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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to adopt the rules cited as 

15A NCAC 18E .0101-.0105, .0201-.0207, .0301-.0305, .0401-

.0403, .0501-.0510, .0601, .0602, .0701-.0703, .0801-.0805, 

.0901-.0911, .1001, .1002, .1101-.1106, .1201-.1206, .1301-

.1307, .1401-.1406, .1501-.1505, .1601-.1603, .1701-.1713 and 

repeal the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18A .1934, .1935, .1937-

.1962, and .1964-.1971. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:   

15A NCAC 18E .0401-.0403, .0508, .1301, and .1708 - Subject to 

Legislative Review 

15A NCAC 18A .1934, .1935, .1937-.1962, .1964-.1971; 18E 

.0101-.0105, .0201-.0207, .0301-.0305, .0501-.0507, .0509, 

.0510, .0601, .0602, .0701-.0703, .0801-.0805, .0901-.0911, 

.1001, .1002, .1101-.1106, .1201-.1206, .1302-.1307, .1401-

.1406, .1501-.1505, .1601-.1603, .1701-.1707, .1709-.1713 – July 

1, 2021  

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 7, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code) 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The on-site wastewater treatment 

system rules have not been updated as a complete package since 

1990. In the intervening 31 years, the industry has seen many 

technological advances, terminology has been standardized, and 

practical knowledge has been enhanced. For that reason, this 

rulemaking effort proposes to repeal the existing rules in 15A 

NCAC 18A Section .1900 and replace them with a new set of rules 

to be codified in 15A NCAC 18E. The new proposed rules update, 

clarify, and align the state’s on-site wastewater rules with current 

practice and law, facilitate innovation, standardize terminology, 

and improve organization and consistency of application across 

the state. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  April 30, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 

the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by 

the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the 

rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-

21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 

5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves 

the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, 

delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further 

questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Rule(s) is automatically subject to legislative review. Cite 

statutory reference: SL 2015-147 s.1 (15A NCAC 18E .0508); 

SL 2015-147 s.2 (15A NCAC 18E .1301); SL 2014-120 s.47 (15A 

NCAC 18E .1708); SL 2013-413, s.34 and SL 2014-120 s.53 (15A 

NCAC 18E .0401, .0402, .0403) 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .1900 - SEWAGE TREATMENT AND 

DISPOSAL SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1934 SCOPE 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1935 DEFINITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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15A NCAC 18A .1937 PERMITS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1938 RESPONSIBILITIES 

 

Authority G.S. 89C; 89E; 89F; 90A; 130A-335(e),(f). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1939 SITE EVALUATION 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1940 TOPOGRAPHY AND 

LANDSCAPE POSITION 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1941 SOIL CHARACTERISTICS 

(MORPHOLOGY) 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1942 SOIL WETNESS CONDITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1943 SOIL DEPTH 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1944 RESTRICTIVE HORIZONS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1945 AVAILABLE SPACE 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1946 OTHER APPLICABLE 

FACTORS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1947 DETERMINATION OF 

OVERALL SITE SUITABILITY 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1948 SITE CLASSIFICATION 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1949 SEWAGE FLOW RATES FOR 

DESIGN UNITS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1950 LOCATION OF SANITARY 

SEWAGE SYSTEMS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1951 APPLICABILITY OF RULES 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1952 SEPTIC TANK, EFFLUENT 

FILTER, DOSING TANK AND LIFT STATION DESIGN 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335 (e)(f)(f1)[2nd]. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1953 PREFABRICATED SEPTIC 

TANKS AND PUMP TANKS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335 (e)(f)f1)[2nd]. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1954 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

PRECAST REINFORCED CONCRETE TANKS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335 (e)(f)f1)[2nd]. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1955 DESIGN INSTALLATION 

CRITERIA FOR CONVENTIONAL SEWAGE SYSTEMS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335 (e)(f)(f1)[2nd]. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1956 MODIFICATIONS TO SEPTIC 

TANK SYSTEMS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1957 CRITERIA FOR DESIGN OF 

ALTERNATIVE SEWAGE SYSTEMS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f); 130A-342. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1958 NON-GROUND ABSORPTION 

SEWAGE TREATMENT SYSTEMS 

 

Authority G.S. 89C; 89E; 89F; 90A; 130A-335. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1959 PRIVY CONSTRUCTION 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1960 MAINTENANCE OF PRIVIES 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1961 MAINTENANCE OF SEWAGE 

SYSTEMS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f); 

Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. June 30, 1990, for a period 

of 180 days to expire on December 27, 1990; 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 
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Amended Eff. August 1, 1991; October 1, 1990; January 1, 1990; 

August 1, 1988; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 20, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1962 APPLICABILITY 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1964 INTERPRETATION AND 

TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1965 APPEALS PROCEDURE 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1966 SEVERABILITY 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1967 INJUNCTIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1968 PENALTIES 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1969 APPROVAL AND PERMITTING 

OF ON-SITE SUBSURFACE WASTEWATER SYSTEMS, 

TECHNOLOGIES, COMPONENTS, OR DEVICES 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f); 130A-343. 

 

 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1970 ADVANCED WASTEWATER 

PRETREATMENT SYSTEM 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335; 130A-336; 130A-337; 

130A-340; 130A-342; 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1971 ENGINEERED OPTION PERMIT 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336.1. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18E – WASTEWATER TREATMENT 

AND DISPERSAL SYSTEMS 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0101 SCOPE 

The rules contained in this Subchapter shall govern wastewater 

treatment and dispersal from wastewater systems, as defined in 

G.S. 130A-334(15), serving single or multiple-family residences, 

places of business, or places of public assembly. The wastewater 

system shall be designed to prevent the discharge of effluent to 

the land surface, surface waters, or into groundwater, except as 

allowed when used in conjunction with an RCW system as set 

forth in Rule .1002 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-333; 130A-334(15); 130A-335(a), (b), and 

(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0102 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  The rules of this Subchapter shall not apply to wastewater 

systems in use prior to July 1, 1977, unless the DDF or wastewater 

strength increases. 

(b)  Prior to any increase in DDF or wastewater strength for an 

existing facility, the owner shall submit an application in 

accordance with Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, all wastewater 

systems shall comply with Section .1300 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0103 INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE 

For this Subchapter, the following rules, standards, and other materials are hereby incorporated by reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. Table I lists the agency, document title, contact information, and terms for access to referenced documents. 

 

Table I: Rules, standards, and other materials incorporated by reference 

USDA-NRCS 

Soil Survey Laboratory Information 

Manual, Soil Survey Investigations Report 

No. 45 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/main/soils/ref/ 

Kellogg Soil Survey Laboratory Methods 

Manual, Soil Survey Investigation Report 

No. 42 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/main/soils/ref/ 

Field Book for Describing and Sampling 

Soils 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/main/soils/ref/copy or 

U. S. Government Publishing Office, P. O. Box 979050, St. Louis, MO, 

63197-9000 

Guide to Soil Texture by Feel, Journal of 

Agronomic Education 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/detail/soils/edu/?cid=nrcs14

2p2_054311 
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National Engineering Handbook, Part 624 

(Drainage), Chapter 10 (Water Table 

Control); Part 630 (Hydrology), Chapter 18; 

Part 650 (Engineering Field Handbook), 

Chapter 14 (Water Management, Drainage) 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/detail/mi/technical/engineer

ing  

National Electrical Manufacturers Association 

1300 North 17th Street, Suite 900, Arlington, VA 22209 

www.nema.org 

Standard 250 – Enclosures for Electrical 

Equipment 

One hundred twenty four dollars ($124.00) 

U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 

U. S. EPA/NSCEP 

P. O. Box 42419, Cincinnati, OH 45242-0419 

Method 9080 – Cation Exchange Capacity 

of Soils 

Available at no charge at: 

https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846/sw-846-test-method-9080-cation-

exchange-capacity-soils-ammonium-acetate 

ASTM International 

100 Barr Harbor Drive, P.O. Box C700, West Conshohocken, PA 19438-2959 

http://www.astm.org 

C564 – Standard Specifications for Rubber 

Gaskets for Cast Iron Soil Pipe and Fittings 

Forty six dollars ($46.00) each plus seven dollars and forty four cents 

($7.44) shipping and handling 

C890 – Standard Practice for Minimum 

Structural Design Loading for Monolithic 

or Sectional Precast Concrete Water and 

Wastewater Structures 

Fifty two dollars ($52.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy one 

cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

C923 – Standard Specifications for 

Resilient Connectors Between Reinforced 

Concrete Manhole Structures, Pipes, and 

Laterals 

Forty six dollars ($46.00) each plus seven dollars and forty four cents 

($7.44) shipping and handling 

C990 – Standard Specifications for Joints 

for Concrete Pipe, Manholes, and Precast 

Box Sections Using Preformed Flexible 

Joint Sealants 

Forty six dollars ($46.00) each plus seven dollars and forty four cents 

($7.44) shipping and handling 

C1644 – Standard Specification for 

Resilient Connectors Between Reinforced 

Concrete On-Site Wastewater Tanks and 

Pipes 

Fifty two dollars ($52.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy one 

cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

D448 – Standard Classification for Sizes of 

Aggregate for Road and Bridge 

Construction 

Forty six dollars ($46.00) each plus seven dollars and forty four cents 

($7.44) shipping and handling 

D1784 – Standard Specification for Rigid 

Poly (Vinyl Chloride)(PVC) Compounds 

and Chlorinated Poly (Vinyl 

Chloride)(CPVC) Compounds 

Forty six dollars ($46.00) each plus seven dollars and forty four cents 

($7.44) shipping and handling 

D1785 – Standard Specifications for Poly 

(Vinyl Chloride)(PVC) Plastic Pipe, 

Schedules 40, 80, and 120 

Fifty eight dollars ($58.00) plus fourteen dollars and seventy one cents 

($14.71) shipping and handling 

D2241 – Standard Specification for Poly 

(Vinyl Chloride)(PVC) Pressure-Rated Pipe 

(SDR Series) 

Fifty two dollars ($52.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy one 

cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

D2466 – Standard Specification for Poly 

(Vinyl Chloride)(PVC) Plastic Pipe 

Fittings, Schedule 40 

Fifty two dollars ($52.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy one 

cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

D2564 – Standard Specification for Solvent 

Cements for Poly (Vinyl Chloride)(PVC) 

Plastic Piping Systems 

Fifty two dollars ($52.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy one 

cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2021 

1853 

D2729 – Standard Specification for Poly 

(Vinyl Chloride)(PVC) Sewer Pipe and 

Fittings 

Fifty two dollars ($52.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy one 

cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

D2774 – Standard Practice for Underground 

Installation of Thermoplastic Pressure 

Piping 

Fifty two dollars ($52.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy one 

cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

D3034 – Standard Specification for Type 

PSM Poly (Vinyl Chloride)(PVC) Sewer 

Pipe and Fittings 

Fifty eight dollars ($58.00) plus fourteen dollars and seventy one cents 

($14.71) shipping and handling 

D6913 – Standard Test Methods for 

Particle-Size Distribution (Gradation) of 

Soils Using Sieve Analysis 

Seventy five dollars ($75.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy 

one cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

D7928 – Standard Test Method for Particle-

Size Distribution (Gradation) of Fine-

Grained Soils Using the Sedimentation 

(Hydrometer) Analysis 

Seventy five dollars ($75.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy 

one cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

F667 – Standard Specification for 3 through 

24 in. Corrugated Polyethylene Pipe and 

Fittings 

Fifty two dollars ($52.00) each plus fourteen dollars and seventy one 

cents ($14.71) shipping and handling 

F810 – Standard Specification for 

Smoothwall Polyethylene (PE) Pipe for Use 

in Drainage and Waste Disposal Absorption 

Fields 

Forty six dollars ($46.00) each plus seven dollars and forty four cents 

($7.44) shipping and handling 

North Carolina Administrative Code 

15A NCAC 01O – Environmental Health Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2001%20-

%20departmental%20rules/subchapter%20o/subchapter%20o%20rule

s.html  

15A NCAC 02B – Surface Water and 

Wetland Standards 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20b/subchapter%20

b%20rules.pdf 

15A NCAC 02C – Well Construction 

Standards 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20c/subchapter%20

c%20rules.pdf  

15A NCAC 02H – Procedures for Permits: 

Approvals 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20h/15a%20ncac%2

002h%20.0101.pdf  

15A NCAC 02L – Groundwater 

Classification and Standards 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20l/subchapter%20l

%20rules.pdf  

15A NCAC 02T – Waste Not Discharged to 

Surface Waters 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20t/subchapter%20t

%20rules.pdf 

15A NCAC 02U – Reclaimed Water Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-
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%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20u/subchapter%20

u%20rules.pdf  

15A NCAC 08G – Authority: Organization: 

Structure: Definitions 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2008%20-

%20water%20pollution%20control%20system%20operators%20certi

fication%20commission/subchapter%20g/subchapter%20g%20rules.p

df 

15A NCAC 13B – Solid Waste 

Management 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2013%20-

%20solid%20waste%20management/subchapter%20b/subchapter%20

b%20rules.pdf  

15A NCAC 18A – Sanitation  Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2018%20-

%20environmental%20health/subchapter%20a/subchapter%20a%20r

ules.pdf 

15A NCAC 18C – Water Supplies Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2018%20-

%20environmental%20health/subchapter%20c/subchapter%20c%20r

ules.pdf 

NSF International 

PO Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48105 

http://www.nsf.org/ 

Standard 40 – Residential Wastewater 

Systems 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

Standard 41 – Non-Liquid Saturated 

Treatment Systems 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

Standard 46 – Evaluation of Components 

and Devices Used in Wastewater Treatment 

Systems 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

Standard 245 – Wastewater Treatment 

Systems – Nitrogen Reduction 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

Standard 350 – Onsite Residential and 

Commercial Water Reuse Treatment 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

IAPMO 

4755 E Philadelphia St, Ontario, CA 91761 

http://www.iapmo.org/Pages/IAPMOgroup.aspx 

IAPMO/ANSI Z1000 – Prefabricated 

Septic Tanks 

One hundred dollars ($100.00) each 

CSA 

178 Rexdale Blvd, Toronto, ON Canada M9W 1R3 

http://www.csagroup.org/ 

B66 – Design, material, and manufacturing 

requirements for prefabricated septic tanks 

and sewage holding tanks 

One hundred eighty dollars ($180.00) each plus eighteen dollars 

($18.00) shipping and handling 

 2012 North Carolina Plumbing Code 

 Available at no charge at: 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/public/collections/nc 

2015 North Carolina Building Code 

 Available at no charge at: 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/public/collections/nc 

North Carolina Food Code Manual 

 Available at no charge at: 

http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/faf/docs/foodprot/NC-

FoodCodeManual-2009-FINAL.pdf 
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U.S. Government Publishing Office 

732 North Capitol St, NW, Washington, DC 20401-0001 

https://bookstore.gpo.gov/ 

40 CFR 136 Sixty seven dollars ($67.00) each 

Forestry Suppliers, Inc 

PO Box 8397 

Jackson, MS 39284-8397 

https://www.forestry-suppliers.com/ 

Munsell® Soil Color Book One hundred ninety five dollars ($195.00) each plus shipping and 

handling 

National Technical Information Service 

5301 Shawnee Rd 

Alexandria, VA 22312 

https://www.ntis.gov/ 

DRAINMOD User's Guide Available at no charge at: 

https://ntrl.ntis.gov/NTRL/dashboard/searchResults/titleDetail/PB961

12438.xhtml 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0104 ABBREVIATIONS 

For the purpose of this Subchapter, the following abbreviations 

refer to: 

(1) ABS: Acrylonitrile-Butadiene-Styrene; 

(2) ACEC: Apparent Cation Exchange Capacity; 

(3) ANSI: American National Standards Institute; 

(4) AOWE: Authorized On-Site Wastewater 

Evaluator; 

(5) ASTM: American Society for Testing and 

Materials; 

(6) ATO: Authorization to Operate; 

(7) BOD5: Five Day Biochemical Oxygen 

Demand; 

(8) CA: Construction Authorization; 

(9) CBOD: Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen 

Demand; 

(10) cmol/kg: centimoles per kilogram; 

(11) CFR: Code of Federal Regulations; 

(12) CSA: Canadian Standards Association; 

(13) DDF: Design Daily Flow; 

(14) DEQ: Department of Environmental Quality; 

(15) DIP: Ductile Iron Pipe; 

(16) DO: Dissolved Oxygen; 

(17) DOT: Department of Transportation; 

(18) DSE: Domestic Strength Effluent; 

(19) EOP: Engineered Option Permit; 

(20) FE: Iron; 

(21) FOG: Fats, Oil, and Grease; 

(22) gal: gallons 

(23) gpd: Gallons per Day; 

(24) gpd/ft2: Gallons per Day per Square Foot; 

(25) HSE: High Strength Effluent; 

(26) IAPMO: International Association of Plumbing 

and Mechanical Officials; 

(27) IP: Improvement Permit; 

(28) IPWW: Industrial Process Wastewater; 

(29) LC: Limiting Condition; 

(30) LDP: Large Diameter Pipe; 

(31) LG: Licensed Geologist; 

 

(32) LHD: Local Health Department; 

(33) LPP: Low Pressure Pipe; 

(34) LSS: Licensed Soil Scientist; 

(35) LTAR: Long Term Acceptance Rate; 

(36) meq/100 g: Milliequivalents per 100 grams; 

(37) mg/L: Milligrams/Liter; 

(38) NEMA: National Electrical Manufacturers 

Association; 

(39) NH3: Total Ammonia Nitrogen; 

(40) NOI: Notice of Intent to Construct; 

(41) NOV: Notice of Violation; 

(42) NSF: NSF International; 

(43) OP: Operation Permit; 

(44) PE: Professional Engineer; 

(45) PIA: Provisional, Innovative, and Accepted; 

(46) PPBPS: Prefabricated Permeable Block Panel 

System; 

(47) psi: Pounds per Square Inch; 

(48) PVC: Polyvinyl Chloride; 

(49) RCW: Reclaimed Water; 

(50) RV: Recreational Vehicle; 

(51) RWTS: Residential Wastewater Treatment 

System; 

(52) SCO: State Climate Office of North Carolina; 

(53) SDR: Standard Dimension Ratio; 

(54) SPI: Standard Precipitation Index; 

(55) STEP: Septic Tank Effluent Pump; 

(56) SWC: Soil Wetness Condition; 

(57) TKN: Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen; 

(58) TL: Trench Length; 

(59) TN: Total Nitrogen; 

(60) TSS: Total Suspended Solids; 

(61) TW: Trench Width; 

(62) USDA-NRCS: United States Department of 

Agriculture – Natural Resources Conservation 

Service; 

(63) VIP: Visual Inspection Protocol; and 

(64) WS: Water Supply Class. 
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Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0105 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 130A-334, the 

following shall apply to the Rules in this Subchapter: 

(1) "Aggregate" means naturally occurring 

inorganic material of a specific size or grade. 

An example of aggregate is clean, washed 

gravel or crushed stone which is graded or sized 

in accordance with size numbers 4, 5, or 6 of 

ASTM D448. 

(2) "Apparent Cation Exchange Capacity" means 

the sum of exchangeable bases plus total soil 

acidity at a pH of 7.0. ACEC is expressed in 

milliequivalents per 100 grams (meq/100g) of 

soil or centimoles per kilogram (cmol/kg) of 

soil. The soil ACEC is calculated by 

determining the ACEC using the neutral normal 

ammonium acetate method, pH of 7.0 neutral 

normal, dividing by the percent clay as 

determined by particle size distribution using 

the pipette method, and then multiplying by 

100, as described in USDA-NRCS Soil Survey 

Laboratory Information Manual, Soil Survey 

Investigations Report No. 45 and Kellogg Soil 

Survey Laboratory Methods Manual, Soil 

Survey Investigation Report No. 42, page 229, 

or EPA Method 9080. 

(3) "Approved" means that which the Department 

or LHD has determined is in accordance with 

this Subchapter and G.S. 130A, Article 11. 

(4) "Artificial drainage" means any man-made 

structure or device designed to overcome a 

SWC or intercept lateral flowing ground or 

surface water. Artificial drainage systems 

include groundwater lowering systems, 

interceptor drains, and surface water diversions. 

(5) "Authorized agent" means a person who has 

been authorized by the Department in 

accordance with G.S. 130A, Article 4 and 15A 

NCAC 01O .0100 to permit wastewater 

systems. 

(6) "Authorized designer" means a service provider 

authorized by the manufacturer who creates 

plans for the installation, expansion, or repair of 

a proprietary wastewater system. 

(7) "Authorized On-Site Wastewater Evaluator" 

means a person licensed in accordance with 

G.S. 90A, Article 5 and meeting the 

certification requirements in G.S. 130A-

336.2(a) and 21 NCAC 39. 

(8) "Backfill" means the soil that is placed in a 

trench or bed that surrounds or is on top of the 

dispersal media within the excavation up to the 

naturally occurring soil surface. 

(9) "Bed" means an excavation with a width greater 

than three feet containing dispersal media and 

one or more laterals. 

(10) "Bedroom" means any room defined as a 

sleeping room in the North Carolina Building 

Code. 

(11) "Building drain" means the lowest piping of a 

drainage system that receives the discharge 

from waste pipes inside the design unit and 

extends to 10 ft beyond the walls of the building 

or five feet for a building with a foundation and 

conveys the sewage to a building sewer. 

(12) "Building sewer" means the part of a drainage 

system that extends from the end of the building 

drain and conveys the discharge to a wastewater 

system. 

(13) "Certified Inspector" means a person 

authorized to inspect a wastewater system in 

accordance with G.S. 90A, Article 5, and 

applicable rules of the North Carolina On-Site 

Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors 

Certification Board. 

(14) "Coastal region" means Beaufort, Bertie, 

Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, 

Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, 

Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, 

Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, 

Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, New 

Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, 

Pender, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, 

Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, 

Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson 

counties. 

(15) "Collection sewer" means gravity flow 

pipelines, force mains, effluent supply lines, 

manholes, lift stations and all appurtenances 

used for conveying wastes from the building 

drain or building sewer to and within a 

wastewater system. A collection system is a 

collection sewer. 

(16) "Complete data set" means analytical results for 

all required influent and effluent constituents as 

specified in the effluent standard for a specific 

site on a specific date. A data set may include 

other constituents specified in an RWTS or PIA 

Approval, permit, or other document. 

(17) "Component" means a part of a wastewater 

system. The component may be any part of the 

wastewater system, such as a collection sewer, 

pretreatment, dispersal field, etc. 

(18) "Composite sample" means commingled 

individual samples collected from the same 

point at different times. Samples may be of 

equal volume or may be proportional to the 

flow at time of sampling. 

(19) "Control system" means either conventional or 

accepted systems that are surveyed as part of a 

survey protocol identified in Rule .1706 of this 

Subchapter. 

(20) "Cover" means the soil that is placed at or above 

the naturally occurring soil surface to cover the 

wastewater system. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2021 

1857 

(21) "Demand dosing" means a configuration in 

which a specific volume of effluent is delivered 

to a component based upon patterns of 

wastewater generation from the source and 

liquid level detection device settings. 

(22) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services, as 

defined in G.S. 130A-334(1f). The mailing 

address for the Department is as follows: 

NCDHHS, Division of Public Health, On-Site 

Water Protection Branch, 1642 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1642. 

(23) "Design daily flow" means the unadjusted 

quantity of wastewater a facility is projected to 

produce in a 24-hour period upon which 

wastewater system sizing and design are based 

as determined in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. 

(24) "Design unit" means a discrete connection such 

as an individual dwelling unit, place of 

business, or place of public assembly on which 

wastewater DDF is based. Multiple design units 

may comprise a facility. 

(25) "Dispersal field" means the physical location 

where final treatment and dispersal of effluent 

occurs in the soil. 

(26) "Dispersal media" means the media used to 

provide void space through which effluent 

flows and may be stored prior to infiltration, 

such as washed gravel or crushed stone, 

products referenced in Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter, products approved pursuant to 

Section .1700 of this Subchapter, etc. 

(27) "Dispersal system" means the dispersal field 

and associated components that distribute 

effluent to and within the dispersal field. This 

includes a pump, pump tank, pressure manifold, 

distribution box, drip box, lateral, dispersal 

media, etc. 

(28) "Dose volume" means an amount of effluent 

delivered during a dosing event as determined 

by the liquid level detection device settings in a 

demand dosing system or by a timer in a timed 

dosing system. 

(29) "Dwelling unit" means any room or group of 

rooms located within a structure and forming a 

single, habitable unit with facilities which are 

used or intended to be used for living, sleeping, 

bathing, toilet usage, cooking, and eating. 

(30) "Effluent" means the liquid discharge from a 

pretreatment process, component, or system. 

(31) "Facility" means one or more design units 

located on a single or multiple lot(s) or tract(s) 

of land and served by a wastewater system 

comprised of one or more wastewater systems. 

(32) "Finished grade" means the final elevation of 

the land over the wastewater system after 

installation. 

(33) "Flow equalization" means a system 

configuration that includes sufficient storage 

capacity to allow for uniform flow to a 

subsequent component despite variable flow 

from the source. 

(34) "Full kitchen" means the appliances meet the 

requirements of North Carolina Food Code, 

Chapters 4-1 and 4-2. 

(35) "Grab sample" means a discrete sample 

collected at a specific time and location. 

(36) "Grease tank" means the tank located outside 

the facility that is used to reduce the amount of 

grease discharged to a wastewater system. 

(37) "Grease trap" means a device used inside the 

facility to reduce the amount of grease 

discharged to a wastewater system. 

(38) "Gravity distribution" means gravity flow of 

effluent to and within each lateral. 

(39) "Groundwater lowering system" means a type 

of artificial drainage system designed to lower 

the water table by gravity or, in conjunction 

with a pump, to maintain the vertical separation 

beneath a dispersal field. 

(40) "Horizon" means a layer of soil, parallel to the 

surface that has distinct physical, chemical, and 

biological properties or characteristics such as 

color, structure, texture, consistence, kinds and 

number of organisms present, degree of acidity 

or alkalinity, etc., resulting from soil forming 

processes. 

(41) "Infiltrative surface" means the designated 

interface where effluent moves from dispersal 

media or a distribution device into treatment 

media, naturally occurring soil, or fill. 

(42) "Influent" means the sewage discharged to a 

pretreatment component. 

(43) "Installer" means a person authorized to 

construct, install, or repair a wastewater system 

in accordance with G.S. 90A, Article 5 and 

applicable rules of the North Carolina On-Site 

Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors 

Certification Board. 

(44) "Interceptor drain" means a type of artificial 

drainage designed to intercept and divert lateral 

moving groundwater or perched water away 

from the dispersal field or other system 

component to an effective outlet. 

(45) "Invert" means the lowest elevation of the 

internal cross-section of a pipe, fitting, or 

component. 

(46) "Jurisdictional wetland" means an area subject 

to the regulatory jurisdiction of the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers or DEQ. 

(47) "Ksat" or saturated hydraulic conductivity, 

means the rate of water flow through a unit 

cross sectional area of soil under saturated 

conditions. In-situ Ksat is measured in the field 

using clean water. Results of in-situ Ksat are 
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used to simulate movement of effluent through 

the soil and may be used to field verify LTAR. 

(48) "Lateral water movement" means the 

movement of subsurface water downslope often 

associated with a less permeable horizon. 

Lateral water movement can be observed in a 

bore hole, excavation, or monitoring well on 

sloping sites. 

(49) "Lateral" means any pipe, tubing, or other 

device used to convey and distribute effluent in 

a dispersal field. 

(50) "Limiting condition" means soil conditions or 

site features that determine wastewater system 

design options. Soil conditions are morphology, 

depth, restrictive horizons, soil wetness, or 

organic matter content. Site features are 

topography, slope, landscape position, or 

available space. 

(51) "Lithochromic feature" means soil mottle or 

matrix associated with variations of color due 

to weathering of parent materials. 

(52) "Long Term Acceptance Rate" means the rate 

of effluent absorption by the soil, existing fill, 

or saprolite in a wastewater system after long-

term use. The LTAR, in units of gpd/ft2, is 

assigned based upon soil textural class, 

structure, consistence, depth, percent coarse 

rock, landscape position, topography, and 

system type, and is used to determine the 

dispersal field sizing requirements, in 

accordance with applicable rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(53) "Local health department" means any county, 

district, or other health department authorized 

to be organized under the General Statutes of 

North Carolina. 

(54) "Management Entity" means the person, entity, 

company, or firm designated by the owner of 

the wastewater system who has primary 

responsibility for the operation of a wastewater 

system in accordance with this Subchapter, 

G.S. 90A, Article 3, and applicable rules of the 

Water Pollution Control System Operators 

Certification Commission. The Management 

Entity may be the owner, a public Management 

Entity, a certified operator, a management 

company, or an entity that employs certified 

operators. The Management Entity is or 

employs the operator in responsible charge for 

the wastewater system. 

(55) "Mass loading" means the total mass of one or 

more organic or inorganic effluent constituents 

delivered to the wastewater system over a 

specified period. It is computed by multiplying 

the total volume of flow during the specified 

period by the flow-weighted average 

constituent concentration in the same period. 

Units of measurement are pounds per day. 

(56) "Matrix" means a volume of soil equivalent to 

50 percent or greater of the total volume of a 

horizon. 

(57) "Mean high-water mark" means, for coastal 

waters having six inches or more lunar tidal 

influence, the average height of the high-water 

over a 19-year period as may be ascertained 

from National Ocean Survey, U.S. Army Corps 

of Engineers tide stations data, or as otherwise 

determined under the provisions of the Coastal 

Area Management Act. The highest high-water 

mark as reported by the three agencies shall be 

applied. 

(58) "Media" means a solid material that can be 

described by shape, dimensions, surface area, 

void space, and application. 

(59) "Media filter" means a device that uses 

materials designed to treat effluent by reducing 

BOD5 and removing TSS in an unsaturated 

environment. Biological treatment is facilitated 

via microbial growth on the surface of the 

treatment media. 

(60) "Mottle" means subordinate color of a differing 

Munsell color system notation in a soil horizon. 

(61) "Mountain region" means Alleghany, Ashe, 

Avery, Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, 

Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Swain, 

Transylvania, Watauga, and Yancey counties. 

(62) "Naturally occurring soil" means soil formed in 

place due to natural formation processes that is 

unaltered by filling, removal, or other artificial 

modification other than tillage. 

(63) "NEMA 4X" means an enclosure for an 

electrical control panel or junction box that 

meets standards for protection of equipment 

due to the ingress of water, including rain and 

hose-directed water, and an additional level of 

protection against corrosion, as set forth in 

NEMA Standard 250. 

(64) "NSF-40 systems" means individual RWTS 

that are approved and listed in accordance with 

the standards adopted by NSF International for 

Class I residential wastewater treatment 

systems under NSF-ANSI Standard 40 and 

approved for use in accordance with G.S. 

130A-342 and the Rules of this Subchapter. 

(65) "Non-ground absorption system" means a 

system for waste treatment designed not to 

discharge to the soil, land surface, or surface 

waters, including approved vault privies, 

incinerating toilets, mechanical toilets, 

composting toilets, chemical toilets, and 

recycling systems. 

(66) "Normal water level" means the term as defined 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0610(28). 

(67) "Off-site system" means a wastewater system 

where any system component is located on 
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property other than the lot where the facility is 

located. 

(68) "Ordinary high-water mark" means the line on 

the shore established by the fluctuations of 

water and indicated by physical characteristics 

such as: a clear, natural line impressed on the 

bank; shelving; changes in the character of soil; 

destruction of terrestrial vegetation; the 

presence of litter and debris; or other 

appropriate means that reflect the 

characteristics of the surrounding areas. 

(69) "Organic soils" means those organic mucks and 

peats consisting of more than 20 percent 

organic matter, by dry weight, and greater than 

or equal to 18 inches in thickness. 

(70) "Owner" means a person holding legal title to 

the facility, wastewater system, or property or 

his or her representative. The owner's 

representative is a person who holds power of 

attorney to act on an owner's behalf or an agent 

designated by letter or contract to act on the 

owner's behalf. 

(71) "Parallel distribution" means the distribution of 

effluent that proportionally loads multiple 

sections of a dispersal field at one time. 

(72) "Parent material" means the mineral and 

organic matter that is in its present position 

through rock decomposition or deposition by 

water, wind, or gravity. 

(73) "Ped" means a unit of soil structure, such as 

blocky, granular, prismatic, or platy formed by 

natural processes, in contrast to a clod, which is 

a compact, coherent, mass of soil produced by 

digging, plowing, or other human land 

manipulation. 

(74) "Perched water table" means a zone of 

saturation held above the main groundwater 

body by a less permeable layer, impermeable 

rock, or sediment, which may or may not 

exhibit redoximorphic features. 

(75) "Person" means any individual, firm, 

association, organization, partnership, business 

trust, corporation, company, or unit of local 

government. 

(76) "Piedmont region" means Alamance, 

Alexander, Anson, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, 

Caswell, Catawba, Chatham, Cleveland, 

Davidson, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, 

Gaston, Granville, Guilford, Iredell, Lee, 

Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, 

Nash, Orange, Person, Polk, Randolph, 

Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, 

Stokes, Surry, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, 

Wilkes, and Yadkin counties. 

(77) "Pressure dispersal" means a system utilizing 

an effluent pump or siphon to distribute effluent 

uniformly to the infiltrative surface in the 

dispersal field through a pressurized pipe 

network. 

(78) "Pressure dosed gravity distribution" means 

pressure delivery of effluent to a manifold, 

distribution box, or other splitter with 

subsequent gravity distribution within one or 

more laterals to the infiltrative surface. 

(79) "Public management entity" means a public 

entity legally authorized to operate and 

maintain wastewater systems, including a city 

pursuant to G.S. 160A, Article 16, a county 

pursuant to G.S. 153A, Article 15, an interlocal 

contract pursuant to G.S. 160A, Article 20, a 

joint management agency pursuant to G.S. 

160A, Article 20, a county service district 

pursuant to G.S. 153A, Article 16, a county 

water and sewer district pursuant to G.S. 162A, 

Article 6, a sanitary district pursuant to G.S. 

130A, Article 2, Part 2, a water and sewer 

authority pursuant to G.S. 162A, Article 1, a 

metropolitan water district pursuant to G.S. 

162A, Article 4, a metropolitan sewerage 

district pursuant to G.S. 162A, Article 5A, a 

public utility pursuant to G.S. 62, Article 1, a 

county or district health department pursuant to 

G.S. 130A, Article 2, or any other public entity 

legally authorized to operate and maintain 

wastewater systems. 

(80) "Raw sewage lift stations" means a dosing 

system that is designed to move untreated 

sewage from a lower elevation to a higher 

elevation. Raw sewage lift stations are installed 

prior to any wastewater treatment. 

(81) "RCW systems" means advanced pretreatment 

systems approved by the Department in 

accordance with Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter that meet RCW effluent standards 

in Rule .1002 of this Subchapter. 

(82) "Redoximorphic features" means a color 

pattern of a horizon due to a depletion or 

concentration of pigment compared to the 

matrix color, formed by oxidation and 

reduction of Fe coupled with its removal, 

translocation, or accrual, or a soil matrix color 

controlled by the presence of Fe+2. Redox 

depletions are a type of redoximorphic feature. 

(83) "Repair area" means an area that has been 

classified suitable consistent with the Rules in 

this Subchapter that is reserved for the 

extension, alteration, wastewater system 

relocation, or replacement of part or all of the 

initial wastewater system. The repair area shall 

be available to be used in the event of a 

malfunction or if a wastewater system is 

partially or totally destroyed. 

(84) "Residential Wastewater Treatment Systems" 

means approved individual advanced 

pretreatment systems that are covered under 

standards of NSF International, in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-342 and applicable Rules in 

this Subchapter. 
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(85) "Restrictive horizon" means a soil horizon that 

is capable of perching groundwater or effluent 

and that is brittle and strongly compacted or 

strongly cemented with iron, aluminum, silica, 

organic matter, or other compounds. Restrictive 

horizons may occur as fragipans, iron pans, or 

organic pans, and are recognized by their 

resistance in excavation or in using a soil auger. 

(86) "Rock" means the body of consolidated or 

partially consolidated material composed of 

minerals at or below the land surface. Rock 

includes bedrock and partially weathered rock 

that is hard and cannot be dug with hand tools. 

The upper boundary of rock is saprolite, soil, or 

the land surface. 

(87) "Saprolite" means the body of porous material 

formed in place by weathering of rock that has 

a massive, rock-controlled structure and retains 

the arrangement of minerals of its parent rock 

in a minimum of 50 percent of its volume. 

Saprolite can be dug with hand tools. The lower 

limit of saprolite is rock and its upper limit is 

soil or the land surface. 

(88) "Septic tank" means a structurally sound, 

water-tight, covered receptacle, approved in 

accordance with Section .1400 of this 

Subchapter. A septic tank is designed for 

primary treatment of wastewater and is 

constructed to: 

(a) receive the discharge of wastewater 

from a building; 

(b) separate settleable and floating solids 

from the liquid; 

(c) digest organic matter by anaerobic 

bacterial action; 

(d) store digested solids through a period 

of detention; and 

(e) allow effluent to discharge for 

additional treatment and final 

dispersal. 

(89) "Septic tank effluent pump" means a collection 

system that uses a septic tank to separate solids 

and incorporates a pump vault, pump, and 

associated devices to convey effluent under 

pressure to a subsequent component. 

(90) "Sequential distribution" means the distribution 

method in which effluent is loaded into one 

trench and fills it to a predetermined level 

before passing through a drop box or relief 

device to the succeeding trench at a lower 

elevation. All trenches are fed from the same 

side. 

(91) "Setback" means the minimum horizontal 

separation distance between the wastewater 

system and features listed in Section .0600 of 

this Subchapter. 

(92) "Settling tank" means a septic tank designed for 

use in conjunction with a RWTS. A settling 

tank is not required to meet the design 

requirements of a septic tank. 

(93) "Serial distribution" means the distribution 

method in which effluent is loaded into one 

trench and fills it to a predetermined level 

before passing through a pipe to the succeeding 

trench at a lower elevation. 

(94) "Site" means the area in which the wastewater 

system is located, including the repair area. 

(95) "Soil" means the naturally occurring body of 

unconsolidated mineral and organic materials 

on the land surface. Soil is composed of sand-, 

silt-, and clay-sized particles that are mixed 

with varying amounts of larger fragments and 

some organic material. Soil contains less than 

50 percent of its volume as rock, saprolite, or 

coarse-earth fraction. The coarse-earth fraction 

are mineral particles greater than 2.0 

millimeters. The upper limit of the soil is the 

land surface, and its lower limit is rock, 

saprolite, or other parent materials. 

(96) "Soil consistence" means the degree and kind of 

cohesion and adhesion that a soil exhibits. 

(97) "Soil series" means an official series name 

established by USDA-NRCS. 

(98) "Soil structure" means the arrangement of 

primary soil particles into compound particles, 

peds, or clusters that are separated by natural 

planes of weakness from adjoining units. 

(99) "Soil textural classes" means soil classification 

based upon size distribution of mineral particles 

in the fine-earth fraction less than two 

millimeters in diameter. The fine-earth fraction 

includes sand, silt, and clay particles. Sand 

particles are 0.05 – 2.0 mm in size, silt particles 

are 0.002 – 0.05 mm in size, and clay particles 

are less than 0.002 mm in size. 

(100) "Stream" means a body of concentrated flowing 

water in a natural low area or natural or 

manmade channel on the land surface. This 

includes ephemeral, intermittent, and perennial 

streams as defined by DEQ, as well as streams 

which have been modified by channeling, 

culvert installation, or relocation. 

(101) "Structurally sound" means a tank that has been 

installed in accordance with the tank 

manufacturer's requirements and is able to 

withstand a minimum uniform live loading of 

150 pounds per square foot in addition to all 

loads to which an underground tank is normally 

subjected, such as dead weight of the material 

and soil over the tank, active soil pressure on 

tank walls, and the uplifting force of 

groundwater. 

(102) "Surface water diversion" means a natural or 

constructed drainage feature used to divert 

surface water, collect runoff, and direct it to an 

effective outlet. Surface water diversions 

include waterways, berms, swales, and ditches. 
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Surface water diversions are a type of artificial 

drainage. 

(103) "TS-I systems" means advanced pretreatment 

systems approved by the Department in 

accordance with Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter that meet TS-I effluent standards in 

Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter. 

(104) "TS-II systems" means advanced pretreatment 

systems approved by the Department in 

accordance with Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter that meet TS-II effluent standards in 

Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter. 

(105) "Telemetry" means the ability to contact by 

phone, email, or another electronic medium. 

The telemetry unit shall continue alarm 

notifications to the designated party until the 

alarm condition is remedied or the telemetry 

unit is physically turned off. 

(106) "Test system" means the dispersal system 

proposed for accepted status as part of a survey 

protocol identified in Rule .1706 of this 

Subchapter. 

(107) "Third-party" means a person or entity engaged 

in testing or evaluation that may be 

compensated for their work product that is 

independent of the parties for whom testing or 

evaluation is performed and does not otherwise 

benefit regardless of the outcome. The third-

party person or entity has knowledge of the 

subject area based upon relevant training and 

experience. 

(108) "Timed dosing" means a configuration in which 

a specific volume of effluent is delivered to a 

component based upon a prescribed interval, 

regardless of facility water use variation over 

time. 

(109) "Treatment media" means the media used for 

physical, chemical, and biological treatment in 

a wastewater treatment component. 

(110) "Trench" means an excavation with a width less 

than or equal to three feet containing dispersal 

media and one or more laterals. 

(111) "Unstable slopes" means areas showing 

indications of mass downslope movement such 

as debris flows, landslides, and rock falls. 

(112) "Vertical separation" means the depth beneath 

the dispersal field infiltrative surface to a LC. 

(113) "Warming kitchen" means a kitchen that does 

not meet the requirements of North Carolina 

Food Code, Chapters 4-1 and 4-2. 

(114) "Water main standards" means design criteria 

for pipe and pipe joints and associated 

installation procedures used in potable water 

systems and that have been approved by North 

Carolina DEQ Public Water Supply Section in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 18C. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

SECTION .0200 - PERMITS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0201 GENERAL 

(a)  All wastewater in any facility containing water-using fixtures 

connected to a water supply source shall discharge to a wastewater 

system approved by the Department in accordance with the Rules 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  In order for a wastewater system to be approved: 

(1) the owner shall submit an application in 

accordance with Rule .0202 of this Section; 

(2) an IP shall be issued in accordance with Rule 

.0203 of this Section; 

(3) a CA shall be issued in accordance with Rule 

.0204 of this Section; and 

(4) the authorized agent shall inspect the 

installation and issue an OP in accordance with 

Rule .0205 of this Section. 

(c)  Upon issuance of the CA, the owner may obtain a building 

permit in accordance with G.S. 130A-338. 

(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (b) of this Rule, an owner may 

choose to have a wastewater system approved under the 

provisions of G.S. 130A-336.1 or G.S. 130A-336.2 and in 

accordance with Rule .0207 of this Section. 

(e)  All documentation related to a wastewater system shall be 

maintained by the LHD in the county where the permit is issued, 

and the property taxes are paid. 

(f)  Holding tanks shall not be considered an acceptable 

wastewater treatment and dispersal system. An IP shall not be 

issued for a holding tank for new construction or to serve a 

permanent facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336; 130A-336.1; 130A-336.2; 

130A-337; 130A-338. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0202 APPLICATION 

(a)  An application for an IP, CA, and existing system 

authorization shall be submitted to the LHD, and approved in 

accordance with these Rules, for each site prior to the 

construction, location, or relocation of a residence, place of 

business, or place of public assembly. 

(b)  Prior to the repair of a wastewater system, an application for 

a CA shall be submitted to the LHD. 

(c)  A pending application for an IP, CA, or existing system 

authorization for which the LHD is awaiting action by the owner 

shall expire 12 months from the date of application. 

(d)  When an IP, CA, or existing system authorization expires or 

is revoked, or an application for an IP or CA expires, a new 

application is required. 

(e)  For a Type V or VI system as specified in Table XXXII of 

Rule .1301(b) of this Subchapter, a new application shall be 

submitted at least 30 days prior to the OP expiring. 

(f)  An owner may choose to contract with an LSS to conduct a 

soil and site evaluation in accordance with G.S. 130A-335(a2). 

The soil and site evaluation shall be submitted to the LHD as part 

of the application process. 

(g)  The application for an IP shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) owner's name, mailing address, and phone 

number; 
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(2) type of permit requested: 

(A) new; 

(B) change of use; 

(C) expansion or increase in DDF; or 

(D) wastewater system relocation; 

(3) site plan or plat indicating the locations of the 

following: 

(A) existing and proposed facilities, 

structures, appurtenances, and 

wastewater systems; 

(B) proposed wastewater system showing 

setbacks to property line(s) or other 

fixed reference point(s); 

(C) existing and proposed vehicular traffic 

areas; 

(D) existing and proposed water supplies, 

wells, springs, and water lines; and 

(E) surface water, drainage features, and 

all existing and proposed artificial 

drainage, as applicable; 

(4) location, parcel identification number, other 

property identification, 911 address if known, 

acreage, and general directions to the property; 

(5) description of existing and proposed facilities 

and wastewater systems; 

(6) information needed to determine DDF and 

effluent strength of the facility(s) served, 

including number and function of individual 

design units, number of bedrooms and 

occupants per bedroom, or number of 

occupants; 

(7) whether wastewater other than DSE will be 

generated; 

(8) notification if the property includes, or is 

subject to, any of the following: 

(A) previously identified jurisdictional 

wetlands; 

(B) existing or proposed easements, 

rights-of-way, encroachments, or 

other areas subject to legal 

restrictions; or 

(C) approval by other public agencies; and 

(9) signature of owner. 

(h)  The application for a CA shall contain: 

(1) the information required in Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule. A site plan or plat shall not be required 

with the application to repair a permitted 

wastewater system when the repairs will be 

accomplished on property owned and 

controlled by the owner and for which property 

lines are identifiable in the field; 

(2) identification of the proposed use of a grinder 

pump or sewage pump; and 

(3) the type of the proposed wastewater system 

specified by the owner. 

(i)  The application for an existing system authorization shall 

contain: 

(1) the owner's name, mailing address, and phone 

number; 

(2) a site plan or plat indicating the locations of the 

existing and proposed facilities, existing 

wastewater systems and repair areas, existing 

and proposed water supplies, easements, rights-

of-way, encroachments, artificial drainage, and 

all appurtenances; 

(3) location, parcel identification number, other 

property identification, 911 address if known, 

acreage, and directions to the property; 

(4) for reconnections, information needed to 

determine DDF of the facility served, including 

number and function of individual design units, 

number of bedrooms and occupants per 

bedroom, or number of occupants; and 

(5) signature of owner(s). 

(j)  Submittal of a signed application shall constitute right of entry 

to the property by an authorized agent. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336; 130A-337; 130A-338. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0203 IMPROVEMENT PERMIT 

(a)  Upon receipt of a complete application for an IP, an 

authorized agent shall evaluate the site to determine whether the 

site is suitable or unsuitable for the installation of a wastewater 

system in accordance with Section .0500 of this Subchapter. If the 

site is classified suitable, an IP shall be issued in accordance with 

this Subchapter. The authorized agent shall prepare dated, written 

documentation of the soil and site conditions required to be 

evaluated in Section .0500 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  When the site is classified suitable an authorized agent shall 

issue an IP for the site that includes the items contained in G.S. 

130A-336(a)(1) through (6) and the following information: 

(1) DDF, number of bedrooms, maximum number 

of occupants or people served, and wastewater 

strength in accordance with Section .0400 of 

this Subchapter; 

(2) required effluent standard - DSE, HSE, NSF-

40, TS-I, TS-II, or RCW in accordance with 

Table III of Rule .0402(a), Table XXV of Rule 

.1201(a), or Rule .1002, of this Subchapter; 

(3) all applicable setbacks and requirements in 

accordance with Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter; 

(4) description of the facility, structures, vehicular 

traffic areas, and other proposed improvements; 

(5) description of existing and proposed public or 

private water supplies, including private 

drinking water wells and springs and associated 

water lines; 

(6) a site plan or plat as defined in G.S. 130A-334 

showing the existing and proposed property 

lines with dimensions, the location of the 

facility and appurtenances, the site for the 

proposed wastewater system and repair area, 

and the location of water supplies and surface 

water; 

(7) the proposed initial wastewater system and 

repair system areas and types, including LTARs 

for each system; and 
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(8) permit conditions, such as site-specific site 

modifications, installation requirements, 

maintenance of the groundwater lowering 

system, etc. 

(c)  When the site is classified unsuitable, a signed, written report 

shall be provided to the owner describing the unsuitable site 

characteristics and citing the applicable rule(s). If modifications 

or alternatives are available to support site reclassification to 

suitable this information shall be included in the report. 

(d)  The period of validity for the permit in accordance with G.S. 

130A-335(f) shall be stated on the IP. 

(e)  The IP shall be transferable subject to the conditions set forth 

in G.S. 130A-336(a). 

(f)  An IP shall be suspended or revoked if: 

(1) the information submitted in the application is 

found to be incomplete, false, or incorrect; 

(2) the site is altered and the permitted system 

cannot be installed or operated as permitted; 

(3) conditions of the IP or the Rules of this 

Subchapter cannot be met; 

(4) a new IP is issued for the same design unit on 

the same property; or 

(5) an NOI is issued in accordance with G.S. 130A-

336.1(b) or G.S. 130A-336.2(b) for the same 

design unit on the same property. 

(g)  An IP shall be applicable to both initial and repair dispersal 

field areas identified and approved on the IP and only a CA shall 

be issued if wastewater system repairs are necessary. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0204 CONSTRUCTION 

AUTHORIZATION 

(a)  The owner shall obtain a CA after an IP has been issued and 

prior to the construction, location, or relocation of a facility, or the 

construction or repair of a wastewater system. 

(b)  Conditions of an IP shall be completed prior to the issuance 

of a CA. A CA shall be issued by an authorized agent for 

wastewater system installation when it is found that the IP 

conditions and Rules of this Subchapter are met. 

(c)  A CA may be issued at the same time as the IP if no conditions 

on the IP are required to be completed prior to CA issuance. 

(d)  Any necessary easements, rights-of-way, or encroachment 

agreements shall be obtained prior to the issuance of a CA. 

(e)  The CA shall specify the following: 

(1) all information required in Rule .0203(b) of this 

Section; 

(2) the initial wastewater system type and layout, 

location of all initial wastewater system 

components, and design details and 

specifications for the following, as applicable; 

(A) tanks; 

(B) collection sewers; 

(C) pump requirements; 

(D) advanced pretreatment; 

(E) distribution devices; and 

(F) trench width, length, and depth on the 

downslope side of the trench; 

(3) the nature of the Management Entity required 

and the minimum operation and maintenance 

requirements in accordance with Section .1300 

of this Subchapter; and 

(4) permit conditions, such as site-specific 

installation requirements, maintenance of the 

groundwater lowering system, etc. 

(f)  A CA shall be issued for each wastewater system serving a 

facility. Separate CAs may be issued for individual components. 

A building permit shall not be issued for a design unit until CAs 

for all components of the wastewater system serving that design 

unit have been issued. 

(g)  Prior to the issuance of a CA for a system where all or part of 

the system will be under common or joint control, a draft multi-

party agreement between the developer and an incorporated 

owners' association shall be submitted to and its conditions 

approved by the LHD. The draft multi-party agreement shall 

include and address the following, as applicable: 

(1) ownership; 

(2) transfer of ownership; 

(3) maintenance; 

(4) operation; 

(5) wastewater system repairs; and 

(6) designation of fiscal responsibility for the 

continued satisfactory performance of the 

wastewater system and repair or replacement of 

collection, treatment, dispersal, and other 

components. 

(h)  Systems or components under common or joint control 

include the following: 

(1) wastewater system serving a condominium or 

other multiple-ownership development; or 

(2) off-site systems serving two or more facilities 

where any components are under common or 

joint ownership or control. 

(i)  The CA shall be valid for a period equal to the period of 

validity of the IP and stated on the permit. 

(j)  The CA shall be transferable subject to the conditions set forth 

in G.S. 130A-336(a). 

(k)  A CA shall be suspended or revoked if: 

(1) the information submitted in the application is 

found to be incomplete, false, or incorrect; 

(2) the site is altered and the permitted system 

cannot be installed or operated as permitted; 

(3) conditions of the CA or the Rules of this 

Subchapter cannot be met; 

(4) a new CA is issued for the same design unit on 

the same property; or 

(5) an NOI is issued in accordance with G.S. 130A-

336.1(b) or G.S. 130A-336.2(b) for the same 

design unit on the same property. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336; 130A-338. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0205 OPERATION PERMIT 

(a)  The owner shall obtain an OP after the wastewater system has 

been installed or repaired and the authorized agent has inspected 

the system. The inspection shall occur prior to the system being 

covered. The authorized agent shall determine that the system has 
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been installed in accordance with this Subchapter and any 

conditions of the IP and CA. 

(b)  During the wastewater system inspection, the authorized 

agent shall notify the installer of items that do not meet the Rules 

of this Subchapter and conditions described in the IP and CA. 

Corrections shall be made to bring the system into compliance 

with this Subchapter by the installer. If corrections cannot be 

made, an authorized agent shall not issue an OP and the system 

shall not be placed into use. The authorized agent making the 

determination shall prepare a written report referencing 

deficiencies in the system installation, citing the applicable rule(s) 

and IP and CA conditions, and include a letter of Intent to Suspend 

or Revoke the IP and CA or the CA. A copy of the report shall be 

provided to the owner and the installer. 

(c)  The OP shall include: 

(1) the initial system and designated repair system 

type in accordance with Table XXXII of Rule 

.1301(b) of this Subchapter and the unique code 

assigned under Rule .1713(10) of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) facility description including number of 

bedrooms and maximum occupancy, maximum 

number of occupants or people served, DDF, 

and wastewater strength; 

(3) a site plan or plat as defined in G.S. 130A-334 

showing the property lines with dimensions, the 

location of the facility and appurtenances, the 

site for the wastewater system and repair area 

including location and dimensions, and the 

location of water supplies and surface water; 

(4) dispersal field design including trench or bed 

length, width, depth, and location; 

(5) the tank(s) location, capacity, and ID numbers; 

(6) groundwater monitoring well locations, 

sampling frequency, and characteristics 

sampled, as applicable; 

(7) conditions for system performance, operation, 

monitoring, influent and effluent sampling 

requirements, and reporting, including the 

requirement for a contract with a Management 

Entity, as applicable; 

(8) a statement specifying that best professional 

judgement was used to repair the 

malfunctioning wastewater system, if 

applicable; and 

(9) approved engineered plans, specifications, and 

record drawings if required in Rule .0303(g) of 

this Subchapter. 

(d)  Prior to the issuance of an OP for a system requiring a multi-

party agreement, the multi-party agreement shall be executed 

between the developer and an incorporated owners' association 

and filed with the local register of deeds. 

(e)  When a wastewater system is required to be designed by an 

authorized designer or PE, the PE or authorized designer shall 

provide a written statement to the owner and authorized agent 

specifying that construction is complete and in accordance with 

approved plans, specifications, and modifications. The written 

statement shall be provided prior to issuance of the OP. 

(f)  An OP shall be valid and remain in effect for a system 

provided: 

(1) wastewater strength and DDF remain 

unchanged; 

(2) the system is operated and maintained in 

accordance with this Subchapter; 

(3) no malfunction is found as defined in Rule 

.1303(a)(1) and (2) of this Subchapter; 

(4) the system has not been abandoned in 

accordance with Rule .1307 of this Subchapter; 

(5) the system complies with the condition(s) of the 

OP; and 

(6) the OP has not expired or been revoked. 

(g)  For a Type V or VI system as specified in Table XXXII of 

Rule .1301(b) of this Subchapter, the OP shall expire five years 

after being issued. 

(h)  An authorized agent shall modify, suspend, or revoke the OP 

or seek other remedies under G.S. 130A, Article 2, if it is 

determined that the system is not being operated and maintained 

in accordance with this Subchapter and all conditions imposed by 

the OP. 

(i)  When an OP expires in accordance with Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule a new application shall be required prior to issuance of a new 

OP to confirm that the previously approved facility has not 

changed and that the system remains in compliance with permit 

conditions. 

(j)  When an OP is revoked due to facility non-compliance, such 

as additional wastewater flow or increased wastewater strength, a 

new application shall be required prior to evaluation for a new IP, 

CA, and OP. 

(k)  An OP shall be revoked prior to an ATO being issued for the 

same design unit on the same property. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-337; 130A-338. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0206 EXISTING SYSTEM 

APPROVALS FOR RECONNECTIONS AND PROPERTY 

ADDITIONS 

(a)  Approval by an authorized agent shall be issued prior to any 

of the following: 

(1) a facility being reconnected to an existing 

system; or 

(2) other site modifications as described in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(b)  Approvals for reconnecting a facility shall be issued by an 

authorized agent upon determination of the following: 

(1) the site complies with its OP or the wastewater 

system was in use prior to July 1, 1977; 

(2) there is no current or past uncorrected 

malfunction of the system as described in Rule 

.1303(a)(1) and (2) of this Subchapter; 

(3) the DDF and wastewater strength for the 

proposed facility do not exceed that of the 

existing system; 

(4) the facility meets the setbacks in Section .0600 

of this Subchapter; and 

(5) the existing system is being operated and 

maintained as specified in G.S. 130A, Article 

11, this Subchapter, and permit conditions. 
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(c)  Prior to construction, relocation of a structure, the expansion 

of an existing facility's footprint, or other site modifications that 

require the issuance of a building permit, but that do not increase 

DDF or wastewater strength, an approval shall be issued by an 

authorized agent upon determination of the compliance of the 

proposed structure with setback requirements in Section .0600 of 

this Subchapter. 

(d)  For approvals issued in accordance with this Rule the 

authorized agent shall provide written documentation of the 

approval to the owner. The written documentation of the approval 

shall describe the site modification, system use, DDF, wastewater 

strength, number of bedrooms, and number of occupants, and 

shall include a site plan showing the location, dimensions, and 

setbacks of existing and proposed structures to the existing system 

and repair area. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-337(c) and (d). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0207 ALTERNATIVE WASTEWATER 

SYSTEM PERMITTING OPTIONS 

(a)  An owner may choose to use an EOP for wastewater systems 

in accordance with G.S. 130A-336.1 or an AOWE in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-336.2. The EOP shall be used if the wastewater 

system design requires a PE in accordance with Rule .0303(a) of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  Prior to the submittal of an NOI for an EOP or an AOWE 

system as required by G.S. 130A-336.1(b) or G.S. 130A-336.2(b), 

respectively, a soil and site evaluation shall be conducted in 

accordance these Statutes and the Rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The NOI for an EOP or AOWE system shall be submitted to 

the LHD in the county where the facility is located by the owner, 

PE authorized as the legal representative of the owner, or AOWE 

authorized as the legal representative of the owner. The NOI shall 

be submitted on the common form for EOP or the common form 

for AOWE provided by the Department. The common forms are 

available by accessing the Department's website at 

https://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/oswp/. The forms shall include all 

the information specified in G.S. 130A-336.1(b) or 130A-

336.2(b) and the following: 

(1) the LSS's, and LG's name, license number, 

address, e-mail address, and telephone number, 

as applicable. The installer's name, license 

number, address, e-mail address, and telephone 

number shall be provided on the EOP common 

form; 

(2) information required in Rule .0202 of this 

Section for IP and CA applications; 

(3) identification and location on the site plan of 

existing or proposed potable water supplies, 

geothermal heating and cooling wells, and 

groundwater monitoring wells for the proposed 

site. The PE or AOWE shall reference any 

existing permit issued for a private drinking 

water well, public water system as defined in 

G.S. 130A-313(10), or a wastewater system on 

both the subject and adjoining properties to 

provide documentation of compliance with 

setback requirements in Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter; and 

(4) proof of insurance for the PE, LSS, and LG, as 

applicable. Proof of insurance for the installer 

shall be provided with the NOI. 

(d)  The PE or AOWE design shall incorporate findings and 

recommendations on soil and site conditions, limitations, site 

modifications, and geologic and hydrogeologic conditions 

specified by the LSS or LG, as applicable, and in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-336.1(b)(8) or G.S. 130A-336.2(b)(9), respectively. 

For an EOP, when the PE chooses to employ pretreatment 

technologies not approved in this State, the engineering report 

shall specify the proposed technology and the associated siting, 

installation, operation, maintenance, and monitoring 

requirements, including written manufacturer's endorsement of 

the proposed use. 

(e)  The PE or AOWE shall allow for the use of Accepted Systems 

in accordance with G.S. 130A-336.1(e)(5) or G.S. 130A-

336.2(d)(5), respectively. 

(f)  No building permit for construction, location, or relocation 

shall be issued until after a decision of completeness of the NOI 

is made by the LHD. If the LHD fails to act within 15 business 

days for an EOP or within five business days for an AOWE, the 

common form is deemed complete. 

(g)  If there are any changes in the site plan that can impact the 

wastewater system, such as moving the house or driveway, site 

alterations, or if the owner chooses to change the DDF or the 

wastewater strength prior to wastewater system construction, a 

new NOI shall be submitted to the LHD. The owner shall request 

in writing that the PE or AOWE invalidate the prior NOI with a 

signed and sealed letter sent to the owner and LHD. 

(h)  Construction of the wastewater system shall not commence 

until the system design plans and specifications have been 

provided to the installer and the signed and dated statement by the 

installer is provided to the owner as required by G.S. 130A-

.336.1(e)(4)(b) or G.S. 130A-336.2(e)(3). The owner shall be 

responsible for preventing modifications or alterations of the site 

for the wastewater system and the system repair area before, 

during, and after any construction activities for the facility, unless 

approved by the licensed professionals. 

(i)  Prior to the LHD providing written confirmation on the 

common form for the ATO completeness, the owner, PE, or 

AOWE shall submit the following to the LHD: 

(1) documentation that all reporting requirements 

identified in G.S. 130A-336.1(l) or 130A-

336.2(l) have been met; 

(2) information set forth in Rule .0301(d) of this 

Subchapter; 

(3) system start-up documentation, including 

applicable baseline operating parameters for all 

components; 

(4) documentation by the owner that all necessary 

legal agreements, including easements, 

encroachments, multi-party agreements, and 

other documents have been prepared, executed, 

and recorded in accordance with Rule .0301(b) 

and (c) of this Subchapter; 

(5) installer's name, license number, address, e-

mail address, telephone number, and proof of 

insurance for AOWE only; and 

(6) record drawings. 
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(j)  The owner of a wastewater system approved in accordance 

with this Rule shall be responsible for maintaining the wastewater 

system in accordance with the written operation and management 

program required in G.S. 130A-336.1(i)(1) or 130A-336.2(i)(1) 

and Section .1300 of this Subchapter. 

(k)  For repair of a malfunctioning EOP or AOWE system, an NOI 

shall be submitted in accordance with this Rule. Rule .1306 of this 

Subchapter shall be followed for repair of a malfunctioning 

system. The Management Entity shall notify the LHD within 48 

hours of the system malfunction. 

(l)  The owner of an EOP or AOWE system who proposes to 

change the use of the facility shall contact the licensed 

professionals on the NOI to determine whether the current system 

would continue to comply with the Rules of this Subchapter for 

the proposed change of use. The licensed professionals shall 

determine what, if any, modifications shall be necessary for the 

wastewater system to continue to comply with the Rules of this 

Subchapter following the proposed change of use. An NOI 

reflecting the change of use and any required modifications to the 

system shall be submitted to the LHD. The permitting process set 

forth in this Rule shall be followed. 

(m)  For EOP and AOWE systems, the LHD shall: 

(1) file all EOP and AOWE documentation 

consistent with current permit filing procedures 

at the LHD; 

(2) revoke an IP or CA for a wastewater system 

prior to issuing written confirmation of the NOI 

for the same design unit on the same property, 

if applicable; 

(3) revoke an OP for a wastewater system prior to 

issuing written confirmation of an ATO for the 

same design unit on the same property, if 

applicable; 

(4) submit a copy to the Department of the common 

form indicating written confirmation of NOI 

and ATO completeness; 

(5) participate in a post-construction conference in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-336.1(j) or G.S. 

130A-336.2(j); 

(6) review the performance and operation reports 

submitted and perform on-site compliance 

inspections of the wastewater system in 

accordance with Rule .1305(c) and Table 

XXXII of Rule .1301(b) of this Subchapter; 

(7) investigate complaints regarding EOP and 

AOWE systems; 

(8) issue a NOV for systems determined to be 

malfunctioning in accordance with Rule 

.1303(a)(1) and (2) of this Subchapter. The 

LHD shall direct the owner to contact the PE, 

LSS, LG, and installer, as applicable, for 

determination of the reason of the malfunction 

and development of an NOI for repairs; and 

(9) require an owner receiving a NOV to pump and 

haul sewage in accordance with Rule .1306 of 

this Subchapter. 

(n)  The owner may contract with different licensed professionals 

than those originally identified on the initial NOI to complete an 

EOP or AOWE project. When the owner contracts with different 

licensed professionals, a revised NOI reflecting the new licensed 

professionals and proof of insurance shall be submitted to the 

LHD. 

(o)  The owner and all licensed professionals shall comply with 

all applicable federal, State, and local laws, rules, and ordinances. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336.1; 130A-336.2; S.L. 2019-

151, s.14. 

 

SECTION .0300 - RESPONSIBILITIES 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0301 OWNERS 

(a)  The owner of a wastewater system shall: 

(1) apply in accordance with Section .0200 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) comply with G.S. 130A, Article 11, the Rules 

of this Subchapter, and permit conditions 

regarding wastewater system location, 

including repair area; 

(3) identify property lines and fixed reference 

points in the field prior to the LHD site 

evaluation; 

(4) make the site accessible for the site evaluation 

described in Rule .0501 of this Subchapter; 

(5) field stake or otherwise mark the proposed 

facility location and all associated 

appurtenances, such as vehicular traffic areas, 

garage, swimming pool, shed, entryways, 

decks, etc.; 

(6) provide for pits with excavated steps or a ramp 

in the pit that allow for ingress and egress when 

necessary for a soil and site evaluation at the 

site as determined by the LHD or the 

Department in accordance with Rule .0501 of 

this Subchapter; 

(7) provide for system operation, maintenance, 

monitoring, and reporting, including access for 

system maintenance; 

(8) maintain artificial drainage systems, as 

applicable; 

(9) prevent encroachment on the initial wastewater 

system and repair area by utilities, structures, 

vehicular traffic areas, etc.; 

(10) provide documentation supporting an 

exemption from the minimum setback 

requirements in Rule .0601(a) of this 

Subchapter to the LHD, as applicable; 

(11) establish and maintain site-specific vegetation 

over the dispersal field and repair area; and 

(12) repair a malfunctioning system as necessary in 

accordance with this Subchapter. 

(b)  The entire initial wastewater system and repair area shall be 

on property owned or controlled by the wastewater system owner. 

An easement or encroachment agreement shall be required for the 

permitting of any of the following installations: 

(1) any part of the wastewater system is located in 

a common area with other wastewater systems; 
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(2) any part of the wastewater system is located in 

an area with multiple or third-party ownership 

or control; 

(3) any part of the wastewater system is proposed 

to be in an off-site area; or 

(4) any part of the wastewater system and the 

facility are located on different lots or tracts of 

land and cross a property line or right-of-way. 

(c)  Any necessary easements, rights-of-way, or encroachment 

agreements shall be obtained prior to the issuance of a CA. The 

easement, right-of-way, or encroachment agreement shall meet 

the following conditions: 

(1) be appurtenant to specifically described 

property and run with the land; 

(2) not be affected by change of ownership or 

control; 

(3) remain valid for as long as the wastewater 

system is required for the facility that it is 

designed to serve; 

(4) include a description of the uses being granted 

and shall include ingress, egress, and regress, 

system installation, operation, maintenance, 

monitoring, and repairs and any other activity 

required to remain in compliance with this 

Subchapter, including that the easement, right-

of-way, or encroachment remain free of 

structures, landscaping, or any other activities 

that would interfere with the use of the 

easement or encroachment for its intended 

purpose; 

(5) specify in a deed by metes and bounds 

description the area or site required for the 

wastewater system and repair area, including 

collection sewers, tanks, raw sewage lift 

stations, distribution devices, and dispersal 

fields; and 

(6) be recorded with the register of deeds in the 

county where the system and facility are 

located. 

(d)  Prior to OP issuance for a system required to be designed by 

an authorized designer or PE, the owner shall submit to the LHD 

a statement signed by the authorized designer or PE specifying 

that the system has been installed in accordance with the permitted 

design. For systems designed by a PE, the statement shall be 

affixed with the PE seal. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0302 LOCAL HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT AND DEPARTMENT 

(a)  The permitting of a wastewater system shall be the 

responsibility of agents authorized by the Department in 

accordance with G.S. 130A, Article 4 and 15A NCAC 01O .0100, 

and registered with the North Carolina State Board of 

Environmental Health Specialist Examiners, as required in G.S. 

90A, Article 4, unless the permit is issued in accordance with G.S. 

130A-336.1 or G.S. 130A-336.2 and Rule .0207 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  When the wastewater system crosses county lines or the 

facility is in one county and the wastewater system is in another 

county, the LHD in the county that assesses property taxes on the 

facility shall implement the requirements of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The LHD shall issue an NOV to the owner in the following 

situations: 

(1) the wastewater system is malfunctioning in 

accordance with Rule .1303(a)(1) and (2) of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) the wastewater system creates or has created a 

public health hazard or nuisance by effluent 

surfacing, or effluent discharging into 

groundwater or surface waters; 

(3) the wastewater system is partially or totally 

destroyed, such as components that are crushed, 

broken, damaged, or otherwise rendered 

unusable or ineffective so that the component 

will not function as designed; 

(4) the owner does not meet the ownership and 

control requirements of Rule .0301(b) of this 

Section; 

(5) the wastewater system was installed without a 

permit issued in accordance with Section .0200 

of this Subchapter; or 

(6) the facility was expanded without a permit 

issued in accordance with Section .0200 of this 

Subchapter. 

(d)  The authorized agent shall issue a written notice of non-

compliance to the owner when the wastewater system is non-

compliant with G.S. 130A, Article 11, the Rules of this 

Subchapter, or the performance standards or conditions in the OP 

or ATO. 

(e)  The Department shall review and approve the wastewater 

system, including design, layout, plans, and specifications for all 

wastewater systems that serve a facility with a cumulative DDF 

greater than 3,000 gpd, as determined in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. The Department shall also review and approve plans 

and specifications for the following: 

(1) IPWW systems required by this Section to be 

designed by a PE unless the wastewater has 

been determined to not be IPWW in accordance 

with Rule .0303(a)(17) of this Section; 

(2) advanced pretreatment or drip dispersal 

systems not previously approved by the 

Department; and 

(3) any other system so specified by the authorized 

agent. 

(f)  Department review shall not be required when the cumulative 

DDF for the facility is greater than 3,000 gpd as determined in 

Section .0400 of this Subchapter and: 

(1) the wastewater system is made up of an 

individual wastewater system that serves an 

individual dwelling unit or several individual 

wastewater systems, each serving an individual 

dwelling unit; or 

(2) the wastewater system meets the following 

criteria: 
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(A) the individual wastewater system(s) 

serves individual design units with a 

DDF less than or equal to 1,500 gpd; 

(B) the initial and repair dispersal fields 

for each individual wastewater 

system(s) is, at a minimum, 20 feet 

from any other individual wastewater 

system; 

(C) the total DDF for all dispersal fields is 

less than or equal to 1,500 gpd per acre 

based on the portion of the land 

containing the dispersal fields; and 

(D) the wastewater is not HSE as 

identified in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. 

(g)  Department review shall not be required when a PE calculates 

the proposed DDF to be less than or equal to 3,000 gpd based on 

engineering design utilizing low-flow fixtures and low-flow 

technologies in accordance with Rule .0403(e) of this Subchapter. 

Pursuant to S.L. 2013-413, s.34, as revised by S.L. 2014-120, 

s.53, neither the Department nor any LHD shall be liable for a 

system approved or permitted in accordance with this Paragraph. 

(h)  For systems that require Department review and approval, an 

IP shall not be issued by the LHD until the site plan or plat and 

system layout, including details for any proposed site 

modifications, are approved by the Department. A CA shall not 

be issued by the LHD until plans and specifications, submitted in 

accordance with Rule .0304 of this Section, are approved by the 

Department in accordance with these Rules and engineering 

practices. 

(i)  The Department shall provide technical assistance to the LHD 

as needed for interpretation of this Subchapter, in accordance with 

the recognized principles and practices of soil science, geology, 

engineering, and public health. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0303 LICENSED OR CERTIFIED 

PROFESSIONALS 

(a)  Any wastewater system that meets one or more of the 

following conditions shall be designed by a PE if required in G.S. 

89C: 

(1) the system has a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd, 

as determined in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter, except where the system is limited 

to an individual wastewater system serving an 

individual dwelling unit or multiple individual 

wastewater systems, each serving an individual 

dwelling unit; 

(2) the system requires advanced pretreatment or 

drip dispersal and is not a system approved 

under Sections .1500, .1600, or .1700 of this 

Subchapter; 

(3) pressure dispersal systems that require pumping 

more than 500 feet horizontally or more than 50 

feet of net elevation head; 

(4) pressure dosed gravity distribution systems that 

require pumping more than 1,000 feet 

horizontally or more than 100 feet of net 

elevation head; 

(5) dosing systems or force mains that have one or 

more intermediate high points greater than five 

feet; 

(6) the system requires pumping downhill to a 

pressure dosed gravity or pressure dispersal 

field where the volume of the supply line that 

could drain to the dispersal field between doses 

exceeds 25 percent of the required dose 

volume; 

(7) pressure dispersal systems and pressure dosed 

gravity systems with a DDF greater than 600 

gpd serving a single design unit; 

(8) pressure dispersal systems where there is more 

than 15 percent variation in line length. The 15 

percent variation shall be measured by 

comparing the longest line length to the shortest 

line length in any dispersal field; 

(9) two or more septic tanks or advanced 

pretreatment units, each serving a separate 

design unit, and served by a common dosing 

tank; 

(10) a STEP system with a pressure sewer or other 

pressure sewer system receiving effluent from 

two or more pump tanks; 

(11) an adjusted DDF is proposed based on the use 

of low-flow fixtures or low-flow technologies 

in accordance with Rule .0403(e) of this 

Subchapter; 

(12) the system requires use of sewage pumps prior 

to the septic tank or other pretreatment system, 

except for systems governed by the North 

Carolina Plumbing Code or which consist of 

grinder pumps and associated pump basins that 

are approved and listed in accordance with 

standards adopted by NSF International; 

(13) an individual system is required to use more 

than one pump or siphon in a single pump tank. 

Examples include dual pumps as set forth in 

Rule .1101(b) of this Subchapter; 

(14) the system includes a collection sewer prior to 

the septic tank or other pretreatment system 

serving two or more design units, except for 

systems governed by the North Carolina 

Plumbing Code; 

(15) the wastewater system includes structures that 

have not been pre-engineered; 

(16) the proposed pump model is not listed by a 

third-party electrical testing and listing agency; 

(17) the system is designed for the collection, 

treatment, and dispersal of IPWW, except under 

the following circumstances: 

(A) the Department has determined that 

the wastewater generated by the 

proposed facility has a pollutant 

strength that is lower than or equal to 

DSE and does not require specialized 

treatment or management. This 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2021 

1869 

determination shall be made based on 

a review of the wastewater generating 

process, wastewater characteristic 

data, and material safety data sheets, 

as compared to DSE; or 

(B) the Department has approved a 

treatment system or process and 

management method proposed by the 

facility owner that generates effluent 

with a pollutant strength which is 

lower than or equal to DSE. This 

approval shall be based on a review of 

documentation provided in 

conjunction with prior project specific 

reviews or a PIA approval. This 

approval shall be based on data from 

other facilities, management practices, 

and other information provided by the 

owner; 

(18) the wastewater system is designed for RCW; 

(19) any wastewater system designed by a licensed 

professional that has been determined to be 

within the practice of engineering in accordance 

with G.S. 89C-3(6) by the North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors; 

(20) any wastewater system approved in accordance 

with Sections .1500, .1600, and .1700 of this 

Subchapter that requires in the RWTS or PIA 

Approval that the system be designed by a PE; 

(21) any system or system component where the 

Rules of this Subchapter provide for an 

engineer to propose alternative materials, 

capacity determination, or performance 

requirements; and 

(22) any other system so specified by the LHD, 

based on wastewater system complexity and 

LHD's experience with the proposed system 

type. 

(b)  A PE, in accordance with G.S. 89C, may propose an 

alternative design for a facility projected to generate HSE in 

accordance with Rule .0401(h) of this Subchapter. The alternative 

design shall include supporting documentation showing that the 

proposed system design will meet DSE in Table III of Rule 

.0402(a) of this Subchapter. The alternative design shall be 

reviewed and approved by the Department unless the system has 

been approved in accordance with Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  Plans and specifications for the use of a groundwater lowering 

system to comply with the vertical separation to a SWC shall be 

prepared by a licensed professional if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, 

or 89F. Prior to the issuance of an IP or CA, the plans and 

specifications shall be reviewed and approved by the authorized 

agent if the plans and specifications meet the requirements of 

Rules .0504 and .0910 of this Subchapter and accepted design 

practices. 

(d)  An installer shall construct, install, or repair wastewater 

systems as required by G.S. 90A, Article 5. The installer shall be 

responsible for the following: 

(1) certification at the required level according to 

the system design specifications as required by 

G.S. 90A, Article 5; 

(2) notification to the LHD upon completion of the 

system installation and each stage requiring 

inspection as conditioned on a CA; 

(3) participation in a preconstruction conference 

when specified in the CA or by the RWTS or 

PIA Approval; 

(4) participation during the inspection of the 

wastewater system by the authorized agent; 

(5) participation during the post-construction 

conference and all other requirements when the 

wastewater system is permitted in accordance 

with Rule .0207 of this Subchapter and G.S. 

130A-336.1 or G.S. 130A-336.2; and 

(6) final cover of the system after LHD approval. 

The wastewater system shall be in the same 

condition when covered as when approved. 

(e)  The Management Entity, or its employees, shall hold a valid 

and current certificate or certifications as required for the system 

from the Water Pollution Control Systems Operators Certification 

Commission. Nothing in this Subchapter shall preclude any 

requirements for system Management Entities in accordance with 

G.S. 90A, Article 3. 

(f)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed as allowing any 

licensed professional to provide services for which he or she has 

neither the educational background, expertise, or license to 

perform, or is beyond his or her scope of work and the applicable 

statues for their respective professions. 

(g)  The PE or authorized designer shall provide a written 

statement to the owner specifying that construction is complete 

and in accordance with approved plans, specifications, and 

modifications. This statement shall be based on periodic 

observations of construction and a final inspection for design 

compliance. Record drawings shall be provided to the owner and 

LHD when any change has been made to the wastewater system 

installation from the approved plans. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C; 89E; 89F; 90A; 130A-335. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0304 SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR PLANS, SPECIFICATIONS, AND REPORTS 

PREPARED BY LICENSED PROFESSIONALS FOR 

SYSTEMS OVER 3,000 GALLONS/DAY 

All wastewater systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd shall 

be designed by a PE, with site evaluation by an LSS, and LG, as 

applicable, in accordance with G.S. 89C, 89E, and 89F. The 

wastewater system plans, specifications, and reports shall contain 

the information necessary for construction of the wastewater 

system. Plans, specifications, and reports shall include the 

following information: 

(1) Applicant information and DDF determination: 

(a) the seal, signature, and the date on all 

plans, specifications, and reports 

prepared by the PE, LSS, and any 

other licensed or registered 

professionals who contributed to the 

plans, specifications, or reports; 
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(b) name, address, and phone number for 

the owner and all licensed 

professionals who have prepared 

plans, specifications, and reports for 

the wastewater system; and 

(c) DDF and projected wastewater 

strength based on the application 

submitted to the LHD that includes 

calculations and the basis for the 

proposed DDF and wastewater 

strength. 

(2) Special site evaluation in accordance with Rule 

.0510 of this Subchapter, including soil and site 

evaluation, hydraulic and hydrologic 

assessment reports, and site plans: 

(a) soil and site evaluation report, written 

by the LSS, on the field evaluation of 

the soil conditions and site features 

within the proposed initial and repair 

dispersal field areas including the 

following: 

(i) vertical soil profile 

descriptions for pits and soil 

borings in accordance with 

Section .0500 of this 

Subchapter; 

(ii) recommended LTAR, system 

type, trench width, length, 

depth on downslope side of 

trench for proposed initial 

and repair dispersal field 

areas with justification; 

(iii) soil and site-based criteria for 

dispersal field design and site 

modifications; 

(iv) for sites originally classified 

unsuitable, written 

documentation indicating 

that the proposed system can 

be expected to function in 

accordance with Rule 

.0509(c) of this Subchapter; 

and 

(v) recommended effluent 

standard for proposed initial 

and repair dispersal field 

areas with justification; and 

(b) hydraulic assessment reports on site-

specific field information that shall 

include: 

(i) in-situ Ksat measurements at 

the proposed infiltrative 

surface elevation where 

possible and at each distinct 

horizon within and beneath 

the treatment zone to a depth 

of 48 inches below the 

ground surface or to a depth 

referenced in an associated 

hydraulic assessment, such as 

groundwater mounding 

analysis or lateral flow 

analysis; 

(ii) logs from deep borings 

identifying restrictive layers, 

changes in texture and 

density, and aquifer 

boundaries; 

(iii) groundwater mounding for 

level sites or lateral flow 

analysis for sloping sites in 

accordance with Rule 

.0510(e) of this Subchapter, 

as applicable; and 

(iv) contaminant transport 

analysis showing projected 

compliance with 

groundwater standards at 

property lines or at the 

required setback from water 

supply sources within the 

property, as applicable; 

(3) Site plan prepared by the PE based on a 

boundary survey prepared by a registered land 

surveyor with the following information: 

(a) site topography, proposed site 

modifications, location of existing and 

proposed site features listed in Rule 

.0601 of this Subchapter, proposed 

facility location, location of proposed 

initial and repair dispersal field areas 

and types, and location of LSS soil 

pits, hand auger borings, deep borings, 

and in-situ Kats tests, as applicable; 

(b) existing and proposed public wells or 

water supply sources on the property 

or within 500 feet of any proposed 

initial and repair dispersal field areas; 

(c) existing and proposed private wells or 

water supply sources within 200 feet 

of existing or proposed system 

component locations; 

(d) other existing and proposed wells, 

existing and proposed water lines 

including fire protection, irrigation, 

etc., within the property boundaries 

and within 10 feet of any projected 

system component; 

(e) surface waters with water quality 

classification, jurisdictional wetlands, 

and existing and proposed stormwater 

management drainage features and 

groundwater drainage systems; 

(f) topographic map with two-foot 

contour intervals or spot elevations 

when there is less than a two-foot 

elevation difference across the site 

identifying areas evaluated for initial 
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and repair dispersal field areas, 

proposed location of trenches, and pits 

and soil borings labeled to facilitate 

field identification; 

(g) location of tanks and advanced 

pretreatment components, including 

means of access for pumping and 

maintenance; and 

(h) any site modifications and site and 

slope stabilization plans. 

(4) System components design, installation, 

operation, and maintenance information: 

(a) collection systems and sewers: 

(i) plan and profile drawings, 

including location, pipe 

diameter, invert and ground 

surface elevations of 

manholes and cleanouts; 

(ii) proximity to utilities and site 

features listed in Rule .0601 

of this Subchapter; 

(iii) drawings of service 

connections, manholes, 

cleanouts, valves and other 

appurtenances, aerial 

crossings, road crossings, 

water lines, stormwater 

management drainage 

features, streams, or ditches; 

and 

(iv) installation and testing 

procedures and pass or fail 

criteria; 

(b) tank information: 

(i) plan and profile drawings of 

all tanks, including tank 

dimensions and all 

elevations; 

(ii) access riser, manhole, 

chamber interconnection, 

effluent filter, and inlet and 

outlet details; 

(iii) construction details for built-

in-place tanks, including 

dimensions, reinforcement 

details and calculations, and 

construction methods; 

(iv) identification number for 

Department approved tanks; 

(v) installation criteria and water 

tightness testing procedures 

with pass or fail criteria; and 

(vi) anti-buoyancy calculations 

and provisions; 

(c) pump stations, including raw sewage 

lift stations and pump tanks: 

(i) information required in Sub-

item (4)(b) of this Rule; 

(ii) specifications for pumps, 

discharge piping, pump 

removal system, and all 

related appurtenances; 

(iii) dosing system total dynamic 

head calculations, pump 

specifications, pump curves 

and expected operating 

conditions, including dosing, 

flushing, etc.; 

(iv) control panel, floats and 

settings, high-water alarm 

components, location, and 

operational description under 

normal and high-water 

conditions; 

(v) emergency storage capacity 

calculations, timer control 

settings, and provisions for 

stand-by power; and 

(vi) lighting, ventilation, if 

applicable, wash-down water 

supply with back siphon 

protection, and protective 

fencing; 

(d) advanced pretreatment systems: 

(i) information required in Sub-

items (4)(b) and (c) of this 

Rule; 

(ii) drawings and details showing 

all advanced pretreatment 

units and appurtenances such 

as pumps, valves, floats, etc., 

size and type of piping, 

disinfection unit, blowers if 

needed, location of control 

panels, height of control 

panels, etc; and 

(iii) documentation from the 

manufacturer supporting the 

proposed design and use of 

the advanced pretreatment 

system to achieve specified 

effluent standards if not 

otherwise approved by the 

Department in accordance 

with Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter; 

(e) dispersal field plans and specifications 

with design and construction details: 

(i) final field layout, including 

ground elevations based on 

field measurements at a 

maximum of two-foot 

intervals or spot elevations 

when there is less than a two-

foot elevation difference 

across the site; 
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(ii) trench plan and profile 

drawings, including cross 

sectional details, length, 

spacing, connection details, 

cleanouts, etc., and invert 

elevations for each lateral; 

(iii) manifolds, supply lines, pipe 

sizes, cleanouts and 

interconnection details, and 

invert elevations; 

(iv) flow distribution device 

design; 

(v) artificial drainage system 

locations, elevations, 

discharge points, and design 

details, as applicable; 

(vi) site preparation procedures; 

(vii) construction phasing and 

wastewater system testing; 

and 

(viii) final landscaping and 

compliance with erosion 

control requirements, such as 

site stabilization procedures 

and drainage; 

(f) materials specification for all 

materials to be used, methods of 

construction, means for assuring the 

quality and integrity of the finished 

product; and 

(g) operation and maintenance procedures 

for the Management Entity, inspection 

schedules, and maintenance 

specifications for mechanical 

components and dispersal field 

vegetative cover; and 

(5) any other information determined to be 

applicable by the LHD or the Department, such 

as the impact of projected wastewater 

constituents on the trench and receiving soil. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0305 SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR PLANS, SPECIFICATIONS, AND REPORTS 

PREPARED BY LICENSED PROFESSIONALS FOR 

SYSTEMS LESS THAN OR EQUAL TO 3,000 

GALLONS/DAY 

Plans, specifications, and reports for wastewater systems with a 

DDF less than or equal to 3,000 gpd that are required to be 

prepared by an LSS or PE, if required in G.S. 89C or 89E, shall 

include the information required by the following: 

(1) Rule .0304(1) of this Section; 

(2) Rule .0304(2) of this Section for special site 

evaluations and submittals prepared under Rule 

.0510 of this Subchapter; and 

(3) Rule .0304(4) of this Section for advanced 

pretreatment and IPWW. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335. 

 

SECTION .0400 – DESIGN DAILY FLOW AND EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0401 DESIGN DAILY FLOW 

(a)  The minimum DDF for dwelling units shall be based on: 

(1) 175 gpd for a one bedroom dwelling unit with no more than two occupants and 400 square feet of living space or less; 

or 

(2) 120 gpd per bedroom with a minimum of 240 gpd per dwelling unit or 60 gpd per person when occupancy exceeds 

two persons per bedroom, whichever is greater. 

(b)  DDF for facilities other than dwelling units shall be in accordance with Table II as follows: 

 

TABLE II. Design daily flow for Facilities 

Facility type Design daily flow 

Commercial  

Airports, railroad stations, bus and ferry terminals, 

etc. 

5 gal/traveler, food preparation not included 

Barber shops 50 gal/chair 

Bars, cocktail lounges∞ 20 gal/seat, food preparation not included 

Beauty shops, style shops, hair salons 125 gal/chair 

Bed and breakfast homes and inns Dwelling unit DDF based on Paragraph (a) of this Rule plus 

120 gal/rented room which includes the following: 

Meals served to overnight guests 

Laundry for linens 

150 gal/room with cooking facilities in individual rooms 

Event Center∞ 5 gal/person with toilets and hand sinks up to 4 hrs 

10 gal/person with toilets and hand sinks up to 8 hrs 

15 gal/person with toilets and hand sinks greater than 8 hrs 

Add 5 gal/person with full kitchen 
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Markets open less than four days/week, such as a 

flea market or farmers market 

30 gal/stall or vendor, food preparation not included 

Marinas with no holding tank discharge included 30 gal/boat slip, with bathhouse 

10 gal/boat slip, wet slips or slips on dock 

5 gal/boat slip, dry storage or warehouse 

Motels/hotels 

 

120 gal/room includes the following: 

No cooking facilities in individual rooms other than a 

microwave or other similar devices 

No food service or limited food service establishment 

Laundry for linens 

150 gal/room with cooking facilities in individual rooms 

Offices and factories with no IPWW included 12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Add 10 gal/employee for showers 

Stores, shopping centers, and malls 100 gal/1,000 ft2 of retail sales area, food preparation not 

included 

Warehouse that are not retail sales warehouses 100 gal/loading bay or 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Storage warehouse including self-storage facilities 

and does not include caretaker residence 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Alcoholic beverage tasting areas with no process 

wastewater included 

200 gal/1,000 ft2 of tasting area floor space and includes glass 

washing equipment 

Food preparation and food clean up not included 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Camps/Campgrounds  

Summer camps with overnight stays* 60 gal/person, applied as follows: 

15 gal/person/food preparation 

20 gal/person/toilet facilities 

10 gal/person/bathing facilities 

15 gal/person/laundry facilities 

Day camps not inclusive of swimming area 

bathhouse* 

20 gal/person and 

5 gal/meal served with multiuse service or 

3 gal/meal served with single-service articles 

Temporary Labor Camp or Migrant Housing Camp 

with overnight stays* 

60 gal/person, applied as follows: 

15 gal/person/food preparation 

20 gal/person/toilet facilities 

10 gal/person/bathing facilities 

15 gal/person/laundry facilities 

Travel trailer or RV in an RV park* 100 gal/space 

Recreational Park Trailer or Park Model Trailer 400 

ft2 or less in an RV park* 

150 gal/space 

 

Bathhouse for campsites and RV park sites with no 

water and sewer hook ups with a maximum of four 

people per campsite 

70 gal/campsite 

Food preparation facilities  

Food Establishments with multiuse articles* 25 gal/seat or 25 gal/15 ft2 of floor space open 6 hrs/day or less 

40 gal/seat or 40 gal/15 ft2 of floor space open 6 to 16 hrs/day 

Add 4 gpd/seat for every additional hour open beyond 16 hrs 

Food Establishments with single service articles* 20 gal/seat or 20 gal/15 ft2 of floor space open 6 hrs/day or less 

30 gal/seat or 30 gal/15 ft2 of floor space open 6 to 16 hrs/day 

Add 3 gpd/seat for every additional hour open beyond 16 hrs 

Food stand with up to eight seats, mobile food units, 

and commissary kitchens* 

50 gal/100 ft2 of food stand, food unit, or food prep floor space 

and 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Other food service facilities* 5 gal/meal served with multiuse articles 

3 gal/meal served with single service articles 
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Meat markets or fish markets with no process 

wastewater included* 

50 gal/100 ft2 of floor space and 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Health care and other care institutions  

Hospitals* 300 gal/bed 

Rest homes, assisted living homes, and nursing 

homes* 

150 gal/bed with laundry 

75 gal/bed without laundry 

Add 60 gal/resident employee with laundry 

Day care facilities 15 gal/person open ≤ 12 hr shift without laundry 

Add 1 gal/person/hr open for more than 12 hrs per day 

Add 5 gal/person with full kitchen 

Group homes, drug rehabilitation, mental health, 

and other care institutions 

75 gal/person with laundry 

Orphanages 60 gal/student or resident employee with laundry 

Public access restrooms  

Convenience store, service station, truck stop* 250 gal/toilet or urinal meeting the following: 

Open less than 16 hrs/day 

Food preparation not included 

Retail space not included 

325 gal/toilet or urinal meeting the following: 

Open 16 to 24 hrs/day 

Food preparation not included 

Retail space not included 

Highway rest areas and visitor centers* 325 gal/toilet or urinal or 

10 gal/parking space, whichever is greater 

Recreational facilities  

Bowling center 50 gal/lane, food preparation not included 

Community center, gym∞ 5 gal/person plus 12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift or 

50 gal/100 ft2, whichever is greater 

Country club or golf course 10 gal/person 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

3 gal/person for convenience stations 

Food preparation not included 

Fairground 250 gal/toilet or urinal 

Fitness center, spas, karate, dance, exercise∞ 50 gal/100 ft2 of floor space used by clientele 

Food preparation not included 

Recreational park, State park, county park, and other 

similar facilities with no sports facilities 

10 gal/parking space 

Outdoor sports facilities, mini golf, batting cages, 

driving ranges, motocross, athletic park, ball fields, 

stadium, and other similar facilities 

250 gal/toilet or urinal, 5 gal/seat, or 10 gal/parking space, 

whichever is greater 

Food preparation not included 

Auditorium, theater, amphitheater, drive-in theater 2 gal/seat or 10 gal/parking space, whichever is greater 

Food preparation not included 

Swimming pools and bathhouses 5 gal/person domestic waste only, bathing load of pool may be 

used as an alternative method of sizing 

Sports facilities courts or other similar facilities 250 gal/toilet or urinal or 50 gal/court, whichever is greater 

Institutions  

Church or other religious institution* 2 gal/seat sanctuary only 

3 gal/seat with warming kitchen in same structure as sanctuary 

5 gal/seat with full kitchen in same structure as sanctuary 

Public or private assembly halls used for recreation, 

regularly scheduled meetings, events, or 

amusement∞* 

2 gal/person with toilets and hand sinks 

3 gal/person with addition of a warming kitchen 

5 gal/person with full kitchen 
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For churches, flow shall be in addition to sanctuary 

structure flow 

Schools  

Day schools* 6 gal/student with no cafeteria or gymnasium 

9 gal/student with cafeteria only 

12 gal/student with cafeteria and gymnasium 

After school program 5 gal/student in addition to flow for regular school day 

Boarding schools 60 gal/student and resident employee with laundry 

* Facility has potential to generate HSE. 

∞Designer shall use the maximum building occupancy assigned by the local fire marshal in calculating DDF unless another method for 

determining DDF is proposed, including the justification for not using the maximum building occupancy. 

 

(c)  The minimum DDF from any facility other than a dwelling 

unit shall be 100 gpd. For facilities with multiple design units, the 

minimum DDF shall be 100 gpd per design unit. The DDF of the 

facility shall be the sum of all design unit flows. 

(d)  DDF determination for wastewater systems with facilities not 

identified in this Rule shall be determined using available water 

use data, capacity of water-using fixtures, occupancy or operation 

patterns, and other measured data from the facility itself or a 

comparable facility. 

(e)  Where laundry is not specified for a facility in Table II, but is 

proposed to be provided, the DDF shall be adjusted to account for 

the proposed usage and machine water capacity. The owner shall 

provide cut-sheets for laundry machines proposed for use in 

facilities. 

(f)  HVAC unit or ice machine condensate, gutter or sump pump 

discharge, water treatment system back flush lines, or similar 

incidental flows shall not discharge to the wastewater system, 

unless a PE designs the wastewater system for these flows. 

(g)  Unless otherwise noted in Table II, the DDF per unit includes 

employees. 

(h)  Food service facilities and other facilities that are projected to 

generate wastewater with constituent levels greater than DSE, as 

defined in Rule .0402 of this Section, are identified in Table II 

with a single asterisk (*) as HSE. Any facility that has a food 

service component that contributes 50 percent or more of the DDF 

shall be considered to generate HSE. Determination of wastewater 

strength shall be based on projected or measured levels of one or 

more of the following: BOD, TSS, FOG, or TN. Table III of Rule 

.0402(a) of this Section identifies the constituent limits for DSE. 

(i)  Wastewater with constituents other than those listed in Table 

III of Rule .0402(a) of this Section may be classified as IPWW as 

defined in G.S. 130A-334(2a) on a site-specific basis. 

(j)  A request for an adjusted DDF shall be made in accordance 

with Rule .0403 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); S.L. 2013-413, s.34; S.L. 2014-120, 

s.53. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0402 SEPTIC TANK EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

(a)  Septic tank effluent standards for DSE shall be as set forth in 

Table III of this Paragraph. Effluent that exceeds these standards 

for any constituent shall be considered HSE. When measured, 

effluent characteristics shall be based on at least two effluent 

samples collected during normal or above-normal operating  

 

 

 

periods. A normal period is when the occupancy, operation, or use 

of the facility is average when compared to the occupancy,  

 

operation, or use over a time frame of a minimum of one year. 

The samples shall be taken from the existing or a comparable 

facility on non-consecutive days of operation. A comparable 

facility is based on documentation showing that the hours of 

operation, floor plan, water use practices, water-using fixtures, 

location, etc., are similar to the facility listed in the application. 

The samples shall be analyzed for a minimum of BOD5, TSS, TN, 

and FOG. 

 

Table III. Septic tank effluent standards for DSE 

Constituent 
Maximum DSE 

mg/L 

BOD ≤ 350 

TSS ≤ 100 

TN*  ≤ 100 

FOG ≤ 30 

*TN is the sum of TKN, nitrate nitrogen, and nitrite nitrogen 

 

(b)  Designs for facilities that generate HSE or when an adjusted 

DDF is proposed in accordance with Rule .0403 shall address the 

issue of wastewater strength in accordance with one of the 

following: 

(1) Wastewater systems that meet one of the 

following criteria shall utilize advanced 

pretreatment, designed in accordance with Rule 

.1201(b) of this Subchapter, to produce DSE or 

better prior to dispersal: 

(A) DDF greater than 1,500 gpd and HSE; 

(B) any proposed flow reduction in 

accordance with Rule .0403 of this 

Section where the DDF is greater than 

1,500 gpd; or 

(C) any proposed flow reduction in 

accordance with Rule .0403 of this 

Section with projected or measured 

effluent characteristics that exceed 

DSE as set forth in Table III of this 

Rule; or 

(2) A licensed professional, in accordance with 

G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F, may justify not using 

advanced pretreatment by providing the 

following, as applicable: 
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(A) the system design is determined based upon a mass loading adjusted LTAR calculated using site-specific 

LTAR and projected or measured BOD5 and TSS values. The adjusted LTAR calculations shall be done as 

follows: 

 

MLAF = 300/(BOD5 + TSS) or one, whichever is smaller 

ALTAR = MLAF x LTAR 

Where  MLAF = mass loading LTAR adjustment factor 

BOD5 = measured or projected 

TSS = measured or projected 

LTAR = LTAR assigned by the authorized agent for DSE in accordance with this 

Subchapter 

ALTAR = adjusted LTAR 

 

(B) site-specific nitrogen migration 

analysis when projected or measured 

effluent total nitrogen levels are 

greater than 100 mg/L. Analysis shall 

demonstrate that the nitrate-nitrogen 

concentration at the property line will 

not exceed 10 mg/L; and 

(C) additional pretreatment to reduce FOG 

to less than or equal to 30 mg/L, 

including justification for the 

proposed pretreatment method. 

(c)  The requirements of Paragraph (b) shall not apply if the 

effluent for a specific facility identified in Rule .0401 of this 

Section as HSE has been measured in accordance with Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule and shown to be DSE. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); S.L. 2013-413, s.34; S.L. 2014-120, 

s.53. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0403 ADJUSTMENTS TO DESIGN 

DAILY FLOW 

(a)  The authorized agent or the Department shall approve an 

adjusted DDF relative to the values in Table II of Rule .0401(b) 

of this Section for new or existing facilities in accordance with 

this Rule. The water use information provided to support the 

proposed adjusted DDF shall meet the requirements of Paragraphs 

(b) or (c) of this Rule and may be provided by the owner, designer, 

or PE. All adjustments to DDF shall meet the requirements of 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(b)  Adjustments to DDF based on documented data from the 

facility or a comparable facility, as described in Rule .0402(a) of 

this Section, shall meet one of the following criteria: 

(1) the submitted data shall consist of a minimum 

of 12 consecutive monthly total water 

consumption readings, and 30 consecutive 

daily water consumption readings taken during 

a projected normal or above normal wastewater 

flow month. A normal or above normal month 

is when the average flow equals or exceeds the 

mean of the 12 consecutive monthly total water 

consumption readings. The following 

calculations shall be done with the submitted 

data: 

(A) a hydraulic peaking factor shall be 

calculated by dividing the highest 

monthly flow of the 12 monthly  

 

readings by the sum of the 30 

consecutive daily water consumption 

readings. The hydraulic peaking factor 

shall not be less than one; and 

(B) the adjusted DDF shall be calculated 

by multiplying the numerical average 

of the greatest 10 percent of the daily 

readings by the hydraulic peaking 

factor; or 

(2) the adjusted DDF shall be calculated by 

multiplying the highest of the 12 monthly 

readings by 1.5 and then dividing by the 

number of days in the month. 

(c)  Adjustments to DDF based on the proposed use of extreme 

water-conserving fixtures, which use less water that the fixtures 

required by the North Carolina Plumbing Code, shall be based 

upon the capacity of fixtures and documentation of the amount of 

flow reduction to be expected from their use in the proposed 

facility. Cut sheets of the proposed fixtures shall be provided to 

the LHD and the Department, as applicable. 

(d)  The proposed adjusted DDF shall account for projected 

increased constituent concentrations due to the reduction in water 

use. Calculations shall be provided to verify that the criteria in 

Rules .0402 and .1201 of this Subchapter are met. 

(e)  Pursuant to S.L. 2013-413, s.34, as revised by S.L. 2014-120, 

s.53, a PE may propose an adjusted DDF for new or existing 

dwelling units or facilities identified in Table II of Rule .0401(b) 

of this Section in accordance with the following: 

(1) DDF less than those listed in Rule .0401 of this 

Section that are achieved through engineering 

design that utilizes low-flow fixtures and low-

flow technologies; 

(2) comparison of flow from proposed fixtures and 

technologies to flow from conventional fixtures 

and technologies; 

(3) the signed and sealed proposal shall account for 

the site-specific impact on the wastewater 

system based on projected increased constituent 

concentrations resulting from reduction in 

water use in accordance with Rule .0402(b) of 

this Section; 

(4) inspection of the existing wastewater system 

and verification that the system meets the Rules 

of this Subchapter and can accept the increase 

in constituent loading, as applicable; 
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(5) proposed adjusted DDF for wastewater systems 

determined to be less than or equal to 3,000 gpd 

shall not require Department review in 

accordance with Rule .0302(e) of this 

Subchapter unless requested by the LHD; and 

(6) neither the Department nor any LHD shall be 

liable for any damages caused by a system 

approved or permitted in accordance with this 

Paragraph. 

(f)  A PE may propose, and the Department shall approve an 

adjusted DDF for a facility made up of individual dwelling units 

in accordance with this Rule when the following criteria are met: 

(1) DDF calculated in accordance with this Section 

is greater than 3,000 gpd; 

(2) adjusted DDF is based on information in 

Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this Rule; and 

(3) increase in wastewater strength is accounted for 

in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(g)  Adjusted DDF based upon use of water-conserving fixtures 

shall apply only to design capacity requirements of the dosing 

system and dispersal fields. The DDF set forth in Rule .0401 of 

this Section shall be used to determine minimum tank and 

advanced pretreatment component capacities. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); S.L. 2013-413, s.34; S.L. 2014-120, 

s.53. 

 

SECTION .0500 – SOIL AND SITE EVALUATION 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0501 SITE EVALUATION 

(a)  Upon receipt of an application, an authorized agent shall 

investigate each proposed site in accordance with this Section to 

determine whether the site is suitable or unsuitable for the 

installation of a wastewater system. The field investigation shall 

include the evaluation of the following soil and site features with 

written field descriptions including: 

(1) topography, slope, and landscape position; 

(2) soil morphology: 

(A) depth of horizons; 

(B) texture; 

(C) structure; 

(D) consistence; 

(E) color; and 

(F) organic soils, as applicable; 

(3) SWC; 

(4) soil depth; 

(5) restrictive horizons; 

(6) the suitability for each profile description; 

(7) LTAR; and 

(8) available space. 

(b)  Soil profiles shall be evaluated at the site by borings, pits, or 

other means of excavation, and described to reflect variations in 

soil and site characteristics across both initial and repair areas. 

(c)  Soil profiles shall be evaluated and described to the following 

minimum depths: 

(1) 48 inches from the ground surface; or 

(2) to a LC determined in accordance with this 

Section. 

(d)  Owners may be required to provide pits when necessary for 

evaluation of the site as determined by the authorized agent, such 

as for evaluation of saprolite or soil structure. 

(e)  Based on the evaluation of the soil conditions and site features 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, each soil profile shall be 

classified suitable or unsuitable. The authorized agent shall 

specify the overall site suitability and classification in accordance 

with Rule .0509 of this Section. 

(f)  The authorized agent shall specify the LTAR in accordance 

with Section .0900 of this Subchapter for sites classified suitable 

in accordance with Rule .0509 of this Section. 

(g)  A LC initially classified unsuitable may be reclassified 

suitable if the requirements of Rule .0509(b) or (c) of this Section 

are met. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0502 TOPOGRAPHY AND 

LANDSCAPE POSITION 

(a)  Uniform stable slopes less than or equal to 65 percent shall be 

suitable with respect to topography. 

(b)  The following shall be unsuitable with respect to topography: 

(1) slopes greater than 65 percent; and 

(2) areas subject to surface water convergence. The 

site shall be considered suitable when the 

surface water can be diverted from the site with 

berms or other surface water diversion devices; 

(c)  The following shall be unsuitable with respect to landscape 

position: 

(1) depressions, except when with site 

modifications in accordance with Rule .0910 of 

this Subchapter, the site complies with the 

requirements of this Section; 

(2) a jurisdictional wetland as determined by the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or DEQ, unless 

the proposed use is approved in writing by the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or DEQ; and 

(3) complex slope patterns, such as areas affected 

by erosion which have rills or evidence of 

drainage, and slopes dissected by gullies that 

prohibit the design, installation, maintenance, 

monitoring, or repair of the wastewater system. 

(d)  For all sites, except where a drip dispersal system is proposed, 

additional required soil depth based on slope correction shall be 

calculated using the following formula to determine site 

suitability for soil depth in accordance with Rule .0505 of this 

Section: 

SD = MSD + (TW x S) 

Where SD = soil depth required with slope  

correction, in inches 

MSD = minimum soil depth, in inches 

TW = proposed trench width, in inches 

S = percent slope, in decimal form 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0503 SOIL MORPHOLOGY 

The soil morphology shall be evaluated in accordance with the 

following: 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2021 

1878 

(1) Texture – The texture of each soil horizon in a 

profile shall be classified into 12 soil textural 

classes based upon the relative proportions of 

sand, silt, and clay sized mineral particles. The 

soil textural class shall be determined in the 

field by hand texturing samples of each soil 

horizon in the soil profile in accordance with 

the criteria in Guide to Soil Texture by Feel, 

Journal of Agronomic Education, USDA, 

NRCS. Table IV identifies the Soil Groups that 

shall be suitable with respect to texture.

 

Table IV. Soil Groups that are suitable with respect to texture 

Soil Group USDA Soil Textural Class 

I Sands Sand 

Loamy Sand 

II Coarse Loams Sandy Loam 

Loam 

III Fine Loams Silt 

Silt Loam 

Sandy Clay Loam 

Clay Loam 

Silty Clay Loam 

IV Clays Sandy Clay 

Silty Clay 

Clay 

 

Laboratory testing of the soil textural class may be substituted for field testing when the laboratory testing is conducted 

in accordance with ASTM D6913 and D7928. When laboratory testing of soil texture is proposed, the LHD shall be 

notified a minimum of 48 hours before samples are to be taken by the licensed professional, if required by G.S. 89C, 

89E, or 89F. The authorized agent and the licensed professional shall be present when the samples are collected. 

Samples shall be representative of the soil horizon being evaluated for texture. Split samples shall be made available 

to the LHD when requested. The licensed professional shall document chain of custody and seal, sign, and date the 

first page of the report. 

(2) Structure – Soil structure shall be determined in the field for each soil horizon in the soil profile and shall be classified 

and suitability determined in accordance with Table V. If an authorized agent determines that the soil structure cannot 

be determined from auger borings, pits shall be required. 

 

Table V. Soil structure and associated suitability classification 

Structure Diameter Classification 

Granular N/A suitable 

Blocky ≤ 1 inch or 2.5 cm suitable 

> 1 inch or 2.5 cm unsuitable 

Platy N/A unsuitable 

Prismatic ≤ 2 inches or 5 cm suitable 

> 2 inches or 5 cm unsuitable 

Absence of structure: 

Single Grain 

N/A suitable 

Absence of Structure: 

Massive - 

no structural peds 

N/A unsuitable 

 

(3) Clay Mineralogy – Clay mineralogy shall be determined in the field by evaluation of moist and wet soil consistence 

in accordance with the USDA-NRCS Field Book for Describing and Sampling Soils. The clay mineralogy shall be 

classified and suitability determined in accordance with Table VI. 

 

Table VI. Clay mineralogy field method results, associated mineralogy, and suitability classification 

Soil Consistence Mineralogy Classification 

Moist 

Loose, very friable Slightly expansive suitable 

Friable, firm Slightly expansive suitable 

Very firm or extremely firm Expansive unsuitable* 
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Wet 

Nonsticky, slightly sticky 

Nonplastic, slightly plastic 

Slightly expansive suitable 

Moderately sticky 

Moderately plastic 

Slightly expansive suitable 

Very sticky or very plastic Expansive unsuitable* 

*If either the moist consistence or wet consistence is unsuitable then clay mineralogy is classified unsuitable. 

 

(a) Laboratory testing of ACEC may be substituted for field testing to determine clay mineralogy. The laboratory 

testing shall be conducted in accordance with USDA-NRCS Soil Survey Laboratory Information Manual, 

Soil Survey Investigations Report No. 45, and Kellogg Soil Survey Laboratory Methods Manual, Soil Survey 

Investigation Report No. 42, page 229, or EPA Method 9080. Table VII shall be used to determine the clay 

mineralogy suitability when laboratory testing is used. When using laboratory testing to determine clay 

mineralogy, the clay content of the soil shall be greater than 35 percent and the organic matter component 

shall be less than 0.5 percent. 

 

Table VII. Clay mineralogy laboratory method results, mineralogy, and associated suitability classification 

ACEC in cmol/kg Mineralogy Classification 

≤ 16.3 Slightly expansive suitable 

> 16.3 Expansive unsuitable 

 

(b) When laboratory testing of clay mineralogy is proposed, the LHD shall be notified a minimum of 48 hours 

before samples are to be taken by the licensed professional, if required by G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F. The 

authorized agent and the licensed professional shall be present when the samples are collected. Samples shall 

be representative of the soil horizon being evaluated for clay mineralogy. Split samples shall be made 

available to the LHD when requested. The licensed professional shall document chain of custody and seal, 

sign, and date the first page of the report. 

(4) Organic Soils - Organic soils shall be considered unsuitable. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0504 SOIL WETNESS CONDITION 

(a)  SWC, such as those caused by a seasonal high-water table, a 

perched water table, tidal water, seasonally saturated soil, or by 

lateral water movement, shall be determined by field observations 

of soil wetness indicators as follows: 

(1) the presence of colors with a value 4 or more 

and a chroma 2 or less using the Munsell Soil 

Color Book at greater than or equal to two 

percent of soil volume as redox depletions or as 

the matrix of a horizon. Colors of chroma 2 or 

less that are lithochromic features shall not be 

considered indicative of a SWC; or 

(2) the observation or indication of saturated soils, 

a perched water table, or lateral water 

movement flowing into a bore hole, monitoring 

well, or open excavation above a less permeable 

horizon, that may occur without the presence of 

colors with a value 4 or more or chroma 2 or 

less at greater than or equal to two percent of 

soil volume as redox depletions or as the matrix 

of a horizon. 

(3) The shallowest depth to SWC determined in 

this Paragraph shall be used. 

(b)  Initial site suitability as to SWC shall be determined by field 

observations of soil wetness indicators in accordance with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Sites where the SWC is less than 12 

inches below the naturally occurring soil surface, or less than 18  

 

 

inches if more than six inches of Group I soils are present, shall 

be considered unsuitable with respect to SWC. 

(c)  Monitoring or modeling procedures as set forth in this Rule 

may be used to reclassify the site as suitable with respect to SWC. 

(d)  Monitoring or modeling procedures as set forth in this Rule 

shall be required when the owner proposes to use a wastewater 

system requiring a greater depth to a SWC than the depth 

observed by soil wetness indicators in accordance with Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Modeling procedures as set forth in this Rule shall be required 

when the owner proposes to use sites with Group III or IV soils 

within 36 inches of the naturally occurring soil surface with 

artificial drainage, or on sites when fill is proposed to be used in 

conjunction with an artificial drainage system. 

(f)  Monitoring or modeling procedures may include the 

following: 

(1) direct monitoring procedure as set forth in 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule; 

(2) modeling procedure as set forth in Paragraph 

(h) of this Rule; 

(3) monitoring and modeling procedure as set forth 

in Paragraph (i) of this Rule; or 

(4) other modeling procedures as set forth in 

Paragraph (j) of this Rule. 

(g)  The direct monitoring procedure involves determining the 

SWC by observation of water surface elevations in wells during 

periods of high-water in accordance with the following: 
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(1) no later than 30 days prior to the start of the 

monitoring period, the owner shall notify the 

LHD of the intent to monitor water surface 

elevations by submitting a proposal prepared by 

a licensed professional, if required in G.S. 89C, 

89E, or 89F, that includes a site plan, well and 

soil profile at each monitoring site, and a 

monitoring plan as follows: 

(A) the site plan shall include the proposed 

sites for wastewater systems, the 

longitude and latitude of the site, the 

location of monitoring wells, and all 

drainage features that may influence 

the SWC. The site plan shall also 

specify any proposed fill and drainage 

modifications; 

(B) the monitoring plan shall include the 

proposed number, installation depth, 

screening depth, soil and well profile, 

materials, and installation procedures 

for each monitoring well. A minimum 

of three water level monitoring wells 

shall be installed for water surface 

observation at each site. Sites handling 

systems with a DDF greater than 600 

gpd shall have one additional well per 

600 gpd increment. Well locations 

shall include portions of the initial and 

repair dispersal field areas containing 

the most limiting soil and site 

conditions. The monitoring plan shall 

also provide for monitoring of the 

water surface elevations in the wells 

and all precipitation at the site; and 

(C) notification of whether the owner or a 

licensed professional will perform the 

monitoring, including the name of the 

licensed professional, if applicable. 

(2) prior to installation of the monitoring wells, the 

authorized agent shall approve the plan. Plan 

approval shall be based upon a site visit and 

compliance with this Rule. If the plan is denied, 

a signed, written report shall be provided to the 

owner that describes the reasons for denial and 

the changes necessary for approval of the plan; 

(3) wells shall extend a minimum of five feet below 

the naturally occurring soil surface, or existing 

ground surface for existing fill determined in 

accordance with Rule .0909(d) of this 

Subchapter, except that wells that extend down 

only 40 inches from the ground surface may be 

used if a continuous record of the water table is 

provided for a minimum of half of the 

monitoring period. One or more shallower 

wells may be required on sites where shallow 

lateral water movement or a perched SWC is 

anticipated based on the site investigation; 

(4) the water elevation in the monitoring wells shall 

be recorded daily from January 1 to April 30, 

taken at the same time during the day, plus or 

minus three hours. Rain gauges shall be located 

within two miles of the site. Daily rainfall 

measurements shall also be recorded from 

December 1 through April 30; and 

(5) the most recent information available from the 

SCO shall be used to determine the recurrence 

frequency of the total amount of rainfall at the 

site for the 120-day period ending April 15 

based upon the site's historic rainfall record. 

This shall be done when the 120-day 

cumulative rainfall for the monitoring period 

ending on April 15 equals or exceeds the site's 

historic rainfall for the same period with a 30 

percent frequency. The recurrence frequency 

shall be determined with one of the following 

methods: 

(A) the owner's licensed professional shall 

determine the 120-day SPI for April 

15 by using the Integrated Water 

Portal located on the SCO's website at: 

http://climate.ncsu.edu/water/map. 

The licensed professional shall click 

on the map pixel that corresponds 

closest to the site's location. The 

Department will assist in obtaining 

this information upon request; or 

(B) the recurrence frequency of the site's 

cumulative precipitation for the 120-

day monitoring period ending on April 

15 shall be determined for the site on a 

case-by-case basis from the most 

recent master grid provided to the 

Department by the SCO. The master 

grid contains probability distribution 

parameters that shall be used by the 

Department based upon guidance 

from the SCO. Based on the master 

grid, the Department shall derive the 

recurrence frequency values for the 

grid point that corresponds closest to 

the site's latitude and longitude. 

(6) The SWC shall be determined by the shallowest 

level that is continuously saturated for the 

number of consecutive days during the January 

through April well monitoring period shown in 

Table VIII as follows: 

 

TABLE VIII. Rainfall SPI and exceedance probability during monitoring season related to number of consecutive days of continuous 

saturation 

April 15 SPI 120-day 

range 

Recurrence frequency range 

120-day cumulative April 15 rainfall 

Number of consecutive days of 

continuous saturation for SWC 

SPI -0.543 to 0  30% to 49.9% duration 3 days or 72 hours 
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SPI 0 to 0.545  50% to 69.9% duration 6 days or 144 hours 

SPI 0.546 to 0.864  70% to 79.9% duration 9 days or 216 hours 

SPI ≥ 0.865  80% to 100% duration 14 days or 336 hours 

(7) If monitoring well data is collected during 

monitoring periods that span multiple years, the 

year that yields the shallowest SWC shall apply. 

(h)  The modeling procedure may be used to determine SWC by 

using DRAINMOD, a groundwater simulation model, to predict 

daily water levels over a minimum 30-year period using site-

specific input parameters as outlined in the DRAINMOD User's 

Guide. The SWC shall be determined as the shallowest level 

predicted by DRAINMOD to be saturated for a 14-day continuous 

period between January 1 and April 30 with a recurrence 

frequency of 30 percent, an average of a minimum of nine years 

in 30, and in accordance with the following: 

(1) weather input files shall consist of hourly 

rainfall and daily temperature data collected 

over the entire period of record but for a 

minimum of a 30-year period from a measuring 

station site, such as the National Weather 

Service or SCO. The measuring station used 

shall be the station located closest to the owner's 

site; 

(2) soil and site inputs for DRAINMOD shall 

include the following: 

(A) soil input file with the soil moisture 

characteristic curve and data for the 

soil profile that is closest to the 

described soil profile that is present on 

the site; 

(B) soil horizon depths determined on site; 

(C) site measured or proposed drain depth 

and spacing, and drain outlet 

elevation; 

(D) in-situ Ksat measurements for a 

minimum of three representative 

locations on the site and at each 

location for the three most 

representative soil horizons within 

five feet of the surface. In-situ Ksat 

measurements shall be for one 

representative soil horizon at or above 

redoximorphic depletion features and 

two representative soil horizons at and 

below redoximorphic concentration 

features at each location on the site; 

(E) all other model parameters based upon 

the DRAINMOD User's Guide; and 

(F) a sensitivity analysis shall be 

conducted for the following model 

parameters: soil input files for a 

minimum of two other most closely 

related soil profiles; in-situ Ksat of 

each horizon; drain depth and spacing; 

and surface storage and depth of 

surface flow inputs. 

 

 

The sensitivity analysis shall be used to 

evaluate the range of soil and site 

characteristics for choosing input parameters 

related to the soil profiles, Ksat input values 

based upon the range of in-situ Ksat values 

measured on the site, and inputs for surface and 

subsurface drainage features based upon the 

range of possible elevations and distances that 

occur or may occur after installation of 

improvements. The sensitivity analysis shall 

establish which parameters are most critical for 

determination of the depth to SWC. 

Conservative values for the most critical 

parameters shall be used in applying the model 

to the site; 

(3) for sites designed to receive over 600 gpd, the 

SWC determination using DRAINMOD shall 

take into consideration the impact of 

wastewater application on the projected water 

table surface; and 

(4) the groundwater simulation analysis shall be 

prepared and submitted to the LHD by licensed 

professionals, if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 

89F, qualified to use DRAINMOD by training 

and experience. The LHD shall submit the 

groundwater simulation analysis to the 

Department for technical review prior to 

approval of the SWC determination. 

(i)  The monitoring and modeling procedure is a combination of 

the direct monitoring procedure and the modeling procedure. The 

SWC shall be determined as the shallowest level predicted by 

DRAINMOD to be saturated for a 14-day continuous period 

between January 1 and April 30 with a recurrence frequency of 30 

percent, an average of a minimum of nine years in 30, and in 

accordance with the following: 

(1) the procedures set forth in Paragraph (g) shall 

be used to monitor water surface elevation and 

precipitation. The rain gauges and monitoring 

wells required by Subparagraph (g)(4) shall use 

a recording device and a data file that is 

DRAINMOD compatible. The recording 

devices shall record rainfall hourly or daily and 

well water levels daily. The data file shall be 

submitted with the report to the LHD; 

(2) DRAINMOD shall be used to predict daily 

water levels. The DRAINMOD modeling shall 

be in accordance with the following: 

(A) weather input files shall be developed 

from daily temperature and hourly or 

daily rainfall data collected over a 

minimum 30-year period from a 

measuring station, such as the 

National Weather Service or SCO. 

The measuring station used shall be 

the station located closest to the site. 
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Daily maximum and minimum 

temperature data for the December 1 

through April 30 monitoring period 

shall be obtained from the closest 

available weather station; 

(B) soil and site inputs for DRAINMOD, 

including a soils data file closest to the 

soil series identified, depths of soil 

horizons, in-situ Ksat of each horizon, 

depth and spacing of drainage 

features, and depression storage shall 

be selected in accordance with 

procedures outlined in the 

DRAINMOD User's Guide; 

(C) inputs shall be based upon site-

specific soil profile descriptions. Soil 

and site input factors shall be adjusted 

during the model calibration process 

to achieve the best possible fit as 

indicated by the least squares analysis 

of the daily observations over the 

whole monitoring period and to 

achieve the best possible match 

between the shallowest water table 

depth during the monitoring period 

that is saturated for 14 consecutive 

days, measured vs. predicted. The 

mean absolute deviation between 

measured and predicted values shall 

be no greater than six inches during 

the monitoring period; 

(D) for sites intended to receive greater 

than 1,500 gpd, the SWC 

determination using DRAINMOD 

shall take into consideration the 

impact of wastewater application on 

the projected water table surface; and 

(E) the DRAINMOD analysis shall be 

prepared and submitted to the LHD by 

licensed professionals, if required in 

G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F, qualified to use 

DRAINMOD by training and 

experience. The LHD or owner may 

request a technical review by the 

Department prior to approval of the 

SWC determination. 

The monitoring and modeling procedure may 

also be used to re-evaluate a SWC that was 

previously evaluated by the direct monitoring 

procedure. 

(j)  Modeling procedures other than those set forth in this Rule 

may be used to determine SWC upon approval by the Department. 

Other modeling procedures shall be approved if the following 

requirements are met: 

(1) the modeling procedures use daily water levels 

or weather records over a 30-year period to 

predict future daily water levels; 

(2) the proposed model and prediction are shown to 

be as accurate as the prediction from 

DRAINMOD, calculated in accordance with 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule; and 

(3) documentation is provided in accordance with 

Rule .0509(c) of this Section. 

(k)  A report of the investigations made for the direct monitoring 

procedure, modeling procedure, or monitoring and modeling 

procedure in accordance with Paragraphs (g), (h), or (i) of this 

Rule shall be prepared prior to approval of the SWC 

determination. A request for technical review of the report by the 

Department shall include digital copies of monitoring data, model 

inputs, output data, and graphic results, as applicable. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0505 SOIL DEPTH 

(a)  The soil depth shall be measured from the naturally occurring 

soil surface to rock, saprolite, or parent material. 

(b)  Soil depth to saprolite, rock, or parent material greater than or 

equal to 18 inches shall be suitable. 

(c)  Soil depth to saprolite, rock, or parent material less than 18 

inches shall be unsuitable. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0506 SAPROLITE 

(a)  Sites classified unsuitable due to depth to saprolite or other 

LC may be reclassified suitable in accordance with this Rule. 

(b)  Sites with saprolite shall be classified as suitable if an 

investigation of the site using pits at locations approved by the 

authorized agent confirms that the following conditions are met: 

(1) a 24-inch minimum vertical separation shall be 

maintained in saprolite from the infiltrative 

surface to an unsuitable LC, unless any of the 

vertical separation consists of a suitable soil 

horizon, in which case, the 24-inch separation 

may be calculated based on one inch of suitable 

soil being equivalent to two inches of saprolite; 

and 

(2) the following physical properties and 

characteristics shall be present in the saprolite 

below the proposed infiltrative surface: 

(A) the saprolite texture as determined in 

the field by hand texturing samples of 

each horizon shall be sand, loamy 

sand, sandy loam, loam, or silt loam; 

(B) the clay mineralogy shall be suitable in 

accordance with Rule .0503(3) of this 

Section; 

(C) greater than two-thirds of the saprolite 

by volume shall have a moist 

consistence of loose, very friable, 

friable, or firm; 

(D) the saprolite wet consistence shall be 

nonsticky or slightly sticky and 

nonplastic or slightly plastic; 

(E) the saprolite shall be in an 

undisturbed, naturally occurring state; 
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(F) the saprolite shall have no open and 

continuous joints, quartz veins, or 

fractures relic of parent rock; and 

(G) laboratory determinations may be 

used to supplement field 

determinations. Split samples shall be 

made available to the LHD. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); S.L. 2015-147, s.3. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0507 RESTRICTIVE HORIZONS 

(a)  Soils in which restrictive horizons are three inches or more in 

thickness and at depths greater than or equal to 18 inches below 

the naturally occurring soil surface shall be suitable. 

(b)  Soils in which restrictive horizons are three inches or more in 

thickness and at depths less than 18 inches below the naturally 

occurring soil surface shall be unsuitable. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0508 AVAILABLE SPACE 

(a)  Sites shall have available space to allow for the installation of 

the initial wastewater system and repair area for a system 

identified or approved in Sections .0900, .1500, or .1700 of this 

Subchapter. The available space provided shall meet all required 

setbacks in Sections .0600 or .1200 of the Subchapter and provide 

access to the wastewater system for operation and maintenance 

activities. A site with sufficient available space shall be suitable. 

(b)  If the site does not have available space for both an initial 

wastewater system and repair area it shall be unsuitable. 

(c)  The repair area requirement of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

not apply to a lot or tract of land which meets the following: 

(1) described in a recorded deed or a recorded plat 

on January 1, 1983; 

(2) insufficient size to satisfy the repair area 

requirement of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, as 

determined by the authorized agent; 

(3) DDF is no more than 480 gallons for a single-

family dwelling unit or a single facility; and 

(4) the proposed facility will generate DSE. 

(d)  Although a lot or tract of land may be exempt from the repair 

area requirement under Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the authorized 

agent shall determine if there is any available space for the repair 

area. The authorized agent shall determine the maximum feasible 

repair area available, and that repair area shall be specified on the 

IP, CA, and OP. 

(e)  If a site meets any of the following criteria, a repair area shall 

be required, even if the site is exempt from the repair area 

requirement of Paragraph (c) of this Rule: 

(1) proposed increase in flow or wastewater 

strength to an existing facility permitted under 

the exemption of Paragraph (c) of this Rule; or 

(2) any new initial wastewater system is proposed 

on a lot or tract of land on which the exemption 

in Paragraph (c) of this Rule was previously 

utilized. 

(f)  Notwithstanding the criteria for when a repair area is required 

in accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule, a site shall remain 

exempt from the repair area requirements of Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule when all of the following conditions are met: 

(1) an owner submits an application to the LHD for 

an increase in flow to an existing facility 

permitted in accordance with Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule and the facility DDF remains less than 

or equal to 480 gpd of DSE; 

(2) there is sufficient available space for the 

existing system to be modified pursuant to the 

Rules of this Subchapter; 

(3) the site for the existing system complies with 

the Rules of this Subchapter and the existing 

system is not malfunctioning in accordance 

with Rule .1303(a)(1) and (2) of this 

Subchapter; and 

(4) the conditions set forth in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule are met. 

(g)  Prior to the issuance of the IP, the proposed dispersal field 

shall be field located and staked on-contour, as applicable, to 

verify that initial and repair wastewater systems can be installed 

in the area delineated. The dispersal field may be installed level 

but off contour if an authorized agent has determined that there is 

sufficient vertical separation to a LC along the entire trench length 

in accordance with Rule .0901(g)(2) of this Subchapter. 

(h)  The initial and repair area shall not be altered so that the 

wastewater system specified on the IP, CA, and OP cannot be 

installed and function as permitted. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); S.L. 2015-147, s.1. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0509 SITE SUITABILITY AND 

CLASSIFICATION 

(a)  A site evaluated in accordance with Rules .0502 through .0508 

of this Section with all parameters determined as suitable shall 

result in an overall site classification of suitable. Any parameter 

determined as unsuitable shall result in an overall site 

classification of unsuitable. 

(b)  Sites classified as unsuitable may be reclassified as suitable 

as follows: 

(1) when site modifications are made that meet the 

requirements in Sections .0900 or .1200 of this 

Subchapter for the minimum vertical separation 

to the SWC; 

(2) if installation of an interceptor drain will 

intercept and divert lateral water to prevent 

saturation of the wastewater system; 

(3) with the use of advanced pretreatment based on 

the modified siting and sizing criteria in Section 

.1200 of this Subchapter; or 

(4) with the use of a wastewater system identified 

or approved in Sections .0900 or .1700 of this 

Subchapter 

(c)  For sites that are classified as unsuitable in accordance with 

this Rule, a special site evaluation in accordance with Rule .0510 

of this Section may be provided that demonstrates that the 

proposed wastewater system can be expected to overcome the 

unsuitable site conditions and function in accordance with this 

Subchapter. 
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(d)  An IP shall not be issued for a site which is classified 

unsuitable. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0510 SPECIAL SITE EVALUATIONS 

(a)  A special site evaluation shall demonstrate that the proposed 

use of the site with a specific wastewater system design and 

configuration will not result in effluent discharge to the ground 

surface or contravention of groundwater or surface water 

standards. Special site evaluations shall be performed by a 

licensed professional, if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F. 

(b)  The owner may submit a special site evaluation for a site 

classified as unsuitable as set forth in Rule .0509 of this Section 

to an authorized agent. The special site evaluation shall include 

written documentation and demonstrate that the proposed 

wastewater system can be expected to overcome the unsuitable 

site conditions and function in accordance with this Subchapter. 

(c)  Any site that is proposed with one or more of the following 

shall require a special site evaluation: 

(1) proposal submitted in accordance with Rule 

.0509(c) of this Section; 

(2) sand lined trench systems when the texture of 

the receiving permeable horizon is sandy loam 

or loam and the DDF is greater than 600 gpd, or 

when the texture of the receiving permeable 

horizon is silt loam; 

(3) DSE drip dispersal systems meeting the 

following soil and site conditions: 

(A) depth from the naturally occurring soil 

surface to any LC is greater than or 

equal to 18 inches and the LTAR is 

proposed to exceed 0.5 gpd/ft2 for 

Group I, 0.35 gpd/ft2 for Group II, or 

0.2 gpd/ft2 for Group III soils; 

(B) depth from the naturally occurring soil 

surface to any SWC is less than 18 

inches and the LTAR is proposed to 

exceed 0.5 gpd/ft2 for Group I, 0.3 

gpd/ft2 for Group II, or 0.15 gpd/ft2 for 

Group III soils; 

(C) Group IV soils are encountered within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface or within 12 inches of the 

infiltrative surface, whichever is 

deeper, and the LTAR is proposed to 

exceed 0.05 gpd/ft2; 

(D) Group IV soils are encountered within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface and the depth from the 

naturally occurring soil surface to any 

LC is less than 24 inches; 

(E) Group IV soils are encountered within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface and the driplines are 

installed in new fill material; 

(F) groundwater lowering system is used 

to comply with soil depth and vertical 

separation requirements to a SWC; 

(G) proposed LTAR exceeds that assigned 

by the LHD; or 

(H) DDF is greater than 1,500 gpd; 

(4) advanced pretreatment systems meeting the 

following soil and site conditions: 

(A) vertical separation to a LC is proposed 

to be reduced. The vertical separation 

to rock or tidal water shall not be 

reduced to less than 12 inches; 

(B) less than 18 inches of naturally 

occurring soil to a LC, excluding 

SWC; 

(C) increased LTAR is proposed for a site 

with Group III or IV soils within three 

feet of the infiltrative surface; 

(D) increased LTAR is proposed for a site 

with Group II or III soils that requires 

a groundwater lowering system; 

(E) proposed use of a groundwater 

lowering system to comply with 

vertical separation requirements to a 

SWC; 

(F) bed systems located beneath the 

advanced pretreatment unit on a site 

with uniform slope exceeding two 

percent except in Group I soils with a 

SWC greater than 36 inches; 

(G) bed systems with a DDF greater than 

1,500 gpd; or 

(H) increased LTAR is proposed on a site 

with a DDF greater than 1,500 gpd; 

(5) drip dispersal systems and Group IV soils are 

within 18 inches of the naturally occurring soil 

surface or within 12 inches of the infiltrative 

surface, whichever is deeper, and the LTAR is 

proposed to exceed 0.1 gpd/ft2 for NSF-40, 0.12 

gpd/ft2 for TS-I, or 0.15 gpd/ft2 for TS-II; 

(6) NSF-40 and drip dispersal systems when the 

LTAR is proposed to exceed 0.8 gpd/ft2 for 

Group I soils, 0.5 gpd/ft2 for Group II soils, 0.25 

gpd/ft2 for Group III soils, or 0.1 gpd/ft2 for 

Group IV soils; 

(7) TS-I and drip dispersal systems which meet the 

following criteria: 

(A) site has less than 18 inches of naturally 

occurring soil to any unsuitable LC; 

(B) Group III soils are present and a 

groundwater lowering system is used 

to comply with the vertical separation 

requirements to a SWC; 

(C) Group IV soils are encountered within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface, the LTAR is proposed to 

exceed 0.05 gpd/ft2, and the system is 

proposed to be installed in new fill; or 

(D) LTAR is proposed to exceed 1.0 

gpd/ft2 for Group I soils, 0.6 gpd/ft2 for 

Group II soils, 0.3 gpd/ft2 for Group 
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III soils, or 0.12 gpd/ft2 for Group IV 

soils; 

(8) TS-II and drip dispersal systems which meet the 

following criteria: 

(A) Subparagraphs (7)(A), (B), or (C) of 

this Rule; or 

(B) LTAR is proposed to exceed 1.2 

gpd/ft2 for Group I soils, 0.7 gpd/ft2 for 

Group II soils, 0.4 gpd/ft2 for Group 

III soils, or 0.15 gpd/ft2 for Group IV 

soils; 

(9) site-specific nitrogen migration analysis is 

required to verify that the nitrate-nitrogen 

concentration at the property line will not 

exceed groundwater standards; 

(10) LHD or Department determines that the 

combination of soil conditions, site topography 

and landscape position, DDF, system layout, 

and proposed stormwater appurtenances will 

potentially result in hydraulic overload; or 

(11) DDF greater than 3,000 gpd, unless the 

requirements of Rule .0302(f) of this 

Subchapter are met. 

(d)  The special site evaluation shall include hydrologic or 

hydraulic testing, as applicable, and analysis, in accordance with 

Rule .0304(2)(B) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  For wastewater systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd, 

the special site evaluation shall include sufficient site-specific 

data to predict the height of the water table mound that will 

develop beneath the field on level sites and the rate of lateral and 

vertical flow away from the trenches on sloping sites, unless the 

conditions in Paragraph (f) of this Rule are met. The data 

submitted may include deep soil borings to an impermeable layer 

or to a depth to support the hydrologic testing and modeling, 

permeability, in-situ Ksat measurements, water level readings, 

and other information determined to be necessary by the LHD or 

the Department, such as the impact of projected wastewater 

constituents on the trench and receiving soil. The site shall be 

considered unsuitable if the data indicate any of the following: 

(1) the groundwater mound that will develop 

beneath the site cannot be maintained two feet 

or more below the bottom of the trenches; 

(2) effluent is likely to become exposed on the 

ground surface; or 

(3) contaminant transport analysis indicates that 

groundwater standards established in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02L are 

determined or projected to be violated at the 

property line. 

(f)  For wastewater systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd 

and dispersal fields designed for less than or equal to 1,500 gpd, 

in-situ Ksat measurements and groundwater mounding or lateral 

flow analysis shall not be required if a special site evaluation 

demonstrates that the dispersal fields are in separate lateral flow 

windows or are shown to not be hydraulically connected. 

(g)  The Department shall review the special site evaluation if 

requested by the LHD or if required in accordance with Rule 

.0302(h) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 89E; 89F; 130A-335(a1), (e), and (f). 

 

SECTION .0600 – LOCATION OF WASTEWATER 

SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0601 LOCATION OF WASTEWATER 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  Every wastewater system shall be located the minimum 

setbacks from the site features specified in Table IX. The setback 

shall be measured on the ground surface, unless otherwise 

specified in this Rule, from the nearest wastewater system 

component sidewall or as otherwise specified in a system specific 

rule or PIA Approval. 

 

TABLE IX. Minimum setbacks from all wastewater systems to 

site features 

Site Features Setback in feet 

Any transient or non-transient non-

community water supply well, 

community well, shared water supply 

well, well that complies with 15A 

NCAC 18A .1700, or water supply 

spring 

100 

A private drinking water well or 

upslope spring serving a single family 

dwelling unit 

50 

Any other well or source not listed in 

this table, excluding monitoring wells 

50 

Surface waters classified WS-I, from 

ordinary high-water mark 

100 

Waters classified SA, from mean 

high-water mark 

100 

Any Class I or Class II reservoir, from 

normal water level 

100 

Lake or pond, from normal water level 50 

Any other stream, non-water supply 

spring, or other surface waters, from 

the ordinary high-water mark 

50 

Tidal influenced waters, such as 

marshes and coastal waters, from 

mean high-water mark 

50 

Permanent stormwater retention 

basin, from normal water level 

50 

Any water line, unless the 

requirements of Paragraph (i) have 

been met 

10 

Closed loop geothermal wells 15 

Building foundation and deck 

supports 

5 

Patio, porch, stoop, lighting fixtures, 

or signage, including supporting 

structures such as posts or pilings 

1 

Any basement, cellar, or in-ground 

swimming pool 

15 

Buried storage tank or basin, except 

stormwater 

10 
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Above ground swimming pool and 

appurtenances that require a building 

permit 

5 

Top of slope of embankment or cuts 

of two feet or more vertical height 

with a slope greater than 50 percent 

15 

Top of slope of embankment or cuts 

of two feet or more vertical height 

with a slope greater than 33 percent 

and less than or equal to 50 percent 

15 

0, if the site has 

suitable soil depth 

that extends for a 

minimum horizontal 

distance of 15 feet 

from the edge of the 

dispersal field  

Top of slope of embankment or cuts 

of two feet or more vertical height 

with a slope less than 33 percent 

0 

Groundwater lowering system, as 

measured on the ground surface from 

the edge of the feature 

25 

Downslope interceptor drains and 

surface water diversions with a 

vertical cut of more than two feet, as 

measured on the ground surface from 

the edge of the feature 

15 

 

Upslope and sideslope interceptor 

drains and surface water diversions 

with a vertical cut of more than two 

feet, as measured on the ground 

surface from the edge of the feature 

10 

A stormwater collection system as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02H .1002(48), 

excluding gutter drains that connect to 

a stormwater collection system, with a 

vertical cut of more than two feet as 

measured from the center of the 

collection system 

10 

 

Bio-retention area, injection well, 

infiltration system, or dry pond 

25 

Any other dispersal field, except 

designated dispersal field repair area 

for project site 

20 

Any property line 10 

Burial plot or graveyard boundary 10 

Above ground storage tank from 

dripline or foundation pad, whichever 

is more limiting 

5 

Utility transmission and distribution 

line poles and towers, including guy 

wires, unless a greater setback is 

required by the utility company 

5 

Utility transformer, ground-surface 

mounted 

5 

Underground utilities 5 

 

(b)  Wastewater systems may be located closer than 100 feet but 

never less than 50 feet from water supply wells or an upslope 

spring for repairs, space limitations, and other site-planning 

considerations when one of the following conditions is met: 

(1) the well was constructed prior to July 1, 1993, 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 18A .1720; or 

(2) a variance for a reduced well setback has been 

issued in accordance with one of the following: 

(A) 15A NCAC 02C .0118 for a shared 

water supply well, a wastewater 

system permitted or installed in 

saprolite, or for a transient non-

community public water supply well; 

or 

(B) 15A NCAC 18C .0203(b) for a non-

transient non-community public water 

system. 

(c)  Wastewater systems shall not be located closer than 100 feet 

to springs, uncased wells, and ungrouted wells used as a source of 

drinking water and located downslope from the dispersal field. 

(d)  Underground utilities maintain a five-foot setback and shall 

not encroach on the wastewater system and repair area. 

(e)  The reduced setbacks in Table X shall apply to septic tanks 

and pump tanks if a leak test has been performed at the job site on 

the septic tank and pump tank in accordance with Rule .0805 of 

this Subchapter that verifies the tank, pipe penetrations, and riser 

connections are watertight. 

 

TABLE X. Reduced setbacks for tanks to some site features 

Site Features Setback in feet 

Permanent stormwater retention basin, from 

normal water level 

35 

Bio-retention area, injection well, 

infiltration system, or dry pond 

15 

Groundwater lowering system, as measured 

on the ground surface from the edge of the 

feature 

15 

Any water line 5 

A stormwater collection system as defined 

in 15A NCAC 02H .1002(48), excluding 

gutter drains that connect to a stormwater 

collection system, with a vertical cut of 

more than two feet as measured from the 

center of the collection system 

5 

 

 

(f)  No minimum setback shall be required from a well that has 

been permanently abandoned in accordance with 15A NCAC 02C 

.0113 and for which a record of abandonment has been submitted 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 02C .0114. 

(g)  Initial and repair dispersal field systems shall not be located 

under impervious surfaces or areas subject to vehicular traffic 

unless approved in accordance with G.S. 130A-343 and Section 

.1700 of this Subchapter. 

(h)  If a collection sewer is installed under areas subject to 

vehicular traffic or areas subject to soil disturbance or 

compaction, one of the following pipe materials shall be used: 

(1) DIP; 

(2) a minimum of Schedule 40 PVC, Polyethylene, 

or ABS pipe sleeved in DIP; 
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(3) a minimum of Schedule 40 PVC, Polyethylene, 

or ABS pipe sleeved in DOT traffic rated 

culvert pipe; 

(4) a minimum of Schedule 40 PVC, Polyethylene, 

or ABS pipe with 30 inches of compacted 

material provided over the crown of the pipe; or 

(5) other pipe materials may be proposed when 

designed, inspected, and certified by a PE and 

approved by the LHD. 

(i)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

wastewater systems with a proposed DDF greater than 3,000 gpd, 

as determined in Rule .0401 of this Subchapter, shall be located 

the minimum setbacks from the site features in Table XI. 

 

TABLE XI. Minimum setbacks from wastewater systems 

greater than 3,000 gpd to site features 

Feature Setback in feet 

Any Class I or II reservoir or any public 

water supply source utilizing a shallow, 

under 50 feet, groundwater aquifer, from 

feature or normal water level 

500 

Any other public water supply source, 

unless a confined aquifer 

200 

Any private drinking water well or upslope 

spring, unless a confined aquifer 

100 

Surface water classified WS- I, from 

ordinary high-water mark 

200 

Surface waters classified WS-II, WS-III, B, 

or SB, from mean high-water mark or 

ordinary high-water mark 

100 

Waters classified SA, from mean high-

water mark 

200 

Any property line 25 

 

(j)  Wastewater systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd that 

meet the requirements of Rule .0510(f) of this Subchapter may 

use the setbacks identified in Table IX of this Rule. 

(k)  Collection sewers shall be located the minimum setbacks to 

site features shown in Table IX, unless a different minimum 

setback is specified in Table XII. When a reduced setback to a 

collection sewer is utilized, the piping requirements for the 

reduced setback shall be extended to comply with the unreduced 

setback. 

 

TABLE XII. Minimum setbacks from collection sewers to site 

features 

Feature Setback in feet 

Any public water supply 

source, including wells, 

springs, and Class I or Class 

II reservoirs, from feature or 

normal water level 

100 

50, if constructed of or sleeved 

in Schedule 80 PVC or DIP 

with mechanical joints 

equivalent to water main 

standards, and the collection 

sewer is leak tested and shown 

to be watertight* 

50 

Any water supply well 

excluding those regulated 

under 15A NCAC 18C 

25, if constructed of Schedule 

40 pressure rated PVC or DIP 

with mechanical joints 

equivalent to water main 

standards, and the collection 

sewer is leak tested and shown 

to be watertight* 

15, if constructed of Schedule 

80 PVC, sleeved in DIP or 

Schedule 80 PVC, and the 

collection sewer is leak tested 

and shown to be watertight* 

Surface waters classified 

WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, B, SA, 

or SB, from mean high-

water mark or ordinary high-

water mark 

50 

10, if constructed of or sleeved 

in Schedule 80 PVC or DIP 

with mechanical joints 

equivalent to water main 

standards, and the collection 

sewer is leak tested and shown 

to be watertight* 

Any other stream, non-water 

supply spring, or other 

surface waters, from the 

ordinary high-water mark 

10 

Tidal influenced waters, 

such as marshes and coastal 

waters, from mean high-

water mark 

10 

Closed loop geothermal 

wells 

5 

Any service connection as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18C 

.0102(c)(21) 

5 

Any basement, cellar, or in-

ground swimming pool 

10 

Top of slope of embankment 

or cuts of two feet or more 

vertical height with a slope 

greater than 50 percent 

5 

Interceptor drains and 

surface water diversions, 

with a vertical cut of more 

than two feet as measured on 

the ground surface from the 

edge of the diversion 

5 

Permanent stormwater 

retention basin, from normal 

water level 

10 

Bio-retention area, injection 

well, infiltration system, or 

dry pond 

5 

Any other dispersal field, 

except designated dispersal 

field repair area for project 

site 

5 

Any property line 5 

Burial plot or graveyard 

boundary 

5 
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*Pipe materials other than DIP, Schedule 40 pressure rated PVC, 

or Schedule 80 PVC shall be acceptable when the materials 

conform to materials, testing methods, and acceptability standards 

meeting water main standards and when the line has been 

designed, installed, inspected, and certified by a PE and approved 

by the LHD. 

(l)  The minimum setback from water lines to collection sewers 

shall be 10 feet, except as follows: 

(1) the water line is laid in a separate trench with 

the elevation of the bottom of the water line 18 

inches above the top of the collection sewer; or 

(2) the water line is laid in the same trench as the 

collection sewer with the water line located on 

one side of the trench, on a bench of 

undisturbed earth and with the elevation of the 

bottom of the water line 18 inches above the top 

of the collection sewer. The collection sewer 

shall be located the width of the trench from the 

water line. 

(m)  Collection sewers and water lines shall not cross, except as 

follows: 

(1) 18 inches clear vertical separation is 

maintained, with the collection sewer crossing 

under the water line; or 

(2) the water line crosses under the collection 

sewer or 18 inches clear vertical separation is 

not maintained and the following criteria are 

met: 

(A) the collection sewer is constructed of 

DIP with joints equivalent to water 

main standards and extends 10 feet on 

each side of the point of crossing, with 

full sections of pipe centered at the 

point of crossing; and 

(B) the water line is constructed of ferrous 

materials with joints equivalent to 

water main standards and extends a 

minimum of 10 feet on each side of the 

point of crossing, with full sections of 

pipe centered at the point of crossing. 

(n)  Collection sewers shall not cross storm drains, except as 

follows: 

(1) 12 inches clear vertical separation is maintained 

between the collection sewer and storm drain; 

(2) the collection sewer is constructed of DIP with 

mechanical joints or restrained push-on joints 

equal to water main standards; or 

(3) the collection sewer is encased in concrete or 

DIP for a minimum of five feet on either side of 

the crossing. 

(o)  Collection sewers shall not cross under a stream, except as 

follows: 

(1) a minimum of 36 inches of separation from the 

stream bottom is maintained; 

(2) the collection sewer is constructed of DIP with 

mechanical joints or restrained push-on joints 

equal to water main standards; or 

(3) the collection sewer is encased in concrete or 

DIP for a minimum of 10 feet on either side of 

the crossing and protected against the normal 

range of high and low water conditions, 

including the 100-year flood or wave action. 

(p)  Collection sewer aerial crossings shall be constructed of DIP 

with mechanical joints or restrained push-on joints equal to water 

main standards and freeze protected. Pipe shall be anchored for a 

minimum of 10 feet on either side of the crossing. 

(q)  If septic tanks, pump tanks, grease tanks, raw sewage lift 

stations, wastewater treatment plants, sand filters, and other 

advanced pretreatment systems are located in areas subject to 

flooding at a frequency greater than a 10-year storm, they shall be 

designed and installed to be watertight and to remain operable 

during all flooding events. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335(e) and (f); S.L. 2019-215, 

s.2. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0602 APPLICABILITY OF SETBACKS 

(a)  The minimum setback requirements in Table IX of Rule 

.0601(a) of this Section for SA waters, basements, property lines, 

and cuts of two feet or more vertical height, shall not apply to the 

installation of a single wastewater system serving a single-family 

residence with a maximum DDF of 480 gpd on a lot or tract of 

land that meets the following requirements: 

(1) on July 1, 1977, is described in a deed, contract, 

other instrument conveying fee title, or in a 

recorded plat; 

(2) is of insufficient size to satisfy the minimum 

setback requirements in Table IX of Rule 

.0601(a) of this Section for SA waters, 

basements, property lines, and cuts of two feet 

or more vertical height of this Section on July 

1, 1977; and 

(3) cannot be served by a community or public 

sewerage system on the date system 

construction is proposed to begin. 

(b)  For those lots or tracts of land described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, the maximum feasible setback shall be required, but 

shall not be less than the minimum setbacks in Table XIII. 

 

TABLE XIII. Minimum setbacks from wastewater systems to 

specific site features on lots described in this Rule 

Feature 
Minimum setback 

in feet 

SA waters from mean high-water mark 50 

Basement 8 

Property line 5 

Cuts of two feet or more vertical height 5 

 

(c)  For wastewater systems installed in Group I soils on lots or 

tracts of land that meet the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, the wastewater system shall be located the maximum 

feasible distance but no less than 10 feet from any other 

wastewater system. 

(d)  For wastewater systems installed on lots or tracts of land 

which, on July 1, 1982, are specifically described in a deed or 

recorded plat, and the wastewater system cannot meet the 

minimum setbacks in Table IX of Rule .0601(a) of this Section 
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for groundwater lowering systems, the wastewater system shall be 

located the maximum feasible horizontal distance but no less than 

10 feet from the groundwater lowering system. 

(e)  Any local board of health ordinances in effect on June 30, 

1977, which establish greater minimum setback requirements 

than those provided for in this Section, shall remain in effect and 

shall apply to a lot or tract of land to which Table IX of Rule 

.0601(a) of this Section does not apply. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

SECTION .0700 – COLLECTION SEWERS, RAW 

SEWAGE LIFT STATIONS, SEPTIC TANK EFFLUENT 

PUMP SYSTEMS, AND PIPE MATERIALS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0701 COLLECTION SEWERS 

(a)  Collection sewers shall be designed and constructed in 

accordance with the following criteria: 

(1) Building drains and building sewers shall be in 

accordance with the North Carolina Plumbing 

Code and approved by the local building 

inspector. 

(2) Pipe material shall be specified to comply with 

the applicable ASTM standards based on pipe 

material. 

(3) Gravity sewers shall be designed to maintain 

minimum scour velocities of two feet per 

second with the pipe half full and one foot per 

second at the peak projected instantaneous flow 

rate. Force mains shall be sized to obtain a 

minimum two-foot per second scour velocity at 

the projected pump operating flow rate. 

(4) Infiltration and exfiltration shall not exceed 100 

gpd per inch diameter per mile of gravity sewer 

pipe or 20 gpd per inch diameter per mile of 

pressure pipe in force mains and supply lines. 

(5) Collection sewers shall be buried three feet 

deep, except as provided for in Rule .0601(h)(4) 

of this Subchapter. 

(6) Ferrous material pipe or other pipe designed 

and bedded for traffic-bearing loads shall be 

provided where collection sewers are subject to 

vehicular traffic. 

(7) Manholes shall be used for gravity collection 

sewers at any bend, junction, and a maximum 

of every 425 feet along the collection sewer. 

Drop manholes shall be required where the inlet 

to outlet elevation difference exceeds two and 

one half feet. Manhole lids shall be watertight 

if located below the 100-year flood elevation, 

within 100 feet of any public water system 

source, or within 50 feet of any private water 

system source or any surface waters classified 

WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, SA, SB, or B. 

(8) Cleanouts may be used instead of manholes for 

four-inch and six-inch sewers serving one or 

two design units, or as otherwise allowed by the 

North Carolina Plumbing Code. Cleanouts shall 

be required a maximum of every 100 feet for 

four or six-inch sewers and at all junctions and 

bends which exceed 45 degrees, unless 

otherwise allowed by the North Carolina 

Plumbing Code. 

(9) Air relief valves shall be provided as needed for 

force mains when the length exceeds 1,000 feet 

or for intermediate high points that exceed five 

feet. 

(10) Collection sewers may require additional 

ventilation provisions, such as a stand pipe, 

based on length, size, and location. 

(b)  STEP systems may be used as an alternative to gravity 

collection sewers. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0702 RAW SEWAGE LIFT STATIONS 

(a)  Raw sewage lift stations permitted by the LHD shall meet all 

setbacks for wastewater systems in accordance with Table IX of 

Rule .0601(a) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Raw sewage lift stations shall meet the following design and 

construction standards: 

(1) dual pumps shall be provided for stations 

serving two or more buildings or for a facility 

with more than six water closets; 

(2) pumps shall be listed by a third-party electrical 

testing and listing agency, such as 

Underwriter's Laboratories; 

(3) pumps shall be grinder pumps or 

solids-handling pumps capable of handling a 

minimum of three-inch spheres. If the raw 

sewage lift station serves no more than a single 

water closet, lavatory, and shower, two-inch 

solids handling pumps shall be acceptable; 

(4) minimum pump capacity shall be two and one 

half times the average daily flow; 

(5) raw sewage lift stations serving single buildings 

shall be designed for pump run times between 

three to 10 minutes at average daily flow; 

(6) pump station emergency storage capacity and 

total liquid capacity shall be determined in 

accordance with Rule .0802 of this Subchapter 

except for a sealed, watertight chamber serving 

an individual building, in which case a 

minimum storage capacity of eight hours shall 

be required; and 

(7) all applicable requirements for pump tanks and 

dosing systems as set forth in Rule .0802 and 

Section .1100 of this Subchapter shall apply to 

raw sewage lift stations. 

(c)  A raw sewage lift station that is a sealed, watertight chamber 

shall meet the setback requirements for collection sewers in Rule 

.0601(h) of this Subchapter. Sealed, watertight chambers shall be 

a single prefabricated unit with a sealed top lid, and preformed 

inlet and outlet pipe openings connected with solvent welds, O-

ring seals, rubber boots, stainless steel straps, or equivalent. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 
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15A NCAC 18E .0703 PIPE MATERIALS 

(a)  The gravity pipe between a septic tank, gravity distribution 

device, and the dispersal field shall be a minimum of three-inch 

Schedule 40 PVC, Schedule 40 polyethylene, or Schedule 40 

ABS. 

(b)  Three-inch or greater non-perforated polyethylene corrugated 

tubing, PVC SDR 21 and SDR 26 pressure rated at 160 psi or 

greater and labeled as compliant with ASTM D2241, PVC SDR 

35 gravity sewer pipe rated as compliant with ASTM D3034, or 

alternative non-perforated pipe materials described in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule, may be substituted for Schedule 40 between the 

distribution device and the dispersal field when the following 

minimum installation criteria are met: 

(1) the pipe is placed on a compacted, smooth 

surface free of indentations or clods at a 

uniform grade, and with an excavation width of 

one foot; 

(2) the pipe is placed in the middle of the 

excavation with three inches of clearance 

between the pipe and the walls; 

(3) a washed gravel or crushed stone envelope is 

placed in the excavation on both sides of the 

pipe and to a point two inches above the top of 

the pipe; 

(4) six inches of soil is placed and compacted over 

the stone or gravel envelope; and 

(5) earthen dams consisting of two feet of 

undisturbed or compacted soil are located at 

both ends of the excavation separating the 

trench from the distribution device. 

(c)  All pipe joints from the septic tank to the dispersal field shall 

be watertight. Solvent cement-joints shall be made in a two-step 

process with primer manufactured for thermoplastic piping 

systems and solvent cement conforming to ASTM D2564. 

(d)  Pipe used for gravity distribution laterals shall be corrugated 

plastic tubing complying with ASTM F667 or smooth-wall plastic 

pipe complying with ASTM D2729 or ASTM F810. The pipe 

shall be marked as complying with ASTM standards. The 

corrugated tubing or smooth-wall pipe shall have three rows of 

holes, each hole between one-half inch and three-fourths inches 

in diameter and spaced longitudinally approximately four inches 

on centers. The rows of holes may be equally spaced 120 degrees 

on centers around the pipe periphery, or three rows may be located 

in the lower portion of the tubing, the outside rows being 

approximately on 120-degree centers. The holes may be located 

in the same corrugation or staggered in adjacent corrugations. 

Other types of pipe may be used for laterals provided the pipe 

satisfies the requirements of this Rule and is approved by the 

Department. 

(e)  Pump discharge piping, including the force main to the next 

component in the wastewater system, shall be of Schedule 40 

PVC or stronger material and pressure rated for water service at a 

minimum of 160 psi or two times the maximum operating 

pressure, whichever is greater. The pipe shall meet ASTM D1784, 

ASTM D1785, and ASTM D2466. 

(f)  Pipe materials other than those identified in this Rule may be 

proposed when designed and certified by a PE, including any 

installation and testing procedures. Gravity pipe materials shall be 

shown to comply with the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (b), and 

(c) of this Rule. Alternative pressure rated pipe materials shall be 

constructed of PVC, polyethylene, or other pressure rated pipe 

and conform to applicable ASTM standards for pipe material and 

methods of joining. The proposed pipe shall be installed per 

ASTM D2774. Installation testing shall include a hydrostatic 

pressure test similar to pressure testing required for water mains 

for any line exceeding 500 feet in length and shall comply with 

the requirements of Rule .0701(a)(4) of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

SECTION .0800 – TANK CAPACITY, LEAK TESTING, 

AND INSTALLATION REQUIREMENTS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0801 SEPTIC TANK CAPACITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Minimum liquid capacities for septic tanks shall be in 

accordance with the following: 

(1) The minimum capacity of any septic tank shall 

be 1,000 gallons unless otherwise provided for 

in this Rule. 

(2) The minimum capacity of any septic tank 

serving an individual dwelling unit with five 

bedrooms or less shall be sized as set forth in 

Table XIV. 

 

TABLE XIV. Minimum septic tank liquid capacity for dwelling 

units 

Number of 

bedrooms 

Minimum liquid 

capacity in gallons  

4 or less 1,000 

5 1,250 

 

(3) Septic tanks for dwelling units greater than five 

bedrooms, multiple dwelling units, places of 

business, or places of public assembly shall be 

sized in accordance with Table XV. 

(4) The minimum septic tank capacity serving two 

or more dwelling units shall be 1,500 gallons. 

 

TABLE XV. Septic tank capacity for facilities not listed in 

Table XIV 

Design daily flow in 

gpd (Q) 

Minimum septic tank liquid 

capacity (V) calculation in 

gallons 

Q ≤ 600  V = 2Q 

600 < Q < 1,500 V = 1.17Q + 500 

1,500 ≤ Q ≤ 4,500 V = 0.75Q + 1,125 

Q > 4,500 V = Q 

 

(5) Septic tanks for RWTS and PIA Systems shall 

be sized in accordance with the RWTS or PIA 

Approval, pursuant to Sections .1500 and .1700 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The minimum liquid capacity requirements of Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be met by use of a single two compartment tank 

or by two tanks installed in series. The tanks in series may be 
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constructed with or without a baffle wall. Each tank shall have a 

minimum liquid capacity of 1,000 gallons. 

(c)  When a grinder pump or sewage lift pump is installed prior to 

the septic tank, the required septic tank liquid capacity as set forth 

in this Rule shall be doubled. The minimum liquid capacity may 

be met by installing two or more septic tanks in series, each tank 

containing two compartments. The minimum liquid capacity of 

each tank shall be 1,000 gallons. 

(d)  The Department shall review other septic tanks designed to 

receive wastewater from grinder pumps or sewage lift pumps if 

designed by a PE to ensure that effluent discharged from the septic 

tank meets DSE as set forth in Table III of Rule .0402(a) of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  An effluent filter approved in accordance with Rule .1404 of 

this Subchapter shall be in the outlet of the final compartment of 

the septic tank. 

(f)  When two or more tanks are used in series in accordance with 

Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this Rule, the following conditions shall 

be met: 

(1) the outlet of the initial tank shall consist of an 

outlet sanitary tee extending down 25 to 50 

percent of the liquid depth; and 

(2) an approved effluent filter shall be in the outlet 

of the final compartment. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0802 PUMP TANK CAPACITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The minimum pump tank liquid capacity shall be greater than 

or equal to the required septic tank liquid capacity as set forth in 

Rule .0801 of this Section. 

(b)  For a flow equalization system, the minimum pump tank 

capacity shall be based upon the sum of the volumes of the 

following parameters: 

(1) volume is sufficient to ensure pump 

submergence or as recommended by the pump 

manufacturer; 

(2) minimum dose volume in accordance with Rule 

.1101(d) of this Subchapter; 

(3) flow equalization storage; and 

(4) emergency storage capacity in accordance with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(c)  An alternate minimum pump tank liquid capacity may be 

proposed by the authorized designer or PE to the LHD based upon 

the sum of the volumes of the following parameters: 

(1) volume is sufficient to ensure pump 

submergence or as recommended by the pump 

manufacturer; 

(2) minimum dose volume in accordance with Rule 

.1101(d) of this Subchapter; 

(3) flow equalization storage, if applicable; and 

(4) emergency storage capacity in accordance with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(d)  A PE may propose an alternative design to the LHD to 

calculate the minimum pump tank liquid capacity required. The 

alternative method shall provide documentation of pump 

submergence, dose volume capacity, emergency storage capacity, 

and flow equalization storage, as applicable. The LHD shall 

approve the alternative design upon a showing that all required 

storage capacity is accounted for in the wastewater system 

without reducing the required septic tank or grease tank capacities 

specified in Rules .0801 and .0803 of this Section. 

(e)  The pump tank emergency storage capacity requirement shall 

be determined based on the following criteria and Table XVI: 

(1) type of facility served; 

(2) classification of surface waters that would be 

impacted by a pump tank failure; and 

(3) availability of standby power devices and 

emergency maintenance personnel. 

 

TABLE XVI. Pump tank emergency storage capacity 

requirements 

Facility 

Type 

Surface 

Water 

Classification 

of Watershed 

Standby 

Power and 

Emergency 

Maintenance 

Personnel 

Provisions 

Emergency 

Storage 

Capacity 

Period 

Requirement 

Residential 

systems 

and other 

systems in 

full time 

use 

WS-I, WS-II, 

WS-III, SA, 

SB, and B 

waters 

No standby 

power 

24 hours 

Manually 

activated 

standby power 

and telemetry 

contacting a 

24-hour 

maintenance 

service 

12 hours 

Automatically 

activated 

standby power 

and telemetry 

contacting a 

24-hour 

maintenance 

service 

4 hours 

All other 

surface waters 

or no surface 

waters 

No standby 

power 

12 hours 

Manually 

activated 

standby power 

and telemetry 

contacting a 

24-hour 

maintenance 

service 

8 hours 

Automatically 

activated 

standby power 

and telemetry 

contacting a 

24-hour 

maintenance 

service 

4 hours 

Non-

residential 

All surface 

waters 

No standby 

power 

12 hours 
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systems 

not in 

full-time 

use and all 

other 

systems 

Manually 

activated 

standby power 

and telemetry 

contacting a 

24-hour 

maintenance 

service 

8 hours 

Automatically 

activated 

standby power 

and telemetry 

contacting a 

24-hour 

maintenance 

service 

4 hours 

 

(f)  Telemetry shall be demonstrated to be operational to the 

authorized agent and the Management Entity prior to issuance of 

the OP. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0803 GREASE TANK CAPACITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Grease tanks or grease tanks used with grease traps shall be 

required for food preparation facilities, food processing facilities, 

and meat markets; churches, institutions, and places of public 

assembly that include a full kitchen; and other facilities expected 

to generate FOG levels that are higher than DSE as defined in 

Table III of Rule .0402(a) of this Subchapter. The grease tank 

shall be plumbed to receive all wastes associated with food 

handling, preparation, and cleanup. No toilet wastes shall be 

discharged to a grease tank. 

(b)  The minimum grease tank liquid capacity shall be 1,000 

gallons or as calculated by one of the following, whichever is 

greater: 

(1) five gallons per meal served per day; 

(2) equal to the required septic tank liquid capacity 

calculated in accordance with Rule .0801 of this 

Section; or 

(3) equal to the capacity as determined in 

accordance with the following: 

 

GLC = D x GL x ST x HR/2 x LF 

Where GLC = grease tank liquid capacity,  

in gallons 

D = number of seats in dining  

area 

GL = gallons of wastewater per 

meal: 1.5 single-service or 

2.5 multiuse 

ST = storage capacity factor = 2.5 

HR = number of hours open 

LF = loading factor: 1.25 if along  

an interstate highway; 1.0 if 

along US Highway or 

recreational areas; or 0.8 if 

along other roads 

(c)  When the required minimum grease tank capacity for a facility 

is less than or equal to 1,500 gallons, the grease tank may be a 

single tank with two compartments and a minimum 2:1 length to 

width ratio. 

(d)  When the required minimum grease tank capacity for a 

facility is greater than 1,500 gallons, the grease tank shall have a 

minimum 4:1 length to width ratio and four compartments. This 

requirement can be met by two or more tanks in series. When this 

requirement is met by having two or more tanks in series, each 

tank in the series shall have a minimum liquid capacity of 1,000 

gallons and a minimum 2:1 length to width ratio. 

(e)  A grease rated effluent filter approved in accordance with 

Rule .1404 of this Subchapter shall be in the final compartment of 

the grease tank. 

(f)  When two or more grease tanks are used in series in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule, the following 

conditions shall be met: 

(1) an approved grease rated effluent filter shall be 

in the final compartment; and 

(2) the outlet of the initial tank shall consist of a 

sanitary tee extending down 40 to 60 percent of 

the liquid depth. 

(g)  The grease tank liquid capacity requirements set forth in this 

Rule may be reduced by up to 50 percent when used in 

conjunction with a grease trap located inside the facility. The 

system shall be designed by a PE, if required by G.S. 89C, and 

approved by the Department when review of documentation 

provided by the PE and manufacturer demonstrate that the grease 

trap is projected to reduce FOG concentration by at least 50 

percent. 

(h)  Grease traps and grease tanks shall be maintained by a septage 

management firm permitted in accordance with G.S. 130A-291.1, 

and the contents disposed of in accordance with 15A NCAC 13B 

.0800. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0804 SIPHON TANK CAPACITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

Siphon tanks shall be sized to provide the minimum dose 

requirements of Rule .1101(d) of this Subchapter, plus three 

inches of freeboard above the siphon trip level. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0805 TANK LEAK TESTING AND 

INSTALLATION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All tanks installed under the following conditions shall be leak 

tested: 

(1) when a SWC is present within four feet of the 

elevation of the top of a mid-seam pump tank; 

(2) with advanced pretreatment when required in 

the RWTS or PIA Approval; 

(3) when required in the approved plans and 

specifications for a wastewater system designed 

by a PE; 

(4) when the tank is constructed in place; or 

(5) as required by the authorized agent based upon 

site or system specific conditions, such as 
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misaligned seams, exposed reinforcement, or 

damage observed that may have occurred 

during transport or installation. 

(b)  Tanks subject to leak testing in accordance with Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be leak tested using either a hydrostatic test 

procedure or vacuum test procedure as follows: 

(1) The operational procedures to be followed for 

the hydrostatic test are: 

(A) Fill tank with water to the outlet invert 

or pipe, as applicable; 

(B) Allow the tank to sit for one hour; 

(C) Tank shall be approved if the water 

level drops less than or equal to one-

eighth inch in one hour; 

(D) If a leak is detected, the tank may be 

repaired in accordance with the tank 

manufacturer's written instructions, 

refilled, and retested; 

(E) Surface wetness or condensation shall 

not be considered an active water leak; 

and 

(F) The tank manufacturer or installer is 

allowed one attempt to retest the tank 

before the authorized agent can turn 

down the tank for failure to pass the 

leak test. 

(2) The operational procedures to be followed for 

the vacuum test are: 

(A) Temporarily seal inlet and outlet pipes 

and access openings; 

(B) Using calibrated equipment, draw a 

vacuum on the empty tank to a 

negative pressure of two and one half 

inches of mercury; 

(C) Hold the vacuum for five minutes and 

re-measure and record the ending 

negative pressure inside the tank; 

(D) No bracing or internal support that is 

not part of the approved tank shall be 

allowed; 

(E) Tank shall be approved if the 

difference between the starting 

negative pressure and the ending 

negative pressure is less than or equal 

to one-fifth inch; 

(F) If a leak is detected, the tank may be 

repaired in accordance with the tank 

manufacturer's written instructions 

and retested; 

(G) The tank manufacturer or installer is 

allowed one attempt to retest the tank 

before the authorized agent can turn 

down the tank for failure to pass the 

leak test; and 

(H) All tank openings shall be un-sealed 

after the vacuum test is completed. 

(c)  Tanks unable to pass a leak test or be repaired to pass a leak 

test shall be removed from the site and the imprint described in 

Rule .1402(d)(15) or (e)(8) of this Subchapter marked over. 

(d)  The tank outlet pipe shall be inserted through the outlet pipe 

penetration boot, creating a watertight joint, and extending a 

minimum of two feet beyond the tank outlet. 

(e)  The tank outlet pipe shall be placed on undisturbed soil or 

bedded in accordance with Rule .0703(b) of this Subchapter to 

prevent differential settling of the pipe. The pipe shall be level for 

a minimum of two feet after exiting the tank. 

(f)  The tank shall be installed level. A tank is considered level if 

the difference between the front and back is plus or minus one 

inch and the difference from side to side is plus or minus one inch. 

The tank excavation, bedding, backfill, and compaction shall be 

in accordance with the tank manufacturer's installation 

requirements and the tank approval. 

(g)  The tank excavation shall be separated from the dispersal 

system by at least two feet of undisturbed soil. Piping from the 

tank to the next component shall be placed on undisturbed soil, 

compacted soil, or bedded using sand, gravel, stone, or other 

aggregate. 

(h)  Effluent filters and risers shall be installed in accordance with 

the design and construction criteria of Rule .1402(b) and (c) of 

this Subchapter. 

(i)  Any system serving a facility with a DDF greater than 3,000 

gpd shall have access manholes installed on the tank and 

extending at a minimum to finished grade. The access manholes 

shall be designed and maintained to prevent surface water inflow 

and sized to allow access for routine inspections, operation, and 

maintenance. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

SECTION .0900 – SUBSURFACE DISPERSAL 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0901 GENERAL DESIGN AND 

INSTALLATION CRITERIA FOR SUBSURFACE 

DISPERSAL SYSTEMS 

(a)  Wastewater systems shall be used on sites classified suitable 

in accordance with Rule .0509 of this Subchapter. The sizing and 

siting criteria in this Rule shall be based on soil receiving DSE. 

The site shall meet the following minimum criteria: 

(1) 12 inches of naturally occurring soil between 

the infiltrative surface and any LC; and 

(2) 18 inches of separation between the infiltrative 

surface and any SWC if more than six inches of 

separation consists of Group I soils. 

(b)  If any part of the trench or bed media extends above the 

naturally occurring soil surface, the system shall be a fill system 

and shall meet the requirements of Rule .0909 of this Section. 

(c)  The LTAR shall be determined in accordance with the 

following: 

(1) Tables XVII and XVIII shall be used, as 

applicable; 

(2) the LTAR shall be assigned based upon soil 

textural class or saprolite textural class, as 

applicable, structure, consistence, SWC, depth, 

percent coarse rock, landscape position, 

topography, and system type; 

(3) LTARs determined from Table XVII shall be 

based on the soil textural class of the most 

limiting, naturally occurring soil horizon to a 
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depth of 12 inches below the infiltrative surface 

or 18 inches to any SWC if more than six inches 

of the separation consists of Group I soils; 

(4) LTARs determined from Table XVIII shall be 

based on the saprolite textural class of the most 

limiting, naturally occurring saprolite to a depth 

of 24 inches below the infiltrative surface, or 

less than 24 inches if combined with soil in 

accordance with Rule .0506(b) of this 

Subchapter; and 

(5) for facilities that generate HSE as specified in 

Rule .0401(h) of this Subchapter or a facility 

with a full kitchen, the LTAR shall not exceed 

the mean rate for the applicable Soil Group. 

 

TABLE XVII. LTAR for wastewater systems based on Soil 

Group and texture class 

Soil 

Group 

USDA Soil Textural Class LTAR in 

gpd/ft2 

I Sands 

 

Sand 0.8 – 1.2 

Loamy Sand 

II Coarse 

Loams 

 

Sandy Loam 0.6 – 0.8 

Loam 

III Fine Loams 

 

Sandy Clay 

Loam 

0.3 – 0.6 

Silt Loam 

Clay Loam 

Silty Clay 

Loam 

Silt 

IV Clays 

 

Sandy Clay 0.1 – 0.4 

Silty Clay 

Clay 

 

TABLE XVIII. LTAR for wastewater systems in saprolite 

based on Saprolite Group and texture class 

Saprolite 

Group 

Saprolite Textural Class LTAR in 

gpd/ft2 

I Sands Sand 0.6 – 0.8  

Loamy Sand 0.5 – 0.7 

II Loams Sandy Loam 0.4 – 0.6 

Loam 0.2 – 0.4 

III Fine Loams Silt Loam 0.1 – 0.3  

Sandy Clay 

Loam* 

0.05 – 0.15 

* Sandy clay loam saprolite can only be used with advanced 

pretreatment in accordance with Section .1200 of this Subchapter. 

 

(d)  The minimum required infiltrative surface area and trench 

length shall be calculated in accordance with the following: 

(1) the minimum required infiltrative surface area 

shall be calculated by dividing the DDF by the 

LTAR; 

(2) the minimum trench length shall be calculated 

by dividing the minimum required infiltrative 

surface area by the equivalent trench width. The 

following equation shall be used to calculate the 

minimum trench length required: 

TL = (DDF ÷ LTAR) ÷ 

ETW 

Where TL = trench length, in feet 

DDF = design daily flow, in  

gpd 

LTAR = in gpd/ft2 

ETW = equivalent trench  

width, in feet; 

(3) the area occupied by step-downs, drop boxes, 

and supply lines shall not be part of the 

minimum required infiltrative surface area; 

(4) the total trench length required for trench 

products other than conventional gravel shall be 

as follows: 

(A) for trench products identified in 

Section .0900 of this Subchapter, the 

minimum line length shall be 

calculated in accordance with this 

Section; or 

(B) for trench products approved under 

Section .1700 of this Subchapter, the 

minimum line length shall be 

calculated in accordance with the PIA 

Approval; and 

(5) when HSE is proposed to be discharged to a 

dispersal field with no advanced pretreatment 

or has not been reclassified as DSE in 

accordance with Rule .0402(c) of this 

Subchapter, a licensed professional, if required 

in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F, shall calculate the 

adjusted LTAR in accordance with Rule 

.0402(b)(2) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Any dispersal field where cover is required above the 

naturally occurring soil surface shall not be installed on slopes 

greater than 30 percent. 

(f)  Soil cover above the original grade shall be placed over the 

entire dispersal field and shall extend laterally five feet beyond 

the trenches. On level sites, the final grade of the dispersal field 

shall be crowned at one-half percent grade as measured from the 

centerline of the dispersal field. 

(g)  Wastewater system installation shall be in accordance with 

the following criteria: 

(1) a device that measures elevation, such as an 

engineer's level or laser level shall be used for 

the following: 

(A) staking, flagging, or marking on the 

ground surface the location of trenches 

on site before installation begins; 

(B) installation of the trenches; and 

(C) verification of elevations, excavations, 

and installation of other system 

components; 

(2) trenches shall be installed with 12 inches of 

naturally occurring suitable soil between the 

infiltrative surface and any unsuitable LC. If the 

vertical separation between the infiltrative 

surface and any SWC is less than 18 inches, and 
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if more than six inches of the separation 

consists of Group I soils, a pressure dispersal 

system shall be required; 

(3) the trenches shall follow the ground contour. 

Trenches may be installed level but off contour 

if an authorized agent has determined that there 

is sufficient vertical separation to a LC along 

the entire trench length in accordance with 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph; 

(4) the lateral shall be centered horizontally in the 

trench; 

(5) the type and placement of soil cover shall be 

approved by the authorized agent in accordance 

with this Subparagraph. The cover material 

shall be free of trash, debris, or large clods that 

do not break apart. The system can be installed 

utilizing native backfill unless otherwise 

specified in this Section or the PIA Approval: 

(6) final soil cover over the dispersal field shall be 

a minimum of six inches deep after settling. The 

finished grade over the tanks and dispersal field 

shall be sloped to shed surface water; 

(7) surface water runoff, including stormwater, 

gutter drains, or downspouts, shall be diverted 

away from the wastewater system. No 

depressions shall be allowed over the dispersal 

field area; 

(8) Schedule 40 PVC or other pipe approved 

pursuant to Section .0700 of this Subchapter 

may be used as needed to connect sections of 

trench and overcome site limitations. The 

trench bottom area where solid piping is 

installed shall not be included as part of the 

minimum required infiltrative surface area; 

(9) gravity effluent distribution components 

including distribution boxes, drop boxes, and 

flow diversion devices shall be watertight, 

corrosion resistant, constructed to withstand 

active and passive loads, and their installation 

shall meet the following criteria: 

(A) separated by a minimum of two feet of 

undisturbed soil from the septic tank 

and trench(es); 

(B) placed level on a solid foundation of 

undisturbed soil, pea gravel, or 

concrete to prevent differential settling 

of the component; and 

(C) backfilled by hand to minimize 

disturbance; 

(10) when parallel distribution is used to distribute 

effluent to the trenches, the installer shall 

demonstrate to the authorized agent during the 

final inspection that the distribution devices 

perform as designed; 

(11) serial and sequential distribution shall be 

approved by the authorized agent when the 

step-down or drop box in an individual trench 

is constructed to allow full utilization of the 

upstream trench prior to overflowing to the next 

downslope trench in accordance with the 

following criteria: 

(A) step-downs shall be constructed of a 

minimum of two feet of undisturbed 

soil, bedding material, or concrete and 

the effluent shall be conveyed over the 

step-down through Schedule 40 PVC 

or other pipe approved in accordance 

with Rule .0703 of this Subchapter. 

The installer shall demonstrate that the 

step-downs perform as designed. The 

authorized agent shall approve the 

step-downs when the installation and 

elevations have been verified in 

accordance with the CA; or 

(B) drop boxes shall be separated from the 

trench by a minimum of two feet of 

undisturbed soil and constructed to 

allow for full utilization of the 

upstream trench prior to overflowing 

to the next lower drop box. The 

installer shall demonstrate that the 

drop boxes perform as designed. The 

authorized agent shall approve the 

drop boxes when the installation and 

elevations have been verified in 

accordance with the CA; and 

(12) trench products other than conventional gravel 

shall be installed as follows: 

(A) for trench products identified in 

Section .0900, the trench products 

shall be installed in accordance with 

this Section; or 

(B) for trench products approved under 

Section .1700 of this Subchapter, the 

trench products shall be installed in 

accordance with their PIA Approval. 

(h)  Alternating dual dispersal fields shall only be used with DSE 

in Soil Groups III and IV. Alternating dual dispersal fields shall 

be approved when designed and installed in accordance with 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule and the following: 

(1) both initial and repair dispersal fields shall be 

installed at the same time; 

(2) initial and repair dispersal fields of the same 

system type are each sized at a minimum of 75 

percent of the total trench length required; 

(3) the initial and repair dispersal fields shall be 

separated by an effluent flow diversion 

valve(s); 

(4) diversion valve(s) shall be resistant to 500 

pounds crushing strength and corrosion 

resistant; 

(5) effluent flow diversion valves shall be installed 

below finished grade in a valve box and be 

accessible and operable from the ground 

surface; and 

(6) trench products approved under Section .1700 

of this Subchapter shall be installed in 

accordance with their PIA Approval. 
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Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0902 CONVENTIONAL 

WASTEWATER SYSTEMS 

(a)  A conventional wastewater system shall consist of a septic 

tank and a gravity distribution dispersal field. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Rule .0901 of this Section, this Rule shall 

apply to conventional wastewater systems as defined in G.S. 

130A-343. 

(b)  In addition to the installation requirements set forth in Rule 

.0901(g) of this Section, the following shall apply: 

(1) trenches shall be constructed level in all 

directions with a plus or minus one-half inch 

tolerance from side-to-side and the maximum 

fall in a single trench not to exceed one-fourth 

inch in 10 feet as determined by a device that 

measures elevation, such as an engineer's level 

or laser level; 

(2) trenches shall be located not less than three 

times the trench width on centers. The 

minimum spacing for trenches is six feet on 

center; 

(3) trench widths shall be at least two feet, but no 

more than three feet, and trench depth shall not 

exceed 36 inches on the downslope side of the 

trench, except as approved by an authorized 

agent; 

(4) aggregate used in trenches shall be clean, 

washed gravel or crushed stone and graded or 

sized in accordance with size numbers 4, 5, or 

6 of ASTM D448. The aggregate shall be 

distributed uniformly across the infiltrative 

surface and over the pipe and placed 12 inches 

deep with a minimum of six inches below the 

pipe and two inches over the pipe; and 

(5) the laterals shall meet the requirements of Rule 

.0703(d) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0903 BED SYSTEMS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to bed systems receiving DSE. 

(b)  Bed systems shall be limited to 600 gpd unless approved for 

a greater DDF in accordance with a PIA Approval. 

(c)  Sites for bed systems shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) soil texture is Group I, II, or III; and 

(2) design options for the site are limited by 

topography or available space. 

(d)  The number of square feet of infiltrative surface area required 

shall be increased by 50 percent over that required for a trench 

system as calculated in accordance with Rule .0901(d) of this 

Section. 

(e)  In addition to the installation requirements set forth in Rule 

.0901(g) of this Section, the following shall apply: 

(1) the bottom of the bed shall be excavated level, 

plus or minus one-half inch, in all directions; 

(2) laterals shall be one and one-half feet from the 

side of the bed; 

(3) laterals shall be placed on three-foot centers; 

(4) aggregate used shall comply with the 

requirements of Rule .0902(b)(4) of this 

Section; 

(5) products approved under Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter shall be installed in accordance with 

their PIA Approval; 

(6) the gravel surface shall be covered by an 

approved geo-textile fabric capable of 

preventing the downward movement of soil 

particles while allowing the movement of 

liquids and gases; and 

(7) when pressure dispersal is used, the lateral 

design criteria shall meet the minimum 

requirements of Rules .0907(e) or .0908(d) of 

this Section or in accordance with a PIA 

Approval. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0904 LARGE DIAMETER PIPE 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  LDP systems consist of laterals composed of corrugated, 

polyethylene tubing encased in a nylon and polyester blend filter 

wrap that are installed in trenches in the dispersal field. The 

laterals shall be one of the following: 

(1) eight-inch inside diameter with a 10-inch 

outside diameter; or 

(2) 10-inch inside diameter with a 12-inch outside 

diameter. 

(b)  LDP systems shall only be used with DSE. 

(c)  LDP pipe, filter wrap, and fittings shall meet the following 

criteria: 

(1) pipe and fittings shall comply with the 

requirements of ASTM F667; 

(2) the corrugated pipe shall have two rows of 

holes, each hole between three-eighths inch and 

one-half inch in diameter, located 120 degrees 

apart along the bottom half of the pipe with 

each hole 60 degrees from the bottom center 

line, and staggered so that one hole is present in 

the valley of each corrugation; 

(3) pipe shall be marked with a visible top location 

indicator, 120 degrees away from each row of 

holes; 

(4) corrugated pipe shall be covered with filter 

wrap at the factory; 

(5) filter wrap shall be spun, bonded, or spunlaced 

nylon, polyester, or nylon/polyester blend filter 

wrap meeting the minimum requirements in 

Table XIX; and 

(6) the LDP with filter wrap shall be encased in a 

black polyethylene sleeve prior to installation in 

the trench to prevent physical damage and 

ultraviolet radiation deterioration of the filter 

wrap. 
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Table XIX. Minimum filter wrap requirements for LDP 

Property Value 

Unit Weight 1.0 ounce per square yard 

Sheet Grab Tensile Strength Machine Direction: 23 pounds 

Trapezoid Tear Strength Machine Direction: 6.2 

pounds 

Cross Direction: 5.1 pounds 
Mullen Burst Strength 40 psi or 276 kilopascals 

Frazier Air Permeability 

500 cubic feet per minute per 

square foot at pressure differential 

of one-half inch of water 

(d)  The requirements of Rule .0901 of this Section shall apply to 

LDP systems except as follows: 

(1) the LTAR determined in accordance with Rule 

.0901(c) of this Section shall not exceed 0.8 

gpd/ft2; and 

(2) to calculate the minimum trench length in 

accordance with Rule .0901(d) of this Section, 

an equivalent trench width of two feet shall be 

used for eight-inch LDP and two and one-half 

feet shall be used for 10-inch LDP. 

(e)  In addition to the requirements set forth in Rule .0901(g) of 

this Section, LDP system installations shall comply with the 

following: 

(1) trenches for eight-inch LDP shall be a 

minimum of 10 inches and a maximum of 18 

inches wide. Trenches for ten-inch LDP shall be 

a minimum of 12 inches and a maximum of 24 

inches wide; 

(2) the infiltrative surface and pipe shall be level 

with a maximum fall of one inch in 100 feet; 

(3) backfill shall have no more than 10 percent by 

volume of fibrous organics, building rubble, 

rocks, large clods, or other debris and shall be 

Soil Groups I, II, or III; 

(4) the LDP shall be connected to the collection 

sewer or a stepdown pipe using an offset 

adapter to create a mechanical joint; and 

(5) the minimum on center spacing for eight-inch 

LDP shall be five feet and for 10-inch LDP 

shall be six feet. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0905 PREFABRICATED PERMEABLE 

BLOCK PANEL SYSTEMS 

(a)  PPBPS utilize both horizontal and vertical air chambers in a 

16-inch PPBPS and are constructed to promote downline and 

horizontal distribution of effluent. PPBPS systems shall only be 

used with DSE. 

(b)  The requirements of Rule .0901 of this Section shall apply to 

PPBPS systems except as follows: 

(1) the LTAR determined in accordance with Rule 

.0901(c) of this Section shall not exceed 0.8 

gpd/ft2; and 

(2) to calculate the minimum trench length in 

accordance with Rule .0901(d) of this Section, 

an equivalent trench width of six feet shall be 

used. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements set forth in Rule .0901(g) of 

this Section, PPBPS system installations shall comply with the 

following and the manufacturer's specifications: 

(1) PPBPS trenches shall be located a minimum of 

eight feet on center or three times the trench 

width, whichever is greater; 

(2) trench sidewalls shall be raked in Group IV 

soils; 

(3) pressure dosed gravity distribution or pressure 

dispersal shall be used when the individual 

trench lengths are greater than 50 feet and less 

than or equal to 70 feet; and 

(4) pressure dispersal shall be used when the 

individual trench lengths are greater than 70 

feet. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0906 SAND LINED TRENCH 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  Sand lined trench systems receiving DSE may be used on sites 

originally classified unsuitable due to SWC, soil morphology, 

restrictive horizon, or soil depth that may be reclassified as 

suitable in accordance with this Rule when there is a DDF less 

than or equal to 1,500 gpd. 

(b)  Sand lined trench systems with advanced pretreatment shall 

comply with Rule .1205 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The soil and site shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) the texture of the receiving permeable horizon 

is sand, loamy sand, sandy loam, loam, or silt 

loam; 

(2) the structure of the receiving permeable horizon 

is classified suitable; 

(3) the moist consistence of the receiving 

permeable horizon is loose, very friable, friable, 

or firm; 

(4) if the receiving permeable horizon has zones of 

heavier textured materials, these zones are 

discontinuous with an average thickness not 

exceeding one-third of the required thickness of 

the receiving permeable horizon; 

(5) the naturally occurring receiving permeable 

horizon shall be less than or equal to 60 inches 

below the naturally occurring soil surface. If the 

receiving permeable horizon is greater than 60 
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inches below the naturally occurring soil 

surface, advanced pretreatment shall be used in 

accordance with Rule .1205 of this Subchapter; 

(6) artificial drainage shall be provided, as needed, 

to maintain the following minimum vertical 

separation from the infiltrative surface to a 

SWC: 

(A) 18 inches with gravity or pressure 

dosed gravity distribution; or 

(B) 12 inches with pressure dispersal; and 

(7) the minimum required thickness of the 

receiving permeable horizon shall be 

determined by the texture of that horizon as 

follows: 

(A) sand or loamy sand texture requires a 

minimum thickness of one foot; 

(B) sandy loam or loam texture requires a 

minimum thickness of two feet; or 

(C) silt loam texture requires a minimum 

thickness of three feet. 

(d)  If a groundwater lowering system is required to comply with 

the minimum vertical separation in Paragraph (c)(6) of this Rule 

to a SWC that is not related to lateral water movement, design 

plans and specifications shall be prepared by a licensed 

professional if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F. The 

groundwater lowering system shall: 

(1) extend into the receiving permeable horizon; 

(2) have an outlet with location and elevation that 

allows for free discharge of groundwater as 

required for the groundwater lowering system 

to be functional. The outlet location and 

elevation shall be shown on the artificial 

drainage system plan with relative water level 

elevations and wastewater system site 

elevations labeled; and 

(3) all groundwater lowering system components 

are integral to the wastewater system and 

subject to ownership and control requirements 

of Rule .0301(b) and (c) of this Subchapter. 

 

(e)  The LTAR shall be determined in accordance with Table XX for sand-lined trench systems. The minimum trench length shall be 

calculated in accordance with Rule .0901(d) of this Section, except that the ETW shall be equal to the installed trench width. The LTAR 

shall be based on the lesser of the following: 

(1) LTAR set forth in Table XX based on the most hydraulically limiting, naturally occurring soils overlying the 

permeable receiving horizon; or 

(2) 10 percent of the in-situ Ksat of the receiving permeable horizon. 

 

TABLE XX. LTAR for sand lined trench systems based on the most hydraulically limiting, naturally occurring soils overlying the 

permeable receiving horizon 

Soil Group Texture of Most 

Hydraulically Limiting 

Overlying Soil Horizon 

Distribution Type 
LTAR 

in gpd/ft2 

I Sands Gravity or Pressure Dosed Gravity  0.7 – 0.9 

Pressure Dispersal 0.8 – 1.2 

II Coarse Loams Gravity or Pressure Dosed Gravity 0.5 – 0.7 

Pressure Dispersal 0.6 – 0.8 

III Fine Loams Gravity or Pressure Dosed Gravity  0.2 – 0.4 

Pressure Dispersal 0.3 – 0.6 

IV Clays Gravity or Pressure Dosed Gravity 0.1 – 0.2 

Pressure Dispersal 0.15 – 0.3 

(f)  There shall be no reduction in trench length compared to a 

conventional wastewater system when Accepted or Innovative 

gravelless trench product is used. 

(g)  A special site evaluation in accordance with Rule .0510 of this 

Subchapter shall be required for the following conditions to field 

verify the LTAR: 

(1) the texture of the receiving permeable horizon 

is sandy loam or loam and the system DDF is 

greater than 600 gpd; or 

(2) the texture of the receiving permeable horizon 

is silt loam. 

(h)  In addition to the requirements set forth in Rule .0901(g) of 

this Section, sand lined trench system installations shall comply 

with the following: 

(1) gravity trenches shall have a maximum width 

of three feet and a minimum width of one and a 

half feet; 

(2) trenches shall be located not less than three 

times the trench width on center. The minimum 

spacing for trenches shall be five feet on center; 

(3) the sand lined trenches shall be constructed to 

extend into the naturally occurring receiving 

permeable horizon; 

(4) the infiltrative surface shall be no deeper than 

24 inches below finished grade. The top of the 

trench media shall be at or below the naturally 

occurring soil surface. Drip tubing shall be 

installed a minimum of six inches below the 

natural grade; 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2021 

1899 

(5) soil used to line the trench shall be sand in 

texture. The installer shall provide written 

laboratory verification of the media textural 

classification and quality when requested by the 

LHD based on a visual inspection of the sand 

used during installation. When laboratory 

analysis is required, the material shall be clean, 

uncoated fine, medium, or coarse sand with a 

minimum of 90 percent in sizes ranging from 

0.1 to 2.0 millimeters, with no more than one 

percent smaller than 0.074 millimeters or a No. 

200 Sieve; 

(6) pressure dosed gravity distribution or pressure 

dispersal shall be used when the total dispersal 

field line length exceeds 750 linear feet in a 

single system; 

(7) pressure dispersal shall be used when the total 

dispersal field line length exceeds 1,200 linear 

feet in a single system; 

(8) when pressure dispersal is used, the pressure 

dispersal network shall be designed in 

accordance with Rules .0907(e) or .0908(f) of 

this Section, except that the trench width shall 

comply with this Paragraph. The total line 

length shall be calculated based on infiltrative 

surface area; 

(9) drip dispersal systems in sand lined trenches 

shall require multiple runs per trench of drip 

tubing with emitters as follows: 

(A) a minimum of two runs within a trench 

between one and one half and two feet 

wide; and 

(B) a minimum of three runs within a 

trench between two and three feet 

wide. 

The drip tubing shall be uniformly spaced 

across the trench with the tubing six inches 

from the trench sidewalls. Drip tubing shall be 

covered by a minimum of six inches of sand 

lined trench media meeting the requirements of 

Subparagraph (5) of this Paragraph. Drip 

dispersal systems shall comply with the 

requirements of Section .1600 of this 

Subchapter and this Rule; 

(10) finished grade shall provide for positive surface 

drainage away from all system components, 

with the dispersal field crowned at one-half 

percent as measured from the centerline of the 

dispersal field. The finished grade requirements 

shall be made a condition of the CA; and 

(11) trench products approved under Section .1700 

of this Subchapter shall be installed in 

accordance with PIA Approval. 

(i)  Other sand lined trench systems may be approved on a site-

specific basis in accordance with Rule .0509(c) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0907 LOW PRESSURE PIPE 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  LPP systems utilize a network of small diameter pipes with 

three feet to six feet pressure head to distribute effluent across the 

entire dispersal field. Any subsurface dispersal system listed in 

this Section may incorporate LPP dispersal. 

(b)  LPP systems with advanced pretreatment shall comply with 

Rules .1202, .1203, .1205, or .1206 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The LTAR shall be determined as follows: 

(1) Tables XXI and XXII shall be used to 

determine the LTAR for LPP systems, as 

applicable; 

(2) the LTAR determined from Table XXI shall be 

based on the soil textural class of the most 

limiting, naturally occurring soil horizon to a 

depth of 12 inches below the infiltrative 

surface; 

(3) the LTAR determined from Table XXII shall be 

based on the saprolite textural class of the most 

limiting, naturally occurring saprolite to a depth 

of 24 inches below the infiltrative surface, or 

less than 24 inches if combined with soil in 

accordance with Rule .0506(b) of this 

Subchapter; and 

(4) for facilities that generate HSE as specified in 

Rule .0401(h) of this Subchapter or a facility 

with a full kitchen, the LTAR shall not exceed 

the mean rate for the applicable Soil Group. 

 

TABLE XXI. LTAR for LPP systems based on Soil Group and 

texture class 

Soil 

Group 
USDA Soil Textural Class 

LTAR in 

gpd/ft2 

I Sands 
Sand 

0.4 – 0.6 
Loamy Sand 

II Coarse Loams 
Sandy Loam 

0.3 – 0.4 
Loam 

III Fine Loams 

Sandy Clay 

Loam 

0.15 – 0.3 
Silt Loam 

Clay Loam 

Silty Clay Loam 

Silt 

IV Clays 

Sandy Clay 

0.05 – 0.2 Silty Clay 

Clay 

 

TABLE XXII. LTAR for LPP systems in saprolite based on 

Saprolite Group and texture class 

Saprolite Group Saprolite Textural 

Class 

LTAR in 

gpd/ft2 

I Sands Sand 0.3 – 0.4  

Loamy Sand 0.25 – 0.35 

II Loams Sandy Loam 0.2 – 0.3 

Loam 0.1 – 0.2  

Silt Loam 0.05 – 0.15 
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(d)  The minimum required dispersal field area and trench length 

shall be calculated in accordance with the following: 

(1) the minimum required dispersal field area shall 

be calculated by dividing the DDF by the 

LTAR; and 

(2) the minimum trench length shall be calculated 

by dividing the required dispersal field area by 

a lateral spacing of five feet. The following 

equation shall be used to calculate the minimum 

line length required. 

TL = (DDF ÷ LTAR) ÷ 

LS 

Where TL = length of trench, in 

feet 

DDF = design daily flow, in 

gpd 

LTAR = in gpd/ft2 

LS = five-foot line 

spacing 

(3) When HSE is proposed to be discharged to an 

LPP dispersal field with no advanced 

pretreatment or has not been reclassified as 

DSE in accordance with Rule .0402(c) of this 

Subchapter, a licensed professional, if required 

in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F, shall calculate the 

adjusted LTAR in accordance with Rule 

.0402(b) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  In addition to the requirements set forth in Rule .0901(g) of 

this Section, LPP system design and installation shall comply with 

the following, unless otherwise specified in a PIA Approval: 

(1) the LPP distribution network shall be 

constructed of one to two-inch diameter 

pressure rated Schedule 40 PVC laterals placed 

in gravel that meets the requirements in Rule 

.0902(b)(4) of this Section or other approved 

media; 

(2) the trench width shall be one to two feet; 

(3) trenches shall be located not less than three 

times the trench width on center. The minimum 

spacing for trenches shall be five feet on center: 

(4) trenches shall include a minimum of eight 

inches of gravel or other approved media, either 

from a PIA Approval or subsurface dispersal 

system listed in Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter. The lateral shall be installed a 

minimum of five inches above the infiltrative 

surface; 

(5) laterals, manifolds and LPP fields shall comply 

with the following design criteria: 

(A) the maximum lateral length shall yield 

no more than a 10 percent difference 

in orifice delivery rate between the 

first and last orifice along the lateral; 

(B) no more than one-third of the total 

number of holes shall be less than 5/32 

inches in diameter, with no orifices 

sized smaller than one-eighth inch in 

diameter in any lateral line; 

(C) all orifices shall face upwards, except 

for two orifices, one-third of the way 

from the beginning and end of each 

lateral, which shall face downward; 

and 

(D) maximum orifice spacing shall be as 

follows: Soil Group I - five feet; Soil 

Group II - six feet; Soil Group III - 

eight feet; and Soil Group IV - 10 feet; 

(6) the orifices shall be protected by the following: 

(A) lateral sleeved within a three or four-

inch perforated corrugated or smooth 

wall tubing meeting the requirements 

of Rule .0703(d) of this Subchapter; or 

(B) specially designed and approved 

orifice shields; 

(7) the following additional design provisions shall 

be required for sloping sites: 

(A) separately valved manifolds shall be 

required for all subfield segments 

where the elevation difference 

between the highest and lowest 

laterals exceeds three feet; 

(B) the orifice spacing, orifice size or both 

shall be adjusted to compensate for 

relative elevation differences between 

laterals branching off a common 

supply manifold and to compensate 

for the lines at the lowest elevation 

receiving more effluent at the 

beginning and end of a dosing cycle; 

(C) the lateral network shall be designed to 

achieve a 10 to 30 percent higher 

steady state flow rate into the upper 

lines, relative to the lower lines, 

depending on the amount of elevation 

difference. The steady state flow rate 

is based on the pipe being full; and 

(D) maximum elevation difference 

between the highest and lowest 

laterals in a field shall not exceed 10 

feet unless the flow is uniformly 

divided using multiple pumps or split 

between subfield segments without 

requiring simultaneous adjustment of 

multiple pressure regulating valves in 

separate locations. Flow shall be 

uniformly divided such that the dose 

volumes to the subfields does not vary 

more than 10 percent on an area basis. 

The Department shall approve other 

designs based upon the authorized 

designer or PE providing 

documentation showing equivalent 

hydraulic performance to this 

Subparagraph; 

(8) turn-ups shall be provided at the ends of each 

lateral, constructed of Schedule 40 PVC pipe or 

stronger pressure-rated pipe, and shall 
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terminate at the ground surface and be installed 

in a valve box or equivalent that provides access 

for operation and maintenance; 

(9) the supply manifold shall be constructed of 

solvent-welded pressure rated Schedule 40 

PVC; 

(10) the supply manifold shall be sized large enough 

based on the size and number of laterals served 

to prevent more than a 20 percent variation in 

pressure head between the first and last laterals 

due to losses within the manifold when feeding 

the manifold from a lower elevation; 

(11) the supply manifold shall comply with the 

following design criteria: 

(A) the ratio of the supply manifold inside 

cross-sectional area to the sum of the 

inside cross-sectional areas of the 

laterals served shall exceed 0.7:1 as 

measured from where the supply line 

connects to the manifold; 

(B) the reduction between the manifold 

and connecting laterals shall be made 

off the manifold using reducing tees or 

fittings; and 

(C) cleanouts shall be installed at the distal 

ends of the supply manifold and shall 

be enclosed in valve boxes accessible 

from the ground surface; 

(12) pressure regulating valves shall be provided for 

pressure adjustment at the fields; 

(13) valves shall be installed in an access device, 

such as a valve box, and be accessible and 

operable from the ground surface. Valves 

serving contiguous subfields shall be in a 

common valve box; 

(14) the LPP dosing system shall comply with the 

following design criteria: 

(A) the pump operating flow rate shall be 

based upon delivering three feet to six 

feet of residual pressure head at the 

distal end of all laterals; 

(B) the dose volume shall be between five 

and 10 times the liquid capacity of the 

lateral pipe dosed, plus the liquid 

capacity of the portions of manifold 

and supply lines which drain between 

doses; and 

(C) when pumping downhill and the 

supply line volume exceeds 20 percent 

of the calculated dose volume, special 

design considerations shall be 

followed to prevent more than 20 

percent of the dose volume from 

draining by gravity to the dispersal 

field between doses; and 

(15) the trenches shall be covered to a minimum 

depth of four inches after settling. 

(f)  The authorized agent or Department may approve on a site-

specific basis drip dispersal systems used in LPP trenches and 

other LPP designs based on documentation showing that the 

proposed design meets the performance requirements of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0908 DRIP DISPERSAL SYSTEMS 

(a)  This Rule provides for the permitting of drip dispersal systems 

receiving DSE. Drip dispersal systems shall comply with the 

provisions of this Rule and Section .1600 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Drip dispersal systems with advanced pretreatment shall 

comply with Rule .1204 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Drip dispersal systems shall meet the following soil and site 

criteria: 

(1) A minimum of 18 inches of naturally occurring 

suitable soil above a LC, 13 inches of naturally 

occurring suitable soil above a SWC, and the 

minimum vertical separation to any LC shall be 

12 inches. A groundwater lowering system may 

be used to comply with the vertical separation 

to a SWC when only Group I or II soils with 

suitable structure are present within 36 inches 

of the naturally occurring soil surface. 

(2) For new fill, the soil and site shall meet the 

following criteria: 

(A) Rule .0909(b) and (c) of this Section, 

except as otherwise specified in this 

Subparagraph; 

(B) no SWC shall exist within the first 12 

inches below the naturally occurring 

soil surface. A groundwater lowering 

system shall not be used to comply 

with the initial site requirements for a 

new fill system; and 

(C) minimum vertical separation to any 

unsuitable soil horizon or rock shall be 

18 inches and 12 inches for any SWC. 

(3) For existing fill, the soil and site shall meet the 

following criteria: 

(A) Rule .0909(d) and (e) of this Section, 

except as otherwise specified in this 

Subparagraph; and 

(B) minimum vertical separation to any 

LC shall be 24 inches. 

(d)  Tables XXIII and XXIV shall be used to determine the LTAR 

for all DSE drip dispersal systems: 

(1) Table XXIII shall be used for systems utilizing 

soil. The LTAR shall be based on the most 

limiting, naturally occurring soil horizon within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring soil surface 

or to a depth of 12 inches below the infiltrative 

surface, whichever is deeper; 

(2) Table XXIV shall be used for systems utilizing 

saprolite. The LTAR shall be based on the most 

limiting, naturally occurring saprolite to a depth 

of 24 inches below the infiltrative surface; 

(3) the LTAR for new fill systems shall not exceed 

0.5 gpd/ft2 for Group I, 0.3 for gpd/ft2 Group II, 

0.15 gpd/ft2 for Group III or 0.05 gpd/ft2 for 

Group IV soils, respectively; 
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(4) sections of blank tubing without emitters shall 

not count towards the minimum dripline length 

required; and 

(5) the DDF shall be divided by the LTAR, 

determined from Table XXIII or XXIV, to 

determine the minimum dispersal field area 

required. The minimum dripline length shall be 

determined by dividing the required area by the 

maximum line spacing of two feet. The 

designer may recommend additional linear 

footage as soil and site conditions allow. The 

following equations shall be used to calculate 

the minimum dispersal field area and dripline 

length required: 

MA = DDF ÷ LTAR 

DL = MA ÷ LS 

Where MA = minimum dispersal  

field area, in ft2 

DDF = design daily flow, in  

gpd 

LTAR = in gpd/ft2 

DL = dripline length, in  

feet 

LS = two-foot line  

spacing 

 

TABLE XXIII. LTAR for DSE drip dispersal systems based on Soil Group and texture class 

Soil Group USDA Soil Textural Class LTAR in gpd/ft2 

I Sands 
Sand 

0.4 – 0.6 
Loamy Sand 

II Coarse Loams 
Sandy Loam 

0.3 – 0.4 
Loam 

III Fine Loams 

Sandy Clay Loam 

0.15 – 0.3 

Silt Loam 

Clay Loam 

Silty Clay Loam 

Silt 

IV Clays 

Sandy Clay 

0.05 – 0.2 Silty Clay 

Clay 

 

 

TABLE XXIV. LTAR for DSE drip dispersal systems based on Saprolite Group and texture class 

Saprolite Group Saprolite Textural Class LTAR in gpd/ft2 

I Sand 0.3 – 0.4 

Loamy sand 0.25 – 0.35 

II Sandy loam 0.2 – 0.3 

Loam 0.1 – 0.2  

Silt Loam 0.05 – 0.1 

(e)  A special site evaluation shall be required in accordance with 

Rule .0510 of this Subchapter, as applicable. 

(f)  Drip dispersal installation shall be in accordance with the 

following criteria: 

(1) dripline shall be installed in accordance with 

the approved design. The design shall specify 

installation depth, installation equipment, 

blanking, drainback prevention, and any other 

site-specific design requirements identified by 

the designer; 

(2) dripline shall be installed a minimum of one 

inch into naturally occurring soil, except when 

installed in a fill system; 

(3) driplines shall be installed level. A maximum 

variance of plus or minus two inches shall be 

allowed within any contiguous section of 

dripline containing drip emitters; 

(4) a minimum of six inches of cover shall be 

maintained over the dripline. The six inches of 

cover may be met by the addition of up to six 

inches, after settling, of suitable Group II or III 

soil over the drip field; 

(5) drip dispersal fields shall be sloped to shed 

surface water; 

(6) if cover material is required and the slope is 

greater than 30 percent, a slope stabilization 

plan shall be provided by a licensed 

professional if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 

89F; and 

(7) the drip dispersal system shall be field tested 

after installation in accordance with Rule .1603 

of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0909 FILL SYSTEMS 

(a)  Both new and existing fill systems are a system in which all 

or part of the dispersal field media is installed in fill material. The 
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system includes both the basal area of dispersal field and the toe 

slope in all directions. 

(b)  New fill systems may be installed on sites that meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) a minimum of the first 18 inches below the 

naturally occurring soil surface consists of 

suitable soil with the exception that no SWC 

exists within the first 12 inches below the 

naturally occurring soil surface and a 

groundwater lowering system is not used to 

meet this requirement; 

(2) systems shall be installed only on sites with 

uniform slopes less than four percent; 

(3) stormwater diversions, subsurface interceptor 

drains, or swales shall be required as needed 

upslope of the system to divert surface runoff or 

lateral flow from passing over or into the 

system; and 

(4) the area of suitable soil shall be large enough to 

include the basal area of dispersal field and the 

toe slope in all directions. 

(c)  New fill system design and installation shall be in accordance 

with the following criteria: 

(1) trenches shall be installed with a minimum of 

24 inches separating the infiltrative surface and 

any LC for gravity distribution and pressure 

dosed gravity distribution, except for any SWC 

that requires 18 inches of separation. If pressure 

dispersal is used, the minimum separation 

distance shall be 18 inches between the 

infiltrative surface and any LC and 12 inches to 

a SWC. This separation requirement may be 

met with the use of a groundwater lowering 

system only in Soil Groups I and II with 

suitable structure; 

(2) fill systems with a DDF greater than 480 gpd 

shall use pressure dispersal systems; 

(3) fill material soil texture shall be classified as 

Group I up to the top of the trenches. The final 

six inches of fill used to cover the system shall 

have a finer texture, such as Group II or III 

soils, for the establishment of a vegetative 

cover; 

(4) minimum cover shall be six inches after 

settling; 

(5) additional fill may be added to facilitate 

drainage and accommodate final landscaping 

requirements at the site necessary to stabilize 

the fill, shed surface water, and establish a 

vegetative cover. The additional fill may be 

provided if the infiltrative surface is less than 

30 inches below the finished grade; 

(6) where fill material is added, the fill material and 

the existing soil shall be mixed to a depth of six 

inches below the interface. Vegetative cover, 

organic litter, and the O horizon shall be 

removed before the additional fill material is 

incorporated; 

(7) the fill system shall be constructed as an 

elongated berm with the long axis parallel to the 

ground elevation contours of the slope; 

(8) the side slope of the fill system shall not exceed 

a rise to run ratio of 1:4. If the first 18 inches 

below the naturally occurring soil surface is 

Group I soil, the side slope of the fill shall not 

exceed a rise to run ratio of 1:3; 

(9) the outside edge of the trench shall be located a 

minimum of five feet horizontally from the top 

of the side slope; 

(10) the fill system shall be shaped to shed surface 

water and shall be stabilized with a vegetative 

cover; 

(11) trench products approved under Section .1700 

of this Subchapter shall be installed in 

accordance with PIA Approval; and 

(12) the setback requirements shall be measured 

from the projected toe of the slope. If this 

setback cannot be met, the setback 

requirements shall be measured five feet from 

the nearest edge of the trench if the following 

conditions are met: 

(A) slope of the site does not exceed two 

percent; 

(B) the first 18 inches of soil beneath the 

naturally occurring soil surface shall 

consist of Group I soils; and 

(C) the lot or tract of land was recorded on 

or before December 31, 1989. 

(d)  An existing pre-July 1, 1977 fill site that does not meet the 

requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule may be utilized for a 

wastewater system if the following requirements are met: 

(1) substantiating data are provided by the lot 

owner indicating that the fill material was 

placed on the site prior to July 1, 1977; 

(2) the fill material shall have Group I soil texture 

for a minimum depth of 24 inches below the 

existing ground surface; 

(3) the fill material shall have no more than 10 

percent by volume of fibrous organics, building 

rubble, or other debris, and shall not have 

discreet layers containing greater than 35 

percent of shell fragments; 

(4) if a minimum of 24 inches of Group I fill 

material is present, additional fill with soil 

texture classified Group I may be added to 

comply with the separation requirements of 

Subparagraph (e)(5) of this Rule; 

(5) SWC is 18 inches or greater below the ground 

surface of the fill. This requirement shall be met 

without the use of a groundwater lowering 

system; and 

(6) the area of suitable soil shall be large enough to 

include the basal area of dispersal field and the 

toe slopes in all directions. 

(e)  Existing fill system design and installation shall be in 

accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule and the following 

criteria: 
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(1) the DDF shall not exceed 480 gpd; 

(2) pressure dispersal shall be used. LPP systems 

shall meet the requirements of Rule .0907(d) 

and (e) of this Section. Drip dispersal systems 

shall meet the requirements of Rule .0908(d) 

and (f) of this Section; 

(3) the LTAR shall not exceed 0.5 gpd/ft2; 

(4) existing fill sites with 48 inches of Group I soils 

may use conventional trenches with a 

maximum LTAR of 1.0 gpd/ft2 in lieu of a 

pressure dispersal system; 

(5) the minimum vertical separation to any LC 

shall be 24 inches for pressure dispersal 

systems and 48 inches for conventional 

systems. This vertical separation requirement 

may be met by adding additional Group I soil, 

but shall not be met with the use of a 

groundwater lowering system; 

(6) where additional Group I fill is to be added, the 

side slope of the fill shall not exceed a side 

slope ratio of 1:3; and 

(7) trench products approved under Section .1700 

of this Subchapter shall be installed in 

accordance with their PIA Approval. 

(f)  The LTAR for new and existing fill systems shall be 

determined in accordance with Rule .0901(c) of this Section and 

the following: 

(1) the LTAR shall be based on the most limiting, 

naturally occurring soil horizon within 18 

inches of the ground surface or to a depth 12 

inches below the infiltrative surface, whichever 

is deeper; 

(2) the lowest LTAR for the applicable Soil Group 

shall be used for systems installed in 

accordance with this Rule; and 

(3) for sites with a minimum of 18 inches of Group 

I soils below the naturally occurring soil surface 

or to a depth of 12 inches below the infiltrative 

surface, whichever is deeper, the LTAR shall 

not exceed 1.0 gpd/ft2 for gravity or pressure 

dosed gravity distribution or 0.5 gpd/ft2 for 

pressure dispersal systems. 

(g)  The authorized agent or Department may approve other fill 

system designs on a site-specific basis in accordance with a PIA 

Approval or Rule .0509(c) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0910 ARTIFICIAL DRAINAGE 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  Artificial drainage systems are a site modification and may be 

proposed to reclassify sites as suitable that were originally 

classified unsuitable due to a SWC, lateral water movement, 

saturated soils, a perched water table, or other oxyaquic 

conditions. Artificial drainage systems include groundwater 

lowering systems, interceptor drains, and surface water 

diversions. 

(b)  Groundwater lowering systems may be used when the 

following criteria are met: 

(1) the site has Group I or II soils with suitable 

structure and clay mineralogy; and 

(2) the groundwater lowering system shall be 

designed to maintain the vertical separation to a 

SWC as specified in Rule .0901(g)(2) of this 

Section. 

(c)  Plans and specifications for the use of a groundwater lowering 

system to comply with the vertical separation to a SWC shall be 

prepared by a licensed professional if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, 

or 89F in accordance with Rule .0303 of this Subchapter. The 

plans and specifications shall meet the following design criteria: 

(1) Gravity groundwater lowering systems shall be 

designed in accordance with the following: 

(A) substantiating information, 

calculations, and data shall be 

provided justifying the effectiveness 

of the proposed drainage system 

design; 

(B) design and devices shall comply with 

accepted standards of practice as set 

forth in the USDA-NRCS National 

Engineering Handbook, Part 624 - 

Drainage, Chapter 10 - Water Table 

Control, and Part 650 - Engineering 

Field Handbook, Chapter 14 - Water 

Management, Drainage; 

(C) the effectiveness of groundwater 

lowering systems shall be determined 

by use of the Ellipse, Hooghoudt, or 

equivalent drainage equations for sites 

with Group I or II soils. Justification 

for use of a specific drainage equation 

shall be provided; 

(D) drainage equation input parameters 

shall be based upon field descriptions 

of soil profiles and in-situ Ksat 

measurements. The drainage 

coefficient used in these equations 

shall be calculated from the highest 

monthly rainfall value with a 30-

percent exceedance probability from 

the closest available National Weather 

Service or SCO. A source of these data 

is the WETS tables published in the 

Natural Resource Conservation 

Service Field Office Technical Guides 

available online at: 

efotg.sc.egov.usda.gov/efotg_locator.

aspx. This monthly value shall be 

divided by 14 to give the drainage 

coefficient in inches per day. For 

systems with a DDF greater than 1,500 

gpd, the projected contribution of 

wastewater application shall be added 

to the drainage coefficient used in the 

equations; 

(E) DRAINMOD shall be used to 

determine the groundwater lowering 

system effectiveness at sites with three 
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or more effective soil layers, Group III 

or IV soils within 36 inches of the 

naturally occurring soil surface, or 

sites requiring a groundwater lowering 

system using pumps; and 

(F) the modeling procedure set forth in 

Rule .0504(h) of this Subchapter shall 

be followed. 

(2) Groundwater lowering systems using pumps 

shall be designed in accordance with the 

following: 

(A) plan and profile detail drawings of 

pump tank, showing all dimensions, 

pumps, discharge piping, floats, and 

float and alarm activation levels; 

(B) calculations and supporting 

information shall be provided as the 

basis for sizing the pumps, dose 

volume, emergency storage capacity, 

and overall tank capacity; 

(C) the high-water alarm in the control 

panel shall automatically contact a 24-

hour maintenance service; 

(D) information on discharge pipe line, 

line location, materials, and provisions 

for erosion control at the discharge 

point; 

(E) except as otherwise provided in this 

Paragraph, the requirements of 

Section .1100 of this Subchapter shall 

apply to artificial drainage systems 

using pumps; and 

(F) dual alternating pumps shall be 

required when serving two or more 

design units. Each pump shall be sized 

at a capacity of two and one half times 

the projected peak inflow rate to the 

pump tank. 

(3) Plans and specifications for all groundwater 

lowering systems shall include the following: 

(A) location of existing and proposed 

drainage systems in relation to all 

facilities and wastewater system 

components. Plans shall indicate flow 

direction, slope and drain outlet 

location; 

(B) profile drawings showing drainage 

trench dimensions, depth, pipe size, 

aggregate envelope, and filter fabric 

detail, cover, and cleanout detail; 

(C) elevations with reference to an 

established benchmark; 

(D) specifications for all groundwater 

lowering system materials and 

installation procedures; 

(E) the entire groundwater lowering 

system, including the outlet, shall be 

on property owned or controlled by the 

person owning or controlling the 

system. Necessary legal agreements 

shall be provided in accordance with 

Rule .0301(c) of this Subchapter; and 

(F) easements for egress, ingress, and 

regress for maintenance of 

groundwater lowering systems serving 

two or more lots shall be at least 20 

feet wide plus the width of the 

groundwater lowering system. 

(d)  Interceptor drains shall be used on sites where a SWC results 

from laterally flowing groundwater that can be diverted away 

from the dispersal field. 

(e)  Other artificial drainage systems, including surface water 

diversions, shall comply with USDA-NRCS guidance documents. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0911 PRIVIES 

(a)  A privy shall be approved when it consists of a pit, floor slab, 

and seat assembly housed in a building that affords privacy and 

protection from the weather and meets the following criteria: 

(1) the pit shall consist of an excavation with a 

minimum bottom surface area of three and one 

half feet square; 

(2) the maximum depth of the pit shall not exceed 

36 inches; 

(3) the pit bottom shall not be located closer than 

12 inches to a LC; 

(4) the pit shall be curbed to prevent caving. In 

sandy or loose soil, the curb shall extend the full 

depth of the pit. In clay soils, partial curbing 

may be acceptable if soils have sufficient 

cohesion to not collapse; 

(5) the floor shall be constructed of concrete, wood, 

or other approved materials. The following 

criteria shall be met, as applicable: 

(A) for wood construction, rot resistant 

joists are used covered with tight 

tongue-and-groove rot resistant 

flooring; 

(B) wood floors shall be anchored to the 

sills. The minimum sill size shall be 

four-inch by four-inch; and 

(C) when other materials are used the 

material shall be shown to provide 

strength, durability and prevent 

entrance of flies and mosquitoes to the 

privy pit; 

(6) the pit shall be vented through screened PVC 

Schedule 40 pipe or other pipe approved in 

accordance with Rule .0703 of this Subchapter, 

six inches in diameter, and extending above the 

roofline. The vent pipe shall be: 

(A) located on a south side wall of the 

building; 

(B) covered to prevent rainfall from 

entering, but still allow gases to 

escape; 
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(C) straight without any bends in the pipe; 

and 

(D) black colored pipe; and 

(7) privies shall not be used for the disposal of 

water-carried sewage. 

(b)  Any person owning or controlling the property upon which a 

privy is located shall be responsible for the following 

requirements: 

(1) when the pit becomes filled to within 18 inches 

of the top of the ground, the privy building shall 

be moved to a new pit and the old pit covered 

with soil; and 

(2) if the pit caves in, a new pit shall be provided. 

(c)  The person owning or controlling the system shall be 

responsible for the following requirements: 

(1) the privy and grounds adjacent shall be kept 

free of debris and excess vegetation; 

(2) a hinged seat cover and hinged door shall be 

provided and kept closed when the privy is not 

in use; 

(3) flies shall be excluded from the pit by the privy 

building door fitting in the frame and no 

unscreened openings in the building; 

(4) garbage and trash shall be kept out of the pit; 

and 

(5) the privy building shall not be used for storage. 

(d)  When a new pit is required, a CA and OP shall be obtained. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

SECTION .1000 – NON-GROUND ABSORPTION 

WASTEWATER TREATMENT SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1001 ALTERNATIVE TOILETS 

(a)  Use of alternative toilets, such as incinerating, composting, 

and mechanical toilets, and vault privies shall comply with the 

North Carolina Plumbing Code and this Rule. 

(b)  Use of chemical or portable toilets is governed by G.S. 130A-

335(h). 

(c)  When an alternative toilet or chemical toilet is used, all 

wastewater generated in the facility shall be discharged to a 

wastewater system that is approved under this Subchapter. 

(d)  Removal of residuals from incinerating toilets, composting 

toilets, mechanical toilets, vault privies, chemical toilets, or 

portable toilets shall be performed only by a person that holds a 

current NC Septage Management Firm permit in accordance with 

Rule 15A NCAC 13B .0832(a)(1). All waste shall be taken to an 

approved disposal site per G.S. 130A-291.1(d). 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1002 RECLAIMED WATER SYSTEMS 

(a)  An RCW system shall be one of the following: 

(1) an alternate management option as identified in 

15A NCAC 02U .0401(c) for use with a system 

permitted in accordance with 15A NCAC 02U; 

(2) a conjunctive wastewater system, as defined in 

15A NCAC 02U .0103(4), permitted under the 

Rules of this Subchapter that: 

(A) incorporates a beneficial use 

component, such as toilet flushing or 

landscape irrigation; and 

(B) the beneficial use component is not 

necessary to meet the wastewater 

disposal needs of the facility; 

(3) a conjunctive wastewater system permitted 

under the rules of this Subchapter when there is 

a non-conjunctive use wastewater system 

permitted and approved in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02H or 15A NCAC 02T for the facility; 

(4) a wastewater system designed for the complete 

recycle or reuse of DSE; or 

(5) a wastewater system designed to meet the 

wastewater disposal needs of a facility that 

serves a beneficial reuse, as defined in 15A 

NCAC 02U .0103(2), which incorporates a 

subsurface wastewater dispersal system. 

(b)  An RCW system shall be designed to produce effluent prior 

to discharge that complies with the effluent standards for a Type 

1 treatment process in accordance with 15A NCAC 02U .0301(b) 

or a TS-II system in accordance with Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) 

of this Subchapter, whichever is more restrictive. The wastewater 

system shall be approved in accordance with Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter or designed by a PE and approved by the Department 

when it has been determined to comply with this Rule. 

(c)  When utilizing an RCW system, the dispersal field and repair 

area shall comply with the siting and sizing requirements of 

Section .1200 of this Subchapter for a TS-II system except as 

follows: 

(1) setback reductions may be concurrently taken 

with either of the following: 

(A) LTAR increase; or 

(B) vertical separation reduction; 

(2) for systems designed to comply with a TN 

standard of 10 mg/L one of the following siting 

and sizing criteria may be utilized: 

(A) the property line setback may be 

reduced to five feet and the SA waters 

setback may be reduced to 50 feet for 

wastewater systems with a DDF less 

than or equal to 3,000 gpd; 

(B) the property line setback may be 

reduced to 10 feet, the SA waters 

setback may be reduced to 100 feet, 

and the other surface waters setback 

may be reduced to 50 feet for systems 

with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd; or 

(C) the vertical separation to a SWC may 

be reduced to 12 inches for wastewater 

systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 

gpd that use pressure dispersal; 

(3) the LTAR may be increased up to a factor of 

four compared to that assigned by the LHD for 

a system using DSE in Group I soils with a 

wastewater system that uses pressure dispersal 

when the following site conditions are met: 

(A) 48 inches of Group I soils from the 

naturally occurring soil surface; and 
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(B) 30 inches to a SWC below the 

naturally occurring soil surface; and 

(4) requirements to comply with an effluent TN 

standard set forth in this paragraph may be 

waived when a site-specific nitrogen migration 

analysis based on projected or measured 

effluent nitrogen levels demonstrates that the 

nitrate-nitrogen concentration at the property 

line will not exceed 10 mg/L. 

(d)  Conjunctive uses may include toilet and urinal flushing and 

landscape irrigation by drip dispersal. Wastewater from a system 

designed for complete recycling of DSE shall be used only for 

flushing of toilets and urinals. RCW shall not be used for body 

contact or human consumption. An RCW system that includes 

conjunctive use shall meet the following: 

(1) Toilet and urinal flushing components shall be 

approved by the local building inspections 

department and be in compliance with the 

North Carolina Plumbing Code, including pipe 

marking requirements and back-siphon 

protection provisions for proximate potable 

water supplies. 

(2) Siting, sizing, setbacks, and installation 

requirements of this Subchapter may be 

modified for the landscape irrigation 

component if they comply with the 

requirements for conjunctive use irrigation 

systems in 15A NCAC 02U, based upon 

information provided by the licensed 

professionals, if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 

89F. 

(3) System design, operation, and management 

requirements shall comply with requirements 

for comparable systems in 15A NCAC 02U, 

including provisions for continuous on-line 

monitoring and recording for turbidity and a 

mechanism to prevent effluent utilization if the 

turbidity exceeds 10 NTUs, if the E. Coli or 

fecal coliform levels are not being met, or the 

disinfection unit is not operable. 

(4) Requirements to comply with an effluent TN 

standard may be waived on a project specific 

basis when documentation is provided showing 

that the proposed design will not result in an 

exceedance of the groundwater standards in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02L. 

(e)  All RCW systems approved in accordance with this rule shall 

be designed by a PE and the plans approved by the Department 

prior to LHD permit issuance. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e). 

 

SECTION .1100 – SYSTEM DOSING AND CONTROLS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1101 GENERAL DOSING SYSTEM 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Dosing systems with a single pump or siphon shall be required 

to be used to deliver effluent into laterals when: 

(1) gravity distribution cannot be achieved between 

the septic tank and dispersal field; 

(2) the total lateral length exceeds 750 linear feet in 

a single system; or 

(3) a pressure dosed gravity distribution or pressure 

dispersal system is used. 

(b)  Dosing systems with multiple alternating or sequencing 

pumps or siphons shall be used to discharge to separate dispersal 

fields when: 

(1) DDF from a single system exceeds 3,000 gpd; 

or 

(2) the total line length exceeds 2,000 linear feet in 

a single trench system or 5,000 linear feet in a 

drip dispersal system. 

(c)  If alternating pumps or siphons are not required in accordance 

with Paragraph (b) of this Rule, but used, then the alternating 

pumps or siphons may discharge to a single dispersal field. 

(d)  The dose volume to a dispersal field shall be calculated as 

follows: 

(1) 66 to 75 percent of the volume of the installed 

linear lateral footage for pressure dosed gravity 

distribution systems; 

(2) 66 to 75 percent of the volume of the installed 

linear lateral footage for LDP systems and 

trench products with a PIA approval based on 

lateral capacity equivalent to the capacity of a 

four-inch corrugated pipe; 

(3) LPP systems in accordance with Rule 

.0907(e)(14)(B) of this Subchapter; and 

(4) drip dispersal systems in accordance with Rule 

.1602(f)(3) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  The pump operating flow rate from a dosing system shall be 

designed to achieve scour velocity in the supply line and to 

distribute effluent in accordance with the dispersal field design. 

(f)  The pump operating flow rate or average pump run time shall 

be within 25 percent of the initial measurements collected during 

the final inspection. 

(g)  All dosing systems shall be tested using clean water prior to 

issuance of an OP. The test shall be conducted by the installer, 

LSS, authorized designer, and PE, as applicable, witnessed by the 

LHD, and include a demonstration and documentation of the 

following: 

(1) pump or siphon operating flow rate and dose 

volume delivered; 

(2) float control levels; 

(3) high-water alarm, including sound; 

(4) operating pressure head, if applicable; and 

(5) delivery of water to the dispersal field. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1102 PUMP DOSING 

(a)  The effluent pump shall be: 

(1) capable of handling a minimum of one-half 

inch solids or be a screened, high head pump 

designed for effluent; 

(2) designed to meet the pump operating flow rate 

and total dynamic head specified for the 

effluent distribution system; 
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(3) removable without requiring entrance into the 

tank; and 

(4) listed by a third-party electrical testing and 

listing agency, such as Underwriter's 

Laboratory. A PE may propose a pump model 

not listed by a third-party electrical testing and 

listing agency. The Department shall approve 

the pump when review of documentation 

provided by the PE demonstrates that the pump 

model meets the performance requirements for 

the dispersal field design. 

(b)  A vent or anti-siphon hole of a 3/16-inch minimum diameter 

shall be used to prevent air locking of the pump and siphoning 

from the pump tank when pumping downhill. When a check valve 

is provided, the anti-siphon hole or vent shall be located between 

the pump and the check valve. Additional venting may be required 

at the high point in the pump force main to prevent siphoning. 

(c)  Each pump discharge line in a pump tank shall have a 

disconnect device, such as a pressure-rated threaded union, 

flange, or camlock. 

(d)  Check valves or other type valves shall prevent drainback 

from the dispersal field or supply line into the pump tank. A 

system may be designed and approved for the supply line to drain 

back to the pump tank based on site-specific considerations, such 

as freeze protection. 

(e)  An isolation valve shall be provided on the field side of the 

disconnect device when pumping uphill. 

(f)  The pump discharge piping shall be accessible within the tank 

or riser from finished grade. 

(g)  Fittings and valves shall be of compatible non-corrodible 

material. Isolation valves and disconnects shall be located within 

18 inches of the top of the access riser opening. 

(h)  All submersible pumps shall be provided with a non-

corrodible rope or chain attached to each pump enabling pump 

removal from the ground surface without requiring dewatering or 

entrance into the tank. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1103 CONTROL PANELS 

(a)  A control panel shall be provided for all systems that use a 

pump. The control panel enclosure shall be rated NEMA 4X at a 

minimum. A third-party electrical testing and listing agency shall 

list the control panel. The control panel shall include for each 

pump: 

(1) an independent overload protection, if not 

integral with the pump motor; 

(2) circuit breaker(s); 

(3) a motor contactor that disconnects all current to 

the pump or a solid-state relay that controls 

current to the pump; 

(4) a hand-off-automatic (H-O-A) switch or 

alternate method to enable manual or automatic 

pump operation and for the pump to be 

deactivated manually; 

(5) a pump run light; 

(6) an elapsed time meter; and 

(7) an event counter. 

(b)  An automatic pump sequencer shall be included in systems 

requiring multiple pumps in accordance with Rule .1101(b) of this 

Section and shall remain operable whenever any pump is 

inoperable. 

(c)  When telemetry is required in accordance with Sections .0800, 

.1500, .1600, and .1700 of this Subchapter, the control panel shall 

be connected to an active phone line, wireless internet router, 

dedicated cellular line, or another form of telemetry that allows 

the Management Entity to be notified and respond to alarm 

conditions. The telemetry shall remain active for the life of the 

wastewater system. 

(d)  The control panel bottom shall be mounted a minimum of 24 

inches above finished grade, within 50 feet of and in the line of 

sight of the pump tank. The Management Entity and LHD shall 

be able to access the control panel and operate the pumps when 

the owner is not present. 

(e)  A NEMA 4X junction box shall be installed above grade or 

adjacent to the pump tank riser when the control panel is located 

more than 10 feet from the pump tank access riser and one or more 

electrical splices are used. Electrical splices shall not be used 

within the conduit piping. 

(f)  Wiring shall be conveyed to the control panel or outside 

junction box through waterproof, gasproof, and 

corrosion-resistant conduits, with no splices or junction boxes 

inside the tank. Wire and wire conduit openings inside the pump 

tank and disconnect enclosure shall be sealed. 

(g)  Dual and multiple fields shall be dosed by separate pumps that 

shall automatically alternate or sequence. The supply lines shall 

be "H" connected to permit manual alternation between fields 

dosed by each pump. "H" connection valving shall be accessible 

from the ground surface, either from the pump tank access 

manhole or in a separate valve chamber outside the pump tank. 

The Department shall approve other methods of dosing dual or 

multiple fields when the authorized designer or PE provides 

documentation of equivalent performance to this Paragraph. 

(h)  Liquid level detection devices, such as floats, shall be 

provided in the pump tank to control pump cycles and trigger 

notification of alarm conditions. The liquid level detection device 

configuration shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) a minimum of 12 inches of effluent shall be 

maintained in the bottom of the pump tank; 

(2) pump-off level shall be set to keep the pump 

submerged or in accordance with the 

manufacturer's written specifications; 

(3) a separate control float shall be provided to 

activate the high-water alarm; 

(4) the high-water alarm float shall be set to 

activate within six inches of the pump-on level 

or higher, if applicable, if providing design 

equalization capacity in a timed dosing system; 

(5) the lag pump float switch, where provided, shall 

be located at or above the high-water alarm 

activation level; and 

(6) floats shall be supported utilizing durable, 

corrosion resistant material, and designed to be 

adjustable, removable, and replaceable from the 

ground surface without requiring dewatering, 

entrance into the tank, or pump removal. 

(i)  The pump tank shall have a high-water alarm that shall: 
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(1) be audible and visible to the system users and 

the Management Entity; 

(2) have a silencer button or silencer device that is 

located on the outside of the panel enclosure; 

(3) provide for manual testing; 

(4) automatically reset after testing and when an 

alarm condition has cleared; 

(5) remain operable whenever the pump is 

inoperable; 

(6) have an enclosure that is watertight, corrosion 

resistant, and shall be rated NEMA 4X at a 

minimum; and 

(7) be mounted outside the facility and accessible. 

(j)  For systems designed, inspected, and certified by a PE, 

alternative panel construction and location criteria may be used if 

the alternative panel construction and location criteria meet the 

panel performance criteria, comply with local electrical codes, 

and are approved by the local electrical inspector. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1104 SIPHON DOSING 

Siphons and siphon tanks may be used when a minimum of two 

feet of elevation drop is maintained between the siphon outlet 

invert and the inlet invert in the dispersal field distribution system. 

Siphons and siphon tanks shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) Slope and size of the siphon discharge line shall 

be sufficient to handle the peak siphon 

discharge by gravity flow without the discharge 

line flowing full. Vents for the discharge lines 

shall be located outside of the siphon tank and 

shall not serve as an overflow for the tank. 

(2) All siphon parts shall be installed in accordance 

with the manufacturer's specifications. All 

materials shall be corrosion-resistant, of cast 

iron, high-density plastic, fiberglass, stainless 

steel, or equal as approved by the Department 

when documentation is provided which shows 

the materials meet the requirements of this 

Rule. 

(3) Siphon tanks shall have a functioning trip 

counter and high-water alarm. The high-water 

alarm shall be audible and visible by system 

users and weatherproof if installed outdoors in 

an enclosure rated as NEMA 4X at a minimum. 

The high-water alarm shall be set to activate 

within two inches of the siphon trip level. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1105 TIMED DOSING 

(a)  Timed dosing systems shall be used with the following: 

(1) when a dosing system is required in accordance 

with Rule .1101 of this Section in conjunction 

with an adjusted DDF granted in accordance 

with Rule .0403 of this Subchapter; 

(2) flow equalization systems; 

(3) advanced pretreatment or dispersal systems, if 

required by the manufacturer; or 

(4) when specified by the authorized designer. 

(b)  The timed dosing system shall be integrated with the pump 

tank control sensors to ensure that the minimum dose volume 

calculated in accordance with Rule .1101(d) of this Section is 

present prior to the start of any scheduled dose event and to 

provide that a full dose is delivered. 

(c)  The float configuration of a flow equalization system using 

timed dosing shall be adjusted by the LHD, authorized designer, 

or PE, to provide for equalization capacity in the system. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1106 PRESSURE DOSED GRAVITY 

DISTRIBUTION DEVICES 

(a)  Pressure manifolds for pressure dosed gravity distribution 

shall meet the following minimum design and performance 

requirements: 

(1) uniform distribution of flow proportional to 

lateral length with a minimum of two feet of 

residual pressure head; 

(2) a pressure regulating valve incorporated in the 

supply line just prior to the pressure manifold 

to control pressure to the manifold; 

(3) a mechanism or device for measuring residual 

pressure head in the manifold; 

(4) a mechanism to stop flow to individual laterals; 

(5) a method to visually verify the flow to each 

individual lateral; 

(6) the feeder lines from the pressure manifold 

shall be of sufficient size and slope for effluent 

to flow by gravity to each lateral; and 

(7) the pressure manifold and appurtenances shall 

be designed and installed to be accessible for 

inspection, operation, maintenance, and 

monitoring. 

(b)  A distribution box or a drop box may be used to dissipate or 

distribute flow in a pressure dosed gravity dispersal system for 

parallel, serial, or sequential distribution. Such devices shall be 

watertight, corrosion resistant, constructed to withstand active and 

passive loads, and the volume of the device shall be such that 

when the dose volume is delivered, the box shall not overflow. 

The authorized agent shall approve the distribution device when 

it has been determined to be in accordance with Rule .0901(g)(9) 

through (11) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

SECTION .1200 – ADVANCED PRETREATMENT SYSTEMS STANDARDS, SITING, AND SIZING CRITERIA 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1201 ADVANCED PRETREATMENT SYSTEM STANDARDS 

(a)  Advanced pretreatment systems with a DDF less than or equal to 3,000 gpd shall meet the following conditions: 

(1) have an RWTS or PIA Approval; 
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(2) be designed to comply with the effluent standard specified in the OP and defined in Table XXV prior to effluent 

dispersal to the soil; 

(3) comply with the siting and sizing requirements of this Section; and 

(4) comply with Rules .1302(f) and .1710 of this Subchapter. 

 

TABLE XXV. Effluent standards for advanced pretreatment systems 

Constituent 
Effluent Standards 

NSF-40 TS-I TS-II 

CBOD ≤ 25 mg/L ≤ 15 mg/L ≤ 10 mg/L 

TSS ≤ 30 mg/L ≤ 15 mg/L ≤10 mg/L 

NH3  

≤ 10 mg/L or 80% removal of 

NH3 if influent TKN exceeds 50 

mg/L 

≤ 10 mg/L 

TN    
≤ 20 mg/L 

 

Fecal Coliform  ≤ 10,000 colonies/100 mL ≤ 1,000 colonies/100 mL 

 

(b)  The effluent applied to advanced pretreatment systems shall not exceed DSE as specified in Table III of Rule .0402(a) of this 

Subchapter, unless the system is designed to treat HSE and approved by the Department on a product or project-specific basis in 

accordance with the rules of this Subchapter and engineering practices. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335; 130A-342; 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1202 SITING AND SIZING CRITERIA FOR ADVANCED PRETREATMENT SYSTEMS WITH A 

DESIGN DAILY FLOW LESS THAN OR EQUAL TO 1,500 GALLONS/DAY 

(a)  Wastewater systems utilizing advanced pretreatment with a DDF less than or equal to 1,500 gpd may only use one of the following 

modifications to system siting and sizing criteria, unless otherwise identified in this Rule: 

(1) reduction in depth to LC or vertical separation to LC in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

(2) LTAR increase in accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule; or 

(3) setback reductions in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(b)  The minimum required vertical separation to a LC in natural soil may be reduced with the use of advanced pretreatment in accordance 

with Table XXVI. Table XXVII provides the minimum depths and vertical separation for new and existing fill. A special site evaluation 

shall be submitted and approved in accordance with Rule .0510 of this Subchapter when a reduction in vertical separation to a LC is 

proposed in accordance with this Rule. 

 

Table XXVI. Minimum vertical separation to LC based on effluent standards for wastewater systems with a DDF less than or equal to 

1,500 gpd 

Minimum vertical separation in inches from infiltrative surface to LC  

Soil Group Distribution 

Method 

Effluent Standard** 

DSE* NSF-40 TS-I TS-II 

I Gravity 18 12 12 12 

LPP 12 12 9 6 

Drip 12 12 9 6 

II-IV Gravity 12 12 9 9 

LPP 12 12 9 6 

Drip 12 12 9 6 

*For comparison 

**12-inch vertical separation shall always be maintained to rock or tidal water 

Table XXVII. Minimum depth to LC and vertical separation to SWC in new or existing fill based on effluent standards for 

wastewater systems with a DDF less than or equal to 1,500 gpd for new fill and less than or equal to 480 gpd for existing fill 

Minimum depth in inches from naturally occurring soil surface to LC  

 

Type of Fill 

Distribution 

Method 

 Effluent Standard 

DSE** NSF-40 TS-I TS-II 

New Fill 

 

Gravity 18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

14 to LC 

12 to SWC 

14 to LC 

12 to SWC 

LPP 18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

12 12 
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Drip 18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

12 12 

Existing Fill Gravity 36 of Group I Fill or Soil 

LPP 24 of Group I Fill or Soil 

Drip 24 of Group I Fill or Soil 

 

Minimum vertical separation in inches from infiltrative surface to LC*  

Type of Fill Distribution 

Method 

Effluent Standard 

DSE** NSF-40 TS-I TS-II 

New Fill 

 

Gravity 24 to LC 

18 to SWC 

18 to LC 

18 to SWC 

18 to LC 

14 to SWC 

18 to LC 

14 to SWC 

LPP 18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

12 to LC 

9 to SWC 

12 to LC 

9 to SWC 

Drip 18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

18 to LC 

12 to SWC 

12 to LC 

9 to SWC 

12 to LC 

9 to SWC 

Existing Fill Gravity 36 36 36 36 

LPP 18 18 12 12 

Drip 18 18 12 12 

*Minimum depth after adjustment for slope correction 

**For comparison 

 

(c)  The LTAR shall be based on the effluent standard and dispersal field type proposed in accordance with the following: 

(1) The LTAR may be increased by the following factors when compared to the rate assigned by the authorized agent for 

a new system using DSE: 

(A) up to 1.33 for NSF-40 effluent standards in soils which are Group I or II with suitable structure; 

(B) up to 2.0 for TS-I or TS-II effluent standards when pressure dispersal is utilized; or 

(C) up to 2.5 for TS-II effluent standards when all the following conditions are met: minimum of 36 inches of 

Group I soils from the naturally occurring soil surface; minimum depth to a SWC below the naturally 

occurring soil surface is 24 inches; space shall be available for an equivalently sized dispersal field repair 

area; and pressure dispersal shall be utilized. 

(2) A special site evaluation, if required in accordance with Rule .0510 of this Subchapter, shall be submitted and 

approved. 

(3) The LTAR for an aerobic drip system shall be determined in accordance with Rule .1204 of this Section. 

(4) Trench dispersal products approved for a specific dispersal field reduction in area or trench length when receiving 

DSE in accordance with this Subchapter or a PIA Approval shall not be reduced by more than 50 percent when any 

LTAR adjustments are taken in accordance with this Rule. 

(5) The DDF shall not be increased by the addition of advanced pretreatment to an existing wastewater system by more 

than 33 and one-third percent on a site without repair area or by more than 50 percent on a site with 100 percent repair 

area. 

(d)  Advanced pretreatment systems shall meet the following setback requirements: 

(1) minimum setback requirements of Section .0600 of this Subchapter shall be met, except as shown in Table XXVIII; 

and 

(2) when any other siting or sizing modifications are applied, such as reduced depth to LC, vertical separation, or increased 

LTAR, for a TS-I or TS-II system in accordance with Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, no setback reductions shall 

be taken except those to artificial drainage systems described in Table XXVIII. 

 

Table XXVIII: Setbacks for wastewater systems meeting NSF-40, TS-I, or TS-II effluent standards 

Site Features Setback in feet according to 

Effluent Standard** 

DSE* NSF-40 TS-I TS-II 

Surface waters classified WS-I, from ordinary high-water mark  100 70 70 50 

Waters classified SA, from mean high-water mark 100 70 70 50 

Any Class I or Class II reservoir, from normal water level 100 70 70 50 
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Any other stream, non-water supply spring, or other surface 

water, from the ordinary high-water mark 

50 35 35 25 

Tidal influenced waters, such as marshes and coastal water, 

from mean high-water mark 

50 35 35 25 

Lake or pond, from normal water level 50 35 35 25 

Groundwater lowering system, as measured on the ground 

surface from the edge of the feature 

25 25 20 15 

Downslope interceptor drains and surface water diversions with 

a vertical cut of more than two feet, as measured on the ground 

surface from the edge of the feature 

15 15 10 10 

Upslope and side slope interceptor drains and surface water 

diversions with a vertical cut of more than two feet, as measured 

on the ground surface from the edge of the feature 

10 10 7 7 

A stormwater collection system as defined in 15A NCAC 02H 

.1002(48), excluding gutter drains that connect to a stormwater 

collection system, with a vertical cut of more than two feet as 

measured from the center of the collection system 

10 10 7 7 

Permanent stormwater retention basin, from normal water level 50 50 35 25 

Any other dispersal field, except designated dispersal field 

repair area for project site 

20 20 10 10 

*For comparison 

**May require a variance from DEQ based on local buffer rules. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335; 130A-342; 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1203 SITING AND SIZING CRITERIA 

FOR ADVANCED PRETREATMENT SYSTEMS WITH A 

DESIGN DAILY FLOW GREATER THAN 1,500 

GALLONS/DAY AND LESS THAN OR EQUAL TO 3,000 

GALLONS/DAY 

(a)  Wastewater systems utilizing advanced pretreatment with a 

DDF greater than 1,500 gpd and less than or equal to 3,000 gpd 

may use utilize the system siting and sizing in this Rule. 

(b)  The LTAR shall be based on the effluent standard and 

dispersal field type proposed in accordance with the following: 

(1) The LTAR may be increased by the following 

factors when compared to the rate assigned by 

the authorized agent for a new system using 

DSE: 

(A) up to 2.0 for TS-I or TS-II effluent 

standards; or 

(B) up to 2.5 for TS-II effluent standards 

when there is a minimum of 48 inches 

of Group I soils from the naturally 

occurring soil surface and a minimum 

of 30 inches to a SWC below the 

naturally occurring soil surface. 

(2) The LTAR for an aerobic drip system shall be 

determined in accordance with Rule .1204 of 

this Section. 

(c)  When the LTAR for a system is proposed to be increased in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the following 

conditions shall be met: 

(1) a special site evaluation required in accordance 

with Rule .0510 of this Subchapter shall be 

submitted and approved; 

(2) pressure dispersal shall be utilized; 

(3) space shall be available for an equivalently 

sized dispersal field repair area; and 

(4) 25-foot setback shall be maintained to all 

property lines unless a site-specific nitrogen 

migration analysis for a TS-I system indicates 

that the nitrate-nitrogen concentration at the 

property line will not exceed 10 mg/L or a TS-

II system is used. 

(d)  Trench dispersal products approved for a specific dispersal 

field reduction in area or trench length when receiving DSE in 

accordance with this Subchapter or a PIA Approval shall not be 

reduced by more than 50 percent as a result of increased LTAR in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(e)  The DDF shall not be increased by the addition of advanced 

pretreatment to an existing wastewater system. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335; 130A-342; 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1204 ADVANCED PRETREATMENT 

DRIP DISPERSAL SYSTEMS 

(a)  This Rule provides for the permitting of drip dispersal systems 

receiving advanced pretreatment effluent with a DDF less than or 

equal to 3,000 gpd. Drip dispersal systems shall comply with the 

provisions of this Rule and Section .1600 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Drip dispersal systems with a DDF less than or equal to 1,500 

gpd shall utilize the siting and sizing criteria in this Paragraph 

when used with advanced pretreatment. 

(1) The soil and site characteristics shall meet the 

following criteria based on effluent standards: 

(A) NSF-40 Systems 

(i) a minimum of 18 inches of 

naturally occurring suitable 

soil above a LC and 13 inches 

of naturally occurring 

suitable soil above a SWC, 

and the minimum vertical 
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separation to any LC shall be 

12 inches; 

(ii) for new fill, the requirements 

of Rules .0909(b) and (c) of 

this Subchapter shall be met, 

except there shall be a 

minimum of 18 inches of 

naturally occurring suitable 

soil above a LC and a 

minimum of 12 inches of 

naturally occurring suitable 

soil above a SWC, and the 

minimum vertical separation 

shall be 18 inches to a LC and 

12 inches to a SWC; or 

(iii) for existing fill, the 

requirements of Rules 

.0909(d) and (e) of this 

Subchapter shall be met, 

except that the minimum 

vertical separation to any LC 

shall be 18 inches; 

(B) TS-I Systems 

(i) a minimum of 15 inches of 

naturally occurring suitable 

soil above a LC and a 

minimum of 13 inches of 

naturally occurring suitable 

soil above a SWC, and the 

minimum vertical separation 

to any LC shall be nine 

inches; 

(ii) for new fill, the requirements 

of Rules .0909(b) and (c) of 

this Subchapter shall be met, 

except there shall be a 

minimum of 12 inches of 

naturally occurring suitable 

soil above a LC, a minimum 

of nine inches vertical 

separation to a SWC, and a 

minimum of 12 inches 

vertical separation to a LC; or 

(iii) for existing fill, the 

requirements of Rules 

.0909(d) and (e) of this 

Subchapter shall be met, 

except that the minimum 

vertical separation to any LC 

shall be 12 inches; or 

(C) TS-II Systems 

(i) a minimum of 13 inches of 

naturally occurring suitable 

soil above a LC and the 

minimum vertical separation 

to any LC shall be six inches; 

(ii) for new fill, the requirements 

of Subpart (B)(ii) of this 

Paragraph shall be met; or 

(iii) for existing fill, the 

requirements of Subpart 

(B)(iii) of this Paragraph 

shall be met. 

(2) Site modifications for advanced pretreatment 

drip dispersal systems shall meet the following 

criteria based on effluent standards: 

(A) NSF-40 Systems may utilize a 

groundwater lowering system to 

comply with the vertical separation 

requirements to a SWC only when 

Group I or II soils with suitable 

structure are present within 36 inches 

of the naturally occurring soil surface. 

The minimum vertical separation to 

the projected, or drained, SWC shall 

be 12 inches. The addition of fill 

material shall not be used to comply 

with this requirement; and 

(B) TS-I and TS-II Systems may utilize a 

groundwater lowering system to 

comply with the vertical separation 

requirements to a SWC. The minimum 

vertical separation to the projected, or 

drained, SWC shall be 12 inches. The 

groundwater lowering system may be 

used with the following: Group III 

soils are present at any depth above the 

invert elevation of the highest point of 

the artificial drainage system or within 

36 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface, whichever is deeper; or 

on new fill sites. 

(3) Table XXVIX shall be used to determine the 

LTAR for advanced pretreatment drip dispersal 

systems based on Soil Group. Limitations in 

adjustment allowances for NSF-40, TS-I, and 

TS-II systems are listed in Parts (E), (F), and 

(G) of this Subparagraph. 

 

TABLE XXVIX. LTAR for advanced pretreatment drip 

dispersal systems based on Soil Group 

Soil 

Group 

USDA Soil Textural 

Class 

LTAR in gpd/ft2 

NSF-

40 
TS-I TS-II 

I Sands 

Sand 
0.6 – 

1.0 

0.8 – 

1.2 

0.8 – 

1.5 
Loamy 

Sand 

II 
Coarse 

Loams 

Sandy 

Loam 
0.4 – 

0.6 

0.5 – 

0.8 

0.6 – 

0.8 
Loam 

III 
Fine 

Loams 

Sandy 

Clay 

Loam 0.15 – 

0.4 

0.2 – 

0.6 

0.2 – 

0.6 Silt Loam 

Clay 

Loam 
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Silty Clay 

Loam 

Silt 

IV Clays 

Sandy 

Clay 0.05 – 

0.2 

0.05 – 

0.2 

0.05 – 

0.2 Silty Clay 

Clay 

 

(A) The LTAR shall be based on the most 

limiting, naturally occurring soil 

horizon within 18 inches of the 

naturally occurring soil surface or to a 

depth of 12 inches below the 

infiltrative surface. 

(B) The DDF shall be divided by the 

LTAR, determined from Table 

XXVIX or XXX, to calculate the 

minimum dispersal field area required. 

The minimum dripline length shall be 

calculated by dividing the required 

area by the maximum line spacing of 

two feet. The following equations 

shall be used to calculate the minimum 

dispersal field area and dripline length 

required: 

MA = DDF ÷ LTAR 

DL = MA ÷ LS 

Where MA = minimum dispersal  

field area, in ft2 

DDF = design daily flow, in  

gpd 

LTAR = in gpd/ft2 

DL = dripline length, in  

feet 

LS = two-foot line  

spacing 

(C) The minimum dripline length 

calculated in Part (B) of this 

Subparagraph shall not be less than 0.5 

x DDF for Group I soils, 0.83 x DDF 

for Group II soils, 1.25 x DDF for 

Group III soils, or 3.33 x DDF for 

Group IV soils. The dripline spacing 

may be adjusted in accordance with 

Rule .1602(e)(3) of this Subchapter 

and the PIA Approval so that the 

minimum required dispersal field area 

calculated in Part (B) of this 

Subparagraph does not need to be 

increased. 

(D) Sections of blank tubing without 

emitters required to comply with site-

specific conditions shall not count 

towards the minimum length of 

dripline needed when laying out the 

system or when calculating the linear 

footage of dripline needed. 

(E) LTAR adjustment limitations for 

NSF-40 Systems 

(i) the LTAR for new fill shall 

not exceed 0.6 gpd/ft2 for 

Group I soils, 0.4 gpd/ft2 for 

Group II soils, 0.15 gpd/ft2 

for Group III soils, or 0.05 

gpd/ft2 for Group IV soils; 

and 

(ii) the LTAR for existing fill 

shall not exceed 0.8 gpd/ft2. 

(F) LTAR adjustment limitations for TS-I 

Systems 

(i) the LTAR for new fill shall 

not exceed 1.0 gpd/ft2 for 

Group I soils, 0.5 gpd/ft2 for 

Group II soils, 0.2 gpd/ft2 for 

Group III soils, or 0.07 

gpd/ft2 for Group IV soils; 

(ii) the LTAR for existing fill 

shall not exceed 1.0 gpd/ft2; 

and 

(iii) the LTAR for sites with less 

than 18 inches of naturally 

occurring soil to any 

unsuitable LC shall not 

exceed the lowest LTAR for 

Soil Groups I, II, and III, and 

0.1 gpd/ft2 for Group IV 

soils. 

(G) LTAR adjustment limitations for TS-

II Systems 

(i) the LTAR for new fill shall 

not exceed 1.0 gpd/ft2 for 

Group I soils, 0.6 gpd/ft2 for 

Group II soils, 0.2 gpd/ft2 for 

Group III soils, or 0.07 

gpd/ft2 for Group IV soils; 

(ii) the LTAR for existing fill 

shall not exceed 1.0 gpd/ft2; 

and 

(iii) the LTAR for sites with less 

than 18 inches of naturally 

occurring soil to any 

unsuitable LC shall not 

exceed the lowest LTAR for 

Soil Groups I, II, and III, and 

0.1 gpd/ft2 for Group IV 

soils. 

(4) Table XXX shall be used in determining the 

LTAR for advanced pretreatment drip dispersal 

systems installed in saprolite. The LTAR shall 

be based on the most limiting, naturally 

occurring saprolite to a depth of 24 inches 

below the infiltrative surface. 
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TABLE XXX. LTAR for advanced pretreatment drip dispersal systems based on Saprolite Group 

Saprolite Group Saprolite 

Textural Class 

LTAR, area basis, in gpd/ft2 

NSF-40 TS-I and TS-II 

I Sand 0.4 – 0.5 0.4 – 0.6 

Loamy sand  0.3 – 0.4 0.3 – 0.5 

II Sandy loam 0.25 – 0.35  0.25 – 0.4 

Loam 0.2 – 0.25  0.2 – 0.3 

Silt loam 0.05 – 0.1 0.05 – 0.15 

III Sandy clay loam 0.05 – 0.1 0.05 – 0.15 

(5) A special site evaluation shall be required in 

accordance with Rule .0510 of this Subchapter, 

as applicable. 

(6) Setbacks allowed in Table XXVIII of Rule 

.1202(d) of this Section may be used with 

advanced pretreatment drip dispersal systems 

when no reduction in the depth to a LC or 

vertical separation reduction is proposed 

compared to the requirements for DSE in Table 

XXVI or Table XXVII of Rule .1202(b) of this 

Section. A minimum of 18 inches of naturally 

occurring soil to an unsuitable LC shall be 

required to take setback reductions. The 

following LTAR limitations shall be 

applicable: 

(A) for NSF-40 and TS-I systems, with the 

exception of the setback reductions to 

artificial drainage systems, when 

reductions are taken in setbacks, the 

LTAR shall not exceed the lowest 

LTAR for Soil Groups I, II, and III, 

and 0.1 gpd/ft2 for Group IV soil; 

(B) for TS-II Systems, with the exception 

of setback reductions to artificial 

drainage systems, when reductions are 

taken in setbacks, the LTAR shall not 

exceed the mid-range LTAR for Soil 

Groups I, II, and III, and 0.1 gpd/ft2 for 

Group IV soils; and 

(C) for NSF-40, TS-I, and TS-II Systems, 

Table XXVIX may be used to 

determine the LTAR when no other 

setback reductions are taken aside of 

those to artificial drainage systems. 

(c)  Drip dispersal systems with a DDF greater than 1,500 gpd and 

less than or equal to 3,000 gpd used with advanced pretreatment 

may propose an adjusted LTAR if the following criteria are met: 

(1) no reduction in the depth to a LC, vertical 

separation, or setback reduction is proposed; 

(2) proposed LTAR is supported by a special site 

evaluation in accordance with Rule .0510 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(3) 25-foot setback shall be maintained to all 

property lines, unless one of the following 

criteria is met: 

(A) site-specific nitrogen migration 

analysis for a TS-I system indicates 

that the nitrate-nitrogen concentration 

at the property line will not exceed 10 

mg/L; or 

(B) TS-II system is used. 

(d)  Drip dispersal installation shall be in accordance with Rule 

.0908(f) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335; 130A-342; 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1205 ADVANCED PRETREATMENT 

SAND LINED TRENCH SYSTEMS 

(a)  Sand lined trench systems with a DDF less than or equal to 

1,500 gpd receiving TS-I or TS-II effluent shall meet the 

requirements of this Rule. 

(b)  The site meets the criteria in Rule .0906(c) of this Subchapter 

and the receiving permeable horizon may be deeper than 60 inches 

below the natural grade. 

(c)  If a groundwater lowering system is used to comply with the 

vertical separation to a SWC, the following conditions shall apply: 

(1) the site shall comply with the requirements of 

Rule .0906(d) of this Subchapter; and 

(2) the vertical separation requirement to a SWC 

shall be reduced to nine inches with pressure 

dosed gravity distribution or six inches with 

pressure dispersal. 

(d)  Table XXXI shall be used to determine the LTAR for a sand-

lined trench system and shall be based on the most limiting, 

naturally occurring soils overlying the permeable receiving layer. 

An equivalent trench width of three feet shall be used to determine 

trench length in accordance with Rule .0901(d) of this Subchapter. 

The LTAR shall be one of the following: 

(1) the rate set forth in Table XXXI; or 

(2) 20 percent of the in-situ Ksat of the receiving 

permeable horizon, whichever is less. 

 

TABLE XXXI. LTAR for advanced pretreatment sand lined systems based on texture of the most hydraulically limiting overlying 

soil horizon 

 

Soil Group Texture of Most Hydraulically 

Limiting Overlying Soil Horizon 
LTAR in gpd/ft2* 

I Sand 0.9 – 1.4 
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II Coarse Loams 0.7 – 1.0 

III Fine Loams 0.4 – 0.8 

IV Clays 0.2 – 0.4 

*There shall be no reduction in trench length compared to a conventional gravel trench when Accepted or Innovative gravelless trench 

product is used. 

 

(e)  A Special Site Evaluation in accordance with Rule .0510 of 

this Subchapter shall be required for the following conditions to 

field verify the LTAR: 

(1) when the texture of the receiving permeable 

horizon is sandy loam or loam, and the system 

DDF is greater than 600 gpd; or 

(2) when the texture of the receiving permeable 

horizon is silt loam. 

(f)  Setbacks in accordance with Table XXVIII of Rule .1202(d) 

of this Section shall be applied to sand lined trench systems. 

(g)  Sand lined trench system installation shall be in accordance 

with Rule .0906(h) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335; 130A-342; 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1206 ADVANCED PRETREATMENT 

BED SYSTEMS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to bed systems receiving advanced 

pretreatment. 

(b)  Bed systems receiving NSF-40 effluent, or better, on sites 

with a DDF less than or equal to 600 gpd shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) the soil and site shall meet the following 

criteria: 

(A) the vertical separation requirements of 

Rule .0901(g)(2) of this Subchapter; 

(B) soil texture is Group I, II, or III; and 

(C) design options for the site are limited 

by topography or available space; 

(2) Table XVII in Rule .0901(c) of this Subchapter 

shall be used to determine the LTAR for a bed 

system. On sites where the soil texture is Group 

I or II, the initial LTAR shall be increased by a 

factor of 1.125 with no further reduction in bed 

size allowed; 

(3) setbacks allowed in Table XXVIII of Rule 

.1202(d) of this Section shall be used; and 

(4) bed system installation shall be in accordance 

with Rule .0903(e) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Bed systems receiving TS-I or TS-II effluent on sites with a 

DDF less than or equal to 1,500 gpd shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) The soil and site meet the following criteria: 

(A) there is a minimum of 30 inches of 

suitable Group I or II soils below the 

naturally occurring soil surface and no 

SWC within the first 36 inches below 

the naturally occurring soil surface or 

36 inches of Group I soils below the 

naturally occurring soil surface and no 

SWC exists within the first 12 inches 

below the naturally occurring soil 

surface; 

(B) the requirement for 30 inches of Group 

I or II soils or 36 inches of Group I 

soils in Part (A) of this Subparagraph 

may be reduced to 18 inches when a 

special site evaluation in accordance 

with Rule .0510 of this Subchapter is 

provided; 

(C) sites shall have a uniform slope not 

exceeding two percent, unless a 

special site evaluation submitted and 

approved in accordance with Rule 

.0510 of this Subchapter is provided; 

and 

(D) the bed system shall be considered to 

be a fill system if the infiltrative 

surface is installed less than six inches 

below the naturally occurring soil 

surface. For bed systems in fill, the 

requirements of Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule shall also be met. 

(2) Table XVII in Rule .0901(c) of this Subchapter 

shall be used to determine the initial LTAR for 

a bed system and shall be based on the most 

limiting, naturally occurring soil horizon within 

36 inches of the naturally occurring soil surface 

or to a depth of 12 inches below the bed bottom, 

whichever is deeper. The minimum bed size 

shall be determined in accordance with the 

following: 

(A) the minimum amount of bottom area 

square feet shall be determined by 

dividing the DDF by the LTAR; 

(B) when the bed is a fill system, the 

lowest LTAR for the applicable Soil 

Group shall be used. The LTAR shall 

not exceed 1.0 gpd/ft2; 

(C) fill shall not be added to the naturally 

occurring soil surface in order to 

increase the LTAR of a bed system; 

(D) the minimum bed size shall be reduced 

by up to 25 percent when the system is 

designed to comply with TS-I or TS-II 

effluent and is not installed in existing 

fill; and 

(E) the minimum bed size may be reduced 

by up to 40 percent when the 

following criteria are met: the system 

is designed to comply with TS-II 

effluent; Group I Soil is present in the 

first 36 inches of naturally occurring 

soil; no SWC exists within the first 30 

inches below the naturally occurring 

soil surface or within 24 inches of the 
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bed bottom; the bed or beds are not 

located beneath the advanced 

pretreatment components, and 

pressure dispersal is used; effluent is 

distributed to the beds by a pump and 

timer control system designed to 

distribute flow evenly over a 24-hour 

period; and there is 100 percent 

dispersal field repair area. 

(3) A special site evaluation shall be submitted and 

approved in accordance with Rule .0510 of this 

Subchapter when the vertical separation to a LC 

is reduced and on sites with slopes greater than 

two percent. 

(4) Setbacks as set forth in Table XXVIII of Rule 

.1202(d) of this Section shall apply as follows: 

(A) the setbacks shall be measured from 

the nearest edge of the bed; 

(B) for bed systems using fill, the setbacks 

shall be measured from a point five 

feet from the nearest edge of the bed 

sidewall, or from the projected toe of 

the slope that is required to comply 

with the soil and site limitations, 

whichever is greater; 

(C) the minimum separation between 

initial and repair dispersal field areas 

serving a single system and facility 

shall be two feet of naturally occurring 

soil. Ten feet of naturally occurring 

soils shall separate the initial and 

repair dispersal field areas serving 

separate facilities when these bed 

systems are on a common site or tract 

of land; and 

(D) whenever the bed size is reduced in 

accordance with this Rule, only 

reduced setbacks to artificial drainage 

systems in accordance with Table 

XXVIII of Rule .1202(d) of this 

Section shall be allowed. 

(5) Bed system installation shall be in accordance 

with Rule .0903(e) of this Subchapter and the 

following: 

(A) pressure dispersal shall be used 

whenever effluent is distributed to a 

bed not located beneath the advanced 

pretreatment component; and 

(B) when new fill is required for the 

installation of a bed system, suitable 

Group I fill material shall be used to 

comply with the vertical separation 

requirements from the bed bottom to a 

LC, when all of the following 

conditions are met: a groundwater 

lowering system is not used to comply 

with the vertical separation 

requirements; new fill material is sand 

or loamy sand, containing not more 

than 10 percent by volume fibrous 

organics, building rubble, or other 

debris and does not have discreet 

layers containing greater than 35 

percent of shell fragments by volume; 

and the requirements of Rule 

.0909(c)(8) of this Subchapter, for the 

projected side slope of the fill are met, 

as determined beginning at a point six 

inches above the top edge of the bed. 

(d)  Bed systems receiving TS-I or TS-II effluent on sites with a 

DDF greater than 1,500 gpd and less than or equal to 3,000 gpd 

shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) The soil and site shall meet the minimum 

following criteria: 

(A) Group I soils are present for 54 inches 

below the naturally occurring soil 

surface; 

(B) no SWC exists within the first 48 

inches below the naturally occurring 

soil surface; and 

(C) vertical separation of 24 inches to any 

SWC is maintained below the bed 

bottom, unless a site-specific 

groundwater mounding analysis is 

performed and demonstrates a 12-inch 

separation or 18-inch minimum for a 

fill system in accordance with Rule 

.0909(c) of this Subchapter shall be 

maintained. 

(2) Table XVII in Rule .0901(c) of this Subchapter 

shall be used to determine the initial LTAR for 

a bed system and shall be based on the most 

limiting, naturally occurring soil horizon within 

36 inches of the naturally occurring soil surface 

or to a depth of 12 inches below the bed bottom, 

whichever is deeper. The minimum bed size 

shall be determined in accordance with the 

following: 

(A) the minimum number of square feet of 

bed bottom area shall be calculated by 

dividing the DDF by the LTAR; 

(B) the minimum bed size shall be reduced 

by up to 25 percent when the system is 

designed and approved to comply with 

TS-I or TS-II effluent standards and 

will be installed in naturally occurring 

soil; and 

(C) the minimum bed size may be reduced 

by up to 40 percent when all of the 

following criteria are met: the system 

is designed and approved to comply 

with TS-II effluent standards; the 

hydraulic assessment demonstrates 

that a 24-inch minimum vertical 

separation to a SWC is maintained 

after accounting for projected 

groundwater mounding; and there is 

100 percent dispersal field repair area. 
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(3) A special site evaluation shall be submitted and 

approved in accordance with Rule .0510 of this 

Subchapter. 

(4) No setback reductions shall be allowed in 

accordance with Table XXVIII of Rule 

.1202(d) of this Section. The following 

horizontal setbacks shall be met: 

(A) the minimum setback between initial 

and repair dispersal field areas serving 

a single system and facility shall be 

two feet of naturally occurring soil. 

Ten feet of naturally occurring soil 

shall separate the initial and repair 

dispersal field areas serving separate 

facilities when these bed systems are 

on a common site or tract of land; 

(B) when two beds are used, the minimum 

separation between two beds shall be 

20 feet. When three or more beds are 

used, the minimum separation 

between beds shall be 10 feet; and 

(C) a 25-foot setback shall be maintained 

from edge of the bed to the property 

line unless a site-specific nitrogen 

migration analysis indicates that the 

nitrate-nitrogen concentration at the 

property line will not exceed 10 mg/L 

or TS-II or better effluent is produced 

by the approved system. 

(5) Bed system installation shall be in accordance 

with Rule .0903(e) of this Subchapter and the 

following criteria: 

(A) two or more equally sized beds shall 

be used and the beds shall not be 

located beneath the advanced 

pretreatment components; and 

(B) effluent shall be distributed to the beds 

by a pressure dispersal system. A 

timed dosed system shall be used to 

distribute flow evenly to the beds over 

a 24-hour period. 

(e)  Bed systems receiving TS-I or TS-II quality effluent may be 

proposed for a site with existing fill that meets the requirements 

of Rule .0909(d) of this Subchapter under the following 

conditions: 

(1) no SWC exists within 18 inches of the existing 

fill surface; 

(2) 18 inches of vertical separation exists to the 

SWC; 

(3) the DDF does not exceed 480 gpd; and 

(4) pressure dispersal is used. The requirement for 

pressure dispersal shall not be required if the 

advanced pretreatment system PIA Approval 

allows for advanced pretreatment unit(s) to 

discharge directly to the underlying bed and for 

multiple units, where applicable, when the 

advanced pretreatment units are spaced at equal 

intervals across the entire bed area. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335; 130A-342; 130A-343. 

 

SECTION .1300 – OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1301 OPERATION AND 

MAINTENANCE OF WASTEWATER SYSTEMS 

(a)  Wastewater systems shall be operated and maintained in 

accordance with the conditions of the OP, PIA Approval, and the 

Rules of this Section, including maintaining setbacks as required 

in Section .0600 of this Subchapter and the manufacturer's 

operation and maintenance instructions, as applicable. Dispersal 

field repair areas shall be maintained in accordance with the Rules 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  System management in accordance with Table XXXII shall 

be required for all systems installed or repaired after July 1, 1992. 

System management in accordance with Table XXXII shall also 

be required for all Type V and VI systems installed on or before 

July 1, 1992. 

 

TABLE XXXII. Management responsibilities based on wastewater system classification type and description 

System Classification Type and 

Description 

LHD Compliance 

Inspection 

Frequency 

Management Entity Management Entity Minimum 

Maintenance Inspection Frequency 

Ia – Privy or vault privy  N/A Owner N/A 

Ib – Chemical toilet  N/A Owner N/A 

Ic – Incinerating toilet  N/A Owner N/A 

Id – Composing toilet system  N/A Owner N/A 

Ie – Other toilet system  N/A Owner N/A 

IIa – Conventional system for a single 

family or 480 gpd or less 

N/A Owner N/A 

IIb – Accepted wastewater gravity 

system 

N/A Owner N/A 

IIIa – Conventional wastewater system 

greater than 480 gpd excluding single 

family residences 

N/A Owner N/A 

IIIb – Wastewater system with a single 

pump or siphon 

5 years 

N/A 

Owner or 

Certified Operator 

N/A 

5 years 
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IIIc – Gravity fill system N/A Owner N/A 

IIId – Alternating dual fields with 

gravity distribution 

N/A Owner N/A 

IIIe – PPBPS gravity system N/A Owner N/A 

IIIf – LDP gravity system N/A Owner N/A 

IIIg – Other non-conventional systems N/A Owner N/A 

IIIh – Gravity groundwater lowering 

system 

5 years Owner N/A 

IVa – LPP distribution 3 years Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

2/year 

IVb – System with more than one 

pump or siphon 

3 years Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

2/year  

IVc – Off-site system serving two or 

more facilities with any components 

under common or joint control 

5 years Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

1/year 

IVd –Alternating dual fields with 

pressure dosed gravity distribution 

including off-site systems 

3 years Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

1/year 

Va – Advanced pretreatment meeting 

NSF-40, TS-I, or TS-II, approved 

under Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter, DDF ≤ 3,000 gpd 

1/year 

 

Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

≤ 1,500 gpd - 2/year* 

> 1,500 gpd and ≤ 3,000 gpd - 4/year 

Vb – DSE wastewater systems > 3,000 

gpd with dispersal field > 1,500 gpd 

1/year Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

> 3,000 and ≤ 10,000 gpd - monthly 

> 10,000 gpd flow - weekly 

Vc – RWTS, approved under Section 

.1500 of this Subchapter, meeting 

NSF-40, DDF ≤ 1,500 gpd 

1/year Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

≤ 1,500 gpd - 2year* 

 

Vd – Anaerobic drip dispersal systems 1/year Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

≤ 1,500 gpd - 2/year* 

> 1,500 gpd and ≤ 3,000 gpd - 4/year 

> 3,000 gpd and ≤ 10,000 gpd – 

12/year 

> 10,000 gpd – 1/week 

Ve - Flow equalization ≤ 1,500 gpd – once 

every three years 

> 1,500 gpd – 1/year 

Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

Based on equalized flow 

≤ 1,500 gpd - 2/year 

> 1,500 and ≤ 3,000 gpd - 4/year 

> 3,000 gpd and ≤ 10,000 gpd – 

12/year 

>10,000 gpd – 1/week 

Vf – Sand lined trench system with no 

advanced pretreatment or drip 

dispersal 

1/year Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

1/year 

Vg – Wastewater system with pump 

groundwater lowering systems 

1/year Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator  

2/year with one visit during the wet 

season 
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Vh – IPWW designed by a PE and 

reviewed by the Department and 

determined to be IPWW 

1/year Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

≤ 1,500 gpd - 2/year* 

> 1,500 gpd and ≤ 3,000 gpd - 4/year 

> 3,000 gpd and ≤ 10,000 gpd – 

12/year 

> 10,000 gpd – 1/week 

Vi – Permanent pump and haul 1/year Private Certified Operator 1/month 

VIa – Advanced pretreatment > 3,000 

gpd meeting NSF-40, TS-I, or TS-II 

6 months Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

 

 

Media filters 

> 3,000 gpd and ≤ 10,000 gpd - 12/year 

>10,000 gpd – 1/week 

 

All other advanced pretreatment 

> 3,000 gpd and ≤ 10,000 gpd - 12/year 

> 10,000 and ≤ 25,000 gpd - 2/week 

> 25,000 and ≤ 50,000 gpd - 3/week 

> 50,000 gpd - 5/week 

VIb – Any system using RCW 6 months Private Certified Operator 

or Public Management 

Entity with a Certified 

Operator 

 

≤ 3,000 gpd - 12/year 

> 3,000 and ≤ 10,000 gpd - 1/week 

> 10,000 and ≤ 25,000 gpd - 2/week 

> 25,000 and ≤ 50,000 gpd - 3/week 

> 50,000 gpd - 5/week 

*Quarterly Management Entity inspections shall be required for the first year. The quarterly inspections may be reduced to twice a year 

if the wastewater system is in compliance with all OP conditions after the first year. 

 

(c)  Wastewater systems with multiple components shall be 

classified by their highest or most complex system classification 

type in accordance with Table XXXII to determine LHD and 

Management Entity responsibilities. 

(d)  The Department shall classify wastewater systems not 

identified in Table XXXII after consultation with the Water 

Pollution Control Systems Operators Certification Commission. 

(e)  The site for the wastewater system shall be accessible for 

monitoring, maintenance, inspection, and repair. 

(f)  The system shall be maintained to comply with the effluent 

standards specified in Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) or Rule .1002 

of this Subchapter and the OP, as applicable. Influent and effluent 

sampling may be required for food preparation or processing 

facilities, IPWW, and other systems as specified in the PIA 

Approval or OP. 

(g)  The owner may submit a written request to the LHD and 

Department to reduce the wastewater system effluent sampling 

frequency, effluent sampling constituents, or Management Entity  

inspection frequency. The written request shall include 

documentation showing that the wastewater system is compliant 

with its OP and Rule .1302(f) of this Section. 

(h)  The replacement of a specific component by an identical 

replacement component, including pipes, blowers, pumps, 

disinfection components, effluent filters, and control panels and 

appurtenances, shall be considered maintenance. When the 

replacement is performed as maintenance by the Management 

Entity, this activity shall be reported to the owner and LHD within 

30 days of when the activity occurs. 

(i)  All residuals shall be removed as specified in the OP, the 

RWTS or PIA Approval, Rule .1303 of this Section, or as 

otherwise determined to be needed by the Management Entity. 

Residuals from the wastewater system shall be transported and 

disposed of in accordance with G.S. 130A, Article 9, and 15A 

NCAC 13B. 

 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); S.L. 2015-147, s.2. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1302 OPERATION AND 

MAINTENANCE OF ADVANCED PRETREATMENT 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to all advanced pretreatment systems 

approved in accordance with Sections .1500 and .1700 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  System management in accordance with Table XXXII of Rule 

.1301(b) of this Section shall be required for advanced 

pretreatment systems. 

(c)  Prior to the issuance or re-issuance of an OP for an advanced 

pretreatment system, the owner shall provide to the LHD 

documentation that a contract for operation and maintenance of 

the system is in place with a Management Entity. For proprietary 

advanced pretreatment systems, the contract shall be with either 

the manufacturer, manufacturer's representative, or a 

Management Entity authorized in writing by the manufacturer or 

manufacturer's representative to operate the system. For non-

proprietary advanced pretreatment systems, the contract shall be 

with an operator certified in accordance with Rule .0303(e) of this 

Subchapter for the classification indicated on the OP. 

(d)  Operation and maintenance for advanced pretreatment shall 

be in accordance with the following: 

(1) the Management Entity shall evaluate the 

performance of each system; 

(2) minimum inspection, sampling, and reporting 

frequency shall be in accordance with this 

Section, the RWTS or PIA Approval, and 

conditions of the OP; 

(3) the Management Entity shall inspect each 

system during one or more of the required 

Management Entity inspections while the 

system is in operation using a VIP specified by 

the manufacturer and included in the RWTS or 
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PIA Approval. The VIP shall include the 

following: 

(A) a visual inspection and evaluation of 

all critical treatment components and 

of the effluent in the field for solids, 

clarity, color, and odor. The VIP shall 

also include field tests of pH, turbidity, 

and dissolved oxygen content and, for 

TS-II systems, alkalinity, and any 

other tests proposed by the 

manufacturer and specified in the 

RWTS or PIA Approval; 

(B) compliance criteria to determine 

system compliance status and 

proposed responses to conditions 

observed; and 

(C) for systems serving vacation rentals 

subject to the North Carolina Vacation 

Rental Act, G.S. 42A, this visit shall 

be scheduled during the seasonal high 

use period and shall coincide with a 

water quality sampling event if 

required in accordance with Rule 

.1709 of this Subchapter; 

(4) the actual flow shall be recorded in accordance 

with the RWTS or PIA Approval by the 

Management Entity prior to the visual 

inspection of the system in accordance with 

Subparagraph (d)(3) of this Rule and prior to 

any effluent sampling event required in 

accordance with Rule .1709 of this Subchapter; 

and 

(5) sampling and resampling for an approved 

RWTS or PIA System shall be undertaken as 

required in accordance with Rule .1709 of this 

Subchapter and the following: 

(A) all samples shall be collected, 

preserved, transported, and analyzed 

in compliance with 40 CFR 136; 

(B) samples shall be taken to a certified 

laboratory, as defined in G.S. 130A-

313(2), for analysis; 

(C) documented chain of custody for each 

sample collected shall be maintained; 

and 

(D) re-sampling at any site shall be 

performed as required in the RWTS or 

PIA Approval, Rule .1709 of this 

Subchapter, or as otherwise directed 

by the LHD or Department as part of 

an enforcement action. The owner, 

manufacturer, or manufacturer's 

representative may also re-sample a 

system to verify or refute sample 

results. A new complete data set for re-

sampling conducted within 30 days of 

receipt of a non-compliant data set 

may be substituted to demonstrate 

compliance with the designed effluent 

quality standard in accordance with 

Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of this 

Subchapter. All sample results 

collected shall be reported. 

(e)  The results of all sampling shall be reported by the 

Management Entity to the owner, LHD, Department, and the 

proprietary advanced pretreatment manufacturer. 

(f)  An individual advanced pretreatment system at a single site 

shall be considered compliant when the following conditions are 

met: 

(1) annual VIP specified in the RWTS or PIA 

Approval indicates that the results of the VIP 

meet the requirements specified in the RWTS 

or PIA Approval; and 

(2) the arithmetic mean for BOD5, TSS, TKN, and 

TN and the geometric mean for Fecal Coliform 

from three or more consecutive sampling dates 

does not exceed the designated effluent 

standard in Table XXV in Rule .1201(a) of this 

Subchapter. A new complete data set for re-

sampling conducted within 30 days of receipt 

of a non-compliant data set may be substituted 

to demonstrate compliance with the designed 

effluent quality standard in accordance with 

Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter. 

(g)  Mass loading for BOD5, TSS, or TN may be used to 

demonstrate site compliance with Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule 

for a wastewater system with a DDF less than or equal to 3,000 

gpd. The mass loading to the wastewater system shall be based on 

site-specific water use data and effluent sampling results. At least 

one year of water use data shall be used in this calculation. The 

mass loading to the wastewater system shall be calculated as 

follows: 

EML = Flow x EFF 

AML = 0.6 x DDF x TS 

If EML ≤ AML, the site is compliant 

Where EML = effective mass loading 

AML = allowable mass loading 

Flow = average daily flow during the 

peak water use month or the 

average of the peak 30 

consecutive day period 

during the prior year, in gpd 

EFF = average of the results for the 

constituent from at least the 

two most recent complete 

data sets, in mg/L 

TS = the effluent limit based on the 

constituent and effluent 

standard in mg/L, from Table 

XXV in Rule .1201(a) of this 

Subchapter 

(h)  The Management Entity may record daily wastewater flow 

and may sample influent to the advanced pretreatment system as 

needed to determine compliance with this Rule and OP 

conditions. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 
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15A NCAC 18E .1303 OWNER RESPONSIBILITIES 

FOR WASTEWATER SYSTEM OPERATION AND 

MAINTENANCE 

(a)  Any person owning or controlling the property upon which a 

wastewater system is installed shall be responsible for the 

following items regarding the operation and maintenance of the 

system: 

(1) the wastewater system shall be operated and 

maintained to protect North Carolina ground 

and surface water quality standards and to 

prevent the following conditions: 

(A) discharge of sewage or effluent to the 

surface of the ground, surface waters, 

or into groundwater at any time; 

(B) back-up of sewage or effluent into the 

facility, building drains, collection 

system, freeboard volume of the tanks, 

or distribution system; or 

(C) effluent within three inches of finished 

grade over one or more trenches based 

on two or more observations made not 

less than 24 hours apart, and greater 

than 24 hours after a rainfall event; 

(2) the system shall be considered to be 

malfunctioning when one or more of the 

conditions of Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

occur or if it is necessary to remove the contents 

of the tank(s) at a frequency greater than once 

per month in order to prevent one or more of the 

conditions of Subparagraph (a)(1) of the Rule. 

The owner shall contact the LHD when the 

wastewater system is malfunctioning and 

implement remedies as directed by the LHD in 

accordance with Rule .1306 of this Section; 

(3) wastewater systems shall be inspected, and the 

entire contents of all septic tank compartments 

shall be removed whenever the depth of both 

the scum and sludge is found to be more than 

one-third of the liquid depth in any 

compartment. The effluent filter shall be rinsed 

to remove accumulated solids that can cause the 

wastewater to back up into the facility or clog 

the system, or replaced as needed; 

(4) residuals from the wastewater system shall be 

transported and disposed of in accordance with 

G.S. 130A, Article 9, and 15A NCAC 13B; 

(5) grease traps and grease tanks shall be pumped 

as needed to prevent discharge of FOG from the 

trap or tank to the next treatment component, 

but no less than yearly. Grease traps and grease 

tanks shall be maintained in accordance with 

Rule .0803(h) of this Subchapter and the owner 

shall maintain a contract with a septage 

management firm. All pumping records shall be 

maintained on-site; 

(6) site-specific vegetation shall be established and 

maintained over the wastewater system and 

repair area to stabilize slope and control 

erosion; and 

(7) activities that result in soil disturbance or soil 

compaction shall not occur over the initial and 

repair dispersal field areas. 

(b)  A contract for operation and maintenance of a wastewater 

system required to be maintained by a Management Entity, as 

specified in Table XXXII of Rule .1301(b) of this Section, shall 

be in effect for as long as the system is in use. A contract shall be 

executed between the system owner and a Management Entity 

prior to the issuance of an OP, unless the system owner and 

Management Entity are the same. The contract shall include: 

(1) specific requirements for operation, 

maintenance, and associated reporting; 

(2) responsibilities of the owner; 

(3) responsibilities of the Management Entity; 

(4) provisions for notification to the LHD by the 

owner and Management Entity upon 

termination of the contract; and 

(5) other requirements for the continued 

performance of the system, as determined by 

the Management Entity, LHD, and Department, 

as applicable. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1304 MANAGEMENT ENTITY 

RESPONSIBILITIES FOR WASTEWATER SYSTEM 

OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE 

(a)  When a Management Entity is required to be or to employ a 

certified operator as specified in Table XXXII in Rule .1301(b) of 

this Section, the operator shall, at a minimum, be certified as a 

subsurface operator in accordance with G.S. 90A, Article 3, and 

15A NCAC 08G. Operators of systems classified as Type V or VI 

in Table XXXII in Rule .1301(b) of this Section may be required 

to have additional certifications by the Department in accordance 

with Rule .1301(e) of this Section and upon consultation with the 

Water Pollution Control Systems Operator Certification 

Commission, if required by G.S. 90A, Article 3. 

(b)  The Management Entity shall inspect the wastewater system 

at the frequency specified in Table XXXII in Rule .1301(b) of this 

Section or in accordance with the RWTS or PIA Approval. 

(c)  The Management Entity shall provide a copy of the inspection 

report, including results of the VIP with respect to compliance 

criteria as specified in the RWTS or PIA Approval and effluent 

sampling, to the owner, LHD, and manufacturer within 30 days of 

the system inspection. 

(d)  When inspections indicate the need for system repairs, the 

Management Entity shall notify the LHD within 48 hours. 

(e)  The Management Entity shall be responsible for conducting 

routine maintenance procedures and monitoring requirements in 

accordance with the conditions of the OP and the contract. 

(f)  The Management Entity shall notify the LHD and the 

proprietary advanced pretreatment manufacturer, as applicable, 

when the owner or the Management Entity chooses not to renew 

an operation and maintenance contract executed in accordance 

with this Rule. 

(g)  The Management Entity shall submit the inspection report to 

the Department centralized data management system. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 
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15A NCAC 18E .1305 LOCAL HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES FOR 

WASTEWATER SYSTEM OPERATION AND 

MAINTENANCE 

(a)  No IP, CA, or OP shall be issued for Type IV, V, or VI 

systems, unless a Management Entity of the type specified in 

Table XXXII in Rule .1301(b) of this Section is authorized and 

operational to carry out operation and maintenance requirements 

for the wastewater system as set forth in these Rules and the OP. 

(b)  An LHD may be the Management Entity only for systems 

classified Type IV, Va, Vb, Vc, Vd, Ve, Vf, and Vg and only 

when authorized by the local board of health. 

(c)  An authorized agent shall review the performance and 

inspection reports submitted in accordance with Rule .1304(c) of 

this Section and perform an on-site compliance inspection of the 

systems as required in Table XXXII in Rule .1301(b) of this 

Section. More frequent inspections may be performed by an 

authorized agent if requested by the system owner or the 

Management Entity, or specified in the PIA approval or OP. 

(d)  The LHD may provide the owner with the option for a private 

Management Entity, who is not the owner, to perform the on-site 

compliance inspection for Type IIIb and IIIh systems in 

accordance with Table XXXII in Rule .1301(b) of this Section 

instead of the LHD. The Management Entity shall provide to the 

owner and LHD a written compliance inspection report every five 

years. The report shall document that the wastewater system is 

compliant with this Subchapter, the performance standards in the 

OP or ATO, and conditions in the OP or the ATO. 

(e)  The authorized agent shall issue a written notice of non-

compliance to the owner when the wastewater system is non-

compliant with this Subchapter, the performance standards in the 

OP or ATO, or conditions in the OP or the ATO. 

(f)  The LHD shall investigate malfunctions in accordance with 

Rule .1306 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1306 SYSTEM MALFUNCTION AND 

REPAIR 

(a)  This Rule identifies the responsibilities of the LHD and the 

owner when a system is malfunctioning or otherwise determined 

to require repair. 

(b)  The LHD or Department shall issue a written NOV to the 

wastewater system owner in accordance with Rule .0302(c) of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  The wastewater system shall be repaired within 30 days of the 

date on the NOV issued by the Department or LHD unless the 

NOV specifies a different time frame for the repair based on site-

specific factors, such as the severity of the repair, wastewater 

backing up into a restaurant or discharging into SA waters, or 

adverse weather that delays construction of the repair. The 

following steps shall be followed to remedy a malfunctioning 

wastewater system: 

(1) The owner shall apply for a repair in accordance 

with Section .0200 of this Subchapter, unless 

only maintenance is required to bring the 

wastewater system into compliance. 

(2) After investigating the malfunction, the 

Department or LHD shall require that the 

wastewater system be repaired to correct the 

malfunction and eliminate any public health 

hazard. The wastewater system shall be 

repaired so that it meets G.S. 130A, Article 11 

and this Subchapter. When it is not possible to 

bring the wastewater system into compliance 

with G.S. 130A, Article 11 and this Subchapter, 

the authorized agent shall use their best 

professional judgement, based on education 

and experience, to require a repair that should 

enable the wastewater system to function in a 

manner that complies with Rule .1303(a)(1) of 

this Section. The LHD shall document the 

repair using best professional judgement on the 

CA and OP. 

(3) When necessary to protect the public health, the 

Department or LHD shall require the owner of 

a malfunctioning system to pump and haul 

sewage to an approved wastewater system 

during the time needed to repair the wastewater 

system. This requirement shall be included in 

the NOV issued to the owner. 

(d)  If no repair options are available for the wastewater system in 

accordance with Paragraph (c), the LHD may issue a CA for a 

permanent pump and haul system. The owner shall submit an 

application to the LHD for the permanent pump and haul system. 

The application and permanent pump and haul system shall meet 

the following conditions: 

(1) The owner shall provide the following 

information as part of the application: 

(A) documentation that the system cannot 

be repaired by connection to a system 

approved under this Section or Rules 

adopted by the Environmental 

Management Commission; 

(B) a contract with a septage management 

firm permitted in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-291.1 to pump and haul the 

sewage; 

(C) documentation that the wastewater 

system has been approved under this 

Subchapter or in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02H or 15A NCAC 02T to 

accept sewage; and 

(D) documentation from the facility 

receiving the sewage confirming that 

the facility has the capacity for the 

additional sewage and agrees to accept 

it. 

(2) The LHD shall design the pump and haul 

system based on the following criteria: 

(A) tankage with a minimum of five days 

storage capacity and two days 

emergency storage capacity; 

(B) high-water alarm set to go off with two 

days of emergency storage capacity 

left in the tankage; and 

(C) telemetry unit that contacts the septage 

management firm. 
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(3) The owner of a non-residential facility may 

request a reduction in the five day storage 

requirement, if the owner can document the 

ability to have the tanks pumped out with only 

24 hours' notice. The total tank capacity shall 

never be less than the minimum required septic 

tank and pump tank capacity required by 

Section .0800 of this Subchapter. 

(4) Tanks shall be approved by the LHD for 

permanent pump and haul if shown to be 

structurally sound, watertight, and of a capacity 

needed based on the DDF and projected 

pumping frequency. Existing tanks may be used 

for permanent pump and haul if the tanks meet 

the requirements in this Subparagraph. 

(5) Prior to issuing the OP, the LHD shall receive 

from the owner a contract with a Management 

Entity for inspection and maintenance of the 

system. 

(6) A non-transferrable OP, valid for a period not 

to exceed five years, shall be issued to the pump 

and haul system owner. 

(e)  A malfunctioning wastewater system that has been 

disconnected from the facility for any reason shall be repaired 

prior to reuse. 

(f)  If a malfunctioning wastewater system is found to be 

nonrepairable the dispersal system shall not be used. The system 

owner shall be required to abandon the system to protect the 

public health and safety as specified in Rule .1307 of this Section. 

(g)  For facilities with a malfunctioning wastewater system 

installed prior to July 1, 1977, the authorized agent shall use their 

best professional judgement, based on education and experience, 

to repair the system. 

(h)  For facilities with a straight pipe installed prior to July 1, 

1977, which has been in continual use and acts as the sole source 

of wastewater disposal, the authorized agent shall use their best 

professional judgement, based on education and experience, to 

repair the straight pipe. 

(i)  Legal remedies may be pursued, in accordance with G.S. 

130A, Article 1, Part 2, after an authorized agent has observed and 

documented one or more malfunctioning conditions and issued an 

NOV. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 130A-291.2; 130A-335(e) and (f). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1307 WASTEWATER SYSTEM 

ABANDONMENT 

If a wastewater system is abandoned or is otherwise no longer in 

use, the tanks shall: 

(1) have the contents removed by a septage 

management firm permitted in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-291.1; 

(2) be removed, collapsed, or otherwise rendered 

unable to retain liquid, and backfilled; and 

(3) have the electrical components de-energized 

and above ground components removed. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335. 

 

SECTION .1400 – APPROVAL OF TANKS, RISERS, 

EFFLUENT FILTERS, AND PIPE PENETRATION 

BOOTS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1401 PLANS FOR PREFABRICATED 

TANKS 

(a)  All tanks proposed for use in a wastewater system described 

in this Subchapter shall be approved by the Department. Tanks 

shall be approved as follows: 

(1) The tank design shall be approved based on the 

plans and specifications submitted in 

accordance with Subparagraphs (c)(1) through 

(c)(8) of this Rule. After the tank design has 

been approved, a temporary identification 

number shall be assigned for tracking purposes. 

(2) The tank shall pass a structural load test as 

described in Subparagraph (c)(9) of this Rule. 

The test shall be performed and certified by a 

third-party. The test shall be observed in person 

by the Department, LHD, PE, or a credentialled 

testing organization. If the tank passes the 

structural load test, then the tank shall be 

assigned a permanent identification number. 

Tanks shall not be sold for use in a wastewater 

system without a permanent identification 

number. 

(3) The structural design verification shall be 

required for new tanks, modifications to tank 

design, and when tank forms are sold to a 

different tank manufacturer. 

(4) Pump tanks may be tested and approved with a 

baffle wall, without a baffle wall, or with a 

partial baffle wall. The most limiting design 

produced by the manufacturer shall be tested. 

(b)  The tank manufacturer shall submit three copies of the plans 

and specifications for the initial design of each tank to the 

Department for approval. 

(c)  Plans and specifications for tanks with a total liquid capacity 

less than or equal to 4,000 gallons shall include the following: 

(1) all tank dimensions in inches, including: 

(A) top, bottom, and sidewall thickness 

and variations; 

(B) minimum and maximum dimensions 

on tanks with tapered or ribbed walls; 

(C) baffle wall location and minimum and 

maximum thickness and variations; 

(D) location and dimension of all openings 

in baffle wall for gas and liquid 

movement; and 

(E) dimensions of all compartments; 

(2) material type and strength, including 

reinforcement material and location, as 

applicable, specified by the manufacturer; 

(3) method for fastening the baffle wall to the tank 

interior; 

(4) liquid depth and operating capacity in gallons; 

(5) pipe penetration boot locations and pipe 

penetration boots approved in accordance with 

Rule .1404 of this Section; 
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(6) methods and material for sealing sections and 

forming watertight joints in tanks with multiple 

sections; 

(7) drawings showing access openings, tank lids, 

access manhole risers, and other proposed 

appurtenances to the tank; 

(8) tank manufacturer and PE requirements for 

installation, including bedding, additional 

sealing methods, and leak testing procedures; 

and 

(9) documentation of proof of design. The tank 

shall withstand a minimum uniform live load of 

150 pounds per square foot in addition to the 

dead weight of the material and all geostatic and 

hydrostatic loads to which an underground tank 

is normally subjected, such as active soil 

pressure on tank walls and the uplifting force of 

groundwater. The documentation shall be one 

of the following: 

(A) a vacuum test of 4.24 inches of 

mercury held for five minutes meeting 

the following criteria: 

(i) no loss in vacuum greater 

than two-fifths of an inch of 

mercury during the test; 

(ii) no deformation or deflection 

greater than two percent 

along any dimension unless 

shown by measurement or 

calculation to result in a 

reduction in volume no 

greater than two percent; 

(iii) no distortion of the access 

openings occurs during the 

testing that prevents removal 

and replacement of the access 

opening lids at the conclusion 

of the test; and 

(iv) for tanks constructed with 

integral risers, no distortion 

of the riser during the testing 

and the riser lid can be 

removed and replaced at the 

conclusion of the test; 

(B) calculations from a PE that the tank 

can withstand the loading 

requirements of this Subparagraph and 

the performance requirements of Part 

(A) of this Subparagraph shall be met; 

or 

(C) the tank shall be either IAPMO/ANSI 

Z1000 or CSA B66 certified and the 

tank manufacturer enrolled in a third-

party quality assurance and quality 

control program, which includes 

material testing and unannounced 

annual manufacturing facility audits. 

(d)  Plans and specifications for tanks with a total liquid capacity 

greater than 4,000 gallons and all tanks designed for traffic loads 

shall be designed by a PE in accordance with ASTM C890. Plans 

shall show the design, including all the information listed in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule and engineering calculations showing 

the minimum and maximum soil burial depth, water table, and 

traffic load the tank is designed to support. 

(e)  Plans for tanks not proposed for general use and issued an 

identification number under this Section shall meet the minimum 

requirements of this Section and shall be approved by the 

Department. 

(f)  The Department or LHD may inspect approved tanks at the 

place of manufacture, the inventoried sites of the distributors, or 

at the installation of the tank in a wastewater system for 

compliance with the approved plans and specifications. 

(g)  Tanks found to be out of compliance shall be brought back 

into compliance by the tank manufacturer or the installer as 

directed by the Department or LHD. Tanks that are not or cannot 

be brought into compliance shall not be used in a wastewater 

system and the imprints identified in Rule .1402(d)(15) or (e)(8) 

of this Section shall be permanently marked over by the 

authorized agent. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1402 TANK DESIGN AND 

CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  Tanks shall be watertight, structurally sound, and not subject 

to corrosion or decay. 

(b)  Septic tanks and grease tanks shall have effluent filters and 

access devices approved in accordance with Rule .1404 of this 

Section. An effluent filter and support case shall be installed level 

in the outlet end of the septic tank or grease tank and shall meet 

the following criteria: 

(1) solvent welded to a minimum of three-inch 

PVC Schedule 40 outlet pipe; 

(2) be installed in accordance with filter 

manufacturer's specifications and effluent filter 

approval; and 

(3) be accessible and removable without entering 

the septic tank or grease tank. 

(c)  Septic tanks installed where the access openings on the top of 

the tank are deeper than six inches below finished grade shall have 

an access riser over each compartment with a cover that extends 

to within six inches of the finished grade. The opening of the 

access riser shall be large enough to accommodate the removal of 

the septic tank lid. When the top of the septic tank or access riser 

is below the finished grade, the location of the tank shall be visible 

at finished grade. When access risers are used they shall be 

installed in accordance with the Rules of this Subchapter, the 

manufacturer's specifications, and the Department's approval. 

(d)  Septic tanks shall meet the following minimum design 

standards: 

(1) a minimum liquid depth of 36 inches; 

(2) a minimum of nine inches freeboard, measured 

as the air space between the top of the liquid and 

the bottom of the tank top. Venting of the tank 

shall be provided to prevent the buildup of 

gases; 
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(3) the approved septic tank capacity shall be 

determined as the liquid volume below the 

outlet invert to the bottom of the tank; 

(4) the length of the tank shall be a minimum of 

twice as long as the width, as measured by the 

longest axis and widest axis based on the 

internal tank dimensions; 

(5) there shall be three inlet openings in the tank, 

one on the tank end and one on each sidewall of 

the inlet end of the tank; 

(6) outlet openings shall have a cast or 

manufactured penetration point and include a 

watertight, sealed, non-corrodible, and flexible 

connective sleeve. A flexible connective sleeve 

shall be able to bend without breaking. The 

connective sleeve shall meet ASTM C1644 for 

precast concrete tanks or ASTM C1644, C923, 

or C564 for thermoplastic or glass-fiber-

reinforced polyester tanks and be approved by 

the Department if it meets the requirements of 

this Subparagraph and Rule .1404 of this 

Section; 

(7) inlet penetrations shall be greater than or equal 

to four inches in diameter and outlet 

penetrations shall be greater than or equal to 

three inches in diameter; 

(8) there shall be no openings below the septic tank 

operating liquid level; 

(9) the outlet shall be through an effluent filter 

approved in accordance with Rule .1404 of this 

Section, and secured in place in an effluent 

filter support case. The effluent filter case inlet 

shall extend down to between 25 and 50 percent 

of the liquid depth measured from the top of the 

liquid level. Other methods of supporting the 

effluent filter case and for making pipe 

penetrations shall be approved by the 

Department on a case-by-case basis upon a 

showing that the performance is identical to 

those designed in accordance with this Rule; 

(10) the invert of the outlet shall be a minimum of 

two inches lower in elevation than the invert of 

the inlet; 

(11) all septic tanks shall be designed with a 

partition so that the tank contains two 

compartments. The following conditions shall 

be met: 

(A) the partition shall be located at a point 

not less than two-thirds or more than 

three-fourths the length of the tank 

from the inlet end; 

(B) the partition shall be designed, 

manufactured, installed, and 

maintained to remain in position when 

subjected to a liquid capacity in one 

compartment that corresponds with 

the lowermost elevation of the water 

passage slot or holes; 

(C) the partition shall be designed to create 

a gas passage, not less than the area of 

the inlet pipe, and the passage shall not 

extend lower than seven inches from 

the bottom side of the tank top; 

(D) the top and bottom sections of the 

partition shall be designed to create a 

water passage slot four inches high for 

the full interior width of the tank, or a 

minimum of two four- or five-inch 

openings, or one four- or five-inch 

opening per 30 horizontal linear 

inches of baffle wall, whichever is 

greater, may be designed into the 

partition instead of the four-inch slot; 

(E) the partition shall be designed, 

manufactured, and installed to create 

an average opening not greater than 

one-half inch between the partition 

and the tank wall below the liquid 

level, with a tolerance of one-half 

inch; 

(F) the entire liquid passage in the 

partition wall shall be located between 

25 and 50 percent of the liquid depth 

of the tank, as measured from the top 

of the liquid level; and 

(G) other methods for designing partition 

shall be approved by the Department 

on a case-by-case basis upon a 

showing that the performance is 

identical to those designed in 

accordance with this Rule; 

(12) access openings shall be provided in the top of 

the tank, located over each compartment, and 

have a minimum opening of 15 inches by 15 

inches or 17 inches in diameter. The opening 

shall allow for maintenance and removal of 

internal devices of the septic tank; 

(13) access risers and covers shall be designed and 

manufactured to prevent surface water 

infiltration; 

(14) tank lids and riser covers shall be locked, 

secured with fasteners, or weigh a minimum of 

40 pounds, but no more than 80 pounds; and 

(15) all septic tanks shall bear an imprint or 

embossment identifying the manufacturer, the 

septic tank serial number assigned to the 

manufacturer's plans and specifications 

approved by the Department, and the liquid or 

working capacity of the tanks. The imprint or 

embossment shall be located to the right of the 

blockout made for the outlet pipe on the top or 

end of outlet end of the tank. 

(e)  Pump tanks shall meet the design requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule with the following modifications: 

(1) a watertight access riser with removable cover 

shall be located over the pump. The access riser 

shall extend to a minimum of six inches above 
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finished grade and shall be designed and 

maintained to prevent surface water infiltration; 

(2) the access opening over the pump shall have a 

minimum opening of 24 inches in diameter or 

equidimensional opening; 

(3) when two or more pumps are required in 

accordance with Rule .1101(b) of this 

Subchapter the access openings shall be sized 

to allow for pump removal, operation, and 

maintenance; 

(4) tanks may be designed with a single 

compartment. If a partition is provided, the 

partition shall be designed to contain a 

minimum of two four-inch diameter circular 

openings, or openings with an equivalent area, 

located no more than 12 inches above the tank 

bottom; 

(5) there shall be no requirement as to tank length, 

width, or shape, provided the tank satisfies all 

other requirements of the rules of this Section; 

(6) the invert of the inlet openings shall be located 

within 12 inches of the tank top. No freeboard 

shall be required in the pump tank; 

(7) tanks shall be vented if located more than 50 

feet from the facility, and accessible for routine 

maintenance; 

(8) all pump tanks shall bear an imprint or 

embossment identifying the manufacturer, the 

pump tank serial number assigned to the 

manufacturer's plans and specifications by the 

Department, and the liquid or working capacity 

of the tank. The imprint or embossment shall be 

located to the left of the blockout made for the 

outlet pipe on the top or end of outlet end of the 

tank; and 

(9) the pump tank working capacity shall be the 

entire internal tank volume. 

(f)  Grease tanks shall be septic tanks approved in accordance with 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule with the following modifications: 

(1) the liquid passage between chambers shall be 

located between 40 and 60 percent of the 

operating liquid depth measured from the top of 

the liquid level. The liquid passage between 

chambers may be made using a sanitary tee 

extending down between 40 and 60 percent of 

the liquid depth measured from the top of the 

liquid level; 

(2) when sanitary tees are used as the liquid 

passage through an interior compartment 

partition, an access opening and riser to grade 

over the tees shall be provided for servicing and 

routine maintenance; 

(3) when two or more tanks are used in series, a 

sanitary tee shall be provided in the outlet end 

of each interconnected tank extending down 

between 40 and 60 percent of the liquid depth; 

(4) the final chamber shall contain an effluent filter 

and support case extending down between 40 

and 60 percent of the liquid depth. The effluent 

filter shall be approved by the Department for 

use in grease tanks. The grease rated effluent 

filter shall be sized for the DDF and have 

openings of 1/32-inch or less; and 

(5) access risers shall extend to finished grade and 

be capped with cast iron manhole rings and 

covers. Lockable aluminum hatches may be 

substituted for cast iron manhole rings and 

covers in non-traffic areas. Aluminum hatches 

or manhole rings and covers shall be designed 

and maintained to prevent surface water 

infiltration. Locks shall be the responsibility of 

the person owning or controlling the system. 

(g)  Siphon tanks shall meet the design requirements of Paragraph 

(e) of this Rule and shall: 

(1) be designed in accordance with the construction 

requirements of this Rule and Rule .0804 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) provide three inches of freeboard; 

(3) have the invert of the inlet pipe three inches 

above the siphon trip level; and 

(4) have a watertight access opening over each 

siphon with an opening of 24 inches, extending 

to finished grade, and designed to prevent 

surface water inflow. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1); 130A-335.1. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1403 TANK MATERIAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Tanks approved in accordance with this Section shall be 

constructed of materials capable of resisting corrosion from 

sewage and sewage gases, structurally sound, and watertight. 

(b)  Reinforced precast concrete tanks shall meet the following 

minimum material and construction requirements: 

(1) the ends and sides of the tank shall have a 

minimum thickness of two and one-half inches. 

The top and bottom of the tanks shall be a 

minimum of three inches thick; 

(2) the top, bottom, end and sides of the concrete 

tank and tank lid shall be reinforced by using a 

minimum reinforcing of six-inch by six-inch 

No. 10 gage welded steel reinforcing wire. 

Reinforcement shall be placed to maximize the 

structural integrity of the tank; 

(3) alternative reinforcement designs may be used 

when they perform in a manner equal to or more 

effective than the reinforcement design 

described in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph; 

(4) when the concrete tank, tank lid, riser, or riser 

cover are subjected to vehicular traffic, the tank 

shall be designed by a PE to handle the traffic 

load in accordance with ASTM C890; 

(5) any tank installed deeper than three feet shall be 

designed by a PE for the proposed tank burial 

depth. The tank design shall be submitted to the 

Department for review. The design shall be 

approved when documentation is provided to 
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show that the proposed tank design can 

withstand all active and passive loads on the 

tank, including the additional soil weight from 

a deeper burial depth. 

(6) the concrete shall achieve a minimum 28-day 

compressive strength of 4,000 psi. The concrete 

shall meet a compressive strength of 3,500 psi 

prior to removal of the tank from the place of 

manufacture. It shall be the responsibility of the 

manufacturer to certify that the tank meets this 

condition; 

(7) tanks manufactured in multiple sections shall be 

joined and sealed at the joint by using butyl 

rubber or other pliable sealant meeting ASTM 

C990 or other material that has been approved 

by the Department when documentation has 

been provided to show that the material meets 

all performance requirements of ASTM C990. 

Documentation shall also be provided to the 

Department to show that the material is 

waterproof and corrosion resistant; and 

(8) tank lids and riser covers shall have a durable 

handle made of corrosion-resistant materials 

and capable of pull capacity sufficient for the 

weight of the lid or cover. 

(c)  Thermoplastic tank materials shall conform with 

IAPMO/ANSI Z1000 or CSA B66 requirements. 

(d)  Glass-fiber-reinforced polyester tanks shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) top, bottom, ends, and sides of the tank shall 

have a minimum thickness of one-fifth inches. 

The baffle wall shall be a minimum of 3/16-

inches thick; 

(2) material and laminate requirements specified in 

IAPMO/ANSI Z1000 or CSA B66 for glass-

fiber-reinforced polyester tanks; and 

(3) enrolled in a third-party quality assurance and 

quality control program, which include material 

testing and unannounced annual audits. 

(e)  Cast or manufactured in place tanks shall be designed by a 

PE, if required by G.S. 89C, and approved by the Department 

when the tank design, construction, and materials meet the criteria 

set forth in this Rule and Rule .1402 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1404 PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS 

FOR RISERS, EFFLUENT FILTERS, AND PIPE 

PENETRATION BOOTS 

(a)  All risers, effluent filters, and pipe penetration boots proposed 

for use in a wastewater system shall be approved by the 

Department prior to being offered for sale or use in North 

Carolina. 

(b)  Three copies of the plans and specifications for the initial 

design of each riser, effluent filter, or pipe penetration boot shall 

be submitted to the Department. Plans for risers, effluent filters, 

and pipe penetration boots shall be approved by the Department 

and an approval letter issued when the design is found to comply 

with this Section. All changes or modifications to risers, effluent 

filters, or pipe penetration boots shall be approved by the 

Department when the changes or modifications comply with the 

requirements of this Rule. 

(c)  Risers and riser lids shall be able to withstand a minimum 

uniform live loading of 300 pounds per square foot or a minimum 

1,500 pound load applied in a 10 inch by 10 inch area centered on 

the lid, in addition to all loads to which a riser is normally 

subjected, such as dead weight of the material and soil cover and 

active soil pressure on riser walls. 

(d)  Riser plans and specifications submitted to the Department 

for review and approval shall show the design of the riser and 

include the following information: 

(1) manufacturer's name, mailing address, phone 

and fax numbers, email address, and name of 

manufacturer's point of contact; 

(2) physical dimensions of the riser and riser cover, 

including wall thickness, internal diameter, 

proposed casting or installation details and 

methods, and pipe penetrations; 

(3) material type and strength, including 

reinforcement material and location as 

required; 

(4) documentation from a third-party showing that 

the riser meets the load requirements specified 

in Paragraph (c) of this Rule; 

(5) plans for septic tank risers of a secondary lid, 

concrete plug, or other safety device that shall 

be provided inside the riser for security and to 

prevent accidental entry; 

(6) plans for pump tank risers of primary and 

secondary safety mechanisms that shall be 

provided with the riser. The primary safety 

mechanism shall be a locking riser lid, ring and 

lock, or other riser lid locking or tamper-

resistant mechanism. The secondary safety 

mechanism shall be a secondary lid, concrete 

plug, or other safety device to be provided 

inside the pump tank riser; and 

(7) specifications for application, installation, 

operation, and maintenance for both new and 

retrofit applications for single and multiple riser 

sections. 

(e)  Effluent filter plans and specifications submitted to the 

Department for review and approval shall show the design of the 

effluent filter and include the following information: 

(1) manufacturer's name, address, phone and fax 

numbers, and contact name; 

(2) documentation and a written statement from the 

manufacturer that the effluent filter is designed, 

constructed, and performs in compliance with 

G.S. 130A-335.1(a); 

(3) capacity and wastewater strength for all models 

of proposed filters to be approved; and 

(4) specifications for application, installation, 

operation, and maintenance. 

(f)  Pipe penetration boot plans and specifications submitted to the 

Department for review and approval shall show the design of the 

pipe penetration boot and include the following information: 
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(1) manufacturer's name, address, phone and fax 

numbers, and contact name; 

(2) design specifications and materials used in the 

manufacture of pipe penetration boot 

components; 

(3) applicable testing results from third-party 

verification showing pull and flexibility testing; 

(4) documentation of a watertight seal around the 

piping and any component or device needed to 

ensure the seal, such as non-corrodible 

adjustable bands; 

(5) documentation that the pipe penetration boot 

meets the requirements of ASTM C1644 for 

precast concrete tanks or ASTM C1644, C923, 

or C564 for thermoplastic or glass-fiber-

reinforced polyester tanks; and 

(6) specifications for application, installation, 

operation, and maintenance of the pipe 

penetration boot. 

(g)  Plans for prefabricated risers, effluent filters, and pipe 

penetration boots, other than those approved for general use and 

issued an approval letter under this Rule, shall be considered for 

approval on a case-by-case basis. The riser, effluent filter, or pipe 

penetration boot shall be approved if it is determined that it meets 

the requirements of this Rule based on information provided by 

the manufacturer to the Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1); 130A-335.1. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1405 RISERS, EFFLUENT FILTERS, 

AND PIPE PENETRATION BOOTS APPROVAL 

RENEWAL 

(a)  All riser, effluent filter, and pipe penetration boot approvals 

shall expire on December 31 of each year. Riser, effluent filter, 

and pipe penetration boot manufacturers who wish to continue 

product approval shall submit annually a proprietary product 

renewal form provided by the Department no later than November 

30 of each year. 

(b)  The approval renewal form shall include the following 

elements: 

(1) manufacturer's name, mailing address, phone 

and fax numbers, email address, and 

manufacturer's point of contact; 

(2) model number(s) approved; and 

(3) a notarized statement that the product has not 

changed from the previous year without prior 

approval from the Department. 

(c)  The Department shall notify the manufacturer of the pending 

riser, effluent filter, and pipe penetration boot Approval 

expiration in writing no later than September 30 of each year. The 

notification shall include information on how to request riser, 

effluent filter, and pipe penetration boot renewal. 

(d)  The riser, effluent filter, and pipe penetration boot approval 

shall be deemed renewed upon receipt of a renewal form that 

contains all of the elements set out in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1406 MODIFICATION, SUSPENSION, 

AND REVOCATION OF APPROVALS 

The Department shall modify, suspend, or revoke the approval for 

tanks, risers, effluent filters, or pipe penetration boots upon a 

finding that: 

(1) the approval is determined to be based on false, 

incomplete, or misleading information; 

(2) the product has been altered; 

(3) the product fails to perform in compliance with 

performance standards established for the 

product in accordance with the rules of this 

Section; or 

(4) the product fails to meet conditions of its 

approval or comply with G.S. 130A, Article 11, 

Rule .1405 of this Section, this Subchapter, or 

conditions of the approval. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e), (f), and (f1). 

 

SECTION .1500 – APPROVAL AND USE OF 

RESIDENTIAL WASTEWATER TREATMENT 

SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1501 GENERAL 

(a)  RWTS that comply with NSF International Standard 40 for 

Class I residential wastewater treatment systems shall be 

designed, constructed, and installed in accordance with this 

Section to serve facilities with a DDF less than or equal to 1,500 

gpd. 

(b)  RWTS shall only be used with DSE. 

(c)  RWTS shall bear one of the following to certify that the 

product is in accordance with NSF Standard 40: 

(1) the NSF mark and the NSF listed model 

number; or 

(2) the certification mark and listed model number 

of a third-party certification program accredited 

by ANSI to certify RWTS in accordance with 

NSF Standard 40. 

(d)  For approval of an RWTS as a PIA System, a manufacturer 

shall apply in accordance with Section .1700 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-342. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1502 APPLICATION 

An application shall be submitted for RWTS approval in writing 

to the Department and shall include the following: 

(1) manufacturer's name, mailing address, phone 

number, email address, plant location(s), and 

contact information for distributors; 

(2) verification of NSF Standard 40 Class I system 

approval and listing by NSF International or 

other ANSI-accredited third-party certification 

program; 

(3) manufacturer's identifying name or logo, listed 

model number(s) and treatment capacity in gpd 

to be imprinted on unit; 

(4) three copies of plans and specifications, 

including information required to evaluate any 
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tanks as required in accordance with Rule .1401 

of this Subchapter; and 

(5) fee payment as required by G.S. 130A-

343(k)(6), by corporate check, money order or 

cashier's check made payable to: North 

Carolina On-Site Water Protection Account or 

North Carolina OSWW System Account, and 

mailed to the Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-342. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1503 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 

STANDARDS 

RWTS shall meet the following design and construction 

standards: 

(1) No blockouts or openings shall be permitted 

below the liquid level of the RWTS. 

(2) RWTS shall be watertight, corrosion resistant 

structures, with all components requiring 

maintenance accessible to the Management 

Entity. Access openings shall be provided in the 

RWTS top. Access shall be provided for: 

(a) cleaning or rodding out the inlet pipe; 

(b) cleaning or clearing the air or gas 

passage space above any partition; 

(c) pumping of each compartment 

required to be pumped; 

(d) sampling the effluent; and 

(e) repairing and maintaining any system 

components. 

(3) Tanks used in RWTS designed to hold sewage 

or effluent shall comply with all tank 

requirements in accordance with Section .1400 

of this Subchapter. 

(4) RWTS shall bear an imprint identifying the 

manufacturer, the RWTS serial number 

assigned to the manufacturer's model approved 

by the Department, and the liquid or working 

capacity of the unit. The imprint shall be 

located on the outlet end of the tank within 24 

inches of the top of the tank. 

(5) The design, construction, and operation of 

RWTS shall prevent bypass of wastewater. 

(6) The manufacturer shall ensure that the system 

can be sampled in compliance with 40 CFR 136 

and shall specify the recommended method for 

effluent sampling. 

(7) Control panels provided by the manufacturer 

shall comply with the requirements for control 

panels in accordance with Rule .1103 of this 

Subchapter. 

(8) The RWTS shall have an alarm device or 

devices to warn the user or Management Entity 

of a unit malfunction or a high-water condition 

in accordance with Rule .1103 of this 

Subchapter. 

(9) The control panel shall include a method to 

automatically measure and record daily 

wastewater flow dispersed to the dispersal field 

in accordance with Rule .1702(a)(2)(I) of this 

Subchapter. 

(10) The blower location shall be shown on the plans 

and detail proposed corrosion-resistant blower 

enclosures, if applicable. 

(11) A settling tank shall be required prior to or as 

an integral part of the design of the RWTS. The 

liquid capacity of the settling tank shall be a 

minimum of half of the DDF of the RWTS, or 

as otherwise specified by the manufacturer, 

whichever is larger. The settling tank may 

either be an integral chamber of the RWTS 

tank, a septic tank approved in accordance with 

Section .1400 of this Subchapter, or another 

tank designed for an individual system and 

approved by the Department as a part of the 

plans for the RWTS. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-342. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1504 SAMPLING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR RESIDENTIAL WASTEWATER TREATMENT 

SYSTEMS 

Effluent from an approved RWTS shall be grab or 24-hour 

composite sampled annually for all effluent standards listed in 

Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter for NSF-40 

systems, unless adjusted sampling requirements have been 

requested and granted in accordance with Rules .1301 and .1709 

of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-342. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1505 RESIDENTIAL WASTEWATER 

TREATMENT SYSTEM APPROVAL RENEWAL 

(a)  All RWTS Approvals shall expire on December 31 of each 

year. RWTS manufacturers who wish to continue product 

approval shall submit annually a proprietary product renewal 

form provided by the Department no later than November 30 of 

each year. 

(b)  The renewal form shall include the following updated 

elements: 

(1) manufacturers' name, mailing address, phone 

and fax numbers, email address, and 

manufacturer's point of contact; 

(2) model number(s) approved; 

(3) a notarized statement that the product has not 

changed from the previous year without prior 

approval from the Department; and 

(4) verification of the manufacturer's continued 

certification and listing by a nationally 

recognized certification body, including 

compliance with NSF Standard 40. 

(c)  The Department shall notify the manufacturer of the pending 

RWTS Approval expiration in writing no later than September 30 

of each year. The notification shall include information on how to 

request RWTS Approval renewal. 

(d)  The RWTS approval shall be deemed renewed upon receipt 

of a renewal form that contains all of the elements set out in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 
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(e)  The Department shall suspend or revoke a system approval 

upon a finding that the system fails to perform in compliance with 

established effluent standards in Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of 

this Subchapter or as provided for in Rule .1708(b) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-342. 

 

SECTION .1600 – APPROVAL OF PRE-ENGINEERED 

PACKAGE DRIP DISPERSAL SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1601 GENERAL 

(a)  Drip dispersal systems for DDF less than or equal to 3,000 

gpd shall be configured as a package and approved as a PIA 

System in accordance with Section .1700 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The integrated system package shall be provided from a single 

source manufacturer or system integrator, comprised of 

catalogued standardized design components that have been 

coordinated and tested by the manufacturer or integrator. 

Components shall include: 

(1) dispersal field pump(s) and floats; 

(2) headworks assemblies; 

(3) dispersal field piping network, drip tubing, and 

appurtenances; and 

(4) system controls that provide for automatic filter 

cleaning, timed field dosing, field flushing, 

alarm notification, and recording of system 

operation. 

(c)  All components shall be integrated and designed to operate 

together. The system manufacturer or integrator shall provide 

system design information including: 

(1) head loss charts, tables, or formulas for various 

drip tubing lateral lengths during a dosing and 

flushing cycle; 

(2) minimum and maximum zone size and design; 

(3) design plans and specifications for all 

components; 

(4) installation specifications; and 

(5) operation and maintenance manuals. 

(d)  The system manufacturer shall provide support to train and 

authorize designers, installers, Management Entities, regulators, 

and users. 

(e)  Drip dispersal system performance, siting, sizing, installation, 

operation, monitoring, maintenance and reporting requirements 

shall comply with Rules .0908, .1204, and Section .1300 of this 

Subchapter, as applicable, and the rules of this Section. 

(f)  Drip dispersal systems that are not pre-engineered packages 

approved in accordance with Section .1700 of this Subchapter 

shall be designed on a project specific basis by a PE and shall 

comply with Rules .0908, .1204, and Section .1300 of this 

Subchapter, as applicable, and the rules of this Section. 

(g)  Drip dispersal systems for DDF greater than 3,000 gpd shall 

comply with the design and performance requirements of this 

Section and shall be designed on a project specific basis by a PE. 

The system design shall be reviewed and approved by the 

Department in accordance with Rule .0302 of this Subchapter, 

unless the system is permitted in accordance with Rule .0207 of 

this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1602 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Drip dispersal systems shall be preceded by pretreatment 

designed to comply with one of the following effluent standards: 

DSE, NSF-40, TS-I, TS-II, or RCW as specified in Table III of 

Rule .0402(a), Table XXV of Rule .1201(a), or Rule .1002, of this 

Subchapter, as applicable. 

(b)  The pump tank shall meet one of the following conditions: 

(1) a separate pump tank sized in accordance with 

Rule .0802 of this Subchapter; or 

(2) a pump tank or compartment that is part of an 

advanced pretreatment system approved in 

accordance with Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter. 

Pump tank operating levels shall not result in effluent backing up 

into a part of any pretreatment component designed for free 

gravity flow drainage. All pump submergence, dose volume, flow 

equalization, and emergency storage capacity requirements for 

the dosing system shall be met without interfering in the 

performance of the pretreatment components. 

(c)  Pumps shall meet the following conditions: 

(1) have sufficient capacity to accommodate 

projected flow and total dynamic head 

conditions; 

(2) deliver 15 to 60 psi of pressure during dosing 

events; 

(3) provide minimum flow and pressure as required 

to backwash or forward flush headworks filter; 

(4) maintain velocities of two feet per second at the 

distal end of each drip lateral line during 

automatic field flushing for DSE; and 

(5) maintain velocities of one foot per second at the 

distal end of each drip lateral line during 

automatic field flushing for advanced 

pretreatment effluent. Valving shall be 

provided to achieve flushing velocities of two 

feet per second at the distal end of each dripline 

with manual flushing. 

Pump manufacturer requirements shall be followed to 

protect the pump intake from solids that may accumulate 

in the pump tank and for pump cooling during operation. 

(d)  Headworks assemblies shall contain filtration, totalizing flow 

meter, provisions for filter cleaning, and field flushing valves. 

Zone and isolation valves may be located in the headworks 

assembly or in the drip dispersal field. The headworks assemblies 

shall meet the following conditions: 

(1) filters shall remove particles greater than 115 

microns at the peak operating flow rate, during 

network forward flushing. Filter number and 

size shall operate during both dosing and 

flushing conditions at a pump operating flow 

rate within the filter manufacturer's specified 

acceptable operating range; 

(2) filters for drip dispersal systems receiving DSE 

shall be configured with two independently 

backwashed disk filters; 
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(3) for drip dispersal systems receiving advanced 

pretreatment effluent, single or multiple screens 

or disc filters may be used, designed to be 

cleaned by either backwashing or forward 

washing; 

(4) filter cleaning and field flushing residuals shall 

be returned to the head of the septic tank or 

settling tank prior to being returned to the 

pretreatment unit; 

(5) a totalizing flow meter shall be used to record 

total flow through the system. The meter shall 

also be used to monitor pump operating flow 

rates during dosing and flushing events; and 

(6) the headworks and associated components shall 

be in a separate enclosure that is freeze 

protected, UV and corrosion resistant, and 

accessible for routine operation, maintenance, 

monitoring and servicing. Design shall 

facilitate access to all internal components. 

(e)  The drip dispersal field shall consist of one or more separately 

dosed zones comprised of a supply and return manifold, manifold 

to lateral connections, laterals containing drip tubing with 

emitters, blank sections of tubing, and associated field 

appurtenances. Drip emitter and associated field appurtenances 

design shall meet the following: 

(1) drip emitters shall be designed and 

demonstrated to uniformly distribute 

wastewater effluent at a pre-determined rate 

when operated in accordance with 

manufacturer's specified pressure range for 

emitter operation. Emitter design coefficient of 

variation, Cv, shall be five percent or less. 

Emitters shall be designed to be self-cleaning 

and to resist root intrusion. Hydraulic design of 

a drip dispersal zone shall be based upon 

achieving no more than a 10 percent variation 

in flow from any emitter over the entire zone, 

regardless of emitter elevation or position along 

the lateral including any effluent redistribution 

due to drainback; 

(2) drip emitters shall be pressure compensating 

unless the manufacturer and designer provide 

documentation and calculations that a 

maximum 10 percent flow variance allowance 

can otherwise be achieved with non-pressure 

compensating emitters in a PIA Approval or on 

a project-specific basis. Drip tubing shall be 

marked to identify the emitter type and flow 

rate; 

(3) drip emitters shall be spaced at uniform 

intervals along the tubing on 24-inch centers or 

less, and drip tubing with emitters shall be 

spaced an average of 24 inches on centers or 

less, in accordance with the proposed system 

design. Spacing shall be chosen as needed to 

ensure a sufficient number and density of 

emitters are present to achieve uniform 

distribution and instantaneous emitter loading 

rates that do not exceed the hydraulic capacity 

of the receiving infiltrative surfaces; 

(4) connections between supply and return 

manifolds, and between runs or drip lateral 

sections installed at varying elevations or 

locations shall be made with solvent welded 

solid Schedule 40 PVC or flexible PVC; 

(5) blanking sections of tubing without drip 

emitters shall be used where unfavorable site 

conditions, such as rocks, trees, or roots, are 

encountered along a drip run. Blanking tubing 

shall be a different color from the drip tubing or 

marked tubing of the same material, 

specification, and diameter as the connecting 

dripline, or flexible PVC; 

(6) the manufacturer shall specify methods for 

drainback prevention; and 

(7) field appurtenances shall include the following: 

(A) air or vacuum relief valve at the 

highest elevation of each zone; 

(B) cleanout at both ends of the supply and 

return manifolds; 

(C) pressure monitoring fittings at the 

zone inlet and outlet points; 

(D) pressure regulating valve where 

needed; 

(E) for two or more zones: solenoid valves 

for each zone in the headworks or at 

the field, with an isolation valve on the 

supply line side; and a check valve 

with an isolation valve for each zone 

between the return manifold and the 

common return line; and 

(F) valves, vents, cleanouts, and pressure 

monitoring fittings shall be provided 

with protective vaults or boxes that are 

decay resistant, ultraviolet rated, and 

accessible to the Management Entity 

from the ground surface. 

(f)  An integrated controller shall be provided that meets the 

following conditions: 

(1) enable each drip dispersal field or zone to be 

time-dosed at equal intervals throughout the 

day, at a projected average flow, and to 

accommodate the DDF. The controller shall 

allow for adjustable and variable dose volumes 

between or among zones; 

(2) adjust pump dosing and resting cycles to 

comply with system design and the projected 

range of operating conditions; 

(3) provide a minimum dose volume per zone that 

is a minimum of five times the liquid capacity 

of the drip laterals or so 80 percent of each dose 

is delivered when the minimum pressure in the 

field network is 10 psi; 

(4) provide for automatic cleaning of headworks 

filter(s); 

(5) provide for adjustable automatic forward 

flushing, or field flushing, of the drip laterals 
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with filtered effluent, at designer and 

manufacturer-specified frequency and duration; 

(6) provide for monitoring of pump cycles and run 

times; 

(7) include telemetry, in accordance with Rule 

.1103(c) of this Subchapter, for systems with a 

DDF greater than 1,500 gpd or as required in 

conjunction with an advanced pretreatment 

system; 

(8) for systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd 

the controller shall monitor flow volume to 

each zone and provide a flow variance 

indication when flow is plus or minus 20 

percent of design. The telemetry system and 

alarm shall be designed to be functional during 

power outages; 

(9) for multi-zone systems, the system controller 

shall provide for a zone to be rested or taken out 

of service manually. The controller shall have 

the capability to bypass zones and dose the next 

available zone with the normal dosing sequence 

continuing; and 

(10) controls and floats are to be configured to 

ensure the minimum dose is available prior to 

initiating a dosing cycle and to ensure that a full 

dose is delivered. 

(g)  Alternatives to the design criteria in this Rule may be 

proposed by the manufacturer during the PIA approval process or 

by a PE on a project-specific basis. These alternatives shall be 

reviewed and approved by the Department on a case-by-case basis 

when documentation is provided that the system will meet the 

performance standards of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1603 DRIP DISPERSAL SYSTEM 

TESTING 

(a)  The drip dispersal system field testing shall include system 

designer requirements and the following items: 

(1) all leaks in the pipe network or from emitters 

exhibiting excessive emission rates shall be 

repaired; and 

(2) after the system is pressurized, dosing and 

flushing flow rates and pressures for each zone 

shall be measured and confirmed to be in 

accordance with the design parameters as 

follows: 

(A) dosing pressure shall be measured at 

the lowest point in the supply manifold 

and highest point in the return 

manifold; 

(B) minimum and maximum emitter 

pressure shall be verified to be within 

emitter design parameters; 

(C) flushing pressures shall be measured 

at the ends of each supply and return 

manifold within each zone; 

(D) dosing and flushing flow rates shall be 

measured with the flow meter after the 

system is pressurized; and 

(E) all dosing and flushing flow rates and 

pressures shall be recorded. 

(b)  All components shall be demonstrated to be operable and in 

accordance with their design during the inspection by the LHD. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-343. 

 

SECTION .1700 – APPROVAL AND PERMITTING OF 

WASTEWATER SYSTEMS, TECHNOLOGIES, 

COMPONENTS, OR DEVICES 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1701 GENERAL 

PIA Systems are any wastewater systems, system components, or 

devices as defined by G.S. 130-343(a) that are not described in 

other Sections of this Subchapter and systems for which any of 

the following are proposed: 

(1) reduced setbacks; 

(2) reduced depth to LC or vertical separation 

requirements; or 

(3) increased LTAR. 

This Section shall provide for the approval and permitting of PIA 

Systems. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1702 APPLICATION 

(a)  An application shall be submitted in writing to the Department 

for a PIA System. All applications shall include the information 

required by G.S. 130A-343(d), (f), (g), (g1), and (h), and the 

following, as applicable: 

(1) identification of the type of PIA Approval 

requested: 

(A) Provisional; 

(B) Innovative; 

(C) Functionally Equivalent; 

(D) Accepted; or 

(E) a combination of any of the above; 

(2) plans and specifications for the system, 

including the following: 

(A) description of the system; 

(B) materials used in construction; 

(C) proposed use of system; 

(D) system design criteria; 

(E) system design and drawings; 

(F) installation manual; 

(G) operation and maintenance manual, 

including a checklist for 

documentation of inspection and 

maintenance activities and the VIP; 

(H) influent and effluent sampling 

locations for advanced pretreatment 

systems while the system remains in 

operation; 

(I) method for automatically measuring 

and recording daily wastewater flow 
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dispersed to the dispersal field for 

advanced pretreatment systems; and 

(J) start-up requirements and information; 

(3) the following information: 

(A) product specific literature; 

(B) published research; and 

(C) previous experience and performance 

with the system; 

(4) results of any available testing, research or 

monitoring of pilot systems or full-scale 

operational systems including: 

(A) identification of the third-party 

research or testing organization that 

conducted the testing, research, or 

monitoring provided; 

(B) documentation that the protocol or 

evaluation used in the testing, 

research, or monitoring is: 

(i) established by a nationally 

recognized certification 

body; 

(ii) a listed protocol that has been 

approved by the Department 

in accordance with G.S. 

130A-343(d); 

(iii) a comparable evaluation 

protocol used for system 

approval in other states. The 

comparable evaluation 

protocol shall include 

information on relevant 

conditions such as 

wastewater system design, 

soil types, climate, and 

hydrology and be reviewed 

by the Department; or 

(iv) in accordance with an 

alternative performance 

evaluation protocol proposed 

by the manufacturer for 

approval; 

(C) documentation that the system is 

tested, certified, and listed by a 

nationally recognized certification 

body and complies with an ongoing 

verification program administered by 

that certification body, as applicable; 

and 

(D) documentation that the system can be 

sampled in compliance with 40 CFR 

136 and that the method for system 

sampling monitors system compliance 

with effluent standards; 

(5) verification that the product submitted for PIA 

Approval is the same as the certified, listed, or 

tested product, and if not, identification of any 

modifications made to the submitted product; 

(6) notification of any proprietary or trade secret 

information, system, component, or device. All 

documents received are considered Public 

Records in accordance with G.S. 132-1, unless 

they meet the criteria for classification as a 

trade secret as defined in G.S. 66-152(3); 

(7) draft written PIA Approval that includes criteria 

for site selection, installation requirements, 

operation and maintenance procedures 

including a VIP protocol with compliance 

criteria, system classification, frequency of 

system inspection and monitoring in 

accordance with Table XXXII of Rule .1301(b) 

of this Subchapter, and minimum certification 

or licensing requirements as set forth in 

applicable certification and licensing rules and 

statutes for designers, installers, and 

Management Entities; and 

(8) fee payment as required by G.S. 130A-343(k), 

by corporate check, money order or cashier's 

check made payable to: North Carolina On-Site 

Water Protection System Account or North 

Carolina OSWW System Account, and mailed 

to the Department. Fees received are non-

refundable. 

(b)  Innovative System applications shall include the information 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Provisional System applications shall include the information 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule and an evaluation protocol 

containing all information set forth in G.S. 130-343(f), including: 

(1) identity and qualifications of the proposed 

third-party evaluator, including documentation 

of their third-party status; 

(2) description of the evaluation protocol, 

including any proposed laboratory and field 

testing; 

(3) number of systems to be installed; 

(4) site selection criteria; 

(5) system monitoring and reporting procedures, 

and proposed duration of evaluation; and 

(6) any other information needed for the system to 

be able to achieve Innovative status upon 

completion of the Provisional System 

evaluation protocol. 

(d)  Functionally Equivalent Trench System Innovative 

applications shall include the information listed in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule and documentation that the manufacturer has 

petitioned the Commission for Public Health in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-343(g1). 

(e)  Accepted System applications shall include the information 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule and documentation that the 

manufacturer has petitioned the Commission for Public Health in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-343(h). 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1703 DEPARTMENT AND 

COMMISSION APPLICATION REVIEW 

(a)  The Department shall review all applications submitted to 

determine if the information listed in Rule .1702 of this Section is 
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included and determine whether additional information is needed 

to continue the review. 

(b)  Within 30 days of receipt of the initial application, the 

Department shall notify the manufacturer of any items necessary 

to complete the application or notify the manufacturer that the 

application is complete. This determination shall not constitute a 

qualitative review of the information provided, nor the approval 

or denial of the proposed system designation. Specified additional 

information shall be received within 180 days or the application 

file shall be closed. 

(c)  Upon receipt of a complete application, the Department shall 

conduct a qualitative review in accordance with PIA Approval 

criteria identified in Rules .1704, .1705, and .1706 of this Section, 

as applicable. 

(d)  For systems that are certified and listed by a nationally 

recognized certification body, the Department shall complete its 

review and determine whether to approve or deny Provisional 

System applications within 90 days of receipt of a complete 

application. 

(e)  The Department shall complete its review and determine 

whether to approve or deny Innovative System applications 

within 90 days of publication in the North Carolina Register of 

the notice of receipt of a complete application. 

(f)  The Department shall prepare and submit its findings and 

recommendations for a Functionally Equivalent Trench System or 

an Accepted System to the Commission within 120 days of receipt 

of a complete application. 

(g)  Upon request by the petitioner, the Commission may modify 

the 180-day time frame for receipt of additional information 

specified by the Department for a Functionally Equivalent Trench 

System or Accepted System petition based on a determination that 

a petition is incomplete and additional information is needed. The 

petitioner may also request Commission review of the 

Department's determination that a petition is incomplete or 

additional information request. 

(h)  The Department shall notify the applicant and LHDs of the 

approval or denial of a PIA System. The PIA Approval shall 

include conditions for permitting, siting, installation, use, 

monitoring, operation and maintenance, and number of systems 

that can be installed. When an application is denied, the 

Department shall inform the applicant in writing of the reason for 

denial. The Department shall assign a unique code to the approved 

products for tracking purposes. 

(i)  An applicant may reapply in accordance with this Section. 

When reapplying, a new application shall be required and the 

applicant shall make a new fee payment as required by G.S. 130A-

343(k). 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1704 APPROVAL CRITERIA FOR 

PROVISIONAL SYSTEMS 

(a)  A dispersal system shall be approved for use as a Provisional 

System when the following criteria have been met: 

(1) documentation of one of the following is 

provided: 

(A) a minimum of 50 installations that 

have been in use for a minimum of 12 

months, with available information 

indicating comparable hydraulic 

performance and rate of malfunction 

to a conventional trench system; 

(B) the system's design is functionally 

similar to another approved system 

described elsewhere in this 

Subchapter, or to a PIA System 

approved in accordance with this 

Section. The system's design and 

functional similarity shall be equal or 

superior to the approved comparable 

system for the following: material 

physical properties and chemical 

durability; field installed permeable 

sidewall area and bottom infiltrative 

area; method and manner of function 

for conveyance and application of 

effluent; structural integrity; and field 

installed storage volume; 

(C) the system has been certified and listed 

by a nationally recognized 

certification body, as defined by G.S. 

130A-343(a)(6), for a period that 

exceeds one year; or 

(D) the system has complied with a 

comparable evaluation protocol used 

for system approval in other states. 

The comparable evaluation protocol 

shall include information on relevant 

conditions such as wastewater system 

design, soil and site conditions, 

climate, and hydrology and be 

reviewed by the Department; 

(2) documentation of load testing is provided that 

demonstrates the structural integrity to be 

comparable to a conventional trench system, 

including subjecting the trench system to the 

following without collapsing, fracturing, or 

breaking when installed in a trench with the 

proposed product configuration and width: 

(A) an axle load of 16,000 pounds when 

covered with 12 inches of compacted 

soil; and 

(B) an axle load of 4,000 pounds when 

covered with six inches of compacted 

soil; and 

(3) a proposed evaluation protocol to be overseen 

by a third-party evaluator is submitted to the 

Department for review. The evaluation protocol 

shall ensure that all information necessary to 

satisfy the criteria to achieve Innovative 

Approval, as specified in G.S. 130A-343(f) and 

Rule .1705 of this Section, is collected. The 

protocol shall include the following: 

(A) a minimum of 100 installations 

operational and in use for a minimum 

of 12 months; and 

(B) sufficient information collected to 

evaluate the system's hydraulic 
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performance, structural integrity and 

rate of malfunction compared with a 

conventional trench system. 

(b)  Advanced pretreatment systems shall be approved for use as 

a Provisional System when the following criteria have been met: 

(1) documentation of one of the following is 

provided for designs complying with TS-I, TS-

II, or RCW effluent standards: 

(A) a minimum of 50 complete third-party 

field verification data sets from a 

minimum of 15 sites that have been in 

use for six months, including all 

constituents necessary to verify 

compliance with the applicable 

effluent standard. Two to five data sets 

may be from the same site if collected 

a minimum of three months apart, with 

no data excluded from the field 

sampling sites. The data sets shall 

demonstrate compliance with TS-I, 

TS-II, or RCW effluent standards in 

accordance with Rule .1710 of this 

Section; 

(B) the system's design is functionally 

similar to another approved system 

described elsewhere in this 

Subchapter, or to a Provisional or 

Innovative System approved in 

accordance with this Section. The 

system's design and functional 

similarity shall be equal or superior to 

the comparable system for all of the 

following: material physical 

properties and chemical durability; 

structural integrity; biological, 

chemical, or physical treatment 

processes; method and manner of 

function for conveyance and 

application of effluent through the 

system; and number and size of system 

compartments; 

(C) the system has been certified and listed 

by a nationally recognized 

certification body, as defined by G.S. 

130A-343(a)(6), for a period that 

exceeds one year; or 

(D) the system has complied with a 

comparable evaluation protocol used 

for system approval in other states. 

The comparable evaluation protocol 

shall include information on relevant 

conditions such as wastewater system 

design, soil types, climate, and 

hydrology and be reviewed by the 

Department; and 

(2) a proposed evaluation protocol to be overseen 

by a third-party evaluator is submitted to the 

Department for review. The evaluation protocol 

shall ensure that all information necessary to 

satisfy the criteria to achieve Innovative 

Approval, as specified in G.S. 130A-343(f) and 

Rule .1705 of this Section, is collected. The 

protocol shall include one of the following: 

(A) for a system that has been certified and 

listed by a nationally recognized 

certification body, as defined by G.S. 

130A-343(a)(6) for a period that 

exceeds two consecutive years, a 

minimum of 50 complete third-party 

field verification data sets from a 

minimum of 15 sites in operation for a 

minimum of six months, including all 

constituents necessary to verify 

compliance with the applicable 

effluent standard. Two to five data sets 

may be from the same site if collected 

a minimum of three months apart, with 

no data excluded from the field 

sampling sites. The data may be 

collected from systems in-state or out-

of-state. The data sets shall show 

compliance with TS-I, TS-II, or RCW 

effluent standards in accordance with 

Rule .1710 of this Subchapter, as 

applicable; or 

(B) a minimum of 150 complete third-

party field verification data sets from a 

minimum of 50 sites in operation for a 

minimum of six months, including all 

constituents necessary to verify 

compliance with the applicable 

effluent standard. Two to five data sets 

may be from the same site if collected 

a minimum of three months apart, with 

no data excluded from the field 

sampling sites. The data may be 

collected from systems in-state or out-

of-state. The data sets shall 

demonstrate compliance with TS-I, 

TS-II, or RCW effluent standards in 

accordance with Rule .1710 of this 

Section, as applicable. 

(c)  Manufacturers requesting Provisional Approval as both an 

advanced pretreatment and dispersal system shall meet the 

requirements for advanced pretreatment and dispersal as 

described in this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1705 APPROVAL CRITERIA FOR 

INNOVATIVE SYSTEMS 

(a)  A dispersal system shall be approved for use as an Innovative 

System when the following criteria have been met: 

(1) the performance requirements for an Innovative 

System identified in G.S. 130A-343(a)(5) and 

(g) have been met; 

(2) materials used in construction are equal or 

superior in physical properties, chemical 
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durability, and structural integrity compared to 

materials used for similar proposed systems 

described in other Sections of this Subchapter; 

(3) the system has been demonstrated to perform 

equal or superior to a system that is described 

in other Sections of this Subchapter or to an 

Innovative or Accepted System previously 

approved in accordance with this Section, based 

upon controlled pilot-scale research studies or 

statistically valid monitoring of full-scale 

operational systems; 

(4) the system has met one of the following criteria: 

(A) the system has completed an 

evaluation protocol as a Provisional 

System in accordance with Rule .1704 

of this Section; 

(B) the manufacturer has provided 

comparable third-party research and 

testing conducted in other states, with 

the data and findings of all evaluations 

of the system performance, that 

support the proposed use of the 

system. The comparable research shall 

include information on relevant 

conditions, such as wastewater system 

design, soil and site conditions, 

climate, and hydrology; or 

(C) the system has been evaluated in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-343(g)(3); 

and 

(5) the following documentation is provided: 

(A) load testing that demonstrates the 

structural integrity to be comparable to 

a conventional trench system, 

including subjecting the trench system 

to an axle load of 16,000 pounds when 

covered with 12 inches of compacted 

soil and an axle load of 4,000 pounds 

when covered with six inches of 

compacted soil without collapsing, 

fracturing, or breaking; 

(B) a minimum of 100 installations 

operational and in use for a minimum 

of one year. The 100 installations sites 

may include any combination of 

systems installed in conjunction with 

an approved Provisional System 

evaluation completed in North 

Carolina and systems in other states; 

and 

(C) system hydraulic performance and rate 

of malfunction is equal or superior to 

the demonstrated performance of a 

conventional trench system. 

(b)  Advanced pretreatment systems complying with TS-I, TS-II, 

or RCW effluent standards shall be approved for use as an 

Innovative System when the following information is provided: 

(1) information required in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

through (a)(4) of this Rule; and 

(2) documentation of one of the following: 

(A) for a system that has been certified and 

listed by a nationally recognized 

certification body, as defined by G.S. 

130A-343(a)(6) for a period that 

exceeds two consecutive years, a 

minimum of 50 complete third-party 

field verification data sets from a 

minimum of 15 sites in operation for a 

minimum of six months, including all 

constituents necessary to verify 

compliance with the applicable 

effluent standard. Two to five data sets 

may be from the same site if collected 

a minimum of three months apart, with 

no data excluded from the field 

sampling sites. The data may be 

collected from systems in-state or out-

of-state. The data sets shall 

demonstrate compliance with TS-I, 

TS-II, or RCW effluent standards in 

accordance with Rule .1710 of this 

Section; or 

(B) a minimum of 150 complete third-

party field verification data sets from a 

minimum of 50 sites in operation for a 

minimum of six months, including all 

constituents necessary to verify 

compliance with the applicable 

effluent standard. Two to five data sets 

may be from the same site if collected 

a minimum of three months apart, with 

no data excluded from the field 

sampling sites. The 50 sites may 

include a combination of sites 

monitored in conjunction with an 

approved Provisional System 

evaluation completed in North 

Carolina and sites in other states. The 

data sets shall demonstrate 

compliance with TS-I, TS-II, or RCW 

effluent standards in accordance with 

Rule .1710 of this Section. 

(c)  Manufacturers requesting Innovative Approval as both an 

advanced pretreatment and dispersal system shall meet the 

requirements for advanced pretreatment and dispersal as 

described in this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1706 APPROVAL CRITERIA FOR 

ACCEPTED SYSTEMS 

(a)  The Commission shall designate a wastewater dispersal 

system as an Accepted System when it finds based on the 

information provided in accordance with this Rule that the 

standards set forth by G.S. 130A-343(a)(1) and G.S. l30A-343(h) 

have been met. 
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(b)  The following information shall be provided by the petitioner 

and reviewed by the Commission prior to granting Accepted 

System status: 

(1) documentation of a minimum of 300 systems 

installed statewide and in use for more than five 

years as an approved Innovative System or a 

wastewater dispersal system identified in the 

rules of this Subchapter; 

(2) data and findings of all prior evaluations of the 

system performance as provided by the 

manufacturer; 

(3) results of prior performance surveys of the 

systems in use in North Carolina for at least the 

five-year period immediately preceding the 

petition, including any information available to 

the manufacturer pertinent to the accuracy and 

validity of performance surveys not completed 

under their control; 

(4) review(s) of records on system use and 

performance reported by LHDs, authorized 

designers, installers, and Management Entities 

documenting the experiences with performance 

of the system in North Carolina, including 

information collected and reported in 

accordance with Rules .1711 and.1713 of this 

Section. The Department, in consultation with 

the manufacturer, shall evaluate the accuracy 

and validity of performance data and surveys 

considered for inclusion in the review. LHDs 

and other stakeholders shall be invited to 

participate in the discussion; and 

(5) the results of a statistically valid survey of 

system performance in North Carolina in 

accordance with Paragraphs (d) or (g) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  The manufacturer shall propose a plan for the statistically 

valid survey. The Department shall concur with the proposed 

survey plan prior to the survey being performed. The plan shall 

specify the following information: 

(1) number of systems to be evaluated; 

(2) period of evaluation; 

(3) method to randomly select systems to be 

evaluated; 

(4) methods of field and data evaluation; and 

(5) proposed survey team members, including 

proposed cooperative arrangements to be made 

with Department and LHD staff. 

(d)  The proposed survey shall meet one of the following survey 

protocols: 

(1) a field survey of test and control systems that 

compares the failure rates between the systems. 

Statistical analysis of the survey results using a 

one-sided test shall document at the 95 percent 

confidence level that there is a five percent or 

less chance that a difference in failure rates of 

five percentage points or more would occur by 

chance. The field survey shall meet the 

following criteria: 

(A) a minimum of 250 randomly selected 

test and control systems that have been 

in operation for at least two years and 

are currently in use, for a total of at 

least 500 systems that are surveyed; 

(B) a minimum of 40 percent of both test 

and control systems shall have been in 

operation for at least five years; 

(C) systems surveyed shall be distributed 

among the Soil Groups in the Coastal, 

Piedmont, and Mountain regions of 

the State in approximate proportion to 

their use across the State; 

(D) systems shall be evaluated from 

February 1 through April 15; and 

(E) similar numbers of test and control 

systems of similar ages shall be 

surveyed during similar time periods 

across the State; or 

(2) a field survey of test systems only. The failure 

rate determined by the field survey shall not 

exceed seven percent at the 95 percent 

confidence level. The field survey for test 

systems only shall meet the following criteria: 

(A) the system is identified in the rules of 

this Subchapter and the manufacturer 

provides documentation that there 

have been at least 3,000 operational 

systems installed in the state in more 

than one county. The systems shall 

have been installed over at least an 

eight-year period with a total reported 

failure rate statewide of less than two 

percent. The statewide failure rate is 

based on records provided by the 

manufacturer and monthly activity 

reports from the LHD; 

(B) a minimum of 250 randomly selected 

systems that are currently in operation 

are surveyed; and 

(C) the survey criteria in Subparagraph 

(d)(1) of this Rule are met. 

(e)  The Department shall facilitate LHD participation with any 

performance review or survey. 

(f)  The Department shall utilize the Division of Public Health's 

State Center for Health Statistics for assistance in evaluating the 

statistical validity of the proposed evaluation protocols. 

(g)  Other criteria for determining whether the test system has 

been in general use and other survey protocols, which evaluate 

different numbers of test and control systems or test systems only, 

may be approved by the Department. The survey protocol shall be 

designed to verify equal or superior performance of the test 

system when compared to the control system under actual field 

conditions in North Carolina. The alternative survey protocol 

shall be demonstrated to have comparable statistical validity as 

described in Subparagraph (d) of this Rule. The Department's 

review and approval of proposed alternate criteria for determining 

whether the system has been in general use or alternative survey 
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protocols are subject to review and concurrence by the 

Commission. 

(h)  The Commission shall impose any use, design, installation, 

operation, maintenance, monitoring, and management conditions 

in accordance with G.S. 130A-343. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343; S.L. 2014-120, 

s.47; S.L. 2019-151, s.13. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1707 DESIGN AND INSTALLATION 

CRITERIA FOR PROVISIONAL, INNOVATIVE, AND 

ACCEPTED APPROVALS 

All products approved under this Section shall be designed and 

installed in accordance with the requirements of the PIA 

Approval. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1708 MODIFICATION, SUSPENSION, 

AND REVOCATION OF APPROVALS 

(a)  The Department may modify the PIA Approval of a system 

as provided for in G.S. 130A-343(c) and as follows: 

(1) to comply with subsequent changes in laws or 

rules which affect their approval; 

(2) based upon a written application from the 

manufacturer of an approved Provisional or 

Innovative System that seeks to modify their 

system or its conditions of approval, including 

siting or sizing criteria. If the manufacturer 

demonstrates that the modified system will 

perform in a manner equal or superior to the 

approved system in terms of structural integrity, 

chemical durability, hydraulic performance, 

and wastewater treatment, the Department shall 

approve the modified system with the same 

status as the previously approved system; or 

(3) based upon a written application from the 

manufacturer of an approved Accepted System 

that seeks to modify their system or its 

conditions of approval, including siting or 

sizing criteria. The manufacturer shall 

demonstrate that the modified system will 

perform in a manner equal or superior to the 

approved system in terms of structural integrity, 

chemical durability, hydraulic performance, 

and wastewater treatment. The Commission 

shall approve proposed modifications to 

Accepted Systems when it finds based on the 

information provided in accordance with this 

Rule that the standards set forth by G.S. 130A-

343(a)(1) and G.S. 130A-343(h) have been met. 

(b)  The Department shall suspend or revoke the PIA Approval of 

a system as provided for in G.S. 130A-343(c) and as follows: 

(1) the advanced pretreatment system fails to 

comply with the compliance criteria in Rule 

.1710 of this Section; 

(2) the modified system fails to perform in a 

manner equal or superior to the previously 

approved PIA System; 

(3) the system fails to comply with the conditions 

of its PIA Approval or comply with applicable 

laws and rules; or 

(4) the manufacturer loses their approval or 

discontinues their listing by any nationally 

recognized certification body, if applicable. 

The manufacturer shall notify the Department 

in writing within 30 days of any changes in their 

approval status with a nationally recognized 

certification body. 

(c)  The Commission shall modify, suspend, or revoke its approval 

of a modified Accepted System if the modified system or 

component fails to perform in a manner equal or superior to the 

previously approved system. The Department shall notify the 

Commission of any action required for Commission approval of 

any modifications to the status of an Accepted System. 

(d)  Modification, suspension, or revocation of a PIA Approval 

shall not affect systems previously installed in accordance with 

the approval. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343; S.L. 2014-120, 

s.47. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1709 WASTEWATER SAMPLING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR ADVANCED PRETREATMENT 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  Wastewater sampling requirements shall vary in accordance 

with wastewater system classification, designated effluent 

standard, DDF, and performance history. 

(1) Provisional Systems shall be grab or composite 

sampled quarterly for all applicable influent and 

effluent constituents listed in Table XXV of 

Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter until the 

system receives Innovative Approval. 

(2) When the DDF is less than or equal to 1,500 

gpd, Innovative Systems shall be grab or 

composite sampled annually for all applicable 

influent and effluent constituents from Table 

XXV of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter. 

(3) When the DDF is greater than 1,500 gpd and 

less than or equal to 3,000 gpd, Innovative 

Systems shall be grab or composite sampled 

twice a year for all applicable influent and 

effluent constituents listed in Table XXV of 

Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter. 

(4) Sampling for Fecal Coliforms shall not be 

required for Innovative Systems at any site that 

is found to be compliant with all other 

constituents in Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of 

this Subchapter. 

(5) Innovative Systems serving vacation rentals 

subject to the North Carolina Vacation Rental 

Act, G.S. 42A, shall be sampled during the 

seasonal high use period. 

(6) Effluent may be re-sampled within 30 days of 

receipt of laboratory results indicating non-

compliance with Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) 

of this Subchapter if requested by the owner, 

manufacturer, or manufacturer's representative, 
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or required in a PIA Approval. Complete data 

sets from resampling may be substituted to 

comply with the minimum number of compliant 

data sets required for PIA Approval. Data sets 

from resampling may be used by a 

manufacturer as part of a reduced effluent 

sampling request in accordance with Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(7) The Management Entity may record daily 

wastewater flow and sample influent to the 

advanced pretreatment system as needed to 

determine compliance with Rule .1302(f) of 

this Subchapter. 

(8) A manufacturer of a Provisional or Innovative 

System may apply for adjusted sampling 

requirements in accordance with this Rule. 

(b)  The manufacturer of a Provisional System may apply to the 

Department in accordance with Rule .1701 of this Section to 

request adjusted effluent sampling requirements for Fecal 

Coliforms. The Department shall approve the request when the 

documentation submitted to the Department includes the 

following information: 

(1) data from a minimum of five separate North 

Carolina sites in operation for a minimum of six 

months after the Provisional Approval has been 

issued; 

(2) a minimum of 25 data sets, including results for 

Fecal Coliforms. No data sets shall be excluded. 

Data sets may be from the same site if collected 

a minimum of three months apart; and 

(3) analysis indicating compliant system 

performance in accordance with Rule .1710 of 

this Section. 

(c)  If an effluent sample for a Provisional or Innovative System 

that is not required to sample for Fecal Coliforms is determined 

to be non-compliant with Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of this 

Subchapter, the effluent may be re-sampled in accordance with 

Rule .1302(f)(2) of this Subchapter. If re-sampled, the effluent 

shall also be sampled for Fecal Coliforms in addition to all other 

applicable constituents. If re-sampling indicates compliance with 

Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter, no further Fecal 

Coliform sampling is required from that site, unless an effluent 

sample is again determined to be non-compliant for one or more 

constituents. 

(d)  The manufacturer of an Innovative System may apply to the 

Department in accordance with Rule .1701 of this Section to 

request an adjustment in sampling requirements for constituents 

or frequency, including reducing to field parameters only. The 

Department shall approve the request when one of the following 

conditions are met: 

(1) documentation submitted to the Department 

includes the following information: 

(A) data from a minimum of 25 separate 

North Carolina sites in operation for a 

minimum of six months after the 

Innovative Approval has been issued; 

(B) written reports summarizing results of 

the VIP inspections for all North 

Carolina sites submitted as part of this 

Rule; 

(C) a minimum of 50 complete data sets, 

with no data excluded. Data sets may 

be from the same site if collected a 

minimum of three months apart; 

(D) analysis indicating compliant system 

performance in accordance with Rule 

.1710 of this Section; and 

(E) identification of the constituents for 

which the manufacturer requests a 

reduced sampling frequency; 

(2) the proprietary advanced pretreatment system is 

also certified and listed by a nationally 

recognized certification body and is in 

compliance with the ongoing verification 

program of such body, and the manufacturer is 

requesting a reduction in data set requirements 

set forth in Rule .1705 of this Section by up to 

50 percent only; or 

(3) the manufacturer has demonstrated compliant 

system performance in accordance with Rule 

.1710 of this Section and is only requesting to 

replace the requirement for routine effluent 

sampling as set forth in Rule .1705 of this 

Section for all individual sites with routine field 

constituent testing that is included as part of the 

VIP. 

(e)  Systems approved for field parameters shall only be required 

to sample the field parameters listed in Table XXXIII at the site 

during a VIP Management Entity inspection. The PIA Approval 

may specify other field parameters or alternative field parameter 

effluent criteria. The results shall be recorded in the written report. 

If the field parameters fall outside the range specified in the PIA 

Approval, an effluent sample shall be collected and analyzed for 

all parameters as necessary to demonstrate system compliance 

with the site's applicable effluent standard specified in Table XXV 

of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter. 

 

TABLE XXXIII. Field parameters advanced pretreatment 

systems 

Field Parameter Effluent Criteria 

pH 5 - 9 

Turbidity ≤ 10 

DO ≥ 2 

 

(f)  While routine sampling of individual sites may no longer be 

required in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule, effluent 

sampling may still be determined to be necessary during the visual 

inspection of the system in accordance with Rule .1302(d) of this 

Subchapter or if required as part of an enforcement action by the 

LHD or the Department. 

(g)  Alternative sampling requirements may be proposed by the 

manufacturer for a Provisional or Innovative System and 

approved by the Department when determined to provide an equal 

or more reliable indication of system compliance with effluent 

standards. 
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Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1710 COMPLIANCE CRITERIA FOR 

ADVANCED PRETREATMENT SYSTEMS 

An approved system shall be considered in compliance with the 

effluent standards of Rule .1002 or Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) 

of this Subchapter when all the following conditions are met: 

(1) the arithmetic mean for BOD5, TSS, TKN, and 

TN and the geometric mean for Fecal Coliform 

for all data collected from all sites does not 

exceed the designated effluent standard; 

(2) no more than 20 percent of all data from all sites 

shall exceed the designated effluent standard 

for any applicable constituent. A new complete 

data set for re-sampling conducted within 30 

days of receipt of a non-compliant data set may 

be substituted to demonstrate compliance with 

the designed effluent quality standard in 

accordance with Table XXV of Rule .1201(a) 

of this Subchapter; 

(3) fifty percent of all complete data sets from all 

sites shall comply with the designated effluent 

standard for all applicable constituents; 

(4) when determining compliance with system 

effluent standards in Items (1), (2), and (3) of 

this Rule, no data sets shall be excluded from 

individual advanced pretreatment systems 

except at single sites found to be out of 

compliance in accordance with Rule .1302(f) of 

this Subchapter and that have been documented 

to have been subjected to abuse, such as 

hydraulic or organic overloading, physical 

damage to the system, or discharge of 

deleterious substances; and 

(5) results of influent samples from all sites shall be 

provided to demonstrate compliance with 

percent reduction effluent criteria in accordance 

with Table XXV in Rule .1201(a) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1711 PROVISIONAL AND 

INNOVATIVE APPROVAL RENEWAL 

(a)  All PIA Approvals shall expire on December 31 of each year. 

PIA manufacturers or other parties who wish to continue product 

approval shall submit annually a product renewal form provided 

by the Department no later than November 30 of each year. 

(b)  The renewal form shall include the following updated 

elements: 

(1) company or organization's name, mailing 

address, phone and fax numbers, email address, 

and manufacturer's point of contact; 

(2) model number(s) approved; and 

(3) a notarized statement that the product(s) has not 

changed from the previous year without prior 

approval from the Department. 

(c)  The Department shall notify the manufacturer of the pending 

PIA Approval expiration in writing no later than September 30 of 

each year. The notification shall include information on how to 

request PIA Approval renewal. 

(d)  Manufacturers of proprietary products with Provisional 

Approvals shall additionally submit with its renewal form an 

annual report to the Department with the following information: 

(1) list of all systems installed under the 

Provisional Approval; 

(2) results of all effluent samples collected, as 

applicable; 

(3) copies of all Management Entity inspection 

reports, as applicable; 

(4) assessment of system performance in relation to 

this Subchapter; 

(5) summary of progress made to complete 

installations, research, and testing as outlined in 

the approved evaluation protocol; 

(6) any conditions and limitations related to the use 

of the system; and 

(7) a list of all authorized designers, installers, and 

management entities. 

(e)  A PIA Approval shall be deemed to be renewed upon receipt 

of a renewal form that contains all of the elements set out in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and annual report in accordance with 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule.  

(f)  The Department shall review all annual reports for Provisional 

Approvals for compliance with its PIA approval conditions, 

including its approved evaluation protocol, and determine 

whether any action to modify, suspend, or revoke the approval is 

warranted in accordance with Rule .1708 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1712 AUTHORIZED DESIGNERS, 

INSTALLERS, AND MANAGEMENT ENTITIES 

(a)  Designers, installers, and Management Entities shall be 

authorized in writing by the manufacturer when required in the 

PIA Approval based on product specific factors, such as 

wastewater system classification, designated effluent standard, 

DDF, wastewater strength, complexity, and operation and 

maintenance. 

(b)  Manufacturers of proprietary systems approved under this 

Section shall provide a list of manufacturer's authorized designers, 

installers, and Management Entities, as specified in the PIA 

Approval, to the Department and LHDs. The manufacturers shall 

update this list annually and include it with the product renewal 

form required in accordance with Rule .1711(a) of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1713 LOCAL HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES 

To implement this Section the LHD shall: 

(1) When a Provisional System is proposed, 

confirm that the designated repair system 

complies with the provisions of Rule .0508 of 

this Subchapter and with individual PIA 

Approval requirements, except: 

(a) when an existing wastewater system is 

available for immediate use, including 
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connection to a public or community 

wastewater system; 

(b) when the Provisional System is used 

as a repair to an existing 

malfunctioning system when there are 

no other approved Innovative or 

Accepted repair options; or 

(c) as provided in G.S. 130A-343(f) for 

Provisional Systems. 

(2) Notify the Department of all IPs, CAs, and OPs 

issued for Provisional Systems. 

(3) Notify the Department of all OPs issued for 

Innovative Systems. 

(4) Permit systems designated as Accepted 

Systems in an equivalent manner to a 

conventional system at the owner's request. The 

Accepted System shall be sited and sized in 

accordance with Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter or PIA Approval. The type of 

Accepted System installed shall be indicated on 

the OP. The owner shall re-apply to the LHD 

and receive a new or revised IP or CA for any 

of the following before system installation: 

(a) location of any part of the dispersal 

field outside of the approved initial 

dispersal field area; 

(b) changes to the trench depth, and slope 

correction if applicable, specified on 

the IP or CA; 

(c) changes to the effluent distribution 

method; or 

(d) changes to the DDF or wastewater 

strength. 

(5) Grant permit reductions in total trench length 

less than or equal to 25 percent for Innovative 

or Accepted Systems only to dispersal fields 

receiving DSE or better quality. A facility with 

a full kitchen shall not be granted a permit 

reduction in total trench length. 

(6) Grant facilities generating HSE the 25 percent 

reduction allowed for Innovative or Accepted 

Systems if the system includes an approved 

advanced pretreatment system designed to 

ensure effluent strength equal to or better than 

DSE. 

(7) Prohibit issuance of an OP for a proprietary 

system installed by a person not authorized by 

the manufacturer, unless the manufacturer of 

the proprietary system approves the installation 

in writing. 

(8) Inform the Department, as well as the 

manufacturer or their authorized representative, 

of any system determined to be malfunctioning. 

If the system has been permitted in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-336.1 or G.S. 130A-336.2 and 

Rule .0207 of this Subchapter, the LHD shall 

instruct the owner to contact the PE or AOWE 

for determination of the reason and the 

malfunction and development of an NOI for 

repairs. 

(9) Issue a NOV to the owner when the system is 

determined to be malfunctioning in accordance 

with Rule .1303(a)(1) and (2) of this Subchapter 

or when an individual advanced pretreatment 

system at a single site is out of compliance in 

accordance with Rule .1302(f) of this 

Subchapter. The notice shall identify the 

violations and steps necessary to remedy the 

problems, including modification of the system, 

established time frame to achieve compliance, 

other follow-up requirements, and specify 

further enforcement possibilities if compliance 

is not achieved. 

(10) Include in its monthly activity report submitted 

to the Department the following information 

identified by unique codes: 

(a) number of new system OPs issued for 

PIA Systems; 

(b) number of new system OPs issued for 

Accepted Systems; 

(c) number of CAs issued for Provisional 

Systems, including system type; 

(d) number of CAs issued for repairs of 

PIA Systems, including system type 

being repaired; 

(e) number of CAs issued for repairs of 

Accepted Systems, including system 

type being repaired; and 

(f) repair system type. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343. 

 

 

TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Transportation - 

Division of Motor Vehicles intends to amend the rules cited as 

19A NCAC 03D .0221, .0224, .0226, .0526, readopt without 

substantive changes the rules cited as 19A NCAC 03D .0223, 

.0225, .0227, .0229, .0402-.0405, .0517-.0523, .0525, .0527-

.0545, .0550-.0552, and repeal through readoption the rule cited 

as 19A NCAC 03D .0102. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdot.gov/about-us/how-we-operate/policy-

process/rules/Pages/default.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 20, 2021 
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Time:  11:00 a.m. 

 

Location:  Register to attend and view the Virtual Meeting using 

a computer, tablet or smartphone: 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/55053687971391668

7  

If no computer access, please call in to the meeting at 1-919-614-

3221 then dial attendee access code: 285-498-279. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapters 19A NCAC 03B, 03C, 03D, 

03E, 03F, 03G, 03I, and 03J these proposed rules were 

determined as "Necessary With Substantive Public Interest" thus 

necessitating readoption. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rules to be necessary without substantive changes and 

are recommended for readoption: 19A NCAC 03D .0223, .0225, 

.0227, .0229, .0402-.0405, .0517-.0523, .0525, .0527-.0545, and 

.0550-.0552. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rule to be unnecessary and is recommending repeal: 

19A NCAC 03D .0102. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rules needing amendments: 19A NCAC 03D .0221, 

.0224, .0226, and .0526. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Hannah D. Jernigan, 1501 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1501; email 

Rulemaking@ncdot.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 3, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 03 - DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

SUBCHAPTER 03D - ENFORCEMENT SECTION 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0102 FORMS AND PUBLICATIONS 

All forms and publications pertaining to this Subchapter are on 

file in the Office of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles and are 

available for inspection during normal working hours. 

 

Authority G.S. 20-1. 

 

SECTION .0200 - MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER, SALES, 

DISTRIBUTOR AND FACTORY REPRESENTATIVE 

LICENSE 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0221 CONDITIONS FOR ISSUING 

TEMPORARY MARKERS BY A DEALER 

(a)  Before a temporary marker can be issued by a A dealer shall 

meet the following conditions must be met: before issuing a 

temporary marker: 

(1) Ownership in the vehicle must shall pass from 

the dealer to the purchaser by: by assigning the 

title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin and 

by delivering the vehicle to the buyer.: 

(A) assigning the title or, Manufacturer's 

Certificate of Origin; and 

(B) delivering the vehicle to the buyer. 

(2) Dealer has met all obtained from purchaser an 

application and fee requirements pursuant to 

G.S. 20-79.1. for registering and titling of the 

purchased vehicle. 

(3) Dealer has collected all prescribed fees for 

titling and registering the vehicle. 

(3) Dealer has proof of certification (Form FR-2) 

certifying liability insurance pursuant to G.S. 

20-79.21. in effect. 

(4) Exception. Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (3) of this 

Rule do shall not apply when the dealer is 

selling the vehicle to an out-of-state purchaser 

and the vehicle is to be removed from the State 

of North Carolina to the purchaser's home state 

place of residency prior to the expiration of the 

30-day temporary registration marker. Proof of 

insurance Form FS-1 FR-2 (Insurance 

Certification) shall be completed and kept by 

the dealer as part of his or her records. 

(b)  Procedure for issuance of 30-day temporary markers: 

(1) All 30-day temporary markers shall be issued in 

numerical order, beginning with the lowest 

number of the set or sets. 

(2) The vehicle identification number, the make, 

the issuance date, and the expiration date shall 

be entered clearly and indelibly on the face of 

the temporary marker. 

(3) A receipt, which corresponds in number with 

the 30-day temporary marker, shall be issued. 
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(4) The receipt shall be completed in duplicate 

duplicate, with pen and ink, and must shall be 

legible. 

(5) The white copy of the receipt, with the 30-day 

marker, shall be delivered to the purchaser. The 

pink copy is to shall be retained in the book by 

the issuing dealer for at least one year. 

(6) Pursuant to G.S. 20-52, All all documents 

necessary to title and register the vehicle shall 

be presented to a license plate agency or mailed 

to the North Carolina Division of Motor 

Vehicles within four working days from date of 

issuance. When the purchaser is a nonresident, 

a 30-day temporary marker may be issued to the 

nonresident for the sole purpose of removing 

the vehicle to his or her home state, place of 

residency provided the customer has in effect 

liability insurance with a company licensed in 

North Carolina. The dealer is neither required 

to obtain from such nonresident a written 

application for North Carolina registration nor 

to collect the North Carolina registration fees. 

However, Form FR-2 FS-1 shall be completed 

and kept by the dealer as part of his or her 

records. If a plate is to be transferred, a 30-day 

temporary marker cannot be issued. All 

required information shall be recorded on the 

report sheet in the back of receipt book. 

(7) All 30-day temporary markers and receipts that 

are voided shall be marked "void" void and 

recorded on the report sheet. The white copy of 

the receipt and the 30-day temporary marker 

shall be forwarded to the North Carolina 

Division of Motor Vehicles Enforcement 

Section License and Theft Bureau together with 

the report sheets. Receipts and 30-day 

temporary markers that do not match shall be 

returned to the Division after recording on 

report sheet. The receipt is not to shall not be 

altered. 

(8) Only one 30-day temporary marker may shall 

be issued per vehicle per sale. sale unless 

requirements in G.S. 20-79.1(h) are met. 

(9) Upon issuance of all receipts (Markers) in each 

receipt book, the report sheet must shall be 

completed in duplicate and the original mailed 

to the Division. A copy of the report sheet must 

be retained by the Dealer for one year. 

(10) All 30-day temporary markers are non-

transferable between dealers. 

 

Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-79.1. 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0223 DEALER PLATES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0224 ILLEGAL USE OF DEALER 

PLATES 

(a)  It is illegal to use dealer plates on vehicles operated for any 

other business that the dealer is engaged in. The sale of vehicles 

not required to be registered, excluding the sale of farm tractors 

which are part of the inventory of the dealer, is considered another 

business and delivery of such vehicles by motor transport is not 

permitted with dealer plates. A dealer shall only use dealer plates 

in accordance with the requirements of G.S. 20-79(d). 

(b)  Parts trucks used in delivering parts to other sales outlets may 

use dealer plates only if the sale of parts is incident to the dealer 

business. A parts business that is separate and apart from the 

dealership cannot use dealer plates. 

(c)  It is illegal to use dealer plates on vehicles that are not owned 

by the dealer. 

(d)(c)  It is illegal for persons other than dealers, corporate officers 

officers, immediate family members of an officer, sales 

representative, or employees of a an independent or franchised 

motor vehicle dealer who regularly work for the dealer at least 15 

hours a week, to operate a dealership vehicle unless they are in 

possession of a 96-hour permit. The said permit must shall include 

license plate number, permittee's name, address, driver's license 

number, date and hour of issue and must shall be signed by a 

dealer or sales manager and a person receiving the vehicle. A 

duplicate copy of the permit must shall be retained by the dealer. 

The permit is void if erasures are made. For purposes of this Rule, 

immediate family member is defined as a parent; spouse; sibling; 

child by blood, adoption, or marriage; grandparent or grandchild. 

(e)(d)  It is illegal to use dealer plates on wreckers used A wrecker 

shall not use dealer plates for general wrecker service or on 

wreckers which move vehicles on a rotation basis at the request 

of state or local law enforcement authorities. It is permissible to 

A wrecker may use a dealer plate on wreckers which tow vehicles 

for the dealer's customers only. 

(f)(e)  The civil penalty imposed upon a dealer pursuant to G.S. 

20-79(e)(2) is due in full upon assessment by the Division. The 

license of a dealer who willfully and intentionally fails to pay the 

civil penalty within 30 days after notice of the assessment is 

delivered to the dealer or an employee of the dealer shall be 

cancelled suspended by the Division until the penalty is paid in 

full. 

 

Authority G.S. 20-39; 20-79; 20-302; 20-294(2). 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0225 VEHICLES OFFERED FOR 

SALE OWNED BY DEALERSHIP (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0226 VEHICLES OFFERED FOR 

SALE ON CONSIGNMENT 

(a)  Any dealer offering a vehicle for sale that is on consignment 

from a manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, distributor 

branch, wholesaler wholesaler, or individual shall have in his 

possession a consignment contract for each vehicle, executed by 

both parties. 

(b)  The consignment contract shall consist of the following: 

(1) The effective dates of the contract.  
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(2) The complete name, first, middle and last name, 

address, and the telephone number, if available, 

of the owner. 

(3) A complete description of the vehicle on 

consignment, including the make, model, body 

style, year, and vehicle identification number.  

(4) The listing charges. 

(5) The percentage of commission or the amount of 

the commission the dealer is to get if the vehicle 

is sold. 

(6) The right of the dealer to receive the agreed 

upon commission, if vehicle is sold after the 

termination of the agreement and as a result of 

the dealer's effort, which shall not exceed 30 

days. 

(c)  Any dealer offering a vehicle for sale on consignment must 

shall tell the prospective customer that the vehicle is on 

consignment unless the dealer is going to take ownership of the 

vehicle by completing a re-assignment on the title documents. 

Any dealer selling a vehicle on consignment from a wholesaler 

must shall take ownership of that vehicle prior to its retail sale. 

(d)  Dealer plates cannot shall not be used to demonstrate a vehicle 

on consignment. However, the consignor's (owner's) The 

consignee's plate may be used so long as the vehicle registration 

is active and if liability insurance is in effect. 

(e)  In addition to a consignment contract, the dealer shall have in 

his possession keep on file an equipment listing of the vehicle, 

consisting of, but not limited to, the following: 

(1) Owners name and address. 

(2) Complete A description of the vehicle which 

shall include the year, make, model, body style, 

color, odometer reading, special or extra 

additional equipment, and the disclosure of 

known defects. 

(f)  The ownership documents of any vehicle on consignment 

must shall be made available by the dealer to any authorized agent 

of the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles employee on 

request. The ownership documents must be readily available from 

the owner. 

(g)  The owner must shall execute the ownership documents and 

deliver them to the purchaser at the time the vehicle is delivered. 

(h)  The vehicle must display a current safety inspection 

certificate. 

 

Authority G.S. 20-302. 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0227 VEHICLES OFFERED FOR 

SALE ON A FLOOR PLAN LIEN (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0229 CORP. SURETY BONDS: 

MOBILE/MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - NOTICE OF SALE AND STORED 

VEHICLES 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0402 UNCLAIMED MOTOR VEHICLE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0403 SALE OF VEHICLE TO SATISFY 

STORAGE OR MECHANIC'S LIEN (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0404 SALE OF MOTOR VEHICLE 

UNDER JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0405 SALE OF ABANDONED 

VEHICLE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - GENERAL INFORMATION 

REGARDING SAFETY INSPECTION OF MOTOR 

VEHICLES 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0517 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)  

 

19A NCAC 03D .0518 LICENSING OF SAFETY OR 

EMISSIONS INSPECTION STATIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)  

 

19A NCAC 03D .0519 STATIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)  

 

19A NCAC 03D .0520 MECHANIC REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0521 LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0522 DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR 

REVOCATION OF LICENSES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0523 OPERATION OF SAFETY OR 

EXHAUST EMISSIONS INSPECTION STATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0525 PRE-INSPECTION 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0526 SAFETY EQUIPMENT 

GRADING ITEMS 

The authorized safety equipment inspection mechanic shall 

approve or disapprove each inspected item. The following 

requirements shall apply: 

(1) If the item inspected is approved, a P check 

shall be placed in the appropriate block as 

indicated on the SI-15 form. by the inspection 

analyzer. 

(2) If the item inspected is not approved, an "X" F 

shall be placed in the appropriate block as 
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indicated on the SI-15 form. by the inspection 

analyzer. 

(3) If the disapproved item is corrected during 

inspection, C shall be placed in the appropriate 

block as indicated by the inspection analyzer. 

the appropriate block in "corrected during 

inspection' shall be checked as indicated on the 

SI-15 form.  

 

Authority G.S. 20-2; 20-39; 20-183.2; 20-183.4D; 20-183.6A. 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0527 EXHAUST EMISSION 

CONTROLS TAMPERING CHECK (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0528 SAFETY EQUIPMENT 

EXHAUST EMISSION INSPECTIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)  

 

19A NCAC 03D .0529 CERTIFICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0530 DISAPPROVAL (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0531 REINSPECTION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0531 REINSPECTION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0532 BRAKES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0533 LIGHTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0534 HORN (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0535 STEERING MECHANISM 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0536 WINDSHIELD WIPER 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0537 DIRECTIONAL SIGNALS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

19A NCAC 03D .0538 TIRES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0539 TIRES - DEFINITIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0540 REAR VIEW MIRRORS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0541 EXHAUST EMISSION 

CONTROLS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0542 EMISSIONS CONTROL DEVICE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0543 INSPECTION PROCEDURE FOR 

EMISSIONS EQUIPMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0544 SAFETY INSPECTION OF 

MOTORCYCLES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0545 INVESTIGATION/AUDITS/ 

SAFETY OR EXHAUST EMISSIONS INSPECTION 

STATIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0550 WAIVERS FROM EXHAUST 

EMISSIONS TEST REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0551 WINDOW TINTING 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 03D .0552 PHOTOMETER DESIGN AND 

PERFORMANCE REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 28 - LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board intends to amend the 

rules cited as 21 NCAC 28B .0103, .0204, .0402, .0403, .0503, 

and .0508. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.nclclb.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 20, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  3901 Barrett Drive, Suite 202, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 28B .0103 - To clarify where license numbers must be 

displayed and who may sign contracts. 

21 NCAC 28B .0204 - To establish a deadline in which licensees 

are required to notify the Board of a change in business status 
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and to confirm statutory requirement that financial responsibility 

always be maintained. 

21 NCAC 28B .0402 - To require licensees to obtain CE in a 

variety of topics and establish the date on which the requirement 

begins. 

21 NCAC 28B .0403 - To amend the period of time that a licensee 

must maintain their CE records.  

21 NCAC 28B .0503 - To include the installation of artificial turf 

within the jurisdiction of the Board. 

21 NCAC 28B .0508 - To provide clarification re:  installation of 

walls. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Calvin M. Kirven, The North 

Carolina Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board, 3901 Barrett 

Drive, Suite 202, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Comment period ends:  April 30, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 – STATUTORY AND ADMINISTRATIVE 

PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0103 PRACTICE OF LANDSCAPE 

CONTRACTING; DISPLAY OF LICENSE NUMBER 

(a)  An individual who is "readily available to exercise 

supervision over the landscape construction and contracting 

work" as set forth in G.S. 89D-12(a) and G.S. 89D-17(f) is an 

individual who is physically located no more than 100 miles from 

where the construction or contract project is located or who is 

available electronically with the ability to view the construction 

or contract project. 

(b)  The contractor's license number shall be displayed in 

accordance with G.S. 89D-12(3). 89D-12(e). License numbers 

displayed on vehicles used in the contractor's landscaping 

business shall be a minimum of one inch in height. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements of G.S. 89D-12(e), license 

numbers shall be included on all estimates and proposals. 

(d)  All contracts, estimates, and proposals shall be signed by the 

contractor or his or her designee. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-12(a) and (e); 89D-15(2). 

 

SECTION .0200 – LICENSURE; RECIPROCITY 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0204 MAINTAIN CURRENT 

INFORMATION 

(a)  Every licensee shall keep the Board advised of the licensee's 

current mailing address, phone number, email address, and the 

name or names under which the licensee is practicing. If any 

change occurs, the licensee shall notify the Board in writing of the 

change within 60 30 days. 

(b)  Upon the dissolution of a professional relationship, the 

member or members thereof shall notify the Board in writing 

within 30 days concerning such dissolution and of the succeeding 

business status and addresses of the individuals or firm. 

(c)  A licensee shall maintain a continuous surety bond coverage 

or an irrevocable letter of credit while the license is active. Within 

5 days after the lapse of a surety bond or revocation of a letter of 

credit prescribed in G.S. 89D-16(a)(4), a licensee shall notify the 

Board in writing. If a licensee fails to renew the surety bond or 

obtain a new letter of credit within 30 days after the lapse or 

revocation, the license shall be revoked. 

(d)  Failure to notify the Board of the changes described in 

Paragraphs (a), (b), or (c) of this Rule shall constitute a violation 

of G.S. 89D-22. 89D-22(a)(6). 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2), 89D-15(11); 89D-16(a)(4); 89D-

17(h); 89D-22(8); 89D-22(a)(8). 

 

SECTION .0400 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0402 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

UNITS 

(a)  A licensee shall complete in-person seven continuing 

education units (CEUs) during the year preceding renewal. 

Beginning with renewals filed after August 1, 2016, at At least 

three of the seven CEUs must be technical credits and at least two 

of the seven CEUs must be business credits. If the information 

provided to the Board as required by this Section is unclear, the 

Board may request additional information from a licensee in order 

to assure compliance with continuing education requirements. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) "technical credits" are defined as credits 

relating directly to the subject matter of 

landscape contracting as described in G.S. 89D-

11(3); and 89D-11(3) and Rules .0502 through 

.0511 in this Subchapter. The rules shall be 

grouped as follows: 

(A) Group A: topics covered in Rules 

.0502, .0503, 0510, and .0511 in this 

Subchapter. 

(B) Group B: topics covered in Rules 

.0504 and .0506 in this Subchapter. 
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(C) Group C: topics covered in Rules 

.0507 through .0509 in this 

Subchapter. 

(D) Group D: topics covered in Rule 

.0505; and 

(2) "business credits" are defined as credits relating 

to general business practices, including 

business planning, contracts, liability exposure, 

human resources, basic accounting, financial 

statements, and safety. 

(c)  Beginning with renewals filed after August 1, 2022, a licensee 

shall obtain one technical credit in at least two groups described 

in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule in each licensing year. A 

licensee shall obtain at least one technical credit in each of the 

distinct groups described in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule 

during a consecutive three-year period. 

(c)(d)  CEUs shall be determined as follows: 

 

Type of Qualifying 

Activity 

Minimum time 

required for 1 CEU 

Live course 50 minutes 

Online course 50 minutes 

Trade Shows, Field Days, 

and Tours 

4 hours 

Green Industry Board 

Member Service 

1 hour 5 hours 

maximum 

(3 technical and 2 

business) 

Teaching or instructing 1 hour 

In-house or Green 

Industry training 

1 hour 

NC Landscape 

Contractors Licensing 

Board Service 

5 hours maximum 

(3 technical and 2 

business) 

 

(d)(e)  No more than two CEU credits shall be given for qualifying 

teaching or instructing in one year. 

(e)  No more than four CEU credits shall be given for pesticide 

credits issued by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services in one year. 

(f)  Credit shall not be given in increments of less than .5 CEUs. 

Breaks in courses shall not be counted towards CEU credit. 

(g)  Requests for pre-approval as set forth in Rule .0405 of this 

Subchapter shall be submitted at least 45 days prior to the first day 

of the course or event. 

(h)  All continuing education shall be taken in-person by the 

individual receiving credit. 

(i)  A licensee shall not take the same CEU course within two 

consecutive licensing years. 

(j)  A licensee licensed less than 12 months shall not be subject to 

continuing education requirements for the initial renewal date as 

set forth in this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-15(12); 89D-20(b). 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0403 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECORDS; AUDIT 

(a)  A licensee shall maintain records of attendance at continuing 

education programs for which CEUs have been approved for two 

three years following the processing date of the renewal 

application to which the CEUs were applied. 

(b)  Compliance with annual CEU requirements shall be 

determined through a random audit process conducted by the 

Board. Licensees selected for auditing shall provide the Board 

with the following documentation of the CEU activities claimed 

for the renewal period: 

(1) Attendance attendance verification records; and 

(2) Information information regarding course 

content, instructors, and sponsoring 

organization. 

(c)  Licensees selected for audit shall submit all requested 

information to the Board within 21 calendar days after the date 

the licensee was notified by the Board of the audit. 

(d)  Failure to maintain compliance with the Board's continuing 

education requirements set forth in Rule .0402 of this Section 

shall result in the licensee's status being changed to inactive. 

administratively suspended. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-15(12); 89D-20(b). 

 

SECTION .0500 - MINIUMUM STANDARDS 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0503 TURF 

(a)  When establishing natural turf, the licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Notify the owner or the construction manager 

whether there is adequate time to establish the 

specified turf from seed within the construction 

schedule and prior to finish of the job; 

(2) Prior to lawn installation, loosen soil to a 

minimum depth of three inches; 

(3) Confirm that all lawn seed meets the standards 

of the NC Seed Law of 1963, as set forth in G.S. 

106, Art. 31; 

(4) Evenly distribute seed; 

(5) Apply seed at manufacturer's recommended 

rates; 

(6) Roll or rake after seeding to insure ensure good 

soil contact; 

(7) Install sod within 36 hours of harvesting unless 

weather conditions or turf types dictate a 

shorter timeframe; 

(8) Lay sod strips in a staggered pattern, horizontal 

to slopes and with tight seams; 

(9) Roll sod after installation to provide good soil 

contact; 

(10) Distribute sprigs evenly; 

(11) Insure Ensure that sprigs and sod plugs are in 

good contact with the soil; 

(12) Water lawn areas after installation and in 

accordance with the needs of the lawn; and 

(13) Notify client of his or her responsibility to water 

turf following installation. 

(b)  When installing artificial turf, the licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Ensure that the sub-grade is compacted and 

shall pitch properly to drain; 

(2) Establish a perimeter attachment system to 

secure the artificial turf; 
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(3) Roll out the turf with the nap facing a consistent 

direction; 

(4) Secure the turf with an evenly weighted sand 

layer distributed over the entire surface; and 

(5) Follow all manufacturer's specifications for the 

type of turf being installed. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(16). 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0508 WALLS 

(a)  When installing retaining walls, the licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Adhere to all pertinent codes. codes; 

(2) Adhere to all NC Department of Insurance 

requirements regarding the construction of 

retaining walls which are hereby incorporated 

by reference and can be found at 

www.ncosfm.gov/codes free of charge; 

(2)(3) Adhere to manufacturer's or design 

professionals specifications. specifications; 

(3)(4) Bury the first course of a retaining wall. wall; 

(4)(5) Not construct dry-laid stone walls of a height 

more than 3 feet above grade. grade; 

(5)(6) Include a subdrain system that is constructed 

and sized to release the subsurface water behind 

the wall and not allow hydrostatic pressure to 

build behind the wall. wall; 

(6)(7) Construct on a level, well-compacted base of 

granular material at least 6 inches deep. deep; 

(7)(8) Place backfill behind retaining walls in lifts no 

greater than 6 inches before compacted (each 

lift shall be well-compacted). well-compacted); 

(8)(9) Prevent excessive runoff from passing over a 

retaining wall. wall; 

(9)(10) Construct vertically-set timber walls with 

above-ground heights equal to or less than the 

depth of timbers below grade. grade; 

(10)(11) Install deadmen every fourth course on 8 feet 

centers when constructing horizontally-set 

timber retaining walls with staggered joints. 

joints; 

(11)(12) Stagger the joints when constructing dry-laid 

stone walls. If successive vertical joints occur, 

the licensed contractor shall avoid running 

vertical joints more than two courses. courses; 

and 

(13) Assure that segmental walls meet the 

manufacturer's specifications. 

(b)  When installing retaining walls of dry-laid stone or concrete 

rubble, the licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Construct the wall no higher than three feet 

above grade; and 

(2) Stagger the joints when constructing a dry-laid 

stone wall. 

(b)(c)  When installing freestanding walls, the licensed contractor 

shall: 

(1) Install footings for masonry and cast-in-place 

concrete freestanding walls of reinforced 

concrete. The top of the footing shall be at least 

1 foot below grade. 

(2) Reinforce freestanding walls as needed to 

prevent displacement from wind loads. 

(3) Insure Ensure that moisture is prevented from 

entering a cavity wall during construction. 

(4) Insure Ensure that segmental wall construction 

meets segmental wall manufacturer's 

specifications. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(16). 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on January 21, 2021 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

Severability 02 NCAC 61 .0112* 35:05 NCR 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

Definitions 10A NCAC 09 .0102* 35:04 NCR 

Application for a License for a Child Care Facility 10A NCAC 09 .0302* 35:04 NCR 

Temporary Licenses for Centers 10A NCAC 09 .0403* 35:04 NCR 

Safe Environment 10A NCAC 09 .0601* 35:04 NCR 

Safe Sleep Practices 10A NCAC 09 .0606* 35:04 NCR 

Emergency Preparedness and Response in Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .0607* 35:04 NCR 

Health Standards for Child Care Providers, Substitute Pro... 10A NCAC 09 .0701 35:04 NCR 

Staff/Child Ratios for Centers 10A NCAC 09 .0713* 35:04 NCR 

Application for Enrollment 10A NCAC 09 .0801 35:04 NCR 

Emergency Medical Care 10A NCAC 09 .0802* 35:04 NCR 

On-Going Training and Professional Development 10A NCAC 09 .1103 35:04 NCR 

Documentation of On-Going Training and Professional Devel... 10A NCAC 09 .1106 35:04 NCR 

Outdoor Space 10A NCAC 09 .1402 35:04 NCR 

Activities Involving Water in Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .1403 35:04 NCR 

Application for a License for a Family Child Care Home 10A NCAC 09 .1702* 35:04 NCR 

On-Going Requirements for Family Child Care Home Operators 10A NCAC 09 .1703* 35:04 NCR 

Nutrition Standards 10A NCAC 09 .1706* 35:04 NCR 

Building Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .1707* 35:04 NCR 

Emergency Preparedness and Response 10A NCAC 09 .1714* 35:04 NCR 

Requirements for Daily Operations 10A NCAC 09 .1718* 35:04 NCR 

Requirements for Records 10A NCAC 09 .1721* 35:04 NCR 

Safe Sleep Practices 10A NCAC 09 .1724* 35:04 NCR 

Additional Caregiver and Substitute Provider Qualifications 10A NCAC 09 .1729 35:04 NCR 

Activities Involving Water 10A NCAC 09 .1730 35:04 NCR 

Provisional Child Care Facility License or Provisional No... 10A NCAC 09 .2204* 35:04 NCR 

Suspension 10A NCAC 09 .2206* 35:04 NCR 

Revocation of a Child Care Facility License or an Order t... 10A NCAC 09 .2209* 35:04 NCR 

Child Care Center Records Retention 10A NCAC 09 .2318 35:04 NCR 

Staff Qualifications 10A NCAC 09 .2408 35:04 NCR 

Children's Activities 10A NCAC 09 .2410 35:04 NCR 

Activities: Off-Premises 10A NCAC 09 .2509 35:04 NCR 

Criminal History Record Check Requirements for Child Care... 10A NCAC 09 .2703* 35:04 NCR 

Enhanced Space Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .2809 35:04 NCR 

Enhanced Program Standards for Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .2817 35:04 NCR 

Staff Qualifications 10A NCAC 09 .2903* 35:04 NCR 
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NC Pre-K Teacher Education, Licensure and Credentials 10A NCAC 09 .3012* 35:04 NCR 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

Approval 10A NCAC 14E .0105* 34:18 NCR 

Medications and Anesthesia 10A NCAC 14E .0312* 34:18 NCR 

Food Service 10A NCAC 14E .0316 34:18 NCR 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Direct Shipments 14B NCAC 15A .1304 35:06 NCR 

Transportation Between ABC Boards 14B NCAC 15A .1305 35:06 NCR 

Special Orders 14B NCAC 15A .1403* 35:06 NCR 

Antique Spirituous Liquor Special Orders 14B NCAC 15A .1407* 35:06 NCR 

Purchase-Transportation Permits 14B NCAC 15A .1706 35:06 NCR 

Purchase-Transportation Permits for Wine and Liquor 14B NCAC 15A .1801 35:06NCR 

Distillery Record-Keeping 14B NCAC 15A .2103 35:06 NCR 

Distillery Issued Purchase-Transportation Permits 14B NCAC 15A .2104 35:06 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Purpose of this Subchapter 15A NCAC 02I .0101* 35:02 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02I .0102* 35:02 NCR 

Delegations 15A NCAC 02I .0103 35:02 NCR 

Authorized Hearing Officers 15A NCAC 02I .0104 35:02 NCR 

Requirements of Hearing Officer or Panel 15A NCAC 02I .0105* 35:02 NCR 

Department Hearing Rules 15A NCAC 02I .0106 35:02 NCR 

Procedures 15A NCAC 02I .0203 35:02 NCR 

Opportunity for Hearing 15A NCAC 02I .0301 35:02 NCR 

Request for Hearing 15A NCAC 02I .0302 35:02 NCR 

Water Quality Discharge Permits: Notice: Procedures 15A NCAC 02I .0402 35:02 NCR 

Form and Contents of Petition 15A NCAC 02I .0501 35:02 NCR 

Review by a Committee of the Commission 15A NCAC 02I .0502* 35:02 NCR 

Presentation of the Commission 15A NCAC 02I .0503 35:02 NCR 

Recourse to Denial of Petition 15A NCAC 02I .0504 35:02 NCR 

Issuance of Declaratory Ruling 15A NCAC 02I .0601* 35:02 NCR 

Procedure for Submission of Petition 15A NCAC 02I .0602* 35:02 NCR 

Disposition of Request 15A NCAC 02I .0603* 35:02 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Sale of Live Foxes and Coyotes to Controlled Fox Hunting ... 15A NCAC 10B .0409* 35:07 NCR 

Clay County 15A NCAC 10F .0308* 35:06 NCR 

Stanly County 15A NCAC 10F .0317* 35:06 NCR 

Burke County 15A NCAC 10F .0323* 35:06 NCR 

Definitions and General Requirements 15A NCAC 10H .1201* 35:07 NCR 

Establishment and Operation 15A NCAC 10H .1202* 35:07 NCR 

Quality of Foxes and Coyotes Released 15A NCAC 10H .1203* 35:07 NCR 

Records Required 15A NCAC 10H .1204 35:07 NCR 

Hunting License Required 15A NCAC 10H .1205 35:07 NCR 

Minimum Standards for Care of Foxes and Coyotes 15A NCAC 10H .1206* 35:07 NCR 

License Revocation and Enforcement 15A NCAC 10H .1207* 35:07 NCR 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2021 

1952 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .3401* 35:03 NCR 

Bacteriological Limits for Swimming Areas 15A NCAC 18A .3402 35:03 NCR 

Public Notice of Increased Health Risks in Swimming Areas 15A NCAC 18A .3403* 35:03 NCR 

Swimming Advisories for Point Source Discharges into Swim... 15A NCAC 18A .3404* 35:03 NCR 

Rescinding a Pending Swimming Advisory or Swimming Advisory 15A NCAC 18A .3405* 35:03 NCR 

Destruction of Signs 15A NCAC 18A .3406 35:03 NCR 

Applicability of Rules 15A NCAC 18A .3407 35:03 NCR 

SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE 

Sunset Provision 18 NCAC 06A .2120* 35:07 NCR 

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 21 NCAC 06F .0128 35:04 NCR 

Form Bar-1 21 NCAC 06N .0102 35:04 NCR 

Form Bar-10 21 NCAC 06N .0111 35:04 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 

Prescriptive Authority 21 NCAC 32S .0212* 35:04 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 46 .1819* 35:08 NCR 

 

The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 
 

 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Sales and Purchase Restrictions: Records 14B NCAC 15C .0602* 35:07 NCR 

Malt Beverage and Wine Shipments to Military Bases 14B NCAC 15C .0607* 35:07 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0112 SEVERABILITY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0212 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0102 DEFINITIONS 

The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as follows 

except when the context of the rule requires a different meaning. 

The definitions prescribed in G.S. 110-86 also apply to these 

Rules. 

(1) "Activity area" means a space that is accessible 

to children and where related equipment and 

materials are kept in accordance with G.S. 110-

91(12). 

(2) "Agency" as used in this Chapter means 

Division of Child Development and Early 

Education, Department of Health and Human 

Services located at 333 Six Forks Road, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 

(3) "Appellant" means the person or persons who 

request a contested case hearing. 

(4) "Basic School-Age Care" training (BSAC 

training) means the training on the elements of 

quality afterschool care for school-age children, 

developed by the North Carolina State 

University Department of 4-H Youth 

Development and subsequently revised by the 

North Carolina School-age Quality 

Improvement Project. 

(5) "Biocontaminant" means blood, bodily fluids, 

or excretions that may spread infectious 

disease. 

(6) "Child Care Center" means an arrangement 

where, at any one time, there are three or more 
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preschool-age children or nine or more school-

age children receiving child care. This does not 

include arrangements described in Item (18) of 

this Rule regarding Family Child Care Homes. 

(7) "Child Care Facility" means child care centers, 

family child care homes, and any other child 

care arrangement not excluded by G.S. 110-

86(2), that provides child care, regardless of the 

time of day, wherever operated, and whether or 

not operated for profit. 

(8) "Child care provider" as defined by G.S. 110-

90.2(a)(2) includes the following employees 

who have contact with the children in a child 

care program: 

(a) facility directors; 

(b) child care administrative staff; 

(c) teachers; 

(d) teachers' aides; 

(e) substitute providers; 

(f) uncompensated providers; 

(g) cooks; 

(h) maintenance personnel; and 

(i) drivers. 

(9) "Child Development Associate Credential" 

means the national early childhood credential 

administered by the Council for Early 

Childhood Professional Recognition. 

(10) "Curriculum" means a curriculum that has been 

approved as set forth in these Rules by the NC 

Child Care Commission as comprehensive, 

evidenced-based, and with a reading 

component. 

(11) "Developmentally appropriate" means suitable 

to the chronological age range and 

developmental characteristics of a specific 

group of children. 

(12) "Division" means the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education within the 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(13) "Domains" means the developmental areas of 

learning described in the North Carolina 

Foundations for Early Learning and 

Development © 2013, available on the 

Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_foundat

ions.asp. This instrument is incorporated by 

reference and does not include subsequent 

editions. The domains address children's 

emotional and social development, health and 

physical development, approaches to play and 

learning, language development, and 

communication and cognitive development. 

(14) "Drop-in care" means a child care arrangement 

where children attend on an intermittent, 

unscheduled basis. 

(15) "Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale - 

Revised Edition" (Harms, Clifford, and Cryer, 

2005, published by Teachers College Press, 

New York, NY) is the instrument used to 

evaluate the quality of care received by a group 

of children in a child care center, when the 

majority of children in the group are two and a 

half years old through five years old, to achieve 

three or more points for the program standards 

of a rated license. This instrument is 

incorporated by reference and does not include 

subsequent editions. A copy of the scale is 

available for purchase on the Teachers College 

Press website at 

http://www.teacherscollegepress.com/assessm

ent_materials.html. The cost of this scale is 

twenty-four dollars and ninety-five cents 

($24.95). A copy of this instrument is on file at 

the Division at the address given in Item (2) of 

this Rule and is available for public inspection 

during regular business hours. For the purposes 

of this Rule, "regular business hours" for the 

Division means 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. during 

weekdays, excluding state holidays. 

(16) "Experience working with school-age children" 

means working with school-age children as a 

child care administrator, program coordinator, 

group leader, assistant group leader, lead 

teacher, teacher or aide. 

(17) "Family Child Care Environment Rating Scale 

– Revised Edition" (Harms, Cryer and Clifford, 

2007, published by Teachers College Press, 

New York, NY) is the instrument used to 

evaluate the quality of care received by children 

in family child care homes to achieve three or 

more points for the program standards of a rated 

license. This instrument is incorporated by 

reference and does not include subsequent 

editions. A copy of the scale is available for 

purchase on the Teachers College Press website 

at 

http://www.teacherscollegepress.com/assessm

ent_materials.html. The cost of this scale is 

twenty-four dollars and ninety-five cents 

($24.95). A copy of this instrument is on file at 

the Division at the address given in Item (2) of 

this Rule and is available for public inspection 

during regular business hours. 

(18) "Family Child Care Home" means a child care 

arrangement located in a residence where, at 

any one time, more than two children, but less 

than nine children, receive child care. Family 

child care home operators must reside at the 

location of the family child care home. 

(19) "First aid kit" is a collection of first aid supplies 

(such as bandages, tweezers, disposable 

nonporous gloves, micro shield or face mask, 

liquid soap, cold pack) for treatment of minor 

injuries or stabilization of major injuries. 

(20) "Group" means the children assigned to a 

specific caregiver or caregivers, to meet the 

staff/child ratios set forth in G.S. 110-91(7) and 
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in this Chapter, using space the Division has 

identified for each group. 

(21) "Health care professional" means: 

(a) a physician licensed in North 

Carolina; 

(b) a nurse practitioner approved to 

practice in North Carolina; or 

(c) a licensed physician assistant. 

(22) "Household member" means a person who 

resides in a family home as evidenced by 

factors including maintaining clothing and 

personal effects at the household address, 

receiving mail at the household address, using 

identification with the household address, or 

eating and sleeping at the household address on 

a regular basis. 

(23) "If weather conditions permit" means: 

(a) temperatures that fall within the 

guidelines developed by the Iowa 

Department of Public Health and 

specified on the Child Care Weather 

Watch chart. These guidelines shall be 

used when determining appropriate 

weather conditions for taking children 

outside for outdoor learning activities 

and playtime. This chart may be 

downloaded free of charge from 

http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/H

CCI/weatherwatch.pdf; and is 

incorporated by reference and includes 

subsequent editions and amendments; 

(b) following the air quality standards as 

set out in 15A NCAC 18A .2832(d). 

The Air Quality Color Guide can be 

found on the Division's web site at 

https://xapps.ncdenr.org/aq/ForecastC

enter or call 1-888-RU4NCAIR (1-

888-784-6224); and 

(c) no active precipitation. Caregivers 

may choose to go outdoors when there 

is active precipitation if children have 

appropriate clothing such as rain boots 

and rain coats, or if they are under a 

covered area. 

(24) "Infant" means any child from birth through 12 

months of age. 

(25) "Infant/Toddler Environment Rating Scale - 

Revised Edition" (Harms, Cryer, and Clifford, 

2003, published by Teachers College Press, 

New York, NY) is the instrument used to 

evaluate the quality of care received by a group 

of children in a child care center, when the 

majority of children in the group are younger 

than 30 months old, to achieve three or more 

points for the program standards of a rated 

license. This instrument is incorporated by 

reference and does not include subsequent 

editions. A copy of the scale is available for 

purchase on the Teachers College Press website 

at 

http://www.teacherscollegepress.com/assessm

ent_materials.html. The cost of this scale is 

twenty-four dollars and ninety-five cents 

($24.95). A copy of this instrument is on file at 

the Division at the address given in Item (2) of 

this Rule and is available for public inspection 

during regular business hours. 

(26) "ITS-SIDS Training" means the Infant/Toddler 

Safe Sleep and SIDS Risk Reduction Training 

developed by the NC Healthy Start Foundation 

and administered by the North Carolina Child 

Care Health and Safety Resource Center for the 

Division of Child Development and Early 

Education for caregivers of children ages 12 

months and younger. Information regarding 

trainer and training availability can be found on 

the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_its

sidsproject.asp. 

(27) "Lead Teacher" means an individual who is 

responsible for planning and implementing the 

daily program of activities for a group of 

children in a child care facility. A lead teacher 

is counted in staff/child ratio, has unsupervised 

contact with children, and is monetarily 

compensated by the facility. 

(28) "Licensee" means the person or entity that is 

granted permission by the State of North 

Carolina to operate a child care facility. The 

owner of a facility is the licensee. 

(29) "Lockdown drill" means an emergency safety 

procedure in which occupants of the facility 

remain in a locked indoor space and is used 

when emergency personnel or law enforcement 

determine a dangerous person is in the vicinity. 

(30) "North Carolina Early Childhood 

Administration Credential" means the state 

early childhood administration credential that is 

based on completion of required early 

childhood coursework taken at any NC 

Community College. Other post secondary 

curriculum coursework shall be approved as 

equivalent if the Division determines that the 

content of the other post secondary curriculum 

coursework offered is substantially equivalent 

to the NC Early Childhood Administration 

Credential Coursework. A copy of the North 

Carolina Early Childhood Administration 

Credential requirements is on file at the 

Division at the address given in Item (2) of this 

Rule and is available for public inspection or 

copying at no charge during regular business 

hours. This information can be found on the 

Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/creden

t.asp. 

(31) "North Carolina Early Educator Certification 

(certification)" is an acknowledgement of an 
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individual's verified level of educational 

achievement based on a standardized scale. The 

North Carolina Institute for Child Development 

Professionals certifies individuals and assigns a 

certification level on two scales: 

(a) the Early Care and Education 

Professional Scale (ECE Scale) in 

effect as of July 1, 2010; or 

(b) the School Age Professional Scale 

(SA Scale) in effect as of May 19, 

2010. 

Each scale reflects the amount of 

education earned in the content area 

pertinent to the ages of children 

served. The ECE Scale is designed for 

individuals working with or on behalf 

of children ages birth to five. The SA 

Scale is designed for individuals 

working with or on behalf of children 

ages 5 to 12 who are served in school 

age care settings. Information on the 

voluntary certification process can be 

found on the North Carolina Institute 

for Child Development Professionals 

website at 

http://ncicdp.org/certification-

licensure/eec-overview/. 

(32) "North Carolina Early Childhood Credential" 

means the state early childhood credential that 

is based on completion of required early 

childhood coursework taken at any NC 

Community College. Other post secondary 

curriculum coursework shall be approved as 

equivalent if the Division determines that the 

content of the other post secondary curriculum 

coursework offered is substantially equivalent 

to the NC Early Childhood Credential 

Coursework. A copy of the North Carolina 

Early Childhood Credential requirements is on 

file at the Division at the address given in Item 

(2) of this Rule and is available for public 

inspection or copying at no charge during 

regular business hours. This information can be 

found on the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/creden

t.asp. 

(33) "Operator" means the owner, director, or other 

person having responsibility for operation of a 

child care facility subject to licensing. 

(34) "Owner" means any person with a five percent 

or greater equity interest in a child care facility; 

however, stockholders of corporations who 

own child care facilities shall not be subject to 

mandatory criminal history checks pursuant to 

G.S. 110-90.2 unless they are a child care 

provider. 

(35) "Parent" means a child's parent, legal guardian, 

or full-time custodian. 

(36) "Passageway" means a hall or corridor. 

(37) "Person" means any individual, trust, estate, 

partnership, corporation, joint stock company, 

consortium, or any other group, entity, 

organization, or association. 

(38) "Premises" means the entire child care building 

and grounds including natural areas, 

outbuildings, dwellings, vehicles, parking lots, 

driveways and other structures located on the 

property. 

(39) "Preschooler" or "preschool-age child" means 

any child who is at least three years of age and 

does not fit the definition of school-age child in 

this Rule. 

(40) "Reside" refers to any person that lives at a 

child care facility location. Factors for 

determining residence include: 

(a) use of the child care facility address as 

a permanent address for personal 

identification or mail delivery; 

(b) use of the child care facility to store 

personal belongings such as furniture, 

clothing, and toiletry items; and 

(c) names listed on official documents 

such as criminal records or property 

tax records. 

(41) "School-Age Care Environment Rating Scale, 

Updated Edition" (Harms, Jacobs, and White, 

2014, published by Teachers College Press) is 

the instrument used to evaluate the quality of 

care received by a group of children in a child 

care center, when the majority of the children in 

the group are older than five years, to achieve 

three or more points for the program standards 

of a rated license. This instrument is 

incorporated by reference and does not include 

subsequent editions. A copy of the scale is 

available for purchase on the Teacher College 

Press website at 

http://www.teacherscollegepress.com/assessm

ent_materials.html. The cost of this scale is 

twenty-four dollars and ninety-five cents 

($24.95). A copy of this instrument is on file at 

the Division at the address given in Item (2) of 

this Rule and is available for public inspection 

during regular business hours. 

(42) "School-age child" means any child who is 

attending or who has attended a public or 

private grade school or kindergarten and meets 

age requirements as specified in G.S. 115C-

364. 

(43) "Seasonal Program" means a recreational 

program as set forth in G.S. 110-86(2)(b). 

(44) "Shelter-in-Place drill" means staying in place 

to take shelter rather than evacuating. It 

involves selecting a small interior room, with 

no or few windows, and used when emergency 

personnel or law enforcement determine there 

is an environmental or weather related threat. 
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(45) "Staff" or "staff member" as used in this 

Chapter includes child care providers, 

substitute providers, and uncompensated 

providers. Volunteers, as defined in this Rule, 

are not staff members. 

(46) "Substitute provider" means any person who 

temporarily assumes the duties of a staff person 

for a time period not to exceed two consecutive 

months and may or may not be monetarily 

compensated by the facility. Any substitute 

provider must be at least 18 years of age and 

literate. 

(47) "Teacher" means an individual who assists the 

Lead Teacher in planning and implementing the 

daily program of activities for a group of 

children in a child care facility. A teacher is 

counted in staff/child ratio, has unsupervised 

contact with children, and is monetarily 

compensated by the facility. 

(48) "Teacher's aide" or "Aide" means a person who 

assists the lead teacher or the teacher in 

planning and implementing the daily program. 

A teacher's aide shall be at least 16 years old 

and less than 18 years old, shall be literate, and 

may count in staff/child ratio as long as there is 

also a credentialed staff person who is at least 

21 years of age present in the room and 

available to respond to the needs of the teacher's 

aide and children in care.  

(49) "Toddler" means any child ages 13 months to 

35 months of age. 

(50) "Track-Out Program" means any child care 

provided to school-age children when they are 

out of school on a year-round school calendar. 

(51) "Uncompensated provider" means a person 

who works in a child care facility and is counted 

in staff/child ratio or has unsupervised contact 

with children, but who is not monetarily 

compensated by the facility. Any 

uncompensated provider must be at least 18 

years of age and literate. 

(52) "Volunteer" means a person who works in a 

child care facility and is not counted in 

staff/child ratio, does not have unsupervised 

contact with children, and is not monetarily 

compensated by the facility. A person who is at 

least 13 years of age, but less than 16 years of 

age, may work on a volunteer basis, as long as 

he or she is supervised by and works with a staff 

person who is at least 21 years of age and meets 

staff qualification requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-90.2; 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1992; October 1, 1991; October 1, 1990; 

November 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2015; May 1, 2013; September 1, 2012; 

July 3, 2012; July 1, 2012; November 1, 2007; May 2006; May 1, 

2004; April 1, 2003; July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0302 APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE 

FOR A CHILD CARE CENTER 

(a)  An application for a license for a child care center shall be 

submitted on the form provided by the Division, which may be 

found online at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/PDF_forms/FacilityProfileApp.pd

f. The application for a child care center license shall include the 

following information: 

(1) owner name; 

(2) center name, address, phone number, and 

location address; 

(3) center contact information; 

(4) requested age range of children in the child care 

center; 

(5) hours of operation; 

(6) type of care to be provided; 

(7) type of building; 

(8) type of center; 

(9) proposed opening date; 

(10) proposed number of children to be served; 

(11) type of business operation; 

(12) history of operation or licensing of child care 

facilities; and 

(13) signature of applicant of either: 

(A) the individual who will be responsible 

for the operation of the center and for 

assuring compliance with G.S. 110, 

Article 7 and this Chapter; or 

(B) an officer of an entity who will be 

responsible for the operation of the 

center and for ensuring compliance 

with G.S. 110, Article 7 and this 

Chapter. 

Upon receipt of the application, the Division shall assess the 

information provided to determine if the prospective licensee may 

be denied a license for one or more of the reasons set forth in 10A 

NCAC 09 .2215. 

(b)  In addition to the application, an applicant shall submit the 

following documentation: 

(1) the required criminal background check 

qualification letter as set forth in 10A NCAC 09 

.2703; 

(2) inspection reports required by G.S. 110-91(1), 

(4), and (5). If a center does not conform with a 

building, fire, or sanitation standard, the 

Division shall accept an inspector's 

determination that equivalent, alternative 

protection is provided; 

(3) measurements of all rooms to be used for child 

care and a sketch of the center's floor plan, 

including ceiling height, location of bathrooms, 

doors, and required exits; and 
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(4) written information to verify compliance with 

G.S. 110, Article 7 and the Rules in this Chapter 

as follows: 

(A) emergency medical plan; 

(B) activity plans; 

(C) discipline policy; 

(D) incident reports; and 

(E) incident logs. 

(c)  During the pre-licensing visits, the applicant or the operator 

shall be able to describe the plans for the daily program, including 

room arrangement, staffing patterns, equipment, and supplies, in 

sufficient detail to show that the center shall comply with 

applicable requirements for activities, equipment, and staff-child 

ratios for the capacity of the center and type of license requested. 

(d)  During the pre-licensing visit the applicant shall have the 

following available for review pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 

.0304(g): 

(1) staff records that include: 

(A) an application for employment and 

date of birth; 

(B) documentation of education, training, 

and experience; 

(C) medical and health records; 

(D) documentation of staff orientation, 

participation in training, and staff 

development activities; and 

(E) required criminal history background 

check documentation; 

(2) children's records that include an application 

for enrollment, medical and immunization 

records, and permission to seek emergency 

medical care; 

(3) daily attendance records; 

(4) daily records of arrival and departure times at 

the center for each child which shall be 

maintained as children arrive and depart; 

(5) records of monthly fire drills documenting the 

date and time of each drill, the length of time 

taken to evacuate the building, and the signature 

of the person who conducted the drill as 

required by NC Fire Code 405.5; A copy of the 

form may be found on the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/pdf_forms/EPR_

EmergencyDrillLog_Centers.pdf; 

(6) records of monthly playground inspections 

documented on a checklist provided by the 

Division; A copy of the form may be found on 

the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/pdf_forms/playg

round.pdf; 

(7) records of administered medications; 

(8) records of lockdown or shelter-in-place drills as 

defined in 10A NCAC 09 .0102, giving the date 

each drill was held, the time of day, the length 

of time taken to get into designated locations 

and the signature of the person who conducted 

the drill. A copy of the form may be found on 

the Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/pdf_forms/EPR

_EmergencyDrillLog_Centers.pdf; and 

(9) an electronic mail address for the center. 

(e)  The Division shall make one or more inspections of the center 

and premises to assess compliance with all applicable licensure 

statutes and rules and either: 

(1) issue a single license for the address of the 

center if all applicable requirements of G.S. 

110, Article 7 and this Section are met; 

(2) issue a provisional license pursuant to 10A 

NCAC 09 .2204; or 

(3) deny the application in accordance with 10A 

NCAC 09 .2215. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88(2); 

110-88(5); 110-91; 110-91(1), (4) and (5); 110-92; 110-93; 110-

99; 143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; March 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; July 

1, 2010; April 1, 2003; April 1, 2001; July 1, 1998; January 1, 

1996; November 1, 1989; July 1, 1988; January 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0403 TEMPORARY LICENSES FOR 

CENTERS 

(a)  When an operator proposes to open a new center or to change 

the ownership or location of an existing center, the Division shall 

issue the operator a temporary license upon the receipt of a license 

application pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .0204 or .0302 and the 

documents specified in 10A NCAC 09 .0301 and .0302. 

(b)  The temporary license shall be posted in a prominent place in 

the center that parents are able to view daily. 

(c)  The temporary license shall remain in effect for six months or 

until the issuance of a star-rated license, a special provisional 

license, provisional license, probationary license, summary 

suspension, suspension, or a denial of a rated license to the 

operator.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(10); 110-99; 143B-

168.3; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; April 1, 1992; November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0601 SAFE ENVIRONMENT 

(a)  A safe indoor and outdoor environment shall be provided for 

the children in care in accordance with rules in this Section. 

(b)  All equipment and furnishings shall be in good repair. All 

commercially manufactured equipment and furnishings shall be 

assembled and installed according to procedures specified by the 

manufacturer. For equipment and furnishings purchased after 

September 1, 2017, the manufacturer's instructions shall be kept 

on file or electronically accessible, if available. 

(c)  Equipment and furnishings shall be sturdy, stable, and free of 

hazards that may injure children including sharp edges, lead based 

or peeling paint, rust, loose nails, splinters, protrusions (excluding 

nuts and bolts on sides of fences), and pinch and crush points. 
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(d)  All equipment and furnishings not meeting the requirements 

of Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule shall be removed from the 

premises immediately or made inaccessible to the children. 

(e)  Each child care center shall provide equipment and 

furnishings that are child-size or that can be adapted use by 

children. Chairs and tables shall be of appropriate height for the 

children who will be using them. 

(f)  Each child care center shall be free of lead poisoning hazards 

as defined in G.S. 130A-131.7(7). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91(3),(6); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0606 SAFE SLEEP PRACTICES 

(a)  Each center licensed to care for infants aged 12 months or 

younger shall develop, adopt, and comply with a written safe sleep 

policy that: 

(1) specifies that caregivers shall place infants aged 

12 months or younger on their backs for 

sleeping, unless: 

(A) for an infant aged six months or less, 

the center receives a written waiver of 

this requirement from a health care 

professional; or 

(B) for an infant older than six months, the 

center receives a written waiver of this 

requirement from a health care 

professional, or a parent or a legal 

guardian; 

(2) specifies no pillows, wedges or other 

positioners, pillow-like toys, blankets, toys, 

bumper pads, quilts, sheepskins, loose bedding, 

towels and washcloths, or other objects may be 

placed with a sleeping infant aged 12 months or 

younger; 

(3) specifies that children shall not be swaddled; 

(4) specifies that nothing shall be placed over the 

head or face of an infant aged 12 months or 

younger when the infant is laid down to sleep; 

(5) specifies that the temperature in the room where 

infants aged 12 months or younger are sleeping 

does not exceed 75° F; 

(6) specifies that caregivers shall visually check, in 

person, sleeping infants aged 12 months or 

younger at least every 15 minutes; 

(7) specifies how caregivers shall document 

compliance with visually checking on sleeping 

infants aged 12 months or younger; 

(8) specifies that pacifiers that attach to infant 

clothing shall not be used with sleeping infants; 

(9) specifies that infants aged 12 months or 

younger sleep alone in a crib, bassinet, play 

pen, mat, or cot; 

(10) specifies that infants aged 12 months or 

younger are prohibited from sleeping in sitting 

devices, including car safety seats, strollers, 

swings, and infant carriers. Infants that fall 

asleep in sitting devices shall be moved to a 

crib, bassinet, play pen, mat, or cot; and 

(11) specifies any other steps the center shall take to 

provide a safe sleep environment for infants 

aged 12 months or younger. 

(b)  The center shall post a copy of its safe sleep policy about 

infant safe sleep practices in a prominent place in the infant room 

where parents and caregivers are able to view daily.  

(c)  A copy of the center's safe sleep policy shall be given and 

explained to the parents of an infant aged 12 months or younger 

on or before the first day the infant attends the center. The parent 

shall sign a statement acknowledging the receipt and explanation 

of the policy. The acknowledgement shall contain: 

(1) the infant's name; 

(2) the date the infant first attended the center; 

(3) the date the center's safe sleep policy was given 

and explained to the parent; and 

(4) the date the parent signed the 

acknowledgement. 

The center shall retain the acknowledgement in the child's record 

as long as the child is enrolled at the center. 

(d)  If a center amends its safe sleep policy, it shall give written 

notice of the amendment to the parents of all enrolled infants aged 

12 months or younger at least 14 days before the amended policy 

is implemented. Each parent shall sign a statement acknowledging 

the receipt and explanation of the amendment. The center shall 

retain the acknowledgement in the child's record as long as the 

child is enrolled at the center. 

(e)  A caregiver shall place a child age 12 months or younger on 

the child's back for sleeping, unless for a child age 6 months or 

younger, the operator obtains a written waiver from a health care 

professional; or for a child older than 6 months, the operator 

obtains a written waiver from a health care professional or parent. 

Waivers shall include the following: 

(1) the infant's name and birth date; 

(2) the signature and date of the infant's health care 

professional or parent; 

(3) if a wedge is needed specify why it is needed 

and how it is to be used; and 

(4) the infant's authorized sleep positions. 

The center shall retain the waiver in the child's record as long as 

the child is enrolled at the center. 

(f)  For each infant with a waiver on file at the center as specified 

in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, a notice shall be posted for quick 

reference near the infant's crib, bassinet, play pen, cot or mat that 

shall include: 

(1) the infant's name; 

(2) the infant's authorized sleep position; and 

(3) the location of the signed waiver. 

No confidential medical information, including an infant's 

medical diagnosis, shall be shown on the notice. 

(g)  Documents that verify staff member's compliance with visual 

checks on infants shall be maintained for a minimum of one 

month. 

(h)  A bed, crib, or cot, equipped with a firm waterproof mattress 

at least four inches thick and a fitted sheet shall be provided for 

each child who remains in the center after midnight. The top of 

bunk beds shall be used by school-age children only. 
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(i)  A caregiver shall not place anything over the face of a child 

during rest time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(15); 143B-

168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0607 EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS 

AND RESPONSE IN CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the Emergency Preparedness 

and Response in Child Care is a session training developed by the 

North Carolina Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center for 

child care operators and providers on creating an Emergency 

Preparedness and Response Plan and practicing, responding to 

and recovering from emergencies in child care centers. 

(b)  Existing child care centers shall have one person on staff who 

has completed the Emergency Preparedness and Response in 

Child Care training. New centers shall have one person on staff 

who has completed the Emergency Preparedness and Response in 

Child Care training within one year of the effective date of the 

initial license. When the trained staff member leaves employment, 

the center shall ensure that another staff member completes the 

required training within four months of the vacancy. 

Documentation of completion of the training shall be maintained 

in the individual's personnel file or in a file designated for 

emergency preparedness and response plan documents. 

(c)  Upon completion of the Emergency Preparedness and 

Response in Child Care training, the trained staff shall develop 

the Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan. The Emergency 

Preparedness and Response Plan means a written plan that 

addresses how a child care center will respond to both natural and 

man-made disasters, such as fire, tornado, flood, power failures, 

chemical spills, bomb threats, earthquakes, blizzards, nuclear 

disasters, or a dangerous person or persons in the vicinity, to 

ensure the safety and protection of the children and staff. This 

Plan must be on a template provided by the Division available at 

https://rmp.nc.gov/portal/# and completed within four months of 

completion of the Emergency Preparedness and Response in 

Child Care training. 

(d)  The Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan shall 

include: 

(1) written procedures for accounting for all in 

attendance including: 

(A) the location of the children, staff, 

volunteer and visitor attendance lists; 

and 

(B) the name of the person(s) responsible 

for bringing the children, staff, 

volunteer and visitor attendance lists 

in the event of an emergency. 

(2) a description for how and when children shall 

be transported; 

(3) methods for communicating with parents and 

emergency personnel or law enforcement; 

(4) a description of how children's nutritional and 

health needs will be met; 

(5) the relocation and reunification process; 

(6) emergency telephone numbers; 

(7) evacuation diagrams showing how the staff, 

children, and any other individuals who may be 

present will evacuate during an emergency; 

(8) the date of the last revision of the plan; 

(9) specific considerations for non-mobile children 

and children with special needs; and 

(10) the location of a Ready to Go File. A Ready to 

Go File means a collection of information on 

children, staff and the facility, to utilize, if an 

evacuation occurs. The file shall include, a copy 

of the Emergency Preparedness and Response 

Plan, contact information for individuals to 

pick-up children, each child's Application for 

Child Care, medication authorizations and 

instructions, any action plans for children with 

special health care needs, a list of any known 

food allergies of children and staff, staff contact 

information, Incident Report forms, an area 

map, and emergency telephone numbers. 

(e)  The trained staff shall review the Emergency Preparedness 

and Response Plan annually, or when information in the plan 

changes, to ensure all information is current. 

(f)  All staff shall review the center's Emergency Preparedness and 

Response Plan during orientation and on an annual basis with the 

trained staff. Documentation of the review shall be maintained at 

the center in the individual's personnel file or in a file designated 

for emergency preparedness and response plan documents. 

(g)  All substitutes and volunteers counted in ratio shall be 

informed of the child care center's Emergency Preparedness and 

Response Plan and its location. Documentation of this notice shall 

be maintained in the individual personnel files or in a file 

designated for emergency preparedness and response plan 

documents. 

(h)  Centers operated by a Local Education Agency that have 

completed critical incident training and a School Risk 

Management Plan as set forth by the Department of Public 

Instruction shall be exempt from Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this 

Rule. When a School Risk Management Plan has been completed, 

the requirements of Paragraphs (f) and (g) of this Rule shall be 

applicable. The School Risk Management Plan shall be available 

for review by the Division. More information regarding the 

School Risk Management Plan is located online at 

https://sera.nc.gov/srmp/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 143B-168.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0701 HEALTH STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE PROVIDERS, SUBSTITUTE PROVIDERS, 

VOLUNTEERS, AND UNCOMPENSATED PROVIDERS 

(a)  Health and emergency information shall be obtained for staff members as specified in the chart below: 
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Required for: Item Requirements: Due Date: 

Child care providers and 

uncompensated providers who are 

not substitute providers or 

volunteers as defined in 10A 

NCAC 09 .0102, including the 

director. 

Medical Report 

 

A statement signed by a health care 

professional that indicates that the 

person is emotionally and physically 

fit to care for children. 

Prior to employment. 

 

When submitted, the medical statement shall not be 

older than 12 months. 

 

 

All staff, including the director and 

individuals who volunteer more 

than once per week. 

Tuberculin (TB) Test or Screening 

 

The results indicating the individual 

is free of active tuberculosis shall be 

obtained within the 12 months prior 

to the date of employment. 

On or before first day of work. 

 

 

Child care providers, including the 

director, uncompensated providers, 

substitute providers, and volunteers. 

Emergency Information Form, 

including the name, address, and 

telephone number of the person to 

be contacted in case of an 

emergency, and the responsible 

party's choice of health care 

professional.  

On or before the first day of work. 

 

The emergency information shall be updated as 

changes occur and at least annually.  

All staff, including the director. Health Questionnaire 

 

A statement signed by the staff 

member that indicates that the 

person is emotionally and physically 

fit to care for children. 

Annually following the initial medical statement. 

Substitute providers and volunteers. Health Questionnaire 

 

A statement signed by the substitute 

provider or volunteer that indicates 

that the person is emotionally and 

physically fit to care for children. 

On or before first day of work and annually thereafter.  

 

(b)  The Division, or the director of the child care center, may 

request an evaluation of a staff member's emotional and physical 

fitness to care for children when there is reason to believe that 

there has been deterioration in the staff member's emotional or 

physical fitness to care for children. This request may be based 

upon factors such as observations by the director or center staff, 

reports of concern from family, reports from law enforcement or 

reports from medical personnel. 

(c)  A copy of the forms in the chart in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

may be found on the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_provideforms.asp. 

(d)  Staff medical statements, proof of a tuberculosis test or 

screening, and completed health questionnaires shall be included 

in the staff member's medical file, which must be maintained 

separately from the staff member's individual personnel file in the 

center. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(1),(8),(9); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

10A NCAC 09 .0713 STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR 

CENTERS 

(a)  The staff/child ratios and group sizes for single-age groups of 

children in centers shall be as follows: 

 

Age of Children Ratio Staff/Children Maximum Group 

Size 

0 to 12 Months 1/5 10 

12 to 24 Months 1/6 12 

2 to 3 Years 1/10 20 

3 to 4 Years 1/15 25 

4 to 5 Years 1/20 25 

5 Years and 

Older 

1/25 25 

 

(1) when combining age groups, the staff/child 

ratio for the youngest child in the group shall be 

maintained for the entire group; 

(2) children of all ages may be cared for together in 

groups for the first and last operating hour of 

the day, provided the staff/child ratio for the 

youngest child in the group is maintained; 

(3) a child two years of age and older may be 

placed with children under one year of age 
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when a physician certifies that the 

developmental age of the child makes this 

placement appropriate; 

(4) when determined to be developmentally 

appropriate by the operator and parent, a child 

age two or older may be placed one age level 

above his or her chronological age without 

affecting the staff/child ratio for that group. 

This provision shall be limited to one child per 

group;  

(5) except as provided in Subparagraphs (2) and (3) 

of this Paragraph, children under one year of 

age shall be kept separate from children two 

years of age and over; 

(6) children between the ages of 12 months and 24 

months shall not be grouped with older children 

unless all children in the group are less than 

three years of age; 

(7) when only one caregiver is required to meet the 

staff/child ratio and no children under two years 

of age are in care, that caregiver may 

concurrently perform food preparation or other 

duties that are not direct child care 

responsibilities as long as supervision of the 

children as specified in 10A NCAC 09 .1801 is 

maintained; 

(8) except as provided in Subparagraph (7) of this 

Paragraph, staff members and child care 

administrators who are counted in meeting the 

staff/child ratios as stated in this Rule shall not 

concurrently perform food preparation or other 

duties that are not direct child care 

responsibilities; and 

(9) when only one caregiver is required to meet the 

staff/child ratio, the operator shall select one of 

the following options for emergency relief: 

(A) the center shall post the name, address, 

and telephone number of an adult who 

has agreed in writing to be available to 

provide emergency relief; or 

(B) there shall be a second adult on the 

premises who is available to provide 

emergency relief. 

(10) the staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom as 

described in this Paragraph shall be posted in 

that classroom in an area that parents are able to 

view at all times. 

(b)  The staff/child ratios for a center located in a residence with 

a licensed capacity of 3 to 12 children when any preschool-age 

child is enrolled, or with a licensed capacity of 3 to 15 children 

when only school-age children are enrolled, are as follows: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Age of Children Ratio Staff/Children 

0 to 12 Months 1/5 preschool children plus three 

additional school-age children 

12 to 24 Months 1/6 preschool children plus two additional 

school-age children 

2 to 13 Years 1/10 

3 to 13 Years 1/12 

All school-age 1/15 

 

(c)  The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom for a center 

located in a residence as described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

shall be posted in that classroom in an area that parents are able 

to view at all times. 

(d)  When only one caregiver is required to meet the staff/child 

ratio for a center located in a residence, as described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule and children under two years of age are in care, 

that person shall not concurrently perform food preparation or 

other duties that are not direct child care responsibilities. 

(e)  When only one caregiver is required to meet the staff/child 

ratio for a center located in a residence, as described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule the operator shall select one of the following 

options for emergency relief: 

(1) the center shall post the name, address, and 

telephone number of an adult who has agreed in 

writing to be available to provide emergency 

relief and who can respond within a reasonable 

period of time; or 

(2) there shall be a second adult on the premises 

who is available to provide emergency relief. 

(f)  Upon the Division's receipt of a written request, a center may 

choose to group children in multi-age groups rather than single-

aged groups. The staff/child ratios and group sizes for multi-age 

groups of children in centers shall be as follows: 

 

Age of Children Ratio 

Staff/Children 

Maximum 

Group Size 

0 to 3 years of age 1/4 8 

12 months to 36 months  1/5 10 

24 months to 60 months 1/6 10 

 

(1) Before meeting the ratios outlined in this 

Paragraph or before changing from multi-age 

group ratios to single-age group ratios, the 

Division must be notified in writing; 

(2) Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule do not 

apply to centers that choose to meet the ratios 

outlined in this Paragraph; and 

(3) The staff/child ratio applicable for a multi-age 

group as described in this Paragraph shall be 

posted in that classroom in an area that parents 

are able to view at all times. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(7); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. December 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1994; 

January 1, 1992; August 1, 1990; November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 
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10A NCAC 09 .0801 APPLICATION FOR 

ENROLLMENT 

(a)  Each child in care shall have an individual application for 

enrollment completed and signed by the child's parent, as defined 

in 10A NCAC 09 .0102. The completed, signed application shall 

be on file in the center on the first day the child attends and shall 

include the following information: 

(1) emergency medical information as set forth in 

Rule .0802(c) of this Section; 

(2) the child's full name and the name the child is 

to be called; 

(3) the child's date of birth; 

(4) any allergies and the symptoms and type of 

response required for allergic reactions; 

(5) any health care needs or concerns, symptoms of 

and the type of response required for these 

health care needs or concerns; 

(6) fears or behavior characteristics that the child 

has; and 

(7) the names of individuals to whom the center 

may release the child, as authorized by the 

person who signs the application. 

(b)  For any child with health care needs such as allergies, asthma, 

or other chronic conditions that require specialized health 

services, a medical action plan shall be attached to the application. 

The medical action plan shall be completed by the child's parent 

or a health care professional and may include the following: 

(1) a list of the child's diagnosis or diagnoses 

including dietary, environmental, and activity 

considerations that are applicable; 

(2) contact information for the child's health care 

professional(s); 

(3) medications to be administered on a scheduled 

basis; and 

(4) medications to be administered on an 

emergency basis with symptoms, and 

instructions. 

The medical action plan shall be updated on an annual basis and 

when changes to the plan are made by the child's parent or health 

care professional. Sample medical action plans may be found on 

the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_provideforms.asp; 

(c)  Center administrators and staff shall release a child only to an 

individual listed on the application. 

(d)  The information contained in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through 

(a)(7) and Paragraph (b) of this Rule, shall be accessible to 

caregiving staff during the time the child is in care. 

(e)  Center administrators and staff shall use the information 

provided on the application to ensure that each individual child's 

needs are met during the time the child is in care. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88; 143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0802 EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE 

(a)  Each child care center shall have a written plan that sets forth 

the steps to follow in the event of a child medical emergency. The 

plan shall be reviewed with all staff annually and whenever the 

plan is revised. This plan shall give the procedures to be followed 

to ensure that any child who becomes ill or is injured and requires 

medical attention while in care at the center receives appropriate 

medical attention. The following information shall be included in 

the center's emergency medical care plan: 

(1) The name of the person and at least one 

alternate, responsible for carrying out that plan 

of action, ensuring that appropriate medical 

care is given, and determining which of the 

following is needed: 

(A) first aid given at the center for an 

injury or illness needing only minimal 

attention; and 

(B) calling 911 in accordance with CPR or 

First Aid training recommendations. 

(2) The name of the person and one alternate, at the 

center responsible for: 

(A) ensuring that the signed authorization 

described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule 

is taken with the ill or injured child to 

the medical facility; 

(B) accompanying the ill or injured child 

to the medical facility; 

(C) notifying a child's parents or 

emergency contact person about the 

illness or injury and where the child 

has been taken for treatment; 

(D) obtaining substitute staff, if needed, to 

maintain required staff/child ratio and 

adequate supervision of children who 

remain in the center; and 

(3) A statement giving the location of the telephone 

located on the premises available for use in case 

of emergency. A telephone located in an office 

in the center that is sometimes locked during the 

time the children are present shall not be 

designated for use in an emergency. 

(b)  One person identified as the person or alternate responsible 

for carrying out the emergency medical care plan and ensuring 

that appropriate medical care is given shall: 

(1) be on the premises at all times; and 

(2) accompany children for off-premises activities. 

(c)  Emergency medical care information shall be on file for each 

child. That information shall include: 

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

parent or other person to be contacted in case of 

an emergency; 

(2) the responsible party's choice of health care 

professional; 

(3) any chronic illness and any medication taken 

for that illness; and 

(4) any other information that has a direct bearing 

on ensuring safe medical treatment for the 

child. 
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This emergency medical care information shall be on file in the 

center on the child's first day of attendance and shall be updated 

as changes occur and at least annually. 

(d)  Each child's parent, legal guardian, or full-time custodian 

shall sign a statement authorizing the center to obtain medical 

attention for the child in an emergency. That statement shall be on 

file on the first day the child attends the center. It shall be easily 

accessible to staff so that it can be taken with the child whenever 

emergency medical treatment is necessary. 

(e)  The child care provider shall complete an incident report each 

time a child is injured as a result of an incident occurring while 

the child is in care. This incident report shall include: 

(1) facility identifying information;  

(2) the child's name; 

(3) date and time of the incident;  

(4) witness to the incident;  

(5) time the parent is notified of the incident and by 

whom;  

(6) piece of equipment involved, if applicable;  

(7) cause of injury, if applicable;  

(8) type of injury, if applicable; 

(9) body part injured, if applicable; 

(10) where the child received medical treatment, if 

applicable; 

(11) description of how and where the incident 

occurred, and the First Aid received; and 

(12) steps taken to prevent reoccurrence. 

This report shall be signed by the person completing it and by the 

parent, a copy given to the parent or the parent declining a copy 

and the report maintained in the child's file. A copy of the form 

may be found on the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/pdf_forms/DCDEE-0058.pdf. 

(f)  When medical treatment is required by a health care 

professional, community clinic, or local health department as a 

result of an incident occurring while the child is in care, a copy of 

the incident report shall be mailed to a representative of the 

Division within seven calendar days after the incident. 

(g)  An incident log shall be completed any time an incident report 

is completed. This log shall: 

(1) include the name of the child; 

(2) include the date of the incident; 

(3) include the date the incident report was 

submitted to the Division, if applicable; 

(4) include the name of the staff member who 

complete the incident report; 

(5) be cumulative and maintained in a separate file; 

and 

(6) be available for review by a representative of 

the Division. 

This log shall be completed on a form provided by the Division. 

A copy of the log may be found on the Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Portals/0/documents/pdf/I/incide

nt_log_i.pdf?ver=2017-05-16-105723-723. 

(h)  A First Aid information sheet shall be posted in a place for 

referral. The information sheet shall include first aid guidance 

regarding burns, scalds, fractures, sprains, head injuries, poisons, 

skin wounds, stings and bites. An information sheet may be 

requested free of charge from the North Carolina Child Care 

Health and Safety Resource Center at 1-800-367-2229. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(1),(9); 143B-

168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; July 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; 

October 1, 1991; November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1103 ON-GOING TRAINING AND 

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT  

(a)  After the first year of employment, the child care 

administrator and any staff who have responsibility for planning 

and supervising a child care center, and staff who work with 

children, shall participate in on-going training activities annually, 

as follows: 

 

Education and Experience Required Training 

Four-year degree or higher advanced 

degree in a child care related field of 

study from a regionally accredited 

college or university 

5 clock hours 

Two-year degree in a child care related 

field of study from a regionally 

accredited college or university, or 

persons with a North Carolina Early 

Childhood Administration Credential 

8 clock hours 

Certificate or diploma in a child care 

related field of study from a regionally 

accredited college or university, or 

persons with a North Carolina Early 

Childhood Credential 

10 clock hours 

10 years documented experience as a 

teacher, director, or caregiver in a 

licensed child care arrangement 

15 clock hours 

If none of the other criteria in this chart 

apply 

20 clock hours 

 

(b)  Health and safety training shall be completed as part of on-

going training so that every five years, all of the topic areas set 

forth in 10A NCAC 09 .1102(b) will have been covered. 

(c)  Completion of cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and First 

Aid training shall not be counted toward meeting annual on-going 

training requirements. 

(d)  Any staff working less than 40 hours per week may choose to 

complete on-going training requirements as outlined in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule, or the training requirement may be prorated as 

follows: 

 

WORKING HOURS PER 

WEEK 

CLOCK HOURS REQUIRED 

11-20 10 

21-30 15 

31-40 20 

 

(e)  For purposes of this Rule, "regionally accredited" means a 

college or university accredited by one of the following 

accrediting bodies: 

(1) Middle States Association of Colleges and 

Schools; 
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(2) New England Association of School and 

Colleges; 

(3) North Central Association of Colleges and 

Schools; 

(4) Northwest Accreditation Commission; 

(5) Southern Association of Colleges and Schools; 

or 

(6) Western Association of Schools and Colleges. 

(f)  For every three hours of countable technical assistance 

provided, one hour may be counted toward annual training 

requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, not to exceed 

50 percent of the total required so long as: 

(1) the child care center has a 3-5 star rated license; 

and 

(2) the participating administrator or staff member 

has earned at least 18 semester hours in early 

childhood education. 

(g)  For purposes of this Section, "countable technical assistance" 

means technical assistance provided to administrative or 

caregiving staff members at a child care center by a person who 

has been endorsed by the NC Institute for Child Development 

Professionals as a technical assistance provider and shall include: 

(1) a cycle of observation; 

(2) identified goals based on the observation; 

(3) a timeline for completion of identified goals; 

(4) evaluation and feedback for each participant; 

(5) technical assistance time in the classroom; and 

(6) one-on-one consultation with each participant 

at a time when they are not responsible for a 

child or group of children. 

(h)  A combination of college coursework, Continuing Education 

Units (CEU's), clock hours, or countable technical assistance shall 

be used to complete the requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(11); 143B-

168.3; 

Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1106 DOCUMENTATION OF ON-

GOING TRAINING AND PROFESSIONAL 

DEVELOPMENT 

(a)  Each center shall have a record of training activities in which 

each staff member participates, including copies of training 

certificates or official documentation provided by the trainer. That 

record shall include the subject matter, topic area in G.S. 110-

91(11), training provider, date provided, hours, and name of staff 

who completed the training. This documentation shall be on file 

and current. 

(b)  Each center shall have a record of countable technical 

assistance in which each staff member participates, including 

copies of documentation, observations and evaluations provided 

by the person who has been endorsed by the NC Institute for Child 

Development Professionals as a technical assistance provider. 

That record shall include the dates and times of technical 

assistance with staff, names of all participating staff members and 

the name of the technical assistance provider. This documentation 

shall be on file and current. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(9),(11); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017 (Transferred from 10A NCAC 09 

.0709); 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1402 OUTDOOR SPACE 

(a)  The outdoor play area shall be no smaller than 75 square feet 

for each child using the outdoor learning environment at any one 

time. 

(b)  Paragraph (a) of this Rule apply only to child care centers 

initially licensed after April 1, 1984. 

(c)  The outdoor play area shall provide an area that is shaded by 

a building, awnings, trees, or other methods. 

(d)  The outdoor area shall be designed so that staff is able to 

adequately supervise the entire area in accordance with 10A 

NCAC 09 .1801(a). 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(1),(2); 110-91(6); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1403 ACTIVITIES INVOLVING 

WATER IN CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  The requirements in this Rule apply to child care center 

"aquatic activities," which are defined as activities that take place 

in or around a body of water such as swimming, swimming 

instruction, wading, and visits to water parks. Aquatic activities 

do not include water play activities such as water table play, slip 

and slide activities, or playing in sprinklers. 

(b)  Aquatic activities involving the following are prohibited: 

(1) hot tubs; 

(2) spas; 

(3) saunas or steam rooms; 

(4) portable wading pools; and 

(5) natural bodies of water and other unfiltered, 

nondisinfected containments of water. 

(c)  For every 25 children in care participating in aquatic activities, 

there shall be at least one person who has a life guard training 

certificate issued by the Red Cross or other training determined 

by the Division to be equivalent to the Red Cross training, 

appropriate for both the type of body of water and type of aquatic 

activity. These lifeguards shall not be counted in the required 

staff/child ratios referenced in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(d)  Children under the age of three shall not participate in aquatic 

activities except to the extent necessary to implement any child's 

Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) or Individualized 

Education Program (IEP). 

(e)  The following staff/child ratios shall be maintained whenever 

children participate in aquatic activities: 

Age of Children  Ratio Staff/Children 

3 to 4 Years    1/8 

4 to 5 Years    1/10 

5 Years and Older  1/13 
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Notwithstanding the staff/child ratios, at no time shall there be 

fewer than two staff members supervising the aquatic activity. 

(f)  Children shall be adequately supervised by center staff at all 

times while participating in aquatic activities. For purposes of this 

Rule, "Adequate supervision" means that half of the center staff 

needed to meet the staff/child ratios in Paragraph (e) of this Rule 

is in the water and the other half is out of the water. If an uneven 

number of staff are needed to meet the required staff/child ratios, 

the majority shall be in the water. Staff shall be stationed in pre-

assigned areas that will enable them at all times to hear, see, and 

respond to the children whether in or out of the water. Children 

shall not enter the water before center staff are stationed in their 

pre-assigned areas. Center staff shall devote their full attention to 

supervising the children in their pre-assigned areas of coverage 

and shall communicate with one another about children moving 

from one area to another area. 

(g)  Prior to children participating in aquatic activities, the center 

shall develop policies that address the following: 

(1) aquatic safety hazards; 

(2) pool and aquatic activity area supervision 

including restroom or changing room use; 

(3) how discipline will be handled during aquatic 

activities; 

(4) the facility's off-premises and transportation 

policies and procedures; and 

(5) that children shall be directed to exit the water 

during an emergency. 

(h)  Before staff first supervise children on an aquatic activity, and 

annually thereafter, staff shall sign and date statements that they 

have reviewed: 

(1) the center policies as specified in Paragraph (g) 

of this Rule; 

(2) any guidelines provided by the pool operator or 

other off-site aquatic facility; and 

(3) the requirements of this Rule. 

The statement shall be maintained in the staff person's personnel 

file for one year or until it is superseded by a new statement. 

(i)  Centers shall obtain written permission from parents for 

participation in aquatic activities. The written permission shall 

include a statement that parents are aware of the center's aquatic 

policies specified in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. The center shall 

maintain copies of written parental permission in each child's file. 

(j)  Any outdoor swimming pool located on the child care center 

premises shall be enclosed by a fence that is at least four feet high, 

separated from the remaining outdoor play area by that fence, and 

locked and inaccessible to children when not in use. 

(k)  Swimming pool safety rules shall be posted and visible to 

children and staff for any swimming pool located on the child care 

center premises. These rules shall state: 

(1) the location of a First Aid kit; 

(2) that only water toys are permitted; 

(3) that children are not allowed to run or push one 

another; 

(4) that swimming is allowed only when at least 

two adults are present; and 

(5) that glass objects are not allowed. 

(l)  All swimming pools used by children shall meet the "Rules 

Governing Public Swimming Pools" in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 18A .2500 which are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments. A copy of these Rules can be found at 

http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/docs/rules/294306-9-2500.pdf and 

is available at no charge. 

(m)  Educational activities, such as observing tadpoles, exploring 

mud, or learning about rocks and vegetation shall be permitted. 

(n)  Boating, rafting, and canoeing activities are permitted. Prior 

to participating in recreational activities conducted on the water, 

children shall wear an age or size appropriate personal floatation 

device approved by the United States Coast Guard. This personal 

floatation device shall be worn for the duration of the activity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(5); 110-

91(1),(6); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; November 1, 2007; January 1, 1996; 

January 1, 1992; January 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1702 APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE 

FOR A FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME 

(a)  Any person who plans to operate a family child care home 

(FCCH) shall apply for a license using a form provided by the 

Division. Only one licensed family child care home shall operate 

at the location address of any home. The form can be found on the 

Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.nc.gov//PDF_forms/Family_Child_Care_Ho

me_Application_Packet.pdf. The application for a family child 

care home license shall include the following information: 

(1) owner name; 

(2) facility name, address, phone number, email 

address, and location address; 

(3) facility contact information; 

(4) requested age range of children in the child care 

center; 

(5) hours of operation; 

(6) type of care to be provided; 

(7) type of building; 

(8) type of family child care home; 

(9) proposed opening date; 

(10) proposed number of children to be served; 

(11) type of business operation; 

(12) history of operation or licensing of child care 

facilities; and 

(13) signature of applicant of either: 

(A) the individual who will be responsible 

for the operation of the family child 

care home and for assuring 

compliance with G.S. 110, Article 7 

and this Chapter; or 

(B) an officer of an entity who will be 

responsible for the operation of the 

family child care home and for 

ensuring compliance with G.S. 110, 

Article 7 and this Chapter. 

Upon receipt of the application, the Division shall assess the 

information provided to determine if the prospective licensee may 

be denied a license for one or more of the reasons set forth in 10A 

NCAC 09 .2215. 
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(b)  The applicant for a family child care home license shall also 

submit supporting documentation with the application for a 

license to the Division. The supporting documentation shall 

include: 

(1) a copy of a non-expired qualification letter in 

accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .2702; 

(2) a copy of documentation of completion of a 

First Aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) course within 12 months prior to 

applying for a license; 

(3) a copy of documentation of completion of ITS-

SIDS training within 12 months prior to 

applying for a license, if requesting a license to 

care for infants ages 12 months and younger; 

(4) proof of negative results of the applicant's 

tuberculosis test or screening completed within 

the past 12 months; 

(5) a completed health questionnaire; a copy of the 

health questions can be found on the Division's 

website, 

http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/pdf_forms/emergenc

y_information_health_questionnaire_i.pdf and 

includes a statement signed by the staff member 

that indicates that the person is emotionally and 

physically fit to care for children; 

(6) a copy of non-expired pet vaccinations for any 

pet in the home; 

(7) if a home has a private well, a negative well 

water bacteriological analysis; 

(8) copies of any inspections required by local 

ordinances; and 

(9) any other documentation required by the 

Division according to the rules in this Section 

to support the issuance of a license. 

(c)  Upon receipt of a complete application for a family child care 

home and supporting documentation, a Division representative 

shall make an announced visit to each home. An announced visit 

shall not be required by a Division representative if the applicant 

is subject to the circumstances in 10A NCAC 09 .2214. The 

issuance of a license applies as follows: 

(1) if all applicable requirements of G.S. 110, 

Article 7 and this Section are met, a six month 

temporary license shall be issued; 

(2) a one- star rated license shall be issued to a 

family child care home operator who complies 

with the minimum standards for a license 

contained in this Section and G.S. 110-91 at the 

end of the six month temporary time period; 

(3) a two- through five- star rated license shall be 

issued to a family child care home operator who 

complies with minimum and voluntary 

standards for a license contained in this Section, 

Section .2800 of this Chapter and G.S. 110-91, 

at the end of the six month temporary time 

period; 

(4) if the applicable requirements of G.S. 110, 

Article 7 and this Section are not met, the 

Division representative shall establish with the 

applicant a time period for the home to achieve 

compliance. If the Division representative 

determines that all applicable requirements of 

G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Section are met 

within the established time period, a license 

shall be issued; or 

(5) The temporary license shall remain in effect for 

six months or until the issuance of a star-rated 

license, a special provisional license, 

provisional license, summary suspension, 

suspension, probationary license, or a denial of 

a rated license to the operator. 

(d)  A family child care home operator shall notify the Division 

no later than 30 calendar days prior to relocation of a family child 

care home. The operator must apply for a license for the new 

physical location as described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. An 

operator requesting relocation of the family child care home shall 

not operate until he or she has received a license from the Division 

for the new location. 

(e)  When a family child care home operator wants to change 

ownership of the program, the prospective new operator shall 

apply for a new license in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, at least 30 days before the change occurs. The family child 

care home license shall not be bought, sold, or transferred from 

one individual to another. 

(f)  The family child care home license shall be valid only for the 

location address listed on it. 

(g)  The family child care home license shall be returned to the 

Division in the event of termination, revocation, suspension, or 

summary suspension. 

(h)  A family child care home licensee shall notify the Division in 

writing if a change occurs that affects the information shown on 

the license. The Division shall issue a new license upon 

verification of the operator's compliance with all applicable 

requirements in this Section for the change. This includes the 

following: 

(1) decreasing the capacity of the family child care 

home; 

(2) increasing the capacity of the family child care 

home; 

(3) changes to shifts of care; 

(4) requests to change the age range of the family 

child care home; 

(5) requests to remove a restriction from the 

license, including documentation of steps taken 

by the operator to comply with requirements 

which resulted in the licensure restriction; and 

(6) changes to the operator's legal name. 

(i)  The family child care home license shall be posted in a place 

in the home that parents are able to view daily. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(5); 110-86; 110-91; 

110-93; 110-99; 143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014; December 1, 2012; August 1, 2011; 

July 1, 2010; April 1, 2003; April 1, 2001; July 1, 1998; January 

1, 1991; November 1, 1989; January 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 
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10A NCAC 09 .1703 ON-GOING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME OPERATORS 

(a)  After receiving a license, family child care home operator 

shall: 

(1) Update the health questionnaire annually. The 

Division may request an evaluation of the 

operator's emotional and physical fitness to care 

for children when there is reason to believe that 

there has been a deterioration in the operator's 

emotional or physical fitness to care for 

children. This request may be based upon 

factors such as observations by the director or 

center staff, reports of concern from family, 

reports from law enforcement or reports from 

medical personnel. The Division may require 

the operator to obtain written proof that he or 

she is free of active tuberculosis when the 

Division determines that the operator was 

exposed to a person with active tuberculosis; 

(2) Renew First Aid training on or before 

expiration of the certification appropriate for 

the ages of children in care; 

(3) Renew CPR course on or before the expiration 

of the certification appropriate for the ages of 

children in care; 

(4) Renew ITS-SIDS training every three years 

from the completion of previous ITS-SIDS 

training; and 

(5) Complete Recognizing and Responding to 

Suspicions of Child Maltreatment training 

within 90 days of licensure. This training shall 

count toward requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. Recognizing and 

Responding to Suspicions of Child 

Maltreatment training is available at 

https://www.preventchildabusenc.org/. 

(b)  Family child care home operators and staff members shall 

complete health and safety training within one year of 

employment, unless the operator or staff member has completed 

the training within the year prior to beginning employment or 

within the year prior to receiving a license. Health and safety 

training shall be in addition to the pre-licensing visit and new staff 

orientation requirements set forth in Rules .1702(d) and .1729(c) 

of this Section. The following persons shall be exempt from this 

requirement: 

(1) service providers such as speech therapists, 

occupational therapists, and physical therapists; 

and 

(2) substitutes who provide services for less than 

10 days in a 12-month period. 

(c)  The health and safety training shall include the following topic 

areas: 

(1) Prevention and control of infectious diseases, 

including immunization; 

(2) Administration of medication, with standards 

for parental consent; 

(3) Prevention of and response to emergencies due 

to food and allergic reactions; 

(4) Building and physical premises safety, 

including identification of and protection from 

hazards that can cause bodily injury such as 

electrical hazards, bodies of water, and 

vehicular traffic; 

(5) Emergency preparedness and response 

planning for emergencies resulting from a 

natural disaster, or a man-caused event; 

(6) Handling and storage of hazardous materials 

and the appropriate disposal of 

biocontaminants; 

(7) Precautions in transporting children, if 

applicable; 

(8) Prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive 

head trauma, and child maltreatment; 

(9) CPR and First Aid training as required in Rule 

.1102(c) and (d) of this Chapter; 

(10) Recognizing and reporting child abuse, child 

neglect, and child maltreatment; and 

(11) Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome 

and use of safe sleeping practices. 

(d)  After the first year of employment, the family child care home 

operator, and staff who work with children shall complete on-

going training activities as follows: 

(1)  

Education and Experience Required Training 

Four-year degree or higher advanced 

degree in a child care related field of 

study from a regionally accredited 

college or university 

5 clock hours 

Two-year degree in a child care 

related field of study from a 

regionally accredited college or 

university, or persons with a North 

Carolina Early Childhood 

Administration Credential 

8 clock hours 

Certificate or diploma in a child care 

related field of study from a 

regionally accredited college or 

university, or persons with a North 

Carolina Early Childhood Credential 

10 clock hours 

10 years documented experience as a 

teacher, director, or caregiver in a 

licensed child care arrangement 

15 clock hours 

If none of the other criteria in this 

chart apply 

20 clock hours 

(2) complete health and safety training as part of 

on-going training so that every five years, all 

the topic areas set forth in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule will have been covered; 

(3) cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and First 

Aid training shall not be counted toward 

meeting annual on-going training activities in 

Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule; 

(4) any staff working less than 40 hours per week 

may choose to complete on-going training 

requirements as outlined in Paragraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule or the training requirement may be 

prorated as follows: 
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WORKING HOURS PER 

WEEK 

CLOCK HOURS REQUIRED 

0-10 5 

11-20 10 

21-30 15 

31-40 20 

 

(e)  For purposes of this Rule, "regionally accredited" means a 

college or university accredited by one of the following 

accrediting bodies: 

(1) Middle States Association of Colleges and 

Schools; 

(2) New England Association of School and 

Colleges; 

(3) North Central Association of Colleges and 

Schools; 

(4) Northwest Accreditation Commission; 

(5) Southern Association of Colleges and Schools; 

or 

(6) Western Association of Schools and Colleges. 

(f)  For every three hours of countable technical assistance 

provided, one hour may be counted toward annual training 

requirements set forth in Subparagraph(d)(1) of this Rule, not to 

exceed 50 percent of the total required so long as: 

(1) the family child care home has a 3-5 star rated 

license; and 

(2) the participating operator or staff member has 

earned at least 18 semester hours in early 

childhood education. 

(g)  For purposes of this Rule, "countable technical assistance" 

means technical assistance provided to operator or caregiving 

staff members at a family child care home by a person who has 

been endorsed by the NC Institute for Child Development 

Professionals as a technical assistance provider and shall include: 

(1) a cycle of observation; 

(2) identified goals based on the observation; 

(3) a timeline for completion of identified goals; 

(4) evaluation and feedback for each participant; 

(5) technical assistance time in the family child 

care home; and 

(6) one-on-one consultation with each participant 

at a time when they are not responsible for a 

child or group of children. 

(h)  A combination of college coursework, Continuing Education 

Units (CEU's), clock hours, or countable technical assistance shall 

be used to complete the requirements in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule. 

(i)  The family child care home operator and staff members shall 

complete a professional development plan within one year of 

employment and at least thereafter. The plan shall: 

(1) document the individual's professional 

development goals; 

(2) be appropriate for the ages of children in their 

care; 

(3) include the continuing education, coursework 

or training needed to meet the individual's 

planned goals; 

(4) be completed by the operator and staff member 

in a collaborative manner; and 

(5) be maintained in their personnel file. 

Sample professional development plan templates may be found 

on the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_provideforms.asp. 

Another form may be used other than the sample templates 

provided by the Division as long as the form includes the 

information set forth in this Rule. 

(j)  Each family child care home operator shall have a record of 

training activities in which each staff member participates, 

including copies of training certificates or official documentation 

provided by the trainer. That record shall include the subject 

matter, topic area in G.S. 110-91(11), training provider, date 

provided, hours, and name of staff who completed the training. 

This documentation shall be on file and current. 

(k)  Each family child care home operator shall have a record of 

countable technical assistance in which the operator and each staff 

member participates, including copies of documentation, 

observations and evaluations provided by the person who has 

been endorsed by the NC Institute for Child Development 

Professionals as a technical assistance provider. That record shall 

include the dates and times of technical assistance with the 

operator or staff, names of all participating staff members and the 

name of the technical assistance provider. This documentation 

shall be on file and current. 

(l)  The family child care home operator and staff members may 

meet on-going training requirements by attending child-care 

workshops, conferences, seminars, or courses, provided each 

training activity satisfies the following criteria: 

(1) Prior approval from the Division shall not be 

required for training offered by a college or 

university with nationally recognized regional 

accreditation, a government agency, or a state, 

or international professional organization or its 

affiliates, provided the content complies with 

G.S. 110-91(11). Government agencies or state 

or national professional organizations who 

provide training shall submit an annual training 

plan for review by the Division. The plan is not 

required for any state, national, or international 

conferences sponsored by a professional child 

care organization. 

(2) Prior approval from the Division shall be 

required for any agencies, organizations, or 

individuals not specified in Subparagraph (1) of 

this Paragraph who wish to provide training for 

child care operators and staff. To obtain such 

approval, the agency, organization, or 

individual shall: 

(A) complete and submit on-going 

training approval forms provided by 

the Division 15 business days prior to 

the training event that includes the 

name and qualifications of the trainer, 

name of training, target audience and 

content of the training; 

(B) submit a training roster, to the 

Division, listing the attendees' name, 

the county of employment, and day 
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time phone number no later than 15 

days after the training event; 

(C) provide training evaluations to be 

completed by attendees; and 

(D) keep the training rosters and 

evaluations on file for two years. 

(3) Distance learning shall be permitted from 

trainers approved by the Division or offered by 

an accredited post-secondary institution, as 

listed on the United States Department of 

Education's Database of Accredited Post-

Secondary Institutions and Programs at 

http://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/. Distance 

learning shall not be permitted for 

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and 

First Aid. 

(m)  The Division shall approve training based upon the following 

factors: 

(1) the trainer's education, training, and experience 

relevant to the training topic; 

(2) content that is in compliance with G.S. 110-

91(11); and 

(3) contact hours for the proposed content and 

scope of the training session. 

(n)  The Division shall deny approval of training to: 

(1) Agencies, organizations, or individuals not 

meeting the standards listed in this Rule and in 

G.S. 110-91(11); and 

(2) Agencies, organizations, or individuals who 

intentionally falsify any information submitted 

to the Division. 

(o)  Agencies, organizations, or individuals who intentionally 

falsify any information submitted to the Division pursuant to this 

Rule shall be permanently ineligible to apply for approval of 

training. 

(p)  Denial of approval of training or a determination of 

falsification is appealable pursuant to G.S. 110-94 and the North 

Carolina Administrative Procedure Act, G.S. 150B-23. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91; 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; July 1, 2008; May 1, 2004; July 1, 

1998; November 1, 1989; January 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017 (Transferred from 10A NCAC 09 

.1705); 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1706 NUTRITION STANDARDS 

(a)  Meals and snacks served to children in a Family Child Care 

Home shall comply with the Meal Patterns for Children in Child 

Care Programs from the United States Department of Agriculture 

(USDA) which are based on the recommended nutrient intake 

judged by the National Research Council to be adequate for 

maintaining good nutrition. The types of food, number, and size 

of servings shall be appropriate for the ages and developmental 

levels of the children in care. The Meal Patterns for Children in 

Child Care Programs are incorporated by reference and include 

subsequent amendments. A copy of the Meal Patterns for Children 

in Child Care Programs is available online at 

https://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks at no cost. 

(b)  When children bring their own food for meals and snacks to 

the program, if the food does not meet the nutritional requirements 

specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the operator must provide 

additional food necessary to meet those requirements. 

(c)  A child's parent may opt out of the supplemental food 

provided by the operator as set forth in G.S. 110-91(2) h.1. When 

a child's parent opts out of the supplemental food provided by the 

family child care home, the operator shall obtain the parents 

signature acknowledging the parental decision and shall maintain 

the acknowledgment in the child's file at the home and provide a 

copy to the parent. A child's parent may opt out of the 

supplemental food provided by the family child care home, 

subject to the following: 

(1) the operator shall not provide any food or drink 

so long as the child's parent or guardian 

provides all meals, snacks, and drinks 

scheduled to be served at the program's 

designated times; 

(2) the opt out ability is not available for specific 

meals or days based on menu options; 

(3) if a child requests specific foods being served to 

other children, but the parent has opted out, the 

operator shall not serve supplemental food; and 

(4) if the child's parent has opted out, but does not 

provide all meals and snacks for the child, the 

operator shall replace the missing meal or snack 

as if the child's parent or guardian had not opted 

out of the supplemental food program. 

(d)  The food required by special diets for medical, religious or 

cultural reasons, or parental preferences, may be provided by the 

operator or may be brought to the program by the parents. If the 

diet is prescribed by a health care professional, a statement signed 

by the health care professional shall be on file at the program and 

written instructions must be provided by the child's parent, health 

care professional or a licensed dietitian/nutritionist. If the diet is 

not prescribed by a health care professional, written instructions 

shall be provided by the child's parent and shall be on file at the 

program. 

(e)  Children's special diets or food allergies shall be posted in the 

food preparation area and in the child's eating area. 

(f)  Food that does not meet the nutritional requirements specified 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, such as cupcakes, cakes, and donuts 

shall only be offered for special occasions such as holidays and 

birthdays. 

(g)  The operator, additional caregivers, and substitute providers 

shall role model appropriate eating behaviors by consuming only 

food or beverages that meet the nutritional requirements specified 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule in the presence of children in care. 

(h)  Meals and snacks shall be planned according to the number 

of hours a child is in care. For children ages 15 months and older 

a meal or snack must be provided at least every four hours. These 

Rules shall apply in all situations except during sleeping hours 

and nighttime care: 
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Hours Child 

Is in Care 

Age of Child Snack and Meal Requirement 

At least 2 hours but less than 4 

hours 

Preschool-age children 1 snack, unless child is present during the time a meal is being served 

Any hours in care School-age children 1 snack, unless child is present during the time a meal is being served 

At least 4 hours but less than 6 

hours 

All Children 1 meal equal to 1/3 of the child's daily food needs 

At least 6 hours but less than 12 

hours 

All Children 2 meals and 1 snack OR 2 snacks and 1 meal equal to ½ of the child's 

daily food needs 

More than 12 hours All Children 2 snacks and 2 meals equal to 2/3 of the child's daily food needs 

Second Shift 

(approximately 3:00 p.m. to 11:00 

p.m.) 

All Children 1 meal 

 

(i)  The parent or health care professional of each child under 15 

months of age shall provide the operator an individual written 

feeding plan for the child. This plan shall be followed at the home. 

This plan shall include the child's name, be signed by the parent 

or health care professional, and be dated when received by the 

operator. Each infant's plan shall be modified in consultation with 

the child's parent or health care professional to reflect changes in 

the child's needs as he or she develops. The feeding plans for each 

infant shall include the type and amount of milk, formula and 

food, the frequency of feedings and be available for reference by 

the operator. 

(j)  Parents shall be allowed to provide breast milk for their 

children. Accommodations for breastfeeding mothers shall be 

provided that include seating and an electrical outlet, in a place 

other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view by staff and the 

public, which may be used by mothers while they are 

breastfeeding or expressing milk. 

(k)  Each infant shall be held for bottle feeding until able to hold 

his or her own bottle. Bottles shall not be propped. Each child 

shall be held or placed in feeding chairs or other age-appropriate 

seating apparatus to be fed. The feeding chair or other seating 

apparatus shall be disassembled for cleaning purposes. 

(l)  Breast milk, formula, and other bottled beverages sent from 

home shall be fully prepared, dated, and labeled with individual 

child names. All beverages shall be returned to the child's parent 

or discarded at the end of each day. 

(m)  Frozen breast milk that is sent from home may be stored 

frozen for up to seven days. Frozen breast milk shall be labeled 

with the date received, date thawed for use, and individual child 

name. Once thawed, the breast milk shall be refrigerated for no 

more than 24 hours. Thawed breast milk shall not be refrozen. The 

thawed breast milk shall be returned to the child's parent or 

discarded at the end of each day. 

(n)  Any formula that is prepared by the operator shall be prepared 

according to the instructions on the formula package or label, or 

according to written instructions from the child's health care 

professional. 

(o)  Baby food, snack items, and meal items sent from home shall 

be dated and labeled with individual child names. 

(p)  Microwaves shall not be used to thaw or warm breast milk, 

baby food, formula, or other bottled beverages. Bottle warming 

equipment and power cords shall be inaccessible to children when 

in use. Bottle warming equipment shall be emptied and cleaned 

daily. 

(q)  Infants shall not be served juice in a bottle without a 

prescription or written statement on file from a health care 

professional or licensed dietitian/nutritionist. 

(r)  Each infant shall be served only formula, breast milk, and 

bottles labeled with their individual name. 

(s)  Drinking water shall be freely available and offered to 

children on a frequent basis. Individual drinking utensils shall be 

provided by the parent or operator. 

(t)  When milk, milk products, or fruit juices are provided by the 

operator, only pasteurized products or products that have 

undergone an equivalent process to pasteurization shall be used. 

(u)  The operator shall serve only the following beverages: 

(1) breast milk, as specified in Paragraph (k) of this 

Rule; 

(2) formula; 

(3) water; 

(4) unflavored whole milk, for children ages 12-23 

months; 

(5) unflavored skim or lowfat milk for children 24 

months through five years; 

(6) unflavored skim milk, unflavored low-fat milk, 

or flavored skim milk for children six years and 

older; or 

(7) 100 percent fruit juice, limited to 6 ounces per 

day, for all ages. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(2); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. December 1, 2012; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1707 BUILDING REQUIREMENTS 

The applicant shall ensure that the family child care home 

complies with the following requirements: 

(1) all children are kept on the ground level with an 

exit at grade; 

(2) all family child care homes must be free of lead 

poisoning hazards as defined in G.S. 130A-

131.7(7); 
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(3) all homes are equipped with an electrically 

operated (with a battery backup) smoke 

detector, or one electrically operated and one 

battery operated smoke detector located next to 

each other; 

(4) all homes are provided with at least one five 

pound 2-A: 10-B: C type extinguisher for every 

2,500 square feet of floor area; 

(5) heating appliances shall be installed and 

maintained according to the NC Building Code; 

(6) all indoor areas used by children are heated 

when the temperature is below 65 degrees and 

ventilated when the temperature is above 85 

degrees; 

(7) pipes or radiators that are hot enough to be 

capable of burning children and are accessible 

to the children are covered or insulated; and 

(8) children are cared for in space designated as the 

caregiving area on a floor plan provided by the 

operator to the Division as specified in 10A 

NCAC 09 .1709. Changes to the designated 

caregiving space shall be submitted to the 

Division 30 days prior to the new space being 

used by children.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86(3); 110-91; 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1714 EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS 

AND RESPONSE 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the Emergency Preparedness and 

Response in Child Care is a training developed by the North 

Carolina Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center for child 

care operators and providers on creating an Emergency 

Preparedness and Response Plan and practicing, responding to, 

and recovering from emergencies in child care facilities. 

(b)  Existing family child care home operators (operator or 

operators) shall complete the Emergency Preparedness and 

Response in Child Care training. Within one year of the effective 

date of a new license, the operator of a new family child care home 

shall have completed the Emergency Preparedness and Response 

in Child Care training. When the trained staff member leaves 

employment, the family child care home shall ensure that another 

staff member completes the required training within four months 

of the vacancy. Documentation of completion of the training shall 

be maintained in the operator's personnel file. 

(c)  Upon completion of the Emergency Preparedness and 

Response in Child Care training, the operator shall develop the 

Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan. The Emergency 

Preparedness and Response Plan means a written plan that 

addresses how a child care facility will respond to both natural 

and man-made disasters, such as fire, tornado, flood, power 

failures, chemical spills, bomb threats, earthquakes, blizzards, 

nuclear disaster, or a dangerous person in the vicinity, to ensure 

the safety and protection of the children and additional caregivers. 

This Plan shall be on a template provided by the Division 

available at https://rmp.nc.gov/portal/# completed within four 

months of completion of the Emergency Preparedness and 

Response in Child Care training, and available for review. 

(d)  The Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan shall 

include the following: 

(1) written procedures for accounting for all in 

attendance, including: 

(A) the location of the children, staff, 

volunteer and visitor attendance lists; 

and 

(B) the name of the person(s) responsible 

for bringing the children, staff, 

volunteer and visitor attendance lists 

in the event of an emergency. 

(2) a description for how and when children shall 

be transported; 

(3) methods for communicating with parents and 

emergency personnel or law enforcement; 

(4) a description of how children's nutritional and 

health needs will be met; 

(5) the relocation and reunification process; 

(6) emergency telephone numbers; 

(7) evacuation diagrams showing how the operator, 

family members, children and any other 

individuals who may be present will evacuate 

during an emergency; 

(8) the date of the last revision of the plan; 

(9) specific considerations for non-mobile children 

and children with special needs; and 

(10) the location of the Ready to Go File. A Ready 

to Go File means a collection of information on 

children, additional caregivers and the facility, 

to utilize, if an evacuation occurs. The file shall 

include a copy of the Emergency Preparedness 

and Response Plan, contact information for 

individuals to pick-up children, each child's 

Application for Child Care, medication 

authorizations and instructions, any action 

plans for children with special health care 

needs, a list of any known food allergies of 

children and additional caregiver, additional 

caregiver contact information, Incident Report 

forms, an area map, and emergency telephone 

numbers. 

(e)  The operator shall review the Emergency Preparedness and 

Response Plan annually, or when information in the plan changes, 

to ensure all information is current. 

(f)  The operator shall review the Family Child Care Home's 

Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan with additional 

caregivers prior to the individual caring for children and on an 

annual basis. 

(g)  All substitute providers and volunteers who provide care to 

children shall be informed of the Emergency Preparedness and 

Response Plan and its location. Documentation of this notice shall 

be maintained in the individual personnel files. 

 

History Note: Authority 110-85; 110-88; 110-91; 143B-

168.3; 

Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 
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10A NCAC 09 .1718 REQUIREMENTS FOR DAILY 

OPERATIONS 

(a)  The family child care home operator (operator or operators) 

shall provide the following on a daily basis for all children in care: 

(1) Developmentally appropriate equipment and 

materials for a variety of outdoor activities that 

allow for vigorous play, large and small muscle 

development, and social, emotional, and 

intellectual development. For purposes of this 

Rule "vigorous" means done with force and 

energy. Each child shall have the opportunity 

for a minimum of one hour of outdoor play each 

day that weather conditions permit. The 

operator shall provide space and time for 

vigorous indoor activities when children cannot 

play outdoors; 

(2) Individual sleep requirements for infants aged 

12 months or younger shall be provided for as 

specified in 10A NCAC 09 .1724(a)(2). A 

supply of clean linens must be on hand so that 

linens can be changed whenever they become 

soiled or wet. Linens shall be changed weekly 

or whenever they become soiled or wet. An 

individual sleeping space such as a bed, crib, 

play pen, cot, mat, or sleeping bag with 

individual linens shall be provided for each pre-

school age child in care for four hours or more, 

or for all children if overnight care is provided, 

to rest; 

(3) A safe sleep environment by ensuring that when 

a child is sleeping or napping, bedding or other 

objects shall not be placed in a manner that 

covers the child's face; 

(4) A separate area that can be supervised pursuant 

to 10A NCAC 09 .1720(a) for children who 

become ill to the extent that they can no longer 

participate in group activities. Parents shall be 

notified if their child becomes too sick to 

remain in care; 

(5) The opportunity each day for each child under 

the age of 12 months for supervised play while 

awake and alert while positioned on his or her 

stomach; 

(6) Developmentally appropriate activities as 

planned on a written schedule and activity plan. 

The schedule and activity plan may be 

combined as one document. Materials or 

equipment shall be available indoors and 

outdoors to support the activities listed on the 

written schedule and activity plan; 

(7) A written schedule that shall: 

(A) Show blocks of time assigned to types 

of activities and include periods of 

time for both active play and quiet 

play or rest; 

(B) Show times and activities that are 

developmentally appropriate for the 

ages of children in care; 

(C) Reflect daily opportunities for both 

free choice and guided activities; 

(D) Include a minimum of one hour of 

outdoor play throughout the day, if 

weather conditions permit; 

(E) Include a daily gross motor activity 

that may occur indoors or outdoors; 

and 

(F) For children under two years old, 

interspersed among the daily events 

shall be individualized caregiving 

routines such as eating, napping, and 

toileting; 

(8) A written activity plan that shall: 

(A) Include activities intended to stimulate 

the following developmental domains, 

in accordance with North Carolina 

Foundations for Early Learning and 

Development, available on the 

Division's website at 

https://www.ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov//

pdf_forms/nc_foundations.pdf: 

(i) emotional and social 

development; 

(ii) health and physical 

development; 

(iii) approaches to play and 

learning; 

(iv) language development and 

communication; and 

(iv) cognitive development. 

(B) Identify activities that allow children 

to choose to participate with the whole 

group, part of the group, or 

independent of the group; 

(C) Reflect that children have at least four 

different activities daily, at least one of 

which is outdoors, if weather 

conditions permit, as specified in G.S. 

110-91(12) as follows: 

(i) art and other creative play; 

(ii) children's books; 

(iii) blocks and block building; 

(iv) manipulatives; and 

(v) family living and dramatic 

play. 

(D) Provide materials and opportunities at 

least weekly, indoors or outdoors, for 

the following: 

(i) music and rhythm; 

(ii) science and nature; and 

(iii) sand and water play. 

(9) A clean and open area that allows freedom of 

movement shall be available, both indoors and 

outdoors; and 

(10) Operators who provide care to school-age 

children shall provide a balance of activities 

appropriate to the age, needs and interests of the 

school-age children. 
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(b)  When screen time is provided on any electronic media device 

with a visual display, it shall be: 

(1) offered to stimulate a developmental domain in 

accordance with the North Carolina 

Foundations for Early Learning and 

Development as referenced in this Section; 

(2) limited to a maximum of 30 minutes per day 

and no more than a total of two and a half hours 

per week per child; and 

(3) documented on a cumulative log or activity 

plan, and shall be available for review by the 

Division.  

(c)  Screen time is prohibited for children under the age of three 

years. The operator shall offer alternate activities for children 

under the age of three years. 

(d)  When needed to complete homework assignments, screen 

time for school-age children may exceed 30 minutes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91(12); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016; December 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; 

March 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; 

Readopted October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1721 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

RECORDS 

(a)  The family child care home operator shall maintain the 

following health records for each enrolled child, including his or 

her own child(ren) who are not school-age: 

(1) a copy of the child's health assessment as 

required by G.S. 110-91(1); 

(2) a copy of the child's immunization record; 

(3) an application for enrollment that includes 

information set forth in this Subparagraph 

provided by the Division that is completed and 

signed by a child's parent, as defined in 10A 

NCAC 09 .0102. A copy of the form may be 

found on the Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/pdf_forms/DC

D-0377.pdf. The completed form shall be on 

file the first day the child attends. An operator 

may use another form other than the one 

provided by the Division, as long as the form 

includes the following information: 

(A) the child's full name and the name the 

child is to be called; 

(B) the child's date of birth; 

(C) any allergies and the symptoms and 

type of response required for allergic 

reactions; 

(D) any health care needs or concerns, 

symptoms of and the type of response 

required for these health care needs or 

concerns; 

(E) fears or behavior characteristics that 

the child has; 

(F) the names of individuals to whom the 

operator may release the child as 

authorized by the person who signs the 

application; 

(G) the names and phone numbers of 

persons to be contacted in an 

emergency situation; 

(H) the name and phone number of the 

child's physician; and 

(I) authorization for the operator to seek 

emergency medical care in the parent's 

absence. 

(4) For any child with health care needs such as 

allergies, asthma, or other chronic conditions 

that require specialized health services, a 

medical action plan shall be attached to the

 application. The medical action plan 

shall be updated on an annual basis and when 

changes to the plan are made by the child's 

parent or health care professional. Sample 

medical action plans may be found on the 

Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_pr

ovideforms.asp. The medical action plan shall 

be completed by the child's parent or a health 

care professional and may include the 

following: 

(A) a list of the child's diagnosis or 

diagnoses including dietary, 

environmental, and activity 

considerations that are applicable; 

(B) contact information for the health care 

professional(s); 

(C) medications to be administered on a 

scheduled basis; and 

(D) medications to be administered on an 

emergency basis with symptoms, and 

instructions. 

(5) when medication is administered, authorization 

for the operator to administer the specific 

medication according to the parent's or 

physician's instructions. 

(b)  The family child care home operator and staff shall release a 

child only to an individual listed on the application. 

(c)  The information contained in Parts (a)(3)(A) through (a)(3)(J) 

and Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule, shall be accessible to 

caregiving staff during the time the child is in care at the family 

child care home. 

(d)  The family child care home operator and staff shall use the 

information provided on the application to ensure that individual 

child's needs are met during the time the child is in care. 

(e)  The family child care home operator shall complete and 

maintain other records that include: 

(1) documentation of the operator's Emergency 

Preparedness and Response Plan on a template 

provided by the Division of Emergency 

Management at http://rmp.nc.gov/portal/#; 

(2) documentation that monthly fire drills are 

practiced. The documentation shall include the 
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date each drill is held, the time of day, the 

length of time taken to evacuate the home, and 

the operator's signature; 

(3) incident reports that are completed each time a 

child is injured or when a child receives medical 

treatment by a health care professional, 

community clinic, or local health department as 

a result of an incident occurring while the child 

is in care. The incident report shall include:  

(A) facility identifying information; 

(B) the child's name; 

(C) date and time of the incident; 

(D) witness to the incident; 

(E) time the parent is notified of the 

incident and by whom; 

(F) piece of equipment involved, if 

applicable; 

(G) cause of injury, if applicable; 

(H) description of injury or incident; 

(I) body part injured, if applicable; 

(J) where the child received medical 

treatment, if applicable; 

(K) description of how and where the 

incident occurred and First Aid 

received; and 

(L) steps taken to prevent reoccurrence. 

This report shall be signed by the person 

completing it and by the parent, a copy given to 

the parent, and the report maintained in the 

child's file. When medical treatment is required, 

a copy of the incident report shall be mailed to 

a representative of the Division within seven 

calendar days after the incident. A copy of the 

form can be found on the Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/pdf_forms/DC

DEE-0058.pdf; 

(4) an incident log that is filled out any time an 

incident report is completed. This log shall be 

cumulative and maintained in a separate file 

and shall be available for review by the 

Division. This log shall be completed on a form 

supplied by the Division. A copy of the form 

can be found on the Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/pdf_forms/inci

dent_log_i.pdf; 

(5) documentation that a monthly check for hazards 

on the outdoor play area is completed. This 

form shall be supplied by the Division and shall 

be maintained in the family child care home for 

review by the Division. The form shall include 

the following information: 

(A) Name of facility, time and date the 

form was completed; 

(B) Signature of individual completing 

form; 

(C) General inspection items; 

(D) Surfacing; 

(E) General hazard items; and 

(F) Deterioration of equipment. 

For items on the checklist the operator has to 

check if pass or fail, if fail identify the problem 

and solution. A copy of the form can be found 

of the Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/pdf_forms/fcch

_outdoor_inspection_checklist.pdf; 

(6) daily attendance records for all children in care, 

including the operator's own preschool 

children. The attendance record shall indicate 

the date and time of arrival and departure for 

each child and shall be maintained as children 

arrive and depart; and 

(7) documentation of lockdown or shelter-in-place 

drills giving the date each drill is held, the time 

of day, the length of time taken to get into 

designated locations and the signature of the 

person who conducted the drill. 

(f)  Written records shall be maintained as follows in a family 

child care home: 

(1) All children's records as required in this 

Section, except medication permission slips as 

required in Rule .1720(b)(13) of this Section, 

shall be kept on file as long as the child is 

enrolled and for one year from the date the child 

is no longer enrolled. 

(2) Records regarding administration of 

medications required by Rule .1720(b)(13) of 

this Section shall be maintained during the time 

period the medication is being administered and 

for six months after the medication is 

administered. 

(3) Additional caregiver and substitute provider 

records as required in this Section shall be 

maintained on file for as long as the individual 

is employed and for one year from the 

employee's last date of employment. 

(4) All program records, including documentation 

of operator qualifications, as required in this 

Section shall be maintained on file for as long 

as the license remains valid except as follows: 

(A) A minimum of 30 days from the 

revision or replacement date: 

 

Record Rule 

Daily Schedule  .1718(a)(6) 

Activity Plan .1718(a)(6) 

Infant Feeding Plan .1706(i)  

Allergy Posting .1706(e)  

SIDS Sleep 

Chart/Visual Check 

.1724(a)(8) 

(B) A minimum of one year from the 

revision or replacement date: 

Record Rule 

Attendance .1721(e)(6) 

Emergency Numbers .1719(a)(12)  

Safe Sleep Policy .1724(c) and (d) 

Written Plan of Care .1712 
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Emergency Medical 

Care Plan 

.1713 

Emergency 

Preparedness and 

Response Plan  

.1721(e)(1) 

Off-Premises and 

routine 

Transportation 

Permission 

.1723(5), .1723(15)(a) and 

.1723(b) 

 

List and Identifying 

Information for 

Children being 

Transported 

.1723(13) and .1723(15)(c)  

Fire Drill Log  .1721(e)(2) 

Lockdown or Shelter-

in-Place Drill Log  

.1721(e)(7) 

Incident Log  .1721(e)(4) 

Outdoor Play Area 

Inspection 

.1721(e)(5) 

Pet Vaccinations .1719(b)(1) 

Medication Error Log .1720(b)(14)  

 

(5) Well-water analysis, pool inspection and 

inspections for local ordinances as referenced in 

Rules .1702(b)(7), .1730(i), and .1725(a)(1), of 

this Section and G.S. 110-91 shall remain on 

file at the family child care home for as long as 

the license remains valid. 

(6) Records may be maintained in a paper format 

or an electronic format, provided that all 

required signatures are preserved in a paper 

format, PDF, or other graphic format. 

(7) All records required in this Chapter shall be 

available at the family child care home for 

review by the Division during the hours of 

operation listed on the child care license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-91(1),(9); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; July 1, 2010; July 1, 2008; April 1, 

2003; April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1724 SAFE SLEEP PRACTICES 

(a)  Each operator licensed to care for infants aged 12 months or 

younger shall develop, adopt, and comply with a written safe sleep 

policy that: 

(1) specifies that the operator shall place infants 

aged 12 months or younger on their backs for 

sleeping, unless: 

(A) for an infant aged six months or less, 

the operator receives a written waiver 

of this requirement from a health care 

professional; or 

(B) for an infant older than six months, the 

operator receives a written waiver of 

this requirement from a health care 

professional, or a parent or a legal 

guardian; 

(2) specifies that infants aged 12 months or 

younger shall be placed in a crib, bassinet or 

play pen, mat, or cot with a firm padded surface 

when sleeping; 

(3) specifies no pillows, wedges or other 

positioners, pillow-like toys, blankets, toys, 

bumper pads, quilts, sheepskins, loose bedding, 

towels and washcloths, or other objects may be 

placed in a crib with a sleeping infant aged 12 

months or younger; 

(4) specifies that children shall not be swaddled; 

(5) specifies that nothing shall be placed over the 

head or face of an infant aged 12 months or 

younger when the infant is laid down to sleep; 

(6) specifies that the temperature in the room where 

infants aged 12 months or younger are sleeping 

does not exceed 75°F; 

(7) specifies the operator shall visually check 

sleeping infants aged 12 months or younger at 

least every 15 minutes; 

(8) specifies how the operator shall document 

compliance with visually checking on sleeping 

infants aged 12 months or younger; 

(9) specifies that pacifiers that attach to infant 

clothing shall not be used with sleeping infants; 

(10) specifies that infants aged 12 months or 

younger sleep alone in a crib, bassinet, play 

pen, mat, or cot; 

(11) specifies that infants aged 12 months or 

younger shall be prohibited from sleeping in 

sitting devices, including car safety seats, 

strollers, swings, and infant carriers. Infants 

that fall asleep in sitting devices shall be moved 

to a crib, bassinet, play pen, mat, or cot; and 

(12) specifies any other steps the operator shall take 

to provide a safe sleep environment for infants 

aged 12 months or younger. 

(b)  The operator shall post a copy of the safe sleep policy and 

poster about safe sleep practices in a prominent place in the infant 

sleeping room or area where parents and caregivers are able to 

view daily.  

(c)  A copy of the operator's safe sleep policy shall be given and 

explained to the parents of an infant aged 12 months or younger 

on or before the first day the infant attends the home. The parent 

shall sign a statement acknowledging the receipt and explanation 

of the policy. The acknowledgement shall contain: 

(1) the infant's name; 

(2) the date the infant first attended the home; 

(3) the date the operator's safe sleep policy was 

given and explained to the parent; and 

(4) the date the parent signed the 

acknowledgement. 

The operator shall retain the acknowledgement in the child's 

record as long as the child is enrolled at the home. 

(d)  If an operator amends a home's safe sleep policy, the operator 

shall give written notice of the amendment to the parents of all 
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enrolled infants aged 12 months or younger at least 14 days before 

the amended policy is implemented. Each parent shall sign a 

statement acknowledging the receipt and explanation of the 

amendment. The operator shall retain the acknowledgement in the 

child's record as long as the child is enrolled at the home. 

(e)  The operator shall place a child aged 12 months or younger 

on the child's back for sleeping, unless for a child aged 6 months 

or younger, the operator obtains a written waiver from a health 

care professional; or for a child older than 6 months, the operator 

obtains a written waiver from a health care professional or parent. 

Waivers shall include the following: 

(1) the infant's name and birth date; 

(2) be signed and dated by the infant's health care 

professional or parent; 

(3) if a wedge is needed, specify why it is needed 

and how it should be used; and 

(4) the infant's authorized sleep positions. 

The operator shall retain the waiver in the child's record as long 

as the child is enrolled at the home. 

(f)  Documents that verify staff member's compliance with visual 

checks on infants shall be maintained for a minimum of one 

month. 

(g)  For each infant with a waiver on file at the home as specified 

in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, a notice shall be posted for quick 

reference near the infant's crib, bassinet, play pen, or mat that shall 

include: 

(1) the infant's name; 

(2) the infant's authorized sleep position; and 

(3) the location of the signed waiver. 

No confidential medical information, including an infant's 

medical diagnosis, shall be shown on the notice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(15); 143B-

168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1729 ADDITIONAL CAREGIVER AND 

SUBSTITUTE PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  An individual who provides care for five hours or more in a 

week during planned absences of the family child care home 

operator shall: 

(1) be 21 years old; 

(2) have a high school diploma or GED; 

(3) have completed a First Aid and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) course 

within 12 months prior to caring for children; 

(4) have completed a health questionnaire; 

(5) have proof of negative results of a tuberculosis 

test or screening completed within 12 months 

prior to the first day of providing care; 

(6) have submitted criminal background check 

forms as required in Rule .2703 of this Chapter; 

(7) have documentation of annual on-going 

training as described in Rule .1703(d) of this 

Section after the first year of employment; 

(8) have completed ITS-SIDS training, if licensed 

to care for infants; 

(9) have completed Recognizing and Responding 

to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment training; 

and 

(10) have documentation that the operator has 

reviewed the requirements found in this 

Chapter, including the Emergency 

Preparedness and Response Plan, and in G.S. 

Chapter 110, Article 7. 

While the individual provides care at a family child care home, 

copies of information required by Subparagraphs (1) through (10) 

of this Paragraph shall be on file in the home and available for 

review by the Division. 

(b)  An individual who provides care for less than five hours in a 

week during planned absences of the operator shall be literate and 

meet all requirements listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule except 

the requirements for annual training and a high school diploma or 

GED. 

(c)  The operator shall conduct 16 hours of orientation with all 

caregivers, prior to the individual caring for children, including 

substitute providers, volunteers, and uncompensated providers, 

who are providing care. The orientation shall include an overview 

of the following topics, specifically focusing on the operation of 

the facility: 

(1) recognizing, responding to, and reporting child 

abuse, neglect, or maltreatment pursuant to G.S. 

110-105.4 and G.S. 7B-301; 

(2) review of the home's operational policies, 

including the written plan of care, safe sleep 

policy, the transportation policy, identification 

of building and premises safety issues, the 

emergency medical care plan, and the 

Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan; 

(3) adequate supervision of children in accordance 

with Rule .1711(a) of this Section; 

(4) information regarding prevention of shaken 

baby syndrome, abusive head trauma, and child 

maltreatment; 

(5) prevention and control of infectious diseases, 

including immunization; 

(6) firsthand observation of the home's daily 

operations; 

(7) instruction regarding assigned duties; 

(8) instruction in the maintenance of a safe and 

healthy environment; 

(9) instruction in the administration of medication 

to children in accordance with Rule .1720(b) of 

this Section; 

(10) review of the home's purposes and goals; 

(11) review of G.S. 110, Article 7 and 10A NCAC 

09; 

(12) review of Section .2800 of this Chapter if the 

operator has a two- through five- star license at 

the time of employment; 

(13) an explanation of the role of State and local 

government agencies in the regulation of child 

care, their impact on the operation of the center, 

and their availability as a resource; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2021 

1977 

(14) an explanation of the individual's obligation to 

cooperate with representatives of State and 

local government agencies during visits and 

investigations; 

(15) prevention of and response to emergencies due 

to food and allergic reactions; and 

(16) review of the home's handling and storage of 

hazardous materials and the appropriate 

disposal of biocontaminants. 

The operator and individual providing care shall sign and date a 

statement that attests that this review was completed. This 

statement shall be kept on file in the home and available for 

review by the Division. 

(d)  An individual who provides care during unplanned absences 

of the operator, such as medical emergencies, shall be 18 years 

old and submit criminal records check forms as required in Rule 

.2703(j) of this Chapter. The children of an emergency caregiver 

shall not be counted in the licensed capacity for the first day of 

the emergency caregiver's service. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91; 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1730 ACTIVITIES INVOLVING 

WATER 

(a)  The requirements in this Rule apply to "aquatic activities," 

which are defined as activities that take place in a body of water 

such as swimming, swimming instruction, wading, and visits to 

water parks. Aquatic activities do not include water play activities 

such as water table play, slip and slide activities, or playing in 

sprinklers. 

(b)  Aquatic activities involving the following are prohibited: 

(1) hot tubs; 

(2) spas; 

(3) saunas or steam rooms; 

(4) portable wading pools; and 

(5) natural bodies of water and other unfiltered, 

nondisinfected containments of water. 

(c)  When children enrolled in a family child care home participate 

in aquatic activities, there shall be at least one person who has a 

life guard training certificate issued by the Red Cross or other 

training determined by the Division to be equivalent to the Red 

Cross training, appropriate for both the type of body of water and 

type of aquatic activity. Verification of the operator's completion 

of this course from an approved training organization shall be 

maintained in their personnel file in the family child care home. 

The Division shall post a list of approved training organizations 

on its website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_sn2_ov_pd.asp. 

(d)  The family child care home operator shall be responsible for 

adequately supervising the aquatic activity for the duration of the 

activity. For purposes of this Rule, "Adequate supervision" means 

that the operator shall be able to hear, see, and respond to the 

children whether in or out of the water. 

(e)  Prior to children participating in aquatic activities, the 

operator shall develop policies that address the following: 

(1) aquatic safety hazards; 

(2) pool and aquatic activity area supervision, 

including restroom or changing room use; 

(3) how discipline will be handled during aquatic 

activities; 

(4) the operator's off premise and transportation 

policies; and 

(5) that children shall be directed to exit the water 

during an emergency. 

The policies shall be reviewed with additional caregivers and 

substitute providers prior to caring for children participating in 

aquatic activities. 

(f)  Family child care home operators shall obtain written 

permission from parents for participation in aquatic activities. The 

written permission shall include a statement that parents are aware 

of the operator's aquatic policies specified in Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule. The operator shall maintain copies of written parental 

permission in each child's file. 

(g)  Any outdoor swimming pool located on the family child care 

home premises shall be enclosed by a fence that is at least four 

feet high, separated from the remaining outdoor play area by that 

fence, and locked and inaccessible to children when not in use. 

(h)  Swimming pool safety rules shall be posted and visible to 

children and staff for any swimming pool located on the child care 

facility premises. These rules shall state: 

(1) the location of a First Aid kit; 

(2) that only water toys are permitted; 

(3) that children are not allowed to run or push one 

another; 

(4) that swimming is allowed only when the 

operator is present; and 

(5) that glass objects are not allowed. 

(i)  All swimming pools used by children in care shall meet the 

"Rules Governing Public Swimming Pools" in accordance with 

15A NCAC 18A .2500 which are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments. A copy of these Rules can be 

found at http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/docs/rules/294306-9-

2500.pdf and is available at no charge. 

(j)  Educational activities, such as observing tadpoles, exploring 

mud, or learning about rocks and vegetation shall be permitted. 

(k)  Boating, rafting, and canoeing activities are permitted. Prior 

to participating in recreational activities conducted on the water, 

children shall wear an age or size appropriate personal floatation 

device approved by the United States Coast Guard. This personal 

floatation device shall be worn for the duration of the activity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-91(1),(3),(6); 

143B-168.3; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 23, 2016; 

Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2204 PROVISIONAL CHILD CARE 

FACILITY LICENSE OR PROVISIONAL NOTICE OF 

COMPLIANCE 

A provisional child care facility license or provisional notice of 

compliance may be issued to an operator for any period of time 

not to exceed 12 months in accordance with the factors listed in 

10A NCAC 09 .2201(b) for, among other things, the following 

reasons: 
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(1) a substantiation of one or more violations as a 

result of a complaint that do not meet the 

criteria for a maltreatment finding pursuant to 

G.S. 110-105.3(b)(3) but for which more than 

three months is needed to monitor for corrective 

action implementation; 

(2) to allow a time period for correcting a violation 

of the building, fire, or sanitation requirements;  

(3) to allow a time period for remediation of an 

identified lead poisoning hazard as defined in 

G.S. 130A-131.7(7), regardless of whether a 

provisional sanitation classification has been 

issued; 

(4) to allow a time period for correction of an 

administratively dissolved corporation status 

from the North Carolina Secretary of State; 

(5) when the compliance history of the facility 

drops below the minimum requirement set forth 

in G.S. 110-90; 

(6) change of location of a child care facility 

without proper notification to the Division as 

specified in Rules 10A NCAC 09 .0204(b), 

.0403(a), and .1702(d); or 

(7) pattern of noncompliance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(6); 110-90; 110-99; 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. February 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2206 SUSPENSION 

A suspension of a license or suspension of a notice of compliance 

may be issued to an operator in accordance with the factors listed 

in 10A NCAC 09 .2201(b) for a time period not to exceed one 

year for the following reasons: 

(1) the operator of the child care facility is a 

corporate entity that has been placed under 

revenue suspension by the North Carolina 

Secretary of State; 

(2) when the Division has issued a provisional 

child care facility license or notice of 

compliance related to building, fire, or 

sanitation requirements and the operator has 

failed to comply;  

(3) to allow a specific time period for correcting a 

violation of building, fire, or sanitation 

requirements, provided that the appropriate 

inspector documents that closure of the child 

care facility is necessary to protect health or 

safety of children during correction; or 

(4) when a disapproved sanitation classification is 

issued to a child care facility. 

The suspension of a child care facility license or suspension of a 

notice of compliance shall not be stayed during the pendency of 

an appeal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2; 

143B-168.3; 150B-3; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; November 1989; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC 

09 .2205); 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2209 REVOCATION OF A CHILD 

CARE FACILITY LICENSE OR AN ORDER TO CEASE 

OPERATION 

Revocation of a child care facility license or an order to cease 

operation may be issued to an operator in accordance with the 

factors listed in 10A NCAC 09 .2201(b) for the following reasons: 

(1) child maltreatment has occurred in a child care 

facility and harm occurred as set forth in Rule 

.2201(c)(2) of this Section; 

(2) more than two determinations of child 

maltreatment have occurred at a child care 

facility within three years; 

(3) violation of any section of G.S. 110, Article 7 

or the Rules of this Chapter or 10A NCAC 10 

has been willful or continual as evidenced by: 

(a) a pattern of noncompliance, and the 

operator has not made efforts to 

correct repeated violations or is unable 

to comply; or 

(b) the operator has failed to comply with 

the terms of a corrective action plan 

issued with a special provisional or 

probationary license or notice of 

compliance; 

(4) violation of any section of G.S. 110, Article 7 

or the Rules of this Chapter or 10A NCAC 10 

is hazardous to health or safety of children; 

(5) the operator fails to comply with an 

implemented protection plan as set forth in G.S. 

110-105.3(e); 

(6) the operator falsifies information in violation of 

G.S. 110-91(14); 

(7) the compliance history of the facility drops 

below the minimum requirement set forth in 

G.S. 110-90 and the conditions at the facility 

are hazardous to the health and safety of the 

children or staff; 

 

(8) receipt of a disapproved sanitation 

classification that is not corrected with a 

superior or approved sanitation classification 

within 12 months of issuance of a Suspension 

as set forth in Rule .2206 of this Section; or 

(9) the operator of the child care facility is a 

corporate entity that has been placed under 

revenue suspension from the North Carolina 

Secretary of State that has not been corrected 

within one year of issuance of a Suspension as 

set forth in Rule .2206 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2; 

143B-168.3; 150B-3; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 1990; November 1, 1989; 
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Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC 

09 .2206); 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2318 CHILD CARE CENTER RECORD RETENTION 

All records required in this Chapter shall be maintained for review by representatives of the Division as specified in G.S. 110-91(9), 

Rule .0304(g) of this Chapter, and as follows: 

(1) The records shall be available at the center during the hours of operation listed on the child care license. 

(2) Records may be maintained in a paper format or an electronic format, provided that all required signatures are 

preserved in a paper format, PDF or other used graphic format. 

(3) Records regarding administration of medications required by Rules .0302(d)(7) and .0803(13) of this Chapter shall be 

maintained during the time period the medication is being administered and for six months after the medication is 

administered. 

(4) All building inspections as referenced in G.S. 110-91, and in Rule .0302 of this Chapter shall remain on file at the 

center for as long as the license remains valid. 

(5) All fire, sanitation, and pool, inspections as referenced in G.S. 110-91, and Rules .0302 and .1403 of this Chapter shall 

remain on file at the center for a minimum of three years. 

(6) Each child care center shall retain records for children as follows: 

 

Type of Child Record  In each child's file, for as long as 

the child is enrolled 

For 1 year after the child is no longer enrolled 

Child Medical Report 

Rule .0302(d)(2)  
X X 

Immunization Record 

Rule .0302(d)(2)  
X X 

Child Application 

Rules .0302(d)(2) and .0801(a) 
X X 

Child Emergency Medical Care 

Information 

Rules .0302(d)(2), .0801(a)(1) 

and .0802(c) through (d) 

X X 

Safe Sleep Policy 

Rule .0606(c) 
X X 

Notice of Amendment to Safe 

Sleep Policy 

Rule .0606(d) 

X X 

Safe Sleep Waiver 

Rule .0606(e) 
X X 

Child Medical Action Plan 

Rule .0801(b) 
X X 

Incident Report 

Rule .0802(e) 
X X 

Parental Permission for 

Administration of Medication 

Rules .0803(3), (4), (6) through 

(9) and (11) 

X X 

Supplemental Food "Opt Out" 

Statement 

Rule .0901(d) 

X X 

Parental Permission for 

Transportation and Off-

Premises Activities 

Rules .1003(i) and (j), 

.1005(b)(3) and (4)  

X X 

Parental Permission for 

Aquatic Activities 

Rule .1403(i) 

X X 

Discipline Policies 

Rule .1804(a) 
X X 
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Type of Child Record  In each child's file, for as long as 

the child is enrolled 

For 1 year after the child is no longer enrolled 

Notice of Change to Discipline 

Policies Rule .1804(b) 
X X 

Shaken Baby Syndrome and 

Abusive Head Trauma Policy 

Rule .0608 

X X 

 

(7) Each child care center shall retain records for personnel as follows: 

 

 

 

Type of Personnel 

Record 

For at least 1 year 

after employee is no 

longer employed 

For 1 Year After 

Record Created 

Until the 

record is 

superseded by 

a new 

statement  

In each personnel file or 

designated emergency 

preparedness file  

Application for 

Employment 

Rule 

.0302(d)(1)(A) 

 

X 
  

 

Staff Medical 

Report 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(C) and 

.0701(a) 

 

X 

  

 

Health 

Questionnaire 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(C) and 

.0701(a) 

 

X 

  

 

Proof of 

Tuberculosis Test 

or Screening 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(C) and 

.0701(a) 

 

X 

  

 

Staff Emergency 

Medical Care 

Information 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(C) and 

.0701(a) 

 

X 

  

 

Evaluation of 

Emotional and 

Physical Fitness (as 

applicable) 

Rule .0701(b) 

 

X 

  

 

Verification of Age 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(A), 

.0703, and .0704 

 

X 
  

 

Criminal Record 

Check Information 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(E); 

 

X 
  

 

Education and 

Equivalency Forms 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(B), 

 

X 
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Type of Personnel 

Record 

For at least 1 year 

after employee is no 

longer employed 

For 1 Year After 

Record Created 

Until the 

record is 

superseded by 

a new 

statement  

In each personnel file or 

designated emergency 

preparedness file  

.0703, .0704 and 

.2510 

Record of On-

going Training 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(D), and 

.1103(a) 

 

X 

  

 

Documentation of 

Staff Orientation 

Rules 

.0302(d)(1)(D), and 

.1101(a) 

 

X 

  

 

Documentation of 

Emergency 

Preparedness and 

Response in Child 

Care Training 

Rule .0607(b) 

 

  

 

X 

Documentation of 

Review of 

Emergency 

Preparedness and 

Response Plan 

Rules .0607(e), (f) 

and (g) 

 

  

 

X 

Documentation of 

First Aid training 

Rule .1102(c)  

 

X   

 

Documentation of 

CPR training 

Rule .1102(d)  

 

X   

 

Documentation of 

Playground Safety 

Training if 

applicable 

Rule .1102(e)  

 

X 

  

 

Documentation of 

ITS-SIDS Safe 

Sleep Training if 

applicable 

Rule .1102(f) 

 

X 

  

 

Documentation of 

Aquatic Activities 

Policy Receipt 

Rule .1403(h) 

 

X X 

 

Documentation of 

BSAC training if 

applicable 

Rule .2510 

 

X 
  

 

 

(8) Each child care center shall retain records for the program as follows: 
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Type of Program Record  
As long as the 

license remains 

valid 

A minimum of 30 

days after 

record revised 

or replaced 

A minimum of 1 year after 

record created, revised or 

replaced 

Attendance 

Rule .0302(d)(3) 
  X 

Daily record of arrival and departure 

times for children 

Rule .0302(d)(4) 

  X 

Fire Drill Log .0604(t) 

Rule .0302(d)(5)  
  X 

Playground Inspection 

Rules .0302(d)(6) and .0605(q) 
  X 

Lockdown or Shelter-In-Place Drill 

Record 

Rules .0302(d)(8) and .0604(u)  

  X 

Daily Schedule 

Rule .0508(a) 
  X 

Activity Plan 

Rule .0508(a) 
 X  

Manufacturer's Instructions for equipment 

and furnishings 

Rules .0601(b) and .0605(b) 

X   

Fire Evacuation Procedures 

Rule .0604(r) 
X   

Written plan for evacuation in centers that 

do not meet institutional building code 

Rule .0604(r) 

  X 

Safe Pick-Up and Delivery Procedures 

Rule .1003 
  X 

Safe Sleep Policy 

Rule .0606(a) 
X   

SIDS Sleep Chart/Visual Check 

Rule .0606(a)(7) 
 X  

Emergency Preparedness and Response 

Plan 

Rules .0607(c) and (d) 

  X 

Shaken Baby Syndrome and Abusive 

Head Trauma Policy 

Rule .0608 

X   

Emergency Medical Care Plan 

Rule .0802(a) 
  X 

Incident Log 

Rule .0802(f) 
  X 

Menu 

Rule .0901(b) 
 X  

Allergy Postings 

Rule .0901(g) 
 X  

Infant Feeding Plan 

Rule .0902(a) 
 X  

Identifying Information for Children being 

Transported 

Rule .1003(d) 

  X 

List of children being transported 

Rules .1003(l) and .1005(b)(6) 
  X 

Schedule of Off-Premises Activities   X 
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Type of Program Record  
As long as the 

license remains 

valid 

A minimum of 30 

days after 

record revised 

or replaced 

A minimum of 1 year after 

record created, revised or 

replaced 

Rule .1005(b)(5) 

Aquatic Activity Policies 

Rule .1403(g) 
X   

Documentation of emergency situation 

that necessitated a lack of direct 

supervision 

Rule .1801(a)  

X   

Discipline Practices 

Rules .1803 and .1804 
X   

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(9); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; July 1, 2010; July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2408 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  All staff working with the mildly sick children shall complete 

all requirements in this Chapter pertaining to preservice training 

in 10A NCAC 09 .0704, .0710 and .0711, orientation in 10A 

NCAC 09 .1101, health and safety training requirements in 10A 

NCAC 09 .1102, on-going training in 10A NCAC 09 .1103, and 

staff records in 10A NCAC 09 .0701. In addition, the 

requirements for staff who care for children with Level One  

symptoms as described in Rule .2404, Paragraphs (a)(1)(A) and 

(B) of this Section shall be as follows: 

(1) Each group of children shall have a lead teacher 

present who has the North Carolina Early 

Childhood Credential or its equivalent prior to 

assuming care giving responsibilities. 

(2) In addition to staff orientation requirements in 

10A NCAC 09 .1101 of this Chapter prior to 

assuming care giving duties all caregivers shall 

complete 10 hours of training on the following: 

(A) storage and administration of 

medication; 

(B) infection control procedures; 

(C) aspiration of nasal secretions; 

(D) positioning for sleeping and eating; 

(E) temperature and respiratory rate 

taking; 

(F) documentation of signs, symptoms, 

physical appearance, intake and 

output, and communication with 

family and physicians; 

(G) recognizing when to stop, increase, or 

decrease oral intake of fluids; 

(H) recognizing signs and symptoms 

associated with the increased severity 

of illness including behavioral 

changes, changes in bowel 

movements, increased sluggishness, 

etc.; 

(I) developing individualized plans of 

care; 

(J) special dietary requirements and 

maintaining hydration; and 

(K) emergency procedures, including 

notification of a parent, should a 

child's condition worsen. 

(3) Any caregiver caring for a child whose illness 

requires special knowledge, skills, or 

equipment shall have training and equipment 

prior to caring for the child. 

(4) Completion of the training required by 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule shall count 

toward meeting one year's annual on-going 

training requirements in 10A NCAC 09 .1103. 

(5) When a center cares for mildly sick children as 

a component of a child care center, the 

administrator shall meet the education 

requirements for administrators as required by 

G.S. 110-91(8). 

(b)  In addition to the staffing requirements listed in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule, if children with 

Level Two symptoms as described in Parts (a)(2)(A) through 

(a)(2)(E) of Rule .2404 of this Section are in care, the following 

number of medical staff shall be on site based upon the total 

number of children in care: 

 

No. of Children  Type of Medical Staff 

1 to 10  an RN, or a LPN with a 

health care professional in 

the immediate vicinity 

10 to 20    an RN 

20 to 40    an RN and an additional LPN 

 

Each medical staff shall have one year of full-time pediatric 

nursing experience, and may count in staff/child ratio. Medical 

staff may also act as lead teachers if they have the North Carolina 

Early Childhood Credential or equivalent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(11); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019. 
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10A NCAC 09 .2410 CHILDREN'S ACTIVITIES 

(a)  Daily activities shall be provided in accordance with Section 

.0500 of these Rules and in accordance with each child's 

individualized plan of care. Activity areas shall not be required, 

but developmentally appropriate equipment and materials must be 

available daily for mildly sick children in care. 

(b)  Eating, toileting, sleeping, resting, and playing shall be 

individually determined and flexible to allow each child to decide 

when and whether to participate in available activities, and to nap 

or rest at any time. 

(c)  Daily outdoor time shall be available for children with Level 

One symptoms, as set forth in Rule .0508(c) of this Chapter, who 

are present more than three consecutive days unless deemed 

inappropriate by the child's attending health care professional. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(11); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2509 ACTIVITIES: OFF-PREMISES 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule and Section .1000 of this 

Chapter shall apply when activities for school-age children are 

conducted outdoors or off the premises for 75 percent of each day. 

(b)  The facility shall develop a plan of activities which is posted 

in a place in the home base or given to the parents. The plan shall 

include the location, purpose, time and date, person in charge, and 

telephone number or method for contacting the person in charge. 

(c)  Activities shall be planned to accommodate a variety of 

individual interests and shall provide opportunities for choice. 

(d)  Written permission from parents shall be obtained before 

transporting children on off-premises activities. 

(e)  Blanket permissions from parents for off-premises activities 

shall be acceptable only when a plan of activities to be conducted 

off the premises is posted in a place for review by parents and staff 

in advance on a weekly basis. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91(6),(12); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2703 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

CHECK REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE 

PROVIDERS 

(a)  In addition to the requirements in Rules .0302 and .1702 of 

this Chapter, a child care provider shall submit the following to 

the Division prior to the issuance of a license or prior to beginning 

employment: 

(1) a signed and completed Authority for Release 

of Information form; and 

(2) fingerprint impressions submitted on the forms 

required by the Division and State Bureau of 

Investigation; 

(3) if a child care provider is an out-of-state 

resident, he or she shall also submit a certified 

local history from the Clerk of Superior Court 

in his or her county of residence. 

All required forms can be found on the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.dhhs.state.nc.us/general/dhhscrc_childcare.asp 

(b)  If the child care provider has a criminal history of convictions, 

pending indictment of a crime, or pending criminal charges, he or 

she may submit to the Division additional information concerning 

the conviction or charges that the Division shall use in making the 

determination of the child care provider's qualification. The 

Division shall also consider the following in making its decision: 

(1) the length of time since conviction; 

(2) whether the child care provider is currently on 

probation; 

(3) the nature of the offense; 

(4) the circumstances surrounding the commission 

of the offense or offenses; 

(5) the evidence of rehabilitation; 

(6) the number and type of prior offenses; and 

(7) the age of the child care provider at the time of 

occurrence. 

(c)  If the child care provider is a firm, partnership, association, or 

corporation, the chief executive officer or other person serving in 

like capacity or a person designated by the chief executive officer 

as responsible for the operation of the facility, shall complete the 

criminal history record check as specified in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

(d)  If a Letter of Intent to Operate pursuant to G.S. 110-106 is 

submitted to the Division, the person signing the Letter of Intent 

shall submit all forms as required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Child care providers shall have a valid qualification letter 

prior to employment or living in the family child care home, and 

the qualification letter shall be kept on file at the facility for 

review by representatives of the Division. 

(f)  Provisional child care providers may be employed at a child 

care facility or reside in a family child care home, nonlicensed 

home, or child care center in a residence and shall be counted in 

staff/child ratio. Provisional child care providers shall be 

supervised at all times by an individual who received a qualifying 

result on a criminal background check within the past three years 

and may not be left alone with children. Owners found to be in 

violation of this Paragraph may be issued an administrative action 

up to and including revocation of their child care license or notice 

of compliance in accordance with Section .2200 of this Chapter. 

(g)  Within five days of applying for provisional status through 

the Division's online portal, the applicant shall complete and 

submit any documents specific to their former state(s) of 

residence that are necessary to complete the out-of-state portion 

of their background check. The applicant shall also certify in 

writing within five days to the Division that they have made the 

required requests. When requested by the Division, the applicant 

shall submit a copy and proof of submission of the documents 

necessary to complete the out-of-state portion of their background 

check. The Division shall provide to the applicant the necessary 

information to make these requests, if applicable. 

(h)  After six months, the Division shall issue a qualification letter 

to a provisional child care provider if the Division does not 

receive a response to its request for the state sex offender registry 

check, the state abuse and neglect registry, or the state criminal 

history check from the state or states in which the provisional 

provider currently resides or has resided at any time during the 

five years prior to submitting documents for a criminal history 
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check. However, nothing in this Rule shall prevent the Division 

from disqualifying a provisional child care provider at a later date 

based upon failure to comply with the requirements of Paragraph 

(g) of this Rule or if information is received from any other state 

after six months have elapsed. 

(i)  Child care providers found to be disqualified shall not be 

eligible for employment in child care until a qualification letter 

has been issued by the Division. 

(j)  Child care providers determined by the Division to be 

disqualified shall be terminated by the center or family child care 

home immediately upon receipt of the disqualification notice. 

(k)  Disqualification of a child care provider living in a family 

child care home or a center located in a residence shall be grounds 

for issuance of a summary suspension of the license in accordance 

with 10A NCAC 09 .2213. 

(l)  Refusal on the part of the employer to dismiss a child care 

provider who has been found to be disqualified shall be grounds 

for suspension, denial, or revocation of the license or any other 

administrative action or civil penalty permitted by law or rule. If 

an applicant appeals the disqualification, the child care provider 

shall not be employed during the appeal process. 

(m)  Operators, as defined by G.S. 110-86(7), shall include the 

criminal history mandatory reporting requirement in all new 

employee orientation information. All child care providers and 

household members who have incurred any pending charges, 

indictments, or convictions (other than minor traffic offenses) 

since the last qualification letter was issued by the Division shall 

notify the operator of such charges within five business days or 

before returning to work, whichever comes first. The operator 

shall notify the Division of any such pending charges, 

indictments, or convictions within one business day of being 

notified. 

(n)  The qualification letter shall be valid for a maximum of three 

years from the date of issuance. 

(o)  Prior to the expiration date of the qualification letter, the child 

care provider shall complete and submit the forms listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(p)  After a child care provider has been qualified, the Division 

shall complete a new criminal history record check if the Division 

of Child Development and Early Education conducts an 

investigation involving alleged criminal activity by the child care 

provider. 

(q)  Individuals who live in the household who have had their 16th 

birthday after the initial licensing of a family child care home shall 

complete and submit the forms listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

to the Division within five business days of their 16th birthday. 

(r)  Child care operators shall notify the Division of all new child 

care providers who are hired or have moved into the home or 

center located with a residence within five business days by 

submitting the form provided by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86(7); 110-90.2; 

110-106; 114-19.5; 143B-168.3;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2809 ENHANCED SPACE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  There shall be at least 30 square feet inside space per child per 

the total licensed capacity and 75 square feet outside space for 

one-third of the total number of the capacity for which the center 

is licensed. In the alternative there shall be at least 35 square feet 

inside space per child per the total licensed capacity and 75 square 

feet outside space per child for the total licensed capacity. 

(b)  There shall be an area that can be arranged for administrative 

and private conference activities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Prior to amendment of May 1, 2006 this language was located in 

Rule .1604; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2817 ENHANCED PROGRAM STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  To achieve one point for program standards, the center shall be in compliance with all applicable requirements in Rules .0513-.0516 

of this Chapter. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for program standards, the center shall meet all the applicable requirements in Rule .2806 of 

this Section and the criteria listed in the following chart: 

 

Program Standards (.2817) 

Point Level 

Staff/Child Ratio 

Requirement 

Space Requirement Environment Rating Scale (ERS) 

Requirements 

(as referenced in Rule .2802(f) of this 

Section) 

2 Points Meets enhance 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), OR 

Meets Enhanced Space 

in Rule .2809 

N/A 

3 Points Meets enhance 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), OR 

Meets Enhanced Space 

in Rule .2809; 

AND 

Each classroom has at least a score of 4.0 or 

higher 

4 Points Meets enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

N/A Have an average combined score of 4.5, with 

no one classroom score lower than 4.0 in each 

classroom evaluated  
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Rule .2818(b), 

AND 

5 Points Meets enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), 

AND 

N/A Have an average combined score of 4.75, with 

no one classroom score lower than 4.0 in each 

classroom evaluated 

6 Points Meets enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), 

AND 

Meets Enhanced Space 

in Rule .2809; AND 

Have an average combined score of 5.0, with 

no one classroom score lower than 4.0 in each 

classroom evaluated 

7 Points Meets enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), and 

(c) AND 

Meets Enhanced Space 

in Rule .2809; AND 

Have a score of 5.0 in each classroom 

evaluated 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2903 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  Each center serving children ages birth to three years shall 

have: 

(1) one staff who holds a NC Birth-through-

Kindergarten (B-K) Continuing or Initial 

License issued by the North Carolina 

Department of Public Instruction; 

(2) a NC Initial or Continuing Professional License 

with a B-K or Preschool Add-on issued by the 

North Carolina Department of Public 

Instruction;  

(3) a NC Lateral Entry B-K License issued by the 

North Carolina Department of Public 

Instruction; 

(4) a NC Residency B-K License issued by the 

North Carolina Public Instruction; or 

(5) a NC Emergency B-K License issued by the 

North Carolina Department of Public 

Instruction as determined by the Early Educator 

Support, (EES) Unit. 

This staff shall provide program oversight and supervision for any 

caregivers in classrooms with children ages birth to three years. 

(b)  In accordance with G.S. 115C-84.2(a)(1), during the 185 day 

school year as defined by the State Board of Education, each child 

aged three-years-old and older on or before the initial school entry 

date specified in G.S. 115C-364 (school entry date) shall be 

served in a classroom with at least one lead teacher who holds an 

Initial or Continuing Professional B-K License or a NC 

Professional Educator's License with a Provisional B-K or 

Preschool Add-on license issued from the Department of Public 

Instruction. 

(c)  Children who turn three-years-old after the school entry date 

who are identified as a child with a disability as evidenced by an 

Individualized Education Program (IEP), shall be served in a 

classroom by a teacher who holds a NC Continuing B-K or Initial 

B-K License; or a NC Professional Educator's License with a 

Provisional B-K or Preschool Add-on License or NC Lateral 

Entry B-K License or a Residency B-K License. 

 

 

(d)  Teachers who are required to hold a NC Initial or Continuing 

B-K License issued by the North Carolina Department of Public  

Instruction as specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 

enrolled with the Early Educator Support Unit of the Division of 

Child Development and Early Education. The enrollment 

application may be found online at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Portals/0/documents/pdf/N/NCPr

e-

K_EESLPD_Enrollment_Application_REV_JUL2019.pdf?ver=

2019-08-16-135555-313. 

(e)  For centers operating for 12 months as specified by Rule 

.2902(a) of this Section, during the two additional months of 

operation each group of preschool children shall have at least one 

lead teacher with a minimum of an A.A.S. degree in early 

childhood education or child development, or an A.A.S. degree in 

any major with 12 semester hours in early childhood education or 

child development. 

(f)  For centers operating for 10 months as specified by Rule 

.2902(a) of this Section, during the 10-month school year, as 

defined by the State Board of Education, each group of school-

age children shall have at least one teacher who holds State 

certification as a Special Education Teacher. For centers operating 

for 12 months as specified by Rule .2902(a) of this Section, during 

the two additional months of operation each group of school-age 

children shall have at least one teacher who has completed at least 

two semester hours of school-age care related coursework and has 

completed or is enrolled in at least two additional semester hours 

of school-age related coursework. 

(g)  Center administrators shall have a Level III North Carolina 

Early Childhood Administration Credential and two years of work 

experience with children with developmental delays or 

disabilities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(5); 110-88(14); 

Eff. July 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; March 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 
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10A NCAC 09 .3012 NC PRE-K TEACHER 

EDUCATION, LICENSURE AND CREDENTIALS 

(a)  All teachers shall hold, or be eligible to hold a North Carolina 

(NC) Birth through Kindergarten (B-K) Initial or Continuing 

License or a NC Professional Educator's Initial or Continuing 

License with a B-K or Preschool Add-on License issued by the 

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Teachers 

working toward the required education and license shall meet one 

of the following requirements: 

(1) a NC B-K Initial License;  

(2) a NC Lateral Entry B-K License;  

(3) a NC Residency B-K License; 

(4) a NC Emergency B-K License as determined by 

the Early Educator Support (EES) ) Unit; 

(5) a NC Professional Educator's License with a 

Provisional B-K or Preschool Add-On; 

(6) another state's license; or 

(7) a BA/BS degree and be eligible for a NC 

Residency B-K License. 

(b)  Pre-K teachers with a NC Lateral Entry B-K License as 

specified in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule shall make progress 

toward the NC Professional Educator's B-K Continuing License 

by: 

(1) obtaining and following an official Lateral 

Entry B-K Plan of Study issued by an 

accredited college or university with a North 

Carolina Department of Public Instruction 

approved B-K Teacher Education Program; 

(2) submitting to the Division, college or university 

transcripts verifying the completion of a 

minimum of six semester credit hours per 

school year in accordance with Subparagraph 

(1) of this Paragraph; 

(3) completing the three-year North Carolina State 

Board of Education Beginning Teacher Support 

Program in accordance with G.S. 115C-300.1 

and North Carolina State Board of Education 

Policy LICN-004; TCED-0016; and 

(4) achieving the NC B-K Initial or Continuing 

Professional License issued by the North 

Carolina Department of Public Instruction 

within three years. 

(c)  Pre-K teachers with a NC Residency B-K License as specified 

in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule shall make progress toward 

the NC B-K Initial or Continuing Professional License by: 

(1) obtaining and following an official Residency 

B-K Plan of Study issued by an approved North 

Carolina Department of Public Instruction 

(NCDPI) Educator Preparation Program (EPP) 

based on: 

(A) submission of all college transcripts to 

the EPP; 

(B) overall GPA of 2.7 or higher on the 

undergraduate degree or as determined 

by the EPP; and 

(C) employment as a Lead Teacher in a 

non-public NC Pre-K or 

Developmental Day Preschool 

classroom; 

(2) submitting to the Division, college or university 

transcripts verifying the completion of a 

minimum of six semester credit hours per 

school year in accordance with Subparagraph 

(1) of this Paragraph; 

(3) meet the Division's and EPP's requirements to 

renew the Residency B-K License no more than 

two times within a three-year period; and 

(4) achieving the NC B-K Initial or Continuing 

License issued by the North Carolina 

Department of Public Instruction within three 

years. 

(d)  Pre-K teachers with a NC Emergency License shall make 

progress toward the Residency B-K License by: 

(1) obtaining and following an official Plan of 

Study prepared by an EPP. This official Plan of 

Study must specify how to qualify for a 

Residency B-K License during the upcoming 

school year. 

(2) submitting to the Division, college or university 

transcripts verifying the completion of a 

minimum of six semester credit hours or less 

per school year in accordance with 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph; and 

(3) holding an Emergency License does not 

guarantee conversion to a Residency B-K 

License the following school year. 

(e)  Pre-K teachers with a NC Professional Educator's License 

with a Provisional B-K or [Preschool] Add-on shall make 

progress towards clearing the Licensure Add-On provisions by: 

(1) obtaining and following a Plan of Study issued 

by an accredited college or university with a 

North Carolina Department of Public 

Instruction approved B-K or Preschool Add-On 

Teacher Education Program; 

(2) submitting to the Division college or university 

transcripts verifying the completion of a 

minimum of six semester credit hours per year 

in accordance with Subparagraph (1) of this 

Paragraph; 

(3) completing the three-year North Carolina State 

Board of Education Beginning Teacher Support 

Program in accordance with G.S. 115C-300.1 

and North Carolina State Board of Education 

Policy TCED-0016; and 

(4) completing all coursework required as 

prescribed by the official BK Add-On or 

Licensure Only Plan of Study within five years 

from the initial effective date of the BK 

provisional licensure area established by North 

Carolina Department of Public Instruction. 

(f)  Teachers not meeting the annual minimum semester hours as 

set forth in Subparagraphs (b)(1), (c)(1) and (d)(1) of this Rule 

shall submit a written request to the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education Early Educator Support Unit 

requesting an extension to complete the requirement. Teachers 

shall submit a written request to the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education Early Educator Support Unit. 

The written request shall include the reason for not meeting the 
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provisions of this Rule, a list of the required coursework and 

semesters hours to be completed as prescribed by the Plan of 

Study, a timeline for completing the required semester hours, and 

documentation supporting course enrollment and expected 

completion dates. 

(g)  In determining whether to approve less than the annual 

minimum required semester hours, the Division shall consider 

reasons, including: 

(1) parental or family leave; 

(2) death, disability, or illness; and 

(3) natural or man-made disasters. 

(h)  Teachers shall maintain the B-K or Pre-K/K Add-on 

Continuing License in accordance with G.S. 115C-296(b)(1)b.4. 

115C-296 (II). and NC State Board of Education Policy LICN-

005. These policies can be found at 

https://simbli.eboardsolutions.com/ePolicy/policy.aspx?PC=LIC

N-

005&Sch=10399&S=10399&C=LICN&RevNo=1.03&T=A&Z

=P&St=ADOPTED&PG=6&SN=true. 

(i)  Teachers with expired B-K Continuing licenses shall meet the 

provisions set forth in G.S. 115C-296(II). which can be found at 

https://simbli.eboardsolutions.com/ePolicy/policy.aspx?PC=LIC

N-

005&Sch=10399&S=10399&C=LICN&RevNo=1.03&T=A&Z

=P&St=ADOPTED&PG=6&SN=true and North Carolina State 

Board of Education Policy LICN-005. These policies can be 

found at 

https://simbli.eboardsolutions.com/ePolicy/policy.aspx?PC=LIC

N-

005&Sch=10399&S=10399&C=LICN&RevNo=1.03&T=A&Z

=P&St=ADOPTED&PG=6&SN=true. 

(j)  The site-level administrator shall maintain documentation 

available for review by the Division, of the progress toward the 

requirements as specified in this Rule. 

(k)  All NC Pre-K lead teachers employed by nonpublic schools 

must be enrolled with the Early Educator Support Unit of the 

Division of Child Development and Early Education. The 

enrollment application may be found online at 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Portals/0/documents/pdf/N/NCPr

e-

K_EESLPD_Enrollment_Application_REV_JUL2019.pdf?ver=

2019-08-16-135555-313. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 

s. 10.7(a); 

Eff. November 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0105 APPROVAL 

(a)  Approval of construction documents and specifications shall 

be obtained from the Division of Health Service Regulation, in 

accordance with the rules in Section .0200 of this Subchapter. The 

construction documents and specifications require additional 

approval from the Department of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, and the 

Department of Insurance. 

(b)  Approval of construction documents and specifications shall 

expire one year after the date of approval unless a building permit 

for the construction has been obtained prior to the expiration date 

of the approval of construction documents and specifications. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0312 MEDICATIONS AND 

ANESTHESIA 

(a)  No medication or treatment shall be given except on written 

order of a physician. 

(b)  Any medications shall be administered by a Registered Nurse 

licensed in accordance with G.S. 90-171.30 or G.S. 90-171.32 and 

must be recorded in the patient's permanent record. 

(c)  The anesthesia shall be administered only under the direct 

supervision of a licensed physician. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 14-45.1(g); 

143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0316 FOOD SERVICE 

Nourishments, such as crackers and soft drinks, shall be available 

and offered to all patients. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1304 DIRECT SHIPMENTS 

(a)  A "direct shipment" means a shipment from the distiller or a 

warehouse of spirituous liquors, or from an antique spirituous 

liquor seller, directly to a local board without passing through the 

State ABC warehouse. 

(b)  In addition to direct shipments authorized pursuant to G.S. 

18B-800(c2), direct shipments shall be allowed by the 

Commission in emergency situations when the State ABC 

warehouse is closed or in a situation where, for transportation 

reasons, it is mutually advantageous to local boards and the 

operator of the State ABC warehouse. 

(c)  Direct shipment shall have prior written approval from the 

Commission. Merchandise authorized to be shipped by direct 

shipment shall be consigned by the State ABC warehouse to the 

distiller's account in care of the local board. The local board shall 

acknowledge receipt of the merchandise on the shipping 

documents and forward them to the Contractor for processing 

through the accounting system as though the merchandise were 

shipped from the State ABC warehouse. 
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(d)  Upon compliance with 14B NCAC 15A .1403, an antique 

spirituous liquor seller may deliver antique spirituous liquor listed 

in its inventory directly to the local board that placed the special 

order for that inventory. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207; 

18B-403; 18B-701(a)(1); 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1305 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; January 1, 2018. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1305 TRANSPORTATION BETWEEN 

ABC BOARDS 

(a)  A local board may authorize a distiller representative, 

brokerage representative, or supplier representative, on its behalf, 

to transport spirituous liquor owned by the local board to another 

local board that has purchased, exchanged, or otherwise obtained 

the spirituous liquor pursuant to Rule 14B NCAC 15A .1301(e). 

The authorization shall be in writing and shall be accompanied by 

an invoice for the spirituous liquor being transported. 

(b)  A copy of the authorization to transport the spirituous liquor 

and the invoice for the spirituous liquor shall be in the possession 

of the distiller representative, brokerage representative, or 

supplier representative during the transportation. 

(c)  The transferring local board shall be responsible for any 

damage, breakage, or theft of the spirituous liquor being 

transferred until receipt of the delivery is acknowledged in writing 

by the receiving local board. 

(d)  A copy of the acknowledgement of receipt signed by the 

receiving local board shall be sent by the receiving local board to 

the transferring local board together with any applicable payment 

in accordance with Rule 14B NCAC 15A .1406. 

(e)  A distiller representative, brokerage representative, or 

supplier representative transporting spirituous liquor pursuant to 

this Rule shall be exempt from the provisions of G.S. 18B-1115 

pursuant to G.S. 18B-1115(g). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207; 

18B-1115(g); 

Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1403 SPECIAL ORDERS 

(a)  Spirituous liquor products shall be approved for purchase 

from the Special Orders Price List as follows: 

(1) When requested by a customer, a local board 

shall request that the Commission consider 

approval for inclusion on the Special Orders 

Price List any spirituous liquor brand or 

container size that is not otherwise approved. 

(2) The Commission shall consider the local 

board's request, and approve, in accordance 

with 14B NCAC 15C .0203 and .0204, any 

brand or product for special order and the 

addition to the Special Orders Price List, 

including the special item case size requirement 

as established by the vendor. 

(b)  When requested by a customer, a local board shall place an 

order with the Commission for any special item case on the 

Special Orders Price List. A local board is not required to place 

an order on behalf of a customer for a quantity less than the case 

size requirement established by the vendor. If a customer desires 

to purchase a quantity less than the special item case size of any 

product, a local board may purchase any unsold bottles in the 

special item case for public sale. Any bottles purchased by the 

local board in excess of the quantity ordered by customers shall 

not be eligible to be sold below the uniform price pursuant to Rule 

14B NCAC 15A .1702. 

(c)  All customer orders shall be prepaid by the customer prior to 

the order being placed with the Commission. However, a local 

board may waive the requirement for the customer to prepay for 

the order if the local board elects to purchase the portion of the 

special item case in excess of the quantity ordered by the 

customer. 

(d)  Upon receipt of the special order from the local board, the 

Commission shall place the order with the vendor for shipment to 

the State ABC warehouse for delivery to the local board by the 

Contractor with the Contractor's next regularly scheduled 

shipment to the local board. 

(e)  For purposes of this Section and implementation of G.S. 18B-

800(c1), the following terms mean: 

(1) "Special item case" means the vendor's 

minimum bottle case size for special item 

products. 

(2) "Special item list" means Special Order Price 

List. 

(3) "Special Order Price List" means the list of 

spirituous liquor products approved by the 

Commission for sale in the State that are not 

available through the State ABC warehouse, 

but are available by special order in accordance 

with this Rule and Rule 14B NCAC 15A .1407. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-101; 18B-207; 

18B-800(c); 18B-804; 18B-807;  

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1404 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Agency did not readopt rule pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A by RRC 

established deadline of May 31, 2017; 

Eff. January 1, 2018 (Codifier approved request from agency to 

reuse rule number); 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1407 ANTIQUE SPIRITUOUS 

LIQUOR SPECIAL ORDERS 

(a)  In addition to the provisions set forth in Paragraph (a) of Rule 

.1403 of this Section, antique spirituous liquor products shall be 

approved for purchase from the Special Orders Price List as 

follows: 

(1) Upon receipt of a request for inclusion of an 

antique spirituous liquor on the Special Orders 

Price List from either the owner of antique 
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spirituous liquor, a local board at the request of 

the owner of antique spirituous liquor, or a 

mixed beverages permittee, the Commission 

shall consider the request. 

(2) The seller of the antique spirituous liquor shall 

provide to the Commission an inventory of each 

product to be sold, the seller's selling price per 

bottle, and a picture or copy of the label of each 

product legible to the Commission that allows 

it to identify the product to be sold. 

(3) Any antique spirituous liquor brand or product 

approved by the Commission for sale shall be 

added to the Special Orders Price List, listed by 

seller. The Commission shall determine the 

retail price for each product based on the 

markup formula pursuant to G.S. 18B-804, set 

up each product in its pricing system, assign 

code numbers for each product, and notify the 

local board and the State ABC warehouse of the 

price and product code number of each product. 

(b)  An owner of antique spirituous liquor who wants to sell 

antique spirituous liquor shall obtain a special one-time permit 

pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(4) prior to the sale. 

(c)  A mixed beverages permittee who wants to order antique 

spirituous liquor from the Special Orders Price List from an 

antique spirituous liquor seller shall first obtain an antique 

spirituous liquor permit pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(20). 

(d)  When requested by an antique spirituous liquor permittee, a 

local board shall place an order from the antique spirituous liquor 

seller for spirituous liquor on the Special Orders Price list. 

(e)  Upon delivery of the antique spirituous liquor to the local 

board by the antique spirituous liquor seller, the local board shall 

notify the antique spirituous liquor permittee the order is available 

for pickup and the location where it may be picked up. The local 

board shall collect payment for the antique spirituous liquor from 

the antique spirituous liquor permittee at the time of the pickup 

and shall pay the seller's price to the antique spirituous liquor 

seller from the proceeds of the sale. 

(f)  Once the local board has possession of the antique spirituous 

liquor to be sold, the local board shall notify the Commission and 

the State ABC warehouse and forward the invoice bill of lading 

for the product to the State ABC warehouse. The State ABC 

warehouse shall bill the local board for the bailment and bailment 

surcharge for the product. The local board shall pay the bailment 

and bailment surcharge to the Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-101; 18B-207; 

18B-800(c); 18B-804; 18B-807; 18B-1001; 18B-1002(a)(4); 

Recodified from 14B NCAC 15A .1403(e) through (j) Eff. 

February 1, 2021; 

Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1706 PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION 

PERMITS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-403; 

18B-403.1; 18B-404; 18B-807; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1708 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1801 PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION 

PERMITS FOR WINE AND LIQUOR 

(a)  The Purchase-Transportation Permit shall be issued in 

triplicate and shall specify the following information on the face 

of the permit: 

(1) the name and location of the ABC store, retail 

store, or distillery from which the purchase is to 

be made; 

(2) whether the purchase is for unfortified wine, 

fortified wine, or spirituous liquor; 

(3) the destination of the alcoholic beverages, 

including the address of the location and name 

of business, if applicable; 

(4) the Special Occasions Permit number of a 

location, if alcoholic beverages are purchased 

for a special occasion at a non-residence; 

(5) the time and date of commencement and 

conclusion of the special occasion, if any; 

(6) the quantity and type of alcoholic beverages 

purchased; 

(7) the signature and printed name of local ABC 

official, distillery owner, or designated 

employee of the owner issuing the permit; and 

(8) the name, address, and driver's license number 

of the purchaser. 

(b)  The Purchase-Transportation permit shall contain the 

following statements: 

(1) The permit is valid for only one purchase 

transaction on the date shown. 

(2) The permit will expire at 9:30 p.m. on the date 

of purchase. 

(3) The permit shall accompany the beverages 

during transport and storage. 

(4) The permit shall be exhibited to any law 

enforcement officer upon request. 

(c)  A local board or distillery issuing a Purchase-Transportation 

Permit shall retain one copy of the permit in its files for a period 

of one year. For Purchase-Transportation Permits issued by a local 

board for the purchase of fortified and unfortified wine, the local 

board shall give the purchaser two copies of the permit, one of 

which the purchaser shall give the store from which the alcoholic 

beverages are purchased. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-403; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1801 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 
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14B NCAC 15A .2103 DISTILLERY RECORD-

KEEPING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-502; 

18B-1105; 

Eff. January 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2104 DISTILLERY ISSUED 

PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION PERMITS 

The owner of a distillery shall designate in writing any employee 

of the distillery authorized to issue purchase-transportation 

permits on behalf of the distillery pursuant to G.S. 18B-403(b)(5). 

The authority shall remain in effect until it is revoked or the 

employee is no longer employed by the distillery. The 

authorization shall be acknowledged in writing by the employee. 

A copy of the authorization and the signed acknowledgement 

shall be retained by the permittee while the authorization is 

effective and for one year after the authority is terminated. A copy 

of the signed authorization shall be made available by the 

permittee to the Commission and law enforcement officers upon 

request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-403; 

Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0602 SALES AND PURCHASE  

RESTRICTIONS: RECORDS 

(a)  All malt beverages, unfortified wine, and fortified wine 

intended for sale, delivery, or shipment to retail permittees in the 

wholesaler's designated sales territory shall be delivered by the 

supplier or its designee to the wholesaler. The malt beverages, 

unfortified wine, and fortified wine delivered to the wholesaler 

shall be unloaded from the delivery vehicle, placed on the floor of 

the wholesaler's permitted premises so that its entire weight is 

supported by the floor, inventoried, inspected, and verified for 

taxes by the wholesaler. The provisions of this Paragraph do not 

apply to products sold, delivered, or shipped pursuant to G.S. 

18B-1101(7) or G.S. 18B-1104(a)(8). 

(b)  No wholesaler of malt beverages shall sell malt beverages to 

any person who does not hold a retail or wholesale malt beverage 

permit, and no wholesaler of wine shall sell any fortified wine or 

unfortified wine to any person who does not hold the appropriate 

retail or wholesale fortified or unfortified wine permit. However, 

a wholesaler may furnish or sell wine or malt beverages to the 

wholesaler's employees for the sole use of the employees. 

(c)  No retail malt beverage or wine permittee shall purchase malt 

beverages or wine from anyone other than a licensed wholesaler. 

(d)  All persons holding retail malt beverage or wine permits shall 

keep the sales tickets and delivery receipts furnished by the 

wholesaler, pursuant to Rule .0502 of this Subchapter, and all 

other records of purchases of malt beverages and wine. All 

receipts and records required to be retained pursuant to this 

Paragraph shall be kept separate and apart from all other records. 

Delivery receipts shall set forth terms of sale for each separate 

transaction between the retailer and the wholesaler and shall 

include for each separate sale: 

(1) the date of sale; 

(2) the trade name of the retail establishment; 

(3) the location of the retail establishment; 

(4) the quantity of each brand of malt beverages or 

wine sold; 

(5) the unit price; 

(6) the total price; 

(7) the amount paid; and 

(8) the invoice or receipt number. 

(e)  The retailer shall retain for inspection copies of all sales 

tickets and delivery receipts on the premises for three years. 

(f)  A retail permittee may maintain malt beverage and wine 

invoices at one location, other than the licensed premises, upon 

written application to and approval by the Commission. When 

considering the application, the Commission shall consider the 

following: 

(1) whether all permits are held by the same 

applicant; 

(2) whether electronic copies of the invoices will 

be accessible to law enforcement at the retail 

location; and 

(3) whether the permittee agrees to make the 

original invoices available on the licensed 

premises to law enforcement within 48 hours of 

the request by law enforcement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1107; 

18B-1109; 18B-1113; 18B-1114;  

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02T .0602 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0607 MALT BEVERAGE AND WINE 

SHIPMENTS TO MILITARY BASES 

No industry member except a wholesaler shall ship malt 

beverages or wine directly to a United States military or naval 

reservation within North Carolina. All malt beverages and wine 

intended for that purpose shall be shipped to wholesalers. These 

beverages shall come to rest upon the warehouse floor of the 

wholesalers, as set forth in Rule .0602(a) of this Section, who may 

then deliver them to United States military or naval reservations 

within North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B- 100; 18B-109(b); 

18B-207; 18B-1101(2); 18B-1102(2); 18B-1104(3); 18B-1113; 

18B-1114; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02T .0609 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 
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15A NCAC 02I .0101 PURPOSE OF THIS 

SUBCHAPTER 

In instances where Rules related to hearings conducted by a 

Division are not codified, these Rules authorize the designation of 

employees of the Department as hearing officers, set out the types 

of hearings which the designated employees are authorized to 

conduct, and delineate and reference the rules of procedure for 

conducting rulemaking or other hearings.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(3); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0102 DEFINITIONS 

The terms used herein shall be as defined in G.S. 143-213 and 

150B-2 and as follows: 

(1) "Commission" means the North Carolina 

Environmental Management Commission. 

(2) "Department" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality, and its successor. 

(3) "Director" means Director of the Division of 

Air Quality, Director of the Division of Energy, 

Mineral, and Land Resources, Director of the 

Division of Mitigation Services, Director of the 

Division of Water Resources, or Director of the 

Division of Waste Management and their 

successors. 

(4) "Division" means the Division of Air Quality, 

the Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land 

Resources, the Division of Mitigation Services, 

the Division of Water Resources, or the 

Division of Waste Management and their 

successors. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143B-282; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; November 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0103 DELEGATIONS 

Unless otherwise directed by the Chair of the Commission, 

pursuant to Rule .0105 of this Section, the Director is authorized 

to designate hearing officers, establish the hearings, issue notices 

and perform other administrative functions in accordance with 

these Rules. The Director shall advise the Commission at its 

regularly scheduled meetings of any public hearings held or 

scheduled since the Commission's last meeting. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(3),(4);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0104 AUTHORIZED HEARING 

OFFICERS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.4(e); 150B-32; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 16, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0105 REQUIREMENTS OF HEARING 

OFFICER OR PANEL 

Notwithstanding Rule .0103 of this Section, the Chair of the 

Commission may designate one or more of Commission members 

as hearing officer(s) for any hearing. A Commission member may 

be designated based on factors such as availability, expertise, 

interest, or the subject matter of the Rule(s).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(3); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 16, 2019; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0106 DEPARTMENT HEARING 

RULES 

 

History Note: G.S. 87-87; 87-92; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.4; 150B-14; 

Eff. May 1, 1986; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0203 PROCEDURES 

(a)  Any person desiring to comment on the proposed action may 

do so either in writing or by oral presentation. Any person may 

file a written statement or argument concerning the proposed 

action prior to the close of the hearing record. 

(b)  The hearing officer(s) shall consider all written and oral 

submissions and submit recommendations concerning the 

proposed action to the Commission following the close of the 

hearing record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1(e); 143-215.13(c);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

SECTION .0300 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0301 OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING 

15A NCAC 02I .0302 REQUEST FOR HEARING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-92; 143-215.3(a); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.4; 150B-2; 150B-23;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1988; July 1, 1988; May 1, 1986; June 

15, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 16, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0402 WATER QUALITY DISCHARGE 

PERMITS: NOTICE: PROCEDURES 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(c)(3); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 16, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0501 FORM AND CONTENTS OF 

PETITION 

(a)  Any person wishing to request the adoption, amendment, or 

repeal of a rule of the Commission shall make the request in a 

petition addressed to the Director of the appropriate division of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, and a copy in 

electronic form shall also be sent to the Recording Clerk of the 

Commission: 

 

Director 

Division of Air Quality 

1641 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1641 

Director 

Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources 

1612 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1612 

 

Director 

Division of Mitigation Services 

1652 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1652 

 

Director 

Division of Waste Management 

1646 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646 

 

Director 

Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1611 

 

Recording Clerk of the Commission 

Directors Office 

Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1611 

EMCclerk@ncdenr.gov 

 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) the text of the proposed rule(s) for adoption or 

amendment; 

(2) a statement of the reasons for adoption or 

amendment of the proposed rule(s), or the 

repeal of an existing rule(s); 

(3) a statement of the effect on existing rules or 

orders; 

(4) the name(s) and address(es) of the petitioner(s); 

and 

(5) a request to present the petition to the 

committee in accordance with Rule .0502 of 

this Section, if desired. 

(c)  In its review of the proposed rule, the Commission shall 

consider whether it has authority to adopt the rule; the effect of 

the proposed rule on existing rules, programs, and practices; 

probable costs and cost factors of the proposed rule; and the 

impact of the rule on the public and regulated entities. The 

petitioner may include the following information within the 

request: 

(1) the statutory authority for the agency to 

promulgate the rule(s); 

(2) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s) 

on existing practices in the area involved, 

including cost factors for persons affected by 

the proposed rule(s); 

(3) a statement explaining the computation of the 

cost factors; 

(4) a description, including the names and 

addresses, if known, of those most likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule(s); and 

(5) documents and data supporting the proposed 

rule(s). 

(d)  Petitions that do not contain the information required by 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be returned to the petitioner by the 

Director on behalf of the Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; November 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0502 REVIEW BY A COMMITTEE OF 

THE COMMISSION 

(a)  The Chair of the Commission may refer complete petitions to 

the appropriate subject area Committee of the Commission for 

review and recommended action. Copies of petitions for 

rulemaking shall be distributed to the Commission members when 

referred to a Committee of the Commission. 

(b)  Within 10 days of the assignment of the complete petition, the 

Chair of the Committee assigned to review a submitted petition 

for rulemaking shall announce the date of a meeting to consider 

the petition. 

(c)  At least 15 days before the Committee meeting, notice of the 

Committee meeting shall be sent to the petitioner, members of the 

Commission, and persons who have requested notice of petitions 

for rulemaking. 

(d)  If the petition is referred to a Committee, the petitioner shall 

be afforded the opportunity to present the petition for rulemaking 

to the Committee. The Director, division staff or their legal 

counsel may make a presentation to the Committee. 

(e)  The Chair of the Committee shall allow one interested person 

to present the viewpoint of those who oppose initiating 

rulemaking. The Chair of the Committee may determine whether 

additional interested persons shall make oral presentations before 

the Committee. 

(f)  At least 10 days before the Committee meeting, interested 

persons shall request the opportunity to make a presentation to the 

Committee through the Director. The request shall: 

(1) state the interest of the person; 

(2) state the person's position on the petition for 

rulemaking; and 
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(3) be accompanied by supporting materials. 

(g)  During the Committee's review, members of the Commission, 

other than Committee members, who are present may participate 

as a member of the Committee in discussions of the petition but 

may not vote on the recommended action on the petition. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0503 PRESENTATION TO THE 

COMMISSION 

(a)  Petitions for rulemaking shall be presented to the Commission 

for its consideration and determination at a meeting of the 

Commission within 120 days following the date of submittal of 

the petition to the appropriate Division pursuant to Rule .0501 of 

this Section. If the petition for rulemaking was reviewed by a 

Committee pursuant to Rule .0502 of this Section, the petition and 

the Committee's recommended action shall be presented through 

the Chair of the Committee or other designated member of the 

Committee during the business session of the Commission. 

Unless the Chair of the Commission rules otherwise, discussion 

on the petition shall be limited to the members of the Commission, 

counsel to the Commission, the Director, or the Division's legal 

counsel and the petitioner or its legal counsel. 

(b)  For petitions not referred to a Committee, the Chair of the 

Commission shall allow one interested person to present the 

viewpoint of those who oppose initiating rulemaking. The Chair 

of the Commission may determine whether additional interested 

persons shall make oral presentations before the Commission. At 

least 10 days before the Commission meeting, interested persons 

shall request the opportunity to make a presentation to the 

Commission through the Director. The request shall: 

(1) state the interest of the person; 

(2) state the person's position on the petition for 

rulemaking; and 

(3) be accompanied by supporting materials. 

(c)  Within 120 days following submittal of the petition to the 

appropriate Division the Commission shall: 

(1) grant the petition in writing, notify the 

petitioner and initiate rulemaking proceedings 

in accordance with G.S. 150B-20; or 

(2) deny the petition in writing, stating the reason 

or reasons for the denial, and send the written 

denial to the person(s) who submitted the 

petition. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0504 RECOURSE TO DENIAL OF 

PETITION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0601 ISSUANCE OF DECLARATORY 

RULING 

At the request of any person aggrieved, as defined in G.S. 150B-

2(6), the Commission may issue a declaratory ruling as provided 

in G.S. 150B-4 and the Rules of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-4; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0602 PROCEDURE FOR SUBMISSION 

OF PETITION 

(a)  All requests for a declaratory ruling shall be filed with the 

Director of the appropriate Division and a copy in electronic form 

shall also be sent to the Recording Clerk of the Commission: 

 

Director 

Division of Air Quality 

1641 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1641 

 

Director 

Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources 

1612 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1612 

 

Director 

Division of Mitigation Services 

1652 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1652 

 

Director 

Division of Waste Management 

1646 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646 

 

Director 

Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1611 

 

 

Recording Clerk of the Commission 

Directors Office 

Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1611 

EMCclerk@ncdenr.gov 

 

(b)  All requests shall include the following: 

(1) name and address of petitioner(s); 

(2) the rule, statute or order upon which a ruling is 

desired; 

(3) a statement as to whether the request is for a 

ruling on: 

(A) the validity of a rule; or 

(B) the applicability of a rule, order or 

statute to a given factual situation; or 
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(C) a conflict or inconsistency within the 

Commission or the Department 

regarding interpretation of a law or 

rule adopted by the Commission; 

(4) arguments or data which demonstrate that the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute or 

its potential application to the petitioner; 

(5) a statement of the consequences of a failure to 

issue a declaratory ruling in favor of the 

petitioner; 

(6) a draft of the proposed ruling; and 

(7) a statement of whether an oral argument is 

desired, and, if so, the reason(s) for requesting 

such an oral argument. 

(c)  A request for a ruling on the applicability of a rule, order, or 

statute shall include a statement of the specific facts to a given 

factual situation and documentation supporting those facts. A 

request for a ruling on the validity of a Commission rule shall state 

the aggrieved person's reason(s) for questioning the validity of the 

rule and a brief or legal memorandum supporting the aggrieved 

person's position. A request for a ruling to resolve a conflict or 

inconsistency within the Commission or the Department 

regarding interpretation of a law or rule adopted by the 

Commission shall include a written description identifying the 

conflict or inconsistency, the relevant Division(s) and program 

area(s), the interpretation provided by the agency, and the law or 

rule in question. A person may ask for multiple types of 

declaratory rulings in a single request. 

(d)  In the manner provided in G.S. 150B-23(d), any other person 

may request to intervene in the request for declaratory ruling. The 

request to intervene shall be determined by the Chair of the 

Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-4; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0603 DISPOSITION OF REQUEST 

(a)  The Chair of the Commission shall make a determination on 

the completeness of the request for declaratory ruling based on the 

requirements of this Section.  

(b)  Before the Commission decides the merits of the request, the 

Chair of the Commission may: 

(1) request additional written submissions from the 

petitioner(s); 

(2) request a written response from the Department 

or any other person;  

(3) allow the petitioner to file a reply to the 

response submitted in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph; or 

(4) request oral arguments from the petitioner(s) 

and Department staff or their legal counsel. 

(c)  The Commission shall make a decision to grant or deny the 

request according to G.S. 150B-4. 

(d)  The Commission shall deny the request upon making any of 

the following findings: 

(1) the request is not complete; 

(2) the petitioner is not a person aggrieved; 

(3) there has been a similar determination in a 

previous contested case or declaratory ruling; 

(4) the matter is the subject of a pending contested 

case hearing or litigation in any North Carolina 

or federal court; 

(5) no genuine controversy exists as to the 

application of a statute, order, or rule to the 

factual situation presented; 

(6) the factual context put forward as the subject of 

the declaratory ruling was considered upon the 

adoption of the rule being questioned, as 

evidenced by the rulemaking record; 

(7) the information provided by the petitioner, the 

Department, or any interveners does not 

support a determination that a rule is invalid; or 

(8) there is no material conflict or inconsistency 

within the Commission or Department 

regarding the law or rule identified by the 

petitioner. 

(e)  The Commission shall keep a record of each declaratory 

ruling, which shall include the following items: 

(1) the request for a ruling; 

(2) any written submission by a party; 

(3) the given state of facts on which the ruling was 

based; 

(4) any transcripts of oral proceedings, or, in the 

absence of a transcript, a summary of all 

arguments; 

(5) any other matter considered by the Commission 

in making the decision; and 

(6) the declaratory ruling, or the decision to refuse 

to issue a declaratory ruling, together with the 

reasons therefore. 

(f)  For purposes of this Section, a declaratory ruling shall be 

deemed to be in effect until: 

(1) the statute or rule interpreted by the declaratory 

ruling is repealed or the relevant provisions of 

the statute or rule are amended or altered; 

(2) any court of the Appellate Division of the 

General Court of Justice construes the statute or 

rule which is the subject of the declaratory 

ruling in a manner that is irreconcilable with the 

declaratory ruling; 

(3) the Commission changes the declaratory ruling 

prospectively; or, 

(4) any court sets aside the declaratory ruling in 

litigation between the Commission or 

Department and the party requesting the ruling. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-4; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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15A NCAC 10B .0409 SALE OF LIVE FOXES AND 

COYOTES TO CONTROLLED FOX HUNTING 

PRESERVES 

(a)  In counties with a trapping season for foxes and coyotes that 

do not prohibit live sale, licensed trappers may, subject to the 

restrictions on taking foxes in G.S.113- 291.4, live-trap foxes and 

coyotes during that season and sell them to licensed controlled fox 

hunting preserves in accordance with the conditions set forth in 

this Rule. 

(b) Licensed trappers are exempt from captivity permit and 

captivity license requirements for any live-trapped foxes or 

coyotes trapped for the purpose of sale to controlled fox hunting 

preserves. This exemption shall apply during the trapping season 

for foxes and coyotes, and for no more than 30 days after the 

trapping season. 

(c)  Live-trapped foxes and coyotes shall not be held for more than 

30 days after capture. 

(d)  Licensed trappers shall provide drinking water, food of a type 

and quantity appropriate for the species, and shelter that protects 

the foxes and coyotes from direct sunlight and precipitation. 

(e) Licensed trappers shall be exempt from tagging requirements 

set forth in this Section so long as the foxes are kept alive. 

(f)  Licensed trappers and any individual(s) transporting live foxes 

and coyotes shall have a current and valid transportation permit 

prior to taking possession of the live foxes and coyotes. 

(g)  Licensed trappers shall keep accurate written records, on a 

form provided by the Commission online at www.ncwildlife.org, 

for each fox or coyote sold or transferred to a controlled fox 

hunting preserve. Records shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) preserve operator license number, if applicable; 

(2) transportation permit number; 

(3) county of origin; 

(4) number of animals of each species; 

(5) date of capture; and 

(6) date of sale or transfer. 

(h)  Records required pursuant to this Rule shall be: 

(1) available for inspection by representatives of 

the Commission upon request; 

(2) submitted to and received by the Commission 

annually by May 1; and 

(3) retained by the licensed trapper for 12 months 

following transportation permit expiration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 

113-273(g);113-291.4; 

Eff. January 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. July 10, 2010; June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0308 CLAY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Chatuge Lake: 

(1) within 50 yards of the boat ramp at Ho Hum 

Campground; 

(2) the waters of Shooting Creek, from a line shore 

to shore 50 yards west of the High Bridge on 

NC Highway 175, to a line at the southeast end 

of Shooting Creek shore to shore, from a point 

at 35.01960 N, 83.72752 W; to a point at 

35.01979 N, 83.72638 W; 

(3) the waters of Gibson Cove, south of a line from 

a point on the east shore at 35.01005 N, 

83.79750 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.01099 N, 83.79929 W, southwest to the end 

of Gibson Cove; 

(4) within 50 yards of the Chatuge Cove Marina; 

(5) the portion of the cove shore to shore, west of 

Cottage Court off of NC Highway 175, 

northeast of a line from a point on the east shore 

at 35.02576 N, 83.73784 W; to a point on the 

northwest shore at 35.02609 N, 83.73945 W; 

(6) within 50 yards of the Chatuge Dam Spillway 

access area; 

(7) the waters of McCracken Cove; and 

(8) within 50 yards of the peninsula at Clay County 

Recreational Park, from a point on the north 

shore at 35.00850 N,83.79254 W, east to a point 

in the water at 35.00874 N,83.79187 W, south 

to a point in the water at 35.00782 N, 83.79119 

W, southwest to a point in the water at 35.00672 

N, 83.79211 W, west to a point on the shore at 

35.00696 N, 83.79259 W.  

(b)  Speed Limit. It shall be unlawful to operate a vessel at greater 

than no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas identified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter a marked public 

swimming area. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Clay 

County shall be the designated agency for placement of the 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

Tennessee Valley Authority and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; July 1, 1998; February 1, 1990; July 

1, 1986; March 25, 1978; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; October 1, 2018; June 1, 2017. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0317 STANLY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake; and 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) Turner Beach Cove shore to shore, 

south of a point at 35.22529 N, 

80.09318 W; and 

(B) The waters within 50 yards of the fuel 

docks at the Boathouse and Marina at 

712 Berry Hill Drive in Norwood. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp while on the waters of a regulated area described 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
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(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of a regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Stanly 

County shall be the designated agency for placement of markers 

implementing this Rule. 

(f)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule, no 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the 

waters of Lake Tillery shore to shore, within 85 yards north and 

85 yards south of the NC Hwy 24/27/73 bridge eastbound and 

westbound spans, otherwise known as the James B. Garrison 

Bridge. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission shall 

be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of 

markers for this regulated area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; March 25, 1978; November 1, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. July 30, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2020; October 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0323 BURKE COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule applies only to the following 

waters or portions of waters in Burke County: 

(1) Lake Hickory; 

(2) Lake James, delineated by markers consistent 

with Paragraph (e) of this Rule, at the following 

locations: 

(A) Holiday Shores Subdivision; 

(B) Lake James Campground; 

(C) Laurel Pointe Subdivision; 

(D) The waters of Boyd Moore Cove shore 

to shore, north of a line from a point 

on the northwest shore at 35.76667 N, 

81.82337 W to a point on the southeast 

shore at 35.76558 N, 81.82245 W; 

(E) East Shores development; 

(F) Eastern shore of Lake James at 

Mallard Cove; 

(G) That portion of Lake James shore to 

shore, 385 yards northeast of the NC 

Highway 126 bridge at a line from a 

point on the north shore at 35.74652 

N, 81.88231 W to a point on the south 

shore at 35.74440 N, 81.88017 W, and 

ending at a line 550 yards southwest of 

the NC Highway 126 bridge and 50 

yards south of the Canal Bridge 

Boating Access Area dock from a 

point on the northwest shore at 

35.74163 N, 81.88943 W to a point on 

the southeast shore at 35.73869 N, 

81.88652 W; 

(H) The waters within 50 yards of the end 

of the South Pointe Subdivision 

peninsula from a point east of the 

peninsula at 35.76399 N, 81.83768 W, 

and surrounding the peninsula from a 

point east of the peninsula at 35.76399 

N, 81.83768 W, and surrounding the 

peninsula to a point west of the 

peninsula at 35.76307 N, 81.83648 W; 

and 

(I) The waters of Sherman's Hollow Cove 

shore to shore, and contiguous with 

those waters beginning at a point on 

the west shore of the mouth of 

Sherman's Hollow Cove at 35.76423 

N, 81.82748 W, extending northeast 

within 50 yards of Linville Point to a 

point on the northeast shore of Linville 

Point at 35.76596 N, 81.82432 W; and 

(3) Lake Rhodhiss. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within 50 yards of any designated public boat 

launching ramp, bridge, marina, boat storage structure, boat 

service area, dock, or pier; or while on designated waters of the 

areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(d)  Restricted Swimming Areas. No person operating or 

responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter 

any marked public swimming area on the regulated areas 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Burke 

County is the designated agency for placement of the markers 

implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United 

States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

(f)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule, no 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the 

waters known as Mill Creek at Lake James State Park, on Lake 

James shore to shore, beginning 345 yards northwest of a line 

from a point on the southwest shore at 35.76016 N, 81.87322 W 

to a point on the northeast shore at 35.762040 N, 81.87150 W, and 

ending at a line from a point on the southwest shore at 35.76215 

N, 81.87624 W to a point on the northeast shore at 35.76343 N, 

81.87442 W. Vessel entry not authorized by the North Carolina 

Wildlife Resources Commission shall be prohibited by 

establishment of a safety zone in the waters of Mill Creek on Lake 

James, northeast and northwest of a line from a point on the 

southwest shore at 35.76215 N, 81.87624 W to a point on the 

northeast shore at 35.76343 N, 81.87442 W. The North Carolina 

Wildlife Resources Commission shall be the designated agency 

for placement and maintenance of markers for this regulated area. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2021 

1998 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15;  

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1995; December 1, 1994; December 

1, 1992; March 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2009; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. November 2, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 30, 2020; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

15A NCAC 10H .1201 DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The rules in this Section apply to all controlled hunting 

preserve operator licenses issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission (Commission) in accordance with G.S. 113-273(g) 

for controlled fox hunting preserves. 

(b)  The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this 

Section: 

(1) "Acclimation" means an adjustment period to 

allow foxes and coyotes to become accustomed 

to the controlled fox hunting preserve. 

(2) "Controlled fox hunting preserve" means an 

enclosed area where foxes and coyotes are 

pursued with dogs. 

(3) "Escape den" means a stationary manmade 

structure that provides refuge for foxes and 

coyotes from dogs. 

(4) "Dog proof fence" means a perimeter fence 

designed to prevent the ingress or egress of 

dogs, foxes, or coyotes over, under, or through 

the fence. 

(5) "Fox" means red fox and gray fox, including 

their color morphs. 

(c)  Any individual wanting to operate a controlled fox hunting 

preserve shall first obtain a controlled hunting preserve operator 

license from the Commission. 

(d)  Applicants for a controlled hunting preserve operator license 

shall show proof of ownership or lease of the land contained in 

the proposed controlled fox hunting preserve.  

(e)  Application for a controlled hunting preserve operator license 

shall be made online at www.ncwildlife.org or at the Commission 

headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606. 

Information required from the applicant shall include: 

(1) the applicant's name, address, telephone 

number, date of birth; 

(2) the preserve name, address, county, acreage, 

and GPS coordinates of preserve entrance; and 

(3) species within the preserve. 

(f)  Controlled hunting preserve operator licenses shall not be 

transferable, either by transferring the license to another operator 

or by relocating the site of the preserve. 

(g)  Upon receipt of an application accompanied by the license 

fee, the Commission shall issue a controlled fox hunting preserve 

operator license, provided the rules in this Section regarding 

establishment of such areas have been complied with. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g); 

Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1202 ESTABLISHMENT AND 

OPERATION 

(a)  Boundary of Preserve. Unless otherwise approved by the 

Commission based upon the topography and hydrology of the 

preserve, a controlled fox hunting preserve shall be enclosed with 

a dog-proof fence that meets the following requirements: 

(1) is at least four feet high; 

(2) has a top electrified wire at least three feet 

above the ground surface; 

(3) has a bottom electrified wire no more than one 

foot above the ground surface; and 

(4) is free from structures or vegetation purposely 

placed or allowed to exist that enables wild 

animals to enter or exit the preserve. 

(b)  Escape Dens. Controlled fox hunting preserves less than 106 

acres shall have a minimum of three escape dens. Those preserves 

equal to or greater than 106 acres shall have one additional escape 

den per 1-35 acre interval thereafter. 

(c)  Stocking Preserve with Game. The following shall apply to 

foxes and coyotes released into a preserve: 

(1) only foxes and coyotes may be released onto 

controlled fox hunting preserves; 

(2) operators may purchase live foxes and coyotes 

from: 

(A) licensed trappers in accordance with 

G.S. 113-273(g);  

(B) other licensed controlled fox hunting 

preserves; 

(C) licensed fur propagators; or 

(D) persons holding foxes or coyotes 

legally under a captivity license; 

(3) licensed controlled fox hunting preserve 

operators may hold legally obtained foxes and 

coyotes in accordance with food, sanitation, and 

enclosure requirements in 15A NCAC 10H 

.1404; 

(4) licensed controlled fox hunting preserve 

operators may transport legally acquired foxes 

and coyotes from the place of purchase to the 

controlled fox hunting preserve;  

(5) foxes and coyotes shall not be imported into 

North Carolina for release into controlled fox 

hunting preserves; 

(6) individuals transporting live foxes and coyotes 

to or from a licensed operator shall have a 

current and valid transportation permit; and 

(7) individuals transporting live foxes and coyotes 

on behalf of a licensed operator shall have a 

current and valid transportation permit or a 

copy of the operator's current controlled fox 

hunting preserve operator's license. 

(d)  Dog Density. Each controlled fox hunting preserve shall have 

an upper limit for dog density rounded to the nearest dog as 

follows: 
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(1) fox only preserve: .5 dog per 1 acre; 

(2) fox and coyote preserve: .75 dog per 1 acre; and 

(3) coyote only preserve: 1 dog per 1 acre. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g); 

Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1203 QUALITY OF FOXES AND 

COYOTES RELEASED 

(a)  All foxes and coyotes purchased, acquired, transferred, 

released, sold, or raised for release on controlled fox hunting 

preserves shall appear visibly healthy and free from disease.  

(b)  All dead foxes and coyotes, except those taken by lawful 

method(s) shall be reported to the Commission within 48 hours of 

discovery.  

(c)  The Commission may quarantine any controlled fox hunting 

preserve where contagious diseases are identified, depending on 

the type and severity of the disease and the risk to other wildlife 

or humans. Quarantine may include: 

(1) temporarily prohibiting removal or introduction 

of foxes and coyotes except as provided by 

written permit issued by the Commission. 

(2) notification to the county health department; 

(3) cleaning or disinfection of the facility; or 

(4) temporary license suspension. 

(d)  A quarantine shall not be lifted or cancelled until the 

Commission determines that there is no longer a threat of disease 

exposure to humans, foxes, coyotes, domestic dogs, or other 

animals. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g); 

Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1204 RECORDS REQUIRED 

(a)  License holders shall keep an accurate record, on a form 

provided by the Commission, for all foxes and coyotes released 

into or removed from the preserve from licensed trappers, other 

licensed controlled fox hunting preserves, licensed fur 

propagators, or persons holding foxes or coyotes legally under a 

captivity license. Records shall contain the following information: 

(1) preserve operator license, propagator license, or 

captivity license number, if applicable; 

(2) trapper identification number or name and 

address, if applicable; 

(3) transportation permit number, if applicable; 

(4) species and quantity of each; 

(5) date of purchase or transfer; and 

(6) county of origin. 

(b)  Records shall be available for inspection by representatives 

of the Commission upon request and during normal operating 

hours. 

(c)  Records shall be submitted to the Commission prior to the 

reissuance of the license. 

(d)  Records shall be retained by the license holder for 12 months 

following expiration of the license. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 

Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1205 HUNTING LICENSE REQUIRED 

(a)  Every person participating in the pursuit of wildlife on a 

controlled fox hunting preserve shall have a valid resident or 

nonresident hunting license or controlled hunting preserve 

hunting license in his or her possession, in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 10B .0114. 

(b)  Nonresidents participating in a Commission-sanctioned field 

trial, as defined in 15A NCAC 10B .0114, are exempt from 

licensing requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, provided 

they have a valid hunting license from their state of residence in 

their possession. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g); 

Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1206 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CARE OF FOXES AND COYOTES 

(a)  Food and water shall be provided to foxes and coyotes as 

follows: 

(1) food shall be of a type and quantity that is 

appropriate for the species; and 

(2) a constant supply of drinking water shall be 

available. 

(b)  The following conditions shall apply to the acclimation of 

newly introduced foxes and coyotes:  

(1) the acclimation period shall be at least seven 

days; 

(2) food and water meeting the requirements in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be provided in 

the area used for acclimation; and 

(3) chase by dogs during the acclimation period 

shall be prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g); 

Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1207 LICENSE REVOCATION AND 

ENFORCEMENT  

(a)  Representatives of the Commission shall be permitted to enter 

the premises of any licensed controlled fox hunting preserve upon 

request to the license holder or during the preserve's operating 

hours for inspection, enforcement, or scientific purposes. 

(b)  The Executive Director of the Commission or his or her 

designee may warn, cite, suspend, or revoke a license holder's 

controlled hunting preserve operator license if the license holder 

violates applicable provisions of Subchapter IV of Chapter 113 of 

the North Carolina General Statutes, applicable provisions of G.S. 

14-360, the rules of this Section, or any condition of the license. 

The determination whether to warn, cite, suspend, or revoke a 

license shall be based upon the seriousness of the violation, which 

may include: 
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(1) felony animal abuse as specified in G.S. 14-

360(a1) and (b);  

(2) purposefully releasing foxes and coyotes into 

the wild; 

(3) falsifying records; or 

(4) failing to notify the appropriate agencies after a 

potential disease exposure or outbreak. 

(c)  The Commission shall give the license holder written notice 

in accordance with G.S. 113-276.2(e) before revoking a license.  

(d)  If a fox or coyote is unlawfully possessed, the Commission 

may determine disposition of the unlawfully possessed animal(s), 

through seizure, release, relocation, or euthanasia. 

(e)  If the Commission revokes a controlled hunting preserve 

operator license, the Commission may determine disposition of 

the animals, through seizure, release, relocation, or euthanasia. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 

Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3401 DEFINITIONS  

The following definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Division" means the Division of Marine 

Fisheries or its authorized agent. 

(2) "Enterococcus" means a gram positive coccoid-

shaped bacteria that is found in the intestinal 

tracts of warm-blooded animals that include 

Enterococcus faecalis, Enterococcus faecium, 

Enterococcus avium, and Enterococcus 

gallinarium. 

(3) "Geometric mean" means the mean of "n" 

positive numbers obtained by taking the "nth" 

root of the product of the numbers with at least 

five samples collected within a 30-day period. 

(4) "Pending swimming advisory" means a 

notification to the public that recommends no 

primary contact with the water in a designated 

swimming area when bacteriological limits are 

exceeded, but does not close a swimming area 

to the public. A pending swimming advisory 

shall include a public notification via social 

media release to notify the public of the risks of 

swimming in the area. A pending swimming 

advisory shall be followed by a resample that 

will determine if a swimming advisory will be 

issued. 

(5) "Point source discharge" means the discharge 

of liquids through a pipe, drain, ditch, or other 

conveyance into a swimming area. 

(6) "Primary contact" means an activity in water in 

which a person's head is partially or completely 

submerged. 

(7) "Resample" means a water sample that is 

collected by the Division of Marine Fisheries or 

its authorized agent after the results of the initial 

water sample collected are processed by the 

Division and the results are analyzed by the 

Division. 

(8) "Storm water discharge" means any natural or 

manmade conveyance of rainwater or the 

resultant runoff into coastal recreational waters. 

(9) "Swimming advisory" means a notification to 

the public that recommends no primary contact 

with the water in a designated swimming area 

when bacteriological limits are exceeded, but 

does not close a swimming area to the public. A 

swimming advisory shall include a sign posted 

at the site of the advisory and a public 

notification via social media and news release 

to notify the public of the risks of swimming in 

the area. 

(10) "Swimming area" means a coastal recreation 

area that is used for primary contact located 

within waters classified by the Division of 

Water Resources as SC, SA, or SB as set forth 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0220 through .0222, and is 

hereby incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments. 

(11) "Swimming season" means from April 1 

through October 31 of each year. 

(12) "Tier I swimming area" means a swimming 

area used daily during the swimming season, 

including all oceanfront beaches that are 

monitored by the Division. 

(13) "Tier II swimming area" means a swimming 

area that is not used daily during the swimming 

season. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3402 BACTERIOLOGICAL LIMITS 

FOR SWIMMING AREAS 

(a)  The enterococcus level in a Tier I swimming area shall not 

exceed either: 

(1) A geometric mean of 35 enterococci per 100 

milliliter of water, that includes a minimum of 

at least five samples collected within 30 days; 

or 

(2) A single sample of 104 enterococci per 100 

milliliter of water. 

(b)  The enterococcus level in a Tier II swimming area shall not 

equal or exceed a single sample of 104 enterococci per 100 

milliliter of water. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3403 PUBLIC NOTICE OF 

INCREASED HEALTH RISKS IN SWIMMING AREAS  

(a)  Tier I Swimming areas: 
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(1) A pending swimming advisory shall be issued 

by the Division of Marine Fisheries if a water 

sample from a swimming area is equal to or 

exceeds the bacteriological limit set forth in 

Rule .3402(a)(2) of this Section during the 

swimming season. 

(2) A swimming advisory shall be issued by the 

Division if either of the following standards are 

exceeded during the swimming season: 

(A) Both the initial water sample and 

resample collected from a swimming 

area are equal to or exceed the 

bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section; or 

(B) The most recent five water samples 

collected within a 30-day period from 

a swimming area are equal to or 

exceed the bacteriological limit set 

forth in Rule .3402(a)(1) of this 

Section. 

(b)  Tier II swimming areas: 

(1) A pending swimming advisory shall be issued 

by the Division if a water sample from a 

swimming area is equal to or exceeds the 

bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section during the 

swimming season. 

(2) A swimming advisory shall be issued by the 

Division if both the initial water sample and 

resample collected from a swimming area are 

equal to or exceed the bacteriological limit set 

forth in Rule .3402(a)(2) of this Section during 

the swimming season. 

(c)  Signs posted pursuant to this Section shall be placed or erected 

in open view where the public may see the sign prior to entering 

the water. 

(d)  Signs shall state the following: 

ATTENTION: SWIMMING IN THIS AREA IS NOT 

RECOMMENDED. BACTERIA TESTING 

INDICATES LEVELS OF CONTAMINATION THAT 

MAY BE HAZARDOUS TO YOUR HEALTH. THIS 

ADVISORY AFFECTS WATERS WITHIN 200' OF 

THIS SIGN. OFFICE OF THE STATE HEALTH 

DIRECTOR. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3404 SWIMMING ADVISORIES FOR 

POINT SOURCE DISCHARGES INTO SWIMMING 

AREAS  

(a)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall post at least one sign 

at a wastewater treatment plant that discharges into swimming 

waters, which shall stay posted until the discharge is removed. 

The sign for a wastewater treatment plant discharge shall state the 

following: 

WARNING! SEWAGE TREATMENT EFFLUENT 

DISCHARGE SITE. SWIMMING IS NOT ADVISED 

IN THESE WATERS BECAUSE OF THE 

INCREASED RISK OF ILLNESS. OFFICE OF THE 

STATE HEALTH DIRECTOR. 

(b)  A swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division and at 

least one sign shall be posted at the public access to swimming 

waters that have been impacted by a wastewater system failure. 

The sign for waters impacted by a wastewater spill shall state the 

following: 

WARNING! WASTEWATER SPILL. SWIMMING IS 

NOT ADVISED IN THESE WATERS BECAUSE OF 

THE INCREASED RISK OF ILLNESS. OFFICE OF 

THE STATE HEALTH DIRECTOR. 

(c)  A swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division and at 

least one sign shall be posted at a storm drain or pipe or storm 

water discharge that is discharging into a Tier 1 swimming area. 

A sign shall be placed to advise the public as they enter the area 

impacted by the storm drain or pipe or storm water discharge. For 

dry weather discharges, the sign shall state the following: 

WARNING! STORM WATER DISCHARGE AREA. 

SWIMMING WITHIN 200 YARDS OF THIS SIGN 

MAY INCREASE THE RISKS OF WATERBORNE 

ILLNESS. OFFICE OF THE STATE HEALTH 

DIRECTOR. 

For wet weather discharges, the sign shall state the following: 

WARNING! STORM WATER DISCHARGE AREA. 

WATERS MAY BE CONTAMINATED BY 

DISCHARGE FROM PIPE. SWIMMING IS NOT 

RECOMMENDED WITHIN 200 YARDS OF THIS 

SIGN DURING ACTIVE DISCHARGE. FOR MORE 

INFORMATION, CALL 252-726-6827. OFFICE OF 

THE STATE HEALTH DIRECTOR. 

(d)  A swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division and at 

least two signs shall be posted at a storm drain or pipe where flood 

waters are being pumped into a swimming area. The signs shall 

state the following: 

SWIMMING IS NOT RECOMMENDED BETWEEN 

SIGNS. WATERS MAY BE CONTAMINATED BY 

DISCHARGE FROM PIPE. OFFICE OF THE STATE 

HEALTH DIRECTOR. 

(e)  A swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division and at 

least two signs shall be posted at an area receiving dredge material 

on a swimming beach if the dredge material is being pumped from 

an area closed to shellfish harvesting. The signs shall state the 

following: 

SWIMMING IS NOT RECOMMENDED BETWEEN 

SIGNS. WATERS MAY BE CONTAMINATED BY 

DISCHARGE FROM PIPE. OFFICE OF THE STATE 

HEALTH DIRECTOR. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 
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15A NCAC 18A .3405 RESCINDING A PENDING 

SWIMMING ADVISORY OR SWIMMING ADVISORY  

(a)  A pending swimming advisory shall be rescinded by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries via social media release when the 

resample collected meets the bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section. 

(b)  A Tier I swimming area advisory shall be rescinded by the 

Division via social media and news release, including the removal 

of signs, when both of the following conditions are met: 

(1) the geometric mean has met the bacteriological 

limit set forth in Rule .3402(a)(1) of this 

Section; and 

(2) two consecutive weekly water samples meet the 

bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section. 

(c)  A Tier II swimming area advisory shall be rescinded by the 

Division via social media and news release, including the removal 

of signs, after water samples meet the bacteriological limit set 

forth in Rule .3402(b) of this Section. 

(d)  A swimming advisory resulting from a flood water discharge 

or the discharge of dredge material shall be rescinded by the 

Division via social media and news release, including the removal 

of signs, 24 hours after the discharge has ceased, to allow for tidal 

dispersion. 

(e)  A swimming advisory resulting from a wastewater system 

failure shall be rescinded by the Division via social media and 

news release, including the removal of signs, when failure has 

been corrected and water samples collected meet the 

bacteriological limit set forth in Rule .3402(a)(2) of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3406 DESTRUCTION OF SIGNS 

15A NCAC 18A .3407 APPLICABILITY OF RULES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-233.1; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 18 - DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF 

STATE 

 

18 NCAC 06A .2120 SUNSET PROVISION 

(a)  The Administrator shall not accept any new Form NCE-LPO 

or other filing related to a new LPO after April 1, 2025. 

(b)  The rules in this Section shall expire on April 1, 2026. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 78A-17.1(a)(5); 78A-17.1(f); 

78A-49(a); 78A-49(d);  

Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 06F .0128 WAIVER OF REQUIREMENTS 

DURING DISASTER OR EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the Governor declares a state of emergency, the following 

exceptions shall apply to barber schools and students: 

(1) Schools shall maintain a monthly record of the 

subject matter taught to the student in theory 

classes, the requirement in Rule .0110(4) of this 

Subchapter for a weekly record 

notwithstanding. 

(2) Schools shall provide to the Board the list of 

students required by G.S. 86A-22(5) by the last 

day of each month, the requirement in Rule 

.0110(6) of this Subchapter for schools to 

submit the list by the 15th of each month 

notwithstanding. 

(3) Within 60 days of the date on which any student 

completes his or her course of study, drops out 

of school, or transfers to another school, the 

barber school shall return the student permit to 

the Board, the requirement in Rule .0113(d) of 

this Subchapter to return the student permit 

within five business days notwithstanding. 

(4) Students shall not be required to meet the 

requirements in Rule .0122 of this Subchapter 

if the students are attending online classes. 

(5) No student shall be given credit for more than 

10 total hours during any instruction day, the 

restriction to eight hours in Rule .0124(a) of this 

Subchapter notwithstanding. 

(6) The restrictions on off-campus hours in Rule 

.0124(c) of this Subchapter shall not apply to 

hours that students receive during a state of 

emergency. 

(7) Schools shall not be required to revise the 

handbooks required by Rule .0125 of this 

Subchapter to reflect the exceptions listed in 

this Rule. 

(b)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply through the 

duration of the state of emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-22; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. March 27, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2020; 

Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0102 FORM BAR-1 

(a)  The Form BAR-1 shall be filed when one applies to open or 

manage a new barber shop. It requests the following: 

(1) the name and address of the shop; 

(2) the name, address, and certificate number of the 

manager; 

(3) the name and address of the shop owner; 

(4) the physical dimensions of the shop; 

(5) the shop business hours; 
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(6) the type of fixtures installed; and 

(7) the date the shop will be ready for inspection. 

(b)  The fee required by Rule .0101(a)(19) of this Section shall 

accompany this form. 

(c)  The Form BAR-1 shall include the applicant's attestation that 

the information in the form is correct. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-13; 86A-15; 86A-

25; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; October 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0111 FORM BAR-10 

(a)  The Form BAR-10 is a report that shall be filed monthly by 

the manager of the school for each student enrolled in barber 

school. It requires the following: 

(1) the name of the school submitting the report; 

(2) the name and date of enrollment of the student; 

(3) the month and year for which the report is filed; 

(4) the dates and hours of the student's absences; 

(5) the dates and hours of the student's attendance; 

(6) the number of patrons served for clinical 

services; and 

(7) the subject matter covered in practical and 

theory courses. 

(b)  The Form BAR-10 shall be submitted to the Board over the 

signature of the manager of the school and co-signed by the 

student. 

(c)  If a student completes his or her course of study, drops out of 

school, or transfers to another school, the barber school shall 

return the Form BAR-10 to the Board: 

(1) within five business days; or 

(2) within 30 days if the student's enrollment ends 

during the effective period of a state of 

emergency declared by the Governor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-22; 

Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. March 27, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0212 PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 

A physician assistant may prescribe, order, procure, dispense, and 

administer drugs and medical devices subject to the following 

conditions: 

(1) The physician assistant complies with all State 

and federal laws regarding prescribing, 

including G.S. 90-18.1(b); 

(2) Each supervising physician and physician 

assistant incorporates within his or her written 

supervisory arrangements, as defined in Rule 

.0201(9) of this Section, instructions for 

prescribing, ordering, and administering drugs 

and medical devices and a policy for periodic 

review by the physician of these instructions 

and policy; 

(3) In order to compound and dispense drugs, the 

physician assistant complies with G.S. 90-

18.1(c); 

(4) In order to prescribe controlled substances: 

(a) the physician assistant must have a 

valid Drug Enforcement 

Administration (DEA) registration 

and prescribe in accordance with DEA 

rules; 

(b) refills shall be issued consistent with 

Controlled Substance Law and 

regulations; and 

(c) the supervising physician shall 

possess at least the same schedule(s) 

of controlled substances as the 

physician assistant's DEA registration; 

(5) Each prescription issued by the physician 

assistant contains, in addition to other 

information required by law, the following: 

(a) the physician assistant's name, 

practice address, and telephone 

number; and 

(b) if applicable, the physician assistant's 

DEA number for controlled 

substances prescriptions;  

(6) The physician assistant documents 

prescriptions in writing on the patient's record, 

including the medication name and dosage, 

amount prescribed, directions for use, and 

number of refills; 

(7) A physician assistant who requests, receives, 

and dispenses medication samples to patients 

complies with all applicable State and federal 

regulations; and 

(8) A physician assistant shall not prescribe 

controlled substances, as defined by the State 

and federal controlled substances acts, for: 

(a) the physician assistant's own use; 

(b) the use of the physician assistant's 

supervising physician; 

(c) the use of the physician assistant's 

immediate family; 

(d) the use of any person living in the 

same residence as the physician 

assistant; or 

(e) the use of any anyone with whom the 

physician assistant is having a sexual 

relationship. 
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As used in this Item, "immediate family" means a spouse, parent, 

child, sibling, parent-in-law, son-in-law or daughter-in-law, 

brother-in-law or sister-in-law, step-parent, step-child, or step-

sibling. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18.1; 

Eff. September 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; August 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; Amended Eff. May 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

21 NCAC 46 .1819 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; and 

(5) Darunavir. 

(b)  A pharmacist shall fill or refill a prescription for a Restricted 

Drug only if that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the 

prescriber consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription order that the 

patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription order 

is issued in conformance with this Rule, 

including not being refilled through an 

emergency prescription refill. 

(d)  A pharmacist shall not fill or refill a prescription for a 

Restricted Drug for the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the 

contraction of COVID-19 by someone who has not yet been 

diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the prescriber or the prescriber's agent, and that 

information is recorded in writing by the pharmacy, along with 

the identity of the prescriber or prescriber's agent transmitting the 

prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.26; 90-85.32; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 1, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Eff. February 1, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission March 18, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Vacant Vacant 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 March 18, 2021 May 20, 2021 
 April 15, 2021 June 17, 2021 

 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

THURSDAY, MARCH 18, 2021 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Department of Public Safety – 14B NCAC 19A .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104; 19B .0101, .0102, .0103,  

.0104, 0105, .0106, .0107; 19C .0101 (Reeder) 
B. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06B .0114 (Snyder)   
C. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06G .0508 (Snyder)   
D. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1101.13(R401.2) (Reeder) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between January 21, 2021 through February 22, 2021 

• Department of Environmental Quality 15A NCAC 01 (Reeder) 

• Department of Environmental Quality 15A NCAC 04 (May) 

• Medical Care Commission (May) 

• Commission for Public Health 10A NCAC 41 (May) 

• Alarm Systems Licensing Board (Reeder) 

• Coastal Resources Commission (Snyder) 

• Commission for Public Health 15A NCAC 18A (May) 

• Board of Barber Examiners (Reeder) 

• Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board (Snyder) 

• Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy (May) 

• Medical Board (Snyder) 

• Board of Funeral Service (May) 

• State Board of Opticians (May) 

• Veterinary Medical Board (Reeder) 

• Office of Administrative Hearings 
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V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: April 15, 2021 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

January 21, 2021 through February 22, 2021 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 41 are from the State Energy Office.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 41C concern the energy improvement loan program including general provisions (.0100); loans 
(.0200); and technical analysis (.0300). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0101 

Eligibility 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0201 

Criteria for Energy Conservation Loans 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0202 

Loan Percentage and Conditions and Limitations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0203 

Pre-Application Conference 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0204 

Application Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0205 

Application Review 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0206 

Loan Approval 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0207 

Loan Agreement and Promissory Note 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0208 

Reports 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0209 

Monitoring 
Readopt without Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0210 

Default 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0211 

Technical Analysis Required 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0301 

Technical Analyst Disqualifications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0302 

Report Required 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41C .0303 

The rules in Subchapter 41D concern the energy policy act credit and banking selling program including general 
provisions (,0100); credit banking and selling program provisions (,0200); proceeds and distribution (.0300); and reports 
(.0400).  

Purpose and Organization  01 NCAC 41D .0101 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41D .0102 

Banking 
Readopt without Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41D .0201 

Selling 
Readopt without Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41D .0202 

Proceeds and Distribution 
Readopt without Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41D .0301 

Fund Disbursements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41D .0302 

Reports 
Readopt without Changes* 

 01 NCAC 41D .0401 

The rules in Subchapter 12C concern organization. 

Residential Conservation Service Program 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 12C .0108 

The rules in Subchapter 12D concern petition for rulemaking and declaratory ruling. 

Delegation of Authority for Rulemaking Hearings and State... 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 12D .0101 

Submission and Content of Petition for Rulemaking 
Readopt with Changes* 

 04 NCAC 12D .0102 

Contents of Petition 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 12D .0103 

Issuance of Declaratory Rulings 
Readopt with Changes* 

 04 NCAC 12D .0116 

Disposition of Requests for Declaratory Ruling 
Readopt with Changes* 

 04 NCAC 12D .0117 

Disposition of Petitions for Rulemaking 
Adopt* 

 04 NCAC 12D .0132 

Submission of Request for Declaratory Ruling 
Adopt* 

 04 NCAC 12D .0133 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13O deal with the registries maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services 
including the healthcare personnel registry (.0100); medication aide registry (.0200); nurse aide I registry (.0300). 

Nurse Aide I Training and Competency Evaluation 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13O .0301 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 41 concern epidemiology health.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 41A concern communicable disease control and include reporting of communicable diseases 
(.0100); control measures for communicable diseases including special control measures (.0200-.0300); immunization 
(.0400); purchase and distribution of vaccine (.0500); special program/project funding (.0600); licensed nursing home 
services (.0700); communicable disease grants and contracts (.0800); and biological agent registry (.0900). 

Reportable Diseases and Conditions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 41A .0101 
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ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 17 are from the N.C. Alarm Systems Licensing Board and cover the organization and general 
provisions (.0100); provisions for licensees (.0200); provisions for registrants (.0300); the recovery fund (.0400); and 
continuing education for licensees (.0500). 

Experience Requirements for a License 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0202 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); 
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs (.1900); 
authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters and 
ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); replacement of 
existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal wetlands (.2300); 
placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement of structures; the 
reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, basins, channels, 
or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500); construction of wetland, stream and 
buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North Carolina Wetlands 
Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in estuarine and public trust 
waters (.2700).  

Public Water Supply Categories 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0401 

AECs Within Public Water Supplies 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0404 

Small Surface Water Supply Watersheds 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0405 

Public Water Supply Well Fields 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0406 

The rules in Subchapter 7J concern procedures for handling major development permits, variance requests, appeals 
from minor development permit decisions and declaratory rulings. They include definitions (.0100); permit application 
and procedures (.0200); hearing procedures (.0300); final approval and enforcement (.0400); general permits (.0500); 
declaratory rulings and petitions for rulemaking (.0600); procedures for considering variance petitions (.0700); general 
permit procedure (.1100); static vegetation line exception procedures (.1200); and development line procedures (.1300). 

Development Period/Commencement/Continuation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0403 

Development Period Extension 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0404 

Permit Modification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0405 

Permit Issuance and Transfer 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0406 
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Project Maintenance: Major Development/Dredge and Fill 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0407 

Civil Penalties 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0409 

Restoration/Mitigation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0410 

rules in Subchapter 7K set out activities in areas of environmental concern (AECs) which do not require a Coastal Area 
Management Act (CAMA) permit. These include activities that are not considered development (.0100); exempt minor 
maintenance and improvement (.0200); and exempt federal agency activities (.0400). 

Structural Accessways Over Frontal Dunes Exempted 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07K .0207 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water 
supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 18A deal with sanitation and include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) 
and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants 
(.0600); depuration mechanical purification facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters 
(.0900); summer camps (.1000); grade A milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); mass 
gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities (.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water supplies 
(.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed and 
breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools (.2400); 
public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); child day 
care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); lead 
poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules 
governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and private drinking water well sampling (.3800).  

Disinfection of Water Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1724 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .3101 

Lead Poisoning Hazard and Clearance Standard for Soil 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .3105 

Maintenance Standard 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .3107 

Sample Collection 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .3802 

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 06F concern barber schools. 

Barber School Curricula 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06F .0120 

Student Hours 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06F .0124 

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 28B are from the Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board and include board meetings and 
definitions (.0100); licensure, reciprocity, and seal (.0200); license renewal and reinstatement (.0300); continuing 
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education (.0400); minimum standards (.0500); fees (.0600); complaints and investigations (.0700); and hearings 
process and summary suspension (.0800). 

Emergency Extensions of Continuing Education Requirements... 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 28B .0406 

MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 30 concern organization and general provisions (.0100); application for licensure (.0200); licensing 
(.0300); business practices (.0400); standards of professional conduct (.0500); massage and bodywork therapy schools 
(.0600); continuing education (.0700); rules (.0800); complaints, disciplinary action, and hearings (.0900); and massage 
and bodywork therapy establishments (.1000). 

Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 30 .0636 

Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 30 .0704 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32B concern license to practice medicine including prescribing (.1000); general (.1300); 
resident's training license (.1400); faculty limited license (.1500); purpose license (.1600); other business (.1700); and 
expedited license for physician license (.2000). 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 32B .1708 

The rules in Subchapter 32M regulate the approval, registration and practice of nurse practitioners (.0100). 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 32M .0119 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 34B are funeral service rules including rules relating to resident trainees (.0100); examinations 
(.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education (.0400); out-of-state licensees (.0500); funeral establishments (.0600); 
and preparation of dead bodies (.0700). 

License Renewal Form 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 34B .0309 

OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 40 are from the Board of Opticians and concern location (.0100); conduct of registrants (.0200); 
qualifications, applications, and licensing (.0300); and administrative hearings (.0400). 

Waiver 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0113 

VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 66 are from the Veterinary Medical Board including statutory and administrative provisions (.0100); 
practice of veterinary medicine (.0200); examination and licensing procedures (.0300); rules petitions hearings (.0400); 
declaratory rulings (.0500); administrative hearings procedures (.0600); administrative hearings decisions related rights 
(.0700) and judicial review (.0800). 
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Petition for Inactive Status 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 66 .0309 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF 

The rules in Chapter 3 are from the Hearings Division and cover procedure (.0100); mediated settlement conferences 
(.0200); simplified procedures for medicaid applicant and recipient repeals (.0400); and electronic filing (.0500). 

General 
Amend* 

 26 NCAC 03 .0502 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 

Selina Malherbe    Michael Byrne 

     Karlene Turrentine 
 

 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner 

  

Respondent ALJ 

      Published     

 

20 CPS 03686 12/15/2020 Travis E Downing v. NC Department of Public Safety Victim 

Services 

Malherbe 

  
    

 

    
 

20 DAG 01477 12/21/2020 Valley Proteins Inc. v. NC Department of Agriculture & 

Consumer Services 

May 

  
          

 

20 DHR 01132 12/29/2020 LaToya Thurston-

Griggs  

v. 

NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Mann 

  
          

 

19 DOJ 05333 12/8/2020 Lake Royale 

Company Police 

Department Gabriel 

Anthony Fanara  v. 

North Carolina Department of Justice, 

Company Police Program 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 06899 12/1/2020 Gene C Norris II  

v. 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

Criminal Standards Division 

Lassiter 

20 DOJ 00152 12/11/2020 Benjamin Louis 

Zucker  v. 

NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Ward 

20 DOJ 00153 12/3/2020; 

12/10/2020 

Za'Mi Ya'Quawn 

Mcduffie  

v. 

North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Ward 

  
          

 

20 DST 01914 12/2/2020 Kimberly Willis 

Beneficiary of 

Thomas Clayton 

Willis II v. 

NC Department of State Treasurer, 

Retirement Systems Division 

Lassiter 

20 DST 03395 12/10/2020 Arthur Edwards  v. NC Retirement Systems Division Lassiter 
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20 ELS 00859 12/23/2020 NC Board of 

Examiners for 

Engineers and 

Surveyors v. 

William J Payer Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

20 OSP 02154 12/23/2020 Cecil John Russell  

v. 

North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

19 SOS 06543 12/4/2020 Tonya Maggio  

v. 

North Carolina Department of the 

Secretary of State 

Jacobs 

  
          

 

  
    Unpublished     

 

20 CSE 01495 12/10/2020 Cody Matthew 

Brawner  

v. 

NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 03221 12/16/2020 Michael Timmons  

v. 

NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04076 12/22/2020 Eric Jackson  

v. 

NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 04078 12/22/2020 Eric Jackson  

v. 

NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

20 DHR 04046 12/10/2020 Multicultural 

Resources Center 

NC James W 

McGrady Jr. v. 

Office of Administrative Hearings Byrne 

20 DHR 04228 12/3/2020 Mahmoud Atieh  v. Nutrition Service WIC vender Bawtinhimer 
  

          
 

20 DOJ 03803 12/16/2020 April Latoya 

Bowden  v. 

NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

May 

  
          

 

20 EHR 02793 12/4/2020 Regent Manor 

Apartments LLC 

John Nathan Tabor 

manager  v. 

North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality Michael S Regan 

Secretary 

May 

            
 

20 OSP 02923 12/4/2020 

Jonathan Randall 

Kuhn  v. 

Beaufort Community College Lassiter 

20 OSP 03118 12/11/2020 Mary Cunningham  v. DHHS Byrne 

20 OSP 03596 12/16/2020 Dr Melody S Isaak  v. 

North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality 

Bawtinhimer 

 

 


