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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Notice of Application to modify existing Innovative Approval of a Wastewater System for On-site Subsurface Use 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 130A-343(g), the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) shall publish a Notice in the NC 

Register that a manufacturer has submitted a request for approval of a wastewater system, component, or device for on-site subsurface 

use. The following applications have been submitted to DHHS: 

 

Application by:    Jim Bell, PE 

         Bio-Microbics, Inc 

          8450 Cole Parkway 

         Shawnee, KS  66227 

 

 For:        New Innovative Approval for FAST Wastewater Treatment Systems 

 

Application by:   David Lentz, PE 

         Infiltrator Water Technologies, LLC 

          PO Box 768 

         Old Saybrook, CT  06475 

 

 For:        Modifications to an Innovative Approval for Chamber Trench Systems 

 

Application by:   David Lentz, PE 

         Infiltrator Water Technologies, LLC 

          PO Box 768 

         Old Saybrook, CT  06475 

 

 For:        Modifications to the Innovative Approval for Expanded Polystyrene Aggregate Trench Systems 

 

 

DHHS Contact: Jon Fowlkes 

1-919-707-5875 

Fax:  919-845-3972 

jon.fowlkes@dhhs.nc.gov 

  

 

These applications may be reviewed by contacting the applicant or Jon Fowlkes, Branch Head, at 5605 Six Forks Rd, Raleigh, NC, On-

Site Water Protection Branch, Environmental Health Section, Division of Public Health.  Draft proposed innovative approvals and 

proposed final action on the application by DHHS can be viewed on the On-Site Water Protection Branch web site: 

http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/oswp/. 

 

Written public comments may be submitted to DHHS within 30 days of the date of the Notice publication in the North Carolina Register. 

All written comments should be submitted to Jon Fowlkes, Branch Head, On-site Water Protection Branch, 1642 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1642, jon.fowlkes@dhhs.nc.gov, or fax 919-845-3972. Written comments received by DHHS in accordance with 

this Notice will be taken into consideration before a final agency decision is made on the innovative subsurface wastewater system 

application. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Plant Conservation Board intends to amend the rule cited as 02 

NCAC 48F .0301. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index

.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may 

request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a 

request in writing no later than October 16, 2020 to Phil Wilson, 

Director, Plant Industry Division, 1060 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1060. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendment updates 

the Protected Plant Species and corrects the spelling and names 

of certain plants. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Phil Wilson, 1060 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1060; email 

phil.wilson@ncagr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 48 - PLANT INDUSTRY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48F - PLANT CONSERVATION 

 

SECTION .0300 - ENDANGERED PLANT SPECIES LIST: THREATENED PLANT SPECIES LIST: LIST OF SPECIES 

OF SPECIAL CONCERN 

 

02 NCAC 48F .0301 PROTECTED PLANT SPECIES LIST 

The North Carolina Plant Conservation Board hereby establishes the following list of protected plant species (** indicates federally 

listed): 

 

Species     Status 

(1) Acmispon helleri    Threatened 

Carolina Prairie-trefoil; 

(1)(2) Acrobolbus ciliatus   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A liverwort; 

(2)(3) Adiantum capillus-veneris   Threatened 

Venus Hair Fern; 

(3)(4) Adlumia fungosa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Climbing Fumitory; 

(4)(5) Aeschynomene virginica**  Threatened 

Sensitive Jointvetch; 

(5)(6) Agalinis virgata    Threatened 

Branched Gerardia; 
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(6)(7) Agrostis mertensii   Endangered 

Artic Arctic Bentgrass; 

(8) Aletris lutea    Threatened 

Yellow Colic-root; 

(9) Allium allegheniense   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Allegheny Onion; 

(7)(10) Allium cuthbertii keeverae   Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Striped Garlic; Keever's Onion; 

(8)(11) Alnus viridis ssp. crispa   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Green Alder; 

(9)(12) Amaranthus pumilus**   Threatened 

Seabeach Amaranth; 

(10)(13) Amorpha confusa    Threatened 

Savanna Indigo-bush; 

(11)(14) Amorpha georgiana   Endangered 

Georgia Indigo-bush; 

(12)(15) Amphicarpum muhlenbergianum  Endangered 

Florida Goober Grass, Blue Maidencane; 

(13) Andropogon mohrii   Threatened 

Bog Bluestem; 

(14)(16) Anemone berlandieri   Endangered 

Southern Anemone; 

(15)(17) Anemone caroliniana   Endangered 

Prairie Anemone; 

(16)(18) Arabis pycnocarpa var. adpressipilis Endangered 

Hairy Rockcress; 

(17)(19) Arethusa bulbosa    Endangered 

Bog Rose; 

(18)(20) Aristida condensata   Threatened 

Big Three-awn Grass; 

(19)(21) Aristida simpliciflora   Endangered 

Chapman's Three-awn; 

(20)(22) Arnoglossum ovatum var. lanceolatum Endangered 

Savanna Indian-plantain; 

(23) Asclepias cinerea    Special Concern, Historical 

Carolina Milkweed; 

(21)(24) Asclepias pedicellata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Savanna Milkweed; 

(22)(25) Asplenium heteroresiliens   Endangered 

Carolina Spleenwort; 

(23)(26) Asplenium monanthes   Endangered 

Single-sorus Spleenwort; 

(24)(27) Asplenium ruta-muraria var. cryptolepis Special Concern, Vulnerable 

American Wall-rue Spleenwort; Wall-rue; 

(25)(28) Astragalus michauxii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sandhills Milkvetch; 

(26)(29) Baccharis glomeruliflora   Special Concern, Historical Endangered 

Silverling; 

(27)(30) Bacopa caroliniana   Threatened 

Blue Water-hyssop; 

(28)(31) Bacopa innominata   Special Concern, Historical 

Tropical Water-hyssop; 

(29)(32) Balduina atropurpurea   Endangered 

Purple-disk Honeycomb-head; 

(33) Baptista aberrans    Endangered 

Eastern Prairie Blue Wild Indigo 

(30)(34) Baptisia alba    Threatened 

Thick-pod White Wild Indigo; 

(31)(35) Baptisia bracteata    Special Concern, Historical 
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Creamy Wild Indigo; 

(32) Baptisia australis var. aberrans  Endangered 

Prairie Blue Wild Indigo; 

(33)(36) Berberis canadensis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

American Barberry; 

(34)(37) Betula cordifolia    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Mountain Paper Birch; 

(35) Boechera missouriensis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Missouri Rockcress; 

(38) Bouteloua curtipendula var. curtipendula Threatened 

Sideoats Grama; 

(39) Bromus ciliatus    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Fringed Brome; 

(36)(40) Buchnera americana   Endangered 

American Bluehearts; 

(37)(41) Buckleya distichophylla   Threatened 

Piratebush; 

(38)(42) Bulbostylis warei    Special Concern, Historical 

Ware's Hair Sedge; 

(39)(43) Calamagrostis cainii   Endangered 

Cain's Reed Grass; Reedgrass; 

(44) Calamagrostis canadensis var. canadensis Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Canada Reedgrass; 

(40)(45) Calopogon multiflorus   Endangered 

Many-flower Many-flowered Grass-pink; 

(41)(46) Caltha palustris var. palustris  Endangered 

Marsh-marigold; Marsh Marigold; 

(42)(47) Camassia scilloides   Threatened 

Wild Hyacinth; 

(48) Campanula aparinoides var. aparinoides Threatened 

Marsh Bellflower; 

(43)(49) Campanula rotundifolia   Endangered 

Bluebells; 

(44)(50) Campylium stellatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Yellow Starry Fen Moss; 

(45) Canoparmelia amabilis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Worthy Shield Lichen; 

(46)(51) Cardamine dissecta   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Dissected Toothwort; 

(47) Cardamine douglassii   Threatened 

Douglass's Bittercress; 

(48)(52) Cardamine longii    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Long's Bittercress; 

(49)(53) Cardamine micranthera**   Endangered 

Small-anthered Bittercress; 

(50) Cardamine rotundifolia   Threatened 

Mountain Watercress; 

(54) Carex amplisquama   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Fort Mountain Sedge; 

(55) Carex arctata    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Black Sedge; 

(51)(56) Carex argyrantha    Endangered 

Hay Sedge; 

(52)(57) Carex barrattii    Special Concern, Historical 

Barratt's Sedge; 

(58) Carex basiantha    Endangered 

Widow Sedge; 

(53)(59) Carex buxbaumii    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Brown Bog Sedge; 
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(60) Carex calcifugens    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Calcium-fleeing Sedge; 

(54)(61) Carex careyana    Threatened 

Carey's Sedge; 

(55)(62) Carex cherokeensis   Endangered Threatened 

Cherokee Sedge; 

(56)(63) Carex conoidea    Special Concern, Vulnerable Threatened 

Cone-shaped Sedge: Sedge, Field Sedge; 

(57)(64) Carex cristatella    Special Concern, Historical Vulnerable 

Small-crested Crested Sedge; 

(58) Carex decomposita   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Cypress Knee Sedge; 

(59)(65) Carex eburnea    Threatened 

Bristle-leaf Sedge; 

(60)(66) Carex exilis    Endangered 

Coastal Sedge; 

(61) Carex hitchcockiana   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Hitchcock's Sedge; 

(62)(67) Carex hormathodes   Threatened 

A Marsh Straw Sedge; 

(68) Carex impressinervia   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Ravine Sedge; 

(69) Carex jamesii    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

James's Sedge; 

(70) Carex lasiocarpa var. americana  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Slender Sedge; 

(63)(71) Carex lutea**    Endangered 

Golden Sedge; 

(72) Carex meadii    Endangered 

Mead's Sedge; 

(64)(73) Carex oligocarpa    Threatened 

Rich-woods Sedge; 

(65)(74) Carex oligosperma   Endangered 

Few-seeded Sedge; 

(66)(75) Carex pedunculata var. pedunculata  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Longstalk Sedge; 

(67) Carex purpurifera    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Purple Sedge; 

(68)(76) Carex radfordii    Threatened 

Radford's Sedge; 

(69)(77) Carex reniformis    Threatened 

Kidney Sedge; 

(78) Carex superata    Threatened 

Limestone Forest Sedge; 

(70)(79) Carex tenax    Endangered 

Wire Sedge; 

(80) Carex trichocarpa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Hairy-fruited Sedge; 

(71)(81) Carex trisperma    Endangered 

Three-seeded Sedge; 

(82) Carex utriculata    Endangered 

Beaked Sedge; 

(83) Carex vesicaria    Endangered 

Inflated Sedge;  

(72)(84) Carex vestita    Special Concern, Historical Threatened 

Velvet Sedge; 

(73)(85) Carya laciniosa    Threatened 

Big Shellbark Hickory; 

(74)(86) Carya myristiciformis   Endangered 
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Nutmeg Hickory; 

(87) Caulophyllum giganteum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Northern Blue Cohosh; 

(75)(88) Celastrus scandens   Endangered 

American Bittersweet; 

(76)(89) Cetraria arenaria    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sand-loving Iceland Lichen; 

(77) Euphorbia cordifolia   Threatened 

Heartleaf Sandmat; 

(78)(90) Chamerion platyphyllum   Endangered 

Fireweed; 

(79)(91) Chasmanthium nitidum   Threatened 

A Shiny Spanglegrass; 

(80)(92) Chelone cuthbertii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Cuthbert's Turtlehead; 

(81) Chenopodium simplex   Threatened 

Giant-seed Goosefoot; 

(93) Chenopodiastrum simplex   Threatened 

Mapleleaf Goosefoot; 

(82)(94) Chiloscyphus appalachianus  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A Liverwort; liverwort; 

(83)(95) Chiloscyphus muricatus   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A Liverwort; liverwort; 

(84)(96) Chrysoma pauciflosculosa   Endangered 

Woody Goldenrod; 

(85)(97) Cirsium carolinianum   Endangered 

Carolina Thistle; 

(86)(98) Cirsium lecontei    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Leconte's LeConte's Thistle; 

(87) Cladonia psoromica   Threatened 

Bluff Mountain Reindeer Lichen; 

(88)(99) Clematis occidentalis var. occidentalis Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Mountain Clematis; 

(89)(100) Clinopodium georgianum   Endangered 

Georgia Calamint; 

(90) Coeloglossum viride var. virescens  Endangered 

Long-bracted Frog Orchid; 

(91) Coelorachis cylindrica   Special Concern, Historical 

Carolina Jointgrass; 

(92) Collinsonia tuberosa   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Piedmont Horsebalm; 

(93)(101) Collinsonia verticillata   Special Concern, Vulnerable Threatened 

Whorled Horsebalm; 

(94)(102) Conioselinum chinense   Threatened 

Hemlock-parsley; 

(95)(103) Coptis trifolia var. groenlandica  Threatened 

Goldthread; 

(104) Coreopsis aristulata   Threatened 

Short-awned Coreopsis; 

(96)(105) Cornus asperifolia   Endangered 

Roughleaf Dogwood; 

(106) Cornus racemosa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Gray Dogwood; 

(97)(107) Corydalis micrantha   Threatened 

Slender Corydalis; 

(108) Coryphopteris simulata   Endangered 

Bog Fern; 

(109) Crataegus pallens    Threatened 

Pale Hawthorn; 
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(98)(110) Crinum americanum var. americanum Special Concern, Historical 

Swamp-lily; 

(99)(111) Crocanthemum bicknellii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Plains Sunrose; 

(100)(112) Crocanthemum carolinianum  Endangered 

Carolina Sunrose; 

(101)(113) Crocanthemum corymbosum  Threatened 

Pinebarren Sunrose; 

(102)(114) Crocanthemum georgianum  Endangered 

Georgia Sunrose; 

(103)(115) Crocanthemum nashii   Endangered 

Florida Scrub Sunrose, Florida Scrub Frostweed; 

(104)(116) Crocanthemum propinquum  Threatened 

Creeping Sunrose; 

(105)(117) Crocanthemum rosmarinifolium  Threatened 

Rosemary Sunrose; 

(106)(118) Croton monanthogynus   Endangered 

Prairie-tea Croton; 

(107)(119) Cyperus dentatus   Special Concern, Historical 

Toothed Flatsedge; 

(108)(120) Cyperus granitophilus   Threatened 

Granite Flatsedge; 

(109)(121) Cyperus lecontei   Threatened 

Leconte's LeConte's Flatsedge; 

(122) Cyperus subsquarrosus   Special Concern, Historical 

Small-flowered Halfchaff; 

(110)(123) Cyperus tetragonus   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Four-angled Flatsedge; 

(124) Cyperus virens    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Greens Flatsedge; 

(111)(125) Cystopteris tennesseensis  Endangered 

Tennessee Bladder-fern; 

(112) Rubus dalibarda    Endangered 

Robin Runaway; 

(126) Dactylorhiza viridis   Threatened 

Long-bracted Frog Orchid; 

(113)(127) Delphinium exaltatum   Endangered Threatened 

Tall Larkspur; 

(114)(128) Deschampsia cespitosa ssp. glauca Threatened 

Tufted Hairgrass; 

(115)(129) Desmodium ochroleucum  Special Concern, Historical 

White Tick-trefoil, Creamy Tick-trefoil; 

(116)(130) Desmodium sessilifolium  Special Concern, Historical 

Sessile Tick-trefoil; 

(117)(131) Diarrhena Americana americana  Endangered Threatened 

Eastern Beakgrass; Beakgrain; 

(132) Dichanthelium annulum   Endangered 

Ringed Witchgrass; 

(118) Dichanthelium aciculare ssp. neuranthum Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Nerved Witch Grass 

(119)(133) Dichanthelium caerulescens  Endangered Threatened 

Blue Witch Grass; Witchgrass; 

(120)(134) Dichanthelium hirstii   Endangered 

Hirsts' Hirst Brothers' Panic Grass;  Witchgrass; 

(135) Dichanthelium spretum   Endangered 

Eaton's Witchgrass; 

(136) Dichanthelium strigosum var. glabrescens Threatened 

Hairless Witchgrass; 

(121)(137) Diervilla rivularis   Threatened 
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Riverbank Bush-honeysuckle; 

(122)(138) Dionaea muscipula   Special Concern, Vulnerable Threatened 

Venus Flytrap; 

(123) Primula meadia    Threatened 

Shooting-star; 

(124) Draba ramosissima   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Branching Draba; 

(125) Drepanolejeunea appalachiana  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A Liverwort; 

(139) Diplachne maritima   Endangered 

Salt-meadow Grass; 

(126)(140) Drosera filiformis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Threadleaf Sundew; 

(127)(141) Echinacea laevigata**   Endangered 

Smooth Coneflower; 

(128) Echinacea purpurea   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Purple Coneflower, 

(129) Echinodorus tenellus   Endangered 

Dwarf Burhead; 

(130)(142) Eleocharis cellulosa   Endangered Threatened 

Gulfcoast Spikerush; 

(131)(143) Eleocharis elongata   Endangered 

Florida Spikerush; 

(144) Eleocharis parvula   Threatened 

Dwarf Spikerush; 

(132)(145) Eleocharis robbinsii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Robbins' Spikerush; 

(133)(146) Eleocharis vivipara   Endangered Threatened 

Viviparous Spikerush; 

(134)(147) Elymus trachycaulus ssp. trachycaulus Threatened 

Slender Wheatgrass; 

(135) Elymus virgincus var. halophilus  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Terrell Grass; 

(136)(148) Enemion biternatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Eastern Isopyrun; 

(137) Epidendrum magnoliae   Threatened 

Green Fly Orchid; 

(149) Epidendrum conopseum   Threatened 

Green-fly Orchid; 

(150) Erigenia bulbosa    Threatened 

Harbinger-of-spring; 

(138)(151) Eriocaulon aquaticum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Seven-angled pipewort; Pipewort; 

(139)(152) Eriocaulon parkeri   Threatened 

Estuary Pipewort; 

(140)(153) Eriocaulon texense   Endangered 

Texas Hatpins; 

(141)(154) Eriogonum tomentosum   Special Concern, Historical 

Southern Wild-buckwheat 

(142)(155) Erythrina herbacea   Endangered 

Coralbean; 

(143)(156) Eupatorium leptophyllum  Endangered 

Limesink Dog-fennel; 

(144)(157) Eupatorium paludicola   Threatened Endangered 

Bay Boneset; 

(145)(158) Euphorbia commutata   Threatened 

Cliff Spurge; 

(159) Euphorbia cordifolia   Threatened 

Heartleaf Sandmat; 
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(146)(160) Euphorbia mercurialina   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Cumberland Spurge; 

(147)(161) Filipendula rubra   Endangered 

Queen-of-the-Prairie; 

(148)(162) Fimbristylis perpusilla   Threatened 

Harper's Fimbry; 

(149) Fleishmannia incarnata   Threatened 

Pink Thoroughwort: 

(150)(163) Gaillardia aestivalis var. aestivalis Endangered 

Sandhills Blanket-flower; 

(151)(164) Galactia mollis    Threatened 

Soft Milk-pea; 

(152)(165) Gaylussacia brachycera   Endangered 

Box Huckleberry; 

(153)(166) Gaylussacia nana   Endangered 

Confederate Huckleberry; Dwarf Dangleberry; 

(167) Gaylussacia orocola   Endangered 

Appalachian Dwarf Huckleberry; 

(154)(168) Gelsemium rankinii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Swamp Jessamine; 

(155)(169) Gentiana alba    Special Concern, Vulnerable Historical 

Yellow Pale Gentian; 

(170) Gentiana latidens    Threatened 

Balsalm Mountain Gentian; 

(156)(171) Gentianopsis crinita   Threatened Endangered 

Eastern Fringed Gentian; 

(157)(172) Geum aleppicum   Endangered 

Yellow Avens; 

(158)(173) Geum geniculatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Bent Avens; 

(159)(174) Geum laciniatum   Endangered 

Rough Avens; 

(160)(175) Geum lobatum    Endangered 

Lobed Barren-strawberry; 

(161)(176) Geum radiatum**   Endangered 

Spreading Avens; 

(162)(177) Gillenia stipulata   Threatened 

Indian Physic; 

(178) Glyceria laxa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Lax Mannagrass; 

(163)(179) Gratiola aurea lutea   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Golden Hedge-hyssop; 

(164)(180) Gymnocarpium appalachianum  Threatened 

Appalachian Oak Fern; 

(165)(181) Gymnoderma lineare**   Endangered 

Rock Gnome Lichen; 

(166) Senecio suaveolens   Special Concern, Historical 

Sweet Indian-plantain; 

(182) Harperella nodosa [Ptilimnium nodosum]** Endangered 

Harperella; 

(183) Helanthium tenellum   Endangered 

Dwarf Burhead; 

(167)(184) Helenium brevifolium   Endangered 

Littleleaf Sneezeweed; 

(168)(185) Helenium vernale   Endangered 

Spring Sneezeweed; 

(169)(186) Helianthus floridanus   Threatened 

Florida Sunflower; 

(170)(187) Helianthus laevigatus   Special Concern, Vulnerable 
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Smooth Sunflower; 

(171)(188) Helianthus occidenatlis ssp. occidentalis Special Concern, Historical 

Naked-stem Sunflower; 

(172)(189) Helianthus schweinitzii**  Endangered 

Schweinitz's Sunflower; 

(173)(190) Helonias bullata**   Threatened 

Swamp Pink; 

(174)(191) Hexastylis contracta   Endangered 

Mountain Heartleaf; 

(175)(192) Hexastylis naniflora**   Threatened 

Dwarf-flowered Heartleaf; 

(176)(193) Hibiscus aculeatus   Threatened 

Comfortroot; 

(194) Hottonia inflata    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Featherfoil; 

(177)(195) Houstonia montana **   Endangered 

Roan Mountain Bluet; 

(178)(196) Hudsonia montana**   Threatened 

Mountain Golden-heather; 

(179)(197) Hudsonia tomentosa   Threatened 

Sand Heather; 

(198) Hydrastis canadensis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Goldenseal; 

(180)(199) Hymenocallis occidentalis var. occidentalis Special Concern, Historical 

Hillside Spider-lily; 

(181)(200) Hymenocallis pygmaea   Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Waccamaw River Spiderlily; 

(182)(201) Hypericum adpressum   Special Concern, Historical 

Bog St. John's-wort; 

(183)(202) Hypericum brachyphyllum  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Coastal Plain St. John's-wort; 

(184)(203) Hypericum fasciculatum  Endangered 

Peelbark St. John's-wort; 

(204) Hypericum radfordiorum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Radford's St. John's-wort; 

(185)(205) Hypericum suffruticosum  Special Concern, Historical 

Pineland St. John's-wort; 

(206) Hypotrachyna virginica   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Virginia Loop Lichen; 

(186)(207) Ilex collina    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Long-stalked Holly; 

(187)(208) Ipomoea imperati   Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Beach Morning-glory; 

(209) Ipomoea macrorhiza   Special Concern, Historical 

Manroot; 

(188)(210) Isoetes microvela   Threatened 

Thin-wall Quillwort; 

(189)(211) Isoetes piedmontana   Endangered Threatened 

Piedmont Quillwort; 

(190)(212) Isotria medeoloides**   Threatened 

Small Whorled Pogonia; 

(191)(213) Iva microcephala   Threatened 

Small-headed Marsh Elder; 

(192)(214) Jeffersonia diphylla   Threatened 

Twinleaf: 

(215) Juncus articulatus    Special Concern, Historical 

Jointleafed Rush; 

(193)(216) Juncus caesariensis   Endangered 

New Jersey Rush; 
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(194)(217) Juniperus communis var. depressa Special Concern, Vulnerable Threatened 

Dwarf Juniper; 

(195)(218) Kalmia angustifolia   Threatened 

Sheep-laurel; 

(196)(219) Lachnocaulon minus   Threatened 

Brown Bogbutton; 

(197)(220) Lechea maritima var. virginica  Endangered Threatened 

Maritime Pinweed; 

(198)(221) Lechea torreyi var. congesta  Endangered 

Torrey's Pinweed; 

(199)(222) Lejeunea blomquistii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

A Liverwort; liverwort; 

(200) Leptochloa fascicularis var. maritima Endangered 

Long-awned Spangletop; 

(201)(223) Liatris aspera    Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Rough Blazing-star; 

(202)(224) Liatris helleri**   Threatened 

Heller's Blazing-star; 

(203)(225) Liatris microcephala   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Small-head Blazing-star; 

(204)(226) Lilium canadense var. canadense  Endangered 

Yellow Canada Lily; 

(205) Lilium canadense ssp. editorum  Endangered 

Red Canada Lily; 

(206)(227) Lilium grayi    Threatened 

Gray's Lily; 

(207)(228) Lilium philadelphicum var. philadelphicum Endangered 

Wood Lily; 

(208)(229) Lilium pyrophilum   Endangered 

Sandhills Lily; 

(209)(230) Limosella australis   Threatened 

Awl-leaf Awl-leaf, Mudwort; 

(210)(231) Lindera melissifolia**   Endangered 

Pondberry; 

(232) Lindera subcoriacea   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Bog Spicebush; 

(211)(233) Linum floridanum var. chrysocarpum Threatened 

Yellow-fruited Flax; 

(212)(234) Linum sulcatum   Special Concern, Historical 

Glade Flax; 

(213)(235) Liparis loeselii    Endangered 

Fen Orchid; 

(214) Lipocarpha micrantha   Special Concern, Historical 

Small-flowered Hemicarpha; 

(215)(236) Lithospermum canescens  Threatened 

Hoary Puccoon; 

(216)(237) Litsea aestivalis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Pondspice; 

(217)(238) Lobelia boykinii   Endangered 

Boykin's Lobelia; 

(218)(239) Lophiola aurea    Endangered 

Golden-crest; 

(219) [Lotus] Acmispon helleri   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Carolina Birdfoot-trefoil; 

(220)(240) Ludwigia lanceolata   Endangered 

Lanceleaf Seedbox; 

(221)(241) Ludwigia linifolia   Threatened 

Flaxleaf Seedbox; 

(222)(242) Ludwigia ravenii   Threatened Endangered 
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Raven's Seedbox; 

(223)(243) Ludwigia sphaerocarpa   Endangered 

Globe-fruit seedbox; Seedbox; 

(224)(244) Ludwigia suffruticosa   Threatened 

Shrubby Seedbox; 

(245) Lupinus villosus    Endangered 

Pink Sandhill Lupine; 

(246) Lycopodiella inundata   Endangered 

Northern Bog Clubmoss; 

(225)(247) Lysimachia asperulifolia**  Endangered 

Rough-leaf Loosestrife; 

(248) Lysimachia borealis   Threatened 

Northern Starflower; 

(226)(249) Lysimachia fraseri   Endangered 

Fraser's Loosestrife; 

(227)(250) Macbridea caroliniana   Endangered 

Carolina Birds-in-a-Nest, Carolina Bogmint; 

(228)(251) Magnolia macrophylla   Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Bigleaf Magnolia; 

(229)(252) Malaxis spicata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Florida Adder's-mouth; 

(230)(253) Marshallia grandiflora   Special Concern, Historical 

Large-flowered Barbara's-buttons; 

(254) Marshallia legrandii   Endangered 

Oak Barrens Barbara's-buttons; 

(231)(255) Marshallia trinervia   Special Concern, Historical 

Broadleaf Barbara's-buttons; 

(256) Melanthium woodii   Threatened 

Ozark Bunchflower; 

(232)(257) Melica nitens    Endangered 

Three-flowered Melic; 

(233)(258) Menyanthes trifoliata   Threatened 

Buckbean; 

(234)(259) Micranthes pensylvanica  Endangered 

Swamp Saxifrage; 

(235) Micropolypodium nimbatum  Threatened 

West Indian Dwarf Polypody; 

(236) Minuartia godfreyi   Endangered 

Godfrey's Sandwort; 

(260) Mnesithea cylindrica   Special Concern, Historical 

Carolina Jointgrass; 

(237)(261) Minuartia Mononeuria groenlandica Threatened 

Greenland Sandwort; 

(262) Mononeuria paludicola   Endangered 

Godfrey's Sandwort; 

(238)(263) Minuartia uniflora   Endangered 

Single-flowered Sandwort; 

(239) Monotropsis odorata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sweet Pinesap; 

(264) Moranopteris nimbata   Threatened 

West Indian Dwarf Polypody; 

(240)(265) Muhlenbergia glomerata  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Spiked Muhly; 

(241)(266) Muhlenbergia sobolifera  Special Concern, Vulnerable Threatened 

Rock Muhly; 

(242)(267) Muhlenbergia torreyana   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Pinebarren Smokegrass; 

(243)(268) Myrica gale    Endangered 

Sweet Gale; 
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(244)(269) Myriophyllum laxum   Endangered 

Loose Water-milfoil; 

(245)(270) Myriophyllum tenellum   Endangered 

Leafless Water-milfoil; 

(271) Nabalus albus    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

White Rattlesnakeroot; 

(246)(272) Narthecium montanum   Special Concern, Historical 

Appalachian Yellow Asphodel; 

(247)(273) Oenothera perennis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Perennial Sundrops; 

(248)(274) Oldenlandia boscii   Endangered Threatened 

Bosc's Bluet; 

(249)(275) Orbexilum macrophyllum  Special Concern, Historical 

Bigleaf Scurfpea; 

(250)(276) Orbexilum onobrychis   Special Concern, Historical 

Lanceleaf Scurfpea; 

(277) Orbexilum pedunculatum   Endangered 

Western Sampson's Snakeroot; 

(278) Oreojuncus trifidus   Threatened 

Highland Rush; 

(279) Orthochilus ecristata   Endangered 

Spiked Medusa; 

(251) Oxypolis canbyi**   Endangered 

Canby's Dropwort; 

(252)(280) Pachysandra procumbens  Endangered 

Allegheny Spurge; 

(281) Packera crawfordii   Endangered 

Crawford's Ragwort; 

(253)(282) Packera millefolium   Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Divided-leaf Blue Ridge Ragwort; 

(254)(283) Packera paupercula var. appalachiana Threatened 

Prairie Appalachian Ragwort; 

(284) Packera paupercula var. paupercula  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Balsam Ragwort; 

(255)(285) Packera schweinitziana   Threatened 

Schweinitz's New England Ragwort; 

(286) Packera serpenticola   Threatened 

Buck Creek Ragwort; 

(256)(287) Panicum flexile   Threatened 

Wiry Panic Grass; 

(257) Parietaria praetermissa   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Large-seed Pellitory; 

(258)(288) Parnassia caroliniana   Threatened 

Carolina Grass-of-parnassus; 

(259)(289) Parnassia grandifolia   Threatened 

Large-leaved Bigleaf Grass-of-parnassus; 

(260)(290) Paronychia herniarioides  Endangered 

Michaux's Whitlow-wort; 

(261)(291) Paspalum dissectum   Endangered 

Mudbank Crown Grass; 

(262)(292) Pedicularis lanceolata   Threatened 

Swamp Lousewort; 

(263)(293) Pellaea wrightiana   Endangered 

Wright's Cliff-brake; 

(264)(294) Persicaria hirsuta   Endangered 

Hairy Smartweed; 

(265)(295) Phacelia maculata   Endangered 

Spotted Flatrock Phacelia; 

(266)(296) Phegopteris connectilis   Endangered 
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Northern Beech Fern; 

(297) Phemeranthus piedmontanus  Endangered 

Piedmont Rock-pink; 

(298) Pinguicula lutea    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Yellow Butterwort; 

(267)(299) Pinguicula pumila   Endangered Threatened 

Small Butterwort; 

(268)(300) Pityopsis graminifolia var. graminifolia Endangered 

A Silkgrass; 

(269)(301) Plantago cordata   Endangered 

Heart-leaf Plantain; 

(270)(302) Plantago sparsiflora   Threatened 

Pineland Plantain; 

(303) Platanthera herbiola   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Tubercled Rein Orchid; 

(271) Platanthera grandiflora   Threatened 

Large Purple-fringed Orchid; 

(272)(304) Platanthera integra   Special Concern, Vulnerable Threatened 

Yellow Fringeless Orchid; 

(273)(305) Plantanthera integrilabia Platanthera integrilabia** Special Concern, Historical Threatened 

White Fringeless Orchid; 

(274)(306) Platanthera nivea   Threatened Endangered 

Snowy Orchid; 

(275)(307) Platanthera peramoena   Threatened 

Purple Fringeless Orchid; 

(308) Platanthera shriveri   Endangered 

Shriver's Purple Fringed Orchid; 

(276)(309) Poa saltuensis    Threatened 

A Old-pasture Bluegrass; 

(277)(310) Polemonium reptans var. reptans  Threatened 

Spreading Jacob's Ladder; 

(278)(311) Polygala hookeri   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Hooker's Milkwort; 

(312) Polygala senega    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Seneca Snakeroot; 

(279)(313) Polygonella articulata   Special Concern, Historical 

Northern Wireweed, Coast Jointweed; 

(280)(314) Polygonum glaucum   Endangered 

Seabeach Knotweed; 

(281)(315) Ponthieva racemosa   Threatened 

Shadow-witch; 

(282)(316) Portulaca smallii   Threatened 

Small's Portulaca; 

(317) Potamogeton illinoensis   Endangered 

Illinois Pondweed; 

(318) Primula meadia    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Eastern Shooting-star; 

(319) Pseudognaphalium helleri   Endangered 

Heller's Rabbit-tobacco; 

(283) Prenanthes alba    Threatened 

White Rattlesnakeroot; 

(284) Pteroglossaspis ecristata   Endangered 

Spiked Medusa; 

(285)(320) Ptilimnium costatum   Threatened 

Ribbed Big Bishop-weed; 

(286) Ptilimnium nodosum**   Endangered 

Harperella; 

(287)(321) Pyrola elliptica    Endangered Threatened 

Elliptic Shinleaf; 
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(322) Pyxidanthera brevifolia   Threatened 

Sandhills Pyxie-moss; 

(323) Quercus elliottii    Endangered 

Running Oak; 

(288)(324) Quercus ilicifolia   Endangered 

Bear Oak 

(325) Quercus minima    Endangered 

Dwarf Live Oak; 

(289)(326) Quercus prinoides   Endangered 

Dwarf Chinquapin Oak; 

(290)(327) Ranunculus ambigens   Special Concern, Historical 

Water-plantain Spearwort; 

(291) Ranunculus flabellaris   Special Concern, Historical 

Yellow Water-crowfoot; 

(292)(328) Ranunculus hederaceus   Endangered Threatened 

Ivy Buttercup; Ivy-leaved Water Crowfoot; 

(293)(329) Rhexia aristosa    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Awned Meadow-beauty; 

(294)(330) Rhodiola rosea    Endangered 

Roseroot; 

(295)(331) Rhododendron prinophyllum  Threatened 

Election Pink; 

(296)(332) Rhus michauxii**   Endangered 

Michaux's Sumac; 

(297)(333) Rhynchospora crinipes   Threatened 

Alabama Beaksedge; 

(298)(334) Rhynchospora decurrens  Threatened 

Swamp Forest Beaksedge; 

(299)(335) Rhynchospora harperi   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Harper's Beaksedge: 

(300)(336) Rhynchospora macra   Threatened 

Southern White Beaksedge; 

(337) Rhynchospora microcarpa   Threatened 

Southern Beaksedge; 

(301)(338) Rhynchospora odorata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Fragrant Beaksedge; 

(302)(339) Rhynchospora pleiantha   Threatened 

Coastal Beaksedge; 

(303)(340) Rhynchospora thornei   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Thorne's Beaksedge; 

(304)(341) Rhynchospora tracyi   Threatened 

Tracy's Beaksedge; 

(305)(342) Rubus idaeus ssp. var. strigosus  Threatened 

American Red Raspberry; 

(343) Rubus repens    Endangered 

Robin Runaway; 

(306)(344) Rudbeckia heliopsidis   Endangered 

Sun-facing Coneflower; 

(307)(345) Ruellia ciliosa    Threatened 

Sandhills Wild-petunia; 

(308)(346) Ruellia humilis    Endangered Threatened 

Low Wild-petunia; 

(309)(347) Ruellia purshiana   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Pursh's Wild-petunia; 

(310)(348) Ruellia strepens   Endangered 

Limestone Wild-petunia; 

(311)(349) Sabal palmetto    Threatened 

Cabbage Palm; Palmetto; 

(312)(350) Sabatia kennedyana   Threatened 
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Plymouth Gentian; 

(313)(351) Sageretia minutiflora   Threatened 

Small-flowered Buckthorn; 

(314)(352) Sagittaria chapmanii   Endangered Threatened 

Chapman's Arrowhead; 

(315)(353) Sagittaria fasciculata**   Endangered 

Bunched Arrowhead; 

(316)(354) Sagittaria isoetiformis   Threatened 

Quillwort Arrowhead; 

(317)(355) Sagittaria macrocarpa   Threatened 

Streamhead Sagittaria; Arrowhead; 

(318)(356) Sagittaria weatherbiana   Endangered 

Grassleaf Weatherby's Arrowhead; 

(319)(357) Sarracenia jonesii**   Endangered 

Mountain Sweet Pitcher Plant; 

(320)(358) Sarracenia minor var. minor  Endangered 

Hooded Pitcher Plant; 

(321)(359) Sarracenia oreophila**   Endangered 

Green Pitcher Plant; 

(360) Sarracenia purpurea var. montana  Endangered 

Southern Appalachian Purple Pitcher Plant; 

(322)(361) Sceptridium jenmanii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Alabama Grape-fern; 

(323)(362) Schisandra glabra   Threatened 

Magnolia Vine; 

(324)(363) Schwalbea americana**   Endangered 

Chaffseed; 

(325)(364) Scirpus flaccidifolius   Endangered 

Reclining Bulrush; 

(326)(365) Scirpus lineatus   Threatened 

Drooping Bulrush; 

(327)(366) Scleria baldwinii   Threatened 

Baldwin's Nutrush; 

(367) Scleria bellii    Endangered 

Smooth-seeded Hairy Nutrush; 

(328)(368) Scleria reticularis   Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Netted Nutrush; 

(369) Sclerolepis uniflora   Threatened 

Sclerolepis; 

(329)(370) Scutellaria australis   Endangered 

Southern Skullcap; 

(330)(371) Scutellaria galericulata   Special Concern, Historical 

Hooded Skullcap; 

(331)(372) Scutellaria leonardii   Endangered 

Shale-barren Skullcap; 

(332)(373) Scutellaria nervosa   Endangered 

Veined Skullcap; 

(333) Ditrysinia fruticosa   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sebastian-bush; 

(334)(374) Sedum pusillum   Endangered 

Puck's Orpine; 

(375) Senecio suaveolens   Endangered 

Sweet Indian-plantain; 

(376) Sesuvium maritimum   Endangered 

Slender Sea-purslane; 

(377) Sesuvium portulacastrum   Endangered 

Shoreline Sea-purslane; 

(335)(378) Seymeria pectinate pectinata ssp.pectinata  Special Concern, Historical 

Sticky Afzelia; Comb Seymeria; 
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(336)(379) Shortia galacifolia var. brevistyla  Endangered Threatened 

Northern Oconee Bells; 

(337)(380) Shortia galacifolia var. galacifolia Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Southern Oconee Bells; 

(338)(381) Sideroxylon tenax   Threatened 

Tough Bumelia; 

(339)(382) Silene ovata    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Mountain Catchfly; 

(340)(383) Silphium connatum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Virginia Cup-plant; 

(341)(384) Silphium perfoliatum   Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Northern Common Cup-plant; 

(342)(385) Sisyrinchium dichotomum**  Endangered 

White Irisette; 

(343)(386) Solidago leavenworthii   Threatened Endangered 

Leavenworth;s Leavenworth's Goldenrod; 

(344)(387) Solidago plumosa   Threatened 

Yadkin River Goldenrod; 

(345)(388) Solidago ptarmicoides   Endangered 

Prairie Goldenrod; 

(346)(389) Solidago radula   Endangered 

Western Rough Goldenrod; 

(390) Solidago rigida var. glabrata  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Southeastern Bold Goldenrod; 

(347)(391) Solidago rigida var. rigida  Threatened 

Prairie Midwestern Bold Goldenrod; 

(348)(392) Solidago spithamaea**   Threatened 

Blue Ridge Goldenrod; 

(349)(393) Solidago tortifolia   Endangered 

Twisted-leaf Goldenrod; Leafy Pineywoods Godenrod; 

(394) Solidago verna    Threatened 

Spring-flowering Goldenrod; 

(350)(395) Solidago villosicarpa   Endangered Threatened 

Coastal Carolina Maritime Goldenrod: 

(351)(396) Sparganium emersum acaule  Threatened Endangered 

Greenfruit Bur-reed; 

(352)(397) Spartina pectinata   Special Concern, Vulnerable Threatened 

Freshwater Cordgrass; 

(353)(398) Sphagnum contortum   Threatened 

Contorted Peatmoss; 

(399) Sphagnum warnstorfii   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Fen Peatmoss; 

(354)(400) Spigelia marilandica   Threatened 

Pink-root; 

(355)(401) Spiraea corymbosa   Endangered 

Shinyleaf Meadowsweet; Rock Spiraea; 

(356)(402) Spiraea virginiana**   Threatened 

Virginia Spiraea; 

(357) Spiranthes eatonii    Endangered 

Eaton's Ladies'-tresses; 

(358)(403) Spiranthes lacera var. lacera  Endangered 

Northern Slender Ladies'-tresses; 

(359)(404) Spiranthes laciniata   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Lace-lip Ladies'-tresses; 

(360)(405) Spiranthes longilabris   Endangered 

Giant Spiral Orchid; 

(361)(406) Spiranthes lucida   Endangered 

Shining Ladies'-tresses; 

(362)(407) Spiranthes ochroleuca   Threatened 
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Yellow Nodding Ladies'-tresses; 

(363)(408) Sporobolus heterolepis   Threatened 

Prairie Dropseed; 

(364)(409) Sporobolus teretifolius   Threatened Endangered 

Wireleaf Dropseed; 

(365)(410) Sporobolus virginicus   Threatened 

Saltmarsh Seashore Dropseed; 

(411) Stachys appalachiana   Endangered 

Appalachian Hedge-nettle; 

(412) Stachys eplingii    Endangered 

Epling's Hedge-nettle; 

(413) Stachys matthewsii   Endangered 

Yadkin Hedge-nettle; 

(366)(414) Stenanthium gramineum var. robustum Threatened Endangered 

Bog Featherbells; 

(367)(415) Stenathium Stenanthium leimanthoides Threatened 

Pinebarren Pinebarrens Death-camas; 

(368) Streptopus amplexifolius   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

White Mandarin; 

(369)(416) Stylisma aquatica   Endangered 

Water Dawnflower; 

(370)(417) Stylisma pickeringii var. pickeringii Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Pickering's Dawnflower; 

(418) Symphyotrichum concinnum  Endangered 

Narrow-leaved Smooth Aster; 

(371)(419) Symphyotrichum depauperatum  Endangered 

Serpentine Aster; 

(372)(420) Symphyotrichum georgianum  Threatened 

Georgia Aster; 

(373) Symphyotrichum leave var. concinnum Threatened 

Narrow-leaf Aster; 

(374)(421) Symphyotrichum oblongifolium  Threatened 

Eastern Aromatic Aster; 

(375)(422) Symphyotrichum rhiannon  Threatened 

Buck Creek Aster; 

(376)(423) Synandra hispidula   Endangered Threatened 

Synandra; 

(377)(424) Taxus canadensis   Threatened 

Canada Yew; 

(378)(425) Thalictrum cooleyi**   Endangered 

Cooley's Meadowrue; 

(426) Thalictrum macrostylum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Small-leaved Meadowrue; 

(379)(427) Thaspium pinnatifidum   Threatened Endangered 

Mountain Thaspium; 

(380) Thelypteris simulata   Endangered 

Bog Fern; 

(381)(428) Thermopsis fraxinifolia   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Ash-leaved Golden-banner; 

(382) Thermopsis mollis   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Appalachian Golden-banner; 

(383) Tradescantia virginiana   Threatened 

Virginia Spiderwort; 

(429) Tiedmannia [Oxypolis] canbyi**  Endangered 

Canby's Dropwort; 

(384)(430)Triantha glutinosa   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sticky Bog Asphodel; 

(385) Trichomanes boschianum   Endangered 

Appalachian Filmy-fern; 
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(386)(431) Trichostema brachiatum   Endangered 

Glade Bluecurls; 

(432) Trichostema nesophilum   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Dune Bluecurls; 

(387)(433) Tridens ambiguus   Endangered 

Pineland Triodia; 

(388)(434) Tridens chapmanii   Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Chapman's Redtop; Triodia; 

(389)(435) Tridens strictus    Special Concern, Historical 

Spike Triodia; 

(390) Trientalis borealis   Endangered Threatened 

Starflower; 

(391)(436) Trifolium carolinianum   Special Concern, Historical 

Carolina Clover; 

(392)(437) Trifolium reflexum   Threatened 

Buffalo Clover; 

(393)(438) Trillium discolor   Threatened 

Mottled Pale Yellow Trillium; 

(394)(439) Trillium flexipes   Special Concern, Historical Threatened 

Bent White Trillium; 

(395)(440) Trillium pusillum var. ozarkanum Endangered 

Alabama Least Trillium; 

(396)(441) Trillium pusillum var. pusillum  Endangered 

Carolina Least Trillium; 

(397)(442) Trillium pusillum var. virginianum Endangered 

Virginia Least Trillium; 

(443) Trillium recurvatum   Threatened 

Prairie Trillium; 

(398)(444) Trillium sessile    Threatened 

Sessile-flowered Trillium; 

(399)(445) Trillium simile    Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Sweet White Trillium; 

(400)(446) Trisetum spicatum   Special Concern, Historical 

Soft Spike Trisetum; 

(401)(447) Turritis glabra    Endangered 

Tower Mustard; 

(402)(448) Urtica chamaedryoides   Endangered Threatened 

Dwarf Stinging Nettle; 

(403)(449) Utricularia cornuta   Threatened 

Horned Bladderwort; 

(404)(450) Utricularia geminiscapa   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Two-flowered Bladderwort; 

(405)(451) Utricularia minor   Special Concern, Historical 

Small Bladderwort; 

(406)(452) Utricularia olivacea   Threatened 

Dwarf Bladderwort: 

(407)(453) Utricularia resupinata   Endangered 

Northeastern Bladderwort; 

(408)(454) Vaccinium macrocarpon  Threatened 

Cranberry; 

(409) Veratrum woodii    Threatened 

Ozark Bunchflower; 

(455) Vandenboschia boschiana   Endangered 

Appalachian Filmy-fern; 

(410)(456) Veronica americana   Threatened 

American Speedwell; 

(411) Viola walteri var. appalachiensis  Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Appalachian Voilet; 

(412)(457) Warea cuneifolia   Endangered 
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Carolina Pineland-cress; 

(413)(458) Woodsia ilvensis   Endangered 

Rusty Cliff Fern; 

(414) Xyris chapmanii    Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Chapman's Yellow-eyed-grass; 

(415)(459) Xyris floridana    Threatened Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Florida Yellow-eyed-grass; 

(416)(460) Xyris scabrifolia   Special Concern, Vulnerable 

Harper's Roughleaf Yellow-eyed-grass; 

(417)(461) Xyris serotina    Threatened Special Concern, Historical 

Acid-swamp Yellow-eyed-grass; 

(418)(462) Xyris stricta    Endangered 

Pineland Yellow-eyed grass; 

(419)(463) Zephyranthes simpsonii   Endangered 

Rain Lily. Florida Atamasco-lily. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-202.15. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the 

rules cited as 14B NCAC 15C .0602 and .0607. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://abc.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 4, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To define what constitutes "come 

to rest" for purposes of receipt of malt beverages and wine by 

wholesalers from nonresident malt beverage vendors and 

nonresident wine vendors prior to the wholesaler delivering these 

alcoholic beverages to retail permittees.  The term "come to rest" 

is used in G.S. 18B-1113 and 18B-1114, but the term is not 

otherwise defined.  Rule 14B NCAC 15C .0602(f) is also being 

amended to set out the factors considered by the ABC Commission 

in approving an application to allow maintenance of malt 

beverage and wine invoices off the retail premises. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919)779-8367; fax 

(919)661-6765; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15C - INDUSTRY MEMBERS: 

RETAIL/INDUSTRY MEMBER RELATIONSHIPS: SHIP 

CHANDLERS: AIR CARRIERS: FUEL ALCOHOL 

 

SECTION .0600 - SALES AND DELIVERIES OF MALT 

BEVERAGES AND WINE 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0602 SALES AND PURCHASE 

RESTRICTIONS: RECORDS 

(a)  All malt beverages, unfortified wine, and fortified wine 

intended for sale, delivery, or shipment to retail permittees in the 

wholesaler's designated sales territory shall be delivered by the 

supplier or its designee to the wholesaler. The malt beverages, 

unfortified wine, and fortified wine delivered to the wholesaler 

shall be unloaded from the delivery vehicle, placed on the floor of 

the wholesaler's permitted premises so that its entire weight is 

supported by the floor, inventoried, inspected, and verified for 

taxes by the wholesaler. The provisions of this Paragraph do not 
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apply to products sold, delivered, or shipped pursuant to G.S. 

18B-1101(7) or G.S. 18B-1104(a)(8). 

(a)(b)  No wholesaler of malt beverages shall sell malt beverages 

to any person who does not hold a retail or wholesale Malt 

Beverage malt beverage permit, and no wholesaler of wine shall 

sell any fortified wine or unfortified wine to any person who does 

not hold the appropriate retail or wholesale Fortified or 

Unfortified Wine Permit; fortified or unfortified wine permit, 

except, that a wholesaler may furnish or sell wine or malt 

beverages to his the wholesaler's employees for the sole use of the 

employees. 

(b)(c)  No retail malt beverage or wine permittee shall purchase 

those alcoholic beverages malt beverages or wine from anyone 

other than a licensed wholesaler. 

(c)  No malt beverage wholesaler shall sell, ship, or distribute any 

brand of malt beverages to any retail permittee located outside the 

territory described in that wholesaler's distribution agreement for 

the product filed pursuant to G.S. 18B-1303(a).  

(d)  All persons holding retail Malt Beverage or Wine Permits 

malt beverage or wine permits shall keep the sales tickets and 

delivery receipts furnished by the wholesaler, pursuant to Rule 

.0502 of this Subchapter, as well as and all other records of 

purchases of malt beverages and wine, filed wine. All receipts and 

records required to be retained pursuant to this Paragraph shall be 

kept separate and apart from all other records. Delivery receipts 

shall set forth terms of sale for each separate transaction between 

the retailer and the wholesaler and shall include for each separate 

sale: 

(1) the date of sale; 

(2) the trade name of the retail establishment; 

(3) location; the location of the retail 

establishment; 

(4) the quantity of each brand of alcoholic beverage 

sold; 

(5) the unit price; 

(6) the total price; 

(7) the amount paid; and 

(8) the invoice or receipt number. 

(e)  The retailer shall retain for inspection copies of all sales 

tickets and delivery receipts on the premises for three years. 

(f)  A retail permittee who operates multiple locations may 

maintain beer malt beverage and wine invoices at one central 

location other location, other than the licensed premises, upon 

written application to and approval by the Commission. When 

considering the application, the Commission shall consider the 

following: 

(1) whether all permits are held by the same 

applicant; 

(2) whether electronic copies of the invoices will 

be accessible to law enforcement at the retail 

location; and 

(3) whether the permittee agrees to make the 

original invoices available on the licensed 

premises to law enforcement within 48 hours of 

the request by law enforcement. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1107; 18B-1109; 18B-

1113; 18B-1114. 18B-1303(a). 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0607 MALT BEVERAGE AND WINE 

SHIPMENTS TO MILITARY BASES 

No industry member except a wholesaler shall ship malt 

beverages or wine directly to a United States military or naval 

reservation within North Carolina. All malt beverages and wine 

intended for that purpose shall be shipped to wholesalers and these 

wholesalers. These beverages shall come to rest upon the 

warehouse floor of the wholesalers wholesalers, as set forth in 

14B NCAC 15C .0602(a), who may then deliver them to United 

States military or naval reservations within North Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-109(b); 18B-100; 18B-207. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 15A NCAC 02Q .0203. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

rules/rules-hearing-process 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 12, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  Cisco Webex, Digital Hearing Link: 

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=e4

4293934a2a2ce5d36b5e8560565d3b3 

Meeting Number (Access Code): 171 927 8952 Meeting 

Password: NCDAQ 

 

*If you wish to speak at the digital public hearing, you must 

register, provide the required information, and follow instructions 

on ways to join the public hearing. Registration must be 

completed by 4:00 PM on November 12, 2020. To register, please 

click the following link: 

https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=3IF2etC

5mkSFw-

zCbNftGcdRQfzEdNdMhe982T18CERUMjMyUDVFMTdJSDIz

MTNMUlhDUkRMMk45VC4u 

 

*For instructions on ways to join the public hearing, please refer 

to the following link: 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Air%20Quality/rules/hearing/instructi

ons-on-ways-to-join-webex.pdf 

https://www.webex.com/test-meeting.html 

*If you have technical difficulties, the following automated 

voicemail has been set up to receive your verbal comments: 919-

707-8430 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To receive comments on the 

proposed amendment of the Permit and Application Fees rule. 

Also, to receive comment on the accompanying fiscal note for the 

proposed amendment. 
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On August 31, 2001, the North Carolina Division of Air Quality 

(DAQ) obtained EPA approval of its Title V operating permit 

program. Under the Clean Air Act (CAA), Section 502(b)(3), the 

DAQ is required to collect fees “sufficient to cover all reasonable 

(direct and indirect) costs required to develop and administer” its 

Title V program. A significant portion of the DAQ’s Title V 

revenues are received from the annual tonnage, or “per ton” fee, 

and have declined due to decreasing emissions in recent years.  

Declining emissions and number of Title V facilities has led to a 

projected funding shortfall for the DAQ’s EPA-approved Title V 

operating permit program for Fiscal Year (FY) 2020-2021. 

Failure to address the projected funding shortfalls could result in 

the DAQ’s inability to administer certain aspects of the program, 

and may result in the eventual partial or full withdrawal of EPA 

approval.  

The DAQ also identified additional Title V funds required to 

implement its salary administration plan. The plan establishes a 

single, objective, and transparent salary schedule with the goal of 

reducing current or future inequities in comparable occupational 

groups.   

In order to allow the DAQ to collect revenues sufficient to cover 

the costs of administering the Title V program and implement the 

salary administration plan, the Environmental Management 

Commission (EMC) is proposing to revise the permit and 

application fees for Title V sources in 15A NCAC 02Q .0203.  

On September 10, 2020, the EMC approved proceeding to public 

comment on the proposed Title V fee revisions.  

15A NCAC 02Q .0203 is proposed for amendment to revise the 

Title V annual and application fees. The annual base and tonnage 

fees will be increased to $10,000 and $40.00 per ton, respectively. 

The revised Title V application fees for minor and significant 

modifications are proposed to be $3,000 and $7,000, respectively. 

The revisions will also incorporate a new annual added 

complexity fee of $2,500 for moderately complex facilities and 

$7,500 for highly complex facilities. The complexity of a facility 

will be based on the number of applicable federal programs, and 

complexity fees will be adjusted annually for inflation as currently 

allowed for Title V annual and application fees. The amended rule 

will also incorporate the inflation adjustments for all applicable 

fees to reflect the calendar year 2021 fees.  

The Commission is amending 15A NCAC 02Q .0203 to update the 

fees that are charged pursuant to G.S. 143-215.3(1d).  That 

statute requires the Commission to establish the fees in 

conformance with the Clean Air Act, specifically USC 7661a, 

Section 502(b)(3)(B).  As set forth in the US Code and Rule 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0204, those fees are subject to an inflation adjustment 

every year on January 1.  Therefore, the fee amounts published in 

this Register will be subject to that inflation adjustment.  At this 

time, the Commission does not know the exact amount of that 

adjustment, but is publishing the Rule with the fees as charged in 

2020 to give the regulated public a basis upon which to comment.  

The Commission acknowledges that the fee will be higher than 

those published. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Patrick Knowlson, 217 West 

Jones St., 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641; 

phone (919) 707-8711; fax (919) 715-0717; email 

daq.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov (Please type "Title V Fees 

Hearing" in the subject line) or at the following automated 

voicemail: (919)-707-8430 

 

Comment period ends:  November 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02Q - AIR QUALITY PERMITS PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0200 - PERMIT FEES 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0203 PERMIT AND APPLICATION FEES 

(a)  The owner or operator of any facility holding a permit shall pay the following annual permit fees: 

 

ANNUAL PERMIT FEES 

(FEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2011 2021) 

Facility Category Tonnage Factor Basic Permit Fee Nonattainment Area 

Added Fee 
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Title V 

 

$30.00 $40.00 

 

$6,500 $10,000 

 

$3,500 $3998 

Synthetic Minor  $1,500  

Small  $250  

General 

General Title V ACI  

50% of the otherwise applicable fee 

10% of the otherwise applicable fee 

(Note: fee shaded in gray is fee for calendar year 2020, not adjusted for inflation for 2021) 

 

A facility, other than a Title V facility, that has been in compliance 

is eligible for a 25 percent discount from the annual permit fees 

as described in Paragraph (a) of 15A NCAC 02Q .0205(a). Annual 

permit fees for Title V facilities in this Paragraph shall be adjusted 

for inflation as described in 15A NCAC 02Q .0204. Annual 

permit fees for Title V facilities consist of the sum of the 

applicable fee elements. The current annual permit fees shall be 

found on the Division's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

permits/modifying-applying-for-air-quality-permit. Annual 

permit fees for Title V facilities in this Paragraph are equal to the 

sum of the basic permit fee, tonnage factor fee, and nonattainment 

area added fee, as applicable. 

(b)  In addition to the annual permit fees required by Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule, the owner or operator of a Title V facility shall 

pay the following annual complexity fee, as applicable: 

(1) For facilities subject to at least three and no 

greater than six of the federal programs 

identified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the 

added annual complexity fee shall be two 

thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500); or 

(2) For facilities subject to seven or greater of the 

federal programs identified in Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule, the added annual complexity fee shall 

be seven thousand five hundred dollars 

($7,500). 

Annual complexity fees for Title V facilities shall be adjusted for 

inflation as described in 15A NCAC 02Q .0204. 

(c)  Each of the programs and regulations identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) through (5) of this Paragraph are considered a 

federal program for the purposes of determining annual 

complexity fees under Paragraph (b) of this Rule: 

(1) The PSD program is considered one federal 

program for any facility that is subject to 15A 

NCAC 02D .0530; 

(2) The Risk Management Program under Section 

112r of the Clean Air Act is considered one 

federal program for any facility that is subject 

to 15A NCAC 02D .2100; 

(3) Each Subpart under 40 CFR Part 60, New 

Source Performance Standards (NSPS) is 

considered one federal program, with the 

exception of Subparts A, B, Ba, and C; 

(4) Each Subpart under 40 CFR Part 61, National 

Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants (NESHAP) is considered one federal 

program, with the exception of Subpart A; and 

(5) Each Subpart under 40 CFR Part 63, NESHAP 

for Source Categories, is considered one federal 

program, with the exception of Subparts A, B, 

C, D, and E. 

The sum of all applicable federal programs identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) through (5) of this Paragraph shall be used to 

determine the annual complexity fee in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)(d)  In addition to the annual permit fee, fee and annual 

complexity fee, a permit applicant shall pay a non-refundable 

permit application fee as follows: 

 

  

PERMIT APPLICATION FEES 

(FEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 1994 2021) 

Facility Category New or 

Modification 

New or 

Significant 

Modification 

Significant 

Modification 

Minor 

Modification 

Ownership 

Change 

Title V   $7,200 

$10,177 

$7,000 $700 $3,000 $50 $60 

Title V (PSD or 

NSR/NAA) 

$10,900 

$15,406 

   $50 $60 

Title V (PSD and 

NSR/NAA) 

21,200 

$29,965 

   $50 $60 

Synthetic Minor $400    $50 

Small $50    $50 
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General  50% of the otherwise applicable fee $25 

General Title V ACI  10% of the otherwise applicable fee  

(Note: fees shaded in gray are fees for calendar year 2020, not adjusted for inflation for 2021) 

 

Permit application fees for Title V facilities shall be adjusted for 

inflation as described in 15A NCAC 02Q .0204. The current 

permit application fees shall be found on the Division's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

permits/modifying-applying-for-air-quality-permit. 

(e)  The current annual permit fees, annual complexity fees, and 

permit application fees shall be found on the Division's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

permits/modifying-applying-for-air-quality-permit. 

(c)(f)  If a facility, other than a general facility, belongs to more 

than one facility category, the fees shall be those of the applicable 

category with the highest fees. If a permit application belongs to 

more than one type of application, the fee shall be that of the 

applicable permit application type with the highest fee. 

(d)(g)  The tonnage factor fee shall be applicable only to Title V 

facilities. It shall be computed by multiplying the tonnage factor 

indicated in the table in Paragraph (a) of this Rule by the facility's 

combined total actual emissions of all regulated air pollutants, 

rounded to the nearest ton, contained in the latest emissions 

inventory that has been completed by the Division. The 

calculation shall not include: include the amount of actual 

emissions of each pollutant that exceeds 4,000 tons per year and 

the actual emissions of pollutants listed in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (4) of this Paragraph as follows: 

(1) carbon monoxide; 

(2) any pollutant that is regulated solely because it 

is a Class I or II substance listed pursuant to 

Section 602 of the federal Clean Air Act (ozone 

depletors); 

(3) any pollutant that is regulated solely because it 

is subject to a regulation or standard pursuant to 

Section 112(r) of the federal Clean Air Act 

(accidental releases); and  

(4) the amount of actual emissions of each 

pollutant that exceeds 4,000 tons per year. 

(4) greenhouse gases. 

Even though a pollutant may be classified in more than one 

pollutant category, the amount of pollutant emitted shall be 

counted only once for tonnage factor fee purposes and in a 

pollutant category chosen by the permittee. If a facility has more 

than one permit, the tonnage factor fee for the facility's combined 

total actual emissions as described in this Paragraph shall be paid 

only on the permit whose anniversary date first occurs on or after 

July 1. 

(e)(h)  The nonattainment area added fee shall be applicable only 

to Title V facilities required to comply with 15A NCAC 02D 

.0531 (Sources in Nonattainment Areas), 15A NCAC 02D .0900 

(Volatile Organic Compounds), or 15A NCAC 02D .1400 

(Nitrogen Oxides) and either: 

(1) are in an area designated in 40 CFR 81.334 as 

nonattainment, or 

(2) are covered by a nonattainment or maintenance 

State Implementation Plan submitted for 

approval or approved as part of 40 CFR Part 52, 

Subpart II. 

(f)(i)  The facility category, Title V (PSD or NSR/NAA), in the 

permit application fees table in Paragraph (b)(d) of this Rule 

means a facility whose application shall be subject to review 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0530 (Prevention of Significant 

Deterioration) or 15A NCAC 02D .0531. 

(g)(j)  The facility category, Title V (PSD and NSR/NAA), in the 

permit application fees table in Paragraph (b)(d) of this Rule 

means a facility whose application shall be subject to review 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0530 and .0531. 

(h)(k)  Minor modification permit applications that are group 

processed shall require the payment of only one permit 

application fee per facility included in the group. 

(i)(l)  No permit application fee shall be required for renewal of 

an existing permit, for changes to an unexpired permit when the 

only reason for the changes is initiated by the Director or the 

Commission, for a name change with no ownership change, for a 

change pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0523 (Changes Not 

Requiring Permit Revisions), or for a construction date change, a 

test date change, a reporting procedure change, or a similar 

change. 

(j)(m)  The permit application fee paid for modifications pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0400, Acid Rain Procedures, shall be the fee 

for the same modification if it were subject to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0500, Title V Procedures. 

(k)(n)  An applicant who files permit applications pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0504 shall pay an application fee equal to the 

application fee for the permit required pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02Q .0500; this fee shall cover both applications, provided that 

the second application covers only what is covered under the first 

application. If permit terms or conditions in an existing or future 

permit issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 are established 

or modified by an application for a modification and if these terms 

or conditions are enforceable by the Division only, then the 

applicant shall pay the fee under the column entitled "Minor 

Modification" in the table in Paragraph (b)(d) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(1a),(1b),(1d). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Marine Fisheries Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 03R .0104, .0117, 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

03O .0201, .0202, .0204; 03R .0105; 18A .0146, .0150, .0154, 

.0155, .0159, .0160, .0167, .0171, .0172, .0179, .0180, .0189, 

.0190, .0704, .0901-.0907, .0909, .0913, .0914, readopt without 

substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 03Q .0101-

.0109; 18A .0140-.0143, .0163, .0169, .0170, .0188, and repeal 

through readoption the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18A .0431, 

.0908, and .0910. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/mfc-proposed-rules 
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Proposed Effective Date:   

15A NCAC 03O .0204; 03Q .0107: automatically subject to 

legislative review (S.L. 2019-198) 

All other rules:  April 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing:  In an abundance of caution and to address 

protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, 

these public hearings will be held by webinar. 

 

Date:  October 21, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  WebEx Events meeting link for Oct. 21: 

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=e9

643b0b8096a03f9e8e7aedc69f00aa5  

Event number for Oct. 21:  171 042 8393     Event password for 

Oct. 21:  1234 

 

Date:  October 27, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  WebEx Events meeting link for Oct. 27: 

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=e9

c38fe4cfb0d9fc1c4e4d02a818988ce  

Event number for Oct. 27:  171 724 2813     Event password for 

Oct. 27:  1234 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 03O .0201 STANDARDS AND 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SHELLFISH BOTTOM LEASES 

AND FRANCHISES AND WATER COLUMN LEASES 

15A NCAC 03O .0202 SHELLFISH BOTTOM AND 

WATER COLUMN LEASE APPLICATIONS 

15A NCAC 03O .0204 MARKING SHELLFISH LEASES 

AND FRANCHISES 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A and Session Law 2019-37, 

proposed amendments to these three rules aim to reduce user 

conflict issues while supporting a productive shellfish 

aquaculture industry. Specifically, the amendments proposed 

would increase setback limits from developed shorelines for new 

shellfish leases, limit the allowable number of corners for 

demarcating shellfish leases to simplify polygon shape, set new 

criteria for shellfish lease stakes and signage to alleviate 

navigation concerns, and initiate a new leaseholder training 

program that emphasizes user conflict reduction strategies. 

Session Law 2019-37 was passed with the explicit goal of 

providing increased support to the state’s shellfish aquaculture 

industry. Central to this was the goal of understanding user 

conflict issues of shellfish leasing and amending state regulations 

based on these findings. Section 9 of the law required the N.C. 

Department of Environmental Quality, N.C. Division of Marine 

Fisheries, and the N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission to study 

how to reduce user conflict related to shellfish cultivation leases, 

and to adopt rules and reform internal operating procedures 

consistent with the findings of the study. Proposed rule 

amendments are based on the results of the study. 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0101 SCOPE AND PURPOSE 

15A NCAC 03Q .0102 INLAND FISHING WATERS 

15A NCAC 03Q .0103 COASTAL FISHING WATERS 

15A NCAC 03Q .0104 JOINT FISHING WATERS 

15A NCAC 03Q .0105 POSTING DIVIDING LINES 

15A NCAC 03Q .0106 APPLICABILITY OF RULES: 

JOINT WATERS 

15A NCAC 03Q .0107 SPECIAL REGULATIONS: JOINT 

WATERS 

15A NCAC 03Q .0108 MANAGEMENT 

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ESTUARINE STRIPED BASS IN 

JOINT WATERS 

15A NCAC 03Q .0109 IMPLEMENTATION OF 

ESTUARINE STRIPED BASS MANAGEMENT PLANS: 

RECREATIONAL FISHING 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, these nine rules that pertain 

to the classification of the waters of North Carolina as coastal 

fishing waters, inland fishing waters, and joint fishing waters are 

proposed for readoption by the N.C. Marine Fisheries 

Commission with no changes. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0104 PERMANEMENT SECONDARY 

NURSERY AREAS 

15A NCAC 03R .0105 SPECIAL SECONDARY NURSERY 

AREAS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A (15A NCAC 03R .0105) and 

the N.C. Shrimp Fishery Management Plan (FMP) Amendment 1 

(both rules), proposed amendments to these two rules reclassify 

nine Special Secondary Nursery Areas (SSNAs) as Secondary 

Nursery Areas (SNAs). In 2015, the N.C. Marine Fisheries 

Commission adopted the Shrimp FMP Amendment 1. One of the 

final management measures to implement after adoption of 

Amendment 1 was to evaluate changing the designation of nine 

SSNAs that have not been opened to trawling since at least 2004 

to SNAs. The evaluation was undertaken and shows these nine 

sites have all been functioning as SNAs for nearly 30 years. None 

of these sites has been opened for trawling since 1991 at the latest, 

except for one site (Newport River), which was opened by 

proclamation in 2004. These changes would convert 

approximately 8,670 acres of current SSNA waters to SNAs, 

making them subject to all standard SNA gill net attendance 

requirements under 03R .0112(b)(1). The two practical 

differences between SNAs and SSNAs relates to trawling and 

small mesh gill net attendance. In SNAs, it is unlawful to use trawl 

nets for any purpose, but since none of the proposed SSNAs has 

been opened to trawling since at least 2004, the only impactful 

management change is the new requirements related to small 

mesh gill net attendance in all but one of these waters. (Scranton 

Creek would see no changes in its small mesh gill net attendance 

requirements.) Appendix III of the fiscal analysis of the proposed 

rules contains tables and figures for the nine areas that shows the 

gill net attendance requirements that would be in place once the 

rule changes become effective. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0117 OYSTER SANCTUARIES 

This rule is proposed for amendment consistent with the N.C. 

Oyster Fishery Management Plan. Rule amendments are 

proposed to add the boundaries of the five most recently 

developed oyster sanctuaries (i.e., Long Shoal, Little Creek, Pea 

Island, Raccoon Island, and Swan Island) and update boundaries 

for three existing sanctuaries (i.e., Neuse River, West Bluff, and 

Gibbs Shoal). Boundaries delineating the area for two existing 

sanctuaries (i.e., Ocracoke and Clam Shoal) are proposed to be 
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removed from rule as they no longer function as biologically 

productive oyster sanctuaries. The term “sanctuary” refers to 

reefs protected from oyster harvest in N.C. Marine Fisheries 

Commission (MFC) rule or by proclamation issued by the 

Fisheries Director under the authority of MFC rule. 

15A NCAC 18A .0140 FLOORS 

15A NCAC 18A. 0141 WALLS AND CEILINGS 

15A NCAC 18A .0142 LIGHTING 

15A NCAC 18A .0143 VENTILATION 

15A NCAC 18A .0163 COOKED CRUSTACEA 

REFRIGERATION 

15A NCAC 18A .0169 FREEZING 

15A NCAC 18A .0170 SHIPPING 

15A NCAC 18A .0188 HAZARD ANALYSIS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, these eight rules that relate 

to standards for commercial shellfish sanitation and processing 

procedures are proposed for readoption with no changes. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0146 PREMISES 

15A NCAC 18A .0150 SEWAGE DISPOSAL 

15A NCAC 18A .0154 EMPLOYEES’ PERSONAL 

ARTICLES 

15A NCAC 18A .0155 SUPPLY STORAGE 

15A NCAC 18A .0159 SEPARATION OF OPERATIONS 

15A NCAC 18A .0160 RAW CRUSTACEA RECEIVING 

AND REFRIGERATION 

15A NCAC 18A .0167 DELIVERY WINDOW OR SHELF 

15A NCAC 18A .0171 WHOLE CRUSTACEA OR 

CRUSTACEA PRODUCTS 

15A NCAC 18A .0172 COOKED CLAW SHIPPING 

CONDITIONS 

15A NCAC 18A .0179 RECALL PROCEDURE 

15A NCAC 18A .0180 SAMPLING AND TESTING 

15A NCAC 18A .0189 HACCP PLAN 

15A NCAC 18A .0190 SANITATION MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, these 13 rules that relate to 

standards for commercial shellfish sanitation and processing 

procedures are proposed for readoption with minor changes, such 

as updates to punctuation, agency names, capitalization, acronym 

introduction, and a missing degree symbol for a temperature 

provided. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0431 STANDARDS FOR AN APPROVED 

SHELLFISH GROWING AREA 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, this rule is proposed for 

repeal, as it is redundant with rule 15A NCAC 18A .0904. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0704 LABORATORY PROCEDURES 

15A NCAC 18A .0914 LABORATORY PROCEDURES 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

replace an outdated set of standards for the types of laboratories 

and laboratory methods that can be used to support the North 

Carolina Shellfish Sanitation and Recreational Water Quality 

Section with a set of standards that will bring North Carolina 

rules into agreement with current national standards, and will 

better protect the health of shellfish consumers. These 

amendments will also provide North Carolina with additional 

flexibility regarding the types of laboratory tests that are 

permissible for use within the program. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0901 DEFINITIONS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

update definitions to conform with proposed changes to other 

rules in 15A NCAC 18A .0900. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0902 CLASSIFICATION OF 

SHELLFISH GROWING WATERS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

eliminate the interchangeable use of two differently defined terms, 

“shellfish growing waters” and “shellfish growing areas”, in 

order to improve the clarity of what this rule requires. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0903 SANITARY SURVEYS 

15A NCAC 18A .0910 RECLASSIFICATION 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

update the reporting requirements that need to be met in order to 

classify shellfish growing waters or to modify existing 

classifications, and to bring those requirements in line with the 

national standards. The proposed amendments include details on 

the required frequency of reporting as well as the required 

contents of each report. Rule .0910 is proposed for repeal, with 

the requirements of the rule being moved into .0903 instead, for 

improved clarity and organization. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0904 APPROVED WATERS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

replace an outdated set of standards used for the classification of 

shellfish harvesting waters with a set of standards that would 

bring North Carolina rules into agreement with current national 

requirements, and would better protect the health of shellfish 

consumers. These amendments would also provide North 

Carolina with additional flexibility regarding the types of 

laboratory tests that are permissible for use in the classification 

of shellfish growing waters. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0905 CONDITIONALLY APPROVED 

WATERS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

define the criteria that must be met in order to classify shellfish 

growing waters with the conditionally approved classification. 

They would also bring North Carolina rules into agreement with 

current national requirements by defining the required contents 

of management plans that must be developed for any conditionally 

approved waters, and by adding in the requirement that all 

conditionally approved growing waters be re-evaluated on an 

annual basis to ensure that the classification remains 

appropriate. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0906 RESTRICTED AREAS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

define the criteria that must be met in order to classify shellfish 

growing waters with the restricted classification. They would also 

bring North Carolina rules into agreement with current national 

requirements by defining the specific bacteriological standards 

that must be met for restricted waters to be used as a source of 

shellstock for depuration. 
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15A NCAC 18A .0907 PROHIBITED WATERS 

15A NCAC 18A .0908 UNSURVEYED AREAS 

15A NCAC 18A .0909 BUFFER ZONE 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

replace an outdated set of standards and requirements used for 

the prohibited classification of shellfish harvesting waters with a 

set of standards and requirements that would bring North 

Carolina rules into agreement with current national 

requirements, and would better protect the health of shellfish 

consumers. These modifications would also reduce redundancy 

between rules. The requirements contained in .0908 are 

redundant with and better suited for inclusion in .0907, so .0908 

is proposed for repeal. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0913 PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, the proposed amendments 

update the language in the rule to reflect that the Shellfish 

Sanitation and Recreational Water Quality Section is now part of 

the Division of Marine Fisheries, instead of the Division of 

Environmental Health. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Catherine Blum, P.O. BOX 

769, Morehead City, NC 28557 

Written comments may also be submitted via an online form 

available at http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/mfc-proposed-rules. 

 

Comment period ends:  November 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 03 - MARINE FISHERIES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03O - LICENSES, LEASES, FRANCHISES 

AND PERMITS 

 

SECTION .0200 – LEASES AND FRANCHISES 

15A NCAC 03O .0201 STANDARDS AND 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SHELLFISH BOTTOM LEASES 

AND FRANCHISES AND WATER COLUMN LEASES 

(a)  All areas of the public bottom underlying Coastal Fishing 

Waters shall meet the following standards and requirements, in 

addition to the standards in G.S. 113-202, in order to be deemed 

suitable for leasing for shellfish cultivation purposes: 

(1) the proposed lease area shall not contain a 

"natural shellfish bed," as defined in G.S. 113-

201.1, or have 10 bushels or more of shellfish 

per acre; 

(2) the proposed lease area shall not be closer than 

100 250 feet to from a developed shoreline, 

shoreline or a water-dependent shore-based 

structure, except no minimum setback is 

required when the area to be leased borders the 

applicant's property, the property of "riparian 

owners" as defined in G.S. 113-201.1 who have 

consented in a notarized statement, or is in an 

area bordered by undeveloped shoreline; and 

shoreline. For the purposes of this Rule, a 

water-dependent shore-based structure shall 

include docks, wharves, boat ramps, bridges, 

bulkheads, and groins; 

(3) the proposed lease area shall not be closer than 

250 feet to an existing shellfish lease; 

(4) the proposed lease area, either alone or when 

considered cumulatively with existing shellfish 

leases in the area, shall not interfere with 

navigation or with existing, traditional uses of 

the area; and 

(3)(5) the proposed lease area shall not be less than 

one-half acre and shall not exceed 10 acres. 

(b)  To be suitable for leasing for aquaculture purposes, water 

columns superjacent to leased bottom shall meet the standards in 

G.S. 113-202.1 and water columns superjacent to franchises 

recognized pursuant to G.S. 113-206 shall meet the standards in 

G.S. 113-202.2. 

(c)  Franchises recognized pursuant to G.S. 113-206 and shellfish 

bottom leases shall be terminated unless they meet the following 

requirements, in addition to the standards in and as allowed by 

G.S. 113-202: 

(1) they produce and market 10 bushels of shellfish 

per acre per year; and 

(2) they are planted with 25 bushels of seed 

shellfish per acre per year or 50 bushels of 

cultch per acre per year, or a combination of 

cultch and seed shellfish where the percentage 

of required cultch planted and the percentage of 

required seed shellfish planted totals at least 

100 percent. 

(d)  Water column leases shall be terminated unless they meet the 

following requirements, in addition to the standards in and as 

allowed by G.S. 113-202.1 and 113-202.2: 

(1) they produce and market 40 bushels of shellfish 

per acre per year; or 

(2) the underlying bottom is planted with 100 

bushels of cultch or seed shellfish per acre per 

year. 
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(e)  The following standards shall be applied to determine 

compliance with Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule: 

(1) Only shellfish marketed, planted, or produced 

as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101 as the 

fishing activities "shellfish marketing from 

leases and franchises," "shellfish planting effort 

on leases and franchises," or "shellfish 

production on leases and franchises" shall be 

included in the lease and franchise reports 

required by Rule .0207 of this Section. 

(2) If more than one lease or franchise is used in the 

production of shellfish, one of the leases or 

franchises used in the production of the 

shellfish shall be designated as the producing 

lease or franchise for those shellfish. Each 

bushel of shellfish shall be produced by only 

one lease or franchise. Shellfish transplanted 

between leases or franchises shall be credited as 

planting effort on only one lease or franchise. 

(3) Production and marketing information and 

planting effort information shall be compiled 

and averaged separately to assess compliance 

with the requirements of this Rule. The lease or 

franchise shall meet both the production 

requirement and the planting effort requirement 

within the dates set forth in G.S. 113-202.1 and 

G.S. 202.2 to be deemed in compliance for 

shellfish bottom leases. The lease or franchise 

shall meet either the production requirement or 

the planting effort requirement within the dates 

set forth in G.S. 113-202.1 and G.S. 202.2 to be 

deemed in compliance for water column leases. 

(4) All bushel measurements shall be in standard 

U.S. bushels. 

(5) In determining production and marketing 

averages and planting effort averages for 

information not reported in bushel 

measurements, the following conversion 

factors shall be used: 

(A) 300 oysters, 400 clams, or 400 

scallops equal one bushel; and 

(B) 40 pounds of scallop shell, 60 pounds 

of oyster shell, 75 pounds of clam 

shell, or 90 pounds of fossil stone 

equal one bushel. 

(6) Production and marketing rate averages shall be 

computed irrespective of transfer of the lease or 

franchise. The production and marketing rates 

shall be averaged for the following situations 

using the time periods described: 

(A) for an initial bottom lease or franchise, 

over the consecutive full calendar 

years remaining on the bottom lease or 

franchise contract after December 31 

following the second anniversary of 

the initial bottom lease or franchise; 

(B) for a renewal bottom lease or 

franchise, over the consecutive full 

calendar years beginning January 1 of 

the final year of the previous bottom 

lease or franchise term and ending 

December 31 of the final year of the 

current bottom lease or franchise 

contract; 

(C) for a water column lease, over the first 

five-year period for an initial water 

column lease and over the most recent 

five-year period thereafter for a 

renewal water column lease; or 

(D) for a bottom lease or franchise issued 

an extension period under Rule .0208 

of this Section, over the most recent 

five-year period. 

(7) In the event that a portion of an existing lease 

or franchise is obtained by a new owner, the 

production history for the portion obtained shall 

be a percentage of the originating lease or 

franchise production equal to the percentage of 

the area of lease or franchise site obtained to the 

area of the originating lease or franchise. 

(f)  Persons holding five or more acres under all shellfish bottom 

leases and franchises combined shall meet the requirements 

established in Paragraph (c) of this Rule before submitting an 

application for additional shellfish lease acreage to the Division 

of Marine Fisheries. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 113-202.1; 

113-202.2; 113-206; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0202 SHELLFISH BOTTOM AND 

WATER COLUMN LEASE APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Application forms are available from the Division's office 

headquarters at Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell 

Street, Morehead City, NC 28557 for persons desiring to apply 

for shellfish bottom and water column leases. Each application 

shall be accompanied by a map or diagram prepared at the 

applicant's expense including an inset vicinity map showing the 

location of the proposed lease with detail sufficient to permit 

on-site identification and must shall meet the information 

requirements pursuant to G.S. 113-202(d). 

(b)  As a part of the application, the applicant shall submit a 

management plan Shellfish Lease Management Plan for the area 

to be leased on a form provided by the Division which meets the 

following standards: that shall: 

(1) States state the methods through which the 

applicant will cultivate and produce shellfish 

consistent with the minimum requirements set 

forth in 15A NCAC 03O .0201; in accordance 

with Rule .0201 of this Section; 

(2) States state the time intervals during which 

various phases of the cultivation and production 

plan will be achieved; 

(3) States state the materials and techniques that 

will be utilized in management of the lease; 

(4) Forecasts forecast the results expected to be 

achieved by the management activities; and 
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(5) Describes describe the productivity of any other 

leases or franchises held by the applicant. 

applicant; and 

(6) state the locations of each corner defining the 

area to be leased with no more than eight 

corners. 

(c)  The completed application, map or diagram, and management 

plan Shellfish Lease Management Plan for the requested lease 

shall be accompanied by the non-refundable filing fee set forth in 

G.S. 113-202(d1). An incomplete application shall be returned 

and not considered further until re-submitted complete with all 

required information. 

(d)  Applicants and transferees not currently holding a shellfish 

cultivation lease, and applicants and transferees holding one or 

more shellfish cultivation leases which are not meeting 

production requirements, shall complete and submit an 

examination, with a minimum of 70 percent correct answers, 

based on an educational package the Shellfish Aquaculture 

Education Program provided by the Division of Marine Fisheries. 

Division. The examination Shellfish Aquaculture Education 

Program shall demonstrate the applicant's knowledge of: provide 

the applicant information on shellfish aquaculture including: 

(1) the shellfish lease application process; 

(2) shellfish lease planting and production 

requirements; 

(3) lease marking requirements; 

(4) lease fees; 

(5) shellfish harvest area closures due to pollution; 

(6) safe handling practices; 

(7) lease contracts and renewals; 

(8) lease termination criteria; and 

(9) shellfish cultivation techniques. 

(1) shellfish lease application process; 

(2) shellfish lease requirements and techniques; 

(3) shellfish sanitation and National Shellfish 

Sanitation Program requirements; 

(4) shellfish harvest requirements; 

(5) aquaculture permits; 

(6) best management practices; and 

(7) shellfish lease user conflict avoidance. 

(e)  After an application is deemed to have met all requirements 

and is accepted by the Division, the applicant shall identify the 

area for which a lease is requested with stakes at each corner in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 03O .0204(a)(1)(A). Rule 

.0204(a)(1)(A) of this Section. The applicant shall attach to each 

stake a sign, provided by the Division containing the name of the 

applicant, the date the application was filed, and the estimated 

acres. The applicant shall be responsible for ensuring the sign 

remains in place until the lease application process is completed. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 

143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0204 MARKING SHELLFISH LEASES 

AND WATER COLUMN LEASES AND FRANCHISES 

(a)  All shellfish bottom leases, franchises, and water column 

leases shall be marked by the leaseholder or franchise holder as 

follows: 

(1) Shellfish bottom leases and franchises shall be 

marked by: 

(A) Stakes stakes of wood or plastic 

material at least three inches in 

diameter no less than three inches in 

diameter and no more than 12 inches 

in diameter at the water level mean 

high water mark and extending at least 

four feet above the mean high water 

mark. mark for each corner, except 

stakes more than 12 inches in diameter 

approved as part of a Coastal Area 

Management Act Permit issued in 

accordance with G.S. 113A-118 and 

G.S. 113-229 shall be allowed. The 

stakes shall be firmly jetted or driven 

into the bottom at each corner. corner 

as set forth in Rule .0202(b)(6) of this 

Section. 

(B) Signs signs displaying the number of 

the lease or franchise and the name of 

the owner printed in letters at least 

three inches high must be firmly 

attached to each corner stake. 

(C) yellow light reflective tape or yellow 

light reflective devices on each corner 

stake. The yellow light reflective tape 

or yellow light reflective devices shall 

be affixed to each corner stake, shall 

cover a vertical distance of not less 

than 12 inches, and shall be visible 

from all directions. 

(C)(D) Supplementary supplementary stakes 

of wood or plastic material, material 

no less than three inches in diameter 

and no more than four inches in 

diameter, not farther apart than 50 

yards 150 feet or closer together than 

50 feet and extending at least four feet 

above the mean high water mark, must 

shall be placed along each boundary, 

except when such would interfere if 

doing so interferes with the use of 

traditional navigation channels. 

(2) Water Shellfish water column leases shall be 

marked by anchoring two yellow buoys, 

meeting the material and minimum size 

requirements specified in 15A NCAC 3J 

.0103(b) at each corner of the area or by larger 

buoys, posts and by signs giving notice and 

providing caution in addition to the required 

signs as identified and approved by the 

Secretary in the Management Plan. 

management plan. 

(b)  Stakes marking areas of management within shellfish bottom 

leases or franchises, as approved in the management plan, must 

shall conform to Subparagraph (a)(1)(C) Part (a)(1)(D) of this 

Rule and may not exceed one for each 1,200 square feet. Marking 

at concentrations of stakes greater than one for each 1,200 square 
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feet constitutes use of the water column and a water column lease 

is required in accordance with G.S. 113-202.1 or G.S. 113-202.2. 

(c)  All areas claimed in filings made pursuant to G.S. 113-205 as 

deeded bottoms through oyster grants issued by the county clerk 

of court or as private bottoms through perpetual franchises issued 

by the Shellfish Commission shall be marked in accordance with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, except the sign shall include the 

number of the franchise rather than the number of the lease. 

However, claimed areas not being managed and cultivated shall 

not be marked. 

(d)  It is unlawful to fail to remove all stakes, signs, and markers 

within 30 days of receipt of notice from the Secretary pursuant to 

Departmental Rule 15A NCAC 1G .0207 that a G.S. 113-205 

claim to a marked area has been denied. 

(e)(d)  It is shall be unlawful to exclude or attempt to exclude the 

public from allowable public trust use of navigable waters on 

shellfish leases and franchises including, but not limited to, 

fishing, hunting, swimming, wading wading, and navigation. 

(f)(e)  The Division has no duty to protect any shellfish bottom 

lease, franchise, or water column lease not marked in accordance 

with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 76-40; 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 

113-202.1; 113-202.2; 113-205. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03Q - JURISDICTION OF AGENCIES: 

CLASSIFICATION OF WATERS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS: JOINT 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0101 SCOPE AND PURPOSE 

The rules in this Section pertain to the classification of the waters 

of North Carolina as coastal fishing waters, inland fishing waters 

and joint fishing waters. These rules are adopted jointly by the 

Marine Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. In addition to the classification of the waters of the 

state these joint rules set forth guidelines to determine which 

fishing activities in joint waters are regulated by the Marine 

Fisheries Commission and which are regulated by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. Finally, the joint rules set forth special 

fishing regulations applicable in joint waters that can be enforced 

by officers of the Division of Marine Fisheries and the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. These regulations do not affect the 

jurisdiction of the Marine Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife 

Resources Commission in any matters other than those 

specifically set out. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0102 INLAND FISHING WATERS 

Inland fishing waters are all inland waters except private ponds; 

and all waters connecting with or tributary to coastal sounds or 

the ocean extending inland from the dividing line between coastal 

fishing waters and inland fishing waters agreed upon by the 

Marine Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. All waters which are tributary to inland fishing 

waters and which are not otherwise designated by agreement 

between the Marine Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife 

Resources Commission are inland fishing waters. The regulation 

and licensing of fishing in inland fishing waters is under the 

jurisdiction of the Wildlife Resources Commission. Regulations 

and laws administered by the Wildlife Resources Commission 

regarding fishing in inland fishing waters are enforced by wildlife 

enforcement officers. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0103 COASTAL FISHING WATERS 

Coastal fishing waters are the Atlantic Ocean; the various coastal 

sounds; and estuarine waters up to the dividing line between 

coastal fishing waters and inland fishing waters agreed upon by 

the Marine Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. All waters which are tributary to coastal fishing 

waters and which are not otherwise designated by agreement 

between the Marine Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife 

Resources Commission are coastal fishing waters. The 

regulations and licensing of fishing in coastal fishing waters is 

under the jurisdiction of the Marine Fisheries Commission; except 

that inland game fish (exclusive of spotted seatrout, weakfish, and 

striped bass) are subject to regulations by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission in coastal fishing waters. Regulations and laws 

administered by the Marine Fisheries Commission regarding 

fishing in coastal waters are enforced by fisheries enforcement 

officers. Regulations regarding inland game fish in coastal fishing 

waters are enforced by wildlife enforcement officers unless 

otherwise agreed to by the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0104 JOINT FISHING WATERS 

Joint fishing waters are those coastal fishing waters, hereinafter 

set out, denominated by agreement of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission and the Wildlife Resources Commission pursuant to 

G.S. 113-132(e) as joint fishing waters. All waters which are 

tributary to joint fishing waters and which are not otherwise 

designated by agreement between the Marine Fisheries 

Commission and the Wildlife Resources Commission are 

classified as joint fishing waters. The regulation and licensing of 

fishing in joint waters shall be as stated in 15A NCAC 3Q .0106. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0105 POSTING DIVIDING LINES 

The dividing lines of all major bodies of water and watercourses 

which are divided by the agreement of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission and the Wildlife Resources Commission so that 

portions of the same are constituted inland fishing waters, coastal 

fishing waters, or joint fishing waters shall be marked with signs 

in so far as may be practicable. Unmarked and undesignated 

tributaries shall have the same classification as the designated 

waters to which they connect or into which they flow. No 

unauthorized removal or relocation of any such marker shall have 

the effect of changing the classification of any body of water or 

portion thereof, nor shall any such unauthorized removal or 

relocation or the absence of any marker affect the applicability of 

any regulation pertaining to any such body of water or portion 

thereof. 
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Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0106 APPLICABILITY OF RULES: 

JOINT WATERS 

(a)  All coastal fishing laws and regulations administered by the 

Department of Environment and Natural Resources and the 

Marine Fisheries Commission apply to joint waters except as 

otherwise provided, and shall be enforced by fisheries 

enforcement officers. 

(b)  The following inland fishing laws and regulations 

administered by the Wildlife Resources Commission apply to 

joint waters and shall be enforced by wildlife enforcement 

officers: 

(1) all laws and regulations pertaining to inland 

game fishes, 

(2) all laws and regulations pertaining to inland 

fishing license requirements for hook and line 

fishing, 

(3) all laws and regulations pertaining to hook and 

line fishing except as hereinafter provided. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0107 SPECIAL REGULATIONS: 

JOINT WATERS 

In order to effectively manage all fisheries resources in joint 

waters and in order to confer enforcement powers on both 

fisheries enforcement officers and wildlife enforcement officers 

with respect to certain rules, the Marine Fisheries Commission 

and the Wildlife Resources Commission deem it necessary to 

adopt special rules for joint waters. Such rules supersede any 

inconsistent rules of the Marine Fisheries Commission or the 

Wildlife Resources Commission that would otherwise be 

applicable in joint waters under the provisions of 15A NCAC 03Q 

.0106: 

(1) Striped Bass 

(a) It is unlawful to possess any striped 

bass or striped bass hybrid that is less 

than 18 inches long (total length). 

(b) It is unlawful to possess striped bass or 

striped bass hybrids between the 

lengths of 22 and 27 inches (total 

length) in joint fishing waters of the 

Central Southern Management Area 

as designated in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0201. 

(c) It is unlawful to possess striped bass or 

striped bass hybrids May through 

September in the joint fishing waters 

of the Central Southern Management 

Area and the Albemarle Sound 

Management Area. 

(d) It is unlawful to possess striped bass or 

striped bass hybrids taken from the 

joint fishing waters of the Cape Fear 

River. 

(e) It is unlawful to possess more than one 

daily creel limit of striped bass or 

striped bass hybrids, in the aggregate, 

per person per day, regardless of the 

number of management areas fished. 

(f) Possession of fish shall be assessed for 

the creel and size limits of the 

management area in which the 

individual is found to be fishing, 

regardless of the size or creel limits for 

other management areas visited by 

that individual in a given day. 

(g) It is unlawful to engage in net fishing 

for striped bass or striped bass hybrids 

in joint waters except as authorized by 

rules of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission. 

(2) Lake Mattamuskeet: 

(a) It is unlawful to set or attempt to set 

any gill net in Lake Mattamuskeet 

canals designated as joint waters. 

(b) It is unlawful to use or attempt to use 

any trawl net or seines in Lake 

Mattamuskeet canals designated as 

joint waters. 

(3) Cape Fear River. It is unlawful to use or attempt 

to use any net, net stakes or electrical fishing 

device within 800 feet of the dam at Lock No.1 

on the Cape Fear River. 

(4) Shad: It is unlawful to possess more than 10 

American shad or hickory shad, in the 

aggregate, per person per day taken by hook-

and-line. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03Q .0108 MANAGEMENT 

RESPONSIBILITY FOR ESTUARINE STRIPED BASS IN 

JOINT WATERS 

(a)  The management areas for estuarine striped bass fisheries in 

coastal North Carolina are designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0201. 

(b)  In order to effectively manage the recreational hook and line 

harvest in joint waters of the Albemarle Sound-Roanoke River 

stock of striped bass, the Marine Fisheries Commission and the 

Wildlife Resources Commission deem it necessary to establish 

two management areas; the Albemarle Sound Management Area 

and the Roanoke River Management Area as designated in 15A 

NCAC 03R .0201. The Wildlife Resources Commission shall 

have principal management responsibility for the stock when it is 

in the joint and inland fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Management Area. The Marine Fisheries Commission shall have 

principal management responsibility for the stock in the coastal, 

joint and inland waters of the Albemarle Sound Management 

Area. The annual quota for recreational harvest of the Albemarle-

Roanoke striped bass stock shall be divided equally between the 

two management areas. Each commission shall implement 

management actions for recreational harvest within their 

respective management areas that will be consistent with the 

North Carolina Estuarine Striped Bass Fishery Management Plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52. 
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15A NCAC 03Q .0109 IMPLEMENTATION OF 

ESTUARINE STRIPED BASS MANAGEMENT PLANS: 

RECREATIONAL FISHING 

The Marine Fisheries and Wildlife Resources Commissions shall 

implement their respective striped bass management actions for 

recreational fishing pursuant to their respective rule-making 

powers. To preserve jurisdictional authority of each Commission, 

the following means are established through which management 

measures can be implemented by a single instrument in the 

following management areas: 

(1) In the Roanoke River Management Area, the 

exclusive authority to open and close seasons 

and areas, and establish size and creel limits 

whether inland or joint fishing waters shall be 

vested in the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

An instrument closing any management area in 

joint waters shall operate as and shall be a 

jointly issued instrument opening or closing 

seasons or areas to harvest in the Roanoke River 

management area. 

(2) In the Albemarle Sound Management Area, the 

exclusive authority to open and close seasons 

and areas and establish size and creel limits, 

whether coastal or joint fishing waters shall be 

vested in the Marine Fisheries Commission. 

The season shall close by proclamation if the 

quota is about to be exceeded. In the Albemarle 

Sound Management Area administered by the 

Marine Fisheries Commission, a proclamation 

affecting the harvest in joint and coastal waters, 

excluding the Roanoke River Management 

Area, shall automatically be implemented and 

effective as a Wildlife Resources Commission 

action in the inland waters and tributaries to the 

waters affected. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03R - DESCRIPTIVE BOUNDARIES 

 

SECTION .0100 - DESCRIPTIVE BOUNDARIES 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0104 PERMANENT SECONDARY 

NURSERY AREAS 

The permanent secondary nursery areas referenced in 15A NCAC 

03N .0105(a) are delineated in the following coastal water areas: 

(1) Roanoke Sound: 

Inner Shallowbag Bay - west of a line beginning 

on the northeast shore at a point 35° 54.6729' N 

– 75° 39.8099' W; running southerly to the 

southeast shore to a point 35° 54.1722' N – 75° 

39.6806' W; 

(2) In in the Pamlico Long Sound Area: 

(a) Long Shoal River - north of a line 

beginning at the 5th Avenue Canal at 

a point 35° 35.2120' N – 75° 53.2232' 

W; running easterly to the east shore 

on Pains Point to a point 35° 35.0666' 

N – 75° 51.2000' W; 

(b) Pains Bay - east of a line beginning on 

Pains Point at a point 35° 35.0666' N – 

75° 51.2000' W; running southerly to 

Rawls Island to a point 35° 34.4666' N 

– 75° 50.9666' W; running easterly to 

the east shore to a point 35° 34.2309' 

N – 75° 50.2695' W; 

(c) Wysocking Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning at Benson Point at a point 

35° 22.9684' N – 76° 03.7129' W; 

running northeasterly to Long Point to 

a point 35° 24.6895' N – 76° 01.3155' 

W; 

(d) Juniper Bay-Cunning Harbor - north 

of a line beginning on the west shore 

of Juniper Bay at a point 35° 20.6217' 

N – 76° 15.5447' W; running easterly 

to a point 35° 20.4372' N – 76° 

13.2697' W; running easterly to the 

east shore of Cunning Harbor to a 

point 35° 20.3413' N – 76° 12.3378' 

W; 

(e) Swanquarter Bay - north of a line 

beginning at The Narrows at a point 

35° 20.9500' N – 76° 20.6409' W; 

running easterly to the east shore to a 

point 35° 21.5959' N – 76° 18.3580' 

W; 

(f) Deep Cove - The Narrows - north and 

east of a line beginning on the west 

shore at a point 35° 20.9790' N – 76° 

23.8577' W; running southeasterly to 

Swanquarter Island to a point 35° 

20.5321' N – 76° 22.7869' W; and west 

of a line at The Narrows beginning on 

the north shore to a point 35° 20.9500' 

N – 76° 20.6409' W; running southerly 

to Swanquarter Island to a point 35° 

20.7025' N – 76° 20.5620' W; 

(g) Rose Bay - north of a line beginning 

on Long Point at a point 35° 23.3404' 

N – 76° 26.2491' W; running 

southeasterly to Drum Point to a point 

35° 22.4891' N – 76° 25.2012' W; 

(h) Spencer Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning on Roos Point at a point 35° 

22.3866' N – 76° 27.9225' W; running 

northeasterly to Long Point to a point 

35° 23.3404' N – 76° 26.2491' W; 

(i) Abel Bay - northeast of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

35° 23.6463' N – 76° 31.0003' W; 

running southeasterly to the east shore 

to a point 35° 22.9353' N – 76° 

29.7215' W; 

(j) Mouse Harbor - west of a line 

beginning on Persimmon Tree Point at 

a point 35° 18.3915' N – 76° 29.0454' 

W; running southerly to Yaupon 
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Hammock Point to a point 35° 

17.1825' N – 76° 28.8713' W; 

(k) Big Porpoise Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning on Big Porpoise Point at a 

point 35° 15.6993' N – 76° 28.2041' 

W; running southwesterly to Middle 

Bay Point to a point 35° 14.9276' N – 

76° 28.8658' W; 

(l) Middle Bay - west of a line beginning 

on Deep Point at a point 35° 14.8003' 

N – 76° 29.1923' W; running southerly 

to Little Fishing Point to a point 35° 

13.5419' N – 76° 29.6123' W; 

(m) Jones Bay - west of a line beginning 

on Mink Trap Point at a point 35° 

13.4968' N – 76° 31.1040' W; running 

southerly to Boar Point to a point 35° 

12.3253' N – 76° 31.2767' W; and 

(n) In in the Bay River Area: 

(i) Bonner Bay - southeast of a 

line beginning on the west 

shore at a point 35° 09.6281' 

N – 76° 36.2185' W; running 

northeasterly to Davis Island 

Point to a point 35° 10.0888' 

N – 76° 35.2587' W; and 

(ii) Gales Creek-Bear Creek - 

north and west of a line 

beginning on Sanders Point 

at a point 35° 11.2833' N – 

76° 35.9000' W; running 

northeasterly to the east shore 

to a point 35° 11.9000' N – 

76° 34.2833' W; 

(3) In in the Pamlico and Pungo Rivers Area: 

(a) Pungo River - north of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

35° 32.2000' N – 76° 29.2500' W; 

running east near Beacon "21" to the 

east shore to a point 35° 32.0833' N – 

76° 28.1500' W; 

(b) Pungo Creek - west of a line beginning 

on Persimmon Tree Point at a point 

35° 30.7633' N – 76° 38.2831' W; 

running southwesterly to Windmill 

Point to a point 35° 31.1546' N – 76° 

37.7590' W; 

(c) Scranton Creek - south and east of a 

line beginning on the west shore at a 

point 35° 30.6810' N – 76° 28.3435' 

W; running easterly to the east shore 

to a point 35° 30.7075' N – 76° 

28.6766' W; 

(d) Slade Creek - east of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 35° 

27.8879' N – 76° 32.9906' W; running 

southeasterly to the east shore to a 

point 35° 27.6510' N – 76° 32.7361' 

W; 

(b)(e) Fortescue Creek - east of a line 

beginning on Pasture Point at a point 

35° 25.9213' N – 76° 31.9135' W; 

running southerly to the Lupton Point 

shore to a point 35° 25.6012' N – 76° 

31.9641' W; 

(c)(f) Pamlico River - west of a line 

beginning on Ragged Point at a point 

35° 27.5768' N – 76° 54.3612' W; 

running southwesterly to Mauls Point 

to a point 35° 26.9176' N – 76° 

55.5253' W; 

(d)(g) North Creek - north of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 35° 

25.3988' N – 76° 40.0455' W; running 

southeasterly to the east shore to a 

point 35° 25.1384' N – 76° 39.6712' 

W; 

(h) South Creek - west of a line beginning 

on Hickory Point at a point 35° 

21.7385' N – 76° 41.5907' W; running 

southerly to Fork Point to a point 35° 

20.7534' N – 76° 41.7870' W; 

(i) Bond Creek/Muddy Creek - south of a 

line beginning on Fork Point at a point 

35° 20.7534' N – 76° 41.7870' W; 

running southeasterly to Gum Point to 

a point 35° 20.5632' N – 76° 41.4645' 

W; 

(e)(j) In in the Goose Creek Area, Campbell 

Creek - west of a line beginning on the 

north shore at a point 35° 17.3600' N – 

76° 37.1096' W; running southerly to 

the south shore to a point 35° 16.9876' 

N – 76° 37.0965' W; and 

(f)(k) Oyster Creek-Middle 

Prong - southwest of a line beginning 

on Pine Hammock at a point 35° 

19.5586' N – 76° 32.8830' W; running 

easterly to Cedar Island to a point 35° 

19.5490' N – 76° 32.7365' W; and 

southwest of a line beginning on Cedar 

Island at a point 35° 19.4921' N – 76° 

32.2590' W; running southeasterly to 

Beard Island Point to a point 35° 

19.1265' N – 76° 31.7226' W; 

(4) In in the Neuse River Area: 

(a) Lower Broad Creek - west of a line 

beginning on the north shore at a point 

35° 05.8314' N – 76° 35.3845' W; 

running southwesterly to the south 

shore to a point 35° 05.5505' N – 76° 

35.7249' W; 

(b) Greens Creek - north of a line 

beginning on the west shore of Greens 

Creek at a point 35° 01.3476' N – 76° 

42.1740' W; running northeasterly to 

the east shore to a point 35° 01.4899' 

N – 76° 41.9961' W; 
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(c) Dawson Creek - north of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

34° 59.5920' N – 76° 45.4620' W; 

running southeasterly to the east shore 

to a point 34° 59.5800' N – 76° 

45.4140' W; 

(d) Goose Creek - north and east of a line 

beginning at a point on the west shore 

at a point 35° 02.6642' N – 76° 

56.4710' W; running southeasterly to a 

point on Cooper Point 35° 02.0908' N 

– 76° 56.0092' W; 

(e) Upper Broad Creek - northeast of a 

line beginning at a point on Rowland 

Point on the north shore at a point 35° 

02.6166' N – 76° 56.4500' W; running 

southeasterly to the south shore to a 

point 35° 02.8960' N – 76° 56.7865' 

W; 

(f) Clubfoot Creek - south of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

34° 54.5424' N – 76° 45.7252' W; 

running easterly to the east shore to a 

point 34° 54.4853' N – 76° 45.4022' 

W; and 

(g) In in the Adams Creek Area, Cedar 

Creek - east of a line beginning on the 

north shore at a point 34° 56.1203' N – 

76° 38.7988' W; running southerly to 

the south shore to a point 34° 55.8745' 

N – 76° 38.8153' W; 

(5) Newport River - west of a line beginning near 

Penn Point on the south shore at a point 34° 

45.6960' N – 76° 43.5180' W; running 

northeasterly to the north shore to a point 34° 

46.8490' N – 76° 43.3296' W; 

(5)(6) Virginia Creek - all waters of the natural 

channel northwest of the primary nursery area 

line; 

(6)(7) Old Topsail Creek - all waters of the dredged 

channel northwest of the primary nursery area 

line; 

(7)(8) Mill Creek - all waters west of a line beginning 

on the north shore at a point 34° 20.6420' N – 

77° 42.1220' W; running southwesterly to the 

south shore to a point 34° 20.3360' N – 77° 

42.2400' W; 

(8)(9) Pages Creek - all waters west of a line 

beginning on the north shore at a point 34° 

16.1610' N – 77° 45.9930' W; running 

southwesterly to the south shore to a point 34° 

15.9430' N – 77° 46.1670' W; 

(9)(10) Bradley Creek - all waters west of a line 

beginning on the north shore at a point 34° 

12.7030' N – 77° 49.1230' W; running southerly 

near the dredged channel to a point 34° 12.4130' 

N – 77° 49.2110' W; and 

(11) Cape Fear River - all waters bounded by a line 

beginning on the south side of the Spoil Island 

at the intersection of the Intracoastal Waterway 

and the Cape Fear River ship channel at a point 

34° 01.5780' N – 77° 56.0010' W; running 

easterly to the east shore of the Cape Fear River 

to a point 34° 01.7230' N – 77° 55.1010' W; 

running southerly and bounded by the shoreline 

to the Ferry Slip at Federal Point at a point 33° 

57.8080' N – 77° 56.4120' W; running northerly 

to Bird Island to a point 33° 58.3870' N – 77° 

56.5780' W; running northerly along the west 

shoreline of Bird Island and the Cape Fear 

River spoil islands back to point of origin; 

(12) Lockwood Folly River - all waters north of a 

line beginning on Howells Point at a point 33° 

55.3680' N – 78° 12.7930' W and running in a 

westerly direction along the Intracoastal 

Waterway near Intracoastal Waterway Marker 

"46" to a point 33° 55.3650' N – 78° 13.8500' 

W; 

(13) Saucepan Creek - all waters north of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 33° 

54.6290' N – 78° 22.9170' W; running 

northeasterly to the east shore to a point 33° 

54.6550' N – 78° 22.8670' W; and 

(10)(14) Davis Creek - all waters east of a line beginning 

on Horse Island at a point 33° 55.0160' N – 78° 

12.7380' W; running southerly to Oak Island to 

a point 33° 54.9190' N – 78° 12.7170' W; 

continuing upstream to the primary nursery line 

and Davis Canal, all waters southeast of a line 

beginning on Pinner Point at a point 33° 

55.2930' N – 78° 11.6390' W; running 

southwesterly across the mouth of Davis Canal 

to the spoil island at the southwest intersection 

of the IWW Intracoastal Waterway and Davis 

Canal to a point 33° 55.2690' N – 78° 11.6550' 

W. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0105 SPECIAL SECONDARY 

NURSERY AREAS 

The special secondary nursery areas referenced in 15A NCAC 

03N .0105(b) are designated in the following coastal water areas: 

(1) Roanoke Sound: 

(a) Outer Shallowbag Bay - west of a line 

beginning on Baum Point at a point 

35° 55.1461' N – 75° 39.5618' W; 

running southeasterly to Ballast Point 

to a point 35° 54.6250' N – 75° 

38.8656' W; including the canal on the 

southeast shore of Shallowbag Bay; 

and 

(b) Kitty Hawk Bay/Buzzard Bay - within 

the area designated by a line beginning 

at a point on the east shore of 

Collington Colington Creek at a point 

36 02.4360' N – 75 42.3189' W; 

running westerly to a point 36 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:07 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2020 

769 

02.6630' N – 75 41.4102' W; running 

along the shoreline to a point 36 

02.3264' N – 75 42.3889' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 36 02.1483' 

N – 75 42.4329' W; running along the 

shoreline to a point 36 01.6736' N – 

75 42.5313' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 36 01.5704' 

N – 75 42.5899' W; running along the 

shoreline to a point 36 00.9162' N – 

75 42.2035' W; running southeasterly 

to a point 36 00.8253' N – 75 

42.0886' W; running along the 

shoreline to a point 35 59.9886' N – 

75 41.7284' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 35 59.9597' 

N – 75 41.7682' W; running along the 

shoreline to the mouth of Buzzard Bay 

to a point 35 59.6480' N – 75 

32.9906' W; running easterly to Mann 

Point to a point 35 59.4171' N – 75 

32.7361' W; running northerly along 

the shoreline to the point of beginning; 

(2) In the Pamlico and Pungo rivers Area: 

(a) Pungo Creek - west of a line beginning 

on Persimmon Tree Point at a point 

35° 30.7633' N – 76° 38.2831' W; 

running southwesterly to Windmill 

Point to a point 35° 31.1546' N – 76° 

37.7590' W; 

(b) Scranton Creek - south and east of a 

line beginning on the west shore at a 

point 35° 30.6810' N – 76° 28.3435' 

W; running easterly to the east shore 

to a point 35° 30.7075' N – 76° 

28.6766' W; 

(c) Slade Creek - east of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 35° 

27.8879' N – 76° 32.9906' W; running 

southeasterly to the east shore to a 

point 35° 27.6510' N – 76° 32.7361' 

W; 

(d) South Creek - west of a line beginning 

on Hickory Point at a point 35° 

21.7385' N – 76° 41.5907' W; running 

southerly to Fork Point to a point 35° 

20.7534' N – 76° 41.7870' W; and 

(e) Bond Creek/Muddy Creek - south of a 

line beginning on Fork Point 35° 

20.7534' N – 76° 41.7870' W; running 

southeasterly to Gum Point to a point 

35° 20.5632' N – 76° 41.4645' W; 

(3)(2) In in the West Bay Area:  

(a) West Thorofare Bay - south of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

34° 57.2199' N – 76° 24.0947' W; 

running easterly to the east shore to a 

point 34° 57.4871' N – 76° 23.0737' 

W; 

(b) Long Bay-Ditch Bay - west of a line 

beginning on the north shore of Ditch 

Bay at a point 34° 57.9388' N – 76° 

27.0781' W; running southwesterly to 

the south shore of Ditch Bay to a point 

34° 57.2120' N – 76° 27.2185' W; then 

south of a line running southeasterly to 

the east shore of Long Bay to a point 

34° 56.7633' N – 76° 26.3927' W; and 

(c) Turnagain Bay - south of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 

34° 59.4065' N – 76° 30.1906' W; 

running easterly to the east shore to a 

point 34° 59.5668' N – 76° 29.3557' 

W; 

(4)(3) In in the Core Sound Area: 

(a) Cedar Island Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning near the gun club dock at a 

point 34° 58.7203' N – 76° 15.9645' 

W; running northeasterly to the south 

shore to a point 34° 57.7690' N – 76° 

16.8781' W; 

(b) Thorofare Bay-Barry Bay - northwest 

of a line beginning on Rumley 

Hammock at a point 34° 55.4853' N – 

76° 18.2487' W; running northeasterly 

to Hall Point to a point 34° 54.4227' N 

– 76° 19.1908' W; 

(c) Nelson Bay - northwest of a line 

beginning on the west shore of Nelson 

Bay at a point 34° 51.1353' N – 76° 

24.5866' W; running northeasterly to 

Drum Point to a point 34° 51.6417' N 

– 76° 23.7620' W; 

(d) Brett Bay - north of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 34° 

49.4019' N – 76° 26.0227' W; running 

easterly to Piney Point to a point 34° 

49.5799' N – 76° 25.0534' W; and 

(e) Jarrett Bay - north of a line beginning 

on the west shore near Old Chimney at 

a point 34° 45.5743' N – 76° 30.0076' 

W; running easterly to a point east of 

Davis Island 34° 45.8325' N – 76° 

28.7955' W; 

(5)(4) In in the North River Area: 

(a) North River - north of a line beginning 

on the west shore at a point 34° 

46.0383' N – 76° 37.0633' W; running 

easterly to a point on the east shore 34° 

46.2667' N – 76° 35.4933' W; and 

(b) Ward Creek - east of a line beginning 

on the north shore at a point 34° 

46.2667' N – 76° 35.4933' W; running 

southerly to the south shore to a point 

34° 45.4517' N – 76° 35.1767' W; 
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(6) Newport River - west of a line beginning near 

Penn Point on the south shore at a point 34° 

45.6960' N – 76° 43.5180' W; running 

northeasterly to the north shore to a point 34° 

46.8490' N – 76° 43.3296' W; 

(7)(5) New River - all waters upstream of a line 

beginning on the north side of the N.C. 

Highway 172 Bridge at a point 34° 34.7680' N 

– 77° 23.9940' W; running southerly to the 

south side of the bridge at a point 34° 34.6000' 

N – 77° 23.9710' W; 

(8)(6) Chadwick Bay - all waters west of a line 

beginning on the northeast side of Chadwick 

Bay at a point 34° 32.5630' N – 77° 21.6280' 

W; running southeasterly to a point near Marker 

"6" at 34° 32.4180' N – 77° 21.6080' W; 

running westerly to Roses Point at a point 34° 

32.2240' N – 77° 22.2880' W; following the 

shoreline in Fullard Creek to a point 34° 

32.0340' N – 77° 22.7160' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34° 32.2210' N – 77° 

22.8080' W; following the shoreline to the west 

point of Bump's Creek at a point 34° 32.3430' 

N – 77° 22.4570' W; running northeasterly to 

the east shore to a point 34° 32.4400' N – 77° 

22.3830' W; following the shoreline of 

Chadwick Bay back to the point of origin; and 

(9)(7) Intracoastal Waterway - all waters in the IWW 

Intracoastal Waterway maintained channel 

from a point near Marker "17" north of 

Alligator Bay 34° 30.7930' N – 77° 23.1290' W; 

to a point near Marker "49" at Morris Landing 

at a point 34° 28.0820' N – 77° 30.4710' W; and 

all waters in the IWW Intracoastal Waterway 

maintained channel and 100 feet on either side 

from Marker "49" to the N.C. Highway 50-210 

Bridge at Surf City; City. 

(10) Cape Fear River - all waters bounded by a line 

beginning on the south side of the Spoil Island 

at the intersection of the IWW and the Cape 

Fear River ship channel at a point 34° 01.5780' 

N – 77° 56.0010' W; running easterly to the east 

shore of the Cape Fear River to a point 34° 

01.7230' N – 77° 55.1010' W; running southerly 

and bounded by the shoreline to the Ferry Slip 

at Federal Point at a point 33° 57.8080' N – 77° 

56.4120' W; running northerly to Bird Island to 

a point 33° 58.3870' N – 77° 56.5780' W; 

running northerly along the west shoreline of 

Bird Island and the Cape Fear River spoil 

islands back to point of origin; 

(11) Lockwood Folly River - all waters north of a 

line beginning on Howells Point at a point 33° 

55.3680' N – 78° 12.7930' W and running in a 

westerly direction along the IWW near IWW 

Marker "46" to a point 33° 55.3650' N – 78° 

13.8500' W; and 

(12) Saucepan Creek - all waters north of a line 

beginning on the west shore at a point 33° 

54.6290' N – 78° 22.9170' W; running 

northeasterly to the east shore to a point 33° 

54.6550' N – 78° 22.8670' W. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0117 OYSTER SANCTUARIES 

The Oyster Sanctuaries referenced in 15A NCAC 03K .0209 are 

delineated in the following coastal water areas: 

(1) Croatan Sound area: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 48.2842' N - 

75 38.3360' W; running southerly to a point 

35 48.1918' N - 75 38.3360' W; running 

westerly to a point 35 48.1918' N - 75 

38.4575' W; running northerly to a point 35 

48.2842' N - 75 38.4575' W; running easterly 

to the point of beginning. 

(2)(1) Pamlico Sound area: 

(a) Croatan Sound: within the area 

described by a line beginning at a 

point 35 48.2842' N - 75 38.3360' 

W; running southerly to a point 35 

48.1918' N - 75 38.3360' W; running 

westerly to a point 35 48.1918' N - 

75 38.4575' W; running northerly to a 

point 35 48.2842' N - 75 38.4575' 

W; running easterly to the point of 

beginning. 

(a)(b) Crab Hole: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

43.6833' N - 75 40.5083' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 43.5000' N - 

75 40.5083' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 43.5000' N - 75 40.7500' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

43.6833' N - 75 40.7500' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(c) Pea Island: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

05.4760' N - 76 23.5370' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 05.4760' N - 

76 23.4040' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 05.3680' N - 76 23.4040' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

05.3680' N - 76 23.5370' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(d) Long Shoal: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

33.8600' N - 75 49.9000' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 33.8600' N - 

75 49.7670' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 33.7510' N - 75 49.7670' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

33.7510' N - 75 49.9000' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(b)(e) Gibbs Shoal: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 
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27.3557' N - 75 55.8434' W; 35° 

27.3550' N - 75° 55.9190' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 27.1732' N - 

75 55.8434' W; 35° 27.1010' N - 75° 

55.9190' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 27.1732' N - 75 56.0735' 

W; 35° 27.1010' N - 75° 56.2300' W; 

running northerly to a point 35 

27.3557' N - 75 56.0735' W; 35° 

27.3550' N - 75° 56.2300' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(c)(f) Deep Bay: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

22.9126' N - 76 22.1612' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 22.7717' N - 

76 22.1612' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 22.7717' N - 76 22.3377' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

22.9126' N - 76 22.3377' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(d)(g) West Bluff: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

18.3000' N - 76 10.0890' W; 35 

18.3160' N - 76 10.2960' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 18.1460' N 76 

10.0890' W; 35 18.3160' N - 76 

10.0690' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 18.1460' N - 76 10.2760' 

W; 35 18.1290' N - 76 10.0690' W; 

running northerly to a point 35 

18.3000' N - 76 10.2760' W; 35 

18.1290' N - 76 10.2960' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(e) Clam Shoal: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

17.4800' N - 75 37.1800' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 17.1873' N - 

75 37.1800' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 17.1873' N - 75 37.4680' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

17.4800' N - 75 37.4680' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(f)(h) Middle Bay: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

14.1580' N - 76 30.1780' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 14.1150' N - 

76 30.1780' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 14.1150' N - 76 30.3320' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

14.1580' N - 76 30.3320' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(i) Swan Island: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

05.6170' N - 76 27.5040' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 05.6020' N - 

76 26.7650' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 05.4850' N - 76 26.7640' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

05.4990' N - 76 27.5030' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(g) Ocracoke area: within the area 

described by a line beginning at a 

point 35 10.8150' N - 75 59.6320' 

W; running southerly to a point 35 

10.6320' N - 75 59.6320' W; running 

westerly to a point 35 10.6320' N - 

75 59.8530' W; running northerly to a 

point 35 10.8150' N - 75 59.8530' 

W; running easterly to the point of 

beginning. 

(j) Raccoon Island: within the area 

described by a line beginning at a 

point 35 05.4760' N - 76 23.5370' 

W; running southerly to a point 35 

05.4760' N - 76 23.4040' W; running 

westerly to a point 35 05.3860' N - 

76 23.4040' W; running northerly to a 

point 35 05.3680' N - 76 23.5370' 

W; running easterly to the point of 

beginning. 

(h)(k) West Bay: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 34 

58.8517' N - 76 21.3632' W; running 

southerly to a point 34 58.7661' N - 

76 21.3632' W; running westerly to a 

point 34 58.7661' N - 76 21.4735' 

W; running northerly to a point 34 

58.8517' N - 76 21.4735' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(3)(2) Neuse River: River area: 

(a) Little Creek: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

02.6940' N - 76 30.9840' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 02.6940' N - 

76 30.7940' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 02.5380' N - 76 30.7940' 

W; running northerly to a point 35 

02.5380' N - 76 30.9840' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 

(b) Neuse River: within the area described 

by a line beginning at a point 35 

00.4742' N - 76 31.9550' W; 35° 

00.4910' N - 76° 31.9350' W; running 

southerly to a point 35 00.3920' N - 

76 31.9550' W; 35° 00.3750' N - 76° 

31.9350' W; running westerly to a 

point 35 00.3920' N - 76 32.0550' 

W; 35° 00.3750' N - 76° 32.0750' W; 

running northerly to a point 35 

00.4742' N - 76 32.0550' W; 35° 

00.4910' N - 76° 32.0750' W; running 

easterly to the point of beginning. 
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-204; 

143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A – SANITATION 

 

SECTION .0100 - HANDLING: PACKING: AND 

SHIPPING OF CRUSTACEA MEAT 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0140 FLOORS 

Floors shall be of concrete or other equally impervious material, 

constructed so that they may be easily cleaned and shall be sloped 

so that water drains. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0141 WALLS AND CEILINGS 

(a)  Walls and ceilings shall be constructed of smooth, easily 

cleanable, non-corrosive, impervious material. 

(b)  Insulation on cooked crustacea cooler walls shall be covered 

to the ceiling with a smooth, easily cleanable, non-corrosive, 

impervious material. 

(c)  Doors and windows shall be properly fitted and maintained in 

good repair. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0142 LIGHTING 

(a)  Natural or artificial lighting shall be provided in all parts of 

the facility. Minimum lighting intensities shall be as follows: 

(1) 50 foot-candles on working surfaces in the 

picking and packing rooms and areas. 

(2) 10 foot-candles measured at a height of 30 

inches above the floor throughout the rest of the 

processing portion of the facility. 

(b)  Light bulbs within the processing portion of the facility shall 

be shatterproof or shielded to prevent product contamination in 

case of breakage. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0143 VENTILATION 

All rooms and areas shall be ventilated. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0146 PREMISES 

(a)  Premises under the control of the owner shall be kept clean at 

all times. Waste materials, rubbish, other articles articles, or litter 

shall not be permitted to accumulate on the premises. Other items 

shall be properly stored. 

(b)  Measures shall be taken to prevent the harborage and breeding 

of insects, rodents rodents, and other vermin on premises. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

15A NCAC 18A .0150 SEWAGE DISPOSAL 

All sewage and other liquid wastes shall be disposed of in a public 

sewer system or in the absence of a public sewer system, by an 

on-site method approved by the Division of Marine Fisheries or 

the Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources. 

Environmental Quality. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0154 EMPLOYEES' PERSONAL 

ARTICLES 

Employees' street clothing, aprons, gloves gloves, and personal 

articles shall not be stored in rooms or areas described in Rule 

.0159(b) of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0155 SUPPLY STORAGE 

Shipping containers, boxes boxes, and other supplies shall be 

stored in a storage room or area. The storage room or area shall 

be kept clean. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0159 SEPARATION OF OPERATIONS 

(a)  Facility design shall provide for continuous flow of raw 

materials and product to prevent contamination by exposure to 

areas involved in earlier processing steps, refuse refuse, or other 

areas subject to contamination. 

(b)  The following processes shall be carried out in separate rooms 

or areas: 

(1) Raw raw crustacea receiving or refrigeration. 

refrigeration; 

(2) Crustacea cooking. crustacea cooking; 

(3) Cooked cooked crustacea air-cool. air-cool; 

(4) Cooked cooked crustacea refrigeration. 

refrigeration; 

(5) Picking. picking; 

(6) Packing. packing; 

(7) Picked picked crustacea meat refrigeration. 

refrigeration; 

(8) Pasteurizing/thermal processing. pasteurizing 

or thermal processing; 

(9) Machine picking. machine picking; 

(10) Repacking. repacking; and 

(11) Other other processes when carried out in 

conjunction with the cooking of crustacea or 

crustacea meat. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0160 RAW CRUSTACEA RECEIVING 

AND REFRIGERATION 

(a)  Only fresh crustacea shall be accepted for processing. 
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(b)  Within two hours of receipt at the facility, crustacea shall be 

cooked or placed in a refrigerated area maintaining a temperature 

of 50 F (10 (10 C) or below. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0163 COOKED CRUSTACEA 

REFRIGERATION 

(a)  The cooked crustacea cooler shall be large enough to store all 

cooked crustacea and maintain a minimum temperature of 40 F 

(4.4 C). The cooler shall open directly into the picking room or 

into a clean, enclosed area leading into the picking room. 

(b)  Cooked crustacea shall be stored at a temperature between 

33 F (0.5 C) and 40 F (4.4 C) ambient air temperature if not 

immediately processed. The cooler shall be equipped with an 

accurate, operating thermometer. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0167 DELIVERY WINDOW OR 

SHELF 

A delivery window or a non-corrosive shelf shall be provided 

between the picking room and packing room or area. The delivery 

window shall be equipped with a shelf completely covered with 

smooth, non-corrosive metal or other material approved by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries and sloped to drain towards the 

picking room. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0169 FREEZING 

(a)  If crustacea or crustacea meat is to be frozen, the code date 

shall be followed by the letter "F." 

(b)  Frozen crustacea or crustacea meat shall be stored at a 

temperature of 0 F (-18 C) or less. 

(c)  The frozen storage rooms shall be equipped with an accurate, 

operating thermometer. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0170 SHIPPING 

Cooked crustacea and crustacea meat shall be shipped between 

33 F (0.5 C) and 40 F (4.4 C). Frozen crustacea products shall 

be shipped at 0 F (-18 C) or below. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0171 WHOLE CRUSTACEA OR 

CRUSTACEA PRODUCTS 

Whole crustacea, claws claws, or any other crustacea products 

shall be prepared, packaged packaged, and labeled in accordance 

with the rules of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0172 COOKED CLAW SHIPPING 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  Vehicles used to transport cooked claws shall be mechanically 

refrigerated, enclosed, tightly constructed, kept clean clean, and 

equipped with an operating thermometer. 

(b)  Cooked crab claws shall be stored and transported between 

33 F (0.5 C) and 40 F (4.4 C) ambient air temperature. 

(c)  All vehicles shall be approved by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries prior to use. 

(d)  Cooked claw shipping containers shall be marked for intended 

use, cleaned cleaned, and sanitized prior to use and approved by 

the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0179 RECALL PROCEDURE 

Each owner of a cooked crustacea or crustacea meat facility or 

repacker facility shall keep on file a written product recall 

procedure. A copy of this recall procedure shall be provided to the 

Division. Division of Marine Fisheries. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0180 SAMPLING AND TESTING 

Samples of cooked crustacea or crustacea meat may be taken and 

examined by the Division of Marine Fisheries at any time or place. 

Samples of cooked crustacea or crustacea meat shall be furnished 

by the owner or operator of facilities, trucks, carriers, stores, 

restaurants restaurants, and other places where cooked crustacea 

or crustacea meat are sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0188 HAZARD ANALYSIS 

Each dealer shall conduct a hazard analysis to determine the food 

safety hazards that are reasonably likely to occur for each kind of 

crustacea or crustacea meat product processed by that dealer and 

to identify the preventative measures that the dealer can apply to 

control those hazards. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0189 HACCP PLAN 

Each dealer shall have and implement a written HACCP Hazard 

Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) Plan. The owner 

or authorized designee shall sign the plan when implemented and 

after any modification. The plan shall be reviewed and updated, if 

necessary, at least annually. The plan shall, at a minimum: 

(1) List list the food safety hazards that are 

reasonably likely to occur; 

(2) List list the critical control points for each of the 

food safety hazards; 
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(3) List list the critical limits that must be met for 

each of the critical control points; 

(4) List list the procedures, and frequency thereof, 

that will be used to monitor each of the critical 

control points to ensure compliance with the 

critical limits; 

(5) List list any corrective action plans to be 

followed in response to deviations from critical 

limits at critical control points; 

(6) Provide provide a record keeping system that 

documents critical control point monitoring; 

and 

(7) List list the verification procedures, and 

frequency thereof, that the dealer will use. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0190 SANITATION MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

Each dealer shall monitor, at a minimum, the following sanitation 

items: 

(1) Safety safety of water; 

(2) Condition condition and cleanliness of food 

contact surfaces; 

(3) Prevention prevention of cross contamination; 

(4) Maintenance maintenance of hand washing, 

hand sanitizing sanitizing, and toilet facilities; 

(5) Protection protection of crustacea or crustacea 

meat, crustacea or crustacea meat packaging 

materials materials, and food contact surfaces 

from adulteration; 

(6) Proper proper labeling, storage storage, and use 

of toxic compounds; 

(7) Control control of employees with adverse 

health conditions; and 

(8) Exclusion exclusion of pests from the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

SECTION .0400 - SANITATION OF 

SHELLFISH - GENERAL OPERATION STANDARDS  

 

15A NCAC 18A .0431 STANDARDS FOR AN 

APPROVED SHELLFISH GROWING AREA 

In order that an area be approved for shellfish harvesting for direct 

market purposes the following criteria must be satisfied as 

indicated by sanitary survey: 

(1) the shoreline survey has indicated that there is 

no significant point source contamination; 

(2) the area is not so contaminated with fecal 

material that consumption of the shellfish might 

be hazardous; 

(3) the area is not so contaminated with 

radionuclides or industrial wastes that 

consumption of the shellfish might be 

hazardous; and 

(4) the median fecal coliform Most Probable 

Number (MPN) or the geometric mean MPN of 

water shall not exceed 14 per 100 milliliters, 

and not more than 10 percent of the samples 

shall exceed a fecal coliform MPN of 43 per 

100 milliliters (per five tube decimal dilution) 

in those portions of areas most probably 

exposed to fecal contamination during most 

unfavorable hydrographic conditions. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230. 

 

SECTION .0700 - OPERATION OF DEPURATION 

(MECHANICAL PURIFICATION) FACILITIES 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0704 LABORATORY PROCEDURES 

(a)  The laboratory and the laboratory operator shall be approved 

by the Division. All laboratory analyses used to evaluate the 

effectiveness of the depuration process shall be performed by a 

laboratory found to conform or provisionally conform to the 

requirements established under the National Shellfish Sanitation 

Program (NSSP), as determined by a Food and Drug 

Administration (FDA) Shellfish Laboratory Evaluation Officer or 

by an FDA certified State Shellfish Laboratory Evaluation 

Officer. 

(b)  The laboratory shall conduct routine bacterial examinations 

of process water and shellfish, and special examinations when 

necessary or required in accordance with Rule. 0706 of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)(b)  Bacterial examinations of shellfish and sea water shall be 

made in accordance with "Recommended Procedures for 

Examination of Sea Water and Shellfish", American Public 

Health Association, Inc., which is adopted by reference in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-14(c), or other methods approved by 

the Division. A copy of this publication is available for inspection 

at the Shellfish Sanitation Office, Marine Fisheries Building, 

Arendell Street, Morehead City, North Carolina 28557. All 

methods for the analysis of depuration process water and shellfish 

that are used to evaluate the effectiveness of the depuration 

process shall be cited in the latest approved edition of the NSSP 

Guide for the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, Section IV: 

Guidance Documents, subsection Approved NSSP Laboratory 

Tests or validated for use by the NSSP under the Constitution, 

Bylaws and Procedures of the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation 

Conference. If there is an immediate or ongoing critical need for 

a method and no method approved for use within the NSSP exists, 

the following may be used: 

(1) a validated Association of Analytical 

Communities, Bacteriological Analysis 

Manual, or Environmental Protection Agency 

method; or 

(2) an Emergency Use Method as set forth in the 

latest approved edition of the NSSP Guide for 

the Control of Molluscan Shellfish. 

(c)  The laboratory shall conduct examinations of depuration 

process water and shellfish and conduct special examinations if 

necessary or required, in accordance with Rules .0706 through 

.0709 of this Section. 
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(d)  All other physical, chemical, or biological tests shall be 

conducted according to "Standard Methods for the Examination 

of Water and Waste Water", prepared and published by American 

Public Health Association, American Water Works Association, 

and Water Pollution Control Federation, which is adopted by 

reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-14(c), or other methods 

approved by the Division. A copy of this publication is available 

for inspection at the Shellfish Sanitation Office, Fisheries 

Building, Arendell Street, Morehead City, North Carolina 28557. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

SECTION .0900 - CLASSIFICATION OF SHELLFISH 

GROWING WATERS  

 

15A NCAC 18A .0901 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section. 

(1) "Approved area" "Approved" means an area 

shellfish growing waters determined suitable 

for the harvesting of shellfish for direct market 

purposes. 

(2) "Closed-system marina" means a marina 

constructed in canals, basins, tributaries or any 

other area with restricted tidal flow. 

(3) "Colony forming unit" means an estimate of the 

number of viable bacteria cells in a sample as 

determined by a plate count. 

(3)(4) "Commercial marina" means marinas a marina 

that offer offers one or more of the following 

services: fuel, transient dockage, haul-out 

facilities, or repair services. 

(4)(5) "Conditionally approved area" approved" 

means an area shellfish growing waters that are 

subject to predictable intermittent pollution but 

that may be used for harvesting shellfish for 

direct market purposes when management plan 

criteria are met. 

(5) "Depuration" means mechanical purification or 

the removal of adulteration from live shellstock 

by any artificially controlled method. 

(6) "Division" means the Division of 

Environmental Health Marine Fisheries or its 

authorized agent. 

(7) "Estimated 90th percentile" means a statistic 

that measures the variability in a sample set that 

shall be calculated by: 

(a) calculating the arithmetic mean and 

standard deviation of the sample result 

logarithms (base 10); 

(b) multiplying the standard deviation in 

Sub-Item (a) of this Item by 1.28; 

(c) adding the product from Sub-Item (b) 

of this Item to the arithmetic mean; 

and 

(d) taking the antilog (base 10) of the 

results from Sub-Item (c) of this Item 

to determine the estimated 90th 

percentile. 

(7)(8) "Fecal coliform" means bacteria of the coliform 

group which that will produce gas from lactose 

in a multiple tube procedure liquid medium (EC 

or A-1) within 24 plus or minus two hours at 

44.5C plus or minus 0.2C in a water bath. 

(9) "Geometric mean" means the antilog (base 10) 

of the arithmetic mean of the sample result 

logarithm. 

(8) "Growing waters" means waters which support 

or could support shellfish life. 

(9)(10) "Marina" means any water area with a structure 

(dock, basin, floating dock, etc.) which that is 

utilized for docking or otherwise mooring 

vessels and constructed to provide temporary or 

permanent docking space for more than 10 

boats. 

(10)(11) "Marine biotoxins" means a poisonous 

substance accumulated by shellfish feeding 

upon dinoflagellates containing toxins. any 

poisonous compound produced by marine 

microorganisms and accumulated by 

shellstock. 

(12) "Median" means the middle number in a given 

sequence of numbers, taken as the average of 

the two middle numbers when the sequence has 

an even number of numbers. 

(11)(13) "Most probable number (MPN)" means a 

statistical estimate of the number of bacteria per 

unit volume and is determined from the number 

of positive results in a series of fermentation 

tubes. 

(14) "National Shellfish Sanitation Program 

(NSSP)" means the cooperative federal-state-

industry program for the sanitary control of 

shellfish that is adequate to ensure that the 

shellfish produced in accordance with the NSSP 

Guide For The Control Of Molluscan Shellfish 

will be safe and sanitary. 

(12)(15) "Open-system marina" means a marina 

constructed in an area where tidal currents have 

not been impeded by natural or man-made 

barriers. 

(13)(16) "Private marina" means any marina that is not a 

commercial marina as defined in this Rule. 

(14)(17) "Prohibited area" "Prohibited" means an area 

shellfish growing waters unsuitable for the 

harvesting of shellfish for direct market 

purposes. 

(15)(18) "Public health emergency" means any 

condition that may immediately cause shellfish 

waters to be unsafe for the harvest of shellfish 

for human consumption. 

(16) "Relaying" means the act of removing shellfish 

from one growing area or shellfish grounds to 

another area or ground for any purpose. 

(17)(19) "Restricted area" "Restricted" means an area 

shellfish growing waters from which shellfish 

may be harvested only by permit and are 

subjected to an approved depuration process or 
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relayed to an approved area. a suitable and 

effective treatment process through relaying or 

depuration. 

(18)(20) "Sanitary survey" means the written evaluation 

of factors that affect the sanitary quality of a 

shellfish growing area including sources of 

pollution, the effects of wind, tides and currents 

in the distribution and dilution of polluting 

materials, and the bacteriological quality of 

water. 

(19)(21) "Shellfish" means oysters, mussels, scallops 

and all varieties of clams. However "shellfish" 

as defined in G.S. 113-229, except the term 

shall not include scallops when the final 

product is the shucked adductor muscle only. 

(22) "Shellfish growing area" means a management 

unit that defines the boundaries of a sanitary 

survey and that is used to track the location 

where shellfish are harvested. 

(23) "Shellfish growing waters" means marine or 

estuarine waters that support or could support 

shellfish life. 

(24) "Shellstock" means live molluscan shellfish in 

the shell. 

(20)(25) "Shoreline survey" means a visual inspection of 

the environmental factors that affect the 

sanitary quality of a growing area and identifies 

sources of pollution when possible. an in-field 

inspection to identify and evaluate any potential 

or actual pollution sources or other 

environmental factors that may impact the 

sanitary quality of a shellfish growing area. 

(26) "Systematic random sampling strategy" means 

a sampling strategy designed to assess the 

bacteriological water quality of shellfish 

growing waters impacted by non-point sources 

of pollution and scheduled sufficiently far in 

advance to support random collection with 

respect to environmental conditions. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0902 CLASSIFICATION OF 

SHELLFISH GROWING WATERS 

(a)  All actual and potential shellfish growing areas waters shall 

be classified by the Division of Marine Fisheries as to their 

suitability for shellfish harvesting. Growing Shellfish growing 

waters shall be designated with one of the following 

classifications: 

(1) Approved area, approved; 

(2) Conditionally approved area, conditionally 

approved; 

(3) Restricted area, restricted; or 

(4) Prohibited area. prohibited. 

(b)  Maps showing the boundaries and classification of shellfish 

growing areas waters shall be maintained by the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0903 SANITARY SURVEY 

(a)  Growing Shellfish growing waters shall be divided into 

growing areas by the Division. Division of Marine Fisheries. 

Maps showing the boundaries of these shellfish growing areas 

shall be maintained by the Division and can be found at: 

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/shellfish-closure-maps. 

(b)  Except in shellfish growing areas where all shellfish growing 

waters are classified as prohibited, the Division shall complete a 

A sanitary survey report shall be conducted for each shellfish 

growing area at least once every three years years. except growing 

areas that are totally prohibited, and 

(c)  A sanitary survey report shall include the following: 

(1) A a shoreline survey. survey to evaluate 

pollution sources that may affect the area. 

(2) A hydrographic survey to evaluate 

meteorological and hydrographic an evaluation 

of meteorological, hydrodynamic, and 

geographic factors that may affect distribution 

of pollutants. 

(3) a bacteriological microbiological survey to 

assess water quality. A bacteriological 

microbiological survey shall include the 

collection of growing area water samples and 

their analysis for fecal coliforms. The number 

and location of sampling stations shall be 

selected to produce the data necessary to 

effectively evaluate all point and non-point 

pollution sources. sources identified during the 

shoreline survey. A minimum of 15 six samples 

shall be collected annually from each 

designated sampling station. sets of samples 

shall be collected from growing areas during 

the three year evaluation period. Areas without 

a shoreline may be sampled less frequently. 

(4) a determination of the appropriate classification 

for all shellfish growing waters within the 

shellfish growing area in accordance with Rule 

.0902 of this Section. 

(d)  A written sanitary survey report shall be required to designate 

any portion of a shellfish growing area with a classification other 

than prohibited, or for a reclassification from: 

(1) prohibited to any other classification; 

(2) restricted to conditionally approved or 

approved; or 

(3) conditionally approved to approved. 

All other reclassifications may be made without a sanitary survey. 

(e)  In each calendar year that a shellfish growing area is not 

evaluated with a sanitary survey, a written annual evaluation 

report shall be completed by the Division and shall include the 

following: 

(1) a microbiological survey to assess water quality 

as set forth in Subparagraph (c)(3) of this Rule. 

(2) an evaluation of changes in pollution source 

impacts that may affect the classifications of the 

shellfish growing area. 
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If the annual evaluation determines conditions have changed and 

a classification for shellfish growing waters is incorrect, the 

Division shall initiate action to reclassify the shellfish growing 

waters in accordance with Rule .0902 of this Section. 

(c)  Sanitary survey reports shall be prepared every three years. 

(d)(f)  All sanitary Sanitary survey reports and annual evaluation 

reports shall be maintained by the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0904 APPROVED AREAS WATERS 

An area Shellfish growing waters classified as approved for 

shellfish harvesting for direct market purposes, must satisfy shall 

meet the following criteria as indicated by a sanitary survey: 

survey, as set forth in Rule .0903 of this Section: 

(1) the shoreline survey has indicated that there is 

no significant point source contamination; 

indicates there are no significant point sources 

of pollution; 

(2) the area is not contaminated with fecal material, 

pathogenic microorganisms, poisonous and or 

deleterious substances, or marine biotoxins that 

may render consumption of the shellfish 

hazardous; and 

(3) the median fecal coliform Most Probable 

Number (MPN) or the geometric mean MPN of 

water shall not exceed 14 per 100 milliliters, 

and not more than ten percent of the samples 

shall exceed a fecal coliform MPN of 43 per 

100 milliliters (per five tube decimal dilution) 

in those portions of areas most probably 

exposed to fecal contamination during adverse 

pollution conditions. 

(3) the microbiological survey, as set forth in Rule 

.0903 (b)(3) of this Section, indicates the 

bacteriological water quality does not exceed 

the following standards based on results 

generated using the systematic random 

sampling strategy: 

(a) a median fecal coliform most probable 

number (MPN) or geometric mean 

MPN of 14 per 100 milliliters; 

(b) a median fecal coliform colony-

forming units (CFU) or geometric 

mean CFU of 14 per 100 milliliters; 

(c) an estimated 90th percentile of 43 

MPN per 100 milliliters for a five-tube 

decimal dilution test; or 

(d) an estimated 90th percentile of 31 CFU 

per 100 milliliters for a membrane 

filter membrane-Thermotolerant 

Escherichia coli (mTEC) test. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0905 CONDITIONALLY APPROVED 

AREAS WATERS 

(a)  An area Shellfish growing waters may be classified as 

conditionally approved if the Division of Marine Fisheries 

determines the following: 

(1) the sanitary survey indicates the area shellfish 

growing waters will not meet the approved area 

waters classification criteria as set forth in Rule 

.0904 of this Section under all conditions, for a 

reasonable period of time and the factors 

determining these periods are known and 

predictable. but will meet those criteria under 

certain conditions; 

(2) the conditions when the shellfish growing 

waters will meet the approved waters 

classification criteria are known and 

predictable; 

(3) the public bottom within those shellfish 

growing waters support a population of 

harvestable shellfish; and 

(4) staff are available to carry out the requirements 

defined in the management plan, as set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  A written management plan shall be developed by the 

Division for conditionally approved areas. This plan shall define 

the conditions under which the shellfish growing waters may be 

open to the harvest of shellfish. If the conditions defined in the 

management plan are not met, the Division shall immediately 

close the shellfish growing waters to shellfish harvesting. 

(c)  When management plan criteria are met the Division may 

recommend to the Division of Marine Fisheries the area may be 

opened to shellfish harvesting on a temporary basis. 

(d)  When management plan criteria are no longer met or public 

health appears to be jeopardized, the Division will recommend to 

the Division of Marine Fisheries immediate closure of the area to 

shellfish harvesting. 

(c)  All conditionally approved growing waters shall be re-

evaluated on an annual basis. A written report summarizing this 

re-evaluation shall be produced and shall include the following: 

(1) an evaluation of compliance with management 

plan criteria; 

(2) a review of the cooperation of all persons 

involved; 

(3) an evaluation of bacteriological water quality in 

the growing waters with respect to the standards 

for the classification; and 

(4) an evaluation of critical pollution sources. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0906 RESTRICTED AREAS 

(a)  An area Shellfish growing waters may be classified as 

restricted restricted if: when a sanitary survey indicates a limited 

degree of pollution and the area is not contaminated to the extent 

that indicates that consumption of shellfish could be hazardous 

after controlled depuration or relaying. 

(1) a sanitary survey indicates there are no 

significant point sources of pollution. 
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(2) levels of fecal pollution, human pathogens, or 

poisonous or deleterious substances are at such 

levels that shellstock can be made safe for 

human consumption by either relaying or 

depuration. 

(b)  Relaying of shellfish shall be conducted in accordance with 

all applicable rules, including 15A NCAC 03K and 15A NCAC 

18A, 18A .0300. Rules Governing the Sanitation of Shellfish. 

(c)  Depuration of shellfish shall be conducted in accordance with 

all applicable rules, including 15A NCAC 03K and 15A NCAC 

18A, 18A .0300 and .0700. Rules Governing the Sanitation of 

Shellfish. 

(d)  For shellfish growing waters classified as restricted and used 

as a source of shellstock for depuration, the microbiological 

survey, as set forth in Rule .0903 (b)(3) of this Section, indicates 

the bacteriological water quality does not exceed the following 

standards based on results generated using the systematic random 

sampling strategy: 

(1) a median fecal coliform most probable number 

(MPN) or geometric mean MPN of 88 per 100 

milliliters; 

(2) a median fecal coliform colony-forming units 

(CFU) or geometric mean CFU of 88 per 100 

milliliters; 

(3) an estimated 90th percentile of 260 MPN per 

100 milliliters for a five-tube decimal dilution 

test; or 

(4) an estimated 90th percentile of 163 CFU per 100 

milliliters for a membrane filter membrane-

Thermotolerant Escherichia coli (mTEC) test. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0907 PROHIBITED AREAS WATERS 

A growing area shall be classified prohibited if there is no current 

sanitary survey or if the sanitary survey or other monitoring 

program data indicate that the area does not meet the criteria as 

specified in approved, conditionally approved or restricted 

classifications. The taking of shellfish for any human food 

purposes from such areas shall be prohibited. 

Shellfish growing waters shall be classified as prohibited if: 

(1) no current sanitary survey, as set forth in Rule 

.0903 of this Section, exists for the growing 

area; or 

(2) the sanitary survey determines: 

(a) the shellfish growing waters are 

adjacent to a sewage treatment plant 

outfall or other point source outfall 

with public health significance. 

(b) the shellfish growing waters are 

contaminated with fecal material, 

pathogenic microorganisms, 

poisonous or deleterious substances, 

or marine biotoxins that render 

consumption of shellfish from those 

growing waters hazardous. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0908 UNSURVEYED AREAS  

Growing areas which have not been subjected to a sanitary survey 

shall be classified as prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0909 BUFFER ZONE ZONES 

A prohibited area shall be established as a buffer zone around each 

wastewater treatment plant outfall.  

(a)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall establish a buffer zone 

around the following: 

(1) marinas, in accordance with Rule .0911 of this 

Section. 

(2) wastewater treatment plant outfalls or other 

point source outfalls determined to be of public 

health significance, in accordance with the 

latest approved edition of the National Shellfish 

Sanitation Program Guide for the Control of 

Molluscan Shellfish, Section II: Model 

Ordinance, Chapter IV: Shellstock Growing 

Areas. 

(b)  Buffer zones shall be classified as prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0910 RECLASSIFICATION 

(a)  Any upward revision of an area classification shall be 

supported by a sanitary survey and documented in the sanitary 

survey report. 

(b)  A downward revision of an area classification may be made 

without a sanitary survey. 

(c)  When growing waters are reclassified, appropriate 

recommendations shall be made to the Division of Marine 

Fisheries regarding the opening and closure of the waters for the 

harvest of shellfish for human consumption. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0913 PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

(a)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall recommend to the 

Division of Marine Fisheries immediate closure of immediately 

close any potentially impacted shellfish growing waters to the 

harvesting of shellfish in the event of a public health emergency. 

(b)  The Division shall recommend to the Division of Marine 

Fisheries re-opening may re-open shellfish growing waters when 

if the condition causing the public health emergency no longer 

exists and shellfish have had sufficient time to purify naturally 

from possible contamination. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0914 LABORATORY PROCEDURES 

All laboratory examinations for water and shellfish used for the 

evaluation of growing areas shall be made in accordance with the 
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latest approved edition by the Food and Drug Administration of 

"Recommended Procedures for Examination of Sea Water and 

Shellfish", American Public Health Association, Inc., which is 

adopted by reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-14(c). A copy 

of this publication is available for inspection at the Shellfish 

Sanitation Office, Marine Fisheries Building, Arendell Street, 

Morehead City, North Carolina 28557. 

(a)  All laboratory analyses used for the evaluation of shellfish 

growing areas shall be performed by a laboratory found to 

conform or provisionally conform to the requirements established 

under the National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP), as 

determined by a Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Shellfish 

Laboratory Evaluation Officer or by an FDA certified State 

Shellfish Laboratory Evaluation Officer. 

(b)  All methods for the analysis of shellfish and shellfish growing 

waters that are used for the evaluation of shellfish growing areas 

shall be cited in the latest approved edition of the NSSP Guide for 

the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, Section IV: Guidance 

Documents, subsection Approved NSSP Laboratory Tests or 

validated for use by the NSSP under the Constitution, Bylaws and 

Procedures of the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation Conference. If 

there is an immediate or ongoing critical need for a method and 

no method approved for use within the NSSP exists, the following 

may be used: 

(1) a validated Association of Analytical 

Communities, Bacteriological Analysis 

Manual, or Environmental Protection Agency 

method; or 

(2) an Emergency Use Method as set forth in the 

latest approved edition of the NSSP Guide for 

the Control of Molluscan Shellfish. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

10B .0409; and 10H .1201-.1207. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 29, 2020 

Time:  6:00 pm 

Location:  Please follow this link to register for the webinar: 

https://ncwildlife.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_v9T879ApQzK

DtMp2wm7XKw or join by telephone: 877 853 5247 (Toll Free) 

or 888 788 0099 (Toll Free) Webinar ID: 970 1200 3770 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rules in 15A NCAC 10H 

.1200 were part of the agency’s 2016 periodic review of rules 

package.  All rules in this Section were determined to be necessary 

with substantive public interest and require readoption.  Because 

these rules have only been amended once since 1990, revisions 

were necessary to update language, clarify requirements and 

improve regulatory oversight.   

Because of the proposed changes to the 10H .1200 rules, 15A 

NCAC 10B .0409 needed to be updated to align the requirements 

for trappers to those for fox preserve owners. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rule-making Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  November 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING 

 

SECTION .0400 - TAGGING FURS 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0409 SALE OF LIVE FOXES AND 

COYOTES TO CONTROLLED FOX HUNTING 

PRESERVES 

(a)  In counties with a trapping season for foxes and coyotes that 

do not prohibit live sale, Licensed licensed trappers may, subject 

to the restrictions on taking foxes in G.S. 113-291.4, live-trap 

foxes and coyotes during any open trapping that season for foxes 

and coyotes, and sell them to licensed controlled fox hunting 

preserves in accordance with the following conditions: conditions 

set forth in this Rule. 

(1)(b)  Licensed trappers are exempt from caging, captivity permit 

or and captivity license requirements set forth in 15A NCAC 10H 

.0300 for any live-trapped foxes or coyotes trapped for the 

purpose of sale to controlled fox hunting preserves. This 
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exemption shall apply during the trapping season for foxes and 

coyotes, and for no more than 10 30 days after the trapping season. 

(c)  Live-trapped foxes and coyotes shall not be held for more than 

30 days after capture. 

(d)  Licensed trappers shall provide drinking water, food of a type 

and quantity appropriate for the species, and shelter that protects 

the foxes and coyotes from direct sunlight and precipitation. 

(2)(e)  Licensed trappers are shall be exempt from tagging 

requirements set forth in this Section so long as the foxes are kept 

alive. 

(f)  Licensed trappers and any individual(s) transporting live foxes 

and coyotes shall have a current and valid transportation permit 

prior to taking possession of the live foxes and coyotes. 

(g)  Licensed trappers shall keep accurate written records, on a 

form provided by the Commission, for all foxes and coyotes sold 

or transferred to a controlled fox hunting preserve. Records shall 

contain the following information: 

(1) preserve operator license number, if applicable; 

(2) transportation permit number; 

(3) county of origin; 

(4) number of animals of each species; 

(5) date of capture; and 

(6) date of sale or transfer. 

(h)  Records required pursuant to this Rule shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) available for inspection by representatives of 

the Commission upon request; 

(2) submitted to and received by the Commission 

annually by May 1; and 

(3) retained by the trapper for 12 months following 

transportation permit expiration. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g);113-291.4. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10H – REGULATED ACTIVITIES 

 

SECTION .1200 - CONTROLLED FOX HUNTING 

PRESERVES 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1201 LICENSE TO OPERATE 

DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The rules in this Section apply to all controlled hunting 

preserve operator licenses issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission (Commission) in accordance with G.S. 113-273(g) 

for controlled fox hunting preserves. 

(b)  The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this 

Section: 

(1) "Acclimation" means an adjustment period to 

allow foxes and coyotes to become accustomed 

to the controlled fox hunting preserve; 

(2) "Controlled fox hunting preserve" means an 

enclosed area where foxes and coyotes are 

pursued with dogs; 

(3) "Escape den" means a stationary manmade 

structure that provides refuge for foxes and 

coyotes from dogs; 

(4) "Dog proof fence" means a perimeter fence 

designed to prevent the ingress or egress of 

dogs, foxes, or coyotes over, under, or through 

the fence; and 

(5) "Fox" means red fox and gray fox including 

their color morphs. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful for any individual, firm, association or 

corporation Any individual wanting to operate a controlled fox 

hunting preserve without shall first obtain a controlled hunting 

preserve operator license from the Commission. North Carolina 

Wildlife Resources Commission a license for this purpose. 

(b)  A controlled fox hunting preserve license shall entitle the 

holder or holders and their guests, to hunt foxes and coyotes at 

any time within the fenced area. Controlled fox hunting preserve 

licenses shall not be transferable, either as to operator or as to site 

of operation. 

(c)(d)  Applicants for a controlled hunting preserve operator 

license shall be prepared to show proof of ownership or lease of 

the land contained in the proposed controlled fox hunting 

preserve. preserve or that they have this land under lease for the 

duration of the license period. 

(e)  Application for a controlled fox hunting preserve operator 

licenses shall be made on forms obtained from the Commission. 

online at www.ncwildlife.org or at the Commission headquarters 

located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606. Information 

required by the applicant shall include: 

(1) the applicant's name, address, telephone 

number, date of birth; 

(2) the preserve name, address, county, acreage, 

and GPS coordinates of preserve entrance; and 

(3) species within the preserve. 

(f)  Controlled hunting preserve operator licenses shall not be 

transferable, either by transferring the license or by relocating the 

site of the preserve. 

(d)(g)  Upon receipt of an application accompanied by the 

statutory license fee, the Commission shall issue a controlled fox 

hunting preserve operator license, provided it is determined that 

the location and operation of such a hunting preserve is consistent 

with the wildlife conservation program and in the public interest; 

and further provided that all regulations herein the rules in this 

Section regarding establishment of such areas have been complied 

with. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g). 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1202 ESTABLISHMENT AND 

OPERATION 

(a)  Size of Preserve. Controlled fox hunting preserves operated 

for commercial purposes shall be an area of not less than 500 acres 

except that smaller areas containing terrain and topographical 

features which offer escape cover to the fox and coyote 

populations are allowed under specific approval by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. Controlled fox hunting preserves shall be 

at least five acres in size. 

(b)  Boundary of Preserve. Unless otherwise approved by the 

Commission based upon the topography and hydrology of the 

preserve, A a controlled fox hunting preserve must preserve shall 

be enclosed with a dog-proof fence that is also designed to prevent 

the escape of foxes and coyotes released within the pen. This 

fencing must be maintained at all times. meets the following 

minimum requirements: 
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(1) is at least four feet high; 

(2) has a top electrified wire at least three feet 

above the ground surface; 

(3) has a bottom electrified wire no more than one 

foot above the ground surface; and 

(4) is free from structures or vegetation purposely 

placed or allowed to exist that enables wild 

animals to enter or exit the preserve. 

(c)  Escape Dens. Controlled fox hunting preserves less than 106 

acres shall have a minimum of three escape dens. Those preserves 

equal to or greater than 106 acres shall have one additional escape 

den per 1-35 acre interval thereafter. 

(d)  Stocking Preserve With with Game. Game: The following 

shall apply to foxes and coyotes released into a preserve: 

(1) only foxes and coyotes may be released onto 

controlled fox hunting preserves; 

(1)(2) In addition to purchasing operators may 

purchase live foxes and coyotes as provided in 

from: 

(A) licensed trappers in accordance with 

G.S. 113-273(g), 113-273(g); 

operators of controlled fox hunting 

preserves may also purchase live foxes 

and coyotes from 

(B) other licensed controlled fox hunting 

preserves, preserves; 

(C) licensed North Carolina fur 

propagators, propagators; or 

(D) persons holding foxes or coyotes 

legally under a North Carolina wildlife 

captivity license. license. 

(2)(3) Licensed licensed controlled fox hunting 

preserve operators may hold legally obtained 

foxes and coyotes under rules that apply to a 

captivity license in accordance with food, 

sanitation, and enclosure requirements in 15A 

NCAC 10H .1404; 

(4) licensed controlled fox hunting preserve 

operators and may transport legally acquired 

foxes and coyotes from the place of purchase to 

the controlled fox hunting preserve. preserve; 

and 

(3)(5) Foxes foxes and coyotes may shall not be 

imported into North Carolina for release into 

controlled fox hunting preserves. 

(4) The release of exotic wildlife into the controlled 

fox hunting preserves is specifically prohibited. 

(5) The possession of exotic wildlife on controlled 

fox hunting preserves is specifically prohibited. 

(6) individuals transporting live foxes and coyotes 

to or from a licensed operator shall have a valid 

transportation permit. 

(7) individuals transporting live foxes and coyotes 

on behalf of a licensed operator shall have a 

valid transportation permit or a copy of the 

operator's current license. 

(e)  Dog Density. Each controlled fox hunting preserve shall have 

an upper limit for dog density rounded to the nearest dog as 

follows: 

(1) fox only preserve: .5 dog per 1 acre; 

(2) fox and coyote preserve: .75 dog per 1 acre; and 

(3) coyote only preserve: one dog per 1 acre 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g). 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1203 QUALITY OF FOXES AND 

COYOTES RELEASED 

(a)  All foxes and coyotes purchased purchased, acquired, 

transferred, released, sold, or raised for release on controlled fox 

hunting preserves shall be appear visibly healthy and free from 

disease. disease of any kind. An examination and inspection of the 

foxes and coyotes by the Wildlife Resources Commission may be 

conducted at any time. 

(b)  All dead foxes and coyotes, except those killed taken by 

lawful method(s) dogs during a hunt, or diseased foxes and 

coyotes found within the pen shall be reported to the Commission 

within 48-hours of discovery. submitted to a North Carolina 

Department of Agriculture diagnostic lab for diagnosis. A copy of 

the diagnostic report shall be mailed to the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. Possession of unhealthy or diseased foxes and 

coyotes shall be grounds for revocation or denial of a controlled 

fox hunting preserve license. 

(c)  The Commission may quarantine any controlled fox hunting 

preserve where contagious diseases are located. identified, 

depending on the type and severity of the disease and the risk to 

other wildlife or humans. Quarantine may include: 

(1) temporarily prohibiting removal or introduction 

of foxes and coyotes except as specifically 

provided by written permit issued by the 

Commission. 

(2) notification to the county health department; 

(3) cleaning or disinfection of the facility; and 

(4) temporary license suspension. 

(d)  A quarantine shall not be lifted or cancelled until the 

Commission determines that there is no longer a threat of disease 

exposure to humans, foxes, coyotes, domestic dogs or other 

animals. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g). 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1204 RECORDS REQUIRED 

(a)  License holders shall keep an accurate record record, on a 

form provided by the Commission, including bill of sale for all 

foxes and coyotes released into or removed from the preserve 

from licensed trappers, other licensed controlled fox hunting 

preserves, licensed fur propagators, or persons holding foxes or 

coyotes legally under a captivity license. released into the 

controlled fox hunting preserve Records shall contain the 

following information: 

(1) preserve operator license, propagator license, or 

captivity license number, if applicable; 

(2) trapper identification number or name and 

address, if applicable; 

(3) transportation permit number, if applicable; 

(4) species and quantity of each; 

(5) date of purchase or transfer; and 

(6) county of origin. 
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(b)  Records shall be maintained and available for inspection by 

officials of representatives of the North Carolina Wildlife 

Resources Commission at all times. upon request and during 

normal operating hours. 

(c)  Records shall be submitted to the Commission prior to the 

reissuance of the license. 

(d)  Records shall be retained by the license holder for 12 months 

following expiration of the license. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g). 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1205 HUNTING LICENSE REQUIRED 

(a)  Every person hunting participating in the pursuit of wildlife 

on a controlled fox hunting preserve shall have in his possession 

a proper valid resident or nonresident hunting license or special 

controlled hunting preserve hunting license for the current year as 

required by law. in his or her possession, in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 10B .0114. 

(b)  Nonresidents participating in a Commission-sanctioned field 

trial trial, as defined in 15A NCAC 10B .0114, properly approved 

in advance by a Wildlife Enforcement Officer are exempt from 

North Carolina licensing requirements in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, provided providing they possess have a valid hunting 

license from their state of residence. residence in their possession. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g). 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1206 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CARE OF FOXES AND COYOTES 

(a)  A minimum of one dog-proof escape den for each 35 acres 

contained in the controlled fox hunting preserve must be provided 

and maintained. 

(b)(a)  Adequate food, Food and clean water water, and cover 

shall be provided to foxes and coyotes. provided to maintain a 

viable population of foxes within the controlled fox hunting 

preserve. as follows: 

(1) food shall be of a type and quantity that is 

appropriate for the species; and 

(2) a constant supply of drinking water shall be 

available or provided. 

(c)  Since the intent of these rules is to promote a fair chase 

situation involving a resident population of foxes, the 

(b)  operator should make provisions The following conditions 

shall apply to acclimate the acclimation of newly introduced foxes 

and coyotes: to the escape mechanisms located within the pen 

prior to pursuing the foxes with dogs. 

(1) the acclimation period shall be at least seven 

days; 

(2) food and water meeting the requirements in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be provided in 

the area used for acclimation; and 

(3) chase by dogs during the acclimation period 

shall be prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g). 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1207 LICENSE REVOCATION AND 

ENFORCEMENT OF LICENSE TO OPERATE 

(a)  Representatives of the Commission shall be permitted to enter 

the premises of any licensed controlled fox hunting preserve upon 

request to the license holder or during the preserve's operating 

hours for inspection, enforcement, or scientific purposes. 

(b)  The Executive Director of the Commission or his or her 

designee may warn, cite, suspend, or revoke a license holder's 

controlled hunting preserve operator license if the license holder 

violates applicable provisions of Subchapter IV of Chapter 113 of 

the North Carolina General Statutes, certain provisions of G.S. 14-

360, the rules of this Section, or any condition of the license. The 

determination whether to warn, cite, suspend, or revoke a license 

shall be based upon the seriousness of the violation, which may 

include: 

(1) felony animal abuse as specified in G.S. 14-

360(a1) and (b) of the North Carolina General 

Statutes; 

(2) purposefully releasing foxes and coyotes into 

the wild; 

(3) falsifying records; or 

(4) failing to notify the appropriate agencies after a 

potential disease exposure or outbreak. 

In accordance with provisions of G.S. 113-273(g) the Wildlife 

Resources Commission may revoke or suspend the license of any 

controlled fox hunting preserve operator upon violation of these 

rules. 

(c)  Where there is evidence of such a violation, the Executive 

Director or his designee The Commission shall give the operator 

license holder written notice in accordance with G.S. 113-

276.2(e) before revoking a license. 20 days notice in writing to 

show cause to the Executive Director or his designee why his 

license should not be suspended or revoked. 

(d)  If a fox or coyote is unlawfully possessed, the Commission 

may determine disposition of the unlawfully possessed animal(s), 

which may include seizure, release, relocation, or euthanasia. 

(e)  If the Commission revokes a controlled hunting preserve 

operator license, the Commission may determine disposition of 

the animals, which may include seizure, release, relocation, or 

euthanasia. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g). 

 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Education intends to repeal the rules cited as 16 

NCAC 06D .0302, .0303, .0305, and .0306. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://stateboard.ncpublicschools.gov 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 16, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. 

Location:  https://ncgov.webex.com/meet/lou.martin, (415) 655-

0003, Access Code: 617 307 029 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

The State Board of Education proposes to repeal 16 NCAC 06D 

.0302 Test Administration because it substantially duplicates 

proposed rule 16 NCAC 06D .0307 Test Administration in Public 

Schools 

 

The State Board of Education proposes to repeal 16 NCAC 06D 

.0303 Accountability Coordinator because it substantially 

duplicates proposed rule 16 NCAC 06D .0308 Role of the Testing 

Coordinator 

 

The State Board of Education proposes to repeal 16 NCAC 06D 

.0305 End-of-Course Assessments because it substantially 

duplicates proposed rule 16 NCAC 06D .0309 Requirements of 

End-of-Course Assessments 

 

The State Board of Education proposes to repeal 16 NCAC 06D 

.0306 Testing Code of Ethics because it substantially duplicates 

proposed rule 16 NCAC 06D .0311 Testing Code of Ethics 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lou Martin, State Board of 

Education, 6302 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6302; 

email lou.martin@dpi.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06D - INSTRUCTION 

 

SECTION .0300 - TESTING PROGRAMS 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0302 TEST ADMINISTRATION 

16 NCAC 06D .0303 ACCOUNTABILITY 

COORDINATOR 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9)c. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0305 END-OF-COURSE 

ASSESSMENTS 

16 NCAC 06D .0306 TESTING CODE OF ETHICS 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9)c; 115C-81(b)(4). 

 

 

TITLE 18 – DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF 

STATE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of the Secretary of State intends to adopt the rule 

cited as 18 NCAC 06A .2120. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.sosnc.gov/divisions/general_counsel/current_rulem

aking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 21, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m. 

Location:  (978) 990-5311 Access code: 482848 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In March 2020, the COVID-19 

pandemic and the NC Stay At Home state of emergency order 

caused, and has continued to cause, substantial economic 

disruption to NC businesses. On July 1, 2020, the NC Secretary 

of State temporarily amended the effective dates of the Local 

Public Offering ("LPO") Crowdfunding "Sunset Rule" to further 

assist NC small businesses that were facing economic uncertainty. 

As the first of its kind in the country, LPO Crowdfunding is a way 

for businesses to raise necessary capital from a large number of 

local investors. To continue the accessibility of responsible 

intrastate crowdfunding, the Secretary of State seeks an 

amendment to the Sunset Rule, 18 NCAC 06A .2120, to (1) extend 

the sunset provisions to accept new Form NCE — LPO or other 

filings related to a new LPO by five years and (2) extend the 

expiration of the rules in Section .2100 by five years. In essence, 

the Secretary of State is adopting the temporary rule amendments 

as permanent amendments. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Ann B. Wall, 2 South 

Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC 27601-2903; Mailing: PO Box 29622, 
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Raleigh, NC 29626-0622; phone (919) 814-5305; fax (919) 807-

2010; email Rules@sosnc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 06 - SECURITIES DIVISION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06A – RECODIFIED RULES 

 

SECTION .2100 – RULES FOR LOCAL PUBLIC 

OFFERINGS (LPO) 

 

18 NCAC 06A .2120 SUNSET PROVISION 

(a)  The Administrator shall not accept any new Form NCE-LPO 

or other filing related to a new LPO after April 1, 2020 2025. 

(b)  The rules in this Section shall expire on April 1, 2021 2026. 

 

Authority G.S. 78A-17.1(a)(5); 78A-17.1(f); 78A-49(a); 78A-

49(d); 78A-64; S.L. 2016-103, s.4.(a). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 28 – LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board intends to adopt the rule 

cited as 21 NCAC 28B .0406. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.nclclb.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 2, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  3901 Barrett Dr., Suite 202, Raleigh NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The existing temporary rule 

expires April 11, 2021. However, the agency's renewal cycle for 

licensees extends until July 31 of a given year. Therefore, in order 

to extend the continuing education requirements through July 31, 

2021, the agency must adopt this rule as a permanent rule. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Calvin M. Kirven, North 

Carolina Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board, 3901 Barrett 

Dr., Suite 202, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Comment period ends:  November 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 28B – LICENSING BOARD RULES 

 

SECTION .0400 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0406 EMERGENCY EXTENSIONS OF 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: 

LICENSED LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS 

(a)  All active licensees shall be granted a one-year extension of 

all continuing education requirements for the license year ending 

July 31, 2020. The required hours shall be reported no later than 

July 31, 2021. 

(b)  The Board shall accept Board-approved continuing education 

credits previously obtained in compliance for the license year 

ending July 31, 2020 and shall apply those credits to the license 

year ending July 31, 2021. 
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(c)  This Rule does not affect any other licensure renewal 

requirements set forth in G.S. 89D and the rules set forth in this 

Subchapter. 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-15(12); 89D-20(b). 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on August 20, 2020 Meeting.  

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

PESTICIDE BOARD 

Duties of Pesticide Section 02 NCAC 09L .0101* 34:11 NCR 

Re-Examinations 02 NCAC 09L .0515* 34:11 NCR 

Soil and Growing Media Fumigation Examination Waver 02 NCAC 09L .0529* 34:11 NCR 

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Alcoholic Beverages and Controlled Substances 07 NCAC 13B .1003* 34:22 NCR 

CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION 

Administration 14B NCAC 09 .0301* 34:14 NCR 

Processing and Payment of Claims 14B NCAC 09 .0302* 34:14 NCR 

Awards 14B NCAC 09 .0305* 34:14 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

French Broad River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0304 34:11 NCR 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Definition of Student Chronic Absenteeism Rate 16 NCAC 06E .0106* 34:13 NCR 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

Fees 21 NCAC 12A .0304 34:22 NCR 

Renewal of License 21 NCAC 12A .0503 34:22 NCR 

General 21 NCAC 12B .0101 34:22 NCR 

Continuing Education Credit 21 NCAC 12B .0102 34:22 NCR 

Continuing Education Records; Audit 21 NCAC 12B .0103 34:22 NCR 

Extension of Time 21 NCAC 12B .0104 34:22 NCR 

Inactive Status 21 NCAC 12B .0105* 34:22 NCR 

Application for Initial Approval of Continuing Education ... 21 NCAC 12B .0201 34:22 NCR 

Expiration and Renewal of Provider Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0202 34:22 NCR 

Denial or Withdrawal of Provider Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0203 34:22 NCR 

Attendance; Roster Reports and Certificates 21 NCAC 12B .0204 34:22 NCR 

Course Scheduling 21 NCAC 12B .0205 34:22 NCR 

Records and Board Review 21 NCAC 12B .0206 34:22 NCR 

Course Requirements 21 NCAC 12B .0301* 34:22 NCR 

Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 21 NCAC 12B .0302* 34:22 NCR 

Mandatory Course 21 NCAC 12B .0303* 34:22 NCR 

Application Criteria for Initial Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0401 34:22 NCR 

Renewal and Expiration of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0402 34:22 NCR 

Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0403 34:22 NCR 
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COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Licensees and Students 21 NCAC 14H .0401* 34:18 NCR 

Disinfection Procedures 21 NCAC 14H .0403* 34:18 NCR 

First Aid 21 NCAC 14H .0404* 34:18 NCR 

Cosmetology and Apprentice Student Equipment 21 NCAC 14T .0401* 34:18 NCR 

Permanent Records, Forms and Documentation 21 NCAC 14T .0502* 34:18 NCR 

Cosmetology Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0602* 34:18 NCR 

Apprentice Cosmetology Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0603* 34:18 NCR 

Esthetics Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0604* 34:18 NCR 

Manicuring Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0605* 34:18 NCR 

Natural Hair Care Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0606* 34:18 NCR 

Field Trips 21 NCAC 14T .0615* 34:18 NCR 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Application for Reinstatement and Proof of Competency 21 NCAC 16B .1101 34:20 NCR 

Board Approved Examinations 21 NCAC 16C .0303 34:20 NCR 

Application for Reinstatement and Proof of Competency 21 NCAC 16C .0601* 34:20 NCR 

Certificate of Registration 21 NCAC 16F .0104 34:20 NCR 

Application for Renewal 21 NCAC 16F .0105 34:20 NCR 

Procedures Prohibited 21 NCAC 16G .0103 34:20 NCR 

Approved Education and Training Programs 21 NCAC 16H .0104 34:20 NCR 

Applications 21 NCAC 16I .0101 34:20 NCR 

Disposition of Requests 21 NCAC 16N .0403 34:20 NCR 

Applications 21 NCAC 16R .0101 34:20 NCR 

Fee for Late Filing and Duplicate License 21 NCAC 16R .0102 34:20 NCR 

License Void Upon Failure to Timely Renew 21 NCAC 16R .0108 34:20 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 

Approved Categories of CME 21 NCAC 32R .0102* 34:21 NCR 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Covered Employees 25 NCAC 01C .0802* 34:19 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0101 DUTIES OF THE PESTICIDE 

SECTION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.23; 143-461(5); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1982; January 27, 1978; 

Repealed Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0515 RE-EXAMINATIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-449(b); 143-452(f); 

143-453(b); 143-455(c); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 27, 1979; 

Repealed Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0529 SOIL AND GROWING MEDIA 

FUMIGATION EXAMINATION WAIVER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-453(b); 

Eff. August 1, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES  
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07 NCAC 13B .1003 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND 

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 

(a)  A person shall not possess, consume, sell, serve, or attempt to 

sell or serve any malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine, 

or spirituous liquor as defined in G.S. 18B-101, within any state 

park, natural area, or recreation area, except: 

(1) as permitted under a long-term operating 

agreement; 

(2) in areas designated in accordance with 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule; or 

(3) after obtaining a Special Activity Permit 

approved by the Director of the Division or his 

or her designee in accordance with this Rule. 

A person shall not possess, consume, sell, serve, or attempt to sell 

or serve any other alcoholic beverage, as defined by G.S. 18B-

101, or controlled substance, as defined by G.S. 90-87(5) within 

any state park, natural area, or recreation area. 

(b)  A person shall not be or become intoxicated, as defined by 

G.S. 14-443(2), while within any state park, natural area, or 

recreation area, including during events approved under a Special 

Activity Permit. 

(c)  Requests for a Special Activity Permit authorizing the 

possession, consumption, sale or service of any malt beverage, 

fortified wine, unfortified wine, or spirituous liquor as defined in 

G.S. 18B-101, shall be made in writing to the Director of the 

Division or his or her designee, not less than 14 days prior to the 

date(s) of the intended use. 

(d)  The written request shall state: 

(1) the period of time and the area for which the use 

is requested; 

(2) the number of persons expected to be in 

attendance; 

(3) the type of activity and the type and amounts of 

malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine, 

or spirituous liquor involved; 

(4) documentation of any and all permitting 

required by the North Carolina Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Commission; and 

(5) the name and address of the individual, 

organization or group seeking permission to use 

any portion of any state park, natural area, or 

recreational area for the possession, 

consumption, sale, or service of any malt 

beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine, or 

spirituous liquor; and, for organizations and 

groups requesting permission, the name and 

address of the requestor or its authorized 

representative, such as the president or chief 

executive officer of the organization or group. 

(e)  The Special Activity Permit shall specify the hours of 

permitted use, type of malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified 

wine, or spirituous liquor, the total amounts to be brought into the 

state park, natural area, or recreation area, the maximum number 

of attendees, the area where alcohol is permitted in accordance 

with Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and any additional conditions 

specified by the Director or his or her designee which are 

consistent with the purposes and management of the State Park 

System, as defined in G.S. 143B-135.42. 

(f)  If the Director of the Division or his or her designee concludes 

that the requested use will not hinder or impede any established 

use of the state park, natural area, or recreation area where the use 

is requested, is compliant with Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and is 

consistent with the protection of the natural resources, facilities, 

and public enjoyment of the State Park System, he or she shall 

grant permission to use the state park, natural area, or recreation 

area specified in the request submitted in accordance with this 

Rule. If the Director or his or her designee shall determine 

otherwise, he or she shall deny the request. 

(g)  The Director of the Division or his or her designee shall 

designate areas where possession, consumption sale or service of 

malt beverages, fortified wine, unfortified wine, or spirituous 

liquor, as defined in G.S. 18B-101, is allowed. Such areas may be 

limited so as not to interfere, or cause user conflicts with other 

organizations, groups or individuals also visiting the state park, 

natural area, or recreation area. 

(h)  Violation of the terms and conditions of a Special Activity 

Permit issued in accordance with this Rule is prohibited and shall 

result in revocation of the permit by the Director of the Division 

or his or her designee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.16; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; June 1, 1981; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 22, 1983; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12B .1003 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 09 .0301 ADMINISTRATION 

(a)  The offices of the Crime Victims Compensation Commission 

are located in the Archdale Building, 512 North Salisbury Street, 

in Raleigh, North Carolina, 27611. The office hours of the Crime 

Victims Compensation Commission is Monday to Friday from 

8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

(b)  The use of any printed forms other than those approved and 

adopted by this Commission is prohibited. Approved forms may 

be obtained from the Commission. The forms may be found at: 

https://www.ncdps.gov/document/victim-compensation-

application. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15B-6; 

Temporary Rule Eff. November 24, 1987 For a Period of 171 

Days to Expire on May 13, 1988; 

Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 11 .0501 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 09 .0302 PROCESSING AND PAYMENT 

OF CLAIMS 

(a)  An application for a claim shall be accepted only when 

submitted on an approved claim application form and a 

determination is made by the Director that the application is 

complete with the required information in accordance with G.S. 

15B-7. 
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(b)  Claims will be processed in the order in which the completed 

applications are received, deliverable by United States mail. In 

any consideration of competing claims, with respect to priority 

order of processing, the filed date stamped on the claim shall be 

controlling. 

(c)  Every claim filed is subject to investigation to determine 

eligibility in accordance with G.S. 15B-8 by the Director. Failure 

of the claimant to cooperate in the investigation may result in a 

denial of the claim or a reduction in the amount awarded. 

(d)  The Director or the Commission may reopen the investigation 

of any claim upon a finding that the claimant has provided 

additional information. 

(e)  The Director shall mail a written statement of the award 

decision to the claimant along with the check for the award, if any, 

within 15 days of the Director's or the Commission's decision or 

verification of current collateral source information, whichever 

occurs last. This written statement shall notify the claimant: 

whether this check is a partial or complete payment of the award; 

of any payments made directly to a service provider; and of appeal 

rights. 

(f)  Claims shall be docketed for determination of payment in an 

order determined by the Director. 

(g)  All payments of compensation shall be made in strict 

accordance with the award issued by the Director or the 

Commission. 

(h)  A claimant who fails to cooperate with or supply requested 

information including medical expenses, current contact 

information, details regarding circumstances of crime to the 

Director or who supplies inaccurate or incomplete information 

may have the claim denied or the award reduced, in the discretion 

of the Director or the Commission. 

(i)  The claimant shall inform the Director at any time before any 

action brought to recover damages for the criminally injurious 

conduct that is the basis of any claim or award and the availability 

of any collateral source. The failure to provide such information 

may be considered as fraud, allowing the Director or the 

Commission to reduce or deny an award or to recover monies 

previously paid. 

(j)  All notifications and payments or other documents transmitted 

by mailing will be sent to the address submitted by the claimant. 

The claimant shall notify the Director in writing of any change of 

address. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15B-3; 15B-6; 

Temporary Rule Eff. November 24, 1987 For a Period of 171 

Days to Expire on May 13, 1988; 

Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 11 .0501 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 09 .0305 AWARDS 

The Director or the Commission may award a partial payment to 

the claimant, the acceptance or presentment of which shall not be 

deemed to constitute a waiver of any further rights. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15B-6; 15B-10; 

Temporary Rule Eff. November 24, 1987 For a Period of 171 

Days to Expire on May 13, 1988; 

Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 11 .0506 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0304 FRENCH BROAD RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the French Broad 

River Basin are set forth in the French Broad River Basin 

Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 

places: 

(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-

standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 

(A) Asheville Regional Office 

2090 US Highway 70 

Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 

(B) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina 

(b)  Unnamed streams entering Tennessee are classified "B." 

(c)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective: 

(1) September 22, 1976; 

(2) March 1, 1977; 

(3) August 12, 1979; 

(4) April 1, 1983; 

(5) August 1, 1984; 

(6) August 1, 1985; 

(7) February 1, 1986; 

(8) May 1, 1987; 

(9) August 1, 1990. 

(d)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective March 1, 1989 as follows: 

(1) Cataloochee Creek (Index No. 5-41) and all 

tributary waters were reclassified from Class C-

trout and Class C to Class C-trout ORW and 

Class C ORW. 

(2) South Fork Mills River (Index No. 6-54-3) 

down to Queen Creek and all tributaries were 

reclassified from Class WS-I and Class WS-III-

trout to Class WS-I ORW and Class WS-III-

trout ORW. 

(e)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective October 1, 1989 as follows: Cane River (Index 

No. 7-3) from source to Bowlens Creek and all tributaries were 

reclassified from Class C trout and Class C to Class WS-III trout 

and Class WS-III. 

(f)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: North Toe River 

(Index No. 7-2) from source to Cathis Creek (Christ Branch) and 

all tributaries were reclassified from Class C trout and Class C to 

Class WS-III trout and Class WS-III. 
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(g)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 

water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-

I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-

II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 

protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 

became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 

primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 

classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 

classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 

after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 

(h)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective October 1, 1993 as follows: Reasonover Creek 

[Index No. 6-38-14-(1)] from source to Reasonover Lake Dam 

and all tributaries were reclassified from Class B Trout to Class 

WS-V and B Trout, and Reasonover Creek [Index No. 6-38-14-

(4)] from Reasonover Lake Dam to Lake Julia Dam and all 

tributaries were reclassified from Class C Trout to Class WS-V 

Trout. 

(i)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective July 1, 1995 with the reclassification of Cane 

Creek [Index Nos. 6-57-(1) and 6-57-(9)] from its source to the 

French Broad River from Classes WS-IV and WS-IV Tr to 

Classes WS-V, WS-V Tr and WS-IV. 

(j)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 1995 as follows: North Toe River 

[Index Numbers 7-2-(0.5) and 7-2-(37.5)] from source to a point 

0.2 miles downstream of Banjo Branch, including tributaries, has 

been reclassified from Class WS-III, WS-III Trout and WS-III 

Trout CA (critical area) to Class WS-IV Trout, WS-IV, WS-IV 

Trout CA, and C Trout. 

(k)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1996 as follows: Stokely Hollow 

[Index Numbers 6-121.5-(1) and 6-121.5-(2)] from source to 

mouth of French Broad River has been reclassified from Class 

WS-II and Class WS-II CA to Class C. 

(l)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended April 1, 1996 with the reclassification of the French 

Broad River [Index No. 6-(1)] from a point 0.5 miles downstream 

of Little River to Mill Pond Creek to Class WS-IV; French Broad 

River [Index No. 6-(51.5)] from a point 0.6 miles upstream of 

Mills River to Mills River to Class WS-IV CA (Critical Area), 

from Mills River to a point 0.1 miles upstream of Boring Mill 

Branch to Class C; and the Mills River [Index No. 6-54-(5)] was 

reclassified from City of Hendersonville water supply intake to a 

point 0.7 miles upstream of mouth of Mills River to Class WS-III, 

and from a point 0.7 miles upstream of mouth of Mills River to 

French Broad River to Class WS-III CA (Critical Area). 

(m)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 

classification for portions of the French Broad River [Index No. 

6-(38.5)] and the North Toe River 7-2-(10.5) from Class IV to 

Class C. 

(n)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of Clear Creek 

[Index No. 6-55-(1)] from its source to Lewis Creek from Class C 

Tr to Class B Tr. 

(o)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended August 1, 2000 with the reclassification of Rough Creek 

[Index No. 5-8-4-(1)], including all tributaries, from its source to 

the Canton Reservoir from Class WS-I to Class WS-I Tr ORW. 

(p)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended August 1, 2002 with the revision to the primary 

classification for the French Broad River [Index No. 6-(1), 6-(27), 

6-(47.5), 6-(52.5), and 6-(54.5)] including its four headwater 

forks' mainstems, watershed of tributary Davidson River, and 

watershed of tributary Bent Creek below Powhatan Dam, and the 

Nolichucky River [Index No. 7] including a lower portion of the 

North Toe River from Class C and Class WS-IV to Class B. 

(q)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended August 1, 2002 with the reclassification of the North 

Toe River [Index No. 7-2-(0.5)], including all tributaries, from 

source to a point 0.2 mile upstream of Pyatt Creek, from Class C 

Tr to Class WS-V Tr. 

(r)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended September 1, 2004 with the reclassification of a portion 

of Richland Creek [Index No. 5-16(1)], from source to a point 

approximately 11.2 miles from source (Boyd Avenue), from Class 

B to Class B Tr, and all tributaries to the portion of the creek 

referenced in this Paragraph from C, C HQW, and WS-I HQW, 

and WS-I HQW to C Tr, C HQW Tr, and WS-I HQW Tr, 

respectively, except Hyatt Creek [Index No. 5-16-6], Farmer 

Branch [Index No. 5-16-11], and tributaries already classified as 

Tr. 

(s)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of 

McClure's Bog near Gash Creek [Index No. 6-47] to Class WL 

UWL. The North Carolina Division of Water Resources maintains 

a Geographic Information Systems data layer of the UWL. 

(t)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 

the entire watershed of Big Laurel Creek (Index No. 6-112) from 

source to the French Broad River from Class C Tr to Class C 

ORW Tr. 

(u)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 

the entire watershed of Spring Creek [Index No. 6-118-(1) and 6-

118-(27)] from source to the French Broad River from Class C Tr 

and Class C to Class C ORW Tr and Class C ORW. 

(v)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended December 1, 2011 with the reclassification of a portion 

of the French Broad River [Index No. 6-(54.5)] from the 

confluence of the Mills River to a point 0.2 miles downstream of 

the confluence of the Mills River from Class B to Class WS-

IV&B CA. 

(w)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended January 1, 2019 

with the reclassification of Enka Lake, which is a portion of the 

Bill Moore Creek (Index No. 6-76-7) from Class C to Class B. 

(x)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2020 with the reclassification of 

the Sandy Bottom Wetlands adjacent to the French Broad River 

Basin [Index No. 6-(54.75)] and Orton Branch [Index No. 6-(66)] 

to Class WL UWL. The North Carolina Division of Water 

Resources maintains a Geographical Information Systems data 

layer of the UWL. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; December 1, 2011; September 1, 

2009; November 1, 2007; September 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; 

August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1996; January 1, 1996; 

November 1, 1995; July 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0106 DEFINITION OF "STUDENT 

CHRONIC ABSENTEE" 

20 U.S.C. 6311 (h)(1)(C)(viii), requires North Carolina to 

disseminate an annual State report card that includes student 

chronic absentee rates. When local school administrative units 

report student chronic absentee rates, a "Student Chronic 

Absentee" shall mean a student who has been enrolled in a North 

Carolina public school for at least 10 school days during a school 

year and who has been absent for at least 10 percent of the days 

enrolled.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(27) and (27a); 20 

U.S.C. 6311 (h)(1)(C)(viii);  

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 12 – STATE BOARD OF GENERAL 

CONTRACTORS 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0304 FEES 

(a)  The Board shall charge the following fees related to license 

applications: 

(1) Application for limited license: $75.00; 

(2) Application for intermediate license: $100.00; 

(3) Application for unlimited license: $125.00; 

(4) Application for increase in limitation: $100.00 

for increase to intermediate license and $125.00 

for increase to unlimited license; and 

(5) Late renewal: $10.00 per month for every 

month or part after the first day of January. 

(b)  The Board shall charge the following fees related to 

continuing education: 

(1) Course Sponsor: 

(A) Initial review: $25.00 per credit hour 

requested; and 

(B) Subsequent annual review: $10.00 per 

credit hour requested. 

(2) Qualifier Completion: $4.00 per credit hour per 

qualifier who completes an approved 

continuing education course. This fee shall be 

paid by the course sponsor. 

(c)  All fees charged by the Board shall be non-refundable. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2(i); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Codifier approved agency's waiver request to reuse rule number; 

Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0304 Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 7, 2020; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0503 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  Applications for renewal of license shall contain the 

following: 

(1) the Social Security Number of the applicant and 

qualifier(s) and tax identification number for 

corporations, LLCs, or partnerships; 

(2) the applicant's contact information; 

(3) the name of business under which licensee will 

be operating, if any; 

(4) information regarding any changes made in the 

status of the licensee's business, since the initial 

application or last renewal was submitted to the 

Board, whichever is later; 

(5) confirmation of license limitation and 

classifications; 

(6) information about all crimes of which the 

applicant has been convicted since the initial 

application or last renewal was submitted to the 

Board, whichever is later; 

(7) documentation regarding all crimes referenced 

above; 

(8) information indicating whether the applicant 

has any disciplinary history with any other 

occupational licensing, registration, or 

certification agency since the initial application 

or last renewal was submitted to the Board, 

whichever is later; 

(9) an attestation that the applicant maintains 

continued financial responsibility pursuant to 

Rule .0204 of this Chapter; 

(10) if applicable, proof that the surety bond is 

maintained in compliance with Rule .0204 of 

this Chapter;  

(11) if necessary, proof of completion of continuing 

education requirements; and 

(12) the application fee and any accrued late fees as 

set forth in Rule .0304 of this Chapter. 

(b)  A licensee shall submit an audited financial statement as 

evidence of continued financial responsibility in accordance with 

Rule .0204 of this Chapter if the Board finds that the licensee is 

insolvent, financially unstable, or unable to meet its financial 

responsibilities based upon the information provided in the 

renewal application. 

(c)  A licensee shall provide the Board with a copy of any 

bankruptcy petition filed by the licensee within 30 days of its 

filing. A licensee in bankruptcy shall provide to the Board an 

agreed-upon procedures report on a form provided by the Board 
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or an audited financial statement with a classified balance sheet 

as part of any application for renewal. 

(d)  A corporate license shall not be renewed unless it is in good 

standing with the N.C. Department of the Secretary of State. 

(e)  Upon receipt of a written request by or on behalf of a licensee 

who is currently in good standing with the Board, is serving in the 

armed forces of the United States, and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 

grants an extension of time to file a tax return, the Board shall 

grant that same extension of time for complying with renewal 

application deadlines, for paying renewal fees, and for meeting 

any other requirement or conditions related to the maintenance or 

renewal of the license issued by the Board. The applicant shall 

furnish to the Board a copy of the military orders or the extension 

approval by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10; 87-10.2; 87-

12; 87-13; 93B-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

ARRC Objection March 19, 1987; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; August 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 28, 1989 for a period of 155 

Days to Expire on December 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1989; 

RRC Removed Objection of March 19, 1987 Eff. August 20, 1992 

based on subsequent amendment; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 31, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; June 1, 2011; June 1, 2003; April 1, 

2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1997; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0503 Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0101 GENERAL 

(a)  To ensure continuing efforts on the part of licensed general 

contractors to remain current with new developments in all 

aspects of general contracting and to encourage better business 

practices and safety in the profession, continuing education is 

required as a condition of license renewal. If required pursuant to 

G.S. 87-10.2(a), a licensee shall submit, as a part of his or her 

renewal application, evidence that he or she has met the Board's 

continuing education requirements as set forth in this Section. 

Except as provided in Rule .0104 of this Subchapter, renewal 

applications that do not contain this information shall be deemed 

incomplete. 

(b)  This Subchapter shall apply to all aspects of continuing 

education as set forth in G.S. 87-10.2. 

(c)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, the terms "sponsor" and 

"provider" shall be synonymous. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0102 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

CREDIT 

(a)  Beginning with renewals filed for the 2021 license year, a 

licensee shall designate at least one qualifier who shall complete 

eight continuing education (CE) hours during the year preceding 

renewal. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, "elective courses" are 

defined as courses relating to the subject matter of general 

contracting as described in G.S. 87-1 and 87-10 that address 

general business practices, including business planning, contracts, 

liability exposure, human resources, basic accounting, financial 

statements, and safety. 

(c)  One credit hour is equal to 50 minutes of instructional time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0103 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECORDS; AUDIT 

(a)  A licensee shall maintain records of a qualifier's attendance at 

continuing education programs for which CE credit has been 

approved for four years following the processing date of the 

renewal application to which the CE credits were applied. 

(b)  Compliance with annual CE requirements shall be determined 

through a random audit process conducted by the Board. 

Licensees selected for auditing shall provide the Board with the 

following documentation of the CE activities claimed for the 

renewal period: 

(1) attendance verification records; and 

(2) information regarding course content, 

instructors, and sponsoring organization. 

(c)  Licensees selected for audit shall submit all requested 

information to the Board within 21 calendar days after the date 

the licensee was notified by the Board of the audit. 

(d)  Failure to maintain compliance with the Board's continuing 

education requirements shall result in the licensee's status being 

changed to invalid except as set forth in G.S. 87-10.2(h). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(h); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0104 EXTENSION OF TIME 

(a)  The Board shall grant a licensee an extension of time to 

complete CE requirements during a period of service in the Armed 

Forces of the United States upon submission of the following to 

the Board: 

(1) written request for an extension; and 

(2) documentation that the licensee or his or her 

qualifier is serving in the Armed Forces of the 

United States and is eligible for an extension of 

time to file a tax return pursuant to G.S. 105-

249.2. 

(b)  The Board shall grant a licensee an extension of time to obtain 

CE requirements if he or she or his or her qualifier has a disability 

or illness that prevents him or her from complying with CE 

requirements. In order to receive the waiver, a licensee shall 

provide the Board with the following: 
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(1) written request for waiver; and 

(2) documentation that describes the disability or 

illness and explains how the disability or illness 

prevents the licensee's qualifier from 

complying with the Board's CE requirements. 

Documentation includes a letter from a licensed 

physician, nurse practitioner (NP), or physician 

assistant (PA). 

(c)  Where on a case-by-case basis the Board determines that due 

to an undue hardship (such as natural disaster or illness of family 

member) the licensee could not reasonably be expected to comply 

with the Board's CE requirements, the licensee shall be granted an 

extension of time in which to obtain the required CE credits. To 

be considered for an extension of time, a licensee shall submit the 

following: 

(1) written request for extension; and 

(2) documentation that supports the reason for the 

extension. 

(d)  The Board shall grant a waiver of CE requirements upon 

submission of documentation that a licensee or his or her qualifier 

is in active duty while serving in the Armed Forces and is or has 

been deployed for at least eight months during the twelve-month 

period during which CE credits were required. 

(e)  An extension granted under Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this Rule 

shall not exceed one year. Prior to the expiration of the one year 

extension of time, a licensee may request an additional extension 

in accordance with this Rule. Except as set out in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, the Board shall grant no more than two consecutive 

extensions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(j); 93B-15; 105-249.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0105 INACTIVE STATUS 

(a)  Requests for inactive status as described in G.S. 87-10.2(h) 

shall be in writing and shall contain the following: 

(1) license name and number issued by the Board; 

(2) name(s) of qualifier(s); 

(3) if required, proof of active license status with 

the Board; and 

(4) certification that the individual submitting the 

request is authorized by the licensee to do so. 

(b)  If a licensee on inactive status fails to renew his or her license 

as of January 1 of the following year, the license shall become 

invalid in accordance with Article 1, Chapter 87 and the rules set 

forth in 21 NCAC 12A. 

(c)  A licensee on inactive status who wishes to return to active 

status shall submit a written request to the Board that contains the 

following information: 

(1) license name and number issued by the Board; 

(2) name(s) of qualifier(s) and the classifications in 

which they qualify; 

(3) application renewal fee and, if applicable, late 

fees as set out in G.S. 87-10(e) and in 21 NCAC 

12A .0304; and 

(4) proof of completion of continuing education 

requirements as set forth in G.S. 87-10.2(h). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2(h); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0201 APPLICATION FOR INITIAL 

APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER 

(a)  Only continuing education providers approved by the Board 

shall be eligible to offer continuing education courses. 

(b)  Prospective providers of all courses must obtain written 

approval from the Board to conduct such course prior to 

conducting the course and prior to advertising or otherwise 

representing that the course is or may be approved for general 

contractor continuing education credit in North Carolina. No 

retroactive approval to conduct a continuing education course will 

be granted. 

(c)  Any entity seeking initial approval to be a continuing 

education provider shall make application on a form available on 

the Board's website that requires the applicant to set forth: 

(1) the legal name of applicant and any assumed 

business name; 

(2) the applicant's mailing address, telephone 

number, and email address; 

(3) the SOS ID number issued by the NC Secretary 

of State, if applicable; 

(4) the legal name(s) of the provider's owner(s), 

member(s), manager(s), or partner(s); 

(5) the name of a continuing education coordinator 

who shall serve as the contact person for the 

provider; and 

(6) the signature of the applicant or its legal 

designee. 

(d)  The name of any course provider shall not be identical or 

similar so as to cause confusion to the name of any other approved 

continuing education course provider. 

(e)  Continuing education providers shall notify the Board in 

writing within 10 days of any change in business name, ownership 

interest, continuing education coordinator, address, business 

telephone number, or email address. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0202 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 

OF PROVIDER APPROVAL 

(a)  All Board approvals issued to providers shall expire annually 

on December 1 following issuance of approval. 

(b)  A provider shall submit an application for renewal of its 

approval within 45 days immediately preceding expiration of 

approval on a form available on the Board's website. The provider 

renewal application form shall include: 

(1) the provider's name; 

(2) the provider ID number issued by the Board; 

(3) the name of the provider's designated 

continuing education coordinator; 

(4) the provider's mailing address, telephone 

number, and web address, if applicable; 

(5) any change in the provider's business entity; 

and 
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(6) the signature of the provider or its legal 

designee. 

(c)  If a provider's approval has expired, the provider shall submit 

an application as a new applicant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0203 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

PROVIDER APPROVAL 

(a)  The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any continuing 

education provider upon finding that the provider or the 

continuing education coordinator in the employ of the provider: 

(1) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for course or 

provider approval or renewal; 

(2) made any false statements in course 

advertisement or promotional materials; 

(3) provided false, incomplete, or incorrect 

information in connection with any reports the 

continuing education provider is required to 

submit to the Board; 

(4) provided the Board a check or credit card for 

required fees that was not honored by a 

financial institution or bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(5) collected money from licensees and qualifiers 

for a continuing education course but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(6) intentionally provided false, incomplete, or 

misleading information relating to general 

contractors licensing, education matters, or the 

qualifier's education requirements or license 

status; 

(7) failed to submit the CE Roster Reports as 

required by Rule .0206 of this Subchapter; 

(8) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by 21 NCAC 12A .0304; or 

(9) failed to comply with any other provision of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  A licensed general contractor and its qualifier(s) shall be 

subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 87-11 if the licensee or its 

qualifier(s) engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper conduct 

in connection with the operations of a continuing education course 

provider if that licensee or qualifier(s): 

(1) has an ownership interest in the course 

provider; 

(2) is the designated continuing education 

coordinator for the course provider; or 

(3) is an instructor for the course provider. 

(c)  When ownership of an approved continuing education 

provider is transferred to a separate legal entity, the provider's 

approval is not transferable and shall terminate on the effective 

date of the transfer. All courses shall be completed by the effective 

date of the transfer. The transferring owner shall report course 

completion(s) to the Board. The new entity shall obtain an original 

continuing education provider approval as required by Rule .0202 

of this Subchapter prior to advertising courses, registering 

students, accepting tuition, conducting courses, or otherwise 

engaging in any provider operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0204 ATTENDANCE; ROSTER 

REPORTS AND CERTIFICATES 

(a)  Qualifiers shall provide proof of identity upon arrival at a class 

session. 

(b)  At the conclusion of any continuing education course, the 

provider shall submit to the Board a CE Roster Report verifying 

each qualifier's completion of the course. The CE Roster Report 

shall be submitted to the Board and shall contain the following: 

(1) provider's name; 

(2) provider's ID number assigned by the Board; 

(3) course instructor's name and ID number; 

(4) course's name and ID number; 

(5) course completion date; and 

(6) name and qualifier ID number of each student 

who completed the course. 

(c)  Providers shall submit the CE Roster Report electronically to 

the Board within seven calendar days following the end of any 

course, but in no case later than December 7. 

(d)  Providers shall submit the per student fee required by 21 

NCAC 12A .0304 with the CE Roster Report. 

(e)  Providers shall provide a course completion certificate to each 

student who completes an approved continuing education course. 

Providers shall provide a printed or electronic certificate to a 

student within 10 days following the course, but in no case later 

than December 7, for any course completed prior to that date. 

(f)  A student shall not be issued a completion certificate and shall 

not be reported to the Board as having completed a course unless 

the student satisfies the attendance requirements set forth in this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d) and (e); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0205 COURSE SCHEDULING 

Continuing education providers shall not offer, conduct, or allow 

a student to complete any continuing education course between 

December 1 and December 31, inclusive. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0206 RECORDS AND BOARD 

REVIEW 

(a)  All providers shall retain on file for four years records of 

student registration and attendance for each session of an 

approved continuing education course that is conducted and shall 

make such records available to the Board upon request during an 

investigation. 
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(b)  Providers shall admit any Board authorized representative to 

monitor any continuing education class without prior notice. Such 

representatives shall not be required to register or pay any fee and 

shall not be reported as having completed the course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0301 COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All continuing education courses shall: 

(1) cover subject matter related to the practice of 

general contracting and offer knowledge or 

skills that will enable general contractors to 

better serve consumers and the public interest; 

(2) offer two or four continuing education credit 

hours; 

(3) include materials for students that provide the 

information to be presented in the course; and 

(4) be taught only by an instructor who possesses 

education or experience in a field related to the 

course. 

(b)  Mandatory courses shall cover subject matter as established 

by the Board, including statutes and rules applicable to general 

contracting, changes to the N.C. Building Codes, case studies of 

Board investigations, and relevant court decisions. 

(c)  Providers shall submit all elective courses to the Board for 

approval pursuant to Rule .0302 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Providers shall obtain approval from the Board before making 

any changes in the content of a prior approved elective course. 

Requests for approval of changes shall be made in writing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0302 APPROVAL AND RENEWAL OF 

ELECTIVE COURSE 

(a)  Prior to obtaining the Board's written approval of a continuing 

education elective course, providers shall not offer, advertise, or 

otherwise represent that any continuing education elective course 

is, or may be, approved for continuing education credit in North 

Carolina. 

(b)  A provider seeking initial approval of a proposed elective 

course shall complete an application on a form available on the 

Board's website that requires the applicant to set forth the 

following: 

(1) title of the proposed elective course; 

(2) provider's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) continuing education coordinator's name; 

(4) provider's ID number, if previously approved; 

(5) credit hours awarded for completing the course; 

(6) subject matter of the course as evidenced by 

course outlines, PowerPoint slides, videos, or 

other similar materials; 

(7) identity of the course content owner; 

(8) written permission of the course content owner, 

if other than the applicant; 

(9) identity of prospective instructors; and 

(10) signature of the provider or its legal designee. 

(c)  The application for initial approval shall be accompanied by 

a copy of the elective course guide, which shall include course 

objectives, learning objectives for each topic, a timed outline, 

instructional methods and aids to be employed, and all materials 

that will be provided to students. 

(d)  A provider seeking approval to offer an already approved 

elective course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Board's website that requires the applicant to submit the 

following: 

(1) title of the elective course; 

(2) applicant's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) applicant's continuing education coordinator's 

name; 

(4) applicant's continuing education provider code, 

if previously approved; 

(5) identity of the course content owner; 

(6) written permission of the course content owner, 

if other than the applicant; 

(7) identity of prospective instructors; 

(8) signature of the provider or its legal designee; 

and 

(9) certification that there have been no changes to 

the course materials since the course was last 

approved. 

(e)  If the course will be taught by any method other than live, in-

person, in-class instruction, the provider shall, if requested, make 

the presentation available and accessible to the Board at no cost 

to the Board during the Board's operating hours. In case of an 

internet-based course, the Board shall be provided access to the 

course at a date and time set by the Board and shall not be charged 

any fee for such access. 

(f)  All applications for approval and renewal of elective courses 

shall be accompanied by fees as required by 21 NCAC 12A .0304. 

(g)  Board approval of all continuing education elective courses 

shall expire on December 1 of each year. 

(h)  In order to obtain approval for an expired continuing 

education elective, a course provider shall submit an application 

for initial approval. 

(i)  Courses offered prior to Board approval shall not be eligible 

for continuing education credit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0303 MANDATORY COURSE 

(a)  The Board shall annually develop a Mandatory course as 

described in G.S. 87-10.2(b) and shall provide instructional 

materials for use by providers. 

(b)  Only approved continuing education providers shall offer the 

Mandatory course to students. Only approved instructors pursuant 

to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter shall instruct the Mandatory 

course. 

(c)  Providers shall obtain written approval from the Board prior 

to offering, advertising, or otherwise representing that any 
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Mandatory course is being offered for continuing education credit 

in North Carolina. 

(d)  A provider seeking approval to offer the Mandatory course 

shall submit an application form available on the Board's website 

that shall require the following: 

(1) provider's legal name, address, telephone 

number, and website; 

(2) continuing education coordinator's name; 

(3) if applicable, provider's ID number assigned by 

the Board; 

(4) if applicable, name and instructor ID number of 

prospective instructors; and 

(5) signature of the applicant or its legal designee. 

(e)  A provider may obtain approval from the Board to offer the 

Mandatory course by requesting it on the application or renewal 

of the provider's approval. 

(f)  All supplemental materials distributed to Mandatory course 

attendees shall be developed solely by the Board or its designee. 

Such materials shall be distributed to each student taking the 

Mandatory course. 

(g)  Board approval to offer Mandatory courses shall expire 

annually on November 30 following issuance of approval. 

Providers shall apply for renewal of approval to offer Mandatory 

courses along with the renewal of provider approval required in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(h)  Course providers and instructors shall not deviate from or 

alter the Mandatory Course materials developed by the Board. A 

violation of this Paragraph shall be grounds for withdrawal of 

Board approval or denial of a future application pursuant to 21 

NCAC 12B .0203 and .0403.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0401 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA 

FOR INITIAL INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  A provider seeking initial instructor approval shall submit an 

application on a form available on the Board's website that 

requires the instructor applicant to indicate the course(s) for which 

he or she is seeking approval and set forth the instructor 

applicant's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) general contractor's license number, qualifier 

ID number, and instructor ID number, if any, 

assigned by the Board; 

(3) education background, including specific 

general contracting education; 

(4) experience in the general contracting industry; 

(5) professional licenses or certifications held by 

the prospective instructor; 

(6) teaching experience, if any; and 

(7) signature of the prospective instructor. 

(b)  Prior to teaching the Mandatory course, an instructor shall 

attend the Board's Mandatory Instructor Seminar for the 

designated license year. 

(c)  Approved instructors who are also qualifiers shall receive one 

hour of CE credit for each one hour of class instruction. Course 

providers shall be responsible for payment of all CE fees for 

instructors seeking CE credit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (d); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0402 RENEWAL AND EXPIRATION 

OF INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  Board approval of instructors shall expire annually on 

December 1 following issuance of Board approval. 

(b)  A provider shall file an application for a previously approved 

instructor renewal no less than 30 days immediately preceding 

expiration of approval. The instructor renewal application shall 

include the instructor's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) general contractor's license number and 

qualifier ID number, if applicable, and 

instructor ID number assigned by the Board; 

(3) course name(s) and course number(s) for which 

the provider is seeking approval as an 

instructor; and 

(4) signature. 

(c)  In order to reinstate an instructor approval that has been 

expired for less than six months, the former instructor shall meet 

the requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  If an instructor approval has been expired for more than six 

months, the provider shall file an application for initial instructor 

approval pursuant to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0403 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any instructor 

applicant or approved instructor upon finding that the instructor 

or instructor applicant: 

(1) has failed to meet the criteria for approval 

described in Rule .0401 of this Subchapter or 

the criteria for renewal of approval described in 

Rule .0402 of this Subchapter at the time of 

application or at any time during an approval 

period; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for approval or 

renewal of approval or any report that is 

required to be submitted in accordance with this 

Subchapter; 

(3) has failed to submit to the Board any report, 

course examination, or video recording 

required by this Subchapter; 

(4) has failed to demonstrate the ability to teach any 

elective or Mandatory course in a manner 

consistent with the course materials; 
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(5) engaged in any other improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct as determined by the Board; 

or 

(6) failed to comply with any other provisions of 

this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 14 – BOARD OF COSMETIC ART 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0401 LICENSEES AND STUDENTS 

(a)  For purposes of this Section, sanitation, as described in G.S. 

88B, is defined as "infection control." 

(b)  Notwithstanding Rule .0201 in this Subchapter, this Rule 

applies to licensees and students in practice in cosmetic art 

schools and shops. 

(c)  Each licensee and student shall wash his or her hands with 

soap and water immediately after using the restroom. Each 

licensee and student shall wash his or her hands with soap and 

water or use of a 62 percent to 70 percent alcohol-based hand 

sanitizer immediately before and after serving each client. 

(d)  Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and shoes 

while serving patrons. 

(e)  Licensees or students shall not use or possess in a cosmetic 

art school or shop any of the following: 

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer, a.k.a. 

MMA; 

(2) razor-type callus shavers or blades designed 

and intended to cut skin and skin growths of 

skin including skin tags, corns, and calluses; 

(3) FDA rated Class III devices; 

(4) carbolic acid (phenol) over two percent 

strength; 

(5) animals including insects, fish, amphibians, 

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to 

perform any service; or 

(6) a variable speed electrical nail file unless it has 

been designed for use on a natural nail. 

(f)  A licensee or student shall not: 

(1) use any product, implement, or piece of 

equipment in any manner other than the 

product's, implement's, or equipment's intended 

use as described or detailed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) treat any medical condition unless referred by a 

physician; 

(3) provide any service unless it falls within the 

license definition listed in G.S. 88B-2 and 

unless trained prior to performing the service; 

(4) perform services on a client if the licensee has 

reason to believe the client has any of the 

following: 

(A) fungus, lice, or nits; 

(B) an inflamed, infected, broken, raised, 

or swollen skin or nail tissue in the 

area to be worked on; or 

(C) an open wound or sore in the area to 

be worked on; 

(5) alter or duplicate a license issued by the Board; 

(6) advertise or solicit clients in any form of 

communication in a manner that is false or 

misleading; 

(7) use any FDA rated Class II device without the 

documented supervision of a licensed 

physician; 

(8) use any product that will penetrate the dermis; 

(9) make any statement to a member of the public, 

either verbally or in writing, stating or implying 

any action is required or forbidden by Board 

rules when such action is not required or 

forbidden by Board rules. A violation of this 

prohibition is considered practicing or 

attempting to practice by fraudulent 

misrepresentation is set forth in 21 NCAC 14P 

.0108; 

(10) use or possess any product banned by the FDA. 

A list of banned products is available at 

www.fda.gov; or 

(11) use or possess any machine for a cosmetic art 

service that is not classified by the FDA. 

(g)  In using a disinfectant, the user shall wear any personal 

protective equipment, such as gloves, recommended by the 

manufacturer in the Safety Data Sheet. 

(h)  Licensees may only perform services specifically designated 

within their licensure field as defined by G.S. 88B-2. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-24; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; March 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019; March 1, 

2019; March 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0403 DISINFECTION PROCEDURES 

(a)  Disinfectant, as applicable in this Subchapter, is defined as a 

disinfectant that is EPA registered as effective against: 

(1) bacteria including Staphylococcus aureus, 

MRSA and pseudomonas aeruginosa; 

(2) viruses including HIV, Hepatitis B and C; 

(3) fungi including Trichophyton mentagrophytes; 

and 

(4) human coronavirus. 

(b)  Disinfectants that meet the requirements of Subparagraph 

(a)(1), (2), and (3) of this Rule may be used if they are listed on 

EPA list N as effective against pathogen SARS-CoV-2. 

(c)  Infection Control rules that apply to towels and cloths are as 

follows: 

(1) clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and 

towels shall be used for each patron; 

(2) after a protective cape has been in contact with 

a patron's neck it shall be placed in a clean, 
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closed container until laundered with soap and 

hot water and dried in a heated dryer. Capes that 

cannot be laundered and dried in a heater dryer 

may be disinfected in accordance with the 

manufacturer directions; and 

(3) after a drape, linen, or towel has been in contact 

with a patron's skin it shall be placed in a clean, 

covered container until laundered with soap and 

hot water and dried in a heated dryer. A covered 

container may have an opening so soiled items 

may be dropped into the container. 

(d)  Any paper or nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be 

discarded after one use. 

(e)  There shall be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens and 

towels at all times. Wet towels used in services must be prepared 

fresh each day. Unused, prepared wet towels must be laundered 

daily. 

(f)  Clean drapes, capes, linens, towels and all other supplies shall 

be stored in a clean area. 

(g)  Bathroom facilities must be kept clean. 

(h)  All implements shall be cleaned and disinfected after each use 

in the following manner: 

(1) They shall be washed with warm water and a 

cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove 

debris and dried. 

(2) They shall be disinfected with either: 

(A) disinfectant that is mixed and used 

according to the manufacturer's 

directions. They shall be rinsed with 

hot tap water and dried with a clean 

towel before their next use. They shall 

be stored in a clean, closed cabinet or 

container until they are needed; or 

(B) by UV-C, ultraviolet germicidal 

irradiation used in accordance with the 

manufacturer's directions. 

(3) If the implement is shears, a razor, not 

immersible, or is not disinfected by UV-C 

irradiation, it shall be cleaned by wiping it with 

a clean cloth moistened or sprayed with a 

disinfectant used in accordance with the 

manufacturer's directions. 

(i)  All disinfected non-electrical implements shall be stored in a 

clean, closed cabinet or clean, closed container. 

(j)  All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean 

area separate from other clean implements. 

(k)  Disposable and porous implements and supplies must be 

discarded after use or upon completion of the service. 

(l)  Product that comes into contact with the patron must be 

discarded upon completion of the service. 

(m)  Containers with open faces may be covered or closed with 

plastic wrapping. Disinfected implements must not be stored with 

any implement or item that has not been disinfected. 

(n)  Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be 

disposed in puncture-resistant containers. 

(o)  All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products 

dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin must be kept in 

clean, closed containers, and must conform in all respects to the 

requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act as set 

forth in PL 75-717.52 accessible at www.fda.gov. Any product 

apportioned for use and removed from original containers must be 

distributed in a sanitary manner that prevents contamination of 

product or container. Any product dispensed in portions into 

another container must be dispensed into a clean container and 

applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or disposable 

implement or other clean methods. Any product dispensed in 

portions not dispensed into another container must be used 

immediately and applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or 

disposable implement or other clean methods. No product 

dispensed in portions may be returned to the original container. 

(p)  As used in this Rule whirlpool or footspa means any basin 

using circulating water. 

(q)  After use by each patron each whirlpool or footspa must be 

cleaned and disinfected as follows: 

(1) all water must be drained and all debris 

removed from the basin; 

(2) the basin must be disinfected by filling the basin 

with water and circulating a surfactant or 

enzymatic soap with a disinfectant used 

according to manufacturer's instructions 

through the unit for 10 minutes; 

(3) the basin must be drained and rinsed with clean 

water; and 

(4) the basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel. 

(r)  At the end of the day each whirlpool or footspa must be 

cleaned and disinfected as follows: 

(1) the screen must be removed and all debris 

trapped behind the screen removed; 

(2) the screen and the inlet must be washed with 

surfactant or enzymatic soap or detergent and 

rinsed with clean water; 

(3) before replacing the screen it must be totally 

immersed in disinfectant in accordance to the 

manufacturer's instructions; 

(4) the inlet and area behind the screen must be 

cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and 

water to remove all visible debris and residue; 

and 

(5) the spa system must be flushed with low 

sudsing surfactant or enzymatic soap and warm 

water for at least 10 minutes and then rinsed and 

drained. 

(s)  A record must be made of the date and time of each cleaning 

and disinfecting as required by this Rule including the date, time, 

reason, and name of the staff member who performed the 

cleaning. This record must be made for each whirlpool or footspa 

and must be kept and made available for at least 90 days upon 

request by either a patron or inspector. 

(t)  The water in a vaporizer machine must be emptied daily and 

the unit disinfected daily after emptying. 

(u)  The area where services are performed that come in contact 

with the patron's skin including treatment chairs, treatment tables, 

and beds shall be disinfected between patrons. 

(v)  A manufacturers label for all disinfectant concentrate must be 

available at all times. If a concentrate bottle is emptied, it must 

remain available until a new bottle is available. 

(w)  When mixed disinfectant concentrate is placed in a secondary 

container such as a spray bottle, tub or jar, that container must be 
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labeled to indicate what chemical is in the container. SDS sheets 

must be available for all disinfectants in use at all times. 

(x)  Disinfectants must be stored and disposed of in accordance 

with all local, State, and federal requirements. 

(y)  The cabinet and supplies of a towel warmer machine must be 

emptied daily and the unit dried daily after emptying. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019; March 1, 

2018. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0404 FIRST AID 

(a)  Each cosmetic art shop and school shall have individually 

packaged antibiotic ointment, gloves or finger guards, sterile 

adhesive bandages, and other necessary supplies available to 

provide first aid. 

(b)  If the skin of the licensee or student is punctured, the licensee 

or student shall upon knowledge of the injury do the following in 

this order: 

(1) wash and dry the punctured area with soap and 

running water and a disposable towel; 

(2) if the cut is still bleeding apply pressure over 

the wound with a disposable towel; 

(3) remove materials from first aid kit;  

(4) apply antibiotic ointment or a sterile adhesive 

bandage; 

(5) disinfect any implement or work area exposed 

to blood per Rule .0403 in this Section; 

(6) dispose of all contaminated supplies in the 

trash; 

(7) wash hands with soap and running water; and 

(8) if the injured area is on the hands, fingers, or 

thumb apply disposable, protective glove(s) or 

a finger guard. 

(c)  If the skin of the patron is punctured, the licensee or student 

shall upon knowledge of the injury do the following in this order: 

(1) wash and dry hands with soap and running 

water and a disposable towel and remove 

materials from first aid kit; 

(2) make first aid supplies available to the patron or 

assist the patron with: 

(A) cleansing injured area with soap and 

water; and  

(B) applying antibiotic ointment or a 

sterile adhesive bandage; 

(3) disinfect any implement or work area exposed 

to blood per Rule .0403 in this Section; 

(4) dispose of all contaminated supplies in the 

trash; 

(5) wash hands with soap and running water; and 

(6) put on disposable, protective gloves. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; March 1, 2018; January 1, 

2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0401 COSMETOLOGY AND 

APPRENTICE STUDENT EQUIPMENT 

Each cosmetology and apprentice cosmetology student shall be 

supplied with following equipment: 

(1) 12 combs; 

(2) two capes; 

(3) six brushes; 

(4) assorted clips; 

(5) hard rubber or nonflammable comb for heat 

protection used in thermal styling; 

(6) one electric marcel iron; 

(7) one razor and one clipper; 

(8) one thinning shears; 

(9) one shaping shears; 

(10) one mannequin with hair; and 

(11) one blow dryer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0502 PERMANENT RECORDS, 

FORMS AND DOCUMENTATION 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools must maintain locked storage for the 

permanent files of all enrolled students and students who have 

withdrawn or graduated together in one room within the approved 

square footage of the cosmetic art school. Withdrawal and 

graduation forms reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board 

may be removed from this room. The permanent file shall include 

a copy of: 

(1) Board Enrollment Form; 

(2) Documentation of student receipt of school 

policies, school and student contract; the Board 

Infection Control rules as set forth in 21 NCAC 

14H .0200, .0300, .0400, and .0500 and 21 

NCAC 14I .0401, and 21 NCAC 14T .0703. 

(3) All Board Withdrawal Forms; 

(4) Social security card for any individual who has 

a social security number or tax ID card or 

student visa information; 

(5) Government issued ID and proof of date of 

birth; 

(6) Grades for all examinations and evaluation 

plans along with documentation for pass 

performances; 

(7) Documentation for any leave of absence over 

30 days; 

(8) Transfer of hours form documenting hours 

earned in other schools and hours accepted by 

current school; and 

(9) Graduation Form. 

(b)  The school shall keep onsite, records of hours earned daily 

including field trip hours and documentation of field trip hours 
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updated with a running grand total, as well as a total of the 

following through the prior week: 

(1) A daily record of the actual number of hours of 

attendance; 

(2) A daily record of the actual number of hours 

and educational achievements completed via 

online; and 

(3) An updated Performance Record showing the 

actual date of the performance and the teacher 

who approved the performance. 

(c)  When a student enrolled in a cosmetic art school withdraws 

from the school, the cosmetic art school shall report the 

withdrawal to the Board. 

(d)  If a student withdraws from a cosmetic art discipline within 

the first five days, the school need not submit the enrollment to 

the Board. The unsubmitted enrollment must be maintained in the 

student file until reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board 

after which, it may be removed. 

(e)  The graduation form documentation must be signed by on site 

school staff or on site school administrators and must have the 

seal of the school affixed. The original graduation form 

documentation must be prepared on the Board form and shall 

indicate that the applicable requirement of this Chapter have been 

met. The cosmetic art school shall mail the graduation form to the 

Board at the Board's address set forth in Rule 14A .0104 or submit 

the graduation form via the Board's school documents portal at 

www.nccosmeticarts.com within 30 days of the student's 

graduation date. 

(f)  All forms submitted to the Board must be sealed originals or 

a digital scan of sealed originals and a copy shall be maintained 

in the school permanent file storage. Except for student 

signatures, all forms submitted to the Board must be completed 

by on site school staff or on site school administrators. Board 

forms shall be used for the sole purpose of documenting to the 

Board student records and shall not be used to notify students of 

enrollment, transfer of hours, withdrawal, or graduation. 

(g)  Changes or corrections made by the school to any Board form 

must be submitted to the Board with supporting documentation. 

(h)  All cosmetic art schools must maintain on file at the school 

an original daily record of enrolled students' hours and 

performances. This record must be kept in a secured location 

under lock and key but made available for review by the Board or 

its agent at any time. 

(i)  All records kept by a cosmetic art school on a student who has 

withdrawn or graduated must be kept in the school's locked files 

for future reference until the date the student is accepted for the 

Board examination or five years after the date the student first 

enrolled in the school, whichever occurs earlier. Forms reviewed 

by the Board or an agent of the Board may be removed from this 

room. 

(j)  The record of all hours and performances must be documented 

in writing. Credit issued to students that cannot be verified shall 

be eliminated from the student record by an agent of the Board. 

(k)  Access to student records must be limited to agents of the 

Board, teachers, and administrators of the school. Records shall 

not be altered offsite. Records that are altered must be altered 

onsite and must have documentation supporting the change 

attached. The format, school name, and school code on Board 

forms cannot be altered. 

(l)  All individuals in a cosmetic art school receiving cosmetic art 

education, earning hours, or performing or practicing cosmetic art 

services must be enrolled in the school. 

(m)  Only teachers reported to the Board as employees of a 

cosmetic art school may grade practical student examinations and 

evaluate pass or fail of student performances. Only on site 

teachers, on site school administrators, or on site school staff shall 

record student hours and performances, grade examinations, and 

determine completion and record credit of live model and 

mannequin performances. 

(n)  Minimum scores required for examinations and the successful 

completion of live model and mannequin performances as 

determined through the school's evaluation plan that is approved 

by the Board at the time of application shall be disclosed to 

students at the time of enrollment. Passing grades and 

performances shall not be credited to students who fail to meet the 

requirements of the evaluation plan. 

(o)  Cosmetic art schools must provide to each student a copy of 

school policies and 21 NCAC 14I .0401. The school shall retain 

for the permanent file a copy of the student's acknowledgement of 

receipt of these documents. 

(p)  The names of students with unsatisfied academic obligations 

shall not be submitted to the Board as graduates but may be 

submitted as withdrawn. 

(q)  Cosmetic art schools shall not report to the Board the 

unsatisfied financial obligations of any cosmetic art student. 

Cosmetic art schools shall not prevent the graduation of students 

who have met the Board minimum requirements and passed all 

school academic requirements. 

(r)  Records of hours must be rounded to no more than the nearest 

quarter hour. Cosmetic art schools shall not give or deduct hours 

or performances as rewards or penalties. 

(s)  An applicant shall receive credit for instruction taken in 

another state if the applicant's record is certified by the state 

agency or department that issues licenses to practice in the 

cosmetic arts. If this agency or department does not maintain any 

student records or if the state does not give license to practice in 

the cosmetic arts, then the records may be certified by any state 

department or state agency that does maintain such records and is 

willing to certify their accuracy. If no state department or board 

will certify the accuracy of the student's records, then the Board 

shall review the student's records for validity on a case-by-case 

basis using the documentation provided by the student. 

(t)  Hours transferred between open North Carolina schools must 

be obtained by the submission of the Board transfer form mailed 

directly from the school in which the hours are earned with the 

school seal affixed, with grades for examinations and 

performances to the new school in which a student enrolls. Such 

original documentation shall be submitted to the Board with 

enrollment. Transfer forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type and total number of live model and 

mannequin service performances; 

(4) Enrollment date and last date of attendance; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 
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(u)  A student must pass an entrance examination including 

mannequin evaluations given by the school to which the student 

is transferring for the hours to be transferred from one cosmetic 

art school to another. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; June 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019; December 1, 

2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0602 COSMETOLOGY 

CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of 1500 hours of instruction in theory and practical 

application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Professional image; 

(2) Infection control; 

(3) Bacteriology; 

(4) Disinfection; 

(5) First aid; 

(6) Anatomy; 

(7) Electricity as it relates to cosmetic art; 

(8) Chemistry as it relates to cosmetic art; 

(9) Professional ethics; 

(10) Draping; 

(11) Shampooing; 

(12) Roller sets; 

(13) Pin curls; 

(14) Ridge curls with C shaping; 

(15) Fingerwaves; 

(16) Braids; 

(17) Artificial hair; 

(18) Up-styles; 

(19) Blowdrying; 

(20) Brush control; 

(21) Blowdrying with curling iron; 

(22) Pressing or thermal; 

(23) Hair cutting; 

(24) Partings; 

(25) Perm types and wraps; 

(26) Relaxer types and sectioning; 

(27) Color types and application sectioning; 

(28) Scalp treatments; 

(29) Manicures; 

(30) Pedicures; 

(31) Artificial nails; 

(32) Styles and techniques of cosmetology services 

including: 

(A) Arranging; 

(B) Dressing; 

(C) Curling; 

(D) Waving; 

(E) Cutting techniques and implements 

including razors, clippers, thinning 

shears, and shears; 

(F) Cleansing; 

(G) Cutting; 

(H) Singeing; 

(I) Bleaching, or coloring hair; 

(J) Esthetics; 

(K) Manicuring; 

(L) Business management; and 

(M) Salon business; and; 

(33) Board laws, rules and website. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule all students shall be trained on the following performance 

requirements: 

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Blow drying; 

(4) Hot iron; 

(5) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, locs, 

or knots); 

(6) Solid form cut; 

(7) Elevated cut; 

(8) Cut with tapered or thinning shears; 

(9) Razor cut; 

(10) Clipper cut; 

(11) Shears over comb cut; 

(12) Clippers over comb cut; 

(13) Virgin darker; 

(14) Virgin lightener; 

(15) Retouch; 

(16) Foil; 

(17) Freehand painting; 

(18) Relaxer virgin; 

(19) Relaxer retouch; 

(20) Curl reforming virgin; 

(21) Curl reforming retouch; 

(22) Permanent waving rod placement rectangle; 

(23) Permanent waving rod placement contour; 

(24) Permanent waving rod placement bricklay-

overlap; 

(25) Permanent waving rod placement – spiral; 

(26) Basic manicure; 

(27) Artificial nails 

(28) Basic facial; 

(29) Waxing including face and body; 

(30) Hair removal with tweezers; 

(31) Hair removal with razor; and 

(32) Makeup application. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use performance evaluation 

plans for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, and 

safe application of products for all service performances. Students 

must pass the infection control and blood exposure procedures 

evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, received theory and 
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practical instructions, and passed each of the following 

performance evaluations prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Blow drying and hot iron; 

(2) Hair cut with shears, a razor and clipper. 

(3) Color application including virgin and retouch 

(4) Relaxer application including virgin and 

retouch; 

(5) Permanent waving; 

(6) Basic manicure with pedicure difference; 

(7) Basic facial including steam; and 

(8) Waxing. 

(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required on 

the graduation form and application for the Board examination. 

Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; October 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0603 APPRENTICE COSMETOLOGY 

CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, an apprentice 

cosmetologist training course shall begin with infection control 

and blood exposure procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 

and .0404 and consist of 1200 hours of instruction in theory and 

practical application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Professional image; 

(2) Infection control; 

(3) Bacteriology; 

(4) Disinfection; 

(5) First aid; 

(6) Anatomy; 

(7) Electricity as it relates to cosmetic art; 

(8) Chemistry as it relates to cosmetic art; 

(9) Professional ethics; 

(10) Draping; 

(11) Shampooing; 

(12) Roller sets; 

(13) Pin curls; 

(14) Ridge curls with C shaping; 

(15) Fingerwaves; 

(16) Braids; 

(17) Artificial hair; 

(18) Up-styles; 

(19) Blowdrying; 

(20) Brush control; 

(21) Blowdrying with curling iron; 

(22) Pressing or thermal; 

(23) Hair cutting; 

(24) Partings; 

(25) Perm wraps; 

(26) Relaxer sectioning; 

(27) Color application sectioning; 

(28) Scalp treatments; 

(29) Manicures; 

(30) Pedicures; 

(31) Artificial nails; 

(32) Styles and techniques of cosmetology services 

including: 

(A) Arranging; 

(B) Dressing; 

(C) Curling; 

(D) Waving; 

(E) Cutting techniques and implements 

including razors, clippers, thinning 

shears, and shears; 

(F) Cleansing; 

(G) Cutting; 

(H) Singeing; 

(I) Bleaching, or coloring hair; 

(J) Esthetics; 

(K) Manicuring; 

(L) Business management; and 

(M) Salon business; and; 

(33) Board laws, rules and website. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule all students shall be trained on the following performance 

requirements: 

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Blow drying; 

(4) Hot iron; 

(5) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, locs, 

or knots); 

(6) Solid form cut; 

(7) Elevated cut; 

(8) Cut with tapered or thinning shears; 

(9) Razor cut; 

(10) Clipper cut; 

(11) Shears over comb cut; 

(12) Clippers over comb cut; 

(13) Virgin darker; 

(14) Virgin lightener; 

(15) Retouch; 

(16) Foil; 

(17) Freehand painting; 

(18) Relaxer virgin; 

(19) Relaxer retouch; 

(20) Curl reforming virgin; 

(21) Curl reforming retouch; 

(22) Permanent waving rod placement rectangle; 

(23) Permanent waving rod placement contour; 

(24) Permanent waving rod placement bricklay-

overlap; 

(25) Permanent waving rod placement – spiral; 
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(26) Basic manicure; 

(27) Artificial nails; 

(28) Basic facial; 

(29) Waxing including face and body; 

(30) Hair removal with tweezers; 

(31) Hair removal with razor; and 

(32) Makeup application. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use performance evaluation 

plans for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, and 

safe application of products for all service performances. Students 

must pass the infection control and blood exposure procedures 

evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, received theory and 

practical instructions, and passed each of the following 

performance evaluations prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Blow drying and hot iron; 

(2) Hair cut with shears, a razor and clipper. 

(3) Color application including virgin and retouch 

(4) Relaxer application including virgin and 

retouch; 

(5) Permanent waving; 

(6) Basic manicure with pedicure difference; 

(7) Basic facial including steam; and 

(8) Waxing. 

(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required on 

the graduation form and application for the Board examination. 

Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; September 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0604 ESTHETICS CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, an esthetician training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of at least 600 hours of instruction in theory and practical 

application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Anatomy or physiology; 

(2) Infection control; 

(3) Disinfection; 

(4) First aid; 

(5) Chemistry as it relates to esthetics; 

(6) Draping; 

(7) Facial or body treatment (cleansing, 

manipulations, masks, and chemical peels); 

(8) Hair removal; 

(9) Basic dermatology; 

(10 Skin care machines, electricity, and apparatus; 

(11) Aromatherapy; 

(12) Nutrition; 

(13) Make-up or color theory; 

(14) Styles and techniques of esthetics services 

including: 

(A) Facials; 

(B) Makeup application; 

(C) Performing skin care; 

(D) Hair removal; 

(E) Eyelash extensions; 

(F) Applying brow and lash color; 

(G) Business management; and 

(H) Professional ethics; and 

(15) Board laws, rules and website. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule all students shall be trained on the following performance 

requirements: 

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Basic facial; 

(4) Waxing including underarm, lip, eyebrow, leg 

and bikini; 

(5) Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers; 

(6) Makeup application; 

(7) Facials with machines; 

(8) Exfoliation; 

(9) Facials with LED light; 

(10) Facials with high frequency (direct and 

indirect); and 

(11) Lash application. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use performance evaluation 

plans for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, and 

safe application of products for all service performances. Students 

must pass the infection control and blood exposure procedures 

evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, received theory and 

practical instructions, and passed each of the following 

performance evaluations prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Basic facial, including steam; 

(2) Waxing; 

(3) Lash lift and brow lamination; 

(4) Artificial lashes; and 

(5) Lash and brow tint. 

(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required on 

the graduation form and Board's application for the examination. 

Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 
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(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0605 MANICURING CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a manicurist training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of at least 300 hours of instruction in theory and practical 

application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Manicuring theory; 

(2) Infection control; 

(3) First aid; 

(4) Trimming; 

(5) Filing; 

(6) Shaping; 

(7) Decorating; 

(8) Arm and hand manipulation; 

(9) Sculptured and artificial nails (application, 

repair, fill, and removal); 

(10) Pedicuring; and 

(11) Styles and techniques for the care, treatment, 

and decoration of the following: 

(A) Fingernails; 

(B) Toenails; 

(C) Cuticles; 

(D) Nail extensions and artificial nails; 

(E) Electric file; 

(G) Business management; 

(H) Professional ethics; and 

(I) Board laws, regulations and website. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule all students shall be trained on the following performance 

requirements: 

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Basic manicure; 

(4) Basic pedicure; 

(5) Nail tips; 

(6) Acrylic overlay (application, repair, fill, and 

removal); 

(7) Sculptured nails (application, repair, fill, and 

removal); and 

(8) Gel overlay (application, repair, fill, and 

removal). 

(d)  Each school must develop and use performance evaluation 

plans for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, and safe 

application of products for all service performances. Students 

must pass the infection control and blood exposure procedures 

evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, received theory and 

practical instructions, and passed each of the following 

performance evaluations prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Basic manicure with pedicure difference; and 

(2) Sculptured nails including application, fill, and 

removal. 

(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required on 

the graduation form and Board's application for the examination. 

Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0606 NATURAL HAIR CARE 

CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a natural hair care styling 

training course shall begin with infection control and blood 

exposure procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 

and consist of 300 hours of instruction in theory and practical 

application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Infection control; 

(2) Bacteriology; 

(3) Board laws, regulations, website, and licensure 

scope of practice. 

(4) First aid; 

(5) Shampooing; 

(6) Draping; 

(7) Anatomy; 

(8) Disorders of the hair and scalp; 

(9) Client consultation; 

(10) Twisting; 

(11) Wrapping; 

(12) Extending; 

(13) Locking; 

(14) Blowdry and thermal iron; 

(15) Business management; and 

(16) Professional ethics. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule all students shall be trained on the following performance 

requirements: 

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Twists; 

(4) Knots; 
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(5) Locs; 

(6) 2 strand overlap; 

(7) 3 strand overbraid; 

(8) 3 strand underbraid; 

(9) On the scalp 3 strand braid; 

(10) Track and sew weft; and 

(11) Adding hair extensions. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use performance evaluation 

plans for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, and 

safe application of products for all service performances. Students 

must pass the infection control and blood exposure procedures 

evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, received theory and 

practical instructions, and passed each of the following 

performance evaluations to performing services on a live model: 

(1) Trach and sew weft; and 

(2) Three strand overbraid and underbraid. 

(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required on 

the graduation form and Board's application for the examination. 

Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0615 FIELD TRIPS 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools shall notify the Board prior to any field 

trip and record the field trip hours of each student. Cosmetic art 

educational field trips include the following locations or 

activities: 

(1) cosmetic art shops; 

(2) cosmetic art conventions; 

(3) competition training; 

(4) other schools; 

(5) state Board Office; 

(6) supply houses; 

(7) college or Career Day at school; 

(8) fashion Shows; 

(9) rest homes or nursing homes; 

(10) hospitals; and 

(11) funeral homes. 

(b)  An instructor shall be present during the educational field trips 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule for credit to be given to 

students, with a ratio of one instructor per 25 students present. 

(c)  The maximum number of hours a student may earn for field 

trips is 40 hours for cosmetology students, 20 hours for esthetician 

students, and 10 hours for manicurist or natural hair care students. 

(d)  Students may earn up to four additional hours of credit for 

curriculum requirements for interviews for employment at a 

licensed cosmetic art shop. 

(e)  Students may not earn credit for any service performances 

completed outside of the school. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 16B .1101 APPLICATION FOR 

REINSTATEMENT AND PROOF OF COMPETENCY 

(a)  Any person desiring to practice dentistry in North Carolina 

whose North Carolina dental license has been revoked, 

suspended, retired, or expired shall submit to the Board an 

application for reinstatement. All applications for reinstatement of 

a dental license shall be submitted on forms furnished by the 

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include: 

(1) original dental license number and date of 

issuance; 

(2) full name; 

(3) street address as of the date of the application; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) email address; 

(6) citizenship or immigration status, with 

verifying documentation; 

(7) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

nature, facts, and disposition of any matter 

where the applicant has ever: 

(A) been summoned to court or before a 

magistrate for the violation of any law 

or ordinance or for the commission of 

any felony or misdemeanor; 

(B) been arrested for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(C) been taken into custody for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(D) been indicted for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(E) been convicted or tried for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(F) been charged with the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 
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commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; or 

(G) pleaded guilty to the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(8) whether the applicant is under investigation as 

of the date of the application or has ever been 

investigated by the Board or any other licensing 

board; 

(9) whether the applicant has ever had a civil 

lawsuit related to the practice of dentistry 

settled; 

(10) all dental licenses from other jurisdictions ever 

held by the applicant, including dates of 

licensure; 

(11) a statement disclosing all the applicant's dental 

practices from dental school graduation to the 

date of the application, including: 

(A) the dates during which the applicant 

was engaged in practice as a dentist; 

(B) the addresses of the offices or places at 

which the applicant was employed or 

practicing, and the names and 

addresses of all employers, partners, 

associates, or persons sharing office 

space; 

(C) whether the applicant was practicing 

general dentistry or a specialty; and 

(D) the reason for the termination of each 

employment or period of private 

practice; 

(12) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

current condition or impairment, including 

substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental, 

emotional, or nervous disorder or condition, 

that in any way affects the ability to practice 

dentistry. For purposes of this Rule, "current" 

means recently enough that the condition or 

impairment may affect the applicant's ability to 

function as a dentist as set out in G.S. 90-

41(a)(2) and (7). If the applicant contends that 

the condition or impairment is reduced or 

ameliorated because the applicant is receiving 

ongoing treatment or participating in a 

monitoring or support program, the applicant 

may provide information regarding the 

treatment or program, and may include any 

verification demonstrating that the applicant 

has complied with all provisions and terms of 

any drug treatment program, or impaired 

dentists or other impaired professionals 

program; 

(13) two letters of character reference from non-

family members; 

(14) a copy of a National Practitioner Data Bank 

report concerning the applicant that was 

obtained within six months prior to the date the 

report is submitted to the Board; 

(15) documentation of the applicant's completion of 

continuing education courses, as set out in 21 

NCAC 16R .0200, in amounts equal to the 

number of hours required for renewal of a 

dental license; and 

(16) a copy of an unexpired CPR certificate. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit to the Board the notarized 

application form for reinstatement with all the information and 

materials listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, accompanied by the 

nonrefundable reinstatement application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 

16M .0101(a)(8) and the renewal fees set forth in 21 NCAC 16M 

.0101(a)(2) and (b). 

(c)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a) and (b) of 

this Rule, if the applicant is or has ever been licensed in other 

states, the applicant shall request the dental regulatory authority 

or other occupational or professional regulatory authority of each 

licensing jurisdiction where the applicant holds or has ever held a 

dental license to send to the Board office, in an unopened 

envelope sealed by the authority, a certificate of the applicant's 

licensure status accompanied by a disclosure of any disciplinary 

action taken or investigation pending.  

(d)  An applicant whose North Carolina license has been revoked, 

suspended, retired, or expired for more than one year shall submit 

to the Board a completed fingerprint record card and signed 

release of information form authorizing the Board to request a 

fingerprint-based criminal history record check from the North 

Carolina State Bureau of Investigation. 

(e)  An applicant for reinstatement whose North Carolina dental 

license has been revoked, suspended, retired, or expired for two 

to five years shall take refresher courses as specified by the Board 

if the Board determines that the applicant lacks skills or 

knowledge to practice dentistry. Refresher courses for an 

applicant whose license was revoked or suspended shall relate to 

the deficiencies that led to the imposition of discipline. Refresher 

courses for an applicant whose license has been retired or expired 

shall be specified by the Board taking into account the amount of 

time the license has been retired or expired and the applicant's 

level of experience. 

(f)  An applicant for reinstatement whose North Carolina dental 

license has been revoked, suspended, retired, or expired for more 

than five years shall pass the American Board of Dental 

Examiners dental licensure clinical examinations before applying 

for reinstatement. 

(g)  The Board shall receive all information and documentation 

set forth in Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule and the 

applicant's passing scores on any examinations required under 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule for the application to be complete. 

Applications that are not completed within one year of being 

submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a 

refund of the application fees. 

(h)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(i)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-30; 90-41; 90-42; 

Eff. September 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 
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Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16C .0303 BOARD APPROVED 

EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  All applicants for dental hygiene licensure shall achieve 

passing scores on the Board's sterilization and jurisprudence 

examinations. Reexamination shall be governed by Rule .0311 of 

this Section. 

(b)  All applicants for dental hygiene licensure shall achieve 

passing scores on the examination administered by the Joint 

Commission on National Dental Examinations and clinical 

examinations administered by Board approved testing agencies. 

The Board shall determine which testing agencies are approved 

based on the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of 

this Rule. 

(c)  To qualify as an approved testing agency, the test-

development agencies shall allow Board representation on the 

examination review committee and the board of directors of the 

agency and allow Board input in the examination development 

and administration. 

(d)  To qualify as an approved testing agency, the clinical 

examination administered by a testing agency shall: 

(1) include procedures performed on human 

subjects as part of the assessment of clinical 

competency; 

(2) include probing, supra- and subgingival 

scaling, and soft tissue management; and 

(3) provide the following: 

(A) anonymity between applicants and 

examination graders; 

(B) standardization and calibration of 

graders; 

(C) a mechanism for post exam analysis; 

(D) conjunctive scoring, which is scoring 

that requires applicants to earn a 

passing grade on all sections or areas 

tested and that does not allow 

weighted, averaged, or overall scoring 

to compensate for failures in 

individual subject areas; 

(E) a minimum passing score set by the 

testing agency for each subject area 

tested; 

(F) an annual review of the examination; 

(G) a task analysis performed at least once 

every seven years that surveys dentists 

nationwide to determine the content of 

the examination; 

(H) a system of quality assurance to ensure 

uniform, consistent administration of 

the examination at each testing site; 

and 

(I) does not permit a dental hygiene 

instructor to grade candidates at any 

institution at which the instructor is 

employed. 

(e)  The Board shall accept examination scores for five years 

following the date of the examination. Individuals who apply for 

licensure more than five years after the examination date shall re-

take the examination. Each applicant shall arrange for the 

applicant's scores to be submitted to the Board office.  

(f)  The applicant shall comply with all requirements of the testing 

agency in applying for and taking the examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-224; 

Eff. September 3, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; June 1, 2009; June 1, 2006; 

May 1, 1989; March 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16C .0601 APPLICATION FOR 

REINSTATEMENT AND PROOF OF COMPETENCY 

(a)  Any person desiring to practice dental hygiene in North 

Carolina whose North Carolina dental hygiene license has been 

revoked, suspended, retired, or expired shall submit to the Board 

an application for reinstatement. All applications for 

reinstatement of a dental hygiene license shall be made on the 

forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall 

include: 

(1) original dental hygiene license number and date 

of issuance; 

(2) full name; 

(3) street address as of the date of the application; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) email address; 

(6) citizenship or immigration status, with 

verifying documentation; 

(7) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

nature, facts, and disposition of any matter 

where the applicant has ever: 

(A) been summoned to court or before a 

magistrate for the violation of any law 

or ordinance or for the commission of 

any felony or misdemeanor; 

(B) been arrested for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(C) been taken into custody for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(D) been indicted for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(E) been convicted or tried for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(F) been charged with the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; or 
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(G) pleaded guilty to the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(8) whether the applicant is under investigation as 

of the date of the application or has ever been 

investigated by the Board or any other licensing 

board; 

(9) whether the applicant has ever had a civil 

lawsuit related to the practice of dental hygiene 

settled; 

(10) all dental hygiene licenses from other 

jurisdictions ever held by the applicant, 

including dates of licensure; 

(11) a statement disclosing all the applicant's dental 

hygiene practices, including: 

(A) the dates during which the applicant 

was employed as a dental hygienist; 

(B) the name and address of each 

employer; and 

(C) the reason for the termination of each 

employment; 

(12) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

current condition or impairment, including 

substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental, 

emotional, or nervous disorder or condition, 

that in any way affects the ability to practice 

dental hygiene. For purposes of this Rule, 

"current" means recently enough that the 

condition or impairment may affect the 

applicant's ability to function as a dental 

hygienist as set out in G.S. 90-229(a)(4) and 

(13). If the applicant contends that the condition 

or impairment is reduced or ameliorated 

because the applicant is receiving ongoing 

treatment or participating in a monitoring or 

support program, the applicant may provide 

information regarding the treatment or 

program, and may include any verification 

demonstrating that the applicant has complied 

with all provisions and terms of any drug 

treatment program, or impaired dental 

hygienists or other impaired professionals 

program; 

(13) two letters of character reference from non-

family members; 

(14) a copy of a National Practitioner Data Bank 

report concerning the applicant that was 

obtained within six months prior to the date the 

report is submitted to the Board; 

(15) documentation of the applicant's completion of 

continuing education courses, as set out in 21 

NCAC 16I, in amounts equal to the number of 

hours required for renewal of a dental hygiene 

license; and 

(16) a copy of an unexpired CPR certificate. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit to the Board the notarized 

application form for reinstatement with all the information and 

materials listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, accompanied by the 

nonrefundable reinstatement application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 

16M .0102(a)(3) and the renewal fees set forth in 21 NCAC 16M 

.0102(a)(2) and (b).  

(c)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a) and (b) of 

this Rule, if the applicant is or has ever been licensed in other 

states, the applicant shall request the dental regulatory authority 

or other occupational or professional regulatory authority of each 

licensing jurisdiction where the applicant holds or has ever held a 

dental hygiene license to send to the Board office, in an unopened 

envelope sealed by the authority, a certificate of the applicant's 

licensure status accompanied by a disclosure of any disciplinary 

action taken or investigation pending. 

(d)  An applicant whose North Carolina license has been revoked, 

suspended, retired, or expired for more than one year shall submit 

to the Board a completed fingerprint record card and signed 

release of information form authorizing the Board to request a 

fingerprint-based criminal history check from the North Carolina 

State Bureau of Investigation. 

(e)  An applicant for reinstatement whose North Carolina dental 

hygiene license has been revoked, suspended, retired, or expired 

for two to five years shall take refresher courses as specified by 

the Board if the Board determines that the applicant lacks skills or 

knowledge to practice dental hygiene. Refresher courses for an 

applicant whose license was revoked or suspended shall relate to 

the deficiencies that led to the imposition of discipline. Refresher 

courses for an applicant whose license has been retired or expired 

shall be specified by the Board taking into account the amount of 

time the license has been retired or expired and the applicant's 

level of experience. 

(f)  An applicant for reinstatement whose North Carolina dental 

hygiene license has been revoked, suspended, retired, or expired 

for more than five years shall pass the American Board of Dental 

Examiners dental hygiene licensure clinical examinations before 

seeking reinstatement. 

(g)  The Board shall receive all information and documentation 

set forth in Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule and the 

applicant's passing scores on any examinations required under 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule for the application to be complete. 

Applications that are not completed within one year of being 

submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a 

refund of the application fees. 

(h)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(i)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224; 90-229; 

Eff. September 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16F .0104 CERTIFICATE OF 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each professional corporation, association, or limited liability 

company shall submit an application for a certificate of 

registration on the form provided by the Board for that purpose, 

and shall include the following information: 

(1) name of the company; 
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(2) street address of the company; 

(3) mailing address of the company, if different 

from the street address; 

(4) email address of the company; 

(5) name, address, and dental license number of 

each shareholder or member, and each dentist 

to be employed by the company once it is 

registered; 

(6) name, address, and occupation of each 

corporation director and officer, or each limited 

liability company manager; and 

(7) name, address, and duties of each person, other 

than dentists, to be employed by the company 

once it is registered. 

(b)  The application shall be: 

(1) signed by the president or vice president of the 

professional corporation or association or by a 

manager of the professional limited liability 

company, and notarized; 

(2) submitted to the Board with all the information 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

(3) accompanied by the registration fee of fifty 

dollars ($50.00); and 

(4) accompanied by a certified copy of the 

certificate of incorporation and articles of 

incorporation of the professional corporation or 

association or a certified copy of the articles of 

organization of the professional limited liability 

company. For purposes of this Subparagraph, 

"certified" means the copy is accompanied by 

certification of filing from the Secretary of 

State as set forth in G.S. 55D-17. 

(c)  The initial certificate of registration shall remain effective for 

one year from the date of issuance, unless suspended or 

terminated as provided in G.S. 55B-13, and each subsequent 

renewal of the certificate shall be effective for a period of one year 

from the date of issue. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-10; 57D-2-01; 90-48; 

Eff. September 3, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2009; April 1, 1994; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16F .0105 APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL 

(a)  At least 20 days prior to the date of expiration of the certificate 

of registration, the corporation or limited liability company shall 

submit its application for renewal upon a form provided by the 

Board, and shall include the following information: 

(1) name of the company as shown on the 

certificate of registration; 

(2) name of the company as of the date of the 

application for renewal, if the company name 

has been amended; 

(3) street address of the company; 

(4) mailing address of the company, if different 

from the street address; 

(5) email address of the company; and 

(6) name and dental license number of each dentist 

practicing under the company. 

(b)  The application shall be submitted by the president or vice 

president of the professional corporation or association or by a 

manager of the professional limited liability company to the 

Board with all the information listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

accompanied by the renewal fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-11; 57D-2-01; 90-48; 

Eff. September 3, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1994; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16G .0103 PROCEDURES PROHIBITED 

Those procedures that require the professional education and skill 

of a dentist and shall not be delegated to a dental hygienist 

include: 

(1) performing comprehensive examination, 

diagnosis, and treatment planning; 

(2) performing surgical or cutting procedures on 

hard or soft tissues, including laser, air 

abrasion, or micro-abrasion procedures; 

(3) placing or removing therapeutic sulcular 

nonresorbable agents; 

(4) issuing prescription drugs, medications, or 

work authorizations; 

(5) performing the final placement or intraoral 

adjustment of a fixed or removable appliance; 

(6) performing intraoral occlusal adjustments that 

affect function, fit, or occlusion of any 

temporary or permanent restoration or 

appliance; 

(7) performing direct pulp capping or pulpotomy; 

(8) placing sutures; 

(9) performing final placement or cementation of 

orthodontic bands or brackets; 

(10) performing the placement or cementation of 

final restorations; 

(11) administering any anesthetic by any route 

except administering topically-applied agents 

intended to anesthetize only cutaneous tissue; 

(12) using a high-speed handpiece intraorally; 

(13) performing cementation of endodontic posts; 

(14) condensing Amalgam; 

(15) using a transcutaneous electrical nerve 

stimulation (TENS) unit; 

(16) applying formocresol; 

(17) placing stainless steel crown on permanent or 

primary teeth; 

(18) performing pulp vitality testing; 

(19) performing curettage; 

(20) placing periodontal or surgical dressing; 

(21) performing oral brush biopsy; 

(22) taking bite registration or Elastometrics; 

(23) placing eugenol wick in dry socket; 
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(24) fabricating or delivering sleep apnea appliance;  

(25) removing, replacing, or torqueing either 

impression or prosthetic implant abutments; 

and 

(26) administering any sedation or general 

anesthesia pharmacological agents, including 

drawing a dosage into a syringe. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-221(a); 90-223(b); 

Eff. September 3, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; August 1, 2008; August 1, 2000; 

May 1, 1989; March 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020; April 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16H .0104 APPROVED EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING PROGRAMS 

(a)  To be classified as a Dental Assistant II, an assistant shall have 

and maintain an unexpired CPR certification and also shall meet 

one of the following criteria: 

(1) completion of: 

(A) an ADA-accredited dental assisting 

program; or 

(B) one academic year or longer in an 

ADA-accredited dental hygiene 

program;  

(2) completion of the Dental Assistant certification 

examination(s) administered by the Dental 

Assisting National Board; or 

(3) completion of: 

(A) employment as a Dental Assistant I for 

two years of the preceding five, 

consisting of at least 3,000 hours total; 

(B) a 3-hour course in sterilization and 

infection control; and 

(C) a 3-hour course in dental office 

emergencies. 

(b)  A Dental Assistant I who has completed the requirements of 

Parts (a)(3)(B)-(C) of this Rule but not completed the training 

pursuant to Part (a)(3)(A) may be trained by a licensed dentist and 

allowed to perform the functions of a Dental Assistant II, as 

specified in Rule .0203 of this Subchapter, under the direct control 

and supervision of a licensed dentist, except that a Dental 

Assistant I performing the functions of a Dental Assistant II 

pursuant to this Paragraph shall not perform the coronal polishing 

function set out in Rule .0203(a)(21) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, an unexpired CPR certification is 

one that is in effect and valid at the time of classification as a 

Dental Assistant II and remains so at all times while employed as 

a Dental Assistant II or while performing any of the permitted 

functions under Rule .0203 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  A Dental Assistant shall not take radiographs before 

completing radiology training consistent with G.S. 90-29(c)(12). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-29(c)(9); 

Eff. September 3, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; April 1, 2015; August 1, 2000; 

November 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; September 1, 1998; May 1, 

1989; October 1, 1986. 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16I .0101 APPLICATIONS 

(a)  A renewal application for a dental hygiene license shall be 

submitted electronically before midnight on January 31 of each 

year through the Board's website: www.ncdentalboard.org. The 

renewal application shall include: 

(1) dental hygiene license number; 

(2) full name; 

(3) mailing address and any secondary address the 

licensee wishes to provide; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) fax number; 

(6) email address; 

(7) citizenship or immigration status, with 

verifying documentation; 

(8) whether, during the calendar year preceding the 

application, the licensee has: 

(A) been summoned to court or before a 

magistrate for the violation of any law 

or ordinance or for the commission of 

any felony or misdemeanor; 

(B) been arrested for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(C) been taken into custody for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(D) been indicted for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(E) been convicted or tried for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(F) been charged with the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(G) pleaded guilty to the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(H) been disciplined by any professional 

licensing board; or 

(I) had a malpractice suit settled or 

pending against the licensee; 

(9) whether the licensee has been investigated for 

employee misclassification as an independent 

contractor within the five years preceding the 

application; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:07 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2020 

811 

(10) employment status as a dental hygienist as of 

the date of the application, including; 

(A) whether the licensee is currently 

working as a dental hygienist; 

(B) name of the practice in which the 

licensee provides services; 

(C) primary setting in which the licensee 

provides services; 

(D) type of employer for which the 

licensee works; and 

(E) number of hours the licensee works in 

an average week; 

(11) a report of the licensee's completion of 

continuing education hours related to clinical 

patient care during the calendar year preceding 

the application, or the licensee's exemption 

from reporting; 

(12) whether the licensee holds an unexpired CPR 

certification; 

(13) whether the licensee has been employed as a 

limited supervision hygienist as set forth in 21 

NCAC 16Z during the calendar year preceding 

the application; and 

(14) a written statement certifying that the 

information submitted is accurate to the best of 

the licensee's knowledge. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

the licensee shall mail to the Board the following materials for 

review by the Board before the license will be renewed: 

(1) for each matter existing under Subparagraph 

(a)(8) of this Rule, a statement describing the 

nature, facts, and disposition of the matter, and 

include a copy, certified by the clerk of court or 

the applicable licensing board, of the 

disposition or judgment in the matter; and 

(2) for each matter under Subparagraph (a)(9) of 

this Rule, documentation of the results of the 

investigation. 

(c)  The Board shall receive all information and documentation 

set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, accompanied by 

the renewal fees set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0102, for the renewal 

application to be complete. If a renewal application is not 

complete, the license shall not be renewed. 

(d)  Eligible licensees shall be granted an extension period as set 

out in Rule .0111 of this Subchapter in which to pay renewal fees, 

obtain CPR certification, and comply with the Board's continuing 

education rules. 

(e)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-227; 93B-15; 

Eff. September 3, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2015; February 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; 

August 1, 1998; May 1, 1989. 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16N .0403 DISPOSITION OF REQUESTS 

(a)  When the Board deems it appropriate to issue a declaratory 

ruling, it shall issue the declaratory ruling as soon as practicable 

but no longer than the period set out in G.S. 150B-4(a1). 

(b)  A declaratory ruling proceeding may consist of written 

submissions or other procedures the Board determines to be in the 

interests of justice and judicial economy based on the content and 

circumstances of the request. 

(c)  Whenever the Board finds good cause exists to deny the 

request for a declaratory ruling, the Board may deny the request 

to issue a declaratory ruling. In that event, the Board shall notify 

the petitioner of its decision in writing, stating the reasons for the 

denial of the declaratory ruling. 

(d)  For purposes of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, good cause for the 

denial of a declaratory ruling request may include one of the 

following: 

(1) the petitioner does not show that the 

circumstances are changed since the adoption 

of the rule and a declaratory ruling would be 

warranted; 

(2) at the time the rule was adopted, the Board gave 

full consideration to the factors specified in the 

request for a declaratory ruling; 

(3) there has been a previous determination of a 

contested case involving similar factual 

questions; or 

(4) the subject matter of the request is involved in 

pending litigation in any State or federal court 

in North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-4; 

Eff. August 25, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; October 1, 1986; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16R .0101 APPLICATIONS 

(a)  A renewal application for a dental license shall be submitted 

electronically before midnight on January 31 of each year through 

the Board's website: www.ncdentalboard.org. The renewal 

application shall include: 

(1) dental license number; 

(2) full name; 

(3) mailing address; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) fax number; 

(6) email address; 

(7) citizenship or immigration status, with 

verifying documentation; 

(8) whether, during the calendar year preceding the 

application, the licensee has: 

(A) been summoned to court or before a 

magistrate for the violation of any law 

or ordinance or for the commission of 

any felony or misdemeanor; 

(B) been arrested for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 
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commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(C) been taken into custody for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(D) been indicted for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(E) been convicted or tried for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(F) been charged with the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(G) pleaded guilty to the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(H) been disciplined by any professional 

licensing board; or 

(I) had a malpractice suit settled or 

pending against the licensee; 

(9) whether the licensee has been investigated for 

employee misclassification as an independent 

contractor within the five years preceding the 

application; 

(10) employment status as a dentist as of the date of 

the application, including: 

(A) whether the licensee is currently 

working as a dentist; 

(B) primary practice area; 

(C) name of the practice in which the 

licensee provides services; 

(D) primary setting in which the licensee 

provides services; 

(E) number of hours the licensee works in 

an average week; 

(F) whether the licensee is self-employed; 

(G) if not self-employed, the type of 

employer for which the licensee 

works; and 

(H) if self-employed, the number of 

dentists, hygienists, and dental 

assistants working in the licensee's 

practice; 

(11) a report of the licensee's completion of 

continuing education hours related to clinical 

patient care during the calendar year preceding 

the application, or the licensee's exemption 

from reporting; 

(12) whether the licensee is enrolled in or completed 

a residency program during the calendar year 

preceding the application; 

(13) whether the licensee holds an unexpired CPR 

certification; 

(14) whether the licensee employed dental 

hygienists as limited supervision hygienists as 

set forth in 21 NCAC 16Z during the calendar 

year preceding the application; 

(15) whether the licensee is registered with and 

using the N.C. Controlled Substances 

Reporting System as of the date of the 

application; 

(16) whether the licensee has an active U.S. Drug 

Enforcement Administration license as of the 

date of the application to prescribe schedule II-

IV controlled medications; 

(17) whether the licensee has completed at least one 

hour of continuing education in controlled 

substance prescribing practices and controlled 

substance prescribing for chronic pain 

management during the calendar year 

preceding the application; and 

(18) a written statement certifying that the 

information submitted is accurate to the best of 

the licensee's knowledge. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

the licensee shall mail to the Board the following materials for 

review by the Board before the license will be renewed: 

(1) for each matter existing under Subparagraph 

(a)(8) of this Rule, a statement describing the 

nature, facts, and disposition of the matter, and 

include a copy, certified by the clerk of court or 

the applicable licensing board, of the 

disposition or judgment in the matter; and 

(2) for each matter under Subparagraph (a)(9) of 

this Rule, documentation of the results of the 

investigation. 

(c)  The Board shall receive all information and documentation 

set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, accompanied by 

the renewal fees set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101, for the renewal 

application to be complete. If a renewal application is not 

complete, the license will not be renewed. 

(d)  Eligible licensees shall be granted an extension period as set 

out in 21 NCAC 16B .0900 in which to pay renewal fees, obtain 

CPR certification, and comply with the Board's continuing 

education rules. 

(e)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-31; 90-39; 93B-15; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; February 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16R .0102 FEE FOR LATE FILING AND 

DUPLICATE LICENSE 

(a)  If the application for a renewal certificate, including all 

information and documentation set out in Rule .0101 of this 

Subchapter and accompanied by the renewal fees required by 21 

NCAC 16M .0101, is not received in the Board's office before 
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midnight on January 31 of each year, an additional fee for late 

renewal shall be charged as set out in 21 NCAC 16M .0101. 

(b)  A fee shall be charged for each duplicate of any license or 

certificate issued by the Board as set out in 21 NCAC 16M .0101. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-31; 90-39; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; February 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16R .0108 LICENSE VOID UPON FAILURE 

TO TIMELY RENEW 

If an application for a renewal certificate, including all 

information and documentation set out in Rule .0101 of this 

Subchapter and accompanied by the renewal and late filing fees 

required by 21 NCAC 16M .0101, is not received in the Board's 

office before midnight on March 31 of each year, the license shall 

become void and the applicant shall apply for reinstatement in 

accordance with 21 NCAC 16B .1101. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-31; 90-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32R .0102 APPROVED CATEGORIES OF 

CME 

(a)  Category 1 CME providers are: 

(1) Institutions or organizations accredited by the 

Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education (ACCME) and reciprocating 

organizations; 

(2) The American Osteopathic Association (AOA); 

(3) A state medical society or association; 

(4) The American Medical Association (AMA);  

(5) Specialty boards accredited by the American 

Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), the 

AOA or Royal College of Physicians and 

Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC;) and 

(6) The Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional 

Continuing Education. 

(b)  Category 1 CME education shall be presented, offered, or 

accredited by a Category 1 provider as set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule and shall include: 

(1) Educational courses; 

(2) Scientific or clinical presentations or 

publications; 

(3) Printed, recorded, audio, video, online or 

electronic educational materials for which 

CME credits are awarded by the provider; 

(4) Journal-based CME activities within a peer-

reviewed, professional journal; 

(5) Skill development; 

(6) Performance improvement activities; or 

(7) Interprofessional continuing education. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1;  

Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012; July 1, 2007; January 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 25 - STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

 

25 NCAC 01C .0802 COVERED EMPLOYEES 

Teleworking is available as a work option in every agency for full 

time and part time classified, temporary and time-limited 

employees. The decision whether to allow a position or an 

employee to telework is within management discretion and is not 

appealable to the State Human Resources Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4; S.L. 1999-328; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 19, 2000; 

Temporary Adoption Expired on November 11, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 28, 2014; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission October 15, 2020 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Garth Dunklin 
W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Randy Overton 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
Karlene Turrentine   984-236-1948 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 October 15, 2020 November 19, 2020 
 December 17, 2020 January 21, 2021 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, OCTOBER 15, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Crime Victims Compensation Commission – 14B NCAC 09 .0303, .0305 (Snyder) 
B. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02D .0403, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0506, 

.0507, .0508, .0509, .0510, .0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515, .0516, .0517, .0519, .0521, .0524, .0527, 

.0528, .0529, .0531, .0532, .0533, .0534, .0535, .0536, .0537, .0538, .0539, .0541, .0542, .0543, .0544, 

.0615 (May) 
C. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02D .0901, .0902, .0903, .0906, .0909, .0912, 

.0918, .0919, .0922, .0923, .0924, .0925, .0926, .0927, .0928, .0930, .0931, .0933, .0935, .0937, .0943, 

.0944, .0945, .0947, .0948, .0949, .0951, .0952, .0955, .0956, .0957, .0958, .0959, .0961, .0962, .0963, 

.0964, .0965, .0966, .0967, .0968 (Reeder) 
D. Coastal Resources Commission – 15A NCAC 07H .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0308, .0309, 

.0310, .0311, .0312 (May) 
E. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 13B .0531, .0532, .0533, .0534, .0535, .0536, 

.0537, .0538, .0539, .0540, .0541,.0542, .0543, .0544, .0545, .0547, .1601, .1602, .1603, .1604, .1617, 

.1618, .1619, .1620, .1621, .1622, .1623, .1624, .1625, .1626, .1627, .1629, .1630, .1631, .1632, .1633, 

.1634, .1635, .1636, .1637, .1680 (Snyder) 
F. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06B .0112, .0113, .0114 (Snyder) 
G. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06D .0211, .0212, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311; 06E .0107, 

.0204, .0206; 06G .0314, .0315, .0316, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0514, .0517, .0518, 

.0519, .0520, .0521, .0522 (Snyder) 
H. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06H .0113, .0115, .0116, .0117; 06K .0101, .0103, .0104, .0105 

(Reeder) 
I. Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board - 21 NCAC 68 .0216, .0227, .0228, .0708 (Snyder) 
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IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between August 21, 2020 through September 21, 2020 

• Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (Reeder) 

• Environmental Management Commission (Reeder) 

• Department of Transportation (May)  

• Local Government Commission (Snyder) 

• Board of Funeral Service (Reeder) 

• Board of Nursing (Snyder) 

• State Board of Opticians (Reeder) 

• State Human Resources Commission (Snyder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, November 19, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

August 21, 2020 through September 21, 2020 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 15C concern industry members, retail/industry member relationships, ship chandlers, air 
carriers, and fuel alcohol including definitions and application procedures (.0100); product approvals, listing procedures 
and product lists (.0200); packaging and labeling of malt beverages and wine (.0300); standards of identity for wine 
containers (.0400); general provisions for industry members (.0500); sales and deliveries of malt beverages and wine 
(.0600); alcoholic beverages, retailer/industry member relationship and trade practices (.0700); ships chandler's permit 
(.0800); distillers and representatives (.0900); air carriers (.1000); fuel alcohol permits (.1100); administrative action by 
commission (.1200); and special event permits (.1300).  

Definitions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1301 

Tastings Held for Consumers 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1303 

Special Event Compliance Procedure 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1304 

Special Event Sale of Branded Merchandise, Point-of-Sale ... 
Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1305 

ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tastings 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1307 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2D are air pollution control requirements including definitions and references (.0100); air 
pollution sources (.0200); air pollution emergencies (.0300); ambient air quality standards (.0400); emission control 
standards (.0500); monitoring: recordkeeping: reporting (.0600); volatile organic compounds (.0900); motor vehicle 
emission control standard (.1000); control of toxic air pollutants (.1100); control of emissions from incinerators and 
combustion units (.1200); nitrogen oxides (.1400); municipal solid waste landfills (.1700); control of odors (.1800); open 
burning (.1900); transportation conformity (.2000); risk management program (.2100); special orders (.2200); banking 
emission reduction credits (.2300); and source testing (.2600). 

Control of Emissions from Log Fumigation 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02D .0546 

Toxic Air Pollutant Guidelines 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1104 
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TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Division of Highways.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 2E concern miscellaneous operations including tort claims (.0100); outdoor advertising (.0200); 
junkyard control (.0300); general ordinances (.0400); selective vegetation removal policy (.0600); professional or 
specialized services (.0700); solicitation of contributions for religious purposes at rest areas (.0800); distribution of 
newspapers from dispensers at rest areas and welcome centers (.0900); scenic byways (.1000); tourist-oriented 
directional sign program (.1100); private property owners (.1200). 

Definitions for Outdoor Advertising Control 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0201 

Agreement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0202 

Outdoor Advertising on Controlled Routes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0203 

Local Zoning Authorities 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0204 

Applications 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0206 

Fees and Renewals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0207 

Permit and Permit Emblem 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0208 

Transfer or Permit/Change of Address 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0209 

Revocation of Outdoor Advertising Permit 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0210 

Notice Given for Revoking Permit 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0212 

Appeal of Decision of District Engineer's Office to Sec. ... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0213 

Standards For Directional Signs 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0214 

Permits for Directional Signs 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0215 

Scenic Byways 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0224 

Repair/Maintenance/Alteration/Reconstruction of Signs 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0225 

Order to Stop Work on Unpermitted Outdoor Advertising 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0226 

LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 3 concern the Local Government Commission including general provisions (.0100); approval of 
debt obligations (.0200); sale and delivery of bonds and notes (.0300); accounting and internal controls (.0400); audit 
contracts (.0500); school budgeting and accounting (.0600); mutual fund for local government investment (.0700); 
systems of registration (.0800) other requests for approval (.0900); and evidentiary hearing on refunding bonds (.1000). 

Audit Contract 
Amend* 

 20 NCAC 03 .0502 

Audit Billings  20 NCAC 03 .0505 
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Amend* 

Response to the Independent Auditor's Findings, Recommend... 
Adopt* 

 20 NCAC 03 .0508 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 34B are funeral service rules including rules relating to resident trainees (.0100); examinations 
(.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education (.0400); out-of-state licensees (.0500); funeral establishments (.0600); 
and preparation of dead bodies (.0700). 

Work Reports and Checklists 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 34B .0110 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing 
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of 
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners 
(.0800). 

Petitioning for Rulemaking 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 36 .0121 

Petitions for Declaratory Rulings 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 36 .0122 

Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice 
Amend*  

 21 NCAC 36 .0228 

Records and Reports 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 36 .0323 

OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 40 are from the Board of Opticians and concern location (.0100); conduct of registrants (.0200); 
qualifications, applications and licensing (.0300); and administrative hearings (.0400). 

Registration Optical Place of Business and Optician in Ch... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0202 

Professional Responsibility; Continuing Education 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0206 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 1E cover employee benefits including general leave provisions (.0100); vacation leave (.0200); 
sick leave (.0300); workers compensation leave (.0700); military leave (.0800); holidays (.0900); miscellaneous leave 
(.1000); other types of leave without pay (.1100); community involvement (.1200); the voluntary shared leave program 
(.1300); family and medical leave (.1400); child involvement leave (.1500); community services leave (.1600); 
administrative leave (.1700) and incentive leave (.1800). 

Purpose 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .1601 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .1602 

Covered Employees and Leave Credits 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .1603 

Uses of Volunteer Service and Child Involvement Leave 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .1604 
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Leave Administration 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .1605 

Special Leave Provisions 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .1607 

 

 

 



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

35:07 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2020 

819 

This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 DOJ 06923 8/28/2020 Scott Thomas Pitts  v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Sutton 

20 DOJ 01467 8/31/2020 Trent Lackey  v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

            

19 DST 06915 8/6/2020 Dr. Robin P 

Gardner  

v. State of North Carolina Department of 

State Treasurer, Retirement Systems 

Division 

Byrne 

             

20 EHR 01275 8/19/2020 William C Hiatt  v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality Division of Water Resources 

Sutton 

             

20 INS 01234 8/3/2020 Scott R Lassiter  v. North Carolina State Health Care Plan 

for Teachers and State Employees 

Bawtinhimer 

             

19 WTO 07049 8/27/2020 Travis Clarke v. North Carolina Water Treatment 

Facility Operators Certification Board 

Byrne 

        

    Unpublished    

        

20 ABC 02228 8/4/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Moefo Inc T/A E Z Pass Tobacco and 

Vape 

Lassiter 

            

19 CSE 05908 8/14/2020 William Glasson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 
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19 CSE 05932 8/18/2020 Timothy James  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05966 8/18/2020 Robert R Abrams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06125 8/11/2020 Norman S Bowers  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 06362 8/14/2020 Robert Daniels  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06590 8/21/2020 Richard E Stewart  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 00138 8/13/2020 George Lorenzo 

Gilmore  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

20 CSE 01217 8/24/2020 Edward L Brooks  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 01429 8/3/2020 Corderro Antonio 

Cephas  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

20 CSE 01585 8/27/2020 Brian Iversen  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 01762 8/14/2020 Phillip Wynne 

Raulston  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 01832 8/10/2020 Mavin D Williams  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 01912 8/11/2020 Larry Deron Smith( 

AR)  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

20 CSE 02007 8/31/2020 Raymond A Gibson 

Jr.  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 02229 8/12/2020 Antonio D Mock  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 02245 8/10/2020 Christopher T 

Charles  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

20 CSE 02268 8/10/2020 Albert Bracey Jr  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

             

19 DHR 06865 8/27/2020 Alpha Concord of 

Greensboro HAL-

041-082  

v. NC Dept of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, AdultCare Licensure 

Section 

Byrne 

19 DHR 06866 8/27/2020 Alpha Concord 

Plantation HAL-

080-027  

v. NC Dept of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation Adult Care Licensure 

Section 

Byrne 
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20 DHR 01773 8/21/2020 Keira Hinson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 02026 8/10/2020 Sanida Pajic 

Sabanija  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

20 DHR 02031 8/21/2020 Kids-R-Us 

Preschool & 

Childcare Center 

LLC Wendy Kaye 

Mitchell  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Mann 

20 DHR 02690 8/28/2020 Sherrie Lewis 

Young  

v. North Carolina Division of Child 

Development & Early Education 

Jacobs 

             

20 DOJ 01468 8/26/2020 Steven C Whiteman  v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

             

20 DOT 02246 8/21/2020 Jameon Sheffield  v. NC Department of Transportation Mann 

             

20 OSP 01071 8/11/2020; 

8/20/2020 

Yolanda Bullock  v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Byrne 

20 OSP 02329; 

02347 

8/10/2020 Richard Hilton 

Nowack  

v. NC Department of Public Safety;  

North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Ward 

             

20 UNC 02159 8/21/2020 Teresa Truill  v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Mann 

 

 


