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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alarm Systems Licensing Board intends to amend the rule cited 

as 14B NCAC 17 .0201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/alarm-

system-licensing-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 8, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule amendment is currently 

a temporary rule to ease the burden on licensees during the 

current pandemic.  It is proposed as a permanent amendment to 

alleviate any similar burden for a future national or State 

declared emergency. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax 

(919) 715-0370; email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  July 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 17 - ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application 

on the website provided by the Board. When this online 

application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. fingerprint 

card provided by the Board and mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality 

for identification, taken within six months prior 

to the online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceeding 60 months; and 

(4) the applicant's application fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

third-party vendor and credit card transaction 

fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. 

(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other 

equivalent documentation. 

(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board stating that the applicant has reviewed the information with 

the Board's representative and that the applicant understands G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter. During a national 

or State declared state of emergency which restricts or prohibits 

travel the personal meeting requirement may be waived in lieu of 

alternative means of communication. 

(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. This 

online application shall be accompanied by the branch office 

application fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-5; 74D-7; 74D-8. 
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TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Environmental Management Commission 

intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A 

NCAC 02E .0301, .0501, .0502, .0504, .0505, .0507, .0602, .0603, 

.0605-.0615, readopt without substantive changes the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 02E .0106, .0107, .0601, .0604, and repeal through 

readoption the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02E .0503, and .0506. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/news/events/public-notices-hearings 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 20, 2021 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:   

In the abundance of caution, and to address protective measures 

to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, the NC Division of Water 

Resources is holding an online public hearing that can be joined 

starting at 5:45 pm via WebEx link:  

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=ed

24ad39f5c499f4c8a32f8afb034c78d  

WebEx password: ncdwr  

WebEx phone number: 1-415-655-0003  

WebEx access code: 185 923 0287  

 

To register for the hearing and provide your preference regarding 

speaking at the hearing, please visit:  

https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=3IF2etC

5mkSFw­zCbNftGRcM2xmuszROiks3JDQp2 

RUN0cxVkU2TFFTN!dYSDRFWU4zSTlSVEFYNC4u 

 

Or scan the following QR code with your phone: 

 
 

Registration must be completed by 12:00 pm on May 20, 2021. If 

you have any problems registering online, please call 919-707-

9024 by the registration deadline of 12:00 pm on May 20, 2021.  

 

The Division of Water Resources highly recommends testing your 

computer's WebEx capabilities prior to the hearing at 

https://www.webex.com/test-meeting.html. For instructions about 

digital ways to join the public hearing, please refer to the WebEx 

Help Center online at https://help.webex.com/en-us/.  

 

To comment during the hearing after your name is called as a 

registered speaker and/or after the hearing officer asks if any 

people wish to comment following the registered speakers: 

 

-If you join the hearing by phone, press *3 to "raise your hand," 

speak once called upon to do so, and 

press *3 again to "lower your hand." 

-If you join the hearing online, press the hand icon to "raise your 

hand," speak once called upon to do so, and press the hand icon 

again to "lower your hand." 

-The Hearing Officer may limit the length of time that you may 

speak, so that all those who wish to 

speak may do so. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  N.C. Gen. Stat. 150B-21.3A 

requires state agencies to review existing rules every 10 years, 

determine which rules are still necessary, and either re-adopt or 

repeal each rule as appropriate. The proposed rulemaking 

satisfies these requirements for the re-adoption process for the 

following 15A NCAC 02E­Water Use Registration and Allocation 

Rules: 

 

.0100 General Provisions  

.0300 Registration of Water Withdrawals and Transfers  

.0500 Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area  

.0600 Water Use During Droughts and Water Supply 

Emergencies  

 

The .0300 -Registration of Water Withdrawals and Transfers 

rules collects annual self-supplied water use data from 85 

counties outside of the Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area 

to manage the limited water resources. The .0500 -Central 

Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area (CCPCUA) was created due to 

unsustainable ground water withdrawals of two major aquifers in 

the central coastal plain: the Black Creek and Upper Cape Fear. 

There is evidence of present and future ground water supply 

shortages within the area encompassed by the 15 counties in the 

CCPCUA. Within this area, ground water from the Black Creek 

and Upper Cape Fear aquifers is being withdrawn at a rate that 

exceeds the available recharge. To address this problem, DWR 

created the CCPCU A to regulate water use through permitting 

to avoid damage to the ground water resources and to maintain 

those sources of water indefinitely. The .0600 -Water Use During 

Droughts and Water Supply Emergencies rules established 

minimum standards and practices for water conservation and 

water reuse during drought and water supply emergencies. The 

rules addressed water use by publicly and privately owned water 

systems, state agencies, local governments, business, industry, 

agriculture and horticulture. The purpose of the rules is to 

minimize harmful impacts on public health and safety, 

environmental quality, and the economy by establishing minimum 

standards and practices for water shortage response planning, 

water use reporting, water conservation, and water reuse during 

droughts and water supply emergencies.  

 

Proposed changes to 15A NCAC 02E Water Use Registration and 

Allocation Rules include: 

• Updated of agency names and addresses 

• removed language already codified 

• removed incorrect reporting requirements already 

codified 

• format changes and removed some unnecessary 

language 

• repealed outdated language 

• updated language for clarification 
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• added three definitions (aquifer recharge, cretaceous 

aquifer system zones, and recharge rate) 

• alphabetized the definitions 

• added definitions 

• reworded language for clarification 

• updated language for clarification 

• updated rule cross-reference 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Linwood Peel, NC DEQ-DWR 

Planning Section, 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1611; phone (919) 707-9024; email linwood.peele@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  July 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02E - WATER USE REGISTRATION AND 

ALLOCATION 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0106 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

As used herein, unless the context otherwise requires: 

(1) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Water Resources. 

(2) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-87; 143-215.14; 143-215.21. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0107 DELEGATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

(a)  The Director is delegated the authority to grant, modify, 

revoke or deny permits under G.S. 143-215.15 and G.S. 143-

215.16. 

(b)  The Director may delegate any permitting function given by 

the Rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The Director is delegated the authority to assess civil penalties 

and request the Attorney General to institute civil actions under 

G.S. 143-215.17. 

(d)  The Director is delegated the authority to process applications 

and collect fees for registration of water withdrawals and transfers 

under G.S. 143-215.22H and G.S. 143- 215.3(a)(1b). 

(e)  The Director may delegate any water withdrawal or transfer 

registration processing functions given by the Rules of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(4). 

 

SECTION .0300 - REGISTRATION OF WATER 

WITHDRAWALS AND TRANSFERS 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0301 APPLICATION; PROCESSING 

FEES 

(a)  Any person subject to G.S. 143-215.22H, shall complete, sign, 

and submit an application for registration, on a form provided by 

the Department, to the Director of the Division of Water 

Resources. The registration application and registration 

processing fee as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule (if 

applicable) shall be mailed to the Division of Water Resources, 

North Carolina Department of Environment, Health, and Natural 

Resources, Post Office Box 27687, Raleigh, North Carolina 

27611-7687 Environmental Quality, mailing address shall be 

provided by Division of Water Resources. 

(b)  Except as otherwise provided in this Rule, a non-refundable 

registration processing fee in the amount of fifty dollars ($50.00) 

shall be paid when the registration application form is submitted. 

(1) No registration application form is complete 

until the registration processing fee is paid. 

(2) Each facility from which a person withdraws or 

transfers one million gallons per day or more 

must be separately registered. The registration 

application for each facility to be registered 

must include the fee in the amount set forth in 

this Rule. 

(3)(2) A late registration fee in the amount of five 

dollars ($5.00) per day for each day the 

registration of a water transfer or withdrawal is 

late, up to a maximum of five hundred dollars 

($500.00), shall be assessed as a penalty for 

failure to register the water transfer or 

withdrawal in a timely manner. The penalty 

pursuant to G.S. 143-215.22H(e) shall stop 

stops accruing on the date of receipt of the 

completed registration application by the 

Division of Water Resources. 

(4)(3) Payment of the registration processing fee may 

be by check or money order made payable to 

the "N. C. Department of Environment, Health, 
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and Natural Resources." "N. C. Department of 

Environmental Quality." The check or money 

order shall refer to the water withdrawal or 

transfer registration application. 

(c)  Except as otherwise provided in this Rule, upon receipt of a 

properly completed application form and the registration 

processing fee, the applicant shall be issued a receipt of 

registration. 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.3(a)(la), and G.S. 143-215.22H, no 

fees including late registration fees for failing to register or update 

registrations in a timely manner, are required to be paid under this 

Rule by a farmer who submits an application for or an update of 

a registration of a withdrawal or transfer that pertains to farming 

operations. Upon receipt of a properly completed application from 

a farmer, the applicant will be issued a receipt of registration. 

whose activities are directly related or incidental to the production 

of crops, fruits, vegetables, ornamental and flowering plants, 

dairy products, livestock, poultry, and other agricultural products, 

or to the creation or maintenance of waterfowl impoundments. 

(e)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.22H(c), separate registration of a 

water withdrawal or transfer is not required of a local government 

that completes and periodically revises and updates its water 

supply plan pursuant to G.S. 143-355(l). 

(f)  Any person who withdraws or transfers one million gallons or 

more in any single day must register the withdrawal or transfer. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1a); 143-215.3(a)(1b); 

143-215.22H; 143-355(1). 

 

SECTION .0500 - CENTRAL COASTAL PLAIN 

CAPACITY USE AREA 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0501 DECLARATION AND 

DELINEATION OF CENTRAL COASTAL PLAIN 

CAPACITY USE AREA 

The area encompassed by the following 15 North Carolina 

counties and adjoining creeks, streams, and rivers is hereby 

declared and delineated as the Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use 

Area: 

(1) Beaufort  

(2) Carteret 

(3) Craven 

(4) Duplin 

(5) Edgecombe 

(6) Greene 

(7) Jones 

(8) Lenoir 

(9) Martin 

(10) Onslow 

(11) Pamlico 

(12) Pitt 

(13) Washington 

(14) Wayne; and 

(15) Wilson. 

The Environmental Management Commission finds that the The 

use of ground water requires coordination and limited regulation 

in this delineated area for protection of the public interest. The 

intent of this Section is to protect the long -term productivity of 

aquifers within the designated area and to allow the use of ground 

water for beneficial uses at rates which do not exceed or threaten 

to exceed the recharge rate of the aquifers within the designated 

area. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.13. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0502 WITHDRAWAL PERMITS 

(a)  Existing ground water withdrawal permits issued in Capacity 

Use Area No. 1 (15A NCAC 02E .0200) within the Central 

Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area are reissued under Section .0500 

of this Subchapter and are valid until the expiration date specified 

in each permit. Water use permits are no longer required for 

withdrawals in Hyde and Tyrrell Counties as of the effective date 

of this Rule. Permits are not required for surface water use under 

Section .0500 of this Subchapter in the Central Coastal Plain 

Capacity Use Area as delineated in Rule .0501 of this Section. 

(b)  No person shall withdraw ground water after the effective date 

of this Rule in excess of 100,000 gallons per day by a well, group 

of wells operated as a system, or sump for any purpose unless such 

person shall first obtain he or she obtains a water use permit from 

the Director. Existing withdrawals of ground water as of the 

effective date of this Rule and proposed withdrawals previously 

approved for funding appropriated pursuant to the "Clean Water 

and Natural Gas Critical Needs Bond Act of 1998" or other local, 

state or federally funded projects as of the effective date of this 

Rule shall be allowed to proceed with construction or to continue 

to operate under interim status until a permit has been issued or 

denied by the Director, provided that persons withdrawing in 

excess of 100,000 gallons per day by a well, group of wells 

operated as a system, or sump comply with the following 

requirements: 

(1) Persons conducting withdrawals in the 

Capacity Use Area that require a permit shall 

submit a permit application to the Division of 

Water Resources within 180 days of the 

effective date of this Rule. 

(2) Persons who have submitted applications shall 

provide any additional information requested 

by the Division of Water Resources for 

processing of the permit application within 30 

days of the receipt of that request. 

(3) Persons conducting withdrawals in the 

Capacity Use Area that require a permit shall 

submit water level and water use data on a form 

supplied by the Division four times a year, 

within 30 days of the end of March, June, 

September, and December until a permit has 

been issued or denied by the Division of Water 

Resources. 

(c)  No ground water withdrawal shall result in adverse impacts, 

including dewatering of aquifers, encroachment of salt water, land 

subsidence or sinkhole development, or decline in aquifer water 

levels that indicate aggregate water use exceeds the aquifer 

recharge rate. Ground water withdrawals shall be governed by the 

following standards: 

(1) Adverse impacts of ground water withdrawals 

shall be avoided or minimized. Adverse 

impacts include, but are not limited to: 

(A) dewatering of aquifers; 
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(B) encroachment of salt water; 

(C) land subsidence or sinkhole 

development; or 

(D) declines in aquifer water levels that 

indicate that aggregate water use 

exceeds the aquifer replenishment 

rate. 

(2) Adverse impacts on other water users from 

ground water withdrawals shall be corrected or 

minimized through efficient use of water and 

development of sustainable water sources. 

(3) In determining the importance and necessity of 

a proposed withdrawal the efficiency of water 

use and implementation of conservation 

measures shall be considered. 

(d)  An application for a water use permit must be submitted on a 

form approved by the Director to the North Carolina Division of 

Water Resources. The application shall describe the purpose or 

purposes for which water shall be used, shall set forth the method 

and location of withdrawals, shall justify the quantities needed, 

and shall document water conservation measures to be used by the 

applicant to ensure efficient use of water and avoidance of waste. 

Any other information necessary to determine whether to grant or 

deny an application as requested by the Division shall be 

submitted to the Division within 30 days of the request. 

Withdrawal permit applications shall include the following 

information: 

(1) location Location by latitude and longitude of 

all wells to be used for withdrawal of water. 

water and all other wells within 1500 feet of the 

applicant's wells; 

(2) specifications Specifications for design and 

construction of existing and proposed 

production and monitoring wells including: 

including well diameter, total depth of well, 

depths of all open hole or screened intervals that 

will yield water to the well, depth of pump 

intake(s), size, capacity, and type of pump, 

depth to gravel pack, and depth measurements 

shall be within accuracy limits of plus or minus 

0.10 feet and referenced to a known land 

surface elevation; 

(A) Well diameter; 

(B) Total depth of the well; 

(C) Depths of all open hole or screened 

intervals that will yield water to the 

well; 

(D) Depth of pump intake(s); 

(E) Size, capacity and type of pump; 

(F) Depth to top of gravel pack; and 

(G) Depth measurements shall be within 

accuracy limits of plus or minus 0.10 

feet and referenced to a known land 

surface elevation. 

Exceptions may be made where specific items 

of information are not critical, as determined by 

the Director, to manage the ground water 

resource; 

(3) withdrawal Withdrawal permit applications for 

use of ground water from the Cretaceous 

aquifer system shall be reviewed recognizing 

the Cretaceous aquifer system zones. include 

plans to reduce water use from these aquifers as 

specified in Rule .0503 of this Section. 

Withdrawal rates from the Cretaceous aquifer 

system that exceed the approved base rate may 

be permitted during Phase I of Rule .0503 of 

this Section if the applicant can demonstrate to 

the Director's satisfaction a need for the greater 

amount. Cretaceous aquifer system wells shall 

be identified using the specifications in Rule 

.0502(d)(1) and .0502(d)(2) of this Section and 

the hydrogeological framework; 

(4) withdrawal Withdrawal permit applications for 

dewatering of mines, pits or quarries shall 

include a dewatering or depressurization plan 

that includes: 

(A) the current withdrawal rate or 

estimates of the proposed withdrawal 

rate; 

(B) the location, design and specifications 

of any sumps, drains or other 

withdrawal sources including wells 

and trenches; 

(C) the lateral extent and depth of the 

zone(s) to be dewatered or 

depressurized; 

(D) location by latitude and longitude of 

all wells within 1500 feet of the 

excavation boundary; 

(E)(D) a monitoring plan that provides data to 

delineate the nature and extent of 

dewatering or depressurization; and 

(F)(E) certification of all engineering plans 

and hydrogeological analyses 

prepared to meet these requirements 

consistent with professional licensing 

board statutes and rules governing 

such activities. 

Exceptions may be made where specific items 

of information are not critical, as determined by 

the Director, to manage the ground water. water 

resource; and 

(5) conservation measures. the The applicant shall 

provide information on existing conservation 

measures and conservation measures to be 

implemented during the permit period as 

follows: 

(A) Public water supply systems shall 

develop and implement a feasible 

water conservation plan incorporating, 

at a minimum, the following 

components. Each component shall be 

described, including a timetable for 

implementing each component that 

does not already exist. 
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(i) adoption Adoption of a water 

conservation-based rate 

structure, such as : flat rates, 

increasing block rates, 

seasonal rates, or quantity-

based surcharges; 

surcharges. 

(ii) implementation 

Implementation of a water 

loss reduction program if 

unaccounted for water is 

greater than 15 percent of the 

total amount produced, as 

documented annually using a 

detailed water audit. Water 

loss reduction programs shall 

consist of annual water 

audits, in-field leak 

detection, and leak repair; 

repair. 

(iii) adoption Adoption of a water 

conservation ordinance for 

irrigation, including such 

measures as: as time-of-day 

and day-of-week restrictions 

on lawn and ornamental 

irrigation, irrigation or 

automatic irrigation system 

shut-off devices; or other 

appropriate measures. 

(iv) implementation 

Implementation of a retrofit 

program that makes available 

indoor water conservation 

devices to customers, such 

(such as showerheads, toilet 

flappers, and faucet aerators; 

aerators). 

(v) implementation 

Implementation of a public 

education program, such 

(such as water bill inserts, 

school and civic 

presentations, water 

treatment plant tours, and 

public services 

announcements; and 

announcements, or other 

appropriate measures) . 

(vi) evaluation Evaluation of the 

feasibility of water reuse as a 

means of conservation, 

where applicable. 

(B) Users of water for commercial 

purposes, other than irrigation of crops 

and forestry stock, shall develop and 

implement a water conservation plan 

as follows: 

(i) an audit of water use by type 

of activity, such as process 

make up water and non-

contact cooling water, 

activity (for example, process 

make-up water, non-contact 

cooling water) including 

existing and potential 

conservation and reuse 

measures for each type of 

water use; and 

(ii) an implementation schedule 

for feasible measures 

identified in the above item 

for conservation and reuse of 

water at the facility. 

(C) Users of water for irrigation of crops 

and forestry stock shall provide the 

following information: 

(i) total acreage with irrigation 

available; 

(ii) types of crops that may be 

irrigated; 

(iii) method of irrigation such as 

(for example, wells that 

supply water to canals, 

ditches or central pivot 

systems or any other 

irrigation method using 

ground water); and 

(iv) a statement that the applicant 

uses conservation practice 

standards for irrigation as 

defined by the Natural 

Resources Conservation 

Service. 

(6) if If an applicant intends to operate an aquifer 

storage and recovery program (ASR), the 

applicant shall provide information on the 

storage zone, including the depth interval of the 

storage zone, lateral extent of the projected 

storage area, construction details of wells used 

for injection and withdrawal of water, and 

performance of the ASR program. 

(e)  The Director shall issue, modify, revoke, or deny each permit 

as set forth in G.S. 143-215.15. Permittees may apply for permit 

modifications. Any application submitted by a permittee shall be 

subject to the public notice and comment requirements of G.S. 

143-215.15(d). 

(f)  Permit duration shall be set by the Director as described in 

G.S. 143-215.16(a). Permit transferability is established in G.S. 

143-215.16(b). 

(e)(g)  Persons holding a permit shall submit signed water usage 

and water level reports to the Director not later than 30 days after 

the end of each permit reporting period as specified in the permit. 

Monitoring report requirements shall may include: 

(1) amounts Amounts of daily withdrawal from 

each well; well. 
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(2) pumping Pumping and static water levels for 

each supply well as measured with a steel or 

electric tape, or an alternative method as 

specified in the permit, at time intervals 

specified in the permit; permit. 

(3) static Static water levels in observation wells at 

time intervals specified in the permit; permit. 

(4) annual Annual sampling by applicants located 

in the salt water encroachment zone and 

chloride concentration analysis by a State 

certified laboratory; and laboratory. 

(5) any Any other information the Director 

determines to be pertinent and necessary to the 

evaluation of the effects of withdrawls. 

withdrawals during the application review 

process. 

(f)(h)  Water use permit holders shall not add new wells without 

prior approval from the Director. Director through a permit 

modification. 

(g)(i)  The Director may require permit holders to construct 

observation wells to observe water level and water quality 

conditions before and after water withdrawals begin if there are 

concerns about adverse impacts to the aquifer based on the 

withdrawal amount and location. there is a demonstrated need for 

aquifer Aquifer monitoring may be necessary to assess the impact 

of the withdrawal on the aquifer. 

(h)(j)  For all water uses other than dewatering of mines, pits or 

quarries, withdrawals shall be permitted only from wells that are 

constructed such that the pump intake or intakes are at a shallower 

depth than the top of the uppermost confined aquifer that yields 

water to the well. Confined aquifer tops are established in the 

hydrogeological framework. Where wells in existence as of the 

effective date of this Rule are not in compliance with the 

requirements of this provision, the permit shall include a 

compliance schedule for retrofitting or replacement of non-

compliant wells. Withdrawals from unconfined aquifers shall not 

lower the water table by an amount large enough to decrease the 

effective thickness of the unconfined aquifer by more than 50 

percent. 

(i)(k)  For withdrawals to dewater mines, pits or quarries, the 

permit shall delimit the extent of the area and depths of the 

aquifer(s) to be dewatered or depressurized. Maximum 

withdrawal rates and the permissible extent of dewatering or 

depressurization shall be determined by the Director using data 

provided by the applicant, data related to permits under G.S. 74-

50, 74-47, and other publicly available information. Withdrawal 

rates that do not cause adverse impacts, as defined in Rule 

.0502(c) of this Section, shall be approved. 

(j)(l)  Withdrawals of water that cause changes in water quality 

such that the available uses of the resource are adversely affected, 

by dewatering or salt water encroachment, shall not be permitted. 

For example, withdrawals shall not be permitted that result in 

migration of ground water that contains more than 250 milligrams 

per liter chloride into pumping wells that contain chloride at 

concentrations below 250 milligrams per liter. 

(k)(m)  General permits may be developed by the Division and 

issued by the Director for categories of withdrawal that involve 

the same or substantially similar operations, have similar 

withdrawal characteristics, require the same limitations or 

operating conditions, and require similar monitoring. 

(l)(n)  Permitted water users may withdraw and sell or transfer 

water to other users provided that their permitted withdrawal 

limits are not exceeded. 

(m)(o)  A permitted water user may sell or transfer to other users 

a portion of his permitted withdrawal. To carry out such a transfer, 

the original permittee must request a permit modification to 

reduce his permitted withdrawal and the proposed recipient of the 

transfer must apply for a new or amended withdrawal permit. 

permit under Section .0500 of this Subchapter. 

(n)(p)  The Director shall issue a temporary permit when the 

following conditions are met: 

(1) Where an applicant or a permit holder can 

demonstrate demonstrates that compliance with 

water withdrawal limits established pursuant to 

this Section under Section .0500 of this 

Subchapter is not possible because of 

construction schedules, requirements of other 

laws, or other reasons beyond the control of the 

applicant or permit holder; holder, and where 

(2) the applicant or permit holder has made good 

faith efforts to conserve water and to plan the 

develop ment of other water sources, and 

sources, the Director may issue a temporary 

permit with an alternative schedule to attain 

compliance with provisions of Section .0500 of 

this Subchapter, as authorized in G.S. 143-

215.15(c)(ii). 

(3) the applicant or permit holder provides data 

from monitoring wells which support a higher 

withdrawal rate which does not exceed the 

recharge rate. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.14; 143-215.15; 143-215.16. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0503 PRESCRIBED WATER USE 

REDUCTIONS IN CRETACEOUS AQUIFER ZONES 

Cretaceous aquifer water use shall be reduced in prescribed areas 

over a 16 year period, starting from approved base rates on the 

effective date of this Rule. The Cretaceous aquifer system zones 

and the three phases of water use reductions are listed as follows: 

(1) Cretaceous aquifer system zones are regions 

established in the fresh water portion of the 

Cretaceous aquifer system that delimit zones of 

salt water encroachment, dewatering and 

declining water levels. These zones are 

designated on the paper and digital map entitled 

"Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area 

Cretaceous Aquifer Zones" (CCPCUA) on file 

in the Office of the Secretary of State one week 

prior to the effective date of these Rules 

(2) The reductions specified in this Rule do not 

apply to intermittent users. 

(3) If a permittee implements an aquifer storage 

and recovery program (ASR), reduction 

requirements will be based on the total net 

withdrawals. The reductions specified in this 

Rule do not apply if the volume of water 
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injected into the aquifer is greater than the 

withdrawal volume. If the withdrawal volume 

is greater than the injected volume, reductions 

specified in this Rule apply to the difference 

between the withdrawal volume and the 

injected volume. 

(4) The reductions specified in this Rule shall not 

reduce permitted water use rates below 100,001 

gallons per day. 

(5) Phase definitions: 

(a) Phase I: The six year period extending 

into the future from the effective date 

of this Rule. 

(b) Phase II: The five year period 

extending into the future from six 

years after the effective date of this 

Rule to 11 years after the effective 

date of this Rule. 

(c) Phase III: The five year period 

extending into the future from 11 years 

after the effective date of this Rule to 

16 years after the effective date of this 

Rule. 

(6) Phase reductions: 

(a) Phase I: 

(i) At the end of the Phase I, 

permittees who are located in 

the dewatering zone shall 

reduce annual water use from 

Cretaceous aquifers by 25% 

from their approved base 

rate. 

(ii) At the end of the Phase I, 

permittees who are located in 

the salt water encroachment 

zone shall reduce annual 

water use from Cretaceous 

aquifers by 25% from their 

approved base rate. 

(iii) At the end of the Phase I, 

permittees who are located in 

the declining water level 

zone shall reduce annual 

water use from Cretaceous 

aquifers by 10% from their 

approved base rate. 

(b) Phase II: 

(i) At the end of the Phase II, 

permittees who are located in 

the dewatering zone shall 

reduce annual water use from 

Cretaceous aquifers by 50% 

from their approved base 

rate. 

(ii) At the end of the Phase II, 

permittees who are located in 

the salt water encroachment 

zone shall reduce annual 

water use from Cretaceous 

aquifers by 50% from their 

approved base rate. 

(iii) At the end of the Phase II, 

permittees who are located in 

the declining water level 

zone shall reduce annual 

water use from Cretaceous 

aquifers by 20% from their 

approved base rate. 

(c) Phase III: 

(i) At the end of the Phase III, 

permittees who are located in 

the dewatering zone shall 

reduce annual water use from 

Cretaceous aquifers by 75% 

from their approved base 

rate. 

(ii) At the end of the Phase III, 

permittees who are located in 

the salt water encroachment 

zone shall reduce annual 

water use from Cretaceous 

aquifers by 75% from their 

approved base rate. 

(iii) At the end of the Phase III, 

permittees who are located in 

the declining water level 

zone shall reduce annual 

water use from Cretaceous 

aquifers by 30% from their 

approved base rate. 

(7) The CCPCUA Cretaceous Aquifer Zones map 

shall be updated, if necessary, in the sixth, 

eleventh, and sixteenth years following the 

effective date of this Rule to account for aquifer 

water level responses to phased withdrawal 

reductions. The map update shall be based on 

the following conditions: 

(a) Rate of decline in water levels in the 

aquifers; 

(b) Rate of increase in water levels in the 

aquifers; 

(c) Stabilization of water levels in the 

aquifers; and 

(d) Chloride concentrations in the 

aquifers. 

This aquifer information shall be analyzed on a regional scale and 

used to develop updated assessments of aquifer conditions in the 

Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area. The Environmental 

Management Commission (EMC) may adjust the aquifer zones 

and the water use reduction percentages for each zone based on 

the assessment of conditions. The EMC shall adopt the updated 

map and reduction percentage changes after public hearing. 

(8) The reductions specified in this Rule do not 

apply to wells exclusively screened or open to 

the Peedee aquifer. 

(9) An applicant may submit documentation 

supporting the exemption of a well located in 

the Declining Water Level Zone from the 
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withdrawal reductions specified in this Rule. 

This documentation must include a record of 

monthly static water levels from that well over 

at least a three-year period, ending with the 

month when the request for exemption is 

submitted. The Director may exempt a well 

from reductions if the water level history shows 

no pattern of decline during this three-year 

period. A well previously exempted from the 

withdrawal reductions shall become subject to 

the reduction if water levels begin to show a 

pattern of decline. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.15. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0504 REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTRY 

AND INSPECTION 

(a)  The Division may enter and inspect property in order to 

evaluate wells, pumps, metering equipment or other withdrawal 

or measurement devices and records of water withdrawals and 

water levels, if: 

(1) Persons conduct an activity that the Division 

believes requires the use of water at quantities 

that subject the person subject to regulation 

under these Rules; 

(2) A permittee or applicant has not provided data 

or information on use of water and wells and 

other water withdrawal facilities as required by 

these Rules; or 

(3) Water levels and chloride concentrations at the 

person's facility, or at nearby facilities and/or or 

monitoring stations, indicate that aquifers may 

be damaged by overpumping, overpumping or 

salt water encroachment, or other adverse 

impacts affects that may be attributed to 

withdrawal by the person. 

(b)  All information submitted to fulfill the requirements of these 

Rules, or to obtain a permit under these Rules, or obtained by 

inspection under these Rules, shall be treated as Confidential 

Business Information, if requested by the applicant, and found to 

be such by the Division. Reports defined in Rule .0502(e) 

.0502(g) of this Section are not considered Confidential Business 

Information. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.19. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0505 ACCEPTABLE WITHDRAWAL 

METHODS THAT DO NOT REQUIRE A PERMIT 

(a)  As of the effective date of this Rule, any Any person who is 

not subject to Rule .0502 of this Section and withdraws more than 

10,000 gallons per day from surface or ground water in the Central 

Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area, shall register such withdrawals 

on a form supplied by the Division and comply with the following 

provisions: 

(1) construct Construct new wells such that the 

pump intake or intakes are above the top of the 

uppermost confined aquifer that yields water to 

the well. Confined aquifer tops are established 

in the hydrogeological framework; 

(2) report Report surface and ground water use to 

the Division of Water Resources on an annual 

basis on a form supplied by the Division; and 

(3) withdraw Withdraw water in a manner that does 

not damage the aquifer, aquifer or cause salt 

water encroachment, encroachment or other 

adverse impacts. 

(b)  Requirements of this Rule These requirements do not apply 

to withdrawals to supply an individual domestic dwelling. 

(c)  Agricultural water users may either register water use with the 

Division of Water Resources as provided in this Rule or provide 

the information to the North Carolina Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.14; 143-355(k). 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0506 CENTRAL COASTAL PLAIN 

CAPACITY USE AREA STATUS REPORT 

Within two years of the effective date of this Rule, and at five-

year intervals thereafter, the Division of Water Resources shall 

publish a status report on the Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use 

Area. The report shall include the following: 

(1) Compilations of water use data; 

(2) Evaluations of surface and ground water 

resources; 

(3) Updated information about the hydrogeologic 

framework in the Central Coastal Plain 

Capacity Use Area; 

(4) A summary of alternative water sources and 

water management techniques that may be 

feasible by generalized geographic location; 

and 

(5) A status report on actions by water users to 

develop new water sources and to increase 

water use efficiency. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.14. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0507 DEFINITIONS 

The following is a list of definitions for terms found in Section 

.0500 of this Subchapter: 

(1) Approved base rate: The larger of a person's 

January 1, 1997 through December 31, 1997 or 

August 1, 1999 through July 31, 2000 annual 

water use rate from the Cretaceous aquifer 

system, or an adjusted water use rate 

determined by through negotiation with the 

Division based upon documentation of the 

following information: using documentation 

provided by the applicant of: 

(a) water use reductions made since 

January 1, 1992; 

(b) use of wells for which funding has 

been approved or for which plans have 

been approved by the Division of 

Environmental Health Department of 

Environmental Quality by the 

effective date of this Rule August 1, 

2002; 
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(c) the portion of a plant nursery operation 

using low volume micro-irrigation; or 

(d) other relevant information pertaining 

to water use during the time periods 

specified. 

(2) Aquifer: Water-bearing earth materials that are 

capable of yielding water in usable quantities to 

a well or spring. 

(3) Aquifer recharge: Precipitation that infiltrates 

into the subsurface. 

(4)(3) Aquifer storage and recovery program (ASR): 

Controlled injection of water into an aquifer 

with the intent to store water in the aquifer for 

subsequent withdrawal and use. 

(5)(4) Confining unit: A geologic formation that does 

not yield usable economically practical 

quantities of water to wells or springs. 

Confining units separate aquifers and slow the 

movement of ground water. 

(6)(5) Cretaceous aquifer system: A system of 

aquifers in the North Carolina coastal plain that 

is comprised of water-bearing earth materials 

deposited during the Cretaceous period of 

geologic time. The extent of the Cretaceous 

Aquifer System is defined in the 

hydrogeological framework and includes the 

Peedee, Black Creek, Upper Cape Fear and 

Lower Cape Fear aquifers. 

(7) Cretaceous aquifer system zones: Regions 

established in the fresh water portion of the 

Cretaceous aquifer system that delimit zones of 

salt water encroachment, dewatering and 

declining water levels. These zones are 

designated on the paper and digital map entitled 

"Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area 

Cretaceous Aquifer Zones" (CCPCUA) on file 

in the Office of the Secretary of State. These 

zones encompass areas sensitive to over-

development because aquifer withdrawal rates 

can exceed recharge rates. Between August 1, 

2002 and July 31, 2019 Cretaceous Aquifer 

system zone users were required to reduce 

withdrawals from their Approved Base Rates 

up to 30% in the declining water level zone and 

up to 75% in the dewatering and salt water 

encroachment zones. The reductions came 

about through large investments by water users 

in alternative water sources and water treatment 

systems. Intermittent users were not required to 

reduce withdrawals. Users of wells exclusively 

screened or open to the Peedee aquifer were not 

required to reduce withdrawals. 

(8)(6) Dewatering: Dewatering occurs when aquifer 

water levels are depressed below the top of a 

confined aquifer or water table declines 

adversely impact affect the resource. 

(9)(7) Flat rates: Unit price remains the same 

regardless of usage within customer class. 

(10)(8) Fresh water: Water containing chloride 

concentrations equal to or less than 250 

milligrams per liter. 

(11)(9) Gravel pack: Sand or gravel sized material 

inside the well bore and outside the well screen 

and casing. 

(12)(10) Ground water: Water in pore spaces or void 

spaces of subsurface sediments or consolidated 

rock. 

(13)(11) Hydrogeological framework: A three-

dimensional representation of aquifers and 

confining units that is stored in Division data 

bases and may be adjusted by applicant 

supplied information. 

(14)(12) Increasing block rates: Unit price increases with 

additional usage. 

(15)(13) Intermittent users: Persons who withdraw 

ground water less than 60 days per calendar 

year and or who withdraw less than 15 million 

gallons of ground water in a calendar year; or 

aquaculture operations registered by the Board 

of Agriculture in accordance with G.S. 106-761 

licensed under the authority of G.S. 106-761 

using water for the initial filling of ponds or 

refilling of ponds no more frequently than every 

five years. 

(16)(14) Observation well: A non-pumping well 

screened in a particular aquifer where water 

levels can be measured and water samples can 

be obtained. 

(17)(15) Pumping water level: The depth to ground 

water in a pumping well as measured from a 

known land surface elevation. Measurements 

shall be made four hours after pumping begins. 

Measurements shall be within accuracy limits 

of plus or minus 0.10 feet. 

(18)(16) Quantity based surcharges: Surcharges billed 

with usage over a certain determined quantity. 

(19)(17) Recharge rate: The rate of which water 

replenishes an aquifer. Recharge rates for the 

Cretaceous aquifer system vary depending on 

the thickness and hydraulic conductivity of the 

overlying sedimentary layers. A best fit line 

through water levels from the Division operated 

monitoring wells over a given time interval will 

show if withdrawals exceed, are less than, or are 

equal to the aquifer recharge rate. 

(20)(17) Salt water: Water containing chloride 

concentrations equal to and in excess of 250 

milligrams per liter. 

(21)(18) Salt water encroachment: The lateral or vertical 

migration of salt water toward areas occupied 

by fresh water. This may occur in aquifers due 

to natural or man-made causes. 

(22)(19) Seasonal rates: Unit price changes prices 

change according to the season. 

(23)(20) Static water level: The depth to ground water in 

a non-pumping well as measured from a known 

land surface elevation. Measurements shall be 
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made after pumping has ceased for 12 hours. 

Measurements shall be within accuracy limits 

of plus or minus 0.10 feet. 

(24)(21) Unaccounted for water: The difference between 

the total water entering the system, including 

produced and purchased, system (produced and 

purchased) and the total metered or otherwise 

accounted for water usage. 

(25)(22) Water table: The water level in an unconfined 

aquifer. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.14. 

 

SECTION .0600 – WATER USE DURING DROUGHTS 

AND WATER SUPPLY EMERGENCIES 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0601 SCOPE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

The purpose of this Section is to minimize harmful impacts of 

drought and water supply emergencies on public health and 

safety, environmental quality, and the economy by establishing 

minimum standards and practices for water shortage response 

planning, water use reporting, water conservation, and water reuse 

during droughts and water supply emergencies. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); 143-354(a)(8); S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0602 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply for the purposes of this 

Section, 

(9)(1) "Council" and "NCDMAC" mean the North 

Carolina Drought Management Advisory 

Council. 

(8)(2) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Environment and Natural 

Resources (DENR) Environmental Quality 

(DEQ). 

(10)(3) "Drought Advisory" means an advisory issued 

by the NCDMAC that delineates the geographic 

extent and severity of a water deficit significant 

enough to have social, environmental or 

economic effects. Drought Advisories shall be 

designated as Abnormally Dry, Moderate 

Drought, Severe Drought, Extreme Drought 

and Exceptional Drought to indicate the 

severity of conditions from least to most severe, 

respectively. 

(4) "Effective" means successful in producing the 

desired or intended result. 

(5) "Efficient" achieving maximum productivity 

with minimum wasted effort or expense. 

(6) "Efficient use" is reducing water wastage by 

measuring the amount of water required for a 

particular purpose and the amount of water used 

or delivered. 

(4)(7) "Essential water use" means the use of water 

necessary for fire fighting, health and safety 

purposes; water needed to sustain human and 

animal life; and water necessary to satisfy 

federal, state and local public health, safety or 

environmental protection requirements. 

(8) "Industry Best Management Practices" are 

methods that have been determined to be the 

most effective and practical means of 

completing a task. 

(9) "Industry Standards" are a set of criteria within 

an industry relating to the standard functioning 

and carrying out of operations in their 

respective fields of production. 

(10) "Normal Operating Procedures (NOPs)" is a set 

of step-by-step instructions compiled by an 

organization to help workers carry out complex 

routine operations. NOPs aim to achieve 

efficiency, quality output and uniformity of 

performance, while reducing 

miscommunication and failure to comply with 

industry regulations. 

(5)(11) "Non-essential water use" means categories of 

water use, other than essential water use, that 

may be curtailed during droughts and water 

emergencies. 

(2)(12) "Person" means any individual, corporation, 

company, association, partnership, unit of local 

government, state agency, federal agency, or 

other legal entity. 

(13) "Privately owned" are water systems that can be 

for-profit systems managed by investors or 

shareholders. 

(14) "Publicly owned" are water systems that are 

usually non-profit entities managed by local or 

state governments, for which rates are set by a 

governing board. 

(6)(15) "State agencies" includes all agencies of the 

executive branch of the government of North 

Carolina, the General Assembly, the General 

Court of Justice, and the University of North 

Carolina. 

(11)(16) "Syringing" means the application of a small 

volume of water, usually 0.10 inch or less of 

water, near midday to correct plant water 

deficits, reduce plant tissue temperatures and 

reduce the heat stress on turfgrass plants. 

(7)(17) "Unit of local government" means a county, 

city, town, incorporated village, consolidated 

city-county, sanitary district or other local 

political subdivision, or authority or agency of 

local government. 

(1)(18) "Water" means any waters of the State located 

on or below the land surface as well as water 

contained within a water treatment and 

distribution system. 

(3)(19) "Water delivery system" means any open or 

closed conveyance system used to move water 

for potable or non-potable purposes from its 

point of origin to a point of use, including: 

municipal water systems; residential, 

commercial, industrial, and commercial 
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plumbing systems; irrigation systems; water 

using equipment; and flexible hoses. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(8); S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0603 GENERAL INFORMATION 

(a)  The provisions of this Section apply to the following classes 

of water users: 

(1) Publicly owned and privately owned water 

supply systems; 

(2) State agencies; 

(3) Units of local government; 

(4) Business and industrial water users; and 

(5) Agricultural and horticultural water users. 

(b)  This Section does not prevent owners and operators of a water 

delivery system or other persons from developing, implementing 

and requiring water use measures in response to droughts or 

emergency water shortages that are more restrictive than the 

specified response measures in Rules .0612 through .0614. 

(b)  All owners and operators of a water delivery system may 

develop, implement, and require more stringent standards than 

those set forth in Rules .0612 through .0614 of this Section in 

response to droughts or emergency water shortages. 

(c)  All established and new uses of reclaimed water, consistent 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02H .0200 02U .0100 and any 

successive rules and amendments that define and the use of 

reclaimed water, as administered by the Department's Division of 

Water Resources Quality, shall be exempt from the requirements 

set forth in this Section. 

 

Authority S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0604 ANNUAL REPORTING OF 

WATER USE DATA (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

In order to improve the availability of data for the development of 

the State water supply plan to be used when managing water 

resources during drought and water supply emergencies and to 

provide a basis for evaluating the effectiveness of emergency 

water conservation measures, the following data reporting 

requirements have been established: 

(1) Water systems that are required to prepare a 

Local Water Supply Plan under G.S. 143-355(l) 

shall, irrespective of the issuance of a drought 

advisory, annually report to the Department the 

following information: 

(a) Water system identification 

information; 

(b) Annual average daily water use (total 

amount of surface and ground water 

withdrawn as well as water supplied 

by another system) by the water 

system, in million gallons per day 

(MGD); 

(c) The average daily water use (total 

amount of surface and ground water 

withdrawn as well as water supplied 

by another system) for each month of 

the prior calendar year, in million 

gallons per day (MGD); 

(d) The number of connections for 

residential, industrial, commercial and 

institutional metered and non-metered 

water use, as of December 31st of the 

reporting year; 

(e) The annual average daily water use in 

million gallons per day (MGD) 

categorized by residential, industrial, 

commercial, institutional water uses 

and sales to other systems to the extent 

that this information by category is 

available; and 

(f) Water used by the system, in addition 

to the amount delivered to customers, 

to meet water treatment and 

distribution requirements, in million 

gallons per day (MGD). 

(2) All persons that are required to register water 

withdrawals and transfers under G.S. 143-

215.22H, who are not subject to Item (1) of this 

Rule, shall annually report to the Department 

monthly average water use in million gallons 

per day (MGD) for each month. The following 

information shall be reported: 

(a) Owner and facility identification 

information; 

(b) Sources of water withdrawn; 

(c) Number of days water was withdrawn 

for each month; and 

(d) Average daily withdrawal for the 

actual number of days water was 

withdrawn each month, in million 

gallons per day (MGD). 

(3) Data shall be submitted electronically. Water 

users that exhibit to the Division of Water 

Resources an inability to submit data 

electronically may submit data in writing on a 

form supplied by the Department. 

(4) Data shall be submitted to the Department by 

April 1st of each year for the period of January 

1st to December 31st of the prior year. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-355(k); 143-355(l); 143-354(a). 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0605 WATER USE REDUCTION 

REPORTING, NEW WATER WITHDRAWAL 

REPORTING AND REGIONAL COORDINATION 

DURING DROUGHTS 

In order to promote regional cooperation for the equitable use of 

water resources during a drought or other water supply 

emergency, all persons, as specified below, shall comply with the 

following reporting and coordination procedures: 

(1) Publicly and privately owned community water 

systems and units of local government shall 

report to the Division of Water Resources the 

implementation of mandatory water 
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conservation measures within 72 hours of their 

initial enactment. 

(2) All persons that intend to make a new water 

withdrawal , which that has not previously been 

registered under G.S. 143-215.22H, of 100,000 

gallons or more in an area designated by the 

Council as suffering from Extreme or 

Exceptional Drought shall report to the 

Division of Water Resources, by the same 

means outlined in Item (3) of Rule .0604, Rule 

.0604(3) of this Section, the following 

information at least seven days prior to the 

withdrawal: 

(a) Contact information for the person 

making the water withdrawal; 

(b) Source(s) of water to be withdrawn; 

(c) Number of days water is anticipated to 

be withdrawn; and 

(d) Anticipated average daily withdrawal 

in million gallons per day (MGD). 

(3) All persons that withdraw water shall monitor 

drought and water supply conditions and shall 

participate in regional coordination for the 

management of water resources, evaluation of 

the cumulative effects of water withdrawals on 

regional water resources and the development 

of alternative water supply sources. Based on an 

assessment of drought severity and regional 

water supply conditions, the Department may 

contact water systems within the affected 

region to arrange a consultation meeting 

between water systems and relevant state and 

local agencies. The Department shall moderate 

these consultations and provide technical 

assistance. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(8); 143-355(k); S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0606 WATER SHORTAGE RESPONSE 

PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

All classes of water users shall prepare a Water Shortage 

Response Plan according to the water shortage response planning 

provisions in Rules .0607 through .0611 for their appropriate class 

of water use. All classes of water users shall prepare a Water 

Shortage Response Plan in accordance with Rules .0607-.0611 of 

this Section. The purpose of these Water Shortage Response Plans 

is to plan for an effective course of action to minimize harmful 

impacts of drought and water supply emergencies on public health 

and safety, environmental quality, and the economy. Water 

Shortage Response Plans shall take into account the specific 

characteristics of the water sources and the water uses for which 

the plan is prepared. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); 143-355(l); S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0607 PUBLICLY AND PRIVATELY 

OWNED WATER SYSTEM WATER SHORTAGE 

RESPONSE PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Publicly and privately owned Units of local governments and 

large community water systems that are required to prepare a 

Local Water Supply Plan under G.S. 143-355(l) shall include the 

following information in their local Water Shortage Response 

Plans for review by the Division of Water Resources: 

(1) The designation of a staff position or 

organizational unit responsible for the 

implementation of their Water Shortage 

Response Plan; 

(2) Notification procedures that will be used to 

inform employees and water users about the 

implementation of the plan and required water 

conservation response measures; 

(3) Tiered levels of response actions to be taken to 

reduce water use based on the severity of water 

shortage conditions; 

(4) Specific measurements of available water 

supply, water demand and system conditions 

that will be used to determine the severity of 

water shortage conditions and to initiate water 

use reduction measures and the movement 

between various levels; 

(5) Procedures that will be used to regulate 

compliance with the provisions of the plan; 

(6) Procedures for affected parties to review and 

comment on the plan prior to final adoption; 

(7) Procedures to receive and review applications 

for variances from specific requirements of the 

plan and the criteria that will be considered in 

the determination to issue a variance; 

(8) An evaluation method to determine the actual 

water savings accomplished and the 

effectiveness of the Water Shortage Response 

Plan when implemented; and 

(9) Procedures for revising and updating Water 

Shortage Response Plans to improve plan 

effectiveness and adapt to new circumstances. 

(b)  Publicly and privately owned Units of local governments and 

large community water systems that are required to prepare a 

Local Water Supply Plan shall submit a copy of their Water 

Shortage Response Plan and any subsequent revisions of the plan 

to the Division of Water Resources for review every five years 

with the full Local Water Supply Plan, as required by G.S. 143-

355(l). 

(c)  Publicly and privately owned water systems not required to 

prepare a Local Water Supply Plan shall: 

(1) Assess their vulnerability to drought and water 

shortage emergencies; and 

(2) Prepare a written plan for responding to water 

shortage emergencies and drought using the 

provisions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Publicly and privately owned water systems that depend on 

the water storage in a private or public impoundment that they do 

not own and operate under a contract for the withdrawal of water 

issued by the owner of an impoundment shall prepare a written 

plan for responding to water shortages that is consistent with the 
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provisions of the contract and shall comply with all Water 

Shortage Response Plan provisions established by the owner of 

the impoundment. 

(e)  Water Shortage Response Plans shall provide for water users 

who have made improvements to maximize water use efficiency 

in their daily operations and may face disproportionate hardships 

when making further water use reductions. Water Shortage 

Response Plans shall avoid restricting efficient water users in 

ways that would undermine incentives for water users to seek 

continued improvements in water use efficiency and shall honor 

locally approved certification programs that recognize efficient 

water users who meet industry standards for water use efficiency 

and water conservation. 

(f)  When the NCDMAC issues a drought advisory designating an 

area of the state as currently suffering from drought, publicly and 

privately owned water systems that depend on water from the 

designated area shall for the duration of the designation: 

(1) Implement the provisions of their Water 

Shortage Response Plan, as determined by the 

specific indicators established in the plan for 

initiating response measures; 

(2) Monitor and document water supply 

conditions; 

(3) Educate customers and employees on the need 

to conserve water and how to prepare for 

potential drought conditions; 

(4) Inspect water delivery system components and 

ensure that existing equipment is operating as 

efficiently as possible; 

(5) Stay informed on drought and water shortage 

emergency conditions and participate in 

regional coordination for the management of 

water resources; and 

(6) Evaluate the feasibility of reclaiming and 

recycling water to meet water needs. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); 143-355(l); S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0608 STATE AGENCY WATER 

SHORTAGE RESPONSE PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  State agencies that supply their own water shall prepare a 

written plan for responding to water shortages using the 

provisions of Rule .0607(a). .0607(a) of this Section. 

(b)  State agencies that are supplied water by a publicly or 

privately owned water system shall: 

(1) Review normal operating procedures and water 

use to identify options to reduce water use and 

maximize water use efficiency during water 

supply emergencies, including changes to 

normal operating procedures; 

(3) Provide information to their water purveyor(s) 

upon request to support development of the 

purveyor's Water Shortage Response Plan(s), 

including the agency's ability to reduce water 

use and limitations to reducing water use during 

droughts and water emergencies; 

(4) Develop procedures for informing employees 

of drought designations, water emergency 

declarations and response measures; and 

(5) Evaluate the feasibility of reclaiming and 

recycling water to meet water needs. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0609 LOCAL GOVERNMENT WATER 

SHORTAGE RESPONSE PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Units of local government that provide water to the public 

shall meet the requirements of Rule .0607(a). .0607(a) of this 

Section. 

(b)  Units of local government that do not provide water to the 

public shall: 

(1) Review normal water use for the types and 

number of facilities operated to identify options 

to reduce water use and maximize water use 

efficiency by local government operations 

during water shortage emergencies, including 

possible changes to normal operating 

procedures; 

(2) Cooperate with local water purveyor(s) on the 

development and implementation of the 

purveyor's Water Shortage Response Plan(s); 

(3) Establish a procedure for informing citizens of 

drought designations, recommended 

conservation activities and mandatory response 

measures to reduce water use during droughts 

and water shortage emergencies; 

(4) Provide a mechanism whereby residents can 

apply for and receive a variance from specific 

water use reduction requirements implemented 

by local governments; 

(5) Consider disproportionate hardships that water 

shortage response policies and ordinances may 

cause water users who have already made 

improvements to maximize water use 

efficiency in their daily operations; and 

(6) Evaluate the feasibility of reclaiming and 

recycling water to meet water needs. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0610 BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL 

WATER SHORTAGE RESPONSE PLANNING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Self-supplied business and industrial water users subject to 

the water withdrawal registration requirements of G.S. 143-

215.22H shall prepare a written plan, for responding to water 

shortages that is consistent with industry water efficiency and 

drought response guidelines, that incorporate the relevant 

provisions of Rule .0607(a). .0607(a) of this Section. 

(b)  Business and industrial water users that depend on the water 

storage of a privately or publicly owned impoundment or 

withdraw water under a contract issued by the owner of an 

impoundment shall have a written plan for responding to water 

shortages that is consistent with the provisions of the contract and 

with any Water Shortage Response Plan provisions established by 

the owner of the impoundment. 

(c)  Business and industrial water users that are supplied water by 

a publicly or privately owned water system shall establish a 
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procedure for responding to water shortages that is 

complementary to their water purveyor's Water Shortage 

Response Plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0611 AGRICULTURAL AND 

HORTICULTURAL WATER SHORTAGE RESPONSE 

PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Agricultural and horticultural water users subject to the water 

withdrawal registration requirements of G.S. 143-215.22H shall 

develop a written plan for responding to water shortages to 

maximize water use efficiency and reduce water usage to the 

maximum extent possible. Any of the guidance documents on best 

management practices for the efficient use of water in agricultural 

and horticultural operations developed by the United States 

Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation 

Service, the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (NCDA&CS), the NCDENR NCDA&CS 

Division of Soil and Water Conservation, North Carolina State 

University, the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service or 

other industry trade organizations may be used to assist 

agricultural and horticultural water users identify the most 

appropriate water use efficiency measures that they may 

incorporate into the plan for their particular operational needs. 

(b)  When a region of the state is designated as suffering from 

Severe Drought, Extreme Drought or Exceptional Drought by a 

NCDMAC drought advisory, agricultural and horticultural water 

users shall reexamine and maintain water delivery systems to 

minimize water loss and maximize water use efficiency. 

(c)  Agricultural and horticultural water users that depend on the 

water storage of a privately or publicly owned impoundment or 

withdraw water under a contract issued by the owner of an 

impoundment shall have a written plan for responding to water 

shortages that is consistent with the provisions of the contract and 

with any Water Shortage Response Plan provisions established by 

the owner of the impoundment. 

 

Authority S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0612 DEFAULT WATER SHORTAGE 

RESPONSE PLANNING MEASURES 

Publicly or privately owned water systems that are required to 

prepare a Local Water Supply Plan under G.S. 143-355(l) that do 

not have a written Water Shortage Response Plan, as outlined in 

Rule .0607, .0607 of this Section, shall implement the default 

water use reduction measures of Rules .0613 and .0614 of this 

Section when their water system or water source is located in an 

area designated as suffering from Extreme or Exceptional 

Drought by the Council. 

 

Authority S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0613 DEFAULT WATER USE 

REDUCTION MEASURES DURING NCDMAC 

EXTREME DROUGHT DESIGNATIONS 

When the NCDMAC designates a region of the state as suffering 

from Extreme Drought, the following water use reduction 

standards shall apply to water users in the designated area, as 

indicated in Rule .0612: .0612 of this Section: 

(1) Water users shall reduce water use by at least 

10% below the amount used in the month prior 

to a NCDMAC Extreme Drought designation in 

the affected area. 

(2) All water users shall minimize non-essential 

use of water. 

(3) Outdoor irrigation is prohibited, except for: 

(a) Watering lawns less than one inch of 

water per week, between the hours of 

8:00 PM and 8:00 AM; 

(b) Maintaining newly installed 

landscapes, lawns and erosion control 

projects that were initiated prior to the 

issuance of an Extreme Drought 

advisory, not to exceed the minimum 

rate necessary on the day of 

installation and for 60 days following 

installation, by means designed and 

operated to maximize water use 

efficiency and to prevent run-off and 

excessive watering; 

(c) Using spray irrigation by wastewater 

effluent treatment systems from the 

NCDMAC Extreme Drought 

designated area(s) according to permit 

conditions under the provisions of 

North Carolina Administrative Code 

15A NCAC 02H .0200 02U .0100 and 

any successive rules and amendments; 

amendments, as administered by the 

Department's Division of Water 

Quality; 

(d) Maintaining athletic fields with less 

than one inch of water per week 

between the hours of 8:00 PM and 

8:00 AM; 

(e) Maintaining personal food gardens; 

(f) Maintaining existing landscape 

plantings at the minimum rate 

necessary, between the hours of 8:00 

PM and 8:00 AM, using a hand held 

container or hose with an automatic 

shutoff or using drip irrigation; 

(g) Watering golf course tees, fairways 

and greens by means of an automated 

irrigation system between the hours of 

8:00 PM and 8:00 AM with less than 

one inch of water per week; 

(h) Syringing golf course tees and greens 

exhibiting visible signs of stress 

between the hours of 12:00 PM and 

4:00 PM, at the minimum rate 

necessary; and 

(i) Maintaining plant inventories, by 

means designed and operated to 

maximize water use efficiency, at 

retail garden centers, garden centers 
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within mass merchant stores or other 

businesses with live plants as their 

stock in trade. 

(4) The use of water for washing or cleaning of 

mobile equipment including automobiles, 

trucks, boats and fleet vehicles is prohibited, 

except for: 

(a) Operating commercial car washes that 

utilize the industry's best management 

practices for the efficient use of water 

and those that recycle, reclaim or reuse 

a portion of their wash water in their 

daily operations and have reduced 

total water consumption by 10% 

below the amount used in the month 

prior to a NCDMAC Extreme Drought 

designation in the affected area; 

(b) Washing with a hand-held hose with 

an automatic shutoff device using less 

than five gallons per vehicle; 

(c) Cleaning new and used vehicles using 

less than five gallons per vehicle to 

prepare for display in a dealer's show 

room, upon receipt from the 

manufacturer or prior owner, and 

following a sale prior to delivery to the 

purchaser; and 

(d) Cleaning of construction, emergency, 

transport or public transportation 

vehicles if necessary to preserve the 

proper functioning and safe operation 

of the vehicle. 

(5) The use of water for washing impervious and 

paved surfaces is prohibited, except for: 

(a) Prewashing in preparation for 

painting, recoating or sealing; and 

(b) Applying at the minimum rate 

necessary for sanitation and public 

health purposes. 

(6) The use of water for ornamental fountains, 

artificial waterfalls, misting machines, 

reflecting pools, and ornamental ponds is 

prohibited, except for the minimum amount of 

make-up water necessary to maintain aquatic 

life. 

(7) The use of water for power washing of 

buildings and other structures is prohibited 

except when necessary to meet federal, state 

and local public health and safety requirements. 

(8) The use of water for flushing sewer lines is 

prohibited except when necessary to meet 

public health and safety standards. 

(9) The use of water from fire hydrants is 

prohibited, except for: 

(a) Fighting fire and fire protection 

purposes; 

(b) Testing or training if it is necessary to 

protect public safety and has been 

approved by the applicable water 

purveyor; and 

(c) Flushing of potable water lines to 

protect the public health. 

(10) The filling of family, public or private 

swimming pools, including hot tubs, spas and 

whirlpool tubs, is prohibited, except: 

(a) For health and rehabilitative purposes 

as prescribed by a medical doctor or 

administered by a medical facility; and 

(b) For the minimal amount of make-up 

water necessary to maintain a pool's 

structural integrity and filtration 

system. 

(11) The serving of water in eating and drinking 

establishments shall be done on customer 

request only. 

(12) Water shall be applied at the minimum rate 

necessary to maintain effective dust and erosion 

control during the construction of roads and 

highways initiated prior to the declaration of an 

Extreme Drought by the NCMDAC. 

 

Authority S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0614 DEFAULT WATER USE 

REDUCTION MEASURES DURING NCDMAC 

EXCEPTIONAL DROUGHT DESIGNATIONS 

When the NCDMAC designates a region of the state as suffering 

from Exceptional Drought, the following water use reduction 

standards shall apply to water users in the designated area, as 

indicated in Rule .0612: .0612 of this Section: 

(1) Water users shall reduce water use by at least 

20% below the amount used in the month prior 

to the most recent NCDMAC Extreme Drought 

designation in the affected area. 

(2) Non-essential water use shall be minimized by 

the maximum extent possible. 

(3) Outdoor irrigation is prohibited, except for: 

(a) Using spray irrigation by wastewater 

effluent treatment systems in 

NCDMAC Exceptional Drought 

designated areas according to permit 

conditions under the provisions of 

North Carolina Administrative Code 

15A NCAC 02H .0200 02U .0100 and 

any successive rules and amendments; 

amendments, as administered by the 

Department's Division of Water 

Quality; 

(b) Watering personal food gardens by 

hand with a container or hand held 

hose with an automatic shutoff device 

or using drip irrigation between the 

hours of 8:00 PM and 8:00 AM; 

(c) Maintaining existing landscape 

plantings at the minimum rate 

necessary, between the hours of 8:00 

PM and 8:00 AM, using a hand held 
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container or hose with an automatic 

shutoff or using drip irrigation; 

(d) Watering golf course tees, fairways 

and greens, athletic fields and lawns 

between the hours of 8:00 PM and 

8:00 AM with less than one half inch 

of water per week; 

(e) Syringing of golf course tees and 

greens exhibiting visible signs of 

stress between the hours of 1:00 PM 

and 4:00 PM, at the minimum rate 

necessary; 

(f) Maintaining newly installed 

landscapes, lawns and erosion control 

projects that were initiated prior to the 

issuance of an Extreme Drought 

advisory, not to exceed the minimum 

rate necessary on the day of 

installation and for 28 days following 

installation, by means designed and 

operated to maximize water use 

efficiency and to prevent run-off and 

excessive watering; and 

(g) Maintaining plant inventories, by 

means designed and operated to 

maximize water use efficiency, at 

retail garden centers, garden centers 

within mass merchant stores, or other 

businesses with live plants as their 

stock in trade. 

(4) The use of water for washing or cleaning 

mobile equipment including automobiles, 

trucks, boats and fleet vehicles is prohibited, 

except for: 

(a) Operating commercial car washes that 

utilize the industry's best management 

practices for the efficient use of water 

and those that recycle, reclaim or reuse 

a portion of their wash water and have 

reduced total water consumption by 

20% below the amount used in the 

month prior to the most recent 

NCDMAC Extreme Drought 

designation in the affected area; 

(b) Cleaning of new and used vehicles in 

preparation for display in a dealer's 

show room, using less than five 

gallons per vehicle; and 

(c) Using the minimum amount of water 

necessary to clean construction, 

emergency, transport or public 

transportation vehicles, if required to 

preserve the proper functioning and 

safe operation of the vehicle as 

required by law. 

(5) The use of water for washing impervious and 

paved surfaces is prohibited except for using 

the minimum amount of water necessary for 

sanitation and public health purposes. 

(6) The use of water for power washing of 

buildings and other structures is prohibited. 

(7) The use of water for flushing sewer lines is 

prohibited except when necessary to meet 

public health and safety standards. 

(8) The use of water from fire hydrants is 

prohibited, except for: 

(a) Fighting fire and fire protection 

purposes; and 

(b) Flushing of drinking water lines to 

protect public health and safety. 

(9) The filling of family, public or private 

swimming pools, including hot tubs, spas and 

whirlpool tubs, is prohibited except for health 

and rehabilitative purposes as prescribed by a 

medical doctor or administered by a medical 

facility. 

(10) The use of water for ornamental fountains, 

artificial waterfalls, misting machines, 

reflecting pools, and ornamental ponds is 

prohibited, except for the minimum amount of 

make-up water necessary to maintain aquatic 

life. 

(11) The serving of water in eating and drinking 

establishments shall be done on customer 

request only. 

(12) Water shall be applied at the minimum rate 

necessary to maintain effective dust and erosion 

control during the construction of roads and 

highways initiated prior to the declaration of an 

Extreme Drought by the NCDMAC. 

 

Authority S.L. 2002-167. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0615 WATER REUSE DURING 

DROUGHTS AND WATER EMERGENCIES 

Water users may use reclaimed water under the provisions of 

North Carolina Administrative Code 15A NCAC 02H .0200 02U 

.0100 and any successive rules and amendments, as administered 

by the Department's Division of Water Quality, during droughts 

and other water emergencies to reduce withdrawals of surface 

water and ground water and to extend available water supplies. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-355.5; S.L. 2002-

167. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 14 – BOARD OF COSMETIC ART 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners intends to amend the rules cited 

as 21 NCAC 14A .0104, .0404; 14H .0403; 14T .0201, .0502, 

.0616, and .0706. 
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.nccosmeticarts.com/uploads/Board/Rules4-21.pdf 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 18, 2021 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  Teleconference 1-866-365-4406 Access Code 

7334117 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules are proposed for 

amendment to update the Board mailing address, refunds, and 

clarify school and shop regulations. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Stefanie Kuzdrall, 121 

Edinburgh South Drive Suite 209, Cary, No 27511; phone (919) 

736-6123; email skuzdrall@nccosmeticarts.com 

 

Comment period ends:  July 2, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14A – DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

SECTION .0100 – ORGANIZATION RULES 

 

21 NCAC 14A .0104 ADDRESS 

The address for the board is 1207-110 Front Street, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27609. 121 Edinburgh South Drive Suite 209 Cary, 

North Carolina 27511. 

 

Authority G.S. 88-23. 

 

SECTION .0400 - LICENSE WAIVER FOR ARMED 

FORCES 

 

21 NCAC 14A .0404 FEES 

(a)  Fees paid by personal checks that are returned for any reason 

shall be treated in the same manner as though no fee had been 

tendered and the bank's returned check fee not to exceed twenty 

five dollars ($25.00) shall be assessed to the account holder. All 

subsequent payments must be submitted via credit card, money 

order or certified check. 

(b)  All moneys tendered in payment of fees shall be in the exact 

amount required for said fees. No part of a fee submitted to the 

Board per G.S. 88B shall be refundable. 

(c)  Licenses, certifications, duplicates, inactivations, or 

reactivations will not be processed until all fees and assessed civil 

penalties are paid in full. 

 

Authority G.S. 25-3-506; 88B-2; 88B-4. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14H - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .0400 - INFECTION CONTROL PROCEDURES 

AND PRACTICES 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0403 DISINFECTION PROCEDURES 

(a)  Disinfectant, as applicable in this Subchapter, is defined as a 

disinfectant that is EPA registered as effective against: 

(1) bacteria including Staphylococcus aureus, 

MRSA and pseudomonas aeruginosa; 

(2) viruses including HIV, Hepatitis B and C; 

(3) fungi including Trichophyton mentagrophytes; 

and 

(4) human coronavirus. 

(b)  Disinfectants that meet the requirements of Subparagraph 

(a)(1), (2), and (3) of this Rule may be used if they are listed on 

EPA list N as effective against pathogen SARS-CoV-2. 

(c)  Infection Control rules that apply to towels and cloths are as 

follows: 

(1) clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and 

towels shall be used for each patron; 

(2) after a protective cape has been in contact with 

a patron's neck it shall be placed in a clean, 

closed container until laundered with soap and 

hot water and dried in a heated dryer. Capes that 

cannot be laundered and dried in a heater dryer 

may be disinfected in accordance with the 

manufacturer directions; and 

(3) after a drape, linen, or towel has been in contact 

with a patron's skin it shall be placed in a clean, 

covered container until laundered with soap and 

hot water and dried in a heated dryer. A covered 

container may have an opening so soiled items 

may be dropped into the container. 

(d)  Any paper or nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be 

discarded after one use. 

(e)  There shall be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens and 

towels at all times. Wet towels used in services must be prepared 

fresh each day. Unused, prepared wet towels must be laundered 

daily. 

(f)  Clean drapes, capes, linens, towels and all other supplies shall 

be stored in a clean area. 

(g)  Bathroom facilities must be kept clean. 
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(h)  All implements shall be cleaned and disinfected after each use 

in the following manner: 

(1) They shall be washed with warm water and a 

cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove 

debris and dried. 

(2) They shall be disinfected with either: 

(A) disinfectant that is mixed and used 

according to the manufacturer's 

directions. They shall be rinsed with 

hot tap water and dried with a clean 

towel before their next use. They shall 

be stored in a clean, closed cabinet or 

container until they are needed; or 

(B) by UV-C, ultraviolet germicidal 

irradiation used in accordance with the 

manufacturer's directions. 

(3) If the implement is shears, a razor, not 

immersible, or is not disinfected by UV-C 

irradiation, it shall be cleaned by wiping it with 

a clean cloth moistened or sprayed with a 

disinfectant used in accordance with the 

manufacturer's directions. 

(i)  All disinfected non-electrical implements shall be stored in a 

clean, closed cabinet or clean, closed container. 

(j)  All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean 

area separate from other clean implements. 

(k)  Disposable and porous implements and supplies must be 

discarded after use or upon completion of the service. 

(l)  Product that comes into contact with the patron must be 

discarded upon completion of the service. 

(m)  Containers with open faces may be covered or closed with 

plastic wrapping. Disinfected implements must not be stored with 

any implement or item that has not been disinfected. 

(n)  Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be 

disposed in puncture-resistant containers. 

(o)  All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products 

dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin must be kept in 

clean, closed containers, and must conform in all respects to the 

requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act as set 

forth in PL 75-717.52 accessible at www.fda.gov. Any product 

apportioned for use and removed from original containers must be 

distributed in a sanitary manner that prevents contamination of 

product or container. Any product dispensed in portions into 

another container must be dispensed into a clean container and 

applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or disposable 

implement or other clean methods. Any product dispensed in 

portions not dispensed into another container must be used 

immediately and applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or 

disposable implement or other clean methods. No product 

dispensed in portions may be returned to the original container. 

(p)  As used in this Rule whirlpool or footspa means any basin 

using circulating water. 

(q)  After use by each patron each whirlpool or footspa must be 

cleaned and disinfected as follows: 

(1) all water must be drained and all debris 

removed from the basin; 

(2) the basin must be disinfected by filling the basin 

with water and circulating a surfactant or 

enzymatic soap with a disinfectant used 

according to manufacturer's instructions 

through the unit for 10 minutes; 

(3) the basin must be drained and rinsed with clean 

water; and 

(4) the basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel. 

(r)  At the end of the day each whirlpool or footspa must be 

cleaned and disinfected as follows: 

(1) the screen must be removed and all debris 

trapped behind the screen removed; 

(2) the screen and the inlet must be washed with 

surfactant or enzymatic soap or detergent and 

rinsed with clean water; 

(3) before replacing the screen it must be totally 

immersed in disinfectant in accordance to the 

manufacturer's instructions; 

(4) the inlet and area behind the screen must be 

cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and 

water to remove all visible debris and residue; 

and 

(5) the spa system must be flushed with low 

sudsing surfactant or enzymatic soap and warm 

water for at least 10 minutes and then rinsed and 

drained. 

(s)  A record must be made of the date and time of each cleaning 

and disinfecting as required by this Rule including the date, time, 

reason, and name of the staff member who performed the 

cleaning. This record must be made for each whirlpool or footspa 

and must be kept and made available for at least 90 days upon 

request by either a patron or inspector. 

(t)  The water in a vaporizer machine must be emptied daily and 

the unit disinfected daily after emptying. 

(u)  The area where services are performed that come in contact 

with the patron's skin including treatment chairs, treatment tables, 

and beds shall be disinfected between patrons. 

(v)  A manufacturers label for all products, cleaners and 

disinfectant concentrate must be available at all times. If a 

concentrate bottle is emptied, it must remain available until a new 

bottle is available. 

(w)  When mixed disinfectant concentrate is placed in a secondary 

container such as a spray bottle, tub or jar, that container must be 

labeled to indicate what chemical is in the container. SDS sheets 

must be available for all disinfectants in use at all times. 

(x)  Disinfectants must be stored and disposed of in accordance 

with all local, State, and federal requirements. 

(y)  The cabinet and supplies of a towel warmer machine must be 

emptied daily and the unit dried daily after emptying. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14T – COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

 

SECTION .0200 - PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS FOR 

COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0201 ALL COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

(a)  Cosmetology schools must have the following physical 

departments: 

(1) Practice Department – a minimum of 200 

square feet with a table or tables and or stands 
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to accommodate at least 10 students and have at 

least 40 inches between each mannequin. 

Cosmetic art schools must provide an additional 

5 square feet in the practice department for each 

student over the maximum of 10. This area shall 

have at least one mirror of a minimum of two 

square feet. 

(2) Clinic Department – the clinic floor for 

performance of all cosmetic art services. Within 

the clinic area each school shall have: 

(A) 48 inches of space from the center to 

the center of each styling chair, 

esthetics table or manicuring table; 

(B) 24 inches from the center of the chair 

forward; 

(C) 48 inches from the backrest behind the 

chair to any other styling chair, 

esthetics table or manicuring table; 

and 

(D) at least 30 inches of space from the 

back of each styling chair, esthetics 

table to the wall of the school. 

(3) Dispensary – a room or area to organize and 

maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection 

of all implements and a sink with hot and cold 

running water. All cosmetic art schools must 

have the required equipment to carry out 

disinfection procedures per 21 NCAC 14H 

.0403 and .0404; 

(4) Theory classroom – classroom with a minimum 

of 300 square feet to accommodate a maximum 

of 25 students. Cosmetic art schools must 

provide an additional 8 square feet in the theory 

classroom for each student over the maximum 

of 25; 

(5) Office – administrative office for the secure and 

locked facilitation of student records and files. 

This office shall be outfitted with a minimum of 

one desk and one chair; 

(6) Reception area – a reception area for clients to 

wait prior to receiving services; 

(7) Break room for student use; 

(8) Restrooms for student and public use; 

(9) Locker or dressing room – a locker or room for 

students to secure and lock personal belongings 

throughout the day; and 

(10) All stations as defined in Rule .0302 of this 

Subchapter must be numbered numerically. 

(b)  Manicuring, esthetics and natural hair care schools must have 

the following physical departments: 

(1) Clinic Department – the clinic floor for 

performance of all cosmetic art services. Within 

the clinic area each school shall have: 

(A) 48 inches of space from the center to 

the center of each styling chair, 

esthetics table or manicuring table; 

(B) 24 inches from the center of the chair 

forward; 

(C) 48 inches from the backrest behind the 

chair to any other styling chair, 

esthetics table or manicuring table; 

and 

(D) at least 30 inches of space from the 

back of each styling chair or esthetics 

table to the wall of the school. 

(2) Dispensary – a room or area to organize and 

maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection 

of all implements and a sink with hot and cold 

running water. All cosmetic art schools shall 

have the required equipment to carry out 

disinfection procedures per 21 NCAC 14H 

.0403 and .0404; 

(3) Theory classroom – a room or area with 

equipment for theory training appropriate to 

both practical and theory learning including 

desks and chairs. 

(4) Office – administrative office for the secure and 

locked facilitation of student records and files. 

This office shall be outfitted with a minimum of 

one desk and one chair; 

(5) Reception area – a reception area for clients to 

wait prior to receiving services; 

(6) Break room for student use; 

(7) Restrooms for student and public use; 

(8) Locker or dressing room – a locker or room for 

students to secure and lock personal belongings 

throughout the day; and 

(9) All stations as defined in Rule .0304 of this 

Subchapter must be numbered numerically. 

(c)  Each cosmetic art school must display a sign in the reception 

area. The sign cannot be smaller than 12 inches by 18 inches, with 

lettering at least one and one half inches in size and must read as 

follows: "Cosmetic Art School Work Done Exclusively by 

Students." 

(d)  Each of the requirements listed within this Rule must be 

located within the same building with the exception of the theory 

classroom which may be located in an adjacent building or 

another building within 500 feet of the main cosmetic art building 

and a proctored examination center, which may be located on the 

school campus. Theory classrooms located in an adjacent building 

or another building within 500 feet of the main cosmetic art 

building shall not be used for student practice. 

(e)  All Cosmetic Art schools must post hours of operation per 

cosmetic art discipline and submit this information to the Board. 

Any changes to the hours of operation must be posted and 

submitted to the Board. A school shall be considered open by the 

Board when cosmetic art instruction, services or performances are 

provided. 

(f)  Cosmetic art schools may not offer student hours or 

performances unless they are in compliance with Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(g)  All cosmetic art schools must adhere to any federal, state and 

local government regulation or ordinance regarding fire safety 

codes, plumbing and electrical work. 

(h)  All cosmetic art schools must maintain a ventilation system 

with temperature control. During school operating hours the 
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temperature must be maintained between 60 and 85 degrees 

Fahrenheit. 

(i)  All equipment in cosmetic art schools shall be in working 

order; kept in repair; and installed in such a manner as to facilitate 

usage. 

(j)  All cosmetic art school buildings shall be maintained. 

Maintenance includes the safe and working condition of the 

physical building, furniture, equipment and supplies. 

(k)  All cosmetic art schools must maintain a bulletin board in 

sight of the clinic floor. The bulletin board shall be used to display 

at all times the Board Infection Control rules in 21 NCAC 14H 

.0200, .0300, .0400, and .0500 and the sanitation grade card issued 

to the school. 

(l)  All cosmetic art schools must post together the school letter of 

approval, the school license and all cosmetic art licenses issued to 

the teachers on staff. 

(m)  Each room in a cosmetic art school must be labeled according 

to its assigned purpose. 

(n)  Each theory classroom shall be equipped with desks or chairs 

suitable for classroom work and one chair suitable for 

demonstrating cosmetic art practices. 

(o)  When a school and a shop are under the same ownership: 

(1) separate operation of the shop and school shall 

be maintained; 

(2) if the school and shop are located in the same 

building, they must be separated by a solid wall 

of at least seven feet in height; separate 

entrances and visitor reception areas shall be 

maintained; and 

(3) the school and shop shall have separate public 

information releases, advertisements, names 

and advertising signs. 

(p)  A cosmetic art school must maintain space and equipment 

appropriate to both practical and theory learning including desks 

and chairs, and station requirements so that each student in 

attendance has a location within which to complete assigned tasks. 

Each station or desk space shall be designated for only one student 

at a time. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17. 

 

SECTION .0500 - RECORD KEEPING 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0502 PERMANENT RECORDS, 

FORMS AND DOCUMENTATION 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools must maintain locked storage for the 

permanent files of all enrolled students and students who have 

withdrawn or graduated together in one room within the approved 

square footage of the cosmetic art school. Withdrawal and 

graduation forms reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board 

may be removed from this room. The permanent file shall include 

a copy of: 

(1) Board Enrollment Form; 

(2) Documentation of student receipt of evaluation 

plans, school policies, school and student 

contract; the Board Infection Control rules as 

set forth in 21 NCAC 14H .0200, .0300, .0400, 

and .0500 and 21 NCAC 14I .0401, and 21 

NCAC 14T .0703. 

(3) All Board Withdrawal Forms; 

(4) Social security card for any individual who has 

a social security number or tax ID card or 

student visa information; 

(5) Government issued photo ID and proof of date 

of birth; 

(6) Grades for all examinations and performance 

evaluation plans; performance evaluation plans 

should be dated, graded, and signed by a 

teacher; along with documentation for pass 

performances; 

(7) Documentation for any leave of absence over 

30 days; days. Documentation should include 

an anticipated return date and updated notes 

every 30 days if the return date exceeds the 

anticipated return date. 

(8) Transfer of hours form documenting hours 

earned in other schools and hours accepted by 

current school; and 

(9) Graduation Form. 

(b)  The school shall keep onsite, records of hours earned daily 

including field trip hours and documentation of field trip hours 

updated with a running grand total, as well as a total of the 

following through the prior week: 

(1) A daily record of the actual number of hours of 

attendance; 

(2) A daily record of the actual number of hours 

and educational achievements completed via 

online; and 

(3) An updated Performance evaluation plan 

Record showing the actual date of the 

performance and the teacher who approved the 

performance. performance evaluation plan; 

(4) A record of hours and subtotaled weekly. 

(c)  When a student enrolled in a cosmetic art school withdraws 

from the school, the cosmetic art school shall report the 

withdrawal to the Board. 

(d)  If a student withdraws from a cosmetic art discipline within 

the first five days, the school need not submit the enrollment to 

the Board. The unsubmitted enrollment must be maintained in the 

student file until reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board 

after which, it may be removed. 

(e)  The graduation form documentation must be signed by on site 

school staff or on site school administrators and must have the 

seal of the school affixed. The original graduation form 

documentation must be prepared on the Board form and shall 

indicate that the applicable requirement of this Chapter have been 

met. The cosmetic art school shall mail the graduation form to the 

Board at the Board's address set forth in Rule 14A .0104 or submit 

the graduation form via the Board's school documents portal at 

www.nccosmeticarts.com within 30 days of the student's 

graduation date. 

(f)  All forms submitted to the Board must be sealed originals or 

a digital scan of sealed originals and a copy shall be maintained 

in the school permanent file storage. Except for student 

signatures, all forms submitted to the Board must be completed 

by on site school staff or on site school administrators. Board 

forms shall be used for the sole purpose of documenting to the 
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Board student records and shall not be used to notify students of 

enrollment, transfer of hours, withdrawal, or graduation. 

(g)  Changes or corrections made by the school to any Board form 

must be submitted to the Board with supporting documentation. 

(h)  All cosmetic art schools must maintain on file at the school 

an original daily record of enrolled students' hours and 

performances. This record must be kept in a secured location 

under lock and key but made available for review by the Board or 

its agent at any time. 

(i)  All records kept by a cosmetic art school on a student who has 

withdrawn or graduated must be kept in the school's locked files 

for future reference until the date the student is accepted for the 

Board examination or five years after the date the student first 

enrolled in the school, whichever occurs earlier. Forms reviewed 

by the Board or an agent of the Board may be removed from this 

room. 

(j)  The record of all hours and performances performance 

evaluation plans must be documented in writing. Credit issued to 

students that cannot be verified shall be eliminated from the 

student record by an agent of the Board. 

(k)  Access to student records must be limited to agents of the 

Board, teachers, and administrators of the school. Records shall 

not be altered offsite. Records that are altered must be altered 

onsite and must have documentation supporting the change 

attached. The format, school name, and school code on Board 

forms cannot be altered. 

(l)  All individuals in a cosmetic art school receiving cosmetic art 

education, earning hours, or performing or practicing cosmetic art 

services must be enrolled in the school. 

(m)  Only teachers reported to the Board as employees of a 

cosmetic art school may grade practical student examinations and 

evaluate pass or fail of student performances. Only on site 

teachers, on site school administrators, or on site school staff shall 

record student hours and performances, grade examinations, and 

determine completion and record credit of live model and 

mannequin performances. 

(n)  Minimum scores required for examinations and the successful 

completion of live model and mannequin performances as 

determined through the school's evaluation plan that is approved 

by the Board at the time of application shall be disclosed to 

students at the time of enrollment. Teachers must use the 

evaluation plan approved by the Board to assess student 

competency. Passing grades and performances shall not be 

credited to students who fail to meet the requirements of the 

evaluation plan. 

(o)  Cosmetic art schools must provide to each student a copy of 

school policies and 21 NCAC 14I .0401. The school shall retain 

for the permanent file a copy of the student's acknowledgement of 

receipt of these documents. 

(p)  The names of students with unsatisfied academic obligations 

shall not be submitted to the Board as graduates but may be 

submitted as withdrawn. 

(q)  Cosmetic art schools shall not report to the Board the 

unsatisfied financial obligations of any cosmetic art student. 

Cosmetic art schools shall not prevent the graduation of students 

who have met the Board minimum requirements and passed all 

school academic requirements. 

(r)  Records of hours must be rounded to no more than the nearest 

quarter hour. Cosmetic art schools shall not give or deduct hours 

or performances as rewards or penalties. 

(s)  An applicant shall receive credit for instruction taken in 

another state if the applicant's record is certified by the state 

agency or department that issues licenses to practice in the 

cosmetic arts. If this agency or department does not maintain any 

student records or if the state does not give license to practice in 

the cosmetic arts, then the records may be certified by any state 

department or state agency that does maintain such records and is 

willing to certify their accuracy. If no state department or board 

will certify the accuracy of the student's records, then the Board 

shall review the student's records for validity on a case-by-case 

basis using the documentation provided by the student. 

(t)  Hours transferred between open North Carolina schools must 

be obtained by the submission of the Board transfer form mailed 

directly from the school in which the hours are earned with the 

school seal affixed, with grades for examinations and 

performances to the new school in which a student enrolls. Such 

original documentation shall be submitted to the Board with 

enrollment. Transfer forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type and total number of live model and 

mannequin service performances; 

(4) Enrollment date and last date of attendance; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

(u)  A student must pass an entrance examination including 

mannequin evaluations given by the school to which the student 

is transferring for the hours to be transferred from one cosmetic 

art school to another. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16. 

 

SECTION .0600 - CURRICULA 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0616 ADDITIONAL HOURS 

(a)  Notwithstanding any other provision of the rules in this 

Subchapter, pursuant to G.S. 88B-18(d) a cosmetologist, 

apprentice, esthetician, manicurist, natural hair care specialist, or 

teacher candidate who has failed either section of the examination 

three times, shall complete the following amounts of study at an 

approved cosmetic art school before the Board may accept an 

application: 

(1) Cosmetologist 200 100 hours; 

(2) Apprentice 150 75 hours; 

(3) Esthetician 80 40 hours; 

(4) Manicurist 40 20 hours; 

(5) Natural Hair Care Specialist 40 20 hours; and 

(6) Teacher: 

(A) cosmetology 100 hours; 

(B) esthetician 80 hours; and 

(C) manicurist 40 hours. 

(b)  Schools shall evaluate students returning to complete 

additional hours in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule and 

shall provide remedial assistance or training in the areas of 

deficiency. 
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(c)  Additional hours may be completed through online study or 

instruction. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 88B-18. 

 

SECTION .0700 - SCHOOL LICENSURE, OPERATIONS, 

CLOSING AND RELOCATING SCHOOLS 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0706 SCHOOL APPROVAL CHANGES 

AND SCHOOL CLOSING 

(a)  If the square footage, instructional layout or location of a 

cosmetic art school changes, or if there is a transfer of majority 

ownership of a cosmetic art school, whether by sale, lease or 

otherwise a new approval application is required. 

(b)  License and letters of approval issued to cosmetic art schools 

are not transferrable, and are valid only for the location, square 

footage and enrollment capacity for which issued, and to the 

owner to whom issued. The letter of approval shall contain the 

school name, school owner name, school location, date of 

approval, the signature of the Board members, the amount of 

approved square footage and the maximum number of 

enrollments for which the school has been approved. 

(c)  Schools intending to close must notify the Board not less than 

30 days in advance. 

(d)  Schools must make provisions for the long term storage of 

school documents, and facilitate the retrieval of any school 

documents upon the request of a student or the Board. Schools 

shall notify the Board of the contact information for retrieval of 

any school information. 

(e)  Schools must facilitate and cooperate in the final inspection 

and processing of student hours. 

(f)  If the square footage or instructional layout of a cosmetic art 

school changes the school shall notify the Board of the change and 

submit a diagram of the new instructional layout, an inspection 

shall be scheduled to verify the change. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 
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to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on March 18, 2021 Meeting. 
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Contents of Petition 04 NCAC 12D .0103 35:08 NCR 
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Covered Entity System Access; Local Administrators 14B NCAC 19A .0104* 34:13 NCR 

System Compatibility for Kits 14B NCAC 19B .0101 34:13 NCR 

Medical Service Providers 14B NCAC 19B .0102* 34:13 NCR 

Law Enforcement Agencies 14B NCAC 19B .0103* 34:13 NCR 

Law Enforcement Support Services 14B NCAC 19B .0104* 34:13 NCR 

Forensic Laboratories 14B NCAC 19B .0105* 34:13 NCR 
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Compliance and Sanctions 14B NCAC 19C .0101* 34:13 NCR 
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Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .3101 35:11 NCR 
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Student Hours 21 NCAC 06F .0124* 35:12 NCR 

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

Emergency Extensions of Continuing Education Requirements... 21 NCAC 28B .0406 35:07 NCR 

MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF 

Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 21 NCAC 30 .0636* 35:12 NCR 

Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 21 NCAC 30 .0704* 35:12 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32B .1708* 35:10 NCR 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32M .0119 35:10 NCR 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

License Renewal Form 21 NCAC 34B .0309 35:11 NCR 

OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF 

Waiver 21 NCAC 40 .0113 35:11 NCR 

VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 

Petition for Inactive Status 21 NCAC 66 .0309* 35:09 NCR 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF 

General 26 NCAC 03 .0502 35:11 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

04 NCAC 12C .0108 RESIDENTIAL 

CONSERVATION SERVICE PROGRAM 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 

143B-431; 143B-449; 150B-12; Title II, Part I (NECPA); P.L. 

95-619; 92 Stat. 3206; Title V, Subtitle B (ESA), P.L. 96-294, 94 

Stat. 611; 

Eff. October 1, 1980; 

Emergency Amendment [(e)] Eff. November 3, 1980 for a period 

of 120 days to expire March 3, 1981; 

Emergency Amendment [(e)] Expired Eff. March 3, 1981; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983; August 6, 1981; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0101 DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY 

FOR RULEMAKING HEARINGS AND STATE ENERGY 

OFFICE CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  The Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality 

designates the State Energy Director or his or her designee as the 

hearing officer to conduct rulemaking hearings in matters 

pertaining to rules and regulations of the State Energy Office. 

(b)  All notices required by the rules in this Subchapter to be 

submitted to the State Energy Office or the Financial Services 

Division shall be made to: The North Carolina State Energy 

Office, 1613 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1613. The 

physical address of the State Energy Office is 217 W. Jones St., 

Raleigh, NC 27603. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-58.4(c); 143B-

344.44(b)(3); 150B-20; 

Emergency Rule Eff. March 6, 1978, for a period of 120 days to 

expire on July 3, 1978; 

Eff. July 3, 1978; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0102 SUBMISSION AND CONTENTS 

OF PETITION FOR RULEMAKING 

(a)  Any person wishing to submit a petition requesting the 

adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule by the State Energy 

Office, within the Department of Environmental Quality shall 

petition the State Energy Director by submitting the information 

required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The petitioner shall send 

the petition in accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section.  

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) the text of the proposed rule(s) for adoption or 

amendment; 

(2) a statement of the reasons for the adoption of a 

proposed rule(s), amendment or repeal of 

existing rule(s); 

(3) a statement of the effect on existing rules or 

orders; 
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(4) any documents and data supporting the 

proposed rule(s); 

(5) the name(s) and addresses(es) of petitioner(s); 

and 

(6) a request to present the petition to the hearing 

officers in accordance with Rule .0101 of this 

Section, if desired. 

(c)  The petitioner may include the following information within 

the request: 

(1) the statutory authority for the agency to 

promulgate the rule(s); 

(2) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s) 

on existing practices in the area involved, 

including cost factors for persons affected by 

the proposed rule(s); 

(3) a statement explaining the computation of the 

costs factors; and 

(4) a description, including the names and 

addresses, if known, of those most likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule(s). 

(d)  The State Energy Director shall return petitions that do not 

contain the information required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule to 

the petitioner. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-58.4(c); 143B-

344.44(b)(3); 150B-20; 

Emergency Regulation Eff. March 6, 1978, for a period of 120 

days to expire on July 3, 1978; 

Eff. July 3, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0103 CONTENTS OF PETITION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 

143B-431; 143B-449; 

Emergency Regulation Eff. March 6, 1978, for a period of 120 

days to expire on July 3, 1978; 

Eff. July 3, 1978; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0116 ISSUANCE OF DECLARATORY 

RULINGS 

At the request of any person aggrieved, as defined in G.S. 150B-

2(6), the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality 

may issue a declaratory ruling as provided in G.S. 150B-4 and the 

rules of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-58.4(c); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);  

Emergency Regulation Eff. March 6, 1978, for a period of 120 

days to expire on July 3, 1978; 

Eff. July 3, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0117 DISPOSITION OF REQUEST 

FOR DECLARATORY RULING 

(a)  The State Energy Director shall make a determination on the 

completeness of the request for a declaratory ruling based on Rule 

.0133 of this Section. 

(b)  Before deciding the merits of the request, and upon 

consideration of the complete request for a declaratory ruling, the 

Director shall determine if additional information or 

presentation(s) are needed and if so: 

(1) request additional written submissions from the 

petitioner(s); 

(2) request a written response from the State 

Energy Office staff or any other person; and 

(3) hear oral arguments from the petitioner(s), 

interveners, and the State Energy Office staff or 

their legal counsel. 

(c)  The Director shall decline to issue a declaratory ruling if any 

of the following are found: 

(1) that there has been a similar determination in a 

previous contested case or declaratory ruling; 

(2) that the matter is the subject of a pending 

contested case, hearing, or litigation in any 

North Carolina or federal court; 

(3) that no genuine controversy exists as to the 

application of a statue, rule, or order to the 

specific factual situation presented; or 

(4) that the factual situation presented as the 

subject of the declaratory ruling was 

specifically considered upon the adoption of the 

rule being questioned, as evidenced by the 

rulemaking record. 

(d)  The Department shall keep a record of each request for 

declaratory ruling, which shall include the following items; 

(1) the request for a ruling; 

(2) any written submission by a party; 

(3) the facts on which the ruling was based; 

(4) any transcripts of oral proceedings, if available, 

and recordings of oral arguments; 

(5) any other information such as documents, 

photographs, recordings, maps, plats, articles, 

and studies considered by the Director in the 

making of the decision; and 

(6) the declaratory ruling, or the decision to decline 

to issue a declaratory ruling, together with the 

reasons therefore. 

(e)  The Department shall notify the petitioner in writing of the 

Director's decision on the request for declaratory ruling, including 

the basis for the decision. 

(f)  For purposes of this Section, a declaratory ruling shall be 

deemed to be in effect until: 

(1) the statute or rule interpreted by the declaratory 

ruling is repealed or the relevant provisions of 

the statute or rule are amended or altered; 

(2) any court of the Appellate Division of the 

General Courts of Justice construes the statute 

or rule that is the subject of a declaratory ruling 

to be irreconcilable with the declaratory ruling; 

or 

(3) any court sets aside the declaratory ruling in 

litigation between the Department and the party 

requesting the ruling. 

(g)  Any Division of the Department may be a party to any request 

for declaratory ruling upon written request. The request shall be 
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made to the Director within five days of receipt of notice of the 

request for a declaratory ruling. 

(h)  Upon written request, the petitioner(s), intervener(s), and the 

Division each shall be allowed to present oral arguments to the 

Director. No party shall offer testimony or conduct cross-

examination before the Director. 

(i)  The Director shall issue a decision on whether to grant or deny 

the request for declaratory ruling within 30 days of the receipt of 

the petition. If granted, the Director shall have 45 days from the 

date of granting the request to issue a ruling on the merits of the 

request. 

(k)  A declaratory ruling, or failure to issue a declaratory ruling, 

is subject to judicial review as provided in G.S. 150B-4(a)(1). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-58.4(c); 143B-

344.44(b)(3); 150B-4; 

Emergency Regulation Eff. March 6, 1978, for a period of 120 

days to expire on July 3, 1978; 

Eff. July 3, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0132 DISPOSITION OF PETITIONS 

FOR RULEMAKING 

(a)  If the State Energy Director determines the petition to be 

complete in accordance with Rule .0102 of this Section, the 

Director shall notice a hearing at least 15 days before the hearing's 

scheduled date. 

(b)  The petitioner shall be afforded the opportunity to present the 

petition to the Director if so requested in accordance with Rule 

.0102(b)(6) of this Section. The State Energy Office may also 

make a presentation to the Director. 

(c)  The Director shall allow one interested person to present the 

viewpoint of those who oppose initiating rulemaking. The 

Director shall determine whether additional interested persons are 

permitted to make oral presentations during the hearing. 

Interested persons shall request the opportunity to make a 

presentation to the Director through the State Energy Office, in 

accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, at least five days prior 

to the scheduled hearing. The request shall: 

(1) state the interest of the person in the petition for 

rulemaking: 

(2) state the person's position on the petition; and 

(3) be accompanied by any supporting materials. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-58.4(c); 143B-

344.44(b)(3); 150B-20; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0133 SUBMISSION OF REQUEST 

FOR DECLARATORY RULING 

(a)  All requests for a declaratory ruling shall be filed in 

accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section. 

(b)  All requests for declaratory rulings shall include the 

following: 

(1) the name and address of petitioner(s); 

(2) the statute, rule, or order upon which a ruling is 

desired; 

(3) a statement as to whether the request is for a 

ruling on the validity of a rule or on the 

applicability of a statute, rule, or order to a 

given factual situation; 

(4) arguments or data demonstrating that the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the statue, rule, or 

order, or by its potential application to the 

petitioner; 

(5) a statement of the consequences of failure to 

issue a declaratory ruling in favor of the 

petitioner; 

(6) a statement of the desired outcome; and 

(7) a statement of whether an oral argument is 

desired, and if so, the reason(s) for requesting 

such an oral argument. 

(c)  A petitioner may request a declaratory ruling on the 

applicability of a statute, rule, or order to the petitioner, or on the 

validity of a Department rule. The petitioner may request both 

types of declaratory ruling in a single request. A request on the 

applicability of a statute, rule, or order shall include a statement 

of the facts and documentation supporting such facts, in addition 

to the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. A request to 

determine the validity of a Department rule shall state the 

petitioner's reason(s) for the request and a written argument, in 

addition to the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  Any other person may petition to become a party by filing a 

motion to intervene in the manner provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 

24. The State Energy Director shall determine whether to grant 

the motion to intervene in accordance with Rule 24 of the North 

Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-58.4(c); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);  

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13O .0301 NURSE AIDE I TRAINING AND 

COMPETENCY EVALUATION 

(a)  To be eligible to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry by 

the Health Care Personnel Education and Credentialing Section, 

a person shall: 

(1) pass a Nurse Aide I training program approved 

by the Department in accordance with 42 CFR 

483.151 through 42 CFR 483.152 and the State 

of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam; or 

(2) apply to the Department for approval to be 

listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry by 

reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or 

registration from another State to North 

Carolina. 

(b)  In applying for reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or 

registration to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry pursuant 

to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, the applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application to the 

Department that includes the following: 

(A) first, middle, and last name; 

(B) the applicant's prior name(s), if any; 
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(C) mother's maiden name; 

(D) gender; 

(E) social security number; 

(F) date of birth; 

(G) mailing address; 

(H) email address; 

(I) home telephone number; 

(J) any other State registries of nurse 

aides upon which the applicant is 

listed; 

(K) certification or registration numbers 

for any State nurse aide registries 

identified in Part (b)(1)(J) of this Rule; 

(L) original issue dates for any 

certifications or registrations 

identified in Part (b)(1)(K) of this 

Rule; 

(M) expiration dates for any certifications 

or registrations identified in Part 

(b)(1)(K) of this Rule; and 

(N) employment history; 

(2) provide documentation verifying that his or her 

registry listing is active and in good standing in 

the State(s) of reciprocity, dated no older than 

30 calendar days prior to the date the 

application is received by the Department; and 

(3) provide a copy of his or her Social Security card 

and an unexpired government-issued 

identification containing a photograph and 

signature. 

(c)  For the applicant to be approved for reciprocity of a nurse aide 

certification or registration and be listed on the NC Nurse Aide I 

Registry, the Department shall verify the following: 

(1) the applicant has completed an application in 

accordance with Subparagraph (b)(1) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the applicant is listed on another State's registry 

of nurse aides as active and in good standing; 

(3) the applicant has no pending or substantiated 

findings of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or 

misappropriation of resident or patient property 

recorded on other State registries of nurse aides; 

(4) if the applicant has been employed as a nurse 

aide for monetary compensation consisting of 

at least a total of eight hours of time worked 

performing nursing or nursing-related tasks 

delegated and supervised by a Registered 

Nurse, then the applicant shall provide the 

employer name, employer address, and dates of 

employment for the previous 24 consecutive 

months; 

(5) the name listed on the Social Security card and 

government-issued identification containing a 

photograph and signature submitted with the 

application matches the name listed on another 

State's registry of nurse aides or that the 

applicant has submitted additional 

documentation verifying any name changes; 

and 

(6) the applicant completed a State-approved nurse 

aide training and competency evaluation 

program that meets the requirements of 42 CFR 

483.152 or a State-approved competency 

evaluation program that meets the requirements 

of 42 CFR 483.154. 

(d)  The Department shall within 10 business days of receipt of an 

application for reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or 

registration or receipt of additional information from the 

applicant: 

(1) inform the applicant by letter whether he or she 

has been approved; or 

(2) request additional information from the 

applicant. 

The applicant shall be added to the NC Nurse Aide I Registry 

within three business days of Department approval. 

(e)  This Rule incorporates 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart D by 

reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies of the Code of Federal Regulations may be accessed 

electronically free of charge from 

www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode

=CFR. 

(f)  The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam 

shall include each course requirement specified in the 

Department-approved Nurse Aide I training program as provided 

for in 42 CFR 483.152. 

(g)  The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam 

shall be administered and evaluated only by the Department or its 

contracted testing agent as provided for in 42 CFR 483.154. 

(h)  The Department shall include a record of completion of the 

State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam in the 

NC Nurse Aide I Registry within 30 days of passing the written 

or oral exam and the skills demonstration as provided for in 42 

CFR 483.154. 

(i)  If the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam 

candidate does not pass the written or oral exam and the skills 

demonstration as provided for in 42 CFR 483.154, the candidate 

shall be advised by the Department of the areas that the individual 

did not pass. 

(j)  Every North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam 

candidate shall have the opportunity to take the exam at maximum 

three times before being required to retake and pass a Nurse Aide 

I training program. 

(k)  U.S. military personnel who have completed medical 

corpsman training and retired or non-practicing nurses shall not 

be required to take the Department-approved Nurse Aide I 

training program to be listed or relisted on the Nurse Aide I 

Registry, unless the person fails to pass the State of North 

Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam after three attempts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-255; 42 CFR 483.150; 42 

CFR 483.151; 42 CFR 483.152; 42 CFR 483.154; 42 CFR 

483.156; 42 CFR 483.158; 

Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 20, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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10A NCAC 41A .0101 REPORTABLE DISEASES AND 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  The following named diseases and conditions are declared to 

be dangerous to the public health and are hereby made reportable 

within the time period specified after the disease or condition is 

reasonably suspected to exist: 

(1) acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) 

‑ 24 hours; 

(2) acute flaccid myelitis – 7 days; 

(3) anaplasmosis – 7 days; 

(4) anthrax ‑ immediately; 

(5) arboviral infection, neuroinvasive – 7 days; 

(6) babesiosis – 7 days; 

(7) botulism ‑ immediately; 

(8) brucellosis ‑ 7 days; 

(9) campylobacter infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(10) Candida auris - 24 hours; 

(11) Carbapenem-Resistant Enterobacteriaceae 

(CRE) – 24 hours; 

(12) chancroid ‑ 24 hours; 

(13) chikungunya virus infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(14) chlamydial infection (laboratory confirmed) ‑ 7 

days; 

(15) cholera ‑ 24 hours; 

(16) Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease – 7 days; 

(17) cryptosporidiosis – 24 hours; 

(18) cyclosporiasis – 24 hours; 

(19) dengue ‑ 7 days; 

(20) diphtheria ‑ 24 hours; 

(21) Escherichia coli, shiga toxin-producing 

infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(22) ehrlichiosis – 7 days; 

(23) foodborne disease, including Clostridium 

perfringens, staphylococcal, Bacillus cereus, 

and other and unknown causes ‑ 24 hours; 

(24) gonorrhea ‑ 24 hours; 

(25) granuloma inguinale ‑ 24 hours; 

(26) Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease ‑ 24 

hours; 

(27) Hantavirus infection – 7 days; 

(28) Hemolytic-uremic syndrome – 24 hours; 

(29) Hemorrhagic fever virus infection – 

immediately; 

(30) hepatitis A ‑ 24 hours; 

(31) hepatitis B ‑ 24 hours; 

(32) hepatitis B carriage ‑ 7 days; 

(33) hepatitis C, acute – 7 days; 

(34) human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 

infection confirmed ‑ 24 hours; 

(35) influenza virus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(36) legionellosis ‑ 7 days; 

(37) leprosy – 7 days; 

(38) leptospirosis ‑ 7 days; 

(39) listeriosis – 24 hours; 

(40) Lyme disease ‑ 7 days; 

(41) Lymphogranuloma venereum ‑ 7 days; 

(42) malaria ‑ 7 days; 

(43) measles (rubeola) ‑ immediately; 

(44) meningitis, pneumococcal ‑ 7 days; 

(45) meningococcal disease ‑ 24 hours; 

(46) Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) ‑ 24 

hours; 

(47) monkeypox – 24 hours; 

(48) mumps ‑ 7 days; 

(49) nongonococcal urethritis ‑ 7 days; 

(50) novel coronavirus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(51) novel coronavirus infection – immediately; 

(52) novel influenza virus infection – immediately; 

(53) plague ‑ immediately; 

(54) paralytic poliomyelitis ‑ 24 hours; 

(55) pelvic inflammatory disease – 7 days; 

(56) psittacosis ‑ 7 days; 

(57) Q fever ‑ 7 days; 

(58) rabies, human ‑ 24 hours; 

(59) rubella ‑ 24 hours; 

(60) rubella congenital syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(61) salmonellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(62) severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) – 24 

hours; 

(63) shigellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(64) smallpox ‑ immediately; 

(65) spotted fever rickettsiosis – 7 days; 

(66) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vancomycin – 24 hours; 

(67) streptococcal infection, Group A, invasive 

disease ‑ 7 days; 

(68) syphilis ‑ 24 hours; 

(69) tetanus ‑ 7 days; 

(70) toxic shock syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(71) trichinosis ‑ 7 days; 

(72) tuberculosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(73) tularemia – immediately; 

(74) typhoid ‑ 24 hours; 

(75) typhoid carriage (Salmonella typhi) ‑ 7 days; 

(76) typhus, epidemic (louse-borne) ‑ 7 days; 

(77) vaccinia – 24 hours; 

(78) varicella – 24 hours; 

(79) vibrio infection (other than cholera) – 24 hours; 

(80) whooping cough – 24 hours; 

(81) yellow fever – 7 days; and 

(82) zika virus – 24 hours. 

(b)  For purposes of reporting, "confirmed human 

immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection" is defined as a positive 

virus culture, repeatedly reactive EIA antibody test confirmed by 

western blot or indirect immunofluorescent antibody test, positive 

nucleic acid detection (NAT) test, or other confirmed testing 

method approved by the Director of the State Public Health 

Laboratory conducted on or after February 1, 1990. In selecting 

additional tests for approval, the Director of the State Public 

Health Laboratory shall consider whether such tests have been 
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approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration, 

recommended by the federal Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and endorsed by the Association of Public Health 

Laboratories. 

(c)  In addition to the laboratory reports for Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, and syphilis specified in G.S. 

130A-139, laboratories shall report using electronic laboratory 

reporting (ELR), secure telecommunication, or paper reports. 

(1) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms or their products from 

human clinical specimens: 

(A) Anaplasma spp., the causes of 

anaplasmosis. 

(B) Any hantavirus.  

(C) Any hemorrhagic fever virus. 

(D) Arthropod-borne virus (any type). 

(E) Babesia spp., the cause of babesiosis. 

(F) Bacillus anthracis, the cause of 

anthrax. 

(G) Bordetella pertussis, the cause of 

whooping cough (pertussis). 

(H) Borrelia burgdorferi, the cause of 

Lyme disease (confirmed tests). 

(I) Brucella spp., the causes of 

brucellosis. 

(J) Campylobacter spp., the causes of 

campylobacteriosis. 

(K) Candida auris. 

(L) Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE). 

(M) Chlamydia trachomatis, the cause of 

genital chlamydial infection, 

conjunctivitis (adult and newborn) and 

pneumonia of newborns. 

(N) Clostridium botulinum, a cause of 

botulism. 

(O) Clostridium tetani, the cause of 

tetanus. 

(P) Coronavirus, novel human strain. 

(Q) Corynebacterium diphtheriae, the 

cause of diphtheria. 

(R) Coxiella burnetii, the cause of Q fever. 

(S) Cryptosporidium spp., the cause of 

human cryptosporidiosis. 

(T) Cyclospora cayetanensis, the cause of 

cyclosporiasis. 

(U) Dengue virus. 

(V) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(W) Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 

coli, a cause of hemorrhagic colitis, 

hemolytic uremic syndrome, and 

thrombotic thrombocytopenic 

purpura. 

(X) Francisella tularensis, the cause of 

tularemia. 

(Y) Hepatitis A virus. 

(Z) Hepatitis B virus or any component 

thereof, such as hepatitis B surface 

antigen. 

(AA) Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the 

cause of AIDS. 

(BB) Legionella spp., the causes of 

legionellosis. 

(CC) Leptospira spp., the causes of 

leptospirosis. 

(DD) Listeria monocytogenes, the cause of 

listeriosis. 

(EE) Measles virus. 

(FF) Middle East respiratory syndrome 

virus. 

(GG) Monkeypox. 

(HH) Mumps virus. 

(II) Mycobacterium leprae, the cause of 

leprosy. 

(JJ) Plasmodium falciparum, P. malariae, 

P. ovale, and P. vivax, the causes of 

malaria in humans. 

(KK) Poliovirus (any), the cause of 

poliomyelitis. 

(LL) Rabies virus. 

(MM) Rickettsia spp., the cause of spotted 

fever rickettsiosis. 

(NN) Rubella virus. 

(OO) Salmonella spp., the causes of 

salmonellosis. 

(PP) Shigella spp., the causes of shigellosis. 

(QQ) Smallpox virus, the cause of smallpox. 

(RR) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vancomycin. 

(SS) Trichinella spiralis, the cause of 

trichinosis. 

(TT) Vaccinia virus. 

(UU) Varicella virus. 

(VV) Vibrio spp., the causes of cholera and 

other vibrioses. 

(WW) Yellow fever virus. 

(XX) Yersinia pestis, the cause of plague. 

(YY) Zika virus. 

(2) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms from normally sterile 

human body sites: 

(A) Group A Streptococcus pyogenes 

(group A streptococci). 

(B) Haemophilus influenzae, serotype b. 

(C) Neisseria meningitidis, the cause of 

meningococcal disease. 

(3) Positive serologic test results, as specified, for 

the following infections: 

(A) Fourfold or greater changes or 

equivalent changes in serum antibody 

titers to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne virus 

associated with 

neuroinvasive disease. 
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(ii) Anaplasma spp., the cause of 

anaplasmosis. 

(iii) Any hantavirus or 

hemorrhagic fever virus. 

(iv) Chlamydia psittaci, the cause 

of psittacosis. 

(v) Chikungunya virus. 

(vi) Coxiella burnetii, the cause 

of Q fever. 

(vii) Dengue virus. 

(viii) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(ix) Measles (rubeola) virus. 

(x) Mumps virus. 

(xi) Rickettsia rickettsii, the 

cause of Rocky Mountain 

spotted fever. 

(xii) Rubella virus. 

(xiii) Varicella virus. 

(xiv) Yellow fever virus. 

(B) The presence of IgM serum antibodies 

to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne virus 

associated with 

neuroinvasive disease. 

(ii) Chikungunya virus. 

(iii) Chlamydia psittaci. 

(iv) Dengue virus. 

(v) Hepatitis A virus. 

(vi) Hepatitis B virus core 

antigen. 

(vii) Mumps virus. 

(viii) Rubella virus. 

(ix) Rubeola (measles) virus. 

(x) Yellow fever virus. 

(4) Laboratory results from tests to determine the 

absolute and relative counts for the T-helper 

(CD4) subset of lymphocytes and all results 

from tests to determine HIV viral load. 

(5) Identification of CRE from a clinical specimen 

associated with either infection or colonization, 

including all susceptibility results and all 

phenotypic or molecular test results. 

(d)  Laboratories utilizing electronic laboratory reporting (ELR) 

shall report in addition to those listed under Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule: 

(1) All positive laboratory results from tests used to 

diagnosis chronic Hepatitis C Infection, 

including the following: 

(A) Hepatitis C virus antibody tests 

(including the test specific signal to 

cut-off (s/c) ratio); 

(B) Hepatitis C nucleic acid tests; 

(C) Hepatitis C antigen(s) tests; and 

(D) Hepatitis C genotypic tests. 

(2) All HIV genotypic test results, including when 

available: 

(A) The entire nucleotide sequence; or 

(B) The pol region sequence (including all 

regions: protease (PR)/reverse 

transcriptase (RT) and integrase (INI) 

genes, if available). 

(3) All test results for Interferon Gamma Release 

Assays. 

(e)  For the purposes of reporting, Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) are defined as: 

(1) Enterobacter spp., E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

positive for a known carbapenemase resistance 

mechanism or positive on a phenotypic test for 

carbapenemase production; or 

(2) Enterobacter spp., E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

resistant to any carbapenem in the absence of 

carbapenemase resistance mechanism testing or 

phenotypic testing for carbapenemase 

production. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-

139; 130A-141; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; February 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 13, 2003; October 1, 2002; 

February 18, 2002; June 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2003; May 16, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; November 1, 2007; October 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2010; 

Temporary Amendment Expired September 11, 2011; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 2, 2014; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; October 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. February 17, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 24, 2020; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0202 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR LICENSE 

Applicants for an alarm system license shall meet the following 

requirements, which are in addition to those specified in G.S. 

74D: 

(1) establish two year's experience within the past 

five years in alarm systems installation or 

service, or alarm systems business 

management; or 

(2) no longer than one year prior to the application 

date, complete the Certified Alarm Technician 
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Level I Course offered by the National 

Electronic Security Association, Elite CEU's 

online training course, or Complete Electrical 

Academy's Level I training course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-5; 

Temporary Rule Eff. January 9, 1984, for a period of 120 days to 

expire on May 7, 1984; 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; August 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; 

March 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; June 1, 1990; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0202 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

14B NCAC 19A .0101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Chapter are applicable to persons or entities in 

the State that have custody of any sexual assault evidence 

collection kits, including medical service providers, law 

enforcement agencies, forensic laboratories, and the Department 

of Public Safety Law Enforcement Support Services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19A .0102 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Chapter: 

(1) "Covered entity" means an agency, medical 

facility, or medical professional, person, or 

entity subject to the System tracking 

requirements. 

(2) "Director" means the Director of the North 

Carolina State Crime Laboratory. 

(3) "Forensic laboratory" means a person, agency, 

or department that takes custody of a sexual 

assault evidence collection kit for purposes of 

conducting forensic testing. 

(4) "Forensic medical examination" means an 

examination provided to a sexual assault victim 

by medical personnel trained to gather evidence 

of a sexual assault in a manner suitable for use 

in a court of law and includes collection and 

evaluation of physical evidence. 

(5) "Kit" or "sexual assault evidence collection kit" 

means a prepared kit used to conduct a forensic 

medical examination. 

(6) "Law enforcement agency" means any police 

department, sheriff's office, campus police 

department, or any other person, agency, or 

department investigating a reported sexual 

assault for which a sexual assault evidence 

collection kit has been utilized by a medical 

service provider or that is taking possession of 

or storing an unreported or anonymous sexual 

assault evidence collection kit. 

(7) "Medical service provider" means a medical 

facility or medical professional in the State who 

administers a forensic medical examination 

using a sexual assault evidence collection kit. 

(8) "Previously untested kit" means a sexual assault 

evidence collection kit used in a forensic 

medical examination that has not undergone 

forensic testing and was identified and included 

in the 2017 Statewide inventory. 

(9) "Statewide System Administrator" means an 

employee of the North Carolina State Crime 

Laboratory who has responsibility for the 

overall administrative functions of the System, 

including providing assistance to covered 

entities, training all covered entities, making 

corrections in the system, and generating data 

reports for the Director's annual tracking report 

to the Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on 

Justice and Public Safety. 

(10) "System" means Sexual Assault Evidence 

Collection Kit Tracking and Inventory 

Management System (STIMS). 

(11) "System guidelines" means the guidelines 

published by the Director of the North Carolina 

State Crime Laboratory for use by covered 

entities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 143B-1200; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19A .0103 STATEWIDE SYSTEM 

ADMINISTRATOR DESIGNATION 

(a)  The System shall be administered by the Statewide System 

Administrator. 

(b)  The Statewide System Administrator shall: 

(1) grant System access to each covered entity; 

(2) provide training on the System and technical 

assistance to all local administrators; and 

(3) keep a log of all notifications for entities out of 

compliance with the rules of this Chapter. 

(c)  The Statewide System Administrator contact information is 

NCSTIMS@ncdoj.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19A .0104 COVERED ENTITY SYSTEM 

ACCESS; LOCAL ADMINISTRATORS 

(a)  Each covered entity shall access the System and require that 

its users are trained to enter kit information data in the System. 

(b)  Each covered entity shall designate a local administrator, who 

shall provide his or her contact information to the Statewide 

System Administrator in writing, by mail, hand delivery, or email. 

The address for the State System Administrator is the State Crime 

Lab, 121 East Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27603. If a covered entity 

changes its local administrator or contact information for its local 

administrator, the covered entity shall update the System 

administrative information and provide written notice of the 
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change to the Statewide System Administrator within 10 business 

days. 

(c)  The local administrator shall report any issues requiring 

technical support to the Statewide System Administrator within 

two business days at NCSTIMS@ncdoj.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0101 SYSTEM COMPATIBILITY FOR 

KITS 

Any State or local government agency responsible for the 

production of kits to be used in this State shall produce kits that 

are compatible with the System. A government agency that 

contracts for kit production by a vendor shall ensure that the 

vendor is contractually obligated to meet this requirement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 143B-1201; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0102 MEDICAL SERVICE 

PROVIDERS 

(a)  Medical service providers shall: 

(1) In the System, receive all kits used for the 

collection of physical evidence during forensic 

medical examinations from the kit vendor; 

(2) make all required data entries in accordance 

with System guidelines; and 

(3) track all kit transfers from the provider to a law 

enforcement agency or to Law Enforcement 

Support Services (LESS) in the System. 

(b)  Prior to using any kit that does not already have a tracking 

number, the medical service provider shall affix a 

tracking label received from the Statewide System Administrator. 

(c)  The medical service provider shall inform the victim of the 

North Carolina Department of Justice Sexual Assault Kit 

Tracking Web Portal found at 

https://www.sexualassaultkittracking.ncdoj.gov/SexualAssaultKi

tTracking/ and provide the victim with the kit tracking number to 

view kit tracking and testing information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0103 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

AGENCIES 

(a)  Each law enforcement agency in the State shall comply with 

System guidelines to track the: 

(1) receipt of kits by the law enforcement agency 

from medical service providers or Law 

Enforcement Support Services (LESS); 

(2) transfer of kits from the law enforcement 

agency to forensic laboratories; and 

(3) transfer of kits from forensic laboratories back 

to the law enforcement agency.  

Each law enforcement agency shall enter all data in accordance 

with System guidelines and keep the data updated as the 

investigation of the incident evolves. 

(b)  When a law enforcement agency submits a kit to any private 

vendor laboratory or any public laboratory outside of North 

Carolina for forensic testing, the law enforcement agency shall 

coordinate with that forensic laboratory to ensure that entries for 

the tracking of the kit are made in the System, in accordance with 

System guidelines. 

(c)  Each law enforcement agency that receives into its custody a 

kit that does not already have an assigned tracking number shall 

affix a tracking label received from the Statewide System 

Administrator. 

(d)  Each law enforcement agency shall enter all data from each 

previously untested kit in its custody into the North Carolina 

SAKI online data collection tool. Kits entered in the collection 

tool will be placed into STIMS by the Statewide System 

Administrator to make them trackable. Each law enforcement 

agency shall send an e-mail to NCSAKI@ncdoj.gov to gain 

access to the online data collection tool. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0104 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

SUPPORT SERVICES 

Law Enforcement Support Services shall: 

(1) confirm all kits held or received into its custody 

have tracking labels; 

(2) enter tracking data in accordance with System 

guidelines; and 

(3) track the subsequent transfer of any kit to a law 

enforcement agency in the System. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0105 FORENSIC LABORATORIES 

(a)  Any forensic laboratory in this State that takes custody of a 

kit for purposes of conducting forensic testing shall: 

(1) Enter the transfer and receipt of the kit in the 

tracking System in accordance with System 

guidelines; 

(2) Enter all data on the examination in accordance 

with System guidelines; and 

(3) Enter the transfer of the kit back to the 

submitting law enforcement agency in the 

tracking System in accordance with System 

guidelines. 

(b)  Any forensic laboratory in this State that receives into its 

custody a kit that does not already have tracking label shall affix 

a tracking label to the kit received from the Statewide System 

Administrator. 

(c)  North Carolina law enforcement agencies that submit kits to 

private vendor laboratories or public laboratories outside of this 

State for purposes of conducting forensic testing shall coordinate 

with those laboratories to ensure that entries for the tracking of 

the kit are made in the System in accordance with System 

guidelines.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 
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14B NCAC 19B .0106 PREVIOUSLY UNTESTED KITS 

(a)  Each covered entity's local administrator shall contact the 

Statewide System Administrator to obtain tracking labels 

designated for previously untested kits. 

(b)  Covered entities shall comply with System guidelines for 

submitting data to be used by the Statewide System Administrator 

to enter previously untested kits in their custody in the tracking 

System. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 19C .0101 DEFICIENCY CORRECTION 

AND SANCTIONS 

(a)  The Statewide System Administrator shall give written or oral 

notice to any covered entity out of compliance 

with the rules of this Chapter. The notice shall include: 

(1) identification of the deficiency; and 

(2) notice that the deficiency must be corrected 

within 10 business days following notification. 

(b)  If a covered entity fails to correct the deficiency within 10 

business days following notification, the Statewide System 

Administrator shall give written notice by mail, hand delivery, or 

email to the covered entity and such notice shall include: 

(1) identification of the deficiency; and 

(2) notice that the failure to resolve the identified 

deficiency within 10 business days following 

notification may result in the covered entity 

being listed in the Director's annual tracking 

report to the Joint Legislative Oversight 

Committee on Justice and Public Safety. 

(c)  The Statewide System Administrator shall keep a log of all 

notifications for entities out of compliance with the rules of this 

Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-65; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1724 DISINFECTION OF WATER 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  A water system regulated under this Section shall be 

disinfected upon completion of construction, maintenance, 

repairs, pump installation, or a report of a confirmed positive 

coliform sample. Wells shall be disinfected as required in 15A 

NCAC 02C .0111, which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

(b)  A spring enclosure shall be disinfected upon completion of 

construction, maintenance, repairs, pump installation, or a report 

of a confirmed positive coliform sample as follows: 

(1) the interior surfaces of the spring enclosure 

shall be washed or swabbed with a chlorine 

solution of at least 100 milligrams per liter 

(mg/1) or greater of chlorine residual; 

(2) the disinfectant shall be poured into the spring, 

the service pipe shall be plugged, and water 

shall be retained in the spring storage for at least 

24 hours, or disinfectant shall be fed into the 

spring continuously for at least 24 hours; and 

(3) the spring shall flow to waste until no 

disinfectant can be measured with a test kit that 

measures chlorine levels. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 95-225; 130A-235; 130A-236; 

130A-248; 130A-257; 130A-315; 

Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Child-occupied facility" means as defined at 

G.S. 130A-131.7(2). 

(2) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(3) "High contact areas for children" means areas 

including sandboxes, gardens, play areas, pet 

sleeping areas, and areas within three feet of a 

residential housing unit or child-occupied 

facility. 

(4) "Residential housing unit" means as defined at 

G.S. 130A-131.7(16). 

(5) "Safe work practices" are methods used to 

avoid creating lead-based paint hazards during 

on-site work that disturbs paint that may 

contain lead as set forth in the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency publication 

"Steps to Lead Safe Renovation, Repair, and 

Painting," which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions, and available free of 

charge at: 

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/201

3-11/documents/steps_0.pdf. 

(6) "Specialized cleaning" is the use of cleaning 

protocols that have been shown to be effective 

in removing lead-contaminated dust as set forth 

in the United States Department of Housing and 

Urban Development publication "Guidelines 

for the Evaluation and Control of Lead-Based 

Paint Hazards in Housing," which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments and editions, and 

available free of charge at: 

https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/SECON

D_EDITION_2012.PDF.  

(7) "Visual inspection" means an on-site 

assessment by the Department or its agent 

authorized pursuant to 15A NCAC 01O 

.0101(4) to determine compliance with the 

approved remediation plan as set forth in G.S. 

130A-131.9C.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-131.5;  

Eff. October 1, 1990; 
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Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 19I .0101 Eff. 

August 28, 1991; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 21E .0401 Eff. 

February 18, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; January 1, 1995; July 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 21, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3105 LEAD POISONING HAZARD 

AND CLEARANCE STANDARD FOR SOIL 

(a)  Bare soil at a residential housing unit or a child-occupied 

facility is a lead poisoning hazard when: 

(1) it contains greater than 400 parts per million 

lead in high contact areas for children; or 

(2) except as specified in Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule, it contains 1200 parts per million lead 

or greater in other locations at a residential 

housing unit or a child-occupied facility.  

(b)  Unless other remediation is determined by the Department to 

be necessary to protect the public health based on site-specific 

evidence including soil lead bioavailability, soil lead speciation, 

soil particle size, land use and condition, or epidemiologic data, 

all remediation plans pursuant to G.S. 130A-131.9C shall require 

that bare soil lead concentrations greater than 400 parts per 

million at a residential housing unit or a child-occupied facility in 

high contact areas for children or bare soil areas containing 1200 

parts per million lead or greater in other locations at a residential 

housing unit or a child-occupied facility be: 

(1) covered with four to six inches of gravel or 

mulch that shall be maintained and replaced as 

often as necessary to ensure there is four to six 

inches of cover; 

(2) covered with sod or other vegetative cover that 

shall be maintained and replaced as often as 

necessary to ensure there is sod or other 

vegetative cover; 

(3) physically restricted by a permanent barrier; 

(4) removed; or 

(5) paved over with concrete or asphalt. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-131.5; 130A-131.7;  

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 19I .0105 Eff. 

August 28, 1991; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 21E .0405 Eff. 

February 18, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; January 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 21, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3107 MAINTENANCE STANDARD 

The following shall apply to property owners and managing 

agents of pre-1978 residential housing units implementing the 

maintenance standard set forth in Rule .3106(b) of this Section: 

(1) Property owners and managing agents shall use 

safe work practices to repair and repaint 

deteriorated paint on interior surfaces of a 

residential housing unit and to correct the cause 

of deterioration, including structural conditions 

causing water infiltration, interior moisture, and 

poor paint adhesion. For pre-1950 single family 

and duplex residential housing units, property 

owners and managing agents shall repair and 

repaint both interior and exterior surfaces, 

including all walls, ceilings, windows, porches, 

decks, garages, railings, and steps, and shall 

correct the causes of deterioration. In addition, 

for pre-1950 single family and duplex 

residential housing units, property owners and 

managing agents shall establish and maintain a 

sod or other vegetative cover in areas of bare 

soil within three feet of the residential housing 

unit. 

(2) Property owners and managing agents shall 

conduct specialized cleaning on interior 

horizontal surfaces to remove dust that may 

contain lead. 

(3) Property owners and managing agents shall 

correct conditions in which painted surfaces are 

rubbing, binding, or being damaged to protect 

the integrity of the paint and to prevent the 

generation of lead dust. 

(4) Subject to the occupant's approval, property 

owners and managing agents shall steam 

shampoo carpets or use other specialized 

cleaning methods to remove dust that may 

contain lead. 

(5) Property owners and managing agents shall 

provide interior horizontal surfaces that are 

smooth, non-absorbent, and easy to clean by 

recoating deteriorated hardwood floors with a 

durable coating, replacing or recovering worn-

out linoleum floors, making interior 

windowsills smooth and cleanable, capping 

window troughs with vinyl or aluminum coil 

stock, and providing drainage from storm 

window frames. 

(6) Property owners and managing agents shall 

provide occupants with the Environmental 

Protection Agency-developed pamphlets 

"Protect Your Family from Lead in Your 

Home," which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions, and available free of 

charge at: https://www.epa.gov/lead/protect-

your-family-lead-your-home-english and 

"Renovate Right: Important Lead Hazard 

Information for Families, Child Care Providers, 

and Schools," which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions, and available free of 

charge at: https://www.epa.gov/lead/renovate-

right-important-lead-hazard-information-

families-child-care-providers-and-schools-0, 

summaries of any reports prepared pursuant to 

G.S. 130A-131.9A on lead-based paint hazards 
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at the property, and copies of previous 

certificates of compliance issued. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-131.5;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 21, 1997; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3802 SAMPLE COLLECTION 

(a)  Within 30 days after it issues a certificate of completion for a 

private drinking water well that is newly constructed, the local 

health department shall collect water samples and submit them to 

a certified laboratory for analyses or ensure that water samples are 

collected from the well by a certified laboratory and tested by a 

certified laboratory. All testing shall be done in accordance with 

the rules of this Section. 

(b)  The sample collector shall use aseptic sampling techniques 

for collection of coliform bacteria and sampling techniques and 

containers for chemical constituents following methods described 

in 40 CFR 141.23 and 40 CFR 143.4, which are hereby 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions, and available free of charge at: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

(c)  Water samples shall be collected from the sample tap at the 

well or the closest accessible collection point to the water source 

at a threadless sample tap, provided the sampling point shall 

precede any water treatment devices. 

 

(d)  The well owner shall provide access and a source of power 

for the purpose of collecting the required water sample. 

(e)  For all newly constructed private drinking water wells, 

samples for total coliform and fecal coliform bacteria shall be 

collected after the disinfectant agent has been flushed from the 

well and water supply system. The water shall be free of 

disinfectant before collection of samples for bacteria. Required 

water samples shall not be collected from wells that are not 

constructed and located in accordance with the rules of 15A 

NCAC 02C .0100 and .0300, which are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

(f)  Samples shall be transported to the laboratory following the 

procedures for sample preservation and within holding times 

required in 40 CFR 141.23 and 143.4, and 141.21(f), which is 

hereby incorporated by reference including any subsequent 

amendments and editions, and available free of charge at: 

https://www.ecfr.gov./ 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-97; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 06F .0120 BARBER SCHOOL CURRICULA 

 

(a)  The following categories and courses shall comprise the minimum course work for all students at barber schools: 

 

Classroom Lecture and Study Periods:      Hours 

Hygiene and Good Grooming, Professional Ethics    25 

Bacteriology, Sterilization, Sanitation     50 

Implements, Honing, Stropping, and Shaving    30 

Men's Haircutting       20 

Cutting and Styling Curly Hair, Mustaches, and Beards   10 

Shampooing and Rinsing, Scalp and Hair Treatments    10 

Theory of Massage and Facial Treatments       5 

Men's Razor Cutting, Women's Razor, and Shear Cutting   30 

Finger Waving Men's Hair, Air Waving, and Curling Iron Techniques      5 

Permanent Waving For Men, Chemical Hair Relaxing, and Blow Drying 25 

Hair Coloring        10 

Men's Hair Pieces         5 

The Skin, Scalp, and Hair       30 

Disorders of the Skin, Scalp, and Hair     15 

Anatomy and Physiology       10 

Electricity Therapy, Light Therapy, and Chemistry    10 

Barber Styling, Shop Management, and Product Knowledge   70 

Licensing Laws and Rules and History of Barbering    20 

 

Supervised Practice in Barbering: 

Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments   55 

Shaving          50 
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Tapered Hair Cutting                   250 

Hair Styling of Men and Women                  400 

Facials, Massages, and Packs       10 

Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Body Permanents    90 

Cutting and Fitting Hair Pieces         5 

Hair Straightening          5 

The Analyzing and Treatment of Hair and Skin Disorders    10 

 

Lectures and Demonstrations on Practical Work: 

Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments    15 

Shaving           20 

Tapered Hair Cutting        70 

Hair Styling of Men and Women                   100 

Facials, Massages, and Packs          5 

Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Permanent Waving     30 

Cutting and Fitting Hair Pieces          5 

Hair Straightening           3 

The Analyzing and Treating of Hair and Skin Disorders     10 

Men's and Women's Razor Cutting        15 

 

               Total Hours 1528 

 

(b)  Barber schools shall offer no more than the following hours through online classes based on the curriculum set forth in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule: 

 

Hours 

Classroom Lecture and Study Periods:      380 

 

Supervised Practice in Barbering: 

Tapered Hair Cutting        25 

Hair Styling of Men and Women       34 

Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Body Permanents    35 

 

Lectures and Demonstrations on Practical Work: 

Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments      8 

Shaving             5 

Tapered Hair Cutting        20 

Hair Styling of Men and Women       50 

Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Permanent Waving      5 

The Analyzing and Treating of Hair and Skin Disorders      7 

Men's and Women's Razor Cutting         7 

 

                 Total Online Hours 576 

 

(c)  All barber schools shall use course books and training 

materials specifically created for the purpose of teaching 

barbering skills. Unless the course book or training material has 

separate and distinct sections covering the practice of barbering, 

cosmetology course books and training materials are not 

acceptable. 

(d)  Through December 31, 2021, barber schools may offer all 

hours listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule through online classes, 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule notwithstanding. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-22(1); 86A-22(4); 

Eff. March 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; May 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021. 

21 NCAC 06F .0124 STUDENT HOURS 

(a)  No student shall be given credit for more than eight total hours 

during any instruction day. 

(b)  Students shall record their start time by electronic means upon 

entering the school for practical or theory hours. Students shall  

not record any period of break from instruction, even if remaining 

on school premises. 

(c)  In meeting the minimum course work and designated barber 

school curricula required by Rule .0120 of this Section, no student 

shall be given credit for more than eight hours per month and 40 

hours for the duration of enrollment in the school that were 

obtained by instruction or demonstration off school premises or 

from a field trip, except for hours received through online classes 

allowed under Rule .0120 of this Subchapter. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-22; 

Eff. September 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 28 - LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0406 EMERGENCY EXTENSIONS OF 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: 

LICENSED LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS 

(a)  All active licensees shall be granted a one-year extension of 

all continuing education requirements for the license year ending 

July 31, 2020. The required hours shall be reported no later than 

July 31, 2021. 

(b)  The Board shall accept Board-approved continuing education 

credits previously obtained in compliance for the license year 

ending July 31, 2020 and shall apply those credits to the license 

year ending July 31, 2021. 

(c)  This Rule does not affect any other licensure renewal 

requirements set forth in G.S. 89D and the rules set forth in this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-

15(12); 89D-20(b); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 16, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 30 – BOARD OF MASSAGE AND 

BODYWORK THERAPY 

 

21 NCAC 30 .0636 WAIVER OF SCHOOL 

REQUIREMENTS DURING DISASTER OR 

EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the Governor declares a state of emergency, classroom 

hours of supervised instruction that are not hands-on may be 

provided online, despite the requirement in Rule .0602(8) of this 

Subchapter.  

(b)  For a student to receive credit in a course that is not hands-

on, the student shall attend, in-class or online, 75 percent of the 

instructional hours of the course and shall also make up missed 

instructional hours to equal no less than 98 percent of the 

instructional hours in the course, pursuant to Rule .0620(11) of 

this Subchapter. 

(c)  Schools shall not be required to revise the Student Enrollment 

Agreement required by Rule .0629 or School Catalog required by 

Rule .0630 to reflect the exceptions listed in this Rule. 

(d)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply during the 

effective period of the state of emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-626; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 17, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

21 NCAC 30 .0704 WAIVER OF CONTINUING 

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS DURING DISASTER OR 

EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the Governor declares a state of emergency, the Board may 

allow all continuing education hours required by G.S. 90-630.5 

and Rule .0701(b) of this Chapter to be obtained by distance 

learning. In making this determination, the Board shall consider 

the risk of harm to licensed massage and bodywork therapists 

attending in-classroom continuing education courses. 

(b)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply during the 

effective period of the state of emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 150B-19(6); S.L. 

2020-97; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. June 30, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. September 13, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. November 25, 2020 to expire pursuant 

to S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1708 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; and 

(5) Darunavir.  

(b)  A physician or physician assistant shall prescribe a Restricted 

Drug only if that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the 

prescriber consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A physician or physician assistant shall not prescribe a 

Restricted Drug for the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the 

contraction of COVID-19 by someone who has not yet been 

diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the physician, physician assistant, or either of their 

agents, and that information is recorded in writing in accordance 

with 21 NCAC 46 .1819(e). 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 
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(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 6, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0119 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; and 

(5) Darunavir.  

(b)  A nurse practitioner shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if 

that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber 

consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for 

the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-

19 by someone who has not yet been diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the nurse practitioner or nurse practitioner's agent, 

and that information is recorded in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 

.1819(e). 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18.2; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 21, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0309 LICENSE RENEWAL FORM 

(a)  To renew a funeral director, funeral service, or embalmer's 

license, the licensee annually shall complete and submit to the 

Board a renewal application. Failure to submit a completed 

renewal application by February 1 shall cause the licensee's 

license to be forfeited. 

(b)  The renewal form shall contain the following: 

(1) The licensee's full name and license number; 

(2) The licensee's physical address of personal 

residence, mailing address, and phone 

number(s); 

(3) The licensee's current place of employment, 

work address, and telephone number; 

(4) Whether the licensee's place of employment 

changed since the previous renewal application 

was submitted; 

(5) Whether the licensee is on active or inactive 

status pursuant to G.S. 90-210.25(2); 

(6) Whether the licensee is requesting to be on 

active or inactive status pursuant to G.S. 90-

210.25(2) for the next year; 

(7) Whether the licensee has been convicted of a 

felony or misdemeanor crime (excluding traffic 

infractions) since the previous renewal 

application was submitted and, if so, a 

statement providing the jurisdiction, charge, 

and disposition of each conviction; 

(8) Whether the licensee has had an occupational or 

business license denied, suspended, or revoked 

by any local, state, or federal agency since the 

previous renewal application was submitted 

and, if so, a statement providing the reason for 

the denial and the date, location, and 

circumstances of any violation that led to action 

against your license, the terms of any discipline 

imposed by the licensing authority, and whether 

said terms have been satisfied; 

(9) Whether the licensee has been subject to any 

investigation for employee misclassification 

since the previous renewal application was 

submitted; 

(10) Whether the licensee has received credit for 

attending at least five continuing education 

credits of courses approved by the Board since 

the previous renewal application was submitted 

and, if so, copies of all continuing education 

forms showing courses attending that have not 

been already submitted to the Board; 

(11) If the licensee is claiming an exemption from 

continuing education requirements, the basis 

for which the licensee is claiming the 

exemption; 

(12) The licensee's signature to certify that he or she 

has prepared the application and has read the 

answers; that the information provided in the 

application is true; and that he or she has read 

the NC Industrial Commission Public Notice 

Statement; and 

(13) The application fee, as prescribed by G.S. 90-

210.28 and 21 NCAC 34A .0201. If the 

application fee is dishonored by the licensee's 

drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall 
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suspend the license until the renewal fees and 

non-sufficient fund charges are paid. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(a)(5); 

90-210.28; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 27, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 40 – BOARD OF OPTICIANS 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0113 WAIVER 

(a)  The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, business or training 

establishment, trainee, or continuing education course provider 

submits a written request. Factors the Board shall use in 

determining whether to grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

(b)  The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required upon its own initiative during an exercise of 

emergency authority by a federal, state, or local governmental 

authority impacting North Carolina citizens based on the factors 

set forth in Paragraph (a)(1), (2), (3), (5) and (6) of this Rule. If 

the Board wishes to waive a rule, it shall provide notice by posting 

a link on their website and sending out information to their 

interested persons mailing list. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-249; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 9, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2020; 

Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 66 - VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 66 .0309 PETITION FOR INACTIVE 

STATUS 

(a)  Any licensed veterinarian or registrant who is in good 

standing with the Board and who has ceased practicing veterinary 

medicine may apply for inactive status. The Board may place the 

licensed veterinarian or registrant on an inactive list of members. 

A licensed veterinarian or registrant who has obtained the inactive 

status shall not practice veterinary medicine or be required to pay 

the license or registrant renewal as prescribed in G.S. 90-187.5 or 

90-186(4) or required to earn continuing education credits. 

(b)  Any veterinarian or registrant who has been placed on inactive 

status and who desires to be reinstated or to resume practicing 

veterinary medicine may be reinstated upon the determination by 

the Board that:  

(1) The inactive veterinarian or registrant is 

competent to practice veterinary medicine; 

(2) The veterinarian or registrant shall pay the 

required license renewal fee for the current year 

when the application is filed; and 

(3) The veterinarian or registrant shall earn the 

required continuing education credits in the 

year preceding reinstatement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-185(2); 90-185(6); 90-

186(5); 90-187.6; 

Eff. June 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 26 - OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

26 NCAC 03 .0502 GENERAL 

(a)  The Office of Administrative Hearings shall permit 

documents filed and served in a contested case to be filed and 

served electronically by means of the Electronic Filing Service 

Provider. All attorneys, mediators, and other parties using e-OAH 

shall register to use the system through a link on the OAH website 

at www.ncoah.com. All e-OAH users shall keep current their 

electronic mail address in e-OAH. When all attorneys and 

unrepresented parties to a contested case are registered in e-OAH, 

all documents filed and served in that contested case shall be filed 

and served electronically by means of the Electronic Filing 

Service Provider. 

(b)  In contested cases filed in e-OAH, registration as an e-OAH 

user constitutes consent to electronic service and receipt of 

contested case documents, including a notice of hearing given by 

OAH, by means of the Electronic Filing Service Provider. 

(c)  An e-OAH user shall be responsible for the readability of any 

document filed or served electronically by that user. Within five 

business days of receipt of an unreadable document filed or served 

electronically, the receiving party shall notify the sending party of 

the unreadability of the document. 

(d)  Pleadings and other documents filed or served electronically 

shall contain the electronic signature of the attorney, mediator, or 

party who prepared the document and the preparer's name, 

mailing address, electronic mail address, and telephone number. 

Documents prepared by an attorney shall have the attorney's 

North Carolina State Bar number. An attorney registered as an e-

OAH user in a non-Medicaid contested case shall electronically 

file a notice of appearance in that contested case. An attorney's 

electronic signature to a petition for a contested case filed 

electronically shall be that attorney's notice of appearance in that 

contested case. 

(e)  Documents filed in e-OAH are filed when received by the 

chief hearings clerk of the Office of Administrative Hearings. 
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Upon completion of filing, the clerk shall send the e-OAH user a 

confirmation receipt that includes the date and time of filing 

which shall be proof of filing. 

(f)  Documents filed electronically after 5 pm shall be deemed 

filed at 8 am the following business day. 

(g)  Documents filed in a contested case by an e-OAH user shall 

be filed electronically by means of the Electronic Filing Service 

Provider, shall be served electronically by means of the Electronic 

Filing Service Provider on all other attorneys or other parties 

registered in e-OAH in that contested case, and shall include a 

certificate of service. 

(h)  A subpoena issued in a contested case by the chief hearings 

clerk of the Office of Administrative Hearings shall be signed 

electronically by the clerk. 

(i)  In contested cases filed electronically, the applicable filing fee 

shall be: 

(1) forwarded by first class mail or overnight 

express mail contemporaneously with the 

electronic filing; 

(2) paid personally to the chief hearings clerk of the 

Office of Administrative Hearings within five 

business days of the filing; or 

(3) paid by electronic funds transfer. 

(j)  If e-OAH experiences technical failure that prevents the Office 

of Administrative Hearings from receiving filings in e-OAH in 

accordance with the Rules in this Section, either continuously or 

intermittently over the course of any period of time that, after 

12:00 noon on such day, amounts to more than one hour, filings 

due that day that were not filed due to technical failure shall 

become due the next business day. Such delayed filings shall be 

deemed timely filed if accompanied by a certification attesting to 

the e-OAH user's failed attempts to file electronically at least two 

times after 12:00 noon separated by more than one hour on each 

day that e-OAH experiences technical failure. If a document must 

be filed to meet a statutory deadline on a date that e-OAH 

experiences technical failure, the e-OAH user shall file that 

document with the Office of Administrative Hearings pursuant to 

Rule .0101(b) or Rule .0102(a)(2)(A) of this Chapter and shall 

serve that document pursuant to Rule .0102(a)(3) of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-750; 150B-23; 150B-23.2; 

150B-23.3; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021; April 1, 2017; October 1, 2016. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission May 20, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Vacant 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 May 20, 2021 June 17, 2021 
 July 15, 2021                      August 19, 2021 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Thursday, May 20, 2021 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 

A. Department of Environmental Quality – 01 NCAC 41C .0101, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, 

.0208, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0301, .0302, .0303; 41D .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302, .0401 (Reeder) 

B. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0401, .0404, .0405, .0406; 07J .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, 

.0407, .0409, .0410; 07K .0207 (Snyder) 

C. Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles - 19A NCAC 03C .0202, .0220, .0221, .0222, .0223, 

.0224, .0226, .0228, .0230, .0232, .0234, .0235, .0236, .0403, .0404, .0414, .0419, .0420, .0421, .0424, .0425, 

.0426, .0428, .0429, .0432, .0433, .0436, .0501, .0520, .0521; 03E .0401 (May) 

D. Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners - 21 NCAC 62 .0407, .0411 (May) 

E. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1101.13(R401.2) (Reeder) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between March 23, 2021 through April 20, 2021 

• Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (Reeder) 

• Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles (Snyder) 

• Board of Dental Examiners (Reeder) 

• Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board (Reeder) 

• Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board (May) 

• Medical Board (Reeder) 

• Board of Nursing (Reeder) 

• Onsite Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors Certification Board (May) 

• Real Estate Commission (Snyder) 

• Respiratory Care Board (Reeder)  

• Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists (May) 

• Building Code Council (Reeder) 
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V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: June 17, 2021  
 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
March 23, 2021 through April 20, 2021 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); 
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); 
standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate 
and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-
.1700); in-service training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100). 

Background Investigation 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 10B .0305 

TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Subchapter 3F concern the collision reports/general services section including statistical data assembled 
and published (.0200); and safety and financial responsibility (.0600).  

Traffic Accident Summary 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03F .0201 

Fatal Accident Reports 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03F .0202 

Special Holiday Reports 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03F .0203 

Administrative Financial Responsibility Hearings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03F .0602 

The rules in Subchapter 3G concern the school bus and traffic safety section including general information (.0100); 
school bus driver training and certification (.0200); restricted instruction permit (.0300); driver improvement clinics 
(.0400); and driver education program (.0600). 

Transfer of Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03G .0208 

Date of Cancellation 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
19A NCAC 03G .0212 

Driver Education Permit 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03G .0301 

The rules in Subchapter 3I concern the rules and regulations governing the licensing of commercial driver education 
training schools and instructors including general provisions (.0100); requirements and applications for commercial 
driving training schools (.0200); school location: physical facilities and courses of instruction (.0300); motor vehicles 
used in instruction (.0400); requirements and application for driver training instructor (.0500); contracts (.0600); bonding 
and advertising (.0700); and license revocation or suspension (.0800). 

Classroom Facility 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03I .0303 

Courses of Instruction 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03I .0307 
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Registration: Insurance: Inspection 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03I .0402 

Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03I .0501 

The rules in Subchapter 3J concern the rules and regulations governing the licensing of commercial truck driver training 
schools and instructors including commercial driver training schools (.0100); requirements and applications for 
commercial truck driver training schools (.0200); school location: physical facilities: and courses of instruction (.0300); 
motor vehicles used in instruction (.0400); requirements and applications for driver training instructor (.0500); contracts 
(.0600); bonding and advertising (.0700); license revocation or suspension (.0800); and requirements and applications 
for driver training school recruiters (.0900). 

Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03J .0201 

Duplicate Copy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03J .0204 

Classroom Facility 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03J .0303 

Inspections 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03J .0305 

Courses of Instruction 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03J .0306 

Student Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03J .0307 

Registration: Insurance: Inspection 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03J .0402 

Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
19A NCAC 03J .0601 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16J concern sanitation. 

Premises 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16J .0101 

Sterilization and Infection Control 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16J .0103 

INTERPRETER AND TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 25 are from the Interpreter and Transliterator Board including general provisions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); moral fitness for licensure (.0300); reporting and disclosure requirements (.0400); continuing education (.0500); 
administrative procedure (.0600); and sanctions (.0700).  

Continuing Education Requirements 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 25 .0501 

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 28B are from the Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board and include board meetings and 
definitions (.0100); licensure, reciprocity and seal (.0200); license renewal and reinstatement (.0300); continuing 
education (.0400); minimum standards (.0500); fees (.0600); complaints and investigations (.0700); and hearings 
process and summary suspension (.0800). 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 3, 2021 

2393 

Fee Schedule 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 28B .0601 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32M regulate the approval, registration and practice of nurse practitioners (.0100). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32M .0101 

Scope of Practice 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32M .0102 

Nurse Practitioner Registration 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32M .0103 

Education and Certification Requirements for Registration... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32M .0105 

Annual Renewal of Approval to Practice 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32M .0106 

Continuing Education (CE) 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32M .0107 

Inactive Status 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32M .0108 

Quality Assurance Standards for a Collaborative Practice ... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32M .0110 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing 
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of 
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners 
(.0800). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0801 

Scope of Practice 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0802 

Nurse Practitioner Registration 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0803 

Education and Certification Requirements for Registration... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0805 

Annual Renewal of Approval to Practice 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0806 

Continuing Education (CE) 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0807 

Inactive Status 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0808 

Quality Assurance Standards for a Collaborative Practice ... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0810 

Reporting Criteria 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0815 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0817 
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ONSITE WASTEWATER CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 39 are from the Onsite Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors Certification Board and include 
duties and definitions (.0100); certification of onsite wastewater contractors, inspectors, or authorized on-site 
wastewater evaluators (.0200); onsite wastewater contractor, inspector, or evaluator fees (.0300); certification by 
examination (.0400); certification renewal (.0500); continuing education requirements (.0600); procedures for 
disciplinary actions (.0700); onsite wastewater contractor, inspector, evaluator code of ethics (.0800); rulemaking 
procedures (.0900); NC on-site wastewater inspector standards of practice (.1000); and NC on-site wastewater 
evaluator standards of practice (.1100). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0101 

Types of Certification 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0102 

Application Requirements for Certification 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0201 

Schedule of Certification Fees 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0301 

On-site Wastewater Contractor, Inspector, or Evaluator Ex... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0401 

Time and Place of Examination 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0402 

Issuance of Certificates 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0404 

Licensure for Military-Trained Applicant; Licensure for M... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0405 

Requirements 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0601 

Approval of Continuing Education Courses 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0602 

Determination of Credit 
Repeal* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0603 

Recordkeeping 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0604 

Extension of Time 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0605 

Revocation, or Suspension of Certification 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0701 

Code of Ethics 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0801 

Waiver 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .0904 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .1001 

General Requirements for Contractors and Inspectors 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .1002 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .1101 

General Requirements for Evaluators 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .1102 

General Exclusions for Evaluators 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .1103 
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Required Documents for Evaluators 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 39 .1104 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 58 are from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. The rules in Subchapter 58A are rules 
relating to real estate brokers and salesmen including rules dealing with general brokerage (.0100); application for 
license (.0300); examinations (.0400); licensing (.0500); real estate commission hearings (.0600); petitions for rules 
(.0700); rulemaking (.0800); declaratory rulings (.0900); real estate education and recovery fund (.1400); discriminatory 
practices prohibited (.1600); mandatory continuing education (.1700); limited nonresident commercial licensing (.1800); 
post-licensure education (.1900); annual reports (.2000); brokers in military service (.2100); and broker price opinions 
and comparative market analyses (.2200). 

Agency Agreements and Disclosure 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58A .0104 

Advertising 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58A .0105 

Broker-In-Charge 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58A .0110 

Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure S... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58A .0114 

Prohibited Acts 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 58A .0120 

License Renewal 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58A .0503 

Fair Housing 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58A .1601 

Standards 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58A .2202 

The rules in Subchapter 58H concern real estate education including general rules (.0100); real estate schools (.0200); 
approved instructors (.0300); and real estate courses (.0400). 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of Education Provider ... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58H .0210 

Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58H .0303 

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 61 are from the Respiratory Care Board and concern organization and definitions (.0100); 
application for license (.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education requirements for license holders (.0400); 
miscellaneous provisions (.0500); rulemaking and declaratory rulings (.0600); and administrative hearing procedures 
(.0700). 

Rule Waivers 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 61 .0901 

SPEECH AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

The rules in Chapter 64 are from the Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists and 
include general provisions (.0100); interpretative rules (.0200); code of ethics (.0300); rulemaking petitions (.0400); 
notice of rulemaking (.0500); conduct of rulemaking hearings (.0600); declaratory rulings (.0700); contested case 
hearings (.0800); other matters relating to administrative hearings (.0900); use of speech/language pathology assistants 
(.1000); and requirements for the use of audiology assistants in direct service delivery. 
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Waiver 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 64 .0108 

Telepractice 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 64 .0219 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 64 .1101 

General Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 64 .1102 

Licensee Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 64 .1103 

Authorized Tasks of Audiology Assistants 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 64 .1104 

Supervision and Continuing Competence Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 64 .1105 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Residential Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 
R202 

2018 NC Residential Code/Compliance 
Amend* 

 
N1101.13 

2018 NC Residential Code/Referenced Standards 
Amend* 

 
Chapter 44 

2018 NC Fire and Building Codes/Delayed Egress 
Amend* 

 
1010.1.9.7 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 

Selina Malherbe    Michael Byrne 

     Karlene Turrentine 
 

 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 DOJ 03445 3/31/2021 Jason Thomas Riley  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

20 DOJ 03446 3/11/2021 Joseph Daniel 

Pilgreen  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DOJ 03448 3/10/2021 Trey-Vaughn 

Xavier Lewis  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DOJ 03451 3/25/2021 Rickie Lee Day  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Gray 

20 DOJ 04152 3/19/2021 Lenisha Monique 

Ward 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DOJ 04578 3/12/2021 Christopher Lee 

Jackson 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Byrne 

20 DOJ 05454 3/26/2021 Tracy Marie Nowak  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Byrne 

             

20 DOL 01040 3/10/2021 ALMY LLC  v. NC Department of Labor May 

20 DOL 03331 3/29/2021 Hycroft LLC  v. NC DOL Jacobs 

             

20 INS 05271 3/9/2021 Carla Eisenberg  v. North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer 

Malherbe 

             

20 OSP 03292 3/17/2021 Leroy Williams  v. Fayetteville State University Lassiter 

20 OSP 03751 3/3/2021 Sheerlene Artis-

Carlton  

v. NC Division of Motor Vehicles Bawtinhimer 

             

20 SOS 03976 3/29/2021 Santino M East Sr  v. NC Department of the Secretary of 

State 

Jacobs 
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    Unpublished    

        

21 ABC 00077 3/25/2021; 

3/26/2021 

NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Champs Lounge LLC T/A Champs 

Lounge 

Byrne 

             

20 CPS 03998 3/29/2021 Tawanda McKinney  v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety Victim Services 

May 

21 CPS 00302 3/24/2021 Jennifer L Langley  v. Townsend, Randol Preston Alexander 

Correctional Institution/NCDPS 

May 

             

20 CSE 04153 2/24/2021; 

3/24/2021 

Jimmy Danil 

Rayban  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04210 3/31/2021 Steven Taylor  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04227 3/25/2021 Dimetrius Hines  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 04229 3/26/2021 Calvin Tyrone 

Norton  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04387 3/5/2021 Morgan Sherman  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04391 3/29/2021 Charles Leapley  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04613 3/31/2021 Matthew Richards  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04726 3/24/2021 Tara R Shantanu  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04780 3/2/2021 Donald Eister  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04832 3/19/2021 Michael Shaddel  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 05319 3/2/2021 Travis L Davison  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

21 CSE 00001 3/30/2021 David A Daniels  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

21 CSE 00083 3/25/2021 David A Daniels  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

21 CSE 00086 3/11/2021 John W DiProfio Jr  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

21 CSE 00409 3/9/2021 Johnnie Lucas III  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 
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21 CSE 00415 3/17/2021 Romell A Smith  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

             

20 DHR 01607 3/8/2021 Patrice Wilson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Food and Nutrition Services 

May 

20 DHR 02490 3/29/2021 David Lane King  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

May 

20 DHR 03043 3/3/2021 LaTrese Bristol  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

Mann 

20 DHR 04357 3/3/2021 Mark Fatone  v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

20 DHR 05041 3/15/2021 Shatiah Royal  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

May 

20 DHR 05333 3/31/2021 Lisa H Ferguson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

May 

20 DHR 05335 3/15/2021 Jennifer Jimenez  v. Department of Social Services May 

21 DHR 00441 3/5/2021 Andrew Williams v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

21 DHR 00655 3/25/2021 Wendy Lea Morgan v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Byrne 

             

20 EHR 03062 3/3/2021 Kathryn Surratt 

Baker David Earl 

Baker II 

v. Division of Environmental Quality 

DS0-20-005 

Mann 

20 EHR 05131 3/11/2021 WASCO LLC  v. North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality 

Ward 

             

21 INS 00167 3/23/2021 Paula W Tate  v. North Carolina State Health Plan Sutton 

             

20 SOS 04225 3/3/2021; 

3/4/2021 

Ashley Brooke 

Kornegay  

v. Department of the Secretary of State Bawtinhimer 

 

 




