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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.



EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North CQarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 25, 2020
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 166
NOTICE OF TERMINATION OF EXECUTIVE ORDER NOS. 115 AND 154

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 115, 34 N.C. Reg. 1648-1651 (March 2, 2020), issued
on February 7, 2020, declared a state of emergency for North Carolina due to the severe weather
event on February 6-7, 2020, that caused major flooding and extensive damage: and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 154, 35 N.C. Reg. 530-534 (September 1, 2020). issued
on July 31, 2020, declared a state of emergency for North Carolina due to the damage caused by
Hurricane Isaias: and

WHEREAS, the State of North Carolina requested aid from the appropriate programs as
a result of these emergency declarations to assist with the repairs to the impacted areas: and

WHEREAS, these emergency declarations are no longer necessary.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the power vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
laws of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.20(c¢) the states of emergency that were declared by
Executive Orders No. 115 and 154 are hereby terminated immediately.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 25" day of September in
the year of our Lord two thousand and twenty.

IE

4 Roy Coopel
Governor
ATTEST:

-laine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North CQarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 25, 2020
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 167
JUVENILE JUSTICE PLANNING COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the Executive Organization Act of 1973 established the Governor’s Crime
Commission: and

WHEREAS. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-1102 establishes the Juvenile Justice Planning Committee as
an adjunct committee to advise the Governor’s Crime Commission on matters referred to it that are relevant
to juvenile justice: and

WHEREAS., pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-1102, the composition of the Juvenile Justice
signated by the Governor through executive order: and

Planning Committee shall be de

WHEREAS. the federal Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Act of 1974, Pub. L. No. 93-415 (1974),
as amended, requires states to establish advisory boards to administer juvenile justice and delinquency
prevention grants from the United States Department of Justice (*DOJ™): and

WHEREAS. the Juvenile Justice Planning Committee is ideally suited to serve as such an advisory
board consistent with federal law: and

WHEREAS, juvenile justice policies and programs not only improve the health and well-being of
juveniles, their families and the broader community. but also improve juveniles’ long-term education and
employment prospects.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the laws
of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

SECTION 1. Membership Composition

The Juvenile Justice Planning Committee shall consist of no less than fifteen (15) and no more than
twenty-five (25) members appointed by the Governor. Each member shall have training, experience, or
special knowledge concerning the prevention and treatment of juvenile delinquency or the administration
of justice, or other relevant expertise and experience.

The majority of the members, as well as the chair, shall not be full-time employees of federal, state or local
government. At least one-fifth (1/5) of the members shall be under the age of twenty-eight (28) at the time
of appointment and at least three (3) members shall be under the jurisdiction of the juvenile justice system
or have been previously under the jurisdiction of the juvenile justice system, or if not feasible and in
appropriate circumstances, the parent or guardian of someone who has been or is currently under the
jurisdiction of the juvenile justice system.

The Governor shall appoint at least one representative from the following:

1. Elected officials representing general purpose local government. >
2. Representatives of local law enforcement and juvenile justice agencies. which may include: a

juvenile court or family court judge. a juvenile or local prosecutor, counsel for children, or a

probation worker.
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

3. Representatives of public agencies concerned with delinquency prevention, or treatment, such

as welfare. social services. child and adolescent mental health, education, child and adolescent

substance abuse. special education. services for youth with disabilities, recreation and youth

services.

Private non-profit agencies working with children and families.

Volunteers who work with delinquents or children at risk of delinquency.

Programs that are alternatives to confinement. including organized recreation activities.

Programs addressing problems related to school violence and vandalism and alternatives to

suspension and expulsion.

Persons licensed or certified by the state with expertise and competence in preventing and

addressing mental health and substance abuse needs in delinquent youth and youth at risk of

delinquency.

9. Victim or witness advocacy groups including at least one (1) individual with expertise in
addressing the challenges of sexual abuse exploitation and traumas’ advocacy organizations

10. An American Indian tribal representative or other individual with significant expertise in tribal
law enforcement and juvenile justice in the American Indian tribal communities.

11. County sheriffs” departments.

Nows

»

12. Non-profit faith-based groups or community groups.

SECTION 2. Terms of Service

Members shall serve for two (2) years provided that the Governor, as set forth in N.C. Gen. Stat. §
143B-1102(d). may remove any member or the chair at any time for misfeasance, malfeasance. or
nonfeasance.to ensure compliance with federal requirements.

SECTION 3. Chair

The Chair of the Juvenile Justice Planning Committee shall be designated by the Governor and
serve at the Governor’s pleasure. Pursuant to federal membership composition requirements, the chair
shall not be a full-time employee of federal. state or local government.

SECTION 4. Meetings

The Juvenile Justice Planning Committee shall meet at least quarterly upon the call of the Chair or
upon written request of one-third (1/3) of its membership. A majority of the committee shall constitute a
quorum for the transaction of business.

SECTION 5. Administration of Federal Grants

The Juvenile Justice Planning Committee shall serve as North Carolina’s advisory board for
purposes of administering juvenile justice and delinquency prevention grants from DOJ.

SECTION 6. Duration

This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until August 31. 2022,
unless repealed. replaced or rescinded by another applicable Executive Order. It supersedes and replaces
all other Executive Orders on this subject.

IN WIT

State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this 25" day of September in the year of our

SS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of the

Lord two thousand and twenty.

A

£ Roy Cooped

Governor

ATTEST:

Coltin 3 Marafod,

Elaine F. Matshall L
Secretary of State
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 25, 2020
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 168

AMENDING THE NORTH CAROLINA STATEWIDE
INDEPENDENT LIVING COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. as amended by the Workforce Innovation and
Opportunity Act of 2014 (hereinafter the “Rehabilitation Act”). recognized the importance of
empowering individuals with disabilities to maximize the leadership. independence. and productivity
of individuals with disabilities and the integration and full inclusion of individuals into the mainstream
of American society: and

WHEREAS, the Rehabilitation Act made clear the necessity of providing financial assistance
to states for service providers as they assist individuals in the pursuit of independent living: and for
developing and supporting statewide networks of centers for independent living. and

WHEREAS, the purpose of independent living services and centers for independent living is
to promote a philosophy of independent living, including a philosophy of consumer control, peer
support, self-help. self-determination. equal access. individual advocacy, and systems advocacy: and

WHEREAS, it is imperative that North Carolinians with disabilities have the opportunity to
achieve the goals outlined in the Rehabilitation Act: and

WHEREAS, North Carolina established a Statewide Independent Living Council (referred to
hereafter as the “Council™) under federal mandate in 1992. with the Council operating as an
independent. 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation since 2006: and

WHEREAS, the Council is a vital component of North Carolina’s longstanding commitment
to individuals in the state who live with disabilities: and

WHEREAS, Title VII. Section 704 of the Rehabilitation Act requires each state to formally
establish a Statewide Independent Living Council on behalf of the state to be eligible for federal
funding through the Rehabilitation Act: and

WHEREAS, using the state’s authority to establish the Council is mandated by federal law
and affords the opportunity to promulgate the undersigned’s aspirations and criteria for the Council as
it continues to advance opportunities for independent living with equity and dignity for all individuals
in the state who are living with disabilities.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the power vested in me as Governor by the laws and Constitution
of the State of North Carolina. IT IS ORDERED:
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

Section 1. Establishment
a. The North Carolina Statewide Independent Living Council is hereby established. The Council

shall serve the people of North Carolina in fulfillment of the requirements of the Rehabilitation
Act. The Council shall advise state efforts to improve and cxpand the provision of independent
living services, and foster the development and growth of a statewide network of centers for
independent living.

b. The Council shall exist as an entity independent of any state agency or political subdivision.
The Council may operate as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit entity organized under Chapter 55A of the
North Carolina General Statutes.

Section 2. Membership
a. The Governor shall appoint all members of the Council and all members shall serve at the

pleasure of the Governor. The Governor shall select members after soliciting recommendations
from a broad range of individuals with disabilities and organizations interested in ensuring
equal access and independence for individuals with disabilities.

b. The Council shall consist of no more than twenty (20) voting members.

c. The Council’s membership should reflect North Carolina’s demographic diversity with respect
to race, gender, type of disability and age. and should provide statewide geographic
representation to individuals with disabilities from diverse backgrounds who are
knowledgeable about centers for independent living.

d. The majority of Council members. including both voting and ex-officio members, shall be
individuals with disabilities (as defined by the Rehabilitation Act) and individuals not
employed by any state agency or center for independent living. Additionally. 60 percent (60%)
of the Council’s voting members shall also be individuals with disabilities, as defined in the
Rehabilitation Act, and individuals not employed by any state agency or center for independent
living.

e. The Council’s voting membership shall be comprised of the following:

1. At lcast one (1) director of a center for independent living. chosen by the directors of
centers for independent living within the State, who is appointed by the Governor.

2. One director of an American Indian Vocational Rehabilitation Services project that is
administered under Section 121 of the Rehabilitation Act.
3. At least one veteran.
4. One youth between the ages of eighteen (18) to twenty-six (26).
f. The Council may also include the following voting members, if such appointments are

consistent with the requirements provided in Section 2.d:

1. Other representatives from centers for independent living.

2 Individuals with disabilities, of which shall comprise the majority (60%) of voting
members.

3. Parents and/or legal guardians of individuals with disabilities.

4. Advocates of and for individuals with disabilities.

5 A representative of the private business sector.

6. A representative of a community college, four-year college. or university who is
familiar with centers for independent living and services for individuals with
disabilities.

& Representatives from nonprofit organizations that provide services to or advocate for
individuals with disabilities.

8. A representative from the NCWorks Commission.

9. Other appropriate individuals as determined by the Governor.

g. The Council shall include the following ex-officio members:

1. A representative of the designated State agency (the Division of Vocational
Rehabilitation Services); and

2. Representatives from State agencies that provide services for individuals with
disabilities:
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

a) A representative of the Division of Services for the Blind:

b) A representative of the Division of Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing;

c) A representative of the North Carolina Council on Developmental Disabilities;

d) A representative of the North Carolina Client Assistance Program;

e) A representative from Disability Rights North Carolina, the state’s federally
mandated protection and advocacy entity.

h. Council members shall serve terms of three (3) years. The initial appointment terms shall be
staggered by one (1), two (2). or three (3) years such that approximately one-third of the
Council’s terms shall expire annually on August 15. Vacancies on the Council shall be filled
by the Governor. In the event of a vacancy caused by a reason other than the expiration of a
term, the Governor shall appoint a person to serve for the remainder of the unexpired term. A
vacancy shall not affect the power of the remaining members to execute the duties of the
Council.

i No member of the Council may serve for more than two full consecutive terms. Individuals
serving two or more years of an unexpired or partial term are considered to have served one
full term. Voting members who have served for two full consecutive terms are ineligible to
serve on the Council for one year. Ex-officio members may be reconsidered for appointment
on the Council after a meaningful break from membership of at least one year.

Section 3. Mectings and Operations of the Council

a. The Council shall select a Chair from the Council’s voting membership. The Council may
select other officers from the Council’s voting membership as needed.

b. The Council shall adopt procedures and bylaws consistent with state and federal laws, and this
Executive Order, which governs the Council’s organization and operations.

c: The Council shall meet at least quarterly, and may also convene at the call of the Chair or the
Governor, or as otherwise provided in procedures adopted by the Council. The Council may
hold any hearings or forums that are necessary to fulfill the Council’s duties.

d. Due to challenges created by the COVID-19 pandemic, these meetings may be held virtually.

e. The Council shall conduct all business at public meetings in compliance with the North
Carolina Open Meetings Law. Public notice of the meeting’s time, date, and place shall be
provided in the manner required by the Open Meetings Law.

f. For transacting the business of the Council, a quorum shall consist of a simple majority of

voting members who have a disability and do not work for either the State or a center for
independent living.

Section 4. Ethics and Other Standards

Members of the Council shall be subject to the requirements of the State Government Ethics Act, North
Carolina General Statute Chapter 138A.

Section 5. Duties

The Council shall exercise the functions. duties and authorities as specified in the Rehabilitation Act
and other federal law. In summary:

a. Jointly develop and sign the State Plan for Independent Living (“*SPIL”) required by the
Rehabilitation Act in conjunction with centers for independent living;

b. Monitor, review, and evaluate the implementation of the SPIL;

e Meet regularly. and ensure that such meetings of the Council are open to the public and

sufficient advance notice of such meetings is provided;

d. Coordinate activities with the North Carolina State Rehabilitation Council and other state
entities that provide services similar to or complementary to independent living services, such
as entities that facilitate the provision of or provide long term community-based services and
supports;
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(2 Submit all periodic reports to the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services at the
reasonable request of the Secretary. Maintain records and afford the Secretary access when
necessary for the Secretary to verify the periodic reports. Upon request, copies of any submitted
reports shall be provided to the Office of the Governor.

f. Collaborate with designated state unit(s) to prepare a resource plan for the provision of Council
resources. including staff and personnel, which are made available under part B Chapter | of
Title VII of the Rehabilitation Act. Section 110 (consistent with Section 101(a)(18)). from
innovation and expansion funding. and from other public and private sources which may be
necessary to carry out the Council’s duties. The Council must include a description of the
Council’s resource plan in the SPIL. The Council is responsible for the proper utilization of
any funds or materials it receives under the resource plan. The Council shall ensure that it meets
any additional federal requirements regarding the resource plan:

g. Supervise and evaluate staff and personnel as necessary to execute the Council’s functions
under this Executive Order and the Rehabilitation Act and with consistency with applicable
state and federal laws:

h. Perform other duties as requested by the Governor and as deemed necessary by the Council to
meet its responsibilities under this Executive Order and the Rehabilitation Act:

i Limitation: The Council shall not provide independent living services directly to individuals
with significant disabilities or manage such services.

Section 6. Administration and Expenses

The designated state entity. as specified in the SPIL. may provide necessary administrative and staff
support services to the Council as requested by either the Council or the Governor. The designated
state entity may not assign such staff duties that would create a conflict of interest. The Council may
use available resources to reimburse members of the Council for reasonable and necessary expenses
of attending Council meetings and performing Council duties (such as personal assistance services),
and to pay reasonable compensation to a member of the Council if such member is not employed or
must forfeit wages from other employment. for each day the member is engaged in performing Council
duties. All monetary compensation and reimbursements shall be derived from the funds provided
under the Council’s resource plan and must be in accordance with Section 705 of the Rehabilitation
Act. The Council may only use federal funds to perform the duties promulgated by Section 705 of the
Rehabilitation Act.

Section 7. Effect and Duration

This Executive Order is effective immediately. It supersedes and replaces all other executive orders on
this subject. This Executive Order shall remain in effect until December 31, 2022, pursuant to N. C.
Gen. Stat. §147-16.2. or until rescinded.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of
the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this 25" day of September in the
year of our Lord two thousand and twenty.

4 Woy Cooper /
Governor

ATTEST:

Secretary of State
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 30, 2020
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 169

RESTRICTIONS TO PROTECT LIVES
DURING THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC: PHASE 3

The COVID-19 Public Health Emergency

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2020, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 116 which
declared a State of Emergency to coordinate the State’s response and protective actions to address
the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (“COVID-19”) public health emergency and provide for the health,
safety, and welfare of residents and visitors located in North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a
global pandemic; and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States issued an emergency
declaration for all states, tribes, territories, and the District of Columbia, retroactive to March 1,
2020, and the President declared that the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States constitutes a
national emergency; and

WHEREAS, on March 25, 2020, the President approved a Major Disaster Declaration,
FEMA-4487-DR, for the State of North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, in responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, and for the purpose of protecting
the health, safety, and welfare of the people of North Carolina, the undersigned has issued
Executive Order Nos. 116-122, 124-125, 129-131, 133-136, 138-144, 146-153, 155-157, and
161-165; and

WHEREAS, more than 210,000 people in North Carolina have had COVID-19, and over
3,500 people in North Carolina have died from the disease; and

Current Metrics

WHEREAS, since the declaration of a state of emergency in Executive Order No. 116,
North Carolina has accumulated increased PPE for health care workers and first responders, has
developed health care protocols and procedures for the treatment of COVID-19, and has adopted
measures to promote social distancing, the use of Face Coverings, and hygiene measures that
reduce transmission of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, slowing and controlling community spread of COVID-19 is critical to
ensuring that the state’s healthcare facilities remain able to accommodate those who require
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medical assistance and remain able to reduce morbidity and mortality from COVID-19 in North
Carolina; and

WHEREAS, so long as health care systems continue to be projected to have sufficient
capacity for patient care, commerce and gatherings may resume and continue under reasonable
restrictions: and

WHEREAS, there have been recent modest declines, compared to July levels, in the
percent of emergency department visits that are for COVID-19-like illnesses, daily new case
counts, the percent of COVID-19 tests that are positive, and COVID-19-associated
hospitalizations; and

WHEREAS, the percent of emergency department visits that are for COVID-19-like
illnesses, daily case counts, the percent of COVID-19 tests that are positive, and COVID-19-
associated hospitalizations have shown stabilization, but remain elevated; and

WHEREAS, COVID-19 daily case counts and associated hospitalizations are above their
levels on May 20, 2020, when the state announced Phase Two of COVID-19 restrictions and
reopening; and

WHEREAS, these trends and considerations require the undersigned to continue certain
public health restrictions to slow the spread of this virus during the pandemic; and

Need for a Phased. “Dimmer Switch” Approach to Loosening Restrictions

WHEREAS, the stabilization of North Carolina’s key metrics is fragile, necessitating that
the state exercise caution in loosening restrictions (particularly in high-risk settings); and

WHEREAS, to slow the spread of COVID-19 and reduce COVID-19 morbidity and
mortality, it remains necessary to use a phased, “dimmer switch™ approach to reducing restrictions
on businesses and activities, with some businesses and activities that pose an increased risk for
COVID-19 spread remaining closed, since the loosening of each restriction on businesses and
activities adds incremental risk and thereby increases the aggregate risk of spread of COVID-19;
and

WHEREAS, in this phased approach, the undersigned must factor into the analysis the
risk from all activities in and affecting North Carolina, not only activities covered by the Executive
Orders; and

WHEREAS, certain types of businesses by their very nature present greater risks of the
spread of COVID-19 because of the nature of the activity, the way that people have traditionally
acted and interacted with each other in that space, and the duration that people stay in the
establishment; and

WHEREAS, the reopening of some K-5 schools for in-person learning under “Plan A”
and the reopening of some entertainment facilities at reduced capacity will increase the state’s
COVID-19 risk; and

WHEREAS, to balance out this additional risk, it is necessary to continue to restrict certain
kinds of businesses and operations to prevent COVID-19 morbidity and mortality and so that North
Carolina’s health care facilities continue to have sufficient capacity and resources to care for those
who become sick; and

WHEREAS, to lower the risk of contracting and transmitting COVID-19, this Executive
Order imposes restrictions on certain businesses designed to limit the number of contacts between
people, particularly in settings in which people exert increased respiratory effort, that are indoors,
that involve people being in close physical contact for an extended period of time (more than 15
minutes), or that involve a large number of people; and

N
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Amusement Parks

WHEREAS, amusement parks feature lower risks of spreading COVID-19 in their
outdoor areas, so long as waiting lines remain socially distanced and high-touch areas are
disinfected; and

WHEREAS, amusement parks and amusement-park-like transportation may therefore
reopen, subject to capacity limitations, Face Covering requirements, measures to ensure that
people remain socially distanced, signage requirements, and cleaning requirements; and

WHEREAS, indoor rides and attractions must remain closed, because indoor rides may
bring large groups of people together, without the ability to social distance, and who may scream
or shout, spreading respiratory droplets in a confined space without air circulation; and

Bars, Night Spots, and Arenas

WHEREAS, across the country, COVID-19 spread has been repeatedly linked to Bars (as
defined below), and in many states, rises in case counts have been temporally associated with the
reopening of Bars; and

WHEREAS, in Bars, people’s risk of spreading COVID-19 is higher for many reasons,
including because people traditionally engage in activities in Bars that result in increased
respiratory effort, because people traditionally mingle in Bars and are in close physical contact for
an extended period of time, and because people are less cautious when they drink alcoholic
beverages; and

WHEREAS, these risks are mitigated, although not eliminated, in outdoor spaces where
air circulates freely: and

WHEREAS, for these reasons and others, it is prudent to continue to limit Bar operation
by requiring that all Guests be seated at tables and counters, separating Guests so that different
groups are socially distanced, and by closing all indoor seating areas; and

WHEREAS, lounges, music halls, night clubs, adult entertainment facilities, and stadiums
share many of the same risks of Bars, but these risks can be mitigated if capacity restrictions are
put in place and if the facility is required to be seated, which will counteract the tendency of Guests
in these facilities to mingle and spread COVID-19 among one another like they are in a Bar; and

WHEREAS, larger crowds in entertainment venues increase the likelihood of a
super-spreading event, and therefore crowds must be limited to an overall maximum limit; and

WHEREAS, because COVID-19 spreads more easily in indoor settings, this overall
maximum limit must be lower in indoor settings; and

WHEREAS, to reduce the risk of spread of COVID-19, these facilities should also operate
under Face Covering requirements, signage requirements, and cleaning requirements; and

Movie Theaters, Meeting Spaces, and Entertainment Facilities

WHEREAS, the COVID-19 risks for movie theaters, hotels, conference centers, and other
event spaces can be mitigated, although not entirely eliminated, if capacity restrictions are put in
place and if Guests do not circulate around the establishment to socialize with each other; and

WHEREAS, to reduce the risk of spread of COVID-19, when movie theaters, meeting
spaces, and entertainment facilities reopen or host larger events, they must be subject to capacity
limitations, Face Covering requirements, measures to ensure that people remain socially distanced,
signage requirements, and cleaning requirements; and
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Outdoor Facilities With Capacity of At Least 10,000 Seats

WHEREAS, Guests at very large outdoor facilities (facilities with more than 10,000 seats)
for entertainment and sporting events have a lower risk of contracting and transmitting COVID-
19 because air circulates freely in outdoor spaces and because people can easily spread out in very
large spaces by staying six (6) feet apart; and

WHEREAS. Guests at very large outdoor facilities for entertainment and sporting events
also have a lower risk of contracting and transmitting COVID-19 because very large facilities have
multiple entrances and exits and larger concourses, reducing crowding and allowing guests to
maintain adequate social distance from one another as they move around the facility; and

WHEREAS, the risk at very large outdoor facilities is also lowered because these facilities
have the resources, staff, and capability to design, implement, and enforce enhanced health and
safety measures for Guests; and

WHEREAS, based on the state’s currently improving COVID-19 metrics and the factors
that lower risk of COVID-19 transmission for very large outdoor facilities, the undersigned has
determined that such facilities may allow more guests that previously allowed, but because of the
risks that continue to exist for any place where larger groups of people gather, the very large
outdoor facilities that are reopening must be subject to capacity restrictions that will limit
spectators to a small fraction of such facilities’ capacity; and

WHEREAS, to reduce the risk of spread of COVID-19, when the very large outdoor
facilities accommodate more Guests, they also must be subject to capacity limitations, Face
Covering requirements, measures to ensure that people remain socially distanced, signage
requirements, and cleaning requirements; and

Face Coverings

WHEREAS, Face Coverings over the mouth and nose can decrease the spread of
respiratory droplets from people. and evidence in numerous recent studies has shown that the use
of Face Coverings decreases the spread of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, under Executive Order No. 147, Face Coverings are required in many types
of busir , but busir have the discretion to accommodate people who cannot wear Face
Coverings by serving them curbside, using home delivery, or using other means to protect against
the spread of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, guidance from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (*“CDC™)
recommends that all employers encourage workers to wear a Face Covering at work; and

WHEREAS, guidance from the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
(“NCDHHS™) strongly recommends that all individuals wear a Face Covering when they may be
less than six (6) feet from other people, and that businesses and organizations provide Face
Coverings or Surgical Masks for workers, as appropriate; and

WHEREAS, based on this guidance, employers who have North Carolina workers who
perform work outside of their home should make their best efforts to provide Face Coverings or
Surgical Masks for workers, as appropriate; and

WHEREAS, the American Academy of Pediatrics recommends the use of Face Coverings
for children above the age of two (2) to limit the spread of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, all people above the age of two (2) years old in North Carolina should use a
Face Covering to reduce the spread of COVID-19, but some populations may experience increased
anxiety and fear of bias and being profiled if wearing Face Coverings in public spaces; and

WHEREAS, if someone is the target of ethnic or racial intimidation as the result of
adhering to the Face Covering provision or as a result of the pandemic, they are encouraged to
report the matter to law enforcement or another government entity; and

4
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Late Night Service of Alcoholic Beverages

WHEREAS, some restaurants or Bars stay open until early morning hours with limited
food service but with continued consumption of alcohol, and patrons frequenting those businesses
during late hours often do not maintain social distancing; and

WHEREAS, the CDC and NCDHHS have stated that the consumption of alcohol lowers
inhibitions and makes people more likely to engage in behaviors that increase the risk of spread of
COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, the consumption of alcohol makes people less likely to practice social
distancing or wear Face Coverings that are required by this Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, people who are drinking beverages cannot consistently wear Face Coverings;
and

WHEREAS, when people gather to consume alcohol in public, they often speak loudly,
laugh, yell, or sing, spreading respiratory droplets that may contain the COVID-19 virus; and

WHEREAS, national and international outbreaks of COVID-19 have been linked to places
like bars, clubs, and restaurants where people consume alcohol in close proximity to one another,
and to super-spreading events in which a single person infects a large number of people; and

WHEREAS, data reveals that there is an increase in the number of younger individuals
who are being infected by COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, some, but not all, county and municipal governments have imposed
restrictions on the sale of alcohol as part of their efforts to prevent the spread of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, the undersigned, in consultation with the Secretary of Health and Human
Services, the Secretary of the Department of Public Safety, and the Director of the Division of
Emergency Management, has determined that limitations on the sale of alcohol in businesses and
other establishments that serve alcohol to the public for on-premises consumption is necessary to
counter the spread of COVID-19; and

The Need for Continued Vigilance

WHEREAS, should there be an increase in the percentage of emergency department visits
that are due to COVID-19-like illness, a consistent increase in the number of laboratory-confirmed
cases, an increase in the positive tests as a percent of total tests, an increase in COVID-19-related
hospitalizations that threaten the ability of the health care system to properly respond, or should
the state’s ability to conduct testing and tracing be compromised, it may be necessary to reinstate
certain restrictions eased by this Executive Order so as to protect the health, safety, and welfare of
North Carolinians; and

WHEREAS, businesses that are open during the duration of this Executive Order are
encouraged to follow the Guidelines for Businesses published by NCDHHS, as well as any other
NCDHHS guidance applicable to their business model, available electronically on the NCDHHS
website: and

Statutory Authority and Determinations

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 116 invoked the Emergency Management Act, and
authorizes the undersigned to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in
the response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies: and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(2), the undersigned may make,
amend, or rescind necessary orders, rules, and regulations within the limits of the authority
conferred upon the Governor in the Emergency Management Act: and

35:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 2, 2020
904




EXECUTIVE ORDERS

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(3) authorizes and empowers the
undersigned to delegate Gubernatorial vested authority under the Emergency Management Act
and to provide for the sub-delegation of that authority; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.12(3)(e), the Division of Emergency
Management must coordinate with the State Health Director to revise the North Carolina
Emergency Operations Plan as conditions change, including making revisions to set “the
appropriate conditions for quarantine and isolation in order to prevent the further transmission of
disease,” and following this coordination, the Emergency Management Director and the State
Health Director have recommended that the Governor develop and order the plan and actions
identified in this Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.23 in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat.
§§ 75-37 and 75-38, the undersigned may issue a declaration that shall trigger the prohibitions
against excessive pricing during states of disaster, states of emergency or abnormal market
disruptions; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(1), the undersigned may utilize
all available state resources as reasonably necessary to cope with an emergency, including the
transfer and direction of personnel or functions of state agencies or units thereof for the purpose
of performing or facilitating emergency services; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(2), the undersigned may take
such action and give such directions to state and local law enforcement officers and agencies as
may be reasonable and necessary for the purpose of securing compliance with the provisions of
the Emergency Management Act and with the orders, rules, and regulations made thereunder; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(i), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because not all local authorities have enacted such
appropriate ordinances or issued such appropriate declarations restricting the operation of
businesses and limiting person-to-person contact, thus needed control cannot be imposed locally;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(ii), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because some but not all local authorities have taken
implementing steps under such ordinances or declarations, if enacted or declared, in order to
effectuate control over the emergency that has arisen; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(iii), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because the area in which the emergency exists spreads
across local jurisdictional boundaries and the legal control measures of the jurisdictions are
conflicting or uncoordinated to the extent that efforts to protect life and property are, or
unquestionably will be, severely hampered; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(iv), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection of lives
and property of North Carolinians because the scale of the emergency is so great that it exceeds
the capability of local authorities to cope with it; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(1) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict the movement of people in public
places: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(2) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict the operation of offices, business
establishments, and other places to and from which people may travel or at which they may
congregate; and

6
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WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(3) authorizes the undersigned to restrict the possession, transportation, sale, purchase,
and consumption of alcoholic beverages; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(5) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict other activities or conditions, the
control of which may be reasonably necessary to maintain order and protect lives or property
during a state of emergency; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(1), when the undersigned
imposes the prohibitions and restrictions enumerated in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.31(b), the
undersigned may amend or rescind the prohibitions and restrictions imposed by local authorities.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Introduction.
For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:
1.1. Definitions.

a. “Amusement Park™ has the definition at N.C. Gen. Stat. § 95-111.3, except that it does
not include waterslides as defined by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 95-111.3(h).

b. “Amusement Transportation” means tour buses, tour trains, or other scenic and
sightseeing transportation that is principally offered and used for amusement,
regardless of whether such transportation is located in an Amusement Park.

c. “Bars” means establishments that are not eating establishments or restaurants as
defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 18B-1000(2) and 18B-1000(6), that have a permit to sell
alcoholic beverages for onsite consumption under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 18B-1001, and that
are principally engaged in the business of selling alcoholic beverages for onsite
consumption.

d. “Core Signage, Screening and Sanitation Requirements™ are the following actions
which establishments open to the public under the terms of this Executive Order must
follow, namely:

1. Post the Emergency Maximum Occupancy in a noticeable place.

2. Post signage reminding Guests and workers about social distancing (staying at
least six (6) feet away from others) and requesting that people who have been
symptomatic with fever and/or cough not enter.

3. Conduct daily symptom screening of workers, using a standard interview

questionnaire of symptoms before workers enter the workplace.

Immediately isolate and remove sick workers.

Perform frequent and routine environmental cleaning and disinfection of high-

touch areas with an EPA-approved disinfectant for SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that

causes COVID-19).

Sy

e. “Emergency Maximum Occupancy” means the maximum occupancy for a facility (or
room within a facility, as applicable) under this Executive Order.

f. “Face Covering” means a covering of the nose and mouth that is secured to the head
with ties, straps, or loops over the ears and fits snugly against the side of a person’s
face. A Face Covering can be made of a variety of synthetic and natural fabrics,
including cotton, silk, or linen. Ideally, a Face Covering has two (2) or more layers. A
Face Covering may be factory-made, sewn by hand, or can be improvised from
household items such as scarfs, bandanas, t-shirts, sweatshirts, or towels. These Face
Coverings are not intended for use by healthcare providers in the care of patients.
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Based on recommendations from the CDC, face shields do not meet the requirements
for Face Coverings.

g. “Guest” means any attendee, customer, guest, member, patron, spectator, or other
person lawfully on the property of another that does not own the property or work at
the property.

h. “N95 Respirator” means a Face Covering approved by the National Institute for
Occupational Safety and Health (“NIOSH”) or a respirator from another country
allowed by the Occupational Safety & Health Administration, the Food & Drug
Administration, or the CDC. N95 respirators are not recommended for general public
use or use in public settings, as they should be reserved for healthcare providers and
other medical first responders in a health care setting. However, if worn, N95
respirators would meet both the Face Covering and Surgical Mask requirements of this
Executive Order.

i. “Personal Care, Grooming, and Tattoo Businesses™” means businesses that (i) do not
provide health care services; and (ii) either (1) have workers directly touch Guests or

(2) have a piece of equipment (other than a touchscreen) repeatedly come into contact
directly with Guests’ skin. This includes, but is not limited to, barber shops, beauty
salons (including but not limited to waxing and hair removal centers), hair salons, nail
salons, manicure or pedicure providers, tattoo businesses, tanning salons, and massage
therapists.

j. “Playground” means a recreation area for children equipped with playground
equipment, including but not limited to soft contained play equipment, swings,
seesaws, slides, stationary spring-mounted animal features, jungle gyms, rider-
propelled merry-go-rounds, and trampolines.

k. “Recommendations to Promote Social Distancing and Reduce Transmission” are
defined in Subsection 1.4 below.

1. “Restaurants™ means permitted food establishments, under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-
248, and other establishments that both prepare and serve food. This includes, but is
not limited to, restaurants, cafeterias, food halls, dining halls, food courts, and food
kiosks. This includes not only free-standing locations but also locations within other
businesses or facilities, including, but not limited to airports, shopping centers,
educational institutions, or private or members-only clubs where food and beverages
are permitted to be consumed on premises.

m. “Retail Business™ means any business in which Guests enter a space to purchase goods
or services, including but not limited to grocery stores, convenience stores,
large-format retail stores, pharmacies, banks, and ABC stores. This also includes, but
is not limited to, (i) retail establishments operated by the state, its political subdivisions,
or agencies thereof, and (ii) state agencies under the jurisdiction of the undersigned
which have a public-facing component offering a service, such as the Division of Motor
Vehicles, the North Carolina Department of Revenue, and shops in North Carolina
Department of Natural and Cultural Resources facilities.

n. “Surgical Mask™ means American Society for Testing and Materials (“ASTM”) Level
1, 2, or 3 approved procedural and surgical masks.

o. “Very Large Outdoor Facilities” are defined in Subsection 6.1 below.
1:2; Exemptions.

Worship, religious, and spiritual gatherings, funeral ceremonies, wedding ceremonies, and
other activities constituting the exercise of First Amendment rights are exempt from all the
requirements of this Executive Order, notwithstanding any other provision of this Executive Order.

35:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 2, 2020
907




EXECUTIVE ORDERS

The undersigned strongly urges that entities and individuals engaging in these exempted
activities follow the Recommendations to Promote Social Distancing and Reduce Transmission,
wear and require Face Coverings, and avoid exceeding Emergency Maximum Occupancy in the
places where they meet.

1.3. Structure of This Executive Order.

To control the spread of COVID-19 and protect lives during the State of Emergency, this
Section lists restrictions on the operations of business establishments and other places to or from
which people may travel or at which they may congregate. Businesses or operations within the
scope of Sections 2 to 6 are prohibited from operating unless they follow all applicable restrictions
stated in these sections.

1.4. General Recommendations.

a. High-Risk Individuals Encouraged to Stay at Home. People who are at high risk of
severe illness from COVID-19 are very strongly encouraged to stay home and travel
only for absolutely essential purposes. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(“CDC”) defines high-risk individuals as people 65 years or older and people of any
age who have serious underlying medical conditions, including people who are
immunocompromised or who have cancer, chronic lung disease, serious heart
conditions, severe obesity, diabetes, chronic kidney disease, sickle cell disease, or Type
2 diabetes mellitus.

b. Follow the Recommendations to Promote Social Distancing and Reduce
Transmission. When people are outside their homes, they are strongly encouraged to
follow the following Recommendations to Promote Social Distancing and Reduce
Transmission:

1. Maintain at least six (6) feet social distancing from other individuals, with the
exception of family or household members.

2. Wear a Face Covering over the nose and mouth when leaving home and wear
it inside all public settings such as grocery stores, pharmacies, or other retail or
public-serving businesses. A Face Covering should also be worn outdoors when
you cannot maintain at least six (6) feet distancing from other people with the
exception of family or household members.

3. Carry hand sanitizer with you when leaving home, and use it frequently.

4. Wash hands using soap and water for at least twenty (20) seconds as frequently
as possible.

5. Regularly clean high-touch surfaces such as steering wheels, wallets, and
phones.

6. Avoid large gatherings.

7. Stay at home if sick.

Section 2. Face Coverings.

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:

2.1 Face Coverings Required In Public Places. The undersigned enacts the following
restriction on the movement of people in public places and restriction on the operation of
offices, business establishments, and other places where people may travel or congregate.
Face Coverings must be worn in any public place, business or establishment, indoor or
outdoor, where it is not possible to consistently be physically distant by more than six (6)
feet from non-household members.

2.2; Restrictions in Section 3. In this Executive Order, Section 3 states a series of specific
Face Covering requirements that implement the general Face Covering requirement stated
above in customized ways for certain types of businesses and establishments.

2.3. Emplover Good Faith Obligation to Provide Face Coverings. Employers who have
workers who perform work outside of their home in North Carolina and have not already

9
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provided Face Coverings for their workers shall make good-faith efforts to provide a one-
week supply of reusable Face Coverings or a new disposable Face Covering daily as soon
as possible for workers to use at their place of employment. New Face Coverings should
be provided during the work day if the worker’s Face Covering becomes soiled, torn, or
wet.

2.4. Exceptions. This Executive Order does not require Face Coverings for—and a Face
Covering does not need to be worn by—a worker or Guest who:

a. Should not wear a Face Covering due to any medical or behavioral condition or

disability (including, but not limited to, any person who has trouble breathing, or is

unconscious or incapacitated, or is otherwise unable to put on or remove the Face

Covering without assistance);

Is under five (5) years of age;

Is actively eating or drinking;

Is strenuously exercising;

Is seeking to communicate with someone who is hearing-impaired in a way that

requires the mouth to be visible;

Is giving a speech for a broadcast or to an audience;

Is working at home or is in a personal vehicle;

Is temporarily removing his or her Face Covering to secure government or medical

services or for identification purposes;

i. Would be at risk from wearing a Face Covering at work, as determined by local, state,
or federal regulations or workplace safety guidelines;

j. Has found that his or her Face Covering is impeding visibility to operate equipment or
a vehicle; or

k. Is a child whose parent, guardian, or responsible person has been unable to place the
Face Covering safely on the child’s face.

spog

™

L

Anyone who declines to wear a Face Covering for these reasons should not be required to
produce documentation or any other proof of a condition.

Children under two (2) years of age should not wear a Face Covering.

2.5. Application of Exceptions. Under this Executive Order, all North Carolinians will be on
the honor system about whether or not there is a reason why they cannot wear a Face
Covering. Everyone in this state is asked to tell the truth and—if they are healthy and able
to wear a mask—to wear a Face Covering so that they do not put other people at risk of
serious illness and death.

2.6. How Businesses May Accommodate Exceptions. If a Guest states that an exception
applies, a business may choose to offer curbside service, provide home delivery, or use

some other reasonable measure to deliver its goods or services.

2.7. Enforcement of Face Covering Requirements.

a. Citations under this Section shall be written only to businesses or organizations that
fail to enforce the requirement to wear Face Coverings. Operators of businesses and
organizations are entitled to rely on their Guests’ representations about whether or not
they are excepted from the Face Covering requirements, and businesses and
organizations do not violate this Executive Order if they rely on Guests’ compliance.

b. Law enforcement personnel are not authorized to criminally enforce the Face Covering
requirements of this Executive Order against individual workers or people.

c. However, if a business or organization does not allow entry to a worker or Guest
because that person refuses to wear a Face Covering, and if that worker or Guest enters
the premises or refuses to leave the premises, law enforcement personnel may enforce
the trespassing laws and any other laws (other than N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-288.20A) that
the worker or Guest may violate.

10
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Section 3. Restrictions on Certain Businesses and Operations.

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:

3.1. Amusement Parks. Amusement Parks and Amusement Transportation may reopen and
operate under the following restrictions:

a. Indoor Rides and Attractions Closed.

1. In an Amusement Park, any ride or attraction that is located indoors must
remain closed. The Amusement Park may open indoor Restaurants,
concessions, gifts shops or retail spaces, and restrooms.

2. Museums, playgrounds, or other establishments that are open may not operate
any indoor motion simulator.

b. Restrictions.

1. Face Coverings. All workers and Guests must wear Face Coverings when they
are or may be on premises or on transportation operated by the establishment.

2. Capacity Restrictions.

a. For the Facility As A Whole. The operator must limit the total number
of Guests in the establishment to thirty percent (30%) of the park’s
normal maximum occupancy.

b. On each Ride or Amusement Transportation. The operator must limit
the number of Guests within each vehicle or car to either:

e Have all the Guests within a vehicle or car be people who came into
the ride loading area together as part of the same group of friends or
family; or

e Ensure six feet of social distancing between each group of friends
or family within the vehicle or car.

c. All other group activities, such as tours, receptions, or parties, are
subject to the Mass Gathering limit stated in Section 5 of this Executive
Order.

3. Other Requirements. The operator must:

a. Spread out waiting lines for rides, amusements, and other areas where
people may congregate or wait, with each group separated by six (6)
feet.

b. The operator must mark six (6) feet of spacing along the line and in
waiting areas for rides and amusements and other areas where people
may congregate or wait.

c. Establish a Guest flow plan that limits people massing together
throughout the park and when they are entering or exiting the park.

d. Increase disinfection during high customer density times.

Provide alcohol-based hand sanitizer (with at least 60% alcohol) at the

entrance and at other areas throughout the premises as needed. Promote

frequent use of handwashing and hand sanitizer for workers and Guests.

f. Disinfect shared objects and surfaces (such as game surfaces, safety
bars, or harnesses) between uses.

g. Follow the restrictions set out in Subsections 3.13, 3.14, and 4 of this
Executive Order for any food, beverage, and retail service.

h. Follow the Core Signage, Screening and Sanitation Requirements as
defined in this Executive Order.

o
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. Bars, Night Spots, and Arenas.

a. This Subsection applies to the following:

e Bars

e Lounges (such as cigar bars and hookah lounges) in which tobacco or related
products are consumed on premises
Auditoriums, amphitheaters, arenas, and other venues for live performances
Music halls, night clubs, or dance halls
Adult entertainment facilities
Spectator stands and viewing areas at a sporting facility, stadium, sporting
complex, or speedway

b. Must be Seated. A facility covered by this Subsection is closed unless it is or becomes
a seated establishment for Guests.

c. Indoor Restrictions.
1. Bars.
o Bars® indoor seating areas and indoor amenities (such as pool and
billiards tables) must be closed.
o Bars must not serve alcoholic beverages for on-site consumption in any
indoor area on their premises.
2. Non-Bar Night Spots and Arenas.
o Indoor seating areas at all other facilities covered by this Subsection
may be open, but are restricted to 25 Guests per facility.
o All facilities covered by this Subsection must not serve alcoholic
beverages for on-site consumption in any indoor area on their premises.

d. Outdoor Restrictions.
1. Bars, Night Spots, and Arenas.

o Outdoor seating areas may be open at Bars and all other facilities
covered by this Subsection. Guests in outdoor areas must be limited to
the lesser of:

= 100 people for the total seating area (or, if there are multiple
fields of play or stages, per field of play or per stage); or

= Thirty percent (30%) of the facility’s stated outdoor occupancy
before reductions under this Executive Order (or, for spaces
without a stated outdoor occupancy, no more than seven (7)
Guests for every one thousand (1000) square feet of the outdoor
area’s square footage).

o A facility covered by this Subsection may serve alcoholic beverages for
on-site consumption in outdoor seating areas on its premises, subject to
applicable local and state regulations.

e. Interpretation of Capacity Restrictions in this Subsection.

1. Workers, entertainers, athletes, and any other support staff do not count toward
the capacity limits stated in Subsections 3.2(c) and 3.2(d) immediately above.

2. Any facility that meets the definition of “Restaurant” in this Executive Order is
covered by Subsection 3.13 of this Executive Order and not this Subsection.

3. A facility is excepted from the limits stated in this Subsection if it is a Very
Large Outdoor Facility covered by Section 6 of this Executive Order.

4. Outdoor amenities may be open at Bars and other facilities covered by this
Subsection.

5. Nothing in this Executive Order prevents establishments from opening up or
expanding outdoor seating areas, subject to applicable local and state
regulations.
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f. Social Distancing Requirements.

1. Space Out Guests. Each group of Guests must be seated so that they are spaced
out by six (6) feet in all directions from other groups of Guests. Each group of
Guests sitting at a counter should be separated from other groups by six (6) feet.
Entertainers also must stay at least six (6) feet away from any Guest.

2. Ordering Area. Bars not using waitstaff must designate an ordering area at the
bar. This area must allow each Guest to wait six (6) feet apart from other Guests.
If necessary, Guests may place their orders by coming inside the Bar’s building;
however, Guests must consume their beverages in outdoor seating areas only.

g. Face Coverings. All workers and Guests must wear Face Coverings when they are or
may be within the facility.

h. Other Requirements. Facilities covered by this Subsection must:

1. Restrict late night service of alcoholic beverages as stated in Section 4 of this
Executive Order.

2. Follow the restrictions set out in Sections 3.13 of this Executive Order for any
food or beverage service.

3. Mark six (6) feet of spacing in lines at high-traffic areas for Guests.

4. Promote frequent use of hand-washing and hand sanitizer for wait staff and food
service staff throughout the shift and upon reporting to work. Hand washing
must at least meet the requirements specified in the North Carolina Food Code
Manual.

5. Provide alcohol-based hand sanitizer (with at least 60% alcohol) at the entrance
and at other areas throughout the premises as needed. Promote frequent use of
handwashing and hand sanitizer for workers and Guests.

6. Increase disinfection during peak times or high Guest density times, and
disinfect all shared objects (e.g., payment terminals, tables, countertops/bars,
receipt trays, and reusable menus) between use.

7. Follow all applicable requirements in NCDHHS guidelines.

8. Follow the Core Signage, Screening and Sanitation Requirements as defined in
this Executive Order.

i. Miscellaneous Provisions on Bars.

1. Clarifications. People sitting at a table need not be members of the same
household and do not need to stay six (6) feet apart. Moreover, this Executive
Order does not require waitstaff to stay six (6) feet away from Guests.

2. Off-Site Consumption. This Executive Order does not direct the closure of
retail beverage venues that provide for the sale of beer, wine, and liquor for off-
site consumption only. It also does not require the closure of production
operations at breweries, wineries, or distilleries.

3:3. Child _Care Facilities. Subsections 3.2(d) and 6.6 of Executive Order No. 163 are
incorporated into this Section as if they were stated herein.

3.4. Children’s Day or Overnight Camps. Subsections 3.2(d) and 6.7 of Executive Order
No. 163 are incorporated into this Section as if they were stated herein.

3.5, Fitness and Physical Activity Facilities.

a. This Subsection applies to “Fitness and Physical Activity Facilities,” defined as any of
the following:
e Exercise facilities (e.g., yoga studios, dance studios, ballrooms for dancing, martial
arts facilities, gymnastics, indoor trampoline and rock climbing facilities)
e Gyms
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Fields of play, including but not limited to basketball courts, baseball fields,
volleyball courts, racquetball courts, squash courts, hockey rinks, soccer fields, and
tennis courts (with spectators, if any, limited as stated in Subsection 3.2 of this
Executive Order)

Health clubs and fitness centers

Boxing clubs

Skating rinks

Bowling alleys

Golf courses and driving ranges

Golf ball hitting bays

Mini-golf courses

Go-cart tracks

The track for any speedway or raceway (with spectators, if any, limited as stated in
Subsection 3.2 of this Executive Order)

Paintball, laser tag, and similar fields and arenas

Indoor Playgrounds

b. Face Coverings. All workers must wear Face Coverings when they are or may be
within six (6) feet of another person, unless the worker is strenuously exercising.
All Guests must wear Face Coverings when they are inside the establishment and not
strenuously exercising.

c. Capacity Restrictions.

1. Indoor Areas. Fitness and Physical Activity Facilities must limit Guests in
indoor areas to the lowest number produced by applying the following two tests:

a. QOverall. Limit the number of Guests in the facility to thirty percent
(30%) of stated fire capacity (or, for spaces without a stated fire
capacity, no more than seven (7) Guests for every one thousand (1000)
square feet of the location’s total square footage, including the parts of
the location that are not accessible to Guests).

b. In Any Room. Limit the number of Guests in any given room of the
facility so that everyone can stay six (6) feet apart.

2. Outdoor Areas. Fitness and Physical Activity Facilities must limit Guests in
outdoor areas to twelve (12) Guests for every one thousand (1000) square feet.

3. Games or Events With Spectators. The capacity restrictions for facilities in
Subsection 3.2 above, not the capacity restrictions in Subsections 3.5(c)(1)-(2)
above, apply to Fitness and Physical Activity Facilities whenever they host a
game with spectators.

4. A Fitness and Physical Activity Facility is excepted from the limits stated in
this section if it is a Very Large Outdoor Facility covered by Section 6 of this
Executive Order.

d. Social Distancing Measures.

1. Spread Out Guests and Equipment. Operators of Fitness and Physical Activity
Facilities must:

a. For activities involving Guests spread out among fixed equipment or
lanes, tape off or move the equipment, or restrict access to lanes, so that
the Guests conducting the exercise activity are at least six (6) feet apart.

14
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3.6.

3.7.

3.8.

b. For group classes or group activities, ensure that all Guests are spaced
at least six (6) feet apart. Instructors may come within six (6) feet of
students for brief periods of time (less than 15 minutes).

2. Seating in Waiting Areas. For Guests waiting to take their turn in the activity,
operators must space out any seating so that Guests can be socially distanced
and stay six (6) feet apart from each other.

e. Other Requirements. Operators of Fitness and Physical Activity Facilities must:

1. Promote frequent use of hand washing and hand sanitizer for workers and
Guests. Require workers to wash hands immediately upon reporting to work,
after contact with Guests, after performing cleaning and disinfecting activities,
and frequently throughout the day.

2. Disinfect all shared equipment between users with an EPA-approved
disinfectant for SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes COVID-19). Allow the
disinfectant to sit for the adequate amount of time stated by the manufacturer.
If Guests are to clean equipment, the establishment must provide instructions
on how to properly disinfect equipment and on the adequate amount of time
that the disinfectant must sit to be effective.

3. Increase disinfection during peak times or high-population-density times.

4. Mark six (6) feet of spacing in lines at point of sale and in other high-traffic
areas for Guests.

5. Post the Emergency Maximum Occupancy of any room or other enclosed space
at the door to that space.

6. Follow the restrictions set out in Sections 3.13 and 4 of this Executive Order
for any food and beverage service.

7. Follow the Core Signage, Screening and Sanitation Requirements as defined in
this Executive Order.

Government Operations. Subsection 3.2(e) of Executive Order No. 163 is incorporated
into this Section is if it were stated herein.

Health Care Settings.

a. Surgical Masks in Long Term Care Facilities. All workers in Long Term Care (“LTC”)
Facilities, including skilled nursing facilities (“SNF”), adult care homes (“ACH”),
family care homes (“FCH™), mental health group homes, and intermediate care
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities (“ICF-IID”), must wear Face
Coverings while in the facility, and those Face Coverings must be Surgical Masks, as
long as Surgical Mask supplies are available.

b. Other Health Care Settings. Health care facilities other than LTC facilities must follow
the Face Covering requirements in the CDC Infection Control Guidance for Healthcare
Professionals about Coronavirus (COVID-19).

c. Other Requirements. Additional requirements in health care settings can be found in
Executive Order Nos. 130 and 139 and in the Secretarial Orders issued under Executive
Order Nos. 152 and 165.

Movie Theaters, Meeting Spaces, and Entertainment Facilities.

a. This Subsection applies to meeting spaces, meeting or reception venues, and any
entertainment facilities that are not covered by another provision of this Section of this
Executive Order, such as Subsection 3.2 (entitled “Bars, Night Spots, and Arenas”) or
Subsection 3.5 (entitled “Fitness and Physical Activity Facilities™). Facilities covered
by this Subsection include, but are not limited to, the following types of businesses:

e Movie theaters
e Private rooms or other private meeting spaces in a hotel, conference center,
meeting hall, or reception venue

15
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e Bingo parlors, including bingo sites operated by charitable organizations

e Facilities where the purpose is to engage in games of cards, such as bridge

e Gaming and business establishments which allow gaming activities (e.g., video
games, arcade games, pinball machines or other computer, electronic or
mechanical devices played for amusement)

b. Social Distancing Requirements. The following measures limit the degree to which
Guests at the facility may come into contact with one another and spread COVID-19.

1. Must be Seated to Be Open. A facility covered by this Subsection is closed
unless it is or becomes a seated establishment for Guests. Guests must be in
seats except to enter, leave, visit the restroom, and obtain food or drink.
Facilities should avoid scheduling a standing reception, cocktail hour, or similar
event where Guests are encouraged to mingle.

2. Space Out Guests. Each group of Guests must be seated so that they are spaced
out by six (6) feet in all directions from other groups of Guests. Each group of
Guests sitting at a counter should be separated from other groups by six (6) feet.

c. Face Coverings. All workers and Guests must wear Face Coverings when they are or
may be within the facility.

d. Capacity. Facilities covered by this Subsection must limit Guests in the facility
(whether indoor or outdoor) to the lesser of:
e 100 people per cinema screen or room; or
e Thirty percent (30%) of stated fire capacity in each cinema screen or room (or,
for areas without a stated fire capacity, no more than seven (7) Guests for every
one thousand (1000) square feet of the Guest area’s square footage).
Workers and support staff do not count toward these capacity limits. For hotels or other
facilities where private meeting spaces are a portion of a larger facility that is not
restricted by this Section of this Executive Order, the limits stated above are measured
only for the portion of the facility that is a private meeting space.

e. Other Requirements. Facilities covered by this Subsection must:

1. Restrict late night service of alcoholic beverages as stated in Section 4 of this
Executive Order.

2. Follow the restrictions set out in Sections 3.13 of this Executive Order for any
food or beverage service.

3. Mark six (6) feet of spacing in lines at point of sale and in other high-traffic
areas for Guests.

4. Provide alcohol-based hand sanitizer (with at least 60% alcohol) at the entrance
and at other areas throughout the premises as needed. Promote frequent use of
handwashing and hand sanitizer for workers and Guests.

5. Increase disinfection during peak times or high Guest density times, and
disinfect all shared objects (e.g., payment terminals, tables, countertops/bars,
receipt trays, condiment holders) between use.

6. Follow the Core Signage, Screening and Sanitation Requirements as defined in
this Executive Order.

f. Gaming. This Executive Order does not order the closure of gaming establishments.
However, nothing in this Executive Order shall be construed to authorize any gaming
activity prohibited by Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General Statutes.

3.9. Museums and Aquariums. Subsections 3.2(/) and 6.9 of Executive Order No. 163 are
incorporated into this Section as if they were stated herein.

3.10. Parks. Parks must restrict each group of Guests to be no more than the Mass Gathering
limit stated below in Subsection 5.1 of this Executive Order. Subsections 7.2(a)-(b) of
Executive Order No. 163 are incorporated into this Section as if they were stated herein.

16
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3.11. Personal Care, Grooming., and Tattoo Businesses. Subsections 3.2(c) and 6.4 of
Executive Order No. 163 are incorporated into this Section as if they were stated herein.

3.12. Pools. Subsection 6.5 of Executive Order No. 163 is incorporated into this Section as if it
were stated herein.

3.13. Restaurants.

a. Subsections 3.2(b) and 6.3 of Executive Order No. 163 are incorporated into this
Section as if they were stated herein.

b. Any meeting or function held in a private room in a Restaurant is covered by the
capacity and other restrictions stated above in Subsection 3.8 of this Executive Order
(“Movie Theaters, Meeting Spaces, and Entertainment Facilities™).

3.14. Retail Businesses. Subsections 3.2(a) and 6.2 of Executive Order No. 163 are incorporated
into this Section as if they were stated herein.

3.15. Transportation. Subsection 3.2(f) of Executive Order No. 163 is incorporated into this
Section as if it were stated herein.

3.16. Workplaces in Agriculture, Construction, and Manufacturing. Subsection 3.2(g) of
Executive Order No. 163 is incorporated into this Section as if it were stated herein.

Section 4. Restrictions on Late Night Service of Alcoholic Beverages.
For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:

4.1. Any businesses or organizations that sell or serve alcoholic beverages for onsite
consumption shall cease the sale and service of alcoholic beverages for onsite consumption
between 11:00 pm and 7:00 am. The agents or employees of establishments that are
permitted to sell or serve alcoholic beverages for onsite consumption shall likewise not sell
or serve alcoholic beverages for onsite consumption between 11:00 pm and 7:00 am.

4.2. Businesses or organizations may not provide off-site table service, catering service or
bartending service for the sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages between 11:00 pm
and 7:00 am for the purposes of consumption at the premises where the alcoholic beverage
is being served.

4.3. Businesses or organizations otherwise authorized to remain open after 11:00 pm under
existing law may continue to do so under this Executive Order so long as there is no sale
or service of alcohol for onsite consumption.

4.4. Nothing in this Executive Order shall be interpreted to change the laws regarding the hours
of sales for alcoholic beverages for off-premises consumption or authorize sale, service,
possession, transportation, or consumption of alcoholic beverages at times or places where
not previously allowed before this Executive Order was issued. This Section 4 also does
not provide authority to reopen any facilities (or areas of facilities) that are closed by
another provision of this Executive Order.

Section 5. Mass Gatherings.

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:

5.1. Prohibition. Mass Gatherings are prohibited. “Mass Gathering” means an event or
convening that brings together more than twenty-five (25) people indoors or more than
fifty (50) people outdoors at the same time in a single confined indoor or outdoor space.
This includes parades, fairs, and festivals. In publicly accessible indoor facilities, the Mass
Gathering limit applies per room of the facility.
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At a park, beach, or trail, the outdoor Mass Gathering limit of fifty (50) people applies to each
group of people that may gather together.

52, Exceptions from Prohibition on Mass Gatherings. Notwithstanding the Mass Gathering

limit above:

a. The prohibition on Mass Gatherings does not apply to any of the restricted businesses and
operations identified in Section 3 of this Executive Order, except as specifically stated
above, because in those situations, transmission of COVID-19 will be controlled through
the measures specifically tailored for each situation that are listed in those Sections. The
prohibition on Mass Gatherings and the capacity limits in Section 3 generally do not apply
to educational institutions or government operations. The capacity limits in Sections 3.2
and 6 of this Executive Order, however, apply to educational institutions and government
operations.

b. The prohibition on Mass Gatherings does not include gatherings for health and safety, to
look for and obtain goods and services, for work, or for receiving governmental services.
A Mass Gathering does not include normal operations at airports, bus and train stations or
stops, medical facilities, libraries, shopping malls, and shopping centers. However, in
those settings, people must follow the Recommendations to Promote Social Distancing and
Reduce Transmission as much as possible, and they should circulate within the space so
that there is minimal contact between people.

5:3. Drive-Ins. Events are not prohibited Mass Gatherings if the participants all stay within their
vehicle, such as at a drive-in movie theater.

Section 6. Exception for Events at Very Large Outdoor Facilities.

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:

6.1. Scope. This Section applies only to venues (“Very Large Outdoor Facilities) which meet all
of the following criteria:

Guests are seated with assigned seats; and

The event occurs outdoors and the majority of Guests are seated outdoors; and

There are at least two separate entrances and at least two exits to the facility; and

The total seating capacity of the facility, before reductions under this Executive Order, is
ten thousand (10,000) or more.

poge

These establishments may exceed the capacity restrictions stated in Section 3 of this Executive
Order and the Mass Gathering limit stated in Section 5 of this Executive Order if they comply
with all of the following restrictions.

6.2. Capacity Restrictions at Very Large Outdoor Facilities. The establishment must take all

the following steps:

a. Overall. The operator must limit the total number of Guests in the facility to no more than
seven percent (7%) of the facility’s total seating capacity (measured before any reductions
under this Executive Order).

b. Limiting Crowding in Concourses. The facility operator must also have staff direct or
monitor the flow of Guests through common spaces to maintain social distancing as Guests

enter the arena, leave the arena, or visit concession stands. The operator must also establish
a guest flow plan that limits people massing together throughout the facility and when they
are entering or exiting the facility.

c. Workers, entertainers, athletes, and any other support staff do not count toward these
capacity limits. The capacity restrictions stated in this Section apply to sporting events
held by educational or government institutions.

63, Socially Distanced Seating Required. The establishment must use assigned seats as
follows:
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e All events must be ticketed. No tickets shall be sold for “standing room only” or
“general admission.”

e The facility operator must, through the use of assigned seating, ensure that each group
of Guests attending the event is actually physically separated by six (6) feet from each
Guest in each other group.

e This includes not only separating each Guest group horizontally within a row, but also
separating Guest groups vertically between rows so that no person has someone from
another group within six (6) feet in front or behind them.

e The facility operator must have staff periodically monitor crowds to ensure that Guests
do not take seats other than their assigned seats.

In this Subsection, a “group” of spectators means a set of friends or family members who
bought tickets together and came into the event venue together. No group of spectators
under this Section shall exceed ten (10) people.

6.4. Face Coverings and Other Requirements Stated Above. The Very Large Outdoor
Facility must, in addition to the requirements stated in this Section, follow all applicable
requirements stated in Subsection 3.2(f)-(h) of this Executive Order.

6.5. Alcohol Sales. Very Large Outdoor Facilities may serve alcoholic beverages for on-site
consumption in outdoor or indoor seating areas on its premises, subject to applicable local
and state regulations. If a Very Large Outdoor Facility has a distinct bar within its
premises, consumption of alcohol must not occur within that bar area.

6.6. Very Large Outdoor Facility operators are encouraged to take their best efforts to avoid
attendees gathering in areas around the facility before or after the event.

Section 7. Miscellaneous Provisions.

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:

Tl Statewide Standing Order for COVID-19 Testing. In order to further protect the public
health by providing greater access to COVID-19 testing, the undersigned orders the State
Health Director, in addition to and in accordance with her powers set out in N.C. Gen. Stat.
Chapter 130A, to issue any statewide standing order needed in her medical judgment that
would allow individuals who meet NCDHHS criteria for testing to access and undergo
testing for COVID-19, subject to the terms of the standing order. This standing order may
continue for the duration of the State of Emergency.

F2. School and Health Officials to Continue Efforts. NCDHHS, the North Carolina
Department of Public Instruction, and the North Carolina State Board of Education are
directed to continue to work together during this State of Emergency to maintain and
implement measures to provide for the health, nutrition, safety, educational needs, and
well-being of children being taught by remote learning.

73. Effect on L.ocal Emergency Management Orders.

a. Most of the Restrictions in This Executive Order Are Minimum Requirements. And
Local Governments Can Impose Greater Restrictions. The undersigned recognizes that
the impact of COVID-19 has been and will likely continue to be different in different
parts of North Carolina. Over the course of the COVID-19 emergency in North
Carolina, COVID-19 outbreaks have occurred, at different times, in urban and rural
areas; in coastal areas, the piedmont, and the mountains; and in a variety of employment
and living settings. As such, the undersigned acknowledges that counties and cities
may deem it necessary to adopt ordinances and issue state of emergency declarations
which impose restrictions or prohibitions to the extent authorized under North Carolina
law, such as on the activity of people and businesses, to a greater degree than in this
Executive Order. To that end, nothing herein, except where specifically stated below
in Subsections 7.3(b) and 7.3(c), is intended to limit or prohibit counties and cities in
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North Carolina from enacting ordinances and issuing state of emergency declarations
which impose greater restrictions or prohibitions to the extent authorized under North
Carolina law.

b. Local Restrictions Cannot Restrict State or Federal Government Operations.

Notwithstanding Subsection 7.3(a) above, no county or city ordinance or declaration
shall have the effect of restricting or prohibiting governmental operations of the State
or the United States.

c. Local Restrictions Cannot Set Different Retail Requirements. Notwithstanding
Subsection 7.3(a) above, in an effort to create uniformity across the state for Retail
Businesses that may continue to operate, the undersigned amends all local prohibitions
and restrictions imposed under any local state of emergency declarations to remove any
language that sets a different maximum occupancy standard for Retail Businesses or
otherwise directly conflicts with Section 6.2(a)(i) of Executive Order No. 163, which
is incorporated into this Executive Order by Subsection 3.14 above. The undersigned
also hereby prohibits during the pendency of this Executive Order the adoption of any
prohibitions and restrictions under any local state of emergency declarations that set a
different maximum occupancy standard for Retail Businesses or otherwise directly
conflict with Section 6.2(a)(i) of Executive Order No. 163.

7.4. Previous Executive Orders. This Executive Order amends, restates, and replaces
Executive Order Nos. 141, 153, 162, and 163 in full, except where this Executive Order
incorporates provisions of Executive Order No. 163 as if they were stated herein. Those
incorporated provisions of Executive Order No. 163 are extended for the duration of this
Executive Order, including any extensions or amendments of this Executive Order.

Section 8. Extension of Price Gouging Period.

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.23, the undersigned extends the prohibition against
excessive pricing, as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 75-37 and 75-38, from the issuance of
Executive Order No. 116 through 5:00 pm on October 23, 2020.

The undersigned further hereby encourages the North Carolina Attorney General to use all
resources available to monitor reports of abusive trade practices towards consumers and make
readily available opportunities to report to the public any price gouging and unfair or deceptive
trade practices under Chapter 75 of the North Carolina General Statutes.

Section 9. No Private Right of Action.

This Executive Order is not intended to create, and does not create, any individual right,
privilege, or benefit, whether substantive or procedural, enforceable at law or in equity by any
party against the State of North Carolina, its agencies, departments, political subdivisions, or other
entities, or any officers, employees, or agents thereof, or any emergency management worker (as
defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.60) or any other person.

Section 10. Savings Clause.

If any provision of this Executive Order or its application to any person or circumstances
is held invalid by any court of competent jurisdiction, this invalidity does not affect any other
provision or application of this Executive Order, which can be given effect without the invalid
provision or application. To achieve this purpose, the provisions of this Executive Order are
declared to be severable.

Section 11. Distribution.

I hereby order that this Executive Order be: (1) distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; (2) promptly
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filed with the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, the Secretary of State,
and the superior court clerks in the counties to which it applies, unless the circumstances of the
State of Emergency would prevent or impede such filing; and (3) distributed to others as necessary
to ensure proper implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 12. Enforcement.

12.1. Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(2), the provisions of this Executive Order
shall be enforced by state and local law enforcement officers. Enforcement of Face
Covering requirements shall be limited as stated in Subsection 2.7 of this Executive Order.
Law enforcement and other public safety and emergency management personnel are
strongly encouraged to educate and encourage voluntary compliance with all the provisions
of this Executive Order.

12.2. A violation of this Executive Order may be subject to prosecution pursuant to N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 166A-19.30(d), and is punishable as a Class 2 misdemeanor in accordance with N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 14-288.20A.

12.3. Nothing in this Executive Order shall be construed to preempt or overrule a court order
regarding an individual’s conduct (e.g., a Domestic Violence Protection Order or similar
orders limiting an individual’s access to a particular place).

Section 13. Effective Date.

This Executive Order is effective October 2, 2020, at 5:00 pm. This Executive Order shall
remain in effect through 5:00 pm on October 23, 2020 unless repealed, replaced, or rescinded by
another applicable Executive Order. An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration of the State
of Emergency will automatically rescind this Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 30" day of September in
the year of our Lord two thousand and twenty.

’Roy Coop&
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Mars|
Secretary of State

21
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IN ADDITION

Notice of Rescheduled Public Hearing

In the October 1, 2020, North Carolina Register, Volume 35, Issue 07, at pages 783-784, the Department of the Secretary of State
published a proposed amendment to 18 NCAC 06A .2120, including notice of a public hearing on October 21, 2020.

The hearing on proposed amendment to 18 NCAC 06A .2120 has been rescheduled as follows:
Public Hearing: Date: November 18, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m.
Location: (978) 990-5311 Access code: 482848
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Industrial Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 11
NCAC 23A .0109; 23B .0105; and 23G .0104.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ic.nc.gov/A109B105G104.html

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: December 10, 2020

Time: 2 p.m.

Location: Via Teleconference only. Teleconference Line#: 1-
888-363-4735; Access Code#: 4465746

Reason for Proposed Action: The Industrial Commission
(hereinafter "Commission") has deemed it necessary to
permanently amend the rules cited as 11 NCAC 23A.0109 and 11
NCAC 23B .0105 in order to enable the most efficient processing
and maintenance of the contact information of the regulated
parties who are involved in cases before the Industrial
Commission. The Commission has deemed it necessary to
permanently amend the rule cited as 11 NCAC 23G .0104 to
ensure that this mediation rule of the Commission is
"substantially similar" to the mediation rules approved by the
North Carolina Supreme Court for use in the Superior Court
division, as required by G.S. 97-80(c). Please note that the text
in italics in 11 NCAC 23A .0109 and 11 NCAC 23B .0105 is
pending approval by the Rules Review Commission at its
November 19, 2020 meeting.

Comments may be submitted to: Gina Cammarano, 1240 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1240; phone (919) 807-2524;
email gina.cammarano@ic.nc.gov. Please submit written
comments via email to gina.cammarano@ic.nc.gov, if possible.

Comment period ends: January 4, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

OXOXX

CHAPTER 23 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 23A - WORKERS' COMPENSATION
RULES

SECTION .0100 — ADMINISTRATION

Note: The text in italics is pending approval by the Rules Review
Commission at its November 19, 2020 meeting.

11 NCAC 23A .0109 CONTACT INFORMATION

(a) "Contact information™ for purposes of this Rule shall include
telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing
address.

(b) All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission

shall iferm—the-Commission—in—writing—of—any—change—tn-the
attorney's—contact-information—via—emai-to-dockets@iche.gov:

provide and maintain current contact information for the
Commission's records via the Commission's Electronic Document
Filing Portal ("EDFP™).
(c) All unrepresented persons or entities with matters before the
Commission shall inform the Commission upon any change to
their contact information in the following manner:
(8] All employees who are not represented by
counsel shall inform the Commission of any
change in contact information by filing a
written notlce via EDFP the—Commission's

email to
contactinfo@ic.nc.qov, facsimile; facsnmlle to
(919) 715-0282, Y.S—Mail; U.S. mail sent to
Office of the Clerk, 1236 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh North Carolina 27699-1236, private
courier—service; private courier service in
accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, or
hand-delivery- hand delivery in accordance with
Rule .0101 of this Section.

2 All non-insured employers that are not
represented by counsel shall inform the
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Commission of any change in contact
information by filing a written notice V|a EDFP,
email to
contactinfo@ic.nc.gov , faesimile; fa05|m|Ie to
(919) 715-0282, U-S—Mail; U.S. mail sent to
Office of the Clerk, 1236 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh North Carolina 27699-1236, private
courier—service; private courier service in
accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, or
hand-delivery- hand delivery in accordance with
Rule .0101 of this Section.
(d) All carriers, third party administrators, and self-insured
employers shall provide the Commission, by sending an email to
contactinfo@ic.nc.gov, with an email address for service of
claim-related documents in cases where the Commission does not
have email contact information for a specific representative
assigned to the claim.
(e)_Instructions on how to provide and update contact information
via EDFP are available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html.

Authority G.S. 97-80.
SUBCHAPTER 23B — TORT CLAIMS RULES
SECTION .0100 — ADMINISTRATION

Note: The text in italics is pending approval by the Rules Review
Commission at its November 19, 2020 meeting.

11 NCAC 23B .0105 CONTACT INFORMATION

(@) "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include
telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing
address.

(b) All persons or entities without legal representation who have
matters pending before the Commission shall advise the
Commission upon any change in contact information by filing a
written notice via the Commission's Electronic Document Filing
Portal ("EDFP"), electronic matk [mai{dockets@ic-ne.govy}
mail (contactinfo@ic.nc.gov), faesimile; facsimile to (919) 715-
0282, U-S—Maik; U.S. mail sent to Office of the Clerk, 1236 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1236, private
courier-service; private courier service in accordance with Rule
.0101 of this Section, or hand—delivery- hand delivery in
accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section.

(c) A plaintiff without legal representation who was an inmate in
the North Carolina Division of Adult Corrections at the time of
filing his or her tort claim, shall, within thirty (30) days of release,
provide the Commission with written notice of his or her post-
release contact information in any manner authorized in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule. Following the initial written notice of
post-release contact information, the previously incarcerated
plaintiff shall continue to advise the Commission upon all changes
in contact information in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this
Rule.

(d) All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission

shall inferm—the-Commisston—n—writing—ef-any—change—in-the

(e)_Instructions on how to provide and update contact information
via EDFP are available at https://www.ic.nc.gov/docfiling.html.

Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-300.

SUBCHAPTER 23G - NORTH CAROLINA INDUSTRIAL
COMMISSION RULES FOR MEDIATED SETTLEMENT
AND NEUTRAL EVALUATION CONFERENCES

SECTION .0100 - MEDIATION AND SETTLEMENT

11 NCAC 23G .0104 DUTIES OF PARTIES,
REPRESENTATIVES, AND ATTORNEYS

(a) Attendance. The following persons shall physically attend the
mediated settlement conference:

1) all individual parties;

2 in a workers' compensation case, a
representative of the employer at the time of
injury if:

(A) the employer, instead of or in addition
to the insurance company or

administrator, has decision-making
authority with respect to settlement;

(B) the employer is offering the claimant
employment and the suitability of that
employment is in issue;

© the employer and the claimant have
agreed to simultaneously mediate non-
compensation issues arising from the
injury; or

(D) the Commission orders the employer
representative to attend the conference
if the representative's physical
attendance is necessary to resolve
matters in dispute in the subject action;

3) an officer, empleyee employee, or agent of any
party that is not a natural person or a
governmental entity who is not sueh the party's
outside counsel and who has the authority to
decide on behalf of sueh the party whether and
on what terms to settle the action;

(@) in a workers' compensation case, an employee
or agent of any party that is a governmental
entity who is not suweh the party's outside
counsel or Attorney General's counsel
responsible for the case and who has the
authority to decide on behalf of sueh the party
and on what terms to settle the action.

(5) when the governing law prescribes that the
terms of a proposed settlement may be
approved only by a Board, an employee or
agent who is not sueh the party's outside
counsel or Attorney General's counsel
responsible for the case and who has the
authority to negotiate on behalf of and to make
a recommendation to the Board. Because-G-S-

attorney's-or-the-represented-party's-contactinformation provide 143-295-provides—the—Attorney—General-with
and maintain current contact information for the Commission's settlement-authority-on-behalf-of-governmental
records via emai-to-deckets@ic-ne-gov- EDFP. entities—and—agencies—for—state—tort—claims,
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Pursuant to G.S. 143-295, an employee or agent
of the named governmental entity or agency is
not required to attend the mediated settlement
conference; conference. The the Attorney
General shall attempt to make an employee or
agent of the named governmental entity or
agency in a state State tort claim available via
telecommunication, and mediation shall not be
delayed due to the absence or unavailability of
the employee or agent of the named
governmental entity or agency.

(6) ; ;
appearance the counsels of record. Appearance

agreement is reduced to writing and signed as provided in
Paragraph (e) of this Rule, or until an impasse has been declared.

conference: "Attendance shall

mean__in-person attendance
whenever the mediation rules approved by the North Carolina
Supreme Court that are in effect at the time of the mediation for
use in the Superior Court division reguire in-person attendance.
During any time that attendance means in-person attendance, any
party or person, including the mediator, may have the in-person

by counsel does not dispense with or waive the
required attendance of the parties listed in
Subparagraphs (1) through (4);

(7 a representative of each defendant's primary
workers' compensation or liability insurance
carrier or self-insured that may be obligated to
pay all or part of any claim presented in the
action. Each carrier or self-insured shall be
represented at the conference by an officer,
employee employee, or agent who is not such
the party's outside counsel and who has the
authority to decide on behalf of the carrier or
self-insured whether and on what terms to settle
the action, or who has been authorized to
negotiate on behalf of sueh the carrier or self-
insured and can communicate during the
conference with persons who have such the
decision making authority; and

(8) by order of the Commission, other
representatives  of  parties,  employers
employers, or carriers, who may be obligated to
pay all or part of any claim presented in the
action and who are not required to attend the
conference pursuant to Subparagraphs (1)
through (6) of this Rule; Paragraph, if the
Commission determines that the
representative's attendance is necessary for
purposes of resolving the matters in dispute in
the subject action. Any employer or carrier who
may be obligated to pay all or part of any claim
presented in the action and who is not required
to physically attend the mediated settlement
conference pursuant to Subparagraphs (1)
through (6) of this Rule Paragraph or by
Commission orders, may attend the conference
if the employer or carrier elects to attend. If,
during the conference, the mediator determines
that the physical attendance of one or more
additional persons is necessary to resolve the
matters in dispute in the subject action, the
mediator may recess the conference and
reconvene the conference at a later date and
time to allow the additional person or persons
to physically attend.

(b) Any party or person required to attend a mediated settlement
conference shall physically attend the conference until an

attendance requirement excused or modified by agreement of all
the parties and persons required to attend the mediation
conference, including the mediator, or by order of the
Commission in the interests of justice upon motion of a party and
notice to all parties and persons required to attend the conference,
including the mediator. "Attendance" shall mean attendance using
remote technology whenever the mediation rules approved by the
North Carolina Supreme Court that are in effect at the time of the
mediation for use in the Superior Court division require
attendance through the use of remote technology. During any time
that attendance means attendance through the use of remote
technology, any party or person required to attend the conference,
including the mediator, may have the remote technology
attendance requirement excused or modified by agreement of all
parties and persons required to attend the conference, including
the mediator, or by order of the Commission in the interests of
justice upon motion of a party and notice to all parties and persons
required to attend the conference, including the mediator. All
parties and persons required to attend the conference, including
the mediator, shall comply with all public health and safety
requirements set forth in the mediation rules approved by the
North Carolina Supreme Court that are in effect at the time of the
mediation for use in the Superior Court division.

(c) In appropriate eases cases, the Commission or the mediator,
with the consent of the parties, may allow a party or insurance
carrier representative who is required to physically attend a
mediated settlement conference in person under this Rule to
attend the conference by telephone, conference call, speaker

telephone telephone, or videoconferencing; provided—that—the

party—or—representative—so—attending the attending party or
representative shall bear all costs of sueh the telephone calls or

videoconferencing. videsconferencing; In addition, the mediator
may communicate directly with the insurance representative with
regard to matters discussed in mediation, and the mediator may
set a subsequent mediated settlement conference at which all
parties and representatives shall physicaly—attend- attend the
mediated settlement conference in person, subject to the
requirements and provisions of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The
failure to properly appear by telephone or videoconferencing in
accordance with this Paragraph shall subject the responsible
party(ies) or representative(s) to sanctions pursuant to Rule .0105
of this Subchapter.

(d) Notice of Mediation Order. Within seven days after the receipt
of an order for a mediated settlement conference, the carrier or
self-insured named in the order shall provide a copy of the order
to the employer and all other carriers who may be obligated to pay
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all or part of any claim presented in the workers' compensation
case or any related third-party tortfeasor claims, and shall provide
the mediator and the other parties in the action with the name,
address and telephone number of all such carriers.

(e) Finalizing Agreement. If an agreement is reached in the
mediated settlement conference, the parties shall reduce the
agreement to writing, specifying all terms of the agreement that
bear on the resolution of the dispute before the Commission, and
shall sign the agreement along with their counsel. The parties may
use IC Form MSC8, Mediated Settlement Agreement, or MSC9,
Mediated Settlement Agreement — Alternative Form, for this
purpose. Execution by counsel of a mediated settlement
agreement for an employer or carrier who does not physically
attend the mediated settlement conference shall be deemed to be
in compliance with this Rule and 11 NCAC 23A .0502. By
stipulation of the parties and at the parties' expense, the agreement
may be electronically or stenographically recorded. All
agreements for payment of compensation shall be submitted for
Commission approval in accordance with 11 NCAC 23A .0501
and .0502.

(f) Payment of Mediator's Fee. The mediator's fee shall be paid at
the conclusion of the mediated settlement conference, unless
otherwise provided by Rule .0107 of this Subchapter, or by
agreement with the mediator.

(g) Related Cases. Upon application by any party or person and
upon notice to all parties, the Commission may, in the interests of
justice, order an attorney of record, party party, or representative
of an insurance carrier who may be liable for all or any part of a
claim pending in a Commission case to attend a mediated
settlement conference that may be convened in another pending
case, regardless of the forum in which the other case may be
pending, provided that all parties in the other pending case
consent to the attendance ordered pursuant to this Paragraph. Any
disputed issues concerning such an order shall be addressed to the
Commission's Dispute Resolution Coordinator. Unless otherwise
ordered, any attorney, party party, or carrier representative who
attends a mediated settlement conference pursuant to this
Paragraph shall not be required to pay any of the mediation fees
or costs related to that conference. Requests that a party, attorney
of record, or insurance carrier representative in a related case
attend a mediated settlement conference in a Commission case
shall be addressed to the court or agency in which the related case
is pending, provided that all parties in the Commission case
consent to the requested attendance.

Authority G.S. 97-86{a){e); 97-80; 143-295; 143-296; 143-300;
Rule 4 of Rules for Mediated Settlement Conferences and Other
Settlement Procedures in Superior Court Civil Actions.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt the
rules cited as 14B NCAC 15A .1903, .1904 and amend the rules
cited as 14B NCAC 15A .1405, .1802; and 15B .0501.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://abc.nc.gov/

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: December 9, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon
Road, Raleigh, NC 27610

Reason for Proposed Action: To adopt a rule to define the
process and conditions under which a local ABC board may
deliver orders of spirituous liquor to a mixed beverage permittee
using local board employees or independent contractors. This
rule also establishes the process the local board shall following
in establishing the fee to be charged by the local board for
deliveries made by the local board to mixed beverage permittees.
Additionally, to adopt a rule to define the process and conditions
under which a mixed beverage permittee may hire an independent
contractor to pick up the permittee's orders of spirituous liquor
from the local board, and fortified wine from a wine wholesaler.
14B NCAC 15A .1405 is to be amended to require that records of
local board deliveries to mixed beverage permittees be retained
for three years. 14B NCAC 15A .1802 is to be amended to add
mixed beverage permittee’s independent contractors to the list of
individuals the local board shall give a copy of the Purchase-
Transportation Permit/Invoice Form to that shall accompany the
transport of spirituous liquor. 14B NCAC 15B .0501 is to be
amended to add the mixed beverage permittee's independent
contractor to the list of individuals required to have a copy of the
Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice Form for spirituous
liquor sold to a mixed beverage permittee.

Comments may be submitted to: Walker Reagan, 400 East
Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8367; fax
(919) 661-6765; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov

Comment period ends: January 4, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

L] State funds affected

L] Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
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] Approved by OSBM
X No fiscal note required

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 15A - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES:
POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

SECTION .1400 - PURCHASE OF ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGES BY LOCAL BOARDS

14B NCAC 15A .1405 RECORDS REQUIRED

(@) A record of all orders, receipts, invoices, and payments shall
be maintained by local boards and be available for inspection by
any representative of the Commission during the local board's
normal business hours.

(b) Local boards shall retain the following records for the length
of time specified in this Paragraph:

(1) sales report until the annual audit is completed,

)] warehouse report for one year,

3 daily store report until the annual audit is
completed,

(@) stock difference report for three years,

(5) receiving report until the annual audit is
completed,

(6) clerk's daily sales and cash report until the
annual audit is completed,

@) paid invoices for three years,

(8) loss and damage claim records for three years,
and

9 required records pursuant to 14B NCAC 15A
1903 and 14B NCAC 15B .0501 related to the
sale of mixed beverages for three years.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(4); 18B-205; 18B-207; 18B-
702(s), (u).

SECTION .1800 - PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION
PERMITS FOR INDIVIDUALS AND MIXED
BEVERAGES PERMITTEES

14B NCAC 15A .1802 MIXED BEMVERAGE
BEVERAGES PERMIT/INVOICE FORM

(@ Providing Form. A local board in a jurisdiction in—which
where the sale of mixed beverages is lawful shall provide to a
mixed beverages permittee erdering—and purchasing spirituous
liquor for resale in mixed beverages a Purchase-Transportation
Permit/Invoice Form for every purchase of spirituous liquor by
the permittee.

(b) Contents of Form; Copies. Each Purchase-Transportation
Permit/Invoice Form shall be printed in duplicate and shall show
on the face of the form the information required by 14B NCAC
15B .0501. The local board shall retain one copy in its permanent
records for a period of three years and shall give one copy of the
permitiinvoice Form to the mixed beverages permittee permittee
or the mixed beverages permittee's designated employee or
independent contractor, to accompany the spirituous liquor during
transport.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-205: 18B-205(b); 18B-207; 18B-
404(b); 18B-807.

SECTION .1900 - SALES OF LIQUOR TO MIXED
BEVERAGES PERMITTEES

14B NCAC 15A .1903 DELIVERY OF MIXED
BEVERAGES PERMITTEE ORDERS

(a) A local board's employee or independent contractor may
deliver spirituous liquor purchased by a mixed beverage permittee
to the permittee's licensed premises if all of the following
conditions are met:

Q) The mixed beverages permittee paid the local
board for the spirituous liquor prior to
transportation to the mixed beverage permittee.

2) Alcoholic beverages shall be transported from
the place of purchase to the permitted premises.

(3) Deliveries shall be made by 9:30 p.m. on the
(4)

date of purchase.
A copy of the Purchase-Transportation/Invoice

Form for the alcoholic beverages being
transported shall be in the possession of the
individual during transportation and shall be
provided to the mixed beverages permittee at
the time of delivery.

(5) The local board's employee or independent
contractor shall obtain a signed
acknowledgment of receipt of the alcoholic
beverages delivered from the mixed beverages
permittee and shall return a copy of the signed
acknowledgement to the local board. The local
board shall retain a copy of the signed
acknowledgement of receipt pursuant to 14B
NCAC 15A .1405(b)(9).

(6) The local board shall be liable for any damage,
breakage or theft of the alcoholic beverages
being  transported  until  possession _is
acknowledged by the mixed beverages
permittee.

(b) A local board may contract with an independent contractor to
provide delivery of spirituous liguor from an ABC store or the
local board's warehouse to a mixed beverages permittee if all of
the following conditions are met:

(€] The local board enters into a written contract
with the independent contractor.
(2) The independent contractor furnishes proof to

the local board that the independent contractor
is a motor vehicle carrier with a surety bond in
compliance with G.S. 18B-1115(d) and (e).

(3) The contract may be terminated at will by either
party without cause.

4 The independent contractor maintains in force
an indemnity and fidelity insurance policy with
the local board named as an additional insured
in an amount sufficient to insure the value of the
alcoholic _beverages to be delivered by the
independent contractor on the behalf of the
local board.
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(5) The independent contractor remains in
compliance with this Rule.

(c) _An independent contractor may deliver spirituous liquor to a

mixed beverages permittee pursuant to a contract with a local

board if all of the following conditions are met:

@) The local board issues a purchase-

mixed beverages permittee previously had with

an independent contractor pursuant to this Rule.

4) The independent contractor remains in
compliance with this Rule.

(b) A mixed beverages permittee may authorize an independent

contractor to transport alcoholic beverages on behalf of the mixed

transportation _permit to the independent

beverages permittee from a local board or a wine wholesaler if all

contractor pursuant to G.S. 18B-403 for the

of the following conditions are met:

spirituous liguor to be delivered.

2 The independent contractor assumes liability
for _any damage, breakage, or theft of the
spirituous liquor to be delivered from the time
possession _is taken by the independent
contractor from the local board until delivery of
the spirituous liquor is acknowledged by the
mixed beverages permittee that purchased the
spirituous liquor.

(d) A local board may charge a mixed beverages permittee any
amount of a fee for the delivery of spirituous liguor to a mixed
beverages permittee by an employee of the local board. In
determining the amount of the fee to be charged for the delivery
of spirituous liquor to a mixed beverages permittee by an
employee of the local board, the local board shall set the fee
structure or rate at a public meeting. In setting the delivery fee
structure or rate, the local board shall specify what cost factors the
local board considered in determining the fee structure or rate.
(e) If a local board uses an independent contractor to deliver
spirituous liquor to a mixed beverages permittee, the local board
shall charge a mixed beverages permittee any amount of a fee for
the delivery, provided that the amount of the fee covers at a
minimum the actual amount paid by the local board to the
independent contractor for the delivery. The fee charged pursuant
to this Paragraph shall be set in accordance with Paragraph (d) of
this Rule.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-701(a)(1) and (2); S.L.
2019-182, Sec. 25.(h).

14B NCAC 15A .1904 TRANSPORT OF MIXED
BEVERAGE PERMITTEE ORDERS
(a) A mixed beverages permittee may contract with an
independent contractor to transport alcoholic beverages
purchased by the mixed beverages permittee from a local board
or from a wine wholesaler to the licensed premises of the mixed
beverages permittee if all of the following conditions are met:
@ The mixed beverages permittee enters into a

written _contract _with the independent
contractor.
2 The independent contractor furnishes proof to

the mixed beverages permittee that the
independent contractor is a motor vehicle
carrier with a surety bond in compliance with
G.S. 18B-1115(d) and (e).

3) The mixed beverages permittee furnishes the
local board with a copy of the mixed beverages
permittee's contract with the independent
contractor. The mixed beverages permittee
shall notify the local board within two business
days of the termination of any contract the

Q) The independent contractor has in its
possession a copy of the executed contract with
the mixed beverages permittee at the time the
independent contractor receives and possesses
alcoholic _beverages on behalf of the mixed
beverages permittee from a local board or a
wine wholesaler.

2) The independent contractor possesses a
purchase-transportation permit_issued by the
local board to the independent contractor
pursuant to G.S. 18B-403 for the alcoholic
beverages to be delivered.

(3) The independent contractor possesses a copy of
the Purchase-Transportation/Invoice Form for
the alcoholic beverages being transported
during transportation to the mixed beverages
permittee that shows the independent contractor
as the agent for the mixed beverages permittee.

4) The mixed beverages permittee signs an
acknowledgment of receipt of the spirituous
liquor delivered and a copy of the signed
acknowledgement is returned by the mixed
beverages permittee to the local board within
two business days of the date of the delivery for
retention by the local board.

(5) The mixed beverages permittee assumes
liability for any damage, breakage, or theft of
the spirituous liquor to be transported from the
time possession is taken by the independent
contractor from the local board until delivery of
the spirituous liquor to the mixed beverages
permittee.

(6) The mixed beverages permittee may by contract
require the independent contractor to assume
liability and maintain in force an indemnity and
fidelity insurance policy with the mixed
beverages permittee named as an additional
insured in an amount sufficient to insure the
value of the alcoholic beverages to be delivered
by the independent contractor on the behalf of
the mixed beverages permittee. The policy may
include coverage for any damage, breakage, or
theft of the alcoholic beverages to be delivered
from the time possession is taken by the
independent contractor from the local board or
wine wholesaler until delivery of the alcoholic
beverages is acknowledged by the mixed
beverages permittee that purchased the
alcoholic beverages.
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Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-701(a)(1) and (2); S.L.
2019-182, Sec. 25.(h).

SUBCHAPTER 15B - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED
BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING:
SPECIAL PERMITS

SECTION .0500 - ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
MIXED BEVERAGES PERMITTEES

14B NCAC 15B .0501 = PURCHASE TRANSPORTATION
PERMIT/ RURCHASE INVOICE FORM
(@) A mixed beverages permittee permittee, or a mixed beverages
permittee's designated employee or independent contractor, shall
obtain a Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice form from the
ABC store designated by the local board as the place where
spirituous liquor will be sold to mixed beverages permittees.
(b) A Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice ferm—which form
shall be completed by the local ABCboard; board and shahl
contain the following:
@ the permittee's name;
)] the trade name, address address, and telephone
number of the permittee's licensed premises;
3 the permittee’s Mixed Beverages Permit
number;
(@) the name and driver's license number of person
or persons authorized to purchase and transport
spirituous liquor;

(5) the number and location of ABC store where
purchase is to be made;

(6) the permittee's transaction or order number;

@) the date of transaction;

(8) the address of the destination of the spirituous
i hict I be i . :
Subparagraph-(b}2)-of this-Rule; liquor;

9 the brand, quantity, size and item code number

of each spirituous liquor container purchased
and transported, including the serial number of
each complete case or carton sold;
(10) the signatures of persons issuing and receiving
permit/invoice form;
(11) the regutar retail price per container;
(12) the mixed beverages tax surcharge per
container;
(13) the total price per container;
(14) the total cost of transaction; and
(15) the date of order, date of purchase, and
expiration date- date of the permit/invoice form.
(c) The Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice form shall be
retained by the permittee for three years.
(d) The destination for the spirituous liquor being transported
pursuant to a Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice form shall
be the address of the permittee's licensed premises.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-403(d); 18B-404.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Environmental
Quality intends to repeal the rule cited as 15A NCAC 13B .1510,
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC
13B .1501-.1503, and repeal through readoption the rules cited
as 15A NCAC 13B .1504-.1508, and .1512-.1514.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are
available on the OAH website at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://deqg.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-
regulations/proposed-main

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: December 3, 2020

Time: 4:00 p.m.

Location: A virtual public hearing will be held by webinar as
follows:

WebEx Events meeting link:
https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=ee
5e682c55c8333e69aed28243d4aad3f

Event number (access code): 171 691 8436

Event password: DWM1203

Call +1-415-655-0003 US TOLL, enter access code

If you wish to attend the hearing, you must register before 5:00
pm on Wednesday, December 2, 2020.

Registration information can be found on the DEQ Proposed Rule
webpage at the following link: https://deq.nc.gov/documents/15a-
ncac-13b-1500-recycling-tax-certifications

Reason for Proposed Action: Rules .1501-.1503 are proposed
for readoption in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, with
amendments to update these rules to consolidate the requirements
of this Section, to provide clarification, and to incorporate into
rule current policies and guidance. Rules .1504-.1508, .1510, and
.1512-.1514 are proposed for repeal because the requirements of
these rules have been moved to Rules .1501-.1503, can be found
in the general statutes, or are no longer necessary.

Comments may be submitted to: Jessica Montie, 1646 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646; phone (919) 707-8247;
fax (919) 707-8247; email dwm.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov
(please include “Solid Waste Rule Readoption” in the subject
line)

Comment period ends: January 4, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
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from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this

kitchen or breakroom furniture,
equipment, or appliances;

heating or air conditioning equipment
for employee comfort;

fire_alarms or fire suppression
systems;

vehicles used to transport employees,
new materials, or waste for disposal at
any time; and

(h) landfill gas vents or wells that are
required by a permit issued by the

Department.

=

=

g B

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 3) "Incidental or supportive facilities" means real
X State funds affected property or parts thereof that is used at any time
X Local funds affected for a purpose other than recycling or resource
U] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) recovery; is not necessary for recycling or
X Approved by OSBM resource recovery to occur, or has a primary
] No fiscal note required purpose that is not recycling or resource
recovery. Incidental or supportive facilities
CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT include real property that is used at any time for
administrative, safety, or maintenance services,
SUBCHAPTER 13B - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT even though it may be used in support of a
recycling or resource recovery, or that is used
SECTION .1500 - STANDARDS FOR SPECIAL TAX to provide comfort, safety, or convenience for
TREATMENT OF RECYCLING AND RESOURCE the employees such as:
RECOVERY EQUIPMENT AND FACILITIES (a) office space;
(b) conference rooms;
15ANCAC 13B .1501 RESOURCERECOVERING (c) bathrooms;
EACHITIES DEFINITIONS (d) Kitchens;
The definitions in Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General (e) employee breakrooms;
Statutes and the following definitions shall apply to the rules of (0] employee parking;
this Section. (Q) maintenance sheds;
@ "Applicant” means a person that submits an (h) maintenance areas;
application to the Department to request tax (i) stormwater basins; and
certification for real property or personal (1) unused areas.
property. The applicant shall be a business 4) "Manufacturing process" means a process by
conducting a recycling or resource recovery which goods are produced for sale or use from
process or shall be a person that owns real or raw _materials or from new materials resulting
personal property that is being used by or leased from a recycling or resource recovery process,
to a business conducting a recycling or resource or a combination of these materials.
recovery process. (5) "New material" means a material that was
(2) "Incidental or supportive equipment" means generated from a recycling or resource recovery
personal property that is used at any time for a process that can be used without further
purpose other than recycling or resource processing in the same way as a raw material in
recovery; is not necessary for recycling or a manufacturing process.
resource recovery to occur; or has a primary (6) "Production scrap™ means excess or unusable
purpose that is not recycling or resource material that is generated during a
recovery. Incidental or supportive equipment manufacturing process and is returned to be
includes personal property that is used at any reused in the same manufacturing process. An
time for administrative, safety, or maintenance example of production scrap is excess metal or
services, even though it may be used in support cardboard or textiles from a sheet of metal or
of a recycling or resource recovery process, or cardboard or batting that remains after a portion
that is used to provide comfort, safety, or of the sheet is cut, stamped, trimmed, or formed
convenience for employees such as: to make a product, and the excess material is
(a) spare parts; collected and returned to the process or
(b) office furniture or equipment; equipment where the original sheet or batting
(©) employee personal protective or safety was created. Another example of production
equipment; scrap is a material that does not meet the quality
standards or customer specifications for sale or
35:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 2, 2020
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(10)

(11)

(12)

a4

use as determined by the person or business;
and are returned to the manufacturing process.
Production scrap does not include excess
materials that are combined with recovered

materials and returned to be reused in a
recycling process.
"Qualifying _ property" means _ requested

property that meets the standards set forth in
Rule .1503(c) or (d) of this Section to qualify
for certification as a recycling or resource
recovery facility or as recycling or resource
recovery equipment for the purpose of special
tax_classification or treatment in accordance
with G.S. 130A-294(a)(3) to be eligible for
exclusion from the tax base as set forth in G.S.
105-275(8)(b).

"Real property" means land and buildings,
structures, _improvements, or _permanent
fixtures on land, or a portion thereof.
"Recycling" means the term defined in G.S.

"Tax collector" means the tax collector for the
taxing unit as defined in G.S. 105-273 for the
reguested property.

E el iding. itdings.

(15)

Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3).

15A NCAC 13B .1502 RESOURCE RECOVERING
EQUIPMENT APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

(a) An applicant for a tax certification for real and personal
property used in recycling or resource recovery shall submit one

130A-290. Recycling ends when a new material

electronic copy of an application to the Department. The applicant

has been created from the recovered material.

shall submit a copy of the application to the tax collector in

The term does not include the subsequent

accordance with the requirements of the tax collector. The

manufacturing process that utilizes the new

applicant shall provide a copy of the application to the person

material.
"Requested property” means the real and

responsible for management, operation, and maintenance of the
requested property. The application form may be obtained from

personal property that have been included in an

the Department's website at

application for tax certification submitted in

https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/solid-

accordance with Rule .1502 of this Section

waste-section/tax-certification. An _ application  for  tax

because the applicant is requesting that the

certification shall contain the following information:

Department make a determination on whether
these items qualify for exclusion from the
property tax base.

"Resource recovery" means the term defined in
G.S. 130A-290. The term includes the
transportation _and storage of recyclable
materials and recovered materials.

"Spare parts" means parts of equipment that are
purchased for future or speculative use, but that
have not been installed in the equipment for
which they were purchased.

"Personal property” means equipment that is
used by a business that is not permanently
affixed to real property.

"Tax certification" means a certification issued
by the Department of Environmental Quality
certifying that the Department has determined
that the real or personal property listed on the
certification document meet the requirements
of the rules of this Section to qualify for
certification as a recycling or resource recovery
facility or as recycling or resource recovery
equipment for the purpose of special tax
classifications or treatment in accordance with
G.S. 130A-294(a)(3) to be eligible for
exclusion from the tax base as set forth in G.S.

105-275(8)(h).

€8] the applicant name, address, phone number, and
e-mail address;

(2) the name, address, and phone number for the
location of the requested property;

(3) the name, phone number, and email address for
the person responsible for management,
operation, and maintenance of the requested
property;

4) the name, phone number, and email address of
the person filling out the application;

(5) a description of facility operations, including
the following information:

(A) the types of business conducted at the
facility location, such as
manufacturing, retail, solid waste
management, recycling, or resource
recovery;

(B) the type and source of recyclable
material that is received at the facility
for_resource recovery, or recovered
material that is received at the facility
for recycling;

© a_description of the recycling or
resource recovery process showing the
steps involved the process, which may
be in the form of a flow chart or a
narrative; and
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(D) the intended destination of any solid
waste, recovered material, or new
material leaving the facility;

(6) the following information for each item of
personal property for which certification is
requested:

name, make, and model number;

a unigue identification number that is

affixed to the personal property such

BB

expiration date of the lease agreement, and a
copy of the executed lease agreement and
amendments signed by the lessor and lessee;
and

(10) a list of permit numbers for permits issued by
the Department, or a unit of local government
under delegated authority by the Department, in
accordance with G.S. 113A, 130A, and 143 and
the rules adopted under G.S. 113A, 130A, and

as a serial _number, vehicle 143. The Department may request a copy of the
identification _number, or asset permit if it is necessary to determine
number; compliance with the rules of this Section.

© the cost or value at the time of  (b) The application shall be signed by the applicant and the person
acquisition; receiving the benefit of the tax exemption.

(D) the year of acquisition, provided asthe ~ (c) The rules of this Section shall not apply to the certification of
last two-digits of a four-digit year; real and personal property that is required by a permit issued by

(E) a description of how the personal the Department's Division of Water Resources or the Division of
property is used for recycling or Air_Quality or the Division of Energy, Mining, and Land
resource recovery; Resources for the purpose of pollution abatement.

(3] the percent of time the personal (d) The Department's Division of Waste Management may return
property is used for recycling or an_application if the Department determines that the real or
resource recovery; and personal property is required to be submitted in an application for

G) the vehicle registration or the invoice pollution abatement property to the Division of Water Resources

from the purchase of the personal

because the real or personal property is located at a facility where

property if the personal property is a

the majority of the feedstock accepted at the facility is excluded

vehicle, trailer, or container that will

from the definition of a solid waste pursuant to G.S. 130A-

be in use off site at the time of

290(35).

inspection by the Department. If an

(e) Requested property that is owned under a lease agreement

invoice is required to be submitted and

shall be listed on a separate application from requested property

the trailer or container has no serial

that is not owned under a lease agreement. A separate application

number that can be matched to the

shall be required for each separate lease agreement, unless the

invoice, the invoice number from the

lessor, lessee, and expiration date for the lease agreements are the

purchase of the trailer or container

same.

may be used as the unigue

(f)_The Department may request additional information if it is

identification number required by Part

necessary to determine compliance with the rules of this Section,

(B) of this Subparagraph;
@) the following information for the real property

G.S. 105-275(8)(b), or G.S. 130A-294(a)(3). If the Department
requests additional information, the Department shall request the

for which certification is requested:
(A) a facility drawing and aerial map

information in writing via e-mail at the e-mail address provided
in the application in accordance with Subparagraph (a)(4) of this

outlining the recycling or resource

Rule. The applicant shall provide the requested information

recovery  areas, including  the

within 15 days of the request.

measurements of these areas;
(B) a description of the real property,

() _The Department shall review the application to determine if
the application complies with the requirements of this Rule. If the

including the parcel number of the

Department determines that the application does not comply with

land and the requested square footage

this Rule, the Department shall return the application to the

of the facility space and the acreage of

applicant; and shall state in writing the reasons why the

the land areas; and

application is not in compliance with this Rule, and shall also

© a description of how the areas are used provide a copy of this natice to the county tax collector.
for recycling or resource recovery; Reseurea—recovering—eguipment—is—eguipment—exclusively—and
(8) a copy of any natice of violation issued by the  integraly—used-in-the-actual-process—of recovering-material-or

Department for violations of G.S. 113A, 130A,
or 143, or the rules adopted under G.S. 113A,
130A, or 143 that are under the authority of the
Department to administer or enforce, that have
not been resolved at the time of application
submittal;

9 if the real or personal property is under a lease
agreement, the contact information for the
lessor and lessee stated in the agreement, the

SRETGYFeSoUFees Illle“ sohig u;aste Fo-quakify,the-equipmer .E

Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3).
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15A NCAC 13B .1503 RECYCLING FAGCILITIES
STANDARDS FOR QUALIFICATION FOR TAX
CERTIFICATION
(a)_This Rule establishes only qualification for tax certification
by the Department. Nothing in this Rule shall establish or
supersede requirements for tax exemption application established
or enforced by the tax collector.
(b)  When the Department receives an application for tax
certification that complies with Rule .1502 of this Section, the
Department shall conduct an inspection, investigation, or
verification of the requested property to confirm that it qualifies
as a recycling or resource recovery facility or as recycling or
resource recovery equipment for the purpose of special tax
classifications or treatment in accordance with G.S. 130A-
294(a)(3) and the requirements of this Rule.
(c)_Real property shall qualify as a recycling or resource recovery
facility in accordance with G.S. 130A-294(a)(3) if the following
conditions are met:

@) the real property was included in the application

for tax certification submitted to the

the conditions of Rule .1502(a)(6)(G) of this
Section;

3) the person that will receive the benefit of
exclusion from the property tax base for the
equipment shall comply with G.S. 113A, 130A,
and 143 and the rules adopted under G.S. 113A,
130A, and 143 that are under the authority of
the Department to administer or enforce;

4) the personal property shall not be used at any
time for a purpose other than recycling or
resource recovery;

(5) the personal property shall be necessary for
recycling or resource recovery to occur;

(6) the personal property shall not be incidental or
supportive equipment;

@ the personal property shall not be used for

handling or storing production scrap; and
(8) the personal property shall be installed prior to
the effective date of the tax certification.
(e) If the Department determines that none of the requested

Department in accordance with Rule .1502 of

property in _an application qualifies for exclusion from the

this Section;
2 the person that will receive the benefit of

property tax base in accordance with this Rule, the Department
shall notify the applicant and the county tax collector of the

exclusion from the property tax base for the real

reasons for this determination in writing.

property complies with G.S. 113A, 130A, and

(f)__The tax certification shall be effective upon the date of

143 and the rules adopted under G.S. 113A,

signature by the Department.

130A, and 143 that are under the authority of

(q) _The tax certification shall list the qualifying property.

the Department to administer or enforce;

(h) _The Department shall provide a copy of the tax certification

3) the real property shall not be used at any time  to the applicant and to the office of the county tax collector.
for a purpose other than recycling or resource (i) The applicant shall be responsible for maintaining records of
recovery; all tax certifications issued to the applicant.
[C))] the real property shall be necessary for (1) _Unless an expiration date is provided on the tax certification,
recycling or resource recovery to occur; the tax certification shall remain valid until there is a change in
(5) the real property shall not be incidental or use, ownership, or lease agreement of the qualifying property.
supportive facilities; (k) Tax certifications are not transferrable. If there is a change in
(6) the real property shall not be used for handling ownership or lease agreement or if the facility changes locations
or storing production scrap; of qualifying property after the Department issues a tax
(€] the buildings, structures, improvements, or  certification, then the real or personal property shall no longer

permanent fixtures on land shall be constructed

qualify for exclusion from the property tax base. The new owner,

prior to the effective date of the tax

lessor, or lessee of the real or personal property that was

certification; and
(8) the land itself shall not be located beneath any

previously listed on a tax certification may apply for a new tax
certification in accordance with Rule .1502 of this Section.

area of a building or structure that does not meet

() _If there is a change in the use of the gualifying property after

the requirements of Subparagraphs (1) through

the Department issues the tax certification, and the new use does

(7) of this Paragraph.
(d) Personal property shall qualify as recycling or resource

not comply with the requirements of Paragraphs (c) or (d) of this
Rule, then the real or personal property shall no longer gualify for

recovery equipment in accordance with G.S. 130A-294(a)(3) if

exclusion from the property tax base.

the following conditions are met:
Q) the personal property was included in the

(m) __If the person receiving the benefit of exclusion from the
property tax base ceases to be in compliance with G.S. 113A,

application for tax certification submitted to the

130A, or 143 or the rules adopted under G.S. 113A, 130A, or 143

Department in accordance with Rule .1502 of

that are under the authority of the Department to administer or

this Section:;
(2) the unique identification number required to be

enforce after the Department issues the tax certification, the
Department may determine that the real or personal property no

included in the application in accordance with

longer gualifies for exclusion from the property tax base and

Rule 1502(a)(6)(B) of this Section can be

revoke the tax certification if the person does not comply by the

matched to the same identification number

deadline for compliance required by the Department. If the

affixed to the personal property during the

Department revises or revokes a tax certification, the Department

inspection, unless the personal property meets

shall notify the applicant, the person receiving the tax benefit, and

the county tax collector's office of the determination in writing.
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The applicant may submit a new application for tax certification
in accordance with Rule .1502 of this Section when the person
receiving the benefit complies with G.S. 113A, 130A, and 143
and the rules adopted under G.S. 113A, 130A, and 143 that are
under the authority of the Department to administer or enforce.
(n) _The Department may revoke a tax certification if the
Department discovers that false information was provided in the
application for tax certification submitted in accordance with Rule
.1502 of this Section. If the Department revokes a tax
certification, the Department shall notify the applicant, the person
receiving the tax benefit, and the county tax collector's office of
the determination in writing.

(o) The Department shall not be required to verify or confirm the
cost or value of requested property that is provided by the
applicant. The Department may include the cost of requested
personal property provided by the applicant on the tax
certification for ease of reference. Any change in cost or value
shall not change the qualification status of the real or personal
property.

(p) Real or personal property that was listed on a tax certification
issued prior to the readopted effective date of this Rule, and
equivalent real or personal property purchased to replace such
property within five years of the readopted effective date of this
Rule, shall be deemed qualifying property for the purpose of this
Section if the following conditions are met:

@ the use of the real or personal property has not
changed;

(2) the person that is receiving the benefit of
exclusion from the property tax base for the real
property complies with G.S. 113A, 130A, and
143 and the rules adopted under G.S. 113A,
130A, and 143 that are under the authority of
the Department to administer or enforce;

3) the real or personal property has not changed
ownership since the tax certification was
issued; and

4 any expiration date on the tax certification has
not passed.

(q) _If an application meeting the requirements of Rule .1502 of
this Section is submitted within five years of the readopted
effective date of this Rule for requested property that was
previously certified under a lease agreement, the requested
property that meets the requirements of Paragraph (p) of this Rule,
except Subparagraph (p)(4) of this Rule, shall be deemed
gualifying property for the purpose of this Section.

Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3).

15A NCAC 13B .1504 RECYCLING PROCESS

15A NCAC 13B .1505 RECYCLING EQUIPMENT

15A NCAC 13B .1506  INCIDENTAL OR SUPPORTIVE
FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT

15A NCAC 13B .1507 OPERATIONAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT
15A NCAC 13B .1508 APPLICATION FOR TAX

CERTIFICATION

Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3).
15A NCAC 13B.1510  SEVERABILITY
Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3).

15ANCAC 13B .1512  FACILITIES FOR REDUCING
HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATED

15A NCAC 13B .1513 EQUIPMENT FOR REDUCING
HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATED

Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3).

15A NCAC 13B.1514 APPEALS PROCEDURE

Authority G.S. 130A-294(a)(3).

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 34 - BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Funeral Service intends to adopt the rule cited as 21
NCAC 34A .0128 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 34B
.0308.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncbfs.org

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: December 9, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: 1033 Wade Ave., Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 27605

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 34A .0128 - Provides a process by which a member of
the regulated public can seek relief from a rule promulgated by
the Board.

21 NCAC 34B .0308 - The proposed amendments update the
process by which the Board will send annual reminders to
licensees of the deadline and manner by which licensure must be
renewed.

Comments may be submitted to: Stephen E. Davis, NC Board
of Funeral Service, 1033 Wade Ave., Suite 108, Raleigh, NC
27605

35:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 2, 2020




PROPOSED RULES

Comment period ends: January 4, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 34A - BOARD FUNCTIONS
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

21 NCAC 34A .0128 WAIVER

(a) The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not
statutorily required if a licensee, trainee, or continuing education
course provider submits a written request. Factors the Board shall
use in determining whether to grant the waiver are:

@ degree of disruption to the Board:;

(2) cost to the Board;

3) degree of benefit to the public;

4) whether the requesting party had control over
the circumstances that required the requested
waiver;

(5) notice to and opposition by the public;

(6) need for the waiver; and

@) previous requests for waivers submitted from

the requesting party.

(b) The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not
statutorily required upon its own initiative during a disaster
declaration by the President of the United States or the Governor,
a national emergency declaration by the President of the United
States, or a state of emergency declaration issued under G.S.
166A-19.3(19), based on the factors set forth in Subparagraphs
(a)(1), (2), (3), (5) and (6) of this Rule. If the Board wishes to
waive a rule, it shall provide notice by posting a link on their
website and sending out information to their interested persons
mailing list.

(c)_Any waiver granted by the Board in accordance with this Rule
based upon a declared state of emergency shall include a date

certain_upon which the waiver will expire, not to exceed 12
months from the date that the waiver is granted.

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 150B-19(6).
SUBCHAPTER 34B - FUNERAL SERVICE
SECTION .0300 - LICENSING
21 NCAC 34B .0308 ~ RENEWALS: NOTICES

The Executive Director of the Board shall, on or about December
1 of each year, send by electronic mail to each licenseeto-each

courtesy-card licensee or permit holder a written notice that said
license, permit permit, or courtesy card shall expire as provided
by law unless renewed. The notice shall contain instructions on
how to renew said license, permit, or courtesy card online.

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a).

B i i S I G S i

CHAPTER 66 - VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Veterinary Medical Board intends to adopt the rule cited as 21
NCAC 66 .0211 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 66 .0309.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.nhcvmb.org

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2021

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Contact the NC
Veterinary Medical Board via email at keith@ncvmb.org.

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 66 .0211 - Clarify the use of Telemedicine within the
practice of veterinary medicine.

21 NCAC 66 .0309 — To allow Registered Veterinary Technicians
to request and in active status.

Comments may be submitted to: Keith West, 1611 Jones
Franklin Road Suite 106, Raleigh, NC 27606; phone (919) 854-
5601; email keith@ncvmb.org

Comment period ends: January 4, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
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on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

] State funds affected

] Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
] Approved by OSBM

X No fiscal note required

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF VETERINARY
MEDICINE

21 NCAC 66 .0211 VETERINARY TELEMEDICINE
(a) A veterinarian may provide veterinary care via telemedicine
to any patient(s) located in the State after establishing a
Veterinary-Client-Patient-Relationship (VCPR). No person shall
practice veterinary telemedicine except a veterinarian within the
context of a VCPR. A VCPR cannot be established by any
electronic means.

(b) The delivery of veterinary medical services through

care. There is not a separate standard of care applicable to
telemedicine.

Authority G.S. 90-186(10).

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION AND LICENSING
PROCEDURES

21 NCAC 66 .0309
STATUS

(@) Any licensed veterinarian or_registrant who is in good
standing with the Board and who has ceased the—practice—of
veterinary-medicine practicing veterinary medicine may apply for
inactive status. The Board, in its discretion, may place the licensed
veterinarian or registrant on an inactive list of members and
thereafter the licensed veterinarian or registrant who has obtained
the inactive status shall not practice veterinary medicine or be
required to pay the annual license or registrant renewal as
prescribed in G.S. 90-187.5 and Board Rule .0302 or required to
earn continuing education credits.

(b) Any veterinarian or registrant who has been placed on inactive
status and who desires to be reinstated or to resume the-practice
of veterinary—medicine practicing veterinary medicine may be
reinstated within the discretion of the Board upon the
determination by the Board that the inactive veterinarian or
registrant is competent to practice veterinary medicine; that the

PETITION FOR INACTIVE

telemedicine is the practice of veterinary medicine. The practice
of veterinary medicine occurs where the patient(s) is located at the
time telemedicine technologies are used.

(c) Veterinarians practicing telemedicine shall be held to the same
standard of care as veterinarians providing in-person medical

veterinarian or registrant pay the required license renewal fee for
the current year in which the application is filed; and that the
veterinarian or registrant earn the required continuing education
credits in the year preceding reinstatement.

Authority G.S. 90-185(2); 90-185(6).

35:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 2, 2020

935



EMERGENCY RULES

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of
Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on
the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days
from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60" day from publication.

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-
21.14 and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD
Rule-making Agency: Appraisal Board
Rule Citation: 21 NCAC 57B .0615
Effective Date: October 19, 2020

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier: October 9,
2020

Reason for Action: On September 4, 2020, the Governor of
North Carolina, signed into law Session Law 2020-97, entitled
"An Act to Provide Additional and Revised Uses for Federal

continuing education courses. In order to offer

remote distance learning, the school shall

provide to the Board documentation that it has

met the following requirements prior to the

course taking place:

(a) The educational offering under
consideration is _currently approved
for traditional classroom presentation;

(b) The platform utilized for distance
education is live and interactive;

(c) The instructor  verifies  photo
identification of the students; and

(d) The instructor maintains an attendance

roster, which includes verifying 100
percent classroom attendance by, for
example, taking attendance at various
established times during the course.

Coronavirus Relief Funds, to Provide Funding for Disaster 2) Until March 31, 2021, qualifying education
Recovery, and To Make Other Revisions of Law." Section 3.20 of course offerings that are approved to be
SL 2020-97, entitled "Reauthorize State Agencies to Exercise presented in a traditional live in person
Regulatory Flexibility During the Coronavirus Emergency in classroom setting, may be offered as
Order to Protect the Economic Well-Being of the Citizens and synchronous delivery without the required
Businesses of the State,” requires that if a State agency determines approval set forth in Item (4) of this Rule. The
that, due to the impacts of the coronavirus, it is in the public school shall provide to the Board
interest, including the public health, safety, and welfare and documentation that it has met the following
economic well-being of the citizens and businesses of the State, requirements prior to the course taking place:
the agency shall take certain steps, as set forth in Section 3.20(b). (@ The educational offering under
The NC Appraisal Board has made the determination that due to consideration is currently approved
the impacts of the coronavirus, it is in the public interest, for traditional classroom presentation;
including public health, safety, and welfare and the economic (b) The platform utilized for distance
well-being of its licensees to take the steps set forth in this education is live and interactive;
emergency rule to modify continuing education and qualifying (©) The instructor  verifies photo
education requirements and allow for extensions of time to take identification of the students;
the licensing examination. Section 3.20(e) authorizes the Board (d) The instructor maintains an attendance
to adopt this emergency rule without commencing temporary rule roster, which includes verifying 100
making. percent classroom attendance by, for
example, taking attendance at various
SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL established times during the course;
EDUCATION and
(e) The examination  required  for
SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES gualifying education under Section
I1.E.7. of the AQB criteria remains in
21 NCAC 57B .0615 EMERGENCY PROVISIONS effect.
FOR EXTENSION FOR REMOTE LEARNING FOR 3) Until March 31, 2021, schools shall allow
QUALIFYING EDUCATION, CONTINUING students to make-up qualifying education
EDUCATION AND TAKING OF LICENSING course hours by attending another course that is
EXAMINATION equivalent to the original course offered by the
Due to the current State of Emergency in North Carolina and the same school. The make-up hours attended by
United States, the North Carolina Appraisal Board is taking the the student shall be for the same content that the
following action: student missed.
Q) Until March 31, 2021, schools and course 4) Until March 31, 2021, schools and course
sponsors may offer remote distance learning for sponsors _may offer remote asynchronous
35:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 2, 2020
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distance learning for qualifying education
courses, as long as the qualifying education
courses are approved in accordance with
Sections |11 D.3 and I11.F.6 of the AQB criteria.
All other Board rules that apply to continuing
education or gqualifying education that do not
conflict with this rule are in effect and enforced
by the Board.

An appraiser licensee applicant who is unable
to take the licensing examination within one
year pursuant to 21 NCAC 57A .0301, due to

applicants an extension to take the licensing
examination.

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-7; 93E-1-8;
93E-2-6; S.L. 2020-97. s. 3.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 1, 2020;

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 21, 2020 to expire pursuantto S.L.
2020-3, s. 4.38 (e);

Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. August 1, 2020 pursuant to S.L.
2020-3, s. 4.38 (e);

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 19, 2020 to expire pursuant to

illness or the testing service locations being

S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20(e).

closed shall make a written request to the
Board. The Board shall grant appraiser licensee
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APPROVED RULES

This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on September 17, 2020 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT
RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION
Records: Reports and Operating Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1418* 34:22 NCR
PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR
Newborn Screening 10A NCAC 42B .0102* 34:23 NCR
Fees 10A NCAC 42B .0108 34:23 NCR
Submission Of Blood Specimens For Screening of Newborns 10A NCAC 43H .0314* 34:23 NCR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice Officers 12 NCAC 09B .0101* 34:19 NCR
Responsibilities of the School Director 12 NCAC 09B .0202* 34:19 NCR
Criminal Justice Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09B .0209* 34:19 NCR
Certification of Instructors 12 NCAC 09B .0301* 34:19 NCR
Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course 12 NCAC 09B .0410* 34:19 NCR
Notification of Criminal Charges/Convictions 12 NCAC 09G .0302* 34:19 NCR
Certification of Instructors 12 NCAC 09G .0307* 34:19 NCR
Corrections Instructor Training Course 12 NCAC 09G .0313* 34:19 NCR
Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09G .0414* 34:19 NCR
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD
Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1001* 33:15 NCR
Petition for Hearing/Application for Relief 14B NCAC 16 .1002* 33:15 NCR
Processing Applications 14B NCAC 16 .1003* 33:15 NCR
Credit for CE Courses 14B NCAC 16 .1207* 33:15 NCR
Investigation for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Regis... 14B NCAC 16 .1304* 33:15 NCR
Investigation/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Req... 14B NCAC 16 .1404* 33:15 NCR
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION
Prevention of Significant Deterioration 15A NCAC 02D .0530* 34:16 NCR
Gasoline Truck Tanks and Vapor Collection Systems 15A NCAC 02D .0932* 34:16 NCR
Cargo Tank Leak Tester Report 15A NCAC 02D .0960* 34:16 NCR
Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1401* 34:16 NCR
Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .1402* 34:16 NCR
Compliance Schedules 15A NCAC 02D .1403* 34:16 NCR
Recordkeeping: Reporting: Monitoring 15A NCAC 02D .1404* 34:16 NCR
Circumvention 15A NCAC 02D .1405* 34:16 NCR
Boilers and Indirect-Fired Process Heaters 15A NCAC 02D .1407* 34:16 NCR
Stationary Combustion Turbines 15A NCAC 02D .1408* 34:16 NCR
Stationary Internal Combustion Engines 15A NCAC 02D .1409* 34:16 NCR
Emissions Averaging 15A NCAC 02D .1410* 34:16 NCR
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Seasonal Fuel Switching 15A NCAC 02D .1411* 34:16 NCR
Petition for Alternative Limitations 15A NCAC 02D .1412* 34:16 NCR
Sources not Otherwise Listed in this Section 15A NCAC 02D .1413* 34:16 NCR
Tune-Up Requirement 15A NCAC 02D .1414* 34:16 NCR
Test Methods and Procedures 15A NCAC 02D .1415 34:16 NCR
New Electric Generating Units, Boilers, Combustion Turbin... 15A NCAC 02D .1418* 34:16 NCR
Large Internal Combustion Engines 15A NCAC 02D .1423* 34:16 NCR
Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1701* 34:16 NCR
Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .1702* 34:16 NCR
Emission Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1703* 34:16 NCR
Test Methods and Procedures 15A NCAC 02D .1704 34:16 NCR
Operational Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1705 34:16 NCR
Compliance Provisions 15A NCAC 02D .1706 34:16 NCR
Monitoring Provisions 15A NCAC 02D .1707 34:16 NCR
Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1708* 34:16 NCR
Recordkeeping Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1709* 34:16 NCR
Compliance Schedule 15A NCAC 02D .1710* 34:16 NCR
Determination of Leak Tightness and Vapor Leaks 15A NCAC 02D .2615* 34:16 NCR
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Dog Training and Field Trials 15A NCAC 10B .0114* 34:19 NCR
Totally Disabled License Eligibility 15A NCAC 10G .0601 34:19 NCR
Records 15A NCAC 10H .1003 34:19 NCR
Wildlife Conservation Land 15A NCAC 10L .0101* 34:19 NCR
Protection of Species on the Protected Animal List 15A NCAC 10L .0102* 34:19 NCR
Conservation of Priority Wildlife Habits 15A NCAC 10L .0103* 34:19 NCR
Wildlife Reserve 15A NCAC 10L .0104* 34:19 NCR
PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .2508* 34:23 NCR
Water Recreation Attractions 15A NCAC 18A .2543* 34:23 NCR
EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF

School Bus Passengers 16 NCAC 06B .0111* 34:13 NCR
Definitions 16 NCAC 06C .0334* 34:13 NCR
NC Educator License for Area of Assignment 16 NCAC 06C .0335* 34:13 NCR
License Levels for a NC Educator License 16 NCAC 06C .0336 34:13 NCR
Basic Entity Data to Apply for a NC Educator License 16 NCAC 06C .0337* 34:13 NCR
Licensure Transaction Checklist to Apply for a NC Educato... 16 NCAC 06C .0338* 34:13 NCR
Requirements to be Issued a Continuing Professional Licen... 16 NCAC 06C .0339* 34:13 NCR
Reqguirements to Add a Provisional Teaching Area to a Nort... 16 NCAC 06C .0342* 34:13 NCR
Comparability for Out-of-State Licensure Exams 16 NCAC 06C .0349* 34:13 NCR
Duration of an Initial Professional License 16 NCAC 06C .0350* 34:13 NCR
Testing Requirements to Convert an Expired License 16 NCAC 06C .0351* 34:13 NCR
Testing Requirements to Convert a Lateral Entry License 16 NCAC 06C .0352 34:13 NCR
Deadline for Licensure Testing Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0353* 34:13 NCR
Effectiveness Data Requirements to Qualify for a Continui... 16 NCAC 06C .0354* 34:13 NCR
Teaching Experience Requirements to be Issued a NC Educat... 16 NCAC 06C .0355* 34:13 NCR
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Requirements to be Issued an International Faculty License 16 NCAC 06C .0357* 34:13 NCR
Restrictions to be Issued an Alternative License 16 NCAC 06C .0358* 34:13 NCR
Restrictions for an Emergency License 16 NCAC 06C .0359* 34:13 NCR
Application Eligibility to be Issued a Lifetime License 16 NCAC 06C .0360* 34:13 NCR
Requirements for an Educator to be Placed on a Mandatory ... 16 NCAC 06C .0361* 34:13 NCR
Non-Teaching Work Experience Credit Requirements for Nort... 16 NCAC 06C .0365* 34:13 NCR
Experience Credit Requirements for Career and Technical E... 16 NCAC 06C .0366* 34:13 NCR
Experience Credit Requirements for Junior Reserve Officer... 16 NCAC 06C .0367* 34:13 NCR
Requirements for an Educator to be Granted Master's Degre... 16 NCAC 06C .0369* 34:13 NCR
Experience Credit Restrictions Enforced by the Appeals Panel 16 NCAC 06C .0370* 34:13 NCR
Licensure Fees for North Carolina Educators 16 NCAC 06C .0371* 34:13 NCR
Denying a License Application or Suspension or Revocation... 16 NCAC 06C .0372* 34:13 NCR
Reporting Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse by a Loc... 16 NCAC 06C .0373* 34:13 NCR
Investigation Requirements to Determine Reasonable Cause ... 16 NCAC 06C .0374* 34:13 NCR
Voluntary Surrender of an Educator License 16 NCAC 06C .0375* 34:13 NCR
Reinstatement or Issuance for an Educator with a Suspende... 16 NCAC 06C .0376* 34:13 NCR
Procedure for Seeking Exception from Licensure Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0378* 34:13 NCR
Decision of the State Board of Education for a Requested ... 16 NCAC 06C .0380* 34:13 NCR
Beginning Teacher Support Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0382* 34:13 NCR
Beginning Teacher Professional Development Plan 16 NCAC 06C .0383* 34:13 NCR
Mentor Program Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0384* 34:13 NCR
Standards that Determine Teacher Ratings 16 NCAC 06C .0385* 34:13 NCR
School Administrator Preparation Program Coursework Requi... 16 NCAC 06C .0386* 34:13 NCR
School Administrator Preparation Program Curriculum Requi... 16 NCAC 06C .0387* 34:13 NCR
School Administrator Preparation Program Internship Requi... 16 NCAC 06C .0388* 34:13 NCR
School Administrator Preparation Program Internship Site ... 16 NCAC 06C .0389* 34:13 NCR
School Administrators Preparation Program Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0390* 34:13 NCR
Testing Exemptions for Admission into an Educator Prepara... 16 NCAC 06C .0391* 34:13 NCR
Testing Requirements for Admission into an Educator Prepa... 16 NCAC 06C .0392* 34:13 NCR
Mathematics Instructional Requirements for Educator Prepa... 16 NCAC 06C .0393* 34:13 NCR
Standards of Practice for Innovative or Experimental Prog... 16 NCAC 06C .0394* 34:13 NCR
Process for Filing a Complaint Against and Educator Prepa... 16 NCAC 06C .0395* 34:13 NCR
Restrictions on the Authority of the State Board of Educa... 16 NCAC 06C .0396* 34:13 NCR
Educator Preparation Program Coursework Requirements for ... 16 NCAC 06C .0397* 34:13 NCR
Virtual Charter Schools Attendance and Membership - Appli... 16 NCAC 06G .0516* 34:13 NCR
Charter Schools Process for Assumption of Inadequately Pe... 16 NCAC 06G .0524* 34:13 NCR
Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - Defini... 16 NCAC 06H .0114* 34:13 NCR

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Form Bar-1 21 NCAC 06N .0102 34:22 NCR
Form Bar-3 21 NCAC 06N .0104 34:22 NCR
Form Bar-4 21 NCAC 06N .0105 34:22 NCR
Form Bar-5 21 NCAC 06N .0106 34:22 NCR
Form Bar-6 21 NCAC 06N .0107 34:22 NCR
Form Bar-8 21 NCAC 06N .0109 34:22 NCR
Farm Bar-9 21 NCAC 06N .0110 34:22 NCR
Form Bar-11 21 NCAC 06N .0112 34:22 NCR
Form Bar-12 21 NCAC 06N .0113 34:22 NCR
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PASTORAL COUNSELORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF FEE-BASED PRACTICING

Address 21 NCAC 45 .0101* 34:23 NCR
Review Procedure 21 NCAC 45 .0202 34:23 NCR
Types 21 NCAC 45 .0301 34:23 NCR
Certification Renewal Form 21 NCAC 45 .0401 34:23 NCR
Reinstatement After Suspension 21 NCAC 45 .0403 34:23 NCR
Continuing Education Requirements 21 NCAC 45 .0501* 34:23 NCR
Equivalency 21 NCAC 45 .0601* 34:23 NCR
Issuance of Temporary Certificate 21 NCAC 45 .0701 34:23 NCR
Approved Supervision 21 NCAC 45 .0801* 34:23 NCR

ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD

Definitions 21 NCAC 68 .0101* 34:24 NCR
Board Address 21 NCAC 68 .0102 34:24 NCR
Application for Registration 21 NCAC 68 .0201* 34:24 NCR
Reqistration Process for Board Credential 21 NCAC 68 .0202* 34:24 NCR
Supervised Practicum for Certified Alcohol and Drug Couns... 21 NCAC 68 .0204* 34:24 NCR
Reciprocity 21 NCAC 68 .0209* 34:24 NCR
Continuing Education Approval Policy 21 NCAC 68 .0213 34:24 NCR
University Substance Abuse Specialty Curricula 21 NCAC 68 .0214* 34:24 NCR
Verification 21 NCAC 68 .0215 34:24 NCR
Supervised Practicum for Criminal Justice Addictions Prof... 21 NCAC 68 .0217 34:24 NCR
Notice to Applicant of Failure to Satisfy Board 21 NCAC 68 .0220 34:24 NCR
Applicant Hearing 21 NCAC 68 .0221* 34:24 NCR
Ethics and Quality Assurance Inquiry 21 NCAC 68 .0222* 34:24 NCR
Standards and Quality Assurance Committee Actions 21 NCAC 68 .0223* 34:24 NCR
Credentialing Status Denied if Serving Sentence 21 NCAC 68 .0224* 34:24 NCR
Suspension of Authority and Escrow of Funds 21 NCAC 68 .0225* 34:24 NCR
Armed Services Extension for Credential 21 NCAC 68 .0226* 34:24 NCR
Scope 21 NCAC 68 .0301 34:24 NCR
Application for Deemed Status by Professional Discipline 21 NCAC 68 .0303* 34:24 NCR
Three-Year Standards Review of Deemed Status Standing 21 NCAC 68 .0304* 34:24 NCR
Revocation of Credential When Change in Status 21 NCAC 68 .0307* 34:24 NCR
Educational Approval Policy 21 NCAC 68 .0401* 34:24 NCR
General Training Pre-Approval Guidelines 21 NCAC 68 .0402* 34:24 NCR
In-Service Training Event 21 NCAC 68 .0403* 34:24 NCR
Credit Denial or Limitation 21 NCAC 68 .0404* 34:24 NCR
Sponsor Guidelines 21 NCAC 68 .0405* 34:24 NCR
Procedures for Approval of Self-Study Courses 21 NCAC 68 .0406 34:24 NCR
Education Submission Guidelines 21 NCAC 68 .0407* 34:24 NCR
Purpose and Scope 21 NCAC 68 .0501* 34:24 NCR
Non-Discrimination 21 NCAC 68 .0502* 34:24 NCR
Competence 21 NCAC 68 .0503* 34:24 NCR
Legal Standards and Ethical Standards 21 NCAC 68 .0504* 34:24 NCR
Education and Training Standards 21 NCAC 68 .0505* 34:24 NCR
Publication Credit 21 NCAC 68 .0506* 34:24 NCR
Client Welfare 21 NCAC 68 .0507* 34:24 NCR
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Confidentiality 21 NCAC 68 .0508* 34:24 NCR
Client Relationships 21 NCAC 68 .0509* 34:24 NCR
Interprofessional Relationships 21 NCAC 68 .0510* 34:24 NCR
Remuneration 21 NCAC 68 .0511* 34:24 NCR
Responsibilities of Supervisor to Supervisee 21 NCAC 68 .0512* 34:24 NCR
Grounds for Professional Discipline 21 NCAC 68 .0601* 34:24 NCR
Complaint Procedures 21 NCAC 68 .0602* 34:24 NCR
Investigation of Complaint 21 NCAC 68 .0603* 34:24 NCR
Hearing Before Board 21 NCAC 68 .0604* 34:24 NCR
Method of Discipline 21 NCAC 68 .0605* 34:24 NCR
Effect of Court or of Other Professional Groups 21 NCAC 68 .0606* 34:24 NCR
Discretion of the Board 21 NCAC 68 .0607* 34:24 NCR
Confidentiality 21 NCAC 68 .0608* 34:24 NCR
Petition for Reopening Case 21 NCAC 68 .0609* 34:24 NCR
Awarding the Credential Following Denial 21 NCAC 68 .0610* 34:24 NCR
Proof of Rehabilitation 21 NCAC 68 .0611* 34:24 NCR
Informal Proceedings 21 NCAC 68 .0615* 34:24 NCR
Publication of Ethics Sanctions 21 NCAC 68 .0620* 34:24 NCR
Hearing Before Board: Time Requirement 21 NCAC 68 .0701* 34:24 NCR
Right to Hearing 21 NCAC 68 .0702* 34:24 NCR
Request for Hearing 21 NCAC 68 .0703* 34:24 NCR
Hearing Requests 21 NCAC 68 .0704* 34:24 NCR
Notice of Hearing 21 NCAC 68 .0705* 34:24 NCR
Who Shall Hear Contested Cases 21 NCAC 68 .0706* 34:24 NCR
Petition for Intervention 21 NCAC 68 .0707* 34:24 NCR
Disqualification of Board Member 21 NCAC 68 .0709* 34:24 NCR

The following rules are subject to Legislative Review.

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF

Requirements to be Issued an Initial Professional License... 16 NCAC 06C .0340* 34:13 NCR
Requirements to be Issued a Residency License 16 NCAC 06C .0341* 34:13 NCR
Requirements to be Issued a Provisional Student Services ... 16 NCAC 06C .0344* 34:13 NCR
Reqguirements to be Issued a Permit to Teach 16 NCAC 06C .0346* 34:13 NCR
Renewal Credit Requirements to Renew a Continuing Profess... 16 NCAC 06C .0362* 34:13 NCR
Renewal Credit Requirements to Renew a Continuing Profess... 16 NCAC 06C .0363* 34:13 NCR
Experience/Degree Credit for Salary Purposes 16 NCAC 06C .0364* 34:13 NCR
One-Year Extension Process for Coursework Requirements to... 16 NCAC 06C .0379* 34:13 NCR
Beginning Teacher Support Program Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0381* 34:13 NCR
Charter Schools Student Admissions 16 NCAC 06G .0504 34:13 NCR
Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0510* 34:13 NCR
Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schoals - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0511* 34:13 NCR
Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0512* 34:13 NCR
Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0513* 34:13 NCR
Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0515* 34:13 NCR
Management Organizations and Support Organizations 16 NCAC 06G .0523* 34:13 NCR
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TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

10A NCAC 15 .1418 RECORDS: REPORTS AND
OPERATING REQUIREMENTS

(@) Prior to initial exposure, the registrant shall provide each
consumer the opportunity to read a copy of the warning specified
in Rule .1414(b) of this Section and have the consumer sign a
statement that the information has been read and understood. For
illiterate or visually impaired persons unable to read, the warning
statement shall be read aloud by the operator to that individual, in
the presence of a witness, and the witness and the operator shall
sign the statement.

(b) The registrant shall maintain a record of each consumer's total
number of tanning visits, including dates and durations of tanning
exposures.

(c) The registrant shall determine each consumer's skin type using
a method that distinguishes between six skin types and record the
skin type on the client tan record.

(d) The registrant shall submit a written report of injury for which
medical attention was sought or obtained from the use of
registered tanning equipment to the Radiation Protection Section
within five business days after occurrence. The report shall
include:

@ the name of the affected individual,

)] the name and location of the tanning facility
involved,;

3) the nature of the actual or alleged injury; and

4) any other information relevant to the actual or

alleged injury, including the date and duration
of exposure and any documentation of medical
attention sought or obtained.
(e) The registrant shall not allow individuals under the age of 18
to use tanning equipment.
(F) The registrant shall verify by checking legal identification that
includes a driver's license, a passport, or military identification,
each consumer is 18 years of age or older.
(9) The registrant shall not allow minors to remain in the tanning
room while the tanning equipment is in operation.
(h) The registrant shall replace defective or burned out lamps,
bulbs, or filters with a type intended for use in the affected tanning
equipment as specified by the manufacturer's product label and
having the same spectral distribution (certified equivalent lamp).
(i) The registrant shall replace ultraviolet lamps and bulbs that
are not otherwise defective or damaged at such frequency or after
such duration of use as is recommended by the manufacturer of
such lamps and bulbs.
(J) The registrant shall maintain a record for inspection by
authorized representatives of the agency of the number of hours
that ultraviolet lamps and bulbs are used.
(k) The registrant shall certify that all tanning equipment
operators are trained in the following:

1) the requirements of this Section;

2) procedures for correct operation of the tanning
facility and tanning equipment;

3) recognition of injury or overexposure to

ultraviolet radiation;

4 the tanning equipment  manufacturer's
procedures for operation and maintenance of
the tanning equipment;

(5) the determination of skin type of customers and
determination of duration of exposure to
registered tanning equipment; and

(6) emergency procedures to be followed in case of
injury.

(I) The registrant shall allow operation of tanning equipment only
by and in the physical presence of persons who have completed
formal training courses that meet the requirements of Paragraph
(k) of this Rule.

(m) The registrant shall maintain a record of operator training
required in Paragraph (k) of this Rule for inspection by authorized
representatives of the agency.

(n) No registrant shall possess, use, operate, or transfer tanning
equipment or his or her ultraviolet radiation sources in such a
manner as to cause any individual under 18 years of age to be
exposed to radiation emissions from such equipment.

(o) Each registrant shall make available to all employees current
copies of the following documents:

(8] the facility's certificate of registration with the
Radiation Protection Section; and

2 conditions or documents incorporated into the
registration by reference and amendments
thereto.

History Note:
9.1; 104E-12;
Eff. June 1, 1989;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1993; May 1, 1992;
Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1418 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(7); 104E-9; 104E-

%k ok k ok ok ok ok k ok % ok ok % ok ok ¥ k k%

10A NCAC 42B .0102 NEWBORN SCREENING
(a) The State Laboratory of Public Health will conduct screening
for the core conditions listed on the Recommended Uniform
Screening Panel developed by the Secretary of the United States
Department of Health and Human Services and the Advisory
Committee on Heritable Disorders of Newborns and Children (the
"RUSP™), which is hereby incorporated by reference, including
any subsequent editions and amendments, and available free of
charge at https://www.hrsa.gov/advisory-committees/heritable-
disorders/rusp/index.html. Specimens shall be submitted to this
laboratory for screening in accordance with the procedures set
forth in 10A NCAC 43H .0314.
(b) The process to develop and implement new screening for the
conditions described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall begin
after:
1) the screening fee set out in Rule .0108 of this
Section is adjusted, as permitted by G.S. 130A-
125(c);
2 funds exist to acquire instrumentation,
equipment, Program supplies, and Program
personnel; and
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3) the Program performs assay validations,
implements preventative follow-up
interventions, secures necessary infrastructure,
and meets all federal, State, and local
requirements.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-88; 130A-125;

Eff. October 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 42B .0108 FEES

(a) The State Laboratory of Public Health shall charge a fee of
one hundred thirty-two dollars ($132.00) to cover the
programmatic costs of the newborn screening performed by the
State Laboratory of Public Health under 10A NCAC 42B
.0102(a).

(b) In accordance with G.S. 130A-125, the Commission for
Public Health, in consultation with the Secretary of the North
Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, has
determined that the fee listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule is
necessary to offset the cost of incorporating the conditions
identified in 10A NCAC 42B .0102(a) in the Newborn Screening
Program.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-125;
Eff. January 1, 2021.

sk osk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok ok ok sk sk sk sk sk sk

10A NCAC 43H .0314 SUBMISSION OF BLOOD
SPECIMENS FOR SCREENING OF NEWBORNS

(&) The attending physician shall collect or ensure the collection
of a blood specimen for each infant born in North Carolina and
shall submit such specimens to the North Carolina State
Laboratory of Public Health for testing as set forth in 10A NCAC
42B .0102.

(b) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, parents or
guardians may object to screening in accordance with G.S.
130A-125(b).

(c) The hearing screening component of the Department's
Newborn Screening Program is found in 10A NCAC 43F .1200.

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-125;

Eff. April 1, 1992;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 21E .0501 Eff.
February 10, 1993;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1994;

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021.

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS
Every criminal justice officer who is employed in or has received
a conditional offer of employment for a certified position by an
agency in North Carolina shall:

1) be a citizen of the United States;

) be at least 20 years of age;

3 be of good moral character pursuant to G.S.

17C-10 as evidenced by the following:

(a) not having been convicted of a felony;

(b) not having been convicted of a
misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC
09B .0111(1) for five years or the
completion of any corrections
supervision imposed by the courts,
whichever is later;

(c) not having been convicted of an
offense that would prohibit the
possession of a firearm or
ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922,
which is hereby incorporated by
reference with subsequent
amendments and editions and can be
found at no cost at
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg
/USCODE-2018-
title18/pdf/USCODE-2018-title18-
partl-chap44.pdf;

(d) having submitted to and produced a
negative result on a drug test within 60
days of employment or any in-service
drug screening required by the
appointing agency that meets the
certification ~ standards of  the
Department of Health and Human
Services for Federal Workplace Drug
Testing Programs. A list of certified
drug testing labs that meet this
requirement may be obtained, at no
cost, at
https://www.samhsa.gov/programs-
campaigns/drug-free-
workplace/guidelines-resources/drug-
testing/certified-lab-list;

(e) submitting to a  background
investigation  consisting of the
verification of age and education and a
criminal history check of local, state,
and national files;

f being  truthful in  providing
information to the appointing agency
and to the Standards Division for the
purpose of obtaining probationary or
general certification;

(9) not having pending or outstanding
felony charges that, if convicted of
such charges, would disqualify the
applicant  from  holding  such
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(4)

()

certification, pursuant to G.S. 17C-13;
and
(h) not having engaged in any conduct
that brings into question the
truthfulness or credibility of the
officer, or involves "moral turpitude.”
"Moral turpitude™ is conduct that is
contrary to justice, honesty, or
morality, including conduct as defined
in: Inre Willis 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d
771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976
(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746,
6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325
N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re
Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55
S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188
N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State
v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d
647 (1983); and later court decisions
that cite these cases as authority.
have been fingerprinted and a search made of
local, state, and national files to disclose any
criminal record;
have been examined and certified by a licensed
surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or
nurse  practitioner to  meet physical
requirements necessary to fulfill the officer's
particular responsibilities and shall have
produced a negative result on a drug screen
administered according to the following
specifications:
@ the drug screen shall be a urine test
consisting of an initial screening test
using an immunoassay method and a
confirmatory test on an initial positive

result using a gas
chromatography/mass  spectrometry
(GC/MS) or other initial and

confirmatory tests authorized or
mandated by the Department of Health
and Human Services for Federal
Workplace Drug Testing Programs;
(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained
on the specimen from collection to the
eventual discarding of the specimen;
(© the drug screen shall test for the
presence of at least cannabis, cocaine,
phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and
amphetamines or their metabolites;
(d) the test threshold values meet the
requirements established by the
Department of Health and Human
Services for Federal Workplace Drug
Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR
7920 (2017)  incorporated by
reference, including later amendments
and editions found at no cost at
https://www.federalregister.gov/docu
ments/2017/01/23/2017-

(6)

)

®)

00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-
federal-workplace-drug-testing-
programs;

(e) the test conducted shall be not more
than 60 days old, calculated from the
time when the laboratory reports the
results to the date of employment; and

f the laboratory conducting the test shall
be certified for federal workplace drug
testing programs, and shall adhere to
applicable federal rules, regulations,
and guidelines pertaining to the
handling, testing, storage, and
preservation of samples;

have been administered a psychological
screening  examination by a clinical
psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice
in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist
or psychiatrist authorized to practice in
accordance with the rules and regulations of the
United States Armed Forces within one year
prior to employment by the employing agency
to determine the officer's mental and emotional
suitability to properly fulfill the responsibilities
of the position;
have been interviewed personally by the
department head or the department head
representative or representatives to determine
such things as the applicant's appearance,
demeanor, attitude, and ability to communicate;
and

make the following notifications:

(@) within 30 days of the qualifying event
notify the Standards Division and the
appointing department head in writing
of all criminal offenses for which the
officer is charged or arrested. This
shall include traffic offenses identified
in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual
and offenses of driving under the
influence (DUI) or driving while
impaired (DWI);

(b) within 30 days of the qualifying event
notify the Standards Division and the
appointing department head in writing
of all criminal offenses for which the
officer pleads no contest pleads guilty
or of which the officer is found guilty.
This shall include traffic offenses
identified in the Class B Misdemeanor
Manual and offenses of driving under
the influence (DUI) or driving while
impaired (DWI);

(c) within 30 days of service, officers
shall notify the Standards Division of
all Domestic Violence Protective
Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil No
Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are
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©)

History Note:

issued by a judicial official against the
officer;

(d) within 30 days of the date the case was
disposed of in court, the department
head, provided he or she has
knowledge of the officer's arrests or
criminal charges and final
dispositions, shall also notify the
Standards Division of arrests or
criminal charges and final disposition;

(e) within 30 days of the issuance of all
Domestic Violence Protective Orders
(G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact
Orders (G.S. 50C), the department
head, provided he or she has
knowledge of the order, shall also
notify the Standards Division of these
orders.

The required notifications in this Rule shall be

in writing and shall specify the nature of the

offense or order, the court in which the case was
handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge,
or service of the order, and the final disposition.

The notification shall include a certified copy of

the order or court documentation and final

disposition from the Clerk of Court in the
county of adjudication. The requirements of
this Item shall be applicable at all times during
which the officer is employed and certified by
the Commission and shall also apply to all
applicants for certification. Receipt by the

Standards Division of a single notification,

from the officer or the department head, shall

be sufficient notice for compliance with this

Item.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Eff. January 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; September 1, 2001;
April 1, 1999; January 1, 1995; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1990;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

12 NCAC 09B .0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE
SCHOOL DIRECTOR

(@ In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each
Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School

Director shall:

(1)

()
)

Formalize and schedule the course curriculum
in accordance with the curriculum standards
established in this Subchapter;

Select and schedule instructors who are
certified by the Commission;

Provide each instructor with a current
Commission course outline and all necessary
additional  information  concerning  the
instructor's duties and responsibilities;

4 Notify each instructor that he or she shall
comply with the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course Management Guide and
provide him or her access to the most current
version of the Course Management Guide;

(5) Review each instructor's lesson plans and other
instructional materials for conformance to
Commission standards and to minimize
repetition and duplication of subject matter;

(6) Arrange for the availability of appropriate
audiovisual aids and materials, publications,
facilities, and equipment for training in all topic
areas;

@) Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any
supplemental  rules and  requirements
determined by the school to be necessary or
appropriate for:

(A) effective course delivery;

(B) establishing  responsibilities  and
obligations of agencies or departments
employing or sponsoring course
trainees; and

© regulating trainee participation and
demeanor, ensuring trainee
attendance, and maintaining
performance records;
8) If appropriate, recommend housing and dining
facilities for trainees;
©)] Administer the course delivery in accordance

with Commission standards, give consideration
to advisory guidelines issued by the
Commission;

(10) Maintain supervision, direction, and control
over the performance of all persons to whom
any portion of the planning, development,
presentation, or administration of a course has
been delegated. The comprehensive final
examination shall be administered by the
Criminal Justice Education and Training
Standards Commission; and

(11) Report the completion of each presentation of a
Commission-certified criminal justice training
course to the Commission.

(12) All forms required for submission to the
Commission are located on the Agency's
website: http://mwww.ncdoj.gov/About-
DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-
Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-
Training-Standards/Forms-and-
Publications.aspx.

(b) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School
Director shall:

@ Deliver training in accordance with the most
current version of the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course Management Guide as
published by the North Carolina Justice
Academy;
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)

3)

(4)

Q)

(6)

()

(8)

Schedule course presentation to include 12
hours of instruction each week during
consecutive calendar weeks, except that there
may be as many as three one-week breaks until
course requirements are completed;
Schedule only specialized instructors certified
by the Commission to teach those high-liability
areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this
Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as
assistant instructors or role players;
With the exception of the First Responder,
Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous
Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule
.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one
specialized instructor certified by the
Commission for every six trainees while
actively engaged in a practical performance
exercise;
Schedule one specialized instructor certified by
the Commission for every eight trainees while
engaged in a practical performance exercise in
the topical area "Subject Control Arrest
Techniques;"
Schedule no single individual to instruct more
than 35 percent of the total hours of the
curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course
presentation;
Not less than 30 days before commencing
delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course, submit to the Commission a
Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course
Presentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0211.
The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall
indicate a requested date and location for the
administration of the state comprehensive
exam, and include the following attachments:
(A) a course schedule showing the
arrangement of topical presentations

and proposed instructional
assignments; and
(B) a copy of any rules and requirements

for the school. A copy of such rules
shall also be given to each trainee and
to the executive officer of each
trainee's employing or sponsoring
agency or department at the time the
trainee enrolls in the course;
Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by
the Commission to monitor, a presentation of
each instructor once during each three year
certification period in each topic taught by the
instructor and prepare a written evaluation on
the instructor's performance and suitability for
subsequent instructional assignments. The
observations shall be of sufficient duration to
ensure that the instructor is using the
Instructional System Design model, and that the
delivery is objective-based, documented by,

(©

©)

(10)

and consistent with a Commission-approved
lesson plan. For each topic area, the School
Director's evaluation shall be based upon the
course delivery observations, the instructor's
use of the approved lesson plan, and the results
of the student evaluations of the instructor. For
probationary instructors, the evaluations
conducted by another instructor shall be
prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor
Evaluation (Form F-16) and forwarded to the
Commission. Based on this evaluation, the
School Director shall recommend approval or
denial of requests for General Instructor
Certification. For all other instructors, these
evaluations shall be prepared on the Criminal
Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16), be
kept on file by the school for a period of three
years, and shall be made available for
inspection by a representative of the
Commission upon request. In the event the
evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or
her performance was less than acceptable, the
School Director shall forward a copy of the
evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor
who is evaluating the instructional presentation
of another instructor shall hold certification in
the same instructional topic area as that for
which the instructor is being evaluated,;

Administer or designate a staff person to

administer appropriate tests during course

delivery:

(A) to determine and record the level of
trainee comprehension and retention
of instructional subject- matter;

(B) to provide a basis for a final
determination or recommendation
regarding the minimum degree of
knowledge and skill of each trainee to
function as an inexperienced law
enforcement officer; and

© to determine subject or topic areas of
deficiency for the application of Rule
.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and

Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a

school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement

Training, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course

Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include:

(A) a "Student Course Completion” form
for each individual enrolled on the day
of orientation;

(B) a "Certification and Test Score
Release" form;

© the "Police Officer Physical Ability
Test (POPAT) Post-Course” final
form; and

(D) Orientation class enrollment roster.

In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
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certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the
School Director shall:

(1)

(@)

3)

(4)

Schedule course presentation to include a

minimum of 78 hours of instruction during the

time period the class is taught until course
requirements are completed.

Schedule at least one evaluator for each six

trainees, as follows:

(A) no evaluator shall be assigned more
than six trainees during a course
delivery;

(B) each evaluator, as well as the
instructors, shall have completed a
Commission-certified instructor
training course or an equivalent
instructor training course utilizing the
Instructional Systems Design model,
an international model  with
applications in education, military
training, and private enterprise; and

© each instructor and evaluator shall
document successful participation in a
program presented by the North
Carolina  Justice Academy for
purposes of familiarization and
supplementation relevant to delivery
of the instructor training course and
trainee evaluation.

Not fewer than 30 days before commencing

delivery of the course, submit to the

Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training

Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)]with

the following attachments:

(A) a course schedule showing the
arrangement of topical presentations
and proposed instructional
assignments;

(B) the names and last four digits of the
social security numbers of all
instructors and evaluators; and

© a copy of any rules, and requirements
for the school; and

Not more than 10 days after course completion,

submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery

Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the

following:

(A) class enrollment roster;

(B) a course schedule with the designation
of instructors and evaluators utilized
in delivery;

© scores recorded for each trainee on the
70 minute skill presentation; and

(D) designation of trainees who completed

the course in its entirety and whom the
School Director finds to be competent
to instruct.

(d) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance,

or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-
certification course, the School Director shall:

(D) select and schedule speed measurement
instrument instructors who are certified by the
Commission as instructors for the specific
speed measurement instruments in which the
trainees are to receive instruction as follows:
(A) provide to the instructor the

Commission form(s) for motor skill
examination on each trainee;

(B) require the instructor to complete the
motor skill examination form on each
trainee indicating the level of
proficiency obtained on each specific
instrument; and

© require each instructor to sign each
individual form and submit the
original to the School Director;

2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled
starting date, submit to the Director of the
Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of
Speed  Measuring  Instrument  Course
Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall
contain a period of course delivery including
the proposed starting date, course location,
requested date and location for the
administration of the state exam, and the
number of trainees to be trained on each type of
approved speed measurement instrument. The
Director of the Standards Division shall review
the request and notify the School Director
within thirty business days if the request is
approved or denied; and

3 upon completing delivery of the Commission-
certified course, and not more than 10 days after
the conclusion of a school's offering of a
certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-
Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed
measurement operator training course or re-
certification course, the School Director shall
notify the Commission regarding the progress
and achievements of each trainee by submitting
a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course
Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report
shall include the original motor-skill
examination form(s) completed and signed by
the certified instructor responsible for
administering the motor-skill examination to
the respective trainee.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;

Eff. January 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. November 1, 1981;

Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; April 1, 2009;
November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; August 1,
2000; January 1, 1996; November 1, 1993; December 1, 1987,
January 1, 1985;
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020.

12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(@) The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor
certification shall consist of a minimum of 90 hours of instruction,
as defined in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, within 15-business days.
(b) Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide
the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions
of a criminal justice instructor.

(c) Each Instructor Training course shall include the following
identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each
area:

(1) Orientation and Pre-Test 4 Hours
(2) Instructional Systems Design (ISD) 8 Hours
3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and
Legal Responsibilities 3 Hours
4) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership
4 Hours
(5) Lesson Plan  Preparation:  Professional
Resources 3 Hours
(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting
4 Hours
@) Adult Learning 4 Hours
(8) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills
8 Hours
(9) Classroom Management 4 Hours
(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical
Exercises 8 Hours
(11) The Evaluation Process of Learning
5 Hours
(12) Audio Visual Aids 6 Hours

(13) Student 8-Minute Introductions and Video

Critique 5 Hours
(14) Student  Performance: First  35-Minute

Presentation 6 Hours

Second 35-Minute Presentation 6 Hours

Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review
8 Hours
(15) Course Closing and Post-test 4 Hours
(d) The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor
training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at
the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;
Eff. January 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018;
January 1, 2015; December 1, 2009; August 1, 2005; November
1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January
1, 1985;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021.

12 NCAC 09B .0301
INSTRUCTORS
(&) A person participating in a Commission-certified criminal
justice training course or program as an instructor, teacher,
professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to
the class shall first be certified by the Commission as an
instructor.

(b) The Commission shall certify instructors under the following
categories:  General Instructor Certification, Specialized
Instructor Certification, or Professional Lecturer Certification as
outlined in Rules .0302, .0304 and .0306 of this Section. Instructor
certification shall be granted on the basis of documented
qualifications of experience, education, and training in
accordance with the requirements of this Section and as stated on
the applicant's Request for Instructor Certification Form.

(c) In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each
instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a Commission-
certified course shall remain competent in his or her specialized
areas. Such competence shall include remaining current in the
instructor's area of expertise, which shall be demonstrated by
attending and completing all updated instructor training courses
required by the Commission.

(d) If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is
found to have knowingly and willfully violated any provision or
requirement of the rules in this Subchapter, the Commission shall
take action to correct the violation and to ensure that the violation
does not recur, including:

CERTIFICATION OF

(8] issuing an oral warning and request for
compliance;

2) issuing a written warning and request for
compliance;

3) issuing an official written reprimand,;

(@) suspending the individual's certification for a

specified period of time or until acceptable

corrective action is taken by the individual; and
5) revoking the individual's certification.

(e) The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's
certification when the Commission finds that the person:

(8] has failed to meet and maintain any of the
requirements for qualification;

2 has failed to remain competent in the person's
areas of expertise;

?3) has failed to deliver training in a manner

consistent with the instructor lesson plans
outlined in the "Instructor Training Manual" as
found in Rule .0209 of this Subchapter;

(@) has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined
in the "Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course Management Guide" as found in Rule
.0205 of this Subchapter;
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(5)

(6)

has demonstrated "unprofessional personal™

conduct in the delivery of Commission

approved or mandated training. For the

purposes of this Subparagraph, unprofessional

personal conduct is identified as:

(A) job-related conduct that constitutes a
violation of state or federal law;

(B) a conviction or commission of a
criminal offense, as set out in 12
NCAC 09A .0204;

© the willful violation of rules of this
Chapter;
(D) conduct that is detrimental to

instruction in  the Commission's
mandated courses. Conduct s
"detrimental to instruction" if the
conduct is demeaning or disruptive to
the learning environment;

(E) the physical or verbal abuse of a client
or student who the instructor is
teaching or supervising; or

(F) falsification ~ of an  instructor
application or other employment
documentation;

is an instructor, School Director, or Qualified

Assistant and is involved in the instruction of

(for instructors) or oversight of (for School

Directors and Qualified Assistants) a student

with whom the instructor, School Director, or

Qualified Assistant has a close personal

relationship such as, familial, financial, dating,

or sexual, even if consensual; and fails to take
immediate and appropriate corrective action.

Appropriate corrective action requires the

instructor, School Director, or Qualified

Assistant to notify his or her managing

personnel in writing of the relationship and

requires the instructor, School Director, or

Qualified Assistant to stop instructing or

overseeing the student with whom the

relationship exists:

(A) the written notice to managing
personnel shall include:

0] school/agency name;

(i) name of course;

(iii) name of the instructor,
School Director, or Qualified

Assistant;
(iv) name of student;
(v) name of managing peronnel;
and
(vi) nature of the relationship;
(B) the  written notice from the

school/agency managing personnel to
the Standards Division shall be
submitted within 10 days of receipt of
notice from the instructor, School
Director, or Qualified Assistant and
shall include:

) school/agency name;

(i) name of course;

(iii) name of the instructor,
School Director, or Qualified

Assistant;
(iv) name of student;
(v) name of managing personnel;
(vi) nature of the relationship;
and

(vii) explanation of action taken to
ensure the named instructor,
School Director, or Qualified
Assistant is not in violation
of this Rule;

@) has demonstrated instructional incompetence;

(8) has knowingly and willfully obtained or
attempted to obtain instructor certification by
deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation;

©)] has failed to meet or maintain good moral
character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1,
215 S.E.2d 771, appeal dismissed, 423 U.S. 976
(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d
854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.
2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License,
143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re
Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924);
State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647
(1983); and later court decisions that cite these
cases as authority, and as required to discharge
the duties of a criminal justice instructor;

(10) has failed to deliver training in a manner
consistent with the Qualified Retired Law
Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification
Certification Program as found in 12 NCAC
09H .0102;

(11) has knowingly and willfully aided or attempted
to aid any person in obtaining qualification or
certification under the Qualified Retired Law
Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification
Certification Program by deceit, fraud, or
misrepresentation;

(12) has committed or been convicted of an offense
that could result in the denial, suspension, or
revocation of an officer's law enforcement
certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504;
or

(13) has knowingly made a material
misrepresentation of any information required
for certification or accreditation.

(f) When a person certified as a law enforcement officer by the
North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training
Standards Commission (Commission), the North Carolina
Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission (Sheriffs'
Commission), the North Carolina Department of Insurance,
Office of State Fire Marshal, Fire Rescue Commission (Fire
Commission), Office of Emergency Medical Services North
Carolina Company/Campus Police Program; or a North Carolina,
out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing agency;
has been denied certification or had his or her certification
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suspended or revoked by their respective Commission, or agency
the State or local law enforcement officer shall report the
suspension or revocation to the Criminal Justice Standards
Division within five days. The General Instructor Certification (if
applicable) shall be automatically suspended or revoked for the
same time period as his or her respective Commission
certification in accordance with the following:

(1) this suspension or revocation of the General
Instructor certification shall also include
suspension or revocation to any Commission
recognized specialized or additional instructor
certification, as outlined in Rule .0304 of this
Section;

2 if the term of suspension or revocation exceeds
the expiration date of the instructor's initial
certification expiration date, he or she shall
forfeit their certifications as a General
Instructor and Specialized Instructor and shall
be required to obtain certification pursuant to
the requirements of Rule .0302 of this Section
before any instruction may be delivered in any
Commission-approved or mandated training,
including the completion of a subsequent
General Instructor's training course in its
entirety; and

3 if the term of suspension or revocation does not
exceed the expiration date of the instructor's
initial  certification expiration date, the
instructor shall be reinstated as a General
Instructor only upon reinstatement of his or her
law enforcement officer certification by the
Commission. The terms of renewal for the
existing General Instructor and Specialized
Instructor certifications shall remain subject to
all renewal requirements pursuant to Rule
.0303(d) of this Section by the next expiration
date.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;

Eff. January 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; October 1,
2009; August 1, 2004; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1991; January 1,
1985;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; August 1, 2019.

12 NCAC 09B .0410 CRIMINAL JUSTICE
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING COURSE

(@ To successfully complete the "Criminal Justice Instructor
Training Course" the trainee shall:

1) complete all of the required course work
pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0209. All trainee
presentations shall have met the criteria and
conditions specified in the course orientation of
the "Instructor Training Manual™ as published
by the North Carolina Justice Academy; and

(2) attain the passing score on each performance
area as specified in the course abstract of the

"Instructor Manual" for the final written lesson
plan and final 70-minute presentation.
(b) Should atrainee fail to meet the minimum criteria on the final
lesson plan or the final 70-minute presentation, he or she shall be
authorized one opportunity to correct either of these deficiencies
by the end of the course.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Eff. January 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; January 1, 1995; February 1,
1987;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021.

12 NCAC 09G .0302 NOTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL
CHARGES/CONVICTIONS

(a) Every person employed and certified as a correctional officer
or probation/parole officer shall make the following notifications:

@ within 30 days of the qualifying event notify the
Standards Division and the appointing
department head in writing of all criminal
offenses for which the officer is charged or
arrested,

2 within 30 days of the qualifying event notify the
Standards Division and the appointing
department head in writing of all criminal
offenses for which the officer pleads no contest,
pleads guilty, or of which the officer is found
guilty. This shall include traffic offenses
identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual
and offenses of driving under the influence
(DUI) or driving while impaired (DW]1);

3 within 30 days of service, officers shall notify
the Standards Division of all Domestic
Violence Protective Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil
No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are issued
by a judicial official against the officer;

(b) The Department Head shall make the following notifications:

1) within 30 days of the date the case was disposed
of in court, the department head, provided he or
she has knowledge of the officer's arrests or
criminal charges and final dispositions, shall
also notify the Standards Division of arrests or
criminal charges and final disposition; and

2 within 30 days of the issuance of a Domestic
Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) and
Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C), the
department head, provided he or she has
knowledge of the order, shall also notify the
Standards Division of these orders.

(c) The required natifications in this Rule shall be in writing and
shall specify the nature of the offense or order, the

court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest,
criminal charge, or service of the order, and the final

disposition. The notification shall include a certified copy of the
order or court documentation and final disposition

from the Clerk of Court in the county of adjudication. The
requirements of this subparagraph shall be applicable at
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all times during which the officer is employed and certified by the ?3)
Commission and shall also apply to all applicants
for certification. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single
notification, from the officer or the department head,
shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this Rule.
(4)
History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
Eff. August 1, 2002;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2004; (5)
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

12 NCAC 09G .0307 CERTIFICATION OF
INSTRUCTORS

(@ A person participating in a Commission-accredited
corrections training course or program as an instructor, teacher,
professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to
the class shall first be certified by the Commission as an
instructor.

(b) The Commission shall certify instructors under the following
categories: General Instructor Certification, Specialized
Instructor Certification or Professional Lecturer Certification as
outlined in Rules .0308, .0310, and .0311 of this Section.
Instructor certification shall be granted on the basis of
documented qualifications of experience, education, and training
in accord with the requirements of this Section and as stated on
the applicant's Request for Instructor Certification Form.

(c) In addition to all other requirements of this Section each
instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a Commission-
certified course shall remain competent in his or her specific or
specialty areas. Such competence includes remaining current in
the instructor's area of expertise, which may be demonstrated by
attending and completing any instructor all updated instructor (6)
training courses required by the Commission.

(d) If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is
found to have knowingly and willfully violated any provision or
requirement of the rules in this Subchapter, the Commission shall
take action to correct the violation and to ensure that the violation
does not recur, including:

(1) issuing an oral warning and request for
compliance;

2 issuing a written warning and request for
compliance;

3 issuing an official written reprimand,;

(@) suspending the individual's certification for a

specified period of time or until acceptable
corrective action is taken by the individual; or
(5) revoking the individual's certification.
(e) The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's
certification when the Commission finds that the person:

1) has failed to meet and maintain any of the
requirements for qualification;
2 has failed to remain currently knowledgeable in

the person's areas of expertise by failing to
attend trainings as required by the rules in this
Chapter;

has failed to deliver training in a manner

consistent with the instructor lesson plans

outlined in the "Basic Instructor Training

Manual" as found in Rule .0414 of this

Subchapter;

has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined

in the basic corrections officers' training

manual set out in Rules .0411 through .0416 of
this Subchapter;

has demonstrated unprofessional personal

conduct in the delivery of Commission

approved or mandated training. For the
purposes of this Subparagraph "unprofessional
personal conduct™ is identified as:

(A) job-related conduct that constitutes a
violation of state or federal law;

(B) conviction or commission of a
criminal offense as set out in Rule
.0504 of this Subchapter;

© the willful violation of rules of this
Chapter;

(D) conduct that is detrimental to
instruction in the Commission's
mandated courses. For purposes of this
Chapter, conduct is "detrimental to
instruction” if the conduct is
demeaning or disruptive to the
learning environment;

(E) the physical or verbal abuse of a client
or student who the instructor is
teaching or supervising; or

R falsification ~ of an  instructor
application or other employment
documentation;

is an instructor, School Director, or Qualified

Assistant and is involved in the instruction of

(for instructors) or oversight of (for School

Directors and Qualified Assistants) a student

with whom the instructor, School Director, or

Qualified Assistant has a close personal

relationship such as, familial, financial, dating,

or sexual even if consensual; and fails to take
immediate and appropriate corrective action.

Appropriate corrective action requires the

instructor, School Director, or Qualified

Assistant to notify his or her managing

personnel in writing of the relationship and

requires the instructor, School Director, or

Qualified Assistant to stop instructing or

overseeing the student with whom the

relationship exists and

(A) the written notice to managing
personnel shall include:

) school/agency name;

(i) name of course;

(iii) name of the instructor,
School Director, or Qualified
Assistant;

(iv) name of student;
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(v) name of managing peronnel;
and
(vi) nature of the relationship;
(B) the  written notice from the

school/agency managing personnel to
the Standards Division shall be
submitted within 10 days of receipt of
notice from the instructor, School
Director, or Qualified Assistant and

shall include:

M school/agency name;

(i) name of course;

(iii) name of the instructor,
School Director, or Qualified
Assistant;

(iv) name of student;

(V) name of managing personnel;

(vi) nature of the relationship;
and

(vii) explanation of action taken to
ensure the named instructor,
School Director, or Qualified
Assistant is not in violation

of this Rule;
@) has demonstrated instructional incompetence;
(8) has knowingly and willfully obtained, or

attempted to obtain instructor certification by
deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation;

(9) has failed to meet or maintain good moral
character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1,
215 S.E.2d 771, appeal dismissed, 423 U.S. 976
(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d
854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.
2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License,
143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re
Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924);
State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647
(1983); and later court decisions that cite these
cases as authority, and as required to discharge
the duties of a criminal justice instructor;

(10) has committed or been convicted of an offense
that could result in the denial, suspension, or
revocation of an officers certification pursuant
to Rules .0204 or .0504 of this Subchapter;

(1) has knowingly made a material
misrepresentation of any information required
for certification or accreditation.

(f) When a person certified as an officer by the North Carolina
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
(Commission), the North Carolina Sheriffs Education and
Training Standards Commission (Sheriffs' Commission), the
North Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of State Fire
Marshal, Fire Rescue Commission (Fire Commission), Office of
Emergency Medical Services and the North Carolina
Company/Campus Police Program; or a similar North Carolina,
out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing agency
has been denied certification or had his or her certification
suspended or revoked by their respective Commission or agency
the officer shall report the suspension or revocation to the

Criminal Justice Standards Division within five days. The General
Instructor certification shall be (if applicable) suspended or
revoked for the same time period as their respective Commission
in accordance with the following:

1) this suspension or revocation of the General
Instructor certification shall also include
suspension or revocation to any Commission
recognized specialized or additional instructor
certification, as outlined in Rule .0310 of this
Section;

2 if the term of suspension or revocation exceeds
the expiration date of the instructor's initial
certification expiration date, they shall forfeit
their certifications as a General Instructor and
Specialized Instructor and shall be required to
obtain  certification  pursuant to the
requirements of Rule .0304 of this Section
before any instruction may be delivered in any
Commission-approved or mandated training,
including the completion of a subsequent
General Instructor's training course in its
entirety; and

©) if the term of suspension or revocation does not
exceed the expiration date of the instructor's
initial certification expiration date, the
instructor shall be reinstated as a General
Instructor only upon reinstatement of his or her
law enforcement officer certification by the
Commission. The terms of renewal for the
existing General Instructor and Specialized
Instructor certifications shall remain subject to
all renewal requirements pursuant to Rule
.0309(c) of this Section by the next expiration
date.

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; August 1, 2019.

12 NCAC 09G .0313
TRAINING COURSE
(a) To successfully complete Corrections Instructor Training, the
trainee shall:

(8] complete all of the required course work
pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0209. All trainee
presentations shall have met the criteria and
conditions specified in the course orientation of
the "Instructor Training Manual", as published
by the North Carolina Justice Academy; and

2) attain the passing score on each performance
area as specified in the course abstract of
Instructor Training Manual for the final written
lesson plan and final 70-minute presentation.

(b) If a trainee fails to meet the minimum criteria on the final
lesson plan or the final 70-minute presentation, he or she shall be

CORRECTIONS INSTRUCTOR

35:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 2, 2020




APPROVED RULES

authorized one opportunity to correct either of these deficiencies
by the end of the course.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. January 1, 2018; August 1, 2002;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021.

12 NCAC 09G .0414 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING
(@) The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor
certification shall consist of a minimum of 90 hours of instruction
as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0209(c) to be completed within 15
business days.
(b) Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide
the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions
of a criminal justice instructor.
(c) The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the basic curriculum
for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be
inspected at the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the
North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018;
January 1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021.

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1307 Eff. July 1,
2015;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .1304 INVESTIGATION FOR
UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD
REGISTRATION

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5;

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1404 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .1404 INVESTIGATION/ARMED
ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM
REGISTRATION PERMIT

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-13;

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1504 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2020.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

14B NCAC 16 .1001 DEFINITIONS

14B NCAC 16 .1002 PETITION FOR
HEARING/APPLICATION FOR RELIEF

14B NCAC 16 .1003 PROCESSING APPLICATIONS

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1989;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1001-.1003 Eff.
July 1, 2015;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-31;

14B NCAC 16 .1207 CREDIT FOR CE COURSES

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-4; 74C-5; 74C-22;
Eff. February 1, 2010;

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

15A NCAC 02D .0530
DETERIORATION
(a) The purpose of the Rule is to implement a program for the
prevention of significant deterioration of air quality as required by
40 CFR 51.166. The minimum requirements described in the
portions of 40 CFR 51.166 are hereby adopted as requirements
under this Rule, except as otherwise provided in this Rule.
Wherever the language of the portions of 40 CFR 51.166 adopted
in this Rule speaks of the "plan," the requirements described
therein shall apply to the source to which they pertain, except as
otherwise provided in this Rule. Whenever the portions of 40 CFR
51.166 adopted in this Rule provide that the State plan may
exempt or not apply certain requirements in certain
circumstances, those exemptions and provisions of non-
applicability are also hereby adopted under this Rule. However,
this provision shall not be interpreted so as to limit information
that may be requested from the owner or operator by the Director
as specified in 40 CFR 51.166(n)(2).

(b) For the purposes of this Rule, the definitions contained in 40
CFR 51.166(b) and 40 CFR 51.301 shall apply, except the
following:

@ "Baseline actual emissions" means the rate of
emissions, in tons per year, of a regulated new
source review (NSR) pollutant, as determined
in accordance with Parts (A) through (C) of this
Subparagraph:

(A) For an existing emissions unit,
baseline actual emissions means the
average rate, in tons per year, at which
the emissions unit actually emitted the
pollutant during any consecutive 24-

PREVENTION OF SIGNIFICANT
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month period selected by the owner or
operator within the five year period
immediately preceding the date that a
complete permit application is
received by the Division for a permit
required under this Rule. The Director
shall allow a different time period, not
to exceed 10 years immediately
preceding the date that a complete
permit application is received by the
Division, if the owner or operator
demonstrates that it is more
representative of normal source
operation. For the purpose of
determining baseline actual emissions,
the following apply:

(i) The average rate shall
include fugitive emissions to
the extent quantifiable and
emissions associated with
startups, shutdowns, and
malfunctions;

(i) The average rate shall be
adjusted  downward to
exclude any non-compliant
emissions  that occurred
while the source was
operating above any
emission limitation that was
legally enforceable during
the consecutive 24-month
period;

(iii) For an existing emission unit
(other than an electric utility
steam generating unit), the
average rate shall be adjusted
downward to exclude any
emissions that would have
exceeded an  emission
limitation with which the
major stationary source must
currently comply. However,
if the State has taken credit in
an attainment demonstration
or maintenance plan
consistent with the
requirements of 40 CFR
51.165(a)(3)(ii))(G) for an
emission limitation that is
part of a  maximum
achievable control
technology standard that the
Administrator proposed or
promulgated under Part 63 in
Title 40 of the Code of
Federal Regulations, the
baseline actual emissions
shall be adjusted to account
for such emission reductions;

(iv) For an electric utility steam
generating unit, the average
rate  shall be adjusted
downward to reflect any
emissions reductions under
G.S. 143-215.107D and for
which cost recovery is sought
pursuant to G.S. 62-133.6;

(v) For a regulated NSR
pollutant, if a project
involves multiple emissions
units, only one consecutive
24-month period shall be
used to determine the
baseline actual emissions for
all the emissions units being
changed. A different
consecutive 24-month period
for each regulated NSR
pollutant may be used for
each regulated NSR
pollutant; and

(vi) The average rate shall not be
based on any consecutive 24-
month period for which there
is inadequate information for
determining annual
emissions, in tons per year,
and for adjusting this amount
if required by Subparts (ii)
and (iii) of this Part;

(B) For a new emissions unit, the baseline
actual emissions for purposes of
determining the emissions increase
that will result from the initial
construction and operation of such
unit shall equal zero and thereafter, for
all other purposes, shall equal the
unit's potential to emit; and

© For a plantwide applicability limit
(PAL) for a stationary source, the
baseline actual emissions shall be
calculated for existing emissions units
in accordance with the procedures
contained in Part (A) of this
Subparagraph and, for a new
emissions unit, in accordance with the
procedures contained in Part (B) of
this Subparagraph;

2) In the definition of "net emissions increase," the
reasonable period specified in 40 CFR
51.166(b)(3)(ii) shall be seven years;

?3) The limitation specified in 40 CFR
51.166(b)(15)(ii) shall not apply;

(@) PM2.5 significant levels set forth in 40 CFR
51.166(b)(23)(i) are incorporated by reference.
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) and nitrogen oxides (NOy)
are precursors to PM2.5 in all attainment and
unclassifiable  areas.  Volatile  organic
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compounds are not significant precursors to
PM2.5; and
(5) In 40 CFR 51.166(b)(49)(i)(a), starting January
1, 2011, in addition to PM10 and PM2.5, for
particulate  matter  (PM), condensable
particulate matter shall be accounted for in
applicability determinations and in establishing
emissions limitations for each of these
regulated NSR pollutants in PSD permits.
(c) All areas of the State are classified as Class I, except the
following areas, which are designated as Class I:
1) Great Smoky Mountains National Park;
2 Joyce Kilmer Slickrock National Wilderness
Area;
(3) Linville Gorge National Wilderness Area;
4) Shining Rock National Wilderness Area; and
(5) Swanquarter National Wilderness Area.
(d) Redesignations of areas to Class | or I may be submitted as
state proposals to the Administrator of the Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) if the requirements of 40 CFR
51.166(g)(2) are met. Areas may be proposed to be redesignated
as Class Il if the requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(g)(3) are met.
Redesignations may not, however, be proposed which would
violate the restrictions of 40 CFR 51.166(e). Lands within the
boundaries of Indian Reservations may be redesignated only by
the appropriate Indian Governing Body.
(e) In areas designated as Class I, Il, or I1l, increases in pollutant
concentration over the baseline concentration shall be limited to
the values set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(c). However, concentration
of the pollutant shall not exceed standards set forth in 40 CFR
51.166(d).
(f) Concentrations attributable to the conditions described in 40
CFR 51.166(f)(1) shall be excluded in determining compliance
with a maximum allowable increase. However, the exclusions
referred to in 40 CFR 51.166(f)(1)(i) or (ii) shall be limited to five
years as described in 40 CFR 51.166(f)(2).
(o) Major stationary sources and major modifications shall
comply with the requirements contained in 40 CFR 51.166 (a)(7)
and (i) and in 40 CFR 51.166(j) through (r) and (w). The transition
provisions allowed by 40 CFR 52.21(i)(11)(i) and (ii) and
(m)(1)(vii) and (viii) are hereby adopted under this Rule.
(h) New natural gas-fired electrical utility generating units for
which cost recovery is sought pursuant to G.S. 62-133.6 shall
install best available control technology for NOx and SOg,
regardless of the applicability of the rest of this Rule.
(i) For the purposes of this Rule, 40 CFR 51.166(w)(10)(iv)(a)
shall read: "If the emissions level calculated in accordance with
Paragraph (w)(6) of this Section is equal to or greater than 80
percent of the PAL level, the Director shall renew the PAL at the
same level." 40 CFR 51.166(w)(10)(iv)(b) is not incorporated by
reference.
(1) 15A NCAC 02Q .0102 shall not be applicable to any source
to which this Rule applies. The owner or operator of the sources
to which this Rule applies shall apply for and receive a permit as
required in 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500.
(k) When a particular source or modification becomes a major
stationary source or major modification solely by virtue of a
relaxation in any enforceable limitation which was established
after August 7, 1980, on the capacity of the source or modification

to emit a pollutant, such as a restriction on hours of operation, then
the provisions of this Rule shall apply to the source or
modification as though construction had not yet begun on the
source or modification.

(I) For the purposes of this Rule, the provisions of 40 CFR
52.21(r)(2) regarding the period of validity of approval to
construct are incorporated by reference except that the term
"Administrator” shall be replaced with "Director".

(m) Volatile organic compounds exempted from coverage in 40
CFR 51.100(s) shall be exempted when calculating source
applicability and control requirements under this Rule.

(n) The degree of emission limitation required for control of any
air pollutant under this Rule shall not be affected by:

(D) that amount of a stack height, not in existence
before December 31, 1970, that exceeds good
engineering practice; or

2 any other dispersion technique not
implemented before December 31, 1970.

(0) A substitution or modification of a model as provided in 40
CFR 51.166(l) is subject to public comment procedures in
accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 51.102.

(p) Permits may be issued on the basis of innovative control
technology as set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(s)(1) if the requirements
of 40 CFR 51.166(s)(2) have been met, subject to the condition of
40 CFR 51.166(s)(3), and with the allowance set forth in 40 CFR
51.166(s)(4).

(g) If a source to which this Rule applies impacts an area
designated Class | by requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(e), notice
to EPA shall be provided as set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(p)(1). If
the Federal Land Manager presents a demonstration described in
40 CFR 51.166(p)(3) during the public comment period or public
hearing to the Director and if the Director concurs with this
demonstration, the permit application shall be denied. Permits
may be issued on the basis that the requirements for variances as
set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(p)(4), (p)(5) and (p)(7), or (p)(6) and
(p)(7) have been satisfied.

() A permit application subject to this Rule shall be processed in
accordance with the procedures and requirements of 40 CFR
51.166(q). Within 30 days of receipt of the application, applicants
shall be notified if the application is complete as to the initial
information submitted. Commencement of construction before
full prevention of significant deterioration approval is obtained
shall constitute a violation of this Rule.

(s) Approval of an application with regard to the requirements of
this Rule shall not relieve the owner or operator of the
responsibility to comply with applicable provisions of other rules
of this Subchapter, Subchapter 02Q of this Title, or any other
requirements under local, state, or federal law.

(t) When a source or modification is subject to this Rule the
following procedures apply:

1) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this
Paragraph, the Director shall, no later than 60
days after receipt of an application, notify the
Federal Land Manager with the U.S.
Department of Interior and U.S. Department of
Agriculture of an application from a source or
modification subject to this Rule;

2 If a source or modification may affect visibility
of a Class | area, the Director shall provide
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written notification to all affected Federal Land
Managers within 30 days of receiving the
permit application or within 30 days of
receiving advance notification of an
application. The notification shall be given at
least 30 days prior to the publication of notice
for public comment on the application. The
notification shall include a copy of all
information relevant to the permit application,
including an analysis provided by the source of
the potential impact of the proposed source on
visibility;

3) The Director shall consider any analysis
concerning visibility impairment performed by
the Federal Land Manager if the analysis is
received within 30 days of notification. If the
Director finds that the analysis of the Federal
Land Manager fails to demonstrate that an
adverse impact on visibility will result in the
Class | area, the Director shall follow the public
hearing process described in 40 CFR
51.307(a)(3) on the application and include an
explanation of the Director's decision or notice
as to where the explanation can be obtained;
and

(@) The Director may require monitoring of
visibility in or around any Class | area by the
proposed new source or modification if the
visibility impact analysis indicates possible
visibility impairment, pursuant to 40 CFR
51.307.

(W In lieu of the requirements in 40 CFR 51.166(r)(6) and (7),
this Paragraph shall apply. If the owner or operator of a source is
using projected actual emissions to determine applicability with
prevention of significant deterioration requirements, the owner or
operator shall notify the Director of the modification before
beginning actual construction. The notification shall include:

1) a description of the project;

(2) identification of sources whose emissions could
be affected by the project;

3) the calculated projected actual emissions and an
explanation of how the projected actual
emissions  were  calculated, including

identification of emissions excluded by 40 CFR
51.166(b)(40)(ii)(c);

(@) the calculated baseline actual emissions in
Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule and an
explanation of how the baseline actual
emissions were calculated; and

(5) any netting calculations, if applicable.

If, upon reviewing the notification, the Director finds that the
project will require a prevention of significant deterioration
evaluation, the Director shall notify the owner or operator of his
or her findings and the owner or operator shall not make the
modification until a prevention of significant deterioration permit
has been issued pursuant to this Rule. If the Director finds that the
project will not require a prevention of significant deterioration
evaluation and the projected actual emissions, calculated pursuant
to 40 CFR 51.166(b)(40)(ii)(@) and (b), minus baseline actual

emissions, is 50 percent or greater of the amount that is a
significant emissions increase, without reference to the amount
that is a significant net emissions increase, for the regulated NSR
pollutant, then the Director shall require a permit application to
include a permit condition for monitoring, recordkeeping and
reporting of the annual emissions related to the project in tons per
year, for 10 years following resumption of regular operations after
the change if the project involves increasing the emissions unit's
design capacity or its potential to emit for the regulated NSR
pollutant; otherwise, these records shall be maintained for five
years following resumption of regular operations after the change.
The owner or operator shall submit a report to the Director within
60 days after the end of each year during which these records must
be generated. The report shall contain the items listed in 40 CFR
51.166(r)(6)(v)(a) through (c). The owner or operator shall make
the information documented and maintained under this Paragraph
available to the Director and the general public, pursuant to the
requirements in 40 CFR 70.4(b)(3)(viii). The monitoring,
recordkeeping and reporting requirements in this Paragraph shall
not apply if the projected actual emissions, calculated pursuant to
40 CFR 51.166(b)(40)(ii)(a) and (b), minus the baseline actual
emissions is less than 50 percent of the amount that is a significant
emissions increase, without reference to the amount that is a
significant net emissions increase, for the regulated NSR
pollutant.

(v) Portions of the regulations in the Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR) that are referred to in this Rule are incorporated by
reference unless a specific reference states otherwise. The version
of the CFR incorporated in this Rule, with respect to 40 CFR
51.166, is that a of July 1, 2019 at
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2019-title40-
vol2/pdf/CFR-2019-title40-vol2-sec51-166.pdf and does not
include any subsequent amendments or editions. Federal
regulations referenced in 40 CFR 51.166 shall include subsequent
amendments and editions. The publication may be accessed free
of charge.

History Note:
215.107(a)(3);
215.108(b);
Eff. June 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1992; August 1, 1991; October 1,
1989; July 1, 1988; October 1, 1987; June 1, 1985; January 1,
1985; February 1, 1983;

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 8, 1994, for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule is effective, whichever is sooner;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2017; September 1, 2013; January 2,
2011; September 1, 2010; May 1, 2008; July 28, 2006; July 1,
1997; February 1, 1995; July 1, 1994;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority  G.S.
143-215.107(a)(5);

143-215.3(a)(1);  143-
143-215.107(a)(7); 143-

15A NCAC 02D .0932 GASOLINE CARGO TANKS
AND VAPOR COLLECTION SYSTEMS
(a) For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply:
@ "Bottom filling" means the filling of a cargo
tank or stationary storage tank through an
opening flush with the tank bottom.
2 "Bulk gasoline plant" means a gasoline storage
and distribution facility with an average daily
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throughput of less than 20,000 gallons of QD Gasoline cargo tanks and their vapor collection
gasoline and that typically receives gasoline systems shall be tested annually by a cargo tank
from bulk terminals by trailer transport, stores testing facility. The facility shall follow the test
it in tanks, and subsequently dispenses it via procedure as defined by 15A NCAC 02D .2615
account cargo tanks to local farms, businesses, to certify the gasoline cargo tank leak tight. The
and service stations. gasoline cargo tank shall not be used unless it is
3) "Bulk gasoline terminal™ means: certified leak tight.
(A) a pipeline breakout station of an 2 Each gasoline cargo tank that has been certified
interstate oil pipeline facility; or leak tight according to Subparagraph (1) of this
(B) a gasoline storage facility that Paragraph shall display a sticker near the
typically receives gasoline from Department of Transportation certification
refineries primarily by pipeline, ship, plate required by 49 CFR 180.415.
or barge; delivers gasoline to bulk ?3) There shall be no liquid leaks from any gasoline
gasoline plants or to commercial or cargo tank.
retail accounts primarily by cargo 4 Any cargo tank with a leak equal to or greater
tank; and has an average daily than 100 percent of the lower explosive limit,
throughput of more than 20,000 as detected by a combustible gas detector using
gallons of gasoline. the test procedure described in 15A NCAC 02D

4) "Cargo tank" means the storage vessels of .2615 shall not be used beyond 15 days after the
freight trucks or trailers used to transport leak has been discovered, unless the leak has
gasoline from sources of supply to stationary been repaired and the cargo tank has been
storage tanks of bulk gasoline terminals, bulk certified to be leak tight according to
gasoline plants, gasoline dispensing facilities, Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph.
and gasoline service stations. 5) The owner or operator of a gasoline cargo tank

(5) "Cargo tank testing facility" means any facility with a vapor collection system shall maintain
complying with registration in 49 CFR Part records of all leak testing and repairs. The
107, Subpart F. records shall identify the gasoline cargo tank,

(6) "Cargo tank vapor collection equipment" the date of the test or repair, and, if applicable,
means any piping, hoses, and devices on the the type of repair and the date of retest. The
cargo tank used to collect and route gasoline records of leak tests shall include:
vapors in the tank to or from the bulk gasoline (A) the name, address, and telephone
terminal, bulk gasoline plant, gasoline number of cargo tank testing facility
dispensing facility, or gasoline service station performing the leak test;
vapor control system or vapor balance system. (B) the name and signature of the

@) "Gasoline” means any petroleum distillate individual performing the leak test;
having a Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) of 4.0 psi © the name and address of the owner of
or greater. the tank;

(8) "Gasoline dispensing facility" means any site (D) the identification number of the tank;
where gasoline is dispensed to motor vehicle (BE) the documentation of tests performed
gasoline tanks from stationary storage tanks. including the date and summary of

9) "Gasoline service station" means any gasoline results;
dispensing facility where gasoline is sold to the (P the continued qualification statement
motoring public from stationary storage tanks. and returned to service status; and

(10) "Vapor balance system" means a combination (G) a list or description of identified
of pipes or hoses that create a closed system corrective repairs to the tank. If none
between the vapor spaces of an unloading tank are performed then the report shall
and a receiving tank such that vapors displaced state "no corrective repairs
from the receiving tank are transferred to the performed.”
tank being unloaded. (6) A copy of the most recent leak testing report

(112) "Vapor collection system" means a vapor shall be kept with the cargo tank. The owner or
balance system or any other system used to operator of the cargo tank shall also file a copy
collect and control emissions of volatile organic of the most recent leak testing report with each
compounds. bulk gasoline terminal that loads the cargo tank.

(b) This Rule applies to gasoline cargo tanks that are equipped The records shall be maintained for at least two
for vapor collection and to vapor control systems at bulk gasoline years after the date of the testing or repair, and
terminals, bulk gasoline plants, gasoline dispensing facilities, and copies of such records shall be made available
gasoline service stations equipped with vapor balance or vapor within a reasonable time to the Director upon
control systems. written request.

(c) For cargo tanks, the following requirements shall apply:
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(d) For bulk gasoline terminals and bulk gasoline plants equipped
with vapor balance or vapor control systems, the following
requirements shall apply:

(1) The vapor collection system and vapor control
system shall be designed and operated to
prevent gauge pressure in the cargo tank from
exceeding 18 inches of water and to prevent a
vacuum of greater than six inches of water.

2 During loading and unloading operations there
shall be:

(A) no vapor leakage from the vapor
collection system such that a reading
equal to or greater than 100 percent of
the lower explosive limit at one inch
around the perimeter of each potential
leak source as detected by a
combustible gas detector using the test
procedure described in 15A NCAC
02D .2615; and

(B) no liquid leaks.

3 If a leak is discovered that exceeds the limit in
Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph:

(A) For bulk gasoline plants, the vapor
collection system or vapor control
system shall not be used beyond 15
days after the leak has been
discovered, unless the leak has been
repaired and the system has been
retested and found to comply with
Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph;

(B) For bulk gasoline terminals, the vapor
collection system or vapor control
system shall be repaired following the
procedures in 15A NCAC 02D .0927.

(@) The owner or operator of a vapor collection
system at a bulk gasoline plant or a bulk
gasoline terminal shall test, according to 15A
NCAC 02D .0912, the vapor collection system
at least once per year. If after two complete
annual checks no more than 10 leaks are found,
the Director shall allow less frequent
monitoring. If more than 20 leaks are found, the
Director shall require the frequency of
monitoring be increased.

(5) The owner or operator of vapor control systems
at bulk gasoline terminals, bulk gasoline plants,
gasoline dispensing facilities, and gasoline
service stations equipped with vapor balance or
vapor control systems shall maintain records of
all certification testing and repairs. The records
shall identify each vapor collection system, or
vapor control system; the date of the test or
repair; and, if applicable, the type of repair and
the date of retest.

History Note:
215.107(a)(5);
Eff. July 1, 1980;

Authority  G.S.  143-215.3(a)(1);  143-

Amended Eff. August 1, 2008; June 1, 2008; January 1, 2007;
April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1994; December 1, 1989;
January 1, 1985;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .0960
REPORT

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this Rule is to establish procedures
for cargo tank testing facilities to perform leak tightness tests on
gasoline cargo tanks as defined in 15A NCAC 02D .0932.

(b) Leak testing report. The certified facility performing the test
shall give a copy of the leak testing report to the cargo tank owner
and shall retain a copy of the leak testing report. The leak testing
report shall contain the following information:

CARGO TANK LEAK TESTER

1) the name, address, and telephone number of
cargo tank testing facility performing the leak
test;

2 the name and signature of the individual
performing the leak test;

3 the name and address of the owner of the tank;

4) the identification number of the tank;

5) documentation of tests performed including the
date and summary or results;

(6) continued qualification statement and returned
to service status; and

) a list or description of identified corrective

repairs to the tank. If none are performed then
the report shall state "no corrective repairs
performed.”
(c) Record retention. The cargo tank testing facility performing
the test and the owner of the cargo tank shall keep the leak testing
report for at least two years. Leak testing reports shall be made
available to the Division upon request.
(d) Verification of leak tightness. The Division may use Method
21 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 to verify the leak tightness
of a tank.

History Note:  Authority  G.S.
215.107(a)(5), (13);

Eff. April 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007,
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

143-215.3(a)(1);  143-

15A NCAC 02D .1401 DEFINITIONS
(a) For the purpose of this Section, in addition to the definitions
in G.S. 143-212, G.S. 143-213, and 15A NCAC 02D .0101, the
following definitions shall apply. If a term in this Rule is also
defined at 15A NCAC 02D .0101, then the definition in this Rule
controls.
1) "Acid Rain Program" means the federal
program for the reduction of acid rain including
40 CFR Parts 72, 75, 76, and 77.
2) "Actual emissions" means for 15A NCAC 02D
.1418, emissions of NOx as measured and
calculated pursuant to 40 CFR Part 75, Subpart
H.
3 "Actual heat input" means for 15A NCAC 02D
.1418, heat input as measured and calculated
pursuant to 40 CFR Part 75, Subpart H.

35:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 2, 2020




APPROVED RULES

(4)

()

(6)

(")

(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

"Averaging set of sources" means all the
stationary sources included in an emissions
averaging plan pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D
.1410.
"Averaging source" means a stationary source
that is included in an emissions averaging plan
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1410.
"Boiler" means an enclosed fossil or other fuel-
fired combustion device used to produce heat
and to transfer heat to recirculating water,
steam, or other medium.
"Combined cycle system"™ means a system
consisting of one or more combustion turbines,
heat recovery steam generators, and steam
turbines configured to improve overall
efficiency of electricity generation or steam
production.

"Combustion turbine™ means an enclosed fossil

or other fuel-fired device that is comprised of a

compressor, a combustor, and a turbine, and in

which the flue gas resulting from the
combustion of fuel in the combustor passes
through the turbine, rotating the turbine.

"Diesel engine” means a compression ignited

two- or four-stroke engine in which liquid fuel

injected into the combustion chamber ignites

when the air charge has been compressed to a

temperature sufficiently high for auto-ignition.

"Dual fuel engine"” means a compression

ignited stationary internal combustion engine

that is burning liquid fuel and gaseous fuel
simultaneously.

"Emergency generator" means a stationary

internal combustion engine used to generate

electricity only during:

(A) the loss of primary power at the
facility that is beyond the control of
the owner or operator of the facility; or

(B) maintenance when maintenance is
being performed on the power supply
to equipment that is essential in
protecting the environment or to such
equipment itself.

An emergency generator may be operated
periodically to ensure that it will
operate.

"Emergency use internal combustion engines"

means stationary internal combustion engines

used to drive pumps, aerators, and other
equipment only during:

(A) the loss of primary power at the
facility that is beyond the control of
the owner or operator of the facility; or

(B) maintenance when maintenance is
being performed on the power supply
to equipment that is essential in
protecting the environment or to such
equipment itself.

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

An emergency use internal combustion engine
may be operated periodically to ensure that it
will operate.

"Excess emissions" means an emission rate that

exceeds the applicable limitation or standard;

for the purposes of this definition, NOx emitted

by a source regulated by 15A NCAC 02D .1418

during the ozone season above its allocation are

not considered excess emissions.

"Fossil fuel fired" means:

(A) For sources that began operation
before January 1, 1996, where fossil
fuel combusted either alone or in
combination with any other fuel,
comprises more than 50 percent of the
annual heat input on a Btu basis during
1995, or, if a source had no heat input
in 1995, during the last year of
operation of the unit before 1995;

(B) For sources that began operation on or
after January 1, 1996 and before
January 1, 1997, where fossil fuel
combusted either alone or in
combination with any other fuel,
comprises more than 50 percent of the
annual heat input on a Btu basis during
1996; or

© For sources that began operation on or
after January 1, 1997:

(i) Where fossil fuel combusted
either alone or in
combination with any other
fuel, comprises more than 50
percent of the annual heat
input on a Btu basis during

any year; or
(i) Where fossil fuel combusted
either alone or in

combination with any other
fuel, is projected to comprise
more than 50 percent of the
annual heat input on a Btu
basis during any year,
provided that the unit shall be
"fossil fuel-fired" as of the
date, during such year, on
which the source begins
combusting fossil fuel.
"Indirect-fired process heater" means an
enclosed device using controlled flame where
the device's primary purpose is to transfer heat
by indirect heat exchange to a process fluid, a
process material that is not a fluid, or a heat
transfer material, instead of steam, for use in a
process.
"Lean-burn internal combustion engine" means
a spark ignition internal combustion engine
originally designed and manufactured to
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(17)
(18)

(19)

(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

(26)

(27)

(28)

operate with an exhaust oxygen concentration
greater than one percent.

"NOX" means nitrogen oxides.

"Ozone season™ means the period beginning
May 31 and ending September 30 for 2004 and
beginning May 1 and ending September 30 for
all other years.

"Potential emissions” means the quantity of
NOx that would be emitted at the maximum
capacity of a stationary source to emit NOXx
under its physical and operational design. Any
physical or operational limitation on the
capacity of the source to emit NOx shall be
treated as a part of its design if the limitation is
federally enforceable. Such physical or
operational limitations include air pollution
control equipment and restrictions on hours of
operation or on the type or amount of material
combusted, stored, or processed.

"Projected seasonal energy input" means the
maximum design heat input per hour times
3300 hours.

"Projected seasonal energy output” means the
maximum design energy output per hour times
3300 hours.

"Reasonable assurance” means a demonstration
to the Director that a method, procedure, or
technique is possible and practical for a source
or facility under the expected operating
conditions.

"Reasonably Available Control Technology" or
"RACT" means the lowest emission limitation
for NOx that a particular source can meet by the
application of control technology that is
reasonably available considering technological
and economic feasibility.

"Reasonable effort” means the proper
installation of technology designed to meet the
requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .1407, .1408,
or .1409 and the utilization of this technology
according to the manufacturer's
recommendations or other similar guidance for
not less than six months, in an effort to meet the
applicable limitation for a source.

"Rich-burn internal combustion engine™ means
a spark ignition internal combustion engine
originally designed and manufactured to
operate with an exhaust oxygen concentration
less than or equal to one percent.

"Seasonal energy input" means the total energy
input of a combustion source during the period
beginning May 1 and ending September 30.
"Seasonal energy output" means the total
energy output of a combustion source during
the period beginning May 1 and ending
September 30.

"Shutdown" means the cessation of operation of
a source or its emission control equipment.

(29) "Source" means a stationary boiler, combustion
turbine, combined cycle system, reciprocating
internal combustion engine, indirect-fired
process heater, or a stationary article, machine,
process equipment, or other contrivance, or
combination thereof, from which NOx emanate
or are emitted.

(30) "Startup" means the commencement of
operation of any source that has shutdown or
ceased operation for a period sufficient to cause
temperature, pressure, process, chemical, or
pollution control device imbalance that would
result in excess emissions.

(31) "Stationary internal combustion engine" means
a reciprocating internal combustion engine that
is not self-propelled; however, it may be
mounted on a vehicle for portability.

(b) Whenever reference is made to the Code of Federal
Regulations in this Section, the definitions in the Code of Federal
Regulations shall apply unless specifically stated otherwise in a
particular rule in this Section.

History Note: Authority  G.S.  143-215.3(a)(1);  143-
215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(7); 143-215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. July 18, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15ANCAC 02D .1402  APPLICABILITY
(&) The rules in this Section do not apply except as specifically
set out in this Rule.
(b) The requirements of this Section apply to all sources May 1
through September 30 of each year.
(c) Rules 15A NCAC 02D .1409(c), .1418 and .1423 apply
Statewide.
(d) Rules 15A NCAC 02D .1407 through .1409(b) and .1413
apply to facilities with potential emissions of NOx greater than or
equal to 100 tons per year or 560 pounds per calendar day
beginning May 1 through September 30 of any year in the
following areas:

@ Cabarrus County;

2 Gaston County;

3) Lincoln County;

4) Mecklenburg County;

5) Rowan County;

(6) Union County; and

@) Davidson Township and Coddle

Township in Iredell County.

(e) If aviolation of the ambient air quality standard for ozone is
measured according to 40 CFR 50.9 in Davidson, Forsyth, or
Guilford County or that part of Davie County bounded by the
Yadkin River, Dutchmans Creek, North Carolina Highway 801,
Fulton Creek and back to Yadkin River, the Director shall initiate
analysis to determine the control measures needed to attain and
maintain the ambient air quality standard for ozone. By the
following May 1, the Director shall implement the specific
stationary source control measures contained in this Section that
are required as part of the control strategy necessary to bring the

Creek
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area into compliance and to maintain compliance with the ambient
air quality standard for ozone. The Director shall implement the
rules in this Section identified as necessary by the analysis by
notice in the North Carolina Register. The notice shall identify the
rules that are to be implemented and shall identify whether the
rules implemented are to apply in Davidson, Forsyth, or Guilford
County or that part of Davie County bounded by the Yadkin
River, Dutchmans Creek, North Carolina Highway 801, Fulton
Creek and back to Yadkin River or any combination thereof. At
least one week before the scheduled publication date of the North
Carolina Register containing the Director's notice implementing
rules in this Section, the Director shall send written notification to
all permitted facilities within the county where the Rules are being
implemented that are or may be subject to the requirements of this
Section, informing them that they are or may be subject to the
requirements of this Section. For the purposes of notifying
permitted facilities in Forsyth County, "Director" means the
Director of the Forsyth County local air pollution control
program. Compliance shall be determined by 15A NCAC 02D
.1403.

(f) If a violation of the ambient air quality standard for ozone is
measured according to 40 CFR 50.9 in Durham County, Wake
County, or Dutchville Township in Granville County, the Director
shall initiate analysis to determine the control measures needed to
attain and maintain the ambient air quality standard for ozone. By
the following May 1, the Director shall implement the specific
stationary source control measures contained in this Section that
are required as part of the control strategy necessary to bring the
area into compliance and to maintain compliance with the ambient
air quality standard for ozone. The Director shall implement the
rules in this Section identified as necessary by the analysis by
notice in the North Carolina Register. The notice shall identify the
rules that are to be implemented and shall identify whether the
rules implemented are to apply in Durham County, Wake County,
or Dutchville Township in Granville County or any combination
thereof. At least one week before the scheduled publication date
of the North Carolina Register containing the Director's notice
implementing 15A NCAC 02D .1407 through .1409(b) and 15A
NCAC 02D .1413, the Director shall send written notification to
all permitted facilities within the county where the Rules are being
implemented that are or may be subject to the requirements of this
Section, informing them that they are or may be subject to the
requirements of this Section. Compliance shall be according to
15A NCAC 02D .1403.

(g) If the State nonattainment plan for ozone has failed to attain
the ambient air quality standard for ozone in 40 CFR 50.9 and
does not qualify for an extension of the attainment date in the
Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill ozone nonattainment area, the rules
in this Section shall apply to facilities in Cabarrus, Gaston,
Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, and Union Counties and
Davidson and Coddle Creek townships in Iredell County with the
potential to emit at least 50 tons of NOx per year. Once the
nonattainment plan for ozone has failed and the area does not
qualify for an extension of the attainment date, the Director shall
notice the applicability of these Rules to those sources in the
North Carolina Register and shall send written notification to all
permitted facilities within the counties where the Rules are being
implemented that are or may be subject to the requirements of this
Section, informing them that they are or may be subject to the

requirements of this Section. For the purposes of notifying
permitted facilities in Mecklenburg County, "Director" means the
Director of the Mecklenburg County local air pollution control
program. Compliance shall be according to 15A NCAC 02D
.1403.
(h) Regardless of any other statement of applicability of this
Section, this Section does not apply to any:
1) source not required to obtain an air permit
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0102 or is an
insignificant activity as defined in 15A NCAC

02Q .0103;
2 incinerator or thermal or catalytic oxidizer used
primarily for the control of air pollution;
?3) emergency generator;
(@) emergency use internal combustion engine; or
(5) stationary internal combustion engine less than

2400 brake horsepower that operates no more
than the following hours between May 1 and

September 30:
(A) for diesel engines:
833,333
t= ES
(B) for natural gas-fired engines:
t= 700,280

ES
where t equals time in hours and ES equals
engine size in horsepower.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1);
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; July 1, 1995; April 1, 1995;
Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2000;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; July 1, 2007; March 1, 2007; July 18,
2002;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2008;

Temporary Amendment expired September 29, 2009;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1403 COMPLIANCE SCHEDULES

(a) Applicability. This Rule applies to sources regulated by 15A
NCAC 02D .1402(d), (e), (f), or (g).

(b) Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone nonattainment area
contingency plan. The owner or operator of a source subject to
this Rule because of the applicability of 15A NCAC 02D
.1402(d), (e), (f), or (g) shall adhere to the following increments
of progress and schedules:

1) If compliance with this Section is to be
achieved through a demonstration to certify
compliance without source modification:

(A) The owner or operator shall notify the
Director in writing within six months
after the Director's notice in the North
Carolina Register that the source is in
compliance with the applicable
limitation or standard;
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(@)

3)

(B) The owner or operator shall perform
any required testing, pursuant to 15A
NCAC 02D .1415, within 12 months
after the Director's notice in the North
Carolina Register to demonstrate

compliance with the applicable
limitation; and

© The owner or operator shall
implement any required
recordkeeping and reporting

requirements pursuant to 15A NCAC
02D .1404, within 12 months after the
Director's notice in the North Carolina
Register to demonstrate compliance
with the applicable limitation.
If compliance with this Section is to be
achieved through the installation of combustion
modification technology or other source
modification:

(A) The owner or operator shall submit a
permit application and a compliance
schedule within six months after the
Director's notice in the North Carolina
Register.

(B) The compliance schedule shall contain
the following increments of progress:
(i) a date by which contracts for

installation of the
modification shall be
awarded or orders shall be
issued for purchase of
component parts;

(i) a date by which installation
of the modification shall
begin;

(iii) a date by which installation
of the modification shall be
completed; and

(iv) if the source is subject to a
limitation, a date by which
compliance testing shall be
completed.

© Final compliance shall be achieved

within three years after the Director's
notice in the North Carolina Register
unless the owner or operator of the
source petitions the Director for an
alternative limitation pursuant to 15A
NCAC 02D .1412. If a petition has
been submitted and approved, final
compliance shall be achieved within
four years after the Director's notice in
the North Carolina Register.

If compliance with this Section is to be

achieved through the implementation of an

emissions averaging plan pursuant to 15A

NCAC 02D .1410;

(A) The owner or operator shall abide by
the applicable requirements of

(4)

©)

Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this
Paragraph  for  certification or
modification of each source to be
included under the averaging plan.

(B) The owner or operator shall submit a
plan to implement an emissions
averaging plan pursuant to 15A
NCAC 02D .1410 within six months
after the Director's notice in the North
Carolina Register.

© Final compliance shall be achieved
within one year after the Director's
notice in the North Carolina Register
unless implementation of the
emissions averaging plan requires the
modification of one or more of the
averaging sources. If modification of
one or more of the averaging sources
is required, final compliance shall be
achieved within three years.

If compliance with this Section is to be

achieved through the implementation of a

seasonal fuel switching program pursuant to

15A NCAC 02D .1411:

(A) The owner or operator shall make all
necessary modifications according to
Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph.

(B) The owner or operator shall include a
plan for complying with the
requirements of 15A NCAC 02D
1411 with the permit application
required under Part (2)(A) of this
Subparagraph.

© Final compliance shall be achieved
within three years after the Director's
notice in the North Carolina Register.

Increments of progress certification. The owner

or operator shall certify to the Director, within

five days after each increment deadline of
progress in this Paragraph, whether the required
increment of progress has been met.

(c) Nonattainment areas. The owner or operator of a source
subject to this Rule because of the applicability of 15A NCAC
02D .1402(d), shall adhere to the following:

@)

If compliance with this Section is to be

achieved through a demonstration to certify

compliance without source modification:

(A) The owner or operator shall notify the
Director in writing by August 1, 2007;

(B) The owner or operator shall perform
any required testing, according to 15A
NCAC 02D .1415, by January 1, 2008;

and

© The owner or operator shall
implement any required
recordkeeping and reporting
requirements, according to 15A

NCAC 02D .1404, by January 1, 2008.
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)

©)

(4)

Q)

If compliance with this Section is to be
achieved through the installation of combustion
modification technology or other source
modification:

(A) The owner or operator shall submit a
permit application and a compliance
schedule by August 1, 2007.

(B) The compliance schedule shall contain
a date by which -contracts for
installation of the modification shall
be awarded or orders shall be issued
for purchase of component parts.

© The compliance schedule shall contain
a date by which installation of the
modification shall begin.

(D) The compliance schedule shall contain
a date by which installation of the
modification shall be completed.

(E) If the source is subject to a limitation,
the compliance schedule shall contain,
a date by which compliance testing
shall be completed.

(F) Final compliance shall be achieved no
later than April 1, 2009.

If compliance with this Section is to be

achieved through the implementation of an

emissions averaging plan as provided for in

15A NCAC 02D .1410:

(A) The owner or operator shall abide by
the applicable requirements of
Subparagraph (1) or (2) of this
Paragraph  for  certification or
modification of each source to be
included under the averaging plan.

(B) The owner or operator shall submit a
plan to implement an emissions
averaging plan according to 15A
NCAC 02D .1410 by August 1, 2007.

© Final compliance shall be achieved
within one year no later than January
1, 2008.

If compliance with this Section is to be
achieved through the implementation of a
seasonal fuel switching program as provided for
in 15A NCAC 02D .1411:

(A) The owner or operator shall make all
necessary modifications according to
Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph.

(B) The owner or operator shall include a
plan for complying with the
requirements of 15A NCAC 02D
1411 with the permit application
required under Part (2)(A) of this
Subparagraph.

(© Final compliance shall be achieved no
later than April 1, 2009.

Increments of progress certification. The owner

or operator shall certify to the Director, within

five days after the deadline for each increment

of progress in this Paragraph, whether the
required increment of progress has been met.
(d) Sources already in compliance.

1) Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone
nonattainment  area  contingency  plan.
Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall not apply to
sources that are in compliance with the
applicable rules of this Section when the
Director notices the implementation of rules in
the North Carolina Register that resolves a
violation of the ambient air quality standard for
ozone and that has determined and certified
compliance to the Director within six months
after the Director notices the implementation of
rules in the North Carolina Register that
resolves a violation of the ambient air quality
standard for ozone.

2 Nonattainment areas. Paragraph (c) of this Rule
shall not apply to sources in an area named in
15A NCAC 02D .1402(d) that are in
compliance with applicable rules of this Section
on March 1, 2007.

(e) New sources.

(8] Maintenance area and Charlotte o0zone
nonattainment area contingency plan. The
owner or operator of any new source of nitrogen
oxides not permitted before the date the
Director notices in the North Carolina Register
according to 15A NCAC 02D .1402(e), (f), or
(9) shall comply with all applicable rules in this
Section upon start-up of the source. The owner
or operator of any new source covered by 15A
NCAC 02D .1407, .1408, .1409, .1413, or .1418
shall comply with all applicable rules in this
Section upon start-up of the source.

2 Nonattainment areas. The owner or operator of
any new source of nitrogen oxides not
permitted before March 1, 2007 in an area
identified in 15A NCAC 02D .1402(d) shall
comply with all applicable rules in this Section
upon start-up of the source.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2000;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; March 1, 2007; July 18, 2002;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1404 RECORDKEEPING:
REPORTING: MONITORING:

(a) General requirements. The owner or operator of any source
shall comply with the monitoring, recordkeeping and reporting
requirements in 15A NCAC 02D .0600 and shall maintain all
records necessary for determining compliance with all applicable
limitations and standards of this Section for five years.
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(b) Submittal of information to show compliance status. The
owner or operator of any source shall maintain, and when
requested by the Director, submit any information required by this
Section to determine the compliance status of an affected source.
(c) Excess emissions reporting. The owner or operator shall
report excess emissions following the procedures in 15A NCAC
02D .0535.
(d) Continuous emissions monitors.

(e) Missing data.

(1)

@)

®3)

1)

()

The owner or operator shall install, operate, and

maintain a continuous emission monitoring

system according to 40 CFR Part 75, Subpart H,

with such exceptions as may be allowed under

40 CFR Part 75, Subpart H or 40 CFR Part 96

if the source is covered by 15A NCAC 02D

1418, with the exception of internal

combustion engines.

The owner or operator of a source that is subject

to the requirements of this Section but not

covered under Subparagraph (1) of this

Paragraph and uses a continuous emissions

monitoring system to measure emissions of

nitrogen oxides shall operate and maintain the
continuous emission  monitoring  system

according to 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix B,

Performance Specification 2, and Appendix F

or 40 CFR Part 75, Subpart H. If diluent

monitoring is required, 40 CFR Part 60,

Appendix B, Performance Specification 3, shall

be used. If flow monitoring is required, 40 CFR

Part 60, Appendix B, Performance

Specification 6, shall be used.

The owner or operator of the following sources

are not required to use continuous emission

monitors unless the Director determines that a

continuous emission monitor is necessary

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0611 to show
compliance with this Section:

(A) a boiler or indirect-fired process heater
regulated by 15A NCAC 02D .1407
with a maximum heat input less than
or equal to 250 million Btu per hour;

(B) stationary internal combustion engines
regulated by 15A NCAC 02D .1409
except for those engines regulated by
15A NCAC 02D .1409(b) and .1418.

If data from continuous emission monitoring
systems required to meet the requirements of 40
CFR Part 75 are not available at a time that the
source is operated, the procedures in 40 CFR
Part 75, Subpart D shall be used to supply the
missing data.

For continuous emissions monitors not covered
under Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, data
shall be available for at least 95 percent of the
emission source's operating hours for the
applicable averaging period, where four equally
spaced readings constitute a valid hour. If data
from continuous emission monitoring systems

are not available for at least 95 percent of the
time that the source is operated, the owner or
operator of the monitor shall:

(A) use the procedures in 40 CFR 75.33
through 75.37 to supply the missing
data; or

(B) document that the combustion source

or process equipment and the control
device were being properly operated
when the monitoring measurements
were missing. For purposes of this
Rule, "properly operated" means that
operating and maintenance procedures
being used complied with permit
conditions, operating and maintenance
procedures, preventative maintenance
procedures, monitoring results, and
compliance history.

(f) Quality assurance for continuous emissions monitors.

o))

)

The owner or operator of a continuous emission
monitor required to meet 40 CFR Part 75,
Subpart H, shall follow the quality assurance
and quality control requirements of 40 CFR
Part 75, Subpart H.
For a continuous emissions monitor not
covered under Subparagraph (1) of this
Paragraph, the owner or operator of the
continuous emissions monitor shall follow the
quality assurance and quality control
requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix F, if
the monitor is required to be operated annually
under another rule. If the continuous emissions
monitor is being operated only to satisfy the
requirements of this Section, then the quality
assurance and quality control requirements of
40 CFR Part 60, Appendix F, shall apply except
that:
(A) A relative accuracy test audit shall be
conducted after January 1 and before
May 1 of each year;
(B) One of the following shall be
conducted at least once between May

1 and September 30 of each year:

(i) a linearity test, in accordance

with 40 CFR Part 75,
Appendix A, Section 3.2, 6.2,
and 7.1;

(i) a relative accuracy audit, in
accordance with 40 CFR Part
60, Appendix F, Section 5
and 6; or
a cylinder gas audit in
accordance with 40 CFR Part
60, Appendix F, Section 5.0
and 6.0; and
© A daily calibration drift test shall be

conducted in accordance with 40 CFR

Part 60, Appendix F, Section 4.0.

(iii)
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(g) Averaging time for continuous emissions monitors. When
compliance with a limitation established for a source subject to
the requirements of this Section is determined using a continuous
emissions monitoring system, a 24-hour block average as
described in 15A NCAC 02D .0606 shall be recorded for each day
beginning May 1 through September 30, unless a specific rule
requires a different averaging time or procedure. A 24-hour block
average as defined in 15A NCAC 02D .0606 shall be used when
a continuous emissions monitoring system is used to determine
compliance with a short-term pounds per million Btu standard in
15A NCAC 02D .1418.

(h) Heat input. Heat input shall be determined:

1) for sources required to use a monitoring system
meeting the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75,
using the procedures in 40 CFR Part 75; or

2 for sources not required to use a monitoring

system meeting the requirements of 40 CFR
Part 75 using:

(A) 40 CFR Part 75;
(B) a method in 15A NCAC 02D .0501; or
© the best available heat input data if

approved by the Director. The
Director shall grant approval on a
case-by-case basis if he or she finds
that the heat input data is the best
available.
(i) Source testing. When compliance with a limitation established
for a source subject to the requirements of this Section is
determined using source testing, the source testing shall follow
the procedures in 1I5A NCAC 02D .1415.
(i) Alternative monitoring and reporting procedures. The owner
or operator of a source covered under this Rule may request
alternative monitoring or reporting procedures pursuant to 15A
NCAC 02D .0612.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143-215.66; 143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7);
143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2000;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001;

Amendment Eff. December 1, 2005; January 1, 2005; May 1,
2004; July 15, 2002;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2008(this amendment
replaces the amendment approved by RRC on May 15, 2008);

Amended Eff. September 29, 2009(amendment approved by RRC
on May 15, 2008);
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1405 CIRCUMVENTION

(&) An owner or operator subject to this Section shall not build,
erect, install or use any article, machine, equipment, process, or
method that conceals an emission that would otherwise constitute
a violation of a rule in this Section.

(b) Paragraph (a) of this Rule includes the use of gaseous dilutants
to achieve compliance and the piecemeal carrying out of an
operation to avoid coverage by a rule that applies only to
operations larger than a specified size.

History Note: G.S. 143-
215.107(a)(5);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority 143-215.3(a)(1);

15A NCAC 02D .1407 BOILERS AND INDIRECT-
FIRED PROCESS HEATERS

(a) This Rule applies geographically pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D
.1402.

(b) The owner or operator of a boiler or indirect-fired process
heater with a maximum heat input rate of less than or equal to 50
million Btu per hour shall comply with the annual tune-up
requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .1414. The owner or operator of
a boiler or indirect-fired process heater subject to the requirements
of this Paragraph shall maintain records of all tune-ups performed
for each source as required by 15A NCAC 02D .1404.

(c) The owner or operator of a fossil fuel-fired boiler with a
maximum heat input rate less than or equal to 250 million Btu per
hour but greater than 50 million Btu per hour, a boiler with a
maximum heat input greater than 50 million Btu per hour that is
not a fossil fuel-fired boiler, or an indirect-fired process heater
with a maximum heat input greater than 50 million Btu per hour
shall comply by:

1) installation of, if necessary, combustion
modification technology or other NOy control
technology and maintenance, including annual
tune-ups and recordkeeping; and

2) compliance through source testing or

continuous emission monitoring that the source
complies with the following applicable
limitation:

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE NOx EMISSION RATES FOR BOILERS AND INDIRECT PROCESS HEATERS
(POUNDS PER MILLION BTU)
Firing Method

Fuel/Boiler Type Tangential
Coal (Wet Bottom) 1.0
Coal (Dry Bottom) 0.45
Wood or Refuse 0.20
Oil 0.30
Gas 0.20

Wall Stoker or Other
1.0 N/A
0.50 0.40
0.30 0.20
0.30 0.30
0.20 0.20
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(d) If the emissions are greater than the applicable limitation in
Paragraph (c) of this Rule after reasonable effort as defined in 15A
NCAC 02D .1401, or if the requirements of this Rule are not
RACT, the owner or operator may petition the Director for an
alternative limitation or standard pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D
1412,
(e) Compliance with the limitation established for a boiler or
indirect-fired process heater under this Rule shall be determined:
1) using a continuous emission monitoring system
if the boiler or indirect-fired process heater is
required to use a continuous emissions
monitoring system as required by 15A NCAC
02D .0524 or 40 CFR Part 60 to measure
emissions of nitrogen oxides; or
using annual source testing pursuant to 15A
NCAC 02D .1415 for boilers or indirect-fired
process heaters with a maximum heat input rate
less than or equal to 250 million Btu per hour
but greater than 50 million Btu per hour with
the exception allowed under Paragraph (f) of
this Rule.
(f) If a source covered under this Rule can burn more than one
fuel, the owner or operator of the source may choose not to burn
one or more of these fuels during the ozone season. If the owner
or operator chooses not to burn a particular fuel, the sources
testing required under Subparagraph (e)(2) this Rule shall not be
required for that fuel.
(9) If two consecutive annual source tests show compliance, the
Director may reduce the frequency of testing up to once every five
years. In years that a source test is not done, the boiler or indirect-
fired process heater shall comply with the annual tune-up
requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .1414. If after the Director
reduces the frequency of testing, a source test shows that the
emission limit in this Rule is exceeded, the Director shall require
the boiler or indirect-fired process heater to be tested annually
until two consecutive annual tests show compliance. Then the
Director may again reduce the frequency of testing up to once
every five years.

@)

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66;
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; July 18, 2002;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2008;

Temporary Amendment expired September 29, 2009;

15A NCAC 02D .1409

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1408
TURBINES

(a) This Rule applies geographically pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D
.1402.

(b) Unless the owner or operator chooses the option of emission
averaging in 15A NCAC 02D .1410, the owner or operator of a
stationary combustion turbine with a heat input rate greater than
100 million Btu per hour but less than or equal to 250 million Btu
per hour shall comply with the following limitations:

STATIONARY COMBUSTION

(D) Emissions of NOx shall not exceed 75 ppm by
volume corrected to 15 percent oxygen for gas-
fired turbines; or

2 Emissions of NOx shall not exceed 95 ppm by

volume corrected to 15 percent oxygen for oil-

fired turbines.
If necessary, the owner or operator shall install combustion
modification technology or other NOx control technology to
comply with the applicable limitation set forth in this Paragraph.
(c) If the emissions are greater than the applicable limitation in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule after reasonable effort as defined in
15A NCAC 02D .1401, or if the requirements of this Rule are not
RACT for the particular stationary combustion turbine, the owner
or operator may petition the Director for an alternative limitation
or standard in accordance with 15A NCAC 02D .1412.
(d) Compliance with the limitation established for a stationary
combustion turbine under this Rule shall be determined by using:

1) a continuous emissions monitoring system; or
2) annual source testing in accordance with 15A

NCAC 02D .1415.
(e) If a source covered under this Rule can burn more than one
fuel, the owner or operator of the source may choose not to burn
one or more of these fuels during the ozone season. If the owner
or operator chooses not to burn a particular fuel, the sources
testing required under this Rule is not required for that fuel.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66;
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; July 18, 2002;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2008;

Temporary Amendment expired September 29, 2009;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

STATIONARY INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINES

(@) This Rule applies geographically pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1402.
(b) The owner or operator of a stationary internal combustion engine with a rated capacity of greater than or equal to 650 horsepower
that is not covered under Paragraph (c) of this Rule or 15A NCAC 02D .1418 shall not allow emissions of NOx from the stationary

internal combustion engine to exceed the following limitations:

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE NOx EMISSION RATES FOR
STATIONARY INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINES
(GRAMS PER HORSEPOWER HOUR)

Engine Type
Rich-burn

Limitation
25

Fuel Type
Gaseous
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Lean-burn
Compression Ignition

Gaseous 2.5
Liquid 8.0

(c) Engines identified in the table in this Paragraph shall not exceed the emission limit in the table during the ozone season.

SUM OF MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE OZONE SEASON NOx EMISSIONS

(tons per ozone season)

FACILITY REGULATED ALLOWABLE
SOURCES EMISSIONS

Transcontinental ~ Gas Mainline engines #12,

Pipeline Station 150 13, 14, and 15 76

Transcontinental  Gas Mainline engines #2, 3,

Pipeline Station 155 4,5,and 6 127

Transcontinental  Gas Mainline engines #11,

Pipeline Station 160 12,13, 14, and 15 149

Compliance shall be determined by summing the actual emissions
from the engines listed in the table at each facility for the ozone
season and comparing those sums to the limits in the table.
Compliance may be achieved through trading under Paragraph (h)
of this Rule if the trades are approved before the ozone season.
(d) If the emissions from a stationary internal combustion engine
are greater than the applicable limitation in Paragraph (b) of this
Rule after applying a reasonable effort as defined in 15A NCAC
02D .1401, or if the requirements of this Rule are not RACT for
the particular stationary internal combustion engine, the owner or
operator may petition the Director for an alternative limitation or
standard pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1412.
(e) For the engines identified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule and
any engine involved in emissions trading with one or more of the
engines identified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the owner or
operator shall determine compliance using:
(1) a continuous emissions monitoring system that

meets the applicable requirements of

Appendices B and F of 40 CFR part 60 and 15A

NCAC 02D .1404; or

2 an alternate monitoring and recordkeeping

procedure based on actual emissions testing and

correlation with operating parameters.
The installation, implementation, and use of an alternate
procedure allowed under Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph shall
be approved by the Director before it may be used. The Director
shall approve the alternative procedure if he or she finds that it
can show the compliance status of the engine.
(f) If a stationary internal combustion engine is permitted to
operate more than 475 hours during the ozone season, compliance
with the limitation established for a stationary internal
combustion engine under Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be
determined using annual source testing pursuant to 15A NCAC
02D .1415. If a source covered under this Rule can burn more than
one fuel, then the owner or operator of the source may choose not
to burn one or more of these fuels during the ozone season. If the
owner or operator chooses not to burn a particular fuel, the source
testing required under this Rule is not required for that fuel.
(9) If a stationary internal combustion engine is permitted to
operate no more than 475 hours during the ozone season, the
owner or operator of the stationary internal combustion engine
shall show compliance with the limitation under Paragraph (b) of

this Rule with source testing during the first ozone season of
operation pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1415. Each year after that,
the owner or operator of the stationary internal combustion engine
shall comply with the annual tune-up requirements of 15A NCAC
02D .1414.

(h) The owner or operator of a source covered under Paragraph
(c) of this Rule may offset part or all of the emissions of that
source by reducing the emissions of another stationary internal
combustion engine at that facility by an amount equal to or greater
than the emissions being offset. Only actual decreased emissions
that have not previously been relied on to comply with 15A
NCAC 02D or 02Q or Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations
may be used to offset the emissions of another source. The person
requesting the offset shall submit the following information to the
Director:

1) identification of the source, including permit
number, providing the offset and what the new
allowable emission rate for the source will be;

2 identification of the source, including permit
number, receiving the offset and what the new
allowable emission rate for the source will be;

3) the amount of allowable emissions in tons per
0zone season being offset;
4) a description of the monitoring, recordkeeping,

and reporting that shall be used to show
compliance; and
5) documentation that the offset is an actual
decrease in emissions that has not previously
been relied on to comply with 15A NCAC 02D
or 02Q or Title 40 of the Code of Federal
Regulations.
The Director may approve the offset if he or she finds that all the
information required by this Paragraph has been submitted and
that the offset is an actual decrease in emissions that have not
previously been relied on to comply with 15A NCAC 02D or 02Q
or Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations. If the Director
approves the offset, he or she shall put the new allowable emission
rates in the respective permits.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66;
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);
Eff. April 1, 1995;
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Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; June 1, 2004; July 18, 2002;
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2008;

Temporary Amendment expired September 29, 2009;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1410 EMISSIONS AVERAGING

(@) This Rule shall not apply to sources regulated by 15A NCAC
02D .1418. Sources that have obtained an alternative limitation
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1412 or that apply seasonal fuel
switching pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1411 are not eligible to
participate in an emissions averaging plan under this Rule.

(b) With the exceptions in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the owner
or operator of a facility with two or more sources with comparable
plume rise and subject to the requirements of this Section for all
such sources as determined by 15A NCAC 02D .1402 may elect
to apply an emissions averaging plan according to Paragraph (c)
of this Rule. An emissions averaging plan may be used if the total
NOx emissions from the averaged set of sources based on the total
heat input are equal to or less than the NOx emissions that would
have occurred if each source complied with the applicable
limitation.

(c) Torequest approval of an emissions averaging plan to comply
with the requirements of this Section, the owner or operator of a
facility shall submit a written request to the Director including the
following information:

1) the name and location of the facility;

(2) information identifying each source to be
included under the averaging plan;

3) the maximum heat input rate for each source;

4) the fuel or fuels combusted in each source;

(5) the maximum allowable NOx emission rate
proposed for each averaging source;

(6) a demonstration that the nitrogen oxide

emissions of the sources being averaged, when
operated together at the maximum daily heat
input rate, will be less than or equal to the total
NOx emissions if each source complied with
the applicable limitation of this Section
individually;

@) an operational plan to provide reasonable
assurance that the sources being averaged will
satisfy Subparagraph (5) of this Paragraph
when the combined maximum daily heat input
rate is less than the permitted maximum heat
input rate; and

(8) the method to be used to determine the actual
NOx emissions from each source.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. July 18, 2002;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2008(this amendment
replaces the amendment approved by RRC on May 15, 2008);
Amended Eff. September 29, 2009(amendment approved by RRC
on May 15, 2008);

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1411 SEASONAL FUEL SWITCHING
(a) This Rule shall not apply to sources regulated by 15A NCAC
02D .1418.

(b) The owner or operator of a coal-fired or oil-fired boiler subject
to the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .1407 may elect to comply
by applying seasonal combustion of natural gas according to
Paragraph (c) of this Rule. This option is not available to a boiler
that used natural gas as its primary fuel beginning in 1990.
Compliance with this Section according to this Rule does not
remove or reduce any applicable requirement of the Acid Rain
Program.

(c) The owner or operator electing to comply with the
requirements of this Section through the seasonal combustion of
natural gas shall establish a NOx emission limit beginning
October 1 and ending April 30 that will result in annual NOx
emissions of less than or equal to the NOx that would have been
emitted if the source complied with the applicable limitation for
the combustion of coal for the entire calendar year. Compliance
with this Section according to this Rule does not remove or reduce
any applicable requirement of the Acid Rain Program.

(d) To comply with the requirements of this Section through the
seasonal combustion of natural gas, the owner or operator shall
submit to the Director the following information:

(8] the name and location of the facility;

2 information identifying the source to use
seasonal combustion of natural gas for
compliance;

3 the maximum heat input rate for each source;

@) a demonstration that the source will comply
with the applicable limitation for the

combustion of coal during the ozone season;

5) a demonstration that the source will comply
with the NOx emission limitation established
under Paragraph (c) of this Rule beginning
October 1 and ending April 30; and

(6) a written statement from the natural gas
supplier providing reasonable assurance that
the fuel will be available throughout the ozone
season.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1) 143-215.65;
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff November 1, 2000;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001;

Temporary Amendment Eff August 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; July 18, 2002;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2008;

Temporary Amendment expired September 29, 2009;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1412
LIMITATIONS
(@) The owner or operator may petition the Director for an
alternative limitation according to Paragraph (b) or (c) of this Rule
if the owner or operator of a source subject to the requirements of
15A NCAC 02D .1407, .1408, or .1409(b):
(D) cannot achieve compliance with the applicable
limitation after reasonable effort to satisfy the

PETITION FOR ALTERNATIVE
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requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .1407, .1408,
or .1409(b) or if the requirements in these Rules
are not RACT for the particular source; and
(2) cannot provide reasonable assurance for overall
compliance at a facility through the
implementation of an emissions averaging plan
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1410.
(b) To petition the Director for an alternative limitation, the
owner or operator of the source shall submit:

1) the name and location of the facility;

2 information identifying the source for which an
alternative limitation is being requested;

3) the maximum heat input rate for the source;

4) the fuel or fuels combusted in the source;

(5) the maximum allowable NOx emission rate
proposed for the source for each fuel;

(6) a demonstration that the source has satisfied the

requirements to apply for an alternative
limitation under Paragraph () of this Rule; and
@) a demonstration that the proposed alternative
limitation is RACT for that source.
(c) If the source is required to comply with best achievable
control technology pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0530, the owner
or operator of the source shall provide the information required
under Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (6) of this Rule and
documentation that the source is required to use best available
control technology and is complying with that requirement. For
this source, its best available control technology shall be
considered RACT without any further demonstrations.
(d) The Director shall approve the alternative limitation if he or
she finds that:
@ all the information required by Paragraph (b) of
this Rule has been submitted;
2 the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule
have been satisfied; and
3 the proposed alternative limitation is RACT for
that source.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; July 18, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1413  SOURCES NOT OTHERWISE
LISTED IN THIS SECTION
(&) The owner or operator of any source of NOx, except boilers,
indirect-fired process heaters, stationary combustion turbines, or
stationary internal combustion engines, at a facility that has the
potential to emit 100 tons per year or more of NOx or 560 pounds
per calendar day or more of NOx from May 1 through September
30, shall apply RACT pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
(b) Toapply RACT to a source of NOXx regulated pursuant to this
Rule, the owner or operator of the source shall submit;

1) the name and location of the facility;

(2) information identifying the source for which

RACT is being proposed,;

?3) a demonstration that shows the proposed
limitation is RACT for the source; and
4 a proposal for demonstrating compliance with

the proposed RACT.
(c) The Director shall approve the proposed limitation if he or she
finds that:
1) the owner or operator of the source has
submitted all the information required under
Paragraph (b) of this Rule;
2 the source is regulated under this Rule; and
?3) the proposed limitation is RACT for this source.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143-215.66; 143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7);
143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. July 18, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1414 TUNE-UP REQUIREMENTS

(a) This Rule applies to boilers and indirect-fired process heaters
subject to the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .1407 or stationary
internal combustion engines subject to the requirements of 15A
NCAC 02D .1409 that are complying with the annual tune-up
requirement.

(b) When a tune-up to a boiler or indirect-fired process heater is
required for compliance with this Section, the owner or operator
shall at least annually and according to the manufacturer's
recommendations:

1) inspect each burner and clean or replace any
component of the burner as required;
2 inspect the flame pattern and make any

adjustments to the burner, or burners, necessary
to optimize the flame pattern to minimize total
emissions of NOx and carbon monoxide;

3 inspect the combustion control system to ensure
proper operation and correct calibration of
components that control the air to fuel ratio and
adjust components to meet the manufacturer's
established operating parameters; and

4 inspect any other component of the boiler or
indirect-fired process heater and make
adjustments or repairs as necessary to improve
combustion efficiency.

The owner or operator shall perform the tune-up according to a
unit-specific protocol approved by the Director. The Director
shall approve the protocol if it meets the requirements of this Rule.
(c) When a tune-up to a stationary internal combustion engine is
required for compliance with this Section, the owner or operator
shall at least annually inspect, adjust, and repair or replace
according to the manufacturer's recommendation, the following,

as equipped:
1) engine air cleaners, fuel filters, and water traps;
2 turbochargers and superchargers;
3 spark plugs;
@) valve lash;
(5) ignition systems, including ignition coils and

wiring;
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(6) aftercooler cores;

(M any other component of the engine as necessary
to improve engine efficiency; and

(8) emission control systems.

The owner or operator shall perform the tune-up according to a
unit-specific protocol, including inspection, maintenance, and
performance procedures as recommended by the manufacturer
and approved by the Director. The Director shall approve the
protocol if it meets the requirements of this Rule.

(d) The owner or operator shall maintain records of tune-ups
performed to comply with this Section pursuant to 15A NCAC
02D .1404. The following information shall be included for each
source:

1) identification of the source;

(2) the date and time the tune-up started and ended:;

3) the person responsible for performing the tune-
up;

4) for boilers and indirect-fired process heaters,

the checklist for inspection of the burner, flame
pattern, combustion control system, and all
other components of the boiler or indirect-fired
process heater identified in the protocol, noting
any repairs or replacements made;

(5) for stationary internal combustion engines, the
checklist for engine air cleaners, turbochargers,
sparkplugs, valve lash, ignition coils and
wiring, aftercooler cores, and all other
components of the engine identified in the
protocol, noting any repairs or replacements
made;

(6) any stack gas analyses performed after the
completion of all adjustments to show that the
operating parameters of the boiler, indirect-
fired process heater, or stationary internal
combustion engine have been optimized with
respect to fuel consumption and output. These
parameters shall be within the range established
by the equipment manufacturer to ensure that
the emission limitation for nitrogen oxides has
not been exceeded; and

(7 any other information requested by the Director
to show that the boiler, indirect-fired process
heater, or stationary internal combustion engine
is being operated and maintained in a manner to
minimize the emissions of nitrogen oxides.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143-215.66; 143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7);
143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. July 18, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1415
PROCEDURES

(&) When source testing is used to determine compliance with
rules in this Section, the methods and procedures in 15A NCAC
02D .2600 shall be used.

TEST METHODS AND

(b) The owner or operator shall maintain records of tests
performed to demonstrate compliance with this Section as
required by 15A NCAC 02D .1404.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143-215.66; 143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7);
143.215.107(a)(10);

Eff. April 1, 1995;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; July 18, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1418 NEW ELECTRIC GENERATING
UNITS, BOILERS, COMBUSTION TURBINES, AND I/C
ENGINES

(a) Electric generating units. Emissions of NOx from any fossil
fuel-fired stationary boiler, combustion turbine, or combined
cycle system permitted after October 31, 2000, serving a
generator with a nameplate capacity greater than 25 megawatts
electrical and selling any amount of electricity shall meet the
applicable requirement:

(8] 0.15 pounds per million Btu for gaseous and
solid fuels and 0.18 pounds per million Btu for
liquid fuels if it is not regulated by 15A NCAC
02D .0530 or .0531;

2 if requlated by 15A NCAC 02D .0530, meet the
best available control technology requirements
in 15A NCAC 02D .0530 or 0.15 pounds per
million Btu for gaseous and solid fuels and 0.18
pounds per million Btu for liquid fuels,
whichever requires the greater degree of
reduction; or

©) if requlated by 15A NCAC 02D .0531, meet the
lowest available emission rate technology
requirements in 15A NCAC 02D .0531.

(b) Boilers and combustion turbines. Emissions of NOx from any
fossil fuel-fired stationary boiler, combustion turbine, or
combined cycle system having a maximum design heat input
greater than 250 million Btu per hour permitted after October 31,
2000, and not regulated under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, shall
meet the applicable requirement:

1) 0.17 pounds per million Btu for gaseous and
solid fuels and 0.18 pounds per million Btu for
liquid fuels if it is not regulated by 15A NCAC
02D .0530 or .0531;

2 if requlated by 15A NCAC 02D .0530, meet the
best available control technology requirements
in 15A NCAC 02D .0530 or 0.17 pounds per
million Btu for gaseous and solid fuels and 0.18
pounds per million Btu for liquid fuels,
whichever requires the greater degree of
reduction; or

?3) if regulated by 15A NCAC 02D .0531, meet the
lowest available emission rate technology
requirements in 15A NCAC 02D .0531.

(c) Internal combustion engines. The following reciprocating
internal combustion engines permitted after October 31, 2000,
shall comply with the applicable requirements in 15A NCAC 02D
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.1423 if the engine is not regulated by 15A NCAC 02D .0530 or
.0531:

1) rich burn stationary internal combustion
engines rated at greater than or equal to 2,400
brake horsepower;

(2) lean burn stationary internal combustion
engines rated at greater than or equal to 2,400
brake horsepower;

3) diesel stationary internal combustion engines
rated at greater than or equal to 3,000 brake
horsepower; or

4) dual fuel stationary internal combustion
engines rated at greater than or equal to 4,400
brake horsepower.

If the engine is regulated by 15A NCAC 02D .0530, it shall
comply with the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .1423 or the
best available control technology requirements of 15A NCAC
02D .0530, whichever requires the greater degree of reduction. If
the engine is regulated by 15A NCAC 02D .0531, it shall comply
with lowest available emission rate technology requirements of
15A NCAC 02D .0531.

(d) Monitoring. The owner or operator of a source subject to this
Rule, except for internal combustion engines, shall show
compliance using a continuous emission monitor that meets the
requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .1404(d). Internal combustion
engines shall comply with the monitoring requirements in 15A
NCAC 02D .1423. Monitors shall be installed before the first
ozone season in which the source will operate and shall be
operated each day during the ozone season that the source
operates.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1);
143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10);
Temporary Adoption Eff. August 1, 2001; November 1, 2000;

Eff. July 18, 2002;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 31, 2008(this amendment
replaces the amendment approved by RRC on May 15, 2008);
Amended Eff. September 29, 2009(amendment approved by RRC
on May 15, 2008);

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1423 LARGE INTERNAL
COMBUSTION ENGINES
(a) Applicability. This Rule applies to the following internal
combustion engines permitted after October 30, 2000 that are
subject to 15A NCAC 02D .1418 but are not subject to 15A
NCAC 02D .0530 or .0531:
1) rich burn stationary internal combustion
engines rated at greater than or equal to 2,400
brake horsepower;
2 lean burn stationary internal combustion
engines rated at greater than or equal to 2,400
brake horsepower;
©) diesel stationary internal combustion engines
rated at greater than or equal to 3,000 brake
horsepower; or
4) dual fuel stationary internal combustion
engines rated at greater than or equal to 4,400
brake horsepower.
(b) Emission limitation. The owner or operator of a stationary
internal combustion engine shall not cause to be emitted into the
atmosphere NOXx in excess of the following applicable limit,
expressed as NOx in parts per million by volume corrected to 15
percent oxygen on a dry basis, averaged over a rolling 30-day
period, as may be adjusted pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule:

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE NOx EMISSION CONCENTRATION FOR
STATIONARY INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINES

(parts per million)

Engine Type
Rich-burn 110
Lean-burn 125
Diesel 175
Dual fuel 125

Limitation

(c) Adjustment. Each emission limit expressed in Paragraph (b)
of this Rule may be multiplied by X, where X equals the engine
efficiency (E) divided by a reference efficiency of 30 percent.
Engine efficiency (E) shall be determined using one of the
methods specified in Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this Paragraph,
whichever provides a higher value. However, engine efficiency
(E) shall not be less than 30 percent. An engine with an efficiency
lower than 30 percent shall be assigned an efficiency of 30

percent.
(1) E = (Engine outp.ut)*(loo)
Energy input
where energy input is determined by a fuel measuring
device accurate to plus or minus 5 percent and is based
on the higher heating value (HHV) of the fuel. Percent
efficiency (E) shall be averaged over 15 consecutive

minutes and measured at peak load for the applicable
engine.
@) E= (Manufacturer’s rated efficiency at LHV)*(LHV)

HHV

where LHV is the lower heating value of the fuel; and

HHYV is the higher heating value of the fuel.

(d) Compliance determination and monitoring. The owner or
operator of an internal combustion engine subject to the
requirements of this Rule shall determine compliance using:

1) a continuous emissions monitoring system that
meets the applicable requirements of 40 CFR
part 60, Appendices B and F, excluding data
obtained during periods specified in Paragraph
(9) of this Rule and 15A NCAC 02D .1404; or

2 an alternate calculated and recordkeeping
procedure based on actual emissions testing and
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correlation with operating parameters. The
installation, implementation, and use of this
alternate procedure shall be approved by the
Director before it may be used. The Director
shall approve the alternative procedure if he or
she finds that it can show the compliance status
of the engine.
(e) Reporting requirements. The owner or operator of a stationary
internal combustion engine subject to this Rule shall submit;
1) a report documenting the engine's total nitrogen
oxide emissions beginning May 1 and ending
September 30 of each year to the Director by
October 31 of each year, beginning with the
year of first ozone season that the engine
operates; and
(2) an excess emissions and monitoring systems
performance report, according to the
requirements of 40 CFR 60.7(c) and 60.13, if a
continuous emissions monitoring system is
used.
() Recordkeeping requirements. The owner or operator of a
stationary internal combustion engine subject to this Rule shall
maintain all records necessary to demonstrate compliance with
the Rule for two calendar years at the facility at which the engine
is located. The records shall be made available to the Director
upon request. The owner or operator shall maintain records of the
following information for each day the engine operates:

(1) identification and location of the engine;
(2) calendar date of record,;
3) the number of hours the engine operated during

each day, including startups, shutdowns, and
malfunctions, and the type and duration of any
maintenance and repairs;

(@) the date and results of each emissions

inspection;

(5) a summary of any emissions corrective
maintenance taken;

(6) the results of all compliance tests; and

(7 if a unit is equipped with a continuous emission

monitoring system:

(A) identification of time periods during
which nitrogen oxide standards were
exceeded, the reason for the excess
emissions, and action taken to correct
the excess emissions and to prevent
similar future excess emissions; and

(B) identification of the time periods for
which operating conditions and
pollutant data were not obtained,
including reasons for not obtaining
sufficient data and a description of
corrective actions taken.

(9) Exemptions. The emission standards of this Rule shall not
apply to the following periods of operation:

1) start-up and shut-down periods and periods of
malfunction, not to exceed 36 consecutive
hours; and

(2) regularly scheduled maintenance activities.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143-215.66; 143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7);
143.215.107(a)(10);

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 1, 2001;

Eff. July 18, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1701  DEFINITIONS
The definitions in 40 CFR 60.751 apply to this Section.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1998;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1);

15A NCAC 02D .1702  APPLICABILITY
(a) All existing MSW landfills that meet the following conditions
are subject to this Section:

1) The landfill has accepted waste at any time
since November 8, 1987, or has additional
permitted capacity available for future waste
deposition and has not been documented by the
Division as being permanently closed; and

2 The landfill was in operation, or construction,
reconstruction, or modification was
commenced before July 17, 2014,

(b) Physical or operational changes made to an existing MSW
landfill solely to comply with an emission standard under this
Section are not considered a modification or reconstruction, and
do not subject an existing MSW landfill to the requirements of 40
CFR 60, Subpart XXX or 156A NCAC 02D .0524.

History Note: Authority 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5);
143-215.107(a)(10);

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15ANCAC 02D .1703 EMISSION STANDARDS

(@) Any MSW landfill subject to this Section and meeting the
following two conditions shall meet the gas collection and control
requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule:

@ The landfill has a design capacity greater than
or equal to 2.75 million tons and 2.5 million
cubic meters. The owner or operator of the
landfill may calculate the design capacity in
either tons or cubic meters for comparison with
the exemption values. Any density conversion
shall be documented and submitted along with
the initial reporting requirements of 15A NCAC
02D .1708(a); and

2) The landfill has a non-methane organic
compound (NMOC) emission rate of 55 tons
per year or more. The NMOC emission rate
shall be calculated by following the procedures
outlined in 40 CFR 60.754.

(b) Each owner or operator of a MSW landfill meeting the
conditions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall:

(D) submit to the Director a site-specific design
plan for the gas collection and control system
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that meets the requirements of 40 CFR

60.752(b)(2)(i);
(2) install a gas collection system that meets the
requirements of 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2)(ii); and
3) control the collected emissions of MSW landfill

gas through the use of one or more of the
following control options:
(A) An open flare designed and operated
in accordance with the parameters
established in 40 CFR 60.18;
(B) A control system designed and
operated to reduce NMOC by 98
weight percent;
© An enclosed combustor designed and
operated to reduce the outlet NMOC
concentration to 20 parts per million as
hexane by volume, on a dry basis at
three percent oxygen, or less; or
(D) A treatment system that processes the
collected gas for subsequent sale or
use in accordance with 40 CFR
60.752(b)(2)(iii)(C).
(c) The gas collection and control system required by this Rule
may be capped or removed provided that all the conditions of 40
CFR 60.752(b)(2)(v)(A), (B), and (C) are met.

History Note: ~ Authority  G.S.
215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10);
Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

143-215.3(a)(1);  143-

15A NCAC 02D .1704
PROCEDURES

The MSW landfill NMOC emission rate shall be calculated by
following the procedures in 40 CFR 60.754, as applicable, in
order to determine whether the landfill meets the conditions of
15A NCAC 02D .1703(a)(2).

TEST METHODS AND

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66;
143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10);

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1705 OPERATIONAL STANDARDS
The owner and operator of a MSW landfill required to install a
landfill gas collection and control system to comply with 15A
NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall:

1) operate the collection system in accordance
with 40 CFR 60.753(a);
(2) operate the collection system with negative

pressure at each wellhead in accordance with 40
CFR 60.753(b);

3) operate each interior wellhead in the collection
system in accordance with 40 CFR 60.753(c);
4) operate the collection system so that the

methane concentration is less than 500 parts per
million above background at the surface of the
landfill. To determine if this level is exceeded,

the owner and operator shall follow the
procedures given in 40 CFR 60.753(d);

(5) operate the collection system such that all
collected gases are vented to a control system
designed and operated in compliance with 15A
NCAC 02D .1703(b)(3). In the event that the
gas collection and control system is inoperable,
measures shall be taken as outlined in 40 CFR

60.753(e);
(6) operate the control system at all times when the
collected gas is routed to the control system;
@) take corrective action as specified in 40 CFR

60.755(c) if monitoring demonstrates that the
operation standards and requirements of Items
(2), (3), and (4) of this Rule are not met. If the
required corrective actions are taken, the
emissions monitored shall not be considered a
violation of the operational standards of this
Rule.

History Note: Authority  G.S.
215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10);
Eff. July 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

143-215.3(a)(1);  143-

15A NCAC 02D .1706 COMPLIANCE PROVISIONS

(@) Compliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall be
determined using the provisions of 40 CFR 60.755(a).

(b) Compliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1705(1) shall be
determined using the provisions of 40 CFR 60.755(b).

(c) Compliance with the surface methane operational standards
of 15A NCAC 02D .1705(4) shall be achieved using the
procedures of 40 CFR 60.755(c) and (d).

(d) The provisions of this Rule apply at all times, except during
periods of start-up, shutdown, or malfunction, provided that the
duration of start-up, shutdown, or malfunction shall not exceed
five days for collection systems and shall not exceed one hour for
treatment or control devices.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66;
143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10);

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15ANCAC 02D .1707 MONITORING PROVISIONS

(a) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill who is required to
comply with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b)(2) for an active gas
collection system shall perform the monitoring requirements as
outlined in 40 CFR 60.756(a).

(b) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b)(3)(C) using an
enclosed combustor shall perform the monitoring requirements as
outlined in 40 CFR 60.756(b).

(c) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b)(3)(A) using an
open flare shall perform the monitoring requirements as outlined
in 40 CFR 60.756(c).

(d) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b)(3) using a device
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other than an open flare or an enclosed combustor shall comply
with the provisions of 40 CFR 60.756(d).

(e) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b)(3)(B) using an
active collection system or seeking to monitor alternative
parameters to those required by 15A NCAC 02D .1704 through
.1707 shall comply with the provisions of 40 CFR 60.756(e).

(f) The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1706(c) shall do so in
accordance with 40 CFR 60.756(f).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66;
143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10);

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15ANCAC 02D .1708 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
(@) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this Rule
according to 15A NCAC 02D .1702 shall submit a design capacity
report to the Director in accordance with the following:

@ The initial design capacity report shall fulfill
the requirements of the notification of the date
construction is commenced as required under
40 CFR 60.7(a)(1) and shall be submitted no
later than the earliest of the day from the dates
given in 40 CFR 60.757(a)(1)(i) t and 40 CFR
60.757(a)(1)(ii);

(2) The initial design capacity report shall contain
the information given in 40 CFR
60.757(a)(2)(i) and 40 CFR 60.757(a)(2)(ii);
and

3 An amended design capacity report shall be
submitted to the Director in accordance with 40
CFR 60.757(a)(3) whenever an increase in the
design capacity of the landfill results in the
design capacity of the landfill to exceed 2.5
million cubic meters and 2.75 million tons.

(b) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this Rule
shall submit a NMOC emission report to the Director initially and
annually thereafter, except as provided for in 40 CFR
60.757(b)(1)(ii) or (b)(3). The initial NMOC emission rate report
shall be submitted within 90 days of the day waste acceptance
commences and may be combined with the initial design capacity
report required in Paragraph (2) of this Rule. The NMOC emission
rate report shall:

(D) contain an annual or five-year estimate of the
NMOC emission rate calculated using the
formula and procedures provided in 40 CFR
60.754(a) or (b), as applicable; and

(2) include all the data, calculations, sample
reports, and measurements used to estimate the
annual or five-year emissions.

(c) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to 15A
NCAC 02D .1703 shall submit a collection and control system
design plan to the Director within one year of the first report,
required under Paragraph (b) of this Rule, in which the emission
rate exceeds 55 tons per year, except as provided for in 40 CFR
60.757(c)(1) and (c)(2).

(d) The owner or operator of a controlled landfill shall submit a
closure report to the Director within 30 days of cessation of waste
acceptance. If a closure report has been submitted to the Director,
no additional waste shall be placed into the landfill without first
filing a notification of modification as described under 40 CFR
60.7(a)(4). The Director may request such additional information
as may be necessary to verify that permanent closure of the MSW
landfill has taken place in accordance with the requirements of 40
CFR 258.60.

(e) The owner or operator of a controlled MSW landfill shall
submit an equipment removal report 30 days prior to removal or
cessation of operation of the control equipment according to 15A
NCAC 02D .1703(c). The report shall contain the items listed in
40 CFR 60.757(e)(1). The Director may request such additional
information as may be necessary to verify that all the conditions
for removal in 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2)(v) have been met.

(f) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply
with 156A NCAC 02D .1703(b)(2) using an active collection
system designed in accordance with 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2)(ii) shall
submit annual reports of the recorded information in 40 CFR
60.757(f)(1) through (f)(6). The initial annual report shall be
submitted within 180 days of installation and start-up of the
collection and control system, and shall include the initial
performance test report required under 40 CFR 60.8.

(g) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply
with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b)(3) using an enclosed combustion
device or flare shall report the excess as defined in 40 CFR
60.758(c)(1).

(h) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill required to comply
with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b)(1) shall include the information
given in 40 CFR 60.757(g)(1) through (g)(6) with the initial
performance test report required under 40 CFR 60.8.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10);

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 02D .1709
REQUIREMENTS
(@) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this
Section and having a maximum design capacity equal to or greater
than 2.5 million cubic meters and 2.75 million tons shall keep on-
site for at least five years records of the information listed in 40
CFR 60.758(a). Off-site records may be maintained if they are
retrievable within four hours. Either paper copy or electronic
formats of the records shall be acceptable.

(b) The owner or operator of a controlled landfill shall keep up-
to-date records pursuant to 40 CFR 60.768(b) for the life of the
control equipment of the data listed in 40 CFR 60.758(b)(1)
through (b)(4) as measured during the initial performance test or
compliance determination. Records of subsequent tests or
monitoring shall be maintained for a minimum of five years.
Records of the control device vendor specifications shall be
maintained until removal.

(c) Each owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this
Section shall keep for five years up-to-date records pursuant to 40
CFR 60.768(c) of the equipment operating parameters specified

RECORDKEEPING
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to be monitored in 15A NCAC 02D .1707 and records for periods
of operation during which the parameter boundaries established
during the most recent performance test are exceeded. The
parameter boundaries considered in excess of those established
during the performance test are defined in 40 CFR 60.758(c)(1)(i)
and (ii) and are also required to be reported pursuant to 15A
NCAC 02D .1708(g).

(d) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to 15A
NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall keep for the life of the collection
system an up-to-date plot map pursuant to 40 CFR 60.768(d)
showing existing and planned collectors in the system and provide
unique identification location labels for each collector. Records of
newly installed collectors shall be maintained in accordance with
40 CFR 60.758(d)(1) and documentation of asbestos-containing
or nondegradable waste excluded from collection shall be kept in
accordance with 40 CFR 60.758(d)(2).

(e) The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to 15A
NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall keep for at least five years records of
emissions from the collection and control system exceeding the
emission standards in accordance with 40 CFR 60.758(e).

(f) The owner or operator of MSW landfill subject to 15A NCAC
02D .1703(b) shall keep up-to-date records pursuant to 40 CFR
60.758(c)(2) of the indication of flow to the control device or the
indication of bypass flow or records of monthly inspections of car-
seals or lock-and-key configurations used to seal bypass lines,
specified pursuant to 40 CFR 60.756.

(9) The owner or operator of MSW landfill subject to 15A NCAC
02D .1703(b) who uses a boiler or process heater with a design
heat input capacity of 44 megawatts or greater to comply with 40
CFR 60.752(b)(2)(iii) shall keep an up-to-date record pursuant to
40 CFR 60.758(c)(3) of all periods of operation of the boiler or
process heater.

(h) The owner or operator of MSW landfill seeking to comply
with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) by use of an open
flare shall keep up-to-date records of the flame or flare pilot flame
monitoring specified pursuant to 40 CFR 60.756(c), and up-to-
date records of all periods of operation in which the flame or flare
pilot flame in absent.

History Note:
143-215.66;
215.107(a)(10);
Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65;
143-215.107(a)(4), 143-215.107(a)(5), 143-

15ANCAC 02D .1710 COMPLIANCE SCHEDULES
For each existing MSW landfill subject to this Section as specified
in 15A NCAC 02D .1702 and meeting the design capacity
condition of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(a)(1) whose NMOC emission
rate is less than 55 tons per year on or after July 1, 1998, shall:
1) submit a site-specific design plan for the gas
collection and control system to the Director
within 12 months of first exceeding the NMOC
emission rate of 55 tons per year; and
2 plan, award contracts, and install MSW landfill
air emission collection and control system
capable of meeting the emission standards
established pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1703

within 30 months of the date when the
conditions in 15A NCAC 02D .1703(a)(2) are
met.

History Note:  Authority  G.S.
215.107(a)(4); 143-215.107(a)(5);
Eff. July 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

143-215.3(a)(1);  143-

15A NCAC 02D .2615 DETERMINATION OF LEAK
TIGHTNESS AND VAPOR LEAKS
(a) Leak Detection Procedures. One of the following test methods
from the EPA document "Control of Volatile Organic Compound
Leaks from Gasoline Tank Trucks and Vapor Collection System,"
EPA-450/2-78-051, published by the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency, December 1978, shall be used to determine
compliance with 15A NCAC 02D .0932, Gasoline Cargo Tanks
And Vapor Collector Systems:
1) The gasoline vapor leak detection procedure by
combustible gas detector described in
Appendix B to EPA-450/2-78-051 shall be used
to determine leakage from gasoline cargo tanks
and vapor control systems.
2 The leak detection procedure for bottom-loaded
cargo tanks by bag capture method described in
Appendix C to EPA-450/2-78-051 shall be used
to determine the leak tightness of cargo tanks
during bottom loading.
(b) Annual Testing. The pressure-vacuum test procedures for leak
tightness of cargo tanks described in Method 27 of Appendix A
to 40 CFR Part 60 or 49 CFR 180.407 shall be used to determine
the leak tightness of gasoline cargo tanks in use and equipped with
vapor collection equipment. Method 27 of Appendix A to 40 CFR
Part 60 is changed for fugitive emissions leak prevention to read:
(8] 8.2.1.2 "Connect static electrical ground
connections to tank."
2 8.2.1.3 "Attach test coupling to vapor return
line."
3 16.0 No alternative procedure is applicable.
(c) Copies of Appendix B and C of the EPA document, "Control
of Volatile Organic Compound Leaks from Gasoline Tank Trucks
and Vapor Collection System," EPA-450/2-78-051, cited in this
Rule, are hereby incorporated with subsequent amendments and
editions by reference and are available on the Division's website
at http://deqg.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-
enforcement/emission-measurement.

History Note:
215.107(a)(5);
Eff. June 1, 2008;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority  G.S.  143-215.3(a)(1);  143-

BRI I S S S S I I S S

15A NCAC 10B .0114
TRIALS

(&) For purposes of 15A NCAC 10B and 10D, the following
definitions apply:

DOG TRAINING AND FIELD
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1) "Commission-sanctioned field trial" means a
field trial that has been authorized by the
Wildlife Resources Commission and for which
a Field Trial Permit has been issued.

(2) "Active participant” means an individual
participating in a field trial who handles dogs or
uses a firearm.

(3) "Field Trial Permit" means the permit issued by
the Wildlife Resources Commission that
authorizes an individual to hold a commission-
sanctioned field trial for dogs.

(b) Individuals desiring to conduct a commission-sanctioned field
trial shall obtain a Field Trial Permit from the Wildlife Resources
Commission at www.ncwildlife.org or at the Commission
headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606.
(c) Individuals using wildlife to train or run dogs shall possess a
North Carolina hunting license.

(d) An individual who is serving as a judge of a commission-
sanctioned field trial shall be exempt from any license
requirements. An individual who is serving as a judge of a non-
sanctioned field trial using wildlife shall possess a North Carolina
hunting license.

(e) Exceptas provided in Paragraph (f) of this Rule, the following
license requirements shall apply to active participants in field
trials:

@ North Carolina residents participating in any
field trial that uses wildlife shall have a N.C.
hunting license;

(2) non-residents participating in a commission-
sanctioned field trial that uses wildlife shall
possess a N.C. hunting license or a hunting
license from his or her state of residence; and

3 non-residents participating in other types of
field trials that use wildlife shall possess a N.C.
hunting license

() Notwithstanding Paragraph (e) of this Rule, an individual
without a license may participate in commission-sanctioned field
trials for beagles conducted without firearms on private field trial
areas that meet the fencing requirements specified in G.S. 113-
276(k).

(9) It shall be unlawful to carry axes, saws, or climbing irons
while training or running dogs during any closed season for game
animals.

(n) The following conditions shall apply to commission-
sanctioned field trials for retrievers or bird dogs:

(D) shotguns containing live ammunition or
firearms using only blank ammunition shall be
prohibited unless specifically authorized by a
Field Trial Permit;

(2) no wild waterfowl, wild quail, or wild pheasant
shall be used in field trials when shotguns with
live ammunition are permitted;

3) only waterfowl, quail, or pheasants lawfully
obtained from a licensed game bird propagator
shall be authorized for use in field trials where
shotguns with live ammunition are permitted.

4) waterfowl obtained from licensed game bird
propagators for use in field trials when shotguns
with live ammunition are authorized shall be

marked by one of the methods specified in 50
C.F.R. 21.13, including subsequent
amendments and editions, found free of charge
at https://ecfr.federalregister.gov/; and
(5) pheasants or quail obtained from licensed game
bird propagators for use in field trials where
shotguns with live ammunition are authorized
shall be banded by the propagator prior to
delivery with a leg band that is imprinted with
the number of his or her propagation license.
The purchaser of the birds shall obtain a copy
of the receipt from the propagator showing the
date, number of birds purchased, propagator
license number, and species of birds purchased.
A copy of the receipt shall be available for
inspection by representatives of the Wildlife
Resources Commission during the time and at
the place where the trial is being held.
(i) The following conditions shall apply during the closed season
for waterfowl and game birds when training dogs with
domestically raised waterfowl and domestically raised game
birds:

(8] only shotguns with number four size shot or
smaller shall be used,;

2 nontoxic shot shall be used when training dogs
using domestically raised waterfowl;

3 all domestically raised waterfowl shall be

individually tagged on one leg with a seamless
band stamped with the propagation license
number of the facility from which the
domestically raised waterfowl originated; and
4) all other domestically raised game birds shall be
individually tagged on one leg with a band
indicating the propagation license number of
the facility from which the birds originated.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276;
113-291.1; 113-291.5; 50 C.F.R. 21.13;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; January 1, 2013; January 1, 2012;
May 1, 2006; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1991; May 1,
1990;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 10G .0601
ELIGIBILITY
(a) North Carolina residents that are totally and permanently
disabled shall be eligible for the totally disabled lifetime licenses
described in G.S. 113-270.1C, 113-270.1D, 113-271, and 113-
351.
(b) Written certification of a resident's total and permanent
disability as specified in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule shall
be required and submitted to the Wildlife Resources Commission
prior to the issuance of a totally disabled lifetime license.
(c) Written certification of a resident's total and permanent
disability from the following institutions shall be accepted for the
purposes of qualifying for the totally disabled lifetime licenses
specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule:

(D) The Social Security Administration;

TOTALLY DISABLED LICENSE
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(2) The Civil Service Retirement System;

3) The Railroad Retirement Board; and

4) The North Carolina State Retirement System.
(d) Residents not receiving or qualifying for benefits from the
institutions specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule may submit
written certification from a licensed physician, licensed physician
assistant, or certified nurse practitioner that the resident's
impairment qualifies under the categories set forth by the Social
Security Administration in 20 C.F.R. 416.934 for presumptive
disability or presumptive blindness, excluding the impairment
categories specifically applying to infants. 20 C.F.R. 416.934 is
hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions. This regulation may be accessed free
of charge at www.ecfr.gov.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1C; 113-
270.1D; 113-271; 113-351;

Eff. August 1, 2014;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 10H .1003
REQUIREMENTS
(@) Licensed taxidermists shall keep records of each wildlife
specimen delivered and contained within his or her place of
business. Records shall include:

RECORDS AND REPORTING

@ the species and sex of the specimen;

(2) the date the specimen was delivered:;

3) the name and address of the person delivering
the specimen;

4) the name and address of the person responsible

for take of the specimen, if different;
(5) the date and location of the take;

(6) the big game harvest authorization number, if
applicable; and

@) the date and disposition of the mounted
specimen.

Records shall be maintained chronologically by the date the
specimen was delivered. Records shall be retained by the
taxidermist for one year following expiration of the taxidermy
license and shall be made available for inspection by any agent of
the Wildlife Resources Commission.

(b) The records required by the United States Fish and Wildlife
Service under its taxidermy permit regulations for migratory
game birds, as set forth in 50 CFR 21.24, which is hereby
incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and
editions, shall satisfy this Rule, and can be accessed at no cost at
www.ecfr.gov.

(c) Licensed taxidermists required by G.S. 113-273(K) to obtain
the taxidermy cervid certification shall report the following
information of each wildlife specimen of the family Cervidae
delivered and contained within his or her place of business to the
Wildlife Resources Commission on a form available at
www.ncwildlife.org:

1) the county or parish, state, Canadian province,
or foreign country where the take occurred;

2 the big game harvest authorization number or
equivalent out-of-state number; and

3) the species of each cervid.

(d) The information required to be reported in Paragraph (c) of
this Rule shall be received by the Commission prior to the renewal
of a taxidermy cervid certification.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273;

Eff. March 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2020; February 1, 2018.

15A NCAC 10L .0101
LAND

(a) Wildlife Conservation Land is a classification of land that
meets the size and ownership requirements specified in G.S. 105-
277.15 and on which one or more of the use requirements in
Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(3) of this Rule are met and
maintained by the owner under a written Wildlife Habitat
Conservation Agreement with the NC Wildlife Resources
Commission that is submitted by the landowner to the county
where an application for reduced property tax assessment is
requested.

(b) Use Requirements of Wildlife Conservation Land shall
include the following:

WILDLIFE CONSERVATION

(8] Protection of species on the protected animal
list;

2) Conservation of priority wildlife habitats; or

3 Land managed and actively used as a wildlife
reserve.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 105-277.15;
Temporary Adoption Eff. December 3, 2019;
Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 10L .0102 PROTECTION OF SPECIES ON
THE PROTECTED ANIMAL LIST

(a) As specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c) and Rule .0101 of this
Section the protection of species on the protected animal list shall
be a qualifying land use for Wildlife Conservation Land. Eligible
species shall be those designated by the Commission in Section
15A NCAC 10l .0100 as endangered, threatened, or special
concern.

(b) The following conditions shall apply to the qualification of
land as Wildlife Conservation Land under the protection of
species on the protected animal list use requirement:

(8] at least one protected wildlife species shall have
been identified on the land;
2 the landowner shall be required to manage the

land to protect the species through established
strategies identified in the Wildlife Habitat
Conservation Agreement; and

?3) the land shall meet the prior use requirements
specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)(b).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 105-277.15;
Eff. October 1, 2020.
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15A NCAC 10L .0103
WILDLIFE HABITATS
(@) As specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3) and Rule .0101 of this
Section, the conservation of priority wildlife habitats shall be a
qualifying land use for Wildlife Conservation Land. Priority
wildlife habitats shall mean those habitats specified in G.S.105-
277.15(c)(3)(a)(2).

(b) The following conditions shall apply to the qualification of
land as Wildlife Conservation Land under the conservation of
priority wildlife habitat land use requirement:

1) at least one of the priority wildlife habitats
specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)(a)(2) shall
have been identified on the land or planned for
establishment;
the management strategies identified for the
continued existence of the priority wildlife
habitat shall be in place or planned for as
specified in the Wildlife Habitat Conservation
Agreement; and
the land shall meet the prior use requirements
specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)(b).

CONSERVATION OF PRIORITY

@)

3)

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-277.15;
Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 10L .0104 WILDLIFE RESERVE

(@) As specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c) and Rule .0101 of this
Section, land that is managed and actively used as a wildlife
reserve shall be a qualifying land use for Wildlife Conservation
Land. Wildlife reserve shall mean a type of wildlife conservation
land that meets the requirements set forth in G.S. 105-
277.15(c)3.a. Land managed and maintained primarily for human
uses such as large lawns, golf courses, horse pastures, production
agricultural fields, monoculture hayfields, solar energy, and
commercial timber stands shall not qualify as wildlife reserve
land.

(b) As specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)a.3., to qualify as
Wildlife Conservation Land under the wildlife reserve land use
requirement, at least three of the following activities shall be
maintained on the land as agreed upon in the written Wildlife
Habitat Conservation Agreement:

(1) "supplemental food" shall mean annual or
perennial noninvasive plantings that provide a
direct or indirect source of food or nutrition for
wildlife resources.

"supplemental water" shall mean artificial
water features or sources that are created or
installed for the benefit of wildlife resources.
"supplemental shelter" shall mean natural or
artificial structures that are created or installed
to provide shelter from the weather, nesting
sites, or escape cover from predators.
Supplemental shelter may include the addition
of natural or artificial structures into aquatic
habitats.

"habitat control" shall mean the implementation
of practices to establish, restore, enhance, or
maintain upland, wetland, riparian, or aquatic
vegetation or physical aquatic habitat.

)

)

(4)

"erosion  control"  shall mean  the
implementation of practices to prevent, reduce,
or minimize soil erosion. Practices may include
streambank and in-stream channel stabilization.
Practices established for erosion control shall
not be known to harm wildlife or include
invasive plant species.
"predator control" shall mean a practice
implemented to reduce the abundance of a
species or suite of species that preys on any life
stage of wildlife species for which the land is
managed. Predator control includes removal of
invasive animal species to manage or protect
wildlife or wildlife habitats.
"census of animal population on the land" shall
mean conducting or participating in periodic
surveys and inventories to determine the
presence, number, composition, biological
condition, or human use of wildlife.
(¢) Qualifying land shall be inspected at least once every five
years following the date that the conservation agreement is signed
to ensure that at least three of the seven activities specified in
Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(7) of this Rule are maintained.
The following conditions shall apply to the required inspection:
(8] a wildlife biologist employed by a state or
federal agency, a Certified Wildlife Biologist®
credentialed by the Wildlife Society, or a
Certified Fisheries Professional credentialed by
the American Fisheries Society shall perform
the inspection of qualifying land; and
inspections shall be recorded by the wildlife
biologist on a form provided by the
Commission. The landowner shall submit the
completed form to the county tax assessor's
office during the open enrollment period for the
year that the inspection is due.

®)

(6)

Y]

@

History Note:  Authority G.S. 105-277.15;
Eff. October 1, 2020.

EE R S S I S I S I I I S

15A NCAC 18A .2508 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply throughout this Section:
(8] "Department”  means  North  Carolina
Department of Health and Human Services.

2 "Equipment replacement™ means replacement
of individual components of the hydraulic and
disinfection systems such as pumps, filters, and
automatic chemical feeders.

"Public swimming pool" means public
swimming pool as defined in G.S. 130A-280.
Public swimming pools are divided into five

®)

types:

(@) "Swimming pools" are public
swimming pools used primarily for
swimming.

(b) "Spas" are public swimming pools

designed  for  recreational and
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(©)

(d)

()

therapeutic use that are not drained,
cleaned, or refilled after each
individual use. Spas may include units
designed for hydrojet circulation, hot
water, cold water mineral bath, air
induction bubbles, or any combination
thereof. Common terminology for
spas includes "therapeutic pool,"
"hydrotherapy pool,” "whirlpool,"
"hot spa,” and "hot tub."
"Wading pools" are public swimming
pools designed for use by children,
including wading pools for toddlers
and children's activity pools designed
for casual water play ranging from
splashing activity to the use of
interactive water features placed in the
pool.
"Water recreation attractions" are
pools designed for special purposes
that  differentiate  them  from
swimming pools, wading pools, and
spas. They include:
0] water slide plunge pools and
run out lanes, which transfer
the Kinetic energy of the

users'  velocity  through
friction to the slide;

(ii) wave pools;

(iii) rapid rides;

(iv) lazy rivers;

(v) interactive play attractions
that incorporate devices

using sprayed, jetted, or other
water sources contacting the
users and that do not
incorporate  standing  or
captured water as part of the
user activity area;
(vi) training pools deeper than a
24 inch deep wading pool
and shallower than a 36 inch
deep swimming pool; and
artificial swimming lagoons
as defined in G.S. 130A-280.
"Special purpose and therapy pools"”
are pools designed and used for
therapeutic treatments or physical
training and fitness outside of a
licensed medical facility or practice of
a licensed physical therapist. They
include:

(vii)

Q) float tanks used for float
therapy in a salt brine
solution;

(i) swim spa training pools

which use jetted water for
stationary swimming against
a water current;

(4)

®)

(6)

)

®)

9)

(10)

History Note:
88;

Eff. May 1, 1991;

(iii) exercise therapy and
treadmill pools equipped for
water resistance exercise
therapy; and

(iv) scuba pools designed and
used for training swimmers

to use self-contained
underwater breathing
apparatus.

"Registered Design Professional” means an
individual who is registered or licensed to
practice engineering as defined by G.S. 89C or
architecture as defined by G.S. 83A.
"Remodeled” means renovated in a manner
requiring disruption of the majority of the pool
shell or deck, changes in the pool profile, or
redesign of the pool hydraulic system.
"Repair" means returning existing equipment to
working order, replastering or repainting of the
pool interior, replacement of tiles or coping,
and similar maintenance activities. This term
includes replacement of pool decks where the
Department has determined that no changes are
needed to underlying pipes or other pool
structures.

"Safety vacuum release system” means a
system or device capable of providing vacuum
release at a suction outlet caused by a high
vacuum occurrence due to suction outlet flow
blockage.

"Splash zone" means the area of an interactive
play attraction that sheds water to a surge tank
or container to be recirculated.

"Unblockable drain™ means a drain of any size
and shape that a human body cannot
sufficiently block to create a suction entrapment
hazard.

"Water feature" means any component within a
public swimming pool that pumps, jets, or
sprays water above the waterline.

Authority G.S. 130A-280; 130A-282; S.L. 2019-

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1994 for a period of 180 days
or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is

sooner;

Amended Eff. April, 1, 2013; May 1, 2010; March 1, 2004; April
1, 1999; January 1, 1996; October 1, 1994;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A,

rule is necessary without

substantive public interest Eff. July 20, 2019;
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 3, 2019;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 18A .2543

WATER RECREATION

ATTRACTIONS

(a) Upon written request and approval by the Department, water
recreation attractions including water slides, wave pools, rapid
rides, lazy rivers, artificial swimming lagoons, and other similar
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features may deviate from the requirements of this Section with
respect to pool profile, depth, freeboard, flow dynamics and
surface skimming systems. The Department shall approve the
request upon a showing that such deviation performs in a manner
equally to or more protective of public health than the
requirements of this Section based upon design plans and
technical specifications by the designing engineer or equipment
manufacturer. Water recreation attractions shall meet all other
requirements of this Section.

(b) Water slide landing pools with a capacity of less than 60,000
gallons shall have a circulation and filtration system capable of
turning over the entire pool capacity every two hours. Where
automatic chemical controllers are used the turnover time shall be
no more than three hours. Landing pool dimensions shall be
consistent with the slide manufacturer's recommendation.

(c) When waterfalls are incorporated in water recreation
attractions, they shall be constructed with no handholds or
footholds to a height of four feet to discourage climbing.

(d) Interactive play attractions shall be constructed and operated
in accordance with the rules of this Section and shall comply with
the following:

@ The recirculation system shall contain a water
capacity equal to at least three minutes of
maximum flow of all feature pumps and filter
circulation pumps combined and shall not be
less than 1,000 gallons. Where the water
capacity exceeds 10,000 gallons, the minimum
capacity shall be based on the lesser of three
minutes of maximum feature flow or 7.5
gallons per square foot of splash zone
watershed drained to the surge container.

)] Access shall be provided to the surge water
container.
3 A filter circulation system shall be provided and

shall be separate from the feature pump system
except that both systems can draw water from a
common drain pipe if the drain and pipe are
sized to handle the flow of all pumps without
exceeding the flow velocities specified in Rule
.2518 of this Section.

4) The filter circulation system shall draw water
from the surge container through a variable
height surface skimmer and a bottom drain
located no more than 6 inches from the bottom
of the container.

(5) The filter circulation system shall filter and
return the entire water capacity in no more than
30 minutes and shall operate 24 hours a day.

(6) Automatic chemical controllers shall be
provided to monitor and adjust the disinfectant
residual and pH of the water contained in the
system.

(7 The disinfectant residual in interactive play
attractions shall be maintained at a level of at
least two parts per million of free chlorine.
Chlorine feeders shall be capable of producing
12 parts per million of free chlorine in the filter
circulation piping.

(8) Valves shall be provided to control water flow
to the features in accordance with the
manufacturers' specifications.

©)] Splash zones shall be sloped to drains sized and
located to remove all feature water to the surge
tank without water accumulating on the surface.

(10) Deck or walkway space is not required outside
the splash zone.

(11) Dressing and sanitary facilities shall not be
required.

(12) Interactive play features shall not be required to
have a fence except the wading pool fence
requirements shall apply to interactive play
features located inside a swimming pool
enclosure.

(13) The safety provisions of Rule .2530 of this
Section shall not apply except a sign shall be
posted prohibiting pets and glass containers.

(14) Interactive play attractions built prior to April
1, 2004, that do not comply with these design
and construction requirements shall be
permitted to operate as built if no water quality
or safety violations occur under Rules .2535
and .2537 of this Section.

(e) Training pools shall meet the requirements for swimming
pools with the following exceptions:

1) Training pools shall be equipped with a filter
circulation system that filters and returns the
entire pool capacity in no more than two hours.

2) The free chlorine residual in training pools shall
be maintained at no less than two parts per
million.

(f) Artificial swimming lagoons shall meet the requirements for
public swimming pools except as specified in this Rule:

(8] Pool shells shall not be required. Liners shall
meet the requirements of Rule .2514 of this
Section.

2) Underwater components of the artificial
swimming lagoon or float lines with openings
greater than one-half inch shall not be allowed
in swimming zones.

3 All swimming zone float rope components shall
be a color contrasting with the pool liner.
Acrtificial swimming lagoons are not required to
meet the float rope location requirements of
Rule .2523(e) of this Section regarding
breakpoint and slope. A contrasting color band
shall not be required on the liner under the rope.

(@) Each swimming zone and water feature shall
meet water quality standards as required in Rule
.2535 of this Section. If the water quality of a
swimming zone or water feature does not meet
the requirements of Rule .2535 of this Section,
the operator shall close the swimming zone or
water feature and post a sign at the entrance of
the swimming zone with legible letters of at
least four inches (10 cm) in height stating
"ATTENTION: THE SWIMMING ZONE IS
CLOSED. SWIMMING IN THIS AREA IS
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()
(6)

(")
(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

NOT PERMITTED AT THIS TIME." The
swimming zone or water feature shall remain
closed until the water quality in the swimming
zone or water feature complies with the
requirements of Rule .2535 of this Section.

All non-swimming zones shall be maintained so
the bottom of the lagoon is visible in all areas.
A sign shall be posted at all entrances to the
artificial swimming lagoon with legible letters
of at least four inches (10 cm) in height stating
"NOTICE — NO SWIMMING ALLOWED
OUTSIDE OF DESIGNATED SWIMMING
ZONES."

Signage shall be posted indicating swimming
zones.

Depth markings and no diving markers shall be
provided on decks in swimming zones as
required in Rule .2523 of this Section. Signs
shall be posted at all entrances to swimming
zones with legible letters of at least four inches
(10cm) in height stating "NO DIVING" and
stating the maximum depth of the swimming
zone in Arabic numerals and shall include the
word "feet" or the symbol "ft" to indicate the
unit of measure.

Decks at zero entry areas located within
swimming zones are not required to meet the
minimum deck area requirements in Rule .2522
of this Section. Access to swimming zones shall
be provided for emergency vehicles and
personnel. No decks shall be required in non-
swimming zones. The requirements of Rule
.2515(g)(1) of this Section shall not apply to
swimming zones and Rule .2515(g) of this
Section shall not apply to non-swimming zones.
Swimming zones shall meet all safety
provisions as set out in Rule .2530 of this
Section. Where swimming zones are separated
by more than 75 feet, each swimming zone shall
separately meet all safety provisions. Non-
swimming zones are exempt from the
requirements in Rule .2530 of this Section.

A water treatment system that does not meet the
requirements of Rules .2518 and .2519 of this
Section shall be approved by the Environmental
Health Section of the Department's Division of
Public Health when the treatment system
performs in a manner equal or superior to the
systems described in Rules .2518 and .2519 of
this Section in terms of water clarification,
disinfection, and removal of debris, and results
in a disinfectant residual and pH level as
required in Subparagraph (f)(4) of this Rule.
The requirements of Rule .2529 of this Section
and Rule .2526(e)—(h) of this Section shall not
apply. Sanitary facility requirements shall
comply with the 2018 North Carolina State
Building Code: Plumbing Code, which is
incorporated by reference, including any

(13)

(14

(15)

(16)

subsequent amendments or editions and

available free of charge at:

https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/NCPC2018.

Bacteriological samples shall be collected by

the operator in non-swimming zones and tested

weekly. One sample shall be collected for every

250 feet of shoreline, with no more than 300

feet and no less than 25 feet between any two

sampling locations. The samples shall be
collected at least one foot below the surface, in
at least three feet of water. The samples shall be
analyzed by a laboratory accredited by the

North Carolina Drinking Water Laboratory

Certification Program, the North Carolina

Wastewater/Groundwater Laboratory

Certification Program, or the National

Environmental  Laboratory  Accreditation

Program. The test results shall be maintained as

part of the records required in Rule .2535(11)

of this Section.

When the result of any test required by

Subparagraph (f)(13) of this Rule exceeds the

standards in Rule .3402(a) of this Subchapter,

the operator shall:

(A) notify the local health department that
permitted the artificial swimming
lagoon and resample the water within
24 hours of receipt of the result from
the laboratory; and

(B) close all non-swimming zones and
post a sign at all non-swimming zone
entrances with legible letters of at least
four inches (10 cm) in height stating
"ATTENTION: ALL NON-
SWIMMING ZONES ARE
CLOSED. RECREATIONAL
ACTIVITIES IN THIS AREA ARE
NOT PERMITTED AT THIS TIME."
This sign shall remain posted until
resampling determines that bacterial
levels do not exceed the standards in
Rule .3402(a) of this Subchapter.

Non-swimming zones shall not be required to
comply with the lighting requirements of Rule
.2524 of this Section. When night swimming is
allowed, the operator shall provide lighting in
swimming zones as required for public
swimming pools.
The requirements of Rule .2537(b)(16) of this
Section shall not apply. Submersible pumps or
mechanical pool cleaning equipment shall not
be used in swimming zones or within 25 feet of
swimming zones when a swimming zone is
open to bathers. If submersible pumps or
mechanical pool cleaning equipment are used in
non-swimming zones when a non-swimming
zone is open to users, the following conditions
shall apply:
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(A) A registered design professional shall
provide design plans or technical
specifications that demonstrate that
any underwater suction outlets
perform in a manner that is equally
protective or more protective than the
Pool and Hot Tub Alliance's
ANSI/APSP/ICC-7 2013 Standard for
Suction Entrapment Avoidance in
Swimming Pools,  which is
incorporated by reference, including
any subsequent amendments or
editions, and available for a fee of one
hundred sixty-five dollars ($165.00) at
https://www.apsp.org/storel; and

(B) All  floating  components  of
submersible pumps or mechanical
pool cleaning equipment shall be
labeled with a sign above the water
line with legible letters of at least four
inches (10 cm) in a contrasting color
stating: "DANGER: MECHANICAL
EQUIPMENT IN USE. STAY BACK
25 FEET."

a7 The requirements of Rules .2521 and

.2516(f)(1) of this Section shall not apply to

non-swimming zones.

History Note:

39; S.L. 2019-88;
Eff. April 1, 1999;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. July 20, 2019;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 3, 2019;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 130A-280; 130A-282; S.L. 2011-

TITLE 16 - STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

16 NCAC 06B .0111 SCHOOL BUS PASSENGERS

(a) Local education agencies (LEAS) shall provide instruction in
school bus safety to all students during the first five days of each
new school year and at least once during each semester thereafter.
LEAs shall document the date on which training was provided to
each student. This instruction shall include:

(1) basic skills in and knowledge of safe behaviors
in and around school buses and bus stops,
including how to safely walk to school bus
stops, wait at bus stops, load and unload from
buses, ride in buses, cross streets at a bus stop,
and recognize and obey the following North
Carolina crossing signals:

(A) bus driver's extended arm with palm
up to signal to students crossing a
street to wait; and

(B) bus driver's arm extended with
"thumbs up" followed by pointing
with the index finger in the direction

students are waiting to walk to indicate
it is safe to cross the street in that
direction; and

2 instruction in the location and operation of
emergency exits for the vehicle on which they
are riding for any specific trip.

(b) LEAs shall adhere to and enforce the following rules when
operating school buses, activity buses, commercial buses, or other
contracted vehicles.

(D) LEAs shall not allow the number of passengers
being transported to exceed the official rated
capacity for the specific vehicle being used.

2 LEAs shall ensure that all passengers are seated
within the seating compartment, when any bus
or other vehicle is in motion.

3) LEAs shall ensure that no passenger is standing
or sitting in the aisle or stepwell when any bus
or other vehicle is in motion.

(c) LEAs shall require school bus drivers to utilize the North
Carolina crossing signals described in Parts (a)(1)(A) and (B) of
this Rule to communicate to students when it is safe to cross the
street to board the bus and when it is safe to cross the street after
exiting the bus.

(d) LEAs shall provide safety instruction to students riding in
activity buses or commercial buses, including instruction and
demonstration of emergency exit operation for the specific
vehicle in which they are riding.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-240;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0334 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply throughout this Section unless the
context indicates otherwise:

(8] Ratings on the domains of the North Carolina
Educator Evaluation System (NCEES) are in
order of quality (lowest to highest) as follows:
Not Demonstrated, Developing, Proficient,
Accomplished, and Distinguished.

2) "Accomplished" means a teacher who, on the
most recent summative evaluation, has received
ratings of accomplished or higher on three of
the five standards or accomplished on one
standard of an abbreviated evaluation, which
must include Standard 4.

3) "Accredited” or "Regionally Accredited”
means an EPP has received accreditation from
a national accrediting body (the Council for the
Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)
or the Association for Advancing Quality in
Educator Preparation (AAQEP)) or received
accreditation from a regional accrediting body
(Higher Learning Commission (HLC), Middle
States Commission on Higher Education
(MSCHE), New England Commission of
Higher Education (NECHE), Northwest
Commission on Colleges and Universities
(NWCCU), Southern Association of Colleges
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(4)

()
(6)

(")
(8)

©)
(10)

(11)
(12)

(13)
(14)

(15)
(16)
(17)

(18)

(19)

(20)

and Schools Commission on Colleges
(SACSCOC), WASC Senior College and
University Commission (WSCUC)

"Beginning Teacher Support Program" means a
program that provides ongoing support for
teachers entering the profession.

"Beginning teacher" means a teacher who is
within his or her first three years of teaching.
"Career and Technical Education (CTE)
Restricted License" means a three year license
that requires educators to have related work
experience for the CTE program area as well as
a related degree from a regionally accredited
college or university unless it is a high school
diploma level license. CTE Restricted License
holders are restricted to teaching only in the
area of licensure and additional non-CTE
license areas may not be added to the license.
"CPL" means a Continuing Professional
License.

"Distinguished” means a teacher who, on the
most recent summative evaluation, has received
ratings of distinguished on three of the five
standards or on one of distinguished on one for
abbreviated evaluations, which must include
Standard 4.

"ECGC" means Exceptional Children General
Curriculum.

"ELED" means Elementary Education.

"EPP" means an Educator Preparation Program.
"In-State Applicant” means an applicant for
licensure who received training and a
recommendation from a North Carolina
approved Educator Preparation Program (EPP).
"IPL" means an Initial Professional License.
"Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps
(JROTC) License" means a license that is
issued to a former military service person to
teach the federally sponsored school program
which is designed to instill in students the
values of citizenship, service to the United
States, personal responsibility and a sense of
accomplishment.

"NCDPI" or "DPI" means the North Carolina
Department of Public Instruction.

"NCEES" means the North Carolina Educator
Evaluation System.

"NCSBE" or "SBE" means the North Carolina
State Board of Education.

"Out-of-State Applicant” means an applicant
for licensure who receives training and a
recommendation from an approved Educator
Preparation Program (EPP) in another state or
country regardless of residency.

"PEPSC" means the Professional Educator
Preparation and Standards Commission.
"Permit to Teach License" means a one-year
nonrenewable license issued to individuals who
do not qualify for any other type of license.

(21) "Praxis" means the Praxis Core Academic
Skills for Educators assessment.
(22) "Proficient” means a teacher has received

ratings of proficient or higher on three of the
five standards on the most recent summative
evaluation, or on Standards 1 and 4 for teachers
on an Abbreviated Evaluation.

(23) "Provisional License" means an educator
license that is valid for one year and can be
extended for up to five years for a teaching and
student services licensure area or three years for
school counseling and assistant principals at the
request of an LEA.

(24) "Regional Assistance Licensing Center" or
"RALC" is a State Board of Education
authorized educational entity that serves as an
extension of the Department of Public
Instruction licensure section to review
transcripts and prescribe plans of study leading
to licensure for lateral entry, CTE restricted,
and provisional license holders.

(25) "Student Services" means any non-instructional
personnel providing specialized assistance to
students, teachers, administrators, or the
education program in general Student services
personnel include individuals employed in
school counseling, school social work, school
psychology, audiology, speech-language
pathology, and media coordination.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0335 NORTH CAROLINA
EDUCATOR LICENSE FOR AREA OF ASSIGNMENT

An individual employed as an educator in a North Carolina public
school shall hold an educator's license in the licensure area of his
or her assignment.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-295;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0336 LICENSE LEVELS FOR A
NORTH CAROLINA EDUCATOR LICENSE
(a) In order to qualify for a North Carolina educator license, an
applicant must meet all educational requirements appropriate for
the license level issued, as prescribed by a North Carolina State
Board of Education-approved Educator Preparation Program, and
must hold a diploma or degree at the designated level or higher.
(b) The five levels of professional educator licenses available in
North Carolina are as follows:
@ "V" which requires a High School Diploma or
Associates Degree and is only appropriate for
Career and Technical Education (CTE) and
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Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps
(JROTC) licenses;

(2) "A" which requires a Bachelor's Degree;

(3) "M" which requires a Master's Degree;

4) "S" which requires a Specialist or Advanced
Degree; and

(5) "D" which requires a Doctorate Degree.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-295;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0337 BASIC ENTITY DATATO
APPLY FOR A NORTH CAROLINA EDUCATOR
LICENSE
All applicants for a North Carolina educator license shall provide
the following basic entity data through the North Carolina
Department of Public Instruction's secure, online licensure
system:

@ Social Security Number;

)] Full legal name;

3 Date of birth;

(@) Mailing address;

(5) Telephone number; and

(6) Non-school email address.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0338 LICENSURE TRANSACTION
CHECKLIST TO APPLY FOR A NORTH CAROLINA
EDUCATOR LICENSE
In addition to basic entity data required by Rule .0337 of this
Section, any applicant applying for a North Carolina educator
license shall provide documentation to complete the licensure
transaction checklist, which includes the following:
(1) Statement of applicant, which is an attestation
of applicant regarding previous criminal
conviction or adverse action taken against a
professional license, and supporting documents

if applicable;

2 Education as provided by Rule .0336 of this
Section;

3 File attachments to support statements made on

the licensure application;

4) All official degree dated transcripts;

(5) Verification by institution form and any
applicable valid and current out-of-state
educator license;

(6) Work Authorization, if applicable;

(7 National Board Certification, if applicable;

(8) Effectiveness data as defined by Rule .0354 of
this Section, if applicable;

9) Experience forms, if applicable;

(10) Test scores, if applicable; and

(11) Licensure Fees as provided for by Rule .0371
of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.10; 115C-270.15; 115C-270.20;
115C-270.25;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0339 REQUIREMENTS TO BE
ISSUED A CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL LICENSE
FOR AN EDUCATOR

In addition to the requirements set forth in G.S. 115C-
270.20(a)(1), an applicant seeking a Continuing Professional

License (CPL) shall:
1) hold a current teaching license in North
Carolina or another state;
2 pass the North Carolina licensure exam(s)

associated with the license area or a comparable
exam if from another state; and

©) Submit effectiveness data as described in Rule
.0354 of this Section, if the applicant is from
out-of-state.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.25;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0340 REQUIREMENTS TO BE
ISSUED AN INITIAL PROFESSIONAL LICENSE FOR
AN EDUCATOR

In addition to the requirements set forth in G.S. 115C-
270.20(a)(3), to be issued an Initial Professional License (IPL), an
applicant shall submit the following information:

(8] official degree dated transcripts;

2 recommendation by the EPP or approval by the
SBE; and

3 any applicable valid and current out-of-state

educator license.
If an applicant is seeking direct approval from the SBE, the hiring
or employing Local Education Agency shall submit an
application. The SBE shall approve the applicant if he or she has
completed all the academic, field, clinical, and professional
requirements for licensure as prescribed for program completion
by his or her cooperating EPP, except passing licensure exams.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.15; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06C .0341 REQUIREMENTS TO BE
ISSUED A RESIDENCY LICENSE
(a) To be issued a Residency License (RL) at the request of a
local board of education pursuant to G.S. 115C-270.20(a)(5), an
applicant must meet all SBE requirements appropriate for the
license as follows:

(D) Submit official degree dated transcripts;
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(2) Be employed by a LEA;

3) Have either completed 24 hours of coursework
relevant to the requested licensure area or
passed the content area examination relevant to
the requested licensure area that has been
approved by the SBE; and

4) Be enrolled in a SBE approved EPP.

(b) The information required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, other
than the official degree dated transcripts, must be verified on the
Residency License form by the LEA and EPP.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06C .0342 REQUIREMENTS TO ADD A
PROVISIONAL TEACHING AREA TO ANORTH
CAROLINA EDUCATOR LICENSE

(@) A provisional license to teach in a licensure area may be added
as described in Rule .0344 of this Section to a Continuing
Professional License (CPL), Initial Professional License (IPL),
and Career and Technical Education (CTE) Restricted license
issued at the license levels A, M, S, or D as described in Rule
.0336 of this Section.

(b) To “clear" a teaching provisional license, an educator must
pass required licensure exams or complete 24 coursework hours
for the licensure area.

(c) To "clear" a student services or assistant principal provisional
license, an educator must complete an approved licensure
program.

(d) CTE Restricted licensees must clear provisionally added
license area(s) by meeting State Board of Education requirements.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C- 68.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0344 REQUIREMENTS TO BE

ISSUED A PROVISIONAL LICENSE FOR STUDENT

SERVICES PERSONNEL AND TEACHERS

(@ To be issued a Provisional License, an applicant shall

complete all State Board of Education (SBE) requirements for the

license areas as follows:

(D) School Counselor Licensee shall:
@ Be enrolled in an accredited school

counselor preparation program and
have completed a minimum of 24
graduate semester hours of that
program  with  completion  of
remaining requirements within three
years; or have completed a master's
degree in addiction; career; clinical
mental health; clinical rehabilitation;
college counseling and student affairs;

marriage, couple, and family
counseling; or rehabilitation
counseling from a  regionally

@

©)

(4)

®)

(6)

(b)

(©

accredited college or university and be
enrolled in an accredited school
counselor preparation program to
complete additional master's level
courses needed to add school
counseling specialization with
completion of remaining requirements
within three years;

Submit  official degree  dated
transcripts to document verification of
a bachelor's degree; and

Be employed by an LEA.

School Social Work Licensee shall:

(a)
(b)

(©

Be employed by an LEA;

Have completed a bachelor's, master's,
specialist, or doctoral degree in social
work; and
Submit
transcripts.

official  degree  dated

Media Coordinator Licensee shall:

(a)
(b)

(©

Be employed by an LEA;

Obtainan "A" level teaching license or
bachelor's degree in media or have
completed 18 graduate semester hours
applicable toward a school media
coordinator program; and

Submit  official degree  dated
transcripts.

School Psychology Licensee shall:

()
(b)

(©

Curriculum and

Be employed by an LEA,

Have completed all  program
requirements at the graduate level
except for the thesis or internship and
submit written confirmation from the
college or university at which the
individual has matriculated concurrent
with the individual's employment; and
Submit  official degree  dated
transcripts.

Instructional ~ Specialist

Licensee shall:

(@)
(b)

(©

Be employed by an LEA,

Obtain a Master's level teaching
license and have a minimum of five
years of teaching experience in that
license area
Submit  official
transcripts.

degree  dated

Exceptional Children Program Administrator
Licensee shall:

(a)
(b)

(©

Be employed by an LEA,

Obtain a Master's level license in an
exceptional children's area,
curriculum instruction, or school
administration, or graduate level
license in school psychology; and
Submit  official degree  dated
transcripts.
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@) Teaching Area Licensee shall be employed by
an LEA.
(b) A Provisional license for a Student Services Licensee may be
issued at a degree level other than that required for the Educator
Preparation Program (EPP) recommendation.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06C .0346 REQUIREMENTS TO BE
ISSUED A PERMIT TO TEACH

To be issued a Permit to Teach, which is a one-year nonrenewable
license, an applicant must complete all requirements as follows:

1) Be employed by a local education agency
(LEA);

(2) Submit documentation from the LEA that no
appropriately licensed professionals or persons
who are eligible for a residency license are
available to accept the position; and

3 Hold a bachelor's degree and do not qualify for
a license under any other pathway.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06C .0349 COMPARABILITY FOR OUT-
OF-STATE LICENSURE EXAMS

(@ An out-of-state licensure exam shall be considered
comparable to the North Carolina State Board of Education (SBE)
approved licensure exam if:

(D) The out-of-state licensure exam satisfied one
component of the licensure process in that state
at the time the exam was taken; and

(2) The out-of-state applicant demonstrates a score
on the exam that meets or exceeds the passing
score, or range of scores, established by the test
developer.

(b) An out-of-state applicant for the initial professional license
(IPL) or continuing professional license (CPL) shall meet the SBE
required exam score when comparable testing is the same test
code and produced by the same test developer.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.15; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0350 DURATION OF AN INITIAL
PROFESSIONAL LICENSE

(@) An IPL issued pursuant to G.S. 115C-270.20(a)(3) and Rule
.0340 of this Section shall begin July 1 of the fiscal year the
license is issued and end June 30 of the third year following.

(b) An IPL may be extended to allow an individual to accrue
sufficient teaching experience to convert to a CPL, provided that

all testing requirements for converting to a CPL have been met as
referenced in Rule .0339 of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0351 TESTING REQUIREMENTS TO
CONVERT AN EXPIRED LICENSE

If a license expires due to failure to pass the licensure exams
required by the SBE for the license area, an individual may still
convert to a CPL once he or she has passed the licensure exam(s),
provided that all requirements as referenced in Rule .0339 of this
Section are met.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0352 TESTING REQUIREMENTS TO
CONVERT A LATERAL ENTRY LICENSE

If a current Lateral Entry License expires due to the holder's
failure to pass a State Board of Education required licensure
exam, an individual may still convert the license until June 30,
2022 once testing requirements are met, and upon
recommendation by a state-approved Educator Preparation
Program or the Regional Assistance Licensing Center (RALC).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0353 DEADLINE FOR LICENSURE
TESTING REQUIREMENTS

The deadline for an individual to complete State Board of
Education licensure testing requirements is June 30 of the third
year of the license.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0354 EVIDENCE OF TEACHER
EFFECTIVENESS FOR AN OUT-OF-STATE
APPLICANT SEEKING A CONTINUING
PROFESSIONAL LICENSE
An applicant who possesses three or more years of teaching
experience and holds an IPL or its equivalent in a state other than
North Carolina shall be eligible for a continuing professional
license, provided that he or she submits to the Department of
Public Instruction evidence of his or her effectiveness, which shall
include the following:

(D) a copy of a current, valid out-of-state teaching

license in good standing;
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(2) information identifying all of the schools and
school systems in which the applicant is
teaching or has taught;

3) documentation of effective instructional
practice in the form of a written classroom
observation evaluation; and

4) documentation of teacher effectiveness:

@ documentation of teacher
effectiveness as measured by the
evaluation system used in that
applicant's state of current licensure at
the time of application, including any
growth measures included in that state
or school district's evaluation system,
along with relevant documentation
corresponding to each submitted item
of evidence indicating the scale by
which effectiveness is measured
affirming that the applicant was
deemed effective; or

(b) a notarized letter from the State
Education Agency (SEA) affirming
that the teacher was deemed effective
according to that state's educator
effectiveness model.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.25;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0355 LICENSURE TESTING
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS
WITH FEWER THAN THREE YEARS OF TEACHING
EXPERIENCE

An out-of-state applicant with fewer than three years of teaching
experience must pass the North Carolina State Board of Education
approved licensure examinations, provided, if the applicant is
seeking an IPL in a teaching area other than ELED or ECGC, he
or she can submit his or her score on a different examination in a
comparable teaching area if that score meets or exceeds the test
developer's recommended cut score for that examination in the
year administered.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0357 REQUIREMENTS TO BE
ISSUED AN INTERNATIONAL FACULTY LICENSE
(@ An applicant for an International Faculty License must
complete all requirements as follows:
1) hold a cultural exchange visa;
2 hold a baccalaureate degree from an institution
with accreditation comparable to regional
accreditation in the United States;

?3) meet the requirements to teach in a country in
which he or she has resided during the past
three years; and

(@) have two years
experience.

(b) The applicant may extend the license for an additional two
years at the request of the employing LEA or charter school and
submission of documentation of an extension of the visa from the
U.S. Department of State.

(c) The International Faculty license holder shall qualify for the
standard Initial Professional License (IPL), Continuing
Professional License (CPL), Residency License, and Career
Technical Education (CTE) Restricted License upon meeting all
license requirements and providing U.S. Department of State.
work authorization.

(d) International Faculty License holders must provide an
evaluation of an international transcript for education equivalency
from a professional evaluation agency such as International
Education Evaluation, LLC, and members of the National
Association for Credential Evaluation Services.

(e) An International Faculty License is issued at the A Level with
zero years of experience and remains at that level for the duration
of that license.

of classroom teaching

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0358 RESTRICTIONS TO BE ISSUED
AN ALTERNATIVE LICENSE

Once an individual holds a Residency License the individual may
not hold a Permit to Teach or Emergency License.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0359 RESTRICTIONS FOR AN
EMERGENCY LICENSE

(a) The issuance of an Emergency License pursuantto G.S. 115C-
270.20(a)(2) to an individual shall not guarantee that the license
holder will qualify for any other type of licensure.

(b) The Emergency License shall be issued only at the A-level
but may qualify for experience credit as referenced in Rules .0364
and .0365 of this Section.

(c) An Emergency License shall not be granted an extension.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0360 APPLICANT ELIGIBILITY TO
BE ISSUED A LIFETIME LICENSE

Administrator and student-support licenses are not eligible for the
Lifetime License; however, administrators and other student-
support professionals are eligible for a Lifetime License in an
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approved teaching area provided they have met the 30-year
requirement pursuant to G.S. 115C-270.20(a)(4).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0361 RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR AN EDUCATOR WHO HAS NOT
DEMONSTRATED PROFICIENCY ON THE ANNUAL
EVALUATION

(@ An educator whose Continuing Professional License (CPL)
expires due to performance issues in the license renewal year may
be placed on a mandatory improvement plan by the employing
Local Education Agency (LEA).

(b) An educator whose Continuing Professional License (CPL)
expires due to performance issues in the license renewal year and
who is placed on a mandatory improvement plan may be eligible
to receive an Initial Professional License (IPL) provided all other
licensure requirements are met.

(c) The term of the mandatory improvement plan shall be 90
instructional days or before the beginning of the next school year
for teachers in schools identified as low performing and at least
60 instructional days for teachers in schools not identified as low
performing.

(d) An educator whose Continuing Professional License (CPL)
expires due to performance issues in the license renewal year and
who is not placed on a mandatory improvement plan shall be
deemed to have an “expired” teaching license.

(e) An educator whose license has expired pursuant to Paragraph
(d) of this Rule shall be eligible to apply for an IPL after a 30-day
waiting period.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.30; 115C-333;
115C-333.1;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0362 RENEWAL CREDIT
REQUIREMENTS TO RENEW A CONTINUING
PROFESSIONAL LICENSE FOR TEACHERS AND
SUPPORT SERVICE PERSONNEL

A teacher or student services personnel who holds a Continuing
Professional License (CPL) shall meet the following renewal
credit requirements:

1) A teacher with a K-12 license must meet the
licensure renewal requirements as set forth in
this Rule for the grade-span corresponding to
their teaching assignment.

(2) A teacher of grades K-5 must complete 8.0

renewal credits during the term of his or her
license that meet the following requirements:

€) 3 renewal credits in their academic
subject area;
(b) 3 renewal credits addressing literacy

pursuant to G.S. 115C-270.30(b)(2);
and

©

2 renewal credits addressing the
Digital Learning Competencies.

?3) A teacher of grades 6-12 must complete 8.0
renewal credits during the term of his or her
license that meet the following requirements:
@ 3 renewal credits in their academic

subject areas;

(b) 2 renewal credits addressing the
Digital Learning Competencies; and

(c) 3 general credits at the discretion of
the employing LEA, other than credit
for teaching experience.

4 Student services personnel must complete 8.0
renewal credits during each five-year renewal
cycle that meet the following requirements:

@ 3 renewal credits that align with the
expectations of the North Carolina
standards for their professional
discipline area;

(b) 2 renewal credits addressing the
Digital Learning Competencies; and

(c) 3 general credits at the discretion of
the employing LEA, other than credit
for teaching experience.

5) Educators completing the National Board for

Professional Teaching Standards certification
process shall earn all 8.0 renewal credits for
completion of the process and certification.
Educators who are in the national board
renewal cycle shall earn two credits.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.1; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.30;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06C .0363 RENEWAL CREDIT
REQUIREMENTS TO RENEW A CONTINUING
PROFESSIONAL LICENSE FOR SCHOOL
ADMINISTRATORS

School administrators must complete 8.0 renewal credits during
the term of the license that meet the following requirements:

1) 3 renewal credits that focus on the school
executive’s role as instructional, human
resources, and managerial leader;

2 2 renewal credits addressing the Digital
Learning Competencies; and

3 3 general credits at the discretion of the

employing LEA, not to include years of work
experience.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.30; 115C-284;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.
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16 NCAC 06C .0364
SALARY PURPOSES
(@) For the purposes of establishing teaching experience credit
requirements as a North Carolina educator to meet G.S. 115C-
302.1, an educator must work for at least 15 hours per week in
order for the experience to be considered for receiving teaching
experience on an educator license in a local education agency
(LEA) on a prorated basis.

(b) An educator in an LEA or college may combine full-time
experience of less than six calendar months in one fiscal year with
another fiscal year of part-time or full-time experience to equal
one year of experience credit to receive teaching experience.

(c) An educator may receive teaching experience on their license
for college teaching based on the number of clock hours spent in
the classroom teaching per week. Six class hours per week shall
be considered half-time teaching and twelve class hours per week
shall be considered full-time teaching.

(d) With a recommendation from the employing LEA, an
educator may establish non-teaching experience working as a
tutor, clerical paraprofessional, or substitute teacher.

(e) For purposes of this Rule, "full-time" means 30 hours of work
per week and "part-time" means at least 15 hours of work per
week.

EXPERIENCE CREDIT FOR

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;115C-302.1;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06C .0365 NON-TEACHING WORK
EXPERIENCE CREDIT REQUIREMENTS FOR NORTH
CAROLINA EDUCATORS
(@ An educator may receive credit for non-teaching work
experience when it is determined to be relevant and directly
related to the educator's work assignment and license held.
(b) For the purposes of this Rule, "non-teaching work experience"
means professional work experience in public or private sectors
that is directly related to an individual's area of licensure and work
assignment, including the following:
(1) work experience earned while self-employed if
it is verified by a tax attorney or an accountant
who prepared the educator's tax returns or by a
company Co-Owner; or
2 full-time non-teaching work experience of less
than six calendar months in one fiscal year if
when combined with another fiscal year of part-
time or full-time non-teaching work experience
equals at least one year of experience credit.
(c) Credit for non-teaching work experience is not transferable to
other licensure areas for which the experience is not relevant.
(d) To be eligible for credit, the non-teaching work experience
must meet the following criteria:
1) was at least half-time, which is defined as 20
hours or more per week or full time, which is
defined as 40 hours or more per week;

2 was completed after age 18;
3) did not include on-the-job training; and
4) was paid and documented.

(¢) An educator may receive credit for one year of work
experience for every two years of full-time relevant work
experience completed prior to earning a bachelor's degree or may
receive credit for one year of experience for each year of full-time
relevant non-teaching work experience completed after earning a
bachelor's degree.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-302.1; 115C-302.3;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0366 EXPERIENCE CREDIT
REQUIREMENTS FOR CAREER AND TECHNICAL
EDUCATION TEACHERS

For purposes of calculating salary, Career and Technical
Education (CTE) license holders shall receive one year of
teaching experience credit for each year of experience in CTE
trade or industry relevant to their licensure area prior to becoming
a teacher.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-151; 115C-153;
115C-154; 115C-156; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5;
115C-302.1; 115C-302.3;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0367 EXPERIENCE CREDIT
REQUIREMENTS FOR JUNIOR RESERVE OFFICERS'
TRAINING CORPS INSTRUCTORS

Junior Reserve Officers' Training Corps (JROTC) instructors who
completed partial service in both active duty and the Military
Reserve that totals at least 20 years shall receive 10 years of
teaching experience credit for the purposes of calculating salary,
provided the service member retired honorably.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-302.1; 115C-302.3;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0369 REQUIREMENTS FOR AN
EDUCATOR TO BE GRANTED MASTER'S DEGREE
LEVEL PAY

(@) The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
(NCDPI) shall authorize salary on the master's degree level salary
schedule for professional educators who hold master's degrees or
advanced degrees that do not lead to a professional educator
license if the following criteria are met:

1) the master's or higher-level degree is from a
regionally accredited Educator Preparation
Program (EPP);

2) the master's or higher-level degree is in an
education or subject area directly related to an
existing area of licensure and current teaching
assignment or instructional support
responsibilities; and

35:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 2, 2020




APPROVED RULES

3) the educator's assignment for 50 percent or
more of the school day is in the area for which
the master's or higher-level degree applies.

(b) Teachers and student services personnel who complete a
degree at the master's, six-year, or doctoral degree level must
have:

(1) completed at least one course toward that
degree prior to August 1, 2013; or
2 met the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this

Rule for the salary supplement on or before

June 30, 2013.
(c) The recognized regional accreditation bodies include the
Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, the New
England Association of Schools and Colleges, the North Central
Association of Colleges and Schools, the Northwest Commission
on Colleges and Universities, the Southern Association of
Colleges and Schools, and the Western Association of Schools
and Colleges.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-302.1; S.L. 2014-100, s. 8.22;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0370 EXPERIENCE CREDIT AND
GRADUATE PAY RESTRICTIONS ENFORCED BY THE
APPEALS PANEL

An educator shall not be awarded experience credit if the Appeals
Panel deems the experience or degree not to be related to the areas
of licensure and work assignment. An educator shall not be
awarded graduate pay if the Appeals Panel deems the master's or
higher level degree to be not directly related to the areas of work
assignment for 50 percent or more of the school day. Should an
educator disagree with a decision regarding an experience credit
or graduate pay, he or she can appeal to Office of Administrative
Hearings by 60 days after the denial of the request for the credit.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-302.1;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0371 LICENSURE FEES FOR NORTH
CAROLINA EDUCATORS

(a) At the time an educator submits an application requesting one
or more of the licensure services listed below, the educator must
pay either the fee specified for the single service requested or the
highest of the fees specified for each of several services requested:

1) Issue an In-State Initial Professional License -
$70.00
(2) Issue an Out-of-State Initial Professional

License - $100.00

3) Extend Provisional License Area - $60.00

4) Delete License Area - $60.00

(5) Change Work Authorization - $60.00

(6) Add Area by Program Completion - $60.00

) Add Experience - $60.00

(8) Add Area by Test or 24 Semester Hours -
$60.00

9) Add National Board Certification - $60.00
(10) Clear Validation - $60.00
(11) Upgrade or Clear License Area - $60.00
(12) Issue a Late Renewal - $35.00
(13) Change Name on a License - $60.00
(14) Update Contact Information — No fee
(15) Correct an Education Record — No fee
(16) Issue Verification of a North Carolina License
- $30.00
a7 Provide a Copy of Files or Test Scores - $30.00
(18) Add Research Experience - $30.00
(19) Issue Initial Alternative License - $100.00
(20) Validate an Expired Continuing Professional
License - $60.00
(21) Extend an Initial Professional License - $60.00
(22) Recommend Converting an Initial Professional
License to a Continuing Professional License -
$60.00
(23) Convert to Lateral Entry License - $60.00
(24) Convert to Career and Technical Education
Restricted License - $60.00
(25) Add Alternative Area - $60.00
(26) Authorize Masters Pay - $60.00
27) Renew a License - $35.00
(28) Upgrade of Clear License Area - $60.00
(29) Convert to Initial Professional License - $60.00
(30) Convert to Continuing Professional License -
$60.00
(b) All licensure fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable.
(¢) An educator shall not submit an application for any service
for which they do not currently qualify, provided, an educator may
submit an application for a service pending notification of a
nondiscretionary act of a third party.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.10;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0372 DENYING A LICENSE
APPLICATION OR SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF
A LICENSE ISSUED BY THE NORTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

(a) The State Board of Education (SBE), with regard to a license
issued by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
(DPI), may deny an application, suspend a license pending an
investigation, or revoke a license due to findings of fact related to
such an investigation for the following reasons:

@ fraud, material  misrepresentation,  or
concealment in the application for the license;

2) changes in or corrections of the license
documentation that make the individual
ineligible to hold a license;

?3) conviction or entry of a plea of no contest, as an
adult, to a crime if there is reasonable and
adverse relationship between the underlying
crime and the continuing ability of the person to
perform any of their professional functions;
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4) final dismissal of a person by a local board
pursuant to G.S. 115C.325(e)(1)b if there is a
reasonable and adverse relationship between
the underlying misconduct and the continuing
ability of the person to perform any of their
professional functions;

(5) final dismissal of a person by a Local Education
Agency (LEA) due to physical or mental
incapacity under G.S.115C.325(e)(1)e;

(6) resignation from employment with an LEA
without thirty calendar days’ notice, except

with the prior consent of the local
superintendent;

@) revocation of a license by another state;

(8) any other illegal, unethical, or lascivious

conduct by a person if there is a reasonable and
adverse relationship between the underlying
conduct and the continuing ability of the person
to perform any of their professional functions in
an effective manner; and

9 failure to report revocable conduct as required
by law as referenced in Rule .0373 of this
Section.

(b) When deciding to deny, suspend, or revoke a license, the SBE
shall consider, among other factors, the severity of the infraction;
the impact of misconduct on students, teachers, and school
community; the degree of culpability; the degree of remorse; the
evidence of reformed behavior; subsequent incidents of
misconduct; the probability of recidivism; and the continuing
effect of the infraction on ability to perform duties.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-325;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0373 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
FOR SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE BY A LOCAL
EDUCATION AGENCY ADMINISTRATOR TO THE
SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

(@ In addition to any duty to report suspected child abuse
pursuant to G.S. 115C-400, any superintendent, assistant
superintendent, associate superintendent, personnel administrator
or principal, who knows or has reason to believe that a licensed
employee of the local education agency has engaged in behavior
that would justify automatic revocation of the employee’s license
pursuant to G.S. 115C-270.35(b) or involves physical or sexual
abuse of a child, shall report that information to the
Superintendent of Public Instruction no later than five working
days after the date of a dismissal or other disciplinary action or
the acceptance of a resignation based upon that conduct.

(b) For purposes of this section, the term “physical abuse” shall
mean the infliction of physical injury other than by accidental
means and other than in self-defense. The term “sexual abuse”
shall mean the commission of any sexual act upon a student or
causing a student to commit a sexual act, regardless of age of the
student and regardless of the presence or absence of consent.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-400;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0374 INVESTIGATION
REQUIREMENTS TO DETERMINE REASONABLE
CAUSE TO SUSPEND OR REVOKE AN EDUCATOR
LICENSE

(@) Upon the receipt of a written request and substantiating
information from anyone in a position to present credible
information as a basis for the suspension or revocation of a
person’s license, the Superintendent of Public Instruction shall
conduct an investigation sufficient to determine whether cause
exists to believe that the person’s license should be suspended or
revoked.

(b) If the Superintendent determines that cause exists to believe
that the person’s license should be suspended or revoked on one
or more of the grounds specified in Rule .0372 of this Section, the
Superintendent shall prepare written charges on behalf of the State
Board of Education (SBE).

(c) The SBE shall provide the person with a copy of the written
charges, and notify the person that it will revoke the person's
license unless the person, within 60 days of receipt of notice,
initiates administrative proceedings under Article 3, Chapter
150B of the General Statutes. The notice will be sent certified
mail, return receipt requested.

(d) If the person initiates administrative proceedings, the SBE
shall defer action on the matter until receipt of a final decision as
provided for in G.S. 150B-34. If the person does not initiate
administrative proceedings or voluntarily surrender his or her
license within 60 days of receipt of notice, the decision of the SBE
to suspend or revoke becomes effective at the expiration of the 60
day period for initiating an administrative proceeding.

(e) The SBE may suspend an individual’s license for a stated
period of time or may revoke the license, depending upon such
factors as: the severity of the infraction, the impact of the
infraction on the individual’s ability to perform duties, and
rehabilitation efforts and activities.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-325;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0375 VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OF
AN EDUCATOR LICENSE

The State Board of Education (SBE) may accept the voluntary
surrender of a license in lieu of seeking revocation of the license,
if, following an investigation in accordance with Rule .0374 of
this Section or G.S. 115C-325.9(a)(3), the SBE determines that
the surrender of a license will not compromise public safety or
security. As a result of the voluntary surrender of a license, the
SBE shall make findings of fact regarding the circumstances
surrounding the voluntary surrender to demonstrate that grounds
existed under which the SBE could have initiated license
revocation proceedings. If circumstances associated with the
reason for voluntary surrender meet Rule .0376 of this Section,
the applicant shall not be eligible for reinstatement of a license.
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The SBE shall treat a voluntary surrender the same as a revocation
for the purposes of reporting as referenced in Rule .0377 of this
Section.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-325.9;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0376 REINSTATEMENT OR
ISSUANCE OF A SUSPENDED, REVOKED, OR DENIED
LICENSE

The SBE shall reinstate a suspended or revoked license or shall
grant a new license after denial of a license upon an individual's
application submitted no sooner than six months after the
suspension, revocation, or denial and a determination that:

(1) the action that resulted in suspension,
revocation or denial of the license did not
involve abuse of minors, acts of moral
turpitude, or grounds listed in G.S. 115C-
325(e)(1)b.,f.,h., or the grounds listed in Rule
.0372(1), (3), or (8) of this Section;

)] the individual has no record of subsequent
behavior that could have resulted in license
revocation as referenced in G.S.115C-270.35
and Rule .0372 of this Section; and

3) there is no court order or judicial determination
that would prohibit the individual from
returning to or holding a licensed position.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-325;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0378 CIRCUMSTANCES FOR
SEEKING EXCEPTION FROM LICENSURE
REQUIREMENTS

(@) The SBE shall, upon request, grant one year extensions of
time to satisfy licensure requirements upon a showing of
"extenuating circumstances" for individuals who:

(1) Following initial licensure, have not completed
the course work required to maintain a license;
or

2 Have not met other licensure requirements.

(b) "Extenuating circumstances" shall be defined as the
unpredictable illness or disability of the teacher, the death,
disability, or illness of a member of the teacher's family, or other
unforeseeable emergencies beyond the control of the teacher,
provided that the emergency had a direct and immediate impact
on the teacher's ability to complete the licensure requirements.
(c) The process for requesting an extension is outlined in Rule
.0379 of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0379 ONE-YEAR EXTENSION
PROCESS FOR COURSEWORK REQUIREMENTS TO
FULFILL LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

A Local Education Agency (LEA) may apply to the State Board
of Education for a one-year extension of time to satisfy State
licensure requirements for an individual who, due to extenuating
circumstances, has not completed the course work required to
maintain a license. The application for this extenuating
circumstance shall include the documentation set forth in this
Rule.

(D) A document, signed by the individual, which
includes:

(a) a description of the extenuating
circumstances that the teacher claims
prevented him or her from satisfying
the requirements for licensure;

(b) a request for an extension of his or her
license for one additional year to
complete the course work required to
maintain a license; and

(c) an acknowledgment that the teacher
understands that the materials
submitted to the State Board of
Education in support of his or her
request are public records subject to
disclosure under Chapter 132 of the
North Carolina General Statutes.

2) Copies of medical or other documentation to
support the individual's claim of extenuating
circumstances.

3 A document, signed by the North Carolina
principal who most recently supervised the
individual, which includes:

(@) the dates the principal supervised the
teacher;
(b) evidence of the individual's academic

and professional preparation showing
that the individual is competent to
teach the standard course of study and
has demonstrated the ability to
implement  effective  educational
methods that provide differentiated,
individualized instruction, assessment
and remediation to all his or her
students;

(c) a statement that in the principal’s
opinion the teacher is competent to
teach the standard course of study and
has demonstrated the ability to
implement  effective  educational
methods that provide differentiated,
individualized instruction, assessment
and remediation to the students in his
or her classroom; and

(d) a copy of any of the individual's
summative annual evaluations for the
past three years.

@) A document, signed by the superintendent of
the local school system, which includes:
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@ a statement certifying that, based upon
a review of the individual's and the
principal's documentation and
evidence, the superintendent believes
the individual is competent to teach
the standard course of study and has
demonstrated the ability to implement
effective educational methods that
provide differentiated, individualized
instruction, assessment and
remediation to the students in his or
her classroom;

(b) a list of the required course work that
the applicant has completed;

(c) a description of the efforts that the
local school administrative unit has
made to assist the teacher to complete
the required course work;

(d) a list of the required course work that
the applicant must complete to qualify
for a license;

(e) a description of the efforts that the
local school administrative unit will
make to assist the teacher to complete
the required course work during the
next year of teaching; and

0] a statement that the superintendent
believes that the applicant is likely to
complete the required course work
within the one-year extension.

(5) a document, signed by the chair of the local
board of education, which includes:

@ a certification that the local board of
education has investigated the
extenuating circumstances that the
teacher claims prevented him or her
from completing the required
coursework for a license without
undue hardship;

(b) a statement that the local board of
education is satisfied that the teacher's
description of the circumstances is
true;

(© a statement that the local board of
education is satisfied that, due to
extenuating circumstances, the teacher
could not have completed the required
coursework for a license without
undue hardship; and

(d) a certification that the local board of
education  has  approved  the
employment of the teacher for the next
school year, subject only to the State
Board of Education's decision to grant
the requested one-year extension of
the teacher’s provisional license.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06C .0380 DECISION OF THE STATE
BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR A REQUESTED
EXTENSION FOR AN EDUCATOR'S LICENSE

(&) An IPL holder may request of the State Board of Education
an extension of time to complete licensure requirements for the
purposes of converting an IPL to a CPL. The State Board of
Education shall make a decision whether to grant the requested
extension based on the IPL holder's extenuating circumstances
unless otherwise prohibited by state or federal law.

(b) "Extenuating circumstances” means the illness or physical
disability of the teacher; the death or catastrophic illness of a
member of the teacher's immediate family; or other unforeseeable
emergencies, beyond the reasonable control of the teacher, that
have a direct and immediate impact on the teacher's ability to
complete the licensure requirements.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-270.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0381 BEGINNING TEACHER
SUPPORT PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS
(@) All public school units must have a Beginning Teacher
Support Program (BTSP) and a Beginning Teacher Support
Program Plan (BTSP Plan) that has been approved by the public
school unit and by NCDPI. The requirements for a BTSP Plan are
the following:
(8] Align with BTSP Standards, which include:
(A) promoting the commitment of all
stakeholders in seeing mentoring and
induction programs succeed;
(B) articulating the process and criteria for
mentor selection, discusses mentor

roles and responsibilities and
delineates  foundational mentor
training;

© providing protected time to Beginning
Teachers (BT) with support to achieve
success in the areas set forth by the
North Carolina Professional Teaching
Standards as described in Rule .0385;
(D) providing BTs professional
development that orients them in their
new career and supports their efforts to
meet the North Carolina Professional
Teaching Standards as described in
Rule .0385; and
(E) monitoring and supporting BTs and
mentoring programs using a formative
assessment system to guide their work.
2 Document a process to identify and verify all
BTs, which includes:
(A) completing the Recent Graduate
Survey by the BT and the Employer
Survey by the principal of the school
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by the end of the first year of teaching
as required in G.S. 115C-269.35;

(B) supporting the licensure process for
the BT to convert the IPL to a CPL;
© identifying teachers with fewer than

three years of experience;

(D) collecting BT data as explained in this
Rule for the annual State of the
Teaching Profession report as stated in
G.S. 115C-12(22) for LEAs only.

3) Provide an orientation for every BT within the
first two weeks of work for the BT;

4) Develop a professional development plan
(PDP) for each BT as reviewed in Rule .0383 of
this Section;

(5) Assign every BT a mentor who meets the
requirements set forth in Rule .0384 of this
Section;

(6) Provide support and training to mentors;

@) Complete any required or prescribed
professional development for BTs;

(8) Provide a recognized process for conducting
observations and summative evaluations for all
BTs;

9 Plan for participation and demonstration of

proficiency in BTSP monitoring based on the
requirements in this Rule; and

(10) Plan for participation in the annual BTSP Peer
Review Process;

(112) Provide written statement on how personnel
files for BTs are filed and secured;

(12) Plan for a transfer of BT files to subsequent
employing public school units and non-public
institutions in North Carolina;

(13) Document local board of education approval of
the BTSP Plan; and

(14) Provide evidence and documentation to
establish the validity and instrument crosswalk
for public school units that are using an
alternative evaluation system to identify
mentors.

(b) All full-time BTs who are pursuing a continuing professional
license must participate in a BTSP for three years. A full-time BT
is a person employed to fill a vacancy whose regular work week
is the number of hours established as full-time for the class of
work assigned, but not less than 30 hours per week. For the
purposes of this Rule, a "year" is defined as working in a full-time
permanent position for six or more calendar months during a
North Carolina fiscal year.

(c) The Regional Education Facilitator (REF) team shall monitor
the implementation of the BTSP Plan over a five year cycle. If any
areas of noncompliance arise, the public school unit must submit
a work plan to address those areas, including strategies and
timeline. The REF team must review the work plan and approve
the plan if all areas of noncompliance are addressed. The REF
team must conduct a technical assistance visit one year after
monitoring the BTSP Plan to see if the public school unit has
implemented and completed their work plan.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-300.1;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06C .0382 BEGINNING TEACHER
SUPPORT REQUIREMENTS

All public school units must limit the number of children with
disabilities as defined in G.S. 115C-106.3 assigned to a BT.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-300.1; 115C-106.3;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0383 BEGINNING TEACHER
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT PLAN

(@  AIll beginning teachers must create a Professional
Development Plan (PDP) annually in collaboration with their
mentor and the principal or principal's designee.

(b) The PDP must be based on the North Carolina Professional
Teaching Standards as described in Rule .0384 of this Section and
must include goals, strategies, and assessment of the beginning
teacher's progress in improving professional skills.

(c) The beginning teacher, mentor, and principal must meet at the
beginning, middle, and end of each year to conduct formative
assessment conferences to monitor the progress of the beginning
teacher in meeting the goals established by the PDP. Signatures
of the beginning teacher, mentor, and principal are required for
each formative assessment conference.

(d) All beginning teachers must complete any professional
development assigned by the public school unit annually.

(e) All beginning teachers shall be evaluated in the manner
outlined in G.S.115C-333.1 using the North Carolina Board of
Education approved North Carolina Educator Evaluation System
for measuring teacher performance on the North Carolina
Professional Teaching Standards.

(f)  Public school units with approved BTSP plans must
participate in an annual review to evaluate the beginning teacher's
performance on the North Carolina Professional Teaching
Standards, which includes a beginning teacher self-assessment
along with an assessment of the beginning teacher by a co-teacher.
This review shall be filed annually with the North Carolina
Department of Public Instruction. Data from the annual reviews
shall be summarized and analyzed by NCDPI on a five-year cycle.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-300.1;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0384
REQUIREMENTS
(@) All local boards shall have a mentor program to provide
ongoing support for new teachers entering the profession.

(b) Public school units shall select qualified teachers to serve as
mentors using the North Carolina Professional Teaching
Standards and North Carolina Educator Evaluation System to
evaluate teachers unless the public school unit develops an

MENTOR PROGRAM
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alternative evaluation system that measures teacher performance
on standards and criteria similar to those in the North Carolina
Professional Teaching Standards and North Carolina Educator
Evaluation System.

(c) For the purposes of mentor selection outlined in G.S. 115C-
300.1(c), public school units may use the most recently available
evaluation for teachers who lack an evaluation from the prior year.
Teachers without evaluation data for two or more consecutive
years shall not be eligible to serve as mentor teachers, unless the
mentor is a retired teacher.

(d) Any teacher who is assigned to be a mentor to a beginning
teacher shall continuously meet eligibility requirements outlined
in G.S. 115C-300.1(c).

(a) provide an environment in which each
child has a positive, nurturing
relationship with caring adults.

(b) embrace diversity in the school
community and in the world;

(c) treat students as individuals;

(d) adapt their teaching for the benefit of
students with special needs; and
(e) work collaboratively with the families
and adults in the lives of his or her
students.
?3) A teacher shall understand the content they
teach and shall:

(e) Mentor assignments and guidelines shall comply with the (a) align his or her instruction with the
following expectations: North Carolina Standard Course of

(1) mentor selection criteria shall include input Study;
from educators, parents, educator preparation (b) know the content appropriate to their
program faculty, education nonprofits; teaching specialty;

(2) mentor selection criteria are articulated by (c) recognize the interconnectedness of
program Leadership; content areas and disciplines; and

3 the process for mentor application and selection (d) make instruction relevant to students.
is publicly displayed; 4) A teacher shall facilitate learning for his or her

(@) mentors support beginning teacher orientation students and shall:
and provide logistical and emotional support; (@) know the ways in which learning takes

(5) mentors focus their primary support on place, and know the appropriate levels
improving instruction and learning; of intellectual, physical, social, and

(6) Mentors mentors provide ongoing support and emotional development of his or her
encouragement for the beginning teacher; students;

(7 mentors receive initial training regarding their (b) plan instruction appropriate for his or
role as mentors and their responsibilities in the her students;
induction program; (c) use a variety of instructional methods;

(8) mentors receive ongoing training to advance (d) integrate and utilize technology in his
their knowledge and skills; and or her instruction;

9 mentors have opportunities to participate in (e) help students develop critical-thinking
professional ~ learning  communities  of and problem-solving skills;
mentoring practice. ) help students work in teams and

develop leadership qualities;

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C- (0)] communicate effectively; and
268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-300.1; 115C-333.1; (h) use a variety of methods to assess what
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; each student has learned.
Eff. October 1, 2020. 5) A teacher shall reflect on his or her practice and

shall engage in the following:
16 NCAC 06C .0385 THE NORTH CAROLINA @) analyze student learning;
PROFESSIONAL TEACHING STANDARDS (b) link professional growth to his or her
LEAs shall use the North Carolina Professional Teaching professional goals;
Standards set forth in this Rule to determine teacher proficiency (c) function effectively in the teaching
as a part of the North Carolina Educator Evaluation System environment; and
(NCEES). (d) contribute to the academic success of

1) A teacher shall demonstrate leadership and students.
shall:

@) lead in his or her classroom; History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12(22); 115C-268.1;
(b) demonstrate leadership in the school; 115C-268.5; 115C-299.5; 115C-333; 115C-333.1; 115C-335;
(© lead the teaching profession; Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

(d) advocate for schools and students; and Eff. October 1, 2020.

(e) demonstrate high ethical standards.

2 A teacher shall establish a respectful
environment for a diverse population of
students and shall:
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16 NCAC 06C .0386 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR
PREPARATION PROGRAM COURSEWORK
REQUIREMENTS
All School Administrator Preparation Programs shall incorporate
coursework addressing the North Carolina Standards for School
Executives including:
(1) understanding state and federal laws,
regulations, and case law that affects North
Carolina public schools;

2 using technology for effective teaching and
learning and administrative duties;
3) determining how a child responds to research-

based interventions to screen students who may
be at risk of academic failure, monitoring the
effectiveness of instruction proposed for
students identified as at-risk, and modifying
instruction as needed to meet the needs of each
student;

4) applying skills to observe and analyze the
teaching of literacy and numeracy across
content areas using  developmentally
appropriate and differentiated instructional
strategies to meet the needs of all learners;

(5) understanding the importance of creating and
promoting an engaging, safe school climate;

(6) understanding and using processes to evaluate
licensed staff; and

(7 using effective leadership and implementation

strategies to facilitate professional practices and
manage change.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-284;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0387 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR
PREPARATION PROGRAM CURRICULUM
REQUIREMENTS

All School Administrator Preparation Programs shall offer
curriculum aligned with the North Carolina Standards for School
Executives described in Rule .0386 of this Section that addresses
student learning and school improvement and focuses on the
following:

(D) all grade levels from preschool through grade
12;

2 the role of kindergarten through grade 12
instruction,  emphasizing  literacy  and

numeracy, curriculum, assessment and the
needs of the school or district in improving
learning;

3) all students, with specific attention to students
with special needs, such as specific learning
disabilities, English language learners, gifted
students, and students in early childhood
programs; and

4) collaborative relationships with all members of
the school community, such as parents, school
board members, local school councils or other

governing councils, and community partners;
and

(5) the role of instructional and student services
personnel.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-284;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0388 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR
PREPARATION PROGRAM INTERNSHIP
REQUIREMENTS

(a) All School Administrator Preparation Programs must include
an internship as part of its curriculum. The internship shall be
conducted at one or more public or nonpublic schools to expose
the candidate to a variety of school leadership situations in
settings that represent diverse economic and cultural conditions,
including interaction with various members of the school
community. The internship shall include the following
components:

(8] engagement in instructional activities that
involve teachers in a variety of disciplines and
grade levels, including general education,
special education, bilingual education and
gifted education classroom settings;

2) observation of the hiring and supervision of
teachers, other licensed staff, and non-licensed
staff, which includes the development of a
professional development plan for teachers; and

3 participation in leadership opportunities.

(b) Each program shall assign a faculty member to serve as
faculty supervisor for the internship portion of the program. All
programs shall ensure that each candidate completes the
internship.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-284;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0389 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR
PREPARATION PROGRAM INTERNSHIP SITE
REQUIREMENTS

To serve as an internship site for a School Administrator
Preparation Program, a public or nonpublic school shall fulfill the
following requirements:

@ the principal of the school shall hold a valid and
current North Carolina principal license or, if
the internship site is located in another state, the
principal shall hold a valid and current
administrator license in that state; and

2) the principal shall have two years of experience
supervising all certified/licensed and classified
staff within a school building. Local Education
Agencies (LEAs) and other public-school
governing bodies shall ensure that the
cooperating principal meets the experience
requirement prior to placement of the intern.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-284;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0390 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR
PREPARATION PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

In order for a School Administrator Preparation Program to
recommend candidates for licensure, the program must meets the
following requirements:

1) The program shall be jointly established by one
or more institutions of higher education, not-
for-profit entities, or for-profit entities, and a
local education agency or nonpublic school.

(2) The responsibilities and roles of each partner in
the design, implementation and administration
of the program shall be set forth in a
memorandum of understanding (MOU) signed
by each partner.

3) The MOU must address at least the following:
@ the process and responsibilities of

each partner for the selection and
assessment of candidates;

(b) the establishment of the internship and
any field experiences, and the specific
roles of each partner in providing
those experiences, as applicable;

(© the development and implementation
of a training program for mentors and
faculty supervisors that supports
candidates' progress during their
internships in observing, participating,
and demonstrating leadership;

(d) names and locations of non-partnering
school districts and nonpublic schools
where the internship and any field
experiences may occur; and

(e the process to evaluate the program,
including the partnership, and the role
of each partner in  making
improvements based on the results of
the evaluation.

4) The partners must review the MOU every three
years.

(5) Each  School Administrator Preparation
Program shall comply with the requirements of
Rules .0386, .0387, .0388, and .0389 of this
Section.

(6) Each School Administrator Preparation

Program shall:

@) provide multiple opportunities for
school leader candidates to be
observed and coached by program
faculty and staff;

(b) facilitate the evaluation of school

leader candidates during and at the end
of the internship based on the North
Carolina School Executive Evaluation
Rubric;

(c) provide expectations for and firm
commitment from school leaders and
faculty members who will oversee the
internship of candidates; and

(d) provide faculty supervisors to work in

collaboration with site mentors to
complete the assessment of the
candidate's performance during the
internship.
A portion of the required coursework shall
include "field experiences", i.e., multiple
experiences that are embedded in a school
setting and relate directly to the core subject
matter of the course. The preparation program
shall determine the courses for which
completion of field experiences will be required
and the time allotted to field experiences across
all courses in the curriculum.

U]

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-284;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0391 TESTING EXEMPTIONS FOR
ADMISSION INTO AN EDUCATOR PREPARATION
PROGRAM
(@) A student seeking admission to an Educator Preparation
Program (EPP) shall be exempt from taking and passing the
preprofessional skills test described in Rule .0392 of this Section
if he or she meets one of the following conditions:
(8] If a student takes the SAT prior to March 2016,

the scores must meet the following:

(A) Individuals with a total SAT score of
1100 are exempt from Praxis Core
testing requirements;
Individuals with a total SAT score of
less than 1100 but a score of at least
550 on the Verbal test are exempt from
the Preprofessional Skills Tests in
Reading and Writing; and
Individuals with a total SAT score of
less than 1100 but a score of at least
550 on the Math test are exempt from
the Preprofessional Skills Test in
Mathematics.
If a student takes the SAT after March 2016, the
scores must meet the following:
(A) Individuals with a total SAT score of
1170 are exempt from Praxis Core
testing requirements;
Individuals with a total SAT score of
less than 1170, but a score of at least
600 on the evidence-based reading and
writing test are exempt from the
Preprofessional ~ Skills  Tests in
Reading and Writing; and
Individuals with a total SAT score of
less than 1170 but a score of at least

(B)

©

)

(B)

©
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570 on the Math test are exempt from
the Preprofessional Skills Test in
Mathematics.
3) If a student takes the ACT, the scores must meet
the following:

(A) Individuals with a composite ACT
score of 24 or higher are exempt from
Praxis Core testing requirements;

(B) Individuals with a composite ACT
score of less than 24, but with a score
of at least 24 on the English test are
exempt from the Preprofessional
Skills Tests in Reading and Writing;
and

© Individuals with a composite ACT
score of less than 24, but a score of at
least 24 on the Math test are exempt
from the Preprofessional Skills Test in
Mathematics.

(b) In the event that either the College Board or ACT changes the
scaling of their respective assessments, the SBE shall use
concordance information from the testing vendor to establish new
cut scores for exemption from the Praxis assessments.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-269.15;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0392 TESTING REQUIREMENTS FOR
ADMISSION TO AN EDUCATOR PREPARATION
PROGRAM

(a) For purposes of G.S. 115C-269.15, the pre-professional skills
test shall be the Praxis Core Academic Skills Educators
Assessment.

(b) Each student seeking admission to an Educator Preparation
Program shall pass the Praxis Core Academic Skills Educators
Assessment unless an exemption is permitted under G.S. 115C-
269.15 or Rule .0391 of this Section.

(c) Passing scores for the Praxis assessment are enacted by the
State Board of Education using validity and reliability studies
provided by the vendor and the recommendations of both the
vendor and Department of Public Instruction staff.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-269.15;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0393 MATHEMATICS
INSTRUCTIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR EDUCATOR
PREPARATION PROGRAMS TRAINING
ELEMENTARY AND EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN
GENERAL CURRICULUM TEACHERS

In addition to the minimum requirements set forth in G.S. 115C-
269.20(1) and (2), all Educator Preparation Programs that provide
training for elementary and exceptional children general
curriculum teachers shall include coursework in the following
areas:

QD Instruction in the teaching of mathematics with
attention to the following:

(a) content, which includes number and
operations, early algebra,
measurement; and

(b) pedagogical issues, which includes
high quality tasks, classroom

discourse, instructional moves.

2 Instruction in  evidence-based learning
trajectories, how to identify what students are
able to do, and what is needed to address their
needs including:

(a) how to identify which mathematical
concepts or skills students have and
have not demonstrated, and

(b) how to plan for instruction based on
student strengths and needs as
determined by the evidence.

3 Instruction in understanding the strengths and
weaknesses of instructional supports and how
to adapt and utilize mathematical resources to
advance instruction; and

4) Instruction in designing learning experiences to
align with specific learning goals.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-269.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0394 STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
FOR INNOVATIVE OR EXPERIMENTAL PROGRAMS
FOR SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR PREPARATION
Innovative or experimental school administration preparation
programs that received grants under G.S. 116-74.46 shall be
reviewed by the PEPSC annually, which shall use the following
standards:

1) the program is organized and administered,
showing a structure for the oversight and
management of the program which ensures
flexibility and accountability;

2) the program provides documentation of human,
fiscal, and physical resources;

3) the program addresses the needs of the students;

4) the program includes exit levels of competency,

a procedure for recommending licensure, and a
follow up process; and

(5) the program has defined and measurable
expected outcomes and results as measured by
the annual Educator Preparation Program
Report Card pursuant to G.S. 115-269.50.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-269.35; 115C-269.50; 115C-284;
115C-284.1;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.
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16 NCAC 06C .0395 PROCESS FOR FILING A
COMPLAINT AGAINST AN EDUCATOR
PREPARATION PROGRAM (EPP)
(@) Complaints against an EPP must be made in writing to the
State Board of Education. The written complaint may be filed by
an individual or entity through the following means:
(1) filling out and submitting the complaint form
online;
2 mailing a hard copy of the complaint to the
physical address on the form; or
3) faxing a hard copy of the complaint to the fax
number on the form.
(b) The complaint form, at a minimum, shall include:

1) a description of the process and contact
information for assistance;

(2) a section to collect the complainant's contact
information and EPP they attend;

(2) a section to collect a description of the alleged
violation;

(3) a section to collect the dates of the incident(s);

(@) a means to collect supporting

documentation/evidence to  support the
described facts where available; and

(5) a section to collect what efforts were made to
date to resolve the complaint.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-269.55;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0396 RESTRICTIONS ON THE
AUTHORITY OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
ON COMPLAINTS AGAINST AN EDUCATOR
PREPARATION PROGRAM (EPP)

The SBE shall not mediate, arbitrate, or otherwise resolve any
issue between an EPP and a student regarding contractual or
commercial issues such as the following:

(1) contractual arrangements with an EPP, such as
program removal due to not meeting a program
requirement or being noncompliant with the
EPP on the university level;

(2) commercial issues including any type of
business transaction with the EPP or university,
such as financial enrollment, bankruptcy,
closing of institution, and program fidelity;

3 grade issues such as requesting a change in
grade for a course or gaining credit for a course
or requirement in the program; and

4) seeking readmittance to an EPP.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-269.55;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06C .0397 EDUCATOR PREPARATION
PROGRAM COURSEWORK REQUIREMENTS FOR
ALL PROGRAMS
In addition to the minimum requirements set forth in G.S. 115C-
269.20(a)(1), all Educator Preparation Programs shall include
instruction in the following areas:
(1) The identification of
intellectually gifted children;
2 Evidence based practices as defined by the
Every Student Succeeds Act (P.L. No 114-95,
129, Stat. 1801, S. 1177-2 Part F- General
Provisions, Title 11, Sec. 2002);

academically  or

?3) The teaching of diverse populations of students;
and
(@) Classroom management.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-
268.5; 115C-269.5; 115C-269.10; 115C-269.20;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06G .0504
ADMISSION

All charter schools admission procedures and policies shall
comply with G.S. 115C-118.45. Open enrollment for a charter
school shall follow the mission statement and targeted population
in the State Board of Education approved application. The
admissions period shall be no less than 30 consecutive calendar
days. If there are more applications than seats available, the
charter school shall determine a date, time, and location to hold
the lottery required by G.S. 115C-218.45(h). The lottery shall
occur during an official meeting that shall be open to the public
and subject to Article 33C of Chapter 143 of the General Statutes.

CHARTER SCHOOLS STUDENT

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.45;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06G .0510 CHARTER AMENDMENTS FOR

EXISTING PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS - APPROVAL

PROCESS

(@) The following constitute material charter amendments that
require the State Board of Education’s ("SBE") approval prior to
implementation:

(8] Grade expansion beyond increases
contemplated in G.S. 115C-218.8(3);
2 Relocation outside a 5-mile radius or outside of

the Local Education Agency (LEA) identified
in the charter;

?3) Transferring the charter to another non-profit
entity;

4 Altering the mission or targeted student
population;

(5) Employing or terminating a management
company;

(6) Change to the charter application with respect
to the National School Lunch program;

@) Enrollment growth, consistent  with
requirements in G.S. 115C-218.7.
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(b) In determining whether to approve a material charter
amendment, the SBE shall consider:

1) Demonstrated need for the amendment by the
charter school;

(2) Impact of the amendment on the student
population, governing board of directors, and
staff; and

3) Impact on the LEA.

(c) The following constitute charter amendments that require
Department of Public Instruction staff approval prior to
implementation, but do not require further approval from the SBE:

1) Bylaws;

2 The name of the charter school;

3) The Articles of Incorporation;

4) Relocation within a 5-mile radius or outside of

the Local Education Agency (LEA) identified
in the approved charter application;

(5) Class sizes as stated in the approved charter
application;

(6) Length of school day;

@) Length of academic year;

(8) Curriculum changes;

9 Change to the charter application with respect

to student transportation;
(10) Change to the charter application with respect
to changing its food service plan;
(11) Requests to delay the opening of the school by
one year; and
(12) Enrollment changes due to an approved one
year delay.
(d) In determining whether to approve a material charter
amendment, Office of Charter Schools staff shall consider:

@ Demonstrated need for the amendment by the
charter school;

2 Impact of the amendment on the student
population, governing board of directors, and
staff; and

3) Impact on the LEA.

(e) Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Department of Public
Instruction may submit any proposed amendment to the SBE for
its review and approval or denial.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.5; 115C-
218.7, 115C-218.8;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06G .0511 CHARTER AMENDMENTS FOR
EXISTING PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS - REQUIRED
DOCUMENTATION
(@) A charter holder shall submit the following documentation to
the State Board of Education when it seeks to amend its approved
charter application:
1) Board meeting minutes reflecting the vote of
the Board of Directors for the charter school;
2 A cover letter explaining the request signed by
the nonprofit board chair and lead administrator
of the charter school;

?3) A version of the charter application showing
proposed amendments as strikethroughs and
underlines; and

4 The proposed amended text to the charter
application  without  strikethroughs  or
underlines.

(b) If the charter holder does not provide the required
documentation, its amendment proposal shall not be processed.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-218.7; 115C-218.8;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06G .0512 FAST TRACK REPLICATION
OF HIGH QUALITY CHARTER SCHOOLS - PURPOSE
AND DEFINITIONS

(a) The State Board of Education (SBE) may grant permission for
a non-profit corporation board of directors (board) to replicate
either its own successful model, or to employ an educational
management company (EMO) or a charter management
organization (CMO) as defined Rule .0523 of this Section to
replicate a successful model currently being operated under the
management of the EMO or CMO. The SBE may also grant
permission for a non-profit corporation board to "fast-track” such
a replication by foregoing the planning year normally required for
approved charter applicants. Rules .0512 through 0515 outline the
criteria and process by which the SBE may authorize fast-track
replication.

(b) Nothing in these Rules shall be construed to prohibit a North
Carolina non-profit corporation board from applying to replicate
another charter school through the regular application process in
Rule .0508 of this Section and, upon approval, receive the
planning year trainings from NCDPI.

(c) Definitions for terms used in Rules .0512 through .0515 of
this Section.

(8] "Charter school model" or "model™ mean the
mission as defined in the charter application
and function of a charter school, including its
governance, its curriculum, its organizational
structure, its targeted population, and other key
characteristics of the school, such as small class
size, thematic academics, and extended day.

2) "Successful model" means a charter school
model that meets the eligibility requirements in
Rule .0513 of this Section.

3) "Replication” means the act of copying,
recreating, or repeating, a successful charter
school model. A "replication” requires the
utilization of one charter school "model" to
form the creation of a new charter school.

()] "Fast-Track Replication" is a special form of
replication in which the approved applicant
foregoes the planning year required of new
charter school applicants.

(d) The "fast-track™ applicant shall participate in a one-day basic
training workshop that will be provided by the Department of
Public Instruction. The State Board of Education shall make final
decisions regarding "fast-track™ replication applications in less
than 120 days from the application submission.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-218.3;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06G .0513 FAST TRACK REPLICATION
OF HIGH QUALITY CHARTER SCHOOLS -
ELIGIBILITY

(@) A non-profit corporation board that operates a charter school
in North Carolina is eligible to apply to fast-track replicate its
existing model only if the non-profit corporation board's current
school or schools demonstrate a consistent track record of
academic, financial, and operational success. If the board operates
more than one school, each school shall meet this standard. To
meet this standard, the non-profit corporation board shall meet
each of the following conditions at all times while its application
is pending:

(1) Each school operated by the non-profit
corporation shall:

(A) have academic outcomes comparable
to or better than those of the students
enrolled in the LEAs in which the
charter schools are located; or

(B) meet or exceed growth for the three
years preceding the application at
issue, by measures contemplated by
G.S. 115C-83.15;

(2) Each school operated by the non-profit
corporation shall have unqualified audits for the
three years preceding the application.

3) Each school operated by the non-profit
corporation shall have resolved any failures to
comply with obligations in statute, rules, or the
charter agreement cited by the Department of
Public Instruction during the three vyears
preceding the application.

(@) A majority of the non-profit corporation board
members and a majority of the board officers
shall be North Carolina residents.

(b) A non-profit corporation board that does not operate a charter
school in North Carolina is eligible to apply to replicate through
fast-track replication an existing model operated by an EMO or
CMO. The non-profit corporation board is eligible to apply only
if the schools operated by the EMO or CMO have a consistent
track record of academic, financial, and operational success. The
non-profit corporation board is eligible to replicate an existing
model operated by the EMO or CMO only if the non-profit
corporation board shows that each of the following conditions at
all times while its application is pending:

1) The non-profit corporation board shall
demonstrate that each school managed by the

EMO or CMO:

(A) have academic outcomes at least
comparable to or better than those of
the students enrolled in the LEAS in
which the charter schools are located;
or

(B) meets or exceeds growth for the three

years preceding the application at
issue based on the growth scores

calculated using NC Accountability
data.

2 The non-profit corporation board shall
demonstrate that the schools operated in other
states by the EMO or CMO meet similarly
rigorous standards for academic performance
through the presentation of academic
performance data from the respective state
board of education.

?3) The non-profit corporation board shall
demonstrate that each school managed by the
EMO or CMO have unqualified audits for three
years immediately preceding the application.

4 The non-profit corporation board shall
demonstrate that the schools operated in other
states by the EMO or CMO meet similarly
rigorous standards for financial performance
through the presentation of annual audit data.

(5) A majority of the non-profit corporation board
members and at least 50 percent of the board
officers shall be North Carolina residents.

(c) "Comparable" means a proficiency score that is no more than
five points below the LEA's Grade-Level Proficiency (GLP) score
based on NC Accountability data as described in G.S. 115C-
83.15, 83.16 and 83.17.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-218.3;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06G .0515 FAST TRACK REPLICATION
OF HIGH QUALITY CHARTER SCHOOLS -
ACCOUNTABILITY

(a) A "network" means one or more charter schools operated by
a single non-profit corporation board or a single EMO or CMO."
(b) Each school within a network of schools operated by a single
non-profit corporation board or a single EMO or CMO is a
separate and distinct charter school and shall be assessed based
upon its own separate academic, financial, and operational
performance.

(c) The strengths or weaknesses of other schools are not factors
in determining whether the State Board of Education ("SBE")
shall take action against an individual school; however, the
strengths and weaknesses of all schools in a network may
influence the SBE's decision regarding whether or not to allow
fast track replication of a school in that network.

(d) Replicated charter schools shall be subject to the same
requirements as other charter schools.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.3;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

16 NCAC 06G .0516 VIRTUAL CHARTER SCHOOLS
ATTENDANCE AND MEMBERSHIP - APPLICABILITY

(&) A pilot virtual charter school established pursuant to S.L.
2014-100 and approved by the State Board of Education (SBE)
through the charter application process is not required to record
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and report daily attendance to the Department of Public
Instruction.

(b) A pilot virtual charter school established pursuant to S.L.
2014-100 as amended by S.L. 2016-94, s. 8.13(a), S.L. 2018-5, s.
7.13,and G.S. 115C-218 et. seq. and approved by the State Board
of Education (SBE) through the charter application process is
required to keep records of student activity by course and shall
report that information to the Department of Public Instruction
within 15 days of the end of each school month. The virtual
charter school's measurements of student activity shall be defined
by the school in a manner consistent with its SBE-approved
charter.

(c) Avirtual charter school shall define a full instructional course
load for each grade level it offers. A student shall be enrolled for
at least half of the instructional course load to be considered in
membership at the virtual charter school.

(d) A student shall not be counted in the virtual charter school's
average daily membership until the school has evidence of student
activity in each of his or her courses.

(e) When a student who has no evidence of student activity for
10 consecutive calendar days, excluding holidays, the virtual
charter school shall remove the student from the school's
enrollment and take the actions required in G.S. 115C-378(e).
Upon a determination that the student is not returning to the
school, the virtual charter school shall withdraw the student's
enrollment and take any actions required in G.S. 115C-378(f). The
effective date of withdrawal reported to the Department of Public
Instruction shall be the first day after the last day for which there
is evidence of student activity.

(f) Virtual schools shall use the statewide student information
management system to record and report school and student data.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12(18); 115C-218; 115C-
218.30; S.L. 2014-101, s. 8.35; S.L. 2016-94, s. 8.13(a); S.L.
2018-5,s. 7.13;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06G .0523 APPROVAL AND DISCLOSURE
OF MANAGEMENT ORGANIZATIONS AND SUPPORT
ORGANIZATIONS

(@ When used in this Section, "Management Organization"
means an entity that meets one of the following definitions:

(D) A "Charter Management Organization" (CMOQ)
is a non-profit organization that operates or
manages one or multiple charter schools by
centralizing support and operations.

2 An "Education Management Organization"
(EMO) is a for-profit organization that
contracts with new or existing public-school
districts, charter school districts, and charter
schools to operate and manage one or multiple
charter schools by centralizing support and
operations.

3) A "Charter Support Organization" (CSO) is a
for-profit or non-profit, nongovernmental entity
that provides:

(A) assistance to developers during the
application, planning, program design,

and initial implementation of a charter
school, or
(B) technical assistance to operating
charter schools, including specific and
limited services such as professional
development, non-profit  board
development, payroll, and curriculum
development.
(b) All applicants for a charter school shall receive SBE approval
before partnering with a Management Organization. This
approval may be sought as part of the application or renewal
processes or through the amendment process. In determining
whether to grant approval, the SBE shall consider whether the
partnership with the Management Organization is in the best
interest of the school, its staff, and its students.
(c) All applicants for a charter school shall disclose existing or
contingent partnerships with Charter Support Organizations as
part of the applicant's charter application.

History Note:
218.5;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

Authority G.S. 115C-218, 115C-218.1, 115C-

16 NCAC 06G .0524 CHARTER SCHOOLS PROCESS
FOR ASSUMPTION OF INADEQUATELY
PERFORMING CHARTER SCHOOLS

(@) In determining whether a different non-profit entity may
assume a charter of an existing charter school the SBE shall
comply with the provisions of S.L. 2014-101, s. 6 and consider all
factors, including:

(8] Factors relevant to the existing charter school
whose charter may be eligible for assumption
include:

(A) academic performance;

(B) financial status of the existing school,
including outstanding debts;

© compliance with all applicable laws
and rules;

(D) status of the school facility;

(E) feedback from the school community,
including the parents, staff and
students; and

(3] any other relevant factor.

2 Factors Relevant to the non-profit entity

seeking to assume the charter of an existing

charter school include:

(A) overall financial viability;

(B) academic performance;

© geographic location;

(D) existence of any financial and
governance compliance issues;

(E) ability of the assuming school to retain
existing students; and
(F any other relevant factor.

(b) No single factor is determinative.
(c) The State Board of Education shall make its decision based
on the best interests of the students in the existing charter school.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.95;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;
Eff. October 1, 2020.

16 NCAC 06H .0114 DISPUTE RESOLUTION
PROCESS FOR HOMELESS STUDENTS - DEFINITIONS
As used in this Section, the following terms shall have the
following definitions:
1) "Homeless," "homeless child," and "homeless
student" shall mean the same as the term
"homeless children and youths" as defined by
42 U.S.C. 11434a(2). These terms shall also be
deemed to include the term "unaccompanied

youth."

(8) "Unaccompanied youth" shall mean the same as
defined by 42 U.S.C. 11434a(6).

(3) "Local educational agency" (LEA) includes
local school administrative units, charter

schools, laboratory schools, regional schools,
Innovative School District schools, and
Innovation Zone schools.

)] "LEA dispute resolution process™ shall refer to
the LEA's policy on resolving complaints
brought by  parents, guardians, or
unaccompanied youth regarding students
experiencing homelessness. The term shall
refer to appeals processes within the LEA, prior
to any appeal by the parent, guardian, or
unaccompanied youth appeals to the State
Coordinator.

4) "Local liaison" shall refer to the official at each
LEA, who ensures the LEA dispute resolution
process for homeless children and youth is
mediated in accordance with local, State, and
federal policy as required by 42 U.S.C.
11432(g)(6)(A)(vii).

(5) "School business day" means days when
students are scheduled to be in attendance at
school, according to the academic calendar
adopted by the LEA.

@) "State Coordinator" shall refer to the
Department of Public Instruction staff person
who carries out federally mandated duties
regarding students experiencing homelessness
as required by 42 U.S.C. 11432(d)(3).

(6) "State appeal process” shall refer to the policies
the State Coordinator, LEASs, parents,
guardians, and unaccompanied youth must
follow when a parent, guardian, or
unaccompanied youth seeks to appeal a dispute
to the State Coordinator.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-366; 42 U.S.C.
11431; 42 U.S.C. 11432;

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019;

Eff. October 1, 2020.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 06 - BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS
21 NCAC 06N .0102 FORM BAR-1

(a) The Form BAR-1 shall be filed when one applies to open or
manage a new barber shop. It requests the following:

(D) the name and address of the shop;

2 the name, address, and certificate number of the
manager;

?3) the name and address of the shop owner;

4 the physical dimensions of the shop;

(5) for a new or renovated shop, a copy of the
certificate of occupancy;

(6) the shop business hours;

@) the type of fixtures installed; and

(8) the date the shop will be ready for inspection.
(b) The fee required by Rule .0101(a)(19) of this Section shall
accompany this form.
(c) The Form BAR-1 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

History Note:
25;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-13; 86A-15; 86A-

21 NCAC 06N .0104 FORM BAR-3
(@) The Form BAR-3 shall be filed for permission to enroll in
barber school. It requires the following:

1) the name, address, social security number, and
birth date of the applicant;

2 the applicant's prior barber school attendance, if
any;

3 the name of the school enrolled;

(@) the date of enrollment; and

5) the school manager's attestation that the
information in the form is correct.
(b) The fee in 21 NCAC 06N .0101(a)(12) shall accompany this
form.

History Note:
14;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 86A-18; 86A-22; 86A-25; 93B-
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21 NCAC 06N .0105 FORM BAR-4

(@) The Form BAR-4 shall be filed by one applying to take the
examination to receive a registered apprentice certificate. It
requires the following:

(1) the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate of the applicant;

(2) the name of any barber school attended and the
date of enrollment and graduation; and

3) the place of proposed employment as an

apprentice barber.
(b) The fee in Rule .0101(a)(5) of this Section shall be submitted
with the application.
(c) The Form BAR-4 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

History Note:
25; 93B-14;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; January 1, 2017.

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-10; 86A-24; 86A-

21 NCAC 06N .0106 FORM BAR-5
(@) The Form BAR-5 shall be filed by one applying to take the
examination to receive a registered barber certificate. It requires

the following:
(1) the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate of the applicant;
)] barber school training; and
3 the length of barbering experience.

(b) The Form BAR-5 shall include the applicant’s attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

(c) The fee in 21 NCAC 06N .0101(a)(4) shall accompany this
form.

History Note:
93B-14;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-3; 86A-10; 86A-25;

21 NCAC 06N .0107 FORM BAR-6
(@) The Form BAR-6 shall be filed by one applying to take an
examination as a barber school instructor. It requires the

following:
1) the name, address, social security humber, and
birthdate of the applicant;
(2) the current registered certificate number;
3) the name of barber school attended; and

4) the proposed place of employment, if any.

(b) The fee in Rule .0101(a)(11) of this Section shall accompany
this form.

(c) The Form BAR-6 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-23; 86A-25; 93B-14;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 06N .0109 FORM BAR-8

(a) The Form BAR-8 shall be filed by one who has practiced as a
barber in a state other than North Carolina for three years or more
and is applying to obtain a certificate as a registered barber in
North Carolina. It requires the following:

(8] the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate of the applicant;

2 the name and address of any barber school
attended in another state; and

©) barbering experience and the status of each

barber license in another state.

(b) The fee in Rule .0101(a)(21) of this Section shall accompany
this form.

(c) The Form BAR-8 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

(d) The Form BAR-8 shall be accompanied by verification from
the applicant's out-of-state agency of the applicant's licensure in
that state.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-12; 86A-25;
Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; January 1, 2017.

21 NCAC 06N .0110 FORM BAR-9
(@) The Form BAR-9 shall be filed when one applies to open a
new barber school. It requires the following:
(8] the date the barber school will be ready for the
Board inspection;

2 the name and address of the barber school;

3 the name and address of the owner;

4 the name and address of the manager;

(5) the names, instructor certificate numbers, and
address of the instructors;

(6) the physical dimensions of the barber school;

@) the number of barber chairs, tool cabinets,
towel cabinets, and lavatories; and

8) a copy of the bond or alternative to a bond

required by G.S. 86A-22(7)(a) or a request for
waiver under G.S. 86A-22(7)(c).

35:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 2, 2020

1005



APPROVED RULES

(b) The Form BAR-9 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

(c) The Form BAR-9 shall be accompanied by the fee in 21
NCAC 06N .0101(a)(20).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-22;
Eff. March 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 06N .0112 FORM BAR-11

(@ The Form BAR-11 shall be filed by an individual who has
military training and expertise and who wants to apply to become
a registered barber pursuant to 21 NCAC 06K .0112. It requires

the following:
(1) the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate of the applicant; and
(2) copies of the military service records showing

the applicant's military certification and
experience in barbering.
(b) The applicant shall submit with the Form BAR-11 a
certification letter from the applicant's out-of-state agency of the
applicant's licensure if the conditions set forth in 21 NCAC 06K
.0112(b) apply.
(c) The Form BAR-11 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

History Note:
15.1;

Eff. May 1, 1989;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2013;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; April 1, 2017.

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-12; 93B-14; 93B-

21 NCAC 06N .0113 FORM BAR-12

(@) The Form BAR-12 shall be filed by an individual who has
practiced as a barber pursuant to Rule 21 NCAC 06K .0113. It
requires the following:

(1) the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate of the applicant; and
(2) copies of the military service records showing

that the applicant's spouse is serving in the
military, along with evidence of the marriage,
such as a copy of the marriage license.
(b) The applicant shall submit with the Form BAR-12 a
certification letter from the applicant's out-of-state agency of the
applicant's licensure.
(c) The Form BAR-12 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

History Note:
15.1;

Eff. April 1, 2017;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-25; 93B-14; 93B-

Rk i i S S S I A A I

CHAPTER 45 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF FEE-
BASED PRACTICING PASTORAL COUNSELORS

21 NCAC 45 .0101 ADDRESS

(&) The mailing address for the North Carolina State Board of
Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors ("Board") is P.O. Box
447, Kernersville, NC 27285-0447.

(b) The website address for the
www.ncpastoralcounseling.org.

Board is

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-385;

Eff. March 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 45 .0202 REVIEW PROCEDURE

(&) The applicant shall submit the information required in Rule
.0201(a) of this Section to the Board. The Board shall review the
information submitted at a Board meeting to determine
compliance with G.S. 90-387.

(b) The Board shall publish information on its website about the
exam that the applicant may use as assistance in preparing for it.
(c) The Board shall notify an applicant if the credentials are
denied and explain the area(s) that do not meet G.S. 90-387.
Applicants may remedy deficiencies within one year from the date
of notification without having to reapply.

History Note:
387(b)(4);
Eff. March 1, 1996;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-387(a)(4); 90-

21 NCAC 45 .0301 TYPES
(a) The Board shall administer a written and oral examination to
test an applicant's knowledge in the following areas:

1) Code of Ethics as set forth in G.S. 90-390(a)(7);

2) Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors
Certification G.S. 90, Article 26;

3 Individual Pastoral Counseling and
Psychotherapy;

4) Marriage, Family, or Group Counseling and

Psychotherapy; and
5) Religion, Theology, and Ethics of Pastoral

Counseling.
(b) A passing score shall consist of 70% correct responses on the
written exam.
(c) The Board shall administer the oral examination at a Board
meeting. A passing score on the oral examination shall be
determined by the applicant's ability to satisfy G.S. 90-387,
including the applicant's ability to articulate his or her theory of
pastoral counseling and psychotherapy as defined in G.S. 90-382,
and elaborate on written exam portions set forth in Subparagraphs
(a)(3) through (a)(5) of this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-387;
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Eff. May 1, 1996;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 45 .0401
FORM

The Board shall make renewal forms accessible through its
website to each licensee each year. The licensee shall return the
completed form on or before January 1 of the following year. The
form shall ask for current home and business addresses, telephone
numbers, and an email address. Pastoral Counseling Associates
shall submit an additional form documenting required supervision
as stated in Rule .0801 of this Chapter.

CERTIFICATION RENEWAL

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-389;

Eff. March 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 45 .0403
SUSPENSION

(@) A license that is suspended pursuant to G.S. 90-390(b) may
be reinstated if, within two years of suspension date, the renewal
fees are paid and evidence of completing continuing education
requirements is submitted. The continuing education
requirements documented at the time of reinstatement must equal
the hours required had the license not expired.

(b) A license that has been suspended for nonpayment of renewal
fees or failure to comply with continuing education requirements
for a period of more than two years shall not be reinstated. A new
license may be granted pursuant to paying the applicable license
application fees and meeting the licensing requirements under
Sections .0200 and .0300 of this Chapter.

REINSTATEMENT AFTER

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-390(b); 90-390(d);
Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 45 .0501
REQUIREMENTS
(@ A certified person shall submit a form with continuing
education requirements with his or her annual renewal form,
which the Board will make accessible through its website. Each
Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselor and Pastoral Counseling
Associate shall complete a total of 50 hours of continuing
education each year in the following areas:
1) Category | - Pastoral Theology;
2) Category Il - Clinical Theory and Practice;
3) Category Il - Pastoral, Psychological, and
Psychiatric Diagnosis;
4) Category IV - Consultation and Supervision;
and
(5) Category V - Reading Books and Professional
Journals in the field of Pastoral Counseling and

CONTINUING EDUCATION

Psychotherapy.
(b) In a continuing education year, 20 hours of the 50 hours
required shall be hours in Category I, 11, and I11.

(c) A continuing education year shall be defined as January 1
through December 31.

(d) A member of the armed forces whose license is in good
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time
to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay
the license renewal fee and complete any continuing education
requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the military
order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue Service
or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be
furnished to the Board.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1996;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-389;

21 NCAC 45 .0601 EQUIVALENCY

(a) For the purposes of G.S. 90-387(a)(4)(c), (d), (f), and (), as
well as G.S. 90-387(b)(4)(c), (e), (f), and (h), "equivalency" shall
be determined by the Board on a case-by-case basis as set forth in
this Rule.

(b) Candidates wishing to establish equivalent experience,
education, or training shall submit a written request to the Board.
The request shall be addressed by the Board based on equivalent
standards to education, experience, and training set forth in G.S.
90-387 and a written response shall be sent to the candidate. For
any experience, education, or training involved in their request,
candidates shall submit documentation of completion with their
application.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1996;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-387;

21 NCAC 45 .0701
CERTIFICATE
(@) A person who requests a temporary certification as a Fee-
Based Practicing Pastoral Counselor or a Fee-Based Practicing
Pastoral Counseling Associate shall:
1) Submit an application to take the next
examination offered by the Board and pay the
non-refundable application fee set forth in G.S.
90-387;
2 Pay the non-refundable examination fee of four
hundred dollars ($400.00) for Fee-Based
Practicing Pastoral Counselor or the non-
refundable examination fee of two hundred and
fifty dollars ($250.00) for Fee-Based Practicing
Pastoral Counseling Associate;
?3) Submit the information required in Rule .0201
of this Chapter to the Board; and
(@) Pass the portions of the written exam set forth
in Rule .0301(a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Chapter.
(b) Temporary certificates shall be valid for no longer than one
year and shall be automatically terminated at the time of the next
examination given by the Board.

ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY

35:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 2, 2020

1007



APPROVED RULES

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1996;

Authority G.S. 90-384; 90-385(f);

treatment or service plan for a substance use
disorder.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 4 "Clinical application" means the assumption of
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; professional and ethical responsibilities in the
Amended Eff. October 1, 2020. form of clinical supervision defined in Item (7)
of this Rule in a clinical setting for 300 hours as
21 NCAC 45 .0801 APPROVED SUPERVISION well as the utilization of practice dimensions
The hours of supervision required for certification as a Fee-Based that include:
Practicing Pastoral Counselor and a Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral (a) clinical evaluation;
Counseling Associate set forth in G.S. 90-387 shall be (b) treatment planning;
documented as provided by a: (c) referral;
1) North Carolina Certified Fee-Based Practicing (d) service coordination;
Pastoral Counselor; (e) counseling;
2 A mental health professional licensed or ()] education for the individual client,
certified to practice in North Carolina, which is family, or community; and
defined as a Licensed Clinical Mental Health (9) documentation.
Counselor (LCMHC); Licensed Clinical (5) "Clinical setting" means a location where the
Mental ~ Health  Counselor  Supervisor primary purpose is the delivery of behavioral
(LCMHCS); Licensed Marriage and Family health care to clients, patients, and consumers.
Therapist (LMFT); Licensed Clinical Social (6) "Clinical supervision" means clinical oversight
Worker (LCSW); Licensed Psychologist; required for all credentials with 50 percent
Licensed Medical Doctor with a Medical Board clinical supervision that shall accrue in person
certification in psychiatry; or Psychiatric Nurse and face-to-face while in the same room. The
Practitioner; or balance of this requirement may be fulfilled
3 An individual with equal or greater clinical electronically via video, face-to-face, if
qualifications to one of these professionals that performed in real time.
is approved by the Board through written @) "Clinical supervision specific education” means
equivalency request submitted to the Board. training that covers the aspects of clinical
supervision of a substance use disorder
History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-387; professional or any of the core functions of
Eff. October 1, 1996; addictions counseling in their clinical
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without application.
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; (8) "Client” means an individual who is in receipt
Amended Eff. October 1, 2020. of substance use disorder counseling.
9 "Complainant” means a person who has filed an
FhEdkkkkkhkkkkkkdkxx ethical complaint pursuant to these Rules.
(10) "Consultation" means a meeting for discussion,
CHAPTER 68 — ADDICTION SPECIALIST decision-making, and planning with other
PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD service providers for the purpose of providing
substance use disorder counseling services.
21 NCAC 68 .0101 DEFINITIONS (11) "Crisis" means a radical change of status event
As used in the General Statutes or this Chapter, the following in the course of treatment related to alcohol or
terms mean: drug use that threatens to compromise or
(D) "Applicant” means a person who submits destroy the rehabilitation effort.
documentation seeking Board status for (12) "Deemed status group™ means those persons
registration, certification, or licensure. who are credentialed as clinical addictions
2 "Approved supervisor " means a person who specialists because of their membership in a
monitors and directs the activities of a deemed status as defined in G.S. 90-
substance use disorder professional in the role 113.31A(15).
of a supervisor or a practice supervisor as set (13) "Education™ means a service that is designed to
out in G.S. 90-113.31A. This is a person who inform and teach various groups including
fulfills or is in the process of fulfilling the clients, families, schools, businesses, churches,
requirements for this Board designation of industries, civic, and other community groups
approved supervisor pursuant to Rule .0211 of about the nature of substance use disorders and
this Chapter by completing its academic, about available community resources. It also
didactic, and experiential requirements. serves to improve the social functioning of
3) "Assessment" means identifying and evaluating recipients by increasing awareness of human
an individual's  strengths,  weaknesses, behavior and providing alternative cognitive or
problems, and needs for the development of a behavioral responses to life's problems.
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(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

(19)

(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

(26)

(27)

"Full-time" means 2,000 hours of substance use
disorder professional experience per year.
"General professional skill building" means
education provided to enhance the general skills
of a substance use disorder professional.
"Hearing panel" means members of a
committee designated by the chairperson of the
committee to conduct an informal hearing to
determine whether the applicant meets the
standards required to be maintained for or
awarded a credential.

"Impairment" means a mental iliness, substance
use disorder, chemical dependency, or physical
illness that inhibits the ability of the
professional to meet the treatment needs of the
client and his or her family.

"Letter of reference” means a letter that
recommends a person for credentialing.
"Membership in good standing” means a
member's credential is not in a state of
revocation, lapse, or suspension. However, an
individual whose credential is suspended and
the suspension is stayed is a member in good
standing during the period of the stay.

"Passing score” means the score set and
provided by the entity administering the exam.
"Person served" means an individual who is not
a client but is in receipt of substance use
disorder prevention counseling.

"Personal service" means the delivery of a
document into the hands of the person to whom
it is addressed.

"Prevention consultation” means a service
provided to other mental health, human service,
community planning, development
organization, or to individual practitioners in
other organizations to assist in the development
of insights and skills of the practitioner
necessary for prevention of alcohol and drug
misuse.

"Prevention performance domains" means
areas of professional activities to include:

€)] planning and evaluations;

(b) education and skill development;

(© community organization;

(d) public and organizational policy; and
(e) professional growth and

responsibility.

"Referral” means identifying the needs of an
individual that cannot be met by the counselor
or agency and assisting the individual in
utilizing the support systems and community
resources available to transfer services.
"Rehabilitation” means re-establishing the
functioning needed for  professional
competency.

"Reinstatement” means an action where the
Board restores registration, certification, or
licensure to an applicant after the applicant

(28)

(29)

(30)

(1)

(32)

(33)

(34)

(35)

(36)

@37)

completes the requirements imposed by the
Board.

"Relapse” means a return to the pattern of
substance misuse as well as the process during
which indicators appear prior to the person's
return to the pattern of substance misuse or a re-
appearance or exacerbation of physical,
psychological, or emotional symptoms of
impairment.

"Renewal" means an action by the Board
granting a substance use disorder professional a
consecutive registration, certification, or
licensure based upon the completion of
requirements for renewal as prescribed by
statute and the rules of the Board.

"Revival" means an action by the Board
granting a substance use disorder professional a
registration,  certification, or  licensure
following a lapse of registration, certification,
or licensure wherein the professional must also
meet the requirements for renewal.
"Respondent” means a person who is making
application for registration, certification, or
licensure by the Board or is registered, certified,
or licensed by the Board against whom a
complaint has been filed.

"Sexual activity" or "sexual contact" means
soliciting or engaging in any activities of a
sexual nature, including kissing, fondling, or
touching of the body, specifically to the genitals
but may include other parts of the body meant
to cause sexual arousal.

"Substance use disorder counseling experience
" means approved supervised experience that
may be full-time, part-time, paid or voluntary,
and shall include all of the core functions of
addiction counseling as set forth in Rule .0204
of this Chapter as documented by a job
description and a supervisor's evaluation.
"Substance use disorder prevention consultant
experience” means approved supervised
experience that may be full-time, part-time,
paid, or voluntary, and shall include the
prevention domains referenced by Rule .0206
of this Chapter and as documented by a job
description and supervisor's evaluation.
"Substance use disorder specific" means
education focused upon alcohol and other drugs
and the substance using population and is
provided for a substance use disorder
professional by an individual whose education
and experience is in the field of alcohol and
other drugs.

"Supervised practice" means supervision of the
applicant in the knowledge and skills related to
substance use disorder professionals.
"Supervisor of record" means the substance use
disorder professional primarily responsible for
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providing applicant or practice supervision to a
supervisee.

(38) "Suspension” means a loss of registration,
certification, or licensure by a substance use
disorder professional or the privilege of making
application for registration, certification, or
licensure by an applicant for one of these
credentials.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31A; 90-
113.31B; 90-113.33; 90-113.40; 90-113.41; 90-113.41A;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 15, 1997;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; January 1, 2014; June 1, 2011;
April 1, 2011; April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001;
August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0102 BOARD ADDRESS
(@) Unless otherwise directed, all correspondence shall be mailed
to the following address:
North Carolina Addiction Specialist
Professional Practice Board
P.O. Box 10126
Raleigh, NC 27605.
(b) The Board website shall be located at www.ncsappb.org.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33;
Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0201
REGISTRATION
(&) Applications, inquires, and forms shall be obtained from the
Board's website, www.ncsappb.org and submitted to the Board for
review and approval.

(b) To obtain an application packet, the applicant shall pay a non-
refundable fee in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00)
through the Board's application found on the website.

APPLICATION FOR

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0202
BOARD CREDENTIAL
(@) To register, the applicant shall submit the following to the
Board:

REGISTRATION PROCESS FOR

1) Completed application provided by the Board;

(2) Documentation of the degree required for a
credential;

3) A signed supervision agreement provided by
the Board documenting the proposed

supervision process by an applicant supervisor;

4 An attestation or otherwise signed adherence by
the applicant to the ethical standards of the
Board,;

(5) Documentation of three hours of educational
training in ethics;

(6) Completed criminal history record;

@) Job description evidencing applicant is
practicing under the scope of practice for the
credential sought;

(8) Current resume;

9 Completed special needs statement revealing
special testing needs on a form provided by the
Board if applicable; and

(10) Payment in the amount as set in Rule .0205 that
is non-refundable and made payable to the
Board.

(b) Once the materials are determined by the Board to be in order
the applicant shall be granted registration status.

(c) Registration with the Board shall be for a period as set out in
G.S. 90-113.40A.

(d) An applicant shall become a Registrant upon receipt of
notification from the Board.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.40A; 90-113.46A;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0204 SUPERVISED PRACTICUM FOR
CERTIFIED ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELOR AND
LICENSED CLINICAL ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST

(a) All applicants for the certified alcohol and drug counselor or
the clinical addictions specialist credential shall complete a 300
hour practicum supervised by an applicant supervisor and the
practicum shall cover all core functions of addictions counseling
as set forth by the International Certification and Reciprocity
Consortium which is hereby incorporated by reference and
available in the Candidate Guides including subsequent
amendments or additions at internationalcredentialing.org. The
practicum shall be supervised at a ratio of one hour of supervision
for every 10 hours of practice.

(b) The remaining 180 hours of this practicum shall be in any of
the core function areas.

(¢) Upon completion of the 300 hours, the supervisor shall
complete an evaluation reviewing the certified alcohol and drug
counselor's or clinical addictions specialist professional's
development and provide it to the Board, documenting the 300
hours of practice.

(d) Pursuant to G.S. 90-113.40(a)(7), the practicum may be
completed as part of an academic course of study in a regionally
accredited college or university or it may be developed in the
work setting as long as it is supervised by an applicant supervisor.
(e) Pursuant to G.S. 90-113.40(c)(1), the 300 hours of practical
training provided by an applicant supervisor shall be completed
as part of the required two years postgraduate supervised clinical
addictions counseling experience.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31; 90-
113.33; 90-113.34; 90-113.39; 90-113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2011; April 1, 2011; January 1, 2010;
August 1, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0209 RECIPROCITY

(@) If a counselor, prevention consultant, clinical supervisor, or
clinical addictions specialist holds a credential issued by a
member board or a successor organization of the International
Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC) as a certified
alcohol and drug counselor, certified prevention consultant,
certified clinical supervisor or licensed clinical addictions
specialist, the person may transfer this credential to North
Carolina by applying a transfer fee paid to the IC&RC or its
successor organization.

(b) The reciprocal credential effective date shall remain the same
as in the previous state.

(c) At the time when re-credentialing is required, it will be the
individual's responsibility to submit an application for re-
credentialing.

(d) In the event that the individual's IC&RC member board does
not administer the same IC&RC exam required for reciprocal
certification or licensing in North Carolina, the applicant shall be
required to complete and pass the exam required by the rules of
this Chapter and the G.S. 90-113.41.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.36; 90-113.37A;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 2000;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0213
APPROVAL POLICY

CONTINUING EDUCATION

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.37A;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; August 1, 2000;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0214 COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY
SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER SPECIALTY CURRICULA
(@) A college or university program shall notify the Board of its
intent to provide a substance use disorder specialty curricula.
Persons completing master's level substance use disorder
specialty curricula shall be considered "Criteria C" applicants as
defined in G.S. 90-113.40 (c)(3).
(b) Upon notification of the school's intent to provide a substance
use disorder specialty curriculum, the Board shall inform the
school that the following information shall be needed from the
applicant school:
1) curricula description including number of hours
of substance use disorder specific credits;
(2) information as to how the educational
requirements for substance use disorder

specialty shall be met within the curricula
pursuant to G.S. 90-113.41A()(2) a.-k;

?3) names and resume of any faculty who shall be
teaching the substance use disorder curricula;
(@) name of the school or college in which the

substance use disorder curricula shall be housed
and organizational contact information; and
(5) specific guidelines and information on the field

experience that shall be required of students
including current substance use disorder
specific field placements and supervision. A
clinical supervisor intern or certified clinical
supervisor shall supervise the students enrolled
in the substance use disorder specialty curricula
described in Rule .0204 of this Section.

(c) The Standards Committee shall review curricula to determine

if the proposal meets educational, hour, substance use disorder

specific and supervised experience qualifications.

(d) The Standards Committee shall present recommendations to

the Board.

(e) The Board shall notify the school of the status of its request

and any recommendation.

(f) The curricula shall be submitted for review every three years.

A previously approved substance use disorder specialty curricula

school may forgo review by notifying the Board that there have

been no changes to the course content of the approved curricula.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; January 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0215 VERIFICATION

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.38; 90-113.40;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0217 SUPERVISED PRACTICUM FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE ADDICTIONS PROFESSIONAL
CERTIFICATION

(a) All applicants for the criminal justice addictions professional
certification shall complete 300 hours practicum as set forth in
G.S. 90-113.40(d1)(2).

(b) The practicum may be completed as part of an academic
course of study in a regionally accredited college or university or
it may be developed in the work setting as a substance use disorder
professional as long as it is supervised by an applicant supervisor.
The practicum shall take place within a criminal justice addiction
professional setting to include a workplace for law enforcement,
the judiciary, or corrections.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.31A; 90-113.31B(6); 90-
113.40; 90-113.40B;

Eff. January 1, 2010;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2011; April 1, 2011,
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Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0220 NOTICE TO APPLICANT OF
FAILURE TO SATISFY BOARD

When the Board has determined that an application is deficient,
the Board shall notify the applicant of its decision and indicate in
what respect the applicant has failed to satisfy the Board. The
applicant may inquire with the Board if more information is
needed to clarify the nature of the deficiency.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. April 1, 2001;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.33; 90-113.39; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0221 APPLICANT HEARING

Upon denial, suspension, or revocation of a credential, an
applicant may request a hearing upon submission of a written
statement detailing the reason for the request. The applicant shall
be given a formal hearing before the Board. Notice of the time and
place of the public hearing shall be provided to the applicant. The
burden of satisfying the Board of the applicant's qualifications for
a credential shall be upon the applicant.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0222
ASSURANCE INQUIRY
(@) Information that is the basis for an inquiry into the issue of
whether the applicant meets the ethical standards of the Board
may be referred to the Chairperson of the Quality Assurance
Committee for review and further investigation. The Chairperson
may pursue the investigation of this matter pursuant to the
procedures used to investigate ethics complaints as defined in
Rule .0603 of this Section.

(b) Information that is the basis for an inquiry into the issue of
whether the credentialed professional meets the ethical standards
of the Board shall be referred to the Chairperson of the Ethics
Committee for review and further investigation. The Chairperson
shall pursue the investigation of this matter pursuant to the
procedures used to investigate ethics complaints as defined in
Rule .0603 of this Section.

ETHICS AND QUALITY

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.44;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0223 STANDARDS AND QUALITY
ASSURANCE COMMITTEE ACTIONS

(@ The Quality Assurance Committee shall take any of the
following actions:

QD review applications for credentialing and re-
credentialing; and
2 recommend or deny candidates for

credentialing and re-credentialing.
(b) The Standards Committee shall take any of the following
actions:

1) review curricula requirements for Board
approved training events;
2 review curricula requirements for Board

approval of college or university courses; and

?3) recommend changes to curricula to reflect best
practices and current trends in substance use
disorder treatment and prevention.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0224 CREDENTIALING STATUS
DENIED IF SERVING SENTENCE

An individual making application for a credential who is serving
any part of a court-ordered sentence, including community
service, supervised or unsupervised probation, or making
restitution, shall be administratively removed from the
credentialing process for additional review. If any person is
serving or begins serving such sentence during the course of the
credentialing process, this person shall notify the Board. If a
driver license revocation or suspension period results from a
conviction for a DWI offense or refusal to submit to breathalyzer
or blood testing, this period shall not be considered an aspect of
an applicant's sentence required to be completed prior to the
awarding of a credential.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.44;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0225 SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY
AND ESCROW OF FUNDS

In the event the Board fails to file the reports as required by G.S.
93B-2 and the Board's authority to expend any funds is suspended
until such time as the Board files the required reports, the Board
shall deposit any fees or funds received during the period of
suspension into an escrow account established by the Board solely
for this purpose.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 93B-2;
Eff. April 1, 2011;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0226

FOR CREDENTIAL
Upon receipt of a written request by or on behalf of a credentialed
substance use disorder professional who is currently in good
standing with the Board, is serving in the Armed Forces of the

ARMED SERVICES EXTENSION
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United States, and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 authorizes an
extension of time to file a tax return, the Board shall postpone
renewal fees, renewal application deadlines, continuing education
requirements, and any other requirements or conditions related to
the maintenance of the credential issued by the Board or to the
renewal thereof for the same period of time as the extended period
of time to file a tax return that is granted pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.

History Note:
Eff. April 1, 2011;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2011;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 93B-15;

21 NCAC 68 .0301 SCOPE

The rules in this Section apply to a person seeking licensure as a
clinical addictions specialist and a credentialing body of a
professional discipline seeking deemed status.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.36; 90-113.40; 90-113.41A;

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 15, 1997;

Eff. August 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0303 APPLICATION FOR DEEMED
STATUS BY PROFESSIONAL DISCIPLINE

(@) Any credentialing body of a professional discipline seeking
deemed status shall forward to the board a letter of intent with a
request to become a deemed status organization.

(b) The credentialing body shall provide the following:

@ documentation that it meets the requirements of
G.S. 90-113.41A;
2 a copy of the ethical code and statement, if any,

it requires its members to sign indicating that
the member will comply with the discipline's
code of ethics and any substantiating data that
supports the ethical process of the professional
discipline;

(3) if an examination is required by the
credentialing body, documentation describing
the exam process each applicant shall pass in
order to be awarded the professional group's
substance use disorder specialty credential. If
the examination for the specialty is not
administered by the professional group, the
applicant shall pass the Board's exam for
licensure.

(c) A professional discipline granted deemed status shall provide
the name of any member whose credential is revoked, suspended,
or denied within 60 days from the date of action.

(d) The professional discipline, to the extent allowed by its
governing law, shall provide any information requested by the
Board that has been submitted to the professional discipline
regarding the complaint against its member, subsequent to the
disposition of the complaint.

(e) If no information has been received by the Board within six
months, or the Board is not satisfied with the disposition of the

complaint, the Board may initiate its own ethics investigation and
may impose disciplinary action.

History Note:
113.41A;
Temporary Adoption Eff. November 15, 1997;
Eff. August 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.33; 90-113.41; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0304 THREE-YEAR STANDARDS
REVIEW OF DEEMED STATUS STANDING

(a) The Standards Committee shall review the standards of each
professional discipline every third year as required in G.S. 90-
113.41A.

(b) The Standards Committee shall send notice to the professional
discipline 90 days in advance of the end of the three-year period
following the date deemed status was granted or renewed.

(c) The professional discipline shall report current standards,
including an update of all information originally provided to meet
the requirements of Rule .0303 of this Section.

(d) The Standards Committee may request further substantiation
and explanation of the information provided by the professional
discipline if the Committee’s review determines it no longer meets
the requirements set forth in G.S. 90-113.41A.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.33; 90-113.41A,;
Temporary Adoption Eff. November 15, 1997;

Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0307 REVOCATION OF
CREDENTIAL WHEN CHANGE IN STATUS

(@) Any clinical addictions specialist credentialed pursuant to
deemed status who is no longer a member in good standing of
their professional discipline may be subject to revocation of the
credential following an investigation by the Ethics Committee of
the Board.

(b) Any clinical addictions specialist who is credentialed pursuant
to the deemed status criteria may lose this credential if the
professional discipline loses its deemed status standing.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.40; 90-
113.41; 90-113.41A;

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 15, 1997;

Eff. August 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0401
POLICY

(&) The Board shall approve educational events for professional
credentialing. One "approved educational hour" is defined as one
contact hour of participation in an organized continuing education
experience. Continuing education used to meet the credentialing
requirements shall be reviewed and approved according to the
rules of this Section. If the sponsor does not obtain approval from
the Board, the individual participants shall be responsible for
supplying all of the required information for each continuing

EDUCATION APPROVAL
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education session at the time of request for credentialing or re-
credentialing. Submission of approval requests shall be received
45 days prior to opening day of the event.
(b) Any applicant for training approval shall submit a training
approval request form including:
1) title of course, date, location, individual or
organization sponsor, and whether it will be
held only once or recurring.

2 presenter(s) who shall attach a resume outlining
expertise in the subject area and content of the
session.

3) a description of the contents of a track, course,

seminar, and the type of credit hours being
requested to indicate if it is substance use
disorder specific, general skill building, or
required training pursuant to other specialized
credentials  including  Criminal  Justice
Addictions Professionals, Clinical Supervisors,
or Prevention Specialists.

4) agenda, to include the breakdown of time
including a 15 minute break for every two hours
of education and amount of time allowed for
meals; and

(5) the sponsor or individual seeking approval shall
pay an annual fee as follows:

(A) twenty five dollars ($25.00) for up to
10 hours;
(B) fifty dollars ($50.00) for more than 10
hours and up to 20 hours;
© seventy five dollars ($75.00) for more
than 20 hours and up to 30 hours;
(D) one hundred dollars ($100.00) for
more than 30 hours and up to 40 hours;
(E) one hundred twenty five dollars
($125.00) for more than 40 hours.
(c) Training approved by IC&RC and its member boards and
organizations granted deemed status shall be accepted with
documentation of completion.
(d) In-service training shall meet the same requirements as set out
in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. However, if persons who
are non-employees of the sponsoring and presenting agency are
invited to participate, then it is not considered in-service and
Board pre-approval shall be required. The presenting agency or
organization may contract with outside trainers to present to their
employees and this shall be considered in-service training.
(e) Presenters shall be given one hour of credit for every one hour
presented. However, if the original presentation is repeated, hours
can only be credited for the original presentation.
(f) The Board may revise or rescind credit hours if information is
received documenting that a previously approved event was not
presented as it was approved.
(9) Inaccordance with G.S. 90-113.40(a)(6), the Board shall only
grant education hours for college courses in the subject areas of
human services, counseling, mental health, and addictions. The
Board shall grant 15 contact hours of education for each college
or university semester credit; the standard 3 credit semester course
shall be equal to 45 contact hours of education.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0402 GENERAL TRAINING PRE-
APPROVAL GUIDELINES

(a) The rules of this Section shall apply to each approval request
for obtaining credit for didactic and academic hours for course,
curricula, and training events seeking pre-approval from the
Board for professionals to use to meet their educational
requirements for initial credentialing or renewal.

(b) The Board shall have the right to review programs by sending
a Board member or designee to monitor the event or a portion of
the event. When fulfilling this quality assurance role, the
designated person shall notify the presenter or training sponsor in
writing.

(c) Education hours shall be awarded only for actual hours
attended.

(d) Providers of Board approved events shall be required to
document attendance at individual events for schools, courses,
curricula, and conferences.

(e) Event sponsors shall maintain attendance and evaluation
records for a minimum of three years.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.40;
Eff. August 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0403 IN-SERVICE TRAINING EVENT
(&) An in-service event shall be a training session that shall be
provided by the applicant's employer for the purpose of
professional credentialing and limited to the employees of that
agency. The Board shall accept in-service training for
professional credentialing and renewal but reserves the right to
attend and evaluate the in-service training as described in Rule
.0402 of this Section.

(b) An applicant's training in substance use disorder and
prevention provided as part of military employment shall be
considered in-service training.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.40;
Eff. August 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October, 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0404
LIMITATION
The Board may deny credit approval based on failure to provide
accurate information to the Board as part of the credit approval
application.

CREDIT DENIAL OR

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.40;
Eff. August 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0405 SPONSOR GUIDELINES

(a) Sponsors or presenters shall submit requests for approval prior
to the event and shall allow the Board 45 days for review and
approval. Requests by sponsors or presenters submitted after the
event has taken place may not be reviewed or approved by the
Board.
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(b) All approvals from the Board shall include the event approval
number.

(c) Sponsors shall be responsible for providing a certificate of
attendance which includes the approval number and number of
approved education hours.

(d) Any event given on a recurring basis, as in the example of
college courses, shall be given approval on a yearly basis.
Renewal of credit approval shall be based on notification by the
sponsor or presenter documenting no change in course content.
Any changes in content or method shall be submitted for review
and approval in order to maintain prior approval. When changes
have been made in content, method or agenda, the fee shall be the
same as for a new event.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.38; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0406 PROCEDURES FOR APPROVAL
OF SELF STUDY COURSES

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-
113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0407
GUIDELINES

(@) The applicant shall provide the event approval number and
proper documentation of attendance which includes:

EDUCATION SUBMISSION

@ certificate of attendance; or
2 training cards or sheets signed by a sponsor or
presenter.

(b) Documents not acceptable to establish that an applicant has
received continuing education are as follows:

(1) canceled checks;

(2) receipts;

3) letters from supervisors who were non-
participants in the course; or

4) program schedules.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0501 PURPOSE AND SCOPE

(@) The Board may deem violation of these ethical principles of
the Board, malpractice, negligence, incompetence, or engaging in
conduct that could result in harm or injury to the public, as stated
in G.S. 90-113.44(a)(9).

(b) Ethical principles shall provide a standard for the substance
use disorder professional in his or her professional roles,
relationships, and responsibilities.

(c) Upon submission of an application for a credential, each
applicant shall review the ethical principles in these Rules, and
agree to uphold the ethical principles of of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0502 NON-DISCRIMINATION

The substance use disorder professional shall not discriminate
against clients or other professionals based on race, religion, age,
sex, handicaps, national ancestry, sexual orientation, or economic
condition.

History Note:
113.40;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0503 COMPETENCE

(a) The substance use disorder professional shall employ their
knowledge, skill and proficiencies within their scope of practice.
(b) The substance use disorder professional shall respect cultural
and ethnic values in order to provide the highest level of care for
a client who possesses a diverse or unfamiliar cultural or ethnic
background.

(c) The substance use disorder professional shall provide the
interpretive services to any client or refer the person for services.
(d) The substance use disorder professional shall assist in
eliminating prevention, intervention, treatment, and supervision
practices by persons unqualified or unauthorized to practice in the
field.

(e) The substance use disorder professional who knows of
unethical conduct, as defined by the rules of this Chapter, by a
substance use disorder professional shall report such violations to
the Board.

(f) The substance use disorder professional shall recognize
boundaries and limitations of his or her competencies and not
offer services or use techniques outside of his or her professional
competencies and scope of practice.

(g) The substance use disorder professional who identifies a need
for services outside his or her skill, training or experience shall
refer the client to an appropriate professional or shall seek
supervision and training to provide the required services for the
individual.

(h) The substance use disorder professional shall complete
reports and record keeping functions in a manner that supports the
client's treatment experience and welfare.

(i) The substance use disorder professional shall recognize the
negative impact impairment has on his or her functioning in public
and professional performance and shall report the impairment to
the Board for investigation and review, which may result in
disciplinary or non-disciplinary action.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.36; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.43; 90-113.44;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0504 LEGAL STANDARDS AND
ETHICAL STANDARDS

(@) The substance use disorder professional shall not claim or
imply educational, experiential, or professional qualifications or
affiliations that the substance use disorder professional does not
pOSSess.

(b) The substance use disorder professional shall not use
membership on the Board for purposes that are not consistent with
the rules of this Chapter. No Board member shall advertise,
promise, or provide special treatment to any individual because of
membership on the Board or its committees.

(c) The substance use disorder professional shall not lend his or
her name to or participate in any professional or business
relationship that may knowingly mislead the public.

(d) The substance use disorder professional shall follow all state
and federal laws on research with human subjects when he or she
engages in such research.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.43; 90-113.44; 90-113.45;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; April 1, 2001;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0505
STANDARDS

(@) The substance use disorder professional shall be prepared to
provide the source for any materials or techniques used when
making either public statements or providing education and
training.

(b) The substance use disorder professional shall not knowingly
make false, deceptive, or fraudulent statements concerning their
services, fees, clinical research, or degree of success of their
professional services.

EDUCATION AND TRAINING

History Note:
113.44;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; April 1, 2001;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0506 PUBLICATION CREDIT

The substance use disorder professional shall assign credit to all
who have contributed to the published material and for the work
upon which the publication is based.

1) The substance use disorder professional shall
recognize joint authorship contributions made
by several persons to a common project. The
author who has made the principal contribution
to a publication shall be identified as a first
listed.

2 The substance use disorder professional shall
acknowledge, through specific citations,
unpublished, as well as published material, that
has influenced the research or writing.

3 The substance use disorder professional who
compiles and edits for publication the
contributions of others shall list oneself as
editor, along with the names of those others
who have contributed.

History Note:
113.44;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0507 CLIENT WELFARE

(&) The substance use disorder professional shall protect the
safety and welfare of the client.

(b) The substance use disorder professional shall inform clients
of the nature and direction of loyalties and responsibilities and
keep all parties participating in the client's care informed of these
commitments.

(c) The substance use disorder professional, in the presence of
professional conflict, shall be concerned primarily with the
welfare of the client.

(d) The substance use disorder professional shall withdraw
services only after giving consideration to all factors in the
situation and taking care to minimize adverse actual or possible
effects.

() The substance use disorder professional shall, after
minimizing any adverse impact, end a counseling or consulting
relationship when the professional knows or should know that the
client is not benefiting from services.

(f) The substance use disorder professional who anticipates the
cessation or interruption of service to a client shall notify the
client and seek the cessation, transfer, referral, or continuation of
service in relation to the client's needs and preferences.

(g) The substance use disorder professional shall not use a client
in a demonstration that would violate the confidentiality of the
client.

(h) The substance use disorder professional shall deliver services
in a setting that respects client confidentiality.

(i) The substance use disorder professional shall collaborate with
other health care professionals providing treatment or support
services to a client.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.43; 90-113.44;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0508 CONFIDENTIALITY

(@) The substance use disorder professional shall protect the
privacy of current and former clients and shall not disclose
confidential information without prior consent.

(b) The substance use disorder professional shall inform the client
and obtain written permission for the use of interview material for
training purposes and observation of an interview.

(c) The substance use disorder professional shall make provisions
for the maintenance of confidentiality and the ultimate disposition
of confidential records.

(d) The substance use disorder professional shall disclose
confidential information only in accordance with state
confidentiality rules found in 10A NCAC 26B and in 42 CFR Part
2.

(e) With prior written consent the substance use disorder
professional shall discuss the information obtained in a clinical or
consulting relationship only in a professional setting and only for
a professional purpose concerned with the case. Written and oral
reports shall present only data germane to the purpose of the
evaluation.

(f) The substance use disorder professional shall use material in
classroom teaching and writing only when the identity of the
person involved is disguised to prevent disclosure or documented
permission is given by the party or the information is in the public
domain.

History Note:
113.44;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; April 1, 2001;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.43; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0509 CLIENT RELATIONSHIPS

(a) The substance use disorder professional shall not enter into a
client-professional  relationship  with  members of the
professional's immediate family. For the purpose of this Rule
"immediate family" means spouse, parent, sibling, child,
grandparent, grandchild, stepchild, stepparent, parent-in-law, and
child-in-law.

(b) The professional shall avoid dual relationships that could
impair professional judgment or increase the risk of exploitation
of a client. For the purpose of this Rule "dual relationships"
includes relationships in a social media setting where the
professional and client have access to privileged information
including relationships, photographs, and personal thoughts and
opinions of the professional and the client.

(c) Sexual activity or sexual contact of a substance use disorder
professional with a client shall be restricted as follows:

(D) The substance use disorder professional shall
not engage in or solicit sexual activity or sexual
contact with a current client.

2 The substance use disorder professional shall
not engage in or solicit sexual activity or sexual
contact with a former client for five years after
the termination of the counseling or consulting
relationship.

?3) The substance use disorder professional shall
not engage in or solicit sexual activity or sexual
contact with any client the professional knows
to be currently in treatment at their own agency
or place of professional employment.

(@) The substance use disorder professional shall
not knowingly engage in or solicit sexual
activity or sexual contact with any identified
former client of their own agency or place of
professional employment for five years after the
termination of the counseling or consulting
relationship if both the professional was
employed at the agency and the former client
was a client of the agency during the same time
period.

5) Because sexual activity with a client is harmful
to the client, a substance use disorder
professional shall not engage in sexual
activities with a former client even after a five-
year interval unless the substance use disorder
professional who engages in such activity after
the five years following cessation or
termination of treatment bears the burden of
demonstrating that there has been no harm to
the client in light of all relevant factors,
including the following:

(A) the amount of time that has passed

since  treatment services were
terminated,;

(B) the nature and duration of the
treatment services;

© the circumstances of termination;

(D) the client's personal history;

(B) the client's current mental status;

(3] the likelihood of adverse impact on the

client and others; and
(G) any statement made or action taken by
the substance use disorder
professional during the course of
treatment suggesting or inviting the
possibility of a post-termination
sexual or romantic relationship with
the client.
(d) The substance use disorder professional shall not misuse their
professional relationship for sexual, financial, or any other
personal advantage.

History Note:
113.44;

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
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Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2010; April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0510
RELATIONSHIPS
(@) The substance use disorder professional shall treat colleagues
with respect, courtesy, and fairness and shall afford the same
professional courtesy to other professionals.

(b) The substance use disorder professional shall not offer
professional services to a client in counseling or consulting with
another professional except with the knowledge of the other
professional or after the termination of the client's relationship
with the other professional.

(c) The substance use disorder professional shall cooperate with
the committees of the board and supply requested information
unless prohibited by law.

INTERPROFESSIONAL

History Note:
113.44;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0511 REMUNERATION

(@) The substance use disorder professional shall establish
financial arrangements to protect against fraud and deceptive
business practices in professional practice and in accord with the
best interests of the client or person served, the professional, and
of the profession.

(b) The substance use disorder professional shall not send or
receive any commission, rebate, or any other form of
remuneration for referral of a client or a person served for
professional services.

(c) The substance use disorder professional shall not accept a
private fee or any other gift or gratuity having a cumulative value
of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) or more for professional work with
a person who is receiving such services with the professional or
through the professional's institution or agency.

(d) The substance use disorder professional shall make available
written policies and procedures available to their clients or
persons serviced. The substance use disorder professional shall
present referral options to the client or person served if available.
(e) A substance use disorder professional shall not use their
employer's organization to solicit clients or persons served for
one's private practice without written authorization from the
employer.

History Note:
113.44;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

Eff. February 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. February 1, 2010; April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0512 RESPONSIBILITIES OF
SUPERVISOR AND SUPERVISEE

(a) A professional who has received a credential from the Board
and who is serving as a clinical or practice supervisor shall:

(D) be aware of their position with respect to
supervisees and therefore not exploit the trust
and reliance of such persons;

2 avoid dual relationships that could impair
professional judgment, increase the risk of
exploitation, or cause harm to the supervisee.
To implement this standard the supervisor shall
not:

(A) instruct or supervise a person with
whom the supervisor has participated
in a sexual activity; a person living in
the supervisor's household; or an
immediate family member. For the
purpose of this Rule, "immediate
family member" means spouse,
parent, sibling, child, grandparent,
grandchild, stepchild, stepparent,
parent-in-law, and child-in-law;

(B) provide therapy or therapeutic
counseling services to supervisees; or

© solicit or engage in sexual activity or
contact with supervisees during the
period of supervision.

©) trained in and knowledgeable about supervision
methods and techniques;

4) supervise or consult only within their
knowledge, training, and competency; and

5) guide their supervisee to perform services in
accordance with the ethical principles of this
Chapter. As authorized by the supervisee's
employer, the supervisor shall assign to their
supervisees only those tasks or duties that these
individuals can be expected to perform, based
on the supervisee's education, experience, or
training, either independently or with the level
of supervision being provided,;

(6) withhold confidential information provided by
a supervisee except:

(A) as mandated by law;

(B) to prevent harm to a client or other
person involved with the supervision;
© in educational or training settings

where there are multiple supervisors,
and then only to other supervisors who
share  responsibility  for  the
performance or training of the
supervisee; or
(D) if consent is obtained.
@) establish and facilitate a process for providing
evaluation of performance and feedback to a
supervisee. To implement this process the
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(8)

©)

(10)

supervisee shall be informed of the timing of
evaluations, methods, and levels of competency
expected. Supervision documentation shall be
signed by the supervisor and supervisee and
include the date, time, duration, method, and
topic of the supervision session;

withhold endorsement of supervisees for
credentialing, employment, or completion of an
academic training program if they believe the
supervisees are not qualified for the
endorsement. A supervisor shall develop a plan
to assist a supervisee who is not qualified for
endorsement to become qualified;

make financial arrangements for any
remuneration with supervisees and
organizations only if these arrangements are in
writing. All fees shall be disclosed to the
supervisee prior to the beginning of
supervision; and

review documentation of previously supervised
work experience, provided by the supervisee,
for the purpose of credentialing by the Board.
The supervisor may verify these hours to the
Board if the supervisor deems that the
supervision was performed and may include
these verified hours in their evaluation to the
Board.

(b) The supervisor of record shall provide notice to the office of
the Board within 30 days from the date of the last session of
clinical supervision that supervision has terminated. Upon receipt
of this notice, the Board shall notify the supervisee that they have
30 days to obtain a supervisor to retain the current credential. The
supervisee shall add a new supervisor or otherwise update their
supervision contract signed and dated by the supervisor and
supervisee on file with the Board.

History Note:

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40;

Eff. April 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; January 1, 2010;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0601

GROUNDS FOR

PROFESSIONAL DISCIPLINE
The following are grounds for discipline:

1)

fraud or misrepresentation in procuring or

maintaining a credential:

€)] acting as to practice, attempt to
practice, or to supervise others while
representing oneself to be a
credentialed substance use disorder
professional without being duly
credentialed;

(b) falsely representing material fact to
procure or maintain a credential,
whether by word or conduct;

(c) concealing requested information
contained in the application;

@

@)
(4)

®)

(6)

(d) attempting to file or filing any false or
forged diploma, certificate, affidavit,
transcript, identification or
qualification;

(e) submitting material which is not the
work product of the applicant;

f knowlingly assisting another to

procure or maintain their credential on
the basis of fraud; or

(9) assisting any uncredentialed person to
practice as a credentialed substance
use disorder professional in violation

of this code.

fraud or misrepresentation to the public:

@) knowlingly make misleading,
deceptive, false, or fraudulent

misrepresentations in the practice of
the profession;

(b) advertising or holding oneself out to
the public to provide professional
services for which he or she is not
credentialed; or

(c) pursuing an illegal practice as set forth
in G.S. 90-113.43.

knowlingly make misleading, deceptive, false,

or fraudulent representations to the Board;

exploitation of a relationship with client or
person served:

@) entering into a  professional
relationship in violation of Rule .0509
of this Chapter;

(b) participating in or soliciting sexual
activity or sexual contact with a
current or former client or client of
one's agency in violation of Rule .0509
of this Chapter; and

(c) entering into personal financial
arrangements with a client or person
served in violation of Rule .0511 of
this Chapter.

illegal acts or practices:

@) violation of Rule .0508 of this
Chapter;

(b) conviction for violating any controlled
substances law or any driving while
impaired law; or

(c) being an accessory to or participating
in dishonesty, fraud,
misrepresentation, or any other illegal
act involving a client or person served.

professional incompetency or failure to meet

standards of practice:

@) failure to follow the standards of skill
and competence possessed and
applied by professional  peers
credentialed in this State acting in the
same or similar circumstances;

(b) practicing outside their scope of
practice.
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(© use of drugs including alcohol to the
extent that professional competency is
affected or that the professional
suffers impairment; or

(d) refusal to seek treatment for chemical
dependency or mental health problems

which impair professional
performance.
@) In professional relationships, the following are
prohibited:
@ knowingly  offering  professional

services to a client in a professional
relationship with another substance
use disorder professional except with
the knowledge of the other
professional or after the termination of
the client's relationship by the other
professional;

(b) sending or receiving any form of
remuneration for referral of clients or
persons served for substance use
disorder treatment services from the
professional to whom the referral was
made;

(© accepting from or charging the client a
fee for a referral to another substance
use disorder professional;

(d) accepting or charging a fee when no
substance use disorder professional
services are actually provided; except
actual costs for copies and
administrative  services may be
recovered; or

(e) failing to cooperate with the
investigations and proceedings of any
professional ethics committee unless
the failure is within the exercise of the
professional's constitutional rights.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.33; 90-113.39; 90-
113.40; 90-113.42; 90-113.43; 90-113.44; 90-113.45;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; August 1, 2000;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0602 COMPLAINT PROCEDURES
(@) Initiation. Any individual with personal knowledge that any
person has violated the code of ethics, any other rules of the
Board, or G.S. 90, Article 5C may file a complaint against the
substance use disorder professional by submitting a complaint
through the Ethics Complaint Form found on the Board's website.
(b) Form. The complaint shall be in written or typed format
stating the nature of the alleged offense and signed or attested to
be true by the complainant. The complaint shall include:

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the

complainant;

2 the name and address of the person against
whom the complaint is made; and
?3) a statement of the facts that describes the

allegations against the person.
(c) The complaint shall be investigated as set out in Rule .0603.
(d) Following an investigation of the complaint, the ethics
chairperson shall try to reach a settlement through informal
procedures pursuant to G.S. 150B-22.
(e) Once the ethics committee concludes there is a basis to
schedule a disciplinary hearing before the Board, the committee
chairperson shall notify the person against whom the complaint is
made. The notice to the respondent shall include the following:

(D) state the section(s) of the code of ethics, other
rules of the Board, or G.S. 90, Article 5C which
the complaint alleges has been violated,;

) direct that the respondent reply in writing and
by certified mail within 15 days of receipt of
this notice; and

3 inform the respondent that failure to respond in
writing within 15 days may result in revocation
of credential.

(f) Notice shall be given by regular postage mail, certified mail,
or personal service at the last known address of the respondent. If
given by certified mail, notice shall be deemed to have been given
on the delivery date appearing on the return receipt.

(g) The Board may receive official correspondence in an ethics
case through e-mail in order to further the investigation or when
the subject of an investigation is unable to use or has been
unresponsive to certified mail or other methods of delivery. The
Board may use local law enforcement or a private investigator
licensed by Private Protective Services Board to personally serve
a respondent.

(h) If notice cannot be given either by personal service or by
certified mail, a notice that a complaint has been brought against
the respondent shall then be given by publication. A party that
cannot with due diligence be served by personal delivery or
certified mail may be given notice to respond to a complaint by
publication. Service of notice by publication shall consist of
publishing a notice by publication once a week for three
successive weeks in a newspaper that is qualified for legal
advertising in accordance with G.S. 1-597 and G.S. 1-598 and
circulated in the area where the party to be served is believed by
the serving party to be located, or if there is no reliable
information concerning the location of the party then in a
newspaper circulated in the county of respondent's last address
provided to the Board by the respondent. There shall be mailed to
the party at or prior to the first publication a copy of the notice to
respond by publication to the respondent's last known address.
Upon completion of service there shall be filed with the Board by
the ethics committee chairperson an affidavit showing the
publication and mailing substantially in accordance with the
requirement of G.S. 1-75.10(2), the circumstances warranting the
use of service by publication, and information, if any, regarding
the location of the party served. The notice shall include a
statement by the Board that a complaint has been made against
the respondent that is scheduled to be heard by the Board within
90 days. The notice shall inform respondent that respondent shall
be given 30 days from the date of the last date of publication in
which to respond to the service by publication for the purpose of
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notifying the Board of respondent's whereabouts. Response shall
be made in writing to the Board at the address provided by the
Board in its notice. If respondent provides the Board with
information whereby respondent can be served by the deadline
specific in the notice, the Board shall provide notice either
personally or by certified mail as provided in Paragraph (g) of this
Rule. Failure of respondent notified by publication of a complaint
brought by the Board shall be treated as a failure of respondent to
reply to the charges.

(i) Failure of the respondent to reply to the charges, including
each specific allegation, may be considered an admission of the
facts contained in the allegation(s).

History Note:
113.44; 113.45;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; August 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0603
COMPLAINT

(a) The Ethics Committee chairperson, in consultation with the
executive director or their designee and legal counsel, shall
investigate the allegations in the complaint. The chairperson may
appoint any person(s) or name a subcommittee to serve as the
investigating entity to prepare an investigative report.

(b) The investigating entity may contact the complainant and
person against whom the complaint is made.

(c) Upon completion of the investigation, the ethics committee
chairperson in consultation with the investigating entity may
determine that:

(D) the complaint is without merit. The chairperson
shall notify the complainant that the complaint
is dismissed and shall notify the respondent of
the dismissal; and

(2) upon completion of an investigation wherein
the complaint is not dismissed, the Ethics
Committee chairperson may:

(A) offer an informal resolution pursuant
to G.S. 150B-22;

(B) schedule a meeting with the
respondent;

© refer the report to the ethics committee
or its hearing panel;

(D) schedule a hearing before the Board;

INVESTIGATION OF

or
(E) the chairperson may take a voluntary
dismissal of the case where the

respondent relinquishes his or her
credential for an agreed upon period of
time.
(d) The Ethics Committee members or its subcommittees shall
review a report referred by the Ethics Committee chairperson and
may take any of the following actions:
(1) dismiss the complaint;

2 remand the matter to the investigating entity in
order to obtain additional evidence sufficient
upon which to base a decision;

3 make a written offer of informal resolution;

(@) schedule a meeting with the respondent
whereby the dispute may be settled through
informal procedures; or

(5) schedule a disciplinary hearing before the
Board.

History Note:
113.44;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; August 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.33; 90-113.34; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0604 HEARING BEFORE BOARD
(a) A hearing shall be initiated:
(8] at the call of the Ethics Committee chairperson,
Ethics Committee, or Ethics Committee
hearing panel in the case of a complaint against
a credentialed professional; or
2 by any person pursuant to G.S. 150B, Article
3A on appeal of an agency decision.
(b) The hearing shall be conducted pursuant to G.S. 150B, Article
3A.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.44; 90-113.45;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0605 METHOD OF DISCIPLINE
() In the course of the disciplinary investigation or hearing the

Board may:
@ deny a credential,
2 revoke a credential;
3) suspend a credential until further order of the

Board or for a specified period of time;
4) admonish, reprimand, or censure the
Respondent; or
(5) take other actions not to be considered a
disciplinary action, including a letter of caution
or letter of warning without the consent of the
Respondent.
(b) Disciplinary or other actions by the Board with the
Respondent's consent may be stayed while the Respondent
satisfies all of the conditions of the consent order.
(c) For the purposes of this Chapter:
(D) "Admonish" means a written warning from the
Board to a person making application for
certification or licensure by the Board or
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registered, certified, or licensed by the Board.
An admonishment is more severe than a
reprimand and less severe than a censure.

(2) "Reprimand" means a written warning from the
Board to a person making application for
certification or licensure by the Board or
registered, certified, or licensed by the Board.
A reprimand is more less severe than an
admonishment.

3) "Censure" means a written warning from the
Board to a person making application for
certification or licensure by the Board or
registered, certified, or licensed by the Board.
A censure is the most severe level of discipline
that allows the professional to continue to
practice.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.34; 90-113.43; 90-113.44; 90-113.45;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0606 EFFECT OF ACTIONS OF
COURT OR OF OTHER PROFESSIONAL GROUPS

() If a person credentialed or applying for a credential from the
Board has been disciplined by another professional organization
or convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, the Ethics Committee
or the Board may take this prior record into consideration when
imposing disciplinary sanctions.

(b) When prior discipline is discovered, it shall be referred to the
Ethics Committee and shall be treated by the Ethics Committee in
the same manner as a complaint, unless previously addressed by
the Board or committee of the Board.

(c) The substance use disorder professional shall notify the Board
within 30 days from the date of any charges, conviction or finding
of gquilt, or pleading of nolo contendere for all criminal
convictions. This reporting shall include DWI charges, arrests,
and convictions but exclude all other traffic convictions pursuant
to G.S. 20.

(d) Failure to report these criminal convictions shall be
considered a violation of the ethical principles of the Board.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.43; 90-113.44; 90-113.45;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; April 1, 2003;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0607 DISCRETION OF BOARD

The following factors may be considered by the Board in
determining the nature and severity of the disciplinary sanctions
to be imposed:

QD the relative seriousness of the violation as it
relates to assuring the citizens of North
Carolina a consistently high standard of
professional service and care;

2 the facts of the particular violation;

3 any extenuating circumstances or other
countervailing considerations;

(@) the number and seriousness of prior violations
or complaints:

(5) whether remedial action has previously been
taken;

(6) likelihood of reoccurrence; and

@) other factors which may reflect upon the

competency, ethical standards, and professional
conduct of the individual.

History Note:
113.44;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.33; 90-113.43; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0608 CONFIDENTIALITY

Except to pursue notification of respondent of a complaint as set
out in Rule .0602 of this Section and to share information with the
complainant and others involved in the investigation, at no time
prior to the release of the final decision by the Board shall any
portion of the action or the whole thereof, be made public or be
distributed to any persons other than the members and chairperson
of the involved committees, the Ethics Committee, and its staff.

History Note:
113.34;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0609
CASE

(a) If a party fails to appear, the hearing may proceed without the
party. However, if the inquiry is conducted or a decision is
reached in an administrative hearing in the absence of a party, or
if a dismissal is entered prior to the granting of one continuance
to the person petitioning for reopening the case, that party may
file a written petition with the Board for a reopening of the case.
The petition caption shall be entitled: "Petition for Reopening
Hearing of Respondent.”

(b) Petitions for reopening a contested case shall not be granted
unless the petitioner can show that their failure to appear was due
to personal or family medical emergency.

(c) The decision of the Board to grant or deny the petition to
reopen shall be in writing and a copy shall be sent to the petitioner
and made a part of the record of the hearing.

PETITION FOR REOPENING
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.34; 90-113.40; 90-113.44; 90-113.45;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0610
FOLLOWING DENIAL
(@ Upon a showing that there are circumstances that could
establish a basis for reinstatement of a credential following its
denial, the Board may reinstate or credential the respondent.

(b) A request for reinstatement of the credential following its
denial shall be initiated by the respondent.

(c) To determine that there is a basis reinstating or awarding a
credential, the Board may consider:

AWARDING THE CREDENTIAL

(1) the nature of the offense;

(2) the severity of the offense;

3) any resulting harm or injury to the public and
its extent;

(@) the length of time since the punishment was
imposed; and

(5) restitution made.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.44; 90-113.45;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0611 PROOF OF REHABILITATION
(@ As used in G.S. 90-113.44 and in the rules of this Chapter,
rehabilitation from impairment shall be sustained and continuous
for at least six months.

(b) Upon consideration of the evidence evaluated as set forth in
Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the required six month period of
rehabilitation may be extended pursuant to the treatment
recommendations from a Board-approved assessor, and as
approved by the Board.

(c) Evidence for consideration shall include:

(D) documentation of treatment history including
all  assessments, evaluations, treatment,
counseling, and group experiences;

2 complete criminal record,;

3) a comprehensive biopsychosocial and medical
assessment that includes evidence of physical,
mental, psychological, and social functioning;

4) medical diagnosis, treatment history and
functioning prognosis;

(5) Return to substance use; and

(6) whether or not the respondent cooperated with

the Board's investigation, to include self-
reporting the violation.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.39; 90-113.40;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0615 INFORMAL PROCEEDINGS
(a) In addition to formal hearings pursuant to G.S. 90-113.33 and
G.S. 90-113.34, the Board may conduct informal proceedings in
order to settle certain matters of dispute. A substance use disorder
professional practicing pursuant to a credential or other authority
granted by the Board may be invited to attend a meeting with the
Board or a committee of the Board on an informal basis to discuss
matters as the Board may advise in its communication to the
person. No public record of such proceeding shall be made nor
shall any individual be placed under oath to give testimony.
Information discussed by a person in an informal hearing before
the Board may be used in a formal hearing against the Respondent
if initiated.
(b) Attendance at such an informal meeting shall not be required
and is at the discretion of the person so invited. A person invited
to attend an informal meeting shall be entitled to have counsel
present.
() As a result of such informal meeting, the Board may
recommend:
(8] actions to be taken by a person;
2) the person be offered the opportunity to enter
into a consent order;
3 that it institute a formal
concerning a person; or
(@) that it take other public or non-public action, to
include disciplinary and non-disciplinary
actions.

public hearing

History Note:
38(h);

Eff. April 1, 2001;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2011;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.33; 150B-22; 150B-

21 NCAC 68 .0620
SANCTIONS
Sanctions of admonition, reprimand, censure, suspension, or
revocation of a credential shall be published by the Board.

PUBLICATION OF ETHICS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-
113.42; 90-113.43; 90-113.44;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0701
TIME REQUIREMENT
(&) Upon denial, suspension, or revocation of a credential, the
applicant may request a hearing before the Board which will serve
as the appeals hearing body.

(b) Requests for an appeals hearing shall be made in writing to
the President of the Board within 30 days after receipt of the
notification that a credential had been denied or revoked.

HEARING BEFORE BOARD:
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History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0702 RIGHT TO HEARING

(@ When the Board proposes to deny, suspend, or revoke a
credential, it shall give notice to the person(s) affected of the right
to an administrative hearing.

(b) The notice shall be mailed by certified mail to the person at
his or her last known address.

(c) The person affected may assert his or her right to a hearing by
mailing to the Board a request for an Administrative Hearing
pursuant to Rule .0703 of this Section.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0703 REQUEST FOR HEARING
(&) Any applicant to be credentialed by this Board who believes
their rights, duties or privileges have been affected by the Board's
administrative action but who has not received notice of a right to
an administrative hearing, may file a formal request for a hearing
to determine eligibility to be credentialed.
(b) Before an applicant or credentialed individual may file a
request, they shall attempt to resolve the issue informally with the
Board.
(c) The chairperson of the Ethics Committee or their designee
may meet with the person accused of an ethical violation, if the
accused so chooses, prior to requesting additional information
from the complainant.
(d) Subsequent to such informal action, if still dissatisfied, the
person affected shall submit a written request to the Board in an
envelope  bearing the notation "REQUEST FOR
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING." That request shall contain the
following information:

(1) name and address of the applicant or

credentialed individual;
(2) statement of the action taken by the Board
which is challenged;

3 statement of the way in which the applicant or
credentialed individual has been aggrieved; and
(@) statement of request for a hearing.

(e) A request for a hearing shall be acknowledged and a hearing
shall be scheduled.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0704 HEARING REQUESTS

(a) The Board shall decide whether to grant a request for a hearing
at its next regularly scheduled meeting following receipt of the
request.

(b) A denial of a request for a hearing shall be issued following a
decision by the Board. Such denial shall contain a statement
supporting Board denial of the request.

(c) Approval of a request for a hearing shall be signified by the
issuing of a notice pursuant to Rule .0705 of this Section.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0705 NOTICE OF HEARING
Notices of administrative hearings of the Board shall include the
following:

1) the name, position, address, and telephone
number of a member, employee, or agent of the
Board to contact for further information or
discussion;

2) a statement that failure to inform the office of
the Board, within 10 days after notice is
received of intent to appear at any hearing or
prehearing conference scheduled in the hearing
notice shall be deemed a waiver of the right to
a hearing;

©) notice of the date and place of a prehearing
conference, if any;

(@) notice of the date of the hearing; and

(5) any other information relevant to informing the
party or parties as to the procedure of the
hearing.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0706

CONTESTED CASES
Administrative hearings shall be heard by the Board or, upon
determination by the Board, the Office of Administrative
Hearings in accordance with G.S. 150B-40(e). The Chair or their
designee shall be responsible for the conduct of a Board hearing.

WHO SHALL HEAR

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0707
INTERVENTION
(a) Any person seeking to intervene in a contested case shall file
a written petition with the Board. The envelope of such request
shall bear the notation "PETITION TO INTERVENE IN THE
CASE OF (NAME OF CASE)."
(b) The petition shall include the following information:

(D) name and address of petitioner;

2 business or occupation of petitioner, where

relevant;

PETITION FOR
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3) full identification of the hearing in which
petitioner is seeking to intervene;

4) statutory or non-statutory grounds for
intervention or if none, so state;

(5) any claim or defense, in respect of which
intervention is sought; and
(6) summary of the arguments or evidence

petitioner seeks to present.
(c) The Board shall mail copies of the petition to the parties to the
case, with the costs, at the rate of twenty-five cents (0.25) per
page, chargeable to the petitioner.
(d) Upon the determination of the Board to allow intervention,
notice of that decision shall be issued to all parties as to the
petitioner. In cases of discretionary intervention, such notification
shall include a statement of any limitations of time, subject matter,
or evidence, which are imposed on the intervenor.
(e) Upon the Board's decision to deny intervention, the petitioner
shall be notified. Such notice shall be in writing, shall state all
reasons for the decision and shall be issued to the petitioner and
to all parties.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-

21 NCAC 68 .0709
BOARD MEMBER
(@) Self-disqualification of Board Member. If for any reason the
Board member determines that factors render them unable to
conduct or participate in the hearing and perform all duties in an
impartial manner, they shall notify the Board Chair of their
disqualification.

(b) Petition for Disqualification. If for any reason any party in a
contested case believes that the Board member personally is
biased or otherwise unable to conduct or participate in the hearing
and perform all duties in an impartial manner, the party may file

DISQUALIFICATION OF

a sworn, notarized affidavit with the Board. The envelope of such
affidavit shall bear the notation: "AFFIDAVIT OF
DISQUALIFICATION OF BOARD MEMBER IN THE CASE
OF (NAME OF CASE)."

(c) Contents of Affidavit. The affidavit shall state all facts the
party deems relevant to the disqualification of the Board member.
(d) Timeliness of Affidavit. An affidavit of disqualification shall
be considered timely if filed at least 10 days before
commencement of the hearing. Any other affidavit shall be
considered timely provided it is filed at the first opportunity after
the party becomes aware of the facts which give rise to a
reasonable belief that the Board member may be disqualified
pursuant to this Rule.

(e) Procedure for Determining Disqualification is as follows:

1) The Chair of the Board may appoint a member
of the Board to investigate the allegations of the
affidavit and report his or her findings and
recommendations to the Board.

2 The Board shall decide whether to disqualify
the challenged individual.

©) The person whose disqualification is to be
determined shall not participate in the decision
but will have the right to furnish information to
the Board.

4) A record of proceedings and the reasons for
decisions reached shall be maintained as part of
the contested case.

(f) Disqualification or withdrawal of a Board member because of
personal bias or otherwise shall not cause the hearing to be
postponed unless a quorum is not available.

History Note:
113.40;

Eff. August 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission November 19, 2020 at 1711 New Hope
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting.
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair)
Margaret Currin Paul Powell
Jeff Hyde Garth Dunklin

Randy Overton

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939
Ashley Snyder 984-236-1941
Karlene Turrentine 984-236-1948

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
November 19, 2020 December 17, 2020
January 21, 2021 February 18, 2021

AGENDA
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 19, 2020 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

l. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
Il. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting

1. Follow-up matters

A. Coastal Resources Commission — 15A NCAC 07H .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0308, .0309,
.0310, .0311, .0312 (May)

B. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06B .0112, .0113, .0114 (Snyder)

C. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06D .0211, .0212, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311; 06E .0107,
.0204, .0206; 06G .0314, .0315, .0316, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0514, .0517, .0518,
.0519, .0520, .0521, .0522 (Snyder)

D. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06H .0113, .0115, .0116, .0117; 06K .0101, .0103, .0104, .0105
(Reeder)

E. Department of Transportation - 19A NCAC 02E .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209,
.0210, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0224, .0225, and .0226 (May)

F. Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board - 21 NCAC 68 .0216, .0227, .0228, .0708 (Snyder)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between September 22, 2020 through October 20, 2020
e Industrial Commission (Reeder)
e Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (May)
e Department of Labor (Snyder)
e Building Code Council (Reeder)
V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting
VI. Existing Rules Review
VII. Commission Business

G. Review of 2021 RRC meeting dates
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¢ Next meeting: Thursday, December 17, 2020

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
September 22, 2020 through October 20, 2020

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 23A concern workers' compensation rules including administration (.0100); notice of act (.0200);
insurance (.0300); disability, compensation, fees (.0400); agreements (.0500); claims administration and procedures
(.0600); appeals (.0700); rules of the commission (.0800); report of earnings (.0900); and preauthorization for medical
treatment (.1000).

Employer's Requirement to File First Report of Injury 11 NCAC 23A .0104
Amend*
Electronic Filings with the Commission; How to File 11 NCAC 23A .0108
Amend*
Contact Information 11 NCAC 23A .0109
Amend*
Required Contact Information from Carriers 11 NCAC 23A .0302
Amend*
Application for or Stipulation to Additional Medical Comp... 11 NCAC 23A .0408
Amend*
Claims for Death Benefits 11 NCAC 23A .0409
Amend*
Agreements for Prompt Payment of Compensation 11 NCAC 23A .0501
Amend*
Employee's Obligation to Report Earnings 11 NCAC 23A .0903
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 23B concern tort claims including administration (.0100); claims procedures (.0200); appeals
to full commission (.0300); appeals to the court of appeals (.0400); and rules of the commission (.0500).

Electronic Filings with the Commission, How to File 11 NCAC 23B .0104
Amend*
Contact Information 11 NCAC 23B .0105
Amend*
Notice by the Commission 11 NCAC 23B .0106
Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 23E concern the administrative rules of the Industrial Commission including administration
(.0100); fees (.0200); and the rules of the commission (.0300).

Secure Leave Periods for Attorneys 11 NCAC 23E .0104
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 23L concern workers' compensation forms.

Form 21 - Agreement for Compensation for Disability 11 NCAC 23L .0101
Amend*

Form 26 - Supplemental Agreement as to Payment of Compens... 11 NCAC 23L .0102
Amend*

Form 26A - Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Pe... 11 NCAC 23L .0103
Amend*

Form 26A - Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Pe... 11 NCAC 23L .0103
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Amend*

Form T-42 - Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 11 NCAC 23L .0105
Amend*

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200);
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400);
standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate
and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-
.1700); in-service training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100).

Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .2005
Amend*

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 15 pertain to elevators and amusement devices and include general provisions (.0100); various
industry codes and standards (.0200); elevators and related equipment (.0300); amusement devices (.0400); penalties
(.0500); forms (.0600); and fees (.0700).

Tramway Requirements 13 NCAC 15 .0205
Amend*
Responsibility for Compliance 13 NCAC 15 .0402
Amend*
Elevator, Escalator, Dumbwaiter, and Special Equipment An... 13 NCAC 15 .0702
Amend*
Amusement Device Inspection Fee Schedule 13 NCAC 15 .0703
Amend*
Special Amusement Device Inspection Fee 13 NCAC 15 .0704
Amend*
Passenger Tramway Inspection Fee Schedule 13 NCAC 15 .0705
Amend*

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

2018 NC Building Code/Soffit in Group R 705.12
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Definitions Family R202
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Soffit Protection R302.1.1
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Tables R602
Amend*

2018 NC Fire Code/Definitions Valet Trash Collection Service 202
Amend*

2018 Fire Code/Valet Trash Collection Services For R-2 Ap... 304
Amend*

2018 Fire Code/Commercial Kitchen Hoods 609.2
Amend*
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential.
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/
If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge

JULIAN MANN, I

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter

Don Overby
J. Randall May
David Sutton

Selina Malherbe

J. Randolph Ward
Stacey Bawtinhimer
Tenisha Jacobs

Year | Code | Number Date Petitioner Respondent ALJ
Decision
Filed
Published
19 | DOJ 06923 8/28/2020 | Scott Thomas Pitts North Carolina Criminal Justice | Sutton
Education and Training Standards
Commission
20 | DOJ 01467 8/31/2020 Trent Lackey North Carolina Sheriffs Education and | Sutton
Training Standards Commission
19 | DST 06915 8/6/2020 Dr. Robin P State of North Carolina Department of | Byrne
Gardner State Treasurer, Retirement Systems
Division
20 | EHR 01275 8/19/2020 William C Hiatt NC Department of Environmental | Sutton
Quality Division of Water Resources
20 | INS 01234 8/3/2020 Scott R Lassiter North Carolina State Health Care Plan | Bawtinhimer
for Teachers and State Employees
19 | WTO 07049 8/27/2020 Travis Clarke North Carolina Water Treatment | Byrne
Facility Operators Certification Board
Unpublished
20 ABC | 02228 8/4/2020 NC Alcoholic Moefo Inc T/A E Z Pass Tobacco and | Lassiter
Beverage  Control Vape
Commission
19 CSE | 05908 8/14/2020 William Glasson NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
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19 CSE | 05932 8/18/2020 Timothy James NC Department of Health and Human | Culpepper
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 CSE | 05966 8/18/2020 Robert R Abrams NC Department of Health and Human | Culpepper
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 06125 8/11/2020 Norman S Bowers NC Department of Health and Human | May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 06362 8/14/2020 Robert Daniels NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 06590 8/21/2020 Richard E Stewart NC Department of Health and Human | Lassiter
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
20 CSE | 00138 8/13/2020 George Lorenzo NC Department of Health and Human | Overby
Gilmore Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
20 CSE | 01217 8/24/2020 Edward L Brooks NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 01429 8/3/2020 Corderro  Antonio NC Department of Health and Human | Lassiter
Cephas Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 01585 8/27/2020 Brian Iversen NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 01762 8/14/2020 Phillip Wynne NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Raulston Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 01832 8/10/2020 Mavin D Williams NC Department of Health and Human | May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 01912 8/11/2020 Larry Deron Smith( NC Department of Health and Human | Overby
AR) Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 02007 8/31/2020 Raymond A Gibson NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Jr. Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 02229 8/12/2020 Antonio D Mock NC Department of Health and Human | May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 02245 8/10/2020 Christopher T NC Department of Health and Human | Jacobs
Charles Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 02268 8/10/2020 Albert Bracey Jr NC Department of Health and Human | Jacobs
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 DHR | 06865 8/27/2020 Alpha Concord of NC Dept of Health and Human | Byrne
Greenshoro  HAL- Services, Division of Health Service
041-082 Regulation,  AdultCare  Licensure
Section
19 DHR | 06866 8/27/2020 Alpha Concord NC Dept of Health and Human | Byrne
Plantation HAL- Services, Division of Health Service
080-027 Regulation Adult Care Licensure
Section
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20 DHR | 01773 8/21/2020 Keira Hinson NC Department of Health and Human | Lassiter
Services
20 DHR | 02026 8/10/2020 Sanida Pajic NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Sabanija Services
20 DHR | 02031 8/21/2020 Kids-R-Us NC Department of Health and Human | Mann
Preschool & Services, Division of Child
Childcare  Center Development and Early Education
LLC Wendy Kaye
Mitchell
20 DHR | 02690 8/28/2020 Sherrie Lewis North Carolina Division of Child | Jacobs
Young Development & Early Education
20 DOJ | 01468 8/26/2020 Steven C Whiteman North Carolina Sheriffs Education and | Sutton
Training Standards Commission
20 DOT | 02246 8/21/2020 Jameon Sheffield NC Department of Transportation Mann
20 OSP | 01071 8/11/2020; Yolanda Bullock North Carolina Department of Health | Byrne
8/20/2020 and Human Services
20 OSP | 02329; 8/10/2020 Richard Hilton NC Department of Public Safety; | Ward
02347 Nowack North Carolina Department of Public
Safety
20 UNC | 02159 8/21/2020 Teresa Truill University of North Carolina Hospitals | Mann
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