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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Board of Agriculture intends to readopt 

without substantive changes the rules cited as 02 NCAC 48A 

.0401, .0402, .0612; and 61 .0101-.0112. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index

.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may 

request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a 

request in writing no later than 9/16/2020, to Tina Hlabse, 

Secretary, NC Board of Agriculture, 1001 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1001. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  All of these rules were classified 

as "necessary with substantive public interest" and are now being 

readopted.  Each rule is necessary but is not being changed from 

how it is currently in the Administrative Code. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Tina Hlabse, 1001 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1001; email 

tina.hlabse@ncagr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 48 - PLANT INDUSTRY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48A - PLANT PROTECTION 

 

SECTION .0400 - WHITE PINE BLISTER RUST 

 

02 NCAC 48A .0401 CURRANT AND GOOSEBERRY 

PLANTS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 48A .0402 INFECTED PINES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0600 - BOLL WEEVIL 

 

02 NCAC 48A .0612 COTTON STALK 

DESTRUCTION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

CHAPTER 61 - SANITATION OF BEDDING 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0101 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0102 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0103 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0104 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0105 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0106 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0107 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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02 NCAC 61 .0108 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0109 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0110 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0111 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 61 .0112 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Soil and Water Conservation Commission intends to adopt the 

rule cited as 02 NCAC 59D .0201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index

.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 17, 2020 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  

https://ncagr.webex.com/ncagr/j.php?MTID=mcd1c926e2118ab

0e5c71c5b64a5cb88c Meeting number (access code): 171 780 

3338; Meeting password: JAA4me Phone Access: (415) 655-003 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Session Law 2020-18 expands the 

powers and duties of the Soil and Water Conservation 

Commission to develop and implement a program for granting job 

approval authority to Soil and Water Conservation District staff 

and employees of the Division of Soil and Water Conservation of 

the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to plan, 

design, and certify the installation of best management practices 

approved for cost-share funding pursuant to programs identified 

in G.S. 139-4(d)(9). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Vernon Cox, 1614 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1614; phone (919) 707-3771; 

email vernon.cox@ncagr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 59 - SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 59D - AGRICULTURE COST SHARE 

PROGRAM FOR NONPOINT SOURCE POLLUTION 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0200 – JOB APPROVAL AUTHORITY 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0201 CRITERIA AND PROCEDURES 

FOR GRANTING JOB APPROVAL AUTHORITY 

(a)  "Eligible individuals" means Soil and Water Conservation 

District employees, county employees working as staff for a Soil 

and Water Conservation District and employees of the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Division of Soil and Water Conservation. 

(b)  Eligible individuals seeking Job Approval Authority (JAA) 

from the Commission shall receive agreement from their 

immediate supervisor. District staff shall also receive agreement 

from the chair of the Soil and Water Conservation District for 

whom they are employed. 

(c)  Eligible individuals seeking JAA for a best management 

practice as defined by 02 NCAC 59D .0102(6) shall submit 

application to the Division for evaluation of technical 

competency. The minimum technical competency requirements 

for each practice shall be listed in the applicable program's 

Detailed Implementation Plan (DIP) as defined in 02 NCAC 59D 

.0102(14). 

(d)  Eligible individuals who submit documentation of JAA issued 

by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service as part of 

the application described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be 

granted equivalent JAA by the Commission, unless JAA has 

subsequently been rescinded due to factors identified in Paragraph 

(f) of this Rule. 

(e)  The Commission shall consider an eligible individual who is 

duly licensed as a professional engineer by the North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors as having JAA 

for any best management practice to which they affix their seal 

and signature to all designs and technical documents. 

(f)  The Commission may rescind an individual's JAA for any or 

all best management practices if the individual fails to comply 

with the associated technical standards, submits false data or is 
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dishonest in the use of their JAA, taking into consideration the 

severity of the non-compliance, the extent and significance of any 

false data submitted, and the individual's history of non-

compliance. 

(g)  Individuals no longer employed by the County, District, or 

Division shall have previously issued JAA reinstated if they are 

re-employed as an eligible individual and have subsequently 

complied with the requirements described in Paragraphs (b) and 

(c) of this Rule. 

Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 139-3; 139-4(d)(9) and 14. 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

41C .0601, .0602, .0608 and repeal through readoption the rule 

cited as 10A NCAC 41C .0304. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 25, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  In an abundance of caution and to address protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, this public 

hearing will be held by teleconference at 919-715-0769 (no 

access code). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

periodic review and expiration of existing rules, the Commission 

for Public Health is proposing to readopt 10A NCAC 41C .0601, 

.0602, and .0608 with substantive changes to update these rules 

to reflect current requirements and processes and repeal through 

readoption 10A NCAC 41C .0304. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  November 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41C - OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH 

 

SECTION .0300 - INDUSTRIAL HYGIENE 

CONSULTATION PROGRAM 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0304 TRAINING AND TECHNICAL 

ASSISTANCE 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-5(3). 

 

SECTION .0600 - ASBESTOS HAZARD MANAGEMENT 

PROGRAM 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0601 GENERAL 

(a)  The definitions contained in G.S. 130A-444 and the following 

definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Abatement Designer" means a person who is 

directly responsible for planning all phases of 

an asbestos abatement design from abatement 

site preparation through complete disassembly 

of all abatement area barriers and who meets the 

barriers. In addition to meeting the 

accreditation requirements of Rule .0602(c)(5) 

.0602(c) of this Section. Section, the abatement 

designer may be subject to the licensure 

requirements for a Registered Architect as 

defined in G.S. 83A or a Professional Engineer 

as defined in G.S. 89C. 

(2) "Abatement Project Monitoring Plan" means a 

written project-specific plan for conducting 

visual inspections and ambient and clearance 

air sampling. 

(3) "Air Monitor" means a person who implements 

the abatement project monitoring plan, collects 

ambient and clearance air samples, performs 

visual inspections, or monitors and evaluates 

asbestos abatement projects. abatement, and 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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who meets the requirements of Rule .0602(c) of 

this Section. 

(4) "Asbestos Abatement Design" means a written 

or graphic plan that is prepared by an accredited 

abatement designer as defined in Subparagraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule and that specifies specifying 

how an asbestos abatement project will be 

performed. performed, and includes, but is not 

limited to, scope of work and technical 

specifications. The An asbestos abatement 

design designer's signature and accreditation 

number shall be on all such abatement designs. 

include, at minimum, the following: 

(A) a scope of work and technical 

specifications; 

(B) the asbestos abatement designer's 

signature; and 

(C) the accreditation number. 

(5) "Completion Date" means the date on which all 

activities on a permitted asbestos removal 

requiring the use of accredited workers and 

supervisors are complete, including the 

complete disassembly of all removal area 

barriers. 

(6) "Emergency Renovation Operation" means the 

same as defined in 40 CFR Part 61.141 and as 

adopted in Rule .0609 of this Section. 

(7) "Inspector" means a person who examines 

buildings or structures for the presence of 

asbestos containing materials, collects bulk 

samples samples, or conducts physical 

assessments of the asbestos containing 

materials. materials, and who meets the 

requirements of Rule .0602(c) of this Section. 

A person whose asbestos inspection activities 

are limited to roofing products is not considered 

an inspector under this definition if the person 

is accredited as a roofing supervisor under this 

Section. 

(8) "Installation" means any building or structure 

or group of buildings or structures at a single 

site under the control of the same owner or 

operator. 

(9) "Management Planner" means a person who 

interprets inspection reports, conducts hazard 

assessments of asbestos containing materials 

materials, or and prepares written management 

plans. plans, and who meets the requirements of 

Rule .0602(c) of this Section. 

(10) "Nonscheduled Asbestos Removal" means as 

defined in 40 CFR Part 61.141. an asbestos 

removal required by the routine failure of 

equipment, which is expected to occur within a 

given period based on past operating 

experience, but for which an exact date cannot 

be predicted. 

(11) "Program" means the Health Hazards Control 

Branch Unit within the Division of Public 

Health. 

(12) "Public Area" means as defined in G.S. 

130A-444(7). Any area to which access by the 

general public is usually prohibited, or is 

usually limited to access by escort only, shall 

not constitute a "public area." 

(13) "Regulated Asbestos Containing Material" 

means the same as defined in 40 CFR Part 

61.141 and as adopted in Rule .0609 of this 

Section. 

(14) "Start Date" means the date on which activities 

begin on a permitted an asbestos removal 

project that is permitted pursuant to Rule .0605 

of this Section and that requires requiring the 

use of accredited workers and supervisors 

begin, who are accredited pursuant to Rule 

.0602 of this Section, including removal area 

isolation and preparation or any other activity 

which may disturb asbestos containing 

materials. 

(15) "Supervising Air Monitor" means a person who 

meets the requirements of Rule .0602(c) of this 

Section and who prepares a written abatement 

project monitoring plan and implements the 

plan or ensures that the plan is implemented by 

an air monitor working under his or her 

supervision. The supervising air monitor 

directs, coordinates and approves all activities 

of air monitors working under his or her 

supervision. The supervising air monitor may 

also perform the duties of an air monitor. 

(16) "Supervisor" means a person who is a 

"competent person" as defined in 29 CFR 

1926.1101(b) and adopted by 13 NCAC 07F 

.0201 and amendments or recodifications as 

adopted by the North Carolina Department of 

Labor, and who is an "on-site representative" as 

defined in 40 CFR Part 61.145(c)(8) as adopted 

in Rule .0609 of this Section, Section and who 

performs the duties specified therein. 

(17) "Under the direct supervision" means working 

under the immediate guidance of an accredited 

individual who is accredited pursuant to Rule 

.0602 of this Section and who is responsible for 

all activities performed. 

(18) "Worker" means a person who performs 

asbestos abatement under the direct supervision 

of an accredited supervisor. 

(19) "Working day" means Monday through Friday. 

Friday, including any holidays. Holidays falling 

on any of these days are included in the 

definition. 

(20) "Class II Asbestos Work" means as defined in 

29 CFR 1926.1101(b) 1926.1101(b). which is 

incorporated by reference in Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule. 

(21) "Roofing Worker" means a person whose duties 

regarding asbestos are limited to Class II 

asbestos work involving the removal of roofing 

products that are classified as regulated 
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asbestos containing material. material and who 

works under the direct supervision of a roofing 

supervisor. 

(22) "Roofing Supervisor" means a supervisor as 

defined in Subparagraph (a)(16) of this Rule, 

whose duties regarding asbestos are limited to 

Class II asbestos work involving only roofing 

products that are classified as regulated 

asbestos containing material. This person may 

also perform asbestos roofing inspection 

activities which are limited to roofing products, 

including the collection of bulk samples. 

(23) "Roofing Products" means bituminous built-up 

roofing systems, roofing membranes, asphalt 

shingles, cement shingles, roofing cements, 

mastics, coatings, panels, light weight roofing 

concrete, and flashings. 

(b)  In addition to the rules of this Section and the Asbestos Hazard 

Emergency Response Act (AHERA) as defined at G.S. 130A-

444(1), Asbestos asbestos management activities conducted 

pursuant to this Section shall comply with the following: 

"AHERA" as defined in G.S. 130A-444(1) and 40 CFR Part 763, 

Subpart E and Appendices, as applicable. 40 CFR Part 763, 

Subpart E is hereby incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. This document is available 

for inspection at the Division of Public Health, 1915 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1915. Copies may be 

obtained from the Government Printing Office by writing to the 

Superintendent of Documents, Government Printing Office, PO 

Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 15250-7954, at a cost of twenty-six 

dollars ($26.00). 

(1) 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E and Appendices, 

which are hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent amendments and 

editions, and available free of charge at: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(2) 29 CFR 1926.1101, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including and 

subsequent amendments and editions, and 

available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(c)  29 CFR 1926.1101 is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent amendments and editions. This 

document is available for inspection at the Division of Public 

Health, 1915 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 

27699-1915. Copies may be obtained from the Government 

Printing Office by writing to the Superintendent of Documents, 

Government Printing Office, PO Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 

15250-7954, at a cost of twenty-six dollars ($26.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130A-451. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0602 ACCREDITATION 

(a)  No person shall perform asbestos management activities until 

that person has been accredited by the Program in the appropriate 

accreditation category, as set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule, except as provided for in G.S. 130A-447, (b) 130A-

447(b) and (c). 

(b)  An applicant for accreditation shall meet the provisions 

requirements of the "EPA Model Contractor Accreditation Plan" 

contained in 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E, Appendix C and shall 

successfully complete the applicable training courses approved by 

the Program pursuant to Rule .0603 of this Section. Section and 

as set forth in this Rule for each accreditation category. However, 

an An applicant applying for roofing worker or roofing supervisor 

accreditation shall only be required to successfully complete the 

applicable training courses as described under Rule .0611 of this 

Section. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

an applicant, other than for the worker or roofing worker 

categories, shall meet the following: 

(1) an applicant for initial accreditation shall have 

successfully completed an approved initial 

training course for the specific discipline in 

which the applicant seeks accreditation within 

the 12 months immediately preceding 

application. If initial training was completed 

more than 12 months prior to application, the 

applicant shall have successfully completed an 

approved refresher training course for the 

specific discipline in which he or she seeks 

accreditation at least every 24 months from the 

date of completion of initial training to the date 

of application; 

(2) an inspector shall have: 

(A) a high school diploma or equivalent; 

and 

(B) at least three months of experience 

working as an accredited asbestos 

inspector related experience as, or 

three months of experience working 

under the direct supervision of, of an 

accredited inspector, or equivalent 

experience; inspector. 

(3) a management planner shall have a high school 

diploma or equivalent and shall be an 

accredited inspector; inspector, as defined in 

Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule. 

(4) a supervisor or roofing supervisor shall have: 

(A) a high school diploma or equivalent; 

except that this requirement shall not 

apply to supervisors that were 

accredited on November 1, 1989, or 

roofing supervisors that were 

accredited prior to April 1, 1997; and 

(B) at least three months of experience 

working as an accredited asbestos 

supervisor related experience as, or 

three months of experience working 

under the direct supervision of, of an 

accredited supervisor, or equivalent 

experience; supervisor. 

(5) an abatement designer shall have: 

(A) a high school diploma or equivalent; 

and 

(B) at least three months of experience 

working as an accredited asbestos 
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designer related experience as, or three 

months of experience working under 

the direct supervision of, of an 

accredited abatement designer, or 

equivalent experience; designer. 

(6) an air monitor shall work only under an 

accredited supervising air monitor or meet the 

provisions of Part (c)(7)(C) of this Rule. 

However, this requirement shall not apply to the 

owner or operator of a building and his 

permanent employees when performing air 

monitoring in non-public areas. In addition, all 

air monitors shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(A) Education and Work Experience: 

(i) a high school diploma or 

equivalent; and 

(ii) at least three months of 

experience working as an 

asbestos air monitor 

monitoring experience as, or 

three months of experience 

working under the direct 

supervision of, of an 

accredited air monitor or 

equivalent within 12 months 

prior to applying for 

accreditation; monitor. 

(B) Training Requirements: 

(i) complete a Program 

approved NIOSH National 

Institute for Occupational 

Safety and Health (NIOSH) 

582 or Program approved 

NIOSH 582 equivalent 

Equivalency Course and 

meet the initial and refresher 

training requirements of this 

Rule for supervisors; 

Program approved project 

monitor refresher course may 

be substituted for the 

supervisor refresher course; 

or 

(ii) meet the initial and refresher 

training requirements of this 

Rule for a Program approved 

five-day project monitor 

course and a Program 

approved annual refresher 

course; course. 

(iii) air monitors with a valid 

accreditation on October 1, 

1994 shall have until October 

1, 1995 to meet the training 

requirements for air monitors 

set forth in this Paragraph; 

(7) a supervising air monitor shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(A) Education and Work Experience: 

(i) a high school diploma or 

equivalent; 

(ii) at least three months of 

experience working as an 

asbestos air monitoring 

experience as, monitor or 

three months of experience 

working under the direct 

supervision of, of an 

accredited air monitor 

monitor. or equivalent within 

12 months prior to applying 

for accreditation; 

(B) Training Requirements: 

(i) complete a Program 

approved NIOSH 582 or 

Program approved NIOSH 

582 equivalent Equivalency 

Course and meet the initial 

and refresher training 

requirements of this Rule for 

supervisors; a Program 

approved project monitor 

refresher course may be 

substituted for the supervisor 

refresher course; or 

(ii) meet the initial and refresher 

training requirements of this 

Rule for a Program approved 

five-day project monitor 

course and a Program 

approved annual refresher 

course; course. 

(iii) supervising air monitors with 

a valid accreditation on 

October 1, 1994 shall have 

until October 1, 1995 to meet 

the training requirements for 

supervising air monitors set 

forth in this Paragraph; 

(C) Professional Status: 

(i) a supervising air monitor 

who was accredited as an air 

monitor on or after February 

1, 1991, or an air monitor 

accredited prior to that date 

who has not continuously 

maintained accreditation, 

shall be a Certified Industrial 

Hygienist; 

(ii) a supervising air monitor 

who was accredited as an air 

monitor prior to February 1, 

1991, who has continuously 

maintained accreditation 

shall be a Certified Industrial 

Hygienist, Professional 
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Engineer, or Registered 

Architect; Architect. 

(D) Air monitors with a valid accreditation 

on January 1, 1995 supervising other 

accredited air monitors shall be 

deemed to be accredited supervising 

air monitors for the duration of their 

existing air monitor accreditation. 

(d)  To obtain accreditation, the applicant shall submit submit, or 

cause to be submitted, to the Program: 

(1) a completed application on a form provided by 

the Program Program, which is available at: 

https://epi.dph.ncdhhs.gov/asbestos/healthaz.ht

ml. A completed application form shall include 

with the following information: 

(A) full name; name and social security 

number of applicant; 

(B) address, including city, state, zip code, 

and telephone number; 

(C) date of birth, sex, height, and weight; 

(D) discipline applied for; 

(E) name, address, and telephone number 

of employer; 

(F) training agency attended; 

(G) name of training course completed; 

and 

(H) dates of course attended; 

(2) one two current 1.25 13 inch x 1.25 13 inch 

color photograph photographs of the applicant 

per application with the applicant's full name 

and social security number printed on the back; 

back of each photograph; 

(3) confirmation confirmation of completion of an 

approved initial or refresher training course 

from the training agency; agency. The the 

confirmation shall be in the form of an original 

certificate of completion of the approved 

training course bearing the training agency's 

official seal, seal or an original letter from the 

training agency on training agency letterhead 

that confirming completion of the course on 

training agency letterhead, or an original letter 

from the training agency listing names of 

persons who have successfully completed the 

training course, with the applicant's name 

included, on the training agency letterhead; 

includes the following information: 

(A) the name of the course completed; 

(B) the date of course completion; 

(C) the unique certificate number; and 

(D) a list of names for the individuals who 

successfully completed the training 

course, with the applicant's name 

included in that list; 

(4) when education is a requirement, requirement 

in accordance with this Rule, a copy of the 

diploma diploma; or other written 

documentation; 

(5) when work experience is a requirement, 

requirement in accordance with this Rule, 

documentation of the applicant's asbestos 

related work experience that includes the 

following: work history documenting asbestos 

related experience, including employer name, 

address and phone number; positions held; and 

dates when the positions were held; and 

(A) employer name; 

(B) employer address and phone number; 

(C) position(s) held by applicant; and 

(D) dates when the applicant held each 

position; 

(6) when applicants for initial air monitor 

accreditation are working under an accredited 

supervising air monitor pursuant to 

Subparagraph (c)(6) of this Rule, the accredited 

supervising air monitor shall submit an original, 

signed letter acknowledging responsibility for 

the applicant's air monitoring activities. The 

applicant shall ensure that a new letter is 

submitted to the Program any time the 

information in the letter currently on file is no 

longer accurate. 

(e)  All accreditations shall expire at the end of the 12th month 

following completion of required initial or refresher training. 

Work performed after the 12th month and prior to reaccreditation 

shall constitute a violation of this Rule. To be reaccredited, an 

applicant shall have successfully completed the required refresher 

training course within 24 months after the initial or refresher 

training course. An applicant for reaccreditation shall also submit 

information specified in Subparagraphs (d)(1)-(d)(6) of this Rule. 

If a person fails to obtain the required training within 12 calendar 

months after the expiration date of accreditation, that person may 

shall be accredited only by meeting the requirements of 

Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  All accredited persons shall be assigned an accreditation 

number and issued a photo-identification card by the Program. 

(g)  In accordance with G.S. 130A-23, the Program may revoke 

accreditation or reaccreditation for any violation of G.S. 130A, 

Article 19 or the rules in this Section, or upon determining finding 

that its issuance was based upon incorrect or inadequate 

information that materially affected the decision to issue 

accreditation or reaccreditation. The Program shall may also 

revoke accreditation or reaccreditation upon a finding that the 

accredited person has violated any requirement referenced in Rule 

.0605(e) of this Section. A person whose accreditation is revoked 

because of fraudulent misrepresentations or because of violations 

that create a significant public health hazard shall not reapply for 

accreditation before six months after the revocation and shall 

repeat the initial training course and other requirements as set out 

in Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130A-23; 130A-447. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0608 TRAINING COURSE 

INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  Any person seeking approval as an instructor for courses 

covered under 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E, Appendix C, Rule 
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.0603(a)(3) and .0611 of this Section shall meet the applicable 

requirements listed in this Rule. 

(b)  All training course providers shall submit submit, or cause to 

be submitted, to the Program the following: 

(1) a completed application on a form provided by 

the Program and available at 

https://epi.dph.ncdhhs.gov/asbestos/healthaz.ht

ml. A completed application form shall include 

with the following information: 

(A) name, address, and telephone number 

of the applicant; 

(B) name, address and telephone number 

of the training provider that is 

employing the applicant; 

(2) when training course completion is a 

requirement, requirement pursuant to Rule 

.0602 of this Section, confirmation of 

completion of an approved training course. 

course; the The confirmation shall be in the 

form of an original certificate of completion of 

the approved training course or the following 

information: the course title, dates of 

instruction, names of instructors, name, address 

and telephone number of the training provider; 

(A) the course title; 

(B) dates of the course instruction; 

(C) name(s) of instructor(s); and 

(D) name, address and telephone number 

of the training provider; 

(3) when education is a requirement, a copy of the 

high school diploma or other written 

documentation; equivalent; 

(4) when work experience is a requirement, 

requirement pursuant to Rule .0602 of this 

Section, documentation of the applicant's 

relevant work history, including the following: 

employer name, address and telephone number, 

positions held, dates when positions were held, 

and copies of any licenses, registrations, 

certifications or accreditations that are relevant 

to the subject matter to be taught; and 

(A) employer name; 

(B) employer address and phone number; 

(C) position(s) held by applicant; 

(D) dates when the applicant held each 

position; and 

(E) copies of any licenses, registrations, 

certifications, or accreditations related 

to the subject matter to be taught; and 

(5) when experience as an instructor is a 

requirement, requirement pursuant to Rule 

.0602 of this Section, documentation of relevant 

instructional experience including the 

following: name of training courses taught, 

topics taught for each course, inclusive dates of 

each training course, and name, address and 

telephone number of each training organization 

for which experience is claimed. 

(A) name(s) of the course(s) taught; 

(B) the topic that the applicant taught for 

each course; 

(C) the dates of the courses that the 

applicant taught; and 

(D) the name, address, and phone number 

of each training organization for 

which experience is claimed. 

(c)  Work practice topics for each Training courses shall include: 

include instruction on specific topics as follows: 

(1) for the worker and roofing worker courses: 

state-of-the-art work current best practices; 

(2) for the supervisor and roofing supervisor 

courses: state-of-the-art work current best 

practices practices, and techniques for asbestos 

abatement activities; 

(3) for the inspector course: pre-inspection 

planning and review of previous inspection 

records, inspecting for friable and nonfriable 

asbestos containing materials and assessing the 

condition of friable asbestos containing 

materials, bulk sampling/documentation 

sampling and documentation of asbestos in 

schools, recordkeeping and writing inspection 

reports; 

(4) for the management planner course: 

evaluation/interpretation evaluation and 

interpretation of survey results, hazard 

assessment, developing an operations and 

maintenance plan, recordkeeping for the 

management planner, and assembling and 

submitting the management plan; 

(5) for the abatement designer course: safety 

system design specifications, designing 

abatement solutions, budgeting/cost budgeting 

and cost estimation, writing abatement 

specifications, preparing abatement drawings 

and occupied buildings; and 

(6) for the project monitor course: asbestos 

abatement contracts, specifications and 

drawings, response actions and abatement 

practices, air monitoring strategies, conducting 

visual inspections, and recordkeeping and 

report writing. 

(d)  Instructors for work practice topics, hands-on exercises, 

workshops, or field trips where required for courses covered under 

40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E, Appendix C shall meet the following 

requirements as applicable: 

(1) For the worker initial and refresher and the 

supervisor initial and refresher courses: 

(A) the applicant shall have successfully 

completed the initial and subsequent 

refresher training course requirements 

for supervisor; and 

(B) the applicant shall meet at least one of 

the following education and asbestos 

work experience combinations: 

(i) If the applicant does not 

possess either a high school 
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diploma or equivalent, the 

applicant shall: 

(I) have at least 1440 

hours experience in 

a worker or 

supervisory 

capacity in a 

contained work 

area; and 

(II) have at least 360 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 

approved worker 

course. 

(ii) If the applicant possesses 

either a high school diploma 

or equivalent, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have at least 960 

hours experience in 

a worker, 

supervisory, or 

consulting capacity 

in a contained work 

area; or 

(II) have at least 240 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 

approved asbestos 

worker or 

supervisor course 

course, or other 

courses that provide 

instruction on the 

occupational safety 

and health topics 

described in 29 CFR 

or environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR. courses 

required to meet 

federal and state 

regulations. 

(iii) If the applicant possesses at 

least an associate degree 

from a regionally an 

accredited college or 

university, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have at least 480 

hours experience in 

a worker, 

supervisory, or 

consulting capacity 

in a contained area; 

or 

(II) have at least 120 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 

approved asbestos 

worker or 

supervisor course 

course, or other 

courses that provide 

instruction on the 

occupational safety 

and health topics 

described in 29 CFR 

or environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR. courses 

required to meet 

federal and state 

regulations. 

(2) For the inspector initial and refresher courses: 

(A) the applicant shall have successfully 

completed the initial and subsequent 

refresher training course requirements 

for inspector; and 

(B) the applicant shall meet at least one of 

the following education and asbestos 

work experience combinations: 

(i) If the applicant possesses 

either a high school diploma 

or equivalent, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

experience, 

including asbestos 

inspections in at 

least 1,000,000 

square feet of 

building space in 

the past three years; 

or 

(II) have at least 60 

hours as an 

instructor in an 
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Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 

approved inspector 

course course, or 

other courses that 

provide instruction 

on the occupational 

safety and health 

topics described in 

29 CFR or 

environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR. courses 

required to meet 

federal and state 

regulations. 

(ii) If the applicant possesses at 

least an associate degree 

from a regionally an 

accredited college or 

university, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

experience, 

including asbestos 

inspections in at 

least 500,000 square 

feet of building 

space in the past 

three years; or 

(II) have at least 40 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 

approved inspector 

course course, or 

other courses that 

provide instruction 

on the occupational 

safety and health 

topics described in 

29 CFR or 

environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR. courses 

required to meet 

federal and state 

regulations. 

(3) For the management planner initial and 

refresher courses: 

(A) the applicant shall have successfully 

completed the initial and subsequent 

refresher training course requirements 

for management planner; and 

(B) the applicant shall meet at least one of 

the following education and asbestos 

work experience combinations: 

(i) If the applicant possesses 

either a high school diploma 

or equivalent, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

management 

planning experience 

showing at least 25 

management plans 

or reinspection 

reports written in 

the past three years, 

or documented 

experience as the 

management 

consultant for at 

least 25 asbestos 

projects in the past 

three years, or a 

combination of 

management plans 

and projects 

managed; or 

(II) have at least 48 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 

approved 

management 

planner course or 

other courses that 

provide instruction 

on the occupational 

safety and health 

topics described in 

29 CFR or 

environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR. courses 

required to meet 

federal and state 

regulations. 

(ii) If the applicant possesses at 

least an associate degree 
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from a regionally an 

accredited college or 

university, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

management 

planning experience 

showing at least 12 

management plans 

or reinspection 

reports written in 

the past three years, 

or documented 

experience as the 

management 

consultant for at 

least 12 asbestos 

projects in the past 

three years, or a 

combination of 

management plans 

and projects 

managed; or 

(II) have at least 32 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 

approved 

management 

planner course or 

other courses that 

provide instruction 

on the occupational 

safety and health 

topics described in 

29 CFR or 

environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR. courses 

required to meet 

federal and state 

regulations. 

(4) For the project designer initial and refresher 

courses: 

(A) the applicant shall have successfully 

completed the initial and subsequent 

refresher training course requirements 

for abatement project designer; and 

(B) the applicant shall meet at least one of 

the following education and asbestos 

work experience combinations: 

(i) If the applicant possesses 

either a high school diploma 

or equivalent, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

asbestos abatement 

project design 

experience 

including the design 

of at least 12 

asbestos projects in 

the past three years; 

or 

(II) have at least 30 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 

approved abatement 

project designer 

course or other 

courses that provide 

instruction on the 

occupational safety 

and health topics 

described in 29 CFR 

or environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR. courses 

required to meet 

federal and state 

regulations. 

(ii) If the applicant possesses at 

least an associate degree 

from a regionally an 

accredited college or 

university, the applicant 

shall: 

(I) have documented 

asbestos abatement 

project design 

experience, 

including the design 

of at least six 

asbestos projects in 

the past three years; 

or 

(II) have at least 20 

hours as an 

instructor in an 

Environmental 

Protection 

Agency-approved 

or Environmental 

Protection Agency 

state Program 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 

571 

approved abatement 

project designer 

course or other 

courses that provide 

instruction on the 

occupational safety 

and health topics 

described in 29 CFR 

or environmental 

safety and health 

topics described in 

40 CFR. courses 

required to meet 

federal and state 

regulations. 

(5) For the project monitor initial and refresher 

courses: 

(A) the applicant shall meet the 

qualifications for project designer 

instructor under Subparagraph (d)(4) 

of this Rule or the qualifications for 

supervisor instructor under 

Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule to 

teach the work practice topics of 

asbestos abatement contracts, 

specifications and drawings or 

response action and abatement 

practices; 

(B) the applicant for work practice topics 

of air monitoring strategies, 

conducting visual inspections, and 

recordkeeping and report writing 

shall: 

(i) possess either a high school 

diploma or equivalent; 

(ii) successfully complete a 

Program approved NIOSH 

582 course, course or 

Program approved NIOSH 

582 Equivalency Course 

equivalent, or a Program 

approved project monitor 

course; and 

(iii) have documented asbestos 

air monitoring experience on 

at least six asbestos 

removals. 

(6) All instructors approved under Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule shall take a refresher training in at 

least one discipline from a training provider 

other than their employer every other year. 

(e)  Instructors who teach one or more segments of a training 

course covered under 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E, Appendix C, 

Rule .0603(a) or Rule .0611 of this Section (other Section, other 

than work practice topics, hands-on exercises, workshops, or field 

trips) trips, shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) be actively currently working in the field of 

expertise in which training is conducted; and 

(2) have a minimum of a high school diploma or 

equivalent. 

(f)  Instructors for a Program approved NIOSH 582 or Program 

approved NIOSH 582 Equivalency Course equivalent shall meet 

the following requirements: 

(1) have a high school diploma or equivalent; 

(2) attend a the National Institute for Occupational 

Safety and Health's NIOSH 582 training course 

or a Program approved approved NIOSH 582 

Equivalency Course equivalent course; and 

(3) for teaching the NIOSH 7400 Method, have at 

least three months work experience as a 

microscopist performing analysis using the 

NIOSH 7400 Method. 

(g)  Instructors who teach work practice or hands-on topics in 

Program approved roofing worker or roofing supervisor initial or 

refresher courses shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) have a high school diploma or equivalent; 

(2) successfully complete either an initial asbestos 

supervisor or initial asbestos roofing supervisor 

course, and subsequent annual refreshers 

courses; 

(3) successfully complete an initial asbestos 

inspector course; and 

(4) have at least three months' experience as a 

roofing supervisor or foreman or asbestos 

supervisor. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-447. P.L. 99-519. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alarm Systems Licensing Board intends to amend the rule cited 

as 14B NCAC 17 .0202. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/alarm-system-

licensing-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 6, 2020 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, ASLB Office, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The amendment adds an 

additional source for minimum training. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; 

email paul.sherman@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 2, 2020 
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Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 17 - ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0202 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Applicants for an alarm system license shall meet the 

following requirements, which are additional in addition to those 

specified in G.S. 74D: 

(1) establish two year's experience within the past 

five years in alarm systems installation or 

service, or alarm systems business 

management; management; or 

(2) no longer than one year prior to the application 

date, successfully pass an oral or written 

examination required by the Board to measure 

an individual's knowledge and competence in 

the alarm systems business; or 

(3)(2) no longer than one year prior to the application 

date, successfully complete the Certified Alarm 

Technician Level I Course offered by the 

National Electronic Security Association or 

Association, Elite CEU's on-line training 

course. course, or Complete Electrical 

Academy's Level I training course. 

(b)  An applicant who takes the examination required by the Board 

under Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule and who does not 

successfully complete said examination after two attempts shall 

wait six months before being allowed to take the examination 

again. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-5. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the 

rules cited as 15A NCAC 02B .0227 and .0311. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/news/events/public-notices-hearings 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 20, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  In the abundance of caution, and to address protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, the NC 

Division of Water Resources is holding an online public hearing 

that can be joined starting at 5:45 pm via WebEx link 

https://tinyurl.com/yxo91csz, password bpKhm8bjP32, phone 

number 1-415-655-0003 and access code 161 082 1972. 

 

To register for the hearing and provide your preference regarding 

speaking at the hearing, please visit https://tinyurl.com/y6g9hf7a; 

registration must be completed by 12:00 pm on October 20, 2020. 

If you have any problems registering online, please call 919-707-

9011 by the registration deadline of 12:00 pm on October 20, 

2020. 

 

The Division of Water Resources highly recommends testing your 

computer's WebEx capabilities prior to the hearing at 

https://www.webex.com/test-meeting.html. For instructions about 

digital ways to join the public hearing, please refer to the WebEx 

Help Center online at https://help.webex.com/en-us/.  

 

To comment during the hearing after your name is called as a 

registered speaker and/or after the hearing officer asks if any 

people wish to comment following the registered speakers: 

- If you join the hearing by phone, press *3 to “raise your hand,” 

speak once called upon to do so, and press *3 again to “lower 

your hand.”  

- If you join the hearing online, press the hand icon to “raise your 

hand,” speak once called upon to do so, and press the hand icon 

again to “lower your hand.”  

- The Hearing Officer may limit the length of time that you may 

speak, so that all those who wish to speak may do so. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In 2014, the Lower Cape Fear 

River Program had requested that a segment of the lower Cape 

Fear River in New Hanover and Brunswick Counties be 

reclassified from Class SC to Class SC Swamp. The DO standard 

and pH standard for the Class SC classification is 5 mg/l, and a 

range between 6.8 – 8.5, respectively. The Sw classification 

allows, if caused by natural conditions, the pH of the subject 

waters to reach as low as 4.3 and the DO to be lower than 5 mg/l. 

A water quality management plan was proposed along with the 

Swamp classification to help implement the current permitting 

policy for new wastewater discharges and expansions of existing 

wastewater discharges to the subject waters, with effluent limits 
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for oxygen consuming wastes that are similar to the same limits 

for High Quality Waters (HQWs). The Swamp classification and 

management plan became effective in 2017 in the North Carolina 

Administrative Code, providing a path forward for discharges 

and local communities.  

 

In 2018, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 

disapproved the Swamp classification and a part of the associated 

management plan for the above-mentioned portion of the lower 

Cape Fear River. In 2019, the Environmental Management 

Commission (EMC) received a petition for rulemaking from the 

Cape Fear River Watch and Waterkeeper Alliance in care of the 

Southern Environmental Law Center. The petition requested that 

the EMC “…remove the supplemental swamp waters 

classification from the lower Cape Fear River.”  At its July 2019 

meeting, the EMC granted the petition and approved the initiation 

of rulemaking to remove the EPA-disapproved Swamp 

classification and to remove the EPA-disapproved portion of the 

management plan from the lower Cape Fear River. 

 

The subject waters are comprised of a portion of the Cape Fear 

River from the upstream mouth of Toomers Creek to a line across 

the river between Lilliput Creek and Snows Cut, where the 

Intracoastal Waterway (ICW) meets the river.  Wetlands, mixed 

with developed lands, other open waters, forest lands, 

shrub/scrub lands, and primarily Swamp classified tributaries 

exist directly adjacent to the proposed waters. In these waters, 

there are several tidal saltwater species, including the federally 

endangered shortnose sturgeon and Atlantic sturgeon, and the 

Marine Fisheries Commission designation of Primary Nursery 

Area, or PNA, which received the HQW classification. In 

addition, during the rulemaking for the reclassification and 

management plan, there were eight NPDES permitted wastewater 

discharges, no known planned new NPDES wastewater 

discharges, and one planned expansion of an existing NPDES 

wastewater discharge that met the requirements of the 

classification and management plan but had not been permitted; 

since then, the one planned expansion got permitted, and 

currently there are eight NPDES permitted wastewater 

discharges and no known planned new NPDES wastewater 

discharges to these waters. Lastly, there are no plans for 

expansions of existing NPDES wastewater discharges that 

require permitting. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Elizabeth Kountis, DEQ-DWR 

Planning Section, 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1611; phone (919) 707-3685; email 

elizabeth.kountis@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02B - SURFACE WATER AND 

WETLAND STANDARDS 

 

SECTION .0200 - CLASSIFICATIONS AND WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS APPLICABLE TO SURFACE 

WATERS AND WETLANDS OF NORTH CAROLINA 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0227 WATER QUALITY 

MANAGEMENT PLANS 

(a)  In implementing the water quality standards to protect the 

"existing uses" [as defined by Rule .0202 of this Section] of the 

waters of the State or the water quality that supports those uses, 

the Commission shall develop water quality management plans on 

a priority basis to attain, maintain or enhance water quality 

throughout the State. Additional specific actions deemed 

necessary by the Commission to protect the water quality or the 

existing uses of the waters of the State shall be specified in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. These actions may include anything 

within the powers of the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 143-21 

and G.S. 143B-282. The Commission may also consider local 

actions that have been taken to protect a waterbody in determining 

the appropriate protection options to be incorporated into the 

water quality management plan. 

(b)  All waters determined by the Commission to be protected by 

a water quality management plan are listed with specific actions 

either in Rules .0601 - .0608 of this Subchapter that address the 

Goose Creek watershed (Yadkin Pee-Dee River Basin) or as 

follows: 

(1) The Lockwoods Folly River Area (Lumber 

River Basin), which includes all waters of the 

lower Lockwoods Folly River in an area 

extending north from the Intracoastal 

Waterway to a line extending from Genoes 

Point to Mullet Creek, shall be protected by the 

specific actions described in Parts (A) through 

(D) of this Subparagraph. 

(A) New development activities within 

575' of the mean high water line that 

require a Sedimentation Erosion 

Control Plan or a CAMA major 
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development permit shall comply with 

the low density option of the coastal 

stormwater requirements as specified 

in 15A NCAC 02H .1005(3)(a). 

(B) New or expanded NPDES permits 

shall be issued only for non-domestic, 

non-industrial process type 

discharges, such as non-industrial 

process cooling or seafood processing 

discharges. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02H .0111, a public hearing shall be 

mandatory for any proposed (new or 

expanded) NPDES permit to this 

protected area. 

(C) New or expanded marinas shall be 

located in upland basin areas. 

(D) No dredge or fill activities shall be 

allowed if those activities would result 

in a reduction of the beds of 

"submerged aquatic vegetation 

habitat" or "shellfish producing 

habitat" that are defined in 15A NCAC 

03I .0101, except for maintenance 

dredging, such as that required to 

maintain access to existing channels 

and facilities located within the 

protected area or maintenance 

dredging for activities such as 

agriculture. 

(2) A part of the Cape Fear River (Cape Fear River 

Basin) comprised of a section of Index No.18-

(71) from upstream mouth of Toomers Creek to 

a line across the river between Lilliput Creek 

and Snows Cut shall be protected by the Class 

SC Sw standards as well as the following site-

specific action: All new individual NPDES 

wastewater discharges and expansions of 

existing individual NPDES wastewater 

discharges shall be required to provide 

treatment for oxygen consuming wastes as 

described in Parts (A) through (C) and (B) of 

this Subparagraph. 

(A) Effluent limitations shall be as 

follows: BOD5 = 5 mg/l, NH3-N = 1 

mg/l and DO = 6 mg/l, or utilize site-

specific best available technology on a 

case-by-case basis for industrial 

discharges in accordance with Rule 

.0406 (e) of this Subchapter. 

(B) Seasonal effluent limits for oxygen 

consuming wastes shall be considered 

in accordance with Rule .0404 of this 

Subchapter. 

(C) Any new or expanded permitted 

pollutant discharge of oxygen 

consuming waste shall not cause the 

dissolved oxygen of the receiving 

water to drop more than 0.1 mg/l 

below the modeled in-stream 

dissolved oxygen at total permitted 

capacity for all discharges. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.8A. 

 

SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF STREAM 

CLASSIFICATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0311 CAPE FEAR RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Cape Fear 

River Basin are set forth in the Cape Fear River Basin 

Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 

places: 

(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-

standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 

(A) Winston-Salem Regional Office 

450 West Hanes Mill Road 

Winston-Salem, North Carolina; 

(B) Fayetteville Regional Office 

225 Green Street 

Systel Building Suite 714 

Fayetteville, North Carolina; 

(C) Raleigh Regional Office 

3800 Barrett Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(D) Washington Regional Office 

943 Washington Square Mall 

Washington, North Carolina; 

(E) Wilmington Regional Office 

127 Cardinal Drive Extension 

Wilmington, North Carolina; and 

(F) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977; 

(2) December 13, 1979; 

(3) December 14, 1980; 

(4) August 9, 1981; 

(5) April 1, 1982; 

(6) December 1, 1983; 

(7) January 1, 1985; 

(8) August 1, 1985; 

(9) December 1, 1985; 

(10) February 1, 1986; 

(11) July 1, 1987; 

(12) October 1, 1987; 

(13) March 1, 1988; 

(14) August 1, 1990. 

(c)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective June 1, 1988 as follows: 

(1) Cane Creek [Index No. 16-21-(1)] from source 

to a point 0.5 mile north of N.C. Hwy. 54 (Cane 
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Reservoir Dam) including the Cane Creek 

Reservoir and all tributaries has been 

reclassified from Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(2) Morgan Creek [Index No. 16-41-1-(1)] to the 

University Lake dam including University Lake 

and all tributaries has been reclassified from 

Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(d)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective July 1, 1988 by the reclassification of Crane 

Creek (Crains Creek) [Index No. 18-23-16-(1)] from source to 

mouth of Beaver Creek including all tributaries from C to WS-III. 

(e)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: 

(1) Intracoastal Waterway (Index No. 18-87) from 

southern edge of White Oak River Basin to 

western end of Permuda Island (a line from 

Morris Landing to Atlantic Ocean), from the 

eastern mouth of Old Topsail Creek to the 

southwestern shore of Howe Creek and from 

the southwest mouth of Shinn Creek to channel 

marker No. 153 including all tributaries except 

the King Creek Restricted Area, Hardison 

Creek, Old Topsail Creek, Mill Creek, Futch 

Creek and Pages Creek were reclassified from 

Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(2) Topsail Sound and Middle Sound ORW Area 

which includes all waters between the Barrier 

Islands and the Intracoastal Waterway located 

between a line running from the western most 

shore of Mason Inlet to the southwestern shore 

of Howe Creek and a line running from the 

western shore of New Topsail Inlet to the 

eastern mouth of Old Topsail Creek was 

reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(3) Masonboro Sound ORW Area which includes 

all waters between the Barrier Islands and the 

mainland from a line running from the 

southwest mouth of Shinn Creek at the 

Intracoastal Waterway to the southern shore of 

Masonboro Inlet and a line running from the 

Intracoastal Waterway Channel marker No. 153 

to the southside of the Carolina Beach Inlet was 

reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(f)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: Big Alamance 

Creek [Index No. 16-19-(1)] from source to Lake Mackintosh 

Dam including all tributaries has been reclassified from Class 

WS-III NSW to Class WS-II NSW. 

(g)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 

water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-

I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-

II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 

protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 

became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 

primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 

classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 

classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 

after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 

(h)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective June 1, 1994 as follows: 

(1) The Black River from its source to the Cape 

Fear River [Index Nos. 18-68-(0.5), 18-68-(3.5) 

and 18-65-(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes 

C Sw and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW. 

(2) The South River from Big Swamp to the Black 

River [Index Nos. 18-68-12-(0.5) and 18-68-

12(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes C Sw 

and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW. 

(3) Six Runs Creek from Quewhiffle Swamp to the 

Black River [Index No. 18-68-2] was 

reclassified from Class C Sw to Class C Sw 

ORW. 

(i)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 1994 with the reclassification of 

the Deep River [Index No. 17-(36.5)] from the Town of Gulf-

Goldston water supply intake to US highway 421 including 

associated tributaries from Class C to Classes C, WS-IV and WS-

IV CA. 

(j)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 

classification for portions of the Deep River [Index No. 17-(28.5)] 

from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V, Deep River [Index No. 17-

(41.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class C, and the Cape Fear River 

[Index 18-(10.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V. 

(k)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of 

Buckhorn Creek (Harris Lake)[Index No. 18-7-(3)] from the 

backwaters of Harris Lake to the Dam at Harris Lake from Class 

C to Class WS-V. 

(l)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of the 

Deep River [Index No. 17-(4)] from the dam at Oakdale-Cotton 

Mills, Inc. to the dam at Randleman Reservoir (located 1.6 mile 

upstream of U.S. Hwy 220 Business), and including tributaries 

from Class C and Class B to Class WS-IV and Class WS-IV & B. 

Streams within the Randleman Reservoir Critical Area have been 

reclassified to WS-IV CA. The Critical Area for a WS-IV 

reservoir is defined as 0.5 mile and draining to the normal pool 

elevation of the reservoir. All waters within the Randleman 

Reservoir Water Supply Watershed are within a designated 

Critical Water Supply Watershed and are subject to a special 

management strategy specified in Rule .0248 of this Subchapter. 

(m)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 2002 as follows: 

(1) Mill Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-(1), 18-23-

11-(2), 18-23-11-3, 18-23-11-(5)] from its 

source to the Little River, including all 

tributaries was reclassified from Class WS-III 

NSW and Class WS-III B NSW to Class WS-

III NSW HQW@ and Class WS-III B NSW 

HQW@. 

(2) McDeed's Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-4, 18-

23-11-4-1] from its source to Mill Creek, 

including all tributaries was reclassified from 

Class WS III NSW and Class WS-III B NSW to 
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Class WS-III NSW HQW@ and Class WS-III 

B NSW HQW@. 

The "@" symbol as used in this Paragraph means that if the 

governing municipality has deemed that a development is covered 

under a "5/70 provision" as described in Rule .0215(3)(b)(i)(E) of 

this Subchapter, then that development is not subject to the 

stormwater requirements as described in 15A NCAC 02H .1006. 

(n)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2004 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-

43-(1)] from a point 0.3 mile upstream of Town 

of Siler City upper reservoir dam to a point 0.3 

mile downstream of Lacy Creek from WS-III to 

WS-III CA. 

(2) the portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-

43-(8)] from dam at lower water supply 

reservoir for Town of Siler City to a point 65 

feet below dam (site of proposed dam) from C 

to WS-III CA. 

(3) the portion of Mud Lick Creek (Index No. 17-

43-6) from a point 0.4 mile upstream of 

Chatham County SR 1355 to Town of Siler City 

lower water supply reservoir from WS-III to 

WS-III CA. 

(4) the portion of Lacy Creek (17-43-7) from a 

point 0.6 mile downstream of Chatham County 

SR 1362 to Town of Siler City lower water 

supply reservoir from WS-III to WS-III CA. 

(o)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications 

listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 

maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 

UWLs. 

(1) Military Ocean Terminal Sunny Point Pools, all 

on the eastern shore of the Cape Fear River 

[Index No. 18-(71)] were reclassified to Class 

WL UWL. 

(2) Salters Lake Bay near Salters Lake [Index No. 

18-44-4] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(3) Jones Lake Bay near Jones Lake [Index No. 18-

46-7-1] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(4) Weymouth Woods Sandhill Seep near Mill 

Creek [18-23-11-(1)] was reclassified to Class 

UWL. 

(5) Fly Trap Savanna near Cape Fear River [Index 

No. 18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL 

UWL. 

(6) Lily Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-

(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(7) Grassy Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No. 

18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(8) The Neck Savanna near Sandy Run Swamp 

[Index No. 18-74-33-2] was reclassified to 

Class WL UWL. 

(9) Bower's Bog near Mill Creek [Index No. 18-23-

11-(1)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(10) Bushy Lake near Turnbull Creek [Index No. 18-

46] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(p)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 2009 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-

(26)] (including tributaries) from Smithfield 

Packing Company's intake, located 

approximately 2 miles upstream of County 

Road 1316, to a point 0.5 miles upstream of 

Smithfield Packing Company's intake from 

Class C to Class WS-IV CA. 

(2) the portion of Cape Fear River [Index No.18-

(26)] (including tributaries) from a point 0.5 

miles upstream of Smithfield Packing 

Company's intake to a point 1 mile upstream of 

Grays Creek from Class C to Class WS-IV. 

(q)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 11, 2009 with the reclassification of all 

Class C NSW waters and all Class B NSW waters upstream of the 

dam at B. Everett Jordan Reservoir from Class C NSW and Class 

B NSW to Class WS-V NSW and Class WS-V & B NSW, 

respectively. All waters within the B. Everett Jordan Reservoir 

Watershed are within a designated Critical Water Supply 

Watershed and are subject to a special management strategy 

specified in Rules .0262 through .0273 of this Subchapter. 

(r)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 

a portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(28.5)] from the Town 

of Pittsboro water supply intake, which is located approximately 

0.15 mile west of U.S. 15/501, to a point 0.5 mile upstream of the 

Town of Pittsboro water supply intake from Class WS-IV to Class 

WS-IV CA. 

(s)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective March 1, 2012 with the reclassification of the 

portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(1)] from the City of 

Greensboro's intake, located approximately 650 feet upstream of 

Guilford County 2712, to a point 0.5 miles upstream of the intake 

from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV CA NSW, and the 

portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(1)] from a point 0.5 miles 

upstream of the intake to a point 0.6 miles downstream of U.S. 

Route 29 from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV NSW. 

(t)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective June 30, 2017 with the reclassification of a 

section of 18-(71) from upstream mouth of Toomers Creek to a 

line across the river between Lilliput Creek and Snows Cut from 

Class SC to Class SC Sw. A site-specific management strategy is 

outlined in 15A NCAC 02B .0227. 

(u)(t)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2019 with the reclassification of 

a portion of Sandy Creek [Index No. 17-16-(1)] (including 

tributaries) from a point 0.4 mile upstream of SR-2481 to a point 

0.6 mile upstream of N.C. Hwy 22 from WS-III to WS-III CA. 

The reclassification resulted in an updated representation of the 

water supply watershed for the Sandy Creek reservoir. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1). 
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Education intends to repeal the rules cited as 16 

NCAC 06E .0202 and .0203. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://stateboard.ncpublicschools.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 13, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  https://ncgov.webex.com/meet/lou.martin, or to join 

by phone: 

 

1+415-655-0003 US Toll 

1+904-900-2303 United States Toll (Jacksonville) 

Access code: 615 950 383 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The State Board of Education 

proposes to repeal 16 NCAC 06E .0202 INTERSCHOLASTIC 

ATHLETICS because it substantially duplicates proposed rule 16 

NCAC 06E .0204 INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETICS. 

 

The State Board of Education proposes to repeal 16 NCAC 06E 

.0203 ATHLETIC INJURY MANAGEMENT because it 

substantially duplicates proposed rule 16 NCAC 06E .0206 

ATHLETIC TRAINERS. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lou Martin, State Board of 

Education, 6302 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6302; 

email lou.martin@dpi.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 06 ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06E - STUDENTS 

 

SECTION .0200 - SCHOOL ATHLETICS AND SPORTS 

MEDICINE 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0202 INTERSCHOLASTIC 

ATHLETICS 

16 NCAC 06E .0203 ATHLETIC INJURY 

MANAGEMENT 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(12); 115C-47(4); N.C. Constitution, 

Article IX, Sec. 5. 

 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Child Care Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 09 .3101-.3104 

 

Effective Date:  August 13, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  August 5, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  The Governor has declared a state of 

emergency to enact protective measures to help prevent the 

spread of the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19).  This disease can 

result in serious illness or death to the public.  The public health 

emergency, and the resulting closure of public schools, has 

impacted North Carolina school-age children and their families.  

To the degree that it is able, the North Carolina Child Care 

Commission is implementing emergency rules in order to give 

public schools options to provide care outside, or in addition to, 

the traditional school building, as well as give licensed facilities 

some flexibility to create and fill additional slots for school-age 

children to receive care while attending remote/online learning 

programs. 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES 

 

SECTION .3100 – CARE FOR SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

DURING STATE OF EMERGENCY 

 

10A NCAC 09 .3101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Section apply to care for school-age children, as 

defined by 10A NCAC 09 .0102(41), during the declared State of 

Emergency to coordinate the State's response and protective 

actions to address the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) 

public health emergency and to provide for the health, safety, and 

welfare of residents and visitors located in North Carolina 

("Declaration of a State of Emergency"). All rules in Section 

.2500 of this Chapter apply except as provided in this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85, 110-86; 110-88; 110-

91; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 13, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .3102 DEFINITIONS 

The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as follows 

except when the context of the rule requires a different meaning.  

(1) "Public schools" means:  

(a) any building that is approved for 

school occupancy and which houses 

school-age children as part of the 

public school system during the school 

year; or 

(b) a Remote Learning Facility.  

(2) "Remote Learning Facility" means any building 

that is used by a public school system, pursuant 

to a Contractual Arrangement, to house school-

age children enrolled in that public school 

system during the school year for the purpose 

of facilitating online or remote learning 

programs, and which follows the "Strong 

Schools NC: Public Health Toolkit (K-12) 

Interim Guidance" established by the North 

Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services.  

(3) "Contractual Arrangement" means a written 

agreement wherein the local school 

administrative unit agrees as follows: 

(a) to be responsible for the enrollment 

and attendance of school-age children 

at a Remote Learning Facility; and  

(b) that it shall be liable for any incidents 

or occurrences at the Remote Learning 

Facility in the same way it would be 

liable if the school-age child(ren) were 

in a building that is approved for 

school occupancy and which houses 

any part of the public school system. 

Notwithstanding the foregoing, this 

provision shall not prohibit the local 

school administrative unit from 

obtaining liability insurance or from 

contracting with the Remote Learning 

Facility regarding indemnification or 

other terms regarding the 

apportionment of liability between 

themselves for incidents or 

occurrences. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85, 110-86; 110-88; 110-

91; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 13, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .3103 PUBLIC SCHOOLS 

Pursuant to G.S. 110-86(2)(e), Public schools are not child care 

and are, therefore, exempt from licensure. Notwithstanding any 

other provision of this Section, all NC Pre-K programs, as defined 

in Section .3000 of this Chapter, and Developmental Day 

Services, as defined in Section .2900 of this Chapter, and any 

program or arrangement housed in a Public school that is not 

operated by the local school administrative unit and provides care 

to three or more infants, toddlers, or preschoolers on a regular 

basis of at least once per week for more than four hours from 
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persons other than their guardians or full time custodians or from 

persons not related to them by birth, marriage, or adoption are 

child care as defined in G.S. 110-86(2) and requires a child care 

license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85, 110-86; 110-88; 110-

91; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 13, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .3104 ADDING SPACE AT LICENSED 

CENTERS FOR CARE OF SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

If an operator of a licensed child care center wishes to use space, 

regardless of location, not previously  approved for child care 

("additional space") to care for school-age children during the 

Declaration of a State of Emergency, the operator shall notify the 

Division of the desired change pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .0204, 

but shall have six months to obtain any required inspections of the 

additional space by the local health, building, and fire inspections 

in accordance with G.S. 110-91(1), (4), and (5). If all other 

standards set forth in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter are met, the 

operator may provide care to school-age children in the additional 

space and the Division shall document the same in a manner that 

will notify parents and the public of the change. Once the operator 

provides documentation that the additional space conforms to all 

applicable sanitation, building, and fire standards, and if all 

applicable requirements of G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Chapter 

are met, the Division shall issue a new license pursuant to 10A 

NCAC 09 .0204. If a health, building, and/or fire inspection 

reveals that the additional space does not conform to the required 

standards, the Division may issue a provisional license under the 

polices of the Commission, as set forth in 10A NCAC 09 .2204. 

Any additional space that the operator desires to use as additional 

space for care of school-age children, which is not located within 

the currently licensed facility, shall not be required to meet the 

outdoor space and fencing requirements of G.S. 110-91(6). If 

there is no safe outdoor space at the additional space to be used 

for care of school-age children, which is not located within the 

currently licensed facility, operators shall not be required to meet 

the requirements of 10A NCAC 09 .0508(c). Notwithstanding any 

other provision in this Section, operators shall provide adequate 

indoor space for daily gross motor activities when safe outdoor 

space is not available.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-

91; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 13, 2020. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on July 16, 2020 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

PESTICIDE BOARD 

Duties (Continued) 02 NCAC 09L .0102* 34:11 NCR 

Assignment of Duties 02 NCAC 09L .0103* 34:11 NCR 

Registration for the Following Year 02 NCAC 09L .0308* 34:11 NCR 

ReRegistration 02 NCAC 09L .0310* 34:11 NCR 

Registration of Pesticides to Meet Special Local Needs 02 NCAC 09L .0317* 34:11 NCR 

Exemption of Agencies for Use of Pesticides in Emergencies 02 NCAC 09L .0318* 34:11 NCR 

Tolerances 02 NCAC 09L .0402* 34:11 NCR 

List of Restricted Use Pesticides 02 NCAC 09L .0502* 34:11 NCR 

Pesticide Applicators 02 NCAC 09L .0503* 34:11 NCR 

Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .0504* 34:11 NCR 

Classifications 02 NCAC 09L .0505 34:11 NCR 

Consultant Education Requirements 02 NCAC 09L .0509* 34:11 NCR 

Continuances 02 NCAC 09L .0516* 34:11 NCR 

Certification 02 NCAC 09L .0519* 34:11 NCR 

Recertification Requirements 02 NCAC 09L .0520* 34:11 NCR 

Recertification Options 02 NCAC 09L .0522* 34:11 NCR 

Recertification in Additional Categories 02 NCAC 09L .0523* 34:11 NCR 

Expiration of Certification 02 NCAC 09L .0524* 34:11 NCR 

Recertification of Pesticide Dealers 02 NCAC 09L .0525* 34:11 NCR 

Pesticide Dealer Recertification Options 02 NCAC 09L .0526* 34:11 NCR 

Expiration of Pesticide Dealer Certification 02 NCAC 09L .0527* 34:11 NCR 

Disposal of Pesticides 02 NCAC 09L .0602* 34:11 NCR 

Disposal of Pesticide Containers 02 NCAC 09L .0603* 34:11 NCR 

Orchard Rats 02 NCAC 09L .0701* 34:11 NCR 

Restrictions Concerning Control of Orchard Rats 02 NCAC 09L .0702* 34:11 NCR 

Gulls 02 NCAC 09L .0703* 34:11 NCR 

Restrictions Concerning Control of Pigeons 02 NCAC 09L .0705* 34:11 NCR 

Eastern and Hairy-Tailed Moles 02 NCAC 09L .0707* 34:11 NCR 

Adoption by Reference 02 NCAC 09L .0810* 34:11 NCR 

Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .1001* 34:11 NCR 

General Requirements 02 NCAC 09L .1002* 34:11 NCR 

Drift Control 02 NCAC 09L .1003* 34:11 NCR 

Restricted Areas 02 NCAC 09L .1005* 34:11 NCR 

Exemptions 02 NCAC 09L .1006* 34:11 NCR 

Notification of Apiaries 02 NCAC 09L .1009* 34:11 NCR 

Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .1102* 34:11 NCR 

Certification Examination 02 NCAC 09L .1103* 34:11 NCR 

Single Purchase Emergency Certification Permit 02 NCAC 09L .1104* 34:11 NCR 

Applications Under Supervision Of Certified Applicator 02 NCAC 09L .1105* 34:11 NCR 
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Age Limitations 02 NCAC 09L .1107* 34:11 NCR 

Term of Certification; Recertification 02 NCAC 09L .1108 34:11 NCR 

Certification of Private Applicators 02 NCAC 09L .1109* 34:11 NCR 

Certification/Recertification Fee 02 NCAC 09L .1111 34:11 NCR 

Restrictions on Use and Storage 02 NCAC 09L .1201* 34:11 NCR 

Pesticide Dealer and Purchaser Responsibility 02 NCAC 09L .1202* 34:11 NCR 

General Requirements 02 NCAC 09L .1302* 34:11 NCR 

Exemptions 02 NCAC 09L .1303* 34:11 NCR 

Record Keeping Requirements 02 NCAC 09L .1305* 34:11 NCR 

Recipient Identification 02 NCAC 09L .1306* 34:11 NCR 

Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .1401* 34:11 NCR 

Record Keeping Requirements 02 NCAC 09L .1402 34:11 NCR 

Drift Control 02 NCAC 09L .1404 34:11 NCR 

Adoption by Reference 02 NCAC 09L .1805* 34:11 NCR 

Crop Advisor Exemption 02 NCAC 09L .1806* 34:11 NCR 

Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .1901* 34:11 NCR 

Storage Requirements for All Pesticides 02 NCAC 09L .1902* 34:11 NCR 

Storage Facility Requirements: RUP 02 NCAC 09L .1905* 34:11 NCR 

Large Storage Facility Requirements: RUP 02 NCAC 09L .1906* 34:11 NCR 

Purpose and Implementation of Contingency Plan 02 NCAC 09L .1907* 34:11 NCR 

Content of Contingency Plan 02 NCAC 09L .1908* 34:11 NCR 

Copies of Contingency Plan 02 NCAC 09L .1909* 34:11 NCR 

Effective Date of Storage Regulation 02 NCAC 09L .1913 34:11 NCR 

Bulk Storage Requirements 02 NCAC 09L .1914* 34:11 NCR 

Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .2001* 34:11 NCR 

Application of Pesticides Through Irrigation Systems 02 NCAC 09L .2002* 34:11 NCR 

Prohibition of Connection to a Public Water System 02 NCAC 09L .2003* 34:11 NCR 

Inspection: Maintenance and Modification 02 NCAC 09L .2004* 34:11 NCR 

Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .2201 34:11 NCR 

Pesticide Use Limitation Areas 02 NCAC 09L .2202 34:11 NCR 

Pesticides with Additional Use Limitations 02 NCAC 09L .2203* 34:11 NCR 

COMMERCE - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY, DIVISION OF 

Addresses for Filing Claims, Appeals, Exceptions, Request... 04 NCAC 24A .0104* 34:19 NCR 

Method of Payment 04 NCAC 24A .0206 34:19 NCR 

Written Request Required 04 NCAC 24A .0501* 34:19 NCR 

Content of Request for Documents, Hearing Recordings and ... 04 NCAC 24A .0502* 34:19 NCR 

Indigency 04 NCAC 24A .0503* 34:19 NCR 

Invoice and Fees 04 NCAC 24A .0504* 34:19 NCR 

Official Forms 04 NCAC 24A .0601* 34:19 NCR 

Notice Requirement for Overpayment 04 NCAC 24B .0601* 34:19 NCR 

Administrative Proceedings 04 NCAC 24C .0301* 34:19 NCR 

General Format of Reports and Forms and Methods of Submis... 04 NCAC 24D .0601* 34:19 NCR 

Requirements for Transfer of Experience 04 NCAC 24D .0702* 34:19 NCR 

Late Notice of Transfer 04 NCAC 24D .0703* 34:19 NCR 

Special Tax Investigations 04 NCAC 24D .0901* 34:19 NCR 

Division's Obligations 04 NCAC 24D .1002 34:19 NCR 
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ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Expenditures for Residential Real Property 08 NCAC 21 .0301* 34:20 NCR 

BLIND, COMMISSION FOR THE 

Suspension of Termination of License and Removal from Bus... 10A NCAC 63C .0203* 34:17 NCR 

Filling of Vacancies 10A NCAC 63C .0204* 34:17 NCR 

Procedure 10A NCAC 63C .0403* 34:17 NCR 

General Responsibilities 10A NCAC 63C .0601 34:17 NCR 

CODE OFFICIALS QUALIFICATION BOARD 

Nature of Probationary Certificate 11 NCAC 08 .0602 34:18 NCR 

Nature of Standard Certificate 11 NCAC 08 .0702 34:18 NCR 

Residential Changeout Inspector 11 NCAC 08 .0734* 34:18 NCR 

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

Application for License 14B NCAC 17 .0201* 34:18 NCR 

Renewal or Reinstatement of License 14B NCAC 17 .0204* 34:18 NCR 

Application for Registration 14B NCAC 17 .0301 34:18 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD/PERFUSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

Practice During a Disaster 21 NCAC 32V .0111* 34:03 NCR 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 34A .0204 34:19 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

Right To Hearing 21 NCAC 46 .2001* 34:18 NCR 

Request for Hearing 21 NCAC 46 .2004* 34:18 NCR 

Granting or Denying Hearing Request 21 NCAC 46 .2005* 34:18 NCR 

Notice of Hearing 21 NCAC 46 .2006* 34:18 NCR 

Who Shall Hear Contested Cases 21 NCAC 46 .2007* 34:18 NCR 

Informal Procedures 21 NCAC 46 .2008* 34:18 NCR 

Petition for Intervention 21 NCAC 46 .2009 34:18 NCR 

Types of Intervention 21 NCAC 46 .2010 34:18 NCR 

Disqualification of Board Members 21 NCAC 46 .2011* 34:18 NCR 

Subpoenas 21 NCAC 46 .2013* 34:18 NCR 

Witnesses 21 NCAC 46 .2014 34:18 NCR 

Final Decision 21 NCAC 46 .2015* 34:18 NCR 

Proposals for Decisions 21 NCAC 46 .2016* 34:18 NCR 

Reapplications, Reinstatement, Rehearing and Reconsideration 21 NCAC 46 .2017* 34:18 NCR 

 
The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

Procedures for Provisional Licensure 21 NCAC 34B .0313* 34:19 NCR 

Application Form and Equivalent Examinations for Reciproc... 21 NCAC 34B .0502* 34:19 NCR 
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TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0102 DUTIES (CONTINUED) 

The North Carolina Pesticide Board has delegated the following 

statutory powers, duties, and authorities to the Commissioner of 

Agriculture: 

(1) the first sentence of G.S. 143-442(a); 

(2) G.S. 143-442(c); 

(3) the first two sentences of G.S. 143-442(d); 

(4) G.S. 143-443(a)(1); 

(5) G.S. 143-443(a)(2); 

(6) G.S. 143-445(a)(3) and (b); 

(7) the first sentence of G.S. 143-446(a); 

(8) the first sentence of G.S. 143-446(c); 

(9) G.S. 143-447(b); 

(10) G.S. 143-448(c); 

(11) G.S. 143-448(e); 

(12) G.S. 143-448(f); 

(13) G.S. 143-449(a); 

(14) the first sentence of G.S. 143-449(b); 

(15) the first phrase of G.S. 143-450(a); 

(16) G.S. 143-452(a); 

(17) G.S. 143-452(b), excluding the first sentence; 

(18) G.S.143-452(e); 

(19) the first sentence and last two sentences of G.S. 

143-452(f); 

(20) G.S. 143-453(a); 

(21) the first sentence of G.S. 143-453(b); 

(22) G.S. 143-454(a); 

(23) the first sentence of G.S. 143-455(a); 

(24) G.S. 143-455(b); 

(25) the first sentence of G.S. 143-455(c); 

(26) G.S. 143-461(7); 

(27) G.S. 143-461(8); 

(28) G.S. 143-465(b); 

(29) G.S. 143-466(b); 

(30) the first sentence of G.S. 143-466(c); 

(31) the first sentence of G.S. 143-466(d); and 

(32) G.S. 143-466(e). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-461(5); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988; August 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0103 ASSIGNMENT OF DUTIES 

The Commissioner of Agriculture has assigned the administrative 

and enforcement duties and functions assigned to him in the North 

Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971 to the Structural Pest Control and 

Pesticides Division of the North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-438(4); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1982; January 27, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0308 REGISTRATION FOR THE 

FOLLOWING YEAR 

Registration of a pesticide registered the previous year will be 

renewed provided its registration status with the Environmental 

Protection Agency remains unchanged at the time of review and 

its continued use in North Carolina is in the best interest of the 

public as stated in G.S. 143-442(d). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-442; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0310 REREGISTRATION 

Reregistration of a pesticide registered the previous year with the 

label or labeling revised shall be accepted provided the following 

conditions are met: 

(1) The revision and amendment have been 

accepted by the Environmental Protection 

Agency or approved for special local needs; and 

(2) The revision and amendment shall cause no 

unreasonable adverse effects as defined in the 

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide 

Act (FIFRA) Section 2 (bb). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-442; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0317 REGISTRATION OF 

PESTICIDES TO MEET SPECIAL LOCAL NEEDS 

"Regulations Pertaining to State Registration of Pesticides to 

Meet Special Local Needs," 40 C.F.R. Part 162, Subpart D is 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. This document may be obtained at no cost from the U.S. 

Government Printing Office at http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?c=ecfr&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40cfr162_main_02.tpl. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437;143-440; 143-461;  

Eff. November 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0318 EXEMPTION OF AGENCIES 

FOR USE OF PESTICIDES IN EMERGENCIES 

"Exemption of Federal and State Agencies for Use of Pesticides 

in Emergencies," 40 C.F.R. Section 166 is incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions. This 

document may be obtained at no cost from the U.S. Government 

Printing Office at http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40cfr166_main_02.tpl. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-440; 143-461; 

150B-14; 

Eff. November 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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02 NCAC 09L .0402 TOLERANCES 

In regards to establishing tolerances providing for deviations from the guaranteed analysis statement for official samples, the following 

enforcement standards shall apply: 

(1) A "passed" judgment on a pesticide formulation shall be made if the analytical results are within the following 

allowable deviations below guarantee: 

 

Pesticide Active Ingredient  Allowable Deviation 

Guarantee, Percent   Below Guarantee 

 

<1.00      15 percent of Guarantee 

1.00 - 19.99     0.1 plus 5 percent of Guarantee 

20.00 - 49.99     0.5 plus 3 percent of Guarantee 

50.00 - 100.00     1.0 plus 2 percent of Guarantee 

 

(2) A sample result falling outside of the allowable 

deviations below guarantee shall not be 

"deficient" if one of the following factors could 

have contributed to the off-limits analysis: 

(a) special sampling problems, such as 

fertilizer-pesticide mixtures and 

certain granular products; or 

(b) accuracy, specificity, and 

reproducibility of the methods used 

when applied to the particular 

formulation; 

(3) Allowable deviations, similar to those for 

"deficiencies," shall not be applicable to 

pesticide formulations with active ingredients 

found to be in excess of the guarantee 

("overages"). Each sample analysis shall be 

judged individually as to whether or not the 

overage is excessive by using the following 

criteria: 

(a) no illegal residues resulting from use 

according to directions; 

(b) no unreasonable adverse effects to 

applicator or user; 

(c) no unreasonable adverse effects to 

non-target organisms or the 

environment; 

(d) stability of ingredients and the need 

for "over-formulating"; or 

(e) accuracy, specificity, reproducibility, 

etc., of the methods used when applied 

to the particular formulation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437(1); 143-446; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988; August 1, 1982; January 27, 

1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0502 LIST OF RESTRICTED USE 

PESTICIDES 

For the purpose of this Subchapter a "restricted use pesticide" 

shall be: 

(1) any pesticide required by the Environmental 

Protection Agency to bear the designation on its 

labeling "Restricted Use Pesticide;" 

(2) arsenic trioxide; and 

(3) any pesticide approved under Rule .0318 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440(a),(b); 143-441; 

143-458; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 21, 1977; 

Emergency Amendment [(e)] Eff. July 8, 1977, for a Period of 176 

Days to Expire on December 31, 1977; 

Emergency Amendment [(e)] Expired Eff. December 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1990; August 1, 1982; January 1, 1979; 

June 30, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0503 PESTICIDE APPLICATORS 

(a)  The Commissioner shall require the licensing of at least one 

person at each business location who shall be responsible for the 

application of pesticides for routine pest control situations. 

(b)  The person licensed as the pesticide applicator shall supervise 

and guide the activities of all personnel applying pesticides from 

the business location of the licensee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-452; 143-453; 143-458; 

143-460(30); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0504 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to Rules .0505, .0506, and .0507 

of this Section: 

(1) "Agricultural pest control": 

(a) Plant. Includes pesticide applicators 

using or supervising the use of 

pesticides in production of agricultural 

crops, including tobacco, peanuts, 

cotton, feed grains, soybeans and 

forage; vegetables; small fruits; tree 

fruits and nuts; as well as on 

grasslands and non-crop agricultural 

lands; and 

(b) Animal. Includes pesticide applicators 

using or supervising the use of 

pesticides on animals, including, but 

not limited to, the foregoing, beef 
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cattle, dairy cattle, swine, sheep, 

horses, goats, poultry, and livestock, 

and to places where animals are 

confined. Doctors of veterinary 

medicine engaged in the business of 

applying pesticides for hire, publicly 

holding themselves out as pesticide 

applicators, or engaged in large-scale 

use of pesticides are included in this 

category. 

(2) "Forest pest control" includes pesticide 

applicators using or supervising the use of 

pesticides in forests, forest nurseries, and forest 

seed-producing areas. 

(3) "Ornamental and turf pest control" includes 

pesticide applicators using or supervising the 

use of pesticides to control pests in the 

maintenance and production of ornamental 

trees, shrubs, flowers, and turf. 

(4) "Seed treatment" includes pesticide applicators 

using or supervising the use of pesticides on 

seeds. 

(5) "Aquatic pest control" includes pesticide 

applicators using or supervising the use of any 

pesticide intended to be applied to standing or 

running water, excluding applicators engaged 

in public health related activities included in 

Item (7) of this Rule. 

(6) "Right-of-way pest control" includes pesticide 

applicators using or supervising the use of 

pesticides in the maintenance of public roads, 

electric powerlines, pipelines, railway rights-

of-way, or other similar areas. 

(7) "Public health pest control" includes primarily, 

but is not limited to, state, federal, or other 

governmental employees using or supervising 

the use of pesticides in public health programs 

for the management and control of pests having 

medical and public health importance. 

(8) "Regulatory pest control" includes state, 

federal, or other governmental employees who 

use or supervise the use of pesticides in the 

control of regulated pests. 

(9) "Demonstration and research pest control" 

includes the following: 

(a) persons who demonstrate to the public 

the use and techniques of application 

of pesticides or supervise such 

demonstration, including extension 

specialists and county agents; 

commercial representatives 

demonstrating pesticide products, and 

those persons demonstrating methods 

used in public programs; and 

(b) persons who use or supervise the use 

of pesticides while conducting field 

research with pesticides. This includes 

state, federal, commercial, and other 

persons conducting field research on 

or utilizing pesticides. 

(10) "Wood treatment" includes pesticide 

applicators using or supervising the use of 

restricted use pesticides in wood preservation 

and wood products treatment. 

(11) "Soil and growing media fumigation pest 

control" includes individuals using or 

supervising the use of any fumigant pesticide 

injected or applied to soils or growing media. 

This category excludes fumigation of raw 

agricultural commodities and all structural 

fumigation such as: 

(a) boxcars; 

(b) warehouses; 

(c) tractor trailers; and 

(d) grain bins. 

(12) "Growing media" includes a substance or 

substances through which roots grow and 

extract water and nutrients. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-452(d); 143-460(29); 40 

C.F.R. 171.3; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; November 1, 1984; August 1, 1982; 

October 27, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0505 CLASSIFICATIONS 

The following classifications and subclassifications shall apply to 

the licensing of pesticide applicators: 

(1) pesticide applicators and public operators 

utilizing ground equipment: 

(a) agricultural pest control: 

(i) plant; and 

(ii) animal; 

(b) forest pest control; 

(c) ornamental and turf pest control; 

(d) aquatic pest control; 

(e) right-of-way pest control; 

(f) public health pest control; 

(g) regulatory pest control; 

(h) demonstration and research pest 

control: 

(i) agricultural pest control: 

(A) plant; and 

(B) animal; 

(ii) forest pest control; 

(iii) ornamental and turf pest 

control; 

(iv) aquatic pest control; 

(v) right-of-way pest control; 

(vi) public health pest control; 

(vii) regulatory pest control; 

(viii) seed treatment; 

(ix) wood treatment; and 

(x) soil and growing media 

fumigation pest control; 

(i) seed treatment; 
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(j) wood treatment; and 

(k) soil and growing media fumigation 

pest control; 

(2) pesticide applicators and public operators 

utilizing aerial equipment: 

(a) agricultural pest control: plant; 

(b) forest pest control; 

(c) ornamental and turf pest control; 

(d) aquatic pest control; 

(e) right-of-way pest control; 

(f) public health pest control; 

(g) regulatory pest control; and 

(h) demonstration and research pest 

control: 

(i) agricultural pest control: 

plant; 

(ii) forest pest control; 

(iii) ornamental and turf pest 

control; 

(iv) aquatic pest control; 

(v) right-of-way pest control; 

(vi) public health pest control; 

and 

(vii) regulatory pest control. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-452(d); 143-460(29); 143-

460(33); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; November 1, 1984; August 26, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0509 CONSULTANT EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An applicant for a pest control consultant license shall possess 

a Ph.D., master's, or bachelor's degree in an agricultural or 

biological science from an accredited college or university with 

30 semester hours or 45 quarter hours of credit in subject areas in 

which the applicant seeks to obtain a license. Emphasis of study 

shall include insect, plant, bacterial, and fungal pests, as 

applicable to the category, and integrated pest management. As 

used in this Rule, "accredited college or university" means an 

institution that is accredited by an accrediting commission 

recognized by the Council on Post-Secondary Accreditation. 

(b)  The provisions of this Section shall not apply to anyone 

holding a valid North Carolina pest control consultant license on 

or before July 1, 1992. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-455; 143-460(27); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1992; November 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0516 CONTINUANCES 

Any firm, corporation, or government unit that is deprived of the 

services of the sole individual at an business location who is 

licensed as a pesticide dealer may continue to operate in their 

usual manner for a maximum of two months, provided: 

(1) It directs a request for an examination 

appointment for a designated individual to the 

Structural Pest Control and Pesticides Division 

of the North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services within two 

weeks of the date it terminates or loses the 

services of its licensed pesticide dealer; 

(2) It has available a designated individual who has 

worked in pesticide sales under a licensed 

pesticide dealers supervision for at least three 

months; and 

(3) The designated individual shall supervise 

pesticide sales during the interim period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-449(b); 143-461(a); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1982; January 27, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0519 CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Pesticide applicators, public operators, and pest control 

consultants, as defined by G.S. 143-460, who have completed the 

pesticide license examination requirements of G.S. 143-453 or 

143-455, as applicable, are certified to use or supervise the use of 

any restricted use pesticide, as defined by Rule .0502(1) of this 

Section. Certification is valid only for those uses covered by the 

certified individual's certification category(ies), as defined by 

Rule .0504 of this Section. 

(b)  The term of certification shall be five years for individuals 

licensed to use ground equipment and two years for individuals 

(contractors and pilots) licensed to use aerial equipment. 

However, all individuals shall renew their pesticide license 

annually, as required in the North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437(1); 143-440(b); 

143-452(a); 143-453(c)(2); 143-455(d); 

Eff. September 10, 1980; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0520 RECERTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  In order to ensure that certified pesticide applicators, public 

operators, and pest control consultants continue to meet the needs 

of changing technology necessary for the use of pesticides, they 

shall be subject to recertification requirements as herein defined. 

(b)  The license of a certified pesticide applicator, public operator, 

or pest control consultant shall not be renewed annually for more 

than five years for individuals licensed to use ground equipment 

or two years for individuals (contractors and pilots) licensed to 

use aerial equipment unless the individual has been recertified 

through one of the options in Rule .0522 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437(1); 143-440(b); 

143-452(a); 143-453(c)(2); 143-455(d); 

Eff. September 10, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0522 RECERTIFICATION OPTIONS 

(a)  Pesticide applicators, public operators, and pest control 

consultants may be recertified by completion of approved 
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continuing certification credit requirements in the pest control 

category in which the individual is certified and desires to retain 

certification. A "continuing certification credit" is defined as one 

hour of approved continuing certification training. Continuing 

certification training shall be approved by the Board based upon 

the US Environmental Protection Agency "Standards for 

certification of commercial applicators," as contained in 40 CFR 

171.103, and "Standards for recertification of certified 

applicators," as contained in 40  CFR 171.107. Such training may 

consist of grower meetings, seminars, short courses, or other 

presentations taught by extension pesticide personnel, or other 

privately or publicly sponsored training organizations approved 

by the Board. Continuing certification requirements for each pest 

control category are as follows: 

(1) aquatic  6 credits per 5-year period 

(2) public health 6 credits per 5-year period 

(3) forest  6 credits per 5-year period 

(4) right-of-way 4 credits per 5-year period 

(5) regulatory 6 credits per 5-year period 

(6) ag pest-animal 6 credits per 5-year period 

(7) ornamental and turf   

  10 credits per 5-year period 

(8) seed treatment 3 credits per 5-year period 

(9) ag pest-plant 10 credits per 5-year period 

(10) demonstration and research  

  10 credits per 5-year period 

The continuing certification credits required for 

demonstration and research may consist of any 

combination of credits divided between training in the 

primary categories set forth in Subparagraph (a)(1) 

through (a)(9) of this Rule and training in demonstration 

and research. 

(11) aerial  4 credits per 2-year period 

The Continuing Certification Credits required for aerial 

applicators shall include one credit obtained through 

training in aerial methods. 

(12) wood treatment 4 credits per 5-year period 

(13) soil and growing media fumigation  

  3 credits per 5-year period 

The Continuing Certification Credits established for each ground 

application pest control category shall be obtained in at least two 

years of the five-year period. 

(b)  Pesticide applicators, public operators, and pest control 

consultants may be recertified by passing a written 

comprehensive examination administered by North Carolina 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services personnel and 

based on training materials that have been approved by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437(1); 143-440(b); 

143-453(c)(2); 143-455(d); 

Eff. September 10, 1980; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0523 RECERTIFICATION IN 

ADDITIONAL CATEGORIES 

(a)  Individuals desiring to retain certification in more than one 

pest control category shall complete for each category any one of 

the recertification options described in Rule .0522 of this Section. 

(b)  Individuals desiring to retain certification through Continuing 

Certification Training in more than one ground pest control 

category may do so upon completion of total Continuing 

Certification Credit Requirements in the category carrying the 

highest credit requirements, by completing three Continuing 

Certification Credits in each additional category. 

(c)  Individuals desiring to retain certification through Continuing 

Certification Training in more than one aerial pest control 

category may do so upon completion of total Continuing 

Certification Credit Requirements in any one category, by 

completing one Continuing Certification Credit in each additional 

category. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437(1); 143-440(b); 

143-453(c)(2); 143-455(d); 

Eff. September 10, 1980; 

Amended Eff. October 22, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0524 EXPIRATION OF 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The recertification period shall expire on June 30th. 

(b)  Each certified individual shall be notified 6-9 months prior to 

the recertification expiration date of the individual's remaining 

requirements for recertification. 

(c)  A certified individual who has completed none of the 

recertification options in Rule .0522 of this Section prior to the 

recertification expiration date shall retake and pass a 

comprehensive license examination defined in G.S. 143-453 or 

143-455 before a license will be reissued in any category.  

(d)  No individual shall be allowed to carry over any Continuing 

Certification Credits from one recertification period to another. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437(1); 143-440(b); 

143-453(c)(2); 143-455(d); 

Eff. September 10, 1980; 

Amended Eff. February 4, 1993; November 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0525 RECERTIFICATION OF 

PESTICIDE DEALERS 

(a)  Pesticide dealers who have completed the pesticide license 

examination requirements of G.S. 143-449 are certified for a 

period of five years. However, all such individuals shall renew 

their pesticide licenses annually, as required in the North Carolina 

Pesticide Law of 1971. 

(b)  In order to ensure that certified pesticide dealers continue to 

meet the needs of changing technology necessary for the use of 

pesticides, they shall be subject to recertification requirements as 

as defined in Rule .0526 of this Section. 

(c)  In no event shall the license of a pesticide dealer continue to 

be renewed annually for more than five years unless the individual 

has been recertified through one of the options in Rule .0526 of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-448; 143-449; 

Eff. October 22, 1981; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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02 NCAC 09L .0526 PESTICIDE DEALER 

RECERTIFICATION OPTIONS 

(a)  A pesticide dealer may be recertified by completing five 

approved Pesticide Dealer Continuing Certification Credits. A 

"Pesticide Dealer Continuing Certification Credit" is defined as 

one hour of approved Pesticide Dealer Continuing Certification 

Training. Continuing certification training shall be approved by 

the Board based upon the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

"Standards for certification of commercial applicators," as 

contained in 40 CFR 171.103. Such training may consist of 

meetings, seminars, short courses, or other presentations taught 

by extension pesticide personnel, or other privately or publicly 

sponsored training organizations. The Continuing Certification 

Credits shall be obtained in at least two years of the five-year 

period. 

(b)  Instead of completing five certification credits, a pesticide 

dealer may be recertified by passing a written comprehensive 

examination administered by North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services personnel and based upon the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency "Standards for 

certification of commercial applicators," as contained in 40 CFR 

171.103. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-448; 143-449; 

Eff. October 22, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0527 EXPIRATION OF PESTICIDE 

DEALER CERTIFICATION 

Pesticide dealers shall be subject to the same certification 

expiration requirements as set forth in Rule .0524 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-448; 143-449; 

Eff. October 22, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0602 DISPOSAL OF PESTICIDES 

(a)  Any person disposing of pesticides shall give first preference 

to recovering some useful value from excess pesticides. 

Whenever possible, excess pesticide shall be used according to its 

labeling for the purpose originally intended. 

(b)  Excess pesticides and pesticide-related wastes shall be 

disposed of in accordance with labeling requirements. Note: In 

addition to the requirements of these rules, disposal of excess 

pesticides and pesticide-related wastes is also subject to rules 

adopted by the North Carolina Commission for Public Health as 

set forth in 15A NCAC 13A, Hazardous Waste Management, and 

13B, Solid Waste Management. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-441; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1991; December 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0603 DISPOSAL OF PESTICIDE 

CONTAINERS 

(a)  Prior to disposal, all pesticide containers shall be emptied, 

using the practices employed to remove materials from that type 

of container; including shaking, pumping, pouring, triple rinsing, 

or equivalent, and draining into the application tank. The 

materials so removed shall be applied to the labeled site or 

otherwise disposed of in accordance with this Section. 

(b)  Pesticide containers shall be disposed of in accordance with 

labeling requirements. Note: In addition to the requirements of 

these rules, pesticide container disposal is also subject to rules 

adopted by the North Carolina Commission for Public Health as 

set forth in 15A NCAC 13A, Hazardous Waste Management, and 

13B, Solid Waste Management, and to rules adopted by the North 

Carolina Environmental Management Commission as set forth in 

15A NCAC 02D, Air Pollution Control Requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-441; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1991; December 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0701 ORCHARD RATS 

The North Carolina Pesticide Board hereby declares as a pest pine 

voles (Pitymys, or Microtus Pinetorum) and meadow voles 

(Microtus pennsylvanicus), (called orchard rats) on or adjacent to 

cultivated land; forest plantations; ornamentals nurseries; 

orchards; or horticultural plantings in institutional, recreational, 

and residential areas. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-444(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0702 RESTRICTIONS CONCERNING 

CONTROL OF ORCHARD RATS 

Pesticides used to control Orchard Rats shall be applied according 

to label directions to minimize the hazards to nontarget species. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0703 GULLS 

The North Carolina Pesticide Board hereby declares as a pest gulls 

(members of the genus Larus) on or adjacent airport runways 

when they occur in such manner that may endanger air traffic by 

impacting landings and take-offs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-444(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0705 RESTRICTIONS CONCERNING 

CONTROL OF PIGEONS 

The following restrictions apply concerning the use of pesticides 

in controlling the pigeon (Columba livia), also known as rock 

dove: 

(1) only materials registered for pigeons shall be 

used; 

(2) the pesticides shall be used in accordance with 

the directions on the label; 
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(3) the pesticides shall be distributed in such a 

manner as to minimize hazard to non-target 

species, and that all unconsumed bait that is not 

in protected bait stations shall be picked up 

within one week; and 

(4) in municipalities dead birds shall be picked up 

and disposed of by incineration or buried at 

intervals not to exceed 24 hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0707 EASTERN AND HAIRY-TAILED 

MOLES 

(a)  The North Carolina Pesticide Board hereby declares the 

eastern mole, Scalopus aquaticus, and the hairy-tailed mole, 

Parascalops breweri, to be pests. 

(b)  Pesticides registered for use to control the eastern mole and 

the hairy-tailed mole may be used when either species is tunneling 

in managed turf in the following areas: 

(1) residential; 

(2) commercial; 

(3) government property, excluding federal and 

State parks; 

(4) golf courses, driving ranges, and golf 

instructional facilities; 

(5) sod farms; 

(6) athletic fields; or 

(7) cemeteries. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, managed turf shall not include 

pastures. 

(d)  Pesticides used to control the eastern mole and the hairy-tailed 

mole shall not be applied within 100 feet of natural or man-made 

bodies of water, including streams, rivers, ponds, swamps, lakes, 

and wetlands. 

(e)  Pesticides used to control the eastern mole and the hairy-tailed 

mole shall not be applied at elevations of 4000 feet or greater. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-444(1); 143-458; 

Eff. April 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0810 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE 

Part 165 of Title 40: Protection of Environment of the Code of 

Federal Regulations, entitled "Pesticides Management and 

Disposal Subpart E – Standards for Pesticide Containment 

Structures is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. This document may be accessed at no 

cost at www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-441; 143-461; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1001 DEFINITIONS 

All specific words or terms used in this Section shall have the 

same definitions as shown in the North Carolina Pesticide Law of 

1971, G.S. 143-460, unless the context otherwise requires. 

(1) "Agricultural Aircraft Operation" means the 

operation of an aircraft for the purpose of 

dispensing any pesticide directly affecting 

agriculture, horticulture, forest preservation, or 

for any other pest control operation. 

(2) "Adverse Effect" means personal injury, 

damage to personal property, damage to real 

property, damage to the environment, or any 

combination of these. 

(3) "Aircraft" means a weight-carrying structure 

for navigation of the air that is supported either 

by its own buoyancy or by the dynamic action 

of the air against its surfaces. This shall include 

either fixed-wing or rotary-wing aircraft. 

(4) "Congested Areas" means the same meaning as 

described in case law opinions interpreting Title 

14 CFR Part 137, Subpart C. 

(5) "Contractor" means any person who owns or 

manages an aerial application business that is 

engaged in the custom application of pesticides. 

(6) "Custom Application" means any application of 

pesticides by aircraft for which service a 

payment is made. 

(7) "Drift" means the airborne movement of 

pesticides resulting from the application of 

pesticides such as to carry the pesticides beyond 

the target area. 

(8) "Emergency" means an occurrence that can 

impair public health or safety or result in injury, 

damage, or loss of life that calls for action. An 

emergency may be minor or of such magnitude 

as to create a disaster. 

(9) "Environment" means water, air, land, plants, 

man and other animals living therein and the 

interrelationships which exist among these. 

(10) "F.A.R.-137" means Title 14 CFR Part 137, 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, relating 

to agricultural aircraft operations. This 

document may be accessed at 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/14/part-

137. 

(11) "Pilot" means the person in control of the 

aircraft during the application of a pesticide. 

(12) "Registered Apiary" means any place where 

one or more colonies of bees are kept and 

registered with the North Carolina Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

(13) "Respirator" means a respirator or mask of a 

type that has been tested by the National 

Institute of Occupational Safety and Health and 

found to be satisfactory for protection against 

the particular pesticide being used. 

(14) "Spray Equipment" means the equipment used 

for spraying liquid mixtures of pesticides in an 

agricultural aircraft operation. 

(15) "Target Area" means intended site of pesticide 

application. 
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(16) "Toxicity Category I Pesticides" means any 

pesticide products that are required to display 

the signal word "Danger" on the label. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-463; 

Eff. July 2, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1002 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All agricultural aircraft operations in North Carolina shall 

comply with the Federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of 

1971 (OSHA), Title 29 U.S.C. Chapter 15, the North Carolina 

Occupational Safety and Health Law, G.S. Chapter 95 Article 16, 

all rules and regulations promulgated thereunder and the Federal 

Aviation Regulations Part 137. In any case of conflict, a provision 

of the aforenamed authorities takes precedence over any of these 

Rules. 

(b)  Each aerial application business shall have a licensed 

contractor. The contractor shall be responsible for the compliance 

of the business with the North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971 and 

all rules promulgated thereunder except where the responsibility 

is designated to another person(s) this Section. 

(c)  All agricultural aircraft operations (pilot or contractor) shall 

keep a written record to be completed within 72 hours after each 

application, unless requested sooner by an employee of the 

Pesticide Section for the purposes of a pesticide incident 

investigation. The record shall show the following: 

(1) name of contractor; 

(2) name and address of the person for whom the 

pesticide was applied; 

(3) identification of farm or land sites treated with 

pesticide(s); 

(4) name of crop which was treated; 

(5) total number of acres treated; 

(6) the year, month, date, and the specific time of 

day when each pesticide application was 

completed; 

(7) the brand name of the pesticide(s) and EPA 

registration number; 

(8) amount of formulated product or active material 

applied per acre shall be specified; 

(9) total gallons or pounds per acre of the final tank 

mix applied per acre; 

(10) name of pilot; and 

(11) signature of person completing this record. 

(d)  Each day of application shall be recorded as a separate record. 

(e)  The pilot shall, prior to application, learn and confirm: 

(1) the boundaries and exact location of the target 

area(s); and 

(2) the identity of nontarget areas and safety 

hazards located on or adjacent to the target 

areas. 

(f)  Spray and spreading equipment shall be rinsed after each 

agricultural aircraft operation except when the next agricultural 

aircraft operation will be made using the same pesticide, or if 

another pesticide, compatible with the previous pesticide 

according to the manufacturer's recommendations was previously 

in the equipment, and will not result in any adverse effects or 

created by the drainage or disposal of waste materials and 

conducted with methods which will not create an adverse effect 

as defined in this Section. 

(g)  During application, the flow and mixture of the pesticide(s) 

shall be uniform. Pilots and contractors shall utilize equipment 

which will maintain a uniform mixture and flow during 

application. 

(h)  Pilots and contractors shall use and operate, in any agricultural 

aircraft operation, aircraft equipped with spray or spreading 

equipment suited, according to its manufacturer's 

recommendations for the pesticide(s) to be applied. All aerial 

spray or spreading equipment shall be free of leaks and shall have 

a positive shutoff system to prevent leaking and dissemination of 

pesticides on any nontarget areas over which the flight is made. 

Such equipment shall not allow spillage, dripping and backflow 

or create a hazard from vapors or drift. 

(i)  The loading area shall be kept free of pesticide contamination. 

(j)  No pesticide(s) shall be applied by an aerial applicator while 

any persons other than those assisting in the application are in the 

target area. 

(k)  The shape of the tank or hopper of the spray or spreading 

equipment shall be such as to allow complete drainage during 

flight and on ground. 

(l)  The contractor or pilot shall notify the Secretary of the Board 

of any emergency or accidental release of pesticide(s) from the 

application or auxiliary equipment. They shall provide the 

following information: 

(1) the name of the pilot; 

(2) the contractor involved; 

(3) the name of the property owner or operator; 

(4) the location of the incident; 

(5) the name of the pesticide; 

(6) the estimated amount of pesticide involved; 

(7) the estimated size of the area that received the 

spill; 

(8) the description of what is located within 300 

feet from the edge of the spill in all directions; 

(9) the number of humans or animals known to 

have been contaminated; and 

(10) the weather conditions at the site of the 

emergency or accidental release of pesticide(s). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-463; 143-466; 

Eff. July 2, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; February 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; 

August 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1003 DRIFT CONTROL 

No person shall apply a pesticide(s) aerially under such conditions 

that drift from pesticide(s) particles or vapors results in adverse 

effect. As a minimum, the following precautions shall be taken: 

(1) Fixed nozzles shall be spaced on the boom to 

afford a uniform spray pattern at the height the 

aircraft will be flown. 

(2) All pesticides applied aerially as liquids, in 

liquid carriers, or as dusts shall be released 

within 15 feet above the canopy of the target, 

except where obstructions in or adjacent to the 
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target would endanger the safety of the pilot 

while applying pesticides at that altitude. 

(3) All pesticides applied aerially as dry granules 

or pellets shall be released within 40 feet above 

the canopy of the target, except where 

obstructions in or adjacent to the target would 

endanger the safety of the pilot while applying 

pesticides at that altitude. 

(4) All applications of the following liquid 

pesticide formulations shall be made using a D4 

or larger disk with a 46 whirlplate with the 

discharge directed with the airstream or not 

more than 10 degrees below the horizontal, and 

operated at a maximum pressure of 40 pounds 

per square inch, or a system producing a droplet 

size range not smaller than the above system, 

except for rotary-wing aircraft flying at speeds 

of 60 mph or less, in which case the nozzles 

may be directed downward: 

(a) phenoxy herbicides, 

(b) paraquat, 

(c) picloram (Tordon), and 

(d) dicamba. 

(5) Restricted use pesticides other than those 

specified in (4) of this Rule shall be applied as 

follows: 

(a) use a D4 or larger disk with a 45 

whirlplate with the discharge directed 

with the airstream or not more than 10 

degrees below the horizontal, and 

operated at a maximum pressure of 40 

pounds per square inch; or 

(b) a system producing a droplet size 

range not smaller than the above 

system, except for rotary-wing aircraft 

flying at speeds of 60 mph or less, in 

which case the nozzles may be 

directed downward; or 

(c) use a boom with outside nozzles 

placed no closer to the wingtips than 

12-1/2 percent of the total wingspan 

distance. If the length of the boom of 

the spraying equipment exceeds the 

nozzle span, a bleeder line shall be 

provided from the end of the boom to 

the last nozzle on the boom. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-463; 

Eff. July 2, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1005 RESTRICTED AREAS 

(a)  No pesticide shall be applied by aircraft within the limits of 

any congested area except when permission is granted under 14 

CFR Part 137. 

(b)  No pesticide shall be deposited by aircraft within 300 feet of 

the premises of schools, hospitals, nursing homes, churches, or 

any building, other than a residence which is used for business or 

social activities if any person is in the building or on the premises. 

(c)  No pesticide shall be deposited by aircraft on the right-of-way 

of a public road or within 25 feet of the road, whichever is the 

greater distance. 

(d)  No pesticide labeled toxic or harmful to aquatic life shall be 

deposited in or adjacent to any body of water in such a manner as 

to be hazardous to aquatic life unless such aquatic life is the 

intended target of the pesticide. 

(e)  No pesticide shall be deposited within 100 feet of any 

residence. 

(f)  No pesticide shall be deposited onto any nontarget area in such 

a manner that it is more likely than not that an adverse effect will 

occur. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 

Eff. July 2, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; January 1, 1985; December 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1006 EXEMPTIONS 

There shall be no exemptions from this Section except under the 

following conditions: 

(1) During an emergency proclaimed by the 

Commissioner, under G.S. 143.461(2), specific 

aerial applicators may, on a temporary basis, be 

exempted from all, or from specific regulations 

by the Commissioner. 

(2) The North Carolina Pesticide Board may 

authorize exemptions: 

(a) from specific rules for specific aerial 

applications when deemed appropriate 

for specific aerial applications upon 

consideration of public health, 

environmental, and economic impact; 

or 

(b) from specific rules for an aerial 

applicator applying pesticides while 

engaged in experimental work for or 

under the direct supervision of a public 

agency or while engaged in 

experimental work for a private 

individual or person. 

(3) Any State, federal, or public agency or aerial 

applicator under contractural agreement with 

and under supervision of such an agency when 

conducting a pest control operation may be 

exempted from Rule .1002(j) of this Section, 

and Rule .1005(b) through (e) of this Section 

provided that, at least 30 days prior to the 

proposed initiation of the subject operation they 

present to the Pesticide Section, a complete 

description of the operation that meets or 

exceeds the following standards: 

(a) Project Description. The application 

shall include all of the following: 

(i) explanation of why the 

project is needed; 
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(ii) identification of target pest or 

pests; 

(iii) map showing treatment area; 

(iv) total acreage to be treated; 

and 

(v) proposed date or dates of 

application (range). 

(b) Description of the Pesticide. The 

application shall contain a description 

of the pesticide(s) proposed for use 

under the exemption. Such 

information shall include: 

(i) a statement that the pesticide 

product(s) proposed for use 

carries current State and 

federal registration and are 

labeled for the proposed use. 

The EPA registration number 

for each pesticide shall be 

included in the statement; 

(ii) a Safety Data Sheet (SDS) 

for each pesticide proposed 

for use; 

(iii) a statement specifying the 

composition of the final 

spray mixture to be applied to 

the target area. Identify any 

diluent(s), adjuvant(s), or 

other materials to be used 

with the pesticide(s) in the 

final spray mixture. 

(c) Aircraft Information. The description 

shall include the following: 

(i) identification of type(s) of 

aircraft proposed for use 

(fixed wing, helicopter, etc.); 

and 

(ii) identification of equipment 

specifications. 

(d) Environmental Evaluation. The 

description shall include the 

following: 

(i) identify or map any hospitals, 

schools, nursing homes, 

watersheds, and any other 

sensitive environmental 

areas in or near the proposed 

treatment area; 

(ii) list any rare, threatened, or 

endangered species in the 

proposed treatment area and 

describe measures, if any, to 

lessen adverse environmental 

impacts to such species or 

their habitat from the 

proposed treatment(s); 

(iii) describe alternative methods 

of pest control (options). A 

no treatment alternative shall 

be included. Describe 

probable environmental 

consequences of each 

alternative; and 

(iv) describe measures, if any, to 

mitigate the adverse 

environmental impacts of the 

proposed project. 

(e) Notification and Public Input Plan. 

The application shall contain the 

following: 

(i) Preliminary Notification: 

(A) For small projects 

less than 50 acres or 

fewer than 20 

landowners, 

individual 

notification by 

written, oral, digital 

communication, or 

mailings, may be 

used. This 

notification shall 

include the 

information in 

criteria (a) through 

(c); 

(B) For larger projects, 

print, broadcast, or 

internet news media 

may be used for 

preliminary 

notification. A 

public meeting may 

also be used as a 

preliminary 

notification tool. 

This notification 

shall include the 

information in 

criteria (a) through 

(c); 

(ii) Input Plan. There should be a 

plan for allowing public input 

about the project prior to the 

final choice of the course of 

action to be taken; 

(iii) Operational Notification. 

After a decision is made on 

the course of action to be 

taken on the project, the 

people affected by the project 

shall be informed of the 

decision. On small projects 

this may be done on an 

individual basis. On larger 

projects the news media shall 

be an appropriate avenue of 

notification; 
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(iv) A contact person and 

telephone number shall be 

listed in the public notice; 

and 

(v) Evacuation Plan. For persons 

concerned about the project 

because of health reasons, 

there shall be a notification 

procedure so they may leave 

the treatment area while the 

project is underway. 

The Pesticide Section shall either approve, 

disapprove, or refer to the North Carolina 

Pesticide Board all applications for exemption. 

(4) Any local health director or aerial applicator 

licensed under the subcategory of public health 

pest control, under supervision of such local 

health director when conducting a control 

operation for disease vectors or other pest of 

public health significance shall be exempted 

from 02 NCAC 09L .1002(j) General 

Requirements; .1003, Drift Control; and 

.1005(b) through (e), Restricted Areas, 

provided such local health director or his 

authorized designee notifies the secretary of the 

Board prior to initiation of subject operation 

and submits the following information: 

(a) name of aerial applicator or contractor, 

(b) location and general description of 

operation area(s), 

(c) identity of target pest(s), 

(d) brand name(s) and EPA registration 

number(s) of the pesticide(s) to be 

used, 

(e) scheduled date(s) of application(s), 

and 

(f) outline of nature of operation. 

All pesticide(s) shall be applied in compliance with label 

requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-461(1),(2),(5); 

143-463; 

Eff. July 2, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1988; January 1, 1985; August 1, 1982; 

July 21, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1009 NOTIFICATION OF APIARIES 

(a)  Any person who hires the services of an aerial applicator to 

apply a pesticide labeled as toxic to bees shall notify, based on 

available listings of registered apiaries, the owner or operator of 

any registered apiary located within one mile of the target area not 

less than 48 hours nor more than 10 days prior to the beginning of 

a single application or a seasonal spray schedule, giving the 

approximate time of day of application and type of pesticide to be 

used. 

(b)  "Notification" for the purposes of this Paragraph is defined as 

follows: 

(1) written communication by: 

(A) U.S. mail, 

(B) Notification left at residence, or 

(C) Notification left at alternate address as 

designated on the honeybee 

registration list. 

(2) oral communication by: 

(A) telephone, 

(B) personal communication, or 

(C) verbal communication with an 

alternate person as designated on the 

honeybee registration list. 

(3) digital communication by: 

(A) electronic mail or 

(B) instant cellular text messaging. 

(c)  The Pesticide Section shall distribute new registrations of 

beekeepers and their alternates by U.S. mail on the first of each 

quarter (January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1) to all farmers 

growing crops within one mile of the apiaries that are identified 

on the "Apiary Registration Form" of the Plant Industry Division. 

The list of revised registered apiaries shall become effective on 

the fifth day of the first month in the quarter stated in this Rule. 

The registration of apiaries shall be effective for the calendar year 

that they are registered. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-443(b)(4); 143-458; 

143-463; 143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1102 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply in this Section. 

(1) "Certified applicator" means any individual 

who is certified to use or supervise the use of 

any restricted use pesticide. 

(2) "Private pesticide applicator" means a person 

who uses or supervises the use of any restricted 

use pesticide under the following conditions: 

(a) for the purpose of producing any 

agricultural commodity on property 

owned or rented by the person or the 

person's employer; or 

(b) if the pesticide is applied without 

compensation other than the trading of 

personal services between producers 

of agricultural commodities on the 

property of another person. 

(3) "Private pesticide applicator certification 

standards review" means a training session 

designed by the North Carolina State University 

Pesticide Safety Extension Specialist to 

advance a private pesticide applicator's 

practical knowledge in areas such as: 

(a) the pest problems and pest control 

practices associated with agricultural 

operations; 

(b) storage, use, handling, and disposal of 

pesticides and their containers; 

(c) labels and labeling information; 
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(d) local environmental situations to 

consider during application to avoid 

contamination; 

(e) recognition of poisoning symptoms 

and procedures to follow in case of a 

pesticide accident; 

(f) protective clothing, equipment, and 

other worker protection standards; 

(g) federal and State pesticide laws, rules, 

and regulations and the applicator's 

related legal responsibility; 

(h) current agricultural production-related 

pesticide technology; and 

(i) sources of advice and guidance 

necessary for the safe and proper use 

of each pesticide related to his or her 

certification including EPA guidance, 

extension publications and court 

decisions. 

These training sessions shall be taught by Cooperative 

Extension Service pesticide training agents or other 

individuals approved by the Board on a case-by-case 

basis, based upon the individual's education, experience, 

and knowledge of Subparagraph (c)(1) through (9) of 

this Rule. 

(4) "Continuing certification credit" means one 

hour of continuing certification training. Such 

training may be offered during grower 

meetings, seminars, short courses, or other 

presentations taught by Cooperative Extension 

Service pesticide training agents, or other 

privately or publicly sponsored training 

organizations. Private applicators may also earn 

continuing certification credits by attending 

training sessions for which credit has been 

assigned in the following commercial 

categories as set forth in Rule .0505(1)(a) 

through (1)(k): 

(a) aquatic; 

(b) agricultural pest - animal; 

(c) agricultural pest - plant; 

(d) ornamental and turf; 

(e) forest; 

(f) seed treatment; and 

(g) soil and growing media fumigation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440; 143-453; 

Eff. December 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; October 1, 2002; November 1, 1988; 

July 1, 1987; February 5, 1978; April 20, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1103 CERTIFICATION 

EXAMINATION 

(a)  An applicant for an initial private pesticide applicator's 

certification shall demonstrate by written examination his or her 

knowledge of pesticides and their usefulness and hazards; his or 

her competence to act as a private pesticide applicator; and his or 

her knowledge of the laws and rules governing the use and 

application of pesticides by private pesticide applicators. Passing 

grade shall be 70 percent. 

(b)  Any applicant for initial certification in any private applicator 

certification subclass shall first become certified as a private 

pesticide applicator.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440; 

Eff. December 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; October 1, 2002; July 1, 1987; 

February 5, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1104 SINGLE PURCHASE 

EMERGENCY CERTIFICATION PERMIT 

(a)  For emergency certification of any applicant who has not 

previously been certified and did not anticipate the need for a 

restricted use pesticide, a 10-day Single Purchase Emergency 

Certification Permit may be issued by his or her resident county 

agricultural extension service pesticide coordinator authorizing 

the purchase and use of one restricted use pesticide for one 

application to a crop or site. Permits shall not be issued if: 

(1) there is sufficient time prior to the needed use 

for the individual to become certified; 

(2) an individual had been previously certified, but 

let the certification lapse; or 

(3) after discussion with the Cooperative Extension 

Agent, it is determined that a general pesticide, 

one available to the general public and not 

requiring certification to purchase and apply, 

may be used. 

(b)  Prior to issuance of the permit, the resident county agricultural 

extension service pesticide coordinator shall: 

(1) provide the applicant with a training manual 

and information relative to obtaining full 

private pesticide applicator certification; and 

(2) discuss with the applicant proper use of the 

restricted use pesticide. 

(c)  If the individual requires further use of restricted use 

pesticides, he or she shall complete one of the certification options 

set forth in Rule .1103 of this Section. 

(d)  The agricultural extension service pesticide coordinator shall 

keep a copy of the permit provided by the North Carolina 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services that contains 

the following information: 

(1) the name and address of the applicant; 

(2) the name and amount of restricted use pesticide; 

(3) the crop or site to be treated; and 

(4) the date the permit was issued. 

Copies of the permits shall be available for review by the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

(e)  A Single Purchase Emergency Certification Permit shall not 

be issued for fumigation of soil, growing media, or agricultural 

commodities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440; 

Eff. December 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; August 26, 1977;  

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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02 NCAC 09L .1105 APPLICATIONS UNDER 

SUPERVISION OF CERTIFIED APPLICATOR 

(a)  The certified applicator acting in a supervisory role shall be 

available to the non-certified applicator in the event he is needed. 

It shall be the responsibility of the certified applicator to keep the 

non-certified applicator aware of all directions for use and 

cautions for safe use and application of any restricted use pesticide 

he or she may be directed to apply. 

(b)  All non-certified applicators applying any restricted use 

pesticide under the direct supervision of a certified applicator 

shall have available at the application site or at the loading and 

mixing site, if different from the application site, the following: 

(1) written or printed directions for applying the 

restricted use pesticide, which may include 

pesticide product labeling; 

(2) written or printed instructions describing 

procedures to be followed in order to prevent 

injury to the applicator, other persons and 

unreasonable adverse effects on the 

environment which may include pesticide 

product labeling; and 

(3) instructions for direct communication with the 

certified applicator under whose supervision 

the non-certified applicator is working (i.e., 

name, location, telephone number, radio 

contact, etc.); Such instructions, when 

followed, shall be considered direct 

communication with the certified applicator. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440; 

Eff. December 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. February 5, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1107 AGE LIMITATIONS 

Individuals who wish to be certified as private pesticide 

applicators shall be 16 years old prior to participating in a 

certification option or being issued a single purchase permit under 

the emergency certification procedure; however, in hardship cases 

individuals below the age of 16 may be licensed by the Board on 

an individual basis when they demonstrate to the Board by 

written, or written and oral examination their qualifications as a 

private pesticide applicator. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440; 

Eff. December 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1108 TERM OF CERTIFICATION; 

RECERTIFICATION 

(a)  The term of certification shall be for a period of three years. 

(b)  In order to be recertified as a private pesticide applicator 

without a written examination, a person shall complete two hours 

of private pesticide applicator certification standards review, plus 

two continuing certification credit hours, as defined in Rule 

.1102(d) of this Section. 

(c)  A private pesticide applicator certified in the subclass of soil 

and growing media fumigation or agricultural commodity 

fumigation shall earn one hour of continuing certification credit 

specific to each applicable subclass to retain the subclass 

certification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440; 143-453; 

Eff. July 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; October 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1109 CERTIFICATION OF PRIVATE 

APPLICATORS 

The following subclassifications are established for the 

certification of private pesticide applicators: 

(1) "Soil and growing media fumigation" means 

private pesticide applicators utilizing ground 

equipment applying restricted use fumigants to 

property they own or lease, their employer's 

property, or applied without compensation 

other than the trading of personal services 

between producers of agricultural commodities 

on the property of another person. 

(2) "Agricultural commodity fumigation" means 

private pesticide applicators applying restricted 

use fumigants to agricultural commodities on 

property they own or lease, their employer's 

property, or applied without compensation 

other than the trading of personal services 

between producers of agricultural commodities 

on the property of another person. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440; 

Eff. August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1111 CERTIFICATION/ 

RECERTIFICATION FEE 

A nonrefundable fee of ten dollars ($10.00) shall be required for 

private pesticide applicator certification or recertification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 1987, for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on March 29, 1988; 

Eff. March 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1201 RESTRICTIONS ON USE AND 

STORAGE 

All pesticide formulations containing the active ingredient arsenic 

trioxide shall not be used or stored inside or adjacent to any 

building used as a human dwelling. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440(b); 143-441; 

Eff. April 21, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1202 PESTICIDE DEALER AND 

PURCHASER RESPONSIBILITY 

The pesticide dealer shall secure the signature of the purchaser 

attesting to the fact that the purchaser has knowledge of the use 
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restrictions on arsenic trioxide contained in this Section. 

However, any licensed pesticide applicator under the authority of 

G.S. 143-452 or G.S. 106-65.25 may use formulations containing 

arsenic trioxide in or around human dwellings provided such use 

is performed in a manner consistent with the product label keeps 

the pesticide product out of the reach of children. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440(b); 143-441; 143-466; 

Eff. April 21, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1302 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

It shall be unlawful for any person to make any restricted use 

pesticide available for use to any person other than a certified 

private applicator, licensed pesticide applicator, certified 

structural pest control applicator, structural pest control licensee, 

or any individual who holds an emergency certification permit 

pursuant to Rule .1104 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-440; 143-463; 

Eff. August 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. February 5, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1303 EXEMPTIONS 

(a)  Restricted use pesticides may be made available to an 

employee under the supervision of a certified private or licensed 

pesticide applicator, certified structural pest control applicator, or 

structural pest control licensee provided the employee is acting 

under the direction and supervision of said applicators or licensees 

and provided further that said employee is 16 years of age or 

older. 

(b)  This exemption applies to restricted use pesticides in channels 

of trade prior to making them available for end use. 

(c)  Prior to making available restricted use pesticides to an 

employee under the supervision of a certified private applicator, 

licensed pesticide applicator, certified structural pest control 

applicator, or structural pest control licensee, all persons shall 

require the employee to sign his or her name and list the 

certification number of employer under whose direction and 

supervision the employee is acting. Such information shall be 

available for routine inspection by the North Carolina Pesticide 

Board or its agent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-440; 143-466; 

Eff. August 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988; February 5, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1305 RECORD KEEPING 

REQUIREMENTS 

All licensed pesticide dealers, as defined in G.S. 143-460, shall 

keep records of all sales of restricted use pesticides showing the 

following: 

(1) date of sale; 

(2) initials of sales clerk; 

(3) name of certified or licensed applicator as set 

out in Rule .1302 of this Section or employees 

as set out in Rule .1303 of this Section; 

(4) certification or license number of certified or 

licensed applicator as set out in Rule .1302 of 

this Section; 

(5) certification or license expiration date as shown 

on the certified or licensed applicator's 

certification card; 

(6) product brand name; 

(7) EPA registration number; 

(8) number of individual containers; 

(9) size of individual containers; and 

(10) total quantity sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-440; 143-466; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1306 RECIPIENT IDENTIFICATION 

Prior to making restricted use pesticides available to those 

identified in Rule .1302 of this Section or the employee as 

identified in Rule .1303 of this Section, the pesticide dealer or the 

designated representative of the pesticide dealer shall verify the 

identity of the recipient. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-440; 143-466; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1401 DEFINITIONS 

All specific words or terms used in this Section other than those 

defined below shall have the same definitions as shown in the 

North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971, G.S. 143-460: 

(1) "Adverse Effect" means personal injury, 

damage to personal property, damage to real 

property, damage to the environment, or any 

combination of these. 

(2) "Drift" means the airborne movement of 

pesticides resulting from the application of 

pesticides such as to carry the pesticides beyond 

the target area. 

(3) "Environment" means water, air, land, all 

plants, man, and other animals living therein 

and the interrelationships which exist among 

these. 

(4) record keeping purposes, licensed pesticide 

applicators shall use the Farm Service Agency 

(FSA) farm number, common name of farm, 

address of farm, or other means of identification 

of farm. 

(5) "Identification of Site" means for record 

keeping purposes, licensed pesticide 

applicators under contractual agreement with or 

under supervision of a federal, State, or public 

agency shall use name(s) of county(s), name(s) 

of city(s), name(s) of body(s) of water, or other 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 

597 

means of identification of site. All other 

licensed pesticide applicators shall use name of 

specific right-of-way, name and address of golf 

course, specific address of site, or other means 

of identification of site. 

(6) "Object" means a physical or living thing 

occurring on a site including a structure, 

animal, tree, ornamental plant, or material. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-463; 143-466(a); 

Eff. October 21, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988; August 1, 1985; February 5, 

1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1402 RECORD KEEPING 

REQUIREMENTS 

All pesticide applicators, as defined in G.S. 143-460 utilizing 

ground equipment shall keep for three years records of all 

applications of restricted use pesticides. The records shall show 

the following: 

(1) name of licensed pesticide applicator or 

licensed public operator; 

(2) name and address of the person for whom the 

pesticide was applied; 

(3) identification of farm or site(s) treated with 

pesticide(s); 

(4) name of crop, commodity, or object(s) that was 

treated with pesticide(s); 

(5) approximate acres, size, or number of other 

object(s) treated; 

(6) the year, month, date, and the specific time of 

day when each pesticide application was 

completed and each day of application shall be 

recorded as a separate record; 

(7) the brand name of the pesticide(s) and EPA 

registration number(s); 

(8) amount (volume or weight) of pesticide 

formulation(s) or active ingredient(s) applied 

per unit of measure; and 

(9) name(s) of person(s) applying pesticide(s). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-463; 143-466(a); 

Eff. October 21, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1404 DRIFT CONTROL 

No person shall apply a pesticide(s) under such conditions that 

drift from pesticide(s) particles or vapors results in adverse effect. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-463; 

Eff. August 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1805 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE 

40 CFR Part 170, "Worker Protection Standard" is incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies of this material may be obtained from the U.S. 

Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C. 20402, at no cost 

at https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?mc=true&node+pt40.24..170&rgn=div5. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458(a); 

Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1806 CROP ADVISOR EXEMPTION 

For the purposes of exemptions contained in 40 CFR Part 170.601 

of the Worker Protection Standard, the following definitions shall 

be in effect throughout this Section: 

(1) "Crop Advisor" means any certified and 

licensed "pest control consultant" as defined in 

G.S. 143-460(27) while engaged in the 

performance of crop advisor tasks as defined in 

this Rule and any "pesticide applicator" as 

defined in G.S. 143-460(29) who is currently 

certified and licensed in the subcategory 

"Demonstration and Research Pest Control" as 

defined in Rule .0504(9) of this Subchapter, but 

only while performing or supervising the 

performance of crop advisor tasks as defined in 

this Rule. 

(2) "Crop Advisor Tasks" means assessing pest 

numbers or damage, pesticide distribution, or 

status or requirements of agricultural plants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458(a); 

Eff. April 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1901 DEFINITIONS 

All specific words or terms used in this Section other than those 

defined in this Rule shall have the same definitions as shown in 

the North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971, G.S. 143-460.  

(1) "Storage" means the act of storing a pesticide or 

pesticide container unless the pesticide or 

pesticide container is being transported or used. 

It does not include: 

(a) pesticide containers which are empty 

and triple-rinsed, or equivalent; 

(b) pesticides that meet the requirements 

of a Resource Conservation and 

Recovery Act (RCRA) hazardous 

waste (40 CFR 261.33) and are in the 

possession of a person possessing a 

valid EPA RCRA identification 

number as a generator (40 CFR 

261.12) or transporter (40 CFR 

263.11) of hazardous waste or who 

owns or operates a facility for the 

treatment, storage, or disposal of 

hazardous waste (40 CFR 264.11). 

(2) "Commercial Storage" means storage of a 

pesticide by any person from the time of 

manufacture, prior to possession by the end 

user. 
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(3) "Storage Facility" means any property or 

contiguous properties under the same 

ownership used for commercial storage of 

pesticides. Multiple storage areas in or on single 

or contiguous properties under the same 

ownership are considered to be in the same 

storage facility. 

(4) "Large Storage Facility" means any storage 

facility that stores 10,000 pounds or more of 

restricted use pesticides at any time. 

(5) "Storage Area" means that portion of a storage 

facility actually used to store pesticides. 

(6) "Contingency Plan" means a description of a 

facility's plans and capabilities to deal with a 

pesticide emergency resulting from operational 

procedures, accidental releases, fires, or other 

emergencies, to contain or otherwise prevent 

the release of pesticides so as to minimize 

unreasonable adverse effects on public health or 

the environment. 

(7) "Bulk Storage" means Commercial Storage of 

any pesticide held in stationary pesticide 

containers designed to hold undivided 

quantities equal to or greater than 500 gallons 

(1,890 liters) of liquid pesticide or equal to or 

greater than 4,000 pounds (1,818 kilograms) of 

dry pesticide are subject to this Rule unless any 

of the following conditions exists: 

(a) The container is empty, that is, all 

pesticide that can be removed by the 

methods such as draining, pumping, or 

aspirating has been removed, whether 

or not the container has been rinsed or 

washed. 

(b) The container holds only pesticide 

rinsates or wash waters, and is labeled 

accordingly. 

(c) The container holds only pesticides 

which would be gaseous when 

released at atmospheric temperature 

and pressure. 

(d) The container is dedicated to non-

pesticide use, and is labeled 

accordingly. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-441; 143-461; 

143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; November 1, 1989; November 1, 

1988; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1902 STORAGE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ALL PESTICIDES 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all pesticides. 

(b)  Pesticides shall be stored to prevent leaking and to facilitate 

inspection. 

(c)  Formulated pesticide products shall not be stored in unlabeled 

containers. The following minimum information shall be legible 

and obvious on any containers of formulated pesticide: 

(1) Common chemical name; 

(2) Percentage of each active ingredient; 

(3) EPA registration number; 

(4) Signal word; 

(5) Use classification (restricted use or general 

use). 

Pesticide products which are labeled in accordance with the 

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA), the 

North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971, and rules and regulations 

promulgated thereunder shall be deemed to have met the 

requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(d)  Pesticides (formulated products or dilutions) shall not be 

stored in any food, feed, beverage, or medicine container that has 

previously been used for such purposes, or that is designed to 

contain only those products. 

(e)  Pesticides shall not be stored in a manner that could cause the 

contamination of foods, feeds, beverages, eating utensils, tobacco, 

tobacco products, other pesticides, seeds, or fertilizers, or 

otherwise likely to result in accidental ingestion by humans or 

domestic animals. 

(f)  Pesticides shall be stored in accordance with the following: 

(1) storage recommendations, if any, on their 

labeling; and 

(2) labeling on all other products, including 

non-pesticide products, held in the same storage 

area. 

(g)  When unattended, pesticides shall be stored to prevent 

unauthorized access. 

(h)  Pesticides shall be stored in an area that is dry, does not 

accumulate water, and ventilated. 

(i)  Pesticide storage areas shall be free of combustible materials 

such as gasoline, kerosene, or petroleum solvents other than those 

associated with pesticide application and debris such as waste 

paper, rags, or used cardboard boxes which may provide an 

ignition source, and shall be separated from other operations 

which present a fire hazard such as welding or burning. Care shall 

be taken to minimize fire hazard potential when providing 

supplemental heating to storage during winter months. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-441; 143-461; 

143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1905 STORAGE FACILITY 

REQUIREMENTS: RUP 

(a)  In addition to the requirements as set forth in Rule .1902 of 

this Section, the requirements of this Rule shall apply to any 

quantity of restricted use pesticides in commercial storage. 

(b)  Storage areas shall utilize security precautions that prevent 

unauthorized access to pesticides. Non-display pesticide storage 

areas shall be locked when unattended. A warning sign shall be 

posted beside all entrances to non-display pesticide storage areas 

stating "PESTICIDE STORAGE," "AUTHORIZED 
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PERSONNEL ONLY," "IN CASE OF EMERGENCY 

CALL_____________." 

(c)  Pesticide spills shall be cleaned up with regard to personnel 

safety by wearing appropriate personal protective equipment 

(PPE) and handling the pesticide in accordance with the 

manufacturer's product labeling. Floor-sweeping compounds such 

as adsorptive clay, sand, sawdust, lime, or similar suitable 

materials shall be kept on hand to absorb spills or leaks. Safe 

disposal techniques in accordance with the labeling shall be 

employed when disposing of pesticide contaminated adsorptive 

materials. 

(d)  Pesticides shall be stored to prevent contact with water 

resulting from area cleanup, the intrusion of storm waters, leaks, 

or impounded or flowing waters, or any other source which 

represents a likely potential for flooding. 

(e)  Pesticides shall not be stored within 100 feet horizontally of a 

public water supply. Pesticides shall not be stored within 50 feet 

horizontally of a private water supply. An exemption from the 

requirements of this Paragraph may be granted by the Board upon 

receipt of written request for such exemption from the owner or 

operator of a storage facility. Each request shall describe existing 

conditions requiring such exemption. When reviewing exemption 

requests, the Board shall consider the potential for groundwater 

or aquifer contamination, such as whether drainage from the 

facility is designed to protect the public water supply and ensure 

that runoff from the facility would be directed away from the 

water source, or if the source is no longer used as a public or 

private water supply, or whether a well has been properly closed 

and sealed according to 15A NCAC 02C .0113. 

(f)  The person responsible for each pesticide storage facility shall 

also be responsible for the following: 

(1) compliance with all State and local fire codes 

and building codes and with all applicable State 

environmental laws and rules applicable to the 

type of facility; 

(2) development of a prefire plan for the storage 

facility. The plan shall be a description of the 

facility's plans and procedures for management 

of fires involving pesticides.  

(A) one copy of the plan approved by the 

fire department or emergency services 

office having jurisdiction shall be 

maintained in the office of the storage 

facility for inspection by the Board; 

(B) one copy of the plan shall be filed with 

the fire department or emergency 

services office having jurisdiction; 

(C) a request shall be made in writing to 

the local fire department or emergency 

services office having jurisdiction for 

no less than an annual inspection of 

the facility. 

(g)  The person responsible for the storage facility shall upon 

discovery of any emergency such as a fire, spill, or unintended 

release of pesticides into the environment from the facility, notify 

the secretary of the Board if such emergency threatens the health, 

safety or welfare of man, animals, aquatic life, or damage to 

property. Such notification of the secretary does not preclude 

notification being given to the appropriate local fire department, 

emergency services office, or other State or federal agencies 

requiring such notification. 

(h)  Any person operating a storage facility shall maintain a 

current inventory list of the kinds of stored pesticides by brand 

name and formulation. An inventory list shall be considered 

current if it is updated every 30 days. A copy of this list shall be 

maintained in a separate location from the storage facility. This 

list shall be made available to the Board or its agents upon request. 

(i)  Pesticide applicators storing restricted use pesticides shall be 

subject to the same requirements as set forth in this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-441; 143-461; 

143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1906 LARGE STORAGE FACILITY 

REQUIREMENTS: RUP 

(a)  In addition to Rule .1905 of this Section, the requirements of 

this Rule shall apply to large storage facilities. 

(b)  Pesticides shall not be stored within 200 feet of the property 

line of any schools, hospitals, nursing homes, or other institutional 

facilities. 

(c)  The person responsible for a large storage facility shall have 

a Board-approved contingency plan for the facility. The 

contingency plan shall be submitted to the Board. The Board shall 

consider such factors as the size of the facility, location in relation 

to the sensitive environmental areas, proximity to industrial, 

institutional and residential areas, type of pesticides to be stored, 

and description of the facility's capabilities to deal with 

emergencies resulting from operational procedures, accidental 

release, fires, floods, or other emergencies, to minimize, contain 

and prevent adverse effects from any release of pesticide. 

(d)  Pesticide applicators storing 10,000 pounds or more of 

restricted use pesticides shall be subject to the same requirements 

as set forth in this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-441; 143-461; 

143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1907 PURPOSE AND 

IMPLEMENTATION OF CONTINGENCY PLAN 

The provisions of the contingency plan shall be carried out 

whenever there is a fire, explosion, spill, or other release of 

pesticides or pesticide contaminated materials which could 

threaten human health or the environment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-441; 143-461; 

143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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02 NCAC 09L .1908 CONTENT OF CONTINGENCY 

PLAN 

(a)  The contingency plan shall describe the actions facility 

personnel shall take to respond to fires, explosions, spills, or any 

other release of pesticides or pesticide contaminated materials to 

air, soil, or surface water at the facility. 

(b)  The plan shall describe arrangements agreed to by local police 

departments, fire departments, hospitals, contractors, and State 

and local emergency response teams to coordinate emergency 

services. 

(c)  The plan shall list names, addresses, and office and home 

phone numbers of all persons designated by the facility owner or 

operator to act as alternates who can be reached at any time of the 

day, seven days a week, and who are knowledgeable of the facility 

operational and emergency procedures. Where more than one 

person is listed, one shall be named as primary alternate, and 

others shall be listed in the order in which they will assume 

responsibility as alternates. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-440; 143-441; 

143-461; 143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1909 COPIES OF CONTINGENCY 

PLAN 

A copy of the contingency plan and all revisions to the plan shall 

be: 

(1) maintained at the facility; and 

(2) submitted to the North Carolina Pesticide Board 

in care of the North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, Pesticide 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-440; 143-441; 

143-461; 143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1913 EFFECTIVE DATE OF 

STORAGE REGULATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-441; 143-461; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1914 BULK STORAGE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Outlets, filler, and access ports shall be locked at all times 

when not in use. Keys to the outlet, filler, and access ports shall 

be in the possession of the purchaser and his or her authorized 

employees only. Locks on ports are not required if bulk tanks are 

stored inside a facility to prevent unauthorized access to the bulk 

pesticide storage area. 

(b)  All bulk pesticide storage tanks shall display the signal word 

as shown on the pesticide product label on all sides exposed to 

view. The words shall be either stenciled on the containers or 

storage tanks or placed on a sign of durable construction which is 

attached to the containers and storage tanks. All letters of said 

words shall be a minimum of four inches in height and one inch 

in width, and shall be printed in contrasting colors to the 

containers and storage tanks which are visible. 

(c)  All bulk storage areas shall be posted with a durable sign 

stating "PESTICIDE STORAGE," "AUTHORIZED 

PERSONNEL ONLY," "IN CASE OF EMERGENCY 

CALL______" 

(d)  Pesticide applicators utilizing bulk storage containers shall be 

subject to the same requirements as set forth in this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-441; 143-461; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2001 DEFINITIONS 

All specific words or terms used in this Section shall have the 

same definitions as shown in the North Carolina Pesticide Law of 

1971, G.S. 143-460, or unless the context otherwise requires, 

other definitions shall be: 

(1) "Antisiphon Device" means any equipment that 

prevents the backflow of a pesticide into any 

water supply or the backflow of water into a 

pesticide supply. Antisiphon devices include 

automatic low pressure drain, check valve, flow 

interrupter, and vacuum relief valve. 

(2) "Automatic Low Pressure Drain" means a 

self-activating device to drain that portion of an 

irrigation pipeline whose contents could enter 

the water supply when operation of the 

irrigation system pumping plant fails or is shut 

down. 

(3) "Check Valve" means a device to provide a 

positive closure of an irrigation pipeline or 

pesticide injection line that prohibits the flow of 

pesticide or water in the opposite direction of 

that desired when operation of the irrigation 

system pumping plant or pesticide injection unit 

fails or is shut down. 

(4) "Chemigation" means any process whereby 

pesticides are applied to land, crops, or plants 

utilizing an irrigation system. Some examples 

are agricultural, nursery, turf, lawn, golf course, 

and greenhouse sites. 

(5) "Chemigation and/or Irrigation Water 

Supplies" means any source of water that is 

used for chemigation and/or irrigation to 

include private wells, public water systems, 

ground or surface water sources. 

(6) "Flow Interrupter" means a device that provides 

positive interruption or cessation of pesticide or 

water flow in either direction upon pesticide 

injection unit shutdown or failure. 

(7) "Functional Systems Interlock" means a system 

used to link irrigation pumps and pesticide 

injection units, other pumps or supply tanks so 

designed that in the event of irrigation pump 

malfunction or failure, shutdown of the 

pesticide injection units will occur. 
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(8) "Inspection Port" means a place on the 

irrigation pipeline that can be utilized to 

determine visually if the check valve leaks. 

(9) "Irrigation" means the act of mechanically 

supplying water to land, crops and/or plants. 

(10) "Irrigation System" means any device or 

combination of devices having hose, pipe, or 

other conduit which connects directly to any 

water supply. The term does not include any 

handheld hose-end sprayer which is constructed 

so that an interruption in water flow prevents 

any backflow to the water supply. 

(11) "Public Water System" means: 

(a) a system for the provision to the public 

of piped water for human consumption 

if such system has at least 15 service 

connections or serves an average of at 

least 25 individuals daily at least 60 

days out of the year. Such term 

includes: 

(i) any collection, treatment, 

storage, and distribution 

facility under control of the 

operator of such system and 

used in connection with such 

system; and 

(ii) any collection or 

pre-treatment storage facility 

not under such control which 

is used primarily in 

connection with such system. 

(b) It is either a "community water 

system" or a "non-community water 

system": 

(i) Community Water System. 

A public water system which 

serves at least 15 service 

connections or regularly 

serves at least 25 year-round 

residents. 

(ii) Non-Community Water 

System. A public water 

system which is not a 

community water system. 

(12) "Vacuum Relief Valve" means a device to 

relieve or break vacuum in an irrigation 

pipeline. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-463; 143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2002 APPLICATION OF PESTICIDES 

THROUGH IRRIGATION SYSTEMS 

(a)  Irrigation systems shall be fitted with antisiphon devices and 

a functional systems interlock that will prevent the backflow of 

pesticide or pesticide-water mixtures into water supplies or the 

backflow of water or pesticide-water mixtures into pesticide 

supplies during times of irrigation system failure or equipment 

shutdown.  

(b)  Pesticides shall not be injected into an irrigation system on 

the suction side of the irrigation pump. 

(c)  Safety devices or valves shall be installed between: 

(1) the irrigation system pump discharge and the 

point of pesticide injection into the irrigation 

system, and 

(2) the point of pesticide injection into the 

irrigation system and the pesticide tank or 

container in accordance with Rule .2002(d). 

(d)  Such systems shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) double check valves shall be located between 

the irrigation pump discharge and the point of 

pesticide injection into the irrigation pipeline. 

These valves, when installed, shall be on a 

horizontal plane and level. A deviation of not 

more than 10 degrees from the horizontal shall 

be set; 

(2) an inspection port shall be located between the 

irrigation pump discharge and the mainline 

check valves. In many cases, the vacuum relief 

valve connection can serve as the inspection 

port; 

(3) a vacuum relief valve shall be located on the top 

of the horizontal irrigation pipeline between the 

discharge side of the irrigation pump and the 

inlet side of the double check valves. The 

vacuum relief valve shall have an orifice size of 

at least 3/4 inch for a 4-inch diameter irrigation 

pipe. The orifice size shall increase 

proportionally to an increase in irrigation pipe 

diameter; 

(4) an automatic low pressure drain shall be located 

on the bottom of the horizontal irrigation 

pipeline between the discharge side of the 

irrigation pump and the inlet side of the double 

check valves. Such device shall be level and 

have an orifice size of at least 3/4 inch for a 

4-inch diameter irrigation pipe. The orifice size 

shall increase proportionally to an increase in 

irrigation pipe diameter. The drain shall not 

extend beyond the inside surface of the bottom 

of the irrigation pipeline and shall be at least 

two inches above grade. The automatic low 

pressure drain shall discharge at least 20 feet 

from any water supply. The discharge from the 

drain shall be controlled to prevent the drainage 

from reentering the water supply; 

(5) a flow interrupter device shall be located in the 

pesticide supply line between the pesticide 

injection unit and the pesticide supply tank or 

container. A closed solenoid-operated valve or 

other similar device is an acceptable method to 

prevent flow of pesticide or water in either 

direction during pesticide injection system 

failure or shutdown; 

(6) a check valve shall be located on the pesticide 

injection line between the point of pesticide 
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injection into the irrigation system and the 

pesticide injection unit to prevent the overflow 

of the pesticide supply tank or container; and 

(7) a functional systems interlock shall be 

provided. If interruption of the irrigation water 

flow occurs, the interlock must, at a minimum, 

cause the shutdown of the pesticide injection 

unit. If the irrigation pump and pesticide 

injection unit are at different sites, a low 

pressure cutoff, located near the point of 

pesticide injection into the irrigation system, 

may be electrically connected to the pesticide 

injection unit to provide for its shutdown in the 

event of low water pressure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-463; 143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2003 PROHIBITION OF 

CONNECTION TO A PUBLIC WATER SYSTEM 

(a)  An irrigation system used for pesticide application shall not 

be connected to a public water system. 

(b)  The water from a public water system shall be discharged into 

a reservoir tank. 

(c)  There shall be a physical break (air gap) between the outlet 

end of the fill pipe and the top or overflow rim of the reservoir 

tank of at least twice the inside diameter of the fill pipe. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-463; 143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2004 INSPECTION: INSTALLATION: 

MAINTENANCE AND MODIFICATIONS 

(a)  Antisiphon devices and a functional systems interlock, used 

for chemigation purposes, shall be installed and maintained in 

accordance with manufacturer's directions during chemigation. 

(b)  During periods of chemigation, the system operator shall 

inspect the antisiphon devices and the functional systems 

interlock to ensure that they are functioning properly per the 

manufacturer's directions. 

(c)  If modifications or changes in design, technology, irrigation 

practices, or other reasons warrant the use or placement of 

equipment in lieu of that specified in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

Rule, the Pesticide Board may allow for such changes in advance 

of use, provided protection to the water supply is at least equal to 

that provided by the equipment, or placement thereof, required in 

this Rule. 

(d)  Inspections of an irrigation system utilized for chemigation 

may be made at any time by a representative of the Pesticide 

Section, North Carolina Department of Agriculture. Whenever 

any such equipment is determined not to be in compliance with 

this Section, the owner or operator shall be issued a stop use order, 

and the equipment shall not be used for the purpose of applying 

pesticide(s) until such time as proper repairs or alterations are 

made and the stop use order is released by official notice from the 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-463; 143-466; 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2201 DEFINITIONS 

All specific words or terms used in this Section shall have the 

same definitions as shown in the North Carolina Pesticide Law of 

1971, G.S. 143-460. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-466(a); 

Eff. July 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2202 PESTICIDE USE LIMITATION 

AREAS 

The table in 02 NCAC 09L .2203 contains pesticide active 

ingredients that have specific limitations on pesticide use in order 

to protect the federally listed endangered species Carolina 

heelsplitter (Lasmigona decorata) in Union County, NC, in the 

vicinity of: 

(1) the main stem of Goose Creek from the NC 

Highway 218 bridge, downstream to its 

confluence with the Rocky River; 

(2) the main stem of Duck Creek, from the 

Mecklenburg/Union County line, downstream 

to its confluence with Goose Creek; and 

(3) the main stem of Waxhaw Creek, from NC 

Highway 200 bridge, downstream to the North 

Carolina/South Carolina State line. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-466(a); 

Eff. July 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2203 PESTICIDES WITH 

ADDITIONAL USE LIMITATIONS 

The application of any of the following pesticides in the vicinity 

of the areas identified in Rule .2202 of this Section shall not occur 

within the areas identified by the codes in the following table: 

 

Pesticide Active Ingredient Code 

Azinphos-methyl   2x 

Benomyl   1x 

Captan    1x 

Carbaryl    2x 

Carbofuran   1x 

Chlorpyrifos   3z 

Diazinon   2x 

Dicofol    2x 

Dimethoate   2x 

Endosulfan   2x 

Esfenvalerate   1x 

Ethion    2x 

Ethoprop   1x 

Fenamiphos   2x 

Fonofos    2x 

Malathion   2x 

Methidathion   2x 

Methomyl   1x 
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Mevinphos   2x 

Naled    1x 

Parathion (ethyl)   2x 

Pendimethalin   2x 

Permethrin   1x 

Phorate    1x 

Phosmet    1x 

Phosphamidon   1x 

Propiconazole   1x 

Pyrethrins   2x 

Terbufos   2x 

Trichlorfon   2x 

 

Code/Limitations: 

(1) 1x - Within the area described in Rule .2202 of 

this Section, and one-half mile up all streams 

that join the area, this pesticide shall not be 

applied within 20 yards from the edge of water 

for ground applications and within 100 yards 

for aerial applications; 

(2) 2x - Within the area described in Rule .2202 of 

this Section, and one-half mile up all streams 

that join the area, this pesticide shall not be 

applied within 40 yards from the edge of water 

for ground applications and within 200 yards 

for aerial applications; 

(3) 3z - Within the area described in Rule .2202 of 

this Section, his pesticide shall not be applied 

within 100 yards from the edge of water for 

ground applications and within one-fourth mile 

for aerial applications. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-458; 143-466(a); 

Eff. July 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0104 ADDRESSES FOR FILING 

CLAIMS, APPEALS, EXCEPTIONS, REQUESTS OR 

PROTESTS 

(a)  Claimants shall file a claim for unemployment insurance 

benefits on DES's website or by telephone. 

(1) The telephone number for DES's Customer Call 

Center for filing a new initial claim or inquiring 

about an existing claim is (888) 737-0259. 

(2) The telephone number for filing weekly 

certifications is (888) 372-3453. 

(b)  Appeals from a Determination by Adjudicator shall be filed 

with the Appeals Section in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) The email address is 

des.public.appeals@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and appeals submitted by 

email outside the SCUBI system shall not 

include social security numbers or employer 

account numbers. 

(5) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the appeal, the docket or issue identification 

number of the determination being appealed, 

the claimant's identification number, the names 

of the claimant and employer, each reason for 

the appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(c)  Appeals of a Non-Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be 

filed with the Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail or 

facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the determination being appealed, the 

claimant's identification number, the names of 

the claimant and employer, each reason for the 

appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of a Non-

Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be 

directed to the Benefits Integrity Unit by 

telephone to (919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919) 

857-1296, or email at 

des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

(d)  Appeals of a Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be filed 

with the Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the determination being appealed, the 

claimant's identification number, the names of 

the claimant and employer, each reason for the 

appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 
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telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of a Fraud 

Overpayment Determination shall be directed 

to the Benefits Integrity Unit by telephone to 

(919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919) 857-1296, or 

email at des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

(e)  Appeals of a Monetary Determination denying a protest to a 

Wage Transcript and Monetary Determination shall be filed with 

the Tax Administration Section in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile or 

email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and appeals submitted by 

email outside the SCUBI system shall not 

include social security numbers or employer 

account numbers. 

(5) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the determination being appealed, the 

claimant's identification number, the names of 

the claimant and employer, each reason for the 

appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(6) Any questions regarding the contents of a 

determination denying a protest to a Wage 

Transcript and Monetary Determination shall 

be directed to the Wage Records Unit of the Tax 

Administration Section by telephone to (919) 

707-1191, facsimile at (919) 733-1255, or email 

at des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(f)  Protests of a Wage Transcript and Monetary Determination 

shall be filed with the Tax Administration Section in SCUBI, by 

mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Protests shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

protest, the docket or identification number of 

the determination being protested, the 

claimant's identification number, the names of 

the claimant and employer, each reason for the 

protest, the name of the individual filing the 

protest, the official position of an individual 

filing the protest on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of a Wage 

Transcript and Monetary Determination shall 

be directed to the Wage Records Unit by 

telephone to (919) 707-1191, facsimile at (919) 

733-1255, or email at 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(g)  Petitions for Waiver of Overpayment shall be filed with the 

Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Petitions shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

petition, docket or identification number of the 

overpayment determination, the claimant's 

identification number, the name of the claimant, 

each reason for the request to waive repayment 

of the overpayment, the name of the individual 

filing the petition, the official position of an 

individual filing the petition on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number for the party or 

party's legal representative. 

(h)  Claimant Appeals of a North Carolina Department of Revenue 

(NCDOR) Offset Letter shall be filed with the Benefits Integrity 

Unit in SCUBI, by mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence regarding a claimant's 

NCDOR Offset Letter submitted by email 

outside the SCUBI system shall not include 

social security numbers or employer account 

numbers. 

(4) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the offset letter being appealed, the claimant's 

identification number, the name of the claimant, 

each reason for the appeal, the name of the 

individual filing the appeal, the official position 

of an individual filing the appeal on behalf of 

the party, and a telephone number for the party 

or party's legal representative. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of a 

claimant's NCDOR Offset Letter shall be 

directed to the Benefits Integrity Unit by 

telephone to (919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919) 

857-1296, or email at 

des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

(i)  Employer Appeals of a North Carolina Department of 

Revenue (NCDOR) Offset Letter for outstanding tax debts shall 

be filed with the Tax Administration Section by mail or facsimile. 
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(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) Correspondence regarding an employer's 

NCDOR Offset Letter submitted by email 

outside the SCUBI system shall not include 

social security numbers or employer account 

numbers. 

(4) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the offset letter, the name of the employer, each 

reason for the appeal, the name of the individual 

filing the appeal, the official position of an 

individual filing the appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number for the party or 

party's legal representative. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of an 

employer's NCDOR Offset letter for 

outstanding tax debts shall be directed to the 

Tax Administration Section by facsimile at 

(919) 733-1255, or email at 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(j)  Claimant Requests for Reevaluation under the Treasury Offset 

Program (TOP) shall be filed with the Benefits Integrity Unit in 

SCUBI, by mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box, 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7697. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Requests shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

request, the docket or identification number of 

the TOP notice, the claimant's identification 

number, the name of the claimant, each reason 

for the request, the name of the individual filing 

the request, the official position of an individual 

filing the request on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number or the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(5) Claimant questions regarding TOP shall be 

directed to a Recovery Specialist by telephone 

to (919) 707-1338, or email at 

des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

(k)  Employer Requests for Reevaluation under the Treasury 

Offset Program (TOP) shall be filed with the Tax Administration 

Section by mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Requests shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

request, the docket or identification number of 

the TOP notice, the name of the employer, each 

reason for the request, the name of the 

individual filing the request, the official 

position of an individual filing the request on 

behalf of the party, and a telephone number for 

the party or party's legal representative. 

(5) Employer questions regarding TOP shall be 

directed to the Tax Administration Section by 

telephone to (919) 707-1150, facsimile at (919) 

733-1255, or email at 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(l)  Appeals from an Appeals Decision shall be filed with the 

Board of Review in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-0690. 

(3) The email address is 

des.ha.appeals@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and appeals submitted by 

email outside the SCUBI system shall not 

include social security numbers or employer 

account numbers. 

(5) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or issue identification 

number of the determination being appealed, 

the claimant's identification number, the names 

of the claimant and employer, each reason for 

the appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(m)  Protests or Appeals of Adequacy Determinations shall be 

filed with the Claims Unit in SCUBI, by mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the determination 

being protested or appealed, the name of the 

employer, each reason for the protest or appeal, 

the name of the party filing the protest or 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number for the party or 

party's legal representative. 

(n)  Protests or Appeals of a Tax Liability Determination shall be 

filed with the Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile or 

email. 
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(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 715-7197. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the determination 

being appealed, the claimant's identification 

number, the names of the claimant and 

employer, each reason for the protest or appeal, 

the name of the individual filing the protest or 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number for the party or 

party's legal representative. 

(o)  Protests or Appeals of a Tax Rate Assignment shall be filed 

with the Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the rate assignment, 

the name and address of the employer, the 

employer's account number, each reason for the 

protest or appeal, the name of the individual 

filing the protest or appeal, the official position 

of an individual filing the protest or appeal on 

behalf of the party, and a telephone number for 

the party or party's legal representative. 

(p)  Protests or Appeals of Audit Results shall be filed with the 

Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the result being 

protested or appealed, the name of the 

employer, each reason for the protest or appeal, 

the name of the individual filing the protest or 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number for the party or 

party's legal representative. 

(q)  Protests or Appeals of Tax Assessments shall be filed with the 

Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the assessment being 

protested or appealed, the name of the 

employer, each reason for the protest or appeal, 

the name of the individual filing the protest or 

appeal, the official position of the individual 

filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number for the party or 

party's legal representative. 

(r)  Exceptions to a Tax Opinion shall be filed with the Board of 

Review by mail, facsimile or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 715-7193. 

(3) The email address is BOR@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and exceptions submitted by 

email outside the SCUBI system shall not 

include social security numbers or employer 

account numbers. 

(5) Exceptions shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

exceptions, the docket or identification number 

of the tax opinion, the claimant's identification 

number, the names of the claimant and 

employer, the name of the individual filing the 

exceptions, each reason for the exceptions, the 

official position of an individual filing the 

exceptions on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(s)  Requests for Non-Charging of Benefits to an employer's 

account, and protests or appeals of benefit charges to an 

employer's account shall be filed with the Claims Unit in SCUBI, 

by mail or facsimile. 
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(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence, requests, protests, or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(4) Requests for non-charging and protests or 

appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's legal 

representative as defined in 04 NCAC 24A 

.0105 and shall contain the date of the request, 

the docket or employer's identification number, 

the name of the employer, each reason for the 

request, the name and official position of the 

individual filing the request, protest, or appeal, 

on behalf of the party, and a telephone number 

for the party or party's legal representative. 

(t)  Requests for Seasonal Determinations and Protests or Appeals 

of a Denial of Seasonal Assignment shall be filed with the Tax 

Administration Section by mail, facsimile or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 715-7197. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeal 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the denial being 

appealed, the name of the employer, each 

reason for the protest or appeal, the name of the 

individual filing the protest or appeal, the 

official position of an individual filing the 

protest or appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative. 

(u)  Transmittal of interstate work search records and photo 

identification shall be filed with the Claims Unit by mail or 

facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(v)  Requests for oral arguments or to reschedule oral arguments 

shall be filed with the Board of Review in SCUBI, by mail, 

facsimile or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-0690. 

(3) The email address is 

des.ha.appeals@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and requests for oral 

arguments submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Requests for oral arguments shall be filed by a 

party or a party's legal representative as defined 

in 04 NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the 

date of the request, the docket or issue 

identification number of the decision being 

appealed, the claimant's identification number, 

the names of the claimant and employer, the 

name and official position of the individual 

filing the request on behalf of the party, a 

telephone number for the party or party's legal 

representative and a statement that a copy of the 

request was served on the opposing party, if one 

exists. 

(w)  Employers may file Requests for Compromise of Tax Debts 

with DES's Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile or 

email. 

(1) The address is Post Office Box 26504, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(5) The letter shall contain the date of the request, 

the name of the employer, the name and official 

position of the individual filing the election on 

behalf of the employer, and a telephone number 

for the party or party's legal representative. 

(x)  Employers electing to pay reimbursements for benefits, rather 

than contributions, shall submit written notice of their election to 

DES's Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile or email. 

(1) The address is Post Office Box 26504, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(5) The letter shall contain the date of the notice of 

election, the name and address of the employer, 

the name and official position of the individual 

filing the election on behalf of the employer, 

and a telephone number for the party or party's 

legal representative. 

(y)  Employers shall make payments to DES by credit card, money 

order, electronic check, business check with funds drawn from a 

U.S. financial institution, cashier's check from a U.S. financial 

institution, automated clearing house (ACH) credit, or cash 

submitted in-person to DES's Tax Auditor. 

(1) Payments made by money order, business 

check or cashier's check shall be sent by mail or 

delivery service to DES's Tax Administration 

Section, Post Office Box 26504, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27611-6504, or by delivery to an agent 

of DES designated to accept payments in 

accordance with G.S. 96-10. 
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(2) Payments by electronic transmission, as 

defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105(25), shall be 

made on DES's website. 

(3) Payments by ACH credit shall be initiated by 

employers through their U.S. financial 

institution. 

(z)  Claimants shall make payments to DES by cashier's check 

from a U.S. financial institution, by personal check with funds 

drawn from a U.S. financial institution, by money order, or by 

credit card. 

(1) Payments by mail or delivery service shall be 

sent to the Benefit Payment Control (BPC) 

Unit, Post Office Box 25903, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27611-5903. 

(2) Payments by credit card shall be made on DES's 

website, or by calling BPC at (919) 707-1338. 

(aa)  Payment of fees for documents, digital recordings, and 

transcripts shall be made by money order, cashier's check from a 

U.S. financial institution, or by personal or business check with 

funds drawn from a U.S. financial institution. 

(1) An agency of state or federal government, a 

county, or a municipality may pay fees by bank 

draft. 

(2) Payment shall be sent by mail to DES's Office 

of Finance & Budget, Post Office Box 25903, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-5903. 

(bb)  Protests or Appeals from a Result of Investigation shall be 

filed with the Legal Services Section, ATTN: Chief Counsel, by 

mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 25903, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-5903. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-8745. 

(3) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(4) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the determination or 

result being appealed, the claimant's 

identification number, the names of the 

claimant and employer, each reason for the 

protest or appeal, the name of the individual 

filing the protest or appeal, the official position 

of an individual filing the protest or appeal on 

behalf of the party, and a telephone number for 

the party or party's representative. 

(5) Questions regarding Results of Investigation 

shall be directed to the Legal Services Section 

by telephone to (919) 707-1025, or facsimile to 

(919) 733-8745. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75-62; 96-4; 96-9.6; 96-9.8; 96-

10; 96-10.1; 96-14.1; 96-15; 96-17; 96-18; 96-40; 20 C.F.R. 

603.4; 20 CFR 603.8; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0206 METHOD OF PAYMENT 

Payment of fees for the release of records unrelated to a pending 

matter or contested case shall be made to DES in accordance with 

04 NCAC 24A .0104(aa). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.8; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0501 WRITTEN REQUEST 

REQUIRED 

(a)  A party requesting a copy of file documents, a digital 

recording of a hearing, or a written transcript of a hearing in a 

matter where an appeal is pending shall submit the request in 

writing. 

(b)  A party's written request for a copy of the file documents, 

digital recording of the hearing, or written transcript of the hearing 

shall include: 

(1) the name and address of the party making the 

request; 

(2) the claimant's name, if applicable; 

(3) the employer's name, if applicable; 

(4) the docket or issue identification number of the 

case; 

(5) the date of or approximate date that the record 

was made; 

(6) the person or office that made the record; and 

(7) the name and address to which the record shall 

be sent. 

(c)  When a party has requested a written transcript, any other 

party with appeal rights to the proceeding may request a copy of 

the transcript. The request shall meet the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  The request may accompany or be included in an appeal letter. 

Requests may also be submitted to the Legal Services Section, 

ATTN: Request for Hearing Record by mail to Post Office Box 

25903, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27611-5903, or by facsimile to 

(919) 733-8745. 

(e)  Requests for file documents, digital recordings, or hearing 

transcripts from any individual or entity who is not a party with 

appeal rights in the proceeding shall be evaluated pursuant to 

Section .0200 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  Requests for file documents, digital recordings, or hearing 

transcripts in a matter where appeal rights have expired and the 

decision became final shall be made in accordance with Section 

.0200 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 603.5; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0502 INDIGENCY 

(a)  A party who is unable to provide payment assurance with a 

written transcript request pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0501 may 

proceed in forma pauperis. The party may obtain a transcript if the 

request is accompanied by a written affidavit stating that he or she 

is unable to advance the required costs, and proof pursuant to 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 
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(b)  The Chief Counsel or designee shall authorize release of the 

transcript to an indigent party if the person submits the required 

affidavit and meets one or more of the following criteria: 

(1) receives electronic food and nutrition benefits; 

(2) receives Work First Family Assistance; 

(3) receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI); 

(4) is represented by a legal services organization 

that has as its primary purpose the furnishing of 

legal services to indigent persons; 

(5) is represented by private counsel working on 

behalf of or under the auspices of a legal 

services organization in accordance with 

Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph; or 

(6) is represented by private counsel under a 

written agreement to provide pro bono legal 

services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 1-110; 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0503 INVOICE AND FEES 

(a)  A party who requests a copy of the file documents or a digital 

recording in a pending appeal or contested case under this Section 

shall be provided with the file documents and digital recording 

free of charge. 

(b)  A request for a written transcript of the hearing shall include 

payment assurance by stating that the requesting party will pay 

the fee for the transcript in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(z) or (aa). Payment is due upon receipt, but no more than 

15 days after the date that the transcript was mailed or transmitted 

to the party. 

(c)  A party who requests a written transcript of a hearing but does 

not provide payment assurance in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(z) or (aa) shall receive a digital recording of the hearing free 

of charge. 

(d)  A party who requests a written transcript of a hearing with 

payment assurance as set forth in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(z) or (aa) 

shall receive a written transcript. An invoice for the fees charged 

by DES shall accompany the transcript and shall not exceed the 

lesser of sixty-five cents per page or sixty-five dollars ($65.00) 

per transcript pursuant to G.S. 96-15(f). 

(e)  Payment for transcripts under this Section shall include the 

invoice number and be made in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(z) or (aa). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 603.8; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0504 DISCLOSURE OF RECORDS 

RELATED TO PENDING APPEAL OR CONTESTED 

CASE 

(a)  The Chief Counsel or designee shall transmit a copy of the 

requested record to the requesting party by mail, unless the party 

requests or authorizes delivery by electronic transmission or 

delivery service in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A .0103. 

(b)  A party who files an appeal to the superior court from a 

decision of the Board of Review regarding the rights, liabilities, 

and status of an employer and complies with the requirements of 

G.S. 96-4 shall receive a copy of the transcript of all testimony, 

records, evidence, and assignment of errors free of charge when it 

is transmitted to the court in accordance with G.S. 96-4(q). 

(c)  A party who files a petition for judicial review and complies 

with the requirements of G.S. 96-15 shall receive a copy of the 

transcript and entire record under review free of charge when it is 

transmitted to the court in accordance with G.S. 96-15(h). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 603.5; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0601 OFFICIAL FORMS 

(a)  Unless otherwise provided, all employer forms referenced 

under the rules of this Chapter are available at des.nc.gov, or by 

contacting the Employer Call Center (ECC) as follows: 

(1) mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611; 

(2) phone number is (919) 707-1150; 

(3) facsimile number is (919) 715-0780; or 

(4) email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccomerce.com. 

(b)  Unless otherwise provided, all claimant forms referenced 

under the rules of this Chapter are available at des.nc.gov, or by 

contacting the Customer Call Center (CCC) as follows: 

(1) mailing address is P.O. Box 25903, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27611-5903; 

(2) phone number is (888) 737-0259; 

(3) facsimile number is (919) 250-4315; or 

(4) email address is 

des.ui.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .1401 Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24B .0601 NOTICE REQUIREMENT FOR 

OVERPAYMENT 

(a)  A determination by DES finding an overpayment of benefits 

to a claimant shall contain: 

(1) the date the determination was mailed or sent to 

the claimant by electronic transmission; 

(2) reasons for the overpayment; 

(3) the statutory authority under G.S. 96-18(g)(3) 

for seeking repayment of the overpayment; 

(4) notice that the claimant may protest the 

overpayment determination and instructions on 

how to protest the overpayment determination 

as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(c) or (d); 

and 

(5) notice that the claimant may file a request for 

waiver of the overpayment in the same manner 

as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(g). 

(b)  A determination notifying a claimant of an overpayment of 

benefits caused by the reversal of a previous decision that found 

the claimant eligible or not disqualified to receive benefits shall 

contain the same information contained in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

through (3) of this Rule, and shall: 

(1) have no protest rights; 
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(2) notify the claimant that the overpayment may 

only be protested by appealing the underlying 

decision that ruled the claimant ineligible or 

disqualified for benefits; and 

(3) notify the claimant that DES shall not consider 

a request to waive repayment of an 

overpayment while an appeal of the underlying 

decision that resulted in the overpayment is 

pending, or until the underlying decision that 

resulted in the overpayment is final. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-18; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; October 1, 2017. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0301 ADMINISTRATIVE 

PROCEEDINGS 

(a)  An individual who is a party to a proceeding may represent 

himself or herself before an Appeals Referee. 

(b)  A partnership may be represented by an employee or any of 

the partners. 

(c)  A corporation may be represented by an officer, employee, or 

agent as defined in G.S. 32C-1-102. 

(d)  An association may be represented by an employee or any of 

its members. 

(e)  A limited liability company may be represented by an 

employee, agent, or any of its members. 

(f)  Any party may be represented by a legal representative as 

defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-17; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0601 GENERAL FORMAT OF 

REPORTS AND FORMS AND METHODS OF 

SUBMISSION 

(a)  The following shall file the Employer's Quarterly Tax and 

Wage Report (NCUI 101) using compact disks, or electronic 

transmission via the internet at des.nc.gov, or paper returns. 

(1) employers with 10 or more employees in any 

one calendar quarter; and 

(2) other entities, including agents reporting on 

behalf of employers, who file reports for a 

client employer with a total of 10 or more 

employees in any one calendar quarter. 

(b)  The Employer's Quarterly Tax and Wage Reports shall 

contain the: 

(1) quarter for which the wages are being reported; 

(2) employer's account number; 

(3) tax rate assigned by DES; 

(4) date that the NCUI 101 was due to DES; 

(5) total amount of taxable wages paid to 

employees in accordance with G.S. 96-9.3; 

(6) total amount of wages that exceed the taxable 

wages; 

(7) total amount of tax due for the quarter; 

(8) total amount of interest due for the quarter: 

(9) amount of late filing penalty in accordance with 

G.S. 96-10, if applicable; 

(10) amount of late payment penalty in accordance 

with G.S. 96-10, if applicable; 

(11) name, social security number, and gross wages 

of each employee; 

(12) name, title, telephone number, and signature of 

the individual submitting the NCUI 101 on 

behalf of the employer; and 

(13) date that form is submitted to DES. 

(c)  Employers, including agents, who file an Employer's 

Quarterly Tax and Wage Report for a client employer with less 

than 10 total employees in any one calendar quarter shall use 

compact disks, electronic transmissions via DES's website, or 

paper returns. 

(d)  Agents reporting on behalf of employers with less than 10 

employees may submit compact disks, electronic transmissions 

via DES's website, or paper returns that contain information from 

multiple employers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0702 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

TRANSFER OF EXPERIENCE 

(a)  A successor employer shall use the following information 

when requesting a partial transfer of experience rating: 

(1) the total three-year taxable payroll ending June 

30th prior to the last computation date for the 

transferring employer; and 

(2) the total three-year taxable payroll ending June 

30th prior to the last computation date for the 

transferring employer, relating to the severable 

portion acquired. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an alternate three-

year payroll may be used when the severed or retained unit was 

not operated by the transferring employer during the three-year 

period ending June 30th prior to the last computation date. 

(c)  A successor employer that acquires the experience rating 

account, either total or partial, shall be liable for accrued benefits 

and acquire related rights based on the transferring employer's 

employment prior to the acquisition. Benefit charges to the 

transferring or successor employer shall be made in accordance 

with the percentage used to transfer the experience rating account, 

based on wages paid prior to the transfer. 

(d)  The requirements of this Section shall apply to transfers 

mandated by law, and those requiring DES's approval pursuant to 

G.S. 96-11.7. 

(e)  DES shall issue a written determination of whether there was 

a partial or total transfer of an experience rating account when a 

request for a transfer of experience rating account is made by a 

successor employer. 

(f)  A successor employer's completion and submission of an 

Application for Partial Transfer of Experience Rating Account 

(Form NCUI 603) for a transfer pursuant to G.S. 96-11.7(b) 

within two years of the date that part of the organization, trade, or 

business was transferred, with the information described in 
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Paragraph (a) of this Rule and by any means set forth in 04 NCAC 

24A .0104(o) shall satisfy the requirements of this Rule. 

(g)  The successor employer's completion and submission of Form 

NCUI 603 for a transfer pursuant to G.S. 96-11.7(c) within 30 

days of the mailing date of the written determination that part of 

the organization, trade, or business was transferred, with the 

information described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and by any 

means set forth in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(o) shall satisfy the 

requirements of this Rule. 

(h)  Form NCUI 603 shall contain: 

(1) the date that part of the organization, trade, or 

business was transferred; 

(2) the percent of the payroll transferred to the 

successor; 

(3) the percent of the payroll retained by the 

predecessor; 

(4) whether the successor employer is related to the 

predecessor employer; 

(5) the predecessor employer's name and account 

or federal ID number; 

(6) the name, title, and signature of individual 

signing the form on behalf of the predecessor 

employer; 

(7) the date that individual signed the form on 

behalf of the predecessor employer; 

(8) the successor employer's name and account 

number; 

(9) the name, title, and signature of individual 

signing the form on behalf of the successor 

employer; and 

(10) the date that individual signed the form on 

behalf of the successor employer. 

(i)  A successor employer that disagrees with a determination that 

there was a partial or total transfer of an experience rating account, 

or with the tax rate set forth in the determination, may file a 

written protest of the determination and request a hearing. 

(1) The protest shall be filed with DES's Tax 

Administration Section within 30 days from the 

date that the determination is mailed pursuant 

to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(o), as for protests of a 

Tax Rate Assignment. 

(2) Hearings requested pursuant to this Section 

shall be conducted as set forth in 04 NCAC 24F 

.0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-10; 96-11.7; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0703 LATE NOTICE OF TRANSFER 

(a)  The following definitions shall apply in this Rule: 

(1) A related transfer is an acquisition by related 

party as defined in G.S. 96-11.7(c). 

(2) An "unrelated transfer" is any business transfer 

recognized in G.S. 96-11.7 except that of G.S. 

96-11.7(c). 

(b)  A successor employer shall notify DES of an unrelated 

transfer within two years of the date that part of the organization, 

trade, or business was transferred in accordance with G.S. 96-

11.7(b) and 04 NCAC 24D .0702. If a successor employer does 

not notify DES within two years of the date that part of the 

organization, trade, or business was transferred, and later requests 

a redetermination of its tax rate, DES shall not approve the 

transfer, and shall notify the employer in writing. 

(c)  A successor employer shall notify DES of a related transfer 

within 10 days of the date that part of the organization, trade, or 

business was transferred in accordance with G.S. 96-11.7(c) and 

pursuant to 04 NCAC 24D .0702. If a successor employer does 

not notify DES of a related transfer within 10 days of the date that 

part of the organization, trade, or business was transferred, and 

later requests a redetermination of its tax rate, DES shall 

recalculate the tax rate back to the date of acquisition, or January 

1 of the year in which it received notice of the transfer, whichever 

is later. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.7; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0901 SPECIAL TAX 

INVESTIGATIONS 

(a)  When it is discovered by a representative of DES that a 

claimant is alleging that he or she was an employee and the 

employer is alleging that the claimant was not an employee, the 

matter shall be referred to DES's Assistant Secretary in writing. 

(b)  The Assistant Secretary, on behalf of DES, shall refer the 

matter to the Tax Administration Section for an investigation. 

Upon receipt of the findings of the investigation, the Assistant 

Secretary shall issue a Result of Investigation by the Tax 

Administration Section. The Result of Investigation shall be in 

writing and mailed to each party to the controversy pursuant to 04 

NCAC 24A .0103. 

(c)  The Result of Investigation shall provide notice of each party's 

rights for filing an appeal to obtain a hearing before the Board of 

Review, and the 10-day time period from the date of mailing 

within which an appeal shall be filed pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(bb) and G.S. 96-15(c). 

(d)  Appeal hearings pursuant to this Section shall be upon order 

of the Board of Review and conducted pursuant to 04 NCAC 24F 

.0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .1002 DIVISION'S OBLIGATIONS 

(a)  DES shall review the employing unit's request to review and 

redetermine its tax rate and all available facts, and shall issue a 

written ruling. The ruling shall be mailed to the employing unit's 

address as set forth in 04 NCAC 24A .0103 and include the 

following: 

(1) whether the application was granted or denied; 

(2) the applicable legal authority, with specific 

citations, for the ruling; 

(3) the mailing date of the notice; 

(4) a statement containing the employer's right to 

appeal the notice; and 

(5) the time period within which an appeal may be 

filed. 
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(b)  The employing unit may file a written appeal of the ruling and 

request a hearing. 

(1) The appeal shall be filed with DES's Tax 

Administration Section within 30 days of the 

mailing date of the redetermination ruling 

pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(o). 

(2) Hearings requested pursuant to this Section 

shall be conducted as set forth in 04 NCAC 24F 

.0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 08 - BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0301 EXPENDITURES FOR 

RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 163-278.16B, a candidate or candidate 

campaign committee may not use contributions if the purpose of 

the expenditure is to purchase, lease, rent, or make mortgage 

payments on residential real property that is owned, either directly 

or indirectly, by the candidate or officeholder, or a member of the 

candidate's or officeholder's family, even if a portion of the 

residence is used for the campaign or holding office. 

(b)  For the purpose of this Rule: 

(1) "family" includes a candidate's or officeholder's 

spouse, children, parents, brothers, or sisters. 

(2) "indirectly" includes ownership by any 

corporation or business entity in which the 

candidate or officeholder or the candidate's or 

officeholder's family member has an ownership 

interest. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-278.16B; 163-278.21; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 63C .0203 SUSPENSION OR 

TERMINATION OF LICENSE AND REMOVAL FROM 

BUSINESS ENTERPRISES FACILITY 

(a)  The Division may suspend or terminate the license of an 

operator, after affording the operator an opportunity to appeal the 

decision as set forth in Section .0400.  

(b)  Licenses to licensees and operators shall be terminated if the 

licensee or operator: 

(1) no longer meets the definition of legally blind 

pursuant to Rule .0101 of this Subchapter; 

(2) withdraws from the program and sends written 

notification to the Division; 

(3) is convicted of a misdemeanor involving crimes 

of dishonesty or any felony; 

(4) provides false information to the Division 

pertaining to eligibility requirements set forth 

pursuant to Rule .0202 of this Subchapter; 

(5) unlawfully possesses firearms or lethal 

weapons on the job; 

(6) uses Business Enterprises equipment purchased 

with program funds or a Business Enterprises 

facility to operate another business; or 

(7) if an operator's license is suspended 3 times 

within a consecutive 24-month period in 

accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 

regardless of the reason for suspension. 

(c)  Licenses to operators shall be suspended if the operator: 

(1) fails to operate the Business Enterprises facility 

in accordance with the operator agreement for 

three or more consecutive months; 

(2) commits willful acts in the Business Enterprises 

facility or on the grounds of the facility to create 

a threat to the health and safety of facility staff, 

customers or the general public; 

(3) reports to a Business Enterprises facility under 

the influence of alcohol or any controlled 

substance or partakes of such on the job. This 

shall not include unanticipated effects from the 

ingestion of prescription medications taken in 

accordance with the directions of a doctor; 

(4) fails to personally operate the awarded facility, 

as set forth in the operator agreement, unless 

prior written approval to operate the facility in 

another manner has been obtained from the 

Division. This requirement shall not mandate 

the physical presence of the operator at the 

facility at all times of its operation; 

(5) fails three times during the calendar year to pay 

set-aside and liability fees and health insurance 

premiums and phone bills, if applicable, to the 

Controller's Office by the 15th day of the month 

following the month in which the business was 

transacted; 

(6) fails to preserve financial and other records 

pertaining to the operation of the Business 

Enterprises facility as required by Rule 

.0601(a)(8) of this Subchapter; 

(7) fails to respond to requests made by an auditing 

authority conducting audits pursuant to State or 

federal law, as required by this Subchapter; 

(8) fails to maintain liability and workers 

compensation insurance coverage as required 

by law and by Rule .0607 of this Subchapter; 

(9) removes Business Enterprises equipment 

purchased with program funds from the facility 

without written authorization from the 

Division; 

(10) fails to comply with federal or State law 

prohibiting discrimination in hiring and service 

to customers; 

(11) fails to comply with federal or State tax laws for 

individuals who are self-employed if this 

violation relates to the Business Enterprises 
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facility. This suspension shall only occur if 

there has been a final adjudication of the 

violation by State and federal authorities; or 

(12) fails to comply with the operator's 

responsibilities as required by Rule .0601 of 

this Subchapter. 

(d)  Prior to the suspension of an operator's license, the Division 

shall provide the operator with a written corrective action plan. 

The Division and the operator shall both sign the corrective action 

plan. The corrective action plan shall include: 

(1) the specific provision in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule that the operator has violated, the specific 

provision contained in the operator's agreement 

that has been violated, or the specific provision 

otherwise contained in this Subchapter that has 

not been complied with; 

(2) the specific corrective actions that the operator 

must take to cure the violation identified in 

Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule, including 

participation in training or receipt of technical 

assistance provided by the Division, if 

necessary: and 

(3) the time frame in which the operator must cure 

the violation, which shall not exceed 90 days. 

The time frame in which to cure the violation 

may be extended if actions are being taken to 

resolve the violations pursuant to a written 

agreement between the operator and Division. 

(e)  If an operator fails to complete the corrective action plan to 

cure the violation within the time set forth in the corrective action 

plan, or otherwise refuses to sign a corrective action plan, the 

Division shall suspend the license of the operator. The length of a 

suspension shall not exceed 60 days. 

(f)  During the time period in which an operator's license is 

suspended, the Division shall identify another operator to assume 

responsibility for the locations of the suspended operator. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 111-27; 111-27.1; 34 C.F.R. 

395.3; 34 C.F.R. 395.7; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107; 

Eff. October 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; February 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 63C .0204 FILLING OF VACANCIES 

(a)  The Division shall send a notice of vacant facilities to all 

operators and licensees within the last 10 business days of the 

month. The notice shall provide a description of the vacancy, who 

to contact for more information, the address where the application 

may be submitted, and the deadline for receipt of application. The 

deadline specified in the notice shall be no earlier than that 10th 

day of the following month, or the first business day thereafter. In 

the event of an emergency vacancy, including death or illness of 

an operator, the schedule for sending notices of vacant facilities, 

conducting interviews, and awarding vacancies set forth in this 

Rule may be changed as determined by the Chief of Business 

Enterprises and the chairman of the Elected Committee of Blind 

Vendors or his or her designee. 

(b)  An individual shall be eligible to apply for a vacancy if the 

individual currently possesses the license level required by the 

vacant facility or, if the training is not currently provided by the 

Division or otherwise available for the license level required for 

the vacant facility, the individual shall be eligible to apply if the 

applicant holds the next lower license level. 

(c)  An individual who has received written notice from the 

Division that the individual owes money to the Business 

Enterprises Program and still owes that money is only eligible to 

apply for a vacancy if: 

(1) the individual has a repayment plan in place to 

repay the money he or she owes and is in 

compliance with that repayment plan; or 

(2) there is a pending grievance as set forth in 

Section .0400 in this Chapter. 

(d)  An individual shall not be eligible to apply for a vacancy if 

the individual has failed to appear for a scheduled interview twice 

during the preceding 12 months. In this instance, the individual 

will not be eligible to apply for a vacancy for 24 months from the 

date of the last scheduled interview. This provision shall not apply 

if the applicant withdrew from the interview by providing notice 

to the Division 48 hours prior to the scheduled appearance or if 

prior to the interview, the individual provides information to the 

Division documenting that the individual is unable to attend due 

to health reasons. 

(e)  Operators and licensees who wish to apply for any vacancy 

shall submit an application to the address contained in the notice 

or to office of the Chief of Business Enterprises via electronic 

mail, personal delivery, the United States Postal Service, or 

commercial delivery services. 

(f)  The application shall include the applicant's name, address, 

telephone number, the name of the current BEP facility assigned 

to the applicant if applicable, the name of the facility that the 

applicant is applying for, the applicant's signature, and the date 

the application is signed. 

(g)  All applications shall be received by the Division no later than 

the deadline date identified in the notice. "Received" for the 

purpose of this Paragraph means that the application is in the 

possession of the Division. If the application is not received by 

the Division by the deadline, the applicant shall not be eligible to 

interview for the vacancy. However, if the Division does not 

receive the application by the deadline, an applicant may 

demonstrate compliance with this Paragraph by demonstrating he 

or she submitted the application in compliance with Paragraph (d) 

and any failure or delay in the delivery was due to causes beyond 

the applicant's control.  

(h)  At least 10 business days prior to the interview, the Business 

Enterprises Consultant who works with the applicant shall 

calculate the applicant's points for sanitation, seniority, and 

financial performance as set forth in Subparagraphs (i)(1), (2), and 

(3) of this Rule and inform the applicant of his or her point total 

in writing and shall include with that communication a description 

of any ways in which the Business Enterprises Consultant noted 

that the applicant failed to provide the information required by 

Subparagraphs (i)(1), (2), and (3) of this Rule. The applicant shall 

have five business days from his or her receipt of the notice from 

the Business Enterprises Consultant to request any adjustments to 

the point total. As part of the request, the applicant must provide 

to the Business Enterprise Consultant all supporting information 

with the request, including documents required to complete a new 

financial analysis and operation standard tool (FAOS) if another 
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FAOS is requested by the applicant. The applicant's points for 

sanitation, seniority, and FAOS shall be shared with all members 

of the interview committee. 

(i)  The Business Enterprises Consultant shall assign points to 

each applicant for sanitation, seniority, and financial performance 

as follows: 

(1) Five sanitation points may be awarded based on 

the sanitation grades for the Business 

Enterprises facilities that were operated by an 

applicant, as follows: 

(A) The applicant shall verify with the 

Business Enterprises Consultant that 

he or she has copies of every sanitation 

inspection form from the specified 

period so that the points can be 

calculated. 

(B) One point shall be awarded for each 

sanitation grade point above 90, which 

shall be determined by averaging all 

sanitation scores received during the 

previous 24 months. 

(C) Any points deducted on the sanitation 

review reports for deficiencies that are 

the responsibility of facility 

management, pertaining to the 

condition of bathrooms, floors, 

ceilings and walls, shall be added in 

the calculations by the Business 

Enterprises Consultant. 

(D) An applicant who is a licensee with a 

score of 90 percent or greater on his or 

her most recent National Restaurant 

Association's ServSafe exam shall be 

assigned three sanitation points. 

(2) A maximum of five seniority points may be 

awarded based on the number of years an 

applicant has worked as an operator in the 

Business Enterprises Program. The applicant 

shall be awarded 0.2 points for each 12 months 

worked as an operator in the Business 

Enterprises Program. The cutoff date for 

accruing time in the facility shall be the end of 

the month when the vacancy is advertised. 

(3) A maximum of 50 financial performance points 

may be awarded. Financial performance for 

applicants who are operators shall be based on 

the facilities assigned to the operator. Financial 

performance shall be calculated by analyzing 

the average monthly sales and average gross 

profit percentage for sales during the 12-month 

period ending with the last day of the month 

preceding the month in which the vacancy is 

advertised. The cut-off date for calculating 

financial performance shall be the 12-month 

period ending with the last day of the month in 

which the vacancy is advertised. The FAOS 

shall be utilized to help determine the financial 

performance of the facility. A FAOS shall be 

completed by the Business Enterprises 

Consultant for a facility every two years to 

determine the optimum sales percentage and 

optimum gross profit percentage without 

consideration for theft or waste. Eighty-five 

percent of the optimum sales percentage and 

optimum gross profit percentage shall be the 

standard for each Business Enterprises facility. 

(A) If an applicant who is not currently 

operating a Business Enterprises 

facility applies for a vacancy within 12 

months of leaving a facility, the FAOS 

for the applicant's prior facility shall 

be used for the calculations in this 

Subparagraph if the FAOS was 

completed within the required two-

year period. 

(B) The applicant's Business Enterprises 

Consultant shall determine the FAOS 

points by tabulating all the invoices for 

purchases for resale for that facility for 

the 12-month period ending with the 

last day of the preceding month in 

which the vacancy is advertised. The 

Business Enterprises Consultant shall 

calculate the month sales average for 

each of the 12 months for the numbers 

identified in the following Subparts 

and using those monthly averages, 

determine the three months that are 

closet to the monthly average to 

allocate points as follows: 

(i) applicants shall receive 20 

points for meeting or 

exceeding 85 percent of their 

sales standard; 

(ii) applicants shall receive 20 

points for meeting or 

exceeding 85 percent of their 

gross profit percentage 

standard; 

(iii) applicants shall receive 5 

points for meeting or 

exceeding 92.5 percent of 

their optimum sales 

percentage; 

(iv) applicants shall receive 5 

points for meeting or 

exceeding 92.5 percent of 

their optimum gross profit 

percentage; 

(v) applicants who are operators 

of a Business Enterprises 

military facility at the time of 

application shall be assigned 

50 FAOS points; 

(vi) applicants who are licensees 

at the time of application 

shall be assigned 40 FAOS 

points; and 
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(vii) applicants who have operated 

a Business Enterprises 

facility for less than 6 months 

prior to the cut-off date for 

calculating financial 

performance shall be 

assigned 40 FAOS points.  

(j)  The Interview Committee shall consist of: 

(1) the Chief of the Business Enterprises Program 

or his or her designee; 

(2) a Business Enterprises Program Consultant or 

Business Enterprises Program designee; 

(3) the vice-chair of the Elected Committee of 

Vendors (ECBV) or ECBV designee; and 

(4) the chair of the ECBV transfer and promotion 

subcommittee or ECBV designee. 

(k)  The Interview Committee shall interview all eligible 

applicants who present for the scheduled interview. The Interview 

Committee shall select 15 questions developed by the Interview 

Committee prior to the interview. A maximum of two points per 

question may be awarded for a maximum total of 30 points by 

each Interview Committee member participating in the interview. 

The interview questions shall relate to any special needs of the 

vacant facility as well as to standard responsibilities and 

knowledge areas of Business Enterprises operators. There shall be 

at least two math questions. A calculator shall be provided by the 

Interview Committee, although applicants may bring their own 

calculator. 

(l)  An applicant shall not sit on the Interview Committee for a 

location where he or she is applying or if a member of his or her 

immediate family has applied for a vacant facility. For the purpose 

of this Rule, "immediate family" means a spouse, parent, or child, 

as well as siblings, and step, half and in-law relationships. If the 

vice-chair of the ECBV or the chair of the ECBV transfer and 

promotions committee are disqualified from serving as a result of 

this Rule, the vice-chair of the ECBV and the chair of the ECBV 

transfer and promotions committee shall jointly select two 

members of the Elected Committee of Blind Vendors to sit on the 

Interview Committee. 

(m)  The interview shall be conducted and evaluated as follows: 

(1) all applicants shall be notified in writing of the 

date, time, and place of their interview; 

(2) the interview shall be face-to-face. For the 

purposes of this Rule, a conference call shall 

not be considered face-to-face; and 

(3) each member of the Interview Committee shall 

evaluate the applicant's response to each 

interview question. The applicant shall receive 

up to two points per question as determined by 

committee members. 

(n)  The Interview Committee shall calculate the point total under 

this Rule for each applicant, which shall equal the sum of the 

points awarded to the applicant for sanitation, seniority, FAOS, 

the interview score pursuant to Paragraphs (i) and (k) of this Rule. 

The applicant with the highest point total shall be awarded the 

vacancy. If the applicant with the highest point total declines to 

accept the location, it shall be offered to the applicant with the 

next highest point total. In the case of an exact tie, the Division 

shall award the location to the applicant that has worked the 

longest period of time as an operator in a Business Enterprises 

facility. 

(o)  The Division shall notify each applicant by telephone after 

the conclusion of interviews whether the applicant was awarded 

the location and shall confirm the notification in writing. 

(p)  The location shall not be filled for 10 business days following 

the Division's providing notice to all applicants 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-23(f) of the results of the award process, in 

order to allow time for administrative appeals to be filed. If an 

appeal is filed, the location shall be filled on a conditional basis 

until the appeal is resolved. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"conditional basis" means that the operator may manage the 

location until the appeal has been resolved. If there is only one 

applicant for a location, the 20 business days waiting period shall 

not apply. 

(q)  Upon being awarded a location, the applicant shall have 20 

business days to assume the responsibilities for the operation of 

the vacant facility. The Division shall agree to a different time 

frame if adhering to the 20 business days' timeframe would cause 

a hardship to the applicant awarded the facility. 

(r)  Applicants shall be reimbursed for their expenses to come to 

the interview at the State's per diem rates. Applicants who are 

receiving vocational rehabilitation services shall be reimbursed 

through the vocational rehabilitation program. The Business 

Enterprises Program shall only reimburse an applicant for three 

interviews per year. After three interviews, applicants shall bear 

their own expenses. 

(s)  Applicants not selected may file an administrative appeal as 

provided for in Section .0400 of this Subchapter. The time limit 

to file an appeal shall be 10 business days from the date that the 

applicant receives a notice of the results of the award process that 

conforms to the requirements of G.S. 150B-23(f). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 111-27; 111-27.1; 143B-157; 20 

U.S.C. sec. 107; 

Eff. October 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; 

December 1, 1993; February 1, 1986; February 1, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 63C .0403 PROCEDURE 

(a)  A licensee, operator, or the ECBV dissatisfied with any action 

or inaction taken by the Division related to the Business 

Enterprises Program may request an informal review by the 

Operator Relations Committee. Participation in an informal 

review is not required to obtain a full evidentiary hearing, nor does 

participation in an informal review waive any right to obtain a full 

evidentiary hearing. 

(1) When a licensee, operator, or the ECBV wishes 

to request an informal review by the Operator 

Relations Committee, the licensee, operator, or 

ECBV shall submit a written request to the 

Business Enterprises Program Chief. The 

licensee, operator, or the ECBV shall have 20 

business days after the action or inaction taken 

by the Division that they are dissatisfied with to 

request an informal review. 
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(2) The written request of the licensee, operator, or 

ECBV shall include: 

(A) their name, address, and preferred 

means of receiving written 

communication with the Division; 

(B) a statement that they are requesting an 

informal review; 

(C) a statement explaining the actions or 

inactions with which they are 

dissatisfied; and 

(D) a statement explaining the resolution 

sought by the licensee, operator, or 

ECBV. 

This request shall be transmitted to the Business 

Enterprises Program Chief personally, electronically, or 

by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

(3) The licensee, operator, or the ECBV shall be 

notified of the date and location of the informal 

review at least five business days in advance of 

the informal review. The informal review shall 

be conducted within 25 business days of receipt 

of the request. The Operator Relations 

Committee shall issue a written decision within 

10 business days after the informal review is 

conducted and mail the decision to the licensee, 

operator, or ECBV and the Division. 

(4) The Division shall review the decision of the 

Operator Relations Committee and shall notify 

the licensee, operator, or ECBV in writing 

whether the Division affirms or overrules the 

decision within five business days of receipt of 

the decision. 

(5) A request for an informal review under this 

Rule shall have the effect of suspending the 

time limitation for filing a petition for contested 

case hearing pursuant to G.S. 150B-23 and 

other provisions of Chapter 150B, Article 3 

until the later of the following: 

(A) the licensee, operator, or the ECBV 

receives written notice of the 

Division's final decision regarding the 

informal review; or 

(B) the licensee, operator, or the ECBV 

withdraws its request for informal 

review 

(b)  Notwithstanding any other provision in this Rule, a licensee, 

operator, or the ECBV dissatisfied with any action or inaction 

taken by the Division related to the Business Enterprises Program 

may request a full evidentiary hearing by filing a petition for 

contested case hearing with the Office of Administrative 

Hearings. Such a request for a full evidentiary hearing shall be 

filed within the time limitation contained in G.S. 150B-23(f). 

(1) This hearing shall be held in accordance with 

G.S. 150B, Article 3. 

(2) If the dispute(s) is not resolved to the 

satisfaction of the licensee, operator, or the 

ECBV after the conclusion of a full evidentiary 

hearing, an appeal may be made to the 

Secretary of the U. S. Department of Education 

for the convening of an arbitration panel in 

accordance with 34 C.F.R. 395.13. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 111-27; 111-27.1; 143B-157; 

150B-23; 20 U.S.C. 107b-1; 20 U.S.C. 107d-1; 

Eff. October 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; August 1, 1990; 

February 1, 1984; February 1, 1983; December 1, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 63C .0601 GENERAL RESPONSIBILITIES 

(a)  A Business Enterprises operator shall: 

(1) ensure the operation of a Business Enterprises 

facility in accordance with the rules of the 

Commission for the Blind, the contractual 

agreement between the Division and the 

operator, and the terms and conditions of the 

permit or contract with the host facility 

including any amendments if provided to the 

operator. This requirement shall not mandate 

the physical presence of the operator at the 

facility at all times of its operation; 

(2) operate the facility in accordance with all 

applicable public health laws and Rules; 

(3) purchase merchandise, price goods for sale as 

set forth in Rule .0608 of this Subchapter, 

purchase supplies for the facility, rotate stock, 

and control inventory in the Business 

Enterprises facility; 

(4) open and maintain a business bank account for 

the management of funds derived from the 

Business Enterprises facility; 

(5) submit an electronic profit and loss report (D-

sheet) to the Division by the 15th of the month 

following the reporting month. Assistance shall 

be provided with the electronic submission of 

the report by the Business Enterprises 

Consultant upon request from the operator; 

(6) submit payment of all monthly fees, including 

set-aside and liability fees, health insurance 

premiums, and phone bill payments, if 

applicable, to the Controller's Office by the 15th 

of the month following the month in which the 

business was transacted; 

(7) keep all records supporting the monthly profit 

and loss report (D-sheet) for three calendar 

years; 

(8) provide records for the assigned facility to the 

Division upon request for reviews as required 

by this Subchapter. That may include cash sales 

deposit receipts, cash register tapes, monthly 

bank and credit card statements, invoices and 

receipts for purchases and expenses, weekly or 

monthly card reader reports, and payroll 

records; 

(9) be available for all appointments with the 

Division staff members, which will be 

scheduled at the convenience of both parties; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 

617 

(10) not subcontract management of the Business 

Enterprises facility except as approved in 

writing by the Division; 

(11) take actions to correct deficiencies noted on 

Business Enterprises facility audits or reviews 

within 15 business days after receiving 

notification of the deficiencies and a description 

of the corrective actions to be taken, unless an 

extension to this time frame has been agreed to 

by the Division and operator in writing; and 

(12) notify the Division of changes to the following 

no later than 10 business days after the change 

occurs: 

(A) the facility telephone number; 

(B) the address to which Business 

Enterprises correspondence is 

delivered; and 

(C) emergency contact information. 

(b)  The operator shall be accountable to the Division for the 

proceeds of the Business Enterprises facility and shall handle the 

proceeds as set forth in Section .0700 of the Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 111-27; 111-27.1; 34 C.F.R. 

395.3; 34 C.F.R. 395.7; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; April 1, 1990; February 1, 1984; 

October 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0602 NATURE OF PROBATIONARY 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  A probationary certificate may be issued as a building 

inspector, electrical inspector, mechanical inspector, plumbing 

inspector, or fire inspector as set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706, 

without examination, to any newly employed or newly promoted 

code enforcement official who lacks a standard certificate that 

covers the new position. A probationary certificate shall be issued 

for three years only and shall not be renewed. During the three-

year period, the official shall complete the requirements set forth 

in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 to qualify for the appropriate standard 

certificate. A probationary certificate shall authorize the official, 

during the effective period of the certificate, to hold the position 

of the type, level, and location specified. The certificate shall be 

conditioned on the applicant's completion of a high school 

diploma or a high school equivalency certificate and meeting one 

of the following: 

(1) working under supervision sufficient, as 

determined by a supporting letter provided for 

in 11 NCAC 08 .0706(b), to protect the public 

health and safety; 

(2) possessing a minimum of two years of design, 

construction, or inspection experience working 

under a certified inspector or under a licensed 

professional engineer, registered architect, or 

licensed contractor; 

(3) possessing one of the experience qualifications 

listed in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 in each area of code 

enforcement for which the probationary 

certificate is issued; or 

(4) achieving a minimum score of 70 percent on the 

probationary prequalification exam 

administered by the Board in each area of code 

enforcement for which the probationary 

certificate is issued. 

(b)  A probationary certificate as a residential changeout inspector 

set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0734 may be issued to any employed 

code enforcement official, whose employment can be verified 

pursuant to 11 NCAC 08 .0734(d)(2), who lacks a standard 

certificate as a residential changeout inspector and who 

successfully completes a residential changeout inspections course 

set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0734(d)(3). A probationary certificate 

shall be issued for three years only and shall not be renewed. 

During the three-year period, the official shall complete the 

requirements set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 to qualify for the 

appropriate standard certificate. A probationary certificate as a 

residential changeout inspector shall authorize the official, during 

the effective period of the certificate, to hold the position set forth 

in 11 NCAC 08 .0734(a). The probationary certificate shall be 

conditioned on the applicant's completion of a high school 

diploma or a high school equivalency certificate and working 

under the direct supervision of a person who possesses, or persons 

who collectively possess, standard certificates as an electrical 

inspector III, mechanical inspector III, and plumbing inspector III 

or an individual holding a residential changeout inspector 

certificate and five years of code enforcement experience. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.12(2); 143.151.13; 

Eff. June 28, 1979; Amended Eff. December 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1983; For a Period of 120 

Days to Expire on April 30, 1983; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; July 18, 2002; October 1, 1992; 

February 1, 1991; May 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0702 NATURE OF STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  The Board shall issue one or more standard certificates to each 

code enforcement official demonstrating the qualifications set 

forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706, .0707, and .0734. Standard 

certificates are available for each of the following types of 

qualified code enforcement officials: 

(1) building inspector; 

(2) electrical inspector; 

(3) mechanical inspector; 

(4) plumbing inspector; 

(5) fire inspector; and 

(6) residential changeout inspector. 

(b)  The holder of a standard certificate may practice code 

enforcement only within the inspection area and level described 

upon the certificate issued by the Board. A code enforcement 

official may qualify and hold more than one certificate. These 

certificates may be for different levels in different types of 

positions. 
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(c)  A code enforcement official holding a certificate indicating a 

specified level of proficiency in a particular type of position may 

hold a position calling for that type of qualification anywhere in 

the State. A standard certificate must be renewed annually in order 

to remain valid. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.13; 143-151.16; 

Eff. January 15, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; August 1, 1990; July 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0734 RESIDENTIAL CHANGEOUT 

INSPECTOR 

(a)  Qualifications and types: 

(1) A residential changeout inspector shall be 

authorized to inspect the replacement of a 

residential appliance as described in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph for one-and-

two family dwellings, and individual residential 

units of condominiums and apartments 

provided the individual residential appliance 

serves only that residential dwelling unit. 

(2) A residential changeout inspector may inspect 

the replacement of heating and air conditioning 

appliances and water heaters, provided that all 

of the following apply: 

(A) the new appliance requires no 

alterations to the existing ducting, fuel 

type, venting, or piping systems other 

than that required for transitioning to 

the new appliance; 

(B) the new appliance does not require 

relocation, excluding minor 

adjustments in the same general 

vicinity; 

(C) the installation of the new appliance 

does not require the relocation or 

addition to the existing electrical 

system, except the replacement of the 

appliance's branch circuit overcurrent 

device, or the replacement of the 

appliance's branch circuit where such 

circuit does not pass through a rated 

assembly shall be allowed; and 

(D) the electrical branch circuit serving the 

appliance is single phase. 

(b)  The inspection performance log referenced in this Rule is 

available on the Office of State Fire Marshal website. The 

inspection performance log shall describe the criteria for 

authenticating the applicant and supervisors' qualifications, and 

the inspections performed.  

(c)  Every applicant shall: 

(1) provide documentation that the applicant 

possesses a minimum of a high school 

education or a high school equivalency 

certificate; 

(2) provide notarized certification by a city or 

county manager, clerk, or director of inspection 

department that the applicant will be 

performing "code enforcement," as defined in 

G.S. 143-151.8(a)(3), as an employee of that 

city or county; or provide certification by the 

head of the Engineering and Building Codes 

Division of the North Carolina Department of 

Insurance that the applicant will be performing 

"code enforcement," as defined in G.S. 143-

151.8(a)(3), for a State department or agency; 

(3) successfully complete courses developed by the 

Board. All applicants must successfully 

complete a law and administration course and a 

residential changeout inspections course. For 

the purpose of entry into the written 

examination administered by the Board, 

courses must be completed within five years of 

the exam in Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph. 

These courses shall be administered and taught 

in the N.C. Community College System or 

other educational agencies accredited by a 

regional accrediting association. The North 

Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of 

State Fire Marshal may administer and teach 

certification courses for the purposes of 

developing program content and professional 

development. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"successful completion" is defined as 

attendance of a minimum of 80 percent of the 

hours taught and achieving a minimum score of 

70 percent on the course exam; and 

(4) achieve a passing grade of 70 percent on the 

written examination administered by the Board. 

(d)  Residential Changeout Inspector. A standard certificate, 

residential changeout inspector, shall be issued to any applicant 

who possesses a probationary residential changeout inspection 

certificate pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 08 .0602, complies with 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and one of the following education and 

experience qualifications: 

(1) possess any level standard certificate as an 

electrical inspector, mechanical inspector, or 

plumbing inspector; or 

(2) all the following: 

(A) at least six months of conducting 

residential changeout inspections with 

a probationary residential changeout 

inspection certificate; and 

(B) completion and submission of an 

inspection performance log as 

administered by the North Carolina 

Department of Insurance, Office of 

State Fire Marshal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
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14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application 

on the website provided by the Board. When this online 

application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. fingerprint 

card provided by the Board and mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality 

for identification, taken within six months prior 

to the online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceeding 60 months; and 

(4) the applicant's application fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

third-party vendor and credit card transaction 

fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. 

(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other 

equivalent documentation. 

(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board stating that the applicant has reviewed the information with 

the Board's representative and that the applicant understands G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter. During a national 

or State declared state of emergency which restricts or prohibits 

travel the personal meeting requirement may be waived in lieu of 

alternative means of communication. 

(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. This 

online application shall be accompanied by the branch office 

application fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-5; 

74D-7; 74D-8; 

Temporary Rule Eff. January 9, 1984, for a period of 120 days to 

expire on May 7, 1984; 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; February 1, 2012; January 1, 

2007; September 1, 2006; March 1, 1993; July 1, 1987; January 

1, 1986; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0201 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. June 9, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0204 RENEWAL OR 

REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license renewal shall submit an online 

renewal application on the website provided by the Board. This 

online application shall be submitted not less than 30 days prior 

to expiration of the applicant's current license and shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) statements of the result of a local statewide 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

services service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74D-2.1 for any state where 

the applicant has resided within the preceeding 

24 months; 

(2) the applicant's renewal fee as set forth in 

.0203(a)(2); and 

(3) proof of liability insurance pursuant to G.S. 

74D-9. 

(b)  Applications for renewal shall be submitted not less than 30 

days before the expiration date of the license. No renewal shall be 

granted more than 90 days after the date of expiration of a license. 

(c)  Applications for renewal submitted after the expiration date 

of the license shall be accompanied by the late renewal fee 

established by Rule .0203 of this Section and shall be submitted 

not later than 90 days after the expiration date of the license. 

(d)  If a licensee has maintained a license at least two years and 

then allows the license to expire, the license may be re-issued if 

application is made within one year of the expiration date by 

submitting an online reinstatement of an expired license 

application accompanied by the items required in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1) through (3) of this Rule and the late fee required by 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The licensee shall remain responsible 

for compliance with the Board's law and administrative rules 

during the period of lapse. 

(e)  The Director shall review and approve or recommend denial 

of an application for renewal or reinstatement. All denials shall be 

submitted to the Board for a final Board decision. 

(f)  Members of the armed forces whose licenses are in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall be granted the same extension of time to 

pay the license renewal fee and to complete the continuing 

education requirements prescribed in Section .0500 of this 

Chapter. A copy of the military order or the extension approval 

by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue shall be furnished to the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-2(a); 74D-5; 74D-7; 93B-

15; 

Eff. January 1, 1995; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 18, 1995; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; May 1, 1999; 

October 1, 1995; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0204 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; September 1, 2019. 
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14B NCAC 17 .0301 APPLICATION FOR 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each licensee or qualifying agent shall submit an online 

application for the registration of his or her employee on the 

website provided by the Board. When this online application is 

submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on a standard F.B.I. 

fingerprint card mailed separately to the 

Board's office; 

(2) one original signed S.B.I. release of 

information form uploaded online and the 

original mailed separately to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant of acceptable quality for 

identification, taken within six months prior to 

online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(4) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceeding 60 months; 

(5) the registration fee required by Rule .0302 of 

this Section, along with a four dollar ($4.00) 

convenience fee charged by the third-party 

provider and credit card transaction fee charged 

by the applicant's credit card provider and 

collected online; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of an applicant who is currently registered with 

another alarm business shall complete an online application form 

provided by the Board. This form shall be accompanied by the 

applicant's multiple registration fee along with a four dollar 

($4.00) convenience fee charged by the third-party provider and 

credit card transaction fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. This online application shall be 

accompanied by a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall print and 

retain a copy of the applicant's online application in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-2.1; 74D-5; 74D-8; 

Temporary Rule Eff. January 9, 1984 for a Period of 120 Days to 

Expire on May 7, 1984; 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; January 1, 2007; July 1, 1993; 

March 1, 1993; September 1, 1990; November 1, 1988; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0301 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; September 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32V .0111 PRACTICE DURING A STATE 

OF EMERGENCY 

(a)  The Board shall waive the requirements for licensure in the 

circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5. 

(b)  The following individuals may practice under this Rule if he 

or she either: 

(1) holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted license 

to practice perfusion in another U.S. state, 

territory or district; or 

(2) is a current, active certified clinical perfusionist 

who practices in a state where licensure is not 

required who practices perfusion at a North 

Carolina hospital that is licensed by the North 

Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services and the hospital meets the following 

requirements: 

(A) verifies the perfusionist's credentials 

and privileges; and 

(B) maintains a list of all perfusionists 

coming to practice and provides this 

list to the Board within 10 days of each 

perfusionist practicing at the hospital. 

The hospital shall also provide the 

Board a list of when each perfusionist 

has stopped practicing perfusion in 

North Carolina under this Rule within 

10 days after each perfusionist has 

stopped practicing perfusion under 

this Rule. 

(c)  A perfusionist may practice under this Rule for the shorter of 

either: 

(1) thirty days from the date the perfusionist has 

started practicing under this Rule; or 

(2) thirty days after a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the state of emergency 

has been withdrawn or ended. 

(d)  All perfusionists practicing under this Rule shall be authorized 

to practice perfusion in North Carolina and shall be deemed to be 

licensed in this State. The Board shall have jurisdiction over 

perfusionists practicing under this Rule for all purposes set forth 

in or related to G.S. 90, Articles 1 and 40, and such jurisdiction 

shall continue in effect even after the perfusionist has stopped 

practicing under this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-685; 

Eff. September 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 
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21 NCAC 34A .0204 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  General. An individual seeking predetermination pursuant to 

G.S. 93B-8.1(b6) and this Rule may file with the Board a petition 

form located on the Board's website, www.ncbfs.org. 

(b)  Petition Procedure. The petition form shall include all of the 

following information: 

(1) The person's name; 

(2) The last four digits of the person's social 

security number; 

(3) The person's current residential address; 

(4) The person's current mailing address; 

(5) A nationwide criminal history record report 

from a reporting service designated by the 

Board, the cost of which shall be borne by the 

petitioner; 

(6) For each crime identified in the criminal history 

record report, the following information: 

(A) Whether the crime was a felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(B) The date that the crime occurred; 

(C) The date the person was convicted of, 

or plead guilty or nolo contendere to, 

the crime; 

(D) The age of the person at the time of the 

crime; 

(E) The circumstances surrounding the 

commission of the crime; 

(F) The sentence imposed for the crime; 

(G) The period of time during which the 

person was incarcerated for the crime, 

if any; 

(H) The period of time during which the 

person was on probation or parole for 

the crime, if any; 

(I) Any documentation related to the 

person's rehabilitation or employment 

since the date of the crime, if any; 

(J) Whether the person has undergone any 

rehabilitative drug or alcohol 

treatment since the date of the crime; 

(K) Whether a Certificate of Relief has 

been granted regarding the crime, 

pursuant to G.S. 15A 173.2; and 

(L) Any affidavits or other written 

documents, including character 

references, for the person; and 

(7) An affirmation under oath that the person has 

read the statutes and rules governing the 

practice of funeral service and that the 

information contained in the petition is true and 

accurate. 

Incomplete petitions shall not be considered by the Board. If 

incomplete petitions received by the Board are not made complete 

within 30 days of receipt, the incomplete petitions will be returned 

to the person from whom the request was made. 

(c)  Petition Fee. A non-refundable petition fee of forty-five 

dollars ($45.00) shall accompany each petition. This fee may be 

paid by certified bank check or money order made payable to the 

North Carolina Board of Funeral Service. Cash shall not be 

accepted. 

(d)  Delegation of Authority for Predetermination. The Board 

delegates authority for rendering predeterminations under this 

Rule to a committee of the Board that is tasked with reviewing 

disciplinary matters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.25; 93B-8.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0313 PROCEDURES FOR 

PROVISIONAL LICENSURE 

(a)  Definitions. As used in this Rule: 

(1) "Applicant" shall mean the person submitting 

an Application for Provisional License on a 

form made available by the Board on its website 

at ncbfs.org and providing: his or her contact 

information; social security number; date and 

place of birth; sex; education and employment 

experience; the location where provisional 

work will be done; whether the applicant 

currently or has ever been licensed to practice 

funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming 

in another jurisdiction; whether the applicant 

ever has had any occupational or business 

license denied, suspended, or revoked; whether 

the applicant ever has been convicted of any 

felony or misdemeanor crime other than traffic 

infractions; whether the applicant has been 

subject of any investigation for employee 

misclassification in the preceding two years; 

and payment of a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-210.25(a)(3a)a. 

(2) "Entry-Level Examination" shall mean an 

examination that is equivalent to the State 

Board Examination-Arts in Funeral Directing 

to assess competency in funeral arranging and 

directing; funeral service marketing and 

merchandising; funeral service counseling; 

legal and regulatory compliance; and cemetery 

and crematory operations pursuant to G.S. 90-

210.25(a)(1)(e)(1). The National Board 

Examination-Arts that is administered by the 

International Conference of Funeral Service 

Examining Boards is equivalent to the State 

Board Examination-Arts in Funeral Directing. 

(3) "Laws and Rules Examination" shall mean an 

examination prepared by the Board of funeral 

practice and related laws of North Carolina, the 

federal Funeral Rule as expressed in the 

standards set forth in Funeral Industry 

Practices, 16 C.F. R. 453 (1984), pursuant to its 

most recent version, and the administrative 

rules governing the practice or professional 

funeral service as expressed in the NC 

Administrative Code. 

(4) "Professional Experience" shall mean work 

providing knowledge, skill, and proficiency 

resulting from the performance of funeral-
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related duties and responsibilities; work 

requiring knowledge attained through academic 

education beyond high school; work that is 

intellectual in nature; and work requiring the 

exercise of independent discretion and 

judgment. 

(5) "Provisional Licensee" shall mean any 

individual satisfying the provisional licensure 

requirements pursuant to G.S. 90-210.25(a)(3a) 

and who engages in the practice of professional 

funeral service under the supervision of a 

funeral director or funeral service licensee in 

good standing with the Board for a period not 

to exceed three years. 

(6) "Supervision" shall mean oversight and 

direction from a licensee in funeral directing or 

funeral service, who is in good standing with 

the Board, and who has practiced professional 

funeral service as his or her primary occupation 

more than 30 hours per week for at least five 

years. 

(b)  The following provisions shall apply to provisional license 

applicants and licensees only: 

(1) Applicants shall submit with their application 

for provisional licensure proof of satisfying the 

education requirements pursuant to G.S. 90-

210.25(a)(3a)(d). Such proof shall include 

certified transcripts from an accredited post-

secondary institution, or, if applicable, a 

certified transcript from a funeral director 

program accredited by the American Board of 

Funeral Service Education (ABFSE) or a 

funeral director program offered at a post-

secondary institution that is accredited by 

ABFSE. Certified transcripts shall come from 

the educational institution directly to the Board. 

(2) Applicants not otherwise qualified as a certified 

trainee or eligible for a certified traineeship 

shall submit with their application for 

provisional licensure an employment history on 

a form provided by the Board on its website at 

ncbfs.org, which shall supplement the 

provisional license application and requires a 

listing of funeral-related work including name 

and contact information of employer, dates of 

employment, and duties and responsibilities 

performed. 

(3) Prior to licensure as a Funeral Director, 

provisional licensees shall have attained a 

passing score of 75 percent on the Entry-Level 

Examination. Applicants shall have attained a 

passing score of 75 percent on the Laws and 

Rules Examination. 

(4) Applicants shall be subject to a criminal history 

background check pursuant to the requirements 

of the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation and may be approved for 

licensure in the absence of any disqualifying 

conditions pursuant to G.S. 93B-8.1. 

Applicants shall complete forms provided by 

the Board on its website at ncbfs.org for the 

electronic submission of fingerprints if North 

Carolina residents; non-residents shall 

complete a fingerprint card and application 

information through a local law enforcement 

agency. 

(5) Provisional licensees shall be subject to the 

same license renewal requirements as licensees 

in funeral directing, including completion of a 

renewal application as set forth in Rule .0309 of 

this Section by December 31st of each year but 

not later than February 1st of the year 

immediately following the expiration of the 

license and submission of a non-refundable 

renewal fee of two hundred fifty dollars 

($250.00). 

(6) Provisional licensees shall be subject to the 

same requirements for continuing education as 

for licensees in funeral directing including a 

minimum of five continuing education credits 

annually and not exceeding two hours annually 

through online instruction. All continuing 

education credits shall be awarded only for 

Board-approved courses of instruction 

provided through an accredited sponsor or other 

approved provider, as set forth in Section .0400 

of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.25(a)(3a); 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0502 APPLICATION FORM AND 

EQUIVALENT EXAMINATIONS FOR RECIPROCAL 

LICENSE  

(a)  Applications by an out-of-state licensee for a North Carolina 

license pursuant to G.S. 90-210.25(b)(1) shall be made on forms 

provided by the Board on its website at ncbfs.org. The form shall 

require the applicant to furnish the applicant's name, address, 

phone number, email address, social security number, date and 

place of birth, and sex; name and address of present employer; 

whether the applicant has military training or experience in the 

practice of funeral service; whether the applicant is a military 

spouse; whether the applicant has had recent experience in the 

practice of the type of reciprocal license sought for at least two of 

the five years preceding the date of the application; whether the 

applicant has any pending complaints against his or her license in 

any jurisdiction in which he or she is licensed to practice funeral 

service; educational history; license applied for; name of the 

jurisdiction where licensed and the kinds of licenses held; whether 

the applicant ever has had any occupational or business license 

denied, suspended or revoked; whether the applicant ever has 

been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor crime other than 

traffic infractions; whether the applicant has been subject to any 

investigation for employee misclassification in the preceding two 

years; and the notarized signature of the applicant. 

(b)  The form shall require the licensing board of the other 

jurisdiction(s) to certify that the applicant is licensed and in good 

standing in that jurisdiction and to furnish the Board with the 
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name of the applicant, licenses held and dates granted, and the 

name and address of the Board in such other jurisdiction. 

(c)  The applicant shall provide an employment history to show at 

least three years of professional practice in the other 

jurisdiction(s). 

(d)  Funeral director applicants shall be deemed to have satisfied 

the examination requirements for reciprocal licensure if they have 

completed with passing scores the Entry-Level Examination 

defined in 21 NCAC 34B .0313(a)(2) as a requirement for 

licensure in the other jurisdiction and the Laws and Rules 

Examination defined in 21 NCAC 34B .0313(a)(3). 

(e)  Funeral service applicants shall be deemed to have satisfied 

the examination requirements for reciprocal licensure if they have 

completed the National Board Examinations as administered 

through The International Conference of Funeral Service 

Examining Boards, or equivalent examinations, as a requirement 

for licensure in the other jurisdiction and the Laws and Rules 

Examination defined in 21 NCAC 34B .0313(a)(3).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(b)(1) 

;93B-15.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 27, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2004; September 1, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2001 FILING AND SERVICE  

(a)  Parties shall file all papers provided for in this Section with 

the Board, either before service or within five days after service. 

The Board shall consider a paper to be filed when the Board 

actually receives it. Parties shall direct filings to the Investigations 

and Inspections Coordinator, North Carolina Board of Pharmacy, 

6105 Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 

27517. 

(b)  In addition to filing all papers with the Board, the Board and 

other parties shall serve all papers as follows: 

(1) The Board shall serve a notice of hearing under 

Rule .2006 of this Section on all parties by any 

method for service of process permitted by G.S. 

150B-38(c). 

(2) Parties shall serve subpoenas under Rule .2013 

of this Section by any method for service 

permitted by G.S. 150B-39(c). While 

investigating, preparing for, or during a 

contested case, among others who are 

authorized to serve subpoenas, Board staff may 

serve subpoenas on behalf of the Board, 

pursuant to G.S. 1A-1, Rule 45. 

(3) Parties shall serve all other papers in the 

contested case on all parties, including counsel 

to the Board, by any method for service 

permitted by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5. 

(4) The Board shall serve all its orders by any 

method for service permitted by G.S. 

150B-42(a). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.38; 150B-38; 

150B-39; 150B-40; 150B-41; 150B-42; 

Eff. April 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; July 1, 1988; March 

1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2004 REQUEST FOR HEARING 

(a)  A person aggrieved by a Board administrative action who has 

not received a notice of hearing from the Board may file a request 

for a hearing. 

(b)  The request for hearing shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) the petitioner's name and address;  

(2) a short and plain statement of the Board action 

that the petitioner challenges;  

(3) a short and plain statement of the way in which 

the petitioner has been aggrieved; and 

(4) an explicit statement of request for a hearing. 

(c)  In order to preserve a person's rights with respect to a Board 

action, the person shall file a request for hearing with the Board 

within 60 days after the person receives notice of the Board action 

that the person challenges. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 

Eff. September 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2005 GRANTING OR DENYING 

HEARING REQUEST 

(a)  The Board shall grant a request for a hearing if it determines 

that the petitioner is a "person aggrieved" within the meaning of 

G.S. 150B-2(6). The Board shall provide notice of the time and 

place for the hearing. If the party fails to appear, the Board may 

deny the party's request for failure to prosecute it or may proceed 

to hear the matter in the party's absence. 

(b)  If the Board determines the petitioner is not a person 

aggrieved, the Board shall issue a denial that shall constitute a 

final agency decision.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-40; 

150B-42; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2006 NOTICE OF HEARING 

(a)  Before imposing final discipline under G.S. 90-85.38 on a 

person who holds a license, registration, permit, or other privilege 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 1, 2020 

624 

issued by the Board, the Board shall file and serve a notice of 

hearing pursuant to G.S. 150B-38(b).  

(b)  A party who has been served with a notice of hearing may file 

and mail to all other parties a written response not less than 10 

days before the date set for the hearing. If the party wishes to 

submit this written response instead of personally appearing at the 

hearing, the party shall state that desire in the written response, 

and the Board shall consider the written response in lieu of a 

personal appearance. 

(c)  If a party who has been served with a notice of hearing neither 

appears pursuant to the notice nor files and serves a written 

response as set out in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Board shall 

rule the party to be in default and the allegations of the notice 

admitted. The Board may enter a final agency decision by default 

granting any relief available to the Board. 

(d)  If the Board determines that the public health, safety, or 

welfare requires action, it may summarily suspend a license, 

registration, permit, or other privilege granted by the Board. Upon 

service of the order, the licensee, registrant, or permit holder to 

whom the order is directed shall immediately stop practicing 

pharmacy and stop dispensing devices and medical equipment in 

North Carolina. Failure to receive the order shall not invalidate 

the order. The suspension shall remain in effect pending a final 

agency decision pursuant to G.S. 150B-42. However, pursuant to 

Rules .2004 and .2005 of this Section, a person subject to a 

summary suspension may request a hearing on whether the public 

health, safety, or welfare permits terminating or modifying the 

terms of the summary suspension pending a final agency decision. 

Neither an order of summary suspension nor a decision on 

whether the summary suspension order shall be terminated or 

modified is a final agency decision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.12; 90-85.38; 

150B-3; 150B-38; 150B-40; 150B-42; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1995; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2007 WHO SHALL HEAR 

CONTESTED CASES 

(a)  A majority of the Board shall conduct all hearings, as set forth 

in G.S. 150B-40(b), except as provided in G.S. 150B-40(e). 

(b)  The Board President shall be the presiding officer at any 

hearing, unless the President is disqualified, absent, or otherwise 

determines that he or she is unable to serve in that capacity. In the 

event that the President does not preside, the Board Vice President 

shall be the presiding officer at any hearing, unless the Vice 

President is disqualified, absent, or otherwise determines that he 

or she is unable to serve in that capacity. In the event that neither 

the President nor the Vice President preside, the Board shall 

designate another presiding officer. The presiding officer shall 

have all duties and powers set forth in G.S. 150B-40(c).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.12; 150B-38; 

150B-40; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2008 INFORMAL PROCEDURES 

(a)  Before issuing a notice of hearing, the Board may conduct one 

or more conferences in which a member of the Board and the party 

or parties meet to consider the possibility of resolving the dispute 

or any other matter as may aid in the disposition of the dispute. 

The member of the Board may direct one or more of the following 

dispositions: 

(1) Submission to the Board with a 

recommendation to dismiss with no action; 

(2) Submission to the Board with a 

recommendation that Board staff provide 

informal guidance to resolve the dispute; 

(3) Submission to the Board with a 

recommendation to resolve the dispute or to 

expedite the hearing by consent order; or 

(4) Scheduling, with appropriate notice, for 

contested case hearing. 

The Board must approve all recommendations under 

Subparagraphs (1), (2) and (3) of this Paragraph. The Board 

member who participated in the conference may participate in 

Board discussions concerning any recommendation made but may 

not vote upon the recommendation. The Board member who 

participated in the conference shall disqualify himself or herself 

in accordance with Rule .2011 of this Section from participation 

in any hearing or decision in the matter discussed in the 

conference if the matter results in a contested case hearing before 

the Board. 

(b)  The Board and the party or parties may agree to simplify the 

hearing by stipulation or any other method provided by G.S. 

150B-41(c).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 

150B-40; 150B-41; 150B-42; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; September 1, 1995; October 1, 1990; 

May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2009 MOTIONS  

Except as otherwise provided in this Section, parties must file and 

serve motions related to a contested case at least ten days before 

the hearing, except those made during the hearing. The presiding 

officer may decide to hear pre-hearing motions either before the 

hearing or at the hearing before witnesses testify. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 

150B-40; 150B-41; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 46 .2010 TYPES OF INTERVENTION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2011 DISQUALIFICATION OF 

BOARD MEMBERS 

(a)  If a Board member determines that personal bias or other 

reason for that Board member's disqualification exists in a 

contested case, that Board member shall decline to participate in 

the hearing or decision. 

(b)  If any party in a contested case, in good faith, has evidence 

that a Board member is personally biased or another reason for 

disqualification exists, the party may file and serve a motion for 

disqualification, which must be supported by a sworn, notarized 

affidavit testifying to the facts relevant to disqualification.  

(c)  Ex parte communication by or on behalf of a party with a 

Board member about the facts of a case at any time during either 

the investigation or prosecution of potential violations shall be 

grounds for disqualification of that Board member, other than 

communications by Board counsel and staff during the course of 

seeking a summary suspension or communications during any 

other proceeding before the Board. Before a hearing begins, or 

during the hearing, if applicable, both the Board member and the 

party must disclose the communications between the Board 

member and a party about the facts of the case to the Board and 

to the parties. 

(d)  A party may file and serve a motion for disqualification less 

than ten days before or during a hearing only when based on 

newly discovered evidence that by due diligence could not have 

been discovered in time to file a timely motion. Under these 

circumstances, the hearing shall continue with the challenged 

Board member sitting.  

(e)  The Board shall decide whether the evidence requires 

disqualification before it renders the final agency decision in the 

contested case. The decision about the disqualification of a Board 

member shall be made by the other Board members. The Board is 

not required to grant a new hearing if a Board member is 

disqualified during the course of a hearing. 

(f)  The presiding officer may determine the method of resolving 

the motion for disqualification in the presiding officer's discretion 

under G.S. 150B-40. This may include the authority to direct that 

the Board's Executive Director oversee an investigation of the 

allegations and report the findings to the Board. 

(g)  In the event of disqualification, the disqualified member shall 

not participate in further deliberation or decision of the case but 

may be called on to furnish information to the other members of 

the Board. 

(h) If three or more members of the Board are disqualified 

pursuant to this Rule, the Board shall petition the Office of 

Administrative Hearings to appoint an administrative law judge 

to hear the contested case pursuant to G.S. 150B-40(e). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 

150B-40; 150B-41; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2013 SUBPOENAS 

(a)  A party shall file and serve a request for a subpoena, attaching 

a proposed subpoena. A form of subpoena is available on the 

Board's website at ncbop.org/lawandrules.htm. The Board may 

issue the subpoena in accordance with G.S. 150B-39(c). 

Subpoenas must be issued and signed by the Presiding Officer, 

the Board's Executive Director, the Board's legal counsel, or a 

Board staff member designated by the Executive Director. 

(b)  The party shall serve the subpoena along with the fees and 

expenses required by G.S. 150B-39(c). 

(c)  After service of the subpoena, the party serving the subpoena 

shall file and serve sworn proof of the method of service, 

demonstrating compliance with G.S. 150B-39(c). 

(d)  G.S. 150B-39(c) governs the recipients' duties in responding 

to subpoenas. A party to the case or person subject to the subpoena 

may object to a subpoena by filing a motion to quash. The movant 

shall file and serve the motion to quash within 10 days of service 

of the subpoena or seven days before the contested case hearing, 

whichever is sooner. The Board shall hear and rule on objections 

as provided in G.S. 150B-39(c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 

150B-40; 

Eff. September 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2014 WITNESSES 

All testimony at the hearing shall be under oath or affirmation and 

shall be recorded. The presiding officer may exclude witnesses 

from the hearing room so that they cannot hear the testimony of 

other witnesses. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 

150B-40; 150B-41; 150B-42; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2015 FINAL DECISION 

In a contested case, the Board shall issue a final agency decision 

in compliance with G.S. 150B-42. All final agency decisions shall 

be drafted by Board staff or Board counsel and presented to the 

presiding officer. In the event that the presiding officer determines 

that the drafted order does not reflect the Board's findings of fact, 

conclusions of law, or ruling, the presiding officer shall revise the 

drafted order to reflect the Board's decision.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.38; 150B-3; 

150B-38; 150B-40; 150B-41; 150B-42; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 
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Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2016 PROPOSALS FOR DECISIONS 

(a)  When an administrative law judge conducts a hearing 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-40(e), that statute governs the procedures 

before the administrative law judge.  

(b)  Within 10 days after the proposal for decision is served on the 

parties under G.S. 150B-40(e), a party may file and serve written 

exceptions to this proposal for decision and submit its own 

proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law. The party shall 

explicitly state what exceptions are taken to the decision or 

procedure and what relief the party seeks. Exceptions must refer 

to pages of the record or otherwise identify the occurrence to 

which the party takes exception. Each proposed finding of fact 

shall refer to pages of the record or otherwise identify the 

evidence supporting the proposed finding, and each proposed 

conclusion of law must refer to or otherwise identify both the 

findings of fact and legal support for the proposed conclusion. A 

party may file and serve written arguments along with the 

exceptions and proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law. 

(c)  A party may ask to present oral argument to the Board. The 

party must file and serve the request with the written submissions 

under Paragraph (b) of this Rule. If a party requests oral argument, 

the Board will notice the time and place for such oral argument. 

The presiding officer may set the terms of oral argument, 

including order of argument and time limitations. 

(d)  After the procedures set forth in this Section, the Board will 

issue a final agency decision in accordance with Rule .2015 of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-40; 

150B-41; 150B-42; 

Eff. July 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2017 REAPPLICATIONS, 

REINSTATEMENT, REHEARING, AND 

RECONSIDERATION 

(a)  The following terms govern reapplication, reinstatement, 

rehearing, and other reconsideration requests from a final agency 

decision, unless otherwise expressly provided in that final agency 

decision:  

(1) No individual who holds a license, registration, 

or other privilege from the Board who has that 

license, registration, or other privilege either 

revoked or actively suspended indefinitely or 

for more than five years may petition for 

reinstatement, to have the revocation or 

suspended lifted, for reconsideration or 

rehearing, or otherwise for modification or 

rescinding the order, until at least five years 

from the effective date of the revocation or 

suspension. 

(2) No individual who has had an application for a 

license, registration, or other privilege from the 

Board denied may submit another application 

or petition for reconsideration or rehearing or 

otherwise for modification or rescinding the 

denial, until at least two years from the date of 

the most recent application that the Board 

denied. At that time, the individual must submit 

a new application for the Board to consider. 

(3) No permit holder who has had that permit either 

revoked or actively suspended indefinitely or 

for more than five years may submit another 

application or petition for reinstatement, to 

have the revocation or suspended lifted, for 

reconsideration or rehearing, or otherwise for 

modification or rescinding the order, until at 

least five years from the effective date of the 

revocation or suspension. 

(4) No proposed permit holder who has had an 

application for a permit denied may submit 

another application for a permit or petition for 

reconsideration or rehearing or otherwise for 

modification or rescinding the denial, until at 

least two years from the date of the most recent 

application that was denied. At that time, the 

proposed permit holder must submit a new 

application for the Board to consider. 

(5) If any license, registration, permit, or any other 

privilege is subject to a stayed suspension or an 

active suspension for a period of five years or 

shorter, the person holding that privilege may 

not submit another application, or petition for 

reinstatement, to have the suspension lifted, for 

reconsideration or rehearing, or otherwise for 

modification or rescinding the order, before the 

conclusion of that suspension. 

(6) For the purposes of Subparagraphs (3), (4), and 

(5) of this Paragraph, the Board shall treat a 

permit holder or proposed permit holder the 

same as a prior permit holder or proposed 

permit holder if either of the following two 

conditions is true: 

(A) the permit holder or proposed permit 

holder has the same pharmacy 

manager and there is more than 10 

percent common ownership as the 

prior permit holder or proposed permit 

holder; or 

(B) the permit holder or proposed permit 

holder has 50 percent or more 

common ownership as the prior permit 

holder or proposed permit holder.  

To determine common ownership under this Rule, the 

Board shall consider business entities to be identical to 

other business entities if there is more than a 50 percent 

common ownership. Furthermore, to determine common 

ownership under this Rule, the Board shall combine the 

interests of individuals with the interests of any business 

entities in which the individuals have more than a 10 
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percent interest, as well as with the interests of 

individuals in the same family. 

(b)  The Board may alter the terms provided in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, after applying the facts and circumstances of the matter 

and its application of the disciplinary provision in G.S. 90-85.38. 

Unless the Board expressly modifies these terms in the final 

agency decision, the terms of Paragraph (a) of this Rule apply to 

that decision. 

(c)  If a person submits a petition or application that does not meet 

the requirements set forth in this Rule, the Executive Director 

shall not schedule any hearing on the petition or application before 

the Board until the limits set forth in this Rule are satisfied. 

(d)  Upon a petition for reinstatement or to submit a new 

application permitted under this Rule, the Board will grant or 

reinstate a license, registration, permit, or other privilege only 

after a finding that the grant or reinstatement is appropriate under 

the Pharmacy Practice Act and the Board's rules and regulations. 

In making that decision, the Board will consider the gravity of the 

misconduct that caused the denial, suspension, or revocation; the 

applicant's history; the applicant's current ability to practice 

pharmacy with reasonable skill, competence, and safety to the 

public; and the applicant's conduct since the order of denial, 

suspension, or revocation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.38; 150B-38; 

150B-40; 150B-42; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission September 17, 2020 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) Andrew P. Atkins 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Paul Powell 
Margaret Currin Garth Dunklin 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Randy Overton 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
Karlene Turrentine   984-236-1948 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 September 17, 2020 October 15, 2020 
  November 19, 2020      December 17, 2020 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 17, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Crime Victims Compensation Commission – 14B NCAC 09 .0303, .0304 (Snyder) 
B. Private Protective Services Board - 14B NCAC 16 .1001, .1002, .1003, .1207, .1304, .1404 (Reeder) 
C. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02D .0403, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0506, 

.0507, .0508, .0509, .0510, .0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515, .0516, .0517, .0519, .0521, .0524, .0527, 

.0528, .0529, .0530, .0531, .0532, .0533, .0534, .0535, .0536, .0537, .0538, .0539, .0541, .0542, .0543, 

.0544, .0615 (May) 
D. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02D .0901, .0902, .0903, .0906, .0909, .0912, 

.0918, .0919, .0922, .0923, .0924, .0925, .0926, .0927, .0928, .0930, .0931, .0932, .0933, .0935, .0937, 

.0943, .0944, .0945, .0947, .0948, .0949, .0951, .0952, .0955, .0956, .0957, .0958, .0959, .0960, .0961, 

.0962, .0963, .0964, .0965, .0966, .0967, .0968, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, .1405, .1407, .1408, .1409, 

.1410, .1411, .1412, .1413, .1414, .1415, .1418, .1423, .1701, .1702, .1703, .1704, .1705, .1706, .1707, 

.1708, .1709, .1710. .2615 (Reeder) 
E. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 13B .0531, .0532, .0533, .0534, .0535, .0536, 

.0537, .0538, .0539, .0540, .0541, .0542, .0543, .0544, .0545, .0547, .1601, .1602, .1603, .1604, .1617, 

.1618, .1619, .1620, .1621, .1622, .1623, .1624, .1625, .1626, .1627, .1629, .1630, .1631, .1632, .1633, 

.1634, .1635, .1636, .1637, .1680 (Snyder) 
F. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06B .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114 (Snyder) 
G. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06C .0334, .0335, .0336, .0337, .0338, .0339, .0340, .0341, .0342, 

.0343, .0344, .0345, .0346, .0347, .0348, .0349, .0350, .0351., .0352, .0353, .0354, .0355, .0356, .0357, 

.0358, .0359, .0360, .0361, .0362, .0363, .0364, .0365, .0366, .0367, .0368, .0369, .0370, .0371. .0372, 

.0373, .0374, .0375, .0376, .0377, .0378, .0379, .0380, .0381, .0382, .0383, .0384, .0385, .0386, .0387, 

.0388, .0389, .0390, .0391, .0392, .0393, .0394, .0395, .0396, .0397, .0701 (May) 
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H. State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06D .0211, .0212, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0313; 06E 
.0107, .0204, .0206; 06G .0314, .0315, .0316, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510, 
.0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515, .0516, .0517, .0518, .0519, .0520, .0521, .0522, .0523, .0524 (Snyder) 

I. State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06H .0113. .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117; 06K .0101, .0103, .0104, .0105 
(Reeder) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between July 21, 2020 through August 20, 2020 

• Radiation Protection Commission (Reeder) 

• Commission for Public Health 10A (May) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 

• Coastal Resources Commission (May) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (May) 

• Commission for Public Health 15A (May) 

• Board of Barber Examiners (Reeder) 

• Board of Examiners of Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors (Reeder) 

• Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board (Snyder)   

• Building Code Council (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 

• Election of Commission Officers 

• Next meeting: Thursday, October 15, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

July 21, 2020 through August 20, 2020 

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 15 are from the Radiation Protection Commission and include general provisions (.0100); 
registration of radiation machines, facilities and services (.0200); licensing of radioactive material (.0300); safety 
requirements for industrial radiography operations (.0500); x-rays in the healing arts (.0600); use of radioactive sources 
in the healing arts (.0700); requirements for analytical x-ray equipment (.0800); requirements for particle accelerators 
(.0900); notices, instructions, reports and inspections (.1000); fees (.1100); land disposal of radioactive waste (.1200); 
requirements for wire-line service operators and subsurface-tracer studies (.1300); tanning facilities (.1400); licenses 
for disposal site access (.1500); and standards for protections against radiation (.1600). 

Records: Reports and Operating Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 15 .1418 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 42B concern laboratory sections. 

Newborn Screening 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 42B .0102 

Fees 
Adopt* 

 
10A NCAC 42B .0108 

The rules in Chapter 43 are personal health rules.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 43H are rules of the Sickle Cell Syndrome, genetic counseling and children and youth section 
including rules about the sickle cell syndrome program (.0100); sickle cell contract funds (.0200); and genetic health 
care (.0300). 
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Submission of Blood Specimens for Screening of Newborns 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 43H .0314 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice Officers 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0101 

Responsibilities of the School Director 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0202 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0209 

Certification of Instructors 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0301 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0410 

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100); 
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate 
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and 
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600); 
and forms (.0700). 

Notification of Criminal Charges/Convictions 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09G .0302 

Certification of Instructors 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09G .0307 

Corrections Instructor Training Course 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09G .0313 

Instructor Training 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09G .0414 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); 
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs (.1900); 
authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters and 
ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); replacement of 
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existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal wetlands (.2300); 
placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement of structures; the 
reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, basins, channels, 
or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500); construction of wetland, stream and 
buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North Carolina Wetlands 
Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in estuarine and public trust 
waters (.2700).  

Ocean Hazard Categories 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0301 

Significance of the Ocean Hazard Category 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0302 

Management Objective of Ocean Hazard Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0303 

AECs Within Ocean Hazard Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0304 

General Identification and Description of Landforms 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0305 

General Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0306 

Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0308 

Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas: Exceptions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0309 

Use Standards for Inlet Hazard Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0310 

Installation and Maintenance of Sand Fencing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0311 

Technical Standards for Beach Fill Projects 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0312 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and 
water safety.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), and tagging furs (.0400). 

Dog Training and Field Trials 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 10B .0114 

The rules in Subchapter 10G concern distribution and sale of hunting: fishing: and trapping license including license 
agents (.0100); boat registration agents (.0200); fur tag agents (.0300); wildlife service agents (.0400); licensee 
requirements (.0500) and license eligibility (.0600). 

Totally Disabled License Eligibility 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 10G .0601 

The rules in Subchapter 10H concern activities regulated by the Commission including controlled hunting preserves for 
domestically raised game birds (.0100), holding wildlife in captivity (.0300), commercial trout ponds (.0400), fish 
propagation (.0700), falconry (.0800), game bird propagators (.0900), taxidermy (.1000), furbearer propagation (.1100), 
controlled fox hunting preserves (.1200), and reptiles and amphibians (.1300). 

Records 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1003 
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The rules in Subchapter 10L concern the wildlife conservation land program. 

Wildlife Conservation Land 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 10L .0101 

Protection of Species on the Protected Animal List 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 10L .0102 

Conservation of Priority Wildlife Habits 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 10L .0103 

Wildlife Reserve 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 10L .0104 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water 
supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 18A deal with sanitation and include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) 
and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants 
(.0600); depuration mechanical purification facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters 
(.0900); summer camps (.1000); grade A milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); mass 
gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities (.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water supplies 
(.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed and 
breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools (.2400); 
public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); child day 
care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); lead 
poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules 
governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and private drinking water well sampling (.3800).  

Definitions 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .2508 

Water Recreation Attractions 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 18A .2543 

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 6N establish fees and provide for the use of various forms.  

Form Bar-1 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0102 

Form Bar-3 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0104 

Form Bar-4 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0105 

Form Bar-5 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0106 

Form Bar-6 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0107 

Form Bar-8 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0109 

Farm Bar-9 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0110 

Form Bar-11 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06N .0112 

Form Bar-12  21 NCAC 06N .0113 
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Amend* 

PASTORAL COUNSELORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF FEE-BASED PRACTICING 

The rules in Chapter 45 concern the Board of Examiners of Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors including general 
provisions (.0100); application for certification(.0200); examination (.0300); certification renewal (.0400); continuing 
education (.0500); definitions (.0600); temporary certificates (.0700); and supervision (.0800. 

Address 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0101 

Review Procedure 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0202 

Types 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0301 

Certification Renewal Form 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0401 

Reinstatement After Suspension 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0403 

Continuing Education Requirements 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0501 

Equivalency 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0601 

Issuance of Temporary Certificate 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0701 

Approved Supervision 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 45 .0801 

ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 68 include general provisions (.0100); certification (.0200); clinical addictions specialist (.0300); 
education (.0400); ethical principles of conduct (.0500); grounds for discipline and disciplinary procedures (.0600); and 
appeals process (.0700). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0101 

Board Address 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0102 

Application for Registration 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0201 

Registration Process for Board Credential 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0202 

Supervised Practicum for Certified Alcohol and Drug Couns... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0204 

Reciprocity 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0209 

Continuing Education Approval Policy 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0213 

University Substance Abuse Specialty Curricula 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0214 

Verification 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0215 

Background Investigation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0216 
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Supervised Practicum for Criminal Justice Addictions Prof... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0217 

Notice to Applicant of Failure to Satisfy Board 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0220 

Applicant Hearing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0221 

Ethics and Quality Assurance Inquiry 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0222 

Standards and Quality Assurance Committee Actions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0223 

Credentialing Status Denied if Serving Sentence 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0224 

Suspension of Authority and Escrow of Funds 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0225 

Armed Services Extension for Credential 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0226 

Credentials by Endorsement or Reciprocity Based on Milita... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0227 

Substance Use Disorder Credential by Endorsement or Recip... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0228 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0301 

Application for Deemed Status by Professional Discipline 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0303 

Three-Year Standards Review of Deemed Status Standing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0304 

Revocation of Credential When Change in Status 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0307 

Educational Approval Policy 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0401 

General Training Pre-Approval Guidelines 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0402 

In-Service Training Event 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0403 

Credit Denial or Limitation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0404 

Sponsor Guidelines 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0405 

Procedures for Approval of Self-Study Courses 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0406 

Education Submission Guidelines 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0407 

Purpose and Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0501 

Non-Discrimination 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0502 

Competence 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0503 

Legal Standards and Ethical Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0504 

Education and Training Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0505 
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Publication Credit 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0506 

Client Welfare 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0507 

Confidentiality 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0508 

Client Relationships 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0509 

Interprofessional Relationships 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0510 

Remuneration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0511 

Responsibilities of Supervisor to Supervisee 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0512 

Grounds for Professional Discipline 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0601 

Complaint Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0602 

Investigation of Complaint 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0603 

Hearing Before Board 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0604 

Method of Discipline 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0605 

Effect of Court or of Other Professional Groups 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0606 

Discretion of the Board 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0607 

Confidentiality 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0608 

Petition for Reopening Case 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0609 

Awarding the Credential Following Denial 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0610 

Proof of Rehabilitation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0611 

Informal Proceedings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0615 

Publication of Ethics Sanctions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0620 

Hearing Before Board: Time Requirement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0701 

Right to Hearing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0702 

Request for Hearing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0703 

Hearing Requests 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0704 

Notice of Hearing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0705 

Who Shall Hear Contested Cases 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0706 
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Petition for Intervention 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0707 

Types of Intervention 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0708 

Disqualification of Board Member 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0709 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Minimum Ventilation Rates 
Amend* 

 
Table 403.3.1.1 

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Application 
Amend* 

 
C401.2 

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Compliance 
Amend* 

 
R401.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Appendices 
Amend* 

 
R102.5 

2018 NC Residential Code/Egress Door 
Amend* 

 
R311.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Walkline 
Amend* 

 
R311.7.4 

2018 NC Residential Code/Winder Treads 
Amend* 

 
R311.7.5.2.1 

2018 NC Residential Code/Nosings 
Amend* 

 
R311.7.5.3 

2018 NC Residential Code/Height 
Amend* 

 
R312.1.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Opening Limitations 
Amend* 

 
R313.1.3 

2018 NC Residential Code/Size and Height of Wood Studs 
Amend* 

 
Table R602.3(5) 

2018 NC Residential Code/Minimum Number of Full Height Ki... 
Amend* 

 
Table R602.7.5 

2018 NC Residential Code/Support by Steel Angle 
Amend* 

 
R703.8.2.1 

2018 NC Building Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... 
Amend* 

 
2902.1 

2018 NC Building Code/Separate Facilities 
Amend* 

 
2902.2 

2018 NC Building Code/Small Occupancies 
Amend* 

 
2902.6 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... 
Amend* 

 
Table 403.1 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Separate Facilities 
Amend* 

 
403.2 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Small Occupancies 
Amend* 

 
410.2 

2018 NC Fire Code/Fire Escape Stairs and Ladders 
Adopt* 

 
1031.10 

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Marking  405.6 
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Adopt* 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 ABC 01878 7/30/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. H and M Citgo LLC T/A Lawson Park 

Citgo 

Overby 

        

19 DHR 02914 7/1/2020; 

8/17/2020 

Joseph L Pomranky v. NC Dept. of Health and Human 

Services 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 03768 7/13/2020 Arimeta Portee 

(Sunrise Residential 

Care) 

v. NC Department of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

20 DHR 01298 7/24/2020 Vine & Branch 

Homecare d/b/a 

Vine and Branch 

Homecare 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

        

20 DOJ 00887 7/9/2020 Jessica Chambers v. NC Private Protective Services Board Byrne 

20 DOJ 00890 7/9/2020 Dionne Maurice 

Gretsinger 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Byrne 

        

19 DST 05261 7/30/2020 Kirk Justin Barefoot v. NC Retirement Systems Division Jacobs 

        

    Unpublished    

20 ABC 02025 7/30/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. AMHART Corp T/A Samuel C Hart 

American Legion Post 14 

May 

        

17; 

19 

CSE 07718; 

05797 

7/20/2020 Calvin Tyrone 

Norton 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 
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18 CSE 06413 7/1/2020 Leonardo R Chavez v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 05802 7/10/2020 David F Janney v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06028 7/17/2020 John W Ivey v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06056 7/16/2020 Devon J Calhoun v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06237 7/9/2020 Ephraim C Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

May 

19 CSE 06432 7/20/2020 Michael W Palm v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06535 7/20/2020 Stanley N Simons v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 06640 7/8/2020 Nathan A Durfee v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06656 7/21/2020 June Pressley v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

20 CSE 00406 7/14/2020 Loc T Duong v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 00534 7/14/2020 Rexie Andrade v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 00630 7/14/2020 Edward E Gordon Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 01881 7/28/2020 Mateo Friend v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

        

20 DCS 01946 7/30/2020 Tamekia Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

        

20 DHR 00204 7/29/2020 Teresa Carlisle v. NC Division of Childcare Jacobs 

20 DHR 00954 7/29/2020 David M Brandmahl v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Environmental Health Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 DHR 01490 7/24/2020 Mary Vernon v. DHHS Mann 

20 DHR 01552 7/10/2020 Niya Wilson v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Sutton 

20 DHR 01651 7/1/2020 Kaylee Ray Smith - 

Nurse Aid 1 

#524069 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

20 DHR 01851 7/23/2020 Carolina Regional 

Homecare Kathy 

McKinney 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Sutton 
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20 DHR 02050 7/23/2020 Melissa A Matzko v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Sutton 

20 DHR 02109 7/23/2020 Kathy McKinney v. NCDHHS Sutton 

        

20 DOA 02604 7/29/2020 Amy Betts v. DHHS NC Department of 

Administration et al 

Malherbe 

        

20 DOJ 00256 7/31/2020 Corey Nathan 

McDuffie 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

20 DOT 01825 7/7/2020 Lucillie Basnight 

Spencer 

v. NC Department of Transportation Bawtinhimer 

        

20 INS 00863 7/1/2020 Jackie Renee 

Everhart 

v. North Carolina State Health Plan May 

 

 




