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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Care Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 10A 

NCAC 13D .2001. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 28, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Being held by teleconference call using the following: 

Telephone number: 1-877-848-7030; Access code: 5133201 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The N.C. Medical Care 

Commission is proposing to amend this rule in Subchapter 10A 

NCAC 13D with technical changes to correct language 

inaccuracies with the Nursing Home licensure physical plant 

construction definitions. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13D – RULES FOR THE LICENSING OF 

NURSING HOMES 

 

SECTION .2000 – GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

10A NCAC 13D .2001 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 131E-101, the 

following definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Abuse" means the willful infliction of injury, 

unreasonable confinement, intimidation or 

punishment with resulting physical harm, pain, 

or mental anguish. 

(2) "Accident" means an unplanned event resulting 

in the injury or wounding of a patient or other 

individual. 

(3) "Addition" means an extension or increase in 

floor area or height of a building. 

(4) "Administrator" as defined in G.S. 90-276(4). 

(5) "Alteration" means any construction or 

renovation to an existing structure other than 

repair, maintenance, or addition. 

(6) "Brain injury long term care" means an 

interdisciplinary, intensive maintenance 

program for patients who have incurred brain 

damage caused by external physical trauma and 

who have completed a primary course of 

rehabilitative treatment and have reached a 

point of no gain or progress for more than three 

consecutive months. Brain injury long term 

care is provided through a medically supervised 

interdisciplinary process and is directed toward 

maintaining the individual at the optimal level 

of physical, cognitive, and behavioral 

functions. 

(7) "Capacity" means the maximum number of 

patient or resident beds for which the facility is 

licensed to maintain at any given time. 

(8) "Combination facility" means a combination 

home as defined in G.S. 131E-101. 

(9) "Comprehensive, inpatient rehabilitation 

program" means a program for the treatment of 

persons with functional limitations or chronic 

disabling conditions who have the potential to 

achieve a significant improvement in activities 

of daily living, including bathing, dressing, 

grooming, transferring, eating, and using 

speech, language, or other communication 
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systems. A comprehensive, inpatient 

rehabilitation program utilizes a coordinated 

and integrated, interdisciplinary approach, 

directed by a physician, to assess patient needs 

and to provide treatment and evaluation of 

physical, psychosocial, and cognitive deficits. 

(10) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(11) "Director of nursing" means a registered nurse 

who has authority and responsibility for all 

nursing services and nursing care. 

(12) "Discharge" means a physical relocation of a 

patient to another health care setting; the 

discharge of a patient to his or her home; or the 

relocation of a patient from a nursing bed to an 

adult care home bed, or from an adult care home 

bed to a nursing bed. 

(13) "Existing facility" means a facility currently 

licensed, a proposed facility, a proposed 

addition to a licensed facility, or a proposed 

remodeled licensed facility that will be built 

according to design development drawings and 

specifications approved by the Department for 

compliance with the standards established in 

Sections .3100, .3200, and .3400 of this 

Subchapter, licensed and built prior to the 

effective date of this Rule. 

(14) "Facility" means a nursing facility or 

combination facility as defined in this Rule. 

(15) "Incident" means any accident, event, or 

occurrence that is unplanned, or unusual, and 

has caused harm to a patient, or has the potential 

for harm. 

(16) "Inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit" means 

a free-standing facility or a unit (unit pertains to 

contiguous dedicated beds and spaces) within 

an existing licensed health service facility 

approved in accordance with G.S. 131E, Article 

9 to establish inpatient, rehabilitation beds and 

to provide a comprehensive, inpatient 

rehabilitation program. 

(17) "Interdisciplinary" means an integrated process 

involving representatives from disciplines of 

the health care team. 

(18) "Licensee" means the person, firm, partnership, 

association, corporation, or organization to 

whom a license to operate the facility has been 

issued. The licensee is the legal entity that is 

responsible for the operation of the business. 

(19) "Medication error rate" means the measure of 

discrepancies between medication that was 

ordered for a patient by the health care provider 

and medication that is administered to the 

patient. The medication error rate is calculated 

by dividing the number of errors observed by 

the surveyor by the opportunities for error, 

multiplied times 100. 

(20) "Misappropriation of property" means the 

deliberate misplacement, exploitation, or 

wrongful, temporary or permanent use of a 

patient's belongings or money without the 

patient's consent. 

(21) "Neglect" means a failure to provide goods and 

services necessary to avoid physical harm, 

mental anguish, or mental illness. 

(22) "New facility" means a proposed facility, 

facility for which an initial license is sought, a 

proposed addition to an existing facility, or a 

proposed remodeled portion of an existing 

facility that will be built according to design 

development drawings construction documents 

and specifications approved by the Department 

for compliance with the standards established in 

Sections .3100, .3200, and .3400 of this 

Subchapter after the effective date of this Rule. 

Subchapter. 

(23) "Nurse Aide" means a person who is listed on 

the N.C. Nurse Aide Registry and provides 

nursing or nursing-related services to patients in 

a nursing home. A nurse aide is not a licensed 

health professional. Nursing homes that 

participate in Medicare or Medicaid shall 

comply with 42 CFR 483.35, which is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments. The Code of Federal 

Regulations may be accessed at 

https://www.ecfr.gov. 

(24) "Nursing facility" means a nursing home as 

defined in G.S. 131E-101. 

(25) "Patient" means any person admitted for 

nursing care. 

(26) "Remodeling" means alterations, renovations, 

rehabilitation work, repairs to structural 

systems, and replacement of building systems 

at a nursing or combination facility. 

(27) "Repair" means reconstruction or renewal of 

any part of an existing building for the purpose 

of its maintenance. 

(28) "Resident" means any person admitted for care 

to an adult care home part of a combination 

facility. 

(29) "Respite care" means services provided for a 

patient on a temporary basis, not to exceed 30 

days. 

(30) "Surveyor" means a representative of the 

Department who inspects nursing facilities and 

combination facilities to determine compliance 

with rules, laws, and regulations as set forth in 

G.S. 131E-117; Subchapters 13D and 13F of 

this Chapter; and 42 CFR Part 483, 

Requirements for States and Long Term Care 

Facilities. 

(31) "Violation" means a failure to comply with 

rules, laws, and regulations as set forth in G.S. 

131E-117 and 131D–21; Subchapters 13D and 

13F of this Chapter; or 42 CFR Part 483, 

Requirements for States and Long Term Care 

Facilities, that relates to a patient's or resident's 
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health, safety, or welfare, or that creates a risk 

that death, or physical harm may occur. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-104. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13K .1112, .1209, 

.1210, and readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 

10A NCAC 13K .1109, .1113-.1116, .1201, .1204-.1208, .1211, 

and .1212. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 28, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Being held by teleconference using the following: 

Telephone number: 1-877-848-7030; Access code: 5133201 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 13K, Hospice 

Licensing Rules, 13 proposed rules were part of the 18 rules that 

were determined as “Necessary With Substantive Public 

Interest," requiring readoption.  In addition, three rules are 

proposed for amendment. 

Substantive changes have been made to the physical plant 

requirements for the proposed hospice facilities rules for hospice 

residential care.  The revisions include resident care area 

requirement reorganization and clarification; clarification of the 

submission process of plans and specifications for construction or 

remodeling; reference removal to the N.C. State Building Code 

for plumbing and specification of the water heater capacity; 

clarification of the requirements for sewage and refuse disposal, 

and protection from vermin; clarification of physical plant 

application requirements; organization and clarification of the 

requirements for granting an equivalency, and for code or rule 

application when conflicts in code or rule occur. In addition, 

technical changes were made in the rules.  

Substantive changes have been made to the physical plant 

requirements for the proposed hospice facilities rules for hospice 

inpatient care.  The revisions include addition and removal of rule 

referral by reference exceptions; reorganization of rule 

requirements to be similar with the Licensing of Nursing Home 

Rules in 10A NCAC 13D for the patient care area, heating and 

air conditioning, emergency electrical service, and application of 

physical plant requirements; reorganization and clarification of 

the requirements for furnishings; requirement removal enforced 

by the N.C. State Building Code; requirement addition for 

environmental and patient safety, emergency disaster plans, 

policies and procedures, including emergency drills; requirement 

addition for life safety and protection for the life safety branch of 

the essential electrical system; update and clarification of the 

electrical requirements for circuitry and call bells; 

reorganization, reformat, and clarification of plumbing 

requirements and revision of the patient area hot water 

temperature range; and organization and clarification of the 

requirements for granting an equivalency, and for code or rule 

application when conflicts in code or rule occur. In addition, 

technical changes were made in the rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13K – HOSPICE LICENSING RULES 

 

SECTION .1100 - HOSPICE RESIDENTIAL CARE 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1109 RESIDENT CARE AREAS 

(a)  Resident rooms shall meet the following requirements: A 

facility shall meet the following requirements for resident 

bedrooms: 

(1) There shall be private or semiprivate rooms; 

private bedroom with not less than 100 square 

feet of floor area or semi-private bedroom with 

not less than 80 square feet of floor area per bed 

shall be provided; 

(2) Infants infants and small children shall not be 

assigned to share a room bedroom with an adult 

resident unless requested by residents the 

resident and families; 

(3) Each resident room each bedroom shall contain 

at least be furnished with a bed, a mattress 
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protected by waterproof material, a mattress 

pad, a pillow, and a chair; one chair per 

resident; 

(4) Each resident room shall have a minimum of 48 

cubic feet of closet space or wardrobe for 

clothing and personal belongings that provides 

security and privacy for each resident. Each 

resident room shall be equipped with a towel 

rack for each individual; each bedroom shall be 

provided with one closet or wardrobe per bed. 

Each closet or wardrobe shall have clothing 

storage space of not less than 48 cubic feet per 

bed with one-half of this space for hanging 

clothes; 

(5) Each resident each bedroom shall: 

(A) be located at or above grade level;  

(B) have provisions to ensure visual 

privacy for treatment or visiting; be 

provided with a cubicle curtain 

enclosing each bed to ensure visual 

privacy; and 

(C) be equipped with a towel rack for each 

resident; 

(6) Artificial lighting shall be provided sufficient 

each bedroom shall provide lighting for 

treatment and non-treatment needs, 50 foot 

candles foot-candles for treatment, treatment 

needs, and 35 foot candles foot-candles for 

non-treatment areas; needs; and 

(7) A room where access is through a bathroom, 

kitchen or another bedroom will not be 

approved for a resident's bedroom. no resident 

bedroom shall be accessed through a bathroom, 

kitchen, or another bedroom. 

(b)  Bathrooms shall meet the following requirements: A facility 

shall meet the following requirements for bathrooms: 

(1) Bathroom facilities bathrooms shall be 

conveniently directly accessible to resident 

rooms. each resident bedroom without going 

through the general corridors. One bathroom 

may serve up to four residents and staff. 

residents. Minimum size of any bathroom shall 

be 18 square feet. The door bathroom doorway 

shall be at least 32 inches wide. be a minimum 

32-inch clear opening; 

(2) The each bathroom shall be furnished with the 

following: 

(A) a toilet with grab bars; 

(B) lavatory with four inch wrist blade 

controls; a sink trimmed with valves 

that can be operated without hands. If 

the sink is equipped with blade 

handles, the blade handles shall not be 

less than four inches in length. If the 

sink faucet depends on the building 

electrical service for operation, the 

faucet must have an emergency power 

source or battery backup capability. If 

the faucet has battery operated 

sensors, the facility shall have a 

maintenance policy to keep extra 

rechargeable or non-rechargeable 

batteries on premises for the faucets; 

(C) a mirror; 

(D) soap, paper towel dispensers, and 

waste paper receptacle with a 

removable impervious liner; and 

(E) water closet; and 

(F)(E) a tub or shower. 

(c)  Space shall be provided for: Each facility shall provide: 

(1) charting, storage of supplies and personal 

effects of staff; an area for charting; 

(2) the storage of resident care equipment; storage 

provisions for personal effects of staff; 

(3) housekeeping equipment and cleaning supplies; 

storage areas for supplies and resident care 

equipment; 

(4) storage of test reagents and disinfectants 

distinct from medication; storage area(s) for 

housekeeping equipment and cleaning supplies; 

(5) locked medication storage and preparation; and 

a medication preparation area with a counter, a 

sink trimmed with valves that can be operated 

without hands, locked medication storage, and 

a double locked narcotic storage area under 

visual control of staff. If the sink is equipped 

with blade handles, the blade handles shall not 

be less than four inches in length. If the sink 

faucet depends on the building electrical service 

for operation, the faucet must have an 

emergency power source or battery backup 

capability. If the faucet has battery operated 

sensors, the facility shall have a maintenance 

policy to keep extra rechargeable or non-

rechargeable batteries on premises for the 

faucets; 

(6) drugs requiring refrigeration. They may be 

stored in a separate locked box in the 

refrigerator or in a lockable drug-only 

refrigerator, capable of maintaining a 

temperature range of 36 degrees F (2 degrees C) 

to 46 degrees F (8 degrees C). The storage and 

accountability of controlled substances shall be 

in accordance with the North Carolina 

Controlled Substances Act, Article 5 of Chapter 

90 of the General Statutes. a lockable 

refrigerator for drug storage only or a separate 

locked box in a facility refrigerator. The 

refrigerator must be capable of maintaining a 

temperature range of 36 degrees F (2 degrees C) 

to 46 degrees F (8 degrees C); 

(7) a kitchen with: 

(A) a refrigerator; 

(B) a cooking appliance ventilated to the 

outside; 

(C) a 42-inch minimum double-

compartment sink and domestic 

dishwashing machine capable of 
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sanitizing dishes with 160 degrees F 

water; and 

(D) storage space for non-perishables; 

(8) a separate dining area measuring not less than 

20 square feet per resident bed; 

(9) a recreational and social activities area with not 

less than 150 square feet of floor area exclusive 

of corridor traffic; 

(10) a nurses' calling system shall be provided: 

(A) in each resident bedroom for each 

resident bed. The call system activator 

shall be such that they can be activated 

with a single action and remain on 

until deactivated by staff at the point 

of origin. The call system activator 

shall be within reach of a resident 

lying on the bed. In rooms containing 

two or more call system activators, 

indicating lights shall be provided at 

each calling station; 

(B) nurses' calling systems which provide 

two-way voice communication shall 

be equipped with an indicating light at 

each calling station which lights and 

remains lighted as long as the voice 

circuit is operating; 

(C) a nurses' call emergency activator 

shall be proved at each residents' use 

toilet fixture, bath, and shower. The 

call system activator shall be 

accessible to a resident lying on the 

floor; and 

(D) calls shall register with the floor staff 

and shall activate a visible signal in the 

corridor at the resident's door. In 

multi-corridor units, additional visible 

signals shall be installed at corridor 

intersections; 

(11) heating and air conditioning equipment that can 

maintain a temperature range between 68 

degrees and 80 degrees Fahrenheit, even upon 

loss of utility power. 

(d)  Kitchen and dining areas shall have:  

(1) a refrigerator; 

(2) a cooking unit ventilated to the outside; 

(3) a 42 inch minimum double-compartment sink 

and domestic dishwashing machine capable of 

sanitizing dishes with 160 degrees F. water; 

(4) dining space of 20 square feet per resident; and 

(5) storage space for non-perishables. 

(e)  Other areas shall include: 

(1) a minimum of 150 square feet exclusive of 

corridor traffic for recreational and social 

activities; 

(2) an audible and accessible call system furnished 

in each resident's room and bathroom; and 

(3) heating and air cooling equipment to maintain a 

comfort range between 68 degrees and 80 

degrees Fahrenheit. 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1112 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  Hospice residences and inpatient units A new facility or 

remodeling of an existing facility must shall meet the 

requirements of the North Carolina State Building Code Codes, 

which are incorporated by reference, including all subsequent 

amendments and editions, in effect at the time of licensure, 

construction, additions, alterations or repairs. Copies of these 

codes may be purchased from the International Code Council 

online at https://shop.iccsafe.org/ at a cost of eight hundred fifty-

eight dollars ($858.00) or accessed electronically free of charge at 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/codes/north-carolina. Existing licensed 

facilities shall meet the requirements of the North Carolina State 

Building Codes in effect at the time of licensure, construction or 

remodeling. 

(b)  Each facility shall be planned, constructed, and equipped to 

support the services to be offered in the facility. 

(c)  Any existing building converted to a hospice facility shall 

meet all requirements of a new facility. 

(d)  The sanitation, water supply, sewage disposal, and dietary 

facilities must comply with the rules of the Commission for Public 

Health. shall meet the requirements of 15A NCAC 18A .1300, 

which is incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1113 PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS 

(a)  When construction or remodeling of a facility is planned, final 

working drawings and specifications must one copy of 

construction documents and specifications shall be submitted by 

the owner or the owner's appointed representative to the 

Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation for review and approval. Schematic design 

drawings and preliminary working design development drawings 

shall may be submitted by the owner prior to the required 

submission of final working drawings. for approval prior to the 

required submission of construction documents. The Department 

shall forward copies of each submittal to the Department of 

Insurance and Division of Environmental Health for review and 

approval. Three copies of the plans shall be provided at each 

submittal. 

(b)  Construction work shall not be commenced until written 

approval has been given by the Department. Approval of final 

plans construction documents and specifications shall be obtained 

from the Department prior to licensure. Approval of construction 

documents and specifications shall expire one year from the date 

granted unless a contract for the construction has been signed 

prior to the expiration date. after the date of approval unless a 

building permit for the construction has been obtained prior to the 

expiration date of the approval of construction documents and 

specifications. 

(c)  If an approval expires, a renewed approval shall be issued by 

the Department, provided revised plans construction documents 

and specifications meeting all current regulations, codes, and the 

standards established in Sections .1100 and .1200 of this 

Subchapter are submitted. submitted by the owner or owner's 

appointed representative and reviewed by the Department. 
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(d)  Completed construction shall conform to the minimum 

standards established in these Rules. Any changes made during 

construction shall require the approval of the Department to 

ensure compliance with the standards established in Sections 

.1100 and .1200 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  The owner or designated agent shall notify the Department 

when actual construction starts and at points when construction is 

75 percent and 90 percent complete and upon final completion, so 

that periodic and final inspections can be performed. Completed 

construction or remodeling shall conform to the standards 

established in Sections .1100 and .1200 of this Subchapter. 

Construction documents and building construction, including the 

operation of all building systems, shall be approved in writing by 

the Department prior to licensure or patient and resident 

occupancy. 

(f)  The owner or owner's designated agent appointed 

representative shall submit for approval by the Department all 

alterations or remodeling changes which affect the structural 

integrity of the building, functional operation, fire safety or which 

add beds or facilities over those for which the facility is licensed. 

notify the Department in writing either by U.S. Mail or e-mail 

when the construction or remodeling is complete. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1114 PLUMBING 

(a)  The water supply shall be designed, constructed and protected 

so as to assure that a safe, potable and adequate water supply is 

available for domestic purposes in compliance with the North 

Carolina State Building Code. 

(b)  All plumbing in the residence or unit shall be installed and 

maintained in accordance with the North Carolina State Plumbing 

Code. All plumbing shall be maintained in good repair and free of 

the possibility of backflow and backsiphonage, through the use of 

vacuum breakers and fixed air gaps, in accordance with state and 

local codes. 

(c)  For homes hospice residential facilities with five or more 

residents, a 50-gallon quick recovery water heater is required. For 

homes hospice residential facilities with fewer than five residents, 

a 40-gallon quick recovery water heater is required. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1115 WASTE DISPOSAL 

(a)  Sewage shall be discharged into a public sewer system, or if 

such is not available, it in the absence of a public sewer system, 

sewage shall be disposed of in a manner approved by the North 

Carolina Division of Environmental Health. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, 

Environmental Health Section. 

(b)  Garbage and rubbish shall be stored in impervious containers 

in such a manner as not to become a nuisance or a health hazard. 

to prevent insect breeding and public health nuisances. A 

sufficient number of impervious Impervious containers with 

tight-fitting lids shall be provided and kept clean and in good 

repair. Refuse Garbage shall be removed from the outside storage 

at least once a week to a disposal site approved by the local health 

department. department having jurisdiction. 

(c)  The home facility or unit shall be maintained free of 

infestations of insects and rodents, and all openings to the outside 

shall be screened. take measures to keep insects, rodents, and 

other vermin out of the residential care facility. All openings to 

the outer air shall be protected against the entrance of flying 

insects by screens, closed doors, closed windows, or other means. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1116 APPLICATION OF PHYSICAL 

PLANT REQUIREMENTS 

The physical plan plant requirements for each hospice residential 

facility or unit shall be applied as follows: 

(1) New construction shall comply with all the 

requirements of Section .1100 of this 

Subchapter; this Section; 

(2) Existing Except where otherwise specified, 

existing buildings shall meet the licensure and 

code requirements in effect at the time of 

licensure, construction, alteration alteration, or 

modification; modification. 

(3) New additions, alterations, modifications, and 

repairs shall meet the technical requirements of 

Section .1100 of this Subchapter; however, 

where strict conformance with current 

requirements would be impracticable, the 

authority having jurisdiction may approve 

alternative measures where the facility can 

demonstrate to the Department's satisfaction 

that the alternative measures do not reduce the 

safety or operating effectiveness of the facility; 

(4)(3) Rules contained in Rule .1109 of this Section 

are minimum requirements and are not intended 

to prohibit buildings, systems systems, or 

operational conditions that exceed minimum 

requirements; requirements. 

(5)(4) Equivalency: Alternate methods, procedures, 

design criteria, and functional variations from 

the physical plant requirements, because of 

extraordinary circumstances, new programs, or 

unusual conditions, may be approved by the 

authority having jurisdiction when the facility 

can effectively demonstrate to the Department's 

satisfaction that the intent of the physical plant 

requirements are met and that the variation does 

not reduce the safety or operational 

effectiveness of the facility; and The Division 

may grant an equivalency to allow alternate 

methods, procedures, design criteria or 

functional variation from the requirements of 

this Rule and the rules contained in this Section. 

The equivalency may be granted by the 

Division when a governing body submits a 

written equivalency request to the Division that 

states the following: 

(a) the rule citation and the rule 

requirement that will not be met due to 

strict conformance with current 

requirements would be impractical, 
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extraordinary circumstances, new 

programs, or unusual conditions; 

(b) the justification for the equivalency; 

and 

(c) how the proposed equivalency meets 

the intent of the corresponding rule 

requirement. 

(5) In determining whether to grant an equivalency 

request the Division shall consider whether the 

request will reduce the safety and operational 

effectiveness of the facility. The governing 

body shall maintain a copy of the approved 

equivalence issued by the Division. 

(6) Where rules or codes rules, codes, or standards 

have any conflict, the more stringent 

requirement shall apply. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

SECTION .1200 - HOSPICE INPATIENT CARE 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1201 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

HOSPICE INPATIENT UNITS 

(a)  Hospice inpatient facilities or units must shall conform to the 

rules outlined in 10A NCAC 13K Sections .0100 through .1100 

of this Subchapter and those in this Section. the rules of this 

Section. 

(b)  Hospice inpatient units located in a licensed hospital shall 

meet the requirements of 10A NCAC 13B with the exception of: 

13B, which is incorporated by reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions except for rules: 10A NCAC 13B .1912, 

.1919, .1922, and .1923. 

(c)  Hospice inpatient units located in a licensed nursing facility 

shall meet the requirements of 10A NCAC 13D with the exception 

of: 10A NCAC 13D .0507, .0600, .0800, .0907, .1004, .1200 and 

.1300. 13D, which is incorporated by reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1204 ADDITIONAL PATIENT CARE 

AREA REQUIREMENTS FOR HOSPICE INPATIENT 

UNITS 

(a)  The floor area of a single bedroom shall not be less than 100 

square feet and the floor area of a room for more than one bed 

shall not be less than 80 square feet per bed. The 80 square feet 

and 100 square feet requirements shall be exclusive of closets, 

toilet rooms, vestibules or wardrobes. A facility shall meet the 

following requirements for patient bedrooms: 

(1) private bedrooms shall be provided with not 

less than 100 square feet of floor area; 

(2) semi-private bedrooms with not less than 80 

square feet of floor area per bed; and 

(3) floor space for closets, toilet rooms, vestibules, 

or wardrobes shall not be included in the floor 

areas required by this Paragraph. 

(b)  The total space set aside for dining, recreation and other 

common uses shall not be less than 30 square feet per bed. 

Physical therapy and occupational therapy space shall not be 

included in this total. A facility shall meet the following 

requirements for dining, recreation, and common use areas: 

(1) floor space for dining, recreation, and common 

use shall not be less than 30 square feet per bed; 

(2) the dining, recreation, and common use areas 

required by this Paragraph may be combined; 

and 

(3) floor space for physical and occupational 

therapy shall not be included in the areas 

required by this Paragraph. 

(c)  A toilet room shall be directly accessible from each patient 

room and from each central bathing area without going through 

the general corridor. One toilet room may serve two patient rooms 

but not more than eight beds. The lavatory may be omitted from 

the toilet room if one is provided for each 15 beds not individually 

served. There shall be a wheelchair and stretcher accessible 

central bathing area for staff to bathe a patient who cannot 

perform this activity independently. There shall be at least one 

such area per each level in a multi-level facility. A facility shall 

meet the following requirements for toilet rooms, tubs, showers, 

and central bathing areas: 

(1) a toilet room shall contain a toilet fixture and a 

sink trimmed with valves that can be operated 

without hands. If the sink is equipped with 

blade handles, the blade handles shall not be 

less than four inches in length. If the sink faucet 

depends on the building electrical service for 

operation, the faucet shall be connected to the 

essential electrical system. If the faucet has 

battery operated sensors, the facility shall have 

a maintenance policy to keep extra rechargeable 

or non-rechargeable batteries on premises for 

the faucets; 

(2) if a sink is provided in each bedroom, the toilet 

room is not required to have a sink; 

(3) a toilet room shall be accessible from each 

bedroom without going through the general 

corridors; 

(4) one toilet room may serve two bedrooms, but 

not more than four beds; and 

(5) a minimum of one central bathing area. In 

multi-level facilities, each patient floor shall 

contain a minimum of one central bathing area. 

Central bathing area(s) shall be provided with 

the following: 

(A) wheelchair and stretcher accessible for 

staff to bathe a patient who cannot 

perform this activity independently; 

(B) a bathtub, a manufactured walk-in 

bathtub, a similar manufactured 

bathtub designed for easy transfer of 

patients and residents into the tub, or a 

shower designed and equipped for 

unobstructed ease of stretcher entry 

and bathing on three sides. Bathtubs 

shall be accessible on three sides. 

Manufactured walk-in bathtubs or a 

similar manufactured bathtub shall be 

accessible on two sides; 
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(C) a roll-in shower designed and 

equipped for unobstructed ease of 

shower chair entry and use. If a 

bathroom with a roll-in shower 

designed and equipped for 

unobstructed ease of shower chair 

entry adjoins each bedroom in the 

facility, the central bathing area is not 

required to have a roll-in shower; 

(D) toilet fixture and lavatory; and 

(E) an individual cubicle curtain enclosing 

each toilet, tub, and shower. A closed 

cubicle curtain at one of these 

plumbing fixtures shall not restrict 

access to the other plumbing fixtures. 

(d)  For each nursing unit or fraction thereof on each floor, the 

following shall be provided: 

(1) an adequate medication preparation area with 

counter, sink with four-inch handles, 

medication refrigerator, eye-level medication 

storage, cabinet storage, and double-locked 

narcotic storage room, located adjacent to the 

nursing station or under visual control of the 

nursing station; a medication preparation area 

with: 

(A) a counter; 

(B) a double locked narcotic storage area 

under the visual control of nursing 

staff; 

(C) a medication refrigerator; 

(D) medication storage visible by staff 

standing on the floor; 

(E) cabinet storage; and 

(F) a sink trimmed with valves that can be 

operated without hands. If the sink is 

equipped with blade handles, the blade 

handles shall not be less than four 

inches in length. If the sink faucet 

depends on the building electrical 

service for operation, the faucet shall 

be connected to the essential electrical 

system. If the faucet has battery 

operated sensors, the facility shall 

have a maintenance policy to keep 

extra rechargeable or non-

rechargeable batteries on premises for 

the faucets; 

(2) a clean utility room with counter, sink with 

four-inch handles, wall and under counter 

storage; a clean utility room with: 

(A) a counter; 

(B) storage; and 

(C) a sink trimmed with valves that can be 

operated without hands. If the sink is 

equipped with blade handles, the blade 

handles shall not be less than four 

inches in length. If the sink faucet 

depends on the building electrical 

service for operation, the faucet shall 

be connected to the essential electrical 

system. If the sink has battery operated 

sensors, the facility shall have a 

maintenance policy to keep extra 

rechargeable or non-rechargeable 

batteries on premises for the faucets; 

(3) a soiled utility room with counter, sink with 

four-inch handles, wall and under counter 

storage, a flush-rim clinical sink or water closet 

with a suitable device for cleaning bedpans and 

a suitable means for washing and sanitizing 

bedpans and other utensils; a soiled utility room 

with: 

(A) a counter; 

(B) storage; and 

(C) a sink trimmed with valves that can be 

operated without hands. If the sink is 

equipped with blade handles, the blade 

handles shall not be less than four 

inches in length. If the sink faucet 

depends on the building electrical 

service for operation, the faucet shall 

be connected to the essential electrical 

system. If the faucet has battery 

operated sensors, the facility shall 

have a maintenance policy to keep 

extra rechargeable or non-

rechargeable batteries on premises for 

the faucets. The soiled utility room 

shall be equipped for the cleaning and 

sanitizing of bedpans as required by 

15A NCAC 18A .1312, which is 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions; 

(4) a nurses' toilet and locker space for personal 

belongings; 

(5) an audiovisual nurse-patient call system 

arranged to ensure that a patient's call in the 

facility is noted at a staffed station; notifies and 

directs staff to the location where the call was 

activated; 

(6) a soiled linen storage area; room with a hand 

sanitizing dispenser. If the soiled linen storage 

room is combined with the soiled utility room, 

a separate soiled linen storage room is not 

required; 

(7) a clean linen storage room area; and provided in 

one or more of the following: 

(A) a separate linen storage room; 

(B) cabinets in the clean utility room; or 

(C) a linen closet; and 

(8) at least one a janitor's closet. 

(e)  Dietary and laundry each must shall have a separate janitor's 

closet. 

(f)  Stretcher and wheelchair storage shall be provided. 

(g)  Bulk The facility shall provide storage shall be provided at 

the rate of not less than five square feet of floor area per licensed 

bed. This storage space shall: 
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(1) be used by patients to store personal belongings 

and suitcases; 

(2) be either in the facility or within 500 feet of the 

facility on the same site; and 

(3) be in addition to the other storage space 

required by this Rule. 

(h)  Office space shall be provided for persons with administrative 

responsibilities for the unit. business transactions. Office space 

shall be provided for persons holding the following positions if 

these positions are provided: 

(1) administrator; 

(2) director of nursing; 

(3) social services director; 

(4) activities director; and 

(5) physical therapist. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1205 FURNISHINGS FOR HOSPICE 

INPATIENT CARE 

(a)  Handgrips shall be provided for A facility shall provide 

handgrips at all toilet and bath facilities used by patients. 

Handrails shall be provided on both sides of all corridors where 

corridors are defined by walls and used by patients. 

(b)  For each nursing unit or fraction thereof on each floor, the 

following shall be provided: 

(1) a nourishment station with work space, cabinet, 

and refrigerated storage, a small stove or 

hotplate in an area physically separated from 

the nurses' station; and station with: 

(A) work space; 

(B) cabinets; 

(C) refrigerated storage; 

(D) a sink trimmed with valves that can be 

operated without hands. If the sink is 

equipped with blade handles, the blade 

handles shall not be less than four 

inches in length. If the sink faucet 

depends on the building electrical 

service for operation, the faucet shall 

be connected to the essential electrical 

system. If the faucet has battery 

operated sensors, the facility shall 

have a maintenance policy to keep 

extra rechargeable or non-

rechargeable batteries on premises for 

the faucets; 

(E) a small stove, microwave, or hot plate; 

and 

(2) one a nurses' station consisting of adequate desk 

space for writing, storage space for office 

supplies and storage space for patients' records. 

with: 

(A) desk space for writing; 

(B) storage space for office supplies; and 

(C) storage space for patients' records. 

(c)  Flameproof privacy screens or curtains shall be provided A 

facility shall provide flame resistant cubicle curtains in 

multi-bedded rooms. 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1206 HOSPICE INPATIENT FIRE 

AND SAFETY REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A new facility shall meet the requirements of the current North 

Carolina State Building Code and the following additional 

requirements: 

(1) Where nursing units are located on the same 

floor with other departments or services, the 

facility shall be designed to provide separation 

from the other departments or services with a 

smoke barrier. 

(2) Horizontal exits are not permitted in any new 

facility. 

(3) An addition to an existing facility shall meet the 

same requirements as a new facility except that 

in no case shall more than one horizontal exit 

be used to replace a required exit to the outside. 

For all construction, an emergency generating 

set, including the prime mover and generator, 

shall be located on the premises and shall be 

reserved exclusively for supplying the 

emergency electrical system. 

(b)(a)  The hospice shall establish written policies and procedures 

governing disaster preparedness and fire protection. 

(c)  The hospice shall have an acceptable written plan periodically 

rehearsed with staff with procedures to be followed in the event 

of an internal or external disaster, and for the care of casualties of 

patients and personnel arising from such disasters. 

(b)  The hospice shall have detailed written plans and procedures 

to meet potential emergencies and disasters, including fire and 

severe weather. 

(c)  The plans and procedures shall be made available upon 

request to local or regional emergency management offices. 

(d)  The facility shall provide training for all employees in 

emergency procedures upon employment and annually. 

(e)  The facility shall conduct unannounced drills using the 

emergency procedures. 

(f)  The facility shall ensure that: 

(1) the patients' environment remains as free of 

accident hazards as possible; and 

(2) each patient receives adequate supervision and 

assistance to prevent accidents. 

(d)(g)  The fire protection plan shall include: 

(1) instruction for all personnel in use of alarms, 

fire fighting firefighting equipment, methods of 

fire containment, evacuation routes and routes, 

procedures for calling the fire department 

department, and the assignment of specific 

tasks to all personnel in response to an alarm; 

and 

(2) fire drills for each shift of personnel at least 

quarterly. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 
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10A NCAC 13K .1207 HOSPICE INPATIENT 

REQUIREMENTS FOR HEATING/AIR CONDITIONING 

Heating and cooling systems shall meet the current American 

Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning 

Engineers Guide and National Fire Protection Association Code 

90A, which is hereby adopted by reference pursuant to G.S. 

150B-14(c), with the following modification: A facility shall 

provide heating and cooling systems complying with the 

following: 

(1) Soiled linen, bathrooms, janitor closets and 

soiled utility rooms must have negative 

pressure with relationship to adjacent areas. 

The American National Standards Institute and 

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, 

and Air Conditioning Engineers Standard 170: 

Ventilation of Health Care Facilities, which is 

incorporated by reference, including all 

subsequent amendments and editions, and may 

be purchased for a cost of ninety-four dollars 

($94.00) online at 

https://www.techstreet.com/ashrae/index.html. 

This incorporation does not apply to Section 

9.1, Table 9-1 Design Temperature for Skilled 

Nursing Facility. The environmental 

temperature control systems shall be capable of 

maintaining temperatures in the facility at 71 

degrees F. minimum in the heating season and 

a maximum of 81 degrees F. during non-heating 

season, even upon loss of utility power; and 

(2) Clean linen, clean utility and drug rooms must 

have positive pressure with relationship to 

adjacent areas. The National Fire Protection 

Association 90A: Standard for the Installation 

of Air-Conditioning and Ventilating Systems, 

which is incorporated by reference, including 

all subsequent amendments and editions, and 

may be purchased at a cost of fifty dollars and 

fifty cents ($50.50) from the National Fire 

Protection Association online at 

http://www.nfpa.org/catalog/ or accessed 

electronically free of charge at 

http://www.nfpa.org/aboutthecodes/AboutThe

Codes.asp?DocNum=90A. 

(3) All areas not covered in Paragraphs (1) and (2) 

of this Rule must have neutral pressure. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1208 HOSPICE INPATIENT 

REQUIREMENTS/EMERGENCY REQUIREMENTS FOR 

EMERGENCY ELECTRICAL SERVICE 

Emergency electrical service shall be provided A facility shall 

provide an emergency electrical service for use in the event of 

failure of the normal electrical service. This emergency electrical 

service shall be made up as follows: consist of the following: 

(1) In any existing facility, the following must be 

provided: facility: 

(a) type 1 or 2 emergency lights as 

required by the North Carolina State 

Building Code; Codes: Electrical 

Code; 

(b) additional emergency lights for all 

nursing stations, nurses' stations 

required by Rule .1205(b)(2) of this 

Section, drug medication preparation 

areas required by Rule .1204(d)(1) of 

this Section, and storage areas, and for 

the telephone switchboard, if 

applicable; 

(c) one or more portable battery-powered 

lamps at each nursing station; nurses' 

station; and 

(d) a suitable source of emergency power 

for life-sustaining equipment 

equipment, if the facility admits or 

cares for occupants needing such 

equipment, to ensure continuous 

operation with on-site fuel storage for 

a minimum of 72 hours. 

(2) Any addition to an existing facility shall meet 

the same requirements as new construction. An 

emergency power generating set, including the 

prime mover and generator, shall be located on 

the premises and shall be reserved exclusively 

for supplying the essential electrical system. 

For the purposes of this Rule, the "essential 

electrical system" means a system comprised of 

alternate sources of power and all connected 

distribution systems and ancillary equipment, 

designed to ensure continuity of electrical 

power to designated areas and functions of a 

facility during disruption of normal power 

sources, and also to minimize disruption within 

the internal wiring system as defined by the 

North Carolina State Building Codes: Electrical 

Code. 

(3) Any conversion of an existing building such as 

a hotel, motel, abandoned hospital or 

abandoned school, shall meet the same 

requirements for emergency electrical services 

as required for new construction. Emergency 

electrical services shall be provided as required 

by the North Carolina State Building Codes: 

Electric Code with the following modification: 

Section 517.10(B)(2) of the North Carolina 

State Building Codes: Electrical Code shall not 

apply to new facilities. 

(4) Battery-powered corridor lights shall not 

replace the requirements for the emergency 

circuit nor be construed to substitute for the 

generator set. Sufficient fuel shall be stored for 

the operation of the emergency generator for a 

period not less than 72 hours, on a 24-hour per 

day operational basis. The system shall be test 

run for a period of not less than 15 minutes on 

a weekly schedule. Records of running time 

shall be maintained and kept available for 

reference. 
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(5) To ensure proper evaluation of design of 

emergency power systems, the owner or 

operator shall submit with final working 

drawings and specifications a letter describing 

the policy for admissions and discharges to be 

used when the facility begins operations. If 

subsequent inspections for licensure indicate 

the admission policies have been changed, the 

facility will be required to take immediate steps 

to meet appropriate code requirements for 

continued licensure. 

(6) Lighting for emergency electrical services shall 

be provided in the following places: 

(a) exit ways and all necessary ways of 

approach exits, including exit signs 

and exit direction signs, exterior of 

exits exit doorways, stairways, and 

corridors; 

(b) dining and recreation rooms; 

(c) nursing station and medication 

preparation area; 

(d) generator set location, switch-gear 

location, and boiler room, if 

applicable; and 

(e) elevator, if required for emergency. 

(7) The following emergency equipment which is 

essential to life, safety, and the protection of 

important equipment or vital materials shall be 

provided: The following equipment, devices, 

and systems that are essential to life safety and 

the protection of important equipment or vital 

materials shall be connected to the equipment 

branch of the essential electrical system as 

follows: 

(a) nurses' calling system; 

(b) alarm system, including fire alarm 

actuated at manual stations, water flow 

alarm devices of sprinkler systems if 

electrically operated, fire detecting 

and smoke detecting systems, paging 

or speaker systems if intended for 

issuing instructions during emergency 

conditions, and alarms required for 

nonflammable medical gas systems, if 

installed; 

(c)(b) fire pump, if installed; 

(d)(c) sewerage or sump lift pump, if 

installed; 

(e)(d) one elevator, where elevators are used 

for vertical transportation of patients; 

(f)(e) equipment such as burners and pumps 

necessary for operation of one or more 

boilers and their necessary auxiliaries 

and controls, required for heating and 

sterilization, if installed; and 

(g) equipment necessary for maintaining 

telephone service. 

(f) task illumination of boiler rooms, if 

applicable. 

(5) The following equipment, devices, and systems 

that are essential to life safety and the protection 

of important equipment or vital materials shall 

be connected to the life safety branch of the 

essential electrical system as follows: 

(a) alarm system, including fire alarm 

actuated at manual stations, water flow 

alarm devices of sprinkler systems if 

electrically operated, fire detecting 

and smoke detecting systems, paging 

or speaker systems if intended for 

issuing instructions during emergency 

conditions, and alarms required for 

nonflammable medical gas systems, if 

installed; and 

(b) equipment necessary for maintaining 

telephone service. 

(8)(6) Where electricity is the only source of power 

normally used for space heating, the emergency 

service the heating of space, an essential 

electrical system shall be provided for heating 

of patient rooms. Emergency heating of patient 

rooms will shall not be required in areas where 

the facility is supplied by at least two separate 

generating sources, sources or a network 

distribution system with the facility feeders so 

routed, connected, and protected that a fault any 

place between the generators generating 

sources and the facility will not likely cause an 

interruption. interruption of more than one of 

the facility service feeders. 

(9)(7) The emergency An essential electrical system 

shall be so controlled that after interruption of 

the normal electric power supply, the generator 

is brought to full voltage and frequency and 

connected within ten 10 seconds through one or 

more primary automatic transfer switches to all 

emergency lighting, alarms, nurses' call, and 

equipment necessary for maintaining telephone 

service, and receptacles in patient corridors. 

service. All other lighting and equipment 

required to be connected to the emergency 

essential electrical system shall either be 

connected through the ten 10 second primary 

automatic transfer switching or shall be 

subsequently connected through other delayed 

automatic or manual transfer switching. If 

manual transfer switching is provided, staff of 

the facility shall operate the manual transfer 

switch. Receptacles Electrical outlets 

connected to the emergency essential electrical 

system shall be distinctively marked for 

identification. 

(8) Fuel shall be stored for the operation of the 

emergency power generator for a period not 

less than 72 hours, on a 24-hour per day 

operational basis with on-site fuel storage. The 

generator system shall be tested and maintained 

per National Fire Protection Association Health 
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Care Facilities Code, NFPA 99, 2012 edition, 

which is incorporated by reference, including 

all subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies of this code may be purchased at a cost 

of seventy-nine dollars and fifty cents ($79.50) 

from the National Fire Protection Association - 

online at http://www.nfpa.org/catalog/ or 

accessed electronically free of charge at 

http://www.nfpa.org/aboutthecodes/AboutThe

Codes.asp?DocNum=99. The facility shall 

maintain records of the generator system tests 

and shall make these records available to the 

Division for inspection upon request. 

(9) The electrical emergency service at existing 

facilities shall comply with the requirements 

established in this Section in effect at the time a 

license is first issued. Any remodeling of an 

existing facility that results in changes to the 

emergency electrical service shall comply with 

the requirements established in this Section in 

effect at the time of remodeling. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1209 HOSPICE INPATIENT 

REQUIREMENTS FOR GENERAL ELECTRICAL 

(a)  All main water supply shut off valves in the sprinkler system 

must be electronically supervised so that if any valve is closed an 

alarm will sound at a continuously manned central station. 

(b)  No two adjacent emergency life safety branch lighting fixtures 

shall be on the same circuit. 

(c)  Receptacles in bathrooms must have ground fault protection. 

(d)  Each patient bed location must be provided with a minimum 

of four eight single or two four duplex receptacles. 

(e)  Each patient bed location must be supplied by at least two 

branch circuits. circuits, one from the equipment branch and one 

from the normal system. 

(f)  The fire alarm system must be installed to transmit an alarm 

automatically to the fire department that is, legally committed to 

serve the area in which the facility is located, by the direct and 

reliable method approved by local ordinances. 

(g)  In patient areas, fire alarms shall be gongs or chimes rather 

than horns or bells. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1210 OTHER HOSPICE INPATIENT 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  In general patient areas, each room shall be served by at least 

one calling station and each bed shall be provided with a call 

button. Two call buttons serving adjacent beds may be served by 

one calling station. Calls shall register with the floor staff and 

shall activate a visible signal in the corridor at the patient's or 

resident's door. In multi-corridor nursing units, additional visible 

signals shall be installed at corridor intersections. In rooms 

containing two or more calling stations, indicating lights shall be 

provided at each station. Nurses' calling systems which provide 

two-way voice communication shall be equipped with an 

indicating light at each calling station which lights and remains 

lighted as long as the voice circuit is operating. A nurses' call 

emergency button shall be provided for patients' use at each 

patient toilet, bath, and shower room. A nurses' calling system 

shall be provided: 

(1) in each patient bedroom for each patient bed. 

The call system activator shall be such that they 

can be activated with a single action and remain 

on until deactivated by staff at the point of 

origin. The call system activator shall be within 

reach of a patient lying on the bed. In rooms 

containing two or more call system activators, 

indicating lights shall be provided at each 

calling station; 

(2) nurses' calling systems which provide two-way 

voice communication shall be equipped with an 

indicating light at each calling station which 

lights and remains lighted as long as the voice 

circuit is operating; 

(3) a nurses' call emergency activator shall be 

proved at each patients' use toilet fixture, bath, 

and shower. The call system activator shall be 

accessible to a patient lying on the floor; and 

(4) calls shall register with the floor staff and shall 

activate a visible signal in the corridor at the 

patient's door. In multi-corridor units, 

additional visible signals shall be installed at 

corridor intersections. 

(b)  At least one telephone shall be available in each area to which 

patients are admitted and additional telephones or extensions as 

are necessary to ensure availability in case of need. 

(c)  General outdoor lighting shall be provided adequate to 

illuminate walkways and drive. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1211 ADDITIONAL PLUMBING 

REQUIREMENTS/HOSPICE INPATIENT UNITS 

For inpatient units, the hot water system shall be adequate to 

provide: 

 

Patient Areas  Dietary  Laundry 

Gallons per hour per bed   6 ½  

 4  4 1/2 

Temperature degrees F.   110-116 

 140 (min) 140 (min) 

Hospice inpatient facilities or units shall provide a flow of hot 

water within safety ranges specified as follows: 

(1) Patient Areas – 6 ½ gallons per hour per bed 

and at a temperature of 100 to 116 degrees F; 

(2) Dietary Services – 4 gallons per hour per bed 

and at a minimum temperature of 140 degrees 

F; and 

(3) Laundry Area – 4 ½ gallons per hour per bed 

and at a minimum temperature of 140 degrees 

F. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 
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10A NCAC 13K .1212 APPLICATION OF PHYSICAL 

PLANT REQUIREMENTS 

The physical plant requirements for each hospice inpatient facility 

or unit shall be applied as follows: 

(1) New construction shall comply with all the 

requirements of Section .1200 of this 

Subchapter; this Section. 

(2) Existing Except where otherwise specified, 

existing buildings shall meet the licensure and 

code requirements in effect at the time of 

licensure, construction, alteration, or 

modification; modification. 

(3) New additions, alterations, modifications, and 

repairs shall meet the technical requirements of 

Section .1100 of this Subchapter; however, 

where strict conformance with current 

requirements would be impracticable, the 

authority having jurisdiction may approve 

alternative measures where the facility can 

demonstrate to the Department's satisfaction 

that the alternative measures do not reduce the 

safety or operating effectiveness of the facility; 

(4)(3) Rules contained in Rule .1210 of this Section 

are minimum requirements and are not intended 

to prohibit buildings, systems systems, or 

operational conditions that exceed minimum 

requirements; requirements. 

(5)(4) Equivalency: Alternate methods, procedures, 

design criteria, and functional variations from 

the physical plant requirements, because of 

extraordinary circumstances, new programs, or 

unusual conditions, may be approved by the 

authority having jurisdiction when the facility 

can effectively demonstrate to the Department's 

satisfaction, that the intent of the physical plant 

requirements are met and that the variation does 

not reduce the safety or operational 

effectiveness of the facility; and The Division 

may grant an equivalency to allow alternate 

methods, procedures, design criteria or 

functional variation from the requirements of 

this Rule and the rules contained in this Section. 

The equivalency may be granted by the 

Division when a governing body submits a 

written equivalency request to the Division that 

states the following: 

(a) the rule citation and the rule 

requirement that will not be met due to 

strict conformance with current 

requirements would be impractical, 

extraordinary circumstances, new 

programs, or unusual conditions; 

(b) the justification for the equivalency; 

and 

(c) how the proposed equivalency meets 

the intent of the corresponding rule 

requirement. 

(5) In determining whether to grant an equivalency 

request the Division shall consider whether the 

request will reduce the safety and operational 

effectiveness of the facility. The governing 

body shall maintain a copy of the approved 

equivalence issued by the Division. 

(6) Where rules or codes rules, codes, or standards 

have any conflict, the more stringent 

requirement shall apply. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Insurance intends to amend the rules cited as 11 

NCAC 06A .0402, .0501; and 11 NCAC 13 .0410. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoi.com/LS/Rules.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 13, 2021 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 

Location:  NCDOI, Albemarle Building, 325 North Street, 

Raleigh, NC 1st Floor Hearing Room, Room 131 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rules are being proposed for 

amendment to make the regulations consistent with statutory 

authority. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Loretta Peace-Bunch, 325 

North Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC 27603; phone (919) 807-6004; 

email Loretta.Peace-Bunch@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 
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 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 06 - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06A - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0400 - LICENSING PROCEDURES 

 

11 NCAC 06A .0402 LICENSING OF RESIDENT 

AGENT, LTD REPRESENTATIVE AND ADJUSTER 

(a)  An applicant for a resident variable life and variable annuity 

product shall hold a resident life license before making 

application for a resident variable life and variable annuity 

product license. An agent licensed to sell variable life and variable 

annuity products shall be appointed by a company authorized to 

sell variable annuities and variable life insurance products in 

North Carolina. The company shall verify that the agent has met 

the requirements of the NASD or its successor organization. 

(b)  A limited representative shall be appointed with each 

company for which he will solicit business for the following kinds 

of insurance: 

(1) Dental services; 

(2) Limited line credit insurance; 

(3) Motor club; 

(4)(3) Prearrangement insurance, as defined in G.S. 

58-60-35(a)(2), when offered or sold by a 

preneed sales licensee licensed under Article 

13D of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes; or 

(5)(4) Travel, accident and baggage. 

(c)  Responsibility of insurance companies for forms: 

(1) Companies shall have on file with the Division 

the address and email address of one central 

licensing office and the individual within such 

office to which all correspondence, licenses, 

and invoices will be forwarded. 

(2) Companies shall have on file with the Division 

the name of the individual responsible for all 

agent appointments and termination of agent 

appointments submitted by the company to the 

Division. 

(3) A company shall verify the licensure of an 

agent before the company appoints the agent. 

(4) Companies shall notify the Division within 10 

days after any change of address or email 

address of the central licensing office and of 

any change of the individual within such office 

to which all correspondence, licenses, and 

invoices will be forwarded. 

(d)  Responsibility of the agent, limited representative and 

adjuster: 

(1) A person, after surrender or termination of a 

license for such period of time that he is no 

longer eligible for waiver of the examination, 

shall meet all legal requirements for previously 

unlicensed persons. 

(2) Every licensee shall, upon demand from the 

Division, furnish in writing any information 

relating to the licensee's insurance business 

within 10 business days after the demand. 

(e)  An applicant for a resident license shall, if an electronic record 

is not available, obtain an original letter of clearance from his 

former state of residency certifying the kinds of insurance for 

which the applicant was licensed, that all licenses held in that state 

have been canceled and that the applicant was in good standing in 

that state at the time of the cancellation of licenses. A letter of 

clearance is valid for 90 days from date of issuance. 

(f)  Only individuals may apply for limited representative and 

adjuster licenses. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-195(a); 58-33-26; 58-33-30; 58-33-

66. 

 

SECTION .0500 - RENEWAL AND CANCELLATION OF 

LICENSES 

 

11 NCAC 06A .0501 RENEWAL OF AGENT APPTS: 

LICENSES/LIMITED REPS 

(a)  Annually the Division shall notify each insurance company 

and motor club company of dates and procedures for renewing 

agent appointments and limited representative licenses. 

Companies shall be given at least 30 days' advance notice of the 

last date the Division shall process terminations. 

(b)  On the last date to submit terminations, the Division shall 

cease processing all terminations and bill companies for renewals. 

All appointments and licenses shall automatically be billed for the 

appointment renewal unless the Division has received a 

termination request from the company within the specified time. 

(c)  The Division shall send each company an invoice stating the 

total amount of money due and a list of all appointees or licensees 

associated with the total due. The Division shall make this invoice 

and a list of all appointees or licensees associated with the total 

due available electronically to each company. Companies shall 

remit the amount stated in the invoice by electronic payment to 

the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee and shall pay 

all associated fees for electronic processing. Any discrepancies 

claimed by companies shall be investigated only after full 

payment is received. 

(d)  Upon receipt of the company payment, the Division shall 

provide to the company an electronic list of all appointments and 

licenses renewed. 

(e)  Appointments recorded and licenses issued prior to the 

renewal date, but after the date specified by the Division as the 

last date to process termination are valid until the following year. 

(f)  Failure of a company to pay any invoice by the due date shall 

automatically result in the termination of all appointees or 

licensees of that company. The Commissioner shall not issue any 

new appointments until all outstanding invoices have been paid. 

Any company that has had appointments or licensees cancelled by 

the Commissioner pursuant to this Rule shall not process any new 

electronic appointments until all outstanding invoices have been 

paid. When the outstanding invoices are paid, the company may 

re-appoint agents or limited representatives and shall pay the 

appointment fees. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-250; 58-33-40(f); 58-33-56; 58-33-

125(a); 58-33-125(h). 
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CHAPTER 13 - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION - NON-

INSURANCE ENTITIES 

 

SECTION .0400 - MOTOR CLUBS 

 

11 NCAC 13 .0410 SALESMEN TO BE LICENSED 

INSURANCE AGENTS 

Any person acting in the capacity of employee, agent or salesman 

who solicits or sells a motor club membership shall be a licensed 

insurance agent if the membership contract includes a contract of 

insurance to the member. Such employee, agent, or salesman shall 

be licensed with the same insurance company that issues such 

contract of insurance. As an alternative, a person who solicits or 

sells motor club memberships that include a contract of insurance 

may hold a limited license in accordance with G.S. 58-33-

25(e)(6), and the motor club for which the person sells 

memberships shall make the application for the limited license of 

that person. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-69-20(5). 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09A .0206; 09B 

.0101, .0313, .0404; 09G .0205, .0206, .0504, and .0506. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 19, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College Public Safety 

Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd., Raleigh NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To ensure that Instructors who 

are either in violation of their instructor certification or teaching 

a course in violation of Commission rules may be summarily 

suspended until the non-compliance can be remedied. Ensure 

proper pre-employment psychological screening for applicants. 

To bring Probation and Parole Officers more in line with Law 

Enforcement Officers in terms of consideration of prior 

commission or conviction of a crime for certification. To clarify 

the School Resources Officer certification and training 

requirements. Attendance waiver authority to the Standards 

Director for situations where a Specialized instructor is not able 

to complete the course delivery due to an accident, illness, 

emergency, or course cancellation. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique D. Williams, PO 

Box Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8206; 

email cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 19, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09A - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION 

AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0200 - ENFORCEMENT OF RULES 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0206 SUMMARY SUSPENSIONS 

(a)  The Commission, by and through the Probable Cause 

Committee, may summarily suspend the certification of a criminal 

justice officer or instructor before the commencement of 

proceedings for suspension or revocation of the certification if the 

public health, safety, or welfare requires action pursuant to G.S. 

150B-3. The Commission has determined that the following 

conditions specifically affect the public health, safety, or welfare 

and therefore it, by and through the Probable Cause Committee, 

may summarily suspend a certification of a criminal justice officer 

if: 

(1) the person has committed or been convicted of 

a violation of the criminal code that would 

require a permanent revocation or denial of 

certification; 

(2) the certified officer fails to satisfactorily 

complete the in-service training requirements 

as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E; or 

(3) the certified officer has produced a positive 

result on a urinalysis test, conducted in 

accordance with 12 NCAC 09B .0101(5). 

(b)  For the purpose of considering a summary suspension of 

certification, the Probable Cause Committee shall meet only upon 
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notice given by mail, telephone, or other means not less than 48 

hours in advance of the meeting. 

(c)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified 

in the order of summary suspension or upon service of the 

certified copy of the order at the last known address of the person, 

whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain 

effective during the proceedings. 

(d)  The Director, upon receipt of information showing the 

existence of a basis for summary suspension provided for in 

Subparagraph (a)(1), (2), or (3) of this Rule, shall coordinate the 

meeting described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. All affected 

persons shall be notified, that the person may submit any pertinent 

matters to the Probable Cause Committee for its consideration 

before the Committee acts on the summary suspension issue. No 

person shall be allowed more than 48 hours to submit information 

to the Probable Cause Committee. 

(e)  Upon oral notification by the Director that the certification of 

an officer or instructor is being summarily suspended by written 

order, the Department Head of the Criminal Justice Agency or the 

executive officer of the institution shall ensure that the officer or 

instructor does not perform duties requiring certification by the 

Commission. 

(f)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining that a Commission-certified Concealed Carry 

Handgun Instructor has conducted a concealed carry handgun 

training course as mandated by G.S. 14-415(a)(4) that is not in 

compliance with 12 NCAC 09F .0102 and negatively affects the 

public safety and welfare shall do the following until such time as 

the training course has been brought into compliance or reported 

to the Probable Cause Committee for action: 

(1) summarily suspend the Concealed Carry 

Handgun Instructor certification, prohibiting 

him or her from delivering concealed carry 

handgun training until the Director determines 

the training program is brought into compliance 

with 12 NCAC 09F .0102 and 12 NCAC 09F 

.0105 of this Chapter; and 

(2) inform the instructor that he or she may appeal 

the Director's suspension by requesting, in 

writing, a formal hearing before the Probable 

Cause Committee at the next scheduled 

Commission meeting. 

(g)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining that a Commission-certified instructor has conducted 

a Commission approved training course in a way that was not in 

accordance with the requirements of this Chapter and/or has 

conducted a Commission approved training course while being in 

violation of the instructor's minimum standards as outlined in 12 

NCAC 09B .0301 shall do the following until such time as the 

training course or their instructor certification has been brought 

into compliance: 

(1) summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's 

certification, prohibiting him or her from 

delivering Commission approved training until 

the noncompliance is remedied; 

(2) the Director shall send a report of all summary 

suspensions for a formal hearing before the 

Probable Cause Committee at the next 

scheduled Commission meeting; or 

(h)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining a Commission-certified instructor has been alleged to 

have violated a certification rule as outline in this Chapter shall 

do the following: 

(1) summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's 

certification, prohibiting him or her from 

delivering Commission approved training until 

the matter is resolved; 

(2) the Director shall send a report of all summary 

suspensions for a formal hearing before the 

Probable Cause Committee at the next 

scheduled Commission meeting. 

(i)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified 

in the order of summary suspension or upon service of the 

certified copy of the order at the last known address of the person, 

whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain 

effective during the Final Agency Decision and appeals to the 

Superior and Appellate courts. 

(g)(j)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining that a criminal justice officer who was issued a 

waiver of the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C .0306 has not met 

those requirements within 60 days of being awarded general 

certification by the Commission, shall summarily suspend the 

officer's certification until the officer meets the requirements of 

12 NCAC 09C .0306. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 150B-3. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS 

Every criminal justice officer who is employed in or has received 

a conditional offer of employment for a certified position by an 

agency in North Carolina shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be at least 20 years of age; 

(3) be of good moral character pursuant to G.S. 

17C-10 as evidenced by the following: 

(a) not having been convicted of a felony; 

(b) not having been convicted of a 

misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 

09B .0111(1) for five years or the 

completion of any corrections 

supervision imposed by the courts, 

whichever is later; 

(c) not having been convicted of an 

offense that would prohibit the 

possession of a firearm or 

ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922, 

which is hereby incorporated by 

reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions and can be 

found at no cost at 
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https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg

/USCODE-2018-

title18/pdf/USCODE-2018-title18-

partI-chap44.pdf; 

(d) having submitted to and produced a 

negative result on a drug test within 60 

days of employment or any in-service 

drug screening required by the 

appointing agency that meets the 

certification standards of the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs. A list of certified 

drug testing labs that meet this 

requirement may be obtained, at no 

cost, at 

https://www.samhsa.gov/programs-

campaigns/drug-free-

workplace/guidelines-resources/drug-

testing/certified-lab-list; 

(e) submitting to a background 

investigation consisting of the 

verification of age and education and a 

criminal history check of local, state, 

and national files; 

(f) being truthful in providing 

information to the appointing agency 

and to the Standards Division for the 

purpose of obtaining probationary or 

general certification; 

(g) not having pending or outstanding 

felony charges that, if convicted of 

such charges, would disqualify the 

applicant from holding such 

certification, pursuant to G.S. 17C-13; 

and 

(h) not having engaged in any conduct 

that brings into question the 

truthfulness or credibility of the 

officer, or involves "moral turpitude." 

"Moral turpitude" is conduct that is 

contrary to justice, honesty, or 

morality, including conduct as defined 

in: In re Willis 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 

771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 

(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 

6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 

N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re 

Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 

S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 

N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State 

v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 

647 (1983); and later court decisions 

that cite these cases as authority. 

(4) have been fingerprinted and a search made of 

local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(5) have been examined and certified by a licensed 

surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet physical 

requirements necessary to fulfill the officer's 

particular responsibilities listed in the Medical 

Screening Guide as found at 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-

publications/ and shall have produced a 

negative result on a drug screen administered 

according to the following specifications: 

(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test 

consisting of an initial screening test 

using an immunoassay method and a 

confirmatory test on an initial positive 

result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry 

(GC/MS) or other initial and 

confirmatory tests authorized or 

mandated by the Department of Health 

and Human Services for Federal 

Workplace Drug Testing Programs; 

(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained 

on the specimen from collection to the 

eventual discarding of the specimen; 

(c) the drug screen shall test for the 

presence of at least cannabis, cocaine, 

phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and 

amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(d) the test threshold values meet the 

requirements established by the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 

7920 (2017) incorporated by 

reference, including later amendments 

and editions found at no cost at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/docu

ments/2017/01/23/2017-

00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-

federal-workplace-drug-testing-

programs; 

(e) the test conducted shall be not more 

than 60 days old, calculated from the 

time when the laboratory reports the 

results to the date of employment; and 

(f) the laboratory conducting the test shall 

be certified for federal workplace drug 

testing programs, and shall adhere to 

applicable federal rules, regulations, 

and guidelines pertaining to the 

handling, testing, storage, and 

preservation of samples; 

(6) have been administered a psychological 

screening examination by a clinical 

psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice 

in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist 

or psychiatrist authorized to practice in 

accordance with the rules and regulations of the 

United States Armed Forces within one year 

prior to employment by the employing agency 
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and upon the acceptance of a conditional offer 

of employment to determine the officer's 

mental and emotional suitability to properly 

fulfill the responsibilities of the position as 

listed in the Medical Screening Guide found at 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-

publications/, as follows: 

(a) Law Enforcement Officer applicant: 

pre-employment psychological 

screenings shall at a minimum 

include:  

(i) a pre-employment written 

psychological test 

recognized in the field, and 

supervised by a licensed 

psychologist or psychiatrist; 

and  

(ii) a clinical interview 

conducted by a licensed 

psychiatrist or psychologist. 

(b) Juvenile Justice Officer applicant, 

Juvenile Court Counselor applicant, 

Chief Court Counselor applicant, or 

Local Confinement Officer applicant: 

pre-employment psychological 

screenings shall at a minimum 

include:  

(i) a pre-employment written 

psychological test 

recognized in the field, and 

supervised by a licensed 

psychologist or psychiatrist; 

and  

(ii)  a clinical interview 

conducted by a licensed 

psychiatrist or psychologist if 

the psychologist or 

psychiatrist reviewing the 

results of the pre-

employment test identifies 

any issue which he/she 

believes needs further 

examination or other 

information is found in the 

pre-employment process or 

otherwise that raises 

questions about the 

psychological suitability of 

the candidate; 

(7) have been interviewed personally by the 

department head or the department head 

representative or representatives to determine 

such things as the applicant's appearance, 

demeanor, attitude, and ability to communicate; 

and 

(8) make the following notifications: 

(a) within 30 days of the qualifying event 

notify the Standards Division and the 

appointing department head in writing 

of all criminal offenses for which the 

officer is charged or arrested. This 

shall include traffic offenses identified 

in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual 

and offenses of driving under the 

influence (DUI) or driving while 

impaired (DWI); 

(b) within 30 days of the qualifying event 

notify the Standards Division and the 

appointing department head in writing 

of all criminal offenses for which the 

officer pleads no contest pleads guilty 

or of which the officer is found guilty. 

This shall include traffic offenses 

identified in the Class B Misdemeanor 

Manual and offenses of driving under 

the influence (DUI) or driving while 

impaired (DWI); 

(c) within 30 days of service, officers 

shall notify the Standards Division of 

all Domestic Violence Protective 

Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil No 

Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 

issued by a judicial official against the 

officer; 

(d) within 30 days of the date the case was 

disposed of in court, the department 

head, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the officer's arrests or 

criminal charges and final 

dispositions, shall also notify the 

Standards Division of arrests or 

criminal charges and final disposition; 

(e) within 30 days of the issuance of all 

Domestic Violence Protective Orders 

(G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact 

Orders (G.S. 50C), the department 

head, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the order, shall also 

notify the Standards Division of these 

orders. 

(9) The required notifications in this Rule shall be 

in writing and shall specify the nature of the 

offense or order, the court in which the case was 

handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, 

or service of the order, and the final disposition. 

The notification shall include a certified copy of 

the order or court documentation and final 

disposition from the Clerk of Court in the 

county of adjudication. The requirements of 

this Item shall be applicable at all times during 

which the officer is employed and certified by 

the Commission and shall also apply to all 

applicants for certification. Receipt by the 

Standards Division of a single notification, 

from the officer or the department head, shall 

be sufficient notice for compliance with this 

Item. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:18 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 15, 2021 

2045 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0313 CERTIFICATION AND 

TRAINING FOR SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICERS 

(a)  A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law 

enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within 

a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6), 

who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 

12 weeks per calendar year to assist with all of the following: 

(1) School safety; 

(2) School security; 

(3) Emergency preparedness; 

(4) Emergency response; and 

(5) Any additional responsibilities related to school 

safety or security assigned by the officer's 

employer while the officer is acting as a School 

Resource Officer. 

Any written memorandum of understanding between the local 

school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency 

governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with 

this Paragraph. 

(b)  Law enforcement officers assigned by their agency to perform 

duties as a School Resource Officer shall: 

(1) have been issued general certification by the 

North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission as a law 

enforcement officer; and 

(2) have until December 31, 2020, to complete the 

Basic basic School Resource Officer Training 

course, if they are acting in the capacity of a 

School Resource Officer between October 1, 

2018 and December 31, 2019. Any officer 

assigned as a School Resource Officer effective 

January 1, 2020 or later shall complete the 

School Resource Officer Training course 

pursuant to Paragraph (f) of this Rule, within 

one year after being assigned as a School 

Resource Officer. Law enforcement officers 

who previously completed the training pursuant 

to Paragraph (f)(g) of this Rule and who have 

been continually assigned as an SRO pursuant 

to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be credited 

with completion of the Basic basic School 

Resource Officer Training. Law enforcement 

officers who completed the training pursuant to 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule between October 1, 

2018, and December 31, 2020, shall be credited 

with completion of the Basic School Resource 

Officer Training course even if they were not 

assigned as an SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule as long as they comply with the 

annual SRO refresher training pursuant to 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(c)  A law enforcement officer assigned to one or more public 

schools within a local school administrative unit, who works in a 

school at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per 

calendar year and who has not completed the initial training as 

established by Paragraph (f)(g) of this Rule shall not work in a 

school as a School Resource Officer until the officer has 

completed the initial training as established by Paragraph (f)(g) of 

this Section. 

(d)  The agency head shall submit to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource 

Officer Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a 

School Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located 

on the agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/576c353c-

0dcb-4c84-8cc4-c9d17985541f/SRO-form.aspx 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/#91-114-wpfd-law-enforcement 

and must be completed in its entirety. The Commission School 

Resource Officer Assignment Form consists of the following: 

(1) applicants name; 

(2) date of birth; 

(3) social security number; 

(4) name of agency and address; 

(5) date awarded general certification; 

(6) completion date of School Resource Officer 

training; and 

(7) date assigned as a School Resource Officer. 

(e)  The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall 

be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes 

during each calendar year a one hour Basic basic School Resource 

Officer refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice 

Academy. For School Resource Officers who complete the basic 

SRO training requirement in 2020 or earlier, this requirement 

shall be effective January 1, 2021. For SROs, this requirement 

shall be effective the year following the officer's successful 

completion of the Basic basic School Resource Officer Training 

course. A certified School Resource Officer who has not 

completed the refresher training during a calendar year as 

established by this Rule shall not work in a school as a School 

Resource Officer until the officer has completed the required 

refresher training as established by this Rule. Any refresher 

training deficiency must be made up on or before January 31, of 

the following calendar year. 

(f)  Instructors who teach a basic SRO course in a traditional 

classroom format will receive credit toward the completion of the 

basic SRO course requirement as required by this Rule, provided 

that they pass all required tests and have their instruction 

documented by the Department Head or In-Service Training 

Coordinator once completed. 

(f)(g)  The Basic basic School Resource Officer Training course 

for law enforcement officers shall provide the trainee with the 

skills and knowledge to perform in the capacity of a School 

Resource Officer. The Basic basic School Resource Officer 

Training course authored by the North Carolina Justice Academy 

shall be used as the curriculum for this training course. Copies of 

this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address: 
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North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

COMPLETION OF TRAINING 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0404 TRAINEE ATTENDANCE 

(a)  Each trainee enrolled in a certified Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course shall attend all class sessions. The school director 

shall monitor the trainee's regular attendance at criminal justice 

training courses in which the trainee is enrolled. 

(b)  The school director may excuse a trainee from attendance at 

specific class sessions. However, in no case may excused 

absences exceed five percent of the total class hours for the course 

offering. A trainee shall not be eligible for administration of the 

state comprehensive examination and shall be dismissed from the 

course if the cumulative total of class absences exceeds five 

percent regardless of the prior completion of make-up work. 

(c)  If the school director grants an excused absence from a class 

session, he shall schedule make-up work and ensure the 

satisfactory completion of such work during the current course 

presentation. The school director shall schedule instructors and 

reimburse those instructors for the purpose of completion of the 

make up work. Absences which occur during the last forty hours 

of the training course may be made up in a subsequent delivery; 

however, the school director shall notify the Standards Division 

prior to scheduling the make up work. 

(d)  A school director may terminate a trainee from course 

participation or may deny certification of successful course 

completion where the trainee is tardy to or departs early from class 

meetings or field exercises. 

(e)  Where a trainee is enrolled in a program as required in 12 

NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0218, .0219, .0220, 

.0221, .0222, .0237, .0238, .0239, or .0240, and the scheduled 

course hours exceed the requirements of the Commission, the 

trainee, upon the authorization of the school director, may be 

deemed to have satisfactorily completed the required number of 

hours for attendance provided the trainee's attendance is not less 

than 100 percent of the instructional hours as required by the 

Commission. 

(f)  A trainee enrolled in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice 

Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0209 of this Subchapter 

shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent 

of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive 

successful course completion. 

(g)  A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "Specialized 

Firearms Instructor Training" course under Rule .0226 of this 

Subchapter, the "Specialized Driving Instructor Training" course 

under Rule .0227 of this Subchapter, the "Specialized Subject 

Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training" course under Rule 

.0232 of this Subchapter, or the "Specialized Physical Fitness 

Instructor Training" course under Rule .0233 of this Subchapter, 

shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent 

of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive 

successful course completion. Make-up work must be completed 

during the current course presentation for all absenteeism. The 

Director, Criminal Justice Standards Division may grant a waiver 

for completion of course requirements, in a course delivery 

scheduled within 12 months, for just cause based upon the 

circumstances that created the need for the absence. For purpose 

of this Rule, "just cause" includes an accident, illness, emergency, 

or course cancellation that precluded the student from completing 

the entire course in one continuous course delivery. 

(h)  A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "Radar Instructor 

Training Course" under Rule .0210 of this Subchapter, the "Time-

Distance Speed Measurement Instrument Instructor Training 

Course" under Rule .0211 of this Subchapter, or the "Lidar Speed 

Measurement Instrument Instructor Training Course" under Rule 

.0235 of this Subchapter shall not be absent from class attendance 

for more than 10 percent of the total scheduled delivery period in 

order to receive successful course completion. Make-up work 

must be completed during the current course presentation for all 

absenteeism. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0205 PHYSICAL AND MENTAL 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or 

probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

shall have been examined and certified within one year prior to 

employment with the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice by a 

physician licensed in North Carolina, physician's assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet the physical requirements to fulfill the 

officer's particular responsibilities as stated in the essential job 

functions, functions listed in the Medical Screening Guide as 

found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/. 

(b)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or 

probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

shall have been administered administered, within one year prior 

to employment with the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice and 

upon the acceptance of a conditional offer of employment, a 

psychological screening examination by a clinical psychologist or 

psychiatrist licensed to practice in North Carolina or by a clinical 

psychologist or psychiatrist authorized to practice in accordance 

with the rules and regulations of the United States Armed Forces 

to determine the officer's mental and emotional suitability to 

fulfill the officer's particular responsibilities of the position as 

stated in the essential job functions listed in the Medical Screening 

Guide as found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/, as follows: 
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(1) Correctional Officer applicant: pre-

employment psychological screening shall at a 

minimum include: 

(A) a pre-employment written 

psychological test recognized in the 

field, and supervised by a licensed 

psychologist or psychiatrist; and  

(B) a clinical interview conducted by a 

licensed psychiatrist or psychologist if 

the psychologist or psychiatrist 

reviewing the results of the pre-

employment test identifies any issue 

which he/she believes needs further 

examination or other information is 

found in the pre-employment process 

otherwise that raises questions about 

the psychological suitability of the 

candidate. 

(2) Probation/Parole Officer applicant: pre-

employment psychological screening shall at a 

minimum include: 

(A) a pre-employment written 

psychological test recognized in the 

field, and supervised by a licensed 

psychologist or psychiatrist; and  

(B) a clinical interview conducted by a 

licensed psychiatrist or psychologist. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0206 MORAL CHARACTER 

Every person employed as a correctional officer as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102(3) or probation/parole officer as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G. 0102(12) by the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall 

demonstrate good moral character as evidenced by the following: 

(1) for correctional officers, not having been 

convicted of a felony; 

(2) for probation/parole officers, not having 

committed or having been convicted of a 

felony; 

(2)(3) for correctional officers, not having been 

convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102(10) 12 NCAC 09G .0102 for 

three years or the completion of any corrections 

supervision imposed by the courts, whichever 

is later; 

(4) for probation/parole officers, not having 

committed or having been convicted of a 

misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G 

.0102 for a three years period prior to the date 

of application for employment; 

(3)(5) not having been convicted of an offense that, 

under 18 U.S.C. 922, incorporated by reference 

with subsequent amendments and editions 

(found at no cost at 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-

2011-title18-partl-chap44-sec922.pdf), would 

prohibit the possession of a firearm or 

ammunition; 

(4)(6) having submitted to and produced a negative 

result on a drug test within 60 days of 

employment or any in-service drug screening 

required by the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice that meets the certification standards of 

the Department of Health and Human Services 

for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs. 

A list of certified drug testing labs that meet this 

requirement may be obtained, at no cost, at 

http://workplace.samhsa.gov/DrugTesting/Lev

el_1_Pages/CertifiedLabs.html; 

(5)(7)  submitting to a background investigation 

consisting of the following: 

(a) verification of age; 

(b) verification of education; and 

(c) criminal history check of local, state, 

and national files; 

(6)(8) being truthful in providing information to the 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice and to the 

Standards Division for the purpose of obtaining 

probationary or general certification; 

(7)(9) not having pending or outstanding felony 

charges that, if convicted of such charges, 

would disqualify the applicant from holding 

such certification, pursuant to G.S. 17C-13; and 

(8)(10) not engage in any conduct that brings into 

question the truthfulness or credibility of the 

officer, or involves "moral turpitude." "Moral 

Turpitude" is conduct that is contrary to justice, 

honesty, or morality, including conduct as 

defined in: In: re Willis, 288 299 N.C. 1, 215 

S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 

(1975); in In re State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 

S.E.2d 854 (1940); in In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 

386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in In re Applicants for 

License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); in In 

re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 

(1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 

S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions 

that cite these as authority. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0500 - ENFORCEMENT OF RULES 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0504 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: 

OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission shall revoke the certification of a 

correctional officer or probation/parole officer when the 

Commission finds that the officer has committed or been 

convicted of a felony offense. 

(b)  The Commission shall deny the certification of a correctional 

officer when the Commission finds the officer has been convicted 

of a felony. 
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(c)  The Commission shall deny the certification of a 

probation/parole officer when the Commission finds the officer 

has committed or been convicted of a felony offense. 

(b)(d)  The Commission may, based on the evidence for each case, 

suspend, revoke, or deny the certification of a corrections officer 

officer, as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(4) when the 

Commission finds that the applicant for certification or the 

certified officer: 

(1) has not enrolled in and completed with passing 

scores the required basic training course in its 

entirety in time periods prescribed in 12 NCAC 

09G .0400 applicable to a specified position or 

job title; 

(2) fails to meet or maintain one or more of the 

employment standards required by 12 NCAC 

09G .0200 for the category of the officer's 

certification or fails to meet or maintain one or 

more of the training standards required by 12 

NCAC 09G .0400 for the category of the 

officer's certification; 

(3) for correctional officers as defined in 12 NCAC 

09G .0102(3), who have has committed or been 

convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102 after certification; 

(4) for probation/parole officers as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102(12), who have committed or 

been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 

12 NCAC 09G .0102 for a three year period 

prior to the date of application for employment 

or after certification; 

(4)(5) has been discharged by the North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice for: 

(A) commission or conviction of a motor 

vehicle offense requiring the 

revocation of the officer's drivers 

license; or 

(B) lack of good moral character as 

defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0206; 

(5)(6) has been discharged by the North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice because the 

officer lacks the mental or physical capabilities 

to fulfill the responsibilities of a corrections 

officer; 

(6)(7) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation; 

(7)(8) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, fraud, 

misrepresentation, or cheating whatsoever, 

obtained or attempted to obtain credit, training, 

or certification from the Commission; 

(8)(9) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, fraud, 

misrepresentation, or cheating whatsoever, 

aided another person in obtaining or attempting 

to obtain credit, training, or certification from 

the Commission; 

(9)(10) has failed to notify the Standards Division of all 

criminal charges or convictions as required by 

12 NCAC 09G .0302; 

(10)(11) has been removed from office by decree of the 

Superior Court in accord with the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or has been removed from office 

by sentence of the court in accord with the 

provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

(11)(12) has refused to submit to an applicant drug 

screen as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0206; or 

has refused to submit to an in-service drug 

screen pursuant to the guidelines set forth in the 

Drug Screening Implementation Guide as 

required by the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice; 

(12)(13) has produced a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission as specified in 12 

NCAC 09G .0206, where the positive result 

cannot be explained to the Commission's 

satisfaction. For the purposes of this Rule, "to 

the Commission's satisfaction" shall be 

determined on a case-by-case basis, and the use 

of a prescribed drug shall be satisfactory; or 

(13)(14) has been denied certification or had such 

certification suspended or revoked by a 

previous action of the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission, the North Carolina Company 

Police Program, the North Carolina Campus 

Police Program, the North Carolina Sheriffs' 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission, or a similar North Carolina, out of 

state, or federal approving, certifying, or 

licensing agency whose function is the same or 

similar to the agencies if the certification was 

denied, suspended, or revoked based on 

grounds that would constitute a violation of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)(e)  Following suspension, revocation, or denial of the person's 

certification, the person shall not remain employed or appointed 

as a corrections officer and the person shall not exercise any 

authority of a corrections officer during a period for which the 

person's certification is suspended, revoked, or denied. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0506 SUMMARY SUSPENSIONS 

(a)  The Commission, by and through the Probable Cause 

Committee, may summarily suspend the certification of a 

corrections officer or instructor before the commencement of 

proceedings for suspension or revocation of the certification 

when, in the opinion of the Probable Cause Committee, the public 

health, safety, or welfare requires this emergency action of 

summary suspension. The Commission has determined that the 

following condition specifically affects the public health, safety, 

or welfare and therefore it, by and through the Probable Cause 

Committee, may utilize summary suspension: when the person 

corrections officer has committed or been convicted of a violation 
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of the criminal code which would require a permanent revocation 

or denial of certification. 

(b)  For the purpose of considering a summary suspension of 

certification, the Probable Cause Committee may meet upon 

notice given by mail, telephone, or other means not less than 48 

hours in advance of the meeting. 

(c)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified 

in the order of summary suspension or on service of the certified 

copy of the order at the last known address of the person, 

whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain 

effective during the proceedings. 

(d)  Upon verbal notification by the Director that the certification 

of an officer or instructor is being summarily suspended by 

written order, the North Carolina Department of Correction shall 

take such steps as are necessary to ensure that the officer or 

instructor does not perform duties requiring certification by the 

Commission. 

(e)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining that a Commission-certified instructor has conducted 

a Commission approved training course in a way that was not in 

accordance with the requirements of this Chapter and/or has 

conducted a Commission approved training course while being in 

violation of the instructor's minimum standards as outlined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0307 shall do the following until such time as the 

training course or their instructor certification has been brought 

into compliance: 

(1) summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's 

certification, prohibiting him or her from 

delivering Commission approved training until 

the noncompliance is remedied; 

(2) the Director shall send a report of all summary 

suspensions for formal hearing before the 

Probable Cause Committee at the next 

scheduled Commission meeting; or 

(f)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining a Commission-certified instructor has been alleged to 

have violated a certification rule as outline in this Chapter shall 

do the following: 

(1) summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's 

certification, prohibiting him or her from 

delivering Commission approved training until 

the matter is resolved; 

(2) the Director shall send a report of all summary 

suspensions for formal hearing before the 

Probable Cause Committee at the next 

scheduled Commission meeting. 

(g)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon a Finding 

of Probable Cause by the Probable Cause Committee that an 

instructor has violated a certification rule outlined in this Chapter 

shall summary suspend the individual's instructor certification. A 

summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified in the 

order of summary suspension or upon service of the certified copy 

of the order at the last known address of the person, whichever is 

later. The summary suspension shall remain effective during the 

Final Agency Decision and appeals to the Superior and Appellate 

courts. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 150B-3. 

 

 

TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Transportation - Division of 

Motor Vehicles intends to readopt without substantive changes 

the rules cited as 19A NCAC 03B .0301, .0403, .0702-.0707, 

.0709, .0711, .0801 and repeal through readoption the rule cited 

as 19A NCAC 03B .0103. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdot.gov/about-us/how-we-operate/policy-

process/rules/Pages/default.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 20, 2021 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 

Location:  Register to attend and view the Virtual Meeting using 

a computer, tablet or smartphone: 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/55053687971391668

7. If no computer access, please call in to the meeting at 1-919-

614-3221 then dial attendee access code: 285-498-279. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapters 19A NCAC 03B, 03C, 03D, 

03E, 03F, 03G, 03I, and 03J these proposed rules were 

determined as "Necessary With Substantive Public Interest" thus 

necessitating readoption. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rules to be necessary without substantive changes and 

are recommended for readoption: 19A NCAC 03B .0301, .0403, 

.0702-.0707, .0709, .0711, and .0801. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rule to be unnecessary and is recommending repeal: 

19A NCAC 03B .0103. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Hannah D. Jernigan, 1501 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1501; email 

Rulemaking@ncdot.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 18, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
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the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 03 - DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03B - DRIVER LICENSE SECTION 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0103 FORMS 

 

The forms used by the driver license section of the Division of 

Motor Vehicles are on file in the commissioner's office and are 

available for review during normal working hours. 

 

Authority G.S. 20-7; 20-39. 

 

SECTION .0300 - MEDICAL EVALUATION 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0301 ACUTE OR CHRONIC 

ILLNESSES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - RECORDS 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0403 DRIVING RECORDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0700 - COMMERCIAL DRIVERS' LICENSE 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0702 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0703 REQUIREMENTS FOR THIRD 

PARTY TESTERS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0704 REQUIREMENTS FOR THIRD 

PARTY EXAMINERS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0705 CERTIFICATES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0706 APPLICATION FOR THIRD 

PARTY TESTER CERTIFICATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0707 APPLICATION FOR THIRD 

PARTY EXAMINER CERTIFICATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0709 ON-SITE INSPECTIONS AND 

AUDITS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0711 EVALUATION OF APPLICANTS 

BY THE DIVISION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0800 - GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT RATING 

(GVWR) 

 

19A NCAC 03B .0801 DEFINITION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Dental Examiners intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 16Q .0102, .0506, .0507 and amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 16Q .0206, .0207, .0305, .0407, .0504, and .0505. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 8, 2021 

Time:  6:30 p.m. 

Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, 

NC  27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 16Q .0102 is proposed to list all common application 

requirements for all the sedation/general anesthesia permits. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0506 is proposed to address minimal conscious 

sedation permit renewal and reinstatement, consistent with the 

other permits. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0507 is proposed to address the procedure for 

evaluation or inspection, consistent with the other permits. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0206 is proposed for amendment to add the 

required equipment and medications for itinerant permit holders. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0207, 21 NCAC 16Q .0305, and 21 NCAC 16Q 

.0407 are proposed for amendment to add an explicit good 

standing requirement for permit reinstatement and to make other 

technical changes for consistency. 
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21 NCAC 16Q .0504 is proposed for amendment to cover 

required credentials and procedure to obtain a permit and cross-

references the new Rule .0102 for the application requirements. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0505 is proposed for amendment to cover the 

clinical requirements and equipment, as well as the content of an 

inspection or evaluation, consistent with the other permit levels. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 

Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16Q - GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND 

SEDATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0102 APPLICATION FOR GENERAL 

ANESTHESIA OR SEDATION PERMIT, PERMIT 

RENEWAL, AND PERMIT REINSTATEMENT 

(a)  An applicant for a general anesthesia or sedation permit shall 

be licensed and in good standing with the Board. 

(b)  All permit applications shall be made on the forms furnished 

by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include: 

(1) the full name; 

(2) the mailing address; 

(3) the North Carolina dental license number; 

(4) a telephone number; and 

(5) an email address. 

(c)  In addition to the information in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

all applications for a general anesthesia, moderate conscious 

sedation, moderate pediatric conscious sedation, or minimal 

conscious sedation permit shall include: 

(1) the addresses of all dental offices where the 

applicant intends to use general anesthesia or 

sedation; 

(2) dental education, including dental school name, 

dates attended, degree received, and any other 

dental post-graduate education or specialty 

degrees received; 

(3) a resume or curriculum vitae; 

(4) the names of and copies of unexpired BLS 

certifications for any auxiliaries that will assist 

the applicant with general anesthesia or 

sedation; 

(5) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

instances of patient mortality or morbidity in 

connection with applicant's prior use of general 

anesthesia or sedation; and 

(6) documentation of the required qualifications for 

the permit for which the applicant is applying, 

as set out in Rule .0201, .0301, .0404, or .0504 

of this Subchapter. 

(d)  In addition to the information in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

all applications for an itinerant permit shall include: 

(1) North Carolina general anesthesia or sedation 

permit number; and 

(2) a statement of compliance with the 

requirements for the itinerant permit for which 

the applicant is applying, as set out in Rule 

.0206, .0304, or .0406 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  All applications for renewal of a general anesthesia or 

sedation permit shall be submitted electronically through the 

Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include: 

(1) the full name; 

(2) the permit number and expiration date; 

(3) the addresses of all dental offices where the 

permit holder uses general anesthesia or 

sedation; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

instances of patient mortality or morbidity in 

connection with use of general anesthesia or 

sedation that occurred during the calendar year 

preceding the application and that were not 

previously disclosed to the Board. 

(f)  All applications for reinstatement of a general anesthesia or 

sedation permit shall be made on forms furnished by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include: 

(1) the full name; 

(2) the permit number and date of issuance; 

(3) the mailing address; 

(4) the North Carolina dental license number; 

(5) the addresses of all dental offices where the 

applicant intends to use general anesthesia or 

sedation; and 

(6) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

instances of patient mortality or morbidity in 

connection with use of general anesthesia or 

sedation that occurred during the calendar year 

preceding the application. 

(g)  Any permit obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 
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Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1. 

 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL ANESTHESIA 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0206 ITINERANT (MOBILE) 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT, EQUIPMENT AND 

EVALUATION 

(a)  A dentist who holds a general anesthesia permit from the 

Board and who wishes to provide general anesthesia or other 

sedation services in the office of another practitioner shall obtain 

a mobile general anesthesia permit from the Board by completing 

the application requirements of this Rule and paying a one 

hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee and a two-hundred 

seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. No mobile permit 

shall be required to administer general anesthesia in a hospital or 

credentialed surgery center. 

(b)  Before a mobile general anesthesia permit may be issued, a 

general anesthesia permit holder appointed by the Board shall 

inspect the applicant's equipment and medications to ensure that 

they comply with Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  The permit holder shall maintain in good working order the 

following equipment: equipment required by Rule .0202(a)(1) of 

this Section. 

(1) small, medium, and large supraglottic airways 

devices; 

(2) small, medium, and large anesthesia circuits; 

(3) rebreathing device; 

(4) scavenging system; 

(5) intermittent compression devices; 

(6) gastric suction device; 

(7) endotracheal tube and pulmonary suction 

device; 

(8) equipment for performing emergency 

cricothyrotomies and delivering positive 

pressure ventilation; and 

(9) the equipment required by Rule .0202(a)(1) of 

this Section. 

(d)  The A neuromuscular blocking agent, an anti-malignant 

hyperthermia agent, and the unexpired medications required by 

Rule .0202(a)(2) of this Section shall be on site site, unexpired, 

and available to the permit holder. 

(e)  The evaluation and on-site inspection shall be conducted as 

set out in Rule .0204 of this Section. 

(f)  Prior to administering general anesthesia or sedation at another 

provider's office, the mobile permit holder shall inspect the host 

facility within 24 business hours before each procedure and shall 

ensure that: 

(1) the operatory's size and design permit 

emergency management and access of 

emergency equipment and personnel; 

(2) there is a CPR board or dental chair without 

enhancements suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(3) there is lighting to permit performance of all 

procedures planned for the facility; 

(4) there is suction equipment, including non-

electrical back-up suction; and 

(5) the facility shall be staffed with at least two 

BLS certified auxiliaries, one of whom shall be 

dedicated to patient monitoring and recording 

general anesthesia or sedation data throughout 

the sedation procedure. This Subparagraph 

shall not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and monitoring 

regarding general anesthesia or sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and is not 

performing the surgery or other dental 

procedure. 

(g)  Upon inspection, the permit holder shall document that the 

facility where the general anesthesia or sedation procedure will be 

performed was inspected and that it met the requirements of 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. The permit holder shall retain the 

inspection and compliance record required by this Paragraph for 

10 years following the procedure and provide these records to the 

Board upon request. 

(h)  The mobile general anesthesia permit shall be displayed in the 

host facility where it is visible to patients receiving treatment. 

(i)  All applicants for mobile general anesthesia permit shall be in 

good standing with the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0207 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND ITINERANT (MOBILE) 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT REQUIRED 

(a)  General anesthesia permits and itinerant general anesthesia 

permits shall be renewed by the Board annually at the same time 

as dental licenses by the dentist paying licenses. For each permit 

to be renewed, the permit holder shall pay a one-hundred dollar 

($100.00) fee and completing complete the renewal application 

requirements of this Rule. If the completed general anesthesia and 

itinerant general anesthesia permit renewal application and 

renewal fee are not received before midnight on January 31 of 

each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be paid. charged. 

The renewal application shall be submitted electronically through 

the Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include 

the information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and 

a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(b)  Itinerant general anesthesia permits shall be renewed by the 

Board annually at the same time as dental licenses by paying a 

one hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and completing the application 

requirements of this Rule. The application is available on the 

Board's website: www.ncdentalboard.org. If the completed 

itinerant general sedation permit application and renewal fee are 

not received before January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) 

late fee shall be paid. 

(c)(b)  Any dentist permit holder who fails to renew a general 

anesthesia permit or itinerant general anesthesia permit before 

March 31 of each year shall complete a reinstatement application, 

pay the renewal fee, fee and late fee, fee set out in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule, and comply with all conditions for renewal set out in 

this Rule. Dentists whose general anesthesia permits or itinerant 

general anesthesia permits have been lapsed for more than 12 

calendar months shall pass an inspection and an evaluation as part 

of the reinstatement process. process in accordance with Rules 

.0202 and .0204 of this Section. All applicants for reinstatement 

of a permit shall be in good standing. All applications for 
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reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted on forms furnished 

by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the 

information required by Rule .0102(f) of this Subchapter and a 

report of compliance with the conditions for renewal set out in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(d)(c)  A dentist who administers general anesthesia in violation 

of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by Rule 

.0701 of this Subchapter. 

(e)(d)  As a condition for renewal of the general anesthesia permit 

and itinerant general anesthesia permit, the general anesthesia 

permit holder shall meet the clinical equipment and requirements 

set out in Rule .0202 of this Section and Section, the itinerant 

general anesthesia permit holder shall maintain also meet the 

clinical equipment and requirements set out in Rule .0206 of this 

Section Section, and the permit holder shall document the 

following: 

(1) six hours of continuing education each year in 

one or more of the following areas, which shall 

be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing 

education required each calendar year for 

license renewal: 

(A) sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring IV sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in general anesthesia and IV 

sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management; 

(2) unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not 

count towards the six hours of continuing 

education required in Subparagraph 

(e)(1)(d)(1) of this Rule; 

(3) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in anesthesia or sedation procedures 

have practiced responding to dental 

emergencies as a team at least once every six 

months in the preceding year; 

(4) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in anesthesia or sedation procedures 

have read the practice's emergency manual in 

the preceding year; and 

(5) that all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have completed BLS certification 

and three hours of continuing education 

annually in any of the areas set forth in 

Subparagraph (e)(1)(d)(1) of this Rule. 

(f)(e)  All Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit 

holders applying for renewal of a general anesthesia permit or 

itinerant general anesthesia permit shall be in good standing and 

their office shall be subject to inspection by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39(12); 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0300 - MODERATE CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0305 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

MODERATE PARENTERAL AND ENTERAL 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT REQUIRED 

(a)  Moderate conscious sedation permits and itinerant moderate 

conscious sedation permits shall be renewed by the Board 

annually at the same time as dental licenses by the dentist paying 

licenses. For each permit to be renewed, the permit holder shall 

pay a one-hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and completing complete 

the renewal application requirements in this Rule. If the 

completed permit renewal application and renewal fee are not 

received before midnight on January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar 

($50.00) late fee shall be paid. charged. The renewal application 

shall be submitted electronically through the Board's website, 

www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the information 

required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a report of 

compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  Itinerant moderate conscious sedation permits shall be 

renewed by the Board annually at the same time as dental licenses 

by paying a one-hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and completing the 

application requirements in this Rule. If the completed permit 

renewal application and renewal fee are not received before 

January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be 

paid. 

(c)(b)  Any dentist permit holder who fails to renew a moderate 

conscious sedation permit or itinerate itinerant moderate 

conscious sedation permit before March 31 of each year shall 

complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee, fee and 

late fee, fee set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and comply with 

all conditions for renewal set out in this Rule. Dentists whose 

moderate conscious sedation permits or itinerant moderate 

conscious sedation permits have been lapsed for more than 12 

calendar months shall pass an inspection and an evaluation as part 

of the reinstatement process. process in accordance with Rules 

.0302 and .0306 of this Section. All applicants for reinstatement 

of a permit shall be in good standing. All applications for 

reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted on forms furnished 

by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the 

information required by Rule .0102(f) of this Subchapter and a 

report of compliance with the conditions for renewal set out in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(d)(c)  A dentist who administers moderate conscious sedation in 

violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed 

by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

(e)(d)  As a condition for renewal of the moderate conscious 

sedation permit and itinerate itinerant moderate conscious 

sedation permit, the permit holder shall meet the clinical and 

equipment requirements of Rules set out in Rule .0302 of this 

Section, the itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit holder 

shall also meet the clinical and equipment requirements set out in 

Rule and .0304 of this Section Section, and the permit holder shall 

document the following: 

(1) six hours of continuing education each year in 

one or more of the following areas, which shall 

be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing 

education required each calendar year for 

license renewal: 

(A) sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:18 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 15, 2021 

2054 

(C) monitoring IV sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in IV sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management; 

(2) unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not 

count towards the six hours of continuing 

education required in Subparagraph 

(e)(1)(d)(1) of this Rule; 

(3) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have practiced 

responding to dental emergencies as a team at 

least once every six months in the preceding 

year; 

(4) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have read the 

practice's emergency manual in the preceding 

year; and 

(5) that all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have completed BLS certification 

and three hours of continuing education 

annually in any of the areas set forth in 

Subparagraph (e)(1)(d)(1) of this Rule. 

(f)(e)  All Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit 

holders applying for renewal of a moderate conscious sedation 

permit or itinerate itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit 

shall be in good standing and their office shall be subject to 

inspection by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39(12); 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0400 - PEDIATRIC MODERATE CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0407 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

MODERATE PEDIATRIC CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

PERMIT REQUIRED 

(a)  Moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits and itinerant 

moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits shall be renewed 

by the Board annually at the same time as dental licenses by the 

dentist paying licenses. For each permit to be renewed, the permit 

holder shall pay a one-hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and 

completing complete the renewal application requirements in this 

Rule. If the completed renewal application and renewal fee are not 

received before midnight on January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar 

($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The renewal application shall 

be submitted electronically through the Board's website, 

www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the information 

required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a report of 

compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

If the completed renewal application and renewal fee are not 

received before January 31 of each year, a fifty ($50.00) dollar 

late fee shall be paid. 

(b)  Itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits shall 

be renewed by the Board annually at the same time as dental 

licenses by paying a one-hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and 

completing the application requirements in this Rule. If the 

completed permit renewal application and renewal fee are not 

received before January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) 

late fee shall be paid. 

(c)(b)  Any dentist permit holder who fails to renew a moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation permit or itinerant moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation permit before March 31 of each year shall 

complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee, fee and 

late fee, fee set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and comply with 

all conditions for renewal set out in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this 

Rule. Dentists whose moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permits or itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits 

have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an 

inspection and an evaluation as part of the reinstatement process. 

process in accordance with Rules .0405 and .0408 of this Section. 

All applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall be in good 

standing. All applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be 

submitted on forms furnished by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the information 

required by Rule .0102(f) of this Subchapter and a report of 

compliance with the conditions for renewal set out in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(d)(c)  A dentist who administers moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation in violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties 

prescribed by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

(e)(d)  As a condition for renewal of the moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation permit and itinerant moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation permit, the permit holder shall meet the 

clinical and equipment requirements of Rule .0405 of this Section 

Section, the itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permit holder shall also meet the clinical and equipment 

requirements of Rule .0406 of this Section, and the permit holder 

shall document the following: 

(1) six hours of continuing education each year in 

one or more of the following areas, which shall 

be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing 

education required each calendar year for 

license renewal: 

(A) sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring IV sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in IV sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management; 

(2) unexpired PALS certification, which shall not 

count towards the six hours of continuing 

education required in Subparagraph 

(e)(1)(d)(1) of this rule; Rule; 

(3) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have practiced 

responding to dental emergencies as a team at 

least once every six months in the preceding 

year; 

(4) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have read the 
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practice's emergency manual in the preceding 

year; and 

(5) that all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have completed BLS certification 

and three hours of continuing education 

annually in any of the areas set forth in 

Subparagraph (e)(1)(d)(1) of this Rule. 

(f)(e)  All Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit 

holders applying for renewal of a moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation permit or itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permit shall be in good standing and their office shall be subject 

to inspection by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39(12); 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0500 - ENTERAL MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0504 MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION CREDENTIALS, EVALUATION 

CREDENTIALS AND PERMIT 

(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may 

administer or supervise a certified registered nurse anesthetist 

CRNA employed to administer or an RN employed to deliver 

minimal conscious sedation, the dentist shall obtain a Board-

issued permit for minimal conscious sedation, moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation, moderate conscious sedation sedation, or 

general anesthesia. A permit is not required for prescription 

administration of DEA controlled drugs prescribed for 

postoperative pain control intended for home use. A dentist may 

obtain a minimal conscious sedation permit from the Board by 

completing the application requirements of this Rule and paying 

a fee of three-hundred seventy-five dollars ($375.00) that includes 

the one-hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee and the two-

hundred seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. Such The 

permit must shall be renewed annually and shall be displayed with 

the current renewal at all times in the facility of the permit holder 

where it is visible to patients receiving treatment. 

(b)  Only a dentist who holds a general anesthesia license may 

administer deep sedation or general anesthesia. The minimal 

conscious sedation permit holder shall ensure the level of the 

sedation administered does not exceed minimal conscious 

sedation as defined in Rule .0101(27) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  An applicant for a minimal conscious sedation permit shall be 

licensed and in good standing with the Board in order to be 

approved. For purposes of these Rules "good standing" means that 

the applicant is not subject to a disciplinary investigation and his 

or her licensee has not been revoked or suspended and is not 

subject to a probation or stayed suspension order. submit to the 

Board: 

(1) a completed application form provided by the 

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes 

the information and materials required by Rule 

.0102(b) and (c) of this Subchapter; 

(2) a copy of an unexpired ACLS certification; and 

(3) documentation showing completion of one of 

the following: 

(A) an 18-hour minimal conscious 

sedation course from the list, available 

on the Board's website, of sedation 

courses reviewed at any public Board 

meeting and approved by a majority of 

the Board based on its collective 

experience; or 

(B) a post-doctoral program accredited by 

the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation (CODA) that provides 

training in administering and 

managing minimal conscious 

sedation. A list of CODA-accredited 

programs is available at no cost at 

www.ada.org/coda and is incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(d)  Evaluation: Prior to issuance of a minimal conscious sedation 

permit, the applicant shall pass an evaluation and facility 

inspection in accordance with Rules .0505 and .0507 of this 

Section. 

(1) Prior to issuance of a minimal conscious 

sedation permit the applicant shall pass an 

evaluation and a facility inspection. 

(2) During an inspection or evaluation, the 

applicant shall demonstrate the administration 

of minimal conscious sedation on a patient 

while the evaluator observes. During the 

observation, the applicant shall demonstrate 

competency in the following areas: 

(A) Monitoring of blood pressure, pulse, 

pulse oximetry and respiration; 

(B) Drug dosage and administration; 

(C) Treatment of untoward reactions 

including respiratory or cardiac 

depression (by verbal demonstration); 

(D) Sterile technique; 

(E) Use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(F) Monitoring of patient during recovery; 

and 

(G) Sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(3) During an inspection or evaluation, the 

applicant or permit holder shall demonstrate 

competency to the evaluator in the treatment of 

the following clinical emergencies: 

(A) Laryngospasm; 

(B) Bronchospasm; 

(C) Emesis and aspiration; 

(D) Respiratory depression and arrest; 

(E) Angina pectoris; 

(F) Myocardial infarction; 

(G) Hypertension/Hypotension; 

(H) Syncope; 

(I) Allergic reactions; 

(J) Convulsions; 

(K) Bradycardia; 

(L) Hypoglycemia; 

(M) Cardiac arrest; and 

(N) Airway obstruction. 

(4) During the evaluation, the permit applicant 

shall take a written examination on the topics 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:18 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 15, 2021 

2056 

set forth in Subparagraphs (d)(2) and (d)(3) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a 

passing score on the written examination by 

answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails 

to obtain a passing score on the written 

examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in 

accordance with Subparagraph (d)(7) of this 

Rule. 

(5) The evaluator shall assign a recommended 

grade of pass or fail and shall report his or her 

recommendation to the Board, setting out the 

basis for his conclusion. The Board is not bound 

by the evaluator's recommendation and shall 

make a final determination regarding whether 

the applicant has passed the evaluation. The 

applicant shall be notified of the Board's 

decision in writing. 

(6) An applicant who fails an inspection or 

evaluation may request a re-evaluation or re-

inspection within 15 days of receiving the 

notice of failure. The request shall be directed 

to the Board in writing and shall include a 

statement of the grounds supporting the re-

evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in Subparagraph (d)(7) of this Rule, the Board 

shall require the applicant to receive additional 

training prior to the re-evaluation to address the 

areas of deficiency determined by the 

evaluation. The Board shall notify the applicant 

in writing of the need for additional training. 

(7) A permit applicant who has failed the written 

examination portion of the evaluation but 

passed all other aspects of the evaluation and 

inspection may retake the written examination 

two additional times at the Board office. The 

applicant must wait a minimum of 72 hours 

before attempting to retake a written 

examination. Any applicant who has failed the 

written portion of the examination three times 

shall complete an additional Board approved 

course of study in the area(s) of deficiency and 

provide the Board evidence of the additional 

study before written reexamination. 

(8) Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be 

conducted by Board-appointed evaluators not 

involved in the failed evaluation or inspection. 

(9) An applicant must complete all the 

requirements of this Rule, including passing the 

written examination, evaluation and inspection, 

within 12 months of submitting the application 

to the Board. 

(e)  Educational/Professional Requirements: An applicant shall 

submit the fee set out in Paragraph (a) and satisfy all requirements 

in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule for the application to be 

complete. Applications that are not completed within one year of 

being submitted to the Board shall be disregarded without a refund 

of the fee. 

(1) The dentist applying for a minimal conscious 

sedation permit shall meet one of the following 

criteria: 

(A) completion of an ADA accredited 

post-doctoral training program which 

affords comprehensive training 

necessary to administer and manage 

minimal conscious sedation; 

(B) completion of an 18-hour minimal 

conscious sedation course which must 

be approved by the Board based on 

whether it affords comprehensive 

training necessary to administer and 

manage minimal conscious sedation; 

or 

(C) completion of an ADA accredited 

postgraduate program in pediatric 

dentistry; 

(2) All applicants for a minimal sedation permit 

must document completion of an ACLS course 

within the 12 months prior to the date of 

application; 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies. 

(f)  Annual Permit Renewal: 

(1) Minimal conscious sedation permits shall be 

renewed by the Board annually at the same time 

as dental licenses by the dentist paying a one-

hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and completing 

the application requirements in this Rule. If the 

completed permit renewal application and 

renewal fee are not received before January 31 

of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall 

be paid. 

(2) Any dentist who fails to renew a minimal 

conscious sedation permit before March 31 of 

each year shall complete a reinstatement 

application, pay the renewal fee, late fee, and 

comply with all conditions for renewal set out 

in this Rule. Dentists whose sedation permits 

have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar 

months shall pass an inspection and an 

evaluation as part of the reinstatement process. 

(3) As a condition for renewal of the minimal 

conscious sedation permit, the permit holder 

shall meet the requirements of Rule .0402 of 

this Subchapter and shall document unexpired 

ACLS certification and obtain three hours of 

continuing education every year in one or more 

of the following areas, which may be counted 

toward fulfillment of the continuing education 

required each calendar year for license renewal: 

(A) pediatric or adult sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 
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(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management. 

(4) The minimal conscious sedation permit holder 

shall further document that the permit holder 

and all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have read the practice's emergency 

manual in the preceding year and that all 

auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures 

have completed BLS certification and, within 

the past two years, completed three hours of 

continuing education in any of the areas set 

forth in Parts (f)(3)(A)-(F) of this Rule. 

(5) All permit holders applying for renewal of a 

minimal conscious sedation permit shall be in 

good standing and their office shall be subject 

to inspection by the Board. 

(g)(f)  A dentist who administers minimal conscious sedation in 

violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed 

by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0505 MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS, CLINICAL 

REQUIREMENTS PROVISIONS AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  Minimal conscious sedation is indicated for use only as 

defined in Rule .0101(15) of this Subchapter (relating to 

Definitions). Minimal conscious sedation shall not be used to 

achieve a deeper level of sedation. A permit holder administering 

minimal conscious sedation or supervising a CRNA employed to 

administer or RN employed to deliver minimal conscious sedation 

shall ensure that the facility where the sedation is administered 

meets the following requirements: 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or a dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) pulse oximeter; 

(I) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(J) thermometer; 

(K) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

and 

(L) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) epinephrine; 

(B) oral antihistamine; 

(C) bronchodilator; 

(D) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(E) appropriate reversal agents; and 

(F) nitroglycerine. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies. 

(4) The permit holder shall maintain the following 

records for at least 10 years: 

(A) patient's current written medical 

history and pre-operative assessment; 

(B) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration; and 

(C) a sedation record. 

(5) The sedation record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15-minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) status of patient upon discharge; 

(D) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(E) a consent form, signed by the patient 

or guardian, identifying the procedure, 

risks and benefits, level of sedation, 

and date signed. 

(6) During a sedation procedure, the facility shall 

be staffed with at least two BLS certified 

auxiliaries, one of whom shall be directly 

involved in patient monitoring. This 

Subparagraph shall not apply if the permit 

holder is dedicated to patient care and 

monitoring regarding sedation throughout the 

sedation procedure and is not performing the 

surgery or other dental procedure. 

(b)  A minimal conscious sedation permit is not required for 

Schedule IV agents used for anxiolysis prescribed for 

administration outside of the dental office when a dentist 

determines that the patient is capable of following pre-procedure 

instructions. Medication administered for the purpose of minimal 
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conscious sedation shall not exceed the maximum doses 

recommended by the drug manufacturer, sedation textbooks, or 

juried sedation journals. Except for nitrous inhalation, drugs in 

combination are not permitted for minimal conscious sedation. 

During longer periods of minimal conscious sedation, in which 

the amount of time of the procedures exceeds the effective 

duration of the sedative effect of the drug used, the incremental 

doses of the sedative shall not exceed total safe dosage levels 

based on the effective half-life of the drug used. During an 

inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit holder shall 

demonstrate the administration of minimal sedation on a patient 

while the evaluator observes. During the demonstration, the 

applicant or permit holder shall demonstrate competency in the 

following areas: 

(1) monitoring blood pressure, pulse, pulse 

oximetry, and respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions, including 

respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(c)  Each dentist shall: During an inspection or evaluation, the 

applicant or permit holder shall demonstrate competency to the 

evaluator in the treatment of the following clinical emergencies: 

(1) adhere to the clinical requirements as detailed 

in Paragraph (e) of this Rule; laryngospasm; 

(2) maintain under continuous direct supervision 

any auxiliary personnel, who shall be capable 

of assisting in procedures, problems, and 

emergencies incident to the use of minimal 

conscious sedation or secondary to an 

unexpected medical complication; 

bronchospasm; 

(3) utilize auxiliary personnel for each procedure 

performed who shall document annual 

completion of basic life support training; and 

emesis and aspiration; 

(4) not allow a minimal conscious sedation 

procedure to be performed in his or her office 

by a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist 

(CRNA) unless the dentist holds a permit issued 

by the Board for the procedure being 

performed. This provision addresses dentists 

and is not intended to address the scope of 

practice of persons licensed by any other 

agency. respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) allergic reactions; 

(9) convulsions; 

(10) syncope; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(d)  Each dentist shall meet the following requirements: During 

the evaluation, the applicant shall take a written examination on 

the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. The 

applicant must obtain a passing score on the written examination 

by answering 80 percent of the examination questions correctly. 

If the applicant fails to obtain a passing score on the written 

examination that is administered during the evaluation, he or she 

may be reexamined in accordance with Rule .0507(h) of this 

Section. 

(1) Patient Evaluation. Patients who are 

administered minimal conscious sedation must 

be evaluated for medical health risks prior to the 

start of any sedative procedure. A patient 

receiving minimal conscious sedation must be 

healthy or medically stable (ASA I, or ASA II 

as defined by the American Society of 

Anesthesiologists). An evaluation is a review of 

the patient's current medical history and 

medication use. However, for individuals who 

are not medically stable or who have a 

significant health disability Physical Status III 

(ASA III, as defined by the American Society 

of Anesthesiologists) a consultation with their 

primary care physician or consulting medical 

specialist regarding potential procedure risk is 

required. 

(2) Pre-procedure preparation, informed consent: 

(A) The patient or guardian must be 

advised of the procedure associated 

with the delivery of the minimal 

conscious sedation. 

(B) Equipment must be evaluated and 

maintained for operation. 

(C) Baseline vital signs shall be obtained 

at the discretion of the operator 

depending on the medical status of the 

patient and the nature of the procedure 

to be performed. 

(D) Dentists administering minimal 

conscious sedation shall use sedative 

agents that he or she is competent to 

administer and shall administer such 

agents in a manner that is within the 

standard of care. 

(e)  Patient monitoring shall be conducted as follows: A minimal 

conscious sedation permit holder shall evaluate each patient for 

health risks before starting any sedation procedure as follows: 

(1) Patients who have been administered minimal 

conscious sedation shall be monitored during 

waiting periods prior to operative procedures. 

An adult who has accepted responsibility for 

the patient and been given written pre-

procedural instruction may provide such 

monitoring. The patient shall be monitored for 

alertness, responsiveness, breathing and skin 

coloration. The permit holder shall review the 

patient's current medical history and medication 

use and, if the permit holder considers it 

clinically necessary, by the permit holder's 
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consultation with the patient's treating medical 

provider. 

(2) Dentists administering minimal conscious 

sedation shall maintain direct supervision of the 

patient during the operative procedure and for 

such a period of time necessary to establish 

pharmacologic and physiologic vital sign 

stability. A patient who is not medically stable 

or who is ASA III or higher shall be evaluated 

further by the permit holder's consultation with 

the patient's treating primary care physician or 

medical specialist regarding the potential risks 

posed by the procedure the permit holder plans 

to perform. 

(A) Oxygenation. Color of mucosa, skin or 

blood shall be evaluated throughout 

the sedation procedure. Oxygen 

saturation shall be evaluated 

continuously by pulse oximetry, 

except as provided in Paragraph (e)(4) 

of this Rule. 

(B) Ventilation. Observation of chest 

excursions or auscultation of breath 

sounds or both shall be performed. 

(C) Circulation. Blood pressure and pulse 

shall be taken and recorded initially 

and thereafter as appropriate except as 

provided in Paragraph (e)(4) of this 

Rule. 

(D) AED. Dentists administering minimal 

conscious sedation shall maintain a 

functioning automatic external 

defibrillator (AED). 

(3) A time oriented anesthetic record of vital signs 

shall be maintained in the permanent record 

including documentation of individual(s) 

administering the drug and showing the name 

of drug, strength and dosage used. 

(4) If the dentist responsible for administering 

minimal conscious sedation must deviate from 

the requirements set out in this Rule, he or she 

shall document the occurrence of such 

deviation and the reasons for such deviation. 

(f)  Post-operative procedures: monitoring and discharge: 

(1) Following the operative procedure, positive 

pressure oxygen and suction equipment shall be 

available in the recovery area or operatory. 

(2)(1) the The permit holder or a BLS certified 

auxiliary under his or her direct supervision 

shall monitor the patient's vital signs 

throughout the sedation procedure until the 

patient is recovered as defined in Subparagraph 

(f)(4)(f)(2) of this Rule and is ready for 

discharge from the office. 

(3) Patients who have adverse reactions to minimal 

conscious sedation shall be assisted and 

monitored either in an operatory chair or 

recovery area until stable for discharge. 

(4)(2) Recovery from minimal conscious sedation 

shall include: include documentation of the 

following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient who is 

disabled, or patient incapable of the 

usually expected responses, the pre-

sedation level of responsiveness or the 

level as close as possible for that 

patient shall be achieved. 

(5)(3) Prior to allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist permit holder shall determine that 

the patient has met the recovery criteria set out 

in Paragraph (f)(4) Subparagraph (f)(2) of this 

Rule and the following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color color, and level of consciousness 

are sufficient and stable and have been 

documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

person responsible for the patient at 

the time of discharge; and 

(C) a person authorized by the patient 

must be is available to transport the 

patient and for patients for whom a 

motor vehicle restraint system is 

required, an additional individual must 

be available to attend to the patient. 

after discharge. 

(g)  The dentist, personnel and facility shall be prepared to treat 

emergencies that may arise from the administration of minimal 

conscious sedation, and shall have the ability to provide positive 

pressure ventilation with 100% oxygen with an age appropriate 

device. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0506 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

MINIMAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT 

REQUIRED 

(a)  Minimal conscious sedation permits shall be renewed by the 

Board annually at the same time as dental licenses by the permit 

holder paying a renewal fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) and 

completing the renewal application requirements of this Rule. If 

the completed permit renewal application and renewal fee are not 

received in the Board's office before midnight on January 31 of 

each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The 

renewal application shall be submitted electronically through the 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:18 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 15, 2021 

2060 

Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the 

information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a 

report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a minimal conscious 

sedation permit before midnight on March 31 of each year shall 

complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee and late 

fee set out in Paragraph (a), and comply with all conditions for 

renewal set out this Rule. Dentists whose sedation permits have 

been lapsed for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an 

inspection and an evaluation as part of the reinstatement process 

in accordance with Rules .0505 and .0507 of this Section. All 

applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall be in good standing. 

All applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted 

on forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and 

shall include the information required by Rule .0102(f) of this 

Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for 

renewal set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  A dentist who administers minimal conscious sedation in 

violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed 

by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  As a condition for renewal of the minimal conscious sedation 

permit, the permit holder shall meet the clinical and equipment 

requirements of Rule .0505 of this Section and shall document the 

following: 

(1) three hours of continuing education each year 

in one or more of the following areas, which 

shall be counted toward fulfillment of the 

continuing education required each calendar 

year for license renewal: 

(A) sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management; 

(2) unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not 

count towards the three hours of continuing 

education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) 

Rule; 

(3) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have read the 

practice's emergency manual in the preceding 

year; and 

(4) that all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have completed BLS certification 

and, within the past two years, completed three 

hours of continuing education in any of the 

areas set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this 

Rule. 

(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders 

applying for renewal of a minimal conscious sedation permit shall 

be in good standing and their office shall be subject to inspection 

as set out in Rule .0507 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0507 PROCEDURE FOR MINIMAL 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION EVALUATION OR 

INSPECTION AND RE-INSPECTION 

(a)  When an evaluation or on-site inspection is required, the 

Board shall designate one or more persons to serve as evaluators, 

each of whom has administered sedation or general anesthesia in 

accordance with this Subchapter for at least three years preceding 

the inspection. Training in minimal conscious sedation or other 

levels of sedation shall not be counted in the three years. 

(b)  The inspection fee set out in Rule .0504(a) of this Section 

shall be paid no later than 10 days after the applicant or permit 

holder receives notice of the inspection for each additional 

location at which the applicant or permit holder administers 

minimal conscious sedation. 

(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in 

any evaluation or inspection. 

(d)  Each evaluator shall determine compliance with the 

requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by 

assigning a recommended grade of "pass" or "fail." 

(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the 

Board through the Board member serving as the Chair of the 

Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the 

details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee Chair 

shall not be bound by these recommendations. The Committee 

Chair shall determine whether the applicant or permit holder has 

passed the evaluation or inspection and shall notify the applicant 

or permit holder in writing of its decision. 

(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not 

receive a permit to administer minimal conscious sedation. If a 

permit holder's facility fails an inspection, no further minimal 

conscious sedation procedures shall be performed at the facility 

until it passes a re-inspection by the Board. 

(g)  An applicant or permit holder who fails an inspection or 

evaluation may request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 

days of receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be 

directed to the Board in writing and shall include a statement of 

the grounds supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except 

as set forth in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, the Board shall require 

the applicant or permit holder to receive additional training prior 

to the re-evaluation to address the areas of deficiency determined 

by the evaluation. The Board shall notify the applicant in writing 

of the need for additional training. 

(h)  An applicant who failed the written examination portion of 

the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the evaluation and 

inspection may retake the written examination two additional 

times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a minimum of 

72 hours before attempting to retake a written examination. Any 

applicant who failed the written portion of the examination three 

times shall complete an additional Board-approved course of 

study in the areas of deficiency and provide the Board evidence 

of the additional study before written reexamination. 

(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by 

Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation 

or inspection. 

(j)  An applicant must satisfy all the requirements of Rule .0505, 

including passing the written examination, evaluation, and 

inspection, within 12 months of submitting the application to the 

Board. 
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Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39. 

 

 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board and the Board of Nursing intend to amend the rule 

cited as 21 NCAC 32M .0109. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 14, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Public Hearing will be held via teleconference: 1-919-

518-9840; Conference ID: 701 831 13# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In addition to technical changes 

related to wording, amendments to 21 NCAC 32 M .0109 remove 

the requirements of listing the supervising physician's name and 

the NP’s approval number on prescriptions issued by the nurse 

practitioner. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Wanda Long, P.O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619-0007; email rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL OF NURSE 

PRACTITIONERS 

21 NCAC 32M .0109 PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The prescribing stipulations contained in this Rule apply to 

writing prescriptions and ordering the administration of 

medications. 

(b)  Prescribing and dispensing stipulations are as follows: 

(1) Drugs and devices that may be prescribed by 

the nurse practitioner in each practice site shall 

be included in the collaborative practice 

agreement as outlined in Rule .0110(2) of this 

Section. 

(2) Controlled Substances (Schedules II, IIN, III, 

IIIN, IV, V) defined by the State and Federal 

Controlled Substances Acts may be procured, 

prescribed, or ordered as established in the 

collaborative practice agreement, providing all 

of the following requirements are met: 

(A) the nurse practitioner has an assigned 

DEA number that is entered on each 

prescription for a controlled 

substance; 

(B) refills may be issued consistent with 

Controlled Substance laws and 

regulations; and 

(C) the primary supervising physician(s) 

possesses the same shall possess a 

schedule(s) of controlled substances 

as equal to or greater than the nurse 

practitioner's DEA registration. 

(3) The nurse practitioner may prescribe a drug or 

device not included in the collaborative practice 

agreement only as follows: 

(A) upon a specific written or verbal order 

obtained from a primary or back-up 

supervising physician before the 

prescription or order is issued by the 

nurse practitioner; and 

(B) the written or verbal order as described 

in Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be 

entered into the patient record with a 

notation that it is issued on the specific 

order of a primary or back-up 

supervising physician and signed by 

the nurse practitioner and the 

physician. 

(4) Each prescription shall be noted on the patient's 

chart and include the following information: 

(A) medication and dosage; 

(B) amount prescribed; 

(C) directions for use; 

(D) number of refills; and 

(E) signature of nurse practitioner. 

(5) Prescription Format: 

(A) All prescriptions issued by the nurse 

practitioner shall contain the 

supervising physician(s) name, the 

name of the patient, and the nurse 

practitioner's name, name and 

telephone number, and approval 

number. number; 
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(B) The nurse practitioner's assigned DEA 

number shall be written on the 

prescription form when a controlled 

substance is prescribed as defined in 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(6) A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe 

controlled substances, as defined by the State 

and Federal Controlled Substances Acts, for the 

following: 

(A) nurse practitioner's own use; 

(B) nurse practitioner's supervising 

physician; 

(C) a member of the nurse practitioner's 

immediate family, which shall mean: 

(i) spouse; 

(ii) parent; 

(iii) child; 

(iv) sibling; 

(v) parent-in-law; 

(vi) son or daughter-in-law; 

(vii) brother or sister-in-law; 

(viii) step-parent; 

(ix) step-child; or 

(x) step-siblings; 

(D) any other person living in the same 

residence as the licensee; or 

(E) anyone with whom the nurse 

practitioner is having a sexual 

physical, sexual, and/or emotional 

intimate relationship. 

(c)  The nurse practitioner may obtain approval to dispense the 

drugs and devices other than samples included in the collaborative 

practice agreement for each practice site from the Board of 

Pharmacy, and dispense in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1703 

that is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-18.2. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Funeral Service intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 34A .0119 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 34D 

.0302. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

wwww.ncbfs.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 14, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1033 Wade Avenue, Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 27605 

 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 34A .0119 - To set forth the process by which the Board 

shall deliberate and render rulings on disciplinary proceedings. 

21 NCAC 34D .0302 - To remove notary requirements on the 

submission of preneed annual reports. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Stephen Davis, NC Board of 

Funeral Service, 1033 Wade Avenue, Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 

27605 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34A - BOARD FUNCTIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 34A. 0119 LICENSE RENEWAL FORM 

(a)  Immediately upon the conclusion of a disciplinary proceeding 

conducted pursuant to G.S. 150B-38 and upon an adopted motion 

by the Board, the Board shall deliberate on whether an applicant, 

licensee, or permit holder involved has violated a statute or rule 

for which the Board has the authority to enforce, and what 

disciplinary action, if any, should be taken against the applicant, 

licensee, or permit holder. 

(b)  If the Board reaches a decision on the issues set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule immediately upon the conclusion of the 

disciplinary proceeding, the Board shall announce the decision 

but shall provide the parties with an opportunity to submit 

proposed findings of fact and exceptions to the decision to the 

Board's office within 15 days, unless additional time is allowed 

by the Board for good cause shown or upon mutual agreement by 

the parties. For purposes of this Rule, "good cause" shall mean the 

length of the hearing, the complexity of the issues involved, and 

the availability of the parties. 
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(c)  If the Board does not reach a decision on the issues set forth 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule immediately upon the conclusion of 

the disciplinary proceeding, the Board shall provide the parties an 

opportunity to submit proposed findings of fact and conclusions 

of law to the Board's office within 15 days, unless additional time 

is allowed by the Board for good cause shown or upon mutual 

agreement by the parties. The Board shall deliberate on the issues 

set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule at its next Board meeting 

following the parties' deadline to submit the proposed findings of 

fact and conclusions of law. 

(d)  Following the expiration of the time allowed for the parties to 

submit proposed findings and exceptions, the Board shall make a 

written final agency decision in accordance with G.S. 150B-42. 

(e)  Disciplinary costs shall be assessed against an applicant, 

licensee, or permit holder in a written final agency decision that 

results in disciplinary action following a show cause hearing, as 

set forth in G.S. 90-210.23(d1). For purposes of this Rule, 

"disciplinary costs" are actual costs incurred by the Board to 

prosecute the case, including per diems and expenses paid to 

Board members and witnesses, costs for a court reporter and 

transcripts, and costs associated with preparing exhibits. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a), (d); 90-210.23(d1); 150B-11; 150B-

23; 150B-27; 150B-32(a). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34D - PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACTS 

 

SECTION .0300 - OPERATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 34D .0302 ANNUAL REPORT 

Each preneed funeral establishment licensee shall file an annual 

report with the Board. The report shall include the following: 

(1) the total number of standard and inflation-proof 

trust-funded and insurance-funded preneed 

funeral contracts maintained by the licensee; 

(2) the number of contracts sold in the reporting 

period; 

(3) the number of contracts which expired, 

including contracts performed, revoked and 

transferred, in the reporting period; 

(4) the total year-end balance of all preneed trust 

accounts maintained at each financial 

institution; 

(5) the total year-end balance of all insurance-

funded preneed contracts written with each 

insurance company; 

(6) for each preneed contract sold, whether the 

preneed contract is active, performed, 

cancelled, or lapsed; and 

(7) for each active preneed contract, the current 

insurance policy value or trust account balance. 

The annual report shall be verified certified as correct before a 

notary public by the location manager registered under G.S. 90-

210.25(d)(2)a. or by a corporate officer of the preneed 

establishment licensee. The annual report shall be filed not later 

than March 31 each year by each firm holding a preneed 

establishment license at any time during the preceding year 

ending December 31. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.69(a); 90-210.68(a). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Nursing and the Medical Board intend to amend the rule 

cited as 21 NCAC 36 .0809. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbon.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 29, 2021 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  via teleconference: +1 919-670-0362 Conference ID: 

142 791 177# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In addition to technical changes 

related to wording, amendments to 21 NCAC 36 .0809 

Prescribing Authority remove the requirement of listing the 

supervising physician's name and the nurse practitioner's 

approval number on prescriptions issued by the nurse 

practitioner. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129, 

Raleigh, NC 27602-2129; email public.comment@ncbon.com 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 
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SECTION .0800 - APPROVAL AND PRACTICE 

PARAMETERS FOR NURSE PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0809 PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The prescribing stipulations contained in this Rule apply to 

writing prescriptions and ordering the administration of 

medications. 

(b)  Prescribing and dispensing stipulations are as follows: 

(1) Drugs and devices that may be prescribed by 

the nurse practitioner in each practice site shall 

be included in the collaborative practice 

agreement as outlined in Rule .0810(2) of this 

Section. 

(2) Controlled Substances (Schedules II, IIN, III, 

IIIN, IV, V) defined by the State and Federal 

Controlled Substances Acts may be procured, 

prescribed, or ordered as established in the 

collaborative practice agreement, providing all 

of the following requirements are met: 

(A) the nurse practitioner has an assigned 

DEA number that is entered on each 

prescription for a controlled 

substance; 

(B) refills may be issued consistent with 

Controlled Substance laws and 

regulations; and 

(C) the primary supervising physician(s) 

shall possess the same a schedule(s) of 

controlled substances as equal to or 

greater than the nurse practitioner's 

DEA registration. 

(3) The nurse practitioner may prescribe a drug or 

device not included in the collaborative practice 

agreement only as follows: 

(A) upon a specific written or verbal order 

obtained from a primary or back-up 

supervising physician before the 

prescription or order is issued by the 

nurse practitioner; and  

(B) the written or verbal order as described 

in Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be 

entered into the patient record with a 

notation that it is issued on the specific 

order of a primary or back-up 

supervising physician and signed by 

the nurse practitioner and the 

physician. 

(4) Each prescription shall be noted on the patient's 

chart and include the following information: 

(A) medication and dosage; 

(B) amount prescribed; 

(C) directions for use; 

(D) number of refills; and 

(E) signature of nurse practitioner. 

(5) Prescription Format: 

(A) all prescriptions issued by the nurse 

practitioner shall contain the 

supervising physician(s) name, the 

name of the patient, patient and the 

nurse practitioner's name, name and 

telephone number, and approval 

number; number; 

(B) the nurse practitioner's assigned DEA 

number shall be written on the 

prescription form when a controlled 

substance is prescribed as defined in 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(6) A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe 

controlled substances, as defined by the State 

and Federal Controlled Substances Acts, for the 

following: 

(A) nurse practitioner's own use; 

(B) nurse practitioner's supervising 

physician; 

(C) member of the nurse practitioner's 

immediate family, which shall mean a: 

(i) spouse; 

(ii) parent; 

(iii) child; 

(iv) sibling; 

(v) parent-in-law; 

(vi) son or daughter-in-law; 

(vii) brother or sister-in-law; 

(viii) step-parent; 

(ix) step-child; or  

(x) step-siblings; 

(D) any other person living in the same 

residence as the licensee; or 

(E) anyone with whom the nurse 

practitioner is having a physical, 

sexual sexual, and/or emotional 

intimate relationship. 

(c)  The nurse practitioner may obtain approval to dispense the 

drugs and devices other than samples included in the collaborative 

practice agreement for each practice site from the Board of 

Pharmacy, and dispense in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1703 

that is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18.2; 90-18(c)(14); 90-

171.23(b)(14). 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Rule-making Agency: Code Officials Qualification Board 

 

Rule Citation:  11 NCAC 08 .0735, .0736 

 

Effective Date:  February 19, 2021 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  February 

17, 2021 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare. 11 NCAC 08 .0735 was first adopted as 

an emergency rule and then a temporary rule in response to the 

COVID-19 pandemic. At that time, it was unclear how long the 

COVID-19 global pandemic would continue to affect the ability 

of Code Enforcement Officials (CEO's) to take the classes, tests, 

or continuing education courses necessary to obtain or retain 

Permanent certificates in their respective trades. It was expected 

that conditions caused by the pandemic would improve by the first 

quarter of 2021, and that certification classes and continuing 

education testing would become more readily available by that 

time. The Code Officials Qualification Board meets regularly 

each quarter. The ongoing duration of the COVID 19 pandemic, 

subsequent worsening of the COVID-19 pandemic in the past few 

months, and delays in widespread vaccination are serious and 

unforeseen circumstances to the North Carolina Code 

Enforcement Qualifications Board and its partners in the 

community college system, professional associations, and code 

enforcement community.  

It has now become apparent to the Code Officials Qualification 

Board that the circumstances that necessitated the initial 

adoption of this rule as an emergency rule, and then as a 

temporary rule, will remain in effect longer than reasonably 

expected. Due to continuing in person meeting limitations and 

close contact quarantine protocols, certification courses, 

certification tests, and continuing education classes continue to 

be unavailable both in number of seats and in offerings to meet 

the demands of the code enforcement community. Certification 

courses are offered to CEOs through the community college 

system. The community college system has also been unable to 

transition these courses online to offer to CEOs in a safe manner. 

Local inspections jurisdiction have also enacted travel 

restrictions on the out of jurisdiction travel of CEOs in response 

to the pandemic. These travel restrictions have further limited the 

ability of CEOs to travel to the few in person classes and tests that 

are available. Due to in person gathering limits and quarantine 

protocols, local jurisdiction, trade groups, and other 

organizations that routinely offer continuing education classes 

have continued to cancel or greatly restrict continuing education 

course offerings for CEOs.  

In response to these serious and unforeseen circumstances, 

emergency and temporary action is now required to ensure that 

the temporary certificates that were issued under this 

administrative rule do not expire during the still uncertain 

pendency of the COVID-19 global health pandemic. Temporary 

amendment to 11 NCAC 08 .0735, under emergency and 

temporary procedures, is required to ensure that temporary 

certificate holders remain able to maintain their employment with 

their local jurisdictions performing the vital function of building 

and code inspections. Temporary adoption of 11 NCAC 08 .0736 

is now required to ensure that CEOs have an immediate 

continuing education option available to them, offered in a safe 

online setting, to satisfy their yearly continuing education 

requirement to keep their permanent certificates active. 

 

CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0700 - QUALIFICATION BOARD-STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0735 TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE 

(a)  A temporary certificate shall be issued without examination 

or additional application to any code enforcement official (CEO) 

who currently possesses a probationary certificate that expires 

between March 12, 2020 and August 31, 2021. The application 

the CEO initially submitted to obtain the probationary certificate 

shall provide the basis for issuing the temporary certificate. 

(b)  A temporary certificate shall authorize the CEO, during the 

effective period of the certificate, to hold the position of the type, 

level, and location that corresponds to the probationary certificate 

the applicant previously received. The certificate shall specify the 

type and level of code enforcement in which the CEO may engage 

and may be conditioned upon his or her having supervision from 

an official with the specified certification or qualifications 

included on the CEO's probationary certificate application. 

(c)  The temporary certificate shall be effective for the period of 

March 12, 2020 through December 31, 2021 and shall not be 

renewed. During this period of time, the official shall complete 

the requirements set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 to qualify for the 

appropriate standard certificate. 

(d)  A CEO who is issued a temporary certificate that the CEO no 

longer needs or wants shall return the temporary certificate, within 

30 days, to the Engineering and Codes Division of Department of 

Insurance for cancellation. 

(e)  A temporary certificate shall remain valid only so long as the 

person certified is employed by the State or a local government as 

a code enforcement official of the type and level indicated on the 

certificate. If the person certified leaves such employment for any 

reason, he or she shall return the certificate to the Board. 
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(f)  A CEO with only a temporary certificate and no standard or 

limited certificate is not required to complete any continuing 

education courses. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 20, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. February 19, 2021. 

 

SECTION .0700 - QUALIFICATION BOARD-STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0736 FY 2020-2021 SPECIAL CE 

REQUIREMENT 

Every Code Enforcement Official (CEO) is required to complete 

a one-hour course titled CS4424 Chapter 160D offered by the NC 

Department of Insurance on https://www.ncosfm.gov/ on or 

before June 30, 2021. A CEO who has not yet completed the 

continuing education hour requirement specified in 11 NCAC 08 

.0713(c) for the period ending June 30, 2020 or the period ending 

June 30, 2021 may fully satisfy that requirement for either time 

period by completing CS4424 Chapter 160D. Completion of this 

course will satisfy the annual professional development program 

credit hour requirement needed for every standard certificate held 

by the CEO. Completion of CS4424 Chapter 160D will satisfy the 

continuing education hours needed by the CEO for either the 

fiscal year ending June 30, 2020 or June 30, 2021, but not both. 

Any continuing education hour credits held by the CEO prior to 

completion of the CS4424 Chapter 160D can be rolled over and 

applied towards their 2021 or 2022 continuing education hour 

requirement. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13A; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. February 19, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Funeral Service 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 34B .0707; 34C .0202 

 

Effective Date:  February 19, 2021 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  February 

11, 2021 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  Since January 1, 2021, the number of daily deaths in North 

Carolina related to COVID-19 has continued to escalate at an 

unprecedented rate, putting significant strain on practitioners in 

the death care industry to ensure that unembalmed decedents are 

properly stored and maintained until final disposition.  Rule 21 

NCAC 34B .0707 regulates a funeral establishment's use of 

temporary refrigeration units and off-site refrigeration units, to 

ensure proper protocols for a decedent's identification, care, and 

chain of custody.  Rule 21 NCAC 34C .0202 regulates a 

crematory's use of temporary refrigeration units and off-site 

refrigeration units, to ensure proper protocols for a decedent's 

identification, care, and chain of custody. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34B - FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

SECTION .0700 - PREPARATION OF DEAD BODIES 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0707 REFRIGERATION 

(a)  Any refrigeration unit procured and maintained by a funeral 

establishment must satisfy the following requirements: 

(1) be capable of storing at least three adult human 

bodies, each measuring up to seven feet in 

length and three hundred pounds in weight, in 

the holding facility; 

(2) be capable of maintaining an interior 

temperature of 40 degrees Fahrenheit while 

loaded with the maximum number of bodies for 

which it is designed; 

(3) shall have sealed concrete, stainless steel, 

galvanized, aluminum, or other flooring in 

walk-in units; 

(4) shall have stainless steel, aluminum, or other 

non-corrosive materials for the remainder of all 

units; and 

(5) be subject to inspection by Board inspectors at 

all times. 

(b)  Upon declaration of a state of emergency, as provided in G.S. 

166A-19.20, the Board shall allow, for a period not to exceed the 

length of the emergency declaration, funeral establishments to 

procure and maintain one or more temporary refrigeration units. 

Any such temporary refrigeration unit must satisfy the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(2)-(5) of this Rule. 

Any such temporary refrigeration unit not located inside the 

funeral establishment shall be kept locked at all times when 

human remains are stored inside. 

(c)  Human remains stored in a refrigeration unit, as set forth in 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, must be kept in a container 

than complies with G.S. 90-210.121(9)(b)-(f). 

(d)  Prior to using a refrigeration unit that is not located on its 

premises, a funeral establishment shall provide the Board with a 

written document that sets forth the following: 

(1) the name, contact information, and license 

number, if applicable, of the entity that owns 

the property on which the refrigeration unit is 

located; 

(2) the physical address of the property on which 

the refrigeration unit is located; 

(3) the name, contact information, and license 

number, if applicable, of the entity responsible 

for maintaining the refrigeration unit that meets 

the requirements of Paragraphs (a) and (b) of 

this Rule; 
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(4) certification from both the licensed manager of 

the funeral establishment and an officer, owner, 

member, or partner of the entity responsible for 

maintaining the refrigeration unit in compliance 

with Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, 

acknowledging that: 

(A) the funeral establishment shall use the 

refrigeration unit for the storage of 

human remains; 

(B) the refrigeration unit complies with 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule; 

(C) a log documenting the chain of 

possession of human remains shall be 

maintained, which sets forth the name 

of the decedent, the funeral 

establishment or other entity for whom 

the human remains are being stored, 

and the date and time that human 

remains are placed inside and removed 

from the refrigeration unit; 

(D) the Board inspectors shall have access 

to the refrigeration unit at all times; 

(E) any licensee or permit holder that uses 

or maintains a refrigeration unit that is 

not compliant with this Rule is subject 

to disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 

210.25(d)(4) and 90-210.25(e)(1)(j). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23; 90-210.27A(h), (l); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. February 19, 2021. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34C - CREMATORIES 

 

SECTION .0200 - EQUIPMENT AND PROCESSING 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0202 REFRIGERATION 

(a)  Crematory and hydrolysis licensees shall have located on its 

premises a refrigeration unit that: capable of storing at least three 

adult human bodies, each measuring up to seven feet in length and 

three hundred pounds in weight, in the holding facility. Each 

refrigeration unit required by this Rule shall be capable of 

maintaining an interior temperature of 40 degrees Fahrenheit 

while loaded with the maximum number of bodies for which it is 

designed; shall be a sealed concrete, stainless steel, galvanized, 

aluminum, or other flooring in walk-in units; and shall be stainless 

steel, aluminum, or other non-corrosive materials for the 

remainder of all units. 

(1) is capable of storing at least three adult human 

bodies, each measuring up to seven feet in 

length and three hundred pounds in weight, in 

the holding facility; 

(2) is capable of maintaining an interior 

temperature of 40 degrees Fahrenheit while 

loaded with the maximum number of bodies for 

which it is designed; 

(3) has sealed concrete, stainless steel, galvanized, 

aluminum, or other flooring in walk-in units; 

and 

(4) has stainless steel, aluminum, or other non-

corrosive materials for the remainder of all 

units. 

(b)  A refrigeration unit in compliance with Subparagraphs (a)(1)-

(4) of this Rule shall satisfy a crematory or hydrolysis licensee's 

compliance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule if the refrigeration unit 

is housed in a funeral establishment, crematory, or hydrolysis 

licensee sharing common ownership with, and located on the 

same contiguous piece of property as, the crematory or hydrolysis 

licensee. 

(b)(c)  Unembalmed human remains retained in the custody of a 

crematory or hydrolysis licensee for more than 24 hours prior to 

cremation or hydrolysis shall be kept in a refrigeration unit. 

Human remains stored in a refrigeration unit, as set forth in 

Paragraphs (a) and (c) of this Rule, must be kept in a container 

than complies with G.S. 90-210.121(9)(a)-(f). Upon declaration 

of a state of emergency, as provided in G.S. 166A-19.20, the 

Board shall allow, for a period not to exceed the length of the 

emergency declaration, a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to 

procure and maintain one or more temporary refrigeration units. 

Any such temporary refrigeration unit must satisfy the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(4) of this Rule. 

Any such temporary refrigeration unit not located inside the 

crematory shall be kept locked at all times when human remains 

are stored inside. 

(d)  Prior to using a refrigeration unit that is not located on its 

premises, a crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall provide the 

Board with a written document that sets forth the following: 

(1) the name, contact information, and license 

number, if applicable, of the entity that owns 

the property on which the refrigeration unit is 

located; 

(2) the physical address of the property on which 

the refrigeration unit is located; 

(3) the name, contact information, and license 

number, if applicable, of the entity responsible 

for maintaining the refrigeration unit that meets 

the requirements of Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(4) of 

this Rule; 

(4) certification from both the manager of the 

crematory and an officer, owner, member, or 

partner of the entity responsible for maintaining 

the refrigeration unit in compliance with 

Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(4) of this Rule, 

acknowledging that: 

(A) the crematory or hydrolysis licensee 

shall use the refrigeration unit for the 

storage of human remains; 

(B) the refrigeration unit complies with 

Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(4) of this Rule; 

(C) a log documenting the chain of 

possession of human remains shall be 

maintained, which sets forth the name 

of the decedent, the funeral 

establishment or other entity for whom 

the human remains are being stored, 

and the date and time that human 

remains are placed inside and removed 

from the refrigeration unit; 
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(D) the Board inspectors shall have access 

to the refrigeration unit at all times; 

(E) any licensee or permit holder that uses 

or maintains a refrigeration unit that is 

not compliant with this Rule is subject 

to disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 

210.25(d)(4) and 90-210.25(e)(1)(j). 

(c)  The provisions of this Rule shall not be construed to require a 

crematory facility and hydrolysis facility that share common 

ownership and are located on a single contiguous piece of 

property to maintain more than one refrigeration unit. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.121(9),(12); 90-210.123(g); 

90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Recodified from Rule .0201 Eff. July 7, 1992; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. February 19, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission February 18, 2021 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Vacant Vacant 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 March 18, 2021 May 20, 2021 
 April 15, 2021 June 17, 2021 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

February 18, 2021 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, February 18, 2021 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting to ensure compliance with 
Executive Orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting was conducted in accordance 
with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.  
 
Commissioners present via WebEx were Bobby Bryan, Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, 
Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell. 
 
Staff member Alex Burgos was present in the Commission room. Commission Counsel Amber May, Amanda Reeder, and 
Ashley Snyder were present via WebEx. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the January 21, 2021 meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6. Voting in the negative: 
None.   
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow-up matters for the State Board of Education Tabs C and D, and Department of Transportation Tab E. 
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FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Department of Public Safety 
14B NCAC 19A .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104; 19B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, 0105, .0106, .0107; and 19C .0101 - The 
agency is addressing the technical change requests from the January meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
State Board of Education  
16 NCAC 06B .0114 - The agency is addressing the objection from the January meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06D .0307, .0308, .0311; 06E .0204, and .0206 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call 
vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, 
Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
16 NCAC 06D .0311 - The rule received over 10 letters of objection and will be subject to legislative review and a delayed 
effective date in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3. 
 
16 NCAC 06G .0508 – In November, the Commission determined the rewritten version of 16 NCAC 06G .0508 met the 
Commission’s objections but the changes were substantial, and the agency would need to re-publish the rule. No action 
was required by the Commission. 
 
State Board of Education  
16 NCAC 06D .0309 – Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul 
Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
The rule received over 10 letters of objection and will be subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3.  
 
Department of Transportation  
Prior to the review of the rules from the Department of Transportation, Commissioner Bryan recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because his family is currently involved in litigation with the 
Department. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission waived Rule 26 NCAC 05 .0103 and allowed the submission of untimely written 
comments regarding the rules by a roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna 
Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
During the review of the rules from the Department of Transportation, Commissioner Choi left the meeting and did not return. 
19A NCAC 02E .0204 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved contingent upon a technical change of adding 
G.S. 160D-912 to the history note by roll-call vote, ayes 4, noes 1 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, 
Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, and Randy Overton – 4.  Voting in the negative: Paul Powell.  
 
The technical change was subsequently received.  
 
19A NCAC 02E .0206 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 5, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 5. Voting in the negative: 
None.   
 
19A NCAC 02E .0225 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 4, noes 1 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, and Randy Overton – 4. Voting in the negative: Paul Powell.   
The rules received over 10 letters of objection and will be subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3. 
 
TJ Bugbee, Executive Director with the North Carolina Outdoor Advertising Association, addressed the Commission. 
 
Craig Justus with Van Winkle, Buck, Wall, Starnes, and Davis, P.A., addressed the Commission. 
 
Dale McKeel, Board member with Scenic North Carolina, addressed the Commission.    
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Tom Miller, retired from the Department of Justice, addressed the Commission. 
 
Jack Cozort, representing the Town of Cary and City of Wilson, addressed the Commission. 
 
Jennifer Robinson, City Council member from the Town of Cary and President of the League of Municipalities, addressed 
the Commission. 
 
Karen Sindelar, Retired Senior Assistant Attorney with the City of Durham, addressed the Commission.   
 
Ebony Pittman with the Department of Justice and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board  
02 NCAC 42 .0201 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in 
the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell 
– 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Commission for Mental Health, Development Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services  
10A NCAC 26F .0106 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul 
Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Industrial Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Environmental Management Commission  
15A NCAC 02Q .0203 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul 
Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
The rule received over 10 letters of objection and will be subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3. 
 
Department of Environmental Quality  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
State Board of Education  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Board of Funeral Service  
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Funeral Service, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides general legal advice to the Board, including 
matters involving rulemaking. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:18 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 15, 2021 

2072 

Building Code Council 
Residential Code, N1101.13(R401.2) – Upon the call of the Chair the Commission voted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 to ask 
the Office of State Budget and Management (OSBM) to determine if the rule has a substantial economic impact and 
therefore requires a fiscal note.  A response from OSBM to this request pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 will assist the 
Commission in determining whether the agency adopted the rule in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.  The 
determination to send the rule to OSBM was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
This rule will remain under the Commission’s review until after review by OSBM and subsequent action by the agency 
pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12.   
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the remaining rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 
7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
Commissioners Atkins and Bryan were appointed to review the OAH rule coming before the Commission at the March 
meeting. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 11:23 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, March 18, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting February 18, 2021 
Held Via WebEx 

   

Name   Agency  

Kevin Harrison SBOE 

Ryke Longest Duke University 

Grey Vick Grey Outdoor 

Mark Stocks  

Ervin Lane DENR 

Dennis Seavers Barber Examiners 

Jessica Macari DOJ 

Kim Evans SBOE 

Robert Nauseef ABC 

Pudge BC Company 

Carl Martin SBOE 

Emily Jones DOT 

Renee Metz ABC  

Chris Colvin Lamar Advertising 

Allison Meade Meade Law 

Sarah Bales Brubaker & Associates 

Chris And Robin 
 

Deanna Townsend-Smith SBOE 

Elizabeth Ouzts 
 

P W NCACC 

Michael Peters Adams Outdoor 

Cassie Gavin Sierra Club 

Mary Asbill Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories 

Jennifer Everett DEQ 

Amy Mull OAH 

Jessica Montie DENR 

Daniel Johnson DOT 

Tj Bugbee NCOAA 

Patrick Knowlson DENR 

Renee Metz ABC 

Stephen Benjamin Agriculture 

Robert Privott NCHBA 

John Schafer 
 

Thomas Ziko SBOE 

Lou Martin SBOE 

Ebony Pittman DOT 

Walker Reagan ABC 

Jennifer Robinson SAS: Analytics 

Vincent Fazio  

Joelle Burleson DENR 

Emily McGraw DOT 

Jack Cozort Town of Cary and City of Wilson 

Crista Cuccaro City of Durham 
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Dale McKeel  

Craig Justus Van Winkle, Buck, Wall, Starnes, and Davis, P.A 

Tom Miller  

Karen Sindelar  

Gina Cammarano IC 

Seth Kandl ABC 

Katherine Quinlan  

Denise Baker DHHS 

Brandon Walker SBOE 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

February 18, 2021 Meeting 

GASOLINE AND OIL INSPECTION BOARD 

Standard Specifications 02 NCAC 42 .0201 

 

MENTAL HEALTH/DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

Schedule V 10A NCAC 26F .0106 

 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23A .0109 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23B .0105 

Duties of Parties, Representatives, and Attorneys 11 NCAC 23G .0104 

 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Records Required 14B NCAC 15A .1405 

Mixed Beverages Permit/Invoice Form 14B NCAC 15A .1802 

Delivery of Mixed Beverages Permittee Orders 14B NCAC 15A .1903 

Transportation of Mixed Beverages Permittee Orders 14B NCAC 15A .1904 

Purchase Transportation Permit/Purchase Invoice Form 14B NCAC 15B .0501 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Permit and Application Fees 15A NCAC 02Q .0203 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .1501 

Application Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1502 

Standards for Qualification for Tax Certification 15A NCAC 13B .1503 

Recycling Process 15A NCAC 13B .1504 

Recycling Equipment 15A NCAC 13B .1505 

Incidental or Supportive Facilities and Equipment 15A NCAC 13B .1506 

Operational Requirements for Facilities and Equipment 15A NCAC 13B .1507 

Application for Tax Certification 15A NCAC 13B .1508 

Severability 15A NCAC 13B .1510 

Facilities for Reducing Hazardous Waste Generated 15A NCAC 13B .1512 

Equipment for Reducing Hazardous Waste Generated 15A NCAC 13B .1513 

Appeals Procedure 15A NCAC 13B .1514 
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EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Test Administration 16 NCAC 06D .0302 

Accountability Coordinator 16 NCAC 06D .0303 

End-of-Course Assessments 16 NCAC 06D .0305 

Testing Code of Ethics 16 NCAC 06D .0306 

Test Administration in Public Schools 16 NCAC 06D .0307 

Role of the Testing Coordinator 16 NCAC 06D .0308 

Requirements of End-of-Course Assessments 16 NCAC 06D .0309 

Testing Code of Ethics 16 NCAC 06D .0311 

Interscholastic Athletics 16 NCAC 06E .0202 

Athletic Injury Management 16 NCAC 06E .0203 

Interscholastic Athletes 16 NCAC 06E .0204 

Athletic Trainers 16 NCAC 06E .0206 

 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Local Zoning Authorities 19A NCAC 02E .0204 

Applications 19A NCAC 02E .0206 

Repair/Maintenance/Alteration/Reconstruction of Signs 19A NCAC 02E .0225 

 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

Waiver 21 NCAC 34A .0128 

Renewals: Notices 21 NCAC 34B .0308 

 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Building Code/Definitions Chapter 2 

2018 NC Building Code/Residential Care Homes 428.2 

2018 NC Building Code/Licensed Small Residential Care Fac... 428.3 

2018 NC Residential Code/Accessory Structures R101.2.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Demolition R328 

2018 NC Residential Code/Retaining Walls R404.4 

2018 NC Residential Code/Drip Edge R905.2.8.5 

2018 NC Residential Code/Roof Replacement R908.3 

2018 NC Residential Code/Tying at Corners R4603.6.1 

2018 NC Residential Code/Bracing of Pilings R4603.6.2 

2018 NC Fire Code/Definitions Chapter 2 

2018 NC Fire Code/Ceiling Clearance 315.3.1 

2018 NC Fire Code and Building Code/Group A 907.2.1 

2018 NC Fire Code/Height 2303.2.1 

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Definitions Chapter 2 

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Carbon Monoxide Alarms in ... 402.6 

2018 NC Fuel Gas Code/Definitions 202 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Definitions Chapter 2 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Water Closets, Urinals, Lavatories ... 405.3.1 

2018 NC Administrative Code/Site Address Signage 106.4 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 

Selina Malherbe    Michael Byrne 

     Karlene Turrentine 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

      Published      
16 DHR 03629 1/20/2021 Community Helps 

Network LLC 

v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services Division of Medical 

Assistance (DMA) and Eastepointe 

Human Services (Eastpointe) 

May 

20 DHR 02507 1/28/2021 Orlando McCullough 

owner/operator 

Honeybees Nest 

Learning Center LLC  

v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Div of Child Dev 

and Early Education 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 03502 1/22/2021 Wayne D Joiner  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services 

Byrne 

  
          

 

19 DOA 05891 1/14/2021 Corvel Enterprise Comp 

Inc  

v. North Carolina Department of 

Administration Division of Purchase 

and Contract and the North Carolina 

Office of State Human Resources 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

20 DOJ 03444 1/29/2021 Michael Douglas Wise  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Byrne 

  
          

 

20 OSP 01100 1/6/2021 Regina McLymore  v. NC Department of Public Safety 

Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice 

Byrne 

20 OSP 01101 1/29/2021 Andrew Larcell 

McArthur  

v. North Carolina Central University Lassiter 

  
          

 

20 SOS 02582 1/22/2021 John Finley Jr  v. Department of the Secretary of State Malherbe 
  

          
 

  
    Unpublished     

 

20 BOE 02691 1/7/2021 Aaron Martin  v. NC State Board of Elections Sutton 
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20 BOE 04155 1/21/2021 Michael M Hunt Sr  v. NCSBE Mann 
  

          
 

20 CPS 03995 1/21/2021 Tiffany King  v. Victim Compensation Jacobs 
  

          
 

19 CSE 05798 1/12/2021 Rashawn Jordan  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

19 CSE 06135 1/22/2021 Trudyann Brown  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Section 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 03632 1/26/2021 Rodney T Tyson  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 04136 1/19/2021 Donald W Swayne  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04226 1/11/2021 Donald Mabe  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04285 1/11/2021 Alexzandria Williams  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 04319 1/12/2021 Robert A Fitzgerald  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04320 1/5/2021 Jackson Adamczak  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04553 1/26/2021 Roger Lee Johnson Jr  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Section 

May 

  
          

 

20 DAG 03080 1/19/2021 Nicole Jones Loving 

Pup Resort  

v. North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Veterinary Division 

May 

  
          

 

20 DCS 03958 1/5/2021 Nicole Mosteller  v. NC Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

  
          

 

20 DHR 03950 1/22/2021 James Elbert Sutton  v. DHHS Mann 

20 DHR 04975 1/6/2021 Pamela R Carr  v. Child and Adult Care Food Program 

Courtney Jones 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

20 SOS 03889 1/22/2021 Craven County Partners 

in Education  

v. NC Department of the Secretary of 

State, Charitable Solicitation 

Licensing Division 

Mann 

 


