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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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North Carolina Department of Labor 

Division of Occupational Safety and Health 

1101 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1101 

 

(919) 707-7806 

 

 

 

NOTICE OF VERBATIM ADOPTION OF FEDERAL STANDARDS 

 

 

In consideration of G.S. 150B-21.5(c) the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor hereby gives notice that: 

 

- Rule changes have been submitted to update the North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC 07F .0101 to 

incorporate by reference the occupational safety and health related provisions of Title 29 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations Parts 1910 promulgated as of July 14, 2020, except as specifically described, and  

 

- The North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC 07A .0301 automatically adopts subsequent amendments to 

certain parts of the Code of Federal Regulations.  Title 29, Part 1910—General Industry Standards does not 

automatically include subsequent amendments. 

 

 

This update encompasses the following recent verbatim adoption:  

  

- Occupational Safety and Health Standards, Revising the Beryllium Standard for General Industry, 29 CFR § 1910 

(85 FR 42582, July 14, 2020) 

 

The final rule, published in the Federal Register on July 14, 2020 (85 FR 42582), amends the existing general industry standard for 

occupational exposure to beryllium and beryllium compounds to clarify certain provisions and simplify or improve compliance.  The 

revisions in this final rule are designed to maintain or enhance worker protections overall by ensuring that the rule is well understood 

and compliance is more straightforward.  OSHA’s final rule was effective September 14, 2020. 

 

 

 

For additional information, please contact: 

 

  Bureau of Education, Training and Technical Assistance 

  Occupational Safety and Health Division 

  North Carolina Department of Labor 

  1101 Mail Service Center 

  Raleigh, North Carolina   27699-1101 

 

For additional information regarding North Carolina’s process of adopting federal OSHA Standards verbatim, please contact: 

  

  Jill F. Cramer, Agency Rulemaking Coordinator 

  North Carolina Department of Labor 

Legal Affairs Division 

  1101 Mail Service Center 

  Raleigh, North Carolina   27699-1101 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0305. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 18, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC  27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To add newly required form AOC-

CR-280 to list of background documents required for 

certification. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Diane Konopka, Post Office 

Box 629, Raleigh, NC 27610; email dkonopka@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 5, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0300 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

EMPLOYMENT AND CERTIFICATION AS A JUSTICE 

OFFICER 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0305 BACKGROUND 

INVESTIGATION 

(a)  Prior to the background investigation conducted by the 

employing agency to determine the applicant's suitability to 

perform essential job functions, the applicant shall complete the 

Commission's Personal History Statement (F-3) to provide a basis 

for the investigation. The Personal History Statement (F-3) 

submitted to the Division shall be completed no more than 120 

days prior to the applicant's date of appointment. 

(b)  If the Personal History Statement (F-3) was completed more 

than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the 

Personal History Statement (F-3) shall be updated by the applicant 

who shall initial and date all changes or a new Personal History 

Statement (F-3) must be completed. 

(c)  The employing agency shall ensure the proper dates, 

signatures, and notarizations are affixed to the Personal History 

Statement (F-3); and shall also certify that the results of the 

background investigation are consistent with the information 

provided by the applicant on the Personal History Statement (F-

3), and if not, provide the applicant the opportunity to update the 

F-3 prior to submission to the Division. 

(d)  The employing agency, prior to employment, shall examine 

the applicant's character traits and habits relevant to his/her 

performance as a justice officer and shall determine whether the 

applicant is of good moral character as defined in Rule 

.0301(a)(8). The investigator shall summarize the results of the 

investigation on the Commission-mandated Background 

Investigation Form (F-8) which shall be signed and dated by the 

investigator. 

(e)  The Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall include 

records checks from: 

(1) a state-wide search of the Administrative Office 

of the Courts (AOC) computerized system; 

(2) the national criminal record database accessible 

through the Division of Criminal Information 

(DCI) network; 

(3) the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, 

if the applicant has ever possessed a driver's 

license issued in North Carolina; and 

(4) out-of-state motor vehicles check obtained 

through the Division of Criminal Information or 

obtained through the any other state's Division 
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of Motor Vehicles if the applicant held a license 

in that State(s) within the 10 year period prior 

to the date of appointment. 

(f)  The Background Investigation must also include records 

checks from jurisdictions in which the applicant resided within 

the 10 year period prior to the date of appointment and where the 

applicant attended high school, as follows: 

(1) Where the applicant resided in jurisdictions in 

North Carolina, Clerk of Court records checks 

are acceptable; 

(2) Where the applicant resided in another country, 

an Interpol records check is acceptable 

provided the country is a member of Interpol; 

or if the applicant was in the United States 

military, a military records check is acceptable; 

or if neither, efforts shall be made and 

documented to attempt to obtain a records 

check from the country and submitted if 

available; and 

(3) Where the applicant resided in a State other 

than North Carolina, a records check through 

the Division of Criminal Information using the 

IQ inquiry is acceptable provided the State will 

respond to that type of inquiry; or if not, then 

either a records check response from both the 

municipality, city or town where the applicant 

resided and the county-wide Sheriff's Office or 

Police Department obtained through traditional 

correspondence; or a records check from the 

appropriate county-wide or state-wide record 

holding agency is acceptable. 

(g)  If the applicant had prior military service, the Background 

Investigation must also include a copy of the applicant's DD214 

which shows the characterization of discharge for each discharge 

which occurred and military discipline received, if any. If the 

DD214 indicates a discharge characterization of any type other 

than Honorable, then a military records check is also required. 

(h)  All records checks shall be performed on each name by which 

the applicant for certification has ever been known since the age 

of 12. If the applicant has had an official name change which 

occurred after the applicant had reached the age of 12 years of 

age, then documentation of that name change is required. 

(i)  The employing agency shall forward to the Division certified 

copies of any criminal charge(s) and disposition(s) known to the 

agency or listed on the applicant's Personal History Statement (F-

3). The employing agency shall explain to the satisfaction of 

Division staff that charges or other violations which may result 

from the records checks required in Paragraph (e) of this Section 

do not pertain to the applicant for certification. This 

documentation shall be included with all other documentation 

required in 12 NCAC 10B .0408. 

(j)  The employing agency shall include a signed and notarized 

Release Authorization Form which authorizes the Division staff 

to obtain documents and records pertaining to the applicant for 

certification which may be required in order to determine whether 

certification may be granted. 

(k)  The employing agency shall provide the results of a 

completed and processed form AOC-CR-280, Law Enforcement 

Application for Verification of Expunction under G.S. 15A-145.4, 

G.S. 15A-145.5, G.S. 15A-145.6, G.S. 15A-145.8A or G.S.15A-

146, for each applicant presented for certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on December 17, 2020 Meeting. 
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Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .3901 35:02 NCR 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .3903 35:02 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Training and Technical Assistance 10A NCAC 41C .0304 35:05 NCR 

General 10A NCAC 41C .0601* 35:05 NCR 

Accreditation 10A NCAC 41C .0602* 35:05 NCR 

Training Course Instructor Qualifications 10A NCAC 41C .0608* 35:05 NCR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Investigation of Violation of Rules 12 NCAC 09A .0201* 35:06 NCR 

Responsibilities of the School Director 12 NCAC 09B .0202* 35:06 NCR 

Specialized Firearms Instruction Training 12 NCAC 09B .0226* 35:06 NCR 

Specialized Driver Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09B .0227 35:06 NCR 

Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor ... 12 NCAC 09B .0232* 35:06 NCR 

Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09B .0233* 35:06 NCR 

Certification of Diversion Investigator and Supervisors 12 NCAC 09B .0314 35:06 NCR 

Satisfaction of Training - SMI Operators 12 NCAC 09B .0409* 35:06NCR 

Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor... 12 NCAC 09B .0417* 35:06 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Purpose and Scope 15A NCAC 02J .0101 35:02 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02J .0102 35:02 NCR 

Who May Assess 15A NCAC 02J .0103 35:02 NCR 

When Assessable 15A NCAC 02J .0104 35:02 NCR 

Standards 15A NCAC 02J .0106 35:02 NCR 

Proposed Assessment: Assessment: Modification 15A NCAC 02J .0107 35:02 NCR 

Payment: Hearing: Remission/Mitigation 15A NCAC 02J .0108 35:02 NCR 

Tenders of Payment: Remission/Mitigation: Hearing Request 15A NCAC 02J .0109 35:02 NCR 

Referral 15A NCAC 02J .0110 35:02 NCR 

Reports to the Commission 15A NCAC 02J .0111 35:02 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02N .0201* 35:04 NCR 

Installation Requirements for Partially Excluded UST Systems 15A NCAC 02N .0202* 35:04 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02N .0203* 35:04 NCR 

Performance Standards for UST System Installations or Rep... 15A NCAC 02N .0301* 35:04 NCR 
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Upgrading of Existing UST Systems After December 22, 1988... 15A NCAC 02N .0302* 35:04 NCR 

Notification Requirements 15A NCAC 02N .0303* 35:04 NCR 

Implementation Schedule for Performance Standards for New... 15A NCAC 02N .0304* 35:04 NCR 

Spill and Overfill Control 15A NCAC 02N .0401* 35:04 NCR 

Operation and Maintenance of Corrosion Protection 15A NCAC 02N .0402* 35:04 NCR 

Compatibility 15A NCAC 02N .0403* 35:04 NCR 

Repairs Allowed 15A NCAC 02N .0404* 35:04 NCR 

Reporting and Recordkeeping 15A NCAC 02N .0405* 35:04 NCR 

Periodic Testing of Spill Prevention Equipment and Contai... 15A NCAC 02N .0406* 35:04 NCR 

General Requirements for All UST Systems 15A NCAC 02N .0501* 35:04 NCR 

Requirements for Petroleum UST Systems 15A NCAC 02N .0502* 35:04 NCR 

Requirements for Hazardous Substance UST Systems 15A NCAC 02N .0503* 35:04 NCR 

Methods of Release Detection for Tanks 15A NCAC 02N .0504* 35:04 NCR 

Methods of Release Detection for Piping 15A NCAC 02N .0505* 35:04 NCR 

Release Detection Recordkeeping 15A NCAC 02N .0506* 35:04 NCR 

Reporting of Suspected Releases 15A NCAC 02N .0601* 35:04 NCR 

Investigation Due to Off-Site Impacts 15A NCAC 02N .0602* 35:04 NCR 

Release Investigation and Confirmation Steps 15A NCAC 02N .0603* 35:04 NCR 

Reporting and Cleanup of Spills and Overfills 15A NCAC 02N .0604* 35:04 NCR 

General 15A NCAC 02N .0701* 35:04 NCR 

Initial Response 15A NCAC 02N .0702* 35:04 NCR 

Initial Abatement Measures and Site Check 15A NCAC 02N .0703* 35:04 NCR 

Initial Site Characterization 15A NCAC 02N .0704* 35:04 NCR 

Free Product Removal 15A NCAC 02N .0705* 35:04 NCR 

Investigations for Soil and Groundwater Cleanup 15A NCAC 02N .0706* 35:04 NCR 

Corrective Action Plan 15A NCAC 02N .0707* 35:04 NCR 

Public Participation 15A NCAC 02N .0708* 35:04 NCR 

Temporary Closure 15A NCAC 02N .0801* 35:04 NCR 

Permanent Closure and Changes-In-Service 15A NCAC 02N .0802* 35:04 NCR 

Assessing the Site at Closure or Change-In-Service 15A NCAC 02N .0803* 35:04 NCR 

Applicability to Previously Closed UST Systems 15A NCAC 02N .0804* 35:04 NCR 

Closure Records 15A NCAC 02N .0805* 35:04 NCR 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 02N .0901* 35:04 NCR 

Notification 15A NCAC 02N .0902 35:04 NCR 

Tanks 15A NCAC 02N .0903* 35:04 NCR 

Piping 15A NCAC 02N .0904* 35:04 NCR 

Containment Sumps 15A NCAC 02N .0905* 35:04 NCR 

Spill Buckets 15A NCAC 02N .0906 35:04 NCR 

National Codes of Practice and Industry Standards 15A NCAC 02N .0907* 35:04 NCR 

General 15A NCAC 02O .0101* 35:04 NCR 

Financial Responsibility 15A NCAC 02O .0102* 35:04 NCR 

Substituted Sections 15A NCAC 02O .0103 35:04 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02O .0201 35:04 NCR 

Compliance Dates 15A NCAC 02O .0202 35:04 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02O .0203* 35:04 NCR 

Amount and Scope of Required Financial Responsibility 15A NCAC 02O .0204* 35:04 NCR 

Allowable Mechanisms and Combinations of Mechanisms 15A NCAC 02O .0301 35:04 NCR 
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Self Insurance 15A NCAC 02O .0302* 35:04 NCR 

Guarantee 15A NCAC 02O .0303 35:04 NCR 

Insurance and Risk Retention Group Coverage 15A NCAC 02O .0304 35:04 NCR 

Surety Bond 15A NCAC 02O .0305 35:04 NCR 

Letter of Credit 15A NCAC 02O .0306 35:04 NCR 

Standby Trust Fund 15A NCAC 02O .0307 35:04 NCR 

Insurance Pools 15A NCAC 02O .0308* 35:04 NCR 

Local Government Bond Rating Test 15A NCAC 02O .0311 35:04 NCR 

Local Government Financial Test 15A NCAC 02O .0312 35:04 NCR 

Local Government Guarantee 15A NCAC 02O .0313 35:04 NCR 

Local Government Fund 15A NCAC 02O .0314 35:4 NCR 

Substitution of Financial Assurance Mechanisms 15A NCAC 02O .0315 35:4 NCR 

Cancellation or Renewal by a Provider of Assurance 15A NCAC 02O .0316 35:4 NCR 

Reporting by Owner or Operator 15A NCAC 02O .0401 35:4 NCR 

Record Keeping 15A NCAC 02O .0402 35:4 NCR 

Drawing on Financial Assurance Mechanisms 15A NCAC 02O .0501 35:4 NCR 

Release from the Requirements 15A NCAC 02O .0502 35:4 NCR 

Capacity of Owner or Operator or Provider of Assurance 15A NCAC 02O .0503* 35:4 NCR 

Replenishment 15A NCAC 02O .0504 35:4 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .0101* 35:04 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 13B .0102* 35:04 NCR 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .0103* 35:04 NCR 

Solid Waste Storage 15A NCAC 13B .0104* 35:04 NCR 

Collection and Transportation of Solid Waste 15A NCAC 13B .0105 35:04 NCR 

Generator of Solid Waste 15A NCAC 13B .0106 35:04 NCR 

Permit Required 15A NCAC 13B .0201* 35:04 NCR 

Permit Application 15A NCAC 13B .0202* 35:04 NCR 

Permit Approval or Denial 15A NCAC 13B .0203* 35:04 NCR 

Recordation of Land Disposal Permits 15A NCAC 13B .0204 35:04 NCR 

Life-of-Site Permit Issued for a Sanitary Landfill or Tra... 15A NCAC 13B .0207 35:04 NCR 

Permit Exemptions 15A NCAC 13B .0208* 35:04 NCR 

Siting and Application Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .0301* 35:04 NCR 

Operational and Closure Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .0302* 35:04 NCR 

Purpose and Applicability 15A NCAC 13B .0401* 35:04 NCR 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .0402* 35:04 NCR 

Siting and Design Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .0403* 35:04 NCR 

Application Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .0404* 35:04 NCR 

Operational Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .0405* 35:04 NCR 

Closure Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .0406* 35:04 NCR 

Approved Disposal Methods 15A NCAC 13B .0501 35:04 NCR 

Open Dumps 15A NCAC 13B .0502 35:04 NCR 

Siting And Design Requirements for Industrial Sold Waste ... 15A NCAC 13B .0503* 35:04 NCR 

Application Requirements for Industrial Solid Waste Landf... 15A NCAC 13B .0504* 35:04 NCR 

Operational and Closure Requirements for Industrial Solid... 15A NCAC 13B .0505* 35:04 NCR 

Siting and Application Requirements for Incinerators 15A NCAC 13B .0508* 35:04 NCR 

Operational and Closure Requirements for Incinerators 15A NCAC 13B .0509* 35:04 NCR 

Post-Closure Care Requirement for Closed C&DLF and… 15A NCAC 13B .0510 35:04NCR 
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Beneficial Fill 15A  NCAC 13B .0562 35:04NCR 

General Requirements for LICDLFS 15A NCAC 13B .0563* 35:04 NCR 

Siting Criteria for LCIDLFs 15A NCAC 13B .0564* 35:04 NCR 

Application Requirements for LCIDLFs 15A NCAC 13B .0565* 35:04 NCR 

Operational Requirements for LCIDLFs 15A NCAC 13B .0566* 35:04 NCR 

Closure and Post-Closure Care Requirements for LCIDLFs 15A NCAC 13B .0567* 35:04 NCR 

Groundwater Monitoring 15A NCAC 13B .0601* 35:04 NCR 

Surface Water Monitoring 15A NCAC 13B .0602* 35:04 NCR 

Administrative Penalties 15A NCAC 13B .0701 35:04 NCR 

Standards 15A NCAC 13B .0702 35:04 NCR 

Procedure for Assessment: Revocation of Permit 15A NCAC 13B .0703 35:04 NCR 

Payments: Hearing 15A NCAC 13B .0704 35:04 NCR 

Stay of Penalty Assessment 15A NCAC 13B .0705 35:04 NCR 

Waiver of Administrative Hearing 15A NCAC 13B .0706 35:04 NCR 

Manner of Disposition of Fetal Remains 15A NCAC 13B .1301 35:04 NCR 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Textbook Publishers Registry 16 NCAC 06D .0212* 34:13 NCR 

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Government Attorneys-at-Law and Other Professionals Exemp... 17 NCAC 04B .0612 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Installment Paper Dealer Quarterly Return 17 NCAC 04B .2903 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Definitions 17 NCAC 04C .0101 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4)  

Application or Renewal Requirements for Applicants and Li... 17 NCAC 04C .0104 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4)  

Application or Renewal Requirements for a Distributor's L... 17 NCAC 04C .0201 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Interstate Cigarette Sales; Licensure 17 NCAC 04C .0504 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Invoice Requirement 17 NCAC 04C .0602 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Excise Tax Liability for Cigarette Inventory 17 NCAC 04C .0702 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Monthly Report for Resident Distributor 17 NCAC 04C .0901 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4)  

Monthly Report for Nonresident Distributors 17 NCAC 04C .0902 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4)  

Invoicing Requirements for Distributors 17 NCAC 04C .0903 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4)  

Record Requirements for Distributors 17 NCAC 04C .0904 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Refunds Only to Licensed Distributors 17 NCAC 04C .1002 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Application or Renewal Requirements for a Wholesale Deale... 17 NCAC 04C .1301 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4)  

Invoice Requirement 17 NCAC 04C .1401 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Sales to Licensed Dealers Only 17 NCAC 04C .1402 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Manufacturers Acting as Retailer 17 NCAC 04C .1403 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Monthly Report for Wholesale Dealers and Retail Dealers 17 NCAC 04C .1801 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Invoicing Requirements for Wholesale Dealers and Retail D... 17 NCAC 04C .1802 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Record Requirements for Wholesale Dealers and Retail Dealers 17 NCAC 04C .1803 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Out of State Shipments Reporting 17 NCAC 04E .0204 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Major Disaster Reporting 17 NCAC 04E .0205 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Wholesaler Buying from Wholesaler 17 NCAC 04E .0206 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Spoilage or Destruction of Nontaxpaid Beer or Wine 17 NCAC 04E .0301 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Spoilage of Taxpaid Beer or Wine 17 NCAC 04E .0302 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Destruction of Malt Beverages or Wine when in Transit 17 NCAC 04E .0303 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Receipts for Malt Beverages and Wine Delivered to Ocean-G... 17 NCAC 04E .0502 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4)  

Bond or Irrevocable Letter of Credit Required of Wholesaler and.. 17  NCAC 04E .0601 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 
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New Wholesaler or Importer of Bond 17 NCAC 04E .0602 G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Definitions for Outdoor Advertising Control 19A NCAC 02E .0201* 34:13 NCR 

Agreement 19A NCAC 02E .0202* 34:13 NCR 

Outdoor Advertising on Controlled Routes 19A NCAC 02E .0203* 34:13 NCR 

Fees and Renewals 19A NCAC 02E .0207* 34:13 NCR 

Permit and Permit Emblem 19A NCAC 02E .0208* 34:13 NCR 

Transfer or Permit/Change of Address 19A NCAC 02E .0209* 34:13 NCR 

Revocation of Outdoor Advertising Permit 19A NCAC 02E .0210* 34:13 NCR 

Notice Given for Revoking Permit 19A NCAC 02E .0212* 34:13 NCR 

Appeal of Decision of District Engineer's Office to Sec. ... 19A NCAC 02E .0213 34:13 NCR 

Standards For Directional Signs 19A NCAC 02E .0214* 34:13 NCR 

Permits for Directional Signs 19A NCAC 02E .0215* 34:13 NCR 

Scenic Byways 19A NCAC 02E .0224* 34:13 NCR 

Order to Stop Work on Unpermitted Outdoor Advertising 19A NCAC 02E .0226 34:13 NCR 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

Form of Documents 21 NCAC 34C .0102 35:06 NCR 

Application Form for Crematory or Hydrolysis License 21 NCAC 34C .0103 35:06 NCR 

Crematory or Hydrolysis License Certificate 21 NCAC 34C .0104 35:06 NCR 

Crematory or Hydrolysis Inspection Form 21 NCAC 34C .0105* 35:06 NCR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 34C .0106* 35:06 NCR 

Holding Facility; Cremation or Hydrolysis Unit; Processor 21 NCAC 34C .0201* 35:06 NCR 

Refrigeration 21 NCAC 34C .0202* 35:06 NCR 

Labels 21 NCAC 34C .0205 35:06 NCR 

Cleanliness 21 NCAC 34C .0206* 35:06 NCR 

Removal of Pacemakers or Other Implanted Devices; Autopsi... 21 NCAC 34C .0207* 35:06 NCR 

Records of Cremation or Hydrolysis and Delivery 21 NCAC 34C .0303* 35:06 NCR 

Retention of Records 21 NCAC 34C .0306 35:06 NCR 

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

Initial Licensure Fee 21 NCAC 37D .0202* 35:06 NCR 

Application to Become Administrator-In-Training (AIT) 21 NCAC 37D .0402* 35:06 NCR 

Application Contents 21 NCAC 37E .0102* 35:06 NCR 

Issuance of Temporary License 21 NCAC 37F .0102* 35:06 NCR 

Renewal Fee 21 NCAC 37G .0102 35:06 NCR 

Verification of License 21 NCAC 37G .0402* 35:06 NCR 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Definitions 21 NCAC 58H .0101* 35:06 NCR 

Policies and Procedures Disclosure 21 NCAC 58H .0204* 35:06 NCR 

Course Materials 21 NCAC 58H .0205* 35:06 NCR 

Course Completion Certificates and Reports 21 NCAC 58H .0207* 35:06 NCR 

Expiration and Renewal of Provider Certification 21 NCAC 58H .0209 35:06 NCR 

Approval of a Real Estate Education Course 21 NCAC 58H .0401* 35:06 NCR 

Distance Education Courses 
 

21 NCAC 58H .0415 35:06 NCR 
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The following rules are subject to legislative review.      

      

Alternative Schools' Modified Accountability System 16  NCAC 06G .0314* 34:13 NCR 

Alternative Charter School - Application 16 NCAC 06G .0519* 34:13 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 48A .0401 CURRANT AND GOOSEBERRY 

PLANTS 

(a)  All wild and cultivated currant and gooseberry plants in North 

Carolina are hereby declared to be dangerous plants and are 

subject to destruction upon notice by the Commissioner of 

Agriculture or authorized agents wherever found. 

(b)  No person shall knowingly and willfully keep upon his or her 

premises any currant or gooseberry plant, or permit such plants to 

mature seed or otherwise multiply upon his or her land. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.45; 106-65.46; 

106-284.18; 106-420; 

Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 48A .0402 INFECTED PINES 

(a)  All five-leafed pines infected with white pine blister rust in 

North Carolina are hereby declared to be dangerous plants and are 

subject to destruction upon notice by the Commissioner of 

Agriculture or authorized agents wherever found. 

(b)  No person shall knowingly and willfully keep upon his or her 

premises any five-leafed pines infected with white pine blister 

rust, or permit such plants to mature seed or otherwise multiply 

upon his or her land. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.45; 106-65.46; 

106-284.18; 106-420; 

Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 48A .0612 COTTON STALK 

DESTRUCTION 

(a)  Upon notification in writing by the Commissioner of 

Agriculture, any farm operator may be ordered to destroy standing 

cotton stalks in his or her fields when it is deemed by the Plant 

Pest Administrator that the cotton stalks constitute a potential for 

harboring overwintering population of boll weevils. As 

determined by the Plant Pest Administrator, the cotton stalk 

destruction shall consist of shredding or discing as necessary to 

eliminate standing stalks. The notification will designate which 

fields are subject to stalk destruction. Designation of fields subject 

to stalk destruction will be based on the capturing of at least two 

adult boll weevils between September 15 and December 15 of a 

calendar year. Any field adjacent to a designated field may also 

be subject to stalk destruction upon notification by the 

Commissioner. 

(b)  Any farm operator subject to the provisions of Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall destroy the cotton stalks before February 1 of 

the following calendar year. Any cotton stalks not destroyed 

before February 1 shall be treated as regulated articles for the 

purposes of G.S. 106-65.73. Any field containing the stalks on 

February 1 shall be quarantined until the stalks are destroyed. Any 

farm operator who fails to comply with this Rule, absent a waiver 

as provided in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, shall be assessed a 

penalty fee of five dollars ($5.00) per acre. 

(c)  Any farm operator subject to the provisions of Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule who cannot destroy cotton stalks before February 1 

due to emergency or hardship may apply for a waiver by 

submitting a letter before January 1 to the Plant Pest 

Administrator stating the conditions justifying the waiver. The 

Plant Pest Administrator shall notify the farm operator of his or 

her decision within two weeks after receipt of such application. 

The Plant Pest Administrator is located in the Plant Industry 

Division and can be contacted by calling the Division at 919-707-

3730. Waivers shall be approved only if justified by emergency 

or hardship due to meteorological conditions, economic 

conditions, or other causes beyond the control of the farm 

operator. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.73; 106-65.74; 

106-65.77; 

Eff. December 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0201 CRITERIA AND PROCEDURES 

FOR GRANTING JOB APPROVAL AUTHORITY 

(a)  "Eligible individuals" means Soil and Water Conservation 

District employees, county employees working as staff for a Soil 

and Water Conservation District, and employees of the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Division of Soil and Water Conservation. 

(b)  Eligible individuals seeking Job Approval Authority (JAA) 

from the Commission shall receive agreement from their 

immediate supervisor. District staff shall also receive agreement 

from the chair of the Soil and Water Conservation District for 

whom they are employed. 

(c)  Eligible individuals seeking JAA for a best management 

practice as defined by 02 NCAC 59D .0102(6) shall submit 

application to the Division for evaluation of technical 

competency. The application for JAA shall include: 

(1) name; 

(2) contact information; 

(3) JAA requested; 

(4) signature of District Chair or Supervisor; and 

(5) proof of technical competency for the requested 

JAA including comparable JAA through 

USDA-NRCS, or applicable certification or 

submission of two completed practice designs. 
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The minimum technical competency requirements for each 

practice shall be listed in the applicable program's Detailed 

Implementation Plan (DIP) as defined in 02 NCAC 59D 

.0102(14). 

(d)  Eligible individuals who submit documentation of JAA issued 

by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service as part of 

the application described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be 

granted equivalent JAA by the Commission, unless JAA has 

subsequently been rescinded due to factors identified in Paragraph 

(f) of this Rule. 

(e)  The Commission shall consider an eligible individual who is 

duly licensed as a professional engineer by the North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors as having JAA 

for any best management practice to which they affix their seal 

and signature to all designs and technical documents. 

(f)  The Commission may rescind an individual's JAA for any or 

all best management practices where the Commission determines 

that the individual fails to comply with the applicable practice 

standards, submits false data or is dishonest in the use of their 

JAA, taking into consideration the severity of the non-

compliance, the extent and significance of any false data 

submitted, and the individual's history of non-compliance. 

(g)  Individuals no longer employed by the County, District, or 

Division shall have previously issued JAA reinstated if they are 

re-employed as an eligible individual and have subsequently 

complied with the requirements described in Paragraphs (b) and 

(c) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 139-3; 139-

4(d)(9) and (14); 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout these Rules: 

(1) "Chief Financial Officer" means the officer or 

employee with primary bookkeeping 

responsibility for a business that manufactures 

or sanitizes bedding in this State or 

manufactures bedding to be sold in this state. 

(2) "Person" means an individual, corporation, 

company, partnership, or other legal entity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0201 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0102 AUTHORIZED SANITIZING 

PROCESSES 

(a)  In the dry heat process, secondhand or previously used 

bedding must be heated at a temperature of 230 degrees F. for a 

period of two hours. The chamber in which this process is 

performed must be insulated sufficiently to ensure maintenance of 

a uniform temperature of 230 degrees F. Articles to be sanitized 

must be placed on racks, or other devices provided therein so that 

a minimum space of six inches is left around each item being 

sanitized, and between the item and the walls, floor, ceiling, and 

other items. Loose materials to be sanitized must be placed on 

tiers or slats, or in other arrangements that permit an even 

distribution of heat throughout the material. A thermometer that 

has been checked for accuracy within one degree F. must be 

placed within the chamber at a point where it can be read at all 

times through a window for that purpose. 

(b)  In the washing process, the bedding shall be boiled for two 

hours and washed with a soap or detergent. After drying, the 

bedding shall be free from dirt, marks, stains, or other offensive 

odors or materials. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0202 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0103 OTHER METHODS OF 

SANITIZING 

Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule .0102 of this Section, 

other methods of sanitizing may be used after receiving the 

approval of the Division. The Division shall approve other 

methods of sanitation provided the applicant has submitted an 

application with data to demonstrate the effectiveness of the 

method in destroying pathogenic microorganisms and arthropods, 

and removing dirt and filth. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0203 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0104 DISPOSAL OF UNCLEAN 

BEDDING 

Secondhand bedding and previously-used materials that show 

evidence of contamination with feces, urine, pus, vomit, blood, 

mucus, or are not clean after using methods described in Rules 

.0102 or .0103 of this Section must be removed from use and 

destroyed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0204 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0105 STORAGE OF SECONDHAND 

OR PREVIOUSLY-USED MATERIALS 

When secondhand bedding or previously-used materials that have 

not been sanitized are stored in a bedding manufacturing 

establishment, a sanitizing business, a retail outlet, a distribution 

warehouse, or in the same room with new or sanitized bedding or 

bedding materials, the secondhand bedding or previously-used 

materials must be segregated from the new or sanitized bedding 

or bedding materials by partitions that are free of holes, cracks, or 

other openings. The top of the partitions must be at least one foot 

higher than the level of the unsanitized materials. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.98; 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0205 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0106 NON-TRANSFERABLE 

REGISTRATION 

Upon receipt of the application form set forth in Rule .0108 of this 

Chapter, the Division shall issue a registration number to all 

persons manufacturing or sanitizing bedding in this State or 

manufacturing bedding to be sold in this State unless the person 

has a registration number from another state. The registration 

numbers shall not be transferable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.102; 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0206 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0107 TRANSFER OF 

MANUFACTURERS' AND SANITIZERS' LICENSES 

(a)  If any person to whom a manufacturer's license or sanitizer's 

license has been issued shall sell his or her manufacturing or 

sanitizing business he or she may transfer the license with the 

business in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  The Division shall approve the transfer provided the purchaser 

has submitted the following: 

(1) the name and address of the seller; 

(2) the location of the establishment being 

purchased; 

(3) the name of the establishment being purchased; 

(4) the name and address of the purchaser; 

(5) the effective date of sale; and 

(6) whether the name of the establishment being 

purchased is to be changed, and if so, the name 

under which it is to be operated by the 

purchaser. 

(c)  The Division shall notify the purchaser in writing of the 

approval of the transfer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.102; 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0207 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0108 LICENSE FEES AND 

APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Applications for a license shall be on a form provided by the 

Division and shall include the following information: 

(1) the name of the business; 

(2) the physical address for the plant or operation; 

(3) the name, title, mailing address, and telephone 

number for the contact person for the license; 

and 

(4) the type of bedding items the business 

manufactures. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit a verification from the applicant's 

chief financial officer that he has examined the records of the 

applicant and that the information provided in accordance with 

G.S. 106-65.103 correctly reflects the information contained in 

the records of the applicant. However, if the Division has reason 

to believe that the information provided is incomplete, misleading 

or incorrect, the Division may require the applicant to obtain a 

certification of the required information by an independent 

Certified Public Accountant licensed to practice in North 

Carolina. 

(c)  License fees, in accordance with G.S. 106-65.103, shall be 

paid in full on March 1 of each year or in quarterly installments 

on March 1, June 1, September 1, and December 1 of each year. 

Applicants who have not operated for a full calendar year may 

owe additional fees or be due a refund for the first year's 

operation, depending on the business volume eligible for stamp 

exemption fee payment. Application forms for making the 

determination of fee payment owed or refunded shall be furnished 

by the Division. When the requirements of G.S. 106-65.103(a) 

can be met, the option described by G.S. 106-65.103(b) will no 

longer be available to the applicant. 

(d)  Applicants who have gone out of business in the initial year 

of their operation and who have paid the license fee in accordance 

with G.S. 106-65.103 may apply for a refund for the remainder of 

the calendar year upon providing verified proof of the bedding 

units sold or manufactured in North Carolina during the operating 

portion of the calendar year. 

(e)  All forms may be obtained from the Division at 

www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/Sleep/beddinglicense.htm. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.103; 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; January 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0208 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0109 CANCELLATION OF LICENSES 

A license shall be issued to persons manufacturing or sanitizing 

bedding in this state or manufacturing bedding to be sold in this 

state in accordance with G.S. 106-65.103. When the person to 

whom the license was issued goes out of business, the license shall 

be canceled. Upon submission of proof to and determination by 

the Division that the person's initial payment was more than the 

amount for which the person is responsible for any remaining 

quarters, a refund is owed to the person going out of business shall 

be made by the Division in accordance with G.S. 106-65.103(b) 

for any remaining quarters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.103; 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; January 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0209 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0110 DURABLE MATERIALS FOR 

TAGS 

In addition to the requirements set forth in G.S. 106-65.99, 

identifying tags shall be of linen, muslin, or other durable cloth 

material that will not flake when abraded. Paper or plastic face 

tags shall not be allowed. Tags shall be printed or stamped on one 

side only in colorfast black letters that will not fade or wash out. 

Tags shall be so located that the information contained thereon is 
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visible to the purchaser at all times and shall be sewed to the 

pillows, mattresses, sleeping bags, comforters, and other articles 

of bedding. The labeling requirements of another governmental 

unit may appear on the tag. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.99; 106-65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0210 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0111 EFFECTIVE DATE OF 

LICENSES 

The licenses issued pursuant to these Rules shall be valid from the 

first day of March of any calendar year through the last day of 

February of the following year, except for partial year licenses 

issued in accordance with G.S. 106-65.103(d). If the license fee 

or an installment of the license fee has not been paid by the due 

date listed in 02 NCAC 61 .0108(c), the license shall be invalid 

and the Division shall prohibit sale pursuant to G.S. 106.65-105. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.103; 106-65.105; 106-

65.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 18B .0211 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 09 - OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR AND LT. 

GOVERNOR 

 

09 NCAC 06A .0104 RIGHT TO PETITION 

(a)  Any person submitting a petition requesting the adoption, 

amendment, or repeal of a rule under this Chapter shall address 

the petition to the Rules Coordinator, Attn: DIT Legal Services, 

Mail Service Center 4101, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4101. 

Alternatively, a petition can also be emailed to 

DITrulesrequests@nc.gov. 

(b)  For petitions to adopt or amend a rule, the petition shall 

contain the following: 

(1) a draft of the proposed rule or amendment; 

(2) a statement of the effect of the requested rule 

change; and 

(3) the name and address of the petitioner. 

(c)  The petition may also contain the following: 

(1) the reason for the proposal; 

(2) the effect of the new rule on existing rules; or 

(3) any data supporting the rule proposal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-1321(a)(16); 116E-4(b); 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

09 NCAC 06D .0101 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 116E-1, the 

following definitions shall apply to the rules in this Section: 

(1) "Aggregated" means the result of the collection 

and combination of data about a group of 

individuals that has been de-identified. 

Aggregated data can be used for the purposes of 

making comparisons or identifying patterns 

within or among groups of subjects or 

individuals. An example of aggregated data is 

the number of high school graduates from 

Wake County who graduated from the 

University of North Carolina System with a 

Bachelor of Science in Engineering within the 

past three years and their average salary. 

(2) "Applicable law" means all statutes and rules of 

North Carolina and all relevant United States 

federal statutes and regulations pertaining to the 

protection of privacy and security of 

confidential data. Applicable law includes the 

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, 20 

U.S.C. 1232g; the Health Insurance Portability 

and Accountability Act, 42 U.S.C. 300gg, 29 

U.S.C 1181 et seq., and 42 USC 1320d et seq.; 

the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act, 

29 U.S.C. Ch. 32; and all regulations 

promulgated thereunder. 

(3) "Contributor" means an entity that discloses 

Data to the System. The Contributors may be 

one or more of the entities specified in G.S. 

116E-5(d)(1). 

(4) "Data" means early childhood data, student data 

as defined in G.S. 116E-1(4), workforce data as 

defined in G.S. 116E-1(7), or other personally 

identifying data disclosed by the Contributors 

to the System and any data released from the 

System in response to data requests. 

(5) "Early Childhood" means the time period in an 

individual's life from birth to age eight. 

(6) "GDAC" means the Government Data 

Analytics Center, which has the authority to 

operate and oversee the System pursuant to 

G.S. 116E-4. 

(7) "North Carolina Education Longitudinal Data 

System" or "System" means the system 

referenced in G.S. 116E-5. 

(8) "Report" means the de-identified or aggregated 

information, data extract, or data file generated 

by the System using Data on a specified group 

of students, workforce members, or both, to 

fulfill a Request. 

(9) "Request" means an inquiry for a Report 

containing information on a specified group of 

students, workforce members, or both from the 

System by a Requestor 

(10) "Requestor" means an entity or individual that 

makes a Request to the System for a Report. A 

Requestor may also be a Contributor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-1321(a)(16); 116E-4(b); 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

09 NCAC 06D .0102 DATA REQUEST PROCESS 

(a)  In order to initiate a Request for a Report from the System, a 

Requestor must complete an Education Longitudinal Data System 
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Report Request Form located at: https://it.nc.gov/services/nc-

gdac. The Requestor shall submit the form through the website, 

by emailing it to gdacadmin@nc.gov, or by mailing a hard copy 

to the following address: Government Data Analytics Center, 

4101 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4101. 

(b)  The Requestor shall include the following information in the 

Request form: 

(1) the name of the Requestor individual and his or 

her contact information; 

(2) the name of the organization for whom the 

Requestor is making the Request on behalf of, 

if applicable; 

(3) whether or not the Requestor, or the 

organization the Requestor is making the 

Request on behalf of, is considered a public 

official as defined under 20 C.F.R. 603.2(d); 

(4) the categories or types of Data needed to 

generate the Reports being requested, such as 

data pertaining to students who graduated high 

school in 2013 who were students in the 

University of North Carolina School System in 

2014; 

(5) the purposes for which the Requestor will 

utilize the Reports; and 

(6) to whom or in what medium the Requestor 

plans to publish research based on or 

interpretations of the Report. 

(c)  Requestors who receive data shall: 

(1) store Reports on servers or media utilizing 

safeguards based on nationally accepted 

standards, including those published by the 

National Institute of Standards and Technology 

(NIST); 

(2) comply with all Applicable Law and the 

Requestor data sharing agreement in storing 

and using the Reports; and 

(3) use a data destruction policy based on 

nationally accepted standards, including NIST 

standards, to destroy the Report after it has 

served the Requestor's stated purpose if the 

Report contains de-identified but not 

aggregated workforce data from the Division of 

Employment Security. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-1321(a)(16); 116E-4(b); 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

09 NCAC 06D .0103 CONTRIBUTOR DATA 

SHARING AGREEMENTS 

(a)  A Contributor that plans to contribute Data to the System shall 

enter into a data sharing agreement with the Government Data 

Analytics Center and other Contributors. This data sharing 

agreement shall contain the following: 

(1) obligations to comply with all Applicable Law 

when disclosing, accessing, or using Data in the 

System; 

(2) limitations on Data access to authorized persons 

employed or contracted by the parties of the 

Memorandum of Understanding; 

(3) requirements for safeguarding any Data 

disclosed by a Contributor; and 

(4) terms regarding the relevant limitations of 

liability for State and local government 

agencies and private or non-governmental 

Contributors. 

(b)  In accordance with G.S. 143B-1385(d)(2), each Contributor 

shall be the sole custodian of the Data it stores and maintains that 

may be disclosed to the System. Each Contributor shall only 

disclose Data to the System and to GDAC that the Contributor is 

authorized to disclose in compliance with Applicable Law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-1321(a)(16); 116E-4(b); 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

09 NCAC 06D .0104 REQUESTOR DATA SHARING 

AGREEMENTS AND REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, all 

Requestors shall enter into a data sharing agreement with the 

Contributors that are the custodians of the Data that may be 

needed to generate a requested report. The requestor data sharing 

agreement shall be separate and distinct from the Memorandum 

of Understanding between the Contributors and GDAC. 

(b)  Requestors who are also Contributors and parties to the 

Contributor Memorandum of Understanding shall not be required 

to enter into a Requestor data sharing agreement unless one or 

more of the Contributors responding to the party's Request 

notifies the Requestor that a data sharing agreement must be 

entered into before Data is disclosed in order to comply with 

Applicable Law. An example of when a Requestor data sharing 

agreement may be required is an instance where a Contributor is 

making a Request of the NC Department of Commerce for Data 

that has not been Aggregated. 

(c)  The Requestor data sharing agreements shall contain the 

following: 

(1) limitations on Report access to authorized 

persons; 

(2) prohibition on the re-identification of persons 

included in Reports in accordance with G.S. 

116E-5(e); 

(3) information technology system and data 

security standards required by the Contributor 

who will be providing Data for the Report; 

(4) privacy compliance standards; 

(5) data breach procedures, including notification 

of DIT of any cybersecurity incidents as 

described by G.S. 143B-1320(a)(4a) or G.S. 

143b-1320(a)(16a) using the incident report 

form available at: 

https://it.nc.gov/resources/cybersecurity-risk-

management/statewide-cybersecurity-incident-

report-form; 

(6) terms regarding the disclaimer of liability as 

applied to Contributors pursuant to the doctrine 

of sovereign immunity and statutory immunity; 

and 

(7) data retention and data removal standards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-1321(a)(16); 116E-4(b); 
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Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0202 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 

(a)  Upon application for a license from a facility never before 

licensed, a representative of the Department shall make an 

inspection of that facility. Every building, institution, or 

establishment that has been issued a license shall be inspected for 

compliance with the rules found in this Subchapter. An 

ambulatory surgery facility shall be deemed to meet licensure 

requirements if the ambulatory surgery facility is accredited by 

The Joint Commission, AAAHC, or AAAASF. Accreditation 

shall not exempt a facility from statutory or rule requirements for 

licensure nor shall it prohibit the Department from conducting 

inspections as provided in this Rule to determine compliance with 

all requirements. 

(b)  If the applicant has been issued a Certificate of Need and is 

found to be in compliance with the rules found in this Subchapter, 

then the Department shall issue a license to expire on December 

31 of each year. 

(c)  The Department shall be notified at the time of: 

(1) any change of the owner or operator; 

(2) any change of location; 

(3) any change as to a lease; and 

(4) any transfer, assignment, or other disposition or 

change of ownership or control of 20 percent or 

more of the capital stock or voting rights 

thereunder of a corporation that is the operator 

or owner of an ambulatory surgical facility, or 

any transfer, assignment, or other disposition of 

the stock or voting rights thereunder of such 

corporation that results in the ownership or 

control of more than 20 percent of the stock or 

voting rights thereunder of such corporation by 

any person. 

A new application shall be submitted to the Department in the 

event of such a change or changes. 

(d)  The Department shall not grant a license until the plans and 

specifications that are stated in Section .1400 of this Subchapter, 

covering the construction of new buildings, additions, or material 

alterations to existing buildings are approved by the Department. 

(e)  The facility design and construction shall be in accordance 

with the licensure rules for ambulatory surgical facilities found in 

this Subchapter, the North Carolina State Building Code, and 

local municipal codes. 

(f)  Submission of Plans. 

(1) When construction or remodeling of a facility 

is planned, one copy of construction documents 

and specifications shall be submitted by the 

owner or owner's appointed representative to 

the Department for review and approval. 

Schematic design drawings and design 

development drawings may be submitted for 

approval prior to the required submission of 

construction documents. 

(2) Approval of construction documents and 

specifications shall be obtained from the 

Department prior to licensure. Approval of 

construction documents and specifications shall 

expire one year after the date of approval unless 

a building permit for the construction has been 

obtained prior to the expiration date of the 

approval of construction documents and 

specifications. 

(3) The plans shall include a plot plan showing the 

size and shape of the entire site and the location 

of all existing and proposed facilities. 

(g)  To qualify for licensure or license renewal, each facility shall 

provide to the Division, with its application, an attestation 

statement in a form provided by the Division verifying 

compliance with the requirements defined in Rule .0301(d) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-91; 131E-147; 131E-149;  

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0203 SUSPENSION OR 

REVOCATION: AMBULATORY SURGICAL FACILITY 

License suspensions and revocations shall be governed by G.S. 

131E-148. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-148; 131E-149; 43B-165;  

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0301 GOVERNING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The facility's governing authority shall adopt bylaws or other 

operating policies and procedures to assure that: 

(1) a named individual is identified who is 

responsible for the overall operation and 

maintenance of the facility. The governing 

authority shall have methods in place for the 

oversight of the individual's performance; 

(2) annual meetings of the governing authority 

shall be conducted if the governing authority 

consists of two or more individuals. Minutes 

shall be maintained of such meetings; 

(3) a policy and procedure manual is created that is 

designed to ensure professional and safe care 

for the patients. The manual shall be reviewed 

annually and revised in accordance with facility 

policy. The manual shall include provisions for 

administration and use of the facility, 

compliance, personnel quality assurance, 

procurement of outside services and 

consultations, patient care policies, and services 

offered; and 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2021 

1658 

(4) annual reviews and evaluations of the facility's 

policies, management, and operation are 

conducted. 

(b)  When services such as dietary, laundry, or therapy services 

are purchased from others, the governing authority shall be 

responsible for assuring the supplier meets the same local and 

State standards the facility would have to meet if it were providing 

those services using its own staff. 

(c)  The governing authority shall provide for the selection and 

appointment of the professional staff and the granting of clinical 

privileges and shall be responsible for the professional conduct of 

these persons. 

(d)  The governing authority shall establish written policies and 

procedures to assure billing and collection practices in accordance 

with G.S. 131E-91. These policies and procedures shall include: 

(1) a financial assistance policy as defined in G.S. 

131E-214.14(b)(3); 

(2) how a patient may obtain an estimate of the 

charges for the statewide 20 most common 

outpatient imaging procedures and 20 most 

common outpatient surgical procedures based 

on the primary Current Procedure Terminology 

Code (CPT). The policy shall require that the 

information be provided to the patient in 

writing, either electronically or by mail, within 

three business days; 

(3) how a patient or patient's representative may 

dispute a bill; 

(4) issuance of a refund within 45 days of the 

patient receiving notice of the overpayment 

when a patient has overpaid the amount due to 

the facility; 

(5) providing written notification to the patient or 

patient's representative, 30 days prior to 

submitting a delinquent bill to a collections 

agency; 

(6) providing the patient or patient's representative 

with the facility's charity care and financial 

assistance policies, if the facility is required to 

file a Schedule H, federal form 990; 

(7) the requirement that a collections agency, 

entity, or other assignee obtain written consent 

from the facility prior to initiating litigation 

against the patient or patient's representative; 

(8) a policy for handling debts arising from the 

provision of care by the ambulatory surgical 

facility involving the doctrine of necessaries, in 

accordance with G.S. 131E-91(d)(5); and 

(9) a policy for handling debts arising from the 

provision of care by the ambulatory surgical 

facility to a minor, in accordance with G.S. 

131E-91(d)(6). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-91; 131E-147.1; 131E-

149; 131E-214.13(f); 131E-214.14;  

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; November 1, 1985; December 

24, 1979; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0501 PROVIDING ANESTHESIA 

SERVICES 

Only a physician, dentist, qualified anesthetist, or qualified 

anesthesiologist as defined in Rule .0103 of this Subchapter, shall 

administer anesthetic agents. Podiatrists shall administer only 

local anesthesia. The governing authority shall establish written 

policies and procedures concerning the provision of anesthesia 

services, including the designation of those persons authorized to 

administer anesthetics in accordance with State law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0702 REGULATIONS FOR 

PERFORMED SERVICES 

Radiation protection shall be provided in accordance with the 

rules adopted by the Radiation Protection Commission found in 

10A NCAC 15. Records shall be kept of annual checks and 

calibration of all ionizing radiation therapy equipment used in the 

facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0902 NURSING PERSONNEL 

(a)  Licensed and ancillary nursing personnel shall be on duty to 

assure that staffing levels meet the nursing needs of patients in the 

facility and their individual nursing care needs. 

(b)  At least one registered nurse shall be in the facility during the 

hours of operation. Nursing personnel shall be assigned to duties 

consistent with their training and experience. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13D .2001 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 131E-101, the 

following definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Abuse" means the willful infliction of injury, 

unreasonable confinement, intimidation or 

punishment with resulting physical harm, pain, 

or mental anguish. 

(2) "Accident" means an unplanned event resulting 

in the injury or wounding of a patient or other 

individual. 

(3) "Addition" means an extension or increase in 

floor area or height of a building. 

(4) "Administrator" as defined in G.S. 90-276(4). 

(5) "Alteration" means any construction or 

renovation to an existing structure other than 

repair, maintenance, or addition. 
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(6) "Brain injury long term care" means an 

interdisciplinary, intensive maintenance 

program for patients who have incurred brain 

damage caused by external physical trauma and 

who have completed a primary course of 

rehabilitative treatment and have reached a 

point of no gain or progress for more than three 

consecutive months. Brain injury long term 

care is provided through a medically supervised 

interdisciplinary process and is directed toward 

maintaining the individual at the optimal level 

of physical, cognitive, and behavioral 

functions. 

(7) "Capacity" means the maximum number of 

patient or resident beds for which the facility is 

licensed to maintain at any given time. 

(8) "Combination facility" means a combination 

home as defined in G.S. 131E-101. 

(9) "Comprehensive, inpatient rehabilitation 

program" means a program for the treatment of 

persons with functional limitations or chronic 

disabling conditions who have the potential to 

achieve a significant improvement in activities 

of daily living, including bathing, dressing, 

grooming, transferring, eating, and using 

speech, language, or other communication 

systems. A comprehensive, inpatient 

rehabilitation program utilizes a coordinated 

and integrated, interdisciplinary approach, 

directed by a physician, to assess patient needs 

and to provide treatment and evaluation of 

physical, psychosocial, and cognitive deficits. 

(10) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(11) "Director of nursing" means a registered nurse 

who has authority and responsibility for all 

nursing services and nursing care. 

(12) "Discharge" means a physical relocation of a 

patient to another health care setting; the 

discharge of a patient to his or her home; or the 

relocation of a patient from a nursing bed to an 

adult care home bed, or from an adult care home 

bed to a nursing bed. 

(13) "Existing facility" means a facility currently 

licensed, a proposed facility, a proposed 

addition to a licensed facility, or a proposed 

remodeled licensed facility that will be built 

according to design development drawings and 

specifications approved by the Department for 

compliance with the standards established in 

Sections .3100, .3200, and .3400 of this 

Subchapter, to the effective date of this Rule. 

(14) "Facility" means a nursing facility or 

combination facility as defined in this Rule. 

(15) "Incident" means any accident, event, or 

occurrence that is unplanned, or unusual, and 

has caused harm to a patient, or has the potential 

for harm. 

(16) "Inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit" means 

a free-standing facility or a unit (unit pertains to 

contiguous dedicated beds and spaces) within 

an existing licensed health service facility 

approved in accordance with G.S. 131E, Article 

9 to establish inpatient, rehabilitation beds and 

to provide a comprehensive, inpatient 

rehabilitation program. 

(17) "Interdisciplinary" means an integrated process 

involving representatives from disciplines of 

the health care team. 

(18) "Licensee" means the person, firm, partnership, 

association, corporation, or organization to 

whom a license to operate the facility has been 

issued. The licensee is the legal entity that is 

responsible for the operation of the business. 

(19) "Medication error rate" means the measure of 

discrepancies between medication that was 

ordered for a patient by the health care provider 

and medication that is administered to the 

patient. The medication error rate is calculated 

by dividing the number of errors observed by 

the surveyor by the opportunities for error, 

multiplied times 100. 

(20) "Misappropriation of property" means the 

deliberate misplacement, exploitation, or 

wrongful, temporary or permanent use of a 

patient's belongings or money without the 

patient's consent. 

(21) "Neglect" means a failure to provide goods and 

services necessary to avoid physical harm, 

mental anguish, or mental illness. 

(22) "New facility" means a proposed facility, a 

proposed addition to an existing facility, or a 

proposed remodeled portion of an existing 

facility that will be built according to design 

development drawings and specifications 

approved by the Department for compliance 

with the standards established in Sections 

.3100, .3200, and .3400 of this Subchapter after 

the effective date of this Rule. 

(23) "Nurse Aide" means a person who is listed on 

the N.C. Nurse Aide Registry and provides 

nursing or nursing-related services to patients in 

a nursing home. A nurse aide is not a licensed 

health professional. Nursing homes that 

participate in Medicare or Medicaid shall 

comply with 42 CFR 483.35, which is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments. The Code of Federal 

Regulations may be accessed at 

https://www.ecfr.gov. 

(24) "Nursing facility" means a nursing home as 

defined in G.S. 131E-101. 

(25) "Patient" means any person admitted for 

nursing care. 

(26) "Remodeling" means alterations, renovations, 

rehabilitation work, repairs to structural 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2021 

1660 

systems, and replacement of building systems 

at a nursing or combination facility. 

(27) "Repair" means reconstruction or renewal of 

any part of an existing building for the purpose 

of its maintenance. 

(28) "Resident" means any person admitted for care 

to an adult care home part of a combination 

facility. 

(29) "Respite care" means services provided for a 

patient on a temporary basis, not to exceed 30 

days. 

(30) "Surveyor" means a representative of the 

Department who inspects nursing facilities and 

combination facilities to determine compliance 

with rules, laws, and regulations as set forth in 

G.S. 131E-117; Subchapters 13D and 13F of 

this Chapter; and 42 CFR Part 483, 

Requirements for States and Long Term Care 

Facilities. 

(31) "Violation" means a failure to comply with 

rules, laws, and regulations as set forth in G.S. 

131E-117 and 131D–21; Subchapters 13D and 

13F of this Chapter; or 42 CFR Part 483, 

Requirements for States and Long Term Care 

Facilities, that relates to a patient's or resident's 

health, safety, or welfare, or that creates a risk 

that death, or physical harm may occur. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-104; 

RRC objection due to lack of statutory authority Eff. July 13, 

1995; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13D .2506 PHYSICIAN SERVICES FOR 

VENTILATOR DEPENDENT PATIENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-104; 

RRC objection due to lack of statutory authority and ambiguity 

Eff. July 13, 1995; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 22, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13D .3003 VENTILATOR ASSISTED CARE 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, ventilator assisted individuals, 

means as defined in the federal State Operations Manual, 

Appendix PP – Guidance to Surveyors for Long Term Care 

Facilities, herein incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of the State Operations Manual 

may be accessed free of charge online at  

https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-

Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/downloads/som107ap_pp_guidelin

es_ltcf.pdf. 

(b)  Facilities having patients who are ventilator assisted 

individuals shall: 

(1) administer respiratory care in accordance with 

42 CFR Part 483.25(i), and the federal State 

Operations Manual F695; 

(2) administer respiratory care in accordance with 

the scope of practice for respiratory therapists 

defined in G.S. 90-648; and  

(3) provide pulmonary services from a physician 

who has training in pulmonary medicine. The 

physician shall be responsible for respiratory 

services and shall: 

(A) establish with the respiratory therapist 

and nursing staff, ventilator policies 

and procedures, including emergency 

procedures; 

(B) assess each ventilator assisted patient's 

status at least monthly with 

corresponding progress notes; 

(C) respond to emergency 

communications 24 hours a day; and 

(D) participate in individual care planning. 

(c)  Direct care nursing personnel staffing ratios established in 

Rule .2303 of this Subchapter shall not be applied to nursing 

services for patients who are ventilator assisted at life support 

settings. The minimum direct care nursing staff shall be 5.5 hours 

per patient day, allocated on a per shift basis as the facility 

chooses; however, in no event shall the direct care nursing staff 

fall below a registered nurse and a nurse aide I at any time during 

a 24-hour period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-104; 

RRC objection due to lack of statutory authority Eff. July 13, 

1995; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .0102 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 131E-201, the 

following definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Agency" means a licensed hospice as defined 

in G.S. 131E-201(3). 

(2) "Care Plan" means the proposed method 

developed in writing by the interdisciplinary 

care team through which the hospice seeks to 

provide services that meet the patient's and 

family's medical, psychosocial, and spiritual 

needs. 

(3) "Clergy Member" means an individual who has 

received a degree from a theological school and 

has fulfilled denominational seminary 

requirements; or an individual who, by 

ordination or authorization from the 

individual's denomination, has been approved 

to function in a pastoral capacity. Each hospice 

shall designate a clergy member responsible for 

coordinating spiritual care to hospice patients 

and families. 
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(4) "Coordinator of Patient Family Volunteers" 

means an individual on the hospice team who 

coordinates and supervises the activities of all 

patient family volunteers. 

(5) "Dietary Counseling" means counseling given 

by a licensed dietitian/nutritionist or licensed 

nutritionist as defined in G.S. 90-352. 

(6) "Director" means the person having 

administrative responsibility for the operation 

of the hospice. 

(7) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(8) "Governing Body" means the group of persons 

responsible for overseeing operations of the 

hospice, including the development and 

monitoring of policies and procedures related to 

all aspects of the operations of the hospice 

program. The governing body ensures that all 

services provided are consistent with accepted 

standards of hospice practice. 

(9) "Hospice" means a coordinated program of 

services as defined in G.S. 131E-201. 

(10) "Hospice Caregiver" means an individual on 

the hospice team who has completed hospice 

caregiver training as defined in Rule .0402 of 

this Subchapter and is assigned to a hospice 

residential facility or hospice inpatient unit. 

(11) "Hospice Inpatient Facility or Hospice Inpatient 

Unit" means as defined in G.S. 131E-201(3a). 

(12) "Hospice Residential Facility" means as 

defined in G.S. 131E-201(5a). 

(13) "Hospice Team" means as defined in G.S. 

131E-201(6). 

(14) "Informed Consent" means the agreement to 

receive hospice care made by the patient and 

family that specifies in writing the type of care 

and services to be provided. The informed 

consent form shall be signed by the patient prior 

to service. If the patient's medical condition is 

such that a signature cannot be obtained, a 

signature shall be obtained from the individual 

having legal guardianship, applicable durable 

or health care power of attorney, or the family 

member or individual assuming the 

responsibility of primary caregiver. 

(15) "Interdisciplinary Team" means as defined in 

G.S. 131E-201(6). 

(16) "Licensed Practical Nurse" means as defined in 

G.S. 90-171.30 or G.S. 171.32. 

(17) "Medical Director" means a physician licensed 

to practice medicine in North Carolina who 

directs the medical aspects of the hospice's 

patient care program. 

(18) "Nurse Practitioner" means as defined in G.S. 

90-18.2(a). 

(19) "Nurse Aide" means an individual who is 

authorized to provide nursing care under the 

supervision of a licensed nurse, has completed 

a training and competency evaluation program 

or competency evaluation program and is listed 

on the Nurse Aide Registry, at the Division of 

Health Service Regulation. If the nurse aide 

performs Nurse Aide II tasks, the nurse aide 

shall also meet the requirements established by 

the N.C. Board of Nursing as defined in 21 

NCAC 36 .0405, incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments. 

(20) "Patient and Family Care Coordinator" means a 

registered nurse designated by the hospice to 

coordinate the provision of hospice services for 

each patient and family. 

(21) "Patient Family Volunteer" means an 

individual who has received orientation and 

training as defined in Rule .0402 of this 

Subchapter, and provides volunteer services to 

a patient and the patient's family in the patient's 

home or in a hospice inpatient facility or 

hospice inpatient unit, or a hospice residential 

facility. 

(22) "Pharmacist" means as defined in G.S. 90-85.3. 

(23) "Physician" means as defined in G.S. 90-9.1 or 

G.S. 90-9.2. 

(24) "Premises" means the location or licensed site 

where the agency provides hospice services or 

maintains patient service records or advertises 

itself as a hospice agency. 

(25) "Primary Caregiver" means the family member 

or other person who assumes the overall 

responsibility for the care of the patient in the 

patient's home. 

(26) "Registered Nurse" means as defined in G.S. 

90-171.30 or G.S. 90-171.32. 

(27) "Respite Care" means care provided to a patient 

for temporary relief to family members or 

others caring for the patient at home. 

(28) "Spiritual Caregiver" means an individual 

authorized by the patient and family to provide 

for their spiritual needs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-202; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; February 1, 1995; June 1, 1991; 

November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .0401 PERSONNEL 

(a)  Written policies shall be established and implemented by the 

agency regarding infection control and exposure to communicable 

diseases consistent with the rules set forth in 10A NCAC 41A, 

which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments. These policies and procedures shall include 

provisions for compliance with 29 CFR 1910 Occupational Safety 

and Health Standards, which is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. These editions 

shall include 29 CFR 1910.1030 Bloodborne Pathogens. Copies 

of Title 29 Part 1910 can be obtained online at no charge at 
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https://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_document?p_

id=10051&p_table=STANDARDS. 

(b)  Hands-on care team members shall have a baseline test for 

tuberculosis. Individuals who test positive shall demonstrate 

non-infectious status prior to assignment in a patient's home. 

Individuals who have previously tested positive for the 

tuberculosis test shall obtain a baseline and subsequent annual 

verification that they are free of tuberculosis symptoms. The 

verification shall be obtained from the local health department, a 

private physician, or health nurse employed by the agency. The 

Communicable Disease Branch of the North Carolina Department 

of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, 1905 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1905 will provide free 

of charge guidelines for conducting and verification utilizing 

Form DHHS 3405 (Record of Tuberculosis Screening). 

Employees identified by agency risk assessment to be at risk for 

exposure shall be subsequently tested in accordance with Centers 

for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines, which is incorporated by 

reference with subsequent amendments and editions. A copy of 

the CDC guidelines can be obtained online at no charge at 

https://search.cdc.gov/search/?query=TB+testing+intervals&sitel

imit=&utf8=%E2%9C%93&affiliate=cdc-main. 

(c)  Written policies shall be established and implemented by the 

agency that include personnel record content, orientation, patient 

family volunteer training, and in-service education. Records on 

the subject of in-service education and attendance shall be 

maintained by the agency and retained for one year. 

(d)  Job descriptions for every position, including volunteers 

involved in direct patient/family services, shall be established by 

the agency and shall include the position's qualifications and 

specific responsibilities. Hospice team member(s) shall be 

assigned only to duties that they are trained and competent to 

perform, or licensed to perform. 

(e)  Personnel records shall be established and maintained for 

hospice team members, including paid and direct patient/family 

services volunteers. These records shall be maintained for one 

year after employment or volunteer service ends. When requested 

by the State surveyors, the records shall be available on the agency 

premises for inspection by the Department. The records shall 

include: 

(1) an application or resume that lists education, 

training, and previous employment, including 

job title; 

(2) a job description with record of 

acknowledgment by the team member(s); 

(3) reference checks or verification of previous 

employment; 

(4) records of tuberculosis annual screening for 

hands-on care team members; 

(5) documentation of Hepatitis B immunization or 

declination for hands-on care team members; 

(6) bloodborne pathogen training for hands-on care 

team members, including annual updates, in 

compliance with 29 CFR 1910 and in 

accordance with the agency's exposure control 

plan; 

(7) performance evaluations according to agency 

policy, or at least annually; 

(8) verification of team member(s) credentials; 

(9) records of the verification of competencies by 

agency supervisory personnel of skills required 

of hospice services personnel to carry out 

patient care tasks. The method of verification 

shall be defined in agency policy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-202; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .0604 PATIENT'S RIGHTS AND 

RESPONSIBILITIES 

(a)  A hospice agency shall provide each patient with a written 

notice of the patient's rights and responsibilities in advance of 

furnishing care to the patient or during the initial evaluation visit 

before the initiation of services. The agency shall maintain 

documentation showing that each patient has received a copy of 

his or her rights and responsibilities as defined in G.S. 131E-

144.3. 

(b)  A hospice agency shall provide patients with a business hours 

telephone number for information, questions, or complaints about 

services provided by the agency. The agency shall also provide 

the Division of Health Service Regulation's complaints intake 

telephone numbers: within N.C. (800) 624-3004; outside of N.C. 

(919) 855-4500. The Division of Health Service Regulation shall 

investigate all allegations of non-compliance with the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  A hospice agency shall initiate an investigation within 72 

hours of complaints made by a patient or his or her family. 

Documentation of both the existence of the complaint and the 

resolution of the complaint shall be maintained by the agency, for 

a minimum of one-year, in accordance with hospice agency policy 

and procedures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-202; 

Eff. February 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .0701 CARE PLAN 

(a)  The agency shall develop and implement policies and 

procedures that ensure a written care plan is developed and 

maintained for each patient and family. The plan shall be 

established by the interdisciplinary team in accordance with the 

orders of the attending physician and be based on the assessment 

of the patient's and family's medical, psychosocial, and spiritual 

needs. The patient and family care coordinator shall have the 

primary responsibility for assuring the implementation of the 

patient's care plan. The care plan shall include the following: 

(1) the patient's diagnosis and prognosis; 

(2) the identification of problems or needs and the 

establishment of goals that are appropriate for 

the patient; 

(3) the types and frequency of services required to 

meet the goals; and 

(4) the identification of personnel and disciplines 

responsible for each service. 

(b)  The care plan shall be reviewed by the interdisciplinary team 

members and updated monthly. The interdisciplinary team and 
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other personnel shall meet at a minimum every 15 days for the 

purpose of care plan review and staff support. Minutes shall be 

kept of these meetings that include the date, names of those in 

attendance, and the names of the patients discussed. Additionally, 

entries shall be recorded in the medical records of those patients 

whose care plans are reviewed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-202; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1104 DIETARY SERVICES 

(a)  The hospice shall develop and maintain written policies and 

procedures for dietary services. 

(b)  Dietary services shall be provided directly or through written 

agreement with a food service company. Any written agreement 

shall meet the provisions of Rule .0505 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The hospice shall offer the residents' favorite foods in their 

diets. 

(d)  The food service shall be planned and staffed to serve at least 

three meals throughout the day, timed to meet the needs of the 

residents. No more than 14 hours shall elapse between an evening 

meal which shall consist of three or more menu items, including 

a protein, and breakfast that includes a protein. 

(e)  The hospice shall appoint a staff member trained or 

experienced in nutrition care services to: 

(1) plan menus to meet the nutritional needs of the 

residents; and 

(2) supervise meal preparation and service. 

(f)  Therapeutic diets shall be prescribed by the physician and 

planned by a licensed dietitian/nutritionist or licensed nutritionist. 

(g)  Between-meal snacks from the basic food groups shall be 

offered and be available on a 24-hour basis. 

(h)  The procurement, storage, and refrigeration of food, refuse 

handling, and pest control shall comply with 15A NCAC 18A 

which are hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments, promulgated by the Commission for Public Health.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-202; 

Eff. June 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 14C .0202 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Applicant" means each person identified in 

Section A of the application forms listed in 10A 

NCAC 14C .0203(a). 

(2) "Application deadline" means no later than 5:00 

p.m. on the 15th day of the month preceding the 

month that the review period begins. If the 15th 

day of the month falls on a weekend or a State 

holiday as set forth in 25 NCAC 01E .0901, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments, the 

application deadline is the next business day. 

(3) "Competitive review" means two or more 

applications submitted to begin review in the 

same review period proposing the same new 

institutional health service in the same service 

area and the CON Section determines that 

approval of one application may require denial 

of another application included in the same 

review period. 

(4) "CON Section" means the Healthcare Planning 

and Certificate of Need Section of the Division 

of Health Service Regulation. 

(5) "Full fiscal year" means the 12-month period 

used by the applicant to track and report 

revenues and operating expenses for the 

services proposed in the application. 

(6) "Health service" shall have the same meaning 

as defined in G.S. 131E-176(9a). 

(7) "New institutional health service" shall have 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(16). 

(8) "Person" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in G.S. 131E-176(19). 

(9) "Proposal" means a new institutional health 

service that requires a certificate of need. 

(10) "Related entity" means a person that: 

(a) shares the same parent corporation or 

holding company with the applicant; 

(b) is a subsidiary of the same parent 

corporation or holding company as the 

applicant; or 

(c) participates with the applicant in a 

joint venture that provides the same 

type of health services proposed in the 

application. 

(11) "Review category" means the categories 

described in Chapter 3 of the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan. 

(12) "Review period" means the 90 to 150 days that 

the CON Section has to review a certificate of 

need application and issue a decision pursuant 

to G.S. 131E-185 and G.S. 131E-186. There are 

eleven review periods each calendar year. Each 

review period starts on the first day of the 

month and the first review period starts on 

February 1. There is no review period 

beginning January 1. 

(13) "State Medical Facilities Plan" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(25). 

For purposes of this Subchapter, the annual 

State Medical Facilities Plan is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. This 

document is available at no cost at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ncsmfp/index.htm

l. 

(14) "USB flash drive" means a device used for data 

storage that includes a flash memory and an 

integrated universal serial bus interface. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177; 
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Eff. October 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1990; January 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1996; January 4, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .0203 FILING APPLICATIONS 

(a)  "Application form" refers to one of the following: 

(1) the Certificate of Need Application form; or 

(2) the Dialysis or End Stage Renal Disease 

Services Application form. 

(b)  An application form may be obtained from the CON Section 

by: 

(1) sending an email to 

DHSR.CON.Applications@dhhs.nc.gov; or 

(2) calling (919) 855-3873. 

(c)  An email request for an application form shall: 

(1) describe the proposal; 

(2) identify the city or county where the proposal 

would be located; and 

(3) include the estimated capital cost for the 

proposal. 

(d)  For each proposal, the CON Section shall determine based on 

Chapter 3 of the annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect at 

the time the review begins the: 

(1) review category; and 

(2) review period. 

(e)  An application is complete for inclusion in the review period 

if the CON Section determines that all of the following are true: 

(1) the original application is printed, placed 

between a front and back cover, and bound 

using metal paper fasteners; 

(2) the original and one copy of the application 

were received by the CON Section on or before 

the application deadline for the review period; 

(3) the entire application fee required by G.S. 

131E-182(c) was received by the CON Section; 

and 

(4) each applicant identified in Section A of the 

application form signed the certification page 

that asks the applicant to certify that the 

information in the application is correct and 

they intend to develop and offer the project as 

described in the application. 

(f)  The copy of the application shall be printed and bound 

consistent with Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule or in an 

electronic format saved on a USB flash drive. The files on the 

USB flash drive shall not be encrypted or password protected. 

(g)  No later than the fifth business day following the application 

deadline, the CON Section shall notify the contact individual 

identified in Section A of the application if the application is 

complete. 

(h)  If the application is not complete pursuant to Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule, the CON Section shall notify the contact individual 

identified in Section A of the application of what is missing or 

incorrect. The applicant shall only provide the items listed below 

in order to complete the application after the application deadline: 

(1) a signed certification page; or 

(2) the copy of the application. 

(i)  Signed certification pages or the copy of the application shall 

be received by the CON Section no later than 5:00 p.m. on the last 

business day of the month preceding the first day of the review 

period. 

(j)  The CON Section shall not include the application in the 

review period if it is not complete pursuant to Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule by 5:00 p.m. on the last business day of the month 

preceding the first day of the review period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-182; 

Eff. October 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 15, 1983, for a Period of 118 

Days, to Expire on November 10, 1983; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1990: January 1, 1990; December 1, 

1989; January 1, 1987; October 1, 1984; November 10, 1983; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 11, 1993, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 12, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 16, 2004; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .0205 EXTENSION OF REVIEW 

PERIOD 

(a)  If the review is not expedited, the review may be extended for 

the following reasons: 

(1) the total number of applications, including 

those in other review periods, prevents the CON 

Section from completing the review in 90 days; 

(2) the applicant has not submitted a response to a 

request from the CON Section for clarifying 

information; or 

(3) the CON Section received clarifying 

information from the applicant but is not able to 

complete the review in 90 days. 

(b)  The CON Section shall notify the contact individual identified 

in Section A of the application if the review period is extended. 

Failure to receive such notice prior to the last day of the review 

period does not entitle the applicant to a certificate of need nor 

authorize the applicant to proceed with the proposal in the 

application without a certificate of need. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-185; 
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Eff. October 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1990; January 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .0303 REPLACEMENT EQUIPMENT 

(a)  This Rule defines the terms used in the definition of 

"replacement equipment" set forth in G.S. 131E-176(22a). 

(b)  "Currently in use" means that the equipment to be replaced 

has been used by the person requesting the exemption at least 10 

times to provide a health service during the 12 months prior to the 

date the written notice required by G.S. 131E-184(a) is submitted 

to the CON Section. 

(c)  Replacement equipment is not "comparable" if: 

(1) the replacement equipment to be acquired is 

capable of providing a health service that the 

equipment to be replaced cannot provide; or 

(2) the equipment to be replaced was acquired less 

than 12 months prior to the date the written 

notice required by G.S. 131E-184(a) is 

submitted to the CON Section and it was 

refurbished or reconditioned when it was 

acquired by the person requesting the 

exemption. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; November 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 3, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved operating rooms" means those 

operating rooms that were approved for a 

certificate of need by the CON Section prior to 

the date on which the applicant's proposed 

project was submitted to the CON Section, but 

that have not been licensed. 

(2) "Dedicated C-section operating room" means 

an operating room as defined in Chapter 6 in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan.  

(3) "Existing operating rooms" means those 

operating rooms in ambulatory surgical 

facilities and hospitals that were reported in the 

Ambulatory Surgical Facility License Renewal 

Application Form or in the Hospital License 

Renewal Application Form submitted to the 

Acute and Home Care Licensure and 

Certification Section of the Division of Health 

Service Regulation, and that were licensed prior 

to the beginning of the review period. 

(4) "Health System" shall have the same meaning 

as defined in Chapter 6 in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan. 

(5) "Operating room" means a room as defined in 

G.S. 131E-176(18c). 

(6) "Operating Room Need Methodology" means 

the Methodology for Projecting Operating 

Room Need in Chapter 6 in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan. 

(7) "Service area" means the Operating Room 

Service Area as defined in Chapter 6 in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Eff. November 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Eff. January 1, 1999 Expired on October 12, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2000 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective August 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2002 amends and 

replaces the permanent rule effective August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Rule Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008. 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2103 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to increase the number of operating 

rooms, excluding dedicated C-section operating rooms, in a 

service area shall demonstrate the need for the number of 

proposed operating rooms in addition to the existing and approved 

operating rooms in the applicant's health system in the applicant's 

third full fiscal year following completion of the proposed project 

based on the Operating Room Need Methodology set forth in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect at the time the 

review began. The applicant is not required to use the population 

growth factor. 

(b)  The applicant shall provide the assumptions and methodology 

used for the projected utilization required by this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b); 

Eff. November 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2002 amends and 

replaces the permanent rule effective August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Rule Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2009; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2201 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Dialysis" means the artificially aided process 

of transferring body wastes from a person's 

blood to a dialysis fluid to permit discharge of 

the wastes from the body. 

(2) "Dialysis facility" means a kidney disease 

treatment center as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(14e). 

(3) "Dialysis station" means the treatment area in a 

dialysis facility used to accommodate the 

equipment and supplies needed to perform 

hemodialysis on a single patient. 

(4) "Hemodialysis" means the form of dialysis in 

which the blood is circulated outside the body 

through equipment that permits transfer of 

waste through synthetic membranes. 

(5) "Home hemodialysis" means hemodialysis 

performed in a location other than a dialysis 

facility by the patient after the patient is trained 

in a dialysis facility to perform the 

hemodialysis. 

(6) "In-center hemodialysis" means hemodialysis 

performed in a dialysis facility. 

(7) "Peritoneal dialysis" means the form of dialysis 

in which a dialysis fluid is introduced into the 

person's peritoneal cavity and is subsequently 

withdrawn. This form of dialysis is performed 

in a location other than a dialysis facility by the 

patient after the patient is trained in a dialysis 

facility to perform the peritoneal dialysis. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Eff. September 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; November 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

10A NCAC 14C .2203 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to establish a new dialysis facility for 

in-center hemodialysis services shall document the need for at 

least 10 dialysis stations based on utilization of 2.8 in-center 

patients per station per week as of the end of the first full fiscal 

year of operation following certification of the facility. An 

applicant may document the need for fewer than 10 stations if the 

application is submitted in response to an adjusted need 

determination in the State Medical Facilities Plan for fewer than 

10 stations. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to increase the number of in-center 

dialysis stations in: 

(1) an existing dialysis facility; or 

(2) a dialysis facility that is not operational as of the 

date the certificate of need application is 

submitted but has been issued a certificate of 

need  

shall document the need for the total number of dialysis stations 

in the facility based on 2.8 in-center patients per station per week 

as of the end of the first full fiscal year of operation following 

certification of the additional stations. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to establish a new dialysis facility 

dedicated to home hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis training 

shall document the need for the total number of home 

hemodialysis stations in the facility based on training six home 

hemodialysis patients per station per year as of the end of the first 

full fiscal year of operation following certification of the facility. 

(d)  An applicant proposing to increase the number of home 

hemodialysis stations in a dialysis facility dedicated to home 

hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis training shall document the 

need for the total number of home hemodialysis stations in the 

facility based on training six home hemodialysis patients per 

station per year as of the end of the first full fiscal year of 

operation following certification of the additional stations. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the assumptions and methodology 

used for the projected utilization required by this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2003; January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .3901 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved gastrointestinal (GI) endoscopy 

rooms" means GI endoscopy rooms that were 

approved for a certificate of need by the CON 

Section prior to the date the application was 

submitted but that are not licensed as of the date 

the application is submitted. 
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(2) "Existing GI endoscopy rooms" means GI 

endoscopy rooms that were licensed prior to the 

beginning of the review period. 

(3) "GI endoscopy procedure" means each upper 

endoscopy, esophagoscopy, or colonoscopy 

procedure performed on a patient during a 

single visit to the licensed health service 

facility. 

(4) "Licensed health service facility" means either 

a hospital as defined in G.S. 131E-176(13) or 

an ambulatory surgical facility as defined in 

G.S. 131E-176(1b). 

(5) "New GI endoscopy room" means a GI 

endoscopy room that is not included in the 

inventory of GI endoscopy rooms in the State 

Medical Facilities Plan as of the date the 

application is submitted. 

(6) "Service area" means the county where the 

proposed GI endoscopy room will be 

developed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .3903 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

An applicant proposing to develop a new GI endoscopy room in 

a licensed health service facility shall: 

(1) identify the proposed service area; 

(2) identify all existing and approved GI endoscopy 

rooms owned or operated by the applicant or a 

related entity located in the proposed service 

area; 

(3) provide projected utilization for each of the first 

three full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project for all GI endoscopy 

rooms identified in Item (2) of this Rule; 

(4) project to perform an average of at least 1,500 

GI endoscopy procedures per GI endoscopy 

room during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project in 

the GI endoscopy rooms identified in Item (2) 

of this Rule; and 

(5) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0304 TRAINING AND TECHNICAL 

ASSISTANCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 

Eff. September 15, 1980;  

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0601 GENERAL 

(a)  The definitions contained in G.S. 130A-444 and the following 

definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Abatement Designer" means a person who is 

responsible for planning all phases of an 

asbestos abatement design from abatement site 

preparation through disassembly of all 

abatement area barriers and who meets the 

requirements of Rule .0602(c) of this Section.  

(2) "Abatement Project Monitoring Plan" means a 

written project-specific plan for conducting 

visual inspections and ambient and clearance 

air sampling. 

(3) "Air Monitor" means a person who implements 

the abatement project monitoring plan, collects 

ambient and clearance air samples, performs 

visual inspections, or monitors and evaluates 

asbestos abatement, and who meets the 

requirements of Rule .0602(c) of this Section. 

(4) "Asbestos Abatement Design" means a written 

or graphic plan that is prepared by an accredited 

abatement designer as defined in Subparagraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule and that specifies how an 

asbestos abatement project will be performed. 

An asbestos abatement design shall include, at 

minimum, the following: 

(A) a scope of work and technical 

specifications; 

(B) the asbestos abatement designer's 

signature; and 

(C) the accreditation number. 

(5) "Completion Date" means the date on which all 

activities on a permitted asbestos removal 

requiring the use of accredited workers and 

supervisors are complete, including the 

disassembly of all removal area barriers. 

(6) "Emergency Renovation Operation" means the 

same as defined in 40 CFR Part 61.141 and as 

adopted in Rule .0609 of this Section. 

(7) "Inspector" means a person who examines 

buildings or structures for the presence of 

asbestos containing materials, collects bulk 

samples, or conducts physical assessments of 

the asbestos containing materials, and who 

meets the requirements of Rule .0602(c) of this 

Section. A person whose asbestos inspection 

activities are limited to roofing products is not 

considered an inspector under this definition if 

the person is accredited as a roofing supervisor 

under this Section. 

(8) "Installation" means any building or structure 

or group of buildings or structures at a single 

site under the control of the same owner or 

operator. 

(9) "Management Planner" means a person who 

interprets inspection reports, conducts hazard 

assessments of asbestos containing materials, 
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and prepares written management plans, and 

who meets the requirements of Rule .0602(c) of 

this Section. 

(10) "Nonscheduled Asbestos Removal" means the 

same as nonscheduled renovation operation, as 

defined in 40 CFR Part 61.141, of asbestos 

containing material.  

(11) "Program" means the Health Hazards Control 

Unit within the Division of Public Health. 

(12) "Public Area" means as defined in G.S. 

130A-444(7).  

(13) "Regulated Asbestos Containing Material" 

means the same as defined in 40 CFR Part 

61.141 and as adopted in Rule .0609 of this 

Section. 

(14) "Start Date" means the date on which activities 

begin on an asbestos removal project that is 

permitted pursuant to Rule .0605 of this Section 

and that requires the use of workers and 

supervisors who are accredited pursuant to Rule 

.0602 of this Section, including removal area 

isolation and preparation or any other activity 

which may disturb asbestos containing 

materials. 

(15) "Successfully complete" means that an 

individual has attended the initial or refresher 

training course and passed the course exam 

with a score of 70 percent or higher in 

accordance with Rules .0603 and .0611 of this 

Section and 40 C.F.R. Part 763, Subpart E, 

Appendix C(I)(C)(2). 

(16) "Supervising Air Monitor" means a person who 

meets the requirements of Rule .0602(c) of this 

Section and who prepares a written abatement 

project monitoring plan and implements the 

plan or ensures that the plan is implemented by 

an air monitor working under his or her 

supervision. The supervising air monitor 

directs, coordinates, and approves all activities 

of air monitors working under his or her 

supervision. The supervising air monitor may 

also perform the duties of an air monitor. 

(17) "Supervisor" means a person who is a 

"competent person" as defined in 29 CFR 

1926.1101(b) and who is an "on-site 

representative" as defined in 40 CFR Part 

61.145(c)(8) as adopted in Rule .0609 of this 

Section and who performs the duties specified 

therein. 

(18) "Under the direct supervision" means working 

under the guidance of an individual who is 

accredited pursuant to Rule .0602 of this 

Section and who is responsible for all activities 

performed. 

(19) "Worker" means a person who performs 

asbestos abatement under the direct supervision 

of an accredited supervisor. 

(20) "Working day" means Monday through Friday, 

including any holidays.  

(21) "Class II Asbestos Work" means as defined in 

29 CFR 1926.1101(b).  

(22) "Roofing Worker" means a person whose duties 

regarding asbestos are limited to Class II 

asbestos work involving the removal of roofing 

products that are classified as regulated 

asbestos containing material and who works 

under the direct supervision of a roofing 

supervisor. 

(23) "Roofing Supervisor" means a supervisor as 

defined in Subparagraph (a)(16) of this Rule, 

whose duties regarding asbestos are limited to 

Class II asbestos work involving only roofing 

products that are classified as regulated 

asbestos containing material. This person may 

also perform asbestos roofing inspection 

activities which are limited to roofing products, 

including the collection of bulk samples. 

(24) "Roofing Products" means bituminous built-up 

roofing systems, roofing membranes, asphalt 

shingles, cement shingles, roofing cements, 

mastics, coatings, panels, light weight roofing 

concrete, and flashings. 

(b)  In addition to the rules of this Section, asbestos management 

activities shall comply with the Asbestos Hazard Emergency 

Response Act (AHERA) as defined at G.S. 130A-444(1) and 40 

CFR Part 763, Subpart E and Appendices, which are hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments 

and editions, and available free of charge at: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(c)  For the purposes of this Section, 29 CFR 1926.1101 is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments 

and editions, and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A 5(3); 130A 451; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 8, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1989 for a period of 180 

days to expire on April 30, 1990; 

Temporary Rule Eff. October 28, 1988 for a period of 180 days to 

expire on April 26, 1989; 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; January 1, 1995; October 1, 1994; 

August 1, 1991; February 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0602 ACCREDITATION 

(a)  No person shall perform asbestos management activities until 

that person has been accredited by the Program in the appropriate 

accreditation category, as set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule, except as provided for in G.S. 130A-447(b) and (c). 

(b)  An applicant for accreditation shall meet the requirements of 

the "EPA Model Contractor Accreditation Plan" contained in 40 

CFR Part 763, Subpart E, Appendix C and shall complete the 

applicable training courses approved by the Program pursuant to 

Rule .0603 of this Section and as set forth in this Rule for each 

accreditation category. An applicant applying for roofing worker 
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or roofing supervisor accreditation shall only be required to 

complete the training courses as described under Rule .0611 of 

this Section. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

an applicant, other than for the worker or roofing worker 

categories, shall meet the following: 

(1) an applicant for initial accreditation shall have 

completed an approved initial training course 

for the discipline in which the applicant seeks 

accreditation within the 12 months immediately 

preceding application. If initial training was 

completed more than 12 months prior to 

application, the applicant shall have completed 

an approved refresher training course for the 

discipline in which he or she seeks accreditation 

at least every 24 months from the date of 

completion of initial training to the date of 

application; 

(2) an inspector shall have: 

(A) a high school diploma or equivalent; 

and 

(B) at least three months of experience 

working as an accredited asbestos 

inspector or three months of 

experience working under the direct 

supervision of an accredited inspector. 

(3) a management planner shall have a high school 

diploma or equivalent and shall be an 

accredited inspector, as defined in 

Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule. 

(4) a supervisor or roofing supervisor shall have: 

(A) a high school diploma or equivalent; 

except that this requirement shall not 

apply to supervisors that were 

accredited on November 1, 1989, or 

roofing supervisors that were 

accredited prior to April 1, 1997; and 

(B) at least three months of experience 

working as an accredited asbestos 

supervisor or three months of 

experience working under the direct 

supervision of an accredited 

supervisor. 

(5) an abatement designer shall have: 

(A) a high school diploma or equivalent; 

and 

(B) at least three months of experience 

working as an accredited asbestos 

designer or three months of experience 

working under the direct supervision 

of an accredited abatement designer. 

(6) an air monitor shall work only under an 

accredited supervising air monitor or meet the 

provisions of Part (c)(7)(C) of this Rule. 

However, this requirement shall not apply to the 

owner or operator of a building and his 

employees when performing air monitoring in 

non-public areas. In addition, all air monitors 

shall meet the following requirements: 

(A) Education and Work Experience: 

(i) a high school diploma or 

equivalent; and 

(ii) at least three months of 

experience working as an 

asbestos air monitor or three 

months of experience 

working under the direct 

supervision of an accredited 

air monitor. 

(B) Training Requirements: 

(i) complete a Program 

approved National Institute 

for Occupational Safety and 

Health (NIOSH) 582 or 

Program approved NIOSH 

582 Equivalency Course and 

meet the initial and refresher 

training requirements of this 

Rule for supervisors; 

Program approved project 

monitor refresher course may 

be substituted for the 

supervisor refresher course; 

or 

(ii) meet the initial and refresher 

training requirements of this 

Rule for a Program approved 

five-day project monitor 

course and a Program 

approved annual refresher 

course. 

(7) a supervising air monitor shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(A) Education and Work Experience: 

(i) a high school diploma or 

equivalent; 

(ii) at least three months of 

experience working as an 

asbestos air monitor or three 

months of experience 

working under the direct 

supervision of an accredited 

air monitor.  

(B) Training Requirements: 

(i) complete a Program 

approved NIOSH 582 or 

Program approved NIOSH 

582 Equivalency Course and 

meet the initial and refresher 

training requirements of this 

Rule for supervisors; a 

Program approved project 

monitor refresher course may 

be substituted for the 

supervisor refresher course; 

or 

(ii) meet the initial and refresher 

training requirements of this 
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Rule for a Program approved 

five-day project monitor 

course and a Program 

approved annual refresher 

course. 

(C) Professional Status: 

(i) a supervising air monitor 

who was accredited as an air 

monitor on or after February 

1, 1991, or an air monitor 

accredited prior to that date 

who has not continuously 

maintained accreditation, 

shall be a Certified Industrial 

Hygienist; 

(ii) a supervising air monitor 

who was accredited as an air 

monitor prior to February 1, 

1991, who has continuously 

maintained accreditation 

shall be a Certified Industrial 

Hygienist, Professional 

Engineer, or Registered 

Architect. 

(D) Air monitors with a valid accreditation 

on January 1, 1995 supervising other 

accredited air monitors shall be 

deemed to be accredited supervising 

air monitors for the duration of their 

existing air monitor accreditation. 

(d)  To obtain accreditation, the applicant shall submit to the 

Program: 

(1) a completed application on a form provided by 

the Program, which is available at: 

https://epi.dph.ncdhhs.gov/asbestos/healthaz.ht

ml. A completed application form shall include 

the following information: 

(A) full name;  

(B) address, including city, state, zip code, 

and telephone number; 

(C) date of birth, sex, height, and weight; 

(D) discipline applied for; 

(E) name, address, and telephone number 

of employer; 

(F) training agency attended; 

(G) name of training course completed; 

and 

(H) dates of course attended; 

(2) one 1.25 inch x 1.25 inch color photograph of 

the applicant taken within the preceding six 

months per application with the applicant's full 

name printed on the back of each photograph; 

(3) confirmation of completion of an approved 

initial or refresher training course from the 

training agency. The confirmation shall be in 

the form of an original certificate of completion 

of the approved training course bearing the 

training agency's official seal or an original 

letter from the training agency on training 

agency letterhead that includes the following 

information: 

(A) the name of the course completed; 

(B) the date of course completion; 

(C) the unique certificate number; and 

(D) a list of names for the individuals who 

successfully completed the training 

course, with the applicant's name 

included in that list; 

(4) when education is a requirement in accordance 

with this Rule, a copy of the diploma;  

(5) when work experience is a requirement in 

accordance with this Rule, documentation of 

the applicant's asbestos related work experience 

that includes the following:  

(A) employer name; 

(B) employer address and phone number; 

(C) position(s) held by applicant; and 

(D) dates when the applicant held each 

position; 

(6) when applicants for initial air monitor 

accreditation are working under an accredited 

supervising air monitor pursuant to 

Subparagraph (c)(6) of this Rule, the accredited 

supervising air monitor shall submit an original, 

signed letter acknowledging responsibility for 

the applicant's air monitoring activities. The 

applicant shall ensure that a new letter is 

submitted to the Program any time the 

information in the letter currently on file is no 

longer accurate. 

(e)  All accreditations shall expire at the end of the 12th month 

following completion of required initial or refresher training. 

Work performed after the 12th month and prior to reaccreditation 

shall constitute a violation of this Rule. To be reaccredited, an 

applicant shall have completed the required refresher training 

course within 24 months after the initial or refresher training 

course. An applicant for reaccreditation shall also submit 

information specified in Subparagraphs (d)(1)-(d)(6) of this Rule. 

If a person fails to obtain the required training within 12 calendar 

months after the expiration date of accreditation, that person shall 

be accredited only by meeting the requirements of Paragraphs (b), 

(c), and (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  All accredited persons shall be assigned an accreditation 

number and issued a photo-identification card by the Program. 

(g)  In accordance with G.S. 130A-23, the Program may revoke 

accreditation or reaccreditation for any violation of G.S. 130A, 

Article 19 or the rules in this Section, or upon determining that its 

issuance was based upon incorrect or inadequate information that 

materially affected the decision to issue accreditation or 

reaccreditation. The Program shall also revoke accreditation or 

reaccreditation upon a finding that the accredited person has 

violated any requirement referenced in Rule .0605(e) of this 

Section. A person whose accreditation is revoked because of 

fraudulent misrepresentations or because of violations that create 

a public health hazard shall not reapply for accreditation before 

six months after the revocation and shall repeat the initial training 

course and other requirements as set out in Paragraphs (b), (c), 

and (d) of this Rule. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2021 

1671 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130A-23; 130A-447; 

Temporary Rule Eff. October 28, 1988 for a period of 180 days to 

expire on April 26, 1989; 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1989 for a period of 180 

days to expire on April 30, 1990; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; August 1, 1991; February 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 8, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; January 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0608 TRAINING COURSE 

INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  Any person seeking approval as an instructor for courses 

covered under 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E, Appendix C, Rule 

.0603(a)(3) and .0611 of this Section shall meet the applicable 

requirements listed in this Rule. 

(b)  All training course providers shall submit to the Program the 

following: 

(1) a completed application on a form provided by 

the Program and available at 

https://epi.dph.ncdhhs.gov/asbestos/healthaz.ht

ml. A completed application form shall include 

the following information: 

(A) name, address, and telephone number 

of the applicant; 

(B) name, address and telephone number 

of the training provider that is 

employing the applicant; 

(2) when training course completion is a 

requirement pursuant to Rule .0602 of this 

Section, confirmation of completion of an 

approved training course. The confirmation 

shall be in the form of an original certificate of 

completion of the approved training course or 

the following information:  

(A) the course title; 

(B) dates of the course instruction; 

(C) name(s) of instructor(s); and 

(D) name, address and telephone number 

of the training provider; 

(3) when education is a requirement, a copy of the 

high school diploma or equivalent; 

(4) when work experience is a requirement 

pursuant to Rule .0602 of this Section, 

documentation of the applicant's work history, 

including the following:  

(A) employer name; 

(B) employer address and phone number; 

(C) position(s) held by applicant; 

(D) dates when the applicant held each 

position; and 

(E) copies of any licenses, registrations, 

certifications, or accreditations related 

to the subject matter to be taught; and 

(5) when experience as an instructor is a 

requirement pursuant to Rule .0602 of this 

Section, documentation of instructional 

experience including the following:  

(A) name(s) of the course(s) taught; 

(B) the topic that the applicant taught for 

each course; 

(C) the dates of the courses that the 

applicant taught; and 

(D) the name, address, and phone number 

of each training organization for 

which experience is claimed. 

(c)  Training courses shall include instruction on specific topics 

as follows: 

(1) for the worker and roofing worker courses: 

current best practices; 

(2) for the supervisor and roofing supervisor 

courses: current best practices and techniques 

for asbestos abatement activities; 

(3) for the inspector course: pre-inspection 

planning and review of previous inspection 

records, inspecting for friable and nonfriable 

asbestos containing materials and assessing the 

condition of friable asbestos containing 

materials, bulk sampling and documentation of 

asbestos in schools, recordkeeping and writing 

inspection reports; 

(4) for the management planner course: evaluation 

and interpretation of survey results, hazard 

assessment, developing an operations and 

maintenance plan, recordkeeping for the 

management planner, and assembling and 

submitting the management plan; 

(5) for the abatement designer course: safety 

system design specifications, designing 

abatement solutions, budgeting and cost 

estimation, writing abatement specifications, 

preparing abatement drawings and occupied 

buildings; and 

(6) for the project monitor course: asbestos 

abatement contracts, specifications and 

drawings, response actions and abatement 

practices, air monitoring strategies, conducting 

visual inspections, and recordkeeping and 

report writing. 

(d)  Instructors for topics, hands-on exercises, workshops, or field 

trips covered under 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E, Appendix C shall 

meet the following requirements as applicable: 

(1) For the worker initial and refresher and the 

supervisor initial and refresher courses: 

(A) the applicant shall have completed the 

initial and subsequent refresher 

training course requirements for 

supervisor; and 

(B) the applicant shall meet at least one of 

the following education and asbestos 

work experience combinations: 

(i) If the applicant does not 

possess either a high school 

diploma or equivalent, the 

applicant shall: 
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(I) have at least 1440 

hours experience in 

a worker or 

supervisory 

capacity in a 

contained work 

area; and 

(II) have at least 360 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved worker 

course. 

(ii) If the applicant possesses 

either a high school diploma 

or equivalent, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have at least 960 

hours experience in 

a worker, 

supervisory, or 

consulting capacity 

in a contained work 

area; or 

(II) have at least 240 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved asbestos 

worker or 

supervisor course, 

or other courses that 

provide instruction 

on the occupational 

safety and health 

topics described in 

29 CFR Parts 1910 

and 1926 or 

environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR Parts 50 

through 503, Parts 

700 through 799, 

and Parts 1000 

through 1099.  

(iii) If the applicant possesses at 

least an associate degree 

from an accredited college or 

university, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have at least 480 

hours experience in 

a worker, 

supervisory, or 

consulting capacity 

in a contained area; 

or 

(II) have at least 120 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved asbestos 

worker or 

supervisor course, 

or other courses that 

provide instruction 

on the occupational 

safety and health 

topics described in 

29 CFR Parts 1910 

and 1926 or 

environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR Parts 50 

through 503, Parts 

700 through 799, 

and Parts 1000 

through 1099.  

(2) For the inspector initial and refresher courses: 

(A) the applicant shall have successfully 

completed the initial and subsequent 

refresher training course requirements 

for inspector; and 

(B) the applicant shall meet at least one of 

the following education and asbestos 

work experience combinations: 

(i) If the applicant possesses 

either a high school diploma 

or equivalent, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

experience, 

including asbestos 

inspections in at 

least 1,000,000 

square feet of 

building space in 

the past three years; 

or 

(II) have at least 60 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved inspector 
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course, or other 

courses that provide 

instruction on the 

occupational safety 

and health topics 

described in 29 CFR 

Parts 1910 and 1926 

or environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR Parts 50 

through 503, Parts 

700 through 799, 

and Parts 1000 

through 1099.  

(ii) If the applicant possesses at 

least an associate degree 

from an accredited college or 

university, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

experience, 

including asbestos 

inspections in at 

least 500,000 square 

feet of building 

space in the past 

three years; or 

(II) have at least 40 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved inspector 

course, or other 

courses that provide 

instruction on the 

occupational safety 

and health topics 

described in 29 CFR 

Parts 1910 and 1926 

or environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR Parts 50 

through 503, Parts 

700 through 799, 

and Parts 1000 

through 1099.  

(3) For the management planner initial and 

refresher courses: 

(A) the applicant shall have successfully 

completed the initial and subsequent 

refresher training course requirements 

for management planner; and 

(B) the applicant shall meet at least one of 

the following education and asbestos 

work experience combinations: 

(i) If the applicant possesses 

either a high school diploma 

or equivalent, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

management 

planning experience 

showing at least 25 

management plans 

or reinspection 

reports written in 

the past three years, 

or documented 

experience as the 

management 

consultant for at 

least 25 asbestos 

projects in the past 

three years, or a 

combination of 

management plans 

and projects 

managed; or 

(II) have at least 48 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved 

management 

planner course or 

other courses that 

provide instruction 

on the occupational 

safety and health 

topics described in 

29 CFR Parts 1910 

and 1926 or 

environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR Parts 50 

through 503, Parts 

700 through 799, 

and Parts 1000 

through 1099.  

(ii) If the applicant possesses at 

least an associate degree 

from an accredited college or 

university, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

management 

planning experience 
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showing at least 12 

management plans 

or reinspection 

reports written in 

the past three years, 

or documented 

experience as the 

management 

consultant for at 

least 12 asbestos 

projects in the past 

three years, or a 

combination of 

management plans 

and projects 

managed; or 

(II) have at least 32 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved 

management 

planner course or 

other courses that 

provide instruction 

on the occupational 

safety and health 

topics described in 

29 CFR Parts 1910 

and 1926 or 

environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR Parts 50 

through 503, Parts 

700 through 799, 

and Parts 1000 

through 1099.  

(4) For the project designer initial and refresher 

courses: 

(A) the applicant shall have successfully 

completed the initial and subsequent 

refresher training course requirements 

for abatement project designer; and 

(B) the applicant shall meet at least one of 

the following education and asbestos 

work experience combinations: 

(i) If the applicant possesses 

either a high school diploma 

or equivalent, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

asbestos abatement 

project design 

experience 

including the design 

of at least 12 

asbestos projects in 

the past three years; 

or 

(II) have at least 30 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved abatement 

project designer 

course or other 

courses that provide 

instruction on the 

occupational safety 

and health topics 

described in 29 CFR 

Parts 1910 and 1926 

or environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR Parts 50 

through 503, Parts 

700 through 799, 

and Parts 1000 

through 1099.  

(ii) If the applicant possesses at 

least an associate degree 

from an accredited college or 

university, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

asbestos abatement 

project design 

experience, 

including the design 

of at least six 

asbestos projects in 

the past three years; 

or 

(II) have at least 20 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Program 

approved abatement 

project designer 

course or other 

courses that provide 

instruction on the 

occupational safety 

and health topics 

described in 29 CFR 

Parts 1910 and 1926 

or environmental 
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safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR Parts 50 

through 503, Parts 

700 through 799, 

and Parts 1000 

through 1099.  

(5) For the project monitor initial and refresher 

courses: 

(A) the applicant shall meet the 

qualifications for project designer 

instructor under Subparagraph (d)(4) 

of this Rule or the qualifications for 

supervisor instructor under 

Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule to 

teach the work practice topics of 

asbestos abatement contracts, 

specifications and drawings or 

response action and abatement 

practices; 

(B) the applicant for work practice topics 

of air monitoring strategies, 

conducting visual inspections, and 

recordkeeping and report writing 

shall: 

(i) possess either a high school 

diploma or equivalent; 

(ii) successfully complete a 

Program approved NIOSH 

582 course, Program 

approved NIOSH 582 

Equivalency Course or a 

Program approved project 

monitor course; and 

(iii) have documented asbestos 

air monitoring experience on 

at least six asbestos 

removals. 

(e)  Instructors who teach one or more segments of a training 

course covered under 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E, Appendix C, 

Rule .0603(a) or Rule .0611 of this Section, other than work 

practice topics, hands-on exercises, workshops, or field trips, shall 

meet the following requirements: 

(1) be currently working in the field of expertise in 

which training is conducted; and 

(2) have a minimum of a high school diploma or 

equivalent. 

(f)  Instructors for a Program approved NIOSH 582 or Program 

approved NIOSH 582 Equivalency Course shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) have a high school diploma or equivalent; 

(2) attend a NIOSH 582 training course or a 

Program approved NIOSH 582 Equivalency 

Course; and 

(3) for teaching the NIOSH 7400 Method, have at 

least three months work experience as a 

microscopist performing analysis using the 

NIOSH 7400 Method. 

(g)  Instructors who teach work practice or hands-on topics in 

Program approved roofing worker or roofing supervisor initial or 

refresher courses shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) have a high school diploma or equivalent; 

(2) successfully complete either an initial asbestos 

supervisor or initial asbestos roofing supervisor 

course, and subsequent annual refreshers 

courses; 

(3) successfully complete an initial asbestos 

inspector course; and 

(4) have at least three months' experience as a 

roofing supervisor or asbestos supervisor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-447;  

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0201 INVESTIGATION OF 

VIOLATION OF RULES 

(a)  If any criminal justice agency, school, authorized 

representative acting on behalf of either, or individual is reported 

to be or suspected of being in violation of any of the rules in this 

Chapter, the Commission may take action in accordance with 

Rules .0202 through .0206 of this Section if necessary to correct 

the violation and to ensure that similar violations do not occur in 

the future. 

(b)  Before taking action against an agency, school, or individual 

for a violation, the Standards Division shall investigate the alleged 

violation and present a report of its findings to the Probable Cause 

Committee of the Commission. 

(c)  The Probable Cause Committee shall convene prior to the next 

regular meeting of the Commission, shall consider the report of 

the Standards Division, and shall make a determination as to 

whether or not probable cause exists that the Commission's rules 

have been violated. 

(d)  If it is determined by the Probable Cause Committee that 

probable cause exists, it may: 

(1) direct the Standards Division to conduct a 

further investigation of the alleged violation; 

(2) direct the Standards Division to conduct an 

administrative hearing in the matter, pursuant to 

Rule .0207 of this Subchapter; or 

(3) determine the appropriate sanctions against the 

violator pursuant to the Commission's rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2004; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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12 NCAC 09B .0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE 

SCHOOL DIRECTOR 

(a)  In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each 

Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum 

in accordance with the curriculum standards 

established in this Subchapter; 

(2) Select and schedule instructors who are 

certified by the Commission; 

(3) Provide each instructor with a current 

Commission course outline and all necessary 

additional information concerning the 

instructor's duties and responsibilities; 

(4) Notify each instructor that he or she shall 

comply with the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide and 

provide him or her access to the most current 

version of the Course Management Guide; 

(5) Ensure each instructor utilizes Commission 

approved lesson plans and instructional 

materials; 

(6) Arrange for the availability of appropriate 

audiovisual aids and materials, publications, 

facilities, and equipment for training in all topic 

areas; 

(7) Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any 

supplemental rules and requirements 

determined by the school to be necessary or 

appropriate for: 

(A) effective course delivery; 

(B) establishing responsibilities and 

obligations of agencies or departments 

employing or sponsoring course 

trainees; and 

(C) regulating trainee participation and 

demeanor, ensuring trainee 

attendance, and maintaining 

performance records; 

(8) If appropriate, recommend housing and dining 

facilities for trainees; 

(9) Administer the course delivery in accordance 

with Commission approved lesson plans and 

course management guides; 

(10) Maintain direct supervision, direction, and 

control over the performance of all persons to 

whom any portion of the planning, 

development, presentation, or administration of 

a course has been delegated. The 

comprehensive final examination shall be 

administered by the Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission; and 

(11) Report the completion of each presentation of a 

Commission-certified criminal justice training 

course to the Commission, utilizing forms 

required for submission, which are located on 

the Agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-

and-publications/. 

(b)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Deliver training in accordance with the most 

current version of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide as 

published by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy; 

(2) Schedule course presentation to include 12 

hours of instruction each week during 

consecutive calendar weeks, except that there 

may be as many as three one-week breaks until 

course requirements are completed; 

(3) Schedule only specialized instructors certified 

by the Commission to teach those high-liability 

areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this 

Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as 

assistant instructors or role players; 

(4) With the exception of the First Responder, 

Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous 

Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule 

.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one 

specialized instructor certified by the 

Commission for every six trainees while 

engaged in a practical performance exercise; 

(5) Schedule one specialized instructor certified by 

the Commission for every eight trainees while 

engaged in a practical performance exercise in 

the topical area "Subject Control Arrest 

Techniques;" 

(6) Schedule no single individual to instruct more 

than 35 percent of the total hours of the 

curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course 

presentation; 

(7) Not less than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course, submit to the Commission a 

Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0211. 

The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall 

indicate a requested date and location for the 

administration of the state comprehensive 

exam, and include the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; and 

(B) a copy of any rules and requirements 

for the school. A copy of such rules 

shall also be given to each trainee and 

to the executive officer of each 

trainee's employing or sponsoring 

agency or department at the time the 

trainee enrolls in the course; 

(8) Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by 

the Commission to monitor, a presentation of 

each instructor once during each three year 
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certification period in each topic taught by the 

instructor and prepare a written evaluation on 

the instructor's performance and suitability for 

subsequent instructional assignments. The 

observations shall be of sufficient duration to 

ensure that the instructor is using the 

Instructional System Design model, and that the 

delivery is objective-based, documented by, 

and consistent with a Commission-approved 

lesson plan. For each topic area, the School 

Director's evaluation shall be based upon the 

course delivery observations, the instructor's 

use of the approved lesson plan, and the results 

of the student evaluations of the instructor. For 

probationary instructors, the evaluations 

conducted by another instructor shall be 

prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation (Form F-16) and forwarded to the 

Commission. Based on this evaluation, the 

School Director shall recommend approval or 

denial of requests for General Instructor 

Certification. For all other instructors, these 

evaluations shall be prepared on the Criminal 

Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16), be 

kept on file by the school for a period of three 

years, and shall be made available for 

inspection by a representative of the 

Commission upon request. In the event the 

evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or 

her performance was less than acceptable, the 

School Director shall forward a copy of the 

evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor 

who is evaluating the instructional presentation 

of another instructor shall hold certification in 

the same instructional topic area as that for 

which the instructor is being evaluated; 

(9) Administer or designate a staff person to 

administer course specific tests during course 

delivery: 

(A) to determine and record the level of 

trainee comprehension and retention 

of instructional subject- matter; 

(B) to provide a basis for a final 

determination or recommendation 

regarding the minimum degree of 

knowledge and skill of each trainee to 

function as an inexperienced law 

enforcement officer; and 

(C) to determine subject or topic areas of 

deficiency for the application of Rule 

.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and 

(10) Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a 

school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement 

Training, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include: 

(A) a "Student Course Completion" form 

for each individual enrolled on the day 

of orientation;  

(B) a "Certification and Test Score 

Release" form; 

(C) the "Police Officer Physical Ability 

Test (POPAT) Post-Course" final 

form; and 

(D) Orientation class enrollment roster. 

(c)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the 

School Director shall: 

(1) Schedule course presentation pursuant to Rule 

.0209 of this Subchapter;  

(2) Schedule at least one evaluator for every six 

trainees, as follows: 

(A) no evaluator shall be assigned more 

than six trainees during a course 

delivery; 

(B) each evaluator, as well as the 

instructors, shall have completed a 

Commission-certified instructor 

training course or an equivalent 

instructor training course utilizing the 

Instructional Systems Design model, 

an international model with 

applications in education, military 

training, and private enterprise; and 

(C) each instructor and evaluator shall 

document successful participation in a 

program presented by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy for 

purposes of familiarization and 

supplementation relevant to delivery 

of the instructor training course and 

trainee ; evaluation. 

(3) Not fewer than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the course, submit to the 

Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)] with 

the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; 

(B) the names and last four digits of the 

social security numbers of all 

instructors and evaluators; and 

(C) a copy of any rules, and requirements 

for the school; and 

(4) Not more than 10 days after course completion, 

submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery 

Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the 

following: 

(A) class enrollment roster; 

(B) a course schedule with the designation 

of instructors and evaluators utilized 

in delivery; 

(C) scores recorded for each trainee on the 

70 minute skill presentation; and 
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(D) designation of trainees who completed 

the course in its entirety and whom the 

School Director finds to be competent 

to instruct. 

(d)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, 

or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall: 

(1) select and schedule speed measurement 

instrument instructors who are certified by the 

Commission as instructors for the specific 

speed measurement instruments in which the 

trainees are to receive instruction as follows: 

(A) provide to the instructor the 

Commission form(s) for motor skill 

examination on each trainee; 

(B) require the instructor to complete the 

motor skill examination form on each 

trainee indicating the level of 

proficiency obtained on each specific 

instrument; and 

(C) require each instructor to sign each 

individual form and submit the 

original to the School Director; 

(2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled 

starting date, submit to the Director of the 

Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of 

Speed Measuring Instrument Course 

Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall 

contain a period of course delivery including 

the proposed starting date, course location, 

requested date and location for the 

administration of the state exam, and the 

number of trainees to be trained on each type of 

approved speed measurement instrument. The 

Director of the Standards Division shall review 

the request and notify the School Director 

within thirty business days if the request is 

approved or denied; and 

(3) upon completing delivery of the Commission-

certified course, and not more than 10 days after 

the conclusion of a school's offering of a 

certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-

Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed 

measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall 

notify the Commission regarding the progress 

and achievements of each trainee by submitting 

a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report 

shall include the original motor-skill 

examination form(s) completed and signed by 

the certified instructor responsible for 

administering the motor-skill examination to 

the respective trainee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; April 1, 2009; 

November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; August 1, 

2000; January 1, 1996; November 1, 1993; December 1, 1987; 

January 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0226 SPECIALIZED FIREARMS 

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course for Specialized Firearms 

Instructor Training Certification shall consist of a minimum of 50 

hours of classroom and range instruction plus time required to 

complete the tasks associated with Range Operations presented 

during a continuous period of not more than two weeks. 

(b)  Each Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course shall be 

designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to 

perform the function of a criminal justice firearms instructor in a 

Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) Course or a law 

enforcement officer in-service firearms training program. 

(c)  Each applicant for specialized firearms instructor training 

shall: 

(1) have completed the criminal justice instructor 

training course;  

(2) present a written endorsement by either 

(A) a certified school director indicating 

the student may be utilized to instruct 

firearms in the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course; or 

(B) a department head, certified school 

director, or in-service training 

coordinator, indicating the student 

may be utilized to instruct firearms in 

a law enforcement officer in-service 

firearms training program; and 

(3) Once within 365 days prior to enrollment each 

prospective student shall demonstrate 

proficiency during a qualification administered 

by the North Carolina Justice Academy. To 

successfully complete this qualification each 

prospective student shall achieve a minimum 

score of 92 percent 2 out of 3 times on both the 

BLET Day and Night Courses of Fire while 

using a 'Sam Browne' type belt and security 

holster and agency-issued duty or ballistic-

equivalent ammunition, 

(d)  Each Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course shall 

include the following identified topic areas and minimum 

instructional hours for each area: 

(1) Orientation/Pretest  2 Hours 

(2) Range Operations   2 Hours 

(3) Civil Liability   4 Hours 

(4) Night Firing   2 Hours 

(5) Combat Shooting Classroom and  

Range    8 Hours 

(6) Mental Conditioning  1 Hours 

(7) Shotgun Operation and Firing 4 Hours 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2021 

1679 

(8) Service Handgun - Operation and Use 

    8 Hours 

(9) Rifle - Operation and Maintenance 4 Hours 

(10) Service Handgun - Maintenance  

and Cleaning   2 Hours 

(11) Range Medical Emergencies 2 Hours 

(12) In-Service Firearms Requirements 2 Hours 

(13) BLET Lesson Plan Review 1 Hour 

(14) Range Drills as defined in the Specialized 

Firearms Instructor 

Training Manual and the Specialized Firearms 

Instructor Training 

Course Management Guide 8 Hours 

(15) Completion of tasks associated with Range 

Operations. Completion of tasks associated 

with Instructor Practicums hours determined by 

number of students and instructors: 

(A) Conduct a BLET Day Course of Fire 

(B) Conduct a BLET Night Course of Fire 

(C) Conduct a Long Gun Course of Fire 

(D) Develop a Combat Course of Fire 

(e)  The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual" 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the 

curriculum for the Specialized Firearms Instructor Training 

course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(f)  The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the 

"Specialized Firearms Instructor Training" course is the North 

Carolina Justice Academy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. May 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; February 1, 2013; August 1, 2006; 

August 1, 2000; November 1, 1998; August 1, 1995; February 1, 

1991; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0227 SPECIALIZED DRIVER 

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized Driver 

Instructor Certification shall consist of a minimum of 24 hours of 

classroom instruction plus the time required to conduct the tasks 

as required in the driver practicums based on number of students, 

available facilities, and number of instructors. 

(b)  Each Specialized Driver Instructor Training course shall be 

designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to 

perform the function of a criminal justice driver instructor in a 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or a "Law Enforcement 

Officers' Annual In-Service Training Program." 

(c)  Each applicant for Specialized Driver Instructor Training 

shall: 

(1) have completed the criminal justice general 

instructor training course; 

(2) present a written endorsement by either 

(A) a certified school director indicating 

the student may be utilized to instruct 

driving in Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Courses; or 

(B) a department head, certified school 

director, or in-service training 

coordinator, indicating the student 

may be utilized to instruct driver 

training in the "Law Enforcement 

Officer's Annual In-Service Training 

Program"; 

(3) possess a valid operator driver's license;  

(4) maintain a safe driving record where no more 

than four points have been assigned against the 

driving record within the past three years; and 

(5) Within 365 days prior to enrollment in the 

Specialized Driver Instructor Training course, 

the prospective student shall complete a 

qualification administered by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy or the North 

Carolina State Highway Patrol Training 

Academy requiring the individual to achieve 

minimum scores on the following Basic Law 

Enforcement Training driving course exercises: 

(A) minimum score of 85 percent on 2 out 

of 3 attempts on the Off-set Lane 

Maneuver, Serpentine, and Precision 

Exercise during daylight conditions; 

(B) minimum score of 85 percent on 2 out 

of 3 attempts on the Precision Exercise 

during nighttime conditions; 

(C) minimum score of 85 percent on one 

five-minute attempt during daytime 

conditions and one five-minute 

attempt during nighttime conditions 

on the Emergency Response exercise; 

(D) minimum score of 85 percent on one 

five-minute attempt during daytime 

conditions and one five-minute 

attempt during nighttime conditions 

on the Pursuit Exercise; and 

(E) score 100 percent on 2 out of 3 

attempts on all phases of the Fixed 

Radius Curve and Evasive Action 

Exercises. 

(d)  Each Specialized Driver Instructor Training course shall 

include the following identified topic areas and instructional 

hours for each area: 

(1) Orientation   1 Hour 

(2) Lesson Plan Review (BLET) 6 Hours 

(3) General Mechanical Knowledge 2 Hours 

(4) Before - Operation Inspection 1 Hour 
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(5) Laws of Natural Force & Operating 

Characteristics   3 Hours 

(6) Legal and Operational Considerations for the 

Driver Instructor   4 Hours 

(7) Course Description Packet and Administrative 

Code Review   2 Hour 

(8) Course Review   1 Hour 

(9) Building Driving Courses  4 Hours 

(10) Completion of tasks associated with the Driver 

Practicums. The number of hours required to 

complete this portion of the curriculum shall be 

based on the number of enrolled students, 

available facilities, and number of instructors. 

(e)  The "Specialized Driver Instructor Training Manual" as 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the 

curriculum for Specialized Driver Instructor Training courses. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(f)  Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the 

"Specialized Driver Instructor Training" course are The North 

Carolina Justice Academy and The North Carolina State Highway 

Patrol Training Center. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. May 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; January 1, 2015; February 1, 2013; 

August 1, 2006; February 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; November 1, 

1998; August 1, 1995; February 1, 1991; March 1, 1990; July 1, 

1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0232 SPECIALIZED SUBJECT 

CONTROL ARREST TECHNIQUES INSTRUCTOR 

TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized Subject 

Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Certification shall consist of 

a minimum of 29 hours of classroom instruction plus time 

required to complete the tasks associated with Subject Control 

Arrest Techniques Instructional Methods and Demonstration 

presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks. 

(b)  Each Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques 

Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee 

with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a 

criminal justice Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques 

Instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or a Law 

Enforcement Officers' Annual In-Service Training Program. 

(c)  Each applicant for Specialized Subject Control Arrest 

Techniques Instructor Training shall: 

(1) have completed the Criminal Justice Instructor 

Training course; 

(2) present a letter from a licensed physician stating 

the applicant's physical fitness to participate in 

the course;  

(3) present a written endorsement by either 

(A) a certified School Director indicating 

the student is qualified to instruct 

subject control arrest techniques in 

Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Courses; or 

(B) a Department Head, certified School 

Director, or In-Service Training 

Coordinator indicating the student 

may be utilized to instruct subject 

control arrest techniques for the Law 

Enforcement Officers' Annual In-

Service Training program; and 

(4) Within 365 days prior to enrollment in the 

Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor 

Training course the prospective student shall 

complete the following assessments 

administered by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy: 

(A) a qualification requiring the individual 

to demonstrate 100 percent 

proficiency on the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Subject Control 

Arrest Techniques; and 

(B) achieve at least the 60th percentile on a 

physical fitness assessment. 

(d)  Each Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques 

Instructor Training course shall include the following identified 

topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area: 

(1) Orientation   1 Hour 

(2) Response to Injury  4 Hours 

(3) Combat Conditioning  4 Hours 

(4) Safety Guidelines/Rules  2 Hours 

(5) Fundamentals of Professional  

Liability    4 Hours 

(6) Practical Skills Enhancement 4 Hours 

(7) Student Instructional Practicum 6 Hours 

(8) BLET Lesson Plan Review 4 Hours 

(9) Completion of tasks associated with Subject 

Control Arrest Techniques Instructional 

Methods and Demonstrations. The number of 

hours required to complete this portion of the 

curriculum shall be based on the number of 

enrolled students, available facilities, and 

number of instructors. 

(e)  The "Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques 

Instructor Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina 

Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for the Specialized 

Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training course. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 
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Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(f)  The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the 

"Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor 

Training" course is the North Carolina Justice Academy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1, 

2013; December 1, 2009; August 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; 

November 1, 1998; August 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0233 SPECIALIZED PHYSICAL 

FITNESS INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized 

Physical Fitness Instructor Certification shall consist of a 

minimum of 47 hours of classroom and field instruction, plus the 

tasks associated with Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise 

Programs, and Instructional Methods, presented during a 

continuous period of not more than two weeks. 

(b)  Each Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course 

shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and 

knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice physical 

fitness instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or 

a Law Enforcement Officers' Annual In-Service Training 

Program. 

(c)  Each applicant for specialized physical fitness training shall: 

(1) qualify through one of the following three 

options: 

(A) have completed the criminal justice 

general instructor training course; 

(B) hold a current and valid North 

Carolina Teacher's Certificate, hold a 

baccalaureate degree in physical 

education, and be teaching in physical 

education topics; or 

(C) be presently instructing physical 

education topics in a community 

college, college, or university and 

possess a baccalaureate degree in 

physical education;  

(2) present a written endorsement by either: 

(A) a certified School Director indicating 

the student may be utilized to instruct 

physical fitness in Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Courses; or 

(B) a certified School Director, or In-

Service Training Coordinator 

indicating the student may be utilized 

to instruct physical fitness for the Law 

Enforcement Officers' In-Service 

Training Program;  

(3) present a letter from a physician stating fitness 

to participate in the course; and 

(4) Within 365 days prior to enrollment complete a 

qualification administered by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy requiring the 

individual to: 

(A) complete Scenario #1 of the Police 

Officer Physical Abilities Test 

(POPAT) in no more than six minutes; 

(B) complete Scenario #2 of the POPAT in 

no more than three minutes; and 

(C) complete a physical fitness assessment 

achieve at a minimum percentile score 

of 60. 

(d)  Each Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course 

shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum 

instructional hours for each area: 

(1) Orientation   1 Hour 

(2) Physical Fitness Sessions  6 Hours 

(3) Physical Fitness Assessments,  

Exercise Programs, and Instructional  

Methods    14 Hours 

(4) Injury Care and Prevention 4 Hours 

(5) Nutrition   7 Hours 

(6) Civil Liability   3 Hours 

(7) CVD Risk Factors  3 Hours 

(8) Developing In-Service Wellness Programs and 

Validating Fitness Standards 4 Hours 

(9) Lesson Plan Review  2 Hours 

(10) Exercise Leadership  3 Hours 

(11) Completion of tasks associated with Physical 

Fitness Assessments, Exercise Programs, and 

Instructional Methods. The number of hours 

required to complete this portion of the 

curriculum shall be determined by number of 

students, number of instructors, and available 

facilities. 

(e)  The "Physical Fitness Instructor Training Manual" as 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the 

curriculum for specialized physical fitness instructor training 

courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(f)  The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the 

"Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training" course is the 

North Carolina Justice Academy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 
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Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1, 

2013; December 1, 2009; August 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 

1, 2000; November 1, 1998; March 1, 1990; August 1, 1985. 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0314 CERTIFICATION OF 

DIVERSION INVESTIGATORS AND SUPERVISORS 

(a)  The diversion training courses for investigators and 

supervisors shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge 

to perform the duties of a law enforcement Diversion Investigator 

or Supervisor. The diversion training course for investigators shall 

be 20 classroom hours. The diversion training course for 

supervisors shall be administered in a four hour online training 

course. To be certified as a Diversion Investigator or Diversion 

Supervisor the trainee shall complete the respective diversion 

training course and achieve a minimum score of 70 percent on the 

comprehensive written or online examination. 

(b)  Applications for Diversion Investigator or Diversion 

Investigator Supervisor Certification shall be submitted to the 

Standards Division within 60 days of the date the applicant passed 

the State comprehensive examination administered at the 

conclusion of the Commission-accredited diversion training 

program. Persons having completed the Commission-accredited 

diversion training course and not having submitted the application 

within 60 days of the date the applicant passed the State 

comprehensive examination shall complete a subsequent 

Commission-accredited diversion training course in its entirety. 

(c)  Only a Sheriff, deputy sheriff, or law enforcement officer 

certified or appointed through the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards or North Carolina Sheriffs' 

Education and Training Standards Commissions and employed by 

a law enforcement agency shall be enrolled in a diversion training 

course. A trainee shall not be certified as a Diversion Investigator 

or Diversion Supervisor until the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training course, pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Subchapter, has 

been completed with passing scores and probationary or general 

law enforcement certification has been granted. Sheriffs and 

appointed deputy sheriffs shall be allowed to participate in the 

diversion training courses on a space available basis at the 

discretion of the Diversion Training Course School Director 

without having enrolled in, or having completed with passing 

scores, the Basic Law Enforcement Training course, pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Subchapter and 12 NCAC 09G .0411 and 

without being currently certified in a probationary status or 

holding justice officer certification. 

(d)  Special Agents with the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation deemed Diversion Investigators as of July 1, 2019, 

shall be automatically granted certification under this Rule for a 

period of three years. 

(e)  The "Diversion Training Courses" required for certification, 

authored by the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation and 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy, shall include 

the topic areas as outlined in G.S. 17C-6(a)(19) and is to be 

applied as the basic curriculum for the Diversion Training 

Courses for Diversion Investigator and Diversion Supervisors as 

administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication may 

be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tyron Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17E-4; 90-113.74E; 

Eff. February 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0409 SATISFACTION OF 

TRAINING -- SMI OPERATORS 

(a)  To satisfy the training requirements for operator certification, 

a trainee shall complete all of the following: 

(1) achieve a score of 70 percent correct answers 

on the comprehensive written examination, 

provided for in 12 NCAC 09B .0408(d); 

(2) demonstrate successful completion of a 

certified offering of courses as prescribed under 

12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, 

.0238, .0242, or .0244 as shown by the 

certification of the school director; 

(3) demonstrate 100 percent proficiency in the 

motor-skill and performance subject areas as 

demonstrated to a certified Speed Measurement 

Instrument (SMI) instructor and further 

evidenced through documentation on the 

Commission's SMI forms and by the 

subscribing instructor's certification of trainee 

competence; 

(4) present evidence showing prior North Carolina 

certification in a Commission-certified operator 

training course as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0212 .0213, .0214, .0238, .0242, .0244 or 

present evidence showing prior certification 

that meets or exceeds North Carolina 

certification, or present evidence showing 

completion of 12 hours of supervised field 

practice within 90 days after completing a 

Commission-certified radar operator training 

course as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B .0212 

.0213, .0242, .0244; and 

(5) Individuals applying for SMI operator 

certification may request an extension of the 90 

day requirement to complete the 12 hours of 

supervised field practice required pursuant to 

Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule. The requested 

extension shall not exceed 12 months. The 

Director shall grant the extension request upon 

a showing of just cause. For purposes of this 

Rule, "just cause" means an accident, illness, 

emergency, course cancellation, or other 

exceptional circumstance that prevents the 

applicant from completing the required 

supervised field practice time.  
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(b)  Any trainee failing to achieve 100 percent proficiency in the 

motor-skill area may request written permission from the Director 

of the Standards Division for re-examination. The trainee's 

request for re-examination shall be made in writing and must be 

received by the Standards Division within 30 days of the original 

examination. The trainee's request for re-examination shall 

include the favorable recommendation of the school director who 

administered the course. A trainee shall have, within 90 days of 

the original examination, only one opportunity for motor-skill 

re-examination and must satisfactorily complete each identified 

area of deficiency on the original motor-skill examination. The 

trainee shall be notified by the Standards Division staff of a place, 

time and date for re-examination. If the trainee fails to achieve the 

prescribed score on the examination, the trainee shall not be 

recommended for certification and shall enroll and complete a 

subsequent course offering in its entirety before further 

examination may be permitted. 

(c)  To satisfy the training requirements for operator 

re-certification, an operator seeking re-certification shall: 

(1) Achieve a score of 75 percent correct answers 

on the comprehensive written examination 

provided for in 12 NCAC 09B .0408(e); 

(2) Demonstrate successful completion of a 

certified offering of courses as prescribed under 

12 NCAC 09B .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, 

.0222, .0239, .0240, .0243, or .0245 as shown 

by the certification of the school director; and 

(3) Satisfy all motor-skill requirements as required 

in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

(d)  At the time a trainee seeking operator re-certification fails to 

achieve the prescribed requirements on the comprehensive written 

examination as specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0409(c)(1), 

certification of the officer automatically and immediately 

terminates and that officer shall not be re-certified until successful 

completion of a subsequent course offering as prescribed under 

either 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0238, .0242, or .0244 

before further examination is permitted. 

(e)  At the time a trainee seeking operator re-certification fails to 

achieve the prescribed motor-skill requirements as specified in 12 

NCAC 09B .0409(c)(3), certification of the officer automatically 

and immediately terminates and that officer shall not be re-

certified until successful completion of the required motor-skill 

testing. Provided, however, such an officer may request 

re-examination as prescribed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; May 1, 2004; April 1, 1999; 

December 1, 1987; August 1, 1984; October 1, 1983; April 1, 

1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 5, 2020; 

Emergency Amendment Expired Eff. July 31, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0417 SPECIALIZED EXPLOSIVES 

AND HAZARDOUS MATERIALS INSTRUCTOR 

TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized 

Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Certification shall 

consist of a minimum of 59 hours of classroom instruction plus 

time required to complete Instructor Practicums presented during 

a continuous period of not more than two weeks. 

(b)  Each Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials 

Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee 

with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a 

criminal justice explosives and hazardous materials instructor in 

a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or a Law Enforcement 

Officers' Annual In-Service Training Program. 

(c)  Each applicant for Specialized Explosives and Hazardous 

Materials Instructor Training shall: 

(1) have completed either: 

(A) the criminal justice instructor training 

course; or 

(B) the Fire Service Instructor 

Methodology Course or the equivalent 

utilizing the Instructional Systems 

Design model, an international model 

with application in education, military 

training, and private enterprise; 

(2) present a written endorsement by either: 

(A) a certified school director indicating 

the student will be utilized to instruct 

explosives and hazardous materials in 

Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Courses; or 

(B) a department head, certified school 

director, or in-service training 

coordinator, indicating the student will 

be utilized to instruct explosives and 

hazardous materials training in the 

Law Enforcement Officer's Annual In-

Service Training Program; and 

(3) present a completed OSHA Respirator Medical 

Evaluation Questionnaire, accompanied by a 

statement from a licensed medical professional 

stating the applicant is physically fit to 

participate in the course. 

(d)  Each Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials 

Instructor Training course shall include the following identified 

topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area: 

(1) Orientation   2 Hours 

(2) Introduction to Hazardous Materials 

    1 Hour 

(3) Hazardous Materials Identification 2.5 Hours 

(4) Awareness Level Actions at Hazardous 

Materials Incidents  1.5 Hours 

(5) Chemical Properties and Hazardous Materials 

Behavior   3 Hours 

(6) Incident Management  3 Hours 

(7) Strategic Goals and Tactical Objectives 

    3.5 Hours 

(8) Terrorist and Other Criminal Activity 

    5 Hours 
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(9) Personal Protective Equipment 5 Hours 

(10) Decontamination   5 Hours 

(11) Product Control   4 Hours 

(12) Air Monitoring and Sampling 1.5 Hours 

(13) Victim Rescue and Recovery 4 Hours 

(14) Evidence Preservation and Sampling 

    3 Hours 

(15) Illicit Laboratories  2 Hours 

(16) Introduction to Explosive Devices 1 Hour 

(17) Improvised Explosive Device Anatomy 

    2 Hours 

(18) Packaged Improvised Explosive Devices 

    1 Hour 

(19) Suicide/Homicide Improvised Explosive 

Devices    1 Hour 

(20) Vehicle Borne Improvised Explosive Devices

    1 Hour 

(21) Radio Controlled Improvised Explosive 

Devices with Live Demonstration 5 Hours 

(22) Improvised Explosive Device Threat Response

    1 Hour 

(23) Explosives and Hazardous Materials 

Emergencies and BLET Lesson Plan 

Review    1 Hour 

(24) Completion of tasks associated with Instructor 

Practicums. The number of required hours to 

complete this portion of the curriculum shall be 

based on the number of students and instructors.  

(e)  The basic curriculum for delivery of the Specialized 

Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Training course 

shall be the Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials 

Instructor Training Manual," as published by the North Carolina 

Justice Academy. Copies of these publications may be inspected 

at the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at no cost to the student from the Academy 

at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(f)  The North Carolina Justice Academy is certified to offer the 

Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor 

Training course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0101 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 16, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0102 DEFINITIONS 

15A NCAC 02J .0103 WHO MAY ASSESS 

15A NCAC 02J .0104 WHEN ASSESSABLE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-94, 143-212(6); 

143-213(18); 143-214.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(4); 

143-215.6(A); 143-215.17(b); 143-215.36(b); 143-215.88A; 

143-215.91(a); 143-215.114(a); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1986; November 1, 1978; September 10, 

1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 9, 1988 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on March 8, 1989;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012 (see S.L. 2012-143, s.1.(f)); January 

1, 1991; March 1, 1989; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0106 STANDARDS 

15A NCAC 02J .0107 PROPOSED ASSESSMENT: 

ASSESSMENT: MODIFICATION 

15A NCAC 02J .0108 PAYMENT: HEARING:  

REMISSION/MITIGATION 

15A NCAC 02J .0109 TENDERS OF PAYMENT: 

REMISSION/MITIGATION: HEARING REQUEST 

15A NCAC 02J .0110 REFERRAL 

15A NCAC 02J .0111 REPORTS TO THE 

COMMISSION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-94; 

143-215.3(a)(1),(3); 143-215.6(a); 143-215.17(b); 

143-215.36(b); 143-215.91(a); 143-215.114(a); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1986; June 15, 1980; May 31, 1979; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0201 APPLICABILITY 

The regulations governing "Applicability" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.10 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions, except that: 

(1) underground storage tanks (UST) containing de 

minimis concentrations of regulated substances 

are also subject to the requirements for 

permanent closure in Rules .0802 and .0803 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(2) UST systems that store fuel solely for use by 

emergency power generators installed on or 

after November 1, 2007 shall also meet the 
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requirements of Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0202 INSTALLATION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR PARTIALLY EXCLUDED UST 

SYSTEMS 

The regulations governing "Installation requirements for partially 

excluded UST systems" set forth in 40 CFR 280.11 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments 

and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0203 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The regulations governing "Definitions" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.12 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions, except that: 

(1) "UST system" shall be changed to read "'UST 

system' or 'Tank system' means an underground 

storage tank, connected underground piping, 

underground ancillary equipment, dispenser, 

and containment system, if any"; 

(2) "Class A operator" shall not be incorporated by 

reference; 

(3) "Class B operator" shall not be incorporated by 

reference; 

(4) "Class C operator" shall not be incorporated by 

reference; 

(5) "Replaced" shall not be incorporated by 

reference; and 

(6) "Secondary containment or secondarily 

contained" shall not be incorporated by 

reference. 

(b)  The following definitions shall apply throughout this 

Subchapter: 

(1) "De minimis concentration" means the amount 

of a regulated substance that does not exceed 

one percent of the capacity of a tank, excluding 

piping and vent lines. 

(2) "Director" and "Director of the Implementing 

Agency" means the "Director of the Division of 

Waste Management." 

(3) "Division" means the "Division of Waste 

Management." 

(4) "Expeditiously emptied after use" means the 

removal of a regulated substance from an 

emergency spill or overflow containment UST 

system within 48 hours after use of the UST 

system has ceased. 

(5) "Implementing agency" means the "Division of 

Waste Management." 

(6) "Previously closed" means: 

(A) An UST system from which all 

regulated substances had been 

removed, the tank had been filled with 

a solid inert material, and tank 

openings had been sealed or capped 

prior to December 22, 1988; or 

(B) An UST system removed from the 

ground prior to December 22, 1988. 

(7) "Temporarily closed" means: 

(A) An UST system from which the 

product has been removed such that 

not more than one inch of product and 

residue are present in any portion of 

the tank; or 

(B) Any UST system in use as of 

December 22, 1988 that complies with 

the provisions of Rule .0801 of this 

Subchapter. 

(8) "Secondary containment" means a method or 

combination of methods of release detection for 

UST systems that includes: 

(A) For tank installations or replacements 

completed prior to November 1, 2007, 

double-walled construction and 

external liners, including vaults; 

(B) For underground piping installations 

or replacements completed prior to 

November 1, 2007, trench liners and 

double-walled construction; 

(C) For tank installations or replacements 

completed on or after November 1, 

2007, double-walled construction and 

interstitial release detection 

monitoring that meet the requirements 

of Section .0900 of this Subchapter; 

and 

(D) For all other UST system component 

installations or replacements 

completed on or after November 1, 

2007, double-walled construction or 

containment within a liquid-tight 

sump and interstitial release detection 

monitoring that meet the requirements 

of Section .0900 of this Subchapter. 

Upon written request, the Division 

shall approve other methods of 

secondary containment for connected 

piping that it determines are capable of 

meeting the requirements of Section 

.0900 of this Subchapter. 

(9) "Interstitial space" means the opening formed 

between the inner and outer wall of an UST 

system with double-walled construction or the 

opening formed between the inner wall of a 

containment sump and the UST system 

component that it contains. 
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(10) "Replace" means to remove an UST system or 

UST system component and to install another 

UST system or UST system component in its 

place. 

(11) "UST system component or tank system 

component" means any part of an UST system. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 7, 1991 For a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on July 6, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Expired July 6, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0301 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

FOR UST SYSTEM INSTALLATIONS OR 

REPLACEMENTS COMPLETED AFTER DECEMBER 

22, 1988 AND BEFORE NOVEMBER 1, 2007 

(a)  The regulations governing "Performance standards for new 

UST systems" set forth in 40 CFR 280.20 are hereby incorporated 

by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that: 

(1) 40 CFR 280.20(a)(4) shall not be incorporated 

by reference; 

(2) 40 CFR 280.20(b)(3) shall not be incorporated 

by reference; 

(3) UST system or UST system component 

installations or replacements completed on or 

after November 1, 2007, shall also meet the 

requirements of Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter; and 

(4) Note to Paragraph (d) of 40 CFR 280.20 is 

amended to include Petroleum Equipment 

Institute Publication RP1000, "Recommended 

Practices for the Installation of Marina Fueling 

Systems." 

(b)  No UST system shall be installed within 100 feet of a well 

serving a public water system, as defined in G.S. 130A-313(10), 

or within 50 feet of any other well supplying water for human 

consumption. 

(c)  An UST system existing on January 1, 1991, and located 

within the area described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule may be 

replaced with a new tank meeting the performance standards of 

40 CFR 280.20 and the secondary containment provisions of 40 

CFR 280.42(a) through (d). The replacement UST system shall 

not be located nearer to the water supply source than the UST 

system being replaced. 

(d)  Except as prohibited in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, an UST 

system shall meet the requirements for secondary containment 

described at 40 CFR 280.42(a) through (d): 

(1) Within 500 feet of a well serving a public water 

supply or within 100 feet of any other well 

supplying water for human consumption; or 

(2) Within 500 feet of any surface water classified 

as High Quality Waters (HQW); Outstanding 

Resource Waters (ORW); Water Supply I – 

Natural (WS-I); Water Supply II – 

Undeveloped (WS-II); Market Shellfishing, 

Salt Water (SA). 

(e)  An UST system or UST system component installation 

completed on or after November 1, 2007, to replace an UST 

system or UST system component located within the areas 

described in Paragraphs (b), (c), or (d) of this Rule shall meet the 

requirements of Section .0900 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0302 UPGRADING OF EXISTING UST 

SYSTEMS AFTER DECEMBER 22, 1998 AND BEFORE 

NOVEMBER 1, 2007 

(a)  The regulations governing "Upgrading of existing UST 

systems" set forth in 40 CFR 280.21 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that: 

(1) existing UST systems located within the areas 

described in Rule .0301(b) and (d) of this 

Section shall be upgraded in accordance with 

the provisions of 40 CFR 280.21(b) through (d) 

and shall be provided with secondary 

containment as described in 40 CFR 280.42(a) 

through (d). An UST system upgraded shall not 

be located nearer to a source of drinking water 

supply than its location prior to being upgraded; 

and 

(2) 40 CFR 280.21 Note to Paragraph (b)(1)(ii)(C) 

shall not be incorporated by reference. 

(b)  Owners and operators shall submit notice of the upgrading of 

any UST system conducted in accordance with the requirements 

of 40 CFR 280.21 to the Division, within 30 days following 

completion of the upgrading activity. The notice shall include 

form "UST-8 Notification of Activities Involving Underground 

Storage Tank Systems," which is set forth in Rule .0303(1)(b) of 

this Section. 

(c)  UST systems upgraded in accordance with 40 CFR 280.21 

prior to January 1, 1991, are in compliance with this Rule. 

(d)  An UST system or UST system component installation 

completed on or after November 1, 2007, to upgrade or replace an 

UST system or UST system component described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule shall meet the performance standards of Section 

.0900 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0303 NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

The regulations governing "Notification requirements" set forth 

in 40 CFR 280.22 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding 

any subsequent amendments and editions, except that: 
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(1) Owners and operators of an UST system shall 

submit to the Division, on forms provided by 

the Division, a notice of intent to conduct any 

of the following activities: 

(a) notice of installation of a new UST 

system or UST system component 

shall be in accordance with Rule .0902 

of this Subchapter; 

(b) notice of installation of a leak 

detection device installed outside of 

the outermost wall of the tank and 

piping, such as vapor detection or 

groundwater monitoring devices, shall 

be given at least 30 days before the 

activity begins. The notice shall be 

provided on form "UST-8 Notification 

of Activities Involving Underground 

Storage Tank Systems," which may be 

accessed free of charge at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wast

e-management/underground-storage-

tanks-section/forms. Form "UST-8 

Notification of Activities Involving 

Underground Storage Tank Systems" 

shall include: 

(i) the same information 

provided in Appendix I to 40 

CFR 280, except that 

Sections X (2) and (3), and 

Section XI shall not be 

included on the form; 

(ii) operator identification and 

contact information; 

(iii) number of tank 

compartments and tank 

compartment identity, 

capacity, and product stored; 

(iv) identity of tanks that are 

manifold together with 

piping; 

(v) stage I Vapor Recovery 

equipment type and 

installation date; 

(vi) corrosion protection methods 

for metal flexible connectors, 

submersible pumps, and riser 

pipes; 

(vii) UST system and UST system 

component installation date, 

manufacturer, model, and 

leak detection monitoring 

method; 

(viii) spill containment equipment 

installation date, 

manufacturer, model, and 

leak detection monitoring 

method; 

(ix) overfill prevention 

equipment installation date, 

manufacturer, and model; 

and 

(x) leak detection equipment 

manufacturer and model; 

(c) notice of permanent closure or 

change-in-service of an UST system 

shall be given at least 30 days before 

the activity begins. The notice shall be 

provided on form "UST-3 Notice of 

Intent: UST Permanent Closure or 

Change-in-Service," which may be 

accessed free of charge at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wast

e-management/underground-storage-

tanks-section/forms. Form "UST-3 

Notice of Intent: UST Permanent 

Closure or Change-in-Service" shall 

include: 

(i) owner identification and 

contact information; 

(ii) site location information; 

(iii) site contact information; 

(iv) contractor and consultant 

identification and contact 

information; 

(v) identity of UST systems to be 

permanently closed or that 

will undergo a change-in-

service; 

(vi) for permanent closure, the 

proposed method of UST 

System closure – removal or 

fill in-place; 

(vii) for a change-in-service, the 

new contents to be stored; 

(viii) proposed UST system 

closure or change-in-service 

date; and 

(ix) signature of UST system 

owner; 

(d) notice of a change of ownership of a 

UST system pursuant to 40 CFR 

280.22(b) shall be provided on form 

"UST-15 Change of Ownership of 

UST System(s)," which may be 

accessed free of charge at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wast

e-management/underground-storage-

tanks-section/forms. Form "UST-15 

Change of Ownership of UST 

System(s)" shall include: 

(i) the same information 

provided in Appendix II to 40 

CFR 280; 

(ii) site location information; 

(iii) notarized signature of the 

new owner of an UST 

system; 
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(iv) name and notarized signature 

of the previous owner of an 

UST system; and 

(v) appended information shall 

include documentation of an 

UST system ownership 

transfer such as a property 

deed or bill of sale. A person 

signing the form on behalf of 

another shall provide 

documentation they can 

legally sign in such capacity, 

such as an officer of a 

corporation, administrator of 

an estate, representative of a 

public agency, or as having 

power of attorney. 

(2) Owners or operators who have not complied 

with the notification requirements in 40 CFR 

280.22(a), shall complete the form "UST-8 

Notification of Activities Involving 

Underground Storage Tank Systems" and 

submit the form to the Division. 

(3) Any person who sells a tank intended to be used 

as an UST shall notify the purchaser of such 

tank of the owner's notification obligations in 

Sub-Item (1)(b) of this Rule. 

(4) Any reference in 40 CFR Part 280 to the 

notification form in Appendix I shall refer to the 

North Carolina notification form "UST-8 

Notification of Activities Involving 

Underground Storage Tank Systems." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0304 IMPLEMENTATION 

SCHEDULE FOR PERFORMANCE STANDARDS FOR 

NEW UST SYSTEMS AND UPGRADING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR EXISTING UST SYSTEMS 

LOCATED IN AREAS DEFINED IN RULE .0301(D) 

(a)  The following implementation schedule shall apply only to 

owners and operators of UST systems located within areas 

described in Rule .0301(d) of this Section. This implementation 

schedule shall govern tank owners and operators in complying 

with the secondary containment requirements set forth in Rule 

.0301(d) of this Section for new UST systems and the secondary 

containment requirements set forth in Rule .0302(a) of this 

Section for existing UST systems. 

(1) All new UST systems and replacements to an 

UST system shall be provided with secondary 

containment as of April 1, 2001. 

(2) All steel or metal connected piping and 

ancillary equipment of an UST, regardless of 

date of installation, shall be provided with 

secondary containment as of January 1, 2005. 

(3) All fiberglass or non-metal connected piping 

and ancillary equipment of an UST, regardless 

of date of installation, shall be provided with 

secondary containment as of January 1, 2008. 

(4) All UST systems installed on or before January 

1, 1991 shall be provided with secondary 

containment as of January 1, 2008. 

(5) All USTs installed after January 1, 1991, and 

prior to April 1, 2001, shall be provided with 

secondary containment as of January 1, 2020. 

Owners of USTs located within 100 to 500 feet 

of a public water supply well, if the well serves 

only a single facility and is not a community 

water system, may seek a variance in 

accordance with Paragraphs (d) through (i) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  All owners and operators of UST systems shall implement the 

following enhanced leak detection monitoring as of April 1, 2001. 

The enhanced leak detection monitoring shall consist of the 

following: 

(1) An automatic tank gauging system for each 

UST; 

(2) An electronic line leak detector for each 

pressurized piping system; 

(3) One 0.1 gallon per hour (gph) test per month or 

one 0.2 gph test per week on each UST system; 

(4) A line tightness test capable of detecting a leak 

rate of 0.1 gph, once per year for each suction 

piping system. No release detection shall be 

required for suction piping that is designed and 

constructed in accordance with 40 CFR 

280.41(b)(1)(ii)(A) through (E); 

(5) If the UST system is located within 500 feet of 

a public water supply well or within 100 feet of 

any other well supplying water for human 

consumption, owners or operators shall sample 

the water supply well once per year. The sample 

collected from the well shall be characterized in 

accordance with: 

(A) Standard Method 6200B, Volatile 

Organic Compounds Purge and Trap 

Capillary-Column Gas 

Chromatographic/Mass Spectrometric 

Method, which is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and may be 

obtained at 

http://www.standardmethods.org/ at a 

cost of seventy-five dollars ($75.00); 

(B) EPA Method 625.1, Base/Neutrals 

and Acids, which is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and may be 

accessed free of charge at 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/methods/

cwa/organics/upload/2007_07_10_me

thods_method_ organics_625.pdf; and 

(C) If a waste oil UST system is present 

that does not meet the requirements for 
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secondary containment in accordance 

with 40 CFR 280.42(b)(1) through (4), 

the sample shall also be analyzed for 

lead and chromium using Method 

6010D, Inductively Coupled Plasma-

Optical Emission Spectrometry, 

which is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and may be accessed free of 

charge at 

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/

files/2015-12/documents/6010d.pdf 

or Method 6020B, Inductively 

Coupled Plasma-Mass Spectrometry, 

which is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and may be accessed free of 

charge at 

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/

files/2015-12/documents/6020b.pdf; 

and 

(6) The first sample collected in accordance with 

Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule shall be 

collected and the results received by the 

Division by October 1, 2000, and yearly 

thereafter. 

(c)  An UST system or UST system component installation 

completed on or after November 1, 2007, to upgrade or replace an 

UST system or UST system component as required in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule shall meet the performance standards of Section 

.0900 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  The Environmental Management Commission may grant a 

variance from the secondary containment requirements in 

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule for USTs located within 100 to 

500 feet of a public water supply well if the well serves only a 

single facility and is not a community water system. Any request 

for a variance shall be in writing by the owner of the UST for 

which the variance is sought. The request for variance shall be 

submitted to the Director, Division of Waste Management, 1646 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646. The 

Environmental Management Commission shall grant the variance 

if the Environmental Management Commission finds facts to 

support the following conclusions: 

(1) The variance will not endanger human health 

and welfare or groundwater; and 

(2) UST systems are operated and maintained in 

compliance with 40 CFR Part 280, Article 21A 

of G.S. 143B, and the rules in this Subchapter. 

(e)  The Environmental Management Commission may require 

the variance applicant to submit such information as the 

Environmental Management Commission deems necessary to 

make a decision to grant or deny the variance. Information that 

may be requested includes the following: 

(1) Water supply well location, depth, construction 

specifications, and sampling results; 

(2) Groundwater depth and flow direction; and 

(3) Leak detection monitoring and testing results. 

(f)  The Environmental Management Commission may impose 

such conditions on a variance as the Environmental Management 

Commission deems necessary to protect human health and 

welfare and groundwater. Conditions for a variance may include 

the following: 

(1) Increased frequency of leak detection and leak 

prevention monitoring and testing; 

(2) Periodic water supply well sampling; and 

(3) Increased reporting and recordkeeping. 

(g)  The findings of fact supporting any variance under this Rule 

shall be in writing and made part of the variance. 

(h)  The Environmental Management Commission may rescind a 

variance that was previously granted if the Environmental 

Management Commission discovers through inspection or 

reporting that the conditions of the variance are not met or that the 

facts no longer support the conclusions in Subparagraphs (d)(1) 

and (2) of this Rule. 

(i)  An owner of an UST system who is aggrieved by a decision 

of the Environmental Management Commission to deny or 

rescind a variance or to conditionally grant a variance may 

commence a contested case by filing a petition pursuant to G.S. 

150B-23 within 60 days after receipt of the decision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-

282(a)(2)(h); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; June 1, 2015; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0401 SPILL AND OVERFILL 

CONTROL 

The regulations governing "Spill and overfill control" set forth in 

40 CFR 280.30 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding 

any subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0402 OPERATION AND 

MAINTENANCE OF CORROSION PROTECTION 

The regulations governing "Operation and maintenance of 

corrosion protection" set forth in 40 CFR 280.31 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments 

and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0403 COMPATIBILITY 

The regulations governing "Compatibility" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.32 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0404 REPAIRS ALLOWED 

The regulations governing "Repairs Allowed" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.33 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions, except that the first 

sentence of 40 CFR 280.33(d) shall be read: "Repairs to secondary 

containment areas of tanks and piping used for interstitial 

monitoring and to containment sumps used for interstitial 

monitoring of piping shall have the secondary containment tested 

for tightness as directed by the Division within 30 days following 

the date of completion of the repair." When determining the 

required test method, the Division may consider the following: 

(1) installation date of the repaired UST system 

component; 

(2) test methods that are third-party certified as 

being capable of detecting a 0.10 gallon per 

hour leak rate with a probability of detection 

(Pd) of at least 95 percent and a probability of 

false alarm (Pfa) of no more than 5 percent; 

(3) codes of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association; 

(4) written manufacturer's guidelines for 

installation testing and testing after repairs are 

conducted; and 

(5) test methods developed by an independent 

laboratory. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0405 REPORTING AND 

RECORDKEEPING 

(a)  The regulations governing "Reporting and recordkeeping" set 

forth in 40 CFR 280.34 are hereby incorporated by reference, 

excluding any subsequent amendments and editions. 

(b)  Owners and operators shall submit to the Division, within 30 

days following completion, results of the site investigation 

conducted: 

(1) at permanent closure or change-in-service. The 

results of the site investigation for permanent 

closure or change-in-service shall be reported in 

a format that includes the following: 

(A) site location information; 

(B) identification and contact information 

for the owner, operator, property 

owner, consultant, contractor, and 

analytical laboratory; 

(C) the same information provided in 

Appendix I to 40 CFR Part 280, 

Section X; 

(D) information about any release 

discovered, including discovery date, 

estimated quantity of petroleum or 

hazardous substance released, and the 

cause and source; 

(E) information about any previous 

releases at the site, including owner or 

operator at the time of the release, 

source, cause, and location relative to 

the current release; 

(F) description of site characteristics, such 

as use of the site and surrounding area, 

drinking water supplies, presence and 

location of water supply wells and 

surface water, depth to and nature of 

bedrock, depth to groundwater, and 

direction of groundwater flow; 

(G) date of permanent closure or change-

in-service of an UST system and last 

contents stored; 

(H) procedures and methods used to clean 

an UST system prior to permanent 

closure or change-in-service; 

(I) procedures and methods used to 

permanently close an UST system; 

(J) description of condition of tank, 

piping, and dispenser; 

(K) documentation of disposal of tank and 

its contents; 

(L) description of condition of excavation, 

volume of soil excavation, soil type 

encountered, type and source of 

backfill used, and any groundwater, 

free product, or bedrock encountered 

in the excavation; 

(M) method of temporary storage, 

sampling, and treatment or disposal of 

excavated soil; 

(N) procedures and methods used for 

sample collection, field screening, and 

laboratory analysis; 

(O) quality assurance and quality control 

procedures and methods for 

decontamination of field and sampling 

equipment and for sample handling, 

preservation, and transportation; 

(P) field screening results and analytical 

results for samples collected, 

comparison of analytical results to 

standards set forth in 15A NCAC 02L, 

and the presence and quantity of any 

free product; and 

(Q) maps and figures showing the site and 

surrounding topography, current and 

former UST system locations, surface 

water, water supply wells, monitoring 

wells, types and locations of samples, 

analytical results for samples, ground 

water flow direction, geologic boring 
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logs, and monitoring well construction 

specifications; or 

(2) to ensure compliance with the requirements for 

installation of vapor monitoring and 

groundwater monitoring devices, as specified 

in 40 CFR 280.43(e)(1) through (e)(4) and 

280.43(f)(1) through (f)(5), respectively. The 

site investigation shall be conducted in 

accordance with Rule .0504 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Owners shall submit to the Division, on forms provided by 

the Division and within 30 days following completion: 

(1) A description of the upgrading of any UST 

system conducted in accordance with 

requirements of 40 CFR 280.21. The 

description of upgrading shall be provided on 

form "UST-8 Notification of Activities 

Involving Underground Storage Tank 

Systems," which is set forth in Rule .0303(1)(b) 

of this Section; 

(2) Certification of the proper operation of a 

corrosion protection system upon completion of 

testing in compliance with 40 CFR 280.31; and 

(A) Certification of proper operation and 

testing of a galvanic corrosion 

protection system shall be provided on 

form "UST-7A Cathodic Protection 

System Evaluation for Galvanic 

(Sacrificial Anode) Systems," which 

may be accessed free of charge at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wast

e-management/underground-storage-

tanks-section/forms. Form "UST-7A 

Cathodic Protection System 

Evaluation for Galvanic (Sacrificial 

Anode) Systems" shall include: 

(i) owner identification and 

contact information; 

(ii) site location information; 

(iii) reason that a corrosion 

protection system was 

evaluated, including a routine 

test within six months of 

corrosion protection system 

installation, a routine test 

every three years following 

corrosion protection system 

installation, or a test 

following a repair or 

modification; 

(iv) corrosion protection tester's 

name, contact information, 

corrosion protection tester 

certification number, 

certifying organization, and 

certification type; 

(v) corrosion protection tester's 

evaluation, including pass, 

fail, or inconclusive; 

(vi) corrosion expert's name, 

address, contact information, 

National Association of 

Corrosion Engineers 

International Institute 

certification number, and 

certification type or 

Professional Engineer 

number, state, and specialty; 

(vii) corrosion expert's evaluation, 

including pass or fail; 

(viii) criteria for evaluation, 

including 850 millivolt on, 

850 millivolt instant off, or 

100 millivolt polarization; 

(ix) action required as a result of 

the evaluation, including 

none, or repair and retest; 

(x) description of UST system, 

including tank identity, 

product stored, tank capacity, 

tank and piping construction 

material, and presence of 

metal flexible connectors; 

(xi) description of any repair or 

modification made to the 

corrosion protection system; 

(xii) site drawing, including the 

UST systems, on-site 

buildings, adjacent streets, 

anodes and wires, reference 

electrode placement, and test 

stations; 

(xiii) corrosion protection 

continuity survey, including 

location of fixed remote 

reference electrode 

placement, structures 

evaluated using fixed remote 

instant-off voltages or point-

to-point voltage differences, 

and if structures are 

continuous or isolated; and 

(xiv) corrosion protection system 

survey, including locations of 

remote reference electrode, 

structure evaluated, structure 

contact point, local reference 

cell placement, local voltage, 

remote voltage, and if tested 

structure passed, failed, or 

was inconclusive relative to 

the criteria for evaluation. 

(B) Certification of proper operation and 

testing of an impressed current 

corrosion protection system shall be 

provided on form "UST-7B Cathodic 

Protection System Evaluation for 

Impressed Current Systems," which 
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may be accessed free of charge at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wast

e-management/underground-storage-

tanks-section/forms. Form "UST-7B 

Cathodic Protection System 

Evaluation for Impressed Current 

Systems" shall include: 

(i) owner identification and 

contact information; 

(ii) site location information; 

(iii) reason that a corrosion 

protection system was 

evaluated, including a routine 

test within six months of 

corrosion protection system 

installation, a routine test 

every three years following 

corrosion protection system 

installation, or a test 

following a repair or 

modification; 

(iv) corrosion protection tester's 

name, contact information, 

corrosion protection tester 

certification number, 

certifying organization, and 

certification type; 

(v) corrosion protection tester's 

evaluation, including pass, 

fail, or inconclusive; 

(vi) corrosion expert's name, 

address, contact information, 

National Association of 

Corrosion Engineers 

International Institute 

certification number, and 

certification type or 

Professional Engineer 

number, state, and specialty; 

(vii) corrosion expert's evaluation, 

including pass or fail; 

(viii) criteria for evaluation, 

including 850 millivolt 

instant off or 100 millivolt 

polarization; 

(ix) action required as a result of 

the evaluation, including 

none or repair and retest; 

(x) description of UST system, 

including tank identity, 

product stored, tank capacity, 

tank and piping construction 

material, and presence of 

metal flexible connectors; 

(xi) impressed current rectifier 

data, including rectifier 

manufacturer, model, serial 

number, rated DC output, 

shunt size, shunt factor, hour 

meter, tap settings, DC 

output (gauge), and DC 

output (multimeter); 

(xii) impressed current positive 

and negative circuit 

measurements; 

(xiii) description of any repair or 

modifications made to the 

corrosion protection system; 

(xiv) site drawing, including the 

UST systems, on-site 

buildings, adjacent streets, 

anodes and wires, reference 

electrode placement, and test 

stations; 

(xv) corrosion protection 

continuity survey, including 

location of fixed remote 

reference electrode 

placement, structures 

evaluated using fixed remote 

instant-off voltages or point-

to-point voltage differences, 

and if structures are 

continuous or isolated; and 

(xvi) corrosion protection system 

survey, including structure 

evaluated, structure contact 

point, reference cell 

placement, on voltage, 

instant off voltage, 100 

millivolt polarization ending 

voltage and voltage change, 

and if the tested structure 

passed or failed relative to 

the criteria for evaluation. 

(3) Certification of compliance with the 

requirements for leak detection specified in 40 

CFR 280.40, 40 CFR 280.41, 40 CFR 280.42, 

40 CFR 280.43, and 40 CFR 280.44. The 

certification shall specify the leak detection 

method and date of compliance for each UST. 

The certification of compliance with leak 

detection requirements shall be provided on 

form "UST-8 Notification of Activities 

Involving Underground Storage Tank 

Systems," which is set forth in Rule .0303(1)(b) 

of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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15A NCAC 02N .0406 PERIODIC TESTING OF SPILL 

PREVENTION EQUIPMENT AND CONTAINMENT 

SUMPS USED FOR INTERSTITIAL MONITORING OF 

PIPING AND PERIODIC INSPECTION OF OVERFILL 

PREVENTION EQUIPMENT 

The regulations governing "Periodic testing of spill prevention 

equipment and containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring 

of piping and periodic inspection of overfill prevention 

equipment" set forth in 40 CFR 280.35 are hereby incorporated 

by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that: 

(1) UST system or UST system component 

installations or replacements completed on or 

after November 1, 2007, shall meet the 

requirements of Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) 40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii)(C) shall be rewritten as 

follows: (C) Requirements determined by the 

Division to be no less protective of human 

health and the environment than the 

requirements listed in Paragraphs (a)(1)(ii)(A) 

and (B) of this section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0501 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ALL UST SYSTEMS 

The regulations governing "General requirements for all UST 

systems" set forth in 40 CFR 280.40 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0502 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

PETROLEUM UST SYSTEMS 

The regulations governing "Requirements for petroleum UST 

systems" set forth in 40 CFR 280.41 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that UST systems located within areas described in Rule 

.0301(d) of this Subchapter shall meet the requirements for 

secondary containment described at 40 CFR 280.42(a) through (d) 

if the UST system installation or replacement was completed 

before November 1, 2007. UST system or UST system component 

installations or replacements completed on or after November 1, 

2007, shall meet the secondary containment requirements of 

Section .0900 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

15A NCAC 02N .0503 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE UST SYSTEMS 

The regulations governing "Requirements for hazardous 

substance UST systems" set forth in 40 CFR 280.42 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments 

and editions, except that hazardous substance UST systems or 

UST system components installed or replacements completed on 

or after November 1, 2007, shall meet the secondary containment 

requirements of Section .0900 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0504 METHODS OF RELEASE 

DETECTION FOR TANKS 

(a)  The regulations governing "Methods of release detection for 

tanks" set forth in 40 CFR 280.43 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that 40 CFR 280.43(f)(3), (f)(4), and (f)(5) shall not be 

adopted by reference. 

(b)  Wells used for monitoring or testing for free product in the 

groundwater shall be: 

(1) located in the excavation zone or as near to it as 

technically feasible and installed in a borehole 

at least four inches larger than the diameter of 

the casing; 

(2) a minimum of two inches in diameter; 

(3) installed such that a release from any portion of 

the UST will be detected; 

(4) equipped with a screen that extends from two 

feet below land surface to a depth of 20 feet 

below land surface or two feet below the 

seasonal low water level, whichever is 

shallower. The screen shall be designed and 

installed to prevent the migration of natural 

soils or filter pack into the well while allowing 

the entry of regulated substances into the well 

under both high and low groundwater level 

conditions; 

(5) surrounded with clean sand or gravel to the top 

of the screen, plugged and grouted the 

remaining distance to finished grade with 

cement grout; 

(6) constructed of a permanent casing and screen 

material that is inert to the stored substance and 

is corrosion resistant; 

(7) developed upon completion of installation until 

the water is clear and sediment free; 

(8) protected with a water-tight cover and lockable 

cap; 

(9) labeled as a liquid monitor well; and 

(10) equipped with a liquid leak detection device 

operating on an uninterrupted basis; or 

(A) For tanks storing petroleum products, 

tested at least once every 14 days with 

a device or hydrocarbon-sensitive 
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paste capable of detecting the liquid 

stored; or 

(B) For tanks storing hazardous 

substances, sampled and tested at least 

once every 14 days for the presence of 

the stored substance. 

(c)  Wells used for monitoring or testing for free product in the 

groundwater at new installations and constructed in accordance 

with Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be deemed to be permitted in 

accordance with the requirements of 15A NCAC 02C .0105. 

(d)  Any person completing or abandoning any well used for 

testing of vapors or monitoring for free product in the 

groundwater shall submit the report required by 15A NCAC 02C 

.0114(b). 

(e)  Wells used for monitoring for the presence of vapors in the 

soil gas of the excavation zone shall be equipped with a vapor 

detection device operating on an uninterrupted basis or tested at 

least once every 14 days for vapors of the substance stored. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0505 METHODS OF RELEASE 

DETECTION FOR PIPING 

The regulations governing "Methods of release detection for 

piping" set forth in 40 CFR 280.44 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0506 RELEASE DETECTION 

RECORDKEEPING 

The regulations governing "Release detection recordkeeping" set 

forth in 40 CFR 280.45 are hereby incorporated by reference, 

excluding any subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0601 REPORTING OF SUSPECTED 

RELEASES 

The regulations governing "Reporting of suspected releases" set 

forth in 40 CFR 280.50 are hereby incorporated by reference, 

excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, except that 

the words "or another reasonable period specified by the 

implementing agency," shall be deleted from the first sentence. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0602 INVESTIGATION DUE TO 

OFF-SITE IMPACTS 

The regulations governing "Investigation due to off-site impacts" 

set forth in 40 CFR 280.51 are hereby incorporated by reference, 

excluding any subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0603 RELEASE INVESTIGATION 

AND CONFIRMATION STEPS 

The regulations governing "Release investigation and 

confirmation steps" set forth in 40 CFR 280.52 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments 

and editions, except that in 40 CFR 280.52 the words "or another 

reasonable time period specified by the implementing agency" 

shall not be adopted by reference. Upon written request, the 

Division may grant additional time to investigate and confirm 

suspected releases as specified in 40 CFR 280.53. The request 

shall be made to the Division prior to the expiration of the required 

time period. When considering such a request, the Division may 

consider factors as follows: 

(1) the extent to which the request for additional 

time is due to factors outside of the control of 

the tank owner or operator; 

(2) the previous history of the tank owner or 

operator submitting the report in complying 

with deadlines established under the 

Commission's rules; 

(3) the technical complications associated with 

investigating and confirming suspected 

releases; and 

(4) the necessity for action to eliminate an 

imminent threat to public health or the 

environment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0604 REPORTING AND CLEANUP OF 

SPILLS AND OVERFILLS 

The regulations governing "Reporting and cleanup of spills and 

overfills" set forth in 40 CFR 280.53 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that: 

(1) in 40 CFR 280.53(a) the words "or another 

reasonable time period specified by the 

implementing agency" shall not be adopted by 

reference; 
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(2) in 40 CFR 280.53(b) the words "or another 

reasonable time period established by the 

implementing agency" shall not be adopted by 

reference; 

(3) in 40 CFR 280.53(a)(1) and (b), the words, "or 

another reasonable amount specified by the 

implementing agency" shall not be adopted by 

reference; and 

(4) upon written request, the Division may grant 

additional time to submit the reports specified 

in 40 CFR 280.53. The request shall be made to 

the Division prior to the expiration of the 

required time period. When considering such a 

request, the Division may consider factors as 

follows: 

(a) the extent to which the request for 

additional time is due to factors 

outside of the control of the tank 

owner or operator; 

(b) the previous history of the tank owner 

or operator submitting the report in 

complying with deadlines established 

under the Commission's rules; 

(c) the technical complications associated 

with reporting and cleanup of spills 

and overfills; and 

(d) the necessity for action to eliminate an 

imminent threat to public health or the 

environment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0701 GENERAL 

(a)  The regulations governing "General" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.60 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(b)  Any corrective action undertaken in accordance with this 

Section shall meet the requirements and standards specified in 

15A NCAC 02L. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 2, 1998; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; October 29, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0702 INITIAL RESPONSE 

The regulations governing "Initial response" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.61 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions, except that the words "or 

within another reasonable period of time determined by the 

implementing agency" in the first sentence shall not be adopted 

by reference. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0703 INITIAL ABATEMENT 

MEASURES AND SITE CHECK 

The regulations governing "Initial abatement measures and site 

check" set forth in 40 CFR 280.62 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that: 

(1) 40 CFR 280.62(a)(6) shall read, "Investigate to 

determine the possible presence of free product 

and begin free product removal within 14 days 

in accordance with 40 CFR 280.64." Upon 

written request, the Division may grant 

additional time to begin free product removal. 

The request shall be made to the Division prior 

to the expiration of the required time period. 

When considering such a request, the Division 

may consider factors as follows: 

(a) the extent to which the request for 

additional time is due to factors 

outside of the control of the tank 

owner or operator; 

(b) the previous history of the tank owner 

or operator submitting the report in 

complying with deadlines established 

under the Commission's rules; 

(c) the technical complications associated 

with free product removal; and 

(d) the necessity for action to eliminate an 

imminent threat to public health or the 

environment; and 

(2) In 40 CFR 280.62(b) the words, "or within 

another reasonable period of time determined 

by the implementing agency," shall not be 

adopted by reference. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0704 INITIAL SITE 

CHARACTERIZATION 

The regulations governing "Initial site characterization" set forth 

in 40 CFR 280.63 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding 

any subsequent amendments and editions, except that in 40 CFR 

280.63(b) the words "or another reasonable period of time 

determined by the implementing agency" shall not be adopted by 

reference. Upon written request, the Division may grant 

additional time to submit the information collected in compliance 

with 40 CFR 280.63(a). The request shall be made to the Division 

prior to the expiration of the required time period. When 

considering such a request, the Division may consider factors as 

follows: 
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(1) the extent to which the request for additional 

time is due to factors outside of the control of 

the tank owner or operator; 

(2) the previous history of the tank owner or 

operator submitting the report in complying 

with deadlines established under the 

Commission's rules; 

(3) the technical complications associated with an 

initial site characterization; and 

(4) the necessity for action to eliminate an 

imminent threat to public health or the 

environment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0705 FREE PRODUCT REMOVAL 

The regulations governing "Free product removal" set forth in 40 

CFR 280.64 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0706 INVESTIGATIONS FOR SOIL 

AND GROUNDWATER CLEANUP 

The regulations governing "Investigations for soil and 

groundwater cleanup" set forth in 40 CFR 280.65 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments 

and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0707 CORRECTIVE ACTION PLAN 

The regulations governing "Corrective action plan" set forth in 40 

CFR 280.66 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions, except that 40 CFR 

280.66(a) shall read: "After reviewing the information submitted 

in compliance with 40 CFR 280.61 through 40 CFR 280.63, the 

Division may require owners and operators to submit additional 

information or to develop and submit a corrective action plan for 

responding to contaminated soils and groundwater. If a plan is 

required, owners and operators shall prepare a plan in accordance 

with the requirements specified in 15A NCAC 02L." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 2, 1998; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; October 29, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0708 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION 

The regulations governing "Public participation" set forth in 40 

CFR 280.67 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0801 TEMPORARY CLOSURE 

The regulations governing "Temporary closure" set forth in 40 

CFR 280.70 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0802 PERMANENT CLOSURE AND 

CHANGES-IN-SERVICE 

The regulations governing "Permanent closure and 

changes-in-service" set forth in 40 CFR 280.71 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments 

and editions, except that an UST system containing de minimis 

concentrations of a regulated substance shall meet the closure 

requirements of this Rule within 12 months of January 1, 1991. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0803 ASSESSING THE SITE AT 

CLOSURE OR CHANGE-IN-SERVICE 

The regulations governing "Assessing the site at closure or 

change-in-service" set forth in 40 CFR 280.72 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments 

and editions, except that: 

(1) references to methods and requirements shall 

include all applicable references and methods 

listed in 15A NCAC 02N .0504; and 

(2) the number and location of samples and method 

of their collection shall be determined in 

accordance with procedures established by the 

Division. In establishing procedures, the 

Division may consider factors such as: 

(a) dimensions of the USTs; 

(b) type of products stored in the USTs; 

(c) method of closure; 
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(d) type of and length of associated 

product lines; 

(e) number of associated dispensers; 

(f) number of associated containment 

sumps; 

(g) methods of field sample analysis and 

laboratory sample analysis; 

(h) potential for vapor intrusion; 

(i) proximity to surface waters; and 

(j) site conditions such as site geology 

and hydrology. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0804 APPLICABILITY TO 

PREVIOUSLY CLOSED UST SYSTEMS 

The regulations governing "Applicability to previously closed 

UST systems" set forth in 40 CFR 280.73 are hereby incorporated 

by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0805 CLOSURE RECORDS 

The regulations governing "Closure records" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.74 are hereby incorporated by reference, excluding any 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15);  

143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0901 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  This Section applies to a UST system or UST system 

component installation or replacement completed on or after 

November 1, 2007. 

(b)  A UST system or UST system component shall not be 

installed or replaced within an area defined in Rule .0301(b) of 

this Subchapter. 

(c)  A tank shall meet the requirements for secondary containment 

including interstitial release detection monitoring in accordance 

with this Rule. 

(d)  All UST system components other than tanks including 

connected piping, underground ancillary equipment, dispensers, 

line leak detectors, submersible pumps, spill buckets, siphon bars, 

and remote fill pipes shall meet the requirements for secondary 

containment including interstitial release detection monitoring in 

accordance with this Rule. Gravity-fed vertical fill pipes, vapor 

recovery, vent lines, and containment sumps are excluded from 

the secondary containment requirements in this Rule. 

(e)  A UST system design is required for installation or 

replacement of a UST system, UST, or connected piping. If 

required by G.S. 89C, UST system designs must be prepared by a 

Professional Engineer licensed by the North Carolina Board of 

Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors. 

[Note: The North Carolina Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors has determined via letter dated December 20, 1993, 

that preparation of a UST system design constitutes practicing 

engineering under G.S. 89C.] 

(f)  If required by the equipment manufacturer, persons installing, 

replacing or repairing UST systems or UST system components 

must be trained and certified by the equipment manufacturer or 

the equipment manufacturer's authorized representative to install, 

replace or repair such equipment. 

(g)  UST systems or UST system components shall be installed, 

tested, operated, and maintained in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications and the codes of practice, and 

industry standards described in Rule .0907 of this Section. 

(h)  UST systems or UST system components shall not be 

installed or replaced in areas where they will be in contact with 

contaminated soil or free product. 

(i)  Secondary containment systems shall be designed, 

constructed, installed and maintained to: 

(1) detect the failure of the inner wall and outer 

wall for UST system components with double 

wall construction; 

(2) contain regulated substances released from a 

UST system until they are detected and 

removed; 

(3) prevent a release of regulated substances to the 

environment outside of the containment 

system; 

(4) direct releases to a monitoring point or points; 

(5) provide a release detection monitoring device 

or monitoring method for the interstitial space; 

(6) on an uninterrupted basis, monitor the inner and 

outer walls of double-walled tanks for breaches 

of integrity using pressure, vacuum or 

hydrostatic monitoring methods or monitor the 

interstitial space of double-walled tanks for 

releases using an electronic liquid detecting 

sensor method along with periodic testing as 

specified in Rule .0903(f) of this Section; 

(7) on an uninterrupted basis, monitor the inner and 

outer walls of double-walled non-tank 

components for breaches of integrity using 

pressure, vacuum, or hydrostatic methods, or 

monitor a non-tank component for releases by 

using an electronic liquid detecting sensor 

placed in a containment sump and in the 

interstitial space of a double-walled spill bucket 

along with periodic integrity testing as specified 

in Rules .0904(f), .0905(g) and .0906(e) of this 

Section; and 

(8) provide a printed record of release detection 

monitoring results and an alarm history for each 

month. 
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(j)  Electronic liquid detecting sensors used to monitor the 

interstitial space of double-walled tanks and non-tank components 

shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Electronic liquid detecting sensors used for 

tanks and spill buckets shall be located at the 

lowest point in the interstitial space. Electronic 

liquid detecting sensors used for containment 

sumps shall be located as specified in Rule 

.0905(d) of this Section. 

(2) A tank shall have a method to verify that an 

electronic liquid detecting sensor is located at 

the lowest point of the interstitial space. 

Verification of the sensor location shall be 

available for inspection. 

(3) Electronic liquid detecting sensors shall detect 

the presence of any liquid in the interstitial 

space and shall activate an alarm when any type 

of liquid is detected. 

(4) Any liquid detected in the interstitial space 

must be removed within 48 hours of discovery. 

(k)  New or replacement dispensers shall be provided with under 

dispenser containment sumps and shall meet the secondary 

containment requirements and performance standards of this 

Rule. 

(l)  All release detection monitoring equipment shall be installed, 

calibrated, operated and maintained in accordance with 

manufacturer's instructions. All release detection monitoring 

equipment shall be checked annually for operability, proper 

operating condition and proper calibration in accordance with the 

manufacturer's written guidelines. The results of the last annual 

check must be recorded, maintained at the UST site or the tank 

owner or operator's place of business, and made available for 

inspection. 

(m)  Releases detected in an interstitial space shall be reported in 

accordance with Rule .0601 of this Subchapter and investigated 

in accordance with the manufacturer's written guidelines. Any 

changes in the original physical characteristics or integrity of a 

piping system or a containment sump shall also be reported in 

accordance with Rule .0601 of this Subchapter and investigated 

in accordance with the manufacturer's written guidelines. 

(n)  UST systems and UST system components shall also meet all 

of the requirements specified in 40 CFR 280.20(c), (d), and (e). In 

addition, overfill prevention equipment shall be checked annually 

for operability, proper operating condition and proper calibration 

in accordance with: 

(1) written requirements developed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory; or 

(3) requirements determined by the Division to be 

no less protective of human health and the 

environment than the requirements listed in 

Subparagraph (1) or (2) of this Paragraph. The 

inspection shall ensure that overfill prevention 

equipment is set to activate at the correct level 

specified in 40 CFR 280.20(c)(1)(ii) and will 

activate when regulated substance reaches that 

level. 

(4) The results of the last annual check shall be 

recorded, maintained at the UST site or the tank 

owner or operator's place of business, and made 

available for inspection. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-

282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0902 NOTIFICATION 

(a)  Owners and operators shall provide notification of installation 

or replacement of an UST system, UST, or connected piping to 

the Division in accordance with Rule .0303 of this Subchapter. 

The notice shall also include: 

(1) An UST system design. 

(2) Equipment to be installed including model and 

manufacturer and the materials of construction. 

(3) Device or method to be used to allow piping to 

be located after it is buried underground. 

(4) A site plan drawn to scale showing the proposed 

location of UST systems relative to buildings 

and other permanent structures, roadways, 

utilities, other UST systems, monitoring wells, 

and water supply wells within 500 feet used for 

human consumption. 

(5) A schedule for UST system installation or 

replacement. 

(b)  Owners and operators shall notify the Division at least 48 

hours prior to the following stages of construction so that the 

Division may perform an inspection of the installation: 

(1) pre-installation tightness testing of tanks; and 

(2) final tightness testing of piping before it is 

backfilled. 

(c)  Documents showing the following information shall be 

submitted to the Division within 30 days after UST system, UST, 

or connected piping installation or replacement is completed and 

shall be maintained at the UST system site or the owner's or 

operator's place of business for the life of the UST system. These 

records shall be transferred to a new tank owner at the time of a 

transfer of tank ownership: 

(1) Certification from the UST system installer 

containing: 

(A) the UST system installer's name, 

address and telephone number; 

training and any certification received 

from the manufacturer of the 

equipment that was installed or 

replaced or the equipment 

manufacturer's authorized 

representative including any 

certification number; 

(B) an as-built diagram drawn to scale 

showing: the name and address of the 

UST system site; the date of UST 

system, UST, or connected piping 

installation or replacement; the 

equipment that was installed including 
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model and manufacturer; the 

information described in Rule 

.0903(c) of this Section; the method 

used to anchor a tank in the ground; if 

the equipment has single-walled or 

double-walled construction; the year 

the piping was manufactured and any 

production code; and the device or 

method used to allow piping to be 

located after it is buried underground. 

The as-built diagram shall also show 

the location of the installed or replaced 

UST systems relative to: buildings and 

other permanent structures, utilities, 

monitoring wells and other UST 

systems located at the site; adjacent 

roadways; and water supply wells 

used for human consumption within 

500 feet; 

(C) a listing of the manufacturer's written 

guidelines, codes of practice, and 

industry standards used for 

installation; and 

(D) a statement that the UST system was 

installed in accordance with the design 

and the manufacturer's specifications. 

(2) manufacturer warranties; 

(3) any equipment performance claims; and 

(4) records of all tightness testing performed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-

282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0903 TANKS 

(a)  Tanks shall be protected from external corrosion in 

accordance with 40 CFR 280.20(a)(1), (2), (3), or (5). 

(b)  Owners and operators of tanks installed in accordance with 

40 CFR 280.20(a)(2) shall comply with all applicable 

requirements for corrosion protection systems contained in this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  The exterior surface of a tank shall bear a permanent marking, 

code stamp, or label showing the following information: 

(1) the engineering standard used; 

(2) the diameter in feet; 

(3) the capacity in gallons; 

(4) the materials of construction of the inner and 

outer walls of the tank, including any external 

or internal coatings; 

(5) serial number or other unique identification 

number designated by the tank manufacturer; 

(6) date manufactured; and 

(7) identify of manufacturer. 

(d)  Tanks that will be reused shall be certified by the tank 

manufacturer prior to re-installation and meet all of the 

requirements of this Section. Tank owners and operators shall 

submit proof of certification to the Division along with a notice of 

intent in accordance with Rule .0902 of this Section. 

(e)  Tanks shall be tested before and after installation in 

accordance with the following requirements: 

(1) Pre-Installation Test - Before installation, the 

primary containment and the interstitial space 

shall be tested in accordance with the 

manufacturers written guidelines and 

Petroleum Equipment Institute (PEI), 

PEI/RP100, "Recommended Practice for 

Installation of Underground Liquid Storage 

Systems." PEI/RP100, "Recommended 

Practice for Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems" is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Petroleum Equipment Institute at 

https://my.pei.org/productdetails?id=a1Bf4000

001yPEBEA2 at a cost of one hundred and 

ninety-five dollars ($195.00). The presence of 

soap bubbles or water droplets during a 

pressure test, any change in vacuum beyond the 

limits specified by the tank manufacturer during 

a vacuum test, or any change in liquid level in 

an interstitial space liquid reservoir beyond the 

limits specified by the tank manufacturer, shall 

be considered a failure of the integrity of the 

tank. 

(2) Post-installation Test – The interstitial space 

shall be checked for a loss of pressure or 

vacuum, or a change in liquid level in an 

interstitial space liquid reservoir. Any loss of 

pressure or vacuum beyond the limits specified 

by the tank manufacturer, or a change in liquid 

level beyond the limits specified by the tank 

manufacturer, shall be considered a failure of 

the integrity of the tank. 

(3) If a tank fails a pre-installation or post-

installation test, tank installation shall be 

suspended until the tank is replaced or repaired 

in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. Following any repair, the tank 

shall be re-tested in accordance with 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph if it failed 

the pre-installation test and in accordance with 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph if it failed 

the post-installation test. 

(f)  The interstitial spaces of tanks that are not monitored using 

vacuum, pressure, or hydrostatic methods shall be tested for 

tightness before UST system start-up, between six months and the 

first anniversary of start-up, and every three years thereafter. The 

interstitial space shall be tested using an interstitial tank tightness 

test method that is capable of detecting a 0.10 gallon per hour leak 

rate with a probability of detection (Pd) of at least 95 percent and 

a probability of false alarm (Pfa) of no more than five percent. 

The test method shall be evaluated by an independent testing 

laboratory, consulting firm, not-for-profit research organization, 

or educational institution using the most recent version of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) 

"Standard Test Procedures for Evaluating Release Detection 

Methods: Volumetric and Non-volumetric Tank Tightness 
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Testing (EPA 510-B-19-003)." EPA's "Standard Test Procedures 

for Evaluating Release Detection Methods: Volumetric and Non-

volumetric Tank Tightness Testing (EPA 510-B-19-003)" is 

hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and additions. A copy may be obtained by visiting 

EPA's Office of Underground Storage Tank website: 

https://www.epa.gov/ust/standard-test-procedures-evaluating-

various-leak-detection-methods and may be accessed free of 

charge. The independent testing laboratory, consulting firm, not-

for-profit research organization, or educational institution shall 

certify that the test method can detect a 0.10 gallon per hour leak 

rate with a Pd of at least 95 percent and a Pfa of no more than five 

percent for the specific tank model being tested. If a tank fails an 

interstitial tank tightness test, it shall be replaced by the owner or 

operator or repaired by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's 

authorized representative in accordance with manufacturer's 

specifications. Tank owners and operators shall report all failed 

interstitial tank tightness tests to the Division within 24 hours. 

Failed interstitial tank tightness tests shall be reported by fax to 

the Division of Waste Management, Underground Storage Tank 

Section, at (919) 715-1117. Following any repair, the tank 

interstitial space shall be re-tested for tightness. The most recent 

interstitial tightness test record shall be maintained at the UST site 

or the tank owner's or operator's place of business and shall be 

available for inspection. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-

282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2015; February 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0904 PIPING 

(a)  Piping, with the exception of flexible connectors and piping 

connections, shall be pre-fabricated with double-walled 

construction. Any flexible connectors or piping connections that 

do not have double-walled construction shall be installed in 

containment sumps that meet the requirements of Rule .0905 of 

this Section. 

(b)  Piping, with the exception of metal flex connectors and piping 

connections, shall meet the requirements of Subparagraph (1) or 

(2) of this Paragraph. Metal flexible connectors and piping 

connections shall be installed in containment sumps that meet the 

requirements of Rule .0905 of this Section. 

(1) Primary and secondary piping are constructed 

of non-corroding materials and shall comply 

with the Underwriters Laboratories Standard 

(UL) 971 standard "Nonmetallic Underground 

Piping for Flammable Liquids" that is in effect 

at the time the piping is installed. UL 971 

"Standard for Nonmetallic Underground Piping 

for Flammable Liquids" is hereby incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may be 

obtained from Underwriters Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/PurchasePro

duct.aspx?UniqueKey=7936 at a cost of four 

hundred and two dollars ($402.00). 

(2) Primary piping is constructed of stainless steel 

and secondary piping is constructed of non-

corroding materials and shall comply with UL 

971A "Outline of Investigation for Metallic 

Underground Fuel Pipe." UL 971A "Outline of 

Investigation for Metallic Underground Fuel 

Pipe" is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from Underwriters 

Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/PurchasePro

duct.aspx?UniqueKey=15373 at a cost of two 

hundred and twenty-five dollars ($225.00). 

(c)  Piping that is buried underground shall be constructed with a 

device or method that allows it to be located once it is installed. 

(d)  Piping that conveys regulated substances under pressure shall 

also be equipped with an automatic line leak detector that meets 

the requirements of 40 CFR 280.44(a). 

(e)  At the time of installation, the primary containment and 

interstitial space of the piping shall be initially tested, monitored 

during construction, and finally tested in accordance with the 

manufacturers written guidelines and PEI/RP100, 

"Recommended Practice for Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems." The presence of soap bubbles or water droplets 

or any loss of pressure beyond the limits specified by the piping 

manufacturer during testing shall be considered a failure of the 

integrity of the piping. If the piping fails a tightness test, it shall 

be replaced by the owner or operator or repaired by the 

manufacturer or the manufacturer's authorized representative in 

accordance with the manufacturer's written specifications. 

Following any repair, the piping shall be re-tested for tightness in 

accordance with the manufacturers written guidelines and 

PEI/RP100, "Recommended Practice for Installation of 

Underground Liquid Storage Systems." 

(f)  Piping that is not monitored continuously for releases using 

vacuum, pressure, or hydrostatic methods, shall be tested for 

tightness every three years following installation. The primary 

containment shall be tested using a piping tightness test method 

that is capable of detecting a 0.10 gallon per hour leak rate with a 

probability of detection (Pd) of at least 95 percent and a 

probability of false alarm (Pfa) of no more than five percent. The 

test method shall be evaluated by an independent testing 

laboratory, consulting firm, not-for-profit research organization, 

or educational institution using the most recent version of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) 

"Standard Test Procedures for Evaluating Release Detection 

Methods: Pipeline Release Detection (EPA 510-B-19-005)." 

EPA's "Standard Test Procedures for Evaluating Release 

Detection Methods: Pipeline Release Detection (EPA 510-B-19-

005)" is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may be obtained by visiting 

EPA's Office of Underground Storage Tank website: 

https://nepis.epa.gov/Exe/ZyPURL.cgi?Dockey=P100WW8T.txt 

and may be accessed free of charge. The independent testing 

laboratory, consulting firm, not-for-profit research organization, 

or educational institution shall certify that the test method can 

detect a 0.10 gallon per hour leak rate with a Pd of at least 95 

percent and a Pfa of no more than five percent. The interstitial 

space of the piping shall be tested in accordance with the 
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manufacturer's written guidelines or a code of practice developed 

by a nationally recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory. If the piping fails a tightness test, it shall be replaced 

or repaired by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's authorized 

representative in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. Following any repair, the piping shall be re-tested 

for tightness in accordance with Paragraph (f) of this Rule. The 

most recent periodic tightness test record shall be maintained at 

the UST site or the tank owner or operator's place of business and 

shall be available for inspection. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-

282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0905 CONTAINMENT SUMPS 

(a)  Containment sumps shall be constructed of non-corroding 

materials. 

(b)  Containment sumps shall be designed and manufactured 

expressly for the purpose of containing and detecting a release. 

(c)  Containment sumps shall be designed, constructed, installed, 

and maintained to prevent water infiltration. 

(d)  Electronic sensor probes used for release detection monitoring 

shall be located no more than two inches above the lowest point 

of the containment sump. 

(e)  At installation, containment sumps shall be tested for tightness 

after construction, but before backfilling. Tightness testing shall 

be conducted in accordance with the manufacturer's written 

guidelines and PEI/RP100, "Recommended Practice for 

Installation of Underground Liquid Storage Systems." Other 

tightness test methods may be used if they are approved by the 

Division. In approving a containment sump tightness testing 

method the Division shall consider the following factors: 

(1) the inner surface of the sump is tested to at least 

four inches above the highest joint or 

penetration fitting, whichever is higher; and 

(2) the method is capable of detecting a fracture, 

perforation or gap in the sump within the 

specified test period. 

(f)  If a containment sump fails an installation tightness test, the 

sump shall be replaced or repaired by the manufacturer or the 

manufacturer's authorized representative in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications. Following replacement or repair, 

the containment sump shall be re-tested for tightness in 

accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(g)  Containment sumps that are not monitored on an 

uninterrupted basis for releases using vacuum, pressure or 

hydrostatic interstitial monitoring methods shall be tested for 

tightness every three years following installation in accordance 

with: 

(1) written requirements developed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory; or 

(3) requirements determined by the Division to be 

no less protective of human health and the 

environment than the requirements listed in 

Subparagraph (1) and (2) of this Paragraph. 

If a containment sump fails a periodic tightness test, the sump 

shall be replaced in accordance with Paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of 

this Rule or repaired by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's 

authorized representative in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications or a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing laboratory. 

Following replacement or repair, the containment sump shall be 

re-tested for tightness in accordance with Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule. The last periodic tightness test record shall be maintained at 

the UST site or the tank owner or operator's place of business and 

shall be available for inspection. 

(h)  All containment sumps shall be visually inspected at least 

annually in accordance with Rule .0407 of this Subchapter. Any 

water or regulated substance present in a sump at the time of 

inspection shall be removed from the sump within 48 hours of 

discovery. The visual inspection results shall be documented and 

shall be maintained for at least one year at the UST site or the tank 

owner's or operator's place of business and shall be available for 

inspection. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-

282(2)(h); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0906 SPILL BUCKETS 

(a)  Spill buckets shall be pre-fabricated with double-walled 

construction. 

(b)  Spill buckets shall be protected from corrosion by being 

constructed of non-corroding materials. 

(c)  Spill buckets shall be designed, constructed, installed, and 

maintained to prevent water infiltration. 

(d)  After installation but before backfilling, the primary 

containment and interstitial space of the spill bucket shall be 

tested in accordance with the manufacturer's written guidelines or 

a code of practice developed by a nationally recognized 

association or independent testing laboratory. Any change in 

vacuum during a vacuum test or any change in liquid level in an 

interstitial space liquid reservoir beyond the limits specified by 

the equipment manufacturer shall be considered a failure of the 

integrity of the spill bucket. If the spill bucket fails a tightness test, 

it shall be replaced or repaired by the manufacturer or the 

manufacturer's authorized representative in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications. Following any repair, the spill 

bucket shall be re-tested for tightness in accordance with the 

manufacturers' written guidelines or a code of practice developed 

by a nationally recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory. 

(e)  Spill buckets that are not monitored on an uninterrupted basis 

for releases using vacuum, pressure or hydrostatic methods, shall 

be tested for tightness at installation and every three years 

following installation. The primary containment and interstitial 

space of the spill bucket shall be tested in accordance with: 

(1) written requirements developed by the 

manufacturer; 
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(2) a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory; or 

(3) requirements determined by the Division to be 

no less protective of human health and the 

environment than the requirements listed in 

Subparagraph (1) and (2) of this Paragraph. 

If the spill bucket fails a tightness test, it shall be replaced and 

tested in accordance with Paragraphs (a) through (d) of this Rule 

or repaired by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's authorized 

representative in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. Following any repair, the spill bucket shall be re-

tested for tightness in accordance with the manufacturers' written 

guidelines or a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing laboratory. The last 

periodic tightness test record shall be maintained at the UST site 

or the tank owner or operator's place of business and shall be 

available for inspection. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-

282(2)(h); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0907 NATIONAL CODES OF 

PRACTICE AND INDUSTRY STANDARDS 

In order to comply with this Section, owners and operators shall 

comply with the following standards: 

(1) The most recent versions of the following 

national codes of practice and industry 

standards applicable at the time of UST system 

installation or replacement shall be used. 

(a) American Concrete Institute (ACI) 

International 224R-01, "Control of 

Cracking in Concrete Structures." ACI 

International 224R-01, "Control of 

Cracking in Concrete Structures" is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

ACI International at 

https://www.concrete.org/store/produ

ctdetail.aspx?ItemID=22401&Format

=DOWNLOAD&Language=English

&Units=US_AND_METRIC at a cost 

of seventy-nine dollars and fifty cents 

($79.50). 

(b) ACI International 350-06, "Code 

Requirements for Environmental 

Engineering Concrete Structures." 

ACI International 350-06, "Code 

Requirements for Environmental 

Engineering Concrete Structures" is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

ACI International at 

https://www.concrete.org/store/produ

ctdetail.aspx?ItemID=35006&Langua

ge=English&Units=US_Units at a 

cost of one hundred eighty-six dollars 

and fifty cents ($186.50). 

(c) American Petroleum Institute (API) 

Standard 570, "Piping Inspection 

Code: In-service Inspection, Repair, 

Alteration of Piping Systems." API 

Standard 570, "Piping Inspection 

Code: In-service Inspection, Repair, 

Alteration of Piping Systems." is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

API Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-570?product_id=1910713 at 

a cost of one hundred ninety-five 

dollars ($195.00). 

(d) API Recommended Practice 1110, 

"Recommended Practice for the 

Pressure Testing of Steel Pipelines for 

the Transportation of Gas, Petroleum 

Gas, Hazardous Liquids, Highly 

Volatile Liquids or Carbon Dioxide." 

API Recommended Practice 1110, 

"Recommended Practice for the 

Pressure Testing of Steel Pipelines for 

the Transportation of Gas, Petroleum 

Gas, Hazardous Liquids, Highly 

Volatile Liquids or Carbon Dioxide" is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

API Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-1110-

r2018?product_id=1852115 at a cost 

of one hundred three dollars 

($103.00). 

(e) API Recommended Practice 1615, 

"Installation of Underground 

Hazardous Substances or Petroleum 

Storage Systems." API Recommended 

Practice 1615, "Installation of 

Underground Hazardous Substances 

or Petroleum Storage Systems" is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

API Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-

1615?product_id=1780646 at a cost of 

two hundred twenty-two dollars 

($222.00). 

(f) API Recommended Practice 1621, 

"Bulk Liquid Stock Control at Retail 

Outlets." API Recommended Practice 

1621, "Bulk Liquid Stock Control at 
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Retail Outlets" is hereby incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from API Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-1621-

r2012?product_id=14616 at a cost of 

ninety dollars ($90.00). 

(g) API Recommended Practice 1631, 

"Interior Lining and Periodic 

Inspection of Underground Storage 

Tanks." API Recommended Practice 

1631, "Interior Lining and Periodic 

Inspection of Underground Storage 

Tanks" is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from API Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-1631?product_id=913787 

at a cost of ninety-four dollars 

($94.00). 

(h) API Recommended Practice 1637, 

"Using the API Color-Symbol System 

to Identify Equipment, Vehicles, and 

Transfer Points for Petroleum Fuels 

and Related Products at Dispensing 

and Storage Facilities and Distribution 

Terminals." API Recommended 

Practice 1637, "Using the API Color-

Symbol System to Identify 

Equipment, Vehicles, and Transfer 

Points for Petroleum Fuels and 

Related Products at Dispensing and 

Storage Facilities and Distribution 

Terminals" is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from API Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-

1637?product_id=2110859 at a cost of 

seventy-nine dollars ($79.00). 

(i) American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers (ASME) International: 

B31.4-2006, "Pipeline Transportation 

Systems for Liquids and Slurries." 

ASME International: B31.4-2006, 

"Pipeline Transportation Systems for 

Liquids and Slurries" is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from ASME 

at https://www.asme.org/codes-

standards/find-codes-standards/b31-

4-pipeline-transportation-systems-

liquids-slurries at a cost of two 

hundred forty-five dollars ($245.00). 

(j) National Fire Protection Association 

(NFPA) 30, "Flammable and 

Combustible Liquids Code." NFPA 

30, "Flammable and Combustible 

Liquids Code" is hereby incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from National Fire 

Protection Association at 

https://catalog.nfpa.org/NFPA-30-

Flammable-and-Combustible-

Liquids-Code-P1164.aspx?icid=D729 

at a cost of seventy-seven dollars and 

fifty cents ($77.50). 
(k) NFPA 30A, "Code for Motor Fuel 

Dispensing Facilities and Repair 

Garages." NFPA 30A, "Code for 

Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and 

Repair Garages" is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from National 

Fire Protection Association at 

https://catalog.nfpa.org/NFPA-30A-

Code-for-Motor-Fuel-Dispensing-

Facilities-and-Repair-Garages-

P1165.aspx?icid=D729 at a cost of 

fifty-two dollars ($52.00). 

(l) NFPA 329, "Recommended Practice 

for Handling Releases of Flammable 

and Combustible Liquids and Gases." 

NFPA 329, "Recommended Practice 

for Handling Releases of Flammable 

and Combustible Liquids and Gases" 

is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

National Fire Protection Association 

at https://catalog.nfpa.org/NFPA-329-

Recommended-Practice-for-

Handling-Releases-of-Flammable-

and-Combustible-Liquids-and-Gases-

P1287.aspx?icid=D729 at a cost of 

fifty-two dollars ($52.00). 

(m) PEI: PEI/RP100, "Recommended 

Practice for Installation of 

Underground Liquid Storage 

Systems." PEI: PEI/RP100, 

"Recommended Practice for 

Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems" is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from 

Petroleum Equipment Institute at 

https://www.techstreet.com/pei/stand

ards/pei-rp100-

20?product_id=2183374 at a cost of 
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one hundred ninety-five dollars 

($195.00). 

(n) PEI: PEI/RP1200, "Recommended 

Practice for Testing and Verification 

of Spill, Overfill, Leak Detection and 

Secondary Containment Equipment at 

UST Facilities." PEI: PEI/RP1200, 

"Recommended Practice for Testing 

and Verification of Spill, Overfill, 

Leak Detection and Secondary 

Containment Equipment at UST 

Facilities" is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from Petroleum 

Equipment Institute at 

https://www.techstreet.com/pei/stand

ards/pei-rp1200-

19?product_id=2085907 at a cost of 

one hundred ninety-five dollars 

($195.00). 

(o) Steel Tank Institute (STI) ACT 100 

F894, "Specifications for External 

Corrosion Protection of FRP 

Composite Steel Underground Storage 

Tanks." Steel Tank Institute (STI) 

ACT 100 F894, "Specifications for 

External Corrosion Protection of FRP 

Composite Steel Underground Storage 

Tanks" is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from Steel Tank Institute, 

at 

https://www.steeltank.com/Publicatio

ns/STISPFAStore/ProductDetail/tabid

/502/rvdsfpid/act-100-specification-

for-external-corrosion-protection-of-

frp-composite-steel-usts-f894-

2/Default.aspx at a cost of sixty dollars 

($60.00). 

(p) STI ACT 100-U F961, "Specifications 

for External Corrosion Protection of 

Composite Steel Underground Storage 

Tanks." STI ACT 100-U F961, 

"Specifications for External Corrosion 

Protection of Composite Steel 

Underground Storage Tanks" is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Steel Tank Institute at 

https://www.steeltank.com/Publicatio

ns/STISPFAStore/ProductDetail/tabid

/502/rvdsfpid/act-100u-specification-

for-external-corrosion-protection-of-

composite-steel-underground-storage-

tanks-f961-250/Default.aspx at a cost 

of sixty dollars ($60.00). 

(q) STI F922, "Specifications for 

Permatank." STI F922, 

"Specifications for Permatank" is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Steel Tank Institute at 

https://www.steeltank.com/Publicatio

ns/STISPFAStore/ProductDetail/tabid

/502/rvdsfpid/permatank-f922-

specification-for-permatank-

231/Default.aspx at a cost of sixty 

dollars ($60.00). 

(r) Underwriters UL 58, "Standard for 

Steel Underground tanks for 

Flammable and Combustible 

Liquids." UL 58, "Standard for Steel 

Underground tanks for Flammable 

and Combustible Liquids." is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=3392

0 at a cost of four hundred and two 

dollars ($402.00). 

(s) UL 567, "Standard for Emergency 

Breakaway Fittings, Swivel 

Connectors and Pipe-Connection 

Fittings for Petroleum Products and 

LP Gas." UL 567, "Standard for 

Emergency Breakaway Fittings, 

Swivel Connectors and Pipe-

Connection Fittings Petroleum 

Products and LP Gas" is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=2779

1 at a cost of seven hundred sixteen 

dollars ($716.00). 

(t) UL 567A, "Standard for Emergency 

Breakaway Fittings, Swivel 

Connectors and Pipe-Connection 

Fittings for Gasoline and 

Gasoline/Ethanol Blends with 

Nominal Ethanol Concentrations up to 

85 Percent (E0 – E85)." UL 567A, 

"Standard for Emergency Breakaway 

Fittings, Swivel Connectors and Pipe-

Connection Fittings for Gasoline and 

Gasoline/Ethanol Blends with 

Nominal Ethanol Concentrations up to 

85 Percent (E0 – E85)" is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 
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A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=2919

7 at a cost of five hundred and five 

dollars ($505.00). 

(u) UL 567B, "Standard for Emergency 

Breakaway Fittings, Swivel 

Connectors and Pipe-Connection 

Fittings for Diesel Fuel, Biodiesel 

Fuel, Diesel/Biodiesel Blends with 

Nominal Biodiesel Concentrations up 

to 20 Percent (B20), Kerosene, and 

Fuel Oil." UL 567B, "Standard for 

Emergency Breakaway Fittings, 

Swivel Connectors and Pipe-

Connection Fittings for Diesel Fuel, 

Biodiesel Fuel, Diesel/Biodiesel 

Blends with Nominal Biodiesel 

Concentrations up to 20 Percent 

(B20), Kerosene, and Fuel Oil" is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories at  

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=2919

5 at a cost of four hundred and two 

dollars ($402.00). 

(v) UL 971, "Standard for Nonmetallic 

Underground Piping for Flammable 

Liquids." UL 971, "Standard for 

Nonmetallic Underground Piping for 

Flammable Liquids" is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from UL at  

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=7936 

at a cost of four hundred and two 

dollars ($402.00). 

(w) UL 971A, "Outline of Investigation 

for Metallic Underground Fuel Pipe." 

UL 971A, "Outline of Investigation 

for Metallic Underground Fuel Pipe" 

is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

UL at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=1537

3 at a cost of two hundred and twenty-

five dollars ($225.00). 

(x) UL 1316, "Standard for Fibre 

Reinforced Underground Tanks for 

Flammable and Combustible 

Liquids." UL 1316, "Standard for 

Fibre Reinforced Underground Tanks 

for Flammable and Combustible 

Liquids" is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from Underwriters 

Laboratories at  

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=3517

2 at a cost of four hundred and two 

dollars ($402.00). 

(y) UL 1746, "Standard for External 

Corrosion Protection Systems for 

Steel Underground Storage Tanks." 

UL 1746, "Standard for External 

Corrosion Protection Systems for 

Steel Underground Storage Tanks." is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=1574

2 at a cost of seven hundred ninety-

eight dollars ($798.00); and 

(2) Other appropriate codes or standards applicable 

at the time of UST system installation or 

replacement may be used provided they are 

developed by ACI, American National 

Standards Institute (ANSI), API, ASME, 

ASTM International, NFPA, National Leak 

Prevention Association (NLPA), PEI, STI and 

UL. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-

282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0101 GENERAL 

(a)  Owners and operators of underground storage tank systems 

that are subject to regulation pursuant to 40 CFR 280.10 and 

located in North Carolina shall comply with the financial 

responsibility requirements in this Subchapter. 

(b)  The Department of Environmental Quality (Department), 

Division of Waste Management (Division) shall administer the 

underground storage tank financial responsibility compliance 

program for the State of North Carolina. 

(c)  Department staff may conduct inspections to ensure 

compliance with this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 

143-215.94H; 143B-282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0102 FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

The governing Federal Regulations set forth below are hereby 

incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent amendments 
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and editions. Copies may be obtained at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/ECFR?page=browse at no cost. 

(1) 40 CFR 280.90, "Applicability"; 

(2) 40 CFR 280.91, "Compliance Dates"; 

(3) 40 CFR 280.94, "Allowable Mechanisms and 

Combinations of Mechanisms"; 

(4) 40 CFR 280.96, "Guarantee"; 

(5) 40 CFR 280.98, "Surety Bond"; 

(6) 40 CFR 280.99, "Letter of Credit"; 

(7) 40 CFR 280.102, "Trust Fund"; 

(8) 40 CFR 280.103, "Standby Trust Fund"; 

(9) 40 CFR 289.104, "Local Government Bond 

Rating Test"; 

(10) 40 CFR 280.105, "Local Government Financial 

Test"; 

(11) 40 CFR 280.106, "Local Government 

Guarantee"; 

(12) 40 CFR 280.107, "Local Government Fund"; 

(13) 40 CFR 280.108, "Substitution of Financial 

Assurance Mechanisms by Owner or 

Operator"; 

(14) 40 CFR 280.109, "Cancellation or Nonrenewal 

by a Provider of Financial Assurance"; 

(15) 40 CFR 280.110, "Reporting by Owner or 

Operator"; 

(16) 40 CFR 280.112, "Drawing on Financial 

Assurance Mechanisms"; and 

(17) 40 CFR 290.113. "Release from the 

Requirements". 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B 

282(a)(2)(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0103 SUBSTITUTED SECTIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T; 

150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0201 APPLICABILITY 

15A NCAC 02O .0202 COMPLIANCE DATES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94A; 143-215.94H; 

143-215.94T; 150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0203 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The definitions in 40 CFR 280.92 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, except as modified below. The federal regulation may 

be accessed at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR?page=browse at no 

charge. 

(1) "Director of the Implementing Agency" shall 

mean the Director of the Division of Waste 

Management. 

(2) "Financial reporting year" shall be modified to 

allow a compilation report to be used to support 

a financial test. The compilation report shall be 

prepared by a Certified Public Accountant 

(CPA) or Certified Public Accounting Firm 

(CPA Firm) as defined in 21 NCAC 08A .0301. 

(b)  The following definitions shall apply throughout this 

Subchapter: 

(1) "Independent" Certified Public Accountant or 

Certified Public Accounting Firm shall mean a 

CPA or CPA firm that examines the financial 

records and business transactions of an owner, 

operator or guarantor for whom the CPA or 

CPA firm is not affiliated. 

(2) "Financial assurance" shall mean per 

occurrence and annual aggregate amounts of 

financial responsibility, collectively. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94A; 143-215.94H; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0204 AMOUNT AND SCOPE OF 

REQUIRED FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.94H(a)(2), owners or operators shall 

maintain evidence of financial responsibility for taking corrective 

action and for compensating third parties for bodily injury and 

property damage caused by accidental releases arising from the 

operation of petroleum underground storage tanks. The minimum 

financial responsibility that shall be maintained per occurrence is 

determined by calculating the sum of the following: 

(1) twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) for taking 

corrective action to cleanup environmental 

damage pursuant to G.S. 143-215.94B(b)(3); 

(2) one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for 

compensating third parties for bodily injury and 

property damage pursuant to G.S. 143-

215.94B(b)(5); and 

(3) the multiple of six hundred dollars ($600.00) 

and the number of petroleum underground 

storage tanks that an owner or operator owns or 

operates in the state of North Carolina. 

(b)  The minimum financial responsibility that shall be maintained 

as an annual aggregate is equal to the per occurrence amount. 

(c)  Owners or operators shall annually review the amount of 

financial assurance provided. The amount of required financial 

assurance shall be adjusted at the time of the review. 

(d)  If an owner or operator uses separate mechanisms or separate 

combinations of mechanisms to demonstrate financial 

responsibility for different petroleum underground storage tanks, 

the amount of financial assurance required shall be based on the 

number of tanks covered by each such separate mechanism or 

combination of mechanisms. 

(e)  The amount of financial assurance required under this Rule 

exclude legal defense costs. 
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(f)  The required amount of financial assurance does not in any 

way limit the liability of the owner or operator. 

(g)  Evidence of financial responsibility for petroleum 

underground storage tanks located in North Carolina shall be 

provided separately from that provided for petroleum 

underground storage tanks not located in North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0301 ALLOWABLE MECHANISMS 

AND COMBINATIONS OF MECHANISMS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0302 SELF INSURANCE 

(a)  An owner, operator, or guarantor may meet the financial 

responsibility requirements by passing the financial test specified 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  An owner, operator or guarantor, individually or collectively, 

shall meet the following criteria based on year-end financial 

statements for the latest completed fiscal year. 

(1) The owner, operator, or guarantor, individually 

or collectively shall have a total tangible net 

worth of at least the sum of the amounts 

specified in (b)(2), (b)(3), (b)(4), (b)(5), and 

(b)(6) of this Rule, not to exceed three million 

dollars ($3,000,000) and not to be less than one 

hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000): 

(2) A cleanup cost factor determined by 

multiplying the following: 

(A) the number of petroleum underground 

storage tanks that an owner or operator 

owns or operates in the state of North 

Carolina and that are covered by self-

insurance. USTs that are manifolded 

together are considered separate 

USTs. A multi-compartment UST is 

considered one UST; 

(B) twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) for 

taking corrective action to cleanup 

environmental damage pursuant to 

G.S. 143-215.94(B)(b)(3); 

(C) the proportion of financial assurance 

required pursuant to Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter being covered by self-

insurance; and 

(D) a constant equal to 0.05. 

(3) A third party liability cost factor determined by 

multiplying the following: 

(A) the number of petroleum underground 

storage tanks that an owner or operator 

owns or operates in the state of North 

Carolina and that are covered by self-

insurance; 

(B) one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) for compensating third 

parties for bodily injury and property 

damage pursuant to G.S. 143-

215.94(B)(b)(5); and 

(C) the proportion of financial assurance 

required pursuant to Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter being covered by self-

insurance; and 

(D) a constant equal to 0.02. 

(4) The amount of tangible net worth used to assure 

financial responsibility for petroleum 

underground storage tanks not located in North 

Carolina; 

(5) Ten times the sum of the corrective action cost 

estimates (40 CFR 264.101(b)), the closure (40 

CFR 264.143 and 265.143) and post-closure 

care (40 CFR 264.145 and 265.145) cost 

estimates, and amount of liability coverage (40 

CFR 264.147 and 265.147) for Hazardous 

Waste Management Facilities and Hazardous 

Waste Storage Facilities for which a financial 

test is used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility to EPA or to a State 

implementing agency under a State program 

authorized by EPA under 40 CFR 271; and 

(6) Ten times the sum of current plugging and 

abandonment cost estimates for injection wells 

(40 CFR 144.63) for which a financial test is 

used to demonstrate financial responsibility to 

the EPA under 40 CFR 144.63 or to a State 

implementing agency under a State program 

authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 145. 

(7) In addition to any other requirements of this 

Section, a guarantor shall have a net worth of at 

least two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000) 

greater than any tangible net worth used by the 

guarantor in Subparagraph (1) of this 

Paragraph. 

(c)  The owner or operator or guarantor, individually or 

collectively, shall each have a letter signed by the chief financial 

officer, worded as specified in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and 

shall do one of the following: 

(1) Obtain annually a compilation report issued by 

an independent certified public accountant or 

certified public accounting firm; 

(2) Pursuant to 40 CFR 280.95(b)(4)(i), file 

financial statements annually with the U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission, the 

Energy Information Administration, or the 

Rural Electrification Administration; or 

(3) Pursuant to 40 CFR 280.95(b)(4)(ii), report 

annually the firm's tangible net worth to Dun 

and Bradstreet, and Dun and Bradstreet shall 

have assigned the firm a financial strength 

rating of 4A or 5A. 

(d)  The firm's year-end financial statements cannot include an 

adverse accountant's report or a "going concern" qualification. 
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(e)  40 CFR 280.95(d), (e), (f) and (g) are incorporated by 

reference, excluding any subsequent amendments and editions 

except that "financial test" means the financial test specified in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. A copy of the federal code may be 

obtained at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR?page=browse at no cost. 

 

(f)  To demonstrate that it meets the financial test under Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the chief financial officer of each owner, operator, 

or guarantor shall sign, within 120 days of the close of each financial reporting year, as defined by the 12-month period for which 

financial statements used to support the financial test are prepared, a letter worded exactly as in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, except that 

the instructions in brackets are to be replaced by the relevant information and the brackets deleted. 

(g)  LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER 

[insert: name of chief financial officer], the chief financial officer of [insert: name and address of the owner, operator or guarantor] have 

prepared this letter in support of the use of [insert: "the financial test of self-insurance," and/or "guarantee"] to demonstrate financial 

responsibility for [insert: "taking corrective action" or "compensating third parties for bodily injury and property damage"] caused by 

[insert: "sudden accidental releases" and/or "nonsudden accidental releases"] in the amount of at least [insert: dollar amount] per 

occurrence and [insert: dollar amount] annual aggregate arising from operating (an) underground storage tank(s). 

Underground storage tanks at the following facilities are assured by this financial test by this [insert: "owner or operator," or 

"guarantor"]: 

[List or attach the following information for each facility: the name and address of the facility where tanks assured by this financial test 

are located and facility number(s) assigned by the Department. If separate mechanisms or combinations of mechanisms are being used 

to assure any of the tanks at this facility, list each tank assured by this financial test.] 

[When appropriate, include the following for Hazardous Waste Management Facilities, Hazardous Waste Storage Facilities, and 

Injection Wells: 

A [insert: "financial test" or "guarantee"] is also used by this [insert: "owner, operator" or "guarantor"] to demonstrate evidence of 

financial responsibility in the following amounts under EPA regulations or state programs authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Parts 271 

and 145: 

EPA Regulations          Amount 

Closure (including 40 CFR 264.143 and 265-143)      $____________ 

Post-Closure Care (including 40 CFR 264.145 and 265.145)     $____________ 

Liability Coverage (including 40 CFR 264.147 and 265.147)     $____________ 

Corrective Action (including 40 CFR 264.101(b))      $____________ 

Plugging and Abandonment (including 40 CFR 144.63)     $____________ 

Total           $____________ 

This [insert: "owner, operator" or "guarantor"] has not received an adverse report or a "going concern" qualification from an independent 

accountant on his financial statements for the latest completed fiscal year. 

 

1. a. Number of USTs in North Carolina being covered    _____________ 

b. Proportion covered       _____________ 

c. Cleanup cost factor (multiply 0.05 x $20,000 x #1a and #1b)   $____________ 

d. Third party liability cost factor (multiply 0.02 x $100,000 x #1a and #1b) $____________ 

2. Cleanup and third-party liability cost factor total (sum of #1c and #1d)   $____________ 

3. Guarantor factor (enter $200,000, if guarantor)     $____________ 

4. Net worth used to assure environmental liabilities for Hazardous Waste Management  

Facilities, Hazardous Waste Storage Facilities, and Injection Wells multiplied by 10 $____________ 

5. Net worth used to assure environmental liabilities for USTs outside of North Carolina $____________ 

6. Total net worth required to self-insure or to be a guarantor (sum of #2, #3, #4 and #5) $____________ 

7. Total tangible assets         $____________ 

8. Total liabilities (if any of the amount reported for #6 is included in total liabilities,  

you may deduct that amount from this line and add that amount to #9)   $____________ 

9. Tangible net worth (subtract #8 from #7)      $____________   

           Yes No 

10. Is line 9 at least [for an owner or operator: $150,000; for a guarantor: $350,000]? _____ _____ 

11. Is line 9 equal to or greater than line 6?      _____ _____ 

12. Has a compilation report been issued by an independent certified public accountant or  

Certified public accounting firm?       _____ _____ 

13. Have financial statements for the latest fiscal year been filed with the Securities 

and Exchange Commission?       _____ _____ 

14. Have financial statements for the latest fiscal year been filed with the Energy  

Information Administration?       _____ _____ 

15. Have financial statements for the latest fiscal year been filed with the Rural  
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Electrification Administration?       _____ _____ 

16. Has financial information been provided to Dun and Bradstreet, and has Dun and  

Bradstreet provided a financial strength rating of 4A or 5A? [Answer "Yes" only if both criteria have been met]  

           _____ _____ 

 

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to the wording specified in 15A NCAC 2O .0302, as such regulations were 

constituted on the date shown immediately below, and that the information contained herein is complete and accurate. 

 

[Signature of chief financial officer] 

[Name] 

[Title] 

[Date] 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 

Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0303 GUARANTEE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0304 INSURANCE AND RISK 

RETENTION GROUP COVERAGE 

40 CFR 280.97 entitled "Insurance and Risk Retention Group 

Coverage" is incorporated by reference, excluding any subsequent 

amendments and editions, except that "licensed to transact the 

business of insurance or eligible to provide insurance as an excess 

or surplus lines insurer in one or more states" in 40 CFR 

280.97(b)(1), (b)(2), and (c) is replaced by "licensed, registered, 

or otherwise authorized to provide insurance in North Carolina". 

This document may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/ECFR?page=browse at no charge. The requirements in 40 

CFR 280.97 shall be met to demonstrate financial responsibility 

by insurance pursuant to G.S. 143-215.94H. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0305 SURETY BOND 

15A NCAC 02O .0306 LETTER OF CREDIT 

15A NCAC 02O .0307 STANDBY TRUST FUND 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0308 INSURANCE POOLS 

(a)  Insurance pools established by owners and operators may be 

used alone or in combination to demonstrate financial assurance 

in accordance with Rule .0204 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  To be an eligible mechanism for demonstrating financial 

assurance, insurance pools shall comply with the requirements of 

G.S. 143-215.94I. 

(c)  Each owner and operator providing financial assurance 

through an insurance pool shall maintain a certificate of insurance 

issued by the insurance pool that lists the following information: 

(1) the name and address of the member; 

(2) the location of the facilities owned by that 

member where underground storage tanks are 

being insured by the pool; 

(3) the number of insured underground storage 

tanks at each facility; 

(4) the capacity of each insured underground 

storage tank; 

(5) the amount of insurance provided for each 

underground storage tank; and 

(6) the name, address, and signature of the 

Administrator of the insurance pool. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94I; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0311 LOCAL GOVERNMENT BOND 

RATING TEST 

15A NCAC 02O .0312 LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

FINANCIAL TEST 

15A NCAC 02O .0313 LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

GUARANTEE 

15A NCAC 02O .0314 LOCAL GOVERNMENT FUND 

15A NCAC 02O .0315 SUBSTITUTION OF FINANCIAL 

ASSURANCE MECHANISMS 

15A NCAC 02O .0316 CANCELLATION OR 

RENEWAL BY A PROVIDER OF ASSURANCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6; 

Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0401 REPORTING BY OWNER OR 

OPERATOR 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0402 RECORD KEEPING 

(a)  40 CFR 280.111 entitled "Record Keeping" is incorporated 

by reference, excluding subsequent amendments and editions. 

This document may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/ECFR?page=browse at no charge. 
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(b)  In addition to the requirements incorporated in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule, an owner or operator using an Insurance Pool as a 

financial assurance mechanism in accordance with Rule .0308 of 

this Subchapter, shall maintain a copy of the signed insurance 

certificate as specified in Rule .0308(c) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0501 DRAWING ON FINANCIAL 

ASSURANCE MECHANISMS 

15A NCAC 02O .0502 RELEASE FROM THE 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0503 INCAPACITY OF OWNER OR 

OPERATOR OR PROVIDER OF ASSURANCE 

(a)  40 CFR 280.114 entitled "Bankruptcy or Other Incapacity of 

Owner or Operator or Provider of Financial Assurance is 

incorporated by reference, excluding subsequent amendments and 

editions. This document may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/ECFR?page=browse at no charge. 

(b)  Within 30 days after receipt of notification that the 

Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Cleanup Fund has become incapable of paying for assured 

corrective action or third-party compensation costs, the owner or 

operator shall obtain financial assurance for the full amounts 

specified in 40 CFR 280.93. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0504 REPLENISHMENT 

(a)  40 CFR 280.115 entitled "Replenishment of Guarantees, 

Letters of Credit, or Surety Bonds" is incorporated by reference, 

excluding subsequent amendments and editions. This document 

may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR?page=browse at 

no charge. 

(b)  If a standby trust (40 CFR 280.103) is funded upon the 

instruction of the Department with funds drawn from a guarantee 

(40 CFR 280.96), letter of credit (40 CFR 280.99), or surety bond 

(40 CFR 280.98), and the amount in the standby trust is reduced 

to less than the amount for which the owner or operator is 

responsible per occurrence for third party claims, the owner or 

operator shall within 60 days from which the funds were drawn: 

(1) replenish the value of financial assurance to 

equal the full amount of coverage required 

pursuant to Rule .0204 of this Subchapter; or 

(2) acquire another financial assurance mechanism 

for the amount by which funds in the standby 

trust fund have been reduced. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General 

Statutes and the following definitions shall apply throughout this 

Subchapter, except for Section .1500 of this Subchapter: 

(1) "Aerated static pile composting" means the 

process in which decomposing organic material 

is placed in piles over an active aeration system 

that is used to supply oxygen and to control 

temperature for the purpose of producing 

compost. 

(2) "Agricultural waste" means waste materials 

produced from the raising of plants and 

animals, including animal manures, bedding, 

plant stalks, hulls, and vegetable matter. 

(3) "Airport" means public-use airport open to the 

public without prior permission and without 

restrictions within the physical capacities of 

available facilities. 

(4) "Anaerobic digestion" means the biological 

process in which microorganisms break down 

biodegradable organic material in the absence 

of oxygen. 

(5) "Backyard composting" means the on-site 

composting of yard waste and food residuals by 

the owner or tenant of a residential property. 

The waste material is generated only onsite, and 

the resulting compost is used only onsite or on 

the owner or tenant's property.  

(6) "Backyard vermicomposting" means the on-site 

vermicomposting by the owner or tenant of a 

residential property using organic material from 

the residential property with the product 

produced used only onsite or on the owner or 

tenant's property. 

(7) "Collection center" means a collection point for 

the temporary storage of solid waste for 

individual residential households who choose 

to transport solid waste generated on their own 

property to a facility owned or operated by a 

local government, rather than directly to a solid 

waste management facility permitted in 

accordance with the rules of this Subchapter. 

Collection centers are also known as 

"convenience centers" and "drop-off-centers," 

and are not transfer stations for the purpose of 

this Subchapter. A person, business, or local 

government facility that collects materials for 

the purpose of recycling, and does not collect 

any solid waste for the purpose of disposal, is 

not a collection center for the purpose of this 

Subchapter. A collection center shall operate in 

accordance with Rule .0208(a) of this 

Subchapter. 

(8) "Compost" means a decomposed, humus-like 

organic matter, produced in an aerobic 
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composting process that is designed and 

monitored to ensure that the product is free 

from pathogens, toxins, or materials harmful at 

the point of end use. Compost is suitable for use 

as a soil conditioner and may have varying 

nutrient values. 

(9) "Compost facility" means a solid waste facility 

established in accordance with Section .1400 of 

this Subchapter that utilizes a controlled 

biological process of degrading non-hazardous 

solid waste. A compost facility may include: 

(a) materials processing and hauling 

equipment; 

(b) structures to control drainage;  

(c) structures to collect and treat leachate; 

and 

(d) storage areas for the incoming waste, 

the final products, and residual 

materials. 

(10) "Composting" means the biological 

decomposition of organic waste by naturally 

occurring bacteria under an aerobic process that 

is designed and monitored to yield a stable, 

humus-like, pathogen-free compost product.  

(11) "Composting pad" means a surface, whether 

soil or manufactured, where the process of 

composting takes place, and where raw and 

finished materials are stored. 

(12) "Construction and demolition debris landfill" 

and "C&DLF" mean a sanitary landfill unit 

established in accordance with Rules .0531 

through .0546 of this Subchapter for the land 

disposal of C&D waste. 

(13) "Curing" means a continuation of the 

composting process after the high heat stage 

during which compost stability and maturity 

continue to increase. Curing occurs after 

completing the process to further reduce 

pathogens and the requirements for vector 

attraction reduction.  

(14) "C&D waste" means solid waste generated 

solely from the construction, remodeling, 

repair, or demolition operations on pavement 

and buildings or structures. C&D waste 

includes municipal and industrial solid wastes 

that are identical to materials generated from 

the construction, remodeling, repair, or 

demolition operations on pavement and 

buildings or structures. 

(15) "Demolition landfill" means a sanitary landfill 

that was limited to receiving stumps, limbs, 

leaves, concrete, brick, wood, uncontaminated 

earth or other solid wastes approved by the 

Division, which either ceased operation or was 

converted to a land clearing and inert debris 

landfill (LCIDLF).  

(16) "Digestate" means the organic material 

produced during the anaerobic digestion 

process. The digestate is a wet mixture of solid 

and liquid that is rich in nutrients. 

(17) "Division" means the Director of the Division 

of Waste Management or the Director's 

authorized representative. 

(18) "Erosion control measure, structure, or device" 

means physical devices constructed, and 

management practices utilized, to control 

sedimentation and soil erosion such as silt 

fences, sediment basins, check dams, channels, 

swales, energy dissipation pads, seeding, 

mulching, and other similar items. 

(19) "Explosive gas" means a landfill gas that will 

propagate a flame in air at 25 degrees Celsius 

and atmospheric pressure, such as methane or 

hydrogen sulfide. 

(20) "Floodplain", "base floodplain", "one-hundred-

year floodplain", or "100-year floodplain" 

mean "base floodplain" as defined in G.S. 143-

215.52.  

(21) "Foreign matter" means metals, glass, plastics, 

rubber, bones, and leather, but does not include 

sand, grit, rocks, or other similar materials. 

(22) "Hazardous waste" means the term as defined 

in G.S. 130A-290(a)(8). The term does not 

include those solid wastes excluded from 

regulation pursuant to 40 CFR 261.4, 

incorporated by reference in 15A NCAC 13A 

.0106. The term does include hazardous waste 

generated by very small quantity generators as 

defined by 40 CFR 260.10, incorporated by 

reference in 15A NCAC 13A .0102(b). 

(23) "Incineration" means the disposal of solid, 

semi-solid, or gaseous combustible wastes 

through a burning process designed to create a 

waste gas emission that complies with 15A 

NCAC 02D and a waste residue containing 

little or no combustible material; but is not open 

burning. 

(24) "Incinerator" means a device designed to 

dispose of solid, semi-solid, or gaseous 

combustible wastes by incineration. 

(25) "Industrial process waste" means any solid, 

semi-solid, or liquid waste generated by a 

manufacturing or processing plant that is a 

result of the manufacturing or processing 

process. This definition does not include 

packaging materials associated with such 

activities. 

(26) "Industrial solid waste" means the term as 

defined in G.S. 130A-290(a)(13b). Such waste 

may include waste resulting from electric 

power generation, water treatment, and 

manufacturing processes for the following: 

(a) fertilizer/agricultural chemicals; 

(b) food and related products or 

byproducts; 

(c) inorganic chemicals; 

(d) iron and steel; 
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(e) leather and leather products; 

(f) nonferrous metals or foundries; 

(g) organic chemicals; 

(h) plastics and resins; 

(i) pulp and paper; 

(j) rubber and miscellaneous plastic 

products; 

(k) stone, glass, clay, and concrete 

products; 

(l) textiles; and 

(m) transportation equipment. 

This term does not include mining waste or oil 

and gas waste. 

(27) "Industrial solid waste landfill" and "ISWLF" 

mean a sanitary landfill unit established in 

accordance with Rules .0503 through .0505 of 

this Subchapter for the disposal of industrial 

solid waste, or for the exclusive disposal of 

scrap tires also known as a tire monofill. 

(28) "Inert debris waste" means inert debris that 

consists solely of asphalt, cured concrete, brick, 

concrete block, gravel, and rock. Inert debris 

waste shall not contain chemical adhesives or 

sealants, or lead-based paint. 

(29) "In-vessel composting" or "within-vessel" 

means the process in which decomposing 

organic material is enclosed in a drum, silo, bin 

tunnel, or other container for the purpose of 

producing compost under aerobic conditions. 

(30) "Land clearing and inert debris landfill" or 

"LCIDLF" mean a landfill unit established in 

accordance with Rules .0563 through .0567 of 

this Subchapter for the disposal of yard waste 

and inert debris waste.  

(31) "Land clearing waste" means land-clearing 

debris that consists solely of stumps, trees, 

limbs, brush, grass, and other naturally 

occurring vegetative material. 

(32) "Landfill gas" means a gas or mixture of gases 

generated by the decomposition of solid waste 

in a landfill. 

(33) "Licensed geologist" means the term as defined 

in G.S. 89E. 

(34) "Licensed professional engineer" means 

"professional engineer" as defined in G.S. 89C. 

(35) "Licensed professional land surveyor" means 

"professional land surveyor" as defined in G.S. 

89C. 

(36) "Licensed soil scientist" means the term as 

defined in G.S. 89F. 

(37) "Lower explosive limit" means the lowest 

percent by volume of a mixture of explosive 

gases that will propagate a flame in air at 25 

degrees Celsius and atmospheric pressure. 

(38) "Microbiological waste" means cultures and 

stocks of etiologic agents. The term includes 

cultures of specimens from medical, 

pathological, pharmaceutical, research, 

commercial, and industrial laboratories. 

(39) "Mulch" means a material generated from the 

chipping or grinding of naturally occurring 

wood waste such as tree stumps, limbs, and 

branches. Mulch shall not contain material 

generated from engineered, treated, or 

manufactured wood waste such as creosote 

telephone poles or railroad ties; laminated wood 

including flooring; painted, stained, or oiled 

wood; plywood; or composite boards such as 

particle board, medium-density fiberboard 

(MDF), oriented strand board (OSB), or similar 

products manufactured by binding or fixing the 

strands, particles, fibers, veneers, or boards of 

wood together to form a composite material. 

Mulch may contain material generated from the 

chipping or grinding of wooden pallets or skids 

only if the wood used in their construction is 

naturally occurring and has not been 

engineered, treated, or manufactured.  

(40) "Municipal solid waste landfill" and "MSWLF" 

mean a sanitary landfill unit established in 

accordance with Section .1600 of this 

Subchapter for the disposal of municipal solid 

waste. 

(41) "One-hundred-year flood", "100-year flood", or 

"base flood" means "base flood" as defined in 

G.S. 143-215.52.  

(42) "Open burning" means the term as defined in 

15A NCAC 02D .1902. 

(43) "Pathogens" means organisms that are capable 

of producing infection or diseases, often found 

in waste materials. 

(44) "Pathological waste" means the following 

wastes that are removed during surgery and 

autopsies: human tissues, organs, body parts, 

secretions and excretions, and blood and body 

fluids. It also includes the carcasses and body 

parts of animals that have been exposed to 

pathogens in research, were used in the 

production of biologicals or in the in vivo 

testing of pharmaceuticals, or that died of a 

known or suspected infectious disease. 

(45) "Putrescible waste" and "putrescent" mean 

solid waste that is capable of or is generating 

odors and gases from the process of 

decomposition by microorganisms. Putrescible 

waste or solid waste that may become 

putrescent may include medical waste, kitchen 

and food waste, offal, and carcasses. 

(46) "Regulated medical waste" means blood and 

body fluids in individual containers in volumes 

greater than 20 milliliters, microbiological 

waste, and pathological waste that have not 

been treated pursuant to Rule .1204 of this 

Subchapter. 

(47) "Residues from agricultural products and 

processing" means solids, semi-solids, or liquid 

residues from food and beverage processing 

and handling, silviculture, agriculture, and 
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aquaculture operations. The residues shall be 

non-toxic, non-hazardous, and shall contain no 

domestic wastewater. 

(48) "Respondent" means the person against whom 

an administrative penalty has been assessed. 

(49) "Sanitary landfill" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 130A-290(31). Landfills permitted in 

accordance with Rules .0503 through .0505 and 

.0510; Rules .0531 through .0546; and Section 

.1600 of this Subchapter are sanitary landfills. 

Land clearing and inert debris landfills are not 

sanitary landfills. 

(50) "Sediment" means the term as defined in G.S. 

113A-52.  

(51) "Septage management facility" means land, 

personnel, and equipment used in the 

management of septage, including septage 

management firms as defined in G.S. 130A-

290(a)(33), septage detention and treatment 

facilities, and septage land application sites 

established in accordance with Rules .0831 

through .0846 of this Subchapter. 

(52) "Silt" means sediment resulting from 

accelerated erosion that is settleable or 

removable by control measures that are 

designed, constructed, and maintained and has 

been transported from its point of origin within 

the site land-disturbing activity and has been 

deposited, or is in suspension in water. 

(53) "Silviculture waste" means waste materials 

produced from the care and cultivation of forest 

trees, including bark and woodchips. 

(54) "Soil" means the unconsolidated mineral and 

organic material of the land surface. It consists 

of a mixture of organic matter and of sand, silt, 

and clay minerals. 

(55) "Solid waste collector" means any person who 

collects or transports solid waste by methods 

such as highway, rail, and navigable waterway. 

(56) "Solid waste generator" means any person who 

produces solid waste. 

(57) "Spoiled food" means any food that has been 

removed from sale by the United States 

Department of Agriculture, the N.C. 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, or any other regulatory agency having 

jurisdiction in determining that food is unfit for 

consumption. 

(58) "Temporary debris storage and reduction site" 

means a site that complies with the 

requirements of Rule .0208(b) of this 

Subchapter for the storage and processing of 

additional waste generated from the following:  

(a) an incident that caused a declaration of 

a state of emergency or disaster in 

accordance with Chapter 166A, 

Article 1A, Part 4 of the General 

Statutes to assist with local and State 

recovery and compliance with the 

Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 

Emergency Assistance Act, Public 

Law 93-288, as amended; or 

(b) a hurricane, tornado, severe storm, ice 

storm, or a 100-year flood event.  

(59) "Transfer station" means a permanent structure 

with mechanical equipment established in 

accordance with Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter that is used for the collection, 

consolidation, or compaction of solid waste 

prior to the transportation of solid waste for 

final disposal. 

(60) "Treatment and processing facility" means a 

facility established in accordance with Section 

.0300 of this Subchapter for the treatment and 

processing of solid waste prior to the 

transportation of solid waste for final disposal 

or for utilization by reclaiming or recycling. 

(61) "Vector" means a carrier, such as rodents, 

insects, and birds, that is capable of transmitting 

a pathogen from one organism to another. 

(62) "Vermicompost" means the product of the 

vermicomposting process that is a dark, fertile 

mixture of decomposed organic waste, bedding 

material, and granular castings. 

(63) "Vermicomposting" means the controlled and 

managed process by which live worms convert 

organic materials into vermicompost. 

(64) "Vermiculture" means raising of earthworms 

for the purpose of vermicomposting. 

(65) "Water supply watershed" means an area from 

which water drains to a point or impoundment, 

and the water is then used as a source for a 

public water supply. 

(66) "Water table" means the term defined in 15A 

NCAC 02L .0102. 

(67) "Windrow composting" means a process for 

compost production in which decomposing 

organic materials are placed in piles and are 

turned or agitated to assure all parts of the 

decomposing material meet the requirements of 

Section .1400 of this Subchapter for pathogen 

reduction and vector attraction reduction.  

(68) "Working face" means that portion of the solid 

waste disposal site where solid wastes are 

discharged, spread, and compacted prior to the 

placement of cover material. 

(69) "Yard waste" means land-clearing waste and 

yard trash.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2008; October 1, 1995; January 4, 1993; 

December 1, 1991; February 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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15A NCAC 13B .0102 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  The management of solid waste is subject to Chapter 130A 

Article 1, Part 2, and Article 9 of the General Statutes, as well as 

the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The rules of this Subchapter shall not apply to the 

management of hazardous waste, with the exception of Rule 

.0103(h) of this Section. 15A NCAC 13A contains requirements 

for hazardous waste management. 

(c)  The rules of this Section are applicable to the general 

management of solid waste by all persons in the State unless 

exempted by Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General Statutes or 

the rules of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0103 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All solid waste shall be stored, collected, transported, 

separated, processed, recycled, recovered, and disposed of in a 

manner consistent with the requirements of the rules of this 

Subchapter. The Division is responsible for the enforcement of 

the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  No solid waste containing radioactive material as defined in 

G.S. 104E-5 shall be collected and transported, stored, treated, 

processed, disposed of, or reclaimed, except as authorized by a 

radioactive material license issued by the Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Health Service Regulation, 

Radiation Protection Section.  

(c)  Solid waste shall be disposed of in accordance with Article 9 

of Chapter 130A of the General Statutes and the rules of this 

Subchapter. The disposal of solid waste shall be in accordance 

with the hierarchy of methods of managing solid waste in G.S. 

130A-309.04(a)(1) through (6).  

(d)  In addition to the requirements of G.S. 130A-309.10, 

hazardous waste, liquid waste as defined in Rule .0532 of this 

Subchapter, and regulated medical waste are prohibited from 

disposal at a solid waste disposal site. The Division may prohibit 

a waste stream of a particular type or from a particular source from 

being accepted at solid waste management facilities or disposed 

of at a solid waste disposal site if the Division determines that the 

waste stream contains an emerging contaminant or pathogen that 

may pose a risk to the environment or public health through the 

management or disposal of such waste at a particular solid waste 

management facility. If the Division prohibits such a waste 

stream, the Division shall notify all affected facilities in writing 

and shall post a notice on the Division's Solid Waste Section 

website at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-

management/solid-waste-section no less than 48 hours prior to the 

effective date of the prohibition. The notice shall contain the type 

or source of the prohibited waste stream, the reason for the 

prohibition, the effective date of the prohibition, and the ending 

date of the prohibition or a statement that the prohibition shall be 

in effect until the Division removes the prohibition. 

(e)  No person shall dispose or cause the disposal of solid waste 

in or on waters in a manner that results in solid waste's entering 

waters or being deposited upon lands of the State. 

(f)  Solid waste disposal sites including sanitary landfills, land 

clearing and inert debris landfills, and incinerators shall comply 

with the same requirements as "new solid waste disposal 

facilities" provided in G.S. 143-215.54(c) in accordance with the 

effective date of S.L. 2000-150, s. 5.  

(g)  All solid waste management facilities owned and operated by 

or on behalf of a local government shall have scales and shall 

weigh all solid waste when it is received at the facility. 

(h)  When the Division assesses an administrative penalty for 

violations of Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General Statutes 

and the rules adopted thereunder, the penalty shall be assessed in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-22 and the following assessment 

procedures: 

(1) For all violations for which a penalty is 

assessed, a notice of the assessment shall be 

sent to the respondent by US Postal Service 

registered or certified mail, or hand-delivered. 

The notice shall describe the nature of the 

violation, state the amount of the penalty and 

the costs assessed in accordance with G.S. 

130A-22(j) ("investigative costs"), state when 

the penalty and investigative costs are due, state 

that each day of a continuing violation will 

constitute a separate violation, and advise the 

respondent of the right to appeal in accordance 

with G.S. 150B. 

(2) After the notice has been issued, the respondent 

may request to settle the penalty assessment and 

violations through informal procedures as set 

forth in G.S. 150B-22(a). The Division may 

reduce the amount of the assessed penalty as a 

part of a settlement agreement resulting from 

the informal procedure process. 

(3) The assessed penalty and the investigative costs 

shall be due and payable within 60 days of 

receipt of the notice issued in accordance with 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph. 

(4) The assessment of a penalty does not prevent 

the Division from also suspending or revoking 

a permit in accordance with G.S. 130A-23. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 28, 1988, for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on April 26, 1989; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; January 4, 1993; February 1, 

1991; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0104 SOLID WASTE STORAGE 

(a)  The owner or occupant of any property, unless exempted from 

the rules of this Subchapter in accordance with G.S. 130A-294(b), 

shall be responsible for the sanitary storage of all solid waste 

accumulated on the property. 

(b)  Unless another type of container is required by the unit of 

local government, garbage shall be stored in durable, rust-

resistant, nonabsorbent, watertight, rodent proof, and cleanable 

containers with a close-fitting cover that is impervious to flies.  
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(c)  Refuse shall be stored in durable containers that are consistent 

with the requirements of the unit of local government.  

(d)  All solid waste shall be stored using safe and sanitary 

practices for the preservation of the public health and welfare and 

the environment that prevents the generation of leachate, the 

attraction of vectors, the release of odors, and the release of waste 

or leachate to the environment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0105 COLLECTION AND 

TRANSPORTATION OF SOLID WASTE 

(a)  The solid waste collector shall be responsible for the 

collection and transportation of all solid waste to a solid waste 

management facility that is permitted by the Division. 

(b)  The solid waste collector shall transport to a solid waste 

disposal site or solid waste management facility only those solid 

wastes that are allowed by the site or facility permit. 

(c)  Vehicles or containers used for the collection of solid waste, 

and transportation by whatever means, including highway, rail, 

and navigable waterway, shall be constructed, operated, and 

maintained to be leak resistant in order to prevent the creation of 

a nuisance to public health from the escape of solid, semi-solid, 

or liquid waste. In order to meet the requirement to be leak 

resistant, the owner or operator of the vehicle or container shall 

adhere to the following standards: 

(1) All surfaces that come in contact with waste 

shall be smooth and non-absorbent. 

(2) All drain holes and valves shall be closed, 

plugged, or sealed. 

(3) The vehicle or container shall be equipped with 

seals, gaskets, or other devices pursuant to 

manufacturer specifications in order to prevent 

the escape of liquids. Such seals, gaskets, and 

other devices shall be maintained and replaced 

pursuant to manufacturer specifications. 

(4) The vehicle or container body, waste holding 

area, and hopper, if so equipped, shall be free of 

holes, cracks, rusting, corrosion, or other 

evidence of damage or weakness that may 

allow the escape of solid, semi-solid, or liquid 

waste. 

(5) The waste holding area, including the hopper 

and around the packer blade, if so equipped, 

shall be clear of debris to prevent vectors or the 

accumulation of litter. 

(6) The vehicle or container shall be loaded, 

transported, operated, and maintained to 

prevent the escape of solid, semi-solid, or liquid 

waste to the environment. 

(7) The vehicle or container shall be serviced, 

repaired, and cleaned to preserve the integrity 

of the door seal, to prevent the accumulation of 

mechanical fluids, dirt, leachate, and waste 

particulates on the vehicle's exterior, and to 

prevent contamination of the environment by 

fluids. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(b); S.L. 2013-413; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. March 16, 2017; February 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0106 GENERATOR OF SOLID 

WASTE 

(a)  Unless exempted from the rules of this Subchapter in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-294(b), a solid waste generator shall 

be responsible for storing, collecting, and disposing of solid waste 

in accordance with the rules of this Subchapter.  

(b)  Unless exempted from the rules of this Subchapter in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-294(b), the solid waste generator 

shall ensure that his or her waste is disposed of at a solid waste 

disposal site or solid waste management facility that is permitted 

by the Division to receive such waste in accordance with the rules 

of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0201 PERMIT REQUIRED 

(a)  No person shall treat, process, store, or dispose of solid waste 

or arrange for the treatment, processing, storage, or disposal of 

solid waste except at a solid waste management facility permitted 

by the Division for such activity, except as provided in G.S. 130A-

294(b). 

(b)  No person shall cause, suffer, allow, or permit the treatment, 

storage, processing, or disposal of solid waste upon any real or 

personal property owned, operated, leased, or in any way 

controlled by that person without obtaining a permit for a solid 

waste management facility from the Division authorizing such 

activity, except as provided in G.S. 130A-294(b). 

(c)  No solid waste management facility shall be established, 

operated, maintained, constructed, expanded, or modified without 

a valid permit issued by the Division for the specified type of 

activity. It is the responsibility of every owner or operator of a 

proposed solid waste management facility to apply for a permit 

for the facility. The term "owner" shall include record owners of 

the land where the facility is located or proposed to be located and 

holders of any leasehold interest, however denominated, in any 

part of the land or structures where the facility is located or 

proposed to be located. 

(d)  The solid waste management facility permit, except for 

permits authorizing LCIDLFs, septage management facilities, or 

compost facilities, shall have two parts, as follows: 

(1) A permit approval to construct a solid waste 

management facility or portion of a facility 

shall be issued by the Division after site and 

construction plans have been approved by the 

Division and it has been determined that the 

facility can be operated in accordance with 

Article 9 of Chapter 130A and the applicable 

rules set forth in this Subchapter, and other 

applicable State, federal, and local laws. An 
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applicant shall not clear or grade land or 

commence construction for a solid waste 

management facility or a portion thereof until a 

permit approval to construct has been issued. 

(2) A permit approval to operate a solid waste 

management facility shall not be issued unless 

it has been determined that the facility has been 

constructed in accordance with the construction 

plans, that any pre-operation conditions of the 

permit to construct have been met, and that the 

permit has been recorded, if applicable, in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-301. 

(e)  LCIDLFs, septage management facilities, and compost 

facilities may be issued a combined permit that includes approval 

to construct and operate the facility. 

(f)  All solid waste management facilities shall be operated in 

conformity with the rules of this Subchapter and shall utilize safe 

and sanitary practices for the preservation of the public health and 

welfare and the environment by preventing the generation of 

leachate, the attraction of vectors, the release of odors, and the 

release of waste or leachate to the environment.  

(g)  Disposal area boundaries for landfills permitted in accordance 

with Sections .0500 or .1600 of this Subchapter shall be delineated 

with stationary markers affixed to the ground. The markers shall 

be of height and spacing so that they are distinguishable from the 

surrounding landscape, and so that the adjacent markers are 

visible when standing at a marker. 

(h)  The owner or operator shall notify the Department within 30 

days of a significant change in accordance with G.S. 130A-

295.2(g). The owner or operator shall submit an application to 

amend a permit for a change in ownership or corporate structure 

of a permitted solid waste management facility. If the facility is 

required to establish financial assurance pursuant to Section .1800 

of this Subchapter, then the facility shall not be released from the 

requirement to establish financial assurance until the Division has 

issued a permit to the new owner. 

(i)  Permits issued by the Division are subject to review by the 

Division to determine compliance with the rules of this 

Subchapter. The Division shall provide written notice to a facility 

no less than 180 days prior to an unscheduled review. 

(j)  Solid waste management facilities permitted by the Division 

in accordance with this Subchapter are subject to Article 1 Part 2 

and Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General Statutes, 15A 

NCAC 02C, 02L, 04, and the surface water quality standards in 

15A NCAC 02B. [Note this list is not comprehensive, and is 

provided for information only.] 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294;  

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 4, 1993; February 1, 1991; March 1, 1988; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 19, 1993 to expire on October 9, 

1993 or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. October 9, 1993; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2016; August 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0202 PERMIT APPLICATION 

(a)  Applications for permits required by Rule .0201 of this 

Section shall be submitted to the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section, 

1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646. 

Permit applications shall contain the following information: 

(1) site and construction plans; 

(2) an approval letter from the unit of local 

government having zoning authority over the 

area where the facility is to be located stating 

that the proposed facility meets all of the 

requirements of the local zoning ordinance, or 

that the site is not zoned; 

(3) plans and specifications for solid waste 

management facilities shall be prepared and 

certified by a licensed professional engineer if 

required by G.S. 89C, and is not under the 

purview of another licensed professional such 

as a licensed professional land surveyor. 

Geological studies shall be certified by a 

licensed geologist, if required by G.S. 89E, and 

is not under the purview of another licensed 

profession such as a licensed soil scientist in 

accordance with G.S. 89F; 

(4) any additional permit application information 

required to be submitted by the rules of this 

Subchapter based on the type of facility 

proposed by the applicant; and 

(5) other information that the Division may request 

in writing for the proposed facility, if it is 

necessary to determine compliance with the 

requirements of this Subchapter. 

(b)  All applications for a permit approval to construct as set forth 

in Rule .0201(d)(1) of this Section shall also include 

documentation necessary to determine compliance with G.S. 

130A-295.2 and G.S. 130A-295.3, such as the following: 

(1) cost estimates for financial assurance if the 

facility is subject to Section .1800 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) documentation that the Division may request to 

determine compliance with the requirements 

for financial qualifications in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-295.2(d), if any; 

(3) the environmental compliance history for the 

applicant as defined in G.S. 130A-295.3(a); and 

(4) if the applicant is a business entity, an 

organizational chart showing the structure of 

the applicant as defined in G.S. 130A-

295.3(a)(i) through (iii). 

(c)  All applications for a permit approval to operate as set forth 

in Rule .0201(d)(2) of this Section shall also include 

documentation necessary to determine compliance with G.S. 

130A-295.2 and G.S. 130A-295.3, such as the following: 

(1) updated cost estimates for financial assurance if 

the facility is subject to Section .1800 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) the executed financial assurance mechanism if 

the facility is subject to Section .1800 of this 

Subchapter; 
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(3) an updated environmental compliance history 

for the applicant as defined in G.S. 130A-

295.3(a); and 

(4) if the applicant is a business entity, an updated 

organizational chart showing the structure of 

the applicant as defined in G.S. 130A-

295.3(a)(i) through (iii). 

(d)  When a permit applicant submits a complete application for a 

permit to the Division prior to the expiration date of the existing 

permit for the facility, including the payment of an annual fee and 

permit application fee if required by G.S. 130A-291.1 or 130A-

295.8, the existing permit shall not expire until a decision on the 

permit application is made by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 4, 1993; February 1, 1991; September 1, 

1990; August 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0203 PERMIT APPROVAL OR 

DENIAL 

(a)  Upon receipt of a permit application, the Division shall review 

the request to assure that all provisions of the rules of this 

Subchapter, Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General Statutes, 

and the Federal Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 

1976, Public Law 94-580, as amended, will be met. The Division 

shall review permit applications in accordance with the timelines 

established in G.S. 130A-295.8(e). Based on its review, the 

Division shall either approve or deny the request in writing. 

(b)  When an application is approved, the applicant shall be 

provided a permit. If the approval is contingent upon certain 

conditions being met by the applicant, such as a final construction 

inspection or obtaining a local government franchise approval, 

such conditions shall be noted on the permit. 

(c)  Before receiving solid waste at a newly permitted facility, an 

inspection shall be made by a representative of the Division to 

assure that the site is prepared in accordance with the permit, and 

the permit shall be recorded in accordance with G.S. 130A-301. 

(d)  By receiving solid waste at a permitted facility, the permittee 

shall be considered by the Department to have accepted the 

conditions of the permit and shall comply with the conditions of 

the permit. 

(e)  When the Division denies a permit for a solid waste 

management facility, it shall state in writing the reason for such 

denial and shall also state its estimate of the changes in the 

applicant's proposed activities or plans that will be required for 

the applicant to obtain a permit. A denial shall be without 

prejudice to the submission of a future application for a permit 

after revisions are made to meet objections specified as reasons 

for denial. The Division shall deny a permit as set forth in G.S. 

130A-294(a)(4)c, or for the following reasons:  

(1) submission of incomplete information; 

(2) failure to meet the requirements of this 

Subchapter;  

(3) failure to meet a requirement or standard set 

forth in Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the 

General Statutes; or 

(4) siting, design, construction, or operation plans 

that would prevent the solid waste management 

facility or site from being operated in 

accordance with Article 9 of Chapter 130A of 

the General Statutes, the rules of this 

Subchapter, the Federal Resource Conservation 

and Recovery Act of 1976, Public Law 94-580, 

as amended, or any applicable standards and 

requirements of G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F.  

(f)  Appeals of permit decisions shall be in accordance with 

Article 3 of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes and the rules 

adopted thereunder. 

(g)  The Secretary may suspend or revoke a permit in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-23. If the Secretary revokes or suspends a permit, 

the Department shall notify the owner or operator in writing of the 

reasons for the permit action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2008; February 1, 1991; August 1, 1988; 

February 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0204 RECORDATION OF LAND 

DISPOSAL PERMITS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0207 LIFE-OF-SITE PERMIT ISSUED 

FOR A SANITARY LANDFILL OR TRANSFER 

STATION 

(a)  A transfer station permit issued in accordance with Section 

.0400 of this Subchapter, or a sanitary landfill permit issued in 

accordance with Section .0500 of this Subchapter for industrial 

solid waste landfill facilities or construction and demolition 

landfill facilities or Section .1600 of this Subchapter for municipal 

solid waste landfill facilities shall be for the life-of-site as defined 

in G.S. 130A-294(a2). 

(b)  A permit application for a sanitary landfill for the life-of-site 

shall state the duration of the life-of-site in the site development 

or facility plan prepared in accordance with Section .0500 or 

.1600 of this Subchapter; and shall show the phases or progression 

of operation in periods of no less than five years and no greater 

than the life-of-site.  

(c)  A sanitary landfill that has an existing permit issued by the 

Division prior to July 1, 2016 shall be approved for a permit for 

the life-of-site within 90 days of submittal of the following 

updated permit information: 

(1) a specification of the duration of the life-of-site 

stated in the site development or facility plan; 

(2) landfill capacity in years, projected for the life-

of-site;  

(3) average monthly disposal rates and estimated 

variances; and 

(4) a copy of the local government franchise 

agreement or approving resolution for the life-

of-site. 
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(d)  Each phase within a permit for sanitary landfills shall be 

designed and constructed in accordance with Sections .0500 or 

.1600 of this Subchapter. Site development plans shall show the 

phases or progression of construction and operation in periods of 

no less than five years and no greater than the life-of-site as stated 

in the site development or facility plan. 

(e)  A permit application for a transfer station for the life-of-site 

shall conform to the requirements of Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. The duration of the life-of-site shall be stated in the 

site plan prepared in accordance with Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. The site plan shall be for the life-of-site. 

(f)  A transfer station that has an existing permit issued by the 

Division prior to July 1, 2016 shall be approved for a life-of-site 

permit upon submittal of a written request for approval of a permit 

for the life of the site for the transfer station. The duration of the 

life-of-site shall be stated in the request.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294;  

Eff. March 16, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0208 PERMIT EXEMPTIONS 

(a)  A collection center shall not be required to obtain a permit 

from the Division for the construction or operation of these 

facilities if the facility operations comply with Article 9 of 

Chapter 130A of the General Statutes, the rules of this Subchapter, 

and the following conditions: 

(1) Collection centers shall not receive solid waste 

generated from non-residential activities or by 

commercial waste collection services. Facilities 

that receive such waste shall comply with the 

requirements for transfer stations in accordance 

with Section .0400 of this Subchapter. 

(2) Solid waste received at collection centers shall 

be stored in accordance with Rule .0104 of this 

Subchapter. Garbage shall not be stored at the 

collection center for more than seven days 

between the time of collection and the time of 

disposal at a solid waste management facility 

permitted in accordance with the rules of this 

Subchapter to accept such waste. Refuse shall 

not be stored at the collection center more than 

90 days between the time of collection and the 

time of removal to a solid waste management 

facility permitted in accordance with the rules 

of this Subchapter to accept such waste. 

(3) Source-separated recyclables such as paper, 

plastic, and electronics that would be collected 

by a local curbside recycling collection 

program but are instead being collected at the 

collection center for the purpose of recycling 

are not subject to the requirements of 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, and shall be 

managed in accordance with G.S. 130A-

309.05(c). 

(4) The following items shall not be accepted at 

collection centers for the purposes of disposal: 

(A) construction, demolition, or industrial 

wastes from commercial or industrial 

sources; 

(B) burning or smoldering waste; 

(C) asbestos-containing materials, unless 

it is generated by an individual 

property owner and is packaged and 

handled to prevent the material from 

being friable; 

(D) radioactive waste; 

(E) hazardous waste; 

(F) regulated medical waste; 

(G) animal carcasses; 

(H) liquid waste, unless it is in containers 

similar in size to containers found in 

household waste; and 

(I) items banned from landfill disposal 

pursuant to G.S. 130A-309.10. 

(5) Owners and operators of collection centers shall 

allow the Division to enter the collection center 

property to inspect any facilities, equipment, 

practices, or operations to determine 

compliance with Article 9 of Chapter 130A of 

the General Statutes or the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

This Rule does not exempt collection centers and their operations 

from any other applicable local, State, or federal permitting and 

operational requirements, if such requirements exist. 

(b)  A temporary debris storage and reduction site (site) shall not 

be required to obtain a permit from the Division for the temporary 

operation of these sites for solid waste management after a 

disaster event if the operations comply with Article 9 of Chapter 

130A of the General Statutes, the rules of this Subchapter, and the 

following conditions: 

(1) A site shall accept only waste generated by a 

disaster event for storage, segregation, 

processing, and reduction. A site shall not be 

used for solid waste management at any time 

other than following a disaster event. For the 

purposes of this Rule, "disaster event" means 

one of the following: 

(A) a natural or man-made event that 

causes a declaration of a state of 

emergency or disaster in accordance 

with Chapter 166A, Article 1A, Part 4 

of the General Statutes; or 

(B) a hurricane, tornado, severe storm, ice 

storm, or a 100-year flood event. 

(2) The landowner or operator of the site shall 

submit notification of the proposed site to the 

Division on a site evaluation form, which may 

be found on the Division's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-

management/waste-management-permit-

guidance/solid-waste-section/disaster-debris, 

that shall include the following: 

(A) site name, address, city, county, parcel 

identification number, and latitude and 

longitude in decimal degrees, driving 
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directions to the site, and acreage of 

the site; 

(B) primary operator contact name, 

telephone number, and e-mail address, 

and any business name; 

(C) local government contact name, 

telephone number, and e-mail address; 

(D) landowner name, mailing address, 

telephone number, and e-mail address; 

(E) waste types proposed to be accepted; 

(F) proposed site operations and 

procedures for waste acceptance, 

handling, reduction, and removal; 

(G) proposed destination of waste or 

materials removed from the site; and 

(H) an aerial photograph indicating the 

proposed waste handling areas at the 

site and the buffer areas required in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(3) Unless a site is located at a solid waste 

management facility that has been permitted by 

the Division in accordance with the rules of this 

Subchapter, or that has submitted notification to 

the Division in accordance with Rule 

.1402(g)(1)(A) of this Subchapter, sites shall be 

owned or operated by one of the following: 

(A) a county government as defined in 

G.S. 153A-10; 

(B) a city government as defined in G.S. 

160A-1; 

(C) a State or federal agency or institution; 

(D) a State or federally-recognized Indian 

tribe; or 

(E) a third-party entity under contract with 

one of the entities in Parts (A) through 

(D) of this Subparagraph with 

authorization of the landowner. 

(4) A site shall meet the following siting 

requirements for the acceptance, storage, and 

processing of yard waste and demolition debris: 

(A) Waste storage, processing, and 

handling areas shall be located no less 

than 100 feet from property 

boundaries, on-site structures, 

residences, private or public wells, 

septic tank systems, and surface 

waters. 

(B) Waste storage, processing, and 

handling areas for demolition debris 

shall be located no less than 250 feet 

from potable wells. 

(C) Grinding or chipping of waste shall 

not occur within 300 feet of a 

residence or business property or 

publicly owned roads or properties, 

unless the Division states a reduced 

buffer in the conditional approval 

letter because the type of grinding 

equipment or procedures proposed to 

be utilized will reduce the impacted 

area. 

(D) A site shall not be located in wetlands 

as delineated by the U.S. Fish and 

Wildlife Service (FWS) National 

Wetlands Inventory Wetlands 

Mapper, which can be accessed from 

the U.S. FWS website at 

https://www.fws.gov/wetlands/index.

html. 

(E) A site shall not be located in the 

floodway as defined in 44 CFR 9.4, 

which is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and can be accessed free of 

charge at https://www.ecfr.gov. 

(F) A site shall not be located in the 100-

year floodplain as delineated by the 

NC Flood Risk Information System 

(FRIS) unless exempted from this 

requirement by the Division in the 

letter of conditional site approval. 

When making the determination to 

exempt a site, the Division shall 

consider the availability of other 

potential locations that are not in the 

100-year floodplain, the need for 

additional sites following a disaster 

event, the amount and types of waste 

proposed to be stored at the site, and 

the proposed waste handling activities 

at the site. The NC FRIS mapping tool 

can be accessed from the NC 

Floodplain Mapping Program website 

at https://fris.nc.gov/fris/?ST=NC. 

(G) A site shall not damage or destroy a 

property of archaeological or 

historical significance that has been 

listed on the National Register of 

Historic Places or included on the 

Study List for the Register pursuant to 

07 NCAC 04R .0206 and .0300, which 

are incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments. 

The Division or the site operator shall 

obtain a site-specific survey from the 

State's Historic Preservation Office 

(SHPO) in the Department of Natural 

and Cultural Resources, and the 

Division shall include the site-specific 

survey response on SHPO letterhead 

with the letter of site pre-approval 

obtained in accordance with 

Subparagraph (8) of this Paragraph. 

(H) The location, access, size, and 

operation of the site shall not have an 

adverse impact on any component 

included in the State Nature and 

Historic Preserve pursuant to G.S. 
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143-260.10. The Division or the site 

operator shall obtain a site-specific 

survey from the Natural Heritage 

Program (NHP) in the Department of 

Natural and Cultural Resources, and 

the Division shall include the site-

specific survey response on NHP 

letterhead with the letter of site pre-

approval obtained in accordance with 

Subparagraph (8) of this Paragraph. 

(I) A site shall not jeopardize the 

continued existence of endangered or 

threatened species or result in the 

destruction or adverse modification of 

a critical habitat protected under the 

Federal Endangered Species Act of 

1973, Public Law 93-205, as amended. 

The Division or the site operator shall 

obtain a site-specific survey from the 

Natural Heritage Program (NHP) in 

the Department of Natural and 

Cultural Resources, and the Division 

shall include the site-specific survey 

response on NHP letterhead with the 

letter of site pre-approval obtained in 

accordance with Subparagraph (8) of 

this Paragraph. 

(J) The site shall comply with 15A NCAC 

04 for sedimentation and erosion 

control. 15A NCAC 04 is incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments.  

The Division may amend the buffer 

requirements of Parts (A) through (C) of this 

Subparagraph if it is necessary for the 

preservation of the public health and the 

environment, or if additional waste handling 

areas are necessary to expedite recovery from a 

disaster event. If the Division amends the buffer 

requirements, the Division shall notify the site 

owner or operator by email. 

(5) A site shall not accept any waste other than yard 

waste and demolition debris, except that it may 

accept household hazardous waste, white 

goods, or electronics under the following 

conditions: 

(A) the solid waste management facility 

that accepted the household hazardous 

waste, white goods, or electronics 

prior to the disaster event is not able to 

accept these wastes after the disaster 

event; 

(B) the site operator shall submit to the 

Division a plan for the handling and 

removal of household hazardous 

waste, white goods, and electronics in 

writing prior to accepting these wastes 

after a disaster event; 

(C) the household hazardous waste, white 

goods, and electronics shall be stored 

in containers that comply with Rules 

.0104 and .0105 of this Subchapter; 

and 

(D) the household hazardous waste, white 

goods, and electronics shall be 

removed from the site within 30 days 

of receipt and managed in accordance 

with Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the 

General Statutes and the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(6) A site shall comply with any local, State, and 

federal siting, permitting, and operational laws, 

rules, and ordinances, and with the 

requirements of the Federal Emergency 

Management Act. 

(7) The open burning of solid waste is prohibited at 

a site unless approved by the Division of Air 

Quality or an EPA-delegated local air program 

prior to burning after a disaster event. The site 

shall comply with 15A NCAC 02D, and any 

additional siting buffers that may apply to 

burning activities. Ash generated by the 

burning of solid waste at a site shall be handled 

in the same manner as ash generated by a solid 

waste management facility in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-309.05(b). 

(8) The site operator shall obtain a letter of site pre-

approval from the Division stating that the 

Division has determined that the site meets the 

conditions of Subparagraphs (1) through (6) of 

this Paragraph, and providing the site 

identification number designated by the 

Division. The Division may provide additional 

conditions for site use in the letter of site pre-

approval if it is necessary to comply with the 

requirements of this Subchapter, or to assist 

with local and State recovery and compliance 

with the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 

Emergency Assistance Act, Public Law 93-288, 

as amended.  

(9) The site operator shall notify the Division 

verbally or in writing that the site is accepting 

waste within 14 days of initial acceptance of 

waste after a disaster event. 

(10) All solid waste shall be removed from the site 

for disposal, recycling, or reuse within 180 days 

of initial waste acceptance after a disaster event, 

unless the owner or operator submits a written 

request for an extension of time for waste 

removal, and the Division grants the extension 

in writing. In making the determination to grant 

the extension, the Division shall consider 

factors such as:  

(A) the type of disaster event; 

(B) the effects on the part of the State in 

which the disaster event occurred;  
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(C) the amount and types of waste stored 

at the site;  

(D) the efforts taken by the owner or 

operator to remove the waste; 

(E) the compliance history of the owner or 

operator; and 

(F) any extenuating circumstances that 

have caused the delay provided by the 

owner or operator in the request. 

(11) Yard waste that has been reduced or processed, 

such as chipped wood or mulch, and removed 

from a site is not subject to regulation as a solid 

waste or the requirements of this Subchapter if 

it is managed as a recovered material in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-309.05(c) by the 

person receiving the material. 

(12) Within 30 days of the removal of all solid 

waste, the site shall be graded to prevent 

ponding of surface water, and vegetative 

groundcover shall be established. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0301 SITING AND APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A treatment and processing facility (site) shall meet the 

following siting requirements: 

(1) Floodplain Restrictions: Any portions of the 

site property where storage or processing of 

solid waste occurs shall not be located in the 

100-year floodplain. 

(2) Cultural Resources Restrictions: A site shall not 

damage or destroy a property of archaeological 

or historical significance that has been listed on 

the National Register of Historic Places or 

included on the Study List for the Register 

pursuant to 07 NCAC 04R .0206 and .0300, 

which are incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments.  

(3) State Nature and Historic Preserve Restrictions: 

The location, access, size, and operation of the 

site shall not have an adverse impact on any 

component included in the State Nature and 

Historic Preserve pursuant to G.S. 143-260.10. 

(4) Endangered and Threatened Species 

Restrictions: A site shall not jeopardize the 

continued existence of endangered or 

threatened species or result in the destruction or 

adverse modification of a critical habitat, 

protected under the Federal Endangered 

Species Act of 1973, Public Law 93-205, as 

amended. 

(5) Clean Water Act Requirements: A site or site 

operations shall: 

(A) not cause a discharge of pollutants into 

waters of the United States, including 

wetlands, that violates any 

requirements of the Clean Water Act, 

including the National Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System 

(NPDES) requirements pursuant to 

Section 402 of the Clean Water Act;  

(B) comply with Section 404 of the Clean 

Water Act; and  

(C) not cause the discharge of a nonpoint 

source of pollution to waters of the 

United States, including wetlands, that 

violates any requirement of an area-

wide or Statewide water quality 

management plan that has been 

approved under Section 208 or 319 of 

the Clean Water Act. 

(6) Buffer Requirements: Unless otherwise stated 

in the site permit or local zoning requires larger 

buffers, the waste handling, treatment, 

processing, and storage areas shall be: 

(A) no less than 100 feet from supply 

wells; 

(B) no less than 100 feet from property 

lines; 

(C) no less than 50 feet from waters of the 

State as defined in G.S. 143-212, or 

wetlands as defined in 40 CFR 232.2; 

and 

(D) surrounded by an unused and cleared 

area of no less than 25 feet to allow 

access for fire or emergency response 

vehicles. 

(b)  A permit applicant shall submit to the Division one electronic 

copy of a permit application, which shall contain the plans 

described in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  Site Plan. An application for a permit for a site shall contain 

a site plan that includes the following information: 

(1) an aerial photograph, representative of existing 

conditions, at a scale of at least one inch equals 

400 feet, showing the area within one quarter 

mile of the proposed site's boundaries with the 

following identified: 

(A) property lines of the entire property 

where the site will be located; 

(B) waste treatment, processing, and 

storage areas; 

(C) buffer areas and distances to wells, 

residences, wetlands and water bodies, 

and descriptions of any buffer 

requirements by local government 

zoning regulations; 

(D) existing land use and zoning; 

(E) location of all private residences, 

commercial and industrial buildings, 

public or private utilities, roads, and 

schools; 

(F) on-site easements; 

(G) location of potable wells and public 

water supplies; 

(H) historic sites described in 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; 
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(I) State nature and historic preserves 

described in Subparagraph (a)(3) of 

this Rule; 

(J) the existing topography and features 

of the site including general surface 

water drainage patterns and 

watersheds, 100-year floodplains, 

perennial and intermittent streams, 

rivers, and lakes; and 

(K) the classification of the surface water 

drainage from the site in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 02B .0300; 

(2) a letter from the unit of government having 

zoning jurisdiction over the site that states that 

the proposed use is allowed within any existing 

zoning and that any necessary zoning approval 

or permit has been obtained, and that states the 

local zoning buffers that apply to the site; and 

(3) letters from both the State Historic Preservation 

Office and the Natural Heritage Program within 

the Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources stating whether the proposed use of 

the site will impact the historic sites described 

in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; State nature 

and historic preserves described in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule; or the 

endangered or threatened species described in 

Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule located at the 

site. 

(d)  Operations Plan. An application for a permit for a site shall 

contain an operations plan that shall include the following 

information: 

(1) the type and quantity of wastes that will be 

accepted, the anticipated sources of the waste 

accepted, and the intended destination of 

recyclables and waste removed from the site; 

(2) the procedures for receiving, screening, 

processing, handling, salvaging, storage, 

treating, and removal of waste and recovered 

materials, including the anticipated processing, 

treatment, and storage times, 

(3) procedures for handling recyclables, wastes 

banned from landfill disposal in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-309.10(f), and special wastes 

as defined in G.S. 130A-290(a)(40); 

(4) the solid waste treatment, processing, and 

storage areas, and the buffer areas required by 

Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule; 

(5) the hours of operation, staffing, parking for 

visitors and employees, and traffic routing; 

(6) methods for vector control, dust and odor 

control, drainage and erosion control, fire 

prevention, and daily cleanup; 

(7) record keeping procedures; 

(8) a description of how the site will comply with 

the operational and closure requirements of 

Rule .0302 of this Section; 

(9) for sites that will accept, process, or recycle 

construction and demolition wastes, a 

description of how the site will comply with 40 

CFR 61, Subpart M, and G.S. 130A-444 

through 452;  

(10) a contingency plan that shall address planned 

operations in the event of loss of power, loss of 

communications, storm surges, scale 

malfunctions, and scale software malfunctions; 

in the event that the disposal site, haul route, or 

transfer equipment is not available; or during 

conditions exceeding design parameters. The 

owner or operator of the site shall provide back-

up equipment, contact information to obtain the 

equipment, and plans to by-pass the site in case 

of equipment breakdown. The contingency plan 

shall be kept updated on-site and shall include 

site-specific emergency procedures and contact 

information in case of emergencies; 

(11) additional information for activities or features 

that the owner or operator is proposing that are 

not otherwise described in this Paragraph, or 

that the Division may request in writing if it is 

necessary to determine compliance with the 

rules of this Subchapter; 

(12) in addition to the information required in this 

Paragraph, sites that are proposing to accept 

scrap tires shall also include the information 

required by Rule .1106(d) of this Subchapter in 

the operations plan, if it is not already required 

to be submitted by this Rule; and 

(13) in addition to the information required in this 

Paragraph, sites that are proposing to accept 

medical waste shall also include the 

information required by Rule .1204(b)(4) of 

this Subchapter in the operations plan, if it is not 

already required to be submitted by this Rule. 

(e)  The Division shall review all permit applications in 

accordance with Rule .0203 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  Plans and documents submitted in the permit application in 

accordance with this Rule shall be incorporated into the permit 

and the site shall comply with the permit in accordance with Rule 

.0203(d) of this Subchapter. 

(g)  Permits issued by the Division for treatment and processing 

facilities shall be valid for five years; and shall be subject to the 

permit fees set forth in G.S. 130A-295.8. 

(h)  Modifications to the plans. The owner or operator may request 

to modify plans that were incorporated into the permit by 

submitting a written request to the Division that includes the 

modified plan and a demonstration showing how the proposed 

modifications comply with the rules of this Section. The Division 

shall respond to the request in writing within the timeline provided 

in G.S. 130A-295.8(e); and the response shall either approve or 

deny the request as submitted or request that additional 

information be submitted for the Division to consider the request. 

The Division's approval shall be based on whether the 

modification complies with the rules of this Subchapter. If the 

Division approves the request as submitted or upon receiving the 

additional information requested, the Division's written approval 

and the revised pages of the plan shall be added to the site's 
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operating record. The owner or operator shall not implement the 

modification until the Division has issued an approval. 

(i)  Sites that received a permit from the Division prior to the 

readopted effective date of this Rule shall comply with the rules 

of this Section with the following exceptions: 

(1) buildings, structures, and waste handling areas 

constructed prior to the readopted effective date 

of this Rule shall not be required to comply with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule for the permitted 

operational boundary of the site existing on the 

readopted effective date of this Rule, or any 

replacements or modifications within that 

existing permitted operational boundary; and 

(2) if a building, structure, or waste handling area 

was constructed prior to the readopted effective 

date of this Rule, and is expanded beyond the 

existing permitted operational boundary after 

the readopted effective date of this Rule, the 

permitted operational boundary that was 

existing on the readopted effective date of this 

Rule shall not be required to comply with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, but the expansion 

areas shall comply with these requirements. 

(j)  Site buildings, structures, and waste handling areas that are 

exempt from the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

continue to comply with any siting and buffer requirements stated 

in their permit issued prior to the readoption date of this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0302 OPERATIONAL AND CLOSURE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a treatment and processing facility 

(site) shall maintain and operate the site in accordance with the 

permit conditions and the plans incorporated into the permit in 

accordance with Rule .0301(f) of this Section, and the following 

requirements:  

(1) a site shall only accept wastes that it is 

permitted to receive; 

(2) leachate shall be contained on-site or treated 

prior to discharge from the site. A National 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(NPDES) permit may be required by the 

Department's Division of Water Resources 

prior to discharge to surface waters; 

(3) equipment for fire control shall be available; 

(4) vector control measures shall be applied to 

control flies, rodents, and other insects or 

vermin; 

(5) the owner or operator shall provide equipment 

to operate and maintain the site using safe and 

sanitary practices for the preservation of the 

public health and welfare and the environment 

by preventing the generation of leachate, the 

attraction of vectors, the release of odors, and 

the release of waste or leachate to the 

environment; 

(6) barrier methods such as fencing or diking shall 

be provided to confine material subject to be 

blown by the wind within the site. At the 

conclusion of each day of operation, all 

windblown material resulting from the 

operation shall be collected and disposed of or 

containerized by the owner or operator; 

(7) sites that are permitted by the Division to accept 

scrap tires shall also comply with Section .1100 

of this Subchapter; 

(8) sites that are permitted by the Division to accept 

medical waste shall also comply with Section 

.1200 of this Subchapter; 

(9) sites shall comply with 15A NCAC 02D, 02L, 

and the surface water quality standards in 15A 

NCAC 02B, as well as 15A NCAC 04;  

(10) the owner or operator shall submit to the 

Division upon request any information or 

records required to be kept under the conditions 

of the permit or the rules of this Section; and 

(11) the owner or operator shall only conduct the 

solid waste management activities that the site 

is permitted to conduct. 

(b)  When a site ceases the acceptance of waste, closure of the site 

shall comply with the following requirements: 

(1) The owner or operator shall remove all waste 

from the site property and dispose of it at a 

facility permitted by the Division to receive 

such waste no less than 120 days after the date 

the site ceased the acceptance of waste. 

(2) The owner or operator shall comply with the 

closure requirements specified in the permit 

issued by the Division. 

(3) For a site that accepts medical waste, the owner 

or operator shall also meet the requirements of 

Section .1200 of this Subchapter. 

(4) The owner or operator shall notify the Division 

in writing that the site has been closed in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(5) The Division shall conduct an inspection to 

determine compliance with Subparagraphs (1) 

through (3) of this Paragraph. 

(6) When a site has been closed in accordance with 

this Paragraph, the permit is terminated, and 

any future solid waste management at the site 

shall require a new permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0401 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY 

(a)  Owners or operators of transfer stations shall comply with 

applicable federal, State, and local laws, rules, regulations, and 

ordinances, and shall comply with the rules of this Section as 

follows: 
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(1) Transfer stations that did not receive a permit to 

operate from the Division prior to the readopted 

effective date of this Rule shall comply with the 

rules of this Section. 

(2) Transfer stations that received a permit to 

operate from the Division prior to the readopted 

effective date of this Rule shall comply with the 

rules of this Section with the following 

exceptions: 

(A) buildings, structures, and waste 

handling areas constructed prior to the 

readopted effective date of this Rule 

shall not be required to comply with 

Rule .0403(a), (b)(1), or (b)(2) of this 

Section for the permitted operational 

boundary of the transfer station 

existing on the readopted effective 

date of this Rule, or any replacements 

or modifications within that existing 

permitted operational boundary; and 

(B) if a building, structure, or waste 

handling area was constructed prior to 

the readopted effective date of this 

Rule, and is expanded beyond the 

existing permitted operational 

boundary of the transfer station after 

the readopted effective date of this 

Rule, the permitted operational 

boundary that was existing on the 

readopted effective date of this Rule 

shall not be required to comply with 

Rule .0403(a), (b)(1), or (b)(2) of this 

Section, but the expansion areas shall 

comply with these requirements. 

Transfer station buildings, structures, and waste 

handling areas that are exempt from the 

requirements of Rule .0403(a), (b)(1), and 

(b)(2) of this Section by this Subparagraph shall 

continue to comply with the comparable siting, 

buffer, and construction requirements stated in 

their permit issued prior to the readopted 

effective date of this Rule. 

(b)  Transition period: Transfer stations that have an effective 

permit issued by the Division prior to the readopted effective date 

of this Rule shall submit to the Division an assessment report 

demonstrating compliance with the following conditions and the 

rules of this Section by no later than six months from the 

readopted effective date of this Rule: 

(1) The assessment report shall include an 

assessment of the status of the building, access 

roads, parking, and leachate collection system 

of the current operations compared to the 

design of the site as stated in the site permit, the 

plans incorporated into the permit by Rule 

.0404(d) of this Section, and the rules of this 

Section. If required by G.S. 89C or G.S. 89E 

and not under the purview of another licensed 

profession, the assessment report or parts 

thereof shall be prepared by a licensed 

professional engineer or a licensed geologist. 

(2) The assessment report shall contain 

recommendations for any actions necessary to 

comply with the rules of this Section. The 

Division shall notify the owner or operator of 

the site in writing within 12 months of receipt 

of the report of any changes required to comply 

with the rules of this Section.  

(3) The site shall complete the actions required to 

comply with the rules of this Section within 

three years of receipt of the Division's 

notification of the required changes. The site 

may submit a request to extend this deadline to 

the Division in writing. The request shall 

include the reasons for the request and the 

anticipated date that the work will be 

completed. The Division shall approve an 

extension of the deadline in writing if the 

Division determines that the scope of work 

needed to comply with the rules of this Section 

cannot be completed in three years. 

(c)  Unless otherwise prohibited from accepting waste by local 

ordinance, transfer stations are not subject to service area 

restrictions if the receiving disposal site permit includes the origin 

of waste as identified by franchise or local government approval. 

(d)  Wastes entering the State via a transfer station are out-of-state 

waste to the point of disposal, regardless of any further 

processing, recycling, or other reduction activity. 

(e)  The transportation of regulated medical waste shall not be 

subject to the rules of this Section, but shall comply with Section 

.1200 of this Subchapter. Transfer stations that receive or 

transport solid waste by rail, roadway, or water shall be subject to 

the rules of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0402 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a transfer station (site) shall comply 

with the conditions of the permit issued by the Division. In the 

event of noncompliance with the permit, the owner or operator 

shall minimize the release of waste, leachate, or contaminants to 

the environment, and shall prevent adverse impacts to human 

health or the environment. 

(b)  The owner or operator shall submit to the Division upon 

written request any information or records required to be kept 

under the conditions of the permit or the rules of this Section. 

(c)  In an enforcement action, necessity to halt or reduce the 

permitted activity to maintain compliance with the conditions of 

the permit shall not be a defense. Notification of anticipated 

noncompliance does not stay any existing permit condition. 

(d)  The owner or operator may submit an application for a permit 

amendment or modification in accordance with G.S. 130A-

294(a3). The filing of an application for a permit modification or 

amendment, or a notification of a significant change in accordance 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2021 

1725 

with G.S. 130A-295.2(g), does not stay any existing permit 

condition. 

(e)  The Division shall deny an application for a permit for the 

reasons provided in G.S. 130A-294(a)(4)c. The Division may 

suspend or revoke a permit in accordance with G.S. 130A-23. If 

the Division denies a permit application or revokes or suspends a 

permit, the Division shall notify the owner or operator in writing 

of the reasons for the permit action. 

(f)  If construction is not commenced within 18 months following 

the issuance date of the permit approval to construct, or an 

amendment to the permit approval to construct, then the permit 

shall expire. 

(g)  The owner or operator shall operate and maintain all sites and 

related appurtenances that are installed or used by the owner or 

operator to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit, 

the plans incorporated in the permit in accordance with Rule 

.0404(d) of this Section, and any documents referenced in the 

permit and the rules of this Section. 

(h)  The site shall only conduct the solid waste management 

activities that the site is permitted to conduct. Construction and 

operation of additional solid waste management activities at the 

site shall not impede site operations. 

(i)  Site permits issued by the Division in accordance with this 

Section shall be valid for the life-of-site operations in accordance 

with Rule .0207 of this Subchapter, not to exceed 60 years from 

the date of the first permit issued for the site. 

(j)  Sites permitted under the rules of this Section shall be subject 

to the permit fees set forth in G.S. 130A-295.8. 

(k)  The owner or operator shall report to the Division verbally or 

in writing within 24 hours from the time the owner or operator 

becomes aware of the circumstances of any release or discharge 

of leachate or contaminants outside the leachate collection system 

or other containment component at the site. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0403 SITING AND DESIGN 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A transfer station (site) shall meet the following siting 

requirements: 

(1) Floodplain Restrictions: The portions of the site 

containing the buildings, leachate collection 

systems, and any areas where storage or 

processing of solid waste occurs shall not be 

located in the 100-year floodplain. 

(2) Cultural Resources Restrictions: A site shall not 

damage or destroy a property of archaeological 

or historical significance that has been listed on 

the National Register of Historic Places or 

included on the Study List for the Register 

pursuant to 07 NCAC 04R .0206 and .0300.  

(3) State Nature and Historic Preserve Restrictions: 

The location, access, size, and operation of the 

site shall not have an adverse impact on any 

component included in the State Nature and 

Historic Preserve pursuant to G.S. 143-260.10. 

(4) Endangered and Threatened Species 

Restrictions: A site shall not jeopardize the 

continued existence of endangered or 

threatened species or result in the destruction or 

adverse modification of a critical habitat, 

protected under the Federal Endangered 

Species Act of 1973, Public Law 93-205, as 

amended. 

(5) Clean Water Act Requirements: A site or site 

operations shall: 

(A) not cause a discharge of pollutants into 

waters of the United States, including 

wetlands, that violates any 

requirements of the Clean Water Act, 

including the National Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System 

(NPDES) requirements pursuant to 

Section 402 of the Clean Water Act;  

(B) comply with Section 404 of the Clean 

Water Act; and  

(C) not cause the discharge of a nonpoint 

source of pollution to waters of the 

United States, including wetlands, that 

violates any requirement of an area-

wide or Statewide water quality 

management plan that has been 

approved under Section 208 or 319 of 

the Clean Water Act. 

(6) Buffer Requirements: Unless otherwise stated 

in the site permit or local zoning requires larger 

buffers, the waste loading, unloading, and 

storage areas at the site shall be: 

(A) no less than 100 feet from supply 

wells; 

(B) no less than 100 feet from property 

lines; 

(C) no less than 50 feet from waters of the 

State as defined in G.S. 143-212, or 

wetlands as defined in 40 CFR 232.2; 

and 

(D) surrounded by an unused and cleared 

area of no less than 25 feet to allow 

access for fire or emergency response 

vehicles. 

(b)  Sites shall meet the following design requirements: 

(1) Sites shall be designed and constructed so that 

all solid waste receiving, handling, transfer, and 

storage occurs on an impervious surface, such 

as concrete or asphalt, unless otherwise stated 

in the site permit. 

(2) Tipping floors shall be located within an 

enclosed building or covered area to prevent 

precipitation from coming into contact with 

waste, and all waste shall be managed on the 

tipping floors unless otherwise stated in the site 

permit. For the purpose of the rules of this 

Section, "tipping floor" means the area where 

waste is offloaded from residential or 

commercial vehicles, and staged and 
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consolidated for transport to its intended 

disposal location. 

(3) All recovered materials and recyclables stored 

at the site shall comply with G.S. 130A-

309.05(c). 

(4) The site shall be designed to operate within the 

capacity specified in the permit to 

accommodate estimated waste volumes, and 

within schedules prescribed in the permit for 

removal of all waste streams and materials 

permitted to be handled at the site. Other 

activities occurring at a site shall not prohibit 

compliance with the operational requirements 

in Rule .0405 of this Section. 

(5) A water supply shall be provided for cleaning 

site floors, walls, and equipment. 

(6) Leachate, including wash water and process 

water, shall be collected and contained within 

the site's collection and containment system 

described in the site permit. 

(7) All vehicles and containers that contain solid 

waste shall be staged within the perimeter of a 

leachate collection system or shall comply with 

Rule .0405(c) of this Section. 

(8) Leachate collection and treatment systems shall 

be designed to facilitate the removal of leachate 

and wastewater, and may include pipes, 

manholes, trenches, berms, collection sumps or 

basins, pumps, risers, liners, and liner splices. 

(9) The site design shall include barriers such as 

fencing and gates to prevent unauthorized entry 

and to minimize the escape of windblown 

materials off site. 

(10) In accordance with G.S. 130A-295.5, sites shall 

be designed and operated so that traffic 

congestion from loading and unloading of 

collection and transportation vehicles is 

minimized beyond the site entrance onto the 

public road, and beyond any egress ramp 

approved by the N.C. Department of 

Transportation. 

(11) An all-weather road that is accessible by the 

Division and loaded collection vehicles shall be 

provided from the entrance gate to the 

unloading, receiving, and tipping areas. 

(12) Storage areas for waste materials shall be 

designed to prevent potential fires from 

spreading outside the storage area, to prevent 

vectors, and to prevent the escape of waste, 

leachate, odors, dust, and litter from the site. 

(13) If materials banned from landfill disposal in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-309.10(f) or 

recyclable materials will be stored on site, the 

site design shall include a storage area for these 

materials that is separate from the areas used for 

handling of waste meant for disposal. 

(14) Sites shall be designed and operated to prevent 

the attraction of vectors. 

(15) Sites shall be designed and operated to 

minimize the spread of odors and fugitive dust 

emissions generated by solid waste over the 

property line to comply with 15A NCAC 02D 

.0540 and .1806. 

(16) Sites shall be designed, operated, and 

maintained to direct surface water run-on and 

run-off to prevent ponding or collection of 

surface water in waste handling and storage 

areas. 

(17) Sites that intend to accept, process, or recycle 

construction and demolition wastes shall be 

designed to comply with 40 CFR 61, Subpart 

M, and G.S. 130A-444 through 452. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0404 APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Applications for transfer station permits submitted in 

accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be submitted to 

the Division of Waste Management Solid Waste Section for 

review and approval prior to commencement of construction or 

operation of a transfer station (site). 

(b)  Permit applications for transfer stations shall be subject to the 

permit application fees required by G.S. 130A-295.8. 

(c)  In accordance with Rule .0201 of this Subchapter, a permit 

for a transfer station shall have two parts: 

(1) Permit Approval to Construct. An application 

for a permit approval to construct a transfer 

station shall meet the requirements of 

Paragraphs (g) through (m) of this Rule and 

shall be submitted to the Division prior to 

commencing construction of the site. A permit 

applicant shall submit to the Division one 

electronic copy of a permit application, which 

shall contain the plans required in Paragraphs 

(g) through (j) of this Rule. 

(2) Permit Approval to Operate. The owner or 

operator shall meet the pre-operative 

requirements listed in the permit approval to 

construct to qualify for a permit approval to 

operate. Construction documentation as 

outlined in Paragraph (n) of this Rule shall be 

submitted to the Division prior to receiving 

waste at the site. The site shall not begin 

receiving waste until a permit approval to 

operate has been issued by the Division. 

(d)  Permits issued by the Division in accordance with this Section 

shall incorporate all plans approved by the Division that are 

required to be submitted by Paragraphs (g) through (j) of this 

Rule, and a Corrective Action Plan if required in accordance with 

Rule .0405(a)(2) of this Section. 

(e)  Amendment to the permit. The owner or operator shall submit 

an application to amend the permit for a change in ownership or 

corporate structure of a permitted site. The owner or operator shall 

notify the Division within 30 days of a change in ownership or 

corporate structure in accordance with G.S. 130A-295.2(g). 
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(f)  Modifications to the plans. The owner or operator may request 

to modify plans that were incorporated into the permit by 

submitting a written request to the Division that includes the 

modified plan and a demonstration showing how the proposed 

modifications comply with the rules of this Section. The Division 

shall respond to the request in writing within the timeline provided 

in G.S. 130A-295.8(e); and the response shall either approve or 

deny the request as submitted or request that additional 

information be submitted for the Division to consider the request. 

The Division's approval shall be based on whether the 

modification complies with the rules of this Subchapter. If the 

Division approves the request as submitted or upon receiving the 

additional information requested, the Division's written approval 

and the revised pages of the plan shall be added to the site's 

operating record. The owner or operator shall not implement the 

modification until the Division has issued an approval. 

(g)  Site Plan. An application for a permit for a site shall contain 

a site plan that includes the following information: 

(1) an aerial photograph, representative of existing 

conditions, at a scale of at least one inch equals 

400 feet, showing the area within one quarter 

mile of the proposed site's boundaries with the 

following identified: 

(A) property lines of the entire property 

where the site will be located; 

(B) existing land use and zoning; 

(C) location of all private residences, 

commercial and industrial buildings, 

public or private utilities, roads, and 

schools; 

(D) on-site easements; 

(E) location of potable wells and public 

water supplies; 

(F) historic sites described in Rule 

.0403(a)(2) of this Section; 

(G) State nature and historic preserves 

described in Rule .0403(a)(3) of this 

Section; 

(H) the existing topography and features 

of the site including general surface 

water drainage patterns and 

watersheds, 100-year floodplains, 

perennial and intermittent streams, 

rivers, and lakes; and 

(I) the classification of the surface water 

drainage from the site in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 02B .0300. 

(2) a siting report demonstrating compliance with 

the siting criteria of Rule .0403(a) of this 

Section, including a letter from the unit of 

government having zoning jurisdiction over the 

site that states that the proposed use is allowed 

within any existing zoning and that any 

necessary zoning approval or permit has been 

obtained, and that states the local zoning buffers 

that apply to the site. 

(3) letters from both the State Historic Preservation 

Office and the Natural Heritage Program within 

the Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources stating whether the proposed use of 

the property will impact the historic sites 

described in Rule .0403(a)(2) of this Section; 

State nature and historic preserves described in 

Rule .0403(a)(3) of this Section; or the 

endangered or threatened species described in 

Rule .0403(a)(4) of this Section located at the 

site.  

(h)  Construction Plan. An application for a permit for a site shall 

contain a construction plan that includes the following items: 

(1) Site construction drawings showing: 

(A) existing and proposed contours; 

(B) property boundaries; 

(C) the location of barriers, fences, or 

other structures that control access to 

the site;  

(D) buffer areas and distances to wells, 

residences, wetlands and water bodies, 

and descriptions of any buffer 

requirements by local government 

zoning regulations; 

(E) the water diversion, collection, 

conveyance, erosion and 

sedimentation control, treatment, 

storage, and discharge facilities that 

will be used, such as drainage patterns 

and surface water drainage control 

structures both within the area and at 

the site perimeter, including berms, 

ditches, sedimentation basins, pumps, 

sumps, culverts, pipes, inlets, velocity 

breaks, sodding, erosion matting, or 

other methods of erosion control; 

(F) the solid waste storage, loading, and 

unloading areas, including the tipping 

floor; 

(G) buildings and facilities that will be 

used in the operation, including their 

horizontal and vertical dimensions; 

(H) concrete foundations or pads and 

identification of all other ground cover 

for the site operation; 

(I) location of scales and weigh stations 

that will be used in the operation; 

(J) a survey grid with base lines and 

monuments that will be used for field 

control; 

(K) access roads and traffic flow patterns 

to and within the site; 

(L) leachate collection, control, and 

treatment systems including pipes, 

manholes, trenches, berms, collection 

sumps or basins, pumps, risers, liners, 

and liner splices; and 

(M) materials management handling areas 

for sites that will manage pre-sorted 

recyclables and any materials diverted 

from the incoming waste stream; and 
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(2) a description of how the site will comply with 

the design requirements of Rule .0403(b) of this 

Section. 

(i)  Operations Plan. An application for a permit for a site shall 

contain an operations plan that shall include the following 

information: 

(1) the type and quantity of waste that will be 

accepted, the anticipated sources of the waste 

accepted, the intended destination of waste 

removed from the site, and the intended 

destination of recovered materials if any are 

proposed to be removed from the site; 

(2) the procedures and anticipated processing and 

storage times for the activities that the site is 

proposing to conduct, such as receiving, 

screening, processing, handling, salvaging, 

storage, and removal of waste and recovered 

materials including recyclables, wastes banned 

from landfill disposal in accordance with G.S. 

130A-309.10(f), and special wastes as defined 

in G.S. 130A-290(a)(40); 

(3) the hours of operation, staffing, parking for 

visitors and employees, and traffic routing; 

(4) methods for vector control, dust and odor 

control, drainage and erosion control, fire 

prevention, and daily cleanup; 

(5) record-keeping procedures; 

(6) groundwater and surface water monitoring and 

corrective action, if required by the Division in 

accordance with Rule .0405(a)(2) of this 

Section; 

(7) a description of how the site will comply with 

the operational requirements of Rule .0405 of 

this Section; 

(8) for sites that will accept, process, or recycle 

construction and demolition wastes, a 

description of how the site will comply with 40 

CFR 61, Subpart M, and G.S. 130A-444 

through 452;  

(9) for sites designed with a leachate collection 

system, a leachate management plan that 

includes the following information: 

(A) the performance and design concepts 

for the leachate collection system and 

any storm water segregation included 

in the engineering design; 

(B) monitoring procedures for leachate 

storage tanks, if present;  

(C) operational control methods to ensure 

that surface water is diverted from the 

operational area, and the tipping floor 

is free of standing water; and 

(D) a process to abandon or remove the 

leachate collection system upon 

closure of the site. The Division may 

allow leachate collection systems to 

remain in place for future use if the 

owner or operator provides 

documentation of measures taken to 

comply with the requirements of this 

Section and to protect human health 

and safety and the environment, such 

as capping or blocking of any 

discharge points or open-ended piping 

to prevent unintended collection, 

storage, or discharge of leachate. The 

Division may also require recordation 

and land use restrictions in accordance 

with Rule .0406(b)(4) of this Section; 

(10) a contingency plan that shall address planned 

operations in the event of loss of power, loss of 

communications, storm surges, scale 

malfunctions, and scale software malfunctions; 

in the event that the disposal site, haul route, or 

transfer equipment is not available; or during 

conditions exceeding design parameters. The 

owner or operator of a site shall provide back-

up equipment, and contact information to 

obtain the equipment, and plans to by-pass the 

site in case of equipment breakdown. The 

contingency plan shall be kept updated on-site 

and shall include site-specific emergency 

procedures and contact information in case of 

emergencies; and 

(11) additional information for activities or features 

that the owner or operator is proposing that are 

not otherwise described in this Paragraph, or 

that the Division may request in writing if it is 

necessary to determine compliance with the 

rules of this Subchapter. 

(j)  Closure Plan. An application for a permit for a site shall 

contain a closure plan that describes the steps necessary to close 

the site at any point during the active life of the site in accordance 

with the requirements in Rule .0406 of this Section. The closure 

plan shall include the following information: 

(1) a description of all activities, including the 

removal of any remaining solid wastes or 

materials from the site, activities required for 

the closure of the site, and abandonment of all 

on-site systems;  

(2) a schedule for completing the closure activities 

as set forth in Rule .0406 of this Section; 

(3) the cost estimate for closure and post-closure 

care activities; and 

(4) a plan for retention of operating record and 

receipts including those from closure activities. 

(k)  Sites shall comply with financial responsibility requirements 

in accordance with G.S. 130A-295.2 and Section .1800 of this 

Subchapter. If the Division requires the site to conduct post-

closure care in accordance with Rule .0406(c) of this Section, the 

site shall maintain financial assurance during the post-closure care 

period until released from post-closure care by the Division. 

(l)  Owners or operators of sites are subject to the compliance 

history review requirements in G.S. 130A-295.3. 

(m)  Sites shall comply with the traffic study requirements in G.S. 

130A-295.5.  

(n)  Following completion of construction but prior to 

commencing operations, the owner or operator shall submit to the 
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Division the as-built drawings and a final construction report that 

the site has been constructed in accordance with the Division-

approved drawings and specifications in the permit to construct. 

If required by G.S. 89C, these items shall be certified by a licensed 

professional engineer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0405 OPERATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a transfer station (site) shall maintain 

and operate the site in accordance with the operations plan 

incorporated into the permit by Rule .0404(d) of this Section and 

the following conditions: 

(1) Dust and Odor Control. Fugitive dust emissions 

generated by site operations shall comply with 

15A NCAC 02D .0540. The site shall comply 

with 15A NCAC 02D .1806 for odors. 

(2) Groundwater and Surface Water Requirements. 

The site shall prevent the release of leachate and 

contaminants to groundwater and surface water 

and shall not cause an exceedance of the 

groundwater quality standards in 15A NCAC 

02L or the surface water quality standards in 

15A NCAC 02B. In the event of a release of 

leachate or contaminants to the environment, 

the site shall comply with 15A NCAC 02L.  

(3) Fire Protection and Control. 

(A) Open burning of solid waste is 

prohibited at all sites, unless approval 

has been obtained from the Division, 

and from the Division of Air Quality 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1900, and from the local government 

prior to any burning activity. 

(B) Hot ashes, cinders, and waste that is 

smoldering, smoking, or burning shall 

not be accepted at a site. The waste 

screening procedures required in 

accordance with Subparagraph (8) of 

this Paragraph and described in the 

operations plan shall address 

identification and rejection of this 

waste.  

(C) The operator of a site shall provide 

equipment on-site to control fires and 

make arrangements with a local fire 

protection agency to provide fire-

fighting services. 

(D) The operator shall verbally notify the 

Division of fires that occur at a site 

within 24 hours of the fire and shall 

submit a written report to the Division 

within 15 days of the fire. The report 

shall include the site name and permit 

number; the date and time of the fire; 

actions taken by the operator in 

response to the fire; the cause of the 

fire; the location and size of the fire; 

the type and amount of waste that 

caught fire; a plan of action to prevent 

fires in the future; the name and title of 

the person submitting the information; 

and the date the information is 

submitted. 

(4) Vector Control. Owners or operators of a site 

shall operate and maintain the site to prevent 

on-site populations of vectors. 

(5) Noise Control. Noise levels shall meet local 

ordinances if they exist. If local ordinances for 

noise do not exist, noise levels for site 

operations, except fire and safety alarms, shall 

not exceed 85 decibels at the property line. 

(6) Erosion and Sedimentation Control 

Requirements. The site shall comply with 15A 

NCAC 04, and the owner or operator shall 

utilize erosion and sedimentation control 

measures that prevent sediment from leaving 

the site and prevent on-site erosion. 

(7) Training. During hours of operation, an 

operator trained in accordance with G.S. 130A-

309.25 shall be on-site. Sites shall provide all 

staff with no less than eight hours of training 

updates annually that includes a review of the 

operations plan and permit documents. 

Documentation of the training shall be placed 

in the operating record and provided to the 

Division upon written request. 

(8) Waste Screening. Sites shall comply with the 

following waste screening requirements: 

(A) Site personnel shall screen incoming 

loads weekly at a rate of no less than 

five percent of the average daily waste 

tonnage reported in the site's annual 

report for the previous year. Site 

personnel shall be trained annually to 

identify liquid waste, hazardous 

waste, polychlorinated biphenyl 

(PCB) wastes, special wastes as 

defined in G.S. 130A-290(a)(40), 

wastes banned from landfill disposal 

in accordance with G.S. 130A-

309.10(f) if the site receiving the 

waste for disposal is a landfill, and 

wastes that the intended final disposal 

site is not permitted by the Division to 

accept. The screening shall be 

conducted as described in the 

approved operations plan prepared in 

accordance with Rule .0404(i) of this 

Section. Waste screening and rejected 

wastes shall be recorded in writing, 

and the records shall be kept on site for 

no less than five years and shall be 

made available to the Division during 

a site inspection or upon request. 
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(B) The owner or operator shall include in 

the operations plan a plan to manage 

any identified hazardous and liquid 

wastes. The plan shall address 

identification, removal, storage, and 

final disposal of the waste. 

(9) Waste Acceptance: Sites shall not accept the 

following: 

(A) hazardous waste unless the site is 

permitted by the Division in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 13A to 

receive such waste; 

(B) polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) 

wastes as defined in 40 CFR 761.3, 

which is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and may be accessed at 

www.ecfr.gov at no cost; 

(C) asbestos waste unless the waste is 

received and handled in compliance 

with the requirements of 40 CFR 

61.150, which is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and may be 

accessed at www.ecfr.gov at no cost. 

Bags shall be no less than six mil thick 

and shall be labeled with the warning 

required by 40 CFR 61.150(a)(1)(iv) 

that they contain asbestos-containing 

materials. Sites shall provide notice to 

the landfill facility receiving the 

asbestos waste prior to disposal; 

(D) waste banned by G.S. 130A-309.10 at 

the disposal destination; and 

(E) waste banned by local law or 

ordinance at the disposal destination.  

(10) Windblown waste: Site staff shall conduct daily 

inspections for windblown waste on the site 

property. Windblown litter from site operations 

discovered during the daily inspections or 

observed on adjacent properties shall be picked 

up and containerized for disposal by the end of 

each operating day, unless the landowner of the 

adjacent property denies access to site staff. The 

site shall prevent waste from being blown 

outside the waste handling areas by the wind, 

using methods such as: 

(A) requiring that vehicles entering and 

leaving the site keep waste covered; 

(B) providing skirts, such as rubber belting 

or brushes, around the top of chutes to 

minimize the space between the chute 

and the hauling trailer at sites with 

chutes and hoppers; or 

(C) preventing waste from leaving the site 

using methods such as fencing, 

netting, or diking. 

(11) Site Cleaning and Maintenance: Unless 

otherwise stated in the site permit, all waste 

shall be removed from the tipping floor, the 

truck loading bays, and from behind push walls 

by the end of each day of operation and 

disposed of in accordance with this Subchapter. 

The tipping floor, push walls, and truck loading 

bays shall be cleaned with a pressure washer no 

less than once per month. The remaining areas 

of the site building including side walls and any 

material storage areas outside of the building 

shall be cleaned with a pressure washer no less 

than twice per year. Wash water generated from 

cleaning waste handling areas shall be 

contained and treated as leachate. Cleaning and 

maintenance records shall be maintained and 

made available to the Division upon written 

request. 

(b)  Water that comes into contact with solid waste is leachate and 

shall be collected from the site for disposal to an approved facility 

or discharged directly from the site into a sanitary sewer line. A 

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 

permit may be required prior to the discharge of leachate to 

surface waters, as provided by 40 CFR 258.26 and 258.27, which 

are incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, and may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov at no cost. 

(c)  All vehicles and containers being used for the temporary 

storage of solid waste shall be maintained to be leak-resistant in 

accordance with Rule .0105 of this Subchapter, or shall be stored 

so that any leachate from the vehicles or containers will be 

collected to prevent the release of leachate to the environment.  

(d)  Operating Record and Recordkeeping requirements. The 

owner or operator of a site shall retain an operating record in 

electronic or hard copy format at the site, or in an alternative 

location stated in the permit. The records required by 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph shall be maintained 

for no less than five years. The records required by Subparagraphs 

(3) through (9) of this Paragraph shall be maintained for the life-

of-site. The operating record shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) records of waste inspections, monitoring 

results, certifications of training, and training 

procedures required by the rules of this Section; 

(2) amounts by weight of solid waste received at 

the site including county and state of 

generation, in accordance with G.S. 130A-

309.09D; 

(3) demonstrations, certifications, findings, 

monitoring, testing, or analytical data required 

by the rules of this Section; 

(4) closure or post-closure care monitoring, testing, 

or analytical data required by the rules of this 

Section; 

(5) cost estimates and financial assurance 

documentation required by Section .1800 of 

this Subchapter; 

(6) site audit records, compliance records, 

maintenance records, and inspection reports; 

(7) a copy of the current Permit to Construct and 

Permit to Operate; 
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(8) a copy of the plans that have been incorporated 

into the permit in accordance with Rule 

.0404(d) of this Section; and 

(9) a Corrective Action Plan, if required by 15A 

NCAC 02L .0106. 

(e)  Access requirements. 

(1) Sites shall be secured to prevent unauthorized 

entry by means such as gates, chains, berms, or 

fences. 

(2) An attendant shall always be on duty at the site 

while it is open for public use to ensure 

compliance with operational requirements. 

(3) The access roads shall be of all-weather 

construction and maintained to be accessible by 

loaded collection vehicles and by the Division. 

(4) Signs shall be posted at the site entrances unless 

otherwise stated in the site permit. The signs 

shall be constructed of a durable, weather-

resistant material. The signs shall be clear and 

legible to the public. The signs shall state the 

name of the operator of the site, emergency 

contact information, the operating hours of the 

site, the permit number of the current permit 

authorizing operations at the site, the types of 

waste that can be accepted under the permit, 

and that hazardous waste and liquid waste 

cannot be accepted at the site. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0406 CLOSURE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a transfer station (site) shall schedule 

and document closure of the site in accordance with the following 

criteria: 

(1) The owner or operator shall submit written 

notification of closure to the Division no less 

than 90 days prior to the proposed date of 

cessation of waste acceptance at the site. 

(2) The owner or operator shall begin closure 

activities in Paragraph (b) of this Rule no later 

than 30 days after the date of the final receipt of 

waste at the site. 

(3) The owner or operator shall complete closure 

activities in Paragraph (b) of this Rule within 

180 days after beginning the closure activities 

as specified in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph. 

(4) When the requirements of Paragraph (b) have 

been met, the owner or operator shall notify the 

Division in writing that the requirements have 

been met. The notification shall state how the 

requirements were met and shall be placed in 

the operating record. 

(5) A final inspection for closure shall be 

conducted by the Division to verify that the 

conditions of closure in this Rule have been 

met. 

(b)  The owner or operator shall complete the following closure 

activities to close the site: 

(1) The owner or operator shall remove all waste 

from the site in accordance with the 

requirements of this Subchapter. 

(2) Leachate collection systems, if present, shall be 

closed in accordance with the leachate 

management plan incorporated into the permit 

by Rule .0404(d) of this Section. 

(3) The owner or operator shall complete any 

closure activities stated in the closure plan 

incorporated into the permit by Rule .0404(d) 

of this Section. 

(4) If the site has been required by the Division to 

conduct a corrective action program following 

closure of the site in accordance with this Rule, 

or elects to leave a leachate collection system or 

tank in place for future use, the owner or 

operator shall submit to the Division a notice 

for the site property that has been recorded at 

the county Register of Deeds office that meets 

the following criteria: 

(A) The notice shall be discoverable 

during a title search for the site 

property deed.  

(B) The notice shall be in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-310.71(e) or G.S. 143B-

279.10. 

(C) The notice shall notify any potential 

purchaser of the property that the land 

has been used as a solid waste 

management facility and its use may 

be restricted by the Division. 

(c)  If the Division requires groundwater or surface water 

monitoring or corrective action at the site in accordance with Rule 

.0405(a)(2) of this Section, the monitoring and corrective action 

at the site shall continue in a post-closure care period until the 

Division authorizes termination of corrective action at the site in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02L .0106. 

(d)  The owner or operator may submit a written request to the 

Division after closure to remove the land-use restrictions required 

by Subparagraph (b)(4) of this Rule. If the Division approves 

removal of the land-use restrictions, the Division shall provide 

approval documentation to the landowner stating that the land-use 

restrictions at the site have been removed, and the landowner may 

record the approval documentation with the county Register of 

Deeds. The Division shall approve the removal of land-use 

restrictions if the following conditions are met: 

(1) all post-closure care activities required by the 

rules of this Section have been completed; 

(2) the Division authorizes termination of any 

corrective action program in accordance with 

15A NCAC 02L .0106; and 

(3) any leachate collection system has been 

removed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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15A NCAC 13B .0501 APPROVED DISPOSAL 

METHODS 

15A NCAC 13B .0502 OPEN DUMPS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2008; October 9, 1993; January 4, 1993; 

December 1, 1990; September 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; February 

1, 1988; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0503 SITING AND DESIGN 

REQUIREMENTS FOR INDUSTRIAL SOLID WASTE 

LANDFILLS 

(a)  An industrial solid waste landfill (ISWLF) unit (site) shall 

comply with the following siting requirements for a permit to be 

issued: 

(1) Floodplain Restrictions: A site shall not be 

located in the 100-year floodplain in 

accordance with G.S. 143-215.54(c) and S.L. 

2000-150. 

(2) Cultural Resources Restrictions: A site shall not 

damage or destroy a property of archaeological 

or historical significance that has been listed on 

the National Register of Historic Places or 

included on the Study List for the Register 

pursuant to 07 NCAC 04R .0206 and .0300. 

(3) State Nature and Historic Preserve Restrictions: 

A site shall not have an adverse impact on any 

component included in the State Nature and 

Historic Preserve pursuant to G.S. 143-260.10. 

(4) Endangered and Threatened Species 

Restrictions: A site shall not jeopardize the 

continued existence of endangered or 

threatened species or result in the destruction or 

adverse modification of a critical habitat, 

protected under the Federal Endangered 

Species Act of 1973, Public Law 93-205, as 

amended. 

(5) A site disposing of putrescible wastes shall not 

be located within 10,000 feet of an airport 

runway used by turbojet aircraft or within 5,000 

feet of an airport runway used by piston-type 

aircraft; and 

(6) A site shall have available soils for cover either 

on-site or from off-site. 

(b)  A site shall comply with the following design requirements 

for a permit to be issued: 

(1) If the site accepts waste types that are expected 

to generate explosive gases, the concentration 

of explosive gases generated by the site shall 

not exceed: 

(A) twenty-five percent of the lower 

explosive limit for the explosive gases 

in on-site structures, excluding gas 

control or recovery system 

components; and 

(B) the lower explosive limit for the 

explosive gases at the property 

boundary; 

(2) A site shall be secured to prevent unauthorized 

entry by means such as gates, chains, berms, 

and fences. 

(3) A site shall meet the following surface water 

requirements: 

(A) a site shall not cause a discharge of 

pollutants into waters of the State that 

is in violation of the requirements of 

the National Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (NPDES), under 

Section 402 of the Clean Water Act, as 

amended, or that is in violation of 15A 

NCAC 02B; 

(B) a site shall not cause a discharge of 

dredged material or fill material into 

waters of the State that is in violation 

of the requirements under Section 404 

of the Clean Water Act, as amended, 

or G.S. 113A, 130A, or 143;  

(C) a site shall not cause non-point source 

pollution of waters of the State that 

violates 15A NCAC 02B; and 

(D) a site shall comply with Rule .0602 of 

this Subchapter. 

(4) A site shall meet the following groundwater 

protection requirements: 

(A) A site shall comply with G.S. 130A-

295.6(f).  

(B) A site that has not previously been 

permitted by the Division for an 

ISWLF unit, or a lateral expansion of 

an existing permitted site, shall be 

designed with a leachate collection 

system, a closure cap system, and a 

composite liner system consisting of 

an upper component and lower 

component. The upper component of 

the composite liner system shall 

consist of a flexible membrane liner 

(FML) no less than 30 mil thick. FML 

components consisting of high-density 

polyethylene (HDPE) shall be no less 

than 60 mil thick. The lower 

component of the composite liner 

system shall consist of a layer of 

compacted soil no less than two feet 

thick with a hydraulic conductivity of 

no more than 1 X 10-7 centimeters per 

second. The FML component shall be 

installed in direct and uniform contact 

with the compacted soil component. 

(C) An owner or operator applying for a 

permit for a site that has not previously 

been permitted by the Division as an 

ISWLF unit, or a lateral expansion of 

an existing permitted site, may submit 
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a request to the Division to be exempt 

from the requirements of Part (B) of 

this Subparagraph. The request shall 

be submitted in writing with the 

proposed site information required to 

be submitted in accordance with Rule 

.0504(c) of this Section. The request 

shall include a description of the types 

of waste proposed to be disposed of at 

the site, and a proposed site design that 

demonstrates that the post-settlement 

bottom elevation of the waste will be a 

minimum of four feet above both the 

seasonal high groundwater table, as 

defined in Rule .0532 of this Section, 

and the bedrock datum plane contours 

as required by G.S. 130A-295.6(f). 

The site design shall also demonstrate 

that the groundwater quality standards 

or interim maximum allowable 

contaminant levels established under 

15A NCAC 02L will not be exceeded 

in the uppermost aquifer at the 

compliance boundary established by 

the Division in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02L. The site design shall be 

based upon modeling methods that 

include the hydrogeologic 

characteristics of the site and 

surrounding lands; the climatic factors 

of the area; and the volume and 

physical and chemical characteristics 

of the leachate. The Division shall 

approve the request if the request and 

the proposed site design comply with 

Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the 

General Statutes and the rules of this 

Subchapter.  

(D) A site shall comply with Rule .0601 of 

this Subchapter.  

(5) A site shall not engage in open burning of solid 

waste unless approval has been obtained from 

the Division, and from the Division of Air 

Quality in accordance with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1900, and from the local government prior to 

any burning activity. 

(6) A site shall meet the following buffer 

requirements: 

(A) A site that received site study approval 

from the Division in accordance with 

Rule .0504(a)(1) of this Section prior 

to the readopted effective date of this 

Rule shall maintain a buffer of 50 feet 

between all property lines and disposal 

areas. A site that receives site study 

approval after the readopted effective 

date of this Rule shall maintain a 

buffer of no less than 200 feet between 

all property lines and disposal areas; 

(B) A site shall have a buffer of no less 

than 500 feet between the disposal 

area and residential structures and 

supply wells existing at the time that 

the Division issues the site study 

approval in accordance with Rule 

.0504(a)(1) of this Section; and 

(C) A site shall have a buffer of no less 

than 50 feet between the disposal area 

and any stream, river, lake, pond, or 

other waters of the State as defined in 

G.S. 143-212; and 

(7) A site shall comply with the requirements in 

15A NCAC 04 for sedimentation and erosion 

control.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; January 4, 1993; February 1, 

1991; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0504 APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR INDUSTRIAL SOLID WASTE 

LANDFILLS 

(a)  The permit applicant for an industrial solid waste landfill 

(ISWLF) unit (site) permit shall prepare a site study in accordance 

with Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and submit the site study to the 

Division. The Division shall review the site study for a proposed 

new site prior to consideration of an application for a permit. 

Following review of the site study, the Division shall notify the 

applicant in writing that either: 

(1) the site is deemed suitable for establishing an 

ISWLF unit and the applicant may prepare an 

application for a permit in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, as well as any site-

specific conditions and design requirements 

stated in the notification; or 

(2) the site is deemed unsuitable for establishing an 

ISWLF unit and the reasons that prevent the 

ISWLF unit from being operated in accordance 

with Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General 

Statutes, the rules of this Subchapter, and any 

applicable federal laws and regulations. 

(b)  When the site has been deemed suitable for an ISWLF unit by 

the Division in accordance with Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, 

the permit applicant shall submit to the Division one electronic 

copy of a permit application, which shall contain the plans 

described in Paragraphs (d) through (f) of this Rule. A permit for 

a site shall be based upon a particular type and source of waste, as 

identified in the operation plan required by Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  The site study shall contain the following information: 

(1) An aerial photograph on a scale of at least one 

inch equals 400 feet showing the area within 

one-fourth mile of the proposed site's 

boundaries with the following identified: 

(A) entire property owned or leased by the 

person proposing the site; 
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(B) land use and zoning; 

(C) location of all homes, industrial 

buildings, public or private utilities, 

and roads; 

(D) location of wells, watercourses, dry 

runs, and other details regarding the 

general topography; and 

(E) floodplains. 

(2) A map on a scale of at least one inch equals 

1,000 feet showing the area within two miles of 

the proposed site's boundaries that identifies 

known groundwater users, potential or existing 

sources of groundwater and surface water 

pollution, water intakes, airports and runways, 

and subdivisions.  

(3) A geological and hydrological study of the site 

that provides: 

(A) soil borings for which the numbers, 

locations, and depths provide an 

understanding of the subsurface 

conditions and groundwater flow 

regime of the uppermost aquifer at the 

site. The number and depths of borings 

required will depend on the 

hydrogeologic characteristics of the 

site. The borings and lab testing of 

selected soil samples from the borings 

shall provide: 

(i) standard penetration 

resistance; 

(ii) particle size analysis; 

(iii) soil classification using the 

Unified Soil Classification 

System; 

(iv) geologic considerations such 

as slopes and solution 

features; 

(v) undisturbed representative 

geologic samples of the 

unconfined or confined or 

semiconfined hydrological 

units within a depth of 50 feet 

that provide for each major 

lithologic unit the saturated 

hydraulic conductivity or by 

in-situ; volume percent 

water, and porosity; and 

(vi) remolded sample of cover 

soils that provide the 

saturated hydraulic 

conductivity, total porosity, 

and atterberg limits; 

(B) boring logs; 

(C) stratigraphic cross sections identifying 

hydrogeologic and lithologic units and 

stabilized water table elevations;  

(D) water table information, including: 

(i) tabulation of water table 

elevations at time of boring, 

24 hours after boring, and 

seven days after boring;  

(ii) tabulations of stabilized 

water table elevations over 

time in order to develop an 

understanding of seasonal 

fluctuations in the water 

table; 

(iii) an estimation of the seasonal 

high water groundwater 

table, as defined in Rule 

.0532 of this Section, based 

on stabilized water table 

readings, hydrographs of 

wells in the area, 

precipitation and other 

meteorological data, and any 

other information available; 

and 

(iv) a description of any natural 

or man-made activities that 

have the potential for causing 

water table fluctuations, 

including tidal variations, 

river stage changes, flood 

pool changes of reservoirs, 

high volume production 

wells, and injection wells; 

(E) a groundwater contour map based on 

the estimated long-term seasonal high 

water groundwater table that is 

superimposed on a topographic map 

and includes the location of all borings 

and rock cores and the water table 

elevations or potentiometric data at 

each location used to generate the 

groundwater contours; 

(F) a topographic map of the site locating 

soil borings with horizontal and 

vertical controls that are tied to a 

permanent onsite benchmark; and 

(G) a report summarizing the geological 

and hydrological evaluation. 

(4) A conceptual design plan for the development 

of the facility including any special engineering 

features that the applicant is proposing.  

(5) A copy of the franchise or local government 

approval from each unit of local government in 

whose jurisdiction the site is located in 

accordance with G.S 130A-294(b1). No 

franchise or local government approval shall be 

required for a site used to dispose of waste 

generated solely by the permit applicant. 

(6) A letter from the unit of government having 

zoning jurisdiction over the site that states that 

the proposal meets all of the requirements of the 

local zoning ordinance, or that the site is not 

zoned. 
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(7) A description of how the site complies with the 

siting standards in Rule .0503(a) of this Section.  

(8) A report that includes the following 

information:  

(A) population and area to be served; 

(B) type, quantity, and source of waste that 

will be disposed of at the site; 

(C) the equipment that will be used for 

operating the site; and 

(D) a proposed water quality monitoring 

plan including surface water sampling 

locations, well locations, and well 

schematics showing proposed 

screened interval, depth, and 

construction.  

(9) Letters from both the State Historic 

Preservation Office and the Natural Heritage 

Program within the Department of Natural and 

Cultural Resources stating whether the 

proposed use of the property will impact the 

historic sites described in Rule .0503(a)(2) of 

this Subchapter; State nature and historic 

preserves described in Rule .0503(a)(3) of this 

Subchapter; or the endangered or threatened 

species described in Rule .0503(a)(4) of this 

Subchapter located at the site. 

(10) Additional information for activities or features 

that the owner or operator is proposing that are 

not otherwise described in this Rule, or that the 

Division may request if it is necessary to 

determine compliance with the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(d)  Construction Plan. An application for a permit for the site 

shall contain a construction plan that shall include the following 

information: 

(1) a map showing existing features including 

existing topography of the site on a scale of at 

least one inch equals 200 feet with five-foot 

contours, benchmarks, springs, streams, 

potential groundwater monitoring sites, 

pertinent geological features, and soil boring 

locations; 

(2) a grading plan that provides proposed 

excavated contours, soil boring locations, 

locations and elevations of dikes or trenches, 

designated buffer zones, diversion and 

controlled removal of surface water from the 

work areas, and proposed utilities and 

structures; 

(3) a site development plan showing the following: 

(A) phases or progression of construction 

and operation in increments of five 

years up to the life-of-site of the 

ISWLF; 

(B) engineering design for liners and 

leachate collections systems; 

(C) proposed final contours showing 

removal of surface water runoff; and 

(D) locations of slope drains or other drop 

structures;  

(4) an erosion control plan that identifies the 

following: 

(A) locations of temporary erosion control 

measures such as sediment basins, 

stone filters, terraces, or silt fences;  

(B) locations of permanent erosion control 

measures such as rip rap, energy 

dissipators, ditch stabilization, or pipe 

drains; earthwork calculations; 

calculations for temporary and 

permanent erosion control measures; a 

description of how the site complies 

with 15A NCAC 04 for sedimentation 

and erosion control; and 

(C) seeding specifications and schedules; 

(5) engineering diagrams showing sections of 

dikes, trenches, diversions, and sediment 

basins; 

(6) two cross sections per operational area showing 

soil borings, original elevations, proposed 

excavated depths, proposed final elevations, 

and the seasonal high groundwater table and 

bedrock datum plane contours in accordance 

with Rule .0503(b)(4)(C) of this Section; and  

(7) a description of how the site complies with the 

design requirements in Rule .0503(b) of this 

Section. 

(e)  Operations Plan. An application for a permit for the site shall 

contain an operations plan that shall include the following 

information:  

(1) a copy of the deed for the site property, 

including the property owner's name, the parcel 

identification number, and a legal description of 

the property; 

(2) name and emergency contact information for 

the individual responsible for operation, 

maintenance, and closure of the site; 

(3) type, quantity, and source of waste that will be 

disposed of at the site; 

(4) a description of how the site complies with the 

operational requirements in Rule .0505 of this 

Section; and 

(5) a description of how the site complies with the 

monitoring requirements of Section .0600 of 

this Subchapter; 

(f)  Closure and Post-Closure Care Plan. An application for a 

permit for the site shall contain a closure and post-closure plan 

that shall include the following information: 

(1) a description of the closure of the site, including 

quantification of the life-of-site, closure and 

final cover procedures, and projected use of the 

land after closure; 

(2) a description of the post-closure care period of 

the site, including maintenance and monitoring 

procedures, and a description of how the site 

will comply with Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter; and 
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(3) the cost estimate for closure and post-closure 

activities as required under Section .1800 of this 

Subchapter. 

(g)  If required by G.S. 89C or 89E and not under the purview of 

another licensed profession, a licensed professional engineer or 

licensed geologist shall certify the information submitted in 

accordance with Paragraphs (c) through (f) of this Rule. 

(h)  The Division shall review all permit applications in 

accordance with Rule .0203 of this Subchapter. 

(i)  Plans and documents submitted in the permit application in 

accordance with this Rule shall be incorporated into the permit 

and the site shall comply with the permit in accordance with Rule 

.0203(d) of this Subchapter. 

(j)  Modifications to the plans. The owner or operator may request 

to modify plans that were incorporated into the permit by 

submitting a written request to the Division that includes the 

modified plan and a demonstration showing how the proposed 

modifications comply with the rules of this Section. The Division 

shall respond to the request in writing within the timeline provided 

in G.S. 130A-295.8(e); and the response shall either approve or 

deny the request as submitted or request that additional 

information be submitted for the Division to consider the request. 

The Division's approval shall be based on whether the 

modification complies with the rules of this Subchapter. If the 

Division approves the request as submitted or upon receiving the 

additional information requested, the Division's written approval 

and the revised pages of the plan shall be added to the site's 

operating record. The owner or operator shall not implement the 

modification until the Division has issued an approval. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A 294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1987, For a Period of 180 

Days to expire on March 29, 1988; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; February 1, 1991; September 1, 1990; 

March 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0505 OPERATIONAL AND CLOSURE 

REQUIREMENTS FOR INDUSTRIAL SOLID WASTE 

LANDFILLS  

(a)  The owner or operator of an industrial solid waste landfill unit 

(site) shall maintain and operate the site in conformance with the 

permit and the plans incorporated into the permit in accordance 

with Rule .0504(i) of this Section, and with Sections .0600 and 

.1800 of this Subchapter, and the following:  

(1) Solid waste shall be managed within the 

disposal area throughout the life-of-site and 

post-closure care period to prevent the escape 

of waste and the attraction of vectors and 

scavenging, and to minimize fires and the 

generation of odors. The owner or operator 

shall comply with this requirement using either 

the following compaction and cover 

procedures, or other procedures that the owner 

or operator may include in the operations plan 

and the closure and post-closure plan required 

by Rule .0504 of this Section that shall be as 

effective as the compaction and cover 

procedures:  

(A) Solid waste shall be compacted. 

(B) Solid waste shall be covered at the end 

of each day of operation with a 

compacted layer of no less than six 

inches of soil.  

(C) Areas that will not have additional 

wastes placed on them for the next 12 

months, but where final termination of 

disposal operations has not occurred, 

shall be covered with no less than one 

foot of compacted soil. 

(D) After final termination of disposal 

operations at the site or upon 

revocation of a permit, the area shall 

be covered with no less than two feet 

of compacted soil. 

(2) Erosion Control Requirements: 

(A) Erosion control measures shall be 

practiced to prevent silt from leaving 

the site. 

(B) Erosion control measures shall be 

practiced to prevent on-site erosion. 

(C) The site shall comply with 15A NCAC 

04. 

(3) Drainage Control Requirements: 

(A) Surface water shall be diverted from 

the operational area. 

(B) Surface water shall not be impounded 

over or in waste. 

(C) Areas that have been covered in 

accordance with Subparagraph (1) of 

this Paragraph shall be sloped to allow 

surface water runoff in a controlled 

manner. 

(4) Vegetation Requirements: 

(A) After final termination of disposal 

operations at the site or upon 

revocation of a permit, the site shall be 

stabilized with native grasses within 

the timeframe established in the 

construction plan incorporated into the 

permit in accordance with Rule 

.0504(i) of this Section. 

(B) Temporary seeding shall be utilized if 

it is necessary to stabilize the site or 

prevent erosion. 

(5) Water Protection Requirements: 

(A) The separation distance of four feet 

between waste and the seasonal high 

groundwater table as defined in Rule 

.0532 of this Section shall be 

maintained.  

(B) Solid waste shall not be disposed of in 

water. 

(C) Leachate shall be contained on site or 

treated prior to discharge. A National 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
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System (NPDES) permit issued by the 

Department of Environmental 

Quality, Division of Water Resources 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B 

may be required prior to the discharge 

of leachate to surface waters. 

(6) Access and Security Requirements: 

(A) The site shall be secured to prevent 

unauthorized entry by means such as 

gates, chains, berms, or fences.  

(B) An individual trained in landfill 

operations in accordance with G.S. 

130A-309.25 shall be on duty at the 

site while the site is open for public 

use and during any waste management 

operations to ensure compliance with 

operational requirements. 

(C) The access road to the site shall be of 

all-weather construction and 

maintained to allow access by 

Division staff and fire-fighting 

vehicles. 

(D) Dust control measures shall be 

implemented.  

(7) Sign Requirements: 

(A) Signs providing information on 

disposal procedures, the hours during 

which the site is open for public use, 

the permit number, emergency contact 

information, and other information 

specified in the permit conditions shall 

be posted at the site entrance. 

(B) Signs shall be posted stating the types 

of waste that shall not be accepted at 

the site, such as hazardous waste, 

liquid waste, construction and 

demolition waste, or municipal solid 

waste.  

(C) Traffic signs or markers shall be 

provided to direct traffic to and from 

the discharge area to minimize traffic 

congestion.  

(8) Safety Requirements: 

(A) Open burning of solid waste is 

prohibited unless approval has been 

obtained from the Division, and from 

the Division of Air Quality in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1900, and from the local government 

prior to any burning activity. 

(B) The owner or operator of the site shall 

maintain equipment on-site to control 

accidental fires and arrangements shall 

be made with the local fire protection 

agency to provide fire-fighting 

services.  

(C) Fires that occur at the site shall be 

reported to the Division by verbal 

notice within 24 hours and a written 

notification shall be submitted within 

15 days. 

(D) The removal of solid waste from the 

site is prohibited unless the owner or 

operator approves and the removal is 

not performed on the working face. 

(E) Containers such as tubes, barrels, 

drums, tanks, cans, and bottles shall 

not be disposed of unless they are 

empty and perforated to ensure that no 

liquid waste or hazardous waste is 

contained therein. 

(9) Waste Acceptance and Disposal Requirements: 

(A) A site shall only accept those wastes 

that it is permitted to receive. The site 

owner or operator shall notify the 

Division within 24 hours of attempted 

disposal of any waste the site is not 

permitted to receive, including waste 

from outside the area the site is 

permitted to serve. 

(B) No hazardous waste or liquid waste 

shall be accepted or disposed of at a 

site. 

(C) If the site has been permitted by the 

Division to receive putrescible waste, 

this waste shall be covered upon 

receipt.  

(D) Asbestos waste shall be managed in 

accordance with 40 CFR 61, Subpart 

M. Asbestos waste shall be covered 

upon receipt with soil or compacted 

waste to prevent airborne conditions. 

Asbestos waste shall be disposed of 

using methods that prevent unintended 

exposure of asbestos by future land-

disturbing activities, such as disposal 

in a marked area separate and apart 

from other solid wastes or recording 

the latitude and longitude coordinates 

of the asbestos area within the existing 

landfill footprint. The disposal 

methods shall be described in the 

operations plan required by Rule 

.0504(e) of this Section. 

(E) Wastewater treatment sludges shall 

not be accepted for disposal, unless 

otherwise specified in the site permit.  

(10) Other Requirements: 

(A) Vector control measures shall be 

applied to control flies, rodents, and 

other insects or vermin.  

(B) Barrier methods such as fencing and 

diking shall be provided at the site to 

confine solid waste subject to be 

blown by the wind. At the conclusion 

of each day of operation, all 

windblown material resulting from the 
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operation shall be collected and 

disposed of by the owner or operator. 

(C) The owner or operator of a site shall 

comply with the financial 

responsibility requirements set forth in 

G.S. 130A-295.2.  

(D) A site that accepts scrap tires shall also 

comply with Section .1100 of this 

Subchapter. 

(E) The owner or operator shall submit to 

the Division upon written request any 

information or records required to be 

kept under the conditions of the permit 

or the rules of this Section. 

(b)  When a site has ceased the acceptance of waste, closure of the 

site shall comply with the following requirements: 

(1) The owner or operator shall notify the Division 

in writing that the site has been closed in 

accordance with the rules of this Section and the 

closure and post-closure care plan required in 

accordance with Rule .0504(f) of this Section. 

(2) The owner or operator shall provide 

certification that final cover has been installed 

as described in the construction plan required in 

accordance with Rule .0504(d) of this Section. 

(3) The Division shall conduct an inspection to 

determine compliance with closure 

requirements. If the site has been closed in 

accordance with the rules of this Section and the 

closure and post-closure care plan required in 

accordance with Rule .0504(f) of this Section, 

the Division shall issue a closure letter to the 

owner or operator that confirms closure of the 

site, and provides post-closure conditions for 

the site as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(c)  When a site has been closed in accordance with the 

requirements of this Rule, post-closure maintenance and water 

quality monitoring shall be the responsibility of the owner or 

operator. The owner or operator shall comply with Section .0600 

of this Subchapter. The site-specific post-closure maintenance 

requirements shall be specified in the closure letter issued by the 

Division in accordance with Subparagraph (b)(3) of this Rule.  

(d)  When a site has been closed in accordance with this Rule, the 

permit is terminated. Any future solid waste management or 

disposal at the site shall require a new permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1987, For a Period of 

180 Days to Expire on April 28, 1988; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; February 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0508 SITING AND APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR INCINERATORS 

(a)  An incinerator (site) shall meet the following siting 

requirements: 

(1) Floodplain Restrictions: Any portions of the 

site property containing the incinerator building 

and areas where storage or processing of solid 

waste occurs shall not be located in the 100-

year floodplain. 

(2) Cultural Resources Restrictions: A site shall not 

damage or destroy a property of archaeological 

or historical significance that has been listed on 

the National Register of Historic Places or 

included on the Study List for the Register 

pursuant to 07 NCAC 04R .0206 and .0300.  

(3) State Nature and Historic Preserve Restrictions: 

The location, access, size, and operation of the 

site shall not have an adverse impact on any 

component included in the State Nature and 

Historic Preserve pursuant to G.S. 143-260.10. 

(4) Endangered and Threatened Species 

Restrictions: A site shall not jeopardize the 

continued existence of endangered or 

threatened species or result in the destruction or 

adverse modification of a critical habitat, 

protected under the Federal Endangered 

Species Act of 1973, Public Law 93-205, as 

amended. 

(5) Clean Water Act Requirements: A site or site 

operations shall: 

(A) not cause a discharge of pollutants into 

waters of the United States, including 

wetlands, that violates any 

requirements of the Clean Water Act, 

including the National Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System 

(NPDES) requirements pursuant to 

Section 402 of the Clean Water Act;  

(B) comply with Section 404 of the Clean 

Water Act; and  

(C) not cause the discharge of a nonpoint 

source of pollution to waters of the 

United States, including wetlands, that 

violates any requirement of an area-

wide or Statewide water quality 

management plan that has been 

approved under Section 208 or 319 of 

the Clean Water Act. 

(6) The permit issued by the Division for the site 

shall state the site-specific buffer requirements 

for the site. When determining the site-specific 

buffers, the Division shall include any buffers 

required by the incinerator permit issued by the 

Division of Air Quality for the site.  

(b)  A permit applicant shall submit to the Division one electronic 

copy of a permit application, which shall contain the plans 

described in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  Site Plan. An application for a permit for a site shall contain 

a site plan that includes the following information: 

(1) an aerial photograph, representative of existing 

conditions, at a scale of at least one inch equals 

400 feet, showing the area within one quarter 
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mile of the proposed site's boundaries with the 

following identified: 

(A) property lines of the entire property 

where the site will be located; 

(B) existing land use and zoning; 

(C) location of all private residences, 

commercial and industrial buildings, 

public or private utilities, roads, and 

schools; 

(D) on-site easements; 

(E) location of potable wells and public 

water supplies; 

(F) historic sites described in 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; 

(G) State nature and historic preserves 

described in Subparagraph (a)(3) of 

this Rule; 

(H) the existing topography and features 

of the site, including general surface 

water drainage patterns and 

watersheds, 100-year floodplains, 

perennial and intermittent streams, 

rivers, and lakes; and 

(I) the classification of the surface water 

drainage from the site in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 02B .0300; 

(2) a letter from the unit of government having 

zoning jurisdiction over the site that states that 

the proposed use is allowed within any existing 

zoning and that any necessary zoning approval 

or permit has been obtained, and that states the 

local zoning buffers that apply to the site; 

(3) letters from both the State Historic Preservation 

Office and the Natural Heritage Program within 

the Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources stating whether the proposed use of 

the property will impact the historic sites 

described in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; 

State nature and historic preserves described in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule; or the 

endangered or threatened species described in 

Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule located at the 

site; and 

(4) a copy of the valid air quality permit for the 

operation of the incinerator issued by the 

Department of Environmental Quality, 

Division of Air Quality in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02D. 

(d)  Operations Plan. An application for a permit for a site shall 

contain an operations plan that shall include the following 

information:  

(1) the type and quantity of wastes that will be 

accepted, including the anticipated sources of 

the wastes accepted, and the intended 

destination of materials and ash removed from 

the site; 

(2) the procedures for receiving, storing, 

incineration, and removal of waste and ash, 

including the anticipated storage and 

incineration times; 

(3) the hours of operation and staffing; 

(4) methods for daily cleanup; 

(5) record-keeping procedures; 

(6) a description of how the site will comply with 

the operational and closure requirements of 

Rule .0509 of this Section; 

(7) a contingency plan that shall address planned 

operations in the event of loss of power, loss of 

communications, storm surges, scale 

malfunctions, and scale software malfunctions; 

in the event that the disposal site, haul route, or 

transfer equipment is not available; or during 

conditions exceeding design parameters. The 

owner or operator of the site shall provide back-

up equipment, and contact information to 

obtain the equipment, and plans to by-pass the 

site in case of equipment breakdown. The 

contingency plan shall be kept updated on-site 

and shall include site specific emergency 

procedures and contact information in case of 

emergencies; 

(8) additional information that the Division may 

request in writing pertaining to the site 

operations if it is necessary to determine 

compliance with the rules of this Subchapter; 

and 

(9) in addition to the information required in this 

Paragraph, incinerators that are permitted by 

the Division to accept medical waste shall also 

include the information required by Rule 

.1204(b)(4) of this Subchapter in the operations 

plan. 

(e)  The Division shall review all permit applications in 

accordance with Rule .0203 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  Plans and documents submitted in the permit application in 

accordance with this Rule shall be incorporated into the permit 

and the site shall comply with the permit in accordance with Rule 

.0203(d) of this Subchapter. 

(g)  Permits issued by the Division for incinerators shall be valid 

for five years, and shall be subject to the permit fees set forth in 

G.S. 130A-295.8. 

(h)  Sites that received a permit from the Division prior to the 

readopted effective date of this Rule shall comply with the rules 

of this Section with the following exceptions: 

(1) buildings, structures, and waste handling areas 

constructed prior to the readopted effective date 

of this Rule shall not be required to comply with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule for the permitted 

operational boundary existing on the readopted 

effective date of this Rule, or any replacements 

or modifications within that existing permitted 

operational boundary; and 

(2) if a building, structure, or waste handling area 

was constructed prior to the readopted effective 

date of this Rule, and is expanded beyond the 

existing permitted operational boundary after 

the readopted effective date of this Rule, the 
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permitted operational boundary that was 

existing on the readopted effective date of this 

Rule shall not be required to comply with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, but the expansion 

areas shall comply with these requirements. 

(i)  Site buildings, structures, and waste handling areas that are 

exempt from the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

continue to comply with any siting and buffer requirements stated 

in their permit issued prior to the readoption date of this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0509 OPERATIONAL AND CLOSURE 

REQUIREMENTS FOR INCINERATORS 

(a)  An owner or operator of an incinerator (site) shall comply 

with the permit conditions, the plans incorporated into the permit 

in accordance with Rule .0508(f) of this Section, and the 

following requirements:  

(1) All sites shall be sited, designed, operated, and 

maintained using safe and sanitary practices for 

the preservation of the public health and 

welfare and the environment by preventing the 

generation of leachate, the attraction of vectors, 

the release of odors, and the release of waste or 

leachate to the environment.  

(2) The storage of solid waste at the site shall 

comply with Rule .0104 of this Subchapter and 

the conditions of the permit issued by the 

Division. 

(3) Sites that are permitted by the Division to 

accept medical waste shall also comply with 

Section .1200 of this Subchapter. 

(4) Vector control measures shall be applied to 

prevent or control on-site populations of flies, 

rodents, and other insects or vermin. 

(5) The owner or operator shall provide equipment 

to operate and maintain the site in compliance 

with Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph.  

(6) All ash and waste residue from the site shall be 

disposed of at a solid waste management 

facility permitted by the Division to receive 

such waste.  

(7) An air quality permit issued by the Department 

of Environmental Quality, Division of Air 

Quality shall be obtained prior to site operation.  

(8) A site shall only accept those solid wastes that 

it is permitted to receive.  

(9) Leachate shall be contained on-site or treated 

prior to discharge. A National Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 

permit issued by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of Water 

Resources in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B 

may be required prior to discharge to surface 

waters. 

(10) The owner or operator shall submit to the 

Division upon written request any information 

or records required to be kept under the 

conditions of the permit or the rules of this 

Section. 

(b)  When a site ceases the acceptance of waste, closure of the site 

shall comply with the following requirements: 

(1) The owner or operator shall remove all waste, 

including ash, from the site property and 

dispose of the waste at a facility permitted by 

the Division to receive such waste within 120 

days after the date the incinerator ceased the 

acceptance of waste. 

(2) The owner or operator shall comply with any 

closure requirements specified in the permits 

issued by the Division and the Division of Air 

Quality. 

(3) For a site that accepts medical waste, the owner 

or operator shall also meet the requirements of 

Section .1200 of this Subchapter. 

(4) The owner or operator shall notify the Division 

in writing that the site has been closed in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(5) The Department shall conduct an inspection to 

determine compliance with Subparagraphs (1) 

through (3) of this Paragraph. 

(6) When a site has been closed in accordance with 

this Paragraph, the permit is terminated, and 

any future solid waste management at the site 

shall require a new permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0510 POST-CLOSURE CARE 

REQUIREMENTS FOR CLOSED C&DLF AND MSWLF 

UNITS EXEMPTED FROM OTHER C&DLF AND 

MSWLF RULES 

The owner or operator of a closed construction and demolition 

landfill unit or municipal solid waste landfill unit that is required 

to comply with this Rule in accordance with Rule .0531 of this 

Section or Rule .1601 of this Subchapter (collectively "site") shall 

comply with the post-closure care requirements specified in the 

permit conditions, the closure plan for the site, and the closure 

letter or permit for closure issued by the Division to the site at the 

time of closure. The owner or operator shall also comply with 

Section .0600 of this Subchapter. The owner or operator shall 

submit to the Division upon written request any information or 

records that are required to be kept under either the permit 

conditions, the closure letter, or the rules of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; February 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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15A NCAC 13B .0562 BENEFICIAL FILL 

(a)  "Beneficial fill" means a fill activity to level or bring an area 

to grade for the beneficial purpose of stabilizing the land or 

improving the land use potential using only inert debris waste. 

(b)  A solid waste management permit is not required for 

beneficial fill that meets the following conditions: 

(1) any soils mixed with the beneficial fill or used 

for cover shall meet unrestricted use standards 

for soils as defined in G.S. 130A-310.65; 

(2) excavation shall not be conducted for the 

purpose of creating a beneficial fill area or 

expanding the footprint of the existing 

beneficial fill area; 

(3) in the absence of local ordinances pertaining to 

beneficial fill, the activity shall be limited in 

duration to one year from the initial placement 

of material and no larger than one acre in size; 

(4) the beneficial fill shall be setback from an 

adjacent property line a distance that allows for 

slope construction and maintenance in 

accordance with Subparagraph (5) of this 

Paragraph and any local ordinances; 

(5) the beneficial fill shall be covered with a 

minimum of one foot of compacted soil and 

graded at a slope ratio that shall not exceed 

three horizontal to one vertical; 

(6) the beneficial fill shall comply with all other 

applicable federal, State, and local laws, 

ordinances, rules, and regulations, including 

local zoning restrictions, flood plain 

regulations, wetland regulations, mining 

regulations, and sedimentation and erosion 

control regulations; 

(7) the beneficial fill shall comply with the 

groundwater quality standards established in 

15A NCAC 02L; and 

(8) beneficial fill shall not be placed in waters of 

the State, or at or below the seasonal high 

groundwater table as defined in Rule .0532 of 

this Section. 

(c)  Soil generated from properties where there has been no known 

release of contaminants shall not be subject to regulation as a solid 

waste. This Rule and the solid waste permitting requirements 

under this Subchapter shall not apply to fill activities solely 

consisting of soil generated from properties where there has been 

no known release of contaminants. 

(d)  This Rule and the solid waste permitting requirements under 

this Subchapter shall not apply to fill activities solely consisting 

of soil generated from properties where there has been a release 

of contaminants, if the soil meets unrestricted use standards for 

soils as defined in G.S. 130A-310.65.  

(e)  Fill activities using solid waste as the fill material that do not 

meet the requirements of this Rule are subject to permitting as a 

solid waste management facility in accordance with this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 4, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

15A NCAC 13B .0563 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR LCIDLFS 

The owner or operator of a land clearing and inert debris landfill 

(site) shall obtain a permit from the Division, unless exempted 

from permitting pursuant to G.S. 130A-294(a)(4)a. A site shall 

comply with Rules .0564 through .0567 of this Section, and the 

following requirements: 

(1) The site shall accept only yard waste and inert 

debris waste for disposal.  

(2) The site shall comply with all other federal, 

State, and local laws, ordinances, rules, 

regulations, and orders, including zoning 

regulations, flood plain regulations, wetland 

regulations, sedimentation and erosion control 

regulations, and mining regulations. 

(3) Permits issued by the Division for land clearing 

and inert debris landfills shall be valid for five 

years, and shall be subject to the permit fees set 

forth in G.S. 130A-295.8. 

(4) A permit shall not be required for a site that 

meets the following conditions:  

(a) the site is within the right-of-way of a 

N.C. Department of Transportation 

project; 

(b) the site accepts only yard waste and 

inert debris waste that was generated 

from within the same N.C. 

Department of Transportation project 

right-of-way that the site is located in;  

(c) the site disposal area does not exceed 

two contiguous acres in size; and 

(d) the site complies with Rule .0564 of 

this Section.  

(5) Owners or operators shall not construct or 

operate more than one site that is exempted 

from permitting in accordance with G.S. 130A-

294(a)(4)a. on any single parcel of land. 

(6) Within five years of the readopted effective 

date of this Rule, the owner or operator of a 

notified LCIDLF that was not closed prior to 

the readopted effective date of this Rule shall 

comply with the requirements of this Rule, or 

shall close the notified LCIDLF in accordance 

with Rule .0567(b) of this Section, except that 

the required notification of closure is not 

required to be certified. For the purpose of this 

Rule, "notified LCIDLF" means a site that was 

not required to obtain a permit from the 

Division prior to the readopted effective date of 

this Rule because the site was designed and 

constructed to be two acres or less in size, and 

was required to record a notification for the site 

with the Register of Deeds' office and submit 

the notification to the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-301.1; 

Eff. January 4, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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15A NCAC 13B .0564 SITING CRITERIA FOR 

LCIDLFS 

A land clearing and inert debris landfill (site) shall meet the 

following siting criteria: 

(1) Floodplain Restrictions: A site shall not be 

located in the 100-year floodplain. 

(2) Cultural Resources Restrictions: A site and site 

operations shall not damage or destroy a 

property of archaeological or historical 

significance that has been listed on the National 

Register of Historic Places or included on the 

Study List for the Register pursuant to 07 

NCAC 04R .0206 and .0300.  

(3) State Nature and Historic Preserve Restrictions: 

A site and site operations shall not have an 

adverse impact on any component included in 

the State Nature and Historic Preserve pursuant 

to G.S. 143-260.10. 

(4) Endangered and Threatened Species 

Restrictions: A site and site operations shall not 

jeopardize the continued existence of 

endangered or threatened species or result in the 

destruction or adverse modification of a critical 

habitat, protected under the Federal 

Endangered Species Act of 1973, Public Law 

93-205, as amended. 

(5) Clean Water Act Requirements: A site and site 

operations shall: 

(a) not cause a discharge of pollutants into 

waters of the United States, including 

wetlands, that violates any 

requirements of the Clean Water Act, 

including the National Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System 

(NPDES) requirements pursuant to 

Section 402 of the Clean Water Act;  

(b) comply with Section 404 of the Clean 

Water Act; and  

(c) not cause the discharge of a nonpoint 

source of pollution to waters of the 

United States, including wetlands, that 

violates any requirement of an area-

wide or Statewide water quality 

management plan that has been 

approved under Section 208 or 319 of 

the Clean Water Act. 

(6) Buffer Requirements: A site shall maintain the 

following buffer requirements: 

(a) 50 feet from the waste boundary to 

waters of the State as defined in G.S. 

143-212. 

(b) 100 feet from the waste boundary to 

property lines, residential dwellings, 

commercial or public buildings, and 

potable wells. 

The Division may establish alternative site-

specific buffers in the permit conditions if it is 

necessary for the preservation of public health 

and the environment.  

(7) The site shall establish and maintain an access 

road around the waste boundary for access by 

emergency or fire-fighting vehicles and 

equipment.  

(8) The site shall have soil available for cover 

either on site or from on or off site. 

(9) The site and site operations shall comply with 

15A NCAC 02L for protection of groundwater 

quality. The bottom elevation of the waste shall 

be no less than four feet above the seasonal high 

groundwater table as defined in Rule .0532 of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 4, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0565 APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LCIDLFS 

(a)  A permit applicant for a proposed land clearing and inert 

debris landfill (site) permit shall submit to the Division one 

electronic copy of a permit application, which shall contain the 

following information:  

(1) a copy of the deed for the site property, 

including the property owner's name, the parcel 

identification number, and a legal description of 

the property; 

(2) an approval letter from the unit of local 

government having zoning authority over the 

area where the site is to be located stating that 

the site meets the requirements of the local 

zoning ordinance, or that the site is not zoned; 

(3) a county road map showing the location of the 

site; 

(4) letters from both the State Historic Preservation 

Office and the Natural Heritage Program within 

the Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources stating whether the proposed use of 

the property will impact the historic sites 

described in Rule .0564(a)(2) of this Section; 

State nature and historic preserves described in 

Rule .0564(a)(3) of this Section; or the 

endangered or threatened species described in 

Rule .0564(a)(4) of this Section located at the 

site;  

(5) a description of how the site will comply with 

Rule .0564 of this Section; 

(6) a map or aerial photograph, representative of 

existing conditions, with a scale of at least one 

inch equals 400 feet showing the following in 

an area within one-fourth mile of the site: 

(A) the entire property or portion thereof 

where the site is proposed to be 

located;  

(B) the location of all homes, buildings, 

public or private utilities, roads, wells, 

watercourses, water or other 

impoundments, and any other features 

that the Division may request in 
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writing if it is necessary to determine 

compliance with this Subchapter; 

(C) the 100-year floodplain boundaries, if 

any; 

(D) boundaries of wetlands as defined in 

Section 404(b) of the Clean Water 

Act, if any; 

(E) the boundaries of sites described in 

Rule .0564(2) and (3) of this Section, 

if any;  

(7) development and design plans and drawings for 

the site, at a scale of at least one inch equals 100 

feet, with specifications containing the 

following information:  

(A) property boundaries, dimensioned 

with bearings and distances, tied to 

North Carolina grid coordinates where 

available;  

(B) easements and rights-of-way; 

(C) existing on-site and adjacent 

structures such as houses, buildings, 

wells, roads and bridges, water and 

sewer utilities, septic fields, and storm 

drainage features; 

(D) proposed and existing roads, points of 

ingress and egress, and access controls 

such as gates, fences, or berms; 

(E) buffer and set back lines and buffered 

boundaries or features;  

(F) springs, streams, creeks, rivers, ponds, 

and other surface waters and 

impoundments; 

(G) wetlands, if any; 

(H) boundary of the proposed waste area; 

(I) the proposed bottom elevation of the 

waste in relation to the seasonal high 

groundwater table as defined in Rule 

.0532 of this Section; 

(J) existing topography with contours of 

five-foot intervals. A smaller interval 

shall be utilized if it is necessary to 

clarify existing topographic 

conditions; 

(K) proposed excavation, grading, and 

final contours at five-foot intervals. A 

smaller interval shall be utilized if it is 

necessary to clarify proposed grading. 

Excavation, grading, and fill material 

side slopes shall not exceed a ratio of 

three horizontal to one vertical;  

(L) where an on-site borrow pit for 

operational and final cover is 

proposed, indicate the borrow pit 

excavation and grading plan with 

contours of five-foot intervals. A 

smaller interval shall be utilized if it is 

necessary to clarify proposed grading; 

(M) proposed surface water control 

features and devices such as slope 

drains, storm water pipes, inlets, 

culverts, and channels; 

(N) information showing that the project 

meets the requirements of 15A NCAC 

04 for sedimentation and erosion 

control; 

(O) location of test borings or test pits, if 

used to determine the seasonal high 

groundwater table elevation; and  

(P) no less than two cross-sections, one 

each along each major axis, per 

operational area showing original 

elevations, proposed excavation, and 

proposed final elevations;  

(8) an operations plan addressing the requirements 

in Rule .0566 of this Section that shall contain 

the following information:  

(A) the name, address, phone number, and 

e-mail address of the site owner and 

operator;  

(B) a description of systematic usage of 

disposal area, operation, and 

development of the site;  

(C) the type, source, and quantity of waste 

to be accepted; and 

(D) an emergency contingency plan, 

including fire-fighting procedures;  

(9) a closure and post-closure plan addressing the 

requirements in Rule .0567 of this Section that 

shall contain the following information: 

(A) the procedures and schedule for 

closure of the site; 

(B) the projected use of the property after 

closure of the site; and 

(C) the procedures and schedule for post-

closure care maintenance, and for 

post-closure groundwater, surface 

water, or explosive gas monitoring if it 

is required by the Division to 

determine compliance with Rule 

.0566(11) or (13) of this Section; and  

(10) other information that the Division may request 

in writing if it is necessary to determine 

compliance with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  If required by G.S. 89C or 89E and not under the purview of 

another licensed profession, a licensed professional engineer or 

licensed geologist shall certify the information submitted in 

accordance with Subparagraphs (a)(6) through (a)(10) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  The Division shall review all permit applications in 

accordance with Rule .0203 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Plans and documents submitted in the permit application in 

accordance with this Rule shall be incorporated into the permit 

and the site shall comply with the permit in accordance with Rule 

.0203(d) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Modifications to the plans. The owner or operator may request 

to modify plans that were incorporated into the permit by 

submitting a written request to the Division that includes the 

modified plan and a demonstration showing how the proposed 
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modifications comply with the rules of this Section. The Division 

shall respond to the request in writing within the timeline provided 

in G.S. 130A-295.8(e); and the response shall either approve or 

deny the request as submitted or request that additional 

information be submitted for the Division to consider the request. 

The Division's approval shall be based on whether the 

modification complies with the rules of this Subchapter. If the 

Division approves the request as submitted or upon receiving the 

additional information requested, the Division's written approval 

and the revised pages of the plan shall be added to the site's 

operating record. The owner or operator shall not implement the 

modification until the Division has issued an approval. 

(f)  The permit issued by the Division shall be recorded with the 

Register of Deeds in the same manner as sanitary landfills in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-301. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 4, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0566 OPERATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LCIDLFS  

The owner or operator of a land clearing and inert debris landfill 

(site) shall comply with the permit conditions, the plans 

incorporated into the permit in accordance with Rule .0565(d) of 

this Section, and the following operational requirements: 

(1) The site shall only accept those solid wastes that 

it is permitted to receive. 

(2) Solid waste in the landfill shall be compacted. 

Slopes shall not exceed a ratio of three 

horizontal to one vertical at any time. 

(3) All waste shall be covered with no less than six 

inches of soil monthly, or when the working 

face reaches one acre in size, whichever occurs 

first. Any soils used for cover at the site shall 

meet unrestricted use standards for soils as 

defined in G.S. 130A-310.65. 

(4) Areas that will not have additional wastes 

placed on them for three months or more, but 

where final termination of disposal operations 

has not occurred, shall be covered with no less 

than one foot of soil cover sloped to direct the 

flow of surface water from the landfill, and 

stabilized with vegetative ground cover or other 

stabilizing material. The Division may require 

further action to correct any condition that the 

Division determines may be injurious to the 

public health, or a nuisance to the community. 

(5) erosion control measures, structures, or devices 

shall be utilized to prevent silt from leaving the 

site and to prevent on-site erosion, and shall 

comply with 15A NCAC 04. 

(6) The site shall be secured by barriers such as 

gates, chains, berms, and fences to prevent 

unauthorized access. An operator shall be on 

duty at all times while the site is open for public 

use to assure compliance with operational 

requirements and to prevent acceptance of 

unauthorized wastes. 

(7) Access roads shall be of all-weather 

construction and shall be maintained to allow 

access by vehicles transporting waste, 

Department staff, and fire-fighting vehicles.  

(8) Surface water shall be diverted from the 

working face and shall not be impounded over 

waste. 

(9) Solid waste shall not be disposed of in water. 

(10) Fire Protection and Control. 

(a) Open burning of solid waste is 

prohibited, unless approval has been 

obtained from the Division, the local 

government, and the Division of Air 

Quality in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02D .1900 prior to any burning 

activity. 

(b) Hot ashes, cinders, and waste that is 

smoldering, smoking, or burning shall 

not be disposed of in the landfill. The 

waste screening procedures described 

in the operations plan in accordance 

with this Rule shall address 

identification and rejection of this 

waste.  

(c) The owner or operator shall provide 

equipment on-site to control fires and 

make arrangements with a local fire 

protection agency to provide fire-

fighting services. 

(d) The owner or operator shall provide 

verbal notification to the Division of 

fires that occur at the site within 24 

hours of the fire and shall submit 

written notification to the Division 

within 15 days of the fire. The 

notification shall include the site name 

and permit number; the date and time 

of the fire; actions taken by the owner 

or operator in response to the fire; the 

cause of the fire; the location and size 

of the fire; the type and amount of 

waste that caught fire; a plan of action 

to prevent fires in the future; the name 

and title of the person submitting this 

information; and the date the 

information is submitted. 

(11) The concentration of explosive gases generated 

by the site shall not exceed: 

(a) twenty-five percent of the lower 

explosive limit for the gases in site 

structures; or 

(b) the lower explosive limit for the gases 

at the property boundary. 

The Division may require quarterly monitoring 

of explosive gases if it is necessary to determine 

compliance with this Item. If the Division 

requires monitoring, the Division shall provide 

written notice of the requirement to the owner 

or operator. 
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(12) Leachate shall be contained and managed on-

site.  

(13) The site shall comply with 15A NCAC 02L for 

the protection of groundwater quality, and the 

surface water quality standards established in 

15A NCAC 02B.  

(14) A sign shall be posted at the site entrance 

showing the site contact's name and phone 

number, the permit number, emergency contact 

information, and the waste types accepted for 

disposal at the site.  

(15) Inert debris waste accepted at the site shall be 

placed within the permitted landfill footprint 

unless it is being processed for recycling or 

reuse. Inert debris waste shall not be placed as 

beneficial fill as defined in Rule .0562 within 

the site buffer areas or elsewhere on the 

property unless stated in the site permit. 

(16) The owner or operator shall submit to the 

Division upon written request any information 

or records required to be kept under the 

conditions of the permit or the rules of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 4, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0567 CLOSURE AND POST-CLOSURE 

CARE REQUIREMENTS FOR LCIDLFS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a land clearing and inert debris 

landfill (site) shall implement the closure of the site in accordance 

with this Rule and the closure and post-closure plans incorporated 

into the permit in accordance with Rule .0565(d) of this Section. 

The owner or operator shall notify the Division no less than 90 

days prior to the expected closure of the site. 

(b)  Closure Requirements. 

(1) The owner or operator of a site shall begin 

closure activities no later than 30 days after the 

final receipt of wastes. Closure activities shall 

include the following: 

(A) covering the disposal area with no less 

than one foot of soil cover sloped to 

direct the flow of surface water from 

the landfill; 

(B) stabilizing the soil cover with 

vegetative ground cover or other 

stabilizing material; and 

(C) any closure activities included in the 

closure and post-closure plan 

incorporated into the permit. 

(2) The owner or operator of a site shall complete 

the closure activities within 120 days after 

beginning the closure activities as specified in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph.  

(3) Within 30 days of completion of closure of the 

site, the owner or operator shall submit to the 

Division a certification verifying that closure 

has been completed in accordance with this 

Rule. If required by G.S. 89C, the certification 

shall be completed by a licensed professional 

engineer. 

(4) When a site has been closed in accordance with 

this Rule, the permit is terminated. Any future 

solid waste management or disposal at the site 

shall require a new permit. 

(c)  Post-Closure Care Requirements. 

(1) Following closure of the site, the owner or 

operator shall conduct post-closure care in 

accordance with the closure and post-closure 

care plan incorporated into the permit and the 

following requirements: 

(A) maintenance of the cap system, 

including making repairs to the cover 

to correct the effects of settlement, 

subsidence, erosion, or other events, 

and preventing surface water run-on 

and run-off from eroding or otherwise 

damaging the cap system; 

(B) maintenance of the vegetative cover of 

the cap, and ensuring that trees and 

other woody vegetation do not become 

established on the cap; 

(C) maintenance of vehicle and fire-

fighting lanes to allow access to the 

entire waste boundary of the site; 

(D) groundwater, surface water, and 

explosive gas monitoring in 

accordance with the closure and post 

closure care plan, if it is required by 

the Division to determine compliance 

with Rule .0566(11) or (13) of this 

Section; 

(E) maintenance of the operating record 

by the owner or operator. The 

operating record shall be made 

available to the Division for inspection 

upon request during the post-closure 

care period; and 

(F) any additional actions that the 

Division may request in writing if the 

Division determines that the actions 

are necessary to correct any condition 

that may be injurious to the public 

health or a nuisance to the community. 

In making this determination, the 

Division shall consider the 

compliance history of the site, the 

circumstances and use of properties 

adjacent to the site, the use of 

groundwater and surface water 

downgradient of the site, and any 

groundwater, surface water, and 

explosive gas monitoring results. 

(2) Property lines shall not be altered to result in 

reduction of the buffer areas set forth in Rule 

.0564(6) of this Section or stated in the site 

permit. 
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(3) The buffer areas set forth in Rule .0564(6) of 

this Section or stated in the site permit shall not 

be developed or utilized for residential, 

commercial, industrial, or institutional 

purposes, including above-ground or below-

ground construction or improvements such as 

utilities, roads, parking lots, and sidewalks. 

(4) Post-closure care shall be conducted for 10 

years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0601 GROUNDWATER 

MONITORING 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a sanitary landfill that is not subject 

to Rules .0531 through .0546 or Section .1600 of this Subchapter 

(site). This Rule shall apply for the life of the site and the post-

closure care period of the site. 

(b)  The site shall be subject to the groundwater requirements and 

standards in 15A NCAC 02L .0101 through .0114 and 15A NCAC 

02L .0201 through .0202. The site shall not cause an exceedance 

of the groundwater quality standards and interim maximum 

allowable concentrations established under 15A NCAC 02L 

.0202 in the uppermost aquifer at the review boundary or 

compliance boundary as established in 15A NCAC 02L .0107 and 

.0108. 

(c)  The site shall provide such groundwater monitoring capability 

as the Division determines to be necessary to detect the effects of 

the site on groundwater in the area. In making such a 

determination, the Division shall consider the following factors: 

(1) the design of the site, the nature of the processes 

it will use, and the type of waste it will handle; 

(2) soil and other geological conditions in the area; 

(3) nearness of groundwater to the site;  

(4) uses that are being or may be made of any 

groundwater that may be affected by the site; 

and 

(5) any other factors that relate to the potential for 

groundwater effects from the site.  

(d)  The construction of monitoring wells shall comply with 15A 

NCAC 02C .0108.  

(e)  The owner or operator of a site shall submit a record of the 

monitoring well installation to the Division upon completion of 

the installation.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; January 1, 

1985; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0602 SURFACE WATER 

MONITORING 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a sanitary landfill that is not subject 

to Rules .0531 through .0546 or Section .1600 of this Subchapter 

(site). This Rule shall apply for the life of the site and the post-

closure care period of the site. 

(b)  The owner or operator of the site shall provide such surface 

water monitoring capability as the Division determines to be 

necessary to detect the effects of the site on surface waters 

contained on or bordering the site property. In making this 

determination, the Division shall consider the following factors: 

(1) the design of the site, the nature of the processes 

it will use, and the type of waste it will handle; 

(2) drainage patterns and other hydrological 

conditions in the area; 

(3) nearness of surface water to the site;  

(4) uses that are being or may be made of any 

surface water that may be affected by the site; 

and 

(5) any other factors that relate to the potential for 

surface water effects from the site.  

(c)  The site shall not cause an exceedance of the surface water 

standards established under 15A NCAC 02B .0200.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0701 ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES 

15A NCAC 13B .0702 STANDARDS 

15A NCAC 13B .0703 PROCEDURE FOR 

ASSESSMENT: REVOCATION OF PERMIT 

15A NCAC 13B .0704 PAYMENTS: HEARING 

15A NCAC 13B .0705 STAY OF PENALTY 

ASSESSMENT 

15A NCAC 13B .0706 WAIVER OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

HEARING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-22(f); 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; February 1, 1988; May 1, 1987; 

October 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1301 MANNER OF DISPOSITION OF 

FETAL REMAINS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-309.26; 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 22, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0212 TEXTBOOK PUBLISHERS 

REGISTRY 

(a)  Publishers who submit textbooks for adoption shall register 

with the Office of State Superintendent of Public Instruction. 

Publisher registration information shall include: 

(1) the publisher's name; 

(2) the publisher's president's or proprietor's name 

and address, including email address; 
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(3) the names of all agents authorized to represent 

the publisher in North Carolina; and 

(4) the name, title, address, email address and 

telephone number of the publisher's preferred 

agent contact. 

(b)  Each publisher piloting textbook materials being submitted 

for consideration in the current adoption year shall notify the 

Textbook Commission, in writing, which materials are being 

piloted and in which local education agencies materials are being 

piloted. The Textbook Commission shall notify all local 

superintendents involved in piloting textbook materials prior to 

the end of the textbook selection process that the materials they 

are piloting may or may not be accepted by the Commission. 

(c)  Publishers shall not exercise undue pressure on members of 

the Textbook Commission, the State Board of Education, 

evaluation advisors, or DPI staff involved in the textbook 

submission, evaluation, or adoption process. 

(1) For purposes of this Rule, "undue pressure" 

means personal contact, whether in person, by 

telephone, or in written form, that advocates for 

the selection of a particular book or series of 

books. "Undue pressure" does not include 

social contact or presentations to the Textbook 

Commission as a whole, and does not include 

written communication with Textbook 

Commission members or State Board of 

Education or DPI officials following 

acceptance or rejection of a submission in an 

effort to seek clarification or reconsideration. 

(2) The State Superintendent of Public Instruction 

shall remove from the NC Publishers Registry 

any publisher whose agents exercise undue 

pressure upon a member of the Textbook 

Commission, the evaluation advisors, or DPI 

staff. 

(3) The State Board of Education shall direct the 

State Superintendent of Public Instruction to 

remove from the NC Publishers Registry any 

publisher whose agents exercise undue pressure 

upon a member of the State Board of Education. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-89; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0314 ALTERNATIVE SCHOOLS' 

MODIFIED ACCOUNTABILITY SYSTEM 

(a)  This Rule establishes the State Board of Education's (SBE) 

procedures for alternative schools' participation in the State's 

Accountability System and shall apply to all alternative schools, 

including charter schools approved to use the modified 

accountability system, that have an NCDPI-assigned local 

education agency (LEA) school code. Accountability indicators 

and results for students who attend programs or classes in a 

facility that does not have an LEA school code shall be reported 

to and included in the students' base school's accountability 

results. 

(b)  At the beginning of each school year, local public school and 

charter school boards shall determine the Option that each 

alternative school under their jurisdiction will follow for 

participation in the Alternative Schools' Modified Accountability 

System. The local board's participation decision shall be reported 

to the NCDPI's Director of Accountability Services by August 1 

of each school year. 

(c)  Local public school and charter school boards shall select 

from the following Alternative Schools' Modified Accountability 

System Options: 

(1) Option A. Alternative schools can participate in 

School Performance Grades as defined by G.S. 

115C-83.15 or 

(2) Option B. Alternative schools electing to 

participate in this Option shall be evaluated as 

follows: 

(A) The Components used in the overall 

school score shall be: 20 percent 

Student Persistence, which is defined 

as the percent of alternative students 

who remain enrolled in any North 

Carolina public school; 20 percent 

School Achievement, which is 

comprised of three years of data using 

the following indicators: End-of-

Grade (EOG) English Language 

Arts/Reading and Mathematics 

Assessments at Grades 3–8; EOG 

Science Assessments at Grades 5 and 

8; End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments 

in Biology, NC Math 1, NC Math 3, 

and English II; ACT®; ACT 

WorkKeys; 4-year graduation rate; 5-

year graduation rate; and math course 

rigor; 60 percent Growth, which will 

be calculated using the Education 

Value-Added Assessment System 

(EVAAS). 

(B) A change rating will be assigned to 

schools comparing their previous year 

score to the current year score. All 

schools will receive a rating of either: 

"Progressing," which indicates a 

change in the score from the previous 

year by at least +3 points; 

"Maintaining," which indicates a 

change in the score from the previous 

year by -2.9 to +2.9 points; or, 

"Declining," which indicates a change 

in the score from the previous year by 

at least -3 points. 

(3) Option C. Alternative schools electing to 

participate in this Option shall propose 

modifications to the Accountability System for 

approval by the SBE. The SBE shall approve 

the proposed modifications to the system if a 

preponderance of the evidence proves that the 

modifications comprise valid and reliable 

measures of the achievement and growth of the 

school's students. A request to participate in 

Option C must be submitted annually to the 

SBE for approval at its October meeting. 
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(d)  Schools that are identified as Developmental Day Centers (as 

determined by the Department of Health and Human Services) 

and schools which are providing special education and related 

services in public separate settings to students with disabilities 

shall participate in the Accountability System by administering 

the appropriate assessment, based on the student's Individualized 

Education Program created under the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act, 33 U.S.C. 1414, and regulations adopted pursuant 

to that Act, to all enrolled students, and participating in either 

Option B or Option C as defined herein. Schools that meet the 

criteria in this Section shall be reviewed and approved by the 

Exceptional Children's Division and the Accountability Services 

Division of the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction 

before implementing these modifications to the Accountability 

System. 

 

History Note: G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-105.35; 115C-83.15; 

Emergency Rule Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0519 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL - APPLICATION 

A charter school that meets the eligibility criteria set forth in 16 

NCAC 06G .0518 and seeks to be designated as an "alternative 

school" shall submit an application to the Office of Charter 

Schools that includes the following: 

(1) The school's mission as it relates to the request 

for designation as an "alternative school"; 

(2) A designation of which alternative 

accountability option, as defined 16 NCAC 

06G .0314, that it is requesting, which option 

cannot be changed except at the time of 

renewal; 

(3) The criteria the school plans to use that will 

meet the eligibility requirements, including the 

documentation the school will use to support its 

admissions process; 

(4) An admission plan for recruiting at-risk 

students as described in the application; 

(5) An explanation of how the school intends to 

serve its student population; and 

(6) The goals the school is setting for academic 

achievement for its student population. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2); 

Emergency Rule Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

 

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

 

17 NCAC 04B .0612 GOVERNMENT ATTORNEYS-

AT-LAW AND OTHER PROFESSIONALS EXEMPT 

FROM PRIVILEGE LICENSE TAX 

An individual practicing a profession or engaging in a business as 

set forth in G.S. 105-41(a) shall not be required to pay the tax as 

set forth in G.S. 105-41 when all the following apply: 

(1) The individual exclusively acts as an employee 

of federal, state, or local governments when 

practicing the profession or engaging in the 

business. 

(2) The individual does not hold himself or herself 

out to the public as a professional described in 

G.S. 105-41(a) unless the representation is 

within the scope of employment with federal, 

state, or local governments. 

(3) The individual does not share in the fees paid to 

the government employing the individual. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-41; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04B .2903 INSTALLMENT PAPER 

DEALER QUARTERLY RETURN 

(a)  "Installment paper dealer" means a person required to file a 

return pursuant to G.S. 105-83. 

(b)  Installment paper dealers shall file their quarterly return using 

Form B-203. 

(c)  Form B-203 requires the following: 

(1) the reporting period for the return; 

(2) information required by 17 NCAC 01C 

.0322(b); 

(3) the installment paper dealer's legal name and 

mailing address; 

(4) the trade name or doing-business-as name, if 

applicable; 

(5) if the installment paper dealer elects to 

designate a contact person, the identity of a 

contact person, including his or her legal name, 

phone number, and fax number; 

(6) a designation of whether the form is an 

amended form; 

(7) the total face value of installment paper 

acquired during the reporting period; 

(8) the tax due on the face value of installment 

paper acquired during the reporting period; 

(9) the penalty and interest due, if any, in 

accordance with G.S. 105-236 and G.S. 105-

241.21; 

(10) the total payment due; 

(11) for the person authorized to legally bind the 

installment paper dealer, his or her: 

(A) signature; 

(B) job title; 

(C) date of signature; and 

(D) affirmation that the return is accurate 

and complete; 

(12) the location where the installment paper is held; 

and 

(13) the face value of installment paper acquired 

delineated by location. 

(d)  The installment dealer shall file a return even if the installment 

paper dealer did not acquire obligations described in G.S. 105-

83(a) during the reporting period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-83; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
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Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; October 30, 1981; June 11, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0101 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to those definitions as set out in G.S. 105-113.4, the 

following terms and phrases as used in this Subchapter have the 

following meanings: 

(1) "Article 2A" means the Tobacco Products Tax 

Act or Tobacco Products Tax Article, Article 

2A, Chapter 105 of the General Statutes of 

North Carolina. 

(2) "Equivalent information" means the 

information required by Rule .0903(c) of this 

Subchapter in an alternative format such as a 

spreadsheet, database, or other compilation. 

(3) "Excise tax" means the excise tax levied under 

G.S. 105-113.5, G.S. 105-113.6, G.S. 105-

113.35, or G.S. 105-113.35A. 

(4) "In this State or within this State" means within 

the exterior limits of the State of North 

Carolina, and includes all territory within the 

limits owned by, leased by, or ceded to the 

United States of America. 

(5) "Nonparticipating manufacturer" means the 

term as defined in G.S. 66-292(3). 

(6) "Nonresident distributor" means a distributor 

who is licensed pursuant to G.S. 105-113.24. 

(7) "Nonresident purchaser" means a person who is 

not a consumer and does not have a place of 

business in this State. 

(8) "Other tobacco products" means a cigar or any 

other product that contains tobacco, other than 

a cigarette, and is intended for inhalation or oral 

use; and a vapor product. 

(9) "Resident distributor" means a distributor who 

has a place of business within this State. 

(10) "Roll-your-own cigarette tobacco" means the 

term as defined in G.S. 66-290(4). 

(11) "Tax-paid cigarettes" mean cigarettes where the 

excise tax imposed by G.S. 105-113.5 or G.S. 

105-113.6 has been paid. 

(12) "Tax-paid tobacco products" mean tobacco 

products where the excise tax imposed by G.S. 

105 113.5, G.S. 105 113.6, G.S. 105-113.35, or 

G.S. 105-113.35A has been paid. 

(13) "Vending machine" means a dispenser or 

dispensing machine. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; June 1, 1992; October 30, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0104 APPLICATION OR RENEWAL 

REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICANTS AND LICENSEES 

UNDER ARTICLE 2A 

(a)  A distributor obtaining, renewing, or updating a license 

pursuant to G.S. 105-113.12 shall use Form B-A-2. 

(b)  A wholesale dealer or retail dealer obtaining, renewing, or 

updating a license pursuant to G.S 105-113.36 shall use Form B-

A-2. 

(c)  Form B-A-2 requires the following: 

(1) a description of the transactions requested, 

including: 

(A) a designation of whether the applicant 

or licensee is requesting an initial 

license, renewing a license, or 

updating information previously 

submitted on the form; 

(B) the applicant's or licensee's business 

structure, such as a sole 

proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, 

limited liability partnership; 

(C) if requesting a new license or renewal 

of an existing license, the type of 

license requested; 

(D) the seven digit number assigned by the 

North Carolina Secretary of State, if 

applicable; and 

(E) the total payment due; 

(2) the applicant's or licensee's business 

information, including: 

(A) information required by 17 NCAC 

01C .0322(b); 

(B) the legal name; 

(C) the date the business began operations; 

(D) the trade name or doing-business-as 

name, if applicable; 

(E) the physical location where non-tax-

paid tobacco products are 

manufactured, received, or stored; 

(F) the mailing address; 

(G) the location where records are kept; 

(H) the e-mail address, if available; and 

(I) if the applicant or licensee elects to 

designate a contact person, the identity 

of the contact person including his or 

her legal name, telephone number, fax 

number, and e-mail address; 

(3) the identity of the applicant's or licensee's 

owners, officers, partners, or members, and for 

each person identified, their: 

(A) social security number, if a natural 

person; 

(B) legal name; 

(C) job title; 

(D) residential address; 

(E) phone number; and 

(F) misdemeanor or felony convictions, if 

any, and a statement describing the 

circumstances of the conviction, 

including the offense, date of offense, 

date of conviction, case number, court 

jurisdiction, and any active terms of 

probation; 
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(4) the identity of persons who previously held an 

ownership interest in the applicant, and for each 

person identified: 

(A) their legal name; 

(B) the name of business at the time the 

interest was held; 

(C) the address of business at the time the 

interest was held; and 

(D) the last date of ownership in the 

applicant or licensee; 

(5) if any person identified on the form previously 

owned, operated, or managed another legal 

entity selling, receiving, or purchasing tobacco 

products, the applicant or licensee shall include 

for each person identified: 

(A) the person's legal name; 

(B) the person's social security number; 

(C) the person's residential address; 

(D) the name of the legal entity; and 

(E) the person's job title held at the legal 

entity; 

(6) a description of the applicant's or licensee's 

operations, including: 

(A) a designation of whether the applicant 

or licensee is a resident, nonresident, 

affiliated manufacturer, or integrated 

wholesaler; 

(B) the percentage of operations that are 

associated with retail, distribution or 

wholesale, manufacturing, or other 

activities; 

(C) the number of locations storing non-

tax-paid tobacco products and the 

physical address for each location; 

(D) the number of locations storing tax-

paid tobacco products and the physical 

address for each location; 

(E) the date when the applicant or licensee 

began or intends to begin to sell non-

tax-paid tobacco products; 

(F) a designation of whether a surety bond 

or letter of credit is included with the 

form; 

(G) a designation of whether the applicant 

or licensee currently or intends to buy 

or sell tobacco products by Internet, 

telephone, catalog, or any other means 

that would qualify as a delivery sale; 

(H) a designation of whether the applicant 

or licensee currently or intends to buy 

or sell roll-your own cigarette tobacco; 

(I) a designation of whether the applicant 

or licensee currently or intends to 

import tobacco from out-of-country 

vendors; 

(J) if the applicant or licensee is a 

nonresident distributor or wholesale 

dealer, designating whether the 

applicant or licensee is licensed in the 

applicant's or licensee's state of 

residence; 

(K) a designation of whether the applicant 

or licensee currently or intends to 

purchase vapor products; 

(L) a list of all states where the applicant 

or licensee holds a tobacco products 

license and the license number for 

each license;  

(M) if the applicant or licensee is applying 

for a distributor's license: 

(i) a list of all manufacturers that 

will sell to the applicant or 

licensee non-tax-paid 

cigarettes; 

(ii) the address and phone 

number of all manufacturers 

that will sell to the applicant 

or licensee non-tax-paid 

cigarettes; 

(iii) a letter from those 

manufacturers affirming the 

manufacturers intent to sell to 

the applicant or licensee non-

tax-paid cigarettes; and 

(iv) a list of all cigarette brands 

the applicant or licensee 

intends to sell; 

(N) if the applicant or licensee is applying 

for wholesale dealer's or retail dealer's 

license: 

(i) a list of all suppliers 

providing the applicant or 

licensee other tobacco 

products where the excise tax 

under G.S. 105-113.35 or 

G.S. 105-113.35A has not 

been paid; 

(ii) the supplier's legal name; 

(iii) the supplier's address; 

(iv) the supplier's telephone 

number; 

(v) for each supplier, the date the 

applicant or licensee first 

purchased other tobacco 

products from the supplier; 

and 

(vi) the delivery method for each 

supplier not located in this 

State; and 

(O) a list of roll-your-own cigarette 

tobacco brands that the applicant or 

licensee intends to sell, if any; and 

(7) for the person authorized to legally bind the 

applicant or licensee, his or her: 

(A) typed legal name; 

(B) job title; 

(C) signature; 

(D) date of signature; 
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(E) telephone number; 

(F) fax number; 

(G) e-mail address; and 

(H) affirmation that the form is accurate 

and complete. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.11; 105-113.12; 105-

113.36; 105-262; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0201 APPLICATION OR RENEWAL 

REQUIREMENTS FOR A DISTRIBUTOR'S LICENSE; 

DUTY TO UPDATE 

(a)  A distributor obtaining, renewing, or updating a license 

pursuant to G.S. 105-113.12 shall use Form B-A-2 as set forth in 

Rule .0104 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A distributor shall notify the Department of any changes to 

the information previously provided on Form B-A-2 by 

submitting a revised Form B-A-2. A distributor shall notify the 

Department at least 30 days before changing the physical location 

where non-tax-paid tobacco products are manufactured, received, 

or stored. A distributor shall notify the Department of all other 

changes previously provided on Form B-A-2 within 30 days of 

the change. 

(c)  A distributor obtaining a new license or renewing an expired 

license shall remit the tax required by G.S. 105-113.12 with Form 

B-A-2. 

(d)  A distributor obtaining a new license shall include a bond or 

an irrevocable letter of credit pursuant to G.S. 105-113.13 with 

Form B-A-2. 

(e)  A distributor shall notify the manufacturers from whom 

cigarettes are purchased or received when the Department issues 

it a distributor's license or when there are changes to its 

distributor's license. 

(f)  A distributor shall submit Form B-A-2 for each place of 

business as defined by G.S. 105-113.12. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.11; 105-113.12; 

105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; October 30, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0504 INTERSTATE CIGARETTE 

SALES; LICENSURE 

(a)  A nonresident purchaser is not required to obtain a license 

under G.S. 105-113.12 if it accepts delivery of non-tax-paid 

cigarettes in this State and all the following apply: 

(1) The nonresident purchaser receives non-tax-

paid cigarettes from a licensed distributor at the 

licensed distributor's business location in this 

State. 

(2) The nonresident purchaser is purchasing 

cigarettes for the purpose of resale outside of 

North Carolina. 

(3) The licensed distributor affixes to the cigarettes 

taxpaid cigarette indicia of the state of the 

nonresident dealer where required by the state 

of the nonresident dealer. 

(b)  A distributor who sells cigarettes outside this State or delivers 

cigarettes to a nonresident purchaser in this State for resale outside 

of this State shall affix to cigarettes taxpaid cigarette indicia of the 

state of the nonresident purchaser where required by the state of 

the nonresident purchaser. 

(c)  A distributor shall report sales to nonresident purchasers on 

Form B-A-5 as required in Rule .0901 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.9; 105-262; 

Eff. September 20, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; January 1, 1994; October 30, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0602 INVOICE REQUIREMENT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.10; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 30, 1981; June 11, 1977; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0702 EXCISE TAX LIABILITY FOR 

CIGARETTE INVENTORY 

A distributor is liable for the tax upon any non-tax-paid cigarettes 

that are stolen or otherwise unaccounted for. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.5; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0901 MONTHLY REPORT FOR 

RESIDENT DISTRIBUTORS 

(a)  Resident distributors filing a report pursuant to G.S. 105-

113.18(1) shall file Form B-A-5 and Form B-A-7. 

(b)  Form B-A-5 requires the following: 

(1) the reporting period for the report; 

(2) information required by 17 NCAC 01C 

.0322(b); 

(3) the distributor's legal name and mailing 

address; 

(4) the trade name or doing-business-as name, if 

applicable; 

(5) if the distributor elects to designate a contact 

person, the identity of a contact person, 

including his or her legal name, phone number, 

and fax number; 

(6) the distributor's state of domicile; 

(7) designation of whether the form is an amended 

form; 

(8) an inventory of non-tax-paid cigarettes during 

the reporting period, designated by packs, 

including: 

(A) the beginning inventory of non-tax-

paid cigarettes possessed by the 

distributor on the first day of the 

reporting period; 

(B) the number of non-tax-paid cigarettes 

sold to the distributor from a 

manufacturer, and the following 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2021 

1752 

information regarding these 

transactions to be included on 

Schedule C of the form: 

(i) the invoice date; 

(ii) the invoice number; 

(iii) the name and address of the 

person who sold the 

distributor cigarettes; and 

(iv) the amount of cigarettes sold 

to the distributor; 

(C) the number of non-tax-paid cigarettes 

sold to the federal government, and the 

following information regarding these 

transactions to be included on 

Schedule B of the form: 

(i) the date cigarettes were sold; 

(ii) the name and address of the 

agency or instrumentality to 

whom cigarettes were sold; 

and 

(iii) the amount of cigarettes sold; 

(D) the number of non-tax-paid cigarettes 

sold outside North Carolina, and the 

following information regarding these 

transactions to be included on 

Schedule I: 

(i) the date the cigarettes were 

shipped; 

(ii) the shipping method (such as 

distributor truck, common or 

contract carrier, parcel post, 

or customer truck); 

(iii) the name and address of the 

person to whom cigarettes 

were sold; 

(iv) the identification of cigarette 

brands from a 

nonparticipating 

manufacturer; and 

(v) the amount of cigarettes sold 

outside North Carolina; 

(E) the number of non-tax-paid cigarettes 

returned to a manufacturer; 

(F) other increases or decreases in non-tax 

paid inventory, with explanations 

provided with the form; and 

(G) the ending physical inventory of non-

tax-paid cigarettes possessed by the 

distributor on the last day of the 

reporting period; 

(9) an inventory of tax-paid cigarettes during the 

reporting period, designated by packs, and the 

following information to be included on 

Schedule D: 

(A) the beginning inventory of tax-paid 

cigarettes possessed by the distributor 

on the first day of the reporting period; 

(B) tax-paid cigarettes purchased or 

received from other sources, and the 

following information regarding these 

transactions to be included on 

Schedule E: 

(i) the invoice date; 

(ii) the invoice number; 

(iii) the name and address of the 

person who sold the 

distributor cigarettes; 

(iv) the amount of cigarettes sold; 

and 

(v) copies of all invoices 

containing the information 

listed in Rule .0903(c) of this 

Subchapter; 

(C) non-tax-paid purchases that are paid 

with the submission of the form; 

(D) other increases or decreases in tax paid 

inventory, with explanations provided 

with the form; 

(E) the number of tax-paid cigarettes sold 

in North Carolina; 

(F) the number of tax-paid cigarettes 

returned to the manufacturer; and 

(G) the ending physical inventory of tax-

paid cigarettes possessed by the 

distributor on the last day of the 

reporting period; 

(10) the excise tax due on non-tax-paid cigarettes; 

(11) the discount under G.S. 105-113.21(a1), if 

applicable; 

(12) penalty and interest due on non-tax paid 

cigarettes, if any, in accordance with G.S. 105-

236 and G.S. 105-241.21; 

(13) total payment due; and 

(14) for the person authorized to legally bind the 

distributor, his or her: 

(A) signature; 

(B) job title; 

(C) date of signature; and 

(D) affirmation that the form is accurate 

and complete. 

(c)  The distributor shall include a separate Schedule I for each 

state to which the distributor shipped cigarettes during the 

reporting period. 

(d)  When cigarettes are returned to a manufacturer, the distributor 

shall include the following information on Schedule J: 

(1) the date the cigarettes were shipped; 

(2) the shipping method (such as distributor truck, 

common or contract carrier, parcel post, or 

customer truck); 

(3) the name and address of the manufacturer; 

(4) the identification of cigarette brands from 

nonparticipating manufacturers; 

(5) designating whether the cigarettes returned 

were non-tax paid cigarettes or tax-paid 

cigarettes; and 

(6) the total non-tax paid cigarettes and total tax-

paid cigarettes returned to the manufacturer. 
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(e)  Form B-A-5 shall be filed each month even if no cigarettes 

were sold, shipped, delivered, or otherwise disposed of during the 

reporting period. 

(f)  The Department may disallow any deduction for the 

distributor's failure to include information on a designated 

schedule. 

(g)  Form B-A-7 requires the following: 

(1) the reporting period for the report; 

(2) information required by 17 NCAC 01C 

.0322(b); 

(3) the legal name and mailing address of the 

person filing the form; 

(4) the trade name or doing-business-as name, if 

applicable; 

(5) if the person filing the form elects to designate 

a contact person, the identity of a contact 

person, including his or her legal name, phone 

number, and fax number; 

(6) designation of whether the form is an amended 

form; 

(7) for all tax-paid products from nonparticipating 

manufacturers, the person filing the form shall 

include: 

(A) the brand name; 

(B) the number of tax-paid cigarettes, 

designated by packs; 

(C) the number of ounces of roll-your-own 

cigarette tobacco; 

(D) the name and address of the 

nonparticipating manufacturer; 

(E) the name and address of the person 

from whom the brand was purchased; 

and 

(F) the name and address of the first 

importer of foreign manufactured 

brands; and 

(8) for the person authorized to legally bind the 

person required to file the form, his or her: 

(A) signature; 

(B) job title; 

(C) date of signature; and 

(D) affirmation that the form is accurate 

and complete. 

(h)  Form B-A-7 shall be filed each month even if no tobacco 

products from nonparticipating manufacturers were sold, shipped, 

delivered, or otherwise disposed of in this State for the reporting 

period. 

(i)  Form B-A-7 shall be filed in duplicate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.4G; 105-113.18; 

105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0902 MONTHLY REPORT FOR 

NONRESIDENT DISTRIBUTORS 

(a) Nonresident distributors filing a report pursuant to G.S. 105-

113.18 shall file Form B-A-6 and Form B-A-7. The requirements 

of Form B-A-7 are provided in 17 NCAC 04C .0901(g) through 

(i). 

(b) Form B-A-6 requires the following: 

(1) the reporting period for the report; 

(2) information required by 17 NCAC 01C 

.0322(b); 

(3) the distributor's legal name and mailing 

address; 

(4) the trade name or doing-business-as name, if 

applicable; 

(5) if the resident distributor elects to designate a 

contact person, the identity of a contact person, 

including his or her legal name, phone number, 

and fax number; 

(6) the distributor's state of domicile; 

(7) designation of whether the form is an amended 

form; 

(8) the number of cigarettes sold, designated by 

packs, in North Carolina where excise tax is 

due; 

(9) the excise tax due on non-tax-paid cigarettes; 

(10) the discount under G.S. 105-113.21(a1), if 

applicable; 

(11) penalty and interest due on non-tax paid 

cigarettes, if any, in accordance with G.S. 105-

236 and G.S. 105-241.21; 

(12) total payment due; 

(13) for the person authorized to legally bind the 

distributor, his or her: 

(A) signature; 

(B) job title; 

(C) date of signature; and 

(D) affirmation that the form is accurate 

and complete; and 

(14) an inventory of tax-paid cigarettes during the 

reporting period, designated by packs, 

including the following information on 

Schedule B of the Form: 

(A) the beginning inventory of tax-paid 

cigarettes possessed by the distributor 

on the first day of the reporting period; 

(B) the number of tax-paid cigarettes 

purchased or received from other 

sources, including the following 

information regarding these 

transactions to be included on 

Schedule C of the form: 

(i) the invoice date; 

(ii) the invoice number; 

(iii) name and address from 

where the cigarettes were 

purchased or received; 

(iv) the amount of cigarettes 

purchased or received; and 

(v) copies of all invoices 

containing the information 

listed in Rule .0903(c) of this 

Subchapter; 
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(C) the number of tax-paid cigarettes sold 

in this State; 

(D) the number of cigarettes returned to a 

manufacturer, including information 

regarding these transactions to be 

included on Schedule J as required by 

Rule .0901(d) of this Section; 

(E) other increases or decreases in 

inventory, with explanations provided 

with the form; 

(F) the ending inventory of tax-paid 

cigarettes possessed by the distributor 

on the last day of the reporting period; 

and 

(G) the number of non-tax-paid cigarettes, 

designated by packs, sold to the 

federal government, including the 

following information regarding these 

transactions to be included on 

Schedule D of the form: 

(i) the date the cigarettes were 

sold; 

(ii) the name and address of the 

agency or instrumentality to 

whom cigarettes were sold; 

and 

(iii) the amount of cigarettes sold. 

(c) Form B-A-6 shall be filed each month even if no cigarettes 

were sold, shipped, delivered, or otherwise disposed of in North 

Carolina for the reporting period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.18; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0903 INVOICING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR DISTRIBUTORS 

(a)  Except for sales to consumers, where other record keeping 

requirements apply, a distributor shall maintain an invoice for 

every cigarette it sells, ships, or delivers in this State or outside of 

this State. A distributor shall also maintain an invoice when it 

transfers cigarettes to other places of business maintained by the 

distributor. 

(b)  A distributor shall forward to the Department copies of 

invoices of cigarette sales or transfers required by Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule, or equivalent information, monthly. 

(c)  Invoices shall include the following information: 

(1) the invoice date; 

(2) the invoice number; 

(3) the date of purchase, if applicable; 

(4) the name and address of the purchaser and 

seller, if applicable; 

(5) the name and address of the person from whom 

tobacco products were shipped; 

(6) the name and address of the person to whom 

tobacco products were shipped; 

(7) the mode of transportation; 

(8) the brand and the quantity of tobacco products; 

(9) the price charged for the tobacco products, if 

applicable; and 

(10) when the excise tax has been paid, the 

following phrase shall appear on the invoice: 

"North Carolina Tobacco Products Tax Paid." 

(d)  Invoices addressed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 

maintained for three years by all persons party to cigarette sales 

who are required to be licensed under Article 2A. All persons 

party to the sale must be issued identical invoices, and the invoices 

shall not be altered after issuance. If the invoice requires 

modification, a separate document must accompany the invoice 

describing the change to the invoice. This document must include 

the date it was prepared and must be delivered to and maintained 

by any other party to the sale. 

(e)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a distributor shall 

comply with the invoice requirements for delivery sales in 

accordance with G.S. 105-113.4F. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.4G; 105 113.10; 

105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .0904 RECORD REQUIREMENTS FOR 

DISTRIBUTORS 

Distributors maintaining records pursuant to G.S. 105-113.4G 

shall segregate records of cigarette sales that are exempt from the 

excise tax. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.4G; 105-262; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .1002 REFUNDS ONLY TO LICENSED 

DISTRIBUTORS 

(a)  A distributor filing a refund claim pursuant to G.S. 105-

113.21(b) shall file Form B-A-18. 

(b)  Form B-A-18 requires the following: 

(1) the reporting period for the refund claim; 

(2) information required by 17 NCAC 01C 

.0322(b); 

(3) the distributor's legal name and mailing 

address; 

(4) the trade name or doing-business-as name, if 

applicable; 

(5) if the distributor elects to designate a contact 

person, the identity of a contact person, 

including his or her legal name, phone number, 

and fax number; 

(6) the distributor's state of domicile; 

(7) designation of whether the form is an amended 

form; 

(8) the number of tax-paid cigarettes, designated by 

packs, returned to the manufacturer; 

(9) any discount previously allowed under G.S. 

105-113.21(a1); 

(10) the refund due; 

(11) for the person authorized to legally bind the 

person required to file the form, his or her: 

(A) signature; 
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(B) job title; 

(C) date of signature; and 

(D) affirmation that the form is accurate 

and complete; and 

(12) an affidavit from the manufacturer stating the 

number of cigarettes returned to the 

manufacturer by the distributor requesting the 

refund. 

(c)  Only the licensed distributor who originally paid excise tax 

pursuant to G.S. 105-113.5 is eligible for the refund. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.21; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .1301 APPLICATION OR RENEWAL 

REQUIREMENTS FOR WHOLESALE DEALER'S OR 

RETAIL DEALER'S LICENSE; DUTY TO UPDATE 

(a)  A wholesale dealer or retail dealer obtaining, renewing, or 

updating a license pursuant to G.S. 105-113.36 shall use Form B-

A-2 as set forth in Rule .0104 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A wholesale dealer or retail dealer shall notify the Department 

of any changes to the information previously provided on the 

Form B-A-2 by submitting a revised Form B-A-2. A wholesale 

dealer or retail dealer shall notify the Department at least 30 days 

before changing the physical location where non-tax-paid tobacco 

products are manufactured, received, or stored. A wholesale 

dealer or retail dealer shall notify the Department of all other 

changes previously provided on Form B-A-2 within 30 days of 

the change. 

(c)  A wholesale dealer or retail dealer obtaining a new license or 

renewing an expired license shall remit the tax required by G.S. 

105-113.36 with Form B-A-2. 

(d)  A wholesale dealer or retail dealer obtaining a new license 

shall include a bond or an irrevocable letter of credit pursuant to 

G.S. 105-113.38. 

(e)  A wholesale dealer or retail dealer shall notify the 

manufacturers from whom other tobacco products are purchased 

or received when the Department issues it a wholesale dealer's 

license or retail dealer's license or when there are changes to its 

license. 

(f)  A wholesale dealer or retail dealer shall submit Form B-A-2 

for each place of business as defined by G.S. 105-113.36. 

(g)  A wholesale dealer who is also a retail dealer is only subject 

to the license tax under G.S. 105-113.36(a)(1) and is not required 

to remit the license tax for its retail dealer activity. 

 

History Note: Authority 105-113.36; 105-262; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. January 1,2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .1401 INVOICE REQUIREMENT 

17 NCAC 04C .1402 SALES TO LICENSED DEALERS 

ONLY 

17 NCAC 04C .1403 MANUFACTURERS ACTING AS 

RETAILER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.35; 105-113.37; 105 

262; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .1801 MONTHLY REPORT FOR 

WHOLESALE DEALERS AND RETAIL DEALERS 

(a)  Wholesale dealers and retail dealers filing a report pursuant to 

G.S. 105-113.37 for other tobacco products, except vapor 

products, shall file Form B-A-101 and Form B-A-7. The 

requirements of B-A-7 are provided in 17 NCAC 04C .0901(g) 

through (i). 

(b)  Form B-A-101 requires the following: 

(1) the reporting period for the report; 

(2) information required by 17 NCAC 01C 

.0322(b); 

(3) the wholesale dealer or retail dealer's legal 

name and mailing address; 

(4) the trade name or doing-business-as name, if 

applicable; 

(5) if the wholesale dealer or retail dealer elects to 

designate a contact person, the identity of a 

contact person, including his or her legal name, 

phone number, and fax number; 

(6) the wholesale dealer's or retail dealer's state of 

domicile; 

(7) designation of whether the form is an amended 

form; 

(8) the cost price of other tobacco products, except 

vapor products, subject to the excise tax under 

G.S. 105-113.35(a), sold or purchased during 

the reporting period, with a copy of an invoice 

or equivalent information for each sale or 

purchase; 

(9) the cost price of other tobacco products, except 

vapor products, sold or purchased during the 

reporting period that were sold outside the 

State, with a copy of an invoice or equivalent 

information for each sale or purchase; 

(10) the cost price of other tobacco products, except 

vapor products, sold or purchased during the 

reporting period that were sold to the federal 

government, with a copy of an invoice or 

equivalent information for each sale or 

purchase; 

(11) the cost price of other tobacco products, except 

vapor products, sold or purchased during the 

reporting period that were exempt or subject to 

an excise tax reduction under G.S. 105-113.4E; 

(12) any discount allowed under G.S. 105-113.39; 

(13) the total excise tax due; 

(14) penalty and interest due on tobacco products, if 

any, in accordance with G.S. 105-236 and G.S. 

105-241.21;  

(15) total payment due; and 

(16) for the person authorized to legally bind the 

person required to file the form, his or her: 

(A) signature; 
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(B) job title; 

(C) date of signature; and 

(D) affirmation that the form is accurate 

and complete. 

(c)  Wholesale dealers and retail dealers filing a report pursuant to 

G.S. 105-113.37 for vapor products shall file Form B-A-102. 

(d)  Form B-A-102 requires the following: 

(1) the reporting period for the report; 

(2) information required by 17 NCAC 01C 

.0322(b); 

(3) the wholesale dealer or retail dealer's legal 

name and mailing address; 

(4) the trade name or doing-business-as name, if 

applicable; 

(5) if the wholesale dealer and retail dealer elects to 

designate a contact person, the identity of a 

contact person, including his or her legal name, 

phone number, and fax number; 

(6) the wholesale dealer's or retail dealer's state of 

domicile; 

(7) designation of whether the form is an amended 

form; 

(8) the number of milliliters of vapor products sold 

or purchased during the reporting period, with 

a copy of an invoice or equivalent information 

for each sale or purchase; 

(9) the number of milliliters of vapor products sold 

or purchased during the reporting period that 

were sold outside the State, with a copy of an 

invoice or equivalent information for each sale 

or purchase; 

(10) the number of milliliters of vapor products sold 

or purchased during the reporting period that 

were sold to the federal government with a copy 

of an invoice or equivalent information for each 

sale or purchase; 

(11) the number of milliliters of vapor products sold 

or purchased during the reporting period that 

were exempt or subject to an excise tax 

reduction under G.S. 105-113.4E; 

(12) the total vapor products tax due; 

(13) penalty and interest due on tobacco products, if 

any, in accordance with G.S. 105-236 and G.S. 

105-241.21; 

(14) the total payment due; and 

(15) for the person authorized to legally bind the 

person required to file the form, his or her: 

(A) signature; 

(B) job title; 

(C) date of signature; and 

(D) affirmation that the form is accurate 

and complete. 

(e)  Invoices or equivalent information provided in accordance 

with Paragraphs (b) and (d) of this Rule shall contain the 

information required in Rule .0903(c) of this Subchapter. 

(f)  Wholesale dealers and retail dealers required to file Form B-

A-101 shall file the form even if no other tobacco products, except 

vapor products, were sold, shipped, delivered, or otherwise 

disposed of during the reporting period. Wholesale dealers and 

retail dealers required to file Form B-A-102 shall file the form 

even if no vapor products were sold, shipped, delivered, or 

otherwise disposed of during the reporting period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.37; 105-262; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .1802 INVOICING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR WHOLESALE DEALERS AND RETAIL DEALERS 

(a)  Except for sales to consumers, where other record keeping 

requirements apply, a wholesale dealer or retail dealer shall 

maintain an invoice for every other tobacco product that it sells, 

ships, or delivers in this State or outside this State. A wholesale 

dealer or retail dealer shall also maintain an invoice when it 

transfers other tobacco products to other places of business 

operated or caused to be operated by the wholesale dealer or retail 

dealer. 

(b)  A wholesale dealer or retail dealer shall forward to the 

Department copies of invoices of other tobacco product sales or 

transfers required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, or equivalent 

information, monthly. 

(c)  Invoices shall contain the information required in Rule 

.0903(c) of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Invoices addressed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 

maintained for three years by all persons party to the sale of other 

tobacco products who are required to be licensed under Article 

2A. All parties to the sale must be issued identical invoices, and 

the invoices shall not be altered after issuance. If the invoice 

requires modification, a separate document must accompany the 

invoice describing the change to the invoice. This document must 

include the date it was prepared and must be delivered to and 

maintained by any other party to the sale. 

(e)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a wholesale 

dealer or retail dealer shall comply with the invoice requirements 

for delivery sales in accordance with G.S. 105-113.4F. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.37; 105-262; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04C .1803 RECORDS REQUIREMENTS 

FOR WHOLESALE DEALERS AND RETAIL DEALERS 

Wholesale dealers and retail dealers maintaining records pursuant 

to G.S. 105-113.4G shall segregate records of other tobacco 

product sales that are exempt from the excise tax. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.4G; 105-262; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04E .0204 OUT-OF-STATE SHIPMENTS 

REPORTING 

(a) For all out-of-state shipments, resident wholesalers and 

importers shall maintain invoices, and if using a common carrier 

for shipment, bills of lading. 

(b) If delivered by using wholesaler's or importer's own mode of 

transportation, the wholesale or importer shall maintain the name, 
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signature, and address of the person receiving malt beverages or 

wine from the wholesaler or importer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.81; 105-113.88; 

105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04E .0205 MAJOR DISASTER REPORTING 

(a)  To claim a major disaster exemption pursuant to G.S. 105 -

113.81(a), wholesalers and importers of malt beverages or wine 

must submit Form B-C-750 to the Department. If the wholesaler 

or importer meets the requirements of G.S. 105-113.81(a) and is 

therefore qualified to take the exemption, the Department will 

return Form B-C-750 verifying that an exemption can be claimed. 

If verified by the Department, the wholesalers or importers shall 

include Form B-C-750 with the monthly report filed pursuant to 

G.S. 105-113.83. 

(b)  Form B-C-750 requires the following: 

(1) the reporting period for the report; 

(2) information required by 17 NCAC 01C 

.0322(b); 

(3) the wholesaler or importer's legal name and 

mailing address; 

(4) the trade name or doing-business-as name, if 

applicable; 

(5) if the wholesaler or importer elects to designate 

a contact person, the identity of a contact 

person, including his or her legal name, phone 

number, and fax number; 

(6) the type of product subject to the major disaster; 

(7) the brand name of the product subject to the 

major disaster; 

(8) the amount of malt beverages or wine subject to 

the major disaster; and 

(9) documentation to support that a major disaster 

occurred. 

(c)  Several small disasters cannot be accumulated and then 

classified as a major disaster. A major disaster shall be classified 

as only one event when the loss occurs, and not an accumulation 

of events. Any missing beverage inventory that cannot be 

classified as a major disaster shall be considered as malt beverage 

or wine sold and subject to the excise tax. 

(d)  Resident wholesalers or importers cannot claim an exemption 

or deduction for losses in their inventory unless the losses qualify 

for the exemption under G.S. 105-113.81(a). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.81; 105-113.83; 

105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1986; October 30, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04E .0206 WHOLESALER BUYING FROM 

WHOLESALER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.83; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

17 NCAC 04E .0301 SPOILAGE OR DESTRUCTION 

OF NONTAXPAID BEER OR WINE 

17 NCAC 04E .0302 SPOILAGE OF TAXPAID BEER 

OR WINE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.85; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2003; July 1, 2000; March 14, 1980; 

April 1, 1986; October 30, 1981; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04E .0303 DESTRUCTION OF MALT 

BEVERAGES OR WINE WHEN IN TRANSIT 

Non-tax-paid malt beverages and wine that are destroyed while in 

the possession of a common carrier who is transporting these 

alcoholic beverages from the brewery or winery to the resident 

wholesaler or resident importer shall not be considered part of the 

taxable inventory of the resident wholesaler or resident importer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.83; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04E .0502 RECEIPTS FOR MALT 

BEVERAGES AND WINE DELIVERED TO 

OCEANGOING VESSELS 

Receipt for delivery of non-tax-paid malt beverages and wine to 

oceangoing vessels shall be signed for by an authorized officer or 

agent of the vessel. The signed receipts must be retained by the 

wholesaler or importer for a period of three years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.81; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04E .0601 BOND OR IRREVOCABLE 

LETTER OF CREDIT REQUIRED OF WHOLESALERS 

AND IMPORTERS OF MALT BEVERAGES OR WINE 

(a)  A bond submitted to the Department pursuant to G.S. 105-

113.86 shall be filed on Form B-C-790. Form B-C-790 requires 

the following: 

(1) the bond number; 

(2) the principal's legal name; 

(3) the surety's name; 

(4) the written value of bond amount; 

(5) the numeric value of bond amount; 

(6) the bond effective date; 

(7) the date the bond is executed;  

(8) the authorization, printed name, and signature 

of the Attorney-in-Fact acting on behalf of the 

surety in accordance with the following: 

(A) surety shall affix its seal to the form; 

(B) surety shall include with the form a 

power of attorney authorizing the 

Attorney-in-Fact to sign on behalf of 

the surety; and 

(C) surety shall prepare the power of 

attorney on the surety's own form 

executed under the surety's seal. If the 
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power of attorney submitted with the 

form is other than a manually signed 

original, it shall be accompanied by a 

certification from the surety that the 

power of attorney is valid; and 

(9) the authorization, printed name, signature, and 

title of the person authorized to legally bind the 

principal in accordance with the following: 

(A) if the principal has a seal, the principal 

shall affix its seal to the form; 

(B) if the principal does not have a seal, 

the person signing the form shall have 

his or her signature notarized on the 

form; and 

(C) the principal shall include 

documentation (such as the principal's 

bylaws, operating agreement, or 

resolution) showing that the person 

signing the form has the authority to 

bind the principal. 

(b)  An irrevocable letter of credit submitted to the Department 

pursuant to G.S. 105-113.86 shall be issued on the financial 

institution's letterhead and include the following: 

(1) the irrevocable letter of credit number; 

(2) the North Carolina Department of Revenue 

designated as the beneficiary; 

(3) the principal name and address; 

(4) the irrevocable letter of credit is issued for 

alcoholic beverage taxes imposed under G.S. 

105-113.80; 

(5) the coverage period, including effective and 

expiration dates; 

(6) the liability release date, which shall be three 

years after the expiration date; 

(7) the credit amount; 

(8) the issuing financial institution's name, address, 

telephone number, and fax number; and 

(9) the signature, printed name, and title of 

authorized person issuing the irrevocable letter 

of credit on behalf of the issuing financial 

institution. 

(c)  The amount of the bond or irrevocable letter of credit 

submitted to the Department pursuant to G.S. 105-113.86(a) or (c) 

in response to a periodic review shall be as follows: 

(1) where the combined tax due for any three 

months of the previous 12 months exceeds forty 

thousand dollars ($40,000), the amount of the 

bond shall be fifty thousand dollars ($50,000); 

(2) where the combined tax due for any three 

months of the previous 12 months exceeds 

twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) but 

does not exceed forty thousand dollars 

($40,000), the amount of the bond shall be forty 

thousand dollars ($40,000); 

(3) where the combined tax due for any three 

months of the previous 12 months exceeds 

twelve thousand five hundred dollars ($12,500) 

but does not exceed twenty-five thousand 

dollars ($25,000), the amount of the bond shall 

be twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000); 

(4) where the combined tax due for any three 

months of the previous 12 months exceeds five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) but does not exceed 

twelve thousand five hundred dollars 

($12,500), the amount of the bond shall be 

twelve thousand five hundred dollars 

($12,500); and 

(5) where the combined tax due for any three 

months of the previous 12 months does not 

exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), the 

amount of the bond shall be five thousand 

dollars ($5,000). 

(d)  The amount of the bond or irrevocable letter of credit 

submitted to the Department pursuant to G.S. 105-113.86(b) shall 

be two thousand dollars ($2,000). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.86; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; January 1, 1994; April 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

17 NCAC 04E .0602 NEW WHOLESALER OR 

IMPORTER BOND 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-113.86; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0201 DEFINITIONS FOR OUTDOOR 

ADVERTISING CONTROL 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 136-128, of Article 

11 of North Carolina General Statutes, also known as the Outdoor 

Advertising Act, the following definitions shall apply for 

purposes of the Rules of this Section:  

(1) Abandoned Sign: An outdoor advertising sign 

structure shall be considered abandoned if it has 

no lease or meets one of the following criteria 

for a period of 12 months: 

(a) is not maintained in accordance with 

the Rules of this Section; or 

(b) is without a message, contains out-of-

date advertising matter, or is 

significantly damaged. 

(2) Automatic Changeable Facing Sign: A sign, 

display, or device that changes the message or 

copy on the sign facing electronically by digital 

means or movement or rotation of panels or 

slats.  

(3) Blank Sign: A sign structure that contains no 

message or only a telephone number 

advertising its availability. 

(4) Comprehensive Zoning: Zoning by local 

zoning authorities of each parcel of land under 
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the jurisdiction of the local zoning authority 

placed in a zoning classification pursuant to a 

comprehensive plan, or reserved for future 

classification. A comprehensive plan means a 

development plan that guides decisions of the 

local zoning authority relating to zoning and the 

growth and development of the area. Even if 

comprehensively enacted, the following criteria 

shall determine whether a zoning is enacted to 

permit outdoor advertising: 

(a) the zoning classification provides for 

commercial or industrial activity only 

incidental to other primary land uses; 

(b) the commercial or industrial activities 

are permitted only by variance or 

special exceptions; or 

(c) the zoning constitutes spot or strip 

zoning. "Spot zoning" or "strip 

zoning" is zoning designed primarily 

for the purpose of permitting outdoor 

advertising signs in an area that would 

not otherwise permit outdoor 

advertising. 

(5) Conforming Sign: A sign legally erected in a 

zoned or unzoned commercial or industrial area 

that meets all requirements of the rules of this 

Section and Article 11 of Chapter 136 of NC 

General Statutes. 

(6) Controlled Access Highway: A highway on 

which entrance and exit accesses are allowed 

only at designated points. 

(7) Controlled Route: Any interstate or federal-aid 

primary highway as it existed on June 1, 1991, 

and any highway that is or becomes a part of the 

National Highway System (NHS). 

(8) Destroyed or Significantly Damaged Sign: A 

sign that has sustained damage by more than 50 

percent as determined by the criteria set forth in 

Rule .0225(f) of this Section by factors other 

than tortious or criminal acts, including 

vandalism. An example of a destroyed sign 

includes a sign damaged by wind.  

(9) Dilapidated Sign: A sign that fails to be in the 

same form as originally constructed, or that 

fails to perform its intended function of 

conveying a message. Characteristics of a 

dilapidated sign include structural support 

failure, a sign not supported as originally 

constructed, panels or borders missing or 

falling off, intended messages cannot be 

interpreted by the motoring public, or a sign 

that is blocked by overgrown vegetation outside 

the highway right of way. 

(10) Directional Sign: A sign that contains 

navigational information about public places 

owned or operated by federal, State, or local 

governments or their agencies; publicly or 

privately owned natural phenomena, historic, 

cultural, scientific, educational, and religious 

sites; and areas of natural scenic beauty or 

naturally suited for outdoor recreation. 

Directional and other official signs and notices 

include: 

(a) Public Service Sign: A sign located on 

a school bus stop shelter that meets all 

the following requirements: 

(i) identifies the donor, sponsor 

or contributor of a shelter; 

(ii) is located on a school bus 

shelter that is authorized or 

approved by city, county, or 

state law, regulation, or 

ordinance, and at places 

approved by the city, county, 

or state agency controlling 

the highway involved; 

(iii) contains only safety slogans 

that shall occupy not less 

than 60 percent of the area of 

the sign; 

(iv) does not exceed 32 square 

feet in area; and 

(v) contains not more than one 

sign facing in any one 

direction. 

(b) Public Utility Sign: A warning sign, 

informational sign, notice or other 

marker erected and maintained by 

publicly or privately owned utilities. 

(c) Service Club and Religious Notices: 

Any sign or notice that relates to 

meetings of nonprofit service clubs, 

charitable associations, or religious 

services. These signs shall not exceed 

eight square feet in area. 

(11) Discontinued Sign: A sign no longer in 

existence or a sign of which any part of a sign 

face is missing more than 180 days. In some 

cases, a sign may be both discontinued and 

dilapidated. 

(12) Fully Controlled Access Highway: A divided 

highway for through traffic that persons, 

including the owners or occupants of abutting 

lands have no right of access except at the 

points and in the manner determined by the 

Department of Transportation. 

(13) Highway: A highway that is designated as a part 

of the interstate or federal-aid primary highway 

system as of June 1, 1991, or any highway 

which is or becomes a part of the National 

Highway System. A highway shall be a part of 

the National Highway System on the date the 

location of the highway has been approved by 

federal authorities. 

(14) Lease: An agreement by which possession or 

use of land or interests therein is given for a 

specified purpose and period of time, and which 

is a contract under North Carolina laws. 
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(15) Main Traveled Way or Traveled Way: Part of a 

highway on which through traffic is carried, 

exclusive of paved shoulders. In the case of a 

divided highway, the traveled way of each of 

the separated roadways for traffic in opposite 

directions is a traveled way. It does not include 

frontage roads, turning roadways, or parking 

areas. 

(16) Nonconforming Sign: A non-conforming sign 

means as defined in G.S. 136-128(2a). 

(17) Official Sign or Notice: A sign or notice erected 

and maintained by public officers or public 

agencies within their territorial or zoning 

jurisdictions and pursuant to and in accordance 

with federal, State or local law for the purpose 

of carrying out an official duty or responsibility. 

Official signs and notices include historical 

markers authorized by state law and erected by 

state or local government agencies or nonprofit 

historical societies. 

(18) On-premise Sign: A sign that advertises the sale 

or lease of property upon which it is located or 

that advertises an activity conducted or product 

for sale on the property upon which it is located. 

An on-premise sign may not be converted to a 

permitted outdoor advertising sign unless it 

meets all rules in effect at the time of the 

conversion request. An on-premise sign shall be 

located on property contiguous to the property 

on which the activity is located. Tracts not 

considered to be contiguous include: 

(a) tracts of land separated by a federal, 

State, city, or public access maintained 

road; 

(b) tracts of land not under common 

ownership; or 

(c) tracts of land held in different estates 

or interests. 

(19) Parkland: Any publicly-owned land that is 

designated or used as a public park, recreation 

area, wildlife or waterfowl refuge or historic 

site. 

(20) Permit Holder: A permit holder is the sign 

owner and the entity whose name is on the 

approved outdoor advertising permit 

application as "Permit Holder or Sign Owner". 

(21) Salvageable Sign Components: Components of 

the original sign structure prior to the damage 

that can be repaired or replaced on site by the 

use of labor only. If any materials, other than 

nuts, bolts, nails or similar hardware, are 

required in order to repair a component, the 

component is not considered to be salvageable. 

(22) Scenic Area: Any area of particular beauty or 

historical significance as determined by the 

federal, State, or local official having 

jurisdiction thereof, and includes interests in 

land which have been acquired for the 

restoration, preservation and enhancement of 

beauty. 

(23) Scenic Byway: A scenic byway designated by 

the Board of Transportation, regardless of 

whether the route so designated was part of the 

interstate or federal-aid primary highway 

system as of June 1, 1991, or any highway that 

is or becomes a part of the National Highway 

System. 

(24) Sign: Any outdoor sign, sign structure, display, 

light, device, figure, painting, drawing, 

message, placard, poster, billboard, or other 

object which is designed, intended, or used to 

advertise or inform. A sign includes any of the 

parts or material of the structure, such as beams, 

poles, posts, and stringers, the only eventual 

purpose of which is to display a message or 

other information for public view. For purposes 

of these rules, the term "sign" and its definition 

shall be interchangeable with the following 

terms: outdoor advertising, outdoor advertising 

sign, outdoor advertising structure, outdoor 

advertising sign structure, sign structure, and 

structure. 

(25) Sign Not Conforming to State Standards: a sign 

which was legally erected but does not conform 

to the zoning, size, lighting, and spacing criteria 

established in Rule .0203 of this Section 

promulgated at a later date, or a sign which was 

legally erected but later fails to conform to the 

zoning, size, lighting, and spacing criteria 

established in Rule .0203 of this Section. 

(26) Sign Face: The part of the sign, including trim 

and background, that contains the message or 

informative contents.  

(27) Sign Location: A sign location is the latitude 

and longitude as determined by recreational 

grade global position system (GPS) equipment 

with imagery reference. The location shall be 

determined and listed on each outdoor 

advertising permit application by DOT 

personnel. 

(28) Sign Owner: A sign owner is the owner of the 

physical sign structure.  

(29) Unzoned Commercial or Industrial Area: An 

area that is not zoned by State or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance, and that is within 660 

feet of the nearest edge of the right of way of 

the interstate or federal-aid primary system or 

NHS, in which there is at least one commercial 

or industrial activity that meets all requirements 

specified in Rule .0203(5) of this Section. 

(30) Zoned Commercial or Industrial Area: An area 

that is zoned for business, industry, commerce, 

or trade pursuant to a State or local zoning 

ordinance or regulation. Local zoning action 

shall be taken pursuant to the state's zoning 

enabling statute or constitutional authority. 

Zoning that is not part of comprehensive zoning 
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or that is created to permit outdoor advertising 

structures shall not be recognized as valid 

zoning for purposes of the Outdoor Advertising 

Control Act and the rules promulgated 

thereunder, unless the land is developed for 

commercial or industrial activity as defined in 

Rule .0203(5) of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; December 1, 1993; March 1, 1993; 

December 1, 1990; January 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0202 AGREEMENT 

The Department of Transportation has entered into an agreement 

with the United States Department of Transportation relating to 

the control of outdoor advertising in areas adjacent to the 

interstate and federal-aid primary highway systems or NHS in 

accordance with Section 131 (b) of Title 23 of the United States 

Code and Part 750 of Title 23 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

To the extent that these federal regulations and subsequent 

amendments and editions are more restrictive than North Carolina 

Department of Transportation rules, these federal regulations 

control and are expressly incorporated by reference as part of this 

section. A copy of this agreement may be obtained from the Office 

of the Chief Engineer free of charge. Copies of Title 23 of the 

United States Code of Federal Regulations are available at the 

following website: https://www.ecfr.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-138; 143B-350(f); 150B-

21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; August 1, 2000; November 1, 

1993; December 1, 1990; June 15, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0203 OUTDOOR ADVERTISING ON 

CONTROLLED ROUTES 

Except for those signs set forth in G.S. 136-129(1), (2), (2a), and 

(3), this Rule shall apply to the erection and maintenance of 

outdoor advertising signs in all zoned and unzoned commercial 

and industrial areas located within 660 feet of the nearest edge of 

the right of way of the controlled route.  

(1) Signs shall be configured and sized as follows: 

(a) the maximum area for any one sign 

shall be 1,200 square feet with a 

maximum height of 30 feet and 

maximum length of 60 feet. All 

measurements shall include any 

border and trim, but shall exclude the 

base or apron, embellishments, 

embellished advertising space, 

supports, and other structural 

members; 

(b) the maximum size limitations shall 

apply to each side of a sign structure. 

Signs placed back-to-back, side-to-

side, or in V-type construction with no 

more than two displays to each facing 

shall be considered as one sign. The 

maximum size limitations shall apply 

to each facing of a sign structure; 

(c) Side-by-side signs shall be structurally 

tied together to be considered as one 

sign structure; 

(d) V-type and back-to-back signs shall 

not be considered as one sign if 

located more than 15 feet apart at their 

nearest points; 

(e) the height of any portion of the sign 

structure, excluding cutouts or 

embellishments, as measured 

vertically from the adjacent edge of 

pavement of the main traveled way 

shall not exceed 50 feet; and 

(f) Double-decking of sign faces so that 

one is on top of the other is prohibited. 

(2) Signs shall be spaced as follows: 

(a) Signs shall not be located in a manner 

to obscure, or otherwise physically 

interfere with the effectiveness of any 

traffic sign, signal, or device, or to 

obstruct or physically interfere with a 

driver's view of approaching, merging, 

or intersecting traffic; 

(b) Controlled Routes with Fully 

Controlled Access:  

(i) No two structures shall be 

spaced less than 500 feet 

apart;  

(ii) Outside the corporate limits 

of towns and cities, no 

structure may be located 

within 500 feet of an 

interchange, collector 

distributor, safety rest area or 

information center regardless 

of whether the main traveled 

way is within or outside the 

town or city limits. The 500 

feet spacing shall be 

measured from the point at 

which the pavement widens 

for a ramp and the direction 

of measurement shall be 

along the edge of pavement 

away from the interchange, 

collector distributor, safety 

rest area or information 

center. In those interchanges 

where a quadrant does not 

have a ramp, the 500 feet for 

the quadrant without a ramp 

shall be measured along the 

outside edge of main traveled 

way for highways as follows: 
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(A) Where a route is 

bridged over a fully 

controlled access 

highway, the 500 

foot measurement 

shall begin on the 

outside edge of 

pavement of the 

fully controlled 

access highway at a 

point below the 

edge of the bridge. 

The direction of 

measurement shall 

be along the edge of 

pavement away 

from the 

interchange; 

(B) Where a fully 

controlled access 

highway is bridged 

over another route, 

the 500 foot 

measurement shall 

be made from the 

end of the bridge in 

the quadrant. The 

direction of 

measurement shall 

be along the edge of 

main traveled way 

away from the 

bridge; and 

(C) Where the routes 

involved are both 

fully controlled 

access highways, 

measurements on 

both routes shall be 

made according to 

(A) or (B) of this 

Subitem, whichever 

applies. Should 

there be a situation 

where there is more 

than one point at 

which the pavement 

widens along each 

road within a 

quadrant, the 

measurement shall 

be made from the 

pavement widening 

which is farthest 

from the 

intersecting 

roadways. 

(c) Controlled Routes Without Fully 

Controlled Access: 

(i) outside of incorporated 

towns and cities no two 

structures shall be spaced less 

than 300 feet apart; and 

(ii) within incorporated towns 

and cities no two structures 

shall be spaced less than 100 

feet apart. 

(d) The rules of this Section regarding 

spacing between sign structures shall 

not apply to structures separated by 

buildings or other obstructions where 

only one sign facing located within the 

distances set forth in the rules of this 

Section is visible from the highway at 

any one time; 

(e) Official signs, on-premise signs, or 

structures that are not lawfully 

maintained shall not be included, nor 

shall measurements be made from 

them for purposes of determining 

compliance with spacing 

requirements; and 

(f) The minimum distance between 

structures shall be measured along the 

nearest edge of the main traveled way 

between points opposite the signs 

along each side of the highway and 

shall apply only to structures located 

on the same side of the highways. 

(3) Signs shall meet the following lighting 

requirements: 

(a) No sign shall contain, include, or be 

illuminated by any flashing, 

intermittent, or moving light or lights, 

including animated or scrolling 

advertising except as allowed by Item 

(4) of this Rule or it is giving public 

service information, such as time, 

date, temperature, or weather; 

(b) No light emitted or reflected off of a 

sign shall be of an intensity or 

brilliance as to cause glare or to impair 

the vision of a driver, or which 

otherwise interfere with the operation 

of a motor vehicle; 

(c) No sign shall be so illuminated that it 

interferes with the effectiveness of, or 

obscures an official traffic sign, 

device, or signal; and 

(d) All sign lighting shall be subject to any 

other provisions relating to lighting of 

signs applicable to all highways under 

the jurisdiction of the State, including 

G.S. 136-32.2. 

(4) Automatic changeable facing signs shall meet 

the following requirements: 

(a) the sign does not contain or display 

flashing, intermittent, or moving 
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lights, including animated or scrolling 

advertising; 

(b) the changeable facing remains in a 

fixed position for at least eight 

seconds; 

(c) if a message is changed electronically, 

it must be accomplished within an 

interval of two seconds or less; 

(d) the sign is not placed within 1,000 feet 

of another automatic changeable 

facing sign on the same side of the 

highway; 

(e) the 1000-foot distance is measured 

along the nearest edge of the pavement 

and between points opposite the signs 

along each side of the highway; 

(f) a legally conforming structure may be 

modified to an automatic changeable 

facing structure as set forth in Rule 

.0225 of this Section. Signs not 

conforming to State standards shall 

not be modified to an automatic 

changeable facing: 

(g) the sign must contain a default design 

that will freeze the sign in one position 

if a malfunction occurs; and 

(h) the sign application meets all 

permitting requirements as set forth in 

Rule .0206 of this Section. 

(5) Unzoned commercial or industrial area 

qualification for signs shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(a) To qualify an area unzoned 

commercial or industrial for the 

purpose of outdoor advertising 

control, one or more commercial or 

industrial activities shall meet all of 

the following criteria prior to 

submitting an outdoor advertising 

permit application: 

(i) The activity shall maintain all 

necessary business licenses 

as may be required by 

applicable state, county, or 

local law or ordinances; 

(ii) The property used for the 

activity shall be listed for ad 

valorem taxes with the 

county and municipal taxing 

authorities as required by 

law; 

(iii) The activity shall be 

connected to utilities, 

including power, telephone, 

water, and sewer, or septic 

service; 

(iv) The activity shall have 

vehicular access and generate 

traffic: 

(v) The activity shall have a 

building designed with a 

permanent foundation, built 

or modified for its current 

commercial or industrial use, 

and the building must be 

located within 660 feet from 

the nearest edge of the right 

of way of the controlled 

route. Where a mobile home 

or recreational vehicle is used 

as a business or office, the 

following conditions and 

requirements also apply; 

(A) the mobile home 

unit or recreational 

vehicle shall meet 

the North Carolina 

State Building Code 

criteria for 

commercial or 

business use; 

(B) a self-propelled 

vehicle shall not 

qualify for use as a 

business or office 

for the purpose of 

these rules; 

(C) all wheels, axles, 

and springs shall be 

removed; 

(D) the unit shall be 

permanently 

secured on piers, 

pad, or foundation; 

and 

(E) the unit shall be tied 

down in accordance 

with local, state, or 

county 

requirements. 

(vi) The commercial or industrial 

activity must be in operation 

a minimum of six months 

prior to the date of submitting 

an application for an outdoor 

advertising permit; 

(vii) The activity shall be open to 

the public during hours for 

that type of activity, but not 

less than 20 hours per week; 

(viii) One or more employees shall 

be available to serve 

customers whenever the 

activity is open to the public; 

and 

(ix) The activity shall be visible 

and recognizable as 

commercial or industrial 
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from the main travel way in a 

vehicle traveling at the 

posted speed of the 

controlled route for 12 

months of a year.  

(b) Each side of the controlled route shall 

be considered separately. All 

measurements shall begin from the 

outer edges of buildings where 

business is conducted including 

parking lots, storage, or processing 

areas of the commercial or industrial 

activity, not from the property line of 

the activity, and shall be along the 

nearest edge of the main traveled way 

of the controlled route. 

(c) The proposed sign location must be 

within 600 feet of the activity. 

(d) To qualify an area as unzoned 

commercial or industrial for the 

purpose of outdoor advertising 

control, none of the following 

activities shall be recognized: 

(i) outdoor advertising 

structures; 

(ii) on-premise or on-property 

signs defined by Rule 

.0201(18) of this Section if 

the on-premise sign is the 

only part of the commercial 

or industrial activity that is 

visible from the main-

traveled way; 

(iii) agricultural, forestry, 

ranching, grazing, farming, 

and related activities, 

including temporary wayside 

fresh produce stands; 

(iv) transient or temporary 

activities; 

(v) activities more than 660 feet 

from the nearest edge of the 

right of way; 

(vi) activities conducted in a 

building used as a residence; 

(vii) railroad tracks and minor 

sidings; 

(viii) any outdoor advertising 

activity or any other business 

or commercial activity 

carried on in connection with 

an outdoor advertising 

activity; and 

(ix) illegal junkyards, as defined 

in G.S. 136-146, and 

nonconforming junkyards as 

set out in G.S. 136-147. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; December 1, 

1990; November 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0207 FEES AND RENEWALS 

(a)  All applicable fees shall be paid by the permit holders for each 

permit requested.  

(b)  An initial nonrefundable fee of one hundred twenty dollars 

($120.00) per outdoor advertising structure shall be submitted 

with each new permit application. 

(c)  An annual non-refundable renewal fee of sixty dollars 

($60.00) per sign structure shall be paid by the permit holders on 

or before April 15 of each year. 

(d)  The Division of Highways of the Department of 

Transportation shall send an invoice for the annual renewal fee to 

each permit holder with a permit. For a renewal to be approved, 

the permit holder must submit the signed invoice along with the 

renewal fee. If requested, the permit holder shall provide a valid 

lease or other proof of interest in the land where the sign is 

located. Failure to submit this documentation within 30 days of 

written request from the District Engineer's office by certified 

mail shall subject the permit to revocation under 19A NCAC 02E 

.0210(4). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-133; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; December 1, 

1990; July 1, 1986; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 16, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0208 PERMIT AND PERMIT 

EMBLEM 

(a)  Permits shall be issued for signs that are in compliance with 

all federal, State, or local laws pertaining to outdoor advertising 

structures by the Division of Highways of the Department of 

Transportation upon application, approval, and the payment of the 

initial permit fee as defined in Rule .0207 of this Section. 

(b)  The erection of new outdoor advertising structures shall not 

commence until a permit has been approved and the emblem 

issued. All construction of the outdoor advertising structure, 

except sign faces, shall be completed within 180 days of the 

approval of the permit. If the outdoor advertising structure, except 

sign faces, is not constructed within 180 days from the date of 

approval of the permit and issuance of the emblem then any 

intervening rule change shall apply to the sign structure. During 

the 180 day period, the new outdoor advertising structure shall be 

considered in existence for the purpose of spacing of adjacent 

signs as set out in Rule .0203 of this Section. 

(c)  The permit holder shall notify the appropriate office as 

provided in the permit by certified mail, return receipt requested, 

within 10 days after the outdoor advertising structure is 

completed. Upon completion of the construction and prior to 

notifying the appropriate District Engineer's Office, the permit 

holder shall affix the following information to the outdoor 

advertising structure in a position as to be visible from the main-

traveled way of the controlled route: 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2021 

1765 

(1) the emblem, with a Department-issued 

identification number; and 

(2) the name of the person, firm or corporation 

owning or maintaining the outdoor advertising 

structure. 

(d)  Within 90 days after receiving notice that an outdoor 

advertising structure is complete, the appropriate District 

Engineer's office shall inspect the structure. If the structure fails 

to comply with the Outdoor Advertising Control Act or the rules 

in this Section, the District Engineer's office shall advise the 

permit holder by certified mail of the manner in which the 

structure fails to comply. The permit holder shall have 30 days 

from receipt of the notice to either bring the structure into 

compliance or have it removed. 

(e)  Replacements for emblems that are missing or illegible may 

be obtained from the district engineer's office by submitting a 

written request accompanied by a copy of the permit application 

that approved the original emblem. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-133; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; December 1, 

1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0209 TRANSFER OF 

PERMIT/CHANGE OF ADDRESS 

(a)  Within 30 days after ownership of a permitted outdoor 

advertising sign is transferred, the previous or new owner shall 

submit a written notice, signed by the transferring owner and 

notarized, to the District Engineer's office for the county in which 

the sign is located.  

(b)  A permit holder must provide the appropriate District 

Engineer's office with written notice of any change of address 

within 30 days of the address change. 

(c)  Should a permit holder fail to provide written notice of a 

transfer of permit or change of address, a revocation of a permit 

for one of the reasons specified in Rule .0210 of this Section shall 

stand and shall not be affected by failure to notify the District 

Engineer's office of the changes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0210 REVOCATION OF OUTDOOR 

ADVERTISING PERMIT 

The appropriate District Engineer's office shall revoke a permit 

for a lawful outdoor advertising structure based on any of the 

following: 

(1) mistake of facts by the issuing District 

Engineer's office for which had the correct facts 

been known, he or she would not have issued 

the outdoor advertising permit; 

(2) misrepresentations of any facts made by the 

permit holder and on which the District 

Engineer's office relied in approving the 

outdoor advertising permit application; 

(3) misrepresentation of facts to any regulatory 

authority with jurisdiction over the sign by the 

permit holder, the permit applicant, or the 

owner of property on which the outdoor 

advertising structure is located; 

(4) failure to pay annual renewal fees or provide the 

documentation requested under Rule .0207 of 

this Section; 

(5) failure to construct the outdoor advertising 

structure, except all sign faces, within 180 days 

from the date of issuance of the outdoor 

advertising permit in accordance with Rule 

.0208 of this Section; 

(6) a determination upon inspection of an outdoor 

advertising structure that it fails to comply with 

the Outdoor Advertising Control Act or the 

rules in this Section; 

(7) any alteration of an outdoor advertising 

structure for which a permit has previously 

been issued which would cause that outdoor 

advertising structure to fail to comply with the 

provisions of the Outdoor Advertising Control 

Act or the rules of this Section; 

(8) alterations to a sign not conforming to State 

standards other than reasonable repair and 

maintenance as defined in Rule .0225(c) of this 

Section. For purposes of this Rule, alterations 

include: 

(a) enlarging a dimension of the sign 

facing or raising the height of the sign; 

(b) changing the material of the sign 

structure's support; 

(c) adding a pole or poles; or 

(d) adding illumination; 

(9) failure to affix the emblem as required by Rule 

.0208 of this Section or failure to maintain the 

emblem so that it is visible from the main-

traveled way or controlled route; 

(10) failure to affix the name of the person, firm, or 

corporation owning or maintaining the outdoor 

advertising sign to the sign structure in 

sufficient size to be visible as required by Rule 

.0208 of this Section; 

(11) unlawful destruction or illegal cutting of trees, 

shrubs or other vegetation within the right-of-

way of any State-owned or State-maintained 

highway as specified in G.S. 136-133.1(i); 

(12) unlawful use of a controlled access facility for 

purposes of repairing, maintaining, or servicing 

an outdoor advertising sign where the unlawful 

violation was conducted actually or by design 

by the permit holder, the lessee or advertiser 

employing the sign, the owner of the property 

upon which the sign is located, or any of their 

employees, agents, or assigns, including 

independent contractors hired by any of the 

above and meets either of the following: 

(a) involved the use of highway right of 

way for the purpose of repairing, 
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servicing, or maintaining a sign 

including stopping, parking, or 

leaving any vehicle whether attended 

or unattended, on any part or portion 

of the right of way except as 

authorized by the Department of 

Transportation, including activities 

authorized by the Department for 

selective vegetation removal pursuant 

to G.S. 136-131.1, G.S. 136-131.2 and 

G.S. 136-133.4. Access from the 

highway main travel way shall be 

allowed only for surveying or 

delineation work in preparation for 

and in the processing of an application 

for a selective vegetation removal 

permit; or 

(b) involved crossing the control of access 

fence to reach the sign structure, 

except as authorized by the 

Department, including those activities 

referenced in Sub-Item (a) of this 

Item; 

(13) maintaining a blank sign for a period of 12 

consecutive months; 

(14) maintaining an abandoned, dilapidated, or 

discontinued sign; 

(15) a sign that has been destroyed or significantly 

damaged as determined by Rule .0201(8) and 

(29) of this Section; 

(16) moving or relocating a sign not conforming to 

State standards that changes the location of the 

sign;  

(17) failure to erect, maintain, or alter an outdoor 

advertising sign structure in accordance with 

the North Carolina Outdoor Advertising 

Control Act, codified in G.S. 136, Article 11, or 

the rules of this Section; and 

(18) failure to comply with all the requirements 

specified in a vegetation removal permit if such 

failure meets the standards of G.S. 136-

133.1(i). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-93; 136-130; 136-133; 136-

133.1(i); 136-133.4(e); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; May 1, 1997; November 1, 1993; 

March 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; December 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19 NCAC 02E .0212 NOTICE GIVEN FOR 

REVOKING PERMIT 

(a)  Prior to the revocation of an outdoor advertising permit, the 

District Engineer's office shall send the permit holder a notice of 

violation by certified mail of the alleged violation under Rule 

.0210 of this Section. The permit holder shall bring the sign into 

compliance, if permissible by these Rules, within 30 days of 

receipt of the notification, or provide information concerning the 

alleged violation to the District Engineer's office to be considered 

prior to the revocation. The District Engineer's office shall 

consider the information provided by the permit holder prior to 

any revocation of a permit. 

(b)  If the permit holder does not bring the sign into compliance 

after 30 days, if permissible by these Rules, and the District 

Engineer determines that a violation has occurred as set forth in 

Rule .0210 of this Section, he or she shall send the permit holder 

a notice of revocation by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

The notification shall include the following information:  

(1) the factual and statutory or regulatory basis for 

the revocation; 

(2) a copy of the rules of this Section; and 

(3) a statement that is unlawful and a nuisance in 

accordance with G.S. 136-134. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the notice of revocation, the permit holder 

shall either remove or bring the outdoor advertising structure into 

compliance with the Outdoor Advertising Act and rules of this 

Section within 30 days. If the permit holder or site owner fails to 

do so, the Department shall remove the outdoor advertising 

structure at the expense of the permit holder. 

(d)  An outdoor advertising structure cannot be made to conform 

to the Outdoor Advertising Control Act or these Rules when the 

permit is revoked under 19A NCAC 02E .0210(2), (3), (11), or 

(12). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-134; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; December 1, 

1990; June 15, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0213 APPEAL OF DECISION OF 

DISTRICT ENGINEER'S OFFICE TO SEC. OF TRANS. 

(a)  Should any permit applicant, permit holder, or sign owner 

disagree with a decision of the appropriate District Engineer's 

office pertaining to the denial or revocation of a permit for 

outdoor advertising or the determination that an outdoor 

advertising structure is illegal, the permit applicant, permit holder, 

or sign owner may appeal to the Secretary of Transportation in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(b)  Within 30 days from the time of the receipt of the decision of 

the District Engineer's office, the permit applicant, permit holder, 

or sign owner shall submit a written appeal to the Secretary of 

Transportation setting forth the facts and arguments upon which 

the appeal is based. The appeal shall be sent to the Secretary by 

certified mail, return receipt requested, with a copy to the District 

Engineer's office. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the written appeal, the Secretary of 

Transportation shall review the written appeal and the District 

Engineer's office's decision, as well as any available documents, 

exhibits, or other evidence bearing on the appeal, and shall render 

the final agency decision, supported by findings of fact and 

conclusions of law. The final agency decision shall be served 

upon the appealing party by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, no later than 90 days after the Secretary receives the 

written appeal. A copy of the final agency decision shall also be 

mailed to the District Engineer's office. 
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(d)  Judicial review of the final agency decision is governed by 

G.S. 136-134.1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-133; 136-134; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; November 1, 

1991; June 15, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E. 0214 STANDARDS FOR 

DIRECTIONAL SIGNS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Section, the following directional 

signs shall be prohibited: 

(1) signs that are erected or maintained upon trees 

or painted or drawn upon rocks or other natural 

features; 

(2) signs that move or have any animated or 

moving parts; 

(3) signs located in rest areas, parklands, or scenic 

areas. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Section, the following size 

requirements shall be permissible: 

(1) No directional sign shall exceed the following 

limits: 

(A) maximum area 150 square feet; 

(B) maximum height 20 feet; and 

(C) maximum length 20 feet. 

(2) all dimensions include border and trim, but 

exclude supports. 

(c)  Directional signs may be illuminated, subject to the following: 

(1) signs that contain, include, or are illuminated by 

any flashing, intermittent, or moving light or 

lights shall be prohibited; 

(2) signs that are not shielded so as to prevent 

beams or rays of light from being directed at 

any portion of the traveled way of an interstate 

or primary highway or National Highway 

System (NHS) route or that are of such intensity 

or brilliance as to cause glare or to impair the 

vision of the driver of any motor vehicle, or that 

otherwise interfere with the operation of a 

motor vehicle shall be prohibited; and 

(3) no sign may be so illuminated as to interfere 

with the effectiveness of or obscure an official 

traffic sign, device, or signal. 

(d)  The spacing of signs shall be determined as follows: 

(1) each location of a directional sign must be 

approved by the District Engineer's office; 

(2) no directional sign may be located within 2,000 

feet of an interchange, or intersection at grade 

along the interstate system or other controlled 

access highways (measured along the highway 

from the nearest point of the beginning or 

ending of pavement widening at the exit from 

or entrance to the main-traveled way); 

(3) no directional sign may be located within 2,000 

feet of a rest area, parkland, or scenic area; 

(4) no two directional signs facing the same 

direction of travel shall be spaced less than one 

mile apart; 

(5) No more than three directional signs pertaining 

to the same activity and facing the same 

direction of travel may be erected along a single 

route approaching the activity; 

(6) directional signs located adjacent to the 

interstate system shall be within 75 air miles of 

the activity; and 

(7) directional signs located adjacent to the primary 

system shall be within 50 air miles of the 

activity. 

(e)  The message on directional signs shall be limited to the 

identification of the attraction or activity and directional 

information useful to the traveler in locating the attraction, such 

as mileage, route number, or exit numbers. 

(f)  For directional signs for privately-owned activities, the 

activity shall meet both of the following criteria:  

(1) privately-owned activities or attractions 

eligible for directional signing are limited to the 

following: natural phenomena, scenic 

attractions; historic, educational, cultural, 

scientific, and religious sites; and outdoor 

recreational areas: and 

(2) privately-owned attractions or activities must 

be nationally or regionally known. For purposes 

of this Rule, the following meanings shall 

apply: 

(A) national known means the attraction 

has drawn attention through various 

forms of media within the continental 

United States; and 

(B) regionally known means the attraction 

is known in a specific region of the 

State such as the mountains, piedmont, 

or coastal region, through published 

articles or paid advertisements 

available to a regional audience. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-129; 136-130; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0215 PERMITS FOR DIRECTIONAL 

SIGNS 

(a)  A permit shall be required for the construction or maintenance 

of any directional sign permitted by Rule .0214 of this Section, 

except that no permit shall be required to erect or maintain 

directional signs to religious sites or for the construction and 

maintenance of official signs and notices, public utility signs, 

service club and religious notices, and public service signs, as 

defined by Rule .0201 (10)(a), (b), (c), and (18) of this Section.  

(b)  An application for a directional sign shall be made according 

to Rule .0206 of this Section with the exception the initial fee shall 

be forty dollars ($40.00) paid with each application for a permit. 

(c)  An annual renewal of each permit shall be made according to 

Rule .0207 of this Section with the exception the renewal fee shall 
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be thirty dollars ($30.00) and shall be required to maintain such 

directional signs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-133; 

Eff July 1, l978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; July 1, 1986, March 1, 1983, 

June 15, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0224 SCENIC BYWAYS 

(a)  Outdoor advertising is prohibited adjacent to any highway 

designated as a scenic byway by the Board of Transportation after 

the date of the designation as scenic, regardless of the highway 

classification, except for outdoor advertising permitted in G.S. 

136-129 (1), (2), (2a) or (3). 

(b)  All lawfully erected outdoor advertising signs adjacent to a 

Scenic Byway that is on a controlled route for outdoor advertising 

shall become signs not conforming to State standards and shall be 

subject to all applicable outdoor advertising regulations provided 

in this Section. Any sign erected on a controlled route adjacent to 

a Scenic Byway after the date of official designation shall be an 

illegal sign as defined in G.S. 136-128 and G.S. 136-134. 

(c)  Permits shall not be required for signs adjacent to scenic 

byways that were not on a controlled route for outdoor 

advertising. The department shall maintain an inventory of signs 

that were in existence at the time the route was designated a 

Scenic byway. Any sign erected after its designation as a Scenic 

Byway, except for outdoor advertising permitted in G.S. 136-

129(1), (2), or (3), shall be an illegal sign as defined by G.S. 136-

128 and G.S. 136-134. 

(d)  Outdoor advertising signs adjacent to Scenic Byways that are 

not required to obtain permits shall comply with the rules in this 

section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-129.2; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0226 ORDER TO STOP WORK ON 

UNPERMITTED OUTDOOR ADVERTISING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-133; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 16, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 34 - BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0102 FORM OF DOCUMENTS 

When any provision of Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North 

Carolina General Statutes or any rule in this Subchapter requires 

a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to obtain any death certificate, 

report, authorization, waiver, statement or other document prior 

to cremation or hydrolysis, the crematory or hydrolysis licensee 

may accept the document in the form of the original, a photocopy, 

or by electronic or facsimile transmission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 90-

210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0103 APPLICATION FORM FOR 

CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS LICENSE 

All applications for a crematory or hydrolysis license shall be 

made on forms provided by the Board. The application shall state 

the following information:  

(1) the name of the applicant; 

(2) address; 

(3) type of business entity; 

(4) location of crematory or hydrolysis facility; 

(5) description of crematory or hydrolysis facilities 

and equipment; 

(6) name and address of each crematory or 

hydrolysis technician; 

(7) name and address of the crematory or 

hydrolysis manager; and 

(8) any criminal convictions of the applicant and 

manager. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-

210.36(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0104 CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS 

LICENSE CERTIFICATE 

The Board shall issue each crematory or hydrolysis licensee a 

certificate to operate a crematory or hydrolysis facility upon a 

finding that the licensee has complied with the rules of this 

Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-

210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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21 NCAC 34C .0105 CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS 

INSPECTION FORM 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-

210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0106 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply for purposes of complying 

with the provisions of Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North 

Carolina General Statutes and any rule in this Chapter: 

(1) "Hydrolysis operator" shall have the same 

meaning as the term "hydrolysis licensee" as 

defined by G.S. 90-210.136(a)(3). 

(2) "Aquamation" shall have the same meaning as 

"alkaline hydrolysis" as defined by G.S. 90-

210.136(a)(1). 

(3) "Certificate of hydrolysis" means a certificate 

provided by the hydrolysis manager who 

performed the hydrolysis that meets the same 

minimum requirements for a "certificate of 

cremation" as set forth in G.S. 90-210.121(5). 

(4) "Cremation center" shall have the same 

meaning as "crematory" or "crematorium" as 

defined by G.S. 90-210.121(11). 

(5) "Final disposition" of human remains that have 

been hydrolyzed means the hydrolysis and the 

ultimate interment, entombment, inurnment, or 

scattering of the hydrolyzed remains or the 

return of the hydrolyzed remains by the 

hydrolysis licensee to the authorizing agent or 

such agent's designee as provided by Article 

13F, Chapter 90, of the North Carolina General 

Statutes. Upon the written direction of the 

authorizing agent, hydrolyzed remains may 

take various forms. 

(6) "Hydrolysis container," as defined by G.S. 90-

210.136(a)(2), shall be made of biodegradable 

material and also shall comply with the 

provisions of G.S. 90-210.121(9)f. 

(7) "Hydrolysis chamber," "hydrolysis unit," or 

"hydrolysis vessel" means the enclosed space 

within which the hydrolysis process occurs. 

Hydrolysis chambers regulated by Article 13F, 

Chapter 90, of the North Carolina General 

Statutes shall be used exclusively for the 

hydrolysis of human remains. 

(8) "Hydrolyzed remains" means all human 

remains recovered after the completion of the 

hydrolysis process, including pulverization, 

that leaves only bone fragments reduced to 

unidentifiable dimensions. 

(9) "Hydrolysis facility" or "hydrolysis center" 

means the building or buildings, or portion of a 

building or buildings, on a contiguous piece of 

property that houses the hydrolysis equipment, 

the holding and processing facilities, the 

business offices, and any other components of 

the hydrolysis business. 

(10) "Hydrolysis interment container" means a rigid 

outer container composed of concrete, steel, 

fiberglass, or some similar material in which an 

urn is placed prior to being interred in the 

ground and which is designed to withstand 

prolonged exposure to the elements and to 

support the earth above the urn. 

(11) "Hydrolysis manager" means the person who is 

responsible for the management and operation 

of the hydrolysis facility. A hydrolysis manager 

shall meet the same minimum requirements for 

a "crematory manager" as set forth in G.S. 90-

210.121(13). 

(12) "Hydrolysis society" means any person, firm, 

corporation, or organization that is affiliated 

with a hydrolysis licensee licensed under 

Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North Carolina 

General Statutes and provides hydrolysis 

information to consumers. 

(13) "Hydrolysis technician" means any employee 

of a hydrolysis licensee who has a certificate 

confirming that the hydrolysis technician has 

attended a training course approved by the 

Board. 

(14) "Resomation" shall have the same meaning as 

"alkaline hydrolysis" as defined by G.S. 90-

210.136(a)(1). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.136; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Adoption Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0201 HOLDING FACILITY; 

CREMATION OR HYDROLYSIS UNIT; PROCESSORS 

(a)  Every crematory licensee shall have the following: 

(1) a holding facility of suitable size to 

accommodate all human remains which are 

retained and awaiting cremation; 

(2) a commercially-manufactured cremation unit, 

within the crematory facility, made for the 

cremation of human remains, meeting the 

following minimum standards: 

(A) an ash collection pan that is designed 

for the purpose of removing cremated 

remains from the cremation unit and to 

minimize the commingling of 

cremated remains of one human 

remains with another; 

(B) a hearth or floor that has been 

maintained in accordance with 

recommended maintenance 
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requirements specified by the 

machine's manufacturer or other 

maintenance service representative;  

(C) a door safety switch to stop the burner 

operation when the front charging 

door is opened; 

(D) a pollution monitoring system to 

monitor and detect smoke when the 

density exceeds applicable federal and 

state standards, whereupon the system 

will automatically stop the burner 

operation on a time setting of not less 

than three minutes; and 

(E) approval by a testing agency such as 

Underwriters Laboratory. 

(3) a commercially-manufactured processor, 

within the crematory facility, made for the 

pulverization of cremated or hydrolyzed 

remains, meeting the following minimum 

standards: 

(A) capable of processing cremated or 

hydrolyzed remains to unidentifiable 

dimensions; 

(B) a dust-resistant processing chamber; 

and 

(C) an exterior surface made of non-

porous, non-corrosive material. 

(b)  Every hydrolysis licensee shall have the following: 

(1) a holding facility of suitable size to 

accommodate all human remains which are 

retained and awaiting hydrolysis; 

(2) a commercially-manufactured hydrolysis unit, 

within the hydrolysis facility, made for 

hydrolyzing human remains, and which meets 

the following minimum standards: 

(A) a collection pan, tray, or other device 

that is designed for the purpose of 

removing hydrolyzed remains from 

the hydrolysis unit and to minimize the 

commingling of hydrolyzed remains 

of one human remains with another; 

and 

(B) approval by a testing company, such 

as Underwriters Laboratory.  

(3) a commercially-manufactured processor, 

within the hydrolysis facility, that shall meet the 

same minimum standards set forth in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.121(11); 90-

210.129(i),(j), 90-210.124(a); 90-210-136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Recodified from Rule .0202 Eff. July 7, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0202 REFRIGERATION 

(a)  Crematory and hydrolysis licensees shall have a refrigeration 

unit capable of storing at least three adult human bodies, each 

measuring up to seven feet in length and three hundred pounds in 

weight, in the holding facility. Each refrigeration unit required by 

this Rule shall be capable of maintaining an interior temperature 

of 40 degrees Fahrenheit while loaded with the maximum number 

of bodies for which it is designed; shall be a sealed concrete, 

stainless steel, galvanized, aluminum, or other flooring in walk-in 

units; and shall be stainless steel, aluminum, or other non-

corrosive materials for the remainder of all units. 

(b)  Unembalmed human remains retained in the custody of a 

crematory or hydrolysis licensee for more than 24 hours prior to 

cremation or hydrolysis shall be kept in a refrigeration unit.  

(c)  The provisions of this Rule shall not be construed to require a 

crematory facility and hydrolysis facility that share common 

ownership and are located on a single contiguous piece of 

property to maintain more than one refrigeration unit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.121(9),(12); 

90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Recodified from Rule .0201 Eff. July 7, 1992; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0205 LABELS 

In addition to the requirements of G.S. 90-210.29A, the crematory 

or hydrolysis licensee shall attach a typed or printed label to the 

initial container, urn or other permanent container at the time the 

cremated or hydrolyzed remains are placed therein. If an inside 

and outside container are used, then both shall be labelled. The 

label shall contain the name of the decedent, the date of cremation 

or hydrolysis, and the name of the crematory or hydrolysis 

licensee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.126; 90-210.134(a); 

90.210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0206 CLEANLINESS 

All areas of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee facilities devoted 

to the reception, storage and cremation or hydrolysis of human 

remains and to the pulverization and delivery of cremated or 

hydrolyzed remains, and all equipment located therein, shall be 

kept free of stains, disintegration, debris, and uncontained fluids 

and subject to inspection by the Board or its agents at all times. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.121(11); 90-

210.129(i),(j); 90-210.124(a); 90.210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0207 REMOVAL OF PACEMAKERS 

OR OTHER IMPLANTED DEVICES; AUTOPSIED 

REMAINS; COMMUNICABLE DISEASES 

(a)  No person other than an individual who is licensed by the 

Board as either an embalmer or funeral service licensee shall 

remove a pacemaker, defibrillator, or any other implanted device 

or material that must be removed from human remains prior to 

cremation or hydrolysis as set forth in G.S. 90-210.129(d). Any 

such device or material that must be removed pursuant to G.S. 90-

210.129(d) shall be removed in accordance with the guidelines set 

by the manufacturer thereof.  

(b)  No person other than an individual who is licensed by the 

Board as either an embalmer or funeral service licensee shall 

handle, treat, or otherwise prepare for cremation or hydrolysis the 

viscera removed from human remains as the result of an autopsy. 

(c)  An hydrolysis licensee shall not remove from the outer case 

required by G.S. 130A-395(b) and 10A NCAC 41A .0212, or to 

hydrolyze, any decedent who is known or suspected to have been 

infected with the plague, smallpox, COVID-19, or severe acute 

respiratory syndrome (SARS), without first obtaining the written 

consent of the local health director. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.125; 90-210.129; 90-

210.134; 90-210.136(d),(h); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Adoption Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0303 RECORDS OF CREMATION OR 

HYDROLYSIS AND DELIVERY 

(a)  All crematory or hydrolysis licensees shall complete receipts 

for human remains on Board forms and shall include the following 

information:  

(1) name of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee; 

(2) first, middle, and last name of the decedent; 

(3) date and time of death; 

(4) date and time the human remains were 

delivered to the crematory or hydrolysis 

licensee; 

(5) any affiliation by the person delivering remains 

with a funeral establishment or an individual 

licensed to practice funeral service under the 

provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2), or 

crematory; 

(6) any affiliation with the crematory or hydrolysis 

licensee; and 

(7) first, middle, and last name and signature of the 

employee or agent of the crematory or 

hydrolysis licensee who received the human 

remains. 

Every crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall furnish this receipt 

to the person who delivers the human remains to the crematory or 

hydrolysis licensee. 

(b)  All records documenting the release of human remains from 

a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to the person who receives the 

cremated or hydrolyzed remains shall be completed on Board 

forms and shall include the following information:  

(1) name of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee; 

(2) first, middle, and last name of the decedent; 

(3) date and time of release; 

(4) first, middle, and last name of the person who 

received the cremated or hydrolyzed remains; 

(5) place where cremated or hydrolyzed remains 

were received; 

(6) any affiliation by the person receiving remains 

with a funeral establishment or an individual 

licensed to practice funeral service under the 

provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2) or other 

entity; and 

(7) signatures of the person delivering the remains 

and recipient of remains, and any mailing or 

handling instructions. 

Crematory and hydrolysis licensees must provide evidence by 

signature or shipping receipt upon delivery of the cremated or 

hydrolyzed remains. 

(c)  All records documenting the release of human remains from 

a funeral establishment or an individual licensed to practice 

funeral service under the provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2) 

("unaffiliated practitioner") to the person who receives the 

cremated or hydrolyzed remains shall be completed on Board 

forms and shall include the following information:  

(1) name of the funeral establishment or 

unaffiliated practitioner; 

(2) first, last, and middle name of the decedent; 

(3) date and time of release; 

(4) person to whom the remains were released; 

(5) type of container in which the remains were 

released; 

(6) signatures of the parties delivering and 

receiving remains; and 

(7) any shipping or special handling instructions. 

Funeral establishments must provide evidence by signature or 

shipping receipt upon delivery of the cremated or hydrolyzed 

remains. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply when 

the funeral establishment and crematory or hydrolysis licensee 

share common ownership and are physically located within one 

or more buildings on a contiguous piece of property that would 

qualify the funeral establishment to use "crematory," 

"crematorium," "cremation center," "hydrolysis facility," or 

"hydrolysis center" in its operating name; provided, however, that 

the crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall comply with 

Paragraphs (a), (b), and (d) or (e) of this Rule. 

(d)  All records documenting the process of cremation or 

hydrolysis from the time the remains are received at the crematory 

or hydrolysis licensee facility until the cremated or hydrolyzed 

remains are delivered, all crematory or hydrolysis licensees shall 

keep records on Board forms and shall include the following 

information:  
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(1) first, middle, and last name of the crematory or 

hydrolysis licensee; 

(2) first, middle, and last name of the decedent; 

(3) description of the cremation or hydrolysis 

container used; 

(4) time and date the decedent was placed into the 

cremation or hydrolysis unit; 

(5) first, middle, and last name of person who 

placed the deceased in the cremation or 

hydrolysis unit; 

(6) time and date the cremated or hydrolyzed 

remains were removed from the cremation or 

hydrolysis unit; 

(7) type of container in which the cremated or 

hydrolyzed remains were placed; 

(8) time and date the cremated or hydrolyzed 

remains were processed; and 

(9) first, middle, and last name and signature of the 

person who processed the cremated or 

hydrolyzed remains and placed them into a 

container. 

The crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall furnish this 

information to a funeral establishment, an individual licensed to 

practice funeral service under the provisions of G.S. 90-

210.25(a2)(2), authorizing agent, or other person or entity 

authorized to receive the cremated or hydrolyzed remains from 

the crematory or hydrolysis licensee. 

(e)  In lieu of the separate forms required by Paragraphs (a), (b), 

and (d) of this Rule, a crematory or hydrolysis licensee may use a 

form prescribed by the Board that combines all information 

required by Paragraphs (a), (b), and (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  The crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall retain the 

completed forms required by this Rule for a period of three years 

and shall produce all cremation or hydrolysis forms for inspection 

or copying by the Board or its agents upon request. Unless 

otherwise permitted by this Rule, the funeral establishment or 

individual licensed to practice funeral service under the 

provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2) shall retain a completed copy 

of each form required by this Rule and shall produce the forms for 

inspection or copying to the Board or its agents upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 

90.210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0306 RETENTION OF RECORDS 

A copy of all death certificates, cremation or hydrolysis 

authorizations, waivers, statements, reports and other documents 

required by G.S. 90-210.120 through G.S. 90-210.134 and by the 

rules in this Subchapter shall be retained by the crematory or 

hydrolysis licensee and the funeral establishment or individual 

licensed to practice funeral service under the provisions of G.S. 

90-210.25(a2)(2) for a period of three years and shall, during that 

period, be subject to inspection by the Board or its agents. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 

90.210.136(d),(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. March 13, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 37 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR NURSING 

HOME ADMINISTRATOR 

 

21 NCAC 37D .0202 INITIAL LICENSURE FEE 

Prior to licensure, the applicant shall send an initial licensure non-

refundable fee of six hundred dollars ($600.00) when the 

applicant has passed the examinations required by the Board 

under Sections .0600 and .0700 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; December 15, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 30, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120 days 

to expire on November 9, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; October 1, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0302 Eff. April 

1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; 

July 1, 2000. 

 

21 NCAC 37D .0402 APPLICATION TO BECOME 

ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING (AIT) 

(a)  The applicant shall submit to the Board an application 

containing: 

(1) name; 

(2) education; 

(3) employment history; 

(4) questions pertaining to moral character; 

(5) criminal history; and 

(6) an affidavit stating that the applicant if granted 

a license, shall obey the laws of the state and the 

rules of the Board, and shall maintain the honor 

and dignity of the profession. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit a resume. 

(c)  The applicant shall submit three reference forms (one 

employer and two character) as set forth in Rule .0203 of this 

Subchapter: 
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(1) the Employer Reference Form shall include the 

address of employment and duties assigned; 

and 

(2) the Character Reference Form shall include 

how this individual knows the applicant and 

whether the applicant is capable to supervise 

the care of residents of a skilled facility. No 

character reference shall be from a relative of 

the applicant. 

(d)  The applicant shall submit an official transcript issued by the 

institution indicating the courses completed and hours earned, 

specifying whether semester or quarter hours. The applicant shall 

supply documentation of his or her supervisory experience in a 

nursing home if the applicant is utilizing the experience substitute 

for the education requirement as allowed by G.S. 90-278(1)b. 

(e)  The applicant and the preceptor shall appear before the Board 

for a personal interview. 

(f)  The preceptor shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to 

the personal interview: 

(1) a Facility Survey Form stating the facility 

license number, address, and the number of 

beds; 

(2) a letter accepting the individual as an AIT; 

(3) a Preceptor Disclosure Form stating number of 

years the individual has served as an 

administrator and number of AITs precepted; 

(4) a curriculum outline for the AIT program that 

provides the AIT with job experience in each 

department. A curriculum outline shall include 

each department in the facility and the 

information that will be covered, including the 

recommended number of weeks in the program 

as outlined on the AIT Curriculum Request and 

Rationale Form; 

(5) an AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale 

Form shall be based on education and 

experience of the AIT applicant. The preceptor 

shall be responsible for providing a rationale for 

all subject areas with the recommended number 

of weeks for the AIT; and 

(6) the directions to the facility. 

(g)  The owner or governing board of the facility shall submit to 

the Board three weeks prior to the personal interview a letter of 

approval for the AIT applicant to train in the facility. 

(h)  A non-refundable processing fee of three hundred dollars 

($300.00) shall be submitted with the application. 

(i)  An AIT applicant shall maintain at all times a current 

residential mailing address with the Board office. 

(j)  The applicant may obtain an application and forms from the 

Board's website or from the Board office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-

288.01; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; 

May 1, 1989; 

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0502 Eff. April 

1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004; April 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 37E .0102 APPLICATION CONTENTS 

An applicant for reciprocity endorsement shall submit the 

following items that shall be received by the Board three weeks 

prior to the next scheduled Board Meeting posted on the Board's 

website: 

(1) a completed application; 

(2) a resume; 

(3) certified college transcript(s); 

(4) three reference forms (one employer and two 

character) located on the Board's website as set 

forth in Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203: 

(a) the Employer Reference Form shall 

include the address of employment 

and duties assigned; and 

(b) the Character Reference Form shall 

include how the individual knows the 

applicant and whether the applicant is 

capable of supervising the care of 

residents of a skilled facility. No 

character reference shall be from a 

relative of the applicant. 

(5) a licensing questionnaire(s) from every state 

where the applicant held a license. The 

questionnaire is available on the Board's 

website; 

(6) a non-refundable processing fee of three 

hundred dollars ($300.00); and 

(7) a fingerprint card, necessary forms, and 

required fee for criminal background check. 

The forms and fees for the criminal background 

check is available in the Board office and on the 

Board's website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-287; 90-

288.01; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; 

May 1, 1989; 

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0912(b) Eff. 

April 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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21 NCAC 37F .0102 ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY 

LICENSE 

(a)  An applicant for a temporary license shall submit the 

following items: 

(1) a completed application; 

(2) a resume; 

(3) three reference forms (one employer and two 

character) located on the Board's website as set 

forth in Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203: 

(A) the Employer Reference Form shall 

include the address of employment 

and duties assigned; and 

(B) the Character Reference Form shall 

include how the individual knows the 

applicant and whether the applicant is 

capable of supervising the care of 

residents of a skilled facility. No 

character reference shall be from a 

relative of the applicant; 

(4) a letter from the owner or regional manager 

requesting the issuance of a Temporary License 

for the facility stating the circumstances 

necessitating the issuance of the license; and 

(5) the processing fee of five hundred dollars 

($500.00). 

(b)  After an applicant is issued a temporary license he or she shall 

submit a fingerprint card, necessary forms, and the required fee 

for a criminal background check, and pass the state examination 

administered by the Board at the next exam date to retain the 

temporary license. The forms and fees for the criminal 

background check is available in the Board office and on the 

Board's website. 

(c)  A temporary license may be extended at the discretion of the 

Board in accordance with the requirements of Rule .0101(d) of 

this Section. 

(d)  A temporary license shall be issued to the applicant to permit 

him or her to practice only in the nursing home to which the 

applicant is assigned on the date of issuance. 

(e)  If the Board extends the temporary license, no further fee shall 

be required. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-

288.01; 

Eff. February 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 15, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .1003 Eff. April 

1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 37G .0102 RENEWAL FEE 

Upon making application for renewal, a licensee shall pay a 

biennial licensure fee of six hundred dollars ($600.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-286; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 

Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120 days 

to expire on November 9, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; 

October 1, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0904 Eff. April 

1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 37G .0402 VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 

Any licensee requesting verification of a license shall submit to 

the Board the following: 

(1) A written request, including the contact 

information and jurisdiction that the Board is to 

send the verification; and 

(2) A non-refundable fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280(d); 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Subchapter and 

to all forms prescribed pursuant to this Chapter: 

(1) "Assessment" means a quiz or evaluation that 

tests a student's mastery of the learning 

objective. 

(2) "Blended learning" means any combination of 

distance education, synchronous distance 

learning, and in-person methods of instruction. 

(3) "Branch location" means any location in 

addition to the principal address of an education 

provider that offers Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing Courses. 

(4) "Continuing education" means a continuing 

education elective or Update Course. 

(5) "Distance education" means a method of 

instruction accomplished through the use of 

media whereby teacher and student are 

separated by distance and time. 

(6) "End-of-course examination" means an 

examination administered at the conclusion of 

a course that tests students' knowledge and 

mastery of all course subjects mandated by the 

Commission prescribed course syllabus. 
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(7) "Instructional hour" means 50 minutes of 

instruction and 10 minutes of break time. 

(8) "Instructor development program" means 

courses of instruction designed to assist real 

estate instructors in the performance of 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or continuing 

education instructor duties or in the 

development of teaching skills. 

(9) "Learning objective" means a statement of what 

a student will be able to do after completing a 

unit or course. A learning objective shall be 

structured in accordance with Bloom's 

Taxonomy. 

(10) "License Examination Performance Record" 

means the percentage of an instructor's or 

education provider's students who, within 30 

days of completing a Prelicensing course 

pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0207(a), take and 

pass the license examination, as defined in 21 

NCAC 58A .0402, on their first attempt. 

(11) "Postlicensing course" means any one of the 

courses comprising the 90 hour Postlicensing 

education program pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(a1) 

and 21 NCAC 58A .1902. 

(12) "Prelicensing course" means a single course 

consisting of at least 75 hours of instruction on 

subjects prescribed by the Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(a). 

(13) "Public education provider" means any 

proprietary business or trade school licensed by 

the State Board of Community Colleges under 

G.S. 115D-90 or approved by the Board of 

Governors of the University of North Carolina 

that conducts approved real estate courses. 

(14) "Syllabus" means a document that includes 

each topic and subtopic addressed during the 

course and for each topic and subtopic 

describes the scope and depth of coverage, 

timing, and references to course materials, and 

also demonstrates opportunities for student 

interactions throughout the course, such as 

discussion boards, chat areas, group activities, 

and quizzes. 

(15) "Synchronous distance learning" means the 

instructor and students are separated only by 

distance and not time, allowing for real-time 

monitoring of student participation. 

(16) "Update Courses" means the General Update 

Course and the Broker-in-Charge Update 

Course. 

(17) "Unit" means a segment of distance education 

that is based upon a topic or subtopic in the 

course syllabus that lasts no longer than one 

hour. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-32; 93A-33; 93A-

38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

21 NCAC 58H .0204 POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

DISCLOSURE 

(a)  An education provider shall publish to prospective students 

and provide to all students upon enrollment a Policies and 

Procedures Disclosure. 

(b)  In addition to the information required by G.S. 93A-34(c)(5), 

an education provider's Policies and Procedures Disclosure shall 

include: 

(1) the name and address of the Commission, along 

with a statement that any complaints 

concerning the education provider or its 

instructors should be directed to the 

Commission; 

(2) a statement that the education provider shall not 

discriminate in its admissions policy or practice 

against any person on the basis of age, sex, race, 

color, national origin, familial status, handicap 

status, or religion; 

(3) the education provider's most recent annual 

License Examination Performance Record and 

the Annual Summary Report data as published 

by the Commission; 

(4) the all-inclusive tuition and fees for each 

particular course; 

(5) a written course cancellation and refund policy;  

(6) a list of all course and reference materials 

required; 

(7) the course completion requirements pursuant to 

Rule .0207 of this Section and 21 NCAC 58A 

.1705; and 

(8) a signed certification acknowledging the 

student's receipt of the Policies and Procedures 

Disclosure prior to payment of any portion of 

tuition or registration fee without the right to a 

full refund. 

(c)  In addition to the information required in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule and G.S. 93A-34(c)(5), an education provider offering 

distance education, synchronous distance learning, or blended 

learning courses shall include: 

(1) a list of hardware and software or other 

equipment necessary to offer and complete the 

course; 

(2) the contact information for technical support; 

and 

(3) a description of how the end-of-course 

examination shall be administered to the 

student. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0205 COURSE MATERIALS 

(a)  All courses shall have course materials that cover current 

North Carolina real estate related laws, rules, and practices. The 

nature and depth of subject matter coverage shall be consistent 

with the competency and instructional levels prescribed by the 

syllabus for the course for which approval is sought. 
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(b)  Postlicensing courses shall utilize the current edition of the 

North Carolina Real Estate Manual. The North Carolina Real 

Estate Manual may be purchased on the Commission's website in 

electronic format for twenty five dollars ($25.00) per license year 

and as a print publication for fifty dollars ($50.00). 

(c)  Education providers shall verify each student has the course 

materials no later than the first class session. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0207 COURSE COMPLETION 

CERTIFICATES AND REPORTS 

(a)  For each Prelicensing course taught, an education provider 

shall provide a course completion certificate within 180 days of 

enrollment that is signed by the education director to each student 

that: 

(1) in synchronous distance learning and in-person 

courses attend at least 80 percent of all 

scheduled instructional hours or in distance 

education completes all units and assessments; 

and 

(2) obtains a grade of at least a 75 percent on the 

end-of-course examination. 

(b)  For each Postlicensing course taught, an education provider 

shall provide a course completion certificate within 180 days of 

enrollment that is signed by the education director to each student 

that: 

(1) in synchronous distance learning and in-person 

courses attend at least 90 percent of all 

scheduled instructional hours or in distance 

education completes all units and assessments; 

and 

(2) obtains a grade of at least a 75 percent on the 

end-of-course examination. 

(c)  The end-of-course examination shall be proctored and 

students shall not use textbooks or other materials on the end-of-

course examination. End-of-course examinations administered in 

a distance education, blended learning, or synchronous distance 

learning course shall include proctoring or other security 

measures designed to verify the identity of the student taking the 

examination and ensure that students are not using textbooks or 

other materials on the end-of-course examination. 

(d)  For each continuing education course taught, an education 

provider shall provide a course completion certificate signed by 

the education director to each student that meets the requirements 

of 21 NCAC 58A .1705. 

(e)  The course completion certificate shall identify the course, 

date of completion, student, and instructor. 

(f)  An education director shall submit a Course Completion 

Report within seven calendar days of any student completing any 

real estate course pursuant to the education provider's Policies and 

Procedures Disclosure. The Course Completion Report shall 

include: 

(1) each student's legal name; 

(2) each student's email address and telephone 

number; 

(3) each student's unique identification number, if 

reporting a Prelicensing course; 

(4) each student's real estate broker license number, 

if applicable; 

(5) the course completion date; 

(6) the education provider's name and number; 

(7) the course number; and 

(8) the instructor's name and number. 

(g)  For each Prelicensing or Postlicensing course taught, an 

education director shall submit a Summary Report no later than 

the fifth day of the month. The Summary Report shall contain the 

previous month's data. The Summary Report shall include the: 

(1) name of the instructor(s); 

(2) title of course(s); 

(3) number of students who paid tuition in each 

course and did not receive a refund; 

(4) number of students who met all course 

requirements pursuant to Paragraph (a) and (b) 

of this Rule; and 

(5) number of students who satisfied 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (b)(1) of this Rule but 

did not satisfy Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (b)(2) 

of this Rule. 

(h)  Education providers shall electronically submit the per 

student fee prescribed by G.S. 93A-4(a2) and G.S. 93A-38.5(d). 

No fee shall be required for public education providers or an 

agency of federal, state, or local government. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0209 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 

OF EDUCATION PROVIDER CERTIFICATION 

(a)  All education provider and public education provider 

certifications shall expire annually on June 30 following 

certification. 

(b)  An education provider or public education provider seeking 

renewal of its certification shall submit an electronic application 

which shall include the following information: 

(1) the education provider or public education 

provider's: 

(A) name; 

(B) number; 

(C) mailing address; 

(D) telephone number; and 

(E) website address, if applicable; and 

(2) the education director's name and signature; 

(3) all approved real estate courses offered; 

(4) a copy of the education provider's Policies and 

Procedures Disclosure, if applicable; 

(5) proof of bond as required in G.S. 93A-36, if 

applicable; and 

(6) a certification that the course meets the 

requirements of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Public education providers shall not be charged any fees to 

renew the education provider certification or course renewal. 

(d)  The education provider certification renewal fee shall be one 

hundred dollars ($100.00) for each education provider location. 
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(e)  The renewal fee for an education provider to offer a 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing course at any of its locations during 

the licensed period shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing course. 

(f)  The renewal fee for an education provider to renew an 

approved continuing education elective course shall be fifty 

dollars ($50.00) per elective course. 

(g)  The materials fee for an education provider to renew an 

Update course approval shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(h)  If an education provider or public education provider 

certification has expired, the education provider shall submit an 

application for original certification pursuant to Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter. 

(i)  Commission approval of all continuing education courses shall 

expire on June 30. In order to obtain approval for an expired 

continuing education course, an education provider shall submit 

an original application pursuant to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter. 

(j)  If an education provider transfers an aggregate of 50 percent 

or more of the ownership interest, the education provider shall 

notify the Commission in writing within 10 days of the transfer. 

(k)  On or before July 1, 2021, all education providers shall 

modify approved courses to comply with this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(f); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-

34(b); 93A-35(b); 93A-36; 93A-38.5(d); 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020; July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0401 APPROVAL OF A REAL 

ESTATE EDUCATION COURSE 

(a)  Prior to obtaining the Commission's written approval of a real 

estate education course, education providers shall not offer, 

advertise, or otherwise represent that any real estate education 

course is, or may be, approved for credit in North Carolina. 

(b)  An education provider seeking original approval of a 

proposed course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website that requires the applicant to set 

forth: 

(1) the title of the proposed course; 

(2) the education provider's legal name, address, 

and telephone number; 

(3) the education director's legal name and 

signature; 

(4) the education provider's number; 

(5) the credit hours awarded for completing the 

course; 

(6) the subject matter of the course; 

(7) the identity of the course owner; 

(8) the written permission of the course owner, if 

other than the applicant; 

(9) the identity of prospective instructors; 

(10) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will proctor the end-of-

course examination for Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses;  

(11) a description of the mechanism used for 

verification of possession of required course 

materials; and 

(12) a copy of the course guide, which shall include: 

(A) course objectives; 

(B) learning objectives for each topic; 

(C) a course syllabus; 

(D) instructional methods and aids to be 

employed; and 

(E) all course materials that will be 

provided to students. 

(c)  An applicant seeking approval to offer a distance education 

course shall submit an application for original approval pursuant 

to Paragraph (b) of this Rule as well as: 

(1) a full copy of the course on the medium to be 

utilized for instruction; 

(2) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will verify and record 

student attendance; 

(3) a list of hardware and software or other 

equipment necessary to both offer and complete 

the course; 

(4) the contact information for the technical 

support service for the course; 

(5) all hardware and software necessary to review 

the submitted course at the expense of the 

applicant; and 

(6) an outline demonstrating the course meets the 

minimum course hours measured by a reading 

speed of 225 words per minute and the actual 

duration of audio and video files. 

(d)  An applicant seeking approval to offer a synchronous distance 

learning course shall submit an application for original approval 

pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule as well as: 

(1) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will verify and record 

student attendance; 

(2) a list of hardware and software or other 

equipment necessary to both offer and complete 

the course; and 

(3) the contact information for the technical 

support service for the course. 

(e)  An applicant seeking approval to offer a blended learning 

course shall submit an application for original approval pursuant 

to Paragraph (b) of this Rule as well as the additional information 

pursuant to Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, as applicable, for 

each instructional method. 

(f)  An application pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall not 

be approved by the Commission if: 

(1) the course cannot be reviewed in its entirety; or 

(2) the course does not meet the minimum course 

hours pursuant to G.S. 93A-4 and 21 NCAC 

58A .1702 measured by a reading speed of 225 

words per minute and the actual duration of 

audio and video files. 

(g)  An education provider seeking approval to offer a currently 

approved course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website that requires the applicant to set 

forth the: 

(1) title of the course; 

(2) applicant's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) applicant's education director's legal name; 
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(4) applicant's education provider number; 

(5) identity of the course owner; 

(6) written permission of the course owner, if other 

than the applicant; 

(7) identity of prospective instructors; 

(8) certification that the originally approved course 

will not be altered;  

(9) a description of the mechanism used for 

verification of possession of required course 

materials; 

(10) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will proctor the end-of-

course examination for Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses; 

(11) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will verify and record 

student attendance; 

(12) education director's signature; and 

(13) for synchronous distance learning courses: 

(A) a list of hardware and software or 

other equipment necessary to both 

offer and complete the course; and 

(B) the contact information for the 

technical support service for the 

course. 

(f)  An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar 

($100.00) fee for each application submitted pursuant to 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule for any continuing education course. 

The application shall be deemed approved ten business days after 

the Commission has received the application and fee, unless the 

Commission notifies the applicant otherwise. 

(g)  An education provider shall submit a forty dollar ($40.00) fee 

per Prelicensing or Postlicensing course offered at any of its 

branch locations. No fee shall be required for public education 

providers or an agency of federal, state, or local government. 

(h)  An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar 

($100.00) fee per elective course. No fee shall be required for 

public education providers or an agency of federal, state, or local 

government. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-

34; 93A-38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0415 DISTANCE EDUCATION 

COURSES 

(a)  At the beginning of a course, distance education courses shall 

include an orientation that: 

(1) explains the course syllabus; 

(2) identifies all required materials and resources, 

if any; 

(3) states the maximum time a student is allowed to 

complete the course; and 

(4) instructs students on how to navigate within the 

course. 

(b)  Distance education courses shall include a navigation menu 

within the course platform that allows students to access the: 

(1) instructor's name and contact information; 

(2) course syllabus and schedule; 

(3) course materials, if any; 

(4) Policies and Procedures Disclosure pursuant to 

Rule .0204 of this Section; and 

(5) contact information for the course's technical 

support. 

(c)  Distance education courses shall be divided into units and 

students shall complete an assessment for each unit prior to 

beginning the subsequent unit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-

34; 93A-38.5; 

Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission February 18, 2021 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 February 18, 2021 March 18, 2021 
 April 15, 2021 May 20, 2021 
 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 18, 2021 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Department of Public Safety – 14B NCAC 19A .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104; 19B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, 0105, 

.0106, .0107; 19C .0101 (Reeder) 
B. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06B .0114 (Snyder)   
C. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06D .0307, .0308, .0311; 06E .0204, .0206; 06G .0508 (Snyder)   
D. State Board of Education – 16 NCAC 06D .0309 (Snyder) 
E. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 02E .0204, .0206, .0225 (May) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between December 22, 2020 through January 20, 2021 

• Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board (Snyder) 

• Commission for Mental Health, Development Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services (Snyder) 

• Industrial Commission (Reeder) 

• Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission (May) 

• Department of Environmental Quality (Reeder) 

• State Board of Education (Snyder) 

• Board of Funeral Service (May) 

• Building Code Council (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, March 18, 2021 
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Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

December 22, 2020 through January 20, 2021 
 

GASOLINE AND OIL INSPECTION BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 42 concern the gasoline and oil inspection board including purpose and definitions (.0100); quality 
of liquid fuel products (.0200); sale of gasoline (.0300); dispensing devices and pumps (.0400); registration and branding 
(.0500); condemned motor fuels and liquid fuels (.0600); and oxygenated gasoline. 

Standard Specifications 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 42 .0201 

MENTAL HEALTH, DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 26F concern controlled substances including schedules of controlled substances (.0100). 

Schedule V 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 26F .0106 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 23A concern workers' compensation rules including administration (.0100); notice of act (.0200); 
insurance (.0300); disability, compensation, fees (.0400); agreements (.0500); claims administration and procedures 
(.0600); appeals (.0700); rules of the commission (.0800); report of earnings (.0900); and preauthorization for medical 
treatment (.1000). 

Contact Information 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0109 

The rules in Subchapter 23B concern tort claims including administration (.0100); claims procedures (.0200); appeals 
to full commission (.0300); appeals to the court of appeals (.0400); and rules of the commission (.0500). 

Contact Information 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0105 

The rules in Subchapter 23G concern the North Carolina Industrial Commission rules for mediated settlement and 
neutral evaluation conferences. 

Duties of Parties, Representatives, and Attorneys 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23G .0104 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 15A concern organization rules: policies and procedures including general provisions (.0100); 
structure (.0200); publications, records, copies (.0300); rule-making (.0400); emergency rules (.0500); declaratory 
rulings (.0600); personnel policies: commission (.0700); adjudication: contested cases (.0800); fiscal rules for local 
boards (.0900); local abc board: personnel policies (.1000); local abc boards: relationship with state commission (.1100); 
openings and discontinuance of stores (.1200); storage and distribution of spirituous liquors: commercial transportation 
(.1300); purchase of alcoholic beverages by local boards (.1400); pricing of spirituous liquor (.1500); warehouse storage 
of spirituous liquors (.1600); retail sales of alcoholic beverages (.1700); purchase transportation permits for individuals 
and mixed beverages permittees (.1800); sales of liquor to mixed beverages permittees (.1900); local board training 
(.2000); distillery permit holders' sale of spirituous liquor distilled on premises to visitors of the distillery for consumption 
off the premises (.2100); special one-time permits (.2200); and homemade wine and malt beverage events (.2300). 
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Records Required 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .1405 

Mixed Beverages Permit/Invoice Form 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .1802 

Delivery of Mixed Beverages Permittee Orders 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .1903 

Transportation of Mixed Beverages Permittee Orders 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .1904 

The rules in Subchapter 15B concern retail beer, wine, mixed beverages, brownbagging, advertising, and special 
permits. The rules include definitions and permit application procedures (.0100); general rules affecting retailers and 
brownbagging permittees (.0200); malt beverages and the wine retailer/wholesaler relationship (.0300); additional 
requirements for brownbagging permittees (.0400); additional requirements for mixed beverages permittees (.0500); 
special requirements for convention centers, community theatres, sports clubs, and nonprofit and political organizations 
(.0600); special occasions permits (.0700); culinary permits (.0800); wine and beer tastings (.0900); advertising (.1000); 
and effect of administrative action, fines, and offers in compromise (.1100). 

Purchase Transportation Permit/Purchase Invoice Form 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15B .0501 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2Q are from the EMC and relate to applying for and obtaining air quality permits and include 
general information (.0100); fees (.0200); application requirements (.0300); acid rain program requirements (.0400); 
establishment of an air quality permitting program (.0500); transportation facility requirements (.0600); toxic air pollutant 
procedures (.0700); exempt categories (.0800); and permit exemptions (.0900). 

Permit and Application Fees 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02Q .0203 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 13 concern Solid Waste Management.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 13B concern Solid Waste Management including general provisions (.0100); permits for solid 
waste management facilities (.0200); treatment and processing facilities (.0300); transfer stations (.0400); disposal sites 
(.0500); monitoring requirements (.0600); administrative penalty procedures (.0700); septage management (.0800); 
yard waste facilities (.0900); solid waste management loan program (.1000); scrap tire management (.1100); medical 
waste management (.1200); disposition of remains of terminated pregnancies (.1300); municipal solid waste compost 
facilities (.1400); standards for special tax treatment of recycling and resource recovery equipment and facilities (.1500); 
requirements for municipal solid waste landfill facilities (.1600); requirements for beneficial use of coal combustion by-
products (.1700); and financial assurance requirements for solid waste management facilities (.1800).  

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1501 

Application Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1502 

Standards for Qualification for Tax Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1503 

Recycling Process 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1504 

Recycling Equipment 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1505 

Incidental or Supportive Facilities and Equipment 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1506 

Operational Requirements for Facilities and Equipment  15A NCAC 13B .1507 
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Readopt/Repeal* 

Application for Tax Certification 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1508 

Severability 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1510 

Facilities for Reducing Hazardous Waste Generated 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1512 

Equipment for Reducing Hazardous Waste Generated 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1513 

Appeals Procedure 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .1514 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 6D cover instruction including curriculum (.0100), textbooks (.0200), testing programs (.0300), 
and accountability standards and graduation requirements (.0500). 

Test Administration 
Repeal* 

 16 NCAC 06D .0302 

Accountability Coordinator 
Repeal* 

 16 NCAC 06D .0303 

End-of-Course Assessments 
Repeal* 

 16 NCAC 06D .0305 

Testing Code of Ethics 
Repeal* 

 16 NCAC 06D .0306 

The rules in Subchapter 6E concern students including attendance (.0100); school athletics and sports medicine (.0200); 
and driver training (.0300); 

Interscholastic Athletics 
Repeal* 

 16 NCAC 06E .0202 

Athletic Injury Management 
Repeal* 

 16 NCAC 06E .0203 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 34A concern board functions including general provisions (.0100); and fees and other payments 
(.0200). 

Waiver 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 34A .0128 

The rules in Subchapter 34B are funeral service rules including rules relating to resident trainees (.0100); examinations 
(.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education (.0400); out-of-state licensees (.0500); funeral establishments (.0600); 
and preparation of dead bodies (.0700). 

Renewals: Notices 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 34B .0308 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Building Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 Chapter 2 

2018 NC Building Code/Residential Care Homes  428.2 
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Amend* 

2018 NC Building Code/Licensed Small Residential Care Fac... 
Amend* 

 428.3 

2018 NC Residential Code/Accessory Structures 
Amend* 

 R101.2.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Demolition 
Adopt* 

 R328 

2018 NC Residential Code/Retaining Walls 
Amend* 

 R404.4 

2018 NC Residential Code/Drip Edge 
Amend* 

 R905.2.8.5 

2018 NC Residential Code/Roof Replacement 
Amend* 

 R908.3 

2018 NC Residential Code/Tying at Corners 
Amend* 

 R4603.6.1 

2018 NC Residential Code/Bracing of Pilings 
Amend* 

 R4603.6.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Compliance 
Amend* 

 N1101.13 (R401.2) 

2018 NC Fire Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 Chapter 2 

2018 NC Fire Code/Ceiling Clearance 
Amend* 

 315.3.1 

2018 NC Fire Code and Building Code/Group A 
Amend* 

 907.2.1 

2018 NC Fire Code/Height 
Adopt* 

 2303.2.1 

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 Chapter 2 

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Carbon Monoxide Alarms in ... 
Amend* 

 402.6 

2018 NC Fuel Gas Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 202 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 Chapter 2 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Water Closets, Urinals, Lavatories ... 
Amend* 

 405.3.1 

2018 NC Administrative Code/Site Address Signage 
Adopt* 

 106.4 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Tenisha Jacobs 

David Sutton    Michael Byrne 

Selina Malherbe    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

     Karlene Turrentine 
 

 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    Published     

 

20 ABC 03351 11/19/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v

. 

Brian Frederick Kee T/A Legends 

Private Club 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

20 CPS 03788 11/18/2020 Jennifer Escobar  v

. 

North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety Victim Services 

Byrne 

  
          

 

20 DHR 02366; 

02367 

11/4/2020 Bio-Medical 

Application of North 

Carolina Inc d/b/a 

BMA of South 

Greensboro; Bio-

Medical Applications 

of North Carolina Inc 

d/b/a Fresenius 

Kidney Care West 

Johnston  

v

. 

NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Health Care Planning & 

Certificate of Need Section 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

19 DOJ 06637 11/9/2020; 

11/25/2020 

Joseph Styons  v

. 

NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

20 DOJ 01368 11/13/2020; 

11/19/2020 

Southeastern Public 

Safety Group Inc 

d/b/a Southeastern 

Company Police  

v

. 

North Carolina Department of Justice, 

Criminal Standards Division Office of 

Company Police Administrator 

Malherbe 

20 DOJ 01662 11/18/2020 William Scherr  v

. 

NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Byrne 

20 DOJ 01745 11/3/2020 Xzabein LaNique 

Carter  

v

. 

NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

20 DOJ 01747 11/20/2020 Ryan Patrick Stotts v

. 

NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 
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20 DOJ 03842 11/25/2020 Dennis Gordon  v

. 

NC Private Protective Services Board Ward 

  
          

 

19 EHR 04806 11/25/2020 Sunset South Owners 

Association  

v

. 

NC Department of Environmental 

Quality, Div of Energy Mineral & Land 

Resources 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

20 INS 01073 11/10/2020 Larry Wilson Wade  v

. 

North Carolina State Health Plan/ Dept 

of State Treasurer 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

19 SOS 04857 11/12/2020 Matthew Wayne 

Webber  

v

. 

Department of the Secretary of State Mann 

  
          

 

  
    Unpublished     

 

20 BAR 03637 11/5/2020 Kareem Abdullah 

Kirk  

v

. 

North Carolina State Bar Malherbe 

  
          

 

20 CRA 01104 11/13/2020 Dustin Jones  v

. 

NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

  
          

 

20 CSE 03220 11/13/2020 Randall L Foxx  v

. 

NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

  
          

 

20 DHR 00815 11/3/2020 Monique Brown 

Parham  

v

. 

DHHS Bawtinhimer 

20 DHR 03015 11/25/2020 Natasha Burnette  v

. 

Department of Health and Human 

Services, Div of Health Service Reg 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

20 DOJ 00888 11/19/2020 Omar Dashajuan 

Knight  

v

. 

NC Private Protective Services Board Byrne 

  
          

 

20 OSP 03553 11/20/2020 Ricardo Peralta  v

. 

Wake County Public Schools Systems Jacobs 

  
          

 

20 UNC 03197 11/23/2020 Jackquelyn Piggott  v

. 

University of North Carolina Hospitals Mann 

 

 


