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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Elections intends to adopt the rule cited as 08 

NCAC 01 .0107. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncsbe.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 6, 2021 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/onstage/g.php?MTID=edface27

83fca19ab1cd21dad70e09f0b 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This new rule would clarify when 

a political party expires and the timeline for changing the 

registration of voters affiliated with expired political parties. A 

political party would cease its legal status as a recognized 

political party in the state when the State Board certifies the 

general election in which the political party failed to poll at least 

2% for its candidate for Governor or for presidential electors. If 

the political party submits documentation by the date of state 

certification that it had a nominee on the ballot in at least 70% of 

states in the prior presidential election, it will not cease to be a 

political party. Voters registered with an expired political party 

would be changed to unaffiliated status as required by statute on 

the 20th day before the opening of the filing period for the next 

regularly scheduled election held after the political party was 

terminated. Currently, the filing period for municipal elections 

begins on July 2, 2021, so affected voters would be changed to 

unaffiliated status on June 12, 2021. However, this date is subject 

to change if the General Assembly moves election dates as a result 

of the delay in receiving census data. The statute requires 

rulemaking but this had not previously been done. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Kelly Tornow, P.O. Box 

27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255; email rules@ncsbe.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 1, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

 

08 NCAC 01 .0107 POLITICAL PARTY 

FORMATION, TERMINATION, AND REINSTATEMENT 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 163-97, a political party ceases to be a 

political party on the date the State Board certifies the general 

State election in which the political party failed to poll for its 

candidate for Governor, or for presidential electors, at least two 

percent of the entire vote cast in the State for Governor or for 

presidential electors. Any voter registration form received after 

that date by a county board of elections in which the applicant 

chooses to affiliate with an expired political party shall be 

registered as "unaffiliated," except that if the person is already 

registered to vote in the county and that person's registration 

already contains a party affiliation, the county board of elections 

shall not change the registrant's political party affiliation. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a political party 

shall not cease to be a political party under G.S. 163-97 if it 

submits to the State Board of Elections by the date of the state 

canvass documentation that the group of voters had a candidate 

nominated by that group on the general election ballot of at least 

70 percent of the states in the prior Presidential election. 

(c)  Voters affiliated with an expired political party shall be 

changed to "unaffiliated designation" as required by G.S. 163-

97.1 on the 20th day before the opening of the candidate filing 

period for the next regularly scheduled election held after the date 

the political party failed to continue its legal status as provided in 

G.S. 163-97. 

(d)  The State Board shall order the county boards of elections to 

change the registration affiliation of all voters who are recorded 

on the registration books as being affiliated with an expired 

political party at 5:00 p.m. on the 20th day before the opening of 

the candidate filing period for the next regularly scheduled 

election held after the date of expiration. Upon making the 

change, the county board of elections shall send each affected 
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voter verification of the party change by mail in accordance with 

G.S. 163-82.17(b). However, an expired political party that 

submits to the State Board one of the following prior to noon on 

the twentieth day before the opening of the candidate filing period 

for the next regularly scheduled election held after the date of 

expiration shall not have its affiliated voters changed to 

"unaffiliated designation": 

(1) A successful petition under G.S. 163-96(a)(2). 

The political party shall comply with all other 

petition processes and deadlines in G.S. 163-

96(a)(2), (b), and (c), including submitting the 

signatures to each county board of elections no 

later than 5:00 p.m. on the 15th day preceding 

the date the petitions are due to be filed with the 

State Board as provided in this Paragraph. 

(2) Documentation that the group of voters had a 

candidate nominated by that group on the 

general election ballot of at least 70 percent of 

the states in the prior Presidential election. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, "expired political party" means a 

party that failed to continue its legal status as provided in G.S. 

163-97. 

(d)  Documentation required under G.S. 163-96(a)(3) for the 

creation of a political party and under Subparagraph (b)(2) of this 

Rule for the reinstatement of an expired political party shall 

include any official State or federal government source, including 

but not limited to, official election results or statistics from a state 

or federal government website or publication. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-97.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Elections intends to amend the rules cited as 08 

NCAC 09 .0106, .0107, .0109 and repeal the rule cited as 08 

NCAC 09 .0108. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncsbe.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 6, 2021 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/onstage/g.php?MTID=edface27

83fca19ab1cd21dad70e09f0b 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This proposed amendment 

removes references to direct record electronic voting machines 

(DREs) which were decertified in 2020, clarifies the conduct of 

recounts, and details how the county board of elections makes 

determinations of voter intent in hand-to-eye recounts. It would 

codify the voter intent principles provided to the counties in 

Numbered Memo 2020-32. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Kelly Tornow, P.O. Box 

27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255; email rules@ncsbe.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 1, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CONDUCT OF VOTE RECOUNTS BY 

COUNTY BOARDS OF ELECTIONS 

 

08 NCAC 09 .0106 GENERAL GUIDELINES 

(a)  Prior to each recount under G.S. 163-182.7, the county board 

of elections or State Board shall inform the political parties and 

candidates of the recount and describe to them the process of 

conducting recounts. A county board of elections shall notice the 

recount at least 48 hours prior to the start of the recount. The 

county board shall send notice by email to the county board's 

regular notice list, county party chairs, and the candidates in the 

contest subject to the recount. 

(b)  In the case of tie votes, the winner shall be determined by lot 

only in the case set out in G.S. 163-182.8(2). Where there are 

5,000 or fewer votes cast, there shall be only one determination 

by lot for each tied election. There shall be no determination by 

lot until the time has expired for the affected candidate(s) to 

request a recount, unless all of the affected candidate(s) waive 

their right in writing to request a recount. 

(c)  During the conduct of recounts, ballots shall be counted in 

accordance with the principles in G.S. 163-182.1(a). 

(d)  In conducting recounts of direct record electronic machines 

and any other types of voting machines that require a county board 

member or designated official to reprint tapes and to read the 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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totals and another board member to record the totals for each 

candidate such recount shall be conducted by a bi-partisan team 

of four: two officials (one from each of the two parties having the 

largest number of registered voters in the state) reading and 

confirming the totals per machine and two officials (one from 

each of the two parties having the largest number of registered 

voters in the state) recording the results simultaneously. 

(e)(d)  In conducting hand to eye recounts or recounts of paper 

ballots, a bi-partisan team of four shall be used: two officials (one 

from each of the two parties in the State with the largest number 

of registered voters) to relay the results of each ballot with one 

person reading the ballot and the other official observing the ballot 

and the person reading the results of the ballot, and two officials 

(one from each of the two parties in the State with the largest 

number of registered voters) each separately recording the tally of 

votes for each candidate on paper while stating aloud after each 

choice is read on the fifth tally for a particular candidate, the word 

"tally." If, after diligently seeking to fill the positions with voters 

affiliated with each of the two parties in the State with the largest 

number of registered voters, the county board still has an 

insufficient number of officials for the recount, the county board 

by a majority vote of its members, including at least one board 

member of each political party represented on the board, may 

appoint to the bi-partisan team an unaffiliated voter or voter 

affiliated with one of the other political parties. In no instance 

shall the county board appoint more than two members to a bi-

partisan team who are unaffiliated or affiliated with one of the 

other political parties. Bi-partisan team members shall be 

registered voters in the county. County board members shall not 

serve on the bi-partisan team. 

(f)(e)  The county board of elections shall conduct recounts only 

as follows: 

(1) the recount is mandatory under G.S. 163-

182.7(b) or (c); (c) or G.S. 163-182.7A; or 

(2) the recount is not mandatory but the county 

board of elections or the State Board of 

Elections determines, using its authority in G.S. 

163-182.7(a), that in order to complete the 

canvass a recount is necessary. 

(g)(f)  A candidate shall have the right to call for a hand-eye 

recount recount, as to elections conducted by optical scan systems 

within 24 hours after a mandatory or discretionary recount in G.S. 

163-182.7(a) or by noon on the next business day of the county 

board office, whichever is later, if the apparent winner is the 

apparent loser after the discretionary recount first recount, unless 

human error resulted in the vote count change. A candidate shall 

have the right to call for a hand-eye sample recount within 24 

hours after a mandatory machine recount, pursuant to G.S. 163-

182.7A. 

(h)(g)  Any candidate shall have the right to file an election protest 

within 24 hours after a recount or by noon of the next business 

day of the county board office, whichever is later. later, if the 

protest relates to the conduct of the recount. Allegations unrelated 

to the recount may not be included in the protest. 

(i)(h)  Recounts shall be performed in the presence of a quorum 

of county board members or in the presence of a bipartisan team 

of two county board members. Determinations of voter intent 

shall be made by at least a quorum of the board. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.7. 

 

08 NCAC 09 .0107 RECOUNT OF OPTICAL SCAN 

BALLOTS FIRST RECOUNT 

(a)  In the first recount conducted by the county board of elections 

in accordance with G.S. 163-182.7, all ballots that were originally 

counted by the optical scan equipment shall be counted again by 

machine. the optical scan equipment producing another machine 

count. A "machine count" total is a ballot count produced by a 

voting system that uses machines. All ballots that are were 

rejected for tabulation purposes by the machines - commonly 

called "outstacked" or center bin ballots - shall be recounted by a 

bi-partisan team of four in accordance with 08 NCAC 09. 0106(f). 

08 NCAC 09. 0106(e) or duplicated and counted by machine. 

Ballots accepted by the machines shall not be counted by hand, 

regardless of whether the ballot is marked, contains overvotes, or 

is blank. 

(b)  When the first recount, including absentee and provisional 

ballot recount totals, has been completed, the board of elections 

shall determine if a second recount is necessary as follows: 

(1) Determine whether the first recount produces a 

change in the winner in accordance with the 

following: 

(A) If the apparent winner after the initial 

balloting is the apparent loser after the 

first recount, that candidate shall be 

entitled to demand a second recount, 

by hand and eye, of all ballots; and 

(B) If the apparent winner after the initial 

balloting remains the apparent winner 

after the first recount, the county board 

shall proceed according to 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph; 

(2) Determine whether there is a discrepancy in the 

machine totals between the initial balloting and 

the first recount in accordance with the 

following: 

(A) If the machine totals from the initial 

balloting and the first recount are the 

same, no second recount is necessary; 

and 

(B) If the machine totals from the initial 

balloting and the first recount are not 

the same, the county board shall 

proceed according to Subparagraph 

(3) of this Paragraph; 

(3) Determine if the discrepancy in the machine 

total between the initial balloting and the first 

recount can be reconciled. The county board 

shall examine all outstacked or center bin 

ballots from the first recount, determine how 

each ballot shall be counted according to Rule 

.0106(c) of this Section, and reconcile the count 

with the machine count on the initial balloting 

in accordance with the following: 

(A) If this reconciliation produces the 

same machine total for the first 

recount as the machine total in the 
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initial balloting, no second recount is 

necessary; and 

(B) If the reconciliation produces a 

different machine total for the first 

recount than the machine total in the 

initial balloting, the losing candidate is 

entitled to demand a second recount, 

by hand-to-eye, of all ballots. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.7. 

 

08 NCAC 09 .0108 RECOUNT OF DIRECT 

RECORD ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES 

 

Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.7. 

 

08 NCAC 09 .0109 MANUAL HAND TO EYE 

RECOUNTS GUIDELINES FOR DETERMINING VOTER 

INTENT 

(a)  As provided in G.S. 163-182.1(a), voter intent is the 

governing standard when questions arise about how to adjudicate 

markings on a ballot. Questions about voter intent may arise 

during a hand-to-eye recount if a voter marks the ballot in an 

inappropriate manner, places marks in the wrong location on the 

ballot, or otherwise marks the ballot in a manner that causes the 

voter's choice to be in dispute. Determinations of voter intent shall 

be made by the county board. If the bipartisan team of four 

provided for in 08 NCAC 09. 0106(e) encounters a ballot that 

cannot be clearly identified as a vote for one candidate or another, 

the ballot must be set aside. During a hand-to-eye audit or recount, 

all ballots with a potential overvote or undervote shall be 

adjudicated by the county board at the conclusion of the tallying 

by the bipartisan team. If the subject to the recount was left 

blank—meaning there are no marks in the target or candidate area 

for the contest—the county board shall not need to determine 

voter intent and the ballot shall not be counted for any candidate 

in that contest. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Target area" is the square or oval next to the 

candidate's name on the printed ballot; 

(2) "Candidate area" is the area between the lines 

separating candidate names, or the area that is 

clearly closer to one candidate's name than 

another, and includes the candidate's name and 

party affiliation, if listed. 

(c)  For any printed ballot that is to be counted hand-to-eye, the 

following guidelines shall be used in determining voter intent: 

(1) Any ballot that is properly marked in the target 

area for one candidate only shall be designated 

as a vote for that candidate. 

(2) If the names of all but one candidate are 

stricken through, the ballot shall be counted for 

the one candidate whose name was not stricken 

through. 

(3) If there are identical marks for two or more 

candidates, clarified by an additional or 

different mark or marks that appear to indicate 

support for one candidate, the ballot shall be 

counted as a vote for the candidate with the 

additional or different marks. 

(4) Any ballot that has any other mark or marks in 

the target area or candidate area for one 

candidate only, including circling the target 

area and/or the candidate's name or making a 

mark in or around the target area or candidate's 

name, provided no other candidate for that 

office is similarly marked, shall be counted as a 

vote for that candidate. 

(5) Any ballot that has a mark or marks in the target 

area or candidate area for one candidate, which 

extends partially into one or more other target 

areas or candidate areas, shall be counted as a 

vote for the candidate so marked only if a 

majority of the mark is in that candidate's area 

or target area, it is readily apparent that the 

voter intended to vote for that candidate, and no 

other candidate is similarly marked. 

(6) Marks extending across more than one 

candidate's area may be counted if the lines of 

the "x" or the bottom point of the check mark 

clearly lie inside the box or on top of the name 

or party affiliation or candidate area of one 

candidate, and no other candidate is similarly 

marked. 

(7) Any ballot that has a mark in the target area or 

candidate area for one candidate, and on which 

other marks in the target areas or candidate 

areas for any other candidates have been 

partially erased, scratched out, or otherwise 

obliterated, shall be counted as a vote for the 

candidate for which the mark was not erased, 

scratched out, or otherwise obliterated, 

provided no other candidate is similarly 

marked. 

(8) Any ballot that has a mark that is clearly next to 

(either before or after) a candidate's name, or 

across the name, shall be recognized as a mark 

for that candidate. Similarly, a mark between or 

over the "timing marks" of the ballot, that are 

clearly opposite or next to one candidate's name 

and not near another candidate's name, shall be 

recognized as a mark. 

(9) A mark that is between or across more than one 

candidate's name, candidate area, or target area 

shall not be recognized as a vote. 

(10) Any writing or comment on the ballot (other 

than a write-in) that clearly indicates the voter's 

support for one and only one candidate for the 

office, and that cannot be interpreted as a 

comment in favor of any other candidate in that 

election, shall be counted as a vote for that 

candidate. 

(11) Any ballot that is marked for more than one 

candidate for the office shall be deemed an 

overvote and no vote shall be counted for that 

ballot item. 
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(12) Any ballot on which there is no mark under the 

office, or any other mark or comment indicating 

support for a candidate for the office, is an 

undervote and shall not be counted as a vote for 

any candidate. 

(13) A mark that is clearly a negative or extraneous 

comment, or which indicates the voter's 

opposition to one or more candidates, shall be 

considered an undervote, provided the ballot is 

not so marked to indicate which candidate the 

voter supports. 

(14) If a substantial part of the candidate's name is 

crossed through or stricken out, the mark shall 

be considered an undervote and shall not be 

counted. 

Examples of these guidelines applied to ballot markings are 

located in Numbered Memo 2020-32 on the State Board of 

Elections' website. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.7. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Elections intends to amend the rule cited as 08 

NCAC 20 .0101. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncsbe.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2021. 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 6, 2021 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/onstage/g.php?MTID=edface27

83fca19ab1cd21dad70e09f0b 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This proposed amendment 

clarifies the number of precinct-specific observers permitted and 

how the lists of observers are to be submitted. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Kelly Tornow, P.O. Box 

27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255; email rules@ncsbe.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 1, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 20 - ELECTION OBSERVERS 

 

08 NCAC 20 .0101 ELECTION OBSERVERS 

(a)  Observer Lists. The chair of each political party in a county 

may designate a total of two precinct-specific observers to attend 

each voting place on Election Day and each one-stop site during 

a primary or general election in accordance with this Rule. 

Alternate precinct-specific observers are not permitted. The 

county party chair may designate 10 additional at-large observers 

who may attend any voting place in the county. The list of 

observers for one-stop must designate the names of the observers 

who will be present on each day of early voting and, for precinct-

specific observers, at each one-stop site. At-large observers may 

serve at any one-stop site. The chair of each State political party 

may designate up to 100 additional at-large observers who are 

residents of the State who may attend any voting place in the 

State. 

(b)  Submission of Lists. The county party chair shall submit a 

written, signed list of county at-large observers to the county 

director of elections, with two copies provided to the chair of the 

county board of elections, prior to 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day prior 

to Election Day. The county party chair shall submit a written, 

signed list of the observers appointed for each precinct to the chief 

judge of each precinct, with two copies provided to the chair of 

the county board of elections, prior to 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day 

prior to Election Day; the list may be delivered in care of the 

county director of elections. The county party chair shall submit 

the list of observers for one-stop before 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day 

before the observer is to observe. The party chair may provide the 

list by facsimile or email provided the letters are signed. The list 

of at-large observers to serve on Election Day may be amended 

prior to Election Day to substitute one or all of the at-large 

observers. The list of at-large observers who serve during early 

voting and the list of precinct-specific observers may not be 

amended after the submission deadline. The State party chair shall 

submit the written, signed list of State at-large observers by 10:00 

a.m. on the fifth day prior to Election Day to the State Board, 

which shall disseminate the list to the county boards of elections. 

The list shall include the full name of each at-large observer and 

the county in which the observer is registered. Party chairs may 

provide the lists by facsimile or email provided the letters are 

signed. Scanned signatures are permissible. 

(c)  Observers at Voting Place. No more than two precinct-

specific observers from each political party may be in the voting 

enclosure at any time. Only one at-large observer from each 

political party may be in the voting enclosure at any time, even if 
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no precinct-specific observers are present. All observers, whether 

precinct-specific or at-large, may be relieved after serving no less 

than four hours. hours; however, the total number of observers 

from each party per day cannot exceed three total observers: two 

precinct-specific observers and one county or State at-large 

observer. An observer may leave the voting place without having 

served for four hours, but the observer cannot be replaced by a 

new observer until at least four hours have passed since the first 

observer began serving. An observer who leaves the voting place 

for any reason may be prohibited by the chief judge from 

returning if the observer's return would cause a disruption in the 

voting enclosure. 

(d)  Observer Conduct. Observers in the voting enclosure are 

prohibited from engaging in certain activities. Observers who 

engage in prohibited conduct after receiving a warning may be 

required by the chief judge to leave the voting enclosure. 

Prohibited activities by observers include: 

(1) Wearing or distributing campaign material or 

electioneering; 

(2) Impeding or disrupting the voting process or 

speaking with voters or election assistants; 

(3) Interfering with the privacy of the voter, 

including positioning themselves in such a way 

that they can view confidential voter 

information on poll books or laptops or 

standing in such a way that they can view the 

contents of ballots inserted into a tabulator; 

(4) Using an electronic device to film or take 

photographs inside the voting enclosure; 

(5) Taking photographs, videos, or recording a 

voter without the consent of the voter and the 

chief judge; 

(6) Entering the voting booth area or attempting to 

view voted ballots; 

(7) Boarding a vehicle containing curbside voters; 

and 

(8) Providing voter assistance. 

(e)  Eligibility. No person who is a candidate on the ballot in a 

primary or general election may serve as an observer or runner in 

that primary or that general election. No person who serves as an 

observer or runner in a primary or general election may serve as a 

precinct official or one-stop election official in that primary or that 

general election. 

(f)  Observers for unaffiliated candidates. An unaffiliated 

candidate or the candidate's campaign manager may appoint two 

observers at each voting place as set forth in this Rule. 

(g)  The use of the term "chief judge" includes one-stop site 

managers. 

 

Authority G.S. 163A-741; 163A-821; 163A-1136; 163A-1137; 

163-22; 163-45; 163-166.6; 163-166.7. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Elections intends to adopt the rules cited as 08 

NCAC 21 .0107, .0202, .0203, .0401, .0501 and amend the rules 

cited as 08 NCAC 21 .0102-.0104. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncsbe.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 6, 2021 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/onstage/g.php?MTID=edface27

83fca19ab1cd21dad70e09f0b 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rules relating to procedures 

for closing a committee and the certification of threshold largely 

reflect current agency practices and are being proposed for 

adoption to ensure agency compliance with Chapter 150B. Rules 

related to the examination/audit process and billboards reflect 

new agency standards. 08 NCAC 21 .0401 will set deadlines for 

treasurers to respond to questions or request for documents to aid 

program analysts in completing examinations/audits. In the past, 

failure of the committee treasurer to respond has resulted in 

significant delays. 08 NCAC 21 .0501 will provide clarity and 

consistency in what signs require a disclosure legend. 

Historically, the agency has not had a singular definition. Instead, 

the definition in the Campaign Finance Manual has varied based 

on physical characteristics and location. 

The State Board is also proposing amendments to 08 NCAC 21 

.0102, .0103, .0104. These rules were adopted in 2020. In working 

with treasurers and representatives of Independent Expenditure 

Filers, it was determined that additional clarity is needed in terms 

of who is authorized to sign disclosure reports on behalf of an 

individual, person (corporation, business, etc.) or other entity. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Kelly Tornow, P.O. Box 

27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255; email rules@ncsbe.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 1, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 
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 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 21 – CAMPAIGN FINANCE 

 

SECTION .0100 – FUNCTIONAL AREAS OF 

RESPONSIBILITY 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0102 REPORTING OF INDEPENDENT 

EXPENDITURES 

(a)  Once an individual as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(55), person 

as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72), or other entity required to report 

independent expenditures under G.S. 163-278.12(a) has made 

independent expenditures with a present actual or market value in 

excess of one hundred dollars ($100.00) during an election as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.6(30), the individual, person, or entity 

shall report all independent expenditures, and any donations made 

to further independent expenditures, with the following board of 

elections: 

(1) if the district of the candidate or ballot issue 

supported or opposed is within one county, and 

the candidate is not running for a legislative, 

judicial, or district attorney office, the report 

shall be filed with the county board of elections; 

or 

(2) if the district of the candidate or ballot issue 

supported or opposed extends to more than one 

county, or the candidate is running for a 

legislative, judicial, or district attorney office, 

the report shall be filed with the State Board. 

(b)  An independent expenditure filer is the individual, person, or 

other entity making a reportable independent expenditure under 

G.S. 163-278.12(a). If the independent expenditure filer is an 

individual, the individual shall sign all reports. If the independent 

expenditure filer is a person or other entity, an authorized officer 

of the person or entity shall sign all reports. 

(c)  The independent expenditure filer shall file CRO-2210A 

Independent Expenditure Report Cover, CRO-2210B Donations 

to Further Independent Expenditures, and CRO-2210C Incurred 

Costs of Independent Expenditures available on the State Board's 

website unless the independent expenditure filer files reports 

electronically consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106. Independent 

expenditure reports filed with the county board of elections or the 

State Board shall include all of the following: 

(1) the independent expenditure filer's name and 

mailing address; 

(2) a phone number for the independent 

expenditure filer; 

(3) if the independent expenditure filer is an 

individual, the filer's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(4) if the independent expenditure filer is a person 

or entity, the principal place of business of the 

person or entity; 

(5) for each independent expenditure made: 

(A) The name and mailing address of the 

payee; 

(B) The amount paid; 

(C) The date the expenditure was incurred; 

(D) A description of the expenditure; and 

(E) The name of the candidate, candidates 

of an identified political party, or 

referendum supported or opposed by 

the independent expenditure; 

(6) for each donation of more than one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) that must be reported under 

G.S. 163-278.12(f): 

(A) the donor's name and mailing address; 

(B) if the donor is an individual, the 

donor's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(C) if the donor is a person or entity, the 

principal place of business of that 

person or entity; 

(D) the amount of the donation; and 

(E) the date of the donation; and 

(7) a certification as to whether any expenditures 

reported were made in concert or cooperation 

with, or at the request or suggestion of, a 

candidate, a candidate campaign committee as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.38Z(3), a referendum 

committee, the agent of a candidate, the agent 

of a candidate campaign committee, or an agent 

of a referendum committee. 

(d)  An independent expenditure filer that makes expenditures 

with a present, actual, or market value in excess of five thousand 

dollars ($5,000.00) during an election as defined in G.S. 163-

278.6(30) shall file independent expenditure reports electronically 

consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106. 

(e)  For each independent expenditure report filed electronically, 

the individual or an authorized officer of the independent 

expenditure filer shall sign the Independent Expenditure Report 

Cover and the independent expenditure filer shall file the signed 

original in accordance with Paragraph (g) of this Rule with the 

board of elections identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(f)  The independent expenditure filer shall complete and file 

forms within the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12(d). An 

independent expenditure filer that makes a reportable independent 

expenditure within 10 days of an election, and has not previously 

reported independent expenditures during the election the 

independent expenditure affects, shall file reports no later than the 

10th day after independent expenditures exceed one hundred 

dollars ($100.00). After the initial report, the independent 

expenditure filer shall continue to file independent expenditure 

reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9 until 

the end of the election. The final report for a given election shall 

cover the period through the day of the election. If the independent 

expenditure filer makes independent expenditures in support of or 

in opposition to municipal candidates or municipal ballot issues, 

the independent expenditure filer shall report all independent 

expenditures according to the reporting schedule in Part 2 of 

Article 22A of Chapter 163 of the General Statutes. 

(g)  A report is considered filed either: 

(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 
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(2) on the date it is postmarked by the United States 

Postal Services or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4; or 

(3) for an independent expenditure report filed 

electronically pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule, on the date the completed report is 

emailed to the State Board of Elections at 

campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov. 

(h)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule shall not be considered filed in accordance with 

G.S. 163-278.12(d). 

(i)  An independent expenditure filer that makes an expenditure 

of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation 

of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or more before an election but 

after the period covered by the last report due before that election, 

shall file a 48-hour report with the State Board or county board of 

elections using forms available on the State Board's website. An 

independent expenditure filer that makes a reportable independent 

expenditure within 10 days of an election, and has not previously 

reported independent expenditures during the election the 

independent expenditure affects, shall file 48-hour reports in 

accordance with this Paragraph. A 48-hour report shall be made 

using CRO-2210A Independent Expenditure Report Cover, CRO-

2210B Donations to Further Independent Expenditures, and 

CRO-2210C Incurred Costs of Independent Expenditures. 48-

hour reports may be filed by fax or email. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.12; 163-278.21; 163-278.22. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0103 REPORTING OF SPECIAL 

CONTRIBUTIONS 

(a)  Once a person as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72) or other entity 

required to report contributions under G.S. 163-278.12(b) has 

made contributions with a present, actual, or market value in 

excess of one hundred dollars ($100.00) during an election as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.6(30), the person or entity shall report all 

contributions made, and any donations made to further 

contributions, with the following board of elections: 

(1) if the district of the candidate, committee, or 

ballot issue supported or opposed is within one 

county, and the candidate is not running for a 

legislative, judicial, or district attorney office, 

the report shall be filed with the county board 

of elections; or 

(2) if the district of the candidate, committee, or 

ballot issue supported or opposed extends to 

more than one county, or the candidate is 

running for a legislative, judicial, or district 

attorney office, the report shall be filed with the 

State Board. 

(b)  A special contributor is the person or other entity making a 

reportable contribution under G.S. 163-278.12(b). An authorized 

officer of the person or entity shall sign all reports. 

(c)  When reporting contributions, the special contributor shall file 

CRO-2215A Special Contributor Report Cover, CRO-2215B 

Donations to Further Contributions, and CRO-2215C 

Contributions to Registered Committees available on the State 

Board's website. Special contributor reports filed with the county 

board of elections or the State Board of Elections shall include all 

of the following: 

(1) the special contributor's name and mailing 

address; 

(2) the special contributor's principal place of 

business; 

(3) for each contribution made; 

(A) the name and mailing address of the 

recipient committee; 

(B) the amount of the contribution; 

(C) the date of the contribution; and 

(D) for any in-kind contribution, a 

description of the expenditure; 

(4) for each donation of more than one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) that must be reported under 

G.S. 163-278.12(f): 

(A) the donor's name and mailing address; 

(B) if the donor is an individual, the 

donor's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-2778.11(a)(1); 

(D) if the donor is a person, the principal 

place of business of that person; 

(E) the amount of the donation; 

(F) the date of the donation; 

(d)  The special contributor shall complete and file forms within 

the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12(d). A special 

contributor that makes a reportable contribution within 10 days of 

an election, and has not previously reported contributions during 

that election, shall file reports no later than the 10th day after 

contributions exceed one hundred dollars ($100.00). After the 

initial report, the special contributor shall continue to file special 

contributor reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 

163-278.9 until the end of the election. The final report for a given 

election shall cover the period through the day of the election. If 

the special contributor makes contributions in support of or in 

opposition to municipal candidates or municipal ballot issues, the 

special contributor shall report all contributions according to the 

reporting schedule in Part 2 of Article 22A of Chapter 163 of the 

General Statutes. 

(e)  A report is considered filed either: 

(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

or 

(2) on the date it is postmarked by the United States 

Postal Services or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4. 

(f)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) shall not be considered filed in accordance with G.S. 163-

278.12(d). 

(g)  A special contributor that makes a contribution of five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation of one 

thousand dollars ($1,000) or more before an election but after the 

period covered by the last report due before that election, shall file 

a 48-hour report with the State Board or county board of elections 

using forms available on the State Board's website. A special 

contributor that makes a reportable contribution within 10 days of 

an election, and has not previously reported contributions during 
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that election, shall file 48-hour reports in accordance with this 

Paragraph. A 48-hour report shall be made using CRO-2215A 

Special Contributor Report Cover, CRO-2215B Donations to 

Further Contributions, and CRO-2215C Contributions to 

Registered Committees. 48-hour reports may be filed by fax or 

email. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.12; 163-278.21; 163-278.22. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0104 REPORTING OF 

ELECTIONEERING COMMUNICATIONS 

(a)  Once an individual as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(55), person 

as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72), or other entity required to report 

electioneering communications under G.S. 163-278.12C has 

incurred an expense for the direct cost of producing or airing 

electioneering communications with a present actual or market 

value aggregating in excess of five thousand dollars ($5,000) 

during an election as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(8j), the individual, 

person, or entity shall report all electioneering communications, 

and any donations made to further electioneering 

communications, with the following board of elections: 

(1) if the district of the candidate referred to is 

within one county, and the candidate is not 

running for a legislative, judicial or district 

attorney office, the report shall be filed with the 

county board of elections; or 

(2) if the district of the candidate referred to 

extends to more than one county, or the 

candidate is running for a legislative, judicial or 

district attorney office, the report shall be filed 

with the State Board. 

(b)  For an individual required to report electioneering 

communications, the individual shall sign all reports. For a person 

or other entity required to report electioneering communications, 

an authorized officer of the person or entity shall sign all reports. 

(b)(c)  The direct cost of producing or airing electioneering 

communications includes, but is not limited to, the cost of studio 

rental time; video or audio recording media; staff salaries; 

consultant fees; talent; airtime on broadcast, cable or satellite 

radio and television stations; and the charges for a broker to 

purchase the airtime. 

(c)(d)  When reporting electioneering communications, the 

individual, person, or entity shall file CRO-2310 Electioneering 

Communications Report Cover, CRO-2320 Controlling/Directing 

Entity List; CRO-2330 Receipts for Electioneering 

Communications, and CRO-2340 Incurred Costs for 

Electioneering Communications available on the State Board's 

website. Electioneering Communication reports filed with the 

county board of elections or the State Board of Elections shall 

include all of the following: 

(1) the name and mailing address of the individual, 

person, or entity incurring the expense; 

(2) a phone number for the individual, person, or 

entity incurring the expense; 

(3) the name and mailing address of the custodian 

of the books and accounts of the individual, 

person, or entity incurring the expense; 

(4) if the expense is incurred by an individual, the 

individual's principal occupation as defined in 

G.S. 163-278.11(a); 

(5) if the expense is incurred by a person or entity, 

the principal place of business of the person or 

entity; 

(6) if an individual, person, or entity is sharing or 

exercising direction or control over the 

activities of the individual, person, or entity 

incurring the expense with regards to the 

electioneering communication: 

(A) the name and mailing address of the 

individual, person or entity sharing or 

exercising direction or control; 

(B) if an individual, the individual's 

principal occupation as defined in G.S. 

163-278.11(a)(1); and 

(C) if a person or entity, the principal place 

of business of the person or entity; 

(7) for each electioneering communication 

reported: 

(A) the name and mailing address of each 

individual, person or entity paid to 

produce the electioneering 

communication; 

(B) the amount paid to each individual, 

person or entity to produce the 

electioneering communication; 

(C) the date of the electioneering 

communication; 

(D) a description of the electioneering 

communication, including any title; 

and 

(E) the name of the candidate or 

candidates referred to in the 

electioneering communication; 

(8) for each donation of more than one thousand 

dollars ($1,000) during the reporting period 

made to further the electioneering 

communication: 

(A) the donor's name and mailing address; 

(B) if the donor is an individual, the 

individual's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(C) if the donor is a person or entity, the 

principal place of business of the 

person or entity; 

(D) the amount of the donation; and 

(E) the date of the donation. 

(d)(e)  The individual, person, or entity required to report 

electioneering communications shall complete and sign file the 

forms within the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12C(b). 

After the initial report, the individual, person, or entity incurring 

the expense shall continue to file electioneering communications 

reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9 until 

the end of the election. The final report for a given election shall 

cover the period through the day of the election. 

(e)(f)  A report is considered filed either: 
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(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

or 

(2) on the date it is postmarked by the United States 

Postal Services or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4. 

(g)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) shall not be considered filed in accordance with G.S. 163-

278.12C. 

(h)  A 48-hour report shall be filed with the State Board of 

Elections or county board of elections using forms provided by 

the State Board if an individual, person or entity that produces or 

airs an electioneering communication incurs an expense of five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation of one 

thousand dollars ($1,000) or more for making an electioneering 

communication before an election but after the period covered by 

the last report due before that election. A 48-hour report shall be 

made using CRO-2310 Electioneering Communications Report 

Cover, CRO-2320 Controlling/Directing Entity List, CRO-2330 

Receipts for Electioneering Communications, and CRO-2340 

Incurred Costs for Electioneering Communications. 48-hour 

reports may be filed by fax or email. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.12C; 163-278.21; 163-278.22. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0107 ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE 

Any political committee, referendum committee, or other filer 

authorized to submit reports, disclosures or certifications 

consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106 may use an electronic 

signature permissible under G.S. 66-58.5. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.9; 163-278.21. 

 

SECTION .0200 - NONCOMPLIANCE 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0202 PROCEDURES FOR CLOSING A 

COMMITTEE 

(a)  A political committee may close and cease filing reports 

according to the schedules set forth in G.S. 163-278.9 or Article 

22A, Part 2 if it stops receiving contributions or making 

expenditures and disposes of all assets and liabilities. In order to 

close, a political committee shall file all of the following with the 

board of elections: 

(1) a certification that the political committee 

intends to close and cease existence and that all 

assets have been disposed of and reported; and 

(2) a Final Report setting forth the information in 

G.S. 163-278.11 and covering the period since 

the last report filed under G.S. 163-278.9 or 

Article 22A, Part 2. The Final Report shall 

disclose no cash on hand at the end date of the 

reporting period; no outstanding loans, and no 

outstanding debts and obligations owed by the 

political committee. 

(b)  A political committee that qualifies under threshold in 

accordance with G.S. 163-278.10A shall only file a certification 

as described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(c)  A political committee shall file the certification and Final 

Report by filing forms available on the State Board of Elections 

website with the board of elections. The certification and Final 

Report are considered filed: 

(1) on the date received by hand-delivery during 

regular business hours at the board of elections; 

(2) on the date postmarked by the United States 

Postal Service or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4. 

(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a political 

committee required to file reports electronically pursuant to G.S. 

163-278.9(i) shall complete and file a Final Report consistent with 

08 NCAC 21 .0106. All other political committees may elect to 

file a Final Report consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106. 

(e)  The certification in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule shall be 

filed within 15 calendar days of the Final Report. 

(f)  Upon receipt of the certification and Final Report, a political 

committee that is eligible to close shall be placed in "closed 

pending" status. A political committee that is closed pending is 

not required to file reports under G.S. 163-278.9 or Article 22A, 

Part 2. A political committee that is closed pending shall continue 

to preserve records consistent with G.S. 163-278.35. The political 

committee shall be closed after the board of elections completes a 

final examination of the political committee's reports and all 

potential prohibited transactions are resolved and all amended 

reports are filed. The State Board may order a committee closed 

that has not resolved potential prohibited transactions or filed 

amended reports. 

(g)  A candidate committee shall not close after the candidate 

supported files a notice of candidacy, or the candidate's name has 

been placed on the general election ballot pursuant to G.S. 163-

122. A candidate committee may close after the candidate 

supported withdraws as a candidate pursuant to G.S. 163-106.4 or 

after the certificate of nomination or election is issued under G.S. 

163-182.15. 

(h)  A political committee shall not close if: 

(1) the political committee has failed to file a report 

required by G.S. 163-278.9 or Article 22A, Part 

2; or 

(2) the political committee has an unpaid penalty 

assessed under G.S. 163-278.34. A political 

committee may close after the State Board 

waives a penalty under G.S. 163-278.34; 

(i)  A closed or closed pending political committee may re-open 

at any time. A committee shall be re-opened upon receipt of an 

Organizational Report as described in G.S. 163-278.9(a)(1). A 

political committee shall be assigned the same ID Number issued 

by the board of elections upon re-opening. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.6(74); 163-278.21. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0203 CERTIFICATION OF 

THRESHOLD 

(a)  A political committee that intends to stay within the threshold 

in G.S. 163-278.10A for a subsequent election cycle shall file a 

certification with the board of elections according to the following 

schedule: 
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(1) for a candidate committee with an election 

cycle ending on December 31 of an odd-

numbered year, by January 31 of the next even-

numbered year. 

(2) for a candidate committee with an election 

cycle ending on December 31 of an even-

numbered year, by January 31 of the next odd-

numbered year. 

(3) for a political party committee or affiliated 

party committee with an election cycle ending 

on December 31 of an even-numbered year, by 

January 31 of the next odd-numbered year. 

(b)  A political committee that fails to file the certification by the 

due date in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, shall be responsible for 

filing all reports required in G.S. 163-278.9 or G.S. 163-278.40B, 

G.S. 163-278.40C, G.S. 163-278.40D or G.S. 163-278.40E for the 

subsequent election cycle. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.10A; 163-278.21. 

 

SECTION .0400 - EXAMINATIONS 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0401 EXAMINATIONS BY STATE 

BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

(a)  After completing an examination of reports for a given period, 

State Board staff shall submit in writing to the treasurer any 

requests to inspect detailed accounts, requests to inspect bank 

records, including but not limited to checks or other written 

verifications of payment, or other questions related to a report's 

conformance to Article 22A, Article 22M or to the truth. If a 

candidate committee, a copy of the correspondence shall also be 

submitted in writing to the candidate. The treasurer or assistant 

treasurer shall respond with the requested records or written 

answers to questions within 15 business days. An extension of 

time may be granted for good cause. To obtain an extension of 

time, the treasurer or assistant treasurer shall submit the request in 

writing within 15 business days of receiving the request for 

records or written answers. For purposes of this Rule, good cause 

exists when: 

(1) there is a death in the family of the candidate, 

treasurer, assistant treasurer or custodian of 

books; 

(2) the candidate, treasurer, assistant treasurer or 

custodian of books, or someone in his or her 

family, is ill or hospitalized; 

(3) the candidate, treasurer, assistant treasurer or 

custodian of books is unable to provide a timely 

response due to a state-declared natural 

disaster; 

(4) there is any change in the name, address or 

email address of the treasurer within 10 

calendar days preceding the submission of the 

written requests or questions: or 

(5) due to the complexity of the response required, 

State Board staff determines additional time is 

necessary for the committee to provide a 

sufficient response. 

(b)  State Board staff shall submit any subsequent requests to 

inspect detailed accounts, requests to inspect bank records, or 

other questions in writing to the treasurer. For each subsequent 

submission of requests or questions, the treasurer or assistant 

treasurer shall respond within 15 business days. An extension of 

time may be granted for good cause consistent with Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(c)  After the expiration of time for all requests and questions in 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, State Board staff shall prepare 

a draft examination memorandum. The draft examination 

memorandum shall set forth any potential prohibited transactions, 

reporting errors, or informational items identified by State Board 

staff during the examination. The draft examination memorandum 

shall include any recommendations for corrective actions and 

requests that the committee amend any reports. A copy of the draft 

examination memorandum shall be submitted in writing to the 

treasurer. If a candidate committee, a copy of the draft 

examination memorandum shall also be submitted in writing to 

the candidate. The treasurer or assistant treasurer shall respond in 

writing within 20 business days. 

(d)  After the expiration of time in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, State 

Board staff shall finalize the examination memorandum. State 

Board staff shall note any amended reports filed by the treasurer 

prior to the expiration of time in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. State 

Board staff shall publish a copy of the final examination 

memorandum and a copy of any written response provided by the 

treasurer or assistant treasurer on the State Board of Elections 

website. 

(e)  Any day in which the State Board of Elections office is closed 

shall not be counted as a business day for the purpose of this Rule. 

(f)  This Rule shall not apply to any examination by a county board 

of elections of a committee that regularly files reports with the 

county board of elections. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.8; 163-278.21; 163-278.24. 

 

SECTION .0500 – DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR 

MEDIA ADVERTISEMENTS 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0501 BILLBOARDS 

For the purpose of Chapter 163, Article 22A, Part 1A, a 

"billboard" is any sign, flat surface or other display greater than 

2,160 square inches. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.21; 163-278.39. 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Care Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 10A 

NCAC 13F .1801, .1802; 13G .1701 and .1702. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 11, 2021 
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Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Being held by teleconference call using the following: 

Telephone number: 1-877-848-7030; Access code: 5133201 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor 

of North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared 

a state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact 

protective measures to help prevent the spread of SARS-CoV-2, 

commonly known as COVID-19. COVID-19 is a respiratory 

disease that can result in serious illness or death. The World 

Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDC), and the United States Department of Health 

and Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public health 

threat and emergency. In order to protect the health and safety of 

citizens residing in adult care homes and family care homes and 

the healthcare workforce employed in these facilities, the N.C. 

Medical Care Commission adopted emergency and temporary 

rules made effective October 23, 2020 and December 30, 2020 

respectively to save lives in adult care homes and family care 

homes and protect the health of the residents and staff.   

North Carolina’s licensed adult care homes and family care 

homes, commonly known as “assisted living facilities,” serve a 

population consisting predominantly of individuals in the age 

range most at risk of contracting a communicable disease (65+), 

and individuals with one or more of the underlying health 

conditions that put them at even greater risk. Currently, there are 

no permanent rules governing the infection control procedures in 

facilities to prevent, report, and manage the spread of 

communicable diseases. Over the past few years, the population 

of residents in adult care homes has not only increased in age, but 

also in acuity of health status and medical conditions. It is 

critically important that facilities are prepared, and staff are 

trained to understand the basic infection prevention practices 

needed to protect residents from communicable diseases. 

Because of the need, and to make rule adoptions permanent in the 

N.C. Administrative Code, the North Carolina Medical Care 

Commission proposes to ensure that adult care homes and family 

care homes are prepared for and adequately respond to 

communicable diseases, by requiring infection prevention and 

control policies and procedures, reporting of suspected 

communicable disease cases, and staff training to ensure safe 

care of residents and protection of facility staff. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 1, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13F – LICENSING OF ADULT CARE 

HOMES OF SEVEN OR MORE BEDS 

 

SECTION .1800 - INFECTION PREVENTION AND 

CONTROL 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1801 INFECTION PREVENTION AND 

CONTROL PROGRAM 

(a)  In accordance with Rule .1211(a)(4) of this Subchapter and 

G.S. 131D-4.4A(b)(1), the facility shall establish and implement 

an infection prevention and control program (IPCP) consistent 

with the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

(CDC) published guidelines on infection prevention and control. 

(b)  The facility shall assure the following policies and procedures 

are established and implemented consistent with the federal CDC 

published guidelines, which are hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions, on infection 

control that are accessible at no charge online at 

https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol, and addresses the 

following: 

(1) Standard and transmission-based precautions, 

for which guidance can be found on the CDC 

website at 

https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/basics, 

including: 

(A) respiratory hygiene and cough 

etiquette; 

(B) environmental cleaning and 

disinfection; 

(C) reprocessing and disinfection of 

reusable resident medical equipment; 

(D) hand hygiene; 

(E) accessibility and proper use of 

personal protective equipment (PPE); 

and 

(F) types of transmission-based 

precautions and when each type is 

indicated, including contact 

precautions, droplet precautions, and 

airborne precautions: 

(2) When and how to report to the local health 

department when there is a suspected or 
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confirmed reportable communicable disease 

case or condition, or communicable disease 

outbreak in accordance with Rule .1802 of this 

Section: 

(3) Measures the facility should consider taking in 

the event of a communicable disease outbreak 

to prevent the spread of illness, such as isolating 

infected residents; limiting or stopping group 

activities and communal dining; limiting or 

restricting outside visitation to the facility; 

screening staff, residents and visitors for signs 

of illness; and use of source control as tolerated 

by the residents. 

(4) Strategies for addressing potential staffing 

issues and ensuring staffing to meet the needs 

of the residents during a communicable disease 

outbreak: 

(c)  When a communicable disease outbreak has been identified 

at the facility or there is an emerging infectious disease threat, the 

facility shall ensure implementation of the facility's IPCP, related 

policies and procedures, and published guidance issued by the 

CDC; however, if guidance or directives specific to the 

communicable disease outbreak or emerging infectious disease 

threat have been issued in writing by the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services or local health 

department, the specific guidance or directives shall be 

implemented by the facility. 

(d)  In accordance with Rule .1211 of this Subchapter and G.S. 

131D-4.4A(b)(4), the facility shall ensure all staff are trained 

within 30 days of hire and annually on the policies and procedures 

listed in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (2) of this Rule. 

(e)  The policies and procedures listed in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule shall be maintained in the facility and accessible to staff 

working at the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4A; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1802 REPORTING AND 

NOTIFICATION OF A SUSPECTED OR CONFIRMED 

COMMUNICABLE DISEASE OUTBREAK 

(a)  The facility shall report suspected or confirmed 

communicable diseases and conditions within the time period and 

in the manner determined by the Commission for Public Health 

as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0101 and 10A NCAC 41A 

.0102(a)(1) through (a)(3), which are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments. 

(b)  The facility shall inform the residents and their 

representative(s) and staff within 24 hours following confirmation 

by the local health department of a communicable disease 

outbreak. The facility, in its notification to residents and their 

representative(s), shall: 

(1) not disclose any personally identifiable 

information of the residents or staff; 

(2) provide information on the measures the facility 

is taking to prevent or reduce the risk of 

transmission, including whether normal 

operations of the facility will change; 

(3) provide weekly updates until the communicable 

illness within the facility has resolved, as 

determined by the local health department; and 

(4) provide education to the resident(s) concerning 

measures they can take to reduce the risk of 

spread or transmission of infection. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4B; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13G – LICENSING OF FAMILY CARE 

HOMES 

 

SECTION .1700 - INFECTION PREVENTION AND 

CONTROL 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1701 INFECTION PREVENTION AND 

CONTROL PROGRAM 

(a)  In accordance with Rule .1211(a)(4) of this Subchapter and 

G.S. 131D-4.4A(b)(1), the facility shall establish and implement 

an infection prevention and control program (IPCP) consistent 

with the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

(CDC) published guidelines on infection prevention and control. 

(b)  The facility shall assure the following policies and procedures 

are established and implemented consistent with the federal CDC 

published guidelines, which are hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions, on infection 

control that are accessible at no charge online at 

https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol, and addresses the 

following: 

(1) Standard and transmission-based precautions, 

for which guidance can be found on the CDC 

website at 

https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/basics, 

including: 

(A) respiratory hygiene and cough 

etiquette; 

(B) environmental cleaning and 

disinfection; 

(C) reprocessing and disinfection of 

reusable resident medical equipment; 

(D) hand hygiene; 

(E) accessibility and proper use of 

personal protective equipment (PPE); 

and 

(F) types of transmission-based 

precautions and when each type is 

indicated, including contact 

precautions, droplet precautions, and 

airborne precautions: 

(2) When and how to report to the local health 

department when there is a suspected or 

confirmed reportable communicable disease 

case or condition, or communicable disease 

outbreak in accordance with Rule .1702 of this 

Section: 

(3) Measures the facility should consider taking in 

the event of a communicable disease outbreak 

to prevent the spread of illness, such as isolating 

infected residents; limiting or stopping group 
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activities and communal dining; limiting or 

restricting outside visitation to the facility; 

screening staff, residents and visitors for signs 

of illness; and use of source control as tolerated 

by the residents. 

(4) Strategies for addressing potential staffing 

issues and ensuring staffing to meet the needs 

of the residents during a communicable disease 

outbreak: 

(c)  When a communicable disease outbreak has been identified 

at the facility or there is an emerging infectious disease threat, the 

facility shall ensure implementation of the facility's IPCP, related 

policies and procedures, and published guidance issued by the 

CDC; however, if guidance or directives specific to the 

communicable disease outbreak or emerging infectious disease 

threat have been issued in writing by the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services or local health 

department, the specific guidance or directives shall be 

implemented by the facility. 

(d)  In accordance with Rule .1211 of this Subchapter and G.S. 

131D-4.4A(b)(4), the facility shall ensure all staff are trained 

within 30 days of hire and annually on the policies and procedures 

listed in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (2) of this Rule. 

(e)  The policies and procedures listed in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule shall be maintained in the facility and accessible to staff 

working at the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4A; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1702 REPORTING AND 

NOTIFICATION OF A SUSPECTED OR CONFIRMED 

COMMUNICABLE DISEASE OUTBREAK 

(a)  The facility shall report suspected or confirmed 

communicable diseases and conditions within the time period and 

in the manner determined by the Commission for Public Health 

as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0101 and 10A NCAC 41A 

.0102(a)(1) through (a)(3), which are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments. 

(b)  The facility shall inform the residents and their 

representative(s) and staff within 24 hours following confirmation 

by the local health department of a communicable disease 

outbreak. The facility, in its notification to residents and their 

representative(s), shall: 

(1) not disclose any personally identifiable 

information of the residents or staff; 

(2) provide information on the measures the facility 

is taking to prevent or reduce the risk of 

transmission, including whether normal 

operations of the facility will change; 

(3) provide weekly updates until the communicable 

illness within the facility has resolved, as 

determined by the local health department; and 

(4) provide education to the resident(s) concerning 

measures they can take to reduce the risk of 

spread or transmission of infection. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4B; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 
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Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on February 18, 2021 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

GASOLINE AND OIL INSPECTION BOARD 

Standard Specifications 02 NCAC 42 .0201* 34:22 NCR 

MENTAL HEALTH/DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

Schedule V 10A NCAC 26F .0106 n/a G.S. 90-88(d) 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23A .0109 35:09 NCR 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23B .0105 35:09 NCR 

Duties of Parties, Representatives, and Attorneys 11 NCAC 23G .0104* 35:09 NCR 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Records Required 14B NCAC 15A .1405* 35:09 NCR 

Mixed Beverages Permit/Invoice Form 14B NCAC 15A .1802* 35:09 NCR 

Delivery of Mixed Beverages Permittee Orders 14B NCAC 15A .1903* 35:09 NCR 

Transportation of Mixed Beverages Permittee Orders 14B NCAC 15A .1904* 35:09 NCR 

Purchase Transportation Permit/Purchase Invoice Form 14B NCAC 15B .0501 35:09 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .1501* 35:09 NCR 

Applicability and Application Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1502* 35:09 NCR 

Standards for Qualification for Tax Certification 15A NCAC 13B .1503* 35:09 NCR 

Recycling Process 15A NCAC 13B .1504 35:09 NCR 

Recycling Equipment 15A NCAC 13B .1505 35:09 NCR 

Incidental or Supportive Facilities and Equipment 15A NCAC 13B .1506 35:09 NCR 

Operational Requirements for Facilities and Equipment 15A NCAC 13B .1507 35:09 NCR 

Application for Tax Certification 15A NCAC 13B .1508 35:09 NCR 

Severability 15A NCAC 13B .1510 35:09 NCR 

Facilities for Reducing Hazardous Waste Generated 15A NCAC 13B .1512 35:09 NCR 

Equipment for Reducing Hazardous Waste Generated 15A NCAC 13B .1513 35:09 NCR 

Appeals Procedure 15A NCAC 13B .1514 35:09 NCR 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Test Administration 16 NCAC 06D .0302 35:07 NCR 

Accountability Coordinator 16 NCAC 06D .0303 35:07 NCR 

End-of-Course Assessments 16 NCAC 06D .0305 35:07 NCR 

Testing Code of Ethics 16 NCAC 06D .0306 35:07 NCR 

Test Administration in Public Schools 16 NCAC 06D .0307* 34:13 NCR 

Test Coordinators, Administrators and Proctors 16 NCAC 06D .0308* 34:13 NCR 

Interscholastic Athletics 16 NCAC 06E .0202 35:05 NCR 
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Athletic Injury Management 16 NCAC 06E .0203 35:05 NCR 

Interscholastic Athletes 16 NCAC 06E .0204* 34:13 NCR 

Athletic Trainers 16 NCAC 06E .0206* 34:13 NCR 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

Waiver 21 NCAC 34A .0128 35:09 NCR 

Renewals: Notices 21 NCAC 34B .0308* 35:09 NCR 

  

The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Permit and Application Fees 15A NCAC 02Q .0203* 35:07 NCR 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Requirements Regarding End-of-Course Tests  16 NCAC 06D .0309* 34:13 NCR 

Testing Code of Ethics  16 NCAC 06D .0311* 34:13 NCR 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Local Zoning Authorities 19A NCAC 02E .0204* 34:13 NCR 

Applications 19A NCAC 02E .0206* 34:13 NCR 

Repair/Maintenance/Alteration/Reconstruction of Signs 19A NCAC 02E .0225* 34:13 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 42 .0201 STANDARD SPECIFICATIONS 

(a)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 4814, "Standard 

Specification for Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel" as 

standard specification for gasoline with the following 

modifications: 

(1) applications for temporary exceptions to vapor 

pressure and vapor-liquid ratio specifications as 

provided in this Subparagraph shall be made to 

the Director. Said applications shall contain 

evidence that outlets marketing gasoline in 

North Carolina cannot be supplied from bulk 

terminals furnishing specified volatility level 

gasoline or that customary sources of supply 

have been temporarily interrupted by product 

shortage and alternate sources furnishing 

specified volatility level gasoline are not 

available. Such temporary exceptions granted 

shall apply only until the next meeting of the 

Board at which time the Board shall establish 

the duration of the exception; 

(2) the minimum lead content for gasoline 

registered or labeled as "leaded" shall be as 

defined in 02 NCAC 42 .0102; 

(3) vapor pressure and vapor-liquid ratio seasonal 

specifications as listed in this Subparagraph 

may be extended for a maximum period of 15 

days to allow for the disbursement of old 

stocks. However, new stocks of a higher 

volatility classification shall not be offered for 

retail sale prior to the effective date of the 

higher volatility classification. 

(b)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 4814, "Standard 

Specification for Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel" as 

standard specification for alcohol blends with the following 

modifications: 

(1) a vapor pressure tolerance not exceeding one 

pound per square inch (1 psi) for ethanol blends 

of 9 percent to 15 percent by volume; 

(2) vapor pressure seasonal specifications as listed 

in this Subparagraph may be extended for a 

maximum period of 15 days to allow for the 

disbursement of old stocks. However, new 

stocks of a higher volatility classification shall 

not be offered for retail sale prior to the 

effective date of the higher volatility 

classification; 

(3) applications for temporary exceptions to vapor 

pressure specifications as provided in this 

Subparagraph shall be made to the Director. 

Said applications shall contain evidence that 

outlets marketing gasoline in North Carolina 

cannot feasibly be supplied from bulk terminals 

furnishing specified volatility level gasoline or 

that customary sources of supply have been 

temporarily interrupted by product shortage and 

alternate sources furnishing specified volatility 

level gasoline are not available. Such temporary 

exceptions granted shall apply only until the 

next meeting of the Board at which time the 
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Board shall establish the duration of the 

exception; 

(4) the minimum temperature at 50 percent 

evaporated shall be 150 degrees F (66 degrees 

C) as determined by ASTM Test Method D 86 

for ethanol blends of 1 percent to 15 percent by 

volume; 

(5) the minimum lead content for gasoline and 

alcohol blends registered or labeled as "leaded" 

shall be as defined in 02 NCAC 42 .0102; 

(6) octane rating shall not be less than the octane 

index certified on the brand name registration 

as required by 02 NCAC 42 .0500; 

(7) all blends, both leaded and unleaded, shall be 

blended according to the EPA "Substantially 

Similar" rule found in the Clean Air Act, CAA 

Section 211(f)(1)(B), or an EPA waiver for 

unleaded fuel; 

(8) water tolerance shall be such that no phase 

separation occurs when subjected to a 

temperature equal to the temperatures specified 

in the table for "Maximum Temperature for 

Phase Separation, C," ASTM D 4814; 

(9) the vapor-liquid ratio specification shall be 

waived for ethanol blends of up to 10 percent. 

(c)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 975, "Standard Specification 

for Diesel Fuel Oils" as standard specification for diesel motor 

fuels and renewable diesel fuels with the following modification: 

For diesel motor fuel grade 2-D, the minimum flash point as 

determined by ASTM Test Method D 56 shall be 115 degrees F 

(46 degrees C). 

(d)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 396, "Standard Specification 

for Fuel Oils" as standard specification for fuel oils and blends of 

biodiesel and fuel oil. 

(e)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 3699, "Standard 

Specification for Kerosene" as standard specification for 

kerosenes with the following modification: For grade 2-K, the 

presence or absence of coloring matter shall in no way be 

determinative of whether a substance meets the requirements of 

this grade of kerosene. 

(f)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 6751, "Standard 

Specification for Biodiesel (B100) Blend Stock for Distillate 

Fuels" as standard specification for biodiesel (B100) and for B99 

(a blend of 99 percent biodiesel and one percent petroleum diesel). 

(g)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 5798, "Standard 

Specification for Ethanol Fuel Blends for Flexible Fuel 

Automotive Spark-Ignition Engines" as standard specification for 

Ethanol Flex Fuel. 

(h)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, NIST Handbook 130, "Uniform Engine 

Fuels, Petroleum Products and Automotive Lubricants 

Regulation," section 2.2.1 "Premium Diesel Fuel" as the standard 

specification of premium diesel fuels in addition to ASTM D 975. 

Copies of this document may be obtained at no cost from the NIST 

Web site - https://www.nist.gov/pml/weights-and-

measures/publications/nist-handbooks/other-nist-

handbooks/other-nist-handbooks-2-1  

(i)  In addition to meeting all specification requirements as set 

forth in this Rule, each fuel must be suitable for the intended use. 

Motor fuels shall not contain concentrations of methyl tertiary 

butyl ether (MTBE) in violation of G.S. 119-26.3. 

(j)  ASTM documents adopted by reference herein are available 

for inspection in the office of the Director of the Standards 

Division and may be obtained from ASTM International, 100 Barr 

Harbor Drive, PO Box C700, West Conshohocken, PA 19428-

2959 or their Web site - www.astm.org, at the following cost for 

each document: D 396, fifty-eight dollars ($58.00); D 975, 

seventy-five dollars ($75.00); D 3699, fifty-two dollars ($52.00); 

D 4814, seventy-five dollars ($75.00); D 5798, fifty-two dollars 

($52.00); and D 6751 fifty-eight dollars ($58.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1;  

Eff. December 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1992; May 1, 1990; March 1, 1989; 

June 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 14, 2008; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. September 19, 2015; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 26F .0106 SCHEDULE V 

(a)  Schedule V shall consist of the drugs and other substances by 

whatever official name, common or usual name, chemical name 

or brand name designated and listed in either G.S. 90-93 or this 

Rule. Each drug or substance is set forth below with its 

corresponding Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

controlled substances code number set forth in the Code of 

Federal Regulations, Title 21, Section 1308.l5. 

(b)  Narcotic drugs containing non-narcotic active medicinal 

ingredients. Any compound, mixture, or preparation containing 

any of the following narcotic drugs, or their salts calculated as the 

free anhydrous base or alkaloid, in limited quantities as set forth 

below, which shall include one or more non-narcotic active 

medicinal ingredients in sufficient proportion to confer upon the 

compound, mixture, or preparation valuable medicinal qualities 

other than those possessed by narcotic drugs alone: 

(1) not more than 200 milligrams of codeine per 

100 milliliters or per 100 grams, 

(2) not more than 100 milligrams of 

dihydrocodeine per 100 milliliters or per 100 

grams, 

(3) not more than 100 milligrams of ethylmorphine 

per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams, 

(4) not more than 2.5 milligrams of diphenoxylate 

and not less than 25 micrograms of atropine 

sulfate per dosage unit, 

(5) not more than 100 milligrams of opium per 100 

milliliters or per 100 grams, 
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(6) not more than 0.5 milligrams of difenoxin and 

not less than 25 micrograms atropine sulfate per 

dosage unit. 

(c)  Stimulants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or 

unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, 

mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the 

following substances having a stimulant effect on the central 

nervous system, including its salts, isomers and salts of isomers: 

Pyrovalerone - DEA controlled substances code number 1485. 

(d)  Depressants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or 

unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, 

mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the 

following substances having a depressant effect on the central 

nervous system, including its salts: 

(1) Lacosamide – DEA controlled substances code 

number 2746; and 

(2) Ezogabine – DEA controlled substances 

number 2779. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-88; 90-93; 143B-147; 

Eff. June 30, 1978; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; February 1, 2010; April 1, 1992; 

August 1, 1988; December 1, 1987; April 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021; January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0109 CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include 

telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing 

address. 

(b)  All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission 

shall provide and maintain current contact information via the 

Commission's Electronic Document Filing Portal ("EDFP"). 

(c)  All unrepresented persons or entities with matters before the 

Commission shall inform the Commission upon any change to 

their contact information in the following manner: 

(1) All employees who are not represented by 

counsel shall inform the Commission of any 

change in contact information by filing a 

written notice via EDFP, email to 

contactinfo@ic.nc.gov, facsimile to (919) 715-

0282, U.S. mail sent to Office of the Clerk, 

1236 Mail Service Center, Raleigh North 

Carolina 27699-1236, private courier service in 

accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, or 

hand delivery in accordance with Rule .0101 of 

this Section. 

(2) All non-insured employers that are not 

represented by counsel shall inform the 

Commission of any change in contact 

information by filing a written notice via EDFP, 

email to contactinfo@ic.nc.gov, facsimile to 

(919) 715-0282, U.S. mail sent to Office of the 

Clerk, 1236 Mail Service Center, Raleigh North 

Carolina 27699-1236, private courier service in 

accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, or 

hand delivery in accordance with Rule .0101 of 

this Section. 

(d)  All carriers, third party administrators, and self-insured 

employers shall provide the Commission, by sending an email to 

contactinfo@ic.nc.gov, with an email address for service of 

claim-related documents in cases where the Commission does not 

have email contact information for a specific representative 

assigned to the claim. 

(e)  Instructions on how to provide and update contact information 

via EDFP are available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80; 

Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0105 CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include 

telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing 

address. 

(b)  All persons or entities without legal representation who have 

matters pending before the Commission shall inform the 

Commission of any change in contact information by filing a 

written notice via the Commission's Electronic Document Filing 

Portal ("EDFP"), email to contactinfo@ic.nc.gov, facsimile to 

(919) 715-0282, U.S. mail sent to Office of the Clerk, 1236 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh North Carolina 27699-1236, private 

courier service in accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, or 

hand delivery in accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section. 

(c)  A plaintiff without legal representation who was an inmate in 

the North Carolina Division of Adult Corrections at the time of 

filing his or her tort claim, shall, within 30 days of release, provide 

the Commission with written notice of his or her post-release 

contact information in any manner authorized in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. Following the initial written notice of post-release 

contact information, the previously incarcerated plaintiff shall 

continue to inform the Commission of all changes in contact 

information in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission 

shall provide and maintain current contact information for the 

Commission's records via EDFP. 

(e)  Instructions on how to provide and update contact information 

via EDFP are available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-300; 

Eff. March 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 23G .0104 DUTIES OF PARTIES, 

REPRESENTATIVES, AND ATTORNEYS 

(a)  Attendance. The following persons shall attend the mediated 

settlement conference: 

(1) all individual parties; 

(2) in a workers' compensation case, a 

representative of the employer at the time of 

injury if: 

(A) the employer, instead of or in addition 

to the insurance company or 
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administrator, has decision-making 

authority with respect to settlement; 

(B) the employer is offering the claimant 

employment and the suitability of that 

employment is in issue; 

(C) the employer and the claimant have 

agreed to simultaneously mediate non-

compensation issues arising from the 

injury; or 

(D) the Commission orders the employer 

representative to attend the conference 

if the representative's attendance is 

necessary to resolve matters in dispute 

in the subject action; 

(3) an officer, employee, or agent of any party that 

is not a natural person or a governmental entity 

who is not the party's outside counsel and who 

has the authority to decide on behalf of the party 

whether and on what terms to settle the action; 

(4) in a workers' compensation case, an employee 

or agent of any party that is a governmental 

entity who is not the party's outside counsel or 

Attorney General's counsel responsible for the 

case and who has the authority to decide on 

behalf of the party and on what terms to settle 

the action; 

(5) when the governing law prescribes that the 

terms of a proposed settlement may be 

approved only by a Board, an employee or 

agent who is not the party's outside counsel or 

Attorney General's counsel responsible for the 

case and who has the authority to negotiate on 

behalf of and to make a recommendation to the 

Board. Pursuant to G.S. 143-295, an employee 

or agent of the named governmental entity or 

agency is not required to attend the mediated 

settlement conference. The Attorney General 

shall attempt to make an employee or agent of 

the named governmental entity or agency in a 

State tort claim available via 

telecommunication, and mediation shall not be 

delayed due to the absence or unavailability of 

the employee or agent of the named 

governmental entity or agency; 

(6) the counsels of record. Appearance by counsel 

does not dispense with or waive the required 

attendance of the parties listed in 

Subparagraphs (1) through (4); 

(7) a representative of each defendant's primary 

workers' compensation or liability insurance 

carrier or self-insured that may be obligated to 

pay all or part of any claim presented in the 

action. Each carrier or self-insured shall be 

represented at the conference by an officer, 

employee, or agent who is not the party's 

outside counsel and who has the authority to 

decide on behalf of the carrier or self-insured 

whether and on what terms to settle the action, 

or who has been authorized to negotiate on 

behalf of the carrier or self-insured and can 

communicate during the conference with 

persons who have the decision making 

authority; and 

(8) by order of the Commission, other 

representatives of parties, employers, or 

carriers, who may be obligated to pay all or part 

of any claim presented in the action and who are 

not required to attend the conference pursuant 

to Subparagraphs (1) through (6) of this 

Paragraph, if the Commission determines that 

the representative's attendance is necessary for 

purposes of resolving the matters in dispute in 

the subject action. Any employer or carrier who 

may be obligated to pay all or part of any claim 

presented in the action and who is not required 

to attend the mediated settlement conference 

pursuant to Subparagraphs (1) through (6) of 

this Paragraph or by Commission orders, may 

attend the conference if the employer or carrier 

elects to attend. If, during the conference, the 

mediator determines that the attendance of one 

or more additional persons is necessary to 

resolve the matters in dispute in the subject 

action, the mediator may recess the conference 

and reconvene the conference at a later date and 

time to allow the additional person or persons 

to attend. 

(b)  Any party or person required to attend a mediated settlement 

conference shall attend the conference until an agreement is 

reduced to writing and signed as provided in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule, or until an impasse has been declared. "Attendance" shall 

mean in-person attendance whenever the mediation rules 

approved by the North Carolina Supreme Court that are in effect 

at the time of the mediation for use in the Superior Court division 

require in-person attendance. During any time that attendance 

means in-person attendance, any party or person, including the 

mediator, may have the in-person attendance requirement excused 

or modified by agreement of all the parties and persons required 

to attend the mediation conference, including the mediator, or by 

order of the Commission in the interests of justice upon motion of 

a party and notice to all parties and persons required to attend the 

conference, including the mediator. "Attendance" shall mean 

attendance using remote technology whenever the mediation rules 

approved by the North Carolina Supreme Court that are in effect 

at the time of the mediation for use in the Superior Court division 

require attendance through the use of remote technology. During 

any time that attendance means attendance through the use of 

remote technology, any party or person required to attend the 

conference, including the mediator, may have the remote 

technology attendance requirement excused or modified by 

agreement of all parties and persons required to attend the 

conference, including the mediator, or by order of the 

Commission in the interests of justice upon motion of a party and 

notice to all parties and persons required to attend the conference, 

including the mediator. All parties and persons required to attend 

the conference, including the mediator, shall comply with all 

public health and safety requirements set forth in the mediation 

rules approved by the North Carolina Supreme Court that are in 
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effect at the time of the mediation for use in the Superior Court 

division. 

(c)  In appropriate cases, the Commission or the mediator, with 

the consent of the parties, may allow a party or insurance carrier 

representative who is required to attend a mediated settlement 

conference in person under this Rule to attend the conference by 

telephone, conference call, speaker telephone, or 

videoconferencing; the attending party or representative shall bear 

all costs of the telephone calls or videoconferencing. In addition, 

the mediator may communicate directly with the insurance 

representative with regard to matters discussed in mediation, and 

the mediator may set a subsequent mediated settlement 

conference at which all parties and representatives shall attend the 

mediated settlement conference in person, subject to Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule. The failure to appear by telephone or 

videoconferencing in accordance with this Paragraph shall subject 

the responsible party(ies) or representative(s) to sanctions 

pursuant to Rule .0105 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Notice of Mediation Order. Within seven days after the receipt 

of an order for a mediated settlement conference, the carrier or 

self-insured named in the order shall provide a copy of the order 

to the employer and all other carriers who may be obligated to pay 

all or part of any claim presented in the workers' compensation 

case or any related third-party tortfeasor claims, and shall provide 

the mediator and the other parties in the action with the name, 

address, and telephone number of all such carriers. 

(e)  Finalizing Agreement. If an agreement is reached in the 

mediated settlement conference, the parties shall reduce the 

agreement to writing, specifying all terms of the agreement that 

bear on the resolution of the dispute before the Commission, and 

shall sign the agreement along with their counsel. The parties may 

use IC Form MSC8, Mediated Settlement Agreement, or MSC9, 

Mediated Settlement Agreement – Alternative Form, for this 

purpose. Execution by counsel of a mediated settlement 

agreement for an employer or carrier who does not physically 

attend the mediated settlement conference shall be deemed to be 

in compliance with this Rule and 11 NCAC 23A .0502. By 

stipulation of the parties and at the parties' expense, the agreement 

may be electronically or stenographically recorded. All 

agreements for payment of compensation shall be submitted for 

Commission approval in accordance with 11 NCAC 23A .0501 

and .0502. 

(f)  Payment of Mediator's Fee. The mediator's fee shall be paid at 

the conclusion of the mediated settlement conference, unless 

otherwise provided by Rule .0107 of this Subchapter, or by 

agreement with the mediator. 

(g)  Related Cases. Upon application by any party or person and 

upon notice to all parties, the Commission may, in the interests of 

justice, order an attorney of record, party, or representative of an 

insurance carrier who may be liable for all or any part of a claim 

pending in a Commission case to attend a mediated settlement 

conference convened in another pending case, regardless of the 

forum in which the other case may be pending, provided that all 

parties in the other pending case consent to the attendance ordered 

pursuant to this Paragraph. Any disputed issues concerning such 

an order shall be addressed to the Commission's Dispute 

Resolution Coordinator. Unless otherwise ordered, any attorney, 

party, or carrier representative who attends a mediated settlement 

conference pursuant to this Paragraph shall not be required to pay 

any of the mediation fees or costs related to that conference. 

Requests that a party, attorney of record, or insurance carrier 

representative in a related case attend a mediated settlement 

conference in a Commission case shall be addressed to the court 

or agency where the related case is pending, provided that all 

parties in the Commission case consent to the requested 

attendance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80; 143-296; 143-300; Rule 

4 of Rules for Mediated Settlement Conferences and Other 

Settlement Procedures in Superior Court Civil Actions; 

Eff. January 16, 1996; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1998; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0616; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; June 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10G .0104 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. June 16, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 28, 2020; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1405 RECORDS REQUIRED 

(a)  A record of all orders, receipts, invoices, and payments shall 

be maintained by local boards and be available for inspection by 

any representative of the Commission during the local board's 

normal business hours. 

(b)  Local boards shall retain the following records for the length 

of time specified in this Paragraph: 

(1) sales report until the annual audit is completed; 

(2) warehouse report for one year; 

(3) daily store report until the annual audit is 

completed; 

(4) stock difference report for three years; 

(5) receiving report until the annual audit is 

completed; 

(6) clerk's daily sales and cash report until the 

annual audit is completed; 

(7) paid invoices for three years; 

(8) loss and damage claim records for three years; 

and 

(9) required records pursuant to 14B NCAC 15A 

.1903 and 14B NCAC 15B .0501 related to the 

sale of mixed beverages for three years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(4); 

18B-205; 18B-207; 18B-702(s), (u); 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1406 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021; December 1, 2019. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2021 

2143 

14B NCAC 15A .1802 MIXED BEVERAGES 

PERMIT/INVOICE FORM 

(a)  A local board in a jurisdiction where the sale of mixed 

beverages is lawful shall provide to a mixed beverages permittee 

purchasing spirituous liquor for resale in mixed beverages a 

Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice Form for every purchase 

of spirituous liquor by the permittee. 

(b)  Each Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice Form shall be 

printed in duplicate and shall show on the face of the form the 

information required by 14B NCAC 15B .0501. The local board 

shall retain one copy in its permanent records for a period of three 

years and shall give one copy of the Form to the mixed beverages 

permittee, or the mixed beverages permittee's designated 

employee or independent contractor, to accompany the spirituous 

liquor during transport. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-205(b); 18B-207; 

18B-404(b); 18B-807; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1802 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1903 DELIVERY OF MIXED 

BEVERAGES PERMITTEE ORDERS 

(a)  A local board's employee or independent contractor may 

deliver spirituous liquor purchased by a mixed beverage permittee 

to the permittee's licensed premises if all of the following 

conditions are met: 

(1) the mixed beverages permittee paid the local 

board for the spirituous liquor prior to 

transportation to the mixed beverage permittee; 

(2) alcoholic beverages are transported from the 

place of purchase to the permitted premises; 

(3) deliveries are made by 9:30 p.m. on the date of 

purchase; 

(4) a copy of the Purchase-Transportation/Invoice 

Form for the alcoholic beverages being 

transported is in the possession of the individual 

during transportation and shall be provided to 

the mixed beverages permittee at the time of 

delivery; 

(5) the local board's employee or independent 

contractor obtains a signed acknowledgment of 

receipt of the alcoholic beverages delivered 

from the mixed beverages permittee and shall 

return a copy of the signed acknowledgement to 

the local board. The local board shall retain a 

copy of the signed acknowledgement of receipt 

pursuant to 14B NCAC 15A .1405(b)(9); and 

(6) the local board is liable for any damage, 

breakage or theft of the alcoholic beverages 

being transported until possession is 

acknowledged by the mixed beverages 

permittee. 

(b)  A local board may contract with an independent contractor to 

provide delivery of spirituous liquor from an ABC store or the 

local board's warehouse to a mixed beverages permittee if all of 

the following conditions are met: 

(1) the local board enters into a written contract 

with the independent contractor; 

(2) the independent contractor furnishes proof to 

the local board that the independent contractor 

is a motor vehicle carrier with a surety bond in 

compliance with G.S. 18B-1115(d) and (e); 

(3) the contract may be terminated at will by either 

party without cause; 

(4) the independent contractor maintains in force 

an indemnity and fidelity insurance policy with 

the local board named as an additional insured 

in an amount sufficient to insure the value of the 

alcoholic beverages to be delivered by the 

independent contractor on the behalf of the 

local board; and 

(5) the independent contractor remains in 

compliance with this Rule. 

(c)  An independent contractor may deliver spirituous liquor to a 

mixed beverages permittee pursuant to a contract with a local 

board if all of the following conditions are met: 

(1) the local board issues a purchase-transportation 

permit to the independent contractor pursuant to 

G.S. 18B-403 for the spirituous liquor to be 

delivered; and 

(2) the independent contractor assumes liability for 

any damage, breakage, or theft of the spirituous 

liquor to be delivered from the time possession 

is taken by the independent contractor from the 

local board until delivery of the spirituous 

liquor is acknowledged by the mixed beverages 

permittee that purchased the spirituous liquor. 

(d)  A local board may charge a mixed beverages permittee any 

amount of a fee for the delivery of spirituous liquor to a mixed 

beverages permittee by an employee of the local board. In 

determining the amount of the fee to be charged for the delivery 

of spirituous liquor to a mixed beverages permittee by an 

employee of the local board, the local board shall set the fee 

structure or rate at a public meeting. In setting the delivery fee 

structure or rate, the local board shall specify what cost factors the 

local board considered in determining the fee structure or rate. 

(e)  If a local board uses an independent contractor to deliver 

spirituous liquor to a mixed beverages permittee, the local board 

shall charge a mixed beverages permittee any amount of a fee for 

the delivery, provided that the amount of the fee covers at a 

minimum the actual amount paid by the local board to the 

independent contractor for the delivery. The fee charged pursuant 

to this Paragraph shall be set in accordance with Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-

701(a)(1) and (2); S.L. 2019-182, s. 25.(b); 

Eff. March 1, 2021. 
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14B NCAC 15A .1904 TRANSPORT OF MIXED 

BEVERAGES PERMITTEE ORDERS 

(a)  A mixed beverages permittee may contract with an 

independent contractor to transport alcoholic beverages 

purchased by the mixed beverages permittee from a local board 

or from a wine wholesaler to the licensed premises of the mixed 

beverages permittee if all of the following conditions are met: 

(1) the mixed beverages permittee enters into a 

written contract with the independent 

contractor; 

(2) the independent contractor furnishes proof to 

the mixed beverages permittee that the 

independent contractor is a motor vehicle 

carrier with a surety bond in compliance with 

G.S. 18B-1115(d) and (e); 

(3) the mixed beverages permittee furnishes the 

local board with a copy of the mixed beverages 

permittee's contract with the independent 

contractor. The mixed beverages permittee 

shall notify the local board within two business 

days of the termination of any contract the 

mixed beverages permittee previously had with 

an independent contractor pursuant to this Rule; 

and 

(4) the independent contractor remains in 

compliance with this Rule. 

(b)  A mixed beverages permittee may authorize an independent 

contractor to transport alcoholic beverages on behalf of the mixed 

beverages permittee from a local board or a wine wholesaler if all 

of the following conditions are met: 

(1) the independent contractor has in its possession 

a copy of the executed contract with the mixed 

beverages permittee at the time the independent 

contractor receives and possesses alcoholic 

beverages on behalf of the mixed beverages 

permittee from a local board or a wine 

wholesaler; 

(2) the independent contractor possesses a 

purchase-transportation permit issued by the 

local board to the independent contractor 

pursuant to G.S. 18B-403 for the alcoholic 

beverages to be delivered; 

(3) the independent contractor possesses a copy of 

the Purchase-Transportation/Invoice Form for 

the alcoholic beverages being transported 

during transportation to the mixed beverages 

permittee that shows the independent contractor 

as the agent for the mixed beverages permittee; 

(4) the mixed beverages permittee signs an 

acknowledgment of receipt of the spirituous 

liquor delivered and a copy of the signed 

acknowledgement is returned by the mixed 

beverages permittee to the local board within 

two business days of the date of the delivery for 

retention by the local board; 

(5) the mixed beverages permittee assumes liability 

for any damage, breakage, or theft of the 

spirituous liquor to be transported from the time 

possession is taken by the independent 

contractor from the local board until delivery of 

the spirituous liquor to the mixed beverages 

permittee; and 

(6) the mixed beverages permittee may by contract 

require the independent contractor to assume 

liability and maintain in force an indemnity and 

fidelity insurance policy with the mixed 

beverages permittee named as an additional 

insured in an amount sufficient to insure the 

value of the alcoholic beverages to be delivered 

by the independent contractor on the behalf of 

the mixed beverages permittee. The policy may 

include coverage for any damage, breakage, or 

theft of the alcoholic beverages to be delivered 

from the time possession is taken by the 

independent contractor from the local board or 

wine wholesaler until delivery of the alcoholic 

beverages is acknowledged by the mixed 

beverages permittee that purchased the 

alcoholic beverages. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-

701(a)(1) and (2); S.L. 2019-182, s. 25.(b); 

Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 15B .0501 PURCHASE TRANSPORTATION 

PERMIT/ INVOICE FORM 

(a)  A mixed beverages permittee, or a mixed beverages 

permittee's designated employee or independent contractor, shall 

obtain a Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice form from the 

ABC store designated by the local board as the place where 

spirituous liquor will be sold to mixed beverages permittees. 

(b)  A Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice form shall be 

completed by the local board and contain the following: 

(1) the permittee's name; 

(2) the trade name, address, and telephone number 

of the permittee's licensed premises; 

(3) the permittee's Mixed Beverages Permit 

number; 

(4) the name and driver's license number of person 

or persons authorized to purchase and transport 

spirituous liquor; 

(5) the number and location of ABC store where 

purchase is to be made; 

(6) the permittee's transaction or order number; 

(7) the date of transaction; 

(8) the address of the destination of the spirituous 

liquor; 

(9) the brand, quantity, size and item code number 

of each spirituous liquor container purchased 

and transported, including the serial number of 

each complete case or carton sold; 

(10) the signatures of persons issuing and receiving 

permit/invoice form; 

(11) the retail price per container; 

(12) the mixed beverages surcharge per container; 

(13) the total price per container; 

(14) the total cost of transaction; and 
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(15) the date of order, date of purchase, and 

expiration date of the permit/invoice form. 

(c)  The Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice form shall be 

retained by the permittee for three years. 

(d)  The destination for the spirituous liquor being transported 

pursuant to a Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice form shall 

be the address of the permittee's licensed premises. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-404; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .0502 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 2016; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0203 PERMIT AND APPLICATION FEES 

(a)  The owner or operator of any facility holding a permit shall pay the following annual permit fees: 

 

ANNUAL PERMIT FEES 

(FEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2021) 

Facility Category Tonnage Factor Basic Permit Fee Nonattainment Area Added Fee 

 

Title V 

 

$40.00 

 

$8,775 

 

$4,056 

Synthetic Minor  $1,500  

Small  $250  

General 

General Title V ACI  

50% of the otherwise applicable fee 

10% of the otherwise applicable fee 

A facility, other than a Title V facility, that has been in compliance 

is eligible for a 25 percent discount from the annual permit fees 

as described in 15A NCAC 02Q .0205(a). Annual permit fees for 

Title V facilities in this Paragraph shall be adjusted for inflation 

as described in 15A NCAC 02Q .0204. Annual permit fees for 

Title V facilities in this Paragraph are equal to the sum of the basic 

permit fee, tonnage factor fee, and nonattainment area added fee, 

as applicable. 

(b)  In addition to the annual permit fees required by Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule, the owner or operator of a Title V facility shall 

pay the following annual complexity fee, as applicable: 

(1) for facilities subject to at least three and no 

greater than six of the federal programs 

identified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the 

added annual complexity fee shall be two 

thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500); or 

(2) for facilities subject to seven or greater of the 

federal programs identified in Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule, the added annual complexity fee shall 

be seven thousand five hundred dollars 

($7,500). 

Annual complexity fees for Title V facilities shall be adjusted for 

inflation as described in 15A NCAC 02Q .0204. 

(c)  For purposes of Paragraph (b) of this Rule, each of the 

following shall be considered a federal program for the purposes 

of determining annual complexity fees: 

(1) the PSD program is considered one federal 

program for any facility that is subject to 15A 

NCAC 02D .0530; 

(2) the Risk Management Program under Section 

112r of the Clean Air Act is considered one 

federal program for any facility that is subject 

to 15A NCAC 02D .2100; 

(3) each Subpart under 40 CFR Part 60, New 

Source Performance Standards (NSPS) is 

considered one federal program, with the 

exception of Subparts A, B, Ba, and C; 

(4) each Subpart under 40 CFR Part 61, National 

Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants (NESHAP) is considered one federal 

program, with the exception of Subpart A; and 

(5) each Subpart under 40 CFR Part 63, NESHAP 

for Source Categories, is considered one federal 

program, with the exception of Subparts A, B, 

C, D, and E. 

The sum of all applicable federal programs identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) through (5) of this Paragraph shall be used to 

determine the annual complexity fee in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 
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(d)  In addition to the annual permit fee and any applicable annual complexity fee, a permit applicant shall pay a non-refundable permit 

application fee as follows: 

  

PERMIT APPLICATION FEES 

(FEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2021) 

Facility Category New or 

Modification 

New  Significant 

Modification 

Minor 

Modification 

Ownership 

Change 

Title V   $10,325 $7,000 $3,000 $60 

Title V (PSD or NSR/NAA) $15,631    $60 

Title V (PSD and 

NSR/NAA) 

$30,402    $60 

Synthetic Minor $400    $50 

Small $50    $50 

General  50% of the otherwise applicable fee $25 

General Title V ACI  10% of the otherwise applicable fee  

Permit application fees for Title V facilities shall be adjusted for 

inflation as described in 15A NCAC 02Q .0204.  

(e)  The current annual permit fees, annual complexity fees, and 

permit application fees shall be found on the Division's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

permits/modifying-applying-for-air-quality-permit. 

(f)  If a facility, other than a general facility, belongs to more than 

one facility category, the fees shall be those of the applicable 

category with the highest fees. If a permit application belongs to 

more than one type of application, the fee shall be that of the 

applicable permit application type with the highest fee. 

(g)  The tonnage factor fee shall be applicable only to Title V 

facilities. It shall be computed by multiplying the tonnage factor 

indicated in the table in Paragraph (a) of this Rule by the facility's 

combined total actual emissions of all regulated air pollutants, 

rounded to the nearest ton, contained in the latest emissions 

inventory that has been completed by the Division. The 

calculation shall not include the amount of actual emissions of 

each pollutant that exceeds 4,000 tons per year nor the actual 

emissions of the following pollutants: 

(1) carbon monoxide; 

(2) any pollutant that is regulated solely because it 

is a Class I or II substance listed pursuant to 

Section 602 of the federal Clean Air Act (ozone 

depletors); 

(3) any pollutant that is regulated solely because it 

is subject to a regulation or standard pursuant to 

Section 112(r) of the federal Clean Air Act 

(accidental releases); and 

(4) greenhouse gases. 

Even though a pollutant may be classified in more than one 

pollutant category, the amount of pollutant emitted shall be 

counted only once for tonnage factor fee purposes and in a 

pollutant category chosen by the permittee. If a facility has more 

than one permit, the tonnage factor fee for the facility's combined 

total actual emissions as described in this Paragraph shall be paid 

only on the permit whose anniversary date first occurs on or after 

July 1. 

(h)  The nonattainment area added fee shall be applicable only to 

Title V facilities required to comply with 15A NCAC 02D .0531, 

Sources in Nonattainment Areas, 15A NCAC 02D .0900, Volatile 

Organic Compounds, or 15A NCAC 02D .1400, Nitrogen Oxides, 

and either: 

(1) are in an area designated in 40 CFR 81.334 as 

nonattainment; or 

(2) are covered by a nonattainment or maintenance 

State Implementation Plan submitted for 

approval or approved as part of 40 CFR Part 52, 

Subpart II. 

(i)  The facility category, Title V (PSD or NSR/NAA), in the 

permit application fees table in Paragraph (d) of this Rule means 

a facility whose application shall be subject to review pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .0530, Prevention of Significant Deterioration, 

or 15A NCAC 02D .0531. 

(j)  The facility category, Title V (PSD and NSR/NAA), in the 

permit application fees table in Paragraph (d) of this Rule means 

a facility whose application shall be subject to review pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .0530 and .0531. 

(k)  Minor modification permit applications that are group 

processed shall require the payment of only one permit 

application fee per facility included in the group. 

(l)  No permit application fee shall be required for renewal of an 

existing permit, for changes to an unexpired permit when the only 

reason for the changes is initiated by the Director or the 

Commission, for a name change with no ownership change, for a 

change pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0523, Changes Not 

Requiring Permit Revisions, or for a construction date change, a 

test date change, a reporting procedure change, or a similar 

change. 

(m)  The permit application fee paid for modifications pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0400, Acid Rain Procedures, shall be the fee for 

the same modification if it were subject to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500, 

Title V Procedures. 

(n)  An applicant who files permit applications pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0504 shall pay an application fee equal to the 

application fee for the permit required pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02Q .0500; this fee shall cover both applications, provided that 

the second application covers only what is covered under the first 

application. If permit terms or conditions in an existing or future 

permit issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 are established 

or modified by an application for a modification and if these terms 

or conditions are enforceable by the Division only, then the 
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applicant shall pay the fee under the column entitled "Minor 

Modification" in the table in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(1a),(1b),(1d); 

Temporary Rule Eff. March 8, 1994 for a period of 180 days or 

until the permanent rule is effective, whichever is sooner. 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; March 1, 2008; April 1, 2004; 

April 1, 2001; July 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1501 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General 

Statutes and the following definitions shall apply to the rules of 

this Section. 

(1) "Applicant" means a person that submits an 

application to the Department to request tax 

certification for real property or personal 

property. The applicant shall be a business 

conducting a recycling or resource recovery 

process or shall be a person that owns real or 

personal property that is being used by or leased 

to a business conducting a recycling or resource 

recovery process. 

(2) "County assessor" means the county assessor 

established by Article 16 of Chapter 105 of the 

General Statutes. 

(3) "Incidental or supportive equipment" means 

personal property that is used at any time for a 

purpose other than recycling or resource 

recovery; is not necessary for recycling or 

resource recovery to occur; or has a primary 

purpose that is not recycling or resource 

recovery. Incidental or supportive equipment 

includes personal property that is used at any 

time for administrative, safety, or maintenance 

services, even though it may be used in support 

of a recycling or resource recovery process, or 

that is used to provide comfort, safety, or 

convenience for employees such as: 

(a) spare parts; 

(b) office furniture or equipment; 

(c) employee personal protective or safety 

equipment; 

(d) kitchen or breakroom furniture, 

equipment, or appliances; 

(e) heating or air conditioning equipment 

for employee comfort; 

(f) fire alarms or fire suppression 

systems; 

(g) vehicles used to transport employees, 

new materials, or waste for disposal at 

any time; and 

(h) landfill gas vents or wells that are 

required by a permit issued by the 

Department. 

(4) "Incidental or supportive facilities" means real 

property or parts thereof that is used at any time 

for a purpose other than recycling or resource 

recovery; is not necessary for recycling or 

resource recovery to occur; or has a primary 

purpose that is not recycling or resource 

recovery. Incidental or supportive facilities 

include real property that is used at any time for 

administrative, safety, or maintenance services, 

even though it may be used in support of a 

recycling or resource recovery process, or that 

is used to provide comfort, safety, or 

convenience for the employees such as: 

(a) office space; 

(b) conference rooms; 

(c) bathrooms; 

(d) kitchens; 

(e) employee breakrooms; 

(f) employee parking; 

(g) maintenance sheds; 

(h) maintenance areas; 

(i) stormwater basins; and 

(j) unused areas. 

(5) "New material" means a material that has been 

chemically or mechanically changed through a 

recycling process so that it can be introduced 

into a production process or can be marketed for 

sale as a good. 

(6) "Personal property" means equipment that is 

used by a business that is not permanently 

affixed to real property. 

(7) "Production process" means a process by which 

goods are produced for sale or use from raw 

materials, or from new materials, or a 

combination of these materials. 

(8) "Production scrap" means excess or unusable 

material that is generated during a production 

process and is returned to be reused in the same 

production process. An example of production 

scrap is excess metal or cardboard or textiles 

from a sheet of metal or cardboard or batting 

that remains after a portion of the sheet is cut, 

stamped, trimmed, or formed to make a 

product, and the excess material is collected and 

returned to the process or equipment where the 

original sheet or batting was created. Another 

example of production scrap is a material that 

does not meet the quality standards or customer 

specifications for sale or use as determined by 

the person or business, and are returned to the 

production process. Production scrap does not 

include excess materials that are combined with 

recovered materials and returned to be reused in 

a recycling process. 

(9) "Qualifying property" means requested 

property that meets the standards set forth in 

Rule .1503(b) or (c) of this Section to qualify 

for certification as a recycling or resource 

recovery facility or as recycling or resource 
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recovery equipment for the purpose of special 

tax classification or treatment in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-294(a)(3) to be eligible for 

exclusion from the tax base as set forth in G.S. 

105-275(8)(b). 

(10) "Real property" means land and buildings, 

structures, improvements, or permanent 

fixtures on land, or a portion thereof. 

(11) "Requested property" means the real and 

personal property that have been included in an 

application for tax certification submitted in 

accordance with Rule .1502 of this Section 

because the applicant is requesting that the 

Department make a determination on whether 

the property qualifies for exclusion from the 

property tax base. 

(12) "Spare parts" means parts of equipment that are 

purchased for future or speculative use, but that 

have not been installed in the equipment for 

which they were purchased. 

(13) "Tax certification" means a certification issued 

by the Department of Environmental Quality 

certifying that the Department has determined 

that the real or personal property listed on the 

certification document meets the requirements 

of the rules of this Section to qualify for 

certification as a recycling or resource recovery 

facility or as recycling or resource recovery 

equipment for the purpose of special tax 

classifications or treatment in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-294(a)(3) to be eligible for 

exclusion from the tax base as set forth in G.S. 

105-275(8)(b). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3); 

Eff. June 2, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 6, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1502 APPLICABILITY AND 

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The rules of this Section shall apply only to the qualification 

of personal property, such as equipment, or for real property, such 

as areas within a building, land area, or portions thereof, for tax 

certification by the Department in accordance with G.S. 105-

275(8)(b) and G.S. 130A-294(a)(3). Nothing in the rules of this 

Section shall interpret, establish, or supersede the requirements 

for tax exemption established or enforced by the county assessor, 

or any other requirements of Chapter 105 of the General Statutes. 

(b)  The rules of this Section shall not apply to the certification of 

real or personal property that is required for air or water pollution 

abatement by a permit issued by the Department, or that is used 

in a process that is regulated by a permit issued by the 

Department's Division of Water Resources or the Division of Air 

Quality. 

(c)  An applicant for a tax certification for real and personal 

property used in recycling or resource recovery shall submit one 

electronic copy of an application to the Department. The applicant 

shall submit a copy of the application to the county assessor in 

accordance with the requirements of the county assessor. The 

applicant shall provide a copy of the application to the person 

responsible for management, operation, and maintenance of the 

requested property. The application form may be accessed on the 

Department's website at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-

management/solid-waste-section/tax-certification. The 

application shall be signed by the applicant and the person 

receiving the benefit of the tax exemption. 

(d)  An application for tax certification shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) the applicant name, address, phone number, and 

email address; 

(2) the name, address, and phone number for the 

location of the requested property; 

(3) the name, phone number, and email address for 

the person responsible for management, 

operation, and maintenance of the requested 

property; 

(4) the name, phone number, and email address of 

the person filling out the application; 

(5) a description of facility operations, including 

the following information: 

(A) the types of business conducted at the 

facility location, such as 

manufacturing, retail, solid waste 

management, recycling, or resource 

recovery; 

(B) the type and source of recyclable 

material that is received at the facility 

for resource recovery, or recovered 

material that is received at the facility 

for recycling; 

(C) a description of the recycling or 

resource recovery process showing the 

steps involved in the process, which 

may be in the form of a flow chart or a 

narrative; and 

(D) the intended destination of any solid 

waste, recovered material, or new 

material leaving the facility; 

(6) the following information for each item of 

personal property for which certification is 

requested: 

(A) name, make, and model number; 

(B) a unique identification number that is 

affixed to the personal property, such 

as a serial number, vehicle 

identification number, or asset 

number; 

(C) the cost or value at the time of 

acquisition; 

(D) the year of acquisition, provided as the 

last two-digits of a four-digit year; 

(E) a description of how the personal 

property is used for recycling or 

resource recovery; 
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(F) the percent of time the personal 

property is used for recycling or 

resource recovery; and 

(G) the vehicle registration or the invoice 

from the purchase of the personal 

property if the personal property is a 

vehicle, trailer, or container that will 

be in use off-site at the time of 

inspection by the Department. If an 

invoice is required to be submitted and 

the trailer or container has no serial 

number that can be matched to the 

invoice, the invoice number from the 

purchase of the trailer or container 

may be used as the unique 

identification number required by Part 

(B) of this Subparagraph; 

(7) the following information for the real property 

for which certification is requested: 

(A) a facility drawing and aerial map 

outlining the recycling or resource 

recovery areas, including the 

measurements of these areas; 

(B) a description of the real property, 

including the parcel number of the 

land and the requested square footage 

of the facility space and the acreage of 

the land areas; and 

(C) a description of how the areas are used 

for recycling or resource recovery; 

(8) a copy of any notice of violation issued by the 

Department for violations of G.S. 113A, 130A, 

or 143, or the rules adopted under G.S. 113A, 

130A, or 143 that are under the authority of the 

Department to administer or enforce, if the 

applicant has not complied with the 

requirements of the notice of violation at the 

time of application submittal; 

(9) if the real or personal property is under a lease 

agreement, the contact information for the 

lessor and lessee stated in the agreement, the 

expiration date of the lease agreement, and a 

copy of the executed lease agreement and 

amendments signed by the lessor and lessee; 

and 

(10) a list of permit numbers for permits issued by 

the Department, or a unit of local government 

under delegated authority by the Department, in 

accordance with G.S. 113A, 130A, and 143 and 

the rules adopted under G.S. 113A, 130A, and 

143. The Department may request a copy of the 

permit if it is necessary to determine 

compliance with the rules of this Section. 

(e)  Requested property that is owned under a lease agreement 

shall be listed on a separate application from requested property 

that is not owned under a lease agreement. A separate application 

shall be required for each separate lease agreement, unless the 

lessor, lessee, and expiration date for the lease agreements are the 

same. 

(f)  The Department may request additional information if it is 

necessary to determine compliance with the rules of this Section, 

G.S. 105-275(8)(b), or G.S. 130A-294(a)(3). If the Department 

requests additional information, the Department shall request the 

information in writing via email at the email address provided in 

the application in accordance with Subparagraph (d)(4) of this 

Rule. The applicant shall provide the requested information 

within 15 days of the request. 

(g)  The Department shall review the application to determine if 

the application complies with the requirements of this Rule. If the 

Department determines that the application does not comply with 

this Rule, the Department shall return the application to the 

applicant, with a written statement of the reasons the application 

is not in compliance with this Rule. The Department shall also 

provide a copy of this notice to the county assessor.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3); 

Eff. June 2, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2021; December 5, 1977. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1503 STANDARDS FOR 

QUALIFICATION FOR TAX CERTIFICATION 

(a)  When the Department receives an application for tax 

certification that complies with Rule .1502 of this Section, the 

Department shall conduct an inspection, investigation, or 

verification of the requested property to confirm that it qualifies 

as a recycling or resource recovery facility or as recycling or 

resource recovery equipment for the purpose of special tax 

classifications or treatment in accordance with G.S. 130A-

294(a)(3) and the requirements of this Rule. 

(b)  Real property shall qualify as a recycling or resource recovery 

facility in accordance with G.S. 130A-294(a)(3) if the following 

conditions are met: 

(1) the real property was included in the application 

for tax certification submitted to the 

Department in accordance with Rule .1502 of 

this Section; 

(2) the person that will receive the benefit of 

exclusion from the property tax base for the real 

property complies with G.S. 113A, 130A, and 

143 and the rules adopted under G.S. 113A, 

130A, and 143 that are under the authority of 

the Department to administer or enforce; 

(3) the real property shall not be used at any time 

for a purpose other than the following: 

(A) recycling or resource recovery; or 

(B) transportation or storage for recycling 

or resource recovery; 

(4) the real property shall be necessary for 

recycling or resource recovery to occur; 

(5) the real property shall not be incidental or 

supportive facilities; 

(6) the real property shall not be used for handling, 

storing, packaging, or transportation of new 

materials, production scrap, or solid waste 

intended for disposal; 

(7) the buildings, structures, improvements, or 

permanent fixtures on land shall be constructed 
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prior to the effective date of the tax 

certification; and 

(8) the land itself shall not be located beneath any 

area of a building or structure that does not meet 

the requirements of Subparagraphs (1) through 

(7) of this Paragraph. 

(c)  Personal property shall qualify as recycling or resource 

recovery equipment in accordance with G.S. 130A-294(a)(3) if 

the following conditions are met: 

(1) the personal property was included in the 

application for tax certification submitted to the 

Department in accordance with Rule .1502 of 

this Section; 

(2) the unique identification number required to be 

included in the application in accordance with 

Rule .1502(d)(6)(B) of this Section can be 

matched to the same identification number 

affixed to the personal property during the 

inspection, unless the personal property meets 

the conditions of Rule .1502(d)(6)(G) of this 

Section;  

(3) the person that will receive the benefit of 

exclusion from the property tax base for the 

personal property complies with G.S. 113A, 

130A, and 143 and the rules adopted under G.S. 

113A, 130A, and 143 that are under the 

authority of the Department to administer or 

enforce; 

(4) the personal property shall not be used at any 

time for a purpose other than the following: 

(A) recycling or resource recovery; or 

(B) transportation or storage for recycling 

or resource recovery; 

(5) the personal property shall be necessary for 

recycling or resource recovery to occur; 

(6) the personal property shall not be incidental or 

supportive equipment; 

(7) the personal property shall not be used for 

handling, storing, packaging, or transportation 

of new materials, production scrap, or solid 

waste intended for disposal; and 

(8) the personal property shall be installed prior to 

the effective date of the tax certification. 

(d)  If the Department determines that none of the requested 

property in an application qualifies for exclusion from the 

property tax base in accordance with this Rule, the Department 

shall notify the applicant and the county assessor of the reasons 

for this determination in writing. 

(e)  The tax certification shall be effective upon the date of 

signature by the Department. 

(f)  The tax certification shall list the qualifying property. 

(g)  The Department shall provide a copy of the tax certification 

to the applicant and to the office of the county assessor.  

(h)  The applicant shall be responsible for maintaining records of 

all tax certifications issued to the applicant. 

(i)  Unless an expiration date is provided on the tax certification, 

the tax certification shall remain valid until there is a change in 

use, ownership, or lease agreement of the qualifying property. 

(j)  Tax certifications are not transferrable. If there is a change in 

ownership or lease agreement or if the facility changes locations 

of qualifying property after the Department issues a tax 

certification, then the real or personal property shall no longer 

qualify for exclusion from the property tax base. The new owner, 

lessor, or lessee of the real or personal property that was 

previously listed on a tax certification may apply for a new tax 

certification in accordance with Rule .1502 of this Section. 

(k)  If there is a change in the use of the qualifying property after 

the Department issues the tax certification, and the new use does 

not comply with the requirements of Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this 

Rule, then the real or personal property shall no longer qualify for 

exclusion from the property tax base. 

(l)  If the person receiving the benefit of exclusion from the 

property tax base ceases to be in compliance with G.S. 113A, 

130A, or 143 or the rules adopted under G.S. 113A, 130A, or 143 

that are under the authority of the Department to administer or 

enforce after the Department issues the tax certification, the 

Department may determine that the real or personal property no 

longer qualifies for exclusion from the property tax base and 

revoke the tax certification if the person does not comply by the 

deadline for compliance required by the Department. If the 

Department revises or revokes a tax certification, the Department 

shall notify the applicant, the person receiving the tax benefit, and 

the county assessor's office of the determination in writing. The 

applicant may submit a new application for tax certification in 

accordance with Rule .1502 of this Section when the person 

receiving the benefit complies with G.S. 113A, 130A, and 143 

and the rules adopted under G.S. 113A, 130A, and 143 that are 

under the authority of the Department to administer or enforce. 

(m)  The Department may revoke a tax certification if the 

Department discovers that false information was provided in the 

application for tax certification submitted in accordance with Rule 

.1502 of this Section. If the Department revokes a tax 

certification, the Department shall notify the applicant, the person 

receiving the tax benefit, and the county assessor's office of the 

determination in writing. 

(n)  The Department shall not be required to verify or confirm the 

cost or value of requested property that is provided by the 

applicant. The Department may include the cost of requested 

personal property provided by the applicant on the tax 

certification for ease of reference. Any change in cost or value 

shall not change the qualification status of the real or personal 

property. 

(o)  Real or personal property that was listed on a tax certification 

issued prior to the readopted effective date of this Rule, and 

equivalent real or personal property purchased to replace such 

property within five years of the readopted effective date of this 

Rule, shall be deemed qualifying property for the purpose of this 

Section if the following conditions are met: 

(1) the use of the real or personal property has not 

changed; 

(2) the person that is receiving the benefit of 

exclusion from the property tax base for the real 

or personal property complies with G.S. 113A, 

130A, and 143 and the rules adopted under G.S. 

113A, 130A, and 143 that are under the 

authority of the Department to administer or 

enforce; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2021 

2151 

(3) the real or personal property has not changed 

ownership since the tax certification was 

issued; and 

(4) any expiration date on the tax certification has 

not passed. 

(p)  If an application meeting the requirements of Rule .1502 of 

this Section is submitted within five years of the readopted 

effective date of this Rule for requested property that was 

previously certified under a lease agreement, the requested 

property that meets the requirements of Subparagraphs (o)(1) 

through (o)(3) of this Rule shall be deemed qualifying property 

for the purpose of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3); 

Eff. June 2, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 6, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1504 RECYCLING PROCESS 

15A NCAC 13B .1505 RECYCLING EQUIPMENT 

15A NCAC 13B .1506 INCIDENTAL OR SUPPORTIVE 

FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT 

15A NCAC 13B .1507 OPERATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS FOR FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT 

15A NCAC 13B .1508 APPLICATION FOR TAX 

CERTIFICATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3); 

Eff. June 2, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 6, 1991; September 1, 1990; July 1, 

1985; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1510 SEVERABILITY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3); 

Eff. June 2, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1512 FACILITIES FOR REDUCING 

HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATED 

15A NCAC 13B .1513 EQUIPMENT FOR REDUCING 

HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATED 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3); 

Eff. October 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. December 6, 1991; September 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1514 APPEALS PROCEDURE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3); 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0302 TEST ADMINISTRATION 

16 NCAC 06D .0303 ACCOUNTABILITY 

COORDINATOR 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9)c; 115C-81(b)(4); 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2001; August 1, 1999; November 1, 1997; 

June 1, 1996; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0305 END-OF-COURSE 

ASSESSMENTS 

16 NCAC 06D .0306 TESTING CODE OF ETHICS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9)c; 115C-81(b)(4); 

Eff. November 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2006; January 2, 2006; April 1, 2002; 

September 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; July 1, 2000; August 1, 1999; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0307 TEST ADMINISTRATION IN 

PUBLIC SCHOOLS 

(a)  Only current or retired professional educators as defined in 

G.S. 115C-270.1 or teachers who 

(1) are employed by local education agencies 

(LEAs); and 

(2) have training in the Annual Testing Program as 

required in Rule .0308 of this Section shall 

administer secure tests. 

(b)  "Secure test" for purposes of this Chapter means "any test 

developed, adopted, or provided by the State Board of Education 

that has not been released under G.S. 115C-174.13." 

(c)  "Annual Testing Program" for purposes of this Chapter 

means: 

(1) beginning of grade 3 reading proficiency test; 

(2) grades 3 through 8 end-of-grade (EOG) English 

language arts/reading and mathematics; 

(2) grades 5 and 8 EOG science; 

(3) grade 10 end-of-course (EOC) English II; 

(4) grade 11 EOC assessments in NC Math 1, NC 

Math 3, and EOC Biology; 

(5) grade 11 ACT; and 

(6) grade 12 Career and Technical Education 

Concentrators and ACT WorkKeys. 

(d)  The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction 

(NCDPI) shall supply the secure tests to LEAs. LEAs shall: 

(1) account to the NCDPI for all secure tests 

received; 

(2) provide a secure, locked storage facility for all 

secure tests received; 

(3) prohibit the reproduction of any or all parts of a 

secure test; and 

(4) prohibit their employees from disclosing the 

content of a secure test or specific items 
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contained in a secure except as necessary to 

administer the test. 

(e)  LEAs shall monitor test administration procedures. If a school 

employee discovers any violation of the rules in this Subchapter, 

he or she shall notify the principal, charter school director, or 

school test coordinator who shall notify the superintendent or the 

LEA test coordinator. If the superintendent or the LEA test 

coordinator determines that the violation affected the validity of 

the test for its intended purpose, he or she shall have the authority 

to order the affected students to be retested.  

(f)  If NCDPI determines that the failure to administer a test in 

accordance with the rules in this Subchapter produced a result 

which is invalid for measuring student achievement, then NCDPI 

may remedy the error or order the LEA to remedy the error, 

including requiring retesting students. 

(g)  LEAs shall, at the beginning of each school year, provide 

information to students and parents or guardians advising them of 

the districtwide and State-mandated tests that students will be 

required to take during that school year. In addition, LEAs shall 

advise students and parents or guardians of the dates the tests will 

be administered and how the results from the tests will be used. 

Also, information provided to parents shall include whether the 

State Board of Education or the local board of education requires 

the test(s). 

(h)  LEAs shall report scores resulting from the administration 

State-mandated tests from the Annual Testing Program to 

students and parents or guardians no later than 30 days after the 

test is administered and along with available score interpretation 

information within 30 days from receipt of the scores and 

interpretive documentation from the NCDPI. 

Selected LEAs and schools, determined through stratified random 

samples, shall participate in field testing and other sample testing. 

(i)  LEAs shall participate in National Assessment of Educational 

Progress (NAEP) and other national or international assessments 

as designated by the SBE. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9); 115C-174.10; 

115C-174.11; 115C-174.12; 115C-174.13; 115C-174.16; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0308 TEST COORDINATORS, 

AMINISTRATORS AND PROCTORS 

(a)  The local superintendent in a local education agency (LEA) 

shall act as or appoint an LEA test coordinator to assist in the local 

administration, reporting, and interpretation of results of any 

"secure test," as defined in Rule .0307(b) of this Section, 

administered in the Annual Testing Program, as defined in Rule 

.0307(c) of this Section 

(b)  LEA test coordinators shall attend required monthly test 

administration training sessions provided by the North Carolina 

Department of Public Instruction on subjects including proper test 

administration, test security, appropriate use of accommodations, 

scanning and scoring answer sheets, and preparation of test 

materials for scoring at a central site. 

(c)  LEA test coordinators shall in turn conduct training in the 

Annual Testing Program for any school test coordinators.  

(d)  School test coordinators shall conduct training in the Annual 

Testing Program for any test administrators or proctors.  

(e)  The LEA test coordinator shall arrange for the scanning, 

scoring, and reporting of results for any secure test administered 

in the Annual Testing Program from tests adopted by the State 

Board of Education. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9); 115C-174.11; 115-

174.12; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0309 REQUIREMENTS REGARDING 

END-OF-COURSE TESTS  

(a)  All students enrolled in a course requiring an end-of-course 

test (EOC) in the Annual Testing Program defined in Rule 

.0307(c) of this Section shall participate in the administration of 

the EOC, either a standard administration with or without 

accommodations or an alternate assessment, as defined in G.S. 

115C-83.3. Accommodations and alternative assessments shall be 

administered in accordance with 16 NCAC 06G .0315(c) and (d). 

This Rule shall apply to all public school units (PSUs). 

(b)  PSUs shall include each student's end-of-course (EOC) results 

in the student's permanent records and high school transcript. 

(c)  PSUs shall adopt policies and use results from all EOCs as a 

minimum of 20 percent of the student's final grade for each 

respective course with the exception of: 

(1) students whose Individualized Education 

Programs (IEPs) created under the Individuals 

with Disabilities Education Act, 33 U.S.C. 

1414, and regulations adopted pursuant to that 

Act, exclude their EOC results from their final 

grades; 

(2) English Learner (EL) students, as defined in 25 

CFR 30.101, in their first year in a United States 

school; or 

(3) students enrolled in a course during the initial 

implementation year of the new EOC for that 

course where proficiency scores are not 

available due to standard setting. 

(d)  PSU students who are enrolled for credit in courses in which 

an EOC is required shall take the EOC. 

(e)  PSU students who are exempt from final exams by local board 

of education policy shall not be exempt from the required EOC. 

(f)  PSU students shall take the EOC the first time the student 

takes the course requiring the EOC. 

(g)  PSU students shall take the EOC at the end of the course 

regardless of the grade level in which the course is offered. 

(h)  PSU students who are identified as failing a course for which 

an EOC is required shall take the EOC. 

(i)  PSU students may drop a course with an EOC within the first 

10 days of enrollment in a semester block schedule or within the 

first 20 days of enrollment in a yearlong traditional schedule. 

Students who are enrolled for credit after the 10 or 20 days shall 

not drop a course with a required EOC and shall participate in the 

EOC administration at the completion of the course. 

(j)  PSU students who obtain a proficient score on an EOC and 

retake that course may use their higher EOC score as a minimum 

of 20 percent of their final course grade. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2021 

2153 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9d)a; 115C-

105.20;115C-174.11; 115C-174.12; 115C-218.85(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0311 TESTING CODE OF ETHICS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to all public school unit (PSU) 

employees or agents while they are administering the Annual 

Testing Program defined in Rule .0307(c) of this Section. 

(b)  The PSU shall develop local policies and procedures to ensure 

maximum test security in coordination with the policies and 

procedures developed by the test publisher. 

(c)  The PSU shall require all testing coordinators, school test 

coordinators, test administrators and proctors to be trained as 

required in Rule .0308 of this Section. 

(d)  The PSU shall designate the personnel who are authorized to 

have access to secure test materials. "Access" to test materials by 

school personnel means handling the materials but does not 

include reviewing tests or analyzing test items. 

(1) Persons who have access to secure test 

materials shall not use those materials for any 

purpose other than test administration. 

(2) No person shall copy, reproduce, or paraphrase 

the test materials without the express written 

consent of the test publisher. 

(e)  The principal shall store test materials in a locked facility to 

which only the principal has access. The principal shall not allow 

anyone access to the test materials except as necessary for 

administration. 

(f)  When PSU personnel discover loss of materials, failure to 

account for materials, or any evidence of unauthorized access to 

the materials, they shall report the discovery without delay to the 

principal, school test coordinator, school system (LEA) test 

coordinator, or charter school director. 

(g)  PSUs shall ensure that test coordinators: 

(1) plan and implement training for school test 

coordinators, test administrators, and proctors; 

(2) ensure each school test coordinator and test 

administrator is trained in accordance with Rule 

.0308 of this Section; and 

(3) in conjunction with program administrators, 

ensure test accommodations to students entitled 

to testing accommodations as defined in 16 

NCAC 06G .0315; are documented and 

provided. 

(h)  The principal or the principal's designee shall serve as school 

test coordinator. 

(i)  The principal shall ensure the school test coordinator 

maintains test security and accountability of test materials, 

including taking the following actions: 

(1) before each test administration, the school test 

coordinator shall count and distribute test 

materials; 

(2) after each test administration, the school test 

coordinator shall without delay collect, count, 

and return all test materials to the locked 

storage facility; 

(3) establishes procedures to assure all students 

participating in the Annual Testing Program 

have an equal opportunity to demonstrate their 

knowledge on the test; and 

(4) identifies and trains personnel, proctors, and 

backup personnel for test administrations. 

(j)  Teachers may help students improve test-taking skills by: 

(1) helping students become familiar with test 

formats using curricular content; 

(2) teaching students test-taking strategies and 

providing practice sessions; 

(3) helping students learn ways of preparing to take 

tests; and 

(4) using resource materials such as test questions 

from test item banks and linking documents in 

instruction and test preparation. 

(k)  With respect to test administration, PSUs shall: 

(1) assure each school establishes procedures to 

ensure all test administrators comply with test 

publisher guidelines; 

(2) inform the local board of education of any 

breach of this code of ethics; and 

(3) inform test coordinators and principals of their 

responsibilities. 

(l)  The school test coordinator shall: 

(1) assure school personnel know the content of 

rules in this Section and local testing policies; 

(2) implement the school system and local testing 

policies and procedures to assure all students 

participating in the Annual Testing Program 

have an equal opportunity to demonstrate their 

knowledge on the test; 

(3) ensure proctors are trained; and 

(4) ensure all violations of rules in this Section and 

local testing policies are reported to the school 

system (LEA) test coordinator. 

(m)  Test administrators shall: 

(1) administer tests according to the directions in 

the assessment guide and any subsequent 

updates developed by the test publisher; 

(2) administer tests to all students enrolled in a 

grade or course that requires a test in the Annual 

Testing Program; 

(3) report all violations of rules in this Section and 

local testing policies to the school test 

coordinator; and 

(n)  Proctors shall serve as additional monitors to help the test 

administrator assure that students have an equal opportunity to 

demonstrate their knowledge on the test. 

(o)  Scoring. The school system test coordinator shall: 

(1) ensure each test is scored according to the 

procedures and guidelines defined for the test 

by the test publisher; 

(2) maintain quality control during the entire 

scoring process, which consists of handling and 

editing documents, scanning answer 

documents, and producing electronic files and 

reports. Quality control shall address scoring 

accuracy and scoring consistency. 

(3) maintain security of tests and data files at all 

times, including; 
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(A) protecting the confidentiality of 

students at all times when publicizing 

test results; and 

(B) maintaining test security of answer 

keys and item-specific scoring rubrics. 

(p)  Educators shall use test scores as one piece of information to 

be interpreted together with other scores and indicators when 

determining a student's grade. The PSU shall ensure that school 

personnel analyze and report test data within the limitations 

described in this Paragraph. 

(1) Educators shall maintain the confidentiality of 

individual students. PSU personnel shall not 

publicize test scores or any written material 

containing personally identifiable information 

from the student's educational records except as 

permitted under the provisions of the Family 

Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 

U.S.C. 1232g and regulations adopted pursuant 

thereto. 

(2) Staff development relating to testing must 

enable school personnel to respond 

knowledgeably to questions related to testing, 

including the tests, scores, scoring procedures, 

and other interpretive materials. 

(q)  Unethical testing practices include the following practices: 

(1) encouraging students to be absent the day of 

testing; 

(2) encouraging students not to do their best; 

(3) using secure test items or modified secure test 

items for instruction; 

(4) changing student responses at any time; 

(5) interpreting, explaining, or paraphrasing the 

test directions or the test items; 

(6) classifying students for the purpose of avoiding 

State testing; 

(7) not testing all students enrolled in a grade or 

course that requires a test in the Annual Testing 

Program; 

(8) failing to provide required accommodations 

during testing to students entitled to testing 

accommodations as defined in 16 NCAC 06G 

.0315; 

(9) modifying scoring programs including answer 

keys, equating files, and lookup tables; 

(10) modifying student records for the purpose of 

raising test scores; 

(11) using a single test score to place a student in a 

grade or a course; and 

(12) providing inaccurate test results and 

interpretations to the public. 

(r)  In the event of a violation of this Rule, the State Board of 

Education may impose any one or more of the following 

sanctions: 

(1) withhold any monetary incentive awards; 

(2) file a civil action against the person or persons 

responsible for the violation for copyright 

infringement or for any other available cause of 

action; 

(3) seek criminal prosecution of the person or 

persons responsible for the violation; and 

(4) in accordance with the provisions of 16 NCAC 

06C .0312, suspend or revoke the professional 

license of the person or persons responsible for 

the violation. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9); 115C-174.11; 

115C-174.12; 115C-218.85(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0202 INTERSCHOLASTIC 

ATHLETICS 

16 NCAC 06E .0203 ATHLETIC INJURY 

MANAGEMENT 

 

History Note: Authority 115C-12(12); 115C-47(4); G.S. 

150B-19(4); N.C. Constitution, Article IX, Sec. 5; 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1990; 

Codifier of Rules objected to the Findings of Need for the 

Temporary Rule Eff. December 9, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 27, 1994 for a period of 

180 days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever 

is sooner; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; June 1, 1996; June 1, 1995; 

Codifier determined that findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule on December 10, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2001; 

Amended Eff. September 30, 2002 (Executive Order No. 33);  

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0204 INTERSCHOLASTIC 

ATHLETICS 

(a)  Local Education Agencies (LEAs) are authorized to determine 

whether and to what extent students in grades 6-12 may 

participate in interscholastic athletics; provided, however, that 

students in sixth grade are not eligible to participate in football. 

(b)  In order to qualify for participation in public school athletics, 

a student shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) The student shall meet the residence criteria of 

G.S. 115C-366(a). The student shall participate 

only at the school to which the student is 

assigned by the LEA or, if over the age 

requirements, the school to which the student 

would be assigned at the next higher grade 

level. 

(2) The student shall meet age requirements at each 

grade level to participate. The principal shall 

have evidence of the legal birth date of the 

student. A student who is ineligible to 

participate at one grade level due to age is 

eligible to participate at the next higher grade 

level only. However, no student is eligible to 

participate at the middle school level for a 

period lasting longer than six consecutive 

semesters, beginning with the student's entry 

into sixth grade. No student shall participate at 

the high school level for more than eight 
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consecutive semesters, beginning with the 

student's first entry into grade nine or 

participation on a high school team, whichever 

occurs first. 

(A) A student shall not participate on a 

sixth, seventh, or eighth grade team if 

the student becomes 15 years of age on 

or before August 31 of that school 

year. 

(B) A student shall not participate on a 

ninth grade junior high school team if 

the student becomes 16 years of age on 

or before August 31 of that school 

year. 

(C) A student is eligible to participate in 

high school athletic contests during a 

school year if the student does not 

reach his or her 19th birthday on or 

before August 31 of that school year. 

(c)  To be eligible to compete during any semester in grades 6, 7, 

and 8, the student shall have passed at least one less course than 

the number of required core courses the immediate prior semester 

and meet promotion standards established by the LEA. To be 

eligible to compete during any semester in grades 9-12, the 

student shall have passed at least five courses (or the equivalent 

for non-traditional school schedules) the immediate prior 

semester and meet promotion standards established by the LEA. 

Regardless of the school organization pattern, a student who is 

promoted from the fifth grade to the sixth grade automatically 

meets the courses passed requirement for the first semester of the 

sixth grade. Regardless of the school organization pattern, a 

student who is promoted from the eighth grade to the ninth grade 

automatically meets the courses passed requirement for the first 

semester of the ninth grade.  

(d)  The student shall receive a medical examination each year by 

a licensed physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant, 

subject to the provisions of G.S. 90-9, 90-18.1, and 90-18.2. 

(e)  The student shall not participate in interscholastic athletics 

after any of the following: 

(1) graduation; 

(2) becoming eligible to graduate; 

(3) signing a professional athletic contract; 

(4) receiving remuneration as a participant in an 

athletic contest; or 

(5) participating on an all-star team or in an all-star 

game that is not sanctioned by the association 

of which the student's school is a member. The 

student is ineligible only for the specific sport 

involved. 

(f)  Each principal of a school that participates in interscholastic 

athletics shall certify a list of eligible students for each sport. 

(g)  Any student-athlete, coach, or school official in grades 6-12 

who is ejected from any athletic contest shall at least be penalized 

as follows: 

(1) for the first offense, the person shall be 

reprimanded and suspended for the next game 

at that level of play (varsity or junior varsity) 

and for any intervening games at either level; 

(2) for a second offense, the person shall be placed 

on probation and suspended for the next two 

games at that level of play (varsity or junior 

varsity) and for any intervening games at either 

level; 

(3) for a third offense, the person shall be 

suspended for one calendar year; 

(4) a coach who is suspended at any level of grades 

6-12 (middle school, junior high or high school) 

shall not coach in any other grade level in 

grades 6-12 during the period of suspension. 

(5) Penalties are cumulative from sport to sport and 

from sport season to sport season. If no member 

of the school's coaching staff is present to 

assume an ejected coach's duties, the contest 

shall be terminated by a forfeit. 

(h)  LEAs may allow their schools to belong to the North Carolina 

High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA), which has 

established as a minimum the rules adopted by the SBE. The 

NCHSAA may waive any eligibility requirement contained in this 

Rule, except the age requirement, if it finds that the rule fails to 

accomplish its purpose, or it works an undue hardship on a student 

who has lost eligibility due to circumstances that made 

participation impossible such as prolonged illness or injury. The 

NCHSAA may enforce penalties for the violation of this Rule at 

the high school level. 

(i)  The LEA that has jurisdiction over the high school may impose 

additional penalties. LEAs or conferences may adopt and impose 

penalties at the middle and junior high school levels. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(12); 115C-12(23); 

115C-47(4); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0206 ATHLETIC TRAINERS 

(a)  Each Local Education Agency (LEA) shall designate for each 

high school within its jurisdiction either a licensed athletic trainer 

who is qualified pursuant to Article 34 of Chapter 90 of the 

General Statutes of North Carolina or a first responder. These 

persons may be employed on a full-time or part-time basis or may 

serve as a volunteer. 

(b)  If not a licensed athletic trainer, a first responder shall: 

(1) have completed and continue to maintain 

certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

as certified by an organization such as the 

American Red Cross or the American Heart 

Association; 

(2) have completed and continue to maintain 

certification in first aid as certified by an 

organization such as the American Red Cross 

or the American Heart Association; 

(3) have completed and continue to maintain 

training in concussion management as offered 

by an organization such as the National 

Federation of State High School Associations 

(NFHS). 

(4) have completed and continue to maintain 

continuing education in injury prevention and 
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management as offered by an organization such 

as the National Federation of State High School 

Associations (NFHS); and 

(5) complete 10 hours total of staff development 

each school year specific to first aid and injury 

recognition and prevention. The 10 hours may 

include hours necessary for recertifications or 

renewals. 

(c)  The licensed athletic trainer or first responder shall not have 

concurrent coaching responsibilities during the time in which the 

person is working as a licensed athletic trainer or first responder. 

(d)  A licensed athletic trainer or first responder shall attend all 

football practices and games, unless excused by the 

superintendent due to emergency. 

(e)  Each LEA shall monitor school athletic trainer's or the first 

responder's compliance with this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(12); 115C-12(23); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0204 LOCAL ZONING AUTHORITIES 

(a)  A local zoning authority may become certified to control 

outdoor advertising within its jurisdiction. In accordance with 23 

CFR 750.706(c), the local zoning authority must demonstrate to 

the Chief Engineer that it has established effective control through 

regulations or ordinances with respect to size, lighting and spacing 

of outdoor advertising signs in commercial and industrial zones 

as allowed under the Highway Beautification Act of 1965, Section 

131 of Title 23 of the United States Code, and with customary use.  

(b)  Upon authorization from the Chief Engineer to the local 

zoning authority, the size, lighting and spacing requirements set 

forth in this Section shall not apply to those areas and the local 

zoning authority shall be authorized to issue permits for the 

erection and maintenance of outdoor advertising signs, subject to 

G.S. 136-131.2. A permit issued by a local zoning authority shall 

be accepted in lieu of a state permit issued by the Department of 

Transportation. 

(c)  The Chief Engineer shall notify the Federal Highway 

Administration in writing of those zoning jurisdictions wherein 

local control applies. 

(d)  Nothing contained herein shall relieve the State of the 

responsibility of limiting signs within controlled areas to 

commercial and industrial zones. Where a local zoning authority 

fails to satisfy its obligations for maintaining local control, the 

local zoning authority may be decertified. 

(e)  Outdoor advertising signs with a valid Department of 

Transportation permit are subject to the limitations set forth in 

G.S. 136-131.2. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-131.2; 136-138; 

160D-912; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; November 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0206 APPLICATIONS 

(a)  An application for an outdoor advertising structure shall be 

required for a new outdoor advertising structure and shall be made 

on NCDOT form OA-1, which may be obtained at any District 

Office or the NCDOT website at www.ncdot.gov. Upon 

completion, the application shall be submitted to the district office 

for the district where the proposed site is located. Applications 

shall include the following information: 

(1) The applicant's contact information;  

(2) Configuration and description of sign structure; 

and  

(3) The applicant's signature. 

(b)  The application shall include the following attachments: 

(1) a written lease or written proof of interest in the 

land where a sign is proposed to be constructed. 

An applicant may redact information pertaining 

to term and amount of lease; 

(2) a right of entry form to provide the right of entry 

from the property owner or adjacent property 

owners to allow DOT personnel to enter upon 

property when necessary for the enforcement of 

the Outdoor Advertising Control Act of these 

Rules; 

(3) if zoned, a written statement from the local 

zoning authority indicating the present zoning 

of the parcel and its effective date. Upon 

request of the District Engineer's Office the 

applicant shall submit copies of minutes from 

the zoning authority pertinent to the zoning 

action; 

(4) if the area is an unzoned commercial or 

industrial area, a copy of the documentation 

confirming that the requirements Rule 

.0203(5)(a)(i) and (ii) of this Section have been 

met; 

(5) a sign permit or zoning permit, if required by 

the local government having jurisdiction over 

the proposed location; 

(6) a written certification from the permit applicant 

indicating there has been no misrepresentation 

of any facts regarding the permit application, or 

other information supplied to acquire a permit; 

and 

(7) the initial permit fee of one hundred twenty 

dollars ($120.00). 

(c)  Any omission of attachments, information, or certification 

required in this Rule shall cause the rejection and return of the 

application and fee.  

(d)  The act of reconstruction or relocation of a conforming sign 

within the permitted parcel boundaries as authorized in Rule .0225 

of this Section is not the erection of a new sign and does not 

require a new permit; only an alteration permit addendum to the 

existing permit shall be necessary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-133; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; December 1, 

1990; June 15, 1981; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 
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19A NCAC 02E .0225  REPAIR/MAINTENANCE/ 

ALTERATION/RECONSTRUCTION OF SIGNS  

(a)  Signs shall not be serviced from or across the right-of-way, or 

the right-of-way of interstates and fully controlled access primary 

routes or from or across controlled access barriers or fences of 

controlled routes. 

(b)  Conforming signs may be altered in accordance with the 

following: 

(1) A conforming sign that has been destroyed or 

significantly damaged may be reconstructed in 

accordance with this Rule and Rule .0203 of 

this Section. 

(2) Conforming sign structures may be 

reconstructed so long as the reconstruction does 

not conflict with any applicable State rules or 

statutes or Federal regulations. 

(3) Any alteration beyond reasonable repair and 

maintenance, reconstruction, or relocation of a 

conforming sign structure shall not commence 

until the District Engineer's office receives 

from the permit holder a written notice detailing 

the proposed alteration and the schedule for the 

alteration work. The written notice shall include 

the sign owner's name, the permit number, and 

the proposed sign configuration. This written 

notice shall be attached to the sign permit as an 

alteration permit addendum. The sign structure, 

except sign faces, shall be completed within 

180 days from the date of the receipt of the 

alteration permit addendum. If the sign 

structure, except sign faces, is not constructed 

within 180 days of receipt of the alteration 

permit addendum then any intervening rule 

change shall apply to the sign structure. 

(4) Any change to a sign that is not considered 

reasonable repair or reconstruction as defined 

by this Rule shall obtain local approval before 

receiving an alteration permit addendum if 

required by the local government having 

jurisdiction over the sign location. 

(5) Conforming signs that are altered, 

reconstructed, or relocated shall not require a 

new permit unless the sign is relocated outside 

of the parcel boundary of the sign location. 

Conforming signs may be relocated within the 

same parcel boundary of the sign location. 

Conforming signs relocated on the same parcel 

shall have their sign location updated after the 

alteration, reconstruction, or relocation work is 

completed. The new location shall be listed on 

the permit addendum by Department of 

Transportation personnel. 

(c)  Subject to G.S. 136-131.2, signs not conforming to State 

standards shall not be altered beyond reasonable repair and 

maintenance, reconstructed, or relocated unless the sign structure 

becomes a conforming sign. 

(d)  The addition of lighting or illumination to existing signs not 

conforming to State standards is specifically prohibited as 

reasonable maintenance; however, the lighting may be 

permanently removed from such sign structure. 

(e)  A sign not conforming to State standards may continue to be 

maintained as long as it is not abandoned, destroyed, 

discontinued, or significantly damaged. 

(f)  When the combined damage to the face and support poles of 

a sign not conforming to State standards appears to be significant, 

as defined in 19A NCAC 02E .0201(28), the permit holder may 

request the Department to review the damaged sign, including 

salvageable sign components, prior to repairs being made to 

determine the extent or percentage of the damage. Should the 

permit holder perform repairs without notification to the 

Department, and the Department later determines the damage is 

greater than 50 percent of the combination of the sign face and 

support poles, the permit shall be revoked. To determine the 

percent of damage to the sign structure, the only components to 

be used to calculate this value are the sign face and support poles. 

The percent damage shall be calculated by dividing the 

unsalvageable sign components by the original sign structure 

component quantities, using the following criteria: 

(1) Outdoor Advertising on Wooden Poles: The 

percentage of damage attributable to poles shall 

be 50 percent and the percentage of damage 

attributable to sign face shall be 50 percent; 

(2) Outdoor Advertising on Steel Poles or Beams: 

The percentage of damage attributable to poles 

shall be 80 percent and the percentage of 

damage attributable to sign face shall be 20 

percent; and 

(3) Outdoor Advertising on Monopoles: The 

percentage of damage attributable to poles shall 

be 80 percent and the percentage of damage 

attributable to sign face shall be 20 percent. 

(g)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following activities are 

considered to be reasonable repair and maintenance: 

(1) change of advertising message or copy on the 

sign face; 

(2) replacement of border and trim; 

(3) repair and replacement of a structural member, 

including a pole, stringer, or panel, with like 

material; 

(4) alterations of the dimensions of painted 

bulletins incidental to copy change; and 

(5) any net decrease in the outside dimensions of 

the advertising copy portion of the sign; but if 

the sign face or faces of a Sign Not Conforming 

to State Standards are reduced they shall not 

thereafter be increased beyond the size of the 

sign on the date it became a Sign Not 

Conforming to State Standards. 

(h)  For the purposes of this Rule and G.S. 136-131.2, 

"reconstruction" means the rebuilding of a sign and shall include 

the changing of an existing multipole outdoor advertising 

structure to a new monopole structure. "Reconstruction" shall not 

include the changing of a static face to an automatic changing face 

nor increasing the sign height. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-89.58; 136-130; 136-131.2; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 
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Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

21 NCAC 34A .0128 WAIVER 

(a)  The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, trainee, or continuing education 

course provider submits a written request. Factors the Board shall 

use in determining whether to grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

(b)  The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required upon its own initiative during a disaster 

declaration by the President of the United States or the Governor, 

a national emergency declaration by the President of the United 

States, or a state of emergency declaration issued under G.S. 

166A-19.3(19), based on the factors set forth in Paragraph (a)(1), 

(2), (3), (5) and (6) of this Rule. If the Board wishes to waive a 

rule, it shall provide notice by posting a link on their website and 

sending out information to their interested persons mailing list. 

(c)  Any waiver granted by the Board in accordance with this Rule 

based upon a declared state of emergency shall include a date 

certain upon which the waiver will expire, not to exceed 12 

months from the date that the waiver is granted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 14, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0308 RENEWALS: NOTICES 

The Executive Director of the Board shall, on or about December 

1 of each year, send by electronic mail to each licensee or permit 

holder a written notice that the license, permit, or courtesy card 

shall expire as provided in G.S. 90-210.25 unless renewed. The 

notice shall contain instructions on how to renew said license, 

permit, or courtesy card online. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 27, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission April 15, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Vacant Vacant 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 April 15, 2021 June 17, 2021 
 May 20, 2021 July 15, 2021 

 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

THURSDAY, APRIL 15, 2021 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Department of Environmental Quality – 01 NCAC 41C .0101, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, 

.0208, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0301, .0302, .0303; 41D .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302, .0401 (Reeder) 
B. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0401, .0404, .0405, .0406; 07J .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, 

.0407, .0409, .0410; 07K .0207 (Snyder) 
C. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06G .0508 (Snyder)   
D. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1101.13(R401.2) (Reeder) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between February 23, 2021 through March 22, 2021 

• Plant Conservation Board (May) 

• Department of Commerce - Division of Employment Security (Snyder) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Reeder) 

• Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (Reeder) 

• Marine Fisheries Commission 03O (Reeder) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (Snyder) 

• Environmental Management Commission (May) 

• Marine Fisheries Commission 18A (Reeder) 

• Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles (May) 

• Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners (May) 

• State Human Resources Commission (May) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  
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VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: May 20, 2021  
 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
February 23, 2021 through March 22, 2021 

 

PLANT CONSERVATION BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 48 are from the Plant Conservation Board and cover plant industry.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 48F concern plant conservation and include the endangered and threatened plant species lists 
and the list of species of special concern (.0300); collection, propagation and movement of endangered and threatened 
plant species (.0400); and forms (.0500).  

Protected Plant Species List 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 48F .0301 

COMMERCE - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Subchapter 24D concern tax administration including account charge protests (.0100); request for 
noncharging of benefits payments (.0200); adequacy (.0300); voluntary election and payments (.0400); records (.0500); 
reports (.0600); transfer of experience rating to related entity successor account (.0700); agreements to compromise 
(.0800); special tax investigations (.0900); requests and hearings to review and redetermine tax rate (.1000); treasury 
offset program and employer setoff debt collection (.1100); seasonal pursuits (.1200); collection methods of employer 
debt (.1300); and records (.1400). 

Notice to Employer of Potential Charges 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0102 

Requirements for Requesting Noncharging of Benefit Payments 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0103 

Time for Filing Requests for Noncharging 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0104 

Determination on Requests for Noncharging 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0105 

Appealing Denial or Request for Noncharging 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0106 

Notice of Employer Quarterly Charges 
Adopt* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0201 

Requirements for Filing Protests to List of Charges 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0202 

Grounds for Protesting List of Charges 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0203 

Time for Filing Protests and Appeals 
Adopt* 

 04 NCAC 24D .0206 

The rules in Subchapter 24F concern the board of review including general provisions (.0100); higher authority review 
of appeals decisions (.0200); and tax liability hearings (.0300). 

Telephone Hearings Before the Board of Review 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 24F .0303 

In-Person Hearings 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 24F .0304 
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CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Responsibilities of the School Director 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0202 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0209 

Evaluation for Training Waiver 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0403 

The rules in Subchapter 9E relate to the law enforcement officers' in-service training program. 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09E .0105 

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100); 
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate 
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and 
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600); 
and forms (.0700). 

Instructor Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0414 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); 
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); 
standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate 
and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-
.1700); in-service training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100). 

Terms and Conditions of Detention Officer Instructor Cert... 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 10B .0905 

Terms and Conditions of a Limited Lecturer Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 10B .0909 

Terms and Conditions of Telecommunicator Instructor Certi... 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 10B .0915 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 3O cover various licenses (.0100); leases and franchises (.0200); license appeal procedures 
(.0300); Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Board (.0400); and licenses, leases and franchises (.0500). 

Standards and Requirements for Shellfish Leases and Franc... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03O .0201 

Shellfish Lease Applications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03O .0202 
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Marking Shellfish Leases and Franchises 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03O .0204 

The rules in Subchapter 3R specify boundaries for various areas (.0100); and fishery management areas (.0200). 

Permanent Secondary Nursery Areas 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 03R .0104 

Special Secondary Nursery Areas 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03R .0105 

Oyster Sanctuaries 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 03R .0117 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and 
water safety.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 10A cover general WRC practices and procedures including petitions for rulemaking (.0400); 
declaratory rulemaking (.0500); warning tickets (.1000); waivers (.1100); emergency powers (.1200); wildlife poacher 
reward fund (.1300); interstate wildlife violator compact (wcv) (.1400); and evidence (.1500). 

Emergency Closures and Waivers 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10A .1102 

The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), and tagging furs (.0400). 

Wildlife Taken for Depredations 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0106 

Attendance of Traps 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0110 

Permitted Archery Equipment 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0116 

Bear 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0202 

Deer (White Tailed) 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0203 

Wild Quail Management Areas 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0227 

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries 
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish (.0300); non-game fish (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500); 
and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600). 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0205 

Possession of Certain Fishes 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0211 

Largemouth Bass 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0305 

Striped Bass 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0314 

Trout 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0316 

Smallmouth Bass 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0321 
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Alabama Bass and Spotted Bass 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0322 

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0401 

Taking Nongame Fishes for Bait or Personal Consumption 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0402 

The rules in Subchapter 10D are game lands rules.  

General Regulations Regarding Use 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0102 

Hunting on Game Lands 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0103 

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Brunswick County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0305 

The rules in Subchapter 10H concern activities regulated by the Commission including controlled hunting preserves for 
domestically raised game birds (.0100), holding wildlife in captivity (.0300), commercial trout ponds (.0400), fish 
propagation (.0700), falconry (.0800), game bird propagators (.0900), taxidermy (.1000), furbearer propagation (.1100), 
controlled fox hunting preserves (.1200), reptiles and amphibians (.1300), wildlife captivity and rehabilitation (.1400), 
wildlife and alligator control agents (.1500). 

Wildlife Control Agent License Eligibility and Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1501 

Depredation Permits Issued by Wildlife Control Agents 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1502 

Manner of Take 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1503 

Records and Reporting Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1504 

Wildlife Control Agent License Renewal and Revocation 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1505 

Alligator Control Agent Certification Eligibility and Req... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1506 

Additional Permit Requirements for Alligator Control Agents 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1507 

Alligator Control Agent Certification Eligibility and Req... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1508 

Alligator Control Agent Certification Renewal and Revocation 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1509 

The rules in Subchapter 10J cover wildlife conservation areas. 

Hunting on Wildlife Conservation Areas 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10J .0103 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 13 concern Solid Waste Management.  
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The rules in Subchapter 13B concern Solid Waste Management including general provisions (.0100); permits for solid 
waste management facilities (.0200); treatment and processing facilities (.0300); transfer stations (.0400); disposal sites 
(.0500); monitoring requirements (.0600); administrative penalty procedures (.0700); septage management (.0800); 
yard waste facilities (.0900); solid waste management loan program (.1000); scrap tire management (.1100); medical 
waste management (.1200); disposition of remains of terminated pregnancies (.1300); municipal solid waste compost 
facilities (.1400); standards for special tax treatment of recycling and resource recovery equipment and facilities (.1500); 
requirements for municipal solid waste landfill facilities (.1600); requirements for beneficial use of coal combustion 
products (.1700); and financial assurance requirements for solid waste management facilities (.1800).  

Definitions 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1701 

General Provisions for Structural Fill Facilities 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1702 

Notification for Structural Fill Facilities 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1703 

Siting for Structural Fill Facilities 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1704 

Design, Construction, and Operation for Structural Fill F... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1705 

Closure of Structural Fill Facilities 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1706 

Recordation of Structural Fill Facilities 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1707 

Other Uses for Coal Combustion By-Products 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1708 

Storage and Containment of Coal Combustion By-Products 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1709 

Annual Reporting 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1710 

Requirements for Existing Structural Fills 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1713 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water 
supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D). The rules in Subchapter 18A deal with sanitation and 
include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of 
shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants (.0600); depuration mechanical purification 
facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters (.0900); summer camps (.1000); grade A 
milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); mass gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities 
(.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water supplies (.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment 
and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed and breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to 
enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools (.2400); public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat 
markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); child day care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee 
collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); lead poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult 
day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and 
private drinking water well sampling (.3800).  

Floors 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0140 

Walls and Ceilings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0141 

Lighting 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0142 
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Ventilation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0143 

Premises 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0146 

Sewage Disposal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0150 

Employees' Personal Articles 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0154 

Supply Storage 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0155 

Separation of Operations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0159 

Raw Crustacea Receiving and Refrigeration 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0160 

Cooked Crustacea Refrigeration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0163 

Delivery Window of Shelf 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0167 

Freezing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0169 

Shipping 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0170 

Whole Crustacea or Crustacea Products 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0171 

Cooked Claw Shipping Conditions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0172 

Recall Procedure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0179 

Sampling and Testing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0180 

Hazard Analysis 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0188 

HACCP Plan 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0189 

Sanitation Monitoring 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0190 

Standards for an Approved Shellfish Growing Area 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0431 

Laboratory Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0704 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0901 

Classification of Shellfish Growing Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0902 

Sanitary Survey 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0903 

Approved Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0904 

Conditionally Approved Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0905 

Restricted Areas 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0906 
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Prohibited Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0907 

Unsurveyed Areas 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0908 

Buffer Zones 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0909 

Reclassification 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0910 

Public Health Emergency 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0913 

Laboratory Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0914 

TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 3 concern the division of motor vehicles. The rules in Subchapter 3C concern vehicle registration 
including general provision (.0100); registrations (.0200); financial responsibility (.0300); motor vehicles operated for-
hire (.0400); motor vehicles operated for hire (.0500); and international registration plan (.0600). 

Purpose 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0101 

Forms 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0102 

Function 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0201 

Titling and Registration of Branded Vehicles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0202 

Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0220 

Registration: Out-of-State Registered Vehicles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0221 

Registration: Custom Built Motor Vehicles and Trailers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0222 

Registration: Motor Homes: Etc. 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0223 

Purchase Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0224 

Class of License Plate 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0225 

Registration: Buses to be Operated for Hire 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0226 

Date First Operated 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0227 

Title Only 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0228 

Signature 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0229 

Powers of Attorney: Guardians 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0230 

Registration Information and Certified Records Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0232 

Leased Vehicles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0233 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2021 

2167 

Minors May Own Vehicles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0234 

Application for Duplicate Title 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0235 

Penalty for Failure to Make Transfer Within 28 days 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0236 

Display of License Plate Renewal Sticker 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0237 

Van Pool License Plate 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0403 

Original Registration: Staggered Registration System 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0404 

Application for License 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0414 

Golf Carts 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0419 

Handicapped Placard 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0420 

Vehicles Used for Passenger and Property Carrying 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0421 

Self-Propelled Camping Vehicles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0423 

Trucks and Truck-Tractors (Private Property Carrying) 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0424 

Special Mobile Equipment 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0425 

Ten Day Temporary Registration Plate 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0426 

Personalized Plates 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0427 

Application for Replacement License or Validation Stickers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0428 

License Plate Transfer 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0429 

Purchase of Out-Of-State Vehicles: Removal of Plates 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0431 

Transporter's Registration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0432 

Driveway Registration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0433 

Highway Use Tax 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0436 

For Hire Operations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0501 

For Hire Operations Defined 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0520 

Taxicab 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03C .0521 

The rules in Subchapter 03E concern international registration plan (IRP) section including registration of rental vehicles 
by nonresidents (.0300); international registration plan (.0400); and safety rules and registration (.0500). 

General Information  19A NCAC 03E .0401 
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Readopt without Changes* 

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SPECIALIST EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 62 are from the Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners including organization (.0100); 
rulemaking procedures (.0200); contested cases (.0300); rules of operation (.0400). 

Renewal 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 62 .0407 

Specialized Training 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 62 .0411 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 1 are from the State Personnel Commission. The rules in Subchapter 1C concern personnel 
administration including employment (.0100); general employment policies (.0200); personnel records and reports 
(.0300); appointment (.0400); work schedule (.0500); competitive service (.0600); secondary employment (.0700); 
requirements for teleworking programs (.0800); employee recognition programs (.0900); and separation (.1000). 

Temporary Appointment 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01C .0405 

The rules in Subchapter 1E cover employee benefits including general leave provisions (.0100); vacation leave (.0200); 
sick leave (.0300); workers compensation leave (.0700); military leave (.0800); holidays (.0900); miscellaneous leave 
(.1000); other types of leave without pay (.1100); community involvement (.1200); the voluntary shared leave program 
(.1300); family and medical leave (.1400); child involvement leave (.1500); community services leave (.1600); 
administrative leave (.1700) and incentive leave (.1800). 

Eligibility 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .0908 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 

Selina Malherbe    Michael Byrne 

     Karlene Turrentine 
 

 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

      Published      
16 DHR 03629 1/20/2021 Community Helps 

Network LLC 

v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services Division of Medical 

Assistance (DMA) and Eastepointe 

Human Services (Eastpointe) 

May 

20 DHR 02507 1/28/2021 Orlando McCullough 

owner/operator 

Honeybees Nest 

Learning Center LLC  

v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Div of Child Dev 

and Early Education 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 03502 1/22/2021 Wayne D Joiner  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services 

Byrne 

  
          

 

19 DOA 05891 1/14/2021 Corvel Enterprise Comp 

Inc  

v. North Carolina Department of 

Administration Division of Purchase 

and Contract and the North Carolina 

Office of State Human Resources 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

20 DOJ 03444 1/29/2021 Michael Douglas Wise  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Byrne 

  
          

 

20 OSP 01100 1/6/2021 Regina McLymore  v. NC Department of Public Safety 

Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice 

Byrne 

20 OSP 01101 1/29/2021 Andrew Larcell 

McArthur  

v. North Carolina Central University Lassiter 

  
          

 

20 SOS 02582 1/22/2021 John Finley Jr  v. Department of the Secretary of State Malherbe 
  

          
 

  
    Unpublished     
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20 BOE 02691 1/7/2021 Aaron Martin  v. NC State Board of Elections Sutton 

20 BOE 04155 1/21/2021 Michael M Hunt Sr  v. NCSBE Mann 
  

          
 

20 CPS 03995 1/21/2021 Tiffany King  v. Victim Compensation Jacobs 
  

          
 

19 CSE 05798 1/12/2021 Rashawn Jordan  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

19 CSE 06135 1/22/2021 Trudyann Brown  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Section 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 03632 1/26/2021 Rodney T Tyson  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04136 1/19/2021 Donald W Swayne  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04226 1/11/2021 Donald Mabe  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04285 1/11/2021 Alexzandria Williams  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04319 1/12/2021 Robert A Fitzgerald  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04320 1/5/2021 Jackson Adamczak  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04553 1/26/2021 Roger Lee Johnson Jr  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Section 

May 

  
          

 

20 DAG 03080 1/19/2021 Nicole Jones Loving 

Pup Resort  

v. North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Veterinary Division 

May 

  
          

 

20 DCS 03958 1/5/2021 Nicole Mosteller  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

  
          

 

20 DHR 03950 1/22/2021 James Elbert Sutton  v. DHHS Mann 

20 DHR 04975 1/6/2021 Pamela R Carr  v. Child and Adult Care Food Program 

Courtney Jones 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

20 SOS 03889 1/22/2021 Craven County Partners 

in Education  

v. NC Department of the Secretary of 

State, Charitable Solicitation 

Licensing Division 

Mann 

 


