) crustacea cooking; 

(3) cooked crustacea air-cool; 

(4) cooked crustacea refrigeration; 

(5) picking; 

(6) packing; 

(7) picked crustacea meat refrigeration; 

(8) pasteurizing or thermal processing; 

(9) machine picking; 

(10) repacking; and 

(11) other processes when carried out in conjunction 

with the cooking of crustacea or crustacea meat. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0160 RAW CRUSTACEA RECEIVING 

AND REFRIGERATION 

(a)  Only fresh crustacea shall be accepted for processing. 

(b)  Within two hours of receipt at the facility, crustacea shall be 

cooked or placed in a refrigerated area maintaining a temperature 

of 50 F (10 C) or below. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0163 COOKED CRUSTACEA 

REFRIGERATION 

(a)  The cooked crustacea cooler shall be large enough to store all 

cooked crustacea and maintain a minimum temperature of 40 F 

(4.4 C). The cooler shall open directly into the picking room or 

into a clean, enclosed area leading into the picking room. 

(b)  Cooked crustacea shall be stored at a temperature between 

33 F (0.5 C) and 40 F (4.4 C) ambient air temperature if not 

immediately processed. The cooler shall be equipped with an 

accurate, operating thermometer. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0167 DELIVERY WINDOW OR 

SHELF 

A delivery window or a non-corrosive shelf shall be provided 

between the picking room and packing room or area. The delivery 

window shall be equipped with a shelf completely covered with 

smooth, non-corrosive metal or other material approved by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries and sloped to drain towards the 

picking room. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0169 FREEZING 

(a)  If crustacea or crustacea meat is to be frozen, the code date 

shall be followed by the letter "F." 

(b)  Frozen crustacea or crustacea meat shall be stored at a 

temperature of 0 F (-18 C) or less. 

(c)  The frozen storage rooms shall be equipped with an accurate, 

operating thermometer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0170 SHIPPING 

Cooked crustacea and crustacea meat shall be shipped between 

33 F (0.5 C) and 40 F (4.4 C). Frozen crustacea products shall 

be shipped at 0 F (-18 C) or below. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0171 WHOLE CRUSTACEA OR 

CRUSTACEA PRODUCTS 

Whole crustacea, claws, or any other crustacea products shall be 

prepared, packaged, and labeled in accordance with the rules of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0172 COOKED CLAW SHIPPING 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  Vehicles used to transport cooked claws shall be mechanically 

refrigerated, enclosed, tightly constructed, kept clean, and 

equipped with an operating thermometer. 

(b)  Cooked crab claws shall be stored and transported between 

33 F (0.5 C) and 40 F (4.4 C) ambient air temperature. 

(c)  All vehicles shall be approved by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries prior to use. 

(d)  Cooked claw shipping containers shall be marked for intended 

use, cleaned, and sanitized prior to use and shall meet the 

requirements in Rule .0156 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0179 RECALL PROCEDURE 

Each owner of a cooked crustacea or crustacea meat facility or 

repacker facility shall keep on file a written product recall 

procedure. A copy of this recall procedure shall be provided to the 

Division of Marine Fisheries. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0180 SAMPLING AND TESTING 

Samples of cooked crustacea or crustacea meat may be taken and 

examined by the Division of Marine Fisheries at any time or place. 

Samples of cooked crustacea or crustacea meat shall be furnished 

by the owner or operator of facilities, trucks, carriers, stores, 

restaurants, and other places where cooked crustacea or crustacea 

meat are sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0188 HAZARD ANALYSIS 

Each dealer shall conduct a hazard analysis to determine the food 

safety hazards that are reasonably likely to occur for each kind of 

crustacea or crustacea meat product processed by that dealer and 

to identify the preventative measures that the dealer can apply to 

control those hazards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0189 HACCP PLAN 

Each dealer shall have and implement a written HACCP plan. The 

owner or authorized designee shall sign the plan when 

implemented and after any modification. The plan shall be 

reviewed at least annually and updated if necessary. The plan 

shall, at a minimum: 

(1) list the food safety hazards that are reasonably 

likely to occur; 

(2) list the critical control points for each of the 

food safety hazards; 
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(3) list the critical limits that must be met for each 

of the critical control points; 

(4) list the procedures, and frequency thereof, that 

will be used to monitor each of the critical 

control points to ensure compliance with the 

critical limits; 

(5) list any corrective action plans to be followed in 

response to deviations from critical limits at 

critical control points; 

(6) provide a record keeping system that 

documents critical control point monitoring; 

and 

(7) list the verification procedures, and frequency 

thereof, that the dealer will use. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0190 SANITATION MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

Each dealer shall monitor, at a minimum, the following sanitation 

items: 

(1) safety of water; 

(2) condition and cleanliness of food contact 

surfaces; 

(3) prevention of cross contamination; 

(4) maintenance of hand washing, hand sanitizing, 

and toilet facilities; 

(5) protection of crustacea or crustacea meat, 

crustacea or crustacea meat packaging 

materials, and food contact surfaces from 

adulteration; 

(6) proper labeling, storage, and use of toxic 

compounds; 

(7) control of employees with adverse health 

conditions; and 

(8) exclusion of pests from the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0431 STANDARDS FOR AN 

APPROVED SHELLFISH GROWING AREA 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0704 LABORATORY PROCEDURES 

(a)  All laboratory analyses used to evaluate the effectiveness of 

the depuration process shall be performed by a laboratory found 

by a Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Shellfish Laboratory 

Evaluation Officer or by an FDA-certified State Shellfish 

Laboratory Evaluation Officer to conform or provisionally 

conform to the requirements established under the National 

Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP).  

(b)  All methods for the analysis of depuration process water and 

shellfish that are used to evaluate the effectiveness of the 

depuration process shall be cited in the latest edition of the NSSP 

Guide for the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, Section IV: 

Guidance Documents, subsection Approved NSSP Laboratory 

Tests, which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and available at 

https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate-food-programs/national-

shellfish-sanitation-program-nssp at no cost, or validated for use 

by the NSSP under the Constitution, Bylaws and Procedures of 

the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation Conference, which is 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and available at https://www.issc.org/constitution-

bylaws-procedures, at no cost. If there is an immediate or ongoing 

critical need for a method and no method approved for use within 

the NSSP exists, the following may be used: 

(1) a validated Association of Analytical 

Communities, Bacteriological Analysis 

Manual, or Environmental Protection Agency 

method; or 

(2) an Emergency Use Method as set forth in the 

latest approved edition of the NSSP Guide for 

the Control of Molluscan Shellfish. 

(c)  The laboratory shall conduct examinations of depuration 

process water and shellfish and conduct special examinations if 

necessary or required, in accordance with Rules .0706 through 

.0709 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0901 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to this Section. 

(1) "Approved" means shellfish growing waters 

determined suitable by the Division for the 

harvesting of shellfish for direct market 

purposes. 

(2) "Closed-system marina" means a marina 

constructed in canals, basins, tributaries, or any 

other area with restricted tidal flow. 

(3) "Colony forming unit" means an estimate of the 

number of viable bacteria cells in a sample as 

determined by a plate count. 

(4) "Commercial marina" means a marina that 

offers one or more of the following services: 

fuel, transient dockage, haul-out facilities, or 

repair services. 

(5) "Conditionally approved" means shellfish 

growing waters that are subject to predictable 

intermittent pollution but that may be used for 

harvesting shellfish for direct market purposes 

when management plan criteria are met. 

(6) "Division" means the Division of Marine 

Fisheries or its authorized agent. 
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(7) "Estimated 90th percentile" means a statistic 

that measures the variability in a sample set that 

shall be calculated by: 

(a) calculating the arithmetic mean and 

standard deviation of the sample result 

logarithms (base 10); 

(b) multiplying the standard deviation in 

Sub-Item (a) of this Item by 1.28; 

(c) adding the product from Sub-Item (b) 

of this Item to the arithmetic mean; 

and 

(d) taking the antilog (base 10) of the 

results from Sub-Item (c) of this Item 

to determine the estimated 90th 

percentile. 

(8) "Fecal coliform" means bacteria of the coliform 

group that will produce gas from lactose in a 

multiple tube procedure liquid medium (EC or 

A-1) within 24 plus or minus two hours at 44.5 

C plus or minus 0.2 C in a water bath. 

(9) "Geometric mean" means the antilog (base 10) 

of the arithmetic mean of the sample result 

logarithm. 

(10) "Marina" means any water area with a structure 

(such as a dock, basin, floating dock) that is 

utilized for docking or otherwise mooring 

vessels and constructed to provide temporary or 

permanent docking space for more than 10 

boats. 

(11) "Marine biotoxins" means any poisonous 

compound produced by marine 

microorganisms and accumulated by 

shellstock. 

(12) "Median" means the middle number in a given 

sequence of numbers, taken as the average of 

the two middle numbers when the sequence has 

an even number of numbers. 

(13) "Most probable number (MPN)" means a 

statistical estimate of the number of bacteria per 

unit volume and is determined from the number 

of positive results in a series of fermentation 

tubes. 

(14) "National Shellfish Sanitation Program 

(NSSP)" means the cooperative federal-state-

industry program for the sanitary control of 

shellfish that is adequate to ensure that the 

shellfish produced in accordance with the NSSP 

Guide For The Control Of Molluscan Shellfish 

will be safe and sanitary. 

(15) "Open-system marina" means a marina 

constructed in an area where tidal currents have 

not been impeded by natural or man-made 

barriers. 

(16) "Private marina" means any marina that is not a 

commercial marina as defined in this Rule. 

(17) "Prohibited" means shellfish growing waters 

unsuitable for the harvesting of shellfish for 

direct market purposes. 

(18) "Public health emergency" means any 

condition that may immediately cause shellfish 

waters to be unsafe for the harvest of shellfish 

for human consumption. 

(19) "Restricted" means shellfish growing waters 

from which shellfish may be harvested only by 

permit and are subjected to a treatment process 

through relaying or depuration that renders the 

shellfish safe for human consumption. 

(20) "Sanitary survey" means the written evaluation 

of factors that affect the sanitary quality of a 

shellfish growing area including sources of 

pollution, the effects of wind, tides, and 

currents in the distribution and dilution of 

polluting materials, and the bacteriological 

quality of water. 

(21) "Shellfish" means the term as defined in G.S. 

113-129, except the term shall not include 

scallops when the final product is the shucked 

adductor muscle only. 

(22) "Shellfish growing area" means a management 

unit that defines the boundaries of a sanitary 

survey and that is used to track the location 

where shellfish are harvested. 

(23) "Shellfish growing waters" means marine or 

estuarine waters that support or could support 

shellfish life. 

(24) "Shellstock" means live molluscan shellfish in 

the shell. 

(25) "Shoreline survey" means an in-field inspection 

by the Division to identify and evaluate any 

potential or actual pollution sources or other 

environmental factors that may impact the 

sanitary quality of a shellfish growing area. 

(26) "Systematic random sampling strategy" means 

a sampling strategy designed to assess the 

bacteriological water quality of shellfish 

growing waters impacted by non-point sources 

of pollution and scheduled sufficiently far in 

advance to support random collection with 

respect to environmental conditions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; February 1, 1997; September 1, 

1990; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0902 CLASSIFICATION OF 

SHELLFISH GROWING WATERS 

(a)  All shellfish growing waters shall be classified by the Division 

of Marine Fisheries as to their suitability for shellfish harvesting. 

Shellfish growing waters shall be designated with one of the 

following classifications: 

(1) approved; 

(2) conditionally approved; 

(3) restricted; or 

(4) prohibited. 
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(b)  Maps showing the classification of shellfish growing waters 

shall be maintained by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0903 SANITARY SURVEY 

(a)  Shellfish growing waters shall be divided into shellfish 

growing areas by the Division of Marine Fisheries. Maps showing 

the boundaries of these shellfish growing areas shall be 

maintained by the Division and can be found at: 

https://deq.nc.gov/polluted-area-proclamations. 

(b)  Except in shellfish growing areas where all shellfish growing 

waters are classified as prohibited, the Division shall complete a 

sanitary survey report for each shellfish growing area at least once 

every three years. 

(c)  A sanitary survey report shall include the following: 

(1) a shoreline survey. 

(2) an evaluation of meteorological, 

hydrodynamic, and geographic factors that may 

affect distribution of pollutants. 

(3) a microbiological survey to assess water 

quality. A microbiological survey shall include 

the collection of water samples and their 

analysis for fecal coliforms. The number and 

location of sampling stations shall be selected 

to produce the data necessary to effectively 

evaluate all point and non-point pollution 

sources identified during the shoreline survey. 

A minimum of six samples shall be collected 

annually from each designated sampling 

station. 

(4) a determination of the appropriate classification 

for all shellfish growing waters within the 

shellfish growing area in accordance with Rule 

.0902 of this Section. 

(d)  A sanitary survey report shall be required to designate any 

portion of a shellfish growing area with a classification other than 

prohibited, or for a reclassification from: 

(1) prohibited to any other classification; 

(2) restricted to conditionally approved or 

approved; or 

(3) conditionally approved to approved. 

All other reclassifications may be made without a sanitary survey. 

(e)  In each calendar year that a shellfish growing area is not 

evaluated with a sanitary survey, a written annual evaluation 

report shall be completed by the Division and shall include the 

following: 

(1) a microbiological survey to assess water quality 

as set forth in Subparagraph (c)(3) of this Rule. 

(2) an evaluation of changes in pollution source 

impacts that may affect the classifications of the 

shellfish growing area. 

If the annual evaluation determines conditions have changed and 

a classification for shellfish growing waters is incorrect, the 

Division shall initiate action to reclassify the shellfish growing 

waters in accordance with Rule .0902 of this Section. 

(f)  Sanitary survey reports and annual evaluation reports shall be 

maintained by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0904 APPROVED WATERS 

Shellfish growing waters classified as approved for shellfish 

harvesting shall meet the following criteria as indicated by a 

sanitary survey, as set forth in Rule .0903 of this Section: 

(1) the shoreline survey indicates there are no 

significant point sources of pollution; 

(2) the area is not contaminated with fecal material, 

pathogenic microorganisms, poisonous or 

deleterious substances, or marine biotoxins that 

may render consumption of the shellfish 

hazardous; and 

(3) the microbiological survey, as set forth in Rule 

.0903(c)(3) of this Section, indicates the 

bacteriological water quality does not exceed 

the following standards based on results 

generated using the systematic random 

sampling strategy: 

(a) a median fecal coliform most probable 

number (MPN) or geometric mean 

MPN of 14 per 100 milliliters; 

(b) a median fecal coliform colony-

forming units (CFU) or geometric 

mean CFU of 14 per 100 milliliters; 

(c) an estimated 90th percentile of 43 

MPN per 100 milliliters for a five-tube 

decimal dilution test; or 

(d) an estimated 90th percentile of 31 CFU 

per 100 milliliters for a membrane 

filter membrane-Thermotolerant 

Escherichia coli (mTEC) test. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0905 CONDITIONALLY APPROVED 

WATERS 

(a)  Shellfish growing waters may be classified as conditionally 

approved if the Division of Marine Fisheries determines the 

following: 

(1) the sanitary survey indicates the shellfish 

growing waters will not meet the approved 

waters classification criteria as set forth in Rule 

.0904 of this Section under all conditions, but 

will meet those criteria under certain 

conditions; 

(2) the conditions when the shellfish growing 

waters will meet the approved waters 

classification criteria are known and 

predictable; 
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(3) the public bottom within those shellfish 

growing waters support a population of 

harvestable shellfish; and 

(4) staff are available to carry out the requirements 

defined in the management plan, as set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  A written management plan shall be developed by the 

Division for conditionally approved areas. This plan shall define 

the conditions under which the shellfish growing waters may be 

open to the harvest of shellfish. If the conditions defined in the 

management plan are not met, the Division shall immediately 

close the shellfish growing waters to shellfish harvesting. 

(c)  All conditionally approved growing waters shall be re-

evaluated on an annual basis. A written report summarizing this 

re-evaluation shall be produced and shall include the following: 

(1) an evaluation of compliance with management 

plan criteria; 

(2) a review of the cooperation of all persons 

involved; 

(3) an evaluation of bacteriological water quality in 

the growing waters with respect to the standards 

for the classification; and 

(4) an evaluation of critical pollution sources. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0906 RESTRICTED AREAS 

(a)  Shellfish growing waters may be classified as restricted if: 

(1) a sanitary survey indicates there are no 

significant point sources of pollution; and 

(2) levels of fecal pollution, human pathogens, or 

poisonous or deleterious substances are at such 

levels that shellstock can be made safe for 

human consumption by either relaying or 

depuration. 

(b)  Relaying of shellfish shall be conducted in accordance with 

all applicable rules, including 15A NCAC 03K and 15A NCAC 

18A .0300. 

(c)  Depuration of shellfish shall be conducted in accordance with 

all applicable rules, including 15A NCAC 03K and 15A NCAC 

18A .0300 and .0700. 

(d)  For shellfish growing waters classified as restricted and used 

as a source of shellstock for depuration, the microbiological 

survey, as set forth in Rule .0903(c)(3) of this Section, shall 

indicate the bacteriological water quality does not exceed the 

following standards based on results generated using the 

systematic random sampling strategy: 

(1) a median fecal coliform most probable number 

(MPN) or geometric mean MPN of 88 per 100 

milliliters; 

(2) a median fecal coliform colony-forming units 

(CFU) or geometric mean CFU of 88 per 100 

milliliters; 

(3) an estimated 90th percentile of 260 MPN per 

100 milliliters for a five-tube decimal dilution 

test; or 

(4) an estimated 90th percentile of 163 CFU per 100 

milliliters for a membrane filter membrane-

Thermotolerant Escherichia coli (mTEC) test. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0907 PROHIBITED WATERS 

Shellfish growing waters shall be classified as prohibited if: 

(1) no current sanitary survey, as set forth in Rule 

.0903 of this Section, exists for the growing 

area; or 

(2) the sanitary survey determines: 

(a) the shellfish growing waters are 

adjacent to a sewage treatment plant 

outfall or other point source outfall 

with public health significance; or 

(b) the shellfish growing waters are 

contaminated with fecal material, 

pathogenic microorganisms, 

poisonous or deleterious substances, 

or marine biotoxins that render 

consumption of shellfish from those 

growing waters hazardous. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0908 UNSURVEYED AREAS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0909 BUFFER ZONES 

(a)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall establish a buffer zone 

around the following: 

(1) marinas, in accordance with Rule .0911 of this 

Section; and 

(2) wastewater treatment plant outfalls or other 

point source outfalls determined to be of public 

health significance, in accordance with the 

latest approved edition of the National Shellfish 

Sanitation Program Guide for the Control of 

Molluscan Shellfish, Section II: Model 

Ordinance, Chapter IV: Shellstock Growing 

Areas, which is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, 

and available at 

https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate-food-

programs/national-shellfish-sanitation-

program-nssp at no cost. 

(b)  Buffer zones shall be classified as prohibited. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0910 RECLASSIFICATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0913 PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

(a)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall immediately close any 

potentially impacted shellfish growing waters to the harvesting of 

shellfish in the event of a public health emergency. 

(b)  The Division may re-open shellfish growing waters if the 

condition causing the public health emergency no longer exists 

and shellfish have had time to purify naturally from possible 

contamination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0914 LABORATORY PROCEDURES 

(a) All laboratory analyses used for the evaluation of shellfish 

growing areas shall be performed by a laboratory found by a Food 

and Drug Administration (FDA) Shellfish Laboratory Evaluation 

Officer or by an FDA-certified State Shellfish Laboratory 

Evaluation Officer to conform or provisionally conform to the 

requirements established under the National Shellfish Sanitation 

Program (NSSP). 

(b) All methods for the analysis of shellfish and shellfish growing 

waters that are used for the evaluation of shellfish growing areas 

shall be cited in the latest edition of the NSSP Guide for the 

Control of Molluscan Shellfish, Section IV: Guidance 

Documents, subsection Approved NSSP Laboratory Tests, which 

is incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, and available at 

https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate-food-programs/national-

shellfish-sanitation-program-nssp at no cost, or validated for use 

by the NSSP under the Constitution, Bylaws and Procedures of 

the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation Conference, which is 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and available at https://www.issc.org/constitution-

bylaws-procedures, at no cost. If there is an immediate or ongoing 

critical need for a method and no method approved for use within 

the NSSP exists, the following may be used: 

(1) a validated Association of Analytical 

Communities, Bacteriological Analysis 

Manual, or Environmental Protection Agency 

method; or 

(2) an Emergency Use Method as set forth in the 

latest approved edition of the NSSP Guide for 

the Control of Molluscan Shellfish. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION  

 

16 NCAC 06G .0508 CHARTER SCHOOLS 

APPLICATION AND REVIEW PROCESS 

(a)  Applications for charters, and the nonrefundable one thousand 

dollar ($1,000) fee, shall be received by the Office of Charter 

Schools no later than the last Friday in July. 

(b)  Applications and fees received after the deadline specified by 

the Office of Charter Schools will not be considered, and any 

affected applicant groups will be notified in writing. 

(c)  When determining whether to award a charter, the SBE shall 

consider any factors relevant to academic, financial, and 

governance of the school, including the extent to which the 

application: 

(1) reflects the applicant's commitment to the 

purposes of the charter school law stated in G.S. 

115C-218(a); 

(2) promotes the use of different and innovative 

teaching methods; 

(3) reflects the applicant's planning, research, and 

understanding of educational issues, including 

budgeting, financing, and accounting; 

(4) describes a board whose size, diversity, and 

regional affiliations represent the community 

and are likely to promote community support 

for the school; 

(5) contains articles of incorporation and by-laws; 

(6) contains a budget that reflects anticipated 

revenues and costs, including costs associated 

with maintenance of the school facilities and 

projected growth; 

(7) contains a plan for acquisition and utilization of 

a facility consistent with the proposed budget 

and timeline for opening school; 

(8) describes a five year marketing plan that 

promotes a diverse student population; and 

(9) any other factor that it determines will promote 

the purposes of the Charter School Act, G.S. 

115C-218 et seq. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218, 115C-

218.1; 115C-218.5; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0101 PURPOSE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-4.01 through 20-4.12; 

20-37.6; 20-39; 20-42; 20-44 through 20-53; 20-54 through 

20-58; 20-58.4 through 20-58.10; 20-63.1; 20-64 through 
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20-79.3; 20-80 through 20-81; 20-81.2 through 20-81.7; 20-83 

through 20-88; 20-88.1; 20-94; 20-95; 20-109.1; 20-114; 

20-116; 20-118; 20-279; 20-286; 20-294; 20-309 through 

20-319; 20-347; 14-401.4; 105-164.3(16); 105-164.4(1); 

105-164; 105-314; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; February 1, 1982; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0102 FORMS 

The forms used by the Division of Motor Vehicles to administer 

the functions described in the rules of this Section are available 

from the Division of Motor Vehicles, 1100 New Bern Avenue, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27697 or online at www.ncdot.gov/dmv. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-41; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; February 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0201 FUNCTION 

This Section establishes the rules for vehicle registration in North 

Carolina including: 

(1) manufacturer's certificate of origin; 

(2) registration of out-of-state vehicles; 

(3) custom built vehicles; 

(4) motor homes; 

(5) purchase information required for registration; 

(6) buses for hire; 

(7) date vehicle first operated in North Carolina; 

(8) application for title only; 

(9) acknowledgements; 

(10) certified record fees; 

(11) registration of leased vehicle; 

(12) duplicate titles; 

(13) salvaged vehicles; and 

(14) penalty for failure to transfer registration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-4.01; 20-4.2; 20-4.3; 20-4.4; 

20-4.5; 20-4.7; 20-4.8; 20-4.9; 20-4.10; 20-4.11; 20-4.12; 

20-37.6; 20-39; 20-42; 20-44; 20-50; 20-51; 20-52; 20-53; 20-

57; 20-58; 20-58.4; 20-64; 20-66; 20-67; 20-68; 20-69; 20-70; 

20-72; 20-74; 20-75; 20-77; 20-79; 20-79.1; 20-79.2; 20-79.3; 

20-81; 20-81.2; 20-81.3; 20-81.4; 20-81.5; 20-81.6; 20-83; 20-

84; 20-85; 20-86; 20-87; 20-88; 20-94; 20-95; 20-109.1; 20-114; 

20-116; 20-118; 20-286; 20-294; 20-309; 20-311; 20-313; 20-

314; 20-315; 20-316; 20-317; 20-318; 20-319; 20-347; 14-401.4; 

105-164.4(1); 105-164; 105-314; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; March 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0225 CLASS OF LICENSE PLATE 

Any applicant seeking an initial license plate or a transfer of a 

license plate shall indicate the desired classification at the time of 

application. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-52; 20-64; 20-

72; 20-78; 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0227 DATE FIRST OPERATED 

The date a vehicle is placed into operation in North Carolina shall 

be indicated upon registration. An applicant shall be subject to the 

license fee on the date a vehicle is placed into operation in North 

Carolina, unless he or she is a new resident operating under 

reciprocity in accordance with G.S. 20-4.1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-4.01; 20-4.1; 20-39; 

20-52; 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0229 SIGNATURE 

The signature on any application for registration shall be written 

in ink or provided by electronic signature as referenced in Article 

40 of Chapter 66 of the North Carolina General Statutes and shall 

comply with the requirements of this Rule. 

(1) The signature shall include the owner's full 

name, including "junior" if applicable. 

(2) If the vehicle is jointly owned, each owner must 

sign. 

(3) If the owner is unable to write or print, he or she 

must make his or her mark. A disinterested 

party shall write the owner's name and then sign 

his name as a witness to the owner's mark. 

(4) When the owner is a partnership or a 

corporation, the signature shall show the name 

of the firm and be signed by an officer or 

partner. 

(5) A printed or typed version of the signature 

agreeing with the signature shall appear on each 

application. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-39; 20-52; 20-57; 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0233 LEASED VEHICLES 

Vehicles being leased under a private lease shall be titled and 

registered in the name of the lessor. A copy of the lease agreement 

shall be filed with the Division at the time of application for the 

certificate of title and registration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-4.01; 20-39; 20-50; 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0237 DISPLAY OF LICENSE PLATE 

RENEWAL STICKER 

(a)  The license plates issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles 

shall be renewed by attaching an annual validation sticker. 

(b)  These plates shall expire on the last day of the month indicated 

by the validation sticker. There is a 15-day grace period following 
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the expiration date of the sticker. The plate cannot be transferred 

to another vehicle during the grace period. 

(c)  The single month and year sticker shall be displayed on the 

plate in the upper right-hand corner. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-66; 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0423 SELF-PROPELLED CAMPING 

VEHICLES 

Self-propelled vehicles equipped with permanent living and 

sleeping facilities and used for camping are classed as private 

passenger vehicles. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-87(5); 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0427 PERSONALIZED PLATES AND 

SPECIALTY PLATES 

(a)  Specialty plates shall transfer from one vehicle to another if 

the vehicles have the same owner. 

(b)  Additional fees paid pursuant to G.S. 20-79.7 for a specialty 

plate shall not be refunded after the order has been submitted to 

the plate's manufacture. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-79.4; 20-79.7 

(recodified); 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

19A NCAC 03C .0431 PURCHASE OF OUT-OF-STATE 

VEHICLES: REMOVAL OF PLATES 

No resident of North Carolina shall use out-of-state license plates, 

unless the resident serves in the military, has dual residency, or 

where reciprocity agreements apply. This Rule applies to dealers 

and consumer owners. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-50; 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 25 - STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0908 ELIGIBILITY 

Full-time and part-time employees working half-time or more 

with a permanent, probationary, or time-limited appointment, 

shall receive paid holidays in accordance with the rules of this 

Section for the paid holidays. Part-time employees working half-

time or more shall receive holidays on a pro rata basis. Temporary 

and part-time employees working less than half-time are not 

eligible for paid holidays. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 2016; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission June 17, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Vacant 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

  June 17, 2021 July 15, 2021 
 August 19, 2021               September 16, 2021 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, JUNE 17, 2021 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Department of Environmental Quality – 01 NCAC 41D .0101, .0102 (Reeder) 
B. Coastal Resources Commission – 15A NCAC 07J .0403, .0404, .0405, .0407, .0410; 07K .0207 (Snyder) 
C. Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles - 19A NCAC 03C .0232 (May) 
D. Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles -19A NCAC 03F .0201, .0202, .0203; 03I .0307  

(Snyder) 
E. Real Estate Commission - 21 NCAC 58A .0104, .0105, .0110, .0114, .0120, .0503, .1601, .2202; 58H 

.0210, .0303 (Snyder) 
F. Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners - 21 NCAC 62 .0407, .0411 (May) 
G. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1101.13(R401.2) (Reeder) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between April 21, 2021 through May 20, 2021 

• Child Care Commission (May) 

• Medical Care Commission (Reeder) 

• Private Protective Services Board (Reeder) 

• Environmental Management Commission (Snyder) 

• Board of Chiropractic Examiners (May) 

• Licensing Board for General Contractors (May) 

• Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board (May) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: July 15, 2021  



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2021 

2639 

 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
April 21, 2021 through May 20, 2021 

 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are child care rules and include definitions (.0100); general provisions related to licensing (.0200); 
procedures for obtaining a license (.0300); issuance of provisional and temporary licenses (.0400); age and 
developmentally appropriate environments for centers (.0500); safety requirements for child care centers (.0600); staff 
qualifications (.0700); health standards for children (.0800); nutrition standards (.0900); transportation standards 
(.1000); continuing education and professional development (.1100); building code requirements for child care centers 
(.1300); space requirements (.1400); temporary care requirements (.1500); family child care home requirements (.1700); 
discipline (.1800); special procedures concerning abuse/neglect in child care (.1900); rulemaking and contested case 
procedures (.2000); religious-sponsored child care center requirements (.2100); administrative actions and civil 
penalties (.2200); forms (.2300); child care for mildly ill children (.2400); care for school-age children (.2500); child care 
for children who are medically fragile (.2600); criminal records checks (.2700); voluntary rated licenses (.2800); 
developmental day services (.2900); NC pre-kindergarten services (.3000); and care for school-age children during 
state of emergency(.3100). 

Enhanced Program Standards for a Rated License for Family... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2828 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13F concern licensing of homes for the aged and infirm and include definitions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); physical plant (.0300); staff qualification (.0400); staff orientation training, competency and continuing education 
(.0500); staffing (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident care 
and services (.0900); medication (.1000); Resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies; records and reports (.1200); 
special care units for alzheimer and related disorders (.1300); special care units for mental health disorders (.1400); use 
of physical restraints and alternatives (.1500); rated certificates (.1600); administrator certification and renewal (.1700); 
and infection prevention and control (.1800). 

Qualifications of Medication Staff 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0403 

Test for Tuberculosis 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0406 

The rules in Subchapter 13G concern licensing of family care homes including definitions (.0100); licensing (.0200); the 
building (.0300); staff qualifications (.0400); staffing orientation, training, competency and continuing education (.0500); 
staffing of the home (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident 
care and services (.0900); medications (.1000); management and resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies, records 
and reports (.1200); use of physical restraints and alternatives (.1300); rated certificates (.1600); and infection 
prevention and control (.1700).. 

Qualifications of Supervisor-In-Charge 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0402 

Qualifications of Medication Staff 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0403 

Test for Tuberculosis 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0405 

The rules in Subchapter 13P concern emergency medical services and trauma including definitions (.0100); EMS 
systems (.0200); specialty care transport programs (.0300); medical oversight and EMS personnel (.0400 - .0500); EMS 
educational institutions and programs (.0600); enforcement (.0700); trauma system definitions (.0800); trauma center 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2021 

2640 

standards and approval (.0900); trauma center designation enforcement (.1000); trauma system design (.1100); and 
recovery and rehabilitation of chemically dependent ems personnel (.1400). 

Abbreviations 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0101 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0102 

Transport of Stretcher Bound Patients 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0222 

Educational Programs 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0501 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for EMR, EMT, AEMT, Pa... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0502 

Renewal of Credentials for EMR, AEMT, Paramedic, and EMD 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0504 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for Level 1 EMS Instru... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0507 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for Level II EMS Instr... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0508 

Renewal of Credentials for Level I and Level II EMS Instr... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0510 

Reinstatement of Lapsed EMS Credential 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0512 

Continuing Education EMS Educational Program Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0601 

Basic and Advanced EMS Educational Institution Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0602 

Renewal Designation Process 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0905 

State Trauma System 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1101 

Chemical Addiction or Abuse Recovery Program Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1401 

Conditions for Restricted Practice with Limited Privileges 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1403 

Reinstatement of an Unencumbered EMS Credential 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1404 

Failure to Complete the Chemical Addiction or Abuse Recov... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1405 

EMS Educational Institutions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1505 

EMS Personnel Credentials 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1507 

Procedures for Qualifying for an EMS Credential Following... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1511 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
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fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); and 
armed armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400). 

Reporting Requirements 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0110 

Involvement in Administrative Hearing 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0113 

Application for Licenses and Trainee Permits 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0201 

Renewal or Re-issue of Licenses and Trainee Permits 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0203 

Determination of Experience 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0204 

Reports 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0404 

Private Investigator's Use of a Badge 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0405 

P.S.E. Examination Requirements 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0602 

Application for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0701 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0703 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0707 

Trainer Name to be Submitted to Director 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0708 

Application/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0801 

Training Requirements for Armed Security Guards 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0807 

Concealed Weapons 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0808 

Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0902 

Accreditation Standards 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1203 

Application for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registr... 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1301 

Training Requirements for Armed Armored Car Service Guards 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1407 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2B pertain to surface water standards and monitoring including procedures for assignment of 
water quality standards (.0100); the standards used to classify the waters of the state (.0200); stream classifications 
(.0300); effluent limitations (.0400); monitoring and reporting requirements (.0500); and water quality management plans 
(.0600). 

Water Quality Management Plans 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0227 

Cape Fear River Basin 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0311 
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The rules in Subchapter 2D are air pollution control requirements including definitions and references (.0100); air 
pollution sources (.0200); air pollution emergencies (.0300); ambient air quality standards (.0400); emission control 
standards (.0500); monitoring: recordkeeping: reporting (.0600); volatile organic compounds (.0900); motor vehicle 
emission control standard (.1000); control of toxic air pollutants (.1100); control of emissions from incinerators and 
combustion units (.1200); nitrogen oxides (.1400); municipal solid waste landfills (.1700); control of odors (.1800); open 
burning (.1900); transportation conformity (.2000); risk management program (.2100); special orders (.2200); banking 
emission reduction credits (.2300); and source testing (.2600). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1701 

Applicability 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1702 

Emission Standards 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1703 

Test Methods and Procedures 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1704 

Operational Standards 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1705 

Compliance Provisions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1706 

Monitoring Provisions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1707 

Reporting Requirements 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1708 

Recordkeeping Requirements 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1709 

Compliance Schedule 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1710 

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 10 include organization of the Board (.0100); the practice of chiropractic (.0200); rules of unethical 
conduct (.0300); rule-making procedures (.0400); investigation of complaints (.0500); contested cases and hearings in 
contested cases (.0600-.0700); and miscellaneous provisions (.0800). 

Structure of Board 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0103 

North Carolina Examination 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0203 

Continuing Education Seminars 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0207 

Waiver 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0216 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 12A concern general provisions including organization and responsibilities of the board (.0100); 
licensing requirements (.0200); application procedure (.0300); examination (.0400); license (.0500); board disciplinary 
procedures (.0700); contested cases (.0800); and homeowners recovery fund (.0900). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0201 

Permits and Inspections 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0212 
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Renewal of License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0503 

Waiver 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0607 

The rules in Subchapter 12B concern the general provisions (.0100); providers (.0200); courses (.0300); and instructors 
(.0400) for continuing education. 

Attendance; Roster Reports and Certificates 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12B .0204 

Course Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12B .0301 

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 28B are from the Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board and include board meetings and 
definitions (.0100); licensure, reciprocity and seal (.0200); license renewal and reinstatement (.0300); continuing 
education (.0400); minimum standards (.0500); fees (.0600); complaints and investigations (.0700); and hearings 
process and summary suspension (.0800). 

Practice of Landscape Contracting; Display of License Number 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 28B .0103 

Maintain Current Information 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 28B .0204 

Continuing Education Units 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 28B .0402 

Continuing Education Records; Audit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 28B .0403 

Turf 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 28B .0503 

Walls 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 28B .0508 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 

Selina Malherbe    Michael Byrne 

     Karlene Turrentine 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 ABC 03504 4/6/2021 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Prachi Adhikary, Inc T/A C Mart Ward 

20 ABC 04787 4/14/2021 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. MAA Gayatri Properties LLC T/A 

Ganesh Mart 

Lassiter 

        

19 DHR 06333 4/26/2021 Lacey Queen  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Sutton 

20 DHR 05322 4/6/2021 Adonai Victory 

Health Services  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Health Benefits 

Malherbe 

        

20 DOJ 03449 4/22/2021 Robert Erick Jordan  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

20 DOJ 04028 4/6/2021 Ladonte Lashawn 

Hines-Tobar  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

20 DOJ 04991 4/16/2021 Dustin Matthew 

Williams  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

21 DOJ 00672 4/8/2021 Julius Jamaal 

Mckinney  

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

        

20 DST 03183 4/12/2021 Roger L Stancil  v. North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer, Retirement Systems 

Division 

Lassiter 

        

21 INS 00074 4/12/2021 Micheala Rose 

Griffin Coleman  

v. NC State Health Plan May 

21 INS 00076 4/5/2021 Melanie Bearror  v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and Employees ( A Division 

of the Department of State Treasurer) 

May 
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20 UNC 04605 4/22/2021 Kammeron Stumpf  v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Ward 

        

    Unpublished    

        

20 CRA 03865 4/9/2021 Taquila S Nelson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

21 CRA 00937 4/14/2021 Mondarius E Henry  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

        

19 CSE 05837 4/14/2021 Samuel Fianko-

Ofori  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

20 CSE 04052 4/19/2021 Carol McCullough  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04074 4/16/2021 Verna Ortiz  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 04174 4/12/2021 Sierras D Cobb  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04175 4/1/2021 Jessica Rappe v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 04194 4/12/2021 Sharef McBride  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04209 4/12/2021 Devin M Phillips  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04233 4/12/2021 Dwight F McArn  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04257 4/12/2021 Harold Moore Jr  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04275 4/19/2021 Otis L Johnson Jr. v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04276 4/12/2021 Peter B Savage  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

20 CSE 04293 4/16/2021 Andre D Thompson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04315 4/27/2021 Erik J Wilson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04316 4/29/2021 Takoby C Cofield  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Turrentine 

20 CSE 04317 4/20/2021 Darrell Morgan  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 
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20 CSE 04322 4/23/2021 Matthew Asby  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04323 4/29/2021 Derrick Anthony 

Breckenridge  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04333 4/5/2021 Kevin M Bizjak  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04390 4/16/2021 Halisaam R 

Thompson  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04394 4/12/2021 Junior R Laguerre  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04397 4/12/2021 William Smith v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04436 4/1/2021 Rudy Kyle 

Thompson  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04455 4/21/2021 Derick V Collier  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04468 4/16/2021 Christopher B 

Walters  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04469 4/16/2021 Christopher B 

Walters  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04494 4/27/2021 David Coyote-

Garcia  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04532 4/21/2021 April Burgess  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04556 4/26/2021 Peter R Knott  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04569 4/26/2021 Harold L Lofton  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04572 4/26/2021 Derrick L Terry  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04608 4/5/2021 Michael West 

Miller  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

20 CSE 04609 4/23/2021 Cori E Simms  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04614 4/13/2021 Gregory Kearn 

Clyburn  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04667 4/14/2021 Jerron C Faulk  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 
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20 CSE 04669 4/19/2021 Steven T Tipmore II  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04690 4/15/2021 Jon R Lofthouse  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04692 4/30/2021 David M Kroll  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 04728 4/13/2021 Angelo Newkirk, 

JR  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 05042 4/16/2021 Brandon M Terrell  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

21 CSE 00376 4/5/2021 Melvin Lee 

Williams  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

21 CSE 00648 4/8/2021 Daniel James 

Richards  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

21 CSE 01215 4/22/2021 Darrin Butch Strunk  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

        

21 DCS 00773 4/21/2021 Robin W Morgan  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

21 DCS 00774 4/21/2021 Sarah Stafford v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

        

20 DHR 04043 4/9/2021 India Haynes by her 

attorney F Lane 

Williamson  

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

20 DHR 04112 4/12/2021 Kathy Irvin  v. On Site Water Protection Section 

Rowan County NC Environmental 

Health 

May 

20 DHR 04502 4/23/2021 Patricia Dixon  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DHR 04600 4/23/2021 Karen Katrina 

Wilkins  

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DHR 04610 4/21/2021 Leslie Dunbar  v. Ms. Lisa G - General Counsel 

Department of Health and Human 

Services Office of Legal Affairs 

Sutton 

20 DHR 04633 4/13/2021 Daryl Bodricks Bar 

B Q 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Public Health 

Environmental Health Section 

Sutton 

21 DHR 00358 4/6/2021 Room to Grow 

Michelle P Jones  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Byrne 

21 DHR 00833 4/7/2021 Jeffrey D Dekeyser  v. DHHS Lassiter 

21 DHR 01159 4/16/2021 Dorothy Edwards  v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Turrentine 
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21 DHR 01617 4/12/2021 All My Children 

Child Care Center 

Paulette 

Muhammad  

v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of 

Public Health, Child & Adult Care 

Food Program 

Ward 

21 DHR 01643 4/30/2021 Michelle P Jones 

Room to Grow  

v. NC Dept of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development 

Lassiter 

        

20 DOJ 05456 4/9/2021 Ethan Joseph 

Cornell  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

20 DOJ 05457 4/9/2021 Nicole Claire Leslie  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

21 DOJ 00443 4/19/2021 Jerry Lee McClarin  v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

21 DOJ 00943 4/27/2021 Laura Lee Young 

Steele  

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Byrne 

        

21 EHR 00279 4/20/2021 Kevin G Pool  v. NC Division of Air Quality Turrentine 

        

21 OSP 00440 4/13/2021 Quinton M Ashe  v. NC Department of Transportation Byrne 

 

 


