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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Commerce - Division of Employment Security 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 04 NCAC 24D .0201, .0206, 

amend the rules cited as 04 NCAC 24D .0102, .0202, .0203; 24F 

.0304, and repeal the rules cited as 04 NCAC 24D .0103-.0106; 

and 24F .0303. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://des.nc.gov.des-proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 19, 2021 

Time:  10 a.m. 

Location:  Teleconference: +1 (888) 204-5984 Access Code: 

3069171 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  G.S.§ 96-11.2 provides for the 

allocation of charges to base period employers on a quarterly 

basis. The rules are repealed, amended and adopted to correctly 

reflect the agency's business processes in accordance with the 

statutory requirement. The proposed repeal of Rules 24D .0103, 

24D .0104, 24D .0105, 24D .0106 are in response to changes in 

DES's business processes of no longer accepting requests for 

noncharging from the employer to the list of potential charges, 

and compliance with G.S.§ 96-11.2. Rule 24D .0102 is proposed 

for amendment to accurately reflect the information on the form 

that DES will use to notify the employer of potential benefit 

charges to its account. Rule 24D .0201 is proposed for adoption 

to set forth the notice requirements to employers of the quarterly 

list of charges to the employer's account. Rule 24D .0202 is 

proposed for amendment to notify the employers of the 

requirements for filing a protest to the list of charges to the 

employer's account. Rule 24D .0203 is proposed for amendment 

to set forth the grounds requirements for protesting the benefit 

charges to the employer's account. Rule 24D .0206 is proposed 

for adoption to establish consistency with Rule 24A .0106. 

G.S. 96-4(q) provides for the manner in which the Board of 

Review shall conduct hearings to determine the rights, status, and 

liabilities of an employer. Rule 24F .0303 is proposed for repeal 

due to the changes in the scheduled tax hearings before the Board 

of Review as provided in Rule 24F .0304. Rule 24F .0304 is 

proposed for amendment to accurately reflect compliance with 

the statutory provision of G.S. 96-4(q), and to allow flexibility for 

the hearings. The Rule is also proposed for amendment to provide 

notice to the parties of their rights to object to the venue of the 

hearing designated by the Board of Review and the manner in 

which to object to the designated venue. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Regina S. Adams, Rulemaking 

Coordinator,  N.C. Department of Commerce, Division of 

Employment Security, Legal Services Section, P.O. Box 25903, 

Raleigh, NC 27611; phone (919) 707-1026; fax (919) 733-8745; 

email DES.Rules@nccommerce.com 

 

Comment period ends:  March 5, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 24 - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 24D - TAX ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – REQUESTS FOR NONCHARGING OF 

BENEFIT PAYMENTS 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0102 NOTICE TO EMPLOYER OF 

POTENTIAL CHARGES 

(a)  DES shall notify each employer in writing of potential charges 

to the employer's account. The notice shall contain the: 

(1) date of the notice; 

(2) claimant's name and social security number; 

(3) date the claimant's benefit year began; 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(4) claimant's weekly benefit amount and weekly 

earnings allowance; 

(5) employer's reporting number used to report 

wages for the claimant; 

(6) base period wages reported by the employer by 

calendar quarter and dollar amount; 

(7) employer's percentage of total base period 

wages reported; 

(8) maximum potential charge amount that can be 

applied to the employer's experience rating 

account if the claimant exhausts his or her 

benefits; 

(9) a statement containing the employer's right to 

protest the notice; and 

(10) the time period within which a protest shall be 

filed pursuant to G.S. 96-15(b)(2). a statement 

containing the employer's right to notify the 

Division within 15 days of the mailing date of 

the notice if the claimant did not work for the 

employer or the wages are incorrect. 

(b)  DES shall provide notice of potential charges to the 

employer's account using the following forms, as applicable: 

(1) Notice of Combined Wage Claim and Potential 

Charges to Your Account; 

(2) Notice of Unemployment Claim, Wages 

Reported and Potential Charges; 

(3) Notice of Initial Claim and Potential Charges to 

Reimbursable Employer; 

(4) Notice of Initial Claim and Potential Charges 

for Claimants on Temporary Layoff; Layoff. 

(5) Reversal of Previously Allowed Noncharging; 

(6) Reversal of Previously Denied Noncharging; 

(7) Administrative Determination Disallowing 

Noncharging; or 

(8) List of Charges to Your Account. 

 

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.1; 96-11.2; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 96-15. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0103 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

REQUESTING NONCHARGING OF BENEFIT 

PAYMENTS 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-21.1. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0104 TIME FOR FILING REQUESTS 

FOR NONCHARGING 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-21.1. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0105 DETERMINATION ON 

REQUESTS FOR NONCHARGING 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-21.1. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0106 APPEALING DENIAL OF 

REQUEST FOR NONCHARGING 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-21.1. 

 

SECTION .0200 - ACCOUNT CHARGE PROTESTS 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0201 NOTICE OF EMPLOYER 

QUARTERLY CHARGES 

DES shall notify each employer in writing of the quarterly list of 

charges to the employer's Account using Form NC CLM 626-9 

that shall contain the: 

(1) date of the notice; 

(2) charging quarter ending date; 

(3) employer's name and mailing address; 

(4) claimant's name and social security number; 

(5) date the claimant's benefit year began; 

(6) employer's reporting number used to report 

wages for the claimant; 

(7) benefit charges to the employer for each listed 

claimant; and 

(8) a statement containing the employer's right to 

protest the list of charges. 

 

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 96-1.5; 96-15. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0202 REQUIREMENTS FOR FILING 

PROTESTS TO LIST OF CHARGES 

(a)  An employer who protests the benefit charges to its account 

shall make the protest in writing within 15 30 days of the mailing 

date of the notice of potential charges Form NC CLM 626-9 to 

DES's Claims Unit in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A .0104(s), 

and shall list all grounds for the protest as prescribed under Rule 

.0203 of this Section. 

(b)  Any of the following forms, when completed with the 

information indicated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, shall 

constitute compliance with this Rule: 

(1) Notice of Initial Claim and Potential Charges to Your 

Account; and 

(2) Notice of Combined Wage Claim and Potential 

Charges to Your Account. 

 

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-11.4. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0203 GROUNDS FOR PROTESTING 

LIST OF CHARGES 

An employer shall only file protests for the following reasons: for: 

(1) the reasons set forth in G.S. 96-11.3; 

(1)(2) clerical errors in the list of charges; 

(2)(3) charges resulting from individuals who were 

never employed by the employer; or 

(3)(4) the claimant has new separation from 

employment occurring between the date that the 

claimant's benefit year began and the last week 

ending date for which the claimant was paid 

benefits, and a base period employer did not 

have an opportunity to request noncharging on 

the subsequent separation. 

 

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 96-11.5. 
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04 NCAC 24D .0206 TIME FOR FILING PROTESTS 

AND APPEALS 

The provisions of 04 NCAC 24A .0106 shall apply in determining 

the timeliness of protests and appeals. 

 

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 96-11.5. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 24F – BOARD OF REVIEW 

 

SECTION .0300 – TAX LIABILITY HEARINGS 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0303 TELEPHONE HEARINGS 

BEFORE THE BOARD OF REVIEW 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-21.1. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0304 IN-PERSON HEARINGS 

(a)  A party shall only request an in-person hearing at the time the 

appeal is filed in writing, or by filing a written objection to the 

telephone conference call, received at least seven days before the 

scheduled hearing. 

(a)  Hearings shall be conducted in person by the Board of 

Review, or a Board designee, at the Office of the Board of Review 

in Raleigh, N.C. 

(b)  If travel is required to conduct the in-person hearing, the 

objecting party shall travel to a location convenient to the non-

objecting party, as determined by the Board of Review. 

(b)  Upon good cause, as defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105(28), the 

Board of Review may designate alternate means of hearing. 

(c)  A party may object to the venue of hearing designated by the 

Board. The Board will consider such objection if it is filed with 

the Board within the 10 days of the issuance of a notice of hearing. 

The objection must be in writing and provide good cause as to the 

reason for a request in a change of venue. 

 

Authority G.S. 96-4. 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0905, .0909 and .0915. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 21, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

12NCAC 10B .0905: Updates/corrects the requirements for 

Detention Officer Instructor Certification. 

12NCAC 10B .0909: Updates/corrects the requirements for 

Limited Lecturer Instructor Certification. 

12NCAC 10B .0915: Updates/corrects the requirements for 

Telecommunicator Instructor Certification. 

 

Detention Officer and Telecommunicator Instructor 

Certifications are contingent on General Instructor Certification 

which is issued by and maintained with the Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards Commission. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Diane Konopka, P.O. Box 

629, Raleigh, NC 27602; email dkonopka@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 5, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0900 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR JUSTICE 

OFFICER INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0905 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

DETENTION OFFICER INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

Detention Officer Instructor shall serve a probationary period. 

The probationary period shall be set to expire concurrently with 

the expiration of the instructors' General Instructor Certification 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission. The expiration dates of any 

existing commission-issued Probationary General Detention 

Officer Instructor Certifications shall be set to expire concurrently 
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with the expiration of the instructors' General Instructor 

Certification issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards Commission. If the time-period 

before the expiration date is less than one year, then the eight 

hours of instruction shall be waived for this shortened term and 

Full General Detention Officer Instructor Certification shall be 

issued provided all other conditions for Full status as set out in 

Paragraph (b) of this Section are met. If the applicant has a Full 

General Instructor certification with no expiration date, the 

expiration date for the Probationary Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification shall be set for a period of one year from date of 

issue. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be awarded full Detention 

Officer Instructor Certification at the end of the probationary 

period if the instructors certification required in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0904(a)(2).0904(a) remains valid, and that the instructor through 

application, submits to the Division either: 

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school 

director accompanied by certification on a 

commission Instructor Evaluation Form that the 

instructor satisfactorily taught a minimum of 

eight hours as specified in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule in a basic commission-certified Detention 

Officer Certification Course Course, or in a 

commission recognized Detention Officer In-

Service Course, during his/her probationary 

year; or 

(2) an acceptable written evaluation as specified in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule by a commission 

member or staff member based on an on-site 

classroom evaluation of the probationary 

instructor in a commission-certified Detention 

Officer Certification Course. Such evaluation 

shall be certified on a commission Instructor 

Evaluation Form. In addition, instructors 

evaluated by a commission or staff member 

must also teach a minimum of eight hours in a 

commission-certified Detention Officer 

Certification Course during his/her 

probationary year. 

(c)  The expiration dates of any existing commission-issued Full 

General Detention Officer Instructor Certifications shall be set to 

expire concurrently with the expiration of the instructors' 

Probationary General Instructor Certification issued by the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission. If the time-period before the expiration date shall be 

less than three years, then the 12 hours of instruction shall be 

waived for this shortened term and Full General Detention Officer 

Instructor Certification shall be renewed. If the applicant has a 

Full General Instructor Certification with no expiration date, the 

expiration date for the Full Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification shall be set for a period of three years from the date 

of issue. Full Detention Officer Instructor Certification is 

continuous so long as the instructor's certification required in 12 

NCAC 10B .0904(a)(2) .0904(a) remains valid, and that the 

instructor submits to the Division every three years a renewal 

application which includes either: 

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school 

director accompanied by certification on a 

commission Instructor Evaluation Form that the 

instructor satisfactorily taught a minimum of 12 

hours as specified in Paragraph (e) of this Rule 

in a commission-certified Detention Officer 

Certification Course Course, or in a 

commission recognized Detention Officer In-

Service Course, during the previous two three 

year period. The date full Instructor 

Certification is originally issued shall be the 

anniversary date from which each two three 

year period is figured; or 

(2) an acceptable written evaluation as specified in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule by a commission 

member or staff member based on a minimum 

12 hours, on-site classroom observation of the 

instructor in a commission-certified Detention 

Officer Certification Course. 

(d)  In the event a General Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification (either Probationary or Full) is terminated for failure 

to have been satisfactorily evaluated for 12 hours of instruction in 

a Detention Officer Certification Course, the individual may re-

apply for certification meeting the initial conditions for such 

certification, but must also provide documentation that he/she has 

audited the number of hours of instruction that he/she failed to 

teach in a delivery of an certified Detention Officer Certification 

Course. 

(e)  An Instructor Evaluation Form records a rating of 

instructional ability, student participation, and presentation of the 

lesson plan consistent with the requirements for successfully 

completing the Criminal Justice Instructor Training as set out in 

12 NCAC 09B .0209. 

(1) Instructional ability includes the instructor's: 

(A) voice quality (projection, articulation, 

speech rate); 

(B) verbal skill (fluency and clarity); 

(C) physical appearance and mannerisms 

(attire, posture, body language, eye 

contact, movement); 

(D) personal qualities of the instructor 

(knowledge, self-confidence, tact, 

enthusiasm, sensitivity); and 

(E) selection and use of training aids (use 

of writing surface and other aids, 

effective use of multimedia, 

transparencies, and slides, relates aids 

to objectives, and use of aids when 

scheduled). 

(2) Student participation includes the instructor's: 

(A) use of questions to stimulate and 

encourage discussion and response to 

student questions; 

(B) ability to stimulate and encourage 

class participation, maintain the 

students attention and engagement of 

all students effectively; 

(C) organization in the arrangement of the 

classroom for maximum effect, 

ensuring all training tools/items are 
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ready when needed, and presentation 

for the class lesson; and 

(D) exercise of control and discipline of 

the students to maintain proper 

behavior and orderliness in the 

classroom, ability to remain in control 

during classroom discussions and 

handle of class disruptions and 

problems. 

(3) Presentation of lesson plan includes the 

instructor's: 

(A) full coverage of the lesson plan; 

(B) presentation of information in logical 

sequence; 

(C) timing of presentation to allow for 

sufficient time for questions and 

discussion; 

(D) transition of subjects with continuous 

progression and development of 

lesson; 

(E) emphasis of key points and frequent 

summarization of topics to entire 

lesson or course and use of vivid 

examples to clarify the subjects; and 

(F) frequent establishment of relevance of 

the topics to entire lesson or course 

and use of vivid examples to clarify 

the subjects; and 

(G) consistency of presentation in 

following the lesson plan. 

(f)  Individuals may, for just cause, be granted an extension to 

successfully teach the required minimum number of hours 

instruction on a one-time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For 

purposes of this Rule, just cause means accident, illness, 

emergency, course cancellation, or other exceptional 

circumstances which precluded the instructor from fulfilling the 

teaching requirement. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0909 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF A 

LIMITED LECTURER CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

Limited Lecturer shall serve a probationary period. The expiration 

dates of any existing commission-issued Limited Lecturer 

Certifications, where the individual holds instructor certification 

under the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission, shall be set to expire concurrently with 

the other instructor certification(s) issued by the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 

In the event such instructor does not hold instructor certification 

under the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission, but holds another instructor 

certification(s) issued through this Commission, the expiration 

date shall be set to expire concurrently with the other instructor 

certification(s) issued by this Commission. Where the instructor 

holds no certification through either Commission, certification as 

a Limited Lecturer shall remain effective for 12 months from the 

date of issuance. The lecturer shall apply for Full Limited Lecturer 

Certification at or before the expiration date. If the time-period 

before the expiration date is less than one year, then the four hours 

of instruction shall be waived for this shortened term and Full 

Limited Lecturer Certification shall be issued provided all other 

conditions for Full status as set out in this Section are met. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for full Limited 

Lecturer status at the end of the probationary period if the 

instructor, through application, submits to the Commission: 

(1) documentation on a commission Form LL1 of 

at least four hours of instruction occurring 

within the probationary period in an area of the 

instructor's expertise related to each topic for 

which Limited Lecturer Certification was 

granted; and 

(2) documentation that all other certifications 

required in 12 NCAC 10B .0908 remain valid. 

(c)  The expiration dates of any existing commission-issued Full 

Limited Lecturer Certifications shall be set to expire concurrently 

with the expiration of the corresponding instructors' certification 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission. In the event such instructor does 

not hold instructor certification under the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, but holds 

another instructor certification(s) issued through this 

Commission, the expiration date shall be set to expire 

concurrently with the other instructor certification(s) issued by 

this Commission. The lecturer shall apply for recertification at or 

before the expiration date. If the time period before the expiration 

date is less than three years, then the six hours of instruction shall 

be waived for this shortened term and Full Limited Lecturer 

Instructor Certification will be renewed provided all other 

conditions for Full status as set out in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph are met. Full Limited Lecturer Certification shall be 

continuous so long as the lecturer submits to the Division every 

two three years: 

(1) documentation on a commission Form LL1 of 

at least six hours of instruction occurring within 

the three-year certification period in an area of 

the instructor's expertise related to each topic 

for which Limited Lecturer Certification was 

granted; and 

(2) a renewal application to include documentation 

that all other certifications required in 12 

NCAC 10B .0908 remain valid. 

(d)  In the event a Limited Lecturer Instructor Certification (either 

Probationary or Full) is terminated for failure to have provided 

documentation of the minimum number of hours of instruction 

occurring within the respective certification periods in an area of 

the instructor's expertise related to each topic for which Limited 

Lecturer Certification was granted, the individual may re-apply 

for certification meeting the initial conditions for such 

certification, but must also provide documentation on a 

commission Form LL2 that he/she has audited the number of 

hours of instruction he/she failed to teach in the topic area for 

which Limited Lecturer Certification was granted in the 

respective area of expertise. 

(e)  Individuals may, for just cause, be granted an extension to 

successfully teach the required minimum number of hours 

instruction on a one-time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For 
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purposes of this Rule, just cause means accident, illness, 

emergency, course cancellation, or other exceptional 

circumstances which precluded the instructor from fulfilling the 

teaching requirement. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0915 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

TELECOMMUNICATOR INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

Telecommunicator Instructor shall serve a probationary period. 

The Telecommunicator Instructor Certification probationary 

period shall be set to automatically expire concurrently with the 

expiration of the instructor's General Instructor Certification 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission. The expiration dates of any 

existing commission-issued Probationary General 

Telecommunicator Instructor Certifications shall be set to expire 

concurrently with the expiration of the instructors, instructor's 

Probationary General Instructor Certification issued by the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission. If the time-period before the expiration date is less 

than one year, then the eight hours of instruction shall be waived 

for this shortened term and Full General Telecommunicator 

Instructor Certification shall be issued provided all other 

conditions for Full status as set out in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

are met. If the applicant has a Full General Instructor Certification 

with no expiration date for the Probationary Telecommunicator 

Officer Instructor Certification shall be set for one year from date 

of issue. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be awarded full 

Telecommunicator Instructor Certification at the end of the 

probationary period if the instructor's certification required in 12 

NCAC 10B .0914(a)(2) .0914(a) remains valid, and that the 

instructor through application, submits to the Division either: 

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school 

director accompanied by certification on a 

commission Instructor Evaluation Form that the 

instructor satisfactorily taught a minimum of 

eight hours as specified in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule in a commission-certified 

Telecommunicator Certification Course 

Course, or in a commission recognized 

Telecommunicator In-Service Training Course 

during his/her probationary year; or 

(2) an acceptable written evaluation as specified in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule by a commission 

member or staff member based on an on-site 

classroom evaluation of the probationary 

instructor in a commission-certified 

Telecommunicator Certification Course. Such 

evaluation shall be certified on a commission 

Instructor Evaluation Form. In addition, 

instructors evaluated by a commission or staff 

member must also teach a minimum of eight 

hours in a commission-certified 

Telecommunicator Certification Course during 

his/her probationary year. 

(c)  The expiration dates of any existing commission-issued Full 

General Telecommunicator Instructor Certifications shall be set 

to expire concurrently with the expiration of the instructors' 

Probationary General Instructor Certification issued by the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission. If the time-period before the expiration date is less 

than three years, then the 12 hours of instruction shall be waived 

for this shortened term and Full General Telecommunicator 

Instructor Certification shall be renewed. If the applicant has a 

General Instructor Certification with no expiration date, the 

expiration date for the Full Telecommunicator Officer Instructor 

Certification shall be set for three years from the date of issue. 

Full Telecommunicator Instructor Certification is continuous so 

long as the instructor's certification required in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0904(a)(2) .0904(a) remains valid, and that the instructor submits 

to the Division every three years a renewal application and either: 

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school 

director accompanied by certification on a 

commission Instructor Evaluation Form that the 

instructor satisfactorily taught a minimum of 12 

hours as specified in Paragraph (e) of this Rule 

in a commission-certified Telecommunicator 

Certification Course Course, or a commission 

recognized Telecommunicator In-Service 

Training Course during the previous two pear 

three year period. The date full Instructor 

Certification is originally issued is the 

anniversary date from which each three year 

period is figured; or 

(2) an acceptable written evaluation as specified in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule by a commission 

member or staff member based on a minimum 

12 hours, on-site classroom observation of the 

instructor in a commission-certified 

Telecommunicator Certification Course. 

(d)  In the event a General Telecommunicator Instructor 

Certification (either Probationary or Full) is terminated for failure 

to have been evaluated for the required minimum number of hours 

of instruction in a Telecommunicator Certification Course, the 

individual may re-apply for certification meeting the initial 

conditions for such certification, but must also provide 

documentation that he/she has audited the number of hours of 

instruction that he/she failed to teach in a delivery of a certified 

Telecommunicator Certification Course. 

(e)  An Instructor Evaluation Form records a rating of 

instructional ability, student participation, and presentation of the 

lesson plan consistent with the requirements for successfully 

completing the Criminal Justice Instructor Training as set out in 

12 NCAC 09B .0209. 

(1) Instructional ability includes the instructor's: 

(A) voice quality (projection, articulation, 

speech rate); 

(B) verbal skill (fluency and clarity); 

(C) physical appearance and mannerisms 

(attire, posture, body language, eye 

contact, movement); 

(D) personal qualities of the instructor 

(knowledge, self-confidence, tact, 

enthusiasm, sensitivity); and 
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(E) selection and use of training aids (use 

of writing surface and other aids, 

effective use of multimedia, 

transparencies, and slides, relates aids 

to objectives, and use of aids when 

scheduled). 

(2) Student participation includes the instructor's: 

(A) use of questions to stimulate and 

encourage discussion and response to 

student questions; 

(B) ability to stimulate and encourage 

class participation, maintain the 

students attention and engagement of 

all students effectively; 

(C) organization in the arrangement of the 

classroom for maximum effect, 

ensuring all training tools/items are 

ready when needed, and presentation 

for the class lesson; and 

(D) exercise of control and discipline of 

the students to maintain proper 

behavior and orderliness in the 

classroom, ability to remain in control 

during classroom discussions and 

handle of class disruptions and 

problems. 

(3) Presentation of lesson plan includes the 

instructor's: 

(A) full coverage of the lesson plan; 

(B) presentation of information in logical 

sequence; 

(C) timing of presentation to allow for 

sufficient time for questions and 

discussion; 

(D) transition of subjects with continuous 

progression and development of 

lesson; 

(E) emphasis of key points and frequent 

summarization of topics to reinforce 

learning; 

(F) frequent establishment of relevance of 

the topics to entire lesson or course 

and use of vivid examples to clarify 

the subjects; and 

(G) consistency of presentation in 

following the lesson plan. 

(f)  Individuals may, for just cause, be granted an extension to 

successfully teach the required minimum number of hours 

instruction on a one-time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For 

purposes of this Rule, just cause means accident, illness, 

emergency, course cancellation, or other exceptional 

circumstances which precluded the instructor from fulfilling the 

teaching requirement. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Private Protective Services Board intends to adopt the rule cited 

as 14B NCAC 16 .0708 and amend the rules cited as 14B NCAC 

16 .0105, .0110, .0113, .0201, .0203, .0204, .0404, .0405, .0602, 

.0701, .0703, .0707, .0801, .0807, .0808, .0902, .1203, .1301, and 

.1407. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-commissions/private-

protective-services-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 19, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Virtual Meeting:  Via WebEx number (access code); 

180 377 2325 Meeting password: Z5chTNw43 (95 249486 from a 

telephone) 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  One amendment makes a 

contractor of services liable for acts of a subcontractor (.0105) 

and another amends the reporting requirement rule (.0110) to add 

"subcontractor."  Six rules are amended to allow for LiveScan 

submission of fingerprints.  One amendment adds an exclusion of 

experience while unregistered (.0204).  Two rule amendments 

clarify the report requirement for PIs and the PI badge display 

requirement.  One amendment (.0703) removes "moral turpitude" 

following the legislature's repeal of its use as a grounds for 

denial, supervision or revocation.  .0703 has language deleted 

which is restored in new .0708 and the title of .0808 is amended 

to reflect the correct type permit. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; 

email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 5, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
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 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND GENERAL 

PROVISIONS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0105 PROHIBITED ACTS AND 

ADDITIONAL RESPONSIBILITIES 

(a)  In addition to the prohibited acts set forth elsewhere in these 

Rules and in Chapter 74C of the General Statutes, 

any licensee, trainee, registrant, or firearms trainer who does any 

of the following may have his or her license, 

trainee permit, registration, or firearms trainer certificate revoked 

or suspended: 

(1) Displays or causes or allows to be displayed, or 

has in his or her possession any cancelled, 

revoked, suspended, fictitious, or fraudulently 

altered license, trainee permit, registration 

identification card, or firearms trainer 

certificate, or any document simulating, 

purporting to be, or purporting to have been 

issued as a license, trainee permit, registration 

identification card, or firearms trainer 

certificate; 

(2) Lends his or her license, trainee permit, 

registration identification card, or firearms 

trainer certificate to any person or allows the 

use thereof by another; 

(3) Displays or represents any license, trainee 

permit, registration identification card, or 

firearms trainer certificate not issued to him or 

her as being his or her license, trainee permit, 

registration identification card, or firearms 

trainer certificate; or 

(4) Includes in any advertisement a statement that 

implies official state authorized certification or 

approval other than this statement: "Licensed 

by the Private Protective Services Board of the 

State of North Carolina." Licensees must 

include their license number. 

(b)  In addition to the prohibited acts set forth elsewhere in these 

Rules and in Chapter 74C of the General Statutes, it shall be 

grounds for application denial or license or registration 

suspension or revocation for an applicant, licensee, trainee, 

registrant, or trainer to make any false statement or give any false 

information to a third party in connection with any criminal 

history record check provided to the Board. 

(c)  Any licensee that subcontracts private protective service 

duties to another remains responsible, and liable, under Chapter 

74C and these Rules for any violation. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1; 74C-12; 74C-16. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0110 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  If any registrant trainee, certificate holder, employee, 

subcontractor, or any other person providing private protective 

services on behalf of a licensee is charged with any criminal 

offense that would constitute grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke 

a license, registration, or permit, registration or certificate under 

this Chapter, the licensee, registrant, or certificate holder licensee 

shall self-report report the criminal charge to the Board either in 

person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following knowledge of the charge. The licensee, registrant, or 

certificate holder licensee shall provide a copy of the charging 

document and a written explanation to the Board within five 

business days. 

(b)  If any licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder is 

charged with any criminal offense that would constitute grounds 

to deny, suspend, or revoke a license license, registration, or 

certificate under this Chapter, the licensee, trainee, registrant, or 

certificate holder shall self-report the criminal charge to the Board 

either in person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following the charge. The licensee, trainee, registrant, or 

certificate holder shall provide a copy of the charging document 

and a written explanation to the Board within five business days. 

(c)  If a licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder 

discharges a firearm while engaged in the private protective 

services business, the licensee shall notify the Board either in 

person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following the incident. The licensee shall also file a written report 

to the Board within five business days of the incident. In the 

report, the licensee shall state the name of the individual who 

discharged the firearm, the type of weapon discharged, the 

location of the incident, the law enforcement agency investigating 

the incident, the events leading to the discharge of the firearm, and 

any bodily injuries occurring from the incident. This Rule shall 

not apply to a weapon that is discharged during a training course 

that has been approved by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0113 INVOLVEMENT IN 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

All licensees, registrants, trainees, and trainers shall report to the 

Board any administrative proceeding commenced against him or 

her that involves any potential revocation or suspension of, or 

other disciplinary action against, any private protective service 

license, permit, certification, or registration that he or she holds in 

another state. The Board must receive written notice of any such 

administrative proceeding within 30 days of the date the licensee, 

registrant, or trainer is notified of the administrative proceeding. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12. 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 
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(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator trainees applying for a license shall make 

available for inspection a log of experience on a form provided by 

the Board. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 

(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with a Board 

investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. During a national or State declared state of 

emergency that restricts or prohibits travel, the personal meeting 

requirement may be waived if requested by the applicant in lieu 

of alternative means of communication. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-12. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0203 RENEWAL OR RE-ISSUE OF 

LICENSES AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a license or trainee permit shall 

submit an online renewal application on the website provided by 

the Board. This online application shall be submitted not less than 

30 days prior to expiration of the applicant's current license or 

trainee permit and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders digital color photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 24 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) for license applicants, proof of liability 

insurance as set out in G.S. 74C-10(e). 

(b)  If a licensee has maintained a license at least two years and 

then allows the license to expire, the license may be re-issued if 

application is made within three years of the expiration date and 

the following documentation is submitted to the Board: 

(1) an online Application For Reinstatement of an 

Expired License; 

(2) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital color photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(4) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(6) proof of liability insurance as set out in G.S. 

74C-10(e); and 

(7) payment to the State Bureau of Investigations 

to cover the cost of criminal record checks 

performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigations, with payment to be paid online 

through the Board's online application process. 
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(c)  A member of the armed forces whose license is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the license renewal fee and complete any continuing education 

requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the military 

order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue Service 

or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-9. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0204 DETERMINATION OF 

EXPERIENCE 

(a)  Experience requirements shall be determined as follows: 

(1) one year experience = 1,000 hours; 

(2) two years experience = 2,000 hours; 

(3) three years experience = 3,000 hours. 

(b)  Applicants shall make available upon Board request written 

documentation to verify experience. 

(c)  When applying for a license, registration, or trainee permit, 

the Board shall not consider any experience claimed by the 

applicant if: 

(1) gained by contracting private protective 

services to another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while not in possession of a valid 

private protective services license; license or 

registration; or 

(2) gained when employed by a company 

contracting private protective services to 

another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while the company is not in 

possession of a valid private protective services 

license. 

(d)  The Board may consider formal classroom training that is 

directly related to the private protective services industry. The 

Board may grant one half hour of credit for each hour of formal 

classroom training, but shall grant no more than 200 hours. 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule is to be considered in addition to any 

other formal training credits. No credit shall be given for formal 

training required pursuant to these Rules. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8. 

 

SECTION .0400 - PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR: 

ELECTRONIC COUNTERMEASURES 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0404 REPORTS 

(a)  Private In addition to the requirements in G.S. 74C-12(a)(20), 

private investigators shall make and offer to each client a written 

report containing the findings and details of the investigation 

within 30 days after the completion of the investigation for which 

the client has paid the investigator for the services. The licensee 

shall retain a copy of the written report. 

(b)  Descriptive reports, chronological reports, cover letters, and 

itemized invoices to the client shall be personally signed by a 

licensee. The file copy shall reflect the names of all participating 

employees and a description of the work performed by each one. 

These documents shall be retained by the licensee who signed the 

report. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0405 PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR'S 

USE OF A BADGE 

While engaged in his or her official duties, a private investigator 

shall be allowed to carry, possess, and display the badge set forth 

in this Rule. The badge shall be a duplicate of the badge shown 

below except for the licensee's name and license number. The 

badge shall be gold with dark blue lettering. Any deviation from 

this design shall be deemed an unauthorized badge and may 

constitute a violation of G.S. 74C-12(a) and this Rule. The badge 

shall be displayed carried in a folding pocket case with the badge 

displayed on one side of the case and the private investigator's 

pocket credential issued by the Board displayed on the opposite 

side of the case. In no instance may the badge be displayed, even 

in a case, openly on the breast pocket, the belt, a neck lanyard, or 

any other open carry or possession. 

 
 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(12). 

 

SECTION .0600 - PSYCHOLOGICAL STRESS 

EVALUATOR (P.S.E.) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0602 P.S.E. EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

P.S.E. licensees shall comply with the requirements of Rule .0503 

of this Chapter. In addition, P.S.E. examinations shall be 

conducted by the examiner in the presence of the examinee and 

with the examinee's knowledge that he or she is being examined. 

Examination by telephone or any other method that is not in 

person is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

SECTION .0700 - SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(UNARMED) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0701 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each employer or his or her designee shall submit an online 

application for the registration of each employee to the Board. 

This online submission shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 
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fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 48 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) one original signed SBI release of information 

form that shall be uploaded online with the 

original mailed to the Board's administrative 

office; 

(7) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has completed the training 

requirements of Rule .0707 of this Section if 

applicable; and 

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the application and the completed affidavit 

form and shall retain a copy of the application, including the 

affidavit, in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application and completed 

affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that 

shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working within 

the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited upon 

the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(d)  A copy of the statement required by Subparagraph (a)(7) of 

this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1; 74C-11. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0703 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

An applicant for registration shall: 

(1) be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) be a citizen of the United States or a resident 

alien; 

(3) be of good moral character and temperate 

habits. Any of the following within the last five 

years shall be prima facie evidence that the 

applicant does not have good moral character or 

temperate habits: conviction by any local, state, 

federal, or military court of any crime involving 

the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a 

firearm; conviction of any crime involving the 

illegal use, possession, sale, manufacture, 

distribution, or transportation of a controlled 

substance, drug, narcotic, or alcoholic 

beverage, conviction of a crime involving 

felonious assault or an act of violence; 

conviction of a crime involving unlawful 

breaking and/or entering, burglary, larceny, any 

offense involving moral turpitude; or larceny, 

or a history of addiction to alcohol or a narcotic 

drug. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"conviction" means and includes the entry of a 

plea of guilty, plea of no contest, or a verdict 

rendered in open court by a judge or jury; 

(4) not have been judicially declared incompetent 

or not have been involuntarily committed to an 

institution for treatment of mental illness. When 

an individual has been treated and found to have 

been restored, the Board will consider this 

evidence and determine whether the applicant 

meets the requirements of this Rule; and 

(5) not have had a revocation of a registration. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12(a)(19). 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0707 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an unarmed security guard registration shall 

complete the basic unarmed security guard training course within 

30 days from the date of permanent hire. The course shall consist 

of a minimum of 16 hours of classroom instruction including: 

(1) The Security Officer in North Carolina -- 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) Legal Issues for Security Officers -- (minimum 

of three hours); 

(3) Emergency Response -- (minimum of three 

hours); 

(4) Communications -- (minimum of two hours); 

(5) Patrol Procedures -- (minimum of three hours); 

(6) Note Taking and Report Writing -- (minimum 

of three hours); and 

(7) Deportment -- (minimum of one hour). 

A minimum of four hours of classroom instruction shall be 

completed within 20 calendar days of any security guard, 

including probationary, being placed on a duty station. These four 

hours shall include the instruction on The Security Officer in 

North Carolina and Legal Issues for Security Officers. 

(b)  Licensees shall submit to the Director the name of the certified 

unarmed security guard trainer who will be conducting the 

unarmed security guard training. 

(c)(b)  Training shall be conducted by a Board certified unarmed 

security guard trainer. A Board created lesson plan covering the 

training requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be made 

available by the Board to each trainer. The Board may approve 

other media training materials that deliver the training 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
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(d)(c)  The 16 hours of training may be delivered remotely under 

the following conditions: 

(1) The training is presented by a Board certified 

unarmed security officer trainer. 

(2) Each student is given a copy of the unarmed 

security guard training manual to use for the 

duration of the 16 hour training course. 

(3) The technology used allows the trainer to see 

the students and the students to see the trainer 

in real time during the training. 

(4) All students in each classroom are able to see 

and read the screen or monitor, and they must 

be able to hear and understand the audio 

presentation. All monitors used in each 

classroom must be at least 32 inches wide. 

(5) The technology used is of sufficient quality so 

that the training audio and video is delivered 

smoothly and without interruption. 

(6) Each student is taught to use the audio and 

video equipment in the classroom prior to the 

start of the 16 hour unarmed security officer 

training course. 

(7) The total number of students receiving the 

remote training at one time does not exceed 35 

students. 

(8) Any additional training beyond the Board 

mandated training in the unarmed security 

guard training manual is taught either before or 

after the 16 hour unarmed security officer 

training. 

(9) The Director is notified five days prior to 

training of the location of each classroom, 

name, and location of the certified trainer, and 

the number of students who will be present. 

(10) The sponsoring agency allows the Director or 

the Director's designee access via computer of 

the training during the time that it is taking 

place. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13(m). 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0708 TRAINER NAME TO BE 

SUBMITTED TO DIRECTOR 

Licensees shall submit to the Director the name of the certified 

unarmed security guard trainer who will be conducting the 

unarmed security guard training. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13(m). 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0801 APPLICATION/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each armed security guard employer or his or her designee 

shall submit an online application for the registration of each 

armed security guard applicant to the Board. This online 

submission shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; 

(6) a certification by the applicant that he or she is 

at least 21 years of age; 

(7) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the online application, the completed affidavit 

form, and proof of completion of a Board approved firearms 

course and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit and proof of course completion, in the guard's personnel 

file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application, affidavit, and proof of 

completion of a Board approved firearms course shall serve as a 

temporary registration card that shall be carried by the applicant 

when he or she is working within the scope of his or her 

employment and shall be exhibited upon the request of any law 

enforcement officer or authorized representative of the Board. 

(d)  Applications submitted without proof of completion of a 

Board approved firearms training course shall not serve as 

temporary registration cards. 

(e)  The provisions of Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule also 

apply to any employee whose employment is terminated within 

30 days of employment. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall first complete the basic unarmed 

security guard training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  Private investigator licensees applying for an armed security 

guard firearm registration permit shall first 

complete a four-hour training course consisting of the courses set 

forth in Rule .0707(a)(1) and (2) of this Chapter and all additional 

training requirements set forth in that Rule. 

(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security 

guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction 

including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules and 

regulations relating to armed security guards 

(minimum of four hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum of four hours). 

Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (c)(3), and 

Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(d)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

firearms range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located 

on the target. Should a student fail to attain a score of 80 percent 

accuracy, the student may be given three two additional attempts 

to qualify on the course of fire the student did not pass. Failure to 

meet the qualification after three attempts shall require the student 

to repeat the entire basic training course for armed security 

guards. All additional attempts must take place within 20 days of 

the completion of the initial 20 hour course. 

(e)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter 

shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be completed 

no more than 90 180 days prior to the date of issuance of the 

armed security guard firearm registration permit. 

(f)  All applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section 

using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic 

equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that 

meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the 

duty ammunition, for all weapons. 

(g)  No more than six new or renewal armed security guard 

applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing line at 

any one time during firearms range training for armed security 

guards. 

(h)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit shall complete a basic recertification 

training course for armed security guards that consists of at least 

four hours of classroom instruction and is a review of the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(5) of 

this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 180 days after 

completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of an 

armed security guard firearm registration permit shall also 

complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(i)  An armed guard registered with one company may be 

registered with a second company. The registration shall be 

considered "dual." The registration with the second company shall 

expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first 

company. An updated application shall be required to be 

submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph, 

updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00) 

registration fee. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of the same 

make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

(j)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an 

applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotgun 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of one hour); 

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours); 

and 

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour). 

Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (j)(3), and 

Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(k)  An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a 

time after the initial training in this Rule. If the shotgun training 

is completed at a later time, the shotgun certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, applicants 

shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a shotgun 

range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office. 

(l)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour 

of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(m)  To be authorized to carry a rifle in the performance of his or 

her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, 

in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of 

this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the 

following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum 

of one hour); 
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(2) rifle safety, including range firing procedures 

(minimum of one hour); 

(3) rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of 

two hours); 

(4) rifle fundamentals (minimum of ten hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum two hours). 

Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3), 

and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to 

the applicant's participation in range firing. 

(n)  The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic 

rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be 

completed within three attempts. 

(o)  An applicant may take the additional rifle training at a time 

after the initial training in this Rule. If the rifle training is 

completed at a later time, the rifle certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule, 

applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

rifle range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. 

(p)  Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set 

forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the 

requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(q)  Upon written request, an applicant for an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit who possesses a current firearms 

trainer certificate shall be given a firearms registration permit that 

will run concurrent with the trainer certificate upon completion of 

an annual qualification with the applicant's duty firearms as set 

forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(r)  An armed security guard is required to qualify annually both 

for day and night firing with his or her duty 

handgun, shotgun, and rifle, if applicable. If the security guard 

fails to qualify on any course of fire, the security guard shall not 

carry the firearm until such time as he or she meets the 

qualification requirements. Upon failure to qualify, the firearm 

instructor shall notify the security guard that he or she is no longer 

authorized to carry the firearm and the firearm instructor shall 

notify the employer and the Private Protective Services Board 

staff on the next business day. 

(s)  A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard 

remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one 

company for the employment of another. The range qualifications 

shall remain valid if the guard will be carrying a firearm of the 

same make, model, and caliber and no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the 

qualification is valid. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0808 CONCEALED WEAPONS 

HANDGUN 

(a)  The Board does not have the authority to issue a Concealed 

Carry Permit. However, a licensee  trainer, or registrant licensee, 

trainee, registrant, or firearms trainer who has complied with all 

provisions of G.S. 14, Article 54B and applicable rules adopted 

by the N.C. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission pursuant thereto and has been issued a current 

concealed handgun permit by a Sheriff may carry a concealed 

handgun after complying with the concealed handgun provisions 

for training and qualifications set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  A licensee, trainee, registrant, or firearms trainer shall comply 

with each of the following requirements to carry a concealed 

handgun while engaged in a private protective services business: 

(1) Hold a current Armed Security Guard 

Registration Permit by complying with all 

requirements for armed registration as 

prescribed in this Section. 

(2) Complete standards set forth by the N.C. 

Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission to include knowledge of 

North Carolina firearms laws including the 

limitation on concealed handgun possession on 

specified property and within certain buildings. 

(c)  Upon application to the Board, a licensee, trainee, registrant, 

or firearms trainer meeting the requirements of this Section shall 

be issued a concealed handgun endorsement to the current Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit for the term of the Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit without additional permit 

fees, but any additional training costs necessary to comply with 

this Section shall be borne directly by the applicant. The 

endorsement shall be renewed at the time of the Armed Security 

Guard Registration Permit renewal pursuant to this Rule on 

payment of the armed security guard registration renewal fee and 

proof of possession of a current Concealed Handgun Permit. 

There shall be no additional fee for the concealed handgun 

endorsement renewal. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0902 APPLICATION FOR FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

Each applicant for a firearms trainer certificate shall submit an 

online application to the Board. The application shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online submission 
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and submitted by uploading online with the 

application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(6) evidence of the liability insurance required by 

G.S. 74C-10(e) if the applicant is not an 

employee of a licensee; 

(6)(7) a certificate of successful completion of the 

training required by Rule .0901(a)(3) and (4) of 

this Section, stating the training was completed 

within 60 days of the submission of the 

application and uploaded online as part of the 

online application process; and 

(7)(8) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy to cover the cost of the firearms 

training course given by the N.C. Justice 

Academy and collected as part of the online 

application process by the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .1200 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(a)  CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by 

submitting the following information to the Board for 

consideration: 

(1) the nature and purpose of the course; 

(2) the course objectives or goals; 

(3) the outline of the course, including the number 

of training hours for each segment; and 

(4) the name of the instructor. 

(b)  To determine if a course will receive approval from the Board, 

the Board shall complete the following review: 

(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and 

Education Committee for the appointment of a 

sub-committee that shall review the course 

under consideration. The sub-committee shall 

consist of at least two industry members of the 

Training and Education Committee. Other 

members of the sub-committee may be 

appointed at the discretion of the Training and 

Education Committee Chairman. 

(2) The sub-committee shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the 

industry, and if the course meets its stated 

objectives or goals. 

(3) When the sub-committee completes its review, 

it shall report to the Training and Education 

Committee. The Training and Education 

Committee shall review the course to determine 

if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if 

the course meets its stated objectives and goals. 

The Training and Education Committee shall 

then report the findings with a recommendation 

of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, 

the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority 

vote if the course will be approved for continuing education 

credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the 

course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and 

if the course meets its stated objectives or goals. 

(d)  Each approved course shall remain an approved course for 

four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the 

course content changes or the course instructor changes. 

(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education 

credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight 

hour cap of continuing education credit every two years. 

(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting 

institutions shall be granted standing approval when the 

institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the 

Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another 

state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security 

profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and 

investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour not to 

exceed eight credit hours. 

(g)  Online courses shall be approved by the Board based on 

compliance with the standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22. 

 

SECTION .1300 – ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (UNARMED) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1301 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each armored car employer or his designee shall complete an 

online application form for the registration of each unarmed 

armored car service guard applicant to the Board. This online 

form shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 
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and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .1307 of this 

Section, if applicable; and 

(7) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the online application and completed affidavit 

and shall retain a copy of the application, including the affidavit, 

in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application and completed 

affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that 

shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working is 

within the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited 

upon the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(d)  A copy of the statement specified in Subparagraph (a)(6) of 

this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a). 

 

SECTION .1400 - ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE 

GUARDS FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1407 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS 

(a)  Prior to applying, applicants for an armed armored car service 

guard firearm registration permit shall complete the basic training 

course for unarmed armored car service guards set forth in Rule 

.1307(a) of this Chapter. Private Investigator Licensees applying 

for an armed armored car service guard firearm registration permit 

shall complete a four hour training course consisting of blocks of 

instruction "The Security Officer in North Carolina" and "Legal 

Issues for Security Officers" as set forth in Rule .1307(a) of this 

Chapter. Private Investigator Licensees applying for an armed 

armored car service guard firearm registration permit are not 

required to complete the following training blocks found in the 

basic training course referenced in Rule .1307(a) of this Chapter: 

"Emergency Responses," "Deportment," "Armored Security 

Operations," and "Safe Driver Training." A Private Investigator 

Licensee applying for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall meet all additional training requirements 

set forth in Rule .1307(a) of this Chapter as well as the training 

requirements set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall complete a basic training course for 

armed security guards that consists of at least 20 hours of 

classroom instruction including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules relating 

to armed security guards -- (minimum of four 

hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures -- (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance -- 

(minimum of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals -- (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing -- (minimum of four hours). 

(c)  Applicants for an armed armored service guard firearm 

registration permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent 

accuracy on a firearms range qualification course adopted by the 

Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on 

file in the Director's office. Should a student fail to attain a score 

of 80 percent accuracy, the student shall be given an additional 

three attempts to qualify on the course of fire he or she did not 

pass, which additional attempts shall take place within 20 days of 

the completion of the initial 20 hour course. Failure to meet the 

qualification after three additional attempts shall require the 

student to repeat the entire basic training course for armed security 

guards. 

(d)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter 

shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be 

successfully completed no more than 90 days prior to the date of 

issuance of the armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit. 

(e)  All applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall obtain training under the provisions of 

this Rule using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or 

ballistic equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition 

that meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil 

of the duty ammunition, for all weapons. 

(f)  No more than six new or renewal armed armored car service 

guard applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing 

line at any one time during firearms range training. 

(g)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed armored car 

service guard firearm registration permit shall complete a basic 

recertification training course for armed armored car guards that 

consists of at least four hours of classroom instruction and is a 

review of the requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (b)(1) 

through (b)(5) of this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 

180 days after completion of the course. Applicants for 

recertification of an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall also complete the requirements of 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(h)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed armored car service 

guard, an applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements 
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of Paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of this Rule, four hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotguns; 

shotgun (minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures; procedures (minimum of one 

hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance; and 

maintenance (minimum of one hour); and 

(4) shotgun fundamentals. Fundamentals 

(minimum of one hour.) 

An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a time 

after the initial training in Subparagraph (b) of this Rule. If the 

shotgun training is completed at a later time, the shotgun 

certification shall run concurrently with the armed registration 

permit. 

(i)  In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (h) of 

this Rule, applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent 

accuracy on a shotgun range qualification course adopted by the 

Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on 

file in the Director's office. 

(j)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training as set forth in 

Subparagraphs (h)(1) through (h)(4) of this Rule and shall also 

complete the requirements of Paragraph (i) of this Rule. 

(k)  Applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit who possess a current firearms trainer 

certificate shall be given, upon their written request, a firearms 

registration permit that will run concurrently with the trainer 

certificate upon completion of an annual qualification with their 

duty weapons as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(l)  An armed armored car service guard shall qualify annually for 

both day and night firing with his or her duty weapon and shotgun, 

if applicable. If the armed armored car service guard fails to 

qualify on either course of fire, the guard cannot carry a firearm 

until such time as he or she meets the qualification requirements. 

Upon failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the 

armed armored car service guard that he or she is no longer 

authorized to carry a firearm, and the firearm instructor shall 

notify the employer and the Board on the next business day. 

(m)  Armed armored car service guard personnel may also work 

as armed security guards only if they hold an unarmed or armed 

security guard registration. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Nursing intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 36 

.0801-.0803, .0805-.0808, and .0810. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbon.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 22, 2021 

Time:  1:00 pm 

Location:  via teleconference: 919.670.0362 Conf ID# 

93838627# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 36 .0801: technical changes regarding wording; 

updates to General Statute references 

21 NCAC 36 .0802: clarification regarding definition of scope of 

practice 

21 NCAC 36 .0803: technical changes regarding wording 

21 NCAC 36 .0805: addition of wording regarding approval to 

practice 

21 NCAC 36 .0806: clarification regarding continuing 

competence requirements 

21 NCAC 36 .0807: addition of language regarding national 

credentialing body; clarification regarding CE requirements 

21 NCAC 36 .0808: technical changes regarding wording 

21 NCAC 36 .0810: technical changes regarding wording 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129 

Raleigh NC 27602-2129, Raleigh, NC 27602-2129; email 

public.comment@ncbon.com 

 

Comment period ends:  March 5, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0800 - APPROVAL AND PRACTICE 

PARAMETERS FOR NURSE PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0801 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to this Section: 
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(1) "Approval to Practice" means authorization by 

the Joint Subcommittee of the Medical Board 

and the Board of Nursing for a nurse 

practitioner to perform medical acts practice 

within her or his area of educational preparation 

and certification under a collaborative practice 

agreement (CPA) with a licensed physician 

licensed by the Medical Board in accordance 

with this Section. 

(2) "Back-up Supervising Physician" means the a 

licensed physician licensed by the Medical 

Board who, by signing an agreement with the 

nurse practitioner and the primary supervising 

physician(s) shall provide supervision, 

collaboration, consultation consultation, and 

evaluation of medical acts by the nurse 

practitioner in accordance with the 

collaborative practice agreement when the 

Primary Supervising Physician primary 

supervising physician is not available. Back-up 

supervision shall be in compliance with the 

following: 

(a) The signed and dated agreements for 

each back-up supervising physician(s) 

shall be maintained at each practice 

site. 

(b) A physician in a graduate medical 

education program, whether fully 

licensed or holding only a resident's 

training license, shall not be named as 

a back-up supervising physician. 

(c) A fully licensed physician in a 

graduate medical education program 

who is also practicing in a non-training 

situation and has a signed 

collaborative practice agreement with 

the nurse practitioner and the primary 

supervising physician may be a back-

up supervising physician for a nurse 

practitioner in the non-training 

situation. 

(3) "Board of Nursing" "Board" means the North 

Carolina Board of Nursing. 

(4) "Collaborative practice agreement" means the 

arrangement for nurse practitioner-physician 

provides for continuous availability to each 

other for ongoing supervision, consultation, 

collaboration, referral referral, and evaluation 

of care provided by the nurse practitioner. 

(5) "Disaster" "Emergency" means a state of 

disaster emergency as defined in G.S. 166A-

4(1a) G.S. 166A-19.3 and proclaimed by the 

Governor, or by the General Assembly pursuant 

to G.S. 166A-6. Assembly. 

(6) "Joint Subcommittee" means the subcommittee 

composed of members of the Board of Nursing 

and members of the Medical Board to whom 

responsibility is given by G.S. 90-8.2 and G.S. 

90-171.23(b)(14) to develop rules to govern the 

performance of medical acts by nurse 

practitioners in North Carolina. 

(7) "Medical Board" means the North Carolina 

Medical Board. 

(8) "National Credentialing Body" means one of 

the following credentialing bodies that offers 

certification and re-certification in the nurse 

practitioner's specialty area of practice: 

(a) American Nurses Credentialing 

Center (ANCC); 

(b) American Academy of Nurse 

Practitioners (AANP); National 

Certification Board (AANPNCB); 

(c) American Association of Critical Care 

Nurses Certification Corporation 

(AACN); 

(d) National Certification Corporation of 

the Obstetric Gynecologic and 

Neonatal Nursing Specialties (NCC); 

and 

(e) the Pediatric Nursing Certification 

Board (PNCB). 

(9) "Nurse Practitioner" or "NP" means a currently 

licensed registered nurse who holds an active 

unencumbered license approved to perform 

medical acts practice consistent with the nurse's 

area of nurse practitioner academic educational 

preparation and national certification under an 

agreement with a licensed physician licensed by 

the Medical Board for ongoing supervision, 

consultation, collaboration collaboration, and 

evaluation of the medical acts performed. Such 

medical acts are in addition to those nursing 

acts performed by virtue of registered nurse 

(RN) licensure. The NP is held accountable 

under the RN license for those nursing acts that 

he or she may perform. 

(10) "Primary Supervising Physician" means the 

licensed a physician with an active 

unencumbered license with the Medical Board 

who shall provide ongoing supervision, 

collaboration, consultation consultation, and 

evaluation of the medical acts performed by the 

nurse practitioner as defined in the 

collaborative practice agreement. Supervision 

shall be in compliance with the following: 

(a) The primary supervising physician 

shall assure both Boards that the nurse 

practitioner is qualified to perform 

those medical acts described in the 

collaborative practice agreement. 

(b) A physician in a graduate medical 

education program, whether fully 

licensed or holding only a resident's 

training license, shall not be named as 

a primary supervising physician. 

(c) A fully licensed physician in a 

graduate medical education program 

who is also practicing in a non-training 
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situation may supervise a nurse 

practitioner in the non-training 

situation. 

(11) "Registration" means authorization by the 

Medical Board and the Board of Nursing for a 

registered nurse to use the title nurse 

practitioner in accordance with this Section. 

(12) "Supervision" means the physician's function of 

overseeing medical acts performed by the nurse 

practitioner. 

(13) "Volunteer Approval" means approval to 

practice consistent with this rule except without 

expectation of direct or indirect compensation 

or payment (monetary, in kind or otherwise) to 

the nurse practitioner. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(14); 90-18.2; 90-171.20(4); 

90-171.20(7); 90-171.23(b); 90-171.83. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0802 SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

The nurse practitioner's scope of practice is defined by academic 

educational preparation and national certification and maintained 

competence. A nurse practitioner shall be held accountable by 

both Boards for the continuous and comprehensive management 

of a broad range of personal health services for which the nurse 

practitioner is educationally prepared and for which competency 

has been maintained, with physician supervision and 

collaboration as described in Rule .0810 of this Section. These 

services include but are not restricted to: 

(1) promotion and maintenance of health; 

(2) prevention of illness and disability; 

(3) diagnosing, treating and managing acute and 

chronic illnesses; 

(4) guidance and counseling for both individuals 

and families; 

(5) prescribing, administering administering, and 

dispensing therapeutic measures, tests, 

procedures procedures, and drugs; 

(6) planning for situations beyond the nurse 

practitioner's expertise, and consulting with and 

referring to other health care providers as 

appropriate; and  

(7) evaluating health outcomes. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-18(14); 90-171.20(7); 90-171.23(b)(14). 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0803 NURSE PRACTITIONER 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  The Board of Nursing shall register an applicant as a nurse 

practitioner who: 

(1) has an unrestricted active unencumbered 

license to practice as a registered nurse in North 

Carolina or compact state and, when applicable, 

an unrestricted active unencumbered approval, 

registration registration, or license as a nurse 

practitioner in another state, territory, or 

possession of the United States; 

(2) has successfully completed a nurse practitioner 

education program as outlined in Rule .0805 of 

this Section; 

(3) is certified as a nurse practitioner by a national 

credentialing body consistent with 21 NCAC 

36 .0801(8); and 

(4) has supplied additional information necessary 

to evaluate the application as requested. 

(b)  Beginning Applicants who have graduated from a nurse 

practitioner program after January 1, 2005, new graduates of a 

nurse practitioner program, who are seeking first-time nurse 

practitioner registration in North Carolina shall: 

(1) hold a Master's or higher degree in Nursing or 

related field with primary focus on Nursing; 

(2) have successfully completed a graduate level 

nurse practitioner education program 

accredited by a national accrediting body; and  

(3) provide documentation of certification by a 

national credentialing body. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-18(c)(13); 90-18.2; 90-171.20(7); 90-

171.23(b); 90-171.83. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0805 EDUCATION AND 

CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 

REGISTRATION AND APPROVAL AS A NURSE 

PRACTITIONER 

(a)  A nurse practitioner applicant seeking with registration or 

first-time approval to practice after January 1, 2000, shall provide 

evidence of current certification or recertification as a nurse 

practitioner by a national credentialing body. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner applicant seeking registration or approval 

to practice who completed a nurse practitioner education program 

prior to December 31, 1999 shall provide evidence of successful 

completion of a course of education that contains a core 

curriculum including 400 contact hours of didactic education and 

400 hours of preceptorship or supervised clinical experience. The 

core curriculum shall contain the following components: 

(1) health assessment and diagnostic reasoning 

including: 

(A) historical data; 

(B) physical examination data; 

(C) organization of data base; 

(2) pharmacology; 

(3) pathophysiology; 

(4) clinical management of common health 

problems and diseases such as the following 

shall be evident in the nurse practitioner's 

academic program: 

(A) respiratory system; 

(B) cardiovascular system; 

(C) gastrointestinal system; 

(D) genitourinary system; 

(E) integumentary system; 

(F) hematologic and immune systems; 

(G) endocrine system; 

(H) musculoskeletal system; 

(I) infectious diseases; 

(J) nervous system; 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 4, 2021 

1460 

(K) behavioral, mental health and 

substance abuse problems; 

(5) clinical preventative services including health 

promotion and prevention of disease; 

(6) client education related to Subparagraph 

(b)(4)–(5) of this Rule; and  

(7) role development including legal, ethical, 

economical, health policy policy, and 

interdisciplinary collaboration issues. 

(c)  Nurse practitioner applicants exempt from components of the 

core curriculum requirements listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

are: 

(1) Any nurse practitioner approved to practice in 

North Carolina prior to January 18, 1981, is 

permanently exempt from the core curriculum 

requirement. 

(2) A nurse practitioner certified by a national 

credentialing body prior to January 1, 1998, 

who also provides evidence of satisfying 

Subparagraph (b)(1)–(3) of this Rule shall be 

exempt from core curriculum requirements in 

Subparagraph (b)(4)–(7) of this Rule. Evidence 

of satisfying Subparagraph (b)(1)–(3) of this 

Rule shall include: 

(A) a narrative of course content; and  

(B) contact hours. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-18(14); 90-171.42. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0806 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

APPROVAL TO PRACTICE 

(a)  Each registered nurse who is approved to practice as a nurse 

practitioner in this State shall annually renew each approval to 

practice with the Board of Nursing no later than the last day of the 

nurse practitioner's birth month by: 

(1) Maintaining current North Carolina RN 

licensure; licensure or privilege to practice; 

(2) Maintaining certification as a nurse practitioner 

by a national credentialing body identified in 

Rule .0801(8) of this Section; 

(3) attesting to completion of continuing 

competence requirements, and submitting 

evidence of completion if requested by the 

Board, as specified in Rule .0807 of this 

Section; 

(3)(4) Submitting the fee required in Rule .0813 of 

this Section; and 

(4)(5) Completing the renewal application. 

(b)  If the nurse practitioner has not renewed by the last day of her 

or his birth month, the approval to practice as a nurse practitioner 

shall lapse. expire. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(c)(14); 90-171.23(b)(14); 

90-171.83. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0807 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 

In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, the 

nurse practitioner shall maintain certification as a nurse 

practitioner by a national credentialing body identified in Rule 

.0801(8) of this Section and earn 50 contact hours of continuing 

education each year beginning with the first renewal after initial 

approval to practice has been granted. At least 20 hours of the 

required 50 hours must be in the advanced practice nursing 

population focus of the NP role those hours for which approval 

has been granted by the American Nurses Credentialing Center 

(ANCC) or Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education (ACCME), other national credentialing bodies, or 

practice relevant courses in an institution of higher learning. 

Every nurse practitioner who prescribes controlled substances 

shall complete at least one hour of the total required continuing 

education (CE) hours annually consisting of CE designed 

specifically to address controlled substance prescribing practices, 

signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled substances, and 

controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain management. 

CE that includes recognizing signs of the abuse or misuse of 

controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment options shall 

qualify for the purposes of this Rule. Documentation shall be 

maintained by the nurse practitioner for the previous five calendar 

years and made available upon request to either Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1; 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-14(a)(15); 90-

18(c)(14); 90-171.23(b)(14); 90-171.42; S.L. 2015-241, s. 12F. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0808 INACTIVE STATUS 

(a)  Any nurse practitioner who wishes to place her or his approval 

to practice on an inactive status shall notify the Board of Nursing 

in writing. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice 

status shall not practice as a nurse practitioner. 

(c)  A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice 

status who reapplies for approval to practice shall meet the 

qualifications for approval to practice in Rules .0803(a)(1), 

.0804(a) and (b), .0807, and .0810 of this Section and receive 

notification from the Board of Nursing of approval prior to 

beginning practice after the application is approved by both 

Boards. approved. 

(d)  A nurse practitioner who has not practiced as a nurse 

practitioner in more than two years shall complete a nurse 

practitioner refresher course approved by the Board of Nursing in 

accordance with Paragraphs (o) and (p) of 21 NCAC 36 .0220 and 

consisting of common conditions and management of these 

conditions directly related to the nurse practitioner's area of 

academic education and national certification. A nurse 

practitioner refresher course participant shall be granted an 

approval to practice that is limited to clinical activities required 

by the refresher course. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18.2; 90-171.36; 90-171.83. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0810 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

STANDARDS FOR A COLLABORATIVE PRACTICE 

AGREEMENT 

The following are the quality assurance standards for a 

collaborative practice agreement: 

(1) Availability: The primary or back-up 

supervising physician(s) and the nurse 

practitioner shall be continuously available to 
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each other for consultation by direct 

communication or telecommunication. 

(2) Collaborative Practice Agreement: 

(a) shall be agreed upon and upon, signed 

signed, and dated by both the primary 

supervising physician and the nurse 

practitioner, and maintained in each 

practice site; 

(b) shall be reviewed at least yearly. This 

review shall be acknowledged by a 

dated signature sheet, signed by both 

the primary supervising physician and 

the nurse practitioner, appended to the 

collaborative practice agreement 

agreement, and available for 

inspection by members or agents of 

either Board; 

(c) shall include the drugs, devices, 

medical treatments, tests tests, and 

procedures that may be prescribed, 

ordered ordered, and performed by the 

nurse practitioner consistent with Rule 

.0809 of this Section; and 

(d) shall include a pre-determined plan for 

emergency services. 

(3) The nurse practitioner shall demonstrate the 

ability to perform medical acts as outlined in the 

collaborative practice agreement upon request 

by members or agents of either Board. 

(4) Quality Improvement Process. 

(a) The primary supervising physician 

and the nurse practitioner shall 

develop a process for the ongoing 

review of the care provided in each 

practice site including a written plan 

for evaluating the quality of care 

provided for one or more frequently 

encountered clinical problems. 

(b) This plan shall include a description of 

the clinical problem(s), an evaluation 

of the current treatment interventions, 

and if needed, a plan for improving 

outcomes within an identified time-

frame. 

(c) The quality improvement process 

shall include scheduled meetings 

between the primary supervising 

physician and the nurse practitioner at 

least every six months. 

Documentation for each meeting 

shall: 

(i) identify clinical problems 

discussed, including progress 

toward improving outcomes 

as stated in Sub-item (4)(b) 

of this Rule, and 

recommendations, if any, for 

changes in treatment plan(s); 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and  

(iii) be available for review by 

members or agents of either 

Board for the previous five 

calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

(5) Nurse Practitioner-Physician Consultation. The 

following requirements establish the minimum 

standards for consultation between the nurse 

practitioner and primary supervising 

physician(s): 

(a) During the first six months of a 

collaborative practice agreement 

between a nurse practitioner and the 

primary supervising physician, there 

shall be monthly meetings for the first 

six months to discuss practice relevant 

clinical issues and quality 

improvement measures. 

(b) Documentation of the meetings shall: 

(i) identify clinical issues 

discussed and actions taken; 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

members or agents of either 

Board for the previous five 

calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(14); 90-18.2; 90-

171.23(b)(14). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 62 – BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

HEALTH SPECIALIST EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners intends to 

amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 62 .0407, and .0411. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncrehs.com/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 29, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Telephonic meeting due to Covid-19 restrictions. 

(712) 775-7031, access code 816685 
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Reason for Proposed Action:  Due to the serious and unforeseen 

threat to the public health and safety caused by COVID-19, the 

Governor of North Carolina issued Executive Order No. 116, 

declaring a state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact 

protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. 

Additional Executive Orders throughout the year have prohibited 

mass gatherings. COVID-19, a respiratory disease, spreads 

easily from person to person, can result in serious illness or death. 

The Board seeks to contribute towards social isolation efforts 

directed by the Federal and State Government and assist 

registrants who are unable to complete required training within 

the timelines outlined in 21 NCAC 62 .0407 and 21 NCAC 62 

.0411.  

Without this approach, some Environmental Health Specialists 

may be unable to meet the prescribed standards resulting in loss 

of their registration. In-person training and exams cannot occur 

during the State of Emergency. Exams must be completed in 

person, and testing sites will remain closed while stay in place 

orders are in effect, if not longer. In addition, the Board is 

working under the premises (1) over the last few weeks and into 

the coming months many, if not all, employers, have/will 

implement(ed) travel & training restrictions for an indefinite 

period of time, and (2) not all registrants have access to online or 

virtual training, thus they rely solely on in-person training. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Donna Coffey, P.O. Box 238, 

Efland, NC 27243; phone (919) 304-1168; fax (919) 304-1165; 

email rehs.board@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 5, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0400 - RULES OF OPERATION 

 

21 NCAC 62 .0407 RENEWAL 

(a)  Applications for renewal shall be filed with the Board on a 

form provided by the Board and available from the Board website 

at: www.rsboard.com or from the Division of Environmental 

Health, 1630 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1630. The 

renewal form may also be generated by the Registered Sanitarian 

Training and Authorization (RSTAS) computer system at: 

http://apps.bluelizard.com/RSTAS/. 

https://rstas.dhhs.state.nc.us/. 

(b)  The renewal application shall be completed and signed by the 

applicant. 

(c)  Renewal fees shall be paid in accordance with Rule 

.0405(a)(5) of this Section. The renewal application shall be 

posted on the Board's website at www.rsboard.com by October 1 

of each year. The individual shall download and submit the 

application for renewal to the Board. Individuals may also contact 

the Board at the Division of Environmental Health, 1630 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1630 for a copy. 

(d)  Registered environmental health specialists or registered 

environmental health specialists interns who fail to renew by 

December 31 shall be notified by the Board that their registration 

has expired and that they may not practice as a registered 

environmental health specialist or a registered environmental 

health specialists intern until they have met the requirements for 

renewal. 

(e)  Environmental health specialist interns and other persons 

applying for new registrations with the board shall take An an 

environmental health law course based on North Carolina laws 

and rules with at least 15 contact hours approved by the Board 

shall be completed within the first four years of the date of most 

recent registration by the Board. This timeframe shall be extended 

by one additional year for anyone whose fourth year occurs in 

2020. 

(f)  Registered environmental health specialists or and registered 

environmental health specialists interns shall complete a 

minimum of 15 instructional clock contact hours of continuing 

education acceptable to the Board each year. year, except the 15 

hours shall not be required for the year ending December 31, 

2020. Continuing education acceptable to the Board includes: 

(1) the specialized training course required in Rule 

.0411 of this Section; 

(2) District Environmental Health Section 

Educational meetings; 

(3) professional association courses and 

educational meetings; 

(4) seminars or courses offered by the North 

Carolina State of Practice Committee; 

(5) completion of a job related job-related course 

offered by a college or university accredited by 

the Council of Higher Education Accreditation 

with the hours credited for the year that the 

course is completed; 

(6) successful completion of a job related job-

related course offered by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention, the Food and 

Drug Administration, or the Environmental 

Protection Agency; 

(7) other practice-related training which: 
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(A) is technical in nature, related to the 

environment, environmental health or 

improving the practice of 

environmental health; 

(B) is relevant to the actual job being 

performed by the participants or 

applicant; 

(C) includes a method for determining the 

number of hours spent; 

(D) includes a method of documentation 

for verification of completion; 

(E) is available to all registered 

environmental health specialists and 

environmental health specialist 

interns; and 

(F) has been granted approval by the 

Board based on the above standards; 

and 

(g)  Registrations that have expired may be renewed within 12 

months after expiration upon submittal of application and 

payment of the renewal fee. The applicant shall provide 

verification to the Board that continuing education clock hours 

were obtained during the year since the expiration to comply with 

the requirements of this Section. Registrations that have expired 

for more than 12 months may not be renewed. 

(h)  Interns that are no longer employed in the field of 

environmental health in North Carolina may not renew. 

(i)  A registered environmental health specialist or a registered 

environmental health specialist intern in good standing whose 

active military service has impaired their ability to obtain the 

continuing education requirements in Paragraph (f) of this Rule 

are exempt from the continuing education requirement if written 

orders from their military unit are provided to the Board. In 

addition, the renewal fee is waived for each calendar year the 

environmental health specialist is on active duty. 

(j)  A registered environmental health specialist or registered 

environmental health specialist intern who is disabled may 

request a variance in continuing education hours during the period 

of the disability. The Board may grant or deny requests for 

variance in continuing education hours based on a disabling 

condition on a case by case basis, taking into consideration the 

particular disabling condition involved and its effect on the 

registered environmental health specialist or registered 

environmental health specialist's specialist intern's ability to 

complete the required hours. In considering the request, the Board 

may require additional documentation substantiating any 

specified disability. 

(k)  A maximum of five clock contact hours of approved 

continuing education, that is in excess of the required 15 clock 

hours, may be applied toward the continuing education 

requirements for the following year. Up to five hours of approved 

continuing education completed in the year ending December 31, 

2020 may be applied toward the continuing education 

requirements for the following year. 

 

Authority G.S. 90A-57; 90A-63; 90A-67; 93B-15. 

 

21 NCAC 62 .0411 SPECIALIZED TRAINING 

Every applicant for registration as a registered environmental 

health specialist intern shall complete the course entitled 

"Orientation and Initial Internship Training for Environmental 

Health Interns" offered by the Division of Environmental Health 

at the centralized training site within 12 18 months of registration 

as a registered environmental health specialist intern. 

 

Authority G.S. 90A-50; 90A-51; 90A-53; 90A-57. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 63 - SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND 

LICENSURE BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Social Work Certification and Licensure Board intends to amend 

the rule cited as 21 NCAC 63 .0211. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncswboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 5, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Via Webex 

https://northcarolinasocialworkcertificationandlicensureboard.

my.webex.com/northcarolinasocialworkcertificationandlicensur

eboard.my/j.php?MTID=m24fb74b385e386cf73950e54d3c6053 

Join by meeting number: Meeting number (access code):126 773 

6098; meeting password: vTyvBZpV659 (88982978 from phones 

and video systems)  

Tap to join from a mobile device (attendees only) +1-415-655-

0001, 1267736098#88982978#US Toll 

Some mobile devices may ask attendees to enter a numeric 

meeting password. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Allows licensees to increase 

amount of supervision via technology without Board preapproval. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Elizabeth N. Pope, NC Social 

Work Certification and Licensure Board, 1207 S. Cox Street, 

Suite F, Asheboro, NC 27203; phone (336) 625-1679 ext. 226; fax 

(336) 625-4246; email epope@ncswboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 5, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
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on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 - CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 63 .0211 WORK EXPERIENCE 

(a)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(d)(s)90B-7(d)(2) for 

the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) credential: 

(1) Two years of post-MSW clinical social work 

experience shall mean 3,000 clock hours of 

work or employment for a fee or salary while 

engaged in the practice of clinical social work 

as defined in this Chapter. The 3,000 hours shall 

be accumulated over a period of time not less 

than two years nor more than six consecutive 

years. Practicum or internship experience 

gained as part of any educational program shall 

not be included. Pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1(a), 

military applicants may receive credit for 

military occupational specialty experience 

obtained post MSW degree and deemed 

substantially equivalent to clinical social work 

practice as defined in this Chapter. 

(2) Appropriate supervision shall mean supervision 

by a MSW who is also a Licensed Clinical 

Social Worker and who is in good standing with 

the Board. A supervisor disciplined by any 

professional credentialing body or professional 

organization, or who has violated the provisions 

of an occupational licensing Board may not 

provide supervision to an associate licensee 

without the written permission of the Board. 

The Licensed Clinical Social Worker 

Associate's (LCSWA) clinical social work 

supervisor shall have an additional two years of 

clinical social work experience post LCSW 

licensure. 

(3) Appropriate supervision shall be that which is 

provided on a regular basis, conducted no less 

than once every two weeks, with at least one 

hour of supervision during every 30 hours of 

experience. A minimum of 100 hours of 

supervision is required. The clinical supervisor 

shall make the initial determination whether the 

applicant's work experience meets the 

definition of clinical social work in accordance 

with the rules of this Chapter. The Board shall 

make the final determination whether or not the 

applicant's work experience meets the 

definition of clinical social work practice. 

Appropriate supervision may be individual or 

group supervision. Individual supervision shall 

mean one on one, face-to-face supervision by a 

MSW who is also a LCSW where the 

supervisor reviews and discusses clinical social 

work cases, reviews documentation, and 

provides evaluative comments and direction to 

the LCSWA. Group supervision shall mean 

face-to-face supervision provided by a MSW 

who is also a LCSW in a group setting, during 

which the supervisor reviews and discusses 

clinical social work cases, reviews 

documentation, and provides feedback and 

direction to each LCSWA in the group. A 

maximum of 25 hours of group supervision 

may be applied toward meeting the supervision 

requirements for the LCSW. 

(4) Unless otherwise preapproved by the Board, no 

more than 20 50 hours of supervision may be 

provided through the use of technology. The 

clinical supervisor may seek approval by 

providing a written request to the Board. The 

request shall include the parties' information, 

including name, license number, and business 

address; and the circumstances for which the 

additional hours are needed. Approval of the 

request shall be determined on a case by case 

basis, based upon the circumstances provided in 

the request. All supervision provided through 

the use of technology shall be synchronous, 

involve visual and audio interactions 

throughout the entire session, and shall take 

place in such a manner as to maintain the 

confidentiality of the communication. 

(b)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(e)(2) for the 

Certified Social Work Manager (CSWM) credential: 

(1) Two years of post social work degree 

experience shall mean 3,000 clock hours of 

employment for a salary while engaged in 

administrative social work duties including, 

policy and budgetary development and 

implementation, supervision and management, 

program evaluation, planning, and staff 

development. Such duties shall be carried out in 

an administrative setting where social work or 

other mental health services are delivered. The 

3,000 hours shall be accumulated over a period 

of time not less than two years nor more than 

six consecutive years. Practicum or internship 

experience gained as part of any educational 

program shall not be included. 

(2) Appropriate supervision shall mean face-to-

face supervision by a social work administrator 

certified or licensed by the Board who has a 

minimum of two years of administrative 

experience in a social work or mental health 
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setting. Appropriate supervision shall be that 

which is provided on a regular basis, conducted 

no less than once every two weeks throughout 

the applicant's two years of administrative 

social work experience. A minimum of 100 

hours of supervision is required. A maximum of 

50 hours of group supervision may be applied 

toward meeting the supervision requirements 

for the CSWM. No more than 20 hours of 

supervision may be provided through the use of 

technology. All supervision provided through 

the use of technology shall be synchronous, 

involve visual and audio interaction throughout 

the entire session, and shall take place in such a 

manner as to maintain the confidentiality of the 

communication. 

 

Authority G. S. 90B-6; 90B-7. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on November 19, 2020 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Employer's Requirement to File First Report of Injury 11 NCAC 23A .0104 34:14 NCR 

Electronic Filings with the Commission; How to File 11 NCAC 23A .0108 34:20 NCR 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23A .0109 34:20 NCR 

Required Contact Information from Carriers 11 NCAC 23A .0302 34:20 NCR 

Application for or Stipulation to Additional Medical Comp... 11 NCAC 23A .0408 34:14 NCR 

Claims for Death Benefits 11 NCAC 23A .0409* 34:14 NCR 

Agreements for Prompt Payment of Compensation 11 NCAC 23A .0501 34:14 NCR 

Employee's Obligation to Report Earnings 11 NCAC 23A .0903* 34:14 NCR 

Electronic Filings with the Commission, How to File 11 NCAC 23B .0104* 34:20 NCR 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23B .0105* 34:20 NCR 

Notice by the Commission 11 NCAC 23B .0106* 34:14 NCR 

Secure Leave Periods for Attorneys 11 NCAC 23E .0104* 34:14 NCR 

Form 21 - Agreement for Compensation for Disability 11 NCAC 23L .0101* 34:20 NCR 

Form 26 - Supplemental Agreement as to Payment of Compens... 11 NCAC 23L .0102* 34:20 NCR 

Form 26A - Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Pe... 11 NCAC 23L .0103* 34:14 NCR 

Form 26A - Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Pe... 11 NCAC 23L .0103* 34:20 NCR 

Form T-42 - Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 11 NCAC 23L .0105* 34:20 NCR 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .2005 35:04 NCR 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 

Tramway Requirements 13 NCAC 15 .0205* 35:03 NCR 

Responsibility for Compliance 13 NCAC 15 .0402* 35:03 NCR 

Elevator, Escalator, Dumbwaiter, and Special Equipment An... 13 NCAC 15 .0702* 35:03 NCR 

Amusement Device Inspection Fee Schedule 13 NCAC 15 .0703* 35:03 NCR 

Passenger Tramway Inspection Fee Schedule 13 NCAC 15 .0705* 35:03 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Ocean Hazard Categories 15A NCAC 07H .0301* 34:09 NCR 

Significance of the Ocean Hazard Category 15A NCAC 07H .0302* 34:09 NCR 

Management Objective of Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0303* 34:09 NCR 

AECs Within Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0304 34:09 NCR 

General Identification and Description of Landforms 15A NCAC 07H .0305 34:09 NCR 

General Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0306* 34:09 NCR 

Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0308 34:09 NCR 

Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas: Exceptions 15A NCAC 07H .0309 34:09 NCR 

Use Standards for Inlet Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0310* 34:09 NCR 

Installation and Maintenance of Sand Fencing 15A NCAC 07H .0311* 34:09 NCR 
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Technical Standards for Beach Fill Projects 15A NCAC 07H .0312 34:22 NCR 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Purchase of School Bus Equipment 16 NCAC 06B .0112* 34:13 NCR 

School Violence Acts Defined and the Annual Report of The... 16 NCAC 06E .0107* 34:13 NCR 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - LEA Di... 16 NCAC 06H .0115* 34:13 NCR 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - State ... 16 NCAC 06H .0116* 34:13 NCR 

Placement Procedures 16 NCAC 06K .0104* 34:13 NCR 

Weapons Prohibited on School Property 16 NCAC 06K .0105* 34:13 NCR 

ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD 

Background Investigation 21 NCAC 68 .0216* 34:24 NCR 

Credentials by Endorsement or Reciprocity Based on Milita... 21 NCAC 68 .0227* 34:24 NCR 

Substance Use Disorder Credential by Endorsement or Recip... 21 NCAC 68 .0228* 34:24 NCR 

Types of Intervention 21 NCAC 68 .0708* 34:24 NCR 

 

The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Appropriate Use of State Tests 16 NCAC 06D .0310* 34:13 NCR 

Accountability Annual Performance Standards 16 NCAC 06G .0315* 34:13 NCR 

Charter Schools Financial Noncompliance - Impact of Finan... 16 NCAC 06G .0505* 34:13 NCR 

Charter Schools Governance Noncompliance 16 NCAC 06G .0506* 34:13 NCR 

Charter School Renewal Process 16 NCAC 06G .0507* 34:13 NCR 

Planning Year for New Preliminary Charter Schools 16 NCAC 06G .0509* 34:13 NCR 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0514* 34:13 NCR 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Eligibility 16 NCAC 06G .0518* 34:13 NCR 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Applicati... 16 NCAC 06G .0520* 34:13 NCR 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Review an... 16 NCAC 06G .0521* 34:13 NCR 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Terminati... 16 NCAC 06G .0522* 34:13 NCR 

Operations of Federal Programs 16 NCAC 06H .0117* 34:13 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0104 EMPLOYER'S REQUIREMENT 

TO FILE FIRST REPORT OF INJURY 

(a)  The form required to be provided by G.S. 97-92(a) is the Form 

19 Employer's Report of Employee's Injury or Occupational 

Disease to the Industrial Commission. The Form 19 shall be used 

when the injury causes the employee to be absent from work for 

more than one day or when the charges for medical compensation 

exceed four thousand dollars ($4,000). The Form 19 shall be filed 

with the Commission in accordance with Rule .0108(d) of this 

Section. 

(b)  The employer, carrier, or administrator shall provide the 

employee with a copy of the completed Form 19 Employer's 

Report of Employee's Injury or Occupational Disease to the 

Industrial Commission, along with a blank Form 18 Notice of 

Accident to Employer and Claim of Employee, Representative, or 

Dependent for use by the employee in making a claim. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 97-92; 

Eff. March 15, 1995; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; August 1, 

2006; March 1, 2001; June 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0104 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0108 ELECTRONIC FILINGS WITH 

THE COMMISSION; HOW TO FILE 

(a)  All documents filed with the Commission in workers' 

compensation cases shall be submitted electronically in 

accordance with this Rule. Any document transmitted to the 

Commission in a manner not in accordance with this Rule shall 

not be accepted for filing. Any document filed with the 

Commission that requires contemporaneous payment of a 

processing fee pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23E .0203 shall not be 

deemed filed until the fee has been paid in full. The electronic 

filing requirements of this Rule shall not apply to employees or 

non-insured employers without legal representation. Employees 
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and non-insured employers without legal representation may file 

all documents with the Commission via the Commission's 

Electronic Document Filing Portal ("EDFP") or by sending the 

documents to the Clerk of the Industrial Commission via 

electronic mail (dockets@ic.nc.gov), facsimile, U.S. Mail, private 

courier service, or hand delivery. 

(b)  Except as set forth in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule, all 

documents required to be submitted electronically to the 

Commission shall be filed via EDFP. Information regarding how 

to use EDFP is available at http://www.ic.nc.gov/training.html. In 

the event EDFP is inoperable, all documents required to be filed 

via EDFP shall be transmitted to the Commission via electronic 

mail to edfp@ic.nc.gov. Documents required to be filed via EDFP 

that are sent to the Commission via electronic mail when EDFP is 

operable shall not be accepted for filing. 

(c)  Transcripts of depositions shall be filed with the Commission 

pursuant to this Rule by the court reporting service. Transcripts 

filed with the Commission shall have only one page of text per 

page and shall include all exhibits. The parties shall provide the 

Commission's court reporting service with the information 

necessary to effectuate filing of the deposition transcripts and 

attached exhibits via EDFP. If an exhibit to a deposition is in a 

form that makes submission of an electronic copy impracticable, 

counsel for the party offering the exhibit shall make arrangements 

with the Commission to facilitate the submission of the exhibit. 

Condensed transcripts and paper copies of deposition transcripts 

shall not be accepted for filing. 

(d)  A Form 19 shall be filed as the first report of injury (FROI) 

via electronic data interchange (EDI), except in claims involving 

non-insured employers, in claims for lung disease, in claims with 

multiple employers or multiple carriers, or in claims with six-

character IC file numbers, in which case the Form 19 shall be filed 

electronically via EDFP or as otherwise permitted pursuant to 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Information regarding how to register 

for and use EDI is available at www.ncicedi.info. 

(e)  Documents to be filed with the Criminal Investigations & 

Employee Classification Division regarding fraud complaints 

shall be submitted electronically to fraudcomplaints@ic.nc.gov. 

Documents to be filed with the Criminal Investigations & 

Employee Classification Division regarding employee 

misclassification shall be submitted electronically to 

emp.classification@ic.nc.gov. Safety rules to be filed with the 

Commission under 11 NCAC 23A .0411 shall be submitted 

electronically to safety@ic.nc.gov. 

(f)  A self-insured employer, carrier or guaranty association, third-

party administrator, court reporting service, medical provider, or 

law firm may apply to the Commission for an emergency 

temporary waiver of the electronic filing requirement set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule when it is unable to comply because of 

temporary technical problems or lack of electronic mail or internet 

access. The request for an emergency temporary waiver shall be 

included with any filing submitted via facsimile, U.S. Mail, or 

hand delivery due to such temporary technical or access issues. 

(g)  A Notice of Appeal to the North Carolina Court of Appeals 

shall be accepted for filing by the Commission via EDFP, U.S. 

Mail, hand delivery, or any other means allowed by the Rules of 

Appellate Procedure or applicable statutes governing appeals 

from the General Courts of Justice. Notwithstanding the 

foregoing, employees and non-insured employers without legal 

representation may file all documents with the Commission as 

provided in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80; 97-81; 97-86; 

Eff. February 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2017; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0108 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0109 CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include 

telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing 

address. 

(b)  All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission 

shall inform the Commission of any change in the attorney's 

contact information via the Commission's Electronic Document 

Filing Portal ("EDFP"). 

(c)  All unrepresented persons or entities with matters before the 

Commission shall inform the Commission upon any change to 

their contact information in the following manner: 

(1) All employees who are not represented by 

counsel shall inform the Commission of any 

change in contact information by filing a 

written notice via EDFP, email to 

forms@ic.nc.gov, facsimile, U.S. Mail, private 

courier service, or hand delivery. 

(2) All non-insured employers that are not 

represented by counsel shall inform the 

Commission of any change in contact 

information by filing a written notice via EDFP, 

email to dockets@ic.nc.gov, facsimile, U.S. 

Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80; 

Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0302 REQUIRED CONTACT 

INFORMATION FROM CARRIERS 

All insurance carriers, third party administrators, and self-insured 

employers shall designate a primary contact person for workers' 

compensation issues in North Carolina and shall maintain and 

provide annually on July 1 to the Director of Claims 

Administration of the Commission via the Commission's 

Electronic Document Filing Portal ("EDFP") the primary contact 

person's current contact information, including direct telephone 

and facsimile numbers, mailing addresses, and email addresses. 

Contact information shall be updated within 30 days of any 

change. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 97-94; 

Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0302 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 
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11 NCAC 23A .0408 APPLICATION FOR OR 

STIPULATION TO ADDITIONAL MEDICAL 

COMPENSATION 

(a)  An employee may file an application for additional medical 

compensation with the Office of the Executive Secretary for an 

order for payment of additional medical compensation within two 

years of the date of the last payment of medical or indemnity 

compensation, whichever occurs last. An application may be 

made on a Form 18M Employee's Application for Additional 

Medical Compensation or by written request. In the alternative, 

an employee may file an application for additional medical 

compensation by filing a Form 33 Request that Claim be Assigned 

for Hearing with the Commission pursuant to Rule .0602 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  Upon receipt of a Form 18M Employee's Application for 

Additional Medical Compensation or a written request, the 

Commission shall notify the employer, carrier, or administrator 

that the claim has been received by providing a copy of the Form 

18M Employee's Application for Additional Medical 

Compensation or the written request. Within 30 days, the 

employer, carrier, or administrator may send to the Commission 

and the employee's attorney of record or the employee, if 

unrepresented, a written statement as to whether the request is 

accepted or denied. If the request is denied, the employer, carrier, 

or administrator may state in writing the grounds for the denial 

and shall attach any supporting documentation to the statement of 

denial. 

(c)  The parties may, by agreement or stipulation consistent with 

the Workers' Compensation Act, provide for additional medical 

compensation. 

(d)  This Rule applies to injuries occurring on or after July 5, 1994. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-25.1; 97-80(a); 

Eff. March 15, 1995; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; June 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0408 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0409 CLAIMS FOR DEATH 

BENEFITS 

(a)  An employer shall notify the Commission of the occurrence 

of a death resulting from an injury or occupational disease 

allegedly arising out of and in the course of employment by filing 

a Form 19 Employer's Report of Employee's Injury or 

Occupational Disease to the Industrial Commission within five 

days of knowledge of the death.  

(b)  An employer, carrier, or administrator shall conduct an 

investigation to determine the names and addresses of decedent's 

potential beneficiaries under G.S. 97-38 and identify them on the 

Form 29 Supplemental Report for Fatal Accidents. The Form 29 

Supplemental Report for Fatal Accidents shall be filed with the 

Commission within 45 days of notification of a death or allegation 

of death resulting from an injury or occupational disease arising 

out of and in the course of employment. 

(c)  If the employer, carrier, or administrator disputes that an 

employee's death is compensable or denies it has liability for the 

claim, the employer, carrier, or administrator shall notify the 

Commission on a Form 61 Denial of Workers' Compensation 

Claim. When the employer, carrier, or administrator denies 

liability for a claim involving an employee's death, the employer, 

carrier, or administrator shall send the form to all known potential 

beneficiaries, their attorneys of record, if any, all health care 

providers that have submitted bills to the employer, carrier, or 

administrator, and the Commission. 

(d)  If the employer, carrier, or administrator accepts liability for 

a claim involving an employee's death and there are no issues 

necessitating a hearing for determination of beneficiaries or their 

respective rights, the parties shall submit either a Form 30 

Agreement for Compensation for Death as set forth in Rule .0501 

of this Subchapter or a proposed Opinion and Award. 

(e)  If the parties submit a Form 30 Agreement for Compensation 

for Death, the agreement shall be filed in accordance with Rule 

.0108 of this Subchapter with the following: 

(1) a stipulation as to average weekly wage; 

(2) any affidavits regarding dependents; 

(3) the employee's death certificate; 

(4) a Form 29 Supplemental Report for Fatal 

Accidents; 

(5) a Form 42 Application for Appointment of 

Guardian ad Litem, if any beneficiary is a minor 

or incompetent; 

(6) proof of beneficiary status, such as marriage 

license, birth certificate, or divorce decree; 

(7) a funeral bill or stipulation as to payment of the 

funeral benefit; 

(8) a Form 30D Award Approving Agreement for 

Compensation for Death; and 

(9) an affidavit or itemized statement in support of 

an award of attorney's fees if an attorney is 

seeking fees for representation of one or more 

beneficiaries. 

(f)  If the parties seek a written Opinion and Award from the 

Commission regarding the payment of death benefits in lieu of 

submitting a Form 30 Agreement for Compensation for Death, the 

parties shall file, in accordance with Rule .0108 of this 

Subchapter, a proposed Opinion and Award with the following: 

(1) a stipulation regarding all jurisdictional 

matters; 

(2) the decedent's name, social security number, 

employer, insurance carrier or servicing agent, 

and the date of the injury giving rise to this 

claim; 

(3) a stipulation as to average weekly wage; 

(4) any affidavits regarding dependents; 

(5) the employee's death certificate; 

(6) a Form 29 Supplemental Report for Fatal 

Accidents; 

(7) a Form 42 Application for Appointment of 

Guardian ad Litem, if any beneficiary is a minor 

or incompetent; 

(8) proof of beneficiary status, such as marriage 

license, birth certificate, or divorce decree; 

(9) medical records, if any; 

(10) a statement of payment of medical expenses 

incurred, if any; 

(11) a funeral bill or stipulation as to payment of the 

funeral benefit; and 
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(12) an affidavit or itemized statement in support of 

an award of attorney's fees if an attorney is 

seeking fees for representation of one or more 

beneficiaries. 

(g)  If an issue exists as to whether a person is a beneficiary 

pursuant to G.S. 97-38 or if any other disputed issue exists in an 

accepted claim, the employer, carrier, administrator, potential 

beneficiary, or any person asserting a claim for benefits may 

request a hearing by filing a Form 33 Request that Claim be 

Assigned for Hearing in accordance with Rule .0602 of this 

Subchapter. 

(h)  Upon approval by the Commission of a Form 30 Agreement 

for Compensation for Death or upon the issuance of a final order 

of the Commission directing payment of death benefits pursuant 

to G.S. 97-38, payment shall be made by the employer, carrier, or 

administrator directly to the beneficiaries, with the following 

exceptions: 

(1) any applicable award of attorney's fees shall be 

paid directly to the attorney; and 

(2) benefits due to a minor or incompetent. 

(i)  In all cases involving minors and incompetent persons who 

are potential beneficiaries, a guardian ad litem shall be appointed 

pursuant to Rule .0604 of this Subchapter. 

(j)  Any benefits due to a minor pursuant to G.S. 97-38 shall be 

paid directly to the minor's parent, legal guardian, or legal 

custodian, if the minor remains in the physical custody of such 

person, or another person if ordered by the Commission for good 

cause shown. The benefits shall be for the exclusive use and 

benefit of the minor. When a beneficiary reaches the age of 18, 

any remaining benefits shall be paid directly to the beneficiary. 

(k)  The Commission shall order that the benefits for an 

incompetent beneficiary shall be paid to the person or entity 

authorized to receive funds on behalf of the beneficiary pursuant 

to a federal or state court order, or to the Clerk of Court in the 

county in which the beneficiary resides, for the beneficiary's 

exclusive use and benefit. 

(l)  Upon a change in circumstances, any interested party may 

request that the Commission amend the terms of any award with 

respect to a minor or incompetent person to direct payment to 

another party on behalf of the minor or incompetent person. 

(m)  In the case of benefits commuted to present value, only those 

sums that have not accrued at the time of the approval of a Form 

30 Agreement for Compensation for Death or entry of a final 

order of the Commission directing payment of death benefits 

pursuant to G.S. 97-38 are subject to commutation pursuant to 

Rule .0406 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-38; 97-39; 97-80(a); 

Eff. June 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; January 2, 2011; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0409 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0501 AGREEMENTS FOR PROMPT 

PAYMENT OF COMPENSATION 

(a)  To facilitate the payment of compensation within the time 

prescribed in G.S. 97-18, the Commission shall accept 

memoranda of agreement on Commission forms. These forms 

include the Form 21 Agreement for Compensation for Disability, 

Form 26 Supplemental Agreement as to Payment of 

Compensation, Form 26A Employer's Admission of Employee's 

Right to Permanent Partial Disability, Form 26D Agreement for 

Payment of Unpaid Compensation in Unrelated Death Cases, and 

Form 30 Agreement for Compensation for Death. 

(b)  No agreement for permanent disability shall be approved until 

the relevant medical and vocational records, including a job 

description if the employee has permanent work restrictions and 

has returned to work for the employer of injury, known to exist in 

the case have been filed with the Commission. When requested 

by the Commission, the parties shall file any additional 

documentation necessary to determine whether the employee is 

receiving the disability compensation to which he or she is entitled 

and that an employee qualifying for disability compensation 

under G.S. 97-29 or G.S. 97-30, and G.S. 97-31 has the benefit of 

the more favorable remedy. 

(c)  After the employer, carrier, or administrator has received a 

memorandum of agreement that has been signed by the employee 

and the employee's attorney of record, if any, the employer, 

carrier, or administrator shall submit the memorandum of 

agreement within 20 days to the Commission for review and 

approval. Agreements conforming to the provisions of the 

Workers' Compensation Act shall be approved by the 

Commission and a copy returned to the employer, carrier, or 

administrator, and a copy sent to the employee.  

(d)  Upon submission to the Commission of the executed 

agreement, the employer, carrier, administrator, or the attorney of 

record, if any, shall provide the employee, beneficiary, or attorney 

of record, if any, with a copy of the executed agreement that was 

submitted to the Commission. 

(e)  All memoranda of agreement for cases that are calendared for 

hearing before a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner shall be 

addressed to that Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner, and 

filed in accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. Before a 

case is calendared, or once a case has been continued or removed, 

or after the filing of an Opinion and Award, all memoranda of 

agreement shall be addressed to the Claims Section of the 

Commission, and filed in accordance with Rule .0108 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-18; 97-80(a); 97-82; 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; August 1, 2006; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0501 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0903 EMPLOYEE'S OBLIGATION TO 

REPORT EARNINGS 

(a)  A self-insured employer, carrier, or third-party administrator 

may require the employee who has filed a claim and is receiving 

wage loss benefits under G.S. 97-29 or G.S. 97-30 to complete a 

Form 90 Report of Earnings when reasonably necessary but not 

more than once every six months. 

(b)  The Form 90 Report of Earnings shall be sent to the employee 

by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include a self-

addressed stamped envelope for the return of the form. When the 

employee is represented by an attorney, the Form 90 Report of 

Earnings shall be sent only to the attorney for the employee and 

shall be sent by any method of transmission that provides proof of 
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receipt, including electronic mail, facsimile, or certified mail, 

return receipt requested.  

(c)  The employee shall complete and return the Form 90 Report 

of Earnings within 15 days after receipt of a Form 90 Report of 

Earnings. If the employee fails to complete and return the Form 

90 Report of Earnings within 30 days of receipt of the form, the 

self-insured employer, carrier, or third-party administrator may 

seek to suspend compensation being paid pursuant to G.S. 97-29 

by filing a Form 24 Application to Terminate or Suspend Payment 

of Compensation, as allowed by G.S. 97-18.1 and Rule .0404 of 

this Subchapter.  

(d)  If compensation is suspended pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule and the employee subsequently completes and returns the 

Form 90 Report of Earnings, the self-insured employer, carrier, or 

third-party administrator shall reinstate payment of compensation 

to the employee with back payment. However, if the Form 90 

Report of Earnings does not indicate continuing eligibility for 

disability compensation, the self-insured employer, carrier, or 

third-party administrator is not required to reinstate payment of 

compensation. If the Form 90 Report of Earnings indicates 

continuing eligibility for temporary partial disability 

compensation, the self-insured employer, carrier, or third-party 

administrator shall make payment of compensation pursuant to 

G.S. 97-30 with back payment within 14 days of receipt of 

documentation establishing the amount of compensation due. If 

payment of compensation is not reinstated following submission 

of the completed Form 90 Report of Earnings and the employee 

claims entitlement to ongoing disability compensation, the 

employee may seek reinstatement by filing a Form 23 Application 

to Reinstate Payment of Disability Compensation or Form 33 

Request that Claim be Assigned for Hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a);  

Eff. June 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; August 1, 2006; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0903 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0104 ELECTRONIC FILINGS WITH 

THE COMMISSION; HOW TO FILE 

(a)  All filings to the Commission in tort claims shall be submitted 

electronically in accordance with this Rule. Any document 

transmitted to the Commission in a manner not in accordance with 

this Rule shall not be accepted for filing. Plaintiffs without legal 

representation may file all documents with the Office of the Clerk 

of the Commission via the Commission's Electronic Document 

Filing Portal ("EDFP") or by sending the documents to the Clerk 

of the Industrial Commission via electronic mail 

(dockets@ic.nc.gov), facsimile, U.S. Mail, private courier 

service, or hand delivery. 

(b)  Information regarding how to use EDFP is available at 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/training.html. In the event EDFP is 

inoperable, all documents required to be filed via EDFP shall be 

transmitted to the Commission via electronic mail to 

edfp@ic.nc.gov. Documents required to be filed via EDFP that 

are sent to the Commission via electronic mail when EDFP is 

operable shall not be accepted for filing. 

(c)  Any party may apply to the Commission for an emergency 

temporary waiver of the electronic filing requirement set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule if it is unable to comply because of 

temporary technical problems or lack of electronic mail or internet 

access. The request for an emergency temporary waiver shall be 

included with any filing submitted via facsimile, U.S. Mail, or 

hand delivery due to such temporary technical or access issues. 

(d)  A Notice of Appeal to the North Carolina Court of Appeals 

shall be accepted for filing by the Commission via EDFP, U.S. 

Mail, hand delivery, or any other means allowed by the Rules of 

Appellate Procedure or applicable statutes governing appeals 

from the General Courts of Justice. Notwithstanding the 

foregoing, plaintiffs without legal representation may file all 

documents with the Commission as provided in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-293; 143-297; 

143-300; 

Eff. May 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0104 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021; March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0105 CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include 

telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing 

address. 

(b)  All persons or entities without legal representation who have 

matters pending before the Commission shall inform the 

Commission of any change in contact information by filing a 

written notice via the Commission's Electronic Document Filing 

Portal ("EDFP"), email to contactinfo@ic.nc.gov, facsimile, U.S. 

Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery. 

(c)  A plaintiff without legal representation who was an inmate in 

the North Carolina Division of Adult Corrections at the time of 

filing his or her tort claim, shall, within 30 days of release, provide 

the Commission with written notice of his or her post-release 

contact information in any manner authorized in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. Following the initial written notice of post-release 

contact information, the previously incarcerated plaintiff shall 

continue to inform the Commission of all changes in contact 

information in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission 

shall inform the Commission in writing of any change in the 

attorney's or the represented party's contact information via 

EDFP. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-300; 

Eff. March 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0106 NOTICE BY THE COMMISSION 

(a)  If service is provided by electronic mail, "receipt of such 

notice" pursuant to G.S. 143-292 and "receipt of the decision and 

order" of the Full Commission pursuant to G.S. 143-293 is 

complete one hour after it is sent by the Commission, provided 

that: 

(1) notice sent after 5:00 p.m. shall be complete at 

8:00 a.m. the following State business day; and 

(2) notice sent by electronic mail that is not 

readable by the recipient is not complete. 
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Within five State business days of receipt of an 

unreadable document, the receiving party shall 

notify the Commission of the unreadability of 

the document. 

(b)  If service is provided by electronic mail, notice of orders or 

other documents issued pursuant to G.S. 143-296 is complete in 

accordance with the same provisions set forth in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-300; 

Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 23E .0104 SECURE LEAVE PERIODS FOR 

ATTORNEYS 

(a)  Any attorney may request one or more secure leave periods 

each year as provided in this Rule. 

(b)  For the purpose of this Paragraph only, a "secure leave period" 

is defined as a partial calendar week or a complete calendar week. 

Within a calendar year, an attorney is entitled to obtain secure 

leave periods totaling up to 15 business days for any purpose. 

(c)  For the purpose of this Paragraph only, a "secure leave period" 

is defined as a complete calendar week. Within a 24-week period 

surrounding the birth or adoption of an attorney's child, that 

attorney is entitled to have the benefit of up to 12 additional secure 

leave periods. 

(d)  To request a secure leave period, an attorney shall file a 

written request, by letter or motion, containing the information 

required by Paragraph (e) of this Rule with the Office of the Chair 

within the time period provided in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

Upon such filing, the Chair shall review the request. If the request 

is made pursuant to Paragraph (b) or Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

and the request complies with Paragraphs (e) and (f) of this Rule, 

the Chair shall issue a letter allowing the requested secure leave 

period. The attorney shall not be required to appear at any trial, 

hearing, deposition, or other proceeding before the Commission 

during a secure leave period that is allowed. 

(e)  The request shall contain the following information: 

(1) the attorney's name, mailing address, telephone 

number, email address, and state bar number; 

(2) the date(s) for which secure leave is being 

requested; 

(3) the dates of all other secure leave periods during 

the current calendar year that have previously 

been designated by the attorney pursuant to this 

Rule; 

(4) a statement that the secure leave period is not 

being designated for the purpose of delaying, 

hindering, or interfering with the disposition of 

any matter in any pending action or proceeding; 

(5) a statement that no action or proceeding in 

which the attorney has entered an appearance 

has been scheduled, tentatively set, or noticed 

for trial, hearing, deposition, or other 

proceeding during the designated secure leave 

period; and 

(6) for secure leave requests that arise under 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the expected birth 

date or adoption date of the child. 

(f)  The request shall be filed: 

(1) no later than 90 days before the beginning of the 

secure leave period; and 

(2) before any trial, hearing, deposition, or other 

matter has been scheduled, peremptorily set, or 

noticed for a time during the designated secure 

leave period. 

(g)  The Chair may, as set forth in Rule .0301 of this Subchapter, 

make exception to the 15-day aggregate limit set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the requirement set forth in 

Subparagraph (e)(5) of this Rule, and the limitations set forth in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. An attorney requesting that the Chair 

make an exception under this Paragraph shall inform the Chair of 

all known actions or proceedings involving that attorney that are 

scheduled, tentatively set, or noticed for trial, hearing, deposition, 

or other proceeding during the requested secure leave period. The 

attorney also shall provide notice to all opposing parties or, if 

represented, opposing counsel of record in all cases subject to the 

jurisdiction of the Industrial Commission of the beginning and 

ending dates of the requested secure leave period and of all known 

actions or proceedings involving that attorney that are scheduled, 

tentatively set, or noticed for trial, hearing, deposition, or other 

proceeding during the requested secure leave period. 

(h)  After a secure leave period has been allowed pursuant to this 

Rule, if any trial, hearing, or other proceeding is scheduled or 

tentatively set for a time during the secure leave period, the 

attorney shall file with the Deputy Commissioner or Chair of the 

Full Commission panel before which the matter was calendared 

or set, and serve on all parties, a copy of the letter allowing the 

secure leave period with a certificate of service attached. Upon 

receipt, the proceeding shall be rescheduled for a time that is not 

within the attorney's secure leave period. 

(i)  After a secure leave period has been allowed pursuant to this 

Rule, if any deposition is noticed for a time during the secure 

leave period, the attorney shall serve on the party that noticed the 

deposition a copy of the letter allowing the secure leave period 

with a certificate of service attached, and that party shall 

reschedule the deposition for a time that is not within the 

attorney's secure leave period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 

Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10E .0104 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 23L .0101 FORM 21 – AGREEMENT FOR COMPENSATION FOR DISABILITY 

(a)  The parties to a workers' compensation claim shall use the following Form 21, Agreement for Compensation for Disability, for 

agreements regarding disability and payment of compensation therefor pursuant to G.S. 97-29 and 97-30. Additional issues agreed upon 

by the parties such as payment of compensation for permanent partial disability may also be included on the form. This form is necessary 

to comply with Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501, where applicable. The Form 21, Agreement for Compensation for Disability, shall read as 

follows: 
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North Carolina Industrial Commission 

Agreement for Compensation for Disability 

(G.S. 97-82) 

 

IC File # __________ 

Emp. Code # __________ 

Carrier Code # __________ 

Carrier File # __________ 

 

The Use Of This Form Is Required Under The Provisions of The Workers' Compensation Act 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employee's Name 

____________________________________________________________ 

Address 

____________________________________________________________ 

City                                   State               Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Home Telephone                                                          Work Telephone 

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number: _______ Sex:  M     F  Date of Birth: _______ 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Name                                                Telephone Number 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Address                                                   City    State     Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Insurance Carrier 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Address                                                       City    State     Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Telephone Number                                        Carrier's Fax Number 

 

We, The Undersigned, Do Hereby Agree And Stipulate As Follows: 

1. All parties hereto are subject to and bound by the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act and __________ is the 

carrier/administrator for the employer. 

2. The employee sustained an injury by accident or the employee contracted an occupational disease arising out of and in the 

course of employment on or by __________.  

3. The injury by accident or occupational disease resulted in the following injuries: __________ 

________________________________________________________________________________. 

4. The employee  was/  was not paid for the entire day when the injury occurred. 

5. The average weekly wage of the employee at the time of the injury, including overtime and all allowances, was $________, 

subject to verification unless otherwise agreed upon in Item 9 below. 

6. Disability resulting from the injury or occupational disease began on ________. 

7. The employer and carrier/administrator hereby undertake to pay compensation to the employee at the rate of $________ per 

week beginning ________, and continuing for ________ weeks. 

8. The employee  has /  has not returned to work for ________________________________ 

on ________________ , at an average weekly wage of $________. 

9. State any further matters agreed upon, including disfigurement, permanent partial, or temporary partial disability: 

________________________________________________________________. 

10. If applicable, the Second Injury Fund Assessment is $________. Check  is  is not attached. 

11. The date of this agreement is ________. Date of first payment: ________ Amount: ________. 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Employer                                                        Signature                            Title 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Carrier / Administrator                                    Signature                            Title 

 

By signing I enter into this agreement and certify that I have read the “Important Notices to Employee” printed on Page 2 of this form. 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Signature of Employee     Address 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee's Attorney   Address 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

The Foregoing Agreement Is Hereby Approved: 

___________________________________________ 

Claims Examiner                                            Date 

___________________________________________ 

Attorney's Fee Approved 

 

 Check Box If No Attorney Retained. 

 Check Box If Employee Is In Managed Care. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE CLAIMING ADDITIONAL WEEKLY CHECKS OR LUMP SUM PAYMENTS 

 

Once your compensation checks have been stopped, if you claim further compensation, you must notify the Industrial Commission in 

writing within two years from the date of receipt of your last compensation check or your rights to these benefits may be lost. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED BEFORE JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL BENEFITS 

 

If your injury occurred before July 5, 1994, you are entitled to medical compensation as long as it is reasonably necessary, related to 

your workers' compensation case, and authorized by the carrier or the Industrial Commission. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED ON OR AFTER JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL 

BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred on or after July 5, 1994, your right to future medical compensation will depend on several factors. Your right to 

payment of future medical compensation will terminate two years after your employer or carrier/administrator last pays any medical 

compensation or other compensation, whichever occurs last. If you think you will need future medical compensation, you must file an 

application for additional medical compensation pursuant to G.S. 97-25.1 within two years, or your right to these benefits may be lost. 

An application for additional medical compensation may be made on a Form 18M Employee’s Application for Additional Medical 

Compensation or by written request.  In the alternative, an employee may file an application for additional medical compensation by 

filing a Form 33 Request that Claim be Assigned for Hearing pursuant to 11 NCAC 23A .0602.  All Industrial Commission forms are 

available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms.html. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 

 

The employee must be provided a copy of the form when the agreement is signed by the employee. Pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23A 

.0501, within 20 days after receipt of the agreement executed by the employee, the employer or carrier/administrator must submit the 

agreement to the Industrial Commission. The employer or carrier/administrator shall file a Form 28B, Report of Compensation and 

Medical Compensation Paid, within 16 days after the last payment made pursuant to this agreement or be subject to a penalty. 

 

NEED ASSISTANCE? 

 

If you have questions or need help and you do not have an attorney, you may contact the Industrial Commission at (800) 688-8349. 

 

Form 21 

3/2021 

 

Self-Insured Employer or Carrier, File via Electronic Document Filing Portal ("EDFP"): 

https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html 

Contact Information: 

NCIC- Claims Administration 

Telephone: (919) 807-2502 

Helpline: (800) 688-8349 

Website: https://www.ic.nc.gov 
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(b)  The copy of the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule can be accessed at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form21.pdf. The form 

may be reproduced only in the format available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form21.pdf and may not be altered or amended in any 

way. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-73; 97-80(a); 97-81(a); 97-82; S.L. 2014-77; 

Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10L .0101 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 23L .0102 FORM 26 – SUPPLEMENTAL AGREEMENT AS TO PAYMENT OF COMPENSATION 

(a)  If the parties to a workers' compensation claim have previously entered into an approved agreement on a Form 21, Agreement for 

Compensation for Disability, or a Form 26A, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability, they shall use 

the following Form 26, Supplemental Agreement as to Payment of Compensation, for agreements regarding subsequent additional 

disability and payment of compensation pursuant to G.S. 97-29 and 97-30. Additional issues agreed upon by the parties such as payment 

of compensation for permanent partial disability may also be included on the form. This form is necessary to comply with Rule 11 

NCAC 23A .0501, where applicable. The Form 26, Supplemental Agreement as to Payment of Compensation, shall read as follows: 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

Supplemental Agreement as to Payment 

of Compensation (G.S. §97-82) 

 

IC File # __________ 

Emp. Code # __________ 

Carrier Code # __________ 

Carrier File # __________ 

 

The Use Of This Form Is Required Under The Provisions of The Workers' Compensation Act 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employee's Name 

____________________________________________________________ 

Address 

____________________________________________________________ 

City                                   State               Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Home Telephone                                                          Work Telephone 

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number: _______ Sex:  M     F  Date of Birth: _______ 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Name                                                Telephone Number 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Address                                                   City    State     Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Insurance Carrier 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Address                                                       City    State     Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Telephone Number                                        Carrier's Fax Number 

 

We, The Undersigned, Do Hereby Agree and Stipulate As Follows: 

1. Date of injury: __________. 

2. The employee  returned to work /  was rated on __________  (date), at a weekly wage of $__________. 

3. The employee became totally disabled on __________. 

4. Employee's average weekly wage  was reduced /   was increased on __________, from $__________ per week to 

$__________ per week. 

5. The employer and carrier/administrator hereby undertake to pay compensation to the employee at the rate of $__________ per 

week. 

Beginning __________, and continuing for__________ weeks.  The type of disability compensation is  

________________________________________________________________________________. 
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6. State any further matters agreed upon, including disfigurement or temporary partial disability: 

________________________________________________________________________________. 

 

7. The date of this agreement is __________. 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Employer                                                        Signature                            Title 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Carrier/Administrator                                    Signature                            Title 

 

By signing I enter into this agreement and certify that I have read the "Important Notices to Employee" printed on Page 2 of this form. 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee     Address 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee's Attorney   Address 

 

 Check box if no attorney retained. 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

The Foregoing Agreement Is Hereby Approved: 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Claims Examiner                                                               Date 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Attorney's fee approved 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE CLAIMING ADDITIONAL WEEKLY CHECKS OR LUMP SUM PAYMENTS 

Once your compensation checks have been stopped, if you claim further compensation, you must notify the Industrial Commission in 

writing within two years from the date of receipt of your last compensation check or your rights to these benefits may be lost. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED BEFORE JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred before July 5, 1994, you are entitled to medical compensation as long as it is reasonably necessary, related to 

your workers’ compensation case, and authorized by the carrier or the Industrial Commission. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED ON OR AFTER JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL 

BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred on or after July 5, 1994, your right to future medical compensation will depend on several factors.  Your right to 

payment of future medical compensation will terminate two years after your employer or carrier/administrator last pays any medical 

compensation or other compensation, whichever occurs last.  If you think you will need future medical compensation, you must file an 

application for additional medical compensation pursuant to G.S. 97-25.1 within two years, or your right to these benefits may be lost.  

An application for additional medical compensation may be made on a Form 18M Employee’s Application for Additional Medical 

Compensation or by written request.  In the alternative, an employee may file an application for additional medical compensation by 

filing a Form 33 Request that Claim be Assigned for Hearing pursuant to 11 NCAC 23A .0602.  All Industrial Commission forms are 

available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms.html.  

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 

 

This form shall be used only to supplement Form 21, Agreement for Compensation for Disability (G.S. 97-82), or an award in cases in 

which subsequent conditions require a modification of a former agreement or award.  The employee must be provided a copy of the 

form when the agreement is signed by the employee.  Pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501, within 20 days after receipt of the agreement 

executed by the employee, the employer or carrier/administrator must submit the agreement to the Industrial Commission. The employer 

or carrier/administrator shall file a Form 28B, Report of Compensation and Medical Compensation Paid, within 16 days after the last 

payment made pursuant to this agreement or be subject to a penalty. 

 

NEED ASSISTANCE? 

 

If you have questions or need help and you do not have an attorney, you may contact the Industrial Commission at (800) 688-8349. 

 

Form 26 

3/2021 

Self-Insured Employer or Carrier, File via Electronic Document Filing Portal ("EDFP"): 
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https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html 

Contact Information: 

NCIC- Claims Administration 

Telephone: (919) 807-2502 

Helpline: (800) 688-8349 

Website: https://www.ic.nc.gov 

 

(b)  The copy of the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule can be accessed at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form26.pdf. The form 

may be reproduced only in the format available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form26.pdf and may not be altered or amended in any 

way. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-73; 97-80(a); 97-81(a); 97-82; S.L. 2014-77; 

Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10L .0102 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 23L .0103 FORM 26A – EMPLOYER'S ADMISSION OF EMPLOYEE'S RIGHT TO PERMANENT 

PARTIAL DISABILITY (EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 1, 2020) 

(a)  The parties to a workers' compensation claim shall use the following Form 26A, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to 

Permanent Partial Disability, for agreements regarding the employee's entitlement to and the employer's payment of compensation for 

permanent partial disability pursuant to G.S. 97-31. Additional issues agreed upon by the parties, such as election of payment of 

temporary partial disability pursuant to G.S. 97-30, may also be included on the form. This form is necessary to comply with Rule 11 

NCAC 23A .0501, where applicable. The Form 26A, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability, shall 

read as follows: 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability 

(G.S. 97-31) 

 

IC File # __________ 

Emp. Code # __________ 

Carrier Code # __________ 

Carrier File # __________ 

Employer FEIN __________ 

 

The Use Of This Form Is Required Under The Provisions of The Workers' Compensation Act 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employee's Name 

____________________________________________________________ 

Address 

____________________________________________________________ 

City     State    Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Home Telephone      Work Telephone 

Social Security Number: _______ Sex:  M  F Date of Birth: _______ 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Name     Telephone Number 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Address   City  State  Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Insurance Carrier 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Address    City  State  Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Telephone Number    Carrier's Fax Number 

 

WE, THE UNDERSIGNED, DO HEREBY AGREE AND STIPULATE AS FOLLOWS: 
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1.  All the parties hereto are subject to and bound by the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act and 

______________________ is the Carrier/Administrator for the Employer. 

2.  The employee sustained an injury by accident or the employee contracted an occupational disease arising out of and in the course 

of employment on _____________________. 

3.  The injury by accident or occupational disease resulted in the following injuries: ______________________________________. 

4.  The employee  was  was not paid for the 7 day waiting period. 

If not, was salary continued?  yes  no. Was employee paid for the date of injury?  yes  no 

5.  The average weekly wage of the employee at the time of the injury, including overtime and all allowances, was $_____________. 

This results in a weekly compensation rate of $____________. 

6.  The employee  has  has not returned full time to work for _________________________ 

on ________________________, at an average weekly wage of $__________________. 

7.  Claimant was released  with permanent restrictions  without permanent restrictions. If claimant was released with permanent 

restrictions and has returned to work for the employer of injury, attach a job description if known to exist. 

8.  Permanent partial disability compensation will be paid to the injured worker as follows: 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

Total amount of permanent partial disability compensation is $___________. Date of first payment:______________. 

9.  State any further matters agreed upon, including disfigurement, loss of teeth, election of temporary partial disability, waiting 

period or other: ___________________________________________________________________________________. 

10.  An overpayment is claimed in the amount of $________. Overpayment was calculated as 

follows:__________________________________________________. 

If overpayment claimed, a Form 28B, Report of Compensation and Medical Compensation Paid, is attached.  yes  no 

11.  If applicable, the Second Injury Fund Assessment is $ ___________________. A check  is  is not included. 

 

The undersigned hereby certify that the material medical and vocational records related to the injury, including any job description 

known to exist if the employee has permanent restrictions and has returned to work for the employer of injury, have been provided to 

the employee or the employee's attorney and have been filed with the Industrial Commission for consideration pursuant to G.S. 97-82(a) 

and Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Employer   Signature    Title    Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Carrier/Administrator  Signature  Direct Phone Number  Email Address  Title  Date 

 

By signing I enter into this agreement and certify that I have read the "Important Notices to Employee" 

printed on Page 3 of this form. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee    Address   Email Address   Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee's Attorney   Address   Email Address   Date 

 

 Check box if no attorney retained. 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

The Foregoing Agreement Is Hereby Approved: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Claims Examiner         Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Attorney's fee approved 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE CLAIMING ADDITIONAL WEEKLY CHECKS OR LUMP SUM PAYMENTS 

Once your compensation checks have been stopped, if you claim further compensation, you must notify the Industrial Commission in 

writing within two years from the date of receipt of your last compensation check or your rights to these benefits may be lost. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED BEFORE JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred before July 5, 1994, you are entitled to medical compensation as long as it is reasonably necessary, related to 

your workers' compensation case, and authorized by the carrier or the Industrial Commission. 
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IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED ON OR AFTER JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL 

BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred on or after July 5, 1994, your right to future medical compensation will depend on several factors. Your right to 

payment of future medical compensation will terminate two years after your employer or carrier/administrator last pays any medical 

compensation or other compensation, whichever occurs last. If you think you will need future medical compensation, you must apply 

to the Industrial Commission in writing within two years, or your right to these benefits may be lost. To apply you may also use Industrial 

Commission 18M, Employee's Application for Additional Medical Compensation (G.S. 97-25.1), available at 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms.html. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 

The employee must be provided a copy when the agreement is signed by the employee. Pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501, within 

20 days after receipt of the agreement executed by the employee, the employer or carrier/administrator must submit the agreement to 

the Industrial Commission, or show cause for not submitting the agreement. The employer or carrier/administrator shall file a Form 

28B, Report of Compensation and Medical Compensation Paid, within 16 days after the last payment made pursuant to this agreement 

or be subject to a penalty. 

 

NEED ASSISTANCE? 

If you have questions or need help and you do not have an attorney, you may contact the Industrial Commission at (800) 688-8349. 

 

Form 26A 

12/2020 

 

Self-Insured Employer or Carrier Mail to: 

NCIC - Claims Administration 

4335 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4335 

Main Telephone: (919) 807-2500 

Helpline: (800) 688-8349 

Website: http://www.ic.nc.gov/ 

 

(b)  A copy of the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule can be accessed at http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form26a.pdf. The form 

may be reproduced only in the format available at http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form26a.pdf and may not be altered or amended in any 

way. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-30; 97-31; 97-73; 97-80(a); 97-81(a); 97-82; S.L. 2014-77; 

Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10L .0103 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 23L .0103 FORM 26A – EMPLOYER'S ADMISSION OF EMPLOYEE'S RIGHT TO PERMANENT 

PARTIAL DISABILITY (EFFECTIVE MARCH 1, 2021) 

(a)  The parties to a workers' compensation claim shall use the following Form 26A, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to 

Permanent Partial Disability, for agreements regarding the employee's entitlement to and the employer's payment of compensation for 

permanent partial disability pursuant to G.S. 97-31. Additional issues agreed upon by the parties, such as election of payment of 

temporary partial disability pursuant to G.S. 97-30, may also be included on the form. This form is necessary to comply with Rule 11 

NCAC 23A .0501, where applicable. The Form 26A, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability, shall 

read as follows: 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability 

(G.S. 97-31) 

 

IC File # __________ 

Emp. Code # __________ 

Carrier Code # __________ 

Carrier File # __________ 

 

The Use Of This Form Is Required Under The Provisions of The Workers' Compensation Act 
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____________________________________________________________ 

Employee's Name 

____________________________________________________________ 

Address 

____________________________________________________________ 

City                                   State               Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Home Telephone                                                          Work Telephone 

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number: _______ Sex:  M     F  Date of Birth: _______ 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Name                                                Telephone Number 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Address                                                   City    State     Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Insurance Carrier 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Address                                                       City    State     Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Telephone Number                                        Carrier's Fax Number 

 

WE, THE UNDERSIGNED, DO HEREBY AGREE AND STIPULATE AS FOLLOWS: 

1. All the parties hereto are subject to and bound by the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act and ______________________ 

is the Carrier/Administrator for the Employer. 

2. The employee sustained an injury by accident or the employee contracted an occupational disease arising out of and in the 

course of employment on _____________________. 

3. The injury by accident or occupational disease resulted in the following injuries: 

______________________________________________________________________________. 

4. The employee  was  was not paid for the 7 day waiting period. 

If not, was salary continued?   yes  no.   Was employee paid for the date of injury?  yes  no 

5. The average weekly wage of the employee at the time of the injury, including overtime and all allowances, was 

$_____________.  This results in a weekly compensation rate of $____________. 

6. The employee  has  has not returned full time to work for _________________________ 

on ________________________, at an average weekly wage of $__________________. 

7. Claimant was released  with permanent restrictions   without permanent restrictions.  If claimant was released with 

permanent restrictions and has returned to work for the employer of injury, attach a job description if known to exist. 

8. Permanent partial disability compensation will be paid to the injured worker as follows: 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

Total amount of permanent partial disability compensation is $___________.  Date of first payment:______________. 

9. State any further matters agreed upon, including disfigurement, loss of teeth, election of temporary partial disability, waiting 

period or other:  ___________________________________________________________________________________. 

10. An overpayment is claimed in the amount of $_______________.  Overpayment was calculated as 

follows:_______________________________________________________________________. 

If overpayment claimed, a Form 28B, Report of Compensation and Medical Compensation Paid, is attached.    yes   no 

11. If applicable, the Second Injury Fund Assessment is $ ___________________.  A check   is   is not    included. 

 

The undersigned hereby certify that the material medical and vocational records related to the injury, including any job description 

known to exist if the employee has permanent restrictions and has returned to work for the employer of injury, have been provided to 

the employee or the employee's attorney and have been filed with the Industrial Commission for consideration pursuant to G.S. 97-82(a) 

and Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Employer                                   Signature                                      Title                          Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Carrier/Administrator                Signature            Direct Phone Number    Email Address    Title         Date 
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By signing I enter into this agreement and certify that I have read the "Important Notices to Employee" 

printed on Page 3 of this form. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee                                Address                                 Email Address          Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee's Attorney   Address                                  Email Address          Date 

 

 Check box if no attorney retained. 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

The Foregoing Agreement Is Hereby Approved: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Claims Examiner                                                               Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Attorney's fee approved 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE CLAIMING ADDITIONAL WEEKLY CHECKS OR LUMP SUM PAYMENTS 

Once your compensation checks have been stopped, if you claim further compensation, you must notify the Industrial Commission in 

writing within two years from the date of receipt of your last compensation check or your rights to these benefits may be lost. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED BEFORE JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred before July 5, 1994, you are entitled to medical compensation as long as it is reasonably necessary, related to 

your workers' compensation case, and authorized by the carrier or the Industrial Commission. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED ON OR AFTER JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL 

BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred on or after July 5, 1994, your right to future medical compensation will depend on several factors. Your right to 

payment of future medical compensation will terminate two years after your employer or carrier/administrator last pays any medical 

compensation or other compensation, whichever occurs last. If you think you will need future medical compensation, you must file an 

application for additional medical compensation pursuant to G.S. 97-25.1 within two years, or your right to these benefits may be lost.  

An application for additional medical compensation may be made on a Form 18M Employee's Application for Additional Medical 

Compensation or by written request. In the alternative, an employee may file an application for additional medical compensation by 

filing a Form 33 Request that Claim be Assigned for Hearing pursuant to 11 NCAC 23A .0602.  All Industrial Commission forms are 

available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms.html.  

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 

The employee must be provided a copy of the form when the agreement is signed by the employee. Pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23A 

.0501, within 20 days after receipt of the agreement executed by the employee, the employer or carrier/administrator must submit the 

agreement to the Industrial Commission. The employer or carrier/administrator shall file a Form 28B, Report of Compensation and 

Medical Compensation Paid, within 16 days after the last payment made pursuant to this agreement or be subject to a penalty. 

 

NEED ASSISTANCE? 

If you have questions or need help and you do not have an attorney, you may contact the Industrial Commission at (800) 688-8349. 

 

Form 26A 

3/2021 

 

Self-Insured Employer or Carrier, File via Electronic Document Filing Portal ("EDFP"):  

https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html 

Contact Information: 

NCIC- Claims Administration 

Telephone: (919) 807-2502 

Helpline: (800) 688-8349 

Website: https://www.ic.nc.gov 

 

(b)  A copy of the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule can be accessed at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form26a.pdf. The form 

may be reproduced only in the format available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form26a.pdf and may not be altered or amended in any 

way. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 97-30; 97-31; 97-73; 97-80(a); 97-81(a); 97-82; S.L. 2014-77; 

Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10L .0103 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 23L .0105 FORM T-42 – APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN AD LITEM 

(a)  Persons seeking to appear on behalf of an infant or incompetent shall apply on a Form T-42, Application for Appointment of 

Guardian Ad Litem, in accordance with Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203. The Form T-42, Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem, 

shall read as follows: 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

IC File # TA- __________ 

Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 

The use of this Form is required under Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203 

 

___________ Plaintiff(s) v. _________Defendant(s) 

 

To the North Carolina Industrial Commission: 

 

The undersigned __________ respectfully shows unto the North Carolina Industrial Commission that __________ is an __ infant or __ 

incompetent without general or testamentary guardian in this State, and that by reason thereof can bring an action only by a guardian ad 

litem; that the infant or incompetent has a cause of action against the defendants on account of the following matter and things: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

The undersigned is a reputable person closely connected with the infant or incompetent having the relationship with the infant or 

incompetent as follows: _______________________________________________________________ 

 

Wherefore, the undersigned prays the Commission that a fit and proper person be appointed Guardian Ad Litem for the infant or 

incompetent for the purpose of bringing on his or her behalf an action as above set out. 

Signature of Applicant __________________________________________________ Date____________________ 

 

(Please complete page 2 of form) 

 

Order Appointing Guardian Ad Litem 

 

It appearing to the North Carolina Industrial Commission from the above application that ____________________ is an __ infant or __ 

incompetent having no general or testamentary guardian within this State and that said infant or incompetent appears to have a good 

cause of action against the defendant(s); and it further appearing to the Commission after due inquiry that ____________________ is a 

fit and proper person to be appointed guardian ad litem for the infant or incompetent for the purpose of bringing this action on his or her 

behalf; 

It is therefore ordered that ____________________ be and is hereby appointed guardian ad litem of ____________________ to bring 

action on his or her behalf. 

 

This __________ day of ____________________. 

 

Commissioner, Deputy Commissioner, or Executive Secretary 

______________________________________________________________________ 

 

Please type or print: 

 

Full name and address of minor or incompetent: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Birth date of minor: ____________________ 

Full name and address of proposed guardian ad litem: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Important Information for Parties 

Parties should take notice of the provisions set forth in Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203. 
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11 NCAC 23B .0203 Infants and Incompetents 

(a)  Persons seeking to appear on behalf of an infant or incompetent, in accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 17, shall apply on a Form T-

42 Application for Appointment of Guardian ad Litem. The Commission shall appoint a fit and proper person as guardian ad litem, if 

the Commission determines it to be in the best interest of the minor or incompetent. The Commission shall appoint the guardian ad litem 

only after due inquiry as to the fitness of the person to be appointed. 

(b)  The Commission may assess a fee to be paid to an attorney who serves as a guardian ad litem for actual services rendered upon 

receipt of an affidavit of actual time spent in representation of the minor or incompetent as part of the costs. 

 

ATTORNEYS: File via Electronic Document Filing Portal (“EDFP”) 

https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html 

UNREPRESENTED PLAINTIFFS: File via EDFP, https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html  OR 

Mail to: Industrial Commission Clerk’s Office, 1236 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1236  OR 

File via hand delivery: Business days from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Dobbs Building, 6th floor, 430 N. Salisbury Street, 

Raleigh NC 27603 OR Fax to (919) 715-0282 OR Email to dockets@ic.nc.gov. 

 

FORM T-42 

 

(b)  A copy of the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule can be accessed at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/formt-42.pdf. The form 

shall be reproduced only in the format available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/formt-42.pdf and shall not be altered or amended in any 

way. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-295; 143-300; 

Eff. March 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2005 MINIMUM TRAINING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A Sheriff or Department Head may use a lesson plan 

developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy or a lesson plan 

for any of the topic areas developed by another entity such as a 

different law enforcement agency or training provider. The 

Sheriff or Department Head may also use a lesson plan developed 

by a certified instructor, provided that the instructor develops the 

lesson plan in accordance with the Instructional Systems 

Development model as taught in Criminal Justice Instructor 

Training and as described in 12 NCAC 09B .0209. Lesson plans 

shall be designed to be delivered in hourly increments. A student 

who completes the training shall receive the number of credits that 

correspond to the number of hours assigned to the course, 

regardless of the amount of time the student spends completing 

the course, where each hour of instruction shall be worth one 

credit (e.g., "Legal Update" is designed to be delivered in four 

hours and will yield four credits). With the exception of Firearms 

Training and Requalification, successful completion of training 

shall be demonstrated by passing tests as developed by the 

delivering agency or as written by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy. A written test comprised of at least five questions per 

hour of training shall be developed by the delivering agency, or 

the agency may use the written test developed by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy, for each in-service training topic. A 

student shall pass each test by achieving 70 percent correct 

answers. Firearms Training and Requalification shall be 

demonstrated qualification with a firearm as set out in Section 

.2100 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The in-service training for topic areas of the Sheriff's or 

Department Head's choosing required by this Rule shall either: 

(1) meet the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule; or 

(2) be delivered pursuant to National Certification 

Programs administered by the International 

Association of Directors of Law Enforcement 

Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed 

during the mandated in-service year to satisfy 

these topics in part or in whole. It is not required 

that this IADLEST training be written in the 

Instructional Systems Design (ISD) format or 

delivered by a Commission certified instructor. 

(c)  The 2020 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) 2020 Legal Update; 

(2) 2020 Long-Term Effects of Childhood 

Adversity; 

(3) 2020 The Signs Within: Suicide Prevention 

Education and Awareness; 

(4) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues; 

(5) 2020 Communication Strategies When 

Encountering Persons Who are Deaf or Hard of 

Hearing; 

(6) 2020 Armed/Unarmed Security/Company 

Police: Understanding Their Roles and 

Authority; 

(7) 2020 Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(8) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(d)  The 2020 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 
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(1) 2020 Overcoming Negativity in the Detention 

Center; 

(2) 2020 Documenting the Incident Refresher; 

(3) 2020 The Signs Within: Suicide Prevention 

Education and Awareness 

(4) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues; 

(5) 2020 Recognizing Signs of Assaultive 

Behavior; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(e)  The 2020 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) 2020 Suicide Callers; 

(2) 2020 Overcoming Negativity in the 

Communications Center; 

(3) 2020 Processing Calls/Quality Assurance; 

(4) 2020 Responding to Domestic Violence 

Callers; 

(5) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(f)  The 2021 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) 2021 Legal Update; 

(2) 2021 Continue to Make a Difference: Positive 

Engagement Stories and Studies; 

(3) 2021 School Safety and Responding to School 

Incidents; 

(4) 2021 Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(g)  The 2021 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) 2021 Detention Legal Updates; 

(2) 2021 Followership: Being an Influential 

Employee; 

(3) 2021 Inmate Mental Health; and 

(4) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(h)  The 2021 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) 2021 Followership: Being an Influential 

Employee; 

(2) 2021 Critical Thinking for Telecommunicators; 

(3) 2021 Crisis Negotiations; and 

(4) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; January 1, 2016; 

January 1, 2015; February 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; February 

1, 2012; January 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; January 1, 2009; 

January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; January 1, 2020; August 1, 2019; 

January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 13 - DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0205 TRAMWAY REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The rules of this Chapter shall control when any conflict exists 

between these Rules and the American National Standards 

Institute (ANSI) standards that are incorporated by reference 

herein. 

(b)  The construction, operation, and maintenance of all passenger 

tramways shall conform to the ANSI B77.1, Passenger 

Ropeways-Aerial Tramways, Aerial Lifts, Surface Lifts, Tows 

and Conveyors, which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions.  

(c)  The construction, operation, and maintenance of all funiculars 

shall conform to the rules in this Chapter and the ANSI B77.2 – 

Funiculars – Safety Requirements, which is hereby incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. 

(d)  Copies of all ANSI standards incorporated by reference in this 

Rule may be obtained from the American National Standards 

Institute via U.S. Mail at 25 West 43rd Street, 4th Floor, New 

York, New York 10036, via telephone at (212) 642-4900, or via 

the internet at www.ansi.org. The cost of each publication is as 

follows: 

(1) ANSI B77.1 is two hundred dollars ($200.00): 

(2) ANSI B77.2 is seventy-five dollars ($75.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 95-120; 

Eff. August 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2004; May 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 5, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0402 RESPONSIBILITY FOR 

COMPLIANCE 

(a)  Every owner, operator, manufacturer, or designer of an 

amusement device shall comply with the rules of this Section.  

(b)  Designers and manufacturers of amusement devices shall 

follow the procedures of the ASTM F1159 – Standard Practice for 

Design of Amusement Rides and Devices that are Outside the 

Purview of Other F24 Design Standards, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including all subsequent amendments 

and editions.  

(c)  Designers and manufacturers of amusement devices shall 

follow the procedures of the ASTM F1193 – Standard Practice for 

Quality, Manufacture, and Construction of Amusement Rides and 

Devices, which is hereby incorporated by reference, including all 

subsequent amendments and editions.  

(d)  Owners of amusement devices shall follow the procedures of 

ASTM F770 – Standard Practice for Ownership, Operation, 

Maintenance, and Inspection of Amusement Rides and Devices, 
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which is hereby incorporated by reference, including all 

subsequent amendments and additions.  

(e)  Copies of all ASTM International standards incorporated by 

reference in this Rule may be obtained from ASTM International 

via U.S. Mail at P.O. Box C700, West Conshohocken, 

Pennsylvania 19428-2959, via telephone at (610) 832-9500, or via 

the internet at www.astm.org. The cost of each publication is as 

follows: 

(1) ASTM F1159 is forty-four dollars ($44.00) per 

copy; 

(2) ASTM F1193 is fifty-six dollars ($56.00) per 

copy; 

(3) ASTM F770 is forty-four dollars ($44.00) per 

copy. 

(f)  An engineering analysis prepared by the manufacturer of each 

ride or device shall be submitted to the North Carolina 

Department of Labor, Elevator and Amusement Device Bureau, 

prior to the time of inspection and before the ride or device is 

operated in North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 95-111.4; 

Eff. August 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2004; June 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 5, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0702 ELEVATOR, ESCALATOR, 

DUMBWAITER, AND SPECIAL EQUIPMENT ANNUAL 

INSPECTION FEES SCHEDULE 

Annual inspection fees for elevator, escalator, dumbwaiter, and 

special equipment shall be as follows: 

Equipment   Unit Fee 

(1) All dumbwaiters and handicapped lifts 

    $100.00 

(2) All hydraulic elevators, belt man lifts, 

escalators, plus all elevators not identified as 

either hydraulic or traction and special lifting 

devices    $200.00 

(3) Traction Elevators 

(a) 1-10 Floors  $200.00 

(b) Over 10 Floors  $200.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 95-107; 95-110.5(20); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 17, 2001; 

Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 5, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0703 AMUSEMENT DEVICE INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

Inspection fees for amusement devices shall be as follows: 

Equipment     Unit Fee  Inspection Required 

(1) Inflatables     $100.00  Annually 

(2) Rock Walls, portable    $100.00  Annually 

(3) Kiddie Rides (48 inch maximum height restriction) $100.00  Every setup, except in 

permanent parks, which 

shall be inspected annually 

(4) Go Karts     $50.00  Every setup, except in 

permanent parks, which 

shall be inspected annually 

(5) Go Kart Tracks     $100.00  Every setup, except in 

permanent parks, which 

shall be inspected annually 

(6) Major Rides (any ride not otherwise listed herein) $100.00  Every setup, Except in 

permanent parks, which 

shall be inspected annually 

(7) Roller Coasters     $250.00  Annually 

(8) Simulators, portable    $100.00  Every setup 

(9) Simulators, stationary    $100.00  Annually 

(10) Amusement Trains on fixed guidance systems, 

excluding steam engine locomotives  $100.00  Annually 

(11) Waterslides     $150.00  Annually 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 95-107; 95-111.4(19); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 17, 2001; 

Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January 5, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 
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13 NCAC 15 .0705 PASSENGER TRAMWAY 

INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

Inspection fees for all passenger tramway devices shall be one 

hundred thirty-seven dollars ($137.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 95-107; 95-120(9); 95-121; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. September 19, 2005; 

Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. January 1, 2006; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 5, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0301 OCEAN HAZARD CATEGORIES 

The Ocean Hazard categories of AECs encompass the natural 

hazard areas along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline where, because 

of their vulnerability to erosion or other adverse effects of sand, 

wind, and water, uncontrolled or incompatible development could 

endanger life or property. Ocean hazard areas include beaches, 

frontal dunes, inlet lands, and other areas in which geologic, 

vegetative and soil conditions may subject the area to erosion or 

flood damage. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b)(6a); 113A-113(b)(6b); 113A-113(b)(6d); 

113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0302 SIGNIFICANCE OF THE OCEAN 

HAZARD CATEGORY 

(a)  Hazards associated with ocean shorelines are due to the 

constant forces exerted by waves, winds, and currents upon the 

unstable sands that form the shore. During storms, these forces are 

intensified and can cause changes in the bordering landforms and 

to structures located on them. Ocean hazard area property is in the 

ownership of a large number of private individuals as well as 

several public agencies and is used by a vast number of visitors to 

the coast. Ocean hazard areas are critical due to both the severity 

of the hazards and the intensity of interest in these areas. 

(b)  The location and form of the various hazard area landforms, 

in particular the beaches, dunes, and inlets, are in a permanent 

state of flux, responding to meteorologically induced changes in 

the wave climate. For this reason, the siting of development on 

and near these landforms shall be subject to the provisions in this 

Section in order to avoid their loss or damage. The flexible nature 

of these landforms presents hazards to development situated 

immediately on them and offers protection to the land, water, and 

structures located landward of them. The value of each landform 

lies in the particular role it plays in affording protection to life and 

property. Development shall not diminish the energy dissipation 

and sand storage capacities of the landforms essential to the 

maintenance of the landforms' protective function. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b)(6a); 113A-113(b)(6b); 113A-113(b)(6d); 

113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0303 MANAGEMENT OBJECTIVE OF 

OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  The CRC recognizes that absolute safety from the destructive 

forces of the Atlantic Ocean shoreline is an impossibility for 

development located adjacent to the coast. The loss of life and 

property to these forces, however, can be greatly reduced by the 

proper location and design of structures and by care taken in 

prevention of damage to natural protective features particularly 

primary and frontal dunes. Therefore, it is the CRC's objective 

that development in ocean hazard areas shall be sited to minimize 

danger to life and property and achieve a balance between the 

financial, safety, and social factors that are involved in hazard area 

development. 

(b)  The rules set forth in this Section shall further the goals set 

out in G.S. 113A-102(b), to minimize losses to life and property 

resulting from storms and long-term erosion, prevent 

encroachment of permanent structures on public beach areas, 

preserve the natural ecological conditions of the barrier dune and 

beach systems, and reduce the public costs of development within 

ocean hazard areas, and protect common-law and statutory public 

rights of access to and use of the lands and waters of the coastal 

area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b)(6) 

a.; 113A-113(b)(6) b.;113A-113(b)(6)d.; 113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; December 1, 1991; September 1, 

1985; February 2, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0304 AECS WITHIN OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS 

The ocean hazard AECs contain all of the following areas: 

(1) Ocean Erodible Area. This is the area where 

there exists a substantial possibility of 

excessive erosion and significant shoreline 

fluctuation. The oceanward boundary of this 

area is the mean low water line. The landward 

extent of this area is the distance landward from 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation as 

defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5) to the 

recession line established by multiplying the 

long-term annual erosion rate times 90; 

provided that, where there has been no 

long-term erosion or the rate is less than two 

feet per year, this distance shall be set at 180 

feet landward from the first line of stable and 

natural vegetation. For the purposes of this 

Rule, the erosion rates are the long-term 

average based on available historical data. The 

current long-term average erosion rate data for 

each segment of the North Carolina coast is 
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depicted on maps entitled "North Carolina 2019 

Oceanfront Setback Factors & Long-Term 

Average Annual Erosion Rate Update Study" 

and approved by the Coastal Resources 

Commission on February 28, 2019 (except as 

such rates may be varied in individual contested 

cases or in declaratory or interpretive rulings). 

In all cases, the rate of shoreline change shall be 

no less than two feet of erosion per year. The 

maps are available without cost from any Local 

Permit Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net. 

(2) Inlet Hazard Area. The inlet hazard areas are 

natural-hazard areas that are especially 

vulnerable to erosion, flooding, and other 

adverse effects of sand, wind, and water 

because of their proximity to dynamic ocean 

inlets. This area extends landward from the 

mean low water line a distance encompassing 

that area within which the inlet migrates, based 

on statistical analysis, and shall consider such 

factors as previous inlet territory, structurally 

weak areas near the inlet, and external 

influences such as jetties, terminal groins, and 

channelization. The areas on the maps 

identified as Inlet Hazard Areas included in the 

report entitled INLET HAZARD AREAS, The 

Final Report and Recommendations to the 

Coastal Resources Commission, 1978, as 

amended in 1981, by Loie J. Priddy and Rick 

Carraway are incorporated by reference and are 

hereby designated as Inlet Hazard Areas, except 

for: 

(a) the location of a former inlet which 

has been closed for at least 15 years; 

(b) inlets that due to shoreline migration, 

no longer include the current location 

of the inlet; and 

(c) inlets providing access to a State Port 

via a channel maintained by the United 

States Army Corps of Engineers. 

In all cases, the Inlet Hazard Area shall 

be an extension of the adjacent ocean 

erodible areas and in no case shall the 

width of the inlet hazard area be less 

than the width of the adjacent ocean 

erodible area. This report is available 

for inspection at the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 

Avenue, Morehead City, North 

Carolina or at the website referenced 

in Item (1) of this Rule. 

(3) Unvegetated Beach Area. Beach areas within 

the Ocean Hazard Area where no stable and 

natural vegetation is present may be designated 

as Unvegetated Beach Areas on either a 

permanent or temporary basis as follows: 

(a) An area appropriate for permanent 

designation as an Unvegetated Beach 

Area is a dynamic area that is subject 

to rapid unpredictable landform 

change due to wind and wave action. 

The areas in this category shall be 

designated following studies by the 

Division of Coastal Management. 

These areas shall be designated on 

maps approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission and available 

without cost from any Local Permit 

Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at the 

website referenced in Item (1) of this 

Rule. 

(b) An area that is unvegetated as a result 

of a hurricane or other major storm 

event may be designated by the 

Coastal Resources Commission as an 

Unvegetated Beach Area for a specific 

period of time, or until the vegetation 

has re-established in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5). At the 

expiration of the time specified or the 

re-establishment of the vegetation, the 

area shall return to its pre-storm 

designation. 

The Commission designates as temporary 

unvegetated beach areas those oceanfront areas 

of Surf City and North Topsail Beach in which 

the vegetation line as shown on the United 

States National Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration imagery dated September 17, 

2018 was destroyed as a result of Hurricane 

Florence in September 2018. The designation 

AEC boundaries can be found on the Division's 

website at 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/unvegetated_beach_aec.pdf. This 

designation shall continue until such time as the 

stable and natural vegetation has reestablished, 

or until the area is permanently designated as an 

unvegetated beach area pursuant to Sub-Item 

(3)(a) of this Rule. 

(4) State Ports Inlet Management Area. These are 

areas adjacent to and within Beaufort Inlet and 

the mouth of the Cape Fear River, providing 

access to a State Port via a channel maintained 

by the Unites States Army Corps of Engineers. 

These areas are unique due to the influence of 

federally-maintained channels, and the critical 

nature of maintaining shipping access to North 

Carolina's State Ports. These areas may require 

specific management strategies not warranted 

at other inlets to address erosion and shoreline 

stabilization. State Ports Inlet Management 

Areas shall extend from the mean low water 

line landward as designated on maps approved 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 4, 2021 

1488 

by the Coastal Resources Commission and 

available without cost from the Division of 

Coastal Management, and on the internet at the 

website at 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/state_port_aec.pdf. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-107.1; 

113A-113; 113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1988; September 

1, 1986; December 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 10, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 10, 1996 Expired on July 29, 

1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 22, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; July 1, 2016; September 1, 2015; 

May 1, 2014; February 1, 2013; January 1, 2010; February 1, 

2006; October 1, 2004; April 1, 2004; August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0305 GENERAL IDENTIFICATION 

AND DESCRIPTION OF LANDFORMS 

(a)  This Paragraph describes natural and man-made features that 

are found within the ocean hazard area of environmental concern. 

(1) Ocean Beaches. Ocean beaches are lands 

consisting of unconsolidated soil materials that 

extend from the mean low water line landward 

to a point where either: 

(A) the growth of vegetation occurs; or 

(B) a distinct change in slope or elevation 

alters the configuration of the 

landform, whichever is farther 

landward. 

(2) Nearshore. The nearshore is the portion of the 

beach seaward of mean low water that is 

characterized by dynamic changes both in space 

and time as a result of storms. 

(3) Primary Dunes. Primary dunes are the first 

mounds of sand located landward of the ocean 

beaches having an elevation equal to the mean 

flood level (in a storm having a one percent 

chance of being equaled or exceeded in any 

given year) for the area plus six feet. Primary 

dunes extend landward to the lowest elevation 

in the depression behind that same mound of 

sand commonly referred to as the "dune 

trough". 

(4) Frontal Dunes. The frontal dune is the first 

mound of sand located landward of ocean 

beaches that has stable and natural vegetation 

present. 

(5) Vegetation Line. The vegetation line refers to 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation, 

which shall be used as the reference point for 

measuring oceanfront setbacks. This line 

represents the boundary between the normal 

dry-sand beach, which is subject to constant 

flux due to waves, tides, storms and wind, and 

the more stable upland areas. The vegetation 

line is generally located at or immediately 

oceanward of the seaward toe of the frontal 

dune or erosion escarpment. The Division of 

Coastal Management or Local Permit Officer 

shall determine the location of the stable and 

natural vegetation line based on visual 

observations of plant composition and density. 

If the vegetation has been planted, it may be 

considered stable when the majority of the plant 

stems are from continuous rhizomes rather than 

planted individual rooted sets. Planted 

vegetation may be considered natural when the 

majority of the plants are mature and additional 

species native to the region have been recruited, 

providing stem and rhizome densities that are 

similar to adjacent areas that are naturally 

occurring. In areas where there is no stable and 

natural vegetation present, this line may be 

established by interpolation between the nearest 

adjacent stable natural vegetation by on-ground 

observations or by aerial photographic 

interpretation. 

(6) Static Vegetation Line. In areas within the 

boundaries of a large-scale beach fill project, 

the vegetation line that existed within one year 

prior to the onset of project construction shall 

be defined as the "static vegetation line". The 

"onset of project construction" shall be defined 

as the date sediment placement begins, with the 

exception of projects completed prior to the 

original effective date of this Rule, in which 

case the award of the contract date will be 

considered the onset of construction. A static 

vegetation line shall be established in 

coordination with the Division of Coastal 

Management using on-ground observation and 

survey or aerial imagery for all areas of 

oceanfront that undergo a large-scale beach fill 

project. Once a static vegetation line is 

established, and after the onset of project 

construction, this line shall be used as the 

reference point for measuring oceanfront 

setbacks in all locations where it is landward of 

the vegetation line. In all locations where the 

vegetation line as defined in this Rule is 

landward of the static vegetation line, the 

vegetation line shall be used as the reference 

point for measuring oceanfront setbacks. A 

static vegetation line shall not be established 

where a static vegetation line is already in 

place, including those established by the 

Division of Coastal Management prior to the 

effective date of this Rule. A record of all static 

vegetation lines, including those established by 

the Division of Coastal Management prior to 

the effective date of this Rule, shall be 

maintained by the Division of Coastal 
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Management for determining development 

standards as set forth in Rule .0306 of this 

Section. Because the impact of Hurricane Floyd 

in September 1999 caused significant portions 

of the vegetation line in the Town of Oak Island 

and the Town of Ocean Isle Beach to be 

relocated landward of its pre-storm position, the 

static line for areas landward of the beach fill 

construction in the Town of Oak Island and the 

Town of Ocean Isle Beach, the onset of which 

occurred in 2000, shall be defined by the 

general trend of the vegetation line established 

by the Division of Coastal Management from 

June 1998 aerial orthophotography. 

(7) Beach Fill. Beach fill refers to the placement of 

sediment along the oceanfront shoreline. 

Sediment used solely to establish or strengthen 

dunes shall not be considered a beach fill 

project under this Rule. A "large-scale beach 

fill project" shall be defined as any volume of 

sediment greater than 300,000 cubic yards or 

any storm protection project constructed by the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 

(8) Erosion Escarpment. The normal vertical drop 

in the beach profile caused from high tide or 

storm tide erosion. 

(9) Measurement Line. The line from which the 

ocean hazard setback as described in Rule 

.0306(a) of this Section is measured in the 

unvegetated beach area of environmental 

concern as described in Rule .0304(3) of this 

Section. In areas designated pursuant to Rule 

.0304(3)(b) of this Section, the Division of 

Coastal Management shall establish a 

measurement line by: 

(A) determining the average distance the 

pre-storm vegetation line receded at 

the closest vegetated site adjacent to 

the area designated by the 

Commission as the unvegetated beach 

AEC; and 

(B) mapping a line equal to the average 

recession determination in Part (A) of 

this Subparagraph, measured in a 

landward direction from the first line 

of stable and natural vegetation line on 

the most recent pre-storm aerial 

photography in the area designated as 

an unvegetated beach AEC. 

(10) Development Line. The line established in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1300 by local 

governments representing the seaward-most 

allowable location of oceanfront development. 

In areas that have development lines approved 

by the CRC, the vegetation line or measurement 

line shall be used as the reference point for 

measuring oceanfront setbacks instead of the 

static vegetation line, subject to the provisions 

of Rule .0306(a)(2) of this Section. 

(b)  For the purpose of public and administrative notice and 

convenience, each designated minor development permit-letting 

agency with ocean hazard areas may designate, subject to CRC 

approval in accordance with the local implementation and 

enforcement plan as defined in 15A NCAC 07I .0500, an 

identifiable land area within which the ocean hazard areas occur. 

This designated notice area shall include all of the land areas 

defined in Rule .0304 of this Section. Natural or man-made 

landmarks may be considered in delineating this area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 

113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1992; September 1, 1986; December 

1, 1985; February 2, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 10, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 10, 1996 Expired on July 29, 

1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 22, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; April 1, 2016; April 1, 2008; August 

1, 2002; August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0306 GENERAL USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  In order to protect life and property, all development not 

otherwise specifically exempted or allowed by law or elsewhere 

in the Coastal Resources Commission's rules shall be located 

according to whichever of the following is applicable: 

(1) The ocean hazard setback for development shall 

be measured in a landward direction from the 

vegetation line, the static vegetation line, or the 

measurement line, whichever is applicable. 

(2) In areas with a development line, the ocean 

hazard setback shall be set in accordance with 

Subparagraphs (a)(3) through (9) of this Rule. 

In no case shall new development be sited 

seaward of the development line. 

(3) In no case shall a development line be created 

or established on State-owned lands or 

oceanward of the mean high water line or 

perpetual property easement line, whichever is 

more restrictive. 

(4) The ocean hazard setback shall be determined 

by both the size of development and the 

shoreline long term erosion rate as defined in 

Rule .0304 of this Section. "Development size" 

is defined by total floor area for structures and 

buildings or total area of footprint for 

development other than structures and 

buildings. Total floor area includes the 

following: 

(A) The total square footage of heated or 

air-conditioned living space; 

(B) The total square footage of parking 

elevated above ground level; and 

(C) The total square footage of non-heated 

or non-air-conditioned areas elevated 
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above ground level, excluding attic 

space that is not designed to be load-

bearing. 

Decks, roof-covered porches, and walkways 

shall not be included in the total floor area 

unless they are enclosed with material other 

than screen mesh or are being converted into an 

enclosed space with material other than screen 

mesh. 

(5) With the exception of those types of 

development defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0309, 

no development, including any portion of a 

building or structure, shall extend oceanward of 

the ocean hazard setback. This includes roof 

overhangs and elevated structural components 

that are cantilevered, knee braced, or otherwise 

extended beyond the support of pilings or 

footings. The ocean hazard setback shall be 

established based on the following criteria: 

(A) A building or other structure less than 

5,000 square feet requires a minimum 

setback of 60 feet or 30 times the 

shoreline erosion rate, whichever is 

greater; 

(B) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 5,000 square feet but 

less than 10,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 120 feet or 60 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(C) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 10,000 square feet but 

less than 20,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 130 feet or 65 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(D) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 20,000 square feet but 

less than 40,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 140 feet or 70 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(E) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 40,000 square feet but 

less than 60,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 150 feet or 75 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(F) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 60,000 square feet but 

less than 80,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 160 feet or 80 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(G) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 80,000 square feet but 

less than 100,000 square feet requires 

a minimum setback of 170 feet or 85 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(H) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 100,000 square feet 

requires a minimum setback of 180 

feet or 90 times the shoreline erosion 

rate, whichever is greater; 

(I) Infrastructure that is linear in nature, 

such as roads, bridges, pedestrian 

access such as boardwalks and 

sidewalks, and utilities providing for 

the transmission of electricity, water, 

telephone, cable television, data, 

storm water, and sewer requires a 

minimum setback of 60 feet or 30 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(J) Parking lots greater than or equal to 

5,000 square feet require a setback of 

120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 

erosion rate, whichever is greater; 

(K) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, a 

building or other structure greater than 

or equal to 5,000 square feet in a 

community with a static line exception 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 07J 

.1200 requires a minimum setback of 

120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 

erosion rate in place at the time of 

permit issuance, whichever is greater. 

The setback shall be measured 

landward from either the static 

vegetation line, the vegetation line, or 

measurement line, whichever is 

farthest landward; and 

(L) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, 

replacement of single-family or 

duplex residential structures with a 

total floor area greater than 5,000 

square feet, and commercial and 

multi-family residential structures 

with a total floor area no greater than 

10,000 square feet, shall be allowed 

provided that the structure meets the 

following criteria: 

(i) the structure was originally 

constructed prior to August 

11, 2009; 

(ii) the structure as replaced does 

not exceed the original 

footprint or square footage; 

(iii) it is not possible for the 

structure to be rebuilt in a 

location that meets the ocean 

hazard setback criteria 

required under Subparagraph 

(a)(5) of this Rule; 
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(iv) the structure as replaced 

meets the minimum setback 

required under Part (a)(5)(A) 

of this Rule; and 

(v) the structure is rebuilt as far 

landward on the lot as 

feasible. 

(6) If a primary dune exists in the AEC on or 

landward of the lot where the development is 

proposed, the development shall be landward of 

the crest of the primary dune, the ocean hazard 

setback, or development line, whichever is 

farthest from vegetation line, static vegetation 

line, or measurement line, whichever is 

applicable. For existing lots, however, where 

setting the development landward of the crest 

of the primary dune would preclude any 

practical use of the lot, development may be 

located oceanward of the primary dune. In such 

cases, the development may be located 

landward of the ocean hazard setback, but shall 

not be located on or oceanward of a frontal dune 

or the development line. The words "existing 

lots" in this Rule shall mean a lot or tract of land 

that, as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described 

in a recorded plat and cannot be enlarged by 

combining the lot or tract of land with a 

contiguous lot or tract of land under the same 

ownership. 

(7) If no primary dune exists, but a frontal dune 

does exist in the AEC on or landward of the lot 

where the development is proposed, the 

development shall be set landward of the frontal 

dune, ocean hazard setback, or development 

line, whichever is farthest from the vegetation 

line, static vegetation line, or measurement line, 

whichever is applicable. 

(8) If neither a primary nor frontal dune exists in 

the AEC on or landward of the lot where 

development is proposed, the structure shall be 

landward of the ocean hazard setback or 

development line, whichever is more 

restrictive. 

(9) Structural additions or increases in the footprint 

or total floor area of a building or structure 

represent expansions to the total floor area and 

shall meet the setback requirements established 

in this Rule and 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). New 

development landward of the applicable 

setback may be cosmetically, but shall not be 

structurally, attached to an existing structure 

that does not conform with current setback 

requirements. 

(10) Established common law and statutory public 

rights of access to and use of public trust lands 

and waters in ocean hazard areas shall not be 

eliminated or restricted. Development shall not 

encroach upon public accessways, nor shall it 

limit the intended use of the accessways. 

(11) Development setbacks in areas that have 

received large-scale beach fill as defined in 15A 

NCAC 07H .0305 shall be measured landward 

from the static vegetation line as defined in this 

Section, unless a development line has been 

approved by the Coastal Resources 

Commission in accordance with 15A NCAC 

07J .1300. 

(12) In order to allow for development landward of 

the large-scale beach fill project that cannot 

meet the setback requirements from the static 

vegetation line, but can or has the potential to 

meet the setback requirements from the 

vegetation line set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

and (a)(5) of this Rule, a local government, 

group of local governments involved in a 

regional beach fill project, or qualified "owners' 

association" as defined in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) 

that has the authority to approve the locations 

of structures on lots within the territorial 

jurisdiction of the association and has 

jurisdiction over at least one mile of ocean 

shoreline, may petition the Coastal Resources 

Commission for a "static line exception" in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200. The 

static line exception shall apply to development 

of property that lies both within the 

jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner and the 

boundaries of the large-scale beach fill project. 

This static line exception shall also allow 

development greater than 5,000 square feet to 

use the setback provisions defined in Part 

(a)(5)(K) of this Rule in areas that lie within the 

jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner, and 

the boundaries of the large-scale beach fill 

project. If the request is approved, the Coastal 

Resources Commission shall allow 

development setbacks to be measured from a 

vegetation line that is oceanward of the static 

vegetation line under the following conditions: 

(A) Development meets all setback 

requirements from the vegetation line 

defined in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 

(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(B) Development setbacks shall be 

calculated from the shoreline erosion 

rate in place at the time of permit 

issuance; 

(C) No portion of a building or structure, 

including roof overhangs and elevated 

portions that are cantilevered, knee 

braced, or otherwise extended beyond 

the support of pilings or footings, 

extends oceanward of the landward-

most adjacent building or structure. 

When the configuration of a lot 

precludes the placement of a building 

or structure in line with the landward-

most adjacent building or structure, an 
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average line of construction shall be 

determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management on a case-by-case basis 

in order to determine an ocean hazard 

setback that is landward of the 

vegetation line, a distance no less than 

30 times the shoreline erosion rate or 

60 feet, whichever is greater; 

(D) With the exception of swimming 

pools, the development defined in 

Rule .0309(a) of this Section shall be 

allowed oceanward of the static 

vegetation line; and 

(E) Development shall not be eligible for 

the exception defined in Rule .0309(b) 

of this Section. 

(b)  No development shall be permitted that involves the removal 

or relocation of primary or frontal dune sand or vegetation thereon 

that would adversely affect the integrity of the dune. Other dunes 

within the ocean hazard area shall not be disturbed unless the 

development of the property is otherwise impracticable. Any 

disturbance of these other dunes shall be allowed only to the 

extent permitted by 15A NCAC 07H .0308(b). 

(c)  Development shall not cause irreversible damage to historic 

architectural or archaeological resources as documented by the 

local historic commission, the North Carolina Department of 

Natural and Cultural Resources, or the National Historical 

Registry. 

(d)  Development shall comply with minimum lot size and set 

back requirements established by local regulations. 

(e)  Mobile homes shall not be placed within the high hazard flood 

area unless they are within mobile home parks existing as of June 

1, 1979. 

(f)  Development shall comply with the general management 

objective for ocean hazard areas set forth in 15A NCAC 07H 

.0303. 

(g)  Development shall not interfere with legal access to, or use 

of, public resources, nor shall such development increase the risk 

of damage to public trust areas. 

(h)  Development proposals shall incorporate measures to avoid 

or minimize adverse impacts of the project. These measures shall 

be implemented at the applicant's expense and may include 

actions that: 

(1) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by limiting 

the magnitude or degree of the action; 

(2) restore the affected environment; or 

(3) compensate for the adverse impacts by 

replacing or providing substitute resources. 

(i)  Prior to the issuance of any permit for development in the 

ocean hazard AECs, there shall be a written acknowledgment 

from the applicant to the Division of Coastal Management that the 

applicant is aware of the risks associated with development in this 

hazardous area and the limited suitability of this area for 

permanent structures. The acknowledgement shall state that the 

Coastal Resources Commission does not guarantee the safety of 

the development and assumes no liability for future damage to the 

development. 

(j)  All relocation of structures shall require permit approval. 

Structures relocated with public funds shall comply with the 

applicable setback line and other applicable AEC rules. 

Structures, including septic tanks and other essential accessories, 

relocated entirely with non-public funds shall be relocated the 

maximum feasible distance landward of the present location. 

Septic tanks shall not be located oceanward of the primary 

structure. All relocation of structures shall meet all other 

applicable local and state rules. 

(k)  Permits shall include the condition that any structure shall be 

relocated or dismantled when it becomes imminently threatened 

by changes in shoreline configuration as defined in 15A NCAC 

07H .0308(a)(2)(B). Any such structure shall be relocated or 

dismantled within two years of the time when it becomes 

imminently threatened, and in any case upon its collapse or 

subsidence. However, if natural shoreline recovery or beach fill 

takes place within two years of the time the structure becomes 

imminently threatened, so that the structure is no longer 

imminently threatened, then it need not be relocated or dismantled 

at that time. This permit condition shall not affect the permit 

holder's right to seek authorization of temporary protective 

measures allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a)(2). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 

113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; March 1, 1988; September 1, 

1986; December 1, 1985; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. January 24, 1992; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1992; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. May 21, 1992; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; June 19, 1992; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. May 18, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 11, 2009; April 1, 2007; November 1, 2004; 

June 27, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 3, 2013; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2017; February 1, 2017; April 1, 

2016; September 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0308 SPECIFIC USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  Ocean Shoreline Erosion Control Activities: 

(1) Use Standards Applicable to all Erosion 

Control Activities: 

(A) All oceanfront erosion response 

activities shall be consistent with the 

general policy statements in 15A 

NCAC 07M .0200. 

(B) Permanent erosion control structures 

may cause significant adverse impacts 

on the value and enjoyment of 

adjacent properties or public access to 

and use of the ocean beach, and, 

therefore, unless specifically 

authorized under the Coastal Area 

Management Act, are prohibited. Such 

structures include bulkheads, 

seawalls, revetments, jetties, groins 

and breakwaters. 
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(C) Rules concerning the use of 

oceanfront erosion response measures 

apply to all oceanfront properties 

without regard to the size of the 

structure on the property or the date of 

its construction. 

(D) Shoreline erosion response projects 

shall not be constructed in beach or 

estuarine areas that sustain substantial 

habitat for fish and wildlife species, as 

identified by natural resource agencies 

during project review, unless 

mitigation measures are incorporated 

into project design, as set forth in Rule 

.0306(h) of this Section. 

(E) Project construction shall be timed to 

minimize adverse effects on biological 

activity. 

(F) Prior to completing any erosion 

response project, all exposed remnants 

of or debris from failed erosion control 

structures must be removed by the 

permittee. 

(G) Permanent erosion control structures 

that would otherwise be prohibited by 

these standards may be permitted on 

finding by the Division that: 

(i) the erosion control structure 

is necessary to protect a 

bridge that provides the only 

existing road access on a 

barrier island, that is vital to 

public safety, and is 

imminently threatened by 

erosion as defined in Part 

(a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 

measures of relocation, beach 

nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 

to protect public health and 

safety; and 

(iii) the proposed erosion control 

structure will have no 

adverse impacts on adjacent 

properties in private 

ownership or on public use of 

the beach. 

(H) Structures that would otherwise be 

prohibited by these standards may also 

be permitted on finding by the 

Division that: 

(i) the structure is necessary to 

protect a state or federally 

registered historic site that is 

imminently threatened by 

shoreline erosion as defined 

in Part (a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 

measures of relocation, beach 

nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 

and practicable to protect the 

site; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 

extent and scope to that 

necessary to protect the site; 

and 

(iv) a permit for a structure under 

this Part may be issued only 

to a sponsoring public agency 

for projects where the public 

benefits outweigh the 

significant adverse impacts. 

Additionally, the permit shall 

include conditions providing 

for mitigation or 

minimization by that agency 

of significant adverse 

impacts on adjoining 

properties and on public 

access to and use of the 

beach. 

(I) Structures that would otherwise be 

prohibited by these standards may also 

be permitted on finding by the 

Division that: 

(i) the structure is necessary to 

maintain an existing 

commercial navigation 

channel of regional 

significance within federally 

authorized limits; 

(ii) dredging alone is not 

practicable to maintain safe 

access to the affected 

channel; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 

extent and scope to that 

necessary to maintain the 

channel; 

(iv) the structure shall not have 

significant adverse impacts 

on fisheries or other public 

trust resources; and 

(v) a permit for a structure under 

this Part may be issued only 

to a sponsoring public agency 

for projects where the public 

benefits outweigh the 

significant adverse impacts. 

Additionally, the permit shall 

include conditions providing 

for mitigation or 

minimization by that agency 

of any significant adverse 

impacts on adjoining 
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properties and on public 

access to and use of the 

beach. 

(J) The Commission may renew a permit 

for an erosion control structure issued 

pursuant to a variance granted by the 

Commission prior to 1 July 1995. The 

Commission may authorize the 

replacement of a permanent erosion 

control structure that was permitted by 

the Commission pursuant to a variance 

granted by the Commission prior to 1 

July 1995 if the Commission finds 

that: 

(i) the structure will not be 

enlarged beyond the 

dimensions set out in the 

permit; 

(ii) there is no practical 

alternative to replacing the 

structure that will provide the 

same or similar benefits; and 

(iii) the replacement structure 

will comply with all 

applicable laws and with all 

rules, other than the rule or 

rules with respect to which 

the Commission granted the 

variance, that are in effect at 

the time the structure is 

replaced. 

(K) Proposed erosion response measures 

using innovative technology or design 

shall be considered as experimental 

and shall be evaluated on a case-by-

case basis to determine consistency 

with 15A NCAC 07M .0200 and 

general and specific use standards 

within this Section. 

(2) Temporary Erosion Control Structures: 

(A) Permittable temporary erosion control 

structures shall be limited to sandbags 

placed landward of mean high water 

and parallel to the shore. 

(B) Temporary erosion control structures 

as defined in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph may be used to protect 

only imminently threatened roads and 

associated right of ways, and buildings 

and their associated septic systems. A 

structure is considered imminently 

threatened if its foundation, septic 

system, or right-of-way in the case of 

roads, is less than 20 feet away from 

the erosion scarp. Buildings and roads 

located more than 20 feet from the 

erosion scarp or in areas where there is 

no obvious erosion scarp may also be 

found to be imminently threatened 

when site conditions, such as a flat 

beach profile or accelerated erosion, 

increase the risk of imminent damage 

to the structure. 

(C) Temporary erosion control structures 

shall be used to protect only the 

principal structure and its associated 

septic system, but not appurtenances 

such as pools, gazebos, decks or any 

amenity that is allowed under Rule 

.0309 of this Section as an exception 

to the erosion setback requirement. 

(D) Temporary erosion control structures 

may be placed waterward of a septic 

system when there is no alternative to 

relocate it on the same or adjoining lot 

so that it is landward of or in line with 

the structure being protected. 

(E) Temporary erosion control structures 

shall not extend more than 20 feet past 

the sides of the structure to be 

protected except to align with 

temporary erosion control structures 

on adjacent properties, where the 

Division has determined that gaps 

between adjacent erosion control 

structures may result in an increased 

risk of damage to the structure to be 

protected. The landward side of such 

temporary erosion control structures 

shall not be located more than 20 feet 

waterward of the structure to be 

protected, or the right-of-way in the 

case of roads. If a building or road is 

found to be imminently threatened and 

at an increased risk of imminent 

damage due to site conditions such as 

a flat beach profile or accelerated 

erosion, temporary erosion control 

structures may be located more than 

20 feet waterward of the structure 

being protected. In cases of increased 

risk of imminent damage, the location 

of the temporary erosion control 

structures shall be determined by the 

Director of the Division of Coastal 

Management or the Director's 

designee in accordance with Part (A) 

of this Subparagraph. 

(F) Temporary erosion control structures 

may remain in place for up to eight 

years for a building and its associated 

septic system, a bridge or a road. The 

property owner shall be responsible 

for removal of any portion of the 

temporary erosion control structure 

exposed above grade within 30 days of 

the end of the allowable time period. 
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(G) An imminently threatened structure or 

property may be protected only once, 

regardless of ownership, unless the 

threatened structure or property is 

located in a community that is actively 

pursuing a beach nourishment project, 

or an inlet relocation or stabilization 

project in accordance with Part (H) of 

this Subparagraph. Existing temporary 

erosion control structures may be 

permitted for additional eight-year 

periods provided that the structure or 

property being protected is still 

imminently threatened, the temporary 

erosion control structure is in 

compliance with requirements of this 

Subchapter, and the community in 

which it is located is actively pursuing 

a beach nourishment or an inlet 

relocation or stabilization project in 

accordance with Part (H) of this 

Subparagraph. In the case of a 

building, a temporary erosion control 

structure may be extended, or new 

segments constructed, if additional 

areas of the building become 

imminently threatened. Where 

temporary structures are installed or 

extended incrementally, the time 

period for removal under Part (F) or 

(H) of this Subparagraph shall begin at 

the time the initial erosion control 

structure was installed. For the 

purpose of this Rule: 

(i) a building and its septic 

system shall be considered 

separate structures, 

(ii) a road or highway may be 

incrementally protected as 

sections become imminently 

threatened. The time period 

for removal of each 

contiguous section of 

temporary erosion control 

structure shall begin at the 

time that the initial section 

was installed, in accordance 

with Part (F) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(H) For purposes of this Rule, a 

community is considered to be 

actively pursuing a beach nourishment 

or an inlet relocation or stabilization 

project in accordance with G.S. 113A-

115.1 if it: 

(i) has been issued an active 

CAMA permit, where 

necessary, approving such 

project; or 

(ii) has been identified by a U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers' 

Beach Nourishment 

Reconnaissance Study, 

General Reevaluation 

Report, Coastal Storm 

Damage Reduction Study, or 

an ongoing feasibility study 

by the U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers and a commitment 

of local or federal money, 

when necessary; or 

(iii) has received a favorable 

economic evaluation report 

on a federal project; or 

(iv) is in the planning stages of a 

project designed by the U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers or 

persons meeting applicable 

State occupational licensing 

requirements and initiated by 

a local government or 

community with a 

commitment of local or state 

funds to construct the project 

or the identification of the 

financial resources or 

funding bases necessary to 

fund the beach nourishment, 

inlet relocation or 

stabilization project. 

If beach nourishment, inlet relocation 

or stabilization is rejected by the 

sponsoring agency or community, or 

ceases to be actively planned for a 

section of shoreline, the time 

extension is void for that section of 

beach or community and existing 

sandbags are subject to all applicable 

time limits set forth in Part (F) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(I) Once a temporary erosion control 

structure is determined by the Division 

of Coastal Management to be 

unnecessary due to relocation or 

removal of the threatened structure, it 

shall be removed to the maximum 

extent practicable by the property 

owner within 30 days of official 

notification from the Division of 

Coastal Management regardless of the 

time limit placed on the temporary 

erosion control structure. If the 

temporary erosion control structure is 

determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management to be unnecessary due to 

the completion of a storm protection 

project constructed by the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers, a large-scale 
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beach nourishment project, or an inlet 

relocation or stabilization project, any 

portion of the temporary erosion 

control structure exposed above grade 

shall be removed by the property 

owner within 30 days of official 

notification from the Division of 

Coastal Management regardless of the 

time limit placed on the temporary 

erosion control structure. 

(J) Removal of temporary erosion control 

structures is not required if they are 

covered by sand. Any portion of the 

temporary erosion control structure 

that becomes exposed above grade 

after the expiration of the permitted 

time period shall be removed by the 

property owner within 30 days of 

official notification from the Division 

of Coastal Management. 

(K) The property owner shall be 

responsible for the removal of 

remnants of all portions of any 

damaged temporary erosion control 

structure. 

(L) Sandbags used to construct temporary 

erosion control structures shall be tan 

in color and three to five feet wide and 

seven to 15 feet long when measured 

flat. Base width of the temporary 

erosion control structure shall not 

exceed 20 feet, and the total height 

shall not exceed six feet, as measured 

from the bottom of the lowest bag. 

(M) Soldier pilings and other types of 

devices to anchor sandbags shall not 

be allowed. 

(N) Existing sandbag structures may be 

repaired or replaced within their 

originally permitted dimensions 

during the time period allowed under 

Part (F) or (G) of this Subparagraph. 

(3) Beach Nourishment. Sand used for beach 

nourishment shall be compatible with existing 

grain size and in accordance with Rule .0312 of 

this Section. 

(4) Beach Bulldozing. Beach bulldozing (defined 

as the process of moving natural beach material 

from any point seaward of the first line of stable 

vegetation to create a protective sand dike or to 

obtain material for any other purpose) is 

development and may be permitted as an 

erosion response if the following conditions are 

met: 

(A) The area on which this activity is 

being performed shall maintain a slope 

of adequate grade so as to not 

endanger the public or the public's use 

of the beach and shall follow the pre-

emergency slope as closely as 

possible. The movement of material 

utilizing a bulldozer, front end loader, 

backhoe, scraper, or any type of earth 

moving or construction equipment 

shall not exceed one foot in depth 

measured from the pre-activity surface 

elevation; 

(B) The activity shall not exceed the 

lateral bounds of the applicant's 

property unless he has permission of 

the adjoining land owner(s); 

(C) Movement of material from seaward 

of the mean low water line will require 

a CAMA Major Development and 

State Dredge and Fill Permit; 

(D) The activity shall not increase erosion 

on neighboring properties and shall 

not have an adverse effect on natural 

or cultural resources; 

(E) The activity may be undertaken to 

protect threatened on-site waste 

disposal systems as well as the 

threatened structure's foundations. 

(b)  Dune Establishment and Stabilization. 

(1) Any new dunes established shall be aligned to 

the greatest extent possible with existing 

adjacent dune ridges and shall be of the same 

configuration as adjacent natural dunes. 

(2) Existing primary and frontal dunes shall not, 

except for beach nourishment and emergency 

situations, be broadened or extended in an 

oceanward direction. 

(3) Adding to dunes shall be accomplished in such 

a manner that the damage to existing vegetation 

is minimized. The filled areas shall be replanted 

or temporarily stabilized until planting can be 

completed. 

(4) Sand used to establish or strengthen dunes shall 

be of the same general characteristics as the 

sand in the area in which it is to be placed. 

(5) No new dunes shall be created in inlet hazard 

areas. 

(6) Sand held in storage in any dune, other than the 

frontal or primary dune, shall remain on the lot 

or tract of land to the maximum extent 

practicable and may be redistributed within the 

Ocean Hazard AEC provided that it is not 

placed any farther oceanward than the crest of 

a primary dune, if present, or the crest of a 

frontal dune. 

(7) No disturbance of a dune area shall be allowed 

when other techniques of construction can be 

utilized and alternative site locations exist to 

avoid dune impacts. 

(c)  Structural Accessways: 

(1) Structural accessways shall be permitted across 

primary or frontal dunes so long as they are 

designed and constructed in a manner that 
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entails negligible alteration of the primary or 

frontal dune. Structural accessways shall not be 

considered threatened structures for the purpose 

of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) An accessway shall be considered to entail 

negligible alteration of primary or frontal dunes 

provided that: 

(A) The accessway is exclusively for 

pedestrian use; 

(B) The accessway is a maximum of six 

feet in width; 

(C) The accessway is raised on posts or 

pilings of five feet or less depth, so 

that wherever possible only the posts 

or pilings touch the dune. Where this 

is deemed by the Division of Coastal 

Management to be impossible due to 

any more restrictive local, state, and/or 

federal building requirements, the 

structure shall touch the dune only to 

the necessary; and 

(D) Any areas of vegetation that are 

disturbed are revegetated as soon as 

feasible. 

(3) An accessway that does not meet Part (2)(A) 

and (B) of this Paragraph shall be permitted 

only if it meets a public purpose or need which 

cannot otherwise be met and it meets Part 

(2)(C) of this Paragraph. Public fishing piers are 

not prohibited provided all other applicable 

standards of this Rule are met. 

(4) In order to preserve the protective nature of 

primary and frontal dunes a structural 

accessway (such as a "Hatteras ramp") may be 

provided for off-road vehicle (ORV) or 

emergency vehicle access. Such accessways 

shall be no greater than 15 feet in width and 

may be constructed of wooden sections 

fastened together, or other materials approved 

by the Division, over the length of the affected 

dune area. Installation of a Hatteras ramp shall 

be done in a manner that will preserve the 

dune's function as a protective barrier against 

flooding and erosion by not reducing the 

volume of the dune. 

(5) Structural accessways may be constructed no 

more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe 

of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do 

not interfere with public trust rights and 

emergency access along the beach. Structural 

accessways are not restricted by the 

requirement to be landward of the FLSNV as 

described in Rule .0309(a) of this Section. 

(d)  Building Construction Standards. New building construction 

and any construction identified in .0306(a)(5) of 

this Section and 15A NCAC 07J .0210 shall comply with the 

following standards: 

(1) In order to avoid danger to life and property, all 

development shall be designed and placed so as 

to minimize damage due to fluctuations in 

ground elevation and wave action in a 100-year 

storm. Any building constructed within the 

ocean hazard area shall comply with relevant 

sections of the North Carolina Building Code 

including the Coastal and Flood Plain 

Construction Standards and the local flood 

damage prevention ordinance as required by the 

National Flood Insurance Program. If any 

provision of the building code or a flood 

damage prevention ordinance is inconsistent 

with any of the following AEC standards, the 

more restrictive provision shall control. 

(2) All building in the ocean hazard area shall be 

on pilings not less than eight inches in diameter 

if round or eight inches to a side if square. 

(3) All pilings shall have a tip penetration greater 

than eight feet below the lowest ground 

elevation under the structure. For those 

structures so located on or seaward of the 

primary dune, the pilings shall extend to five 

feet below mean sea level. 

(4) All foundations shall be designed to be stable 

during applicable fluctuations in ground 

elevation and wave forces during a 100-year 

storm. Cantilevered decks and walkways shall 

meet the requirements of this Part or shall be 

designed to break-away without structural 

damage to the main structure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b)(6)a.,b.,d.; 113A-115.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. June 1, 1979; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 20, 1989, for a period of 180 

days to expire on December 17, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; December 1, 1991; March 1, 1990; 

December 1, 1989; 

RRC Objection Eff. November 19, 1992 due to ambiguity; 

RRC Objection Eff. January 21, 1993 due to ambiguity; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; December 28, 1992; 

RRC Objection Eff. March 16, 1995 due to ambiguity; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996; May 4, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 3, 2000; May 22, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019; May 1, 2013; July 1, 2009; April 1, 

2008; February 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0309 USE STANDARDS FOR OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS: EXCEPTIONS 

(a)  The following types of development shall be permitted 

seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule .0306(a) 

of this Section if all other provisions of this Subchapter and other 

state and local regulations are met: 

(1) campsites; 

(2) driveways and parking areas with clay, packed 

sand, or gravel; 

(3) elevated decks not exceeding a footprint of 500 

square feet; 
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(4) beach accessways consistent with Rule 

.0308(c) of this Section; 

(5) unenclosed, uninhabitable gazebos with a 

footprint of 200 square feet or less; 

(6) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with a 

foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, 

packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 

square feet or less; 

(7) temporary amusement stands consistent with 

Section .1900 of this Subchapter; 

(8) sand fences; and 

(9) swimming pools. 

In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is 

landward of the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 

whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or removal of 

primary or frontal dunes which would compromise the integrity 

of the dune as a protective landform or the dune vegetation; has 

overwalks to protect any existing dunes; is not essential to the 

continued existence or use of an associated principal 

development; is not required to satisfy minimum requirements of 

local zoning, subdivision or health regulations; and meets all other 

non-setback requirements of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Where application of the oceanfront setback requirements of 

Rule .0306(a) of this Section would preclude placement of 

permanent substantial structures on lots existing as of June 1, 

1979, buildings shall be permitted seaward of the applicable 

setback line in ocean erodible areas and State Ports Inlet 

Management Areas, but not inlet hazard areas or unvegetated 

beach areas, if each of the following conditions are met: 

(1) The development is set back from the ocean the 

maximum feasible distance possible on the 

existing lot and the development is designed to 

minimize encroachment into the setback area; 

(2) The development is at least 60 feet landward of 

the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 

whichever is applicable; 

(3) The development is not located on or in front of 

a frontal dune, but is entirely behind the 

landward toe of the frontal dune; 

(4) The development incorporates each of the 

following design standards, which are in 

addition to those required by Rule .0308(d) of 

this Section. 

(A) All pilings shall have a tip penetration 

that extends to at least four feet below 

mean sea level; 

(B) The footprint of the structure shall be 

no more than 1,000 square feet, and 

the total floor area of the structure 

shall be no more than 2,000 square 

feet. For the purpose of this Section, 

roof-covered decks and porches that 

are structurally attached shall be 

included in the calculation of 

footprint; 

(C) Driveways and parking areas shall be 

constructed of clay, packed sand or 

gravel except in those cases where the 

development does not abut the ocean 

and is located landward of a paved 

public street or highway currently in 

use. In those cases concrete, asphalt, 

or turfstone may also be used; 

(D) No portion of a building's total floor 

area, including elevated portions that 

are cantilevered, knee braced or 

otherwise extended beyond the 

support of pilings or footings, may 

extend oceanward of the total floor 

area of the landward-most adjacent 

building. When the geometry or 

orientation of a lot precludes the 

placement of a building in line with 

the landward most adjacent structure 

of similar use, an average line of 

construction shall be determined by 

the Division of Coastal Management 

on a case-by-case basis in order to 

determine an ocean hazard setback 

that is landward of the vegetation line, 

static vegetation line or measurement 

line, whichever is applicable, a 

distance no less than 60 feet. 

(5) All other provisions of this Subchapter and 

other state and local regulations are met. If the 

development is to be serviced by an on-site 

waste disposal system, a copy of a valid permit 

for such a system shall be submitted as part of 

the CAMA permit application. 

(c)  The following types of water dependent development shall be 

permitted seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule 

.0306(a) of this Section if all other provisions of this Subchapter 

and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) piers providing public access; and 

(2) maintenance and replacement of existing state-

owned bridges, and causeways and accessways 

to such bridges. 

(d)  Replacement or construction of a pier house associated with 

an ocean pier shall be permitted if each of the following 

conditions is met: 

(1) The ocean pier provides public access for 

fishing and other recreational purposes whether 

on a commercial, public, or nonprofit basis; 

(2) Commercial, non-water dependent uses of the 

ocean pier and associated pier house shall be 

limited to restaurants and retail services. 

Residential uses, lodging, and parking areas 

shall be prohibited; 

(3) The pier house shall be limited to a maximum 

of two stories; 

(4) A new pier house shall not exceed a footprint of 

5,000 square feet and shall be located landward 

of mean high water; 

(5) A replacement pier house may be rebuilt not to 

exceed its most recent footprint or a footprint of 

5,000 square feet, whichever is larger; 

(6) The pier house shall be rebuilt to comply with 

all other provisions of this Subchapter; and 
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(7) If the pier has been destroyed or rendered 

unusable, replacement or expansion of the 

associated pier house shall be permitted only if 

the pier is being replaced and returned to its 

original function. 

(e)  In addition to the development authorized under Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule, small scale, non-essential development that does not 

induce further growth in the Ocean Hazard Area, such as the 

construction of single family piers and small scale erosion control 

measures that do not interfere with natural oceanfront processes, 

shall be permitted on those non-oceanfront portions of shoreline 

that exhibit features characteristic of an Estuarine Shoreline. Such 

features include the presence of wetland vegetation, and lower 

wave energy and erosion rates than in the adjoining Ocean 

Erodible Area. Such development shall be permitted under the 

standards set out in Rule .0208 of this Subchapter. For the purpose 

of this Rule, small scale is defined as those projects which are 

eligible for authorization under 15A NCAC 07H .1100, .1200 and 

15A NCAC 07K .0203. 

(f)  Transmission lines necessary to transmit electricity from an 

offshore energy-producing facility may be permitted provided 

that each of the following conditions is met: 

(1) The transmission lines are buried under the 

ocean beach, nearshore area, and primary and 

frontal dunes, all as defined in Rule .0305 of 

this Section, in such a manner so as to ensure 

that the placement of the transmission lines 

involves no alteration or removal of the primary 

or frontal dunes; and 

(2) The design and placement of the transmission 

lines shall be performed in a manner so as not 

to endanger the public or the public's use of the 

beach. 

(g)  Existing stormwater outfalls as of the last amended date of 

this rule within the Ocean Hazard AEC that are owned or 

maintained by a State agency or local government, may be 

extended oceanward subject to the provisions contained within 

15A NCAC 07J .0200. Outfalls may be extended below mean low 

water and may be maintained in accordance with 15A NCAC 07K 

.0103. Shortening or lengthening of outfall structures within the 

authorized dimensions, in response to changes in beach width, is 

considered maintenance under 15A NCAC 07K .0103. Outfall 

extensions may be marked with signage and shall not prevent 

pedestrian or vehicular access along the beach. This Paragraph 

does not apply to existing stormwater outfalls that are not owned 

or maintained by a State agency or local government. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b)(6)a; 113A-113(b)(6)b; 113A-113(b)(6)d; 113A-

124; 

Eff. February 2, 1981; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; June 1, 2010; February 1, 2006; 

September 17, 2002 pursuant to S.L. 2002-116; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; April 1, 1996; April 1, 1995; February 1, 1993; 

January 1, 1991; April 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0310 USE STANDARDS FOR INLET 

HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  Inlet Hazard Areas of Environmental Concern as defined by 

Rule .0304 of this Section are subject to inlet migration, rapid and 

severe changes in watercourses, flooding and strong tides. Due to 

this extremely hazardous nature of the Inlet Hazard Areas, all 

development within these areas shall be permitted in accordance 

with the following standards: 

(1) All development in the inlet hazard area shall 

be set back from the first line of stable natural 

vegetation a distance equal to the setback 

required in the adjacent ocean hazard area; 

(2) Permanent structures shall be permitted at a 

density of no more than one commercial or 

residential unit per 15,000 square feet of land 

area on lots subdivided or created after July 23, 

1981; 

(3) Only residential structures of four units or less 

or non-residential structures of less than 5,000 

square feet total floor area shall be allowed 

within the inlet hazard area, except that access 

roads to those areas and maintenance and 

replacement of existing bridges shall be 

allowed; 

(4) Established common-law and statutory public 

rights of access to the public trust lands and 

waters in Inlet Hazard Areas shall not be 

eliminated or restricted. Development shall not 

encroach upon public accessways nor shall it 

limit the intended use of the accessways; 

(5) All other rules in this Subchapter pertaining to 

development in the ocean hazard areas shall be 

applied to development within the Inlet Hazard 

Areas. 

(b)  The inlet hazard area setback requirements shall not apply to 

the types of development exempted from the ocean setback rules 

in 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a), nor, to the types of development 

listed in 15A NCAC 07H .0309(c). 

(c)  In addition to the types of development excepted under Rule 

.0309 of this Section, small scale development that does not 

induce further growth in the Inlet Hazard Area, such as the 

construction of single-family piers and small scale erosion control 

measures that do not interfere with natural inlet movement, may 

be permitted on those portions of shoreline within a designated 

Inlet Hazard Area that exhibit features characteristic of Estuarine 

Shoreline. Such features include the presence of wetland 

vegetation, lower wave energy, and lower erosion rates than in the 

adjoining Ocean Erodible Area. Such development shall be 

permitted under the standards set out in Rule .0208 of this 

Subchapter. For the purpose of this Rule, small scale is defined as 

those projects which are eligible for authorization under 15A 

NCAC 07H .1100, .1200 and 07K .0203. 

 

History Note:  

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b); 113A-124; 

Eff. December 1, 1981; 

Emergency Rule Eff. September 11, 1981, for a period of 120 days 

to expire on January 8, 1982; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. October 30, 1981, for a period of 70 

days to expire on January 8, 1982; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; April 1, 1996; December 1, 1992; 

December 1, 1991; March 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0311 INSTALLATION AND 

MAINTENANCE OF SAND FENCING 

(a)  Sand fencing may only be installed for the purpose of building 

sand dunes by trapping windblown sand, for the protection of the 

dune(s) and vegetation (planted or existing). 

(b)  Sand fencing shall not impede existing public access to the 

beach, recreational use of the beach, or emergency vehicle access. 

Sand fencing shall not be installed in a manner that impedes or 

restricts established common law and statutory rights of public 

access and use of public trust lands and waters. 

(c)  Sand fencing shall not be installed in a manner that impedes, 

traps or otherwise endangers sea turtles, sea turtle nests or sea 

turtle hatchlings. CAMA permit applications for sand fencing 

shall be subject to review by the Wildlife Resources Commission 

and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in order to determine 

whether or not the proposed design or installation will have an 

adverse impact on sea turtles or other threatened or endangered 

species. 

(d)  Non-functioning, damaged, or unsecured sand fencing shall 

be removed by the property owner. 

(e)  Sand fencing shall not be placed on the wet sand beach area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0312 TECHNICAL STANDARDS FOR 

BEACH FILL PROJECTS 

Placement of sediment along the oceanfront shoreline is referred 

to in this Rule as "beach fill." Sediment used solely to establish or 

strengthen dunes or to re-establish state-maintained transportation 

corridors across a barrier island breach in a disaster area as 

declared by the Governor is not considered a beach fill project 

under this Rule. Beach fill projects including beach nourishment, 

dredged material disposal, habitat restoration, storm protection, 

and erosion control may be permitted under the following 

conditions: 

(1) The applicant shall characterize the recipient 

beach according to the following methodology: 

(a) Characterization of the recipient beach 

is not required for the placement of 

sediment directly from and completely 

confined to a maintained navigation 

channel or associated sediment basins 

within the active nearshore, beach or 

inlet shoal system; 

(b) Sediment sampling and analysis shall 

be used to capture the three-

dimensional spatial variability of the 

sediment characteristics including 

grain size, sorting and mineralogy 

within the natural system; 

(c) Shore-perpendicular topographic and 

bathymetric surveying of the recipient 

beach shall be conducted to determine 

the beach profile. Topographic and 

bathymetric surveying shall occur 

along a minimum of five shore-

perpendicular transects evenly spaced 

throughout the entire project area. 

Each transect shall extend from the 

frontal dune crest seaward to a depth 

of 20 feet (6.1 meters) or to the shore-

perpendicular distance 2,400 feet (732 

meters) seaward of mean low water, 

whichever is in a more landward 

position. Transect spacing shall not 

exceed 5,000 feet (1,524 meters) in the 

shore-parallel direction. Elevation 

data for all transects shall be 

referenced to the North American 

Vertical Datum of 1988 (NAVD 88) 

and the North American Datum of 

1983 (NAD 83); 

(d) No fewer than 13 sediment samples 

shall be taken along each beach profile 

transect. At least one sample shall be 

taken from each of the following 

morphodynamic zones where present: 

frontal dune, frontal dune toe, mid 

berm, mean high water (MHW), mid 

tide (MT), mean low water (MLW), 

trough, bar crest and at even depth 

increments from 6 feet (1.8 meters) to 

20 feet (6.1 meters) or to a shore-

perpendicular distance 2,400 feet (732 

meters) seaward of mean low water, 

whichever is in a more landward 

position. The total number of samples 

taken landward of MLW shall equal 

the total number of samples taken 

seaward of MLW; 

(e) For the purpose of this Rule, 

"sediment grain size categories" are 

defined as "fine" (less than 0.0625 

millimeters), "sand" (greater than or 

equal to 0.0625 millimeters and less 

than 2 millimeters), "granular" 

(greater than or equal to 2 millimeters 

and less than 4.76 millimeters) and 

"gravel" (greater than or equal to 4.76 

millimeters and less than 76 

millimeters). Each sediment sample 

shall report percentage by weight of 

each of these four grain size 

categories; 

(f) A composite of the simple arithmetic 

mean for each of the four grain size 

categories defined in Sub-Item (1)(e) 

of this Rule shall be calculated for 

each transect. A grand mean shall be 
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established for each of the four grain 

size categories by summing the mean 

for each transect and dividing by the 

total number of transects. The value 

that characterizes grain size values for 

the recipient beach is the grand mean 

of percentage by weight for each grain 

size category defined in Sub-Item 

(1)(e) of this Rule; 

(g) Percentage by weight calcium 

carbonate shall be calculated from a 

composite of all sediment samples 

along each transect defined in Sub-

Item (1)(d) of this Rule. The value that 

characterizes the carbonate content of 

the recipient beach is a grand mean 

calculated by summing the average 

percentage by weight calcium 

carbonate for each transect and 

dividing by the total number of 

transects. For beaches on which fill 

activities have taken place prior to the 

effective date of this Rule, the 

Division of Coastal Management shall 

consider visual estimates of shell 

content as a proxy for carbonate 

weight percent; 

(h) The total number of sediments and 

shell material greater than or equal to 

three inches (76 millimeters) in 

diameter, observable on the surface of 

the beach between mean low water 

(MLW) and the frontal dune toe, shall 

be calculated for an area of 50,000 

square feet (4,645 square meters) 

within the beach fill project 

boundaries. This area is considered a 

representative sample of the entire 

project area and referred to as the 

"background" value; 

(i) Beaches that received sediment prior 

to the effective date of this Rule shall 

be characterized in a way that is 

consistent with Sub-Items (1)(a) 

through (1)(h) of this Rule and shall 

use data collected from the recipient 

beach prior to the addition of beach 

fill. If such data were not collected or 

are unavailable, a dataset best 

reflecting the sediment characteristics 

of the recipient beach prior to beach 

fill shall be developed in coordination 

with the Division of Coastal 

Management; and 

(j) All data used to characterize the 

recipient beach shall be provided in 

digital and hardcopy format to the 

Division of Coastal Management upon 

request. 

(2) The applicant shall characterize the sediment to 

be placed on the recipient beach according to 

the following methodology: 

(a) The characterization of borrow areas 

including submarine sites, upland 

sites, and dredged material disposal 

areas shall be designed to capture the 

three-dimensional spatial variability 

of the sediment characteristics 

including grain size, sorting and 

mineralogy within the natural system 

or dredged material disposal area; 

(b) The characterization of borrow sites 

shall include sediment 

characterization data provided by the 

Division of Coastal Management 

where available. These data can be 

found in individual project reports and 

studies, and shall be provided by the 

Division of Coastal Management upon 

request and where available; 

(c) Seafloor surveys shall measure 

elevation and capture acoustic 

imagery of the seafloor. Measurement 

of seafloor elevation shall cover 100 

percent of each submarine borrow site 

and use survey-grade swath sonar (e.g. 

multibeam or similar technologies) in 

accordance with current US Army 

Corps of Engineers standards for 

navigation and dredging. Seafloor 

imaging without an elevation 

component (e.g. sidescan sonar or 

similar technologies) shall also cover 

100 percent of each borrow site and be 

performed in accordance with US 

Army Corps of Engineers standards 

for navigation and dredging. Because 

shallow submarine areas can provide 

technical challenges and physical 

limitations for acoustic measurements, 

seafloor imaging without an elevation 

component may not be required for 

water depths less than 10 feet (3 

meters). Alternative elevation 

surveying methods for water depths 

less than 10 feet (3 meters) may be 

evaluated on a case-by-case basis by 

the Division of Coastal Management. 

Elevation data shall be tide- and 

motion-corrected and referenced to 

NAVD 88 and NAD 83. Seafloor 

imaging data without an elevation 

component shall be referenced to the 

NAD 83. All final seafloor survey data 

shall conform to standards for 

accuracy, quality control and quality 

assurance as set forth by the US Army 

Corps of Engineers (USACE). The 
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current surveying standards for 

navigation and dredging can be 

obtained from the Wilmington District 

of the USACE. For offshore dredged 

material disposal sites, only one set of 

imagery without elevation is required. 

Sonar imaging of the seafloor without 

elevation is not required for borrow 

sites completely confined to 

maintained navigation channels, 

sediment deposition basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system; 

(d) Geophysical imaging of the seafloor 

subsurface shall be used to 

characterize each borrow site and shall 

use survey grids with a line spacing 

not to exceed 1,000 feet (305 meters). 

Offshore dredged material disposal 

sites shall use a survey grid not to 

exceed 2,000 feet (610 meters) and 

only one set of geophysical imaging of 

the seafloor subsurface is required. 

Survey grids shall incorporate at least 

one tie point per survey line. Because 

shallow submarine areas can pose 

technical challenges and physical 

limitations for geophysical 

techniques, subsurface data may not 

be required in water depths less than 

10 feet (3 meters), and the Division of 

Coastal Management shall evaluate 

these areas on a case-by-case basis. 

Subsurface geophysical imaging shall 

not be required for borrow sites 

completely confined to maintained 

navigation channels, sediment 

deposition basins within the active 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal system, 

or upland sites. All final subsurface 

geophysical data shall use accurate 

sediment velocity models for time-

depth conversions and be referenced 

to NAD 83; 

(e) Sediment sampling of all borrow sites 

shall use a vertical sampling device no 

less than 3 inches (76 millimeters) in 

diameter. Characterization of each 

borrow site shall use no fewer than 

five evenly spaced cores or one core 

per 23 acres (grid spacing of 1,000 feet 

or 305 meters), whichever is greater. 

Characterization of borrow sites 

completely confined to maintained 

navigation channels or sediment 

deposition basins within the active 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal system 

shall use no fewer than five evenly 

spaced vertical samples per channel or 

sediment basin, or sample spacing of 

no more than 5,000 linear feet (1,524 

meters), whichever is greater. Two 

sets of sampling data (with at least one 

dredging event in between) from 

maintained navigation channels or 

sediment deposition basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system may be used to characterize 

material for subsequent nourishment 

events from those areas if the sampling 

results are found to be compatible with 

Sub-Item (3)(a) of this Rule. In 

submarine borrow sites other than 

maintained navigation channels or 

associated sediment deposition basins 

within the active nearshore, beach or 

inlet shoal system where water depths 

are no greater than 10 feet (3 meters), 

geophysical data of and below the 

seafloor are not required, and sediment 

sample spacing shall be no less than 

one core per six acres (grid spacing of 

500 feet or 152 meters). Vertical 

sampling shall penetrate to a depth 

equal to or greater than permitted 

dredge or excavation depth or 

expected dredge or excavation depths 

for pending permit applications. All 

sediment samples shall be integrated 

with geophysical data to constrain the 

surficial, horizontal and vertical extent 

of lithologic units and determine 

excavation volumes of compatible 

sediment as defined in Item (3) of this 

Rule; 

(f) For offshore dredged material disposal 

sites, the grid spacing shall not exceed 

2,000 feet (610 meters). 

Characterization of material deposited 

at offshore dredged material disposal 

sites after the initial characterization 

are not required if all of the material 

deposited complies with Sub-Item 

(3)(a) of this Rule as demonstrated by 

at least two sets of sampling data with 

at least one dredging event in between; 

(g) Grain size distributions shall be 

reported for all sub-samples taken 

within each vertical sample for each of 

the four grain size categories defined 

in Sub-Item (1)(e) of this Rule. 

Weighted averages for each core shall 

be calculated based on the total 

number of samples and the thickness 

of each sampled interval. A simple 

arithmetic mean of the weighted 

averages for each grain size category 

shall be calculated to represent the 
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average grain size values for each 

borrow site. Vertical samples shall be 

geo-referenced and digitally imaged 

using scaled, color-calibrated 

photography; 

(h) Percentage by weight of calcium 

carbonate shall be calculated from a 

composite sample of each core. A 

weighted average of calcium 

carbonate percentage by weight shall 

be calculated for each borrow site 

based on the composite sample 

thickness of each core. Carbonate 

analysis is not required for sediment 

confined to maintained navigation 

channels or associated sediment 

deposition basins within the active 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal system; 

and 

(i) All data used to characterize the 

borrow site shall be provided in digital 

and hardcopy format to the Division of 

Coastal Management upon request. 

(3) The Division of Coastal Management shall 

determine sediment compatibility according to 

the following criteria: 

(a) Sediment completely confined to the 

permitted dredge depth of a 

maintained navigation channel or 

associated sediment deposition basins 

within the active nearshore, beach or 

inlet shoal system is considered 

compatible if the average percentage 

by weight of fine-grained (less than 

0.0625 millimeters) sediment is less 

than 10 percent; 

(b) The average percentage by weight of 

fine-grained sediment (less than 

0.0625 millimeters) in each borrow 

site shall not exceed the average 

percentage by weight of fine-grained 

sediment of the recipient beach 

characterization plus five percent; 

(c) The average percentage by weight of 

granular sediment (greater than or 

equal to 2 millimeters and less than 

4.76 millimeters) in a borrow site shall 

not exceed the average percentage by 

weight of coarse-sand sediment of the 

recipient beach characterization plus 

10 percent; 

(d) The average percentage by weight of 

gravel (greater than or equal to 4.76 

millimeters and less than 76 

millimeters) in a borrow site shall not 

exceed the average percentage by 

weight of gravel-sized sediment for 

the recipient beach characterization 

plus five percent; 

(e) The average percentage by weight of 

calcium carbonate in a borrow site 

shall not exceed the average 

percentage by weight of calcium 

carbonate of the recipient beach 

characterization plus 15 percent; and 

(f) Techniques that take incompatible 

sediment within a borrow site or 

combination of sites and make it 

compatible with that of the recipient 

beach characterization shall be 

evaluated on a case-by-case basis by 

the Division of Coastal Management. 

(4) Excavation and placement of sediment shall 

conform to the following criteria: 

(a) Sediment excavation depths for all 

borrow sites shall not exceed the 

maximum depth of recovered core at 

each coring location; 

(b) In order to protect threatened and 

endangered species, and to minimize 

impacts to fish, shellfish and wildlife 

resources, no excavation or placement 

of sediment shall occur within the 

project area during times designated 

by the Division of Coastal 

Management in consultation with 

other State and Federal agencies. The 

time limitations shall be established 

during the permitting process and shall 

be made known prior to permit 

issuance; and 

(c) Sediment and shell material with a 

diameter greater than or equal to three 

inches (76 millimeters) is considered 

incompatible if it has been placed on 

the beach during the beach fill project, 

is observed between MLW and the 

frontal dune toe, and is in excess of 

twice the background value of 

material of the same size along any 

50,000-square-foot (4,645 square 

meter) section of beach. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-229; 113A-102(b)(1); 

113A-103(5)(a); 113A-107(a); 113A-113(b)(5) and (6); 113A-

118; 113A-124; 

Eff. February 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; September 1, 2013; April 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

 

16 NCAC 06B. 0112 PURCHASE OF SCHOOL BUSES 

AND EQUIPMENT 

Local education agencies shall purchase school buses from the 

statewide term contracts approved by the Secretary of 

Administration under G.S. 143-49 and shall purchase school bus 
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brake pads, brake shoes, and brake hardware that have the same 

specifications as the original equipment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-249; 115C-

249.1; 115C-522; 

Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0310 APPROPRIATE USE OF STATE 

TESTS 

Secure tests as defined in Rule .0307(b) of this Section developed 

by the State of North Carolina as part of the Annual Testing 

Program shall not be used for purposes other than to measure 

reading proficiency at the beginning of grade three, end-of-grade 

progress for grades three through eight, end-of-course 

competencies, and competencies in English, mathematics, 

reading, and science at the end of grade 11 as tested in the ACT, 

and competencies in mathematics, reading, and information 

location at the end grade 12 as tested in ACT WorkKeys. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9d)a.; 115C-83.15; 

115C-174.11(c);  

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0107 SCHOOL VIOLENCE ACTS 

DEFINED AND THE ANNUAL REPORT OF THESE 

CRIMES 

(a)  Local Education Agencies (LEAs) shall report the following 

crimes and offenses within five school days to the Department of 

Public Instruction: 

(1) Homicide as defined in G.S. 14-17 and 14-18; 

(2) Assault resulting in serious personal injury as 

defined in G.S. 14-32.4; 

(3) Assault involving the use of a weapon as 

defined in G.S. 14-32 through 14-34.10; 

(4) Rape as defined in G.S. 14-27.21 through 14 -

27.25; 

(5) Sexual offense as defined in G.S 14-27.26 

through 14-27.30; 

(6) Sexual activity, battery, contact and penetration 

under pretext of medical treatment as defined in 

G.S. 14-31 through 33; 

(7) Kidnapping as defined in G.S. 14-39; 

(8) Robbery with a dangerous weapon as defined in 

G.S. 14-87; 

(9) Indecent liberties with a minor as defined in 

G.S. 14-202.1, 14-202.2 and 14-202.4; 

(10) Assault with a firearm or powerful explosive as 

defined in G.S. 14-34 through 14-34.10 and 14-

49 through 14-50.1; 

(11) Robbery with a firearm or dangerous explosive 

as defined in G.S. 14-87; 

(12) Willfully burning a school building as defined 

in G.S. 14-60; 

(13) Making bomb threats or engaging in bomb 

hoaxes as defined in G.S. 14-69.2; 

(14) Assault on school officials, employees, and 

volunteers as defined in G.S. 14-33(c)(6); 

(15) Possession of a controlled substance in 

violation of the law as defined in G.S. 90-86 

through 90-113.8; 

(16) Possession of a weapon on campus or other 

educational property in violation of G.S. 14-

269.2; 

(17) Unlawful, underage sales, purchase, provision, 

possession, or consumption of alcoholic 

beverages as defined in G.S. 18B-302; 

(18) Assault as defined in G.S. 14-33 but not 

resulting in an injury as severe as defined in 

G.S. 14-32.4; 

(19) Fighting, or affray as defined in G.S. 14-33; 

(20) Gang activity as defined in G.S. 14-50.17, 14-

50.19 and 14-50.20; 

(21) Robbery as defined in G.S. 14-87, but without 

the use of a dangerous weapon; 

(22) Extortion as defined in G.S. 14-118.4; 

(23) Communicating threats in violation of G.S. 14-

277.1; 

(24) Possession or use of tobacco products as 

defined in G.S. 14-313; 

(25) Property damage as defined in G.S. 115C-398; 

(26) Bullying or harassing behavior prohibited 

under policies adopted under G.S. 115C- 

407.16; 

(27) Cyberbullying as defined in G.S. 14-458.1 and 

14-458.2; 

(28) Verbal harassment as defined in G.S. 115C-

407.15; 

(29) Sexual harassment as defined in G.S. 115C-

335.5; Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 

42 U.S.C. 2000e; 

(30) Discrimination as defined in Title VI of the 

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000d; 

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 

U.S.C. 2000e; Title IX of the Education 

Amendments of 1972, 20 U.S.C. 1681-1688; 

Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 

12101. 

(b)  These offenses shall be reported when they occur under the 

following conditions and circumstances: 

(1) on school property, defined as any public 

school building, bus, public school campus, 

grounds, recreational area, or athletic field in 

the charge of the principal; or 

(2) off school property on a school-sponsored field 

trip. 

 

History Note: G.S. 115C-12(18), (21); 115C-288(g); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0315 ACCOUNTABILITY ANNUAL 

PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  All students enrolled in a public school unit (PSU) in grades 

3 through 8 or in high school courses in which an end-of-course 

(EOC) assessment is administered shall participate in the State 
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Annual Testing Program. PSUs shall report to the North Carolina 

Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) test results for: 

(1) beginning of grade 3 reading proficiency 

(2) grades 3 through 8 end-of-grade (EOG) English 

language arts/reading and mathematics; 

(3) grades 5 and 8 EOG science; 

(4) grade 10 EOC English II; 

(5) grade 11 EOC assessments in NC Math 1, NC 

Math 3, and EOC Biology; 

(6) grade 11 ACT; and 

(7) grade 12 Career and Technical Education 

Concentrators and WorkKeys. 

(b)  PSUs shall administer the tests in the Annual Testing Program 

in accordance with the rules in this Subchapter and the Elementary 

and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), Pub. L. 89-10, 79 

Stat. 27, amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), 

Pub. L. No. 114–95, 129 Stat. 1802 (2015), and the regulations 

adopted thereunder.  

(c)  All students entitled to testing accommodations shall 

participate in the State Annual Testing Program using one of the 

following assessments as required by the student's 

accommodation: 

(1) The standard test administration with or without 

accommodations, or 

(2) An alternate assessment with or without 

accommodations. 

(d)  "Students entitled to testing accommodations" for purposes of 

this Chapter shall mean: 

(1) students with Individualized Education 

Programs (IEPs) created under the Individuals 

with Disabilities Education Act, 33 U.S.C. 

1414, and regulations adopted pursuant to that 

Act: 

(2) students with a plan created under 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 794 as 

implemented through 34 C.F.R. 104.44, and 

other regulations adopted pursuant to that Act; 

(3) students with documented transitory 

impairments with actual or expected duration of 

six months or less that affect their ability to 

demonstrate their knowledge on standard test 

administrations without accommodation as 

determined by the LEA; and 

(4) students who score below Level 5.0 Bridging 

on the reading domain of the WIDA 

Screener/ACCESS for ELLs®. 

. 

 

History Note: G.S. 115C-12; 115C-105.35; 115C-83.15; 

115C-174.11(c); 115C-288.66(11); 115C-218.65; 116-

239.8(b)(14); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0505 CHARTER SCHOOLS 

FINANCIAL NONCOMPLIANCE – IMPACT OF 

FINANCIAL NONCOMPLIANCE 

(a)  There are three stages of financial noncompliance under 

which a charter school may be placed: cautionary, probationary, 

and disciplinary. 

(b)  The presence of any one of the following financial conditions 

shall result in a charter school being assigned a noncompliance 

status: 

(1) if the charter school fails to report financial, 

personnel or student data within 10 days of the 

required or agreed-upon reporting date or does 

not submit accurate data ; 

(2) if the charter school fails to respond to a 

specific financial, personnel, or student 

information request for information or data 

from the Department of Public Instruction by 

the required reporting date; 

(3) if the charter school fails to submit the required 

audited financial statements to the North 

Carolina Department of State Treasurer's Local 

Government Commission, as prescribed by 

G.S. 115C-218.30 and G.S. 115C-447. 

(4) if the charter school shows signs of financial 

insolvency or weakness, including a decline in 

student membership based on evaluation of 

financial statements by an accountant; 

(5) if the Office of State Treasurer receives a "non-

sufficient funds (NSF)" notification during the 

course of cash certification processing; 

(6) if the charter school receives a material audit 

finding in its annual independent financial 

statement audit which indicates a violation of 

State law, a violation of any of the conditions or 

procedures set forth in its Charter, a failure to 

meet generally accepted accounting practices 

and principles, including sound fiscal 

management in accordance with G.S. 115C-

218.95 and remains unresolved; or 

(7) if the charter school's staff fails to attend 

required financial training. 

(c)  For these warning conditions, the school's access to the cash 

management system may be revoked if necessary to prevent the 

expenditure of funds in violation of the standards in Subparagraph 

(b)(6) of this Rule until the exception is corrected. Decisions to 

place a school in Cautionary, Probationary, or Disciplinary status 

will be based on the evidence of how likely the financial problems 

of the school are to force the school into an unplanned and 

unorganized closure if corrective actions are not implemented. 

Any combination of the above violations may result in a decision 

to move the charter school to Financial Disciplinary Status 

without first being held in either the Cautionary or Probationary 

status. Should a charter school have repeated violations of the 

same or similar non-compliance condition, the charter school may 

be moved to Financial Disciplinary Status. 

(d)  This policy does not preclude the State Board of Education 

from taking any action with regards to a charter school if so 

warranted, regardless of the charter school's financial 

noncompliance status. 
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(e)  The stages of financial noncompliance are as follows: 

(1) Level 1: Financial Cautionary Status: A charter 

school may receive a notification of Financial 

Cautionary Status for any of the above 

conditions. The school shall remain in 

cautionary status for a minimum of 30 calendar 

days from the date of notification, and during 

that time must correct the exception(s) that 

caused the financial warning(s) if applicable. 

When the exception(s) is corrected as 

prescribed in the notification of noncompliance 

by NCDPI, the school will be notified of 

removal from cautionary status. 

(2) Level 2: Financial Probationary Status: A 

charter school may receive a notification of 

Financial Probationary Status for any of the 

above conditions. The school will be placed in 

Financial Probationary Status, if the school fails 

to correct the exception(s) during the 30 

calendar days cautionary period, unless 

otherwise stated in the initial notification of 

noncompliance. The school remains in 

probationary status for a minimum of 30 

calendar days from the date of notification, and 

during that time must correct the exceptions 

that caused the financial warnings if applicable. 

When all of the exceptions have been corrected, 

the school will be notified of removal from 

probationary status. While in probationary 

status, state funds for the school may be allotted 

on a monthly basis until the exceptions that 

caused the financial warnings are corrected. 

Failure to resolve the exceptions may result in 

the school being placed on Financial 

Disciplinary Status, referred to the Charter 

School Advisory Board and/or to the State 

Board of Education for further action. 

(3) Level 3: Financial Disciplinary Status: The 

school will be placed in Financial Disciplinary 

Status, if the school fails to correct all of the 

exceptions during the established timeframe. 

Any of the financial conditions noted in this 

policy, or combination thereof, may result in 

the charter school being placed on Financial 

Noncompliance Disciplinary status without the 

benefit of being first held in either the 

Cautionary or Probationary status. Also, should 

a charter school have repeat violations of the 

same or similar non-compliance condition, the 

charter school may be moved to Financial 

Disciplinary Status without the benefit of 

completing either the Cautionary or 

Probationary status periods. 

(f)  When in Disciplinary status, the school shall address all of the 

exceptions that caused the financial noncompliance within 10 

business days from the date of notification or otherwise stated. 

State funds for the school may be allotted on a monthly basis until 

the exceptions causing the noncompliance are corrected. When all 

of the exceptions have been corrected, the school will be notified 

of removal from disciplinary status. Failure to resolve the 

exceptions will result in the school being referred to the Charter 

School Advisory Board or to the State Board of Education for 

further action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(5); 115C-218, 115C-

218.15, 115C-218.30, 115C-218.95; 115C-408; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0506 CHARTER SCHOOLS 

GOVERNANCE NONCOMPLIANCE 

(a)  There are three stages of Governance Noncompliance: 

Governance Cautionary Status, Governance Probationary Status, 

and Governance Disciplinary Status. The State Board of 

Education shall place a charter school within a governance non-

compliance status based on substantial evidence of any one of the 

following governance warning conditions. The status imposed 

shall be based on the degree to which the non-compliance reflects 

the charter school board's neglect of its corporate obligations. 

(1) Failure of the board to conduct meetings in 

accordance with schedule in the bylaws or the 

approved charter application and failure to 

adopt and follow policies regarding the 

operation of the charter school including 

Personnel, Disciplinary, and Parental 

Grievance policies. 

(2) Failure to show progress towards the 

educational and organizational goals described 

in the approved charter school application. 

(3) Failure to maintain minimum student 

enrollment stated in the charter application or 

approved waiver to operate under the minimum 

of 80 students. 

(4) Bylaws violations including, failure to follow 

the Open Meetings Law, failure to maintain 

Public Records, failure to implement a Conflict 

of Interest Policy, failure to adhere to rules of 

Parliamentary Procedure. 

(5) Charter Agreement violations including, failure 

to follow State or federal laws, failure to meet 

the health and safety standards required in G.S. 

115C-218.75, failure to make adequate 

academic progress as described in the charter 

application, failure to comply with State testing 

and accountability statutes and rules in this 

Chapter, and failure to supply all reports and 

documentation as requested by the Office of 

Charter Schools to ensure legal compliance 

with General Statutes, State Board of Education 

rules in this Chapter, and the Charter 

Agreement. 

(6) Failure to maintain certification of at least 50 

percent of teachers in all grades pursuant to 

G.S. 115C-218.90 from December 31 of each 

year through the end of the school calendar 

year.  

(b)  The stages of noncompliance are as follows: 
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(1) Level 1: Governance Cautionary Status: Upon 

receiving a governance warning for any of the 

above conditions, the charter school will be 

placed on Governance Cautionary Status. The 

school remains in cautionary status for 30 

calendar days and during that time must correct 

the exception that caused the warning. When 

the 30 calendar days have ended and the 

exception is corrected, the governance warning 

will be removed and the school will be removed 

from cautionary status. Failure to correct the 

exception during the 30 calendar days 

cautionary period constitutes a second 

governance warning and the school will be 

placed on Governance Probationary Status. 

(2) Level 2: Governance Probationary Status: The 

school remains on Governance Probationary 

Status for 30 calendar days and during that time 

must correct the exceptions that caused all of 

the governance warnings. When the 30 calendar 

days have ended and the exception is corrected, 

the governance warning will be removed and 

the school will be removed from probationary 

status. Failure to correct the exception during 

the 30 calendar days probationary period 

constitutes a third governance warning and the 

school will be placed on Governance 

Noncompliance Status. 

(3) Level 3: Governance Noncompliance Status: 

The school remains on Governance 

Noncompliance Status for 10 calendar days. 

When in Noncompliance Status, the school is 

expected to correct all of the exceptions that 

caused the governance warnings within 10 

calendar days. State funds for the school may 

be allotted on a monthly basis until the 

exceptions that caused all of the governance 

warnings are corrected. A School placed in 

Governance Noncompliance Status may be 

referred to the Charter Schools Advisory Board 

for appropriate inquiry and action as 

determined by the State Board of Education. 

 

History Note Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218, 115C-

218.15, 115C-218.30, 115C-218.95; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0507 CHARTER SCHOOLS 

RENEWAL PROCESS 

(a)  To request renewal of a charter, a charter school shall submit 

a Self-Study form. The North Carolina State Board of Education 

shall review the Self-Study form and other available information, 

including information obtained through public records requests, 

when determining whether the charter school is meeting the 

standards in G.S. 115C-218.6, the academic goals and mission in 

the approved charter application, and is operating in accordance 

with the financial and governance standards in this Subchapter. 

(b)  The charter holder shall provide the following information in 

the Self-Study on the form, available on the Office of Charter 

School's website:  

(1) school name; 

(2) school mailing address; 

(3) primary contact person, including name, title, 

phone number, fax number, email address, and 

dated signature; 

(4) contact information for the board of directors' 

chairperson, including name, term of office, 

mailing address, phone number, fax number, 

email address, and dated signature; 

(5) a letter signed by the Board Chairperson stating 

the charter holder's intent to seek charter 

renewal; 

(6) school mission statement as stated in the 

original or amended charter application; 

(7) if applicable, revised school mission statement 

approved by the State Board of Education; 

(8) a narrative statement not to exceed two pages 

explaining how the school is fulfilling the State 

Board approved mission statement; 

(9) five goals the charter holder has for the school 

during the next five years, including at least one 

academic goal, one financial goal, and one 

operational goal; 

(10) the name of or a description of the curriculum 

design currently used by the school; 

(11) a summary of instructional methodology or 

instructional techniques utilized used at the 

school; 

(12) the names of evaluation instruments, other than 

State-mandated tests, used to assess student 

performance, including descriptions of those 

assessments; and 

(13) a narrative statement explaining how the school 

uses student data to improve student learning 

and to raise the academic performance of all 

students. 

(c)  All pages of the Self-Study shall be numbered consecutively 

and include a table of contents. 

(d)  No font smaller than 12 point shall be used in the typed report. 

(e)  Any charter school seeking renewal may use help from 

outside the school to complete the Self-Study report. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218(a)(6), 

115C-218.6; 115C-218.95; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0509 PLANNING YEAR FOR NEW 

PRELIMINARY CHARTER SCHOOLS 

(a)  All nonprofit boards eligible to receive a charter for the first 

time shall participate in a year-long planning program prior to the 

charter school's opening for students. During this planning year, 

directors from nonprofit boards holding charters shall attend 

meetings conducted by consultants from the Office of Charter 

Schools regarding the following topics: school opening plans, 

staff development, finance, governance, board training, 

marketing, statutes and rules governing operation of the school, 
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securing a school site, and hiring a school administrator. Final 

approval of the charter shall be contingent upon the nonprofit 

board attending the planning meetings, acquisition of a facility, 

and commitments from parents or guardians to enroll students that 

comprise at least 75 percent of the projected enrollment. 

(b)  The State Board of Education may accelerate the mandatory 

planning year for a charter applicant that meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) agrees to participate in the planning year while 

the charter application is being reviewed 

without any guarantee of charter award; and 

(2) demonstrates that there is a facility identified by 

the applicant that is feasible for opening on an 

accelerated schedule. 

(c)  The State Board shall also consider the presence or absence 

of evidence of the following factors in making its determination 

of whether to accelerate a planning year: 

(1) whether the mission and educational program 

outlined in the nonprofit board's application 

will provide parents and students with different 

educational opportunities than are currently 

available in the area; 

(2) whether local, state, or national nonprofit 

partnerships have committed to assisting the 

school; 

(3) whether the school will contribute to potential 

for economic and educational development of 

the region; 

(4) whether an organization that has experience in 

creating public schools is mentoring the 

applicant; 

(5) whether obstacles to educational reform efforts 

leave chartering as an available option; 

(6) whether an existing charter school board has 

agreed to mentor the applicant; 

(7) whether the nonprofit corporation has existed 

for more than two years; and 

(8) whether the proposed board has previously 

operated or currently operates a public charter 

school. 

(d)  An applicant requesting acceleration shall submit the request 

to the State Board of Education prior to the application due date 

for consideration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218; 115C-

218.1; 115C-218.5(b); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0514 FAST TRACK REPLICATION 

OF HIGH QUALITY CHARTER SCHOOLS – GENERAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  In addition to the specific requirements set forth in Rules 

.0512 and .0513 of this Section, the State Board of Education 

("SBE") may impose additional requirements in the review, 

application, and approval process as allowed by G.S. 115C-218(c) 

to assure that a "fast-tracked" charter school has at least the same 

probability of success as a charter that completes the planning 

process in Rule .0509 of this Section. 

(b)  In addition to considering evidence of student growth, 

proficiency, and financial audits in the applicant's other schools, 

the SBE may consider any other relevant factors in determining 

whether to grant a fast-track replication request, including the 

following: 

(1) the needs of the particular geographical area 

proposed to be served by the replicated model; 

(2) the ability of the non-profit corporation board 

to manage additional schools; 

(3) the abilities and strengths of the non-profit 

corporation board that seeks to employ the 

EMO or CMO; and 

(4) the community support for the replicated 

model. 

(c)  In determining the needs of the particular geographical area, 

the SBE shall consider whether there are similar charter school 

options in the geographical area and capacity data for the county's 

public schools. In determining the community support of the 

replicated model, the SBE shall consider community survey data, 

community letters of support, and any other evidence the 

applicant chooses to present. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-218.3; 

Emergency Rule Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0518 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  The following definitions apply for purposes of rules in this 

Chapter: 

(1) "Student at risk" means a child enrolled in a 

public school who, due to circumstances such 

as an unstable home life, poor socio-economic 

background, and other factors, either enter or 

continue in school from a disadvantaged 

standpoint, at least in relation to other students 

who are not burdened with such circumstances. 

Hoke County Board of Education v. State, 358 

N.C. 605 at 632 n.13, 599 S.E.2d 365 at 387 

n.13 (2004). 

(2) "Dropout" means any student who leaves 

school for any reason before graduation or 

completion of a program of studies without 

transferring to another elementary or secondary 

school. 

(b)  A charter school that desires to be designated an "alternative 

school" for purposes of determining and reporting school and 

student achievement and growth in accordance with G.S. 115C-

83.15, 83.16 and 83.17 shall include the request in the charter 

school application or request for amendment to an approved 

application. 

(c)  The charter school application or request for amendment to be 

an alternative school shall state that the charter school will include 

grades 9-12, and that at least 75 percent of the school's population 

in grades 9-12 will be "students at risk" of academic failure.  

(d)  The charter school application or request for amendment shall 

also state that the charter school will meet one or more of the 

following indicators: 
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(1) the students shall either be released from a 

juvenile justice facility within the last year, or 

otherwise be subject to and participating in the 

juvenile justice court; 

(2) the students shall be currently served by a 

treatment facility licensed pursuant to Chapter 

122C of the General Statutes, or have been 

discharged from such a facility within the last 

year; 

(3) the students shall be currently under suspension 

for more than 10 days from a public or private 

school; or 

(4) the students shall be high-school dropouts as 

defined in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; or 

be "Student Chronic Absentee(s)" as defined in 

16 NCAC 06E .0106. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(24), 115C-218(a)(2); 

115C-105.46; 115C-218.85(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0520 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – APPLICATION APPROVAL 

(a)  The Charter School Advisory Board ("CSAB") shall establish 

a timeline, available on the Office of Charter School's webpage, 

for the submission of applications for alternative charter schools 

and for the review and approval of applications. 

(b)  The CSAB shall develop an application template, available 

on the Office of Charter School's website, to be used for applicants 

for alternative charter school designation. 

(c)  The Office of Charter Schools ("OCS") will first review the 

alternative charter school application for completeness, give the 

applicant five days to provide missing information, and will then 

submit all complete applications to the CSAB for its review. 

(d)  The CSAB shall review complete applications and make 

recommendations to the State Board of Education. 

(e)  The State Board of Education's approval of alternative charter 

school designation is valid for three years from the effective date 

of the approval, which effective date will be set forth in the 

approval document. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2); 

115C-218.2; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0521 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – REVIEW AND RENEWAL OF 

DESIGNATION 

(a)  The Charter School Advisory Board ("CSAB") shall review 

each alternative charter school every three years to determine if 

the school shall continue with its alternative charter school 

designation. In its review the CSAB shall utilize the criteria set 

forth in Rule .0519 of this Section. The CSAB shall also evaluate 

the school's academic progress and compare the goals the school 

set in its application in Rule .0519(6) of this Section for academic 

achievement for its student population to its students' actual 

academic achievements. 

(b)  If the review shows that the school continues to meet 

eligibility criteria in Rule .0518 of this Section, is achieving its 

academic goals, and is in compliance with Chapter 115C, Article 

14A of the General Statutes and the rules in this Section, the 

CSAB shall recommend the school to the State Board of 

Education for final approval for another three-year designation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0522 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – TERMINATION OF DESIGNATION 

(a)  If at any time it appears the school is not meeting the criteria 

for designation as an alternative charter school under Rule .0518 

of this Section, or is otherwise not in compliance with State or 

federal laws the Charter School Advisory Board ("CSAB") may: 

(1) direct the Office of Charter Schools or the 

Department of Public Instruction to investigate 

the school; or 

(2) direct the school to appear before the CSAB and 

respond to questions. 

(b)  In the event the CSAB finds an alternative charter school is 

in violation of the terms of its charter or no longer meets the 

eligibility criteria in Rule .0518 of this Section, the CSAB may 

recommend the State Board of Education ("SBE") terminate the 

alternative school designation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2); 

115C-218(b)(10)(c); 115C-218.95; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0115 DISPUTE RESOLUTION 

PROCESS FOR HOMELESS STUDENTS – LEA DISPUTE 

RESOLUTION PROCESS 

(a)  Each LEA shall develop and implement an LEA dispute 

resolution process for parents, guardians, or unaccompanied 

youth who have complaints about eligibility, school selection, or 

enrollment to file an appeal to the local liaison upon registering, 

or attempting to register, the child or youth at the school where 

enrollment is sought. For purposes of this process, the phrase 

"school where enrollment is sought" may be either the school of 

origin or the school located in the attendance zone of the child or 

youth's temporary residence. Enrollment shall be deemed to 

include attending classes and participating fully in all school 

activities, as required by 42 USC 11434a(1). The LEA shall 

publish the LEA dispute resolution process on its website or in 

any school unit publication that sets forth the rules, procedures, 

and standards for students or parents. The LEA dispute resolution 

process shall provide that: 

(1) the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth 

may initiate the dispute resolution process with 

the local liaison at the school where enrollment 

is sought or at the local liaison's office; 

(2) faculty and staff of the school who know about 

the complaint must refer the parent, guardian, 

or unaccompanied youth to the local liaison; 
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(3) the local liaison shall carry out the LEA dispute 

resolution process within 15 school business 

days, or 30 calendar days, whichever is less; 

(4) the LEA official(s) responsible for making the 

final LEA decision shall be identified in the 

local policy; 

(5) the LEA shall enroll the child or youth 

immediately as required by 42 USC 11432 in 

the school where enrollment is sought pending 

resolution of any complaint between the school 

or LEA and the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth over school enrollment; 

(6) the LEA shall provide the student with all 

services for which the student is eligible and 

shall permit the student to participate in school 

activities while the dispute is being resolved; 

(7) the LEA shall, within one school business day, 

provide the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied 

youth with a statement of rights and procedures, 

written in a language, manner, and form they 

understand, to the extent the LEA deems 

practicable, that informs them of: 

(A) contact information including 

telephone number, e-mail address, and 

physical address of the local liaison 

and of the State Coordinator for 

homeless education, with a description 

of their roles; 

(B) the right to notify the local liaison, 

within two school business days of the 

school's decision, of the parent's, 

guardian's, or unaccompanied youth's 

intent to appeal the decision and the 

right to receive notice of the appeal 

procedure, including the timeline and 

process for making the initial appeal 

and any subsequent appeals available 

under LEA policy. This process must 

allow for requests for appeals to be 

made orally or in writing and must 

identify the LEA official(s) who 

makes the final LEA decision; 

(C) a form that parents, guardians, or 

unaccompanied youth can understand, 

complete, and submit to the local 

liaison to formally initiate the appeal 

and any subsequent appeals available 

under LEA policy; 

(D) the right to appeal, or request an 

extension of time to appeal, the final 

LEA decision to the State Coordinator 

within three school business days of 

receipt of the final LEA decision; 

(E) the right to enroll immediately in the 

school located in the attendance zone 

of the child or youth's temporary 

residence or remain in the school of 

origin with transportation provided by 

the LEA pending resolution of the 

dispute, if such transportation is 

requested by the parent, guardian, or 

local liaison on behalf of the youth; 

(F) notice that the right to enroll includes 

the right to fully participate in all 

school activities; 

(G) the right to obtain assistance of 

advocates or attorneys; and 

(H) the right to provide supporting written 

or oral documentation during the 

appeals process. 

(b)  Each LEA shall appoint a local liaison for identifying 

homeless students. The local liaison shall: 

(1) ensure that when parents, guardians, or 

unaccompanied youth initiate the dispute 

resolution process, all parties comply with the 

process and that the appellants are provided 

with the information required by Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule; 

(2) ensure that each homeless child or youth who 

files a dispute about enrollment or whose parent 

or guardian files such a dispute is enrolled 

immediately in the school pending resolution of 

the dispute; 

(3) communicate the LEA dispute resolution 

process to parents, guardians, and 

unaccompanied youth; and 

(4) inform the LEA superintendent, other school 

officials participating in the LEA dispute 

resolution process, and the State Coordinator of 

the dispute no more than two school business 

days after the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth has initiated the dispute 

resolution process. 

(c)  The State Coordinator shall train the local liaisons to carry out 

and mediate the dispute resolution process and to ensure that each 

school and the LEA meets the requirements of the McKinney-

Vento Act as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act of 

2015, as set forth in 42 U.S.C. 11431 et seq. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-366; 42 U.S.C. 

11431; 42 U.S.C. 11432;  

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0116 DISPUTE RESOLUTION 

PROCESS FOR HOMELESS STUDENTS – STATE 

APPEALS PROCESS 

(a)  Any parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth who is not 

satisfied with the final LEA decision regarding enrollment may 

appeal the decision, within three school business days after the 

final LEA decision or within the period of any extension granted, 

to the State Coordinator through an oral or written appeal to the 

State Coordinator, including: 

(1) the name of the person making the appeal and, 

if available, his or her physical address, e-mail 

address, and telephone number; 

(2) the relationship or connection of the person to 

the child in question; 
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(3) the name of the school system and the school in 

question; 

(4) the federal requirement alleged to have been 

violated; 

(5) how the requirement has been violated; and 

(6) the relief the person is seeking. 

(b)  If the State Coordinator receives an appeal that is missing 

information listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the State 

Coordinator shall contact the person making the appeal and the 

local liaison, explain the deficiency, and offer the person an 

opportunity to provide the missing information. 

(c)  Upon request of the State Coordinator, the local liaison shall 

provide the State Coordinator with the record of the complaint, 

the LEA's actions, and other documents. If the matter involves 

more than one LEA, then the local liaisons shall cooperate to 

provide the State Coordinator with a complete record. The local 

liaison or liaisons shall provide the complete record within three 

school business days following the State Coordinator's request. 

(d)  The State Coordinator shall provide the LEA and the parent, 

guardian, or unaccompanied youth with the opportunity to 

respond to the LEA decision and to provide any additional 

evidence he or she deems relevant within three school business 

days. 

(e)  The State Coordinator shall issue a final written decision to 

the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth and the LEA 

involved within 10 school business days following receipt of the 

documents and information described with Paragraphs (a), (b), (c) 

and (d) of this Rule. 

(f) The State Coordinator's decision shall include: 

(1) a summary of the issue appealed; 

(2) the federal requirement at issue; and 

(3) a description of the State Coordinator's decision 

in a manner and form the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth understand, and, to the 

extent practicable as determined by the State 

Coordinator, provided in a language that the 

parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth can 

understand, including further steps that the 

LEA or parent, guardian, or unaccompanied 

youth are required to take. 

(g) Nothing contained in this Rule shall prohibit the State 

Coordinator from investigating whether the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth knowingly and voluntarily entered into any 

agreement affecting his or her rights under McKinney-Vento Act 

as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015. If the 

State Coordinator determines that the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth did not knowingly and voluntarily enter 

into the agreement, then the State Coordinator may void the 

agreement and enter a decision consistent with the applicable facts 

and State or federal law, as set forth in 42 U.S.C. 11431 et seq. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-366; 42 U.S.C. 

11431; 42 U.S.C. 11432;  

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0117 OPERATION OF FEDERAL 

PROGRAMS 

Participants in federal education programs administered by the 

Department of Public Instruction shall be subject to the 

enforcement mechanisms authorized under 2 CFR Part 200, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

editions and amendments. The CFRs may be accessed at no cost 

at ecfr.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-263; 115C-264; 

115C-409:  

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

16 NCAC 06K .0104 PLACEMENT PROCEDURES 

(a)  For purposes of this Section, "State residential school(s)" 

means the North Carolina School for the Deaf, the Eastern North 

Carolina School for the Deaf, or the Governor Morehead School 

for the Blind. 

(b)  Education Services for the Deaf and Blind (ESDB) is the 

division within the Department of Public Instruction responsible 

for managing the administration of the State residential schools. 

(c)  All contact concerning possible admission to a State 

residential school must be initiated by the local education agency 

(LEA), as defined in G.S. 115C-106.3(11), or local school public 

school unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(7a), where the student 

seeking admission to a residential school is domiciled or that the 

student attends. 

(d)  The student's Individual Education Program (IEP) team 

established under the 2004 Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Improvement Act, 20 U.S.C. 1400, et seq., as amended, 

and federal regulations adopted under that Act, shall permit the 

ESDB to: 

(1) participate in discussions and decisions about 

the least restrictive environment for student in 

accordance with G.S. 115C-107.2(b)(2); 

(2) review any information or documents that the 

LEA or local public school unit, submits in 

support of its request for admission; and 

(3) observe the student referred in multiple 

settings, including the student's classroom, 

cafeteria, and a non-structured settings. 

(e)  If the student's IEP team decides that residential school 

placement is the least restrictive environment for the student, the 

ESDB shall admit the student. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-107.2; 115C-

150.13;  

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

16 NCAC 06K .0105 WEAPONS PROHIBITED ON 

SCHOOL PROPERTY 

(a)  No employee or other person shall carry, or engage another 

person to carry, whether openly or concealed, an unauthorized 

weapon as defined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, on to residential 

school property at any time, except as authorized by Paragraph (d) 

this Rule. 
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(b)  "Unauthorized weapon" is defined as any weapon listed in 

G.S. 14-269.2(b) through (e). 

(c)  "Residential school property" is defined as any building, bus, 

school campus, grounds, recreational area, athletic field, or other 

property owned, used, or operated by the North Carolina School 

for the Deaf, the Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf, or 

the Governor Morehead School for the Blind. 

(d)  This Rule shall not apply to weapons or persons listed in G.S. 

14-269.2(g)(1), (1a), (2), and (7). 

(e)  Any employee who is aware that an unauthorized weapon has 

been carried onto residential school property must immediately 

notify the school director. 

(1) Violation of this Rule may subject the 

employee to disciplinary action up to and 

including dismissal. 

(2) The school director shall immediately report 

violations of this Rule to law enforcement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-269; 14-269.2;115C-12; 

115C-150.11;  

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 68 - ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 

PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0216 BACKGROUND 

INVESTIGATION 

(a)  Every applicant for Registration pursuant to Article 5C of 

Chapter 90 of the General Statutes shall complete a fingerprint 

background check and accompanying release of information 

meeting the standards set by the State Bureau of Investigation and 

obtained within 60 days of the date the applicant submits all the 

prerequisites for his or her credential. 

(b)  The applicant shall provide any additional information 

regarding any pending charge or conviction as requested by the 

Board. 

(c)  An applicant shall submit a verified statement listing all 

criminal convictions received by the applicant, subsequent to the 

date of the application. Failure to make full and accurate 

disclosure shall be grounds for immediate application denial or 

other disciplinary action applicable to registration, certification, 

or licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-113.44. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31; 90-

113.33; 90-113.40; 90-113.41A; 90-113.44; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 15, 2002; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0227 CREDENTIAL BY 

ENDORSEMENT OR RECIPROCITY BASED ON 

MILITARY SERVICE 

(a)  Applicants for a substance use disorder professional credential 

by endorsement or reciprocity based on military service shall have 

their training honored automatically pursuant to the standards of 

the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium 

(IC&RC). Applicants shall apply for a credential by using the 

Board's credentialing software, Learning Builder, and submit to 

the Board: 

(1) a reciprocity application form prescribed by the 

IC&RC and provided by the Board as found at 

its website: www.ncsappb.org that shall be 

found accompanying the reciprocity 

information on the website; 

(2) written evidence demonstrating that the 

applicant has been awarded a military 

occupational specialty as a substance abuse 

professional and that the applicant has engaged 

in practice as a substance use disorder 

professional for at least 1,500 clinical hours per 

year during at least two of the five years 

preceding the date of application; and 

(3) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

commission of any act set out in G.S. 90-

113.46A, any disciplinary actions, 

investigations, malpractice claims, state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, 

settlements, or criminal charges. 

(b)  All information required shall be received by the Board office. 

(c)  All applicants shall submit to the Board an electronic copy of 

the applicant's fingerprints as described on the Board's website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.31A(14); 90-113.33; 90-

113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.46; 90-113.46A; 93B-15.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0228 SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER 

CREDENTIAL BY ENDORSEMENT OR RECIPROCITY 

BASED ON STATUS AS MILITARY SPOUSE 

(a)  Applicants for a substance use disorder credential by 

endorsement or reciprocity based on their status as a military 

spouse shall have their training honored automatically pursuant to 

the standards of the International Certification and Reciprocity 

Consortium (IC&RC). Applicants shall apply for a credential by 

using the Board's credentialing software, Learning Builder, and 

submit to the Board: 

(1) a reciprocity application form prescribed by the 

IC&RC and provided by the Board as found at 

its website: http://www.ncsappb.org that shall 

be found accompanying the reciprocity 

information on the website; 

(2) written evidence demonstrating that the 

applicant is married to an active member of the 

U.S. military and that such applicant: 

(A) holds a current substance use disorder 

credential from another jurisdiction 

whose standards for the credential are 
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substantially equivalent to or greater 

than those required for the credential 

described in G.S. 90, Article 5C, this 

Chapter, and is the subject of the 

application; and 

(B) has engaged in practice as a substance 

use disorder professional 

demonstrating the scope of practice as 

defined by G.S. 90-113.31B for at 

least 1,500 hours per year during at 

least two of the five years preceding 

the date of application; and 

(3) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

commission of an act set out in G.S. 90-

113.46A, any disciplinary actions, 

investigations, malpractice claims, state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, 

settlements, or criminal charges. 

(b)  All information required shall be received by the Board office. 

(c)  All applicants shall submit to the Board an electronic copy of 

the applicant's fingerprints as described on the Board's website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.31A(14); 90-113.31B; 

90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.46; 90-113.46A; 93B-

15.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0708 TYPES OF INTERVENTION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-

113.40; 

Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission January 21, 2020 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Garth Dunklin 
Randy Overton  

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 January 21, 2021              February 18, 2021 
   March 18, 2021 April 15, 2021 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, JANUARY 21, 2021 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Board of Agriculture – 02 NCAC 61 .0112 (May) 
B. Environmental Management Commission – 15A NCAC 02I .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0203, 

.0301, .0302, .0402, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0601, .0602, and .0603 (May) 
C. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06B .0114 (Snyder)   
D. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06D .0307, .0308, .0311; 06E .0204, .0206; 06G .0508 (Snyder)   
E. State Board of Education – 16 NCAC 06D .0309 (Snyder) 
F. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 02E .0204, .0206, .0225 (May) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between November 23, 2020 through December 21, 
2020 

• Child Care Commission (May) 

• DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation (Reeder) 

• Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (Reeder) 

• Department of Public Safety (Reeder) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (Reeder) 

• Marine Fisheries Commission (Reeder) 

• Department of The Secretary of State (Reeder) 

• Board of Barber Examiners (Reeder) 

• Medical Board (Reeder) 

• Board of Pharmacy (Snyder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  
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VII. Review of the 2021 State Medical Facilities Plan  

VIII. Commission Business 

• Style Guide Review  

• Next meeting: Thursday, February 18, 2021 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

November 23, 2020 through December 21, 2020 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are child care rules and include definitions (.0100); general provisions related to licensing (.0200); 
procedures for obtaining a license (.0300); issuance of provisional and temporary licenses (.0400); age and 
developmentally appropriate environments for centers (.0500); safety requirements for child care centers (.0600); staff 
qualifications (.0700); health standards for children (.0800); nutrition standards (.0900); transportation standards 
(.1000); continuing education and professional development (.1100); building code requirements for child care centers 
(.1300); space requirements (.1400); temporary care requirements (.1500); family child care home requirements (.1700); 
discipline (.1800); special procedures concerning abuse/neglect in child care (.1900); rulemaking and contested case 
procedures (.2000); religious-sponsored child care center requirements (.2100); administrative actions and civil 
penalties (.2200); forms (.2300); child care for mildly ill children (.2400); care for school-age children (.2500); child care 
for children who are medically fragile (.2600); criminal records checks (.2700); voluntary rated licenses (.2800); 
developmental day services (.2900); NC pre-kindergarten services (.3000); and care for school-age children during 
state of emergency(.3100). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0102 

Application for a License for a Child Care Facility 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0302 

Temporary Licenses for Centers 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0403 

Safe Environment 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0601 

Safe Sleep Practices 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0606 

Emergency Preparedness and Response in Child Care Centers 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0607 

Health Standards for Child Care Providers, Substitute Pro... 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0701 

Staff/Child Ratios for Centers 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0713 

Application for Enrollment 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0801 

Emergency Medical Care 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0802 

On-Going Training and Professional Development 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1103 

Documentation of On-Going Training and Professional Devel... 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1106 

Outdoor Space 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1402 

Activities Involving Water in Child Care Centers 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1403 

Application for a License for a Family Child Care Home  10A NCAC 09 .1702 
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Amend* 

On-Going Requirements for Family Child Care Home Operators 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1703 

Nutrition Standards 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1706 

Building Requirements 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1707 

Emergency Preparedness and Response 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1714 

Requirements for Daily Operations 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1718 

Requirements for Records 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1721 

Safe Sleep Practices 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1724 

Additional Caregiver and Substitute Provider Qualifications 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1729 

Activities Involving Water 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1730 

Provisional Child Care Facility License or Provisional No... 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2204 

Suspension 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2206 

Revocation of a Child Care Facility License or an Order t... 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2209 

Child Care Center Records Retention 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2318 

Staff Qualifications 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2408 

Children's Activities 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2410 

Activities: Off-Premises 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2509 

Criminal History Record Check Requirements for Child Care... 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2703 

Enhanced Space Requirements 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2809 

Enhanced Program Standards for Child Care Centers 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2817 

Staff Qualifications 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2903 

NC Pre-K Teacher Education, Licensure and Credentials 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 09 .3012 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14E concern certifications of Clinics for Abortion including certification procedure (.0100); 
minimum standards for construction and equipment (.0200); governing authority (.0300); and medical staff (.0400). 

Approval 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14E .0105 

Medications and Anesthesia 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14E .0312 
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Food Service 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14E .0316 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 15A concern organization rules: policies and procedures including general provisions (.0100); 
structure (.0200); publications, records, copies (.0300); rule-making (.0400); emergency rules (.0500); declaratory 
rulings (.0600); personnel policies: commission (.0700); adjudication: contested cases (.0800); fiscal rules for local 
boards (.0900); local abc board: personnel policies (.1000); local abc boards: relationship with state commission (.1100); 
openings and discontinuance of stores (.1200); storage and distribution of spirituous liquors: commercial transportation 
(.1300); purchase of alcoholic beverages by local boards (.1400); pricing of spirituous liquor (.1500); warehouse storage 
of spirituous liquors (.1600); retail sales of alcoholic beverages (.1700); purchase transportation permits for individuals 
and mixed beverages permittees (.1800); sales of liquor to mixed beverages permittees (.1900); local board training 
(.2000); distillery permit holders' sale of spirituous liquor distilled on premises to visitors of the distillery for consumption 
off the premises (.2100); special one-time permits (.2200); and homemade wine and malt beverage events (.2300). 

Direct Shipments 
Amend* 

 
14B NCAC 15A .1304 

Transportation Between ABC Boards 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 15A .1305 

Special Orders 
Amend* 

 
14B NCAC 15A .1403 

Purchase-Transportation Permits 
Repeal* 

 
14B NCAC 15A .1706 

Purchase-Transportation Permits for Wine and Liquor 
Amend* 

 
14B NCAC 15A .1801 

Distillery Record-Keeping 
Repeal* 

 
14B NCAC 15A .2103 

Distillery Issued Purchase-Transportation Permits 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 15A .2104 

The rules in Subchapter 15C concern industry members, retail/industry member relationships, ship chandlers, air 
carriers, and fuel alcohol including definitions and application procedures (.0100); product approvals, listing procedures 
and product lists (.0200); packaging and labeling of malt beverages and wine (.0300); standards of identity for wine 
containers (.0400); general provisions for industry members (.0500); sales and deliveries of malt beverages and wine 
(.0600); alcoholic beverages, retailer/industry member relationship and trade practices (.0700); ships chandler's permit 
(.0800); distillers and representatives (.0900); air carriers (.1000); fuel alcohol permits (.1100); administrative action by 
commission (.1200); and special event permits (.1300).  

Sales and Purchase Restrictions: Records 
Amend* 

 
14B NCAC 15C .0602 

Malt Beverage and Wine Shipments to Military Bases 
Amend* 

 
14B NCAC 15C .0607 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 19 concern the statewide sexual assault evidence collection kit tracking system.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 19A concern general provisions. 

Scope 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19A .0101 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19A .0102 

System Administrator Designation 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19A .0103 
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Covered Entity System Access; Local Administrators 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19A .0104 

The rules in Subchapter 19B concern covered entity tracking requirements. 

System Compatibility for Kits 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19B .0101 

Medical Service Providers 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19B .0102 

Law Enforcement Agencies 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19B .0103 

Law Enforcement Support Services 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19B .0104 

Forensic Laboratories 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19B .0105 

Previously Untested Kits 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19B .0106 

Victim Notification for Kits Collected Prior to October 1... 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19B .0107 

The rules in Subchapter 19C concern compliance and sanctions. 

Compliance and Sanctions 
Adopt* 

 
14B NCAC 19C .0101 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and 
water safety.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), and tagging furs (.0400). 

Sale of Live Foxes and Coyotes to Controlled Fox Hunting ... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 10B .0409 

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Clay County 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 10F .0308 

Stanly County 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 10F .0317 

Burke County 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 10F .0323 

The rules in Subchapter 10H concern activities regulated by the Commission including controlled hunting preserves for 
domestically raised game birds (.0100), holding wildlife in captivity (.0300), commercial trout ponds (.0400), fish 
propagation (.0700), falconry (.0800), game bird propagators (.0900), taxidermy (.1000), furbearer propagation (.1100), 
controlled fox hunting preserves (.1200), and reptiles and amphibians (.1300). 

Definitions and General Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1201 

Establishment and Operation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1202 

Quality of Foxes and Coyotes Released  15A NCAC 10H .1203 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Records Required 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1204 

Hunting License Required 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1205 

Minimum Standards for Care of Foxes and Coyotes 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1206 

License Revocation and Enforcement 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1207 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water 
supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D). The rules in Subchapter 18A deal with sanitation and 
include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of 
shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants (.0600); depuration mechanical purification 
facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters (.0900); summer camps (.1000); grade A 
milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); mass gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities 
(.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water supplies (.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment 
and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed and breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to 
enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools (.2400); public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat 
markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); child day care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee 
collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); lead poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult 
day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and 
private drinking water well sampling (.3800).  

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .3401 

Bacteriological Limits for Swimming Areas 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .3402 

Public Notice of Increased Health Risks in Swimming Areas 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .3403 

Swimming Advisories for Point Source Discharges into Swim... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .3404 

Rescinding a Pending Swimming Advisory or Swimming Advisory 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .3405 

Destruction of Signs 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .3406 

Applicability of Rules 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .3407 

SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE 

The rules in Subchapter 6A concern recodified rules of the securities division including general provisions (.1100); 
exemptions (.1200); registration of securities (.1300); registration of dealers and salesmen (.1400); miscellaneous 
provisions (.1500); registration of investment advisers and investment adviser representatives (.1700); miscellaneous 
provisions - investment advisers (.1800); invest NC exemption (crowdfunding); (.2000); and rules for local public 
offerings (LPO) (.2100). 

Sunset Provision 
Amend* 

 
18 NCAC 06A .2120 
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BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 06F concern barber schools. 

Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 06F .0128 

The rules in Subchapter 6N establish fees and provide for the use of various forms.  

Form Bar-1 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0102 

Form Bar-10 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0111 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32S regulate physician assistants including physician assistant registration (.0200). 

Prescriptive Authority 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32S .0212 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other health 
facilities (.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs dispensed by 
nurse and physician assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions (.2000); elections 
(.2100); continuing education (.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in health departments 
(.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700); compounding (.2800); product 
selection (.2900); disposal of unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner (.3100); impaired pharmacist peer 
review program (.3200); and registry of pharmacist technicians (.3300). 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .1819 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

Don Overby    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

J. Randall May    Tenisha Jacobs 

David Sutton    Michael Byrne 

Selina Malherbe    Karlene Turrentine 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 BLC 00366 9/28/2020 North Carolina 

Landscape 

Contractors 

Licensing Board  

v. Jason Lee Atkins and Natural Choice 

Contracting LLC f/k/a ALM 

Contracting LLC 

Ward 

        

20 CTY 00292 9/18/2020 Mohamad 

Kodaimati  

v. Town of Mint Hill Malherbe 

        

19 DOJ 05371 9/22/2020; 

9/23/2020 

William Donald 

Britt  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 06179 9/11/2020 Donald Ray 

McGlamery  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

19 DOJ 06469 9/11/2020 Paul J Eagle v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

May 

19 DOJ 06638 9/23/2020 Scott McCoy  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 06927 9/14/2020 Jacqueline Deneen 

Coefield  

v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Ward 

20 DOJ 00518 9/9/2020 Alicia Micole Smith  v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DOJ 00742 9/10/2020 David Scott Sutton 

Jr.  

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DOJ 02155 9/16/2020 William Thomas 

Whiting  

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

20 OSP 01463 9/28/2020 Velma Sharpe-

Johnson  

v. NC Department of Public Instruction 

Eastern North Carolina School for the 

Deaf 

Culpepper 

        



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

35:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 4, 2021 

1522 

    Unpublished    

        

20 ABC 02585 9/14/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Vinayak Stores Inc T/A Triangle Food 

Mart 

May 

        

20 CPS 01750 9/1/2020 Tawanda S 

McKinney  

v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Mann 

20 CPS 01834 9/9/2020 Clotene 

Freeman(for 

Husband) Michael 

Freeman  

v. Department of Public Safety Victims 

Services 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CPS 02330 9/15/2020 Russell C Rowe  v. NC Department of Public Safety Victim 

Services 

Overby 

        

19 CSE 05959 9/15/2020 Alvin V Brookins  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06118 9/15/2020 Jason Addams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06583 9/23/2020 Lamont Fagan  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

20 CSE 00323 9/2/2020 Douglas A Gibson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

20 CSE 01804 9/16/2020 Christopher R 

Santana  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 01833 9/10/2020 Jonathan F Hall  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

20 CSE 01911 9/8/2020 Teresa Myers  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

20 CSE 02071 9/14/2020 Chris Newman  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Mann 

20 CSE 02102 9/22/2020 Reginald J Lise  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 02348 9/15/2020 Frank J Rush  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 02369 9/15/2020 Olis Ray Bryant  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 02409 9/4/2020 Corshaun Williams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 02603 9/17/2020 Leonardo Chavez  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 02835 9/23/2020 Joe Nathan Sikes II  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 
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20 CSE 02991 9/23/2020 James M Redmond  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DCS 06464 9/21/2020 Crystal M 

Humphrey  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

        

19 DHR 06737 7/29/2020; 

9/1/2020 

Kenesha Lofton  v. NC Department of Health Human 

Services 

Jacobs; 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 02051 9/25/2020 Christopher Hilliard  v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Byrne 

20 DHR 02368 9/15/2020 Renee J Williams  v. NC Dept of Health and Human Serv Div 

of Child Development and Early Ed 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 02386 9/11/2020 Tyra Whitaker  v. NCDON (OAH) Lassiter 

20 DHR 02583 9/4/2020 Theddies Lewis 

Butler/Butler's Day 

Care Center  

v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 02628 9/10/2020 Kingshuk Roy 

Choudhury  

v. Orange County Board of County 

Commissioners 

Jacobs 

20 DHR 02916 9/23/2020 Micah Glenn Smith 

Sr  

v. DHHS Lassiter 

        

20 DOT 01985 9/1/2020 Trent Demond 

Bellamy  

v. NC Department of Transportation Mann 

        

20 EDC 02795 9/11/2020 Kinetic Minds Inc 

and Kinetic Minds 

Inspire LLC 

v. NC Department of Public Instruction Byrne 

        

20 INS 01520 9/4/2020 Mary Elizabeth 

Franklin Tanner  

v. North Carolina State Health Plan Overby 

20 INS 01658 9/15/2020 Lisa Bass  v. North Carolina State Health Plan Overby 

        

20 MIS 01515 5/26/2020; 

9/4/2020 

Demetrius Marwin 

Holder  

v. Gaston County Sheriff's Dept Gaston 

County Police Department Gaston 

County Clerk of Superior Court 

Malherbe 

        

19 OSP 06219 9/3/2020 Lailtrice Graham 

Biteye  

v. Guilford County Department of Health 

and Human Services CWS 

May 

20 OSP 00418 9/18/2020 Laquannah N Hester  v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Culpepper 

        

20 SOS 00931 9/1/2020 Raleigh Police 

Memorial 

Foundation Inc  

v. NC Department of the Secretary of 

State, Charitable Solicitation Licensing 

Division 

Mann 

        

20 UNC 01561 9/1/2020 Lyndon Melvin 

Whitfield  

v. UNC Health Care Collections Mann 

 

 




