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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Environmental Quality 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 04 NCAC 12D .0132, .0133, 

amend the rule cited as 04 NCAC 12D .0101, readopt with 

substantive changes the rules cited as 01 NCAC 41C .0101, .0201-

.0209, .0211, .0301-.0303; 04 NCAC 12D .0102, .0116, .0117, 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 01 NCAC 

41C .0210; 41D .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302, .0401, 

and repeal through readoption the rules cited as 01 NCAC 41A 

.0101-.0103; 41E .0101; 04 NCAC 12C .0108; 12D .0103. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-main 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice): 

Contact Star Hodge, State Energy Program Manager, as listed: 

Star.hodge@ncdenr.gov 

NC Department of Environmental Quality 

MSC #1613 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1613 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  General Statute 150B-21.3A 

requires state agencies to review their existing rules every 10 

years to determine which rules are still necessary, and to either 

readopt or repeal each rule as appropriate. Amendments to these 

State Energy Office rules will expand the scope of the Energy 

Loan Fund and modify loan conditions for energy efficiency and 

renewable energy projects in accordance with Session Law 2009-

475. Additional technical amendments will correct outdated and 

obsolete rules for clarity before they are transferred and codified 

in Title 15A of the Administrative Code under the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Star Hodge, NC Department 

of Environmental Quality, State Energy Office, MSC #1613, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1613; email Star.hodge@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  December 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 41 - STATE ENERGY OFFICE 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - ORGANIZATION 

 

01 NCAC 41A .0101 PURPOSE 

01 NCAC 41A .0102 DEFINITIONS 

01 NCAC 41A .0103 SCOPE AND PURPOSE OF 

STATE SET-ASIDE 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 143B-431; 143B-449. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41C - ENERGY IMPROVEMENT LOAN 

PROGRAM 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0101 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Chapter, Subchapter, the following 

definitions apply: 

(1) "Allowable Costs, "Costs" means origination 

cost, up front cost, letter of credit fee (first 

year), engineering design fee, and 

implementation of an eligible energy 

conservation measure. All allowable costs to be 

included in the loan must shall be incurred after 

the execution date of the Letter of Intent; Intent. 

(2) "Applicant," "Applicant" means any 

commercial or industrial business business, 

nonprofit institution, local government entity, 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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or resident applying for a loan under the 

Program; Program. 

(3) "Btu," "Btu" means British thermal unit; the 

amount of heat required to raise the temperature 

of one pound of water one degree Fahrenheit at 

or near 39.2 degrees F; F. 

(4) "Btu/sq. ft/yr.," "Btu/sq. ft./yr." means Btu per 

square foot per year; an index of building 

energy use, calculated by dividing the total 

annual energy use of a building by its square 

foot area; area. 

(5) "Commercial or industrial business," business" 

means a commercial or industrial concern 

which that provides goods or services for profit 

from a location in North Carolina. 

(6) "Commercially available" means available to 

the general public and does not include 

experimental or research-related technologies. 

(6)(7) "Credit worthiness", worthiness" means ability 

of applicant to meet lending institution's 

standard lending criteria; criteria; 

(7) "DOA Fiscal Department," the Fiscal 

Management Department, N. C. Department of 

Administration; 

(8) "Energy conservation measure," measure" 

means a commercially available energy 

efficient device, technique or technology, 

designed to reduce energy consumption, peak 

demand, or as utility costs at an existing or 

proposed commercial or industrial business; 

business, nonprofit institution, local 

government entity, or residence. 

(9) "Financial Services Division" means the Fiscal 

Management Department, within the N.C. 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

(9)(10) "Letter of Intent," Intent" means written 

notification of the intent of the Department of 

Environmental Quality's intent to originate the 

Loan, loan, subject to the conditions and 

limitations of the Program; Energy 

Improvement Loan Program. 

(10)(11) "Payback," "Payback" means the total energy 

conservation measure costs (including 

installation, equipment and engineering design) 

divided by the total annual estimated utility cost 

savings; savings for a period of years. 

(11)(12) "Program," "Program" means the Energy 

Improvement Loan Program; Program. 

(12)(13) "Recycling Projects," Projects" means projects 

which extract and reprocess energy, water and 

materials for reuse in buildings, transportation 

systems, environmental management, 

consumer products and/or outreach; products, 

or outreach. 

(13)(14) "Renewables," "Renewable" means solar, 

wind, biomass biomass, or hydropower 

resources; resources. 

(14)(15) "Repayment Schedule," Schedule" means a 

schedule of periodic payments based upon 

simple payback as projected in the Technical 

Analysis rounded to the next quarter. 

Prepayments shall reduce the term of the loan 

with periodic payments remaining unchanged; 

unchanged. 

(15)(16) "State Energy Office" means, the State Energy 

Office, Division of Energy, within the N. C. 

Department of Administration; Environmental 

Quality. 

(16)(17) "Technical Analysis ("TA")", ("TA")" means a 

report that identifies and analyzes identifying 

and analyzing the cost-effective capital energy 

conservation improvements that the applicant 

wishes to implement. The Technical Analysis 

need address only the specific energy 

conservation measures for which the loan is 

being requested. Each energy conservation 

measure analyzed shall be the subject of a 

single recommendation incorporating technical 

and economic analyses of the measure, 

considering building, process and equipment 

characteristics and energy use patterns pertinent 

to the improvement. The Technical Analysis 

must shall include the estimated cost of the 

implementation, a construction schedule, and 

expected energy savings; 

(17)(18) "Technical analyst," Analyst" means a person 

with experience in energy conservation 

licensed engineer, architect, or certified Home 

Energy Rating System, "HERS" ®, rater to 

conduct that conducts the technical analysis for 

the purposes of this article; Subchapter. 

(18)(19) "Third Party Technical Analyst", Analyst" 

means a technical Technical analysis performed 

by an agency or someone Analyst, who 

performs the Technical Analysis and does not 

have has neither a financial interest in the 

commercial business, or industrial business, 

nonprofit institution, or local government 

institution, entity, or industrial business nor or 

in the sale and installation of any proposed 

energy conservation measure; measure. 

however, the Technical Analyst is permitted to 

provide construction management services to 

an approved applicant; 

(19)(20) "Unallowable costs," costs" means costs 

associated with Technical Analysis preparation, 

costs associated with pre-application 

conference, costs incurred prior to the 

execution date of the Letter of Intent, or costs 

associated with loan application (i.e., 

application, i.e., consultation fees, or Technical 

Analysis modifications); and modifications. 

(20) "Up front cost," means the prepaid charge, if 

any, at a rate to be determined by the DOA 

Fiscal Department Financial Services Division 

sufficient to cover the costs of administering 

and servicing the program. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2020 

833 

(21) "Useful life" means the period during which an 

asset or property is expected to continue to 

function for the purpose for which the asset or 

property was acquired. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3); 143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

SECTION .0200 – LOANS 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0201 ELIGIBILITY 

The following classes of applicants are eligible to apply for loans: 

(1) A local government organization, nonprofit 

organization, commercial or industrial business 

commerical or industrial business, nonprofit 

organization, local government entity, or 

resident located in North Carolina that owns the 

existing building or site of planned construction 

where the energy conservation measures will be 

made, or which that has a lease or management 

agreement for such the proposed building site 

or building extending beyond the term of the 

loan; provided, however, that where the owner 

of the building authorizes the approved energy 

conservation measures, the lease or 

management agreement need not extend 

beyond the term of the loan. 

(2) A Nonprofit organization, commercial or 

industrial business commercial or industrial 

business, nonprofit organization, local 

government entity, or resident relocating to 

North Carolina that owns the site of planned 

construction where the energy conservation 

measures will be made, or which that has a lease 

or management agreement for such proposed 

building or building site extending beyond the 

term of the loan; provided, however, that where 

loan. However, when the owner of the building 

or building site authorizes the approved energy 

conservation measures, the lease or 

management agreement need not extend 

beyond the term of the loan. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0202 CRITERIA FOR ENERGY 

CONSERVATION LOANS 

Energy conservation projects for which the loans are desired must 

shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) The building site where the measures are to be 

installed must shall be in North Carolina; 

(2) The project must shall demonstrate in the 

Technical Analysis the ability to conserve 

energy through efficient energy use or the 

utilization of renewable energy resources which 

that results in energy savings based upon a net 

reduction in the use of nonrenewable resources; 

resources. 

(3) A maximum total loan indebtedness of five 

hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) for a 

single local government organization, nonprofit 

organizations, commercial business or 

industrial business at any given time; in 

accordance with G.S. 143B-344.44(b)(2). 

(4) The project must shall utilize commercially 

available technologies energy conservation 

measures. 

(5) Experimental or research-related technologies 

are not eligible for funding; 

(6) Each energy conservation measure must 

address energy efficiency;  

(7)(5) The installation of the energy conservation 

measure may, at the discretion of the applicant, 

commence after DOA Fiscal Office the 

Financial Services Division issues the Letter of 

Intent; however, the applicant places itself at 

risk and is reminded that origination of the Loan 

loan is shall still be subject to the conditions and 

limitations of the Program; Program, pursuant 

to Rule .0203 of this Section. 

(8)(6) The energy conservation measure must shall be 

demonstrate demonstrated, within the 

Technical Analysis, to have a payback of less 

than one over a period of 20 years or less. a 

simple payback period of 10 years or less; 

(9)(7) Each energy conservation measure must shall 

be demonstrated to have a payback less than 

one over the useful life of the energy 

conservation measure. have a useful life at least 

equal to its estimated simple payback; 

(10)(8) Eligible energy conservation measures shall fall 

under one of the following categories: 

(a) lighting systems; 

(b) heating, ventilation, and air 

conditioning systems; 

(c) electrical distribution systems 

(motors, variable speed drives, fans, 

etc.); 

(d) energy management systems; 

(e) boiler efficiency systems; 

(f) energy recovery systems, including 

on-site generation of electricity; 

(g) alternate/renewable energy systems; 

(h) building envelope (doors, windows, 

roofs, etc.); 

(i) industrial process or fabrication 

systems; 

(j) load management systems; 

(k) fuel conversion projects projects; 

provided that the simple payback 

calculations shall be based on the cost 

of the current fuel; 

(l) other cost-effective demand related or 

rate-based improvements; and 

(m) recycling projects; projects. 

(11)(9) The energy conservation measure shall meet 

applicable state air and water quality standards; 
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and standards, in accordance with 15A NCAC 

02B, 02D, and 02L, which are incorporated by 

reference, including all subsequent 

amendments. 

(12)(10) The energy conservation measure shall be 

based on a current Technical Analysis report as 

defined in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. 

Subchapter, conducted within the previous 

year. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0203 LOAN PERCENTAGE AND 

CONDITIONS AND LIMITATIONS 

Loans are made subject to the following conditions and 

limitations: 

(1) Interest shall be charged at the rate of three 

percent per annum and one percent for 

renewable and recycling projects; 

(2) The amount of the loan shall not exceed 

allowable costs; 

(3) The repayment schedule shall be based on the 

estimated payback as shown in the Technical 

Analysis report; 

(4) Payments shall be made at a frequency of not 

less than once per month; 

(5) The total amount of the loan, or any portion 

thereof may be repaid at any time without 

penalty; 

(6) Rebates received through other program 

offerings of the State Energy Office for projects 

undertaken from loan proceeds shall be used to 

reduce the amount of principal; 

(7) The borrower shall warrant that all work or 

construction done with the proceeds of a loan 

under this program shall comply with all 

building codes and standards; 

(8) Project implementation shall begin within 90 

days after approval of the application. If delays 

are encountered following loan closing, any 

arbitrage profits will be repaid to the revolving 

fund; 

(9) Loans shall not be used to replace an existing 

loan; 

(10) Loan payments or drafts shall be sent or 

delivered to the DOA Fiscal Department at its 

current address as stated in the loan agreement; 

(11) A letter of credit from a bank approved to do 

business in North Carolina shall secure the loan 

against non-payment and also serve as a 

quarterly drafting mechanism for loan 

repayment from the bank; and 

(12) No loans shall be forgiven. 

(a)  The interest rate on the loan shall be set pursuant to G.S. 

143B-344.44(c) by the State Energy Office based on the 

following: 

(1) previous State Energy Office loan recipients get 

one percent deduction with closed loans and no 

defaults to a minimum of zero percent; 

(2) loans made to residents and small businesses 

shall receive a one percent interest rate; 

(3) loans made to non-profits and local 

governments projects shall receive a two 

percent interest rate; and 

(4) loans made to commercial and industrial 

entities shall receive a three percent interest 

rate. 

(b)  Loans are made subject to the following conditions: 

(1) the repayment schedule shall be based on the 

estimated payback as shown in the Technical 

Analysis Report, pursuant to Rule .0303 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) the commercial or industrial business, nonprofit 

organization, local government entity, or 

resident shall make payments at least once a 

month; 

(3) the total amount of the loan, or any portion 

thereof, may be repaid at any time before the 

total amount is due, without penalty; 

(4) rebates received through other program 

offerings of the State Energy Office for projects 

undertaken from loan proceeds shall be used to 

reduce the amount of principal; 

(5) the borrower shall warrant that all work or 

construction done with the proceeds of a loan 

under this program shall comply with all 

building codes and standards; 

(6) project implementation shall begin within 90 

days after approval of the application. If delays 

are encountered following loan closing, any 

arbitrage profits will be repaid to the 

Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund; 

(7) loan payments or drafts shall be sent or 

delivered to the Financial Service Division, in 

accordance with 04 NCAC 12D .0101; and 

(8) a letter of credit from a bank approved to do 

business in North Carolina shall secure the loan 

against non-payment and also serve as a 

quarterly drafting mechanism for loan 

repayment from the bank. 

(c)  Loans are made subject to the following limitations: 

(1) the amount of the loan shall not exceed 

allowable costs; 

(2) loans shall not be used to replace an existing 

loan; and 

(3) no loans shall be forgiven. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44. 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0204 PRE-APPLICATION 

CONFERENCE 

(a)  The potential applicant shall schedule a pre-application 

conference with the State Energy Office by email, telephone or 

office visit At at least one week prior to submission of a project 
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application application. the State Energy Office shall convene a 

pre-application conference by email, telephone or office visit. 

During the pre-application conference, the parties shall: 

(1) ensure the application procedures are 

understood; and 

(2) reach an understanding among all parties that 

the project is eligible for approval in 

accordance with Rule .0202 of this Section. 

(b)  Parties present at the pre-application conference shall include 

representatives from the DOA Fiscal Division, Financial Services 

Division, the State Energy Office, and the applicant or the 

applicant's engineer. 

(c)  The purpose of the conference is to help ensure the application 

procedures are understood and that the application and technical 

analysis, when accepted, shall be complete. 

(d)(c)  The applicant shall offer verbal, and if available, written 

project descriptions. 

(e)(d)  The applicant shall address provide applicable water and 

air quality permits required for environmental impact of the 

project. 

(f)(e)  When final, copies of water and air permits shall be 

provided by the applicant in addition to the technical analysis. 

Technical Analysis shall be provided by the applicant. 

(g)  Another purpose of this conference shall be to reach an 

understanding among all parties that the project is of the type that 

may be considered for approval. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0205 APPLICATION PROCEDURES 

The applicant shall complete an application on a form provided 

by the DOA Fiscal Department Financial Service Division, which 

can be found at http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/lr/state-energy-

office. The application shall contain the following information: 

(1) The the name and complete mailing address, 

including the county, of the applicant; 

(2) The the address, building name (where 

applicable) or site description description, 

including photographs photographs, to locate 

where the energy conservation measure(s) will 

be installed; 

(3) The the name of a contact person, including title 

and telephone number; 

(4) The amount of the loan requested; the loan 

amount requested; 

(5) The the estimated dates of start implementation 

and completion of the project; 

(6) A a copy of the Technical Analysis approved by 

the State Energy Office; as fulfilling the energy 

aspects of the proposed energy conservation 

measures; 

(7) Identification identification of the commercial 

lending institution that is providing the letter of 

credit, depository and repayment services; 

(8) All applicants commercial or industrial 

business, nonprofit organizations, or local 

government entity applicants shall provide 

financial data data, including financial 

statements from the last five years and profit 

and loss statements, on which to base a 

determination of the applicant's 

creditworthiness. Residential applicants shall 

provide a credit report. Documentation shall 

include the following: 

(a) Financial statements from the last five 

years; and 

(b) Profit and loss statements. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0206 APPLICATION REVIEW 

Application review shall consist of the following phases: 

(1) The administrative review shall be conducted 

by the DOA Fiscal Department and may 

include any data or information needed to 

complete that review. 

(2) The technical review shall be conducted of the 

Technical Analysis by the State Energy Office. 

(3) The technical review may occur concurrently 

with application submittal to the DOA Fiscal 

Department. 

(4) The technical review shall consider each energy 

conservation measure for which funding is 

requested and shall include the accuracy and 

sufficiency of calculations, engineering 

principles considered, and labor and material 

costs relative to the current local market. 

(5) Following acceptance, the State Energy Office 

will approve those Energy Conservation 

Measures that were found to meet the energy 

aspects of the Program. 

(6) No application shall be accepted for 

consideration by the DOA Fiscal Department 

without the acceptance of the Technical 

Analysis by the State Energy Office. 

(a)  The Department shall conduct concurrent administrative and 

Technical Analysis reviews as follows: 

(1) the administrative review shall be conducted by 

the Financial Services Division and may 

include any financial data or information 

needed to complete the review; 

(2) the Technical Analysis review shall be 

conducted by the State Energy Office and shall 

consider each energy conservation measure for 

which funding is requested, include the 

accuracy and sufficiency of calculations, 

engineering principles considered, and labor 

and material costs relative to the current local 

market. This review shall be conducted 

concurrently with the Financial Services 

Division's administrative review. 

(b)  Following the reviews in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the State 

Energy Office shall approve those energy conservation measures 

that were determined to meet the requirements of this Subchapter. 
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Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3); 143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0207 LOAN APPROVAL 

Applications shall be considered for loan approval upon 

completion of the administrative and technical review. Approval 

shall be based upon the following: Following the review set forth 

in Rule .0206 of this Section, the State Energy Office shall 

approve the application provided: 

(1) Results of the administrative and technical 

Technical Analysis review reviews satisfy the 

requirements of this Subchapter; documenting 

energy efficiency; and 

(2) Creditworthiness the creditworthiness of the 

applicant is established; and 

(3) funds are available. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0208 LOAN AGREEMENT AND 

PROMISSORY NOTE 

After an application for a loan is approved, a loan agreement shall 

be executed between the DOA Fiscal Department Financial 

Services Division and the borrower. The loan agreement shall 

include a promissory note and other necessary documents 

including, but not limited to, security agreements, mortgages, 

recordings; and shall contain the covenants and representations as 

to the borrower's qualification to borrow for the loan, intended use 

of the loan proceeds, conditions under which the loan will be 

repaid and events requiring the acceleration, rights and 

responsibilities of the parties and the terms and conditions of the 

loan. The requirements to secure the loan shall be included in the 

loan agreement. Loans shall be secured through bank Letter of 

Credit. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0209 REPORTS 

Reports must shall be submitted as follows: 

(1) Progress progress reports must shall be 

submitted quarterly to the State Energy Office 

during the period of implementation or while 

construction installation is in progress and must 

shall include a description of of: 

(a) the current status, status; 

(b) any problems, problems; and 

(c) a forecast of expectations or 

deviations from the planned schedule 

and; Technical Analysis, prepared in 

accordance with Rule .0303 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) A a final report certified by the technical analyst 

must shall be submitted to the State Energy 

Office upon completion of the project. The 

report must shall include a description of: 

(a) the measures implemented; 

(b) the actual cost of each measure, 

measure; and 

(c) the adjusted estimated payback, based 

on the actual cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0210  MONITORING 

The DOA Fiscal Department Financial Service Division shall 

monitor the use of the funds under this program through 

continuous review of reports.  The State Energy Office shall 

monitor those buildings/projects buildings or projects where the 

energy conservation projects are in progress to verify the 

installation of the energy conservation measures conforms to the 

original Technical Analysis.  At least one visit shall be made to 

the site of each energy conservation project during the life of the 

loan. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0211 DEFAULT 

If the borrower violates any of the terms of the loan agreement, 

the DOA Fiscal Department Financial Service Division may shall 

place the borrower in default. Borrowers determined to be in 

default shall be notified by certified mail and the terms of the letter 

of credit shall be executed. provided as security shall be used to 

protect the interest of the State of North Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

SECTION .0300 - TECHNICAL ANALYSIS 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0301 TECHNICAL ANALYSIS 

REQUIRED 

An application for an energy conservation loan must shall be 

accompanied by a Technical Analysis that has been conducted by 

a third party technical analyst Technical Analyst and certified by 

the State Energy Office as fulfilling the energy aspects of the 

Program. The Technical Analysis need address only the specific 

energy conservation measures for which the loan is being 

requested. Each energy conservation measure analyzed shall be 

the subject of an individual recommendation incorporating 

technical and economic analyses of the measure, considering 

building, process and equipment characteristics, and energy use 

patterns pertinent to the improvement. The Technical Analysis 

shall include the estimated cost of the implementation, a 

construction schedule, and expected energy savings. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0302 TECHNICAL ANAYLYST 

QUALIFICATIONS DISQUALIFICATIONS 

A Technical Analyst shall not have a financial interest in the 

commercial or industrial business, nonprofit organization, local 

government entity, or residence or in the sale and installation of 
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any proposed energy conservation measure, however, the 

Technical Analyst is permitted to provide construction 

management services to an approved applicant. 

To be qualified to conduct the Technical Analysis required by this 

article, a technical analyst must meet the following requirements: 

(1) Have experience in energy conservation in 

building construction, mechanical systems or 

manufacturing processes; 

(2) Have neither financial interest in the 

commercial business, non-profit institution, 

local government institution, or industrial 

business nor in the sale and installation of any 

proposed energy conservation measure; 

however, the Technical Analyst is permitted to 

provide construction management services to 

an approved applicant. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

01 NCAC 41C .0303 REPORT REQUIRED 

A qualified third party technical analyst Technical Analyst shall 

submit three copies of the results of a Technical Analysis in 

writing on a form provided by the State Energy Office, which can 

be found at http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/lr/state-energy-office. 

The report must shall include the following: 

(1) A a description of the facility characteristics 

and energy data, including the operational 

characteristics of the energy-using systems; 

(2) A a description and engineering analysis of 

each identified energy conservation measure, 

including the following: 

(a) An an estimate of the cost of design, 

acquisition, and installation, including 

monitoring equipment to assess the 

performance of the measure , 

discussing assumptions as necessary; 

the Technical Analyst deems 

necessary. 

(b) An an estimate of the annual energy 

saved and energy cost savings by fuel 

type type, using generally accepted 

engineering standards and practices, 

practices, that comply with standards 

recognized by the North Carolina 

Professional Engineering Licensing 

Board, including all formulae, data 

data, and assumptions clearly 

presented in arriving at the estimate; 

(c) The the results of a combustion 

efficiency test, if furnace or boiler 

modifications or replacements are 

being implemented; 

(d) The simple the payback period of each 

energy conservation measure, 

measure; and calculated by dividing 

the estimated total cost of the measure 

by the estimated annual energy cost 

saving; 

(e) A a proposed construction schedule 

for each energy conservation measure; 

and 

(f) The payback period of each energy 

conservation measure; 

(3) The the energy use and cost data for each fuel 

type used for the prior 12-month period, by 

month or in accordance with the usual billing 

cycle; billing period; 

(4) An an outline of qualifications of the analyst 

Technical Analyst, documenting previous 

experience in energy conservation in building 

construction, mechanical systems, and/or or 

manufacturing processes. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-345.18(b)(2a); 143-345.18(b)(3); 143B-

344.44(b)(3);143B-344.44(b)(4). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41D - ENERGY POLICY ACT CREDIT 

BANKING AND SELLING PROGRAM 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

01 NCAC 41D .0101 PURPOSE AND 

ORGANIZATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-58.4 the State Energy Office has 

established a credit banking and selling program to allow State 

departments, institutions, and agencies to use monies generated 

by the sale of EPAct credits to purchase alternative fuel, develop 

related refueling infrastructure and purchase alternative fuel 

vehicles. 

(b)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-58.5, the State Energy Office has 

established an Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund generated from 

the sale of EPAct credits. These funds may to be used to purchase 

alternative fuel, develop related refueling infrastructure and 

purchase alternative fuel vehicles for use by State departments, 

institutions, and agencies. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 

 

01 NCAC 41D .0102 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Chapter, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "AFV" means the same as defined in G.S. 143-

58.4.  

(2) "Alternative fuel" means the same as defined in 

G.S. 143-58.4. 

(3) "Biodiesel Fuel Use Credit" means an EPAct 

credit given by the U.S. DOE for each 450 

gallons of pure biodiesel purchased for use in 

blends of 20% or higher. No credit is granted 

for the petroleum portion of biodiesel fuel 

blends. 

(4) "B20" means the same as defined in G.S. 143-

58.4.  

(5) "Department" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Administration. 

(6) "Energy Policy Act" means the same as defined 

in G.S. 143-58.4.   
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(7) "EPAct credit" means the same as defined in 

G.S. 143-58.4.  

(8) "EPC" means the Energy Policy Council, 

created pursuant to G.S. Chapter 113B, Article 

1. 

(9) "E85" means the same as defined in G.S. 143-

58.4.  

(10) "FFV" means a flexible fuel vehicle that is 

capable of operating on both E85 and gasoline. 

(11) "Incremental fuel cost" means the same as 

defined in G.S. 143-58.4. 

(12) "Incremental vehicle cost" means the same as 

defined in G.S. 143-58.4.difference in cost 

between an AFV and conventional vehicle of 

the same make and model. For vehicles with no 

comparable conventional model, incremental 

vehicle cost means the generally accepted 

difference in cost between an AFV and a similar 

conventional model. 

(13) "LDV" means a light duty vehicle that has less 

than an 8,500 lb. gross vehicle weight rating 

(GVWR). 

(14) "NC Alternative Fuel Consortium" means a 

voluntary group of state agencies, institutions 

and interested entities that meet at least 

quarterly and is hosted by the State Energy 

Office to coordinate alternative fuel and 

petroleum displacement activities in North 

Carolina. 

(15) "OEM" means original equipment 

manufacturer. 

(16) “SEO” means the State Energy Office. 

(17) "U.S. DOE" means the United States 

Department of Energy. 

(18) "U.S. EPA" means the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 

 

SECTION .0200 - CREDIT BANKING AND SELLING 

PROGRAM PROVISIONS 

 

01 NCAC 41D .0201 BANKING (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

(a)  EPActs credits shall be accrued and banked according to the 

following: 

(1) The U.S. DOE Alternative Fuel Transportation 

Program (10 CFR Part 490) requires that 75% 

of LDVs acquired by state fleets shall be FFVs, 

compressed natural gas vehicles, propane 

vehicles or electric vehicles; 

(2) One credit is earned for each OEM or EPA 

certified retrofit FFV, compressed natural gas, 

propane or electric vehicle purchased; 

(3) Credits that exceed the annual minimum state 

AFV acquisition requirements may be banked 

through the U.S. DOE Office of Freedom Car 

and Vehicle Technologies Program to meet 

future year requirements or traded; 

(4) State fleets can earn Biodiesel Fuel Use Credits 

to meet 50% of their annual AFV acquisition 

requirements by purchasing and using 

biodiesel; and 

(5) Biodiesel Fuel Use Credits cannot be traded or 

banked. 

(b)  Credits are determined by state agencies in cooperation with 

the State Energy Office in the following manner: 

(1) Each year by December 1st every State 

department, institution and agency subject to 

EPAct requirements shall provide the State 

Energy Office with the types of vehicles 

purchased, the vehicle identification numbers 

and the dates of purchase to determine the 

number of EPAct credits generated by the State; 

and 

(2) The SEO shall submit an annual EPAct credit 

report to the U.S. DOE by December 31st. 

(c)  The following provisions shall be used in determining credits: 

(1) EPAct credits eligible for sale include FFVs if 

the FFVs are operating on E85; 

(2) EPAct credits generated through the use of B20 

are not eligible for sale or transfer, however, 

they shall be used by the State to meet 50% of 

Energy Policy Act requirements; and 

(3) State agencies and institutions that purchase 

FFVs shall record the use of E85 for the FFVs. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 

 

01 NCAC 41D .0202 SELLING (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

(a)  The State Energy Office shall form a Credit Selling Work 

Group to determine the number of excess credits to be sold as 

follows: 

(1) The Credit Selling Work Group shall consist of: 

(A) Department of Administration Motor 

Fleet Management designee; 

(B) Department of Transportation 

Equipment Unit designee; 

(C) State Energy Office designee; and 

(D) Designees of other state agencies and 

institutions that generate EPAct 

credits; and 

(2) The Credit Selling Work Group shall determine 

the asking price for credits. 

(b)  The State Energy Office shall obtain approval from the 

Energy Policy Council prior to selling EPAct credits. 

(c)  The State Energy Office shall sell EPAct credits in accordance 

with the provisions of the Energy Policy Act. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 

 

SECTION .0300 - PROCEEDS AND DISTRIBTUTION 
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01 NCAC 41D .0301 PROCEEDS AND 

DISTRIBUTION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

(a)  Funds generated by the sale or transfer of EPAct credits by 

the Department shall be deposited into the Alternative Fuel 

Revolving Fund. 

(b)  The following shall be undertaken to determine the 

distribution of proceeds from the Alternative Fuel Revolving 

Fund: 

(1) The State Energy Office shall annually inform 

the NC Alternative Fuel Consortium of the 

amount of revenue accrued to the Alternative 

Fuel Revolving Fund and the percentage of 

these funds that were generated by participating 

state agencies, institutions or entities; 

(2) The State Energy Office shall organize 

meetings of the NC Alternative Fuel 

Consortium and the Credit Selling Work Group 

to discuss and prioritize distribution of funds; 

(3) Fund distribution shall be prioritized based on 

maximizing benefits to the State for the 

purchase of alternative fuel, related refueling 

infrastructure and AFV purchases; 

(4) An annual plan for the dispersion of Alternative 

Fuel Revolving Funds shall be prepared by the 

State Energy Office based on recommendations 

of the Alternative Fuels Consortium and the 

Credit Selling Work Group; and 

(5) The Energy Policy Council shall review and 

approve the annual plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 

 

01 NCAC 41D .0302 FUND DISBURSEMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

All state departments, institutions and agencies are eligible to 

utilize Alternative Fuel Revolving Funds. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 

 

SECTION .0400 - REPORTS 

 

01 NCAC 41D .0401 REPORTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

(a)  Progress reports shall be submitted biannually by State 

departments, agencies, and institutions that receive funds from the 

Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund. 

(b)  The progress report shall include a description of the current 

project, number of gallons of alternative fuel or vehicles 

purchased, challenges and successes, and forecast of expectation 

or deviation from the planned schedule. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41E – ENERGY POLICY COUNCIL 

 

01 NCAC 41E .0101 FUNCTIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 113B-2; 143B-429; 143B-430; 143B-431; 

143B-449. 

 

CHAPTER 12 - ENERGY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 12C - ORGANIZATION 

 

04 NCAC 12C .0108 RESIDENTIAL 

CONSERVATION SERVICE PROGRAM 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 143B-431; 143B-449; 

150B-12; Title II, Part I (NECPA); P.L. 95-619; 92 Stat. 3206; 

Title V, Subtitle B (ESA), P.L. 96-294, 94 Stat. 611. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 12D – PETITION FOR RULEMAKING 

AND ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS DECLARATORY 

RULINGS 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0101 DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY 

FOR RULEMAKING HEARINGS AND STATE ENERGY 

OFFICE CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  The Secretary of Commerce the Department of Environmental 

Quality designates the State Energy Director of the Energy 

Division or his or her designee as the hearing officer to conduct 

rulemaking hearings in matters pertaining to rules and regulations 

of the State Energy Division. Office. 

(b)  All notices required by the rules in this Subchapter to be 

submitted to the State Energy Office or the Financial Services 

Division shall be made to: The North Carolina State Energy 

Office, 1613 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1613. The 

physical address of the State Energy Office is 217 W. Jones St., 

Raleigh, NC 27603. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 143B-431; 143B-449; 143-

58.4(c); 143B-344.44(b)(3);150B-20. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0102 PETITION FOR RULEMAKING 

HEARINGS SUBMISSION AND CONTENTS OF 

PETITION FOR RULEMAKING 

(a)  Any person wishing to submit a petition requesting the 

adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule by the Secretary of 

Commerce State Energy Office, within the Department of 

Environmental Quality shall petition the State Energy Director by 

submitting the information required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

The petitioner shall send the petition in accordance with Rule 

.0101 of this Section. address a petition to: Director, Energy 

Division, North Carolina Department of Commerce, 430 North 

Salisbury Street, P.O. Box 25249, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611. 

The outside envelope containing the petition should clearly 

display the notation: RULEMAKING PETITION RE and then the 

subject area or an indication of any other area over which the 

Secretary of Commerce may have rulemaking authority. 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) the text of the proposed rule(s) for adoption or 

amendment; 

(2) a statement of the reasons for the adoption of a 

proposed rule(s), amendment or repeal of 

existing rule(s); 
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(3) a statement of the effect on existing rules or 

orders; 

(4) any documents and data supporting the 

proposed rule(s); 

(5) the name(s) and addresses(es) of petitioner(s); 

and 

(6) a request to present the petition to the hearing 

officers in accordance with Rule .0101 of this 

Section, if desired. 

(c)  The petitioner may include the following information within 

the request: 

(1) the statutory authority for the agency to 

promulgate the rule(s); 

(2) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s) 

on existing practices in the area involved, 

including cost factors for persons affected by 

the proposed rule(s); 

(3) a statement explaining the computation of the 

costs factors; and 

(4) a description, including the names and 

addresses, if known, of those most likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule(s). 

(d)  The State Energy Director shall return petitions that do not 

contain the information required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule to 

the petitioner. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 143B-431; 143B-449; ; 143-

58.4(c); 143B-344.44(b)(3);150B-20. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0103 CONTENTS OF PETITION 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 143B-431; 143B-449. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0116 SUBMISSION OF REQUEST 

FOR RULING ISSUANCE OF DECLARATORY 

RULINGS 

All requests for declaratory rulings shall be directed to the 

Secretary of Commerce and mailed to the Director of the Energy 

Division, 430 N. Salisbury Street, P.O. Box 25249, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27611. The outside envelope containing the 

request should display the notation: REQUEST FOR 

DECLARATORY RULING. The request must include the 

following information: 

(1) name and address of petitioner; 

(2) statute or rule to which petition relates; 

(3) concise statement of the manner in which 

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute or 

its potential application to him; 

(4) a statement of whether an oral hearing is 

desired, and if so, the reason therefor. 

At the request of any person aggrieved, as defined in G.S. 150B-

2(6), the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality 

may issue a declaratory ruling as provided in G.S. 150B-4 and the 

rules of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 143B-431; 143B-449; 143-

58.4(c); 143B-344.44(b)(3); 150B-3. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0117 DISPOSITION OF REQUEST 

FOR DECLARATORY RULING 

(a)  When the Secretary of Commerce deems it appropriate to 

issue a declaratory ruling, he shall issue such declaratory ruling 

within 60 days of receipt of the petition. 

(b)  A declaratory ruling proceeding may consist of written 

submissions, an oral hearing, or other procedure as may be 

appropriate in the circumstances of the particular request. 

(c)  Whenever the secretary believes "for good cause" that the 

issuance of a declaratory ruling is undesirable, he may refuse to 

issue such ruling. When good cause is deemed to exist, he will 

notify the petitioner of his decision in writing, stating the reasons 

for the denial of the declaratory ruling. 

(d)  For purposes of Subpart (c) of this Rule, the Secretary of 

Commerce will ordinarily refuse to issue a declaratory ruling: 

(1) unless the petitioner shows that the 

circumstances are so changed since the 

adoption of the rule that such a ruling would be 

warranted; 

(2) unless the petitioner shows that the agency did 

not give to the factors specified in the request 

for a declaratory ruling a full consideration at 

the time the rule was issued; 

(3) where there has been a similar controlling 

factor determination in a contested case, or 

where the factual context being raised for a 

declaratory ruling was specifically considered 

upon the adoption of the rule or directive being 

questioned, as evidenced by the rulemaking 

record; 

(4) where the subject matter of the request is 

involved in pending litigation in any state or 

federal court in North Carolina. 

(a)  The State Energy Director shall make a determination on the 

completeness of the request for a declaratory ruling based on Rule 

.0133 of this Section. 

(b)  Before deciding the merits of the request, and upon 

consideration of the complete request for a declaratory ruling, the 

Director shall determine if additional information or 

presentation(s) are needed and if so: 

(1) request additional written submissions from the 

petitioner(s); 

(2) request a written response from the State 

Energy Office staff or any other person; and 

(3) hear oral arguments from the petitioner(s), 

interveners, and the State Energy Office staff or 

their legal counsel. 

(c)  The Director shall decline to issue a declaratory ruling if any 

of the following are found: 

(1) that there has been a similar determination in a 

previous contested case or declaratory ruling; 

(2) that the matter is the subject of a pending 

contested case, hearing, or litigation in any 

North Carolina or federal court; 

(3) that no genuine controversy exists as to the 

application of a statue, rule, or order to the 

specific factual situation presented; or 

(4) that the factual situation presented as the 

subject of the declaratory ruling was 
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specifically considered upon the adoption of the 

rule being questioned, as evidenced by the 

rulemaking record; 

(d)  The Department shall keep a record of each request for 

declaratory ruling, which shall include the following items; 

(1) the request for a ruling; 

(2) any written submission by a party; 

(3) the facts on which the ruling was based; 

(4) any transcripts of oral proceedings, if available, 

and recordings of oral arguments; 

(5) any other information such as documents, 

photographs, recordings, maps, plats, articles, 

and studies considered by the Director in the 

making of the decision; and 

(6) the declaratory ruling, or the decision to decline 

to issue a declaratory ruling, together with the 

reasons therefore. 

(e)  The Department shall notify the petitioner in writing of the 

Director's decision on the request for declaratory ruling, including 

the basis for the decision. 

(f)  For purposes of this Section, a declaratory ruling shall be 

deemed to be in effect until: 

(1) the statute or rule interpreted by the declaratory 

ruling is repealed or the relevant provisions of 

the statute or rule are amended or altered; 

(2) any court of the Appellate Division of the 

General Courts of Justice construes the statute 

or rule that is the subject of a declaratory ruling 

to be irreconcilable with the declaratory ruling; 

or 

(3) any court sets aside the declaratory ruling in 

litigation between the Department and the party 

requesting the ruling. 

(g)  Any Division of the Department may be a party to any request 

for declaratory ruling upon written request. The request shall be 

made to the Director within five days of receipt of notice of the 

request for a declaratory ruling. 

(h)  Upon written request, the petitioner(s), intervener(s), and the 

Division each shall be allowed to present oral arguments to the 

Director. No party shall offer testimony or conduct cross-

examination before the Director. 

(i)  The Director shall issue a decision on whether to grant or deny 

the request for declaratory ruling within 30 days of the receipt of 

the petition. If granted, the Director shall have 45 days from the 

date of granting the request to issue a ruling on the merits of the 

request. 

(k)  A declaratory ruling, or failure to issue a declaratory ruling, 

is subject to judicial review as provided in G.S. 150B-4(a)(1). 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-429; 143B-430; 143B-431; 143B-449; 143-

58.4(c); 143B-344.44(b)(3); 150B-4. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0132 DISPOSITION OF PETITIONS 

FOR RULEMAKING 

(a)  If the State Energy Director determines the petition to be 

complete in accordance with Rule .0102 of this Section, the 

Director shall notice a hearing at least 15 days before the hearing's 

scheduled date. 

(b)  The petitioner shall be afforded the opportunity to present the 

petition to the Director if so requested in accordance with Rule 

.0102(b)(6) of this Section. The State Energy Office may also 

make a presentation to the Director. 

(c)  The Director shall allow one interested person to present the 

viewpoint of those who oppose initiating rulemaking. The 

Director shall determine whether additional interested persons are 

permitted to make oral presentations during the hearing. 

Interested persons shall request the opportunity to make a 

presentation to the Director through the State Energy Office, in 

accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, at least five days prior 

to the scheduled hearing. The request shall: 

(1) state the interest of the person in the petition for 

rulemaking: 

(2) state the person's position on the petition; and 

(3) be accompanied by any supporting materials. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-58.4(c); 143B-344.44(b)(3);150B-20. 

 

04 NCAC 12D .0133 SUBMISSION OF REQUEST 

FOR DECLARATORY RULING 

(a)  All requests for a declaratory ruling shall be filed in 

accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section. 

(b)  All requests for declaratory rulings shall include the 

following: 

(1) the name and address of petitioner(s); 

(2) the statute, rule, or order upon which a ruling is 

desired; 

(3) a concise statement as to whether the request is 

for a ruling on the validity of a rule or on the 

applicability of a statute, rule, or order to a 

given factual situation; 

(4) arguments or data demonstrating that the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the statue, rule, or 

order, or by its potential application to the 

petitioner; 

(5) a statement of the consequences of failure to 

issue a declaratory ruling in favor of the 

petitioner; 

(6) a statement of the desired outcome; and 

(7) a statement of whether an oral argument is 

desired, and if so, the reason(s) for requesting 

such an oral argument. 

(c)  A petitioner may request a declaratory ruling on the 

applicability of a statute, rule, or order to the petitioner, or on the 

validity of a Department rule. The petitioner may request both 

types of declaratory ruling in a single request. A request on the 

applicability of a statute, rule, or order shall include a detailed 

statement of the facts and documentation supporting such facts, in 

addition to the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. A 

request to determine the validity of a Department rule shall state 

the petitioner's reason(s) for the request and a written argument, 

in addition to the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  Any other person may petition to become a party by filing a 

motion to intervene in the manner provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 

24. The State Energy Director shall determine whether to grant 

the motion to intervene in accordance with Rule 24 of the North 

Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure. 
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Authority G.S. 143-58.4(c); 143B-344.44(b)(3); 150B-3. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 07H .0304 and .0312. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-main 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 3, 2020 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 

Location:  

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/j.php?MTID=m7bf333bca

374e27e16e647eed7088a13 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 07H .0304 defines and establishes AECs that are 

within the Ocean Hazard Areas along the State’s Atlantic Ocean 

shoreline. Due to overwash impacts to vegetation caused by 

Hurricane Isaias at Oak Island, the Coastal Resources 

Commission is proposing to amend its administrative rules in 

order to reflect physical changes that occurred at two locations 

by establishing an Unvegetated Beach Area of Environmental 

Concern and measurement lines from which setbacks are 

temporarily measured until vegetation is re-established and is 

considered stable and natural. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0312 ensures that sand used for beach 

nourishment closely matches the sand on the existing beach. The 

Coastal Resources Commission is proposing to amend this rule to 

allow more flexibility with sampling protocol that assures 

sediment compatibility between the beach and borrow area, while 

strengthening recipient beach sampling protocols. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 

Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557; phone (252) 808-

2808; email Braxton.Davis@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  December 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0304 AECS WITHIN OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS 

The ocean hazard AECs contain all of the following areas: 

(1) Ocean Erodible Area. This is the area where 

there exists a substantial possibility of 

excessive erosion and significant shoreline 

fluctuation. The oceanward boundary of this 

area is the mean low water line. The landward 

extent of this area is the distance landward from 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation as 

defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5) to the 

recession line established by multiplying the 

long-term annual erosion rate times 90; 

provided that, where there has been no 

long-term erosion or the rate is less than two 

feet per year, this distance shall be set at 180 

feet landward from the first line of stable and 

natural vegetation. For the purposes of this 

Rule, the erosion rates are the long-term 

average based on available historical data. The 

current long-term average erosion rate data for 

each segment of the North Carolina coast is 

depicted on maps entitled "North Carolina 2019 

Oceanfront Setback Factors & Long-Term 

Average Annual Erosion Rate Update Study" 

and approved by the Coastal Resources 

Commission on February 28, 2019 (except as 

such rates may be varied in individual contested 

cases or in declaratory or interpretive rulings). 

In all cases, the rate of shoreline change shall be 

no less than two feet of erosion per year. The 

maps are available without cost from any Local 

Permit Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net. 

(2) Inlet Hazard Area. The inlet hazard areas are 

natural-hazard areas that are especially 
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vulnerable to erosion, flooding, and other 

adverse effects of sand, wind, and water 

because of their proximity to dynamic ocean 

inlets. This area extends landward from the 

mean low water line a distance encompassing 

that area within which the inlet migrates, based 

on statistical analysis, and shall consider such 

factors as previous inlet territory, structurally 

weak areas near the inlet, and external 

influences such as jetties, terminal groins, and 

channelization. The areas on the maps 

identified as Inlet Hazard Areas included in the 

report entitled INLET HAZARD AREAS, The 

Final Report and Recommendations to the 

Coastal Resources Commission, 1978, as 

amended in 1981, by Loie J. Priddy and Rick 

Carraway are incorporated by reference and are 

hereby designated as Inlet Hazard Areas, except 

for: 

(a) the location of a former inlet which 

has been closed for at least 15 years; 

(b) inlets that due to shoreline migration, 

no longer include the current location 

of the inlet; and 

(c) inlets providing access to a State Port 

via a channel maintained by the United 

States Army Corps of Engineers. 

In all cases, the Inlet Hazard Area shall 

be an extension of the adjacent ocean 

erodible areas and in no case shall the 

width of the inlet hazard area be less 

than the width of the adjacent ocean 

erodible area. This report is available 

for inspection at the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 

Avenue, Morehead City, North 

Carolina or at the website referenced 

in Item (1) of this Rule. 

(3) Unvegetated Beach Area. Beach areas within 

the Ocean Hazard Area where no stable and 

natural vegetation is present may be designated 

as Unvegetated Beach Areas on either a 

permanent or temporary basis as follows: 

(a) An area appropriate for permanent 

designation as an Unvegetated Beach 

Area is a dynamic area that is subject 

to rapid unpredictable landform 

change due to wind and wave action. 

The areas in this category shall be 

designated following studies by the 

Division of Coastal Management. 

These areas shall be designated on 

maps approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission and available 

without cost from any Local Permit 

Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at the 

website referenced in Item (1) of this 

Rule. 

(b) An area that is unvegetated as a result 

of a hurricane or other major storm 

event may be designated by the 

Coastal Resources Commission as an 

Unvegetated Beach Area for a specific 

period of time, or until the vegetation 

has re-established in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5). At the 

expiration of the time specified or the 

re-establishment of the vegetation, the 

area shall return to its pre-storm 

designation. 

The Commission designates as temporary 

unvegetated beach areas those oceanfront areas 

of Surf City and North Topsail Beach in which 

the vegetation line as shown on the United 

States National Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration imagery dated September 17, 

2018 was destroyed as a result of Hurricane 

Florence in September 2018. of:  

(i) Surf City and North Topsail 

Beach in which the 

vegetation line as shown on 

the Unites States National 

Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration imagery 

dated September 17, 2018 

was destroyed as a result of 

Hurricane Florence in 

September 2018, and 

(ii) Oak Island in which the 

vegetation line as shown on 

the United States National 

Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration and 

Geological Survey imagery 

dated August 4, 2020 was 

destroyed as a result of 

Hurricane Isaias in August 

2020. 

The designation AEC boundaries can be found 

on the Division's website at 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/unvegetated_beach_aec.pdf. 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/unvegetated_beach_aec.pdf and 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/unveg_beachAEC_Oak_Island.zip. 

This designation shall continue until such time 

as the stable and natural vegetation has 

reestablished, or until the area is permanently 

designated as an unvegetated beach area 

pursuant to Sub-Item (3)(a) of this Rule. 

(4) State Ports Inlet Management Area. These are 

areas adjacent to and within Beaufort Inlet and 

the mouth of the Cape Fear River, providing 

access to a State Port via a channel maintained 
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by the Unites States Army Corps of Engineers. 

These areas are unique due to the influence of 

federally-maintained channels, and the critical 

nature of maintaining shipping access to North 

Carolina's State Ports. These areas may require 

specific management strategies not warranted 

at other inlets to address erosion and shoreline 

stabilization. State Ports Inlet Management 

Areas shall extend from the mean low water 

line landward as designated on maps approved 

by the Coastal Resources Commission and 

available without cost from the Division of 

Coastal Management, and on the internet at the 

website at 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/state_port_aec.pdf. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-107.1; 113A-113; 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0312 TECHNICAL STANDARDS FOR 

BEACH FILL PROJECTS 

Placement of sediment along the oceanfront shoreline is referred 

to in this Rule as "beach fill." Sediment used solely to establish or 

strengthen dunes or shall conform to the standards contained in 

15A NCAC 07H .0308(b). Sediment used to re-establish state-

maintained transportation corridors across a barrier island breach 

in a disaster area as declared by the Governor is not considered a 

beach fill project under this Rule. Beach fill projects including 

beach nourishment, dredged material disposal, habitat restoration, 

storm protection, and erosion control may be permitted under the 

following conditions: 

(1) The applicant shall characterize the recipient 

beach according to the following methodology: 

methodology. Initial characterizations of the 

recipient beach shall serve as the baseline for 

subsequent beach fill projects: 

(a) Characterization of the recipient beach 

is not required for the placement of 

sediment directly from and completely 

confined to a cape shoal system, or 

maintained navigation channel or 

associated sediment basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system; system. For purposes of this 

Rule, "cape shoal systems" include 

Frying Pan Shoals at Cape Fear, 

Lookout Shoals at Cape Lookout, and 

Diamond Shoals at Cape Hatteras; 

(b) Sediment sampling and analysis shall 

be used to capture the three-

dimensional spatial variability of the 

sediment characteristics including 

grain size, sorting and mineralogy 

within the natural system; 

(c) Shore-perpendicular transects shall be 

established for topographic and 

bathymetric surveying of the recipient 

beach shall be conducted to determine 

the beach profile. beach. Topographic 

and bathymetric surveying shall occur 

along a minimum of five shore-

perpendicular transects evenly spaced 

throughout the entire project area. area 

with spacing not to exceed 5,000 feet 

(1,524 meters) in the shore-parallel 

direction. Each transect shall extend 

from the frontal dune crest seaward to 

a depth of 20 feet (6.1 meters) or to the 

shore-perpendicular distance 2,400 

feet (732 meters) seaward of mean low 

water, whichever is in a more 

landward position. Transect spacing 

shall not exceed 5,000 feet (1,524 

meters) in the shore-parallel direction. 

Elevation data for all transects shall be 

referenced to the North American 

Vertical Datum of 1988 (NAVD 88) 

and the North American Datum of 

1983 (NAD 83); compliant with 

Standards of Practice for Land 

Surveying in North Carolina pursuant 

to 21 NCAC 56 .1600; 

(d) No fewer than 13 sediment samples 

shall be taken along each beach profile 

transect. At Along each transect, at 

least one sample shall be taken from 

each of the following morphodynamic 

zones where present: frontal dune, 

frontal dune toe, mid berm, mean high 

water (MHW), mid tide (MT), mean 

low water (MLW), trough, bar crest 

and at even depth increments from 6 

feet (1.8 meters) to 20 feet (6.1 meters) 

or to a shore-perpendicular distance 

2,400 feet (732 meters) seaward of 

mean low water, whichever is in a 

more landward position. The total 

number of samples taken landward of 

MLW shall equal the total number of 

samples taken seaward of MLW; 

(e) For the purpose of this Rule, 

"sediment grain size categories" are 

defined as "fine" (less than 0.0625 

millimeters), "sand" (greater than or 

equal to 0.0625 millimeters and less 

than 2 millimeters), "granular" 

(greater than or equal to 2 millimeters 

and less than 4.76 millimeters) and 

"gravel" (greater than or equal to 4.76 

millimeters and less than 76 

millimeters). Each sediment sample 

shall report percentage by weight of 

each of these four grain size 

categories; 

(f) A composite of the simple arithmetic 

mean for each of the four grain size 

categories defined in Sub-Item (1)(e) 

of this Rule shall be calculated for 
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each transect. A grand mean shall be 

established for each of the four grain 

size categories by summing the mean 

for each transect and dividing by the 

total number of transects. The value 

that characterizes grain size values for 

the recipient beach is the grand mean 

of percentage by weight for each grain 

size category defined in Sub-Item 

(1)(e) of this Rule; 

(g) Percentage by weight calcium 

carbonate shall be calculated from a 

composite of all sediment samples 

along each transect defined in Sub-

Item (1)(d) of this Rule. samples. The 

value that characterizes the carbonate 

content of the recipient beach is a 

grand mean calculated by summing 

the average percentage by weight 

calcium carbonate for each transect 

and dividing by the total number of 

transects. For beaches on which fill 

activities have taken place prior to the 

effective date of this Rule, the 

Division of Coastal Management shall 

consider visual estimates of shell 

content as a proxy for carbonate 

weight percent; 

(h) The total number of sediments greater 

than or equal to one inch (25.4 

millimeters) in diameter, and shell 

material greater than or equal to three 

inches (76 millimeters) in diameter, 

observable on the surface of the beach 

between mean low water (MLW) and 

the frontal dune toe, shall be 

calculated for an area of 50,000 square 

feet (4,645 square meters) within the 

beach fill project boundaries. This area 

is considered a representative sample 

of the entire project area and referred 

to as the "background" value; diameter 

shall be differentiated and calculated 

through visual observation of an area 

of 10,000 square feet centered on each 

transect, and between mean tide level 

(MTL) and the frontal dune toe within 

the beach fill project boundaries. A 

simple arithmetic mean shall be 

calculated for both sediments and shell 

by summing the totals for each across 

all transects and dividing by the total 

number of transects, and these values 

shall be considered representative of 

the entire project area, and referred to 

as the "background" values for large 

sediment and large shell material; 

(i) Beaches that received sediment prior 

to the effective date of this Rule shall 

be characterized in a way that is 

consistent with Sub-Items (1)(a) 

through (1)(h) of this Rule and shall 

may use data collected from the 

recipient beach prior to the addition of 

beach fill. If such data were not 

collected or are unavailable, a dataset 

best reflecting the sediment 

characteristics of the recipient beach 

prior to beach fill shall be developed 

in coordination with the Division of 

Coastal Management; and fill where 

data are available, and in coordination 

with the Division of Coastal 

Management; and 

(j) All data used to characterize the 

recipient beach shall be provided in 

digital and hardcopy format to the 

Division of Coastal Management upon 

request. 

(2) Characterization of borrow areas is not required 

if completely confined to a cape shoal system. 

For the purposes of this Rule, "cape shoal 

systems" include the Frying Pan Shoals at Cape 

Fear, Lookout Shoals at Cape Lookout, and 

Diamond Shoals at Cape Hatteras. The 

applicant shall characterize the sediment to be 

placed on the recipient beach according to the 

following methodology: 

(a) The characterization of borrow areas 

including submarine sites, upland 

sites, and dredged material disposal 

areas shall be designed to capture the 

three-dimensional spatial variability 

of the sediment characteristics 

including grain size, sorting and 

mineralogy within the natural system 

or dredged material disposal area; 

(b) The characterization of borrow sites 

shall may include sediment 

characterization data provided by the 

Division of Coastal Management 

where available. These data can be 

found in individual project reports and 

studies, and shall be provided by the 

Division of Coastal Management upon 

request and where available; historical 

sediment characterization data where 

available and collected using methods 

consistent with Sub-Items (2)(c) 

through (2)(g) of this Rule, and in 

coordination with the Division of 

Coastal Management. 

(c) Seafloor surveys shall measure 

elevation and capture acoustic 

imagery of the seafloor. Measurement 

of seafloor elevation shall cover 100 

percent percent, or the maximum 

extent practicable, of each submarine 
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borrow site and use survey-grade 

swath sonar (e.g. multibeam or similar 

technologies) in accordance with 

current US Army Corps of Engineers 

standards for navigation and dredging. 

technologies). Seafloor imaging 

without an elevation component (e.g. 

sidescan sonar or similar 

technologies) shall also cover 100 

percent percent, or the maximum 

extent practicable, of each borrow site 

and be performed in accordance with 

US Army Corps of Engineers 

standards for navigation and dredging. 

site. Because shallow submarine areas 

can provide technical challenges and 

physical limitations for acoustic 

measurements, seafloor imaging 

without an elevation component may 

not be required for water depths less 

than 10 feet (3 meters). Alternative 

elevation surveying methods for water 

depths less than 10 feet (3 meters) may 

be evaluated on a case-by-case basis 

by the Division of Coastal 

Management. Elevation data shall be 

tide- and motion-corrected and 

referenced to NAVD 88 and NAD 83. 

compliant with Standards of Practice 

for Land Surveying in North Carolina 

pursuant to 21 NCAC 56 .1600. 

Seafloor imaging data without an 

elevation component shall be 

referenced to the NAD 83. All final 

seafloor survey data shall conform to 

standards for accuracy, quality control 

and quality assurance as set forth by 

the US Army Corps of Engineers 

(USACE). The current surveying 

standards for navigation and dredging 

can be obtained from the Wilmington 

District of the USACE. compliant with 

Standards of Practice for Land 

Surveying in North Carolina pursuant 

to 21 NCAC 56 .1600. For offshore 

dredged material disposal sites, only 

one set of imagery without elevation is 

required. Sonar imaging of the 

seafloor without elevation is also not 

required for borrow sites completely 

confined to maintained navigation 

channels, and for sediment deposition 

basins within the active nearshore, 

beach or inlet shoal system; 

(d) Geophysical imaging of the seafloor 

subsurface shall be used to 

characterize each borrow site and shall 

use survey grids with a line spacing 

not to exceed 1,000 feet (305 meters). 

Offshore dredged material disposal 

sites shall use a survey grid not to 

exceed 2,000 feet (610 meters) and 

only one set of geophysical imaging of 

the seafloor subsurface is required. 

Survey grids shall incorporate at least 

one tie point per survey line. site. 

Because shallow submarine areas can 

pose technical challenges and physical 

limitations for geophysical 

techniques, subsurface data may not 

be required in water depths less than 

10 feet (3 meters), and the Division of 

Coastal Management shall evaluate 

these areas on a case-by-case basis. 

Subsurface geophysical imaging shall 

not be required for borrow sites 

completely confined to maintained 

navigation channels, and for sediment 

deposition basins within the active 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal system, 

or upland sites. All final subsurface 

geophysical data shall use accurate 

sediment velocity models for time-

depth conversions and be referenced 

to NAD 83; compliant with Standards 

of Practice for Land Surveying in 

North Carolina pursuant to 21 NCAC 

56 .1600; 

(e) Sediment With the exception of 

upland borrow sites, sediment 

sampling of all borrow sites shall use 

a vertical sampling device no less than 

3 inches (76 millimeters) in diameter. 

Characterization of each borrow site 

shall use no fewer than five evenly 

spaced cores or one core per 23 acres 

(grid spacing of 1,000 feet or 305 

meters), whichever is greater. 

Characterization of borrow sites 

completely confined to maintained 

navigation channels or sediment 

deposition basins within the active 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal system 

shall use no fewer than five evenly 

spaced vertical samples per channel or 

sediment basin, or sample spacing of 

no more than 5,000 linear feet (1,524 

meters), whichever is greater. Two 

sets of sampling data (with at least one 

dredging event in between) from 

maintained navigation channels or 

sediment deposition basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system system, or offshore dredged 

material disposal site (ODMDS) may 

be used to characterize material for 

subsequent nourishment events from 

those areas if the sampling results are 
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found to be compatible with Sub-Item 

(3)(a) of this Rule. In submarine 

borrow sites other than maintained 

navigation channels or associated 

sediment deposition basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system where water depths are no 

greater than 10 feet (3 meters), 

geophysical data of and below the 

seafloor are not required, and sediment 

sample spacing shall be no less than 

one core per six acres (grid spacing of 

500 feet or 152 meters). Vertical 

sampling shall penetrate to a depth 

equal to or greater than permitted 

dredge or excavation depth or 

expected dredge or excavation depths 

for pending permit applications. All 

sediment samples shall be integrated 

with geophysical data to constrain the 

surficial, horizontal and vertical extent 

of lithologic units and determine 

excavation volumes of compatible 

sediment as defined in Item (3) of this 

Rule; Because shallow submarine 

areas completely confined to a 

maintained navigation channel or 

associated sediment basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system can pose technical challenges 

and physical limitations for vertical 

sampling techniques, geophysical data 

of and below the seafloor may not be 

required in water depths less than 10 

feet (3 meters), and shall be evaluated 

by the Division of Coastal 

Management on a case-by-case basis; 

(f) For offshore dredged material disposal 

sites, the grid spacing shall not exceed 

2,000 feet (610 meters). 

Characterization of material deposited 

at offshore dredged material disposal 

sites after the initial characterization 

are not required if all of the material 

deposited complies with Sub-Item 

(3)(a) of this Rule as demonstrated by 

at least two sets of sampling data with 

at least one dredging event in between; 

(g)(f) Grain size distributions shall be 

reported for all sub-samples taken 

within each vertical sample for each of 

the four grain size categories defined 

in Sub-Item (1)(e) of this Rule. 

Weighted averages for each core shall 

be calculated based on the total 

number of samples and the thickness 

of each sampled interval. A simple 

arithmetic mean of the weighted 

averages for each grain size category 

shall be calculated to represent the 

average grain size values for each 

borrow site. Vertical samples shall be 

geo-referenced and digitally imaged 

using scaled, color-calibrated 

photography; 

(h)(g) Percentage by weight of calcium 

carbonate shall be calculated from a 

composite sample of each core. A 

weighted average of calcium 

carbonate percentage by weight shall 

be calculated for each borrow site 

based on the composite sample 

thickness of each core. Carbonate 

analysis is not required for sediment 

confined to maintained navigation 

channels or associated sediment 

deposition basins within the active 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal system; 

and 

(i)(h) All data used to characterize the 

borrow site shall be provided in digital 

and hardcopy format to the Division of 

Coastal Management upon request. 

(3) The Division of Coastal Management shall 

determine sediment Compliance with these 

sediment standards shall be certified by an 

individual licensed pursuant to Chapter 89C or 

89E of the N.C. General Statutes. Sediment 

compatibility is determined according to the 

following criteria: 

(a) Sediment completely confined to the 

permitted dredge depth of a 

maintained navigation channel or 

associated sediment deposition basins 

within the active nearshore, beach or 

inlet shoal system is considered 

compatible if the average percentage 

by weight of fine-grained (less than 

0.0625 millimeters) sediment is less 

than 10 percent; 

(b) The average percentage by weight of 

fine-grained sediment (less than 

0.0625 millimeters) in each borrow 

site shall not exceed the average 

percentage by weight of fine-grained 

sediment of the recipient beach 

characterization plus five percent; 

(c) The average percentage by weight of 

granular sediment (greater than or 

equal to 2 millimeters and less than 

4.76 millimeters) in a borrow site shall 

not exceed the average percentage by 

weight of coarse-sand sediment of the 

recipient beach characterization plus 

10 percent; 

(d) The average percentage by weight of 

gravel (greater than or equal to 4.76 

millimeters and less than 76 
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millimeters) in a borrow site shall not 

exceed the average percentage by 

weight of gravel-sized sediment for 

the recipient beach characterization 

plus five percent; 

(e) The average percentage by weight of 

calcium carbonate in a borrow site 

shall not exceed the average 

percentage by weight of calcium 

carbonate of the recipient beach 

characterization plus 15 percent; and 

(f) Techniques that take incompatible 

sediment within a borrow site or 

combination of sites and make it 

compatible with that of the recipient 

beach characterization shall be 

evaluated on a case-by-case basis by 

the Division of Coastal Management. 

(4) Excavation and placement of sediment shall 

conform to the following criteria: 

(a) Sediment excavation depths for all 

borrow sites shall not exceed the 

maximum depth of recovered core at 

each coring location; 

(b)(a) In order to protect threatened and 

endangered species, and to minimize 

impacts to fish, shellfish and wildlife 

resources, no excavation or placement 

of sediment shall occur within the 

project area during times any seasonal 

environmental moratoria designated 

by the Division of Coastal 

Management in consultation with 

other State and Federal agencies. 

Agencies, unless specifically 

approved by the Division of Coastal 

Management in consultation with 

other State and Federal agencies. The 

time limitations shall be established 

during the permitting process and shall 

be made known prior to permit 

issuance; and 

(c)(b) Sediment The total sediments with a 

diameter greater than or equal to one 

inch (25.4 millimeters), and shell 

material with a diameter greater than 

or equal to three inches (76 

millimeters) is considered 

incompatible if it has been placed on 

the beach during the beach fill project, 

is observed between MLW MTL and 

the frontal dune toe, and is in excess of 

twice the background value of 

material of the same size along any 

50,000-square-foot (4,645 square 

meter) 10,000 square feet section of 

beach. beach within the beach fill 

project boundaries. In the event that 

more than twice the background value 

of incompatible material is placed on 

the beach, it shall be the permittee's 

responsibility to remove the 

incompatible material in coordination 

with the Division of Coastal 

Management and other State and 

Federal resource agencies. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-229; 113A-102(b)(1); 113A-103(5)(a); 113A-

107(a); 113A-113(b)(5) and (6); 113A-118; 113A-124. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Pharmacy intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 

46 .1819. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 16, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  The public can participate on Teams at 

https://tinyurl.com/y27ovmlt, or may call 336-604-5350, 

conference ID 755 889 266#. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor 

of North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared 

a state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact 

protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  

COVID-19 is respiratory disease that can result in serious illness 

or death.  COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads 

easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of COVID-19 

begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, 

the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United 

States Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  The search for 

potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs.  On March 

24, 2020, the North Carolina State Health Director requested that 

the Medical Board, the Board of Nursing and the Board of 

Pharmacy adopt the COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule in order 

to alleviate shortages and ensure that these drugs are available 

to patients who need them.  This rule was adopted as an 

emergency and then a temporary rule.  The State Health Director 

has requested that the rule be adopted as a permanent rule 

because the state of emergency and corresponding potential drug 

shortages now may potentially extend beyond the expiration of the 

temporary rule.  The Board intends to repeal the rule upon the 

conclusion of the state of emergency.  The State Health Director 

has determined that the State is unlikely to suffer future shortages 

of two of the drugs previously listed in the temporary and 
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emergency rule, and that those drugs may be removed from the 

list, while the others should remain. 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 

Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 

246-1056; email ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org 

 

Comment period ends:  December 17, 2020 at 12:00 noon 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .1800 - PRESCRIPTIONS 

 

21 NCAC 46 .1819 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Darunavir. 

(b)  A pharmacist shall fill or refill a prescription for a Restricted 

Drug only if that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the 

prescriber consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription order that the 

patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription order 

is issued in conformance with this Rule, 

including not being refilled through an 

emergency prescription refill. 

(d)  A pharmacist shall not fill or refill a prescription for a 

Restricted Drug for the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the 

contraction of COVID-19 by someone who has not yet been 

diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the prescriber or the prescriber's agent, and that 

information is recorded in writing by the pharmacy, along with 

the identity of the prescriber or prescriber's agent transmitting the 

prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.26; 90-85.32. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Commission for Public Health 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 41A .0107 

 

Effective Date:  September 25, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  September 

15, 2020 

 

Reason for Action:  COVID-19, a novel coronavirus, was 

identified as the cause of an emerging infectious disease outbreak 

in December 2019 in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. This novel 

coronavirus causes respiratory illness ranging in severity from 

mild illness to death. As of September 13, 2020, over 28,600,000 

confirmed cases and 900,000 deaths had been reported from 216 

countries, including the United States. The first U.S. case was 

reported in a traveler returning from Wuhan on January 21, 2020 

in Washington State. As of September 13, over 6,400,000 cases 

and 190,000 deaths had been reported in the U.S., and over 

180,000 cases and 3,000 deaths had been reported in North 

Carolina. The North Carolina Division of Public Health is 

working closely with the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDC) to monitor and respond to this pandemic in 

North Carolina.  

Due to the widespread community transmission of this serious, 

infectious disease, testing is occurring in non-traditional 

environments, such as community-based testing sites. For this 

reason, reporting requirements need to be extended to other types 

of healthcare providers potentially involved in testing, such as 

nurses, pharmacists, and dentists. It is also imperative that public 

health officials receive not only positive tests results, but also 

negative test results, to better understand the prevalence of the 

disease in North Carolina.  

To address this, the legislature enacted S.L. 2020-4 Sec. 

4.10(a)(1) and the State Health Director issued a Temporary 

Order, pursuant to her authority under G.S. 130A-141.1, 

requiring healthcare providers and laboratories to report all 

COVID-19 diagnostic test results, both positive and negative, 

effective July 7, 2020. An emergency rule is needed to replace the 

State Health Director's Temporary Order while temporary and 

eventually permanent rules are pursued. Immediate adoption of 

this emergency rule is required due to the serious and unforeseen 

threat posed to public health by this infectious disease. 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0100 - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0107 REPORTING OF COVID-19 

DIAGNOSTIC TEST RESULTS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "COVID-19 diagnostic test" means any nucleic 

acid or antigen test that identifies SARS-CoV-

2, the virus that causes COVID-19. 

(2) "Electronic laboratory reporting" means the 

automated messaging of laboratory reports sent 

to the Division of Public Health using a 

machine-readable electronic communication 

protocol. 

(3) "Healthcare provider" means a healthcare 

provider as defined in G.S. 130A-476(g). 

(4) "Laboratory" means a facility that performs 

testing on specimens obtained from humans for 

the purpose of providing information for health 

assessment and for the diagnosis, prevention, or 

treatment of disease and is certified by the 

United States Department of Health and Human 

Services under the Clinical Laboratory 

Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) 

and implementing regulations. This definition 

includes a healthcare provider who performs 

testing in an on-site facility that meets these 

requirements. 

(b)  Each person in charge of a laboratory providing diagnostic 

service in this State shall report the results of all COVID-19 

diagnostic tests to the Division of Public Health using electronic 

laboratory reporting. For purposes of COVID-19, a novel 

coronavirus under Rule .0101(c)(1) of this Section, the required 

method of reporting set out in Rules .0101(c) and .0102(d)(3) of 

this Section shall not apply. The report shall include all of the 

elements required to be reported under the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services, laboratory data 

reporting guidance, which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent amendments and editions, and available 

free of charge at https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/covid-

19-laboratory-data-reporting-guidance.pdf. 

(c)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a laboratory: 

(1) submits a COVID-19 Laboratory Data 

Automation Registration form to the Division 

of Public Health and acts in good faith to 

onboard to electronic laboratory reporting. This 

form shall be submitted within seven calendar 

days of the date the laboratory starts performing 

COVID-19 diagnostic testing and shall contain 

the following elements: 
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(A) the name, address, phone number, and 

CLIA number of the laboratory; 

(B) the name, address, and phone number 

of the person in charge of the 

laboratory or that person's designee; 

(C) the type of test performed, testing 

capacity, and whether the laboratory 

will use a third-party laboratory to 

perform part or all of the testing; and 

(D) if the laboratory will use a third-party 

laboratory to perform part or all of the 

testing, the information in 

Subparagraphs (c)(1)(A)-(B) for the 

third-party laboratory; and 

(2) until onboarding to electronic laboratory 

reporting is complete: 

(A) reports the results of positive COVID-

19 diagnostic tests to the Division of 

Public Health, including all elements 

required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

by secure telefax; and 

(B) reports the aggregate number of 

positive and negative nucleic acid 

COVID-19 diagnostic tests and the 

aggregate number of positive and 

negative antigen COVID-19 

diagnostic tests per day to the Division 

of Public Health through an online 

survey. 

(d)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a laboratory that completes fewer than 50 

total COVID-19 diagnostic tests per week submits results as set 

out in Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule. 

(e)  Healthcare providers who order COVID-19 diagnostic testing 

in this State shall: 

(1) report the results of positive COVID-19 

diagnostic tests by secure telefax to the local 

health director in the county or district where 

the patient resides. The report shall contain: 

(A) patient first and last name, date of 

birth, address, county of residence, 

phone number, sex, race, and 

ethnicity; 

(B) provider name, address, phone 

number, and NPI; 

(C) the specimen collection date, the test 

order date, and the test result date; 

(D) the test result; and 

(E) all other available elements required in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and 

(2) report the aggregate number of positive and 

negative nucleic acid COVID-19 diagnostic 

tests and the aggregate number of positive and 

negative antigen COVID-19 diagnostic tests 

per day to the Division of Public Health through 

an online survey. 

(f)  The requirements set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule shall 

be considered met if a healthcare provider: 

(1) verifies that the laboratory that receives the 

specimen for testing will report the test result in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and 

(2) includes patient first and last name, date of 

birth, address, county of residence, phone 

number, sex, race, ethnicity, and specimen 

collection date on the lab order. 

(g)  The requirement for healthcare providers to report COVID-

19 diagnostic test results, as set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

is separate from the requirement for physicians to report suspected 

infections of COVID-19, a novel coronavirus, including positive 

COVID-19 diagnostic test results, in accordance with G.S. 130A-

135 and Rules .0101(a) and .0102(a) of this Section. 

(h)  Laboratories and healthcare providers who are required to 

report under this Rule shall report positive COVID-19 diagnostic 

test results immediately and negative COVID-19 diagnostic test 

results within 24 hours of receiving the result. Results reported to 

a local health department under this Rule shall be forwarded to 

the Division of Public Health within 24 hours of receipt by the 

local health department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-

139; 130A-141; 130A-141.1; S.L. 2020-4, s. 4.10(a)(1); P.L. 100-

578; 42 C.F.R. 493; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. September 25, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Commission for Public Health 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 41A .0212 

 

Effective Date:  September 25, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  September 

15, 2020 

 

Reason for Action:  COVID-19, a novel coronavirus, was 

identified as the cause of an emerging infectious disease outbreak 

in December 2019 in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. This novel 

coronavirus causes respiratory illness ranging in severity from 

mild illness to death. As of September 13, 2020, over 28,600,000 

confirmed cases and 900,000 deaths had been reported from 216 

countries, including the United States. The first U.S. case was 

reported in a traveler returning from Wuhan on January 21, 2020 

in Washington State. As of September 13, over 6,400,000 cases 

and 190,000 deaths had been reported in the U.S., and over 

180,000 cases and 3,000 deaths had been reported in North 

Carolina. The North Carolina Division of Public Health is 

working closely with the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDC) to monitor and respond to this pandemic in 

North Carolina. 

On June 18, 2020, the NC Commission for Public Health received 

a petition for rulemaking from the North Carolina Board of 

Funeral Service, requesting that the Commission consider 

amending rule 10A NCAC 41A .0212 to set out the proper 

precautions to prevent infection in the handling and 

transportation of the bodies of persons infected with COVID-19 

and require notification of those precautions. Pursuant to G.S. 
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150B-20, the Commission fully considered and granted the 

petition at its meeting on August 5, 2020. However, the 

Commission did not approve the proposed rule language 

submitted with the petition and directed agency staff to revise the 

proposed rule language for consideration at a special meeting on 

September 15, 2020. Notice of this decision was provided in 

writing to the North Carolina Board of Funeral Service on August 

5, 2020. On September 15, 2020, the Commission adopted the rule 

language submitted with this Findings of Need form.  

It is imperative that this rule be quickly amended to address the 

need identified by the North Carolina Board of Funeral Service 

for communicable disease control measures to mitigate the risk of 

disease transmission in the handling and transportation of the 

bodies of persons infected with COVID-19. Immediate adoption 

of this emergency rule is required due to the serious and 

unforeseen threat posed to public health by this infectious disease. 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0200 - CONTROL MEASURES FOR 

COMMUNICABLE DISEASES 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0212 HANDLING AND 

TRANSPORTATION OF BODIES 

(a)  Persons handling the body of any person who has died shall 

comply with the standard precautions for all patient care 

published by the United States Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, which are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

any subsequent amendments and editions, and available free of 

charge at: https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/basics/standard-

precautions.html. 

(a)(b)  It shall be the duty of the physician physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner attending to any person who dies 

and is known to be infected with HIV, plague, or hepatitis B B, or 

COVID-19 or any person who dies and is known or reasonably 

suspected to be infected with smallpox, rabies, severe acute 

respiratory syndrome (SARS), or Jakob-Creutzfeldt to provide 

written written, verbal, or electronic notification to all individuals 

handling the body of the proper precautions to prevent infection. 

This written written, verbal, or electronic notification shall be 

provided to the funeral service director, funeral service worker, or 

body transporter personnel at the time the body is removed from 

any hospital, nursing home, or other health care facility. When the 

patient dies in a location other than a health care facility, the 

attending physician physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner shall notify the funeral service director, funeral 

service worker, or body transporter personnel verbally of the 

precautions required as soon as the physician physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner becomes aware of the death. These 

precautions are noted in Paragraphs (b)(d), (e), and (c). (f) of this 

Rule. The duty to notify shall be considered met if performed by 

one of the following individuals: the physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner attending to the person who died or 

a designated representative of the physician, physician assistant, 

or nurse practitioner. 

(c)  It shall also be the duty of a medical examiner with jurisdiction 

pursuant to G.S. 130A-383 over the body of any person who dies 

and is known to be infected with COVID-19 to provide written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to the funeral service director, 

funeral service worker, or body transporter at the time the body is 

removed from medical examiner custody of the proper 

precautions to prevent infection. These precautions are noted in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. The duty to notify shall be considered 

met if performed by a designated representative of the medical 

examiner. 

(b)(d)  The body of any person who died and is known or 

reasonably suspected to be infected with smallpox or severe acute 

respiratory syndrome (SARS) or any person who died and is 

known to be infected with plague shall not be embalmed. The 

body shall be enclosed in a strong, tightly sealed outer case which 

will prevent leakage or escape of odors as soon as possible after 

death and before the body is removed from the hospital room, 

home, building, or other premises where the death occurred. This 

case shall not be reopened except with the consent of the local 

health director. Nothing in this Paragraph shall prohibit 

cremation. 

(c)(e)  Persons handling the body of any person who died and is 

known to be infected with HIV or hepatitis B or any person who 

died and is known or reasonably suspected to be infected with 

Jakob-Creutzfeldt or rabies shall be provided written written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to observe blood and body fluid 

precautions. 

(f)  Persons handling the body of any person who died and is 

known to be infected with COVID-19 shall be provided written, 

verbal, or electronic notification to observe the COVID-19 

guidance for funeral home workers published by the United States 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments 

or editions, and available free of charge at: 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/funeral-faqs.html. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-144; 130A-146; 

Temporary Rule Eff. February 1, 1988, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on July 29, 1988; 

Eff. March 1, 1988; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 19A .0204 Eff. June 11, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018. 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of Commerce, Division of 

Employment Security 

 

Rule Citation:  04 NCAC 24G .0104 

 

Effective Date:  September 25, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  September 

17, 2020 

 

Reason for Action:  The temporary rule is needed because of a 

serious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety, and 

welfare, a recent act of the U.S. Congress with the passage of the 

Families First Coronavirus Response Act.  Pub. 1. No. 116-127, 

Division D 1402 (2020); Executive Order 118 issued by Governor 

Roy Cooper on March 17, 2020; and guidance from the U.S. 

Department of Labor in Unemployment Insurance Program 

Letter (UIPL) Nos. 16-20 (issued April 5, 2020);  13-20 (issued 

March 22, 2020) and 10-20 (issued March 12, 2020).  On March 

10, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina issued Executive Order 

No. 116 and declared a state of emergency to coordinate a 

response and enact protective measures to help prevent the 

spread of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), a respiratory 

disease that results from the coronavirus.  On March 11, 2020, 

the World Health Organization declared the coronavirus an 

international pandemic.  The World Health Organization, the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United 

States Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.   On March 17, 

2020, the Governor of North Carolina issued Executive Order No. 

118 and directed the Secretary of Commerce and Assistant 

Secretary for the Division of Employment Security to ensure that 

individuals who are separated from employment, had hours 

reduced, or are prevented from working due to a medical 

condition caused by COVID-19 or due to communicable disease 

control measures are eligible for unemployment benefits to the 

maximum amount permitted by federal law.  On March 18, 2020, 

the President of the United States signed the Families First 

Coronavirus Response Act (Pub. 1. 116-127). The legislation 

makes emergency supplemental appropriations in response to the 

spread of COVID-19, and includes the Emergency Unemployment 

Insurance Stabilization and Access Act of 2020 (EUISAA) at 

Division D. 

The Governor's Executive Order No. 121 ordered that all non-

essential business and operations cease operating effective March 

30, 2020.  The employer entities ceased operations and laid off its 

employees pursuant to the Governor's Executive Order.  

Currently, the Governor is reopening the state's economy in 

phases and easing COVID-19 restrictions; the employer entities 

are slowly reopening and are recalling employees to return to 

work.  This rule is necessary for the determination of whether to 

continue unemployment benefits for individuals who refuse 

suitable work after being informed by the employer to return to 

work. 

 

CHAPTER 24 - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 24G – UNEMPLOYMENT 

COMPENSATION DUE TO PUBLIC HEALTH 

EMERGENCY OR DISASTER DECLARATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION 

DUE TO CORONAVIRUS AND COVID-19 

 

04 NCAC 24G .0104 TEMPORARY COVID-19 

SUITABLE WORK PROVISIONS  

For purposes of determining good cause in G.S. 96-14.11(b), a 

claimant who has refused suitable work for one of the following 

COVID-19 related reasons shall be deemed to have a legally 

sufficient reason for the refusal, and may continue to be eligible 

for unemployment benefits while the applicable requirement of 

the following is met: 

(1) A member of the claimant's household has been 

diagnosed with COVID-19 or the claimant is 

providing care for a immediate family, as 

defined in G.S. 96-1(b)(18), who has been 

diagnosed with COVID-19. 

(2) The claimant is high risk of severe illness from 

COVID-19 in accordance with the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 

guidelines. The CDC guidelines for COVID-19 

Risk are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments or editions. This 

document may be accessed at 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-with-

medical-conditions.html at no cost. 

(3) The claimant is the primary caregiver of a child 

or person in the claimant's household who is 

unable to attend school that is closed for full-

time instruction or the student is enrolled in 

virtual learning or another facility that has shut 

down as a direct result of the COVID-19 public 

health emergency, and the school or facility is 

required for the claimant to work. For purposes 

of this requirement, a facility is defined as a 

place that provides ongoing and constant care 

or attention to the child or other person bring 

cared for, for example, a daycare facility, 

assisted living facility, rehabilitation center, or 

nursing home. 
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(4) The claimant has refused work in order to 

comply with travel, business operations, or 

mass gathering requirements set forth in a 

current executive order issued by the President 

of the United States, Governor of the State of 

North Carolina, or contained in an order issued 

by the North Carolina county or municipality in 

which the claimant resides. 

(5) The claimant presents clear and convincing 

evidence as defined in 04 NCAC 24A 

.0105(a)(17) that there is a risk to the claimant's 

health and safety due to a failure of the 

employer to comply with COVID-19 related 

statutes, executive orders, ordinances, and 

guidelines as set out by the CDC and 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration 

(OSHA). The OSHA guidelines for employers 

are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments or editions. This 

document may be accessed at 

https://www.osha.gov/Publications/OSHA404

5.pdf. at no cost. The CDC guidelines for 

employers are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments or editions. 

This document may be accessed at 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/guidance-business-

response.html at no cost. The employer's failure 

to adhere to the COVID-19 related statutes, 

executive orders, ordinances, and guidelines as 

set out by the CDC and OSHA shall constitute 

good cause for refusal of suitable work. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-2; 96-4; 96-14.11(b); 96-

15(a);  

Emergency Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 25, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10D .0103 

 

Effective Date:  September 25, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  September 

17, 2020 

 

Reason for Action:  G.S. 150B-21.1(a)(7)b. The primitive 

weapons season dates for deer on Nicholson Creek Game Land 

are incorrect in 15A NCAC 10D .0103.  The temporary 

amendments are necessary so that the dates can be corrected 

before the upcoming primitive weapons season. 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS  

(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 

designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 

any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 

the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 

Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 

lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 

prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 

(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 

purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 

screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 

herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 

portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 

in or attached to the tree. 

(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 

lands only during the open season for game animals and game 

birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 

or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 

dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 

lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons. On 

managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 

(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 

than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 

(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates; 

(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 

(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; and 

(5) not operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 

On designated youth waterfowl days, youths may hunt on 

managed waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to 

sunset. On designated veterans and military waterfowl days, 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 

designated as permit-only areas from ½ hour before sunrise to 

sunset. Restrictions (1), (3), and (5) in this Paragraph shall apply. 

On waterfowl impoundments that have a posted "Scouting-only 

Zone," trapping during the trapping season and waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days are the only activities 

allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside of the posted 

"Scouting-only Zone." No person shall attempt to obscure the sex 

or age of any bird or animal taken by severing the head or any 

other part thereof, or possess any bird or animal that has been so 

mutilated. No person shall place, or cause to be placed on any 

game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written 

authorization of the Commission or its agent. A decision to grant 

or deny authorization shall be made based on the best 

management practices for the wildlife species in question. No 

person shall take or attempt to take any game birds or game 

animals attracted to such foods. 

(e)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 

refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 
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taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 

the federally-announced season. 

(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken during the open seasons 

and hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 

for game lands in this Rule that specifically 

allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 

Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 

Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 

either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 

each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 

may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 

7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 

Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken on the open days of 

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 

Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 

with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 

where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0109. 

(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 

game lands: 

(1) Alcoa Game Land in Davidson, Davie, 

Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter in that 

portion in Montgomery county, and 

deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season in those 

portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 

and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 

hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 

(A) Six Day per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(5) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(6) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 

rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 

shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 

of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 

Lake Tract is by permit only. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31through May 14 in areas both 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 

foxes shall be prohibited from 

February 15 through August 1. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(8) Brunswick County Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(9) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(10) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
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(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days of the second week of the 

December Bear Season. If any of these 

days falls on a Tuesday, Friday or 

Saturday, bear hunting is allowed on 

those days. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(11) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 

Wilkes Counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 

Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the Saturday of the second 

week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(12) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 

Lands in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(13) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 

Granville, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

On the posted waterfowl 

impoundments a special permit is 

required for all waterfowl hunting 

after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on that portion west of NC 

50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. On designated bicycle riding 

areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 

from May 15 through August 31, and 

on Sundays only from September 1 

through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 

designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 

Camping Area and shall not exceed a 

maximum stay of two consecutive 

nights. Campfires are prohibited in 

this camping area. 

(14) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(15) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 

that portion known as the Roan Island 

Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the portion of the game 
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land that is west of the Black River, 

north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 

Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 

south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(16) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(D) Bear hunting on the Salters Creek 

Tract is by permit only. 

(17) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 

Caswell County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August, and on 

Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. Horseback riding is 

allowed only on roads opened to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails that are posted for 

equestrian use. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 

following roads is permit-only for all 

quail and woodcock hunting, and all 

bird dog training: From Yanceyville 

south on NC 62 to the intersection of 

SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 

intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 

1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 

east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 

NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 

intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 

1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 

east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 

NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 

by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 

Shooting Range. 

(18) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August; and on 

Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(19) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(20) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 

and Hertford counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 

three hunting days during the 

November bear season and the first 

three hunting days during the second 

week of the December bear season 

except that portion of Chowan Swamp 

Game Land in Gates County that is 

east of Highway 158/13, south of 

Highway 158, west of Highway 32, 

and north of Catherine Creek and the 

Chowan River where the bear season 

is the same as the season dates for the 

Gates County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

during May 16 through August 31 and 

on Sundays only September 1 through 

May 15 on those roads that are open to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails posted for equestrian 

use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(21) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 
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(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(22) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 

County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract 

shall be by permit only. 

(23) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 

Jones counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

day in October through the end of all 

waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting 

from designated Disabled Sportsmen 

blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl 

Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 

first two open days of dove season on 

posted areas. During the rest of dove 

season, no permit is required to hunt 

doves. 

(24) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 

shall be hunted by permit only from 

November 1 through the end of all 

waterfowl seasons. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 

accompany the permitted individual or 

party provided the guides do not use a 

firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 

extend 5 yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 

hunting by permitted waterfowl 

hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(25) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted for equestrian 

use. People age 16 or older horseback 

riding on this game land must possess 

a Game Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(26) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 

of bombing range. 

(D) The use and training of dogs is 

prohibited from March 1 through June 

30. 

(27) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(28) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 

and Transylvania counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 

hunt permit holders during scheduled 

permit hunts. 

(29) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(30) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(31) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 

Pamlico counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October through the end 

of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl 

hunting is by permit only on the 

following waterfowl impoundments: 

Pamlico Point, Campbell Creek, 

Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith 

Creek, and Hobucken. 

(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 

Waterfowl Impoundments all 

activities, except waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days 

and trapping during the trapping 

season, are restricted to the posted 

Scouting-only Zone during the period 

November 1 through March 15. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 

September 1 through January 1 and 

April 1 through May 15 to individuals 

that possess a valid hunting 

opportunity permit. 

(32) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 

Polk counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(33) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) On that portion north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road, 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on that portion of 

the game land that is north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road. 

(34) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments shall be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season, except for that 

portion designated as bear sanctuary. 

(35) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 

Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 
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(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(36) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 

Transylvania County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season 

(37) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(38) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) On that portion north of the Bear 

Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 

Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 

Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 

west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 

hunting are permit only. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 

bear is prohibited: 

(i) all open days on that portion 

of the game land that is south 

of Baby Branch extending 

west to Stag Park Road, west 

of Shaw Road, north of 

Meeks Road extending west 

to Stag Park Road and east of 

Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Fridays, with the exception 

of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's days, and 

except for the area north of 

Bear Garden Road, west of 

Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 

east of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River, south of NC 53 

and west of NC 50, where the 

use of dogs for deer and bear 

hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 

September 1 to the last day of 

February and April 1 to May 15 to 

individuals that possess valid hunting 

opportunity permits, unless otherwise 

authorized by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 

Access Permit may operate an All 

Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 

yards of trails designated for Disabled 

Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(39) Hyco Game land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(40) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(41) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 

holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is prohibited October 1 

through March 31, except by lawful 

waterfowl hunting permit holders and 

only on those days written on the 

permits. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas is limited to August 31 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14. 

(42) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 

Orange, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 

(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 
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(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted as American 

Tobacco Trail and other areas posted 

for equestrian use. Unless otherwise 

posted, horseback riding is permitted 

on posted portions of the American 

Tobacco Trail anytime the trail is open 

for use. On all other trails posted for 

equestrian use, horseback riding is 

allowed only during June, July, and 

August, and on Sundays the remainder 

of the year except during open turkey 

and deer seasons. People age 16 or 

older who ride horseback on trails 

occurring entirely within the game 

land boundaries shall possess a Game 

Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. 

(43) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(44) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 

during the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 

and no screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 

turkey is prohibited. 

(45) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 

waterfowl impoundments is by permit 

only. 

(46) Lee Game Land in Lee County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(47) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(48) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(49) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 

Edgecombe and Halifax counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(50) Mayo Game Land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Christmas and New Year's 

Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
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(51) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(52) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 

Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 

that portion located in Transylvania 

County. 

(53) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 

counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 

on the opening day of dove season is 

by permit only. 

(54) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 

100 yards of the Neuse River on that 

portion of the game land that lies west 

of NC-43. 

(55) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(56) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through the fourth 

Friday before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 

activities are prohibited: 

(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine; 

and 

(ii) Swimming. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(57) North River Game Land in Camden and 

Currituck counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 

impoundment is by permit only. 

(58) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 

Currituck County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(59) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 

Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 

that portion in Anson and Richmond 

counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(E) Horseback riding is allowed only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 

only during the following times: 

(i) during June, July, and 

August; and 

(ii) on Sundays during the other 

months or parts of months 

when deer and turkey seasons 

are closed. 
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(F) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting shall be prohibited on that 

portion south of US-74. 

(60) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(61) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 

Watauga, and Yancey counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 

Black Bear (McDowell County), 

Linville River (Burke County), and 

Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 

McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(D) The use of bicycles shall be restricted 

to designated trails on the Linville 

River Tract (Burke County). Persons 

engaged in the act of hunting on the 

Linville River Tract during any open 

day of an applicable season for game 

birds or game animals shall be exempt 

from this restriction. 

(62) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails from May 16 

through August 31 and Sundays from 

September 1 through October 31. All 

horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through May 15. 

(63) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(64) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 

in Wilkes County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 

(65) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(66) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 

Martin, and Northampton counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by Permit 

only. 

(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 

Commission business or by permit 

holders. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas, provided, however, 

that camping is allowed at any time 

within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 

on the state-owned portion of the game 

land. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(67) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 

(68) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(69) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 to the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(70) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 

Hunting is by permit only. 

(71) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(72) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 

Richmond, and Scotland counties 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 

October 22 through March 31 except 

as follows: 

(i) deer of either-sex may be 

taken with archery 

equipment on all the open 

days of the archery season 

through the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

with blackpowder firearms 

and archery equipment all the 

open days of the 

blackpowder firearms season 

through the third Wednesday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

and only deer with visible 

antlers may be taken with all 

legal weapons from the 

second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(ii) dove may be taken all open 

days from the opening day of 

the dove season through the 

third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 

be taken all the open days 

from the second Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day 

through the Saturday 

following Thanksgiving 

Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 

days from the second 

Saturday preceding 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 

open days during any 

waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 

may be taken as part of a 

Disabled Sportsmen Program 

Permit Hunt; and 

(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 

taken on open days from 

sunrise Monday on or nearest 

October 15 through the last 

day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

is the open hunting days from the 

second Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day through the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 

Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 

from the Saturday on or nearest to 

Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 

Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 

J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 

the third Monday after Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on all open hunting days 

during the archery season, by permit 

during the Deer with Visible antlers 

season, and the blackpowder firearms 

season as stated in this Subparagraph. 

Only deer with visible antlers may be 

taken from the third Monday after 

Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 

open days from the fourth Saturday 

preceding Thanksgiving Day through 

the Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1. Deer of either sex 

may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on all open hunting days 

during the blackpowder firearms 

season and by permit during the Deer 

With Visible Antlers season. Only 

deer with visible antlers may be taken 

from the third Monday after 

Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 

by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 

waterfowl may be taken on the 

opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 

prohibited unless participating in 

authorized field trials. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 

Complex. 
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(73) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 

Counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(74) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 

Madison counties. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 

and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 

10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 

the opening day through the second 

Saturday of dove season. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(75) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 

(76) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(77) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 

Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the Saturday of the second 

week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails during the 

following dates: 

(i) January 2 through March 31; 

(ii) May 16 through August 31; 

(iii) Sundays only - April 1 

through May 15; and 

(iv) Sundays only - September 1 

through January 1. 

(78) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 

and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments may be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(79) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 

Cumberland counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 
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(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 

or trapping days except for: 

(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 

permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 

Road to access Suggs Mill 

Pond Lake at the dam. 

(D) During the period of November 1 

through January 31, except on 

Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 

Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 

Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 

only by waterfowl hunters possessing 

a valid and current Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(E) During the period of November 1 

through March 15, the use of vessels 

on managed waterfowl impoundments 

is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 

waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 

and current Hunting Opportunity 

Permit issued by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission pursuant to 

G.S. 113-264(d). 

(80) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 

Brunswick counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(81) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited 

(82) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(83) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(84) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 

overnight camping at any designated 

campground is 14 days within any 30 

day period from May 1 through 

August 31. After 14 consecutive days 

of camping all personal belongings 

must be removed from the game land. 

(85) Tillery game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(86) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(87) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 

Montgomery, and Randolph counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl may be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 

Range. 

(88) Vance Game Land in Vance County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
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(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 

handguns for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 

tract. 

(89) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(90) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 

County 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow 

County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October through the end 

of all waterfowl seasons, a permit is 

required for hunting posted waterfowl 

impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 

have the following restrictions: 

(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 

requires a valid Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by 

the Wildlife Resources 

Commission pursuant to G.S. 

113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 

and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 

deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(92) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and 

Pender counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Long 

Ridge Tract. 

(93) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 

the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 

shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 

September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 

issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 

permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 

making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 

cooperator agent or by phone. 

(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting 

except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current 

permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 

River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 

Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 

Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 

Refuge; 

(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 

of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 

Lands; and 

(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—

DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 

County requires written permission from the Commission. 

Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 

Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 

entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 

agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 

need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 

investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 

public interest. 

(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 

season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner 

of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to 

hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs 
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for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or bear 

season. 

(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 

Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 

game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 

permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(m)  Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared 

by the Commission to be Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days, 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 

designated as permit-only areas. 

(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 

Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 

disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 

schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 

and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 

hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 

stated on each permit. 

(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 

species. 

(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on 

Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, 

the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 

113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 3, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; September 

1, 1995; July 1, 1995; September 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this replaces the amendment 

approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

May 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; October 1, 2006; August 1, 2006; May 1, 2006; February 

1, 2006; June 1, 2005; October 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; August 1, 2019. August 1, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 48 – BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

EXAMINERS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 48D .0107, .0109, .0111; and 48E 

.0101 

 

Effective Date:  September 25, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  September 

17, 2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The World 

Health Organization, the Center of Disease Control and 

Prevention, and the United States Department of Health and 

Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public health threat 

and emergency. Section 16 of Executive Order No. 116 

temporarily waives licensure requirements for healthcare 

providers licensed in other states, territories, and the District of 

Columbia.  The North Carolina Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners seeks to help increase the pool of qualified healthcare 

providers who can provide assistance with a COVID-19 

outbreak.by creating an expedited process by which physical 

therapists and physical therapist assistants can by licensed.  

Furthermore, qualified physical therapists and physical therapist 

assistants will by essential in the rehabilitation process for many 

persons recovering from the residual effects of COVID-19. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48D - EXAMINATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 48D .0107 PERSONS REFUSED 

EXAMINATION PERMISSION 

(a)  The Board shall refuse permission to take the examination to 

any person who: 

(1) Does not meet the requirements as set forth in 

the Physical Therapy Practice Act; 

(2) Furnishes false information to the Board on the 

application; or 

(3) Fails to furnish personal background 

information as required by these Rules. 

(b)  The Board and Federation have authority to approve an 

applicant's exam eligibility. eligibility and may delegate its 

authority to the Federation. Upon delegation of said authority, the 

The Board shall approve exam eligibility for foreign-trained 

applicants. The Federation shall grant exam eligibility for all other 

applicants as set forth in National Physical Therapy Examination 

policies, which are available free of charge at the Board office and 

at www.fsbpt.org. 

(b)(c)  Any applicant who is refused permission to take the 

examination shall be entitled to petition the Board for a contested 

case hearing pursuant to Subchapter 48G, Section .0500 of this 

Chapter. 

(d)  Any applicant who is refused permission to take the 

examination by the Federation has the option to appeal using the 

policies set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.97; 90-270.100; 90-270.103; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 
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Amended Eff. December 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; December 30, 

1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018. 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 48D .0109 RETAKING EXAMINATION 

(a)  Arrangements for Retake. To retake the examination, the 

applicant shall notify the Board in writing, and pay the retake fee 

as specified in 21 NCAC 48F .0102 .0102. The examination cost 

as set forth by the Federation (www.fsbpt.org) is hereby 

incorporated by reference and includes subsequent amendments 

and editions. A copy of the retake application may be obtained 

from the Board's website at no charge. If the Federation approves 

exam eligibility, the Federation shall administer the retake process 

according to NPTE policies, which may be found at 

www.fsbpt.org. 

(b)  Retake Examination. The Board shall administer a particular 

form of the examination to an applicant only one time. 

(c)(b)  Limitations. An applicant shall be limited to taking the 

examination the number of times allowed by the Federation as 

indicated on the Federation's website (www.fsbpt.org). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.97; 90-270.100; 

Emergency Regulation Eff. July 23, 1979, for a period of 120 days 

to expire on November 20, 1979; 

Made Permanent Eff. November 20, 1979; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; February 1, 1996; November 1, 

1993; August 1, 1988; May 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018. 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 48D .0111 APPLICANTS WITH SPECIAL 

NEEDS 

Examination candidates who need special accommodations for 

the examination as a result of a medical or physical dysfunction 

disability shall file an Accommodation Request Form and 

supporting documentation with the executive director Executive 

Director at least 60 days before the examination date in order for 

the request to be considered by the Board. If the Federation grants 

exam eligibility, the accommodation request shall be made 

pursuant to Federation testing accommodation policy, which may 

be found at www.fsbpt.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; P.L. 101-336; 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018. 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48E - APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

SECTION .0100 - REQUIREMENTS 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0101 FILING APPLICATION AND 

BOARD DETERMINATION OF EXAM ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  An applicant for licensure shall ensure that his or her 

credentials are filed with the executive director Executive 

Director in accordance with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  To be considered for a desired examination date, Applicants 

pursuant to G.S. 90-270.97 the applicant shall submit all 

application requirements to the executive director Executive 

Director at least 30 days prior to the examination. 

(c)  The Board shall not approve an application until the applicant 

has graduated as defined by 21 NCAC 48A .0105(6). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.98(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1988; December 30, 1985; October 28, 

1979; 

Recodified Paragraph (c) to 21 NCAC 48C .0501 Eff. January 25, 

1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 

2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020. 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2020 

870 

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission September 17, 2020 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Garth Dunklin 
W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Randy Overton 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
Karlene Turrentine   984-236-1948 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

November 19, 2020 December 17, 2020 
  January 21, 2021  February 18, 2021 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
September 17, 2020 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, September 17, 2020 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting to ensure compliance with 
Executive Orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting was conducted in accordance 
with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.   
 
Commissioners Jeff Hyde and Tommy Tucker were present in the Commission Room, and Commissioners present via 
teleconference were Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, Randy 
Overton, and Paul Powell. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel Ashley Snyder and Amanda Reeder; and Julie Brincefield and Alex 
Burgos. Commission Counsel Amber Cronk May and Karlene Turrentine were present via WebEx. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:01 a.m. with Chairman Hyde presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the August 20, 2020 meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow-up matters for the State Board of Education Tabs F,G,H, and I. 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2020 

871 

FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Crime Victims Compensation Commission  
14B NCAC 09 .0303 and .0304 - The agency is addressing the objections from the June meeting. No action was required 
by the Commission. 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
14B NCAC 16 .1001, .1002, .1003, .1207, .1304, and .1404 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call 
vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and 
Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02D .0530 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
15A NCAC 02D .0403, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510, .0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515, 
.0516, .0517, .0519, .0521, .0524, .0527, .0528, .0529, .0531, .0532, .0533, .0534, .0535, .0536, .0537, .0538, .0539, .0541, 
.0542, .0543, .0544, and .0615 - The agency is addressing the technical change requests from the August meeting. No 
action was required by the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02D .0932, .0960, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, .1405, .1407, .1408, .1409, .1410, .1411, .1412, .1413, .1414, 
.1415, .1418, .1423, .1701, .1702, .1703, .1704, .1705, .1706, .1707, .1708, .1709, .1710, and .2615 - Upon the call of the 
Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, 
Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
15A NCAC 02D .0901, .0902, .0903, .0906, .0909, .0912, .0918, .0919, .0922, .0923, .0924, .0925, .0926, .0927, .0928, 
.0930, .0931, .0933, .0935, .0937, .0943, .0944, .0945, .0947, .0948, .0949, .0951, .0952, .0955, .0956, .0957, .0958, .0959, 
.0961, .0962, .0963, .0964, .0965, .0966, .0967, and .0968 - The agency is addressing the technical change requests from 
the August meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission  
15A NCAC 13B .0531, .0532, .0533, .0534, .0535, .0536, .0537, .0538, .0539, .0540, .0541,.0542, .0543, .0544, .0545, 
.0547, .1601, .1602, .1603, .1604, .1617, .1618, .1619, .1620, .1621, .1622, .1623, .1624, .1625, .1626, .1627, .1629, .1630, 
.1631, .1632, .1633, .1634, .1635, .1636, .1637, and .1680 - The agency is addressing the technical change requests from 
the August meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06B .0111 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.  
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06B .0112, .0113, and .0114 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 
0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting 
in the negative: None. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06B .0112 for ambiguity. This Rule requires LEAs to purchase school buses “that 
meet the safety specifications listed in the request for bids for the statewide term contracts.” It is unclear to what the safety 
requirements are since they are not specified in the rule.   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06B .0113 for lack of statutory authority, clarity, and necessity. Licensure 
requirements for activity bus drivers are set in G.S. 20-218(a), making this Rule unnecessary.   
 
Activity bus licensure requirements are explicitly governed by G.S. 20-218(a) under the authority of the DMV. The statutes 
provided in the history note allow the State Board of Education to regulate school buses and school bus drivers but make 
no mention of authority over activity buses. Activity buses are specifically referred to in other Education statutes. E.g. G.S. 
115C-247; 115C-248; 115C-255. In DMV’s statutes, “school bus” and “school activity bus” are separate defined terms. No 
authority was provided for the State Board of Education to set licensure requirements for activity bus drivers.  
 
The Commission also objected for lack of clarity because the term “school related activity” in Paragraphs (b) and (c) is not 
defined. 
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Additionally, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06B .0114 for lack of clarity and necessity. If the “vehicle inspection 
training and certification requirements” are “mandated by the Department of Public Instruction” and not the State Board of 
Education, it is unclear why this Rule is necessary. Further, it is unclear what the “vehicle inspection training and certification 
requirements” are or where those requirements can be found. It seems the standards are set by DPI, but it is further unclear 
whether that authority has been delegated by the State Board. The agency did not respond to follow-up technical change 
requests for this Rule to provide clarity in advance of the Commission meeting. 
 
State Board of Education  
16 NCAC 06C .0334, .0335, .0336, .0337, .0338, .0339, .0340, .0341, .0342, .0344, .0345, .0346, .0349, .0350, .0351., 
.0352, .0353, .0354, .0357, .0358, .0359, .0360, .0361, .0362, .0363, .0364, .0365, .0366, .0367, .0369, .0370, .0371. .0372, 
.0373, .0374, .0375, .0376, .0378, .0379, .0380, .0381, .0382, .0383, .0384, .0385, .0386, .0387, .0388, .0389, .0390, .0391, 
.0392, .0393, .0394, .0395, .0396, and .0397 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, 
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. 
Voting in the negative: None. 
 
16 NCAC 06C .0343, .0347, .0348, .0355, .0356, .0368, .0377, and .0701 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No 
action was required by the Commission. 
 
State Board of Education  
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Education 06G, Chairman Hyde recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning these Rules because he is a member of two North Carolina Charter School 
Boards and the rules pertain to charters. 
 
The Commission considered Subchapters 06D, 06E, and 06G separately.   
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0211, .0212, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, and .0311 
by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, 
Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
16 NCAC 06D .0313 was withdrawn at the request of the agency.  No action was required by the Commission. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0211 for failure to comply with the APA, ambiguity, and lack of necessity. The 
rule refers to an “Invitation to Submit Textbooks for Evaluation and Adoption in North Carolina.” In Item (1), the rule states 
the Invitation provides “the required procedures for submission, evaluation, and adoption of textbooks and a schedule for 
the process.” The Invitation also includes the “criteria used to evaluate textbooks presented for adoption for their conformity 
to the North Carolina Standard Course of Study.”  These contents meet the definition of a “rule” in G.S. 150B-2(8a).  
Referring to the Invitation rather than stating its contents in rule circumvents the permanent rulemaking process set forth in 
G.S. 150B-21.2. As written, this allows the agency to amend the Invitation outside the rulemaking process, changing the 
substance of this Rule without public notice, comment, or RRC review. Failure to provide these procedural requirements in 
rule also makes the process for submitting and evaluating textbooks unclear. Therefore, the Commission objected for failure 
to comply with the APA and ambiguity. 
 
The Commission also objected to Item (2) for lack of necessity. Item (2) directs the General Counsel of the State Board to 
“review and approve” the Invitation. This statement concerns only the internal management of the agency and is therefore 
unnecessary. G.S. 150B-2(8a)(a).  
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0212 for failure to comply with the APA, ambiguity, and lack of necessity. The 
rule refers to an “Invitation to Submit Textbooks for Evaluation and Adoption in North Carolina.” In Paragraph (b) the rule 
states “Publishers are required to follow the procedures set forth in the invitation. Failure to comply with all procedure, 
including stated deadlines, may result in disqualification.” Subparagraph (d)(3) states the Invitation includes the “procedure 
for reconsideration.” These procedures meet the definition of a “rule” in G.S. 150B-2(8a). Referring to the Invitation rather 
than stating its contents in rule circumvents the permanent rulemaking process set forth in G.S. 150B-21.2. As written, this 
allows the agency to amend the Invitation outside the rulemaking process, changing the substance of this Rule without 
public notice, comment, or RRC review.  Failure to provide these procedural requirements in rule also makes the process 
for submitting and evaluating textbooks unclear. Therefore, the Commission objected for failure to comply with the APA and 
ambiguity. 
Additionally, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0212(a) for lack of necessity because it repeats the requirements 
of G.S. 115C-94.   
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The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0307 for lack of necessity, clarity, and statutory authority.  The Rule is 
unnecessary because it repeats portions of 16 NCAC 06D .0302, an existing permanent rule. 
 
The Commission objected to Paragraph (f) for lack of statutory authority. The proposed rule requires LEAs to report scores 
on districtwide and statewide standardized tests “within thirty (30) days from generation of the score at the LEA level or 
receipt of the score and interpretive documentation from the NCDPI.”  However, G.S. 115C-174.15 requires scores for local 
tests be provided within 30 days of administration.   
  
16 NCAC 06D .0307 also contained unclear or undefined terms including “secure tests,” “improper administration,” and 
other unclear terms as set forth in the requests for technical changes.  As a result, the Commission objected for lack of 
clarity. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0308 for lack of necessity and clarity.  The proposed rule is unnecessary 
because it repeats 16 NCAC 06D .0303, an existing permanent rule. The rule is also unclear due to ambiguous or undefined 
terms including “accountability measures,” “North Carolina Testing Program,” “proper,” and “appropriate.” 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0309 for lack of necessity, clarity, and statutory authority.  The proposed rule 
is unnecessary and unclear because it repeats or conflicts with 16 NCAC 06D .0305, an existing permanent rule.  The 
Commission further objected for lack of clarity due to unclear terms including “eligible students,” “alternative assessments,” 
“Occupational Course of Study,” “immediately,” and other unclear or undefined terms as detailed in the requests for technical 
changes. 
 
Additionally, the Commission objected for lack of statutory authority to Paragraphs (d), (j), and (k).  The agency did not 
provide, and Commission staff was not able to locate statutory authority for these Paragraphs.   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0310 for lack of clarity. As written, it is unclear what purposes are “approved 
by the Division of Accountability Services and the State Board of Education” for use of State tests.  
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0311 for lack of necessity, clarity, and compliance with the APA.  The proposed 
rule is unnecessary because it repeats portions of 16 NCAC 06D .0306, an existing permanent rule.   
 
Additionally, the Commission objected to Paragraph (k) for lack of clarity and failure to comply with the APA. The rule requires 
teachers to provide instruction that “meets or exceeds the state-adopted curriculum standards.”  The curriculum standards 
appear to be part of the “Standard Course of Study governed by G.S. 115C-81.5. The Commission is not aware of any 
authority for the Board to adopt curriculum standards outside the rulemaking process. Without the curriculum standards set 
in rule, the agency can amend the standards outside the rulemaking process, changing the substance of this Rule without 
public notice, comment, or RRC review.  Failure to provide these requirements in rule also makes the requirement for 
teachers to “provide instruction that meets or exceeds the state-adopted curriculum standards” unclear as written. Therefore, 
the Commission objected to (k) for failure to comply with the APA and lack of clarity. 
 
The Commission further objected to 16 NCAC 06D .0311 for lack of clarity because it is unclear under what circumstances 
the rule applies.  This Rule sets forth a “testing code of ethics,” but it is unclear whether the requirements of this Rule apply 
to all standardized tests, final exams, EOCs, or all tests.  This Rule also contains unclear terms including “secure,” 
“immediately,” “proper,” “eligible students,” “fairly,” and other unclear or undefined terms as detailed in the requests for 
technical changes. 
 
Apart from submission of a revised rule for 16 NCAC 06D .0310, the agency did not respond to technical change requests 
to clarify terms or questions of statutory authority in advance of the Commission meeting. 
 
16 NCAC 06E .0204 and .0206 – The Commission objected to these Rules in August. The agency is in the process of 
repealing repetitive or conflicting existing permanent rules.  No action was required of the Commission.   
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06E .0107 by roll-call vote, ayes   9, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None.   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06E .0107 for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.  In Paragraph (a), the 
rule requires the information listed in this Rule to be reported “in conformity with the State’s Uniform Education Reporting 
System (UERS).” The Commission is not aware of and the agency has not provided any authority exempting the UERS 
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from the rulemaking process.  Referring to requirements outside of rule circumvents the permanent rulemaking process set 
forth in G.S. 150B-21.2. As written, this Rule would allow the agency to update the UERS outside the rulemaking process, 
changing the substance of this Rule without public notice, comment, or review by the Rules Review Commission. The 
reporting requirements are also unclear since those requirements are not set in rule.  Therefore, the Commission objected 
for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.   
 
The Commission also objected on clarity grounds because the rule requires LEAs to report crimes and offenses identified 
by statute to the State Board of Education, but the statutes listed in (a)(4), (a)(5), and the first statute in (a)(6) have been 
recodified.  Additionally, (a)(21) lists G.S. 14-50.16, but that statute was repealed in 2017.  As a result, the reporting 
requirements tied to these statutes are unclear as written.   
 
Paragraph (b) is also unclear since it states “failure to follow reporting requirements under this provision may justify 
disciplinary action. . . .”  As written, it is unclear when a failure to report will “justify disciplinary action.” 
 
The agency did not respond to technical change requests to clarify terms or statutory references in advance of the 
Commission meeting. 
 
First Vice-Chair Doran presided over the discussion and vote on the State Board of Education rules in Subchapter 06G. 
 
Upon call of the First Vice Chair, 16 NCAC 06G .0504, .0510, .0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515, .0516, .0523, and .0524 
were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Dunklin, 
Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Upon call of the First Vice-Chair, 16 NCAC 06G .0314, .0315, .0316, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0514, .0517, 
.0518, .0519, .0520, .0521, and .0522 were objected to by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 8. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0314 for lack of statutory authority and clarity.  Based on the text of Paragraph 
(c), alternative schools are allowed to select an accountability model from the list in (c)(1)-(3).  Subparagraph (c)(1) says, 
“Alternative schools can participate in School Performance Grades as defined by G.S. 115C-83.15…”  (emphasis added).  
Subparagraphs (c)(2) and (c)(3) then provide alternative options to the “School Performance Grades” model in G.S. 115C-
83.15.  However, 115C-12(24) requires the State Board to evaluate alternative learning programs “through the application 
of the accountability system developed under G.S. 115C-83.15 and G.S. 115C-105.35.”  The State Board is granted authority 
to modify the system in G.S. 115C-83.15, but the Commission has not found authority for the agency to provide different 
accountability models.  Therefore, the Commission objected for lack of statutory authority. 
 
Subparagraph (c)(3) allows an alternative school to propose its own accountability model subject to approval by the State 
Board of Education.  The rule does not specify under what circumstances the alternative model may be approved or what 
factors the State Board will consider when evaluating the alternative model.  Paragraph (d) is also unclear because it uses 
undefined terms including “significantly,” “appropriate,” and “eligible students.”  Therefore, the Commission objected for lack 
of clarity.   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0315 for lack of clarity because it is unclear whether this Rule applies to charter 
schools, alternative schools, or all public schools.  The Rule is also unclear due to undefined terms including “eligible 
students,” “state assessment program,” “appropriate,” “alternative assessment,” and other undefined terms as listed in the 
requests for technical changes.   
 
The agency did not respond to technical change requests for 16 NCAC 06G .0315 to clarity terms in advance of the 
Commission meeting. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0316 for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.  Item (3) refers to 
“procedures stated in SBE Policy ADVS-002 (Appointments to Advisory Committees to the State Board of Education).” 
Referring to Board policy circumvents the permanent rulemaking process set forth in G.S. 150B-21.2. As written, this Rule 
would allow the agency to update the policy outside the rulemaking process, changing the substance of this Rule without 
public notice, comment, or review by the Rules Review Commission.  Since the contents of this policy are not in rule, 
requiring compliance with procedures in the policy makes the requirements of this rule unclear.  Therefore, the Commission 
objected for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity. 
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The Commission also objected on grounds of ambiguity because it is unclear under what circumstances the agency will 
deem other issues “appropriate” for discussion in (1)(f) and which “field tests(s)/special studies” are being referenced in 
Item (2).    
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0503 for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.  The Rule requires 
“eligible students” take State-required assessments mandated by law or “State Board of Education policy.”  Requiring 
assessments in policy instead of rule circumvents the permanent rulemaking process set forth in G.S. 150B-21.2.  As written, 
this allows the agency to amend the policy outside the rulemaking process, changing the substance of this Rule without 
public notice, comment, or RRC review.  Failure to either list the required assessments in this Rule or cross-reference 
another rule listing the required assessments makes it unclear which assessments are mandated by the State Board of 
Education.   
 
The Commission also objected for ambiguity because the rule does not define “eligible student,” making it unclear who is 
required to take these assessments.  It is further unclear which “accountability measures” charter schools are required to 
follow as part of the “Every Student Succeeds Act Consolidated State Plan.”  It is possible these are federal requirements 
that could be incorporated by reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.6, but since the agency has failed to do so here, 
the rule is ambiguous as written.   
  
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0505 for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.  The rule provides that 
charter schools shall be placed on financial noncompliance status if a financial condition in (b)(1)-(6) occurs.  Subparagraph 
(b)(1) refers to the “Uniform Education Reporting System (UERS)” which appears to set data reporting requirements.  The 
Commission has not found an exemption from the APA for the UERS.  Referring to requirements outside of rule circumvents 
the permanent rulemaking process set forth in G.S. 150B-21.2. As written, this Rule would allow the agency to update the 
UERS outside the rulemaking process, changing the substance of this Rule without public notice, comment, or review by 
the Rules Review Commission. The reporting requirements for charter schools are also unclear since those requirements 
are not set in rule.  As a result, the Commission objected for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.   
 
The Commission also objected for ambiguity.  Paragraph (c) states, “funds may be frozen…until the exception is corrected.”  
The rule does not clarify under what circumstances funds may or may not be frozen.  The rule also does not specify how 
the agency determines which level of financial noncompliance in Paragraph (e) to assign a charter school.  Additionally, the 
rule contains undefined terms including “financial insolvency or weakness” in (b)(3) and “immediately” in (c), (e)(3)(A), and 
(f).   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0506 for ambiguity and failure to comply with the APA.  In Paragraph (a), the 
rule provides that charter schools “may” be placed on governance noncompliance status if a condition in (a)(1)-(3) occurs.  
The rule does not clarify under what circumstances a condition in the list results in noncompliance status nor does it specify 
how the agency determines which level of noncompliance status in Paragraph (b) to assign a charter school.   
 
Part (a)(3)(B) requires compliance with “Health and Safety Standards” and “State Board of Education Policy.”  Referring to 
requirements established outside of rule circumvents the permanent rulemaking process set forth in G.S. 150B-21.2. As 
written, this Rule would allow the agency to update policies outside the rulemaking process, changing the substance of this 
Rule without public notice, comment, or review by the Rules Review Commission. These requirements are also unclear 
since those requirements are not set in rule.  Therefore, the Commission objected to Part (a)(3)(B) for failure to comply with 
the APA and ambiguity.   
 
Additionally, the Commission objected to the inclusion of several undefined terms or requirements including “failure to have 
a functioning board” in (a)(1); “regular meetings” in (a)(1); “inability to show progress” in (a)(2); and “immediately” in (b)(3), 
making the rule ambiguous. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0507 for lack of clarity.  The rule governs the charter school renewal process, 
and the review is based upon “whether the charter is meeting expected academic, financial, and governance standards.”  
The agency’s responses in technical change requests indicate information not included in (b) is considered when reviewing 
a charter school renewal.  Therefore, it is unclear what information is considered by the State Board when reviewing a 
renewal request.   
 
Additionally, the academic standards referenced in 16 NCAC 06G .0507 are unclear.  The financial standards are identified 
in Rule .0505 of this Section and the governance standards are identified in Rule .0506 of this Section.  Based on technical 
change responses, the academic standards are set as part of the original charter application in G.S. 115C-218.1(b)(2).  
However, that that is not clear in the rule as submitted.  Therefore, the Commission objected for lack of clarity. 
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The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0508 for failure to comply with the APA and numerous instances of ambiguity 
that make the rule as a whole difficult to understand. 
 
The Commission objected to Subparagraph (a)(1) for referring to a fee established outside the rulemaking process.  The 
definition of a “rule” in 150B-2(8a) specifically includes the establishment of a fee, meaning setting the dollar amount in the 
rule.  Additionally, 115C-218.1(c) requires the State Board to adopt the application fee “in accordance with Article 2A of 
Chapter 150B.”  Since the fee amount is established outside of rule, the Commission objected to Subparagraph (a)(1) for 
failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity since the amount of the fee is unknown.    
 
The Commission also objected to Paragraph (a) for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity. Subparagraph (a)(1) 
states, “Prior to each application round, the State Board of Education shall approve the application process, timeline, and 
non-refundable fee.”  Establishing the application and timeline outside of rule circumvents the permanent rulemaking 
process set forth in G.S. 150B-21.2. As written, this Rule would allow the agency to change the application process and 
timeline before each application round, changing the substance of this Rule without public notice, comment, or review by 
the Rules Review Commission.  Subparagraphs (a)(2)-(4) refer back to the timeline and “application instructions” 
established outside the rulemaking process in (a)(1).  Since the application process and timeline are established outside of 
rule, the requirements in Paragraph (a) are unclear and the Commission objected for failure to comply with the APA and 
ambiguity. 
 
Parts (b)(1)(C) and (D) set application requirements that are ambiguous.  It is unclear how applications are evaluated or 
what factors may be considered to determine whether an application “contains viable governance, business, and education 
plans.”  It is also unclear what “other requirements” are required by the agency.  Therefore, the Commission objected to 
Parts (b)(1)(C) and (D) for ambiguity. 
 
Additionally, the Commission objected to Paragraph (c) for ambiguity for use of the following terms or phrases, which are 
undefined or unclear as written: “capability to provide comprehensive learning experiences” in (c)(2); “promotes innovation” 
in (c)(3)(B); “large,” “diverse” and “locally-based” in (c)(3)(D); “accurately” in (c)(3)(F); and “diverse learning environment” in 
(c)(3)(I).  It is further unclear how Paragraph (c) interacts with G.S. 115C-218.5, which governs the State Board’s final 
approval of applications for charter schools.  Therefore, the Commission objected to Paragraph (c) for ambiguity.   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0509 for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.  In (a), the rule requires 
completion of “all of the planning program requirements.”  Incorporating or referring to requirements established outside the 
rulemaking process set forth in G.S. 150B-21.2 would allow the agency to change the requirements of the planning year 
outside the rulemaking process, changing the substance of this Rule without public notice, comment, or review by the Rules 
Review Commission.  Additionally, Paragraph (a) requires a meeting about “policies and procedures.”  It is unclear which 
policies and procedures the rule is referring to and whether these policies fall within the definition of a “rule.”  Therefore, the 
Commission objected to Paragraph (a) for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity. 
 
The Commission also objected for lack of clarity due to undefined terms or phrases including: “clear and compelling need” 
in (b)(1); “exceptional need” in (b)(2); “unique mission” in (c)(1); “successful” in (b)(4); “obstacles to educational reform 
efforts” in (c)(5); “successful charter school board” in (c)(6); and “application due date” in (d). 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0514 for lack of clarity.  It is unclear under what circumstances the State Board 
of Education “may impose reasonable additional requirements” during review, application, and approval process of fast 
track replication of high-quality charters.  It is also unclear what the additional requirements may be or how the State Board 
will determine what to require.   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0517-.0522 for lack of statutory authority.  Rules .0517-.0522 of this Section 
govern “alternative charter schools.”  Alternative schools and charter schools are different types of public schools.  
Alternative schools are governed by G.S. 115C, Article 8C and Charter schools are governed by G.S. 115C, Article 14A.  
Alternative schools primarily serve at-risk students.  It is unclear whether the Board has authority to regulate a school as 
both an alternative school and a charter school.  Charter schools can emphasize serving at-risk students as provided in 
G.S. 115C-218(a)(2).  It is unclear what statutory authority the agency has to regulate a charter school targeted toward at-
risk students as both a charter school and an alternative school.   
Statutes governing alternative schools refer to “local school administrative units.” Charter schools are generally exempt 
from statutes governing local school administrative units pursuant to G.S. 115C-218.10.  Therefore, the Commission could 
not confirm statutory authority exists for Rules .0517-.0522 of this Section. 
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The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0517 for lack of necessity and clarity.  The rule begins, “Unless otherwise 
prohibited by federal or state law…,” without referencing any federal laws or regulations in the body of the Rule or the history 
note.  Therefore, the Commission is unsure which federal laws may apply and objects for lack of clarity. 
 
The rule also states “The purpose of the following rules is to establish the criteria for eligibility and the procedures for 
applying for this designation [as an alternative school].”  The criteria for eligibility and application requirements are included 
in Rules 16 NCAC 06G .0518 and .0519.  This amounts to a general purpose statement and does not meet the definition of 
a “rule” in G.S. 150B-2(8a).  Therefore, the Commission objected for lack of necessity.   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06G .0519 for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity.  Subparagraph (a)(2) 
refers to accountability options in the “Department of Public Instruction’s School Based Management and Accountability 
Program under 115C-105.20.” Referring to the “Management and Accountability Program” rather than stating the 
accountability options in rule circumvents the permanent rulemaking process set forth in G.S. 150B-21.2.  As written, this 
allows the agency to amend the Program outside the rulemaking process, changing the substance of this Rule without 
public notice, comment, or RRC review.  Failure to provide the options in rule also make the meaning of this Rule unclear.  
Therefore, the Commission objected for failure to comply with the APA and ambiguity. 
 
The Commission also objected to Paragraph (b) for ambiguity for use of the undefined term “well-defined.” 
 
Tom Ziko, General Counsel with the agency, addressed the Commission.   
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Education 06G, Chairman Hyde recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning these Rules because he is a member of two North Carolina Charter School 
Boards and the rules pertain to charters. 
 
Chairman Hyde resumed presiding over the meeting. 
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06H .0114 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06H .0113, .0115, .0116, and .0117; 06K .0101, .0103, 
.0104, and .0105 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, 
Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06H .0113 for lack of statutory authority, clarity, and necessity, as well as failure to 
comply with the APA. Specifically, in Subparagraph (a), the rule states that the meals shall be “consistent with the current 
edition of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, Federal Regulations as approved for North Carolina and State Board of 
Education Policy on Nutrition Standards for School Meals.” The rule does not provide any additional information on the 
Dietary Guidelines, including how those guidelines are created, who created it, and where it can be found.  The rule further 
does not address what federal regulations will apply, and it does not address who will approve them. Thus, this is unclear 
as written.   
 
Additionally, in Subparagraph (a)(1), the agency refers to the “State Board Education Policy on Nutrition Standards for 
School Meals.” The Commission found that the agency cannot refer in rule to a policy that it created without violating the 
APA, as the policy can change without going through notice and comment, and the effect of the rule would change. Further, 
policies are not rules, as set forth in G.S. 150B-2(7a). Thus, as written, the rule violates the APA. In (b)(7), the rule refers to 
allowing foods found in the “Food Buying Guide for Child Nutrition Programs” with no additional information of what this is 
or who created it. The Commission found this standard to be ambiguous as written. 
  
In (c)(1), the rule refers to meeting “meal pattern requirements specified by the US Department of Agriculture” but does not 
include what those requirements are, nor where they can be located. The Commission found this language to be ambiguous 
as written.  Paragraph (d) of the rule states that the nutrition standards (presumably, meaning this Rule) must be 
implemented for all elementary schools no later than the first day of the 2008 school year. However, G.S. 115C-264.3 
required achievement by the end of the 2009-2010 school year. The Commission found that the agency does not have 
authority of to set an earlier effective date than that required by statute.  Further, as the deadline in this Paragraph passed 
12 years ago, the Commission found that this language was also unnecessary.   
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In Paragraph (e), the rule says that the staff of DPI will review the nutrition standards and, “modify the standards as needed 
based on several criteria, including, but not limited to, current science, best practices in the food and beverage industry, and 
the availability and affordability of new foods and beverages.” The rule does not address what constitutes “current science” 
nor “best practices in the food and beverage industry.” Further, there is no indication on what the phrase “availability and 
affordability” mean in this Rule. Therefore, the Commission found that this language was ambiguous as written.  
 
In Paragraph (h), the rule states that students with special nutritional needs “shall be exempt from the standards.” The 
Commission found it was unclear whether the intent of this Rule was to govern programs or individual students.  
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06H .0115 for ambiguity. The Commission found that the Rule included several 
ambiguous terms, such as “official policy manual” in Paragraph (a), “understandable and uniform format” in Subparagraph 
(a)(7), and “brief” in Part (a)(7)(A). The agency did not respond to technical change requests to clarify these terms in advance 
of the Commission meeting. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06H .0116 for ambiguity.  The Commission found that the rule included several 
ambiguous terms, such as “other supporting documents” in Paragraph (c) and “understandable and uniform format” in 
Subparagraph (e)(3). The agency did not respond to technical change requests to clarify these terms in advance of the 
Commission meeting. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06H .0117 for ambiguity and failure to comply with the APA.  Specifically, the rule 
states that the Department shall reclaim or withhold funds for failure to comply with “state policies” until compliance occurs. 
The Commission found that the rule does not say what policies it is referring to and is therefore ambiguous as written. 
Further, the Commission found that even if the rule did name those policies, pursuant to the APA, policies cannot be used 
in a rule to control actions taken by the agency. Therefore, as written, the rule violates the APA. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06K .0101 for ambiguity. Specifically, the Commission found the term “Education 
Services for Deaf and Blind Schools” was unclear, and that the agency did not seem to be setting any standards within the 
rule. The agency did not respond to technical change requests to clarify the term in advance of the Commission meeting. 
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06K .0103 for lack of clarity and statutory authority.  Specifically, the Commission 
found that the terms “Education Services for the Deaf and Blind,” “NC Standard Course of Study,” “Extended Course 
Standards,” and “Occupational Course of Study” unclear as written. Additionally, the rule provides that these courses will be 
used for subjects “when a standard is provided” but does not state when this will occur nor who will provide them.  Therefore, 
the rule is ambiguous as written. 
 
Further, the Commission found that G.S. 115C-85 requires the agency to adopt a standard course of study.  The agency did 
not provide any authority for that adoption to be done outside of rulemaking.  The Commission found that the agency lacked 
statutory authority to do so.  
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06K .0104 for lack of statutory authority, clarity, and necessity.  Specifically, the 
Commission found the following terms within the Rule to be ambiguous as written:  “Education Services for the Deaf and 
Blind,” “Standard Course of Study,” “Occupational Course of Study,” and “Extended Content Standards.” The Rule does not 
state what these standards entail.  Further, the Commission found that the agency provided no authority to establish these 
standards outside of rulemaking.  
 
Paragraph (a) of the rule refers to being consistent with “federal regulations” but does not state which regulations it is 
referring to.  The Commission found this language was ambiguous as written. 
 
Further, the Commission found that the rule contains statements that are not regulating any matters, but appear to be asides 
or suggestions, such as in Paragraph (b), “It is important that the school representative has authority…” ; in Paragraph (d), 
“(Schools should consider…)”; and in Paragraph (f), “[T]he EDSB school representative should take a copy ”.  As written, 
these phrases do not convey a mandate and therefore are not, “reasonably necessary to implement or interpret an act of 
the General Assembly” as required by G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(3).   
 
The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06K .0105 lack of clarity and statutory authority.  Specifically, the Commission found 
the terms “unauthorized weapon” in Paragraph (a) to be unclear.  Further, the rule defines “weapon” in Paragraph (b) to 
include a “BB gun, stun gun, air rifle, and air pistol.”  However, G.S. 14-269.2, which is cited to by the agency in the rule, 
states that these are exempt from the definition of the term.  The agency did not provide any authority to change the statutory 
definition, and the Commission found that the agency is without authority to do so.   
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In addition, in Part (c)(2)(B), the rule creates an exception for those individuals allowed to carry weapons on the premises.  
That list partially captures the list of exemptions in G.S. 14-269.2(g), but does not include all of those individuals. The agency 
did not provide any authority to change the statutory exemptions, and the Commission found that the agency is without 
authority to do so.  
 
The agency did not respond to technical change requests to clarify these terms and questions of statutory authority in 
advance of the Commission meeting.   
 
Danice Henderson with Kinetic Minds, LLC, addressed the Commission. 
 
Eskabonna Henderson with Kinetic Minds, LLC, addressed the Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Radiation Protection Commission  
10A NCAC 15 .1418 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Commission for Public Health 10A  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Coastal Resources Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Commission for Public Health 15A  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Board of Barber Examiners   
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Barber Examiners, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal advice on numerous issues 
to the Board. 
 
Board of Examiners of Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board    
Upon the call of the Chair, all rules except  21 NCAC 68 .0216, .0227, .0228, and .0708 were approved by roll-call vote, 
ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker 
– 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 68 .0216 for lack of statutory authority.  Paragraph (f) automatically subjects 
applicants to “sanctions” based on their criminal history. Depending on the crimes at issue, the rule requires applicants to 
wait a set number of years since the applicant has completed his or her sentence to be eligible for licensure.  
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G.S. 93B-8.1(b) prohibits occupational licensing boards from automatically denying licensure to an applicant based upon 
the applicant’s criminal history. Instead, G.S. 93B-8.1(b1) requires occupational licensing boards to consider a list of factors 
prior to denying licensure.  Additionally, the Board is required to make written findings and provide a copy of those findings 
to the applicant in order to deny an applicant licensure on the basis of his or her criminal history. Therefore, the Commission 
objected to the rule for lack of statutory authority. 
 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 68 .0227 and .0228 for lack of statutory authority. Specifically, in .0227(a)(2) and 
.0228(a)(2), the Board states that applicants based on military service or status as a military spouse shall submit an 
application fee. Both rules list G.S. 93B-15.1 in their history notes.  That statute was amended in 2017 to specifically forbid 
a licensing board from charging an application fee.  Therefore, the requirement for these applicants to pay an application 
fee is beyond the statutory authority of the Board.   
 
The Commission also objected to 21 NCAC 68 .0708 for lack statutory authority and necessity.  Interventions in Article 3A 
hearings are already governed by G.S. 150B-38(f) and Rule 24 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, making the 
contents of this Rule unnecessary. The rule also lacks statutory authority because the additional criteria added by the Board 
for permissive interventions in (b) are not contained in Rule 24. The agency has not provided authority to alter the 
requirements set in Rule 24.    
 
Building Code Council 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Department of Commerce/Division of Employment Security  
04 NCAC 24G .0104 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 1 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: Tucker - 1.   
 
Regina Adams, with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
15A NCAC 10D .0103 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None.   
 
Board of Physical Therapy Examiners  
21 NCAC 48D .0107, .0109, .0111; and 48E .0101 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, 
ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Powell, and Tucker 
– 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
21 NCAC 48B .0103 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Commission’s Bylaws require that elections be held at the September meeting. The Commission waived its bylaws to 
allow the nomination of all candidates in one motion.   
 
The following members were elected as officers: 
 
Jeanette Doran was elected Chair. 
 
Anna Choi was elected 1st Vice-Chair. 
 
Andrew Atkins was elected 2nd Vice-Chair. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 11:07 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, October 15, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. 
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Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeff Hyde, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting September 17, 2020 
Held Via WebEx 

 

FirstName   LastName   Title   Company   

Catherine Rosfjord       

Mikel mahalay Mikel mahalay MD sdigbvib 

Jessica Montie    NC DEQ DWM 

Terry Chappell       

Kirsten Goshorn    law office 

Lee Cox Chief    

Nadine Pfeiffer Rulemaking Coordinator DHHS-DHSR 

shane smith Branch Head NC DHHS 

Walker Reagan Rulemaking Coordinator NC ABC Commission 

dave machado Director Office of Charter Schools 

Dennis Seavers Executive Director Board of Barber Examiners 

Daniel Krchnavek       

Jessica Bullock       

Charminique Williams                       Rulemaking Coordinator                                DOI 

Alice Isley    State of NC, DHHS 

Robert Cooke Dr NCFBPPC Board of Examiners 

Kirby Consier       

Scott Shone    NCSLPH 

Kirsten Leloudis   Policy and Legal Specialist  DHHS 

Christine Ryan   General Counsel  DSHR 

Carrie Pickett   Rule Development Branch Engineer  DENR 

Paris Penny   Rulemaking Coordinator                                    DHHS 

John Barkley       

Larry Michael    NC DOJ919 

Virginia Niehaus                     Rulemaking Coordinator                                   DSHR  

Thomas Tomberlin     

Carl Martin Rulemaking Coordinator   DOI/Fire Marshall 

Deanna Townsend-Smith     

Burt Jenkins Chief Code Consultant    

Thomas Ziko Director of Board Operations and Policy DPI  

Bradley Howard    

Carmella Fair Interim General Counsel State Board of Education 

LaTricia Townsend Chief, Wildlife Management DIvision    

Kathy Arney                          Rulemaking Coordinator   NCP Board 

Claire Porter   

Sherry Thomas       

Les Spell    NCBPTE 

Tammy Howard    Office of Charter Schools 

Andrew Sioberg Director, EC Division    

Ashley Baquero    Department of Public Instruction 

Danice Henderson Program Director Kinetic Minds, Inc. 

Carrie Ruhlman  Rule-making Coordinator Wildlife Resources Commission 

Joelle Burleson Rule-making Coordinator DENR 
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Deborah Ragan Rule-making Coordinator NCP Board 

Kevin Harrison Rule-making Coordinator Wildlife Resources Commission 

Eskabonna Henderson Director Kinetic Minds, Inc. 

Kim Evans       

Jennifer Everett NC Board of PT Examiners Deputy Director NC Board of PT Examiners 

David Gadd Section Chief NC DPI 

Lou Martin Rule-making Coordinator Department of Public Instruction 

Regina Adams Rule-making Coordinator Division of Employment Security 

    

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

September 17, 2020 Meeting 

 

COMMERCE - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY, DIVISION OF 

Temporary COVID-19 Suitable Work Provisions 04 NCAC 24G .0104 

     

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Hunting on Game Lands 15A NCAC 10D .0103 

     

PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Persons Refused Examination Permission 21 NCAC 48D .0107 

Retaking Examination 21 NCAC 48D .0109 

Applicants With Special Needs 21 NCAC 48D .0111 

Filing Application 21 NCAC 48E .0101 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

September 17, 2020 Meeting 

 

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION 

Records: Reports and Operating Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1418 

     

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Newborn Screening 10A NCAC 42B .0102 

Fees 10A NCAC 42B .0108 

Submission Of Blood Specimens For Screening of Newborns 10A NCAC 43H .0314 

     

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice Officers 12 NCAC 09B .0101 

Responsibilities of the School Director 12 NCAC 09B .0202 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09B .0209 

Certification of Instructors 12 NCAC 09B .0301 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course 12 NCAC 09B .0410 

Notification of Criminal Charges/Convictions 12 NCAC 09G .0302 

Certification of Instructors 12 NCAC 09G .0307 

Corrections Instructor Training Course 12 NCAC 09G .0313 

Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09G .0414 
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PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1001 

Petition for Hearing/Application for Relief 14B NCAC 16 .1002 

Processing Applications 14B NCAC 16 .1003 

Credit for CE Courses 14B NCAC 16 .1207 

Investigation for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Regis... 14B NCAC 16 .1304 

Investigation/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Reg... 14B NCAC 16 .1404 

     

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Prevention of Significant Deterioration 15A NCAC 02D .0530 

Gasoline Truck Tanks and Vapor Collection Systems 15A NCAC 02D .0932 

Cargo Tank Leak Tester Report 15A NCAC 02D .0960 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1401 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .1402 

Compliance Schedules 15A NCAC 02D .1403 

Recordkeeping: Reporting: Monitoring 15A NCAC 02D .1404 

Circumvention 15A NCAC 02D .1405 

Boilers and Indirect-Fired Process Heaters 15A NCAC 02D .1407 

Stationary Combustion Turbines 15A NCAC 02D .1408 

Stationary Internal Combustion Engines 15A NCAC 02D .1409 

Emissions Averaging 15A NCAC 02D .1410 

Seasonal Fuel Switching 15A NCAC 02D .1411 

Petition for Alternative Limitations 15A NCAC 02D .1412 

Sources not Otherwise Listed in this Section 15A NCAC 02D .1413 

Tune-Up Requirement 15A NCAC 02D .1414 

Test Methods and Procedures 15A NCAC 02D .1415 

New Electric Generating Units, Boilers, Combustion Turbin... 15A NCAC 02D .1418 

Large Internal Combustion Engines 15A NCAC 02D .1423 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1701 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .1702 

Emission Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1703 

Test Methods and Procedures 15A NCAC 02D .1704 

Operational Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1705 

Compliance Provisions 15A NCAC 02D .1706 

Monitoring Provisions 15A NCAC 02D .1707 

Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1708 

Recordkeeping Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1709 

Compliance Schedule 15A NCAC 02D .1710 

Determination of Leak Tightness and Vapor Leaks 15A NCAC 02D .2615 

     

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Dog Training and Field Trials 15A NCAC 10B .0114 

Totally Disabled License Eligibility 15A NCAC 10G .0601 

Records 15A NCAC 10H .1003 

Wildlife Conservation Land 15A NCAC 10L .0101 

Protection of Species on the Protected Animal List 15A NCAC 10L .0102 
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Conservation of Priority Wildlife Habits 15A NCAC 10L .0103 

Wildlife Reserve 15A NCAC 10L .0104 

     

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .2508 

Water Recreation Attractions 15A NCAC 18A .2543 

     

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

School Bus Passengers 16 NCAC 06B .0111 

Definitions 16 NCAC 06C .0334 

NC Educator License for Area of Assignment 16 NCAC 06C .0335 

License Levels for a NC Educator License 16 NCAC 06C .0336 

Basic Entity Data to Apply for a NC Educator License 16 NCAC 06C .0337 

Licensure Transaction Checklist to Apply for a NC Educato... 16 NCAC 06C .0338 

Requirements to be Issued a Continuing Professional Licen... 16 NCAC 06C .0339 

Requirements to be Issued an Initial Professional License... 16 NCAC 06C .0340 

Requirements to be Issued a Residency License 16 NCAC 06C .0341 

Requirements to Add a Provisional Teaching Area to a Nort... 16 NCAC 06C .0342 

Requirements to be Issued a Provisional Student Services ... 16 NCAC 06C .0344 

Requirements to be Issued a Permit to Teach 16 NCAC 06C .0346 

Comparability for Out-of-State Licensure Exams 16 NCAC 06C .0349 

Duration of an Initial Professional License 16 NCAC 06C .0350 

Testing Requirements to Convert an Expired License 16 NCAC 06C .0351 

Testing Requirements to Convert a Lateral Entry License 16 NCAC 06C .0352 

Deadline for Licensure Testing Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0353 

Effectiveness Data Requirements to Qualify for a Continui... 16 NCAC 06C .0354 

Teaching Experience Requirements to be Issued a NC Educat... 16 NCAC 06C .0355 

Requirements to be Issued an International Faculty License 16 NCAC 06C .0357 

Restrictions to be Issued an Alternative License 16 NCAC 06C .0358 

Restrictions for an Emergency License 16 NCAC 06C .0359 

Application Eligibility to be Issued a Lifetime License 16 NCAC 06C .0360 

Requirements for an Educator to be Placed on a Mandatory ... 16 NCAC 06C .0361 

Renewal Credit Requirements to Renew a Continuing Profess... 16 NCAC 06C .0362 

Renewal Credit Requirements to Renew a Continuing Profess... 16 NCAC 06C .0363 

Experience/Degree Credit for Salary Purposes 16 NCAC 06C .0364 

Non-Teaching Work Experience Credit Requirements for Nort... 16 NCAC 06C .0365 

Experience Credit Requirements for Career and Technical E... 16 NCAC 06C .0366 

Experience Credit Requirements for Junior Reserve Officer... 16 NCAC 06C .0367 

Requirements for an Educator to be Granted Master's Degre... 16 NCAC 06C .0369 

Experience Credit Restrictions Enforced by the Appeals Panel 16 NCAC 06C .0370 

Licensure Fees for North Carolina Educators 16 NCAC 06C .0371 

Denying a License Application or Suspension or Revocation... 16 NCAC 06C .0372 

Reporting Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse by a Loc... 16 NCAC 06C .0373 

Investigation Requirements to Determine Reasonable Cause ... 16 NCAC 06C .0374 

Voluntary Surrender of an Educator License 16 NCAC 06C .0375 

Reinstatement or Issuance for an Educator with a Suspende... 16 NCAC 06C .0376 

Procedure for Seeking Exception from Licensure Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0378 
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One-Year Extension Process for Coursework Requirements to... 16 NCAC 06C .0379 

Decision of the State Board of Education for a Requested ... 16 NCAC 06C .0380 

Beginning Teacher Support Program Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0381 

Beginning Teacher Support Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0382 

Beginning Teacher Professional Development Plan 16 NCAC 06C .0383 

Mentor Program Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0384 

Standards that Determine Teacher Ratings 16 NCAC 06C .0385 

School Administrator Preparation Program Coursework Requi... 16 NCAC 06C .0386 

School Administrator Preparation Program Curriculum Requi... 16 NCAC 06C .0387 

School Administrator Preparation Program Internship Requi... 16 NCAC 06C .0388 

School Administrator Preparation Program Internship Site ... 16 NCAC 06C .0389 

School Administrators Preparation Program Requirements 16 NCAC 06C .0390 

Testing Exemptions for Admission into an Educator Prepara... 16 NCAC 06C .0391 

Testing Requirements for Admission into an Educator Prepa... 16 NCAC 06C .0392 

Mathematics Instructional Requirements for Educator Prepa... 16 NCAC 06C .0393 

Standards of Practice for Innovative or Experimental Prog... 16 NCAC 06C .0394 

Process for Filing a Complaint Against and Educator Prepa... 16 NCAC 06C .0395 

Restrictions on the Authority of the State Board of Educa... 16 NCAC 06C .0396 

Educator Preparation Program Coursework Requirements for ... 16 NCAC 06C .0397 

Charter Schools Student Admissions 16 NCAC 06G .0504 

Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0510 

Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0511 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0512 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0513 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 16 NCAC 06G .0515 

Virtual Charter Schools Attendance and Membership - Appli... 16 NCAC 06G .0516 

Management Organizations and Support Organizations 16 NCAC 06G .0523 

Charter Schools Process for Assumption of Inadequately Pe... 16 NCAC 06G .0524 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - Defini... 16 NCAC 06H .0114 

     

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Form Bar-1 21 NCAC 06N .0102 

Form Bar-3 21 NCAC 06N .0104 

Form Bar-4 21 NCAC 06N .0105 

Form Bar-5 21 NCAC 06N .0106 

Form Bar-6 21 NCAC 06N .0107 

Form Bar-8 21 NCAC 06N .0109 

Farm Bar-9 21 NCAC 06N .0110 

Form Bar-11 21 NCAC 06N .0112 

Form Bar-12 21 NCAC 06N .0113 

     

PASTORAL COUNSELORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF FEE-BASED PRACTICING 

Address 21 NCAC 45 .0101 

Review Procedure 21 NCAC 45 .0202 

Types 21 NCAC 45 .0301 

Certification Renewal Form 21 NCAC 45 .0401 

Reinstatement After Suspension 21 NCAC 45 .0403 
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Continuing Education Requirements 21 NCAC 45 .0501 

Equivalency 21 NCAC 45 .0601 

Issuance of Temporary Certificate 21 NCAC 45 .0701 

Approved Supervision 21 NCAC 45 .0801 

     

ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD 

Definitions 21 NCAC 68 .0101 

Board Address 21 NCAC 68 .0102 

Application for Registration 21 NCAC 68 .0201 

Registration Process for Board Credential 21 NCAC 68 .0202 

Supervised Practicum for Certified Alcohol and Drug Couns... 21 NCAC 68 .0204 

Reciprocity 21 NCAC 68 .0209 

Continuing Education Approval Policy 21 NCAC 68 .0213 

University Substance Abuse Specialty Curricula 21 NCAC 68 .0214 

Verification 21 NCAC 68 .0215 

Supervised Practicum for Criminal Justice Addictions Prof... 21 NCAC 68 .0217 

Notice to Applicant of Failure to Satisfy Board 21 NCAC 68 .0220 

Applicant Hearing 21 NCAC 68 .0221 

Ethics and Quality Assurance Inquiry 21 NCAC 68 .0222 

Standards and Quality Assurance Committee Actions 21 NCAC 68 .0223 

Credentialing Status Denied if Serving Sentence 21 NCAC 68 .0224 

Suspension of Authority and Escrow of Funds 21 NCAC 68 .0225 

Armed Services Extension for Credential 21 NCAC 68 .0226 

Scope 21 NCAC 68 .0301 

Application for Deemed Status by Professional Discipline 21 NCAC 68 .0303 

Three-Year Standards Review of Deemed Status Standing 21 NCAC 68 .0304 

Revocation of Credential When Change in Status 21 NCAC 68 .0307 

Educational Approval Policy 21 NCAC 68 .0401 

General Training Pre-Approval Guidelines 21 NCAC 68 .0402 

In-Service Training Event 21 NCAC 68 .0403 

Credit Denial or Limitation 21 NCAC 68 .0404 

Sponsor Guidelines 21 NCAC 68 .0405 

Procedures for Approval of Self-Study Courses 21 NCAC 68 .0406 

Education Submission Guidelines 21 NCAC 68 .0407 

Purpose and Scope 21 NCAC 68 .0501 

Non-Discrimination 21 NCAC 68 .0502 

Competence 21 NCAC 68 .0503 

Legal Standards and Ethical Standards 21 NCAC 68 .0504 

Education and Training Standards 21 NCAC 68 .0505 

Publication Credit 21 NCAC 68 .0506 

Client Welfare 21 NCAC 68 .0507 

Confidentiality 21 NCAC 68 .0508 

Client Relationships 21 NCAC 68 .0509 

Interprofessional Relationships 21 NCAC 68 .0510 

Remuneration 21 NCAC 68 .0511 

Responsibilities of Supervisor to Supervisee 21 NCAC 68 .0512 

Grounds for Professional Discipline 21 NCAC 68 .0601 
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Complaint Procedures 21 NCAC 68 .0602 

Investigation of Complaint 21 NCAC 68 .0603 

Hearing Before Board 21 NCAC 68 .0604 

Method of Discipline 21 NCAC 68 .0605 

Effect of Court or of Other Professional Groups 21 NCAC 68 .0606 

Discretion of the Board 21 NCAC 68 .0607 

Confidentiality 21 NCAC 68 .0608 

Petition for Reopening Case 21 NCAC 68 .0609 

Awarding the Credential Following Denial 21 NCAC 68 .0610 

Proof of Rehabilitation 21 NCAC 68 .0611 

Informal Proceedings 21 NCAC 68 .0615 

Publication of Ethics Sanctions 21 NCAC 68 .0620 

Hearing Before Board: Time Requirement 21 NCAC 68 .0701 

Right to Hearing 21 NCAC 68 .0702 

Request for Hearing 21 NCAC 68 .0703 

Hearing Requests 21 NCAC 68 .0704 

Notice of Hearing 21 NCAC 68 .0705 

Who Shall Hear Contested Cases 21 NCAC 68 .0706 

Petition for Intervention 21 NCAC 68 .0707 

Disqualification of Board Member 21 NCAC 68 .0709 

     

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Minimum Ventilation Rates Table 403.3.1.1  

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Application C401.2  

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Compliance R401.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/Appendices R102.5  

2018 NC Residential Code/Egress Door R311.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/Walkline R311.7.4  

2018 NC Residential Code/Winder Treads R311.7.5.2.1  

2018 NC Residential Code/Nosings R311.7.5.3  

2018 NC Residential Code/Height R312.1.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/Opening Limitations R313.1.3  

2018 NC Residential Code/Size and Height of Wood Studs Table R602.3(5)  

2018 NC Residential Code/Minimum Number of Full Height Ki... Table R602.7.5  

2018 NC Residential Code/Support by Steel Angle R703.8.2.1  

2018 NC Building Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... 2902.1  

2018 NC Building Code/Separate Facilities 2902.2  

2018 NC Building Code/Small Occupancies 2902.6  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... Table 403.1  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Separate Facilities 403.2  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Small Occupancies 410.2  

2018 NC Fire Code/Fire Escape Stairs and Ladders 1031.10  

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Marking 405.6  

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Minimum Ventilation Rates Table 403.3.1.1  

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Application C401.2  

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Compliance R401.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/Appendices R102.5  
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2018 NC Residential Code/Egress Door R311.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/Walkline R311.7.4  

2018 NC Residential Code/Winder Treads R311.7.5.2.1  

2018 NC Residential Code/Nosings R311.7.5.3  

2018 NC Residential Code/Height R312.1.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/Opening Limitations R313.1.3  

2018 NC Residential Code/Size and Height of Wood Studs Table R602.3(5)  

2018 NC Residential Code/Minimum Number of Full Height Ki... Table R602.7.5  

2018 NC Residential Code/Support by Steel Angle R703.8.2.1  

2018 NC Building Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... 2902.1  

2018 NC Building Code/Separate Facilities 2902.2  

2018 NC Building Code/Small Occupancies 2902.6  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... Table 403.1  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Separate Facilities 403.2  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Small Occupancies 410.2  

2018 NC Fire Code/Fire Escape Stairs and Ladders 1031.10  

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Marking 405.6  
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 DOJ 06923 8/28/2020 Scott Thomas Pitts  v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Sutton 

20 DOJ 01467 8/31/2020 Trent Lackey  v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

            

19 DST 06915 8/6/2020 Dr. Robin P 

Gardner  

v. State of North Carolina Department of 

State Treasurer, Retirement Systems 

Division 

Byrne 

             

20 EHR 01275 8/19/2020 William C Hiatt  v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality Division of Water Resources 

Sutton 

             

20 INS 01234 8/3/2020 Scott R Lassiter  v. North Carolina State Health Care Plan 

for Teachers and State Employees 

Bawtinhimer 

             

19 WTO 07049 8/27/2020 Travis Clarke v. North Carolina Water Treatment 

Facility Operators Certification Board 

Byrne 

        

    Unpublished    

        

20 ABC 02228 8/4/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Moefo Inc T/A E Z Pass Tobacco and 

Vape 

Lassiter 

            

19 CSE 05908 8/14/2020 William Glasson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 
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19 CSE 05932 8/18/2020 Timothy James  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05966 8/18/2020 Robert R Abrams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06125 8/11/2020 Norman S Bowers  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 06362 8/14/2020 Robert Daniels  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06590 8/21/2020 Richard E Stewart  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 00138 8/13/2020 George Lorenzo 

Gilmore  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

20 CSE 01217 8/24/2020 Edward L Brooks  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 01429 8/3/2020 Corderro Antonio 

Cephas  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 01585 8/27/2020 Brian Iversen  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 01762 8/14/2020 Phillip Wynne 

Raulston  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 01832 8/10/2020 Mavin D Williams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 01912 8/11/2020 Larry Deron Smith( 

AR)  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

20 CSE 02007 8/31/2020 Raymond A Gibson 

Jr.  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 02229 8/12/2020 Antonio D Mock  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 02245 8/10/2020 Christopher T 

Charles  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

20 CSE 02268 8/10/2020 Albert Bracey Jr  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

             

19 DHR 06865 8/27/2020 Alpha Concord of 

Greensboro HAL-

041-082  

v. NC Dept of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, AdultCare Licensure 

Section 

Byrne 

19 DHR 06866 8/27/2020 Alpha Concord 

Plantation HAL-

080-027  

v. NC Dept of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation Adult Care Licensure 

Section 

Byrne 
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20 DHR 01773 8/21/2020 Keira Hinson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 02026 8/10/2020 Sanida Pajic 

Sabanija  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

20 DHR 02031 8/21/2020 Kids-R-Us 

Preschool & 

Childcare Center 

LLC Wendy Kaye 

Mitchell  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Mann 

20 DHR 02690 8/28/2020 Sherrie Lewis 

Young  

v. North Carolina Division of Child 

Development & Early Education 

Jacobs 

             

20 DOJ 01468 8/26/2020 Steven C Whiteman  v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

             

20 DOT 02246 8/21/2020 Jameon Sheffield  v. NC Department of Transportation Mann 

             

20 OSP 01071 8/11/2020; 

8/20/2020 

Yolanda Bullock  v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Byrne 

20 OSP 02329; 

02347 

8/10/2020 Richard Hilton 

Nowack  

v. NC Department of Public Safety;  

North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Ward 

             

20 UNC 02159 8/21/2020 Teresa Truill  v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Mann 

 

 


