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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  
 
This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  

Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 

 
 

GENERAL 
 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) text of proposed rules; 
(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(4) emergency rules 
(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 
is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 
holiday, in which event the period runs until the 
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 
employees mandated by the State Personnel 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 
the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public hearings held 
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 

 

TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Agriculture intends to adopt the rules cited as 02 NCAC 
60B .1033-.1036, and amend the rules cited as 02 NCAC 60B 
.1001-.1015, .1017-.1022 and .1024-.1032. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index
.htm 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may 
request a public hearing on the proposed rule by submitting a 
request in writing no later than 4/30/2021 to Tina Hlabse, 
Secretary, NC Board of Agriculture, 1001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule adoptions and 
amendments are intended to make the State Forest rules easier to 
read and understand by the public and easier to enforce by N.C. 
Forest Service.  They are also intended to update the rules of use 
of the State Forests to better protect and preserve the forests while 
allowing the public to be able to enjoy the forests. Furthermore, 
the rule adoptions and amendments are necessary due to 
changing technologies and emerging issues.  Moreover, the 
adoptions and amendments are needed to make sure existing rules 
are consistent and contacts and websites updated. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Tina Hlabse, Secretary, Board 
of Agriculture, 1001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1001; email tina.hlabse@ncagr.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 60 - DIVISION OF FOREST RESOURCES 

 
SUBCHAPTER 60B - DIVISION PROGRAMS 

 
SECTION .1000 - DUPONT STATE FOREST FORESTS 

 
02 NCAC 60B .1001 SCOPE 
(a)  This section Section coordinates the use of all the North 
Carolina's Carolina Forest Service's State Forests and Forests, 
State Recreational Forests, and Educational State Forests. Forests 
into one combined set of rules. This is in In keeping with the 
Division of North Carolina Forest Resources Service's mission to 
develop, protect and protect, manage the multiple manage, and 
promote forest resources of North Carolina's forests through 
professional stewardship, enhancing for the quality of life for our 
citizens while ensuring the continuity of these vital resources. 
Educational State Forests and other citizens of North Carolina, 
each State Forest, State Recreational Forest, and Education State 
Forest shall have a mission statement and shall be managed 
sustainably. State Forests will each have a mission statement and 
will be sustainably managed under a State Forest Management 
Plan. 
(b)  All North Carolina Educational State Forests and State Forest 
rules rules of this Section are effective within and upon the 
properties defined as Educational State Forests and all State 
Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State Forests. 
Forests under the jurisdiction of the Department. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1002 DEFINITIONS OF TERMS 
As used in this Rule Section the following terms have the 
following meanings: 

(1) "Bike Trail" means any road or trail maintained 
for bicycles. 

(2) "Bridle Trail" means any road or trail 
maintained for persons riding on horseback. 

(3) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of 
the North Carolina Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 
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(3)(4) "Department" means the NC North Carolina 
Department of Environment Agriculture and 
Natural Resources. Consumer Services. 

(4) "Division" means the NC Division of Forest 
Resources. 

(5) "Educational State Forest" refers to any state 
forest State Forest property operated by the 
North Carolina Forest Service Division of 
Forest Resources for the purpose of educating 
schoolchildren and the public. 

(6) "Emergency Aircraft" means aircraft operated 
by an emergency response agency. 

(6)(7) "Forest Supervisor" means an employee of the 
Division of North Carolina Forest Resources 
Service who is a forest supervisor and provides 
supervision to other DFR North Carolina Forest 
Service employees of the forest. 

(7)(8) "Group" means a number of individuals related 
by a common factor, having structured 
organization, defined leadership, and activities 
directed by a charter or written bylaws. 

(8)(9) "Hiking Trail" means any road or trail 
maintained for pedestrians. 

(9)(10) "Multi-use Trail" means any road or trail 
maintained for use by the following: horseback 
riding, bicycle or pedestrian. riding, and hiking 
or other foot traffic. 

(10)(11) "Hunting" means the lawful hunting of game 
animals as defined by the N.C. North Carolina 
Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(11)(12) "Motorized vehicle" means every any vehicle 
which is self-propelled, or which is pulled by a 
self-propelled vehicle, vehicle (such such as a 
camping trailer, fifth-wheel travel trailer, motor 
home, travel trailer, and truck camper. camper). 
A self-propelled vehicle shall include include, 
but is not limited to passenger automobiles, 
mopeds, off-road vehicles (ORV), golf carts, 
motorcycles, mini-bikes, all-terrain vehicles, 
Segways, 2 or 3 wheeled personal transporters, 
battery assisted bicycles (E-Bikes), and go-
carts. This does not include accommodations 
made in accordance with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act of 1990 and Chapter 168A of 
the North Carolina General Statutes. motorized 
wheel chairs or other similar vehicles designed 
for and used by persons with disabilities. (G.S. 
20-4.01) 

(13) "Registered Motor Vehicle" is any vehicle that 
has been legally registered and tagged from a 
state department of motor vehicles or 
department of transportation. 

(12)(14) "Permit" means any written license issued by or 
under the authority of the Division of North 
Carolina Forest Service or Department 
permitting the performance of a specified act or 
acts. 

(13)(15) "Permittee" means any person, corporation, 
company company, or association in possession 
of a valid permit. 

(14)(16) "Person" means any individual, firm, 
partnership, corporation, company, association, 
public or private institution, political 
subdivision, or government agency. (G.S. 113-
60.22(4)) 

(15)(17) "Public building" means a climate-controlled 
structure primarily for human habitation or use, 
and does not include barns, shelters shelters, or 
sheds. 

(16)(18) "Public nudity" means a person's intentional 
failure to cover with an a fully opaque covering 
the person's genitals, pubic area, anal area, or 
areola on female breasts except for 
breastfeeding below a point from the top of the 
areola while in a public place. 

(19) "State Recreational Forest" is a State Forest 
designation that refers to any State Forest 
property operated by the North Carolina Forest 
Service primarily for natural resource 
preservation, scenic enjoyment and recreational 
purposes, while also managing for the purposes 
of education, demonstration, training, forest 
research, wildlife habitat, and forest products, 
including the DuPont State Forest. 

(17)(20) "Rock climbing" means traversing a rock face 
that is steep enough to require the use of hands 
and feet to get up or down. 

(18) "Secretary" means the Secretary of the 
Department. 

(19)(21) "State Forest" means any land owned by the 
State of North Carolina, under the jurisdiction 
of the Division of North Carolina Forest 
Service, Forest Resources, that is sustainably 
managed under a State Forest Management 
Plan approved by the Division Director for the 
purposes of education, demonstration, training, 
forest research, wildlife habitat, forest products 
and recreation. recreation as identified in the 
approved forest management plan. 

(20) "State Forest Management Plan" is a plan 
prepared by a forester of the N.C. Division of 
Forest Resources and approved by the Division 
Director. Such plan shall include management 
practices to ensure forest productivity and 
environmental protection of the land to be 
treated under the management plan. 

(21) "Swimming area" means any beach or water 
area designated by the Division as a swimming, 
wading and bathing area. 

 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-900; 106-877; 106-887; 143-116.8. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1003 PERMITS 
(a)  Any violation of the a permit constitutes grounds for its 
revocation by the Department. In case of a permit revocation the 
permit holder shall forfeit to the Department all money monies 
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paid for the permit. Furthermore, the department Department shall 
consider the permit holder, together with his the permit holder's 
agents and employees who violated such terms, jointly and 
severally liable to the Department for all damages suffered in 
excess of money so forfeited. However, neither the forfeiture of 
such money, nor the recovery of such damages, nor both, relieves 
such person persons from statutory punishment for any violation 
of a provision of any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or 
Educational State Forest rule. Forest, State recreational forest, or 
Educational State Forest rule. 
(b)  Applications for commercial use permits shall be made 
through submitted to the State North Carolina Forest Service's 
Forest, Recreational State Forest, or Educational State Forest 
office during business hours, hours. Applications which may be 
found at http://www.ncesf.org/, https://ncforestservice.gov/. and 
approved by the Forest Supervisor or his or her designee in 
advance of the act permitted. The commercial use permit 
application shall include the company or organization name, 
address, contact with title, phone number, fax number, email 
address, description of the activity or the event with the location 
to be permitted, access areas to be used, timeframe of the activity 
or event, estimated number of participants, liability insurance, and 
medical plan. Applications shall be approved by the Forest 
Supervisor or designee in advance of the act permitted. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1004 ROCK OR CLIFF CLIMBING 
AND REPELLING RAPPELLING 
A person shall not engage in rock climbing, cliff climbing, or 
rappelling within the boundaries of a state forest, State 
recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, State Recreational 
Forest, or Educational State Forest except at designated areas and 
only after obtaining a permit. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1005 BATHING OR SWIMMING 
(a)  A person shall not dive dive, jump, or jump slide from any 
waterfalls or rocks or overhangs into any body of water. water 
within any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational 
State Forest. 
(b)  A person shall not wade, bathe, or swim in any body of water 
in an Educational State Forest, except in designated swimming 
areas. 
(c)  A person may wade, bathe, or swim at his or her own risk in 
any body of water in any State Forest, except within 300 feet 
upstream of the top of a waterfall, and in other designated non-
swimming areas. Wading, bathing, and swimming is allowed at a 
person's own risk in any body of water in and upon any State 
Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest, 
except such activities are prohibited within 300 feet upstream of 
the top of a waterfall or areas designated as non-swimming. 
(d)(c)  Public Nudity: 

(1) Public nudity is prohibited in and upon all State 
Forest, State Recreational Forest, State 
Recreational Forest, and Educational State 
Forest lands or waters. This Rule does not apply 

to the enclosed portions of bathhouses, 
restrooms, tents, and recreational vehicles. 

(2) Children under the age of five are exempt from 
this restriction. 

 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1006 HUNTING 
(a)  A person shall not hunt on any Educational State Forest lands 
without obtaining a permit and must obey all State hunting laws 
set forth in G.S. 113 and rules in effect. Hunting in and upon all 
State Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State 
Forests shall be by permit, license, or stamp only, or a 
combination thereof, depending on the requirements of the 
individual State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational 
State Forest. Interested parties shall contact the State Forest 
office, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest in 
question. The contact and additional information for each State 
Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest 
office can be found at https://www.ncforestservice.gov/. 
(b)  A person hunting in and upon State Forests, State Recreational 
Forests, or Educational State Forests under the Game Lands 
Program may hunt on a State Forest or State recreational forest 
that is in the Game Land program if the person obtains shall first 
obtain a Game Land permit from a NC North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission designated licensing agent and shall obey 
obeys all State hunting laws set forth in G.S. Chapter 113 of the 
North Carolina General Statutes and rules in effect for the 
applicable Game Land, pursuant to 15A NCAC 10D .0102 and 
.0103. .0103, which are incorporated by reference including 
subsequent amendments, and may be accessed free of charge at 
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-
%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2010%20-
%20wildlife%20resources%20and%20water%20safety/subchapt
er%20d/subchapter%20d%20rules.html." 
(c)  For State Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational 
State Forests that are not in the Game Lands Program, hunting 
shall be allowed only if a person first obtains a permit from the 
Forest Supervisor's office and complies with all State hunting 
laws and rules in effect, including Chapter 113 of the North 
Carolina General Statutes and 15A NCAC 10D .0102 and .0103. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1007 FISHING 
(a)  Except in areas designated as non-fishing, A a person may 
fish in any waters in State Forests, State Recreational Forests, or 
Educational State Forests Forests or State recreational forests if 
the person obeys all State fishing laws as set forth in G.S. 113. 
(b)  A person may fish in any waters of any Educational State 
Forest if the person first obtains a permit from the Forest 
Supervisor's office and provided the person obeys all State fishing 
laws as set forth in G.S. 113. Chapter 113 of the North Carolina 
General Statutes. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
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02 NCAC 60B .1008 ANIMALS AT LARGE 
(a)  Except in designated areas, no No person shall have any dog, 
cat, or other pet upon a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or 
Educational State Forest unless the animal is on a physical leash 
and under the control of the owner or some other person. person 
possessing the animal. 
(b)  Hunting dogs used in accordance with NC North Carolina 
Wildlife Commission Game Land Rules pertaining to State 
Forests pursuant to 15A NCAC 10D .0102 and .0103 shall be 
exempt from Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(b)(c)  No dog, cat, or other pet shall be allowed to enter any 
public building on State Forests, State Recreational Forest, or 
Educational State Forest, or designated swimming areas, except 
assistance service animals for persons with disabilities in 
accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and 
Chapter 168 of the North Carolina General Statutes. as set forth 
in G.S. 14-163.1. 
(d)  Any owned animal or pet causing a threat or nuisance within 
any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State 
Forest shall be removed. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1009 BOATING 
(a)  A person shall not operate a boat, canoe, kayak, or other 
watercraft in any waters on Educational State Forests without 
obtaining a permit. 
(b)(a)  Except in areas designated as non-boating, Boats, boats, 
canoes, kayaks, or and other watercraft watercraft, including 
flotation devices, may shall be operated allowed on the waters of 
State Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State 
Forests, Forests or State recreational forests, provided they are 
operated or propelled by means of oars, paddles, or electric 
trolling motors. 
(b)  Boats and other watercraft with gas motors attached are 
prohibited on any waters of State Forests and Educational State 
Forests Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State 
Forests, except for use by rescue squads, diving teams, or similar 
organizations conducting training or emergency operations or by 
the Department or the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 
Commission. operations, or forest staff conducting maintenance 
operations 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1010 CAMPING 
(a)  No person shall spend the night or maintain a camp in a State 
Forest, Forest, State Recreational Forest, State recreational forest, 
or Educational State Forest, except in designated areas or under 
permit. 
(b)  A person camping in a designated area shall not stay more 
than one 24-hour period without a valid permit. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1011 SPORTS AND GAMES 
No games or athletic contests shall be allowed in a State Forest, 
Forest, State Recreational Forest, State recreational forest, or 

Educational State Forest, except in places as may be designated 
places or under permit. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1012 HORSES 
(a)  In a State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State 
Forest, no No person shall use, ride, or drive a horse except to, 
from, or along a designated bridle path, multi-use trail designated 
for horses horses, or designated watering point. 
(b)  Each equestrian user person bringing a horse in or upon any 
State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State 
Forest shall remove from designated parking areas, areas 
sidewalks, covered bridges, paved surfaces, and wooden surfaces 
all residues residues, including manure, (including manure) 
generated by his or her their horse. 
(c)  When dismounted, horses shall be tied in such a manner as to 
prevent damage to trees and other plants. Anytime a horse is 
constrained in a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or 
Educational State Forest, it shall be done in a manner so as to 
prevent damage to trees or plants nearby. 
(d)  Horses shall not be steered or led across cross rivers and 
streams using bridges or culverts if available. preexisting 
crossings along designated trails. 
(e)  Horses shall not be allowed to wade in lakes. 
(f)  Equestrian users A person bringing a horse in or upon any 
State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State 
Forest shall possess valid negative Equine Infectious Anemia test, 
also known as a Coggins papers test for each horse and make them 
available for inspection upon request. request by North Carolina 
Forest Service employees or employees of the Department. 
(g)  No horse-drawn carts, carriages, or other apparatus shall be 
allowed in or upon State Forests, State Recreational Forests, or 
Educational State Forests except by permit. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1013 BICYCLES 
(a)  In a State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State 
Forest, no No person shall use or ride a bicycle in or upon State 
Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest 
grounds except on a road or trail authorized for public use by 
motor vehicles or designated as a bicycle bike trail or multi-use 
trail. 
(b)  When crossing Persons riding bicycles shall cross rivers or 
and streams streams, bicycle use shall be confined to bridges or 
culverts if available using preexisting crossings along designated 
trails. 
(c)  Motorized bicycles or battery assisted bicycles, also known as 
E-Bikes, are allowed only on motor vehicle roads open to public 
vehicular traffic and not allowed on bike trails, bridle trails, hiking 
trails, or multiuse trails. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1014 SKATES, BLADES AND BOARDS 
No person shall use or ride roller skates, in-line skates, roller 
blades, skate boards, skateboards, or any similar device on in or 
upon any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, State 
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recreational forest, or Educational State Forest. Forest road or 
trail. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1015 EXPLOSIVES 
No person shall carry or possess any explosives or explosive 
substances including fireworks in or upon State Forests, State 
Recreational Forests, or Educational State Forests. Forests, State 
recreational forests, or Educational State Forests. This does not 
apply to employees of the department when they engage in 
construction or maintenance activities. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1017 FIRES AND GRILLS 
(a)  No person shall build or start a fire in any area of a State 
Forest, Forest, State Recreational Forest, State recreational forest, 
or Educational State Forest, unless that area is designated for such 
purpose. 
(b)  Tree planters and logging crews may build warming fires if 
they obtain a permit and confine the fire to an area designated for 
such purpose. 
(c)  Fires ignited for forest management purposes under the 
provisions of a prescribed Prescribed burning plan as defined in 
G.S. 106-966, conducted by the North Carolina Forest Service or 
approved by the North Carolina Forest Supervisor or his or her 
designee, are Service pursuant to G.S. 106-966 is exempt from 
this Rule. 
(d)  Except in designated areas, cooking fires, grills, ovens, stoves, 
burners, or other devices that ignite natural gas or other petroleum 
products are prohibited. Likewise, the burning of wood, charcoal 
or paper is also prohibited except in designated areas. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1018 DISORDERLY CONDUCT 
(a)  No person visiting on a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, 
Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest shall 
disobey a lawful order of a Division employee, Forest Ranger, law 
enforcement officer, or any other Department official or endanger 
him or herself or endanger or disrupt others, as defined in G.S. 14-
288.4. 14-288.4 and G.S. 14-132. 
(b)  No person shall use, walk, or run on or along a road or trail 
that is designated closed for maintenance, tree removal or any 
other purpose, or nor shall they enter an area that is designated 
"No Entry," "Do Not Enter," or "Authorized Personnel Only," 
except for Division North Carolina Forest Service employees or 
employees, contractors working under the direction of a Division 
the North Carolina Forest Service, employee, volunteers 
volunteers under the direction of the North Carolina Forest 
Service, or and individuals or groups under permit. permit, and at 
such places and for such periods as may be designated in order to 
protect public safety, peace, or natural resources. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 

02 NCAC 60B .1019 INTOXICATING BEVERAGES 
AND DRUGS 
(a)  No person shall possess, consume, use, or be under the 
influences influence of intoxicants, any malt beverage, fortified 
wine, unfortified wine or spirituous liquor as defined in G.S. 18B-
101, while in or upon a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or 
Educational State Forest. 
(b)  No person shall possess, consume, use, or be under the 
influence of any non-prescribed controlled substance as defined 
in G.S. 90-87, including marijuana, or non-prescribed narcotic 
drugs as defined in G.S. 90-87, while on in or upon a State Forest, 
State Recreational Forest, Forest, Recreational State Forest, or 
Educational State Forest. The public display or use of alcoholic 
beverages, marijuana or non-prescribed narcotic drugs is 
prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1020 DAMAGE TO BUILDINGS, 
STRUCTURES AND SIGNS 
No person shall injure, deface, disturb, destroy, or disfigure any 
State Forest, State Recreational Forest, Forest, State recreational 
forest, or Educational State Forest building, structure, sign, fence, 
vehicle, machine, or any equipment, road, parking lot, or any 
improvements. equipment. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1021 COMMERCIAL ENTERPRISES 
(a)  No person shall shall, while in or on a State Forest, or 
Educational State Forest, sell or offer for sale, hire or lease, any 
object or merchandise, property, privilege, service or any other 
thing, or engage in any business except under permit. Sales from 
which proceeds are used in support of the forest or sales 
conducted or contracted by the Department are exempt from this 
Rule. in or upon a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or 
Educational State Forest except under permit. 
(b)  Sales by the Department or sales that are contracted by the 
Department or by an entity that is under agreement with the 
Department are exempt from this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1022 NOISE REGULATIONS 
The production or emission of noises noises, speech, music, or 
other sound, that is annoying, disturbing, or frightening to a 
reasonable person over the level of 85 decibels, at a distance of 10 
feet, on in or upon a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or 
Educational State Forest Forest, State recreational forest, by a 
person or Educational State Forest animal under the control of a 
person is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1024 ALMS AND CONTRIBUTIONS 
A person shall not solicit contributions for any purpose within in 
or upon a State Forest, Forest, State Recreational Forest, or 
Educational State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational 
State Forest, unless permitted by the Division Department and 
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such contributions are used to benefit the State Forest, State 
recreational forest, or Educational State Forest. Forest, State 
Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1025 AVIATION 
(a)  Except as provided in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, a 
person shall not voluntarily bring, land, or cause to descend or 
alight, ascend, or take off within or upon any State Forest, State 
recreational forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State 
Forest or area any airplane, flying machine, balloon, parachute, 
glider, hang glider, unmanned aerial vehicle ("UAV"), drones, or 
other apparatus for aviation. "Voluntarily" for this Rule means 
anything other than a forced landing. 
(b)  In forest areas where Where aviation activities are part of the 
planned forest activities or military, law enforcement, or rescue 
training, a permit for aviation use shall be required. 
(c)  Emergency aircraft such as air ambulances North Carolina 
Forest Service and aerial search helicopters, and Division 
emergency aircraft are exempt from this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1026 EXPULSION 
For violation of any rule in this Section, the Division rule in this 
Subchapter, Department law enforcement officers, other sworn 
law enforcement, or Forest Rangers shall withdraw the right of a 
person or persons the violator to remain on a State Forest, State 
recreational forest, or Educational State Forest. Forest, State 
Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest, and shall 
verbally direct the violator to leave the premises. If the violator 
does not or is not able to comply, then the violator shall be 
escorted off the premises. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887; 106-898; 
106-900. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1027 MOTORIZED VEHICLES 
(a)  A person shall not drive a motorized vehicle in a State Forest, 
State recreational forest, or Educational Motorized vehicles shall 
not be operated in or upon a State Forest Forest, State Recreational 
Forest, or Educational State Forest within or, upon a safety zone, 
hiking trail, bike trail, bridle trail, multi-use trail, fire trail, service 
road, or any part of the forest not designated for such purposes, 
except by permit. 
(b)  Motor bikes, mini-bikes, all terrain vehicles, and any other 
unlicensed motor vehicle are prohibited within the forest except 
by permit. Emergency responders and construction or service 
vendors are exempt from Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(c)  A person shall not park a motorized vehicle in a manner that 
blocks forest roads or gates. Unless otherwise posted, the speed 
limit on graveled forest roads is 20 miles per hour, hour on 
graveled forest roads and on dirt roads is 10 miles per hour. hour 
on dirt forest roads. 
(e)  Vehicles exempt from this Rule are: Department vehicles, 
authorized vendors, vehicles used in conjunction with forest and 
emergency operations, and vehicles of employees and resident 
family members. 

Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887; 143-116.8. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1028 FLOWERS, PLANTS, 
MINERALS, ETC. 
(a)  A person shall not remove, destroy, cut down, scar, mutilate, 
take, gather, or injure any tree, flower, artifact, fern, shrub, rock, 
fungi, or other plant or mineral in or upon any State Forest, State 
recreational forest, or Educational State Forest Forest, State 
Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest. area. 
Silvicultural activities performed in accordance with an approved 
State Forest Management Plan are exempt from this Rule. 
(b)  A person shall not collect plants, animals, minerals, fungi, or 
other artifacts from any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, 
State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest area without 
first having obtained a permit. permit from the Forest Supervisor 
or designee. 
(c)  The use of metal detectors on a State Forest, State 
Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest is prohibited 
without a permit. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1029 TRASH AND DEBRIS 
(a)  A person shall not deposit paper or plastic products, bottles, 
cans, or any other refuse, or debris in or upon a State Forest, State 
recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, Forest, State 
Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest except in 
receptacles designated for the materials. Where trash receptacles 
are not provided, persons shall pack take their trash out of the 
forest. 
(b)  No one shall dispose of household or business trash or garbage 
in any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State 
Forest. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1030 FEES AND CHARGES 
(a)  The following fee schedule shall apply at DuPont State 
Recreational Forest and the Community Building at Jordan Lake 
Educational State Forest: 

(1) CAMPING. 
(A) Primitive, unimproved campsite with 

portable toilets and fresh water 
available, $9.00 per campsite, daily. 

(B) Primitive group tent camping, 
unimproved campsite with portable 
toilets, $1.00 per person, daily, with 
$9.00 minimum. 

(C) Improved group camping with water, 
restrooms and shower facilities 
available, $40.00 per day, and 
maximum capacity of 35 people. 

(2) PICNIC SHELTER RENTALS. 
(A) Are by reservations only. 
(B) Rate: 1-2 tables, $25.00; 3-4 tables, 

$40.00; 5-8 tables, $60.00. 
(3) CLASSROOM OR COMMUNITY 

BUILDING (DuPont State Recreational Forest 
and Jordan Lake Educational State Forest). 
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(A) Fee may be waived for government 
agencies and natural resource related 
non-profit groups. 

(B) Rates: One half day, $75.00; Full day, 
$150.00. 

(4) EQUESTRIAN FACILITIES. 
(A) Barn or paddocks (fee may be waived 

for volunteer work groups), $10.00 per 
horse, daily. 

(B) Use is limited to non-profit groups and 
area summer camps. 

(5) PERMITS FOR SPECIAL EVENTS. Permits 
for use of the forest for events involving large 
groups or special privileges and requiring staff 
assistance: Rate: $1.00 per person plus the cost 
of staff time and equipment use involved in 
monitoring the permit. 

(6)(a)  PERMITS FOR THE REMOVAL OF FIREWOOD, 
VEGETATIVE MATERIAL, ROCKS, ETC. Fees for these items 
are based on the value of the material as determined by local 
market conditions. Admission fees or related activity fees at State 
Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State Forests, 
including permits, facility use, special events, or the removal of 
firewood or vegetative material, may be obtained online at 
https://www.ncforestservice.gov/ or by contacting the office of 
each State Forest. The contact information for each State Forest, 
State Recreational Forest, and Educational State Forest may be 
found online at https://www.ncforestservice.gov/. 
(b)  Payment of the appropriate fee required fees shall be a 
prerequisite for the use of the public service facility or 
convenience provided. 
(c)  Unless otherwise provided in this Rule, the The number of 
persons camping at a particular site may be limited by the forest 
supervisor or designee depending upon the size of the group and 
the size and nature of the campsite. 
(d)  Reservations must shall be canceled 30 days prior to the event 
in order to receive a refund. Permit Activity fees are non-
refundable. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887; 150B-
1(d)(26). 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1031 HOURS OF OPERATION 
(a)  Hours of operation may vary for individual forests. Hours of 
operation for each State Forest, State Recreational Forest, and 
State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest shall be 
posted at the forest entrance, the forest office, and on the 
Division's North Carolina Forest Service's web site. website at 
https://www.ncforestservice.gov/. Hours are subject to change 
depending on seasonal, emergency, and natural resource 
protection by the Forest Supervisor or designee. 
(b)  No person except forest Department employees and 
authorized persons shall be allowed within in or upon State 
Forests, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest the 
forest between closing and opening hours except in designated 
areas or under permit. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 

02 NCAC 60B .1032 ENFORCEMENT 
Departmental forest law enforcement officers, Forest Rangers, 
and other sworn law enforcement, and Forest Rangers 
enforcement may enforce the rules of this Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-900; 106-887; 106-897; 106-899; 
106-900. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1033 PARKING 
(a)  There shall be no parking in State Forest, State Recreational 
Forest, or Educational State Forest areas designated as "No 
Parking" and "Authorized Vehicles Only." Additionally: 

(1) vehicles shall be parked in areas designated for 
that vehicle type; and 

(2) visitors shall not park a vehicle, trailer, or other 
object in a manner that blocks, or restricts 
access, ingress, or egress to a parking area, 
road, gate, or access point. 

(b)  Vehicles, trailers, or other objects blocking or restricting 
emergency or Department personnel or visitors' access, ingress, 
or egress to any parking area, road, gate, or access point shall be 
removed at the owners' expense and without notice. 
(c)  Vehicles parked in areas not designated for that vehicle type 
or in areas designated as "No Parking" or "Authorized Vehicles 
Only" shall be removed at the owners' expense and without notice. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1034 ABANDONED PROPERTY 
Any property left unattended for a period of 24 hours or more on 
a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State 
Forest shall be considered abandoned property and shall be 
subject to removal at the owner's expense, or in the case 
ownership cannot be established, disposed of by the Department 
without notice. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1035 MINORS 
Parents, guardians, and custodians, of minor children shall ensure 
the minor comply with all North Carolina Forest Service rules. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877; 106-887. 
 
02 NCAC 60B .1036 FIREARMS 
All applicable federal, State, and local laws regarding firearms 
shall apply in or upon State Forests, State Recreational Forests, 
and Educational State Forests. 
 
Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-870; 106-877. 
 
 
TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission 
intends to adopt the rules cited as 10A NCAC 70M .0102, .0701, 
.0702, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A 
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NCAC 70M .0201, .0301, .0302, .0304, .0401, .0402, .0501, 
.0601, .0602, .0604, readopt without substantive changes the rule 
cited as 10A NCAC 70M .0403, and repeal through readoption 
the rules cited as 10A NCAC 70M .0404, .0405, .0502 and .0603. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 
published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-
dss/social-services-commission/rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 
can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of 
General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: 
(919)733-3854; Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 
reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 
of the periodic review these rules were determined to be 
"Necessary with Substantive Public Interest" requiring 
readoption by August 31, 2021. 
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption with 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 70M .0201, .0301, .0302, .0304, 
.0401, .0402, .0501, .0601, .0602, and .0604;  
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption without 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 70M .0101 and .0403;  
 
The following rules are being proposed for repeal through 
readoption:  10A NCAC 70M .0404, .0405, .0502 and .0603;  
 
The following rules are being proposed for adoption to clarify 
programmatic procedures:  10A NCAC 70M .0102, .0701 and 
.0702. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email 
paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 70 - CHILDREN'S SERVICES 

 
SUBCHAPTER 70M - ADOPTION STANDARDS 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL 

 
10A NCAC 70M .0102 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions shall apply to the rules in this 
Subchapter: 

(1) "Adoption assistance agreement" means a 
signed written agreement that is developed by 
the Department ("North Carolina Adoption 
Assistance Agreement" Form DSS-5123 which 
can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that is 
binding upon the public adoption agency and 
the prospective adoptive parents of a minor 
child and, at a minimum, the agreement shall: 
(a) specify payments that meet the 

requirements in 42 USC 673(a)(3), 
and any subsequent amendments, and 
specifies the nature and amount of any 
payments, services, and assistance to 
be provided under the agreement; 

(b) stipulates that the agreement shall 
remain in effect regardless of the state 
of which the adoptive parents are 
residents of at any given time; 

(c) require each adoptive parent to inform 
the public adoption agency of any 
circumstances that would make the 
parent ineligible for the payments or 
eligible for a different amount; 

(d) if applicable, require the adoptive 
parents to provide receipt of vendor 
payments; and 

(e) contain provisions for the protection 
of the interests of the child in cases 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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where the adoptive parents and child 
move to another state while the 
agreement is effective. 

(2) "Applicable child" means a child who meets the 
requirements in 42 U.S.C. 673(e) which is 
incorporated herein by reference along with any 
subsequent amendments. 

(3) "Child with special needs" or "children with 
special needs" means a child who meets the 
requirements in 42 USC 673(c) which is 
incorporated herein by reference along with any 
subsequent amendments. The public adoption 
agency, or the North Carolina Department of 
Health and Human Services for the Special 
Needs Adoptions Incentive Fund assistance, 
shall make the specified determinations for the 
state in 42 USC 673(c) and any subsequent 
amendment. A child cannot or should not be 
returned to the home of the child's parent if 
there is a court order terminating parental 
rights, a relinquishment to a public or private 
child-placing agency, a consent for adoption by 
the parent, a finding from the court in an 
adoption proceeding that a parent's consent is 
not required, or verification of the death of a 
parent. For a child to meet the requirement in 
42 USC 673(c)(2)(B)(ii), the child must have a 
letter from the Social Security Administration 
that approves the child for Social Security 
Insurance benefits. For purposes of 42 USC 
673(c)(1)(B) and 42 USC 673(c)(2)(B)(i), and 
any subsequent amendments, the child shall 
present one or more of the following specific 
factors or conditions: 
(a) six years of age or older; 
(b) two years of age or older and a 

member of a minority race or ethnic 
group; 

(c) a member of a sibling group of three 
or more children who will all be 
placed in the same adoptive home; 

(d) a member of a sibling group of two 
children who will be placed in the 
same adoptive home and the child's 
sibling meets one of the factors or 
conditions in Sub-items (a), (b), (e), 
(f), (g) or (h) of this Item; 

(e) a medically diagnosed disability 
which substantially limits one or more 
major life activities, requires 
professional treatment, requires 
assistance in self-care, or requires the 
purchase of special equipment; 

(f) diagnosed by a medical professional, 
who is qualified to make the diagnosis, 
as having a psychiatric condition 
which impairs the child's mental, 
intellectual, or social functioning, and 

for which the child requires 
professional services; 

(g) diagnosed by a medical professional, 
who is qualified to make the diagnosis, 
as having a behavioral or emotional 
disorder characterized by 
inappropriate behavior which deviates 
substantially from behavior 
appropriate to the child's age or 
significantly interferes with child's 
intellectual, social and personal 
functioning; or 

(h) diagnosed by a medical professional, 
who is qualified to make the diagnosis, 
as being intellectually or 
developmentally disabled; 

(i) at risk, as opined by a qualified 
medical professional, for one of the 
factors or conditions in Sub-items (e) 
through (h) of this Item due to: 
(i) prenatal exposure to toxins; 
(ii) a history of abuse or serious 

neglect; or 
(iii) genetic history. 

(4) "Department" means the North Carolina 
Department of Health and Human Services. 

(5) "Nonrecurring adoption expense" means the 
same as "nonrecurring adoption expenses" 
found in 42 U.S.C. 673(a)(6)(A) along with any 
subsequent amendments of the phrase. 

(6) "Public adoption agency" means any county 
department of social services, consolidated 
human services, or regional department of 
social services in North Carolina that is 
authorized by law to place children for adoption 
or that provides adoption services. 

(7) "Supplemental Agreement" means a signed 
written agreement that is developed by the 
Department ("North Carolina Special Children 
Adoption Incentive Fund Supplemental 
Adoption Assistance Agreement" Form DSS-
5212 which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that is 
binding upon the public adoption agency and 
the prospective adoptive parents of a minor 
child and at a minimum:  
(a) specifies the nature and amount of any 

Special Children's Adoption Incentive 
Fund payment, and  

(b) includes an acknowledgement by the 
prospective adoptive parents that the 
payments are not an entitlement and 
are limited to available funds in the 
Special Children's Adoption Incentive 
Fund. 

 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 42 U.S.C. 673; 45 C.F.R. 1356.41(i). 
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SECTION .0200 - ORGANIZATION AND 
ADMINISTRATION 

 
10A NCAC 70M .0201 PUBLIC ADOPTION AGENCIES 
(a)  Except for the requirements relating to an executive director, 
public adoption agencies must comply with 10A NCAC 70H 
.0401 governs the policies for public agencies providing adoption 
services in determining the qualifications and job responsibilities 
for personnel and in the recruitment, retention, and effective 
performance of qualified personnel. 
(b)  Public adoption agencies must comply with 10A NCAC 70F 
.0207 governs the policies for public agencies in the hiring of 
staff, use of clerical staff, staff and use of volunteers. 
(c)  The caseload size of social workers providing adoption 
services shall be in compliance with requirements set forth in 10A 
NCAC 70H .0401. 
 
Authority G.S. 48-1-101; 48-1-109.; 143B-153. 
 

SECTION .0300 - FUNCTIONS OF AN A PUBLIC 
ADOPTION AGENCY 

 
10A NCAC 70M .0301 GENERAL 
Public child-placing adoption agencies shall perform the 
following functions: 

(1) provision of casework and other supportive 
services to biological parents considering 
adoption; 

(2) provision of casework and other supportive 
services to the child considered for adoption; 

(3) provision of casework and other supportive 
services to adoptive applicants through 
pre-placement studies; 

(4) selection of home and placement process; 
(5) supervision after placement; 
(6) fulfillment of social and legal responsibilities; 
(7) compilation and preservation of complete case 

records; 
(8) provision of post-adoption consultation 

services. services, including, but not limited to, 
coordination and referrals for educational 
enrollment for children seven to sixteen years 
of age, and for therapeutic and physical health 
needs; 

(9) when this Subchapter requires, determine 
whether eligibility requirements have been met 
for adoption assistance in this Subchapter that 
is available for children with special needs who 
are in custody of the public adoption agency or 
who have been placed by a private child-
placing agency in an adoptive home within its 
jurisdiction; 

(10) administer adoption assistance agreements for 
which it entered into pursuant to this 
Subchapter; 

(11) notify adoptive parents of tax credits that may 
be available for adoptive parents; 

(12) make current information available for 
prospective adoptive families that describes the 

kinds of children needing placement, the 
availability of adoption assistance, and 
procedures for referring families they are 
unable to serve to other child placing agencies; 
and 

(13) recruit potential foster and adoptive families in 
accordance with the Multiethnic Placement Act 
(MEPA) of 1994 as amended by the Interethnic 
Adoption Provisions of 1996 requirements. 

 
Authority G.S. 48-1 et seq.; 48-2-502; 48-3-203; 48-3-204; 48-3-
303; 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0302 SERVICES TO ADOPTIVE 
APPLICANTS 
(a)  Public adoption agencies must comply with 10A NCAC 70H 
.0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, 0408 and .0409 shall govern the 
policies for public agencies providing adoption services in 
determining the procedures for, for the application process, 
preplacement assessment, notification to adoptive applicants of 
acceptance or denial of application, services to adoptive 
applicants and families, legal process and record retention. 
(b)  A county department of social services shall prepare or 
contract for the preparation of a preplacement assessment for an 
adoptive applicant who has identified a prospective adoptive child 
and has been unable to obtain a preplacement assessment. An 
applicant is deemed unable to obtain a preplacement assessment 
if the applicant is unable to obtain an assessment at the fee the 
county department of social services is permitted to charge under 
10A NCAC 70M .0303. Except as provided in this Subchapter, no 
county department of social services is required to conduct a 
preplacement assessment unless it agrees to do so. 
 
Authority G.S. 48-1-100; 48-1-101; 48-1-102; 48-1-103; 48-1-
106; 48-1-109; 48-2-205; 48-2-301; 48-2-302; 48-2-304; 48-2-
305; 48-2-501; 48-2-502; 48-2-503; 48-2-504; 48-2-601; 48-2-
602; 48-2-603; 48-2-604; 48-2-605; 48-2-606; 48-2-607; 48-3-
100; 48-3-201; 48-3-202; 48-3-203; 48-3-204; 48-3-205; 48-3-
301; 48-3-302; 48-3-303; 48-3-304; 48-3-305; 48-3-306; 48-3-
307; 48-3-308; 48-3-30; 48-3-501; 48-4-100; 48-4-101; 48-4-
102; 48-4-103; 48-5-100; 48-5-101; 48-6-100; 48-6-102; 48-9-
101; 48-9-102; 48-10-104; 48-10-105; 131D-10.5; 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0304 MULTIETHNIC PLACEMENT 
ACT REQUIREMENTS FOR ADOPTIVE HOME 
RECRUITMENT 
The agency shall have a written plan for on-going recruitment of 
adoptive homes for the children it places or plans to place for 
adoption. The plan shall adhere to the provisions of the 
Multiethnic Placement Act of 1994 as amended by the Interethnic 
Adoption Provisions of 1996 and shall be submitted to the 
Division of Social Services, Adoption Unit, to ensure compliance 
with the Act. If the plan is found to be out of compliance, it shall 
be returned to the agency for corrections. A copy of the 
Multiethnic Placement Act of 1994 as amended may be obtained 
from the U. S. Department of Heath and Human Services, 
Children's Bureau, 300 C Street SW, Washington, D.C. 20447. 
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(a)  Public adoption agencies shall recruit potential adoptive and 
foster families that reflect the ethnic and racial diversity of 
children in the state. 
(b)  Public adoption agencies shall not deny any person the 
opportunity to become an adoptive or a foster parent on the basis 
of the race, color, or national origin of the person or of the child 
involved. 
(c)  Public adoption agencies shall not delay or deny the 
placement of a child for adoption or foster care, on the basis of the 
race, color, or national origin of the adoptive or foster parent or 
the child involved. 
(d)  Public adoption agencies shall not violate provisions of the 
Multiethnic Placement Act of 1994 as amended by the Interethnic 
Adoption Provisions of 1996 that apply to state or local agencies. 
 
Authority G.S. 48-3-204; 131D-10.5; 143B-153. 
 

SECTION .0400 – REGULAR MONTHLY CASH 
ADOPTION ASSISTANCE: GENERAL ASSISTANCE 

AND VENDOR PAYMENTS 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0401 REGULAR MONTHLY CASH 
ADOPTION ASSISTANCE DEFINED AND VENDOR 
PAYMENTS 
(a)  Regular monthly cash assistance payments are monthly 
payments made based on means the graduated rates set by the 
General Assembly. Assembly and reflected in the executed 
adoption assistance agreement. The payments may be made to 
children who meet the requirements set out in Rule .0402 of this 
Section. 
(b)  Vendor payments are made directly to the a child's provider, 
including which may include the adoptive parents, for medical 
medical, therapeutic, psychological, and remedial services not 
covered by Medicaid, Medicaid therapeutic, psychological, and 
remedial services for children who meet the eligibility criteria set 
out in Rule .0402 of this Section. or another source if the 
requirements in this Subchapter are met. 
(c)  Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund payments may be 
made to children who meet the requirements as set out in Rule 
.0404 of this Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0402 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
FOR REGULAR MONTHLY CASH ASSISTANCE 
PAYMENTS OR VENDOR PAYMENTS 
(a)  Adoption assistance in the form of regular monthly cash 
assistance payments based on graduated rates set by the General 
Assembly and vendor payments may be made when The the child 
shall meet meets the following eligibility criteria: 

(1) The child is legally clear for adoption, or was 
legally adopted; 

(2) The child is, or was, the placement 
responsibility of a North Carolina agency 
authorized to place children for adoption at the 
time of adoptive placement; meets at least one 
of the following criteria: 
(A) is not an applicable child and meets 

the requirements in 42 USC 

673(a)(2)(A)(i) and any subsequent 
amendments. The public adoption 
agency shall make the determination 
in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(A)(i)(II) for the 
state. 42 USC 673(a)(2)(B) is 
applicable when appropriate; 

(B) is an applicable child and meets the 
requirements in 42 USC 
673(a)(2)(A)(ii) and any subsequent 
amendments. The public adoption 
agency shall make the determination 
in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(A)(ii)(II) for the 
state. 42 USC 673(a)(2)(B) is 
applicable when appropriate; or 

(C) the requirements set forth in 42 USC 
673(a)(2)(C) and any subsequent 
amendments. 

(3) The child has special needs that create a 
financial barrier to adoption; or the child was 
legally adopted and the child's special needs, 
though pre-existing, were detected after the 
adoption has been finalized and if known would 
have created a financial barrier to adoption; An 
applicable child is not eligible if he or she meets 
the three conditions in 42 U.S.C. 
673(a)(7)(A)(i) through (iii), unless 42 U.S.C. 
673(a)(7)(B) is applicable and the public 
adoption agency makes the requisite 
determination for the state; 

(4) Reasonable but unsuccessful efforts have been 
made to place the child for adoption without the 
benefits of adoption assistance; 

(5) The child is under 18 years of age; and was 
adopted after reaching the age of 16 but prior to 
reaching the age of 18; 

(6) The child may continue to receive adoption 
assistance payments after his or her 18th 
birthday until his or her 21st birthday if an 
adoption assistance agreement was entered into 
on or after his or her 16th birthday and meets 
any of the following conditions: 
(A) Completing secondary education or a 

program leading to an equivalent 
credential; 

(B) Enrolled in an institution that provides 
post-secondary or vocational 
education; 

(C) Participating in a program or activity 
designed to promote or remove 
barriers to employment; 

(D) Employed for at least 80 hours per 
month; or 

(E) Is incapable of doing any of the 
previously described educational or 
employment activities due to a 
medical condition or disability. 

(b)  In order for the child to receive regular monthly cash 
assistance payments, the adoptive parents must have entered into 
an agreement with the child's agency prior to entry of the Decree 
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of Adoption. The agreement shall have set forth the respective 
responsibilities of the agency and the adoptive parents during the 
time of the child's eligibility for this assistance. 
(c)  A child's eligibility for vendor payments shall further be 
determined on the basis of documentation of a known and 
diagnosed medical, mental, or emotional condition that will 
require periodic treatment or therapy of a medical or remedial 
nature. 
A child's eligibility for vendor payments may be determined by 
the agency administering adoption assistance benefits at any time 
during the child's minority if the medical, mental, or emotional 
condition, congenital problem, birth injury, or other documented 
problem is determined to have been pre-existing at the time of his 
or her placement into an adoptive home. Prior to the child's receipt 
of vendor payments, the adoptive parents must enter into an 
agreement with the child's agency to indicate the extent to which 
they desire the child to participate in this component of the 
program. 
(d)  North Carolina residency of the child and adoptive parents is 
not a requirement for the child to be eligible to receive regular 
monthly cash assistance payments or vendor payments. 
(b)  For vendor payments, in addition to the criteria in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule, the child shall also meet the following criteria: 

(1) at or prior to the issuance of the adoption 
decree, have a known and diagnosed medical, 
mental, or emotional condition that is 
documented by a medical professional that will 
require ongoing treatment or therapy of a 
medical or remedial nature; or 

(2) after the issuance of the adoption decree but 
while still under the age of 18, have been 
determined by the public adoption agency 
administering adoption assistance benefits to 
have a medical, mental, or emotional condition, 
congenital problem, birth injury, or other 
documented problem that is determined by a 
medical professional to have been preexisting 
at the time of his or her placement into an 
adoptive home. 

(c)  The prospective adoptive parents must meet the following 
criteria: 

(1) Enter into an adoption assistance agreement 
with a public adoption agency at the time of or 
prior to the issuance of an adoption decree; 

(2) Have a child placed with them in accordance 
with applicable state and local laws for 
purposes of an adoption who meets the 
requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

(3) are legally responsible for the support of the 
child and is providing support to the child, if the 
child is under the age of 18; 

(4) entered into an adoption assistance agreement 
with the public adoption agency prior to entry 
of the decree of adoption. The adoption 
assistance agreement shall identify the specific 
services for the child that the parents want to be 
covered by vendor payments; 

(5) Shall have a completed criminal history 
investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-

3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as 
defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other 
criminal conviction that would cause the 
prospective adoptive parent to be unfit to have 
responsibility for the safety and well-being of 
children as determined by the public adoption 
agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309. 

(6) Shall provide the public adoption agency with 
the results of the criminal back history 
investigation. 

(7) Shall have a completed check of the North 
Carolina's Responsible Individuals List and 
have a check of the results of child abuse and 
neglect central registry of states where the 
applicant has resided the past five years and not 
be placed on the North Carolina's Responsible 
Individuals List or any other state's child abuse 
and neglect central registry. The public 
adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the 
results in their file. 

(8) For vendor payments when the child meets the 
criteria in Sub-item (b)(2) of this Rule, shall 
enter into an adoption assistance agreement 
amendment on a form provided by the 
Department ("North Carolina Division of 
Social Services Adoption Assistance 
Agreement Amendment" DSS-5307, which can 
be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that 
identifies and includes supporting 
documentation of the child's preexisting 
condition and allows the parents to be 
reimbursed for vendor services related to the 
child's preexisting condition. 

(d)  All individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the 
prospective adoptive home shall have a completed a criminal 
history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and 
shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), 
or any other criminal conviction that would cause the prospective 
adoptive parent is unfit to have responsibility for the safety and 
well-being of children as determined by the public adoption 
agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309. 
(e)  Prior to the adoption, all individuals 18 years of age or older 
who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a 
completed check of the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals 
List and have a check of the results of child abuse and neglect 
central registry of states where the applicant has resided the past 
five years and not be placed on the North Carolina's Responsible 
Individuals List or any other state's child abuse and neglect central 
registry. The public adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the 
results in their file. 
(f)  Upon adoption, the adoptive parents shall comply with all the 
terms of the adoption agreement assistance and notify the public 
adoption agency of any change in their legal or financial 
responsibility of the adopted child, address or contact 
information. 
(g)  The public adoption agency shall: 

(1) prior to the adoption, make a determination as 
to whether the requirements of this Rule have 
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been met on a form created by the Department 
("Adoption Assistance Eligibility Checklist" 
Form DSS-5012 which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that 
shall identify the reasons that the eligibility 
requirements have been met and inform the 
prospective adoptive parents of the right to 
appeal the decision. 

(2) maintain a copy of the results of the criminal 
investigation of the foster parents and any 
individual 18 years of age or older who resides 
in the prospective adoptive home. 

(3) after the adoption: 
(A) annually send to the adoptive parents a 

letter reminding them to report any 
changes in their legal or financial 
responsibility of the adopted child; 

(B) issue to the adoptive parents a notice if 
the adoption assistance payments are to 
be suspended ("North Carolina 
Division of Social Services Adoption 
Assistance Suspension Notice" Form 
DSS-5306 which can be found on the 
Department's website at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) 
that shall identify the reason for the 
suspension and how to appeal the 
suspension. 

(C) issue to the adoptive parents a notice if 
the adoption assistance payments are to 
be terminated ("North Carolina 
Division of Social Services Adoption 
Assistance Termination Notice" Form 
DSS-5308 which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) 
that shall identify the reason for the 
termination and how to appeal the 
termination. 

(4) In order for vendor services to be reimbursed 
the vendor must obtain prior approval by 
submitting to the public adoption agency 
completed and signed forms provided by the 
Department ("Adoption Assistance Vendor 
Payment Request Form" Form DSS-5112 and 
"Adoption Assistance Vendor Payment 
Instructions for Providers" Form DSS-5115 
which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that 
includes documentation of the child's diagnosis, 
the child's special needs related to the 
diagnosis, how the is service related to the 
special needs, what the goals of the service is to 
accomplish, how achievement of goals be 
measured, the projected duration of treatment 
or service, the projected total cost and two 
copies of the provider's bill after all health 
insurance claims have been processed. 

 

Authority G.S. 48-1-101; 108A-48; 108A-49; 108A-50; 
143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0403 PROCEDURES 
/REIMBURSEMENT OF ADOPTION ASSISTANCE 
BENEFITS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 
CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0404 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
FOR THE SPECIAL CHILDREN ADOPTION 
INCENTIVE FUND AND EFFECTIVE DATE 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; S.L. 2000-67, s. 
11.16. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0405 PAYMENTS FROM THE 
SPECIAL CHILDREN ADOPTION INCENTIVE FUND 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; S.L. 2000-67, s. 
11.16. 
 

SECTION .0500 - OUT-OF-STATE ADOPTION 
FEES - GENERAL 

 
10A NCAC 70M .0501 PURPOSE OF OUT-OF-STATE 
ADOPTION SERVICE FEES 
(a)  Out-of-state adoption service fees are established as part of 
the state-wide permanency planning effort for the purpose of 
providing services to foster children to assist in finding permanent 
adoptive homes for them. 
(b)  This adoption service fee is provided to county departments 
of social services for payment of service fees to obtain adoption 
services from out-of-state adoption agencies, including assisting 
with the costs of: 

(1) recruiting and securing an adoptive home for 
the child; 

(2) pre-placement services to family and child; 
(3) post-placement services to family and child; 
(4) post-finalization services. 

(c)  The adoption service fee is designed to provide financial 
assistance to enable county departments of social services having 
legal placement and consenting authority of children to expand 
their adoptive family recruitment through referrals to out-of-state 
adoption agencies that specialize in hard-to-place children. 
(d)  The Division of Social Services will provide a maximum of 
one thousand eight hundred dollars ($1800) per child for adoption 
service fees contracted for between a county department of social 
services and an authorized out-of-state adoption agency. 
(a)  When the requirements in this Rule have been met, with prior 
approval, the Department may reimburse in part or in full a fee 
incurred by a public adoption agency for adoption services 
provided by an out-of-state adoption agency. Public adoption 
agencies shall pay the out-of-state adoption provider directly and 
provide proof of payment to the Department once payment is 
made. 
(b)  The requirements of this Rule are met when the child: 

(1) is a child with special needs; 
(2) is registered on the North Carolina Adoption 

Resource Exchange; 
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(3) has parents who have each had one of the 
following occur: 
(A) a court order that terminated parental 

rights; 
(B) executed a relinquishment of the child 

to a public or private child-placing 
agency; 

(C) consented to the adoption; 
(D) a finding by the court in the adoption 

proceeding that the parent's consent to 
the adoption is not required; or 

(E) has died. 
(c)  Out-of-state adoption agencies shall be licensed by their 
respective states and as approved by conditions of the Interstate 
Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) Article 38 of G.S. 
7B to provide adoptive services for children with special needs. 
(d)  The service fee charged by the specialized out-of-state 
adoption agency is: 

(1) for one of the following services provided by 
the specialized adoption service agency: 
(A) recruiting and securing an adoptive 

home for the child; 
(B) pre-placement services for the family 

and child; 
(C) post-placement services for the family 

and child; and 
(D) post-finalization services. 

(2) when an available adoptive family has not been 
identified in North Carolina. 

(e)  The public adoption agency: 
(1) shall have custody and placement responsibility 

of the child and have the legal authority to 
consent to the child's adoption; 

(2) shall make a written request to the Department 
for reimbursement for the out-of-state adoption 
service fee at the time that a decision has been 
made to place the child with a specific adoptive 
parent or parents who have had an approved 
home study that was conducted by the 
specialized out-of-state adoption agency; 

(3) shall include in its reimbursement request to the 
Department written documentation that verifies 
the following: 
(A) the public adoption agency has legal 

placement; 
(B) the public adoption agency has the 

authority to legally consent to the 
adoption of the child; 

(C) the child meets the requirements of 
this Rule; 

(D) the out-of-state adoption agency meets 
the requirements of this Rule; 

(E) the service fee to be charged meets the 
requirements of this Rule; and 

(F) a quote for the service fee that includes 
the specific nature of the service to be 
provided and the amount of the fee; 

(4) shall obtain prior approval from the Department 
prior to initiating contracted services where 
reimbursement is expected; 

(5) Upon the Department's prior approval for an 
out-of-state adoption service fee, the public 
adoption agency shall enter into an agreement 
with the out-of-state adoption agency on a form 
provided by the Department ("North Carolina 
Division of Social Services Purchase of Out-of-
State Adoption Services Agreement" Form 
DSS-5305 which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) and 
provide a copy of the agreement to the 
Department. The agreement shall include the 
type and nature of the service to be provided, 
the fee amount to be charged, an agreement by 
the out-of-state adoption agency to provide the 
identified service and an agreement by the 
public adoption agency to pay for the identified 
service; and 

(6) shall pay any amount of the out-of-state 
adoption agency service fee that is not approved 
by the Department. 

(f)  To the extent funds are available and the fee for services is not 
above the maximum allowable amount of one thousand eight 
hundred dollars ($1,800) per child, the Department shall approve 
the public adoption agency's request for prior approval for 
reimbursement of the out-of-state adoption service fee if it meets 
the requirements in this Rule and the Department notifies the 
public adoption agency in writing of the approval. 
(g)  The Department shall not reimburse a public adoption agency 
for any amount over one thousand eight hundred dollars ($1,800) 
per child in out-of-state adoption service fees that are approved 
pursuant to this Rule. 
(h)  In order for the public adoption agency to receive 
reimbursement for a fee that has been approved pursuant to this 
Rule, the public adoption agency shall notify the Department of 
the date that payment of the fee is due and provide the Department 
with a copy of the bill for the out-of-state adoption service fee. 
(i)  Upon the public adoption agency's payment of the out-of-state 
adoption service fee, the public adoption agency shall provide the 
Department will a copy of the receipt of payment for the out-of-
state adoption agency fee. 
 
Authority G.S. 48-1; 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0502 GENERAL ELIGIBILITY 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
SECTION .0600 - NON-RECURRING ADOPTION COSTS: 

GENERAL COSTS 
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10A NCAC 70M .0601 PURPOSE OF 
REIMBURSEMENT OF NON-RECURRING ADOPTION 
EXPENSES PUBLIC ADOPTION AGENCY 
REQUIREMENTS 
Reimbursement of non-recurring adoption expenses incurred by 
adoptive parents shall be provided by county departments of 
social services in accordance with requirements set forth in this 
Section to facilitate the adoption of children with special needs, 
and in accordance with procedures established by the State 
Division of Social Services. 
(a)  Public adoption agencies shall: 

(1) at the time of or prior to the final decree of 
adoption, enter into an agreement for the 
reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption 
expenses with parents who adopt a child with 
special needs; 

(2) prior to entering into an agreement for the 
reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption 
expenses, the public adoption agency shall: 
(A) Make a determination that the child is 

a child with special needs; and 
(B) Make a determination that the child 

has been placed for adoption in 
accordance with applicable laws; 

(3) make payments for reimbursement of 
nonrecurring adoption expenses incurred by or 
on behalf of parents in connection with the 
adoption of a child with special needs if it enters 
into an agreement for the reimbursement of 
nonrecurring adoption expenses; 

(4) retain copies of the complete application for 
reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption 
expenses, along with supporting document and 
receipts, and the agreement for the 
reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption 
expenses for auditing purposes; and 

(5) upon receipt of a completed nonrecurring 
adoption expense reimbursement application, 
the public adoption agency shall submit the 
application to the Department. 

(b)  When there is an interstate placement of the child with special 
needs, the public adoption agency that agency that entered into an 
adoption assistance agreement shall also reimburse for the 
nonrecurring adoption expenses. When there has been an 
interstate placement of a child with special needs for the purpose 
of adoption and there is no adoption assistance agreement from 
the sending state, then the public adoption agency that is 
responsible for reimbursing for entering into an agreement for 
non-recurring adoption expenses shall be the public adoption 
agency where petitioner resides. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0602 DEFINITIONS ELIGIBLE NON-
RECURRING ADOPTION EXPENSES 
Non-recurring costs for which reimbursement can be claimed are 
those costs associated with the adoption that are incurred prior to 
or at the time of the adoption and which include: 

(1) reasonable and necessary adoption fees; 

(2) court costs; 
(3) attorney's fees; 
(4) adoptive home study; 
(5) physical examinations; 
(6) psychological examinations, when required by 

an agency; 
(7) supervision of the placement prior to entry of 

the final order of adoption; and 
(8) transportation and costs of lodging and food for 

the child and adoptive parents when necessary 
to complete the adoptive process. 

An adoptive parent shall receive reimbursement for non-recurring 
adoption expenses not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000) 
when: 

(1) The child placed with the parent for the purpose 
of adoption is a child with special needs; 

(2) The adoptive parents have submitted a signed 
application for non-recurring adoption 
expenses on a form provided by the Department 
("State of North Carolina Application For 
Reimbursement of Nonrecurring Adoption 
Costs" Form DSS-5145 which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss). The 
application shall: 
(a) demonstrate that the child is a child 

with special needs; 
(b) include acknowledgements by the 

adoptive parents that: 
(i) non-recurring adoption 

expenses are limited to a 
reimbursement of two-
thousand dollars ($2,000) per 
child and are contingent on 
the child being a child with 
special needs; 

(ii) the expenses that they are 
seeking reimbursement for 
were actually incurred by 
them; 

(iii) the expenses that they are 
seeking reimbursement for 
are reasonable and necessary 
adoption expenses which 
were directly related to the 
legal adoption of the child; 
and 

(iv) the expenses that they are 
seeking reimbursement for 
have not and will not be 
reimbursed by another 
source. 

(C) if the placement was an interstate 
placement, include an 
acknowledgement by the adoptive 
parents that the placement was made 
in accordance with the Interstate 
Compact on the Placement of Children 
adopted by both the sending and 
receiving state and any other 
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applicable federal, state or local laws 
or rules related to the interstate 
adoptive placement of a child; 

(D) the type and amount of the expense 
that will be incurred by the adoptive 
parents; and 

(E) include documentation that verifies 
the information in the application and 
receipts for any non-recurring service 
for which the parent is seeking 
reimbursement. 

(3) The foster parents and all individuals 18 years 
of age or older who reside in the prospective 
adoptive home shall have a completed a 
criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 
48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a 
criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-
101(5b), or any other criminal conviction that 
would cause the prospective adoptive parent is 
unfit to have responsibility for the safety and 
well-being of children as determined by the 
public adoption agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-
309. 

(4) The foster parents shall provide the public 
adoption agency with the results of the criminal 
history investigation, and the public adoption 
agency shall maintain a copy of the results. 

(5) The adopting parents and all individuals 18 
years of age or older who reside in the home 
shall have a completed check of the North 
Carolina's Responsible Individuals List and 
have a check of the results of child abuse and 
neglect central registry of states where the 
applicant has resided the past five years and not 
be placed on the North Carolina's Responsible 
Individuals List or any other state's child abuse 
and neglect central registry. The public 
adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the 
results in their file. 

(6) Upon approval of the application in Item (2) of 
this Rule, the adoptive parents shall enter into a 
binding written agreement with a public 
adoption agency for the reimbursement of non-
recurring expenses on a form provided by the 
Department ("State of North Carolina 
Agreement for Reimbursement of Non-
recurring Adoption Costs" Form DSS-5146 
which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that 
meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(a)(3) 
and any subsequent amendments, and is signed 
at the time of or prior to the final decree of 
adoption. 

(7) The application for reimbursement was filed in 
accord with the quarter rule outlined in CFR 45 
1356.41. E2 adoption. 

 
Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153. 
 

10A NCAC 70M .0603 REQUIREMENTS 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 42 U.S.C. 673. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0604 REIMBURSEMENT FOR 
NON-RECURRING ADOPTION EXPENSES 
PROHIBITION ON REIMBURSEMENT CAPS 
(a)  The maximum amount for which adoptive parents will be 
reimbursed for all non-recurring adoption expenses shall not 
exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000). 
(b)  No maximum rates for specific reimbursable services shall be 
established by the State Division of Social Services or by any 
county department of social services. 
The Department and any public adoption agencies are prohibited 
from establishing a maximum allowable reimbursement amount 
for any single eligible nonrecurring adoption expense. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153. 
 

SECTION .0700 – SPECIAL NEEDS ADOPTION 
INCENTIVE FUND 

 
10A NCAC 70M .0701 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
FOR THE SPECIAL NEED ADOPTION INCENTIVE 
FUND AND EFFECTIVE DATE 
Within the limits of available funding, the Department may 
approve and provide assistance in the form of monthly cash 
payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund when 
the following requirements have been met: 

(1) Requirements for the child: 
(a) Shall be a child with special needs and 

either has at least one of the factors or 
conditions listed in Rule .0102(e) 
through (h) of the definition in this 
Chapter of a child with special needs 
or meets the requirement in 42 USC 
673(c)(2)(B)(ii). 

(b) Shall meet the requirements for 
monthly cash adoption assistance in 
this Chapter; 

(c) The child was in the custody and 
placement responsibility of an 
adoption agency for at least six 
consecutive months prior to the 
finalization of the adoption; 

(d) The special needs condition from Item 
(1) of this Rule is expected to limit the 
child's ability, both currently and 
throughout childhood, to function in 
the home, school or community absent 
eight or more hours of direct daily 
supervision or care for personal health 
care or prevention of self-destructive 
or assaultive behavior; 

(e) The child will have resided in the 
foster parent's home for six 
consecutive months prior to the 
finalization of the adoption; and 
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(f) The child will have been legally 
adopted on or after January 1, 2001. 

(2) The requirements for each foster parent are: 
(a) licensed as a foster parent; 
(b) have been receiving monthly cash 

assistance from any governmental 
source, such as federal, state or local, 
above the state adoption assistance 
rate established by the General 
Assembly for the previous six 
consecutive months prior to the 
finalization of the adoption to provide 
the direct care or supervision required 
for the child's health condition that 
meets the requirement in Item (4) of 
this Rule; 

(c) prior to the entry of the adoption 
decree, the foster parent made a 
request for financial assistance in 
addition to the state adoption 
assistance rate established by the 
General Assembly in order to provide 
the care required for the child's health 
condition that meets the requirement 
in Item (4) of this Rule. 

(d) prior to the entry of the adoption 
decree, the foster parent provided the 
public adoption agency with a signed 
letter that truthfully and accurately 
details the daily supervision needs of 
the child. 

(e) shall only be willing to adopt the child 
if the monthly cash assistance from 
any other governmental source, such 
as federal, State or local, is above the 
state adoption assistance rate received 
for foster parents and is not terminated 
upon the adoption of the child; 

(f) shall enter into an adoption assistance 
agreement with a public adoption 
agency prior to the decree of adoption; 

(g) entered into a supplemental agreement 
with a public adoption agency prior to 
the adoption decree; 

(h) agree to provide the public adoption 
agency with a copy of the adoption 
decree once the adoption has been 
finalized. 

(i) shall have a completed criminal 
history investigated pursuant to G.S. 
48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not 
have a criminal history, as defined by 
G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other 
criminal conviction that would cause 
the prospective adoptive parent is unfit 
to have responsibility for the safety 
and well-being of children as 
determined by the public adoption 
agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309. 

(j) shall require all individuals eighteen 
years of age or older who reside in the 
prospective adoptive home to undergo 
a criminal history investigated 
pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 49-3-
309; and 

(k) shall provide the public adoption 
agency with the results of the criminal 
back history investigation. 

(3) All individuals 18 years of age or older who 
reside in the prospective adoptive home shall 
have a completed a criminal history 
investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-
3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as 
defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other 
criminal conviction that would cause the 
prospective adoptive parent is unfit to have 
responsibility for the safety and well-being of 
children as determined by the public adoption 
agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309. 

(4) The requirements for the public adoption 
agency having custody of the child are: 
(a) it voluntarily agrees to participate in 

the Special Need Adoption Incentive 
Fund and agrees to assume fifty 
percent of the payment above the State 
adoption assistance rate established by 
the General Assembly. 

(b) entered into an adoption assistance 
agreement as provided in this Rule. 

(c) entered into a supplement agreement 
as provided in this Rule. 

(d) maintains a record for the child that 
contains written documentation that 
the child and foster parent(s) have met 
or will meet the requirements for the 
foster child and the foster parents in 
this Rule at the time of the adoption 
decree and shall specifically include 
the following: 
(i) written statement on a form 

provided by the Department 
("Special Children Adoption 
Incentive Fund Agency 
Verification of Legal 
Custody and Child's Living 
Arrangement For Past Six 
Months" Form DSS-5214, 
which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divi
sions/dss) signed by the 
Director of the public 
adoption agency that verifies: 
(A) each foster parent is 

licensed; 
(B) the public adoption 

agency has legal 
custody and 
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placement authority 
of the child; 

(C) the child has lived 
with the foster 
family for six 
consecutive months 
prior to the 
adoption; 

(D) that the foster 
parent(s) have 
received monthly 
cash assistance from 
a governmental 
source in excess of 
the standard board 
rate established by 
the General 
Assembly for the 
previous six months 
on a continuous 
basis and the 
amount of the 
payments; and 

(E) the foster parent(s) 
have stated a 
willingness to adopt 
this child if the 
monthly cash 
assistance that they 
have received as 
foster parents is not 
terminated. 

(ii) written statement on a form 
provided by the Department 
("Special Children Adoption 
Incentive Fund Verification 
of Child's Health Condition" 
Form DSS-5213 which can 
be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divi
sions/dss) signed by a 
medical professional 
qualified to diagnose the 
child's condition prior to the 
adoption that demonstrates 
that the child meets all the 
requirements in Item (4) of 
this Rule; 

(iii) written statement on a form 
provided by the Department 
("Special Children Adoption 
Incentive Fund Verification 
of Child's Need for Daily 
Supervision" Form DSS-
5215 which can be found at 
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divi
sions/dss) signed by the 
foster parent(s) prior to the 
adoption that demonstrates 

that the child meets all the 
requirements in Item (4) of 
this Rule; 

(iv) a letter from the foster 
parent(s) detailing the daily 
needs of the child. 

(v) signed adoption assistance 
agreement; 

(vi) signed supplement 
agreement 

(vii) a copy of the foster parent's 
license; 

(viii) copy of the decree of 
adoption once it has been 
received pursuant to this 
Rule; 

(ix) a copy of the results of the 
criminal investigation of the 
foster parents and any 
individual 18 years of age or 
older who resides in the 
prospective adoptive home. 

(x) It makes a request, on behalf 
of the foster parent(s), prior 
to the adoption decree to the 
Department for Special Need 
Adoption Incentive Fund 
assistance for the foster 
parents. 

 
Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 108A-50.1; 143B-153; S.L. 
2000-67, s. 11.16. 
 
10A NCAC 70M .0702 PAYMENTS FROM THE 
SPECIAL NEED ADOPTION INCENTIVE FUND 
(a)  Payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund 
will be made by the Division of Social Services to the adoptive 
parent(s). 
(b)  Participating county departments of social services shall 
submit claims for payments to the Division of Social Services. 
(c)  The initial payment claim must include the following items: 

(1) verification of child's placement authority; 
(2) verification that the child has lived with the 

foster family six consecutive months; 
(3) copy of written statement from a licensed 

physician regarding the child's health condition; 
(4) copy of written statement from a licensed 

health, mental health, or developmental 
disability professional regarding the status of 
the child's condition; 

(5) copy of signed adoption assistance agreement; 
(6) copy of signed supplemental assistance 

agreement; and 
(7) copy of Decree of Adoption. 

(d)  Monthly payment claims shall be submitted on the "Request 
for Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Payment" form 
developed by the Division of Social Services. 
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Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 108A-50.1; 143B-153; S.L. 
2000-67, s. 11.16. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to 
repeal through readoption the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71K 
.0101 and .0102. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 
available on the OAH website at 
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-
dss/social-services-commission/rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 
can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of 
General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: 
(919)733-3854; Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 
reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 
of the periodic review these rules were determined to be 
"Necessary with Substantive Public Interest" requiring 
readoption by August 31, 2021. 
 
The following rules are being proposed for repeal through 
readoption:  10A NCAC 71K .0101 and .0102. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email 
paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 71K – PROBLEM PREGNANCY 

SERVICES 
 
10A NCAC 71K .0101 METHODS OF PROVISION 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71K .0102 FREEDOM OF CHOICE 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission 
intends to adopt the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71L .0106, .0107, 
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 
71L .0101-.0103, .0105 and repeal through readoption the rule 
cited as 10A NCAC 71L .0104. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-
dss/social-services-commission/rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 
can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of 
General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: 
(919)733-3854; Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2001 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 
reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 
of the periodic review these rules were determined to be 
"Necessary with Substantive Public Interest" requiring 
readoption by August 31, 2021. 
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption with 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71L .0101, .0102, .0103, and 
.0105. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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The following rules are being proposed for repeal through 
readoption: 10A NCAC 71L .0104. 
 
The following rules are being proposed for adoption for 
additional clarification to programmatic procedures:  10A NCAC 
71L .0106 and .0107. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email 
paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 71L – MATERNITY HOME FUND 

 
10A NCAC 71L .0101 NATURE AND SCOPE 
The State Maternity Home Fund is supported by state and federal 
funds and is administered by the North Carolina Division of 
Social Services.  The State Maternity Fund is a resource for any 
North Carolina residents experiencing problem pregnancies who 
for various reasons are unable to remain in their own homes 
during the prenatal period.  an unplanned pregnancy, regardless 
of age or marital status, who is unable to remain in her own home 
during the pre-natal period and whose financial resources have 
been determined to be inadequate to meet residential costs in an 
approved living arrangement. 

(1) The Maternity Home Fund is administered by 
the state division of social services and funded 
under Title IV-B of the Social Security Act. 

(2)(1) Application for A State Maternity Home Funds 
Fund application, form DSS-6187, for an 
individuals individual needing out-of-home 
care during pregnancy must be submitted 
experiencing problem pregnancies must be 

made by a county department of social services 
or a North Carolina licensed private adoption 
agency. agency to the North Carolina Division 
of Social Services for review and approval.  The 
state North Carolina division Division of social 
Social services Services is responsible for 
monitoring the services of both the county 
departments of social services and the North 
Carolina licensed private adoption agencies. 

(3)(2) The State Maternity Home Fund may assist 
with residential housing costs for up to six 
months183 days, including up to two weeks of 
post-partum care for the mother only. following 
delivery, as needed by pregnant women in a 
living arrangement approved for Maternity 
Home Fund reimbursement. 

(4)(3) The State Maternity Home Fund cannot be 
utilized for hospitalization and delivery 
services or other medical services services. 
received outside the auspices of a licensed 
maternity home.  Medical services supervision 
that is provided as a part of the regimen of 
services by a licensed maternity home are is 
included in the per diem cost of care.  All 
medical services for State Maternity Fund 
clients residing in alternate living arrangements 
must be provided through other resources.  

(4) The State Maternity Fund may be used to pay 
for residential care for a pregnant minor who is 
in the protective custody of a county 
department of social services when the minor is 
placed in a facility that is not approved to 
receive foster care funds.   

(5) Living arrangements for which State Maternity 
Home Funds Fund payments may be utilized to 
pay for the cost of residential care include: 
(a) A maternity home; licensed by or 

meeting the maternity home standards 
of the licensing authority in the state in 
which the facility is located; the State 
of North Carolina; 

(b) A foster family home for children 
licensed in North Carolina; Carolina 
and used in accordance with the 
license issued for that home; 

(c) The home of a non-legally responsible 
relative in North Carolina; Carolina 
jointly approved for a specific client 
by the North Carolina Division of 
Social Services and the agency 
requesting State Maternity Fund 
payments; or  

(d) For individuals 18 and over, a 
boarding arrangement in North 
Carolina; Carolina jointly approved 
for a specific client by the North 
Carolina Division of Social Services 
and the referring agency. 
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Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71L .0102 APPROVAL CRITERIA 
(a)  A county department of social services or a North Carolina 
licensed private adoption agency is responsible for social work 
services and planning for pregnant clients for whom they are 
requesting State Maternity Home Funds. Fund payments. Social 
work services include assisting the client to decide to release the 
baby for adoption or continue parenting the baby. 
(b)  Marital status and age do not affect eligibility for State 
Maternity Home Funds. Fund payments. 
(c)  The client must be a resident of the State of North Carolina to 
be eligible for State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments. 
(d)  State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments shall supplement 
any other funds available from applicants, county departments of 
social services, families or private agencies. The agency 
requesting State Maternity Fund payments must review all 
financial resources available to the client. The agency must 
establish that resources available to the client are not adequate to 
meet residential costs. 
(e)  State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments to licensed 
maternity homes is based on the actual per diem cost of care. A 
maternity home shall maintain a valid maternity home license for 
a consecutive one year period and submit an audited financial 
statement to the North Carolina Department of Health and Human 
Services, Controller's Office (2019 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
NC 27699-2019) before the per diem rate is assigned. A licensed 
maternity home is eligible for reimbursement from maternity 
home funds in the second year of operation if this criteria is met 
and maternity home funds are available. 
(f)  State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments for care in a 
foster home is the North Carolina standard board rate for foster 
care assistance set by the General Assembly. The current standard 
board payment for foster care assistance can be obtained from the 
North Carolina Division of Social Services (952 Old U.S. 70 
Highway, Black Mountain, NC 28711). 
(g)  State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments for care in the 
home of a non-legally responsible relative or in a boarding 
arrangement shall not exceed the North Carolina standard board 
rate for foster care assistance. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71L .0103 APPLICATION PROCESS 
(a)  County departments of social services and North Carolina 
licensed private adoption agencies are responsible for submitting 
applications to the family services section of the state division of 
social services for those clients for whom they accept basic 
casework responsibility. for the State Maternity Fund. 
Applications must be made in writing and the original must be 
submitted to the State Maternity Fund Coordinator, Family 
Support and Child Welfare Services Section, Division of Social 
Services. Applications should not be delayed because the actual 
admission date has not been confirmed. The service agency must 
notify the North Carolina Division of Social Services when the 
admission date is confirmed so that review and action on the 
application can be completed. Incomplete applications will not be 
processed. Funds will not be approved to offset residential costs 
incurred prior to the North Carolina Division of Social Services' 

receipt of the actual application with original signatures and all 
information necessary to make a decision regarding approval. 
(b)  Licensed private adoption agencies are responsible for 
submitting applications directly to the family services section for 
those needy clients for whom they accept basic casework 
responsibility. 
(c)  Application for funds shall be made prior to admission to the 
Maternity Home Fund approved living arrangement. Emergency 
situations may be submitted for special consideration. 
(d)(b)  The following information must accompany requests for 
funds. funds: 

(1) social study and service plan; This information 
must include the reason the individual 
experiencing the problem pregnancy is unable 
to remain in her own home, a description of the 
recommended living arrangement, the plan of 
services for the natural parents and their infant 
and a description of financial resources to be 
considered; 

(2) notice of acceptance of the client by a maternity 
home or another recommended living 
arrangement; 

(3) anticipated placement date and expected date of 
delivery. 

(1) the reasons the client cannot remain in her own 
home (own home includes a foster care facility 
in which a child resides); 

(2) a description of the client's financial resources; 
(3) household gross monthly income(s), names and 

ages of other minor children in household, and 
statement of US citizenship or immigration 
status; 

(4) a description of the recommended living 
arrangement and why it is appropriate; 

(5) the proposed plan of services for the biological 
parents and the child; 

(6) an explanation of why the necessary services 
cannot be obtained for the client in a 
community-based living arrangement; 

(7) a tentative agreement to accept the client by the 
individual responsible for maintaining the 
recommended living arrangement; 

(8) the anticipated date of admission and the 
expected date of delivery (month, day, and year 
for both). 

(e)(c)  Upon receipt of notice that funds have been approved, 
unless the placement is to be in a licensed maternity home, the 
agency requesting funds must negotiate with the individual 
responsible for maintaining the living arrangement a written 
agreement setting out mutually agreed upon responsibilities. 
(d)  Payments shall not exceed the amount initially approved. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71L .0104 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
FOR THE PRIVATE AGENCY 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
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10A NCAC 71L .0105 PROCEDURE FOR APPROVAL 
AND PAYMENT 
(a)  All State Maternity Fund forms, correspondence, and monthly 
billing statements shall be addressed to the State Maternity Fund 
Coordinator, whose contact information can be found on the 
Application for State Maternity Fund DSS-6187. 
(a)(b)  Upon receipt of a completed Application for State 
Maternity Fund DSS-6187 form, the social study, and related 
information, the North Carolina division Division of social 
services Social Services will shall make a decision regarding 
approval for State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments and the 
recommended type of living arrangement based on individual 
circumstances. per the application. Notice of action taken will 
shall be promptly communicated to the county department of 
social services or to the private adoption agency submitting the 
application with a copy routed to the applicable maternity home, 
if maternity home care is the approved living arrangement. 
(b)(c)  County departments of social services and North Carolina 
licensed private adoption agencies will shall submit a designated 
voucher form to the family services section of notification to the 
state division of social services when the client is admitted to or 
discharged from the approved living arrangement; arrangement. 
and if the approved living arrangement is other than a maternity 
home, a copy of the written agreement negotiated with the 
individual responsible for maintaining the living arrangement. 
(c)  One check will be written each month for each approved 
living arrangement as appropriate identifying the names of the 
clients to whom the payment should be credited. 
(d)  If the approved living arrangement is other than a maternity 
home, the service agency shall submit a completed copy of the 
DSS-6189, State Maternity Fund Residential Care Provider 
Agreement, negotiated with the individual responsible for 
maintaining the living arrangement, to the North Carolina 
Division of Social Services before payment may be made to the 
residential care provider. 
(e)  At the end of each month the State Maternity Fund 
Coordinator will generate a monthly reimbursement worksheet 
for each maternity home. After the worksheet is reviewed, 
corrected and verified, an authorized official from the home shall 
certify that all information reported is correct by signing the 
signature block of the worksheet. The worksheet is then mailed to 
the North Carolina Division of Social Services for a signature by 
the State Maternity Fund Coordinator for approval and 
submission to the Controller's Office. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71L .0106 DEVELOPMENT OF SERVICE 
PLAN 
(a)  The service agency's plan for providing services to the client 
and her child shall be transmitted to the North Carolina Division 
of Social Services as a part of the DSS-6187 Application for State 
Maternity Fund. 
(b)  A thorough needs assessment shall be completed at services 
intake or by the Pregnancy Services caseworker, in conjunction 
with alternative counseling. If during the process of assessing the 
needs of a pregnant minor, abuse and/or neglect is suspected, the 
Pregnancy Services caseworker shall notify the agency's Child 
Protective Services Unit. After the assessment is completed, the 

caseworker and the client shall jointly finalize a specific plan for 
services, building in time frames for action and identifying 
channels for accessing resources to be provided by outside 
agencies. 
(c)  As needed and appropriate, the plan shall address the 
following: 

(1) Counseling needs; 
(2) Medical Care; 
(3) Medical Assistance; 
(4) Nutritional Needs; 
(5) Residential or Housing needs; 
(6) Educational needs; 
(7) Employment Training; 
(8) Parenting Education; 
(9) Financial planning; 
(10) Child Care; or 
(11) Family Planning. 

(d)  While the client is in residential care, the supervising agency 
shall maintain periodic contact with the client. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71L .0107 ASSESSING THE 
APPROPRIATENESS OF ALTERNATIVE TYPES OF 
LIVING ARRANGEMENTS FOR INDIVIDUAL CLIENTS 
(a)  The Pregnancy Services caseworker is responsible for 
evaluating the appropriateness of any community living 
arrangement for which the State Maternity Fund is requested, 
whether it is a boarding arrangement, the home of a non-legally 
responsible relative, or a licensed family foster home. 
(b)  When residential care in a family foster home is being 
considered for a minor, the Pregnancy Services caseworker shall 
request the assistance of the Foster Care Services staff in 
determining whether a home is available, and complete an 
assessment of the placement for the pregnant client and for all 
other persons residing in the home. A decision shall be reached 
by the Foster Care worker and the Pregnancy Services caseworker 
as to the individual assuming responsibility for case management. 
(c)  The following aspects of a community living arrangement 
shall be explored in determining the appropriateness for 
individual placements: 

(1) Location and surroundings; 
(2) Physical environment; 
(3) Emotional environment; 
(4) Stability of living arrangement; 
(5) Emergency transportation. 

(d)  Living arrangements for an expectant mother for whom the 
State Maternity Fund is being requested shall be selected on the 
basis of an assessment of the client's individual circumstances and 
service needs. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to 
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 
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71O .0102-.0104 and readopt without substantive changes the 
rule cited as 10A NCAC 71O .0101. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 
published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-
dss/social-services-commission/rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 
can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of 
General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: 
(919)733-3854; Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 
reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 
of the periodic review these rules were determined to be 
"Necessary with Substantive Public Interest" requiring 
readoption by August 31, 2021. 
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption with 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71O .0102, .0103 and .0104;  
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption without 
substantive changes:  10A NCAC 71O .0101. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email 
paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 71O – REGUGEE ASSISTANCE 

SERVICES 
 
10A NCAC 71O .0101 SERVICES AVAILABILITY 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71O .0102 SERVICE GOALS 
Goals toward which the services are directed Service goals are as 
follows: 

(1) Achieving or maintaining economic 
self-support to prevent, reduce, or eliminate 
dependency; Provide for the effective 
resettlement of refugees and to assist them to 
achieve economic self-sufficiency; 

(2) Achieving or maintaining self-reliance to 
prevent, reduce, or eliminate dependency; 
Establish under the authority of the 
Immigration and Nationality Act the provision 
of employment services and English language 
training as a priority in accomplishing the 
purposes of this program; and 

(3) Preventing Prevent or remedying neglect, 
abuse, or exploitation of children and adults 
unable to protect their own interests, interests or 
by preserving, rehabilitating assimilating or and 
reuniting families. 

 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; P.L. 94-23. 
 
10A NCAC 71O .0103 METHODS OF SERVICE 
PROVISION 
(a)  Refugee assistance services as described in P.L. 96-212 and 
P.L. 96-422 8 U.S.C. 1522 may be provided directly or purchased 
under vendor agreements by county departments of social 
services, may be provided directly or arranged for as appropriate 
by the Division of Social Services, or may be purchased by the 
division Division from public or private providers. 
(b)  Purchase of refugee assistance services will be made in 
accordance with state law and federal regulations governing such 
purchases, and in accordance with rules specific to purchases by 
the division Division as set forth in 10A NCAC 67B. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; P.L. 96-110; 96-212; 96-422. 
 
10A NCAC 71O .0104 ELIGIBILITY 
(a)  Refugee assistance services as described in P.L. 96-212 and 
P.L. 96-422 8 U.S.C. 1522 are available only to individuals who 
are determined to be refugees as defined in these laws. this law. 
(b)  Any refugee assistance service may be provided to any 
refugee who is receiving cash assistance, including 
supplementary assistance, or whose gross family income is not 
more than 90 percent of the state's median income as issued by the 
administration for public services and adjusted for family size, 
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except that vocational training may not be provided to a refugee 
who is not 16 years of age or older. To receive Refugee Support 
Services the client must be a Refugee, admitted under INA 207; 
Asylees, granted asylum under INA 208; Cuban and Haitian 
Entrants, as defined under federal regulations (45 CFR 401.2); 
Certain Amerasians; Trafficking Victims who have been issued 
an Office of Refugee Resettlement certification letter; Special 
Immigrant Visa holders from Iraq and Afghanistan; or Legal 
Permanent Residents (LPR) who were admitted originally as one 
of the previous statuses. 
(c)  Certain refugee assistance services may be provided in 
accordance with special eligibility criteria as follows: The 
Refugee Assistance Program (RAP) Support Services Program 
provides specifically defined and designated services to refugees 
to facilitate achieving self-support and self-sufficiency as quickly 
as possible following their arrival in North Carolina. The program 
provides funding for refugee-specific support services that are 
linguistically and culturally appropriate. Refugee service 
providers may be public or private, not-for-profit agencies that 
provide direct services specifically designed to: 

(1) Outreach services and social adjustment 
services may be provided to refugees without 
regard to age or family income; Assist refugees 
in obtaining the skills to achieve economic self-
sufficiency, including job readiness, skills 
training, vocational education, job placement 
employment follow-up, and other employment 
services; 

(2) English as a second language (ESL) instruction, 
and career counseling, job orientation, and job 
placement and follow-up components of 
manpower employment services, may be 
provided without regard to family income to 
refugees who are 16 years of age or older and 
who are not full-time students in elementary or 
secondary school. Provide training in English 
language instruction; 

(3) Assessment services, and development of an 
individual employability plan as a component 
of manpower employment services may be 
provided without regard to family income to 
any unemployed refugee who is 16 years of age 
or older and who is not a full-time student in 
elementary or secondary school. Provide social 
adjustment services such as case management, 
cultural orientation, health management, and 
support services such as interpretation, 
translation, and transportation; and 

(4) Offer assessment services and development of 
an individual employability plan as a 
component of employment services which may 
be provided without regard to family income to 
any unemployed refugee who is 16 years of age 
or older and who is not a full-time student in 
elementary school or secondary school. 

(d)  For purposes of determining eligibility, "family" is defined as 
one or more adults and children, if any, related by blood, or law, 
and residing in the same household. Emancipated minors and 
children living under the care of individuals not legally 

responsible for that care are considered one person families. 
Where adults reside together, each may be considered a separate 
family, or all adults, living in the same household may be 
considered as a family unit, whichever is more beneficial to a 
refugee in determining his their eligibility on the basis of family 
size and income; provided that spouses must be considered a 
family unit. 
(e)  Eligibility for refugee assistance services may be determined 
by county departments of social services, or by the Division of 
Social Services, or by provider agencies from which the division 
Division is purchasing services under a purchase agreement or 
contract which specifies the provider agency's responsibility for 
eligibility determination. The agency that determines eligibility 
shall be responsible for case management for refugee assistance 
services and for meeting program requirements for reporting and 
case documentation. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; P.L. 96-110; 96-212; 96-422. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to 
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 
71U .0101, .0201, .0213, readopt without substantive changes the 
rules cited as 10A NCAC 71U .0204-.0207, .0209, .0210, .0212, 
.0215, .0302, .0303, .0401, and repeal through readoption the 
rules cited as 10A NCAC 71U .0203, .0211, .0214, .0216 and 
.0402. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 
available on the OAH website at 
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 
published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-
dss/social-services-commission/rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 
can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of 
General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: 
(919)733-3854; Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 
reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 
of the periodic review these rules were determined to be 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp


 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
35:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 15, 2021 

2200 

"Necessary with Substantive Public Interest" requiring 
readoption by August 31, 2021. 
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption with 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71U .0101, .0201, and .0213; 
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption without 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71U .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, 
.0209, .0210, .0212, .0215, .0302, .0303, and .0401;  
 
The following rules are being proposed for repeal through 
readoption: 10A NCAC 71U .0203, .0211, .0214, .0216, and 
.0402. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email 
paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 71U – FOOD ASSISTANCE 

 
SECTION .0100 – IDENTIFYING INFORMATION 

 
10A NCAC 71U .0101 ADMINISTRATION AND 
SUPERVISION 
The counties shall administer the food stamp program under the 
supervision of the food assistance branch. The North Carolina 
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Division of 
Social Services (DSS) oversees and supervises the Food and 
Nutrition Services (FNS) program which is administered through 
county departments of social services. 
 

Authority G.S. 143B-138(b)(5); G.S. 108A-51; 143B-137.1; 
143B-138.1(a)(5); 7 U.S.C. 2011 to 2026. 
 

SECTION .0200 - MANUAL 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0201 INTENTIONAL PROGRAM 
VIOLATION DISQUALIFICATION 
(a)  An administrative disqualification hearing (ADH) or referral 
for prosecution shall be initiated by the county department local 
agency whenever there is documented clear and convincing 
evidence to substantiate that a currently participating household 
member has committed one or more acts of an intentional program 
violation [as defined in 7 CFR 273.16(c)]. as defined in 7 CFR 
273.16(c). If a referral for prosecution is made, an ADH shall not 
be initiated unless the referral is declined or a reasonable amount 
of time has passed and the local agency withdraws the referral. 
(b)  The hearing officer for administrative disqualification 
hearings shall be the county director. The director may delegate 
this function to a specifically designated impartial employee of 
the county department. The Hearing Officer for local ADH 
hearings is the local Agency Director. The Director may delegate 
this function to a designated impartial employee of the local 
agency. An impartial employee is one who is not a fraud 
Investigator, is not directly connected with the case, does not 
supervise an employee directly connected with the case, and has 
not discussed the facts of the case with any local agency staff 
outside of the hearing. 
(c)  The household member has the right to appeal to a state level 
hearing. The hearing shall be before a state hearing officer who 
represents the State Director, Division of Social Services. The 
local agency must provide the FNS unit with an Advance Notice 
of Your Disqualification Hearing Form DSS-8556 at least 30 days 
prior to the hearing date. The local agency must also provide the 
FNS unit with a notice of their right to waive the ADH. The local 
agency shall ensure that all letters and notices are in the primary 
language of the individual charged with an intentional program 
violation (IPV), and ensure that a qualified translator is present 
for an ADH when requested by an individual with limited English 
proficiency as defined in 7 CFR 273.16(c). 
(d)  The local hearing officer shall render a decision within five 
business days of the hearing. 
(e)  The FNS unit may appeal the local hearing officer's decision 
within 15 calendar days to a State Disqualification Hearing. The 
hearing shall be held before a state hearing officer on behalf of the 
Director of the Division of Social Services. The state hearing 
officer shall provide notice to the FNS unit and the local agency 
at least 10 calendar days before the hearing. The state hearing 
officer shall render a decision within 60 days of the State 
Disqualification Hearing. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-51; 143B-153; 7 CFR 273.16; 7 U.S.C. 
2011-2027. 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0203 FAIR HEARINGS 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-51; 143B-153; 7 CFR 273.15; 7 U.S.C. 
2011-2027. 
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10A NCAC 71U .0204 DENIAL OF ZERO BENEFIT 
HOUSEHOLDS (READOPTION WITHOUT 
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0205 IMMEDIATE TERMINATION 
OR REDUCTION OF ASSISTANCE (READOPTION 
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0206 SIMPLIFIED UTILITY 
ALLOWANCES (READOPTION WITHOUT 
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0207 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0209 SECOND PARTY REVIEW 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0210 INCOME EXCLUSIONS 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0211 VEHICLE DETERMINATIONS 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-51; 143B-153; H.R.4461; CFR 273.8. 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0212 TRANSITIONAL FOOD STAMP 
BENEFITS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 
CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0213 SEMI-ANNUAL SIMPLIFIED 
REPORTING 
(a)  The county department shall require households with earned 
or unearned income that are assigned six-month certification 
periods to report only changes in the amount of gross monthly 
income that result in their gross monthly income exceeding 130 
percent of the monthly poverty income guideline for their 
household size. The agency shall assign a certification period of 
six months to all households subject to semi-annual reporting 
requirements. The following households are excluded from semi-
annual reporting requirements: 

(1) Households that contain a homeless individual; 
(2) Households that contain a migrant; 
(3) Households that contain an Able-Bodied Adult 

Without a Dependent, as defined in 7 CFR 
273.24; 

(4) Households whose only member(s) is/are 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) applicants 
or recipients who do not receive any other types 
of fluctuating income; 

(5) Households whose only income is stable Social 
Security Income and/or SSI; 

(6) Households with no income; 
(7) Households receiving transitional Food Stamp 

benefits; or 
(8) Any other household not subject to semi-annual 

reporting requirements as determined by the 
United States Department of Agriculture, Food 
and Nutrition Services. 

(b)  Households with income and not excluded in Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule must not be required to report changes in household 
circumstances during the certification period for the following: 

(1) Changes in sources or amounts of gross 
monthly income unless the change results in the 
gross monthly income exceeding 130 percent of 
the monthly poverty income guideline for the 
household size; 

(2) Changes in household composition; 
(3) Changes in residence and the resulting change 

in shelter costs; 
(4) The acquisition of a licensed vehicle; 
(5) When cash on hand, stocks, bonds, and money 

in a bank account or savings institution reach or 
exceed a total of two thousand dollars ($2,000); 
and 

(6) Changes in the legal obligation to pay child 
support. 

(c)  The county agency must act on any change reported by such 
households that would increase benefits. The county agency must 
not act on changes that would result in a decrease in benefits 
unless: 

(1) The household has voluntarily requested that its 
case be closed; or 

(2) The agency has received information about the 
household's circumstances from a provider who 
is the primary source of the information such as: 
(A) Beneficiary Data Exchange 

(BENDEX), from the Social Security 
Administration; 

(B) State Data Exchange (SDX), from the 
Social Security Administration; 

(C) Systematic Alien Verification for 
Entitlements (SAVE), from the 
Immigration and Naturalization 
Service; 

(D) Employment and Training (E&T) 
information, received from the 
Employment Security Commission; or 

(E) Intentional Program Disqualifications 
(IPV's), received from county 
Program Integrity staff. 

(d)  A copy of the CFR may be obtained by contacting the State 
Division of Social Services, Economic Independence Section, 
2420 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2420. 
(a)  The simplified reporting category applies to all FNS units 
except the following: 

(1) A Simplified Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP) unit; 

(2) A Transitional FNS Unit. 
(b)  Certification periods are determined based upon the following 
household situations: 

(1) FNS units that contain only specified 
individuals who are without earned income are 
certified for a period of 12 months. A specified 
individual is an individual 60 years of age or 
older, or one of the following: 
(A) A person who receives supplemental 

security income benefits under Title 
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XVI of the Social Security Act or 
disability or blindness payments under 
Titles I, II, X, XIV, or XVI of the 
Social Security Act. 

(B) A person who receives federally or 
State administered supplemental 
benefits under Section 1616(a) of the 
Social Security Act provided that the 
eligibility to receive the benefits is 
based upon the disability or blindness 
criteria used under Title XVI of the 
Social Security Act. 

(C) Receives disability benefits from a 
governmental agency based on 
permanent Social Security disability 
requirements. 

(D) Is a Veteran who receives 100 percent 
Veterans Administration (VA) 
disability payments (service or non-
service connected) or is rated as 100 
percent disabled but receives less than 
100 percent disability payment.  

(E) Is a Veteran considered by the VA to 
be in need of regular aid and 
attendance or permanently 
housebound under Title 38 of the U. S. 
Code. 

(F) Is a disabled surviving spouse or 
disabled surviving child of a veteran 
and in need of regular aid and 
attendance or permanently 
housebound or considered by the VA 
to be entitled to compensation for a 
service-connected death or pension 
benefits for a nonservice-connected 
death under Title 38 of the U. S. Code. 

(G) Receiving Railroad Retirement and 
determined to be eligible for 
Medicare. 

(H) Receiving Interim Assistance 
Payments (DSS General Assistance to 
applicants for SSI that is repaid by 
SSA upon approval of the SSI 
application). 

(I) Receiving Medicaid based on 
disability. 

(J) Benefits under the Federal Employees 
Compensation Act (FECA) based on 
Social Security disability 
requirements. 

(2) FNS units that contain an Able-Bodied Adult 
Without Dependents (ABAWD) are certified 
for a period of six months. These FNS units will 
be issued a Notice of Adverse Action DSS-
8553 during the second month of the 
certification period notifying the FNS unit that 
the local agency will terminate benefits after the 
third month unless the ABAWD satisfies the 
work requirements or meets an exception as set 

forth in 7 C.F.R. 274.24. The certification may 
be for a period of six months if the county is 
currently under an ABAWD waiver. 

(3) All other units are certified for a period up to 
six months. 

(c)  FNS units subject to Simplified Reporting are required to 
report to the local agency any of the following changes that occur 
during the certification period: 

(1) FNS units that include an ABAWD shall report 
when the ABAWD stops working an average of 
80 hours per month. This only applies in non-
waiver counties. 

(2) FNS units whose income is at or below the 130 
percent maximum allowable gross income limit 
are required to report an increase in unit income 
that causes it to exceed the 130 percent 
maximum allowable gross income limit for its 
unit size at certification. Ineligible or 
disqualified persons are not considered in 
determining the FNS unit size. 

(3) FNS units are required to report if any member 
of the FNS unit receives lottery/gambling 
winnings of three thousand five hundred dollars 
($3,500) or more. The receipt of 
lottery/gambling winnings of three thousand 
five hundred dollars ($3,500) or more results in 
loss of eligibility for the entire FNS unit. The 
unit remains ineligible until they reapply for 
benefits and meet all non-categorical eligibility 
financial resource and income eligibility 
requirements. 

(d)  FNS units are required to report changes by the 10th of the 
month following the month in which the change occurs. FNS units 
completing an application or recertification that experience 
changes prior to disposition of the application or recertification 
are required to report such changes by the 10th of the month 
following the month in which the Notice of Eligibility is received. 
(e)  Changes are considered reported at the earliest of the 
following times: 

(1) The date the Change Report is received; 
(2) The date the change is reported by the FNS unit 

by telephone, email or fax. If received during 
non-business hours the date reported will be the 
next business day; 

(3) The date the FNS unit made an in-person office 
visit to report the change; 

(4) The date the change is reported to Work First; 
(5) The date the changed information is entered 

into NC FAST; or 
(6) The date the change is reported by a third party. 

(f)  A local agency shall evaluate, verify and act upon a change 
within 10 calendar days, except for the following changes: 

(1) Changes in medical expenses of units eligible 
for the medical deduction when the source of 
the change in information is from a third party 
and requires household contact for verification; 

(2) A decrease in the unit's gross monthly income 
of less than fifty dollars ($50.00); or 
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(3) A change in income that is not expected to 
continue for longer than one month beyond the 
month in which the change is reported. 

(g)  If a change is reported and the local agency fails to act on the 
change within the 10 calendar days, the local agency shall 
determine if an over issuance has occurred. If it is determined than 
an over issuance occurred, the local agency shall establish an 
Administrative Error (AE) claim. 
(h)  If a reported change terminates eligibility or decreases a unit's 
benefit amount, a Notice of Adverse Action shall be issued to the 
FNS unit within 10 calendar days. 
(i)  If a reported change does not affect eligibility or benefit 
amount, an Effect of Change Notice shall be issued to the FNS 
unit. 
(j)  If a reported change will increase benefit amount, the local 
agency shall verify the reported change. 
(k)  If an FNS unit fails to report a required change, the local 
agency shall establish a claim against the FNS unit and issue a 
Notice of Adverse Action if the change would result in a reduction 
or termination of benefits. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-51: 143B-153; P.L. 107-171. 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0214 DEDUCTIONS 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-51; 143B-153; P.L. 107-171. 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0215 RESOURCE EXCLUSIONS 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0216 MEDICAL DEDUCTIONS FOR 
MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG CARD BENEFITS 
 
Authority 143B-153; P.L 108-173. 
 

SECTION .0300 - FORMS 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0302 HOUSEHOLD APPLICATION 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0303 AUTHORIZED 
REPRESENTATIVE FORM (READOPTION WITHOUT 
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 

SECTION .0400 – ELECTRONIC BENEFIT TRANSFER 
(EBT) CARD 

 
10A NCAC 71U .0401 ELECTRONIC BENEFIT 
TRANSFER (EBT) CARD REPLACEMENT FEE 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71U .0402 FAIR HEARINGS 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; 143B-153; 7 U.S.C. 2016 (i)(8); 7 C.F.R. 
274.12 (f)(5)(v). 
 
 
 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to 
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 
71V .0102, .0103, .0105-.0107, .0201-.0204, and repeal through 
readoption the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71V .0104, .0108 and 
.0205. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 
available on the OAH website at 
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-
dss/social-services-commission/rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 
can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of 
General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: 
(919)733-3854; Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 
reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 
of the periodic review these rules were determined to be 
"Necessary with Substantive Public Interest" requiring 
readoption by August 31, 2021. 
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption with 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71V .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, 
.0107, .0201, .0202, .0203 and .0204; 
 
The following rules are being proposed for repeal through 
readoption:  10A NCAC 71V .0104, .0108, and .0205. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email 
paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 71 - ADULT AND FAMILY SUPPORT 

 
SUBCHAPTER 71V - LOW INCOME ENERGY 

ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0102 GROUPS COVERED 
The state will shall make direct payments to the household 
household's energy vendor if they the household make makes an 
application and meet meets the eligibility requirements for this 
program. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0103 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
A household must meet the following requirements to be eligible 
for the Low Income Energy Assistance Program: 

(1) Income: A household's income for the base 
period used to establish eligibility cannot 
exceed 110 percent of the current non-farm 
poverty level. The North Carolina Department 
of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 
determines the maximum eligibility 
requirements annually, not to exceed 150 
percent of the federal poverty level. DHHS 
shall consider the economic status of the state 
of North Carolina and availability of funding in 
determining the annual income eligibility 
criteria. The income eligibility criteria shall be 
included in each annual block grant application 
that is submitted for public review and 
approved by the Governor prior to submission 
to the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services (HHS) for approval. The 
income eligibility criteria shall be posted on the 
DHHS website within 10 business days of 
application approval by HHS. Income will shall 
be defined as gross income less less: 
(a) the standard medical deduction of 

eighty five dollars ($85.00) for each 
specified person. A specified person is 
an individual 60 years of age or older, 
or one of the following: for household 
members with only unearned income; 
(i) A person who receives SSI or 

disability or blindness 

payments under Titles I, II, 
XIV or XVI of the Social 
Security Act; these 
individuals may have been 
approved but may have not 
received their initial 
payment; 

(ii) A person who receives VA 
disability benefits for a 100 
percent service or non-
service connected disability; 

(iii) A person who is a disabled 
surviving spouse or disabled 
surviving child of a Veteran; 

(iv) A person who receives 
disability retirement benefits 
from a State, county, or local 
government agency due to a 
disability considered 
permanent under Section 221 
of the Social Security Act; 

(v) A person who is receiving a 
pension from the Railroad 
Retirement Act of 1974 and 
is determined to be eligible to 
receive Medicare; 

(vi) A person who receives 
Federal Employees 
Compensation Act payments 
due to a disability considered 
permanent under the Social 
Security Act; 

(vii) A person who receives 
Medicaid due to a qualifying 
disability; 

(viii) A person who receives SSI 
based on presumptive 
eligibility. 

(b) a deduction of the actual out of pocket 
child or dependent care costs paid by 
the household; up to the maximum 
allowed in the Food Stamp Program 
per child or dependent; and 

(c) a standard deduction for work related 
expense as set forth in the below table: 
(a table shall be used to determine the 
appropriate amount to deduct). 

 
Gross Income Level Standard 

Deduction 
$1-50 $10 

$51-100 $20 
$101-150 $30 
$151-200 $40 
$201-300 $60 
$310-400 $80 
$401-UP 20% 
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Earned and unearned income shall be counted 
or excluded as mandated by federal laws, 
federal regulations, and Administrative 
Procedure Act administrative rules in 10A 
NCAC 71U that govern the Food Stamp Food 
and Nutrition Services Program. 7 CFR 273.9 
is hereby adopted by reference under G.S. 
150B-14(c). 

(2) Assets: A household shall not have assets 
exceeding two thousand, two hundred and fifty 
dollars ($2,200). ($2,250). All assets will shall 
be counted with the exception of: except: 
(a) Household or personal belongings 

(includes (including essential and 
non-essential personal property); 

(b) Cars; 
(c) Primary residence (including mobile 

home) and all contiguous property; 
(d) Income producing real property; 
(e) Insurance (including burial, term and 

whole life cash values); 
(f) Value of prepaid burial contracts; 
(g) Value of burial plots; 
(h) Savings of a student under age 18 who 

is saving his money for school 
expenses; 

(i) Relocation assistance payments; 
(j) That portion of monthly income 

deposited in a checking or savings 
account to meet monthly needs; 

(k) Non-salable life estate or remainder 
interests; 

(l) Heir property; 
(m) HUD community development block 

grants; 
(n) Any of a lump sum payment for the 

month received or the following 
month. 

(3) Vulnerability: A household must be vulnerable 
to rising costs of energy. A household that is 
vulnerable to energy cost increases rising costs 
of energy is one that is not protected against 
such increases under any other program. 
program of assistance. 

(4) Citizenship: Individuals who A household in 
which all individuals are illegal aliens 
undocumented immigrants are is not eligible for 
the Low Income Energy Assistance Program. 

 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; 143B-153; 42 U.S.C. 8621(a); 8622(2); 
8624(b); 7 C.F.R. 273.9. 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0104 BENEFIT LEVELS 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0105 METHOD OF PAYMENT 
Energy assistance checks will be mailed directly to recipients. 
home energy suppliers. Payments to suppliers are completed by 

the local county department of social services. Each participating 
household shall be notified of the amount of assistance paid to the 
supplier on behalf of the household. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 42 U.S.C. 8624(b)(7). 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0106 DUPLICATE PAYMENTS AND 
OVERPAYMENTS 
There can shall be no duplicate payments to a household. 
Erroneous duplicate payments shall be treated as an overpayment 
and corrected pursuant to the procedures set forth for Correction 
of Overpayments in 10A NCAC 71W. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0107 OVERPAYMENTS AND 
SUSPECTED FRAUD 
The rules in 10A NCAC 71W .0604 and 71W .0606 will govern 
for overpayments and suspected fraud. Instances of suspected 
fraud shall be governed by the procedures set forth for Client 
Fraud and Intentional Program Violations in 10A NCAC 71W. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0108 APPEALS 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; 143B-153. 
 

SECTION .0200 – CRISIS INTERVENTION PROGRAM 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0201 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
A household must meet the following requirements to be eligible 
for the Crisis Intervention Program: 

(1) Income: A household must have income at or 
below 150 percent of the federal poverty 
income guidelines. The rules in 10A NCAC 
71V .0103 will govern for the definition and 
computation of income. 

(2) Crisis: A household must be in a heating or 
cooling related crises. crisis to be eligible for 
assistance. A household is in a crisis if it is 
experiencing or is in danger of experiencing a 
life threatening or health-related emergency 
and sufficient, timely and appropriate 
assistance is not available from any other 
source. A timely energy crisis means that a 
household is in immediate danger of 
experiencing a disconnection with their primary 
heating or cooling source, or a household is 
presently without a heating or cooling source 
due to disconnection, inoperable equipment, or 
insufficient fuel. 

(3) Citizenship: Individuals who Households in 
which all members are illegal aliens 
undocumented immigrants are not eligible for 
the Crisis intervention Program. 

 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; 143B-153; 42 U.S.C. 82621(a); 8622(2); 
8624(b); P.L. 93-66; P.L. 93-233; P.L. 96265. 
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10A NCAC 71V .0202 BENEFIT LEVELS 
Payments to a household shall not exceed six hundred dollars 
($600.00) in a state fiscal year. Counties may set lower maximums 
in their annual business plans for operating Low Income Home 
Energy Assistance Programs. Assistance shall be based upon the 
needs of the community, the severity of the crisis and the services 
needed. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; 143B-153. 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0203 METHOD OF PAYMENT 
Methods of payment include direct payments to recipients 
vendors, fuel payments on behalf of recipients, provision of 
in-kind services or temporary shelter and minor home repairs. 
Energy assistance payments shall be made directly to vendors. 
Payments to vendors are completed by the local county 
department of social services. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 150B-13. 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0204 OVERPAYMENTS AND 
SUSPECTED FRAUD 
The rules in 10A NCAC 71W .0604 and 71W .0606 will govern 
for overpayments and suspected fraud. Instances of overpayments 
or suspected fraud shall be governed by the procedures set forth 
in 10A NCAC 71W. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 150B-13. 
 
10A NCAC 71V .0205 APPEALS 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 150B-13. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to 
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 
71W .0101, .0302, .0404, .0405, .0407, .0408, .0410, .0601, .0604, 
.0606, .0704, readopt without substantive changes the rules cited 
as 10A NCAC 71W .0303, .0304, .0403, .0502, .0503, .0605, and 
repeal through readoption the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71W 
.0412, .0413, .0602, .0603 and .0607. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 
available on the OAH website at 
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 
published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-
dss/social-services-commission/rules 
 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 
can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of 
General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: 
(919)733-3854; Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 
reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 
of the periodic review these rules were determined to be 
"Necessary with Substantive Public Interest" requiring 
readoption by August 31, 2021. 
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption with 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71W .0101, .0302, .0404, .0405, 
.0407, .0408, .0410, .0601, .0604, .0606 and .0704; 
 
The following rules are being proposed for readoption without 
substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71W .0303, .0304, .0403, .0502, 
.0503 and .0605; 
The following rules are being proposed for repeal through 
readoption:  10A NCAC 71W .0412, .0413, .0602, .0603 and 
.0607. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email 
paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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CHAPTER 71 - ADULT AND FAMILY SUPPORT 
 

SUBCHAPTER 71W – GENERAL PROGRAM 
ADMINISTRATION 

 
SECTION .0100 – GENERAL PROGRAM 

ADMINISTRATION 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0101 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions apply to this Chapter: 

(1) "Adjusted Payment" means a payment to the 
recipient to correct a county-responsible 
underpayment. 

(2) "Appeal" means an oral or written request from 
a an client applicant, recipient, or former 
recipient for a hearing to review the action of a 
county Department of Social Services when the 
client applicant, recipient, or former recipient is 
dissatisfied with the decision in his case. 

(3) "Applicant" means a person or assistance unit 
who has applied for Work First. 

(3)(4) "Application Process" means a series of actions 
beginning with a signed application (written or 
electronic) and ending the date a check payment 
is authorized or a denial notice is mailed. 

(4)(5) "Assistance Unit" means the total number of 
persons whose needs are considered in 
determining the payment amount. 

(5)(6) "Budget Unit" means all those persons for 
whom application has been made plus anyone 
in the home who is liable for the support of a 
member of the assistance unit or whose income 
is counted as available to the assistance unit. 

(6)(7) "Client" means member of the assistance unit. 
It may be used interchangeably with 
participant, payee, recipient and applicant. 

(7)(8) "Collateral" means a person or organization that 
can substantiate or verify information necessary 
to establish eligibility. 

(8)(9) "Determination" means the process of verifying 
eligibility factors for persons applying for 
AFDC. Work First. 

(10) "Disaster" means periods of natural disaster or 
other emergencies as declared by state or 
federal authorities. 

(9)(11) "Disregard of Earned Income" means the 
procedure for exempting certain portions of 
earned income as a resource when determining 
the amount of payment. 

(10)(12) "Effective Date" means the date for which the 
benefit is authorized. authorized or activated. 

(13) "Electronic Funds Transfer" or "EFT" means 
the method by which Work First payment is 
issued. It may be used interchangeably with 
direct deposit or Electronic Benefit Transfer 
(EBT) Card. 

(11)(14) "Eligibility, Initial" means the state of 
eligibility at time of application. 

(12)(15) "Essential Person" means a person who gives 
an essential service to a client, and, if in need, 
is eligible to be included in the assistance unit. 
"ePass" means the North Carolina Electronic 
Pre-Assessment Screening Service portal 
through which applications for benefits may be 
made. 

(13)(16) "Excluded Income" means money received by 
a member of the budget unit which is not 
counted in determining eligibility for 
assistance. 

(14)(17) "Father, Alleged" means the man who is said 
without proof to be the father of a child. This 
includes a father who has admitted paternity 
when paternity has not been established in a 
court of law. 

(15)(18) "Father, Legal" means: 
(a) The man who is married to the mother 

of child at the time of birth of the child, 
regardless of whether they are living 
together. The legal father is not 
necessarily the natural father, but is 
legally responsible for support; or 

(b) A man who has been determined by 
the court to be the father of the child 
through a paternity suit or by act of 
legitimation; or 

(c) A man who has legally adopted the 
child. 

(16)(19) "Father, Natural" means the biological father of 
the child. He may be the alleged or legal father. 

(17)(20) "Full-Time Student" means a student so 
designated by the school in which he the student 
is enrolled. 

(21) "Kinship" means relationship to a child by 
blood, marriage, or adoption. 

(18)(22) "Minor Mother" means a mother who is under 
the age of 18 who may be payee for an 
assistance unit or a recipient included in another 
assistance unit. 18. 

(19) "Needy Spouse" means the husband or wife of 
a specified relative (other than a parent) who is 
eligible to be included in the assistance unit if 
he applies for assistance and meets the 
requirements of an essential person. 

(20)(23) "Payee" means the person in whose name the 
AFDC payment is made. 

(21)(24) "Payment Month" means the month for which 
the payment is made. 

(22)(25) "Prospective Budgeting" means the best 
estimate of income in the payment month. 

(23)(26) "Reapplication" means a subsequent 
application when a case has been terminated or 
suspended. terminated. 

(24) "Recipient" means an eligible person whose 
needs are included in the assistance payment. 

(25)(27) "Remainder Interest" means property which 
will be inherited in full at a life estate interest 
holder's death. 
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(26)(28) "Revocable Trust" means funds held in trust 
which are available for the client's use. 

(27)(29) "Verification" means the confirmation of facts 
and information used in determining eligibility. 

(30) "Work First Benefits" or "WFB" means the 
assistance payments made to adults who are 
required to work or participate in work-related 
activities. 

 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233. 
 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION PROCESS 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0302 INITIAL INTERVIEW 
The applicant shall be allowed to have any person(s) of his their 
choice participate in the interview. The applicant shall be 
informed of the following: 

(1) He The applicant must provide: 
(a) the names of collaterals, such as 

landlords, employers, and others with 
knowledge of his the applicant's 
situation; 

(b) information about his the applicant's 
resources; 

(c) verification of his the applicant's 
earned income and any operational 
expenses; 

(d) his Social Security number unless he 
has lost his card; 

(e)(d) medical forms when appropriate; 
(f) work registration card from ESC; 
(g) statement from a dealer when verified 

equity of a motor vehicle is disputed; 
(h)(e) evidence of good cause claim for 

non-cooperation with the child 
support enforcement agency; 

(i) verification of the amount of a lump 
sum payment and other required 
information regarding the lump sum; 

(j) verification of stepparent's income and 
verification of income of a minor 
parent's parent or legal guardian; and 

(k)(f) signed statement from a doctor or 
medical facility substantiating a 
pregnancy and the expected due date. 
date; and 

(g) a signed consent or declination to 
complete drug testing requirements. 

(2) It is the county's responsibility to use collateral 
sources to substantiate or verify information 
necessary to establish eligibility. Collateral 
sources of information include knowledgeable 
individuals, business organizations, public 
records, and other documentary evidence. If the 
applicant does not wish necessary collateral 
contacts to be made, he the applicant may 
withdraw the application. If he the applicant 
denies permission to contact necessary 

collaterals, the application shall be rejected due 
to failure to cooperate in establishing eligibility. 

(3) A worker will may visit his the applicant's home 
at the county's option. The county's decision to 
make a home visit will be based on error-prone 
characteristics defined by the state using quality 
control and other management data. 

(4) The applicant has the right to: 
(a) receive assistance if found eligible; 
(b)(a) be protected against discrimination on 

the grounds of race, creed, or national 
origin by Title VI of the Civil Rights 
Act of 1964. He may appeal such 
discrimination; race, color, national 
origin, age, disability, or sex; 

(c)(b) spend his assistance payment 
payments as he wishes, desired; 
however, but it use of assistance 
payments must be made in his the best 
interest and that of his family. of the 
applicant and the applicant's family. A 
substitute payee may be appointed for 
those individuals who cannot manage 
the payments; 

(d)(c) receive his monthly check in advance 
assistance payments until the payment 
assistance payments are is terminated 
by appropriate action; pursuant to 
lawful authority; 

(e)(d) have any information given to the 
agency kept in confidence; 

(f)(e) appeal, if his assistance will be denied, 
changed or terminated, his payment is 
incorrect based on the agency's 
interpretation of state regulations, or 
his request for a change in the amount 
of assistance was delayed beyond 30 
days or rejected; appeal denials, 
changes, or terminations of assistance 
payments; appeal assistance payments 
which the applicant believes were 
incorrectly calculated; or, if the 
applicant requests a change in the 
amount of assistance payments, appeal 
the rejection of the requested change 
or the agency's failure to act upon the 
requested change within 30 calendar 
days of the requested change; 

(g)(f) reapply at any time, if found 
ineligible; and 

(h)(g) withdraw from the assistance program 
at any time. time; and 

(h) refuse to comply with drug testing 
requirements. 

(5) The applicant's responsibilities. He The 
applicant must: 
(a) provide the county department, state 

and federal officials, the necessary 
sources from which the county 
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department can locate and obtain 
information needed to determine 
eligibility; 

(b) report to the county department of 
social services any change in situation 
that may affect eligibility for a check 
payment within 10 calendar days after 
he the applicant learns of the change. 
The meaning of fraud shall be 
explained. The applicant shall be 
informed that he they may be 
suspected of fraud if he they fails fail 
to report a change in situation and that 
in such situations, he they may have to 
repay assistance received in error and 
that he they may also be tried by the 
courts for fraud; and 

(c) inform the county department of social 
services of any person or organization 
against whom he has a right to 
recovery. When he accepts medical 
assistance (included with any AFDC), 
the applicant assigns his rights to third 
party insurance benefits to the state. 
He shall be informed that it is a 
misdemeanor to fail to disclose the 
identity of any person or organization 
against whom he has a right to 
recovery; and 

(d)(c) immediately report to the county 
department the receipt of a check 
payment which he the applicant knows 
to be erroneous, such as two checks 
payments for the same month, or a 
check payment in the wrong incorrect 
amount. If he the applicant does not 
report such erroneous payments, he 
the applicant may be required to repay 
any overpayment. 

 
Authority G.S. 108A-29.1; 108A-43; 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 206.10. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0303 ELIGIBILITY 
DETERMINATION PROCESS (READOPTION 
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0304 EFFECTIVE DATE 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 

SECTION .0400 - ELIGIBILITY FACTORS 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0403 UNITED STATES CITIZENSHIP 
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0404 KINSHIP AND LIVING WITH A 
SPECIFIED RELATIVE 
(a)  Eligibility requirements pertaining to For eligibility 
determinations based on kinship and living with a specified 
relative shall be found in 45 CFR 233.90 and this provision is 

hereby adopted by reference under G.S. 150B-14(c). relative, 
children under the age of 21 must have one of the following 
relationships within the household: 

(1) A parent, including a biological mother or 
father, a legal father, or adoptive parent(s) after 
issuance of a final adoptive order; 

(2) An alleged father or other relative of the alleged 
father; 

(3) A blood or adoptive relative is limited to: 
brother, sister, grandparent, great-grandparent, 
great-great-grandparent, uncle, aunt, great 
uncle or aunt, great-great uncle or aunt, 
nephew, niece, first cousin. Spouses or former 
spouses of these individuals must have legal 
custody or legal guardianship of the child to 
meet the kinship requirement if the marriage 
has been terminated by death or divorce; or 

(4) A step-relative limited to a stepparent or 
stepsibling. Spouses or former spouses of these 
individuals must have legal custody or legal 
guardianship to meet the kinship requirement if 
the marriage has been terminated by death or 
divorce. 

(b)  Verification of kinship shall be made only at application 
unless previous documentation appears to be incorrect. 

(1) Kinship of a child to a specified relative except 
for an alleged father shall be verified by 
examining: 
(A) birth certificates; or 
(B) hospital records established at birth; or 
(C) marriage record; or 
(D) Social Security Administration 

records; or 
(E) two of the following: 

(i) school records; 
(ii) Bible records; 
(iii) hospital or physician's 

records; 
(iv) court records including 

adoption records; 
(v) immigration records; 
(vi) naturalization records; 
(vii) church documents; 
(viii) passport; 
(ix) military records; 
(x) U.S. census records; 
(xi) signed statement from an 

individual having specific 
knowledge about the kinship 
of the child to the specified 
relative. The statement shall 
include: 
(I) name of child; 
(II) date of birth; 
(III) place of birth; 
(IV) individual's 

relationship; and 
(V) basis of individual's 

knowledge. 
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(2) Kinship of a child to his the alleged father or 
other alleged paternal relative shall be verified 
by verifying the child's relationship to the 
alleged father and if necessary the alleged 
father's relationship to the alleged paternal 
relative. Relation to the alleged father shall be 
verified by examining: 
(A) court support records; or 
(B) county department of social services 

support records; or 
(C) statement signed and dated by the 

father that acknowledges his paternity; 
or 

(D) two of the following: 
(i) school records; 
(ii) Bible records; 
(iii) hospital or physician records; 
(iv) court records; 
(v) immigration records; 
(vi) naturalization records; 
(vii) church documents; 
(viii) passport; 
(ix) military records; 
(x) U.S. census records; 
(xi) signed statement from an 

individual having specific 
knowledge about the kinship 
of the child to the specified 
relative. the alleged father. 
The statement shall include: 
(I) name of child; 
(II) date of birth; 
(III) place of birth; 
(IV) individual's 

relationship; and 
(V) basis of individual's 

knowledge. 
(c)  Verification that a child is living within the home of a 
specified relative shall be made during each determination of 
eligibility by: 

(1) a home visit when there is evidence of the child 
living in the home; or 

(2) use of school records; or 
(3) use of day care center records; or 
(4) statement of a social worker employed by the 

county department of social services when, 
following a home visit, he the social worker is 
able to substantiate that the child is living in the 
home; or 

(5) statement from a non-relative having personal 
knowledge of the child's living with the 
specified relative; or 

(6) two of the following: 
(A) medical records, including health 

department records; 
(B) Social Security or other benefit 

records; 
(C) rental records; 
(D) church records. 

Authority G.S. 108A-25; 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233.10. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0405 RESIDENCE 
(a)  Eligibility requirements pertaining to residence shall be found 
in 45 CFR 233.40 and this provision is hereby adopted by 
reference under G.S. 150B-14(c). Families must be residents of 
North Carolina to be eligible to receive assistance. 
(b)  County residence eligibility requirement. 

(1) Adult. An adult has residence in the county in 
which he resides. they reside. 

(2) Child. A child has the residence of the person 
with whom he resides. they reside. 

(c)  Verification. Documentary evidence shall be required to 
verify the applicant's physical address at the time of initial 
application and at any change in the recipient or applicant's 
residence. The worker shall accept the client's statement unless 
there is some reason to doubt it. If there is doubt, documentary 
evidence shall be required. If any AFDC recipient's visit to 
another county within the state or to another state exceeds three 
months, the worker in the responsible county shall verify the 
following: 

(1) the recipient's intent to return; 
(2) reason for the continuing absence; and 
(3) the continuing maintenance of a home in the 

first county. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-35; 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233.40. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0407 RESERVE 
(a)  An AFDC assistance unit shall be allowed to reserve resources 
at a maximum of one thousand dollars ($1,000). If the reserve 
level exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), the unit is ineligible. 
A Work First assistance unit shall be allowed to reserve resources 
at a maximum of three thousand dollars ($3,000). The assistance 
unit is ineligible if the reserve level exceeds this maximum. 
(b)  Only resources that are currently available to the assistance 
unit shall be counted. For applications, only those resources that 
are available during any month prior to disposition are counted to 
determine eligibility for those months. 
(c)(b)  Individuals whose reserve is counted. Resources owned by 
budget unit members shall be counted as follows: 

(1) Parent. Count unless she receives SSI. Parent, 
adoptive parent, or stepparent unless the 
individual receives SSI. 

(2) Minor Mother. Count unless she receives SSI. 
(3) Stepparent. If the stepparent is included in the 

payment, his resources shall be counted. If he is 
not included, but the parent has access to joint 
resources, half of the resources shall be 
counted. 

(4) Specified Relative. If the specified relative is 
included in the payment, his resources shall be 
counted. Otherwise his resources shall not be 
counted. 

(5)(2) Child. If the child is included in the payment, 
his the child's resources shall be counted. 

(6) Essential Person. If an essential person is 
included in the payment, his resources shall be 
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counted. Otherwise, his resources shall not be 
counted. 

(7)(3) Jointly owned resources. 
(A) If a budget unit member owns 

resources jointly with another public 
assistance recipient, his the budget 
unit member's share shall be counted 
as an available resource. The resource 
shall be divided equally among the 
owners unless the owners have a 
signed agreement specifying division. 

(B) If a budget unit member owns 
resources jointly with a non-assistance 
recipient, and he the budget unit 
member can dispose of the resource 
without the consent of the other 
owner, his the budget unit member's 
share shall be counted as an available 
resource. The resource shall be 
divided equally among the owners 
unless they have a signed agreement 
specifying division. 

(C) If a budget unit member owns 
resources jointly with a non-assistance 
recipient, and he the budget unit 
member cannot dispose of the 
resource without the consent of the 
other owners, it shall be determined 
whether the non-assistance recipient 
consents to the disposal of the 
resource. 
(i) If he the non-assistance 

recipient consents, the budget 
unit member's share of the 
resource shall be counted. 
Resources shall be divided 
equally among the owners 
unless they have a signed 
agreement specifying 
division. 

(ii) If he the non-assistance 
recipient refuses, the budget 
unit member's share shall not 
be counted. 

(d)  Reserve; items counted: 
(1) cash on hand, including lump sum payments 

received from the sale of an asset or an income 
tax refund; hand; 

(2) the current balance of savings accounts; 
(3) that portion of a checking account other than the 

monthly income deposited to meet the family's 
needs; 

(4) cash value of life insurance policies; 
(5) equity on nonessential personal property 

limited to: 
(A) equity in excess of one thousand five 

hundred dollars ($1,500) for one 
motor vehicle; 

(B) a mobile home not used as a home site; 

(C) boats, boat trailers, and boat motors; 
(D) campers; 
(E) farm or business equipment; 

(6)(4) stocks, bonds, mutual fund shares; shares. 
(7) revocable trust funds; 
(8) equity in real property including income 

producing property not used as a home; 
(9) value of revocable prepaid burial contracts; 
(10) net proceeds from a business, including a farm, 

which has been discontinued; 
(11) life estate interest, if salable; and 
(12) remainder interest, if salable. 

(e)  Reserve; items excluded: 
(1) personal effects and household goods; 
(2) a mobile home used as a homesite; home; 
(3) straight term life insurance; 
(4) burial insurance; 
(5) that portion of a checking account that is the 

monthly income deposited to meet the family's 
needs; 

(6) non-salable life estate or remainder interest; 
(7) heir property, ie, property from an estate which 

has not been settled; 
(8) equity value of one thousand five hundred 

dollars ($1,500) or less for one car, truck, or 
other motor vehicle. vehicles; 

(9) real property including income-producing 
property; 

(10) income received from a reverse mortgage; 
(11) retirement funds; 
(12) trust funds; 
(13) remaining balances of lump-sum payments; and 
(14) a Uniform Transfer to Minors Account if the 

owner of the account is included in the budget 
unit. 

(f)  Verification. Value and ownership of real property and motor 
vehicles shall be verified. The client's statement of value of 
another reserve property available to members of the budget unit 
shall be accepted without further verification unless either this 
statement of value is incomplete, inconsistent, or unclear, or the 
values stated by the client would cause the budget unit's reserve 
to exceed the reserve maximum. The applicant or recipient's 
statement of the value of reserve property shall be accepted 
without further verification unless the statement of value is 
incomplete, inconsistent, unclear, or the values stated by the 
applicant or recipient would cause the budget unit's reserve to 
exceed the reserve maximum. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-41; 108A-46; 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233.20. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0408 INCOME 
(a)  Consideration of available earned and unearned income to 
determine eligibility for and amount of assistance. 

(1) Parent's net income shall be counted unless the 
parent: Parents' incomes, including the incomes 
of adoptive parents and stepparents, shall be 
counted unless the parent, adoptive parent, or 
stepparent receives SSI, provided that cash 
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contributions from the parent to the assistance 
unit shall be counted. 
(A) receives SSI. Provided that cash 

contributions from the parent to the 
assistance unit shall be counted. 

(B) is excluded from the assistance unit 
because he does not meet eligibility 
requirements. Gross income of the 
parent minus his needs shall be 
counted if he is excluded because he 
does not meet eligibility requirements. 
If the parent's needs have already been 
considered in calculating deemed 
income from a stepparent, the parent's 
gross income shall be counted. 

(2) Minor mother's net income shall be counted 
unless she: 
(A) is a student and qualifies for earned 

and unearned income exclusions. See 
unearned or earned income exclusion 
in (c) and (f) of this Rule. 

(B) receives SSI. Provided that cash 
contributions from the minor mother 
to the assistance unit shall be counted. 

(C) is excluded from the assistance unit 
because she does not meet eligibility 
requirements. Gross income of the 
minor mother minus her needs shall be 
counted if she is excluded because she 
does not meet eligibility requirements. 
If the minor mother's needs have 
already been considered in calculating 
deemed income from a stepparent, the 
minor mother's gross income shall be 
counted. 

(3) Stepparent. If the stepparent is included in the 
assistance unit, his net income shall be counted. 
If the stepparent is not in an assistance unit, net 
income shall be counted unless he is an SSI 
recipient. If he is an SSI recipient only cash 
contributions from him to the assistance unit 
shall be counted. 

(4) Specified relative other than parent. If the 
specified relative is included in the assistance 
unit, net income shall be counted. If he is not 
included in the assistance unit, only cash 
contributions from him to the assistance unit 
shall be counted. 

(5)(2) Child. Countable net unearned income of a 
child who is included in the assistance unit shall 
be counted. 

(6) Essential person. Net income of an essential 
person who is included in the assistance unit 
shall be counted. 

(b)  The following items of earned income shall be included in 
determining eligibility: 

(1) income from wages, salaries, and commissions; 
(2) farm income; 

(3) small business income including 
self-employment; 

(4) rental income; and 
(5) income from roomers and boarders; boarders. 
(6) earned income tax credit; and 
(7) supplemental payments in excess of state's 

maximum rates for Foster Care and State Foster 
Home Funds paid by the county to AFDC 
recipients who serve as foster parents. 

(c)  Earned income exclusions are found in 45 CFR 233.20 and 
this provision is hereby adopted by reference under G.S. 
150B-14(c). In addition to the earned income exclusions 
contained in 45 CFR 233.20, earned income from temporary 
census employment shall be excluded in determining eligibility. 
In addition, the following items of earned income shall be 
excluded in determining eligibility: 

(1) Foster Care and State Foster Home Payments 
equal to or below the state maximum rates to 
AFDC recipients who serve as foster parents; 

(2) Earned income from the 185 percent limitation 
for up to six months in a calendar year of a child 
applicant/recipient who is a full-time student; 

(3) Earned income from census employment under 
Section 1115 Demonstration Project Approved 
by the DHHS contingent on receipt of federal 
regulations in sufficient time for 
implementation. 

(d)  Good Cause Provisions for Failure to Timely Report Income 
or Return Monthly Work First Family Assistance Reports. Report 
Timely. 

(1) Circumstances that constitute "good cause" for 
failing to report income in a timely manner or 
return a monthly Work First Family Assistance 
Report are limited to: 
(A) the death of a household member; a 

significant family crisis or change 
including, but not limited to, the death 
of a spouse, parent or child; 

(B) the hospitalization or illness of the 
applicant or recipient caretaker, or a 
dependent child for whom she the 
individual provides care; care, 
including participation in substance 
use treatment or attendance at a 
medical appointment; 

(C) failure of the applicant or recipient to 
report a change in monthly income of 
five dollars ($5.00) or less civil leave, 
including jury duty or a required court 
appearance; 

(D) Lack of child care for parent and/or 
minor parent in school, training, or 
other work activity; or 

(D)(E) any other reason determined by the 
Director of the county department of 
social services, or his or her designee, 
hearing officer based on evidence 
provided by the recipient. recipient, 
applicant, or caretaker. 
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(2) Circumstances that constitute "good cause" for 
failing to return a monthly form in a timely 
manner are limited to: 
(A) the death of a household member; 
(B) the hospitalization of the applicant or 

recipient or a dependent child for 
whom she provides care; 

(C) extenuating circumstances beyond the 
control of the recipient. Extenuating 
circumstances are defined as a natural 
disaster, a fire, computer breakdown, a 
postal strike, or postal delay provided 
the return envelope is postmarked the 
day prior to the deadline; 

(D) any other reason determined by the 
county director or his designee based 
on evidence provided by the recipient. 

(e)  The following items of unearned income shall be included in 
determining eligibility for or the amount of assistance: 

(1) OASDHI benefits; 
(2) Veterans Administration benefits; 
(3) Railroad Retirement benefits; 
(4) pensions or retirement benefits; 
(5) workmen's compensation; 
(6) unemployment compensation; 
(7) support payments and contributions; 
(8) work release payments; 
(9) dividends and income from trust funds; funds, 

stocks, bonds, and other investments; 
(10) private disability or unemployment benefits, 

including benefits from insurance plans; 
(11) any portion of loans, grants, or scholarships 

designated or used for maintenance needs 
which is a duplication of items included in the 
assistance standard; 

(12)(11) trade readjustment benefits; 
(13)(12) military allotments; 
(14)(13) brown lung benefits; 
(15)(14) black lung benefits; 
(16)(15) lump sum payments; 
(17) deemed income from a stepparent not receiving 

assistance; 
(18) deemed income to an alien from a sponsor and 

his spouse if living together; 
(19)(16) cash contributions. contributions; and 
(20)(17) any other income unless excluded by federal 

law of Paragraph (f) of this Rule; Rule. 
(f)  Unearned income exclusions are found in 45 CFR 233.20 and 
this provision is hereby adopted by reference under G.S. 
150B-14(c). In addition, In addition to the unearned income 
exclusions contained in 45 CFR 233.20, the following items of 
unearned income shall be excluded in determining eligibility for 
assistance. assistance: 

(1) food given to or grown by a member of the 
household; 

(2) the value of the coupon allotment received 
under the Food Stamp Food and Nutrition 
Services Program; 

(3) child support being routed to IV-D Accounting; 

(4) assistance from other agencies and 
organizations. This includes organizations, 
including financial assistance and in-kind 
goods or services received from a 
governmental, civic, or charitable organization 
so long as such aid is for rehabilitation 
purposes, special training or educational 
opportunities and provided no duplication 
exists; 

(5) HUD Section 8 payments; 
(6) loans (if there is any agreed upon repayment 

plan); 
(7) assistance received through the Low Income 

Home Energy Assistance Program including 
the Crisis Intervention Program; 

(8) home energy assistance as defined in 45 C.F.R. 
233.53 and this provision is adopted by 
reference under G.S. 150B-14(c); 45 CFR 
233.53; 

(9) income paid to a child recipient through Job 
Training Partnership Act of 1982 the 
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act 
(WIOA), P.L. 113-128, as need-based 
payments, payments for supportive services, 
compensation in lieu of wages and payments to 
Job Corps participants; 

(10) gifts, including but not limited to birthday, 
Christmas and graduation, up to thirty dollars 
($30.00) per calendar quarter per assistance unit 
member. graduation. If the payee states in 
writing the gift was intended for the entire 
assistance unit, the gift shall be divided among 
assistance unit members. The gift shall be 
divided in the manner that is most advantageous 
to the assistance unit. 

(g)  Verification. The client applicant or recipient shall be 
responsible for providing verification of earned income including 
operational expenses for farm or self-employment income. For 
gifts, the recipient shall be responsible for obtaining a written 
statement from the provider of the gift indicating the amount, date 
given and purpose. The county department of social services shall 
be responsible for all other income verifications. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; 108A-33; 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233; 42 
U.S.C. 1315; 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0410 PROSPECTIVE BUDGETING 
AND QUARTERLY REPORTING 
Income shall be budgeted and reported as described below: 

(1) Income shall be budgeted prospectively for 
determining eligibility for and the amount of 
AFDC Work First payments. To arrive at a 
monthly amount to consider, the following 
processes shall be followed: 
(a) For income that is paid on less than a 

monthly basis, the pay received from 
each period during a month shall be 
averaged and converted to a monthly 
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amount as follows. Averaged pay shall 
be multiplied determined by: 
(i) multiplying pay received by 

2 if pay is received twice per 
month month; 

(ii) multiplying pay received by 
2.15 if pay is received every 
two weeks weeks; 

(iii) multiplying pay received by 
4.3 if pay is received weekly 
weekly; or 

(iv) dividing pay received by 3 if 
pay is received quarterly. 

(b) For child support, regular self-
employment, or income that is 
received once per month, the amount 
received from two previous successive 
months shall be averaged to arrive at 
one monthly amount. 

(c) Annualized self-employment income 
shall be averaged over the lesser of the 
following period: the number of 
months the business has been in 
operation or 12 months. 

(2) The monthly income calculated in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule shall be used to determine the 
AFDC Work First payment for three 
consecutive calendar months. payment. 

(3) Quarterly reporting shall be required for error-
prone classes of recipients as defined by the 
state based on quality control and other 
management data. The quarterly reporting 
process shall follow the processing 
requirements found in 45 CFR 233.37 which is 
hereby incorporated by reference including all 
subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 
of this Code of Federal Regulations may be 
obtained from the Division of Social Services, 
325 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 
[telephone number (919) 733-3055] at a cost of 
ten cents ($.10) per page at the time of adoption 
of this Rule. 

(4) AFDC Work First families recipients shall be 
required to report all changes in income within 
10 calendar days after they become aware a 
change has occurred. 

 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233.28; 45 C.F.R. 233.36. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0412 JOBS PROGRAM (JOBS) 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 250.30. 
 
10A NCAC 74W 71W .0413 TWO-PARENT 
FAMILIES 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; S.L. 1997-443; P.L. 104-193. 
 

SECTION .0500 - REDETERMINATION OF 
ELIGIBILITY 

 
10A NCAC 71W .0502 INTERVIEW (READOPTION 
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0503 HOME VISITS (READOPTION 
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 

SECTION .0600 – PAYMENT PROCEDURES 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0601 CHECK ISSUANCE 
(a)  The department of social services shall write checks according 
to authorizations submitted by county directors of social services. 
issue Work First payments through Electronic Funds Transfer 
(EFT): 

(1) By direct deposit to a recipient's checking or 
savings account at the recipient's financial 
institution; or 

(2) By Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card. 
(b)  Except for replacement checks, all checks shall be mailed to 
the address given by the recipient or substitute payee. The 
applicant, recipient or payee shall be informed of the two payment 
options in this Rule at application and reapplication and provided 
informational material. 

(1) A household that elects to receive Work First 
payments through an EBT card shall receive an 
initial EBT card at no cost. 

(2) A Work First household that requests a 
replacement EBT card shall be responsible for 
the cost of the replacement card unless the 
household can establish that their original EBT 
card: 
(A) was lost in the mail or damaged by the 

card vendor prior to receipt by the 
Work First household; 

(B) is being replaced due to a name change 
on card; 

(C) was lost due to a natural disaster such 
as a fire, flood, tornado or hurricane; 
or 

(D) was damaged by a retailer or vendor. 
(c)  Replacement checks are mailed to county departments of 
social services. Recipients and payees of Work First cash 
assistance are prohibited from accessing and or using Work First 
cash assistance through EBT cards in the following 
establishments: liquor stores; casinos or gaming establishments; 
or any establishment which provides adult-oriented entertainment 
in which performers disrobe or perform in an unclothed state. 

(1) These restrictions apply to all Work First 
households including households where the 
adult caretaker is not included in the case but 
serves as the case payee. 

(2) Applicants and recipients shall be advised of 
the restrictions at initial application, 
reapplication and redetermination of eligibility. 

(3) Recipients or payees who use or access Work 
First cash assistance in an EBT transaction in 
any liquor store; any casino or gaming 
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establishment; or any retail establishment 
which provides adult-oriented entertainment in 
which performers disrobe or perform in an 
unclothed state may be subject to penalties as 
defined by the Division of Social Services. 

(d)  Checks shall be delivered to the post office on the last work 
day of each month. 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0602 RECEIPT AND USE OF CHECKS 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 234.60. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0603 LOST, STOLEN AND FORGED 
CHECKS 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233.20. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0604 CORRECTION OF 
OVERPAYMENTS 
(a)  If the recipient is not entitled to all or part of a check payment 
which has been issued and fraud is not suspected, the county shall 
take all reasonable steps to recover promptly any overpayment of 
thirty-five dollars ($35.00) or more. overpayment. 
(b)  A county may recoup an AFDC a Work First overpayment 
from a recipient's AFDC check, Work First payment, on account 
of an overpayment made to the recipient's spouse, parent, child, 
sibling, or other person, only if the recipient, at the time the 
overpayment occurred, was: 

(1) 18 years of age or older, 
(2) living with the person, and 
(3) part of the assistance unit. 

(c)  Overpayments shall be collected as follows: 
(1) voluntary repayment by grant reduction or 

recipient refund; 
(2) involuntary repayment by grant reduction; 
(3) if an overpayment occurs due to a county error 

in complying with program regulations, the 
overpayment shall be recouped by state office 
adjustment; 

(4) if an overpayment occurs due to a state or 
county processing error, the overpayment shall 
be recouped from the recipient providing the 
recipient was provided proper notification of 
the amount of AFDC Work First they he was 
were eligible to receive; 

(5) if an overpayment occurs due to a state office 
error in interpreting regulations, the 
overpayment shall be charged to the state. 

 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233.20. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0605 CORRECTION OF 
UNDERPAYMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 

10A NCAC 71B 71W .0606 CLIENT FRAUD AND 
INTENTIONAL PROGRAM VIOLATIONS 
(a)  County Responsibilities; Fraud Prevention. 

(1) The county department of social services shall 
develop of an operational program for fraud 
prevention, detection and investigation. Fraud 
program organizational requirements must be 
established based on the number of (AFDC or 
Work First) recipients, the effectiveness of the 
fraud prevention program, the frequency of 
suspected fraud cases, and the resources 
available to the agency. 

(2) The county department must designate staff to 
be responsible for fraud activities. 

(3) The county shall strive to obtain all Social 
Security numbers and correctly complete them 
on computer input forms. 

(4)(3) The recipient shall be notified no less 
frequently than at each eligibility review of his 
obligation to report within ten days, all changes 
in income, resources, or other changes which 
may effect the amount of payment. Failure to 
do so within that time may constitute a willful 
withholding of such information, and permit the 
county department to recover the overpayment. 

(b)  County Department Responsibilities; Detection and 
Investigation: 

(1) The county department shall investigate any 
information which indicates that a recipient 
may be receiving AFDC or Work First to which 
the recipient is not entitled. 

(2) In the investigation the staff designated for 
fraud shall: 
(A) verify that all responsibilities have 

been fulfilled as set forth in the rules 
governing the AFDC or Work First 
program; 

(B) determine whether further 
investigation should be undertaken to 
support the belief that fraud is 
suspected; 

(C) evaluate the evidence to substantiate 
fraud and the intent to defraud; 

(D) determine the amount of the erroneous 
payment. 

(3) When there is reason to suspect fraud, the 
county director must ensure that the agency has 
explained to the client his the recipient 
responsibilities for reporting any change 
changes in his their circumstances to the 
agency. The director shall determine whether 
the agency should investigate further and shall 
present the case and fraud summary to the 
county board of social services for action unless 
the board has delegated this responsibility to 
him. the Director. 

(4) The fraud summary shall include: 
(A) identifying information; 
(B) a description of the fraudulent act; 
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(C) evidence to substantiate fraud and the 
intent to defraud; 

(D) evidence to substantiate the amount of 
ineligible assistance received; 

(E) information concerning the client's 
recipient's competency, educational 
background, ability to know right from 
wrong, any statement volunteered by 
the client recipient in response to the 
accusation and any other information 
which may help explain the client's 
recipient's current situation. 

(c)  County Board's Responsibilities. 
(1) The county board of social services, or its 

designee, shall determine whether there is a 
basis for the belief that misrepresentation may 
have been committed by a person. 

(2) The county board, or its designee, shall 
determine if the person: 
(A) willfully and knowingly misstated, 

provided incorrect or misleading 
information in response to either oral 
or written questions; or 

(B) willfully and knowingly failed to 
report changes which might have 
affected the amount of payment; or 

(C) willfully and knowingly failed to 
report the receipt of benefits which he 
the person knew he they were was not 
entitled to receive. 

(3) There must be physical evidence to substantiate 
a determination that fraud was the reason for the 
overpayment. 

(4) If the board, or its designee, determines fraud is 
suspected, it shall instruct the agency to pursue 
one or more, of the following actions: 
(A) administrative recoupment which is 

defined as: 
(i) involuntary reduction of the 

AFDC or Work First grant 
may be collected from all 
income and assets of the 
assistance unit. The 
assistance unit shall retain an 
amount not less than 90 
percent of the assistance 
payment received by a family 
of similar composition with 
no other income; or 

(ii) a voluntary grant reduction. 
There is no limitation on the 
amount of the reduction; 

(iii) voluntary recipient refund. 
There is no limitation on the 
amount of the refund; 

(iv) NC Debt Setoff Collection. 
NC Debt Set-off (Tax 
Intercept) is the process by 
which the North Carolina 

Department of Health and 
Human Services (DHHS) 
intercepts income tax refunds 
through the North Carolina 
Department of Revenue 
(DOR) to repay Intentional 
Program Violation (IPV) and 
Inadvertent Household Error 
(IHE) Claims of 
current/former Work First 
recipients. 

(B) administrative disqualification: 
(i) Hearing 

(I) An administrative 
disqualification 
hearing shall be 
initiated by the 
county department 
of social services 
when there is 
sufficient evidence 
to indicate that an 
individual has 
intentionally 
violated a program 
rule in order to 
receive cash 
assistance for which 
the individual is not 
eligible. The 
hearing shall be 
held and any 
administrative 
action initiated 
within 90 days of 
the date the 
individual is 
notified in writing 
that the hearing has 
been scheduled. No 
hearing shall be 
held when the 
amount of the 
overpayment is less 
than one hundred 
dollars ($100.00). 

(II) The county board of 
social services shall 
designate the county 
director or their 
impartial county 
employee to act as 
the hearings officer. 
Duties are to: 
provide written 
notification of the 
hearing date, time, 
and location to the 
client individual at 
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least 30 days in 
advance of the date 
of the hearing. 
Written notification 
of the hearing shall 
include the client's 
individual's right to 
have legal 
representation, a 
witness or 
witnesses, or waive 
the hearing; conduct 
the hearing to 
collect all evidence 
and testimony; 
render a written 
decision to the 
client individual and 
DSS within 15 days 
as to whether an 
intentional program 
violation has 
occurred. Written 
notification that the 
hearing decision 
will be mailed by 
Certified Mail 
Return Receipt 
Requested. The 
notice will inform 
the client individual 
of the right to 
further appeal to the 
state (or higher local 
authority) and the 
procedures for such 
appeal. When an 
intentional program 
violation is found, 
the notification will 
inform the client 
individual of the 
length of the 
sanction and that 
client individual 
remains a part of the 
Work First case and 
subject to all 
program 
requirements. When 
no intentional 
program violation is 
found, the 
notification will 
inform the client 
individual that the 
overpayment will be 
collected pursuant 
to 10A NCAC 71W 

.0604. this 
Subchapter. 

(ii) Sanctions: 
(I) The county 

department of social 
services shall apply 
disqualification 
sanctions as 
follows: 12 months 
of ineligibility for 
the first offense; 24 
months for the 
second offense; and 
permanently 
disqualified for the 
third offense. 

(II) The sanction shall 
be applied by 
reducing the work 
first cash assistance 
payment by the 
disqualified 
person's share of the 
payment for the 
appropriate period 
of sanction. The 
disqualified person 
remains a part of the 
work first case and 
subject to all 
program 
requirements. 

(iii) Repayment: 
The county department of social 
services will follow procedures 
pursuant to Part (c)(4)(A) of this Rule 
in the collection of overpayments. 

(C) civil court action; or 
(D) criminal court action. 

(d)  Board Decision; Agency Follow-up: 
(1) If the board, or its designee, suspects fraud, the 

department's findings and actions shall be 
reported immediately to the assistance 
payments section. Division of Social Services. 
The county director shall keep the county board 
and assistance payments section Division of 
Social Services informed on all cases referred 
for court and repayment action. 

(2) The county department of social services shall 
support the local prosecutor by accomplishing 
necessary interviews in accordance with the 
prosecutor's requirements, recommending 
possible witnesses, providing necessary 
investigative reports, and taking other action 
deemed necessary by legal authorities. 

(3) Regardless of what action is taken by the board 
or the court, the county shall continue to work 
with the client individual and shall promptly 
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notify the client individual of the action taken 
in his their case. 

(4) The county shall maintain records on the 
number of cases referred for investigation, the 
number of suspected fraud referrals, action 
taken to recover the overpayment and amounts 
recovered. 

(e)  In fraud cases, if a county fails to act promptly on indications 
of ineligibility, federal and state financial participation shall not 
be available. 
 
Authority G.S. 108A-25; 108A-39; 143B-153; S.L. 1997-443, s. 
12.17; 45 C.F.R. 233.20; 45 C.F.R. 235.110. 
 
10A NCAC 71W .0607 DETERMINATION OF 
PAYMENT AMOUNT 
 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; c. 738, 1987 Session Laws. 
 

SECTION .0700 - EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE 
COVERAGE 

 
10A NCAC 71W .0704 BENEFIT LEVELS 
(a)  Cash assistance: 

(1) The maximum cash assistance benefit per 
household is three hundred dollars ($300) 
during 30 consecutive days. Assistance cannot 
be received again within a 12 consecutive 
month period. 

(2) When the agency purchases in-kind goods or 
contracts for the purchase of services to 
alleviate or to prevent destitution of the family, 
the value of the in-kind goods or contracted 
services purchased with the cash assistance 
must be established and considered when 
authorizing the benefit level. 
(A) For in-kind goods, the value shall be 

the actual purchase price of the goods. 
(B) For contracted services, the provider 

shall submit to the agency a written 
statement of the value of the service 
purchased with the cash assistance. 

(b)  Services: 
(1) There is no maximum benefit level for services 

but the family must need the services to 
alleviate the identified emergency. 

(2) Services must be authorized within a single 30 
day period no less than 12 months after the 
beginning of the family's last EA authorization 
period and are limited to a maximum duration 
of 364 days. 

(3) Counties shall use their Work First block grant 
funds to provide emergency assistance to 
families. Counties shall define the eligibility 
criteria, including who is eligible and the types 
of emergencies that will be covered. This 
assistance is designed to assist with families' 
sporadic emergency needs, such as a utility cut-
off or an eviction notice. Emergency assistance 

is not designed specifically to help families 
move to self-sufficiency, although, use of this 
assistance may help a family's progress. 

 
Authority G.S. 108A-39.1; 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 233.120. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Social Services Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 
10A NCAC 72 .0102. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-
dss/social-services-commission/rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 
can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of 
General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: 
(919)733-3854; Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  10A NCAC 72 .0102 is being 
amended to clarify a single definition to ensure programmatic 
clarity. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email 
paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 
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CHAPTER 72 - EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE 
 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL 
 
10A NCAC 72 .0102 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions shall apply in this Chapter: 

(1) "Academic Year" means a period of time in 
which a student completes the equivalent of two 
semesters or three quarters of academic work. 

(2) "Approved Institution" means one of the 
branches of the University of North Carolina or 
one of the North Carolina community colleges. 

(3) "Case Management Services" are a set of 
services provided to participating students and 
their families which are designed to support the 
student's postsecondary education experience. 
Such services include: 
(a) processing and accepting applications 

for the program; 
(b) certifying each eligible student and the 

amount of the Eligible Student's 
Scholarship and communicating this 
information to the North Carolina 
State Education Assistance Authority 
to authorize release of funds; 

(c) compiling accurate databases of 
resources in the students' academic 
communities that can help students 
succeed in school; 

(d) providing or arranging for counseling 
regarding academic issues as well as 
other concerns that may affect the 
performance of the student; 

(e) communicating with and advising 
students on academic issues; 

(f) providing contact with students 
throughout their postsecondary 
experience; 

(g) responding to students experiencing 
crisis; 

(h) providing or arranging for emergency 
housing up to two weeks for students 
who have no place to live when school 
is out of session; 

(i) if allowed by the student, being 
available to consult with student's 
families and staff of local Departments 
of Social Services regarding student's 
postsecondary experiences; 

(j) monitoring grades and the individual's 
course of study, and evaluating 
progress toward goal achievement; 

(k) maintaining records for each 
individual student regarding their 
academic progress and assistance 
provided; and 

(l) providing quarterly program reports of 
case management services to the 

contract administrator at the State 
Division of Social Services. 

(4) "Cost of Attendance" Costs of attendance are 
defined by the Higher Education Act of 1965, 
which includes tuition, fees, room, board, 
supplies, transportation, and personal expenses. 
This amount is established by each institution. 
This grant is limited to cost of attendance less 
other grants or scholarships from federal, state, 
or other sources. 

(5) "Education Training Voucher" (ETV) means 
the Federal scholarship program funded by the 
John Chafee Foster Care Independence Act 42 
U.S.C. 677, which benefits individuals who 
were in the custody of the Department of Social 
Services at or after age 17 or who were adopted 
or exited to guardianship on or after their 16th 
birthday. 

(6) "Eligible Student" means a student who: 
(a) has received a high school diploma or 

GED and has not yet reached his or her 
26th birthday; 

(b) is pursuing an undergraduate degree, 
diploma, or certificate at an approved 
institution as a half-time student or a 
full-time student, as defined in 34 CFR 
668.2; 

(c) was in the custody of a North Carolina 
local Department of Social Services 
on his or her 18th birthday, or was 
adopted from the North Carolina 
foster care system on or after his or her 
12th birthday; and or exited foster care 
to a permanent home through the 
Guardianship Assistance Program; 
and 

(d) is making satisfactory academic 
progress toward completion of the 
course of undergraduate study as 
defined in 34 CFR 668.34. 

(7) "Fiscal Year" means each annual period which 
begins on July 1 in any calendar year and ends 
on June 30 the following calendar year. 

(8) "Higher Education Act" means Title IV of the 
Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, 20 
U.S.C. 1070, et seq. 

(9) "Matriculated Status" means the student is 
recognized by the approved institution as a 
student in a defined program of study leading to 
an associate's degree, baccalaureate degree, 
diploma or certificate. 

(10) "Pell Grant" means the needs based scholarship 
program administered by the federal 
government to benefit low income 
baccalaureate and postgraduate students. 

(11) "Program" means the Postsecondary 
Educational Support Scholarship program, also 
known as NC Reach, established by Section 
10.34(a) of Session Law 2007-323. 
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(12) "Residence Manual" means the most current 
edition of A Manual to Assist the Public Higher 
Education Institutions of North Carolina in the 
Matter of Student Residence Classification for 
Tuition Purposes as adopted by the Board of 
Governors of the University of North Carolina 
and available free of charge at 
https://ncresidency.cfnc.org/residencyInfo/pdf/
RDS_Guidebook.pdf. 

(13) "Scholarship" means an award for education 
awarded to an eligible student under the 
program. 

 
Authority G.S. 143B-153; S.L. 2018-5; S.L. 2017-57; 34 CFR 
668.34. 
 
 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Industrial Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 11 NCAC 
23E .0302. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ic.nc.gov/proposedpermE302.html 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  June 10, 2021 
Time:  2:00 p.m. 
Location:  Via Teleconference Only. Call-in Number: 1-888-363-
4735; Access Code: 4465746 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The Industrial Commission 
(hereinafter "Commission") has deemed it necessary to 
permanently adopt the rule cited as 11 NCAC 23E .0302 to ensure 
that the Commission has the ability to waive or modify the 
provisions of any of its rules to bring its rules in conformity with 
an emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North 
Carolina Supreme Court in the interests of justice or to protect 
the public health or safety. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Gina Cammarano, 1240 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1240; phone (919) 807-2524; 
email gina.cammarano@ic.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 23 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

 
SUBCHAPTER 23E – ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF 

THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 
 

SECTION .0300 – RULES OF THE COMMISSION 
 
11 NCAC 23E .0302 EMERGENCY ORDERS AND 
DIRECTIVES OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE NORTH 
CAROLINA SUPREME COURT 
(a)  This Rule applies to all matters within the authority and 
jurisdiction of the Commission and to all Subchapters of the 
Commission's rules. 
(b)  In the interests of justice or to protect the public health or 
safety, the Commission may waive or modify any portion of its 
rules in order to bring them in conformity with an emergency 
Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina 
Supreme Court that is in effect. The Commission shall consider 
the following factors in determining whether to grant the waiver 
or modification: 

(1) the necessity of waiving or modifying the rule; 
and 

(2) the impact of waiving or modifying the rule on 
the regulated parties and on the Commission. 

If the Commission waives or modifies a rule to bring it into 
conformity with any emergency Order or directive of the Chief 
Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, the Commission 
shall post a notice of the waiver or modification of the rule on its 
website unless the waiver or modification is case-specific and not 
generally applicable to the regulated public. For a waiver or 
modification that is case-specific and not generally applicable to 
the regulated public, the Commission shall notify the parties in 
the case of the waiver or modification via an order of the 
Commission. 
(c)  During any period that an emergency Order or directive of the 
Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court authorizes the 
taking of oaths and verifications outside the presence of a notary 
public, the Commission shall accept any pleading, motion, 
petition, supporting affidavit, or other document with an 
affirmation or representation not attested to before a notary public 
so long as the subscriber affirms the truth of the matter to be 
verified by an affirmation or representation in substantially the 
same language as that allowed by the emergency Order or 
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directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme 
Court. 
(d)  Any waiver or modification made pursuant to this Rule shall 
only remain in effect during the duration of any emergency Order 
or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme 
Court upon which that waiver or modification is based. 
 
Authority G.S. 97-80; 130A-425(d); 143-166.4; 143-296; 143-
300. 
 
 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 
to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0510. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-
commission-forms-publications/ 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  April 30, 2021 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC  27610 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Amendment is necessary to 
further clarify the requirements for School Resource Officer 
certification. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Diane Konopka, 1700 Tryon 
Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27615; email dkonopka@ncdoj.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 
 
SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 
 

SECTION .0500 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF 
TRAINING FOR DEPUTY SHERIFFS 

 
12 NCAC 10B .0510 CERTIFICATION AND 
TRAINING FOR SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICERS 
(a)  A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law 
enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within 
a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6), 
who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 
12 weeks per calendar year to assist with all of the following: 

(1) School safety; 
(2) School security; 
(3) Emergency preparedness; 
(4) Emergency response; and 
(5) Any additional responsibilities related to school 

safety or security assigned by the officer's 
employer while the officer is acting as a School 
Resource Officer. 

Any written memorandum of understanding between the local 
school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency 
governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with 
this Paragraph. 
(b)  Deputy Sheriffs assigned by their agency to perform duties as 
a School Resource Officer shall: 

(1) have been issued general certification by the 
North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 
Training Standards Commission as a Deputy 
Sheriff; and 

(2) have until December 31, 2020 to complete the 
Basic basic School Resource Officer Training 
Course if they are acting in the capacity of a 
School Resource Officer between January 1, 
2019 and December 31, 2019. Any officer 
assigned as a School Resource Officer effective 
January 1, 2020 or later shall complete the 
Basic School Resource Officer Training course 
pursuant to Paragraph (f) of this Rule, within 
one year after being assigned as a School 
Resource Officer. Deputy Sheriffs who 
previously completed the training pursuant to 
Paragraph (f) of this Rule at any time and who 
have been continually assigned as an SRO 
pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 
credited with completion of the Basic basic 
School Resource Officer Training course. 
Deputy Sheriffs who completed the training 
pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule between 
October 1, 2018, and December 31, 2020, shall 
be credited with completion of the Basic School 
Resource Officer Training course even if they 
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were not assigned as an SRO pursuant to 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule as long as they 
comply with the annual SRO refresher training 
pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(c)  A Deputy Sheriff assigned to one or more public schools 
within a local school administrative unit, who works in a school 
at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per calendar 
year and who has not completed the initial training as established 
by Paragraph (f)(g) of this Rule shall not work in a school as a 
School Resource Officer until the officer has completed the initial 
training as established by Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 
(d)  The agency head shall submit to the Sheriffs' Standards 
Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer 
Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a School 
Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located on the 
agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov and must be completed in its 
entirety. The Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer 
Assignment Form consists of the following: 

(1) applicant's name; 
(2) date of birth; 
(3) social security number; 
(4) name of agency and address; 
(5) date awarded general certification; 
(6) completion date of School Resource Officer 

training; and 
(7) date assigned as a School Resource Officer. 

(e)  The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall 
be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes 
during each calendar year one credit of School Resource Officer 
refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice Academy. 
For School Resource Officers who complete the basic SRO 
training requirement in 2020 or earlier, this requirement becomes 
effective January 1, 2021. Otherwise, this requirement becomes 
effective the year following the officer's successful completion of 
the Basic basic School Resource Officer Training course. A 
certified School Resource Officer who has not completed the 
refresher training during a calendar year as established by this 
Rule shall not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until 
the officer has completed the required refresher training as 
established by this Rule. Any refresher training that is not 
completed during a single calendar year must be made up on or 
before January 31st of the following calendar year. Any officer 
who fails to resolve a deficiency in the refresher training shall no 
longer maintain School Resource Officer certification. 
(f)  Instructors who teach a basic SRO course in a traditional 
classroom format will receive credit toward the completion of the 
basic SRO course requirement as required by this Rule, provided 
they pass all required tests and have their instruction documented 
by the Agency Head or In-Service Training Coordinator once 
completed. 
(f)(g)  The School Resource Officer training course for Deputy 
Sheriffs shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to 
perform in the capacity of a School Resource Officer. The Basic 
basic School Resource Officer Training course authored by the 
North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as the curriculum 
for this training course. Copies of this publication may be 
inspected at the agency: 

Sheriffs' Standards Division 
North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 
Post Office Drawer 629 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 
North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 
Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 
 
Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
QUALITY 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 
as 15A NCAC 07H .0208, .0306, .0308; 07J .1301; 07K .0207; 
07M .0302, .0307, .0602, .0603 and repeal the rules cited as 15A 
NCAC 07M .0301, .0306 and .0308. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/coastal-
management-rules/proposed-rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2021 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  May 4, 2021 
Time:  1:00 p.m. 
Location:  
http://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/j.php?MTID=mb7852d165
8f311a552321dc4c855a511 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
15A NCAC 07H .0208 and 07M .0602-.0603: The Coastal 
Resources Commission’s floating structure policies do not 
specifically address Floating Upweller Systems used in shellfish 
aquaculture operations. These amendments clarify how they may 
be sited in public trust waters. 
15A NCAC 07M .0300: The Coastal Resources Commission 
(CRC) is proposing amendments to the CAMA Public Beach and 
Coastal Waterfront Access Program. These amendments are 
intended to address implementation aspects of the Program, as 
well as reorganize some of the individual rules based on grant 
administration, local government requirements, and project 
selection. These changes are consistent with G.S. 150B-19.1(b) 
which requires agencies to identify existing rules that are 
unnecessary, unduly burdensome, or inconsistent with the 
principles set forth in 150B-19.1(a) and modify them to reduce 
regulatory burden.  
15A NCAC 07H .0306 and 07J .1301: Currently, there are 
specific types of development allowed oceanward of the setback 
line except only when a community has a CRC approved 
Development Line. This was not the original intent of the Coastal 
Resources Commission; therefore, the CRC is amending its rules 
to allow those exceptions oceanward of the setback line.  
15A NCAC 07H .0308 and 07K .0207: The Coastal Resources 
Commission proposes to amend its administrative rules in order 
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to provide greater flexibility to local governments and 
government agencies in constructing public accessways and 
enhanced handicap access to the beach by allowing the limited 
use of beach matting. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 
Commerce Ave, Morehead City, NC 28557; phone (252) 808-
2808 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected  
 Local funds affected  
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 
OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 
SECTION .0200 – THE ESTUARINE AND OCEAN 

SYSTEMS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .0208 USE STANDARDS 
(a)  General Use Standards 

(1) Uses that are not water dependent shall not be 
permitted in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, 
and public trust areas. Restaurants, residences, 
apartments, motels, hotels, trailer parks, private 
roads, factories, and parking lots are examples 
of uses that are not water dependent. Uses that 
are water dependent include: utility crossings, 
wind energy facilities, docks, wharves, boat 
ramps, dredging, bridges and bridge 
approaches, revetments, bulkheads, culverts, 
groins, navigational aids, mooring pilings, 
navigational channels, access channels and 
drainage ditches; 

(2) Before being granted a permit, the CRC or local 
permitting authority shall find that the applicant 
has complied with the following standards: 
(A) The location, design, and need for 

development, as well as the 
construction activities involved shall 
be consistent with the management 
objective of the Estuarine and Ocean 
System AEC (Rule .0203 of this 
subchapter) and shall be sited and 
designed to avoid significant adverse 
impacts upon the productivity and 
biologic integrity of coastal wetlands, 
shellfish beds, submerged aquatic 
vegetation as defined by the Marine 
Fisheries Commission, and spawning 
and nursery areas; 

(B) Development shall comply with State 
and federal water and air quality rules, 
statutes and regulations; 

(C) Development shall not cause 
irreversible damage to documented 
archaeological or historic resources as 
identified by the N.C. Department of 
Cultural resources; 

(D) Development shall not increase 
siltation; 

(E) Development shall not create stagnant 
water bodies; 

(F) Development shall be timed to avoid 
significant adverse impacts on life 
cycles of estuarine and ocean 
resources; and 

(G) Development shall not jeopardize the 
use of the waters for navigation or for 
other public trust rights in public trust 
areas including estuarine waters. 

(3) When the proposed development is in conflict 
with the general or specific use standards set 
forth in this Rule, the CRC may approve the 
development if the applicant can demonstrate 
that the activity associated with the proposed 
project will have public benefits as identified in 
the findings and goals of the Coastal Area 
Management Act, that the public benefits 
outweigh the long range adverse effects of the 
project, that there is no reasonable alternate site 
available for the project, and that all reasonable 
means and measures to mitigate adverse 
impacts of the project have been incorporated 
into the project design and shall be 
implemented at the applicant's expense. 
Measures taken to mitigate or minimize adverse 
impacts shall include actions that: 
(A) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by 

limiting the magnitude or degree of the 
action; 

(B) restore the affected environment; or 
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(C) compensate for the adverse impacts by 
replacing or providing substitute 
resources. 

(4) "Primary nursery areas" are defined as those 
areas in the estuarine and ocean system where 
initial post larval development of finfish and 
crustaceans takes place. They are usually 
located in the uppermost sections of a system 
where populations are uniformly early juvenile 
stages. Primary nursery areas are designated 
and described by the N.C. Marine Fisheries 
Commission (MFC) and by the N.C. Wildlife 
Resources Commission (WRC); 

(5) "Outstanding Resource Waters" (ORW) are 
defined as those estuarine waters and public 
trust areas classified by the N.C. Environmental 
Management Commission (EMC). In those 
estuarine waters and public trust areas classified 
as ORW by the EMC no permit required by the 
Coastal Area Management Act shall be 
approved for any project which would be 
inconsistent with applicable use standards 
adopted by the CRC, EMC, or MFC for 
estuarine waters, public trust areas, or coastal 
wetlands. For development activities not 
covered by specific use standards, no permit 
shall be issued if the activity would, based on 
site specific information, degrade the water 
quality or outstanding resource values; and 

(6) Beds of "submerged aquatic vegetation" (SAV) 
are defined as those habitats in public trust and 
estuarine waters vegetated with one or more 
species of submergent vegetation. These 
vegetation beds occur in both subtidal and 
intertidal zones and may occur in isolated 
patches or cover extensive areas. In either case, 
the bed is defined by the Marine Fisheries 
Commission. Any rules relating to SAVs shall 
not apply to non-development control activities 
authorized by the Aquatic Weed Control Act of 
1991 (G.S. 113A-220 et seq.). 

(b)  Specific Use Standards 
(1) Navigation channels, canals, and boat basins 

shall be aligned or located so as to avoid 
primary nursery areas, shellfish beds, beds of 
submerged aquatic vegetation as defined by the 
MFC, or areas of coastal wetlands except as 
otherwise allowed within this Subchapter. 
Navigation channels, canals and boat basins 
shall also comply with the following standards: 
(A) Navigation channels and canals may 

be allowed through fringes of 
regularly and irregularly flooded 
coastal wetlands if the loss of wetlands 
will have no significant adverse 
impacts on fishery resources, water 
quality or adjacent wetlands, and if 
there is no reasonable alternative that 
would avoid the wetland losses; 

(B) All dredged material shall be confined 
landward of regularly and irregularly 
flooded coastal wetlands and 
stabilized to prevent entry of 
sediments into the adjacent water 
bodies or coastal wetlands; 

(C) Dredged material from maintenance of 
channels and canals through 
irregularly flooded wetlands shall be 
placed on non-wetland areas, remnant 
spoil piles, or disposed of by a method 
having no significant, long-term 
wetland impacts. Under no 
circumstances shall dredged material 
be placed on regularly flooded 
wetlands. New dredged material 
disposal areas shall not be located in 
the buffer area as outlined in 15A 
NCAC 07H .0209(d)(10); 

(D) Widths of excavated canals and 
channels shall be the minimum 
required to meet the applicant's needs 
but not impair water circulation; 

(E) Boat basin design shall maximize 
water exchange by having the widest 
possible opening and the shortest 
practical entrance canal. Depths of 
boat basins shall decrease from the 
waterward end inland; 

(F) Any canal or boat basin shall be 
excavated no deeper than the depth of 
the connecting waters; 

(G) Construction of finger canal systems 
are not allowed. Canals shall be either 
straight or meandering with no right 
angle corners; 

(H) Canals shall be designed so as not to 
create an erosion hazard to adjoining 
property. Design may include 
shoreline stabilization, vegetative 
stabilization, or setbacks based on soil 
characteristics; and 

(I) Maintenance excavation in canals, 
channels and boat basins within 
primary nursery areas and areas of 
submerged aquatic vegetation as 
defined by the MFC shall be avoided. 
However, when essential to maintain a 
traditional and established use, 
maintenance excavation may be 
approved if the applicant meets all of 
the following criteria: 
(i) The applicant demonstrates 

and documents that a 
water-dependent need exists 
for the excavation; 

(ii) There exists a previously 
permitted channel that was 
constructed or maintained 
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under permits issued by the 
State or Federal government. 
If a natural channel was in 
use, or if a human-made 
channel was constructed 
before permitting was 
necessary, there shall be 
evidence that the channel was 
continuously used for a 
specific purpose; 

(iii) Excavated material can be 
removed and placed in a 
disposal area in accordance 
with Part (b)(1)(B) of this 
Rule without impacting 
adjacent nursery areas and 
submerged aquatic 
vegetation as defined by the 
MFC; and 

(iv) The original depth and width 
of a human-made or natural 
channel shall not be 
increased to allow a new or 
expanded use of the channel. 

(2) Hydraulic Dredging 
(A) The terminal end of the dredge 

pipeline shall be positioned at a 
distance sufficient to preclude erosion 
of the containment dike and a 
maximum distance from spillways to 
allow settlement of suspended solids; 

(B) Dredged material shall be either 
confined on high ground by retaining 
structures or deposited on beaches for 
purposes of renourishment if the 
material is suitable in accordance with 
the rules in this Subchapter, except as 
provided in Part (G) of this 
Subparagraph; 

(C) Confinement of excavated materials 
shall be landward of all coastal 
wetlands and shall employ soil 
stabilization measures to prevent entry 
of sediments into the adjacent water 
bodies or coastal wetlands; 

(D) Effluent from diked areas receiving 
disposal from hydraulic dredging 
operations shall be contained by pipe, 
trough, or similar device to a point 
waterward of emergent vegetation or, 
where local conditions require, below 
normal low water or normal water 
level. 

(E) When possible, effluent from diked 
disposal areas shall be returned to the 
area being dredged; 

(F) A water control structure shall be 
installed at the intake end of the 
effluent pipe. 

(G) Publicly funded projects shall be 
considered by review agencies on a 
case-by-case basis with respect to 
dredging methods and dredged 
material disposal in accordance with 
Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule; and 

(H) Dredged material from closed 
shellfish waters and effluent from 
diked disposal areas used when 
dredging in closed shellfish waters 
shall be returned to the closed shellfish 
waters. 

(3) Drainage Ditches 
(A) Drainage ditches located through any 

coastal wetland shall not exceed six 
feet wide by four feet deep (from 
ground surface) unless the applicant 
shows that larger ditches are 
necessary; 

(B) Dredged material derived from the 
construction or maintenance of 
drainage ditches through regularly 
flooded marsh shall be placed 
landward of these marsh areas in a 
manner that will insure that entry of 
sediment into the water or marsh will 
not occur. Dredged material derived 
from the construction or maintenance 
of drainage ditches through irregularly 
flooded marshes shall be placed on 
non-wetlands wherever feasible. 
Non-wetland areas include relic 
disposal sites; 

(C) Excavation of new ditches through 
high ground shall take place landward 
of an earthen plug or other methods to 
minimize siltation to adjacent water 
bodies; and 

(D) Drainage ditches shall not have a 
significant adverse impact on primary 
nursery areas, productive shellfish 
beds, submerged aquatic vegetation as 
defined by the MFC, or other estuarine 
habitat. Drainage ditches shall be 
designed so as to minimize the effects 
of freshwater inflows, sediment, and 
the introduction of nutrients to 
receiving waters. Settling basins, 
water gates and retention structures 
are examples of design alternatives 
that may be used to minimize sediment 
introduction. 

(4) Nonagricultural Drainage 
(A) Drainage ditches shall be designed so 

that restrictions in the volume or 
diversions of flow are minimized to 
both surface and ground water; 

(B) Drainage ditches shall provide for the 
passage of migratory organisms by 
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allowing free passage of water of 
sufficient depth; and 

(C) Drainage ditches shall not create 
stagnant water pools or changes in the 
velocity of flow. 

(5) Marinas. "Marinas" are defined as any publicly 
or privately owned dock, basin or wet boat 
storage facility constructed to accommodate 
more than 10 boats and providing any of the 
following services: permanent or transient 
docking spaces, dry storage, fueling facilities, 
haulout facilities and repair service. Excluded 
from this definition are boat ramp facilities 
allowing access only, temporary docking and 
none of the preceding services. Expansion of 
existing facilities shall comply with the 
standards of this Subparagraph for all 
development other than maintenance and repair 
necessary to maintain previous service levels. 
Marinas shall comply with the following 
standards: 
(A) Marinas shall be sited in non-wetland 

areas or in deep waters (areas not 
requiring dredging) and shall not 
disturb shellfish resources, submerged 
aquatic vegetation as defined by the 
MFC, or wetland habitats, except for 
dredging necessary for access to 
high-ground sites. The following four 
alternatives for siting marinas are 
listed in order of preference for the 
least damaging alterative; marina 
projects shall be designed to have the 
highest of these four priorities that is 
deemed feasible by the permit letting 
agency: 
(i) an upland basin site requiring 

no alteration of wetland or 
estuarine habitat and 
providing flushing by tidal or 
wind generated water 
circulation or basin design 
characteristics; 

(ii) an upland basin site requiring 
dredging for access when the 
necessary dredging and 
operation of the marina will 
not result in significant 
adverse impacts to existing 
fishery, shellfish, or wetland 
resources and the basin 
design shall provide flushing 
by tidal or wind generated 
water circulation; 

(iii) an open water site located 
outside a primary nursery 
area which utilizes piers or 
docks rather than channels or 

canals to reach deeper water; 
and 

(iv) an open water marina 
requiring excavation of no 
intertidal habitat, and no 
dredging greater than the 
depth of the connecting 
channel. 

(B) Marinas that require dredging shall not 
be located in primary nursery areas nor 
in areas which require dredging 
through primary nursery areas for 
access. Maintenance dredging in 
primary nursery areas for existing 
marinas shall comply with the 
standards set out in Part (b)(1)(I) of 
this Rule; 

(C) To minimize coverage of public trust 
areas by docks and moored vessels, 
dry storage marinas shall be used 
where feasible; 

(D) Marinas to be developed in waters 
subject to public trust rights (other 
than those created by dredging upland 
basins or canals) for the purpose of 
providing docking for residential 
developments shall be allowed no 
more than 27 square feet of public 
trust areas for every one linear foot of 
shoreline adjacent to these public trust 
areas for construction of docks and 
mooring facilities. The 27 square feet 
allocation does not apply to fairway 
areas between parallel piers or any 
portion of the pier used only for access 
from land to the docking spaces; 

(E) To protect water quality in shellfishing 
areas, marinas shall not be located 
within areas where shellfish 
harvesting for human consumption is 
a significant existing use or adjacent to 
such areas if shellfish harvest closure 
is anticipated to result from the 
location of the marina. In compliance 
with 33 U.S. Code Section 101(a)(2) 
of the Clean Water Act and North 
Carolina Water Quality Standards 
(15A NCAC 02B .0200) adopted 
pursuant to that section, shellfish 
harvesting is a significant existing use 
if it can be established that shellfish 
have been regularly harvested for 
human consumption since November 
28, 1975 or that shellfish are 
propagating and surviving in a 
biologically suitable habitat and are 
available and suitable for harvesting 
for the purpose of human 
consumption. The Division of Coastal 
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Management shall consult with the 
Division of Marine Fisheries 
regarding the significance of shellfish 
harvest as an existing use and the 
magnitude of the quantities of 
shellfish that have been harvested or 
are available for harvest in the area 
where harvest will be affected by the 
development; 

(F) Marinas shall not be located without 
written consent from the leaseholders 
or owners of submerged lands that 
have been leased from the state or 
deeded by the State; 

(G) Marina basins shall be designed to 
promote flushing through the 
following design criteria: 
(i) the basin and channel depths 

shall gradually increase 
toward open water and shall 
never be deeper than the 
waters to which they connect; 
and 

(ii) when possible, an opening 
shall be provided at opposite 
ends of the basin to establish 
flow-through circulation; 

(H) Marinas shall be designed so that the 
capability of the waters to be used for 
navigation or for other public trust 
rights in estuarine or public trust 
waters are not jeopardized while 
allowing the applicant access to deep 
waters; 

(I) Marinas shall be located and 
constructed so as to avoid adverse 
impacts on navigation throughout all 
federally maintained channels and 
their boundaries as designated by the 
US Army Corps of Engineers. This 
includes mooring sites (permanent or 
temporary); speed or traffic 
reductions; or any other device, either 
physical or regulatory, that may cause 
a federally maintained channel to be 
restricted; 

(J) Open water marinas shall not be 
enclosed within breakwaters that 
preclude circulation sufficient to 
maintain water quality; 

(K) Marinas that require dredging shall 
provide areas in accordance with Part 
(b)(1)(B) of this Rule to accommodate 
disposal needs for future maintenance 
dredging, including the ability to 
remove the dredged material from the 
marina site; 

(L) Marina design shall comply with all 
applicable EMC requirements (15A 

NCAC 02B .0200) for management of 
stormwater runoff. Stormwater 
management systems shall not be 
located within the 30-foot buffer area 
outlined in 15A NCAC 07H .0209(d); 

(M) Marinas shall post a notice prohibiting 
the discharge of any waste from boat 
toilets and listing the availability of 
local pump-out services; 

(N) Boat maintenance areas shall be 
designed so that all scraping, 
sandblasting, and painting will be 
done over dry land with collection and 
containment devices that prevent entry 
of waste materials into adjacent 
waters; 

(O) All marinas shall comply with all 
applicable standards for docks and 
piers, shoreline stabilization, dredging 
and dredged material disposal of this 
Rule; 

(P) All applications for marinas shall be 
reviewed by the Division of Coastal 
Management to determine their 
potential impact to coastal resources 
and compliance with applicable 
standards of this Rule. Such review 
shall also consider the cumulative 
impacts of marina development in 
accordance with G.S. 113A-
120(a)(10); and 

(Q) Replacement of existing marinas to 
maintain previous service levels shall 
be allowed provided that the 
development complies with the 
standards for marina development 
within this Section. 

(6) Piers and Docking Facilities. 
(A) Piers shall not exceed six feet in width. 

Piers greater than six feet in width 
shall be permitted only if the greater 
width is necessary for safe use, to 
improve public access, or to support a 
water dependent use that cannot 
otherwise occur; 

(B) The total square footage of shaded 
impact for docks docks, platforms and 
mooring facilities (excluding the pier) 
allowed shall be eight square feet per 
linear foot of shoreline with a 
maximum of 2,000 square feet. In 
calculating the shaded impact, 
uncovered open water slips shall not 
be counted in the total. Projects 
requiring dimensions greater than 
those stated in this Rule shall be 
permitted only if the greater 
dimensions are necessary for safe use, 
to improve public access, or to support 
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a water dependent use that cannot 
otherwise occur. Size restrictions shall 
not apply to marinas; 

(C) Piers and docking facilities over 
coastal wetlands shall be no wider than 
six feet and shall be elevated at least 
three feet above any coastal wetland 
substrate as measured from the bottom 
of the decking; 

(D) A boathouse shall not exceed 400 
square feet except to accommodate a 
documented need for a larger 
boathouse and shall have sides 
extending no farther than one-half the 
height of the walls and covering only 
the top half of the walls. 
Measurements of square footage shall 
be taken of the greatest exterior 
dimensions. Boathouses shall not be 
allowed on lots with less than 75 linear 
feet of shoreline. Size restrictions do 
not apply to marinas; 

(E) The total area enclosed by an 
individual boat lift shall not exceed 
400 square feet except to 
accommodate a documented need for 
a larger boat lift; 

(F) Piers and docking facilities shall be 
single story. They may be roofed but 
shall not be designed to allow second 
story use; 

(G) Pier and docking facility length shall 
be limited by: 
(i) not extending beyond the 

established pier or docking 
facility length along the same 
shoreline for similar use. 
This restriction does not 
apply to piers 100 feet or less 
in length unless necessary to 
avoid unreasonable 
interference with navigation 
or other uses of the waters by 
the public; 

(ii) not extending into the 
channel portion of the water 
body; and 

(iii) not extending more than one-
fourth the width of a natural 
water body, or human-made 
canal or basin. Measurements 
to determine widths of the 
water body, canals or basins 
shall be made from the 
waterward edge of any 
coastal wetland vegetation 
that borders the water body. 
The one-fourth length 
limitation does not apply in 

areas where the U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers, or a local 
government in consultation 
with the Corps of Engineers, 
has established an official 
pier-head line. The one-
fourth length limitation shall 
not apply when the proposed 
pier is located between 
longer piers or docking 
facilities within 200 feet of 
the applicant's property. 
However, the proposed pier 
or docking facility shall not 
be longer than the pier head 
line established by the 
adjacent piers or docking 
facilities, nor longer than 
one-third the width of the 
water body. 

(H) Piers or docking facilities longer than 
400 feet shall be permitted only if the 
proposed length gives access to deeper 
water at a rate of at least 1 foot each 
100 foot increment of length longer 
than 400 feet, or, if the additional 
length is necessary to span some 
obstruction to navigation. 
Measurements to determine lengths 
shall be made from the waterward 
edge of any coastal wetland vegetation 
that borders the water body; 

(I) Piers and docking facilities shall not 
interfere with the access to any 
riparian property and shall have a 
minimum setback of 15 feet between 
any part of the pier or docking facility 
and the adjacent property owner's 
areas of riparian access. The line of 
division of areas of riparian access 
shall be established by drawing a line 
along the channel or deep water in 
front of the properties, then drawing a 
line perpendicular to the line of the 
channel so that it intersects with the 
shore at the point the upland property 
line meets the water's edge. The 
minimum setback provided in the rule 
may be waived by the written 
agreement of the adjacent riparian 
owner(s) or when two adjoining 
riparian owners are co-applicants. If 
the adjacent property is sold before 
construction of the pier or docking 
facility commences, the applicant 
shall obtain a written agreement with 
the new owner waiving the minimum 
setback and submit it to the permitting 
agency prior to initiating any 
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development of the pier. Application 
of this Rule may be aided by reference 
to the approved diagram in 15A 
NCAC 07H .1205(t) illustrating the 
rule as applied to various shoreline 
configurations. Copies of the diagram 
may be obtained from the Division of 
Coastal Management. When shoreline 
configuration is such that a 
perpendicular alignment cannot be 
achieved, the pier shall be aligned to 
meet the intent of this Rule to the 
maximum extent practicable as 
determined by the Director of the 
Division of Coastal Management; and 

(J) Applicants for authorization to 
construct a pier or docking facility 
shall provide notice of the permit 
application to the owner of any part of 
a shellfish franchise or lease over 
which the proposed dock or pier would 
extend. The applicant shall allow the 
lease holder the opportunity to mark a 
navigation route from the pier to the 
edge of the lease. 

(7) Bulkheads 
(A) Bulkhead alignment, for the purpose 

of shoreline stabilization, shall 
approximate the location of normal 
high water or normal water level; 

(B) Bulkheads shall be constructed 
landward of coastal wetlands in order 
to avoid significant adverse impacts to 
the resources; 

(C) Bulkhead backfill material shall be 
obtained from an upland source 
approved by the Division of Coastal 
Management pursuant to this Section, 
or if the bulkhead is a part of a 
permitted project involving 
excavation from a non-upland source, 
the material so obtained may be 
contained behind the bulkhead; 

(D) Bulkheads shall be permitted below 
normal high water or normal water 
level only when the following 
standards are met: 
(i) the property to be bulkheaded 

has an identifiable erosion 
problem, whether it results 
from natural causes or 
adjacent bulkheads, or it has 
unusual geographic or 
geologic features, e.g. steep 
grade bank, which will cause 
the applicant unreasonable 
hardship under the other pro-
visions of this Rule; 

(ii) the bulkhead alignment 
extends no further below 
normal high water or normal 
water level than necessary to 
allow recovery of the area 
eroded in the year prior to the 
date of application, to align 
with adjacent bulkheads, or 
to mitigate the unreasonable 
hardship resulting from the 
unusual geographic or 
geologic features; 

(iii) the bulkhead alignment will 
not adversely impact public 
trust rights or the property of 
adjacent riparian owners; 

(iv) the need for a bulkhead 
below normal high water or 
normal water level is do-
cumented by the Division of 
Coastal Management; and 

(v) the property to be bulkheaded 
is in a non-oceanfront area. 

(E) Where possible, sloping rip-rap, 
gabions, or vegetation shall be used 
rather than bulkheads. 

(8) Beach Nourishment 
(A) Beach creation or maintenance may be 

allowed to enhance water related 
recreational facilities for public, 
commercial, and private use consistent 
with the following: 
(i) Beaches may be created or 

maintained in areas where 
they have historically been 
found due to natural 
processes; 

(ii) Material placed in the water 
and along the shoreline shall 
be clean sand and free from 
pollutants. Grain size shall be 
equal to that found naturally 
at the site; 

(iii) Beach creation shall not be 
allowed in primary nursery 
areas, nor in any areas where 
siltation from the site would 
pose a threat to shellfish 
beds; 

(iv) Material shall not be placed 
on any coastal wetlands or 
submerged aquatic 
vegetation as defined by 
MFC; 

(v) Material shall not be placed 
on any submerged bottom 
with significant shellfish 
resources as identified by the 
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Division of Marine Fisheries 
during the permit review; and 

(vi) Beach construction shall not 
create the potential for filling 
adjacent navigation channels, 
canals or boat basins. 

(B) Placing unconfined sand material in 
the water and along the shoreline shall 
not be allowed as a method of 
shoreline erosion control; 

(C) Material from dredging projects may 
be used for beach nourishment if: 
(i) it is first handled in a manner 

consistent with dredged 
material disposal as set forth 
in this Rule; 

(ii) it is allowed to dry prior to 
being placed on the beach; 
and 

(iii) only that material of 
acceptable grain size as set 
forth in Subpart (b)(8)(A)(ii) 
of this Rule is removed from 
the disposal site for 
placement on the beach. 
Material shall not be placed 
directly on the beach by 
dredge or dragline during 
maintenance excavation. 

(D) Beach construction shall comply with 
State and federal water quality 
standards; 

(E) The renewal of permits for beach 
nourishment projects shall require an 
evaluation by the Division of Coastal 
Management of any adverse impacts 
of the original work; and 

(F) Permits issued for beach nourishment 
shall be limited to authorizing beach 
nourishment only one time. 

(9) Groins 
(A) Groins shall not extend more than 25 

feet waterward of the normal high 
water or normal water level unless a 
longer structure is justified by site 
specific conditions and by an 
individual who meets any North 
Carolina occupational licensing 
requirements for the type of structure 
being proposed and approved during 
the application process; 

(B) Groins shall be set back a minimum of 
15 feet from the adjoining riparian 
lines. The setback for rock groins shall 
be measured from the toe of the 
structure. This setback may be waived 
by written agreement of the adjacent 
riparian owner(s) or when two 
adjoining riparian owners are 

co-applicants. Should the adjacent 
property be sold before construction of 
the groin commences, the applicant 
shall obtain a written agreement with 
the new owner waiving the minimum 
setback and submit it to the permitting 
agency prior to initiating any 
development of the groin; 

(C) Groins shall pose no threat to 
navigation; 

(D) The height of groins shall not exceed 
one foot above normal high water or 
normal water level; 

(E) No more than two structures shall be 
allowed per 100 feet of shoreline 
unless the applicant provides evidence 
that more structures are needed for 
shoreline stabilization. 

(F) "L" and "T" sections shall not be 
allowed at the end of groins; and 

(G) Riprap material used for groin 
construction shall be free from loose 
dirt or any other pollutant and of a size 
sufficient to prevent its movement 
from the site by wave and current 
action. 

(10) "Freestanding Moorings". 
(A) A "freestanding mooring" is any 

means to attach a ship, boat, vessel, 
floating structure or other water craft 
to a stationary underwater device, 
mooring buoy, buoyed anchor, or 
piling as long as the piling is not 
associated with an existing or 
proposed pier, dock, or boathouse; 

(B) Freestanding moorings shall be 
permitted only: 
(i) to riparian property owners 

within their riparian 
corridors; or 

(ii) to any applicant proposing to 
locate a mooring buoy 
consistent with a water use 
plan that is included in either 
the local zoning or land use 
plan. 

(C) All mooring fields shall provide an 
area for access to any mooring(s) and 
other land based operations that shall 
include wastewater pumpout, trash 
disposal and vehicle parking; 

(D) To protect water quality of 
shellfishing areas, mooring fields shall 
not be located within areas where 
shellfish harvesting for human 
consumption is a significant existing 
use or adjacent to such areas if 
shellfish harvest closure is anticipated 
to result from the location of the 
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mooring field. In compliance with 
Section 101(a)(2) of the Federal Water 
Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 
(a)(2), and North Carolina Water 
Quality Standards adopted pursuant to 
that section, shellfish harvesting is a 
significant existing use if it can be 
established that shellfish have been 
regularly harvested for human 
consumption since November 28, 
1975 or that shellfish are propagating 
and surviving in a biologically suitable 
habitat and are available and suitable 
for harvesting for the purpose of 
human consumption. The Division of 
Marine Fisheries shall be consulted 
regarding the significance of shellfish 
harvest as an existing use and the 
magnitude of the quantities of 
shellfish that have been harvested or 
are available for harvest in the area 
where harvest will be affected by the 
development; 

(E) Moorings shall not be located without 
written consent from the leaseholders 
or owners of submerged lands that 
have been leased from the state or 
deeded by the State; 

(F) Moorings shall be located and 
constructed so as to avoid adverse 
impacts on navigation throughout all 
federally maintained channels. This 
includes mooring sites (permanent or 
temporary), speed or traffic 
reductions, or any other device, either 
physical or regulatory, which may 
cause a federally maintained channel 
to be restricted; 

(G) Open water moorings shall not be 
enclosed within breakwaters that 
preclude circulation and degrade water 
quality in violation of EMC standards; 

(H) Moorings and the associated land 
based operation design shall comply 
with all applicable EMC requirements 
for management of stormwater runoff; 

(I) Mooring fields shall have posted in 
view of patrons a notice prohibiting 
the discharge of any waste from boat 
toilets or any other discharge and 
listing the availability of local pump-
out services and waste disposal; 

(J) Freestanding moorings associated 
with commercial shipping, public 
service or temporary construction or 
salvage operations may be permitted 
without a public sponsor; 

(K) Freestanding mooring buoys and piles 
shall be evaluated based upon the arc 

of the swing including the length of 
the vessel to be moored. Moorings and 
the attached vessel shall not interfere 
with the access of any riparian owner 
nor shall it block riparian access to 
channels or deep water, which allows 
riparian access. Freestanding 
moorings shall not interfere with the 
ability of any riparian owner to place a 
pier for access; 

(L) Freestanding moorings shall not be 
established in submerged cable or pipe 
crossing areas or in a manner that 
interferes with the operations of an 
access through any bridge; 

(M) Freestanding moorings shall be 
marked or colored in compliance with 
U.S. Coast Guard and the WRC 
requirements and the required marking 
maintained for the life of the 
mooring(s); and 

(N) The type of material used to create a 
mooring must be free of pollutants and 
of a design and type of material so as 
to not present a hazard to navigation or 
public safety. 

(11) Filling of Canals, Basins and Ditches - 
Notwithstanding the general use standards for 
estuarine systems as set out in Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule, filling canals, basins and ditches shall 
be allowed if all of the following conditions are 
met: 
(A) the area to be filled was not created by 

excavating lands which were below 
the normal high water or normal water 
level; 

(B) if the area was created from wetlands, 
the elevation of the proposed filling 
does not exceed the elevation of said 
wetlands so that wetland function will 
be restored; 

(C) the filling will not adversely impact 
any designated primary nursery area, 
shellfish bed, submerged aquatic 
vegetation as defined by the MFC, 
coastal wetlands, public trust right or 
public trust usage; and 

(D) the filling will not adversely affect the 
value and enjoyment of property of 
any riparian owner. 

(12) "Submerged Lands Mining" 
(A) Development Standards. Mining of 

submerged lands shall meet all the 
following standards: 
(i) The biological productivity 

and biological significance of 
mine sites, or borrow sites 
used for sediment extraction, 
shall be evaluated for 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
35:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 15, 2021 

2232 

significant adverse impacts 
and a protection strategy for 
these natural functions and 
values provided with the 
State approval request or 
permit application; 

(ii) Natural reefs, coral outcrops, 
artificial reefs, seaweed 
communities, and significant 
benthic communities 
identified by the Division of 
Marine Fisheries or the WRC 
shall be avoided; 

(iii) Mining shall avoid 
significant archaeological 
resources as defined in Rule 
.0509 of this Subchapter; 
shipwrecks identified by the 
Department of Cultural 
Resources; and unique 
geological features that 
require protection from 
uncontrolled or incompatible 
development as identified by 
the Division of Energy, 
Mineral, and Land Resources 
pursuant to G.S. 113A-
113(b)(4)(g); 

(iv) Mining activities shall not be 
conducted on or within 500 
meters of significant 
biological communities 
identified by the Division of 
Marine Fisheries or the 
WRC, such as high relief 
hard bottom areas. "High 
relief" is defined for this Part 
as relief greater than or equal 
to one-half meter per five 
meters of horizontal distance; 

(v) Mining activities shall be 
timed to minimize impacts on 
the life cycles of estuarine or 
ocean resources; and 

(vi) Mining activities shall not 
affect potable groundwater 
supplies, wildlife, 
freshwater, estuarine, or 
marine fisheries. 

(B) Permit Conditions. Permits for 
submerged lands mining may be 
conditioned on the applicant 
amending the mining proposal to 
include measures necessary to ensure 
compliance with the provisions of the 
Mining Act and the rules for 
development set out in this 
Subchapter. Permit conditions shall 
also include: 

(i) Monitoring by the applicant 
to ensure compliance with all 
applicable development 
standards; and 

(ii) A determination of the 
necessity and feasibility of 
restoration shall be made by 
the Division of Coastal 
Management as part of the 
permit or consistency review 
process. Restoration shall be 
necessary where it will 
facilitate recovery of the pre-
development ecosystem. 
Restoration shall be 
considered feasible unless, 
after consideration of all 
practicable restoration 
alternatives, the Division of 
Coastal Management 
determines that the adverse 
effects of restoration 
outweigh the benefits of the 
restoration on estuarine or 
ocean resources. If 
restoration is determined to 
be necessary and feasible, 
then the applicant shall 
submit a restoration plan to 
the Division of Coastal 
Management prior to the 
issuance of the permit. 

(C) Dredging activities for the purposes of 
mining natural resources shall be 
consistent with the development 
standards set out in this Rule; 

(D) Mitigation. Where mining cannot be 
conducted consistent with the 
development standards set out in this 
Rule, the applicant may request 
mitigation approval under 15A NCAC 
07M .0700; and 

(E) Public Benefits Exception. Projects 
that conflict with the standards in this 
Subparagraph, but provide a public 
benefit, may be approved pursuant to 
the standards set out in Subparagraph 
(a)(3) of this Rule. 

(13) "Wind Energy Facilities" 
(A) An applicant for the development and 

operation of a wind energy facility 
shall provide: 
(i) an evaluation of the proposed 

noise impacts of the turbines 
to be associated with the 
proposed facility; 

(ii) an evaluation of shadow 
flicker impacts for the 
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turbines to be associated with 
the proposed facility; 

(iii) an evaluation of avian and 
bat impacts of the proposed 
facility; 

(iv) an evaluation of viewshed 
impacts of the proposed 
facility; 

(v) an evaluation of potential 
user conflicts associated with 
development in the proposed 
project area; and 

(vi) a plan regarding the action to 
be taken upon 
decommissioning and 
removal of the wind energy 
facility. The plan shall 
include estimates of 
monetary costs, time frame 
of removal and the proposed 
site condition after 
decommissioning. 

(B) Development Standards. 
Development of wind energy facilities 
shall meet the following standards in 
addition to adhering to the 
requirements outlined in Part 
(a)(13)(A) of this Rule: 
(i) Natural reefs, coral outcrops, 

artificial reefs, seaweed 
communities, and significant 
benthic communities 
identified by the Division of 
Marine Fisheries or the WRC 
shall be avoided; 

(ii) Development shall not be 
sited on or within 500 meters 
of significant biological 
communities identified by 
the Division of Marine 
Fisheries or the WRC, such 
as high relief hard bottom 
areas. High relief is defined 
for this standard as relief 
greater than or equal to one-
half meter per five meters of 
horizontal distance; 

(iii) Development shall not cause 
irreversible damage to 
documented archeological 
resources including 
shipwrecks identified by the 
Department of Cultural 
Resources and unique 
geological features that 
require protection from 
uncontrolled or incompatible 
development as identified by 
the Division of Energy, 

Mineral, and Land Resources 
pursuant to G.S. 113A-
113(b)(4)(g); 

(iv) Development activities shall 
be timed to avoid significant 
adverse impacts on the life 
cycles of estuarine or ocean 
resources, or wildlife; 

(v) Development or operation of 
a wind energy facility shall 
not jeopardize the use of the 
surrounding waters for 
navigation or for other public 
trust rights in public trust 
areas or estuarine waters; and 

(vi) Development or operation of 
a wind energy facility shall 
not interfere with air 
navigation routes, air traffic 
control areas, military 
training routes or special use 
airspace and shall comply 
with standards adopted by the 
Federal Aviation 
Administration and codified 
under 14 CFR Part 77.13. 

(C) Permit Conditions. Permits for wind 
energy facilities may be conditioned 
on the applicant amending the 
proposal to include measures 
necessary to ensure compliance with 
the standards for development set out 
in this Rule. Permit conditions may 
include monitoring to ensure 
compliance with all applicable 
development standards; and 

(D) Public Benefits Exception. Projects 
that conflict with these standards, but 
provide a public benefit, may be 
approved pursuant to the standards set 
out in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 
Rule. 

 
Authority G.S. 113A-107(b); 113A-108; 113A-113(b); 113A-124. 
 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .0306 GENERAL USE STANDARDS 
FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 
(a)  In order to protect life and property, all development not 
otherwise specifically exempted or allowed by law or elsewhere 
in the Coastal Resources Commission's rules shall be located 
according to whichever of the following is applicable: 

(1) The ocean hazard setback for development shall 
be measured in a landward direction from the 
vegetation line, the static vegetation line, or the 
measurement line, whichever is applicable. 

(2) In areas with a development line, the ocean 
hazard setback shall be set in accordance with 
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Subparagraphs (a)(3) through (9) of this Rule. 
In With the exception of those types of 
development defined in 15A NCAC 07J 
.1301(d), in no case shall new development be 
sited seaward of the development line. In areas 
with a Static Line Exception, approved in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200 and a 
Development Line approved in accordance 
with 15A NCAC 07J .1300, the petitioner shall 
notify the Division of Coastal Management 
which one of the two approaches will be 
utilized and applied to the entire large-scale 
project area as defined in 15A NCAC 07H 
.0305(a)(7). 

(3) In no case shall a development line be created 
or established on State-owned lands or 
oceanward of the mean high water line or 
perpetual property easement line, whichever is 
more restrictive. 

(4) The ocean hazard setback shall be determined 
by both the size of development and the 
shoreline long term erosion rate as defined in 
Rule .0304 of this Section. "Development size" 
is defined by total floor area for structures and 
buildings or total area of footprint for 
development other than structures and 
buildings. Total floor area includes the 
following: 
(A) The total square footage of heated or 

air-conditioned living space; 
(B) The total square footage of parking 

elevated above ground level; and 
(C) The total square footage of non-heated 

or non-air-conditioned areas elevated 
above ground level, excluding attic 
space that is not designed to be load-
bearing. 

Decks, roof-covered porches, and walkways 
shall not be included in the total floor area 
unless they are enclosed with material other 
than screen mesh or are being converted into an 
enclosed space with material other than screen 
mesh. 

(5) With the exception of those types of 
development defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0309, 
no development, including any portion of a 
building or structure, shall extend oceanward of 
the ocean hazard setback. This includes roof 
overhangs and elevated structural components 
that are cantilevered, knee braced, or otherwise 
extended beyond the support of pilings or 
footings. The ocean hazard setback shall be 
established based on the following criteria: 
(A) A building or other structure less than 

5,000 square feet requires a minimum 
setback of 60 feet or 30 times the 
shoreline erosion rate, whichever is 
greater; 

(B) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 5,000 square feet but 
less than 10,000 square feet requires a 
minimum setback of 120 feet or 60 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(C) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 10,000 square feet but 
less than 20,000 square feet requires a 
minimum setback of 130 feet or 65 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(D) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 20,000 square feet but 
less than 40,000 square feet requires a 
minimum setback of 140 feet or 70 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(E) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 40,000 square feet but 
less than 60,000 square feet requires a 
minimum setback of 150 feet or 75 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(F) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 60,000 square feet but 
less than 80,000 square feet requires a 
minimum setback of 160 feet or 80 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(G) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 80,000 square feet but 
less than 100,000 square feet requires 
a minimum setback of 170 feet or 85 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(H) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 100,000 square feet 
requires a minimum setback of 180 
feet or 90 times the shoreline erosion 
rate, whichever is greater; 

(I) Infrastructure that is linear in nature, 
such as roads, bridges, pedestrian 
access such as boardwalks and 
sidewalks, and utilities providing for 
the transmission of electricity, water, 
telephone, cable television, data, 
storm water, and sewer requires a 
minimum setback of 60 feet or 30 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(J) Parking lots greater than or equal to 
5,000 square feet require a setback of 
120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 
erosion rate, whichever is greater; 

(K) Notwithstanding any other setback 
requirement of this Subparagraph, a 
building or other structure greater than 
or equal to 5,000 square feet in a 
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community with a static line exception 
in accordance with 15A NCAC 07J 
.1200 requires a minimum setback of 
120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 
erosion rate in place at the time of 
permit issuance, whichever is greater. 
The setback shall be measured 
landward from either the static 
vegetation line, the vegetation line, or 
measurement line, whichever is 
farthest landward; and 

(L) Notwithstanding any other setback 
requirement of this Subparagraph, 
replacement of single-family or 
duplex residential structures with a 
total floor area greater than 5,000 
square feet, and commercial and 
multi-family residential structures 
with a total floor area no greater than 
10,000 square feet, shall be allowed 
provided that the structure meets the 
following criteria: 
(i) the structure was originally 

constructed prior to August 
11, 2009; 

(ii) the structure as replaced does 
not exceed the original 
footprint or square footage; 

(iii) it is not possible for the 
structure to be rebuilt in a 
location that meets the ocean 
hazard setback criteria 
required under Subparagraph 
(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(iv) the structure as replaced 
meets the minimum setback 
required under Part (a)(5)(A) 
of this Rule; and 

(v) the structure is rebuilt as far 
landward on the lot as 
feasible. 

(6) If a primary dune exists in the AEC on or 
landward of the lot where the development is 
proposed, the development shall be landward of 
the crest of the primary dune, the ocean hazard 
setback, or development line, whichever is 
farthest from vegetation line, static vegetation 
line, or measurement line, whichever is 
applicable. For existing lots, however, where 
setting the development landward of the crest 
of the primary dune would preclude any 
practical use of the lot, development may be 
located oceanward of the primary dune. In such 
cases, the development may be located 
landward of the ocean hazard setback, but shall 
not be located on or oceanward of a frontal dune 
or the development line. The words "existing 
lots" in this Rule shall mean a lot or tract of land 
that, as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described 

in a recorded plat and cannot be enlarged by 
combining the lot or tract of land with a 
contiguous lot or tract of land under the same 
ownership. 

(7) If no primary dune exists, but a frontal dune 
does exist in the AEC on or landward of the lot 
where the development is proposed, the 
development shall be set landward of the frontal 
dune, ocean hazard setback, or development 
line, whichever is farthest from the vegetation 
line, static vegetation line, or measurement line, 
whichever is applicable. 

(8) If neither a primary nor frontal dune exists in 
the AEC on or landward of the lot where 
development is proposed, the structure shall be 
landward of the ocean hazard setback or 
development line, whichever is more 
restrictive. 

(9) Structural additions or increases in the footprint 
or total floor area of a building or structure 
represent expansions to the total floor area and 
shall meet the setback requirements established 
in this Rule and 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). New 
development landward of the applicable 
setback may be cosmetically, but shall not be 
structurally, attached to an existing structure 
that does not conform with current setback 
requirements. 

(10) Established common law and statutory public 
rights of access to and use of public trust lands 
and waters in ocean hazard areas shall not be 
eliminated or restricted. Development shall not 
encroach upon public accessways, nor shall it 
limit the intended use of the accessways. 

(11) Development setbacks in areas that have 
received large-scale beach fill as defined in 15A 
NCAC 07H .0305 shall be measured landward 
from the static vegetation line as defined in this 
Section, unless a development line has been 
approved by the Coastal Resources 
Commission in accordance with 15A NCAC 
07J .1300. 

(12) In order to allow for development landward of 
the large-scale beach fill project that cannot 
meet the setback requirements from the static 
vegetation line, but can or has the potential to 
meet the setback requirements from the 
vegetation line set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 
and (a)(5) of this Rule, a local government, 
group of local governments involved in a 
regional beach fill project, or qualified "owners' 
association" as defined in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) 
that has the authority to approve the locations 
of structures on lots within the territorial 
jurisdiction of the association and has 
jurisdiction over at least one mile of ocean 
shoreline, may petition the Coastal Resources 
Commission for a "static line exception" in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200. The 
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static line exception shall apply to development 
of property that lies both within the 
jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner and the 
boundaries of the large-scale beach fill project. 
This static line exception shall also allow 
development greater than 5,000 square feet to 
use the setback provisions defined in Part 
(a)(5)(K) of this Rule in areas that lie within the 
jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner, and 
the boundaries of the large-scale beach fill 
project. If the request is approved, the Coastal 
Resources Commission shall allow 
development setbacks to be measured from a 
vegetation line that is oceanward of the static 
vegetation line under the following conditions: 
(A) Development meets all setback 

requirements from the vegetation line 
defined in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 
(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(B) Development setbacks shall be 
calculated from the shoreline erosion 
rate in place at the time of permit 
issuance; 

(C) No portion of a building or structure, 
including roof overhangs and elevated 
portions that are cantilevered, knee 
braced, or otherwise extended beyond 
the support of pilings or footings, 
extends oceanward of the landward-
most adjacent building or structure. 
When the configuration of a lot 
precludes the placement of a building 
or structure in line with the landward-
most adjacent building or structure, an 
average line of construction shall be 
determined by the Division of Coastal 
Management on a case-by-case basis 
in order to determine an ocean hazard 
setback that is landward of the 
vegetation line, a distance no less than 
30 times the shoreline erosion rate or 
60 feet, whichever is greater; 

(D) With the exception of swimming 
pools, the development defined in 
Rule .0309(a) of this Section shall be 
allowed oceanward of the static 
vegetation line; and 

(E) Development shall not be eligible for 
the exception defined in Rule .0309(b) 
of this Section. 

(b)  No development shall be permitted that involves the removal 
or relocation of primary or frontal dune sand or vegetation thereon 
that would adversely affect the integrity of the dune. Other dunes 
within the ocean hazard area shall not be disturbed unless the 
development of the property is otherwise impracticable. Any 
disturbance of these other dunes shall be allowed only to the 
extent permitted by 15A NCAC 07H .0308(b). 
(c)  Development shall not cause irreversible damage to historic 
architectural or archaeological resources as documented by the 

local historic commission, the North Carolina Department of 
Natural and Cultural Resources, or the National Historical 
Registry. 
(d)  Development shall comply with minimum lot size and set 
back requirements established by local regulations. 
(e)  Mobile homes shall not be placed within the high hazard flood 
area unless they are within mobile home parks existing as of June 
1, 1979. 
(f)  Development shall comply with the general management 
objective for ocean hazard areas set forth in 15A NCAC 07H 
.0303. 
(g)  Development shall not interfere with legal access to, or use 
of, public resources, nor shall such development increase the risk 
of damage to public trust areas. 
(h)  Development proposals shall incorporate measures to avoid 
or minimize adverse impacts of the project. These measures shall 
be implemented at the applicant's expense and may include 
actions that: 

(1) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by limiting 
the magnitude or degree of the action; 

(2) restore the affected environment; or 
(3) compensate for the adverse impacts by 

replacing or providing substitute resources. 
(i)  Prior to the issuance of any permit for development in the 
ocean hazard AECs, there shall be a written acknowledgment 
from the applicant to the Division of Coastal Management that the 
applicant is aware of the risks associated with development in this 
hazardous area and the limited suitability of this area for 
permanent structures. The acknowledgement shall state that the 
Coastal Resources Commission does not guarantee the safety of 
the development and assumes no liability for future damage to the 
development. 
(j)  All relocation of structures shall require permit approval. 
Structures relocated with public funds shall comply with the 
applicable setback line and other applicable AEC rules. 
Structures, including septic tanks and other essential accessories, 
relocated entirely with non-public funds shall be relocated the 
maximum feasible distance landward of the present location. 
Septic tanks shall not be located oceanward of the primary 
structure. All relocation of structures shall meet all other 
applicable local and state rules. 
(k)  Permits shall include the condition that any structure shall be 
relocated or dismantled when it becomes imminently threatened 
by changes in shoreline configuration as defined in 15A NCAC 
07H .0308(a)(2)(B). Any such structure shall be relocated or 
dismantled within two years of the time when it becomes 
imminently threatened, and in any case upon its collapse or 
subsidence. However, if natural shoreline recovery or beach fill 
takes place within two years of the time the structure becomes 
imminently threatened, so that the structure is no longer 
imminently threatened, then it need not be relocated or dismantled 
at that time. This permit condition shall not affect the permit 
holder's right to seek authorization of temporary protective 
measures allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a)(2). 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 
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15A NCAC 07H .0308 SPECIFIC USE STANDARDS 
FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 
(a)  Ocean Shoreline Erosion Control Activities: 

(1) Use Standards Applicable to all Erosion 
Control Activities: 
(A) All oceanfront erosion response 

activities shall be consistent with the 
general policy statements in 15A 
NCAC 07M .0200. 

(B) Permanent erosion control structures 
may cause significant adverse impacts 
on the value and enjoyment of 
adjacent properties or public access to 
and use of the ocean beach, and, 
therefore, unless specifically 
authorized under the Coastal Area 
Management Act, are prohibited. Such 
structures include bulkheads, 
seawalls, revetments, jetties, groins 
and breakwaters. 

(C) Rules concerning the use of 
oceanfront erosion response measures 
apply to all oceanfront properties 
without regard to the size of the 
structure on the property or the date of 
its construction. 

(D) Shoreline erosion response projects 
shall not be constructed in beach or 
estuarine areas that sustain substantial 
habitat for fish and wildlife species, as 
identified by natural resource agencies 
during project review, unless 
mitigation measures are incorporated 
into project design, as set forth in Rule 
.0306(h) of this Section. 

(E) Project construction shall be timed to 
minimize adverse effects on biological 
activity. 

(F) Prior to completing any erosion 
response project, all exposed remnants 
of or debris from failed erosion control 
structures must be removed by the 
permittee. 

(G) Permanent erosion control structures 
that would otherwise be prohibited by 
these standards may be permitted on 
finding by the Division that: 
(i) the erosion control structure 

is necessary to protect a 
bridge that provides the only 
existing road access on a 
barrier island, that is vital to 
public safety, and is 
imminently threatened by 
erosion as defined in Part 
(a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 
measures of relocation, beach 
nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 
to protect public health and 
safety; and 

(iii) the proposed erosion control 
structure will have no 
adverse impacts on adjacent 
properties in private 
ownership or on public use of 
the beach. 

(H) Structures that would otherwise be 
prohibited by these standards may also 
be permitted on finding by the 
Division that: 
(i) the structure is necessary to 

protect a state or federally 
registered historic site that is 
imminently threatened by 
shoreline erosion as defined 
in Part (a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 
measures of relocation, beach 
nourishment or temporary 
stabilization are not adequate 
and practicable to protect the 
site; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 
extent and scope to that 
necessary to protect the site; 
and 

(iv) a permit for a structure under 
this Part may be issued only 
to a sponsoring public agency 
for projects where the public 
benefits outweigh the 
significant adverse impacts. 
Additionally, the permit shall 
include conditions providing 
for mitigation or 
minimization by that agency 
of significant adverse 
impacts on adjoining 
properties and on public 
access to and use of the 
beach. 

(I) Structures that would otherwise be 
prohibited by these standards may also 
be permitted on finding by the 
Division that: 
(i) the structure is necessary to 

maintain an existing 
commercial navigation 
channel of regional 
significance within federally 
authorized limits; 

(ii) dredging alone is not 
practicable to maintain safe 
access to the affected 
channel; 
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(iii) the structure is limited in 
extent and scope to that 
necessary to maintain the 
channel; 

(iv) the structure shall not have 
significant adverse impacts 
on fisheries or other public 
trust resources; and 

(v) a permit for a structure under 
this Part may be issued only 
to a sponsoring public agency 
for projects where the public 
benefits outweigh the 
significant adverse impacts. 
Additionally, the permit shall 
include conditions providing 
for mitigation or 
minimization by that agency 
of any significant adverse 
impacts on adjoining 
properties and on public 
access to and use of the 
beach. 

(J) The Commission may renew a permit 
for an erosion control structure issued 
pursuant to a variance granted by the 
Commission prior to 1 July 1995. The 
Commission may authorize the 
replacement of a permanent erosion 
control structure that was permitted by 
the Commission pursuant to a variance 
granted by the Commission prior to 1 
July 1995 if the Commission finds 
that: 
(i) the structure will not be 

enlarged beyond the 
dimensions set out in the 
permit; 

(ii) there is no practical 
alternative to replacing the 
structure that will provide the 
same or similar benefits; and 

(iii) the replacement structure 
will comply with all 
applicable laws and with all 
rules, other than the rule or 
rules with respect to which 
the Commission granted the 
variance, that are in effect at 
the time the structure is 
replaced. 

(K) Proposed erosion response measures 
using innovative technology or design 
shall be considered as experimental 
and shall be evaluated on a case-by-
case basis to determine consistency 
with 15A NCAC 07M .0200 and 
general and specific use standards 
within this Section. 

(2) Temporary Erosion Control Structures: 
(A) Permittable temporary erosion control 

structures shall be limited to sandbags 
placed landward of mean high water 
and parallel to the shore. 

(B) Temporary erosion control structures 
as defined in Part (A) of this 
Subparagraph may be used to protect 
only imminently threatened roads and 
associated right of ways, and buildings 
and their associated septic systems. A 
structure is considered imminently 
threatened if its foundation, septic 
system, or right-of-way in the case of 
roads, is less than 20 feet away from 
the erosion scarp. Buildings and roads 
located more than 20 feet from the 
erosion scarp or in areas where there is 
no obvious erosion scarp may also be 
found to be imminently threatened 
when site conditions, such as a flat 
beach profile or accelerated erosion, 
increase the risk of imminent damage 
to the structure. 

(C) Temporary erosion control structures 
shall be used to protect only the 
principal structure and its associated 
septic system, but not appurtenances 
such as pools, gazebos, decks or any 
amenity that is allowed under Rule 
.0309 of this Section as an exception 
to the erosion setback requirement. 

(D) Temporary erosion control structures 
may be placed waterward of a septic 
system when there is no alternative to 
relocate it on the same or adjoining lot 
so that it is landward of or in line with 
the structure being protected. 

(E) Temporary erosion control structures 
shall not extend more than 20 feet past 
the sides of the structure to be 
protected except to align with 
temporary erosion control structures 
on adjacent properties, where the 
Division has determined that gaps 
between adjacent erosion control 
structures may result in an increased 
risk of damage to the structure to be 
protected. The landward side of such 
temporary erosion control structures 
shall not be located more than 20 feet 
waterward of the structure to be 
protected, or the right-of-way in the 
case of roads. If a building or road is 
found to be imminently threatened and 
at an increased risk of imminent 
damage due to site conditions such as 
a flat beach profile or accelerated 
erosion, temporary erosion control 
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structures may be located more than 
20 feet waterward of the structure 
being protected. In cases of increased 
risk of imminent damage, the location 
of the temporary erosion control 
structures shall be determined by the 
Director of the Division of Coastal 
Management or the Director's 
designee in accordance with Part (A) 
of this Subparagraph. 

(F) Temporary erosion control structures 
may remain in place for up to eight 
years for a building and its associated 
septic system, a bridge or a road. The 
property owner shall be responsible 
for removal of any portion of the 
temporary erosion control structure 
exposed above grade within 30 days of 
the end of the allowable time period. 

(G) An imminently threatened structure or 
property may be protected only once, 
regardless of ownership, unless the 
threatened structure or property is 
located in a community that is actively 
pursuing a beach nourishment project, 
or an inlet relocation or stabilization 
project in accordance with Part (H) of 
this Subparagraph. Existing temporary 
erosion control structures may be 
permitted for additional eight-year 
periods provided that the structure or 
property being protected is still 
imminently threatened, the temporary 
erosion control structure is in 
compliance with requirements of this 
Subchapter, and the community in 
which it is located is actively pursuing 
a beach nourishment or an inlet 
relocation or stabilization project in 
accordance with Part (H) of this 
Subparagraph. In the case of a 
building, a temporary erosion control 
structure may be extended, or new 
segments constructed, if additional 
areas of the building become 
imminently threatened. Where 
temporary structures are installed or 
extended incrementally, the time 
period for removal under Part (F) or 
(H) of this Subparagraph shall begin at 
the time the initial erosion control 
structure was installed. For the 
purpose of this Rule: 
(i) a building and its septic 

system shall be considered 
separate structures, 

(ii) a road or highway may be 
incrementally protected as 
sections become imminently 

threatened. The time period 
for removal of each 
contiguous section of 
temporary erosion control 
structure shall begin at the 
time that the initial section 
was installed, in accordance 
with Part (F) of this 
Subparagraph. 

(H) For purposes of this Rule, a 
community is considered to be 
actively pursuing a beach nourishment 
or an inlet relocation or stabilization 
project in accordance with G.S. 113A-
115.1 if it: 
(i) has been issued an active 

CAMA permit, where 
necessary, approving such 
project; or 

(ii) has been identified by a U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers' 
Beach Nourishment 
Reconnaissance Study, 
General Reevaluation 
Report, Coastal Storm 
Damage Reduction Study, or 
an ongoing feasibility study 
by the U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers and a commitment 
of local or federal money, 
when necessary; or 

(iii) has received a favorable 
economic evaluation report 
on a federal project; or 

(iv) is in the planning stages of a 
project designed by the U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers or 
persons meeting applicable 
State occupational licensing 
requirements and initiated by 
a local government or 
community with a 
commitment of local or state 
funds to construct the project 
or the identification of the 
financial resources or 
funding bases necessary to 
fund the beach nourishment, 
inlet relocation or 
stabilization project. 

If beach nourishment, inlet relocation 
or stabilization is rejected by the 
sponsoring agency or community, or 
ceases to be actively planned for a 
section of shoreline, the time 
extension is void for that section of 
beach or community and existing 
sandbags are subject to all applicable 
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time limits set forth in Part (F) of this 
Subparagraph. 

(I) Once a temporary erosion control 
structure is determined by the Division 
of Coastal Management to be 
unnecessary due to relocation or 
removal of the threatened structure, it 
shall be removed to the maximum 
extent practicable by the property 
owner within 30 days of official 
notification from the Division of 
Coastal Management regardless of the 
time limit placed on the temporary 
erosion control structure. If the 
temporary erosion control structure is 
determined by the Division of Coastal 
Management to be unnecessary due to 
the completion of a storm protection 
project constructed by the U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers, a large-scale 
beach nourishment project, or an inlet 
relocation or stabilization project, any 
portion of the temporary erosion 
control structure exposed above grade 
shall be removed by the property 
owner within 30 days of official 
notification from the Division of 
Coastal Management regardless of the 
time limit placed on the temporary 
erosion control structure. 

(J) Removal of temporary erosion control 
structures is not required if they are 
covered by sand. Any portion of the 
temporary erosion control structure 
that becomes exposed above grade 
after the expiration of the permitted 
time period shall be removed by the 
property owner within 30 days of 
official notification from the Division 
of Coastal Management. 

(K) The property owner shall be 
responsible for the removal of 
remnants of all portions of any 
damaged temporary erosion control 
structure. 

(L) Sandbags used to construct temporary 
erosion control structures shall be tan 
in color and three to five feet wide and 
seven to 15 feet long when measured 
flat. Base width of the temporary 
erosion control structure shall not 
exceed 20 feet, and the total height 
shall not exceed six feet, as measured 
from the bottom of the lowest bag. 

(M) Soldier pilings and other types of 
devices to anchor sandbags shall not 
be allowed. 

(N) Existing sandbag structures may be 
repaired or replaced within their 

originally permitted dimensions 
during the time period allowed under 
Part (F) or (G) of this Subparagraph. 

(3) Beach Nourishment. Sand used for beach 
nourishment shall be compatible with existing 
grain size and in accordance with Rule .0312 of 
this Section. 

(4) Beach Bulldozing. Beach bulldozing (defined 
as the process of moving natural beach material 
from any point seaward of the first line of stable 
vegetation to create a protective sand dike or to 
obtain material for any other purpose) is 
development and may be permitted as an 
erosion response if the following conditions are 
met: 
(A) The area on which this activity is 

being performed shall maintain a slope 
of adequate grade so as to not 
endanger the public or the public's use 
of the beach and shall follow the pre-
emergency slope as closely as 
possible. The movement of material 
utilizing a bulldozer, front end loader, 
backhoe, scraper, or any type of earth 
moving or construction equipment 
shall not exceed one foot in depth 
measured from the pre-activity surface 
elevation; 

(B) The activity shall not exceed the 
lateral bounds of the applicant's 
property unless he has permission of 
the adjoining land owner(s); 

(C) Movement of material from seaward 
of the mean low water line will require 
a CAMA Major Development and 
State Dredge and Fill Permit; 

(D) The activity shall not increase erosion 
on neighboring properties and shall 
not have an adverse effect on natural 
or cultural resources; 

(E) The activity may be undertaken to 
protect threatened on-site waste 
disposal systems as well as the 
threatened structure's foundations. 

(b)  Dune Establishment and Stabilization. 
(1) Any new dunes established shall be aligned to 

the greatest extent possible with existing 
adjacent dune ridges and shall be of the same 
configuration as adjacent natural dunes. 

(2) Existing primary and frontal dunes shall not, 
except for beach nourishment and emergency 
situations, be broadened or extended in an 
oceanward direction. 

(3) Adding to dunes shall be accomplished in such 
a manner that the damage to existing vegetation 
is minimized. The filled areas shall be replanted 
or temporarily stabilized until planting can be 
completed. 
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(4) Sand used to establish or strengthen dunes shall 
be of the same general characteristics as the 
sand in the area in which it is to be placed. 

(5) No new dunes shall be created in inlet hazard 
areas. 

(6) Sand held in storage in any dune, other than the 
frontal or primary dune, shall remain on the lot 
or tract of land to the maximum extent 
practicable and may be redistributed within the 
Ocean Hazard AEC provided that it is not 
placed any farther oceanward than the crest of 
a primary dune, if present, or the crest of a 
frontal dune. 

(7) No disturbance of a dune area shall be allowed 
when other techniques of construction can be 
utilized and alternative site locations exist to 
avoid dune impacts. 

(c)  Structural Accessways: 
(1) Structural accessways shall be permitted across 

primary or frontal dunes so long as they are 
designed and constructed in a manner that 
entails negligible alteration of the primary or 
frontal dune. Structural accessways shall not be 
considered threatened structures for the purpose 
of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) An accessway shall be considered to entail 
negligible alteration of primary or frontal dunes 
provided that: 
(A) The accessway is exclusively for 

pedestrian use; 
(B) The accessway is a maximum of six 

feet in width; 
(C) The Except in the case of beach 

matting for a local, state or federal 
government's public access, the 
accessway is raised on posts or pilings 
of five feet or less depth, so that 
wherever possible only the posts or 
pilings touch the dune. Where this is 
deemed by the Division of Coastal 
Management to be impossible due to 
any more restrictive local, state, and/or 
federal building requirements, the 
structure shall touch the dune only to 
the extent necessary; and necessary. 
Beach matting for a local, state or 
federal government's public access 
shall be installed at grade and not 
involve any excavation or fill of the 
dune; and 

(D) Any areas of vegetation that are 
disturbed are revegetated as soon as 
feasible. 

(3) An accessway that does not meet Part (2)(A) 
and (B) of this Paragraph shall be permitted 
only if it meets a public purpose or need which 
cannot otherwise be met and it meets Part 
(2)(C) of this Paragraph. Public fishing piers are 

not prohibited provided all other applicable 
standards of this Rule are met. 

(4) In order to preserve the protective nature of 
primary and frontal dunes a structural 
accessway (such as a "Hatteras ramp") may be 
provided for off-road vehicle (ORV) or 
emergency vehicle access. Such accessways 
shall be no greater than 15 feet in width and 
may be constructed of wooden sections 
fastened together, or other materials approved 
by the Division, over the length of the affected 
dune area. Installation of a Hatteras ramp shall 
be done in a manner that will preserve the 
dune's function as a protective barrier against 
flooding and erosion by not reducing the 
volume of the dune. 

(5) Structural accessways may be constructed no 
more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe 
of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do 
not interfere with public trust rights and 
emergency access along the beach. Structural 
accessways are not restricted by the 
requirement to be landward of the FLSNV as 
described in Rule .0309(a) of this Section. 

(d)  Building Construction Standards. New building construction 
and any construction identified in .0306(a)(5) of 
this Section and 15A NCAC 07J .0210 shall comply with the 
following standards: 

(1) In order to avoid danger to life and property, all 
development shall be designed and placed so as 
to minimize damage due to fluctuations in 
ground elevation and wave action in a 100-year 
storm. Any building constructed within the 
ocean hazard area shall comply with relevant 
sections of the North Carolina Building Code 
including the Coastal and Flood Plain 
Construction Standards and the local flood 
damage prevention ordinance as required by the 
National Flood Insurance Program. If any 
provision of the building code or a flood 
damage prevention ordinance is inconsistent 
with any of the following AEC standards, the 
more restrictive provision shall control. 

(2) All building in the ocean hazard area shall be 
on pilings not less than eight inches in diameter 
if round or eight inches to a side if square. 

(3) All pilings shall have a tip penetration greater 
than eight feet below the lowest ground 
elevation under the structure. For those 
structures so located on or seaward of the 
primary dune, the pilings shall extend to five 
feet below mean sea level. 

(4) All foundations shall be designed to be stable 
during applicable fluctuations in ground 
elevation and wave forces during a 100-year 
storm. Cantilevered decks and walkways shall 
meet the requirements of this Part or shall be 
designed to break-away without structural 
damage to the main structure. 
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Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-
113(b)(6)a.,b.,d.; 113A-115.1; 113A-124. 
 
SUBCHAPTER 07J - PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING 

AND ENFORCEMENT OF MAJOR AND MINOR 
DEVELOPMENT PERMITS, VARIANCE REQUESTS, 

APPEALS FROM PERMIT DECISIONS, 
DECLARATORY RULINGS, AND STATIC LINE 

EXCEPTIONS 
 
SECTION .1300 – DEVELOPMENT LINE PROCEDURES 
 
15A NCAC 07J .1301 REQUESTING THE 
DEVELOPMENT LINE 
(a)  Any local government, group of local governments involved 
in a regional beach fill project, or qualified owner's association 
with territorial jurisdiction over an area that is subject to ocean 
hazard area setbacks pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0305 may 
petition the Coastal Resources Commission for a development 
line for the purpose of siting oceanfront development in 
accordance with the provisions of this Section. A "qualified 
owner's association" is an owner's association, as defined in G.S. 
47F-1-103(3), that has authority to approve the locations of 
structures on lots within the territorial jurisdiction of the 
association and has jurisdiction over at least one mile of ocean 
shoreline. 
(b)  A development line request shall apply to the entire large-
scale project area as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(7) and, 
at the petitioner's request, may be extended to include the entire 
oceanfront jurisdiction or legal boundary of the petitioner. 
(c)  In determining where to position a requested development 
line, the petitioner shall use an adjacent neighbor sight-line 
approach, resulting in an average line of structures. In areas where 
the seaward edge of existing development is not linear, the 
petitioner may determine an average line of construction on a 
case-by-case basis. In no case shall a development line be 
established seaward of the most seaward structure within the 
petitioner's oceanfront jurisdiction. 
(d)  The following types of development shall be permitted 
seaward of the development line if all other provisions of this 
Subchapter and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) campsites; 
(2) beach accessways consistent with Rule 15A 

NCAC 07H .0308(c); 
(3) unenclosed, uninhabitable, gazebos with a 

footprint of 200 square feet or less; 
(4) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with a 

foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, 
packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 
square feet or less; 

(5) temporary amusement stands; and 
(6) sand fences consistent with Rule 15A NCAC 

07H .0311. 
In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is 
landward of the vegetation line, measurement line or static 
vegetation line, whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or 
removal of primary or frontal dunes which would compromise the 
integrity of the dune as a protective landform or the dune 

vegetation; has overwalks to protect any existing dunes; is not 
essential to the continued existence or use of an associated 
principal development; and is not required to satisfy minimum 
requirements of local zoning, subdivision and health regulations. 
(d)(e)  An existing structure that is oceanward of an approved 
development line may remain in place until damaged greater than 
50 percent in accordance with Rule .0210 of this Subchapter. At 
that time it may only be replaced landward of the development 
line and shall meet the applicable ocean hazard setback 
requirements as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0306(a). 
(e)(f)  A request for a development line or amendment shall be 
made in writing by the petitioner and submitted to the CRC by 
sending the written request to the Director of the Division of 
Coastal Management. A complete request shall include the 
following: 

(1) A detailed survey of the development line using 
on-ground observation and survey or aerial 
imagery along the oceanfront jurisdiction or 
legal boundary, including; 
(A) The development line, static 

vegetation line, mean high water line, 
and any other information necessary 
for a review of the petitioner's 
proposed development line, such as a 
pre-nourishment project mean high 
water line, local ordinances, or 
easements; and 

(B) Surveyed development line spatial 
data in a geographic information 
systems (GIS) format referencing 
North Carolina State Plane North 
American Datum 83 US Survey Foot, 
to include Federal Geographic Data 
Committee (FGDC) compliant 
metadata; 

(2) All local regulations associated with the 
development line; 

(3) A record of local adoption of the development 
line by the petitioner; and 

(4) Documentation of incorporation of a 
development line into local ordinances or rules 
and regulations of an owner's association. 

(f)(g)  Once a development line is approved by the Coastal 
Resources Commission, only the petitioner may request a change 
or reestablishment of the position of the development line. 
(g)(h)  A development line request shall be submitted to the 
Director of the Division of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 
Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557. Written acknowledgement of 
the receipt of a completed development line request, including 
notification of the date of the meeting at which the request will be 
considered by the Coastal Resources Commission, shall be 
provided to the petitioner by the Division of Coastal Management. 
(h)(i)  The Coastal Resources Commission shall consider a 
development line request no later than the second scheduled 
meeting following the date of receipt of a complete request by the 
Division of Coastal Management, unless the petitioner and the 
Division of Coastal Management agree upon a later date. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 
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SUBCHAPTER 07K - ACTIVITIES IN AREAS OF 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN WHICH DO NOT 

REQUIRE A COASTAL AREA MANAGEMENT ACT 
PERMIT 

 
SECTION .0200 - CLASSES OF MINOR MAINTENANCE 
AND IMPROVEMENTS WHICH SHALL BE EXEMPTED 
FROM THE CAMA MAJOR DEVELOPMENT PERMIT 

REQUIREMENT 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0207 STRUCTURAL ACCESSWAYS 
OVER FRONTAL DUNES EXEMPTED 
(a)  The N.C. Coastal Resources Commission hereby exempts 
from the CAMA permit requirement all structural pedestrian 
accessways over frontal dunes which can be shown to meet the 
following criteria: accessways, including beach matting installed 
by a local, state, or federal government to provide public access 
over primary and frontal dunes when such accessways which can 
be shown to meet the following criteria: 

(1) The accessway must shall not exceed six feet in 
width and must be for private residential or for 
public access to an ocean beach. This 
exemption does not apply to accessways for 
commercial use or for motor-powered vehicular 
use. 

(2) The accessway must shall be constructed so as 
to make no alterations to the frontal dunes that 
are not necessary to construct the accessway. 
This means that wherever possible the 
accessway must shall be constructed over the 
frontal dune without any alteration of the dunes. 
In no case shall the dune be altered so as to 
significantly diminish its capacity as a 
protective barrier against flooding and erosion. 
Driving of pilings into the dune or a local, state 
or federal government's use of beach matting 
for a public access that is installed at grade and 
involves no excavation or fill shall not be 
considered alteration of a frontal dune for the 
purposes of this Rule. 

(3) The accessway shall conform with any 
applicable local or state building code 
standards. 

(4) Structural accessways may be constructed no 
more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe 
of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do 
not interfere with public trust rights and 
emergency access along the beach. Structural 
accessways are not restricted by the 
requirement to be landward of the FLSNV as 
described in 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). 

(5) Damaged, non-functioning, or portions of 
accessways that become non-compliant with 
Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph shall be 
removed by the property owner. 

(b)  Before beginning any work under this exemption the CAMA 
local permit officer or Department of Environment, Health, and 
Natural Resources Environmental Quality representative must be 
notified of the proposed activity to allow on-site review of the 

proposed accessway. Notification can be by telephone, in person, 
or in writing and must include: 

(1) name, address, and telephone number of 
landowner and location of work including 
county and nearest community; 

(2) the dimensions of the proposed structural 
accessway. 

 
Authority G.S. 113A-103(5) c. 
 
SUBCHAPTER 07M - GENERAL POLICY GUIDELINES 

FOR THE COASTAL AREA 
 

SECTION .0300 - SHOREFRONT ACCESS POLICIES 
 
15A NCAC 07M .0301 DECLARATION OF GENERAL 
POLICY 
(a)  The public has traditionally and customarily had access to 
enjoy and freely use the ocean beaches and estuarine and public 
trust waters of the coastal region for recreational purposes and the 
State has a responsibility to provide continuous access to these 
resources. It is the policy of the State to foster, improve, enhance 
and ensure optimum access to the public beaches and waters of 
the 20 county coastal region. Access shall be consistent with 
rights of private property owners and the concurrent need to 
protect important coastal natural resources such as sand dunes and 
coastal marsh vegetation. 
(b)  The State has created an access program for the purpose of 
acquiring, improving and maintaining waterfront recreational 
property at frequent intervals throughout the coastal region for 
public access to these important public trust resources. 
(c)  In addition, some properties, due to their location, are subject 
to severe erosion so that development is not possible or feasible. 
In these cases, a valid public purpose may be served by the 
donation or acquisition of these properties for public access. 
(d)  The primary purpose of the public access program is to 
provide funds to acquire or develop land for public access, 
including parking as authorized by G.S. 113A-134.3(c). Boating 
and fishing facilities are eligible for funding under the Public 
Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access Program provided that 
pedestrian access is also incorporated in the design of the facility. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.1; 113A-134.3. 
 
15A NCAC 07M .0302 DEFINITIONS 
As used in this Section: the Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront 
Access program is to provide public access to the public trust 
beaches and waters in the 20 coastal counties. counties as defined 
in G.S. 113A-103(2). 

(1) "Ocean Beach Access" includes the acquisition 
and improvement of properties adjacent or 
proximate to the Atlantic Ocean for parking and 
public passage to the oceanfront. 

(2) "Coastal Waterfront Access" includes the 
acquisition and improvement of properties 
located in the 20 county area under the Coastal 
Area Management Act (CAMA) jurisdiction 
that are adjacent or proximate to coastal 
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waterways to which the public has rights of 
access or public trust rights. 

(3) "Inlet Beach Access" includes the acquisition 
and improvement of properties located within 
Inlet Hazard Areas as defined in 15A NCAC 
07H .0304(3). 

(4)(3) "Public Trust Waters" is defined in 15A NCAC 
07H .0207(a). 

(5)(4) "Beach" is defined as an area adjacent to the 
ocean extending landward from the mean low 
water line to a point where either the growth of 
vegetation occurs or a distinct change in slope 
or elevation alters the configuration of the 
landform, whichever is farther landward, or 
riparian owners have specifically and legally 
restricted access above the mean high water 
line. This definition is intended to describe 
those shorefront areas customarily freely used 
by the public. public consistent with G.S. 77-
20. 

(5) A "Local Waterfront Access Plan" identifies 
access needs and opportunities, determines 
access and facility requirements, establishes 
standards, develops specific project design 
plans or guidelines, establishes priorities, 
considers financial resource availability (such 
as grants, impact fees or occupancy taxes) and 
construction timing, and provides a system for 
evaluation of the plan. 

(6) "Certified CAMA Land Use Plan" is defined in 
15A NCAC 07B. A local government may 
identify access needs, develop a local 
waterfront access plan, and develop local 
policies to pursue access funding through its 
land use plan. 

(6) "Local Access Sites" include those public 
access points which offer minimal or no 
facilities. Generally, these accessways provide 
only a dune crossover or pier, if needed, litter 
receptacles and public access signs. Vehicle 
parking is generally not available at these 
access sites. However, bicycle racks may be 
provided. 

(7) "Neighborhood Access Sites" includes those 
public access areas offering parking, usually for 
5 to 25 vehicles, a dune crossover or pier, litter 
receptacles and public access signs. Restroom 
facilities may be installed. 

(8) "Regional Access Sites" are of such size and 
offer such facilities that they serve the public 
from throughout an island or community 
including day visitors. These sites normally 
provide parking for 25 to 80 vehicles, 
restrooms, a dune crossover, pier, foot showers, 
litter receptacles and public access signs. 

(9) "Multi-regional Access Sites" are generally 
larger than regional accessways but smaller 
than state parks. Such facilities may be 
undertaken and constructed with the 

involvement and support of state and local 
government agencies. Multi-regional 
accessways provide parking for a minimum of 
80 vehicles, restrooms with indoor showers and 
changing rooms, and concession stands. 

(10) "Urban Waterfront Access Projects" improve 
public access to deteriorating or under utilized 
urban waterfronts. Such projects include the 
establishment or rehabilitation of boardwalk 
areas, shoreline stabilization measures such as 
the installation or rehabilitation of bulkheads, 
and the placement or removal of pilings for the 
purpose of public safety and increased access 
and use of the urban waterfront. 

(11) "Improvements" are facilities that are added to 
promote public access at a designated access 
site. The most common improvements include 
dune crossovers, piers, boardwalks, litter 
receptacles, parking areas, restrooms, gazebos, 
boat ramps, canoe/kayak launches, bicycle 
racks and foot showers. 

(12)(7) "Maintenance" is the upkeep and repair of 
public access sites and their facilities in such a 
manner that public health and safety is ensured. 
Where the local government uses or has used 
access funds administered by the North 
Carolina Coastal Management Program 
(NCCMP), the local government shall provide 
operation and maintenance of the facility for the 
useful life of that facility. The useful life of a 
facility shall be defined in the individual grant 
contract. 

(13) "Handicapped Accessible" is defined as 
meeting the standards of the State Building 
Code for handicapped accessibility. 

(8) "Tier 1 Communities" include Tier 1 counties 
as determined annually by the North Carolina 
Department of Commerce as outlined in G.S. 
143B-437.08, and the counties respective 
municipalities. The Division shall use the Tier 
1 designation to encourage economic activity in 
economically distressed communities. 

 
Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.3. 
 
15A NCAC 07M .0306 LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND 
STATE INVOLVEMENT IN ACCESS 
(a)  Coastal Waterfront access in the 20-county coastal area is a 
concern of local, state, regional and national importance. Local 
governments have lead responsibility for the selection of public 
access sites within their jurisdiction. Access shall be based on 
identified needs as stated in land use plans pursuant to 15A NCAC 
07B .0702(d)(3)(A) and local waterfront access plans. The 
Division of Coastal Management may take the lead in acquiring 
and improving access sites as such opportunities arise. 
(b)  A local policy in a land use plan sets the community objectives 
for access. A local government may, through its land use plan: 

(1) identify access needs and develop local policy 
to pursue access funding; 
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(2) develop a local access plan; and 
(3) solicit access sites through corporate assistance. 

(c)  An access plan shall identify needs and opportunities, 
determine access and facility requirements, establish standards, 
and develop specific project design plans or guidelines by 
appropriate site. An access plan shall consider both financial 
resource availability (such as grants, impact fees or hotel/motel 
tax revenues) and construction timing. It shall establish priorities 
and devise a system for annual evaluation of the plan. 
(d)  Local governments may also include provisions in local 
ordinances that require access for waterfront developments or 
require payment in lieu of access for non-water dependent 
subdivisions. 
(e)  Dedicated street ends may be acceptable for accessways. 
(f)  The Division of Coastal Management has primary 
responsibility for administering the Public Beach and Coastal 
Waterfront Access Program. Subject to the availability of funds, 
the Division of Coastal Management shall annually solicit pre-
application proposals from local governments and shall select 
competitive projects for full application submittal. Projects from 
these final applications shall be selected for funding based on 
criteria in Rule .0307 of this Section. 
(g)  The Division of Coastal Management may use available funds 
on a non-competitive basis to plan for and provide public access 
through acquisition of improvements. Prior to expending funds, 
the Division of Coastal Management shall hold a public meeting 
or hearing to discuss its proposal. Members of the public shall be 
invited to comment to the Coastal Resources Commission for a 
minimum of 60 days prior to the expenditure of non-competitive 
money by the Division of Coastal Management. 
(h)  The Division of Coastal Management shall ensure all projects 
funded through the Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access 
Program are making progress throughout project implementation 
and ensure that completed projects are operated and maintained 
for access purposes. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.3. 
 
15A NCAC 07M .0307 ELIGIBILITY, SELECTION 
CRITERIA AND MATCHING REQUIREMENTS 
PUBLIC BEACH AND COASTAL WATERFRONT 
ACCESS PROGRAM 
(a) Any local government in the 20 coastal county region having 
ocean beaches or estuarine or public trust waters within its 
jurisdiction may apply for access funds for the development of 
beach or coastal waterfront access facilities with associated 
improvements. Boat ramps, canoe/kayak launch areas may also 
be developed provided that the access facilities incorporate 
pedestrian access to coastal waters. 
(a)  The Division of Coastal Management (DCM) has primary 
responsibility for administering the Public Beach and Coastal 
Waterfront Access Program. Subject to the availability of funds, 
the DCM shall annually solicit pre-application proposals from 
local governments and shall select competitive projects for final 
application submittal. Projects from these final applications shall 
be selected for funding based on criteria in Paragraph (h) of this 
Rule. 
(b)  The DCM may use available funds on a non-competitive basis 
to plan for and provide public access through acquisition or 

improvements. Prior to expending funds, the DCM shall hold a 
public meeting or hearing to discuss its proposal. Members of the 
public shall be invited to comment to the Coastal Resources 
Commission (CRC) for a minimum of 30 days prior to the 
expenditure of non-competitive money by the DCM. 
(c)  Local governments have lead responsibility for the selection 
of public access sites within their jurisdiction. Any local 
government in the 20 coastal county region having ocean beaches 
or public trust waters within their jurisdiction may apply for 
access funds for the acquisition and development of beach or 
coastal waterfront access facilities. 
(d)  Prior to submitting their final application for a Public Beach 
and Coastal Waterfront Access grant from the DCM, the local 
government shall hold a public meeting or hearing to discuss its 
proposal. The local government shall consider public comments 
prior to its decision to apply for funds from the State. 
(b)(e)  Eligible projects include: 

(1) Land acquisition, including acquisition of 
unbuildable lots; as outlined in G.S. 113A-
134.3(a); 

(2) Local Access Sites; Development of 
improvements at new or existing sites that 
provide public access, such as dune crossovers, 
piers, boardwalks, parking areas, restrooms, 
showers, benches, litter receptacles, and bicycle 
racks; 

(3) Neighborhood Access Sites or improvements; 
(4)(3) Regional Access Sites or improvements; 

Development of improvements to public access 
at deteriorating or underutilized urban 
waterfronts. Such projects include the 
establishment or rehabilitation of boardwalk 
areas, shoreline stabilization measures such as 
the installation or rehabilitation of bulkheads, 
and the placement or removal of pilings for the 
purpose of public safety and increased access 
and use of the urban waterfront; 

(5) Multi-regional Access Sites or improvements; 
(6) Urban waterfront development access projects; 
(7)(4) Reconstruction Reconstruction, replacement or 

relocation of existing, damaged facilities; 
deteriorating facilities; 

(8) Reconstruction or replacement of aging 
facilities; and 

(9)(5) Offsite parking areas servicing access sites 
within the local government's jurisdiction. 
jurisdiction; 

(6) Boat ramps and canoe/kayak launch areas 
provided that the public access facility 
incorporates pedestrian access to coastal 
waters; or 

(7) Maintenance of previously funded access sites. 
This project category is available only to Tier 1 
communities. Such projects include repair and 
maintenance of access site facilities and 
amenities to ensure public health and safety. 
Repair and maintenance does not include 
activities such as trash removal, grounds 
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keeping, or custodial services, nor can it be used 
to pay local government staff salaries. 

(f)  All projects must meet the standards of handicapped 
accessibility for individuals with disabilities according to the 
North Carolina Building Code. Exceptions may be granted where 
site characteristics impede accessibility improvements. 
(c)(g)  The following criteria shall be used to select projects that 
may receive financial assistance: 

(1) Priority shall be given to the acquisition of 
lands that meet G.S. 113A-134.3(a); 

(2) The project acquires land for future access 
improvements; 

(3) The project creates handicapped-accessible 
facilities at new access sites, adds handicapped-
accessible facilities to existing sites, or replaces 
deteriorating facilities; 

(1)(4) Applicant The applicant demonstrates a need 
for the project due to a high demand for public 
access and limited availability; 

(2)(5) Project The project is identified in the local land 
use plan certified CAMA Land Use Plan or 
local access plan; 

(3)(6) Applicant The applicant has not received 
previous assistance from this grant program or 
the applicant has received assistance and 
demonstrated its ability to complete previous 
projects successfully with funds from this grant 
program; 

(4)(7) Applicant's The applicant's commitment of 
matching funds exceeds the required local share 
of the total project cost provided in Paragraphs 
(d) and (e) Paragraph (h) of this Rule; 

(5)(8) Project The project proposal includes multiple 
funding sources; 

(6)(9) The project location includes donated land 
deemed unbuildable due to regulations or 
physical limitations; The project's location is 
within a Tier 1 community. 

(d) The North Carolina Department of Commerce's Tier 
designations, as outlined by the Lee Act (G.S. 105-129.3) shall be 
used to determine the economic status of counties. Land 
acquisition, including acquisition of unbuildable lots, shall 
include a local government contribution of at least 15 percent of 
the acquisition cost, except for Tier 1 and Tier 2 counties as 
designated by the N.C. Department of Commerce, and their 
respective municipalities which shall have a contribution of at 
least 10 percent. At least one-half of the local contribution shall 
be cash match, the remainder may be in-kind match. 
(e) Local government contributions for access site improvements 
shall be at least 25 percent of the project costs, except for Tier 1 
and Tier 2 designated counties and their respective municipalities 
which shall have a local government contribution of at least 10 
percent of the project costs. At least one half of the local 
contribution shall be cash match; the remainder may be in-kind 
match. 
(h)  The applicant's matching requirements are based on project 
type and their designation as a Tier 1 community. Match 
requirements are as follows: 

(1) Local government contributions for land 
acquisition shall be at least 15 percent of the 
acquisition cost, except for Tier 1 communities 
which shall have a local government 
contribution of at least 10 percent of the project 
cost. At least one-half of the local contribution 
shall be cash match, the remainder may be in-
kind match. 

(2) Local government contributions for access site 
improvements shall be at least 25 percent of the 
project costs, except for Tier 1 communities 
which shall have a local government 
contribution of at least 10 percent of the project 
costs. At least one-half of the local contribution 
shall be cash match; the remainder may be in-
kind match. 

(3) Local government contributions for 
maintenance of previously funded access sites 
shall be at least 10 percent of the maintenance 
project costs. At lease one-half of the local 
contributions shall be cash match; the 
remainder may be in-kind match. This project 
type is only available to Tier 1 communities. 

(f)(i)  Federal and other State funds may be used as the local 
government cash contribution, provided such funds are not 
already being used as matching funds for other state programs. 
(g)(j)  Multi-phase projects and previous contingency projects 
shall be considered on their own merits within the pool of 
applications being reviewed in any year. 
(k)  Projects selected for funding may not begin until the 
Department of Environmental Quality and grant recipient sign a 
contract. An exception may be granted for eligible land 
acquisition projects when a waiver has been requested by the 
applicant in writing and approved by the DCM. A waiver shall be 
in effect for 18 months from the date of approval. A project 
receiving a waiver shall not receive preferential treatment in 
funding decisions. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.3. 
 
15A NCAC 07M .0308 PUBLIC 
INVOLVEMENT/NOTICE 
Prior to submitting its final application for a public access grant 
from the Division of Coastal Management, the local government 
shall hold a public meeting or hearing to discuss its proposal. The 
local government shall consider public comments prior to its 
decision to apply for funds from the State. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.3. 
 

SECTION .0600 - FLOATING STRUCTURE POLICIES 
 
15A NCAC 07M .0602 DEFINITIONS 
(a)  A boat is a vessel or watercraft of any type or size specifically 
designed to be self-propelled, whether by engine, sail, oar, or 
paddle or other means, which is used to travel from place to place 
by water. 
(b)  A "floating structure" is any structure, not a boat, supported 
by a means of flotation, designed to be used without a permanent 
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foundation, which is used or intended for human habitation or 
commerce. A structure will be considered a floating structure 
when it is inhabited or used for commercial purposes for more 
than thirty days in any one location. A boat may be deemed a 
floating structure when its means of propulsion has been removed 
or rendered inoperative and it contains at least 200 square feet of 
living space area. 
(c)  A floating upweller system is a structure used in mariculture 
for the purpose of growing shellfish. For the purposes of this Rule, 
floating upweller systems are considered floating structures. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-102; 113A-107; 113A-108; 113A-118; 
113A-120(a)(8); 113A-124(c)(5). 
 
15A NCAC 07M .0603 POLICY STATEMENTS 
(a)  It is the policy of the State of North Carolina that floating 
structures shall not be allowed or permitted within the public trust 
waters of the coastal area except in permitted marinas. 
(b)  All floating structures shall be in conformance with local 
regulations for on-shore sewage treatment. 
(c)  Floating upweller systems may be permitted as a platform at 
the private docking facility in accordance with 15A NCAC 07H 
.0208(b)(6) or at a permitted marina in accordance with 15A 
NCAC 07H .0208(b)(5). 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-102; 113A-107; 113A-108; 113A-118; 
113A-120(a)(8); 113A-124(c)(5). 
 
 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Nursing intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 36 
.0317 and .0318. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
www.ncbon.com 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  May 28, 2021 
Time:  1:00 p.m. 
Location:  Virtual via Teams: 919.670.0362; Conference ID: 
137896174# 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
21 NCAC 36 .0317 Administration:  Literature and peer review 
do not warrant a more prescriptive approach to program director 
qualifications.  Additionally, there is no currently employed 
program director who has been employed consecutively since 
1984. This amendment strikes sections that are unnecessary or 
duplicative. 
21 NCAC 36 .0318 Faculty:  Literature and peer review do not 
warrant more prescriptive approaches to faculty qualifications. 
The deletion of strict percentage requirements for graduate-

prepared faculty in pre-licensure programs is consistent with this 
review.  Additionally, there is no currently employed faculty 
member who has been employed consecutively since 1984.  Other 
changes are to provide consistent formatting within the rules.  
This amendment strikes sections that are unnecessary or 
duplicative. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129, 
Raleigh, NC 27602-2129; email public.comment@ncbon.com 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SECTION .0300 - APPROVAL OF NURSING PROGRAMS 
 
21 NCAC 36 .0317 ADMINISTRATION 
(a)  The controlling institution of a nursing program shall provide 
those human, physical, technical, and financial resources and 
services essential to support program processes and outcomes, 
including those listed in Paragraph (f) and (g) of this Rule, and 
maintain compliance with Section .0300 of this Chapter. 
(b)  The controlling institution shall ensure that a full-time 
registered nurse, qualified pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 
has the authority to direct the nursing program. 
(c)  The controlling institution shall ensure that the program 
director has the authority and responsibility for maintaining 
compliance with the Rules in this Chapter and other legal 
requirements in all areas of the program. 
(d)  The controlling institution shall ensure that the program 
director has non-teaching time sufficient to allow for program 
organization, administration, continuous review, planning, and 
development. 
(e)  The program director in a program preparing students for 
initial nurse licensure shall satisfy the following requirements: 
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(1) hold an active unencumbered license or 
multistate licensure privilege to practice as a 
registered nurse in North Carolina; 

(2) have two years of full-time experience as a 
faculty member in a Board-approved nursing 
program; 

(3) be experientially qualified, having clinical 
nursing experience, experience as a faculty 
member in a nursing program, and academic or 
nursing leadership experience to lead the 
program to accomplish the mission, goals, and 
expected program outcomes; 

(4) hold either a baccalaureate in nursing or a 
graduate degree in nursing from an accredited 
institution. If newly employed on or after 
January 1, 2016, hold a graduate degree from an 
accredited institution. If newly employed on or 
after January 1, 2021, hold a graduate degree in 
nursing from an accredited institution; 

(5) prior to or within the first three years of 
employment, have education in teaching and 
learning principles for adult education, 
including curriculum development, 
implementation, and evaluation, appropriate to 
the program director role. Once completed, this 
preparation need not be repeated if employing 
organization is changed. This preparation may 
be demonstrated by one of the following: 
(A) completion of 45 contact hours of 

Board-approved continuing education 
courses; 

(B) completion of a certificate program in 
nursing education; 

(C) nine semester hours of graduate course 
work in adult learning and learning 
principles; 

(D) national certification in nursing 
education; or 

(E) documentation of successful 
completion of structured, 
individualized development activities 
of at least 45 contact hours approved 
by the Board. Criteria for approval 
shall include content in the faculty role 
in curriculum implementation, 
curricular objectives to be met and 
evaluated, review of strategies for 
identified student population, and 
expectations of student and faculty 
performance. 

Any registered nurse who was employed as a nurse 
program director for the first time prior to January 1, 
1984 shall be exempt from the requirements in 
Subparagraph (e)(5) of this Rule. 
(6) maintain competence in the areas of assigned 

responsibility; and 
(7) have knowledge of current nursing practice for 

the registered nurse and the licensed practical 
nurse. 

(f)  A nursing education program shall implement, for quality 
improvement, a comprehensive program evaluation that shall 
include the following: 

(1) students' achievement of program outcomes; 
(2) evidence of program resources, including 

fiscal, physical, human, clinical, and technical 
learning resources; student support services; 
and the availability of clinical sites and the 
viability of those sites adequate to meet the 
objectives of the program; 

(3) measures of program outcomes for graduates; 
(4) evidence that accurate program information for 

the public is available; 
(5) evidence that the controlling institution and its 

administration support program outcomes; 
(6) evidence that program director and program 

faculty meet Board qualifications and are 
sufficient in number to achieve program 
outcomes; 

(7) evidence that the academic institution assures 
security of student information; 

(8)(7) evidence that collected evaluative data is used 
in implementing quality improvement 
activities; and 

(9)(8) evidence of student participation in program 
planning, implementation, evaluation, and 
continuous improvement. 

(g)  The controlling institution and the nursing education program 
shall communicate information describing the nursing education 
program that is accurate, complete, consistent across mediums, 
and accessible by the public. The following shall be accessible to 
all applicants and students: 

(1) admission policies and practices; 
(2) policy on advanced placement and transfer of 

credits; 
(3) the number of credits required for completion 

of the program; 
(4) tuition, fees, and other program costs; 
(5) policies and procedures for withdrawal, 

including refund of tuition or fees; 
(6) the grievance procedure; 
(7) criteria for successful progression in the 

program, including graduation requirements; 
and 

(8) policies for clinical performance. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38. 
 
21 NCAC 36 .0318 FACULTY 
(a)  All nursing program faculty, including both full-time and part-
time faculty members, shall participate in curriculum 
implementation and evaluation. 
(b)(a)  Policies for nursing program faculty members shall be 
consistent with those for other faculty of the controlling 
institution, with variations as needed due to the nature of the 
nursing curriculum. 
(c)(b)  Fifty percent or more of the nursing faculty shall hold a 
graduate degree. 
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(d)  As of January 1, 2021, 80 percent of the full-time faculty shall 
hold a graduate degree in nursing. 
(e)  As of January 1, 2021, 50 percent of the part-time faculty shall 
hold a graduate degree in nursing. 
(f)  All faculty shall hold an active unencumbered license or 
multistate licensure privilege to practice as a registered nurse in 
North Carolina. 
(g)(c)  Nurses licensed pursuant to this Chapter who are full-time 
and part-time faculty and who teach in a program leading to initial 
licensure as a nurse shall: 

(1) hold an active unencumbered license or 
multistate licensure privilege to practice as a 
registered nurse in North Carolina. 

(1)(2) hold either a baccalaureate in nursing or a 
graduate degree in nursing from an accredited 
institution; 

(2)(3) have two calendar years or the equivalent of 
full-time clinical experience as a registered 
nurse; 

(3)(4) if newly employed in a full-time faculty 
position on or after January 1, 2016, hold a 
graduate degree from an accredited institution 
or obtain a graduate degree in nursing from an 
accredited institution within five years of initial 
full-time employment; 

(4)(5) prior to or within the first three years of 
employment, have education in teaching and 
learning principles for adult education, 
including curriculum development, 
implementation, and evaluation, appropriate to 
faculty assignment. Once completed, this 
preparation need not be repeated if employing 
organization is changed. This preparation may 
be demonstrated by one of the following: 
(A) completion of 45 contact hours of 

Board-approved continuing education 
courses; 

(B) completion of a certificate program in 
nursing education; 

(C) nine semester hours of graduate course 
work in adult learning and learning 
principles; 

(D) national certification in nursing 
education; or 

(E) documentation of successful 
completion of structured, 
individualized development activities 
of at least 45 contact hours approved 
by the Board. Criteria for approval 
shall include content in the faculty role 
in the curriculum implementation, 
curricular objectives to be met and 
evaluated, review of strategies for 
identified student population, and 
expectations of student and faculty 
performance. 

Any registered nurse who was employed as a nurse 
faculty member or program director prior to January 1, 

1984 shall be exempt from the requirements in 
Subparagraph (g)(4) of this Rule. 
(5)(6) maintain competence in the areas of assigned 

responsibility; and 
(6)(7) have knowledge of current nursing practice for 

the registered nurse and the licensed practical 
nurse. 

(h)(d)  Interdisciplinary faculty who teach in nursing program 
courses shall have academic preparation in the content area they 
are teaching. 
(i)(e)  Clinical preceptors shall have competencies, assessed by 
the nursing program, related to the area of assigned clinical 
teaching responsibilities. Clinical preceptors may be used to 
enhance faculty-directed clinical learning experiences after a 
student has received basic instruction for that specific learning 
experience. Clinical preceptors shall hold an active 
unencumbered license to practice as a registered nurse in North 
Carolina. 
(j)(f)  Nurse faculty members shall have the authority and 
responsibility for: 

(1) student admission, progression, and graduation 
requirements; and 

(2) the development, implementation, and 
evaluation of the curriculum. 

(k)(g)  Nurse faculty members shall be academically qualified and 
sufficient in number to implement the curriculum as required by 
the course objectives, the levels of the students, the nature of the 
learning environment, and to provide for teaching, supervision, 
and evaluation. 
(l)(h)  The faculty-student ratio for faculty-directed preceptor 
clinical experiences shall be no greater than 1:15. The faculty-
student ratio for all other clinical experiences shall be no greater 
than 1:10. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38; 90-171.83. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Pharmacy intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 
46 .2801. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  June 15, 2021 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  The public hearing will be held remotely.  The public 
can participate on Teams at https://tinyurl.com/yfvbubpp or may 
call 336-604-5350, conference ID 946 782 795#. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Section 503A of the Federal Food, 
Drug and Cosmetic Act strictly limits the compounding of human 
drug products in states that have not entered into a memorandum 
of understanding with the Secretary of Health and Human 
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Services with respect to gathering and providing certain 
information to the FDA.  21 U.S.C. § 353a(b)(3)(B).  The 
consequence of not entering the memorandum of understanding 
would be to prevent North Carolina compounding pharmacies 
from shipping compounded human drug products outside of the 
State if those exceed 5 percent of the total prescriptions dispensed 
by the pharmacy.  This alternative would cause a number of North 
Carolina pharmacies to sharply curtail shipping compounded 
prescriptions to their patients in other states, causing financial 
harm, disadvantaging those pharmacies with respect to 
businesses located in other states that do enter the memorandum 
of understanding, and disrupting patient service.  Moreover, the 
requirement to constantly remain under the alternative 5 percent 
cap, upon threat of prosecution, would cause undue risks and 
perpetual tracking costs to many pharmacies.  The threats and 
costs imposed by the alternative has the effect (if not the intention) 
of compelling states to enter into the memorandum of 
understanding.  Pharmacies are already required by law to 
provide all the subject information upon request by the North 
Carolina Board of Pharmacy.  The memorandum provides that, 
rather than being collected by each state, the data will be 
collected by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 
through its e-profile system in which all North Carolina-permitted 
pharmacies already participate, in order to promote efficiencies 
for both the pharmacies and the Board.  This rule implements the 
memorandum of understanding and Section 503A of the Federal 
Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act.  In addition, it updates certain 
information about costs and sources for the public to acquire 
compounding standards. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 
Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 
246-1056; email ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org 
 
Comment period ends:  June 15, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 
 

SECTION .2800 – COMPOUNDING 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2801 COMPOUNDING 
(a)  A pharmacy may dispense a compounded drug preparation to 
a patient only pursuant to a prescription that is valid and complies 
with all requirements of the law, including 21 NCAC 46 .1801. In 
advance of dispensing the compounded drug preparation, a 
pharmacy shall prepare the compounded drug preparation only: 

(1) upon the pharmacy's receipt of a valid 
prescription order for an individual patient; or 

(2) in anticipation of a prescription order based on 
an established history of receiving prescription 
orders for the compounded drug preparation. 
Any compounded drug preparation prepared in 
anticipation of a prescription order shall not be 
dispensed until the pharmacy receives a valid 
prescription order for an individual patient. 

(b)  Compounded drug preparations shall not be offered to other 
entities for resale. 
(c)  A pharmacy may supply compounded drug products to 
practitioners authorized by law to prescribe drugs for those 
practitioners to administer to those practitioners' patients. Such 
compounding for office use shall comply with applicable federal 
law. 
(d)  The preparation, labeling, and dispensing of non-sterile 
compounded drug preparations shall comply with the standards 
established by United States Pharmacopeia chapter <795>, 
including all United States Pharmacopeia chapters and standards 
incorporated into chapter <795> by reference and including all 
subsequent amendments and editions of the same, governing both 
the non-sterile compounded drug preparations and the physical 
and environmental conditions under which non-sterile 
compounded drug preparations are prepared, labeled, and 
dispensed. 
(e)  The preparation, labeling, and dispensing of sterile 
compounded preparations shall comply with standards 
established by United States Pharmacopeia chapter <797>, 
including all United States Pharmacopeia chapters and standards 
incorporated into chapter <797> by reference and including all 
subsequent amendments and editions of the same, governing both 
the sterile compounded products and the physical and 
environmental conditions under which sterile compounded 
products are prepared, labeled, and dispensed. 
(f)  A pharmacy that prepares, labels, or dispenses sterile 
compounded preparations shall maintain a reference library in the 
pharmacy including the current United States Pharmacopeia 
standards and references on the compatibility, stability, storage, 
handling, and preparation of compounded drugs. These references 
may be either hard copy or electronically accessible. 
(g)  In a pharmacy where compounded drug preparations are 
prepared, labeled, or dispensed, the pharmacist-manager or the 
pharmacist-manager's designated pharmacist shall be 
knowledgeable in the specialized functions of preparing, labeling, 
and dispensing compounded drug preparations. If the pharmacist-
manager chooses to designate another pharmacist for this purpose, 
the pharmacist-manager shall notify the Board on the pharmacy's 
permit application and, in writing, within 15 days of any change 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
35:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 15, 2021 

2251 

in the designation. Notwithstanding the pharmacist-manager's 
designation of another pharmacist as knowledgeable in the 
specialized functions of preparing, labeling, and dispensing 
compounded drug preparations, the pharmacist-manager shall be 
responsible for ensuring the pharmacy's compliance with all 
statutes, rules, and standards that govern such activities. 
(h)  In addition to complying with all recordkeeping and labeling 
requirements specified or referred to by United States 
Pharmacopeia chapters <795> or <797>, a pharmacy that 
prepares, labels, or dispenses compounded drug preparations shall 
create and maintain a record-keeping system that enables the 
pharmacy immediately upon request to identify every 
compounded drug preparation prepared, labeled, or dispensed in 
the past three years. This recordkeeping system may be created 
and maintained electronically in compliance with 21 NCAC 46 
.2508. 
(i)  The pharmacist-manager of a pharmacy that prepares, labels, 
or dispenses compounded drug preparations shall comply with all 
quality assurance requirements and standards of United States 
Pharmacopeia chapters <795> and <797>. 
(j)  Between January 1 and March 31 of each year, any pharmacy 
permitted by the Board that has prepared, labeled, or dispensed 
any compounded drug (for any patient or other person, either 
within or outside North Carolina) during the immediately 
preceding calendar year must update all information regarding its 
services in the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy's e-
Profile Connect system at https://dashboard.nabp/pharmacy. 
(j)(k)  In addition to the requirements of this Section, the 
compounding of radiopharmaceutical drug products shall comply 
with Section .2700 of this Chapter. 
(k)(l)  United States Pharmacopeia chapters <795> or <797> may 
be inspected at the offices of the Board during its normal hours of 
operation. Copies also may be obtained from the U.S. 
Pharmacopeial Convention (www.usp.org), as a free download 
part of the "USP on Compounding: A Guide for the Compounding 
Practitioner," as an electronic publication, that cost one hundred 
dollars ($100.00) as of the effective date of the last amendment to 
this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21A; 90-85.26; 90-85.32. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
CHAPTER 63 - SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND 

LICENSURE BOARD 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Social Work Certification and Licensure Board intends to adopt 
the rules cited as 21 NCAC 63 .0207, .0705, amend the rules cited 
as 21 NCAC 63 .0202-.0204, .0208-.0211, .0213, .0214, .0301, 
.0306, .0401, .0403-.0406, .0503-.0505, .0508, .0509, .0601-
.0603, .0607-.0610, .0701, .0704, .0901, .0902, and repeal the 
rules cited as 21 NCAC 63 .0304 and .0703. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
www.ncswboard.org 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  June 3, 2021 
Time:  2:00 p.m. 
Location:  Via Webex: Join from the meeting link: 
https://northcarolinasocialworkcertificationandlicensureboard.
my.webex.com/northcarolinasocialworkcertificationandlicensur
eboard.my/j.php?MTID=m6147ccd50741650d11cf5529b88d9e0
1; Join by Meeting Number (Access Code): 182 867 3284; 
Meeting Password: B9gQ6JvAfd7 (29476582 from phones and 
video systems); Tap to Join from a Mobile Device: +1-415-655-
0001, 1828673284#29476582# US Toll; Some mobile devices 
may ask attendees to enter a numeric password; Join by Phone: 
+1-415-655-0001, US Toll; Join by Video System, Application or 
Skype for Business, Dial 1828673284@webex.com; You can also 
dial 173.243.2.68 and enter your meeting number. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
21 NCAC 63 .0202 To set forth guidelines for the 
application for licensure process and required documentation.  
21 NCAC 63 .0203 To clarify transcript requirements for 
social work degrees. 
21 NCAC 63 .0204 To set forth standards for applicant 
references and establish forms for references. 
21 NCAC 63 .0207 To set forth guidelines for applicants 
from other jurisdictions and the requirements for substantial 
equivalency determinations.  
21 NCAC 63 .0208 To address fees for applicants for 
licensure and multiple applications. 
21 NCAC 63 .0209 To establish eligibility standards for 
examinations. 
21 NCAC 63 .0210 To establish guidelines for associate 
licensee's application for licensure, supervision, and 
documentation. 
21 NCAC 63 .0211 To clarify work experience 
requirements for licensure. 
21 NCAC 63 .0213 To set forth application process for 
temporary licenses to practice. 
21 NCAC 63 .0214 To clarify certification or licensure 
application requirements for military personnel and spouses. 
21 NCAC 63 .0301 To set forth types of qualifying 
examinations for certification and licensure. 
21 NCAC 63 .0304 To repeal cancelation refund policies 
for examination. 
21 NCAC 63 .0306 To clarify that examination fees are 
nonrefundable. 
21 NCAC 63 .0401 To clarify continuing education 
requirements. 
21 NCAC 63 .0403 To set forth guidelines for renewal 
affidavits as part of the renewal of license application process. 
21 NCAC 63 .0404 To set forth standards and additional 
requirements for reinstatement of a license after suspension for 
failure to renew and after temporary retirement from practice. 
21 NCAC 63 .0405 To clarify required reporting applies 
to certificate holders, as well as licensees. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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21 NCAC 63 .0406 To simplify military waiver or 
extension of time requests for renewal processes. 
21 NCAC 63 .0503 To clarify guidelines for the ethical 
standards, representations to public and scope of practice 
standards. 
21 NCAC 63 .0504 To clarify standards regarding sexual 
activities or relationships with current or former clients. 
21 NCAC 63 .0505 To make non-substantive grammatical 
changes for ethical guidelines on relationships with colleagues. 
21 NCAC 63 .0508 To clarify standards for social worker 
research and scholarly activity. 
21 NCAC 63 .0509 To clarify requirements for statements 
to the public regarding experience and abilities. 
21 NCAC 63 .0601 To provide guidance on types of 
conduct interpreted as violations of GS 90B-11. 
21 NCAC 63 .0602 To set forth guidelines for filing a 
complaint with the Board and the subsequent investigation. 
21 NCAC 63 .0603 To clarify procedure for notifying 
licensees of charges and other disciplinary procedures.  
21 NCAC 63 .0607 To clarify procedure for the 
administrative hearing. 
21 NCAC 63 .0608 To set forth guidelines for the 
deliberation process and reaching a decision in contested 
disciplinary proceeding. 
21 NCAC 63 .0609 To clarify procedure for reporting 
disciplinary actions to the National Practitioner Data Base. 
21 NCAC 63 .0610 To set forth guidelines for requesting 
continuances of disciplinary hearings. 
21 NCAC 63 .0701 To clarify procedures for submitting a 
petition for rule-making. 
21 NCAC 63 .0703 To repeal guidelines for passing 
temporary rules. 
21 NCAC 63 .0704 To make non-substantive grammatical 
changes to requests for declaratory ruling. 
21 NCAC 63 .0705 To set forth guidelines for processing 
checks with insufficient funds.  
21 NCAC 63 .0901 To set forth guidelines for applications 
of Certificates of Registration for professional corporations and 
limited liability companies. 
21 NCAC 63 .0902 To set forth guidelines for renewing a 
Certification of Registration. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Elizabeth Pope, NC Social 
Work Certification and Licensure Board, 1207 S. Cox St.; Suite 
F, Asheboro, NC 27203; phone (336) 625-1679; fax (336) 625-
4246; email epope@ncswboard.org 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SECTION .0200 - CERTIFICATION 

 
21 NCAC 63 .0202 APPLICATION PROCESS 
Applications, inquiries and forms shall be obtained from and 
returned to the Board. Applicants must submit only forms 
obtained directly from the Board office. 
(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 90B-7, any person desiring to obtain a 
certificate or license from the Board shall make application to the 
Board. Applications not completed within two years of 
submission to the Board shall be denied. Application forms and 
instructions may be found on the Board's website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org. 
(b)  All applications for certification or licensure shall contain the 
following: 

(1) the applicant's contact information; 
(2) the social security number of the applicant; 
(3) the requested designation of licensure or 

certification type; 
(4) educational history and degree attainment; 
(5) the names and contact information of three 

persons supplying professional reference forms 
in support of the applicant's application, as well 
as the length of time that said persons have 
known the applicant; 

(6) employment history; 
(7) whether the applicant has ever been certified, 

licensed, or registered to practice social work 
by the Board, by another occupational Board, 
or in another state/jurisdiction and, if so: 
(A) what credential was held; 
(B) in what state/jurisdiction; 
(C) the issuance date and expiration date; 

and 
(D) what examinations were taken to 

obtain said certification, licensure, or 
registration; 

(8) whether the applicant has ever had a credential 
denied, limited, reprimanded, suspended, or 
revoked; 

(9) whether the applicant has ever been convicted 
of a felony or misdemeanor under any laws; 

(10) whether any criminal charges are pending 
against the applicant; 
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(11) whether any court, board, agency, or 
professional organization has found the 
applicant guilty of misconduct, unprofessional 
conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or 
incompetent practice; 

(12) whether any charges are pending against the 
applicant before any court, board, agency, or 
professional organization for unprofessional 
conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or 
incompetent practice; 

(13) three professional references, as prescribed in 
21 NCAC 63 .0204, provided in a sealed 
envelope with the signature of the reference 
over the sealed closure; 

(14) official score reports showing passage of the 
required examination, as prescribed herein and 
in 21 NCAC 63 .0301, provided from the 
examination testing provider; 

(15) official transcripts, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 
63 .0203, provided either from said institution 
directly to the Board or from the applicant to the 
Board in an envelope that is sealed by said 
institution; 

(16) the applicant's affirmation that: 
(A) the applicant has read the North 

Carolina General Statute 90B Social 
Work Certification and Licensure Act, 
including the Board's rules, ethical 
guidelines, and disciplinary 
procedures, which are available on the 
Board's website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org; 

(B) the information provided by the 
applicant in the application is true; 

(C) the applicant consents to a criminal 
history record check; and 

(D) the applicant has read and understands 
the public notice statement on 
employee misclassification that is set 
forth in the application and has 
disclosed any investigations for 
employee misclassification, and its 
results, over the preceding 12-month 
period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789; 
and 

(17) the application fee, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 
63 .0208. 

(c)  In addition to the items set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 
applicants for certification as a certified social work manager shall 
provide a completed CSWM Administrative Supervision Form, as 
prescribed in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, and an Employment 
Verification Form, as prescribed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule, to 
demonstrate supervised administrative experience attained in the 
preceding six years. 
(d)  Applicants for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker 
who are licensed by the Board as licensed clinical social worker 
associates at the time of application shall provide to the Board the 
LCSW Short-Form Application, which contains the following: 

(1) the applicant's name, the number of his or her 
licensed social worker associate license, and 
contact information; 

(2) the signature of the applicant and the applicant's 
LCSW supervisor; 

(3) whether the LCSW supervisor recommends 
that the applicant continue supervised clinical 
practice at the LCSWA level or recommends 
the applicant for LCSW licensure; 

(4) the applicant's certification that: 
(A) the applicant has completed the 

requirements to obtain licensure in 
North Carolina as a LCSW as set forth 
in G.S. 90B-7(d); 

(B) the applicant has read the North 
Carolina General Statute 90B Social 
Work Certification and Licensure Act, 
and the Board's rules, ethical 
guidelines, and disciplinary 
procedures, which are available on the 
Board's website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org, and 
agrees to comply with them; 

(C) the information provided by the 
applicant in the application is true; 

(D) the applicant has not violated any of 
the Board's governing statutes or rules; 

(E) the applicant has not been convicted of 
a misdemeanor or felony crime since 
submitting his or her initial application 
for associate licensure; and 

(F) the applicant has read and understands 
the public notice statement on 
employee misclassification that is set 
forth in the application and has 
disclosed any investigations for 
employee misclassification, and its 
results, over the preceding 12-month 
period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789; 

(5) the application fee, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 
63 .0208; and 

(6) a list of all continuing education hours taken 
since the applicant was licensed as a LCSWA 
or since renewal of LCSWA licensure that 
provides the name of the course taken, the date 
on which the course was taken, the length of the 
course taken, and whether the course taken was 
distance learning or for ethics. 

(e)  A CSWM Administrative Supervision Form shall contain the 
following: 

(1) the name of the applicant and his or her 
supervisor; 

(2) the applicant's position; 
(3) a description of the applicant's administrative 

duties and responsibilities for the employer; 
(4) where the applicant worked during the time that 

supervision was provided to the applicant; 
(5) dates during which the applicant was employed; 
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(6) total number of hours during which the 
applicant was employed; 

(7) dates during which the supervisor provided 
administrative supervision; 

(8) total number of hours during which the 
supervisor provided individual administrative 
supervision to the applicant; 

(9) total number of hours during which the 
supervisor provided group administrative 
supervision to the applicant; 

(10) total combined hours of individual and group 
hours provided to the applicant; and 

(11) the supervisor's certification that the 
information set forth in the CSWM 
Administrative Supervision Form is correct and 
that the supervisor is certified with the Board on 
at least one level and has a minimum of two 
years of administrative experience in a social 
work or mental health setting. 

(f)  An Employment Verification Form shall be completed for 
each place of employment in which the applicant has worked over 
the preceding six years and shall contain the following: 

(1) the applicant's name and contact information; 
(2) the applicant's license number, if a license is 

held; 
(3) the name and contact information of the 

applicant's place of employment; 
(4) the title of the applicant's position; 
(5) whether the applicant is authorized to provide 

clinical services on behalf of the employer; 
(6) the applicant's duties for the employer, as 

documented in a job description on the 
employer's letterhead; 

(7) the name and license number of the applicant's 
clinical supervisor; 

(8) whether the applicant's supervisor provided 
supervision to the applicant in person or 
remotely; 

(9) the date of the applicant's employment; 
(10) whether the applicant was employed full-time, 

part-time, or pro re nata; 
(11) whether the applicant is paid a fee or salary for 

services performed; and 
(12) the employer's signature, contact information, 

and the date completed. 
On the Employment Verification Form, the applicant shall 
provide the information requested in Subparagraphs (f)(1)-(2) of 
this Rule and the applicant's employer shall provide the 
information requested in Subparagraphs (f)(3)-(12) of this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-7; 93B-8.1(c); 143-789. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0203 TRANSCRIPTS 
Applicants must have official transcripts sent from institutions 
where their highest social work degrees have been conferred. If 
transcript course titles are ambiguous, or do not adequately 
convey the pertinent content of the courses, the applicant shall 
provide clarifying documents may be requested. documentation 
from the institution. 

Authority G.S. 90B-7; S.L. 1999-313. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0204 REFERENCES 
(a)  Applicants for all the LCSW and CSWM classifications shall 
have a minimum of three references related to the applicant's 
social work experience. experience, as required by G.S. 90B-7(d) 
and (e). Applicants for other classifications shall have a minimum 
of three references. The Board shall not accept references by 
relatives, clients, or subordinates of applicants. A current Board 
member shall not submit a reference for an applicant unless he or 
she the Board member is the applicant's current or only social 
work supervisor. In such a case the Board member may submit a 
reference, but he or she the Board member shall excuse himself 
or herself recuse oneself from review of that applicant. 
(b)  All references shall come from individuals who have or had a 
professional association with the applicant and have knowledge 
of the applicant's professional experience in the practice of social 
work. 
(c)  For applicants for LCSWA licensure, at least one reference 
shall be from one a person who has been or is currently 
supervising the applicant in a social work setting. 
(d)  For applicants from other jurisdictions seeking certification 
or licensure in accordance with G.S. 90B-8, at least one reference 
shall be from a registered, certified, or licensed social worker who 
has been or is currently practicing in a social work setting. 
(e)  All references shall be on a form prescribed by the Board, 
which is available on the Board's website at ncswboard.org, and 
shall contain the following: 

(1) the name of the applicant and the classification 
for which the applicant is applying; 

(2) the name of the person completing the 
reference; 

(3) the applicant's signature and applicant's 
indication as to whether or not the applicant 
waives the right to access the information 
provided by the person completing the 
reference; 

(4) the profession of the person completing the 
reference; 

(5) the position of the person completing the 
reference; 

(6) the relationship between the applicant and the 
person completing the reference; 

(7) how long the person completing the reference 
has known the applicant; 

(8) whether the person completing the reference 
believes that he or she has limited, moderate, or 
thorough knowledge of the applicant's 
professional qualifications; 

(9) whether the applicant has ever been guilty of 
unprofessional conduct, dishonest practice, 
incompetence, or fraud, if known by the person 
completing the reference; 

(10) if the person completing the reference is aware 
of any issues such as substance abuse or 
emotional disorders that would impair the 
applicant's ability to practice; 

(11) if the person completing the reference has any 
concerns about the applicant that he or she 
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would like to bring to the Board's attention and 
if so, a description; 

(12) a rating of poor, good, superior, or unknown for 
the applicant's professional judgement, ethical 
conduct, competence and skill, concern and 
empathy, record keeping, client relationships, 
written communication, verbal communication, 
and social work knowledge base; 

(13) whether the person completing the reference, in 
his or her discretion, would recommend the 
applicant highly without reservation; 
recommend the applicant as qualified and 
competent; recommend the applicant with some 
reservation and if so, to explain accordingly; or 
would not recommend the applicant and if not, 
to explain accordingly; 

(14) a narrative of the applicant's strengths, 
weaknesses, special skills, reservations, or 
other information related to the applicant's 
suitability for certification or licensure, 
including any reservations held by the person 
completing the reference regarding the 
applicant; and 

(15) the signature and contact information of the 
person completing the reference. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-7; 90B-8. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0207 SUBSTANTIAL EQUIVALENCY 
(a)  In addition to the items set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), 
applicants for certification as a certified social worker pursuant to 
G.S. 90B-8 shall provide verification of current certification, 
license, or registration in good standing to practice social work in 
another jurisdiction and certified proof of having passed the 
ASWB Bachelors Level Examination. 
(b)  In addition to the items set in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), 
applicants for certification as a certified master social worker 
pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide verification of current 
certification, license, or registration and certified proof of having 
passed the ASWB Masters Level Examination or ACSW exam. 
(c)  In addition to the items set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), 
applicants for certification as a certified social work manager 
pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide: 

(1) verification of current licensure in good 
standing to practice social work in another 
jurisdiction; 

(2) a copy of the state or jurisdiction law 
determining the qualifications under which the 
applicant was certified in the other state or 
jurisdiction; and 

(3) certified proof that the applicant has passed the 
ASWB Advanced Generalist Exam. 

(d)  In addition to the items set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), 
applicants for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker 
pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide verification of a current and 
active license in good standing to practice social work in another 
jurisdiction and certified proof of having passed the ASWB 
Clinical Level Examination. If the applicant has not passed the 
ASWB Clinical Level Examination at the time of application, the 

applicant must provide a copy of the state/jurisdiction law 
determining the qualifications under which the applicant was 
licensed to practice social work in the other state or jurisdiction 
so that the Board can determine the applicant's eligibility to take 
the ASWB Clinical Examination. 
(e)  In addition to the items set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), 
applicants for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker 
associate pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide: 

(1) verification of current and active licensure in 
good standing to practice social work in another 
jurisdiction; 

(2) an Employment Verification Form, as 
prescribed in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(f), that sets 
forth the total number of hours and dates of paid 
supervised post-MSW practice in a clinical 
setting from each employer for which the 
applicant has practiced clinical social work in 
the preceding six years, provided in a sealed 
envelope with the employer's signature on the 
envelope's sealed closure; and 

(3) a Clinical Social Work Supervision Form, as 
described in Paragraph (f) of this Rule, from 
each person who previously has provided 
clinical supervision to the applicant during the 
four years preceding the application, provided 
in a sealed envelope with the signature of the 
applicant's clinical supervisor on the envelope's 
sealed closure. 

(f)  A Clinical Social Work Supervision Form shall be on a form 
prescribed by the Board, which is available on the Board's website 
at ncswboard.org, and shall contain the following: 

(1) the name of the applicant and his or her clinical 
supervisor; 

(2) the applicant's position; 
(3) a description of the applicant's clinical social 

work duties and responsibilities with 
information about the population served by 
applicant, problems addressed, assessment, and 
treatment modalities used for treatment and 
diagnosis of mental and emotional disorders; 

(4) where the applicant worked; 
(5) dates during which the applicant was employed; 
(6) total number of hours during which the 

applicant was employed; 
(7) dates during which the clinical supervisor 

provided supervision to the applicant; 
(8) total number of hours during which the clinical 

supervisor provided individual supervision to 
the applicant; 

(9) total number of hours during which the clinical 
supervisor provided group supervision to the 
applicant; 

(10) total combined hours of individual and group 
supervision that clinical supervisor provided to 
the applicant; and 

(11) the clinical supervisor's certification that the 
information set forth in the Clinical Social 
Work Supervision Form is correct; that the 
clinical supervisor is certified, licensed, or 
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registered as a clinical social worker with a 
graduate degree in social work from a program 
accredited by the Council on Social Work 
Education and has at least two years of clinical 
social work experience post-licensure. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-7; 90B-8. 90B-10. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0208 APPLICATION FEE 
Each applicant for certification or licensure by the Board shall 
submit an initial application fee of one hundred and fifteen forty-
five dollars ($115.00)($145.00) with the application. application, 
unless otherwise exempt under G.S. 93B-15.1. An applicant 
applying for multiple levels of certification or licensure within 
one application must submit an application fee of one hundred and 
forty-five dollars ($145.00) per each level for which the applicant 
applies. Application fees shall be paid only by money order, 
certified bank check, or credit card. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-6.2. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0209 EXAM ELIGIBILITY 
(a)  The Board shall review each application submitted pursuant 
to 21 NCAC 63 .0202 and .0207 to determine whether an 
applicant's applicant possesses the educational, supervision, and 
examination qualifications for eligibility for a particular level of 
certification. certification or licensure, pursuant to G.S. 90B-7. An 
applicant will be notified in writing if he/she is ineligible for the 
requested level of certification. To be considered eligible to take 
the Clinical examination, an applicant must have two years of 
experience in a clinical social work setting documented with the 
Board and a MSW. To be considered eligible to take the 
Advanced Generalist examination, an applicant must have two 
years of experience in an administrative social work setting. 
He/she may then apply for another level of certification. If an 
applicant is found to be ineligible for any level of certification, 
he/she may not sit for any examination. 
(b)  An applicant shall be notified in writing if found to be 
ineligible for the requested level of certification. If an applicant is 
found ineligible for the particular level of certification or licensure 
for which he or she has applied, the applicant may request in 
writing to the Board that the applicant be considered for eligibility 
for another level of certification or licensure for which the 
applicant possesses the minimum education, supervision, and 
examination qualifications. Such request must be made no later 
than 30 days following the date on which the applicant received 
written notification of ineligibility, as set forth in Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule. If an applicant is found to be ineligible for any level of 
certification or licensure, the applicant shall not be allowed to sit 
for any examination. 
(c)  If an applicant is found eligible for the particular level of 
certification or licensure for which he or she has applied, the 
Board shall issue the applicant notification of exam candidacy 
approval. Upon receipt, the applicant shall submit to the Board an 
Exam Request Form or Clinical Exam Request Form, as described 
in Paragraphs (e) and (f) of this Rule, and the fee set forth in 21 
NCAC 63 .0303 to initiate the exam process. 
(d)  Upon receipt of the applicant's Exam Request Form and the 
fee set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0303, the Board shall forward to the 

applicant instructions for registering to sit for the examination and 
the deadline by which the exam eligibility shall expire, which is 
determined in accordance with the ASWB Examination 
Candidate Handbook that is available at http://aswb.org. If the 
applicant fails to take the examination before the deadline by 
which the exam eligibility shall expire, the applicant must submit 
another Exam Request Form and the fee set forth in 21 NCAC 63 
.0303 in order to take the examination. If the applicant takes but 
fails the examination, the applicant must submit another Exam 
Request Form and the fee set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0303 in order 
to re-take the examination, even if the expiration date has not yet 
occurred. An applicant must wait at least 90 days from the date on 
which he or she took the examination before re-taking the 
examination. 
(e)  An applicant desiring to take an examination other than the 
ASWB Clinical level examination shall submit to the Board an 
Exam Request Form, which is available on the Board's website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org, that shall contain the following: 

(1) the applicant's name and address; 
(2) the applicant's social security number; and 
(3) the type of examination for which the applicant 

is approved to sit. 
(f)  An applicant desiring to take the ASWB Clinical level 
examination shall submit to the Board a Clinical Exam Request 
Form, which is available on the Board's website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org, only after completing two years of 
clinical practice. The Clinical Exam Request Form shall contain 
the following: 

(1) the name and license number of the applicant; 
(2) the contact information, date of birth, and 

signature of the applicant; 
(3) the name, license number, and signature of the 

applicant's clinical supervisor; and 
(4) the attestation of the applicant's clinical 

supervisor that the applicant has completed two 
years of clinical practice and is qualified to take 
the ASWB Clinical level examination. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-6.2. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0210 ASSOCIATE LICENSES 
(a)  The Board shall issue an associate license to any person who 
meets the requirements in G.S. 90B-7(f). Applicants for licensure 
as a LCSWA shall provide an application to the Board, as set forth 
in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), and shall comply with the requirements 
of this Rule. 
(b)  Applications and forms shall be obtained from and returned 
to the Board Office. The application fee set in Rule .0208 of this 
Chapter shall be submitted with the application. 
(c)(b)  Prior to practicing clinical social work, applicants 
associates must demonstrate in writing through an emergency 
crisis plan that, in the event of a clinical emergency, they have 
immediate access to a at least one licensed mental health 
professional who has agreed to provide to them emergency 
clinical consultation to assure that standards of compliance with 
the North Carolina statutes and rules governing clinical social 
work practice are maintained. For purposes of this Rule, 
"immediate" shall mean within one hour. Each licensed clinical 
social worker associate shall notify the Board in writing of any 
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change in such access. The emergency crisis plan shall be 
submitted on a form prescribed by the Board that is available on 
the Board's website. The emergency crisis plan outline must be 
submitted for each location at which the associate practices and 
shall provide the following: 

(1) the name, address, and contact information for 
the LCSWA practice; 

(2) a description of the practice setting that 
provides whether the practice is in a home, an 
office setting, and whether the LCSWA 
practices with other practitioners; 

(3) a hierarchy of initial contact persons, if more 
than one contact person is identified; where 
each person is located; and his or her estimated 
response time; 

(4) a plan for follow-up consultations with the 
LCSWA's clinical supervisor if an alternate 
emergency contact was consulted at the time of 
need; and 

(5) signatures and license numbers of the LCSWA, 
the LCSW supervisor, and the emergency 
consultant back-up provider. 

Each licensed clinical social worker associate shall notify the 
Board in writing within seven days of any change in such access 
by resubmission of an emergency crisis plan outline form. 
(c)  Prior to practicing clinical social work, associates shall 
provide to the Board an Employment Verification for LCSWA 
form that contains the following: 

(1) the associate's name, address, contact 
information, license number, and license 
issuance and expiration dates; 

(2) the name and address of the agency for which 
the associate intends to work; 

(3) the associate's current position title and a copy 
of the job description; 

(4) whether the associate is authorized by the 
employer to provide clinical services; 

(5) the name of the associate's LCSW clinical 
supervisor and whether the supervisor is located 
on-site or off-site; 

(6) whether the associate is being paid a fee or 
salary; 

(7) dates during which the associate is working 
full-time, part-time, or as needed; and 

(8) the name and signature of the person 
completing the form on behalf of the employer. 

(d)  Each associate licensee must be supervised as set forth in G.S. 
90B-7(f) and receive on-going appropriate supervision as defined 
in Rule .0211(a)(2) of this Chapter until the associate licensee is 
licensed as a qualifying examination has been passed and the 
Licensed Clinical Social Worker. Worker license is issued. 
(e)  All associate licensees shall submit reports of their clinical 
social work experience and supervision on a form prescribed by 
the Board and made available on the Board's website the 
appropriate Board form(s) every six months for review and 
evaluation by the Board. This six-month review form shall contain 
the following: 

(1) the associate's name, LCSWA license number, 
and contact information for the associate; 

(2) the associate's place of employment and an 
employment verification form, as prescribed in 
21 NCAC 63 .0202(f), if not previously 
provided to the Board; 

(3) the associate's signature and date submitted; 
(4) an acknowledgment from the associate's LCSW 

supervisor as to whether: 
(A) a position statement on clinical 

supervision, available on the Board's 
website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org, has been 
signed and submitted to the Board; 

(B) an emergency crisis plan, as set forth 
in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, has been 
submitted to the Board; 

(C) a supervisory log has been maintained 
and is available upon request to verify 
documented supervision; and 

(D) a case narrative summarizing one case 
treated during this review period has 
been prepared, reviewed, and is on file 
and available for Board review, if 
needed; 

(5) a rating of the associate by the associate's 
LCSW supervisor in all the following 
categories: 
(A) ethical standards of social work 

practice; 
(B) effective use of supervision; 
(C) competence in social work practice; 
(D) professional growth and development; 
(E) consistency of performance effort; 
(F) knowledge of social work principles 

and practices; 
(G) ability to formulate a treatment plan 

appropriate to the clients' needs; 
(H) ability to implement interventions 

consistent with the treatment plan; 
(I) supervisee's ability to assess his or her 

own capacities and skills; 
(J) ability to correctly diagnose mental 

and emotional disorders; and 
(K) ability to plan treatment and carry out 

clinical interventions related to mental 
and emotional disorders. 

(6) a narrative summary regarding the associate's 
growth as a clinical practitioner and 
participation in clinical supervision; 

(7) the period during which the associate received 
supervision from the LCSW supervisor; 

(8) the number of in-person hours of individual 
supervision that the associate received; 

(9) the number of in-person hours of group 
supervision that the associate received; 

(10) the number of hours provided through 
technology that the associate received in a 
group setting; 
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(11) the number of hours provided through 
technology that the associate received in an 
individual setting; 

(12) the number of clinical practice hours that the 
associate attained during the review period; and 

(13) the name, phone number, signature, and license 
number with expiration date of the associate's 
LCSW supervisor. 

(f)  To prevent a lapse in licensure, associate licensees who desire 
to become Licensed Clinical Social Workers shall renew the 
LCSWA or complete the application process for the Licensed 
Clinical Social Worker classification and submit the application 
fee as set in Rule .0208 of this Chapter early enough to allow at 
least 30 days for administrative processing and Board action prior 
to the expiration of the associate associate's license. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-7. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0211 WORK EXPERIENCE 
(a)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(d)(s) 90B-7(d) for 
the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) credential: 
credential are as follows: 

(1) Two years of post-MSW clinical social work 
experience shall mean 3,000 documented clock 
hours of work or employment for a fee or salary 
while engaged in the practice of clinical social 
work as defined in this Chapter. The 3,000 
hours shall be accumulated after the issuance of 
the associate license and over a period of time 
not less than two years nor and no more than six 
consecutive years. Practicum or internship 
experience gained as part of any educational 
program shall not be included. Pursuant to G.S. 
93B-15.1(a), military applicants may receive 
credit for military occupational specialty 
experience obtained post MSW degree and 
deemed substantially equivalent to clinical 
social work practice as defined in this Chapter. 

(2) Appropriate supervision shall mean supervision 
by a MSW who is also a Licensed Clinical 
Social Worker and who is in good standing with 
the Board. A supervisor disciplined by any 
professional credentialing body or professional 
organization, or who has violated the provisions 
of an occupational licensing Board may not 
provide supervision to an associate licensee 
without the written permission of the Board. 
The Licensed Clinical Social Worker 
Associate's (LCSWA) clinical social work 
supervisor shall have an additional two years of 
clinical social work experience post LCSW 
licensure. 

(3) Appropriate supervision shall be that which is 
provided on a regular basis, conducted no less 
than once every two weeks, with at least one 
hour of supervision during every 30 hours of 
experience. A minimum of 100 hours of 
supervision is required. The clinical supervisor 
shall make the initial determination whether the 

applicant's work experience meets the 
definition of clinical social work in accordance 
with the rules of this Chapter. The Board shall 
make the final determination whether or not the 
applicant's work experience meets the 
definition of clinical social work practice. 
Appropriate supervision may be individual or 
group supervision. Individual supervision shall 
mean one on one, face-to-face supervision by a 
MSW who is also a LCSW where the 
supervisor reviews and discusses clinical social 
work cases, reviews documentation, and 
provides evaluative comments and direction to 
the LCSWA. Group supervision shall mean 
face-to-face supervision provided by a MSW 
who is also a LCSW in a group setting, during 
which the supervisor reviews and discusses 
clinical social work cases, reviews 
documentation, and provides feedback and 
direction to each LCSWA in the group. A 
maximum of 25 hours of group supervision 
may be applied toward meeting the supervision 
requirements for the LCSW. 

(4) Unless otherwise preapproved by the Board, no 
more than 20 hours of supervision may be 
provided through the use of technology. The 
clinical supervisor may seek approval by 
providing a written request to the Board. The 
request shall include the parties' information, 
including name, license number, and business 
address; and the circumstances for which the 
additional hours are needed. Approval of the 
request shall be determined on a case by case 
basis, based upon the circumstances provided in 
the request. All supervision provided through 
the use of technology shall be synchronous, 
involve visual and audio interactions 
throughout the entire session, and shall take 
place in such a manner as to maintain the 
confidentiality of the communication. 

(b)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(e)(2) for the 
Certified Social Work Manager (CSWM) credential: credential 
are as follows: 

(1) Two years of post social work degree 
experience shall mean 3,000 documented clock 
hours of employment for a fee or salary while 
engaged in administrative social work duties 
including, policy and budgetary development 
and implementation, supervision and 
management, program evaluation, planning, 
and staff development. Such duties shall be 
carried out in an administrative setting where 
social work or other mental health services are 
delivered. The 3,000 hours shall be 
accumulated over a period of time not less than 
two years nor and no more than six consecutive 
years. Practicum or internship experience 
gained as part of any educational program shall 
not be included. 
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(2) Appropriate supervision shall mean face-to-
face supervision by a social work administrator 
certified or licensed by the Board who has a 
minimum of two years of administrative 
experience in a social work or mental health 
setting. Appropriate supervision shall be that 
which is provided on a regular basis, conducted 
no less than once every two weeks throughout 
the applicant's two years of administrative 
social work experience. A minimum of 100 
hours of supervision is required. A maximum of 
50 hours of group supervision may be applied 
toward meeting the supervision requirements 
for the CSWM. No more than 20 50 hours of 
supervision may be provided through the use of 
technology. All supervision provided through 
the use of technology shall be synchronous, 
involve visual and audio interaction throughout 
the entire session, and shall take place in such a 
manner as to maintain the confidentiality of the 
communication. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-7. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0213 TEMPORARY LICENSES 
The Board may issue a non-renewable temporary reciprocal 
license pursuant to G.S. 90B-8(b), that is valid for no more than 
six months, upon receipt of a twenty five dollar ($25.00) fee. 
(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 90B-8(b), any nonresident clinical social 
worker certified, registered, or licensed in another jurisdiction 
desiring to obtain a temporary license from the Board shall make 
application to the Board. Applications not completed within two 
years of submission to the Board shall be denied. Application 
forms and instructions may be found on the Board's website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org. A temporary license shall expire six 
months following the date of issuance and is not eligible for 
renewal. No individual shall hold more than one temporary 
license within a five-year period. 
(b)  An applicant pursuant to this Rule shall provide the following 
information on the application set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule: 

(1) the applicant's name, contact information, 
signature, and date of signature; 

(2) the social security number of the applicant; 
(3) the requested designation of licensure type; 
(4) the applicant's place of employment, the name 

of the applicant's supervisor, and the license 
number of the applicant's supervisor, if the 
supervisor holds a license to practice clinical 
social work; 

(5) educational history and degree attainment; 
(6) whether the applicant has ever been certified, 

licensed, or registered to practice social work 
by the Board, by another occupational board or 
agency, or in another state/jurisdiction and, if 
so: 
(A) what credential was held; 
(B) in what state/jurisdiction; 

(C) the issuance date and expiration date; 
and 

(D) what examinations were taken to 
obtain said certification, licensure, or 
registration; 

(7) whether the applicant ever has had a credential 
denied, limited, reprimanded, suspended, or 
revoked; 

(8) whether the applicant ever has been convicted 
of a felony or misdemeanor under any laws; 

(9) whether any criminal charges are pending 
against the applicant; 

(10) whether any court, board, agency, or 
professional organization has found the 
applicant guilty of misconduct, unprofessional 
conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or 
incompetent practice; 

(11) whether any charges are pending against the 
applicant before any court, board, agency, or 
professional organization for unprofessional 
conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or 
incompetent practice; 

(12) the applicant's certification that: 
(A) the applicant has read the North 

Carolina General Statute 90B Social 
Worker Certification and Licensure 
Act, and the Board's rules, ethical 
guidelines, and disciplinary 
procedures, which are available on the 
Board's website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org, and 
agrees to comply with them; 

(B) the information provided by the 
applicant in the application is true; 

(C) the applicant consents to a criminal 
history record check; 

(D) the applicant's consent for the 
jurisdiction in which the applicant is 
licensed to release information to the 
Board related to the applicant's 
licensure status and practice of social 
work; 

(E) the applicant has read and understands 
the public notice statement on 
employee misclassification 
that is set forth in the application and 
has disclosed any investigations for 
employee misclassification, and its 
results, over the preceding 12-month 
period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789; 
and 

(13) an application fee of twenty-five dollars 
($25.00). 

(c)  An applicant pursuant to this Rule shall provide a copy of the 
completed application set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule to the 
occupational board or agency in which the applicant is certified, 
licensed, or registered to practice social work. The applicant shall 
request that the occupational board or agency in which the 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
35:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 15, 2021 

2260 

applicant is certified, licensed, or registered to practice social 
work submit a form to the Board that contains the following: 

(1) confirmation that the applicant's completed 
application as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 
Rule is accurate, if known; 

(2) whether the applicant obtained original 
licensure from the responding board or agency 
and, if not, the jurisdiction from which the 
applicant obtained original licensure; 

(3) whether the responding board or agency has 
official transcripts, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 
63 .0203, in its records for the applicant; 

(4) whether the applicant graduated from an 
education program that is accredited by the 
Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), 
for which accreditation standards are available 
at www.cswe.org; 

(5) whether the applicant was exempt or 
"grandfathered" from the jurisdiction's 
licensure requirements at the time the applicant 
received his or her certification, licensure, or 
registration to practice social work; 

(6) whether the applicant took an ASWB 
examination to obtain licensure in the 
responding board or agency's jurisdiction and, 
if so, which examination; 

(7) whether the applicant's licensure in the 
responding board or agency's jurisdiction is in 
good standing and, if not, the reason for which 
the licensure in not; 

(8) whether the responding board or agency, any 
state agency, or any professional organization 
ever has found the applicant guilty of 
misconduct, unprofessional conduct, dishonest 
or fraudulent practice, or incompetent practice 
and, if so, a copy of the documents adjudicating 
the applicant; 

(9) whether any charges are pending against the 
applicant before the responding board or 
agency, any state agency, or any professional 
organization for unprofessional conduct, 
dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 
practice; 

(10) whether the applicant completed any 
supervision of clinical practice that was 
approved by the responding board or agency 
and, if so: 
(A) the dates of supervision; 
(B) the total number of supervision hours 

recorded; 
(C) the total number of practice hours 

recorded; and 
(D) the name and license number of the 

applicant's supervisor; 
(11) whether the responding agency or board has 

any additional comments regarding the 
applicant's fitness to practice clinical social 
work or licensure status; and 

(12) the name, signature, date of signature, and 
contact information of the representative 
completing the information set forth in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule, with the responding 
board or agency's seal affixed. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-6.2; 90B-8. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0214 CERTIFICATION AND 
LICENSURE FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL AND 
MILITARY SPOUSES 
(a)  Upon receipt of a request for certification or licensure 
pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from an applicant with military training 
and experience, the Board shall issue a certificate or license upon 
the applicant's satisfying the following conditions: submission of 
the following to the Board: 

(1) Has completed and submits to the Board, an 
application containing the information as 
described in Rules .0202, .0203, and .0204 of 
this Section; 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b)(1)-(3), (6)-
(12), and (16); 

(2) Has provided to the Board written 
documentation to satisfy conditions set out in 
G.S. 93B-15.1(a) and (c); and 93B-15.1(a); or 

(3) Has passed the qualifying examination for the 
level of certification or licensure for which the 
applicant is applying. written documentation to 
satisfy conditions set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(a2). 

(b)  Upon receipt of a request for certification or licensure 
pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from a military spouse, the Board shall 
issue a certificate or license upon the applicant's satisfying the 
following conditions: submission of the following to the Board: 

(1) Has completed and submits to the Board, 
application information as described in Rules 
.0202, .0203, and .0204 of this Section; 21 
NCAC 63 .0202(b)(1)-(16); and 

(2) Has provided written documentation to satisfy 
conditions set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(b) and (c); 
and 93B-15.1(b). 

(3) Has passed the qualifying examination for the 
level of certification or licensure for which the 
applicant is applying. 

(c)  Military trained applicants and military spouse applicants may 
apply for a temporary license as described in Rule .0213 of this 
Section. license by submitting to the Board an application 
containing the information set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0213(b)(1)-
(12). Military spouse applicants seeking temporary licensure also 
must comply with 21 NCAC 63 .0213(c). A temporary license 
shall apply only to clinical licensure and requires the following: 
licensure. 

(1) Submission of an application and official 
written verification of equivalent licensure, 
certification, or registration in good standing 
from the jurisdiction under which the applicant 
is currently licensed, certified, or registered;  

(2) Payment of the applicable fee; 
(3) Prior to the expiration of the temporary license, 

the applicant shall fulfill all requirements for 
documentation of education, experience, 
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training, and examination, and pay any 
additional application fee as described in Rule 
.0202 of this Section. Upon receipt of all 
required documentation and applicable fees, the 
Board shall issue the appropriate clinical 
license for a period not to exceed two years. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6(h); 93B-15.1. 
 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATIONS 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0301 QUALIFYING EXAMINATIONS 
(a)  Any national examination selected by the Board, or any 
examination developed by the Board, Board shall serve to 
evaluate the qualifications of each applicant for certification or 
licensure. Any such examination shall be administered at least 
once a year. Applicants for certification or licensure must pass the 
appropriate qualifying examination within two years of the initial 
application; failure to do so will necessitate that the applicant 
reapply to the Board for certification or licensure. 
(b)  The Board examination required by G.S. 90B-7(b)(2) for the 
Certified Social Worker credential is the Association of Social 
Work Board ("ASWB") Bachelor level examination. The Board 
examination required by G.S. 90B-7(c)(2) for the Certified Master 
Social Worker credential is the ASWB Master level examination 
or the Academy of Certified Social Workers ("ACSW") 
examination. The Board examination required by G.S. 90B-
7(d)(3) for the Licensed Clinical Social Worker credential is the 
ASWB Clinical level examination. The Board examination 
required by G.S. 90B-7(e)(3) for the Certified Social Worker 
Manager credential is the ASWB Advanced Generalist level 
examination if the applicant holds a Master's degree, or the 
ASWB Bachelor level examination if the applicant holds a 
Bachelor's degree. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-7; 90B-8. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0304 CANCELLATION 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0306 EXAMINATION FEES 
An examination fee of forty dollars ($40.00) plus the cost of the 
examination to the Board shall be assessed for administration and 
processing of any written examination. Examination fees are 
nonrefundable. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-6.2. 
 

SECTION .0400 - RENEWAL OF 
CERTIFICATIONSECTION 

 
21 NCAC 63 .0401 CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Continuing education for certification or licensure renewal 
shall be required to maintain professional knowledge and 
technical competency. Renewal of certification or licensure shall 
require 40 contact hours of continuing education credits approved 
by the Board within each two year renewal cycle. Social workers 

shall obtain 40 contact hours of Board-approved continuing 
education credits in accordance with this Rule within each two-
year renewal cycle. For purposes of this Rule, a "contact hour" is 
defined as time spent actually receiving education, excluding 
breaks. If a certification or licensure is for less than a full two-
year period, then social workers shall obtain 30 contact hours of 
Board-approved continuing education credits in accordance with 
this Rule. then 30 contact hours of continuing education credits 
shall be required. Continuing education credits shall be awarded 
as follows: 

(1) Continuing continuing education units awarded 
that do not reflect contact hours or clock hours 
of instruction shall be awarded at the rate of one 
contact hour of credit for each continuing 
education unit; 

(2) One one academic course hour of credit shall be 
equal to 15 contact hours; and 

(3) Credit credit for auditing an academic course 
shall be for clock hours of instruction attended 
with one clock hour equal to one contact hour 
of credit. 

(b)  During each renewal period period, all certified and licensed 
social workers shall engage in a minimum of four contact hours 
of continuing education focused on ethics related to social work 
practice and ethical decision-making. 
(c)  The following activities shall be approved for continuing 
education: 

(1) Academic academic social work courses taken 
for credit or audit; 

(2) Agency-based agency-based staff 
development, seminars, institutes, workshops, 
mini courses or conferences oriented to social 
work practice, values, skills and knowledge; 

(3) Cross-disciplinary cross-disciplinary offerings 
from medicine, law and the behavioral/social 
sciences or other disciplines, if such offerings 
are related to social work practice, values, skills 
and knowledge; 

(4) Distance distance learning activities including 
online courses and home study courses that 
have been pre-approved by the Association of 
Social Work Boards (ASWB) or the North 
Carolina Chapter of the National Association of 
Social Workers (NASW-NC). (NASW) and its 
associated state chapters. A list of approved 
distance learning courses and providers are 
available online at www.aswb.org and 
www.naswnc.org. The maximum continuing 
education credit granted for distance learning 
activities is one half one-half of the required 
hours, up to a maximum of 20 contact hours per 
renewal period. Live synchronous Synchronous 
audio-video broadcasts allowing for real time 
interaction between the instructor and 
participants attending through electronic means 
shall not be considered distance learning 
activities; activities but as a face-to-face 
offering; and 
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(5) A a group of professionals within the health and 
human services or related fields organized to 
come together to study a particular topic 
focusing on social work practice provided the 
following can be documented: 
(A) study topic; topics; 
(B) study material; materials; 
(C) facilitator; facilitator(s); and 
(D) date date(s) and hours of attendance. 

(d)  Continuing education focusing on practitioner self-care and 
well-being shall not exceed six contact hours of credit during a 
single renewal cycle. 
(e)  Up to five contact hours of credit shall be granted per renewal 
cycle for presenting a training focused on social work practice 
provided that: 

(1) The the Board receives confirmation from the 
organization for which the licensee presented 
that identifies the licensee as the presenter, 
confirms the title and date of the presentation, 
the length of the presentation, and number of 
attendees; and 

(2) the dates of the presentation occur within the 
renewal cycle; cycle. 

(f)  Credit shall not be granted for: 
(1) identical programs completed within the same 

renewal period; 
(2) job orientation or training directed at procedural 

mandates such as health and safety practices, 
new hire training, and compliance training; or 

(3) supervision and case consultation. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-9. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0403 RENEWAL APPLICATION AND 
FEES 
(a)  To renew a certificate or license, a person must submit the 
following to the Board on or before the expiration of his or her 
certification or licensure: 

(1) all fees as required in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 
this Rule; and 

(2) a Renewal Affidavit, as described in Paragraph 
(d) of this Rule. 

(a)(b)  Fees for renewal of certificates or licenses are as follows: 
(1) For for Certified Social Workers (CSW's), the 

renewal fee is seventy dollars ($70.00). 
(2) For for Certified Master Social Workers 

(CMSW's), the renewal fee is ninety dollars 
($90.00)($90.00). 

(3) For for Licensed Clinical Social Workers 
(LCSW's), the renewal fee is one hundred and 
fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(4) For for Licensed Clinical Social Worker 
Associates (LCSWA's), the renewal fee is one 
hundred and forty dollars ($140.00). 

(5) For for Certified Social Work Managers 
(CSWM's), the renewal fee shall be one 
hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(b)(c)  Persons whose applications for renewal are received by the 
Board after the renewal date of their certificate or license, but no 

later than 60 days after the renewal date, shall pay a late renewal 
fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) in addition to any other applicable 
fees. Renewal fees are nonrefundable. 
(d)  A Renewal Affidavit shall contain the following: 

(1) the person's printed name, signature, and date; 
(2) the person's contact information; 
(3) the last four digits of the person's social security 

number and license number; 
(4) whether the person's contact information has 

changed since the previous renewal; 
(5) whether the person is requesting a duplicate 

license; 
(6) a list of all continuing education hours taken 

since the last renewal application that provides 
the name of the course taken, the date on which 
the course was taken, the length of the course 
taken, and whether the course taken was 
distance learning or for ethics; 

(7) the person's affirmation or certification that: 
(A) he or she has engaged in at least 40 

hours of continuing education 
activities, as described in 21 NCAC 63 
.0401, in the preceding 24 months or 
in at least 30 hours of continuing 
education activities if the renewal term 
is less than 2 years; 

(B) he or she has engaged in at least four 
hours of continuing education focused 
on ethics related to social work 
practice and ethical decision making 
in the preceding certificate or license 
cycle; 

(C) his or her ability to perform his or her 
professional responsibilities is not 
impaired in any way or by the use of 
alcohol, prescription or non-
prescription drugs, or other controlled 
substances; 

(D) he or she has not been convicted of a 
misdemeanor or felony crime since his 
or her last renewal or, if he or she has, 
an explanation of the conviction is 
provided; 

(E) he or she has reviewed and agree to 
comply with the Social Work 
Certification and Licensure Act and 21 
NCAC 63; 

(F) he or she has not violated Section 
.0500 of this Chapter; 

(G) he or she understands that renewal of 
his or her certification or license is 
subject to a Continuing Education 
audit and he or she agree to comply 
with an audit request from the Board; 

(H) the information in the Renewal 
Affidavit is accurate, that the Board 
may verify and investigate such 
information, and that any material 
omission or misrepresentation is 
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grounds for the Board's refusal to 
renew a license or certification; and 

(I) he or she has read and understands the 
public notice statement on employee 
misclassification that is set forth in the 
Renewal Affidavit and has disclosed 
any investigations for employee 
misclassification, and its results, over 
the preceding 12-month period, as 
prescribed by G.S 143-789. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-6.2; 90B-9(b). 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0404 REINSTATEMENT 
(a)  Persons who apply for reinstatement after temporary 
retirement from the practice of social work pursuant to G.S. 90B-
9(d), or after their certificate or license was suspended for failure 
to renew, renew shall pay a reinstatement fee of one hundred and 
twenty five dollars ($125.00) in addition to any other applicable 
fees. submit the following to the Board: 

(1) a reinstatement fee of one hundred and fifty-
five dollars ($155.00) in addition to any 
renewal fee or late renewal fee owed pursuant 
to G.S. 90B-6.2; 

(2) a Renewal Affidavit, as described in 21 NCAC 
63 .0403(d); 

(3) a current application for certification or 
licensure, as described in 21 NCAC 63 .0202; 
and 

(4) three professional reference forms, as described 
in 21 NCAC 63 .0204. 

(b)  Persons who apply for reinstatement after temporary 
retirement from the practice of social work pursuant to G.S. 90B-
9.1 shall submit the following to the Board: 

(1) a renewal fee pursuant to G.S. 90B-6.2; and 
(2) a Renewal Affidavit, as described in 21 NCAC 

63 .0403(d). 
(c)  Applicants desiring to reinstate LCSWA shall comply with 
G.S. 90B-7(f) by completing all requirements for full licensure as 
LCSW within six years, inclusive of any time spent on 
nonpracticing status pursuant to G.S. 90-B-9.1 or suspension for 
failure to renew. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-6.2; 90B-9; 90B-9.1. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0405 REQUIRED REPORTING BY 
LICENSEE OR CERTIFICATE HOLDER OF CHANGES 
TO BOARD 
(a)  Each licensee or certificate holder shall notify the Board in 
writing of any of the following changes within 30 days of the 
effective date of the changes: change: 

(1) Change change of the licensee's or certificate 
holder's name, which shall be accompanied by 
documentation such as a certified marriage 
certificate or driver's license; 

(2) Change change in the licensee's or certificate 
holder's residence or business address, 
including street and mailing address; 

(3) Change change in the licensee's or certificate 
holder's residence or business telephone 
number; and 

(4) Any any adverse action or disciplinary action 
against a licensee or certificate holder from a 
licensing board, professional certifying body, 
or professional organization for any conduct 
described in G.S. 90B-11(a). 

(b)  Within 30 days of the effective date of a disposition in a 
criminal matter in which the licensee or certificate holder is 
defendant, including driving under the influence, each licensee or 
certificate holder shall send to the Board a certified copy of any 
plea of guilty, finding of guilty, plea of nolo contendere, or 
deferred judgment. 
(c)  The licensee's or certificate holder's failure to report to the 
Board the dispositions addressed by Subparagraph (a)(4) and or 
Paragraph (b) of this Rule to the Board shall be considered a 
violation of the Ethical Guidelines, Section .0500. .0500 of this 
Chapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-9; 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0406 MILITARY WAIVER OR 
EXTENSION OF TIME FOR RENEWAL OF 
CERTIFICATION OR LICENSURE 
(a)  If a social worker is currently certified or licensed in good 
standing by this Board and is serving in the armed forces of the 
United States and who has been granted an extension of time to 
file a tax return under G.S. 105-249.2, the Board shall grant a 
waiver or the same extension of time to fulfill the requirements 
for renewal of his or her certification or licensure. 
(b)(a)  Prior to the expiration of his or her license or certificate, 
To request an extension of time to pay a license renewal fee 
pursuant to G.S. 93B-15, the licensee or certificate holder shall 
submit a written request for extension to the Board to include a 
copy of the social worker's military orders and the extension 
approval granted by the Internal Revenue Service or the State 
Department of Revenue. Revenue to file a tax return prior to the 
expiration of the license or certificate. 
(c)  During the extended time period, the existing license or 
certification shall not expire until a decision on the renewal 
application is made by the Board. If the application is denied or 
the terms of the license or certification are limited, the existing 
license or certification shall not expire until the last day for 
applying for judicial review of the Board order. 
(d)(b)  Continuing education credits approved during the extended 
time period shall not be utilized for future renewal periods. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-6.2; 93B-15. 
 

SECTION .0500 - ETHICAL GUIDELINES 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0503 GENERAL PROFESSIONAL 
RESPONSIBILITIES 
(a)  Social workers shall engage in practice only within their 
sphere of competence. in accordance with their training and 
experience. They shall accurately represent to clients, colleagues, 
and the general public their abilities, education, training, 
credentials, and experience. They shall engage in continuing 
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professional education prior to maintain and enhance their 
competence. engaging in a new area of practice. 
(b)  As employees of institutions or agencies, social workers are 
responsible for remaining alert to and attempting to moderate 
institutional pressures or policies that conflict with the standards 
of their profession. If such conflict arises, social workers' 
responsibility shall be to uphold the ethical standards of their 
profession. In the event that the employment policies or practices 
of social workers' employers are contrary to the Ethical 
Guidelines set forth in Section .0500 of this Chapter, social 
workers shall comply with the Ethical Guidelines. 
(c)  Social workers shall not practice, practice or facilitate or 
collaborate with any form of discrimination on the basis of race, 
sex, sexual orientation, gender, age, religion, socioeconomic 
status, medical diagnoses, or national origin. origin while 
practicing social work or while holding themselves out as social 
workers to the public. 
(d)  Social workers shall practice their profession in compliance 
with legal standards. federal, state, or local laws impacting the 
practice of social work. 
(e)  Social workers shall not engage in settlement agreements that 
preclude reporting of ethical misconduct to the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0504 RESPONSIBILITIES IN 
PROFESSIONAL RELATIONSHIPS 
(a)  Social workers shall not misuse their professional 
relationships sexually, financially financially, or for any other 
personal advantage. They shall maintain this standard of conduct 
toward all who are professionally associated with them such as 
clients, colleagues, supervisees, employees, students students, and 
research participants. 
(b)  Social workers shall inform clients of the extent and nature of 
services available to them as well as the limits, rights, 
opportunities opportunities, and obligations associated with 
service which that might affect the client's decision to enter into 
or continue the relationship. 
(c)  Social workers shall obtain consent (agreement to participate 
in social work intervention) intervention from all clients or their 
legally authorized representative except when laws judicial orders 
require intervention to insure ensure the client's and community's 
safety and protection. 
(d)  Social workers shall terminate a professional relationship with 
a client when, after careful evaluation and assessment, when it is 
determined that the client is not likely to benefit from continued 
services or the services are no longer needed. The social worker 
who anticipates the termination or interruption of services shall 
give reasonable prior notice to the client. client as soon as 
possible. The social worker shall provide referrals as needed or 
upon the request of the client. A social worker shall not terminate 
a professional relationship for the purpose of beginning a personal 
or business relationship with a client. 
(e)  Social workers shall respect the integrity, protect the welfare, 
and maximize self-determination of clients they serve. They shall 
avoid entering treatment relationships in which their professional 
judgment will be compromised by the prior association with or 
knowledge of a client. Examples include treatment of one's family 
members; close friends; associates; employees; members, friends, 

associates, employees, or others whose welfare could be 
jeopardized by such a dual relationship. 
(f)  Social workers shall not initiate, and shall avoid when 
possible, personal relationships or dual roles with current clients, 
or with any former clients whose feelings toward them the social 
worker may still be derived from or influenced by the former 
professional relationship. When a social worker may not avoid a 
personal relationship with a client, client or former client, the 
social worker shall take appropriate precautions, such as 
documented discussion with the client or former client about the 
relationship, consultation consultation, or supervision to ensure 
that the social worker's objectivity and professional judgment are 
not impaired. In instances when dual or multiple relationships are 
unavoidable, social workers shall set clear and culturally sensitive 
boundaries. boundaries that take into consideration the client's 
age, race, sex, gender, sexual orientation, religion, socioeconomic 
status, national origin, and medical diagnoses. 
(g)  Social workers shall not engage in sexual activities with 
clients or former clients. A social worker shall not engage in or 
request electronic, verbal, or physical sexual contact with a client 
or former client under any circumstances. For the purposes of this 
Rule "sexual contact" means behavior relating to sexual activities 
including intentional touching, either directly or through the 
clothing that may be exploitive, abusive, or detrimental to the 
clients' welfare. 
(h)  Social workers shall be solely responsible for acting act in 
accordance with G.S. 90B and these Rules in regard to 
relationships with clients or former clients. A client's or former 
client's initiation of a personal, sexual sexual, or business 
relationship shall not be a defense by the social worker for failing 
to act in accordance with G.S. 90B and these Rules. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0505 RELATIONSHIPS WITH 
COLLEAGUES 
Social workers shall act with integrity in their relationships with 
colleagues and other professionals. They shall consider the 
practice areas and knowledge or expertise of other professionals 
to whom they make referrals and with whom they collaborate in 
serving clients. 

(1) When expressing judgment on the views, 
qualifications and findings of colleagues, social 
workers shall not misrepresent the colleague's 
license level, degree, or other professional 
qualification in any written or oral 
communication and shall avoid the use of 
demeaning or derogatory language. 

(2) Social workers shall maintain knowledge of the 
professional and community resources 
available to the client population they serve and 
when referring clients, social workers shall 
refer to professionals and community resources 
that are able to provide the services required. 

(3) If a social worker's services are sought by an 
individual who is already receiving similar 
services from another professional, the client's 
welfare shall be the primary consideration 
before agreeing to provide services. To 
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minimize confusion and conflict, social 
workers shall discuss with the prospective 
client the nature of the existing professional 
relationship, the client's needs, the therapeutic 
issues involved, and the benefits and risks 
associated with entering into a relationship with 
a new service provider. 

(4) Social workers shall provide competent 
professional guidance to colleagues, 
employees, supervisees, and students. They 
shall foster working conditions that provide 
fairness, privacy and protection from physical 
or mental harm. Social workers supervising 
associate licensees shall evaluate without bias, 
the work performance of those under their 
supervision, and share evaluations with 
supervisees. Social Workers workers shall not 
engage in sexual relationships with supervisees, 
students, trainees, or other colleagues over 
whom they exercise professional authority. 
They shall not abuse the power inherent in their 
supervisory position for personal or financial 
gain. 

(5) A social worker certified or licensed under this 
Chapter who has knowledge of conduct that 
would constitute grounds for disciplinary action 
under this Chapter Chapter, or the Chapter 
governing the practice of another licensed 
healthcare provider provider, shall report the 
conduct to the licensing authority that oversees 
the healthcare provider believed to be engaged 
in misconduct. Social workers shall provide 
information to assist colleagues defending 
themselves against allegations of unethical or 
incompetent practice. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0508 PURSUIT OF RESEARCH AND 
SCHOLARLY ACTIVITIES 
In planning, conducting conducting, and reporting a study with 
human subjects, the social worker acting as an investigator shall 
make a careful evaluation of its ethical acceptability, taking into 
account the following additional principles for research with 
human subjects. evaluate the ethical acceptability in accordance 
with this Rule. To the extent that this appraisal, evaluation, 
weighing scientific and humane values, suggests a compromise of 
ethical principles, the investigator shall protect the rights of the 
research participants. 

(1) Social workers shall obtain authorization from 
administrative superiors and clients who agree 
to be subjects in the study. Social workers shall 
also acknowledge accurately any other persons 
who contribute in a scholarly manner to their 
research in any reports concerning their 
research, whether published or unpublished. 

(2) An agreement shall be established between the 
The social worker acting as an investigator shall 
establish with and the research participant an 

agreement clarifying their each person's roles 
and responsibilities. 

(3) The rights of an individual to decline to 
participate in or withdraw from the research 
shall be respected and the participant shall not 
be penalized for such action. 

(4) The social worker acting as an investigator shall 
inform the participant of all the features of the 
research that would affect his/her give the 
individual information about the manner in 
which the research may affect the individual, in 
order for the individual to give his or her 
informed consent for participation in the study. 

(5) Information Identifying information obtained 
about the participant during the course of the 
study shall be confidential unless informed 
consent for release of information is obtained in 
advance. 

(6) Research findings shall be presented 
accurately. Social workers shall not distort or 
misrepresent research. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0509 PUBLIC STATEMENTS 
(a)  Public statements, announcements of services and 
promotional activities of social workers serve the purpose of 
providing sufficient information to aid consumers in making 
informed judgments and choices, choices. Social workers shall 
state accurately, objectively and without misrepresentation their 
professional qualifications, affiliations affiliations, and functions 
functions, as well as those of the institutions or organizations with 
which they or their statement may be associated. They shall 
correct When social workers are made aware of 
misrepresentations by others with respect to these matters. 
matters, social workers shall make efforts to correct the 
misrepresentations. 
(b)  In announcing availability for professional services, a social 
worker shall use his or her the licensee or certificate holder's 
name, type type, and level(s) of certification and licensure; and 
may use highest relevant academic degree from an accredited 
institution; specialized post-graduate training; address and 
telephone number; office hours; type of services provided; 
appropriate fee information; foreign languages spoken; and policy 
with regard to third-party payments. 
(c)  Social workers shall not offer to perform any service beyond 
the scope permitted by law or beyond the scope of their 
competence. They shall not engage in any form of advertising 
which is false, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading. They shall 
neither solicit nor use recommendations or testimonials from 
clients. 
(d)  Social workers shall respect the rights and reputations of 
professional organizations with which they are affiliated. They 
shall not falsely imply sponsorship or certification by such 
organizations. When making public statements, the social worker 
shall make clear which are personal opinions and which are 
authorized statements on behalf of an organization. 
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(e)  A social worker Social workers shall display his or her their 
license or certificate at the social worker's primary place of 
practice as required by G.S. 90B-15. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-11; 90B-15. 
 

SECTION .0600 - DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0601 GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY 
PROCEDURES 
In addition to the conduct set forth in G.S. 90B-11, the Board may 
take disciplinary action upon the following grounds: The 
following conduct constitutes a violation of G.S. 90B-11: 

(1) offering a check to the Board in payment of 
required fees which is returned unpaid; unpaid 
as a result of non-payment attributable to the 
payor; 

(2) obtaining or attempting to obtain compensation 
by fraud or deceit; 

(3) submitting false documents to the Board, such 
as those related to continuing education audits 
or submitted as a part of the application or 
renewal process; and 

(3)(4) violation of violating any order of the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-2; 90B-6; 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0602 INVESTIGATION 
(a)  Any person who has reason to believe that a social worker has 
violated the laws governing the practice of social work may file a 
complaint with the Board. Anyone wishing to file a complaint 
shall file a form with the Board office that contains the following 
information: 

(1) the complainant's name and contact 
information; 

(2) the name, contact information, and license 
number of the social worker about which the 
complainant wishes to file the complaint; 

(3) a narrative of the facts about which the 
complaint relies; 

(4) identification of the statutes or rules that were 
allegedly violated; 

(5) identification of the individuals and their 
contact information who may have information 
to support the complaint; 

(6) identification of any documents that may 
support the complaint; and 

(7) the complainant's affirmation that: 
(A) the complainant has read and 

understands the ethics standards and 
disciplinary procedures of the Board, 
which are available on the Board's 
website at 
https://www.ncswboard.org; 

(B) the information provided by the 
complainant is true, based on the 
complainant's personal knowledge, or 
based upon information that the 
complainant believes to be true; and 

(C) the complainant is aware that the 
social worker about which the 
complaint is filed shall be made aware 
of the complaint and when the 
complaint may be disclosed as a public 
record; and 

(8) the complainant's signature and the date on 
which the complaint is made. 

(a)(b)  Upon receipt of a complaint, the Board shall notify the 
social worker against whom the complaint was filed, noting the 
report of a violation and the specific ethical standard rule, statute, 
or ethical guideline brought into question. 
(b)(c)  Upon receipt of a complaint, or upon its own motion, the 
Board, its staff, or designee(s) may investigate shall determine 
whether more information or evidence is needed to show whether 
a person certified or licensed by the Board has violated any 
provision of G.S. 90B or these Rules. If more information or 
evidence is deemed necessary, the Board, its staff, or designee(s) 
shall conduct an investigation. 
(c)(d)  The complainant and social worker against whom a 
complaint was filed shall be notified in writing of the Board's 
decision as to whether an investigation is warranted. 
(e)  The Board may initiate its own complaint and conduct an 
investigation of a suspected violation if the Board obtains 
information tending to show that a violation of G.S. 90 or these 
Rules has occurred. 
(d)(f)  Any Board member who conducts the investigation of a 
specific case shall not participate in the Board's adjudication of 
that case. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0603 NOTICE OF CHARGES AND 
HEARING 
(a)  If an investigation conducted in accordance with Rule .0602 
of this Section produces any credible evidence indicating a 
violation of G.S. 90B or these Rules Rules, the Board may shall 
initiate disciplinary proceedings. Disciplinary proceedings 
conducted by the Board are governed by G.S. 90B. Article 3A of 
Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. Prior to any Board action, 
written notice outlining the particular statutes and rules involved, 
the alleged facts, and the date, location location, and nature of any 
hearing shall be sent to the social worker involved and the 
complainant. complainant, if the disciplinary proceeding was 
initiated by a complainant. 
(b)  Nothing herein shall abridge the right of in this Rule shall 
prevent the Board to from summarily suspend suspending a 
certificate or license pursuant to G.S. 150B-3(c). in accordance 
with G.S. 150B-3(c) if the Board determines that the public 
health, safety, or welfare requires emergency action. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-11; 150B-38. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0607 CONDUCT OF HEARING 
(a)  Disciplinary hearings shall be conducted by a majority of the 
Board. The Chairperson shall serve as presiding officer unless he 
or she the Chairperson is absent or disqualified, disqualified in 
accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule, in which case the 
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Vice-chairperson shall preside. Hearings shall be conducted as 
prescribed by G.S. 150B-40. 
(b)  Disqualification. An affidavit seeking disqualification of any 
Board member, if filed in good faith and in a timely manner, will 
be ruled on by the remaining members of the Board. An affidavit 
is considered timely if it is filed: 

(1) Prior prior to the hearing; or 
(2) As as soon after the commencement of the 

hearing as the affiant becomes aware of the 
facts which give rise to his the belief that a 
Board member should be disqualified. 

(c)  Evidence. The admission of evidence in a hearing on a 
contested case shall be as prescribed in G.S. 150B-41. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6(h); 150B-40. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0608 DECISION OF BOARD 
(a)  The form and content of the Board's decision in a contested 
case shall be as prescribed by G.S. 150B-42(a), and its decision 
shall be served upon the parties in a manner consistent with said 
statute. 
(b)  The official record of the hearing in a contested case shall 
contain those items specified in G.S. 150B-42(b). 
(a)  Immediately upon the conclusion of a disciplinary proceeding 
conducted pursuant to 21 NCAC 63 .0603 and if so moved by two 
Board members, the Board shall deliberate on whether an 
applicant, certificate holder, or licensee involved has violated a 
statute or rule for which the Board has the authority to enforce, 
and what appropriate disciplinary action, if any, should be taken 
against the applicant, certificate holder, or licensee involved. 
(b)  If the Board reaches a decision on the issues set forth in 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule immediately upon the conclusion of the 
disciplinary proceeding, the Board shall announce the decision 
but shall provide the parties with an opportunity to submit 
proposed findings of fact and exceptions to the decision to the 
Board's office within fifteen days, unless additional time is 
allowed by the Board for good cause shown or upon mutual 
agreement by the parties. For purposes of this Rule, "good cause" 
shall mean the length of the hearing, the complexity of the issues 
involved, and the availability of the parties. 
(c)  If the Board does not reach a decision on the issues set forth 
in Paragraph (a) of this Rule immediately upon the conclusion of 
the disciplinary proceeding, the Board shall provide the parties an 
opportunity to submit proposed findings of fact and conclusions 
of law to the Board's office within fifteen days, unless additional 
time is allowed by the Board for good cause shown or upon 
mutual agreement by the parties. The Board shall deliberate on 
the issues set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule at its next Board 
meeting following the parties' deadline to submit the proposed 
findings of fact and conclusions of law. 
(d)  Following the expiration of the time allowed for the parties to 
submit proposed findings and exceptions, the Board shall make a 
written final agency decision in accordance with G.S. 150B-42. 
(e)  Disciplinary costs shall be assessed against an applicant, 
certificate holder, or licensee in a written final agency decision as 
set forth in G.S. 90B-11 when: 

(1) the licensee previously has rejected a consent 
order offered by the Board to resolve the 
disciplinary matter; 

(2) the licensee previously has been disciplined by 
the Board pursuant to G.S. 90B-11, previously 
received a non-disciplinary letter of caution, or 
previously received a non-disciplinary Consent 
Order from the Board for the same conduct at 
issue in disciplinary proceeding; 

(3) the Board finds that the licensee's conduct or 
defense at hearing was dilatory or not asserted 
in good faith; or 

(4) the Board denies, suspends, or revokes an 
application, certificate, or license. 

Disciplinary costs shall equal three hundred dollars ($300.00) per 
hour for time spent by the Board conducting a hearing that results 
in disciplinary action and for time spent by the Board deliberating 
on a disciplinary proceeding, with a minimum charge of three 
hundred dollars ($300.00) for the first hour or portion thereof, and 
then prorated thereafter for each half-hour 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6(h); 90B-11; 150B-38; 150-42; S.L. 1999-
313. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0609 REPORTING OF DISCIPLINARY 
ACTIONS 
The Board shall report all disciplinary actions specified in G.S. 
90B-11 through the Public Protection Database (PPD), the 
National Practitioner Data Bank – Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank (NPDB-HIPDB), and may report them to 
any requesting public or private entity. Disciplinary actions do not 
include complaints. 

(1) In compliance with NPDB-HIPDB 
requirements, the N.C. Social Work 
Certification and Licensure Board shall report 
negative action or finding that is publicly 
available. Consistent with 45 C.F.R. 60.3, the 
following negative actions shall be reported: 
(a) Injunctions for unlicensed practice; 
(b) Issuance of a cease and desist order; 
(c) Revocation; 
(d) Suspension; 
(e) Censure; 
(f) Reprimand; 
(g) Probation; 
(h) Withdrawal or denial of initial 

applications or reapplications 
proximate to an ethics matter; 

(i) Surrender of certification or license 
during an investigation; 

(j) Practice limitations connected to the 
delivery of health care services as 
defined by 45 C.F.R. 60.3; and 

(k) Limitations on the right of a licensee 
or certificate holder to supervise. 

(2) For purposes of this Rule, the following matters 
shall not constitute negative actions: 
(a) monitoring independent of restrictions 

or discipline; and 
(b) letters of concern. 

(a)  In accordance with 45 CFR 60.9, the Board shall report 
disciplinary actions specified in G.S. 90B-11 to the National 
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Practitioner Data Bank. 45 CFR 60.9 is hereby incorporated by 
reference, including subsequent amendments and additions, and 
can be found at https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CRF-2007-
title45-voll/pdf/CFR-2007-title45-voll-sec60-9.pdf at no cost. 
(b)  For purposes of this Rule and G.S. 90B-11, the following 
matters constitute disciplinary actions: 

(1) injunctions for unlicensed practice; 
(2) issuance of a cease and desist order; 
(3) revocation; 
(4) suspension; 
(5) censure; 
(6) reprimand; 
(7) probation; 
(8) withdrawal or denial of initial applications or 

reapplications proximate to an ethics matter; 
(9) surrender of certification or license during an 

investigation; 
(10) practice limitations connected to the delivery of 

health care services as defined by 45 C.F.R. 
60.3; and 

(11) limitations on the right of a licensee or 
certificate holder to supervise. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, the following matters shall not 
constitute disciplinary actions: 

(1) monitoring independent of restrictions or 
discipline; 

(2) letters of concern; and 
(3) complaints. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6(h); 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0610 CONTINUANCES 
(a)  All motions for continuance shall be addressed to the Chair. 
(b)(a)  Motions for a continuance of a hearing may shall be 
granted reviewed in accordance with the North Carolina Rules of 
Civil Procedure as set forth in G.S. 1A-1. 1A-1, Rule 40(b). The 
Board is not required to grant a motion to continue. All motions 
for continuance shall be addressed to the Chair or presiding 
officer. 
(c)(b)  In determining whether good cause exists, exists as set 
forth in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 40, the Chair or presiding officer shall 
consider the ability of the party requesting a continuance to 
proceed without a continuance. 
(d)(c)  Motions for a continuance shall be in writing and shall be 
received in the office of the Board no less than seven calendar 
days before the hearing date. 
(e)(d)  A motion for a continuance filed less more than seven 
calendar days from the date of the hearing shall be denied if a 
continuance has been previously granted unless the reason for the 
motion could not have been ascertained earlier. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6(h); 150B-38(h). 
 

SECTION .0700 – ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0701 PETITIONS FOR ADOPTION OF 
RULES 
(a)  The procedure for petitioning the Board to adopt, amend, or 
repeal a rule is governed by G.S. 150B-20. 

(b)  Submission. Rule-making petitions shall be sent to the 
executive director of the Board. Contact information for the Board 
can be found on the Board's website at www.ncswboard.org. No 
special form is required. The rule-making petition shall contain 
the following information: state the petitioner's name and address 
and shall contain the information required by G.S. 150B-20(a). 
The petitioner also may submit the following additional 
information: 

(1) the name and address of the person making the 
request; the reason for the proposal; 

(2) the proposed text of any requested rule change; 
and data supporting the proposed rule; 

(3) a statement of the effect of the requested 
change. practices likely to be affected by the 
proposed rule; and 

(4) persons likely to be affected by the proposed 
rule. 

(c)  The Board does not require the following information to be 
submitted with the petition, but does consider the following 
information to be pertinent: 

(1) the reason for its proposal; 
(2) data supporting the proposed rule; 
(3) practices likely to be affected by the proposed 

rule; and 
(4) persons likely to be affected by the proposed 

rule. 
(d)  Disposition. The executive director shall present the petition 
and his or her recommendation to the Board at its next regular 
meeting following receipt of the petition, and the Board shall 
render its decision to either deny the petition or initiate rule-
making. The Board shall notify the petitioner of its decision in 
writing within the 120-day period set by G.S. 150B-20. 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6(h); 150B-20. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0703 TEMPORARY RULES 
 
Authority G.S. 90B-6(h); 150B-21.1. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0704 DECLARATORY RULINGS 
(a)  General. The issuance of declaratory rulings by the Board is 
governed by G.S. 150B-4. The Board shall respond to requests for 
declaratory rulings in accordance with G.S. 150B-4. 
(b)  Contents of a Request for Declaratory Ruling. A request for a 
declaratory ruling shall be in writing and addressed to the 
executive director of the Board. The request shall contain the 
following information: 

(1) The the name and address of the person making 
the request; 

(2) The the statute or rule to which the request 
relates; 

(3) A concise a statement of the need for a 
declaratory ruling as set forth in G.S. 150B-
4(a); and 

(4) A a statement as to whether a hearing is desired, 
and if desired, the reason therefore. 

(c)  Refusal to Issue Ruling. The Board may shall refuse to issue 
a declaratory ruling under the following circumstances: 
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(1) When when the Board has already made a 
controlling decision on substantially similar 
facts in a contested case; 

(2) When when the facts underlying the request for 
a ruling were specifically considered at the time 
of the adoption of the Rule in question; or 

(3) When when the subject matter of the request is 
involved in any pending litigation in North 
Carolina. 

 
Authority G.S. 90B-6(h); 150B-4. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0705 INSUFFICIENT FEES 
(a)  The Board shall charge the maximum processing fee allowed 
by G.S. 25-3-506 if a check submitted to the Board is returned by 
a financial institution because of insufficient funds or because the 
drawer did not have an account at that bank. 
(b)  Until such time as the drawer of the bad check has paid the 
prescribed fee, the drawer shall not be eligible to take an 
examination, obtain a license, or have the license renewed. For 
the purpose of this Rule, "prescribed fee" shall mean the sum of: 

(1) the maximum processing fee allowed by G.S. 
25-3-506; 

(2) the renewal or application fee, whichever is 
applicable; and 

(3) any late fee, as described in G.S. 90B-6.2. 
(c)  Any license that has been issued or renewed based on a check 
which is returned to the Board shall be invalid until such time as 
the drawer has paid the prescribed fee. The invalidity of the 
license or renewal shall commence on the date of the issuance of 
the license or renewal. 
(d)  Payment of the prescribed fee to the Board shall be made in 
the form of a cashier's check, money order, credit card, or debit 
card. 
 
Authority G.S. 25-3-506; 90B-6(g). 
 
SECTION .0900 - PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION OR 

LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0901 APPLICATIONS FOR A 
CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION 
(a)  Social Work Licensees Licensed clinical social workers who 
wish to form a Professional Corporation or Professional Limited 
Liability Company must apply to the North Carolina Social Work 
Certification and Licensure Board for a Certificate of 
Registration, Registration in accordance with this Rule, pursuant 
to Chapter 55B of the North Carolina General Statutes. The 
following fees apply: 
(b)  All applications for a Certificate of Registration for 
Professional Corporation shall include the fee described in 
Paragraph (d) of this Rule and provide the following: 

(1) the name and address of the proposed business; 
(2) the purpose of the proposed business; 
(3) the name, address, profession, and license 

number of each proposed stock owner; 
(4) the percentage of shares to be owned by each 

proposed stock owner; 

(5) the name, address, profession, and license 
number of each proposed director; 

(6) the name, address, profession, and license 
number of each proposed corporate officer; 

(7) the name, address, profession, and license 
number of each proposed professional 
employee; 

(8) the contact information of the person 
completing the application; and 

(9) notarized signatures from the business's 
incorporators and an attestation that: 
(A) they have read the Board's governing 

statutes and rules; 
(B) there are no disciplinary actions 

pending against any of the business's 
incorporators, officers, directors, 
stockholders, or employees; 

(C) the business is being incorporated 
under the provisions of Chapter 55B of 
the North Carolina General Statutes; 
and 

(D) the business will be conducted in 
compliance with the Professional 
Corporation Act and the laws 
governing licensees of the Board. 

(c)  All applications for a Certificate of Registration for 
Professional Limited Liability Company shall include the fee 
described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule and provide the following: 

(1) the name and address of the proposed business; 
(2) the purpose of the proposed business; 
(3) the name, address, profession, and license 

number of each proposed shareholder; 
(4) the percentage of shares to be owned by each 

proposed shareholder; 
(5) the name, address, profession, and license 

number of each proposed director; 
(6) the name, address, profession, and license 

number of each proposed member; 
(7) the name, address, profession, and license 

number of each proposed professional 
employee; 

(8) the contact information of the person 
completing the application; and 

(9) notarized signatures from the business's 
organizers and an attestation that: 
(A) they have read the Board's governing 

statutes and rules; 
(B) there are no disciplinary actions 

pending against any of the business's 
organizers, members, managers, or 
employees; 

(C) the business is being organized under 
the provisions of Chapter 57D of the 
North Carolina General Statutes; and 

(D) the business will be conducted in 
compliance with Chapter 57D of the 
North Carolina General Statutes and 
the laws governing licensees of the 
Board. 
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(d)  The following non-refundable fees apply: 
(1) Fifty fifty dollars ($50.00) – application fee for 

a certificate of registration for a professional 
corporation or limited liability company; and 

(2) Twenty-five twenty-five dollars ($25.00) – 
annual renewal fee for the certificate of 
registration for a professional corporation or 
limited liability company; and company. 

(3) Twenty-five ($25.00) – fee for amendments(s) 
to the certificate of registration for a 
professional corporation or limited liability 
company. An amendment to the Certificate of 
Registration shall be required for a change in 
name, address, or professional services 
provided; changes to the articles of organization 
or incorporation; change in ownership or 
members. Any social workers who has been 
granted a Certificate of Registration from this 
Board shall inform the Board of other changes 
in writing and at no additional cost within 30 
days from the effective date of the change. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-10; 55B-11; 55B-12; 57C-2-01(c); 57D-2-02; 
90B-6; 90B-6.2; 90B-11. 
 
21 NCAC 63 .0902 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE 
OF REGISTRATION 
(a)  A Social workers who have registered their business with the 
Board in accordance with 21 NCAC 63 .0901 shall renew 
annually their Certificate of Registration issued by the Board shall 
be renewed annually prior to the expirations date printed on the 
certificate. on or before January 1 of each year. Applications for 
Renewal of Certificates of Registration shall provide the 
following: 

(1) whether there has been any change to the 
business since the last renewal of the Certificate 
of Registration; 

(2) identification of changes to the business since 
its last submission to the Board office, if any 
were made; 

(3) whether the business has ceased operation and, 
if so, a copy of the articles of dissolution; 

(4) the name, contact information, and license 
number of the licensees who are owners, 
members, or shareholders of the business; 

(5) the name, address, and certificate of registration 
number of the business; 

(6) applicant's signature and the date signed; and 
(7) a non-refundable fee of twenty-five dollars 

($25.00). 
(b)  A Certificate of Registration will shall be suspended for 
failure to renew within 30 days after the expiration date and will 
shall be reported to the Office of the Secretary of State. 
(c)  The Board may reinstate a Certificate of Registration 
suspended under this subsection within the calendar year upon 
payment of the required renewal fee plus an additional fee for late 
renewal as provided in G.S. 55B-11. 
 

Authority G.S. 55B-11; 55B-12; 57C-2-01(c); 57D-2-02; 90B-6; 
90B-6.2; 90B-11. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 66 - VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Veterinary Medical Board intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 
NCAC 66 .0211. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
www.ncvmb.org 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact the NC 
Veterinary Medical Board via email at keith@ncvmb.org 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Clarify the use of telemedicine 
with the practice of veterinary medicine. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Keith West, 1611 Jones 
Franklin Road, Suite 106, Raleigh, NC 27606; phone (919) 854-
5601; email keith@ncvmb.org 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF VETERINARY 

MEDICINE 
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21 NCAC 66 .0211 VETERINARY TELEMEDICINE 
(a)  "Veterinary telemedicine" or "telemedicine" means the use of 
electronic or telecommunication technologies to remotely provide 
medical information regarding a patient's clinical health status and 
to deliver veterinary medical services to a patient that resides in 
or is located in the State. The delivery of veterinary medical 
services through telemedicine is the practice of veterinary 
medicine. The practice of veterinary medicine occurs where the 
patient(s) is located at the time telemedicine technologies are 
used. 
(b)  A veterinarian may provide veterinary medical services via 
telemedicine to any patient only after establishing a Veterinarian-
Client-Patient-Relationship (VCPR). No person shall practice 
veterinary telemedicine except a veterinarian within the context 
of a VCPR. A VCPR cannot be established by any electronic 
means or telecommunication technologies. 
(c)  "Veterinary telemonitoring" means the use of a medical 
device, smart phone, monitoring sensor, or other technology, in 
combination with an internet connection, to collect and store 
health information for a patient of the veterinarian and to transmit 
it to a veterinarian, as directed or requested by a veterinarian. 
Veterinary telemonitoring, by that act alone, is not the practice of 
veterinary medicine. 
(d)  "Veterinary Teleconsulting" occurs when any person, whose 
expertise the veterinarian believes would benefit the veterinarian's 
patient, provides advice or other information by any method of 
communication to a veterinarian at the veterinarian's direction or 
request. Veterinary teleconsulting, by that act alone, is not the 
practice of veterinary medicine. 
(e)  Veterinarians practicing telemedicine shall be held to the same 
standard of care as veterinarians providing in-person medical 
care. There is not a separate standard of care applicable to 
telemedicine. Veterinarians shall determine whether telemedicine 
is appropriate and in the best interest of the patient. Veterinarians 
shall maintain a medical record of the telemedicine patient(s) as 
required by 21 NCAC 66 .0207(b)(12)." 
 
Authority G.S. 90-186(10). 
 
 
TITLE 26 – OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Office of Administrative Hearings intends to amend the rule cited 
as 26 NCAC 01 .0103. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https:www.oah.nc.gov 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Send public 
hearing request via email to Bill Culpepper, NC OAH General 
Counsel, at bill.culpepper@oah.nc.gov 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  NC OAH has eliminated 
contracting for court reporting and transcriptionist services, 
thereby permitting attorneys to contract directly with court 

reporters and transcriptionists that have been approved by the 
Administrative Office of the Courts. The proposed rule reflects 
this NC OAH operational change and updates the existing rule to 
reflect current NC OAH operations, including NC OAH's 
implementation of an electronic filing and case management 
system and installation of modern technology equipment in NC 
OAH courtrooms subsequent to the adoption of the current rule. 
Comments may be submitted to:  Bill Culpepper, General 
Counsel, Office of Administrative Hearings, 1711 New Hope 
Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (984) 236-1931; fax 
(984) 236-1871; email bill.culpepper@oah.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 01 - GENERAL 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL 

 
26 NCAC 01 .0103 COST TO PUBLIC 
(a)  Copies of any public records documents filed in the Office of 
Administrative Hearings are available at the "actual cost" as 
defined in G.S. 132-6.2(b). 132-6.2(b) for making the copy and 
mailing cost if applicable. The Office of Administrative Hearings 
OAH shall provide its "actual cost" on the Office of 
Administrative Hearings OAH website. 
(b)  Certified copies of any public document filed in the Office of 
Administrative Hearings are available at a cost of one dollar 
($1.00) per certification in addition to any other applicable cost 
for the public document. Electronic copy certification is not 
available. 
(c)  Transcripts are available of contested case hearings. 
Procedures for requesting and costs of transcripts are in 26 NCAC 
03 .0123. 
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(d)  Copies of recordings are available in the original recording 
format and media only. 
(e)  Video conferencing fees including cancellation fees shall be 
paid by the requesting party. The video conferencing fees are set 
at the rates established by the Office of Information Technology 
Services (ITS). 
(f)  North Carolina sales tax shall be added if applicable. 
(b)(g)  There is no charge to the requesting party unless the actual 
cost total charge is equal to or exceeds ten dollars ($10.00). three 
dollars ($3.00). 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 132-6.2; 150B-19; 150B-21.25; 150B-37. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Office of Administrative Hearings intends to amend the rule cited 
as 26 NCAC 03 .0123. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https:www.oah.nc.gov 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Send public 
hearing request via email to Bill Culpepper, NC OAH General 
Counsel, at bill.culpepper@oah.nc.gov 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  NC OAH has eliminated 
contracting for court reporting and transcriptionist services, 
thereby permitting attorneys to contract directly with court 
reporters and transcriptionists that have been approved by the 
Administrative Office of the Courts. The proposed rule reflects 
this NC OAH operational change and updates the existing rule to 
reflect current NC OAH operations, including NC OAH's 
implementation of an electronic filing and case management 
system and installation of modern technology equipment in NC 
OAH courtrooms subsequent to the adoption of the current rule. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Bill Culpepper, General 
Counsel, Office of Administrative Hearings, 1711 New Hope 
Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (984) 236-1931; fax 
(984) 236-1871; email bill.culpepper@oah.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 03 - HEARINGS DIVISION 

 
SECTION .0100 - HEARING PROCEDURES 

 
26 NCAC 03 .0123 OFFICIAL RECORD 
(a)  The official record of a contested case shall be available for 
public inspection upon request. An administrative law judge may, 
consistent with law, order part or all or part of an official record 
sealed. 
(b)  The official record shall be prepared in accordance with G.S. 
150B-37(a). 
(c)  Contested case hearings shall be recorded either by a hearing 
assistant provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings 
four-track recording system or a court reporter authorized and 
approved to prepare transcripts of proceedings in the General 
Court of Justice by the Administrative Office of the Courts 
procured directly by one or more parties to the contested case. 
using stenomask or stenotype. 
(d)  Transcript costs incurred shall be divided equally among the 
party(ies) requesting a transcript. 
(e)  Any other costs incurred when using a court reporter shall be 
divided equally among the requesting party(ies). 
(d)(f)  If a contested case hearing is cancelled, the party 
responsible shall provide a A 24-hour cancellation notice is 
required in all cases in which a hearing assistant is provided by 
the Office of Administrative Hearings. cases. The party(ies) 
responsible for the cancellation are liable for any cancellation 
fees. 
(e)(g)  Transcripts of proceedings during which oral evidence is 
presented shall be made only upon request of a party. OAH shall 
contract with an independent contractor to provide transcript 
services. When proceedings are recorded by a court reporter, 
transcript Transcript requests shall must be made directly to the 
court reporter. When proceedings are recorded by a hearing 
assistant, transcript requests shall be made directly to a 
transcriptionist authorized and approved to prepare transcripts of 
proceedings in the General Court of Justice by the Administrative 
Office of the Courts. independent contractor. The name and phone 
number of the independent contractor may be obtained by calling 
the Office of Administrative Hearings. Transcript costs shall be 
provided to the requesting party by the independent contractor. 
An attorney requesting a transcript on behalf of a party shall be a 
guarantor of payment of the cost. The independent contractor may 
require an advance security deposit to cover the prospective cost. 
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(f)  A party who orders a transcript shall use an Office of 
Administrative Hearings Transcript Contract form to order the 
transcript, which shall include the following information: 

(1) case name and number; 
(2) requestor information; and 
(3) transcriptionist information. 

That form is available on the Office of Administrative Hearings 
website at https://www.oah.nc.gov and may be obtained from the 
Chief Hearings Clerk upon request. The party ordering the 
transcript shall file the transcript contract with the Office of 
Administrative Hearings and shall serve the transcript contract on 
all other parties and the transcriptionist. The transcriptionist shall 
deliver the transcript to the parties and file the transcript with the 
Office of Administrative Hearings by email to clerks@oah.nc.gov 

in PDF format no later than 30 days after having been served with 
the transcript contract. 
(g)(h)  Copies of recordings made by a hearing assistant are 
available upon written request at a cost set out in 26 NCAC 01 
.0103. 
(i)  Copies of OAH Hearings recordings or non-OAH certified 
transcripts therefrom are not part of the official record. 
Note: Rule 5.3(B) of the Rules of Professional Conduct permits 
an attorney to advance or guarantee expenses of litigation 
provided the client remains ultimately liable for such expenses. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-37. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 
Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 
the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 
from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 
This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-
21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

 
TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 
 
Rule-making Agency:  Pesticide Board 
 
Rule Citation:  02 NCAC 09L .0502 
 
Effective Date:  March 25, 2021 
 
Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  March 17, 
2021 
 
Reason for Action:  Due to COVID-19, the North Carolina 
General Assembly in Session Law 2020-97 (H.B. 1105), Section 
3.20, authorizes state agencies, including boards and 
commissions, to exercise regulatory flexibility during the 
emergency to protect the economic well-being of the citizens and 
businesses of the state.  In accordance with the directive and spirit 
of Session Law 2020-97(H.B. 1105), Section 3.20, and to respond 
to the COVID-19 emergency, The North Carolina Pesticide Board 
finds it critical to exempt pesticides approved by the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) on an emergency basis 
in accordance with 02 NCAC 09L .0318 for use in preventing, 
destroying, or mitigating COVID-19 from being restricted use 
pesticides as currently required by 02 NCAC 09L .0502(3). This 
exemption will bring North Carolina standards in line with other 
states and ensure North Carolina does not fall behind in its efforts 
to respond to COVID-19 by allowing for normal distribution of 
these pesticides. 
 
Particularly, this emergency rule will allow for the timely 
distribution and introduction of newly approved pesticides into 
the state that mitigate COVID-19. Currently, existing 
requirements classify these pesticides as restricted use pesticides, 
requiring their sale only by licensed pesticide dealers and 
application only by licensed applicators.  These additional 
requirements make the pesticides' timely introduction into the 
state and access to the general public unfeasible.  Therefore, for 
the reasons stated above, this Board finds it necessary and in the 
best interest of the State to not classify pesticides approved by the 
EPA for use in preventing, destroying, or mitigating COVID-19 
as restricted use pesticides under the Board's Rules in 02 NCAC 
09L .0502(3). This Board further finds that timing is the of essence 
in responding to COVID-19 and that emergency rulemaking are 
necessary. 
 

CHAPTER 09 - FOOD AND DRUG PROTECTION 
 

SUBCHAPTER 09L - PESTICIDE SECTION 
 

SECTION .0500 - PESTICIDE LICENSES 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0502 LIST OF RESTRICTED USE 
PESTICIDES 
(a)  For the purpose of this Subchapter a "restricted use pesticide" 
shall be: 

(1) any pesticide required by the Environmental 
Protection Agency to bear the designation on its 
labeling "Restricted Use Pesticide;" 

(2) arsenic trioxide; and 
(3) any pesticide approved under Rule .0318 of this 

Subchapter. 
(b)  Any pesticide approved by the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency for use in the State of North Carolina in 
accordance with 02 NCAC 09L .0318 that is labeled as approved 
for use in preventing, destroying, or mitigating Covid-19 shall be 
exempt from the provisions of 02 NCAC 09L .0502(a)(3) and 
shall not be considered a Restricted Use Pesticide. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440(a),(b); 143-441; 143-
458; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. April 21, 1977; 
Emergency Amendment [(e)] Eff. July 8, 1977, for a Period of 176 
Days to Expire on December 31, 1977; Emergency Amendment 
[(e)] Expired Eff. December 31, 1977; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 1990; August 1, 1982; January 1, 1979; 
June 30, 1978; 
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 
Emergency Amendment Eff. March 25, 2021. 
 
 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 
AND COMMISSIONS 

 
CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD 

 
Rule-making Agency:  Appraisal Board 
 
Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 57B .0615 
 
Effective Date:  March 26, 2021 
 
Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  March 18, 
2021 
 
Reason for Action:  On March 11, 2021, the Governor of North 
Carolina, signed into law Session Law 2021-3, entitled, "An Act 
to Make Modifications to COVID-19 Relief Legislation and 
Provide Additional Appropriations for the Expenditure of Federal 
COVID-19 Pandemic Relief Funds."  Section 2.11 of SL 2021-3, 
entitled, "Virtual Education Requirements/Real Estate 
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Appraisers," authorizes the North Carolina Appraisal Board to 
amend, extend, or adopt emergency rules to modify any 
educational requirements implemented by the Board, in 
accordance with Section 3.20 of Session Law 2020-97.  Any 
emergency rule adopted pursuant to Section 2.11 shall expire on 
December 31, 2021.  The North Carolina Appraisal Board has 
made the determination that due to the impacts COVID-19, it is 
in the public interest, including public health, safety, and welfare 
and the economic well-being of its licensees to take the steps set 
forth in this emergency rule to modify continuing education and 
qualifying education requirements. Section 2.11(a) authorizes the 
Board to adopt this emergency rule without commencing 
temporary rule making. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL 
EDUCATION 

 
SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0615 EMERGENCY PROVISIONS 
FOR EXTENSION FOR REMOTE LEARNING FOR 
QUALIFYING EDUCATION, CONTINUING 
EDUCATION AND TAKING OF LICENSING 
EXAMINATION 
Due to the current State of Emergency in North Carolina and the 
United States, the North Carolina Appraisal Board is taking the 
following action: 

(1) Until December 31, 2021, schools and course 
sponsors may offer remote distance learning for 
continuing education courses. In order to offer 
remote distance learning, the school shall 
provide to the Board documentation that it has 
met the following requirements prior to the 
course taking place: 
(a) The educational offering under 

consideration is currently approved 
for traditional classroom presentation; 

(b) The platform utilized for distance 
education is live and interactive; 

(c) The instructor verifies photo 
identification of the students; and 

(d) The instructor maintains an attendance 
roster, which includes verifying 100 
percent classroom attendance by, for 
example, taking attendance at various 
established times during the course. 

(2) Until December 31, 2021, qualifying education 
course offerings that are approved to be 
presented in a traditional live in person 
classroom setting, may be offered as 
synchronous delivery without the required 

approval set forth in Item (4) of this Rule. The 
school shall provide to the Board 
documentation that it has met the following 
requirements prior to the course taking place: 
(a) The educational offering under 

consideration is currently approved 
for traditional classroom presentation; 

(b) The platform utilized for distance 
education is live and interactive; 

(c) The instructor verifies photo 
identification of the students; 

(d) The instructor maintains an attendance 
roster, which includes verifying 100 
percent classroom attendance by, for 
example, taking attendance at various 
established times during the course; 
and 

(e) The examination required for 
qualifying education under Section 
III.E.7. of the AQB criteria remains in 
effect. 

(3) Until December 31, 2021, schools shall allow 
students to make-up qualifying education 
course hours by attending another course that is 
equivalent to the original course offered by the 
same school. The make-up hours attended by 
the student shall be for the same content that the 
student missed. 

(4) Until December 31, 2021, schools and course 
sponsors may offer remote asynchronous 
distance learning for qualifying education 
courses, as long as the qualifying education 
courses are approved in accordance with 
Sections III D.3 and III.F.6 of the AQB criteria. 

(5) All other Board rules that apply to continuing 
education or qualifying education that do not 
conflict with this Rule are in effect and enforced 
by the Board. 

 
History Note: Authority; G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-7; 93E-1-8; 
93E-2-6; S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20; S.L. 2021-3, s. 2.11; 
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 1, 2020; 
Emergency Adoption Eff. May 21, 2020 to expire pursuant to S.L. 
2020-3, s. 4.38 (e); 
Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. August 1, 2020 pursuant to S.L. 
2020-3, s. 4.38 (e); 
Emergency Adoption Eff. October 19, 2020 to expire pursuant to 
S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20(e); 
Emergency Adoption Eff. March 26, 2021 to expire pursuant to 
S.L. 2021-3, s. 2.11(a). 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission March 18, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Vacant Vacant 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 April 15, 2021 June 17, 2021 
 May 20, 2021 July 15, 2021 

 
 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
March 18, 2021 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, March 18, 2021 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting to ensure compliance with 
Executive Orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting was conducted in accordance 
with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.  
 
Commissioners present via WebEx were Bobby Bryan, Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, 
Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell. 
 
Staff member Alex Burgos was present in the Commission room. Commission Counsel Amber May, Amanda Reeder, and 
Ashley Snyder were present via WebEx. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the February 18, 2021 meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Department of Public Safety 
14B NCAC 19B .0107 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
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14B NCAC 19A .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104; 19B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, 0105, .0106; and 19C .0101 - Upon the call of 
the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, 
Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: 
None.   
 
State Board of Education  
16 NCAC 06B .0114 – In response to objections in September and January, the agency responded in accordance with the 
provisions of G.S. 150B-21.12 and requested the rule be returned to the agency.  No further action was taken by the 
Commission. 
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06G .0508 – In November, the Commission determined the rewritten version of 16 NCAC 06G .0508 met the 
Commission’s objections but the changes were substantial, and the agency would need to re-publish the rule. No action 
was required by the Commission. 
 
Building Code Council 
Residential Code, N1101.13(R401.2) – In February, the Commission voted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 to ask the Office of 
State Budget and Management (OSBM) to determine if the rule has a substantial economic impact and therefore requires 
a fiscal note. This rule will remain under the Commission’s review until after review by OSBM and subsequent action by the 
agency pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Department of Environmental Quality 01 NCAC 41C, D 
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Department of Environmental Quality 04 NCAC 12C, D   
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Medical Care Commission  
10A NCAC 13O .0301 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul 
Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Commission for Public Health 10A NCAC 41A 
10A NCAC 41A .0101 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul 
Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Alarm Systems Licensing Board    
14B NCAC 17 .0202 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul 
Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 
7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Commission for Public Health 15A NCAC 18A 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
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Board of Barber Examiners 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Barber Examiners, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides general legal advice to the Board, 
including matters involving rulemaking. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board, Commissioner Choi recused herself and 
did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides general legal advice to the 
Board, including matters involving rulemaking. 
 
21 NCAC 28B .0406 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Medical Board 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Medical Board, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did not participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6. Voting in the negative: 
None.   
 
Board of Funeral Service 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Board of Funeral Service, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides general legal advice to the Board, including 
matters involving rulemaking. 
 
21 NCAC 34B .0309 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
State Board of Opticians 
21 NCAC 40 .0113 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in 
the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell 
– 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Veterinary Medical Board 
21 NCAC 66 .0309 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in 
the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell 
– 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Office of Administrative Hearings 
26 NCAC 03 .0502 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in 
the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell 
– 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
Department of Environmental Quality 
15A NCAC 01C, D - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later 
than March 31, 2022 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
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COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The meeting adjourned at 9:26 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
 
 

Rules Review Commission Meeting March 18, 2021 
Held Via WebEx 

       
Name   Agency  
Dennis Seavers Barber Examiners 
Elizabeth Kirk Occupational Therapy 
Calvin Kirven Landscape Contractors 
April McGill 

 

Jennifer Everett DEQ 
Brandon Walker SBOE 
Shane Smith DHHS 
Larry Michael DHHS 
Rob Pearsall DHHS 
Margaret McDonald DPS 
Sue Hodgin Opticians 
Jean-Marie Maillard DHHS 
Terri Ritter DHHS 
Wilson Mize DHHS 
Nadine Pfeiffer DSHR 
Lou Martin SBOE 
Virginia Niehaus DSHR 
Jana Busick DHHS 
Dr. Tod Schadler Veterinary Bd 
Ed Norman DHHS 
Kirsten Leloudis DHHS 
Wilson Mize DHHS 
Keith West Veterinary Bd 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 
March 18, 2021 Meeting 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 
Residential Conservation Service Program 04 NCAC 12C .0108 
Delegation of Authority for Rulemaking Hearings and State... 04 NCAC 12D .0101 
Submission and Content of Petition for Rulemaking 04 NCAC 12D .0102 
Contents of Petition 04 NCAC 12D .0103 
Issuance of Declaratory Rulings 04 NCAC 12D .0116 
Disposition of Requests for Declaratory Ruling 04 NCAC 12D .0117 
Disposition of Petitions for Rulemaking 04 NCAC 12D .0132 
Submission of Request for Declaratory Ruling 04 NCAC 12D .0133 
     
MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 
Nurse Aide I Training and Competency Evaluation 10A NCAC 13O .0301 
     
PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 
Reportable Diseases and Conditions 10A NCAC 41A .0101 
     
ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 
Experience Requirements for a License 14B NCAC 17 .0202 
     
PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 
Scope 14B NCAC 19A .0101 
Definitions 14B NCAC 19A .0102 
System Administrator Designation 14B NCAC 19A .0103 
Covered Entity System Access; Local Administrators 14B NCAC 19A .0104 
System Compatibility for Kits 14B NCAC 19B .0101 
Medical Service Providers 14B NCAC 19B .0102 
Law Enforcement Agencies 14B NCAC 19B .0103 
Law Enforcement Support Services 14B NCAC 19B .0104 
Forensic Laboratories 14B NCAC 19B .0105 
Previously Untested Kits 14B NCAC 19B .0106 
Compliance and Sanctions 14B NCAC 19C .0101 
     
PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 
Disinfection of Water Systems 15A NCAC 18A .1724 
Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .3101 
Lead Poisoning Hazard and Clearance Standard for Soil 15A NCAC 18A .3105 
Maintenance Standard 15A NCAC 18A .3107 
Sample Collection 15A NCAC 18A .3802 
     
BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 
Barber School Curricula 21 NCAC 06F .0120 
Student Hours 21 NCAC 06F .0124 
     
LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 
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Emergency Extensions of Continuing Education Requirements... 21 NCAC 28B .0406 
     
MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF 
Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 21 NCAC 30 .0636 
Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 21 NCAC 30 .0704 
     
MEDICAL BOARD 
COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32B .1708 
COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32M .0119 
     
FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 
License Renewal Form 21 NCAC 34B .0309 
     
OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF 
Waiver 21 NCAC 40 .0113 
     
VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 
Petition for Inactive Status 21 NCAC 66 .0309 
     
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF 
General 26 NCAC 03 .0502 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 
If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 
 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 
FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 
Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 
J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 
David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
Selina Malherbe    Michael Byrne 
     Karlene Turrentine 

 

 
 

Year Code Number Date 
Decision 
Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

      Published      
20 ABC 03129 2/8/2021 NC Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Commission  
v. Ablaze Management LLC T/A 

Lounge 34 
May 

             
20 CPS 01803 2/11/2021 Nathaniel J. Bartlett and 

Jerry M. Tolson  
v. NC Victims Compensation 

Commission 
Bawtinhimer 

             
20 DHR 01910 2/11/2021 Michael Davidson  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Food and 
Nutrition Services 

Sutton 

             
20 DOJ 02206 2/12/2021 Elainea Blair Kingsberry-

Brodie  
v. NC Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards 
Commission 

Ward 

20 DOJ 03450 2/22/2021 Aaron Daniel Hubbard  v. NC Sheriffs Education and 
Training Standards Commission 

Byrne 

20 DOJ 03452 2/12/2021 Leon Kent Brown  v. NC Sheriffs Education and 
Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

20 DOJ 03453 2/2/2021 Joshua Hugh Black  v. NC Sheriffs Education and 
Training Standards Commission 

Malherbe 

20 DOJ 03786 2/4/2021 Jeremy Lamond Henderson  v. NC Private Protective Services 
Board 

Ward 

20 DOJ 03866 2/18/2021 Dylan Lee Singleton  v. NC Alarm Systems Licensing 
Board 

Jacobs 

20 DOJ 03887 2/22/2021 Homer Owen Weaver  v. NC Alarm Systems Licensing 
Board 

Jacobs 

20 DOJ 03899 2/18/2021 James Maxwell Smith  v. NC Alarm Systems Licensing 
Board 

Jacobs 

20 DOJ 04335 2/1/2021 Jennifer Marie Plymouth  v. NC Private Protective Services 
Board 

Byrne 
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20 DOJ 05404 2/1/2021 Geneviene Christine Penn  v. NC Private Protective Services 
Board 

Byrne 

             
20 OSP 02124 2/25/2021 Judith Knechteges  v. NC Department of Public Safety Lassiter 
20 OSP 02524 2/18/2021 Barbara Mullen  v. North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services 
Disability Determination 

Services 

Lassiter 

        
      Unpublished      

20 CPS 03676 2/11/2021 Jordan Montgomery 
Matusik  

v. Department of Public Safety Jacobs 

             
20 CRA 02048 2/3/2021 Farooq I Khan  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of 
Social Services, Child Support 

Enforcement 

Ward 

             
19 CSE 06063 2/9/2021 Jarmon Best  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of 
Social Services, Child Support 

Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 06139 2/9/2021 Jennifer Forte  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 06392 2/9/2021 Cedric E Lightfoot  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06470 2/9/2021 Peter R Knott  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Ward 

20 CSE 02168 2/9/2021 David Prado  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 02197 2/3/2021 David L Wright  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04009 2/8/2021 Kevin Michael Smith  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04010 2/9/2021 Leland M McCluskey  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04029 2/9/2021 Garcia Howard  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04049 2/25/2021 Roberto E Mendoza  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Malherbe 
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Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

20 CSE 04051 2/1/2021 Michael Cassata  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04077 2/12/2021 Roderick R Williams  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04111 2/10/2021 Joseph Wayne Powell  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 04193 2/4/2021 Derwin A Bryant Sr  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04199 2/9/2021 Katie Stacy  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04231 2/9/2021 Mark A Ortiz  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04235 2/9/2021 Lauren N Stegall  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04255 2/9/2021 James E Coggins  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 04258 2/22/2021 Anna M Duncan  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 04626 2/8/2021 Jeremy Ryan Watson  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04689 2/12/2021 Larry D McGee Jr  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04727 2/8/2021 David Penkava for Jason P 
Penkava  

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04993 2/11/2021 Larry J Watkins  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 05221 2/16/2021 Juan C Jimenezmoore v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Byrne 
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20 CSE 05228 2/16/2021; 
2/17/2021 

Samuel L Dent  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 05229 2/2/2021 Stephen D Vestal  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 05458 2/10/2021 Franklin O Woodley Jr  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

21 CSE 00006 2/11/2021 Anthony Lewis  v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Social Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Byrne 

  
          

 

20 DHR 05044 2/12/2021 Little Bud Thorbs Economic 
Develpment Association for 

Minorities in Sports and 
Human Enrichment 

Linwood Earl Thorbs  

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of 

Public Health Child and Adult 
Care Food Program 

Jacobs 

  
          

 

20 DOJ 03805 2/24/2021 Harry Lee White III  v. NC Criminal Justice Education 
and Training Standards 

Commission 

May 

  
          

 

20 DOT 04012 2/11/2021 Michael Punte and Ashley 
Punte  

v. North Carolina Department of 
Transportation 

Malherbe 
  

          
 

20 EHR 02626 2/2/2021 Nantahala Shores POA 
Richard P FitzGerald Jr  

v. NC Department of 
Environmental Quality, Div of 
Water Resources Public Water 

Supply Section 

Mann 

  
          

 

20 INS 05158 2/10/2021 Matthew Rosone  v. North Carolina State Health Plan 
for Teachers and Employees 

Sutton 
  

          
 

20 OSP 03840 2/12/2021 Donald Mitchell Fowler Jr  v. NC Department of Public Safety Bawtinhimer 
20 OSP 03968 2/11/2021 Shaquanna Deandra 

Holbrook  
v. North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety 
Jacobs 

 
 


	NORTH CAROLINA
	REGISTER
	VOLUME  35  ●  ISSUE  20  ●  Pages  2171 – 2288
	I. EXECUTIVE ORDERS
	Executive Order No. 202-203 2171 – 2175
	II. PROPOSED RULES
	Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of
	Agriculture, Board of 2176 – 2182
	Health and Human Services, Department of
	Social Services Commission 2182 – 2220
	Insurance, Department of
	Industrial Commission 2220 – 2221
	Justice, Department of
	Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 2221 – 2222
	Environmental Quality, Department of
	Coastal Resources Commission 2222 – 2247
	Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Nursing, Board of 2247 – 2249
	Pharmacy, Board of 2249 – 2251
	Social Work Certification and Licensure Board 2251 – 2270
	Veterinary Medical Board 2270 – 2271
	Administrative Hearings, Office of
	Administrative Hearings, Office of 2271 – 2273
	III. EMERGENCY RULES
	Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of
	Pesticide Board 2274
	Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Appraisal Board 2274 – 2275
	IV. RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 2276 – 2284
	V. CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS
	Index to ALJ Decisions 2285 – 2288
	Rule Notices, Filings, Register, Deadlines, Copies of Proposed Rules, etc.
	Office of Administrative Hearings
	Rules Division
	Rule Review and Legal Issues
	Rules Review Commission
	Fiscal Notes & Economic Analysis
	Office of State Budget and Management
	NC Association of County Commissioners
	NC League of Municipalities   919-715-2925
	Legislative Process Concerning Rulemaking
	This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil ...
	GENERAL

	Title 02 – Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Agriculture intends to adopt the rules cited as 02 NCAC 60B .1033-.1036, and amend the rules cited as 02 NCAC 60B .1001-.1015, .1017-.1022 and .1024-.1032.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index.htm
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may request a public hearing on the proposed rule by submitting a request in writing no later than 4/30/2021 to Tina Hlabse, Secretary...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule adoptions and amendments are intended to make the State Forest rules easier to read and understand by the public and easier to enforce by N.C. Forest Service.  They are also intended to update the rules o...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Tina Hlabse, Secretary, Board of Agriculture, 1001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1001; email tina.hlabse@ncagr.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 60 - Division of Forest Resources
	SUBCHAPTER 60B - DIVISION PROGRAMS
	(a)  This section Section coordinates the use of all the North Carolina's Carolina Forest Service's State Forests and Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State Forests. Forests into one combined set of rules. This is in In keeping wit...
	(b)  All North Carolina Educational State Forests and State Forest rules rules of this Section are effective within and upon the properties defined as Educational State Forests and all State Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State F...
	As used in this Rule Section the following terms have the following meanings:
	(a)  Any violation of the a permit constitutes grounds for its revocation by the Department. In case of a permit revocation the permit holder shall forfeit to the Department all money monies paid for the permit. Furthermore, the department Department ...
	(b)  Applications for commercial use permits shall be made through submitted to the State North Carolina Forest Service's Forest, Recreational State Forest, or Educational State Forest office during business hours, hours. Applications which may be fou...
	A person shall not engage in rock climbing, cliff climbing, or rappelling within the boundaries of a state forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest except at designated area...
	(a)  A person shall not dive dive, jump, or jump slide from any waterfalls or rocks or overhangs into any body of water. water within any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest.
	(b)  A person shall not wade, bathe, or swim in any body of water in an Educational State Forest, except in designated swimming areas.
	(c)  A person may wade, bathe, or swim at his or her own risk in any body of water in any State Forest, except within 300 feet upstream of the top of a waterfall, and in other designated non-swimming areas. Wading, bathing, and swimming is allowed at ...
	(d)(c)  Public Nudity:
	(1) Public nudity is prohibited in and upon all State Forest, State Recreational Forest, State Recreational Forest, and Educational State Forest lands or waters. This Rule does not apply to the enclosed portions of bathhouses, restrooms, tents, and re...
	(2) Children under the age of five are exempt from this restriction.

	(a)  A person shall not hunt on any Educational State Forest lands without obtaining a permit and must obey all State hunting laws set forth in G.S. 113 and rules in effect. Hunting in and upon all State Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educat...
	(b)  A person hunting in and upon State Forests, State Recreational Forests, or Educational State Forests under the Game Lands Program may hunt on a State Forest or State recreational forest that is in the Game Land program if the person obtains shall...
	(c)  For State Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State Forests that are not in the Game Lands Program, hunting shall be allowed only if a person first obtains a permit from the Forest Supervisor's office and complies with all State ...
	(a)  Except in areas designated as non-fishing, A a person may fish in any waters in State Forests, State Recreational Forests, or Educational State Forests Forests or State recreational forests if the person obeys all State fishing laws as set forth ...
	(b)  A person may fish in any waters of any Educational State Forest if the person first obtains a permit from the Forest Supervisor's office and provided the person obeys all State fishing laws as set forth in G.S. 113. Chapter 113 of the North Carol...
	(a)  Except in designated areas, no No person shall have any dog, cat, or other pet upon a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest unless the animal is on a physical leash and under the control of the owner or some other p...
	(b)  Hunting dogs used in accordance with NC North Carolina Wildlife Commission Game Land Rules pertaining to State Forests pursuant to 15A NCAC 10D .0102 and .0103 shall be exempt from Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(b)(c)  No dog, cat, or other pet shall be allowed to enter any public building on State Forests, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest, or designated swimming areas, except assistance service animals for persons with disabilities in ...
	(d)  Any owned animal or pet causing a threat or nuisance within any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest shall be removed.
	(a)  A person shall not operate a boat, canoe, kayak, or other watercraft in any waters on Educational State Forests without obtaining a permit.
	(b)(a)  Except in areas designated as non-boating, Boats, boats, canoes, kayaks, or and other watercraft watercraft, including flotation devices, may shall be operated allowed on the waters of State Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational...
	(b)  Boats and other watercraft with gas motors attached are prohibited on any waters of State Forests and Educational State Forests Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State Forests, except for use by rescue squads, diving teams, or ...
	(a)  No person shall spend the night or maintain a camp in a State Forest, Forest, State Recreational Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, except in designated areas or under permit.
	(b)  A person camping in a designated area shall not stay more than one 24-hour period without a valid permit.
	No games or athletic contests shall be allowed in a State Forest, Forest, State Recreational Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, except in places as may be designated places or under permit.
	(a)  In a State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, no No person shall use, ride, or drive a horse except to, from, or along a designated bridle path, multi-use trail designated for horses horses, or designated watering point.
	(b)  Each equestrian user person bringing a horse in or upon any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest shall remove from designated parking areas, areas sidewalks, covered bridges, paved surfaces, and wooden surfaces all...
	(c)  When dismounted, horses shall be tied in such a manner as to prevent damage to trees and other plants. Anytime a horse is constrained in a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest, it shall be done in a manner so as to...
	(d)  Horses shall not be steered or led across cross rivers and streams using bridges or culverts if available. preexisting crossings along designated trails.
	(e)  Horses shall not be allowed to wade in lakes.
	(f)  Equestrian users A person bringing a horse in or upon any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest shall possess valid negative Equine Infectious Anemia test, also known as a Coggins papers test for each horse and make...
	(g)  No horse-drawn carts, carriages, or other apparatus shall be allowed in or upon State Forests, State Recreational Forests, or Educational State Forests except by permit.
	(a)  In a State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, no No person shall use or ride a bicycle in or upon State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest grounds except on a road or trail authorized for p...
	(b)  When crossing Persons riding bicycles shall cross rivers or and streams streams, bicycle use shall be confined to bridges or culverts if available using preexisting crossings along designated trails.
	(c)  Motorized bicycles or battery assisted bicycles, also known as E-Bikes, are allowed only on motor vehicle roads open to public vehicular traffic and not allowed on bike trails, bridle trails, hiking trails, or multiuse trails.
	No person shall use or ride roller skates, in-line skates, roller blades, skate boards, skateboards, or any similar device on in or upon any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest. Forest road o...
	No person shall carry or possess any explosives or explosive substances including fireworks in or upon State Forests, State Recreational Forests, or Educational State Forests. Forests, State recreational forests, or Educational State Forests. This doe...
	(a)  No person shall build or start a fire in any area of a State Forest, Forest, State Recreational Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, unless that area is designated for such purpose.
	(b)  Tree planters and logging crews may build warming fires if they obtain a permit and confine the fire to an area designated for such purpose.
	(c)  Fires ignited for forest management purposes under the provisions of a prescribed Prescribed burning plan as defined in G.S. 106-966, conducted by the North Carolina Forest Service or approved by the North Carolina Forest Supervisor or his or her...
	(d)  Except in designated areas, cooking fires, grills, ovens, stoves, burners, or other devices that ignite natural gas or other petroleum products are prohibited. Likewise, the burning of wood, charcoal or paper is also prohibited except in designat...
	(a)  No person visiting on a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest shall disobey a lawful order of a Division employee, Forest Ranger, law enforcement officer, or any other Department o...
	(b)  No person shall use, walk, or run on or along a road or trail that is designated closed for maintenance, tree removal or any other purpose, or nor shall they enter an area that is designated "No Entry," "Do Not Enter," or "Authorized Personnel On...
	(a)  No person shall possess, consume, use, or be under the influences influence of intoxicants, any malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine or spirituous liquor as defined in G.S. 18B-101, while in or upon a State Forest, State Recreational F...
	(b)  No person shall possess, consume, use, or be under the influence of any non-prescribed controlled substance as defined in G.S. 90-87, including marijuana, or non-prescribed narcotic drugs as defined in G.S. 90-87, while on in or upon a State Fore...
	No person shall injure, deface, disturb, destroy, or disfigure any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest building, structure, sign, fence, vehicle, machine, or any equipment, road, park...
	(a)  No person shall shall, while in or on a State Forest, or Educational State Forest, sell or offer for sale, hire or lease, any object or merchandise, property, privilege, service or any other thing, or engage in any business except under permit. S...
	(b)  Sales by the Department or sales that are contracted by the Department or by an entity that is under agreement with the Department are exempt from this Rule.
	The production or emission of noises noises, speech, music, or other sound, that is annoying, disturbing, or frightening to a reasonable person over the level of 85 decibels, at a distance of 10 feet, on in or upon a State Forest, State Recreational F...
	A person shall not solicit contributions for any purpose within in or upon a State Forest, Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, unless permitted by the Division Departm...
	(a)  Except as provided in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, a person shall not voluntarily bring, land, or cause to descend or alight, ascend, or take off within or upon any State Forest, State recreational forest, State Recreational Forest, or Ed...
	(b)  In forest areas where Where aviation activities are part of the planned forest activities or military, law enforcement, or rescue training, a permit for aviation use shall be required.
	(c)  Emergency aircraft such as air ambulances North Carolina Forest Service and aerial search helicopters, and Division emergency aircraft are exempt from this Rule.
	For violation of any rule in this Section, the Division rule in this Subchapter, Department law enforcement officers, other sworn law enforcement, or Forest Rangers shall withdraw the right of a person or persons the violator to remain on a State Fore...
	(a)  A person shall not drive a motorized vehicle in a State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational Motorized vehicles shall not be operated in or upon a State Forest Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest within or,...
	(b)  Motor bikes, mini-bikes, all terrain vehicles, and any other unlicensed motor vehicle are prohibited within the forest except by permit. Emergency responders and construction or service vendors are exempt from Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(c)  A person shall not park a motorized vehicle in a manner that blocks forest roads or gates. Unless otherwise posted, the speed limit on graveled forest roads is 20 miles per hour, hour on graveled forest roads and on dirt roads is 10 miles per hou...
	(e)  Vehicles exempt from this Rule are: Department vehicles, authorized vendors, vehicles used in conjunction with forest and emergency operations, and vehicles of employees and resident family members.
	(a)  A person shall not remove, destroy, cut down, scar, mutilate, take, gather, or injure any tree, flower, artifact, fern, shrub, rock, fungi, or other plant or mineral in or upon any State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State For...
	(b)  A person shall not collect plants, animals, minerals, fungi, or other artifacts from any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest area without first having obtained a permit. permit from the ...
	(c)  The use of metal detectors on a State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest is prohibited without a permit.
	(a)  A person shall not deposit paper or plastic products, bottles, cans, or any other refuse, or debris in or upon a State Forest, State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest, Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest ...
	(b)  No one shall dispose of household or business trash or garbage in any State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest.
	(a)  The following fee schedule shall apply at DuPont State Recreational Forest and the Community Building at Jordan Lake Educational State Forest:
	(1) CAMPING.
	(2) PICNIC SHELTER RENTALS.
	(3) CLASSROOM OR COMMUNITY BUILDING (DuPont State Recreational Forest and Jordan Lake Educational State Forest).
	(4) EQUESTRIAN FACILITIES.
	(5) PERMITS FOR SPECIAL EVENTS. Permits for use of the forest for events involving large groups or special privileges and requiring staff assistance: Rate: $1.00 per person plus the cost of staff time and equipment use involved in monitoring the permit.

	(6)(a)  PERMITS FOR THE REMOVAL OF FIREWOOD, VEGETATIVE MATERIAL, ROCKS, ETC. Fees for these items are based on the value of the material as determined by local market conditions. Admission fees or related activity fees at State Forests, State Recreat...
	(b)  Payment of the appropriate fee required fees shall be a prerequisite for the use of the public service facility or convenience provided.
	(c)  Unless otherwise provided in this Rule, the The number of persons camping at a particular site may be limited by the forest supervisor or designee depending upon the size of the group and the size and nature of the campsite.
	(d)  Reservations must shall be canceled 30 days prior to the event in order to receive a refund. Permit Activity fees are non-refundable.
	(a)  Hours of operation may vary for individual forests. Hours of operation for each State Forest, State Recreational Forest, and State recreational forest, or Educational State Forest shall be posted at the forest entrance, the forest office, and on ...
	(b)  No person except forest Department employees and authorized persons shall be allowed within in or upon State Forests, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest the forest between closing and opening hours except in designated areas o...
	Departmental forest law enforcement officers, Forest Rangers, and other sworn law enforcement, and Forest Rangers enforcement may enforce the rules of this Section.
	(a)  There shall be no parking in State Forest, State Recreational Forest, or Educational State Forest areas designated as "No Parking" and "Authorized Vehicles Only." Additionally:
	(1) vehicles shall be parked in areas designated for that vehicle type; and
	(2) visitors shall not park a vehicle, trailer, or other object in a manner that blocks, or restricts access, ingress, or egress to a parking area, road, gate, or access point.

	(b)  Vehicles, trailers, or other objects blocking or restricting emergency or Department personnel or visitors' access, ingress, or egress to any parking area, road, gate, or access point shall be removed at the owners' expense and without notice.
	(c)  Vehicles parked in areas not designated for that vehicle type or in areas designated as "No Parking" or "Authorized Vehicles Only" shall be removed at the owners' expense and without notice.
	Parents, guardians, and custodians, of minor children shall ensure the minor comply with all North Carolina Forest Service rules.
	All applicable federal, State, and local laws regarding firearms shall apply in or upon State Forests, State Recreational Forests, and Educational State Forests.


	Title 10A – Department of Health and Human Services
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 10A NCAC 70M .0102, .0701, .0702, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-dss/social-services-commission/rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: (919)733-385...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review these rules were determined to be "Necess...
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption with substantive changes: 10A NCAC 70M .0201, .0301, .0302, .0304, .0401, .0402, .0501, .0601, .0602, and .0604;
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption without substantive changes: 10A NCAC 70M .0101 and .0403;
	The following rules are being proposed for repeal through readoption:  10A NCAC 70M .0404, .0405, .0502 and .0603;
	The following rules are being proposed for adoption to clarify programmatic procedures:  10A NCAC 70M .0102, .0701 and .0702.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 70 - Children's Services
	SUBCHAPTER 70M - ADOPTION STANDARDS
	SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
	The following definitions shall apply to the rules in this Subchapter:
	(1) "Adoption assistance agreement" means a signed written agreement that is developed by the Department ("North Carolina Adoption Assistance Agreement" Form DSS-5123 which can be found at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that is binding upon the...
	(2) "Applicable child" means a child who meets the requirements in 42 U.S.C. 673(e) which is incorporated herein by reference along with any subsequent amendments.
	(3) "Child with special needs" or "children with special needs" means a child who meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(c) which is incorporated herein by reference along with any subsequent amendments. The public adoption agency, or the North Carolina...
	(4) "Department" means the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services.
	(5) "Nonrecurring adoption expense" means the same as "nonrecurring adoption expenses" found in 42 U.S.C. 673(a)(6)(A) along with any subsequent amendments of the phrase.
	(6) "Public adoption agency" means any county department of social services, consolidated human services, or regional department of social services in North Carolina that is authorized by law to place children for adoption or that provides adoption se...
	(7) "Supplemental Agreement" means a signed written agreement that is developed by the Department ("North Carolina Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Supplemental Adoption Assistance Agreement" Form DSS-5212 which can be found at https://www.ncd...


	SECTION .0200 - ORGANIZATION AND ADMINISTRATION
	(a)  Except for the requirements relating to an executive director, public adoption agencies must comply with 10A NCAC 70H .0401 governs the policies for public agencies providing adoption services in determining the qualifications and job responsibil...
	(b)  Public adoption agencies must comply with 10A NCAC 70F .0207 governs the policies for public agencies in the hiring of staff, use of clerical staff, staff and use of volunteers.
	(c)  The caseload size of social workers providing adoption services shall be in compliance with requirements set forth in 10A NCAC 70H .0401.

	SECTION .0300 - FUNCTIONS OF AN a public ADOPTION AGENCY
	Public child-placing adoption agencies shall perform the following functions:
	(a)  Public adoption agencies must comply with 10A NCAC 70H .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, 0408 and .0409 shall govern the policies for public agencies providing adoption services in determining the procedures for, for the application process, preplaceme...
	(b)  A county department of social services shall prepare or contract for the preparation of a preplacement assessment for an adoptive applicant who has identified a prospective adoptive child and has been unable to obtain a preplacement assessment. A...
	The agency shall have a written plan for on-going recruitment of adoptive homes for the children it places or plans to place for adoption. The plan shall adhere to the provisions of the Multiethnic Placement Act of 1994 as amended by the Interethnic A...
	(a)  Public adoption agencies shall recruit potential adoptive and foster families that reflect the ethnic and racial diversity of children in the state.
	(b)  Public adoption agencies shall not deny any person the opportunity to become an adoptive or a foster parent on the basis of the race, color, or national origin of the person or of the child involved.
	(c)  Public adoption agencies shall not delay or deny the placement of a child for adoption or foster care, on the basis of the race, color, or national origin of the adoptive or foster parent or the child involved.
	(d)  Public adoption agencies shall not violate provisions of the Multiethnic Placement Act of 1994 as amended by the Interethnic Adoption Provisions of 1996 that apply to state or local agencies.

	section .0400 – regular monthly cash adoption assistance: general assistance and vendor payments
	(a)  Regular monthly cash assistance payments are monthly payments made based on means the graduated rates set by the General Assembly. Assembly and reflected in the executed adoption assistance agreement. The payments may be made to children who meet...
	(b)  Vendor payments are made directly to the a child's provider, including which may include the adoptive parents, for medical medical, therapeutic, psychological, and remedial services not covered by Medicaid, Medicaid therapeutic, psychological, an...
	(c)  Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund payments may be made to children who meet the requirements as set out in Rule .0404 of this Section.
	(a)  Adoption assistance in the form of regular monthly cash assistance payments based on graduated rates set by the General Assembly and vendor payments may be made when The the child shall meet meets the following eligibility criteria:
	(1) The child is legally clear for adoption, or was legally adopted;
	(2) The child is, or was, the placement responsibility of a North Carolina agency authorized to place children for adoption at the time of adoptive placement; meets at least one of the following criteria:
	(3) The child has special needs that create a financial barrier to adoption; or the child was legally adopted and the child's special needs, though pre-existing, were detected after the adoption has been finalized and if known would have created a fin...
	(4) Reasonable but unsuccessful efforts have been made to place the child for adoption without the benefits of adoption assistance;
	(5) The child is under 18 years of age; and was adopted after reaching the age of 16 but prior to reaching the age of 18;
	(6) The child may continue to receive adoption assistance payments after his or her 18th birthday until his or her 21st birthday if an adoption assistance agreement was entered into on or after his or her 16th birthday and meets any of the following c...

	(b)  In order for the child to receive regular monthly cash assistance payments, the adoptive parents must have entered into an agreement with the child's agency prior to entry of the Decree of Adoption. The agreement shall have set forth the respecti...
	(c)  A child's eligibility for vendor payments shall further be determined on the basis of documentation of a known and diagnosed medical, mental, or emotional condition that will require periodic treatment or therapy of a medical or remedial nature.
	A child's eligibility for vendor payments may be determined by the agency administering adoption assistance benefits at any time during the child's minority if the medical, mental, or emotional condition, congenital problem, birth injury, or other doc...
	(d)  North Carolina residency of the child and adoptive parents is not a requirement for the child to be eligible to receive regular monthly cash assistance payments or vendor payments.
	(b)  For vendor payments, in addition to the criteria in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the child shall also meet the following criteria:
	(1) at or prior to the issuance of the adoption decree, have a known and diagnosed medical, mental, or emotional condition that is documented by a medical professional that will require ongoing treatment or therapy of a medical or remedial nature; or
	(2) after the issuance of the adoption decree but while still under the age of 18, have been determined by the public adoption agency administering adoption assistance benefits to have a medical, mental, or emotional condition, congenital problem, bir...

	(c)  The prospective adoptive parents must meet the following criteria:
	(1) Enter into an adoption assistance agreement with a public adoption agency at the time of or prior to the issuance of an adoption decree;
	(2) Have a child placed with them in accordance with applicable state and local laws for purposes of an adoption who meets the requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule;
	(3) are legally responsible for the support of the child and is providing support to the child, if the child is under the age of 18;
	(4) entered into an adoption assistance agreement with the public adoption agency prior to entry of the decree of adoption. The adoption assistance agreement shall identify the specific services for the child that the parents want to be covered by ven...
	(5) Shall have a completed criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other criminal conviction that would cause the prospective adoptive parent t...
	(6) Shall provide the public adoption agency with the results of the criminal back history investigation.
	(7) Shall have a completed check of the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List and have a check of the results of child abuse and neglect central registry of states where the applicant has resided the past five years and not be placed on the No...
	(8) For vendor payments when the child meets the criteria in Sub-item (b)(2) of this Rule, shall enter into an adoption assistance agreement amendment on a form provided by the Department ("North Carolina Division of Social Services Adoption Assistanc...

	(d)  All individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a completed a criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(...
	(e)  Prior to the adoption, all individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a completed check of the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List and have a check of the results of child abuse and negle...
	(f)  Upon adoption, the adoptive parents shall comply with all the terms of the adoption agreement assistance and notify the public adoption agency of any change in their legal or financial responsibility of the adopted child, address or contact infor...
	(g)  The public adoption agency shall:
	(1) prior to the adoption, make a determination as to whether the requirements of this Rule have been met on a form created by the Department ("Adoption Assistance Eligibility Checklist" Form DSS-5012 which can be found at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divis...
	(2) maintain a copy of the results of the criminal investigation of the foster parents and any individual 18 years of age or older who resides in the prospective adoptive home.
	(3) after the adoption:
	(4) In order for vendor services to be reimbursed the vendor must obtain prior approval by submitting to the public adoption agency completed and signed forms provided by the Department ("Adoption Assistance Vendor Payment Request Form" Form DSS-5112 ...


	SECTION .0500 - OUT-OF-STATE ADOPTION FEES - GENERAL
	(a)  Out-of-state adoption service fees are established as part of the state-wide permanency planning effort for the purpose of providing services to foster children to assist in finding permanent adoptive homes for them.
	(b)  This adoption service fee is provided to county departments of social services for payment of service fees to obtain adoption services from out-of-state adoption agencies, including assisting with the costs of:
	(1) recruiting and securing an adoptive home for the child;
	(2) pre-placement services to family and child;
	(3) post-placement services to family and child;
	(4) post-finalization services.

	(c)  The adoption service fee is designed to provide financial assistance to enable county departments of social services having legal placement and consenting authority of children to expand their adoptive family recruitment through referrals to out-...
	(d)  The Division of Social Services will provide a maximum of one thousand eight hundred dollars ($1800) per child for adoption service fees contracted for between a county department of social services and an authorized out-of-state adoption agency.
	(a)  When the requirements in this Rule have been met, with prior approval, the Department may reimburse in part or in full a fee incurred by a public adoption agency for adoption services provided by an out-of-state adoption agency. Public adoption a...
	(b)  The requirements of this Rule are met when the child:
	(1) is a child with special needs;
	(2) is registered on the North Carolina Adoption Resource Exchange;
	(3) has parents who have each had one of the following occur:

	(c)  Out-of-state adoption agencies shall be licensed by their respective states and as approved by conditions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) Article 38 of G.S. 7B to provide adoptive services for children with special n...
	(d)  The service fee charged by the specialized out-of-state adoption agency is:
	(1) for one of the following services provided by the specialized adoption service agency:
	(2) when an available adoptive family has not been identified in North Carolina.

	(e)  The public adoption agency:
	(1) shall have custody and placement responsibility of the child and have the legal authority to consent to the child's adoption;
	(2) shall make a written request to the Department for reimbursement for the out-of-state adoption service fee at the time that a decision has been made to place the child with a specific adoptive parent or parents who have had an approved home study ...
	(3) shall include in its reimbursement request to the Department written documentation that verifies the following:
	(4) shall obtain prior approval from the Department prior to initiating contracted services where reimbursement is expected;
	(5) Upon the Department's prior approval for an out-of-state adoption service fee, the public adoption agency shall enter into an agreement with the out-of-state adoption agency on a form provided by the Department ("North Carolina Division of Social ...
	(6) shall pay any amount of the out-of-state adoption agency service fee that is not approved by the Department.

	(f)  To the extent funds are available and the fee for services is not above the maximum allowable amount of one thousand eight hundred dollars ($1,800) per child, the Department shall approve the public adoption agency's request for prior approval fo...
	(g)  The Department shall not reimburse a public adoption agency for any amount over one thousand eight hundred dollars ($1,800) per child in out-of-state adoption service fees that are approved pursuant to this Rule.
	(h)  In order for the public adoption agency to receive reimbursement for a fee that has been approved pursuant to this Rule, the public adoption agency shall notify the Department of the date that payment of the fee is due and provide the Department ...
	(i)  Upon the public adoption agency's payment of the out-of-state adoption service fee, the public adoption agency shall provide the Department will a copy of the receipt of payment for the out-of-state adoption agency fee.

	SECTION .0600 - NON-RECURRING ADOPTION COSTS: GENERAL costs
	Reimbursement of non-recurring adoption expenses incurred by adoptive parents shall be provided by county departments of social services in accordance with requirements set forth in this Section to facilitate the adoption of children with special need...
	(a)  Public adoption agencies shall:
	(1) at the time of or prior to the final decree of adoption, enter into an agreement for the reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses with parents who adopt a child with special needs;
	(2) prior to entering into an agreement for the reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses, the public adoption agency shall:
	(3) make payments for reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses incurred by or on behalf of parents in connection with the adoption of a child with special needs if it enters into an agreement for the reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expen...
	(4) retain copies of the complete application for reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses, along with supporting document and receipts, and the agreement for the reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses for auditing purposes; and
	(5) upon receipt of a completed nonrecurring adoption expense reimbursement application, the public adoption agency shall submit the application to the Department.

	(b)  When there is an interstate placement of the child with special needs, the public adoption agency that agency that entered into an adoption assistance agreement shall also reimburse for the nonrecurring adoption expenses. When there has been an i...
	Non-recurring costs for which reimbursement can be claimed are those costs associated with the adoption that are incurred prior to or at the time of the adoption and which include:
	An adoptive parent shall receive reimbursement for non-recurring adoption expenses not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000) when:
	(1) The child placed with the parent for the purpose of adoption is a child with special needs;
	(2) The adoptive parents have submitted a signed application for non-recurring adoption expenses on a form provided by the Department ("State of North Carolina Application For Reimbursement of Nonrecurring Adoption Costs" Form DSS-5145 which can be fo...
	(3) The foster parents and all individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a completed a criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as def...
	(4) The foster parents shall provide the public adoption agency with the results of the criminal history investigation, and the public adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the results.
	(5) The adopting parents and all individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the home shall have a completed check of the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List and have a check of the results of child abuse and neglect central registry ...
	(6) Upon approval of the application in Item (2) of this Rule, the adoptive parents shall enter into a binding written agreement with a public adoption agency for the reimbursement of non-recurring expenses on a form provided by the Department ("State...
	(7) The application for reimbursement was filed in accord with the quarter rule outlined in CFR 45 1356.41. E2 adoption.

	(a)  The maximum amount for which adoptive parents will be reimbursed for all non-recurring adoption expenses shall not exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000).
	(b)  No maximum rates for specific reimbursable services shall be established by the State Division of Social Services or by any county department of social services.
	The Department and any public adoption agencies are prohibited from establishing a maximum allowable reimbursement amount for any single eligible nonrecurring adoption expense.

	SECTION .0700 – SPECIAL NEEDS ADOPTION INCENTIVE FUND
	Within the limits of available funding, the Department may approve and provide assistance in the form of monthly cash payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund when the following requirements have been met:
	(1) Requirements for the child:
	(2) The requirements for each foster parent are:
	(3) All individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a completed a criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5...
	(4) The requirements for the public adoption agency having custody of the child are:

	(a)  Payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund will be made by the Division of Social Services to the adoptive parent(s).
	(b)  Participating county departments of social services shall submit claims for payments to the Division of Social Services.
	(c)  The initial payment claim must include the following items:
	(1) verification of child's placement authority;
	(2) verification that the child has lived with the foster family six consecutive months;
	(3) copy of written statement from a licensed physician regarding the child's health condition;
	(4) copy of written statement from a licensed health, mental health, or developmental disability professional regarding the status of the child's condition;
	(5) copy of signed adoption assistance agreement;
	(6) copy of signed supplemental assistance agreement; and
	(7) copy of Decree of Adoption.

	(d)  Monthly payment claims shall be submitted on the "Request for Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Payment" form developed by the Division of Social Services.
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to repeal through readoption the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71K .0101 and .0102.
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-dss/social-services-commission/rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: (919)733-385...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review these rules were determined to be "Necess...
	The following rules are being proposed for repeal through readoption:  10A NCAC 71K .0101 and .0102.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required


	SUBCHAPTER 71K – PROBLEM PREGNANCY SERVICES
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71L .0106, .0107, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71L .0...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-dss/social-services-commission/rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: (919)733-385...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review these rules were determined to be "Necess...
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption with substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71L .0101, .0102, .0103, and .0105.
	The following rules are being proposed for repeal through readoption: 10A NCAC 71L .0104.
	The following rules are being proposed for adoption for additional clarification to programmatic procedures:  10A NCAC 71L .0106 and .0107.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	SUBCHAPTER 71L – MATERNITY HOME FUND
	The State Maternity Home Fund is supported by state and federal funds and is administered by the North Carolina Division of Social Services.  The State Maternity Fund is a resource for any North Carolina residents experiencing problem pregnancies who ...
	(a)  A county department of social services or a North Carolina licensed private adoption agency is responsible for social work services and planning for pregnant clients for whom they are requesting State Maternity Home Funds. Fund payments. Social w...
	(b)  Marital status and age do not affect eligibility for State Maternity Home Funds. Fund payments.
	(c)  The client must be a resident of the State of North Carolina to be eligible for State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments.
	(d)  State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments shall supplement any other funds available from applicants, county departments of social services, families or private agencies. The agency requesting State Maternity Fund payments must review all financia...
	(e)  State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments to licensed maternity homes is based on the actual per diem cost of care. A maternity home shall maintain a valid maternity home license for a consecutive one year period and submit an audited financial st...
	(f)  State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments for care in a foster home is the North Carolina standard board rate for foster care assistance set by the General Assembly. The current standard board payment for foster care assistance can be obtained fro...
	(g)  State Maternity Home Funds Fund payments for care in the home of a non-legally responsible relative or in a boarding arrangement shall not exceed the North Carolina standard board rate for foster care assistance.
	(a)  County departments of social services and North Carolina licensed private adoption agencies are responsible for submitting applications to the family services section of the state division of social services for those clients for whom they accept...
	(b)  Licensed private adoption agencies are responsible for submitting applications directly to the family services section for those needy clients for whom they accept basic casework responsibility.
	(c)  Application for funds shall be made prior to admission to the Maternity Home Fund approved living arrangement. Emergency situations may be submitted for special consideration.
	(d)(b)  The following information must accompany requests for funds. funds:
	(1) social study and service plan; This information must include the reason the individual experiencing the problem pregnancy is unable to remain in her own home, a description of the recommended living arrangement, the plan of services for the natura...
	(2) notice of acceptance of the client by a maternity home or another recommended living arrangement;
	(3) anticipated placement date and expected date of delivery.
	(1) the reasons the client cannot remain in her own home (own home includes a foster care facility in which a child resides);
	(2) a description of the client's financial resources;
	(3) household gross monthly income(s), names and ages of other minor children in household, and statement of US citizenship or immigration status;
	(4) a description of the recommended living arrangement and why it is appropriate;
	(5) the proposed plan of services for the biological parents and the child;
	(6) an explanation of why the necessary services cannot be obtained for the client in a community-based living arrangement;
	(7) a tentative agreement to accept the client by the individual responsible for maintaining the recommended living arrangement;
	(8) the anticipated date of admission and the expected date of delivery (month, day, and year for both).

	(e)(c)  Upon receipt of notice that funds have been approved, unless the placement is to be in a licensed maternity home, the agency requesting funds must negotiate with the individual responsible for maintaining the living arrangement a written agree...
	(d)  Payments shall not exceed the amount initially approved.
	(a)  All State Maternity Fund forms, correspondence, and monthly billing statements shall be addressed to the State Maternity Fund Coordinator, whose contact information can be found on the Application for State Maternity Fund DSS-6187.
	(a)(b)  Upon receipt of a completed Application for State Maternity Fund DSS-6187 form, the social study, and related information, the North Carolina division Division of social services Social Services will shall make a decision regarding approval fo...
	(b)(c)  County departments of social services and North Carolina licensed private adoption agencies will shall submit a designated voucher form to the family services section of notification to the state division of social services when the client is ...
	(c)  One check will be written each month for each approved living arrangement as appropriate identifying the names of the clients to whom the payment should be credited.
	(d)  If the approved living arrangement is other than a maternity home, the service agency shall submit a completed copy of the DSS-6189, State Maternity Fund Residential Care Provider Agreement, negotiated with the individual responsible for maintain...
	(e)  At the end of each month the State Maternity Fund Coordinator will generate a monthly reimbursement worksheet for each maternity home. After the worksheet is reviewed, corrected and verified, an authorized official from the home shall certify tha...
	(a)  The service agency's plan for providing services to the client and her child shall be transmitted to the North Carolina Division of Social Services as a part of the DSS-6187 Application for State Maternity Fund.
	(b)  A thorough needs assessment shall be completed at services intake or by the Pregnancy Services caseworker, in conjunction with alternative counseling. If during the process of assessing the needs of a pregnant minor, abuse and/or neglect is suspe...
	(c)  As needed and appropriate, the plan shall address the following:
	(1) Counseling needs;
	(2) Medical Care;
	(3) Medical Assistance;
	(4) Nutritional Needs;
	(5) Residential or Housing needs;
	(6) Educational needs;
	(7) Employment Training;
	(8) Parenting Education;
	(9) Financial planning;
	(10) Child Care; or
	(11) Family Planning.

	(d)  While the client is in residential care, the supervising agency shall maintain periodic contact with the client.
	(a)  The Pregnancy Services caseworker is responsible for evaluating the appropriateness of any community living arrangement for which the State Maternity Fund is requested, whether it is a boarding arrangement, the home of a non-legally responsible r...
	(b)  When residential care in a family foster home is being considered for a minor, the Pregnancy Services caseworker shall request the assistance of the Foster Care Services staff in determining whether a home is available, and complete an assessment...
	(c)  The following aspects of a community living arrangement shall be explored in determining the appropriateness for individual placements:
	(1) Location and surroundings;
	(2) Physical environment;
	(3) Emotional environment;
	(4) Stability of living arrangement;
	(5) Emergency transportation.

	(d)  Living arrangements for an expectant mother for whom the State Maternity Fund is being requested shall be selected on the basis of an assessment of the client's individual circumstances and service needs.
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71O .0102-.0104 and readopt without substantive changes the rule cited as 10A...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-dss/social-services-commission/rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: (919)733-385...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review these rules were determined to be "Necess...
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption with substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71O .0102, .0103 and .0104;
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption without substantive changes:  10A NCAC 71O .0101.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	SUBCHAPTER 71O – REGUGEE ASSISTANCE SERVICES
	Goals toward which the services are directed Service goals are as follows:
	(a)  Refugee assistance services as described in P.L. 96-212 and P.L. 96-422 8 U.S.C. 1522 may be provided directly or purchased under vendor agreements by county departments of social services, may be provided directly or arranged for as appropriate ...
	(b)  Purchase of refugee assistance services will be made in accordance with state law and federal regulations governing such purchases, and in accordance with rules specific to purchases by the division Division as set forth in 10A NCAC 67B.
	(a)  Refugee assistance services as described in P.L. 96-212 and P.L. 96-422 8 U.S.C. 1522 are available only to individuals who are determined to be refugees as defined in these laws. this law.
	(b)  Any refugee assistance service may be provided to any refugee who is receiving cash assistance, including supplementary assistance, or whose gross family income is not more than 90 percent of the state's median income as issued by the administrat...
	(c)  Certain refugee assistance services may be provided in accordance with special eligibility criteria as follows: The Refugee Assistance Program (RAP) Support Services Program provides specifically defined and designated services to refugees to fac...
	(1) Outreach services and social adjustment services may be provided to refugees without regard to age or family income; Assist refugees in obtaining the skills to achieve economic self-sufficiency, including job readiness, skills training, vocational...
	(2) English as a second language (ESL) instruction, and career counseling, job orientation, and job placement and follow-up components of manpower employment services, may be provided without regard to family income to refugees who are 16 years of age...
	(3) Assessment services, and development of an individual employability plan as a component of manpower employment services may be provided without regard to family income to any unemployed refugee who is 16 years of age or older and who is not a full...
	(4) Offer assessment services and development of an individual employability plan as a component of employment services which may be provided without regard to family income to any unemployed refugee who is 16 years of age or older and who is not a fu...

	(d)  For purposes of determining eligibility, "family" is defined as one or more adults and children, if any, related by blood, or law, and residing in the same household. Emancipated minors and children living under the care of individuals not legall...
	(e)  Eligibility for refugee assistance services may be determined by county departments of social services, or by the Division of Social Services, or by provider agencies from which the division Division is purchasing services under a purchase agreem...
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71U .0101, .0201, .0213, readopt without substantive changes the rules cited ...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-dss/social-services-commission/rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: (919)733-385...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review these rules were determined to be "Necess...
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption with substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71U .0101, .0201, and .0213;
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption without substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71U .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0209, .0210, .0212, .0215, .0302, .0303, and .0401;
	The following rules are being proposed for repeal through readoption: 10A NCAC 71U .0203, .0211, .0214, .0216, and .0402.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	SUBCHAPTER 71U – FOOD ASSISTANCE
	SECTION .0100 – IDENTIFYING INFORMATION
	The counties shall administer the food stamp program under the supervision of the food assistance branch. The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Division of Social Services (DSS) oversees and supervises the Food and Nutriti...

	SECTION .0200 - MANUAL
	(a)  An administrative disqualification hearing (ADH) or referral for prosecution shall be initiated by the county department local agency whenever there is documented clear and convincing evidence to substantiate that a currently participating househ...
	(b)  The hearing officer for administrative disqualification hearings shall be the county director. The director may delegate this function to a specifically designated impartial employee of the county department. The Hearing Officer for local ADH hea...
	(c)  The household member has the right to appeal to a state level hearing. The hearing shall be before a state hearing officer who represents the State Director, Division of Social Services. The local agency must provide the FNS unit with an Advance ...
	(d)  The local hearing officer shall render a decision within five business days of the hearing.
	(e)  The FNS unit may appeal the local hearing officer's decision within 15 calendar days to a State Disqualification Hearing. The hearing shall be held before a state hearing officer on behalf of the Director of the Division of Social Services. The s...
	(a)  The county department shall require households with earned or unearned income that are assigned six-month certification periods to report only changes in the amount of gross monthly income that result in their gross monthly income exceeding 130 p...
	(1) Households that contain a homeless individual;
	(2) Households that contain a migrant;
	(3) Households that contain an Able-Bodied Adult Without a Dependent, as defined in 7 CFR 273.24;
	(4) Households whose only member(s) is/are Supplemental Security Income (SSI) applicants or recipients who do not receive any other types of fluctuating income;
	(5) Households whose only income is stable Social Security Income and/or SSI;
	(6) Households with no income;
	(7) Households receiving transitional Food Stamp benefits; or
	(8) Any other household not subject to semi-annual reporting requirements as determined by the United States Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Services.

	(b)  Households with income and not excluded in Paragraph (a) of this Rule must not be required to report changes in household circumstances during the certification period for the following:
	(1) Changes in sources or amounts of gross monthly income unless the change results in the gross monthly income exceeding 130 percent of the monthly poverty income guideline for the household size;
	(2) Changes in household composition;
	(3) Changes in residence and the resulting change in shelter costs;
	(4) The acquisition of a licensed vehicle;
	(5) When cash on hand, stocks, bonds, and money in a bank account or savings institution reach or exceed a total of two thousand dollars ($2,000); and
	(6) Changes in the legal obligation to pay child support.

	(c)  The county agency must act on any change reported by such households that would increase benefits. The county agency must not act on changes that would result in a decrease in benefits unless:
	(1) The household has voluntarily requested that its case be closed; or
	(2) The agency has received information about the household's circumstances from a provider who is the primary source of the information such as:

	(d)  A copy of the CFR may be obtained by contacting the State Division of Social Services, Economic Independence Section, 2420 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2420.
	(a)  The simplified reporting category applies to all FNS units except the following:
	(1) A Simplified Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) unit;
	(2) A Transitional FNS Unit.

	(b)  Certification periods are determined based upon the following household situations:
	(1) FNS units that contain only specified individuals who are without earned income are certified for a period of 12 months. A specified individual is an individual 60 years of age or older, or one of the following:
	(2) FNS units that contain an Able-Bodied Adult Without Dependents (ABAWD) are certified for a period of six months. These FNS units will be issued a Notice of Adverse Action DSS-8553 during the second month of the certification period notifying the F...
	(3) All other units are certified for a period up to six months.

	(c)  FNS units subject to Simplified Reporting are required to report to the local agency any of the following changes that occur during the certification period:
	(1) FNS units that include an ABAWD shall report when the ABAWD stops working an average of 80 hours per month. This only applies in non-waiver counties.
	(2) FNS units whose income is at or below the 130 percent maximum allowable gross income limit are required to report an increase in unit income that causes it to exceed the 130 percent maximum allowable gross income limit for its unit size at certifi...
	(3) FNS units are required to report if any member of the FNS unit receives lottery/gambling winnings of three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500) or more. The receipt of lottery/gambling winnings of three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500) or ...

	(d)  FNS units are required to report changes by the 10th of the month following the month in which the change occurs. FNS units completing an application or recertification that experience changes prior to disposition of the application or recertific...
	(e)  Changes are considered reported at the earliest of the following times:
	(1) The date the Change Report is received;
	(2) The date the change is reported by the FNS unit by telephone, email or fax. If received during non-business hours the date reported will be the next business day;
	(3) The date the FNS unit made an in-person office visit to report the change;
	(4) The date the change is reported to Work First;
	(5) The date the changed information is entered into NC FAST; or
	(6) The date the change is reported by a third party.

	(f)  A local agency shall evaluate, verify and act upon a change within 10 calendar days, except for the following changes:
	(1) Changes in medical expenses of units eligible for the medical deduction when the source of the change in information is from a third party and requires household contact for verification;
	(2) A decrease in the unit's gross monthly income of less than fifty dollars ($50.00); or
	(3) A change in income that is not expected to continue for longer than one month beyond the month in which the change is reported.

	(g)  If a change is reported and the local agency fails to act on the change within the 10 calendar days, the local agency shall determine if an over issuance has occurred. If it is determined than an over issuance occurred, the local agency shall est...
	(h)  If a reported change terminates eligibility or decreases a unit's benefit amount, a Notice of Adverse Action shall be issued to the FNS unit within 10 calendar days.
	(i)  If a reported change does not affect eligibility or benefit amount, an Effect of Change Notice shall be issued to the FNS unit.
	(j)  If a reported change will increase benefit amount, the local agency shall verify the reported change.
	(k)  If an FNS unit fails to report a required change, the local agency shall establish a claim against the FNS unit and issue a Notice of Adverse Action if the change would result in a reduction or termination of benefits.

	SECTION .0300 - FORMS
	SECTION .0400 – ELECTRONIC BENEFIT TRANSFER (EBT) CARD
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71V .0102, .0103, .0105-.0107, .0201-.0204, and repeal through readoption the...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-dss/social-services-commission/rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: (919)733-385...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review these rules were determined to be "Necess...
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption with substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71V .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0201, .0202, .0203 and .0204;
	The following rules are being proposed for repeal through readoption:  10A NCAC 71V .0104, .0108, and .0205.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 71 - Adult and Family Support
	SUBCHAPTER 71V - LOW INCOME ENERGY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
	The state will shall make direct payments to the household household's energy vendor if they the household make makes an application and meet meets the eligibility requirements for this program.
	A household must meet the following requirements to be eligible for the Low Income Energy Assistance Program:
	Energy assistance checks will be mailed directly to recipients. home energy suppliers. Payments to suppliers are completed by the local county department of social services. Each participating household shall be notified of the amount of assistance pa...
	There can shall be no duplicate payments to a household. Erroneous duplicate payments shall be treated as an overpayment and corrected pursuant to the procedures set forth for Correction of Overpayments in 10A NCAC 71W.
	The rules in 10A NCAC 71W .0604 and 71W .0606 will govern for overpayments and suspected fraud. Instances of suspected fraud shall be governed by the procedures set forth for Client Fraud and Intentional Program Violations in 10A NCAC 71W.
	SECTION .0200 – CRISIS INTERVENTION PROGRAM
	A household must meet the following requirements to be eligible for the Crisis Intervention Program:
	Payments to a household shall not exceed six hundred dollars ($600.00) in a state fiscal year. Counties may set lower maximums in their annual business plans for operating Low Income Home Energy Assistance Programs. Assistance shall be based upon the ...
	Methods of payment include direct payments to recipients vendors, fuel payments on behalf of recipients, provision of in-kind services or temporary shelter and minor home repairs. Energy assistance payments shall be made directly to vendors. Payments ...
	The rules in 10A NCAC 71W .0604 and 71W .0606 will govern for overpayments and suspected fraud. Instances of overpayments or suspected fraud shall be governed by the procedures set forth in 10A NCAC 71W.
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 71W .0101, .0302, .0404, .0405, .0407, .0408, .0410, .0601, .0604, .0606, .07...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-dss/social-services-commission/rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: (919)733-385...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review these rules were determined to be "Necess...
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption with substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71W .0101, .0302, .0404, .0405, .0407, .0408, .0410, .0601, .0604, .0606 and .0704;
	The following rules are being proposed for readoption without substantive changes: 10A NCAC 71W .0303, .0304, .0403, .0502, .0503 and .0605;
	The following rules are being proposed for repeal through readoption:  10A NCAC 71W .0412, .0413, .0602, .0603 and .0607.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 71 - Adult and Family Support
	SUBCHAPTER 71W – GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION
	SECTION .0100 – GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION
	The following definitions apply to this Chapter:

	SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION PROCESS
	The applicant shall be allowed to have any person(s) of his their choice participate in the interview. The applicant shall be informed of the following:

	SECTION .0400 - ELIGIBILITY FACTORS
	(a)  Eligibility requirements pertaining to For eligibility determinations based on kinship and living with a specified relative shall be found in 45 CFR 233.90 and this provision is hereby adopted by reference under G.S. 150B-14(c). relative, childre...
	(1) A parent, including a biological mother or father, a legal father, or adoptive parent(s) after issuance of a final adoptive order;
	(2) An alleged father or other relative of the alleged father;
	(3) A blood or adoptive relative is limited to: brother, sister, grandparent, great-grandparent, great-great-grandparent, uncle, aunt, great uncle or aunt, great-great uncle or aunt, nephew, niece, first cousin. Spouses or former spouses of these indi...
	(4) A step-relative limited to a stepparent or stepsibling. Spouses or former spouses of these individuals must have legal custody or legal guardianship to meet the kinship requirement if the marriage has been terminated by death or divorce.

	(b)  Verification of kinship shall be made only at application unless previous documentation appears to be incorrect.
	(1) Kinship of a child to a specified relative except for an alleged father shall be verified by examining:
	(2) Kinship of a child to his the alleged father or other alleged paternal relative shall be verified by verifying the child's relationship to the alleged father and if necessary the alleged father's relationship to the alleged paternal relative. Rela...

	(c)  Verification that a child is living within the home of a specified relative shall be made during each determination of eligibility by:
	(1) a home visit when there is evidence of the child living in the home; or
	(2) use of school records; or
	(3) use of day care center records; or
	(4) statement of a social worker employed by the county department of social services when, following a home visit, he the social worker is able to substantiate that the child is living in the home; or
	(5) statement from a non-relative having personal knowledge of the child's living with the specified relative; or
	(6) two of the following:

	(a)  Eligibility requirements pertaining to residence shall be found in 45 CFR 233.40 and this provision is hereby adopted by reference under G.S. 150B-14(c). Families must be residents of North Carolina to be eligible to receive assistance.
	(b)  County residence eligibility requirement.
	(1) Adult. An adult has residence in the county in which he resides. they reside.
	(2) Child. A child has the residence of the person with whom he resides. they reside.

	(c)  Verification. Documentary evidence shall be required to verify the applicant's physical address at the time of initial application and at any change in the recipient or applicant's residence. The worker shall accept the client's statement unless ...
	(1) the recipient's intent to return;
	(2) reason for the continuing absence; and
	(3) the continuing maintenance of a home in the first county.

	(a)  An AFDC assistance unit shall be allowed to reserve resources at a maximum of one thousand dollars ($1,000). If the reserve level exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), the unit is ineligible. A Work First assistance unit shall be allowed to rese...
	(b)  Only resources that are currently available to the assistance unit shall be counted. For applications, only those resources that are available during any month prior to disposition are counted to determine eligibility for those months.
	(c)(b)  Individuals whose reserve is counted. Resources owned by budget unit members shall be counted as follows:
	(1) Parent. Count unless she receives SSI. Parent, adoptive parent, or stepparent unless the individual receives SSI.
	(2) Minor Mother. Count unless she receives SSI.
	(3) Stepparent. If the stepparent is included in the payment, his resources shall be counted. If he is not included, but the parent has access to joint resources, half of the resources shall be counted.
	(4) Specified Relative. If the specified relative is included in the payment, his resources shall be counted. Otherwise his resources shall not be counted.
	(5)(2) Child. If the child is included in the payment, his the child's resources shall be counted.
	(6) Essential Person. If an essential person is included in the payment, his resources shall be counted. Otherwise, his resources shall not be counted.
	(7)(3) Jointly owned resources.

	(d)  Reserve; items counted:
	(1) cash on hand, including lump sum payments received from the sale of an asset or an income tax refund; hand;
	(2) the current balance of savings accounts;
	(3) that portion of a checking account other than the monthly income deposited to meet the family's needs;
	(4) cash value of life insurance policies;
	(5) equity on nonessential personal property limited to:
	(6)(4) stocks, bonds, mutual fund shares; shares.
	(7) revocable trust funds;
	(8) equity in real property including income producing property not used as a home;
	(9) value of revocable prepaid burial contracts;
	(10) net proceeds from a business, including a farm, which has been discontinued;
	(11) life estate interest, if salable; and
	(12) remainder interest, if salable.

	(e)  Reserve; items excluded:
	(1) personal effects and household goods;
	(2) a mobile home used as a homesite; home;
	(3) straight term life insurance;
	(4) burial insurance;
	(5) that portion of a checking account that is the monthly income deposited to meet the family's needs;
	(6) non-salable life estate or remainder interest;
	(7) heir property, ie, property from an estate which has not been settled;
	(8) equity value of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) or less for one car, truck, or other motor vehicle. vehicles;
	(9) real property including income-producing property;
	(10) income received from a reverse mortgage;
	(11) retirement funds;
	(12) trust funds;
	(13) remaining balances of lump-sum payments; and
	(14) a Uniform Transfer to Minors Account if the owner of the account is included in the budget unit.

	(f)  Verification. Value and ownership of real property and motor vehicles shall be verified. The client's statement of value of another reserve property available to members of the budget unit shall be accepted without further verification unless eit...
	(a)  Consideration of available earned and unearned income to determine eligibility for and amount of assistance.
	(1) Parent's net income shall be counted unless the parent: Parents' incomes, including the incomes of adoptive parents and stepparents, shall be counted unless the parent, adoptive parent, or stepparent receives SSI, provided that cash contributions ...
	(2) Minor mother's net income shall be counted unless she:
	(3) Stepparent. If the stepparent is included in the assistance unit, his net income shall be counted. If the stepparent is not in an assistance unit, net income shall be counted unless he is an SSI recipient. If he is an SSI recipient only cash contr...
	(4) Specified relative other than parent. If the specified relative is included in the assistance unit, net income shall be counted. If he is not included in the assistance unit, only cash contributions from him to the assistance unit shall be counted.
	(5)(2) Child. Countable net unearned income of a child who is included in the assistance unit shall be counted.
	(6) Essential person. Net income of an essential person who is included in the assistance unit shall be counted.

	(b)  The following items of earned income shall be included in determining eligibility:
	(1) income from wages, salaries, and commissions;
	(2) farm income;
	(3) small business income including self-employment;
	(4) rental income; and
	(5) income from roomers and boarders; boarders.
	(6) earned income tax credit; and
	(7) supplemental payments in excess of state's maximum rates for Foster Care and State Foster Home Funds paid by the county to AFDC recipients who serve as foster parents.

	(c)  Earned income exclusions are found in 45 CFR 233.20 and this provision is hereby adopted by reference under G.S. 150B-14(c). In addition to the earned income exclusions contained in 45 CFR 233.20, earned income from temporary census employment sh...
	(1) Foster Care and State Foster Home Payments equal to or below the state maximum rates to AFDC recipients who serve as foster parents;
	(2) Earned income from the 185 percent limitation for up to six months in a calendar year of a child applicant/recipient who is a full-time student;
	(3) Earned income from census employment under Section 1115 Demonstration Project Approved by the DHHS contingent on receipt of federal regulations in sufficient time for implementation.

	(d)  Good Cause Provisions for Failure to Timely Report Income or Return Monthly Work First Family Assistance Reports. Report Timely.
	(1) Circumstances that constitute "good cause" for failing to report income in a timely manner or return a monthly Work First Family Assistance Report are limited to:
	(2) Circumstances that constitute "good cause" for failing to return a monthly form in a timely manner are limited to:

	(e)  The following items of unearned income shall be included in determining eligibility for or the amount of assistance:
	(1) OASDHI benefits;
	(2) Veterans Administration benefits;
	(3) Railroad Retirement benefits;
	(4) pensions or retirement benefits;
	(5) workmen's compensation;
	(6) unemployment compensation;
	(7) support payments and contributions;
	(8) work release payments;
	(9) dividends and income from trust funds; funds, stocks, bonds, and other investments;
	(10) private disability or unemployment benefits, including benefits from insurance plans;
	(11) any portion of loans, grants, or scholarships designated or used for maintenance needs which is a duplication of items included in the assistance standard;
	(12)(11) trade readjustment benefits;
	(13)(12) military allotments;
	(14)(13) brown lung benefits;
	(15)(14) black lung benefits;
	(16)(15) lump sum payments;
	(17) deemed income from a stepparent not receiving assistance;
	(18) deemed income to an alien from a sponsor and his spouse if living together;
	(19)(16) cash contributions. contributions; and
	(20)(17) any other income unless excluded by federal law of Paragraph (f) of this Rule; Rule.

	(f)  Unearned income exclusions are found in 45 CFR 233.20 and this provision is hereby adopted by reference under G.S. 150B-14(c). In addition, In addition to the unearned income exclusions contained in 45 CFR 233.20, the following items of unearned ...
	(1) food given to or grown by a member of the household;
	(2) the value of the coupon allotment received under the Food Stamp Food and Nutrition Services Program;
	(3) child support being routed to IV-D Accounting;
	(4) assistance from other agencies and organizations. This includes organizations, including financial assistance and in-kind goods or services received from a governmental, civic, or charitable organization so long as such aid is for rehabilitation p...
	(5) HUD Section 8 payments;
	(6) loans (if there is any agreed upon repayment plan);
	(7) assistance received through the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program including the Crisis Intervention Program;
	(8) home energy assistance as defined in 45 C.F.R. 233.53 and this provision is adopted by reference under G.S. 150B-14(c); 45 CFR 233.53;
	(9) income paid to a child recipient through Job Training Partnership Act of 1982 the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), P.L. 113-128, as need-based payments, payments for supportive services, compensation in lieu of wages and payments t...
	(10) gifts, including but not limited to birthday, Christmas and graduation, up to thirty dollars ($30.00) per calendar quarter per assistance unit member. graduation. If the payee states in writing the gift was intended for the entire assistance unit...

	(g)  Verification. The client applicant or recipient shall be responsible for providing verification of earned income including operational expenses for farm or self-employment income. For gifts, the recipient shall be responsible for obtaining a writ...
	Income shall be budgeted and reported as described below:

	SECTION .0500 - REDETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY
	SECTION .0600 – PAYMENT PROCEDURES
	(a)  The department of social services shall write checks according to authorizations submitted by county directors of social services. issue Work First payments through Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT):
	(1) By direct deposit to a recipient's checking or savings account at the recipient's financial institution; or
	(2) By Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card.

	(b)  Except for replacement checks, all checks shall be mailed to the address given by the recipient or substitute payee. The applicant, recipient or payee shall be informed of the two payment options in this Rule at application and reapplication and ...
	(1) A household that elects to receive Work First payments through an EBT card shall receive an initial EBT card at no cost.
	(2) A Work First household that requests a replacement EBT card shall be responsible for the cost of the replacement card unless the household can establish that their original EBT card:

	(c)  Replacement checks are mailed to county departments of social services. Recipients and payees of Work First cash assistance are prohibited from accessing and or using Work First cash assistance through EBT cards in the following establishments: l...
	(1) These restrictions apply to all Work First households including households where the adult caretaker is not included in the case but serves as the case payee.
	(2) Applicants and recipients shall be advised of the restrictions at initial application, reapplication and redetermination of eligibility.
	(3) Recipients or payees who use or access Work First cash assistance in an EBT transaction in any liquor store; any casino or gaming establishment; or any retail establishment which provides adult-oriented entertainment in which performers disrobe or...

	(d)  Checks shall be delivered to the post office on the last work day of each month.
	(a)  If the recipient is not entitled to all or part of a check payment which has been issued and fraud is not suspected, the county shall take all reasonable steps to recover promptly any overpayment of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) or more. overpayment.
	(b)  A county may recoup an AFDC a Work First overpayment from a recipient's AFDC check, Work First payment, on account of an overpayment made to the recipient's spouse, parent, child, sibling, or other person, only if the recipient, at the time the o...
	(1) 18 years of age or older,
	(2) living with the person, and
	(3) part of the assistance unit.

	(c)  Overpayments shall be collected as follows:
	(1) voluntary repayment by grant reduction or recipient refund;
	(2) involuntary repayment by grant reduction;
	(3) if an overpayment occurs due to a county error in complying with program regulations, the overpayment shall be recouped by state office adjustment;
	(4) if an overpayment occurs due to a state or county processing error, the overpayment shall be recouped from the recipient providing the recipient was provided proper notification of the amount of AFDC Work First they he was were eligible to receive;
	(5) if an overpayment occurs due to a state office error in interpreting regulations, the overpayment shall be charged to the state.

	(a)  County Responsibilities; Fraud Prevention.
	(1) The county department of social services shall develop of an operational program for fraud prevention, detection and investigation. Fraud program organizational requirements must be established based on the number of (AFDC or Work First) recipient...
	(2) The county department must designate staff to be responsible for fraud activities.
	(3) The county shall strive to obtain all Social Security numbers and correctly complete them on computer input forms.
	(4)(3) The recipient shall be notified no less frequently than at each eligibility review of his obligation to report within ten days, all changes in income, resources, or other changes which may effect the amount of payment. Failure to do so within t...

	(b)  County Department Responsibilities; Detection and Investigation:
	(1) The county department shall investigate any information which indicates that a recipient may be receiving AFDC or Work First to which the recipient is not entitled.
	(2) In the investigation the staff designated for fraud shall:
	(3) When there is reason to suspect fraud, the county director must ensure that the agency has explained to the client his the recipient responsibilities for reporting any change changes in his their circumstances to the agency. The director shall det...
	(4) The fraud summary shall include:

	(c)  County Board's Responsibilities.
	(1) The county board of social services, or its designee, shall determine whether there is a basis for the belief that misrepresentation may have been committed by a person.
	(2) The county board, or its designee, shall determine if the person:
	(3) There must be physical evidence to substantiate a determination that fraud was the reason for the overpayment.
	(4) If the board, or its designee, determines fraud is suspected, it shall instruct the agency to pursue one or more, of the following actions:

	(d)  Board Decision; Agency Follow-up:
	(1) If the board, or its designee, suspects fraud, the department's findings and actions shall be reported immediately to the assistance payments section. Division of Social Services. The county director shall keep the county board and assistance paym...
	(2) The county department of social services shall support the local prosecutor by accomplishing necessary interviews in accordance with the prosecutor's requirements, recommending possible witnesses, providing necessary investigative reports, and tak...
	(3) Regardless of what action is taken by the board or the court, the county shall continue to work with the client individual and shall promptly notify the client individual of the action taken in his their case.
	(4) The county shall maintain records on the number of cases referred for investigation, the number of suspected fraud referrals, action taken to recover the overpayment and amounts recovered.

	(e)  In fraud cases, if a county fails to act promptly on indications of ineligibility, federal and state financial participation shall not be available.

	SECTION .0700 - emergency assistance COVERAGE
	(a)  Cash assistance:
	(1) The maximum cash assistance benefit per household is three hundred dollars ($300) during 30 consecutive days. Assistance cannot be received again within a 12 consecutive month period.
	(2) When the agency purchases in-kind goods or contracts for the purchase of services to alleviate or to prevent destitution of the family, the value of the in-kind goods or contracted services purchased with the cash assistance must be established an...

	(b)  Services:
	(1) There is no maximum benefit level for services but the family must need the services to alleviate the identified emergency.
	(2) Services must be authorized within a single 30 day period no less than 12 months after the beginning of the family's last EA authorization period and are limited to a maximum duration of 364 days.
	(3) Counties shall use their Work First block grant funds to provide emergency assistance to families. Counties shall define the eligibility criteria, including who is eligible and the types of emergencies that will be covered. This assistance is desi...

	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Social Services Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 10A NCAC 72 .0102.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/about-dss/social-services-commission/rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing can be requested by contacting Joel Johnson at the Office of General Counsel: Email: joel.johnson@dhhs.nc.gov; Fax: (919)733-385...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  10A NCAC 72 .0102 is being amended to clarify a single definition to ensure programmatic clarity.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (919) 527-7257; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 72 - Educational Assistance
	SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
	The following definitions shall apply in this Chapter:


	Title 11 – Department of Insurance
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Industrial Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 11 NCAC 23E .0302.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ic.nc.gov/proposedpermE302.html
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The Industrial Commission (hereinafter "Commission") has deemed it necessary to permanently adopt the rule cited as 11 NCAC 23E .0302 to ensure that the Commission has the ability to waive or modify the provisions of any o...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Gina Cammarano, 1240 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1240; phone (919) 807-2524; email gina.cammarano@ic.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 23 - Industrial Commission
	SUBCHAPTER 23E – ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
	SECTION .0300 – RULES OF THE COMMISSION
	(a)  This Rule applies to all matters within the authority and jurisdiction of the Commission and to all Subchapters of the Commission's rules.
	(b)  In the interests of justice or to protect the public health or safety, the Commission may waive or modify any portion of its rules in order to bring them in conformity with an emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolin...
	(1) the necessity of waiving or modifying the rule; and
	(2) the impact of waiving or modifying the rule on the regulated parties and on the Commission.

	If the Commission waives or modifies a rule to bring it into conformity with any emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, the Commission shall post a notice of the waiver or modification of the rule on its...
	(c)  During any period that an emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court authorizes the taking of oaths and verifications outside the presence of a notary public, the Commission shall accept any pleading, mo...
	(d)  Any waiver or modification made pursuant to this Rule shall only remain in effect during the duration of any emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court upon which that waiver or modification is based.



	Title 12 – Department of Justice
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0510.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-commission-forms-publications/
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Amendment is necessary to further clarify the requirements for School Resource Officer certification.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Diane Konopka, 1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27615; email dkonopka@ncdoj.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 10 - Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission
	SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
	SECTION .0500 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF TRAINING FOR DEPUTY SHERIFFS
	(a)  A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6), who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more ...
	(1) School safety;
	(2) School security;
	(3) Emergency preparedness;
	(4) Emergency response; and
	(5) Any additional responsibilities related to school safety or security assigned by the officer's employer while the officer is acting as a School Resource Officer.

	Any written memorandum of understanding between the local school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with this Paragraph.
	(b)  Deputy Sheriffs assigned by their agency to perform duties as a School Resource Officer shall:
	(1) have been issued general certification by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission as a Deputy Sheriff; and
	(2) have until December 31, 2020 to complete the Basic basic School Resource Officer Training Course if they are acting in the capacity of a School Resource Officer between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019. Any officer assigned as a School Resour...

	(c)  A Deputy Sheriff assigned to one or more public schools within a local school administrative unit, who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per calendar year and who has not completed the initial training as establi...
	(d)  The agency head shall submit to the Sheriffs' Standards Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a School Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located on the agency'...
	(1) applicant's name;
	(2) date of birth;
	(3) social security number;
	(4) name of agency and address;
	(5) date awarded general certification;
	(6) completion date of School Resource Officer training; and
	(7) date assigned as a School Resource Officer.

	(e)  The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes during each calendar year one credit of School Resource Officer refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice Acade...
	(f)  Instructors who teach a basic SRO course in a traditional classroom format will receive credit toward the completion of the basic SRO course requirement as required by this Rule, provided they pass all required tests and have their instruction do...
	(f)(g)  The School Resource Officer training course for Deputy Sheriffs shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform in the capacity of a School Resource Officer. The Basic basic School Resource Officer Training course authored b...
	and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:



	Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 07H .0208, .0306, .0308; 07J .1301; 07K .0207; 07M .0302, .0307, .0602, .0603 and repeal the rules cited as 15A...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/coastal-management-rules/proposed-rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2021
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	15A NCAC 07H .0208 and 07M .0602-.0603: The Coastal Resources Commission’s floating structure policies do not specifically address Floating Upweller Systems used in shellfish aquaculture operations. These amendments clarify how they may be sited in pu...
	15A NCAC 07M .0300: The Coastal Resources Commission (CRC) is proposing amendments to the CAMA Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access Program. These amendments are intended to address implementation aspects of the Program, as well as reorganize so...
	15A NCAC 07H .0306 and 07J .1301: Currently, there are specific types of development allowed oceanward of the setback line except only when a community has a CRC approved Development Line. This was not the original intent of the Coastal Resources Comm...
	15A NCAC 07H .0308 and 07K .0207: The Coastal Resources Commission proposes to amend its administrative rules in order to provide greater flexibility to local governments and government agencies in constructing public accessways and enhanced handicap ...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 Commerce Ave, Morehead City, NC 28557; phone (252) 808-2808
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 07 - Coastal Management
	SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN
	SECTION .0200 – THE ESTUARINE AND OCEAN SYSTEMS
	(a)  General Use Standards
	(1) Uses that are not water dependent shall not be permitted in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, and public trust areas. Restaurants, residences, apartments, motels, hotels, trailer parks, private roads, factories, and parking lots are examples of ...
	(2) Before being granted a permit, the CRC or local permitting authority shall find that the applicant has complied with the following standards:
	(3) When the proposed development is in conflict with the general or specific use standards set forth in this Rule, the CRC may approve the development if the applicant can demonstrate that the activity associated with the proposed project will have p...
	(4) "Primary nursery areas" are defined as those areas in the estuarine and ocean system where initial post larval development of finfish and crustaceans takes place. They are usually located in the uppermost sections of a system where populations are...
	(5) "Outstanding Resource Waters" (ORW) are defined as those estuarine waters and public trust areas classified by the N.C. Environmental Management Commission (EMC). In those estuarine waters and public trust areas classified as ORW by the EMC no per...
	(6) Beds of "submerged aquatic vegetation" (SAV) are defined as those habitats in public trust and estuarine waters vegetated with one or more species of submergent vegetation. These vegetation beds occur in both subtidal and intertidal zones and may ...

	(b)  Specific Use Standards
	(1) Navigation channels, canals, and boat basins shall be aligned or located so as to avoid primary nursery areas, shellfish beds, beds of submerged aquatic vegetation as defined by the MFC, or areas of coastal wetlands except as otherwise allowed wit...
	(2) Hydraulic Dredging
	(3) Drainage Ditches
	(4) Nonagricultural Drainage
	(5) Marinas. "Marinas" are defined as any publicly or privately owned dock, basin or wet boat storage facility constructed to accommodate more than 10 boats and providing any of the following services: permanent or transient docking spaces, dry storag...
	(6) Piers and Docking Facilities.
	(7) Bulkheads
	(8) Beach Nourishment
	(9) Groins
	(10) "Freestanding Moorings".
	(11) Filling of Canals, Basins and Ditches - Notwithstanding the general use standards for estuarine systems as set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, filling canals, basins and ditches shall be allowed if all of the following conditions are met:
	(12) "Submerged Lands Mining"
	(13) "Wind Energy Facilities"


	SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS
	(a)  In order to protect life and property, all development not otherwise specifically exempted or allowed by law or elsewhere in the Coastal Resources Commission's rules shall be located according to whichever of the following is applicable:
	(1) The ocean hazard setback for development shall be measured in a landward direction from the vegetation line, the static vegetation line, or the measurement line, whichever is applicable.
	(2) In areas with a development line, the ocean hazard setback shall be set in accordance with Subparagraphs (a)(3) through (9) of this Rule. In With the exception of those types of development defined in 15A NCAC 07J .1301(d), in no case shall new de...
	(3) In no case shall a development line be created or established on State-owned lands or oceanward of the mean high water line or perpetual property easement line, whichever is more restrictive.
	(4) The ocean hazard setback shall be determined by both the size of development and the shoreline long term erosion rate as defined in Rule .0304 of this Section. "Development size" is defined by total floor area for structures and buildings or total...
	Decks, roof-covered porches, and walkways shall not be included in the total floor area unless they are enclosed with material other than screen mesh or are being converted into an enclosed space with material other than screen mesh.
	(5) With the exception of those types of development defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0309, no development, including any portion of a building or structure, shall extend oceanward of the ocean hazard setback. This includes roof overhangs and elevated structu...
	(6) If a primary dune exists in the AEC on or landward of the lot where the development is proposed, the development shall be landward of the crest of the primary dune, the ocean hazard setback, or development line, whichever is farthest from vegetati...
	(7) If no primary dune exists, but a frontal dune does exist in the AEC on or landward of the lot where the development is proposed, the development shall be set landward of the frontal dune, ocean hazard setback, or development line, whichever is far...
	(8) If neither a primary nor frontal dune exists in the AEC on or landward of the lot where development is proposed, the structure shall be landward of the ocean hazard setback or development line, whichever is more restrictive.
	(9) Structural additions or increases in the footprint or total floor area of a building or structure represent expansions to the total floor area and shall meet the setback requirements established in this Rule and 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). New developm...
	(10) Established common law and statutory public rights of access to and use of public trust lands and waters in ocean hazard areas shall not be eliminated or restricted. Development shall not encroach upon public accessways, nor shall it limit the in...
	(11) Development setbacks in areas that have received large-scale beach fill as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305 shall be measured landward from the static vegetation line as defined in this Section, unless a development line has been approved by the Coa...
	(12) In order to allow for development landward of the large-scale beach fill project that cannot meet the setback requirements from the static vegetation line, but can or has the potential to meet the setback requirements from the vegetation line set...

	(b)  No development shall be permitted that involves the removal or relocation of primary or frontal dune sand or vegetation thereon that would adversely affect the integrity of the dune. Other dunes within the ocean hazard area shall not be disturbed...
	(c)  Development shall not cause irreversible damage to historic architectural or archaeological resources as documented by the local historic commission, the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, or the National Historical Regi...
	(d)  Development shall comply with minimum lot size and set back requirements established by local regulations.
	(e)  Mobile homes shall not be placed within the high hazard flood area unless they are within mobile home parks existing as of June 1, 1979.
	(f)  Development shall comply with the general management objective for ocean hazard areas set forth in 15A NCAC 07H .0303.
	(g)  Development shall not interfere with legal access to, or use of, public resources, nor shall such development increase the risk of damage to public trust areas.
	(h)  Development proposals shall incorporate measures to avoid or minimize adverse impacts of the project. These measures shall be implemented at the applicant's expense and may include actions that:
	(1) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by limiting the magnitude or degree of the action;
	(2) restore the affected environment; or
	(3) compensate for the adverse impacts by replacing or providing substitute resources.

	(i)  Prior to the issuance of any permit for development in the ocean hazard AECs, there shall be a written acknowledgment from the applicant to the Division of Coastal Management that the applicant is aware of the risks associated with development in...
	(j)  All relocation of structures shall require permit approval. Structures relocated with public funds shall comply with the applicable setback line and other applicable AEC rules. Structures, including septic tanks and other essential accessories, r...
	(k)  Permits shall include the condition that any structure shall be relocated or dismantled when it becomes imminently threatened by changes in shoreline configuration as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a)(2)(B). Any such structure shall be relocated o...
	(a)  Ocean Shoreline Erosion Control Activities:
	(1) Use Standards Applicable to all Erosion Control Activities:
	(2) Temporary Erosion Control Structures:
	(3) Beach Nourishment. Sand used for beach nourishment shall be compatible with existing grain size and in accordance with Rule .0312 of this Section.
	(4) Beach Bulldozing. Beach bulldozing (defined as the process of moving natural beach material from any point seaward of the first line of stable vegetation to create a protective sand dike or to obtain material for any other purpose) is development ...

	(b)  Dune Establishment and Stabilization.
	(1) Any new dunes established shall be aligned to the greatest extent possible with existing adjacent dune ridges and shall be of the same configuration as adjacent natural dunes.
	(2) Existing primary and frontal dunes shall not, except for beach nourishment and emergency situations, be broadened or extended in an oceanward direction.
	(3) Adding to dunes shall be accomplished in such a manner that the damage to existing vegetation is minimized. The filled areas shall be replanted or temporarily stabilized until planting can be completed.
	(4) Sand used to establish or strengthen dunes shall be of the same general characteristics as the sand in the area in which it is to be placed.
	(5) No new dunes shall be created in inlet hazard areas.
	(6) Sand held in storage in any dune, other than the frontal or primary dune, shall remain on the lot or tract of land to the maximum extent practicable and may be redistributed within the Ocean Hazard AEC provided that it is not placed any farther oc...
	(7) No disturbance of a dune area shall be allowed when other techniques of construction can be utilized and alternative site locations exist to avoid dune impacts.

	(c)  Structural Accessways:
	(1) Structural accessways shall be permitted across primary or frontal dunes so long as they are designed and constructed in a manner that entails negligible alteration of the primary or frontal dune. Structural accessways shall not be considered thre...
	(2) An accessway shall be considered to entail negligible alteration of primary or frontal dunes provided that:
	(3) An accessway that does not meet Part (2)(A) and (B) of this Paragraph shall be permitted only if it meets a public purpose or need which cannot otherwise be met and it meets Part (2)(C) of this Paragraph. Public fishing piers are not prohibited pr...
	(4) In order to preserve the protective nature of primary and frontal dunes a structural accessway (such as a "Hatteras ramp") may be provided for off-road vehicle (ORV) or emergency vehicle access. Such accessways shall be no greater than 15 feet in ...
	(5) Structural accessways may be constructed no more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do not interfere with public trust rights and emergency access along the beach. Structural accessways are not...

	(d)  Building Construction Standards. New building construction and any construction identified in .0306(a)(5) of
	this Section and 15A NCAC 07J .0210 shall comply with the following standards:
	(1) In order to avoid danger to life and property, all development shall be designed and placed so as to minimize damage due to fluctuations in ground elevation and wave action in a 100-year storm. Any building constructed within the ocean hazard area...
	(2) All building in the ocean hazard area shall be on pilings not less than eight inches in diameter if round or eight inches to a side if square.
	(3) All pilings shall have a tip penetration greater than eight feet below the lowest ground elevation under the structure. For those structures so located on or seaward of the primary dune, the pilings shall extend to five feet below mean sea level.
	(4) All foundations shall be designed to be stable during applicable fluctuations in ground elevation and wave forces during a 100-year storm. Cantilevered decks and walkways shall meet the requirements of this Part or shall be designed to break-away ...



	SUBCHAPTER 07J - PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING AND ENFORCEMENT OF MAJOR AND MINOR DEVELOPMENT PERMITS, VARIANCE REQUESTS, APPEALS FROM PERMIT DECISIONS, DECLARATORY RULINGS, AND STATIC LINE EXCEPTIONS
	SECTION .1300 – DEVELOPMENT LINE PROCEDURES
	(a)  Any local government, group of local governments involved in a regional beach fill project, or qualified owner's association with territorial jurisdiction over an area that is subject to ocean hazard area setbacks pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0305 m...
	(b)  A development line request shall apply to the entire large-scale project area as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(7) and, at the petitioner's request, may be extended to include the entire oceanfront jurisdiction or legal boundary of the petitioner.
	(c)  In determining where to position a requested development line, the petitioner shall use an adjacent neighbor sight-line approach, resulting in an average line of structures. In areas where the seaward edge of existing development is not linear, t...
	(d)  The following types of development shall be permitted seaward of the development line if all other provisions of this Subchapter and other state and local regulations are met:
	(1) campsites;
	(2) beach accessways consistent with Rule 15A NCAC 07H .0308(c);
	(3) unenclosed, uninhabitable, gazebos with a footprint of 200 square feet or less;
	(4) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with a foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 square feet or less;
	(5) temporary amusement stands; and
	(6) sand fences consistent with Rule 15A NCAC 07H .0311.

	In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is landward of the vegetation line, measurement line or static vegetation line, whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or removal of primary or frontal dunes which would compromise ...
	(d)(e)  An existing structure that is oceanward of an approved development line may remain in place until damaged greater than 50 percent in accordance with Rule .0210 of this Subchapter. At that time it may only be replaced landward of the developmen...
	(e)(f)  A request for a development line or amendment shall be made in writing by the petitioner and submitted to the CRC by sending the written request to the Director of the Division of Coastal Management. A complete request shall include the follow...
	(1) A detailed survey of the development line using on-ground observation and survey or aerial imagery along the oceanfront jurisdiction or legal boundary, including;
	(2) All local regulations associated with the development line;
	(3) A record of local adoption of the development line by the petitioner; and
	(4) Documentation of incorporation of a development line into local ordinances or rules and regulations of an owner's association.

	(f)(g)  Once a development line is approved by the Coastal Resources Commission, only the petitioner may request a change or reestablishment of the position of the development line.
	(g)(h)  A development line request shall be submitted to the Director of the Division of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557. Written acknowledgement of the receipt of a completed development line request, including notifi...
	(h)(i)  The Coastal Resources Commission shall consider a development line request no later than the second scheduled meeting following the date of receipt of a complete request by the Division of Coastal Management, unless the petitioner and the Divi...


	SUBCHAPTER 07K - ACTIVITIES IN AREAS OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN WHICH DO NOT REQUIRE A COASTAL AREA MANAGEMENT ACT PERMIT
	SECTION .0200 - CLASSES OF MINOR MAINTENANCE AND IMPROVEMENTS WHICH SHALL BE EXEMPTED FROM THE CAMA MAJOR DEVELOPMENT PERMIT REQUIREMENT
	(a)  The N.C. Coastal Resources Commission hereby exempts from the CAMA permit requirement all structural pedestrian accessways over frontal dunes which can be shown to meet the following criteria: accessways, including beach matting installed by a lo...
	(1) The accessway must shall not exceed six feet in width and must be for private residential or for public access to an ocean beach. This exemption does not apply to accessways for commercial use or for motor-powered vehicular use.
	(2) The accessway must shall be constructed so as to make no alterations to the frontal dunes that are not necessary to construct the accessway. This means that wherever possible the accessway must shall be constructed over the frontal dune without an...
	(3) The accessway shall conform with any applicable local or state building code standards.
	(4) Structural accessways may be constructed no more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do not interfere with public trust rights and emergency access along the beach. Structural accessways are not...
	(5) Damaged, non-functioning, or portions of accessways that become non-compliant with Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph shall be removed by the property owner.

	(b)  Before beginning any work under this exemption the CAMA local permit officer or Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources Environmental Quality representative must be notified of the proposed activity to allow on-site review of the...
	(1) name, address, and telephone number of landowner and location of work including county and nearest community;
	(2) the dimensions of the proposed structural accessway.



	SUBCHAPTER 07M - GENERAL POLICY GUIDELINES FOR THE COASTAL AREA
	SECTION .0300 - SHOREFRONT ACCESS POLICIES
	(a)  The public has traditionally and customarily had access to enjoy and freely use the ocean beaches and estuarine and public trust waters of the coastal region for recreational purposes and the State has a responsibility to provide continuous acces...
	(b)  The State has created an access program for the purpose of acquiring, improving and maintaining waterfront recreational property at frequent intervals throughout the coastal region for public access to these important public trust resources.
	(c)  In addition, some properties, due to their location, are subject to severe erosion so that development is not possible or feasible. In these cases, a valid public purpose may be served by the donation or acquisition of these properties for public...
	(d)  The primary purpose of the public access program is to provide funds to acquire or develop land for public access, including parking as authorized by G.S. 113A-134.3(c). Boating and fishing facilities are eligible for funding under the Public Bea...
	As used in this Section: the Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access program is to provide public access to the public trust beaches and waters in the 20 coastal counties. counties as defined in G.S. 113A-103(2).
	(a)  Coastal Waterfront access in the 20-county coastal area is a concern of local, state, regional and national importance. Local governments have lead responsibility for the selection of public access sites within their jurisdiction. Access shall be...
	(b)  A local policy in a land use plan sets the community objectives for access. A local government may, through its land use plan:
	(1) identify access needs and develop local policy to pursue access funding;
	(2) develop a local access plan; and
	(3) solicit access sites through corporate assistance.

	(c)  An access plan shall identify needs and opportunities, determine access and facility requirements, establish standards, and develop specific project design plans or guidelines by appropriate site. An access plan shall consider both financial reso...
	(d)  Local governments may also include provisions in local ordinances that require access for waterfront developments or require payment in lieu of access for non-water dependent subdivisions.
	(e)  Dedicated street ends may be acceptable for accessways.
	(f)  The Division of Coastal Management has primary responsibility for administering the Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access Program. Subject to the availability of funds, the Division of Coastal Management shall annually solicit pre-applicatio...
	(g)  The Division of Coastal Management may use available funds on a non-competitive basis to plan for and provide public access through acquisition of improvements. Prior to expending funds, the Division of Coastal Management shall hold a public meet...
	(h)  The Division of Coastal Management shall ensure all projects funded through the Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access Program are making progress throughout project implementation and ensure that completed projects are operated and maintaine...
	(a) Any local government in the 20 coastal county region having ocean beaches or estuarine or public trust waters within its jurisdiction may apply for access funds for the development of beach or coastal waterfront access facilities with associated i...
	(a)  The Division of Coastal Management (DCM) has primary responsibility for administering the Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access Program. Subject to the availability of funds, the DCM shall annually solicit pre-application proposals from loca...
	(b)  The DCM may use available funds on a non-competitive basis to plan for and provide public access through acquisition or improvements. Prior to expending funds, the DCM shall hold a public meeting or hearing to discuss its proposal. Members of the...
	(c)  Local governments have lead responsibility for the selection of public access sites within their jurisdiction. Any local government in the 20 coastal county region having ocean beaches or public trust waters within their jurisdiction may apply fo...
	(d)  Prior to submitting their final application for a Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access grant from the DCM, the local government shall hold a public meeting or hearing to discuss its proposal. The local government shall consider public comme...
	(b)(e)  Eligible projects include:
	(1) Land acquisition, including acquisition of unbuildable lots; as outlined in G.S. 113A-134.3(a);
	(2) Local Access Sites; Development of improvements at new or existing sites that provide public access, such as dune crossovers, piers, boardwalks, parking areas, restrooms, showers, benches, litter receptacles, and bicycle racks;
	(3) Neighborhood Access Sites or improvements;
	(4)(3) Regional Access Sites or improvements; Development of improvements to public access at deteriorating or underutilized urban waterfronts. Such projects include the establishment or rehabilitation of boardwalk areas, shoreline stabilization measu...
	(5) Multi-regional Access Sites or improvements;
	(6) Urban waterfront development access projects;
	(7)(4) Reconstruction Reconstruction, replacement or relocation of existing, damaged facilities; deteriorating facilities;
	(8) Reconstruction or replacement of aging facilities; and
	(9)(5) Offsite parking areas servicing access sites within the local government's jurisdiction. jurisdiction;
	(6) Boat ramps and canoe/kayak launch areas provided that the public access facility incorporates pedestrian access to coastal waters; or
	(7) Maintenance of previously funded access sites. This project category is available only to Tier 1 communities. Such projects include repair and maintenance of access site facilities and amenities to ensure public health and safety. Repair and maint...

	(f)  All projects must meet the standards of handicapped accessibility for individuals with disabilities according to the North Carolina Building Code. Exceptions may be granted where site characteristics impede accessibility improvements.
	(c)(g)  The following criteria shall be used to select projects that may receive financial assistance:
	(1) Priority shall be given to the acquisition of lands that meet G.S. 113A-134.3(a);
	(2) The project acquires land for future access improvements;
	(3) The project creates handicapped-accessible facilities at new access sites, adds handicapped-accessible facilities to existing sites, or replaces deteriorating facilities;
	(1)(4) Applicant The applicant demonstrates a need for the project due to a high demand for public access and limited availability;
	(2)(5) Project The project is identified in the local land use plan certified CAMA Land Use Plan or local access plan;
	(3)(6) Applicant The applicant has not received previous assistance from this grant program or the applicant has received assistance and demonstrated its ability to complete previous projects successfully with funds from this grant program;
	(4)(7) Applicant's The applicant's commitment of matching funds exceeds the required local share of the total project cost provided in Paragraphs (d) and (e) Paragraph (h) of this Rule;
	(5)(8) Project The project proposal includes multiple funding sources;
	(6)(9) The project location includes donated land deemed unbuildable due to regulations or physical limitations; The project's location is within a Tier 1 community.

	(d) The North Carolina Department of Commerce's Tier designations, as outlined by the Lee Act (G.S. 105-129.3) shall be used to determine the economic status of counties. Land acquisition, including acquisition of unbuildable lots, shall include a loc...
	(e) Local government contributions for access site improvements shall be at least 25 percent of the project costs, except for Tier 1 and Tier 2 designated counties and their respective municipalities which shall have a local government contribution of...
	(h)  The applicant's matching requirements are based on project type and their designation as a Tier 1 community. Match requirements are as follows:
	(1) Local government contributions for land acquisition shall be at least 15 percent of the acquisition cost, except for Tier 1 communities which shall have a local government contribution of at least 10 percent of the project cost. At least one-half ...
	(2) Local government contributions for access site improvements shall be at least 25 percent of the project costs, except for Tier 1 communities which shall have a local government contribution of at least 10 percent of the project costs. At least one...
	(3) Local government contributions for maintenance of previously funded access sites shall be at least 10 percent of the maintenance project costs. At lease one-half of the local contributions shall be cash match; the remainder may be in-kind match. T...

	(f)(i)  Federal and other State funds may be used as the local government cash contribution, provided such funds are not already being used as matching funds for other state programs.
	(g)(j)  Multi-phase projects and previous contingency projects shall be considered on their own merits within the pool of applications being reviewed in any year.
	(k)  Projects selected for funding may not begin until the Department of Environmental Quality and grant recipient sign a contract. An exception may be granted for eligible land acquisition projects when a waiver has been requested by the applicant in...
	Prior to submitting its final application for a public access grant from the Division of Coastal Management, the local government shall hold a public meeting or hearing to discuss its proposal. The local government shall consider public comments prior...

	SECTION .0600 - FLOATING STRUCTURE POLICIES
	(a)  A boat is a vessel or watercraft of any type or size specifically designed to be self-propelled, whether by engine, sail, oar, or paddle or other means, which is used to travel from place to place by water.
	(b)  A "floating structure" is any structure, not a boat, supported by a means of flotation, designed to be used without a permanent foundation, which is used or intended for human habitation or commerce. A structure will be considered a floating stru...
	(c)  A floating upweller system is a structure used in mariculture for the purpose of growing shellfish. For the purposes of this Rule, floating upweller systems are considered floating structures.
	(a)  It is the policy of the State of North Carolina that floating structures shall not be allowed or permitted within the public trust waters of the coastal area except in permitted marinas.
	(b)  All floating structures shall be in conformance with local regulations for on-shore sewage treatment.
	(c)  Floating upweller systems may be permitted as a platform at the private docking facility in accordance with 15A NCAC 07H .0208(b)(6) or at a permitted marina in accordance with 15A NCAC 07H .0208(b)(5).



	Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Chapter 36 – BOARD OF Nursing
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Nursing intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 36 .0317 and .0318.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbon.com
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	21 NCAC 36 .0317 Administration:  Literature and peer review do not warrant a more prescriptive approach to program director qualifications.  Additionally, there is no currently employed program director who has been employed consecutively since 1984....
	21 NCAC 36 .0318 Faculty:  Literature and peer review do not warrant more prescriptive approaches to faculty qualifications. The deletion of strict percentage requirements for graduate-prepared faculty in pre-licensure programs is consistent with this...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129, Raleigh, NC 27602-2129; email public.comment@ncbon.com
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .0300 - APPROVAL OF NURSING PROGRAMS
	(a)  The controlling institution of a nursing program shall provide those human, physical, technical, and financial resources and services essential to support program processes and outcomes, including those listed in Paragraph (f) and (g) of this Rul...
	(b)  The controlling institution shall ensure that a full-time registered nurse, qualified pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule, has the authority to direct the nursing program.
	(c)  The controlling institution shall ensure that the program director has the authority and responsibility for maintaining compliance with the Rules in this Chapter and other legal requirements in all areas of the program.
	(d)  The controlling institution shall ensure that the program director has non-teaching time sufficient to allow for program organization, administration, continuous review, planning, and development.
	(e)  The program director in a program preparing students for initial nurse licensure shall satisfy the following requirements:
	(1) hold an active unencumbered license or multistate licensure privilege to practice as a registered nurse in North Carolina;
	(2) have two years of full-time experience as a faculty member in a Board-approved nursing program;
	(3) be experientially qualified, having clinical nursing experience, experience as a faculty member in a nursing program, and academic or nursing leadership experience to lead the program to accomplish the mission, goals, and expected program outcomes;
	(4) hold either a baccalaureate in nursing or a graduate degree in nursing from an accredited institution. If newly employed on or after January 1, 2016, hold a graduate degree from an accredited institution. If newly employed on or after January 1, 2...
	(5) prior to or within the first three years of employment, have education in teaching and learning principles for adult education, including curriculum development, implementation, and evaluation, appropriate to the program director role. Once comple...
	Any registered nurse who was employed as a nurse program director for the first time prior to January 1, 1984 shall be exempt from the requirements in Subparagraph (e)(5) of this Rule.
	(6) maintain competence in the areas of assigned responsibility; and
	(7) have knowledge of current nursing practice for the registered nurse and the licensed practical nurse.

	(f)  A nursing education program shall implement, for quality improvement, a comprehensive program evaluation that shall include the following:
	(1) students' achievement of program outcomes;
	(2) evidence of program resources, including fiscal, physical, human, clinical, and technical learning resources; student support services; and the availability of clinical sites and the viability of those sites adequate to meet the objectives of the ...
	(3) measures of program outcomes for graduates;
	(4) evidence that accurate program information for the public is available;
	(5) evidence that the controlling institution and its administration support program outcomes;
	(6) evidence that program director and program faculty meet Board qualifications and are sufficient in number to achieve program outcomes;
	(7) evidence that the academic institution assures security of student information;
	(8)(7) evidence that collected evaluative data is used in implementing quality improvement activities; and
	(9)(8) evidence of student participation in program planning, implementation, evaluation, and continuous improvement.

	(g)  The controlling institution and the nursing education program shall communicate information describing the nursing education program that is accurate, complete, consistent across mediums, and accessible by the public. The following shall be acces...
	(1) admission policies and practices;
	(2) policy on advanced placement and transfer of credits;
	(3) the number of credits required for completion of the program;
	(4) tuition, fees, and other program costs;
	(5) policies and procedures for withdrawal, including refund of tuition or fees;
	(6) the grievance procedure;
	(7) criteria for successful progression in the program, including graduation requirements; and
	(8) policies for clinical performance.

	(a)  All nursing program faculty, including both full-time and part-time faculty members, shall participate in curriculum implementation and evaluation.
	(b)(a)  Policies for nursing program faculty members shall be consistent with those for other faculty of the controlling institution, with variations as needed due to the nature of the nursing curriculum.
	(c)(b)  Fifty percent or more of the nursing faculty shall hold a graduate degree.
	(d)  As of January 1, 2021, 80 percent of the full-time faculty shall hold a graduate degree in nursing.
	(e)  As of January 1, 2021, 50 percent of the part-time faculty shall hold a graduate degree in nursing.
	(f)  All faculty shall hold an active unencumbered license or multistate licensure privilege to practice as a registered nurse in North Carolina.
	(g)(c)  Nurses licensed pursuant to this Chapter who are full-time and part-time faculty and who teach in a program leading to initial licensure as a nurse shall:
	(1) hold an active unencumbered license or multistate licensure privilege to practice as a registered nurse in North Carolina.
	(1)(2) hold either a baccalaureate in nursing or a graduate degree in nursing from an accredited institution;
	(2)(3) have two calendar years or the equivalent of full-time clinical experience as a registered nurse;
	(3)(4) if newly employed in a full-time faculty position on or after January 1, 2016, hold a graduate degree from an accredited institution or obtain a graduate degree in nursing from an accredited institution within five years of initial full-time em...
	(4)(5) prior to or within the first three years of employment, have education in teaching and learning principles for adult education, including curriculum development, implementation, and evaluation, appropriate to faculty assignment. Once completed,...
	Any registered nurse who was employed as a nurse faculty member or program director prior to January 1, 1984 shall be exempt from the requirements in Subparagraph (g)(4) of this Rule.
	(5)(6) maintain competence in the areas of assigned responsibility; and
	(6)(7) have knowledge of current nursing practice for the registered nurse and the licensed practical nurse.

	(h)(d)  Interdisciplinary faculty who teach in nursing program courses shall have academic preparation in the content area they are teaching.
	(i)(e)  Clinical preceptors shall have competencies, assessed by the nursing program, related to the area of assigned clinical teaching responsibilities. Clinical preceptors may be used to enhance faculty-directed clinical learning experiences after a...
	(j)(f)  Nurse faculty members shall have the authority and responsibility for:
	(1) student admission, progression, and graduation requirements; and
	(2) the development, implementation, and evaluation of the curriculum.

	(k)(g)  Nurse faculty members shall be academically qualified and sufficient in number to implement the curriculum as required by the course objectives, the levels of the students, the nature of the learning environment, and to provide for teaching, s...
	(l)(h)  The faculty-student ratio for faculty-directed preceptor clinical experiences shall be no greater than 1:15. The faculty-student ratio for all other clinical experiences shall be no greater than 1:10.


	Chapter 46 – BOARD OF Pharmacy
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Pharmacy intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 46 .2801.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act strictly limits the compounding of human drug products in states that have not entered into a memorandum of understanding with the Secretary of Health and Human Servi...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 246-1056; email ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org
	Comment period ends:  June 15, 2021 at 10:00 a.m.
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .2800 – COMPOUNDING
	(a)  A pharmacy may dispense a compounded drug preparation to a patient only pursuant to a prescription that is valid and complies with all requirements of the law, including 21 NCAC 46 .1801. In advance of dispensing the compounded drug preparation, ...
	(1) upon the pharmacy's receipt of a valid prescription order for an individual patient; or
	(2) in anticipation of a prescription order based on an established history of receiving prescription orders for the compounded drug preparation. Any compounded drug preparation prepared in anticipation of a prescription order shall not be dispensed u...

	(b)  Compounded drug preparations shall not be offered to other entities for resale.
	(c)  A pharmacy may supply compounded drug products to practitioners authorized by law to prescribe drugs for those practitioners to administer to those practitioners' patients. Such compounding for office use shall comply with applicable federal law.
	(d)  The preparation, labeling, and dispensing of non-sterile compounded drug preparations shall comply with the standards established by United States Pharmacopeia chapter <795>, including all United States Pharmacopeia chapters and standards incorpo...
	(e)  The preparation, labeling, and dispensing of sterile compounded preparations shall comply with standards established by United States Pharmacopeia chapter <797>, including all United States Pharmacopeia chapters and standards incorporated into ch...
	(f)  A pharmacy that prepares, labels, or dispenses sterile compounded preparations shall maintain a reference library in the pharmacy including the current United States Pharmacopeia standards and references on the compatibility, stability, storage, ...
	(g)  In a pharmacy where compounded drug preparations are prepared, labeled, or dispensed, the pharmacist-manager or the pharmacist-manager's designated pharmacist shall be knowledgeable in the specialized functions of preparing, labeling, and dispens...
	(h)  In addition to complying with all recordkeeping and labeling requirements specified or referred to by United States Pharmacopeia chapters <795> or <797>, a pharmacy that prepares, labels, or dispenses compounded drug preparations shall create and...
	(i)  The pharmacist-manager of a pharmacy that prepares, labels, or dispenses compounded drug preparations shall comply with all quality assurance requirements and standards of United States Pharmacopeia chapters <795> and <797>.
	(j)  Between January 1 and March 31 of each year, any pharmacy permitted by the Board that has prepared, labeled, or dispensed any compounded drug (for any patient or other person, either within or outside North Carolina) during the immediately preced...
	(j)(k)  In addition to the requirements of this Section, the compounding of radiopharmaceutical drug products shall comply with Section .2700 of this Chapter.
	(k)(l)  United States Pharmacopeia chapters <795> or <797> may be inspected at the offices of the Board during its normal hours of operation. Copies also may be obtained from the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention (www.usp.org), as a free download part of ...


	Chapter 63 - Social Work Certification AND LICENSURE BOARD
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Social Work Certification and Licensure Board intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 NCAC 63 .0207, .0705, amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 63 .0202-.0204, .0208-.0211, .0213, .0214, .0...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncswboard.org
	Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	21 NCAC 63 .0202 To set forth guidelines for the application for licensure process and required documentation.
	21 NCAC 63 .0203 To clarify transcript requirements for social work degrees.
	21 NCAC 63 .0204 To set forth standards for applicant references and establish forms for references.
	21 NCAC 63 .0207 To set forth guidelines for applicants from other jurisdictions and the requirements for substantial equivalency determinations.
	21 NCAC 63 .0208 To address fees for applicants for licensure and multiple applications.
	21 NCAC 63 .0209 To establish eligibility standards for examinations.
	21 NCAC 63 .0210 To establish guidelines for associate licensee's application for licensure, supervision, and documentation.
	21 NCAC 63 .0211 To clarify work experience requirements for licensure.
	21 NCAC 63 .0213 To set forth application process for temporary licenses to practice.
	21 NCAC 63 .0214 To clarify certification or licensure application requirements for military personnel and spouses.
	21 NCAC 63 .0301 To set forth types of qualifying examinations for certification and licensure.
	21 NCAC 63 .0304 To repeal cancelation refund policies for examination.
	21 NCAC 63 .0306 To clarify that examination fees are nonrefundable.
	21 NCAC 63 .0401 To clarify continuing education requirements.
	21 NCAC 63 .0403 To set forth guidelines for renewal affidavits as part of the renewal of license application process.
	21 NCAC 63 .0404 To set forth standards and additional requirements for reinstatement of a license after suspension for failure to renew and after temporary retirement from practice.
	21 NCAC 63 .0405 To clarify required reporting applies to certificate holders, as well as licensees.
	21 NCAC 63 .0406 To simplify military waiver or extension of time requests for renewal processes.
	21 NCAC 63 .0503 To clarify guidelines for the ethical standards, representations to public and scope of practice standards.
	21 NCAC 63 .0504 To clarify standards regarding sexual activities or relationships with current or former clients.
	21 NCAC 63 .0505 To make non-substantive grammatical changes for ethical guidelines on relationships with colleagues.
	21 NCAC 63 .0508 To clarify standards for social worker research and scholarly activity.
	21 NCAC 63 .0509 To clarify requirements for statements to the public regarding experience and abilities.
	21 NCAC 63 .0601 To provide guidance on types of conduct interpreted as violations of GS 90B-11.
	21 NCAC 63 .0602 To set forth guidelines for filing a complaint with the Board and the subsequent investigation.
	21 NCAC 63 .0603 To clarify procedure for notifying licensees of charges and other disciplinary procedures.
	21 NCAC 63 .0607 To clarify procedure for the administrative hearing.
	21 NCAC 63 .0608 To set forth guidelines for the deliberation process and reaching a decision in contested disciplinary proceeding.
	21 NCAC 63 .0609 To clarify procedure for reporting disciplinary actions to the National Practitioner Data Base.
	21 NCAC 63 .0610 To set forth guidelines for requesting continuances of disciplinary hearings.
	21 NCAC 63 .0701 To clarify procedures for submitting a petition for rule-making.
	21 NCAC 63 .0703 To repeal guidelines for passing temporary rules.
	21 NCAC 63 .0704 To make non-substantive grammatical changes to requests for declaratory ruling.
	21 NCAC 63 .0705 To set forth guidelines for processing checks with insufficient funds.
	21 NCAC 63 .0901 To set forth guidelines for applications of Certificates of Registration for professional corporations and limited liability companies.
	21 NCAC 63 .0902 To set forth guidelines for renewing a Certification of Registration.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Elizabeth Pope, NC Social Work Certification and Licensure Board, 1207 S. Cox St.; Suite F, Asheboro, NC 27203; phone (336) 625-1679; fax (336) 625-4246; email epope@ncswboard.org
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .0200 - CERTIFICATION
	Applications, inquiries and forms shall be obtained from and returned to the Board. Applicants must submit only forms obtained directly from the Board office.
	(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 90B-7, any person desiring to obtain a certificate or license from the Board shall make application to the Board. Applications not completed within two years of submission to the Board shall be denied. Application forms and instr...
	(b)  All applications for certification or licensure shall contain the following:
	(1) the applicant's contact information;
	(2) the social security number of the applicant;
	(3) the requested designation of licensure or certification type;
	(4) educational history and degree attainment;
	(5) the names and contact information of three persons supplying professional reference forms in support of the applicant's application, as well as the length of time that said persons have known the applicant;
	(6) employment history;
	(7) whether the applicant has ever been certified, licensed, or registered to practice social work by the Board, by another occupational Board, or in another state/jurisdiction and, if so:
	(8) whether the applicant has ever had a credential denied, limited, reprimanded, suspended, or revoked;
	(9) whether the applicant has ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor under any laws;
	(10) whether any criminal charges are pending against the applicant;
	(11) whether any court, board, agency, or professional organization has found the applicant guilty of misconduct, unprofessional conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent practice;
	(12) whether any charges are pending against the applicant before any court, board, agency, or professional organization for unprofessional conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent practice;
	(13) three professional references, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 63 .0204, provided in a sealed envelope with the signature of the reference over the sealed closure;
	(14) official score reports showing passage of the required examination, as prescribed herein and in 21 NCAC 63 .0301, provided from the examination testing provider;
	(15) official transcripts, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 63 .0203, provided either from said institution directly to the Board or from the applicant to the Board in an envelope that is sealed by said institution;
	(16) the applicant's affirmation that:
	(17) the application fee, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 63 .0208.

	(c)  In addition to the items set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, applicants for certification as a certified social work manager shall provide a completed CSWM Administrative Supervision Form, as prescribed in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, and an ...
	(d)  Applicants for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker who are licensed by the Board as licensed clinical social worker associates at the time of application shall provide to the Board the LCSW Short-Form Application, which contains the fo...
	(1) the applicant's name, the number of his or her licensed social worker associate license, and contact information;
	(2) the signature of the applicant and the applicant's LCSW supervisor;
	(3) whether the LCSW supervisor recommends that the applicant continue supervised clinical practice at the LCSWA level or recommends the applicant for LCSW licensure;
	(4) the applicant's certification that:
	(5) the application fee, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 63 .0208; and
	(6) a list of all continuing education hours taken since the applicant was licensed as a LCSWA or since renewal of LCSWA licensure that provides the name of the course taken, the date on which the course was taken, the length of the course taken, and ...

	(e)  A CSWM Administrative Supervision Form shall contain the following:
	(1) the name of the applicant and his or her supervisor;
	(2) the applicant's position;
	(3) a description of the applicant's administrative duties and responsibilities for the employer;
	(4) where the applicant worked during the time that supervision was provided to the applicant;
	(5) dates during which the applicant was employed;
	(6) total number of hours during which the applicant was employed;
	(7) dates during which the supervisor provided administrative supervision;
	(8) total number of hours during which the supervisor provided individual administrative supervision to the applicant;
	(9) total number of hours during which the supervisor provided group administrative supervision to the applicant;
	(10) total combined hours of individual and group hours provided to the applicant; and
	(11) the supervisor's certification that the information set forth in the CSWM Administrative Supervision Form is correct and that the supervisor is certified with the Board on at least one level and has a minimum of two years of administrative experi...

	(f)  An Employment Verification Form shall be completed for each place of employment in which the applicant has worked over the preceding six years and shall contain the following:
	(1) the applicant's name and contact information;
	(2) the applicant's license number, if a license is held;
	(3) the name and contact information of the applicant's place of employment;
	(4) the title of the applicant's position;
	(5) whether the applicant is authorized to provide clinical services on behalf of the employer;
	(6) the applicant's duties for the employer, as documented in a job description on the employer's letterhead;
	(7) the name and license number of the applicant's clinical supervisor;
	(8) whether the applicant's supervisor provided supervision to the applicant in person or remotely;
	(9) the date of the applicant's employment;
	(10) whether the applicant was employed full-time, part-time, or pro re nata;
	(11) whether the applicant is paid a fee or salary for services performed; and
	(12) the employer's signature, contact information, and the date completed.

	On the Employment Verification Form, the applicant shall provide the information requested in Subparagraphs (f)(1)-(2) of this Rule and the applicant's employer shall provide the information requested in Subparagraphs (f)(3)-(12) of this Rule.
	Applicants must have official transcripts sent from institutions where their highest social work degrees have been conferred. If transcript course titles are ambiguous, or do not adequately convey the pertinent content of the courses, the applicant sh...
	(a)  Applicants for all the LCSW and CSWM classifications shall have a minimum of three references related to the applicant's social work experience. experience, as required by G.S. 90B-7(d) and (e). Applicants for other classifications shall have a m...
	(b)  All references shall come from individuals who have or had a professional association with the applicant and have knowledge of the applicant's professional experience in the practice of social work.
	(c)  For applicants for LCSWA licensure, at least one reference shall be from one a person who has been or is currently supervising the applicant in a social work setting.
	(d)  For applicants from other jurisdictions seeking certification or licensure in accordance with G.S. 90B-8, at least one reference shall be from a registered, certified, or licensed social worker who has been or is currently practicing in a social ...
	(e)  All references shall be on a form prescribed by the Board, which is available on the Board's website at ncswboard.org, and shall contain the following:
	(1) the name of the applicant and the classification for which the applicant is applying;
	(2) the name of the person completing the reference;
	(3) the applicant's signature and applicant's indication as to whether or not the applicant waives the right to access the information provided by the person completing the reference;
	(4) the profession of the person completing the reference;
	(5) the position of the person completing the reference;
	(6) the relationship between the applicant and the person completing the reference;
	(7) how long the person completing the reference has known the applicant;
	(8) whether the person completing the reference believes that he or she has limited, moderate, or thorough knowledge of the applicant's professional qualifications;
	(9) whether the applicant has ever been guilty of unprofessional conduct, dishonest practice, incompetence, or fraud, if known by the person completing the reference;
	(10) if the person completing the reference is aware of any issues such as substance abuse or emotional disorders that would impair the applicant's ability to practice;
	(11) if the person completing the reference has any concerns about the applicant that he or she would like to bring to the Board's attention and if so, a description;
	(12) a rating of poor, good, superior, or unknown for the applicant's professional judgement, ethical conduct, competence and skill, concern and empathy, record keeping, client relationships, written communication, verbal communication, and social wor...
	(13) whether the person completing the reference, in his or her discretion, would recommend the applicant highly without reservation; recommend the applicant as qualified and competent; recommend the applicant with some reservation and if so, to expla...
	(14) a narrative of the applicant's strengths, weaknesses, special skills, reservations, or other information related to the applicant's suitability for certification or licensure, including any reservations held by the person completing the reference...
	(15) the signature and contact information of the person completing the reference.

	(a)  In addition to the items set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), applicants for certification as a certified social worker pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide verification of current certification, license, or registration in good standing to practice...
	(b)  In addition to the items set in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), applicants for certification as a certified master social worker pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide verification of current certification, license, or registration and certified proof of havi...
	(c)  In addition to the items set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), applicants for certification as a certified social work manager pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide:
	(1) verification of current licensure in good standing to practice social work in another jurisdiction;
	(2) a copy of the state or jurisdiction law determining the qualifications under which the applicant was certified in the other state or jurisdiction; and
	(3) certified proof that the applicant has passed the ASWB Advanced Generalist Exam.

	(d)  In addition to the items set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), applicants for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide verification of a current and active license in good standing to practice social work in...
	(e)  In addition to the items set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), applicants for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker associate pursuant to G.S. 90B-8 shall provide:
	(1) verification of current and active licensure in good standing to practice social work in another jurisdiction;
	(2) an Employment Verification Form, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(f), that sets forth the total number of hours and dates of paid supervised post-MSW practice in a clinical setting from each employer for which the applicant has practiced clinical...
	(3) a Clinical Social Work Supervision Form, as described in Paragraph (f) of this Rule, from each person who previously has provided clinical supervision to the applicant during the four years preceding the application, provided in a sealed envelope ...

	(f)  A Clinical Social Work Supervision Form shall be on a form prescribed by the Board, which is available on the Board's website at ncswboard.org, and shall contain the following:
	(1) the name of the applicant and his or her clinical supervisor;
	(2) the applicant's position;
	(3) a description of the applicant's clinical social work duties and responsibilities with information about the population served by applicant, problems addressed, assessment, and treatment modalities used for treatment and diagnosis of mental and em...
	(4) where the applicant worked;
	(5) dates during which the applicant was employed;
	(6) total number of hours during which the applicant was employed;
	(7) dates during which the clinical supervisor provided supervision to the applicant;
	(8) total number of hours during which the clinical supervisor provided individual supervision to the applicant;
	(9) total number of hours during which the clinical supervisor provided group supervision to the applicant;
	(10) total combined hours of individual and group supervision that clinical supervisor provided to the applicant; and
	(11) the clinical supervisor's certification that the information set forth in the Clinical Social Work Supervision Form is correct; that the clinical supervisor is certified, licensed, or registered as a clinical social worker with a graduate degree ...

	Each applicant for certification or licensure by the Board shall submit an initial application fee of one hundred and fifteen forty-five dollars ($115.00)($145.00) with the application. application, unless otherwise exempt under G.S. 93B-15.1. An appl...
	(a)  The Board shall review each application submitted pursuant to 21 NCAC 63 .0202 and .0207 to determine whether an applicant's applicant possesses the educational, supervision, and examination qualifications for eligibility for a particular level o...
	(b)  An applicant shall be notified in writing if found to be ineligible for the requested level of certification. If an applicant is found ineligible for the particular level of certification or licensure for which he or she has applied, the applican...
	(c)  If an applicant is found eligible for the particular level of certification or licensure for which he or she has applied, the Board shall issue the applicant notification of exam candidacy approval. Upon receipt, the applicant shall submit to the...
	(d)  Upon receipt of the applicant's Exam Request Form and the fee set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0303, the Board shall forward to the applicant instructions for registering to sit for the examination and the deadline by which the exam eligibility shall exp...
	(e)  An applicant desiring to take an examination other than the ASWB Clinical level examination shall submit to the Board an Exam Request Form, which is available on the Board's website at https://www.ncswboard.org, that shall contain the following:
	(1) the applicant's name and address;
	(2) the applicant's social security number; and
	(3) the type of examination for which the applicant is approved to sit.

	(f)  An applicant desiring to take the ASWB Clinical level examination shall submit to the Board a Clinical Exam Request Form, which is available on the Board's website at https://www.ncswboard.org, only after completing two years of clinical practice...
	(1) the name and license number of the applicant;
	(2) the contact information, date of birth, and signature of the applicant;
	(3) the name, license number, and signature of the applicant's clinical supervisor; and
	(4) the attestation of the applicant's clinical supervisor that the applicant has completed two years of clinical practice and is qualified to take the ASWB Clinical level examination.

	(a)  The Board shall issue an associate license to any person who meets the requirements in G.S. 90B-7(f). Applicants for licensure as a LCSWA shall provide an application to the Board, as set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b), and shall comply with the re...
	(b)  Applications and forms shall be obtained from and returned to the Board Office. The application fee set in Rule .0208 of this Chapter shall be submitted with the application.
	(c)(b)  Prior to practicing clinical social work, applicants associates must demonstrate in writing through an emergency crisis plan that, in the event of a clinical emergency, they have immediate access to a at least one licensed mental health profes...
	(1) the name, address, and contact information for the LCSWA practice;
	(2) a description of the practice setting that provides whether the practice is in a home, an office setting, and whether the LCSWA practices with other practitioners;
	(3) a hierarchy of initial contact persons, if more than one contact person is identified; where each person is located; and his or her estimated response time;
	(4) a plan for follow-up consultations with the LCSWA's clinical supervisor if an alternate emergency contact was consulted at the time of need; and
	(5) signatures and license numbers of the LCSWA, the LCSW supervisor, and the emergency consultant back-up provider.

	Each licensed clinical social worker associate shall notify the Board in writing within seven days of any change in such access by resubmission of an emergency crisis plan outline form.
	(c)  Prior to practicing clinical social work, associates shall provide to the Board an Employment Verification for LCSWA form that contains the following:
	(1) the associate's name, address, contact information, license number, and license issuance and expiration dates;
	(2) the name and address of the agency for which the associate intends to work;
	(3) the associate's current position title and a copy of the job description;
	(4) whether the associate is authorized by the employer to provide clinical services;
	(5) the name of the associate's LCSW clinical supervisor and whether the supervisor is located on-site or off-site;
	(6) whether the associate is being paid a fee or salary;
	(7) dates during which the associate is working full-time, part-time, or as needed; and
	(8) the name and signature of the person completing the form on behalf of the employer.

	(d)  Each associate licensee must be supervised as set forth in G.S. 90B-7(f) and receive on-going appropriate supervision as defined in Rule .0211(a)(2) of this Chapter until the associate licensee is licensed as a qualifying examination has been pas...
	(e)  All associate licensees shall submit reports of their clinical social work experience and supervision on a form prescribed by the Board and made available on the Board's website the appropriate Board form(s) every six months for review and evalua...
	(1) the associate's name, LCSWA license number, and contact information for the associate;
	(2) the associate's place of employment and an employment verification form, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 63 .0202(f), if not previously provided to the Board;
	(3) the associate's signature and date submitted;
	(4) an acknowledgment from the associate's LCSW supervisor as to whether:
	(5) a rating of the associate by the associate's LCSW supervisor in all the following categories:
	(6) a narrative summary regarding the associate's growth as a clinical practitioner and participation in clinical supervision;
	(7) the period during which the associate received supervision from the LCSW supervisor;
	(8) the number of in-person hours of individual supervision that the associate received;
	(9) the number of in-person hours of group supervision that the associate received;
	(10) the number of hours provided through technology that the associate received in a group setting;
	(11) the number of hours provided through technology that the associate received in an individual setting;
	(12) the number of clinical practice hours that the associate attained during the review period; and
	(13) the name, phone number, signature, and license number with expiration date of the associate's LCSW supervisor.

	(f)  To prevent a lapse in licensure, associate licensees who desire to become Licensed Clinical Social Workers shall renew the LCSWA or complete the application process for the Licensed Clinical Social Worker classification and submit the application...
	(a)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(d)(s) 90B-7(d) for the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) credential: credential are as follows:
	(1) Two years of post-MSW clinical social work experience shall mean 3,000 documented clock hours of work or employment for a fee or salary while engaged in the practice of clinical social work as defined in this Chapter. The 3,000 hours shall be accu...
	(2) Appropriate supervision shall mean supervision by a MSW who is also a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and who is in good standing with the Board. A supervisor disciplined by any professional credentialing body or professional organization, or who ...
	(3) Appropriate supervision shall be that which is provided on a regular basis, conducted no less than once every two weeks, with at least one hour of supervision during every 30 hours of experience. A minimum of 100 hours of supervision is required. ...
	(4) Unless otherwise preapproved by the Board, no more than 20 hours of supervision may be provided through the use of technology. The clinical supervisor may seek approval by providing a written request to the Board. The request shall include the par...

	(b)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(e)(2) for the Certified Social Work Manager (CSWM) credential: credential are as follows:
	(1) Two years of post social work degree experience shall mean 3,000 documented clock hours of employment for a fee or salary while engaged in administrative social work duties including, policy and budgetary development and implementation, supervisio...
	(2) Appropriate supervision shall mean face-to-face supervision by a social work administrator certified or licensed by the Board who has a minimum of two years of administrative experience in a social work or mental health setting. Appropriate superv...

	The Board may issue a non-renewable temporary reciprocal license pursuant to G.S. 90B-8(b), that is valid for no more than six months, upon receipt of a twenty five dollar ($25.00) fee.
	(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 90B-8(b), any nonresident clinical social worker certified, registered, or licensed in another jurisdiction desiring to obtain a temporary license from the Board shall make application to the Board. Applications not completed wit...
	(b)  An applicant pursuant to this Rule shall provide the following information on the application set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule:
	(1) the applicant's name, contact information, signature, and date of signature;
	(2) the social security number of the applicant;
	(3) the requested designation of licensure type;
	(4) the applicant's place of employment, the name of the applicant's supervisor, and the license number of the applicant's supervisor, if the supervisor holds a license to practice clinical social work;
	(5) educational history and degree attainment;
	(6) whether the applicant has ever been certified, licensed, or registered to practice social work by the Board, by another occupational board or agency, or in another state/jurisdiction and, if so:
	(7) whether the applicant ever has had a credential denied, limited, reprimanded, suspended, or revoked;
	(8) whether the applicant ever has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor under any laws;
	(9) whether any criminal charges are pending against the applicant;
	(10) whether any court, board, agency, or professional organization has found the applicant guilty of misconduct, unprofessional conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent practice;
	(11) whether any charges are pending against the applicant before any court, board, agency, or professional organization for unprofessional conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent practice;
	(12) the applicant's certification that:
	(13) an application fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

	(c)  An applicant pursuant to this Rule shall provide a copy of the completed application set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule to the occupational board or agency in which the applicant is certified, licensed, or registered to practice social work....
	(1) confirmation that the applicant's completed application as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule is accurate, if known;
	(2) whether the applicant obtained original licensure from the responding board or agency and, if not, the jurisdiction from which the applicant obtained original licensure;
	(3) whether the responding board or agency has official transcripts, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 63 .0203, in its records for the applicant;
	(4) whether the applicant graduated from an education program that is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), for which accreditation standards are available at www.cswe.org;
	(5) whether the applicant was exempt or "grandfathered" from the jurisdiction's licensure requirements at the time the applicant received his or her certification, licensure, or registration to practice social work;
	(6) whether the applicant took an ASWB examination to obtain licensure in the responding board or agency's jurisdiction and, if so, which examination;
	(7) whether the applicant's licensure in the responding board or agency's jurisdiction is in good standing and, if not, the reason for which the licensure in not;
	(8) whether the responding board or agency, any state agency, or any professional organization ever has found the applicant guilty of misconduct, unprofessional conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent practice and, if so, a copy of t...
	(9) whether any charges are pending against the applicant before the responding board or agency, any state agency, or any professional organization for unprofessional conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent practice;
	(10) whether the applicant completed any supervision of clinical practice that was approved by the responding board or agency and, if so:
	(11) whether the responding agency or board has any additional comments regarding the applicant's fitness to practice clinical social work or licensure status; and
	(12) the name, signature, date of signature, and contact information of the representative completing the information set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, with the responding board or agency's seal affixed.

	(a)  Upon receipt of a request for certification or licensure pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from an applicant with military training and experience, the Board shall issue a certificate or license upon the applicant's satisfying the following conditions: s...
	(1) Has completed and submits to the Board, an application containing the information as described in Rules .0202, .0203, and .0204 of this Section; 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b)(1)-(3), (6)-(12), and (16);
	(2) Has provided to the Board written documentation to satisfy conditions set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(a) and (c); and 93B-15.1(a); or
	(3) Has passed the qualifying examination for the level of certification or licensure for which the applicant is applying. written documentation to satisfy conditions set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(a2).

	(b)  Upon receipt of a request for certification or licensure pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from a military spouse, the Board shall issue a certificate or license upon the applicant's satisfying the following conditions: submission of the following to the...
	(1) Has completed and submits to the Board, application information as described in Rules .0202, .0203, and .0204 of this Section; 21 NCAC 63 .0202(b)(1)-(16); and
	(2) Has provided written documentation to satisfy conditions set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(b) and (c); and 93B-15.1(b).
	(3) Has passed the qualifying examination for the level of certification or licensure for which the applicant is applying.

	(c)  Military trained applicants and military spouse applicants may apply for a temporary license as described in Rule .0213 of this Section. license by submitting to the Board an application containing the information set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0213(b)...
	(1) Submission of an application and official written verification of equivalent licensure, certification, or registration in good standing from the jurisdiction under which the applicant is currently licensed, certified, or registered;
	(2) Payment of the applicable fee;
	(3) Prior to the expiration of the temporary license, the applicant shall fulfill all requirements for documentation of education, experience, training, and examination, and pay any additional application fee as described in Rule .0202 of this Section...


	SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATIONS
	(a)  Any national examination selected by the Board, or any examination developed by the Board, Board shall serve to evaluate the qualifications of each applicant for certification or licensure. Any such examination shall be administered at least once...
	(b)  The Board examination required by G.S. 90B-7(b)(2) for the Certified Social Worker credential is the Association of Social Work Board ("ASWB") Bachelor level examination. The Board examination required by G.S. 90B-7(c)(2) for the Certified Master...
	An examination fee of forty dollars ($40.00) plus the cost of the examination to the Board shall be assessed for administration and processing of any written examination. Examination fees are nonrefundable.

	SECTION .0400 - RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATIONSECTION
	(a)  Continuing education for certification or licensure renewal shall be required to maintain professional knowledge and technical competency. Renewal of certification or licensure shall require 40 contact hours of continuing education credits approv...
	(1) Continuing continuing education units awarded that do not reflect contact hours or clock hours of instruction shall be awarded at the rate of one contact hour of credit for each continuing education unit;
	(2) One one academic course hour of credit shall be equal to 15 contact hours; and
	(3) Credit credit for auditing an academic course shall be for clock hours of instruction attended with one clock hour equal to one contact hour of credit.

	(b)  During each renewal period period, all certified and licensed social workers shall engage in a minimum of four contact hours of continuing education focused on ethics related to social work practice and ethical decision-making.
	(c)  The following activities shall be approved for continuing education:
	(1) Academic academic social work courses taken for credit or audit;
	(2) Agency-based agency-based staff development, seminars, institutes, workshops, mini courses or conferences oriented to social work practice, values, skills and knowledge;
	(3) Cross-disciplinary cross-disciplinary offerings from medicine, law and the behavioral/social sciences or other disciplines, if such offerings are related to social work practice, values, skills and knowledge;
	(4) Distance distance learning activities including online courses and home study courses that have been pre-approved by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) or the North Carolina Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW-NC)...
	(5) A a group of professionals within the health and human services or related fields organized to come together to study a particular topic focusing on social work practice provided the following can be documented:

	(d)  Continuing education focusing on practitioner self-care and well-being shall not exceed six contact hours of credit during a single renewal cycle.
	(e)  Up to five contact hours of credit shall be granted per renewal cycle for presenting a training focused on social work practice provided that:
	(1) The the Board receives confirmation from the organization for which the licensee presented that identifies the licensee as the presenter, confirms the title and date of the presentation, the length of the presentation, and number of attendees; and
	(2) the dates of the presentation occur within the renewal cycle; cycle.

	(f)  Credit shall not be granted for:
	(1) identical programs completed within the same renewal period;
	(2) job orientation or training directed at procedural mandates such as health and safety practices, new hire training, and compliance training; or
	(3) supervision and case consultation.

	(a)  To renew a certificate or license, a person must submit the following to the Board on or before the expiration of his or her certification or licensure:
	(1) all fees as required in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule; and
	(2) a Renewal Affidavit, as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

	(a)(b)  Fees for renewal of certificates or licenses are as follows:
	(1) For for Certified Social Workers (CSW's), the renewal fee is seventy dollars ($70.00).
	(2) For for Certified Master Social Workers (CMSW's), the renewal fee is ninety dollars ($90.00)($90.00).
	(3) For for Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW's), the renewal fee is one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00).
	(4) For for Licensed Clinical Social Worker Associates (LCSWA's), the renewal fee is one hundred and forty dollars ($140.00).
	(5) For for Certified Social Work Managers (CSWM's), the renewal fee shall be one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00).

	(b)(c)  Persons whose applications for renewal are received by the Board after the renewal date of their certificate or license, but no later than 60 days after the renewal date, shall pay a late renewal fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) in addition to an...
	(d)  A Renewal Affidavit shall contain the following:
	(1) the person's printed name, signature, and date;
	(2) the person's contact information;
	(3) the last four digits of the person's social security number and license number;
	(4) whether the person's contact information has changed since the previous renewal;
	(5) whether the person is requesting a duplicate license;
	(6) a list of all continuing education hours taken since the last renewal application that provides the name of the course taken, the date on which the course was taken, the length of the course taken, and whether the course taken was distance learnin...
	(7) the person's affirmation or certification that:

	(a)  Persons who apply for reinstatement after temporary retirement from the practice of social work pursuant to G.S. 90B-9(d), or after their certificate or license was suspended for failure to renew, renew shall pay a reinstatement fee of one hundre...
	(1) a reinstatement fee of one hundred and fifty-five dollars ($155.00) in addition to any renewal fee or late renewal fee owed pursuant to G.S. 90B-6.2;
	(2) a Renewal Affidavit, as described in 21 NCAC 63 .0403(d);
	(3) a current application for certification or licensure, as described in 21 NCAC 63 .0202; and
	(4) three professional reference forms, as described in 21 NCAC 63 .0204.

	(b)  Persons who apply for reinstatement after temporary retirement from the practice of social work pursuant to G.S. 90B-9.1 shall submit the following to the Board:
	(1) a renewal fee pursuant to G.S. 90B-6.2; and
	(2) a Renewal Affidavit, as described in 21 NCAC 63 .0403(d).

	(c)  Applicants desiring to reinstate LCSWA shall comply with G.S. 90B-7(f) by completing all requirements for full licensure as LCSW within six years, inclusive of any time spent on nonpracticing status pursuant to G.S. 90-B-9.1 or suspension for fai...
	(a)  Each licensee or certificate holder shall notify the Board in writing of any of the following changes within 30 days of the effective date of the changes: change:
	(1) Change change of the licensee's or certificate holder's name, which shall be accompanied by documentation such as a certified marriage certificate or driver's license;
	(2) Change change in the licensee's or certificate holder's residence or business address, including street and mailing address;
	(3) Change change in the licensee's or certificate holder's residence or business telephone number; and
	(4) Any any adverse action or disciplinary action against a licensee or certificate holder from a licensing board, professional certifying body, or professional organization for any conduct described in G.S. 90B-11(a).

	(b)  Within 30 days of the effective date of a disposition in a criminal matter in which the licensee or certificate holder is defendant, including driving under the influence, each licensee or certificate holder shall send to the Board a certified co...
	(c)  The licensee's or certificate holder's failure to report to the Board the dispositions addressed by Subparagraph (a)(4) and or Paragraph (b) of this Rule to the Board shall be considered a violation of the Ethical Guidelines, Section .0500. .0500...
	(a)  If a social worker is currently certified or licensed in good standing by this Board and is serving in the armed forces of the United States and who has been granted an extension of time to file a tax return under G.S. 105-249.2, the Board shall ...
	(b)(a)  Prior to the expiration of his or her license or certificate, To request an extension of time to pay a license renewal fee pursuant to G.S. 93B-15, the licensee or certificate holder shall submit a written request for extension to the Board to...
	(c)  During the extended time period, the existing license or certification shall not expire until a decision on the renewal application is made by the Board. If the application is denied or the terms of the license or certification are limited, the e...
	(d)(b)  Continuing education credits approved during the extended time period shall not be utilized for future renewal periods.

	SECTION .0500 - ETHICAL GUIDELINES
	(a)  Social workers shall engage in practice only within their sphere of competence. in accordance with their training and experience. They shall accurately represent to clients, colleagues, and the general public their abilities, education, training,...
	(b)  As employees of institutions or agencies, social workers are responsible for remaining alert to and attempting to moderate institutional pressures or policies that conflict with the standards of their profession. If such conflict arises, social w...
	(c)  Social workers shall not practice, practice or facilitate or collaborate with any form of discrimination on the basis of race, sex, sexual orientation, gender, age, religion, socioeconomic status, medical diagnoses, or national origin. origin whi...
	(d)  Social workers shall practice their profession in compliance with legal standards. federal, state, or local laws impacting the practice of social work.
	(e)  Social workers shall not engage in settlement agreements that preclude reporting of ethical misconduct to the Board.
	(a)  Social workers shall not misuse their professional relationships sexually, financially financially, or for any other personal advantage. They shall maintain this standard of conduct toward all who are professionally associated with them such as c...
	(b)  Social workers shall inform clients of the extent and nature of services available to them as well as the limits, rights, opportunities opportunities, and obligations associated with service which that might affect the client's decision to enter ...
	(c)  Social workers shall obtain consent (agreement to participate in social work intervention) intervention from all clients or their legally authorized representative except when laws judicial orders require intervention to insure ensure the client'...
	(d)  Social workers shall terminate a professional relationship with a client when, after careful evaluation and assessment, when it is determined that the client is not likely to benefit from continued services or the services are no longer needed. T...
	(e)  Social workers shall respect the integrity, protect the welfare, and maximize self-determination of clients they serve. They shall avoid entering treatment relationships in which their professional judgment will be compromised by the prior associ...
	(f)  Social workers shall not initiate, and shall avoid when possible, personal relationships or dual roles with current clients, or with any former clients whose feelings toward them the social worker may still be derived from or influenced by the fo...
	(g)  Social workers shall not engage in sexual activities with clients or former clients. A social worker shall not engage in or request electronic, verbal, or physical sexual contact with a client or former client under any circumstances. For the pur...
	(h)  Social workers shall be solely responsible for acting act in accordance with G.S. 90B and these Rules in regard to relationships with clients or former clients. A client's or former client's initiation of a personal, sexual sexual, or business re...
	Social workers shall act with integrity in their relationships with colleagues and other professionals. They shall consider the practice areas and knowledge or expertise of other professionals to whom they make referrals and with whom they collaborate...
	In planning, conducting conducting, and reporting a study with human subjects, the social worker acting as an investigator shall make a careful evaluation of its ethical acceptability, taking into account the following additional principles for resear...
	(a)  Public statements, announcements of services and promotional activities of social workers serve the purpose of providing sufficient information to aid consumers in making informed judgments and choices, choices. Social workers shall state accurat...
	(b)  In announcing availability for professional services, a social worker shall use his or her the licensee or certificate holder's name, type type, and level(s) of certification and licensure; and may use highest relevant academic degree from an acc...
	(c)  Social workers shall not offer to perform any service beyond the scope permitted by law or beyond the scope of their competence. They shall not engage in any form of advertising which is false, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading. They shall nei...
	(d)  Social workers shall respect the rights and reputations of professional organizations with which they are affiliated. They shall not falsely imply sponsorship or certification by such organizations. When making public statements, the social worke...
	(e)  A social worker Social workers shall display his or her their license or certificate at the social worker's primary place of practice as required by G.S. 90B-15.

	SECTION .0600 - DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES
	In addition to the conduct set forth in G.S. 90B-11, the Board may take disciplinary action upon the following grounds: The following conduct constitutes a violation of G.S. 90B-11:
	(a)  Any person who has reason to believe that a social worker has violated the laws governing the practice of social work may file a complaint with the Board. Anyone wishing to file a complaint shall file a form with the Board office that contains th...
	(1) the complainant's name and contact information;
	(2) the name, contact information, and license number of the social worker about which the complainant wishes to file the complaint;
	(3) a narrative of the facts about which the complaint relies;
	(4) identification of the statutes or rules that were allegedly violated;
	(5) identification of the individuals and their contact information who may have information to support the complaint;
	(6) identification of any documents that may support the complaint; and
	(7) the complainant's affirmation that:
	(8) the complainant's signature and the date on which the complaint is made.

	(a)(b)  Upon receipt of a complaint, the Board shall notify the social worker against whom the complaint was filed, noting the report of a violation and the specific ethical standard rule, statute, or ethical guideline brought into question.
	(b)(c)  Upon receipt of a complaint, or upon its own motion, the Board, its staff, or designee(s) may investigate shall determine whether more information or evidence is needed to show whether a person certified or licensed by the Board has violated a...
	(c)(d)  The complainant and social worker against whom a complaint was filed shall be notified in writing of the Board's decision as to whether an investigation is warranted.
	(e)  The Board may initiate its own complaint and conduct an investigation of a suspected violation if the Board obtains information tending to show that a violation of G.S. 90 or these Rules has occurred.
	(d)(f)  Any Board member who conducts the investigation of a specific case shall not participate in the Board's adjudication of that case.
	(a)  If an investigation conducted in accordance with Rule .0602 of this Section produces any credible evidence indicating a violation of G.S. 90B or these Rules Rules, the Board may shall initiate disciplinary proceedings. Disciplinary proceedings co...
	(b)  Nothing herein shall abridge the right of in this Rule shall prevent the Board to from summarily suspend suspending a certificate or license pursuant to G.S. 150B-3(c). in accordance with G.S. 150B-3(c) if the Board determines that the public hea...
	(a)  Disciplinary hearings shall be conducted by a majority of the Board. The Chairperson shall serve as presiding officer unless he or she the Chairperson is absent or disqualified, disqualified in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule, in which...
	(b)  Disqualification. An affidavit seeking disqualification of any Board member, if filed in good faith and in a timely manner, will be ruled on by the remaining members of the Board. An affidavit is considered timely if it is filed:
	(1) Prior prior to the hearing; or
	(2) As as soon after the commencement of the hearing as the affiant becomes aware of the facts which give rise to his the belief that a Board member should be disqualified.

	(c)  Evidence. The admission of evidence in a hearing on a contested case shall be as prescribed in G.S. 150B-41.
	(a)  The form and content of the Board's decision in a contested case shall be as prescribed by G.S. 150B-42(a), and its decision shall be served upon the parties in a manner consistent with said statute.
	(b)  The official record of the hearing in a contested case shall contain those items specified in G.S. 150B-42(b).
	(a)  Immediately upon the conclusion of a disciplinary proceeding conducted pursuant to 21 NCAC 63 .0603 and if so moved by two Board members, the Board shall deliberate on whether an applicant, certificate holder, or licensee involved has violated a ...
	(b)  If the Board reaches a decision on the issues set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule immediately upon the conclusion of the disciplinary proceeding, the Board shall announce the decision but shall provide the parties with an opportunity to submi...
	(c)  If the Board does not reach a decision on the issues set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule immediately upon the conclusion of the disciplinary proceeding, the Board shall provide the parties an opportunity to submit proposed findings of fact an...
	(d)  Following the expiration of the time allowed for the parties to submit proposed findings and exceptions, the Board shall make a written final agency decision in accordance with G.S. 150B-42.
	(e)  Disciplinary costs shall be assessed against an applicant, certificate holder, or licensee in a written final agency decision as set forth in G.S. 90B-11 when:
	(1) the licensee previously has rejected a consent order offered by the Board to resolve the disciplinary matter;
	(2) the licensee previously has been disciplined by the Board pursuant to G.S. 90B-11, previously received a non-disciplinary letter of caution, or previously received a non-disciplinary Consent Order from the Board for the same conduct at issue in di...
	(3) the Board finds that the licensee's conduct or defense at hearing was dilatory or not asserted in good faith; or
	(4) the Board denies, suspends, or revokes an application, certificate, or license.

	Disciplinary costs shall equal three hundred dollars ($300.00) per hour for time spent by the Board conducting a hearing that results in disciplinary action and for time spent by the Board deliberating on a disciplinary proceeding, with a minimum char...
	The Board shall report all disciplinary actions specified in G.S. 90B-11 through the Public Protection Database (PPD), the National Practitioner Data Bank – Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (NPDB-HIPDB), and may report them to any request...
	(a)  In accordance with 45 CFR 60.9, the Board shall report disciplinary actions specified in G.S. 90B-11 to the National Practitioner Data Bank. 45 CFR 60.9 is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and additions, and can b...
	(b)  For purposes of this Rule and G.S. 90B-11, the following matters constitute disciplinary actions:
	(1) injunctions for unlicensed practice;
	(2) issuance of a cease and desist order;
	(3) revocation;
	(4) suspension;
	(5) censure;
	(6) reprimand;
	(7) probation;
	(8) withdrawal or denial of initial applications or reapplications proximate to an ethics matter;
	(9) surrender of certification or license during an investigation;
	(10) practice limitations connected to the delivery of health care services as defined by 45 C.F.R. 60.3; and
	(11) limitations on the right of a licensee or certificate holder to supervise.

	(c)  For purposes of this Rule, the following matters shall not constitute disciplinary actions:
	(1) monitoring independent of restrictions or discipline;
	(2) letters of concern; and
	(3) complaints.

	(a)  All motions for continuance shall be addressed to the Chair.
	(b)(a)  Motions for a continuance of a hearing may shall be granted reviewed in accordance with the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure as set forth in G.S. 1A-1. 1A-1, Rule 40(b). The Board is not required to grant a motion to continue. All motio...
	(c)(b)  In determining whether good cause exists, exists as set forth in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 40, the Chair or presiding officer shall consider the ability of the party requesting a continuance to proceed without a continuance.
	(d)(c)  Motions for a continuance shall be in writing and shall be received in the office of the Board no less than seven calendar days before the hearing date.
	(e)(d)  A motion for a continuance filed less more than seven calendar days from the date of the hearing shall be denied if a continuance has been previously granted unless the reason for the motion could not have been ascertained earlier.

	SECTION .0700 – ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES
	(a)  The procedure for petitioning the Board to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule is governed by G.S. 150B-20.
	(b)  Submission. Rule-making petitions shall be sent to the executive director of the Board. Contact information for the Board can be found on the Board's website at www.ncswboard.org. No special form is required. The rule-making petition shall contai...
	(c)  The Board does not require the following information to be submitted with the petition, but does consider the following information to be pertinent:
	(1) the reason for its proposal;
	(2) data supporting the proposed rule;
	(3) practices likely to be affected by the proposed rule; and
	(4) persons likely to be affected by the proposed rule.

	(d)  Disposition. The executive director shall present the petition and his or her recommendation to the Board at its next regular meeting following receipt of the petition, and the Board shall render its decision to either deny the petition or initia...
	(a)  General. The issuance of declaratory rulings by the Board is governed by G.S. 150B-4. The Board shall respond to requests for declaratory rulings in accordance with G.S. 150B-4.
	(b)  Contents of a Request for Declaratory Ruling. A request for a declaratory ruling shall be in writing and addressed to the executive director of the Board. The request shall contain the following information:
	(1) The the name and address of the person making the request;
	(2) The the statute or rule to which the request relates;
	(3) A concise a statement of the need for a declaratory ruling as set forth in G.S. 150B-4(a); and
	(4) A a statement as to whether a hearing is desired, and if desired, the reason therefore.

	(c)  Refusal to Issue Ruling. The Board may shall refuse to issue a declaratory ruling under the following circumstances:
	(1) When when the Board has already made a controlling decision on substantially similar facts in a contested case;
	(2) When when the facts underlying the request for a ruling were specifically considered at the time of the adoption of the Rule in question; or
	(3) When when the subject matter of the request is involved in any pending litigation in North Carolina.

	(a)  The Board shall charge the maximum processing fee allowed by G.S. 25-3-506 if a check submitted to the Board is returned by a financial institution because of insufficient funds or because the drawer did not have an account at that bank.
	(b)  Until such time as the drawer of the bad check has paid the prescribed fee, the drawer shall not be eligible to take an examination, obtain a license, or have the license renewed. For the purpose of this Rule, "prescribed fee" shall mean the sum of:
	(1) the maximum processing fee allowed by G.S. 25-3-506;
	(2) the renewal or application fee, whichever is applicable; and
	(3) any late fee, as described in G.S. 90B-6.2.

	(c)  Any license that has been issued or renewed based on a check which is returned to the Board shall be invalid until such time as the drawer has paid the prescribed fee. The invalidity of the license or renewal shall commence on the date of the iss...
	(d)  Payment of the prescribed fee to the Board shall be made in the form of a cashier's check, money order, credit card, or debit card.

	Section .0900 - PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION OR LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY
	(a)  Social Work Licensees Licensed clinical social workers who wish to form a Professional Corporation or Professional Limited Liability Company must apply to the North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board for a Certificate of Regis...
	(b)  All applications for a Certificate of Registration for Professional Corporation shall include the fee described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule and provide the following:
	(1) the name and address of the proposed business;
	(2) the purpose of the proposed business;
	(3) the name, address, profession, and license number of each proposed stock owner;
	(4) the percentage of shares to be owned by each proposed stock owner;
	(5) the name, address, profession, and license number of each proposed director;
	(6) the name, address, profession, and license number of each proposed corporate officer;
	(7) the name, address, profession, and license number of each proposed professional employee;
	(8) the contact information of the person completing the application; and
	(9) notarized signatures from the business's incorporators and an attestation that:

	(c)  All applications for a Certificate of Registration for Professional Limited Liability Company shall include the fee described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule and provide the following:
	(1) the name and address of the proposed business;
	(2) the purpose of the proposed business;
	(3) the name, address, profession, and license number of each proposed shareholder;
	(4) the percentage of shares to be owned by each proposed shareholder;
	(5) the name, address, profession, and license number of each proposed director;
	(6) the name, address, profession, and license number of each proposed member;
	(7) the name, address, profession, and license number of each proposed professional employee;
	(8) the contact information of the person completing the application; and
	(9) notarized signatures from the business's organizers and an attestation that:

	(d)  The following non-refundable fees apply:
	(1) Fifty fifty dollars ($50.00) – application fee for a certificate of registration for a professional corporation or limited liability company; and
	(2) Twenty-five twenty-five dollars ($25.00) – annual renewal fee for the certificate of registration for a professional corporation or limited liability company; and company.
	(3) Twenty-five ($25.00) – fee for amendments(s) to the certificate of registration for a professional corporation or limited liability company. An amendment to the Certificate of Registration shall be required for a change in name, address, or profes...

	(a)  A Social workers who have registered their business with the Board in accordance with 21 NCAC 63 .0901 shall renew annually their Certificate of Registration issued by the Board shall be renewed annually prior to the expirations date printed on t...
	(1) whether there has been any change to the business since the last renewal of the Certificate of Registration;
	(2) identification of changes to the business since its last submission to the Board office, if any were made;
	(3) whether the business has ceased operation and, if so, a copy of the articles of dissolution;
	(4) the name, contact information, and license number of the licensees who are owners, members, or shareholders of the business;
	(5) the name, address, and certificate of registration number of the business;
	(6) applicant's signature and the date signed; and
	(7) a non-refundable fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

	(b)  A Certificate of Registration will shall be suspended for failure to renew within 30 days after the expiration date and will shall be reported to the Office of the Secretary of State.
	(c)  The Board may reinstate a Certificate of Registration suspended under this subsection within the calendar year upon payment of the required renewal fee plus an additional fee for late renewal as provided in G.S. 55B-11.


	Chapter 66 - Veterinary Medical Board
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Veterinary Medical Board intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 66 .0211.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncvmb.org
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact the NC Veterinary Medical Board via email at keith@ncvmb.org
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Clarify the use of telemedicine with the practice of veterinary medicine.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Keith West, 1611 Jones Franklin Road, Suite 106, Raleigh, NC 27606; phone (919) 854-5601; email keith@ncvmb.org
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF VETERINARY MEDICINE
	(a)  "Veterinary telemedicine" or "telemedicine" means the use of electronic or telecommunication technologies to remotely provide medical information regarding a patient's clinical health status and to deliver veterinary medical services to a patient...
	(b)  A veterinarian may provide veterinary medical services via telemedicine to any patient only after establishing a Veterinarian-Client-Patient-Relationship (VCPR). No person shall practice veterinary telemedicine except a veterinarian within the co...
	(c)  "Veterinary telemonitoring" means the use of a medical device, smart phone, monitoring sensor, or other technology, in combination with an internet connection, to collect and store health information for a patient of the veterinarian and to trans...
	(d)  "Veterinary Teleconsulting" occurs when any person, whose expertise the veterinarian believes would benefit the veterinarian's patient, provides advice or other information by any method of communication to a veterinarian at the veterinarian's di...
	(e)  Veterinarians practicing telemedicine shall be held to the same standard of care as veterinarians providing in-person medical care. There is not a separate standard of care applicable to telemedicine. Veterinarians shall determine whether telemed...


	Title 26 – Office of Administrative Hearings
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Office of Administrative Hearings intends to amend the rule cited as 26 NCAC 01 .0103.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https:www.oah.nc.gov
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Send public hearing request via email to Bill Culpepper, NC OAH General Counsel, at bill.culpepper@oah.nc.gov
	Reason for Proposed Action:  NC OAH has eliminated contracting for court reporting and transcriptionist services, thereby permitting attorneys to contract directly with court reporters and transcriptionists that have been approved by the Administrativ...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Bill Culpepper, General Counsel, Office of Administrative Hearings, 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (984) 236-1931; fax (984) 236-1871; email bill.culpepper@oah.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 01 - General
	SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
	(a)  Copies of any public records documents filed in the Office of Administrative Hearings are available at the "actual cost" as defined in G.S. 132-6.2(b). 132-6.2(b) for making the copy and mailing cost if applicable. The Office of Administrative He...
	(b)  Certified copies of any public document filed in the Office of Administrative Hearings are available at a cost of one dollar ($1.00) per certification in addition to any other applicable cost for the public document. Electronic copy certification...
	(c)  Transcripts are available of contested case hearings. Procedures for requesting and costs of transcripts are in 26 NCAC 03 .0123.
	(d)  Copies of recordings are available in the original recording format and media only.
	(e)  Video conferencing fees including cancellation fees shall be paid by the requesting party. The video conferencing fees are set at the rates established by the Office of Information Technology Services (ITS).
	(f)  North Carolina sales tax shall be added if applicable.
	(b)(g)  There is no charge to the requesting party unless the actual cost total charge is equal to or exceeds ten dollars ($10.00). three dollars ($3.00).
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Office of Administrative Hearings intends to amend the rule cited as 26 NCAC 03 .0123.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https:www.oah.nc.gov
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Send public hearing request via email to Bill Culpepper, NC OAH General Counsel, at bill.culpepper@oah.nc.gov
	Reason for Proposed Action:  NC OAH has eliminated contracting for court reporting and transcriptionist services, thereby permitting attorneys to contract directly with court reporters and transcriptionists that have been approved by the Administrativ...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Bill Culpepper, General Counsel, Office of Administrative Hearings, 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (984) 236-1931; fax (984) 236-1871; email bill.culpepper@oah.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  June 14, 2021
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required


	Chapter 03 - Hearings Division
	SECTION .0100 - HEARING PROCEDURES
	(a)  The official record of a contested case shall be available for public inspection upon request. An administrative law judge may, consistent with law, order part or all or part of an official record sealed.
	(b)  The official record shall be prepared in accordance with G.S. 150B-37(a).
	(c)  Contested case hearings shall be recorded either by a hearing assistant provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings four-track recording system or a court reporter authorized and approved to prepare transcripts of proceedings in the General...
	(d)  Transcript costs incurred shall be divided equally among the party(ies) requesting a transcript.
	(e)  Any other costs incurred when using a court reporter shall be divided equally among the requesting party(ies).
	(d)(f)  If a contested case hearing is cancelled, the party responsible shall provide a A 24-hour cancellation notice is required in all cases in which a hearing assistant is provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings. cases. The party(ies) res...
	(e)(g)  Transcripts of proceedings during which oral evidence is presented shall be made only upon request of a party. OAH shall contract with an independent contractor to provide transcript services. When proceedings are recorded by a court reporter,...
	(f)  A party who orders a transcript shall use an Office of Administrative Hearings Transcript Contract form to order the transcript, which shall include the following information:
	(1) case name and number;
	(2) requestor information; and
	(3) transcriptionist information.

	That form is available on the Office of Administrative Hearings website at https://www.oah.nc.gov and may be obtained from the Chief Hearings Clerk upon request. The party ordering the transcript shall file the transcript contract with the Office of A...
	(g)(h)  Copies of recordings made by a hearing assistant are available upon written request at a cost set out in 26 NCAC 01 .0103.
	(i)  Copies of OAH Hearings recordings or non-OAH certified transcripts therefrom are not part of the official record.
	Note: Rule 5.3(B) of the Rules of Professional Conduct permits an attorney to advance or guarantee expenses of litigation provided the client remains ultimately liable for such expenses.

	TITLE 02 – Department of agriculture and consumer services

	Chapter 09 - Food and Drug Protection
	SUBCHAPTER 09L - PESTICIDE SECTION
	SECTION .0500 - PESTICIDE LICENSES
	(a)  For the purpose of this Subchapter a "restricted use pesticide" shall be:
	(1) any pesticide required by the Environmental Protection Agency to bear the designation on its labeling "Restricted Use Pesticide;"
	(2) arsenic trioxide; and
	(3) any pesticide approved under Rule .0318 of this Subchapter.

	(b)  Any pesticide approved by the United States Environmental Protection Agency for use in the State of North Carolina in accordance with 02 NCAC 09L .0318 that is labeled as approved for use in preventing, destroying, or mitigating Covid-19 shall be...

	TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL licensing boards and commissions


	Chapter 57 - Appraisal Board
	SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL EDUCATION
	SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES
	Due to the current State of Emergency in North Carolina and the United States, the North Carolina Appraisal Board is taking the following action:
	RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
	MINUTES
	March 18, 2021
	APPROVAL OF MINUTES
	The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the February 18, 2021 meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed.
	Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the ne...
	FOLLOW UP MATTERS
	Department of Public Safety
	State Board of Education
	16 NCAC 06B .0114 – In response to objections in September and January, the agency responded in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-21.12 and requested the rule be returned to the agency.  No further action was taken by the Commission.
	State Board of Education
	16 NCAC 06G .0508 – In November, the Commission determined the rewritten version of 16 NCAC 06G .0508 met the Commission’s objections but the changes were substantial, and the agency would need to re-publish the rule. No action was required by the Com...
	LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)
	EXISTING RULES REVIEW
	COMMISSION BUSINESS
	The meeting adjourned at 9:26 a.m.
	The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.
	Alexander Burgos, Paralegal
	Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
	Jeanette Doran, Chair
	Rules Review Commission Meeting March 18, 2021
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