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GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.



EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

August 11, 2020

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 156

EXTENDING DEADLINES FOR CERTAIN HEALTH ASSESSMENTS AND
IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS DUE TO IMPACTS OF THE PANDEMIC

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2020, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 116 which
declared a State of Emergency to coordinate the State's response and protective actions to address
the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (*COVID-197) public health emergency and provide for the health,
safety, and welfare of residents and visitors located in North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a
global pandemic; and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States issued an emergency
declaration for all states, tribes, territories, and the District of Columbia, retroactive to March 1,
2020, and the President declared that the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States constitutes a
national emergency; and

WHEREAS, on March 25, 2020, the President approved a Major Disaster Declaration,
FEMA-4487-DR, for the State of North Carolina: and

WHEREAS, in responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, and for the purpose of protecting
the health, safety, and welfare of the people of North Carolina, the undersigned has issued
Executive Order Nos. 116-122, 124-125, 129-131, 133-136, 138-144, and 146-153, and 155; and

WHEREAS, more than 137,000 people in North Carolina have had laboratory-confirmed
cases of COVID-19, and over 2,200 people in North Carolina have died from COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, immunizations are an integral part of the state’s public health strategy and
N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 130A-152 to 130A-157 require immunizations of children and students in
accordance with rules adopted by the Commission for Public Health (the “Commission™), and the
Commission’s rules, at 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41A .0401(c), specify that the State Health
Director may suspend temporarily these immunization requirements due to emergency conditions;
and

WHEREAS, the emergency conditions of the COVID-19 pandemic have made it difficult
for many families to get all required immunizations on a timely basis, and action is necessary to
support these families, while also supporting the public health goal of ensuring that children are
appropriately immunized from harmful and contagious diseases: and

WHEREAS, therefore, in a written memorandum dated August 11, 2020, (the
“Immunization Extension™), the State Health Director utilized the authority granted to her by the

35:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 15, 2020
641




EXECUTIVE ORDERS

Commission under 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41A .0401(c) to temporarily suspend, until October 1,
2020, the immunization requirements of 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41A .0401(a) and (b); and

WHEREAS, the effect of the Immunization Extension will be to provide families with
several additional weeks to obtain the immunizations that are required for students under the
Commission’s rules; and

WHEREAS, since the time to obtain these immunizations has been extended, the
deadlines should also be extended for reporting on immunizations and for completing health
assessments, which include immunization records; and

WHEREAS, notwithstanding the Immunization Extension, families are strongly
encouraged, should their unique circumstances permit, to obtain the required immunizations for
their children on a timely basis; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-12, the undersigned may supervise the
official conduct of all executive and ministerial officers; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 116 invoked the Emergency Management Act, and
authorizes the undersigned to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in
the response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(2), the undersigned may make,
amend, or rescind necessary orders, rules, and regulations within the limits of the authority
conferred upon the Governor in the Emergency Management Act; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b}3) authorizes and empowers the
undersigned to delegate Gubernatorial vested authority under the Emergency Management Act
and to provide for the sub-delegation of that authority; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.12(3)(f), the Division of Emergency
Management has the power and duty to revise, in coordination with the State Health Director, the
immunization procedures in the North Carolina Emergency Operations Plan; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(1), the undersigned may utilize
all available state resources as reasonably necessary to cope with an emergency, including the
transfer and direction of personnel or functions of state agencies or units thereof for the purpose
of performing or facilitating emergency services; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(2), during a Gubernatorially
declared State of Emergency, the undersigned has the power to “give such directions to state and
local law enforcement officers and agencies as may be reasonable and necessary for the purpose
of securing compliance with the provisions of this Article.”

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution
and the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Required Immunizations and Immunization Certificates.
For the reasons and pursuant to the statutes listed above:

a. NCDHHS shall provide additional time for families, students, and children to complete
required immunizations by implementing the Immunization Extension from the State
Health Director. [Notwithstanding the Immunization Extension, families are strongly
encouraged to obtain all required immunizations for their children on a timely basis, should
their unique circumstances permit.] The Division of Emergency Management shall make
any necessary temporary revisions to the Emergency Operations Plan to reflect this
temporary change in immunization procedures.
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b. To cope with the emergency, and to create immunization reports that will be most
beneficial to maintaining public health, NCDHHS is directed to align deadlines with the
Immunization Extension. This will include, without limitation, the following:

1. The time period from the Immunization Extension’s date through September 30,
2020, inclusive, will not count towards the thirty (30) calendar day grace period for
submission of a certificate of immunization under N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 130A-155(a)
or 130A-155.1(a).

2. Schools, colleges, and universities will have until December 15, 2020 to submit
immunization reports to NCDHHS under N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 130A-155(c) or 130A-
155.1(c).

3. The time period from the Immunization Extension’s date through September 30,
2020, inclusive, will not count towards the thirty (30) calendar day period for
submission of a health assessment transmittal form under N.C. Gen. Stat.
§§ 130A-440(a).

4. Principals will have until December 15, 2020 to submit health assessment status
reports to NCDHHS under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-441(c).

There will be no penalties for submissions that are made in accordance with the extensions
of time listed above.

Section 2. Distribution.

I hereby order that this Executive Order be: (1) distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; (2) promptly
filed with the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, the Secretary of State,
and the superior court clerks in the counties to which it applies, unless the circumstances of the
State of Emergency would prevent or impede such filing: and (3) distributed to others as necessary
to ensure proper implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 3. Effective Date.

This Executive Order is effective immediately. This Executive Order shall remain in effect
through December 15, 2020 unless repealed, replaced, or rescinded by another applicable
Executive Order: provided, however, that unless specifically stated in another Executive Order,
any deadline extensions issued pursuant to Section 1 of this Executive Order shall remain in effect
until those extensions expire. An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration of the State of
Emergency will automatically rescind this Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 11" day of August in the
year of our Lord two thousand and twenty.

TRoy Coopfr
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Ma 11
Secretary of State
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State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

August 14, 2020
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 157

EXTENDING CERTAIN TRANSPORTATION-RELATED PROVISIONS IN PREVIOUS
EXECUTIVE ORDERS

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2020, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 116 which
declared a State of Emergency to coordinate the State’s response and protective actions to address the
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) public health emergency and to provide for the health, safety,
and welfare of residents and visitors located in North Carolina (“Declaration of a State of Emergency™):
and

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a global
pandemic; and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States declared the ongoing
COVID-19 outbreak a pandemic of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant an emergency
declaration for all states, tribes, territories, and the District of Columbia pursuant to Section 501(b) of
the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. § 5121-5207 (the
“Stafford Act™); and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States pursuant to Sections
201 and 301 of the National EmergenciesAct, 50 U.S.C. § 1601, er seq. and consistent with
Section 1135 of the Social Security Act. as amended (42 U.S.C. § 1320b-5), declared that the
COVID-19 pandemic in the United States constitutes a national emergency, retroactive to March 1.
2020; and

WHEREAS, on March 25, 2020, the President of the United States, pursuant to Section 401
of the Stafford Act, approved a Major Disaster Declaration, FEMA-4487-DR, for the State of North
Carolina; and

WHEREAS, in responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, and for the purposes of protecting the
health, safety and welfare of the people of North Carolina, the undersigned has issued Executive Order
Nos. 116-122, 124-125, 129-131, 133-136, 138-144. 146-153, and 155-156: and

WHEREAS, more than 142,000 thousand people in North Carolina have had laboratory-
confirmed cases of COVID-19, and over 2,300 people in North Carolina have died from the disease:
and

WHEREAS, hospital administrators and health care providers have expressed concerns that
unless the spread of COVID-19 is limited. existing health care facilities may be insufficient to care for
those who become sick: and
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WHEREAS, slowing the community spread of COVID-19 is critical to ensuring that our
healthcare facilities remain able to accommodate those who require intensive medical intervention;
and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 116, issued on March 10, 2020, included certain
suspensions of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; and

WHEREAS, 49 C.F.R. § 390.23(a)(1)(iiX}(B) allows for the undersigned to extend the
suspension of the regulations in 49 C.F.R. §§ 300-399, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations,
for an additional thirty (30) day period if the undersigned determines that an emergency condition
continues to exist; and

WHEREAS, on August 11, 2020, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(“FMCSA™) issued the Extension of Expanded Emergency Declaration No. 2020-002 to provide
regulatory relief for commercial motor vehicle operations that provide direct assistance in support of
emergency relief efforts related to COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, the undersigned has determined that the Executive Order needs to remain in place
to allow for the continued expedited movement of vehicles in the state; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 119, issued on March 20, 2020, the undersigned facilitated
critical motor vehicle operations; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 150, issued on July 14, 2020, extended the transportation
related provisions in Executive Order Nos. 116, 119, 133, 140, and 146; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 116 invoked the Emergency Management Act, and
authorizes the undersigned to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in the
response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(2), the undersigned may make,
amend, or rescind necessary orders, rules, and regulations within the limits of the authority conferred
upon the Governor in the Emergency Management Act; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat, § 166A-19.10(b)(3) authorizes and empowers the undersigned to
delegate any Gubernatorial vested authority under the Emergency Management Act and to provide for
the subdelegation of any authority.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the
laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Secti tensio nd technical amendments

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above and set forth in the relevant Executive
Orders referenced below, the undersigned orders as follows:

A. Executive Order Nos. 116 and 119.

I. Sections 3 to 5 of Executive Order No. 119 (which were extended by Executive Order Nos.
133, 140 and 146) are hereby extended through the end of the calendar day on September 14,
2020.

2. Section 5 of Executive Order No. 116 (which was amended by Section 6 of Executive Order
No. 119 and Section | of Executive Order No. 146 and extended by Executive Order Nos.
133, 140, and 146) is amended as follows:

Executive Order No. 116 Section 5 is amended as follows:
Section 5. Maximum Hours of Service

In order to ensure adequacy and location of supplies and resources to
respond to COVID-19, DPS, in conjunction with the North Carolina
Department of Transportation (“DOT™), shall waive the maximum hours of
service for drivers prescribed by DPS pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-381
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subject to the restrictions and limitations in this Executive Order, if the driver is
transporting medical supplies and equipment related to the testing, diagnosis and
treatment of COVID-19; and supplies and equipment necessary for community
safety, sanitation, and prevention of community transmission of COVID-19,
such as masks, gloves, hand sanitizer, soaps and disinfectants, essential fuels,
food, water, livestock, poultry, feed for livestock and poultry and other supplies
and equipment in support of the Plan or other efforts to address the public
health threat posed by COVID-19, through the duration of the State of
Emergency or until further notice.

3. Executive Order 116 and 119 are amended to add a new Section 5.5

Section 5.5 Transportation Waiver Restrictions and Limitations

Pursuant to the FMCSA Extension and Modification of the Modified Expanded
Emergency Declaration No. 2020-20 Under 49 CFR § 390.25 issued on August

11, 2020, motor carriers and drivers providing direct assistance to respond to the
COVID-19 pandemic are not granted emergency relief from, and must continue
to comply with, the following Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations and
conditions:

1. 49 C.F.R. § 392.2 related to the operation of a commercial motor vehicle in
accordance with State laws and regulations, including compliance with
applicable speed limits and other traffic restrictions.

2. 49 C.F.R. § 392.3 related to the operation of a commercial motor vehicle
while a driver's ability or alertness is so impaired, or so likely to become
impaired, through fatigue, illness, or any other cause, as to make it unsafe for
him/her to begin or continue to operate the motor vehicle.

3. Motor carriers shall not require or allow fatigued drivers to operate a
commercial motor vehicle. A driver who informs a carrier that he/she needs
immediate rest shall be given at least ten (10) consecutive hours before the
driver is required to return to service.

4. 49 C.F.R. §§ 392.80 and 392.82 related to the prohibitions on texting while
driving and using a hand-held mobile telephone while driving.

5. A motor carrier whose driver is involved in a crash while operating under
this Executive Order must report any recordable crash within 24 hours, by
phone or in writing, to the FMCSA Division Office where the motor carrier
is domiciled. The carrier must report the date, time, location, driver, vehicle
identification, and brief description of the crash.

6. Nothing in this Executive Order shall be construed as an exemption from the
controlled substance and alcohol uses and testing requirements (49 C.F.R. §
382), the commercial driver’s license requirements (49 C.F.R. § 383), the
financial responsibility (insurance) requirements (49 C.F.R. § 387), the
hazardous material regulations (49 C.F.R. §§ 100-180), applicable size and
weight requirements, or any other portion of the regulations not specifically
exempted under 49 C.F.R. § 390.23.

7. Motor carriers or drivers currently subject to an out-of-service order are not
eligible for the relief granted by this declaration until they have met the
applicable conditions for its rescission and the order has been rescinded by
FMCSA in writing.

8. Direct assistance terminates when a driver or commercial motor vehicle is
used in commerce to transport cargo or provide services that are not in
support of emergency relief efforts related to COVID-19 or when the motor
carrier dispatches a driver or commercial motor vehicle to another location
to begin operations in commerce. (49 C.F.R. § 390.23(b)). Upon termination
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of direct assistance to emergency relief efforts related to COVID-19, the
motor carrier and driver are subject to the requirements of 49 C.F.R. § § 390
through 399, except that a driver may return empty to the motor carrier’s
terminal or the driver’s normal work reporting location without complying
with Parts 390 through 399

4. This Executive Order does not amend the sixty (60) day postponement of DMV-related
hearings established in Section 3.f of Executive Order No. 119.

5. The first sentence of Section 8 of Executive Order No. 119 is amended to read:

“This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until the
end of the calendar day on September 14. 2020, or until rescinded or superseded
by another applicable Executive Order

B. Miscellaneous provisions. For avoidance of doubt:

1. Future Executive Orders may extend the term of the restrictions, delegations. and
requirements listed above.

2. An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration of a State of Emergency will automatically
rescind this Executive Order.

Section 2. Distribution

I hereby order that this Executive Order be: (1) distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public: (2) promptly filed
with the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, the Secretary of State. and the
superior court clerks in the counties to which it applies. unless the circumstances of the State of
Emergency would prevent or impede such filing: and (3) distributed to others as necessary to ensure
proper implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 3. Effective Date

This Executive Order is effective immediately. This Executive Order shall remain in effect
until September 14, 2020 unless repealed. replaced, or rescinded by another applicable Executive
Order. An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration of a State of Emergency will automatically
rescind this Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of
the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 14" day of August in the year of
our Lord two thousand and twenty.

74

4 /Roy Coopgff  ~

Governor

ATTEST:

AEO % A, Zég’:{e&&‘
Rodney S. Maddox

Chief Deputy Secretary of State
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

August 18, 2020
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 158

FURTHERING FAIR CHANCE POLICIES IN STATE GOVERNMENT
EMPLOYMENT

WHEREAS, N.C. CONST. art 111, § 5(4) provides that the undersigned “shall take care that
the laws be faithfully executed™; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-4 establishes that the undersigned “shall be
responsible for formulating and administering the policies of the executive branch of the State
government™; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-12(a)(1). the undersigned must “supervise
the official conduct of all executive and ministerial officers™; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 126-1, the undersigned is the head of the state’s
personnel administration system and has the general authority to implement personnel
management criteria, standards, and guidelines that are “based on accepted principles of personnel
administration™ and apply “the best methods as evolved in government and industry™; and

WHEREAS, an estimated 70 million people in the United States, almost one in three
adults, have prior arrests or convictions; and

WHEREAS, more than 1.7 million people in North Carolina have a criminal record and
may face employment discrimination; and

WHEREAS, a criminal record by itself is not indicative of an applicant’s job performance,
competence, or ability; and

WHEREAS, access to employment opportunities significantly decreases the chances of
recidivism; and

WHEREAS, adverse employer treatment on the basis of criminal record status has
negative emotional and psychological impacts, increases recidivism, inhibits self-sufficiency, and
curtails economic growth and development: and

WHEREAS, 35 states and over 150 cities and counties, including over 10 cities and
counties in North Carolina, have adopted fair chance policies to increase employment
opportunities for individuals with criminal records; and
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WHEREAS, the undersigned has found that the State’s interests are well-served in
combatting discrimination, harassment, and retaliation, while recruiting and retaining talented
state employees; and

WHEREAS, additional action is necessary to ensure that individuals with criminal records
are not discriminated against when state government employment decisions are rendered.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Pur e

It shall be the policy of the Office of the Governor and State Agencies as defined herein to
promote workforce development and render decisions regarding employment benefits,
employment classification, hiring, promotion, leave, reallocation, reinstatement, salary, transfer or
other similarly significant employment matters on the basis of merit.

Section 2. Definitions

a. “Guidance”: A statement within the scope of one or more of the sub-subdivisions of N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 150B-2(8a)a-I.

b. “Employment Decision”: An employer decision regarding a position requiring a job
application.

c. “State Agency”: Any North Carolina department, agency, board, commission, or
committee for which the undersigned has oversight responsibility.

Section 3. State Agency Responsibilities

a. A State Agency is prohibited from inquiring into an individual’s criminal history during
the initial stages of an Employment Decision process and shall remove criminal history
questions from its employment applications.

b. When making an Employment Decision, a State Agency is prohibited from considering the
following: (i) expunged or pardoned convictions, (ii) charges or convictions that do not
relate to the underlying employment matter, (iii) arrests not resulting in a conviction, or
(iv) charges resulting in dismissal or not guilty.

c. State Agencies may conduct a background check, inquire into, or consider a desired
candidate’s criminal history at a later point in the Employment Decision process, but not
prior to the completion of the initial job interview for the candidate.

d. State employment decisions shall not be based on the criminal history of an individual
unless that criminal history is demonstrably job-related and consistent with business
necessity associated with the position, or if state or federal law prohibits hiring an
individual with certain criminal convictions for a particular position.

e. Subject to Sections 3(a) - 3(d) of this Executive Order, unless prohibited by state or federal
law, including, but not limited to, the Fair Credit Reporting Act (“FCRA”) and the Prison
Rape Elimination Act (“PREA”), a State Agency shall provide an applicant with a copy of
the applicant’s criminal record and a copy of “Summary of Your Rights Under the Fair
Credit Reporting Act,” if the State Agency obtains a copy of the record during the
Employment Decision process. A State Agency shall also allow an applicant with a
criminal record a reasonable opportunity to explain the circumstances surrounding their
relevant conviction(s) and provide any proof of rehabilitation, including a certificate of
relief.

f. This Section shall not apply to positions in which a criminal conviction would legally
preclude the person from employment in the particular job applied for by the applicant.
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g. All State Agencies shall comply with Section 3 of this Executive Order by November 1,
2020. At a minimum, the State Agencies shall include the following:

i. Establish a process for State Agency positions subject to this Executive Order.
Consistent with this process, a State Agency may conduct a background check, and
inquire into or consider a desired candidate’s criminal history only after completing a
job interview in the employment decision process; and

ii. Set forth criteria considering an applicant’s criminal history following the completion
of a job interview and any related background checks. Such criteria shall be informed
by the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission's Enforcement Guidance on
the Consideration of Arrest and Conviction Records in Employment Decisions under
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act. The Office of State Human Resources (“OSHR™) will
provide guidance to aid in the development of these standards.

h. The North Carolina Department of Administration (“DOA”) shall study the feasibility of
implementing a fair chance hiring policy that would extend to businesses that contract with
the state. In conducting this study, DOA should take action to better understand at least the
following:

i. The hiring policies of businesses that currently contract with the state;

ii. Training that would need to be offered to state contractors to assist them in effectively
implementing a fair chance hiring policy;

iii. The means by which a fair chance hiring policy for state contractors would be enforced;
and

iv. The impact a state contractor fair chance hiring policy would have, not only for
businesses, but for justice-involved individuals as well.

DOA shall submit a report on its findings to the Office of the Governor by January 31,
2021.

Section 4. OSHR Responsibilities

a. OSHR shall amend the state application for employment to support the requirements of the
Executive Order by November 1, 2020.

b. OSHR shall ensure all relevant State Agency managers and staff understand their
obligations under this Executive Order and provide training to assist State Agencies and
State Agency personnel in implementing this Executive Order.

c. Agencies are responsible for reporting data related to this Executive Order to OSHR as
requested. OSHR shall submit a report with this data to the Governor’s Office and the State
Reentry Council Collaborative annually.

d. OSHR shall address any other matters to ensure State Agency compliance with this
Executive Order.

Section 5. Miscellaneous

a. This Executive Order does not create a private right of action.

b. This Executive Order shall not be interpreted to supersede or preempt federal or state laws,
rules or regulations.

c. This Executive Order shall not apply to positions in which a criminal conviction precludes
the person from employment in the particular job applied for by the applicant, including
but not limited to positions: 1) requiring a security clearance or having access to sensitive
public safety and security information; 2) requiring certification by the NC Criminal Justice
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Education and Training Standards Commission or the NC Sheriffs” Education and Training
Standards Commission; and 3) positions subject to PREA.

d. State entities not subject to the undersigned’s oversight, along with counties,
municipalities, political subdivisions, local government agencies, and private entities, are
encouraged but not required to comply with this Executive Order.

e. Unless otherwise provided, this Executive Order supersedes and rescinds any previous
Executive Order to the extent that they conflict.

f. Unless otherwise provided, this Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain
in effect until amended or rescinded by future Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of the
State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 18th day of August in the year of
our Lord two thousand and twenty.

TRoy Coopr
Governor

ATTEST:
Vi

Rodney’S. Maddox
Chief Deputy Secretary of State
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Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Medical Care Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 10A
NCAC 130 .0301.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: October 20, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801
Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603

Reason for Proposed Action: On March 10, 2020, the Governor
of North Carolina, issued Executive Order No. 116, declaring a
state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective
measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, a respiratory
disease that can result in serious illness or death. Because the
vendor for nurse aide testing in North Carolina suspended
operations in the State until conditions were deemed safe to
reopen, an emergency and temporary rule amendment for this
rule were made effective April 20, 2020 and June 26, 2020,
respectively. Because of the continued need and to make this rule
amendment permanent in the N.C. Administrative Code, the North
Carolina Medical Care Commission proposes to assist the State's
healthcare workforce and the citizens of North Carolina who need
medical care by allowing the requesting of reciprocity for the N.C.
Nurse Aide I Registry for out-of-state nurse aides who are active
and in good standing on another State’s Nurse Aide I Registry.

Comments may be submitted to: Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles
Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701

Comment period ends: November 16, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

X State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

OXOO

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 130 - HEALTHCARE PERSONNEL
REGISTRY

SECTION .0300 - NURSE AIDE | REGISTRY

10A NCAC 130 .0301 NURSE AIDE | TRAINING AND
COMPETENCY EVALUATION
(a) To be eligible to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry by
the Health Care Personnel Education and Credentialing Section,
a person shaH shall:
(€] pass a Nurse Aide | training program approved
by the Department in accordance with 42 CFR
Part 483.151 through Part 42 CFR 483.152 and
the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide |
competency exam- exam; or
2) apply to the Department for approval to be
listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry by
reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or
registration from another State to North
Carolina.
(b) In applying for reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or
registration to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry pursuant
to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, the applicant shall:
(€] submit a completed application to the
Department that includes the following:
first, middle, and last name;
the applicant's prior name(s), if any;
mother's maiden name;
gender;
social security number;
date of birth;
mailing address;
email address;
home telephone number;
any other State reqgistries of nurse
aides upon which the applicant is
listed;

CEEBERREBEE
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K) certification or registration numbers
for _any State nurse aide registries
identified in Part (b)(1)(J) of this Rule;

(L) original _issue dates for any
certifications or registrations

Q) inform the applicant by letter whether he or she
has been approved; or
2) request additional information from the

applicant.
The applicant shall be added to the NC Nurse Aide | Registry

identified in_Part (b)(1)(K) of this

within three business days of Department approval.

Rule;

M) expiration dates for any certifications
or _registrations _identified in Part
(b)(1)(K) of this Rule; and

(N) employment history;

2 provide documentation verifying that his or her
registry listing is active and in good standing in
the State(s) of reciprocity, dated no older than
30 calendar days prior to the date the
application is received by the Department; and

3) provide a copy of his or her Social Security card
and an  unexpired  government-issued
identification containing a photograph and
signature.

(c) For the applicant to be approved for reciprocity of a nurse aide
certification or registration and be listed on the NC Nurse Aide |
Registry, the Department shall verify the following:

@ the applicant has completed an application in
accordance with Subparagraph (b)(1) of this
Rule;

(2) the applicant is listed on another State's registry
of nurse aides as active and in good standing;

3) the applicant has no pending or substantiated
findings of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or
misappropriation of resident or patient property
recorded on other State registries of nurse aides;

[C))] if the applicant has been employed as a nurse

{b)}(e) This Rule incorporates 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart D by
reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions.
Copies of the Code of Federal Regulations may be accessed
electronically free of charge from
www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode
=CFR.

{e)(f) The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency
exam shall include each course requirement specified in the
Department-approved Nurse Aide | training program as provided
for in 42 CFR Part 483.152.

{d)}(@) The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency
exam shall be administered and evaluated only by the Department
or its contracted testing agent as provided for in 42 CFR Part
483.154.

{&)(h) The Department shall include a record of completion of the
State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency exam in the
NC Nurse Aide I Registry within 30 business days of passing the
written or oral exam and the skills demonstration as provided for
in 42 CFR Part 483.154.

() If the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency
exam candidate does not pass the written or oral exam and the
skills demonstration as provided for in 42 CFR PRart 483.154, the
candidate shall be advised by the Department of the areas that the
individual did not pass.

{9)(§) Every North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency exam
candidate shall have—as—providedforin42-CFR-Part-483.154;

have the opportunity to take the exam at maximum three times

aide for monetary compensation consisting of
at least a total of eight hours of time worked
performing nursing or_nursing-related tasks
delegated and supervised by a Regqistered
Nurse, then the applicant shall provide the
employer name, employer address, and dates of
employment for the previous 24 consecutive
months;

(5) the name listed on the Social Security card and
government-issued identification containing a
photograph and signature submitted with the
application matches the name listed on another
State's registry of nurse aides or that the
applicant has submitted additional
documentation verifying any name changes;
and

(6) the applicant completed a State-approved nurse
aide training and competency evaluation
program that meets the requirements of 42 CFR
483.152 or a State-approved competency
evaluation program that meets the requirements
of 42 CFR 483.154.

(d) The Department shall within 10 business days of receipt of an
application for reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or
registration _or receipt of additional information from the

applicant:

before being required to retake and pass a Nurse Aide | training

program.

(k) U.S. military personnel who have completed medical
corpsman training and retired or non-practicing nurses shall not
be required to take the Department-approved Nurse Aide |
training program to be listed or relisted on the Nurse Aide |
Registry, unless the person fails to pass the State of North
Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency exam after three attempts.

Authority G.S. 131E-255; 42 CFR Part483; 483.150; 42 CFR
483.151; 42 CFR 483 .152; 42 CFR 483.154; 42 CFR 483.156;
42 CFR 483.158.

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09A .0201; 09B
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.0202, .0209, .0226, .0227, .0232, .0233, .0314, .0409, .0417; and
09G .0414.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-
justice/forms-and-publications/

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: November 18, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Wake Technical Community College, 321 Chapanoke
Rd., Raleigh NC 27502

Reason for Proposed Action: To remove language about the
Attorney General authorizing the SBI to investigate, given that the
SBI is no longer under the Department of Justice. To provide
language respective of the various instructor curriculum
specialized training and practical needs. To update the
instructional hours for the Drug Diversion Investigator course
and establish application submission guidelines for the Drug
Diversion Investigator and the Drug Diversion Investigator
Supervisor. To modify the supervised field practice hours due to
the limited resources of smaller agencies.

Comments may be submitted to: Charminique D. Williams, PO
Box Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8206;
email cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov

Comment period ends: November 18, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND
TRAINING STANDARDS

SUBCHAPTER 09A - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION
AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

SECTION .0200 - ENFORCEMENT OF RULES

12 NCAC 09A .0201 INVESTIGATION OF
VIOLATION OF RULES
(@ If any criminal justice agency, school, authorized
representative acting on behalf of either, or individual is reported
to be or suspected of being in violation of any of the rules in this
Chapter, the Commission may take action to correct the violation
and to ensure that similar violations do not occur.
(b) Before taking action against an agency, school, or individual
for a violation, the Standards Division shall investigate the alleged
violation and present a report of its findings to the Probable Cause
Committee of the Commission.
(c) The Probable Cause Committee shall convene prior to the next
regular meeting of the Commission, shall consider the report of
the Standards Division, and shall make a determination as to
whether or not probable cause exists that the Commission's rules
have been violated.
(d) The Probable Cause Committee may:
(8] direct the Standards Division to conduct a
further investigation of the alleged violation;
& reguestthe-Attorney—General-to—authorize—an
. S F

direct the Standards Division to conduct an

(263
administrative hearing in the matter, pursuant to
Rule .0107 of this Subchapter and 26 NCAC
03; or

(3)4) determine the appropriate sanctions against the

violator pursuant to the Commission’s rules.
Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10.

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL
JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND
TRAINING

SECTION .0200 — MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL
JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF
INSTRUCTION

NOTE: The text in italics is pending review by the RRC at the
September 17, 2020 meeting.

12 NCAC 09B .0202
SCHOOL DIRECTOR
(@) In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each
Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School
Director shall:

1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum
in accordance with the curriculum standards
established in this Subchapter;

2 Select and schedule instructors who are
certified by the Commission;

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE
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®3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(")

(8)
(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

Provide each instructor with a current
Commission course outline and all necessary
additional  information  concerning  the
instructor's duties and responsibilities;

Notify each instructor that he or she shall

comply with the Basic Law Enforcement

Training Course Management Guide and

provide him or her access to the most current

version of the Course Management Guide;

Review each instructor's lesson plans and other

instructional materials for conformance to

Commission standards and to minimize

repetition and duplication of subject matter;

Arrange for the availability of appropriate

audiovisual aids and materials, publications,

facilities, and equipment for training in all topic
areas;

Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any

supplemental  rules and  requirements

determined by the school to be necessary or
appropriate for:

(A) effective course delivery;

(B) establishing  responsibilities  and
obligations of agencies or departments
employing or sponsoring course
trainees; and

© regulating trainee participation and
demeanor, ensuring trainee
attendance, and maintaining

performance records;
If appropriate, recommend housing and dining
facilities for trainees;
Administer the course delivery in accordance
with Commission procedures and standards,
give consideration to advisory guidelines issued
by the Commission, and ensure that the training
offered is safe and effective;
Maintain direct supervision, direction, and
control over the performance of all persons to
whom any portion of the planning,
development, presentation, or administration of
a course has been delegated. The
comprehensive final examination shall be
administered by the Criminal Justice Education
and Training Standards Commission; and
Report the completion of each presentation of a
Commission-certified criminal justice training
course to the Commission.
All forms required for submission to the
Commission are located on the Agency's
website: http://www.ncdoj.gov/About-
DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-
Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-
Training-Standards/Forms-and-
Publications.aspx.

(b) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School

Director shall:

M

@

@)

(4)

©®)

(6)

)

®)

Deliver training in accordance with the most
current version of the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course Management Guide as
published by the North Carolina Justice
Academy;
Schedule course presentation to include 12
hours of instruction each week during
consecutive calendar weeks, except that there
may be as many as three one-week breaks until
course requirements are completed;
Schedule only specialized instructors certified
by the Commission to teach those high-liability
areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this
Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as
assistant instructors or role players;
With the exception of the First Responder,
Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous
Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule
.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one
specialized instructor certified by the
Commission for every six trainees while
actively engaged in a practical performance
exercise;
Schedule one specialized instructor certified by
the Commission for every eight trainees while
actively engaged in a practical performance
exercise in the topical area "Subject Control
Arrest Techniques;"
Schedule no single individual to instruct more
than 35 percent of the total hours of the
curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course
presentation;
Not less than 30 days before commencing
delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course, submit to the Commission a
Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course
Presentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0211.
The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall
indicate a requested date and location for the
administration of the state comprehensive
exam, and include the following attachments:
(A) a course schedule showing the
arrangement of topical presentations

and proposed instructional
assignments; and
(B) a copy of any rules and requirements

for the school. A copy of such rules
shall also be given to each trainee and
to the executive officer of each
trainee's employing or sponsoring
agency or department at the time the
trainee enrolls in the course;
Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by
the Commission to monitor, a presentation of
each instructor once during each three year
certification period in each topic taught by the
instructor and prepare a written evaluation on
the instructor's performance and suitability for
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(9)

(10)

subsequent instructional assignments. The
observations shall be of sufficient duration to
ensure that the instructor is using the
Instructional System Design model, and that the
delivery is objective-based, documented by,
and consistent with a Commission-approved
lesson plan. For each topic area, the School
Director's evaluation shall be based upon the
course delivery observations, the instructor's
use of the approved lesson plan, and the results
of the student evaluations of the instructor. For
probationary instructors, the evaluations
conducted by another instructor shall be
prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor
Evaluation (Form F-16) and forwarded to the
Commission. Based on this evaluation, the
School Director shall recommend approval or
denial of requests for General Instructor
Certification. For all other instructors, these
evaluations shall be prepared on the Criminal
Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16), be
kept on file by the school for a period of three
years, and shall be made available for
inspection by a representative of the
Commission upon request. In the event the
evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or
her performance was less than acceptable, the
School Director shall forward a copy of the
evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor
who is evaluating the instructional presentation
of another instructor shall hold certification in
the same instructional topic area as that for
which the instructor is being evaluated;
Administer or designate a staff person to
administer appropriate tests during course
delivery:
(A) to determine and record the level of
trainee comprehension and retention
of instructional subject- matter;

to provide a basis for a final
determination or recommendation
regarding the minimum degree of
knowledge and skill of each trainee to
function as an inexperienced law
enforcement officer; and

to determine subject or topic areas of
deficiency for the application of Rule
.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and
Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a
school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement
Training, submit to the Commission a Post-
Delivery Report of Training Course
Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include:

(B)

(©)

(A) a "Student Course Completion" form
for each individual enrolled on the day
of orientation; and

(B) a "Certification and Test Score

Release" form- form;

© the "Police Office Physical Ability
Test (POPAT) Post-Course" final
form; and

(D) Orientation class enrollment roster.

(c) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the
School Director shall:

M

@

®)

(4)

Schedule course presentation pursuant to Rule

.0209 of this Subchapter; include-a-minimurm-of
f - ; . i

lass i i SE'HGE'G.I' dring 4 &-time period

Schedule at least one evaluator for each six
trainees, as follows:
(A) no evaluator shall be assigned more
than six trainees during a course
delivery;
each evaluator, as well as the
instructors, shall have completed a
Commission-certified instructor
training course or an equivalent
instructor training course utilizing the
Instructional Systems Design model,
an  international  model  with
applications in education, military
training, and private enterprise; and
each instructor and evaluator shall
document successful participation in a
program presented by the North
Carolina  Justice  Academy  for
purposes of familiarization and
supplementation relevant to delivery
of the instructor training course and
trainee evaluation.
Not fewer than 30 days before commencing
delivery of the course, submit to the
Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training
Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)] with
the following attachments:
(A) a course schedule showing the
arrangement of topical presentations
and proposed instructional
assignments;
the names and last four digits of the
social security numbers of all
instructors and evaluators; and
© a copy of any rules, and requirements
for the school; and
Not more than 10 days after course completion,
submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery
Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the

(B)

©

(B)

following:

(A) class enrollment roster;

(B) a course schedule with the designation
of instructors and evaluators utilized
in delivery;

© scores recorded for each trainee on the

70 minute skill presentation; and
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(D) designation of trainees who completed
the course in its entirety and whom the
School Director finds to be competent
to instruct.
(d) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance,
or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-
certification course, the School Director shall:
1) select and schedule speed measurement
instrument instructors who are certified by the
Commission as instructors for the specific
speed measurement instruments in which the
trainees are to receive instruction as follows:
(A) provide to the instructor the
Commission form(s) for motor skill
examination on each trainee;
require the instructor to complete the
motor skill examination form on each
trainee indicating the level of
proficiency obtained on each specific
instrument; and
require each instructor to sign each
individual form and submit the
original to the School Director;
not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled
starting date, submit to the Director of the
Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of
Speed  Measuring  Instrument  Course
Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall
contain a period of course delivery including
the proposed starting date, course location,
requested date and location for the
administration of the state exam, and the
number of trainees to be trained on each type of
approved speed measurement instrument. The
Director of the Standards Division shall review
the request and notify the School Director
within thirty business days if the request is
approved or denied; and
upon completing delivery of the Commission-
certified course, and not more than 10 days after
the conclusion of a school's offering of a
certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-
Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed
measurement operator training course or re-
certification course, the School Director shall
notify the Commission regarding the progress
and achievements of each trainee by submitting
a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course
Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report

(B)

(©)

)

3)

shall include the original motor-skill
examination form(s) completed and signed by
the certified instructor responsible for

administering the motor-skill examination to
the respective trainee.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The instructortraining Instructor Training course required for
generalinstructor General Instructor certification shall consist of
a minimum of 90-heurs-ef-instruction,—as-defined-in-subsection
{e)-withina-15-day-period: 36 hours of classroom instruction plus
the time required to conduct practical exercises, student
presentations, and post testing presented during a continuous
period of not more than two weeks.

(b) Each instruetor-training Instructor Training course shall be
designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to
perform the funetion functions of a criminal justice instructor.

(c) Each instruetor—training Instructor Training course shall
include the following identified topic areas and minimum
instructional hours for each area:

@ Orientation and Pre-Test 4 1 Hours
2 Instructional Systems Design (ISD) 8 5 Hours
3 Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and
Legal Responsibilities 3 2 Hours
@) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership
4 Hours
5) Lesson  Plan  Preparation:  Professional
Resources 3 2 Hours
(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting
4 3 Hours
) Adult Learning 4 2 Hours
8) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills
8 5 Hours
©)] Classroom Management 4 3 Hours
Exereises 8-Heurs

5(10) The Evaluation Process of Learning 5 4 Hours
£2(11) Audio Visual Aids 6 5 Hours

Critigue 5-Heurs
Presentation 6-Hours
: . .
inal Z0-Mi : .
8-Heurs
(12) Completion of tasks associated with Practical

Exercises and Student Presentations. The
number of hours required to complete this
portion of the curriculum shall be based on the
number of enrolled students, available
facilities, and number of instructors.
&5 Course-Closing-and-Post-test A-Hours
(d) The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor
training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at
the agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from
the Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
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Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0226 SPECIALIZED FIREARMS
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(@ The instructor training course for specialized—firearms
instructor—certification Specialized Firearms Instructor Training
Certification shall consist of a minimum of 8% 50 hours of
classroom and range instruction plus time required to complete
the tasks associated with Range Operations presented during a
continuous period of not more than two weeks.

(b) Each specialized—firearms—instructor—training Specialized
Firearms Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide
the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function
of a criminal justice firearms instructor in a Basic Law
Enforcement Training (BLET) Course or a law enforcement
officer in-service firearms training program.

(c) Each applicant for specialized firearms instructor training
shall:

@ have completed the criminal justice general
instructor training course; and
)] present a written endorsement by either
(A) a certified school director indicating
the student may be utilized to instruct
firrarms in  the Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course; or
(B) a department head, certified school
director, or in-service training
coordinator, indicating the student
may be utilized to instruct firearms in
a law enforcement officer in-service
firearms training program-. program;
and
3) Once within 365 days prior to enrollment each
prospective  student  shall  demonstrate
proficiency during a qualification administered
by the North Carolina Justice Academy. To
successfully complete this qualification each
prospective student shall achieve a minimum
score of 92 percent 2 out of 3 times on both the
BLET Day and Night Courses of Fire while
using a 'Sam Browne' type belt and security
holster and agency-issued duty or ballistic-
equivalent ammunition.

(d) Each specialized—firearms—instructor—training Specialized

(8) Service Handgun - Operation and Use

5 8 Hours
9 Rifle - Operation and Maintenance 4 Hours
(10) Service Handgun - Maintenance and Cleaning

2 Hours
(11) Range Medical Emergencies 2 Hours

(12) In-Service Firearms Requirements 2 Hours
(13) BLET Lesson Plan Review 1 Hour
(14) Range Drills (as defined in the Specialized
Firearms Instructor Training Manual and the
Specialized Firearms Instructor Training
Course Management Guide) 8 Hours
(15) Completion of tasks associated with Range
Operations. Completion of tasks associated
with Instructor Practicums (hours determined
by number of students and instructors):
(A) Conduct a BLET Day Course of Fire
(B) Conduct a BLET Night Course of Fire
© Conduct a Long Gun Course of Fire
(D) Develop a Combat Course of Fire
(e) The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual”
published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the
curriculum for speciatized-firearms-instructor training-courses. the
Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course. Copies of this
publication may be inspected at the:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(f) The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the
"Specialized Firearms Instructor Training" course is the North
Carolina Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0227 SPECIALIZED DRIVER
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The instructor training course required for specialized-driver
instructorcertification Specialized Driver Instructor Certification
shall consist of a minimum of 48 24 hours of instruction:
classroom instruction plus the time required to conduct the tasks

Firearms Instructor Training course shall include the following
identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each
area:

1) Orientation/Pretest 8 2 Hours
(2) Range Operations 38 2 Hours
(3) Civil Liability 4 Hours
4) Night Firing 2 Hours
(5) Combat Shooting Classroom and Range

8 Hours
(6) Mental Conditioning 1 Hours
(7) Shotgun Operation and Firing 4 Hours

as required in the driver practicums based on number of students,
available facilities, and number of instructors.
(b) Each speciatized-driverinstructor-training Specialized Driver
Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee
with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a
criminal justice driver instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course or a "Law Enforcement Officers' Annual In-
Service Training Program."
(c) Each applicant for specialized—driver—instructor—training
Specialized Driver Instructor Training shall:

(D) have completed the criminal justice general

instructor training course;
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(2) present a written endorsement by either

(A) a certified school director indicating
the student may be utilized to instruct
driving in Basic Law Enforcement
Training Courses; or

(B) a department head, certified school
director, or in-service training
coordinator, indicating the student
may be utilized to instruct driver
training in the "Law Enforcement
Officer's Annual In-Service Training

Program";
3) possess a valid operator driver's license; and
4) maintain a safe driving record where no more

than four points have been assigned against the
driving record within the past three years- years;
and
(5) Within 365 days prior to enrollment in the
Specialized Driver Instructor Training course,
the prospective student shall complete a
gualification _administered by the North
Carolina_Justice Academy or the North
Carolina__State Highway Patrol Training
Academy requiring the individual to achieve
minimum scores on the following Basic Law
Enforcement Training driving course exercises:
(A) minimum score of 85 percent on 2 out
of 3 attempts on the Off-set Lane
Maneuver, Serpentine, and Precision
Exercise during daylight conditions;
(B) minimum score of 85 percent on 2 out
of 3 attempts on the Precision Exercise
during nighttime conditions;
© minimum score of 85 percent on one
5-minute attempt during daytime
conditions and one 5-minute attempt
during nighttime conditions on the

8)(7) Course Description Packet and Administrative
Code Review 1 2 Hour

{9)(8) Course Review 1 Hour

[€)] Building Driving Courses 4 Hours

(10) Completion of tasks associated with the Driver
Practicums. The number of hours required to
complete this portion of the curriculum shall be
based on the number of enrolled students,
available facilities, and number of instructors.

(e) The "Specialized Driver Instructor Training Manual" a
published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the
curriculum for specialized-driver-instructor-training Specialized
Driver Instructor Training courses. Copies of this publication may
be inspected at the:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(f) Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the
"Specialized Driver Instructor Training” course are The North
Carolina Justice Academy and The North Carolina State Highway
Patrol Training Center.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0232 SPECIALIZED SUBJECT
CONTROL ARREST TECHNIQUES INSTRUCTOR
TRAINING

(a) The instructor training course required for speciatized-subject
control—arrest—technigues—instructor—certification  Specialized

Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Certification shall

Emergency Response exercise;
(D) minimum score of 85 percent on one

consist of a minimum of #5 29 hours of classroom instruction plus
time required to complete the tasks associated with Subject

5-minute attempt during daytime

Control  Arrest Techniques Instructional Methods and

conditions and one 5-minute attempt

Demonstration presented during a continuous period of not more

during nighttime conditions on the
Pursuit Exercise; and

(E) score 100 percent on 2 out of 3
attempts on all phases of the Fixed

than two weeks.

(b) Each speciatized-subject-control-arrest-technigues-instructor
training Specialized Subject Control Arrest Technigues Instructor

Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the

Radius Curve and Evasive Action
Exercises.

(d) Each specialized-driverinstructortraining Specialized Driver

skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice

subject—control-arrest-technigues—instructor Specialized Subject

Control Arrest Techniques Instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement

Instructor Training course shall include the following identified
topic areas and instructional hours for each area:

1) Orientation 1 Hour

(2) Lesson Plan Review (BLET) 4 6 Hours

3) General Mechanical Knowledge 2 Hours

4) Before - Operation Inspection 1 Hour

(5) Laws of Natural Force & Operating
Characteristics 2 3 Hours

®) - - ! lificati
{H(6) Legal and Operational Considerations for the
Driver Instructor 4 Hours

Training Course or a Law Enforcement Officers' Annual In-
Service Training Program.
(c) Each applicant for specialized—subject—control—arrest
technigues-instructor-training Specialized Subject Control Arrest
Techniques Instructor Training shall:
(D) have completed the eriminaljustice—general
ms#ueter—#aimng Criminal Justice Instructor

Training course;
2 present a letter from a licensed physician stating

the applicant's physical fitness to participate in
the course; and
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3) present a written endorsement by either

(A) a certified School Director indicating
the student is qualified to instruct
subject control arrest techniques in
Basic Law Enforcement Training
Courses; or

(B) a Department Head, certified School
Director, or In-Service Training
Coordinator indicating the student
may be utilized to instruct subject
control arrest techniques for the Law
Enforcement Officers' Annual In-
Service Training Program. program;
and

4) Within 365 days prior to enrollment in the

Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor

Training course the prospective student shall

complete  the  following  assessments

administered by the North Carolina Justice

Academy:

(A) a qualification requiring the individual
to demonstrate 100 percent

North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(f) The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the
"Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor
Training" course is the North Carolina Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0233 SPECIALIZED PHYSICAL
FITNESS INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(@) The instructor training course required for specialized
physical—fithess—instructor—certification Specialized Physical
Fitness Instructor Certification shall consist of a minimum of 58
47 hours of astruction classroom and field instruction, plus the
tasks associated with Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise

proficiency on the Basic Law

Programs, and Instructional Methods, presented during a

Enforcement Training Subject Control
Arrest Techniques, and
(B) achieve at least the 60" percentile on a

continuous period of not more than two weeks.

(b)  Each speciahized—physical—fitness—instructor—training

Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course shall be

physical fitness assessment,
(d) Each specialized-subject-control-arresttechnigues-instructor
training Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor
Training course shall include the following identified topic areas
and minimum instructional hours for each area:

& Pre-QualificationTesting A Hours
(1) Orientation 1 Hour
3)(2) Response to Injury 4 Hours
4)(3) Combat Conditioning 4 Hours
{5)(4) Safety Guidelines/Rules 2 Hours
6y SCAT Technigues—and-tnstructional-Methods

42 Heurs
A(5) Fundamentals of Professional Liability

4 Hours
{8)(6) Practical Skills Enhancement 4 Hours
{9)(7) Student Instructional Practicum 6 Hours
{£0)(8) BLET Lesson Plan Review 4 Hours

9 Completion of tasks associated with Subject
Control _ Arrest Techniques Instructional
Methods and Demonstrations. The number of
hours required to complete this portion of the
curriculum shall be based on the number of
enrolled students, available facilities, and
number of instructors.

TOTAL 75-Hours

() The "Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques
Instructor Training Manual™ as published by the North Carolina
Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for speciatized-subject
control—arrest—techrigues—instructor—tratning—eourses:  the

Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor
Training course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at
the:

Criminal Justice Standards Division

designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to
perform the function of a criminal justice physical fitness
instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or a Law
Enforcement Officers' Annual In-Service Training Program.
(c) Each applicant for specialized physical fitness training shall:
(8] qualify through one of the following three
options:

(A) have completed the criminal justice
general instructor training course;

(B) hold a current and valid North
Carolina Teacher's Certificate, hold a
baccalaureate degree in physical
education, and be teaching in physical
education topics; or

© be presently instructing physical
education topics in a community
college, college, or university and
possess a baccalaureate degree in
physical education; and

2 present a written endorsement by either:

(A) a certified School Director indicating
the student may be utilized to instruct
physical fitness in Basic Law
Enforcement Training Courses; or

(B) a certified School Director, or In-
Service Training Coordinator
indicating the student may be utilized
to instruct physical fitness for the Law

Enforcement  Officers' In-Service
Training Program; and
3 present a letter from a physician stating fitness

to participate in the eedrse- course; and
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4 Within 365 days prior to enrollment complete a
gualification administered by the North
Carolina__Justice Academy requiring the

individual to:
(A) complete Scenario #1 of the Police
Officer  Physical  Abilities  Test

(POPAT) in no more than six minutes;
(B) complete Scenario #2 of the POPAT in
no more than three minutes;
© complete a physical fitness assessment
achieve at a minimum percentile score
of 60.
(d) Each specialized—physical—fithess—instructor—training
Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course shall
include the following identified topic areas and minimum
instructional hours for each area:

2)(1) Orientation 1 Hour
3)}(2) Physical Fitness Sessions 6 Hours
4)(3) Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise
Programs, and Instructional Methods
20 14 Hours
{5)(4) Injury Care and Prevention 4 Hours
{6)(5) Nutrition 7 Hours
£A(6) Civil Liability 3 Hours
8)(7) CVD Risk Factors 3 Hours
{9)(8) Developing In-Service Wellness Programs and
Validating Fitness Standards 4 Hours
{0)(9) Lesson Plan Review 2 Hours
15(10) Exercise Leadership 3 Hours

(11) Completion of tasks associated with Physical
Fitness Assessments, Exercise Programs, and
Instructional Methods (number of hours
determined by number of students, nhumber of
instructors, and available facilities).
FOTAL 58-Heurs
() The "Physical Fitness Instructor Training Manual” as
published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the
curriculum for specialized physical fitness instructor training
courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(f) The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the
"Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training" course is the
North Carolina Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS

12 NCAC 09B .0314 CERTIFICATION OF
DIVERSION INVESTIGATORS AND SUPERVISORS

(@) The diversion training courses for investigators and
supervisors shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge
to perform the duties of a law enforcement Diversion Investigator
or Supervisor. The diversion training course for investigators shall
be 20 24 classroom hours. The diversion training course for
supervisors shall be administered in a four hour online training
course. To be certified as a Diversion Investigator or Diversion
Supervisor the trainee shall complete the respective diversion
training course and achieve a minimum score of 70 percent on the
comprehensive written or online examination.

(b)  Applications for Diversion Investigator or Diversion
Investigator Supervisor Certification shall be submitted to the
Standards Division within 60 days of the date the applicant passed
the State comprehensive examination administered at the
conclusion of the Commission-accredited diversion training
program. Persons having completed the Commission-accredited
diversion training course and not having submitted the application
within 60 days of the date the applicant passed the State
comprehensive examination shall complete a subsequent
Commission-accredited diversion training course in its entirety.
()b} Only a Sheriff, deputy sheriff, or law enforcement officer
certified or appointed through the North Carolina Criminal Justice
Education and Training Standards or North Carolina Sheriffs'
Education and Training Standards Commissions and employed by
a law enforcement agency shall be enrolled in a diversion training
course. A trainee shall not be certified as a Diversion Investigator
or Diversion Supervisor until the Basic Law Enforcement
Training course, pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Subchapter, has
been completed with passing scores and probationary or general
law enforcement certification has been granted. Sheriffs and
appointed deputy sheriffs shall be allowed to participate in the
diversion training courses on a space available basis at the
discretion of the Diversion Training Course School Director
without having enrolled in, or having completed with passing
scores, the Basic Law Enforcement Training course, pursuant to
Rule .0205 of this Subchapter and 12 NCAC 09G .0411 and
without being currently certified in a probationary status or
holding justice officer certification.

(d)¢e) Special Agents with the North Carolina State Bureau of
Investigation deemed Diversion Investigators as of July 1, 2019,
shall be automatically granted certification under this Rule for a
period of three years.

(e)d) The "Diversion Training Courses" required for
certification, authored by the North Carolina State Bureau of
Investigation and published by the North Carolina Justice
Academy, shall include the topic areas as outlined in G.S. 17C-
6(a)(19) and is to be applied as the basic curriculum for the
Diversion Training Courses for Diversion Investigator and
Diversion Supervisors as administered by the Commission.
Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the
agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tyron Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address:
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North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17E-4; 90-113.74E.

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
COMPLETION OF TRAINING

12 NCAC 09B .0409 SATISFACTION OF

TRAINING -- SMI OPERATORS

(@) To satisfy the training requirements for operator certification,
a trainee shall complete all of the following:

1) achieve a score of 70 percent correct answers
on the comprehensive written examination,
provided for in 12 NCAC 09B .0408(d).

(2) demonstrate successful completion of a
certified offering of courses as prescribed under
12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215,
.0238, .0242, or .0244 as shown by the
certification of the school director.

3 demonstrate 100 percent proficiency in the
motor-skill and performance subject areas as
demonstrated to a certified Speed Measurement
Instrument (SMI) instructor and further
evidenced through documentation on the
Commission's SMI forms and by the
subscribing instructor's certification of trainee
competence.

4) present evidence showing prior North Carolina
certification in a Commission-certified operator
training course as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B
.0212 .0213, .0214, .0238, .0242, .0244 or
present evidence showing prior certification
which meets or exceeds North Carolina
certification, or present evidence showing
completion of 26 12 hours of supervised field
practice within 90 days after completing a
Commission-certified radar operator training
course as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B .0212
.0213, .0242, .0244.

(5) Individuals who are applying for SMI operator
certification may, for just cause, be granted an
extension of the 90 day requirement period to
complete the 26-12 hours of supervised field
practice, pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(4) of this
Rule, by the Director, on a one-time basis only
not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of this
Rule, just cause means accident, illness,
emergency, course cancellation, or other
exceptional circumstances which precluded the
applicant from completing the required
supervised field practice time.

(b) Any trainee failing to achieve 100 percent proficiency in the
motor-skill area may request written permission from the Director
of the Standards Division for re-examination. The trainee's
request for re-examination shall be made in writing and must be
received by the Standards Division within 30 days of the original
examination. The trainee's request for re-examination shall

include the favorable recommendation of the school director who
administered the course. A trainee shall have, within 90 days of
the original examination, only one opportunity for motor-skill
re-examination and must satisfactorily complete each identified
area of deficiency on the original motor-skill examination. The
trainee shall be notified by the Standards Division staff of a place,
time and date for re-examination. If the trainee fails to achieve the
prescribed score on the examination, the trainee shall not be
recommended for certification and shall enroll and complete a
subsequent course offering in its entirety before further
examination may be permitted.
(c) To satisfy the training requirements for operator
re-certification, an operator seeking re-certification shall:
(D) Achieve a score of 75 percent correct answers
on the comprehensive written examination
provided for in 12 NCAC 09B .0408(e).
2 Demonstrate  successful completion of a
certified offering of courses as prescribed under
12 NCAC 09B .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221,
.0222, .0239, .0240, .0243, or .0245 as shown
by the certification of the school director.
©) Satisfy all motor-skill requirements as required
in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule.
(d) At the time a trainee seeking operator re-certification fails to
achieve the prescribed requirements on the comprehensive written
examination as specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0409(c)(1),
certification of the officer automatically and immediately
terminates and that officer shall not be re-certified until successful
completion of a subsequent course offering as prescribed under
either 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0238, .0242, or .0244
before further examination is permitted.
(e) At the time a trainee seeking operator re-certification fails to
achieve the prescribed motor-skill requirements as specified in 12
NCAC 09B .0409(c)(3), certification of the officer automatically
and immediately terminates and that officer shall not be re-
certified until successful completion of the required motor-skill
testing. Provided, however, such an officer may request
re-examination as prescribed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0417 SPECIALIZED EXPLOSIVES
AND HAZARDOUS MATERIALS INSTRUCTOR
TRAINING

(@) The instructor training course required for Specialized
Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor ecertification
Certification shall consist of a minimum of 68 59 hours of
classroom instruction plus time required to complete Instructor
Practicums presented during a continuous period of not more than
two weeks.

(b) Each Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials
Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee
with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a
criminal justice explosives and hazardous materials instructor in
a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or a Law Enforcement
Officers' Annual In-Service Training Program.

(c) Each applicant for specialized—explosives—and—hazardous
materials—instructor—training  Specialized Explosives and

Hazardous Materials Instructor Training shall:
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1) have completed either:

(A) the criminal justice general instructor
training course; or

(B) the Fire Service Instructor
Methodology Course or the equivalent
utilizing the Instructional Systems
Design model, an international model
with application in education, military
training, and private enterprise;

2 present a written endorsement by either:

(A) a certified school director indicating
the student will be utilized to instruct
explosives and hazardous materials in
Basic Law Enforcement Training

Courses; or
(B) a department head, certified school
director, or in-service training

coordinator, indicating the student will
be utilized to instruct explosives and
hazardous materials training in the
Law Enforcement Officer's Annual In-
Service Training Program; and
3 present a completed OSHA Respirator Medical
Evaluation Questionnaire, accompanied by a
statement from a licensed medical professional
stating the applicant is physically fit to
participate in the course.
(d) Each Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials
Instructor Training course shall include the following identified
topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:

(1) Orientation 2 Hours
)] Introduction to Hazardous Materials 1 Hour
3 Hazardous Materials Identification 2.5 Hours
(@) Awareness Level Actions at Hazardous
Materials Incidents 1.5 Hours
(5) Chemical Properties and Hazardous Materials
Behavior 3 Hours
(6) Incident Management 3 Hours
@) Strategic Goals and Tactical Objectives
3.5 Hours
(8) Terrorist and Other Criminal Activity
5 Hours
9) Personal Protective Equipment 5 Hours
(10) Decontamination 5 Hours
(1) Product Control 4 Hours
(12) Air Monitoring and Sampling 1.5 Hours
(13) Victim Rescue and Recovery 4 Hours

(14) Evidence Preservation and Sampling

(21) Radio Controlled Improvised Explosive
Devices with Live Demonstration 5 Hours
(22) Improvised Explosive Device Threat Response
1 Hour
(23) Explosives and  Hazardous  Materials
Emergencies and BLET Lesson Plan
Review 10-Heurs 1 Hour

(24) Completion of tasks associated with Instructor
Practicums (hours determined by number of
students and instructors)

(e) The texts and publications utilized in the Specialized
Explosives and Hazardous Materials Specialized Instructor
Training course shall be those approved by the Education and
Training Committee of the Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Commission. The basic curriculum for
delivery of the Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials

Instructor Training course shall be the eurrent—Explosives-and
Hazardous—Materials—Emergencies—Basic—Law—Enforcement
Fraining—Manual®  Specialized Explosives and Hazardous

Materials instructor Training Manual," as published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy Academy. including—al-subseguent
amendments—and-editions: Copies of these publications may be
inspected at the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at no cost to the student from the Academy
at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(f) The North Carolina Justice Academy is certified to offer the
Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor
Training course.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10.

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS
EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION

SECTION .0400 — MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
TRAINING OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS,
PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICER, AND
PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE

12 NCAC 09G .0414 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING
(a) The instructortraining Instructor Training course required for

3 Hours general-instructor General Instructor certification shall consist of
(15) Ilicit Laboratories 2 Hours a at least the mlnlmum number of #8 hours of instruction
(16) Introduction to Explosive Devices 1 Hour
(17) Improvised Explosive Device Anatomy
2 Hours (b)—Eaeh—mst&mteHnammg%e&%e—shalLbe#esigmd%e—pmwde
(18) Packaged Improvised Explosive Devices the-trainee-with-the skills-and-knowledge-to-perform-the function
1 Hour of-a-eriminalustice-instructor
(19) Suicide/Homicide  Improvised  Explosive  {e)}—Each-instructortraining-course-shal-include-the-following
Devices 1 Hour tdentified-topie-areas-and-mintmum-instructional-hoursfor-each
(20) Vehicle Borne Improvised Explosive Devices  area:
1 Hour &1 Orientation-and-Pre-test: 3-hours
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45— Course-Closing-and-PostTest 2-heurs
(d) The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the basic curriculum
for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be
inspected at the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from
the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt the rule
cited as 14B NCAC 15A .1305 and amend the rules cited as 14B
NCAC 15A .1304 and .1403.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://abc.nc.gov/

Proposed Effective Date: February 1, 2021
Public Hearing:

Date: November 4, 2020
Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon
Road, Raleigh, NC 27610

Reason for Proposed Action: To adopt and amend rules to
implement S.L. 2019-182, Sec. 3 allowing certain orders of
eligible distillery products. Rule 14B NCAC 15A .1304 is
amended to implement the new law applicable to direct shipments
of spirituous liquor from the supplier to a local board. Rule 14B
NCAC 15A .1305 is adopted to authorize distiller, brokerage and
supplier representatives to transport spirituous liquor owned by
a local board to another local board that acquires the spirituous
liquor. Rule 14B NCAC 15A .1403 is amended to implement G.S.
18B-800(c1) with regards to sales of single bottles of spirituous
liquor off the Special Order Price List and to amend the rule with
regards to requiring prepayment by the consumer before orders
are placed for special order products. Paragraphs (e) through (j)
of Rule 14B NCAC 15A .1403 is being recodified, as amended, as
new Rule 14B NCAC 15A .1407.

Comments may be submitted to: Walker Reagan, 400 East
Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8367; fax
(919) 661-6765; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov

Comment period ends: November 16, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 15A - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES:
POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

SECTION .1300 - STORAGE AND DISTRIBUTION OF
SPIRITUOUS LIQUORS: COMMERCIAL
TRANSPORTATION
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14B NCAC 15A .1304 DIRECT SHIPMENTS

(@) A "direct shipment" means a shipment from the distiller or a
warehouse of spirituous liquors, or from an antique spirituous
liquor seHer-of-antique-spirituous-ligquor; seller, directly to a local
board without passing through the State ABC warehouse.

(b) Bireet In addition to direct shipments authorized pursuant to
G.S. 18B-800(c2), direct shipments shall be allowed by the
Commission in emergency situations when the State ABC
warehouse is closed due—to—natural-or—other—disasters or in a
situation where where, for transportation reasens reasons, it is
mutually advantageous to local beards—the—Commission—or
boards and the operator of the State ABC warehouse.

(c) Direct shipment shall have prior written approval from the
Commission. Merchandise authorized to be shipped by direct
shipment shall be consigned by the State ABC warehouse to the
distiller's account in care of the local board. The local board shall
acknowledge receipt of the merchandise on the shipping
documents and forward them to the Contractor for processing
through the accounting system as though the merchandise were
shipped from the State ABC warehouse.

(d) Upon compliance with 14B-NCAC-15A-1403-and-obtaining
a-transportation-permit-asreguired-by-G-S—18B-403; 14B NCAC

15A .1403, an antique spirituous liquor seller may deliver antique
spirituous liquor listed in its inventory directly to the local board
that placed the special order for that inventory.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207; 18B-403; 18B-
701(a)(1).

14B NCAC 15A .1305
ABC BOARDS
(a) A local board may authorize a distiller representative,

TRANSPORTATION BETWEEN

14B NCAC 15A .1403  SPECIAL ORDERS
(a) Spirituous liquor products shall be approved for purchase
from the Special Orders Price List as follows:

1) When requested by a customer, a local board
shall request that the Commission consider
approval for inclusion on the Special Orders
Price List any spirituous liquor brand or
container size that is not otherwise approved.

2 The Commission shall consider the local
board's request, and approve, in accordance
with 14B NCAC 15C .0203 and .0204, any
brand or product for special order and the
addition to the Special Orders Price List,
including the special item case size requirement
as required established by the vendorofatleast
one-case: vendor.

(b) When requested by a customer, a local board may shall place
an order with the Commission for any product special item case
on the SpeC|aI Orders Prlce List. Au—eustemer—eFder—shau—be

mqu%men%sse%byth&@emm;s&epr A local board is not requwed

to place an order on behalf of a customer for a quantity less than
the case size requirement established by the vendor. If a customer
desires to purchase a quantity less than the special item case size
of any product, a local board may purchase any unsold bottles in
the special item case for public sale. Any bottles purchased by the
local board in excess of the guantity ordered by customers shall
not be eligible to be sold below the uniform price pursuant to 14B
NCAC 15A .1702.

(c) All customer orders shall be prepaid by the customer prior to
the order being placed with the Commission. However, a local

brokerage representative, or supplier representative, on its behalf,

board may waive the requirement for the customer to prepay for

to transport spirituous liguor owned by the local board to another

the order if the local board elects to purchase the portion of the

local board that has purchased, exchanged, or otherwise obtained

special item case in _excess of the quantity ordered by the

the spirituous liquor pursuant to 14B NCAC 15A .1301(e). The

customer.

authorization shall be in writing and shall be accompanied by an
invoice for the spirituous liquor being transported.

(b) A copy of the authorization to transport the spirituous liquor
and the invoice for the spirituous liquor shall be in the possession
of the distiller representative, brokerage representative, or
supplier representative during the transportation.

(c) _The transferring local board shall be responsible for any
damage, breakage, or theft of the spirituous liquor being
transferred until receipt of the delivery is acknowledged in writing
by the receiving local board.

(d) A copy of the acknowledgement of receipt signed by the

(d) Upon receipt of the special order from the local board, the
Commission shall place the order with the vendor for shipment to
the State ABC warehouse for delivery to the local board by the
State—ABC—warehouse Contractor with the Contractor's next
regularly scheduled shipment to the local board.

{d)(e) Aftercompleting-the-special-ordertransaction-with-the

customer-thelocal-board-shall report the sale-of-merchandise sold
hi | . |

For purposes of this Section and implementation of G.S. 18B-

800(c1), the following terms mean:

receiving local board shall be sent by the receiving local board to
the transferring local board together with any applicable payment
in accordance with 14B NCAC 15A .1406.

(e) A distiller representative, brokerage representative, or
supplier representative transporting spirituous liguor pursuant to
this Rule shall be exempt from the provisions of G.S. 18B-1115
pursuant to G.S. 18B-1115(q).

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207, 18B-1115(g).

SECTION .1400 - PURCHASE OF ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGES BY LOCAL BOARDS

Q) "Special item case" means the vendor's
minimum bottle case size for special item
products.

2) "Special item list" means Special Order Price
List.

(3) "Special Order Price List" means the list of

spirituous liguor products approved by the
Commission for sale in the State that are not
available through the State ABC warehouse,
but are available by special order in accordance
with this Rule and 14B NCAC 15A .1407.
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Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-101; 18B-207; 18B-800(c); 18B-
804; 18B-807; 18B-1001; 18B-1002(a)(4).

Note: Paragraphs (e) through (j) of 14B NCAC 15A .1403 will
be recodified as 14B NCAC 15A .1407.

14B NCAC 15A .1407 ANTIQUE SPIRITUOUS

LIQUOR SPECIAL ORDERS

{e)(a) In addition to the provisions set forth in Paragraph (a) of

this—Rule; Rule .1402 of this Section, antique spirituous liquor

products shall be approved for purchase from the Special Orders

Price List as follows:

1) Upon receipt of a request for inclusion of an
antique spirituous liquor on the Special Orders
Price List from either a—local-beoard—at-the
- £ orti L

liguer; the owner of antique spirituous liquor, a
local board at the request of the owner of
antique spirituous liquor, or a mixed beverages
permittee, the Commission shall consider the

request. Anyanaqaespwﬁumrquepbmnd—er

)] The seller of the antique spirituous liquor shall
provide to the Commission an inventory of each
product to be sold, the seller's selling price per
bottle, and a picture or copy of the label of each
product legible to the Commission sufficient
that allows it to identify the product to be sold.

3) Any antique spirituous liquor brand or product
approved by the Commission for sale shall be
added to the Special Orders Price List, listed by
seller. The Commission shall determine the
retail price for each product based on the
markup formula pursuant to G.S. 18B-804, set
up each product in its pricing system, assign
code numbers for each product, and notify the
local board and the State ABC warehouse of the
price and product code number of each product.

H(b) An owner of antique spirituous liquor who desires wants to
sell antique spirituous liquor shall obtain a special one-time
permit pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(4) prior to the sale.

{g)(c) A mixed beverages permittee who wants to order antique
spirituous liquor from the Special Orders Price List from a

permittee-autherized-to-sell an antique spirituous liquor pursuant

to—G.S—18B-1002(a}4) seller shall first obtain an antique
spirituous liquor permit pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(20).

{h)(d) When requested by an antique spirituous liquor permittee,

a local board shall place an order from the-special-ene-time
pe#mﬁteesemﬂg the antique spirituous liquor seller for spirituous
liquor on the Special Orders Price list. AH-erdersshall-be-prepaid

{(e) Upon delivery of the antique spirituous liquor to the Iocal
board by the special-one-timepermittee; antique spirituous liquor

seller, the local board shall pay-the-seller'sprice-te-the-special-one-

time-permittee-and notify the antique spirituous liquor permittee
the order is available for piek-up; pickup and the location where it

may be picked up. The local board shall collect payment for the
antique spirituous liquor from the antique spirituous liquor
permittee at the time of the pickup and shall pay the seller's price
to the antique spirituous liquor seller from the proceeds of the sale.
() Once the local board has possession of the antique
spirituous liquor to be sold, the local board shall notify the
Commission and the State ABC warehouse; warehouse and
forward the invoice bill of lading for the product to the State ABC
warehouse. The State ABC warehouse shall bill the local board
for the bailment and bailment surcharge for the product. The local
board shall pay the bailment and bailment surcharge to the
Commission.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-101; 18B-207; 18B-800(c); 18B-
804; 18B-807; 18B-1001; 18B-1002(a)(4).

BRI i I I I I S S R

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt the rule
cited as 14B NCAC 15A .2104, amend the rule cited as 14B NCAC
15A .1801, and repeal the rules cited as 14B NCAC 15A .1706
and .2103.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://abc.nc.gov/

Proposed Effective Date: February 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: November 4, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon
Road, Raleigh, NC 27610

Reason for Proposed Action: To implement changes in the rules
necessitated by S.L. 2019-182, Secs. 4 and 5 related to the law
authorizing distilleries to sell spirituous liquor distilled by the
distiller for consumption off the premises, and the law to allow
distilleries to issue purchase-transportation permits for spirituous
liquor sold by the distillery. 14B NCAC 15A .1706 is repealed as
duplicative of another rule. 14B NCAC 15A .1801 is being
amended to include purchase-transportation permits issued by
distilleries. 14B NCAC 15A .2103 is repealed as the record
keeping requirement in the statute has been repealed. 14B NCAC
15A .2104 is being adopted to define the process for owner of a
distillery to designate an employee of the distillery to issue
purchase-transportation permits on behalf of the distillery.

Comments may be submitted to: Walker Reagan, 400 East
Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8367; fax
(919) 661-6765; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov
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Comment period ends: November 16, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 15A - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES:
POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

SECTION .1700 - RETAIL SALES OF ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGES

14B NCAC 15A .1706
PERMITS

PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-403; 18B-403.1; 18B-
404; 18B-807.

SECTION .1800 - PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION
PERMITS FOR INDIVIDUALS AND MIXED
BEVERAGES PERMITTEES

14B NCAC 15A .1801 PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION

PERMHFS-WANEHIQUOR: PERMITS FOR WINE AND
LIQUOR

(a) Ferm- The Purchase-Transportation Permit shall be issued en

a—printed—three-part—form in triplicate and shall specify the

following information on the face of the permit:

QD the name and location of the store ABC store
retail store, or distillery from which the
purchase is to be made;

2 whether the purchase is for unfortified wine,
fortified wine wine, or spirituous liquor;

3) the destination of the alcoholic beverages
beverages, including name-and the address of
location; the location and name of business, if
applicable;

4 the Special Occasions Permit number of a
location, if alcoholic beverages are purchased
for a special ececasion; occasion at a non-
residence;

(5) the time and date of commencement and
conclusion of the special occasion, if any;

(6) the quantity and type of alcoholic beverages
purchased,;

@) the signature and printed name of local ABC
official official, distillery owner, or designated
employee of the owner issuing the permit; and

(8) the name, address address, and driver's license
number of the purchaser.

(b) The form Purchase-Transportation permit shall contain a
statementthat the following statements:

(€8] the The permit is valid for only one purchase
transaction on the date shown-and shown.

2) The permit will expire at 9:30 p.m. on the date
of purchase-and—a—furtherstatement-that-the
purchase.

(3) The permit shall accompany the beverages
during transport and sterage-and storage.

4) The permit shall be exhibited to any law
enforcement officer upon request.

{)c) A local board or distillery issuing a Purchase-
Transportation Permit shall retain one copy of the permit in its
files for a period of one year—and year. For Purchase-
Transportation Permits issued by a local board for the purchase of
fortified and unfortified wine, the local board shall give the
purchaser two cepies; copies of the permit, one of which the
purchaser shall give the store from which the alcoholic beverages
are purchased.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-403.

SECTION .2100 - DISTILLERY PERMIT HOLDERS'
SALE OF SPIRITUOUS LIQUOR DISTILLED ON
PREMISES TO VISITORS OF THE DISTILLERY FOR
CONSUMPTION OFF THE PREMISES

14B NCAC 15A .2103
KEEPING
Fhe-distitlery pe’ FRItiee's EIEG.E oG |ee_e|els a5 Fequired by G-S
188-1105(a)4) .SI aH-be-available-for inspectiol by_ a_lee oHaw
entorceme |Elelllee sFalld € |ple_5ees_el the-Gorm |Issm a-any
premises:

DISTILLERY RECORD-

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-502; 18B-1105.
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14B NCAC 15A .2104 DISTILLERY ISSUED
PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION PERMITS

The owner of a distillery shall designate in writing any employee
of the distillery authorized to issue purchase-transportation
permits on behalf of the distillery pursuant to G.S. 18B-403(b)(5).
The authority shall remain in effect until it is revoked or the
employee is no longer employed by the distillery. The
authorization shall be acknowledged in writing by the employee.
A copy of the authorization and the signed acknowledgement
shall be retained by the permittee while the authorization is
effective and for one year after the authority is terminated. A copy
of the signed authorization shall be made available by the
permittee to the Commission and law enforcement officers upon

request.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-403.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited
as 15A NCAC 10F .0308, .0317 and .0323.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date: February 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: October 8, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Please use this link to join the webinar:
https://ncwildlife.zoom.us/j/99451782337 or join by telephone
888 788 0099 (Toll Free) or 877 853 5247 (Toll Free) Webinar
ID: 994 5178 2337

Reason for Proposed Action:

15A NCAC 10F .0308 Clay County submitted applications and
Resolutions requesting rulemaking for no-wake zones in three
sections of Lake Chatuge to mitigate boating safety hazards, by
extending the no-wake zone in all of Gibson Cove where a boating
access area and swim area are located (10F .0308(a)(3), to create
a no-wake zone within 50 yards of the peninsula at Clay County
Recreational Park (10F .0308(a)(8) where swimming and other
recreational activities are held, and by separate application to
create a no-wake zone shore to shore in Dayton Cove to mitigate
hazards caused by boats and other water recreationists. A Fiscal
Note was submitted to OSBM for Clay County to incur expense
for no-wake markers at Gibson Cove and the peninsula at Clay
County Recreational Park and was approved by the WRC on 7-
23-2020. Buoys at Dayton Cove will be purchased and placed by
individuals at no expense to Clay County. The Tennessee Valley
Authority concurs with rulemaking for no-wake buoys in these
sections of Lake Chatuge.

15A NCAC 10F .0317 - Stanly County submitted an application
and Resolution requesting rulemaking for a no-wake zone within
50 yards of the Boathouse and Marina on Lake Tillery in

Norwood, to mitigate hazards caused by the fueling dock. Private
individuals will purchase and place the buoys and no Fiscal Note
is required. Additionally, 10F .0317 currently includes temporary
amendments effective June 1, 2020. The proposed amendments
included in this Notice of Text in Paragraph (a) are the same as
included in the temporary amendments, but the agency desires to
make them permanent. However, Paragraph (f) of this rule,
italicized in this Notice of Text, is also part of the temporary
amendments effective June 1, 2020, but the agency desires to keep
this Paragraph as temporary, with it expiring next summer.

15A NCAC 10F .0323 Burke County submitted an application
and Resolution for rulemaking to extend and combine two no
wake zones shore to shore on Lake James, beginning northeast of
the NC Highway 126 bridge shore to shore to protect non-
motorized vessels at the Lake James State Park, southward to
protect new facilities and docks at the Lake James Marina, and
ending shore to shore southwest of the Canal Bridge Boating
Access Area to mitigate hazards caused by increased boat traffic
at that boating access area. Markers will be purchased and
placed by individuals at no expense to the County. No Fiscal Note
is required.

Comments may be submitted to:
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh,
regulations@ncwildlife.org

Rule-making Coordinator,
NC 27699; email

Comment period ends: November 16, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XIXOXX

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER
SAFETY
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SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY
REGULATIONS

15A NCAC 10F .0308 @ CLAY COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters
in Chatuge Lake:
(1) within 50 yards of the boat ramp at Ho Hum
Campground;
2 the waters of Shooting Creek, from a line shore
to shore 50 yards west of the High Bridge on
NC Highway 175, to a line at the southeast end
of Shooting Creek shore to shore, from a point
at 35.01960 N, 83.72752 W; to a point at
35.01979 N, 83.72638 W;
3) within-50-yards-of the waters of Gibson Ceve
access-area; Cove, west of a line at the mouth
from a point on the north shore at 35.01424 N,
83.79614 W to a point on the south shore at
35.01022 N, 83.79533 W;
4) within 50 yards of the Chatuge Cove Maring;
(5) the portion of the cove shore to shore, west of
Cottage Court off of NC Highway 175,
northeast of a line from a point on the east shore
at 35.02576 N, 83.73784 W; to a point on the
northwest shore at 35.02609 N, 83.73945 W;
(6) within 50 yards of the Chatuge Dam Spillway
access areaand area;
@) the waters of McCracken Ceve: Cove;
(8) within 50 yards of the peninsula at Clay County
Recreational Park, from a point on the north
shore at 35.00859 N. 83.79303 W, east to a
point in the water at 35.00894 N, 83.79168 W,
south to a point in the water at 35.00778 N,
83.79096 W, southwest to a point in the water
at 35.00655 N, 83.79192 W, west to a point on
the shore at 35.00678 N, 83.79261 W; and
9 the waters of Dayton Cove, north of a line at the
mouth from a point on the west shore at
34.99033 N, 83.80840 W to a point on the east
shore at 34.99072 N, 83.80555 W.
(b) Speed Limit. It shall be unlawful to operate a vessel at greater
than no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas identified in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the
operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter a marked public
swimming area.
(d) Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Clay
County shall be the designated agency for placement of the
markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the
Tennessee Valley Authority and the United States Army Corps of
Engineers.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

15A NCAC 10F .0317  STANLY COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters
and-portions-efwaters described as follows:
1) Narrows-Reservoir—otherwise-known-as-Badin
Lakerand Badin Lake.

W
2) Lake Tillery.
(A) Turner Beach Cove shore to shore,
south of a point at 35.22529 N,
80.09318 W.
(B) The waters within 50 yards of the fuel
docks at the Boathouse and Marina at
712 Berry Hill Drive in Norwood.
(b) Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at
greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat
launching ramp while on the waters of a regulated area described
in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the
operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public
swimming area on the waters of a regulated area described in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(d) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than
no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule:
(e) Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Stanly
County shall be the designated agency for placement of markers
implementing this Rule.
(f) Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule, no
person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the
waters of Lake Tillery shore to shore, within 85 yards north and
85 yards south of the NC Hwy 24/27/73 bridge eastbound and
westbound spans, otherwise known as the James B. Garrison
Bridge. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission shall
be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of
markers for this regulated area.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

15A NCAC 10F .0323 BURKE COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule applies only to the following
waters or portions of waters in Burke County:

1) Lake Hickory;

2) Lake James, delineated by markers consistent
with Paragraph (e) of this Rule, at the following
locations:

(A) Holiday Shores Subdivision;

(B) Lake James Campground,;

© Laurel Pointe Subdivision;

(D) The waters of Boyd Moore Cove shore
to shore, north of a line from a point
on the northwest shore at 35.76667 N,
81.82337 W to a point on the southeast
shore at 35.76558 N, 81.82245 W;

(E) East Shores development;
P Eastern shore of Lake James at
Mallard Cove;

(G) That portion of Lake James shore to
shore, beginning 56-yards-northeastof

the—south—shore—at—35-74334—N;
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northwest—shore—at—35-74257 N-
81.88679-W-o-a-point-on-the southeast
yards northeast of the NC Highway
126 bridge at a line from a point on the
north shore at 35.74652 N, 81.88231
W to a point on the south shore at
35.74440 N, 81.88017 W, and ending
at a line 550 yards southwest of the NC
Highway 126 bridge and 50 yards
south of the Canal Bridge Boating
Access Area dock from a point on the
northwest shore at 35.74163 N,
81.88943 W to a point on the southeast
shore at 35.73869 N, 81.88652 W;

“H Within-50-yards-of-the-Canal-Bridge
H(H) The waters within 50 yards of the end
of the South Pointe Subdivision
peninsula from a point east of the
peninsula at 35.76399 N, 81.83768 W,
and surrounding the peninsula from a
point east of the peninsula at 35.76399
N, 81.83768 W, and surrounding the
peninsula to a point west of the
peninsula at 35.76307 N, 81.83648 W;
and
The waters of Sherman's Hollow Cove
shore to shore, and contiguous with
those waters beginning at a point on
the west shore of the mouth of
Sherman's Hollow Cove at 35.76423
N, 81.82748 W, extending northeast
within 50 yards of Linville Point to a
point on the northeast shore of Linville
Point at 35.76596 N, 81.82432 W.

3) Lake Rhodhiss.
(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than
no-wake speed within 50 yards of any designated public boat
launching ramp, bridge, marina, boat storage structure, boat
service area, dock, or pier; or while on designated waters of the
areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a
vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked
mooring area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of
this Rule.
(d) Restricted Swimming Areas. No person operating or
responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter
any marked public swimming area on the regulated areas
described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(e) Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Burke
County is the designated agency for placement of the markers
implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United
States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of
Engineers.

&0

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 102-1.1.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 34 - BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Funeral Service intends to adopt the rules cited as 21
NCAC 34C .0106 and .0207, and amend the rules cited as 21
NCAC 34C .0102-.0105, .0201, .0202, .0205, .0206, .0303, and
.0306.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncbfs.org

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: October 14, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: 1033 Wade Avenue, Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 27605

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 34C .0102 Makes rule applicable to alkaline
hydrolysis facilities.

21 NCAC 34C .0103 Makes rule applicable to alkaline
hydrolysis facilities and updates requirements for licensure
applications.

21 NCAC 34C .0104
hydrolysis facilities.

21 NCAC 34C .0105
hydrolysis facilities.

21 NCAC 34C .0106 Provides definitions to statutory terms
related to alkaline hydrolysis facilities.

21 NCAC 34C .0201 Updates minimum standards for
cremation units and processors and implements minimum
standards for alkaline hydrolysis units and processors.

21 NCAC 34C .0202 Updates refrigeration requirements
for crematories and alkaline hydrolysis licensees.

21 NCAC 34C .0205 Makes rule applicable to alkaline
hydrolysis facilities.

21 NCAC 34C .0206
hydrolysis facilities.

21 NCAC 34C .0207 Updates requirements for removal of
pacemakers or other implanted devices to be consistent with
guidelines from manufacturers or other regulating agencies;
updates requirements for handling of autopsied remains or
remains that may have been infected with certain communicable
diseases.

21 NCAC 34C .0303 Makes rule applicable to alkaline
hydrolysis/unaffiliated practitioners and updates requirements
for forms related to receipt/release for human remains.

21 NCAC 34C .0306 Makes rule applicable to alkaline
hydrolysis/unaffiliated practitioners.

Makes rule applicable to alkaline

Makes rule applicable to alkaline

Makes rule applicable to alkaline
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Comments may be submitted to: Stephen E. Davis, North
Carolina Board of Funeral Service, 1033 Wade Avenue, Suite
108, Raleigh, NC 27605

Comment period ends: November 16, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 34C - CREMATORIES
SECTION .0100 — GENERAL PROVISIONS

21 NCAC 34C .0102 FORM OF DOCUMENTS

When any provision of Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North
Carolina General Statutes or any rule in this Subchapter requires
a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to obtain any death certificate,
report, authorization, waiver, statement or other document prior
to eremation; cremation or hydrolysis, i-shal-be-deemed-thatsuch
requirements—are-complied-with-if the crematory or_hydrolysis

licensee receives-the-apphicable-document-or-documents—in-the
time-—specified; may accept the document in the form of the

original, a phetecepy photocopy, or by electronic or facsimile
transmission.

Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h).

21 NCAC 34C .0103 APPLICATION FORM FOR
CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS LICENSE

All applications for a crematory or hydrolysis license shall be
made on forms provided by the Board. The application shall state

the following mformatlon nameeﬁheappheam-add@ss—typeef

€8} the name of the applicant;
(2) address;

(3) type of business entity;
(4)

()

location of crematory or hydrolysis facility;
description of crematory or hydrolysis facilities

and equipment;

(6) name and address of each crematory or
hydrolysis technician;
(4] name and address of the crematory or

hydrolysis manager; and
any criminal convictions of the applicant and

manager.

c

Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.36(d),(h).

21 NCAC 34C .0104 CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS
LICENSE CERTIFICATE

The Board shall issue each crematory or hydrolysis licensee a
certificate for to operate a crematory or hydrolysis facility upon

dl emo SE.'a;.' llg. t Ialt al |equ||e|_ I iy ﬁ_enen atel '5”“99.' S€ Ial ve
certificate forms-provided-by-the Beard- a finding that the licensee

has complied with the rules of this Chapter.

Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h).

21 NCAC 34C .0105
INSPECTION FORM
The findings of all crematory or hydrolysis facility inspections

CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS

shall be recorded and filed on report forms provided by the Board.

Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h).

21 NCAC 34C .0106 DEFINITIONS

The following definitions shall apply for purposes of complying
with the provisions of Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North
Carolina General Statutes and any rule in Chapter 34, Title 21 of
the North Carolina Administrative Code:

Q) "Hydrolysis operator” shall have the same
meaning as the term "hydrolysis licensee" as
defined by G.S. 90-210.136(a)(3).

2) "Aquamation" and "resomation" shall have the
same meaning as "alkaline hydrolysis" as
defined by G.S. 90-210.136(a)(1).

3) "Certificate of hydrolysis" means a certificate
provided by the hydrolysis manager who
performed the hydrolysis that meets the same
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(10)

(11)

(12)

minimum_requirements for a "certificate of
cremation” as set forth in G.S. 90-210.121(5).
"Cremation center” shall have the same
meaning as "crematory" or "crematorium" as
defined by G.S. 90-210.121(11).

"Final disposition" of human remains that have
been hydrolyzed means the hydrolysis and the
ultimate interment, entombment, inurnment, or
scattering of the hydrolyzed remains or the
return of the hydrolyzed remains by the
hydrolysis licensee to the authorizing agent or
such agent's designee as provided by Article
13F, Chapter 90, of the North Carolina General

(13) "Hydrolysis technician" means any employee
of a hydrolysis licensee who has a certificate
confirming that the hydrolysis technician has
attended a training course approved by the
Board.

Authority G.S. 90-210.136.
SECTION .0200 - EQUIPMENT AND PROCESSING
21 NCAC 34C .0201 HOLDING FACILITY;

CREMATION OR HYDROLYSIS UNIT; PROCGESSOR
PROCESSORS

Statutes. Upon the written direction of the
authorizing agent, hydrolyzed remains may
take various forms.

"Hydrolysis container," as defined by G.S. 90-
210.136(a)(2), is one made of biodegradable
material and also shall comply with the
provisions of G.S. 90-210.121(9)f.

"Hydrolysis chamber,” "hydrolysis unit," or
"hydrolysis vessel" means the enclosed space
within which the hydrolysis process occurs.
Hydrolysis chambers regulated by Article 13F,
Chapter 90, of the North Carolina General
Statutes shall be used exclusively for the
hydrolysis of human remains.

"Hydrolyzed remains" means all human
remains recovered after the completion of the
hydrolysis process, including pulverization,
that leaves only bone fragments reduced to
unidentifiable dimensions.

"Hydrolysis facility" or "hydrolysis center"
means the building or buildings, or portion of a
building or buildings, on a contiguous piece of
property that houses the hydrolysis equipment,
the holding and processing facilities, the
business offices, and any other components of
the hydrolysis business.

"Hydrolysis interment container" means a rigid
outer container composed of concrete, steel,
fiberglass, or some similar material in which an
urn_is placed prior to being interred in the
ground and which is designed to withstand
prolonged exposure to the elements and to
support the earth above the urn.

"Hydrolysis manager" means the person who is
responsible for the management and operation
of the hydrolysis facility. A hydrolysis manager
shall meet the same minimum requirements for
a "crematory manager” as set forth in G.S. 90-
210.121(13).

"Hydrolysis society" means any person, firm,
corporation, or organization that is affiliated
with a hydrolysis licensee licensed under
Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North Carolina
General _Statutes and provides hydrolysis
information to consumers.

(a) Every crematory licensee shall have the following:

1) A holding facility of suitable size to
accommodate all human remains which are
retained and awaiting eremation. cremation;

2 A commercially-manufactured cremation unit,
within the erematery, crematory facility, made
speeifically for the cremation of human
remains, meeting the following minimum
standards:

&(A) An ash collection pan that is designed
for the purpose of removing cremated
remains from the cremation unit and to
minimize the commingling of
cremated remains of one human
remains with anether. another;

H)¥B) A hearth or floor that has been
maintained in _accordance  with
recommended maintenance
requirements  specified by the
machine's manufacturer or other
gualified maintenance service
representative; without-depressions-se
as—io—minimize GG'F A 9“"9 of

€)}(C) A door safety switch to stop the burner
operation when the front charging
door is epened: opened.;

&}(D) A pollution monitoring system to
monitor and detect smoke when the
density exceeds applicable federal and
state standards, whereupon the system
will automatically stop the burner
operation on a time setting of not less
than three minutes: minutes; and

{&)(E) Approval by a testing agency such as

Underwriters  Laboratery—or—a

comparable —testing———agency.
Laboratory.
?3) A commercially-manufactured  processor,

within the erematery; crematory facility, made

specifically for the pulverization of cremated or

hydrolyzed remains, meeting the following

minimum standards:

&)(A) Capable of consistently processing
cremated and/or_hydrolyzed remains
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to unidentifiable dimensions-

dimensions;

{b)(B) A dust-resistant processing chamber:
chamber; and
€)}(C) An exterior surface made of easily

cleaned, non-corrosive material.
(b) Every hydrolysis licensee shall have the following:

@) A holding facility of suitable size to
accommodate all human remains which are
retained and awaiting hydrolysis;

2 A commercially-manufactured hydrolysis unit,

(c) The provisions of this Rule shall not be construed to require a
crematory facility and hydrolysis facility that share common
ownership and are located on a single contiguous piece of
property to maintain more than one refrigeration unit.

Authority  G.S.
210.136(d),(h).

21 NCAC 34C .0205 LABELS
In addition to the requirements of G.S. 90-210.29A, the crematory
or hydrolysis licensee shall attach a typed or printed label to the

90-210.121(9),(12);  90-210.134(a);  90-

within _the hydrolysis facility, made for

hydrolyzing human remains, and which meets

the following minimum standards:

(A) A collection pan, tray, or other device
that is designed for the purpose of
removing hydrolyzed remains from

tempeorary initial container, urn or other permanent container at
the time the cremated or hydrolyzed remains are placed therein. If
an inside and outside container are used, then both shall be
labelled. The label shall contain the name of the decedent, the date

of cremation or_hydrolysis, and the name of the erematory-
crematory or hydrolysis licensee.

the hydrolysis unit and to minimize the
commingling of hydrolyzed remains
of one human remains with another;
and
(B) Approval by Underwriters Laboratory
or a comparable testing agency.
3) A commercially-manufactured  processor,

Authority G.S. 90-210.126; 90-210.134(a); 90.210.136(d),(h).

21 NCAC 34C .0206 CLEANLINESS

All areas of the crematory and-holding—factity or hydrolysis
licensee facilities devoted to the reception, storage and cremation

or_hydrolysis of human remains and to the pulverization and

within the hydrolysis facility, that shall meet the
same _minimum _standards set forth in
Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule.

Authority G.S. 90-210.41(9),(12);
90-210.50(a); 90-210-136(d),(h).

90-210.45(d),(e);

21 NCAC 34C .0202 REFRIGERATION

(a) Crematory and hydrolysis licensees shall have a refrigeration
unit capable of storing at least three adult human bodies in the
holding facility. Each refrigeration unit required by this Rule shall
be capable of maintaining an interior temperature of 40 degrees

delivery of cremated or hydrolyzed remains, and all equipment
located therein, shall be kept in good repair and in a sanitary
condition and subject to inspection by the Board or its agents at
all times.

Authority G.S.
90.210.136(d),(h).

90-210.41(9),(12);  90-210.50(a);

21 NCAC 34C .0207 REMOVAL OF PACEMAKERS
OR OTHER IMPLANTED DEVICES; AUTOPSIED
REMAINS; COMMUNICABLE DISEASES

(a) No person other than an individual who is licensed by the

Fahrenheit while loaded with the maximum number of bodies for

Board as either an embalmer or funeral service licensee shall

which it is designed; shall be a sealed concrete, stainless steel,

remove a pacemaker, defibrillator, or any other implanted device

galvanized, aluminum, or other flooring in walk-in units; and shall

or material that must be removed from human remains prior to

be stainless steel, aluminum, or other non-corrosive materials for

cremation or _hydrolysis as set forth in G.S. 90-210.129(d);

the remainder of all units.

(b) Unembalmed human remains retained in the custody of a
crematory or hydrolysis licensee for more than 24 hours prior to
cremation or_hydrolysis shall be kept in a refrigeration unit.

Crematory—teensees—shal-have—a-refrigeration—unit—capable—of

provided, however, that any such device or material deemed
hazardous shall be removed in accordance with the guidelines set
by the manufacturer thereof and any statutes or rules enforced by
any proper requlating agency.

(b) It shall not be permissible for any person other than an
individual who is licensed by the Board as either an embalmer or
funeral service licensee to handle, treat, or otherwise prepare for
cremation or hydrolysis the viscera removed from human remains
as the result of an autopsy.

(c) An hydrolysis licensee shall not remove from the outer case
required by G.S. 130A-395(b) and 10A NCAC 41A .0212, or to
hydrolyze, any decedent who is known or suspected to have been
infected with the plague, smallpox, or severe acute respiratory
syndrome (SARS), without first obtaining the written consent of
the local health director.

Authority G.S. 90-210.125; 90-210.129; 90-210.134; 90-
210.136(d),(h).
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SECTION .0300 - AUTHORIZATIONS, REPORTS,
RECORDS

21 NCAC 34C .0303 RECORDS OF CREMATION OR
HYDROLYSIS AND DELIVERY

(@) All crematory or hydrolysis licensees shall complete receipts
for human remains on Board forms. The crematory or hydrolysis
licensee shall furnish the following information: nrame—of-the

crematory-licenseefull-name-of the-decedent-date-and-time-of

to-the-crematory-licensee:

(6) any affiliation by the person receiving remains
with a funeral establishment or an individual
licensed to practice funeral service under the
provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2) or other
entity; and

@ signatures of the person delivering the remains
and recipient of remains, and any mailing or
handling instructions.

Crematory and hydrolysis licensees must provide evidence by
signature, or shipping receipt upon delivery of the cremated or
hydrolyzed remains.

(c) All records documenting the release of human remains from
a funeral establishment or an individual licensed to practice
funeral service under the provisions of G.S. 90-
210.25(a2)(2)("unaffiliated practitioner') to the person who
receives the cremated or hydrolyzed remains shall be completed
on Board forms. The funeral establishment or unaffiliated

@) name of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee;
(2) first, middle, and last name of the decedent;
3) date and time of death;

[C))] date and time the human remains were
delivered to the crematory or hydrolysis
licensee;

5) any affiliation by the person delivering remains
with a funeral establishment or an individual
licensed to practice funeral service under the

provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2), or
crematory;

(6) any affiliation with the crematory or hydrolysis
licensee; and

@ first, middle, and last name and signature of the
employee or agent of the crematory or

hydrolysis licensee who received the human
remains.
Every crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall furnish this receipt
to the person who delivers the human remains to the crematory or
hydrolysis licensee.
(b) All records documenting the release of human remains from
a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to the person who receives the
cremated or_hydrolyzed remains shall be completed on Board
forms. The crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall furnish the

following information: name-ofthe-crematory-licensee,—thefull

name-of-the-decedent-the-date-and-time-of release—the-name-of

hydrolyzed remains.
name of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee;
first, middle, and last name of the decedent;

first, middle, and last name of the person who

practitioner shall furnish the following information: rame-of-the

€8] name of the funeral establishment or
unaffiliated practitioner;
first, last, and middle name of the decedent;

(2)
(3) date and time of release;
4)
()

person to whom the remains were released;
type of container in which the remains were

released;

(6) signatures of the parties delivering and
receiving remains; and

[€4)] any shipping or special handling instructions.

Funeral establishments must provide evidence by signature, or
shipping receipt upon delivery of the cremated or hydrolyzed
remains. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply when
the funeral establishment and crematory or hydrolysis licensee
share common ownership and are physically located within one
or more buildings on a contiguous piece of property that would
gualify the funeral establishment to use ‘"crematory,"
"crematorium,” "cremation center,”" "hydrolysis facility," or
"hydrolysis center" in its operating name; provided, however, that
the crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall comply with
Paragraphs (a), (b), and (d) or (e) of this Rule.

(d) In order to track the human remains through the cremation or
hydrolysis process from the time the remains are received at the
crematory or_hydrolysis licensee facility until the cremated or
hydrolyzed remains are delivered, all crematory or hydrolysis
licensees shall keep records on Board forms. The crematory or
hydrolysis licensee shall furnish the following information to a
funeral establishment, an individual licensed to practice funeral
service under the provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2), authorizing

1)
(2)
3) date and time of release;
O]

received the cremated or hydrolyzed remains;

agent, or other person or entity authorized to receive the cremated

(5) place where cremated or hydrolyzed remains

were received;

or hydrolyzed remains from the crematory or hydrolysis licensee:

name—ofthe—crematoryticensee—fulname—of the—decedent;
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. 'I | '

first, middle, and last name of the crematory or

=

hydrolysis licensee;

2 first, middle, and last name of the decedent;

3) description of the cremation or hydrolysis
container used;

4) time and date the decedent was placed into the
cremation or hydrolysis unit;

(5) first, middle, and last name of person who
placed the deceased in the cremation or
hydrolysis unit;

(6) time and date the cremated or hydrolyzed
remains were removed from the cremation or
hydrolysis unit;

@ type of container in which the cremated or
hydrolyzed remains were placed;

(8) time and date the cremated or hydrolyzed
remains were processed; and

9 first, middle, and last name and signature of the

person _who processed the cremated or

hydrolyzed remains and placed them into a

container.
(e) In lieu of the separate forms required by Paragraphs (a), (b),
and (d) of this Rule, a crematory or hydrolysis licensee may use a
form prescribed by the Board that combines all information
required by Paragraphs (a), (b), and (d) of this Rule.
(f)  The crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall retain the
completed forms required by this Rule for a period of three years
and shall produce all erematory cremation or hydrolysis forms for
inspection or copying by the Board or its agents upon request. Fhe
Unless otherwise permitted by this Rule, the funeral establishment
or_individual licensed to practice funeral service under the
provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2) shall retain the a completed
copy of each form required by Paragraph-(c)-of this Rule and shall
produce the ferm forms for inspection or copying to the Board or
its agents upon request.

Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 90.210.136(d),(h).

21 NCAC 34C .0306 RETENTION OF RECORDS

A copy of all death certificates, cremation or hydrolysis
authorizations, waivers, statements, reports and other documents
required by G.S. 90-210.120 through G.S. 90-210.134 and by the
rules in this Subchapter shall be retained by the crematory or
hydrolysis licensee and the funeral establishment or individual
licensed to practice funeral service under the provisions of G.S.
90-210.25(a2)(2) for a period of three years and shall, during that
period, be subject to inspection by the Board or its agents.

Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 90.210.136(d),(h).

BRI I S S S I S I S S S

CHAPTER 37 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR NURSING
HOME ADMINISTRATORS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators intends to
adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 37G .0402 and amend the rules
cited as 21 NCAC 37D .0202, .0402; 37E .0102; 37F .0102; and
37G .0102.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.nhcbenha.org

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: October 7, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: 3733 National Drive, Suite 110, Raleigh, NC 27612

Reason for Proposed Action: The Board is self-sustaining;
therefore, fee increases are needed to ensure the fiscal integrity
of the Board. Fees have not increased since 2014.

Comments may be submitted to: Jane A. Baker, 3733 National
Drive, Suite 110, Raleigh, NC 27612; email
nhaboard@ncbenha.org

Comment period ends: November 16, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 37D - NEW LICENSES

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION FOR LICENSE
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21 NCAC 37D .0202 INITIAL LICENSURE FEE
Prior to licensure, the applicant shall send an initial licensure non-

refundable fee of five-hundred-dolars{$500.00) six hundred
dollars ($600.00) when the applicant has successfully passed the

examinations required by the Board under Sections .0600 and
.0700 of this Subchapter.

Authority G.S. 90-280.
SECTION .0400 - ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING
21 NCAC 37D .0402 APPLICATION TO BECOME

ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING (AIT)
(@ The applicant shall submit to the Board an application

containing:
1) name;
2 education;
(3) employment history;
4) questions pertaining to moral character;
(5) criminal history; and

(6) an affidavit stating that the applicant if granted
a license, shall obey the laws of the state and the
rules of the Board, and shall maintain the honor
and dignity of the profession.
(b) The applicant shall submit a resume.
(c) The applicant shall submit three reference forms (one
employer and two character) as set forth in Rule .0203 of this

Subchapter:

(1) the Employer Reference Form shall include the
address of employment and duties assigned,;
and

)] the Character Reference Form shall include

how this individual knows the applicant and
whether the applicant is capable to supervise
the care of residents of a skilled facility. No
character reference shall be from a relative of
the applicant.
(d) The applicant shall submit an official transcript issued by the
institution indicating the courses completed and hours earned,
specifying whether semester or quarter hours. The applicant shall
supply documentation of his or her supervisory experience in a
nursing home if the applicant is utilizing the experience substitute
for the education requirement as allowed by G.S. 90-278(1)b.
(e) The applicant and the preceptor shall appear before the Board
for a personal interview.
(f) The preceptor shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to
the personal interview:
1) a Facility Survey Form stating the facility
license number, address and the number of

beds;

2) a letter accepting individual as an AIT;

3) a Preceptor Disclosure Form stating number of
years the individual has served as an

administrator and number of AITs precepted:;
4) a curriculum outline for the AIT program that
provides the AIT with job experience in each
department. A curriculum outline shall include
each department in the facility and the
information that will be covered, including the

recommended number of weeks in the program
as outlined on the AIT Curriculum Request and
Rationale Form;
(5) an AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale
Form shall be based on education and
experience of the AIT applicant. The preceptor
shall be responsible for providing a rationale for
all subject areas with the recommended number
of weeks for the AIT; and
(6) the directions to the facility.

(g) The owner or governing board of the facility shall submit to

the Board three weeks prior to the personal interview a letter of

approval for the AIT applicant to train in the facility.

(h) A non-refundable processing fee of two-hundred-fifty-doHars

{$250.00) three hundred dollars ($300.00) shall be submitted with

the application.

(i) An AIT applicant shall maintain at all times a current

residential mailing address with the Board office.

(J) The applicant may obtain an application and forms from the

Board's website or from the Board office.

Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-288.01.
SUBCHAPTER 37E — RECIPROCITY/ENDORSEMENT
SECTION .0100 — GENERAL PROVISIONS

21 NCAC 37E .0102 APPLICATION CONTENTS

An applicant for reciprocity/endorsement shall submit the
following items that shall be received by the Board three weeks
prior to the next scheduled Board Meeting posted on the Board's
website:

(8] a completed application;

2 a resume;

3) certified college transcript(s);

4) three reference forms (one employer and two

character) located on the Board's website as set

forth in Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203:

@) the Employer Reference Form shall
include the address of employment
and duties assigned; and

(b) the Character Reference Form shall
include how the individual knows the
applicant and whether the applicant is
capable of supervising the care of
residents of a skilled facility. No
character reference shall be from a
relative of the applicant.

(5) a licensing questionnaire(s) from every state
where the applicant held a license. The
questionnaire is available on the Board's
website;

(6) a non-refundable processing fee of two-hundred
fiftydolars($250-00); three hundred dollars
($300.00); and

@) a fingerprint card, necessary forms, and
required fee for criminal background check.
Information regarding the forms and fees for
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the criminal background check is available in
the Board office.

Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-287; 90-288.01.
SUBCHAPTER 37F - TEMPORARY LICENSES

SECTION .0100 - TEMPORARY LICENSE
REQUIREMENTS

21 NCAC 37F .0102
LICENSE

(@ An applicant for a temporary license shall submit the
following items:

ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY

1) a completed application;
2 aresume;
(3) three reference forms (one employer and two

character) located on the Board's website as set

forth in Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203:

(A) the Employer Reference Form shall
include the address of employment
and duties assigned; and

(B) the Character Reference Form shall
include how the individual knows the
applicant and whether the applicant is
capable of supervising the care of
residents of a skilled facility. No
character reference shall be from a
relative of the applicant;

4) a letter from the owner or regional manager
requesting the issuance of a Temporary License
for the facility stating the circumstances
necessitating the issuance of the license; and

(5) the processing fee of three—hundred—doHars
{$300.00)- five hundred dollars ($500.00).

(b) After anapplicantisissued a temporary license he or she shall
submit a fingerprint card, necessary forms, and the required fee
for a criminal background check, and successfully pass the state
examination administered by the Board at the next exam date to
retain the temporary license. Information regarding the forms and
fees for the criminal background check is available in the Board
office.

(c) Atemporary license may be extended at the discretion of the
Board in accordance with the requirements of Rule .0101(d) of
this Section.

(d) A temporary license shall be issued to the applicant to permit
him or her to practice only in the nursing home to which the
applicant is assigned on the date of issuance.

(e) Ifthe Board extends the temporary license, no further fee shall
be required.

Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-288.01.

SUBCHAPTER 37G - RENEWAL, INACTIVE,
RESTORATION, REINSTATEMENT, DUPLICATE AND
VERIFICATION OF LICENSE

SECTION .0100 - RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

21 NCAC 37G .0102 RENEWAL FEE
Upon making application for renewal, a licensee shall pay a

biennial licensure fee of five—hundreddoHars($500.00). six
hundred dollars ($600.00).

Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-286.

SECTION .0400 —- DUPLICATE HCSENSES AND
VERIFICATION OF LICENSE

21 NCAC 37G .0402 VERIFICATION OF LICENSE
The Board shall verify a license upon receipt of a written request
from the licensee specifying the jurisdiction to which it is to be
sent including contact information and the non-refundable fee of
fifty dollars ($50.00).

Authority G.S. 90-280(d).

EE IR S S S I S I I I S

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Real Estate Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 21
NCAC 58H .0415 and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 58H
.0101, .0204, .0205, .0207, .0209 and .0401.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
WWW.Ncrec.gov

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: October 21, 2020

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: In an abundance of caution and to address protective
measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, this public
hearing will be held by webinar only.
https://ncrec.zoom.us/j/99151235905?pwd=emxKeF15ZFV2ckZ
Mb2tsQTFScHIIQT09

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 58H .0101 — DEFINITIONS

Amend this Rule to define and clarify terms within Subchapter
58H.

21 NCAC 58H .0204 - POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
DISCLOSURE

Amend this Rule to require an education provider’s Policies and
Procedures Disclosure include a list of all course and reference
materials, course completion requirements, and if an education
provider is offering distance education, synchronous distance
learning, or blended learning courses, to also include a list of
hardware and software for the course, the contact information for
technical support, and a description of how the end-of-course
examination shall be administered to the student.

21 NCAC 58H .0205 - COURSE MATERIALS

Amend this Rule to require courses utilize course materials and
that education providers must verify each student has the course
materials no later than the first class session.
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21 NCAC 58H .0207 -
CERTIFICATES AND REPORTS
Amend this Rule to clarify that Prelicensing and Postlicensing
courses offered as synchronous distance learning and in-person
courses must attend at least 80% of scheduled hours and distance
education courses must complete all units and assessments before
issuance of a course completion certificate. Amend this Rule to
also clarify that an education provider must provide a course
completion certificate within 180 days of enrollment to students
successfully completing a Postlicensing course and clarify that no
per student fee shall be charged to public education providers.
21 NCAC 58H .0209 — EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL OF
EDUCATION PROVIDER CERTIFICATION

Amend this Rule to require all education providers certify that the
course meets the requirements of Subchapter 58H on the
certification renewal application. Amend this Rule to also require
education providers to modify approved courses to comply with
Subchapter 58H on or before July 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 58H .0401 — APPROVAL OF A REAL ESTATE
COURSE

Amend this Rule to require education providers applying for
original course approval to submit a description of the
mechanism for verifying course materials and a copy of the course
guide. Amend this Rule to require education providers applying
for distance education courses to also submit a timed outline with
the original course approval application. Amend this Rule to
require education providers applying for synchronous distance
learning to also submit a description of the mechanism for
verifying course materials, a list of necessary hardware and
software, and the technical support contact information with the
original course approval application. Amend this Rule to deny
course approval if the course cannot be reviewed or does not meet
the minimum course hours. Amend this Rule to require education
providers applying for a currently approved course to submit a
description of the mechanism for verifying course materials, end-
of-course examination proctoring, and method for verification of
student attendance, a list of necessary hardware and software,
and the technical support contact information with the original
course approval application.

21 NCAC 58H .0415 — DISTANCE EDUCATION COURSES
Adopt this Rule to set distance education course requirements.

COURSE COMPLETION

Comments may be submitted to: Melissa A. Vuotto, PO Box
17100, Raleigh, NC 27619; email Public.Comment@ncrec.gov

Comment period ends: November 16, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 58H - REAL ESTATE EDUCATION
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
21 NCAC 58H .0101 DEFINITIONS

The following definitions apply throughout this Subchapter and
to all forms prescribed pursuant to this Chapter:

(€] "Assessment” means a quiz or evaluation that
tests a student's mastery of the learning
objective.

(2) "Blended learning™ means a any combination of

Distance—education—and distance education,
synchronous distance learning, and in-person
methods of instruction.
"Branch location” means any location in
addition to the principal address of an education
provider that offers Prelicensing or
Postlicensing Courses.
"Continuing Edueation” education” means a
continuing education elective or Update
Course.
"Distance education” means a method of
instruction accomplished through the use of
media whereby teacher and student are
separated by distance and time.
"End-of-course  examination” means an
examination administered at the conclusion of
a course that tests students' knowledge and
mastery of all course subjects mandated by the
Commission prescribed course syllabus.
"Instructional hour" means 50 minutes of
instruction and 10 minutes of break time.
"Instructor development program™ means
courses of instruction designed to assist real
estate instructors in the performance of
Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or GCentinubing
Education continuing education instructor
duties or in the development of teaching skills.
9 "Learning objective" means a brief statement of
what a student will be able to do after
completing a unit or course. A learning
objective shall be structured in accordance with
Bloom's Taxonomy.
£8)(10) "License Examination Performance Record"
means the percentage of an instructor's or
schools education provider's students who,

Q)

&34

6]

(5)(6)

6x(7)
(8)
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within 30 days of completing a Prelicensing
course pursuant to 21-NCAC-58H-0210(a); 21
NCAC 58H .0207(a), take and pass the license
examination, as defined in 21 NCAC 58A
.0402, on their first attempt.

{9)(11) "Postlicensing course™ means any one of the
courses comprising the 90 hour Postlicensing
education program pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(al)
and 21 NCAC 58A .1902.

{20)(12) "Prelicensing course" means a single course
consisting of at least 75 hours of instruction on
subjects prescribed by the Commission
pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(a).

{&1)(13) "Public education provider" means any
proprietary business or trade school licensed by
the State Board of Community Colleges under
G.S. 115D-90 or approved by the Board of
Governors of the University of North Carolina
that conducts approved real estate courses.

14 "Syllabus™ means a document that includes
each topic and subtopic addressed during the
course _and for each topic and subtopic
describes the scope and depth of coverage,
timing, and references to course materials, and

2 a statement that the education provider shall not
discriminate in its admissions policy or practice
against any person on the basis of age, sex, race,
color, national origin, familial status, handicap
status, or religion;

3 the education provider's most recent annual
License Examination Performance Record and
the Annual Summary Report data as published
by the Commission;

4 the all-inclusive tuition and fees for a each
particular course;

(5) a written course cancellation and refund policy;
and

(6) a list of all course and reference materials
required;

@ the course completion requirements pursuant to
Rule .0207 of this Section and 21 NCAC 58A
.1705; and

{6)(8) a signed certification acknowledging the

student's receipt of the Policies and Procedures
Disclosure prior to payment of any portion of
tuition or registration fee without the right to a
full refund.

(c) In addition to the information required in Paragraph (b) of this

also demonstrates opportunities for student

Rule and G.S. 93A-34(c)(5), an education provider offering

interactions throughout the course, such as

distance education, synchronous distance learning, or blended

discussion boards, chat areas, group activities,

learning courses shall include:

and quizzes.
£2)(15) "Synchronous  distance-learning™  distance

learning" means the instructor and students are
separated only by distance and not time,
allowing for real-time monitoring of student
participation.

{&3)(16) "Update Courses" mean means the General
Update Course and the Broker-in-Charge
Update Course.

an "Unit" means a segment of distance education
that is based upon a topic or subtopic in the
course syllabus that lasts no longer than one
hour.

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-32; 93A-33; 93A-38.5.

SECTION .0200 - REAL ESTATE EDUCATION
PROVIDERS

21 NCAC 58H .0204
DISCLOSURE

(@) An education provider shall publish to prospective students a
Policies and Procedures Disclosure.

(b) In addition to the information required by G.S. 93A-34(c)(5),
an education provider's Policies and Procedures Disclosure shall
include:

1) the name and address of the Commission, along
with a statement that any complaints
concerning the education provider or its
instructors should be directed to the
Commission;

POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

€8] a list of hardware and software or other
equipment necessary to offer and complete the
Course;

2) the contact information for technical support;
and

(3) a_description of how the end-of-course

examination shall be administered to the

student.

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34.

21 NCAC 58H .0205 COURSE MATERIALS

(a) Course-materialsshall All courses shall be required to have
course materials that cover current North Carolina real estate
related laws, rules, and practices. The nature and depth of subject
matter coverage shall be consistent with the competency and
instructional levels prescribed by the syllabus for the course for
which approval is sought.

(b) Postlicensing courses shall utilize the current edition of the
North Carolina Real Estate Manual. The North Carolina Real
Estate Manual may be purchased on the Commission's website in
electronic format for twenty five dollars ($25.00) per license year
and as a print publication for fifty dollars ($50.00).

(c) Education providers shall verify each student has the course
materials no later than the first class session.

Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34.

21 NCAC 58H .0207 COURSE COMPLETION
CERTIFICATES AND REPORTS

(a) For each Prelicensing course taught, an education provider
shall provide a course completion certificate within 180 days of
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enrollment that is signed by the education director to each student
that:

1) in synchronous distance learning and in-person
courses attends attend at least 80 percent of all
scheduled instructional hours; and or

(2) in distance education completes all units and

assessments; and
{2(3) obtains a grade of at least a 75 percent on the
end-of-course examination.
(b) For each Postlicensing course taught, an education provider
shall provide a course completion certificate within 180 days of

4 number of students who met all course
requirements pursuant to Paragraph (a) and (b)
of this Rule; and

(5) number of students who satisfied Subparagraph
Subparagraphs (a)(1) or (a)(2) and (b)(1) or
(b)(2) of this Rule but did not satisfy
Subparagraph a2 anrd-b}2)(a)(3) and (b)(3)
of this Rule.

(h) Education providers shall electronically submit the per
student fee prescribed by G.S. 93A-4(a2) and G.S. 93A-38.5(d).
No fee shall be required for public education providers or an

enrollment that is signed by the education director to each student
that:

1) in synchronous distance learning and in-person
courses attends attend at least ninety 90 percent
of all scheduled instructional hours; and or

(2) in distance education completes all units and
assessments; and

{2(3) obtains a grade of at least a 75 percent on the
end-of-course examination.

(c) The end-of-course examination shall be proctored and
students shall not use textbooks or other materials on the end-of-
course examination. End-of-course examinations administered in
a distance education, blended learning, or synchronous distance-
learning distance learning course shall include proctoring or other
security measures designed to verify the identity of the student
taking the examination and ensure that students are not using
textbooks or other materials on the end-of-course examination.
(d) For each Centinuing-Edueation continuing education course
taught, an education provider shall provide a course completion
certificate signed by the education director to each student that
meets the requirements of 21 NCAC 58A .1705.

(e) The course completion certificate shall identify the course,
date of completion, student, and instructor.

()  An education director shall submit a Course Completion
Report within seven calendar days of any student completing any
real estate course pursuant to the education provider's Policies and
Procedures Disclosure. The Course Completion Report shall
include:

(1) each student's legal name;

(2) each student's email address and telephone
number;

3) each student's unique identification number, if
reporting a Prelicensing course;

(@) each student's real estate broker license number,
if applicable;

(5) the course completion date;

(6) the education provider's name and number;

(7) the course number; and

(8) the instructor's name and number;

(g) For each Prelicensing or Postlicensing course taught, an
education director shall submit a Summary Report no later than
the fifth day of the month. The Summary Report shall contain the
previous month's data. The Summary Report shall include the:

1) name of the instructor(s);
2 title of course(s);
3) number of students who paid tuition in each

course and did not receive a refund;

agency of federal, state, or local government.

Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34.

21 NCAC 58H .0209 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL
OF EDUCATION PROVIDER CERTIFICATION
(@ All education provider and public education provider
certifications shall expire annually on June 30 following
certification.
(b) An education provider or public education provider seeking
renewal of its certification shall submit an electronic application
which shall include the following information:
(8] the education provider or public education

provider's:

(A) name;

(B) number;

© mailing address;

(D) telephone number; and

(E) website address, if applicable; and

2) the education director's name and signature;
©) all approved real estate courses offered;
4) a copy of the education provider's Policies and

Procedures Disclosure, if applicable; and
5) proof of bond as required in G.S. 93A-36, if
apphicable: applicable; and
(6) a_certification that the course meets the

requirements of this Subchapter.
(c) Public education providers shall not be charged any fees to
renew the education provider certification or course renewal.
(d) The education provider certification renewal fee shall be one
hundred dollars ($100.00) for each education provider location.
(e) The renewal fee for an education provider to offer a
Prelicensing or Postlicensing course at any of its locations during
the licensed period shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per
Prelicensing or Postlicensing course.
(f) The renewal fee for an education provider to renew an
approved continuing education elective course shall be fifty
dollars ($50.00) per elective course.
(9) The materials fee for an education provider to renew an
Update course approval shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00).
(h) If an education provider or public education provider
certification has expired, the education provider shall submit an
application for original certification pursuant to Rule .0202 of this
Subchapter.

(i) Commission approval of all Centinuing-Education continuing
education courses shall expire on June 30. In order to obtain

approval for an expired Centinding—Edueation continuing
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education course, an education provider shall submit an original
application pursuant to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter.

(j) If an education provider transfers an aggregate of 50 percent
or more of the ownership interest, the education provider shall
notify the Commission in writing within 10 days of the transfer.
(k) On or before July 1, 2021, all education providers shall
modify approved courses to comply with this Subchapter.

Authority G.S. 93A-3(f); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34(b); 93A-35(b);
93A-36; 93A-38.5(d).

SECTION .0400 - REAL ESTATE COURSES

21 NCAC 58H .0401 APPROVAL OF A REAL
ESTATE EDUCATION COURSE
(a) Prior to obtaining the Commission's written approval of a real
estate education course, education providers shall not offer,
advertise, or otherwise represent that any real estate education
course is, or may be, approved for credit in North Carolina.
(b) An education provider seeking original approval of a
proposed course shall complete an application on a form available
on the Commission's website that requires the applicant to set
forth-the: forth:

@ the title of the proposed course;

5) :
{d)(c) An applicant seeking approval to offer a distance

education course shall submit an application for original approval
pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule as well as:

@ a full copy of the course on the medium to be

utilized for instruction—except-for-synchronous

distance-learning; instruction;
2 a description of the method by which the

education provider will verify and record
student attendance;

?3) a list of hardware and software or other
equipment necessary to both offer and complete
the course;

(@) the contact information for the technical
support service for the course;

&) a-copy—of-the-student-orientation-and-course

ol inf ion-and
{6)}(5) all hardware and software necessary to review
the submitted course at the expense of the

licant : I .

learning; applicant; and
(6) an outline demonstrating the course meets the
minimum course hours measured by a reading
speed of 225 words per minute and the actual

duration of audio and video files.
(d) An applicant seeking approval to offer a synchronous distance

)] the education provider's legal name, address,
and telephone number;

3) the education director's legal name; name and
signature;

4) the education provider's number;

(5) the credit hours awarded for completing the
course;

(6) the subject matter of the course;

@) the identity of the course owner;

(8) the written permission of the course owner, if
other than the applicant;

9 the identity of prospective instructors;

(10) a description of the method by which the
education provider will proctor the end-of-
course examination for Prelicensing and
Postlicensing courses; and

&h -
1) a description of the mechanism used for

learning course shall submit an application for original approval
pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule as well as:

Q) a_ description of the method by which the
education provider will verify and record
student attendance;

(2) a list of hardware and software or other
equipment necessary to both offer and complete
the course; and

(3) the contact information for the technical
support service for the course.

(e) _An applicant seeking approval to offer a blended learning
course shall submit an application for original approval pursuant
to Paragraph (b) of this Rule as well as the additional information
pursuant to Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, as applicable, for
each instructional method.

verification of possession of required course

(f)_An application pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall not

materials; and
a2 a copy of the course guide, which shall include:
course objectives;
learning objectives for each topic;

(A)
(B)
© a course syllabus;
(D)
(E)

instructional methods and aids to be

employed; and
all _course materials that will be

prowded to students

be approved by the Commission if:
(€] the course cannot be reviewed in its entirety; or
(2) the course does not meet the minimum course
hours pursuant to G.S. 93A-4 and 21 NCAC
58A .1702 measured by a reading speed of 225
words per minute and the actual duration of
audio and video files.
{e)(q) An education provider seeking approval to offer an-already
a currently approved course shall complete an application on a
form available on the Commission's website that requires the
applicant to set forth the:
@ title of the course;

2 applicant's legal name, address, and telephone
number;

3 applicant's education director's legal name;

@) applicant's education provider number;
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(5) identity of the course owner; 4)(1) An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar
(6) written permission of the course owner, if other ($100.00) fee per elective course. No fee shall be required for
than the applicant; public education providers or an agency of federal, state, or local
(7 identity of prospective instructors—if  government.
applicable; instructors;
(8) certification that the originally approved course  Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 93A-38.5.
will not be altered; and
9 a description of the mechanism used for 21 NCAC 58H .0415 DISTANCE EDUCATION
verification of possession of required course COURSES
materials; (a) At the beginning of a course, distance education courses shall
(10) a_description of the method by which the include an orientation that:
education provider will proctor the end-of- Q) explains the course syllabus;
course examination for Prelicensing and 2) identifies all required materials and resources,
Postlicensing courses; if any;
1) a description of the method by which the 3) states the maximum time a student is allowed to
education provider will verify and record complete the course; and
student attendance; “4) instructs students on how to navigate within the
{9)(12) education director's sighature- signature; and course.
(13) for synchronous distance learning courses: (b) Distance education courses shall include a navigation menu

(A) a list of hardware and software or  within the course platform that allows students to access the:
other equipment necessary to both (€] instructor's name and contact information;
offer and complete the course; and (2) course syllabus and schedule;

(B) the contact information for the (3) course materials, if any;
technical support service for the 4) Policies and Procedures Disclosure pursuant to
course. Rule .0204 of this Section; and

B (h) An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar (5) contact information for the course's technical

($100.00) fee for each application submitted pursuant to
Paragraph {e}(q) of this Rule for any continuing education course.
The application shall be deemed approved ten business days after
the Commission has received the application and fee, unless the
Commission notifies the applicant otherwise.

{g)(i) An education provider shall submit a forty dollar ($40.00)
fee per Prelicensing or Postlicensing course offered at any of its
branch locations. No fee shall be required for public education
providers or an agency of federal, state, or local government.

support.
(c) Distance education courses shall be divided into units and

students shall complete an assessment for each unit prior to
beginning the subsequent unit.

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 93A-38.5.
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the Rules Review Commission by the 270" day.

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements.

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the
Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative
Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270" day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-21.1

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Rule-making Agency: Manufactured Housing Board
Rule Citation: 11 NCAC 08 .0913
Effective Date: August 28, 2020

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: August 20,
2020

Reason for Action: A serious and unforeseen threat to the public
health, safety or welfare. On March 10, 2020, the Governor of
North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a
state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective
measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The COVID-
19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or
death. The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans,
spreads easily from person to person. Once an outbreak of the
COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The World Health
Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention,
and the United States Department of Health and Human Services
have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.
On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC
Department of Health and Human Services recommended high
risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for
distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use
teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should
cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online
streaming services.

CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES
DIVISION

SECTION .0900 - MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD

11 NCAC 08.0913 EXTENSION OF TEMPORARY
LICENSE FOR MANUFACTURED HOUSING
SALESPERSON

(a) A temporary manufactured housing salesperson's license

issued by the North Carolina Manufactured Housing Board that

would otherwise expire 90 days after issuance pursuant to 11

NCAC 08 .0911(b) shall not expire until 90 days after the

resumption of the Residential Housing Specialist class conducted

by the North Carolina Manufactured and Modular Homebuilders

Association.  The applicant shall take the Manufactured

Salesperson's License exam in accordance with 11 NCAC 08

.0911(a) within the 90-day period after the resumption of the

class.
(b) In the event an applicant whose temporary license has been

extended by this Rule fails to attain a passing grade of 70 percent

of a possible 100 percent within the 90-day period in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule, the temporary salesperson's license shall expire.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S.
143.10(b)(4); 143-143.11;
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 20, 2020;
Emergency Adoption Expired June 30, 2020;
Temporary Adoption Eff. August 28, 2020.

143-143.10(b)(1);  143-

EE R S S S I

Rule-making Agency: Industrial Commission
Rule Citation: 11 NCAC 23G .0104
Effective Date: August 28, 2020

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: August 20,
2020

Reason for Action: Adhering to the notice and hearing
requirements of G.S. 150B-21.2 would be contrary to the public
interest because doing so would result in a significant period of
time during which (1) participants in workers' compensation
mediations would be at risk for contracting and spreading
COVID-19; and (2) Rule 11 NCAC 23G .0104 would not be
"substantially similar” to Rule 4 of the Rules for Mediated
Settlement Conferences and Other Settlement Procedures in
Superior Court Civil Actions, as mandated by G.S. 97-80(c)
(which requires the Industrial Commission's mediation rules to be
"substantially similar" to the mediation rules approved by the
Supreme Court for use in the Superior Court division). Immediate
adoption of the rule (which changes the presumptive physical in-
person attendance requirement to a presumptive remote
attendance requirement whenever the mediation rules approved
by the Supreme Court for use in the Superior Court division do
so0) is required by a serious and unforeseen threat to the public
health, safety, or welfare and is required by a recent court order,
namely the June 3, 2020 Supreme Court Order Amending the
Rules for Mediated Settlement Conferences and Other Settlement
Procedures in Superior Court Civil Actions.

CHAPTER 23 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
SUBCHAPTER 23G — NORTH CAROLINA INDUSTRIAL
COMMISSION RULES FOR MEDIATED SETTLEMENT

AND NEUTRAL EVALUATION CONFERENCES

SECTION .0100 - MEDIATION AND SETTLEMENT
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11 NCAC 23G .0104 DUTIES OF PARTIES,
REPRESENTATIVES, AND ATTORNEYS

(@) Attendance. The following persons shall physicatly attend the
mediated settlement conference:

(1) all individual parties;

(2) in a workers' compensation case, a
representative of the employer at the time of
injury if:

(A) the employer, instead of or in addition
to the insurance company or

administrator, has decision-making
authority with respect to settlement;

(B) the employer is offering the claimant
employment and the suitability of that
employment is in issue;

© the employer and the claimant have
agreed to simultaneously mediate non-
compensation issues arising from the
injury; or

(D) the Commission orders the employer
representative to attend the conference
if the representative's physical
attendance is necessary to resolve
matters in dispute in the subject action;

3 an officer, employee or agent of any party that
is not a natural person or a governmental entity
who is not such party's outside counsel and who
has the authority to decide on behalf of such
party whether and on what terms to settle the
action;

4) in a workers' compensation case, an employee
or agent of any party that is a governmental
entity who is not such party's outside counsel or
Attorney General's counsel responsible for the
case and who has the authority to decide on
behalf of such party and on what terms to settle
the action.

(5) when the governing law prescribes that the
terms of a proposed settlement may be
approved only by a Board, an employee or
agent who is not such party's outside counsel or
Attorney General's counsel responsible for the
case and who has the authority to negotiate on
behalf of and to make a recommendation to the
Board. Because G.S. 143-295 provides the
Attorney General with settlement authority on
behalf of governmental entities and agencies for
state tort claims, an employee or agent of the
named governmental entity or agency is not
required to attend the mediated settlement
conference; the Attorney General shall attempt
to make an employee or agent of the named
governmental entity or agency in a state tort
claim available via telecommunication, and
mediation shall not be delayed due to the
absence or unavailability of the employee or
agent of the named governmental entity or
agency.

(6) The counsels of record; provided, that
appearance by counsel does not dispense with
or waive the required attendance of the parties
listed in Subparagraphs (1) through (4);

@) a representative of each defendant's primary
workers' compensation or liability insurance
carrier or self-insured that may be obligated to
pay all or part of any claim presented in the
action. Each carrier or self-insured shall be
represented at the conference by an officer,
employee or agent who is not such party's
outside counsel and who has the authority to
decide on behalf of the carrier or self-insured
whether and on what terms to settle the action,
or who has been authorized to negotiate on
behalf of such carrier or self-insured and can
communicate during the conference with
persons who have such decision making
authority; and

8) by order of the Commission, other
representatives of parties, employers or
carriers, who may be obligated to pay all or part
of any claim presented in the action and who are
not required to attend the conference pursuant
to Subparagraphs (1) through (6) of this Rule, if
the Commission determines that the
representative's attendance is necessary for
purposes of resolving the matters in dispute in
the subject action. Any employer or carrier who
may be obligated to pay all or part of any claim
presented in the action and who is not required
to physically attend the mediated settlement
conference pursuant to Subparagraphs (1)
through (6) of this Rule or by Commission
orders, may attend the conference if the
employer or carrier elects to attend. If, during
the conference, the mediator determines that the
physical attendance of one or more additional
persons is necessary to resolve the matters in
dispute in the subject action, the mediator may
recess the conference and reconvene the
conference at a later date and time to allow the
additional person or persons to physicaly
attend.

(b) Any party or person required to attend a mediated settlement
conference shall physically attend the conference until an
agreement is reduced to writing and signed as provided in
Paragraph (e) of this Rule, or until an impasse has been declared.

conference: "Attendance” shall mean in-person attendance
whenever the mediation rules approved by the North Carolina
Supreme Court that are in effect at the time of the mediation for
use in the Superior Court division require in -person attendance.
During any time that attendance means in-person attendance, any
party or person, including the mediator, may have the in-person
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attendance requirement excused or modified by agreement of all
parties and persons, including the mediator, required to attend the
conference, or by order of the Commission in the interests of
justice upon motion of a party and notice to all parties and
persons, including the mediator, required to attend the conference.
"Attendance" shall mean attendance using remote technology
whenever the mediation rules approved by the North Carolina
Supreme Court that are in effect at the time of the mediation for
use in the Superior Court division require attendance through the
use of remote technology. During any time that attendance means
attendance through the use of remote technology, any party or
person, including the mediator, may have the remote technology
attendance requirement excused or modified by agreement of all
parties and persons, including the mediator, required to attend the
conference, or by order of the Commission in the interests of
justice upon motion of a party and notice to all parties and
persons, including the mediator, required to attend the conference.
All parties and persons, including the mediator, shall comply with
all public health and safety requirements set forth in the mediation
rules approved by the North Carolina Supreme Court that are in
effect at the time of the mediation for use in the Superior Court
division.

(c) Inappropriate cases the Commission or the mediator, with the
consent of the parties, may allow a party or insurance carrier
representative who is required to physically attend a mediated
settlement conference in person under this Rule to attend the
conference by telephone, conference call, speaker telephone or
videoconferencing; provided that, the party or representative so
attending shall bear all costs of such telephone calls or
videoconferencing, the mediator may communicate directly with
the insurance representative with regard to matters discussed in
mediation, and the mediator may set a subsequent mediated
settlement conference at which all parties and representatives
shall physically attend the mediated settlement conference in
person, subject to the requirements and provisions of Paragraph
(b) of this Rule. The failure to properly appear by telephone or
videoconferencing in accordance with this Paragraph shall subject
the responsible party(ies) or representative(s) to sanctions
pursuant to Rule .0105 of this Subchapter.

(d) Notice of Mediation Order. Within seven days after the receipt
of an order for a mediated settlement conference, the carrier or
self-insured named in the order shall provide a copy of the order
to the employer and all other carriers who may be obligated to pay
all or part of any claim presented in the workers' compensation
case or any related third-party tortfeasor claims, and shall provide
the mediator and the other parties in the action with the name,
address and telephone number of all such carriers.

(e) Finalizing Agreement. If an agreement is reached in the
mediated settlement conference, the parties shall reduce the
agreement to writing, specifying all terms of the agreement that
bear on the resolution of the dispute before the Commission, and
shall sign the agreement along with their counsel. The parties may
use IC Form MSC8, Mediated Settlement Agreement, or MSC9,
Mediated Settlement Agreement — Alternative Form, for this
purpose. Execution by counsel of a mediated settlement
agreement for an employer or carrier who does not physically
attend the mediated settlement conference shall be deemed to be
in compliance with this Rule and 11 NCAC 23A .0502. By
stipulation of the parties and at the parties' expense, the agreement

may be electronically or stenographically recorded. All
agreements for payment of compensation shall be submitted for
Commission approval in accordance with 11 NCAC 23A .0501
and .0502.

(f) Payment of Mediator's Fee. The mediator's fee shall be paid at
the conclusion of the mediated settlement conference, unless
otherwise provided by Rule .0107 of this Subchapter, or by
agreement with the mediator.

(9) Related Cases. Upon application by any party or person and
upon notice to all parties, the Commission may, in the interests of
justice, order an attorney of record, party or representative of an
insurance carrier who may be liable for all or any part of a claim
pending in a Commission case to attend a mediated settlement
conference that may be convened in another pending case,
regardless of the forum in which the other case may be pending,
provided that all parties in the other pending case consent to the
attendance ordered pursuant to this Paragraph. Any disputed
issues concerning such an order shall be addressed to the
Commission's Dispute Resolution Coordinator. Unless otherwise
ordered, any attorney, party or carrier representative who attends
a mediated settlement conference pursuant to this Paragraph shall
not be required to pay any of the mediation fees or costs related
to that conference. Requests that a party, attorney of record, or
insurance carrier representative in a related case attend a mediated
settlement conference in a Commission case shall be addressed to
the court or agency in which the related case is pending, provided
that all parties in the Commission case consent to the requested
attendance.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 97-80(a),(c); 143-295; 143-296;
143-300; Rule 4 of Rules for Mediated Settlement Conferences
and Other Settlement Procedures in Superior Court Civil Actions;
Eff. January 16, 1996;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1998;

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0616;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; June 1, 2000;
Recodified from 04 NCAC 10G .0104 Eff. June 1, 2018;
Emergency Amendment Eff. June 16, 2020;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 28, 2020.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Rule-making Agency: Alarm Systems Licensing Board
Rule Citation: 14B NCAC 17 .0201
Effective Date: August 28, 2020

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: August 20,
2020

Reason for Action: On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North
Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of
emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective
measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The COVID-
19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or
death. The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans,
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spreads easily from person to person. Once an outbreak of the
COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The World Health
Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention,
and the United States Department of Health and Humans Services
have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.
On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC
Department of Health and Humans Services recommended high
risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for
distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use
teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should
cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online
streaming services. On March 14, 2020, the Governor issued
Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass gatherings, closed
schools, and urged social distancing. On May 20, 2020, the
Governor issued Executive Order No. 141 which relaxed some
restrictions, but citizens were still dissuaded from travel and
"social distancing™ still encouraged. These various Orders, as
well as similar orders in other states, have limited travel.

CHAPTER 17 - ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD
SECTION .0200 — PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES

14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE
(a) Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application
on the website provided by the Board. When this

online application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by:

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a
Live Scan or similar system approved by the
State Bureau of Investigation or one set of
classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.1. fingerprint
card provided by the Board and mailed
separately to the Board's office;

2 one head and shoulders digital photograph of
the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality
for identification, taken within six months prior
to the online submission, and uploaded with the
application submission;

3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal
history records search by the reporting service
designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-
2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has
resided within the preceeding 60 months; and

(@) the applicant's application fee, along with a four
dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the
third-party vendor and credit card transaction
fee charged by the applicant's credit card
provider and collected online.

(b) Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school
graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other
equivalent documentation.

(c) Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either
a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a
Board representative designated by the Director prior to being
issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S.
74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the
personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the
Board stating that the applicant has reviewed the information with
the Board's representative and that the applicant understands G.S.

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter. During a national
or State declared state of emergency that restricts or prohibits
travel, the personal meeting requirement may be waived if
requested by the applicant in lieu of alternative means of
(d) Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an
online application on the website provided by the Board. This
online application shall be accompanied by the branch office
application fee.

History Note:
74D-7; 74D-8;
Temporary Rule Eff. January 9, 1984, for a period of 120 days to
expire on May 7, 1984;

Eff. May 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; February 1, 2012; January 1,
2007; September 1, 2006; March 1, 1993; July 1, 1987; January
1, 1986;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0201 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019;

Emergency Amendment Eff. June 9, 2020;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 28, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-5;

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Rule-making Agency: Wildlife Resources Commission
Rule Citation: 15A NCAC 10B .0202
Effective Date: September 1, 2020

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: August 20,
2020

Reason for Action: The WRC has statutory authority (G.S.
150B-21.1(a)(7)) to establish hunting seasons. Due to the
convention for how seasons of take are established in rule, this
year when November 1 falls on a Sunday, the first segment of the
bear season in Camden, Chowan, and Pasquotank counties
begins a week and one day earlier than intended. Allowing this
would be counter to bear management objectives and detrimental
to the bear population, a public resource of the people of North
Carolina.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING
SECTION .0200 - HUNTING

15A NCAC 10B .0202 BEAR
(a) Open Seasons for hunting bear shall be from the:
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(b) Restrictions

(1)

@)

)

(4)

()

(6)

(7)

(8)

(1)

()

Monday on or nearest October 15 through the
Saturday before Thanksgiving and the third
Monday after Thanksgiving through January 1
in and west of Surry, Wilkes, Caldwell, Burke,
and Cleveland counties;

Second Monday in November through January
1 in Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus,
Cumberland, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow,
Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson
counties;

Second Saturday in November through the
second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday
after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday
after Thanksgiving in Beaufort, Bertie, Craven,
Hertford, Jones, Martin, and Washington
counties;

Second Saturday in November through the third
Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday after
Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after
Thanksgiving in Dare, Hyde, and Tyrrell
counties;

Second Saturday in November through the
second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday
after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday
after Thanksgiving in Currituck, Gates, and
Perquimans counties;

Second Sunday in November through the
following Sunday Sunday, when November 1
falls on a Sunday the season shall be from the
third Sunday in November through the
following Sunday, and the third Saturday after
Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after
Thanksgiving in  Camden, Chowan, and
Pasquotank counties;

Third Saturday in November though the fifth
Sunday thereafter in Edgecombe, Greene,
Halifax, Lenoir, Nash, Northampton, Pitt,
Wayne, and Wilson counties; and

Concurrent with the open season for all lawful
weapons for hunting deer as specified in 15A
NCAC 10B .0203(a)(1) in Alamance,
Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell,
Catawba, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Durham,
Franklin, Forsyth, Gaston, Granville, Guilford,
Harnett, Hoke, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln,
Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Orange,
Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham,
Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Union,
Vance, Wake, Warren, and Yadkin counties.

For purposes of this Paragraph, "bait" means
any natural, unprocessed food product that is a
grain, fruit, nut, vegetable, or other material
harvested from a plant crop that is not modified
from its raw components.
Bears shall not be taken with the use or aid of:
(A) any processed food product as defined
in G.S. 113-294(r), any animal, animal
part or product, salt, salt lick, honey,

@)

(4)

©®)
(6)

sugar, sugar-based material, syrups,
candy, pastry, gum, candy block, oils,
spices, peanut butter, or grease;

(B) any extracts of substances identified in
Part (A) of this Subparagraph;
© any  substances  modified by

substances identified in Part (A) of this
Subparagraph, including any extracts
of those substances; or

any bear bait attractant, including
sprays, aerosols, scent balls, and scent
powders.

Bears may be taken with the aid of bait from the
Monday on or nearest October 15 to the
Saturday before Thanksgiving in the counties in
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule.

Bears may be taken with the aid of bait during
the entire open season in the counties identified
in Subparagraphs (a)(2) through (a)(6) of this
Rule.

Bears shall not be taken while in the act of
consuming bait.

Hunters shall not take bears using dogs in the
following counties: Alamance south of
Interstate 85, Anson west of N.C. Hwy 742,
Cabarrus, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Franklin,
Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Lee, Lincoln,
Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange south of
Interstate 85, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan,
Stanly, Union, and Wake south of N.C. Hwy
98. In all other counties and parts of counties,
hunters may take bears using dogs and may
release dogs in the vicinity of bait.

(D)

(c) No Open Season. It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted
bear sanctuaries except when authorized by permit issued by the
Commission. See 15A NCAC 10D .0106 for posted bear

sanctuaries.

(d) The daily bag limit for bear is one, the possession limit is one,
and the season limit is one.

History Note:

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2;

113-291.7; 113-305;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; September 1, 1995; July 1, 1995; July
1, 1994; April 14, 1992;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002;

Amendment Eff. August 1, 2002;

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003;

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. December 27, 2003;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2012;
August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1,
2006; June 1, 2005;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 31, 2016;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 2019;

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2020.
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TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 26 - BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS
Rule-making Agency: Board of Landscape Architects

Rule Citation: 21 NCAC 26 .0309

Effective Date: August 28, 2020

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: August 20,
2020

Reason for Action: On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North
Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of
emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective
measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The COVID-
19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or
death. The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans,
spreads easily from person to person. Once an outbreak of the
COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The World Health
Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention,
and the United States Department of Health and Human Services
have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.
On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC
Department of Health and Human Services recommended high
risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for
distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use
teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should
cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online
streaming services. On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North
Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass
gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing. On April
23, 2020 the Governor extended the effective date on these
various Executive Orders through at least May 8, 2020. This rule
amendment will extend the continuing education deadline for
license renewal since most course offerings would not be in
compliance with the Governor's Executive Orders.

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION AND LICENSING
PROCEDURES

21 NCAC 26 .0309
OF TIME
(a) A registrant shall be exempt from the continuing education
requirements for any of the following reasons:

1) New registrants by way of examination or

comity for the current registration year.

) A licensee serving on temporary active duty in
the armed forces of the United States for a
period of time exceeding 90 consecutive days
in a year or as provided by G.S. 93B-15(b),
whichever is greater.
A licensee experiencing physical disability or
ilness if supporting documentation is approved
by the Board. Such documentation shall be in
the form of a sworn statement by the registrant,
a statement from a physician, or medical
records which show that the disability or illness,
prevented registrant's participation in a course
that the registrant had enrolled, or prevented
registrant's participation in the continuing
education program for at least 90 consecutive
days in a year.

4) A licensee with emeritus status from the Board.
(b) In order to return to active practice, registrants who have
received an exemption shall complete continuing education
requirements for each exempted year, not to exceed two years.
(c) During a national or State declared state of emergency that
restricts or prohibits a licensee from obtaining by active
participation in Board approved continuing education, the Board
may extend the compliance period if requested by the licensee up
to 90 days beyond the effective period of the state of emergency.
Any license renewed in reliance on this exemption shall be issued
conditionally and shall automatically expire on September 30,
2020 or on the 90" day, whichever is later, if compliance is not
documented in the licensee's secure online portal by that date.

EXEMPTIONS AND EXTENSION

@)

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5; 93B-15;
Eff. March 1, 2015;

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 28, 2020.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission August 20, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific instructions and
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address the Commission
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting. Please refer to
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeff Hyde (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair)
Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) Andrew P. Atkins
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Paul Powell
Margaret Currin Garth Dunklin
W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Randy Overton

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939
Ashley Snyder 984-236-1941
Karlene Turrentine 984-236-1948

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
September 17, 2020 October 15, 2020
November 19, 2020  December 17, 2020

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
MINUTES
August 20, 2020

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, August 20, 2020 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting to ensure compliance with
Executive orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting was conducted in accordance
with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.

Commissioners Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Tommy Tucker were present in the Commission room, and Commissioners
present via teleconference were Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth
Dunklin, and Paul Powell.

Staff members present were Commission Counsel Ashley Snyder and Amanda Reeder; and Alex Burgos. Commission
Counsel Amber Cronk May and Karlene Turrentine were present via WebEx.

The meeting was called to order at 9:04 a.m. with Chairman Hyde presiding.
Chairman Hyde read into the record the letter of appreciation to former Commissioner Brian LiVecchi.

Chairman Hyde read into the record the statement of economic interest for Randy Overton, which stated there was no actual
conflict of interest or likelihood of conflict of interest.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the July 16, 2020 meeting. There
were none and the minutes were approved as distributed.
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Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

FOLLOW UP MATTERS

Pesticide Board

02 NCAC 09L .0101, .0515, and .0529 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes
0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the
negative: None.

Crime Victims Compensation Commission

14B NCAC 09 .0301, .0302, and .0305 — Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes
0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the
negative: None.

14B NCAC 09 .0303 and .0304 - The agency is addressing the objections from the June meeting. No action was required
by the Commission.

Private Protective Services Board
14B NCAC 16 .1001, .1002, .1003, .1207, .1304, and .1404 - The agency is addressing the objections from the June
meeting. No action was required by the Commission.

State Board of Education
16 NCAC 06B .0111, .0112, .0113, and .0114 - The agency is addressing the technical change requests from the July
meeting. No action was required by the Commission.

State Board of Education

16 NCAC 06C .0334, .0335, .0336, .0337, .0338, .0339, .0340, .0341, .0342, .0343, .0344, .0345, .0346, .0347, .0348,
.0349, .0350, .0351., .0352, .0353, .0354, .0355, .0356, .0357, .0358, .0359, .0360, .0361, .0362, .0363, .0364, .0365, .0366,
.0367, .0368, .0369, .0370, .0371. .0372, .0373, .0374, .0375, .0376, .0377, .0378, .0379, .0380, .0381, .0382, .0383, .0384,
.0385, .0386, .0387, .0388, .0389, .0390, .0391, .0392, .0393, .0394, .0395, .0396, .0397, and .0701 - The agency is
addressing the technical change requests from the July meeting. No action was required by the Commission.

State Board of Education
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission approved 16 NCAC 06E .0106 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Atkins,
Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06E .0204 and .0206 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as
follows: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06E .0204 for lack of clarity, necessity, and statutory authority. The Commission
objected for lack of clarity and necessity because the rule repeats or conflicts with the requirements of 16 NCAC 06E .0202.
The Commission objected to the rule for lack of statutory authority because the State Board did not cite authority to regulate
the athletics of charter schools absent a provision to do so in the school’s charter. Generally, charter schools are exempt
from statutes and rules applicable to local boards of education. G.S. 115C-218.10. The State Board’s authority to regulate
participation in athletics applies to “interscholastic athletic activities conducted by local boards of education.” As written, the
rule applies to all charter schools and therefore exceeds the agency’s statutory authority.

The Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06E .0206 for lack of necessity and clarity. The rule is unnecessary because it
repeats portions of 16 NCAC 06E .0203 and is unclear because it differs from portions of 16 NCAC 06E .0203.

16 NCAC 06E .0205 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. Pursuant to
S.L. 2019-154, Sec. 27, the emergency rule will expire and be removed from the Code.

16 NCAC 06D .0211, .0212, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0313; 06E .0107; 06G .0314, .0315, .0316, .0503, .0504,
.0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510, .0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515, .0516, .0517, .0518, .0519, .0520, .0521, .0522,
.0523, and .0524 - The agency is addressing the technical change requests from the July meeting. No action was required
by the Commission.
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State Board of Education
16 NCAC 06H .0113. .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117; 06K .0101, .0103, .0104, and .0105 - The agency is addressing the
technical change requests from the July meeting. No action was required by the Commission.

LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)

Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins,
Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02B
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins,
Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02D .0400, .0500, .0600
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the
affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02D .0900, .1400, .1700, .2600
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the
affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 13B
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the
affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

Licensing Board for General Contractors
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Atkins, Bryan, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 7. Voting in the negative: None.

Prior to the review of the rules from the Licensing Board for General Contractors, Commissioner Choi recused herself and
did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal representation to the
Board. Additionally, she is the rulemaking coordinator for the Board.

Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, and Powell — 7. Voting in the negative: None.

Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did
not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict.

Following the approval of the rules from the Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners, Commissioner Tucker joined the meeting.

Board of Dental Examiners
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Medical Board
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Bryan,
Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 8. Voting in the negative: None.

Prior to the review of the rule from the Medical Board, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did not participate in any
discussion or vote concerning the rule because of a conflict.

State Human Resources Commission
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins,
Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 9. Voting in the negative: None.
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LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES)

Department of Commerce/Division of Employment Security
04 NCAC 24G .0104 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission.

Manufactured Housing Board
11 NCAC 08 .0913 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in
the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Industrial Commission
11 NCAC 23G .0104 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Alarm Systems Licensing Board
14B NCAC 17 .0201 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Wildlife Resources Commission
15N NCAC 10B .0202 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting
in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Board of Landscape Architects
21 NCAC 26 .0309 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in
the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

EXISTING RULES REVIEW

Environmental Management Commission

15A NCAC 02E - Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of the rules no later than
May 31, 2023 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran,
Dunklin, Overton, Tucker, and Powell — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Social Services Commission

10A NCAC 70,71 — The request to reschedule the readoption date was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action
was required by the Commission.

Raj Premakumar, with the Department of Justice and representing the agency, addressed the Commission.

Penny Paris, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission.

Department of Insurance

11 NCAC 04 — The request to reschedule the readoption date was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was
required by the Commission.

John Hoomani, with the agency, addressed the Commission.

COMMISSION BUSINESS

The Chair reminded the Commissioners that in accordance with the RRC bylaws, the RRC will be holding its Elections of
Officers at the September meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 10:26 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, September 17, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.

Alexander Burgos, Paralegal

Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
Jeff Hyde, Chair
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Name

Paris Penny

Raj Premakumar
Rebecca Stevens
Sharnese Ransome
Drew Pledger
Adriene Weaver
Allen Hardison

Burt Jenkins

Carrie Pickett

Chris Ventaloro
Christine Ryan
Danice Henderson
Tom Ziko
Eskabonna Henderson
James Baker

John Hoomani

Kathy Shortt

Kjirsten Durand-Johnson
Loretta Peace Bunch
Natt Wilson

Joe Sadler

Gina Cammarano
Jennifer Everett

Rules Review Commission Meeting August 20, 2020

Held Via WebEx

Agency
Department of Health and Human Services
Department of Health and Human Services

NC Association of County Directors of Social Services
Social Services Commission

EMC

EMC

State Board of Education

Division of Air Quality

Division of Water Resources

SHRC

State Board of Education
Manufactured Housing Board
Department of Insurance
Department of Insurance
Department of Insurance
Department of Insurance

Industrial Commission
DEQ
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Mailing address: Street address:
6714 Mail Service Center 1711 New Hope Church Rd
Raleigh, NC 27699-6700 Raleigh, NC 27609-6285

August 20, 2020

Jennifer Everett, Rulemaking Coordinator
Environmental Management Commission
1601 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-1601

Re: Readoption pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g of 15A NCAC 02E

Dear Ms. Everett:

Attached to this letter are the rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review
and expiration of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21 3A(c)(2)g. After
consultation with your agency, this set of rules was discussed at the August 20, 2020
Rules Review Commission meeting regarding the scheduling of these rules for
readoption. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). the rules identified on the attached
printout shall be readopted by the agency no later than May 31, 2023.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s action, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Amber May
Commission Counsel

Administration Rules Division Judges and Clerk’s Office Rules Review Civil Rights
919/431-3000 919/431-3000 Assistants 919/431-3000 Commission Division
fax 919/431-3100 fax 919/431-3104 919/431-3000 fax: 919/431-3100 919/431-3000 919/431-3036
fax 919/431-3100 fax 919/431-3104 fax: 919/431-3103

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer
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RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
December 15, 2016
APO Review: January 03, 2017

Environmental Management Commission

Total: 77

RRC Determination: Necessary with substantive public interest

Rule

Determination
NCAC 02C 010 it ; v
NGAC g2C 0102 Nec ry-with-substantive-public-interest
b(;ﬂ( __();g( ‘()1(5 Ne. ",'\“iihs bs@an,i'ue plb‘G .FlteFQS—t
p CAC _();g( _“:“)Z Ne: "'\Jl \'A_q'(h s bs,(an{'ue p blg in_te;est
I\I(‘Af‘ﬂc 01408 Ne. 'y“"th st bs,tanm;ep blic-interest
I\IPAP_{W_’)_{_: 0409 Nec —ym:"h St bstang'_\lgp blic-interest
CAC.02C 0110 ; ; i 5
CAC 02C 0 ) z ; .
NCAC 02C 0112 Nex ry-with-substantive-public-interest
NCAC 02C 0113 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
CAC 02C 0114 ) . blic.i
CAC 02C 0116 . z ¢
CAC 02G g : -
SAC 02C o T . " lici
NCAC 02C 0119 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
SAC 02C ) . blici
CAC 02C 0202 ) : . g
CAC 02C 020 p ; ; lic
CAC 02C 0208 ; ; . blici
SAC 02C 0207 . . ) blic.i
- 02 0208 ) ) "
SAC 020 022 ; ; blici
__.—l: :__Ez; _—‘;222 l8585535 ‘tlsubs!; t"s Fub.; ts Est
SAC 02C 022 A . .
NCAC 02C 0226 Ne: ry-with-substantive-public-interest
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E

Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
Nec Fy-with-substantive-public-interest
15A NCAC02C 0230 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest

Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
NCAC 02C 0244 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
NCAC02C 0301 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
NCAC-02C—-0302 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
NCAC 0260303 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
NCAC 02C 0306 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
NCAC 0200307 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest
NCAC 02C 0308 Necessary-with-substantive-public-interest

%

§

|
|
|

i

REEREERREREE

15A NCAC 02E .0106 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0107 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0301 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0401 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0402 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0501 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0502 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0503 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0504 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0505 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0506 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0507 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0601 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0602 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0603 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0604 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0605 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0606 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0607 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0608 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0609 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0610 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0611 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0612 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0613 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0614 Necessary with substantive public interest
15A NCAC 02E .0615 Necessary with substantive public interest
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LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES
August 20, 2020 Meeting
MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD
Emergency Extension of Temporary License for Manufactured... 11 NCAC 08 .0913

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
Duties of Parties, Representatives, and Attorneys 11 NCAC 23G .0104

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD
Application for License 14B NCAC 17 .0201

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION
Bear 15A NCAC 10B .0202

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS, BOARD OF
Exemptions 21 NCAC 26 .0309

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES
August 20, 2020 Meeting
PESTICIDE BOARD

Duties of Pesticide Section 02 NCAC 09L .0101
Re-Examinations 02 NCAC 09L .0515
Soil and Growing Media Fumigation Examination Waver 02 NCAC 09L .0529

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF
Alcoholic Beverages and Controlled Substances 07 NCAC 13B .1003

CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION

Administration 14B NCAC 09 .0301
Processing and Payment of Claims 14B NCAC 09 .0302
Awards 14B NCAC 09 .0305

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION
French Broad River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0304

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF
Definition of Student Chronic Absenteeism Rate 16 NCAC 06E .0106

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR

Fees 21 NCAC 12A .0304
Renewal of License 21 NCAC 12A .0503
General 21 NCAC 12B .0101
Continuing Education Credit 21 NCAC 12B .0102
Continuing Education Records; Audit 21 NCAC 12B .0103
Extension of Time 21 NCAC 12B .0104
Inactive Status 21 NCAC 12B .0105
Application for Initial Approval of Continuing Education ... 21 NCAC 12B .0201
Expiration and Renewal of Provider Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0202
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Denial or Withdrawal of Provider Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0203
Attendance; Roster Reports and Certificates 21 NCAC 12B .0204
Course Scheduling 21 NCAC 12B .0205
Records and Board Review 21 NCAC 12B .0206
Course Requirements 21 NCAC 12B .0301
Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 21 NCAC 12B .0302
Mandatory Course 21 NCAC 12B .0303
Application Criteria for Initial Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0401
Renewal and Expiration of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0402
Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0403
COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Licensees and Students 21 NCAC 14H .0401
Disinfection Procedures 21 NCAC 14H .0403
First Aid 21 NCAC 14H .0404
Cosmetology and Apprentice Student Equipment 21 NCAC 14T .0401
Permanent Records, Forms and Documentation 21 NCAC 14T .0502
Cosmetology Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0602
Apprentice Cosmetology Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0603
Esthetics Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0604
Manicuring Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0605
Natural Hair Care Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0606
Field Trips 21 NCAC 14T .0615
DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Application for Reinstatement and Proof of Competency 21 NCAC 16B .1101
Board Approved Examinations 21 NCAC 16C .0303
Application for Reinstatement and Proof of Competency 21 NCAC 16C .0601
Certificate of Registration 21 NCAC 16F .0104
Application for Renewal 21 NCAC 16F .0105
Procedures Prohibited 21 NCAC 16G .0103
Approved Education and Training Programs 21 NCAC 16H .0104
Applications 21 NCAC 161 .0101
Disposition of Requests 21 NCAC 16N .0403
Applications 21 NCAC 16R .0101
Fee for Late Filing and Duplicate License 21 NCAC 16R .0102
License Void Upon Failure to Timely Renew 21 NCAC 16R .0108
MEDICAL BOARD

Approved Categories of CME 21 NCAC 32R .0102
STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION

Covered Employees 25 NCAC 01C .0802
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential.
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/
If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge

JULIAN MANN, I

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter
Don Overby

J. Randall May

David Sutton

Selina Malherbe

J. Randolph Ward
Stacey Bawtinhimer
Tenisha Jacobs

Year | Code | Number Date Petitioner Respondent ALJ
Decision
Filed
Published
20 ABC | 01878 7/30/2020 NC Alcoholic H and M Citgo LLC T/A Lawson Park | Overby
Beverage  Control Citgo
Commission
19 DHR | 02914 7/1/2020; Joseph L Pomranky NC Dept. of Health and Human | Jacobs
8/17/2020 Services
19 DHR | 03768 7/13/2020 Arimeta Portee NC Department of Health Service | Overby
(Sunrise Residential Regulation
Care)
20 DHR | 01298 712412020 Vine & Branch NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Homecare d/b/a Services
Vine and Branch
Homecare
20 DOJ | 00887 7/9/2020 Jessica Chambers NC Private Protective Services Board Byrne
20 DOJ | 00890 7/9/2020 Dionne Maurice NC Private Protective Services Board Byrne
Gretsinger
19 DST | 05261 7/30/2020 Kirk Justin Barefoot NC Retirement Systems Division Jacobs
Unpublished
20 ABC | 02025 7/30/2020 NC Alcoholic AMHART Corp T/A Samuel C Hart | May
Beverage  Control American Legion Post 14
Commission
17; CSE | 07718; 7/20/2020 Calvin Tyrone NC Department of Health and Human | Overby
19 05797 Norton Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
18 CSE | 06413 7/1/2020 Leonardo R Chavez NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
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19 CSE | 05802 7/10/2020 David F Janney NC Department of Health and Human | Lassiter
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 06028 7/17/2020 John W lvey NC Department of Health and Human | Culpepper
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 06056 7/16/2020 Devon J Calhoun NC Department of Health and Human | Culpepper
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Services
19 CSE | 06237 7/9/2020 Ephraim C Davis NC Department of Health and Human | May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Services
19 CSE | 06432 7/20/2020 Michael W Palm NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 06535 7/20/2020 Stanley N Simons NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 CSE | 06640 7/8/2020 Nathan A Durfee NC Department of Health and Human | Lassiter
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Services
19 CSE | 06656 7/21/2020 June Pressley NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 00406 7/14/2020 Loc T Duong NC Department of Health and Human | Bawtinhimer
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 CSE | 00534 7/14/2020 Rexie Andrade NC Department of Health and Human | Bawtinhimer
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
20 CSE | 00630 7/14/2020 Edward E Gordon Jr NC Department of Health and Human | Bawtinhimer
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Services
20 CSE | 01881 7/28/2020 Mateo Friend NC Department of Health and Human | May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 DCS | 01946 7/30/2020 Tamekia Williams NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
20 DHR | 00204 7/29/2020 Teresa Carlisle NC Division of Childcare Jacobs
20 DHR | 00954 7/29/2020 David M Brandmahl NC Department of Health and Human | Bawtinhimer
Services, Environmental Health Section
20 DHR | 01490 712412020 Mary Vernon DHHS Mann
20 DHR | 01552 7/10/2020 Niya Wilson Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services
20 DHR | 01651 7/1/2020 Kaylee Ray Smith - NC Department of Health and Human | May
Nurse Aid 1 Services, Division of Health Service
#524069 Regulation
20 DHR | 01851 7/23/2020 Carolina  Regional NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Homecare  Kathy Services
McKinney
20 DHR | 02050 7/23/2020 Melissa A Matzko Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services
20 DHR | 02109 7/23/2020 Kathy McKinney NCDHHS Sutton
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20 DOA | 02604 7/29/2020 Amy Betts DHHS NC Department of | Malherbe
Administration et al

20 DOJ | 00256 7/31/2020 Corey Nathan NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer
McDuffie

20 DOT | 01825 7/7/2020 Lucillie  Basnight NC Department of Transportation Bawtinhimer
Spencer

20 INS | 00863 7/1/2020 Jackie Renee North Carolina State Health Plan May
Everhart
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