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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Wildlife Resources Commission 

Rescheduled Public Hearings 

 

In the abundance of caution, to address protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, the NC Wildlife Resources 

Commission is providing notice of the cancelation of public hearings noticed in the December 1, 2020 NC Register (35:11; p. 

1110).  As a result, a virtual public hearing has been scheduled and will be conducted as follows: 

 

Date: January 21, 2021  

Time: 6:30 pm  

Location: Register in advance for this webinar:  https://ncwildlife.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_jef8D745QLmI6b-b81hy8Q or 

join by phone toll free (877-853-5247 or 888-788- 0099) using Webinar ID: 938 2215 0018 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission 

intends to amend the rule cited as 10A NCAC 13F .0406, readopt 

with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13F .0403; 

13G .0402, .0403, and readopt without substantive changes the 

rule cited as 10A NCAC 13G .0405. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 2, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Being held by teleconference call using the following: 

Telephone number: 1-877-848-7030; Access code: 5133201 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapters 10A NCAC 13F, Licensing 

of Adult Care Homes of Seven or More Beds, and 10A NCAC 13G, 

Licensing of Family Care Homes, 4 proposed readoption rules 

were part of the 97 total rules determined as “Necessary With 

Substantive Public Interest,” requiring readoption. With input 

from stakeholders, substantive changes are proposed to three 

rules for readoption, one rule is proposed without substantive 

changes for readoption, and one rule is proposed for amendment 

for the regulation of licensed Adult Care Homes and Family Care 

Homes in N.C. An additional intent of the proposed rules is to 

make the rules of these two types of assisted living residences 

comparable, if not the same, for regulatory efficiency since they 

both house the same type of residents as permitted by law. 

 

These proposed rules update and clarify the qualifications by 

statutory reference of adult care home and family care home staff 

who pass medications that include medication aides and their 

direct supervisors, and by the deletion of unnecessary 

requirements. The rules update the qualifications of the family 

care home Supervisor-In-Charge by the deletion of unnecessary 

requirements and the addition of a minimum age requirement. 

The proposed rules clarify the procedure for the adult care home 

and family care home Tuberculosis test and update the method for 

accessing referenced rules in those rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13F – LICENSING OF ADULT CARE 

HOMES OF SEVEN OR MORE BEDS 

 

SECTION .0400 - STAFF QUALIFICATIONS 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0403 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

MEDICATION STAFF 

(a)  Adult care home staff who administer medications, hereafter 

referred to as medication aides, and staff who directly supervise 

the administration of medications their direct supervisors shall 

have documentation of successfully completing the clinical skills 

validation portion of the competency evaluation according to 

Paragraphs (d) and (e) of Rule 10A NCAC 13F .0503 prior to the 

administration or supervision of the administration of 

medications. complete training, clinical skills validation, and pass 

the written examination as set forth in G.S. 131D-4.5B. 
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(b)  Medication aides and their direct supervisors, except persons 

authorized by state occupational licensure laws to administer 

medications, shall successfully pass the written examination 

within 90 days after successful completion of the clinical skills 

validation portion of a competency evaluation according to Rule 

.0503 of this Section. 

(c)(b)  Medication aides and staff who directly supervise the 

administration of medications, their direct supervisors, except 

persons authorized by state occupational licensure laws to 

administer medications, shall complete six hours of continuing 

education annually related to medication administration. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 131D-4.5B; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0406 TEST FOR TUBERCULOSIS 

(a)  Upon employment or living in an adult care home, the 

administrator and administrator, all other staff staff, and any live-

in non-residents persons living in the adult care home shall be 

tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with control 

measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as 

specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 .0205, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of the rule are available at no 

charge by contacting the Department of Health and Human 

Services Tuberculosis Control Program, 1902 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1902. may be accessed at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no charge. 

(b)  There shall be documentation on file in the adult care home 

that the administrator, all other staff staff, and any live-in non-

residents persons living in the adult care home are free of 

tuberculosis disease that poses a direct threat to the health or 

safety of others. disease. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13G – LICENSING OF FAMILY CARE 

HOMES 

 

SECTION .0400 – STAFF QUALIFICATIONS 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0402 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

SUPERVISOR-IN-CHARGE 

The supervisor-in-charge supervisor-in-charge, who is 

responsible to the administrator for carrying out the program in 

the a family care home in the absence of the administrator. All of 

administrator, shall meet the following requirements must be met: 

requirements: 

(1) The applicant must complete the Application 

for Supervisor-in-Charge (DSS-1862); 

(1) be 21 years or older, employed on or after the 

effective date of this Rule; 

(2) The qualifications of the administrator and 

co-administrator referenced in Paragraphs (2), 

(5), (6), and (7) of Rule .0401 of this Subchapter 

shall apply to the supervisor-in-charge. The 

supervisor-in-charge the supervisor-in-charge, 

(employed employed on or after August 1, 

1991) must meet a minimum educational 

requirement by being at least 1991, shall be a 

high school graduate or certified under the GED 

Program or by passing an alternative 

examination established by the Department of 

Health and Human Services. Documentation 

that these qualifications have been met must be 

on file in the home prior to employing the 

supervisor-in-charge; Program or passed the 

alternative examination established by the 

Department of Health and Human Services 

prior to the effective date of this Rule; and 

(3) The supervisor-in-charge must be willing to 

work with bonafide inspectors and the 

monitoring and licensing agencies toward 

meeting and maintaining the rules of this 

Subchapter and other legal requirements; 

(4)(3) The supervisor-in-charge must verify that he 

earns earn 12 hours a year of continuing 

education credits related to the management of 

domiciliary adult care homes and care of aged 

and disabled persons in accordance with 

procedures established by the Department of 

Health and Human Services; persons. 

(5) When there is a break in employment as a 

supervisor-in-charge of one year or less, the 

educational qualification under which the 

person was last employed will apply. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0403 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

MEDICATION STAFF 

(a)  Family care home staff who administer medications, hereafter 

referred to as medication aides, and staff who directly supervise 

the administration of medications their direct supervisors shall 

have documentation of successfully completing the clinical skills 

validation portion of the competency evaluation according to 

Paragraphs (d) and (e) of Rule .0503 of this Subchapter prior to 

the administration or supervision of the administration of 

medications. complete training, clinical skills validation, and pass 

the written examination as set forth in, G.S. 131D-4.5B. Persons 

authorized by state occupational licensure laws to administer 

medications are exempt from this requirement. 

(b)  Medication aides and their direct supervisors, except persons 

authorized by state occupational licensure laws to administer 

medications, shall successfully pass the written examination 

within 90 days after successful completion of the clinical skills 

validation portion of a competency evaluation according to Rule 

.0503 of this Subchapter. 

(c)(b)  Medication aides and staff who directly supervise the 

administration of medications, their direct supervisors, except 

persons authorized by state occupational licensure laws to 

administer medications, shall complete six hours of continuing 

education annually related to medication administration. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 131D-4.5B; 143B- 165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0405 TEST FOR TUBERCULOSIS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Care Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 10A 

NCAC 13P .0101, .0102, .0222, .0501, .0502, .0504, .0507, .0508, 

.0510, .0512, .0601, .0602, .0904, .0905, .1101, .1401, .1403-

.1405, .1505, .1507 and .1511. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 8, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Being held by teleconference using the following: 

Telephone number: 1-877-848-7030; Access code: 5133201 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The N.C. Medical Care 

Commission is proposing amendments to 22 rules in the 

Emergency Medical Services and Trauma rules in 10A NCAC 13P 

to reflect the changes needed to update obsolete or unnecessary 

standards, clarify ambiguous language, incorporate changes in 

healthcare delivery models, recognize new technologies, and to 

provide all regulated entities and the public the most efficient and 

effective structure for services regulated for emergency medical 

and trauma systems. 

The proposed rules address definition and abbreviation revisions 

throughout the rules, clarify the permitted vehicle exemption of 

persons transported in wheeled chair devices, reflect a proposed 

change to statutory language and are being amended for 

technical changes and corrections.  

The proposed EMS personnel rules strengthen academic EMS 

programs for Advanced Emergency Medical Technician and 

Paramedic credentialing and strengthen the EMS workforce to 

enhance safety of the public.  These proposed rules amend the 

criteria for initial credentialing to comply with the accreditation 

requirements for the Commission on Accreditation of Allied 

Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).  The proposed rules 

more clearly define the breakdown of the 96 hours of EMS 

instruction for Level I and Level II EMS instructor renewal.  In 

addition, these proposed rules insure the safety of the public and 

maintain appropriate knowledge and skills of individuals for 

reinstatement of a lapsed EMS credential. 

The proposed rules clarify and update the designation for 

continuing education EMS educational programs and strengthen 

educational programs as well as the roles and responsibilities of 

the educational institution oversight staff. 

The proposed rules more accurately reflect the comprehensive 

criteria defined by the American College of Surgeons (ASC) for 

hospital trauma center designation and reflect a more accurate, 

efficient process for state trauma system annual membership and 

updates. 

The proposed rules more accurately define the Chemical 

Addiction or Abuse Recovery Program as well as enhance the 

efficiency of the process for determining an individual to return 

to restricted practice.  

The proposed rules update and clarify the enforcement action 

taken against an EMS educational institution’s designation in 

cases of significant failure to comply with education rules, add 

behavioral violations of EMS personnel resulting in investigation 

by the OEMS and potential appearance before the Emergency 

Medical Services Disciplinary Committee, and add a requirement 

for OEMS notification for any violation. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13P – EMERGENCY MEDICAL 

SERVICES AND TRAUMA RULES  

 

SECTION .0100 – DEFINITIONS 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0101 ABBREVIATIONS 

As used in this Subchapter, the following abbreviations mean: 

(1) ACS: American College of Surgeons; 

(2) AEMT: Advanced Emergency Medical 

Technician; 

(3) AHA: American Heart Association; 

(4) ASTM: American Society for Testing and 

Materials; 

(5) CAAHEP: Commission on Accreditation of 

Allied Health Education Programs; 

(6) CPR: Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation; 

(7) ED: Emergency Department; 

(8) EMD: Emergency Medical Dispatcher; 
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(9) EMR: Emergency Medical Responder; 

(10) EMS: Emergency Medical Services; 

(11) EMS-NP: EMS Nurse Practitioner; 

(12) EMS-PA: EMS Physician Assistant; 

(13) EMT: Emergency Medical Technician; 

(14) FAA: Federal Aviation Administration; 

(15) FAR: Federal Aviation Regulation; 

(16)(15) FCC: Federal Communications Commission; 

(17) GCS: Glasgow Coma Scale; 

(18)(16) ICD: International Classification of Diseases; 

(19)(17) ISS: Injury Severity Score; 

(20) ICU: Intensive Care Unit; 

(21) IV: Intravenous; 

(22) LPN: Licensed Practical Nurse; 

(23)(18) MICN: Mobile Intensive Care Nurse; 

(24)(19) NHTSA: National Highway Traffic Safety 

Administration; 

(25)(20) OEMS: Office of Emergency Medical Services; 

(26)(21) OR: Operating Room; 

(27)(22) PSAP: Public Safety Answering Point; 

(28)(23) RAC: Regional Advisory Committee; 

(29)(24) RFP: Request For Proposal; 

(30) RN: Registered Nurse; 

(31)(25) SCTP: Specialty Care Transport Program; 

(32)(26) SMARTT: State Medical Asset and Resource 

Tracking Tool; 

(33)(27) STEMI: ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction; 

and 

(34) TR: Trauma Registrar; 

(35) TPM: Trauma Program Manager; and 

(36)(28) US DOT: United States Department of 

Transportation. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-508(b). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0102 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions in G.S. 131E-155, the following 

definitions apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Affiliated EMS Provider" means the firm, 

corporation, agency, organization, or 

association identified with a specific county 

EMS system as a condition for EMS Provider 

Licensing as required by Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) "Affiliated Hospital" means a non-trauma 

center hospital that is owned by the Trauma 

Center or there is a contract or other agreement 

to allow for the acceptance or transfer of the 

Trauma Center's patient population to the non-

trauma center hospital. 

(3) "Affiliate" or "Affiliation" means a reciprocal 

agreement and association that includes active 

participation, collaboration, and involvement in 

a process or system between two or more 

parties. 

(4) "Alternative Practice Setting" means a practice 

setting that utilizes credentialed EMS personnel 

that may not be affiliated with or under the 

oversight of an EMS System or EMS System 

Medical Director. 

(5) "Air Medical Ambulance" means an aircraft 

configured and medically equipped to transport 

patients by air. The patient care compartment of 

air medical ambulances shall be staffed by 

medical crew members approved for the 

mission by the Medical Director. 

(6) "Air Medical Program" means a SCTP or EMS 

System utilizing rotary-wing or fixed-wing 

aircraft configured and operated to transport 

patients. 

(7) "Assistant Medical Director" means a 

physician, EMS-PA, or EMS-NP who assists 

the Medical Director with the medical aspects 

of the management of a practice setting 

utilizing credentialed EMS personnel or 

medical crew members. 

(8) "Bypass" means a decision made by the patient 

care technician to transport a patient from the 

scene of an accident or medical emergency past 

a receiving facility for the purposes of 

accessing a facility with a higher level of care, 

or a hospital of its own volition reroutes a 

patient from the scene of an accident or medical 

emergency or referring hospital to a facility 

with a higher level of care. 

(9) "Community Paramedicine" means an EMS 

System utilizing credentialed personnel who 

have received additional training as determined 

by the EMS system Medical Director to provide 

knowledge and skills for the community needs 

beyond the 911 emergency response and 

transport operating guidelines defined in the 

EMS system plan. 

(10) "Contingencies" mean conditions placed on a 

designation that, if unmet, may result in the loss 

or amendment of a designation. 

(11) "Convalescent Ambulance" means an 

ambulance used on a scheduled basis solely to 

transport patients having a known non-

emergency medical condition. Convalescent 

ambulances shall not be used in place of any 

other category of ambulance defined in this 

Subchapter. 

(12) "Deficiency" means the failure to meet essential 

criteria for a designation that can serve as the 

basis for a focused review or denial of a 

designation. 

(13) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(14) "Diversion" means the hospital is unable to 

accept a patient due to a lack of staffing or 

resources. 

(15) "Educational Medical Advisor" means the 

physician responsible for overseeing the 

medical aspects of approved EMS educational 

programs. 
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(16) "EMS Care" means all services provided within 

each EMS System by its affiliated EMS 

agencies and personnel that relate to the 

dispatch, response, treatment, and disposition 

of any patient. 

(17) "EMS Educational Institution" means any 

agency credentialed by the OEMS to offer EMS 

educational programs. 

(18) "EMS Non-Transporting Vehicle" means a 

motor vehicle operated by a licensed EMS 

provider dedicated and equipped to move 

medical equipment and EMS personnel 

functioning within the scope of practice of an 

AEMT or Paramedic to the scene of a request 

for assistance. EMS nontransporting vehicles 

shall not be used for the transportation of 

patients on the streets, highways, waterways, or 

airways of the state. 

(19) "EMS Peer Review Committee" means a 

committee as defined in G.S. 131E-155(6b). 

(20) "EMS Performance Improvement Self-

Tracking and Assessment of Targeted 

Statistics" means one or more reports generated 

from the State EMS data system analyzing the 

EMS service delivery, personnel performance, 

and patient care provided by an EMS system 

and its associated EMS agencies and personnel. 

Each EMS Performance Improvement Self-

Tracking and Assessment of Targeted Statistics 

focuses on a topic of care such as trauma, 

cardiac arrest, EMS response times, stroke, 

STEMI (heart attack), and pediatric care. 

(21) "EMS Provider" means those entities defined in 

G.S. 131E-155(13a) that hold a current license 

issued by the Department pursuant to G.S. 

131E-155.1. 

(22) "EMS System" means a coordinated 

arrangement of local resources under the 

authority of the county government (including 

all agencies, personnel, equipment, and 

facilities) organized to respond to medical 

emergencies and integrated with other health 

care providers and networks including public 

health, community health monitoring activities, 

and special needs populations. 

(23) "Essential Criteria" means those items that are 

the requirements for the respective level of 

trauma center designation (I, II, or III), as set 

forth in Rule .0901 of this Subchapter. 

(24) "Focused Review" means an evaluation by the 

OEMS of corrective actions to remove 

contingencies that are a result of deficiencies 

following a site visit. 

(25) "Ground Ambulance" means an ambulance 

used to transport patients with traumatic or 

medical conditions or patients for whom the 

need for specialty care, emergency, or non-

emergency medical care is anticipated either at 

the patient location or during transport. 

(26) "Hospital" means a licensed facility as defined 

in G.S. 131E-176 or an acute care in-patient 

diagnostic and treatment facility located within 

the State of North Carolina that is owned and 

operated by an agency of the United States 

government. 

(27) "Immediately Available" means the physical 

presence of the health professional or the 

hospital resource within the trauma center to 

evaluate and care for the trauma patient. 

(28)(27) "Inclusive Trauma System" means an 

organized, multi-disciplinary, evidence-based 

approach to provide quality care and to improve 

measurable outcomes for all defined injured 

patients. EMS, hospitals, other health systems, 

and clinicians shall participate in a structured 

manner through leadership, advocacy, injury 

prevention, education, clinical care, 

performance improvement, and research 

resulting in integrated trauma care. 

(29)(28) "Infectious Disease Control Policy" means a 

written policy describing how the EMS system 

will protect and prevent its patients and EMS 

professionals from exposure and illness 

associated with contagions and infectious 

disease. 

(30)(29) "Lead RAC Agency" means the agency 

(comprised of one or more Level I or II trauma 

centers) that provides staff support and serves 

as the coordinating entity for trauma planning. 

(31)(30) "Level I Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

has the capability of providing guidance, 

research, and total care for every aspect of 

injury from prevention to rehabilitation. 

(32)(31) "Level II Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

provides trauma care regardless of the severity 

of the injury, but may lack the comprehensive 

care as a Level I trauma center, and does not 

have trauma research as a primary objective. 

(33)(32) "Level III Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

provides assessment, resuscitation, emergency 

operations, and stabilization, and arranges for 

hospital transfer as needed to a Level I or II 

trauma center. 

(34) "Licensed Health Care Facility" means any 

health care facility or hospital licensed by the 

Department of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Health Service Regulation. 

(35)(33) "Medical Crew Member" means EMS 

personnel or other health care professionals 

who are licensed or registered in North Carolina 

and are affiliated with a SCTP. 

(36)(34) "Medical Director" means the physician 

responsible for the medical aspects of the 

management of a practice setting utilizing 

credentialed EMS personnel or medical crew 

members, or a Trauma Center. 

(37)(35) "Medical Oversight" means the responsibility 

for the management and accountability of the 
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medical care aspects of a practice setting 

utilizing credentialed EMS personnel or 

medical crew members. Medical Oversight 

includes physician direction of the initial 

education and continuing education of EMS 

personnel or medical crew members; 

development and monitoring of both 

operational and treatment protocols; evaluation 

of the medical care rendered by EMS personnel 

or medical crew members; participation in 

system or program evaluation; and directing, by 

two-way voice communications, the medical 

care rendered by the EMS personnel or medical 

crew members. 

(38)(36) "Mobile Integrated Healthcare" means utilizing 

credentialed personnel who have received 

additional training as determined by the 

Alternative Practice Setting medical director to 

provide knowledge and skills for the healthcare 

provider program needs. 

(39) "Off-line Medical Control" means medical 

supervision provided through the EMS System 

Medical Director or SCTP Medical Director 

who is responsible for the day-to-day medical 

care provided by EMS personnel. This includes 

EMS personnel education, protocol 

development, quality management, peer review 

activities, and EMS administrative 

responsibilities related to assurance of quality 

medical care. 

(40)(37) "Office of Emergency Medical Services" 

means a section of the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services 

located at 1201 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27603. 

(41)(38) "On-line Medical Control" means the medical 

supervision or oversight provided to EMS 

personnel through direct communication in-

person, via radio, cellular phone, or other 

communication device during the time the 

patient is under the care of an EMS 

professional. 

(42)(39) "Operational Protocols" means the 

administrative policies and procedures of an 

EMS System or that provide guidance for the 

day-to-day operation of the system. 

(43) "Participating Hospital" means a hospital that 

supplements care within a larger trauma system 

by the initial evaluation and assessment of 

injured patients for transfer to a designated 

trauma center if needed. 

(44)(40) "Physician" means a medical or osteopathic 

doctor licensed by the North Carolina Medical 

Board to practice medicine in the state of North 

Carolina. 

(45)(41) "Regional Advisory Committee" means a 

committee comprised of a lead RAC agency 

and a group representing trauma care providers 

and the community, for the purpose of regional 

planning, establishing, and maintaining a 

coordinated trauma system. 

(46)(42) "Request for Proposal" means a State document 

that must be completed by each hospital 

seeking initial or renewal trauma center 

designation. 

(47)(43) "Significant Failure to Comply" means a degree 

of non-compliance determined by the OEMS 

during compliance monitoring to exceed the 

ability of the local EMS System to correct, 

warranting enforcement action pursuant to 

Section .1500 of this Subchapter. 

(48)(44) "State Medical Asset and Resource Tracking 

Tool" means the Internet web-based program 

used by the OEMS both in its daily operations 

and during times of disaster to identify, record, 

and monitor EMS, hospital, health care, and 

sheltering resources statewide, including 

facilities, personnel, vehicles, equipment, and 

pharmaceutical and supply caches. 

(49)(45) "Specialty Care Transport Program" means a 

program designed and operated for the 

transportation of a patient by ground or air 

requiring specialized interventions, monitoring, 

and staffing by a paramedic who has received 

additional training as determined by the 

program Medical Director beyond the 

minimum training prescribed by the OEMS, or 

by one or more other healthcare professional(s) 

qualified for the provision of specialized care 

based on the patient's condition. 

(50)(46) "Specialty Care Transport Program Continuing 

Education Coordinator" means a Level I Level 

II EMS Instructor within a SCTP who is 

responsible for the coordination of EMS 

continuing education programs for EMS 

personnel within the program. 

(51)(47) "Stretcher" means any wheeled or portable 

device capable of transporting a person in a 

recumbent position and may only be used in an 

ambulance vehicle permitted by the 

Department. 

(52)(48) "Stroke" means an acute cerebrovascular 

hemorrhage or occlusion resulting in a 

neurologic deficit. 

(53)(49) "System Continuing Education Coordinator" 

means the Level I Level II EMS Instructor 

designated by the local EMS System who is 

responsible for the coordination of EMS 

continuing education programs. 

(54)(50) "System Data" means all information required 

for daily electronic submission to the OEMS by 

all EMS Systems using the EMS data set, data 

dictionary, and file format as specified in 

"North Carolina College of Emergency 

Physicians: Standards for Medical Oversight 

and Data Collection," incorporated herein by 

reference including subsequent amendments 
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and editions. This document is available from 

the OEMS, 2707 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27699- 2707, at no cost and 

online at www.ncems.org at no cost. 

(55)(51) "Trauma Center" means a hospital designated 

by the State of North Carolina and 

distinguished by its ability to manage, on a 24-

hour basis, the severely injured patient or those 

at risk for severe injury. 

(56) "Trauma Center Criteria" means essential 

criteria to define Level I, II, or III trauma 

centers. 

(57) "Trauma Center Designation" means a process 

of approval in which a hospital voluntarily 

seeks to have its trauma care capabilities and 

performance evaluated by experienced on-site 

reviewers. 

(58) "Trauma Diversion" means a trauma center of 

its own volition declines to accept an acutely 

injured patient due to a lack of staffing or 

resources. 

(59) "Trauma Guidelines" mean standards for 

practice in a variety of situations within the 

trauma system. 

(60) "Trauma Minimum Data Set" means the basic 

data required of all hospitals for submission to 

the Trauma Registry. 

(61)(52) "Trauma Patient" means any patient with an 

ICD-CM discharge diagnosis as defined in the 

"North Carolina Trauma Registry Data 

Dictionary," incorporated herein by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

This document is available from the OEMS, 

2707 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27699-2707, at no cost and online at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/EMS/trauma/trau

maregistry.html at no cost. 

(62)(53) "Trauma Program" means an administrative 

entity that includes the trauma service and 

coordinates other trauma-related activities. It 

shall also include the trauma Medical Director, 

trauma program manager/trauma coordinator, 

and trauma registrar. This program's reporting 

structure shall give it the ability to interact with 

at least equal authority with other departments 

in the hospital providing patient care. 

(63)(54) "Trauma Registry" means a disease-specific 

data collection composed of a file of uniform 

data elements that describe the injury event, 

demographics, pre-hospital information, 

diagnosis, care, outcomes, and costs of 

treatment for injured patients collected and 

electronically submitted as defined by the 

OEMS. The elements of the Trauma Registry 

can be accessed at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/EMS/trauma/trau

maregistry.html at no cost. 

(64)(55) "Treatment Protocols" means a document 

approved by the Medical Directors of the local 

EMS System, Specialty Care Transport 

Program, Alternative Practice Setting, or 

Trauma Center and the OEMS specifying the 

diagnostic procedures, treatment procedures, 

medication administration, and patient-care-

related policies that shall be completed by EMS 

personnel or medical crew members based upon 

the assessment of a patient. 

(65)(56) "Triage" means the assessment and 

categorization of a patient to determine the 

level of EMS and healthcare facility based care 

required. 

(66)(57) "Water Ambulance" means a watercraft 

specifically configured and medically equipped 

to transport patients. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-155(6b); 131E-162; 143-508(b), 143-

508(d)(1); 143-508(d)(2); 143- 508(d)(3); 143-508(d)(4); 143-

508(d)(5); 143-508(d)(6); 143-508(d)(7); 143-508(d)(8); 143- 

508(d)(13); 143-518(a)(5). 

 

SECTION .0200 – EMS SYSTEMS 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0222 TRANSPORT OF STRETCHER 

BOUND PATIENTS 

(a)  Any person transported on a stretcher as defined in Rule .0102 

of this Subchapter meets the definition of patient as defined in 

G.S. 131E-155(16). 

(b)  Stretchers may only be utilized for patient transport in an 

ambulance permitted by the OEMS in accordance with G.S. 

131E-156 and Rule .0211 of this Section. 

(c)  The Medical Care Commission exempts wheeled chair 

devices used solely for the transportation of mobility impaired 

persons seated in an upright position in non-permitted vehicles 

from the definition of stretcher. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-156; 131E-157; 143-508(d)(8). 

 

SECTION .0500 – EMS PERSONNEL 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0501 EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS 

(a)  EMS educational programs that qualify credentialed EMS 

personnel to perform within their scope of practice shall be 

offered by an EMS educational institution as set forth in Section 

.0600 of this Subchapter, or by an EMS educational institution in 

another state where the education and credentialing requirements 

have been approved for legal recognition by the Department 

pursuant to G.S. 131E-159 as determined using the professional 

judgment of OEMS staff following comparison of out-of-state 

standards with the program standards set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Educational programs approved to qualify EMS personnel for 

credentialing shall meet the educational content of the "US DOT 

NHTSA National EMS Education Standards," which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. This document is available online at no cost at 

www.ems.gov/education.html. 

(c)  Educational programs approved to qualify EMS personnel for 

AEMT and Paramedic credentialing shall meet the requirements 

of Paragraph (b) of this Rule and possess verification of 
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accreditation or a valid letter of review from the Commission on 

Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) 

or other accrediting agency determined using the professional 

judgment of OEMS staff following a comparison of standards. 

(c)(d)  Educational programs approved to qualify EMD personnel 

for credentialing shall conform with the "ASTM F1258 – 

95(2006): F1258 – 95(2014): Standard Practice for Emergency 

Medical 'Dispatch" Dispatch" incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. This document is available 

from ASTM International, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, PO Box C700, 

West Conshohocken, PA, 19428-2959 USA, at a cost of forty 

eight dollars ($40.00)($48.00) per copy. 

(d)(e)  Instructional methodology courses approved to qualify 

Level I EMS instructors shall conform with the "US DOT 

NHTSA 2002 National Guidelines for Educating EMS 

Instructors" incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and additions. This document is available online at 

no cost at www.ems.gov/education.html. 

(e)(f)  Continuing educational programs approved by the OEMS 

to qualify EMS personnel for renewal of credentials shall be 

approved by demonstrating the ability to assess cognitive 

competency in the skills and medications for the level of 

application as defined by the North Carolina Medical Board 

pursuant to G.S. 143-514. 

(f)(g)  Refresher courses shall comply with the requirements 

defined in Rule .0513 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(3); 143-508(d)(4); 143-514. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0502 INITIAL CREDENTIALING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR EMR, EMT, AEMT, 

PARAMEDIC, AND EMD 

(a)  In order to be credentialed by the OEMS as an EMR, EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic, individuals shall: 

(1) be Be at least 18 years of age. An examination 

may be taken at age 17; however, the EMS 

credential shall not be issued until the applicant 

has reached the age of 18. 

(2) complete Complete an approved educational 

program as set forth in Rule .0501(b) .0501 of 

this Section for their level of application. 

(3) complete Complete a scope of practice 

performance evaluation that uses performance 

measures based on the cognitive, psychomotor, 

and affective educational objectives set forth in 

Rule .0501(b) .0501 of this Section and that is 

consistent with their level of application, and 

approved by the OEMS. This scope of practice 

evaluation shall be completed no more than one 

year prior to examination. This evaluation shall 

be conducted by a Level I or Level II EMS 

Instructor credentialed at or above the level of 

application or under the direction of the primary 

credentialed EMS instructor or educational 

medical advisor for the approved educational 

program. 

(4) within Within 90 days from their course graded 

date as reflected in the OEMS credentialing 

database, complete a written examination 

administered by the OEMS. If the applicant 

fails to register and complete a written 

examination within the 90 day 90-day period, 

the applicant shall obtain a letter of 

authorization to continue eligibility for testing 

from his or her EMS Educational Institution's 

program coordinator to qualify for an extension 

of the 90 day 90-day requirement set forth in 

this Paragraph. If the EMS Educational 

Institution's program coordinator declines to 

provide a letter of authorization, the applicant 

shall be disqualified from completing the 

credentialing process. Following a review of 

the applicant's specific circumstances, OEMS 

staff will determine, based on professional 

judgment, if the applicant qualifies for EMS 

credentialing eligibility. The OEMS shall 

notify the applicant in writing within 10 

business days of the decision. 

(A) a maximum of three attempts within 

nine six months shall be allowed. 

(B) if the individual fails to pass a written 

examination, the individual may 

continue eligibility for examination 

for an additional three attempts within 

the following nine months by 

submitting to the OEMS evidence the 

individual repeated a course-specific 

scope of practice evaluation as set 

forth in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 

Rule, and evidence of completion of a 

refresher course as set forth in Rule 

.0513 of this Section for the level of 

application; or  

(C)(B) if unable to pass the written 

examination requirement after six 

attempts three attempts, within an 18 

period following course grading date 

as reflected in the OEMS credentialing 

database, the educational program 

shall become invalid and the 

individual may only become eligible 

for credentialing by repeating the 

requirements set forth in Rule .0501 of 

this Section. 

(5) submit Submit to a criminal background history 

check as set forth in Rule .0511 of this Section. 

(6) submit Submit evidence of completion of all 

court conditions resulting from any 

misdemeanor or felony conviction(s). 

(b)  An individual seeking credentialing as an EMR, EMT, AEMT 

AEMT, or Paramedic may qualify for initial credentialing under 

the legal recognition option set forth in G.S. 131E-159(c). 

(1) Individuals possessing a credential for less than 

two years being used for the level of application 

shall complete a written examination 

administered by the OEMS as set forth in this 

Rule. 
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(2) Individuals seeking credentialing as an AEMT 

or Paramedic shall submit documentation that 

the credential being used for application is from 

a CAAHEP Accredited program. 

(c)  In order to be credentialed by the OEMS as an EMD, 

individuals shall: 

(1) be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) complete the educational requirements set forth 

in Rule .0501(c) .0501 of this Section; 

(3) complete, within one year prior to application, 

an AHA CPR course or a course determined by 

the OEMS to be equivalent to the AHA CPR 

course, including infant, child, and adult CPR; 

(4) submit to a criminal background history check 

as defined in Rule .0511 of this Section; 

(5) submit evidence of completion of all court 

conditions resulting from any misdemeanor or 

felony conviction(s); and 

(6) possess an EMD nationally recognized 

credential pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(d). 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue 

an EMS credential for any person listed on the Department of 

Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry, or 

who was convicted of an offense that would have required 

registration if committed at a time when registration would have 

been required by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159(a); 131E-159(b); 131E-159(g); 131E-

159(h); 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0504 RENEWAL OF CREDENTIALS 

FOR EMR, EMT, AEMT, PARAMEDIC, AND EMD 

(a)  EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants shall renew 

credentials by meeting the following criteria: 

(1) presenting documentation to the OEMS or an 

approved EMS educational institution or 

program as set forth in Rule .0601 or .0602 of 

this Subchapter that they have completed an 

approved educational program as described in 

Rule .0501(e) or (f) .0501 of this Section; 

(2) submit to a criminal background history check 

as set forth in Rule .0511 of this Section; 

(3) submit evidence of completion of all court 

conditions resulting from applicable 

misdemeanor or felony conviction(s); and 

(4) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with 

an EMS provider approved by the Department. 

(b)  An individual may renew credentials by presenting 

documentation to the OEMS that he or she holds a valid EMS 

credential for his or her level of application issued by the National 

Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians or by another state 

where the education and credentialing requirements have been 

determined by OEMS staff in their professional judgment to be 

equivalent to the educations and credentialing requirements set 

forth in this Section. 

(c)  EMD applicants shall renew credentials by presenting 

documentation to the OEMS that he or she holds a valid EMD 

credential issued by a national credentialing agency using the 

education criteria set forth in Rule . 0501(c) .0501 of this Section. 

(d)  Upon request, an EMS professional may renew at a lower 

credentialing level by meeting the requirements defined in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. To restore the credential held at the 

higher level, the individual shall meet the requirements set forth 

in Rule .0512 of this Section. 

(e)  EMS credentials may not be renewed through a local 

credentialed institution or program more than 90 days prior to the 

date of expiration. 

(f)  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-3(a), if an applicant makes a timely and 

sufficient application for renewal, the EMS credential shall not 

expire until a decision on the credential is made by the 

Department. If the application is denied, the credential shall 

remain effective until the last day for applying for judicial review 

of the Department's order. 

(g)  Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not renew 

the EMS credential for any person listed on the North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection 

Registry, or who was convicted of an offense that would have 

required registration at a time when registration would have been 

required by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159(a); 131E-159(g); 131E-159(h); 143-

508(d)(3); 143B-952; 150B-3(a). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0507 INITIAL CREDENTIALING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LEVEL I EMS INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  Applicants for credentialing as a Level I EMS Instructor shall: 

(1) be currently credentialed by the OEMS as an 

EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic;  

(2) have completed post-secondary level education 

equal to or exceeding a minimum of an 

Associate Degree from an institution accredited 

by an approved agency listed on the U.S. 

Department of Education website, 

www.ed.gov: 

(A) The Department shall accept degrees 

from programs accredited by the 

Accreditation Commission for 

Education in Nursing (ACEN) and the 

Commission on Accreditation of 

Allied Health Education Programs. 

(B) Additional degrees may be accepted 

based on the professional judgment of 

OEMS staff following a comparison 

of standards; 

(2)(3) have three years experience at the scope of 

practice for the level of application; 

(3)(4) within one year prior to application, complete 

an in-person evaluation that demonstrates the 

applicant's ability to provide didactic and 

clinical instruction based on the cognitive, 

psychomotor, and affective educational 

objectives in Rule .0501(b) .0501 of this 

Section consistent with their level of 

application and approved by the OEMS: 

(A) for a credential to teach at the EMT 

level, this evaluation shall be 

conducted under the direction of a 

Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 
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at or above the level of application; 

and 

(B) for a credential to teach at the AEMT 

or Paramedic level, this evaluation 

shall be conducted under the direction 

of the educational medical advisor, or 

a Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application and 

designated by the educational medical 

advisor; 

(4)(5) have 100 hours of teaching experience at or 

above the level of application in an approved 

EMS educational program or a program 

determined by OEMS staff in their professional 

judgment equivalent to an EMS education 

program; 

(5)(6) complete an educational program as described 

in Rule .0501(d) .0501 of this Section; and 

(6)(7) within one year prior to application, attend an 

OEMS Instructor workshop sponsored by the 

OEMS. A listing of scheduled OEMS Instructor 

workshops is available from the OEMS at 

www.ncems.org; and 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ems. 

(7) have a high school diploma or General 

Education Development certificate. 

(b)  An individual seeking credentialing for Level I EMS 

Instructor may qualify for initial credentialing under the legal 

recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c). 

(c)  The credential of a Level I EMS Instructor shall be valid for 

four years, or less pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c) 131E-159(c), 

unless any of the following occurs: 

(1) the OEMS imposes an administrative action 

against the instructor credential; or 

(2) the instructor fails to maintain a current EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic credential at the highest 

level that the instructor is approved to teach. 

(d)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 131E-159(h), the 

Department shall not issue an EMS credential for any person 

listed on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and 

Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense 

that would have required registration if committed at a time when 

registration would have been required by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0508 INITIAL CREDENTIALING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LEVEL II EMS INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  Applicants for credentialing as a Level II EMS Instructor 

shall: 

(1) be currently credentialed by the OEMS as an 

EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic; 

(2) be currently credentialed by the OEMS as a 

Level I Instructor at the EMT, AEMT, or 

Paramedic level; 

(2)(3) have completed post-secondary level education 

equal to or exceeding an Associate Degree; a 

Bachelor's Degree from an institution 

accredited by an approved agency listed on the 

U.S. Department of Education website, 

www.ed.gov: 

(A) The Department shall accept degrees 

from programs accredited by the 

Accreditation Commission for 

Education in Nursing (ACEN) and the 

Commission on Accreditation of 

Allied Health Education Programs. 

(B) Additional degrees may be accepted 

based on the professional judgment of 

OEMS staff following a comparison 

of standards; 

(3)(4) within one year prior to application, complete 

an in-person evaluation that demonstrates the 

applicant's ability to provide didactic and 

clinical instruction based on the cognitive, 

psychomotor, and affective educational 

objectives in Rule .0501(b) .0501 of this 

Section consistent with their level of 

application and approved by the OEMS: 

(A) for a credential to teach at the EMT 

level, this evaluation shall be 

conducted under the direction of a 

Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application; 

and 

(B) for a credential to teach at the AEMT 

or Paramedic level, this evaluation 

shall be conducted under the direction 

of the educational medical advisor, or 

a Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application and 

designated by the educational medical 

advisor; 

(4)(5) have two a minimum two concurrent years 

teaching experience as a Level I EMS Instructor 

at or above the level of application application, 

or as a Level II EMS Instructor at a lesser 

credential level applying for a higher level in an 

approved EMS educational program program, 

or teaching experience determined by OEMS 

staff in their professional judgment to be 

equivalent to an EMS Level I education 

program; 

(5)(6) complete the "EMS Education Administration 

Course conducted by a North Carolina 

Community College or the National 

Association of EMS Educators Level II 

Instructor Course; Course that is valid for the 

duration of the active Level II Instructor 

credential; and 

(6)(7) within one year prior to application, attend an 

OEMS Instructor workshop sponsored by the 

OEMS. A listing of scheduled OEMS Instructor 

workshops is available from the OEMS at 

www.ncems.org. 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ems. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 15, 2020 

1358 

(b)  An individual seeking credentialing for Level II EMS 

Instructor may qualify for initial credentialing under the legal 

recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c). 

(c)  The credential of a Level II EMS Instructor is valid for four 

years, or less pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c) 131E-159(c), unless 

any of the following occurs: 

(1) the OEMS imposes an administrative action 

against the instructor credential; or 

(2) the instructor fails to maintain a current EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic credential at the highest 

level that the instructor is approved to teach. 

(d)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 131E-159(h) the 

Department shall not issue an EMS credential for any person 

listed on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and 

Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense 

that would have required registration if committed at a time when 

registration would have been required by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0510 RENEWAL OF CREDENTIALS 

FOR LEVEL I AND LEVEL II EMS INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  Level I and Level II EMS Instructor applicants shall renew 

credentials by presenting documentation to the OEMS that they: 

(1) are credentialed by the OEMS as an EMT, 

AEMT AEMT, or Paramedic; 

(2) within one year prior to application, complete 

an evaluation that demonstrates the applicant's 

ability to provide didactic and clinical 

instruction based on the cognitive, 

psychomotor, and affective educational 

objectives in Rule .0501(b) .0501 of this 

Section consistent with their level of 

application and approved by the OEMS: 

(A) to renew a credential to teach at the 

EMT level, this evaluation shall be 

conducted under the direction of a 

Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application; 

and 

(B) to renew a credential to teach at the 

AEMT or Paramedic level, this 

evaluation shall be conducted under 

the direction of the educational 

medical advisor, or a Level II EMS 

Instructor credentialed at or above the 

level of application and designated by 

the educational medical advisor; 

(3) completed 96 hours of EMS instruction at the 

level of application; and application. 

Individuals identified as EMS program 

coordinators or positions determined by OEMS 

staff in the professional judgment to the 

equivalent to an EMS program coordinator may 

provide up to 72 hours related to the institution's 

needs, with the remaining 24 hours in EMS 

instruction; 

(4) completed 24 hours of educational professional 

development as defined by the educational 

institution that provides for: 

(A) enrichment of knowledge; 

(B) development or change of attitude in 

students; or 

(C) acquisition or improvement of skills; 

and 

(5) within one year prior to renewal application, 

attend an OEMS Instructor workshop 

sponsored by the OEMS. 

(b)  An individual may renew a Level I or Level II EMS Instructor 

credential under the legal recognition option defined in G.S. 

131E-159(c). 

(c)  The credential of a Level I or Level II EMS Instructor is valid 

for four years, or less pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c) unless any of 

the following occurs: 

(1) the OEMS imposes an administrative action 

against the instructor credential; or 

(2) the instructor fails to maintain a current EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic credential at the highest 

level that the instructor is approved to teach. 

(d)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 131E-159(h), the 

Department shall not issue an EMS credential for any person 

listed on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and 

Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense 

that would have required registration if committed at a time when 

registration would have been required by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159(a); 131E-159(b); 143-508(d)(3). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0512 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED 

EMS CREDENTIAL 

(a)  EMS personnel enrolled in an OEMS approved continuing 

education program as set forth in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter 

and that who was eligible for renewal of an EMS credential prior 

to expiration, may request the EMS educational institution submit 

documentation of the continuing education record to the OEMS. 

OEMS shall renew the EMS credential to be valid for four years 

from the previous expiration date. 

(b)  An individual with a lapsed North Carolina EMS credential is 

eligible for reinstatement through the legal recognition option 

defined in G.S. 131E-159(c) and Rule .0502 of this Section. 

(c)  EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for 

reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed up to 24 12 months, 

shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); 

(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with 

a North Carolina EMS Provider; 

(3) at the time of application, present evidence that 

renewal education requirements were met prior 

to expiration or complete a refresher course at 

the level of application taken following 

expiration of the credential; 

(4) EMRs and EMTs shall complete an OEMS 

administered written examination for the 

individual's level of credential application; 
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(5) undergo a criminal history check performed by 

the OEMS; and 

(6) submit evidence of completion of all court 

conditions resulting from applicable 

misdemeanor or felony conviction(s). 

(d)  EMR and EMT applicants for reinstatement of an EMS 

credential, lapsed more than 24 months, must: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); and 

(2) meet the provisions for initial credentialing set 

forth in Rule .0502 of this Section 

(e)  AEMT and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS 

credential, lapsed between 24 and 48 months, shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); 

(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with 

a North Carolina EMS Provider; 

(3) present evidence of completion of a refresher 

course at the level of application taken 

following expiration of the credential; 

(4) complete an OEMS administered written 

examination for the individuals level of 

credential application; 

(5) undergo a criminal history check performed by 

the OEMS; and 

(6) submit evidence of completion of all court 

conditions resulting from applicable 

misdemeanor or felony conviction(s). 

(f)(d)  AEMT EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for 

reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 48 12 

months, shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); and 

(2) meet the provisions for initial credentialing set 

forth in Rule .0502 of this Section. 

(e)  EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of 

an EMS Instructor Credential, lapsed up to 12 months, shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); 

(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with 

a North Carolina EMS Provider; and 

(3) at the time of application, present evidence that 

renewal requirements were met prior to 

expiration or within six months following the 

expiration of the Instructor credential. 

(f)  EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of 

an EMS Instructor credential, lapsed greater than 12 months, 

shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); and 

(2) meet the requirements for initial Instructor 

credentialing set forth in Rules .0507 and .0508 

of this Section. Degree requirements that were 

not applicable to EMS Instructors initially 

credentialed prior to July 1, 2021 shall be 

required for reinstatement of a lapsed 

credential. 

(g)  EMD applicants shall renew a lapsed credential by meeting 

the requirements for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of 

this Section.  

(h)  Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue 

or renew an EMS credential for any person listed on the 

Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection 

Registry, or who was convicted of an offense that would have 

required registration if committed at a time when registration 

would have been required by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952. 

 

SECTION .0600 – EMS EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS 

AND PROGRAMS 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0601 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

EMS EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION PROGRAM 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Continuing Education EMS Educational Institutions 

Programs shall be credentialed by the OEMS to provide only EMS 

continuing education programs. education. An application for 

credentialing as an approved EMS continuing education 

institution program shall be submitted to the OEMS for review. 

(b)  Continuing Education EMS Educational Institutions 

Programs shall have: 

(1) at least a Level I EMS Instructor as program 

coordinator and shall hold a Level I EMS 

Instructor credential at a level equal to or 

greater than the highest level of continuing 

education program offered in the EMS System 

or System, Specialty Care Transport Program; 

Program, or Agency; 

(2) a continuing education program shall be 

consistent with the services offered by the EMS 

System or System, Specialty Care Transport 

Program; Program, or Agency; 

(A) In an EMS System, the continuing 

education programs shall be reviewed 

and approved by the system 

continuing education coordinator and 

Medical Director; and 

(B) In a Specialty Care Transport 

Program, the continuing education 

program shall be reviewed and 

approved by Specialty Care Transport 

Program Continuing Education 

Coordinator and the Medical Director; 

and 

(C) In an Agency not affiliated with an 

EMS System or Specialty Care 

Transport Program, the continuing 

education program shall be reviewed 

and approved by the Agency Program 

Medical Director; 

(3) written educational policies and procedures to 

include each of the following; 

(A) the delivery of educational programs 

in a manner where the content and 

material is delivered to the intended 
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audience, with a limited potential for 

exploitation of such content and 

material; 

(B) the record-keeping system of student 

attendance and performance; 

(C) the selection and monitoring of EMS 

instructors; and 

(D) student evaluations of faculty and the 

program's courses or components, and 

the frequency of the evaluations; 

(4) access to instructional supplies and equipment 

necessary for students to complete educational 

programs as defined in Rule .0501(b) .0501 of 

this Subchapter; 

(5) meet at a minimum, the educational program 

requirements as defined in Rule .0501(e) .0501 

of this Subchapter; 

(6) Upon request, the approved EMS continuing 

education institution program shall provide 

records to the OEMS in order to verify 

compliance and student eligibility for 

credentialing; and 

(7) unless accredited in accordance with Rule 

.0605 of this Section, approved education 

institution program credentials are valid for a 

period not to exceed four years. 

(c)  Program coordinators shall attend an OEMS Program 

Coordinator workshop annually. A listing of scheduled OEMS 

Program Coordinator Workshops is available at 

https://emspic.org. 

(c)(d)  Assisting physicians delegated by the EMS System 

Medical Director as authorized by Rule .0403(b) .0403 of this 

Subchapter or SCTP Medical Director as authorized by Rule 

.0404(b) .0404 of this Subchapter for provision of medical 

oversight of continuing education programs must meet the 

Education Medical Advisor criteria as defined in the "North 

Carolina College of Emergency Physicians: Standards for 

Medical Oversight." 

 

Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(13). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0602 BASIC AND ADVANCED EMS 

EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Basic and Advanced EMS Educational Institutions may offer 

educational programs for which they have been credentialed by 

the OEMS. 

(1) EMS Educational Institutions shall complete a 

minimum of two initial courses for each 

educational program approved for the 

Educational Institution's credential approval 

period. 

(2) EMS Educational Institutions that do not 

complete two initial courses for each 

educational program approved shall be subject 

to action as set forth in Rule .1505 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  For initial courses, Basic EMS Educational Institutions shall 

meet all of the requirements for continuing EMS educational 

institutions programs defined in Rule .0601 of this Section and 

shall have: 

(1) at least a Level I EMS Instructor as each lead 

course instructor for EMR and EMT all courses. 

The lead course instructor must be credentialed 

at a level equal to or higher than the course 

offered; and shall meet the lead instructor 

responsibilities under Standard III of the 

CAAHEP Standards and Guidelines for the 

Accreditation of Educational Programs in the 

Emergency Medical Services Professions. The 

lead instructor shall: 

(A) perform duties assigned under the 

direction and delegation of the 

program director. 

(B) assist in coordination of the didactic, 

lab, clinical, and field internship 

instruction. 

(2) a lead EMS educational program coordinator. 

This individual may be either shall be a Level 

II EMS Instructor credentialed at or above the 

highest level of course offered by the 

institution, or a combination of staff who 

cumulatively meet the requirements of the 

Level II EMS Instructor set forth in this 

Subparagraph. These individuals may share the 

responsibilities of the lead EMS educational 

coordinator. The details of this option shall be 

defined in the educational plan required in 

Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule; institution, 

and: 

(A) have EMS or related allied health 

education, training, and experience; 

(B) be knowledgeable about methods of 

instruction, testing, and evaluation of 

students; 

(C) have field experience in the delivery of 

pre-hospital emergency care; 

(D) have academic training and 

preparation related to emergency 

medical services, at least equivalent to 

that of a paramedic; and 

(E) be knowledgeable of current versions 

of the National EMS Scope of Practice 

and National EMS Education 

Standards as defined by USDOT 

NHTSA National EMS, evidenced-

informed clinical practice, and 

incorporated by Rule .0501 of this 

Section; 

(3) a lead EMS educational program coordinator 

responsible for the following: 

(A) the administrative oversight, 

organization, and supervision of the 

program; 

(B) the continuous quality review and 

improvement of the program; 

(C) the long-range planning on ongoing 

development of the program; 
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(D) evaluating the effectiveness of the 

instruction, faculty, and overall 

program; 

(E) the collaborative involvement with the 

Education Medical Advisor; 

(F) the training and supervision of clinical 

and field internship preceptors; and 

(G) the effectiveness and quality of 

fulfillment of responsibilities 

delegated to another qualified 

individual; 

(3)(4) written educational policies and procedures that 

include: 

(A) the written educational policies and 

procedures set forth in Rule 

.0601(b)(4) .0601 of this Section; 

(B) the delivery of cognitive and 

psychomotor examinations in a 

manner that will protect and limit the 

potential for exploitation of such 

content and material; 

(C) the exam item validation process 

utilized for the development of 

validated cognitive examinations; 

(D) the selection and monitoring of all in-

state and out-of-state clinical 

education and field internship sites; 

(E) the selection and monitoring of all 

educational institutionally approved 

clinical education and field internship 

preceptors; 

(F) utilization of EMS preceptors 

providing feedback to the student and 

EMS program; 

(G) the evaluation of preceptors by their 

students, including the frequency of 

evaluations; 

(H) the evaluation of the clinical education 

and field internship sites by their 

students, including the frequency of 

evaluations; and 

(I) completion of an annual evaluation of 

the program to identify any 

correctable deficiencies; 

(4)(5) an Educational Medical Advisor that meets the 

criteria as defined in the "North Carolina 

College of Emergency Physicians: Standards 

for Medical Oversight and Data Collection;" 

and Collection" who is responsible for the 

following; 

(A) medical oversight of the program; 

(B) collaboration to provide appropriate 

and updated educational content for 

the program curriculum; 

(C) establishing minimum requirements 

for program completion; 

(D) oversight of student evaluation, 

monitoring, and remediation as 

needed; 

(E) ensuring entry level competence; 

(F) ensuring interaction of physician and 

students; and 

(5)(6) written educational policies and procedures 

describing the delivery of educational 

programs, the record-keeping system detailing 

student attendance and performance, and the 

selection and monitoring of EMS instructors. 

(c)  For initial courses, Advanced Educational Institutions shall 

meet all requirements defined set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, and have a Level II EMS Instructor as lead instructor for 

AEMT and Paramedic initial courses. The lead instructor shall be 

credentialed at a level equal to or higher than the course offered. 

Rule, standard III of the CAAHEP Standards and Guidelines for 

the Accreditation of Educational Programs in the Emergency 

Medical Services Professions shall apply, and; 

(1) The faculty must be knowledgeable in course 

content and effective in teaching their assigned 

subjects, and capable through academic 

preparation, training, and experience to teach 

the courses or topics to which they are assigned. 

(2) A faculty member to assist in teaching and 

clinical coordination in addition to the program 

coordinator. 

(d)  Basic and Advanced EMS Educational Institution credentials 

shall be valid for a period of four years, unless the institution is 

accredited in accordance with Rule .0605 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(13). 

 

SECTION .0900 - TRAUMA CENTER STANDARDS AND 

APPROVAL 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0904 INITIAL DESIGNATION 

PROCESS 

(a)  For initial Trauma Center designation, the hospital shall 

request a consult visit by OEMS and the consult shall occur within 

one year prior to submission of the RFP. 

(b)  A hospital interested in pursuing Trauma Center designation 

shall submit a letter of intent 180 days prior to the submission of 

an RFP to the OEMS. The letter shall define the hospital's primary 

trauma catchment area. Simultaneously, Level I or II applicants 

shall also demonstrate the need for the Trauma Center designation 

by submitting one original and three copies of documents that 

include: 

(1) the population to be served and the extent that 

the population is underserved for trauma care 

with the methodology used to reach this 

conclusion; 

(2) geographic considerations, to include trauma 

primary and secondary catchment area and 

distance from other Trauma Centers; and 

(3) evidence for Level 1 applicants, evidence the 

Trauma Center will admit at least 1200 trauma 

patients annually or show that its trauma service 

will be taking care of at least 240 trauma 

patients yearly with an ISS greater than or equal 

to 15 yearly. 15. These criteria shall be met 

without compromising the quality of care or 
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cost effectiveness of any other designated Level 

I or II Trauma Center sharing all or part of its 

catchment area or by jeopardizing the existing 

Trauma Center's ability to meet this same 240-

patient minimum. 

(c)  The hospital shall be participating in the State Trauma 

Registry as defined in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter, and 

submit data to the OEMS weekly a minimum of 12 months prior 

to application that includes all the Trauma Center's 

trauma patients as defined in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter who 

are: Subchapter. 

(1) diverted to an affiliated hospital; 

(2) admitted to the Trauma Center for greater than 

24 hours from an ED or hospital; 

(3) die in the ED; 

(4) are DOA; or 

(5) are transferred from the ED to the OR, ICU, or 

another hospital (including transfer to any 

affiliated hospital). 

(d)  OEMS shall review the regional Trauma Registry data from 

both the applicant and the existing trauma center(s), and ascertain 

the applicant's ability to satisfy the justification of need 

information required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The OEMS 

shall notify the applicant's primary RAC of the application and 

provide the regional data submitted by the applicant in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule for review and comment. application. The The 

applicant's primary RAC shall be given 30 days to submit written 

comments to the OEMS. 

(e)  OEMS shall notify the respective Board of County 

Commissioners in the applicant's primary catchment area of the 

request for initial designation to allow for comment during the 

same 30 day comment period. 

(f)(e)  OEMS shall notify the hospital in writing of its decision to 

allow submission of an RFP. If approved, the RAC and Board of 

County Commissioners in the applicant's primary catchment area 

shall also be notified by the OEMS that an RFP will be submitted. 

(g)(f)  Once the hospital is notified that an RFP will be accepted, 

the hospital shall complete and submit an electronic copy of the 

completed RFP with signatures to the OEMS at least 45 days prior 

to the proposed site visit date. 

(h)(g)  The RFP shall demonstrate that the hospital meets the 

standards for the designation level applied for as found in Rule 

.0901 of this Section. 

(i)(h)  If OEMS does not recommend a site visit based upon failure 

to comply with Rule .0901 of this Section, the OEMS shall send 

the written reasons to the hospital within 30 days of the decision. 

The hospital may reapply for designation within six months 

following the submission of an updated RFP. If the hospital fails 

to respond within six months, the hospital shall reapply following 

the process outlined in Paragraphs (a) through (h)(g) of this Rule. 

(j)  If after review of the RFP, the OEMS recommends the hospital 

for a site visit, the OEMS shall notify the hospital within 30 days 

and the site visit shall be conducted within six months of the 

recommendation. The hospital and the OEMS shall agree on the 

date of the site visit. 

(k)(i)  Except for OEMS representatives, any in-state reviewer for 

a Level I or II visit shall be from outside the local or adjacent 

RAC, unless mutually agreed upon by the OEMS and the trauma 

center seeking designation where the hospital is located. The 

composition of a Level I or II state site survey team shall be as 

follows: 

(1) one out-of-state trauma surgeon who is a 

Fellow of the ACS, experienced as a site 

surveyor, who shall be the primary reviewer; 

(2) one in-state emergency physician who currently 

works in a designated trauma center, is a 

member of the American College of Emergency 

Physicians or American Academy of 

Emergency Medicine, and is boarded in 

emergency medicine by the American Board of 

Emergency Medicine or the American 

Osteopathic Board of Emergency Medicine; 

(3) one in-state trauma surgeon who is a member of 

the North Carolina Committee on Trauma; 

(4) for Level I designation, one out-of-state trauma 

program manager with an equivalent license 

from another state; 

(5) for Level II designation, one in-state program 

manager who is licensed to practice nursing in 

North Carolina in accordance with the Nursing 

Practice Act, Article 9A, Chapter 90 of the 

North Carolina General Statutes; and 

(6) OEMS Staff. 

(l)(j)  All site team members for a Level III visit shall be from in-

state, and, except for the OEMS representatives, shall be from 

outside the local or adjacent RAC where the hospital is located. 

The composition of a Level III state site survey team shall be as 

follows: 

(1) one trauma surgeon who is a Fellow of the 

ACS, who is a member of the North Carolina 

Committee on Trauma and shall be the primary 

reviewer; 

(2) one emergency physician who currently works 

in a designated trauma center, is a member of 

the North Carolina College of Emergency 

Physicians or American Academy of 

Emergency Medicine, and is boarded in 

emergency medicine by the American Board of 

Emergency Medicine or the American 

Osteopathic Board of Emergency Medicine; 

(3) one trauma program manager who is licensed to 

practice nursing in North Carolina in 

accordance with the Nursing Practice Act, 

Article 9A, Chapter 90 of the North Carolina 

General Statutes; and 

(4) OEMS Staff. 

(m)(k)  On the day of the site visit, the hospital shall make 

available all requested patient medical charts. 

(n)(l)  The primary reviewer of the site review team shall give a 

verbal post-conference report representing a consensus of the site 

review team. The primary reviewer shall complete and submit to 

the OEMS a written consensus report within 30 days of the site 

visit. 

(o)(m)  The report of the site survey team and the staff 

recommendations shall be reviewed by the State Emergency 

Medical Services Advisory Council at its next regularly scheduled 

meeting following the site visit. Based upon the site visit report 

and the staff recommendation, the State Emergency Medical 
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Services Advisory Council shall recommend to the OEMS that 

the request for Trauma Center designation be approved or denied. 

(p)(n)  All criteria defined in Rule .0901 of this Section shall be 

met for initial designation at the level requested. 

(q)(o)  Hospitals with a deficiency(ies) resulting from the site visit 

shall be given up to 12 months to demonstrate compliance. 

Satisfaction of deficiency(ies) may require an additional site visit. 

The need for an additional site visit shall be determined on a case-

by-case basis based on the type of deficiency. If compliance is not 

demonstrated within the time period set by OEMS, the hospital 

shall submit a new application and updated RFP and follow the 

process outlined in Paragraphs (a) through (h)(g) of this Rule. 

(r)(p)  The final decision regarding Trauma Center designation 

shall be rendered by the OEMS. 

(s)(q)  The OEMS shall notify the hospital in writing of the State 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council's and OEMS' 

final recommendation within 30 days of the Advisory Council 

meeting. 

(t)(r)  If a trauma center changes its trauma program 

administrative structure such that the trauma service, trauma 

Medical Director, trauma program manager, or trauma registrar 

are relocated on the hospital's organizational chart at any time, it 

shall notify OEMS of this change in writing within 30 days of the 

occurrence. 

(u)(s)  Initial designation as a trauma center shall be valid for a 

period of three years. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-162; 143-508(d)(2). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0905 RENEWAL DESIGNATION 

PROCESS 

(a)  Hospitals may utilize one of two options to achieve Trauma 

Center renewal: 

(1) undergo a site visit conducted by OEMS to 

obtain a four-year renewal designation; or 

(2) undergo a verification visit by the ACS, in 

conjunction with the OEMS, to obtain a three-

year renewal designation. 

(b)  For hospitals choosing Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule: 

(1) prior to the end of the designation period, the 

OEMS shall forward to the hospital an RFP for 

completion. The hospital shall, within 10 

business days of receipt of the RFP, define for 

OEMS the Trauma Center's trauma primary 

catchment area. Upon this notification, OEMS 

shall notify the respective Board of County 

Commissioners in the applicant's trauma 

primary catchment area of the request for 

renewal to allow 30 days for comment. 

(2) hospitals shall complete and submit an 

electronic copy of the RFP to the OEMS and the 

specified site surveyors at least 30 days prior to 

the site visit. The RFP shall include information 

that supports compliance with the criteria 

contained in Rule .0901 of this Section as it 

relates to the Trauma Center's level of 

designation. 

(3) all criteria defined in Rule .0901 of this Section, 

as it relates to the Trauma Center's level of 

designation, shall be met for renewal 

designation. 

(4) a site visit shall be conducted within 120 days 

prior to the end of the designation period. The 

hospital and the OEMS shall agree on the date 

of the site visit. 

(5) the composition of a Level I or II site survey 

team shall be the same as that specified in 

Rule.0904(k) of this Section. 

(6) the composition of a Level III site survey team 

shall be the same as that specified in Rule 

.0904(l) of this Section. 

(7) on the day of the site visit, the hospital shall 

make available all requested patient medical 

charts. 

(8) the primary reviewer of the site review team 

shall give a verbal post-conference report 

representing a consensus of the site review 

team. The primary reviewer shall complete and 

submit to the OEMS a written consensus report 

within 30 days of the site visit. 

(9) the report of the site survey team and a staff 

recommendation shall be reviewed by the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council 

at its next regularly scheduled meeting 

following the site visit. Based upon the site visit 

report and the staff recommendation, the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council 

shall recommend to the OEMS that the request 

for Trauma Center renewal be: 

(A) approved; 

(B) approved with a contingency(ies) due 

to a deficiency(ies) requiring a 

focused review; 

(C) approved with a contingency(ies) not 

due to a deficiency(ies) requiring a 

consultative visit; or 

(D) denied. 

(10) hospitals with a deficiency(ies) shall have up to 

10 business days prior to the NC Emergency 

Medical Services Advisory Council meeting to 

provide documentation to demonstrate 

compliance. If the hospital has a deficiency that 

cannot be corrected in this period prior to the 

NC Emergency Medical Services Advisory 

Council meeting, the hospital, hospital shall be 

given 12 months by the OEMS to demonstrate 

compliance and undergo a focused review that 

may require an additional site visit. The need 

for an additional site visit is on a case-by-case 

basis based on the type of deficiency. The 

hospital shall retain its Trauma Center 

designation during the focused review period. 

If compliance is demonstrated within the 

prescribed time period, the hospital shall be 

granted its designation for the four-year period 

from the previous designation's expiration date. 

If compliance is not demonstrated within the 12 

month time period, the Trauma Center 
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designation shall not be renewed. To become 

redesignated, the hospital shall submit an 

updated RFP and follow the initial applicant 

process outlined in Rule .0904 of this Section. 

(11) the final decision regarding trauma center 

renewal shall be rendered by the OEMS. 

(12) the OEMS shall notify the hospital in writing of 

the NC Emergency Medical Services Advisory 

Council's and OEMS' final recommendation 

within 30 days of the NC Emergency Medical 

Services Advisory Council meeting. 

(13) hospitals with a deficiency(ies) shall submit an 

action plan to the OEMS to address the 

deficiency(ies) within 10 business days 

following receipt of the written final decision 

on the trauma recommendations. 

(c)  For hospitals choosing Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule: 

(1) at least six months prior to the end of the 

Trauma Center's designation period, the trauma 

center shall notify the OEMS of its intent to 

undergo an ACS verification visit. It shall 

simultaneously define in writing to the OEMS 

its trauma primary catchment area. Trauma 

Centers choosing this option shall then comply 

with all the ACS' verification procedures, as 

well as any additional state criteria as defined in 

Rule .0901 of this Section, that apply to their 

level of designation. 

(2) when completing the ACS' documentation for 

verification, the Trauma Center shall ensure 

access to the ACS on-line PRQ (pre-review 

questionnaire) to OEMS. The Trauma Center 

shall simultaneously complete any documents 

supplied by OEMS and forward these to the 

OEMS. 

(3) the OEMS shall notify the Board of County 

Commissioners within the trauma center's 

trauma primary catchment area of the Trauma 

Center's request for renewal to allow 30 days 

for comments. 

(4)(3) the Trauma Center shall make sure the site visit 

is scheduled to ensure that the ACS' final 

written report, accompanying medical record 

reviews and cover letter are received by OEMS 

at least 30 days prior to a regularly scheduled 

NC Emergency Medical Services Advisory 

Council meeting to ensure that the Trauma 

Center's state designation period does not 

terminate without consideration by the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory 

Council. 

(5)(4) any in-state review for a hospital choosing 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, except for the 

OEMS staff, shall be from outside the local or 

adjacent RAC in which the hospital is located. 

(6)(5) the composition of a Level I, II, or III site 

survey team for hospitals choosing 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule shall be as 

follows: 

(A) one out-of-state trauma surgeon who 

is a Fellow of the ACS, experienced as 

a site surveyor, who shall be the 

primary reviewer; 

(B) one out-of-state emergency physician 

who works in a designated trauma 

center, is a member of the American 

College of Emergency Physicians or 

the American Academy of Emergency 

Medicine, and is boarded in 

emergency medicine by the American 

Board of Emergency Physicians or the 

American Osteopathic Board of 

Emergency Medicine; 

(C) one out-of-state trauma program 

manager with an equivalent license 

from another state; and 

(D) OEMS staff. 

(7)(6) the date, time, and all proposed members of the 

site visit team shall be submitted to the OEMS 

for review at least 45 days prior to the site visit. 

The OEMS shall approve the site visit schedule 

if the schedule does not conflict with the ability 

of attendance by required OEMS staff. The 

OEMS shall approve the proposed site visit 

team members if the OEMS determines there is 

no conflict of interest, such as previous 

employment, by any site visit team member 

associated with the site visit. 

(8)(7) all state Trauma Center criteria shall be met as 

defined in Rule .0901of this Section for renewal 

of state designation. ACS' verification is not 

required for state designation. ACS' verification 

does not ensure a state designation. 

(9)(8) The ACS final written report and supporting 

documentation described in Subparagraph 

(c)(4) of this Rule shall be used to generate a 

report following the post conference meeting 

for presentation to the NC Emergency Medical 

Services Advisory Council for renewal 

designation. 

(10)(9) the final written report issued by the ACS' 

verification review committee, the 

accompanying medical record reviews from 

which all identifiers shall be removed and cover 

letter shall be forwarded to OEMS within 10 

business days of its receipt by the Trauma 

Center seeking renewal. 

(11)(10) the OEMS shall present its summary of findings 

report to the NC Emergency Medical Services 

Advisory Council at its next regularly 

scheduled meeting. The NC Emergency 

Medical Services Advisory Council shall 

recommend to the Chief of the OEMS that the 

request for Trauma Center renewal be: 

(A) approved; 

(B) approved with a contingency(ies) due 

to a deficiency(ies) requiring a 

focused review; 
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(C) approved with a contingency(ies) not 

due to a deficiency(ies); or 

(D) denied. 

(12)(11) the OEMS shall send the hospital written notice 

of the NC Emergency Medical Services 

Advisory Council's and OEMS' final 

recommendation within 30 days of the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council 

meeting. 

(13)(12) the final decision regarding trauma center 

designation shall be rendered by the OEMS. 

(14)(13) hospitals with contingencies as the result of a 

deficiency(ies), as determined by OEMS, shall 

have up to 10 business days prior to the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council 

meeting to provide documentation to 

demonstrate compliance. If the hospital has a 

deficiency that cannot be corrected in this time 

period, the hospital, may undergo a focused 

review to be conducted by the OEMS whereby 

the Trauma Center shall be given 12 months by 

the OEMS to demonstrate compliance. 

Satisfaction of contingency(ies) may require an 

additional site visit. The need for an additional 

site visit is on a case-by-case basis based on the 

type of deficiency. The hospital shall retain its 

Trauma Center designation during the focused 

review period. If compliance is demonstrated 

within the prescribed time period, the hospital 

shall be granted its designation for the three-

year period from the previous designation's 

expiration date. If compliance is not 

demonstrated within the 12 month time period, 

the Trauma Center designation shall not be 

renewed. To become redesignated, the hospital 

shall submit a new RFP and follow the initial 

applicant process outlined in Rule .0904 of this 

Section. 

(15)(14) hospitals with a deficiency(ies) shall submit an 

action plan to the OEMS to address the 

deficiency(ies) within 10 business days 

following receipt of the written final decision 

on the trauma recommendations. 

(d)  If a Trauma Center currently using the ACS' verification 

process chooses not to renew using this process, it must notify the 

OEMS at least six months prior to the end of its state trauma center 

designation period of its intention to exercise the option in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. Upon notification, the OEMS 

shall extend the designation for one additional year to ensure 

consistency with hospitals using Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-162; 143-508(d)(2). 

 

SECTION .1100 - TRAUMA SYSTEM DESIGN 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1101 STATE TRAUMA SYSTEM 

(a)  The state trauma system shall consist of regional plans, 

policies, guidelines, and performance improvement 

initiatives by the RACs to create an Inclusive Trauma System 

monitored by the OEMS. 

(b)  Each hospital and EMS System shall affiliate as defined in 

Rule .0102(3) .0102 of this Subchapter and participate with the 

RAC that includes the Level I or II Trauma Center where the 

majority of trauma patient referrals and transports occur. Each 

hospital and EMS System shall submit to the OEMS upon request 

patient transfer patterns from data sources that support the choice 

of their primary RAC affiliation. Each RAC shall include at least 

one Level I or II Trauma Center. 

(c)  The OEMS shall notify each RAC of its hospital and EMS 

System membership annually. 

(d)(c)  Each hospital and each EMS System Lead RAC 

Coordinator shall update and submit its RAC affiliation 

information membership for hospitals and EMS Systems to the 

OEMS no later than July 1 of each year. Each hospital or EMS 

System shall submit written notification to the OEMS for any 

RAC affiliation change. RAC affiliation may only be changed 

during this annual update and only if supported by a change in the 

majority of transfer patterns to a Level I or Level II Trauma 

Center. Documentation of these new transfer patterns shall be 

included in the request to change affiliation. If no change is made 

in RAC affiliation, written notification shall be required annually 

to the OEMS to maintain current RAC affiliation. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-162. 

 

SECTION .1400 - RECOVERY AND REHABILITATION 

OF CHEMICALLY DEPENDENT EMS PERSONNEL 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1401 CHEMICAL ADDICTION OR 

ABUSE TREATMENT RECOVERY PROGRAM 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The OEMS shall provide a treatment monitoring program for 

aiding in the recovery and rehabilitation of EMS personnel subject 

to disciplinary action for being unable to perform as credentialed 

EMS personnel with reasonable skill and safety to patients and the 

public by reason of use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other 

type of material as set forth in Rule .1507(b)(9) .1507 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  This program requires: 

(1) an initial assessment by a healthcare 

professional specialized specializing in 

chemical dependency approved by the 

treatment program; 

(2) a treatment plan developed by the healthcare 

professional described in Subparagraph (b)(1) 

of this Rule by a healthcare professional 

specializing in chemical dependency for the 

individual using the findings of the initial 

assessment; assessment. The Department and 

individual will enter into a consent agreement 

based up on the treatment plan; and 

(3) random body fluid screenings using a 

standardized methodology designed by OEMS 

program staff to ensure reliability in verifying 

compliance with program standards; 

(4) the individual attend three self-help recovery 

meetings each week for the first year of 
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participation, and two each week for the 

remainder of participation in the treatment 

program; 

(5)(3) monitoring by OEMS program staff of the 

individual for compliance with the treatment 

program; consent agreement entered into by the 

Department and the individual entering the 

program. 

(6) written progress reports, shall be made 

available for review by OEMS upon completion 

of the initial assessment of the treatment 

program, upon request by OEMS throughout 

the individual's participation in the treatment 

program, and upon completion of the treatment 

program. Written progress reports shall 

include: 

(A) progress or response to treatment and 

when the individual is safe to return to 

practice; 

(B) compliance with program criteria; 

(C) a summary of established long-term 

program goals; and 

(D) contain pertinent medical, laboratory, 

and psychiatric records with a focus on 

chemical dependency. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159(f); 143-508(b); 143-508(d)(10). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1403 CONDITIONS FOR 

RESTRICTED PRACTICE WITH LIMITED 

PRIVILEGES 

(a)  In order to assist in determining eligibility for an individual to 

return to restricted practice, the OEMS shall create a standing 

Reinstatement Committee that shall consist of at least the 

following members: completion of all requirements outlined in 

the individual's consent agreement with the Department as 

described in Rule .1401 of this Section shall be presented to the 

Chief of the OEMS. 

(1) one physician licensed by the North Carolina 

Medical Board, representing EMS Systems, 

who shall serve as Chair of this committee; 

(2) one counselor trained in chemical addiction or 

abuse therapy; and 

(3) the OEMS staff member responsible for 

managing the treatment program as set forth in 

Rule.1401 of this Section. 

(b)  Individuals who have surrendered his or her EMS 

credential(s) as a condition of entry into the treatment recovery 

program, as required in Rule .1402(4) .1402 of this Section, shall 

be reviewed by the OEMS Reinstatement Committee Chief to 

determine if a recommendation to the OEMS for issuance of an 

encumbered EMS credential is warranted by the Department. 

(c)  In order to obtain an encumbered credential with limited 

privileges, an individual shall: 

(1) be compliant for a minimum of 90 consecutive 

days with the treatment program described in 

Rule .1401(b) .1401 of this Section; and 

(2) be recommended in writing for review by the 

individual's treatment counselor; recovery 

healthcare professional overseeing the 

treatment plan developed as described in Rule 

.1401 of this Section. 

(3) be interviewed by the OEMS Reinstatement 

Committee; and 

(4) be recommended in writing by the OEMS 

Reinstatement Committee for issuance of an 

encumbered EMS credential. The OEMS 

Reinstatement Committee shall detail in their 

recommendation all restrictions and limitations 

to the individual's practice privileges. 

(d)  The individual shall agree to sign a consent agreement with 

the OEMS that details the practice restrictions and privilege 

limitations of the encumbered EMS credential, and that contains 

the consequences of failure to abide by the terms of this 

agreement. 

(e)  The individual shall be issued the encumbered credential by 

the OEMS within 10 business days following execution of the 

consent agreement described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  The encumbered EMS credential shall be valid for a period 

not to exceed four years. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159(f); 143-508(b); 143-508(d)(10). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1404 REINSTATEMENT OF AN 

UNENCUMBERED EMS CREDENTIAL 

Reinstatement of an unencumbered EMS credential is dependant 

dependent upon the individual successfully completing all 

requirements of the treatment program consent agreement as 

defined in set forth in Rule .1401 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159(f); 143-508(d)(10); 143-509(13). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1405 FAILURE TO COMPLETE THE 

CHEMICAL ADDICTION OR ABUSE TREATMENT 

RECOVERY PROGRAM 

Individuals who fail to complete the treatment program consent 

agreement established in Rule .1401 of this Section, upon review 

by the OEMS, are subject to revocation of their EMS credential. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159(f); 143-508(b); 143-508(d)(10). 

 

SECTION .1500 - DENIAL, SUSPENSION, AMENDMENT, 

OR REVOCATION 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1505 EMS EDUCATIONAL 

INSTITUTIONS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, "focused review" means an 

evaluation by the OEMS of an educational institution's corrective 

actions to remove contingencies that are a result of deficiencies 

identified in the initial or renewal application process.  

(b)  The Department shall deny the initial or renewal designation, 

without first allowing a focused review, of an EMS Educational 

Institution for any of the following reasons: 

(1) significant failure to comply with the provisions 

of Section .0600 Sections .0500 and .0600 of 

this Subchapter; or 
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(2) attempting to obtain an EMS Educational 

Institution designation through fraud or 

misrepresentation. 

(c)  When an EMS Educational Institution is required to have a 

focused review, it shall demonstrate compliance with the 

provisions of Section .0600 Sections .0500 and .0600 of this 

Subchapter within 12 six months or less. 

(d)  The Department shall amend, suspend, or revoke an EMS 

Educational Institution designation at any time whenever the 

Department finds that the EMS Educational Institution has 

significant failure to comply, as defined in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter, with the provisions of Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter, and: 

(1) it is not probable that the EMS Educational 

Institution can remedy the deficiencies within 

12 six months or less as determined by OEMS 

staff based upon analysis of the educational 

institution's ability to take corrective measures 

to resolve the issue of non-compliance with 

Section .0600 of this Subchapter; 

(2) although the EMS Educational Institution may 

be able to remedy the deficiencies, it is not 

probable that the EMS Educational Institution 

shall be able to remain in compliance with 

credentialing rules; 

(3) failure to produce records upon request as 

required in Rule .0601(b)(6) .0601 of this 

Subchapter; 

(4) the EMS Educational Institution failed to meet 

the requirements of a focused review within 12 

six months, as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule; 

(5) the failure to comply endangered the health, 

safety, or welfare of patients cared for as part of 

an EMS educational program as determined by 

OEMS staff in their professional judgment 

based upon a complaint investigation, in 

consultation with the Department and 

Department of Justice, to verify the results of 

the investigations are sufficient to initiate 

enforcement action pursuant to G.S. 150B; or 

(6) the EMS Educational Institution altered, 

destroyed, or attempted to destroy evidence 

needed for a complaint investigation. 

(e)  The Department shall give the EMS Educational Institution 

written notice of revocation and denial. action taken on the 

Institution designation. This notice shall be given personally or by 

certified mail and shall set forth: 

(1) the factual allegations; 

(2) the statutes or rules alleged to be violated; and 

(3) notice of the EMS Educational Institution's 

right to a contested case hearing, set forth in 

Rule .1509 of this Section, on the revocation of 

the designation. 

(f)  Focused review is not a procedural prerequisite to the 

revocation of a designation as set forth in Rule .1509 of this 

Section. 

(g)  If determined by the educational institution that suspending 

its approval to offer EMS educational programs is necessary, the 

EMS Educational Institution may voluntarily surrender its 

credential without explanation by submitting a written request to 

the OEMS stating its intention. The voluntary surrender shall not 

affect the original expiration date of the EMS Educational 

Institution's designation. To reactivate the designation: 

(1) the institution shall provide OEMS written 

documentation requesting reactivation; and 

(2) the OEMS shall verify the educational 

institution is compliant with all credentialing 

requirements set forth in Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter prior to reactivation of the 

designation by the OEMS. 

(h)  If the institution fails to resolve the issues that resulted in a 

voluntary surrender, the Department shall revoke the EMS 

Educational Institution designation. 

(i)  In the event of a revocation or voluntary surrender, the 

Department shall provide written notification to all EMS Systems 

within the EMS Educational Institution's defined service area. The 

Department shall provide written notification to all EMS Systems 

within the EMS Educational Institution's defined service area 

when the voluntary surrender reactivates to full credential. 

(j)  When an accredited EMS Educational Institution as defined in 

Rule .0605 of this Subchapter has administrative action taken 

against its accreditation, the OEMS shall determine if the cause of 

action is sufficient for revocation of the EMS Educational 

Institution designation or imposing a focused review pursuant to 

Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule is warranted. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(10). 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1507 EMS PERSONNEL 

CREDENTIALS 

(a)  An Any EMS credential that has been forfeited under G.S. 

15A-1331.1 may not be reinstated until the person has complied 

with the court's requirements, has petitioned the Department for 

reinstatement, has completed the disciplinary process, and has 

received Department reinstatement approval. 

(b)  The Department shall amend, deny, suspend, or revoke the 

credentials of EMS personnel for any of the following: 

(1) significant failure to comply with the applicable 

performance and credentialing requirements as 

found in this Subchapter; 

(2) making false statements or representations to 

the Department, or concealing information in 

connection with an application for credentials; 

(3) making false statements or representations, 

concealing information, or failing to respond to 

inquiries from the Department during a 

complaint investigation; 

(4) tampering with, or falsifying any record used in 

the process of obtaining an initial EMS 

credential, or in the renewal of an EMS 

credential; 

(5) in any manner or using any medium, engaging 

in the stealing, manipulating, copying, 

reproducing, or reconstructing of any written 

EMS credentialing examination questions, or 

scenarios; 
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(6) cheating, or assisting others to cheat while 

preparing to take, or when taking a written EMS 

credentialing examination; 

(7) altering an EMS credential, using an EMS 

credential that has been altered, or permitting or 

allowing another person to use his or her EMS 

credential for the purpose of alteration. 

"Altering" includes changing the name, 

expiration date, or any other information 

appearing on the EMS credential; 

(8) unprofessional conduct, including a significant 

failure to comply with the rules relating to the 

function of credentialed EMS personnel 

contained in this Subchapter, or the 

performance of or attempt to perform a 

procedure that is detrimental to the health and 

safety of any person, or that is beyond the scope 

of practice of credentialed EMS personnel or 

EMS instructors; 

(9) being unable to perform as credentialed EMS 

personnel with reasonable skill and safety to 

patients and the public by reason of illness that 

will compromise skill and safety, use of 

alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other type of 

material, or by reason of any physical 

impairment; 

(10) conviction in any court of a crime involving 

moral turpitude, a conviction of a felony, a 

conviction requiring registering on a sex 

offender registry, or conviction of a crime 

involving the scope of practice of credentialed 

EMS personnel; 

(11) by theft or false representations obtaining or 

attempting to obtain, money or anything of 

value from a patient; patient, EMS Agency, or 

educational institution; 

(12) adjudication of mental incompetence; 

(13) lack of competence to practice with a 

reasonable degree of skill and safety for 

patients, including a failure to perform a 

prescribed procedure, failure to perform a 

prescribed procedure competently, or 

performance of a procedure that is not within 

the scope of practice of credentialed EMS 

personnel or EMS instructors; 

(14) performing as a credentialed EMS personnel in 

any EMS System in which the individual is not 

affiliated and authorized to function; 

(15) performing or authorizing the performance of 

procedures, or administration of medications 

detrimental to a student or individual; 

(16) delay or failure to respond when on-duty and 

dispatched to a call for EMS assistance; 

(17) testing positive, whether for-cause or at 

random, through urine, blood, or breath 

sampling, for any substance, legal or illegal, 

that is likely to impair the physical or 

psychological ability of the credentialed EMS 

personnel to perform all required or expected 

functions while on duty; 

(18) failure to comply with G.S. 143-518 regarding 

the use or disclosure of records or data 

associated with EMS Systems, Specialty Care 

Transport Programs, Alternative Practice 

Settings, or patients; 

(19) refusing to consent to any criminal history 

check required by G.S. 131E-159; 

(20) abandoning or neglecting a patient who is in 

need of care, without making arrangements for 

the continuation of such care; 

(21) falsifying a patient's record or any controlled 

substance records; 

(22) harassing, abusing, or intimidating a patient, 

student, bystander, or OEMS staff, either 

physically, verbally, or in writing; 

(23) engaging in any activities of a sexual nature 

with a patient, including kissing, fondling, or 

touching while responsible for the care of that 

individual; 

(24) any criminal arrests that involve charges that 

have been determined by the Department to 

indicate a necessity to seek action in order to 

further protect the public pending adjudication 

by a court; 

(25) altering, destroying, or attempting to destroy 

evidence needed for a complaint investigation 

being conducted by the OEMS; 

(26) significant failure to comply with a condition to 

the issuance of an encumbered EMS credential 

with limited and restricted practices for persons 

in the chemical addiction or abuse treatment 

program; 

(27) unauthorized possession of lethal or non-lethal 

weapons, chemical irritants to include mace, 

pepper (oleoresin capsicum) spray and tear gas, 

or explosives while in the performance of 

providing emergency medical services; 

(28) significant failure to comply to provide EMS 

care records to the licensed EMS provider for 

submission to the OEMS as required by Rule 

.0204 of this Subchapter; 

(29) continuing to provide EMS care after local 

suspension of practice privileges by the local 

EMS System, Medical Director, or Alternative 

Practice Setting; or 

(30) representing or allowing others to represent that 

the credentialed EMS personnel has a credential 

that the credentialed EMS personnel does not in 

fact have. have; 

(31) diversion of any medication requiring medical 

oversight for credentialed EMS personnel; or 

(32) filing a knowingly false complaint against an 

individual, EMS Agency, or educational 

institution. 

(c)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 131E-159(h), the OEMS 

shall not issue an EMS credential for any person listed on the 

North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and 
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Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense 

that would have required registration if committed at a time when 

the registration would have been required by law. 

(d)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 50-13.12, upon notification 

by the court, the OEMS shall revoke an individual's EMS 

credential until the Department has been notified by the court that 

evidence has been obtained of compliance with a child support 

order. The provisions of G.S. 50-13.12 supersede the 

requirements of Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(e)  When a person who is credentialed to practice as an EMS 

professional is also credentialed in another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction takes disciplinary action against the person, the 

Department shall summarily impose the same or lesser 

disciplinary action upon receipt of the other jurisdiction's action. 

The EMS professional may request a hearing before the EMS 

Disciplinary Committee. At the hearing the issues shall be limited 

to: 

(1) whether the person against whom action was 

taken by the other jurisdiction and the 

Department are the same person; 

(2) whether the conduct found by the other 

jurisdiction also violates the rules of the N.C. 

Medical Care Commission; and 

(3) whether the sanction imposed by the other 

jurisdiction is lawful under North Carolina law. 

(f)  The OEMS shall provide written notification of the 

amendment, denial, suspension, or revocation. This notice shall 

be given personally or by certified mail, and shall set forth: 

(1) the factual allegations; 

(2) the statutes or rules alleged to have been 

violated; and 

(3) notice of the individual's right to a contested 

hearing, set forth in Rule .1509 of this Section, 

on the revocation of the credential. 

(g)  The OEMS shall provide written notification to the EMS 

professional within five business days after information has been 

entered into the National Practitioner Data Bank and the 

Healthcare Integrity and Protection Integrity Data Bank. 

(h)  The EMS System Administrator, Primary Agency Contact, 

Medical Director, Educational Institution Program Coordinator, 

or Medical Advisor shall notify the OEMS of any violation listed 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(10); 143-519. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1511 PROCEDURES FOR 

QUALIFYING FOR AN EMS CREDENTIAL 

FOLLOWING ENFORCEMENT ACTION 

(a)  Any individual who has been subject to denial, suspension, 

revocation, or amendment of an EMS credential shall submit in 

writing to the OEMS a request for review to determine eligibility 

for credentialing. 

(b)  Factors the Department shall consider when determining 

eligibility shall include: 

(1) the reason for administrative action, including: 

(A) criminal history; 

(B) patient care; 

(C) substance abuse; and 

(D) failure to meet credentialing 

requirements; 

(2) the length of time since the administrative 

action was taken; and 

(3) any mitigating or aggravating factors relevant 

to obtaining a valid EMS credential. 

(c)  In order to be considered for eligibility, the individual shall: 

(1) wait a minimum of 36 months following 

administrative action before seeking review; 

and 

(2) undergo a criminal history background check. 

If the individual has been charged or convicted 

of a misdemeanor or felony in this or any other 

state or country within the previous 36 months, 

the 36 month waiting period shall begin from 

the date of the latest charge or conviction. 

(d)  If determined to be eligible, the Department shall grant 

authorization for the individual to begin the process for EMS 

credentialing as set forth in Rule .0502 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Prior to enrollment in an EMS educational program, the 

individual shall disclose the prior administrative action taken 

against the individual's credential in writing to the EMS 

Educational Institution. 

(f)  An individual who has undergone administrative action 

against his or her EMS credential is not eligible for legal 

recognition as defined in G.S. 131E-159(d) or issuance of a 

temporary EMS credential as defined in G.S. 131E159(e). 

(g)  For a period of 10 years following restoration of the EMS 

credential, the individual shall disclose the prior administrative 

action taken against his or her credential to every EMS System, 

Medical Director, EMS Provider, and EMS Educational 

Institution where he or she is affiliated and provide a letter to the 

OEMS from each verifying disclosure. 

(h)  If the Department determines the individual is ineligible for 

EMS credentialing pursuant to this Rule, the Department shall 

provide in writing the reason(s) for denial and inform him or her 

of the procedures for contested case hearing as set forth in Rule 

.1509 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-159(g); 143-508(d)(3); 143-508(d)(10). 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0202, .0209, 

.0403; and 09G .0414. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 24, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 
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Location:  Wake Technical Community College Public Safety, 

321 Chapanoke Rd., Raleigh NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

12 NCAC 09B .0202 - Updating the mandatory evaluator to 

ensure consistency. 

12 NCAC 09B .0209 - Removing the practical exercises, 

demonstrations, and post-testing from the instructional hours. 

Still requiring that these exercises, demonstrations, and post-

testing take place – however, the time that each of these activities 

takes maybe dependent upon the number of students in the course. 

12 NCAC 09B .0403 - adding language to address certification 

status for separation law enforcement.  

12 NCAC 09G .0414 - simply language in the rule to refer back 

to 09B .0209. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique D. Williams, PO 

Box Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602 

 

Comment period ends:  February 24, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0200 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF 

INSTRUCTION 

 

Note: The text in italics is pending RRC review at the December 

17, 2020 meeting. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE 

SCHOOL DIRECTOR 

(a)  In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each 

Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum 

in accordance with the curriculum standards 

established in this Subchapter; 

(2) Select and schedule instructors who are 

certified by the Commission; 

(3) Provide each instructor with a current 

Commission course outline and all necessary 

additional information concerning the 

instructor's duties and responsibilities; 

(4) Notify each instructor that he or she shall 

comply with the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide and 

provide him or her access to the most current 

version of the Course Management Guide; 

(5) Ensure each instructor utilizes Commission 

approved lesson plans and instructional 

materials;  

(6) Arrange for the availability of appropriate 

audiovisual aids and materials, publications, 

facilities, and equipment for training in all topic 

areas; 

(7) Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any 

supplemental rules and requirements 

determined by the school to be necessary or 

appropriate for: 

(A) effective course delivery; 

(B) establishing responsibilities and 

obligations of agencies or departments 

employing or sponsoring course 

trainees; and 

(C) regulating trainee participation and 

demeanor, ensuring trainee 

attendance, and maintaining 

performance records; 

(8) If appropriate, recommend housing and dining 

facilities for trainees; 

(9) Administer the course delivery in accordance 

with Commission approved lesson plans and 

course management guides;  

(10) Maintain direct supervision, direction, and 

control over the performance of all persons to 

whom any portion of the planning, 

development, presentation, or administration of 

a course has been delegated. The 

comprehensive final examination shall be 

administered by the Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission; and 

(11) Report the completion of each presentation of a 

Commission-certified criminal justice training 

course to the Commission, utilizing forms 

required for submission, which are located on 
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the Agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-

and-publications/. 

(b)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Deliver training in accordance with the most 

current version of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide as 

published by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy; 

(2) Schedule course presentation to include 12 

hours of instruction each week during 

consecutive calendar weeks, except that there 

may be as many as three one-week breaks until 

course requirements are completed; 

(3) Schedule only specialized instructors certified 

by the Commission to teach those high-liability 

areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this 

Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as 

assistant instructors or role players; 

(4) With the exception of the First Responder, 

Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous 

Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule 

.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one 

specialized instructor certified by the 

Commission for every six trainees while 

engaged in a practical performance exercise; 

(5) Schedule one specialized instructor certified by 

the Commission for every eight trainees while 

engaged in a practical performance exercise in 

the topical area "Subject Control Arrest 

Techniques;" 

(6) Schedule no single individual to instruct more 

than 35 percent of the total hours of the 

curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course 

presentation; 

(7) Not less than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course, submit to the Commission a 

Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0211. 

The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall 

indicate a requested date and location for the 

administration of the state comprehensive 

exam, and include the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; and 

(B) a copy of any rules and requirements 

for the school. A copy of such rules 

shall also be given to each trainee and 

to the executive officer of each 

trainee's employing or sponsoring 

agency or department at the time the 

trainee enrolls in the course; 

(8) Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by 

the Commission to monitor, a presentation of 

each instructor once during each three year 

certification period in each topic taught by the 

instructor and prepare a written evaluation on 

the instructor's performance and suitability for 

subsequent instructional assignments. The 

observations shall be of sufficient duration to 

ensure that the instructor is using the 

Instructional System Design model, and that the 

delivery is objective-based, documented by, 

and consistent with a Commission-approved 

lesson plan. For each topic area, the School 

Director's evaluation shall be based upon the 

course delivery observations, the instructor's 

use of the approved lesson plan, and the results 

of the student evaluations of the instructor. For 

probationary instructors, the evaluations 

conducted by another instructor shall be 

prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation (Form F-16) and forwarded to the 

Commission. Based on this evaluation, the 

School Director shall recommend approval or 

denial of requests for General Instructor 

Certification. For all other instructors, these 

evaluations shall be prepared on the Criminal 

Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16), be 

kept on file by the school for a period of three 

years, and shall be made available for 

inspection by a representative of the 

Commission upon request. In the event the 

evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or 

her performance was less than acceptable, the 

School Director shall forward a copy of the 

evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor 

who is evaluating the instructional presentation 

of another instructor shall hold certification in 

the same instructional topic area as that for 

which the instructor is being evaluated; 

(9) Administer or designate a staff person to 

administer course specific tests during course 

delivery: 

(A) to determine and record the level of 

trainee comprehension and retention 

of instructional subject- matter; 

(B) to provide a basis for a final 

determination or recommendation 

regarding the minimum degree of 

knowledge and skill of each trainee to 

function as an inexperienced law 

enforcement officer; and 

(C) to determine subject or topic areas of 

deficiency for the application of Rule 

.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and 

(10) Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a 

school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement 

Training, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include: 
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(A) a "Student Course Completion" form 

for each individual enrolled on the day 

of orientation; and 

(B) a "Certification and Test Score 

Release" form. 

(C) the “Police Officer Physical Ability 

Test (POPAT) Post-Course” final 

form; and 

(D) Orientation class enrollment roster. 

(c)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the 

School Director shall: 

(1) Schedule course presentation pursuant to Rule 

.0209 of this Subchapter; include a minimum of 

78 hours of instruction during the time period 

the class is taught until course requirements are 

completed.  

(2) Schedule evaluators at least one evaluator for 

every six trainees, as follows: 

(A) no evaluator shall be assigned more 

than six trainees during a course 

delivery; 

(A)(B) each evaluator, as well as the 

instructors, shall have completed a 

Commission-certified instructor 

training course or an equivalent 

instructor training course utilizing the 

Instructional Systems Design model, 

an international model with 

applications in education, military 

training, and private enterprise; and 

(B)(C) each instructor and evaluator shall 

document successful participation in a 

program presented by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy for 

purposes of familiarization and 

supplementation relevant to delivery 

of the instructor training course and 

trainee; trainee evaluation. 

(3) Not fewer than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the course, submit to the 

Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)] with 

the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; 

(B) the names and last four digits of the 

social security numbers of all 

instructors and evaluators; and 

(C) a copy of any rules, and requirements 

for the school; and 

(4) Not more than 10 days after course completion, 

submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery 

Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the 

following: 

(A) class enrollment roster; 

(B) a course schedule with the designation 

of instructors and evaluators utilized 

in delivery; 

(C) scores recorded for each trainee on the 

70 minute skill presentation; and 

(D) designation of trainees who completed 

the course in its entirety and whom the 

School Director finds to be competent 

to instruct. 

(d)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, 

or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall: 

(1) select and schedule speed measurement 

instrument instructors who are certified by the 

Commission as instructors for the specific 

speed measurement instruments in which the 

trainees are to receive instruction as follows: 

(A) provide to the instructor the 

Commission form(s) for motor skill 

examination on each trainee; 

(B) require the instructor to complete the 

motor skill examination form on each 

trainee indicating the level of 

proficiency obtained on each specific 

instrument; and 

(C) require each instructor to sign each 

individual form and submit the 

original to the School Director; 

(2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled 

starting date, submit to the Director of the 

Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of 

Speed Measuring Instrument Course 

Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall 

contain a period of course delivery including 

the proposed starting date, course location, 

requested date and location for the 

administration of the state exam, and the 

number of trainees to be trained on each type of 

approved speed measurement instrument. The 

Director of the Standards Division shall review 

the request and notify the School Director 

within thirty business days if the request is 

approved or denied; and 

(3) upon completing delivery of the Commission-

certified course, and not more than 10 days after 

the conclusion of a school's offering of a 

certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-

Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed 

measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall 

notify the Commission regarding the progress 

and achievements of each trainee by submitting 

a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report 

shall include the original motor-skill 

examination form(s) completed and signed by 

the certified instructor responsible for 
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administering the motor-skill examination to 

the respective trainee. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING  

(a)  The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor 

certification shall consist of a minimum of 90 40 hours of 

classroom instruction plus the time required to conduct practical 

exercises, student presentations, and post testing presented during 

a period of no more than instruction, as defined in Paragraph (c) 

of this Rule, within 15-business days.  

(b)  Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide 

the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions 

of a criminal justice instructor. 

(c)  Each Instructor Training course shall include the following 

identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each 

area: 

(1) Orientation and Pre-Test 1 Hour 4 Hours  

(2) Instructional Systems Design (ISD)  

    5 8 Hours 

(3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and 

Legal Responsibilities  2 3 Hours 

(4) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership 

    4 Hours 

(5) Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional 

Resources   2 3 Hours 

(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting 

    3 4 Hours 

(7) Adult Learning   2 4 Hours 

(8) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills 

    5 8 Hours 

(9) Classroom Management  3 4 Hours 

(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical 

Exercises   3 8 Hours 

(11) The Evaluation Process of Learning  

    4 5 Hours 

(12) Audio Visual Aids  5 6 Hours 

(13) Student 8-Minute Introductions and Video 

Critique    5 Hours 

(14) Student Performance: First 35-Minute 

Presentation   6 Hours 

Second 35-Minute Presentation  

    6 Hours 

Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review 

    8 Hours 

(13)(15) Course Closing and Post-test  

        1 Hour 4 Hours 

(14) Completion of tasks associated with practical 

exercises, student presentations, and post 

testing, the number of hours required to 

complete this portion of the curriculum shall be 

based on the number of enrolled students, 

available facilities, and number of instructors. 

(d)  The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor 

training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at 

the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from 

the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0403 EVALUATION FOR TRAINING 

WAIVER 

(a)  The Standards Division staff shall evaluate each law 

enforcement officer's training and experience to determine if 

equivalent training has been completed as specified in Rule 

.0402(a) of this Section. Applicants for certification with prior law 

enforcement experience shall have been employed in a full-time, 

sworn law enforcement position in order to be considered for 

training evaluation under this Rule. Applicants for certification 

with a combination of full-time and part-time experience shall be 

evaluated on the basis of the full-time experience only. The 

following criteria shall be used by Standards Division staff in 

evaluating a law enforcement officer's training and experience to 

determine eligibility for a waiver of training requirements: 

(1) Persons having completed a Commission-

accredited basic training program and not 

having been duly appointed and sworn as a law 

enforcement officer within one year of 

completion of the program shall complete a 

subsequent Commission-accredited basic 

training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a) 

of this Section, and shall achieve a passing 

score on the State Comprehensive Examination 

prior to obtaining probationary law 

enforcement certification, unless the Director 

determines that a delay in applying for 

certification was not due to neglect on the part 

of the applicant, in which case the Director shall 

accept a Commission-accredited basic training 

program that is over one year old. The 

appointing agency shall request in writing the 

extension of the one year period, which shall 

not exceed 30 days from the first year 

anniversary of the passing of the state 

comprehensive examination; 

(2) Out-of-state transferees shall be evaluated to 

determine the amount and quality of their 

training and experience. Out-of-state 

transferees shall not have a break in service 

exceeding three years. At a minimum, 

out-of-state transferees shall have two years' 

full-time, sworn law enforcement experience 

and have completed a basic law enforcement 

training course accredited by the transferring 

State. An individual's attendance at their basic 

law enforcement class shall not count towards 
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the two years' full-time sworn law enforcement 

experience. Prior to employment as a certified 

law enforcement officer, out-of-state 

transferees shall complete with a passing score 

the employing agency's in-service firearms 

training and qualification program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. In addition, 

out-of-state transferees shall complete the 

Legal Unit in a Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course as 

prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination within 

the 12 month probationary period; 

(3) Persons who have completed a 369-hour basic 

law enforcement training program accredited 

by the Commission under guidelines 

administered beginning October 1, 1984, have 

been separated from a sworn position for over 

one year but less than three years, and who have 

had a minimum of two years' experience as a 

full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in 

North Carolina shall complete the Legal Unit in 

a Commission-accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course as prescribed in 

Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter and shall 

achieve a passing score on the State 

Comprehensive Examination within the 12 

month probationary period. Prior to 

employment as a certified law enforcement 

officer, these persons shall complete with a 

passing score the employing agency's in-service 

firearms training and qualification program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E; 

(4) Persons who have completed a 396-hour basic 

law enforcement training program accredited 

by the Commission under guidelines 

administered beginning October 1, 1984, have 

been separated from a sworn position more than 

one year but less than five years and who have 

a minimum of two years’ experience as a full-

time, sworn law enforcement officer in North 

Carolina, who have not been convicted of a 

disqualifying criminal offense as listed in Rule 

.0111(1) of this Subchapter, and who have 

successfully completed the mandatory in-

service training requirements pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09E .0105 or 12 NCAC 10B .2005, with 

the exception of Firearms Training and 

Requalification, during each year the person 

was separated from a sworn position prior to 

employment as a certified law enforcement 

officer shall complete the  topic areas within the 

following time frames: 

(A) Prior to employment as a certified law 

enforcement officer, the person shall 

complete the appointing agency's in-

service firearms training and 

qualification program as prescribed in 

12 NCAC 09E; 

(B) Prior to employment as a certified law 

enforcement officer, the person shall 

achieve a passing score on the 

practical skills testing for the First 

Responder, Law Enforcement Driver 

Training, and Subject Control Arrest 

Techniques topics enumerated in Rule 

.0205(b)(5) of this Subchapter. The 

person shall also successfully 

complete the Police Officer Physical 

Abilities Test. The practical skills 

testing and the Police Officer Physical 

Abilities Test may be completed either 

in a Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training course or 

under the instruction of a 

Commission-Certified instructor for 

that particular skill. The person shall 

also meet the requirements per Rule 

.0101 of this Subchapter; and 

(C) Within 12 months of being issued 

probationary certification, the person 

shall complete the topics in the legal 

unit of instruction in the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training course as set 

forth in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter. The required topics 

include Motor Vehicle Law; Juvenile 

Laws and Procedures; Arrest, Search 

and Seizure/Constitutional Law; and 

ABC Laws and Procedures. The 

person shall achieve a passing score on 

the appropriate topic tests for each 

course. The person may undertake 

each of these legal unit topics of 

instruction either in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law Enforcement 

Training course or under the 

instruction of a Commission-certified 

instructor for that particular topic of 

instruction. 

An individual's attendance at their basic law 

enforcement class shall not count towards the 

two years' full-time sworn law enforcement 

experience. Persons who meet the criteria listed 

above shall be processed as a probationary 

certification and shall serve a one-year 

probationary period as defined in 12 NCAC 

09C .0303.  

(4)(5) Persons out of the law enforcement profession 

for over one year but less than three years who 

have had less than two years experience as a 

full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in 

North Carolina shall complete a Commission-

accredited basic training program, as prescribed 

in Rule .0405(a) of this Section, and achieve a 
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passing score on the State Comprehensive 

Examination; 

(5)(6) Persons out of the law enforcement profession 

for over three years and who do not meet the 

criteria of Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph 

shall complete a Commission-accredited basic 

training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a) 

of this Section, regardless of prior training or 

experience, and shall achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination; 

(6)(7) Persons who separated from law enforcement 

employment during their probationary period 

after having completed a Commission-

accredited basic training program and who have 

separated from a sworn law enforcement 

position for more than one year shall complete 

a subsequent Commission-accredited basic 

training program and shall achieve a passing 

score on the State Comprehensive 

Examination; 

(7)(8) Persons who separated from a sworn law 

enforcement position during their probationary 

period after having completed a Commission-

accredited basic training program and who have 

separated from a sworn law enforcement 

position for less than one year shall serve a new 

12 month probationary period as prescribed in 

Rule .0401(a) of this Section, but shall not be 

required to complete an additional training 

program; 

(8)(9) Persons who have completed a minimum 

160-hour basic law enforcement training 

program accredited by the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Training and Standards 

Council under guidelines administered 

beginning on July 1, 1973, and continuing 

through September 30, 1978, and who have 

separated from a sworn law enforcement 

position for over one year but less than two 

years shall complete the Legal Unit and the 

topical area entitled "Law Enforcement Driver 

Training" of a Commission-accredited Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course as 

prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) and 

.0205(b)(5)(C) of this Subchapter and shall 

achieve a passing score on the State 

Comprehensive Examination within the 12 

month probationary period; 

(9)(10) Persons who have completed a minimum 

160-hour basic law enforcement training 

program accredited by the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Training and Standards 

Council under guidelines administered 

beginning on July 1, 1973, and continuing 

through September 30, 1978, and have been 

separated from a sworn law enforcement 

position for two or more years shall complete a 

Commission-accredited basic training program, 

as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this Section, 

regardless of training and experience, and shall 

achieve a passing score on the State 

Comprehensive Examination; 

(10)(11) Persons who have completed a minimum 

240-hour basic law enforcement training 

program accredited by the Commission under 

guidelines administered beginning October 1, 

1978, and continuing through September 30, 

1984, and have been separated from a sworn 

position over one year but less than three years 

shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination within 

the 12 month probationary period; 

(11)(12) Persons previously holding law enforcement 

certification in accordance with G.S. 17C-10(a) 

who have been separated from a sworn law 

enforcement position for over one year and who 

have not previously completed a minimum 

basic training program accredited by either the 

North Carolina Criminal Justice Training and 

Standards Council or the Commission shall 

complete a Commission-accredited basic 

training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of 

this Section, and shall achieve a passing score 

on the State Comprehensive Examination prior 

to employment; 

(12)(13) Individuals seeking certification with the 

Commission who have been appointed as 

Special Agents with the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation; United States Secret Service; 

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms; and 

Drug Enforcement Administration; United 

States Marshals and Deputy United States 

Marshals, who have not had a break in service 

exceeding three years, shall be evaluated to 

determine the amount and quality of their 

training and experience. At a minimum, federal 

law enforcement officers shall have two years' 

full-time, sworn law enforcement experience 

and have completed a basic law enforcement 

training course as required by their appointing 

federal agency. Prior to employment as a 

certified law enforcement officer, these 

individuals shall complete with a passing score 

the employing agency's in-service firearms 

training and qualification program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. These 

individuals shall complete the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training topics pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09B .0205(b)(1)(A), (b)(1)(C), 

(b)(1)(D), (b)(1)(F), (b)(2)(A), (b)(2)(C), 

(b)(2)(E), (b)(2)(F), (b)(2)(I), (b)(3)(B), 

(b)(3)(D), (b)(4)(E), (b)(5)(A), (b)(6)(A), 

(b)(6)(B), (b)(6)(C), and shall achieve a passing 

score on the State Comprehensive Examination 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0406 within the 12 
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month probationary period. Individuals who 

submit to the Commission documentation of 

completion of training equivalent to the topics 

set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0205(b)(2)(A), 

(b)(2)(C), (b)(2)(E), (b)(2)(F), (b)(2)(I), 

(b)(3)(B), (b)(3)(D), (b)(4)(E), (b)(5)(A), 

(b)(6)(A), (b)(6)(B), and (b)(6)(C) shall not be 

required to complete those topics. 

(13)(14) Federal law enforcement transferees other than 

those listed in Paragraph (12) of this Rule who 

have not had a break in service exceeding three 

years shall be evaluated to determine the 

amount and quality of their training and 

experience. At a minimum, federal law 

enforcement officers shall have two years' full-

time, sworn law enforcement experience and 

have completed a basic law enforcement 

training course as required by their appointing 

federal agency. Prior to employment as a 

certified law enforcement officer, transferees 

shall complete with a passing score the 

employing agency's in-service firearms training 

and qualification program as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 09E .0106. At a minimum, transferees 

shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination within 

12 month probationary period. 

(14)(15) Applicants with part-time experience who have 

a break in service in excess of one year shall 

complete a Commission-accredited basic 

training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of 

this Section, and shall achieve a passing score 

on the State Comprehensive Examination prior 

to employment; 

(15)(16) Applicants who hold or previously held 

certification issued by the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission (Sheriffs' Commission) shall be 

subject to evaluation based on the applicant's 

active or inactive certification status with the 

Sheriffs' Commission. A deputy sheriff 

certified with the Sheriffs' Commission shall be 

considered active if he or she has performed any 

law enforcement function during the previous 

12 months. A deputy sheriff certified with the 

Sheriffs' Commission shall be considered 

inactive if he or she has not performed a law 

enforcement function during the previous 12 

months. 

(A) The Standards Division shall issue 

certification to an applicant holding 

active general certification with the 

Sheriffs' Commission provided that 

the applicant: 

(i) Does not have a break in 

service of greater than 12 

months; 

(ii) Has completed the 

mandatory in-service 

training requirements 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.2005 for each year 

certification was held; and 

(iii) Held active status with the 

Sheriffs' Commission within 

12 months of the date the 

applicant achieved a passing 

score on the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training state 

comprehensive examination. 

(B) The Standards Division shall issue 

certification to an applicant holding 

inactive certification with the Sheriffs' 

Commission provided that the 

applicant: 

(i) Holds inactive probationary 

or general certification with 

the Sheriffs' Commission; 

(ii) Has served a minimum of 24 

months of full time sworn 

service or does not have a 

break in service of greater 

than 12 months; 

(iii) Has completed the 

mandatory in-service 

training requirements 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.2005, with the exception of 

Firearms Training and 

Requalification, during each 

year certification was held; 

and 

(iv) Held active status with the 

Sheriffs' Commission within 

12 months of the date the 

applicant achieved a passing 

score on the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training state 

comprehensive examination. 

(C) An applicant awarded certification 

with the Sheriffs' Commission by 

means of the Sheriffs' Standards 

BLET Challenge as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 10B .0505(9)(b) shall meet the 

following requirements in order to 

obtain probationary certification from 

the Commission: 

(i) Have a minimum of 24 

months of sworn, full-time 

law enforcement service; 

(ii) Not have a break in service of 

greater than 12 months; and 
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(iii) Have completed all 

mandatory in-service 

requirements pursuant to 12 

NCAC 10B .0505 during the 

previous 2 years. 

(D) An applicant who is a criminal justice 

officer, as defined in G.S. 17C-2(3), 

and who is elected Sheriff shall not be 

required to maintain certification with 

the Sheriffs' Commission for the time 

period he or she serves as Sheriff. The 

applicant's certification shall be 

reinstated by the Commission upon 

the conclusion of the period of service 

as Sheriff and in conformance with 12 

NCAC 09C .0303. 

(16)(17) Alcohol law enforcement agents who received 

basic alcohol law enforcement training prior to 

November 1, 1993, and transfer to another law 

enforcement agency in a sworn capacity shall 

be subject to evaluation of their prior training 

and experience on an individual basis. The 

Standards Division staff shall determine the 

amount of training required of these applicants, 

based upon the type of certification held by the 

applicant and the length of any break in the 

applicant's sworn, full-time service. 

(17)(18) Wildlife enforcement officers who separate 

from employment with the Wildlife 

Enforcement Division and transfer to another 

law enforcement agency in a sworn capacity 

shall be subject to evaluation of their prior 

training and experience on an individual basis. 

The Standards Division staff shall determine 

the amount of training required of these 

applicants, based upon the type of certification 

held by the applicant and the length of any 

break in the applicant's sworn, full-time service. 

(18)(19) Active duty, guard, or reserve military members 

failing to complete all of the required annual in-

service training topics, as defined in 12 NCAC 

09E .0105 of this Chapter, due to military 

obligations are subject to the following training 

requirements as a condition for return to active 

criminal justice status. The agency head shall 

verify the person's completion of the 

appropriate training by submitting a statement, 

on Form F-9C, Return to Duty Request form. 

This form is located on the agency's website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/ac22954d-5e85-

4a33-87af-308ba2248f54/F-9C-6-11.aspx. 

(A) Active duty members of the armed 

forces eligible for probationary 

certification pursuant to Paragraph 

(18) of this Rule and active duty, 

guard, or reserve military members 

holding probationary or general 

certification as a criminal justice 

officer who fail to complete all of the 

required annual in-service training 

topics due to military obligations for 

up to a period of three years shall 

complete the previous year's required 

in-service training topics, the current 

year's required in-service training 

topics, and complete with a passing 

score the appointing agency's in-

service firearms training and 

qualification program as prescribed in 

12 NCAC 09E prior to their return to 

active criminal justice status; 

(B) Active duty, guard, or reserve military 

members holding probationary or 

general certification as a criminal 

justice officer who fail to complete all 

of the required annual in-service 

training topics due to military 

obligations for a period greater than 

three years shall complete the 

following topic areas within the 

following time frames: 

(i) The person shall complete 

the previous year's required 

in-service training topics, the 

current year's required in-

service training topics, and 

complete the appointing 

agency's in-service firearms 

training and qualification 

program as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 09E prior to their 

return to active criminal 

justice status; 

(ii) The person shall achieve a 

passing score on the practical 

skills testing for the First 

Responder, Law 

Enforcement Driver 

Training, and Subject 

Control Arrest Techniques 

topics enumerated in Rule 

.0205(b)(5) of this 

Subchapter prior to returning 

to active criminal justice 

status. This practical skills 

testing may be completed 

either in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training course 

or under the instruction of a 

Commission-Certified 

instructor for that particular 

skill. The person shall 

complete one physical fitness 

assessment in lieu of the 

Fitness Assessment and 

Testing topic. The person 

shall also be examined by a 
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physician per Rule .0104(b) 

of this Subchapter; and 

(iii) The person shall complete 

some of the topics in the legal 

unit of instruction in the 

Basic Law Enforcement 

Training course as set forth in 

Rule .0205(b)(1) of this 

Subchapter. The required 

topics include Motor Vehicle 

Law; Juvenile Laws and 

Procedures; Arrest, Search 

and Seizure/Constitutional 

Law; and ABC Laws and 

Procedures. The person shall 

achieve a passing score on 

the appropriate topic tests for 

each course. The person may 

undertake each of these legal 

unit topics of instruction 

either in a Commission-

accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training course 

or under the instruction of a 

Commission-certified 

instructor for that particular 

topic of instruction. The 

person shall complete each of 

the enumerated topics of 

instruction within 12 months 

from the beginning of his or 

her return to active criminal 

justice status. 

(19)(20) An active duty member of the armed forces who 

completes the basic training course in its 

entirety as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this 

Subchapter, annually completes the mandatory 

in-service training topics as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 09E .0105, with the exception of the 

Firearms Qualification and Testing 

requirements contained in 12 NCAC 09E 

.0105(a)(1), for each year subsequent to the 

completion of the basic training course, and 

achieves a passing score on the state 

comprehensive examination as prescribed in 

Rule .0406 of this Subchapter within five years 

of separating from active duty status shall be 

eligible for probationary certification as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09C .0303 for a period 

of 12 months from the date he or she separates 

from active duty status in the armed forces. All 

mandatory in-service training topics as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 shall be 

completed by the individual prior to receiving 

probationary certification as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 09E .0105. 

(b)  In the event the applicant's prior training is not equivalent to 

the Commission's standards, the Commission shall prescribe as a 

condition of certification supplementary or remedial training to 

equate previous training with current standards. 

(c)  If certifications issued by the Commission require satisfactory 

performance on a written examination as part of the training, the 

Commission shall require the examinations for the certification. 

(d)  If an evaluation of the applicant's prior training and 

experience determines that required attendance in the entire Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course is unnecessary, the Director of 

the Standards Division shall determine the amount of training 

those persons shall complete during their probationary period. 

(e)  The following criteria shall be used by Standards Division 

staff in evaluating prior training and experience of local 

confinement personnel to determine eligibility for a waiver of 

training requirements: 

(1) Persons who hold probationary, general, or 

grandfather certification as local confinement 

personnel and separate after having completed 

a Commission-accredited course as prescribed 

in Rule .0224 or .0225 of this Subchapter and 

have been separated for one year or more shall 

complete a subsequent Commission-accredited 

training course and achieve a passing score on 

the State Comprehensive Examination during 

the probationary period as prescribed in Rule 

.0401(a) of this Section; 

(2) Persons who separated from a local 

confinement personnel position after having 

completed a Commission-accredited course as 

prescribed in Rule .0224 or .0225 of this 

Subchapter and who have been separated for 

less than one year shall serve a new 12 month 

probationary period, but shall be required to 

complete an additional training program; 

(3) Applicants who hold or previously held 

"Detention Officer Certification" issued by the 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 

Training Standards Commission shall be 

subject to evaluation of their prior training and 

experience on an individual basis. No 

additional training shall be required where the 

applicant obtained certification and 

successfully completed the required 120 hour 

training course and has not had a break in 

service in excess of one year; and 

(4) Persons holding certification for local 

confinement facilities who transfer to a district 

or county confinement facility shall complete 

the course for district and county confinement 

facility personnel, as adopted by reference in 

Rule .0224 of this Subchapter, and achieve a 

passing score on the State Comprehensive 

Examination during the probationary period as 

prescribed in Rule .0401(a) of this Section. 

  

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 93B-15.1. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 
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SECTION .0400 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

TRAINING OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICER, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0414 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor 

certification shall consist of at least the minimum number of 90 

hours of instruction presented during a continuous period of not 

more than two weeks as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0209(c) .0209 

to be completed within 15 business days. 

(b)  Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide 

the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions 

of a criminal justice instructor. 

(c)  The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the basic curriculum 

for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be 

inspected at the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from 

the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09E .0105. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 24, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College Public Safety 

Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd., Raleigh NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Update of mandatory annual in-

service topics. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique D. Williams, PO 

Box Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8206 

 

Comment period ends:  February 24, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09E - IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER'S 

IN-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0105 MINIMUM TRAINING 

SPECIFICATIONS: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

(a)  The following topics, specifications, and hours shall be 

included in each law enforcement officer's annual in-service 

training courses. For the purposes of this Subchapter, a credit shall 

be equal to one hour of traditional classroom instruction. All 

sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a minimum of 24 

in-service training credits. The following topics, totaling 14 16 

credits, shall be specifically required: 

(1) 2022 Domestic Violence: The Psychology of 

Whether to Stay or Go (2 hours/credits) 2021 

Firearms (minimum 4 credits); 

(2) 2022 Creating a Safety Net (2 hours/credits; 

Juvenile Minority Sensitivity Training) 2021 

Legal Update (minimum 4 credits); 

(3) 2022 Firearms and Qualification (4 

hours/credits) 2021 Continue to Make a 

Difference: Positive Engagement Stories and 

Studies (minimum 2 credits); 

(4) 2022 Legal Update (4 hours/credits); 

(5) 2022 Ethics: Preempting Misconduct and 

Increasing Integrity (2 hours/credits); and 2021 

School Safety and Responding to School 

Incidents (minimum 4 credits); and 

(6) 2022 Practicing Proactive Wellness (2 

hours/credits) 

(7)(5) Topics of Choice (10 -12 hours/credits); 

(A) Incorporating a Co-Response: 

Partnering with Community 

Professionals (2 hours/credits); 

Officer Awareness: Responding to 
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Victims of Trauma (minimum 4 

credits); 

(B) The Process of De-escalation: 

Listening, Talking, Defensive Tactics 

(2-4 hours/credits); Patrol Vehicle 

Operations (minimum 4 credits); 

(C) Civil Unrest: Local Leaders Discuss 

Lessons Learned (2 hours/credits); 

Hemp Industry: Overview and Officer 

Roles (minimum 2 credits); and 

(D) Subversive Groups: Maneuvering 

Encounters with Fringe Groups (2 

hours/credits); and Physical and 

Mental Wellness: Building & 

Implementing a Plan for Improvement 

(minimum 2 credits). 

(E) Raising the Bar: Enhancing 

Community Engagement (2 

hours/credits). 

(b)  All sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a 

minimum of 10 in-service credits, in topics identified by their 

respective agency heads. The agency head may choose any topic, 

provided the lesson plan is written in Instructional Systems 

Design format and is taught by an instructor who is certified by 

the Commission. Topics delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of 

this Section and National Certification Programs administered by 

the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement 

Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed during the 

mandated in-service year, shall satisfy in part or in whole the topic 

requirements set forth by the agency head. To satisfy this 

requirement these topics shall not be required to be written in 

Instructional Systems Design format or delivered by an instructor 

certified by the Commission. 

(c)  The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual" 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied 

as a guide for conducting the annual in-service firearms training 

program. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office 

of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(d)  The "In-Service Lesson Plans" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum 

curriculum for conducting the annual in-service training program. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(e)  Lesson plans are designed to be delivered in hourly 

increments. A student who completes an online in-service training 

topic shall receive the number of credits that correspond to the 

number of hours of traditional classroom training, regardless of 

the amount of time the student spends completing the course. 

(f)  Completion of training shall be demonstrated by passing a 

written test for each in-service training topic, as follows: 

(1) A written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed by the 

agency or the North Carolina Justice Academy 

for each in-service training topic requiring 

testing. The Firearms Training and 

Qualifications in-service course and topics 

delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of this 

Section shall be exempt from this written test 

requirement; 

(2) A student shall pass each test by achieving at 

least 70 percent correct answers; and 

(3) A student who completes a topic of in-service 

training in a traditional classroom setting or 

online and fails the end of topic exam shall be 

given one attempt to re-test. If the student fails 

the exam a second time, the student shall 

complete the in-service training topic in a 

traditional classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Environmental Management 

Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 15A NCAC 13B 

.1713 and repeal through readoption the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

13B .1701-.1710. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-main 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 6, 2021 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  A virtual public hearing will be held by webinar as 

follows:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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WebEx Events meeting link:  

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=efa

90104aaa76364c24c80a0fe29f4353 

Event number (access code): 178 673 9885 

Event password: NCDWM  

You may elect to have the system call you, or you may call +1-

415-655-0003 US TOLL and enter the access code above.  

If you wish to attend the hearing, you must register before 5:00 

pm on Tuesday, January 5, 2021.  

Registration information can be found on the DEQ proposed Rule 

webpage at the following link: 

https://deq.nc.gov/documents/15a-ncac-13b-1700 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Rules .1701-.1710 are proposed 

for repeal because most of the requirements for new coal 

combustion product structural fills were added to G.S. 130A 

Article 9 Part 2I by the Coal Ash Management Act of 2014 

(CAMA). The requirements that are still necessary in Section 

.1700 for existing structural fills that are not subject to CAMA 

have been consolidated and moved to new Rule .1713, which is 

proposed for adoption. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jessica Montie, 1646 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646; phone (919) 707-8247; 

email dwm.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov (please include “Solid 

Waste Rule Readoption” in the subject line) 

 

Comment period ends:  February 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13B - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT 

SECTION .1700 - REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFICIAL 

USE OF COAL COMBUSTION BY-PRODUCTS 

PRODUCTS 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1701 DEFINITIONS 

15A NCAC 13B .1702 GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR 

STRUCTURAL FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1703 NOTIFICATION FOR 

STRUCTURAL FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1704 SITING FOR STRUCTURAL 

FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1705 DESIGN, CONSTRUCTION, AND 

OPERATION FOR STRUCTURAL FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1706 CLOSURE OF STRUCTURAL 

FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1707 RECORDATION OF 

STRUCTURAL FILL FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 13B .1708 OTHER USES FOR COAL 

COMBUSTION BY-PRODUCTS 

15A NCAC 13B .1709 STORAGE AND CONTAINMENT 

OF COAL COMBUSTION BY-PRODUCTS 

15A NCAC 13B .1710 ANNUAL REPORTING 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-294. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1713 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

EXISTING STRUCTURAL FILLS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to existing structural fills. The 

definitions found in G.S. 130A-290 and G.S. 130A-309.201 shall 

apply to this Rule. For the purposes of this Rule, "existing 

structural fill" shall mean a structural fill in which coal 

combustion products were placed prior to September 20, 2014 in 

accordance with the rules of this Subchapter that were effective at 

the time of placement of the coal combustion products. Prior 

editions of the rules in this Section can be obtained free of charge 

from the Division of Waste Management at 217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603. This Rule shall not apply to structural 

fills contracted for on or after September 20, 2014. 

(b)  Upon closure, an existing structural fill shall comply with the 

requirements of G.S. 130A-309.222(a). For the purposes of this 

Rule, final cover as required in G.S. 130A-222(a)(1) shall mean 

one of the following: 

(1) no less than 12 inches of compacted earth and 

an additional six inches of soil capable of 

supporting native plant growth on the surface; 

(2) an impervious surface such as concrete or 

asphalt; or 

(3) a building or structure that does not allow 

infiltration of precipitation. 

(c)  Following closure, an existing structural fill shall be 

maintained to comply with the requirements set forth in G.S. 

130A-309.220(a)(1), (5), (6), (8), (9) and (11), except that the 

requirements shall not retroactively apply to the design, 

construction, development, or operation of an existing structural 

fill. An existing structural fill is subject to the groundwater quality 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02L and the surface water quality 

standards set forth in 15A NCAC 02B. 

(d)  Following closure, an existing structural fill shall comply with 

following: 
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(1) the landowner of the property where the 

existing structural fill is located shall not move 

or change the property boundaries in a way that 

reduces the existing 25-foot buffer between the 

existing structural fill and the property 

boundaries; 

(2) the landowner of the property where the 

existing structural fill is located shall maintain 

the existing 100-foot buffer between the 

existing structural fill and any sources of 

drinking water on land under the control of that 

landowner; and 

(3) final cover as defined in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule shall be maintained. 

(e)  An existing structural fill shall be recorded in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-309.223, except that every use of the term "coal 

combustion residuals" shall be replaced with the term "coal 

combustion products." 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.207; 130A-309.226. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Barber Examiners intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 06F .0120 and .0124. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncbarbers.com/news.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 31, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  By videoconference at https://bit.ly/3nxdVgf or by 

teleconference at (984) 204-1487, conference ID 908 130 464# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The two amendments would allow 

schools to offer certain portions of the barber curriculum through 

online classes. (There are temporary rules currently in place to 

allow online classes, but these amendments would make a 

permanent allowance.) Rule 06F .0120 specifies the number of 

hours that schools can offer online. Rule 06F .0124 exempts 

online classes from counting toward the limitations on off-campus 

instruction. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dennis Seavers, 7001 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-7000; phone (919) 814-0641; 

fax (919) 981-5068; email dennis.seavers@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06F – BARBER SCHOOL 

 

SECTION .0100 – BARBER SCHOOL 

 

21 NCAC 06F .0120 BARBER SCHOOL CURRICULA 

(a)  The following categories and courses shall comprise the minimum course work for all students at barber schools: 

Hours 

Classroom Lecture and Study Periods: 

Hygiene and Good Grooming, Professional Ethics     25 

Bacteriology, Sterilization, Sanitation      50 

Implements, Honing, Stropping, and Shaving     30 

Men's Haircutting        20 

Cutting and Styling Curly Hair, Mustaches, and Beards    10 

Shampooing and Rinsing, Scalp and Hair Treatments     10 

Theory of Massage and Facial Treatments      5 

Men's Razor Cutting, Women's Razor, and Shear Cutting    30 

Finger Waving Men's Hair, Air Waving, and Curling Iron Techniques   5 
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Permanent Waving For Men, Chemical Hair Relaxing, and Blow Drying  25 

Hair Coloring         10 

Men's Hair Pieces        5 

The Skin, Scalp, and Hair        30 

Disorders of the Skin, Scalp, and Hair      15 

Anatomy and Physiology        10 

Electricity Therapy, Light Therapy, and Chemistry     10 

Barber Styling, Shop Management, and Product Knowledge    70 

Licensing Laws and Rules and History of Barbering     20 

 

Supervised Practice in Barbering: 

Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments    55 

Shaving          50 

Tapered Hair Cutting        250 

Hair Styling of Men and Women       400 

Facials, Massages, and Packs       10 

Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Body Permanents    90 

Cutting and Fitting Hair Pieces       5 

Hair Straightening        5 

The Analyzing and Treatment of Hair and Skin Disorders    10 

 

Lectures and Demonstrations on Practical Work: 

Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments    15 

Shaving          20 

Tapered Hair Cutting        70 

Hair Styling of Men and Women       100 

Facials, Massages, and Packs       5 

Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Permanent Waving    30 

Cutting and Fitting Hair Pieces       5 

Hair Straightening        3 

The Analyzing and Treating of Hair and Skin Disorders    10 

Men's and Women's Razor Cutting       15 

 

Total Hours 1528 

 

(b)  Barber schools shall offer no more than the following hours through online classes based on the curriculum set forth in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule: 

Hours 

Classroom Lecture and Study Periods:       380 

 

Supervised Practice in Barbering: 

Tapered Hair Cutting        25 

Hair Styling of Men and Women       34 

Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Body Permanents    35 

 

Lectures and Demonstrations on Practical Work: 

Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments    8 

Shaving          5 

Tapered Hair Cutting        20 

Hair Styling of Men and Women       50 

Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Permanent Waving    5 

The Analyzing and Treating of Hair and Skin Disorders    7 

Men's and Women's Razor Cutting       7 

 

Total Online Hours 576 

 

(b)(c)  All barber schools shall use course books and training materials specifically created for the purpose of teaching barbering skills. 

Unless the course book or training material has separate and distinct sections covering the practice of barbering, cosmetology course 

books and training materials are not acceptable. 
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Authority G.S. 86A-22(1); 86A-22(4). 

 

21 NCAC 06F .0124 STUDENT HOURS 

(a)  No student shall be given credit for more than eight total hours 

during any instruction day. 

(b)  Students shall record their start time by electronic means upon 

entering the school for practical or theory hours. Students shall 

not record any period of break from instruction, even if remaining 

on school premises. 

(c)  In meeting the minimum course work and designated barber 

school curricula required by Rule .0120 of this Section, no student 

shall be given credit for more than eight hours per month and 40 

hours for the duration of enrollment in the school that were 

obtained by instruction or demonstration off school premises or 

from a field trip. trip, except for hours received through online 

classes allowed under Rule .0120(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-22. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Dental Examiners intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 16J .0101 and .0103. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 11, 2021 

Time:  6:30 p.m. 

Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, 

NC 27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  21 NCAC 16J .0101 and 21 NCAC 

16J .0103 are proposed for amendment to clarify terms and 

requirements and to ensure consistent interpretation and 

application of the provisions. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 

Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends:  February 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16J - SANITATION SANITATION, 

STERILIZATION, AND INFECTION CONTROL 

 

21 NCAC 16J .0101 PREMISES 

(a)  The premises of a dental facility shall be kept neat and clean 

and free of accumulated rubbish and any substances that create a 

public health or safety hazard. hazard, as follows: 

(1) all floors shall be free of obstacles to cleaning; 

(2) reception areas, hallways, treatment areas, 

office facilities, and other walking surfaces 

shall be free of obstruction; 

(3) all equipment and instruments that have been 

used for patient dental care shall be handled in 

accordance with Rule .0103 of this Subchapter; 

and 

(4) solid wastes and medical wastes shall be 

handled and disposed of in accordance with 

15A NCAC 18A .1300 which is incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent 

amendments. 

(b)  The premises shall be kept free of all insects and vermin. 

(c)  Water of a safe, sanitary quality shall be piped under pressure, 

pressure to all equipment and fixtures where the use of water is 

required. The water supply shall meet the requirements in 15A 

NCAC 18A .1700 or 15A NCAC 18C which are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments. 

(d)  All plumbing shall be in accordance comply with the 

applicable local plumbing ordinances. ordinances and with the 

North Carolina State Plumbing Code which is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and is 

available at no cost online at 

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/codes-current-and-past. 

(e)  Comfortable and sanitary conditions for patients and 

employees shall be maintained at all times. times, as follows: 

(1) floors, including carpeted areas, shall be kept 

clean, dry, odor free, and in good repair; 

(2) walls and ceilings shall be kept clean and in 

good repair; 

(3) doors, windows, and window treatments shall 

be kept clean and in good repair; 
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(4) equipment, furniture, and light fixtures, 

including in reception areas, shall be kept clean 

and in good repair; 

(5) rooms shall be heated, cooled, and ventilated to 

maintain a temperature between 65°F (19°C) 

and 85°F (30°C), and ventilation equipment 

shall be kept clean and in good repair; and 

(6) moisture shall be controlled such that there is 

no evidence of microbial growth on interior 

surfaces and objects. 

(f)  All liquid and human waste, including floor wash water, shall 

be disposed of through trapped drains into a public sanitary sewer 

system in localities where such system is available. In localities 

where a public sanitary system is not available, liquid and human 

waste shall be disposed of in a manner approved by the state 

Department of Environment and Natural Resources. accordance 

with 15A NCAC 18A .1300 and 15A NCAC 18C. 

(g)  There shall be functioning toilet facilities on the premises of 

every dental office. They The toilet facilities and fixtures shall be 

kept clean and in good repair, and shall conform to standards of 

the state Department of Environment and Natural Resources. set 

out in 15A NCAC 18A .1300. 

(h)  No animals, except certified assistance animals required to 

assist disabled individuals, animals shall be allowed in any area 

of a dental office where clinical work is being performed. 

performed, except service animals in accordance with GS 168-4.2 

and the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

(i)  For purposes of this Rule, "clean" means washed and free from 

dirt, grime, bodily fluids or tissue, foreign material, or unwanted 

matter. "Good repair" means capable of being cleaned and used 

for its intended purpose in a safe manner. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-41(a)(23); 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16J .0103 STERILIZATION AND 

INFECTION CONTROL 

(a)  All instruments or equipment used in the treatment of dental 

patients shall be sterilized according to manufacturer 

specifications. usage. All dental health care settings shall follow 

the most current guidelines on infection control for the dental 

office and the dental laboratory adopted by the American Dental 

Association. Effective control techniques and precautions to 

prevent the cross contamination and transmission of infection to 

all persons is the professional responsibility of all dentists. All 

licensees are required to maintain and provide a safe, therapeutic 

environment for patients and employees and to follow a 

comprehensive and practical infection control program at all 

times. 

(b)  All settings in which licensees engage in the practice of 

dentistry or dental hygiene ("dental settings") shall comply with 

the recommendations and guidelines of the Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention ("CDC") for infection prevention and 

control directed at or applicable to dental settings. The CDC 

recommendations and guidelines are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, and are available 

at no cost online at https://www.cdc.gov. 

(c)  All licensees are responsible for utilizing and maintaining 

sterilization and infection control techniques and precautions as 

required by this Rule to prevent the cross contamination and 

transmission of infection to all persons. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-41(a)(23); 90-48; 90-233(a5). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 28 – LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board intends to amend the 

rule cited as 21 NCAC 28B .0601. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.nclclb.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 30, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  3901 Barrett Dr., Suite 202, Raleigh NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To increase statutorily-authorized 

fees in order to provide improved and more efficient service to 

licensees and the public. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Calvin M. Kirven, North 

Carolina Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board, 3901 Barrett 

Dr., Suite 202, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Comment period ends:  February 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 
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SUBCHAPTER 28B – LICENSING BOARD RULES 

 

SECTION .0600 - FEES 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0601 FEE SCHEDULE 

(a)  The Board shall charge the following fees: 

(1) Application: $75.00; 

(2) Examination: $150.00; 

(3) Individual license fee: $60.00; $100.00; 

(4) Corporate license fee: $60.00; $100.00; 

(5) License renewal: $60.00; $100.00; 

(6) Late renewal: $25.00; 

(7) Individual license reinstatement: $100.00; 

(8) Corporate license reinstatement: $100.00; 

(9) License by reciprocity: $100.00; and 

(10) Duplicate license: $25.00. 

(b)  If the Board elects to use a testing service for the preparation, 

administration, or grading of examinations, the Board shall charge 

the applicant the actual cost of the examination services and a 

prorated portion of the examination fee. 

(c)  The late renewal and reinstatement fees shall be imposed for 

renewal applications submitted after August 1. All licenses shall 

expire on August 1 unless renewed. 

(d)  All fees charged by the Board are non-refundable. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(10); 89D-21. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 30 – BOARD OF MASSAGE AND 

BODYWORK THERAPY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy intends to adopt the 

rules cited as 21 NCAC 30 .0636 and .0704. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://bmbt.org/mtpages/news.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 6, 2021 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Webex conference call - Phone Number: 1-510-338-

9438; Access Code: 126 477 3599; Password: 67798927 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat 

to the public health, safety or welfare has arisen with the 

coronavirus outbreak in North Carolina.  The Governor declared 

a state of emergency on March 10, 2020.  All massage and 

bodywork therapy schools and programs closed their facilities 

due to the outbreak.  To allow students to continue to receive 

education, the Board proposes to eliminate rules that would 

prevent schools from being able to offer online classes during a 

state of emergency.  Also, continuing education providers were 

required to cease from providing in-classroom continuing 

education courses.  To allow massage and bodywork therapists to 

continue taking continuing education courses to renew their 

license, the Board proposes to waive the in-classroom 

requirement and allow all hours to be completed by distance 

learning where there is a risk of harm to licensed therapists. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charles P. Wilkins, PO Box 

2539, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 546-0050; email 

cwilkins@bws-law.com 

Comment period ends:  February 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0600 - MASSAGE AND BODYWORK 

THERAPY SCHOOLS 

 

21 NCAC 30 .0636 WAIVER OF REQUIREMENTS 

DURING DISASTER OR EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the Governor declares a state of emergency, the following 

exceptions shall apply to massage and bodywork therapy schools, 

programs and students, the requirements in this Subchapter 

notwithstanding: 

(1) Classroom hours of supervised instruction that 

are not hands-on may be provided online, 

despite the requirement in Rule .0602(10) of 

this Subchapter. 

(2) Total number of supervised classroom hours of 

instruction that are not hands-on may include 

online hours, despite the requirement in Rule 

.0603(b)(4) of this Subchapter. 

(3) For a student to receive credit in a course that is 

not hands-on, the student shall attend, in-class 

or online, 75 percent of the instructional hours 

of the course and shall also make up missed 

instructional hours to equal no less than 98 

percent of the instructional hours in the course, 

pursuant to Rule .0620(11) of this Subchapter. 
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(4) Schools shall not be required to revise the 

Student Enrollment Agreement required by 

Rule .0629 or School Catalog required by Rule 

.0630 to reflect the exceptions listed in this 

Rule. 

(b)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply during the 

effective period of the state of emergency. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-626. 

 

SECTION .0700 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 30 .0704 WAIVER OF REQUIREMENTS 

DURING DISASTER OR EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the governor declares a state of emergency, the Board may 

allow all continuing education hours required by G.S. 90-630.5 

and Rule .0701(b) of this Chapter to be obtained by distance 

learning. In making this determination, the Board shall consider 

the risk of harm to licensed massage and bodywork therapists 

attending in-classroom continuing education courses. 

(b)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply during the 

effective period of the state of emergency. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 150B-19(6). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Real Estate Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 58A .0120, and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 58A 

.0104, .0105, .0110, .0114, .0503, .1601, .2202; 58H .0210, and 

.0303. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncrec.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 17, 2021 

Time:  9:00 am 

Location:  In an abundance of caution and to address protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, this public 

hearing will be held by webinar only.   

https://ncrec.zoom.us/j/98588176314?pwd=U2dJdXpjS1pZRVV

abTVidmlaZUFHdz09 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 58A .0104 – AGENCY AGREEMENTS AND 

DISCLOSURE 

Amend this Rule to add racial equity language in agency 

agreements and disclosures.  

 

21 NCAC 58A .0105 – ADVERTISING 

Amend this Rule to add racial equity language in advertising. 

Amend Paragraph (a)(2) of this Rule to clarify the text that a 

broker needs written consent before they advertise or display a 

sign.  

 

21 NCAC 58A .0110 – BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

Amend Paragraph (a) of this Rule to clarify the text of the rule, 

does not include a substantial change. Amend Paragraph (g)(1) 

of this Rule to clarify what is meant by ‘employed’ and 

independent contractors. Amend Paragraph (g)(9) of this Rule to 

require brokers-in-charge to complete the Commission’s Basic 

Trust Account Procedures once the broker-in-charge assumes 

responsibility for a trust account unless the broker-in-charge has 

previously taken the course within the last three years. Amend this 

Rule to place a hold on a broker-in-charge’s eligibility 

designation if there is a pending investigation, unreported 

criminal conviction, or disciplinary action. Amend Paragraph (g) 

of this Rule to add a requirement for brokers-in-charge to monitor 

an unlicensed employee to ensure the unlicensed employee does 

not engage in brokerage. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0114 – RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY AND 

OWNERS’ ASSOCIATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

Amend this Rule to add a requirement to disclose the age and fuel 

type of water heater and Internet access availability in the 

Disclosure. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0120 – PROHIBITED ACTS 

Adopt this Rule to prohibit brokers from requiring law firms split 

commission checks and to require commissions to go through a 

broker-in-charge. 

21 NCAC 58A .0503 – LICENSE RENEWAL 

Amend this Rule in Paragraph (b) to require all brokers to supply 

an email address during the license renewal process.  

 

21 NCAC 58A .1601 – FAIR HOUSING 

Amend this Rule to add racial equity language.  

 

21 NCAC 58A .2202 - STANDARDS 

Amend this Rule to add racial equity language in Broker Price 

Opinions and Comparative Market Analyses.  

 

21 NCAC 58H .0210 – DENIAL, WITHDRAWAL, OR 

TERMINATION OF EDUCATION PROVIDER 

CERTIFICATION 

Amend this Rule to add racial equity language.  

 

21 NCAC 58H .0303 – DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

Amend this Rule to add racial equity language. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Vuotto, PO Box 

17100, Raleigh, NC 27619-7100; phone (919) 875-3700; email 

Public.Comment@ncrec.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 19, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
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Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 58A – REAL ESTATE BROKERS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL BROKERAGE 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0104 AGENCY AGREEMENTS AND 

DISCLOSURE 

(a)  Every agreement for brokerage services in a real estate 

transaction and every agreement for services connected with the 

management of a property owners association shall be in writing 

and signed by the parties thereto. Every agreement for brokerage 

services between a broker and an owner of the property to be the 

subject of a transaction shall be in writing and signed by the 

parties at the time of its formation. Every agreement for brokerage 

services between a broker and a buyer or tenant shall be express 

and shall be in writing and signed by the parties thereto not later 

than the time one of the parties makes an offer to purchase, sell, 

rent, lease, or exchange real estate to another. However, every 

agreement between a broker and a buyer or tenant that seeks to 

bind the buyer or tenant for a period of time or to restrict the 

buyer's or tenant's right to work with other agents or without an 

agent shall be in writing and signed by the parties thereto from its 

formation. A broker shall not continue to represent a buyer or 

tenant without a written, signed agreement when such agreement 

is required by this Rule. Every written agreement for brokerage 

services of any kind in a real estate transaction shall be for a 

definite period of time, shall include the broker's license number, 

and shall provide for its termination without prior notice at the 

expiration of that period, except that an agency agreement 

between a landlord and broker to procure tenants or receive rents 

for the landlord's property may allow for automatic renewal so 

long as the landlord may terminate with notice at the end of any 

contract period and any subsequent renewals. Every written 

agreement for brokerage services that includes a penalty for early 

termination shall set forth such a provision in a clear and 

conspicuous manner that shall distinguish it from other provisions 

of the agreement. For the purposes of this Rule, an agreement 

between brokers to cooperate or share compensation shall not be 

considered an agreement for brokerage services and, except as 

required by Rule .1807 of this Subchapter, need not be 

memorialized in writing. 

(b)  A broker shall conduct brokerage activities in a manner that 

is neither determined nor predicated by bias or ideology as to race, 

color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, or disability. 

Every listing agreement, written buyer agency agreement, or other 

written agreement for brokerage services in a real estate 

transaction shall contain the following provision: "The broker 

shall conduct all brokerage activities in regard to this agreement 

without respect to the race, color, religion, sex, national origin, 

handicap, or familial status of any party or prospective party." The 

provision shall be set forth in a clear and conspicuous manner that 

shall distinguish it from other provisions of the agreement. For the 

purposes of this Rule, the term, "familial status" shall be defined 

as it is in G.S. 41A-3(1b). 

(c)  In every real estate sales transaction, a broker shall, at first 

substantial contact with a prospective buyer or seller, provide the 

prospective buyer or seller with a copy of the publication 

"Working with Real Estate Agents," set forth the broker's name 

and license number thereon, review the publication with the buyer 

or seller, and determine whether the agent will act as the agent of 

the buyer or seller in the transaction. If the first substantial contact 

with a prospective buyer or seller occurs by telephone or other 

electronic means of communication where it is not practical to 

provide the "Working with Real Estate Agents" publication, the 

broker shall at the earliest opportunity thereafter, but in no event 

later than three days from the date of first substantial contact, mail 

or otherwise transmit a copy of the publication to the prospective 

buyer or seller and review it with him or her at the earliest 

practicable opportunity thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"first substantial contact" shall include contacts between a broker 

and a consumer where the consumer or broker begins to act as 

though an agency relationship exists and the consumer begins to 

disclose to the broker personal or confidential information. The 

"Working with Real Estate Agents" publication may be obtained 

on the Commission's website at www.ncrec.gov or upon request 

to the Commission. 

(d)  A real estate broker representing one party in a transaction 

shall not undertake to represent another party in the transaction 

without the written authority of each party. The written authority 

shall be obtained upon the formation of the relationship except 

when a buyer or tenant is represented by a broker without a written 

agreement in conformity with the requirements of Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. Under such circumstances, the written authority for 

dual agency shall be reduced to writing not later than the time that 

one of the parties represented by the broker makes an offer to 

purchase, sell, rent, lease, or exchange real estate to another party. 

(e)  In every real estate sales transaction, a broker working directly 

with a prospective buyer as a seller's agent or subagent shall 

disclose in writing to the prospective buyer at the first substantial 

contact with the prospective buyer that the broker represents the 

interests of the seller. The written disclosure shall include the 

broker's license number. If the first substantial contact occurs by 

telephone or by means of other electronic communication where 

it is not practical to provide written disclosure, the broker shall 

immediately disclose by similar means whom he or she represents 

and shall immediately mail or otherwise transmit a copy of the 

written disclosure to the buyer. In no event shall the broker mail 
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or transmit a copy of the written disclosure to the buyer later than 

three days from the date of first substantial contact with the buyer. 

(f)  In every real estate sales transaction, a broker representing a 

buyer shall, at the initial contact with the seller or seller's agent, 

disclose to the seller or seller's agent that the broker represents the 

buyer's interests. In addition, in every real estate sales transaction 

other than auctions, the broker shall, no later than the time of 

delivery of an offer to the seller or seller's agent, provide the seller 

or seller's agent with a written confirmation disclosing that he or 

she represents the interests of the buyer. The written confirmation 

may be made in the buyer's offer to purchase and shall include the 

broker's license number. 

(g)  The provisions of Paragraphs (c), (d) and (e) of this Rule do 

not apply to real estate brokers representing sellers in auction sales 

transactions. 

(h)  A broker representing a buyer in an auction sale transaction 

shall, no later than the time of execution of a written agreement 

memorializing the buyer's contract to purchase, provide the seller 

or seller's agent with a written confirmation disclosing that he or 

she represents the interests of the buyer. The written confirmation 

may be made in the written agreement. 

(i)  A firm that represents more than one party in the same real 

estate transaction is a dual agent and, through the brokers 

associated with the firm, shall disclose its dual agency to the 

parties. 

(j)  When a firm represents both the buyer and seller in the same 

real estate transaction, the firm may, with the prior express 

approval of its buyer and seller clients, designate one or more 

individual brokers associated with the firm to represent only the 

interests of the seller and one or more other individual brokers 

associated with the firm to represent only the interests of the buyer 

in the transaction. The authority for designated agency shall be 

reduced to writing not later than the time that the parties are 

required to reduce their dual agency agreement to writing in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. An individual broker 

shall not be so designated and shall not undertake to represent 

only the interests of one party if the broker has actually received 

confidential information concerning the other party in connection 

with the transaction. A broker-in-charge shall not act as a 

designated broker for a party in a real estate sales transaction 

when a provisional broker under his or her supervision will act as 

a designated broker for another party with a competing interest. 

(k)  When a firm acting as a dual agent designates an individual 

broker to represent the seller, the broker so designated shall 

represent only the interest of the seller and shall not, without the 

seller's permission, disclose to the buyer or a broker designated to 

represent the buyer: 

(1) that the seller may agree to a price, terms, or any 

conditions of sale other than those established 

by the seller; 

(2) the seller's motivation for engaging in the 

transaction unless disclosure is otherwise 

required by statute or rule; and 

(3) any information about the seller that the seller 

has identified as confidential unless disclosure 

of the information is otherwise required by 

statute or rule. 

(l)  When a firm acting as a dual agent designates an individual 

broker to represent the buyer, the broker so designated shall 

represent only the interest of the buyer and shall not, without the 

buyer's permission, disclose to the seller or a broker designated to 

represent the seller: 

(1) that the buyer may agree to a price, terms, or 

any conditions of sale other than those 

established by the seller; 

(2) the buyer's motivation for engaging in the 

transaction unless disclosure is otherwise 

required by statute or rule; and 

(3) any information about the buyer that the buyer 

has identified as confidential unless disclosure 

of the information is otherwise required by 

statute or rule. 

(m)  A broker designated to represent a buyer or seller in 

accordance with Paragraph (j) of this Rule shall disclose the 

identity of all of the brokers so designated to both the buyer and 

the seller. The disclosure shall take place no later than the 

presentation of the first offer to purchase or sell. 

(n)  When an individual broker represents both the buyer and 

seller in the same real estate sales transaction pursuant to a written 

agreement authorizing dual agency, the parties may provide in the 

written agreement that the broker shall not disclose the following 

information about one party to the other without permission from 

the party about whom the information pertains: 

(1) that a party may agree to a price, terms, or any 

conditions of sale other than those offered; 

(2) the motivation of a party for engaging in the 

transaction, unless disclosure is otherwise 

required by statute or rule; and 

(3) any information about a party that the party has 

identified as confidential, unless disclosure is 

otherwise required by statute or rule. 

(o)  A broker who is selling property in which the broker has an 

ownership interest shall not undertake to represent a buyer of that 

property except that a broker who is selling commercial real estate 

as defined in Rule .1802 of this Subchapter in which the broker 

has less than 25 percent ownership interest may represent a buyer 

of that property if the buyer consents to the representation after 

full written disclosure of the broker's ownership interest. A firm 

listing a property owned by a broker affiliated with the firm may 

represent a buyer of that property so long as any individual broker 

representing the buyer on behalf of the firm does not have an 

ownership interest in the property and the buyer consents to the 

representation after full written disclosure of the broker's 

ownership interest. 

(p)  A broker or firm with an existing listing agreement for a 

property shall not enter into a contract to purchase that property 

unless, prior to entering into the contract, the listing broker or firm 

first discloses in writing to their seller-client that the listing broker 

or firm may have a conflict of interest in the transaction and that 

the seller-client may want to seek independent counsel of an 

attorney or another licensed broker. Prior to the listing broker 

entering into a contract to purchase the listed property, the listing 

broker and firm shall either terminate the listing agreement or 

transfer the listing to another broker affiliated with the firm. Prior 

to the listing firm entering into a contract to purchase the listed 

property, the listing broker and firm shall disclose to the seller-

client in writing that the seller-client has the right to terminate the 
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listing and the listing broker and firm shall terminate the listing 

upon the request of the seller-client. 

 

Authority G.S. 41A-3(1b); 41A-4(a); 93A-3(c); 93A-6(a). 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0105 ADVERTISING 

(a)  Authority to Advertise. 

(1) A broker shall not advertise any brokerage 

service or the sale, purchase, exchange, rent, or 

lease of real estate for another or others without 

the consent of his or her broker-in-charge and 

without including in the advertisement the 

name of the firm or sole proprietorship with 

which the broker is affiliated. 

(2) A broker shall not advertise or display a "for 

sale" or "for rent" sign on any real estate or 

otherwise advertise any real estate without the 

written consent of the owner or the owner's 

authorized agent. 

(b)  Blind Ads. A broker shall not advertise the sale, purchase, 

exchange, rent, or lease of real estate for others in a manner 

indicating the offer to sell, purchase, exchange, rent, or lease is 

being made by the broker's principal only. Every such 

advertisement shall indicate that it is the advertisement of a broker 

or firm and shall not be confined to publication of only contact 

information, such as a post office box number, telephone number, 

street address, internet web address, or e-mail address. 

(c)  A person licensed as a limited nonresident commercial broker 

shall comply with the provisions of Rule .1809 of this Subchapter 

in connection with all advertising concerning or relating to his or 

her status as a North Carolina broker. 

(d)  A broker shall not advertise any brokerage service or the sale, 

purchase, exchange, rent, or lease of real estate, conduct 

brokerage services, promote their status as a real estate broker, or 

engage in other real estate related activities in any manner which 

is predicated by bias or ideology as to race, color, religion, 

national origin, sex, familial status, or disability. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-2(a1); 93A-3(c); 93A-9. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0110 BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

(a)  Every real estate firm shall designate one BIC for its principal 

office and one a different BIC for each of its branch offices. No 

office of a firm shall have more than one designated BIC. A BIC 

shall not serve as the BIC for more than one office. A BIC shall 

not serve as BIC for more than one office firm unless each of those 

offices firms share the same physical office space and delivery 

address. 

(b)  Every sole proprietorship shall designate a BIC if the sole 

proprietorship: 

(1) engages in any transaction where a broker is 

required to deposit and maintain monies 

belonging to others in a trust account; 

(2) engages in advertising or promoting services as 

a broker in any manner; or 

(3) has one or more other brokers affiliated with the 

sole proprietorship in the real estate business. 

(c)  A licensed real estate firm shall not be required to have a BIC 

if it: 

(1) is organized for the sole purpose of receiving 

compensation for brokerage services furnished 

by its qualifying broker through another firm or 

broker; 

(2) is treated for tax purposes as a pass-through 

business by the United States Internal Revenue 

Service; 

(3) has no principal or branch office; and 

(4) has no licensed person associated with it other 

than its qualifying broker. 

(d)  A broker who maintains a trust or escrow account for the sole 

purpose of holding residential tenant security deposits received by 

the broker on properties owned by the broker in compliance with 

G.S. 42-50 shall not be required to be a BIC. 

(e)  In order for a broker to designate as a BIC for a sole proprietor, 

real estate firm, or branch office, a broker shall apply for BIC 

Eligible status by submitting an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website. The BIC Eligible status form shall 

include the broker's: 

(1) name; 

(2) license number; 

(3) telephone number; 

(4) email address; 

(5) criminal history and history of occupational 

license disciplinary actions; 

(6) certification of compliance with G.S. 93A-4.2, 

including that: 

(A) his or her broker license is on active 

status; 

(B) the broker has obtained at least two 

years of real estate brokerage 

experience equivalent to 40 hours per 

week within the previous five years or 

shall be a North Carolina licensed 

attorney with a practice that consisted 

primarily of handling real estate 

closings and related matters in North 

Carolina for three years immediately 

preceding application; and 

(C) the broker completed the 12-hour 

Broker-in-Charge Course no earlier 

than one year prior to application and 

no later than 120 days after 

application; and 

(7) signature. 

(f)  A broker who holds BIC Eligible status shall submit a form to 

become the designated BIC for a sole proprietor, real estate firm, 

or branch office. The BIC designation form shall include: 

(1) the broker's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number; 

(C) telephone number; 

(D) email address; and 

(E) criminal history and history of 

occupational license disciplinary 

actions; and 

(2) the firm's: 

(A) name; and 

(B) license number, if applicable; 
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(g)  A designated BIC shall: 

(1) assure that each broker employed affiliated at 

the office has complied with Rules .0503, 

.0504, and .0506 of this Subchapter; 

(2) notify the Commission of any change of firm's 

business address or trade name and the 

registration of any assumed business name 

adopted by the firm for its use; 

(3) be responsible for the conduct of advertising by 

or in the name of the firm at such office; 

(4) maintain the trust or escrow account of the firm 

and the records pertaining thereto; 

(5) retain and maintain records relating to 

transactions conducted by or on behalf of the 

firm, including those required to be retained 

pursuant to Rule .0108 of this Section; 

(6) supervise provisional brokers associated with 

or engaged on behalf of the firm at such office 

in accordance with the requirements of Rule 

.0506 of this Subchapter; 

(7) supervise all brokers employed affiliated at the 

office with respect to adherence to agency 

agreement and disclosure requirements; 

(8) notify the Commission in writing that he or she 

is no longer serving as BIC of a particular office 

within 10 days following any such change; and 

(9) complete the Commission's Basic Trust 

Account Procedures Course within 120 days of 

opening assuming responsibility for a trust 

account in accordance with G.S. 93A-6(g). 

93A-6(g), however the BIC shall not be 

required to complete the course more than once 

in three years; and 

(10) supervise all unlicensed individuals employed 

at the office and ensure that unlicensed 

individuals comply with G.S. 93A-2(c)(6). 

(h)  A broker holding BIC Eligible status shall take the Broker-in-

Charge Update Course during the license year of designation, 

unless the broker has satisfied the requirements of Rule .1702 of 

this Subchapter prior to designation. 

(i)  A broker's BIC Eligible status shall terminate if the broker: 

(1) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(2) fails to complete the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge 

Course pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule; 

(3) fails to renew his or her broker license pursuant 

to Rule .0503 of this Subchapter, or the broker's 

license has been suspended, revoked, or 

surrendered; or 

(4) fails to complete the Broker-in-Charge Update 

Course and a four credit hour elective course 

pursuant to Rules .1702 and .1711 of this 

Subchapter, if applicable. 

(j)  In order to regain BIC Eligible status after a broker's BIC 

Eligible status terminates, the broker shall complete the 12-hour 

Broker-in-Charge Course prior to application and then submit a 

BIC Eligible status form pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(k)  A nonresident commercial real estate broker licensed under 

the provisions of Section .1800 of this Subchapter shall not act as 

or serve in the capacity of a broker-in-charge of a firm or office in 

North Carolina. 

(l)  A broker shall not be granted BIC Eligible status or designated 

as BIC of a firm if there is a pending Commission investigation 

against the broker. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-4.1; 93A-4.2; 93A-

9. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0114 RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY AND OWNERS' ASSOCIATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

(a)  Every owner of real property subject to a transfer of the type governed by Chapter 47E of the General Statutes shall complete the 

following Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement and furnish a copy of the complete statement to a buyer 

in accordance with the requirements of G.S. 47E-4. The form shall bear the seal of the North Carolina Real Estate Commission and shall 

read as follows: 

 

[N.C. REAL ESTATE COMMISSION SEAL] 

 

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 

RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY AND OWNERS' Association DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

 

Instructions to Property Owners 

 

1. The Residential Property Disclosure Act (G.S. 47E)("Disclosure Act") requires owners of residential real estate (single-family 

homes, individual condominiums, townhouses, and the like, and buildings with up to four dwelling units) to furnish buyers a 

Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement ("Disclosure Statement"). This form is the only one 

approved for this purpose. A disclosure statement must be furnished in connection with the sale, exchange, option, and sale 

under a lease with option to purchase where the tenant does not occupy or intend to occupy the dwelling. A disclosure statement 

is not required for some transactions, including the first sale of a dwelling which has never been inhabited and transactions of 

residential property made pursuant to a lease with option to purchase where the lessee occupies or intends to occupy the 

dwelling. For a complete list of exemptions, see G.S. 47E-2. 
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2. You must respond to each of the questions on the following pages of this form by filling in the requested information or by 

placing a check (√) in the appropriate box. In responding to questions, you are only obligated to disclose information abou t 

which you have actual knowledge. 

 

a. If you check "Yes" for any question, you must explain your answer and either describe any problem or attach a report from an 

attorney, engineer, contractor, pest control operator or other expert or public agency describing it. If you attach a report, you 

will not be liable for any inaccurate or incomplete information contained in it so long as you were not grossly negligent in 

obtaining or transmitting the information. 

 

b. If you check "No," you are stating that you have no actual knowledge of any problem. If you check "No" and you know there 

is a problem, you may be liable for making an intentional misstatement. 

 

c. If you check "No Representation," you are choosing not to disclose the conditions or characteristics of the property, even if 

you have actual knowledge of them or should have known of them. 

 

d. If you check "Yes" or "No" and something happens to the property to make your Disclosure Statement incorrect or inaccurate 

(for example, the roof begins to leak), you must promptly give the buyer a corrected Disclosure Statement or correct the 

problem. 

 

3. If you are assisted in the sale of your property by a licensed real estate broker, you are still responsible for completing and 

delivering the Disclosure Statement to the buyers; and the broker must disclose any material facts about your property which 

he or she knows or reasonably should know, regardless of your responses on the Statement. 

 

4. You must give the completed Disclosure Statement to the buyer no later than the time the buyer makes an offer to purchase 

your property. If you do not, the buyer can, under certain conditions, cancel any resulting contract (See "Note to Buyers" 

below). You should give the buyer a copy of the Disclosure Statement containing your signature and keep a copy signed by the 

buyer for your records. 

 

Note to Buyers 

 

If the owner does not give you a Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement by the 

time you make your offer to purchase the property, you may under certain conditions cancel any resulting 

contract without penalty to you as the buyer. To cancel the contract, you must personally deliver or mail 

written notice of your decision to cancel to the owner or the owner's agent within three calendar days following 

your receipt of the Disclosure Statement, or three calendar days following the date of the contract, whichever 

occurs first. However, in no event does the Disclosure Act permit you to cancel a contract after settlement of 

the transaction or (in the case of a sale or exchange) after you have occupied the property, whichever occurs 

first. 

 

5. In the space below, type or print in ink the address of the property (sufficient to identify it) and your name. Then sign and date. 

 

Property Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

Owner's Name(s): __________________________________________________________________ 

Owner(s) acknowledge(s) having examined this Disclosure Statement before signing and that all information 

is true and correct as of the date signed. 

 

Owner Signature:__________________________________________________ Date _________, __ 

Owner Signature:__________________________________________________ Date _________, __ 

Buyers acknowledge receipt of a copy of this Disclosure Statement; that they have examined it before signing; 

that they understand that this is not a warranty by owners or owners' agents; that it is not a substitute for any 

inspections they may wish to obtain; and that the representations are made by the owners and not the owners' 

agents or subagents. Buyers are strongly encouraged to obtain their own inspections from a licensed home 

inspector or other professional. As used herein, words in the plural include the singular, as appropriate. 

 

Buyer Signature:________________________________________________ Date ________, ____ 

Buyer Signature:________________________________________________ Date ________, ____ 
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Property Address/Description:_____________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

The following questions address the characteristics and condition of the property identified above about which the owner has 

actual knowledge. Where the question refers to "dwelling," it is intended to refer to the dwelling unit, or units if more than one, 

to be conveyed with the property. The term "dwelling unit" refers to any structure intended for human habitation. 

 
No Repre- 

           Yes    No    sentation 

1. In what year was the dwelling constructed? ________________ 

Explain if necessary: __________________________________________________ 

  

 

  

 

 □ 

       

2. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's foundation, slab, 

fireplaces/chimneys, floors, windows (including storm windows and screens), doors, 

ceilings, interior and exterior walls, attached garage, patio, deck or other structural 

components including any modifications to them? 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

3. The dwelling's exterior walls are made of what type of material? □ Brick Veneer □ Wood □ 

Stone □ Vinyl □ Synthetic Stucco □ Composition/Hardboard □ Concrete □ Fiber Cement □ 

Aluminum □ Asbestos □ Other __________________________ 

(Check all that apply)   

     □ 

       

4. In what year was the dwelling's roof covering installed? _______________ 

(Approximate if no records are available.)  Explain if necessary: 

___________________________________________________________________ 

     □ 

       

5. Is there any leakage or other problem with the dwelling's roof?  □  □  □ 

       

6. Is there any water seepage, leakage, dampness or standing water in the dwelling's basement, 

crawl space, or slab? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

7. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's electrical system (outlets, 

wiring, panel, switches, fixtures, generator, etc.)? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

8. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's plumbing system (pipes, 

fixtures, water heater, etc.)? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

9. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's heating and/or air 

conditioning? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

10. What is the dwelling's heat source? □ Furnace □ Heat Pump □ Baseboard 

□ Other________________________ (Check all that apply) 

Age of system: ________________ 

     □ 

       

11. What is the dwelling's cooling source? □ Central Forced Air □ Wall/Window Unit(s) 

□ Other________________________ (Check all that apply) 

Age of system: ________________ 

     □ 

       

12. What is the dwelling's fuel sources? □ Electricity □ Natural Gas □ Propane □ Oil 

□ Other________________________ (Check all that apply) 

     □ 
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If the fuel source is stored in a tank, identify whether the tank is □ above ground or □ below 

ground, and whether the tank is □ leased by seller or □ owned by seller. 

(Check all that apply)   

       

13. What is the dwelling's water supply source? □ City/County □ Community System 

□ Private Well □ Shared Well □ Other_______________________ 

(Check all that apply)   

 

     □ 

14.   What is the dwelling's water heater fuel type? □ Natural Gas  □ Propane □ Fuel Oil  

□ Electricity  □ Other________________________ (Check all that apply) 

Age of system: ________________ 

 

     □ 

14.15. The dwelling's water pipes are made of what type of material? □ Copper □ Galvanized 

□ Plastic □ Polybutylene □ Other________________________ 

(Check all that apply) 

 

16.  Does the property have available internet service? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

□ 

  

 

 

□ 

 □ 

 

 

□ 

15.17. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's water supply (including 

water quality, quantity or water pressure)? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

16.18. What is the dwelling's sewage disposal system? □ Septic Tank □ Septic Tank with 

Pump 

□ Community System □ Connected to City/County System □ City/County System available 

□ Straight pipe (wastewater does not go into a septic or other sewer system [note: use of this 

type of system violates State law]) 

□ Other_________________________ 

(Check all that apply)   

     □ 

       

17.19. If the dwelling is serviced by a septic system, do you know how many bedrooms are 

allowed by the septic system permit? If your answer is "Yes," how many bedrooms are 

allowed? ____________ □ No records available. 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

18.20. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's sewer and/or septic 

system? 

 □  □  □ 

       

19.21. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's central vacuum, pool, 

hot tub, spa, attic fan, exhaust fan, ceiling fans, sump pump, irrigation system, TV cable 

wiring or satellite dish, garage door openers, gas logs, or other systems? 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

20.22. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with any appliances that may be included 

in the conveyance (range/oven, attached microwave, hood/fan, dishwasher, disposal, etc.)? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

21.23. Is there any problem with present infestation of the dwelling, or damage from past 

infestation of wood destroying insects or organisms which has not been repaired? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

22.24. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the drainage, grading or soil stability 

of the property? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

23.25. Are there any structural additions or other structural or mechanical changes to the 

dwelling(s) to be conveyed with the property? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

24.26. Is the property to be conveyed in violation of any local zoning ordinances, restrictive 

covenants, or other land-use restrictions, or building codes (including the failure to obtain 

proper permits for room additions or other changes/improvements)? 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

25.27. Are there any hazardous or toxic substances, materials, or products (such as asbestos, 

formaldehyde, radon gas, methane gas, lead-based paint) which exceed government safety 
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standards, any debris (whether buried or covered) or underground storage tanks, or any 

environmentally hazardous conditions (such as contaminated soil or water, or other 

environmental contamination) which affect the property? located on or which otherwise 

affect the property? 

□ 

 

 

       

26.28. Is there any noise, odor, smoke, etc. from commercial, industrial or military sources 

which affects the property? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

   

 

  

 

  

 

27.29. Is the property subject to any utility or other easements, shared driveways, party walls 

or encroachments from or on adjacent property? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

28.30. Is the property subject to any lawsuits, foreclosures, bankruptcy, leases or rental 

agreements, judgments, tax liens, proposed assessments, mechanics' liens, materialmens' 

liens, or notices from any governmental agency that could affect title to the property? 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

29.31. Is the property subject to a flood hazard or is the property located in a federally-

designated flood hazard area? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

30.32. Does the property abut or adjoin any private road(s) or street(s)?  □  □  □ 

       

31.33. If there is a private road or street adjoining the property, is there in existence any 

owners' association or maintenance agreements dealing with the maintenance of the road or 

street? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

If you answered "yes" to any of the questions listed above (1-31) (1-33) please explain (attach additional sheets if necessary): 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

In lieu of providing a written explanation, you may attach a written report to this Disclosure Statement by a public agency, or by an 

attorney, engineer, land surveyor, geologist, pest control operator, contractor, home inspector, or other expert, dealing with matters 

within the scope of that public agency's functions or the expert's license or expertise. 

 

The following questions pertain to the property identified above, including the lot to be conveyed and any dwelling unit(s), sheds, 

detached garages, or other buildings located thereon. 

 
No Repre- 

           Yes    No    sentation 

32.34.Is the property subject to governing documents which impose various mandatory 

covenants, conditions, and restrictions upon the lot or unit? 

If you answered "yes" to the question above, please explain (attach additional sheets if 

necessary): 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

 

33.35. Is the property subject to regulation by one or more owners' association(s) including, 

but not limited to, obligations to pay regular assessments or dues and special assessments? 

If your answer is "yes," please provide the information requested below as to each owners' 

association to which the property is subject [insert N/A into any blank that does not apply]: 

(specify name) ___________________________________________ whose regular 

assessments ("dues") are $ ________________ per ____________. The name, address and 

telephone number of the president of the owners' association or the association manager 

are __________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

 □ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

□ 

 □ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

□ 

 □ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

□ 
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(specify name) ___________________________________________ whose regular 

assessments ("dues") are $ ________________ per ____________. The name, address and 

telephone number of the president of the owners' association or the association manager 

are __________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

       

* If you answered "Yes" to question 33 above, you must complete the remainder of this Disclosure Statement. If you answered 

"No" or "No Representation" to question 33 above, you do not need to answer the remaining questions on this Disclosure 

Statement. Skip to the bottom of the last page and initial and date the page. 

 
No Repre- 

           Yes    No    sentation 

34.36. Are any fees charged by the association or by the association's management company 

in connection with the conveyance or transfer of the lot or property to a new owner? If 

your answer is "yes," please state the amount of the fees: 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

35.37. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any dues, fees or special 

assessment which have been duly approved as required by the applicable declaration or 

by-laws, and that are payable to an association to which the lot is subject? If your answer 

is "yes," please state the nature and amount of the dues, fees or special assessments to 

which the property is subject: 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

36.38. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any unsatisfied judgments 

against or pending lawsuits involving the property or lot to be conveyed? If your answer 

is "yes," please state the nature of each pending lawsuit and the amount of each unsatisfied 

judgment: _____________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

37.39. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any unsatisfied judgments 

against or pending lawsuits involving the planned community or the association to which 

the property and lot are subject, with the exception of any action filed by the association 

for the collection of delinquent assessments on lots other than the property and lot to be 

conveyed? If your answer is "yes," please state the nature of each pending lawsuit and the 

amount of each unsatisfied judgment:  

_______________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

 

38.40. Which of the following services and amenities are paid for by the owners' association(s) identified above out of the association's 

regular assessments ("dues")? (Check all that apply.) 

 
No Repre- 

           Yes    No    sentation 

Management Fees  □  □  □ 

Exterior Building Maintenance of Property to be Conveyed 

Master Insurance 

      

Exterior Yard/Landscaping Maintenance of Lot to be Conveyed  □  □  □ 

Common Areas Maintenance  □  □  □ 

Trash Removal  □  □  □ 

Recreational Amenity Maintenance (specify amenities covered) __________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

 □  □  □ 
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Pest Treatment/Extermination  □  □  □ 

Street Lights  □  □  □ 

Water  □  □  □ 

Sewer  □  □  □ 

Storm Water Management/Drainage/Ponds  □  □  □ 

Internet Service  □  □  □ 

Cable  □  □  □ 

Private Road Maintenance  □  □  □ 

Parking Area Maintenance  □  □  □ 

Gate and/or Security  □  □  □ 

Other: (specify) 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

 □  □  □ 

       

 

Buyer Initials and Date ________________________ Owner Initials and Date _____________________ 

Buyer Initials and Date ______________________ Owner Initials and Date _____________________ 

 

(b)  The form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be 

reproduced, but the text of the form shall not be altered or 

amended in any way. 

(c)  The form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule as amended 

effective July 1, 2018, July 1, 2021, applies to all properties 

placed on the market on or after July 1, 2018. July 1, 2021. The 

form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule as amended effective 

July 1, 2014, July 1, 2018, applies to all properties placed on the 

market prior to July 1, 2018. July 1, 2021. If a corrected disclosure 

statement required by G.S. 47E-7 is prepared on or after July 1, 

2018, July 1, 2021, for a property placed on the market prior to 

July 1, 2018, July 1, 2021, the form described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule as amended effective July 1, 2018, July 1, 2021, shall be 

used. 

 

Authority G.S. 47E-4(b); 47E-4(b1); 93A-3(c); 93A-6. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0120 PROHIBITED ACTS 

(a)  A broker shall not require or demand of any escrow agent or 

attorney that a broker's commission be split with or paid to another 

person or entity. 

(b)  A broker shall not be paid a commission or referral fee directly 

by anyone other than their current BIC or the person who served 

as their BIC at the time of the transaction. 

(c)  A broker shall not coerce, extort, collude, instruct, induce, 

bribe, or intimidate a service provider in a real estate transaction 

in order to influence or attempt to influence their findings, report 

or decision. Such service providers include, but are not limited to, 

appraisers, attorneys, inspectors, financial lenders, and 

contractors. 

(d)  A broker shall not conduct brokerage or other real estate 

related activities, or otherwise promote their status as a real estate 

broker in any manner which is predicated by bias or ideology as 

to race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, or 

disability. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-6. 

 

SECTION .0500 - LICENSING 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0503 LICENSE RENEWAL 

(a)  All real estate licenses issued by the Commission under G.S. 

93A, Article 1 shall expire on June 30 following issuance. Any 

broker desiring renewal of his or her license shall renew on the 

Commission's website within 45 days prior to license expiration 

and shall submit a renewal fee of forty-five dollars ($45.00). 

(b)  During the renewal process, every individual broker shall 

provide an email address to be used by the Commission. The 

email address may be designated by the broker as private in order 

to be exempt from public records disclosures pursuant to G.S. 

93A-4(b2). A broker who does not have an email address is not 

required to obtain an email address to comply with this Rule. 

(c)  During the renewal process, every designated broker-in-

charge shall disclose: 

(1) each federally insured depository institution 

lawfully doing business in this State where the 

trust account(s) for the broker-in-charge or the 

entity for which the broker-in-charge is 

designated is held, if applicable; and 

(2) any criminal conviction or occupational license 

disciplinary action that occurred within the 

previous year. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-4.1; 93A-6. 

 

SECTION .1600 - DISCRIMINATORY PRACTICES 

PROHIBITED 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1601 FAIR HOUSING AND RACIAL 

EQUITY 

(a)  Conduct by a licensee which violates the provisions of the 

State Fair Housing Act constitutes improper conduct or dealing in 

violation of G.S. 93A-6(a)(10). 

(b)  Conduct by a licensee in connection with a real estate 

transaction, real estate related services, or promotion of their 

status as a real estate broker that promotes the distribution of 

resources or opportunities in any manner is either determined or 

predicated by race, racial bias or racial ideology, color, religion, 

national origin, sex, familial status, or disability constitutes 

improper conduct or dealing in violation of G.S. 93A-6(a)(10). 
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Authority G.S. 41A-4; 41A-5; 41A-6; 93A-3(c). 

 

SECTION .2200 - BROKER PRICE OPINIONS AND 

COMPARATIVE MARKET ANALYSES 

 

21 NCAC 58A .2202 STANDARDS 

(a)  A broker performing a broker price opinion or comparative 

market analysis for a fee shall comply with all the requirements in 

G.S. 93A-83 and in this Rule. 

(b)  A broker shall only accept an assignment to provide a broker 

price opinion or comparative market analysis for a property if the 

broker has knowledge of the real estate market, direct access to 

real estate market sales or leasing data, and brokerage or appraisal 

experience in the subject property's geographic location. 

(c)  A broker shall not provide a broker price opinion or 

comparative market analysis for a property unless the broker can 

exercise objective, independent judgment free of any influence 

from any interested party in the performance of his or her analysis 

of the facts relevant to determination of a probable selling or 

leasing price. 

(d)  A broker shall not provide a broker price opinion or 

comparative market analysis that is either determined or 

predicated by race, racial bias or racial ideology, color, religion, 

national origin, sex, familial status, or disability. 

(d)(e)  A broker shall not provide a broker price opinion or 

comparative market analysis for a property unless the broker has 

personally inspected the exterior and interior of that property, 

provided, however, that an inspection of the exterior or interior is 

not required if this is waived in writing by the party for whom the 

opinion or analysis is being performed. 

(e)(f)  When developing a broker price opinion or comparative 

market analysis for a property or interest therein, a broker shall 

utilize methodology such as analysis of sales or income of sold or 

leased properties comparable to the subject property or 

capitalization as is appropriate for the assignment and type of 

subject property. 

(f)(g)  When analyzing sales or income of properties comparable 

to the property that is the subject of a broker price opinion or 

comparative market analysis assignment, a broker shall comply 

with the following standards: 

(1) The broker shall select from reliable 

information sources a minimum of three sold or 

leased comparable properties for use in his or 

her analysis that are similar to the subject 

property with regard to characteristics such as 

property type, use, location, age, size, design, 

physical features, amenities, utility, property 

condition and conditions of sale. The 

comparable properties selected shall reflect the 

prevailing factors or market conditions 

influencing the sale or lease prices of similar 

properties in the subject property's local 

market; and 

(2) The broker shall make adjustments to the 

selling or leasing price of selected comparable 

properties for differences between the 

characteristics of the comparable properties and 

the subject property as necessary to produce a 

credible estimate of the probable selling or 

leasing price. Adjustments shall be considered 

for differences in property characteristics such 

as location, age, size, design, physical features, 

amenities, utility, condition, economic or 

functional obsolescence and conditions of sale. 

The amounts of adjustments shall reflect the 

values that the local real estate market places on 

the differences in the characteristics in 

question. 

(g)(h)  A broker price opinion or comparative market analysis 

provided to the party for whom the opinion or analysis is being 

performed shall address, in addition to matters required to be 

addressed by G.S. 93A-83 and other provisions of this Rule, the 

following items: 

(1) a description of the comparable properties used 

in the analysis (including any unsold properties 

listed for sale or rent that were used as 

comparable properties); 

(2) the adjustments made to the selling or leasing 

prices of comparable properties; 

(3) local real estate market conditions; 

(4) if the date on which the sale or lease of a 

comparable property became final is more than 

six months prior to the effective date of the 

broker price opinion or comparative market 

analysis, an explanation of why the comparable 

property was used in the analysis and a 

description of the market conditions affecting 

the comparable property at the time the sale or 

lease became final; and 

(5) each method used in deriving the estimate of 

probable selling or leasing price. 

(h)(i)  In connection with a broker price opinion or comparative 

market analysis, an estimated probable leasing price may be 

reported by a broker as a lease rate and an estimated probable 

selling or leasing price may be reported by a broker either as a 

single figure or as a price range. When the estimated probable 

selling or leasing price is stated as a price range and the higher 

figure exceeds the lower figure by more than 10 percent, the 

broker shall include an explanation of why the higher figure 

exceeds the lower figure by more than 10 percent. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-83(d). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 58H - REAL ESTATE EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - REAL ESTATE EDUCATION 

PROVIDERS 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0210 DENIAL, WITHDRAWAL, OR 

TERMINATION OF EDUCATION PROVIDER 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw certification of an 

education provider or suspend, revoke, or deny renewal of the 

certification of an education provider upon finding that an 

education provider: 

(1) official was found by a court or government 

agency of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated any state or federal law; 
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(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(3) failed to provide or provided false, incomplete, 

or incorrect information in connection with any 

report the education provider is required to 

submit to the Commission; 

(4) presented to its students or prospective students 

false or misleading information relating to its 

instructional program, to the instructional 

programs of other institutions, or related to 

employment opportunities; 

(5) collected money from students but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(6) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by G.S. 93A-4(a2) or 93A-38.5(d); 

(7) refused at any time to permit authorized 

representatives of the Commission to inspect 

the education provider's facilities or audit its 

courses; 

(8) or education director violated the rules of this 

Subchapter or was disciplined by the 

Commission under G.S. 93A-6; 

(9) obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, 

in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(10) failed to provide to the Commission a written 

plan describing the changes the education 

provider made or intends to make in its 

instructional program including instructors, 

course materials, methods of student 

evaluation, and completion standards to 

improve the performance of the education 

provider's students on the license examination 

within 30 days of the Commission's request 

during an investigation or application process; 

(11) provided the Commission a fee that was 

dishonored by a bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(12) Certificate of Authority was revoked, subject to 

a revenue suspension, or subject to 

administrative dissolution by the NC Secretary 

of State; 

(13) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Section; 

(14) failed to submit reports pursuant to Rule .0207 

of this Section; 

(15) provided false, incomplete, or misleading 

information relating to real estate licensing, 

education matters, or the broker's education 

needs or license status; or 

(16) discriminated in its admissions policy or 

practice against any person on the basis of age, 

sex, race, color, national origin, familial status, 

handicap status, or religion; or 

(16)(17) refused or failed to comply with the provisions 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A broker shall be subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 93A-

6 if the broker engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper 

conduct in connection with the operations of an education 

provider if that broker: 

(1) has an ownership interest in the education 

provider; 

(2) is the education director; or 

(3) is an instructor for an education provider. 

(c)  The Commission shall withdraw an education provider's 

certification when its annual License Examination Performance 

Record fails to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two 

license years. Following withdrawal, the education provider shall 

be ineligible to apply for certification for a period of one year. 

(d)  When ownership of a certified education provider is 

transferred and the education provider ceases to operate as the 

certified entity, the certification is not transferable and shall 

terminate on the effective date of the transfer. All courses shall be 

completed by the effective date of the transfer. The transferring 

owner shall report course completion(s) to the Commission. The 

new entity shall obtain an original certification for each location 

where the education provider will conduct courses as required by 

G.S. 93A-34 and Rule .0202 of this Section prior to advertising 

courses, registering students, accepting tuition, conducting 

courses, or otherwise engaging in any education provider 

operations. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-34(c); 93A-35(c); 93A-38. 

 

SECTION .0300 – APPROVED INSTRUCTORS 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0303 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw approval of any 

instructor applicant or approved instructor upon finding that the 

instructor or instructor applicant: 

(1) has failed to meet the criteria for approval 

described in Rule .0302 of this Section or the 

criteria for renewal of approval described in 

Rule .0306 of this Section at the time of 

application or at any time during an approval 

period; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for approval or 

renewal of approval or any report that is 

required to be submitted to the Commission; 

(3) has failed to submit to the Commission any 

report, course examination, or video recording 

required by these Rules; 

(4) has failed to demonstrate the ability to teach a 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or Update couse in 

a manner consistent with the course materials; 

(5) taught a Prelicensing course and failed to 

provide to the Commission a written plan 

describing the changes the instructor has made 

or intends to make in his or her instructional 

program to improve the performance of the 

instructor's students on the license examination 

within 30 days of the Commission's request 

during an investigation or application process; 
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(6) has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 

pleaded no contest to, a misdemeanor or felony 

violation of state or federal law by a court of 

competent jurisdiction; 

(7) has been found by a court or government 

agency of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated any state or federal regulation 

prohibiting discrimination; 

(8) has obtained, used, or attempted to obtain or 

use, in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(9) has failed to take steps to protect the security of 

end-of-course examinations; 

(10) failed to take any corrective action set out in the 

plan described in Subparagraph (a)(5) of this 

Rule or as otherwise requested by the 

Commission; 

(11) engaged in any other improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct; 

(12) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Subchapter; 

(13) has taught or conducted a course in any manner 

that discriminated against any person on the 

basis of age, sex, race, color, national origin, 

familial status, handicap status, or religion; or 

(13)(14) failed to comply with any other provisions of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  The Commission shall withdraw an instructor's approval 

when their annual License Examination Performance Record fails 

to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two license years. 

Following withdrawal, the instructor shall be ineligible to apply 

for approval for a period of one year. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 30 – BOARD OF MASSAGE AND 

BODYWORK THERAPY 

 

 

Rule-making Agency:   Board of Massage and Bodywork 

Therapy 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 30 .0704 

 

Effective Date:  November 25, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  November 

17, 2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare has arisen with the coronavirus outbreak 

in North Carolina.  The Governor declared a state of emergency 

on March 10, 2020.  Continuing education providers were 

required to cease from providing in-classroom continuing 

education courses.  To allow massage and bodywork therapists to 

continue taking continuing education courses to renew their 

license, the Board is waiving the in-classroom requirement and 

allow all hours to be completed by distance learning. 

 

SECTION .0700 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 30 .0704 WAIVER OF REQUIREMENTS 

DURING DISASTER OR EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the governor declares a state of emergency, the Board may 

allow all continuing education hours required by G.S. 90-630.5 

and Rule .0701(b) of this Chapter to be obtained by distance 

learning. In making this determination, the Board shall consider 

the risk of harm to licensed massage and bodywork therapists 

attending in-classroom continuing education courses. 

(b)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply during the 

effective period of the state of emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 150B-19(6); S.L. 

2020-97; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. June 30, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. September 13, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. November 25, 2020 to expire pursuant 

to S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Commission for Public Health 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 41A .0107 and .0212 

 

Effective Date:  December 1, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 

19, 2020 

 

Reason for Action:  COVID-19, a novel coronavirus, was 

identified as the cause of an emerging infectious disease outbreak 

in December 2019 in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China.  This novel 

coronavirus causes respiratory illness ranging in severity from 

mild illness to death.  As of November 3, 2020, over 46,800,000 

confirmed cases and 1,200,000 deaths had been reported from 

219 countries, including the United States.  The first U.S. case 

was reported in a traveler returning from Wuhan on January 21, 

2020 in Washington State.  As of November 3, over 9,200,000 

cases and 230,000 deaths had been reported in the U.S., and over 

280,000 cases and 4,000 deaths had been reported in North 

Carolina.  The North Carolina Division of Public Health is 

working closely with the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDC) to monitor and respond to this pandemic in 

North Carolina. 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0107 – Due to the widespread community 

transmission of this serious, infectious disease, testing is 

occurring in non-traditional environments, such as community-

based testing sites.  For this reason, reporting requirements need 

to be extended to other types of healthcare providers potentially 

involved in testing, such as nurses, pharmacists, and dentists.  It 

is also imperative that public health officials receive not only 

positive tests results, but also negative test results, to better 

understand the prevalence of the disease in North Carolina. 

To address this, the legislature enacted S.L. 2020-4 Sec. 

4.10(a)(1) and the State Health Director issued a Temporary 

Order, pursuant to her authority under G.S. 130A-14.1, requiring 

healthcare providers and laboratories to report all COVID-19 

diagnostic test results, both positive and negative, effective July 

7, 2020.  This temporary rule is needed to continue these 

reporting requirements while a permanent rule is pursued.  

Adoption of this temporary rule is required due to the serious and 

unforeseen threat to public health posed by this infectious disease. 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0212 – On June 18, 2020, the NC Commission 

for Public  Health received a petition for rulemaking from the 

North Carolina Board of Funeral Service, requesting that the 

Commission consider amending rule 10A NCAC 41A .0212 to set 

out the proper precautions to prevent infection during the 

handling and transportation of the bodies of persons infected with 

COVID-19 and require notification of those precautions.  

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-20, the Commission fully considered and 

granted the petition at its meeting on August 5, 2020.  However, 

the Commission did not approve the proposed rule language 

submitted with the petition and directed agency staff to revise the 

proposed rule language for consideration at a special meeting on 

September 15, 2020.  Notice of this decision was provided in 

writing to the North Carolina Board of Funeral Service on August 

5, 2020. On September 15, 2020, the Commission adopted an 

amendment to the rule under emergency procedures and 

approved proceeding with rulemaking under temporary 

procedures. 

It is imperative that this rule be quickly amended to address the 

need identified by the North Carolina Board of Funeral Service 

for communicable disease control measures to mitigate the risk of 

disease transmission during the handling and transportation of 

the bodies of persons infected with COVID-19.  Adoption of this 

temporary rule is required due to the serious and unforeseen 

threat to public health posed by this infectious disease. 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0100 - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0107 REPORTING OF COVID-19 

DIAGNOSTIC TEST RESULTS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "COVID-19 diagnostic test" means any nucleic 

acid or antigen test that identifies SARS-CoV-

2, the virus that causes COVID-19. 

(2) "Electronic laboratory reporting" means the 

automated messaging of laboratory reports sent 

to the Division of Public Health using a 

machine-readable electronic communication 

protocol. 

(3) "Healthcare provider" means a healthcare 

provider as defined in G.S. 130A-476(g). 

(4) "Laboratory" means a facility that performs 

testing on specimens obtained from humans for 

the purpose of providing information for health 

assessment and for the diagnosis, prevention, or 

treatment of disease and is certified by the 

United States Department of Health and Human 

Services under the Clinical Laboratory 

Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) 



 TEMPORARY RULES 

 

 

35:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 15, 2020 

1403 

and implementing regulations. This definition 

includes a healthcare provider who performs 

testing in an on-site facility that meets these 

requirements. 

(b)  Each person in charge of a laboratory providing diagnostic 

service in this State shall report the results of all COVID-19 

diagnostic tests to the Division of Public Health using electronic 

laboratory reporting. For purposes of COVID-19, a novel 

coronavirus under Rule .0101(c)(1) of this Section, the required 

method of reporting set out in Rules .0101(c) and .0102(d)(3) of 

this Section shall not apply. The report shall include all of the 

elements required to be reported under the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services, laboratory data 

reporting guidance, which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent amendments and editions, and available 

free of charge at https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/covid-

19-laboratory-data-reporting-guidance.pdf. 

(c)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a laboratory: 

(1) submits a COVID-19 Laboratory Data 

Automation Registration form to the Division 

of Public Health and acts to onboard to 

electronic laboratory reporting. This form shall 

be submitted within seven calendar days of the 

date the laboratory starts performing COVID-

19 diagnostic testing and shall contain the 

following elements: 

(A) the name, address, phone number, and 

CLIA number of the laboratory; 

(B) the name, address, and phone number 

of the person in charge of the 

laboratory or that person's designee; 

(C) the type of test performed, testing 

capacity, and whether the laboratory 

will use a third-party laboratory to 

perform part or all of the testing; and 

(D) if the laboratory will use a third-party 

laboratory to perform part or all of the 

testing, the information in 

Subparagraphs (c)(1)(A)-(B) for the 

third-party laboratory; and 

(2) until onboarding to electronic laboratory 

reporting is complete: 

(A) reports the results of positive COVID-

19 diagnostic tests to the Division of 

Public Health, including all elements 

required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

by telefax; and 

(B) reports the aggregate number of 

positive and negative nucleic acid 

COVID-19 diagnostic tests and the 

aggregate number of positive and 

negative antigen COVID-19 

diagnostic tests per day to the Division 

of Public Health through an online 

survey available at: 

https://files.nc.gov/covid/documents/e

CATR-Reference-Guide.pdf. 

(d)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a laboratory that completes fewer than 50 

total COVID-19 diagnostic tests per week submits results as set 

out in Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule. 

(e)  Healthcare providers who order COVID-19 diagnostic testing 

in this State shall: 

(1) report the results of positive COVID-19 

diagnostic tests by telefax to the local health 

director in the county or district where the 

patient resides. The report shall contain: 

(A) patient first and last name, date of 

birth, address, county of residence, 

phone number, sex, race, and 

ethnicity; 

(B) provider name, address, phone 

number, and NPI; 

(C) the specimen collection date, the test 

order date, and the test result date; 

(D) the test result; and 

(E) all other available elements required in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and 

(2) report the aggregate number of positive and 

negative nucleic acid COVID-19 diagnostic 

tests and the aggregate number of positive and 

negative antigen COVID-19 diagnostic tests 

per day to the Division of Public Health through 

an online survey. 

(f)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a healthcare provider: 

(1) verifies that the laboratory that receives the 

specimen for testing will report the test result in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and 

(2) includes patient first and last name, date of 

birth, address, county of residence, phone 

number, sex, race, ethnicity, and specimen 

collection date on the lab order. 

(g)  The requirement for healthcare providers to report COVID-

19 diagnostic test results, as set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

is separate from the requirement for physicians to report suspected 

infections of COVID-19, a novel coronavirus, including positive 

COVID-19 diagnostic test results, in accordance with G.S. 130A-

135 and Rules .0101(a) and .0102(a) of this Section. 

(h)  Laboratories and healthcare providers who are required to 

report under this Rule shall report positive COVID-19 diagnostic 

test results immediately upon receiving the result and negative 

COVID-19 diagnostic test results within 24 hours of receiving the 

result. Results reported to a local health department under this 

Rule shall be forwarded to the Division of Public Health within 

24 hours of receipt by the local health department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-

139; 130A-141; 130A-141.1; S.L. 2020-4, s. 4.10(a)(1); P.L. 100-

578; 42 C.F.R. 493; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. September 25, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0200 - CONTROL MEASURES FOR 

COMMUNICABLE DISEASES 

 



 TEMPORARY RULES 

 

 

35:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 15, 2020 

1404 

10A NCAC 41A .0212 HANDLING AND 

TRANSPORTATION OF BODIES 

(a)  Persons handling the body of any person who has died shall 

comply with the standard precautions for all patient care 

published by the United States Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, which are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

any subsequent amendments and editions, and available free of 

charge at: https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/basics/standard-

precautions.html. 

(a)(b)  It shall be the duty of the physician physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner attending to any person who dies 

and is known to be infected with HIV, plague, or hepatitis B B, or 

COVID-19 or any person who dies and is known or reasonably 

suspected to be infected with smallpox, rabies, severe acute 

respiratory syndrome (SARS), or Jakob-Creutzfeldt to provide 

written written, verbal, or electronic notification to all individuals 

handling the body of the proper precautions to prevent infection. 

infection, as set forth in Paragraphs (d), (e), and (f) of this Rule. 

This written written, verbal, or electronic notification shall be 

provided to the funeral service director, funeral service worker, or 

body transporter personnel at the time the body is removed from 

any hospital, nursing home, or other health care facility. When the 

patient dies in a location other than a health care facility, the 

attending physician physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner shall notify the funeral service director, funeral 

service worker, or body transporter personnel verbally of the 

precautions required as soon as the physician physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner becomes aware of the death. These 

precautions are noted in Paragraphs (b)(d), (e), and (c). (f) of this 

Rule. The duty to notify shall be considered met if performed by 

one of the following individuals: 

(1) the physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner attending to the person who died; 

or 

(2) a designated representative of the physician, 

physician assistant, or nurse practitioner. 

(c)  It shall also be the duty of a medical examiner with jurisdiction 

pursuant to G.S. 130A-383 over the body of any person who dies 

and is known to be infected with COVID-19 to provide written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to the funeral service director, 

funeral service worker, or body transporter at the time the body is 

removed from medical examiner custody of the proper 

precautions to prevent infection. infection, as set forth in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. These precautions are noted in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. The duty to notify shall be considered 

met if performed by a designated representative of the medical 

examiner. 

(b)(d)  The body of any person who died and is known or 

reasonably suspected to be infected with smallpox or severe acute 

respiratory syndrome (SARS) or any person who died and is 

known to be infected with plague shall not be embalmed. The 

body shall be enclosed in a strong, tightly sealed outer case which 

that will prevent leakage or escape of odors as soon as possible 

after death and before the body is removed from the hospital 

room, home, building, or other premises where the death 

occurred. This case shall not be reopened except with the consent 

of the local health director. Nothing in this Paragraph shall 

prohibit cremation. 

(c)(e)  Persons handling the body of any person who died and is 

known to be infected with HIV or hepatitis B or any person who 

died and is known or reasonably suspected to be infected with 

Jakob-Creutzfeldt or rabies shall be provided written written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to observe blood and body fluid 

precautions. 

(f)  Persons handling the body of any person who died and is 

known to be infected with COVID-19 shall be provided written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to observe the COVID-19 

guidance for funeral home workers published by the United States 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments 

or editions, and available free of charge at: 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/funeral-faqs.html. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-144; 130A-146; 

Temporary Rule Eff. February 1, 1988, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on July 29, 1988; 

Eff. March 1, 1988; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 19A .0204 Eff. June 11, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020. 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission November 19, 2020 and December 17, 

2020 at 1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on 

any rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  

Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing 

to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before 

the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Garth Dunklin 
Randy Overton  

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 December 17, 2020          January 21, 2021 
  February 18, 2021 March 18, 2021 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
November 19, 2020 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, November 19, 2020 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting to ensure compliance with 
Executive Orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting was conducted in accordance 
with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.   
 
Commissioners present via teleconference were Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth 
Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel Amanda Reeder and Alex Burgos. Commission Counsel Amber May, 
Ashley Snyder, and Karlene Turrentine were present via WebEx. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the October 15, 2020 meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow up matters Tabs B, C, and D – State Board of Education. 
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FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07H .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0312 - Upon the call of the Chair, the 
rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, 
Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06B .0112 - The Commission reviewed the rewritten rule submitted in response to the September 17, 2020 
objections. The Commission continued its objection only on the grounds of failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.  
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to the rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.9 and 150B-21.12(c) by 
roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth 
Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
16 NCAC 06B .0113 – At the September meeting, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06B .0113.  The agency responded 
in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-21.12 and requested the rule be returned to the agency.  No further action 
was taken by the Commission.  
 
16 NCAC 06B .0114 – Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to object to the rewritten rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.9 for lack of statutory authority and clarity by roll-call vote, ayes 4, noes 4 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Bobby Bryan, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, and Jeff Hyde – 4.  Voting in the negative: Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, 
Randy Overton, and Paul Powell - 4.  The motion failed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to approve the rule subject to the technical change of adding G.S. 115C-
248(a) to the history note by roll-call vote, ayes 4, noes 4 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Anna Baird Choi, Margaret 
Currin, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 4.  Voting in the negative: Bobby Bryan, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, and Jeff 
Hyde – 4.  The motion failed. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(d), the rule remains under review by the Commission. 
 
Tom Ziko, General Counsel with the agency, addressed the Commission.   
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06D .0310 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul 
Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
16 NCAC 06E .0107 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul 
Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06G, Commissioner Hyde recused himself and 
did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning these Rules because he is a member of two North Carolina Charter 
School Boards and the rules pertain to charters. 
 
16 NCAC 06G .0315, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0509, .0514, .0518, .0520, .0521, and .0522 - Upon the call of the Chair, the 
rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, 
Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6 Voting in the negative: None.   
 
16 NCAC 06G .0508 - The Commission reviewed the rewritten rule submitted in response to the September 17, 2020 
objections. The rewritten version of this Rule was approved, but the Commission determined the changes were substantial 
in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.12, requiring the rule to be re-published and reviewed in accordance with the procedure 
in G.S. 150B-21.1(a3) and (b). Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved and found to contain substantial change 
by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth 
Dunklin, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6 Voting in the negative: None.   
 
16 NCAC 06G .0314 and .0519 - The Commission reviewed the rewritten rules submitted in response to the September 17, 
2020 objections. At this meeting, the Commission continued its objection solely on the grounds of statutory authority in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.9 and 150B-21.12(c). The Commission determined the rewritten version of 16 NCAC 06G 
.0519 satisfied the Commission’s objection entered September 17, 2020.  However, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 15, 2020 

1407 

06G .0519 for lack of statutory authority for adding a cross-reference to the accountability models underlying the continuing 
objection for lack of statutory authority in 16 NCAC 06G .0314.  Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to both 
rules in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.9 and 150B-21.12(c) by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 6 Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
16 NCAC 06D .0211; 06G .0316, .0503, and .0517 - In response to September objections, the agency responded in 
accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-21.12 and requested the Rules be returned to the agency. No further action 
was taken by the Commission. 
 
The Commission received over 10 letters of objection to 16 NCAC 06D .0310; 06G .0315, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, 
.0514, .0518, .0520, .0521, and .0522. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3, these Rules are subject to legislative review and a 
delayed effective date. 
The Commission took no action on 16 NCAC 06D .0307, .0308, .0309, .0311; 06E .0204, and .0206.   
 
Tom Ziko, General Counsel with the agency, addressed the Commission.   
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06H .0115, .0116, .0117; 06K .0104, and .0105 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call 
vote, ayes 6, noes 1, as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, 
Randy Overton, and Paul Powell –  6. Voting in the negative: Jeff Hyde.  
The Commission unanimously waived Rule 26 NCAC 05 .0103 and allowed written comments opposing Rule 16 NCAC 
06H .0117 that were submitted after the deadline.  Upon the call of the Chair, the waiver was approved by roll-call vote, 
ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff 
Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
The Commission received over 10 letters of objection to 16 NCAC 06H .0117.  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3, the rule is 
subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date. 
 
16 NCAC 06H .0113; 06K .0101 and .0103 - In response to the Commission’s September objection, the agency responded 
in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-21.12 and requested the rules be returned to the agency.  No further action 
was taken by the Commission. 
 
Tom Ziko, General Counsel with the agency, addressed the Commission.   
 
Department of Transportation  
19A NCAC 02E .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0210, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0224, .0225, 
and .0226 - The agency is addressing the technical change requests from the October meeting. No action was required by 
the Commission. 
 
Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board  
21 NCAC 68 .0216, .0227, .0228, and .0708 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, 
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, 
Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Industrial Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission  
12 NCAC 10B .2005 - Upon the call of the Chair, was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 
7. Voting in the negative: None.   
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Department of Labor 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
13 NCAC 15 .0704 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Building Code Council  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in 
the negative: None.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Commission for Public Health 
10A NCAC 41A .0107 and .0212 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, 
and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy  
21 NCAC 30 .0704 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission.  
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
Review of the 2021 RRC meeting dates - The Commission approved the 2021 RRC meeting dates. 
 
Amendment of the September 2020 minutes – Upon the call of the Chair, the September minutes were amended to 
reflect the following changes:    
 

State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06C .0343, .0345, .0347, .0348, .0355, .0356, .0368, .0377, and .0701 were withdrawn at the 
request of the agency. 

 
The changes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird 
Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
The meeting adjourned at 10:37 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, December 17, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting November 19, 2020 
Held Via WebEx 

 

      

First Name   Last Name   Agency   

Deanna Townsend-
Smith 

Board of Education 

Carmella Fair Board of Education 

Kevin Harrison Board of Education 

Thomas Ziko Board of Education 

Virginia Niehaus DHHS 

Ryan Boyce Board of Education 

Lou Martin Board of Education 

Tammy Howard Board of Education 

Carl Martin Fire Marshall 

Carla Rose Labor 

LaTricia Townsend Board of Education 

Ashley Baquero Board of Education 

Jill Cramer Labor  

Gina Cammarano Industrial Commission 

John Barkley Commission for PH 

Lisa Phillips  

Jean-Marie Maillard  

Eskabonna Henderson Kinetic Minds, LLC 

Laura R  

Melinda Hemphill Ortiz & Schick 

Danice Henderson Kinetic Minds, LLC 

Jonathan Puryear Revenue 

Anna Szamosi  

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

November 19, 2020 Meeting 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Reporting of COVID-19 Diagnostic Test Results 10A NCAC 41A .0107 

Handling and Transportation of Bodies 10A NCAC 41A .0212 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

November 19, 2020 Meeting 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Employer's Requirement to File First Report of Injury 11 NCAC 23A .0104 

Electronic Filings with the Commission; How to File 11 NCAC 23A .0108 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23A .0109 

Required Contact Information from Carriers 11 NCAC 23A .0302 
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Application for or Stipulation to Additional Medical Comp... 11 NCAC 23A .0408 

Claims for Death Benefits 11 NCAC 23A .0409 

Agreements for Prompt Payment of Compensation 11 NCAC 23A .0501 

Employee's Obligation to Report Earnings 11 NCAC 23A .0903 

Electronic Filings with the Commission, How to File 11 NCAC 23B .0104 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23B .0105 

Notice by the Commission 11 NCAC 23B .0106 

Secure Leave Periods for Attorneys 11 NCAC 23E .0104 

Form 21 - Agreement for Compensation for Disability 11 NCAC 23L .0101 

Form 26 - Supplemental Agreement as to Payment of Compens... 11 NCAC 23L .0102 

Form 26A - Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Pe... 11 NCAC 23L .0103 

Form 26A - Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Pe... 11 NCAC 23L .0103 

Form T-42 - Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 11 NCAC 23L .0105 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .2005 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 

Tramway Requirements 13 NCAC 15 .0205 

Responsibility for Compliance 13 NCAC 15 .0402 

Elevator, Escalator, Dumbwaiter, and Special Equipment An... 13 NCAC 15 .0702 

Amusement Device Inspection Fee Schedule 13 NCAC 15 .0703 

Passenger Tramway Inspection Fee Schedule 13 NCAC 15 .0705 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Ocean Hazard Categories 15A NCAC 07H .0301 

Significance of the Ocean Hazard Category 15A NCAC 07H .0302 

Management Objective of Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0303 

AECs Within Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0304 

General Identification and Description of Landforms 15A NCAC 07H .0305 

General Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0306 

Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0308 

Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas: Exceptions 15A NCAC 07H .0309 

Use Standards for Inlet Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0310 

Installation and Maintenance of Sand Fencing 15A NCAC 07H .0311 

Technical Standards for Beach Fill Projects 15A NCAC 07H .0312 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Purchase of School Bus Equipment 16 NCAC 06B .0112 

Appropriate Use of State Tests 16 NCAC 06D .0310 

School Violence Acts Defined and the Annual Report of The... 16 NCAC 06E .0107 

Accountability Annual Performance Standards 16 NCAC 06G .0315 

Charter Schools Financial Noncompliance - Impact of Finan... 16 NCAC 06G .0505 

Charter Schools Governance Noncompliance 16 NCAC 06G .0506 

Charter School Renewal Process 16 NCAC 06G .0507 

Planning Year for New Preliminary Charter Schools 16 NCAC 06G .0509 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0514 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Eligibility 16 NCAC 06G .0518 
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Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Applicati... 16 NCAC 06G .0520 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Review an... 16 NCAC 06G .0521 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Terminati... 16 NCAC 06G .0522 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - LEA Di... 16 NCAC 06H .0115 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - State ... 16 NCAC 06H .0116 

Operations of Federal Programs 16 NCAC 06H .0117 

Placement Procedures 16 NCAC 06K .0104 

Weapons Prohibited on School Property 16 NCAC 06K .0105 

ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD 

Background Investigation 21 NCAC 68 .0216 

Credentials by Endorsement or Reciprocity Based on Milita... 21 NCAC 68 .0227 

Substance Use Disorder Credential by Endorsement or Recip... 21 NCAC 68 .0228 

Types of Intervention 21 NCAC 68 .0708 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Building Code/Soffit in Group R 705.12  

2018 NC Residential Code/Definitions Family R202  

2018 NC Residential Code/Soffit Protection R302.1.1  

2018 NC Residential Code/Tables R602  

2018 NC Fire Code/Definitions Valet Trash Collection Service 202  

2018 Fire Code/Valet Trash Collection Services For R-2 Ap... 304  

2018 Fire Code/Commercial Kitchen Hoods 609.2  

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, DECEMBER 17, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06B .0114 (Snyder)   
B. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06D .0212, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0311; 06E 0204, .0206; 06G .0314, 

.0508, .0519 (Snyder)   
C.  Department of Transportation - 19A NCAC 02E .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, 
.0210, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0224, .0225, and .0226 (May) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between October 21, 2020 through November 20, 2020 

• Board of Agriculture 48A (Reeder) 

• Soil and Water Conservation Commission (Snyder) 

• Board of Agriculture 61 (May) 

• Department of Information Technology (May) 

• Medical Care Commission 13C (Snyder) 

• Medical Care Commission 13D, 13K (Reeder) 

• DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation (Reeder) 

• Commission for Public Health (May) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02I, 02J (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02N, 02O (Snyder) 

• Environmental Management Commission 13B (Reeder) 
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• Department of Revenue (Reeder) 

• Board of Funeral Service (May) 

• Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators (May) 

• Real Estate Commission (May) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, January 21, 2021 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

October 21, 2020 through November 20, 2020 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 48 are Board of Agriculture rules governing the plant industry, including plant protection, fertilizer, 
seeds, liming materials and landplaster, and genetically engineered organisms.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 48A are plant protection rules directed at specific plant problems or methods of protection 
including regulations incorporated by reference (.0100); the honey and bee industry (.0200); exterior pests (.0300); 
white pine blister rust (.0400); witchweed (.0500); protection against the boll weevil (.0600); imported fire ant (.0700); 
potato virus y (.0800); sweet potato weevil (.0900); vegetable plant certification (.1000); tobacco plant certification 
(.1100); nursery certification (.1200); movement for scientific purposes (.1300); forms (.1400); gypsy moth (.1500); 
phytophagous snails (.1600); and control of noxious weeds (.1700). 

Currant and Gooseberry Plants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 48A .0401 

Infected Pines 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 48A .0402 

Cotton Stalk Destruction 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 48A .0612 

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 59D concern the agriculture cost share program for nonpoint source pollution control. 

Criteria and Procedures for Granting Job Approval Authority 
Adopt* 

 
02 NCAC 59D .0201 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 61 concern sanitation of bedding. 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0101 

Authorized Sanitizing Processes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0102 

Other Methods of Sanitizing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0103 

Disposal of Unclean Bedding 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0104 

Storage of Secondhand or Previously-Used Materials 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0105 
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Non-Transferrable Registration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0106 

Transfer of Manufacturers' and Sanitizer's Licenses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0107 

License Feeds and Applications 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0108 

Cancellation of Licenses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0109 

Durable Materials for Tags 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0110 

Effective Date of Licenses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0111 

Severability 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 61 .0112 

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Subchapter 6A concern information technology procurement including forms, terms and conditions and 
definitions (.0100). 

Petitions for Rule-making 
Adopt* 

 
09 NCAC 06A .0104 

The rules in Subchapter 6D concern the government data analytics center including the North Carolina education 
longitudinal data system (.0100). SYSTEM 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 
09 NCAC 06D .0101 

Data Request Process 
Adopt* 

 
09 NCAC 06D .0102 

Contributor Data Sharing Agreements 
Adopt* 

 
09 NCAC 06D .0103 

Requestor Data Sharing Agreements and Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
09 NCAC 06D .0104 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13C concern licensing of ambulatory surgical facilities including general provisions (.0100); 
licensing procedures (.0200); governing authority and management (.0300); medical and surgical services (.0400); 
anesthesia services (.0500); pathology services (.0600); radiology services (.0700); pharmaceutical services (.0800); 
nursing services (.0900); medical records services (.1000); surgical facilities and equipment (.1100); functional safety 
(.1200); control and sanitation (.1300); and physical plant construction (.1400). 

Requirements for Issuance of a License 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13C .0202 

Suspension or Revocation: Ambulatory Surgical Facility 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 13C .0203 

Governing Authority 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13C .0301 

Providing Anesthesia Services 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13C .0501 

Regulations for Performed Services 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 13C .0702 

Nursing Personnel  10A NCAC 13C .0902 
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Readopt with Changes* 

The rules in Subchapter 13D are rules for the licensing of nursing homes including general information (.2000); licensure 
(.2100); general standards of administration (.2200); patient and resident care and services (.2300); medical records 
(.2400); physician's services (.2500); pharmaceutical services (.2600); dietary services (.2700); activities, recreation 
and social services (.2800); special requirements (.2900); specially designated units (.3000); design and construction 
(.3100); functional requirements (.3200); fire and safety requirements (.3300); and mechanical, electrical, and plumbing 
requirements (.3400). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 13D .2001 

Physician Services for Ventilator Dependent Patients 
Repeal* 

 
10A NCAC 13D .2506 

Ventilator Assisted Care 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 13D .3003 

The rules in Subchapter 13K concern hospice licensing rules including general information (.0100); license (.0200); 
administration (.0300); personnel (.0400); scope of services (.0500); patient/family care (.0600); patient/family care plan 
(.0700); pharmaceutical and medical treatment orders and administration (.0800); medical records (.0900); evaluation 
(.1000); hospice residential care (.1100); and hospice inpatient care (.1200). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13K .0102 

Personnel 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13K .0401 

Patient's Rights and Responsibilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13K .0604 

Care Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13K .0701 

Dietary Services 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13K .1104 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 14 concern services provided by the Division of Health Service Regulation.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 14C are Certificate of Need regulations including general provisions (.0100); applications and 
review process (.0200); exemptions (.0300); appeal process (.0400); enforcement and sanctions (.0500); and criteria 
and standards for nursing facility or adult care home services (.1100), intensive care services (.1200), pediatric intensive 
care services (.1300), neonatal services (.1400), hospices, hospice inpatient facilities, and hospice residential care 
facilities (.1500), cardiac catheterization equipment and cardiac angioplasty equipment (.1600), open heart surgery 
services and heart-lung bypass machines (.1700), diagnostic centers (.1800), radiation therapy equipment (.1900), 
home health services (.2000), surgical services and operating rooms (.2100), end stage renal disease services (.2200), 
computed tomography equipment (.2300), immediate care facility/mentally retarded (ICF/MR) (.2400), substance 
abuse/chemical dependency treatment beds (.2500), psychiatric beds (.2600), magnetic resonance imaging scanner 
(.2700), rehabilitation services (.2800), bone marrow transplantation services (.2900), solid organ transplantation 
services (.3000), major medical equipment (.3100), lithotriptor equipment (.3200), air ambulance (.3300), burn intensive 
care services (.3400), oncology treatment centers (.3500), gamma knife (.3600), positron emission tomography scanner 
(.3700), acute care beds (.3800), gastrointestinal endoscopy procedure rooms in licensed health service facilities 
(.3900), and hospice inpatient facilities and hospice residential care facilities (.4000). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .0202 

Filing Applications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .0203 

Extension of Review Board 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .0205 
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Replacement Equipment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .0303 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .2101 

Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .2103 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .2201 

Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .2203 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .3901 

Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 14C .3903 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 41 concern epidemiology health.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 41C concern occupational health including general provisions (.0100); dusty trades program 
(.0200); industrial hygiene consultation program (.0300); occupational health nursing consultation program (.0400); 
asbestos hazard management program (.0600); occupational health surveillance (.0700); lead-based paint hazard 
management program (.0800); and lead-based paint hazard management program for renovation, repair and painting 
(.0900). 

Training and Technical Assistance 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
10A NCAC 41C .0304 

General 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 41C .0601 

Accreditation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 41C .0602 

Training Course Instructor Qualifications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 41C .0608 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9A cover the Commission organization and procedure (.0100) and enforcement of the rules 
(.0200). 

Investigation of Violation of Rules 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09A .0201 

The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Responsibilities of the School Director 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0202 

Specialized Firearms Instruction Training 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0226 

Specialized Driver Instructor Training  12 NCAC 09B .0227 
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Amend* 

Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor ... 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0232 

Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0233 

Certification of Diversion Investigator and Supervisors 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0314 

Satisfaction of Training - SMI Operators 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0409 

Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor... 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0417 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2I concern hearings including scope, definitions and delegations (.0100); rule making hearings, 
notice and procedures (.0200); administrative hearings (.0300); special hearings (.0400); petitions for rulemaking 
(.0500); and declaratory rulings (.0600). 

Purpose of this Subchapter 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0101 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0102 

Delegations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0103 

Authorized Hearing Officers 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0104 

Requirements of Hearing Officer or Panel 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0105 

Department Hearing Rules 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0106 

Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0203 

Opportunity for Hearing 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0301 

Request for Hearing 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0302 

Water Quality Discharge Permits: Notice: Procedures 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0402 

Form and Contents of Petition 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0501 

Review by a Committee of the Commission 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0502 

Presentation of the Commission 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0503 

Recourse to Denial of Petition 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0504 

Issuance of Declaratory Ruling 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0601 

Procedure for Submission of Petition 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0602 

Disposition of Request 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02I .0603 
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The rules in Subchapter 2J concern civil penalties. 

Purpose and Scope 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0101 

Definitions 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0102 

Who May Assess 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0103 

When Assessable 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0104 

Standards 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0106 

Proposed Assessment: Assessment: Modification 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0107 

Payment: Hearing: Remission/Mitigation 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0108 

Tenders of Payment: Remission/Mitigation: Hearing Request 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0109 

Referral 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0110 

Reports to the Commission 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02J .0111 

The rules in Subchapter 02N concern underground storage tanks including general considerations (.0100); program 
scope and interim prohibition (.0200); UST systems: design, construction, installation, and notification (.0300); general 
operating requirements (.0400); release detection (.0500); release reporting, investigation, and confirmation (.0600); 
release response and corrective action for UST systems containing petroleum or hazardous substances (.0700); out-
of-service UST systems and closure (.0800); performance standards for UST system or UST system component 
installation or replacement completed on or after november 1, 2007 (.0900); and UST systems with field-constructed 
tanks and airport hydrant fuel distribution systems (.1000). 

Applicability 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0201 

Installation Requirements for Partially Excluded UST Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0202 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0203 

Performance Standards for UST System Installations or Rep... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0301 

Upgrading of Existing UST Systems After December 22, 1988... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0302 

Notification Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0303 

Implementation Schedule for Performance Standards for New... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0304 

Spill and Overfill Control 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0401 

Operation and Maintenance of Corrosion Protection 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0402 

Compatibility 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0403 

Repairs Allowed 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0404 
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Reporting and Recordkeeping 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0405 

Periodic Testing of Spill Prevention Equipment and Contai... 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0406 

General Requirements for All UST Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0501 

Requirements for Petroleum UST Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0502 

Requirements for Hazardous Substance UST Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0503 

Methods of Release Detection for Tanks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0504 

Methods of Release Detection for Piping 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0505 

Release Detection Recordkeeping 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0506 

Reporting of Suspected Releases 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0601 

Investigation Due to Off-Site Impacts 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0602 

Release Investigation and Confirmation Steps 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0603 

Reporting and Cleanup of Spills and Overfills 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0604 

General 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0701 

Initial Response 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0702 

Initial Abatement Measures and Site Check 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0703 

Initial Site Characterization 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0704 

Free Product Removal 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0705 

Investigations for Soil and Groundwater Cleanup 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0706 

Corrective Action Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0707 

Public Participation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0708 

Temporary Closure 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0801 

Permanent Closure and Changes-In-Service 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0802 

Assessing the Site at Closure or Change-In-Service 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0803 

Applicability to Previously Closed UST Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0804 

Closure Records 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0805 

General Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0901 
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Notification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0902 

Tanks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0903 

Piping 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0904 

Containment Sumps 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0905 

Spill Buckets 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0906 

National Codes of Practice and Industry Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02N .0907 

The rules in Subchapter 02O concern financial responsibility requirements for owners and operators of underground 
storage tanks including general considerations (.0100); program scope (.0200); assurance mechanisms, responsibilities 
of owners and operators (.0400); and changes in status (.0500). 

General 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0101 

Financial Responsibility 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0102 

Substituted Sections 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0103 

Applicability 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0201 

Compliance Dates 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0202 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0203 

Amount and Scope of Required Financial Responsibility 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0204 

Allowable Mechanisms and Combinations of Mechanisms 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0301 

Self Insurance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0302 

Guarantee 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0303 

Insurance and Risk Retention 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0304 

Surety Bond 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0305 

Letter of Credit 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0306 

Standby Trust Fund 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0307 

Insurance Pools 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0308 

Local Government Bond Rating Test 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0311 

Local Government Financial Test 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0312 

Local Government Guarantee 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0313 
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Local Government Fund 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0314 

Substitution of Financial Assurance Mechanisms 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0315 

Cancellation or Nonrenewal by a Provider of Assurance 
Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0316 

Reporting by Owner or Operator 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0401 

Record Keeping 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0402 

Drawing on Financial Assurance Mechanisms 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0501 

Release from the Requirements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0502 

Capacity of Owner or Operator or Provider of Assurance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0503 

Replenishment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02O .0504 

The rules in Chapter 13 concern Solid Waste Management.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 13B concern Solid Waste Management including general provisions (.0100); permits for solid 
waste management facilities (.0200); treatment and processing facilities (.0300); transfer stations (.0400); disposal sites 
(.0500); monitoring requirements (.0600); administrative penalty procedures (.0700); septage management (.0800); 
yard waste facilities (.0900); solid waste management loan program (.1000); scrap tire management (.1100); medical 
waste management (.1200); disposition of remains of terminated pregnancies (.1300); municipal solid waste compost 
facilities (.1400); standards for special tax treatment of recycling and resource recovery equipment and facilities (.1500); 
requirements for municipal solid waste landfill facilities (.1600); requirements for beneficial use of coal combustion by-
products (.1700); and financial assurance requirements for solid waste management facilities (.1800).  

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0101 

Applicability 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0102 

General Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0103 

Solid Waste Storage 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0104 

Collection and Transportation of Solid Waste 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0105 

Generator of Solid Waste 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0106 

Permit Required 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0201 

Permit Application 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0202 

Permit Approval or Denial 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0203 

Recordation of Land Disposal Permits 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0204 

Life-of-Site Permit Issued for a Sanitary Landfill or Tra... 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0207 

Permit Exemptions 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0208 
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Siting and Application Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0301 

Operational and Closure Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0302 

Purpose and Applicability 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0401 

General Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0402 

Siting and Design Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0403 

Application Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0404 

Operational Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0405 

Closure Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0406 

Approved Disposal Methods 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0501 

Open Dumps 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0502 

Siting and Design Requirements for Industrial Sold Waste ... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0503 

Application Requirements for Industrial Solid Waste Landf... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0504 

Operational and Closure Requirements for Industrial Solid... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0505 

Siting and Application Requirements for Incinerators 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0508 

Operational and Closure Requirements for Incinerators 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0509 

Post-Closure Care Requirements for Closed C&DLF and MSWLF... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0510 

Beneficial Fill 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0562 

General Requirements for LICDLFS 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0563 

Siting Criteria for LCIDLFs 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0564 

Application Requirements for LCIDLFs 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0565 

Operational Requirements for LCIDLFs 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0566 

Closure and Post-Closure Care Requirements for LCIDLFs 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0567 

Groundwater Monitoring 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0601 

Surface Water Monitoring 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0602 

Administrative Penalties 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0701 

Standards 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0702 
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Procedure for Assessment: Revocation of Permit 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0703 

Payments: Hearing 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0704 

Stay of Penalty Assessment 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0705 

Waiver of Administrative Hearing 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0706 

Manner of Disposition of Fetal Remains 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1301 

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 4 are from the License and Excise Tax Division.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 04B concern license taxes including attorneys at law and other professionals (.0600); 
installment paper dealer (.2900); loan agencies or brokers (.3300). 

Government Attorneys-at-Law and Other Professionals Exemp... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04B .0612 

Installment Paper Dealer Quarterly Return 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04B .2903 

The rules in Subchapter 4C concern cigarette tax including definitions (.0100); cigarette distributors license (.0200); 
affixation of stamps and imprints (.0500); requirements for cigarette manufacturers (.0600); receipt of untaxed cigarettes 
(.0700); entities exempt from the Tobacco Products Tax Act (.0800); reports and records required of distributors (.0900); 
refunds of the cigarette tax (.1000); how tax applies on railroads and ocean-going vessels (.1100); rules relevant to 
cigarette vending machines (.1200); home requirements for other tobacco products besides cigarettes (.1300); 
manufacturers of other tobacco products (.1400); how to designate sales as exempt (.1700); and monthly report, invoice 
and record requirements (.1800). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0101 

Application or Renewal Requirements for Applicants and Li... 
Adopt* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0104 

Application or Renewal Requirements for a Distributor's L... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0201 

Interstate Cigarette Sales; Licensure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0504 

Invoice Requirement 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0602 

Excise Tax Liability for Cigarette Inventory 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0702 

Monthly Report for Resident Distributor 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0901 

Monthly Report for Nonresident Distributors 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0902 

Invoicing Requirements for Distributors 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0903 

Record Requirements for Distributors 
Adopt* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .0904 

Refunds Only to Licensed Distributors 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .1002 

Application or Renewal Requirements for a Wholesale Deale...  17 NCAC 04C .1301 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Invoice Requirement 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .1401 

Sales to Licensed Dealers Only 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .1402 

Manufacturers Acting as Retailer 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .1403 

Monthly Report for Wholesale Dealers and Retail Dealers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .1801 

Invoicing Requirements for Wholesale Dealers and Retail D... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .1802 

Record Requirements for Wholesale Dealers and Retail Dealers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04C .1803 

The rules in Subchapter 04E concern alcoholic beverages tax including monthly reports: spoilage: breakage and 
destruction (.0300); ocean-going beer and wine (.0500); and bond required (.0600). 

Out of State Shipments Reporting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0204 

Major Disaster Reporting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0205 

Wholesaler Buying from Wholesaler 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0206 

Spoilage or Destruction of Nontaxpaid Beer or Wine 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0301 

Spoilage of Taxpaid Beer or Wine 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0302 

Destruction of Malt Beverages or Wine when in Transit 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0303 

Receipts for Malt Beverages and Wine Delivered to Ocean-G... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0502 

Bond Required of Wholesaler and Importer 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0601 

New Wholesaler or Importer of Bond 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
17 NCAC 04E .0602 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 34C concern crematories including general provisions (.0100); equipment and processing 
(.0200); and authorizations, reports, records (.0300).  

Form of Documents 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0102 

Application Form for Crematory or Hydrolysis License 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0103 

Crematory or Hydrolysis License Certificate 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0104 

Crematory or Hydrolysis Inspection Form 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0105 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0106 

Holding Facility; Cremation or Hydrolysis Unit; Processor 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0201 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 15, 2020 

1424 

Refrigeration 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0202 

Labels 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0205 

Cleanliness 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0206 

Removal of Pacemakers or Other Implanted Devices; Autopsi... 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0207 

Records of Cremation or Hydrolysis and Delivery 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0303 

Retention of Records 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 34C .0306 

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 37D concern new licenses including general provisions (.0100); application for license (.0200); 
education, experience, and required course (.0300); administrators in training (.0400); preceptors (.0500); national exam 
(.0600); and state exam (.0700). 

Initial Licensure Fee 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 37D .0202 

Application to Become Administrator-In-Training (AIT) 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 37D .0402 

The rules in Subchapter 37E concern applications for reciprocity/endorsement. 

Application Contents 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 37E .0102 

The rules in Subchapter 37F concern temporary license requirements. 

Issuance of Temporary License 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 37F .0102 

The rules in 37G concern renewal requirements (.0100); inactive licenses (.0200); reinstatement (.0300); and duplicate 
licenses (.0400). 

Renewal Fee 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 37G .0102 

Verification of License 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 37G .0402 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 58H concern real estate education including general rules (.0100); real estate schools (.0200); 
approved instructors (.0300); and real estate courses (.0400). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58H .0101 

Policies and Procedures Disclosure 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58H .0204 

Course Materials 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58H .0205 

Course Completion Certificates and Reports 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58H .0207 

Expiration and Renewal of Provider Certification  21 NCAC 58H .0209 
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Amend* 

Approval of a Real Estate Education Course 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 58H .0401 

Distance Education Courses 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 58H .0415 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 

     Michel Byrne 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 BLC 00366 9/28/2020 North Carolina 

Landscape 

Contractors 

Licensing Board  

v. Jason Lee Atkins and Natural Choice 

Contracting LLC f/k/a ALM 

Contracting LLC 

Ward 

        

20 CTY 00292 9/18/2020 Mohamad 

Kodaimati  

v. Town of Mint Hill Malherbe 

        

19 DOJ 05371 9/22/2020; 

9/23/2020 

William Donald 

Britt  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 06179 9/11/2020 Donald Ray 

McGlamery  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

19 DOJ 06469 9/11/2020 Paul J Eagle v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

May 

19 DOJ 06638 9/23/2020 Scott McCoy  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 06927 9/14/2020 Jacqueline Deneen 

Coefield  

v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Ward 

20 DOJ 00518 9/9/2020 Alicia Micole Smith  v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DOJ 00742 9/10/2020 David Scott Sutton 

Jr.  

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DOJ 02155 9/16/2020 William Thomas 

Whiting  

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

20 OSP 01463 9/28/2020 Velma Sharpe-

Johnson  

v. NC Department of Public Instruction 

Eastern North Carolina School for the 

Deaf 

Culpepper 
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    Unpublished    

        

20 ABC 02585 9/14/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Vinayak Stores Inc T/A Triangle Food 

Mart 

May 

        

20 CPS 01750 9/1/2020 Tawanda S 

McKinney  

v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Mann 

20 CPS 01834 9/9/2020 Clotene 

Freeman(for 

Husband) Michael 

Freeman  

v. Department of Public Safety Victims 

Services 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CPS 02330 9/15/2020 Russell C Rowe  v. NC Department of Public Safety Victim 

Services 

Overby 

        

19 CSE 05959 9/15/2020 Alvin V Brookins  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06118 9/15/2020 Jason Addams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06583 9/23/2020 Lamont Fagan  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

20 CSE 00323 9/2/2020 Douglas A Gibson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

20 CSE 01804 9/16/2020 Christopher R 

Santana  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 01833 9/10/2020 Jonathan F Hall  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

20 CSE 01911 9/8/2020 Teresa Myers  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

20 CSE 02071 9/14/2020 Chris Newman  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Mann 

20 CSE 02102 9/22/2020 Reginald J Lise  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 02348 9/15/2020 Frank J Rush  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 02369 9/15/2020 Olis Ray Bryant  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 02409 9/4/2020 Corshaun Williams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 02603 9/17/2020 Leonardo Chavez  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 02835 9/23/2020 Joe Nathan Sikes II  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 
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20 CSE 02991 9/23/2020 James M Redmond  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DCS 06464 9/21/2020 Crystal M 

Humphrey  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

        

19 DHR 06737 7/29/2020; 

9/1/2020 

Kenesha Lofton  v. NC Department of Health Human 

Services 

Jacobs; 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 02051 9/25/2020 Christopher Hilliard  v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Byrne 

20 DHR 02368 9/15/2020 Renee J Williams  v. NC Dept of Health and Human Serv Div 

of Child Development and Early Ed 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 02386 9/11/2020 Tyra Whitaker  v. NCDON (OAH) Lassiter 

20 DHR 02583 9/4/2020 Theddies Lewis 

Butler/Butler's Day 

Care Center  

v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 02628 9/10/2020 Kingshuk Roy 

Choudhury  

v. Orange County Board of County 

Commissioners 

Jacobs 

20 DHR 02916 9/23/2020 Micah Glenn Smith 

Sr  

v. DHHS Lassiter 

        

20 DOT 01985 9/1/2020 Trent Demond 

Bellamy  

v. NC Department of Transportation Mann 

        

20 EDC 02795 9/11/2020 Kinetic Minds Inc 

and Kinetic Minds 

Inspire LLC 

v. NC Department of Public Instruction Byrne 

        

20 INS 01520 9/4/2020 Mary Elizabeth 

Franklin Tanner  

v. North Carolina State Health Plan Overby 

20 INS 01658 9/15/2020 Lisa Bass  v. North Carolina State Health Plan Overby 

        

20 MIS 01515 5/26/2020; 

9/4/2020 

Demetrius Marwin 

Holder  

v. Gaston County Sheriff's Dept Gaston 

County Police Department Gaston 

County Clerk of Superior Court 

Malherbe 

        

19 OSP 06219 9/3/2020 Lailtrice Graham 

Biteye  

v. Guilford County Department of Health 

and Human Services CWS 

May 

20 OSP 00418 9/18/2020 Laquannah N Hester  v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Culpepper 

        

20 SOS 00931 9/1/2020 Raleigh Police 

Memorial 

Foundation Inc  

v. NC Department of the Secretary of 

State, Charitable Solicitation Licensing 

Division 

Mann 

        

20 UNC 01561 9/1/2020 Lyndon Melvin 

Whitfield  

v. UNC Health Care Collections Mann 

 


