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GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.
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NOTICE OF RULE MAKING PROCEEDINGS AND PUBLIC HEARING

NORTH CAROLINA BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is hereby given by NC Building Code Council in accordance with
G.S. 150B-21.5(d).

Citation to Existing Rule Affected by this Rule-Making: North Carolina, Fire, Building, Mechanical,
Existing Building, Residential, and Energy Codes amendments.

Authority for Rule-making: G.S. 143-136; 143-138.

Reason for Proposed Action: To incorporate changes in the NC State Building Codes as a result of
rulemaking petitions filed with the NC Building Code Council and to incorporate changes proposed by the

Council.

Public Hearing: Tuesday, March 9, 2021, 9:004M, Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury Street,
Raleigh, NC 27603, 2 Floor Training Room 240. Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal

impact will be accepted.

Comment Procedures: Written comments may be sent to Carl Martin, Acting Secretary, NC Building
Code Council, NC Department of Insurance, 1202 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202.
Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal impact will be accepted. Comment period expires on

April 16, 2021.

Link to Agency Notice:

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/building-code-council-bee/bee-hearing-notices

Statement of Subject Matter:

1. Request from Wayne Hamilton representing the NC Building Code Council to amend the 2018 NC
Fire Code, Section 304.4.4.
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Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to remove a redundant enforcement requirement from
the code as enforcement already exists in Section 109.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
2. Request by Tim Henshaw representing the NC Fire Code Revision Committee to amend the 2018
NC Fire Code, Section 510 and Chapter 80.

SECTION 510
EMERGENCY RESPONDER RADIG COMMUNICATION COVERAGE

510.1 Emergency responder radie-communication coverage in new buildings. Adlnewbuildings-shall

cevcrgo-tor ool thopabhesaiobcomarsiestensistope b Hoorsdtetomattieotore o ho-batidinge
- =

Approved in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage shall be provided in all new

buildings. In-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage shall be based on the existing

coverage levels of the public safety communication systems utilized by the jurisdiction, measured at the

exterior of the building. This section shall not require improvement of the existing public safety

communication systems.

Exceptions:

1. Where approved by the building official and the fire code official, a wired communication system in
accordance with Section 907.2.13.2 shall be permitted to be installed or maintained instead of an approved
rache communications coverage system.

2. Where it is determined by the fire code official that the aeie communications coverage system is not
needed.

3. In facilities where emergency responder #aete communication coverage is required and such systems,
components or equipment required could have a negative impact on the normal operations of that facility,
the fire code official shall have the authority to accept an automatically activated emergency responder
racie communication coverage system.

4. New buildings 7.500square feet or less and not more than 1 story above grade plane.

4.1._This exception does not apply to windowless buildings. underground buildings or buildings with a

basement.
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510.2 Emergency Responder Radie-Communications Coverage in Existing Buildings. Deleted

510.3 Permit required. A construction permit for the installation of or modification to emerseney

= rads

T

building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage systems and related equipment is required
as specified in Section 105.7.6. Maintenance performed in accordance with this code is not considered a

modification and does not require a permit.

510.4 Technical requirements. Equipment required to provide emergency responder adie communication
coverage shall be listed in accordance with UL 2524. Systems, components and equipment required to

provide the entergeney-responderradi e in-building 2- way emergency responder communication

coverage system shall comply with Sections 510.4.1 through 510425 510.4.2.8.

510.4.1 Radio-Signal-Strength-Emergency communication coverage system signal strength. The
building shall be considered to have acceptable emerseney-responderradio-eoverage-in-building 2- way
emergency responder communication svstem coverage when signal strength measurements in 95 percent of

all areas on each floor of the building and critical areas shall be provided with 99 percent floor area radio

coverage. Critical areas are fire command centers. fire pump rooms. exit stairs. exit passageways. elevator
lobbies, sprinkler rooms, riser rooms. standpipe cabinets. sprinkler sectional valve locations. and other

areas deemed critical by the AHJ. The signal strength shall meet requirements in Sections 510.4.1.1 and
510-44-2-through 510.4.1.3.

510.4.1.1 Minimum signal strength into the building. Asninimum-signal strength-of95-dBm-shall be

dwithin-the-building—The minimum inbound signal strength shall be sufficient to provide usable

voice communications throughout the coverage area as specified by the fire code official. The inbound

signal level shall be a minimum of -95dBm throughout the coverage area and sufficient to provide not less

than a Delivered Audio Quality (DAQ) of 3.0 or an equivalent Signal-to-Interference-Plus-Noise Ratio

(SINR) applicable to the technology for either analog or digital signals.

510.4.1.2 Minimum signal strength out of the building. A-mininrum-signal-strength-of —95-dBa-shall-be
crpe —the—ran ; P tthin—the—butlding—The minimum outbound signal
strength shall be sufficient to provide usable voice communications throughout the coverage area as

specified by the fire code official. The outbound signal level shall be sufficient to provide not less than a

DAQ of 3.0 or an equivalent SINR applicable to the technology for either analog or digital signals.
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510.4.1.3 System performance. Signal strength shall be sufficient to meet the requirements of the

applications being utilized by public safety for emergency operations through the coverage area as

specified by the fire code official in Section 510.4.2.2.

510.4.2 System design. The-entergeney—respendertadio-soverage-in-building 2- way emergency responder
communication coverage system shall be designed in accordance with Sections 510.4.2.1 through $48-42-5

510.4.2.8 and NFPA 1221.

510.4.2.1 Amplification systems allewed-and components. Buildings and structures that cannot support

Iherequiredlevelof adio-coverage-shall be-equipped HaFaeHa RGeSy :~-:. tbuted-antenna

age—in-building 2-
way emergency responder communication coverage shall be equipped with systems and components to

enhance the radio signals and achieve the required level of emergency communication coverage specified

in Sections 510.4.1 through 510.4.1.3. Emergency communication systems utilizing radio-frequency-

emitting devices and cabling shall be approved by the fire code official. Prior to installation. all RF-

emitting devices shall have the certification of the radio licensing authority and be suitable for public safety

use.

510.4.2.2 Technical criteria. The fire code official shall maintain a document providing the specific

technical information and requirements for the-emerseneyresponderradio-coverage-system- in-building 2-

way_emergency responder communication coverage system. This document shall contain, but not be

limited to, the various frequencies required, the location of radio sites, the effective radiated power of radio

sites, and-other—supporting—technicalinformation- the maximum propagation delay in microseconds. the

applications being used and other supporting technical information necessary for system design.

510.4.2.3 Standby power. Emerceney—responder—radie—In-building 2- way emergency responder
communication coverage systems shall be provided with-staneby—p = S Sttt

dedicated standby batteries or provided with 2-hour standby batteries and connected to the facility

generator power system in accordance with Section +263 604. The standby power supply shall be capable

of operating the emergeney—respender—+adie—in-building 2- way emergency responder communication
coverage system for-a-duration-of-notdess-than—24-heurs- at 100-percent system capacity for a duration of

not less than 12 hours.

510.4.2.4 Signal booster requirements. If used, signal boosters shall meet the following requirements:
1. All signal booster components shall be contained in a National Electrical Manufacturer’s Association
(NEMA) 4-type waterproof cabinet.

35:16
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2. Battery systems used for the emergency power source shall be contained in a NEMA 4-type-waterproof

eabinet-3R or higher-rated cabinet.
3. Fhe—signal-bee s 3

Pe & S 60— SHHPPFOY e S Tao G # H - -5

attendedtoeation—Equipment shall have FCC or other radio licensing authority certification and be suitable

for public safety use prior to installation.

4. Equipment-shall-have ECCcertification-prior—to—installaion—Where a donor antenna exists. isolation

shall be maintained between the donor antenna and all inside antennas to not less than 20dB greater than

the system gain under all operating conditions.

5. Active RF emitting devices used in in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage

systems shall have built-in oscillation detection and control circuitry.

6. The installation of amplification systems or systems that operate on or provide the means to cause

interference on any in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage network shall be

coordinated and approved by the fire code official.

510.4.2.5 Additiona

2-way emergency responder communication coverage system shall be monitored by a listed fire alairm

control unit. or where approved by the fire code official. shall sound an audible signal at a constantly

attended on-site location. Automatic supervisory signal shall include the following:
1. Loss of normal AC power supply.

2. System battery charger(s) failure.

3. Malfunction of the donor antenna(s).

4. Failure of active RF-emitting device(s).

5. Low-battery capacity at 70-percent reduction of operating capacity.
6. Failure of critical system components.

7. The communications link between the fire alarm system and the in-building 2- way emergency responder

communication coverage system.
8. Oscillation of active RF-emitting device(s)

510.4.2.6 Additional frequencies and change of frequencies. The in-building 2- way emergency

responder communication coverage system shall be capable of modification or expansion in the event
frequency changes are required by the FCC or other radio licensing authority. or additional frequencies are

made available by the FCC or other radio licensing authority.
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510.4.2.7 Design documents. The fire code official shall have the authority to require “as-built” design

documents and specifications for in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage

systems. The documents shall be in a format acceptable to the fire code official.

510.4.2.8 Radio communication antenna density. Systems shall be engineered to minimize the near-far
effect. In-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage system designs shall include

sufficient antenna density to address reduced gain conditions.

Exception:
1. Systems where all portable devices within the same band use active power control features.

510.5 Installation requirements. The installation of the public-safety—radie-in-building 2- way emergency

responder communication coverage system shall be in accordance with NFPA 1221 and Sections 510.5.1
through 548-5-4-510.5.5.

510.5.1 i i ion—Mounting of the donor antenna(s).

system designed donor site. donor antennas shall be permanently affixed on the building or where

approved. mounted on a movable sled with a clearly visible sign stating "Movement or repositioning of this
antenna is prohibited without approval from the fire code official”. The antenna installation shall be in

accordance with the applicable requirements in the International Building Code for weather protection of

the building envelope.
510.5.2 H i i Approval prior to_installation.

Amplification systems capable of operating on frequencies licensed to any public safety agency by the FCC
or other radio licensing authority shall not be installed without prior coordination and approval of the fire
code official and the frequency license holder(s).

510.5.3 —Minimum_qualifications of personnel.
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1. A valid FCC-issued general radio operator’s license.

2. Certification of in-building system training issued by an approved organization or approved school, or a

certificate issued by the manufacturer of the equipment being installed.

These qualifications shall not be required where demonstration of adequate skills and experience

satisfactory to the fire code official is provided.

510.5.4 ¥CC-eomplinnee—Acceptance test procedure. Fhe-emergeney—+

toKCC4F-CERPart-90-210- Where an in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage
system is required. and upon completion of installation. the building owner shall have the radio system
tested to verify that two-way coverage on each floor of the building is not less than 95 percent. The test
procedure shall be conducted as follows:

1. Each floor of the building shall be divided into a grid of 20 approximately equal test areas. Where a floor
exceeds 128.000 ft2 (11.900 m2). which is the floor area that can be covered by the maximum grid

dimension of 80 ft. (24.4m). the floor shall be subdivided into sectors each having an area less than or equal

to 128.000 ft2 (11.900 m2). and each sector be tested individually with 20 grid cells in each sector. Signal

strength measurements should be taken at the center of each grid and should be performed using

standardized parameters as specified by NFPA 1221.
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2. The test shall be conducted using a calibrated portable radio of the latest brand and model used by the

agency talking through the agency’s radio communications system or equipment approved by the fire code

official.

3. Failure of more than one test area shall result in failure of the test.

4. In the event that two of the test areas fail the test. in order to be more statistically accurate. the floor shall

be permitted to be divided into 40 equal test areas. Failure of not more than two nonadjacent test areas shall

not result in failure of the test. If the system fails the 40-area test. the system shall be altered to meet the 95-

percent coverage requirement.

5. A test location approximately in the center of each test area shall be selected for the test. with the radio

enabled to verify two-way communications to and from the outside of the building through the public

agency’s radio communications system. Once the test location has been selected. that location shall

represent the entire test area. Failure in the selected test location shall be considered to be a failure of that

test area. Additional test locations shall not be permitted.

6. The gain values of all amplifiers shall be measured and the test measurement results shall be kept on file

with the building owsner so that the measurements can be verified during annual tests. In the event that the

measurement results become lost. the building owner shall be required to rerun the acceptance test to
reestablish the gain values.
7. As part of the installation. a spectrum analyzer or other suitable test equipment shall be utilized to ensure

spurious oscillations are not being generated by the subject signal booster. This test shall be conducted at

the time of installation and at subsequent annual inspections.
8. Systems shall be tested using two portable radios simultaneously conducting subjective voice quality

checks. One portable radio shall be positioned not greater than 10 feet (3048 mm) from the indoor antenna.

The second portable radio shall be positioned at a distance that represents the farthest distance from any

indoor antenna. With both portable radios simultaneously keved up on different frequencies within the

same band. subjective audio testing shall be conducted and comply with DAQ levels as specified in
Sections 510.4.1.1 and 510.4.1.2.

510.5.5 FCC compliance. The in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage system

installation and components shall comply with all applicable federal regulations including. but not limited
to. FCC 47 CFR Part 90.219.

510.6 Maintenance. The emergeney—responder—radio—in-building 2- way emergency responder
communication coverage system shall be maintained operational at all times in accordance with Sections
510.6.1 through 510-6:3-510.6.4.

510.6.1 Testing and proof of compliance. The-emercency—responder—rad verage-The owner of the

building or owner’s authorized agent shall have the in-building 2- way emergency responder

35:16

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

FEBRUARY 15, 2021

1793



IN ADDITION

—

W 0 N O U & W D

20

communication coverage system shall be inspected and tested annually or where structural changes occur
including additions or remodels that could materially change the original field performance tests. Testing
shall consist of the following:

1. In-building coverage test as described in Section 510.5.3.

2. Signal boosters shall be tested to verify that the gain is the same as it was upon initial installation and

acceptance- or set to optimize the performance of the system.

3. Backup batteries and power supplies shall be tested under load of a period of 1 hour to verify that they
will properly operate during an actual power outage. If within the 1-hour test period the battery exhibits
symptoms of failure, the test shall be extended for additional 1-hour periods until the integrity of the battery
can be determined.

4. Other All active components shall be checked to verify operation within the manufacturer’s
specifications.

5. At the conclusion of the testing, a report, which shall verify compliance with Section 510.5.3, shall be
submitted to the fire code official.

510.6.2 Additional frequencies. The building owner shall modify or expand the-emerceney—respender

raehe-the in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage system at his or her expense in
the event frequency changes are required by the FCC or other radio licensing authority, or additional

frequencies are made available by the FCC—or other radio licensing authority. Prior approval of a-publie

safety—radio—an in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage system on previous

frequencies does not exempt this section.

510.6.3 Field-Testing—Nonpublic safety system. Acencypersonnel-shall-have-the-right-to-enteronto-the

- o' 4 A“)'
Where other nonpublic safety amplification systems installed in buildings reduce the performance or cause

interference with the in-building 2- way emergency responder communication coverage system. the
nonpublic safety amplification system shall be corrected or removed.

510.6.4 Field testing. Agency personnel shall have the right to enter onto the property at anv reasonable
time to conduct field testing to verify the required level of radio coverage.

Chapter 80

NFPA

NFPA 1221-19 Standard for the Installation. Maintenance. and Use of Emergency Services
Communications Systems..........510.4.2. 510.5,. 510.5.4.
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UL

UL2524 -19 Standard for In-building 2- Way Emergency Radio Communication Enhancement Systems
s S104;

FCC

4T CER PaTti 90 219-2007 ..osnnsniusnis sismios st nansmuen 01094, S10:5:5

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to address new technology and to eliminate the
requirement for one story buildings 7500sf or less where responder emergency radio coverage can be
accomplished without a building emergency radio system.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

3. Request from Tim Henshaw representing NC Fire Code Revision Committee to amend the 2018
NC Building Code, Sections 403.4.5, 916, and 916.1.

403.4.5 Emergency Responder Radie Communication Coverage. Emergency responder faete

communication coverage shall be provided in accordance with Section 510 of the International Fire Code.

916 Emergency Responder Radie Communication Coverage

916.1 General. Emergency responder #eete communication coverage shall be provided in all new buildings

in accordance with Section 510 of the International Fire Code.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to make the Building Code language consistent with the
Fire Code.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
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23
24
25
26
27
28

29

31
32
33
34

36

4. Request by the NC Building Code Council, Electrical Ad-Hoc Committee, to adopt the 2020 North

Carolina Electrical Code.

The Base Documents for the 2020 NC Electrical Code is the 2020 National Electrical Code (NEC)

and can be viewed by going to the following website:

https://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standards/all-codes-and-standards/list-of-codes-and-

standards/detail ?code=70.

The 2020 NC Building Code Council, Electrical Ad-Hoc Committee proposed amendments are
posted at the following website and are replacements to the Sections printed in the Base Document:

https://www.ncosfm.gov/bec-agenda-20201208-proposed-2020-state-electrical-code-amendments

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to adopt the latest available edition of the National
Electrical Code (NFPA 70) with North Carolina specific amendments that address specific NC needs.
Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state
funds. A fiscal note has been prepared and has been posted at the following website:
https://www.ncosfm.gov/bee-agenda-20201208-2020-nec-fiscal-note-item-b7.

Appeals and Interpretations of the North Carolina State Building Codes are published online at the

Jfollowing link.
https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/codes-current-and-past

NOTICE:
Objections and Legislative Review requests may be made to the NC Office of Administrative Hearings in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) after Rules are adopted by the Building Code Council.

http:/www.ncoah.com/rules/
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DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY (DEQ) INTENT TO ISSUE NPDES WASTEWATER DISCHARGE
PERMIT #NC0000272 WITH PROPOSED REMOVAL OF COLOR VARIANCE

PERMIT APPLICATION

Notice is hereby given in accordance with NC General Statutes (G.S.) 150B-21.2 and G.S. 150B-21.3A, G.S. 143-214.1 and federal
regulations at 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 131.20 (b), 40 CFR 131.14 and 40 CFR 25.5 that the DEQ, Division of Water
Resources (DWR) intends to amend effluent permit requirements applicable to Blue Ridge Paper Products, LLC. Public comment or
objection to the draft permit renewal is invited. All comments received by April 30, 2021 will be considered in the final determination
regarding permit issuance and permit provisions.

Blue Ridge Paper Products LLC, (d/b/a Evergreen Packaging), Permit Number NC0000272. Blue Ridge Paper Products, LLC is
authorized to discharge wastewater from a facility located at the Blue Ridge Paper Products Wastewater Treatment Plant, off Highway
215 (175 Main Street), Canton, Haywood County, NC to receiving waters designated as the Pigeon River, French Broad River Basin, in
accordance with effluent limitations. Some of the parameters are water quality limited. This discharge may affect future allocations in
this portion of the French Broad River Basin. The location of the Outfall is: Latitude: 35°32°08”; Longitude: 82°50°42”.

The thermal component of the discharge is subject to effluent limitations under Title 15A North Carolina Administrative Code
(NCAC) Subchapter 02B .0211 (18), which proposes thermal effluent limitations disallowing an exceedance of 2.8 degrees C (5.04
degrees F) above the natural water temperature, and in no case to exceed 29 degrees C (84.2 degrees F). The permit holder has
requested a continuance of a Clean Water Act Section 316(a) variance. On the basis of 15A NCAC 02B .0208 (b), and other lawful
standards and regulations, DWR proposes to continue the 316(a) variance in conjunction with the renewal of the permit.

The draft wastewater permit and all related documents are available online at: https://deq.nc.gov/news/events/public-notices-hearings.
Printed copies of the draft permit and related documents may be reviewed at the department’s Asheville Regional Office. To make an
appointment to review the documents, please call 828-296-4500. Public comment on the draft permit renewal and on the proposed
removal of the existing color variance should be mailed to: Wastewater Permitting, Attn: Blue Ridge Paper Products Permit, 1617
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, N.C., 27699-1617. Public comments may also be submitted by email to: publiccomments@ncdenr.gov.
Please be sure to include “Blue Ridge Paper Products™ in the email’s subject line.

COLOR VARIANCE INFORMATION

Notice is also hereby given in accordance with NC G.S. 150B-21.2 and G.S. 150B-21.3A, G.S. 143-214.1 and federal regulations at
40 CFR 131.20 (b), 40 CFR 131.14 and 40 CFR 25.5 that the NC Environmental Management Commission (EMC) is requesting
comment on removing the color variance from the effluent permit requirements applicable to Blue Ridge Paper Products, LLC. All
comments received by April 30, 2021 will be considered. Comments should be mailed to: Wastewater Permitting, Attn: Blue Ridge
Paper Products Permit, 1617 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, N.C., 27699-1617. Public comments may also be submitted by email to:
publiccomments@ncdenr.gov. Please be sure to include “Blue Ridge Paper Products” in the email’s subject line. Public records
related to the EMC consideration of the variance are located at: https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-
commissions/environmental-management-commission-71

BACKGROUND

The effluent permit limit requirements applicable to Blue Ridge Paper Products, LLC established in compliance with NC G.S. 143-
215.1, other lawful standards and regulations promulgated and adopted by the EMC, and the Clean Water Act (Act), as amended,
previously contained a variance provision to the state’s narrative, aesthetic, water quality standard for color. The variance was granted
July 13, 1988, by the EMC, under provisions in G.S. 143-215.3(e). Further, the variance has been continued under regulations
contained in 15A NCAC 02B .0226, Exemptions From Surface Water Quality Standards: “Variances from applicable standards,
revisions to water quality standards or site-specific water quality standards may be granted by the Commission on a case-by-case basis
pursuant to G.S. 143-215.3(e), 143-214.3 or 143-214.1. A listing of existing variances shall be maintained and made available to the
public by the Division. Exemptions established pursuant to this Rule shall be reviewed as part of the Triennial Review of Water
Quality Standards conducted pursuant to 40 CFR 131.10(g).”

NC DEQ DWR has concluded that a variance from the narrative provision at I5A NCAC 02B .0211 (12), historically interpreted as an
instream true color value of 50 platinum cobalt units (PCU), is no longer necessary. As outlined in the accompanying supporting
materials, significant improvements to the instream concentrations of color in the Pigeon River, combined with specific limits on color
and an updated reevaluation regarding the narrative provision and protection of the designated uses, support removal of the variance.
While 40 CFR Part 131 requires that “a State may not adopt Water Quality Standard (WQS) variances if the designated use and criterion
addressed by the WQS variance can be achieved..." by implementing certain effluent measures, the permit contains technology-based
effluent limits (see page 4 of the draft permit) that result in achieving the same goal and are in accordance with the most recent US EPA
Technology Review Workgroup recommendations. In addition to the removal of the variance, the 2020 draft permit includes monitoring
requirements that the facility meet a monthly average delta (A) Color of 50 PCU at the Fiberville Bridge, when the Pigeon River flow
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at Canton is equal or above the Monthly 30Q2 flow of 129 cubic feet per second. Previously, a Settlement Agreement between NC,
Tennessee (TN), and the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) required that the facility meet an instream color of 50 PCU at the
TN/NC state line, located approximately 40 river miles below the discharge. A summary of the history of the variance, review of
applicable regulations, and a reevaluation of the stream conditions is located at: https://deq.nc.gov/news/events/public-notices-hearings

RECOMMENDATION

In accordance with state and federal regulations, the proposed variance modification to the permit is effectively a change to water
quality standards and subject to public hearing. Under 40 CFR Part 131.14 (b)(1)(v) the state has reevaluated the Color Variance,
examined the highest attainable condition using all existing and readily available information and, now, provides notification to obtain
public input on this reevaluation, to confirm the finding that the present condition for color corresponds to meeting the applicable
criterion at 15A NCAC 02B .0211(12) and that a variance is no longer required for this facility per the intent of 40 CFR Part 131.
Upon completion of the review process, and certification under 40 CFR Part 132.5(b)(2) from the State’s Attorney General’s office
that proper notification has been given, the results of the EMC decisions will be submitted to the EPA for action.

ONLINE PUBLIC HEARING
In the abundance of caution, and to address protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, the hearing will be held
online.

Date: April 14, 2021

Time: 6 pm

WebEX link: https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=e6dd914ab0c9b2593dbb23321a36af245

WebEXx password: Nk2BCEzm7P2

WebEx phone number: 1-415-655-0003

WebEX access code: 171 787 6586 (Please see information below regarding registering for, joining, and commenting at the public
hearing.)

Comment Period Ends: April 30, 2021

REGISTRATION

To register for the hearing and provide your preference regarding speaking at the hearing, please visit:
https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=31F2etC5mkSFw-
zZCbNftGRcM2xmuszROiks3JDQp2_RURjISWUpMRThRSURXVzASWFU5MkdNUzk1UC4u

Or scan the following QR code with your phone:

Registration must be completed by 12:00 pm on April 14, 2021. If you have any problems registering online, please call 919-707-9011
or email peter.johnston@ncdenr.gov by the registration deadline of 12:00 pm on April 14, 2021.

The Division of Water Resources highly recommends testing your computer's WebEXx capabilities prior to the hearing at
https://www.webex.com/test-meeting.html. For instructions about digital ways to join the public hearing, please refer to the WebEx
Help Center online at https://help.webex.com/en-us/

To comment during the hearing after your name is called as a registered speaker and/or after the hearing officer asks if any people
wish to comment following the registered speakers:

- If you join the hearing by phone, press *3 to “raise your hand,” speak, and press *3 to “lower your hand.”
- If you join the hearing online, press the “raise your hand” icon, speak, and press the “lower your hand” icon.

- The Hearing Officer may limit the length of time that you may speak, so that all those who wish to speak may do so.
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the
rules cited as 15A NCAC 02D .1701-.1710.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-
rules/rules-hearing-process

Proposed Effective Date: September 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: March 24, 2021

Time: 6:00 p.m.

Location: A virtual public hearing will be held by webinar as
follows:

WebEx Events meeting link: https://bit.ly/360UcyX , Event
password: NCDAQ

Audio conference: To receive a call back, provide your phone
number when you join the event, or call the number below and
enter the access code. US TOLL +1-415-655-0003, Access code:
1781985004

*If you wish to speak at the digital public hearing, you must
register, provide the required information, and follow instructions
on ways to join the public hearing. Registration must be
completed by 4:00 PM on March 24, 2020. To register, please
click the following link: https://bit.ly/3iECNWF

*For instructions on ways to join the public hearing, please refer
to the following link:
https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Air%20Quality/rules/hearing/instructi
ons-on-ways-to-join-webex.pdf
https://www.webex.com/test-meeting.html

Reason for Proposed Action: To receive comments on the
proposed amendment of the 15A NCAC 02 .1700 Municipal Solid
Waste Landfill Rules. Also, to receive comment on the
accompanying fiscal note for the proposed amendment.”

On August 29, 2016, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
finalized changes to the Standards of Performance for Municipal
Solid Waste (MSW) Landfills. The EPA’s review identified
advances in technology and operating practices for reducing
emissions of LFG. The EPA promulgated a new subpart, 40 CFR
Part 60, Subpart XXX, Standards of Performance for Municipal
Solid Waste Landfills That Commenced Construction,
Reconstruction, or Modification After July 17, 2014, which was
automatically adopted through 15A NCAC 02D .0524.

In the same action, the EPA promulgated a new subpart under 40
CFR Part 60, Subpart Cf, Emission Guidelines and Compliance

Times for Municipal Solid Waste Landfills, to revise the emission
guidelines (EGs) that apply to existing MSW landfills. Previously,
the EGs under 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Cc applied to existing
MSW landfills. The revised EGs apply to landfills that have
accepted waste at any time since November 8, 1987 and
commenced construction, reconstruction, or modification on or
before July 17, 2014. The EPA revised the EG to account for
significant changes that have occurred in the landfill industry
over time, including changes to the size and number of existing
landfills, industry practices, and gas control methods and
technologies.

40 CFR Part 60, Subpart WWW, Standards of Performance for
Municipal Solid Waste Landfills, will continue to apply to MSW
landfills that commenced construction, reconstruction, or
modification after May 30, 1991 and on or before July 17, 2014,
until there is an approved state or federal plan that implements
40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Cf.

In conjunction with promulgation of the Affordable Clean Energy
rule on July 8, 2019, the EPA updated the CAA 111(d)
implementing regulations under a new subpart, 40 CFR Subpart
60, Subpart Ba, Adoption and Submittal of State Plans for
Designated Facilities. Specifically, this action amended the
timing requirements in 40 CFR 60.23 and 60.27 for submission of
state plans, and the issuance of federal plans. On August 26, 2019,
the EPA adopted the 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Ba implementation
requirements into the EG under 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cf. The EPA
also set a compliance date of August?29, 2019 for states to submit
state plans. The EPA is required to determine completeness with
6 months of a state plan submittal, and approve or disapprove the
state plan within 12 months of the completeness determination.

On March 26, 2020, the EPA adopted changes to 40 CFR Part
60, Subpart Cf, allowing impacted sources to demonstrate
compliance with LFG requirements for control and allow landfills
to comply with operational standards, compliance provisions,
monitoring requirements, and the associated recordkeeping and
reporting requirements by following the corresponding
requirements in the National Emission Standards for Hazardous
Pollutants (NESHAP) for MSW Landfills.

The proposed rulemaking amends the existing 15A NCAC
02D.1700 rules to make them consistent with 40 CFR Part 60
Subpart Cf, Emission Guidelines and Compliance Times for
Municipal Solid Waste Landfills, as part of North Carolina’s
implementation of this federal EG. Existing MSW landfills that
commenced construction, reconstruction, or modification, or
accepted waste before July 17, 2014 are subject to this rule. The
amended rule incorporates all requirements associated with the
EG. Note this rule is based on the federal EG for landfills, not the
NSPS, which applies to new landfills. The landfills that were
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considered a “new source” under the current 154 NCAC
02D.1700 rules are now considered “existing sources” under the
proposed amendments to these rules, and are subject to the
revised EG under 40 CFR 60 Subpart Cf. The primary change to
the current rule, apart from incorporating some minor
recordkeeping, monitoring and reporting requirements, is the
lowering of the NMOC emissions threshold from 50 Mg/year to
34 Mglyear but closed landfills still retain the 50 Mg/year
threshold and therefore they are not impacted.

A fiscal note was submitted to and approved by the Office of State
Budget of Management (OSBM) to reflect economic impacts to
the regulated community and local and state agencies. DEQ
estimates the total impact to both the facilities and the DAQ to
modify these six permits in year 2021 is estimated to be $61,368.
The estimated impacts of this proposed rule are not substantial as
defined in North Carolina’s Administrative Procedures Act in NC
General Statute 150B-21.4, Fiscal Note on Rules. The term
“substantial economic impact” means an aggregate financial
impact on all persons affected of at least one million dollars
($1,000,000) in a 12-month period. A copy of this fiscal note can
be  obtained at OSBM’s  website by  following
https://files.nc.gov/ncosbm/documents/filessyDEQ_2020-10-
27.pdf.

There are a total of 10 rules in 15A NCAC 02D .1700 that are
proposed for amendment to make them consistent with 40 CFR
Part 60 Subpart Cf, Emission Guidelines and Compliance Times
for Municipal Solid Waste Landfills, as part of North Carolina’s
implementation of this federal EG. Existing MSW landfills that
commenced construction, reconstruction, or modification, or
accepted waste before July 17, 2014 are subject to this rule.

Comments may be submitted to: Patrick Knowlson, 217 West
Jones St., 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641;
phone (919) 707-8711; fax (919) 715-0717; email
dag.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov (Please type "Landfills" in the
subject line)

*If you have technical difficulties, the following automated
voicemail has been set up to receive your verbal comments: 919-
707-8430"

Si necesita esta informacion en espafiol, comuniquese con
Carolina llamando al 919-609-2189 o enviando un correo
electrénico Guadalupe.jimenez@ncdenr.gov

Comment period ends: April 16, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

OXOXN

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 02D - AIR POLLUTION CONTROL
REQUIREMENTS

SECTION .1700 - MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE
LANDFILLS

15A NCAC 02D .1701 DEFINITIONS
The definitions in 40 CFR 60751 60.41f apply to this Section.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1).

15A NCAC 02D .1702 APPLICABILITY

(@) This Section applies to each existing MSW landfill that
accepted waste since November 8, 1987 and that commenced
construction, reconstruction, or modification on or before July 17,
2014.

W esisti —— he follow it
7 landill | :

@ tardlfill . ion ion,

(b) Physical or operational changes made to an existing MSW
landfill solely to comply with an emission standard under this
Section are not considered a modification or reconstruction, and
do not subject an existing MSW landfill to the requirements of 40
CFR 60, Subpart XXX or 15A NCAC 02D .0524.

(c) For purposes of obtaining an operating permit pursuant to
Title V of the Clean Air Act, the owner or operator of an MSW
landfill subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Cf with a design
capacity less than 2.5 million megagrams or 2.5 million cubic
meters shall not subject to the requirement to obtain an operating
permit for the landfill pursuant to 40 CFR Part 70 or 71 unless the
landfill is otherwise subject to either 40 CFR Part 70 or 71. For
purposes of submitting a timely application for an operating
permit pursuant to 40 CFR Part 70 or 71, the owner or operator of
an MSW landfill subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Cf with a
design capacity greater than or equal to 2.5 million megagrams
and 2.5 million cubic meters on the effective date of EPA approval
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of the state's program pursuant to Section 111(d) of the Clean Air
Act, and not otherwise subject to either 40 CFR Part 70 or 71,
becomes subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 70.5(a)(1)(i) or
40 CFR 71.5(a)(1)(i) within 90 days after the effective date of
such Section 111(d) program approval, even if the design capacity
report is submitted earlier.

(d) _When an MSW landfill subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cf is
closed as defined in this Section, the owner or operator shall no
longer be subject to the requirement to maintain an operating
permit pursuant to 40 CFR Part 70 or 71 for the landfill if the
landfill is not otherwise subject to the requirements of either 40
CFR Part 70 or 71 and if either of the following conditions are
met:

Q) The landfill was never subject to the
requirement to install and operate a gas
collection and control system pursuant to 40
CFR 60.33f(f); or
(2) The landfill meets the conditions for control
system removal specified in 40 CFR 60.33f(f).
(e) When an MSW landfill subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Cf
is in the closed landfill subcategory, the owner or operator shall
not subject to the reports of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Cf, provided
the owner or operator submitted these reports pursuant to the
provisions of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart WWW, 40 CFR Part 62,
Subpart GGG, or this Section on or before July 17, 2014, as
follows:

tl'elel’:e“p“g .,aluels ARy ele|_5|ty| Ggl Yersion

the-initialreporting requirements of 1I5A-NCAC
02B—-1708(a),—and The landfill has accepted

waste at any time since November 8, 1987, or
has additional design capacity available for
future waste deposition;

2 Fhe—landfil—has—a—non-methane—organic
compound-(NMOC)-emission-rate-of 55-tons

shall-be-calculated-by-following the procedures
outlined—in—40CER 60.754. The landfill
commenced construction, reconstruction, or
modification on or before July 17, 2014;
(3) The landfill has an NMOC emission rate greater
than or equal to 34 megagrams per year or Tier
4 surface emissions monitoring shows a surface
emission concentration of 500 parts per million
methane or greater, and
@) The landfill is in the closed landfill subcategory
and has an NMOC emission rate greater than or
equal to 50 megagrams per year or Tier 4
surface emissions monitoring shows a surface
emission concentration of 500 parts per million
methane or greater.
(b) Each owner or operator of a MSW landfill meeting the
conditions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shal: shall install and start
up a collection and control system that captures the gas within the

Q) Initial design capacity report specified in 40
CFR 60.38f(a);
(2 Initial or subsequent NMOC emission rate landfill within 30 months after:

report specified in 40 CFR 60.38f(c), provided
that the most recent NMOC emission rate report
indicated the NMOC emissions were below 50
megagrams per year;

3) Collection and control system design plan
specified in 40 CFR 60.38f(d);

4 Closure report specified in 40 CFR 60.38f(f);

(5) Equipment removal report specified in 40 CFR
60.38f(q):

(6) Initial annual report specified in 40 CFR
60.38f(h); and

(€8] Initial performance test report in 40 CFR
60.38f(i).

Authority 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-

215.107(a)(10).

15A NCAC 02D 1703 EMISSION STANDARDS

Fequ#ememsref—paragmph—(b)—ef—tmg—% Any MSW Iandflll

subject to this Section and having a design capacity greater than

or equal to 2.5 million megagrams by mass and 2.5 million cubic

meters by volume shall be required to collect and control MSW
landfill emissions if the following conditions apply:

1) Fhe-landfil-has-a-design-capacity-greaterthan

9| eq%%—z—?%—mﬂw%ﬂs—&m—%—m i j O i j

cubic—meters—Fhe—owner—or—operator—of—the

Ia_ dFil-may ealle_ulate i IEEGESIQ cap acty 1

7 - : : i :

Q) the first annual report in which the NMOC
emission rate equals or exceeds 34 megagrams
per year, unless Tier 2 or Tier 3 sampling
demonstrates that the NMOC emission rate is
less than 34 megagrams per year, as specified
in 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(4); or
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2 the first annual NMOC emission rate report for
a landfill in the closed landfill subcategory in
which the NMOC emission rate equals or
exceeds 50 megagrams per year, unless Tier 2
or_Tier 3 sampling demonstrates that the
NMOC emission rate is less than 50 megagrams
per vyear, as specified in 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(4);
or

3) the most recent NMOC emission rate report in
which the NMOC emission rate equals or

exceeds 34 megagrams per year based
on Tier 2, if the Tier 4 surface emissions
monitoring shows a surface methane emission
concentration of 500 parts per million methane
or qgreater as specified in 40 CFR

60.38f(d)(4)(iii).
o)) Hect] | irod | is Rul

(c) _Each owner or operator of a MSW landfill meeting the
conditions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall control the gas
collected from within the landfill through the use of control
devices meeting the following requirements, except as provided

in 40 CFR 60.24:
@ A non-enclosed flare designed and operated in
accordance with the parameters established in

60, Subpart WWW; 40 CFR Part 62,
Subpart GGG; or 40 CFR Part 60,
Subpart Cc on or before July 17, 2014;
shall be sufficient for compliance with
this 40 CFR Part, Subpart Cf;

(3) Route the collected gas to a treatment system
that processes the collected gas for subsequent
sale or beneficial use such as fuel for
combustion, production of vehicle fuel,
production of high-Btu gas for pipeline
injection, or use as a raw material in a chemical
manufacturing process. Venting of treated
landfill gas to the ambient air is not allowed. If
the treated landfill gas cannot be routed for
subsequent sale or beneficial use, then the
treated landfill gas shall be controlled pursuant
to either Subparagraph (c)(1) or (2) of this Rule;

“4) All emissions from any atmospheric vent from
the gas treatment system are subject to the
requirements of Paragraph (b) or (c) of this
Rule. For purposes of this Subparagraph,
atmospheric_vents located on the condensate
storage tank are not part of the treatment system
and are exempt from the requirements of
Paragraph (b) or (c) of this Rule.

(d) Each owner or operator of a MSW landfill having a design

40 CFR 60.18 except as noted in 40 CFR

capacity less than 2.5 million megagrams by mass or 2.5 million

60.37f(d); or
(2) A control system designed and operated to

cubic meters by volume shall submit an initial design capacity
report to the Division as provided in 40 CFR 60.38f(a). The

reduce NMOC by 98 weight percent; or when

landfill may calculate design capacity in either megagrams or

an_enclosed combustion device is used for

cubic _meters for comparison with the exemption values. Any

control, to either reduce NMOC by 98 weight

density conversions shall be documented and submitted with the

percent _or reduce the outlet NMOC

report. Submittal of the initial design capacity report fulfills the

concentration to less than 20 parts per million

requirements of this Rule, except as provided in Subparagraphs

by volume, dry basis as hexane at three percent

(d)(1) and (2) of this Rule, as follows:

oxygen or less. The reduction efficiency or
concentration in parts per million by volume
shall be established by an initial performance
test to be completed no later than 180 days after
the initial startup of the approved control
system using the test methods specified in 40
CFR 60.35f(d). The performance test is not
required for boilers and process heaters with
design heat input capacities equal to or greater
than 44 megawatts that burn landfill gas for
compliance with this Rule.
(A) If a boiler or process heater is used as
the control device, the landfill gas
stream_shall be introduced into the

flame zone;
(B) The control device shall be operated
within the parameter ranges

established during the initial or most
recent performance test. The operating
parameters to be monitored shall be
specified in 40 CFR 60.37f;

(© For the closed landfill subcategory, the

(€] The owner or operator shall submit an amended
design capacity report as provided in 40 CFR
60.38f(b). If the design capacity increase is the
result of a modification, as defined in 15A
NCAC 02D .1701, that was commenced after
July 17, 2014, then the landfill becomes subject
to 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart XXX instead of 40
CFR Part 60 Subpart Cf. If the design capacity
increase is the result of a change in operating
practices, density, or some other change that is
not a modification as defined in this subpart,
then the landfill remains subject to Subpart Cf;
and

(2) When an increase in the maximum design
capacity of a landfill with an initial design
capacity less than 2.5 million megagrams or 2.5
million cubic _meters results in a revised
maximum design capacity equal to or greater
than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5 million
cubic _meters, the owner or operator shall
comply with Paragraph (e) of this Rule.

(e) Each owner or operator of an MSW landfill having a design

initial or most recent performance test

capacity equal to or greater than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5

conducted to comply with 40 CFR Part

million cubic meters shall either install a collection and control
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system as provided in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule or
calculate an initial NMOC emission rate for the landfill using the
procedures specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a). The NMOC emission
rate shall be recalculated annually, except as provided in 40 CFR
60.38f(c)(3), as follows:

@) If the calculated NMOC emission rate is less
than 34 megagrams per year, the owner or
operator _shall submit an annual NMOC
emission rate report according to 40 CFR
60.38f(c), and recalculate the NMOC emission
rate annually using the procedures specified in
40 CFR 60.35f(a) until such time as the
calculated NMOC emission rate is equal to or
greater than 34 megagrams per year, or the
landfill is closed. This annual NMOC emission
rate reporting requirement shall not apply to the
facilities that elected to submit their reports as
provided in 40 CFR 60.38f(c)(3):

(A) if the calculated NMOC emission rate,
upon initial calculation or annual
recalculation required in

engineer to the Division within one year as
specified in 40 CFR 60.38f(d), except for
exemptions allowed in 40 CFR 60.31f(e)(3);
calculate NMOC emissions using a higher tier
in 40 CFR 60.35f; or conduct a surface
emission_monitoring demonstration using the
procedures specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6);
and
3) For the closed landfill subcategory, if the
calculated NMOC emission rate is equal to or
greater than 50 megagrams per year using Tier
1, 2, or 3 procedures, the owner or operator
shall either: submit a collection and control
system design plan as specified in 40 CFR
60.38f(d), except for exemptions allowed
pursuant to 40 CFR 60.31f(e)(3); calculate
NMOC emissions using a higher tier in 40 CFR
60.35f; or conduct a surface emission
monitoring demonstration using the procedures
specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6).
(f)_The collection and control system may be capped, removed,

Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule, is

or decommissioned if the following criteria are met:

equal to or greater than 34 megagrams
per year, the owner or operator shall
either: Comply with Paragraphs (b)
and (c) of this Rule; calculate NMOC
emissions using the next higher tier in
40 CFR 60.35f; or conduct a surface
emission _monitoring demonstration
using the procedures specified in 40
CFR 60.35f(a)(6);

(B) if the landfill is permanently closed, a
closure report shall be submitted to the
Division as provided in 40 CFR
60.38f(f), except for exemption
allowed pursuant to 40 CFR
60.31f(e)(4); and

(© for the closed landfill subcategory, if
the most recently calculated NMOC
emission rate is equal to or greater
than 50 megagrams per year, the
owner or operator shall either: submit
a _gas collection and control system
design plan as specified in 40 CFR
60.38f(d), except for exemptions
allowed pursuant to 40 CFR
60.31f(e)(3), and install a collection
and control system as provided in
Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule;
calculate NMOC emissions using the
next higher tier in 40 CFR 60.35f; or
conduct a surface emission monitoring

(€] The landfill is a closed landfill as defined in 40
CFR 60.41f. A closure report shall be submitted
to the Division as provided in 15A NCAC 02D
.1708(f);

2) The collection and control system has been in
operation a minimum of 15 years or the landfill
owner or operator demonstrates that the GCCS
will be unable to operate for 15 years due to
declining gas flow;

(3) Following the procedures specified in 40 CFR
60.35f(b), the calculated NMOC emission rate
at the landfill is less than 34 megagrams per
year on three successive test dates. The test
dates shall be no less than 90 days apart, and no
more than 180 days apart; and

4) For the closed landfill subcategory as defined in
40 CFR 60.41f, following the procedures
specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(b), the calculated
NMOC emission rate at the landfill is less than
50 megagrams per year on three successive test
dates. The test dates shall be no less than 90
days apart, and no more than 180 days apart.

Authority G.S.
215.107(a)(10).

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-

15A NCAC 02D .1704
PROCEDURES

The MSW landfill NMOC emission rate shall be ealeulated
calculated, or a surface emission monitoring demonstration be

TEST METHODS AND

demonstration using the procedures

conducted, by following the procedures in 40 CFR 68-754; 60.35f

specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6);
2 If the calculated NMOC emission rate is equal
to or greater than 34 megagrams per year using
Tier 1, 2, or 3 procedures, the owner or operator
shall either: submit a collection and control
system design plan prepared by a professional

as applicable, in-erder to determine whether the landfill meets the
conditions of 15A NCAC 02D -1703(a}{2)- .1703(a)(3) or (4).

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5);
143-215.107(a)(10).
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15ANCAC 02D .1705 OPERATIONAL STANDARDS
The owner and operator of a MSW landfill required to install a
landfill gas collection and control system to comply with 15A
NCAC 02D .1703(b) and (c) shall:

1)

)

©)

(4)

operate the collection system in—accordance
with—40-CFR60.753(a); such that gas is
collected from each area, cell, or group of cells
in the MSW landfill in which solid waste has
been in place for:

@ five years or more if active; or
(b) two years or more if closed or at final
grade;

operate the collection system with negative

pressure at each wellhead in-accordance-with-40

CFR-60-753(b); except under the following

conditions:

(a) for a fire or increased well
temperature, the owner or operator
shall record instances when positive
pressure occurs in efforts to avoid a
fire. These records shall be submitted
with the annual reports as provided in
40 CFR 60.38f(h)(1);

(b) for the use of a geomembrane or
synthetic cover, the owner or operator
shall develop acceptable pressure
limits in the design plan; and

(©) for a decommissioned well, a well
may _experience a static positive
pressure after shut down to
accommodate for declining flows. All
design changes shall be approved by
the Division as specified in 40 CFR

60.38f(d);

operate each interior wellhead in the collection
system in-accordance-with-40-CFR-60-753(c)-
with a landfill gas temperature less than 55
degrees Celsius (131 degrees Fahrenheit). The
owner or operator may establish a higher
operating temperature value at a particular well.
A higher operating value demonstration shall be
submitted to the Division for approval and shall
include supporting data demonstrating that the
elevated parameter neither causes fires nor
significantly inhibits anaerobic decomposition
by Killing methanogens. The demonstration
shall satisfy both criteria listed above in order
to be approved:;

operate the collection system so that the

methane concentration is less than 500 parts per

million above background at the surface of the
landfill. To determine if this level is exceeded,
the owner and operator shal—folow—the
procedures—given—in-40-CFR-60-753(d); shall
conduct surface testing using an organic vapor
analyzer, flame ionization detector, or other
portable monitor meeting the specifications
provided in 40 CFR 60.36f(d). The owner or
operator _shall conduct surface testing around

®)

(6)
)

the perimeter of the collection area and along a
pattern that traverses the landfill at no more
than 30-meter intervals and where visual
observations indicate elevated concentrations
of landfill gas, such as distressed vegetation and
cracks or seeps in the cover and all cover
penetrations. The owner or operator shall
monitor any openings that are within an area of
the landfill where waste has been placed and a
gas collection system is required. The owner or
operator may establish an alternative traversing
pattern that ensures equivalent coverage. A
surface _monitoring design plan shall be
developed that includes a topographical map
with the monitoring route and the rationale for
any site-specific deviations from the 30-meter
intervals. Areas with steep slopes or other
dangerous areas may be excluded from the
surface testing;

operate the collection system such that all
collected gases are vented to a control system
designed and operated in compliance with 15A
NCAC-02D-1703(b)}3)- 40 CFR 60.33f(c). In
the event that the gas collection and control
system is reperable-measuresshal-betakenas
outhined-in40-CFR-60-753(e); not operating

the gas mover system shall be shut down and all
valves in the collection and control system
contributing to venting of the gas to the
atmosphere shall be closed within one hour of
the collection or control system not operating;
operate the control system at all times when the
collected gas is routed to the eentrol system;

Rule: if _monitoring demonstrates that the
operational requirements in Item (2), (3), or (4)
of this Rule are not met, corrective action shall
be taken as specified in 40 CFR 60.36f(a)(3)
and (a)(5) or (c). If corrective actions are taken
as specified in 40 CFR 60.36f, the monitored
exceedance shall not be a violation of the
operational requirements in this Rule; and

The owner or operator may choose to comply
with the provisions of 40 CFR 63.1958 in lieu
of Items (1) through (7) of this Rule. Once the
owner or operator begins to comply with the
provisions of 40 CFR 63.1958, the owner or
operator shall continue to operate the collection
and _control device according to those
provisions and cannot return to the provisions
of this Rule.
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Authority G.S.
215.107(a)(10).

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-

15ANCAC 02D .1706 COMPLIANCE PROVISIONS

(@ Compliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall be
determined using the gas collection system compliance provisions
of 40 CFR 60-755(a)- 60.36f(a).

(b) Compliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1705(1) shall be
determined using the controlled landfill gas well and design
component provisions of 40 CFR 60-755(a)- 60.36f(b).

(c) Compliance with the surface methane operational standards
of 15A NCAC 02D .1705(4) shall be achieved determined using
the procedures of 40 CFR 60.-755(¢c)-and-{d)- 60.36f(c).

(d) To comply with the provisions in Paragraph (c) of this Rule

(e) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D -1703(b)}3}B).1703(b)

using-an-active by installing a collection system that does not meet
the specifications of 40 CFR 60.40f, or seeking to monitor

alternative parameters to those required by 15A NCAC 02D .1704
through .1707 shall comply with the provisions of 40 CFR
60-756(e)- 60.37f(e).

(f) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D -1706(c) .1705(4) for
demonstrating compliance with the 500 parts per million surface
methane operational standard shall do so in accordance with 40
CFR 60:756(f)- 60.37(f).

(q) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) shall do so in

or 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6), the owner or operator shall comply with

accordance with the provisions of 40 CFR 60. 37f(q).

the instrumentation specifications and procedures for surface

(h)_The monitoring requirements of Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and

emission monitoring devices provisions of 40 CFR 60.36f(d).

(e)d)- The provisions of this Rule apply-atat-times; apply, except
during periods of start-up, shutdown, or wmalfunction;
malfunction. provided-that-the-duration-of start-upshutdewn—or

malunction-shat-notexceed-five-daystorcollection-systems-and
shall-notexceed-one-hourfortreatmentorcontrol devices: During

(q) of this Rule apply at all times the affected source is operating,
except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions, repairs
associated with the monitoring system malfunctions, and required
monitoring system quality assurance or quality control activities.
A monitoring system malfunction is any sudden, infrequent, not
reasonably preventable failure of the monitoring system to

periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction, the owner or

provide valid data. Monitoring system failures that are caused in

operator shall comply with the work practice specified in 40 CFR

part by poor maintenance or careless operation are not

60.34f(e) in lieu of the compliance provisions in 40 CFR 60.36f.

malfunctions. Monitoring system repairs to return the monitoring

() _The owner or operator may choose to comply with the

system to operation in response to malfunctions shall be

provisions of 40 CFR 63.1960 in lieu of Paragraphs (a) through

completed as expeditiously as practicable.

(e) of this Rule. Once the owner or operator begins to comply with

(i) _The owner or operator may choose to comply with the

the provisions of 40 CFR 63.1960, the owner or operator shall

provisions of 40 CFR 63.19561 in lieu of Paragraphs (a) through

continue to operate the collection and control device according to

(h) of this Rule. Once the owner or operator begins to comply with

those provisions and cannot return to the provisions of this Rule.

the provisions of 40 CFR 63.1961, the owner or operator shall

(q) Compliance with the specifications for active collection

continue to operate the collection and control device according to

systems in 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall be determined using

those provisions and cannot return to the provisions of this Rule.

the provisions of 40 CFR 60.40f(a) and (b).

(h) Compliance with the specifications for active collection
systems in 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) shall be determined using
the provisions of 40 CFR 60.40f(c).

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5);
143-215.107(a)(10).

15A NCAC 02D .1707 MONITORING PROVISIONS

(@) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill who is required to
comply with 15A NCAC 02D 2703(b)}2).1703(b) for an active
gas collection system shall perform the monitoring requirements

as outlined in 40 CFR 606-756(a)- 60.37f(a).

(b) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D 27031Bb)}{3)}S).1703(c)
using an enclosed combustor shall perform the monitoring

requirements as outlined in 40 CFR 66-756{a)- 60.37f(b).

(c) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D -2783(b}{3}A).1703(c)
using an-open a non-enclosed flare shall perform the monitoring

requirements as outlined in 40 CFR 66-756{¢)- 60.37f(d).

(d) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D -1703(b)}{3).1703(c) using
a device other than an open flare-er flare, an enclosed combustor
or treatment system shall comply with the provisions of 40 CFR

60.756(d). 60.37f(d).

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5);
143-215.107(a)(10).

15A NCAC 02D .1708 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

(&) The owner or operator of a an existing MSW landfill subject
to this Rule according to 15A NCAC 02D .1702 shall submit a
design capacity report to the Director in—-accordance—with-the

following: as follows:
1) The initial design capacity report shall fulfill
. : fieati ; I

A I irod und
40-CRFR60-HH—and-shall-be-submitted-no
fater-thanthe-earhiest-of the day from-the dates
ghven40-CRR 68457 e and40-CFR

60-757{a)}(H){i); be submitted no later than 90
days after the effective date of the EPA

approval of the State Plan pursuant to Section
111(d) of the Clean Air Act;
2 The initial design capacity report shall contain

the information given in 40 CFR
60-757ay2)H 60.38f(a)(1) and 40 CFR

60757} {2)(i)-and 60.38f(a)(2) as follows:
(A) a map or plot of the landfill, providing

the size and location of the landfill,
and identifying all areas where solid
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waste may be landfilled according to
the permit issued by the state, local, or
tribal _agency  responsible  for

requlating the landfill; and
(B) the maximum design capacity of the
landfill as given in 40 CFR

60.38f(a)(2).

&)  An-amended-design-capaciy report-shall-be
submitted-to-the Director-in-accordance-with-40
S I.! 60 5;(6.‘)(3) wheneveranncrease the
eles_lg eapae_lty ofthela dl.'” resulis—i t'e
ele_slllg_ eapa_xelty ofthe Ia-'d“” 'EIGI' e;eeeesl' 25
(b) The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to
this Section shall submit an amended design capacity report
providing notification of an increase in the design capacity of the
landfill, within 90 days of an increase in the maximum design
capacity of the landfill to meet or exceed 2.5 million megagrams

waste acceptance rate exceeded the estimated
waste acceptance rate.

4) each owner and operator subject to the
requirements of this Rule shall be exempted
from the requirements to submit an NMOC
emission rate report, after installing a compliant
collection and control system, during such time
as the collection and control system is in
operation and in compliance with 15A NCAC
02D .1705 and .1706.

(d){e) The owner or operator of a an existing MSW landfill
subject to 15A NCAC 02D 4703 .1703(b) shall submit a
collection and control system design plan to the Director within
one year of the first NMOC emission rate report, required under
Paragraph {b)(c) of this Rule, in which the emission rate equals or
exceeds 55-tens 34 megagrams per year, except as provided for in
40 CFR 680757} -and-(e}{2)- 60.38f(d)(4). The collection and

control system design plan shall include:

and 2.5 million cubic meters. An increase in design capacity may
result from an increase in the permitted volume of the landfill or
an_increase in the density as documented in the annual
recalculation required in 15A NCAC 02D .1709(j).

(©)b) The owner or operator of a an existing MSW landfill
subject to this Rule shall submit a NMOC emission report to the
Director initially no later than 90 days after the effective date of
EPA approval of the state plan pursuant to Section 111(d) of the
Clean Air Act and annually thereafter, except as provided for in

40 CFR 80-757b){1)6) 60.38f(c). er{b}3)—TFhe-initial NMOC
issi ate repo ha itted-within 90 davs-of the day

Rule: The NMOC emission rate report shall:

@ contain an annual or five-year estimate of the
NMOC emission rate calculated using the
formula and procedures provided in 40 CFR
60-754(a) 60.35f(a) or (b), as applicable; and

2 include all the data, calculations, sample
reports, and measurements used to estimate the
annual or five-year emissions: emissions; and

3) if the estimated NMOC emission rate as
reported in the annual report is less than 34
megagrams per year in each of the next five
consecutive years, the owner or operator may
elect to submit an estimate of the NMOC
emission rate for the next five-year period in
lieu of the annual report. This estimate shall
include the current amount of solid waste-in-
place and the estimate waste acceptance rate for
each year of the five years for which an NMOC
emission rate is estimated. All data and
calculations shall be provided. This estimate
shall be revised at least once every five years. If
the actual waste acceptance rate exceeds the
estimated waste acceptance rate in any year
reported in the five-year estimate, a revised
five-year estimate shall be submitted. The
revised estimate shall cover the five-year period
beginning with the year in which the actual

€8] a_description of the collection and control
system:;

(2) a_description of any alternatives to the
operational standards, test methods,

procedures, compliance measures, monitoring,
recordkeeping, or  reporting  provisions
provided in this Rule; and

(3) a description indicating how the plan conforms
to specifications for active collection systems or
provide a demonstration of sufficient
alternative provisions as given in 40 CFR
60.40f.

(e) The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill who has
already submitted a design plan pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this
Rule, pursuant to 40 CFER Part 60, Subpart WWW, or a state plan
implementing 40 CER Part 60, Subpart Cc, shall submit a revised
design plan to the Director for approval as follows:

(€] at least 90 days before expanding operations to
an area no covered by the previously approved
design plan; and

2) prior to installing or expanding the gas
collection system in a way that is not consistent
with the design plan that was submitted to the
Director in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

(f){d) The owner or operator of a controlled landfill shall submit
a closure report to the Director within 30 days of cessation of
waste acceptance. If a closure report has been submitted to the
Director, no additional waste shall be placed into the landfill
without first filing a notification of modification as described
whder pursuant to 40 CFR 60.7(a)(4). The Director may request
such additional information as may be necessary to verify that
permanent closure of the MSW landfill has taken place in
accordance-with pursuant to the requirements of 40 CFR 258.60.
(9)e} The owner or operator of a controlled MSW landfill shall
submit an equipment removal report 30 days prior to removal or
cessation of operation of the control equipment according to 15A
NCAC 02D -2703(¢e)- .1703(f). The report shall contain the items
listed in 40 CFR 60-75%e}2)- 60.38f(g). The Director may
request such additional information as may be necessary to verify
that all the conditions for removal in 40 CFR 68-752(b}{2}{w)
60.33f(f) have been met.
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(h)® The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply
with 15A NCAC 02D 2703(b}2).1703(b) using an active
collection system designed in accordance with 40 CFR
80752}y 60.333f(b) shall submit annual reports of the

recorded information in 40 CFR 60-#57H{Y) 60.38f(h)(1)
through (9€6)- (h)(7). The initial annual report shall be submitted

within 180 days of installation and start-up of the collection and
control system, and shall include the initial performance test
report required under 40 CFR 60.8. Each owner or operator that
chooses to comply with the operational provisions of 40 CFR
63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, as allowed by 15A NCAC 02D
.1705, .1706 and .1707, the owner or operator must follow the
semi-annual reporting requirements in 40 CFR 63.1981(h) in lieu

of this Paragraph.

(iYhy The owner or operator of a& an existing MSW landfill
required to comply with 15A NCAC 02D -1703(b}(1).1703(b)
shall include the information given in 40 CFR 60 75Hg}{H
60.38f(i)(1) through {g}6}(i)(6) with the initial performance test
report required whder pursuant to 40 CFR 60.8.

(1) _The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill shall
submit a report within 60 days after the date of completing each
performance test. This report may be submitted as a hard copy or
electronically as applicable.

(k) The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill required
to implement corrective active, shall submit reports to the Director

15A NCAC 02D .1709
REQUIREMENTS
(@) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this
Section and shall keep en-site on-site, accessible, for at least five
years records-of-the-information-listed-in-40-CFR-60-758(a)- a
copy of the design capacity report that triggered 40 CFR
60.33f(e), the current amount of solid waste in-place, and the
year-by-year waste acceptance rate. Off-site records may be
maintained if they are retrievable within four hours. Either paper
copy or electronic formats of the records shall be acceptable.

(b) The owner or operator of a controlled landfill shall keep up-
to-date records pursuant to 40 CFR 60.768(b) for the life of the
control equipment of the data listed in 40 CFR 60-758(b}1H)
60.39f(b)(1) through {b)}4)(b)(5) as measured during the initial
performance test or compliance determination. Records of
subsequent tests or monitoring shall be maintained for a minimum
of five years. Records of the control device vendor specifications
shall be maintained until removal.

(c) Each owner or operator of a controlled MSW landfill subject
to this Section shall keep for five years up-to-date records
pursuant to 40 CFR 60.768(c) of the equipment operating
parameters specified to be monitored in 15A NCAC 02D .1707
and records for periods of operation during which the parameter
boundaries established during the most recent performance test
are exceeded. The parameter boundaries considered in excess of
those established during the performance test are defined in 40
CFR 86-758(c)}{b){#) 60.39f(c)(1)(i) and (ii) and are also required
to be reported pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D -1708(g)- .1708(j).
(d) The owner or operator of a MSW _landfill subject to this

RECORDKEEPING

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(k)(1) and (k)(2). Each owner or

Section shall keep up-to-date, readily accessible continuous

operator that chooses to comply with the operational provisions

records of the indication of flow to the control system and the

of 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, as allowed by 15A

indication of bypass flow or records of monthly inspections of car-

NCAC 02D .1705, .1706 and .1707, the owner or operator shall

seals or lock-and-key configuration used to seal bypass lines as

follow the corrective action and the corresponding timeline

specified in 40 CFR 60.371.

reporting requirements in 40 CFR 63.1981(j) in lieu of this

(e) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this

Paragraph.
()_The owner or operator of an affected landfill with a design

Section who uses a boiler or process heater with a design heat
input capacity of 44 megawatts or greater to comply with 40 CFR

capacity equal to or greater than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5

60.33f(c) shall keep an up-to-date, readily accessible record of all

million cubic meters that has employed leachate recirculation or

periods of operation of the boiler or process heater.

added liguids based on a Research, Development, and

(f)_The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply

Demonstration permit within the last 10 years shall submit an

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) by use of a non-

annual report to the Director that includes the information

enclosed flare shall keep up-to-date, readily accessible records of

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(1)(1) through (1)(10).
(m) The owner or operator of an affected landfill with a design

all periods of operation in which the flame or flare pilot flame is
absent.

capacity equal to or greater than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5

() _The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply

million cubic meters that intends to demonstrate site-specific

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) using an active

surface _methane emissions are below 500 parts per million

collection system designed pursuant to 40 CFR 60.33f(b) shall

methane, based on Tier 4 provisions of 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6), shall

keep records of periods of when the collection system or control

provide notifications to the Director in accordance with 40 CFR

device is not operating.

60.38f(m)(1) and (m)(2).

(n) Each owner or operator that chooses to comply with the
operational provisions of 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961,
as allowed by 15A NCAC 02D .1705, .1706 and .1707, shall
submit the 24-hour high temperature report according to 40 CFR

63.1981(K).

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 143-215.66; 143-
215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10).

(h){d) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to 15A
NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall keep for the life of the collection
system an up-to-date plot map pursuant to 40 CFR 60.768(d)
showing existing and planned collectors in the system and provide
unique identification location labels for each collector. Records of
newly installed collectors shall be maintained in-accerdance-with
pursuant to 40 CFR 60-#58{d}(1) 60.36f(b) and documentation of
asbestos-containing or nondegradable waste excluded from
collection shall be kept in-accordance-with pursuant to 40 CFR
60-758(d)(2)- 60.40(a)(3)(i) and records of any nonproductive
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areas excluded from collection shall be kept pursuant to 40 CFR

(k) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to

60.40f(a)(3)(ii).
(iY{e) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to 15A

NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall keep for at least five years records-of
SRISSIONS from 4 el ee_lleeue Hand-co 't.gl sys;te ';'FQF“GEEE;QJ"E% EEIEE-

accessible records of the following:
Q) each owner or operator that chooses to comply

demonstrate that site-specific surface methane emissions are
below 500 parts per million by conducting surface emissions
monitoring _under the Tier 4 procedures shall follow the
recordkeeping provisions provided in 40 CFR 39f(q).

() _The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to the
provisions of this Section shall keep for at least five years up-to-
date, readily accessible records of all collection and control

with the operational provisions of 40 CFR

system monitoring data for the parameters measured in 40 CFR

63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, as allowed by

60.37f(a)(1) through (a)(3).

15A NCAC 02D .1705, .1706 and .1707, shall

(m) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill reporting leachate

keep records of the date upon which the owner

or other liquids addition pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1708(k)

or operator started complying with the

shall keep records of any engineering calculations or company

provisions in 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and

records used to estimate the quantities or leachate or liguids

63.1961, and shall keep records according to 40

added, the surface areas for which the leachate or liquids were

CFR 63.1983(e)(1) through (e)(5) in lieu of

applied, and the estimates of annual waste acceptance or total

Subparagraphs  (2) through (4) of this

waste in place in the areas where leachate or liguids were applied.

Paragraph;
(2) records of emissions from the collection and
control system exceeding the operational

standards pursuant to 40 CFR 60.34f, including
the reading in the subsequent month whether or
not the second reading is an exceedance, and
the location of each exceedance;

3) records of each wellhead temperature
monitoring value of 55 degrees Celsius (131
degrees Fahrenheit) or above, each well head
nitrogen level at or above 20 percent, and each
wellhead oxygen level at or above five percent;
and

“4) records for any root cause analysis as provided
in 40 CFR 60.39f(e)(3) through (e)(5).

{H-The-owneroroperatorof-MSWHandfillsubjectto I5A-NCAC

(i)_The owner or operator of a MSW landfill who converts design

capacity from volume to mass or mass to volume to demonstrate
that landfill design capacity is less than 2.5 million megagrams or
2.5 million cubic meters, as provided in the definition of "design
capacity", shall keep readily accessible, on-site records of the
annual recalculation of site specific density, design capacity, and
the supporting documentation. Off-site _records may be
maintained if they are retrievable within four hours. Either paper
copy or electronic formats are acceptable.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 143-215.66; 143-
215.107(a)(4), 143-215.107(a)(5), 143-215.107(a)(10).

15A NCAC 02D .1710 COMPLIANCE SCHEDULES

For each existing MSW landfill subject to this Section as specified
in 15A NCAC 02D .1702 and meeting the design capacity
condition of 15A NCAC 02D 17#03{a)}1) .1703(a) whose NMOC
emission rate is less than 55-tens 34 megagrams per year on or
after July-1,1998. the most recent effective date of this Rule,
shall:

@ submit a site-specific design plan for the gas
collection and control system to the Director
within 12 months of first exceeding the NMOC
emission rate of 55-tens 34 megagrams per
year; year and 50 megagrams per year for the
closed landfill subcategory; and

2 plan, award contracts, and install MSW landfill
air emission collection and control system
capable of meeting the emission standards
established pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1703
within 30 months of the date when the
conditions in 15A NCAC 02D .1703

{a){2)(a)(3) are met.
143-215.3(a)(1);

Authority G.S.
215.107(a)(5).

143-215.107(a)(4); 143-

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 10 - BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC
EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Chiropractic Examiners intends to amend the rule cited
as 21 NCAC 10 .0207.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.nhcchiroboard.com
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Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: March 2, 2021

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location:

Join Zoom Meeting:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81944336223?pwd=U1VFb1VUOTkv
bWpTUENISIJ3b21Wdz09

Meeting ID: 819 4433 6223; Passcode: 812544

Reason for Proposed Action: To streamline the approval
process for continuing education seminars.

Comments may be submitted to: Dr. Joe Siragusa, NC State
Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 9121 Anson Way, Suite 200,
Raleigh, NC 27615

Comment period ends: April 16, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHIROPRACTIC

21 NCAC 10 .0207
SEMINARS

(@ Approval of Seminars. Only continuing education seminars
approved by the Board shall count towards satisfying the
requirements for license renewal. The sponsor and co-sponsors of
any proposed seminar shall be responsible for submitting all the
information outlined on the Board's Course Application
"Application") to enable the Board to evaluate the seminar in
accordance with this Rule. The Beard's-Ceurse Application can
be found en; on and must be submitted wia; pursuant to

instructions on the Board's website at https:#nechiroboard-com;
containing-the-folewing-infermation: https://ncchiroboard.com.

CONTINUING EDUCATION

All applications must reflect that the seminar for which approval
is being sought has been previously approved no more than 12
months prior to the date of the seminar by one of the following
€8} Any chiropractic college recognized by the

Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE):

2) Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards,
PACE program; or

3) Any other chiropractic association that can
demonstrate an active membership base of at
least 200 members.

(b) In addition to the information set forth in Paragraph (a) of this
Rule, all Applications must also contain the following
information:

1) Whether the course's target audience is doctors
of chiropractic, certified chiropractic assistants,
or x-ray technicians;

2 The course title;

3 The beginning and end dates on which the
course will be offered;

4) Whether the course will be offered online or in
a physical location;

5) If the course is offered in a physical location,
the cities and states in which the course will be
offered,

(6) The manner in which the sponsor or co-sponsor
will verify the attendance of licentiates;

@) The name and contact information of the
sponsor and co-Sponsor;

8) The website at which information on the course
offering will be available;

9 The number of continuing education credits that
the licentiates can obtain by attending the
course; and

(10) Whether the course will provide doctors of
chiropractic, certified chiropractic assistants, or
x-ray technicians with continuing education
credit toward eligibility for licensure renewal,
certification, or recertification,——and
recertification.

GRS Whether-the-course-has-been-approved-by-the

: 9";'985'5 of-/AApproved Gg.' tauiRg Educatio
(FCLB)-

The Board's-Course Application shall be submitted at least 30

days prior to the date of the proposed seminar. Incomplete

applications will not be processed.

{b)(c) Duration of Approval. A seminar approval issued by the

Board shall expire at the end of the calendar year for which

approved. If the sponsor or co-sponsors of an approved seminar

wish to repeat the seminar on a date beyond the approval period,

a new application shall be submitted to the Board.

{e)(d) Criteria for Approval. The Board's criteria for approving

continuing education seminars is as follows:

@ No practice-building or motivational seminars
shall be approved;
2 No seminar shall be approved that requires

attendees, in order to be able to utilize the
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information presented at the seminar, to
purchase equipment or clinical supplies
available only through the seminar's instructors,
SpPONSOrS Or CO-SPONSOrs;

3) Each seminar subject shall fall within the extent
and limitation of chiropractic licensure in this
State; and

4) Each instructor shall submit-a-eurrictum-vitae
demonstrating demonstrate that he or she has an
educational background in, or professional
experience with, the subject or subjects he or
she is scheduled to teach.

{d)(e) Duties of Seminar Sponsor. Sponsors and co-sponsors of
any approved continuing education seminar shall:

1) Disclose on all brochures and advertising
materials the name and address of each sponsor
and co-sponsor and whether each sponsor and
co-sponsor is a for-profit or not-for-profit
entity;

(2) Be liable for all expenses incurred in holding
the seminar;

3 Give notice to the Board of any material
changes in the seminar, including date,
location, subject matter or instructors; and

(@) Provide an agent at the seminar site who shall:
(A) Monitor and report the attendance of

each person attending the seminar, in
accordance with the method identified
in the Course Application submitted
for the course;

(B) Supervise the agenda and prohibit the
presentation of any subject matter not
approved by the Board; and

© Complete and submit to the Board a
post-seminar review summarizing any
problems experienced and any
variance between the application for
approval and the seminar as presented.

{e)(f) Sanction for Non-Compliance. By applying for seminar
approval, each sponsor and co-sponsor agrees to admit to the
seminar at no charge a representative of the Board for the purpose
of observing compliance with this Rule. If the Board determines
that a sponsor or co-sponsor has falsified the application for
approval, has failed to keep attendance, has allowed the seminar
as presented to vary from the agenda as set forth in the application,
or has failed to adhere to any other provision of this Rule, the
Board shall refuse to approve future seminar applications from the
offending sponsor or co-sponsor or from any principal who is a
partner or shareholder in the offending sponsor or co-sponsor.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-155; 90-143.2; 90-143.4.

R i i S S i I A A I I

CHAPTER 12 — LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL
CONTRACTORS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Licensing Board for General Contractors intends to adopt the
rule cited as 21 NCAC 12A .0212.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.nhclbgc.org

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: March 31, 2021

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/375769485

You can also dial in using your phone: +1 (872) 240-3212, access
code: 375-769-485

Reason for Proposed Action: To provide guidance to licensees
regarding obtaining building permits and inspections.

Comments may be submitted to: C. Frank Wiesner, NC
Licensing Board for General Contractors, 5400 Creedmoor
Road, Raleigh, NC 27612

Comment period ends: April 16, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 12A - GENERAL PROVISIONS

SECTION .0200 - LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
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21 NCAC 12A .0212 PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS
(a) A licensee shall obtain all necessary building permits from the
local Code Enforcement Agency before commencing any work
for_which a building permit is required. After obtaining the
necessary building permits, a licensee shall obtain all required
inspections _and for assuring that all required inspections are
passed by the local Code Enforcement Official or a designee.
Absent a written acknowledgement by a local Code Enforcement
Official, a licensee shall not be relieved of his, her, or its
responsibility to complete all required inspections until a
certificate of compliance or the equivalent is obtained from the
local Code Enforcement Agency.
(b) A licensee shall not allow a building permit to be obtained or
allow his, her, or its license number to appear on a building permit
application unless:

Q) the licensee is the owner of the property; or

(2) the licensee has an agreement with the property

owner_or_his/her _designee to perform work
described in the building permit.

(c) Failure to comply with this Rule shall constitute misconduct
as described in G.S. 87-11.

Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-11; 87-14; 160A-417; 160D-1110.

R I i S S e S R G I I S O

CHAPTER 25 - INTERPRETER AND
TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board intends to amend
the rule cited as 21 NCAC 25 .0501.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncitlb.org

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2021

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Send an email
requesting a public hearing to the NCITLB's Board Counsel at
jgreen@ncdoj.gov

Reason for Proposed Action: On March 10, 2020, the Governor
of North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared
a state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact
protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.
Since that time, the Governor has issued additional Executive
Orders prohibiting or limiting, and also discouraging, in-person
gatherings to prevent the spread of COVID-19. COVID-19 is a
respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death. The
COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily
from person to person. Once an outbreak of the COVID-19
begins, it is difficult to contain. The World Health Organization,
the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United
States Department of Health and Human Services have declared
COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency. In fact, many
counties in North Carolina are now in the "Critical category for
community spread, with many others in the "Substantial” category

for community spread. In compliance with the Governor's
Executive Orders, the NCITLB seeks to lift the in-person
continuing education requirements solely for the 2020-21, 2021-
22, 2022-23, and 2023-24 licensure years and allow licensees to
take all of their continuing education requirements virtually or
otherwise online.

Comments may be submitted to: Caitlin Schwab-Falzone,
Board Administrator, North Carolina Interpreters and
Transliterators Licensing Board, PO Box 98328, Raleigh, NC
27624; phone 919-779-5709; email NCITLB@caphill.com

Comment period ends: April 16, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SECTION .0500 — CONTINUING EDUCATION

21 NCAC 25 .0501
REQUIREMENTS
(a) A licensee shall earn at least two continuing education units
("CEUSs") each licensure year. At least 1.0 of those CEUs shall be
earned in professional studies and at least 1.0 of those CEUs shall
be earned in a setting in which three or more persons come
together at the same location at the same time as a group to listen
to a lecture, to view a demonstration, to participate in group
discussions, or to learn through any combination of these or
similar activities.

(b) A licensee may carry over up to two surplus CEUs earned in
one licensure year to the next licensure year to meet the
requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The licensee shall
demonstrate that he or she earned the CEU credits sought to be
carried over in the licensee's license renewal application packet
submitted for the carry over year in order to receive credit
therefore. Except as specifically provided hereby, surplus CEUs

CONTINUING EDUCATION
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shall only be carried forward from the licensure year in which they
were earned to the next subsequent licensure year and not beyond.
(c) A licensee may not earn CEUs while interpreting, whether or
not the licensee is compensated for his or her services.

(d) The Board shall waive the continuing education requirements
in this Section for any individual who is currently licensed by and
in good standing with the Board if the individual is serving in the
armed forces of the United States and if G.S. 105-249.2 grants the
individual an extension of time to file a tax return. The waiver
shall be in effect for any period that is disregarded under Section
7508 of the Internal Revenue Code in determining the taxpayer's
liability for a federal tax.

(e) For the 2020-21, 2021-22, 2022-23, and 2023-24 licensure
years only, the Board waives the in-person course requirements
of Paragraph (a) and licensees may take all of their CEUs for those
licensure years electronically. However, this waiver shall not
apply to any surplus CEUs earned during the 2023-24 licensure
year and sought by the licensee to be carried over to the 2024-25

licensure year.

Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-8; 90D-11; 93B-15.

R I i S S e I A I I S

CHAPTER 61 - RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Respiratory Care Board intends to adopt the rule cited as 21
NCAC 61 .0901.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncrch.org

Proposed Effective Date: June 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: March 4, 2021

Time: 9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m.

Location: 125 Edinburgh South Drive, Suite 100, Cary, NC
27511

Reason for Proposed Action: A serious and unforeseen threat
to the public health, safety or welfare. On March 10, 2020, the
Governor of North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116,
declared a state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact
protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The
COVID-19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious
illness or death. The COVID-19, previously unidentified in
humans, spreads easily from person to person. Once an outbreak
of the COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The World
Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and
Prevention, and the United States Department of Health and
Humans Services have declared COVID-19 a public health threat
and emergency. This National Emergency Response is to ensure
respiratory care practitioners can be licensed without any delay
as the pandemic continues. In addition, this adoption will allow
the Board to address future threats with greater speed by having
the ability to waive these rules.

Comments may be submitted to: William Croft, Ed.D., Ph.D.,
RRT, RCP, 125 Edinburgh South Drive, Suite 100, Cary, NC
27511; phone (919) 878-5595; fax (919) 878-5565; email
beroft@ncrcb.org

Comment period ends: April 16, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SECTION .0900 - NATIONAL EMERGENCY RESPONSE
WAIVERS FOR CERTAIN RULES

21 NCAC 61 .0901

In-lightof-the-State-of-National-Emergency-declared-by-President
Frump-asa-resultof the COVAID-19 Virus; (a) If the Governor
declares a state of emergency issued under G.S. 166A-19.3(19),

the Board has-determined-to may waive at its discretion certain
the following provisions in its rles-as-setforth-inthis-Rule: rules:

1) Fhe-Board-shallwaive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0201(a)(4)
that requires each applicant for an initial license
to provide a copy of current certification in
Basic Life Support (BLS);

2 Fhe-Board-shalwaive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0201(b)(1)
that states that for applicants who have not
practiced respiratory care for a period of time
greater than one year, but less than five years,
the applicant must provide evidence of twelve
hours of continuing education, that meet the
requirements of 21 NCAC 61 .0401, for each
full year of inactivity;

3 Fhe Board-shallwaive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0204(a)(4)
that requires following the late renewal of any

RULE WAIVERS
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(4)

()

(6)

(")

license, an additional late fee of seventy-five
dollars ($75.00);

TFhe Board-shallwaive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0302(c) that
requires each applicant for renewal to provide
proof of completion of continuing education
requirements as established in this Chapter;
Fhe Beard-shall-waive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0302(e) that
requires each applicant for renewal to provide a
copy of current certification in Basic Life
Support (BLS);

TFhe Board-shalwaive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61.0302(f) that
requires licenses lapsed in excess of 24 months
shall not be renewable;

Fhe Beard-shall-waive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0305(b) that
requires an individual licensed on inactive
status to convert his or her license to active
status by payment of the renewal fee and late
fee and provide evidence of the completion of a
minimum of 12 hours of continuing education

®)

©)

(10)

that meets the requirements of 21 NCAC 61
.0401 for each full year of inactivity;

TFhe Board-shallwaive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0401(a) for
continuing education requirements, and shall
renew licenses without compliance with this
provision;

Fhe Board-shall- waive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0401(e) that
requires a licensee to be subjected to a random
audit for proof of compliance with the Board's
requirements for continuing education; and
TFhe Board-shall-waive-the The requirement for
licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0401(f) that
requires continuing education audits be
submitted to the Board no later than 30 days of
receipt of the audit notice.

(b) The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply during the

effective period of the state of emergency.

Authority G.S. 90-652(1); 90-652(2); 90-652(9); 90-652(11);

90-652(13).
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TEMPORARY RULES

the Rules Review Commission by the 270" day.

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements.

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the
Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative
Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270" day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-21.1

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Rule-making Agency: Industrial Commission
Rule Citation: 11 NCAC 23E .0302
Effective Date: January 29, 2021

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: January 21,
2021

Reason for Action: Adhering to the notice and hearing
requirements of G.S. 150B-21.2 would result in a long period of
time where the regulated parties would be required by the
Commission's rules, and by other rules that apply to cases withing
the Commission's jurisdiction, to engage in activities involving in-
person contacts that put them at risk for contracting or spreading
the COVID-19 virus, even when the rule requirements are not in
conformity with an emergency Order or directive of the Chief
Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court that is in effect.
Adhering to the notice and hearing requirements of G.S. 150B-
21.2 also would result in a long period of time where the
Commission's rule requirements regarding affidavits and other
sworn statements are not in conformity with the December 14,
2020 Order of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme
Court Extending Emergency Directives, specifically Emergency
Directive 5, and/or are not in conformity with future Orders of the
Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court regarding
affidavits and other sworn statements.

CHAPTER 23 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 23E — ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF
THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

SECTION .0300 - RULES OF THE COMMISSION

11 NCAC 23E .0302 EMERGENCY ORDERS AND
DIRECTIVES OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE NORTH
CAROLINA SUPREME COURT

(a) This Rule applies to all matters within the authority and
jurisdiction of the Commission and to all Subchapters of the
Commission's rules.

(b) In the interests of justice or to protect the public health or
safety, the Commission may waive or modify any portion of its
rules in order to bring them in conformity with an emergency
Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina
Supreme Court that is in effect. The Commission shall consider
the following factors in determining whether to grant the waiver
or modification:

(€] the necessity of waiving or modifying the rule;
and
(2) the impact of waiving or modifying the rule on

the regulated parties and on the Commission.

If the Commission waives or modifies a rule to bring the rule in
conformity with any emergency Order or directive of the Chief
Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, the Commission
shall post a notice of the waiver or modification of the rule on its
website unless the waiver or modification is case-specific and not
generally applicable to the regulated public.

(c) During any period that an emergency Order or directive of the
Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court authorizes the
taking of oaths and verifications outside the presence of a notary
public, the Commission shall accept any pleading, motion,
petition, supporting affidavit, or other document with an
affirmation or representation not attested to before a notary public
so long as the subscriber affirms the truth of the matter to be
verified by an affirmation or representation in substantially the
same language as that allowed by the emergency Order or
directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme
Court.

Authority G.S. 97-80; 130A-425(d); 143-166.4; 143-296; 143-
300;

Emergency Adoption Eff. November 6, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 29, 2021.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission January 21, 2021 at 1711 New Hope
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting.
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair)
Margaret Currin Paul Powell
Jeff Hyde Randy Overton
Vacant Vacant

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936

Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939
Ashley Snyder 984-236-1941
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
February 18, 2021 March 18, 2021
April 15, 2021 May 20, 2021

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
MINUTES
January 21, 2021

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, January 21, 2021 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting to ensure compliance with
Executive Orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting was conducted in accordance
with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.

Commissioners present via WebEx were Bobby Bryan, Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran,
Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell.

Staff member Alex Burgos was present in the Commission room. Commission Counsel Amber May, Amanda Reeder, and
Ashley Snyder were present via WebEx.

The meeting was called to order at 9:01 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

Chair Doran recognized Amy Mull and welcomed her to the meeting. Amy Mull is a 3L at UNC School of Law and is an
Extern with the Office of Administrative Hearings.

Chair Doran memorialized Commissioner Dunklin’s recent passing. She informed the Commission staff was working with
the Speaker’s Office to send Commissioner Dunklin’s family a tribute to honor his service to the State. Following the
meeting, the Speaker’s Office confirmed they will send a North Carolina flag and certificate in recognition of Commissioner
Dunklin’s service to the State.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the December 17, 2020 meeting.
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed.

35:16 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 15, 2021
1815
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Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell — 7. Voting in
the negative: None.

The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following item on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of
the agenda: Follow-up matter for the State Board of Education Tab C.

FOLLOW UP MATTERS

Board of Agriculture

02 NCAC 61 .0112 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in
the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell
— 7. Voting in the negative: None.

Environmental Management Commission

15A NCAC 02] .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0203, .0301, .0302, .0402, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0601,
.0602, and .0603 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in
the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell
— 7. Voting in the negative: None.

State Board of Education

16 NCAC 06B .0114 - Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to the rewritten rule in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.9 for lack of statutory authority by roll-call vote, ayes 5, noes 3 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins,
Bobby Bryan, Anna Choi, Jeanette Doran, and Jeff Hyde — 5. Voting in the negative: Margaret Currin, Randy Overton, and
Paul Powell - 3.

The Commission found that the rewritten rule exceeds the agency’s statutory authority to regulate a “school transportation
system” by requiring individuals inspecting school buses to obtain a “North Carolina School Bus Inspection Certification.”
The governing standards set in the statutes listed in the rule’s history note relate to school bus safety as it pertains to
equipment and mechanical maintenance of school buses, not to the individuals conducting the inspections. G.S. 115C-
240(c) discusses the following: “construction, equipment, color, and maintenance of school buses”; fuel requirements; and
“adequate heating facilities, a standard signaling device..., an alternating flashing stoplight... and such other warning
devices, fire protective equipment and first aid supplies as may be prescribed....” The rewritten rule governs the inspectors
and does not address the specific safety criteria that will be used in the inspection.

G.S. 115C-248(a) states “the superintendent of each local school administrative unit, shall cause each school bus owned
or operated by such local school administrative unit to be inspected at least once each 30 days during the school year...”
In other words, the statute gives control of the act of conducting the inspection to the local superintendent.

The history note lists no authority allowing State Board of Education to govern individual inspectors. The rewritten rule
establishes a new Certificate created and issued by the agency. To obtain a Certificate, the rule requires individuals to take
a course and pass a test, both administered by the agency. The rule further provides how DPI can revoke this Certificate.
The Commission is not aware of any other similar certificate created by an agency in rule instead of through statute absent
express statutory authority. Therefore, the Commission objected for lack of statutory authority.

Tom Ziko, General Counsel with the agency, addressed the Commission.

State Board of Education

16 NCAC 06D .0307, .0308, .0311; 06E .0204, .0206; and 06G .0508 - The agency is in the process of repealing companion
rules for 16 NCAC 06D .0307, .0308, .0311; 06E .0204, and .0206. In November, the Commission determined the rewritten
version of 16 NCAC 06G .0508 met the Commission’s objections but the changes were substantial, and the agency would
need to re-publish the rule. No action was required by the Commission.

State Board of Education

16 NCAC 06D .0309 - The Rule received over 10 letters of objection and will be subject to legislative review and a delayed
effective date upon approval in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3. The agency is in the process of repealing a companion
rule for 16 NCAC 06D .0309. No action was required by the Commission.
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Department of Transportation
19A NCAC 02E .0204, .0206, and .0225 - The agency is addressing the objections from the December meeting. No action
was required by the Commission.

LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)

Child Care Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell — 7. Voting in
the negative: None.

DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell — 7. Voting in
the negative: None.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

14B NCAC 15A - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in
the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell
— 7. Voting in the negative: None.

Prior to the review of Rules 14B NCAC 15C .0602 and .0607 from the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission,
Commissioner Powell recused himself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning these rules because of
a conflict with existing business relationship.

14B NCAC 15C .0602 and .0607- Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, and Randy
Overton — 6. Voting in the negative: None.

The Commission received over 10 letters of objection to 14B NCAC 15C .0602 and .0607. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3, the
rules are subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date.

Department of Public Safety

Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell —
7. Voting in the negative: None.

Wildlife Resources Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell — 7. Voting in
the negative: None.

Marine Fisheries Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell — 7. Voting in
the negative: None.

Department of The Secretary of State
18 NCAC 06A .2120 — Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul
Powell — 7. Voting in the negative: None.

Board of Barber Examiners
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Barber Examiners, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not
participate in any discussion or vote concerning these rules because her law firm provides legal representation to the Board.

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell — 6. Voting in the negative: None.

35:16 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 15, 2021
1817




RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

Medical Board
Prior to the review of the rule from the Medical Board, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did not participate in any
discussion or vote concerning the rule because of a conflict.

21 NCAC 32S .0212 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting
in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell — 6. Voting
in the negative: None.

Board of Pharmacy

21 NCAC 46 .1819 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in
the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell
— 7. Voting in the negative: None.

LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES)

Industrial Commission

11 NCAC 23E .0302 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul
Powell — 7. Voting in the negative: None.

2021 STATE MEDICAL FACILITIES PLAN
The Commission found that the Department of Health and Human Services and the State Health Coordinating Council
complied with G.S. 131E-176(25) in the adoption of the 2021 Plan.

Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission approved compliance with G.S. 131E-176(25) by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0
as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy
Overton, and Paul Powell — 7. Voting in the negative: None.

COMMISSION BUSINESS
The Commission conducted a review of comments submitted for the Style Guide. The Commission agreed to share the
comments with Judge Mann and Gerry Cohen, a primary drafter of the current Style Guide, for their review.

The meeting adjourned at 9:44 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, February 18, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Alexander Burgos, Paralegal
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Rules Review Commission Meeting January 21, 2021

Held Via WebEx

Name Agency
Catherine Blum DENR
Erin Bryan-Millush DENR
Amy Mull OAH Extern
Ann Wall SOS
Sherrell Forbes SOS

Lou Martin SBOE
Thomas Ziko SBOE
Carrie Ruhiman WRC
Nadine Pfeiffer DSHR
Gina Cammarano IC

Dedra Alston DHHS
John Green DOJ
Tammy Sylvester DHHS
Amber Davis DOJ
Kiger, Korey NCRMA
Walker Reagan ABC
Kiger, Korey NCRMA
Alison Keisler DHHS
Amy Craddock DHHS
Shannon Jenkins DENR
Nadine Pfeiffer DSHR
Ashley Pekrul WRC
Jennifer Everett DEQ
Daron Barnes WRC
Clint Pinyan Pharmacy
Kevin Harrison SBOE
Betsy Haywood WRC
Martha Frisone DHHS
Korey Kiger NCRMA
Dennis Seavers Barbers Examiners
Ashley Baquero SBOE

Bill Lane DENR
Elizabeth Yelverton NCASA
Grant Simpkins Barbers Examiners
TJ Bugbee NCOAA

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES

January 21, 2021 Meeting

Emergency Orders and Directives of the Chief Justice of t...

11 NCAC 23E .0302
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES

January 21, 2021 Meeting
AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF

Severability 02 NCAC 61 .0112
CHILD CARE COMMISSION

Definitions 10A NCAC 09 .0102
Application for a License for a Child Care Facility 10A NCAC 09 .0302
Temporary Licenses for Centers 10ANCAC 09 .0403
Safe Environment 10A NCAC 09 .0601
Safe Sleep Practices 10A NCAC 09 .0606
Emergency Preparedness and Response in Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .0607
Health Standards for Child Care Providers, Substitute Pro... 10ANCAC 09 .0701
Staff/Child Ratios for Centers 10ANCAC 09 .0713
Application for Enrollment 10A NCAC 09 .0801
Emergency Medical Care 10A NCAC 09 .0802
On-Going Training and Professional Development 10A NCAC 09 .1103
Documentation of On-Going Training and Professional Devel... 10ANCAC 09 .1106
Outdoor Space 10ANCAC 09 .1402
Activities Involving Water in Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .1403
Application for a License for a Family Child Care Home 10A NCAC 09 .1702
On-Going Requirements for Family Child Care Home Operators 10ANCAC 09 .1703
Nutrition Standards 10ANCAC 09 .1706
Building Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .1707
Emergency Preparedness and Response 10ANCAC 09 .1714
Requirements for Daily Operations 10ANCAC 09 .1718
Requirements for Records 10A NCAC 09 .1721
Safe Sleep Practices 10A NCAC 09 .1724
Additional Caregiver and Substitute Provider Qualifications 10ANCAC 09 .1729
Activities Involving Water 10A NCAC 09 .1730
Provisional Child Care Facility License or Provisional No... 10A NCAC 09 .2204
Suspension 10A NCAC 09 .2206
Revocation of a Child Care Facility License or an Order t... 10ANCAC 09 .2209
Child Care Center Records Retention 10A NCAC 09 .2318
Staff Qualifications 10ANCAC 09 .2408
Children's Activities 10A NCAC 09 .2410
Activities: Off-Premises 10A NCAC 09 .2509
Criminal History Record Check Requirements for Child Care... 10A NCAC 09 .2703
Enhanced Space Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .2809
Enhanced Program Standards for Child Care Centers 10ANCAC 09 .2817
Staff Qualifications 10A NCAC 09 .2903
NC Pre-K Teacher Education, Licensure and Credentials 10A NCAC 09 .3012
HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF

Approval 10A NCAC 14E .0105
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Medications and Anesthesia 10A NCAC 14E .0312
Food Service 10A NCAC 14E .0316
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

Direct Shipments 14B NCAC 15A .1304
Transportation Between ABC Boards 14B NCAC 15A .1305
Special Orders 14B NCAC 15A .1403
Antigue Spirituous Liguor Special Orders 14B NCAC 15A .1407
Purchase-Transportation Permits 14B NCAC 15A .1706
Purchase-Transportation Permits for Wine and Liquor 14B NCAC 15A .1801
Distillery Record-Keeping 14B NCAC 15A .2103
Distillery Issued Purchase-Transportation Permits 14B NCAC 15A .2104
Sales and Purchase Restrictions: Records 14B NCAC 15C .0602
Malt Beverage and Wine Shipments to Military Bases 14B NCAC 15C .0607
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

Purpose of this Subchapter 15A NCAC 021 .0101
Definitions 15A NCAC 021 .0102
Delegations 15A NCAC 021 .0103
Authorized Hearing Officers 15A NCAC 021 .0104
Requirements of Hearing Officer or Panel 15A NCAC 021 .0105
Department Hearing Rules 15A NCAC 021 .0106
Procedures 15A NCAC 021 .0203
Opportunity for Hearing 15A NCAC 021 .0301
Request for Hearing 15A NCAC 021 .0302
Water Quality Discharge Permits: Notice: Procedures 15A NCAC 021 .0402
Form and Contents of Petition 15A NCAC 021 .0501
Review by a Committee of the Commission 15A NCAC 021 .0502
Presentation of the Commission 15A NCAC 021 .0503
Recourse to Denial of Petition 15A NCAC 021 .0504
Issuance of Declaratory Ruling 15A NCAC 021 .0601
Procedure for Submission of Petition 15A NCAC 021 .0602
Disposition of Request 15A NCAC 021 .0603
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Sale of Live Foxes and Coyotes to Controlled Fox Hunting ... 15A NCAC 10B .0409
Clay County 15A NCAC 10F .0308
Stanly County 15A NCAC 10F .0317
Burke County 15A NCAC 10F .0323
Definitions and General Requirements 15A NCAC 10H .1201
Establishment and Operation 15A NCAC 10H .1202
Quality of Foxes and Coyotes Released 15A NCAC 10H .1203
Records Required 15A NCAC 10H .1204
Hunting License Required 15A NCAC 10H .1205
Minimum Standards for Care of Foxes and Coyotes 15A NCAC 10H .1206
License Revocation and Enforcement 15A NCAC 10H .1207
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MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .3401
Bacteriological Limits for Swimming Areas 15A NCAC 18A .3402
Public Notice of Increased Health Risks in Swimming Areas 15A NCAC 18A .3403
Swimming Advisories for Point Source Discharges into Swim... 15A NCAC 18A .3404
Rescinding a Pending Swimming Advisory or Swimming Advisory 15A NCAC 18A .3405
Destruction of Signs 15A NCAC 18A .3406
Applicability of Rules 15A NCAC 18A .3407

SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE
Sunset Provision 18 NCAC 06A .2120

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 21 NCAC 06F .0128
Form Bar-1 21 NCAC 06N .0102
Form Bar-10 21 NCAC 06N .0111

MEDICAL BOARD
Prescriptive Authority 21 NCAC 32S .0212

PHARMACY, BOARD OF
COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 46 .1819
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential.
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/
If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge
JULIAN MANN, 11

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter
J. Randall May

David Sutton

Selina Malherbe

J. Randolph Ward
Stacey Bawtinhimer
Tenisha Jacobs
Michael Byrne
Karlene Turrentine

Year | Code Number | Date Petitioner Respondent ALJ
Decision
Filed
Published
20 CPS 03686 12/15/2020 | Travis E Downing NC Department of Public Safety Victim | Malherbe
Services
20 DAG 01477 12/21/2020 | Valley Proteins Inc. NC Department of Agriculture & | May
Consumer Services
20 DHR 01132 12/29/2020 | LaToya Thurston- NC Department of Health and Human | Mann
Griggs Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 DOJ 05333 12/8/2020 Lake Royale North Carolina Department of Justice, | Lassiter
Company  Police Company Police Program
Department Gabriel
Anthony Fanara
19 DOJ 06899 12/1/2020 Gene C Norris 11 North Carolina Department of Justice | Lassiter
Criminal Standards Division
20 DOJ 00152 12/11/2020 | Benjamin Louis NC Criminal Justice Education and | Ward
Zucker Training Standards Commission
20 DOJ 00153 12/3/2020; Za'Mi  Ya'Quawn North  Carolina  Criminal  Justice | Ward
12/10/2020 | Mcduffie Education and Training Standards
Commission
20 DST 01914 12/2/2020 Kimberly — Willis NC Department of State Treasurer, | Lassiter
Beneficiary of Retirement Systems Division
Thomas  Clayton
Willis Il
20 DST 03395 12/10/2020 | Arthur Edwards NC Retirement Systems Division Lassiter
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20 ELS 00859 12/23/2020 | NC  Board  of William J Payer Bawtinhimer
Examiners for
Engineers and
Surveyors
20 OSP 02154 12/23/2020 | Cecil John Russell North Carolina Department of Public | Lassiter
Safety
19 SOS 06543 12/4/2020 Tonya Maggio North Carolina Department of the | Jacobs
Secretary of State
Unpublished
20 CSE 01495 12/10/2020 | Cody Matthew NC Department of Health and Human | May
Brawner Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE 03221 12/16/2020 | Michael Timmons NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE 04076 12/22/2020 | Eric Jackson NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE 04078 12/22/2020 | Eric Jackson NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 DHR 04046 12/10/2020 | Multicultural Office of Administrative Hearings Byrne
Resources Center
NC James W
McGrady Jr.
20 DHR 04228 12/3/2020 Mahmoud Atieh Nutrition Service WIC vender Bawtinhimer
20 DOJ 03803 12/16/2020 | April Latoya NC Criminal Justice Education and | May
Bowden Training Standards Commission
20 EHR 02793 12/4/2020 Regent Manor North Carolina  Department  of | May
Apartments LLC Environmental Quality Michael S Regan
John Nathan Tabor Secretary
manager
Jonathan  Randall Beaufort Community College Lassiter
20 OsP 02923 12/4/2020 Kuhn
20 | OsP 03118 | 12/11/2020 | Mary Cunningham DHHS Byrne
North Carolina  Department  of | Bawtinhimer
20 OSP 03596 12/16/2020 | Dr Melody S Isaak Environmental Quality
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