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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 13 – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Labor intends to amend the rules cited as 13 NCAC 

15 .0205, .0402, and .0702-.0705. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.labor.nc.gov/proposed-new-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:   

December 1, 2020 – 13 NCAC 15 .0205, .0402, .0702, .0704 

January 1, 2021 – 13 NCAC 15 .0703, .0705 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 25, 2020 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Teleconference Due To COVID-19, Join the meeting:  

https://call.lifesizecloud.com/4569841; Click to call from mobile 

(audio only)/United States: +1 (312) 584-2401, 4569841#; Call 

in by phone (audio only)/United States: +1 (312) 584-

2401/meeting extension 4569841#; Other ways to call 

https://call.lifesize.com/otherways/4569841 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

13 NCAC 15 .0205   TRAMWAY REQUIREMENTS 

NCDOL is updating the information for the industry standard for 

tramways and funiculars. This rule was last amended in 1992 and 

needs updating to reference the correct name of the American 

National Standards Institute (ANSI) B77.1, which is Passenger 

Ropeways – Aerial Tramways, Aerial Lifts, Surface Lifts, Tows 

and Conveyors. This is the primary industry safety standard for 

ski lifts/chair lifts.  The General Assembly also amended NCGS 

95-117 of the NC Passenger Tramway Act to add funiculars and 

gondolas to the definition of passenger tramway. [See Section 

14(b) of Session Law 2017-211; 

https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/SessionLaws/PDF/20

17-2018/SL2017-211.pdf].  Therefore, NCDOL is also amending 

13 NCAC 15.0205 to incorporate the ANSI industry standard for 

funiculars, which is ANSI B77.2, Funiculars – Safety 

Requirements. It is extremely important for the public to have all 

the amusement device owners complying with the most current 

industry standards to ensure that rides function safely.     

The changes are primarily technical in nature to reflect the update 

to the title, contact information for ANSI, current cost of B77.1, 

and to incorporate by reference ANSI B77.2.   

Neither the State of North Carolina nor any municipalities own 

any tramways or funiculars. 

Effective Date December 1, 2020 

13 NCAC 15 .0402   RESPONSIBILITY FOR COMPLIANCE 

NCDOL proposes to incorporate by reference two additional 

American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) industry 

standards in 13 NCAC 15.0402.   First, ASTM F1193, Standard 

Practice for Quality, Manufacture, and Construction of 

Amusement Rides and Devices, provides the minimum 

manufacturing requirements for amusement rides and devices and 

provides the minimum requirements for a written quality 

assurance program for an amusement ride or device 

manufacturer, or component supplier.  Second, ASTM F770, 

Standard Practice for Ownership, Operation, Maintenance, and 

Inspection of Amusement Rides and Devices, establishes 

procedures for the operation, maintenance, inspection, and 

training for amusement rides and devices.  Amusement rides are 

quickly becoming more computerized and complex; the 

incorporation by reference of these industry standards will 

provide more current standards that the EAD inspectors may rely 

upon for the safety of the public.   Additionally, the rule change 

requests a technical correction for previously incorporated 

standard ASTM F1159 - Standard Practice for design of 

Amusement Rides and Devices that are Outside the Purview of 

Other F24 Design Standards; those technical changes reflect the 

update to the title, contact information for ASTM, the current cost 

for ASTM F1159.   

It is extremely important for the public to have all the amusement 

device owners and operators complying with the most current 

industry standards to ensure that rides function safely.  

Effective Date December 1, 2020    

13 NCAC 15 .0702   ELEVATOR, ESCALATOR, DUMBWAITER, 

AND SPECIAL EQUIPMENT ANNUAL INSPECTION FEES 

SCHEDULE  

NCDOL proposes to increase select elevator fees listed 

respectively in 13 NCAC 15. 0702.   The current fee structure has 

not been increased since 2007 and needs to be increased to reflect 

the cost of inspections that have risen due to increased training 

needs, retention of qualified inspectors, and increased travel 

costs.  Inspection fee increases are necessary to make market-

based staff salaries adequate to recruit and retain technical staff 

as EAD inspector salaries have fallen behind regionally and are 

significantly lower than private sector salaries. This is especially 

true in relation to the expanded roles of EAD inspectors who must 

inspect elevators, escalators, wind turbine elevators, construction 

lifts, handicap lifts, and personnel hoists.  The EAD inspectors 

perform a vital role in ensuring that the safety and welfare of the 

public is well-guarded.  NCDOL has determined that specific 

expertise is needed for individuals to perform inspections and to 

maintain on-going educational standards for new elevator 

designs and new amusement device designs, which are becoming 

more computer driven rather than purely mechanical.  The annual 

inspection of elevators and other devices takes place on a rolling 

basis; other inspections are performed upon installation or 

alteration. 

Effective Date December 1, 2020 

*Note: domestic elevators are not inspected pursuant to the NC 

Elevator Safety Act. 
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13 NCAC 15 .0703   AMUSEMENT DEVICE INSPECTION FEE 

SCHEDULE 

NCDOL proposes to increase select amusement device fees listed 

respectively in 13 NCAC 15.0703, and to add new named devices 

and clarify specific types of amusement devices. All fees remain 

within the current statutory maximum fees. As technology and the 

nature of entertainment has evolved, the types of amusement 

devices have evolved and increased.  Such new forms of 

entertainment also come with some inherent safety risks to the 

public, and thus require inspection to ensure they are operating 

within acceptable industry parameters to ensure the public is 

protected as much as possible from injury. All the named rides in 

the amendment have been inspected and will continue to be 

inspected, but the amendment is to add clarity as to the types of 

rides inspected. There is also an amendment to separate 

inspections of Go Kart Tracks and the actual Go Karts 

themselves.  

The current fee structure has not been increased since 2007 and 

needs to be increased to reflect the cost of inspections that have 

risen due to increased training needs, retention of qualified 

inspectors, and increased travel costs.  Inspection fee increases 

are necessary to make market-based staff salaries adequate to 

recruit and retain technical staff as EAD inspector salaries have 

fallen behind regionally and are significantly lower than private 

sector salaries. This is especially true in relation to the expanded 

roles of EAD inspectors who must inspect a myriad of amusement 

devices from water slides to children’s carousels to permanently 

sited double-launched roller coasters.   The EAD inspectors 

perform a vital role in ensuring that the safety and welfare of the 

public is well-guarded.   

Effective Date January 1, 2021 

13 NCAC 15 .0704   SPECIAL AMUSEMENT DEVICE 

INSPECTION FEE 

No Fiscal Note Required for this rule. 

NCDOL proposes to change the time frame for special 

inspections.  Currently, the rule provides for inspections from 

7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. The amendment 

would decrease the time frame for actual inspections to 8:00 a.m. 

until 6:00 p.m. Monday through Friday to provide for more 

reasonable travel time for inspectors prior to and after any 

special inspection, and to align hours with more traditional work 

hours.    

This time change does not create any new costs. Special 

inspections will continue to be performed as needed. 

Effective Date December 1, 2020 

13 NCAC 15 .0705   PASSENGER TRAMWAY INSPECTION 

FEE SCHEDULE 

NCDOL proposes to increase fees to the statutory maximum for 

select passenger tramway devices, so that there is one uniform 

inspection fee for all passenger tramway devices. Some devices 

are already at the statutory maximum.  The initial fee was 

established in 2005 and there has been no increase since that 

time.  The increase is needed to reflect the cost of inspections that 

have risen due to increased training needs, retention of qualified 

inspectors, and increased travel costs.  Inspection fee increases 

are necessary to make market-based staff salaries adequate to 

recruit and retain technical staff as EAD inspector salaries have 

fallen behind regionally and are significantly lower than private 

sector salaries. EAD inspectors must be cross trained to inspect 

all elevator devices, amusement devices, and passenger tramway 

devices. The inspectors must inspect all ski lifts, chair lifts, 

inclined railways, funiculars, and affiliated ski devices such as 

tow ropes.  The EAD inspectors perform a vital role in ensuring 

that the safety and welfare of the public is well-guarded. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jill F. Cramer, 1101 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1101; phone (919)707-7710; 

fax (919)733-4235; email Jill.Cramer@labor.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  October 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ELEVATOR AND AMUSEMENT DEVICE 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0200 – CODES AND STANDARDS 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0205 TRAMWAY REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The rules of this Chapter shall control when any conflict 

between these Rules and the American National Standards Safety 

Requirements exists. 

(b)(a)  The construction, operation operation, and maintenance of 

all passenger tramways shall conform to the rules in this Section 

ANSI B77.1, Passenger Ropeways-Aerial Tramways, Aerial 

Lifts, Surface Lifts, Tows and Conveyors American National 

Standards Safety Requirements for Aerial Passenger Tramways, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference. This incorporation 

includes subsequent amendments and editions of this Code. 

(b)  The rules of this chapter shall control when any conflict 

between these rules and the B77.1-American National Standards 

Safety Requirements for Aerial Passenger Tramways exists. 

(c)  Copies of the B77.1 - American National Standards Safety 

Requirements for Aerial Passenger Tramways are available for 

inspection at the offices of the Division and may be obtained from 
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the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), via U.S. Mail 

at 11 West 42nd Street, New York, New York 10036, via 

telephone at (212) 642-4980, or via the internet at www.ansi.org. 

The cost is ninety-four dollars ($94.00) per copy. 

(c)  The construction, operation, and maintenance of all funiculars 

shall conform to the rules in this Section and the ANSI B77.2 – 

Funiculars – Safety Requirements, which is hereby incorporated 

by reference. This incorporation includes subsequent amendments 

and editions of this Code. 

(d)  Copies of all ANSI standards incorporated by reference in this 

Rule may be obtained from the American National Standards 

Institute via U.S. Mail at 25 West 43rd Street, 4th Floor, New 

York, New York 10036, via telephone at (212) 642-4900, or via 

the internet at www.ansi.org. The cost of each publication is as 

follows: 

(1) ANSI B77.1 is two hundred dollars ($200.00). 

(2) ANSI B77.2 is seventy-five dollars ($ 75.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 95-120. 

 

SECTION .0400 - AMUSEMENT DEVICES 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0402 RESPONSIBILITY FOR 

COMPLIANCE 

(a)  Every owner, or operator operator, manufacturer, or designer 

of an amusement device shall comply with all provisions of the 

rules of this Section. Section, and every employer and employee 

shall comply with all provisions which concern or affect his 

conduct. 

(b)  Designers and manufacturers of amusement devices shall 

follow the procedures of the ASTM F1159 – Standard Practice for 

Design and Manufacture of Patron Directed, Artificial Climbing 

Walls, Dry Slide, Coin Operated and Purposeful Water 

Immersion Amusement Rides and Devices and Air-Supported 

Structures, Standard Practice for Design of Amusement Rides and 

Devices that are Outside the Purview of Other F24 Design 

Standards, which is hereby incorporated by reference. This 

incorporation includes subsequent amendments and editions of 

this Code. 

(c)  Copies of the ASTM F1159 – Standard Practice for Design 

and Manufacture of Patron Directed, Artificial Climbing Walls, 

Dry Slide, Coin Operated and Purposeful Water Immersion 

Amusement Rides and Devices and Air-Supported Structures may 

be obtained from the American Society of Testing and Materials 

(ASTM), via U.S. Mail at 100 Barr Harbor Drive West, 

Conshohocken, Pennsylvania 19428-2959, via telephone at (610) 

832-9585, or via the internet at www.astm.org. The cost is twenty-

seven dollars ($27.00) per copy. 

(c)  Designers and manufacturers of amusement devices shall 

follow the procedures of the ASTM F1193 – Standard Practice for 

Quality, Manufacture, and Construction of Amusement Rides and 

Devices, which is hereby incorporated by reference. This 

incorporation includes subsequent amendments and editions of 

this Code. 

(d)  Owners of amusement devices shall follow the procedures of 

ASTM F770 – Standard Practice for Ownership, Operation, 

Maintenance, and Inspection of Amusement Rides and Devices, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference. This incorporation 

includes all subsequent amendments and editions of this Code. 

(e)  Copies of all ASTM standards incorporated by reference in 

this Rule may be obtained from the American Society of Testing 

and Materials (ASTM), via U.S. Mail at P.O. Box C700, West 

Conshohocken, Pennsylvania 19428-2959, via telephone at (610) 

832-9500, or via the internet at www.astm.org. The cost of each 

publication is as follows: 

(1) ASTM F1159 is forty-four dollars ($44.00) per 

copy; 

(2) ASTM F1193 is fifty-six dollars ($56.00) per 

copy; 

(3) ASTM F770 is forty-four dollars ($44.00) per 

copy. 

(d)(f)  An engineering analysis prepared by the manufacturer of 

each ride or device shall be submitted to the North Carolina 

Department of Labor, Elevator and Amusement Device Division 

Bureau, prior to the time of inspection and before it the ride or 

device is operated in North Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-111.4. 

 

SECTION .0700 – FEES 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0702 ELEVATOR, ESCALATOR, DUMBWAITER, AND SPECIAL EQUIPMENT ANNUAL 

INSPECTION FEES SCHEDULE 

Annual inspection fees for elevator, escalator, dumbwaiter, and special equipment shall be as follows: 

Equipment      Unit Fee 

(a)(1) All dumbwaiters and handicapped lifts   $65.00 $100.00 

(b)(2) All hydraulic elevators, belt man lifts, escalators  

plus all elevators not identified as either 

hydraulic or traction and special lifting devices  $175.00 $200.00 

(c)(3) Traction Elevators 

(1)(a) 1-10 Floors     $200.00 

(2)(b) Over 10 Floors     $200.00 

 

Authority G.S. 95-107; 95-95-110.5(20). 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0703 AMUSEMENT DEVICE INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

Inspection fees for amusement devices shall be as follows: 

Equipment      Unit Fee  Inspection Required 
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(1) Inflatables      $100.00  Annually 

(2) Rock Walls Walls, portable    $100.00  Annually 

(3) Kiddie Rides (48 inch maximum height restriction)  $45.00 $100.00 Every setup, except in permanent  

parks, which shall be inspected  

annually 

(4) Go Karts      $35.00 $50.00 Every setup, except 

in permanent parks, 

which shall be 

inspected annually 

(5) Go Kart Tracks      $100.00  Every setup, except 

in permanent parks, 

which shall be 

inspected annually 

(5)(6) Major Rides (any ride not otherwise listed herein) and $90.00 $100.00 Every setup, except 

Water Slides        permanent parks, 

which shall be 

inspected annually 

(6)(7) Roller Coasters Coasters, other than mobile or  

portable roller coasters     $250.00  Annually 

(8) Simulators, portable     $100.00  Every setup 

(9) Simulators, stationary     $100.00  Annually 

(10) Trains, small fixed track     $100.00  Annually 

(11) Waterslides      $150.00  Annually 

 

Authority G.S. 95-107; 95-111.4(19). 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0704 SPECIAL AMUSEMENT 

DEVICE INSPECTION FEE 

(a)  In the event that an inspection is scheduled and the amusement 

device operator or owner fails to have all amusement devices 

scheduled for inspection ready for inspection, any follow up 

inspection visits requested by the operator or owner shall be 

charged at two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) per amusement 

device, notwithstanding the provisions of 13 NCAC 15 .0703. 

(b)  All inspections conducted outside normal business hours for 

the North Carolina Department of Labor (7:00 (8:00 a.m. to 6:00 

7:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, exclusive of State government 

holidays) shall be charged at the rate of two hundred fifty dollars 

($250.00) per inspection, plus the amusement device inspection 

fee, notwithstanding the provisions of 13 NCAC 15 .0703, 

however, in no instance may the total fee assessed exceed an 

aggregate of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for each device 

inspected. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-107; 95-111.4(19). 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0705 PASSENGER TRAMWAY 

INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

Inspection fees for all passenger tramway devices shall be as 

follows: $137.00. 

Equipment     Unit Fee 

(1) Gondolas, Chairlifts, and Inclined Railroads 

    $137 

(2) J- or T-Bars and Conveyors $62 

(3) Rope Tows   $31 

 

Authority G.S. 95-120(9). 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Marine Fisheries Commission intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

18A .3401-.3405 and repeal through readoption the rules cited as 

15A NCAC 18A .3406, and .3407. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/mfc-proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 26, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  In an abundance of caution and to address protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, this public 

hearing will be held by webinar. WebEx Events meeting link:  

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=ea

8608d0638d06136715b7a10b3dce68a  

Event number:  161 720 5186     Event password:  1234 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The agency proposes five rules 

for readoption and two rules for repeal through readoption in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A for the Periodic Review and 

Expiration of Existing Rules. This is the first package of rules in 

15A NCAC 18A for readoption over a four-year period. As part 

of the readoption process the agency is proposing changes to 

comply with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 

performance criteria released in 2014. The program follows 

guidance set forth by the EPA in accordance with the Beach 
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Environmental Assessment Coastal Health Act (BEACH Act). The 

new guidance will increase efficiency in protecting public health 

and is recommending the same bacterial threshold for all 

swimming locations regardless of usage category. These 

bacteriological limits will impact how the agency issues public 

notifications when samples collected exceed the safe swimming 

standard. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Catherine Blum, P.O. BOX 

769, Morehead City, NC 28557; Written comments may also be 

submitted via an online form available at 

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/mfc-proposed-rules. 

 

Comment period ends:  October 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .3400 - COASTAL RECREATIONAL WATERS 

MONITORING, EVALUATION, AND NOTIFICATION 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3401 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout to Section 18A 

.3400 of this Subchapter: 

(1) "Division" means the Division of Marine 

Fisheries or its authorized agent. 

(1)(2) "Enterococcus" means a gram positive coccoid-

shaped bacteria that is found in the intestinal 

tracts of warm-blooded animals that include 

Enterococcus faecalis, Enterococcus faecium, 

Enterococcus avium, and Enterococcus 

gallinarium. 

(2)(3) "Geometric mean" means the mean of "n" 

positive numbers obtained by taking the "n"th 

"nth" root of the product of the numbers with at 

least five samples collected within a 30 day 30-

day period. 

(4) "Pending swimming advisory" means a 

notification to the public that recommends no 

primary contact with the water in a specific 

swimming area when bacteriological limits are 

exceeded but, does not close a swimming area 

to the public. A pending swimming advisory 

shall include a public notification via social 

media release to notify the public of the risks of 

swimming in the area. A pending swimming 

advisory is followed by a resample that will 

determine if a swimming advisory will be 

issued. 

(3)(5) "Point source discharge" means the discharge 

of liquids through a pipe, drain, ditch ditch, or 

other conveyance into a swimming area. 

(4)(6) "Primary contact" means an activity in water in 

which a person's head is partially or completely 

submerged. 

(7) "Resample" means a water sample that is 

collected after the results of the initial water 

sample collected are processed and the results 

are analyzed. 

(5)(8) "Storm water discharge" means any natural or 

manmade conveyance of rainwater or the 

resultant runoff into coastal recreational waters. 

(6)(9) "Swimming advisory" means a notification to 

the public that recommends no primary contact 

with the water in a specific swimming area for 

public health reasons when bacteriological 

limits are exceeded, but does not close a 

swimming area to the public. A swimming 

advisory shall include a sign posted at the site 

of the advisory and a press release public 

notification via social media and news release 

to notify the public of the risks of swimming in 

the area. 

(7) "Swimming alert" means a notification to the 

public by media contact including a press 

release to warn the public of risks of swimming 

in an area that exceeds bacteriological 

swimming area levels. 

(8)(10) "Swimming area" means a coastal recreation 

area that is used for primary contact located 

within waters classified by the Division of 

Water Quality Resources as SA, SB, or SC. SC, 

SA, or SB as set forth in 15A NCAC 02B .0220-

.0222, and is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

(9)(11) "Swimming season" means from April 1 

through October 31 of each year. 

(10)(12) "Tier I swimming area" means a swimming 

area used daily during the swimming season, 

including any public access swimming area and 

any other swimming area where people use the 
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water for primary contact, including all 

oceanfront beaches. beaches that are monitored 

by the Division. 

(11)(13) "Tier II swimming area" means a swimming 

area used an average of three days a week that 

is not used daily during the swimming season. 

(12) "Tier III swimming area" means a swimming 

area used an average of four days a month 

during the swimming season. 

(13)(14) "Winter season" means from November 1 

through March 31 of each year. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-233.1; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3402 BACTERIOLOGICAL LIMITS 

FOR SWIMMING AREAS 

(a)  The enterococcus level in a Tier I swimming area shall not 

equal or exceed either: 

(1) A a geometric mean of 35 enterococci per 100 

milliliter milliliters of water, water; that 

includes a minimum of at least five samples 

collected within 30 days; or 

(2) A a single sample of 104 enterococci per 100 

milliliter milliliters of water. 

(b)  The enterococcus level in a Tier II swimming area shall not 

equal or exceed a single sample of 276 104 enterococci per 100 

milliliter milliliters of water. 

(c)  The enterococcus level in a Tier III swimming area shall not 

exceed two consecutive samples of 500 enterococci per 100 

milliliter of water. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-233.1; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3403 PUBLIC NOTICE OF 

INCREASED HEALTH RISKS IN SWIMMING AREAS 

(a)  Tier I Swimming areas: 

(1) A swimming advisory shall be issued by the 

Division when samples of water from a 

swimming area exceeds a geometric mean of 35 

enterococci per 100 milliliter during the 

swimming season. 

(2) A swimming alert shall be issued by the 

Division when a single sample of water from a 

swimming area exceeds 104 enterococci per 

100 milliliter and does not exceed 500 

enterococci per 100 milliliter during the 

swimming season. 

(3) A swimming advisory shall be issued by the 

Division when a sample of water from a 

swimming area exceeds a single sample of 500 

enterococci per 100 milliliter during the 

swimming season. 

(4) A swimming advisory shall be issued by the 

Division when at least two of three concurrent 

water samples collected at a swimming area 

exceeds 104 enterococci per 100 milliliter 

during the swimming season. 

(1) A pending swimming advisory shall be issued 

by the Division of Marine Fisheries if a water 

sample from a swimming area is equal to or 

exceeds the bacteriological limit set forth in 

Rule .3402(a)(2) of this Section, during the 

swimming season. 

(2) A swimming advisory shall be issued by the 

Division if either of the following standards are 

exceeded during the swimming season: 

(A) Both the initial water sample and 

resample collected from a swimming 

area is equal to or exceeds the 

bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section; or 

(B) The most recent five water samples 

collected within a 30-day period from 

a swimming area is equal to or exceeds 

the bacteriological limit set forth in 

Rule .3402(a)(1) of this Section. 

(b)  Tier II swimming areas: 

(1) A swimming alert shall be issued by the 

Division when a single sample of water from a 

swimming area exceeds 276 enterococci per 

100 milliliter and does not exceed 500 

enterococci per 100 milliliter during the 

swimming season. 

(1) A pending swimming advisory shall be issued 

by the Division if a water sample from a 

swimming area is equal to or exceeds the 

bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section during the 

swimming season. 

(2) A swimming advisory shall be issued by the 

Division when a single sample if both the initial 

water sample and resample collected of water 

from a swimming area is equal to or exceeds 

500 enterococci per 100 milliliter the 

bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section during the 

swimming season. 

(c)  A Tier III swimming area with a water sample result of 500 

enterococci per 100 milliliter or higher on the first sample shall be 

resampled the following day. If the laboratory results of the 

second sample exceed 500 enterococci per 100 milliliter a 

swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division. 

(d)(c)  Signs posted pursuant to this Section shall be placed or 

erected in open view where the public may see the sign(s) sign 

prior to entering the water. 

(e)(d)  Signs shall convey state the following: 

ATTENTION: SWIMMING IN THIS AREA 

IS NOT RECOMMENDED. BACTERIA 

TESTING INDICATES LEVELS OF 

CONTAMINATION THAT MAY BE 

HAZARDOUS TO YOUR HEALTH. THIS 

ADVISORY AFFECTS WATERS WITHIN 

200' OF THIS SIGN. OFFICE OF THE STATE 

HEALTH DIRECTOR. 
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Authority G.S. 130A-233.1; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3404 SWIMMING ADVISORIES FOR 

POINT SOURCE DISCHARGES INTO SWIMMING 

AREAS 

(a)  A wastewater treatment plant that discharges into swimming 

waters shall be posted by the Division of Marine Fisheries with at 

least one sign until the discharge is removed. The sign(s) sign for 

a wastewater treatment plant discharge shall convey state the 

following: 

ATTENTION: THESE WATERS MAY BE 

CONTAMINATED BY HUMAN OR 

ANIMAL WASTE. SWIMMING IS NOT 

ADVISED IN THESE WATERS BECAUSE 

OF THE INCREASED RISK OF ILLNESS. 

OFFICE OF THE STATE HEALTH 

DIRECTOR. 

WARNING! SEWAGE TREATMENT 

EFFLUENT DISCHARGE SITE. 

SWIMMING IS NOT ADVISED IN THESE 

WATERS BECAUSE OF THE INCREASED 

RISK OF ILLNESS. OFFICE OF THE STATE 

HEALTH DIRECTOR. 

(b)  A swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division and at 

least one sign shall be posted at the public access to swimming 

waters that have been impacted by a wastewater system failure. 

The sign for waters impacted by a wastewater spill shall state the 

following: 

WARNING! WASTEWATER SPILL. 

SWIMMING IS NOT ADVISED IN THESE 

WATERS BECAUSE OF THE INCREASED 

RISK OF ILLNESS. OFFICE OF THE STATE 

HEALTH DIRECTOR. 

(b)(c)  A swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division and 

at least two signs one sign shall be posted at a storm drain or storm 

water discharge that is actively discharging into a Tier 1 

swimming area. Signs A sign shall be placed to advise the public 

as they enter the area impacted by the drain. storm drain or storm 

water discharge. For dry weather discharges, The signs the sign 

for a storm drain or storm water discharge shall convey state the 

following: 

SWIMMING IS NOT RECOMMENDED 

BETWEEN SIGNS. WATERS MAY BE 

CONTAMINATED BY DISCHARGE FROM 

PIPE. OFFICE OF THE STATE HEALTH 

DIRECTOR. 

WARNING! STORM WATER DISCHARGE 

AREA. SWIMMING WITHIN 200 YARDS 

OF THIS SIGN MAY INCREASE THE 

RISKS OF WATERBORNE ILLNESS. 

OFFICE OF THE STATE HEALTH 

DIRECTOR. 

For wet weather discharges, the sign shall state the following: 

WARNING! STORM WATER DISCHARGE 

AREA. WATERS MAY BE 

CONTAMINATED BY DISCHARGE FROM 

PIPE. SWIMMING IS NOT 

RECOMMENDED WITHIN 200 YARDS OF 

THIS SIGN DURING ACTIVE DISCHARGE. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CALL 252-

726-6827. OFFICE OF THE STATE HEALTH 

DIRECTOR. 

(c)(d)  A swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division and 

at least two signs shall be posted at a storm drain where flood 

waters are being pumped into a swimming area. The signs shall 

remain posted for at least 24 hours after the pumping of flood 

waters has ceased. The signs shall convey state the following: 

SWIMMING IS NOT RECOMMENDED 

BETWEEN SIGNS. WATERS MAY BE 

CONTAMINATED BY DISCHARGE FROM 

PIPE. OFFICE OF THE STATE HEALTH 

DIRECTOR. 

(d)(e)  A swimming advisory shall be issued by the Division and 

at least two signs shall be posted at an area receiving dredge 

material on a swimming beach when if the dredge material is 

being pumped from an area closed to shellfish harvesting. The 

signs shall convey state the following: 

SWIMMING IS NOT RECOMMENDED 

BETWEEN SIGNS. WATERS MAY BE 

CONTAMINATED BY DISCHARGE FROM 

PIPE. OFFICE OF THE STATE HEALTH 

DIRECTOR. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-233.1; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3405 RESCINDING A PENDING 

SWIMMING ADVISORY OR SWIMMING ALERT 

ADVISORY 

(a)  A pending swimming advisory shall be rescinded by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries via social media release when the 

resample collected meets the bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section. 

(a)(b)  A Tier I swimming area advisory shall be rescinded by the 

Division via social media and news release, including the removal 

of signs, when two consecutive weekly water samples and the 

geometric mean meet the bacteriological limits in Rule 18A 

.3402(a) of this Section. A swimming alert shall be rescinded 

within 24 hours of compliance with Rule 18A .3402(a)(2) of this 

Section. both of the following conditions are met: 

(1) The geometric mean has met the bacteriological 

limit set forth in Rule .3402(a)(1) of this 

Section. 

(2) Two consecutive weekly water samples meet 

the bacteriological limit set forth in Rule 

.3402(a)(2) of this Section. 

(b)(c)  A Tier II or Tier III swimming area advisory or alert shall 

be rescinded by the Division via social media and news release, 

including the removal of signs, after water samples meet the 

bacteriological standard in Rule 18A .3402(b) or (c) of this 

Section. limit set forth in Rule .3402(b) of this Section. 

(c)(d)  A swimming advisory resulting from a point source flood 

water discharge or the discharge of dredge material shall be 

rescinded by the Division via social media and news release 24 

hours after the discharge has ceased. ceased, to allow for tidal 

dispersion. 
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(e)  A swimming advisory resulting from a wastewater system 

failure shall be rescinded by the Division via social media and 

news release, including the removal of signs, when failure has 

been corrected and water samples collected meet the 

bacteriological limit set forth in Rule .3402(a)(2) of this Section. 

(d)  When a swimming advisory or alert has been rescinded, the 

Division shall issue a press release to announce the lifting of the 

advisory or the alert and the sign(s) shall be removed immediately 

by the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-233.1; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.3; 143B-

289.52. 

15A NCAC 18A .3406 DESTRUCTION OF SIGNS 

A person shall not mutilate, deface, pull down, destroy, hide, or 

steal any sign posted pursuant to this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-233.1. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .3407 APPLICABILITY OF RULES 

The rules of this Section shall apply to all marine recreational 

waters in coastal North Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-233.1. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on June 18, 2020 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Negotiation 01 NCAC 05B .0503 34:18 NCR 

PESTICIDE BOARD 

Red-Winged Blackbird 02 NCAC 09L .0706* 34:11 NCR 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Governing Body 10A NCAC 13B .3501* 34:12 NCR 

Required Facility Bylaws, Policies, Rules, and Regulations 10A NCAC 13B .3502* 34:12 NCR 

Functions 10A NCAC 13B .3503 34:12 NCR 

General Provisions 10A NCAC 13B .3701* 34:12 NCR 

Establishment 10A NCAC 13B .3702 34:12 NCR 

Appointment 10A NCAC 13B .3703 34:12 NCR 

Establishment and Categories of Medical Staff Membership 10A NCAC 13B .3704* 34:12 NCR 

Medical Staff Bylaws, Rules, and Regulations 10A NCAC 13B .3705 34:12 NCR 

Organization and Responsibilities of the Medical Staff 10A NCAC 13B .3706 34:12 NCR 

Medical Orders 10A NCAC 13B .3707* 34:12 NCR 

Medical Staff Responsibilities for Quality Improvement Re... 10A NCAC 13B .3708 34:12 NCR 

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Payment Due 10A NCAC 15 .1102* 34:07 NCR 

Radioactive Materials and Accelerator Fee Amounts 10A NCAC 15 .1106* 34:16 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Reportable Diseases and Conditions 10A NCAC 41A .0101 34:17 NCR 

STATE REGISTRAR 

Registration of Graves Removed 10A NCAC 41H .1201* 34:16 NCR 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Rate Filing: HMO 11 NCAC 12 .0321* 34:10 NCR 

Coordination: Group A/H Contract Benefits: Group Coverages 11 NCAC 12 .0514* 34:10 NCR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 12 NCAC 09A .0205* 34:13 NCR 

Responsibilities of the School Director 12 NCAC 09B .0202* 34:13 NCR 

Admission of Trainees 12 NCAC 09B .0203* 34:13 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0303* 34:13 NCR 

Instructors: Annual In-Service Training 12 NCAC 09E .0104* 34:13 NCR 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 12 NCAC 09E .0105* 34:17 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0309* 34:13 NCR 
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Minimum Training Specifications 12 NCAC 09H .0102* 34:13 NCR 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Certification of a Former Sheriff 12 NCAC 10B .0407* 34:13 NCR 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Determination of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .0905 33:15 NCR 

Pre-Delivery Report for Firearms Training Courses 14B NCAC 16 .0907* 33:15 NCR 

Post-Delivery Report for Firearms Training Courses 14B NCAC 16 .0908* 33:15 NCR 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1101* 33:15 NCR 

Training and Supervision Required in Level One 14B NCAC 16 .1102* 33:15 NCR 

Training and Supervision Required in Level Two 14B NCAC 16 .1103* 33:15 NCR 

Training and Supervision Required in Level Three 14B NCAC 16 .1104* 33:15 NCR 

Educational Degrees and Non-Degreed Training 14B NCAC 16 .1105* 33:15 NCR 

Consideration of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .1106 33:15 NCR 

Enforcement 14B NCAC 16 .1107* 33:15 NCR 

Transferability of Training Hours 14B NCAC 16 .1108* 33:15 NCR 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1201* 33:15 NCR 

Required Continuing Education Hours 14B NCAC 16 .1202* 33:15 NCR 

Accreditation Standards 14B NCAC 16 .1203* 33:15 NCR 

Non-Resident Licensee Continuing Education Credits 14B NCAC 16 .1204* 33:15 NCR 

Recording and Reporting Continuing Education Credits 14B NCAC 16 .1205* 33:15 NCR 

Non-Compliance 14B NCAC 16 .1206* 33:15 NCR 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard R... 14B NCAC 16 .1303* 33:15 NCR 

Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration Identifica... 14B NCAC 16 .1305* 33:15 NCR 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Car Service Guards 14B NCAC 16 .1307* 33:15 NCR 

Uniforms and Equipment 14B NCAC 16 .1308 33:15 NCR 

Minimum Stds/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Regi... 14B NCAC 16 .1403 33:15 NCR 

Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Registration Perm... 14B NCAC 16 .1405* 33:15 NCR 

Training Requirements for Armed Armored Car Service Guards 14B NCAC 16 .1407* 33:15 NCR 

Uniforms and Equipment 14B NCAC 16 .1408 33:15 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Application of Erosion Rate Setback Factors 15A NCAC 07H .0104 34:09 NCR 

Effective Date of Rule Amendments 15A NCAC 07H .0105* 34:09 NCR 

General Definitions 15A NCAC 07H .0106* 34:09 NCR 

Estuarine and Ocean System Categories 15A NCAC 07H .0201* 34:09 NCR 

Management Objective of the Estuarine and Ocean Systems 15A NCAC 07H .0203* 34:09 NCR 

Coastal Wetlands 15A NCAC 07H .0205* 34:09 NCR 

Estuarine Waters 15A NCAC 07H .0206* 34:09 NCR 

Public Trust Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0207* 34:09 NCR 

Use Standards 15A NCAC 07H .0208* 34:09 NCR 

Coastal Shorelines 15A NCAC 07H .0209* 34:09 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

License Fees 15A NCAC 10A .1601 34:14 NCR 
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ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

General 15A NCAC 13A .0101* 34:12 NCR 

Standards for the Management of Specific Hazardous Wastes... 15A NCAC 13A .0111 34:12 NCR 

Financial Assurance Requirements for C&DLF Facilities and... 15A NCAC 13B .0546* 34:16 NCR 

Permit Required 15A NCAC 13B .1105* 34:16 NCR 

Financial Responsibility Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1111 34:16 NCR 

Financial Assurance Requirements for MSWLF Facilities and... 15A NCAC 13B .1628* 34:16 NCR 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1801* 34:16 NCR 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Closure 15A NCAC 13B .1802* 34:16 NCR 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Post-C... 15A NCAC 13B .1803* 34:16 NCR 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Correc... 15A NCAC 13B .1804* 34:16 NCR 

Allowable Mechanisms for Financial Assurance 15A NCAC 13B .1805* 34:16 NCR 

Language of Mechanisms for Financial Assurance 15A NCAC 13B .1806* 34:16 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 13C .0301* 34:16 NCR 

General Provisions 15A NCAC 13C .0302* 34:16 NCR 

Approval of Registered Environmental Consultants 15A NCAC 13C .0303* 34:16 NCR 

Minimum Qualifications for Registered Environmental Consu... 15A NCAC 13C .0304 34:16 NCR 

Standards of Conduct for Registered Environmental Consult... 15A NCAC 13C .0305* 34:16 NCR 

Technical Standards for Registered Environmental Consultants 15A NCAC 13C .0306* 34:16 NCR 

Departmental Audits and Inspections 15A NCAC 13C .0307* 34:16 NCR 

Cleanup Levels 15A NCAC 13C .0308* 34:16 NCR 

AUCTIONEER LICENSING BOARD 

Purpose 21 NCAC 04B .0101* 34:10 NCR 

Board Office 21 NCAC 04B .0102* 34:10 NCR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 04B .0103* 34:10 NCR 

Administrative Law Procedures 21 NCAC 04B .0104* 34:10 NCR 

Application Forms 21 NCAC 04B .0201* 34:10 NCR 

Filing And Fees 21 NCAC 04B .0202* 34:10 NCR 

Extensions for Members of the Armed Forces 21 NCAC 04B .0203* 34:10 NCR 

Subject Matter 21 NCAC 04B .0301 34:10 NCR 

Re-Examination/Refund of Fees 21 NCAC 04B .0302* 34:10 NCR 

Exam: Review: Papers And Content 21 NCAC 04B .0303 34:10 NCR 

License Number: Display of License and Pocket Card 21 NCAC 04B .0401* 34:10 NCR 

License Renewal 21 NCAC 04B .0402* 34:10 NCR 

Apprentice Auctioneer License 21 NCAC 04B .0403* 34:10 NCR 

Grounds for License Denial or Discipline 21 NCAC 04B .0404* 34:10 NCR 

Involvement in Court Action or Administrative Hearing 21 NCAC 04B .0405* 34:10 NCR 

Application for Course Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0501* 34:10 NCR 

Requirements for Approval/Minimum Standards 21 NCAC 04B .0502* 34:10 NCR 

Certification of Course Completion 21 NCAC 04B .0503 34:10 NCR 

Records Must Be Maintained 21 NCAC 04B .0504* 34:10 NCR 

Grounds for Approval, Suspension, or Revocation 21 NCAC 04B .0505* 34:10 NCR 

Allowing Unlicensed Bid Callers: Exception 21 NCAC 04B .0506 34:10 NCR 

Change of Address or Business Name or Ownership 21 NCAC 04B .0601* 34:10 NCR 

Advertising 21 NCAC 04B .0602* 34:10 NCR 

Sale Proceeds, Accounting and Escrow Accounts 21 NCAC 04B .0603* 34:10 NCR 
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Contracts, Consignment Records, Sales Records, and Bidder... 21 NCAC 04B .0604* 34:10 NCR 

Bidding 21 NCAC 04B .0605* 34:10 NCR 

Auction Firms 21 NCAC 04B .0606* 34:10 NCR 

Sole Proprietor Auction Businesses 21 NCAC 04B .0607 34:10 NCR 

Applications 21 NCAC 04B .0701* 34:10 NCR 

Continuing Education Course 21 NCAC 04B .0801* 34:10 NCR 

Application for Original Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0802* 34:10 NCR 

Student Fee for Courses 21 NCAC 04B .0803 34:10 NCR 

Approval of Continuing Education Instructors 21 NCAC 04B .0804* 34:10 NCR 

Sponsor Requirements 21 NCAC 04B .0805 34:10 NCR 

Course Completion Reporting 21 NCAC 04B .0806* 34:10 NCR 

Change in Ownership and Other Information 21 NCAC 04B .0807 34:10 NCR 

Course Records 21 NCAC 04B .0808* 34:10 NCR 

Renewal of Course and Sponsor Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0809* 34:10 NCR 

Denial or Withdrawal of Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0810* 34:10 NCR 

Minimum Class Size 21 NCAC 04B .0811 34:10 NCR 

Scheduling and Notice of Scheduled Courses 21 NCAC 04B .0812 34:10 NCR 

Advertising; Providing Course Information 21 NCAC 04B .0813 34:10 NCR 

Conduct of Classes 21 NCAC 04B .0814* 34:10 NCR 

Instructor Conduct and Performance 21 NCAC 04B .0815* 34:10 NCR 

Monitoring Attendance 21 NCAC 04B .0816* 34:10 NCR 

Student Participation Standards 21 NCAC 04B .0817 34:10 NCR 

Additional Sponsor Requirements 21 NCAC 04B .0818* 34:10 NCR 

Alternative Compliance 21 NCAC 04B .0819* 34:10 NCR 

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Predetermination for Individuals with Criminal Records 21 NCAC 06C .0913* 34:16 NCR 

Failure to Notify Board of Change of Barber Shop or Schoo... 21 NCAC 06O .0122 34:11 NCR 

General Examination Instructions 21 NCAC 06S .0101 34:11 NCR 

MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF 

Fees 21 NCAC 30 .1014* 34:13 NCR 

ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

Disbursement of Funds 21 NCAC 56 .0303* 34:12 NCR 

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 21 NCAC 56 .0304 34:12 NCR 

Requirements for Licensing 21 NCAC 56 .0501* 34:12 NCR 

Examinations 21 NCAC 56 .0503* 34:12 NCR 

Requirements for Licensing 21 NCAC 56 .0601* 34:12 NCR 

Examinations 21 NCAC 56 .0603* 34:12 NCR 

Annual Renewal and 30-Day Reporting of Violations and Cha... 21 NCAC 56 .0804* 34:12 NCR 

Business Titles 21 NCAC 56 .0902* 34:12 NCR 

Improper Practice by a Licensee 21 NCAC 56 .1301* 34:12 NCR 

Unlawful Practice by and Unlicensed Person 21 NCAC 56 .1302* 34:12 NCR 

Notice of Contemplated Board Action to Applicant: Request... 21 NCAC 56 .1403 34:12 NCR 

Classification of Boundary Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1603 34:12 NCR 

Mapping Requirements for Boundary Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1604* 34:12 NCR 

Global Positioning Systems Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1607 34:12 NCR 
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REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Approval of a Real Estate Education Course 21 NCAC 58H .0401* 34:15 NCR 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Separation 25 NCAC 01E .0311* 34:12 NCR 

Back Pay 25 NCAC 01J .1306* 34:12 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0503 NEGOTIATION 

(a)  The Purchasing Agency may negotiate with one or more 

Responsive Vendors or reject all Offers under the provisions of 

Rule .0501 of this Subchapter and negotiate with one or more 

sources of supply that may be capable of satisfying the 

requirement. Negotiations may also be conducted under 

conditions that merit a waiver of Competition pursuant to Rule 

.1401 of this Section. 

(b)  Negotiations shall be conducted by the Purchasing Agency if 

the Solicitation is under its Bid Value Benchmark or General 

Delegation. A Purchasing Agency may request the participation 

of the Division in any Negotiation. 

(c)  Negotiations shall be memorialized by a written agreement 

executed by the parties and issued by the Division. 

(d)  All Negotiation results shall be documented in writing for 

public record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53; 143-60; 

Eff. February 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0706 RED-WINGED BLACKBIRD 

(a)  The North Carolina Pesticide Board hereby declares the 

red-winged blackbird, agelaius phoeniceus (linnaeus) to be a pest. 

(b)  Pesticides registered for use to control the red-winged 

blackbird may be used when it is committing or about to commit 

depredations upon ornamental or shade trees, agricultural crops, 

livestock, or wildlife, or when concentrated in such numbers or 

manner as to constitute a health hazard or other nuisance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-444(1); 143-458; 50 CFR 

21.43; 

Eff. July 11, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3501 GOVERNING BODY 

(a)  The governing body, owner, or the person or persons 

designated by the owner as the governing body shall be 

responsible for ensuring that the objectives specified in the 

facility's governing documents, such as the charter or resolution, 

are attained. 

(b)  The governing body shall be the final authority for decisions 

for which the facility administration, the medical staff, and the 

facility personnel are directly or indirectly responsible within the 

facility. 

(c)  A local advisory board shall be established to provide non-

binding advice to the governing body regarding the health, safety, 

and welfare of the community, if the facility is owned by an 

organization or persons outside of North Carolina. A local 

advisory board shall include members from the county where the 

facility is located.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-75; 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3502 REQUIRED FACILITY 

BYLAWS, POLICIES, RULES, AND REGULATIONS 

(a)  The governing body shall adopt written bylaws, policies, 

rules, and regulations in accordance with all requirements 

contained in this Subchapter and in accordance with the 

community responsibility of the facility. The written bylaws, 

policies, rules, and regulations shall: 

(1) state the objectives; 

(2) describe the powers and duties of the governing 

body officers and committees and the 

responsibilities of the chief executive officer; 

(3) state the qualifications for governing body 

membership, the procedures for selecting 

members, and the terms of service for members, 

officers and committee chairmen; 

(4) describe the authority delegated to the chief 

executive officer and to the medical staff. No 

assignment, referral, or delegation of authority 

by the governing body shall relieve the 

governing body of its responsibility for the 

conduct of the facility. The governing body 

shall retain the right to rescind any such 

delegation; 
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(5) require governing body approval of the bylaws 

of any auxiliary organizations established by 

the facility; 

(6) require the governing body to review and 

approve the bylaws of the medical staff; 

(7) establish procedures for processing and 

evaluating the applications for medical staff 

membership and for the granting of clinical 

privileges; 

(8) establish a procedure for implementing, 

disseminating, and enforcing a Patient's Bill of 

Rights as set forth in Rule .3302 of this 

Subchapter and in compliance with G.S. 131E-

117; and 

(9) require the governing body to institute 

procedures to provide for: 

(A) orientation of newly elected governing 

body members to board functions and 

procedures; 

(B) the development of procedures for 

periodic reexamination of the 

relationship of the governing body to 

the total facility community; and 

(C) the recording of minutes of all 

governing body and executive 

committee meetings and the 

dissemination of those minutes, or 

summaries thereof, after the governing 

body and executive committee 

meetings to all members of the 

governing body. 

(b)  The governing body shall provide written policies and 

procedures to assure billing and collection practices in accordance 

with G.S. 131E-91. These policies and procedures shall include: 

(1) a financial assistance policy as defined in G.S. 

131E-214.14(b)(3); 

(2) how a patient may obtain an estimate of the 

charges for the statewide 100 most frequently 

reported Diagnostic Related Groups (DRGs), 

where applicable, 20 most common outpatient 

imaging procedures, and 20 most common 

outpatient surgical procedures. The policy shall 

require that the information be provided to the 

patient in writing, either electronically or by 

mail, within three business days; 

(3) how a patient or patient's representative may 

dispute a bill; 

(4) issuance of a refund within 45 days of the 

patient receiving notice of the overpayment 

when a patient has overpaid the amount due to 

the facility; 

(5) providing written notification to the patient or 

patient's representative at least 30 days prior to 

submitting a delinquent bill to a collections 

agency; 

(6) providing the patient or patient's representative 

with the facility's charity care and financial 

assistance policies, if the facility is required to 

file a Schedule H, federal form 990; 

(7) the requirement that a collections agency, 

entity, or other assignee obtain written consent 

from the facility prior to initiating litigation 

against the patient or patient's representative; 

(8) a policy for handling debts arising from the 

provision of care by the facility involving the 

doctrine of necessaries, in accordance with G.S. 

131E-91(d)(5); and 

(9) a policy for handling debts arising from the 

provision of care by the facility to a minor, in 

accordance with G.S. 131E-91(d)(6). 

(c)  The governing body shall ensure that the bylaws, rules, and 

regulations of the medical staff and the bylaws, rules, policies, and 

regulations of the facility shall not be in conflict. 

(d)  The written policies, rules, and regulations shall be reviewed 

every three years, revised as necessary, and dated to indicate when 

last reviewed or revised. 

(e)  To qualify for licensure or license renewal, each facility must 

provide to the Division, upon application, an attestation statement 

in a form provided by the Division verifying compliance with the 

requirements of this Rule. 

(f)  On an annual basis, on the license renewal application 

provided by the Division, the facility shall provide to the Division 

the direct website address to the facility's financial assistance 

policy. This Paragraph applies only to facilities required to file a 

Schedule H, federal form 990. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 131E-91; 131E-214.8; 

131E-214.13(f); 131E-214.14;  

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3503 FUNCTIONS 

(a)  The governing body shall: 

(1) provide management, physical resources, and 

personnel determined by the governing body to 

be required to meet the needs of patients for 

treatment as authorized by the facility's license; 

(2) require facility administration to establish a 

quality control mechanism that includes a risk 

management component and an infection 

control program; 

(3) formulate short-range and long-range plans as 

defined in the facility bylaws, policies, rules, 

and regulations; 

(4) conform to all applicable State and federal laws, 

rules, and regulations, and applicable local 

ordinances; 

(5) provide for the control and use of the physical 

and financial resources of the facility; 

(6) review the annual audit, budget, and periodic 

reports of the financial operations of the 

facility; 

(7) consider the recommendation of the medical 

staff in granting and defining the scope of 

clinical privileges to individuals in accordance 

with medical staff bylaws requirements for 
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making such recommendations and the facility 

bylaws established by the governing body for 

the review and final determination of such 

recommendations; 

(8) require that applicants be informed of the 

disposition of their application for medical staff 

membership or clinical privileges in accordance 

with the facility bylaws established by the 

governing body, after an application has been 

submitted; 

(9) review and approve the medical staff bylaws, 

rules, and regulations; 

(10) delegate to the medical staff the authority to: 

(A) evaluate the professional competence 

of medical staff members and 

applicants for medical staff 

membership and clinical privileges; 

and 

(B) recommend to the governing body 

initial medical staff appointments, 

reappointments, and assignments or 

curtailments of privileges; 

(11) require that resources be made available to 

address the emotional and spiritual needs of 

patients either directly or through referral or 

arrangement with community agencies; 

(12) maintain communication with the medical staff 

which may be established through: 

(A) meetings with the executive 

committee of the medical staff; 

(B) service by the president of the medical 

staff as a member of the governing 

body with or without a vote; 

(C) appointment of individual medical 

staff members to the medical review 

committee; or 

(D) a joint conference committee that will 

be a committee of the governing body 

and the medical staff composed of 

equal representatives of each of the 

governing body, the chairman of the 

board or designee, the medical staff, 

and the chief of the medical staff or 

designee, respectively; 

(13) require the medical staff to establish controls 

that are designed to provide that standards of 

ethical professional practices are met; 

(14) provide administrative staff support to facilitate 

utilization review and infection control within 

the facility, to support quality control and any 

other medical staff functions required by this 

Subchapter or by the facility bylaws; 

(15) meet the following disclosure requirements: 

(A) provide data required by the Division; 

(B) disclose the facility's average daily 

inpatient charge upon request of the 

Division; and 

(C) disclose the identity of persons 

owning five percent or more of the 

facility as well as the facility's officers 

and members of the governing body 

upon request; 

(16) establish a procedure for reporting the 

occurrence and disposition of allegations of 

abuse or neglect of patients and incidents 

involving quality of care or physical 

environment at the facility. These procedures 

shall require that: 

(A) incident reports are analyzed and 

summarized by a designated party; 

and 

(B) corrective action is taken based upon 

the analysis of incident reports; 

(17) in a facility with one or more units, or portions 

of units, however described, utilized for 

psychiatric or substance abuse treatment, adopt 

policies implementing the provisions of G.S. 

122C, Article 3, and Article 5, Parts, 2, 3, 4, 5, 

7, and 8; 

(18) develop arrangements for the provision of 

extended care and other long-term healthcare 

services. Such services shall be provided in the 

facility or by outside resources through a 

transfer agreement or referrals; 

(19) provide and implement a written plan for the 

care or for the referral, or both, of patients who 

require mental health or substance abuse 

services while in the facility; 

(20) develop a conflict of interest policy which shall 

apply to all governing body members and 

facility administration. All governing body 

members shall execute a conflict of interest 

statement; and 

(21) conduct direct consultations with the medical 

staff at least twice during the year. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, "direct consultations" means 

the governing body, or a subcommittee of the governing body, 

meets with the leader(s) of the medical staff(s), or his or her 

designee(s) either face-to-face or via a telecommunications 

system permitting immediate, synchronous communication. 

(c)  The direct consultations shall consist of discussions of matters 

related to the quality of medical care provided to the hospital's 

patients, including quality matters arising out of the following: 

(1) the scope and complexity of services offered by 

the facility; 

(2) specific clinical populations served by the 

facility; 

(3) limitations on medical staff membership other 

than peer review or corrective action in 

individual cases; 

(4) circumstances relating to medical staff access to 

a facility resource; or 

(5) any issues of patient safety and quality of care 

that a hospital's quality assessment and 

performance improvement program might 

identify as needing the attention of the 

governing body in consultation with the 

medical staff. 
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(d)  For the purposes of this Rule, "specific clinical populations" 

includes those individuals who may be treated at the facility by 

the medical staff in place at the time of the consultation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-14.2; 131E-79; 42 CFR 

482.12; 42 CFR 482.22; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3701 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  The facility shall have a self-governed medical staff that shall 

be accountable to the governing body for the quality of care 

provided by individuals with medical staff membership and 

clinical privileges to provide medical services in the facility. 

Facility policy shall provide that individuals with clinical 

privileges shall perform only services within the scope of 

individual privileges granted. 

(b)  Minutes required by the rules of this Section shall reflect all 

transactions, conclusions, and recommendations of meetings. 

Minutes shall be prepared and retained in accordance with a 

policy established by the facility and medical staff, and available 

for inspection by members of the medical staff and governing 

body, respectively, unless such minutes include confidential peer 

review information that is not accessible to others in accordance 

with any law protecting the confidentiality. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3702 ESTABLISHMENT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3703 APPOINTMENT 

(a)  The governing body may grant, deny, renew, modify, 

suspend, or terminate medical staff membership and clinical 

privileges after consideration of the recommendation made by the 

medical staff in accordance with the bylaws established by the 

medical staff and approved by the governing body for making 

such recommendations, and the facility bylaws established by the 

governing body for review and final determination of such 

recommendations. 

(b)  Review of an applicant for medical staff membership and the 

granting of clinical privileges shall follow procedures set forth in 

the bylaws, rules, and regulations of the medical staff. These 

procedures shall require the following: 

(1) a signed application for medical staff 

membership, specifying date of birth, year and 

school of graduation, date of licensure, 

statement of postgraduate or special training 

and experience, and a statement of the scope of 

the clinical privileges sought by the applicant; 

(2) verification by the facility of the applicant's 

qualifications as stated in the application, 

including any required continuing education; 

and 

(3) written notice to the applicant from the 

governing body regarding appointment or 

reappointment, which specifies the approval or 

denial of clinical privileges and the scope of the 

privileges if granted. 

(c)  Members of the medical staff and others granted clinical 

privileges in the facility shall hold current licenses to practice in 

North Carolina. 

(d)  Medical staff appointments shall be reviewed at least once 

every two years by the medical staff in accordance with the 

bylaws established by the medical staff and approved by the 

governing body, and shall be followed with recommendations 

made to the governing body for review and a final determination. 

(e)  The facility shall maintain a file containing performance 

information for each medical staff member. Representatives of the 

Division shall have access to these files in accordance with, and 

subject to the limitations and restrictions set forth in, G.S. 131E-

80; however, to the extent that the same includes confidential 

medical review information, such information shall be reviewable 

and confidential in accordance with G.S. 131E-80(d) and other 

applicable law. 

(f)  Minutes shall be taken and maintained of all meetings of the 

medical staff and governing body that concern the granting, 

denying, renewing, modifying, suspending or terminating of 

clinical privileges. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 42 CFR 

482.12(a)(10); 42 CFR 482.22(a)(1); 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3704 ESTABLISHMENT AND 

CATEGORIES OF MEDICAL STAFF MEMBERSHIP 

(a)  The medical staff shall be established in accordance with the 

bylaws of the facility and organized in accordance with the 

bylaws, rules, and regulations of the medical staff. After 

considering the recommendations of the medical staff, the 

governing body of the facility may, in accordance with G.S. 131E-

85, grant medical staff membership and clinical privileges to 

qualified, licensed practitioners in accordance with their training, 

experience, and demonstrated competence and judgment in 

accordance with the medical staff bylaws, rules, and regulations. 

(b)  Every facility shall have an active medical staff, as defined by 

the medical staff bylaws, rules, and regulations, to deliver medical 

services within the facility and to administer medical staff 

functions. The members of the active medical staff shall be 

eligible to vote at medical staff meetings and to hold medical staff 

office positions as determined by the medical staff bylaws, rules, 

and regulations and shall be responsible for recommendations 

made to the governing body regarding the organization and 

administration of the medical staff. Medical staff office positions 

shall be determined in the medical staff bylaws, rules, and 

regulations. 

(c)  The active medical staff may establish other categories for 

membership in the medical staff. These categories for 

membership shall be identified and defined in the medical staff 

bylaws. Examples of membership categories include: 
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(1) active medical staff; 

(2) associate medical staff; 

(3) courtesy medical staff; 

(4) temporary medical staff; 

(5) consulting medical staff; 

(6) honorary medical staff; or 

(7) other staff classifications. 

The medical staff bylaws shall describe the authority, duties, 

privileges, and voting rights for each membership category 

consistent with applicable law, rules, and regulations and 

requirements of facility accrediting bodies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3705 MEDICAL STAFF BYLAWS, 

RULES, AND REGULATIONS 

(a)  The active medical staff shall develop and adopt, subject to 

the approval of the governing body, a set of bylaws, rules, and 

regulations to establish a framework for self-governance of 

medical staff activities and accountability to the governing body. 

(b)  The medical staff bylaws, rules, and regulations shall provide 

for the following: 

(1) organizational structure; 

(2) qualifications for medical staff membership; 

(3) procedures for granting or renewing, denying, 

modifying, suspending, and revoking clinical 

privileges; 

(4) procedures for disciplinary or corrective 

actions; 

(5) procedures for fair hearing and appellate review 

mechanisms for denying, modifying, 

suspending, and revoking clinical privileges; 

(6) composition, functions and attendance of 

standing committees; 

(7) policies for completion of medical records; 

(8) formal liaison between the medical staff and the 

governing body; 

(9) methods developed to formally verify that each 

medical staff member on appointment or 

reappointment agrees to abide by current 

medical staff bylaws, rules, and regulations, 

and the facility bylaws, rules, policies, and 

regulations; 

(10) procedures for participation in quality 

assurance functions by medical staff members; 

(11) the process for the selection and election and 

removal of medical staff officers; and 

(12) procedures for the proposal, adoption, and 

amendment, and approval of medical staff 

bylaws, rules, and regulations. 

(c)  Neither the medical staff, the governing body, nor the facility 

administration may unilaterally amend the medical staff bylaws, 

rules, and regulations. 

(d)  Neither the medical staff, the governing body, nor the facility 

administration may waive any provision of the medical staff 

bylaws, rules, and regulations, except in an emergency 

circumstance. For purposes of this Rule, an "emergency 

circumstance" means a situation of urgency that justifies 

immediate action and when there is not sufficient time to follow 

the applicable provisions and procedures of the medical staff 

bylaws. Examples of an emergency circumstance include an 

immediate threat to the life or health of an individual or the public, 

a natural disaster, or a judicial or regulatory order. The duration 

of a waiver permitted by this Rule will be only so long as the 

emergency circumstance exists. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3706 ORGANIZATION AND 

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE MEDICAL STAFF 

(a)  The medical staff shall be organized to accomplish its required 

functions as established by the governing body and medical staff 

bylaws, rules, and regulations and provide for the election or 

appointment of its own officers. 

(b)  There shall be an executive committee, or its equivalent, 

which represents the medical staff, that has responsibility for the 

effectiveness of all medical activities of the staff, and that acts for 

the medical staff. 

(c)  The following functions shall be performed by the medical 

staff: 

(1) credentialing review; 

(2) medical records review; 

(3) drug utilization review; 

(4) radiation safety review; 

(5) blood usage review;  

(6) bylaws review; 

(7) medical review; 

(8) peer review; and 

(9) recommendations for discipline or corrective 

action of medical staff members. 

(d)  The medical staff shall ensure that minutes are prepared for 

each medical staff, departmental, and committee meeting. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3707 MEDICAL ORDERS 

(a)  No medication or treatment shall be administered or 

discontinued except in response to the order of a member of the 

medical staff in accordance with policies, rules, and regulations 

established by the facility and medical staff and as provided in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(b)  Such orders shall be dated and recorded directly in the patient 

medical record. A method shall be established to safeguard 

against fraudulent recordings. 

(c)  All orders for medication or treatment shall be authenticated 

according to medical staff and facility policies, rules, or 

regulations. The order shall be taken by personnel qualified by 

medical staff bylaws, rules, and regulations, and shall include the 

date, time, and name of persons who gave the order, and the full 

signature of the person taking the order. 

(d)  The names of drugs shall be recorded in full and not 

abbreviated except where approved by the active medical staff. 
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(e)  The active medical staff shall establish a written policy in 

conjunction with the pharmacy committee or its equivalent for all 

medications not specifically prescribed as to time or number of 

doses to be automatically stopped after a reasonable time limit, 

but no more than 14 days. The prescriber shall be notified 

according to established policies and procedures at least 24 hours 

before an order is automatically stopped. 

(f)  For patients who are under the continuing care of an out-of-

state physician but are temporarily located in North Carolina, a 

facility may process the out-of-state physician's prescriptions or 

orders for diagnostic or therapeutic studies which maintain and 

support the patient's continued program of care, where the 

authenticity and currency of the prescriptions or orders can be 

verified by the physician who prescribed or ordered the treatment 

requested by the patient, and where the facility verifies that the 

out-of-state physician is licensed to prescribe or order the 

treatment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-75; 131E-79;  

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2005; August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3708 MEDICAL STAFF 

RESPONSIBILITIES FOR QUALITY IMPROVEMENT 

REVIEW 

(a)  The medical staff shall have in effect a system to review care 

provided at the facility by members of the medical staff, to assess 

quality, to provide a process for quality improvement, and to 

monitor the outcome of quality improvement activities. 

(b)  The medical staff shall establish criteria for the evaluation of 

the quality of care. 

(c)  The facility shall have a written plan that generates reports to 

permit identification of patient care problems and that establishes 

a system to use this data to document and identify interventions. 

The plan shall be approved by the medical staff, facility 

administration, and the governing body. 

(d)  The medical staff shall establish a policy to maintain a review 

process of the care provided by members of the medical staff to 

all patients in every medical department of the facility. The 

medical staff shall have a policy to schedule meetings to examine 

the review process and results. The review process shall include 

both practitioners and allied health professionals from the medical 

staff. 

(e)  Minutes shall be prepared for all meetings reviewing quality 

improvement and shall reflect all of the transactions, conclusions, 

and recommendations of the meeting. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1102 PAYMENT DUE 

(a)  All fees established in this Section shall be due on the first 

day of July of each year. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, when a new 

license or registration is issued by the agency or after the first day 

of July of any subsequent year, the initial fee shall be due on the 

date of issuance of the license or registration. 

(c)  The initial fee in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be computed 

as follows: 

(1) When any new license or registration is issued 

before the first day of January of any year, the 

initial fee shall be the full amount specified in 

Rule .1105 or .1106 of this Section; and 

(2) When any new license or registration is issued 

on or after the first day of January of any year, 

the initial fee shall be one-half of the amount 

specified in Rule .1105 or .1106 of this Section. 

(d)  All fees received by the agency pursuant to provisions of this 

Section shall be nonrefundable. 

(e)  Each licensee or registrant shall pay all fees online at 

https://www.thepayplace.com/northcarolinadhhs/dhsr/ncrpsfees/

challenge.aspx, or by check or money order made payable to 

"Radiation Protection Section" and mail such payment to: 

Radiation Protection Section, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Department of Health and Human Services to the 

address shown on the facility invoice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-9(a)(8); 104E-19(a); 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 30, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Expired on March 28, 2003; 

Findings of need for Emergency Rule disapproved by Codifier on 

June 8, 2007; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. June 19, 2007 pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.1A(b); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2007; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1102 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1106 RADIOACTIVE MATERIALS AND ACCELERATOR FEE AMOUNTS 

(a)  Annual fees for persons licensed pursuant to the provisions of Section .0300 of this Chapter shall be: 

Type of Radioactive Material License    Annual Fee 

Specific license of broad scope including: 

-academic or research and development (R&D)   $ 5,180.00 

-manufacture or distribution     $ 6,100.00 

-medical        $ 6,760.00 

 

Specific license including: 

-educational institutions, R&D laboratories    $ 2,960.00 
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-industrial radiography      $ 5,400.00 

-irradiator >10,000Ci      $ 19,140.00 

-irradiator ≤10,000Ci      $ 2,160.00 

-manufacture or distribution     $ 2,320.00 

-medical (human use), diagnostic     $ 2,940.00 

-medical (human use), therapeutic     $ 4,760.00 

-services, consultants, gauges (all types), or not specified above $ 1,860.00 

-well logging, subsurface tracer studies    $ 3,200.00 

 

General license including: 

-not subject to annual registration requirements   $ 200.00 

-subject to annual registration requirements    $ 325.00 

-possession of self-luminous devices under Rule .0309 of this Chapter no fee 

-possession of source material from water remediation activities under 

Rule .0307 of this Chapter      no fee 

 

(b)  Annual fees for persons licensed pursuant to the provisions of 

Section .0900 of this Chapter shall be four thousand seven 

hundred sixty dollars ($4,760.00). 

(c)  Fees for out-of-state persons granted permission to use 

sources of radiation in this State pursuant to Rule .0345 of this 

Chapter are the same as that provided for in the applicable 

category specified in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. The fees 

shall be due when the application for reciprocal recognition of 

out-of-state license is made. 

(d)  Each location listed on a license issued by the Agency that is 

not part of a contiguous property controlled by the licensee shall 

require an additional fee equal to the amount specified in 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. Fees for client locations listed 

on mobile medical licenses shall be one-half of the amount 

specified in Paragraphs (a) or (b) of this Rule for each client site. 

(e)  Persons licensed to conduct activities subject to multiple 

categories of fees under Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 

required to pay only the highest fee category. 

(f)  Persons possessing Sealed Source and Device Registration 

(SS&D) certificates shall pay an annual fee of one thousand four 

hundred eighty dollars ($1,480.00) per active SS&D certificate 

issued by the Agency, in addition to any amounts specified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(g)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, persons licensed 

to conduct activities under a specific license with annual receipts 

of less than two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) may 

pay a reduced license fee of one-half of the amount shown in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, provided: 

(1) payment of fees is made in accordance with 

Rule .1102 of this Section; 

(2) an affidavit is submitted to the agency every 

year that reduced fees are paid, no later than the 

date that payment of license fees are due, 

stating that annual receipts for all business 

activities are less than the amount shown in this 

Paragraph during the consecutive 12 month 

period preceding the date license fees are due. 

This affidavit shall be signed by the individual 

authorized to sign license amendments and this 

signature shall be witnessed and notarized; 

(3) records of annual receipts of all business 

activities shall be made available to the agency 

for inspection in accordance with Rule .0107 of 

this Chapter. These records shall include 

municipal, county, and State tax records; and 

(4) a copy of the affidavit and records of annual 

receipts shall be maintained for five years after 

the date the affidavit is notarized. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-9(a)(8); 104E-19(a); 

Eff. August 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1106 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2019; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0101 REPORTABLE DISEASES AND 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  The following named diseases and conditions are declared to 

be dangerous to the public health and are hereby made reportable 

within the time period specified after the disease or condition is 

reasonably suspected to exist: 

(1) acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) 

‑ 24 hours; 

(2) acute flaccid myelitis – 7 days; 

(3) anaplasmosis – 7 days; 

(4) anthrax ‑ immediately; 

(5) arboviral infection, neuroinvasive – 7 days; 

(6) babesiosis – 7 days; 

(7) botulism ‑ immediately; 

(8) brucellosis ‑ 7 days; 

(9) campylobacter infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(10) Candida auris - 24 hours; 

(11) Carbapenem-Resistant Enterobacteriaceae 

(CRE) – 24 hours; 

(12) chancroid ‑ 24 hours; 

(13) chikungunya virus infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(14) chlamydial infection (laboratory confirmed) ‑ 7 

days; 

(15) cholera ‑ 24 hours; 

(16) Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease – 7 days; 

(17) cryptosporidiosis – 24 hours; 
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(18) cyclosporiasis – 24 hours; 

(19) dengue ‑ 7 days; 

(20) diphtheria ‑ 24 hours; 

(21) Escherichia coli, shiga toxin-producing 

infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(22) ehrlichiosis – 7 days; 

(23) foodborne disease, including Clostridium 

perfringens, staphylococcal, Bacillus cereus, 

and other and unknown causes ‑ 24 hours; 

(24) gonorrhea ‑ 24 hours; 

(25) granuloma inguinale ‑ 24 hours; 

(26) Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease ‑ 24 

hours; 

(27) Hantavirus infection – 7 days; 

(28) Hemolytic-uremic syndrome – 24 hours; 

(29) Hemorrhagic fever virus infection – 

immediately; 

(30) hepatitis A ‑ 24 hours; 

(31) hepatitis B ‑ 24 hours; 

(32) hepatitis B carriage ‑ 7 days; 

(33) hepatitis C, acute – 7 days; 

(34) human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 

infection confirmed ‑ 24 hours; 

(35) influenza virus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(36) legionellosis ‑ 7 days; 

(37) leprosy – 7 days; 

(38) leptospirosis ‑ 7 days; 

(39) listeriosis – 24 hours; 

(40) Lyme disease ‑ 7 days; 

(41) Lymphogranuloma venereum ‑ 7 days; 

(42) malaria ‑ 7 days; 

(43) measles (rubeola) ‑ immediately;  

(44) meningitis, pneumococcal ‑ 7 days; 

(45) meningococcal disease ‑ 24 hours; 

(46) Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) ‑ 24 

hours; 

(47) monkeypox – 24 hours; 

(48) mumps ‑ 7 days; 

(49) nongonococcal urethritis ‑ 7 days; 

(50) novel coronavirus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(51) novel coronavirus infection – immediately; 

(52) novel influenza virus infection – immediately; 

(53) plague ‑ immediately; 

(54) paralytic poliomyelitis ‑ 24 hours; 

(55) pelvic inflammatory disease – 7 days; 

(56) psittacosis ‑ 7 days; 

(57) Q fever ‑ 7 days; 

(58) rabies, human ‑ 24 hours; 

(59) rubella ‑ 24 hours; 

(60) rubella congenital syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(61) salmonellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(62) severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) – 24 

hours; 

(63) shigellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(64) smallpox ‑ immediately; 

(65) spotted fever rickettsiosis – 7 days; 

(66) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vancomycin – 24 hours; 

(67) streptococcal infection, Group A, invasive 

disease ‑ 7 days; 

(68) syphilis ‑ 24 hours; 

(69) tetanus ‑ 7 days; 

(70) toxic shock syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(71) trichinosis ‑ 7 days; 

(72) tuberculosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(73) tularemia – immediately; 

(74) typhoid ‑ 24 hours; 

(75) typhoid carriage (Salmonella typhi) ‑ 7 days; 

(76) typhus, epidemic (louse-borne) ‑ 7 days; 

(77) vaccinia – 24 hours; 

(78) varicella – 24 hours; 

(79) vibrio infection (other than cholera) – 24 hours; 

(80) whooping cough – 24 hours;  

(81) yellow fever – 7 days; and 

(82) zika virus – 24 hours. 

(b)  For purposes of reporting, "confirmed human 

immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection" is defined as a positive 

virus culture, repeatedly reactive EIA antibody test confirmed by 

western blot or indirect immunofluorescent antibody test, positive 

nucleic acid detection (NAT) test, or other confirmed testing 

method approved by the Director of the State Public Health 

Laboratory conducted on or after February 1, 1990. In selecting 

additional tests for approval, the Director of the State Public 

Health Laboratory shall consider whether such tests have been 

approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration, 

recommended by the federal Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and endorsed by the Association of Public Health 

Laboratories. 

(c)  In addition to the laboratory reports for Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, and syphilis specified in G.S. 

130A-139, laboratories shall report using electronic laboratory 

reporting (ELR), secure telecommunication, or paper reports. 

(1) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms or their products from 

human clinical specimens: 

(A) Anaplasma spp, the causes of 

anaplasmosis. 

(B) Any hantavirus or hemorrhagic fever 

virus. 

(C) Arthropod-borne virus (any type). 

(D) Babesia spp., the cause of babesiosis. 

(E) Bacillus anthracis, the cause of 

anthrax. 

(F) Bordetella pertussis, the cause of 

whooping cough (pertussis). 

(G) Borrelia burgdorferi, the cause of 

Lyme disease (confirmed tests). 

(H) Brucella spp., the causes of 

brucellosis. 

(I) Campylobacter spp., the causes of 

campylobacteriosis. 
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(J) Candida auris. 

(K) Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE). 

(L) Chlamydia trachomatis, the cause of 

genital chlamydial infection, 

conjunctivitis (adult and newborn) and 

pneumonia of newborns. 

(M) Clostridium botulinum, a cause of 

botulism. 

(N) Clostridium tetani, the cause of 

tetanus. 

(O) Coronavirus, novel human strain. 

(P) Corynebacterium diphtheriae, the 

cause of diphtheria. 

(Q) Coxiella burnetii, the cause of Q fever. 

(R) Cryptosporidium spp., the cause of 

human cryptosporidiosis. 

(S) Cyclospora cayetanesis, the cause of 

cyclosporiasis. 

(T) Dengue virus. 

(U) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(V) Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 

coli, a cause of hemorrhagic colitis, 

hemolytic uremic syndrome, and 

thrombotic thrombocytopenic 

purpura. 

(W) Francisella tularensis, the cause of 

tularemia. 

(X) Hepatitis A virus. 

(Y) Hepatitis B virus or any component 

thereof, such as hepatitis B surface 

antigen. 

(Z) Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the 

cause of AIDS. 

(AA) Legionella spp., the causes of 

legionellosis. 

(BB) Leptospira spp., the causes of 

leptospirosis. 

(CC) Listeria monocytogenes, the cause of 

listeriosis. 

(DD) Measles virus. 

(EE) Middle East respiratory syndrome 

virus. 

(FF) Monkeypox. 

(GG) Mumps virus. 

(HH) Mycobacterium leprae, the cause of 

leprosy. 

(II) Plasmodium falciparum, P. malariae, 

P. ovale, and P. vivax, the causes of 

malaria in humans. 

(JJ) Poliovirus (any), the cause of 

poliomyelitis. 

(KK) Rabies virus. 

(LL) Rickettsia spp., the cause of spotted 

fever rickettsiosis.  

(MM) Rubella virus. 

(NN) Salmonella spp., the causes of 

salmonellosis. 

(OO) Shigella spp., the causes of shigellosis. 

(PP) Smallpox virus, the cause of smallpox. 

(QQ) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vanomycin. 

(RR) Trichinella spiralis, the cause of 

trichinosis. 

(SS) Vaccinia virus. 

(TT) Varicella virus. 

(UU) Vibrio spp., the causes of cholera and 

other vibrioses. 

(VV) Yellow fever virus. 

(WW) Yersinia pestis, the cause of plague. 

(XX) Zika virus. 

(2) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms from normally sterile 

human body sites: 

(A) Group A Streptococcus pyogenes 

(group A streptococci). 

(B) Haemophilus influenzae, serotype b. 

(C) Neisseria meningitidis, the cause of 

meningococcal disease. 

(3) Positive serologic test results, as specified, for 

the following infections: 

(A) Fourfold or greater changes or 

equivalent changes in serum antibody 

titers to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne virus 

associated with 

neuroinvasive disease.  

(ii) Anaplasma spp., the cause of 

anaplasmosis. 

(iii) Any hantavirus or 

hemorrhagic fever virus. 

(iv) Chlamydia psittaci, the cause 

of psittacosis. 

(v) Chikungunya virus. 

(vi) Coxiella burnetii, the cause 

of Q fever. 

(vii) Dengue virus. 

(viii) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(ix) Measles (rubeola) virus. 

(x) Mumps virus. 

(xi) Rickettsia rickettsii, the 

cause of Rocky Mountain 

spotted fever. 

(xii) Rubella virus. 

(xiii) Varicella virus. 

(xiv) Yellow fever virus. 

(B) The presence of IgM serum antibodies 

to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne virus 

associated with 

neuroinvasive disease. 

(ii) Chikungunya virus. 

(iii) Chlamydia psittaci. 

(iv) Dengue virus. 

(v) Hepatitis A virus. 
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(vi) Hepatitis B virus core 

antigen. 

(vii) Mumps virus. 

(viii) Rubella virus. 

(ix) Rubeola (measles) virus. 

(x) Yellow fever virus. 

(4) Laboratory results from tests to determine the 

absolute and relative counts for the T-helper 

(CD4) subset of lymphocytes and all results 

from tests to determine HIV viral load. 

(5) Identification of CRE from a clinical specimen 

associated with either infection or colonization, 

including all susceptibility results and all 

phenotypic or molecular test results. 

(d)  Laboratories utilizing electronic laboratory reporting (ELR) 

shall report in addition to those listed under Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule: 

(1) All positive laboratory results from tests used to 

diagnosis chronic Hepatitis C Infection, 

including the following: 

(A) Hepatitis C virus antibody tests 

(including the test specific signal to 

cut-off (s/c) ratio); 

(B) Hepatitis C nucleic acid tests; 

(C) Hepatitis C antigen(s) tests; and 

(D) Hepatitis C genotypic tests. 

(2) All HIV genotypic test results, including when 

available: 

(A) The entire nucleotide sequence; or 

(B) The pol region sequence (including all 

regions: protease (PR)/reverse 

transcriptase (RT) and integrase (INI) 

genes, if available). 

(3) All test results for Interferon Gamma Release 

Assays. 

(e)  For the purposes of reporting, Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) are defined as: 

(1) Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

positive for a known carbapenemase resistance 

mechanism or positive on a phenotypic test for 

carbapenemase production; or 

(2) Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

resistant to any carbapenem in the absence of 

carbapenemase resistance mechanism testing or 

phenotypic testing for carbapenemase 

production. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-

139; 130A-141; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; February 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 13, 2003; October 1, 2002; 

February 18, 2002; June 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2003; May 16, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; November 1, 2007; October 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2010; 

Temporary Amendment Expired September 11, 2011; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 2, 2014; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; October 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. February 17, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 24, 2020;  

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 41H .1201 REGISTRATION OF GRAVES 

REMOVED 

(a)  Removal of Graves Certificate and Filing. The party removing 

or causing the removal of a grave shall, within 30 days of 

completion of the reinternment of the grave, submit to the 

Register of Deeds in the county of disinterment and the counties 

of reinternment the following: 

(1) a Removal of Graves Certificate containing the 

elements set out in G.S. 65-106 and provided by 

the State Registrar. The Certificate shall be 

typed or completed in black ink with 

continuation sheets of the same format if 

necessary to list all decedents;  

(2) maps as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

and  

(3) a fee set out in G.S. 161-10.  

(b)  Maps. The party effecting removal shall prepare a map of both 

the disinterment and reinterment sites. The map must describe the 

disinterment and reinterment sites in such a manner that a layman 

can identify the location of each site. The maps shall include 

county, nearest city or town, public road or intersection of roads 

in the vicinity, and any other information which would be helpful 

in locating the sites. The graves must be noted and numbered. The 

names must be listed on the certificate by number, which 

corresponds with the numbers on the map.  

(c)  Filing and Indexing. The register of deeds shall: 

(1) cross index the certificates by name of cemetery 

of disinterment and reinterment; This 

requirement does not preclude additional cross 

indexing of the Removal of Graves Certificates 

by name of decedent when known; provided, 

that such cross indexing shall be an option of 

the register of deeds and imposes no extra 

charge to the party effecting removal; and 

(2) retain the certificates and attachments 

permanently. In counties using microfilm for 

recording various documents such as deeds and 

deeds of trust, these certificates may be 

processed as the other records. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 65-106; 130A-92(7); 161-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 15, 1977; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990;  
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Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 12 .0321 RATE FILING: HMO 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-67-50; 58-67-150; 

Eff. January 22, 1980; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .0514 COORDINATION: GROUP A/H 

CONTRACT BENEFITS: GROUP COVERAGES 

Purpose. In order to promote consistency in liability for claims 

and claims determination for group accident and health coverage, 

when a person has more than one type of group insurance and 

there is a basis for a claim under two or more group insurance 

plans, each group accident and health policy and any accident and 

health certificates issued under a group accident and health policy 

shall contain uniform order of benefit determination provisions as 

outlined in this Rule. 

(1) Applicability: 

(a) These Coordination of Benefits 

("COB") provisions apply when an 

employee or the employee's covered 

dependent has health care coverage 

under This Plan and one or more other 

Health Plans as defined in Sub-item 

(2)(a) of these provisions and when 

there is a basis for a claim under This 

Plan and the other Health Plan(s). 

(b) If these COB provisions apply, 

whether This Plan is the Primary Plan 

or the Secondary Plan is determined 

pursuant Item (3) of these provisions. 

(c) When This Plan is a Primary Plan, its 

benefits shall be determined before 

those of the other Secondary Plan(s) 

and without considering the 

Secondary Plan's benefits. When there 

are more than two other Health Plans 

covering the person, This Plan may be 

a Primary Plan as to one or more other 

Health Plans and may be a Secondary 

Plan as to a different Health Plan or 

Health Plans. 

(d) When This Plan is a Secondary Plan, 

its benefits shall be determined 

without considering the benefits of the 

Primary Plan or any other Secondary 

Plan and it shall credit to the 

deductible any amount that would 

otherwise be credited to it in the 

absence of coverage by another Health 

Plan. When This Plan is a Secondary 

Plan, any amount of those benefits 

paid for any Allowable Expense may 

be reduced to the amount of the 

Allowable Expense that is unpaid by 

the Primary Plan to prevent the 

payment of benefits under more than 

one Health Plan that would total more 

than 100 percent of the total expense 

for that claim. 

(e) The benefits of This Plan: 

(i) Shall not be reduced when, 

pursuant to Item (3) of these 

provisions, it is determined to 

be the Primary Plan; but 

(ii) May be reduced when, 

pursuant to Item (3) of these 

provisions, it is determined to 

be the Secondary Plan. 

(2) Definitions: 

(a) "Allowable Expense" means any 

health care expense, including 

coinsurance or copayments, without 

reduction for an applicable deductible, 

that is covered in full or in part by any 

of the Health Plans covering the 

person. When a Health Plan provides 

benefits in the form of medical 

services, the reasonable cash value of 

each service rendered shall be 

considered both an allowable expense 

and a benefit paid. 

(b) "Claim Determination Period" means 

a calendar year. However, it does not 

include any part of a year during 

which a person has no coverage under 

This Plan, or any part of a year before 

the date this COB provision or a 

similar provision takes effect. 

(c) "Health Plan" means a plan which 

provides benefits or services for, or 

because of, medical or dental care or 

treatment: 

(i) True group insurance. This 

includes prepayment, group 

practice or individual 

practice coverage. It does not 

include accident and health 

coverage for students, 

blanket, franchise individual, 

automobile and homeowner 

coverage. 

(ii) Coverage under a 

governmental plan or 

required or provided by law. 

This does not include a state 

plan under Medicaid (Title 

XIX, Grants to States for 

Medical Assistance 

Programs, of the United 

States Social Security Act as 

amended from time to time). 

It also does not include any 
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plan when, by law, its 

benefits are excess to those of 

any private insurance 

program or other 

non-governmental program. 

Each coverage under Sub-items 

(2)(a)(i) or (ii) of these provisions is a 

separate Health Plan. Also, if there is 

more than one schedule of benefits, 

and COB provisions apply only to one, 

each of the schedule of benefits is a 

separate Health Plan. 

(d) "Primary Plan" means a Health Plan 

whose benefits for a person's health 

care coverage has been determined to 

be the first claim payor taking the 

existence of any other Health Plan into 

consideration, pursuant to Item (3) of 

these provisions. 

(e) "Secondary Plan" means a Health Plan 

that is not a Primary Plan. 

(f) "This Plan" means this group accident 

and health policy. 

(3) Order of Benefit Determination: 

(a) When there is a basis for a claim under 

This Plan and another Health Plan, 

This Plan is a Secondary Plan which 

has its benefits determined after those 

of the other Health Plan, unless: 

(i) the other Health Plan has 

provisions coordinating its 

benefits with those of This 

Plan; and 

(ii) both the other Health Plan's 

provisions and This Plan's 

provisions in Sub-item (3)(b) 

of these provisions, require 

that This Plan's benefits be 

determined before those of 

the other Health Plan. 

(b) This Plan determines its order of 

benefits using the first of the following 

rules which applies: 

(i) Non-dependent/Dependent. 

The benefits of the Health 

Plan which covers the person 

as an employee, member or 

subscriber (that is, other than 

as a dependent) are 

determined before those of 

the Health Plan which covers 

the person as a dependent. 

(ii) Dependent Child/Parents Not 

Separated or Divorced. 

Except as stated in Sub-item 

(3)(b)(iii) of these provisions, 

when This Plan and another 

Health Plan cover the same 

child as a dependent of 

different persons, called 

"parents": 

(A) the benefits of the 

Health Plan of the 

parent whose 

birthday falls earlier 

in a year are 

determined before 

those of the Health 

Plan of the parent 

whose birthday falls 

later in that year; but 

(B) if both parents have 

the same birthday, 

the benefits of the 

Health Plan that has 

covered a parent for 

a longer period of 

time are determined 

before those of the 

Health Plan that 

covered the other 

parent for a shorter 

period of time. 

However, if the other Health 

Plan does not have the 

provision described in Sub-

item (3)(b)(ii)(A) of these 

provisions, but instead has a 

provision based upon the 

gender of the parent, and if, 

as a result, the Health Plans 

do not agree on the order of 

benefits, the provision in the 

other Health Plan will 

determine the order of 

benefits. 

(iii) Dependent Child/Separated 

or Divorced Parents. If two or 

more Health Plans cover a 

person as a dependent child 

of divorced or separated 

parents, benefits for the child 

are determined in this order: 

(A) first, the Health Plan 

of the parent with 

custody of the child; 

(B) then, the Health 

Plan of the spouse 

of the parent with 

custody of the child; 

and 

(C) finally, the Health 

Plan of the parent 

not having custody 

of the child. 

However, if the specific 

terms of a court decree state 

that one of the parents is 
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responsible for the healthcare 

expenses or healthcare 

coverage and the Health Plan 

of the parent has actual 

knowledge of those terms, 

the benefits of that Health 

Plan are determined first. 

Sub-item (3)(b)(iii)(C) of 

these provisions does not 

apply with respect to any 

Claim Determination Period 

or plan-year during which 

any benefits are actually paid 

or provided before the Health 

Plan has that actual 

knowledge. 

(iv) Active Inactive Employee. 

The benefits of a Health Plan 

which covers a person as an 

employee who is neither laid 

off nor retired (or as that 

employee's dependent) are 

determined before those of a 

Health Plan which covers 

that person as a laid off or 

retired employee (or as that 

employee's dependent). If the 

other Health Plan does not 

have a provision like Sub-

item (3)(b)(iv), and if, as a 

result, the Health Plans do 

not agree on the order of 

benefits, Sub-item (3)(b)(iv) 

is ignored. 

(v) Longer/Shorter Length of 

Coverage. If none of the 

other provisions of Item (3) 

determine the order of 

benefits, the benefits of the 

Health Plan which covered 

an employee, member or 

subscriber longer are 

determined before those of 

the Health Plan which 

covered that person for the 

shorter time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-51-1; 58-51-80; 58-

51-81; 58-65-1; 58-65-40; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1978; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1992; April 1, 1989; July 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0205 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION: 

REVOCATION: OR DENIAL 

(a)  When the Commission revokes or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of the sanction shall be 

permanent where the cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a felony offense, 

except as provided by G.S. 17C-13(a);  

(2) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

for which punishment is authorized by law to 

included imprisonment for more than two 

years, except as provided by G.S. 17C-13(a); or 

(3) the second suspension of an officer's 

certification for any of the causes requiring a 

five-year period of suspension pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09A .0204. 

(b)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of sanction shall be not less 

than five years; however, the Commission may either reduce or 

suspend the period of sanction or substitute a period of probation 

in lieu of suspension of certification as determined on a case-by-

case basis following a consent order or an administrative hearing, 

where the cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

other than those listed in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule;  

(2) refusal to submit to the applicant or lateral 

transferee drug screen required by these Rules;  

(3) production of a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission under 12 NCAC 

09C .0310, where the positive result cannot be 

explained to be in compliance with the law; 

(4) material misrepresentation of any information 

required for certification or accreditation;  

(5) obtaining, attempting to obtain, aiding another 

person to obtain, or aiding another person to 

attempt to obtain credit, training or certification 

by any means of false pretense, deception, 

defraudation, misrepresentation or cheating;  

(6) failure to make either of the notifications as 

required by 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8);  

(7) removal from office under the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or the provisions of G.S. 14-230;  

(8) performing activities or duties for which 

certification by the Commission is required 

without having first obtained the appropriate 

certification; or 

(9) commission or conviction of four or more 

crimes or unlawful acts defined as "Class B 

misdemeanors" in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(24)(b), 

regardless of the date of conviction. 

(c)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of sanction shall be for an 

indefinite period, but continuing so long as the stated deficiency, 

infraction, or impairment continues to exist, where the cause of 

sanction is: 

(1) failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic training 

requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0205, 

0225, .0235, and 0236;  
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(2) failure to meet or maintain the minimum 

standards of employment pursuant to 09B 

.0101, .0111, .0114, .0116, .0117; 

(3) discharge from a criminal justice agency for 

impairment of physical or mental capabilities; 

or 

(4) failure to meet or satisfy the in-service training 

requirements as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2006; August 1, 2001; November 1, 

1993; July 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; October 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE 

SCHOOL DIRECTOR 

(a)  In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each 

Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum 

in accordance with the curriculum standards 

established in this Subchapter; 

(2) Select and schedule instructors who are 

certified by the Commission; 

(3) Provide each instructor with a current 

Commission course outline and all necessary 

additional information concerning the 

instructor's duties and responsibilities; 

(4) Notify each instructor that he or she shall 

comply with the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide and 

provide him or her access to the most current 

version of the Course Management Guide; 

(5) Ensure each instructor utilizes Commission 

approved lesson plans and instructional 

materials;  

(6) Arrange for the availability of appropriate 

audiovisual aids and materials, publications, 

facilities, and equipment for training in all topic 

areas; 

(7) Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any 

supplemental rules and requirements 

determined by the school to be necessary or 

appropriate for: 

(A) effective course delivery; 

(B) establishing responsibilities and 

obligations of agencies or departments 

employing or sponsoring course 

trainees; and 

(C) regulating trainee participation and 

demeanor, ensuring trainee 

attendance, and maintaining 

performance records; 

(8) If appropriate, recommend housing and dining 

facilities for trainees; 

(9) Administer the course delivery in accordance 

with Commission approved lesson plans and 

course management guides;  

(10) Maintain direct supervision, direction, and 

control over the performance of all persons to 

whom any portion of the planning, 

development, presentation, or administration of 

a course has been delegated. The 

comprehensive final examination shall be 

administered by the Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission; and 

(11) Report the completion of each presentation of a 

Commission-certified criminal justice training 

course to the Commission, utilizing forms 

required for submission, which are located on 

the Agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-

and-publications/. 

(b)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Deliver training in accordance with the most 

current version of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide as 

published by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy; 

(2) Schedule course presentation to include 12 

hours of instruction each week during 

consecutive calendar weeks, except that there 

may be as many as three one-week breaks until 

course requirements are completed; 

(3) Schedule only specialized instructors certified 

by the Commission to teach those high-liability 

areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this 

Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as 

assistant instructors or role players; 

(4) With the exception of the First Responder, 

Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous 

Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule 

.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one 

specialized instructor certified by the 

Commission for every six trainees while 

engaged in a practical performance exercise; 

(5) Schedule one specialized instructor certified by 

the Commission for every eight trainees while 

engaged in a practical performance exercise in 

the topical area "Subject Control Arrest 

Techniques;" 

(6) Schedule no single individual to instruct more 

than 35 percent of the total hours of the 

curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course 

presentation; 

(7) Not less than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course, submit to the Commission a 

Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0211. 
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The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall 

indicate a requested date and location for the 

administration of the state comprehensive 

exam, and include the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; and 

(B) a copy of any rules and requirements 

for the school. A copy of such rules 

shall also be given to each trainee and 

to the executive officer of each 

trainee's employing or sponsoring 

agency or department at the time the 

trainee enrolls in the course; 

(8) Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by 

the Commission to monitor, a presentation of 

each instructor once during each three year 

certification period in each topic taught by the 

instructor and prepare a written evaluation on 

the instructor's performance and suitability for 

subsequent instructional assignments. The 

observations shall be of sufficient duration to 

ensure that the instructor is using the 

Instructional System Design model, and that the 

delivery is objective-based, documented by, 

and consistent with a Commission-approved 

lesson plan. For each topic area, the School 

Director's evaluation shall be based upon the 

course delivery observations, the instructor's 

use of the approved lesson plan, and the results 

of the student evaluations of the instructor. For 

probationary instructors, the evaluations 

conducted by another instructor shall be 

prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation (Form F-16) and forwarded to the 

Commission. Based on this evaluation, the 

School Director shall recommend approval or 

denial of requests for General Instructor 

Certification. For all other instructors, these 

evaluations shall be prepared on the Criminal 

Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16), be 

kept on file by the school for a period of three 

years, and shall be made available for 

inspection by a representative of the 

Commission upon request. In the event the 

evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or 

her performance was less than acceptable, the 

School Director shall forward a copy of the 

evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor 

who is evaluating the instructional presentation 

of another instructor shall hold certification in 

the same instructional topic area as that for 

which the instructor is being evaluated; 

(9) Administer or designate a staff person to 

administer course specific tests during course 

delivery: 

(A) to determine and record the level of 

trainee comprehension and retention 

of instructional subject- matter; 

(B) to provide a basis for a final 

determination or recommendation 

regarding the minimum degree of 

knowledge and skill of each trainee to 

function as an inexperienced law 

enforcement officer; and 

(C) to determine subject or topic areas of 

deficiency for the application of Rule 

.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and 

(10) Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a 

school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement 

Training, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include: 

(A) a "Student Course Completion" form 

for each individual enrolled on the day 

of orientation; and 

(B) a "Certification and Test Score 

Release" form. 

(c)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the 

School Director shall: 

(1) Schedule course presentation to include a 

minimum of 78 hours of instruction during the 

time period the class is taught until course 

requirements are completed.  

(2) Schedule at least one evaluator for every six 

trainees, as follows: 

(A) no evaluator shall be assigned more 

than six trainees during a course 

delivery; 

(B) each evaluator, as well as the 

instructors, shall have completed a 

Commission-certified instructor 

training course or an equivalent 

instructor training course utilizing the 

Instructional Systems Design model, 

an international model with 

applications in education, military 

training, and private enterprise; and 

(C) each instructor and evaluator shall 

document successful participation in a 

program presented by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy for 

purposes of familiarization and 

supplementation relevant to delivery 

of the instructor training course and 

trainee ; evaluation. 

(3) Not fewer than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the course, submit to the 

Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)]with 

the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 
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and proposed instructional 

assignments; 

(B) the names and last four digits of the 

social security numbers of all 

instructors and evaluators; and 

(C) a copy of any rules , and requirements 

for the school; and 

(4) Not more than 10 days after course completion, 

submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery 

Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the 

following: 

(A) class enrollment roster; 

(B) a course schedule with the designation 

of instructors and evaluators utilized 

in delivery; 

(C) scores recorded for each trainee on the 

70 minute skill presentation; and 

(D) designation of trainees who completed 

the course in its entirety and whom the 

School Director finds to be competent 

to instruct. 

(d)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, 

or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall: 

(1) select and schedule speed measurement 

instrument instructors who are certified by the 

Commission as instructors for the specific 

speed measurement instruments in which the 

trainees are to receive instruction as follows: 

(A) provide to the instructor the 

Commission form(s) for motor skill 

examination on each trainee; 

(B) require the instructor to complete the 

motor skill examination form on each 

trainee indicating the level of 

proficiency obtained on each specific 

instrument; and 

(C) require each instructor to sign each 

individual form and submit the 

original to the School Director; 

(2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled 

starting date, submit to the Director of the 

Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of 

Speed Measuring Instrument Course 

Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall 

contain a period of course delivery including 

the proposed starting date, course location, 

requested date and location for the 

administration of the state exam, and the 

number of trainees to be trained on each type of 

approved speed measurement instrument. The 

Director of the Standards Division shall review 

the request and notify the School Director 

within thirty business days if the request is 

approved or denied; and 

(3) upon completing delivery of the Commission-

certified course, and not more than 10 days after 

the conclusion of a school's offering of a 

certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-

Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed 

measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall 

notify the Commission regarding the progress 

and achievements of each trainee by submitting 

a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report 

shall include the original motor-skill 

examination form(s) completed and signed by 

the certified instructor responsible for 

administering the motor-skill examination to 

the respective trainee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; April 1, 2009; 

November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; August 1, 

2000; January 1, 1996; November 1, 1993; December 1, 1987; 

January 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course who 

is not a citizen of the United States. 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 

years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic criminal 

justice training course. Individuals under 20 years of age may be 

granted authorization for early enrollment as trainees in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with 

prior written approval from the Director of the Standards 

Division. The Director shall approve early enrollment if the 

individual will be 20 years of age prior to the date of the State 

Comprehensive Examination for the course. 

(c)  The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal 

justice training courses to individuals holding full-time 

employment with criminal justice agencies. 

(d)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course" 

who does not meet the education and experience requirements for 

instructor certification under Rule .0302 of this Subchapter within 

60 days of successful completion of the Instructor Training State 

Comprehensive Examination. 

(e)  The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or 

limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course unless the individual, within one 

year prior to admission to the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course, scores at or above mastery level on the NROC EdreadyTM 

Skills Inventory for English or places into course DRE 098 or 

above at a North Carolina Community College as a result of 

taking the Reading and English component of the North Carolina 

Diagnostic Assessment and Placement test as approved by the 

State Board of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014, 
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(http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-

colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the reading 

component of a nationally standardized test and has scored at or 

above the tenth grade level or the equivalent. For the purposes of 

this Rule: 

(1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include 

enrollees who hold or have held within 12 

months prior to the date of enrollment, general 

certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304. 

(2) A "nationally standardized test" means a test 

that: 

(A) reports scores as national percentiles, 

stanines, or grade equivalents; and 

(B) compares student test results to a 

national norm. 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided to the School Director a 

medical examination report, completed by a physician licensed to 

practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or a 

nurse practitioner, to determine the individual's fitness to perform 

the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer. The 

Director of the Standards Division shall grant an exception to this 

standard for a period of time not to exceed the commencement of 

the physical fitness topical area when failure to receive the 

medical examination report is not due to neglect on the part of the 

trainee. 

(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual is a high school, college, or university 

graduate or has received a high school equivalency credential 

recognized by the issuing state. High school diplomas earned 

through correspondence enrollment in an entity that charges a fee 

and requires the individual to complete little or no education or 

coursework to obtain a high diploma shall not be recognized 

toward the educational requirements. 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided the School Director one of the 

following types of record checks in the manner set forth in 

Paragraph (i) of this Rule:  

(1) a written notification, known as a "Criminal 

Record Conviction History for B.L.E.T. 

Enrollment," Form F-25, located at 

https://www.ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-

Enforcement-Training-and-

Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-

Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx, from a department head 

stating that a criminal record check for local and 

state records has been conducted and no 

criminal convictions as listed in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule were found that prohibit the 

individual trainee's enrollment in a presentation 

of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course. 

The hiring agency or the individual trainee shall 

also provide certified court documentation for 

each criminal conviction; 

(2) a certified criminal record check for local and 

state records, and certified court documentation 

for each criminal conviction. For the purpose of 

this Rule "Certified court documentation" and 

"record check" mean a document with either a 

raised seal or other visible verification that the 

document is authentic as a copy of the court's 

official record as authorized by law;  

(3) if the individual trainee has only resided in 

North Carolina since obtaining the age of 

majority, provide a fingerprint-based criminal 

history background check known as a "Right to 

Review" performed by the North Carolina State 

Bureau of Investigation. For the purpose of this 

Rule "Resided in" means any place the trainee 

has lived, worked, attended school, or 

participated in an internship. The individual 

shall also provide certified court documentation 

for each criminal conviction;  

(4) a fingerprint-based criminal history 

background check known as a "Right to 

Review" performed by a federal agency 

including all locations where the trainee has 

lived since obtaining the age of majority. The 

individual shall also provide certified court 

documentation for each criminal conviction; or 

(5) trainees who have served in the United States 

Armed Forces, in addition to one of the types of 

criminal records checks listed in Subparagraphs 

(1) through (4) of this Paragraph shall provide 

a copy of their Certificate of Discharge, DD 

Form 214, that shows their "Character of 

Service" and "Narrative Reason for 

Separation." Individuals showing a "Character 

of Service" as "Bad Conduct" or 

"Dishonorable" shall provide certified copies of 

their court-martial proceedings to include the 

final disposition. Trainees shall also provide 

documentation to show that they have requested 

their official military personnel file, which shall 

be provided upon receipt. 

(6) A trainee who has been naturalized as a United 

States Citizen is exempt from providing the 

criminal record checks for locations where they 

resided outside of the United States prior to 

naturalization. 

(7) A trainee who has resided outside the United 

States, other than those described in 

Subparagraph (5) and (6), who cannot obtain a 

criminal record check from any location outside 

the United States shall document the following, 

to be forwarded to the Standards Division for 

review on a case by case basis: 

(A) the name of the agencies contacted, 

(B) the date the agencies were contacted, 

(C) the contact information for the 

agencies contacted, and 

(D) the reason the information cannot be 

provided. 
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(i)  Documents obtained in accordance with Paragraph (h) of this 

Rule shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) any records provided shall fall within the time 

period beginning when the trainee obtains the 

age of majority and continuing through the date 

of application; 

(2) any records provided shall include all locations 

where the trainee has resided since obtaining 

the age of majority; and 

(3) any records provided shall include all legal 

names utilized by the trainee since obtaining the 

age of majority. 

(j)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course who 

has been convicted of the following: 

(1) a felony; 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have 

been imprisonment for more than two years; 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B 

Misdemeanor within the five year period prior 

to the date of application for employment, 

unless the individual intends to seek 

certification through the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission; 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as 

Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date 

of conviction; 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as 

Class A Misdemeanors, except the trainee may 

be enrolled if the last conviction date occurred 

more than two years prior to the date of 

enrollment; or 

(6) a combination of four or more Class A 

Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors 

regardless of the date of conviction, unless the 

individual intends to seek certification through 

the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission. 

(k)  Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph (j) of 

this Rule may be admitted into the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course if such offenses were dismissed or the person was 

found not guilty, but completion of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course does not ensure that certification as a law 

enforcement officer or justice officer through the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

will be issued. Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall 

notify the School Director of all criminal offenses the trainee is 

arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to, 

or is found guilty of, and of all Domestic Violence Protective 

Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a judicial official after a 

hearing that provides an opportunity for both parties to be present. 

This includes all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses 

and includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or 

Driving While Impaired (DWI). A "minor traffic offense" is 

defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where 

the maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or fewer. 

Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or similar laws of 

other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the School Director are 

G.S. 20-138.1 (driving while under the influence), G.S. 20-28 

(driving while license permanently revoked or permanently 

suspended), G.S. 20-30(5)(fictitious name or address in 

application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 

(fraudulent use of a fictitious name for a special identification 

card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor 

vehicle), G.S. 20-111(5)(fictitious name or address in application 

for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue 

lights), G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling law 

enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing on streets 

and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 

20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident). The notifications 

required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and specify the 

nature of the offense, the court where the case was handled, the 

date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the 

Domestic Violence Protective Order (50B), and the final 

disposition and the date thereof. The notifications required under 

this Paragraph shall be received by the School Director within 30 

days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The 

requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all times during 

which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course. The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the 

notifications required under 12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 

09B .0101(8). 

(l)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided to the School Director: 

(1) copies of all active Domestic Violence Orders 

of Protection and Civil Non-Contact Orders 

issued to the individual; or 

(2) a signed and dated written statement from the 

individual certifying that no such active Orders 

exist related to the individual. 

(m)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided to the School Director a copy 

of their valid driver's license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 93B-9; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; 

February 1, 2016; November 1, 2015; March 1, 2015; January 1, 

2015; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; December 

1, 2004; July 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; January 

1, 1995; March 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0303 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

GENERAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

general instructor shall, be in a probationary status, for a period 

not to exceed 12 months, until satisfying the requirements of 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule.  

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for General 

Instructor status if the instructor, submits to the Commission the 

following forms which are found on the agency website 
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https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/: 

(1) a Form F-12A, signed by a certified School 

Director of In-Service Training Coordinator, 

indicating a favorable recommendation; and 

(2) a Form F-16, Commission Instructor 

Evaluation Form, indicating the Instructor 

taught a minimum of eight hours of 

Commission-accredited basic training, 

Commission-recognized in-service training 

course, or training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, 10B. 1302, or 10B .2005, during the 

probationary period. The Instructor shall 

achieve a minimum of 64 points on all 

instruction evaluations submitted to the 

Commission. 

(c)  Probationary Instructors may request an extension of up to 

one year to teach the 8-hour minimum requirement. The Director 

may grant the requested extension upon showing of just cause 

based upon the circumstances that created the need for an 

extension. For purposes of this Rule, "just cause" includes an 

accident, illness, emergency, or course cancellation that precluded 

the instructor from fulfilling the teaching requirement. 

(d)  The term of certification as a general instructor is indefinite, 

provided the instructor completes during each calendar year a 

minimum of one hour of instructor refresher training provided by 

North Carolina Justice Academy. The Standards Division shall 

post on its website on January 1 of the current year the list of 

instructors who have met this requirement during the previous 

calendar year. 

(e)  If the instructor fails to meet the instructor refresher training 

specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, he or she shall deliver eight 

hours of evaluated instruction in a Commission-accredited basic 

training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005, 

and complete the instructor refresher training specified in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule within 60 days from the last day of the 

previous calendar year. 

(f)  If an instructor fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (d) 

or (e) of this Rule, the certification period for the instructor shall 

cease, and the instructor shall be required to complete the 

requirements of Rule 09B .0302 of this Section in order to obtain 

probationary instructor status. 

(g)  The use of guest participants in a delivery of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course is permissible. However, such 

guest participants shall be supervised on-site by a Commission-

certified instructor and must be authorized by the School Director. 

A guest participant shall only be used to complement the primary 

certified instructor of the block of instruction and shall not replace 

the primary instructor. 

(h)  "Commission-recognized in-service training" shall mean 

training meeting the following requirements: 

(1) training is taught by an instructor certified by 

the Commission; 

(2) training utilizes a lesson plan in the 

Instructional Systems Design format; and 

(3) completion of training shall be demonstrated by 

a passing score on a written test as follows: 

(A) a written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed 

by the agency or the North Carolina 

Justice Academy for each in-service 

training topic requiring testing. 

Written courses that are more than 

four credits in length are required to 

have a written test comprising of a 

minimum of 20 questions. The 

Firearms Training and Qualifications 

in-service course is exempt from this 

written test requirement; 

(B) a student shall pass each test by 

achieving at least 70 percent correct 

answers; and 

(C) a student who completes a topic of in-

service training in a traditional 

classroom setting or online and fails 

the end of topic exam shall be given 

one attempt to re-test. If the student 

fails the exam a second time, the 

student shall complete the in-service 

training topic in a traditional 

classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

(D) Topics delivered pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09E .0104(1) and 12 NCAC 

09E .0105(a)(1) shall not require 

written testing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; December 1, 2007; November 1, 

2007; August 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; July 1, 

1991; October 1, 1985; January 1, 1985; January 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0104 INSTRUCTORS: ANNUAL IN-

SERVICE TRAINING 

The following requirements and responsibilities are hereby 

established for instructors who conduct the law enforcement 

officers' annual in-service training program: 

(1) The instructor shall hold Instructor 

Certification issued by the Commission as 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0302, 09B .0304, 

and 09B .0306, except for instructors: 

(A) delivering CPR certifications that 

include cognitive and skills testing; 

(B) delivering use of equipment training 

conducted by a manufacturer, 

manufacturer's representative or a 

service provider and documented 

through a certificate of completion; or 

(C) delivering Incident Command System 

training for NIMS (National Incident 

Management System) compliance 

who are certified through FEMA 
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(Federal Emergency Management 

Agency) as Incident Command 

Instructors. 

In addition, each instructor certified by the Commission 

to teach in a Commission-accredited basic training, 

Speed Measuring Instrument Operator or Instructor 

training, Instructor or Specialized Instructor training, or 

Commission-recognized in-service training course shall 

remain competent in his or her specific or specialty areas. 

Such competence includes remaining current in the 

instructor's area of expertise, which may be 

demonstrated by completing all instructor updates issued 

by the Commission. 

(2) Instructors who teach a required in-service 

training topic, other than a topic taught pursuant 

to Paragraph (1) of this Rule, or a Firearms 

Training and Qualification course pursuant to 

Rule .0105(a)(1) of this Section, shall achieve a 

passing grade on a topic specific test developed 

by the North Carolina Justice Academy or by 

the agency delivering the training. Instructors 

who teach a required in-service training topic 

online shall also complete the in-service 

training for the topic he or she will be teaching. 

Instructors who teach an in-service training 

topic in a traditional classroom format will 

receive credit toward their own in-service 

training requirements, provided that they pass 

all required tests and have their instruction 

documented by the Department Head or In-

Service Training Coordinator once completed. 

(3) Instructors who, no more than 60 days prior to 

the upcoming calendar year, complete 

mandated in-service topics in their entirety 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0105 as presented 

by the North Carolina Justice Academy as part 

of the Instructor Training Update program shall 

have satisfied the requirements of 12 NCAC 

09E .0105 for the upcoming calendar year. 

(4) The instructor shall deliver the training 

consistent with the specifications established in 

Rules 09E .0105 and .0106. 

(5) The instructor shall report the successful or 

unsuccessful completion of training for each 

officer to the Department Head. 

(6) When the officer fails to qualify with a weapon, 

the instructor shall inform the officer that the 

officer did not qualify and the instructor shall 

deliver a Commission form F-9A (Firearms 

Qualification and Record) to the officer that 

shall be signed by the officer. This form shall 

instruct the officer not to use the weapon and 

shall require the officer to notify the 

Department Head or designated representative 

within 24 hours of the failure to qualify. The 

instructor shall personally deliver this form or 

send the form by certified mail to the 

Department head or designated representative 

within 72 hours of the failure to qualify. 

All Commission forms are available for download on the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; May 1, 2014; February 1, 2013; April 

1, 2008; January 1, 2006; January 1, 2005; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0105 MINIMUM TRAINING 

SPECIFICATIONS: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

(a)  The following topics, specifications, and hours shall be 

included in each law enforcement officer's annual in-service 

training courses. For the purposes of this Subchapter, a credit shall 

be equal to one hour of traditional classroom instruction. All 

sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a minimum of 24 

in-service training credits. The following topics, totaling 14 

credits, shall be specifically required: 

(1) 2021 Firearms (minimum 4 credits); 

(2) 2021 Legal Update (minimum 4 credits); 

(3) 2021 Continue to Make a Difference: Positive 

Engagement Stories and Studies (minimum 2 

credits); 

(4) 2021 School Safety and Responding to School 

Incidents (minimum 4 credits); and  

(5) Topics of Choice (12 credits); 

(A) Officer Awareness: Responding to 

Victims of Trauma (minimum 4 

credits); 

(B) Patrol Vehicle Operations (minimum 

4 credits);  

(C) Hemp Industry: Overview and Officer 

Roles (minimum 2 credits); and  

(D) Physical and Mental Wellness: 

Building & Implementing a Plan for 

Improvement (minimum 2 credits).  

(b)  All sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a 

minimum of 10 in-service credits, in topics identified by their 

respective agency heads. The agency head may choose any topic, 

provided the lesson plan is written in Instructional Systems 

Design format and is taught by an instructor who is certified by 

the Commission. Topics delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of 

this Section and National Certification Programs administered by 

the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement 

Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed during the 

mandated in-service year, shall satisfy in part or in whole the topic 

requirements set forth by the agency head. To satisfy this 

requirement these topics shall not be required to be written in 

Instructional Systems Design format or delivered by an instructor 

certified by the Commission. 

(c)  The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual" 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied 

as a guide for conducting the annual in-service firearms training 

program. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office 

of the: 
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Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(d)  The "In-Service Lesson Plans" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum 

curriculum for conducting the annual in-service training program. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(e)  Lesson plans are designed to be delivered in hourly 

increments. A student who completes an online in-service training 

topic shall receive the number of credits that correspond to the 

number of hours of traditional classroom training, regardless of 

the amount of time the student spends completing the course. 

(f)  Completion of training shall be demonstrated by passing a 

written test for each in-service training topic, as follows: 

(1) A written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed by the 

agency or the North Carolina Justice Academy 

for each in-service training topic requiring 

testing. The Firearms Training and 

Qualifications in-service course and topics 

delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of this 

Section shall be exempt from this written test 

requirement; 

(2) A student shall pass each test by achieving at 

least 70 percent correct answers; and 

(3) A student who completes a topic of in-service 

training in a traditional classroom setting or 

online and fails the end of topic exam shall be 

given one attempt to re-test. If the student fails 

the exam a second time, the student shall 

complete the in-service training topic in a 

traditional classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; 

July 1, 2016; January 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1, 

2014; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; April 1, 

2009; April 1, 2008; February 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2021; January 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0309 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

GENERAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements pursuant to Rule .0308 

of this Section for certification as a general instructor shall, be in 

a probationary status, for a period not to exceed 12 months, until 

satisfying the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule.  

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for General 

Instructor status if the instructor, submits to the Commission the 

following forms which are found on the agency website 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/: 

(1) a Form F-12A, signed by a certified School 

Director of In-Service Training Coordinator, 

indicating a favorable recommendation; and 

(2) a Form F-16, Commission Instructor 

Evaluation Form, indicating the Instructor 

taught a minimum of eight hours of 

Commission-accredited basic training, 

Commission-recognized in-service training 

course, or training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, 10B. 1302, or 10B .2005, during the 

probationary period. The Instructor shall 

achieve a minimum of 64 points on all 

instruction evaluations submitted to the 

Commission. 

(c)  Probationary Instructors may request an extension of up to 

one year to teach the 8-hour minimum requirement. The Director 

may grant the requested extension upon showing of just cause 

based upon the circumstances that created the need for an 

extension. For purposes of this Rule, "just cause" includes an 

accident, illness, emergency, or course cancellation that precluded 

the instructor from fulfilling the teaching requirement. 

(d)  The term of certification as a general instructor is indefinite, 

provided the instructor completes during each calendar year a 

minimum of one hour of instructor refresher training provided by 

North Carolina Justice Academy. The Standards Division shall 

post on its website on January 1 of the current year the list of 

instructors who have met this requirement during the previous 

calendar year. 

(e)  If the instructor fails to complete the instructor refresher 

training specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, he or she shall 

deliver eight hours of evaluated instruction in a Commission-

accredited basic or Commission-recognized training course and 

complete the instructor refresher training specified in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule within 60 days. 

(f)  If an instructor fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (d) 

or (e) of this Rule, the certification period for the instructor shall 

cease, and the instructor shall be required to complete the 

requirements of Rule .0308 of this Section in order to obtain 

probationary instructor status. 

(g)  "Commission-recognized in-service training" shall mean 

training meeting the following requirements: 

(1) training is taught by an instructor certified by 

the Commission; 

(2) training utilizes a lesson plan in the 

Instructional Systems Design format; and 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 3, 2020 

204 

(3) completion of training shall be demonstrated by 

a passing score on a written test as follows: 

(A) a written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed 

by the agency or the North Carolina 

Justice Academy for each in-service 

training topic requiring testing. 

Written courses that are more than 

four credits in length are required to 

have a written test comprising of a 

minimum of 20 questions. The 

Firearms Training and Qualifications 

in-service course is exempt from this 

written test requirement; 

(B) a student shall pass each test by 

achieving 70 percent correct answers; 

and 

(C) a student who completes a topic of in-

service training in a traditional 

classroom setting or online and fails 

the end of topic exam shall be given 

one attempt to re-test. If the student 

fails the exam a second time, the 

student shall complete the in-service 

training topic in a traditional 

classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; June 1, 2012; August 1, 2006; 

January 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09H .0102 MINIMUM TRAINING 

SPECIFICATIONS 

(a)  Firearms Training and Qualification shall consist of a 

minimum of four hours and include the requirements of 

Paragraphs (c), (d) and (e) of this Rule. 

(b)  Each qualified retired law enforcement officer shall qualify 

with each handgun he or she carries in accordance with the 

guidelines in the In-Service Firearms Qualification Manual as 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy relating to 

rounds fired, distances, the ratio of shots fired from each yard line 

and positions of fire.  

(c)  Qualification shall include a day and night qualification 

course with each handgun he or she carries, and a single day and 

night combat course with one handgun that he or she carries. 

(d)  Each qualified retired law enforcement officer shall receive a 

minimum of two hours of instruction on the North Carolina laws 

of self-defense, the use of force by private citizens, detention of 

persons by private persons, and assistance to law enforcement 

officers by private citizens.  

(e)  Instruction shall include a review of firearms safety and basic 

marksmanship fundamentals.  

(f)  The qualification requirements shall be achieved at least once 

in a single day in no more than three attempts per day for each 

course of fire and for each weapon for which qualification is 

required. Officers not qualifying in a single day for each course 

of fire shall be deemed as a failure and the retired qualified law 

enforcement officers shall not be allowed to carry that weapon 

until such time as the qualification requirements have been met. 

(g)  Qualified retired law enforcement officers shall be certified 

for a period of 12 months from the date the application is approved 

by the Commission. Upon application for renewal, the 

certification shall be renewed by the Commission for 12-month 

periods provided the qualified retired law enforcement officer 

meets the rules specified in this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-415.10; 14-415.25; 

14.415.26; 17C-6; 

Eff. May 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0407 CERTIFICATION OF FORMER 

SHERIFF 

(a)  The Division shall issue a General Certification to any person 

as either a deputy sheriff, a detention officer, or telecommunicator 

who has previously served as an elected or appointed sheriff for a 

minimum of eight years, if the person: 

(1) applies to the Commission within one year of 

ceasing to serve as an elected or appointed 

sheriff; and 

(2) left the office of sheriff in good standing. 

(b)  The Division shall issue a General Certification to any person 

as either a deputy sheriff, a detention officer, or telecommunicator 

who has previously served as an elected or appointed sheriff for a 

minimum of four years, if the person: 

(1) applies to the Commission within one year of 

ceasing to serve as an elected or appointed 

sheriff;  

(2) held a General Certification as deputy sheriff, 

detention officer, or telecommunicator with the 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 

Training Standards Commission or has held a 

General Certification as a sworn officer with 

the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Commission, with a break in service not to 

exceed one year prior to serving as an elected 

or appointed sheriff; and 

(3) left the office of sheriff in good standing. 

(c)  In order for an officer to be certified under this Rule, the 

employing agency shall: 

(1) comply with the Report of Appointment form 

requirement of Rule .0403 of this Section; 

(2) submit to the Division, a copy of the Oath of 

Office for applicants requesting certification as 

a deputy sheriff; and 
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(3) submit to the Division verification that the 

applicant meets the requirement of this Rule 

.0407(a)(2). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0905 DETERMINATION OF 

EXPERIENCE 

In determining the experience required under this Section, the 

provisions of Rule .0204 of this Chapter shall apply. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0905 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0907 PRE-DELIVERY REPORT FOR 

FIREARMS TRAINING COURSES 

Certified Firearms Trainers shall submit to the Board a pre-

delivery report for all firearms training courses required by Rule 

.0807 of this Chapter not less than five days prior to commencing 

any firearms training course. This report shall be submitted on a 

Board form and shall contain the following information: 

(1) the Certified Firearms Trainer's name, address, 

and contact telephone number; 

(2) the date, time, and location of classroom 

training; 

(3) the date, time, and location of range 

qualification; 

(4) the classroom and range telephone number(s); 

(5) the number of students anticipated; and 

(6) the Certified Firearms Trainer's signature. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 2, 2002; 

Temporary Adoption Expired July 29, 2003; 

Eff. December 1, 2003; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0907 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0908 POST-DELIVERY REPORT FOR 

FIREARMS TRAINING COURSES 

Certified Firearms Trainers shall submit to the Board a post-

delivery report for all firearms training courses required by Rule 

.0807 of this Rule within 20 days after completion of the firearms 

training. The report shall be submitted on a Board form and shall 

contain the following information: 

(1) the Certified Firearms Trainer's name; 

(2) the date, time, and location of classroom 

training; 

(3) the date, time, and location of range 

qualification; 

(4) the full name of the students who completed the 

firearms training course; 

(5) the certification by the Firearms Trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

firearms classroom training; 

(6) the range score for each student completing the 

firearms training course; and 

(7) the Certified Firearms Trainer's signature. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 2, 2002; 

Temporary Adoption Expired July 29, 2003; 

Eff. December 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0908 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1101 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following 

definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Private Investigator Associate" refers to an 

individual training to become a Private 

Investigator. A Private Investigator Associate 

may also be referred to as a "trainee" in these 

Rules. A Private Investigator Associate must 

complete three training levels as set out in this 

Section. 

(2) "One-on-one Supervision" means person-to-

person contact whereby the licensed 

investigator is personally and directly 

supervising or training the Associate. The 

training investigator must be the sponsoring 

licensed Private Investigator or any licensed 

Private Investigator who is a member of the 

sponsoring Private Investigator's firm, 

association, or corporation. The Private 

Investigator Associate may not subcontract his 

or her employment to another Private 

Investigator. However, the sponsoring Private 

Investigator may subcontract the Private 

Investigator Associate if the sponsor obtains 

prior written approval from the Board's 

Director by showing that the Private 

Investigator Associate will receive an 

educational benefit from the subcontract 

employment and the Associate will receive one-

on-one supervision from another licensed 

Private Investigator. One-on-one supervision 

may also be satisfied if the Associate undergoes 

training from an individual or educational 

course approved by the Board's Director prior 

to the Associate receiving the training. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 3, 2020 

206 

(3) "Training Checklist" refers to the document(s) 

that shall state all areas of training and work 

that the Associate has performed. The 

supervising Private Investigator is responsible 

for maintaining the training checklist and 

providing a copy of the checklist to the 

Associate. The Training Checklist must reflect 

the date the Associate advances from one level 

to another. The training checklist must be 

signed by the Associate and the sponsoring 

Private Investigator at the end of each reporting 

period. In the event the Associate transfers 

employment to another Private Investigator, the 

Associate must provide the new supervising 

Private Investigator with the training checklist 

and the new sponsoring Private Investigator 

will then be responsible for the maintenance of 

the checklist. The Training Checklist must be 

updated on a quarterly basis for Level One 

Associates and on a yearly basis for Level Two 

and Level Three Associates. The training 

checklist must be maintained pursuant to Rule 

.0108 of this Chapter. When an Associate 

completes Level Three, the Training Checklist 

must be made a part of the Associate's 

application for a Private Investigator's license. 

The Board shall have immediate access to the 

training checklist. 

(4) "Associate Log" refers to the document(s) 

maintained by the sponsoring Private 

Investigator which shall list each case the 

Associate has worked, the number of hours 

spent on the case, and the type of work 

performed. Details of the one-on-one training 

must be documented within the Associate's log. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1101 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1102 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL ONE 

(a)  If upon sponsorship, the Associate has less than one year or 

1,000 hours of verifiable training or experience, the Associate 

shall undergo 160 hours of one-on-one supervision training. 

(b)  The first 40 hours of employment shall be one-on-one 

supervision. The remaining 120 hours of one-on-one supervision 

shall be gathered over the first year of employment or the first 

1,000 hours of work, whichever comes first. 

(c)  A Level One Associate cannot, independently of the sponsor, 

accept or contract employment. The Associate shall have direct 

face-to-face or telephone contact with the sponsor or another 

licensed Private Investigator within the firm, association, or 

corporation before accepting employment or before accepting a 

new case. 

(d)  The sponsor or another licensed Private Investigator 

associated with the sponsor's firm, association, or corporation 

shall meet with the Level One associate to review the Associate's 

work product. The Private Investigator's review may be by 

telephone or face-to-face and shall occur at least four times per 

month. The licensed Private Investigator shall review each case 

on which the Associate is working or has worked since the last 

review. Review sessions may encompass more than one case. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1102 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1103 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL TWO 

(a)  If upon initial application for an Associate permit, the 

applicant has at least one year or 1,000 hours of verifiable training 

or experience, the applicant will skip Level One and be classified 

as a Level Two Private Investigator Associate. An applicant that 

skips Level One shall undergo 80 hours of one-on-one training. 

The first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision shall occur within 

the first 40 hours of employment. The remaining 40 hours shall 

be gathered over the first year of employment or the first 1,000 

hours of work, whichever comes first. 

(b)  A Level Two Associate cannot, independently of the sponsor, 

accept or contract employment. The Associate shall have direct 

face-to-face or telephone contact with the sponsor or another 

licensed Private Investigator within the firm, association, or 

corporation before accepting employment or before accepting a 

new case. 

(c)  The sponsor or another licensed Private Investigator 

associated with the sponsor's firm, association, or corporation 

shall meet with the Level Two Associate to review the Associate's 

work product. The Private Investigator's review may be by 

telephone or face-to-face and shall occur at least four times per 

month. The licensed Private Investigator shall review each case 

on which the Associate is working or has worked since the last 

review. Review sessions may encompass more than one case. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1103 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1104 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL THREE 

(a)  If upon sponsorship the Associate has at least two years or 

2,000 hours of verifiable training or experience, the Associate will 

be classified as a Level Three Private Investigator Associate and 

shall undergo 40 hours of one-on-one training. 

(b)  The first 40 hours of employment for the Level Three Private 

Investigator Associate shall be one-on-one supervision. 

(c)  When the Level Three Associate completes the requirements 

of Level Three by fulfilling the licensing requirements set forth in 

Rules .0204 and .0401 of this Chapter, the Associate may apply 

for a private investigator's license. 

(d)  The sponsor or another licensed Private Investigator 

associated with the sponsor's firm, association, or corporation 
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shall meet with the Level Three Associate to review the 

Associate's work product. The licensed Private Investigator shall 

review each case on which the Associate is working or has worked 

since the last review. Review sessions may encompass more than 

one case. 

(e)  The sponsoring Private Investigator shall have contact with 

the Level Three Associate sufficient to ensure compliance with 

G.S. 74C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1104 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1105 EDUCATIONAL DEGREES AND 

NON-DEGREED TRAINING 

(a)  An applicant shall receive a minimum of 400 hours of 

experience credit for an associate's degree. The Board shall grant 

up to 100 additional hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to the private protective 

services industry was received while obtaining the associate's 

degree. 

(b)  An applicant shall receive 800 hours of experience credit for 

a bachelor's degree. The Board shall grant up to 200 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that further training or 

course-work related to the private protective services industry was 

received while obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(c)  An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of experience credit for 

a graduate degree. The Board shall grant an additional 300 

additional hours if the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private protective services 

industry was received while obtaining the graduate degree. 

(d)  During the first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision, a Level 

One Associate may receive up to 4 hours of one-on-one 

supervision credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

docketed trial. Of the remaining 120 hours of one-on-one 

supervision required in Level One, the Associate may receive up 

to 12 hours of credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

trial. Of the thousand hours of training required in Level One, the 

Associate cannot receive more than 100 hours of credit for time 

spent in the courtroom observing a trial. To receive credit for 

courtroom observation, the Level One Associate must state in the 

Associate's Log the docket number of the trial and the time spent 

observing the trial. 

(e)  During the first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision, a Level 

Two Associate may receive up to 4 hours of one-on-one 

supervision credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

docketed trial. Of the remaining 80 hours of one-on-one 

supervision required in Level Two, the Associate may receive up 

to 8 hours of credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

trial. Of the thousand hours of training required in Level Two, the 

Associate cannot receive more than 100 hours of credit for time 

spent in the courtroom observing a trial. To receive credit for 

courtroom observation, the Level Two Associate must state in the 

Associate's Log the docket number of the trial and the time spent 

observing the trial. 

(f)  During the first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision, a Level 

Three Associate may receive up to 4 hours of one-on-one 

supervision credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

docketed trial. Of the one thousand hours of training required in 

Level Three, the Associate cannot receive more than 100 hours of 

credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a trial. To receive 

credit for courtroom observation, the Level Three Associate must 

state in the Associate's Log the docket number of the trial and the 

time spent observing the trial. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1105 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1106 CONSIDERATION OF 

EXPERIENCE 

(a)  The Board shall consider any practical experience gained prior 

to the application date. The Board shall not consider experience 

claimed by the applicant if the experience was: 

(1) gained by contracting private protective 

services to another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while not in possession of a valid 

private protective services license; or 

(2) gained when employed by a company 

contracting private protective services to 

another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while the company is not in 

possession of a valid private protective services 

license. 

(b)  The Board shall consider any educational experience referred 

to in Rule .1105 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; April 1, 1999; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1106 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1107 ENFORCEMENT 

A violation by the Associate may be deemed by the Board to be a 

violation of the sponsor if the violation is found to be the result of 

insufficient supervision and may subject the sponsor to any 

enforcement actions pursuant to G.S. 74C-17. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2); 74C-12; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1107 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1108 TRANSFERABILITY OF 

TRAINING HOURS 

If a Level One Associate transfers employment to another Private 

Investigator, the one-on-one training shall not transfer and the 

Associate shall undergo new one-on-one supervised training 

hours with the new sponsoring Private Investigator. If a Level 

Two or Level Three Associate transfers employment to another 

Private Investigator, all training hours shall be transferred. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1110 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1201 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in Rule .0103 of this 

Chapter, the following definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "continuing education" or "CE" refers to any 

educational activity approved by the Board to 

be a continuing education activity. 

(2) "credit hour" means 60 minutes of continuing 

education instruction. 

(3) "year" refers to the calendar year after the 

issuance of a new or renewal license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1301 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1202 REQUIRED CONTINUING 

EDUCATION HOURS 

(a)  Each licensee shall complete 12 credit hours of continuing 

education training during each two year renewal period. 

(b)  Credit shall be given only for classes that have been approved 

by the Board as set forth in Rule .1203 of this Section. 

(c)  A licensee who attends a complete meeting of a regularly 

scheduled meeting of the Board shall receive two credit hours for 

each meeting that the licensee attends, with credit being given for 

a maximum of two meetings per year with no more than four 

credit hours per year and eight credit hours per renewal period. 

(d)  No more that six hours of CEU credit shall be given during a 

renewal period for on-line courses. However, during a National or 

State declared state of emergency which restricts or prohibits a 

licensee from attending live continuing education courses or a 

meeting of the Board all required hours may be obtained on-line 

and credit shall be given upon written request to the Director. 

(e)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1302 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(a)  CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by 

submitting the following information to the Board for 

consideration: 

(1) the nature and purpose of the course; 

(2) the course objectives or goals; 

(3) the outline of the course, including the number 

of training hours for each segment; and 

(4) the name of the instructor. 

(b)  To determine if a course will receive approval from the Board, 

the Board shall complete the following review: 

(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and 

Education Committee for the appointment of a 

sub-committee that shall review the course 

under consideration. The sub-committee shall 

consist of at least two industry members of the 

Training and Education Committee. Other 

members of the sub-committee may be 

appointed at the discretion of the Training and 

Education Committee Chairman. 

(2) The sub-committee shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the 

industry, and if the course meets its stated 

objectives or goals. 

(3) When the sub-committee completes its review, 

it shall report to the Training and Education 

Committee. The Training and Education 

Committee shall review the course to determine 

if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if 

the course meets its stated objectives and goals. 

The Training and Education Committee shall 

then report the findings with a recommendation 

of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, 

the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority 

vote if the course will be approved for continuing education 

credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the 

course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and 

if the course meets its stated objectives or goals. 

(d)  Each approved course shall remain an approved course for 

four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the 

course instructor changes. 

(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education 

credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight 

hour cap of continuing education credit every two years. 

(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting 

institutions shall be granted standing approval when the 

institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the 

Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another 

state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security 

profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and 

investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour not to 

exceed eight credit hours. 

(g)  Online courses shall be approved by the Board based on 

compliance with the standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1303 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 3, 2020 

209 

14B NCAC 16 .1204 NON-RESIDENT LICENSEE 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS 

A non-resident licensee shall obtain the required continuing 

education credits as set forth in Rule .1202 of this Section. If a 

non-resident licensee resides in a state that requires continuing 

education for a private protective services business license, then 

the continuing education courses to be offered in the state of 

residence may be considered by the Board for approval in North 

Carolina on an individual course basis. In determining if the 

course is to be approved, the Board shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if the 

course meets its stated objective. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1304 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1205 RECORDING AND REPORTING 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS 

(a)  Each licensee shall be responsible for recording and reporting 

continuing education credits to the Board at the time of license 

renewal. For each course taken such report shall include a 

certificate of course completion that is signed by at least one 

course instructor, states the name of the licensee who completed 

the course, the date of course completion, and the number of hours 

taken by the licensee. Credit shall not be given if a certificate of 

course completion is dated more than two years before the license 

renewal date. Each course instructor shall be required to maintain 

a course roster and shall verify the identity of each participant by 

a government issued photo identification, such as a driver's 

license. The roster shall be delivered to the Board's office within 

two weeks of the completion date of the course. 

(b)  All applications for renewal of a license shall have continuing 

education certificate(s) of course completion attached verifying 

completion of the required number of credit hours. If an applicant 

is filing an application designated as "new" and the applicant has 

been licensed for any period of time within the previous two years, 

the applicant shall attach continuing education certificate(s) of 

course completion verifying completion of the required number 

of credit hours. An applicant shall not be required to submit a 

continuing education certificate of course completion if the 

applicant is filing an application designated as a "transfer" or 

"duplicate" and if the applicant has a current license issued by the 

Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1305 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1206 NON-COMPLIANCE 

If a licensee fails to comply with this Section, his or her license 

shall not be renewed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1306 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1303 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION 

An applicant for registration as an unarmed armored service guard 

shall: 

(1) be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) be a citizen of the United States or a resident 

alien; 

(3) be of good moral character and temperate 

habits. Any of the following within the last five 

years shall be prima facie evidence that the 

applicant does not have good moral character or 

temperate habits: 

(a) conviction by any local, state, federal, 

or military court of any crime 

involving the illegal use, carrying, or 

possession of a firearm; 

(b) conviction of any crime involving the 

illegal use, possession, sale, 

manufacture, distribution, or 

transportation of a controlled 

substance, drug, narcotic, or alcoholic 

beverage; 

(c) conviction of a crime involving 

felonious assault or an act of violence; 

(d) conviction of a crime involving 

unlawful breaking or entering, 

burglary, larceny, or any offense 

involving moral turpitude; or 

(e) a history of addiction to alcohol or a 

narcotic drug. For purposes of this 

Rule, "conviction" means the entry of 

a plea of guilty, plea of no contest, or 

a verdict of guilty; 

(4) not have been judicially declared incompetent 

or not have been involuntarily committed to an 

institution for treatment of mental illness. When 

an individual has been treated and found to have 

been restored, the Board shall consider this 

evidence and determine whether the applicant 

meets the requirements of this Rule; and 

(5) not have had a revocation by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1403 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1305 UNARMED ARMORED CAR 

SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION IDENTIFICATION 

CARDS 

(a)  A registration identification card shall be carried by an 

armored car service guard registrant when performing the duties 

of a private protective services employee. 
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(b)  The registration identification card shall be exhibited upon the 

request of any law enforcement officer or any authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(c)  Registration identification card holders shall within five 

business days notify the Board following receipt of any 

information relating to the holder's eligibility to continue holding 

the card. 

(d)  The guard transfer form and fee shall be submitted to the 

Board by the employer within 10 days of the beginning of 

employment. 

(e)  Upon revocation or suspension by the Board, a holder shall 

return the registration identification card to the Director within 10 

days of the date of the revocation or suspension. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1405 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1307 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an unarmed armored car service guard 

registration shall complete a basic training course for unarmed 

armored car service guards within 30 days from the date of 

permanent hire. The course shall consist of a minimum of 16 

hours of classroom instruction including: 

(1) The Security Officer in North Carolina – 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) Legal Issues for Security Officers – (minimum 

of three hours); 

(3) Deportment – (minimum of one hour); 

(4) Armored Security Operations – (minimum of 

five hours); 

(5) Emergency Responses – (minimum of three 

hours); and 

(6) Safe Driver Training – (minimum of three 

hours); 

A minimum of four hours of classroom instruction shall be 

completed within 20 calendar days of any armored car service 

guard, including probationary, being placed on a duty station. 

These four hours shall include The Security Officer in North 

Carolina and Legal Issues for Security Officers. Unarmed 

armored car service guard training is not transferable to qualify as 

unarmed security guard training. 

(b)  Licensees shall submit their names and resumes for proposed 

certified unarmed trainer registrations to the Director for Board 

approval. 

(c)  Training shall be conducted by a Board certified unarmed 

trainer. A Board approved lesson plan covering the training 

requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be made available 

by the Board to each trainer. The trainer may use other media 

training materials that deliver the training requirements of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  The 16 hours of training may be delivered remotely under the 

following conditions: 

(1) The training is presented by a Board certified 

unarmed trainer. 

(2) Each student is given a copy of the Board 

approved unarmed armored car service guard 

training manual to use for the duration of the 16 

hour training course. 

(3) The technology used allows the trainer to see 

the students and the students to see the trainer 

in real time during the training. 

(4) All students in each classroom are able to see 

and read the screen or monitor, and they must 

be able to hear and understand the audio 

presentation. All monitors used in each 

classroom must be at least 32 inches wide. 

(5) The technology used is of sufficient quality so 

that the training audio and video is delivered 

smoothly and without interruption. 

(6) Each student is taught to use the audio and 

video equipment in the classroom prior to the 

start of the 16 hour unarmed armored car 

service guard training course. 

(7) The total number of students receiving remote 

training at one time does not exceed 35 

students. 

(8) Any additional training beyond the Board 

mandated training in the unarmed armored car 

service guard training manual is taught either 

before or after the 16 hour unarmed armored car 

service guard training. 

(9) The Director is notified five days prior to 

training of the location of each classroom, the 

name of the certified trainer, and the number of 

students who will be present. 

(10) The sponsoring agency allows the Director or 

designee access via computer to the training 

during the time that it is taking place. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1407 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1308 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

The provisions of Rule .0104 of this Chapter apply to unarmed 

armored car service guards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 74C-15; 

Eff. January 1, 2015; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1408 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1403 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

Applicants for an armed armored car firearms registration shall 

meet all the requirements of Rules .1303 and .1307 of this 

Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-13: 
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Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1503 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1405 ARMED ARMORED CAR 

SERVICE GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

IDENTIFICATION CARDS 

(a)  The provisions of Rule .1305 of this Chapter apply to armed 

armored car service guards. 

(b)  Upon termination of employment of an armed armored car 

service guard, the employer shall return the employee's 

registration card to the Board within 15 business days of the 

employee's termination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1505 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1407 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS 

(a)  Prior to applying, applicants for an armed armored car service 

guard firearm registration permit shall complete the basic training 

course for unarmed armored car service guards set forth in Rule 

.1307(a) of this Chapter. Private Investigator Licensees applying 

for an armed armored car service guard firearm registration permit 

shall complete a four hour training course consisting of blocks of 

instruction "The Security Officer in North Carolina" and "Legal 

Issues for Security Officers" as set forth in Rule .1307(a) of this 

Chapter. Private Investigator Licensees applying for an armed 

armored car service guard firearm registration permit are not 

required to complete the following training blocks found in the 

basic training course referenced in Rule .1307(a) of this Chapter: 

"Emergency Responses," "Deportment," "Armored Security 

Operations," and "Safe Driver Training." A Private Investigator 

Licensee applying for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall meet all additional training requirements 

set forth in Rule .1307(a) of this Chapter as well as the training 

requirements set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall complete a basic training course for 

armed security guards that consists of at least 20 hours of 

classroom instruction including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules relating 

to armed security guards -- (minimum of four 

hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures -- (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance -- 

(minimum of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals -- (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing -- (minimum of four hours). 

(c)  Applicants for an armed armored service guard firearm 

registration permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent 

accuracy on a firearms range qualification course adopted by the 

Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on 

file in the Director's office. Should a student fail to attain a score 

of 80 percent accuracy, the student shall be given an additional 

three attempts to qualify on the course of fire he or she did not 

pass, which additional attempts shall take place within 20 days of 

the completion of the initial 20 hour course. Failure to meet the 

qualification after three additional attempts shall require the 

student to repeat the entire basic training course for armed security 

guards. 

(d)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter 

shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be 

successfully completed no more than 90 days prior to the date of 

issuance of the armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit. 

(e)  All applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall obtain training under the provisions of 

this Rule using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or 

ballistic equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition 

that meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil 

of the duty ammunition, for all weapons. 

(f)  No more than six new or renewal armed armored car service 

guard applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing 

line at any one time during firearms range training. 

(g)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed armored car 

service guard firearm registration permit shall complete a basic 

recertification training course for armed armored car guards that 

consists of at least four hours of classroom instruction and is a 

review of the requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (b)(1) 

through (b)(5) of this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 

180 days after completion of the course. Applicants for 

recertification of an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall also complete the requirements of 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(h)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed armored car service 

guard, an applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements 

of Paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of this Rule, four hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotguns; 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures; 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance; and 

(4) shotgun fundamentals. 

An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a time 

after the initial training in Subparagraph (b) of this Rule. If the 

shotgun training is completed at a later time, the shotgun 

certification shall run concurrently with the armed registration 

permit. 

(i)  In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (h) of 

this Rule, applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent 

accuracy on a shotgun range qualification course adopted by the 

Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on 

file in the Director's office. 

(j)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training as set forth in 

Subparagraphs (h)(1) through (h)(4) of this Rule and shall also 

complete the requirements of Paragraph (i) of this Rule. 
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(k)  Applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit who possess a current firearms trainer 

certificate shall be given, upon their written request, a firearms 

registration permit that will run concurrently with the trainer 

certificate upon completion of an annual qualification with their 

duty weapons as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(l)  An armed armored car service guard shall qualify annually for 

both day and night firing with his or her duty weapon and shotgun, 

if applicable. If the armed armored car service guard fails to 

qualify on either course of fire, the guard cannot carry a firearm 

until such time as he or she meets the qualification requirements. 

Upon failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the 

armed armored car service guard that he or she is no longer 

authorized to carry a firearm, and the firearm instructor shall 

notify the employer and the Board on the next business day. 

(m)  Armed armored car service guard personnel may also work 

as armed security guards only if they hold an unarmed or armed 

security guard registration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1507 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1408 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

The provisions of Rule .0104 of this Chapter apply to armed 

armored car service guards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 74C-15; 

Eff. January 1, 2015; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1508 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0104 APPLICATION OF EROSION 

RATE SETBACK FACTORS 

(a)  Development on lots created on or after June 1, 1979 shall 

utilize the current erosion rate setback factor in the calculation of 

the development setback pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0304. If 

application of the current erosion rate setback factor in the 

calculation of the development setback would preclude the 

placement of permanent buildings, then the erosion rate in effect 

at the time that the lot was created may be utilized in the 

calculation of the development setback, provided that the 

development: 

(1) shall comply with the current erosion rate 

setback factor to the maximum extent possible; 

(2) is located at the landward most position of the 

lot without violating local zoning requirements; 

(3) shall extend no further oceanward than the 

landward-most adjacent building; and 

(4) shall be no more than 2,000 square feet in total 

floor area. 

(b)  Development on lots created prior to June 1, 1979 shall 

comply with the provisions of 15A NCAC 07H .0309(b) and (c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113; 113A-

124; 

Eff. September 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; April 1, 2004; April 1, 1997; April 

1, 1995; May 1, 1990; November 1, 1988; September 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0105 EFFECTIVE DATE OF RULE 

AMENDMENTS 

Unless explicitly stated otherwise, the Coastal Resources 

Commission guidelines for Areas of Environmental Concern and 

local land use plans in effect at the time of permit decision shall 

be applied to all development proposals covered by this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-124; 

Eff. December 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0106 GENERAL DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply whenever these terms are used in 

this Chapter: 

(1) "Normal High Water" is the ordinary extent of 

high tide based on site conditions such as 

presence and location of vegetation which has 

its distribution influenced by tidal action, and 

the location of the apparent high tide line. 

(2) "Normal Water Level" is the level of water 

bodies with less than six inches of lunar tide 

during periods of little or no wind. It can be 

determined by the presence of such physical 

and biological indicators as erosion 

escarpments, trash lines, water lines, marsh 

grasses, and barnacles. 

(3) Unless specifically limited, the term 

"structures" includes, but is not limited to, 

buildings, bridges, roads, piers wharves and 

docks (supported on piles), bulkheads, 

breakwaters, jetties, mooring pilings and buoys, 

pile clusters (dolphins), navigational aids, and 

elevated boat ramps. 

(4) "Mining" is defined as: 

(a) the breaking of the surface soil in 

order to facilitate or accomplish the 

extraction or removal of mineral, ores, 

or other solid matter; 

(b) any activity or process constituting all 

or part of a process for the extraction 

or removal of minerals, ores, soils, and 

other solid matter from their original 

Location; or 

(c) the preparation, washing, cleaning, or 

other treatment of minerals, ores, or 

other solid matter so as to make them 

suitable for commercial, industrial, or 

construction use. 
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This definition applies regardless of whether 

the mining activity is for a commercial or 

noncommercial purpose, and regardless of the 

size of the affected area. Activities such as 

vibracoring, box coring, surface grab sampling, 

and other drilling and sampling for geotechnical 

testing, mineral resource investigations, or 

geological research are not considered mining. 

Excavation of mineral resources associated 

with the construction or maintenance of an 

approved navigation project in accordance with 

15A NCAC 7B .0200 of this Chapter is not 

considered mining. 

(5) "Wind Energy Facility" means the turbines, 

accessory buildings, transmission facilities, and 

any other equipment necessary for the operation 

of the facility that cumulatively, with any other 

wind energy facility whose turbines are located 

within one-half mile of one another, have a 

rated capacity of three megawatts or more of 

energy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-102; 113A-107; 

Eff. June 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2011; August 1, 1998; October 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0201 ESTUARINE AND OCEAN 

SYSTEM CATEGORIES 

Included within the estuarine and ocean system are the following 

AEC categories: 

(a) estuarine waters; 

(b) coastal wetlands; 

(c) public trust areas; and 

(d) estuarine and public trust shorelines. 

Each of the AECs is either geographically within the estuary or, 

because of its location and nature, may affect the estuarine and 

ocean system. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-113(b)(1); 

113A-113(b)(2); 113A-113(b)(5); 113A-113(b)(6)b; 113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0203 MANAGEMENT OBJECTIVE OF 

THE ESTUARINE AND OCEAN SYSTEM 

It is the objective of the Coastal Resources Commission to 

conserve and manage estuarine waters, coastal wetlands, public 

trust areas, and estuarine and public trust shorelines, as an 

interrelated group of AECs, so as to safeguard and perpetuate their 

biological, social, economic, and aesthetic values and to ensure 

that development occurring within these AECs is compatible with 

natural characteristics so as to minimize the likelihood of 

significant loss of private property and public resources. 

Furthermore, it is the objective of the Coastal Resources 

Commission to protect present common-law and statutory public 

rights of access to the lands and waters of the coastal area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-102(b)(1); 

113A-102(b)(4); 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; October 1, 1993; September 1, 

1985; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0205 COASTAL WETLANDS 

(a)  Definition. "Coastal Wetlands" are defined as any salt marsh 

or other marsh subject to regular or occasional flooding by tides, 

including wind tides, that reach the marshland areas through 

natural or artificial watercourses, provided this does not include 

hurricane or tropical storm tides. Regular or occasional flooding 

shall be established through field indicators, including the 

observation of tidal water on the site, changes in elevation, 

presence of periwinkle (littoraria spp.), presence of crab burrows, 

staining, or wrack lines. Coastal wetlands may contain one or 

more of the following marsh plant species: 

(1) Cord Grass (Spartina alterniflora); 

(2) Black Needlerush (Juncus roemerianus); 

(3) Glasswort (Salicornia spp.); 

(4) Salt Grass (Distichlis spicata); 

(5) Sea Lavender (Limonium spp.); 

(6) Bulrush (Scirpus spp.); 

(7) Saw Grass (Cladium jamaicense); 

(8) Cat-tail (Typha spp.); 

(9) Salt Meadow Grass (Spartina patens);or 

(10) Salt Reed Grass (Spartina cynosuroides). 

The coastal wetlands AEC includes any contiguous lands 

designated by the Secretary of DEQ pursuant to G.S. 113-230(a). 

(b)  Significance. The unique productivity of the estuarine and 

ocean system is supported by detritus (decayed plant material) and 

nutrients that are exported from the coastal wetlands. Without the 

wetlands, the high productivity levels and complex food chains 

typically found in the estuaries could not be maintained. 

Additionally, coastal wetlands serve as barriers against flood 

damage and control erosion between the estuary and the uplands. 

(c)  Management Objective. It is the objective of the Coastal 

Resources Commission to conserve and manage coastal wetlands 

so as to safeguard and perpetuate their biological, social, 

economic and aesthetic values, and to coordinate and establish a 

management system capable of conserving and utilizing coastal 

wetlands as a natural resource necessary to the functioning of the 

entire estuarine system. 

(d)  Use Standards. Suitable land uses are those consistent with 

the management objective in this Rule. First priority of use shall 

be allocated to the conservation of existing coastal wetlands. 

Secondary priority of coastal wetland use shall be given to those 

types of development activities that require water access and 

cannot function elsewhere. 

Unacceptable land uses include restaurants, businesses, 

residences, apartments, motels, hotels, trailer parks, parking lots, 

private roads, highways, and factories. Acceptable land uses 

include utility easements, fishing piers, docks, wildlife habitat 

management activities, and agricultural uses such as farming and 

forestry drainage as permitted under North Carolina's Dredge and 

Fill Law, G.S. 113-229, or applicable local, state, and federal 

laws. 
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In every instance, the particular location, use, and design 

characteristics shall be in accord with the general use standards 

for coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, and public trust areas 

described in Rule .0208 of this Section. 

(e)  Alteration of Coastal Wetlands. Alteration of coastal wetlands 

includes mowing or cutting of coastal wetlands vegetation 

whether by mechanized equipment or manual means. Alteration 

of coastal wetlands by federal or state resource management 

agencies as a part of planned resource management activities is 

exempt from the requirements of this Paragraph. Alteration of 

coastal wetlands shall be governed according to the following 

provisions: 

(1) Alteration of coastal wetlands shall be exempt 

from the permit requirements of the Coastal 

Area Management Act (CAMA) when 

conducted in accordance with the following 

criteria: 

(A) Coastal wetlands may be mowed or 

cut to a height of no less than two feet, 

as measured from the coastal wetland 

substrate, at any time and at any 

frequency throughout the year; 

(B) Coastal wetlands may be mowed or 

cut to a height of no less than six 

inches, as measured from the coastal 

wetland substrate, once between each 

December 1 and March 31; 

(C) Alteration of the substrate is not 

allowed; 

(D) All cuttings or clippings shall remain 

in place as they fall; 

(E) Coastal wetlands may be mowed or 

cut to a height of no less than six 

inches, as measured from the coastal 

wetland substrate, to create an access 

path four feet wide or less on 

waterfront lots without a pier access; 

and 

(F) Coastal wetlands may be mowed or 

cut by utility companies as necessary 

to maintain utility easements. 

(2) Coastal wetland alteration not meeting the 

exemption criteria of this Rule shall require a 

CAMA permit. CAMA permit applications for 

coastal wetland alterations are subject to review 

by the North Carolina Wildlife Commission, 

North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries, 

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and National 

Marine Fisheries Service in order to determine 

whether or not the proposed activity will have a 

significant adverse impact on the habitat or 

fisheries resources. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(1); 

113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2016; November 1, 2009; August 1, 

1998; October 1, 1993; May 1, 1990; January 24, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

15A NCAC 07H .0206 ESTUARINE WATERS 

(a)  Definition. "Estuarine Waters" are defined in G.S. 113A-

113(b)(2) to include all the waters of the Atlantic Ocean within 

the boundary of North Carolina and all the waters of the bays, 

sounds, rivers and tributaries thereto seaward of the dividing line 

between coastal fishing waters and inland fishing waters. The 

boundaries between inland and coastal fishing waters are set forth 

in an agreement adopted by the Wildlife Resources Commission 

and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources and in 

the most current revision of the North Carolina Marine Fisheries 

Regulations for Coastal Waters, codified at 15A NCAC 3Q .0200. 

(b)  Significance. Estuarine waters are the dominant component 

and bonding element of the entire estuarine and ocean system, 

integrating aquatic influences from both the land and the sea. 

Estuaries are among the most productive natural environments of 

North Carolina. They support the valuable commercial and sports 

fisheries of the coastal area which are comprised of estuarine 

dependent species such as menhaden, flounder, shrimp, crabs, and 

oysters. These species must spend all or some part of their life 

cycle within the estuarine waters to mature and reproduce. Of the 

10 leading species in the commercial catch, all but one are 

dependent on the estuary. 

This high productivity associated with the estuary results from its 

unique circulation patterns caused by tidal energy, fresh water 

flow, and shallow depth; nutrient trapping mechanisms; and 

protection to the many organisms. The circulation of estuarine 

waters transports nutrients, propels plankton, spreads seed stages 

of fish and shellfish, flushes wastes from animal and plant life, 

cleanses the system of pollutants, controls salinity, shifts 

sediments, and mixes the water to create a multitude of habitats. 

Some important features of the estuary include mud and sand 

flats, eel grass beds, salt marshes, submerged vegetation flats, 

clam and oyster beds, and important nursery areas. 

Secondary benefits include the stimulation of the coastal economy 

from the spin off operations required to service commercial and 

sports fisheries, waterfowl hunting, marinas, boatyards, repairs 

and supplies, processing operations, and tourist related industries. 

In addition, there is considerable nonmonetary value associated 

with aesthetics, recreation, and education. 

(c)  Management Objective. To conserve and manage the 

important features of estuarine waters so as to safeguard and 

perpetuate their biological, social, aesthetic, and economic values; 

to coordinate and establish a management system capable of 

conserving and utilizing estuarine waters so as to maximize their 

benefits to man and the estuarine and ocean system. 

(d)  Use Standards. Suitable land and water uses shall be those 

consistent with the management objectives in this Rule. Highest 

priority of use shall be allocated to the conservation of estuarine 

waters and their vital components. Second priority of estuarine 

waters use shall be given to those types of development activities 

that require water access and use which cannot function elsewhere 

such as simple access channels; structures to prevent erosion; 

navigation channels; boat docks, marinas, piers, wharfs, and 

mooring pilings. 

In every instance, the particular location, use, and design 

characteristics shall be in accord with the general use standards 

for coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, and public trust areas 

described in Rule .0208 of this Section. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b)(2); 113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; October 1, 1993; November 1, 

1991; May 1, 1990; October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0207 PUBLIC TRUST AREAS 

(a)  Definition. "Public trust areas" are all waters of the Atlantic 

Ocean and the lands thereunder from the mean high water mark 

to the seaward limit of state jurisdiction; all natural bodies of 

water subject to measurable lunar tides and lands thereunder to 

the normal high water or normal water level; all navigable natural 

bodies of water and lands thereunder to the normal high water or 

normal water level as the case may be, except privately-owned 

lakes to which the public has no right of access; all water in 

artificially created bodies of water containing public fishing 

resources or other public resources which are accessible to the 

public by navigation from bodies of water in which the public has 

rights of navigation; and all waters in artificially created bodies of 

water in which the public has acquired rights by prescription, 

custom, usage, dedication, or any other means. In determining 

whether the public has acquired rights in artificially created 

bodies of water, the following factors shall be considered: 

(1) the use of the body of water by the public; 

(2) the length of time the public has used the area; 

(3) the value of public resources in the body of 

water; 

(4) whether the public resources in the body of 

water are mobile to the extent that they can 

move into natural bodies of water; 

(5) whether the creation of the artificial body of 

water required permission from the state; and 

(6) the value of the body of water to the public for 

navigation from one public area to another 

public area. 

(b)  Significance. The public has rights in these areas, including 

navigation and recreation. In addition, these areas support 

commercial and sports fisheries, have aesthetic value, and are 

important resources for economic development. 

(c)  Management Objective. To protect public rights for 

navigation and recreation and to conserve and manage the public 

trust areas so as to safeguard and perpetuate their biological, 

economic and aesthetic value. 

(d)  Use Standards. Acceptable uses shall be those consistent with 

the management objectives in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. In the 

absence of overriding public benefit, any use which jeopardizes 

the capability of the waters to be used by the public for navigation 

or other public trust rights which the public may be found to have 

in these areas shall not be allowed. The development of 

navigational channels or drainage ditches, the use of bulkheads to 

prevent erosion, and the building of piers, wharfs, or marinas are 

examples of uses that may be acceptable within public trust areas, 

provided that such uses shall not be detrimental to the public trust 

rights and the biological and physical functions of the estuary. 

Projects which would directly or indirectly block or impair 

existing navigation channels, increase shoreline erosion, deposit 

spoils below normal high water, cause adverse water circulation 

patterns, violate water quality standards, or cause degradation of 

shellfish waters are considered incompatible with the 

management policies of public trust areas. In every instance, the 

particular location, use, and design characteristics shall be in 

accord with the general use standards for coastal wetlands, 

estuarine waters, and public trust areas described in Rule .0208 of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b)(5); 113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2006; October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0208 USE STANDARDS 

(a)  General Use Standards 

(1) Uses that are not water dependent shall not be 

permitted in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, 

and public trust areas. Restaurants, residences, 

apartments, motels, hotels, trailer parks, private 

roads, factories, and parking lots are examples 

of uses that are not water dependent. Uses that 

are water dependent include: utility crossings, 

wind energy facilities, docks, wharves, boat 

ramps, dredging, bridges and bridge 

approaches, revetments, bulkheads, culverts, 

groins, navigational aids, mooring pilings, 

navigational channels, access channels and 

drainage ditches; 

(2) Before being granted a permit, the CRC or local 

permitting authority shall find that the applicant 

has complied with the following standards: 

(A) The location, design, and need for 

development, as well as the 

construction activities involved shall 

be consistent with the management 

objective of the Estuarine and Ocean 

System AEC (Rule .0203 of this 

subchapter) and shall be sited and 

designed to avoid significant adverse 

impacts upon the productivity and 

biologic integrity of coastal wetlands, 

shellfish beds, submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by the Marine 

Fisheries Commission, and spawning 

and nursery areas; 

(B) Development shall comply with State 

and federal water and air quality rules, 

statutes and regulations; 

(C) Development shall not cause 

irreversible damage to documented 

archaeological or historic resources as 

identified by the N.C. Department of 

Cultural resources; 

(D) Development shall not increase 

siltation; 

(E) Development shall not create stagnant 

water bodies; 

(F) Development shall be timed to avoid 

significant adverse impacts on life 
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cycles of estuarine and ocean 

resources; and 

(G) Development shall not jeopardize the 

use of the waters for navigation or for 

other public trust rights in public trust 

areas including estuarine waters. 

(3) When the proposed development is in conflict 

with the general or specific use standards set 

forth in this Rule, the CRC may approve the 

development if the applicant can demonstrate 

that the activity associated with the proposed 

project will have public benefits as identified in 

the findings and goals of the Coastal Area 

Management Act, that the public benefits 

outweigh the long range adverse effects of the 

project, that there is no reasonable alternate site 

available for the project, and that all reasonable 

means and measures to mitigate adverse 

impacts of the project have been incorporated 

into the project design and shall be 

implemented at the applicant's expense. 

Measures taken to mitigate or minimize adverse 

impacts shall include actions that: 

(A) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by 

limiting the magnitude or degree of the 

action; 

(B) restore the affected environment; or 

(C) compensate for the adverse impacts by 

replacing or providing substitute 

resources. 

(4) "Primary nursery areas" are defined as those 

areas in the estuarine and ocean system where 

initial post larval development of finfish and 

crustaceans takes place. They are usually 

located in the uppermost sections of a system 

where populations are uniformly early juvenile 

stages. Primary nursery areas are designated 

and described by the N.C. Marine Fisheries 

Commission (MFC) and by the N.C. Wildlife 

Resources Commission (WRC); 

(5) "Outstanding Resource Waters" (ORW) are 

defined as those estuarine waters and public 

trust areas classified by the N.C. Environmental 

Management Commission (EMC). In those 

estuarine waters and public trust areas classified 

as ORW by the EMC no permit required by the 

Coastal Area Management Act shall be 

approved for any project which would be 

inconsistent with applicable use standards 

adopted by the CRC, EMC, or MFC for 

estuarine waters, public trust areas, or coastal 

wetlands. For development activities not 

covered by specific use standards, no permit 

shall be issued if the activity would, based on 

site specific information, degrade the water 

quality or outstanding resource values; and 

(6) Beds of "submerged aquatic vegetation" (SAV) 

are defined as those habitats in public trust and 

estuarine waters vegetated with one or more 

species of submergent vegetation. These 

vegetation beds occur in both subtidal and 

intertidal zones and may occur in isolated 

patches or cover extensive areas. In either case, 

the bed is defined by the Marine Fisheries 

Commission. Any rules relating to SAVs shall 

not apply to non-development control activities 

authorized by the Aquatic Weed Control Act of 

1991 (G.S. 113A-220 et seq.). 

(b)  Specific Use Standards 

(1) Navigation channels, canals, and boat basins 

shall be aligned or located so as to avoid 

primary nursery areas, shellfish beds, beds of 

submerged aquatic vegetation as defined by the 

MFC, or areas of coastal wetlands except as 

otherwise allowed within this Subchapter. 

Navigation channels, canals and boat basins 

shall also comply with the following standards: 

(A) Navigation channels and canals may 

be allowed through fringes of 

regularly and irregularly flooded 

coastal wetlands if the loss of wetlands 

will have no significant adverse 

impacts on fishery resources, water 

quality or adjacent wetlands, and if 

there is no reasonable alternative that 

would avoid the wetland losses; 

(B) All dredged material shall be confined 

landward of regularly and irregularly 

flooded coastal wetlands and 

stabilized to prevent entry of 

sediments into the adjacent water 

bodies or coastal wetlands; 

(C) Dredged material from maintenance of 

channels and canals through 

irregularly flooded wetlands shall be 

placed on non-wetland areas, remnant 

spoil piles, or disposed of by a method 

having no significant, long-term 

wetland impacts. Under no 

circumstances shall dredged material 

be placed on regularly flooded 

wetlands. New dredged material 

disposal areas shall not be located in 

the buffer area as outlined in 15A 

NCAC 07H .0209(d)(10); 

(D) Widths of excavated canals and 

channels shall be the minimum 

required to meet the applicant's needs 

but not impair water circulation; 

(E) Boat basin design shall maximize 

water exchange by having the widest 

possible opening and the shortest 

practical entrance canal. Depths of 

boat basins shall decrease from the 

waterward end inland; 

(F) Any canal or boat basin shall be 

excavated no deeper than the depth of 

the connecting waters; 
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(G) Construction of finger canal systems 

are not allowed. Canals shall be either 

straight or meandering with no right 

angle corners; 

(H) Canals shall be designed so as not to 

create an erosion hazard to adjoining 

property. Design may include 

shoreline stabilization, vegetative 

stabilization, or setbacks based on soil 

characteristics; and 

(I) Maintenance excavation in canals, 

channels and boat basins within 

primary nursery areas and areas of 

submerged aquatic vegetation as 

defined by the MFC shall be avoided. 

However, when essential to maintain a 

traditional and established use, 

maintenance excavation may be 

approved if the applicant meets all of 

the following criteria: 

(i) The applicant demonstrates 

and documents that a 

water-dependent need exists 

for the excavation; 

(ii) There exists a previously 

permitted channel that was 

constructed or maintained 

under permits issued by the 

State or Federal government. 

If a natural channel was in 

use, or if a human-made 

channel was constructed 

before permitting was 

necessary, there shall be 

evidence that the channel was 

continuously used for a 

specific purpose; 

(iii) Excavated material can be 

removed and placed in a 

disposal area in accordance 

with Part (b)(1)(B) of this 

Rule without impacting 

adjacent nursery areas and 

submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by the 

MFC; and 

(iv) The original depth and width 

of a human-made or natural 

channel shall not be 

increased to allow a new or 

expanded use of the channel. 

(2) Hydraulic Dredging 

(A) The terminal end of the dredge 

pipeline shall be positioned at a 

distance sufficient to preclude erosion 

of the containment dike and a 

maximum distance from spillways to 

allow settlement of suspended solids; 

(B) Dredged material shall be either 

confined on high ground by retaining 

structures or deposited on beaches for 

purposes of renourishment if the 

material is suitable in accordance with 

the rules in this Subchapter, except as 

provided in Part (G) of this 

Subparagraph; 

(C) Confinement of excavated materials 

shall be landward of all coastal 

wetlands and shall employ soil 

stabilization measures to prevent entry 

of sediments into the adjacent water 

bodies or coastal wetlands; 

(D) Effluent from diked areas receiving 

disposal from hydraulic dredging 

operations shall be contained by pipe, 

trough, or similar device to a point 

waterward of emergent vegetation or, 

where local conditions require, below 

normal low water or normal water 

level. 

(E) When possible, effluent from diked 

disposal areas shall be returned to the 

area being dredged; 

(F) A water control structure shall be 

installed at the intake end of the 

effluent pipe. 

(G) Publicly funded projects shall be 

considered by review agencies on a 

case-by-case basis with respect to 

dredging methods and dredged 

material disposal in accordance with 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule; and 

(H) Dredged material from closed 

shellfish waters and effluent from 

diked disposal areas used when 

dredging in closed shellfish waters 

shall be returned to the closed shellfish 

waters. 

(3) Drainage Ditches 

(A) Drainage ditches located through any 

coastal wetland shall not exceed six 

feet wide by four feet deep (from 

ground surface) unless the applicant 

shows that larger ditches are 

necessary; 

(B) Dredged material derived from the 

construction or maintenance of 

drainage ditches through regularly 

flooded marsh shall be placed 

landward of these marsh areas in a 

manner that will insure that entry of 

sediment into the water or marsh will 

not occur. Dredged material derived 

from the construction or maintenance 

of drainage ditches through irregularly 

flooded marshes shall be placed on 

non-wetlands wherever feasible. 
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Non-wetland areas include relic 

disposal sites; 

(C) Excavation of new ditches through 

high ground shall take place landward 

of an earthen plug or other methods to 

minimize siltation to adjacent water 

bodies; and 

(D) Drainage ditches shall not have a 

significant adverse impact on primary 

nursery areas, productive shellfish 

beds, submerged aquatic vegetation as 

defined by the MFC, or other estuarine 

habitat. Drainage ditches shall be 

designed so as to minimize the effects 

of freshwater inflows, sediment, and 

the introduction of nutrients to 

receiving waters. Settling basins, 

water gates and retention structures 

are examples of design alternatives 

that may be used to minimize sediment 

introduction. 

(4) Nonagricultural Drainage 

(A) Drainage ditches shall be designed so 

that restrictions in the volume or 

diversions of flow are minimized to 

both surface and ground water; 

(B) Drainage ditches shall provide for the 

passage of migratory organisms by 

allowing free passage of water of 

sufficient depth; and 

(C) Drainage ditches shall not create 

stagnant water pools or changes in the 

velocity of flow. 

(5) Marinas. "Marinas" are defined as any publicly 

or privately owned dock, basin or wet boat 

storage facility constructed to accommodate 

more than 10 boats and providing any of the 

following services: permanent or transient 

docking spaces, dry storage, fueling facilities, 

haulout facilities and repair service. Excluded 

from this definition are boat ramp facilities 

allowing access only, temporary docking and 

none of the preceding services. Expansion of 

existing facilities shall comply with the 

standards of this Subparagraph for all 

development other than maintenance and repair 

necessary to maintain previous service levels. 

Marinas shall comply with the following 

standards: 

(A) Marinas shall be sited in non-wetland 

areas or in deep waters (areas not 

requiring dredging) and shall not 

disturb shellfish resources, submerged 

aquatic vegetation as defined by the 

MFC, or wetland habitats, except for 

dredging necessary for access to 

high-ground sites. The following four 

alternatives for siting marinas are 

listed in order of preference for the 

least damaging alterative; marina 

projects shall be designed to have the 

highest of these four priorities that is 

deemed feasible by the permit letting 

agency: 

(i) an upland basin site requiring 

no alteration of wetland or 

estuarine habitat and 

providing flushing by tidal or 

wind generated water 

circulation or basin design 

characteristics; 

(ii) an upland basin site requiring 

dredging for access when the 

necessary dredging and 

operation of the marina will 

not result in significant 

adverse impacts to existing 

fishery, shellfish, or wetland 

resources and the basin 

design shall provide flushing 

by tidal or wind generated 

water circulation; 

(iii) an open water site located 

outside a primary nursery 

area which utilizes piers or 

docks rather than channels or 

canals to reach deeper water; 

and 

(iv) an open water marina 

requiring excavation of no 

intertidal habitat, and no 

dredging greater than the 

depth of the connecting 

channel. 

(B) Marinas that require dredging shall not 

be located in primary nursery areas nor 

in areas which require dredging 

through primary nursery areas for 

access. Maintenance dredging in 

primary nursery areas for existing 

marinas shall comply with the 

standards set out in Part (b)(1)(I) of 

this Rule; 

(C) To minimize coverage of public trust 

areas by docks and moored vessels, 

dry storage marinas shall be used 

where feasible; 

(D) Marinas to be developed in waters 

subject to public trust rights (other 

than those created by dredging upland 

basins or canals) for the purpose of 

providing docking for residential 

developments shall be allowed no 

more than 27 square feet of public 

trust areas for every one linear foot of 

shoreline adjacent to these public trust 

areas for construction of docks and 

mooring facilities. The 27 square feet 
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allocation does not apply to fairway 

areas between parallel piers or any 

portion of the pier used only for access 

from land to the docking spaces; 

(E) To protect water quality in shellfishing 

areas, marinas shall not be located 

within areas where shellfish 

harvesting for human consumption is 

a significant existing use or adjacent to 

such areas if shellfish harvest closure 

is anticipated to result from the 

location of the marina. In compliance 

with 33 U.S. Code Section 101(a)(2) 

of the Clean Water Act and North 

Carolina Water Quality Standards 

(15A NCAC 02B .0200) adopted 

pursuant to that section, shellfish 

harvesting is a significant existing use 

if it can be established that shellfish 

have been regularly harvested for 

human consumption since November 

28, 1975 or that shellfish are 

propagating and surviving in a 

biologically suitable habitat and are 

available and suitable for harvesting 

for the purpose of human 

consumption. The Division of Coastal 

Management shall consult with the 

Division of Marine Fisheries 

regarding the significance of shellfish 

harvest as an existing use and the 

magnitude of the quantities of 

shellfish that have been harvested or 

are available for harvest in the area 

where harvest will be affected by the 

development; 

(F) Marinas shall not be located without 

written consent from the leaseholders 

or owners of submerged lands that 

have been leased from the state or 

deeded by the State; 

(G) Marina basins shall be designed to 

promote flushing through the 

following design criteria: 

(i) the basin and channel depths 

shall gradually increase 

toward open water and shall 

never be deeper than the 

waters to which they connect; 

and 

(ii) when possible, an opening 

shall be provided at opposite 

ends of the basin to establish 

flow-through circulation; 

(H) Marinas shall be designed so that the 

capability of the waters to be used for 

navigation or for other public trust 

rights in estuarine or public trust 

waters are not jeopardized while 

allowing the applicant access to deep 

waters; 

(I) Marinas shall be located and 

constructed so as to avoid adverse 

impacts on navigation throughout all 

federally maintained channels and 

their boundaries as designated by the 

US Army Corps of Engineers. This 

includes mooring sites (permanent or 

temporary); speed or traffic 

reductions; or any other device, either 

physical or regulatory, that may cause 

a federally maintained channel to be 

restricted; 

(J) Open water marinas shall not be 

enclosed within breakwaters that 

preclude circulation sufficient to 

maintain water quality; 

(K) Marinas that require dredging shall 

provide areas in accordance with Part 

(b)(1)(B) of this Rule to accommodate 

disposal needs for future maintenance 

dredging, including the ability to 

remove the dredged material from the 

marina site; 

(L) Marina design shall comply with all 

applicable EMC requirements (15A 

NCAC 02B .0200) for management of 

stormwater runoff. Stormwater 

management systems shall not be 

located within the 30-foot buffer area 

outlined in 15A NCAC 07H .0209(d); 

(M) Marinas shall post a notice prohibiting 

the discharge of any waste from boat 

toilets and listing the availability of 

local pump-out services; 

(N) Boat maintenance areas shall be 

designed so that all scraping, 

sandblasting, and painting will be 

done over dry land with collection and 

containment devices that prevent entry 

of waste materials into adjacent 

waters; 

(O) All marinas shall comply with all 

applicable standards for docks and 

piers, shoreline stabilization, dredging 

and dredged material disposal of this 

Rule; 

(P) All applications for marinas shall be 

reviewed by the Division of Coastal 

Management to determine their 

potential impact to coastal resources 

and compliance with applicable 

standards of this Rule. Such review 

shall also consider the cumulative 

impacts of marina development in 

accordance with G.S. 113A-

120(a)(10); and 
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(Q) Replacement of existing marinas to 

maintain previous service levels shall 

be allowed provided that the 

development complies with the 

standards for marina development 

within this Section. 

(6) Piers and Docking Facilities. 

(A) Piers shall not exceed six feet in width. 

Piers greater than six feet in width 

shall be permitted only if the greater 

width is necessary for safe use, to 

improve public access, or to support a 

water dependent use that cannot 

otherwise occur; 

(B) The total square footage of shaded 

impact for docks and mooring 

facilities (excluding the pier) allowed 

shall be eight square feet per linear 

foot of shoreline with a maximum of 

2,000 square feet. In calculating the 

shaded impact, uncovered open water 

slips shall not be counted in the total. 

Projects requiring dimensions greater 

than those stated in this Rule shall be 

permitted only if the greater 

dimensions are necessary for safe use, 

to improve public access, or to support 

a water dependent use that cannot 

otherwise occur. Size restrictions shall 

not apply to marinas; 

(C) Piers and docking facilities over 

coastal wetlands shall be no wider than 

six feet and shall be elevated at least 

three feet above any coastal wetland 

substrate as measured from the bottom 

of the decking; 

(D) A boathouse shall not exceed 400 

square feet except to accommodate a 

documented need for a larger 

boathouse and shall have sides 

extending no farther than one-half the 

height of the walls and covering only 

the top half of the walls. 

Measurements of square footage shall 

be taken of the greatest exterior 

dimensions. Boathouses shall not be 

allowed on lots with less than 75 linear 

feet of shoreline. Size restrictions do 

not apply to marinas; 

(E) The total area enclosed by an 

individual boat lift shall not exceed 

400 square feet except to 

accommodate a documented need for 

a larger boat lift; 

(F) Piers and docking facilities shall be 

single story. They may be roofed but 

shall not be designed to allow second 

story use; 

(G) Pier and docking facility length shall 

be limited by: 

(i) not extending beyond the 

established pier or docking 

facility length along the same 

shoreline for similar use. 

This restriction does not 

apply to piers 100 feet or less 

in length unless necessary to 

avoid unreasonable 

interference with navigation 

or other uses of the waters by 

the public; 

(ii) not extending into the 

channel portion of the water 

body; and 

(iii) not extending more than one-

fourth the width of a natural 

water body, or human-made 

canal or basin. Measurements 

to determine widths of the 

water body, canals or basins 

shall be made from the 

waterward edge of any 

coastal wetland vegetation 

that borders the water body. 

The one-fourth length 

limitation does not apply in 

areas where the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers, or a local 

government in consultation 

with the Corps of Engineers, 

has established an official 

pier-head line. The one-

fourth length limitation shall 

not apply when the proposed 

pier is located between 

longer piers or docking 

facilities within 200 feet of 

the applicant's property. 

However, the proposed pier 

or docking facility shall not 

be longer than the pier head 

line established by the 

adjacent piers or docking 

facilities, nor longer than 

one-third the width of the 

water body. 

(H) Piers or docking facilities longer than 

400 feet shall be permitted only if the 

proposed length gives access to deeper 

water at a rate of at least 1 foot each 

100 foot increment of length longer 

than 400 feet, or, if the additional 

length is necessary to span some 

obstruction to navigation. 

Measurements to determine lengths 

shall be made from the waterward 
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edge of any coastal wetland vegetation 

that borders the water body; 

(I) Piers and docking facilities shall not 

interfere with the access to any 

riparian property and shall have a 

minimum setback of 15 feet between 

any part of the pier or docking facility 

and the adjacent property owner's 

areas of riparian access. The line of 

division of areas of riparian access 

shall be established by drawing a line 

along the channel or deep water in 

front of the properties, then drawing a 

line perpendicular to the line of the 

channel so that it intersects with the 

shore at the point the upland property 

line meets the water's edge. The 

minimum setback provided in the rule 

may be waived by the written 

agreement of the adjacent riparian 

owner(s) or when two adjoining 

riparian owners are co-applicants. If 

the adjacent property is sold before 

construction of the pier or docking 

facility commences, the applicant 

shall obtain a written agreement with 

the new owner waiving the minimum 

setback and submit it to the permitting 

agency prior to initiating any 

development of the pier. Application 

of this Rule may be aided by reference 

to the approved diagram in 15A 

NCAC 07H .1205(t) illustrating the 

rule as applied to various shoreline 

configurations. Copies of the diagram 

may be obtained from the Division of 

Coastal Management. When shoreline 

configuration is such that a 

perpendicular alignment cannot be 

achieved, the pier shall be aligned to 

meet the intent of this Rule to the 

maximum extent practicable as 

determined by the Director of the 

Division of Coastal Management; and 

(J) Applicants for authorization to 

construct a pier or docking facility 

shall provide notice of the permit 

application to the owner of any part of 

a shellfish franchise or lease over 

which the proposed dock or pier would 

extend. The applicant shall allow the 

lease holder the opportunity to mark a 

navigation route from the pier to the 

edge of the lease. 

(7) Bulkheads 

(A) Bulkhead alignment, for the purpose 

of shoreline stabilization, shall 

approximate the location of normal 

high water or normal water level; 

(B) Bulkheads shall be constructed 

landward of coastal wetlands in order 

to avoid significant adverse impacts to 

the resources; 

(C) Bulkhead backfill material shall be 

obtained from an upland source 

approved by the Division of Coastal 

Management pursuant to this Section, 

or if the bulkhead is a part of a 

permitted project involving 

excavation from a non-upland source, 

the material so obtained may be 

contained behind the bulkhead; 

(D) Bulkheads shall be permitted below 

normal high water or normal water 

level only when the following 

standards are met: 

(i) the property to be bulkheaded 

has an identifiable erosion 

problem, whether it results 

from natural causes or 

adjacent bulkheads, or it has 

unusual geographic or 

geologic features, e.g. steep 

grade bank, which will cause 

the applicant unreasonable 

hardship under the other pro-

visions of this Rule; 

(ii) the bulkhead alignment 

extends no further below 

normal high water or normal 

water level than necessary to 

allow recovery of the area 

eroded in the year prior to the 

date of application, to align 

with adjacent bulkheads, or 

to mitigate the unreasonable 

hardship resulting from the 

unusual geographic or 

geologic features; 

(iii) the bulkhead alignment will 

not adversely impact public 

trust rights or the property of 

adjacent riparian owners; 

(iv) the need for a bulkhead 

below normal high water or 

normal water level is do-

cumented by the Division of 

Coastal Management; and 

(v) the property to be bulkheaded 

is in a non-oceanfront area. 

(E) Where possible, sloping rip-rap, 

gabions, or vegetation shall be used 

rather than bulkheads. 

(8) Beach Nourishment 

(A) Beach creation or maintenance may be 

allowed to enhance water related 

recreational facilities for public, 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 3, 2020 

222 

commercial, and private use consistent 

with the following: 

(i) Beaches may be created or 

maintained in areas where 

they have historically been 

found due to natural 

processes; 

(ii) Material placed in the water 

and along the shoreline shall 

be clean sand and free from 

pollutants. Grain size shall be 

equal to that found naturally 

at the site; 

(iii) Beach creation shall not be 

allowed in primary nursery 

areas, nor in any areas where 

siltation from the site would 

pose a threat to shellfish 

beds; 

(iv) Material shall not be placed 

on any coastal wetlands or 

submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by 

MFC; 

(v) Material shall not be placed 

on any submerged bottom 

with significant shellfish 

resources as identified by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries 

during the permit review; and 

(vi) Beach construction shall not 

create the potential for filling 

adjacent navigation channels, 

canals or boat basins. 

(B) Placing unconfined sand material in 

the water and along the shoreline shall 

not be allowed as a method of 

shoreline erosion control; 

(C) Material from dredging projects may 

be used for beach nourishment if: 

(i) it is first handled in a manner 

consistent with dredged 

material disposal as set forth 

in this Rule; 

(ii) it is allowed to dry prior to 

being placed on the beach; 

and 

(iii) only that material of 

acceptable grain size as set 

forth in Subpart (b)(8)(A)(ii) 

of this Rule is removed from 

the disposal site for 

placement on the beach. 

Material shall not be placed 

directly on the beach by 

dredge or dragline during 

maintenance excavation. 

(D) Beach construction shall comply with 

State and federal water quality 

standards; 

(E) The renewal of permits for beach 

nourishment projects shall require an 

evaluation by the Division of Coastal 

Management of any adverse impacts 

of the original work; and 

(F) Permits issued for beach nourishment 

shall be limited to authorizing beach 

nourishment only one time. 

(9) Groins 

(A) Groins shall not extend more than 25 

feet waterward of the normal high 

water or normal water level unless a 

longer structure is justified by site 

specific conditions and by an 

individual who meets any North 

Carolina occupational licensing 

requirements for the type of structure 

being proposed and approved during 

the application process; 

(B) Groins shall be set back a minimum of 

15 feet from the adjoining riparian 

lines. The setback for rock groins shall 

be measured from the toe of the 

structure. This setback may be waived 

by written agreement of the adjacent 

riparian owner(s) or when two 

adjoining riparian owners are 

co-applicants. Should the adjacent 

property be sold before construction of 

the groin commences, the applicant 

shall obtain a written agreement with 

the new owner waiving the minimum 

setback and submit it to the permitting 

agency prior to initiating any 

development of the groin; 

(C) Groins shall pose no threat to 

navigation; 

(D) The height of groins shall not exceed 

one foot above normal high water or 

normal water level; 

(E) No more than two structures shall be 

allowed per 100 feet of shoreline 

unless the applicant provides evidence 

that more structures are needed for 

shoreline stabilization. 

(F) "L" and "T" sections shall not be 

allowed at the end of groins; and 

(G) Riprap material used for groin 

construction shall be free from loose 

dirt or any other pollutant and of a size 

sufficient to prevent its movement 

from the site by wave and current 

action. 

(10) "Freestanding Moorings". 

(A) A "freestanding mooring" is any 

means to attach a ship, boat, vessel, 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 3, 2020 

223 

floating structure or other water craft 

to a stationary underwater device, 

mooring buoy, buoyed anchor, or 

piling as long as the piling is not 

associated with an existing or 

proposed pier, dock, or boathouse; 

(B) Freestanding moorings shall be 

permitted only: 

(i) to riparian property owners 

within their riparian 

corridors; or 

(ii) to any applicant proposing to 

locate a mooring buoy 

consistent with a water use 

plan that is included in either 

the local zoning or land use 

plan. 

(C) All mooring fields shall provide an 

area for access to any mooring(s) and 

other land based operations that shall 

include wastewater pumpout, trash 

disposal and vehicle parking; 

(D) To protect water quality of 

shellfishing areas, mooring fields shall 

not be located within areas where 

shellfish harvesting for human 

consumption is a significant existing 

use or adjacent to such areas if 

shellfish harvest closure is anticipated 

to result from the location of the 

mooring field. In compliance with 

Section 101(a)(2) of the Federal Water 

Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 

(a)(2), and North Carolina Water 

Quality Standards adopted pursuant to 

that section, shellfish harvesting is a 

significant existing use if it can be 

established that shellfish have been 

regularly harvested for human 

consumption since November 28, 

1975 or that shellfish are propagating 

and surviving in a biologically suitable 

habitat and are available and suitable 

for harvesting for the purpose of 

human consumption. The Division of 

Marine Fisheries shall be consulted 

regarding the significance of shellfish 

harvest as an existing use and the 

magnitude of the quantities of 

shellfish that have been harvested or 

are available for harvest in the area 

where harvest will be affected by the 

development; 

(E) Moorings shall not be located without 

written consent from the leaseholders 

or owners of submerged lands that 

have been leased from the state or 

deeded by the State; 

(F) Moorings shall be located and 

constructed so as to avoid adverse 

impacts on navigation throughout all 

federally maintained channels. This 

includes mooring sites (permanent or 

temporary), speed or traffic 

reductions, or any other device, either 

physical or regulatory, which may 

cause a federally maintained channel 

to be restricted; 

(G) Open water moorings shall not be 

enclosed within breakwaters that 

preclude circulation and degrade water 

quality in violation of EMC standards; 

(H) Moorings and the associated land 

based operation design shall comply 

with all applicable EMC requirements 

for management of stormwater runoff; 

(I) Mooring fields shall have posted in 

view of patrons a notice prohibiting 

the discharge of any waste from boat 

toilets or any other discharge and 

listing the availability of local pump-

out services and waste disposal; 

(J) Freestanding moorings associated 

with commercial shipping, public 

service or temporary construction or 

salvage operations may be permitted 

without a public sponsor; 

(K) Freestanding mooring buoys and piles 

shall be evaluated based upon the arc 

of the swing including the length of 

the vessel to be moored. Moorings and 

the attached vessel shall not interfere 

with the access of any riparian owner 

nor shall it block riparian access to 

channels or deep water, which allows 

riparian access. Freestanding 

moorings shall not interfere with the 

ability of any riparian owner to place a 

pier for access; 

(L) Freestanding moorings shall not be 

established in submerged cable or pipe 

crossing areas or in a manner that 

interferes with the operations of an 

access through any bridge; 

(M) Freestanding moorings shall be 

marked or colored in compliance with 

U.S. Coast Guard and the WRC 

requirements and the required marking 

maintained for the life of the 

mooring(s); and 

(N) The type of material used to create a 

mooring must be free of pollutants and 

of a design and type of material so as 

to not present a hazard to navigation or 

public safety. 

(11) Filling of Canals, Basins and Ditches - 

Notwithstanding the general use standards for 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 3, 2020 

224 

estuarine systems as set out in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, filling canals, basins and ditches shall 

be allowed if all of the following conditions are 

met: 

(A) the area to be filled was not created by 

excavating lands which were below 

the normal high water or normal water 

level; 

(B) if the area was created from wetlands, 

the elevation of the proposed filling 

does not exceed the elevation of said 

wetlands so that wetland function will 

be restored; 

(C) the filling will not adversely impact 

any designated primary nursery area, 

shellfish bed, submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by the MFC, 

coastal wetlands, public trust right or 

public trust usage; and 

(D) the filling will not adversely affect the 

value and enjoyment of property of 

any riparian owner. 

(12) "Submerged Lands Mining" 

(A) Development Standards. Mining of 

submerged lands shall meet all the 

following standards: 

(i) The biological productivity 

and biological significance of 

mine sites, or borrow sites 

used for sediment extraction, 

shall be evaluated for 

significant adverse impacts 

and a protection strategy for 

these natural functions and 

values provided with the 

State approval request or 

permit application; 

(ii) Natural reefs, coral outcrops, 

artificial reefs, seaweed 

communities, and significant 

benthic communities 

identified by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the WRC 

shall be avoided; 

(iii) Mining shall avoid 

significant archaeological 

resources as defined in Rule 

.0509 of this Subchapter; 

shipwrecks identified by the 

Department of Cultural 

Resources; and unique 

geological features that 

require protection from 

uncontrolled or incompatible 

development as identified by 

the Division of Energy, 

Mineral, and Land Resources 

pursuant to G.S. 113A-

113(b)(4)(g); 

(iv) Mining activities shall not be 

conducted on or within 500 

meters of significant 

biological communities 

identified by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the 

WRC, such as high relief 

hard bottom areas. "High 

relief" is defined for this Part 

as relief greater than or equal 

to one-half meter per five 

meters of horizontal distance; 

(v) Mining activities shall be 

timed to minimize impacts on 

the life cycles of estuarine or 

ocean resources; and 

(vi) Mining activities shall not 

affect potable groundwater 

supplies, wildlife, 

freshwater, estuarine, or 

marine fisheries. 

(B) Permit Conditions. Permits for 

submerged lands mining may be 

conditioned on the applicant 

amending the mining proposal to 

include measures necessary to ensure 

compliance with the provisions of the 

Mining Act and the rules for 

development set out in this 

Subchapter. Permit conditions shall 

also include: 

(i) Monitoring by the applicant 

to ensure compliance with all 

applicable development 

standards; and 

(ii) A determination of the 

necessity and feasibility of 

restoration shall be made by 

the Division of Coastal 

Management as part of the 

permit or consistency review 

process. Restoration shall be 

necessary where it will 

facilitate recovery of the pre-

development ecosystem. 

Restoration shall be 

considered feasible unless, 

after consideration of all 

practicable restoration 

alternatives, the Division of 

Coastal Management 

determines that the adverse 

effects of restoration 

outweigh the benefits of the 

restoration on estuarine or 

ocean resources. If 

restoration is determined to 

be necessary and feasible, 

then the applicant shall 
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submit a restoration plan to 

the Division of Coastal 

Management prior to the 

issuance of the permit. 

(C) Dredging activities for the purposes of 

mining natural resources shall be 

consistent with the development 

standards set out in this Rule; 

(D) Mitigation. Where mining cannot be 

conducted consistent with the 

development standards set out in this 

Rule, the applicant may request 

mitigation approval under 15A NCAC 

07M .0700; and 

(E) Public Benefits Exception. Projects 

that conflict with the standards in this 

Subparagraph, but provide a public 

benefit, may be approved pursuant to 

the standards set out in Subparagraph 

(a)(3) of this Rule. 

(13) "Wind Energy Facilities" 

(A) An applicant for the development and 

operation of a wind energy facility 

shall provide: 

(i) an evaluation of the proposed 

noise impacts of the turbines 

to be associated with the 

proposed facility; 

(ii) an evaluation of shadow 

flicker impacts for the 

turbines to be associated with 

the proposed facility; 

(iii) an evaluation of avian and 

bat impacts of the proposed 

facility; 

(iv) an evaluation of viewshed 

impacts of the proposed 

facility; 

(v) an evaluation of potential 

user conflicts associated with 

development in the proposed 

project area; and 

(vi) a plan regarding the action to 

be taken upon 

decommissioning and 

removal of the wind energy 

facility. The plan shall 

include estimates of 

monetary costs, time frame 

of removal and the proposed 

site condition after 

decommissioning. 

(B) Development Standards. 

Development of wind energy facilities 

shall meet the following standards in 

addition to adhering to the 

requirements outlined in Part 

(a)(13)(A) of this Rule: 

(i) Natural reefs, coral outcrops, 

artificial reefs, seaweed 

communities, and significant 

benthic communities 

identified by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the WRC 

shall be avoided; 

(ii) Development shall not be 

sited on or within 500 meters 

of significant biological 

communities identified by 

the Division of Marine 

Fisheries or the WRC, such 

as high relief hard bottom 

areas. High relief is defined 

for this standard as relief 

greater than or equal to one-

half meter per five meters of 

horizontal distance; 

(iii) Development shall not cause 

irreversible damage to 

documented archeological 

resources including 

shipwrecks identified by the 

Department of Cultural 

Resources and unique 

geological features that 

require protection from 

uncontrolled or incompatible 

development as identified by 

the Division of Energy, 

Mineral, and Land Resources 

pursuant to G.S. 113A-

113(b)(4)(g); 

(iv) Development activities shall 

be timed to avoid significant 

adverse impacts on the life 

cycles of estuarine or ocean 

resources, or wildlife; 

(v) Development or operation of 

a wind energy facility shall 

not jeopardize the use of the 

surrounding waters for 

navigation or for other public 

trust rights in public trust 

areas or estuarine waters; and 

(vi) Development or operation of 

a wind energy facility shall 

not interfere with air 

navigation routes, air traffic 

control areas, military 

training routes or special use 

airspace and shall comply 

with standards adopted by the 

Federal Aviation 

Administration and codified 

under 14 CFR Part 77.13. 

(C) Permit Conditions. Permits for wind 

energy facilities may be conditioned 
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on the applicant amending the 

proposal to include measures 

necessary to ensure compliance with 

the standards for development set out 

in this Rule. Permit conditions may 

include monitoring to ensure 

compliance with all applicable 

development standards; and 

(D) Public Benefits Exception. Projects 

that conflict with these standards, but 

provide a public benefit, may be 

approved pursuant to the standards set 

out in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(b); 113A-108; 

113A-113(b); 113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; April 1, 1993; February 1, 1993; 

November 30, 1992; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. March 21, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012(see S.L. 2012-143, s.1.(f)); 

February 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; 

June 1, 2010; August 1, 1998; May 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0209 COASTAL SHORELINES 

(a)  Description. The Coastal Shorelines category includes 

estuarine shorelines and public trust shorelines. 

(1) Estuarine shorelines AEC are those non-ocean 

shorelines extending from the normal high 

water level or normal water level along the 

estuarine waters, estuaries, sounds, bays, fresh 

and brackish waters, and public trust areas as 

set forth in an agreement adopted by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission and the 

Department of Environmental Quality 

[described in Rule .0206(a) of this Section] for 

a distance of 75 feet landward. For those 

estuarine shorelines immediately contiguous to 

waters classified as Outstanding Resource 

Waters (ORW) by the Environmental 

Management Commission (EMC), the 

estuarine shoreline AEC shall extend to 575 

feet landward from the normal high water level 

or normal water level, unless the Coastal 

Resources Commission establishes the 

boundary at a greater or lesser extent following 

required public hearing(s) within the affected 

county or counties. 

(2) Public trust shorelines AEC are those non-

ocean shorelines immediately contiguous to 

public trust areas, as defined in Rule 07H 

.0207(a) of this Section, located inland of the 

dividing line between coastal fishing waters and 

inland fishing waters as set forth in that 

agreement and extending 30 feet landward of 

the normal high water level or normal water 

level. 

(b)  Significance. Development within coastal shorelines 

influences the quality of estuarine and ocean life and is subject to 

the damaging processes of shore front erosion and flooding. The 

coastal shorelines and wetlands contained within them serve as 

barriers against flood damage and control erosion between the 

estuary and the uplands. Coastal shorelines are the intersection of 

the upland and aquatic elements of the estuarine and ocean 

system, often integrating influences from both the land and the sea 

in wetland areas. Some of these wetlands are among the most 

productive natural environments of North Carolina and they 

support the functions of and habitat for many valuable 

commercial and sport fisheries of the coastal area. Many land-

based activities influence the quality and productivity of estuarine 

waters. Some important features of the coastal shoreline include 

wetlands, flood plains, bluff shorelines, mud and sand flats, 

forested shorelines and other important habitat areas for fish and 

wildlife. 

(c)  Management Objective. All shoreline development shall be 

compatible with the dynamic nature of coastal shorelines as well 

as the values and the management objectives of the estuarine and 

ocean system. Other objectives are to conserve and manage the 

important natural features of the estuarine and ocean system so as 

to safeguard and perpetuate their biological, social, aesthetic, and 

economic values; to coordinate and establish a management 

system capable of conserving and utilizing these shorelines so as 

to maximize their benefits to the estuarine and ocean system and 

the people of North Carolina. 

(d)  Use Standards. Acceptable uses shall be those consistent with 

the management objectives in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. These 

uses shall be limited to those types of development activities that 

will not be detrimental to the public trust rights and the biological 

and physical functions of the estuarine and ocean system. Every 

effort shall be made by the permit applicant to avoid or minimize 

adverse impacts of development to estuarine and coastal systems 

through the planning and design of the development project. 

Development shall comply with the following standards: 

(1) All development projects, proposals, and 

designs shall preserve natural barriers to 

erosion, including peat marshland, resistant 

clay shorelines, and cypress-gum protective 

fringe areas adjacent to vulnerable shorelines. 

(2) All development projects, proposals, and 

designs shall limit the construction of 

impervious surfaces and areas not allowing 

natural drainage to only so much as is necessary 

to service the primary purpose or use for which 

the lot is to be developed. Impervious surfaces 

shall not exceed 30 percent of the AEC area of 

the lot, unless the applicant can demonstrate, 

through innovative design, that the protection 

provided by the design would be equal to or 

exceed the protection by the 30 percent 

limitation. Redevelopment of areas exceeding 

the 30 percent impervious surface limitation 

shall be permitted if impervious areas are not 

increased and the applicant designs the project 

to comply with the rule to the maximum extent 

feasible. 
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(3) All development projects, proposals, and 

designs shall comply with the following 

mandatory standards of the North Carolina 

Sedimentation Pollution Control Act of 1973: 

(A) All development projects, proposals, 

and designs shall provide for a buffer 

zone along the margin of the estuarine 

water that is sufficient to confine 

visible siltation within 25 percent of 

the buffer zone nearest the land 

disturbing development. 

(B) No development project proposal or 

design shall propose an angle for 

graded slopes or fill that is greater than 

an angle that can be retained by 

vegetative cover or other 

erosion-control devices or structures. 

(C) All development projects, proposals, 

and designs that involve uncovering 

more than one acre of land shall plant 

a ground cover sufficient to restrain 

erosion within 30 working days of 

completion of the grading; unless the 

project involves clearing land for the 

purpose of forming a reservoir later to 

be inundated. 

(4) Development shall not have a significant 

adverse impact on estuarine and ocean 

resources. Significant adverse impacts include 

development that would directly or indirectly 

impair water quality increase shoreline erosion, 

alter coastal wetlands or Submerged Aquatic 

Vegetation (SAV), deposit spoils waterward of 

normal water level or normal high water, or 

cause degradation of shellfish beds. 

(5) Development shall not interfere with existing 

public rights of access to, or use of, navigable 

waters or public resources. 

(6) No public facility shall be permitted if such a 

facility is likely to require public expenditures 

for maintenance and continued use, unless it 

can be shown that the public purpose served by 

the facility outweighs the required public 

expenditures for construction, maintenance, 

and continued use. 

(7) Development shall not cause irreversible 

damage to valuable, historic architectural or 

archaeological resources as documented by the 

local historic commission or the North Carolina 

Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. 

(8) Established common-law and statutory public 

rights of access to the public trust lands and 

waters in estuarine areas shall not be eliminated 

or restricted. Development shall not encroach 

upon public accessways nor shall it limit the use 

of the accessways. 

(9) Within the AECs for shorelines contiguous to 

waters classified as ORW by the EMC, no 

CAMA permit shall be approved for any project 

that would be inconsistent with rules adopted 

by the CRC, EMC or MFC for estuarine waters, 

public trust areas, or coastal wetlands. For 

development activities not covered by specific 

use standards, no permit shall be issued if the 

activity would, based on site-specific 

information, degrade the water quality or 

outstanding resource values. 

(10) Within the Coastal Shorelines category 

(estuarine and public trust shoreline AECs), 

new development shall be located a distance of 

30 feet landward of the normal water level or 

normal high water level, with the exception of 

the following: 

(A) Water-dependent uses as described in 

Rule 07H .0208(a)(1) of this Section; 

(B) Pile-supported signs (in accordance 

with local regulations); 

(C) Post- or pile-supported fences; 

(D) Elevated, slatted, wooden boardwalks 

exclusively for pedestrian use and six 

feet in width or less. The boardwalk 

may be greater than six feet in width if 

it is to serve a public use or need; 

(E) Crab Shedders, if uncovered with 

elevated trays and no associated 

impervious surfaces except those 

necessary to protect the pump; 

(F) Decks/Observation Decks limited to 

slatted, wooden, elevated and 

unroofed decks that shall not 

singularly or collectively exceed 200 

square feet; 

(G) Grading, excavation and landscaping 

with no wetland fill except when 

required by a permitted shoreline 

stabilization project. Projects shall not 

increase stormwater runoff to adjacent 

estuarine and public trust waters; 

(H) Development over existing 

impervious surfaces, provided that the 

existing impervious surface is not 

increased; 

(I) Where application of the buffer 

requirement would preclude 

placement of a residential structure 

with a footprint of 1,200 square feet or 

less on lots, parcels and tracts platted 

prior to June 1, 1999, development 

shall be permitted within the buffer as 

required in Subparagraph (d)(10) of 

this Rule, providing the following 

criteria are met: 

(i) Development shall minimize 

the impacts to the buffer and 

reduce runoff by limiting 

land disturbance to only so 

much as is necessary to 

construct and provide access 
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to the residence and to allow 

installation or connection of 

utilities, such as water and 

sewer; and 

(ii) The residential structure 

development shall be located 

a distance landward of the 

normal high water or normal 

water level equal to 20 

percent of the greatest depth 

of the lot. Existing structures 

that encroach into the 

applicable buffer area may be 

replaced or repaired 

consistent with the criteria set 

out in 15A NCAC 07J .0201 

and .0211; and 

(J) Where application of the buffer 

requirement set out in Subparagraph 

(d)(10) of this Rule would preclude 

placement of a residential structure on 

an undeveloped lot platted prior to 

June 1, 1999 that are 5,000 square feet 

or less that does not require an on-site 

septic system, or on an undeveloped 

lot that is 7,500 square feet or less that 

requires an on-site septic system, 

development shall be permitted within 

the buffer if all the following criteria 

are met: 

(i) The lot on which the 

proposed residential 

structure is to be located, is 

located between: 

(I) Two existing 

waterfront 

residential 

structures, both of 

which are within 

100 feet of the 

center of the lot and 

at least one of which 

encroaches into the 

buffer; or 

(II) An existing 

waterfront 

residential structure 

that encroaches into 

the buffer and a 

road, canal, or other 

open body of water, 

both of which are 

within 100 feet of 

the center of the lot; 

(ii) Development of the lot shall 

minimize the impacts to the 

buffer and reduce runoff by 

limiting land disturbance to 

only so much as is necessary 

to construct and provide 

access to the residence and to 

allow installation or 

connection of utilities; 

(iii) Placement of the residential 

structure and pervious 

decking shall be aligned no 

further into the buffer than 

the existing residential 

structures and existing 

pervious decking on 

adjoining lots; 

(iv) The first one and one-half 

inches of rainfall from all 

impervious surfaces on the 

lot shall be collected and 

contained on-site in 

accordance with the design 

standards for stormwater 

management for coastal 

counties as specified in 15A 

NCAC 02H .1005. The 

stormwater management 

system shall be designed by 

an individual who meets 

applicable State occupational 

licensing requirements for 

the type of system proposed 

and approved during the 

permit application process. If 

the residential structure 

encroaches into the buffer, 

then no other impervious 

surfaces shall be allowed 

within the buffer; and 

(v) The lots shall not be adjacent 

to waters designated as 

approved or conditionally 

approved shellfish waters by 

the Shellfish Sanitation 

Section of the Division of 

Marine Fisheries of the 

Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

(e)  The buffer requirements in Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall 

not apply to Coastal Shorelines where the EMC has adopted rules 

that contain buffer standards. 

(f)  Specific Use Standards for ORW Coastal Shorelines. 

(1) Within the AEC for estuarine and public trust 

shorelines contiguous to waters classified as 

ORW by the EMC, all development projects, 

proposals, and designs shall limit the built upon 

area in the AEC to no more than 25 percent or 

any lower site specific percentage as adopted by 

the EMC as necessary to protect the exceptional 

water quality and outstanding resource values 

of the ORW, and shall: 
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(A) provide a buffer zone of at least 30 feet 

from the normal high water line or 

normal water line; and 

(B) otherwise be consistent with the use 

standards set out in Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

(2) Single-family residential lots that would not be 

buildable under the low-density standards 

defined in Subparagraph (f)(1) of this Rule may 

be developed for single-family residential 

purposes so long as the development complies 

with those standards to the maximum extent 

possible. 

(g)  Urban Waterfronts. 

(1) Definition. Urban Waterfronts are waterfront 

areas, not adjacent to ORW, in the Coastal 

Shorelines category that lie within the corporate 

limits of any municipality duly chartered within 

the 20 coastal counties of the state. In 

determining whether an area is an urban 

waterfront, the following criteria shall be met: 

(A) the area lies wholly within the 

corporate limits of a municipality; and 

(B) the area has a central business district 

or similar commercial zoning 

classification where there are mixed 

land uses, and urban level services, 

such as water, sewer, streets, solid 

waste management, roads, police and 

fire protection, or in an area with an 

industrial or similar zoning 

classification adjacent to a central 

business district. 

(2) Significance. Urban waterfronts are recognized 

as having cultural, historical and economic 

significance for many coastal municipalities. 

Maritime traditions and longstanding 

development patterns make these areas suitable 

for maintaining or promoting dense 

development along the shore. With proper 

planning and stormwater management, these 

areas may continue to preserve local historical 

and aesthetic values while enhancing the 

economy. 

(3) Management Objectives. To provide for the 

continued cultural, historical, aesthetic and 

economic benefits of urban waterfronts. 

Activities such as in-fill development, reuse 

and redevelopment facilitate efficient use of 

already urbanized areas and reduce 

development pressure on surrounding areas, in 

an effort to minimize the adverse cumulative 

environmental effects on estuarine and ocean 

systems. While recognizing that opportunities 

to preserve buffers are limited in highly 

developed urban areas, they are encouraged 

where practical. 

(4) Use Standards: 

(A) The buffer requirement pursuant to 

Subparagraph (d)(10) of this Rule 

shall not apply to development within 

Urban Waterfronts that meets the 

following standards: 

(i) The development shall be 

consistent with the locally 

adopted land use plan; 

(ii) Impervious surfaces shall not 

exceed 30 percent of the 

AEC area of the lot. 

Impervious surfaces may 

exceed 30 percent if the 

applicant can demonstrate, 

through a stormwater 

management system design, 

that the protection provided 

by the design would be equal 

to or exceed the protection by 

the 30 percent limitation. The 

stormwater management 

system shall be designed by 

an individual who meets any 

North Carolina occupational 

licensing requirements for 

the type of system proposed 

and approved during the 

permit application process. 

Redevelopment of areas 

exceeding the 30 percent 

impervious surface limitation 

shall be permitted if 

impervious areas are not 

increased and the applicant 

designs the project to comply 

with the intent of the rule to 

the maximum extent feasible; 

and 

(iii) The development shall meet 

all state stormwater 

management requirements as 

required by the EMC; 

(B) Non-water dependent uses over 

estuarine waters, public trust waters 

and coastal wetlands shall be allowed 

only within Urban Waterfronts as set 

out below. 

(i) Existing structures over 

coastal wetlands, estuarine 

waters or public trust areas 

may be used for commercial 

non-water dependent 

purposes. Commercial, non-

water dependent uses shall be 

limited to restaurants and 

retail services. Residential 

uses, lodging and new 

parking areas shall be 

prohibited. 
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(ii) For the purposes of this Rule, 

existing enclosed structures 

may be replaced or expanded 

vertically provided that 

vertical expansion does not 

exceed the original footprint 

of the structure, is limited to 

one additional story over the 

life of the structure, and is 

consistent with local 

requirements or limitations. 

(iii) New structures built for non-

water dependent purposes are 

limited to pile-supported, 

single-story, unenclosed 

decks and boardwalks, and 

shall meet the following 

criteria: 

(I) shall provide for 

enhanced public 

access to the 

shoreline; 

(II) may be roofed, but 

shall not be 

enclosed by 

partitions, plastic 

sheeting, screening, 

netting, lattice or 

solid walls of any 

kind; 

(III) shall require no 

filling of coastal 

wetlands, estuarine 

waters or public 

trust areas; 

(IV) shall not extend 

more than 20 feet 

waterward of the 

normal high water 

level or normal 

water level; 

(V) shall be elevated at 

least three feet over 

the wetland 

substrate as 

measured from the 

bottom of the 

decking; 

(VI) shall have no more 

than six feet of any 

dimension 

extending over 

coastal wetlands; 

(VII) shall not interfere 

with access to any 

riparian property 

and shall have a 

minimum setback of 

15 feet between any 

part of the structure 

and the adjacent 

property owners' 

areas of riparian 

access. The line of 

division of areas of 

riparian access shall 

be established by 

drawing a line along 

the channel or deep 

water in front of the 

properties, then 

drawing a line 

perpendicular to the 

line of the channel 

so that it intersects 

with the shore at the 

point the upland 

property line meets 

the water's edge. 

The minimum 

setback provided in 

the rule may be 

waived by the 

written agreement 

of the adjacent 

riparian owner(s) or 

when two adjoining 

riparian owners are 

co-applicants. 

Should the adjacent 

property be sold 

before construction 

of the structure 

commences, the 

applicant shall 

obtain a written 

agreement with the 

new owner waiving 

the minimum 

setback and submit 

it to the permitting 

agency prior to 

initiating any 

development; 

(VIII) shall be consistent 

with the US Army 

Corps of Engineers 

setbacks along 

federally authorized 

waterways; 

(IX) shall have no 

significant adverse 

impacts on fishery 

resources, water 

quality or adjacent 

wetlands and there 

shall be no 

alternative that 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 3, 2020 

231 

would avoid 

wetlands. 

Significant adverse 

impacts include the 

development that 

would impair water 

quality standards, 

increase shoreline 

erosion, alter 

coastal wetlands or 

Submerged Aquatic 

Vegetation (SAV), 

deposit spoils 

waterward of 

normal water level 

or normal high 

water level, or cause 

degradation of 

shellfish beds; 

(X) shall not degrade 

waters classified as 

SA or High Quality 

Waters or ORW as 

defined by the 

EMC; 

(XI) shall not degrade 

Critical Habitat 

Areas or Primary 

Nursery Areas as 

defined by the NC 

Marine Fisheries 

Commission; and 

(XII) shall not pose a 

threat to navigation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(b); 113A-108; 113A-

113(b); 113A-124; 

Eff. September 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; August 3, 1992; 

December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; October 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 15, 2001 (exempt from 270 

day requirement-S.L. 2000-142); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2002 (exempt from 270 

day requirement-S.L. 2001-494); 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019; March 1, 2010; April 1, 2008; August 

1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1601 LICENSE FEES. 

(a)  License fees established by the Commission in this Rule shall 

be subject to the requirements of G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 

(b)  The following fees shall apply to combination hunting and 

inland fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in 

G.S. 113-270.1C: 

(1) Resident Annual Combination Hunting and 

Inland Fishing License - $35.00. 

(2) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. 

(3) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. 

(c)  The following fees shall apply to sportsman licenses issued 

by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1D: 

(1) Annual Sportsman License - $53.00. 

(2) Infant Lifetime Sportsman License - $212.00. 

(3) Youth Lifetime Sportsman License - $371.00. 

(4) Adult Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$530.00. 

(5) Nonresident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$1,272.00. 

(6) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$16.00. 

(7) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $106.00. 

(8) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $106.00. 

(d)  The following fees shall apply to hunting licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.2: 

(1) Resident State Hunting License - $25.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $265.00. 

(3) Controlled Hunting Preserve Hunting License - 

$22.00. 

(4) Resident Annual Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $39.00. 

(5) Nonresident State Hunting Licenses: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. 

(6) Falconry Hunting License - $25.00. 

(e)  The following fees shall apply to special activity licenses 

issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.3: 

(1) Resident Big Game Hunting License - $14.00. 

(2) Nonresident Bear Hunting License - $239.00. 

(3) Bear Management Stamp - $11.00. 

(4) Nonresident Big Game Hunting License: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. 

(5) Bonus Antlerless Deer License - $11.00. 

(6) Game Land License - $16.00. 

(7) Falconry License - $11.00. 

(8) Migratory Waterfowl Hunting License - 

$14.00. 

(9) Resident American Alligator License - 

$250.00. 

(10) Nonresident American Alligator License - 

$500.00. 

(11) Resident Elk License - $500.00. 

(12) Nonresident Elk License - $1,000.00. 

(f)  The following fees shall apply to hunting and fishing guide 

licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.4: 

(1) Resident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - 

$16.00. 

(2) Nonresident Hunting and Fishing Guide 

License - $159.00. 
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(g)  The following fees shall apply to trapping licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.5: 

(1) Resident State Trapping License - $32.00. 

(2) Resident Lifetime Trapping License - $300.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Trapping License - $133.00. 

(h)  The following fees shall apply to hook-and-line licenses in 

inland and joint fishing waters issued by the Commission, as set 

forth in G.S. 113-271: 

(1) Resident State Inland Fishing License - $25.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Inland 

Fishing License - $265.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Inland Fishing License - 

$45.00. 

(4) Short-Term Inland Fishing License: 

(A) Resident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $9.00. 

(B) Nonresident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $23.00. 

(5) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Inland Fishing 

License - $16.00. 

(6) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(7) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(8) Special Landholder and Guest Fishing License 

- $106.00. 

(9) Mountain Heritage Trout Waters 3-Day Fishing 

License - $8.00. 

(i)  The following fees shall apply to special device licenses issued 

by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.2: 

(1) Resident Special Device License - $80.00. 

(2) Nonresident Special Device License - $530.00. 

(j)  The fee for a collection license issued by the Commission, as 

set forth in G.S. 113-272.4 shall be $10.00. 

(k)  The following fees shall apply to captivity licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.5: 

(1) Captivity License for Holding - $50.00. 

(2) Captivity License for Rehabilitation - $10.00. 

(l)  The following fees shall apply to dealer licenses issued by the 

Commission as set forth in G.S. 113-273: 

(1) Resident Fur-dealer License - $64.00. 

(2) Nonresident Fur-dealer License - $318.00. 

(3) Fur-dealer Station License - $128.00. 

(4) Controlled Hunting Preserve Operator License 

- $100.00. 

(5) Game Bird Propagation License - $10.00. 

(6) Furbearer Propagation License - $27.00. 

(7) Taxidermy License - $50.00. 

(8) Taxidermy Cervid Certification - $5.00. 

(9) Wildlife Control Agent License - $50.00. 

(10) Alligator Control Agent Certification - $25.00. 

(m)  The following fees shall apply to permits issued by the 

Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-274: 

(1) Possession Permit - $10.00. 

(2) Exportation or Importation Permit - $10.00. 

(3) Trophy Wildlife Sale Permit - $10.00. 

(4) Endangered Species Permit - $10.00. 

(5) Field Trial Permit - $10.00. 

(n)  Unified hunting and fishing licenses issued by the 

Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-351: 

(1) Annual Resident Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $69.00. 

(2) Annual Resident Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $41.00. 

(3) Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing Licenses: 

(A) Infant Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $292.00. 

(B) Youth Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $477.00. 

(C) Resident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $716.00. 

(D) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $1,643.00. 

(E) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $32.00. 

(F) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$117.00. 

(G) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$117.00. 

(4) Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $477.00. 

(o)  The following fees shall apply to Coastal Recreational Fishing 

Licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-

174.2: 

(1) Annual Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $16.00. 

(2) Annual Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $32.00. 

(3) Ten-Day Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $6.00. 

(4) Ten-Day Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(5) Infant Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $106.00. 

(6) Youth Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $159.00. 

(7) Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $265.00. 

(8) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $530.00. 

(9) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $16.00. 

(10) Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $11.00. 

(11) Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $11.00. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-270.1B(e); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2020; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 13A .0101 GENERAL 

(a)  The Hazardous Waste Section of the Division of Waste 

Management shall administer the hazardous waste management 

program for the State of North Carolina. 

(b)  In applying the federal requirements incorporated by 

reference throughout this Subchapter, the following substitutions 

or exceptions shall apply: 

When used in any of the federal regulations incorporated 

by reference throughout this Subchapter, except where 

the context requires references to remain without 

substitution including with regard to forms, publications, 

and regulations concerning international shipments, 

variances from land disposal restrictions, and other 

program areas over which the federal government retains 

sole authority: "United States" shall mean the State of 

North Carolina; "Environmental Protection Agency," 

"EPA," and "Agency" shall mean the Department of 

Environmental Quality; and "Administrator," "Regional 

Administrator," "Assistant Administrator," and 

"Director" shall mean the Secretary of the Department of 

Environmental Quality. The North Carolina Solid Waste 

Management Act and other applicable North Carolina 

General Statutes set forth in G.S. 130A shall be 

substituted for references to "the Solid Waste Disposal 

Act," "the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act," 

and "RCRA" where required by context. 

(c)  In the event that there are inconsistencies or duplications in 

the requirements of those Federal regulations incorporated by 

reference throughout this Subchapter and the State rules set out in 

this Subchapter, the provisions incorporated by reference shall 

prevail except where the State rules are more stringent. 

(d)  40 CFR 260.1 through 260.5 (Subpart A), "General" are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(e)  40 CFR 260.11, "Incorporation by Reference" is incorporated 

by reference including subsequent amendments and editions. 

(f)  Copies of all materials in this Subchapter may be inspected or 

obtained as follows: 

(1) Persons interested in receiving rule-making 

notices concerning the North Carolina 

Hazardous Waste Management Rules shall 

submit a written request to the Hazardous 

Waste Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1646 or send an email 

request to DENR.DWM_Rules@ncdenr.gov. 

Upon receipt of each request, individuals shall 

be placed on a list to receive notices. 

(2) Material incorporated by reference in the 

Federal Register may be obtained electronically 

free of charge from the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency website at 

http://www.epa.gov/laws-

regulations/regulations. 

(3) All material is available for inspection at the 

Department of Environmental Quality, 

Hazardous Waste Section, 217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC and at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-

management/hw/rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(c); 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1989; June 1, 1988; August 1, 1987; May 

1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10F .0001 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; April 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 

December 1, 1991; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 13A .0001 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; August 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; August 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 30, 2017 (replaced by the rule 

effective March 1, 2018); 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. June 24, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; March 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 13A .0111 STANDARDS FOR THE 

MANAGEMENT OF SPECIFIC HAZARDOUS WASTES 

AND SPECIFIC TYPES OF HAZARDOUS WASTE 

MANAGEMENT FACILITIES - PART 266 

(a)  40 CFR 266.20 through 266.23 (Subpart C), "Recyclable 

Materials Used in a Manner Constituting Disposal" are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(b)  40 CFR 266.70 (Subpart F), "Recyclable Materials Utilized 

for Precious Metal Recovery" is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Off-site recycling 

facilities that receive materials described in 40 CFR 266.70(a) 

shall mark or label each container and tank holding recyclable 

materials at off-site precious metal recycling facilities with the 

words "Recyclable Material." 

(c)  40 CFR 266.80 (Subpart G), "Spent Lead-Acid Batteries 

Being Reclaimed" is incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(d)  40 CFR 266.100 through 266.112 (Subpart H), "Hazardous 

Waste Burned in Boilers and Industrial Furnaces" are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(e)  40 CFR 266.200 through 266.206 (Subpart M), "Military 

Munitions" are incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(f)  40 CFR 266.210 through 266.360 (Subpart N), "Conditional 

Exemption for Low-Level Mixed Waste Storage, Treatment, 

Transportation and Disposal" are incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

(g)  40 CFR 266.500 through 266.510 (Subpart P), "Hazardous 

Waste Pharmaceuticals" are incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(h)  Appendices to 40 CFR Part 266 are incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(c); 

Eff. July 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1990; June 1, 1988; February 1, 1988; 

December 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10F .0039 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 13A .0012 Eff. August 30, 1990; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; April 1, 1993; August 1, 1991; 

October 1, 1990; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 13A .0011 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; April 1, 2003; April 1, 1999; August 

1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 30, 2017 (replaced by the rule 

effective March 1, 2018); 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0546 FINANCIAL ASSURANCE 

REQUIREMENTS FOR C&DLF FACILITIES AND 

UNITS 

(a)  Owners and operators of construction and demolition landfill 

facilities permitted by the Division in accordance with this 

Subchapter shall comply with the financial responsibility 

requirements set forth in G.S. 130A-295.2. 

(b)  Owners and operators of construction and demolition landfill 

facilities that received waste on or after June 30, 2008 and are 

permitted by the Division in accordance with this Subchapter shall 

comply with the financial assurance requirements set forth in 

Section .1800 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-295.2(b); 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1105 PERMIT REQUIRED 

(a)  No person, other than a person exempted by G.S. 

130A-309.57(d), shall establish, operate, or maintain, or allow to 

be established, operated, or maintained upon land owned, leased, 

or otherwise controlled by that person, a scrap tire collection site 

or scrap tire disposal site unless a permit for the site has been 

obtained from the Division. 

(b)  Applications for permits submitted in accordance with Rule 

.1106 of this Section shall be forwarded to the Division of Waste 

Management, Solid Waste Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646. 

(c)  A permit is issued to the permit applicant for a particular site 

and shall not be transferable. 

(d)  Trailers and covered roll-off containers used for the collection 

of scrap tires are exempt from the requirements of Rule 

.1106(c)(1), (c)(2), (c)(4), and (c)(6) of this Section.  

(e)  Scrap tire collection sites permitted by the Division in 

accordance with this Subchapter that are not operated by local 

governments shall comply with the financial responsibility 

requirements set forth in G.S. 130A-295.2 and the financial 

assurance requirements set forth in Section .1800 of this 

Subchapter. A demonstration of financial qualifications for 

operation of a site shall include documentation that the facility has 

liability coverage for potential property damage and bodily injury 

to third parties that may result from a fire occurring at the site.  

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-309.57; 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1111 FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294(b); 130A-309.27; 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1628 FINANCIAL ASSURANCE 

REQUIREMENTS FOR MSWLF FACILITIES AND 

UNITS 

(a)  Owners and operators of municipal solid waste landfill 

facilities permitted by the Division in accordance with this 

Subchapter shall comply with the financial responsibility 

requirements set forth in G.S. 130A-295.2. 

(b)  Owners and operators of municipal solid waste landfill 

facilities that received waste on or after October 9, 1993 and are 

permitted by the Division in accordance with this Subchapter shall 

comply with the financial assurance requirements set forth in 

Section .1800 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. November 9, 

1993 for a period of 180 days or until the permanent rule becomes 

effective, whichever is sooner; 

Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-295.2(b); 

Eff. April 9, 1994; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

SECTION .1800 - FINANCIAL ASSURANCE 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT 

FACILITIES 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1801 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Owners and operators of solid waste management facilities 

permitted by the Division in accordance with this Subchapter shall 

establish financial assurance as an environmental liability in 

accordance with this Section, with the exception of the following: 

(1) municipal solid waste landfill facilities that 

stopped receiving waste before October 9, 

1993; 

(2) construction and demolition landfill facilities 

that stopped receiving waste before June 30, 

2008; 

(3) scrap tire collection sites and solid waste 

compost facilities that are owned and operated 

by local governments; 

(4) solid waste management facilities that accept 

only yard waste, land clearing waste, or inert 

debris, unless the owners or operators have a 

"history of significant or repeated violations" as 

defined by G.S. 130A-295.3(c); 

(5) septage management facilities permitted by the 

Division in accordance with Section .0800 of 

this Subchapter; 
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(6) facility owners and operators that are State or 

federal government entities; and 

(7) Small Type III solid waste compost facilities as 

defined in Rule .1402 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Section, the term "sanitary landfill" 

shall include the following facilities unless the facility is exempt 

from establishing financial assurance pursuant to Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule: 

(1) industrial landfill facilities; 

(2) municipal solid waste landfill facilities; 

(3) construction and demolition landfill facilities; 

and 

(4) landfills for the exclusive disposal of scrap 

tires, also known as "tire monofills." 

(c)  Owners and operators required to place documents in the 

facility's operating record pursuant to this Section shall submit 

copies of the documents to the Division, except as provided for in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(d)  Owners and operators of solid waste management facilities 

that are required to establish financial assurance in accordance 

with this Section shall use the mechanisms provided in Rule .1805 

of this Section to provide funding for closure, post-closure care, a 

corrective action program, and potential assessment and 

corrective action. The instruments used for financial assurance 

mechanisms shall be submitted to the Division as original signed 

hard copies, and unless stated otherwise in Rule .1806 of this 

Section, the language of the mechanisms shall be identical to the 

mechanism templates provided in Rule .1806 of this Section. 

(e)  Owners and operators of solid waste management facilities 

that are required to establish financial assurance in accordance 

with this Section shall submit itemized cost estimates for closure 

activities in accordance with Rule .1802 of this Section. 

(f)  Owners and operators of sanitary landfills that are required to 

establish financial assurance in accordance with this Section shall 

submit itemized cost estimates for post-closure care activities in 

accordance with Rule .1803 of this Section. 

(g)  Owners and operators of solid waste management facilities 

that are required to undertake a corrective action program in 

accordance with the rules of this Subchapter shall submit itemized 

cost estimates for the corrective action program in accordance 

with Rule .1804 of this Section. 

(h)  Owners and operators of sanitary landfills permitted by the 

Division in accordance with Rule .0207 of this Subchapter shall 

annually submit the following information to the Division no less 

than 180 calendar days prior to the renewal date of the financial 

assurance mechanisms for the facility: 

(1) current description and size in acreage of any 

active portion of the facility that has closed 

since the previous financial assurance 

mechanism renewal; and 

(2) a description of the acreage proposed to remain 

active and proposed to be closed in the year 

following the upcoming financial assurance 

mechanism renewal. 

(i)  Financial assurance for potential assessment and corrective 

action shall be established in accordance with G.S. 130A-295.2(h) 

and (h1), and shall be increased for inflation annually, 

concurrently with cost estimates for closure, post-closure care, 

and corrective action programs in accordance with Rules 

.1802(b)(1), .1803(b)(1), and .1804(b)(1) of this Section, 

respectively. 

(j)  When the owner and operator of a solid waste management 

facility is required to adjust a cost estimate or the amount of 

financial assurance for inflation in accordance with the rules of 

this Section, the adjustment for inflation shall be made by using 

the US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis 

Gross Domestic Product, implicit price deflator. The implicit 

price deflator that shall be used to adjust for inflation shall be 

published on the Division's website at http://go.ncdenr.gov/fa by 

January 30 of each year. Financial assurance mechanisms that 

renew in January shall use the previous year's implicit price 

deflator. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-295.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1802 FINANCIAL ASSURANCE COST 

ESTIMATE REQUIREMENTS FOR CLOSURE 

(a)  Owner and operators shall meet the following requirements 

for closure cost estimate calculations: 

(1) Owners and operators of solid waste 

management facilities other than sanitary 

landfills that are required to establish financial 

assurance in accordance with this Section shall 

submit to the Division with the permit 

application an itemized cost estimate for 

financial assurance for closure of the facility. 

The closure cost estimate shall be adjusted in 

accordance with Subparagraphs (b)(1) and 

(b)(2) of this Rule. The closure cost estimate 

shall be calculated by multiplying the 

maximum tonnage of waste permitted to be 

stored on site by the cost per ton for a third party 

to remove the waste, transport it, and dispose of 

it at the nearest facility permitted by the 

Division to receive such waste. The 

calculations shall include estimates for all waste 

types that are permitted by the Division in 

accordance with this Subchapter to be stored on 

site. 

(2) Owners and operators of sanitary landfills that 

are required to establish financial assurance in 

accordance with this Section shall submit to the 

Division with the permit application an 

itemized cost estimate of the cost of hiring a 

third party to close the sanitary landfill in 

accordance with the facility's closure plan 

required in accordance with this Subchapter. 

The closure cost estimate shall be adjusted in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. A 

copy of the closure cost estimate shall be placed 

in the closure plan and the facility's operating 

record. 

(b)  Owners and operators shall meet with the following 

requirements for adjustments to the cost estimate and the amount 

of financial assurance: 

(1) During the active life of the facility, the owner 

and operator shall annually adjust the closure 
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cost estimate and the amount of financial 

assurance for inflation. Owners and operators 

using the local government financial test or 

capital reserve fund as set forth in Rule .1805(e) 

of this Section shall submit the adjusted 

financial assurance mechanism to the Division 

prior to December 31, after the end of the local 

government's fiscal year. Owners and operators 

using the corporate financial test or corporate 

guarantee as set forth in Rule .1805(e) of this 

Section shall submit the adjusted financial 

assurance mechanism to the Division no more 

than 90 calendar days following the close of the 

corporate entity's fiscal year that is stated in the 

mechanism. Owners and operators using a 

financial assurance mechanism set forth in Rule 

.1805(e) of this Section other than the local 

government financial test, capital reserve fund, 

corporate financial test, or corporate guarantee 

shall submit the adjusted financial assurance 

mechanism to the Division no less than 60 

calendar days before the anniversary of the 

initial date that the financial assurance 

mechanism was established. 

(2) The owner and operator shall increase the 

closure cost estimate and the amount of 

financial assurance and submit the revised 

closure cost estimate to the Division if changes 

to the closure plan or facility conditions 

increase the maximum cost of closure at any 

time during the remaining active life of the 

facility. 

(3) The owner and operator may request to reduce 

the closure cost estimate and the amount of 

financial assurance if the cost estimate exceeds 

the maximum cost of closure at any time during 

the active life of the facility by submitting a 

revised closure cost estimate and a written 

justification for the reduction to the Division for 

approval no less than 180 calendar days prior to 

the anniversary of the date the financial 

assurance mechanism was established. No 

reduction of the closure cost estimate or the 

amount of financial assurance shall be allowed 

without written approval from the Division. 

The reduction justification and the Division 

approval shall be placed in the facility's 

operating record. In making the determination 

on approval of the request, the Division shall 

consider the following factors for the facility: 

(A) changes to operations, closure 

activities, or other circumstances; 

(B) changes to third party closure costs; 

(C) compliance status of the owner and 

operator; and 

(D) environmental monitoring data. 

(c)  Owners and operators of solid waste management facilities 

that are required to establish financial assurance in accordance 

with this Section shall establish financial assurance for closure of 

the facility in compliance with G.S. 130A-295.2(f). Owners and 

operators of sanitary landfills shall provide continuous coverage 

for closure until released from financial assurance requirements 

for closure by demonstrating compliance with the facility's permit 

and closure plan, with the closure letter issued to the facility by 

the Division, and with Rule .0543 of this Subchapter for 

construction and demolition landfill facilities, Rule .1627(c) of 

this Subchapter for municipal solid waste landfill facilities, and 

Rule .0510 of this Subchapter for other sanitary landfills. Owners 

and operators of solid waste management facilities other than 

sanitary landfills shall provide continuous coverage for closure 

until released from financial assurance requirements for closure 

by demonstrating that the closure requirements for the respective 

facility type set forth in this Subchapter and the requirements in 

the facility's permit and closure plan have been met. 

(d)  Maintenance of financial assurance in the amounts required 

by this Rule does not limit the responsibility of owners or 

operators for the full cost of site closure and clean up, the 

expenses of any on-site or off-site environmental restoration 

necessitated by activities at the facility, and liability for all 

damages to third parties or private or public properties caused by 

the establishment and operation of the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-295.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1803 FINANCIAL ASSURANCE COST 

ESTIMATE REQUIREMENTS FOR POST-CLOSURE 

CARE 

(a)  Owners and operators of sanitary landfills that are required to 

establish financial assurance in accordance with this Section shall 

submit to the Division with the permit application a cost estimate 

for financial assurance for post-closure care of the facility that 

contains an itemized cost estimate of the cost of hiring a third 

party to conduct post-closure care for the sanitary landfill in 

compliance with the post-closure care plan developed in 

accordance with this Subchapter. The post-closure care cost 

estimate shall be adjusted in accordance with Subparagraphs 

(b)(1) and (b)(2) of this Rule. The post-closure care cost estimate 

used to demonstrate financial assurance shall account for the total 

costs of conducting post-closure care for any closed and active 

portions of the facility, including annual and periodic costs as 

described in the post-closure care plan over the entire post-closure 

care period. The cost estimate for post-closure care shall be based 

on the most expensive costs of post-closure care during the post-

closure care period. The post-closure care cost estimate shall be 

placed in the operating record. 

(b)  Owners and operators shall meet the following requirements 

for adjustments to the post-closure care cost estimate and the 

amount of financial assurance: 

(1) During the active life of the facility, the owner 

and operator shall annually adjust the post-

closure care cost estimate and the amount of 

financial assurance for inflation. Owners and 

operators using the local government financial 

test or the capital reserve fund as set forth in 

Rule .1805(e) of this Section shall submit the 

adjusted financial assurance mechanism to the 

Division prior to December 31, after the end of 
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the local government's fiscal year. Owners and 

operators using the corporate financial test or 

corporate guarantee as set forth in Rule .1805(e) 

of this Section shall submit the adjusted 

financial assurance mechanism to the Division 

no more than 90 calendar days following the 

close of the corporate entity's fiscal year that is 

stated in the mechanism. Owners and operators 

using a financial assurance mechanism set forth 

in Rule .1805(e) of this Section other than the 

local government financial test, capital reserve 

fund, corporate financial test, or corporate 

guarantee shall submit the adjusted financial 

assurance mechanism to the Division no less 

than 60 calendar days before the anniversary of 

the initial date the financial assurance 

mechanism was established. 

(2) The owner and operator shall increase the post-

closure care cost estimate and the amount of 

financial assurance and submit the revised post-

closure care cost estimate to the Division if 

changes to the post-closure care plan or facility 

conditions increase the maximum cost of post-

closure care at any time during the remaining 

active life of the facility. 

(3) The owner and operator may request to reduce 

the post-closure care cost estimate and the 

amount of financial assurance if the cost 

estimate exceeds the maximum cost of post-

closure care at any time during the active life of 

the facility by submitting a revised post-closure 

care cost estimate and a written justification for 

the reduction to the Division for approval no 

less than 180 calendar days prior to the 

anniversary of the date the financial assurance 

mechanism was established. No reduction of 

the post-closure care cost estimate or the 

amount of financial assurance shall be allowed 

without written approval from the Division. 

The reduction justification and the Division 

approval shall be placed in the facility's 

operating record. In making the determination 

on approval of the request, the Division shall 

consider the following factors for the facility: 

(A) changes to operations, post-closure 

care activities, or other circumstances; 

(B) changes to third party post-closure 

care costs; 

(C) compliance status of the owner and 

operator; and 

(D) environmental monitoring data. 

(c)  Owners and operators of solid waste management facilities 

that are required to establish financial assurance in accordance 

with this Section shall establish financial assurance for post-

closure care of the facility in compliance with G.S. 130A-

295.2(f). The owner and operator shall provide continuous 

coverage for post-closure care until released from financial 

assurance requirements for post-closure care by demonstrating 

compliance with the facility's permit and post-closure care plan, 

with the closure letter issued to the facility by the Division, and 

with Rule .0543 of this Subchapter for construction and 

demolition landfill facilities and Rule .1627(d) of this Subchapter 

for municipal solid waste landfill facilities. 

(d)  Maintenance of financial assurance in the amounts required 

by this Rule does not limit the responsibility of owners or 

operators for the full cost of site closure and clean up, the 

expenses of any on-site or off-site environmental restoration 

necessitated by activities at the facility, and liability for all 

damages to third parties or private or public properties caused by 

the establishment and operation of the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-295.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1804 FINANCIAL ASSURANCE COST 

ESTIMATE REQUIREMENTS FOR CORRECTIVE 

ACTION PROGRAMS 

(a)  Owners and operators shall meet the following requirements 

for corrective action program cost estimate calculations: 

(1) The owner and operator of a sanitary landfill 

required by the Division to undertake a 

corrective action program in accordance with 

Rules .0545 or .1637 of this Subchapter shall 

have an itemized cost estimate of the cost of 

hiring a third party to implement the corrective 

action program. The corrective action program 

cost estimate shall be adjusted in accordance 

with Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this 

Rule. The cost estimate shall include the total 

costs of the corrective action program for the 

entire corrective action period. The owner and 

operator shall submit the cost estimate to the 

Division for approval and shall place the 

approved cost estimate in the operating record. 

The cost estimate shall be approved if it is in 

compliance with the rules of this Section, Rule 

.0545 or Rules .1635 through .1637 of this 

Subchapter, and 15A NCAC 02L. Once every 

five years, the owner and operator shall update 

the cost estimate of the corrective action 

program and submit the following information 

to the Division in writing: 

(A) a description of the remedial actions 

selected pursuant to Rule.0545(e) or 

Rule .1636 of this Subchapter that 

have not been completed; 

(B) the number of years remaining for 

each remedial action until the remedial 

action is complete; and 

(C) the updated cost estimate for the 

remaining remedial actions. 

(2) In addition to the requirements for the 

corrective action program set forth in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, the owner 

and operator of a sanitary landfill required to 

establish financial assurance in accordance with 

this Section shall comply with the requirements 
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for potential assessment and corrective action 

set forth in G.S. 130A-295.2(h) and (h1). 

(b)  Owners and operators shall meet the following requirements 

for adjustments to the corrective action cost estimate and the 

amount of financial assurance: 

(1) During the active life of the facility, the owner 

and operator shall annually adjust the cost 

estimates for the corrective action program and 

potential assessment and corrective action and 

the amount of financial assurance for inflation. 

Owners and operators using the local 

government financial test or capital reserve 

fund as set forth in Rule .1805(e) of this Section 

shall submit the adjusted financial assurance 

mechanism for the corrective action program 

and potential assessment and corrective action 

to the Division prior to December 31, after the 

end of the local government's fiscal year. 

Owners and operators using the corporate 

financial test or corporate guarantee as set forth 

in Rule .1805(e) of this Section shall submit the 

adjusted financial assurance mechanisms for 

the corrective action program and potential 

assessment and corrective action to the Division 

no more than 90 calendar days following the 

close of the corporate entity's fiscal year that is 

stated in the mechanism. Owners and operators 

using a financial assurance mechanism 

provided in Rule .1805(e) of this Section, other 

than the local government financial test, capital 

reserve fund, corporate financial test, or 

corporate guarantee, shall submit the adjusted 

financial assurance mechanism to the Division 

no less than 60 calendar days before the 

anniversary of the initial date the financial 

assurance mechanism was established. 

(2) The owner and operator shall increase the cost 

estimate for the corrective action program and 

the amount of financial assurance and submit 

the revised cost estimate to the Division if 

changes to the corrective action program or 

facility conditions increase the maximum cost 

of corrective action program at any time during 

the remaining active life of the facility. 

(3) The owner and operator may request to reduce 

the cost estimate for the corrective action 

program and the amount of financial assurance 

if the cost estimate exceeds the maximum cost 

of the corrective action program at any time 

during the active life of the facility by 

submitting a revised cost estimate for the 

corrective action program and a written 

justification for the reduction to the Division for 

approval no less than 180 calendar days prior to 

the anniversary of the date the financial 

assurance mechanism was established. No 

reduction of the corrective action program cost 

estimate or the amount of financial assurance 

shall be allowed without written approval from 

the Division. The reduction justification and the 

Division approval shall be placed in the 

facility's operating record. In making the 

determination on approval of the request, the 

Division shall consider the following factors for 

the facility: 

(A) completion of or changes to corrective 

action program activities or other 

circumstances; 

(B) changes to third party corrective 

action program costs; 

(C) compliance status of the owner and 

operator; and 

(D) environmental monitoring data. 

(c)  Owners and operators of sanitary landfills that are required to 

undertake a corrective action program under Rules .0545 or .1637 

of this Subchapter shall establish financial assurance in 

accordance with this Section for the most recent corrective action 

program in compliance with G.S. 130A-295.2(f). The owner and 

operator shall provide continuous coverage for the corrective 

action program until released from financial assurance 

requirements for the corrective action program by demonstrating 

compliance with the facility's permit and corrective action plan, 

15A NCAC 02L, and Rule .0545(m) and (n) of this Subchapter 

for construction and demolition landfill facilities, and Rule 

.1637(f) and (g) of this Subchapter for municipal solid waste 

landfill facilities. 

(d)  Maintenance of financial assurance in the amounts required 

by this Rule does not limit the responsibility of owners or 

operators for the full cost of site closure and clean up, the 

expenses of any on-site or off-site environmental restoration 

necessitated by activities at the facility, and liability for all 

damages to third parties or private or public properties caused by 

the establishment and operation of the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-295.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1805 ALLOWABLE MECHANISMS 

FOR FINANCIAL ASSURANCE 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 130A-295.2, owners and operators of solid 

waste management facilities that are required to establish 

financial assurance in accordance with this Section shall choose 

one of the mechanisms or a combination of mechanisms in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule to cover the cost of closure, post-closure 

care, corrective action programs, and potential assessment and 

corrective action. 

(b)  When multiple financial assurance mechanisms are 

established, no more than one allowable mechanism shall be 

provided by the same financial institution or its corporate entities. 

The corporate financial test provided by a corporation and the 

corporate guarantee provided by a corporate parent, sibling, or 

grandparent shall not be combined if the financial statements of 

the two firms are consolidated. A surety bond mechanism 

guaranteeing performance shall not be combined with other 

mechanisms. The mechanisms shall be submitted to the Division 

as original signed hard copies, and the language of each 

mechanism shall be identical to the language specified in Rule 

.1806 of this Section for that mechanism. 
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(c)  A corporate seal shall be required to complete the financial 

assurance mechanism as part of the certification of 

acknowledgement required in the mechanism language in Rule 

.1806 of this Section for a corporate owner or operator using a 

trust fund, surety bond guaranteeing payment or performance, 

corporate financial test, and corporate guarantee as set forth in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. When a corporate seal is required to 

certify a financial assurance mechanism but the corporation does 

not have a corporate seal, a member of the corporation's senior 

management or a representative of the board of directors shall 

submit to the Division a copy of the corporation's bylaws, a 

corporate ownership organization chart describing the 

relationship of the facility owner and operator to the corporation 

and its parent companies, contact information for the board of 

directors or senior management for the corporation, and a 

statement on corporate letterhead stating the signee has the 

authority to execute correspondence and financial assurance 

mechanisms on behalf of the corporation, pursuant to G.S. 130A-

295.2(f). The documentation shall be submitted to the Division of 

Waste Management, Solid Waste Section at 1646 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699. Senior management for the 

corporation shall be one of the following positions: the Chief 

Executive Officer or President, the Chief Operating Officer or 

Vice President, or the Chief Financial Officer or Treasurer. 

(d)  The July 1, 2010 edition of 40 CFR 258.74 is incorporated by 

reference and can be obtained free of charge from the Division's 

website at http://go.ncdenr.gov/fa. When used in 40 CFR 258.74, 

except where the context requires references to remain without 

substitution, "United States" and "State" shall mean the State of 

North Carolina; "Agency" shall mean the Department of 

Environmental Quality; "Director" shall mean the Secretary of the 

Department of Environmental Quality; "municipal solid waste 

landfills facility(ies)", "MSWLF(s)", or "MSWLF unit(s)" shall 

mean solid waste management facility or facilities; and "owner or 

operator" shall mean the owner and operator of a solid waste 

management facility. 

(e)  The following mechanisms may be used to meet the 

requirements of this Section for financial assurance. 

(1) A trust fund as set forth in 40 CFR 258.74(a), 

including the following requirements. 

(A) The trust fund may be elected as a 

standby trust mechanism to 

accompany the surety bond 

mechanism in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph, or the letter of credit 

mechanism in Subparagraph (3) of this 

Paragraph; or may be elected as a 

standalone funded trust mechanism. 

(B) 40 CFR 258.74(a)(7) is revised to 

state: "The owner or operator, or other 

person authorized to conduct closure, 

post-closure care, or corrective action 

activities may request reimbursement 

from the trustee for these 

expenditures. Requests for 

reimbursement shall be granted only if 

sufficient funds are remaining in the 

trust fund to cover the remaining costs 

of closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action programs, or 

potential assessment and corrective 

action, and if justification and 

documentation of the cost is submitted 

to the Division and placed in the 

operating record." 

(C) The trust agreement shall be 

accompanied by a certification of 

acknowledgement as specified 

following the language of the trust 

agreement in Rule .1806(1) of this 

Section. 

(D) Schedule A of the trust agreement 

shall be updated no less than 60 days 

after any change in the amount of the 

current cost estimate covered by the 

agreement. 

(2) Surety bonds guaranteeing payment or 

performance as set forth in 40 CFR 258.74(b) 

including the following requirements. 

(A) The surety company issuing the bond 

shall be licensed to do business in 

North Carolina. 

(B) Bonding companies may write bonds 

with a penal sum over their 

underwriting limitation if they protect 

the excess amount with reinsurance, 

coinsurance, or other methods as 

specified at 31 CFR 223.10-11 and 

submit documentation to the Division. 

The owner and operator shall provide 

the Division with current contact 

information for the surety company 

for the life of the mechanism. 31 CFR 

223.10-11 is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions and can be accessed free of 

charge at the U.S. Government 

Publishing Office website at 

www.ecfr.gov. 

(C) The penal sum of the surety bond shall 

be adjusted for inflation or any 

increase or decrease in the amount of 

financial assurance in accordance with 

Rule .1802(b), Rule .1803(b), or 

.1804(b) of this Section. 

(D) The bonded liability limit shall not be 

less than the penal sum of the surety 

bond and shall be adjusted annually 

for inflation or any increase or 

decrease in the amount of financial 

assurance in accordance with Rule 

.1802(b), Rule .1803(b), or .1804(b) of 

this Section. 

(E) If the owner and operator is no longer 

required to demonstrate financial 

responsibility, the owner and operator 

may cancel the surety bond in 

accordance with the requirements of 
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Rules .1802(c), .1803(c), or .1804(c) 

of this Section. 

(3) A letter of credit as set forth in 40 CFR 

258.74(c) including the following 

requirements. 

(A) The owner and operator shall establish 

a standby trust fund. The standby trust 

fund shall meet the requirements of 40 

CFR 258.74(a) except the 

requirements for initial payment and 

subsequent annual payments specified 

in 40 CFR 258.74(a)(2), (3), (4), and 

(5). Payments made under the terms of 

the letter of credit shall be deposited 

by the financial institution directly 

into the standby trust fund. 

(B) No payments shall be made from the 

trust fund unless approved by the 

trustee and the Division. 

(C) The letter of credit shall be adjusted 

for inflation or any increase or 

decrease in the amount of financial 

assurance in accordance with Rule 

.1802(b), Rule .1803(b), or .1804(b) of 

this Section. 

(D) If the owner and operator is no longer 

required to demonstrate financial 

responsibility, the owner and operator 

may cancel the letter of credit in 

accordance with the requirements of 

Rules .1802(c), .1803(c), or .1804 (c) 

of this Section. 

(4) Insurance as set forth in 40 CFR 258.74(d), and 

if the owner and operator is no longer required 

to demonstrate financial responsibility, the 

owner and operator may cancel the insurance 

policy in accordance with the requirements of 

Rules .1802(c), .1803(c), or .1804(c) of this 

Section. 

(5) A corporate financial test as set forth in 40 CFR 

258.74(e) including the following 

requirements. 

(A) The corporate financial test shall be 

adjusted for inflation or any increase 

or decrease in the amount of financial 

assurance in accordance with Rule 

.1802(b), Rule .1803(b), or .1804(b) of 

this Section. 

(B) If the owner and operator is no longer 

required to demonstrate financial 

responsibility, the owner and operator 

may cancel the test in accordance with 

the requirements of Rules .1802(c), 

.1803(c), or .1804(c) of this Section. 

(6) A local government financial test as set forth in 

40 CFR 258.74(f) including the following 

requirements. 

(A) Owner and operators submitting a 

local government financial test that 

utilizes the bond rating indicator of 

financial strength shall submit a copy 

of the bond showing proof of the 

current bond rating of the most recent 

issuance and name of rating service, 

date of issuance of the bond, and date 

of maturity of the bond. 

(B) The local government test shall be 

adjusted for inflation or any increase 

or decrease in the amount of financial 

assurance in accordance with Rule 

.1802(b), Rule .1803(b), or .1804(b) of 

this Section. 

(C) If the owner and operator is no longer 

required to demonstrate financial 

responsibility, the owner and operator 

may cancel the test in accordance with 

the requirements of Rules .1802(c), 

.1803(c), or .1804(c) of this Section. 

(7) A corporate guarantee as set forth in 40 CFR 

258.74(g) including the following 

requirements. 

(A) The owner and operator shall submit a 

corporate ownership organization 

chart describing the relationship of the 

owner and operator to the guarantor as 

defined in 40 CFR 258.74(g)(1) when 

financial assurance is initially 

established, and annually thereafter. 

(B) The corporate guarantee shall be 

adjusted for inflation or any increase 

or decrease in the amount of financial 

assurance in accordance with Rule 

.1802(b), Rule .1803(b), or .1804(b) of 

this Section. 

(C) If the owner and operator is no longer 

required to demonstrate financial 

responsibility, the owner and operator 

may cancel the guarantee in 

accordance with the requirements of 

Rules .1802(c), .1803(c), or .1804(c) 

of this Section. 

(8) A capital reserve fund that meets the following 

requirements. 

(A) An owner and operator of a solid 

waste management facility that is a 

unit of local government or public 

authority may satisfy the requirements 

of this Rule by establishing a capital 

reserve fund which conforms to the 

requirements of this Subparagraph. 

The unit of local government or public 

authority shall be an entity which has 

the authority to establish a capital 

reserve fund under authority of G.S. 

159 Part 2 and whose financial 

operations are regulated and examined 

by a State agency. The capital reserve 

fund shall be established consistent 
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with auditing, budgeting, and 

government accounting practices as 

prescribed in G.S. 159-30 and by the 

Local Government Commission. A 

copy of the capital reserve fund 

ordinance or resolution with a certified 

copy of the meeting minutes and a 

copy of documentation of initial and 

subsequent years' deposits shall be 

submitted to the Division and placed 

in the facility's operating record. 

(B) Payments into the capital reserve fund 

shall be made annually by the unit of 

local government or public authority 

over the term of the initial permit or 

over the remaining life of the facility 

for closure or post-closure care, or 

over one-half of the estimated length 

of the corrective action program when 

a corrective action program is required 

in accordance with Rules .0545 or 

.1637 of this Subchapter. This period 

is referred to as the "pay-in period". 

(C) For a capital reserve fund used to 

demonstrate financial assurance for 

closure and post-closure care, the first 

payment into the fund shall be at least 

equal to the current cost estimate for 

closure or post-closure care, divided 

by the number of years in the pay-in 

period as defined in Part (B) of this 

Subparagraph. The amount of 

subsequent payments shall be 

determined by the following formula: 

Next Payment = [CE-CV]/Y 

where CE is the current cost estimate 

for closure or post-closure care 

(updated for inflation or other 

changes), CV is the current value of 

the capital reserve fund, and Y is the 

number of years remaining in the pay-

in period. 

(D) For a capital reserve fund used to 

demonstrate financial assurance for a 

corrective action program, the first 

payment into the capital reserve fund 

shall be at least equal to one-half of the 

current cost estimate for the corrective 

action program. The total cost of the 

second half of the corrective action 

program period shall be divided into 

subsequent payments determined by 

the following formula: 

Next Payment = [RB-CV]/Y 

where RB is the most recent cost 

estimate for the corrective action 

program, updated for inflation or other 

changes (i.e. the total cost that will be 

incurred during the second half of the 

corrective action period), CV is the 

current value of the capital reserve 

fund, and Y is the number of years 

remaining in the pay-in period. 

(E) The initial payment into the capital 

reserve fund shall be made before the 

initial receipt of waste in the case of 

closure and post-closure care, or no 

later than 120 calendar days after the 

corrective action remedy has been 

selected in accordance with the 

requirements of this Subchapter. 

Subsequent payments shall be made 

no later than 30 calendar days after 

each anniversary date of the first 

payment. 

(F) If the unit of local government or 

public authority establishes a capital 

reserve fund after having used one or 

more alternate mechanisms specified 

in this Rule, the initial payment into 

the capital reserve fund shall be at 

least the amount that the fund would 

contain if the capital reserve fund had 

been established on the initial date that 

the alternate mechanism was 

established, and annual payments to 

the fund had been made according to 

the specifications of this 

Subparagraph. 

(G) The unit of local government or public 

authority authorized to conduct 

closure, post-closure care, or 

corrective action programs may 

expend capital reserve funds to cover 

the remaining costs of closure, post-

closure care, corrective action 

programs, or for the debt service 

payments on financing arrangements 

for closure, post-closure care, or 

corrective action programs. Monies in 

the capital reserve fund shall only be 

used for these purposes unless the fund 

is terminated in accordance with Part 

(I) of this Subparagraph. The unit of 

local government or public authority 

shall document expenditures and 

provide a written justification for each 

expenditure and shall submit a copy to 

the Division and place a copy in the 

operating record. 

(H) The unit of local government or public 

authority shall adjust for inflation or 

any increase or decrease in the amount 

of financial assurance in accordance 

with Rule .1802(b), .1803(b), or 

.1804(b) of this Section. 

(I) To maintain financial assurance, a unit 

of local government or public 
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authority may only terminate a capital 

reserve fund if it substitutes alternate 

financial assurance as specified in this 

Rule or if no longer required to 

demonstrate financial responsibility in 

accordance with the requirements of 

Rules .1802(c), .1803(c), or .1804(c) 

of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-295.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

 

15A NCAC 13B .1806 LANGUAGE OF MECHANISMS FOR FINANCIAL ASSURANCE 

The financial assurance mechanisms set forth in Rule .1805 of this Section shall use the language provided in this Rule, and shall be in 

accordance with 40 CFR 258.74(l). 

(1) Trust Agreement. A trust agreement for a trust fund, as specified in Rule .1805(e)(1) of this Section, shall be worded 

as follows, except that instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

TRUST AGREEMENT 

Trust Agreement, the "Agreement," entered into as of [date] by and between [name of the owner or operator], a [name of State] [insert 

"corporation," "partnership," "association," or "proprietorship"], the "Grantor," and [name of corporate trustee], [insert "incorporated in 

the State of [name of state]" or "a national bank"], the "Trustee." 

Whereas, the Division of Waste Management, the "Division," an agency of the State of North Carolina, has established certain 

regulations applicable to the Grantor, requiring that an owner or operator of a solid waste management facility shall provide assurance 

that funds shall be available when needed for closure, post-closure care, corrective action programs, or potential assessment and 

corrective action of the facility, 

Whereas, the Grantor has elected to establish a trust to provide all or part of such financial assurance for the facilities identified herein, 

Whereas, the Grantor, acting through its duly authorized officers, has selected the Trustee to be the trustee under this agreement, and 

the Trustee is willing to act as trustee. 

Now, therefore, the Grantor and the Trustee agree as follows: 

Section 1. Definitions. As used in this Agreement: 

(a) The term "Grantor" means the owner or operator who enters into this Agreement and any successors or assigns of the Grantor. 

(b) The term "Trustee" means the Trustee who enters into this Agreement and any successor Trustee. 

Section 2. Identification of Facilities and Cost Estimates. This Agreement pertains to the facilities and cost estimates identified on 

schedule A [on schedule A, for each facility list the name, address, Solid Waste Section Permit Number, and the current closure, post-

closure care, corrective action program cost estimates, or portions thereof, for which financial assurance is demonstrated by this 

Agreement]. 

Section 3. Establishment of Fund. The Grantor and the Trustee hereby establish a trust fund, the "Fund," for the benefit of the Division. 

The Grantor and the Trustee intend that no third party have access to the Fund except as herein provided. The Fund is established initially 

as consisting of the property, which is acceptable to the Trustee, described in Schedule B. Such property and any other property 

subsequently transferred to the Trustee is referred to as the Fund, together with all earnings and profits thereon, less any payments or 

distributions made by the Trustee pursuant to this Agreement. The Fund shall be held by the Trustee, IN TRUST, as hereinafter provided. 

The Trustee shall not be responsible, nor shall it undertake any responsibility for the amount or adequacy of, nor any duty to collect 

from the Grantor, any payments necessary to discharge any liabilities of the Grantor established by the Division. 

Section 4. Payment for Closure, Post-Closure Care, and Corrective Action Programs. The Trustee shall make payments from the Fund 

as the Division shall direct, in writing, to provide for the payment of the costs of closure, post-closure care, or corrective action programs 

of the facilities covered by this Agreement. The Trustee shall reimburse the Grantor or other persons as specified by the Division from 

the Fund for closure, post-closure care, and corrective action program expenditures in such amounts as the Division shall direct in 

writing. In addition, the Trustee shall refund to the Grantor such amounts as the Division specifies in writing. upon refund, such funds 

shall no longer constitute part of the Fund as defined herein. 

Section 5. Payments Comprising the Fund. Payments made to the Trustee for the Fund shall consist of cash or securities acceptable to 

the Trustee. 

Section 6. Trustee Management. The Trustee shall invest and reinvest the principal and income of the Fund and keep the Fund invested 

as a single fund, without distinction between principal and income, in accordance with general investment policies and guidelines which 

the Grantor may communicate in writing to the Trustee from time to time, subject, however, to the provisions of this Section. In investing, 

reinvesting, exchanging, selling, and managing the Fund, the Trustee shall discharge his duties with respect to the trust fund solely in 

the interest of the beneficiary and with the care, skill, prudence, and diligence under the circumstances then prevailing which persons of 

prudence, acting in a like capacity and familiar with such matters, would use in the conduct of an enterprise of a like character and with 

like aims; except that: 

(i) Securities or other obligations of the Grantor, or any other owner or operator of the facilities, or any of their affiliates 

as defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, 15 U.S.C. 80a-2.(a), shall not be acquired or held, 

unless they are securities or other obligations of the Federal or State government; 

(ii) The Trustee is authorized to invest the Fund in time or demand deposits of the Trustee, to the extent insured by an 

agency of the Federal or State government; and 
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(iii) The Trustee is authorized to hold cash awaiting investment or distribution uninvested for a reasonable time and without 

liability for the payment of interest thereon. 

Section 7. Commingling and Investment. The Trustee is expressly authorized in its discretion: 

(a)  To transfer from time to time any or all of the assets of the Fund to any common, commingled, or collective trust fund created by 

the Trustee in which the Fund is eligible to participate, subject to all of the provisions thereof, to be commingled with the assets of other 

trusts participating therein; and 

(b)  To purchase shares in any investment company registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C. 80a-1 et seq., 

including one which may be created, managed, underwritten, or to which investment advice is rendered or the shares of which are sold 

by the Trustee. The Trustee may vote such shares in its discretion. 

Section 8. Express Powers of Trustee. Without in any way limiting the powers and discretions conferred upon the Trustee by the other 

provisions of this Agreement or by law, the Trustee is expressly authorized and empowered: 

(a)  To sell, exchange, convey, transfer, or otherwise dispose of any property held by it, by public or private sale. No person dealing 

with the Trustee shall be bound to see to the application of the purchase money or to inquire into the validity or expediency of any such 

sale or other disposition; 

(b)  To make, execute, acknowledge, and deliver any and all documents of transfer and conveyance and any and all other instruments 

that may be necessary or appropriate to carry out the powers herein granted; 

(c)  To register any securities held in the Fund in its own name or in the name of a nominee and to hold any security in bearer form or 

in book entry, or to combine certificates representing such securities with certificates of the same issue held by the Trustee in other 

fiduciary capacities, or to deposit or arrange for the deposit of such securities in a qualified central depository even though, when so 

deposited, such securities may be merged and held in bulk in the name of the nominee of such depository with other securities deposited 

therein by another person, or to deposit or arrange for the deposit of any securities issued by the United States Government, or any 

agency or instrumentality thereof, with a Federal Reserve bank, but the books and records of the Trustee shall at all times show that all 

such securities are part of the Fund; 

(d)  To deposit any cash in the Fund in interest-bearing accounts maintained or savings certificates issued by the Trustee, in its separate 

corporate capacity, or in any other banking institution affiliated with the Trustee, to the extent insured by an agency of the Federal or 

State government; and 

(e)  To compromise or otherwise adjust all claims in favor of or against the Fund. 

Section 9. Taxes and Expenses. All taxes of any kind that may be assessed or levied against or in respect of the Fund and all brokerage 

commissions incurred by the Fund shall be paid from the Fund. All other expenses incurred by the Trustee in connection with the 

administration of this Trust, including fees for legal services rendered to the Trustee, the compensation of the Trustee to the extent not 

paid directly by the Grantor, and all other proper charges and disbursements of the Trustee shall be paid from the fund. 

Section 10. Annual Valuation. The Trustee shall annually, at least 30 days prior to the anniversary date of establishment of the Fund, 

furnish to the Grantor and to the Division a statement confirming the value of the Trust. Any securities in the fund shall be valued at 

market value as of no more than 60 days prior to the anniversary date of establishment of the Fund. The failure of the Grantor to object 

in writing to the Trustee within 90 days after the statement has been furnished to the Grantor and the Division shall constitute a 

conclusively binding assent by the Grantor, barring the Grantor from asserting any claim or liability against the Trustee with respect to 

matters disclosed in the statement. 

Section 11. Advice of Counsel. The Trustee may from time to time consult with counsel, who may be counsel to the Grantor, with 

respect to any question arising as to the construction of this Agreement or any action to be taken hereunder. The Trustee shall be fully 

protected, to the extent permitted by law, in acting upon the advice of counsel. 

Section 12. Trustee Compensation. The Trustee shall be entitled to reasonable compensation for its services as agreed upon in writing 

from time to time with the Grantor. 

Section 13. Successor Trustee. The Trustee may resign or the Grantor may replace the Trustee, but such resignation or replacement shall 

not be effective until the Grantor has appointed a successor Trustee and this successor accepts the appointment. The successor Trustee 

shall have the same powers and duties as those conferred upon the Trustee hereunder. Upon the successor Trustee's acceptance of the 

appointment, the Trustee shall assign, transfer, and pay over to the successor Trustee the funds and properties then constituting the Fund. 

If for any reason the Grantor cannot or does not act in the event of the resignation of the Trustee, the Trustee may apply to a court of 

competent jurisdiction for the appointment of a successor trustee or for instructions. The successor trustee shall specify the date on 

which it assumes administration of the trust in writing sent to the Grantor, the division, and the present Trustee by certified mail 10 days 

before such change becomes effective. Any expenses incurred by the Trustee as a result of any of the acts contemplated by this Section 

shall be paid as provided in section 9. 

Section 14. Instructions to the Trustee. All orders, requests, and instructions by the Grantor to the Trustee shall be in writing, signed by 

such persons as are designated in the exhibit a or such other designees as the Grantor may designate by amendment to Exhibit A. The 

trustee shall be fully protected in acting without inquiry in accordance with the Grantor's orders, requests, and instructions. All orders, 

requests, and instructions by the Division to the Trustee shall be in writing, signed by the Division, or his designee, and the Trustee shall 

act and shall be fully protected in acting in accordance with such orders, requests, and instructions. The Trustee shall have the right to 

assume, in the absence of written notice to the contrary, that no event constituting a change or a termination of the authority of any 

person to act on behalf of the Grantor or Division hereunder has occurred. The trustee shall have no duty to act in the absence of such 

orders, requests, and instructions from the grantor or division, except as provided for herein. 
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Section 15. Notice of Nonpayment. The Trustee shall notify the Grantor and the Division by certified mail within 10 days following 

expiration of the 30-day period after the anniversary of the establishment of the Trust, if no payment is received from the Grantor during 

that period. After the pay-in period is completed, the Trustee shall not be required to send a notice of nonpayment. 

Section 16. Amendment of Agreement. This Agreement may be amended by an instrument in writing executed by the Grantor, the 

Trustee, and the Division, or by the Trustee and the Division if the Grantor ceases to exist. 

Section 17. Irrevocability and Termination. Subject to the right of the parties to amend this Agreement as provided in section 16, this 

Trust shall be irrevocable and shall continue until terminated at the written agreement of the Grantor, the Trustee, and the Division, or 

by the Trustee and the Division, if the Grantor ceases to exist. Upon termination of the Trust, all remaining trust property, less final trust 

administration expenses, shall be delivered to the Grantor. 

Section 18. Immunity and Indemnification. The Trustee shall not incur personal liability of any nature in connection with any act or 

omission, made in good faith, in the administration of this Trust, or in carrying out any directions by the Grantor or the Division issued 

in accordance with this Agreement. The Trustee shall be indemnified and saved harmless by the Grantor or from the Trust fund, or both, 

from and against any personal liability to which the Trustee may be subjected by reason of any act or conduct in its official capacity, 

including all expenses reasonably incurred in its defense in the event the Grantor fails to provide such defense. 

Section 19. Choice of Law. This Agreement shall be administered, construed, and enforced according to the laws of the State of North 

Carolina. 

Section 20. Interpretation. As used in this agreement, words in the singular include the plural and words in the plural include the singular. 

The descriptive headings for each Section of this Agreement shall not affect the interpretation or the legal efficacy of this Agreement. 

In Witness Whereof the parties have caused this Agreement to be executed by their respective officers duly authorized and their corporate 

seals to be hereunto affixed and attested as of the date first above written: The parties below certify that the wording of this agreement 

is identical to the wording specified in 15A NCAC 13B .1806(1) as were constituted on the date first above written. 

[Signature of Grantor] 

[Title] 

Attest: [insert name of Corporation's Senior Management] 

[Title] 

[Seal] 

State of North Carolina 

County of [Name of County] 

On this [date], before me personally came [name of owner or operator] to me known, who, being by me duly sworn, did depose and say 

that she/he resides at [address], that she/he is [title] of [corporation], the corporation described in and which executed the above 

instrument; that she/he knows the seal of said corporation; that the seal affixed to such instrument is such corporate seal; that it was so 

affixed by order of the Board of Directors of said corporation, and that she/he signed her/his name thereto by like order. 

Witness my hand and official seal this [Day] day of [Month], 20[Year]. 

[insert Signature of Notary] 

Official Signature of Notary 

[Notary's printed or typed name] 

Notary Public 

[Official Seal] 

My commission expires: [insert Date of Commission Expiration] 

[Or for no corporate seal, see 15A NCAC 13B .1805(c) and utilize the certification of acknowledgement below] 

State of North Carolina 

County of [Name of County] 

I, [Name of Officer Taking Acknowledgment], a [Official Title of Officer Taking Acknowledgment], certify that [Name of Corporate 

Officer] personally came before me this day and acknowledged that he/she is [Title of Corporate Officer] of [insert Legal Name of 

Corporation], a corporation, and that he/she, as [insert Title of Officer], being authorized to do so, executed the foregoing on behalf of 

the corporation. 

Witness my hand and official seal this [Day] day of [Month], 20[Year]. 

[insert Signature of Notary] 

Official Signature of Notary 

[Notary's printed or typed name] 

Notary Public 

[Official Seal] 

My commission expires: [insert Date of Commission Expiration] 

[Signature of Trustee] 

[Title] 

Attest: [insert name] 

[Title] 

[Seal] 

State of North Carolina 
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County of [Name of County] 

I, [Name of Officer Taking Acknowledgment], a [Official Title of Officer Taking Acknowledgment], certify that [Name of Corporate 

Officer] personally came before me this day and acknowledged that he/she is [Title of Corporate Officer] of [insert Legal Name of 

Corporation], a corporation, and that he/she, as [insert Title of Officer], being authorized to do so, executed the foregoing on behalf of 

the corporation. 

Witness my hand and official seal this [Day] day of [Month], 20[Year]. 

[insert Signature of Notary] 

Official Signature of Notary 

[Notary's printed or typed name] 

Notary Public 

[Official Seal] 

My commission expires: [insert Date of Commission Expiration] 

Schedule A for Trust Agreement 

[For Each Facility:] 

Facility Name: [Facility Name] 

Facility Address: [Facility Address] 

Permit Number: [Permit Number] 

Closure Costs: $ [Amount] 

Post-Closure Care Costs: $ [Amount] 

Corrective Action Program: $ [Amount] 

Potential Assessment and Corrective Action: $ [Amount] 

Total Aggregate Amount to be Funded by this Trust: $ [Amount] 

Schedule B for Trust Agreement 

[For Standby Trust] 

Trust Property: This Fund shall consist of funds drawn from [insert type of mechanism] [ex. Letter of credit No.[insert number] dated 

[date] issued by [name of bank] at such time said funds are directly deposited into the Trust account. 

[For Funded Trust] 

Trust Property: This Fund shall consist of cash in the amount of $[insert cash amount]. [Aggregate full amount of closure, post-closure 

care, any corrective action program, and potential assessment and corrective action from Schedule A.] 

OR, for pay-in period over the term of the initial permit or the remaining life of the solid waste management facility, include a payment 

schedule. 

Trust Property: This Fund shall consist of annual cash payments made in accordance with the following schedule: 

[For Funded Trusts: For Each Facility:] 

Facility Name: [Facility Name] 

Facility Address: [Facility Address] 

Permit Number: [Permit Number] 

Initial Payment of $[insert dollar amount] on [date of execution] for Cell 1 [insert date Agreement is executed.] 

Subsequent payment of $[insert dollar amount], payable on [anniversary date of execution]. 

Subsequent payment of $[insert dollar amount], payable on [anniversary date of execution]. 

Subsequent payment of $[insert dollar amount], payable on [anniversary date of execution] 

Subsequent payment of $[insert dollar amount], payable on [anniversary date of execution] 

Subsequent payment of $[insert dollar amount], payable on [anniversary date of execution] 

Account Information: 

Account Number assigned to this Trust Agreement: [Account Number] 

Amount of Deposit: [Amount of Deposit (zero dollars if used for a standby trust)] 

Date: [Date] 

Bank/Branch location for this trust account: 

Bank/Branch Name: [Bank/Branch Name] 

Location Address: [Location Address] 

City & State: [City & State] 

Contact Person at Bank: 

Name: [Name] 

Title: [Title] 

Phone Number: [Phone Number] 

Exhibit A for Trust Agreement 

The following persons, acting singly or collectively, shall have the right to issue instructions to the Trustee pursuant to Section 14 of the 

Agreement: 

Name: [insert name] 

Position: [insert position] 
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(2) A surety bond guaranteeing performance of closure, post-closure care, and corrective action programs as specified in 

Rule .1805(e)(2) of this Section shall be worded as follows, except that instructions in brackets are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

PERFORMANCE BOND 

Date bond executed: 

Effective date: 

Principal: [legal name and business address of owner or operator] 

Type of organization: [insert "individual", "joint venture", "partnership", or "corporation"] 

State of incorporation: 

Surety(ies): [name(s) and business address(es)] 

[For Each Facility] 

Solid Waste Section Permit Number: [insert NCDEQ permit number] 

Facility name: [insert facility name] 

Facility address: [insert facility address] 

Closure cost: [insert approved closure cost] 

Post-closure care cost: [insert approved post-closure care cost] 

Corrective action program cost: [insert current corrective action program cost] 

Total penal sum of bond: $[insert total sum of bond] 

Liability Limit: $ [insert bonding company's liability limit] 

Surety's bond number: [insert issued bond number] 

Know All Persons By These Presents, That we, the Principal and Surety(ies) hereto are firmly bound to the North Carolina Division of 

Waste Management (hereinafter called the Division), in the above penal sum for the payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, 

executors, administrators, successors, and assigns jointly and severally; provided that, where the Surety(ies) are corporations acting as 

co-sureties, we, the Sureties, bind ourselves in such sum "jointly and severally" only for the purpose of allowing a joint action or actions 

against any or all of us, and for all other purposes each Surety binds itself, jointly and severally with the Principal, for the payment of 

such sum only as is set forth opposite the name of such Surety, but if no limit of liability is indicated, the limit of liability shall be the 

full amount of the penal sum. 

Whereas, said Principal is required, under 15A NCAC 13B as amended, to have a permit in order to own or operate each solid waste 

management facility identified above, and 

Whereas, said Principal is required to provide financial assurance for closure, post-closure care, or corrective action programs as a 

condition of the permit, and 

Whereas, said Principal shall establish a standby trust fund as is required when a surety bond is used to provide such financial assurance; 

Now, Therefore, the conditions of this obligation are such that if the Principal shall faithfully perform closure, whenever required to do 

so, of each facility for which this bond guarantees closure, in accordance with the closure plan and other requirements of the permit, as 

such plan and permit may be amended, pursuant to all applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations, as such laws, statutes, rules, and 

regulations may be amended, 

And, if the Principal shall faithfully perform post-closure care of each facility for which this bond guarantees post-closure care, in 

accordance with the post-closure care plan and other requirements of the permit, as such plan and permit may be amended, pursuant to 

all applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations as such laws, statutes, rules, and regulations may be amended, 

And, if the Principal shall faithfully perform corrective action of each facility for which this bond guarantees corrective action, in 

accordance with the corrective action program and other requirements of the permit, as such program and permit may be amended, 

pursuant to all applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations as such laws, statutes, rules, and regulations may be amended, 

Or, if the Principal shall provide alternate financial assurance and obtain the Division's written approval of such assurance, within 90 

days after the date notice of cancellation is received by both the Principal and the Division from the Surety(ies), then this obligation 

shall be null and void, otherwise it is to remain in full force and effect. 

The Surety(ies) shall become liable on this bond obligation only when the Principal has failed to fulfill the conditions described above. 

Upon notification by the Division that the Principal has been found in violation of the closure requirements for a facility for which this 

bond guarantees performance of closure, the Surety(ies) shall either perform closure in accordance with the closure plan and other permit 

requirements or place the closure amount guaranteed for the facility into the standby trust fund as directed by the Division. 

Upon notification by the Division that the Principal has been found in violation of the post-closure care requirements for a facility for 

which this bond guarantees performance of post-closure care, the Surety(ies) shall either perform post-closure care in accordance with 

the post-closure care plan and other permit requirements or place the post-closure care amount guaranteed for the facility into the standby 

trust fund as directed by the Division. 

Upon notification by the Division that the Principal has been found in violation of the corrective action requirements for a facility for 

which this bond guarantees performance of corrective action, the Surety(ies) shall either perform corrective action in accordance with 

the corrective action program and other permit requirements or place the corrective action amount guaranteed for the facility into the 

standby trust fund as directed by the Division. 

Upon notification by the Division that the Principal has failed to provide alternate financial assurance and obtain written approval of 

such assurance from the Division during the 90 days following receipt by both the Principal and the Division of a notice of cancellation 
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of the bond, the Surety(ies) shall place funds in the amount guaranteed for the facility(ies) into the standby trust fund as directed by the 

Division. 

The Surety(ies) hereby waive(s) notification of amendments to closure and post-closure care plans, and corrective action programs, 

permits, applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations and agrees that no such amendment shall in any way alleviate its (their) 

obligation on this bond. 

The liability of the Surety(ies) shall not be discharged by any payment or succession of payments hereunder, unless and until such 

payment or payments shall amount in the aggregate to the penal sum of the bond, but in no event shall the obligation of the Surety(ies) 

hereunder exceed the amount of said penal sum. 

The Surety(ies) may cancel the bond by sending notice of cancellation by certified mail to the owner or operator and to the Division, 

provided, however, that cancellation shall not occur during the 120 days beginning on the date of receipt of the notice of cancellation 

by both the Principal and the Division, as evidenced by the return receipts. 

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending written notice to the Surety(ies), provided, however, that no such notice shall become 

effective until the Surety(ies) receive(s) written authorization for termination of the bond by the Division. 

[The following paragraph is an optional rider that may be included but is not required.] 

Principal and Surety(ies) hereby agree to adjust the penal sum of the bond yearly so that it guarantees a new closure, post-closure care, 

or corrective action program amount, provided that the penal sum does not increase by more than 20 percent in any one year, and no 

decrease in the penal sum takes place without the written permission of the Division. 

In Witness Whereof, The Principal and Surety(ies) have executed this Performance Bond and have affixed their seals on the date set 

forth above. 

The persons whose signatures appear below hereby certify that they are authorized to execute this surety bond on behalf of the Principal 

and Surety(ies) and that the wording of this surety bond is identical to the wording specified in 15A NCAC 13B .1806(2) as was 

constituted on the date this bond was executed. 

Principal 

[Signature(s)] 

[Name(s)] 

[Title(s)] 

[Corporate seal] 

[For no corporate seal, see Rule .1805(c)] 

Corporate Surety(ies) 

[Names and address of contact] 

State of incorporation: Surety's state of incorporation] 

Liability limit: $ [Surety's liability limit] 

[Signature(s)] 

[Names(s) and title(s)] 

[Corporate seal] 

[For no corporate seal, see Rule .1805(c)] 

[For every co-surety, provide signature(s), corporate seal, and other information in the same manner as for Surety above.] 

Bond premium: $ [bond premium] 

(3) A surety bond guaranteeing payment of closure and post-closure care as specified in Rule .1805(e)(2) of this Section 

shall be worded as follows, except that instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant information and 

the brackets deleted: 

PAYMENT BOND 

Date bond executed: [insert date of bond execution] 

Effective date: [insert effective date] 

Principal: [legal name and business address of owner or operator] 

Type of organization: [insert "individual", "joint venture", "partnership", or "corporation"] 

State of incorporation: [insert state of incorporation] 

Surety(ies): [name(s), business address(es), and contact information] 

[For Each Facility] 

Solid Waste Section Permit Number: [insert NCDEQ permit number] 

Facility name: [insert facility name] 

Facility address: [insert facility address] 

Closure cost: [insert dollar amount for closure] 

Post-closure care cost: [insert dollar amount for post-closure care] 

Total penal sum of bond: $[insert total cost of the bond] 

Liability Limit: $[insert underwriting limit of the surety company] 

Surety's bond number: [insert bond number issued by surety] 

Know All Persons By These Presents, That we, the Principal and Surety(ies) hereto are firmly bound to the North Carolina Division of 

Waste Management (hereinafter called the Division), in the above penal sum for the payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, 
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executors, administrators, successors, and assigns jointly and severally; provided that, where the Surety(ies) are corporations acting as 

co-sureties, we, the Sureties, bind ourselves in such sum "jointly and severally" only for the purpose of allowing a joint action or actions 

against any or all of us, and for all other purposes each Surety binds itself, jointly and severally with the Principal, for the payment of 

such sum only as is set forth opposite the name of such Surety, but if no limit of liability is indicated, the limit of liability shall be the 

full amount of the penal sum. 

Whereas, said Principal is required, 15A NCAC 13B as amended, to have a permit in order to own or operate each solid waste 

management facility identified above, and 

Whereas, said Principal is required to provide financial assurance for closure or post-closure care as a condition of the permit, and 

Whereas, said Principal shall establish a standby trust fund as is required when a surety bond is used to provide such financial assurance; 

Now, Therefore, the conditions of the obligation are such that if the Principal shall faithfully, before the beginning of final closure and 

post-closure of each facility identified above, fund the standby trust fund in the amount(s) identified above for the facility, 

Or, if the Principal shall fund the standby trust fund in such amount(s) within 15 days after a final order to begin closure and post-closure 

care is issued by the Division or a U.S. district court or other court of competent jurisdiction, 

Or, if the Principal shall provide alternate financial assurance and obtain the Division's written approval of such assurance, within 90 

days after the date notice of cancellation is received by both the Principal and the Division from the Surety(ies), then this obligation 

shall be null and void; otherwise it is to remain in full force and effect. 

The Surety(ies) shall become liable on this bond obligation only when the Principal has failed to fulfill the conditions described above. 

Upon notification by the Division that the Principal has failed to perform as guaranteed by this bond, the Surety(ies) shall place funds 

in the amount guaranteed for the facility(ies) into the standby trust fund as directed by the Division. 

The liability of the Surety(ies) shall not be discharged by any payment or succession of payments hereunder, unless and until such 

payment or payments shall amount in the aggregate to the penal sum of the bond, but in no event shall the obligation of the Surety(ies) 

hereunder exceed the amount of said penal sum. 

The Surety(ies) may cancel the bond by sending notice of cancellation by certified mail to the Principal and to the Division, provided, 

however, that cancellation shall not occur during the 120 days beginning on the date of receipt of the notice of cancellation by both the 

Principal and the Division, as evidenced by the return receipts. 

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending written notice to the Surety(ies), provided, however, that no such notice shall become 

effective until the Surety(ies) receive(s) written authorization for termination of the bond by the Division. 

[The following paragraph is an optional rider that may be included but is not required.] 

Principal and Surety(ies) hereby agree to adjust the penal sum of the bond yearly so that it guarantees a new closure, post-closure care, 

or corrective action program amount, provided that the penal sum does not increase by more than 20 percent in any one year, and no 

decrease in the penal sum takes place without the written permission of the Division. 

In Witness Whereof, the Principal and Surety(ies) have executed this Financial Guarantee Bond and have affixed their seals on the date 

set forth above. 

The persons whose signatures appear below hereby certify that they are authorized to execute this surety bond on behalf of the Principal 

and Surety(ies) and that the wording of this surety bond has not been changed as were constituted on the date this bond was executed. 

Principal 

[Signature(s)] 

[Name(s)] 

[Title(s)] 

[Corporate seal] 

[For no corporate seal, see Rule .1805(c)] 

Corporate Surety(ies) 

[Name and address] 

State of incorporation: [Surety's state of incorporation] 

Liability limit: $[Surety's liability limit] 

[Signature(s)] 

[Name(s) and title(s)] 

[Corporate seal] 

[For no corporate seal, see Rule .1805(c)] 

[For each co-surety, provide signature(s), corporate seal, and other information in the same manner as for Surety above.] 

Bond premium: $[bond premium] 

(4) A letter of credit, as specified in Rule .1805(e)(3) of this Section, shall be worded as follows, except that instructions 

in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF CREDIT 

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality 

Division of Waste Management 

Solid Waste Section 

1646 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646 
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Dear Sir/Madam: 

We hereby establish our Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit No. [insert mechanism number] in your favor, at the request and for the 

account of [owner's or operator's name and address] up to the aggregate amount of [in words] U.S. dollars $[insert U.S. dollar amount], 

available upon presentation of 

(1) your sight draft, bearing reference to this letter of credit No. [insert mechanism number], and 

(2) your signed statement reading as follows: "I certify that the amount of the draft is payable pursuant to requirements of N.C. General 

Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 15A NCAC 13B because the applicant has failed to properly close and clean up the solid waste management 

facility, to perform post-closure maintenance and monitoring at the facility, or to remediate the facility in accordance with applicable 

statutes, rules and permit conditions." 

This letter of credit is effective as of [date] and shall expire on [date at least 1 year later], but such expiration date shall be automatically 

extended for a period of [at least 1 year] on [date] and on each successive expiration date, unless, at least 120 days before the current 

expiration date, we notify both you and [owner's or operator's name] by certified mail that we have decided not to extend this letter of 

credit beyond the current expiration date. In the event you are so notified, any unused portion of the credit shall be available upon 

presentation of your sight draft for 120 days after the date of receipt by both you and [owner's or operator's name], as shown on the 

signed return receipts. 

Whenever this letter of credit is drawn on, under and in compliance with the terms of this credit, we shall duly honor such draft upon 

presentation to us, and we shall deposit the amount of the draft directly into the standby trust fund of [owner's or operator 's name] in 

accordance with your instructions. 

We certify that the wording of this letter of credit is identical to the wording specified in 15A NCAC 13B .1806(4) as were constituted 

on the date shown immediately below. 

[Signature(s) and title(s) of official(s) of issuing institution], [Date] 

This credit is subject to [insert "the most recent edition of the Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits, published by the 

International Chamber of Commerce," or "the Uniform Commercial Code"]. 

(5) A certificate of insurance, as specified in Rule .1805(e)(4) of this Section, shall be worded as follows, except that 

instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE FOR CLOSURE OR POST-CLOSURE CARE 

Name and Address of Insurer 

(herein called the "Insurer"): 

Name and Address of Insured 

(herein called the "Insured"): 

Facilities Covered: [List for each facility: The Solid Waste Section Permit Number, name, address, and the amount of insurance for 

closure or the amount for post-closure care (these amounts for all facilities covered shall total the face amount shown below).] 

Face Amount: [insert dollar amount of face value] 

Policy Number: [insert insurance policy number] 

Effective Date: [insert effective date] 

The Insurer hereby certifies that it has issued to the Insured the policy of insurance identified above to provide financial assurance for 

[insert "closure" or "closure and post-closure care" or "post-closure care"] for the facilities identified above. 

The Insurer further warrants that such policy conforms in all respects with the requirements of 40 CFR 258.74(d)(July 1, 2010 edition) 

and 15A NCAC 13B .1805, as applicable and as such regulations were constituted on the date shown immediately below. It is agreed 

that any provision of the policy inconsistent with such regulations is hereby amended to eliminate such inconsistency. 

Whenever requested by the North Carolina Division of Waste Management (Division), the Insurer agrees to furnish to the Division a 

duplicate original of the policy listed above, including all endorsements thereon. 

I hereby certify that the wording of this certificate is identical to the wording specified in 15A NCAC 13B .1806(5) as were constituted 

on the date shown immediately below. 

[Authorized signature for Insurer] 

[Name of person signing] 

[Title of person signing] 

Signature of witness or notary: 

[Date] 

(6) A corporate financial test, as specified in Rule .1805(e)(5) of this Section, shall be worded as follows, except that 

instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

CORPORATE FINANCIAL TEST 

[Date] 

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality 

Division of Waste Management 

Solid Waste Section Chief 

1646 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1646 

Dear Sir/Madam: 
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I am the chief financial officer of [name and address of firm]. This letter is in support of this firm's use of the corporate financial test to 

demonstrate financial assurance for closure, post-closure care, corrective action programs, and potential assessment and corrective action 

(if applicable), as specified in the Solid Waste Management Act, North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 

258.74(e)(July 1, 2010 edition). 

[For each solid waste management facility, including its permit identification number, name, address, and closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action programs, and potential assessment and corrective action (if applicable) cost estimates. Identify for each cost estimate 

whether it is for closure or post-closure care, corrective action programs, or potential assessment and corrective action.] 

The firm is the owner or operator of the following solid waste management facilities for which financial assurance for closure, post-

closure care, corrective action programs, and potential assessment and corrective action (if applicable), is demonstrated through the 

corporate financial test. The current cost estimates for closure, post-closure care, corrective action programs, and potential assessment 

and corrective action (if applicable), covered by the test are shown for each facility: 

Name: [insert legal entity /principal name] 

Office Address: [insert physical address of legal entity/principal] 

Facility Address: [insert physical address of permitted facility] 

Permit No.: [insert NCDEQ issued permit number] 

Closure Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for closure] 

Post-Closure Care Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for post-closure care] 

Corrective Action Program Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for current corrective action program] 

Potential Assessment and Corrective Action Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for potential assessment and corrective action] 

Identify any underground injection control (UIC) facilities under 15A NCAC 02D .0400 and 15A NCAC 02C .0200, petroleum 

underground storage tank (UST) facilities under 15A NCAC 02N .0100 through .0800, polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) storage facilities 

under 15A NCAC 02O .0100 and 15A NCAC 02N .0100, and hazardous waste treatment, storage, and disposal facilities (TSDF's) under 

15A NCAC 13A .0109 and .0110 that are owned by either the owner/operator or the guarantor and/or are facilities that are covered by 

a financial test or corporate guarantee. Provide a separate description for each type of facility, if applicable (if not applicable write 

"None"). 

Name: [insert legal entity/principal name] 

Office Address: [insert physical address of legal entity/principal] 

Facility Address: [insert physical address of permitted facility] 

Permit No.: [insert NCDEQ issued permit number] 

Closure Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for closure] 

Post-Closure Care Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for post-closure care] 

Corrective Action Program Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for current corrective action program] 

Potential Assessment and Corrective Action Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for potential assessment and corrective action] 

This firm [insert "is required" or "is not required"] to file a Form 10K with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for the latest 

fiscal year. 

The fiscal year of this firm ends on [month, day]. The figures for the following items marked with an asterisk are derived from this 

firm's independently audited, year-end financial statements for the latest completed fiscal year, ended [date]. 

Fill in all applicable parts of the Financial Test and either Alternative I, or Alternative II, or Alternative III below. 

Financial Test 

1. Sum of current closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, and potential assessment and corrective action cost estimates (if 

applicable) and guarantees from all of the solid waste management facilities in paragraphs 1 or 2 above: $ [insert dollar amount] 

2. All other cost estimates and guarantees required for UIC facilities, petroleum UST facilities, PCB storage facilities, and TSDF's listed 

in paragraph 3 above. $ [insert dollar amount] 

3. Tangible net worth (defined as tangible assets – liabilities. Tangible assets do not include intangibles such as goodwill or rights to 

patents and royalties). $ [insert dollar amount] 

4. Net Worth $ [insert dollar amount] 

5. Total liabilities - If any portion of the current closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, and potential assessment and 

corrective action cost estimates (if applicable), or guarantees identified above are recognized as liabilities in the audited financial 

statements, you must submit a special report from the independent certified public accountant (CPA), unless you can answer "yes" to 

item # 9. $ [insert dollar amount] 

6. The sum of net income plus depreciation, depletion, and amortization (Use for Alternative III): $ [insert dollar amount] 

7. Total assets in the U.S.: $ [insert dollar amount] 

8. Sum of line 1 plus line 2 from above and any other environmental obligations covered by a financial test: $ [insert dollar amount] 

9. Is line 3 greater than the sum of line 8 plus $10 million? [Yes or No] 

If "No", and you have provided a report from the independent CPA that the environmental obligations have been recognized as liabilities 

in the audited financial statements, then go to Item 9(a). 

9a. Is line 3 greater than the sum of $10 million plus any guarantees not recognized as liabilities? [Yes or No] 

10. Is line 7 greater than line 8? [Yes or No] 
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If the financial data provided for items 3 through 7 above differs from what was provided in the audited financial statements, a special 

report from the certified public accountant shall be provided as described in 40 CFR 258.74(e)(2)(i)(C). 

Alternative I 

1. Current bond rating of most recent senior unsubordinated bond issue of this firm and name of rating service: [current bond rating and 

name of rating service] 

2. Date of bond issue: [insert date of bond issued] 

3. Date of final maturity of bond: [insert final maturity date of bond] 

Alternative II 

1. Is the above line 5 divided by the above line 4 less than 1.5? [Yes or No] 

Alternative III 

1. Is (the above line 6 minus $10 million) divided by the above line 5 greater than 0.1? [Yes or No] 

As evidence that [Firm] meets the conditions of the Corporate Financial Test, attached hereto is a copy of the following: 

Please check applicable responses. 

( ) 1. Independent CPA's unqualified opinion of our financial statements for our latest completed fiscal year. 

( ) 2. Special report from CPA, if financial data in this letter is different than in audited financial statements. [See 40 CFR 

258.74(e)(2)(i)(C)]. 

( ) 3. Report from CPA (if answer to item #9 of the financial test is No) verifying all of covered environmental obligations covered 

by test have been recognized as liabilities in the audited financial statements, how the obligations were measured and reported, and that 

tangible net worth of the firm is at least $10 million dollars plus the amount of any guarantees not recognized as liabilities. [See 40 CFR 

258.74(e)(2)(i)(D)] 

I hereby certify that [name of firm] meets the requirements of [Fill in Alternative I, Alternative II, or Alternative III] in support of [name 

of facility(s)] use of the corporate financial test to demonstrate financial assurance as required by the Solid Waste Management Act, 

North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 258.74(e)(July 1, 2010 edition). 

[Signature] 

[Name] 

[Title] 

[Date] 

(7) A local government financial test, as specified in Rule .1805(e)(6) of this Section, shall be worded as follows, except 

that instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER 

[Address to the Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646.] 

I am the chief financial officer of [name and address of unit of local government]. This letter is in support of this unit of local 

government's use of the financial test to demonstrate financial assurance, as specified in 15A NCAC 13B .1805(e)(6). 

[Fill out the following paragraph regarding the solid waste management facilities and associated cost estimates. For each facility, include 

its permit number, name, address and current closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, or potential assessment and corrective 

action cost estimates. Identify each cost estimate as to whether it is for closure, post-closure care, or a corrective action program.] 

This unit of local government is the owner or operator of the following facilities for which financial assurance for closure, post-closure 

care, corrective action programs, or potential assessment and corrective action is demonstrated through the financial test specified in 

15A NCAC 13B .1805(e)(6). The current closure, post-closure care, corrective action programs, or potential assessment and corrective 

action cost estimates covered by the test are shown for each facility: 

[For Each Facility] 

Solid Waste Section Permit Number: [insert NCDEQ issued permit number] 

Facility name:[insert facility name] 

Facility address: [insert physical address of facility] 

Closure cost: [insert dollar amount of closure] 

Post-closure care cost: [insert dollar amount of post-closure] 

Corrective action program cost: [insert dollar amount of current corrective action] 

Potential assessment and corrective action cost: [insert dollar amount of potential assessment and corrective action] 

Total Costs to be Assured: [Total Costs to be Assured by this test – include costs for all facilities]: 

The fiscal year of this unit of local government ends on [month, day, year]. The Indicators of Financial Strength section below is based 

off of the local government's financial strength of the previous year, as indicated by general accounting practices. 

[Local Government completing the Local Government Test are to either complete the Ratio Indicator of Financial Strength or the Bond 

Rating Indicator of Financial Strength section below.] 

RATIO INDICATORS OF FINANCIAL STRENGTH 

1. Sum of current closure, post-closure care, and corrective action program cost estimates [total of all cost estimates shown in the 

paragraphs above] $[insert dollar amount of all cost estimates/environmental liability for solid waste management facilities] 

2. Sum of cash and investments: $ [insert dollar amount] 

3. Total expenditures: $ [insert dollar amount] 
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4. Annual debt service: $ [insert dollar amount] 

5. Assured environmental costs to demonstrate financial responsibility in the following amounts under Division rules: 

Solid Waste Management Facilities under 15A NCAC 13B: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Hazardous waste treatment, storage, and disposal facilities under 15A NCAC 13A .0109 and .0110: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Petroleum underground storage tanks under 15A NCAC 02N .0100 - .0800: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Underground injection control system facilities under 15A NCAC 02D .0400 and 15A NCAC 02C .0200: $ [insert dollar 

amount] 

PCB commercial storage facilities under 15A NCAC 02O .0100 and 15A NCAC 02N .0100: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Total assured environmental costs: $ [insert total dollar amount] 

6. Total Annual Revenue: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Circle either "yes" or "no" to the following questions. 

7. Is line 5 divided by line 6 less than or equal to 0.43? yes/no 

8. Is line 2 divided by line 3 greater than or equal to 0.05? yes/no 

9. Is line 4 divided by line 3 less than or equal to 0.20? yes/no 

BOND RATING INDICATOR OF FINANCIAL STRENGTH 

1. Sum of current closure, post-closure care, and corrective action program cost estimates [total of all cost estimates shown in the 

paragraphs above]: $ [insert dollar amount of all cost estimates/environmental liability for solid waste management facilities] 

2. Current bond rating of most recent issuance and name of rating service: [insert bond rating and name of rating service] 

3. Date of issuance bond: [insert date of issuance] 

4. Date of maturity of bond: [insert date of maturity] 

5. Assured environmental costs to demonstrate financial responsibility in the following amounts under Division rules: 

Solid Waste Management Facilities under 15A NCAC 13B: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Hazardous waste treatment, storage and disposal facilities under 15A NCAC 13A .0109 and .0110: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Petroleum underground storage tanks under 15A NCAC 02N .0100 - .0800: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Underground injection control system facilities under 15A NCAC 02D .0400 and 15A NCAC 02C .0200: $ [insert dollar 

amount] 

PCB commercial storage facilities under 15A NCAC 02O .0100 and 15A NCAC 02N .0100: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Total assured environmental costs: $ [insert dollar amount] 

6. Total Annual Revenue: $ [insert dollar amount] 

Circle either "yes" or "no" to the following question. 

7. Is line 5 divided by line 6 less than or equal to 0.43? yes/no 

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to the wording specified in 15A NCAC 13B .1806(7) as such rules were 

constituted on the date shown immediately below. I further certify the following: (1) that the unit of local government has not operated 

at a total operating fund deficit equal to five percent or more of total annual revenue in either of the past two fiscal years, (2) that the 

unit of local government is not in default on any outstanding general obligations bonds or long-term obligations, and (3) does not have 

any outstanding general obligation bonds rated lower than Baa as issued by Moody's, BBB as issued by Standard & Poor's, BBB as 

issued by Fitch's, or 75 as issued by the Municipal Council. 

[Signature] 

[Name] 

[Title] 

[Date] 

(8) A corporate guarantee, as specified in Rule .1805(e)(7) of this Section, shall be worded as follows, except that 

instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

CORPORATE GUARANTEE 

[Date] 

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality 

Division of Waste Management 

Solid Waste Section Chief 

1646 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1646 

Dear Sir/Madam: 

I am the chief financial officer of [name and address of guarantor]. This letter is in support of this firm's use of the corporate guarantee 

to demonstrate financial assurance on behalf of [owner or operator name, address, permit number] for current closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action program, and potential assessment and corrective action cost estimates (if applicable), as specified in the Solid Waste 

Management Act, North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 258.74(g)(July 1, 2010 edition). 

[For each solid waste management facility, including its permit identification number, name, address, and current closure, post-closure 

care, corrective action program, or potential assessment and corrective action cost estimates (if applicable). Identify for each cost 

estimate whether it is for closure, post-closure care, corrective action programs, or potential assessment and corrective action.] 
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This firm guarantees, through the corporate guarantee attached to this letter as Exhibit A, the current closure, post-closure care, corrective 

action program, and potential assessment and corrective action cost estimates (if applicable), of the following facilities owned or 

operated by the guaranteed party. Financial assurance for current closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, and potential 

assessment and corrective action cost estimates (if applicable), for the listed facilities are demonstrated through the corporate financial 

test. The current closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, and potential assessment and corrective action cost estimates (if 

applicable), so guaranteed are shown for each facility: 

Name: [insert name of legal entity/principal] 

Office Address: [insert physical address of legal entity/principal] 

Facility Address: [insert physical address of facility] 

Permit No.: [insert NCDEQ issued permit number] 

Closure Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for closure] 

Post-Closure Care Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for post-closure care] 

Corrective Action Program Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for current corrective action] 

Potential Assessment and Corrective Action Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for potential assessment and corrective action] 

The guarantor firm identified above is (please check the applicable relationship): 

( ) The direct or higher-tier parent corporation of the owner or operator. 

( ) Owned by the same parent corporation as the parent corporation of the owner or operator. 

(please attach a description of the value received in consideration of the guarantee) 

( ) Engaged in a substantial business relationship with the owner or operator. 

(please attach a written description of the business relationship and the value received in consideration of the guarantee and a 

copy of the contract establishing such relationship) 

Identify any underground injection control (UIC) facilities under 15A NCAC 02D .0400 and 15A NCAC 02C .0200, petroleum 

underground storage tank (UST) facilities under 15A NCAC 02N .0100 through .0800, polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) storage facilities 

under 15A NCAC 02O .0100 and 15A NCAC 02N .0100, and hazardous waste treatment, storage, and disposal facilities (TSDF's) under 

15A NCAC 13A .0109 and .0110 that are owned by either the owner/operator or the guarantor and/or are facilities that are covered by 

a financial test or corporate guarantee. Provide a separate description for each type of facility, if applicable (if not applicable write 

"None"). 

Name: [insert name of facility] 

Facility Address: [insert physical address of facility] 

Permit No.: [insert associated permit number] 

Closure Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for closure] 

Post-Closure Care Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for post-closure care] 

Corrective Action Program Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for current corrective action] 

Potential Assessment and Corrective Action Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for potential assessment and corrective action] 

This firm [insert "is required" or "is not required"] to file a Form 10K with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for the latest 

fiscal year. 

The fiscal year of this firm ends on [month, day]. The figures for the following items marked with an asterisk are derived from this 

firm's independently audited, year-end financial statements for the latest completed fiscal year, ended [date] 

Fill in all applicable parts of the Financial Test and either Alternative I, or Alternative II, or Alternative III below. 

Financial Test 

1. Sum of current closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, and potential assessment and corrective action cost estimates (if 

applicable) and guarantees from all of the solid waste management facilities in paragraphs 1 or 2 above: $ [insert dollar amount] 

2. All other cost estimates and guarantees required for UIC facilities, petroleum UST facilities, PCB storage facilities, and TSDF's listed 

in paragraph 3 above: $ [insert dollar amount] 

3. Tangible net worth (defined as tangible assets – liabilities. Tangible assets do not include intangibles such as goodwill or rights to 

patents and royalties): $ [insert dollar amount] 

4. Net Worth $ [insert dollar amount] 

5. Total liabilities - If any portion of the current closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, and potential assessment and 

corrective action cost estimates (if applicable), or guarantees identified above are recognized as liabilities in the audited financial 

statements, you must submit a special report from the independent certified public accountant (CPA), unless you can answer "yes" to 

item # 9: $ [insert dollar amount] 

6. The sum of net income plus depreciation, depletion, and amortization (Use for Alternative III.) $[insert dollar amount] 

7. Total assets in the U.S.: $ [insert dollar amount] 

8. Sum of line 1 plus line 2 from above and any other environmental obligations covered by a financial test: $ [insert dollar amount] 

9. Is line 3 greater than the sum of line 8 plus $10 million? [Yes or No] 

If" No", and you have provided a report from the independent CPA that the environmental obligations have been recognized as liabilities 

in the audited financial statements, then go to Item 9(a). 

9a. Is line 3 greater than the sum of $10 million plus any guarantees not recognized as liabilities? [Yes or No] 

10. Is line 7 greater than line 8? [Yes or No] 
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If the financial data provided for items 3 through 7 above differs from what was provided in the audited financial statements, a special 

report from the certified public accountant shall be provided as described in 40 CFR 258.74(e)(2)(i)(C) and (g)(1). 

Alternative I 

1. Current bond rating of most recent senior unsubordinated bond issue of this firm and name of rating service: [insert current bond 

rating and name of rating service] 

2. Date of bond issue: [insert date of bond issuance] 

3. Date of final maturity of bond: [insert date of maturity] 

Alternative II 

1. Is the above line 5 divided by the above line 4 less than 1.5? [Yes or No] 

Alternative III 

1. Is (the above line 6 minus $10 million) divided by the above line 5 greater than 0.1? [Yes or No] 

As evidence that [firm] meets the conditions of the Corporate Financial Test, attached hereto is a copy of the following: Please check 

applicable responses 

( ) 1. Independent CPA's unqualified opinion of our financial statements for our latest completed fiscal year. 

( ) 2. Special report from CPA [If financial data in this letter is different than in audited financial statements] [See 40 CFR 

258.74(e)(2)(i)(C) and (g)(1)]. 

( ) 3. Report from CPA [if answer to item #9 of the financial test is No] verifying all of covered environmental obligations covered 

by test have been recognized as liabilities in the audited financial statements, how the obligations were measured and reported, 

and that tangible net worth of the firm is at least $10 million dollars plus the amount of any guarantees not recognized as 

liabilities. [See 40 CFR 258.74(e)(2)(i)(D) and (g)(1)] 

I hereby certify that [name of firm] meets the requirements of [Fill in Alternative I, Alternative II, or Alternative III] in support of [name 

of facility(s)] use of the corporate financial test to demonstrate financial assurance as required by the Solid Waste Management Act, 

North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 258.74(e)(July 1, 2010 edition). 

[Signature] 

[Name] 

[Title] 

[Date] 

Exhibit A 

Corporate Guarantee Terms For 

Closure, Post-Closure Care, Corrective Action Program, and/or 

Potential Assessment and Corrective Action 

For [Owner/Operator], [Permit Number] 

Guarantee made this [date] by [name of guaranteeing entity], [address and state of guaranteeing entity], herein referred to as guarantor. 

The guarantee is made on behalf of the [owner or operator name] of [business address], which is [one of the following: "our subsidiary"; 

a subsidiary of [name and address of common parent corporation" or "an entity with which the guarantor has a substantial business 

relationship"] to the North Carolina Division of Environmental Quality (NCDEQ). 

Recitals: 

1. Guarantor meets or exceeds the Corporate Financial Test criteria and agrees to comply with the reporting requirements for guarantors, 

as specified in the Solid Waste Management Act, North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 258.74(g)(July 1, 2010 

edition). 

2. [Owner or Operator] owns or operates the following solid waste management facility(ies) covered by this guarantee: List for each 

facility the following information 

Name: [insert facility name] 

Facility Address: [insert facility address] 

Permit No.: [insert NCDEQ issued permit number] 

Closure Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for closure] 

Post-Closure Care Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for post-closure care] 

Corrective Action Program Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for current corrective action] 

Potential Assessment and Corrective Action Cost Estimate: [insert dollar amount for potential assessment and corrective action] 

3. Closure, Post-Closure Care, Corrective Action Program, and Potential Assessment and Corrective Action Cost Estimates as used 

above refer to the plans maintained, as required by the Solid Waste Management Act, North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) 

and 40 C.F.R. 258.74(g)(July 1, 2010 edition) for closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, and potential assessment and 

corrective action cost estimates (if applicable), of facilities identified above. 

4. Pursuant to 40 C.F.R. 258.74(g)(3)(i)(July 1, 2010 edition), guarantor guarantees to NCDEQ that in the event that [insert owner or 

operator name] fails to perform closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, and/or potential assessment and corrective action 

of the above facility(ies) in accordance with the closure and post-closure care plans, the corrective action program, and/or potential 

assessment and corrective action and other permit requirements whenever required to do so, the guarantor shall perform the required 

activities or pay a third party to do so (performance guarantee) or establish a fully funded trust fund (payment guarantee), in conformance 

with 40 C.F.R. 258.74(a)(July 1, 2010 edition), in the name of the owner or operator in the amount of the current closure or post-closure 
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care or corrective action program or potential assessment and corrective action cost estimates as specified during the permitting process 

as well as the Solid Waste Management Act, North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 258.74(g)(July 1, 2010 

edition). 

5. Pursuant to 40 C.F.R. 258.74(g)(4)(July 1, 2010 edition), guarantor agrees that if the guarantor fails to meet the Corporate Financial 

Test criteria or is notified that it is disallowed from continuing as a guarantor, the [owner or operator name] must, within 90 days, 

provide alternate financial assurance. If the [owner or operator name] fails to provide alternative financial assurance within the 90-day 

period, the guarantor must provide such alternate financial assurance in the name of [owner or operator name] within the next 30 days 

thereafter. 

6. The guarantor agrees to notify the NCDEQ Director by certified mail of voluntary or involuntary proceeding under Title 11 

(Bankruptcy), U.S. Code, naming guarantor as debtor, within 10 days after commencement of the proceeding. 

7. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee notwithstanding any or all of the following: amendment or modifications of 

the closure and post-closure care plans, corrective action programs, and/or potential assessment and corrective action or amendments or 

modification of the permit, the extension or reduction of the time of performance of closure or post-closure care or corrective action 

programs or potential assessment and corrective action, or any other modification or alteration of an obligation of the owner or operator 

pursuant to the Solid Waste Management Act, North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 258.74 (July 1, 2010 edition). 

8. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee for as long as [owner or operator name] must comply with the applicable 

financial assurance requirements of the Solid Waste Management Act, North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 

258.74(g)(July 1, 2010 edition) for the above listed facilities, except as provided in paragraphs 9 and 10 of this agreement. 

9. Pursuant to 40 C.F.R. 258.74(g)(3)(ii)(July 1, 2010 edition), guarantor may terminate this guarantee 120 days following the receipt 

of notification of its intended cancellation by certified mail by both the NCDEQ Director and by [owner or operator name]. 

10. Pursuant to 40 C.F.R. 258.74(g)(3)(iii)(July 1, 2010 edition), guarantor agrees that if [owner or operator name] fails to  provide 

alternative financial assurance and obtain written approval of such assurance from the NCDEQ Director within 90 days after receipt of 

the notice of cancellation by the guarantor, guarantor shall provide such alternative financial assurance in the name of [owner or operator 

name] within the next 30 days before the guarantee terminates. 

11. Guarantor expressly waives notice of acceptance of this guarantee by NCDEQ or by [owner or operator name]. Guarantor also 

expressly waives notice of amendments or modifications of the closure and post-closure care plans, corrective action programs, and/or 

potential assessment and corrective action and of amendments or modifications of the facility permit(s). 

Effective date: [insert mechanism effective date] 

[Name of Guarantor] 

[Corporate Seal] 

[For no corporate seal, see Rule .1805(c)] 

[Authorized signature for guarantor] 

[Name of person signing] 

[Title of person signing] 

[Telephone Number] 

[Email Address] 

State of North Carolina 

County of [Name of County] 

On this [day] day of [month], [year], before me personally came [name signing for Guarantor] to me known, who, being by me duly 

sworn, did depose and say that she/he resides at [Guarantor address], that she/he is [title at Guarantor Firm] described in and which 

executed the above instrument; that she/he knows the seal of said corporation; that the seal affixed to such instrument is such corporate 

seal; that it was so affixed by order of the Board of Directors of said corporation, and that she/he signed her/his name thereto by like 

order. 

Witness my hand and official seal this [Day] day of [Month], 20[Year]. 

[insert Signature of Notary] 

Official Signature of Notary 

[Notary's printed or typed name] 

Notary Public 

[Official Seal] 

My commission expires: [insert Date of Commission Expiration] 

(9) A special report from a certified public accountant (CPA) is a supplemental report mechanism to the corporate 

financial test mechanism as specified in Rule .1805(e)(5) and the corporate guarantee mechanism as specified in Rule 

.1805(e)(7) of this Section, and shall be worded as follows, except that instructions in brackets are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

SPECIAL REPORT 

INDEPENDENT CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT'S REPORT 

ON APPLYING AGREED-UPON PROCEDURES 

The Board of Directors 

[Name of Company] 
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[Mailing and location address] 

[Permit No.] 

We have performed the procedures enumerated below, which were agreed to by management of [Name of Company] pursuant to the 

Solid Waste Management Act, North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.2(f) and 40 C.F.R. 258.74(e)(July 1, 2010 edition) with respect 

to the letter dated [insert date] from the [insert Corporate Official name and title] to the North Carolina Department of Environmental 

Quality, solely to assist you in filing the Letter (prepared in accordance with the criteria specified therein) for the year ended [insert date 

of end of corporate fiscal year]. [Name of Company] is responsible for this Letter. This agreed-upon procedures engagement was 

conducted in accordance with attestation standards established by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. The 

sufficiency of the procedures is solely the responsibility of [Name of Company] and the North Carolina Department of Environmental 

Quality. Consequently, we make no representation regarding the sufficiency of the procedures described below either for the purpose 

for which this report has been requested or for any other purpose. 

The procedures, which were limited solely to the identified item numbers, are as follows: 

We compared the amounts in Item Nos. 3, 5, and 7 of the Financial Test in the CFO's Letter to corresponding amounts reported as total 

liabilities [amount], Tangible Net Worth [amount], and total assets [amount], respectively, in the audited financial statement as of [insert 

date of end of corporate fiscal year] and found them [insert either, "not to be in agreement" or "to be in agreement"]. 

We computed the amounts in Item Nos. 4 and 6 of the Financial Test in the CFO's Letter as of [insert date of end of corporate fiscal 

year] based on amounts reported as Net Worth [amount] and the net income plus depreciation, depletion, and amortization [amount] in 

the audited financial statements as of [insert date of end of corporate fiscal year], compared them to the amounts in the CFO's Letter and 

found them [insert either, "not to be in agreement" or "to be in agreement"]. 

We computed the amount of environmental obligations (as determined by current closure, post-closure care, corrective action program, 

and/or potential assessment and corrective action cost estimates or guarantees) which are recognized as liabilities in the amount of 

[amount] in the audited financial statement as of [insert date of end of corporate fiscal year], compared them to the amounts in the CFO's 

Letter and found them [insert either, "not to be in agreement" or "to be in agreement"]. 

We compared the amount in Item No. 7 of the Financial Test in the CFO's Letter and the Company's total assets located in the United 

States in the amount of [insert amount] in the audited financial statement as of [insert date of end of corporate fiscal year] and found 

them [insert either, "not to be in agreement" or "to be in agreement"]. 

[If not in agreement, describe the procedures performed in comparing the data in the CFO's letter derived from the audited financial 

year-end financial statements for the latest fiscal year with the amounts in such financial statements, the findings of that comparison, 

and the reasons for any differences.] 

We were not engaged to and did not conduct an examination, the objective of which would be the expression of an opinion on the 

selected financial information included in the Letter. Accordingly, we do not express such an opinion. Had we performed additional 

procedures, other matters might have come to our attention that would have been reported to you. This report is intended solely for the 

use of management of the Company, and is not intended to be and should not be used by anyone other than these specified parties. 

[Date] 

[Name of Accounting Firm] 

(10) A capital reserve fund, as specified in Rule .1805(e)(8) of this Section shall be worded as follows, except that 

instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant information and the brackets deleted: 

CAPITAL RESERVE FUND RESOLUTION 

ESTABLISHMENT AND MAINTENANCE 

OF THE [FACILITY NAME] 

CAPITAL RESERVE FUND 

Whereas, there is a need in [insert location of facility as City, County] to provide funds for [closure, post-closure care, corrective action 

programs, or potential assessment and corrective action] for the [permit number], [facility name]; and 

Whereas, the [location] shall bear the cost of [closure, post-closure care, corrective action programs, or potential assessment and 

corrective action] for the solid waste management facility at an estimated cost of [cost estimate]. 

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the governing board that: 

Section 1. The Board of County Commissioners hereby creates a Capital Reserve Fund for the purpose of [closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action programs, or potential assessment and corrective action] for the [permit number] solid waste management facility. 

Section 2. This Fund shall remain operational during the life of the facility and the post-closure care period beginning [date] and ending 

[date] as estimated at the time of annual update of this Resolution. 

Section 3. The Board shall appropriate or transfer an amount of no less than [annual payment] each year to this Fund. 

Section 4. This Resolution shall become effective and binding upon its adoption. 

[Signature of County Commissioner] 

[Signature of Chief Financial Officer] 

[Date] 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-295.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 
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15A NCAC 13C .0301 DEFINITIONS 

Words or phrases used in the rules in this Section that are defined 

in G.S. 130A, Article 9 shall have the meaning provided therein. 

The following words and phrases shall have the following 

meanings: 

(1) "Applicant" means an environmental 

consulting or engineering firm seeking 

Department approval to act as a Registered 

Environmental Consultant. 

(2) "Applicant RSM" means an individual 

proposed by an applicant to fill the role of 

Registered Site Manager. 

(3) "Registered Environmental Consultant" or 

"REC" means an environmental consulting or 

engineering firm approved to implement and 

oversee voluntary remedial actions pursuant to 

G.S. 130A-310.9(c). 

(4) "Registered Site Manager" or "RSM" means the 

person or persons approved by the Department 

to manage all site activities and make 

certifications on behalf of the Registered 

Environmental Consultant in its role as 

consultant to remediating parties for 

implementation and oversight of a voluntary 

remedial action pursuant to G.S. 130A-

310.9(c). 

(5) "Remediating Party" means site owner, 

operator, or responsible party engaging in a 

voluntary remedial action pursuant to G.S. 

130A-310.9(c). 

(6) "Request for Approval" means the application 

and qualifications documentation package that 

must be submitted by an environmental 

consulting or engineering firm to the 

Department so that the Department may 

determine an applicant's eligibility to operate as 

a Registered Environmental Consultant. The 

Department shall make available a form that 

complies with Rule .0303 and .0304 of this 

Section for submission of such information. 

(7) "Sensitive Environments" means State or 

federal designated park, monument, wilderness 

area, preserve, wildlife refuge, or wetland; State 

or federal lands designated for game 

management, or the protection of natural 

ecosystems; or habitat for State or federally 

designated endangered species. 

(8) "Sensitive Populations or Property Uses" 

means residential property, schools, day care 

facilities, geriatric centers, State or federally 

designated historical sites, or parks owned or 

maintained by a unit of local government. 

(9) "Source Area" means any area of sludge, soil, 

sediment, or other solid medium contaminated 

by a release of one or more hazardous 

substances. 

(10) "Voluntary Remedial Action" is a remedial 

action as defined in G.S. 130A-310(7), 

conducted voluntarily by a remediating party, 

and undertaken with the approval of the 

Department pursuant to G.S. 130A-310.9(c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-310.12(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13C .0302 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  The rules in this Section shall govern the selection and use of 

private environmental consulting and engineering firms to 

implement and oversee voluntary remedial actions by remediating 

parties pursuant to G.S. 130A-310.9(c). 

(b)  All remedial actions conducted pursuant to the rules of this 

Section shall comply with applicable federal, State, or local laws. 

(c)  A person who violates a provision of this Section or any other 

requirement in connection with the voluntary remedial action 

program, including making a false statement, representation, or 

certification or knowingly rendering inaccurate a recording or 

monitoring device or method, shall be subject to enforcement, 

including disqualification as an REC or RSM. 

(d)  A party wishing to conduct a Department-approved voluntary 

remedial action pursuant to this Section shall enter into a written 

agreement with the Department pursuant to G.S. 130A-310.9(c). 

(e)  For the purpose of administration and enforcement of the 

voluntary remedial action program and for protection of human 

health or the environment, employees, agents, and contractors of 

the Department may enter any site, or other location undergoing 

a voluntary remedial action pursuant to this Section, during either 

the working hours of any business on the property or during 

daylight hours and upon notice, to investigate, sample, or inspect 

any documents, conditions, equipment, practice, or property. In 

the event that the Department determines as a result of an 

investigation, sampling, or inspection that there has been a release 

or that there exists a threat of release of a hazardous substance, 

the Department may enter a site or location and perform or 

arrange for the performance of response actions. 

(f)  Remedial Actions conducted pursuant to this Section shall be 

overseen by an REC. All work performed by an REC shall be 

under the supervision and direction of an RSM representing the 

REC.  

(g)  The Department shall have complete discretion to effect 

cleanup itself, or oversee a remediating party's cleanup if: 

(1) the Department determines that the site poses 

an imminent hazard; 

(2) in the Department's determination, the number 

and frequency of public concerns about actions 

at the site have risen to a level that direct 

oversight by the Department would not increase 

the demand on its resources beyond that already 

being expended; 

(3) the Department has initiated an enforcement 

action; 

(4) it appears to the Department that the voluntary 

remedial action is not being implemented or 

overseen in accordance with G.S. 130A-

310.9(c); 

(5) hazardous substances have migrated to 

adjoining property; or 
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(6) other conditions, such as the presence of 

sensitive environments, sensitive populations 

or property uses, or radioactive wastes.  

(h)  The remedial investigation shall be completed within three 

years of the effective date of the agreement to conduct a voluntary 

remedial action. Non-groundwater remedial action shall be 

completed within eight years of the effective date of that 

agreement. Groundwater remedial action shall be initiated within 

two years of completion of the remedial investigation. All 

document and work phase certifications pursuant to Rule .0306(b) 

of this Section shall be completed and all documents received by 

the Department prior to these deadlines. The Department may 

approve a remediating party's written request for extension of 

these deadlines if one or more of the following conditions exists 

and the remediating party or the REC provides documentation to 

support the request and a schedule with timelines commensurate 

with the activities to be performed: 

(1) documented access delays outside of the 

remediating party's control; 

(2) the REC learns of previously unconsidered 

facts, data, or other information as described in 

Rule .0305(b)(5) or (6) of this Section, 

including changes to standards or risk targets; 

(3) the proposed remedy includes a pilot study to 

be implemented prior to full-scale remedial 

action implementation; 

(4) there has been a change in REC; or 

(5) during and after implementation of a remedial 

action, a demonstration is made that cleanup 

standards cannot be achieved by the required 

deadline due to technical impracticability. 

(i)  The REC shall preserve and maintain all documents submitted 

to the REC on behalf of or by the remediating party, prepared by 

the REC, or within the REC's possession, custody, or control, that 

relate to work performed pursuant to the rules in this Section, 

including documents to substantiate the facts, data, conclusions, 

and other information set forth in any REC opinion or 

certification. Such documents shall be kept at one or more 

locations accessible to the Department and in such a form as to 

enable the Department to ascertain whether the response actions 

that are the subject of the REC opinion or certification have been 

performed in compliance with the provisions of the rules in this 

Section until such time as the record is provided to the Department 

for the public file. The REC shall submit to the Department for 

the public file all work plans, reports, and work-phase completion 

statements within 30 days of their completion.  

(j)  Any person required by Paragraph (i) of this Rule to preserve 

and maintain any documents shall preserve and maintain those 

documents until the REC confirms that the Department has 

received the records. 

(k)  RECs shall comply with Department site-related requests for 

information not supplied in accordance with Paragraph (i) of this 

Rule.  

(l)  Within 60 days of notice from the Department of revocation 

of an REC's approval, remediating parties shall submit the name 

of a successor REC. A remediating party shall provide written 

notice to the Department within 60 days of a change in REC for 

any other reason. 

(m)  Nothing in this Section shall be construed to imply 

authorization by the Department to any person other than the 

Department or the Department's employees, agents, or contractors 

to enter any property not owned by him or her to carry out a 

response action or otherwise to injure or interfere with any other 

person's rights or interests in real or personal property without that 

person's consent. After making efforts to obtain access to any site 

or other location to be investigated as a possible site not owned 

by the remediating party, an REC or remediating party who is 

unable to obtain such access may request, in writing, that the 

Department authorize him or her or his or her employees, agents, 

representatives, or contractors to enter such site or location for the 

purpose of performing one or more necessary response actions. 

Each such request for authorization shall include all of the 

following information: 

(1) the identity of the person making the request 

and his or her relationship to the site or location; 

(2) the nature and location of the actions that he or 

she intends to undertake, the anticipated 

duration of the actions and the reasons such 

access is necessary to perform the actions; 

(3) the identity of each person who owns or 

operates the site or location to which access is 

sought; 

(4) the results of any and all attempts to obtain such 

access; and 

(5) certification that a copy of the request has been 

sent to each person who owns or operates such 

sites or locations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-310.1(c); 130A-310.1(e); 

130A -310.3(c); 130A-310.5(a); 130A-310.6; 130A-310.12(b);  

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13C .0303 APPROVAL OF REGISTERED 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANTS 

(a)  To qualify for Department approval as an REC, an applicant 

shall complete and submit a Request for Approval form, available 

from the Department, demonstrating that the applicant meets the 

requirements contained in this Section. The Request for Approval 

form shall set forth the qualifications of all persons the applicant 

wishes to qualify as RSMs and shall contain notarized signatures 

of representatives of the applicant. 

(b)  Applicants shall supply the names and telephone numbers of 

previous government and industry clients and copies of actual 

work products to verify experience, if requested by the 

Department. The Department may require applicants to supply 

additional information to clarify what is provided on the Request 

for Approval form. Those applicants not complying with such 

requests shall not be approved to perform work pursuant to the 

rules in this Section. 

(c)  An REC shall notify the Department if the nature of its 

business changes, if it no longer meets the requirements for 

approval under this Section or if it discovers that any information 

it submitted in any Request for Approval is or was incorrect no 

later than 30 days subsequent to the discovery of the occurrence. 

(d)  If a Department-approved RSM leaves the employment of an 

REC or changes employment within an REC, an REC shall, no 
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later than 30 days prior to the change, submit the name and 

qualifications of another person to perform the role of the RSM. 

If an REC does not receive 30 days of notice by an RSM of the 

RSM's intended change in employment, the REC shall notify the 

Department within 24 hours of the RSM providing such notice 

and shall within 30 days of the RSM's notice to the REC, submit 

to the Department the name and qualifications of another person 

to perform the role of the RSM. The Department shall determine 

whether the proposed replacement qualifies as an RSM per the 

requirements set forth in Rule .0304. An REC may propose 

amendments to its approval as an REC to add or delete RSMs. An 

RSM that changes employment from an approved REC shall 

require a new approval by the Department before working as an 

RSM with another REC. 

(e)  The Department shall notify applicants in writing whether 

they are approved to conduct business as an REC or RSM. No 

applicant may represent itself, or work, as an REC or RSM 

without written Department approval. 

(f)  An REC's approval shall be valid for five years unless revoked 

earlier by the Department. 

(g)  The Department shall make available to the general public a 

list of all approved RECs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-310.12(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13C .0304 MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS 

FOR REGISTERED ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANTS 

In order to be approved to perform work as an REC, an 

environmental consulting or engineering firm shall meet the 

following requirements. 

(1) REC applicants shall demonstrate that one or 

more persons in their employ individually meet 

all of the following standards and requirements 

and therefore qualify to perform the role of 

RSM for the REC. To qualify as an RSM, an 

individual shall: 

(a) Have the following relevant 

professional experience: 

(i) five years of experience in 

investigation and 

remediation of hazardous 

substance or waste disposal 

sites; 

(ii) three years of experience in 

supervising site investigation 

and remedial action projects; 

and 

(iii) eight years of total relevant 

professional experience, 

which shall be work of a 

professional grade and 

character performed for at 

least an average of 20 or 

more hours per week that 

indicates the applicant is 

competent to render waste 

site cleanup activity 

opinions. Total relevant 

professional experience 

performed for less than an 

average of 20 hours per week 

shall be applied toward the 

satisfaction of these 

requirements on a pro rata 

basis. If an individual works 

more than 40 hours in a 

week, even if having multiple 

jobs, that individual shall get 

credit only for one week's 

worth of work. The 

Department shall consider 

the following criteria in 

evaluating whether an 

applicant RSM's waste site 

cleanup decision-making 

experience and practical 

experience constitute 

sufficient relevant 

experience: the nature of 

work activities; the field of 

work activities; the types of 

reports, studies, and 

documents prepared; the 

range of methods evaluated 

and selected; the number of 

individuals and disciplines of 

other professionals 

supervised or coordinated; 

the extent of review of 

conclusions, 

recommendations, and 

opinions by supervisors; and 

the duration of employment. 

(b) Have sufficient training to meet the 

hazardous waste operations and 

emergency response training standard 

set forth in 29 CFR 1910.120. 

(c) Have a four-year or graduate degree 

from a college or university accredited 

by a regional accrediting agency in 

one of the following fields or a field 

that provides the educational 

background necessary to oversee a 

remedial action: 

(i) Biochemistry; 

(ii) Biology; 

(iii) Chemical Engineering; 

(iv) Chemistry; 

(v) Civil Engineering; 

(vi) Earth Science; 

(vii) Environmental Engineering; 

(viii) Environmental Science; 

(ix) Epidemiology; 

(x) Geochemistry; 

(xi) Geological Engineering; 

(xii) Geology; 
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(xiii) Geophysics; 

(xiv) Geotechnical Engineering; 

(xv) Hydrogeology; 

(xvi) Hydrology; 

(xvii) Industrial Hygiene; 

(xviii) Mechanical Engineering; 

(xix) Physics; 

(xx) Soil Science; and 

(xxi) Toxicology. 

(d) Have a record of professionalism and 

integrity, demonstrated by the absence 

of: 

(i) conviction of a felony; 

(ii) conviction of a misdemeanor 

involving fraud, deceit, 

misrepresentation, or 

forgery; 

(iii) an adverse civil judgment in 

an action involving fraud, 

deceit, misrepresentation, or 

forgery; 

(iv) disbarment or disciplinary 

action relating to any 

professional license; and 

(v) disqualification from 

government contracts for 

negligent acts or failure to 

perform required work. 

(2) The applicant shall demonstrate that it has an 

established environmental consulting practice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-310.12(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13C .0305 STANDARDS OF CONDUCT 

FOR REGISTERED ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANTS 

(a)  The REC and its RSMs shall comply with the following 

standards of professional competence.  

(1) An RSM shall render a waste site cleanup 

activity opinion only if he or she has reviewed 

the work to ascertain whether the completed 

work complies with this Section. 

(2) The RSM shall perform his or her services only 

in areas of his or her competence and shall not 

render a decision on any assessment, cleanup 

plan, or document dealing with subject matter 

for which he or she lacks competence by virtue 

of education or experience. If a site assessment 

or cleanup activity opinion requires expertise 

outside the RSM's field of expertise, the RSM 

shall render such an opinion relying in part 

upon the advice of one or more professionals 

having relevant competence. 

(b)  The REC and its RSMs shall comply with the following 

standards of professional responsibility.  

(1) An REC shall at all times recognize its primary 

obligation is to protect public health, safety, and 

welfare and the environment in the performance 

of professional services as an REC. 

(2) If an REC acting pursuant to this Section 

identifies an imminent hazard as defined under 

G.S. 130A-2(3) at a site at which it is providing 

professional services pursuant to the rules in 

this Section it shall, unless the REC has 

documentation the remediating party has 

provided such notice, within 24 hours of 

discovery, notify the Department: 

(A) of the imminent hazard, including 

exposures to contaminated vapor, 

drinking water, and other 

contaminated media; 

(B) whether the remediating party has 

agreed to take corrective action;  

(C) what immediate action to reduce 

exposure of the imminent hazard, if 

any, has been taken. Such actions 

include providing alternate water and 

treatment systems for contaminated 

drinking water sources, removal of 

vessels and containers having 

explosive conditions, modifications to 

indoor ventilation systems or 

installation of air treatment units, 

stopping the on-going discharge of 

bulk wastes or unpermitted piped 

wastes entering surface water, 

abatement of exposed wastes on 

residential or school property, removal 

of discovered above-ground vessels 

storing wastes, and containment of any 

hazardous substance spills occurring 

after execution of the agreement; and 

(D) that, if in the opinion of the REC, more 

extensive interim remedial action is 

necessary to abate an imminent hazard 

prior to development of a remedial 

action plan pursuant to Rule .0306(n) 

of this Section the REC shall prepare, 

certify, and submit an interim remedial 

action plan that complies with Rule 

.0306(o) of this Section and contains 

an implementation schedule. 

(3) If an REC acting pursuant to this Section 

determines through data evaluation, including 

review of laboratory analyses, performing fate 

and transport calculations, or conducting 

computer modeling that hazardous substances 

at or above applicable standards have migrated 

from the property containing a source area to 

other property or determines there are sensitive 

environments or radioactive wastes on the site, 

it shall, unless the REC has documentation the 

remediating party has provided such notice, 

within 24 hours of the REC's determination, 

notify the Department. 
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(4) In providing professional services all RSMs 

shall: 

(A) exercise independent professional 

judgement; 

(B) follow the requirements and 

procedures set forth in applicable 

provisions of this Section; and 

(C) act with reasonable care and diligence 

and apply the knowledge and skill 

ordinarily required of RSMs in good 

standing in the State at the time the 

services are performed. 

(5) If, subsequent to the date an REC renders a 

waste site cleanup activity opinion, anyone 

employed by the REC that rendered the opinion 

learns that previously unconsidered facts, data, 

or other information support or lead to a 

different opinion, the REC shall notify, in 

writing, the remediating party and the 

Department. 

(6) If, subsequent to the date of its engagement, a 

successor REC learns of material facts, data, or 

other information that existed as of the date of 

any predecessor REC's waste site cleanup 

activity opinion but was not disclosed in that 

opinion, the successor REC shall promptly 

notify, in writing, the remediating party and the 

Department. 

(7) An REC shall not allow the use of its name or 

the names of its RSMs by, or associate in a 

business venture with, any person or firm that 

an REC knows or should know is engaging in 

fraudulent or dishonest business or professional 

practices relating to the professional 

responsibilities of the REC. 

(8) The REC shall be objective and truthful in all 

professional reports, public statements, or 

testimony and shall include all information that 

the REC determines to be relevant and pertinent 

in the reports, statements, or testimony if the 

result of an omission would or reasonably could 

lead to a false conclusion. 

(9) An REC shall not falsify or permit 

misrepresentation of an RSM's academic or 

professional qualifications and shall not 

misrepresent or exaggerate an RSM's degree of 

responsibility in or for the subject matter of 

prior assignments. 

(10) RECs shall comply with all applicable 

provisions of law, rules, and regulations. 

(11) All RECs shall have knowledge of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-310.12(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13C .0306 TECHNICAL STANDARDS FOR 

REGISTERED ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANTS 

(a)  The REC shall ensure that the documents, plans, and time 

taken to complete work comply with the remediating party's 

agreement with the Department, the Inactive Hazardous Sites 

Response Act, and the rules of this Section. 

(b)  All work phase completion statements, schedules, plans, and 

reports require REC certification. An REC's certification shall 

comply with the following: 

(1) REC certification of any document shall 

include the following statement, signed by the 

RSM and notarized: 

"I certify that I am personally familiar with the 

information contained in this submittal, 

including any and all supporting documents 

accompanying this certification, and that the 

material and information contained herein is, to 

the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete and complies with the 

Inactive Hazardous Sites Response Act G.S. 

130A-310, et seq. and the voluntary remedial 

action program Rules 15A NCAC 13C .0300. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

willfully submitting false, inaccurate, or 

incomplete information." 

(2) Prior to REC certification, documents shall 

contain the following notarized declaration 

signed and dated by, and including the title of, 

the highest ranking official of the remediating 

party having day-to-day responsibility for the 

performance of the response action which is the 

subject of the submittal: 

"I certify that I have personally examined and 

am familiar with the information contained in 

this submittal, including any and all documents 

accompanying this certification, and that, based 

on my inquiry of those individuals immediately 

responsible for obtaining the information, the 

material and information contained herein is, to 

the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate and complete. I am aware that there are 

significant penalties for willfully submitting 

false, inaccurate, or incomplete information." 

(3) Any work which would constitute the "practice 

of engineering" as defined by G.S. 89C shall be 

performed under the responsible charge of, and 

signed and sealed by, a professional engineer 

registered in the state of North Carolina. Any 

work which would constitute the "public 

practice of geology" as defined by G.S. 89E 

shall be performed under the responsible charge 

of, and signed and sealed by, a geologist 

licensed in the state of North Carolina. 

(4) RSM certification and submittal to the 

Department of the following documents shall 

occur prior to implementation: 

(A) remedial investigation work plans 

prepared in accordance with 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule; 
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(B) plans for additional site 

characterization, pilot studies, or 

treatability studies to be conducted in 

relation to the site that are prepared in 

compliance with Paragraph (j) of this 

Rule; 

(C) remedial action plans prepared in 

accordance with Paragraph (n), (o) or 

(p) of this Rule; and 

(D) modifications of work schedules. 

(5) The RSM shall prepare certified completion 

statements for the following work phases and 

provide them to the Department in accordance 

with Rule .0302(i) of this Section: 

(A) completion of the remedial 

investigation; 

(B) REC approval of the proposed 

remedial action plan following notice 

of the proposed remedial action plan, 

the close of the 30-day public 

comment period, submission of the 

comments and the REC's responses to 

the public comments received during 

the public comment period, and the 

Department's written 

acknowledgement that comments 

have been addressed; 

(C) initiation of all groundwater remedial 

actions as demonstrated by the first 

field event associated with 

implementation of the groundwater 

remedy; 

(D) completion of all non-groundwater 

contamination remedial actions as 

demonstrated by a confirmatory 

sampling event and REC certification 

of a written report pursuant to 

Paragraph (r) of this Rule 

summarizing the data; and 

(E) completion of all remedial action 

activities. 

(6) RSM certification pursuant to Subparagraph 

(b)(5) of this Rule shall include the following 

statement signed by the RSM and notarized: 

"The [insert work phase] which is the subject of 

this certification has, to the best of my 

knowledge, been completed in compliance with 

the Inactive Hazardous Sites Response Act G.S. 

130A-310, et seq. and the voluntary remedial 

action program Rules 15A NCAC 13C .0300, 

and [insert name of the REC] is in compliance 

with Rules .0305(b)(2) and .0305(b)(3) of this 

Section. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for willfully submitting false, 

inaccurate, or incomplete information." 

Certification of the completion of all remedial 

action activities shall also include the following 

statement: 

"The approved and certified site remedial 

action plan has been implemented, and to the 

best of my knowledge and belief, cleanup levels 

determined pursuant to Rule .0308 of this 

Section have been achieved, and no significant 

or otherwise unacceptable risk or harm to 

human health or the environment remains at the 

site." 

(c)  The RSM shall certify and submit to the Department a project 

status update report annually on the anniversary date of the 

executed date of the remediating party's administrative agreement 

with the Department. Annual project status update reports shall be 

submitted until the REC submits a certified completion statement 

pursuant to Part (b)(5)(B) of this Rule for all contaminated media. 

Annual project status update reports shall include an update on 

meeting the deadlines in Rule .0302(h) of this Section and in the 

remediating party's agreement with the Department. 

(d)  The REC may approve and certify site activities and 

documents pursuant to the rules in this Section only if the 

following environmental sample collection and analyses criteria 

are met: 

(1) The REC shall employ analytical and 

environmental monitoring data to support 

recommendations or conclusions with respect 

to assessment, removal, treatment, or 

containment actions that are scientifically valid 

and of a level of precision and accuracy 

commensurate with their stated or intended use. 

(2) Procedures and methods employed for the 

collection and analysis of soil, sediment, water, 

vapor, air, and waste samples shall be: 

(A) methods published by the United 

States Environmental Protection 

Agency (USEPA), the American 

Society for Testing and Materials 

(ASTM), the American Public Health 

Association (APHA), the National 

Institute for Occupational Safety and 

Health (NIOSH), the American Water 

Works Association (AWWA), or other 

organizations with expertise in the 

development of standardized 

analytical testing methods; or 

(B) modifications of published methods, 

provided that all modifications have 

been previously approved by the 

Department or one of the entities in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph. 

(3) The REC shall only use laboratories certified to 

analyze applicable parameters pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02H .0800, or a contract laboratory 

under the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency Contract Laboratory 

Program to analyze samples collected pursuant 

to rules in this Section. 

(4) Laboratory and other reports of analyses of 

samples shall be reported in units applicable to 

the standards for each media analyzed. 
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(5) The REC shall only allow sample collection 

and analyses to be performed by persons who 

are qualified by education, training, and 

experience. 

(6) All documents prepared pursuant to the rules in 

this Section that contain the results of sample 

collection and analyses shall include the 

following information: 

(A) the date, location, and time of 

sampling and the name of the 

individual who collected the sample; 

(B) specification of all sample filtration or 

preservation procedures used; 

(C) the date of receipt of the sample at the 

laboratory and the dates the sample 

was extracted and analyzed; 

(D) the name and address of the laboratory 

and proof of certification received 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02H .0800 or 

approval as a contract laboratory 

under the USEPA Contract 

Laboratory Program; 

(E) the sample matrix description and 

identification numbers; 

(F) the sample preparation and analytical 

method names and numbers; 

(G) the results of the analysis and 

concentration units; 

(H) the sample quantitation limit of each 

reported analyte based upon analytical 

conditions; 

(I) details of known conditions or 

findings that may affect the validity of 

analytical data, including equipment 

blank, trip blank, method blank, 

surrogate, spiked sample, and other 

quality control data; 

(J) the laboratory's written justification 

for all sample dilution, additional 

sample preparation, or deviation from 

specified analytical methods; and 

(K) a complete chain of custody 

documentation for each sample. 

(e)  The REC shall approve and certify site activities and 

documents pursuant to this Section only if procedures to protect 

health, safety, public welfare, and the environment during the 

performance of response actions are being implemented. The 

scope and detail of health and safety procedures shall be 

commensurate with the degree and nature of the risks posed to 

human and ecological populations by the disposal site and 

response actions. Such procedures shall include the following: 

(1) measures to protect human populations from 

exposure to hazardous substances; 

(2) air monitoring activities, in areas of 

exceedances of standards as referenced in G.S. 

130A-310.3(d); and 

(3) measures necessary to contain hazardous 

substances, including: 

(A) measures to control stormwater run-

off; 

(B) measures to control dust and other 

environmental media, such as wetting 

soils; 

(C) measures to decontaminate vehicles 

and equipment to minimize the spread 

of contaminated soil from the disposal 

site; 

(D) measures to secure on-site excavations 

and stockpiles of contaminated 

materials; and 

(E) discontinuance of response actions if 

necessary to protect public health and 

safety. 

(f)  In planning the remedial investigation, the REC shall identify 

each area of known or suspected hazardous substance 

contamination at the site, based on the following: 

(1) then-existing laboratory data; 

(2) readily observable conditions indicative of 

contamination, such as staining, odors, or 

visible or other evidence of damage to or 

leakage from a storage facility or vessel; 

(3) information ascertainable from the public 

record, site operation records, and information 

provided by the remediating party; and 

(4) other evidence actually known to the REC. 

For each area of known or suspected contamination, the REC shall 

plan, implement, and complete the remedial investigation so that 

the location and identity of the hazardous substances are 

established. For purposes of this Rule, the presence of chemical 

storage or other similar facilities shall not alone constitute 

evidence of known or suspected contamination. 

(g)  The REC shall plan, implement, and complete the remedial 

investigation so that the areal and vertical extent of hazardous 

substance contamination is delineated to unrestricted use remedial 

goals, natural background concentrations, or to concentrations 

demonstrated by the REC to be unrelated to the contaminant 

releases comprising the site for each area of concern. The REC 

may demonstrate, through professional judgement, that the 

vertical extent of contamination cannot be delineated due to 

technical impracticability. The technical impracticability 

demonstration shall include a written evaluation of the usefulness 

of additional data, including a conclusion that: 

(1) no receptor exposure to the media not sampled 

will take place by not collecting the data; 

(2) the success of the remedial design will not be 

affected by not collecting the data; and 

(3) collecting the data will result in additional 

expense with limited or no associated benefit. 

(h)  The REC shall prepare, certify, and submit, prior to 

implementation of a remedial investigation, one or more remedial 

investigation plans prepared in compliance with Paragraphs (d), 

(e), (f), and (g) of this Rule and all other applicable requirements. 

The plan(s) shall contain the following or include an explanation 

as to why, in the professional judgement of the REC, the 

component is not relevant to the remedial investigation: 
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(1) site location information including street 

address, longitude and latitude, and site and 

surrounding property land use; 

(2) a summary of all management practices 

employed at the site for hazardous wastes and 

wastes that may have contained hazardous 

substances including: 

(A) a list of types and amounts of waste 

generated (with RCRA waste codes), 

treatment and storage methods, and 

ultimate disposition of wastes; 

(B) a description of the facility's past and 

current RCRA status; 

(C) the location and condition of all 

identified vessels currently or 

previously used to store chemical 

products, hazardous substances, or 

wastes; and 

(D) a summary of the nature of all 

identified on-site hazardous substance 

releases, including disposal or spills; 

(3) United States Geological Survey topographic 

maps sufficient to display topography within a 

one-mile radius of the site; 

(4) a map, drawn to scale, that includes: 

(A) a north arrow; 

(B) a scale; 

(C) the locations of property boundaries, 

buildings, structures, all perennial and 

non-perennial surface water features, 

drainage ditches, dense vegetation, 

known and suspected spill or disposal 

areas identified pursuant to Paragraph 

(f) of this Rule, underground utilities, 

storage vessels, existing on-site wells; 

and 

(D) an identification of all adjacent 

property owners and land uses.  

(5) a description of local geologic and 

hydrogeologic conditions; 

(6) an inventory and map of all identifiable wells, 

springs, and surface-water intakes used as 

sources of potable water within a 1,500 foot 

radius of each source area or within a 1,500 foot 

radius of the contaminant perimeter, or, if the 

source area is unknown, within a 1,500 foot 

radius of each point where contamination has 

been identified at the site; 

(7) an evaluation of the site and all adjacent 

property for the existence of the following areas 

if they may have been affected by the 

contamination from the site: 

(A) sensitive environments; 

(B) sensitive populations or property uses; 

and 

(C) above and below ground structures 

and utilities. 

(8) a chronological listing of all previous owners 

and each period of ownership since the property 

was originally developed; ; 

(9) operational history, including aerial 

photographs and Sanborne Fire Insurance maps 

if used to support land-use history; 

(10) a list of all hazardous substances that have been 

used or stored at the site and the approximate 

amounts and dates of use or storage, as revealed 

by available written documentation and 

interviews with a representative number of 

former and current employees or occupants 

possessing relevant information; 

(11) the site environmental permit history, including 

copies of all federal, State, and local 

environmental permits, past and present, issued 

to the remediating party or within its custody or 

control; 

(12) a summary of all previous and ongoing 

environmental investigations and 

environmental regulatory involvement with the 

site and copies of all associated reports and 

laboratory data in public records or within the 

custody or control of the REC or remediating 

party unless the REC confirms that the 

documents are already present in the 

Department's electronic document system for 

REC site records; 

(13) plans to evaluate the risk of contaminant 

migration in any media to: 

(A) wells, springs, and surface-water 

intakes identified in Subparagraph (6) 

of this Rule; and 

(B) sensitive environments, sensitive 

populations or property uses, or above 

and below ground structures or 

utilities identified in Subparagraph (7) 

of this Rule; 

(14) intended procedures for characterizing site 

geologic and hydrogeologic conditions and 

identifying and delineating each contamination 

source as to each affected environmental 

medium, including any plans for special 

assessment such as a geophysical survey; 

(15) intended methods, locations, depths of, and 

justification for all sample collection points for 

all media sampled, including monitoring well 

locations and anticipated screened intervals; 

(16) proposed field and laboratory procedures for 

quality assurance and quality control; 

(17) proposed analytical parameters and analytical 

methods for all samples; 

(18) equipment and personnel decontamination 

procedures; and 

(19) a description of measures that shall be 

implemented to protect the health and safety of 

nearby residential and business communities in 

relation to activities of the remedial 

investigation. 
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(i)  The REC shall prepare, certify, and submit remedial 

investigation reports prepared in compliance with this Rule and 

all other applicable requirements. The reports shall contain the 

following: 

(1) an update on meeting the deadlines required by 

Rule .0302(h) of this Section and by the 

remediating party's agreement with the 

Department; 

(2) a narrative description of how the investigation 

was conducted, including a discussion of all 

variances from the approved work plan; 

(3) a description of groundwater monitoring well 

design and installation procedures, including 

drilling methods used, completed drilling logs, 

"as built" drawings of all monitoring wells, well 

construction techniques and materials, geologic 

logs, and copies of all well installation permits; 

(4) a map, drawn to scale, showing all 

environmental media sample locations, test 

pits, surficial soil samples, soil borings, soil 

vapor samples, surface water samples, sediment 

samples, and monitoring wells in relation to 

disposal areas or other sources of contamination 

identified pursuant to Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

All sample locations shall be surveyed to a 

known benchmark or flagged with a secure 

marker until after the remedial action is 

completed. Groundwater elevations shall be 

surveyed to a known datum. Any survey 

performed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be 

performed by a registered land surveyor duly 

authorized under North Carolina law to conduct 

such activities; 

(5) a description of all field and laboratory quality 

control and quality assurance procedures 

followed during the remedial investigation; 

(6) a description of procedures used to manage drill 

cuttings, purge water, and decontamination 

water; 

(7) a summary of site geologic conditions, 

including a description of soils and vadose zone 

characteristics; 

(8) a description of site hydrogeologic conditions if 

groundwater contamination is known or 

suspected to be present, including current uses 

of groundwater, notable aquifer characteristics, 

a water table elevation contour map with 

groundwater flow patterns depicted, and 

tabulated groundwater elevation data; 

(9) tabulation of analytical results for all sampling 

including sampling dates and soil sampling 

depths and copies of all laboratory reports, 

including quality assurance and quality control 

documentation; 

(10) if contaminants exceed cleanup levels pursuant 

to Rule .0308 of this Section, soil, groundwater, 

surface water, and sediment contaminant 

delineation maps for each primary constituent 

of concern, including scale and sampling points 

with contaminant concentrations; 

(11) if contaminants exceed cleanup levels pursuant 

to Rule .0308 of this Section, cross sections, 

including scale and sampling points with 

contaminant concentrations; 

(12) a description of the risk of contaminant 

migration in any media to: 

(A) wells, springs, and surface water 

intakes identified in Subparagraph 

(h)(6) of this Rule; and 

(B) sensitive environments, sensitive 

populations or property uses, or above 

and below ground structures and 

utilities identified in Subparagraph 

(h)(7) of this Rule; 

(13) a description of procedures and the results of 

special assessments such as geophysical 

surveys, immunoassay testing, soil gas surveys, 

or test pit excavations; and 

(14) color copies of site photographs if used to 

provide documentation of the investigation 

results. 

(j)  If an REC elects to conduct a pilot study, or further 

contaminant characterization is needed to evaluate a potential 

remedy, the REC shall prepare, certify, and submit, prior to 

implementation, a work plan prepared in compliance with 

Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule and other applicable 

requirements. The work plan shall also contain a description of 

additional site characterization, pilot studies, and treatability 

studies to be conducted in relation to the site. 

(k)  If any of the following conditions apply to the proposed 

remedial action, the REC shall seek and obtain Department 

concurrence with the remedial action prior to implementation by 

submitting to the Department a summary of available remedies, 

their projected costs, and the reasons why each was accepted or 

rejected by the REC: 

(1) the remedial action will be conducted entirely 

on site and for which a permit waiver is desired 

under G.S. 130A-310.3(e); 

(2) the remedial action includes institutional 

controls for restricted use of contaminated areas 

or media; or 

(3) the remedial action exceeds the cost set forth in 

G.S. 130A-310.9(a). 

(l)  Thirty days prior to approving a remedial action plan, the REC 

shall provide notice of the proposed remedial action plan to those 

who have requested notice that such plans have been developed, 

as provided in G.S. 130A-310.4(c)(2). The REC shall provide 

proof of such notice and of resulting comments from the public to 

the Department prior to approval of the remedial action plan. 

(m)  Remedial actions that involve the emission or discharge of 

hazardous substances to the atmosphere shall be conducted in a 

manner that provides for the protection of human health and the 

environment, in conformance with this Section and all applicable 

permits, approvals, laws, or other rules or regulations. 

(n)  The REC shall prepare, certify, and submit, prior to 

implementation of a contaminant remedy, remedial action plans 

prepared in compliance with Paragraphs (d), (e), (k), (l), and (m) 
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of this Rule and all other applicable requirements. The plans shall 

contain the following: 

(1) a discussion of the results of the remedial 

investigation, including media contaminated, 

contaminants of concern, the areal and vertical 

extent of contamination, and the risk of 

contaminant migration in any media to any 

wells, springs, and surface-water intakes, 

sensitive environments, sensitive populations 

or property uses, and above and below ground 

structures or utilities identified in Subparagraph 

(i)(12) of this Rule; 

(2) a statement of objectives for the remedial 

action; 

(3) an evaluation of available remedial alternatives 

using the following feasibility study criteria: 

(A) protection of human health and the 

environment, including attainment of 

cleanup levels; 

(B) compliance with applicable federal, 

State, and local regulations; 

(C) long-term effectiveness and 

permanence; 

(D) reduction of toxicity, mobility and 

volume; 

(E) short-term effectiveness, such as 

effectiveness at minimizing the impact 

of the site remedial action on the 

environment and the local community; 

(F) implementability, such as technical 

and logistical feasibility and an 

estimate of time required for 

completion; 

(G) cost; and 

(H) community acceptance; 

(4) a description of the results of site 

characterization, pilot studies, or treatability 

studies that support the design and a description 

of the procedures and schedule for construction, 

operation and maintenance, system monitoring 

and performance evaluation, and progress 

reporting for the chosen remedial alternative; 

(5) a description and conceptual design of the 

proposed remedy, including process flow 

diagrams and pre-design drawings of all major 

components of all treatment; 

(6) a demonstration that the proposed remedy is 

supported by the remedial alternative feasibility 

study conducted pursuant to Subparagraph 

(n)(3) of this Rule; 

(7) a description of all activities necessary to 

implement the proposed methods of remedial 

action in compliance with applicable laws and 

regulations and in such a manner that cleanup 

standards are met. These activities shall 

include, well installation and abandonment, 

sampling, run-on or run-off control, discharge 

of treated waste streams, and management of 

investigation and remedial action derived 

wastes; 

(8) a description of the criteria for remedial action 

completion, including procedures for 

confirmatory sampling; 

(9) a description of measures that shall be 

implemented to protect the health and safety of 

nearby residential and business communities in 

relation to activities of the remedial action; and 

(10) equipment and personnel decontamination 

procedures. 

(o)  If, in the opinion of the REC, interim remedial action is 

necessary to abate an imminent hazard as defined in G.S. 130A-

310.5(a), or for removal of waste or chemical sources to protect 

public health, safety, and welfare and the environment from 

hazardous substances migrating toward receptors or other 

properties prior to development of a remedial action plan pursuant 

to Paragraph (n) of this Rule, the REC shall prepare, certify, and 

submit, prior to implementation, an interim remedial action plan 

prepared in compliance with Paragraphs (d), (e), (k), (l), and (m) 

of this Rule and other applicable requirements that contains the 

following: 

(1) a discussion of the remedial investigation data 

collected to date, including media 

contaminated, contaminants of concern, the 

known areal and vertical extent of 

contamination, and the risk of contaminant 

migration in media to any wells, springs, and 

surface water intakes, sensitive environments, 

sensitive populations or property uses, and 

above and below ground structures or utilities 

identified during the remedial investigation; 

(2) a statement of objectives for the interim 

remedial action; 

(3) a description and conceptual design of the 

proposed interim remedial action, including 

process flow diagrams and pre-design drawings 

of all major components of all treatments; 

(4) a description of all activities necessary to 

implement the proposed methods of interim 

remedial action in compliance with applicable 

laws and regulations. 

(5) a description of measures that shall be 

implemented to protect the health and safety of 

nearby residential and business communities in 

relation to activities of the interim remedial 

action; and 

(6) equipment and personnel decontamination 

procedures. 

(p)  The REC may change an approved remedy. In such cases, the 

REC shall prepare a revised remedial action plan in compliance 

with Paragraph (n) of this Rule. 

(q)  The REC shall prepare, certify, and submit remedial action 

progress reports in compliance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule and 

all other applicable requirements beginning after the REC has 

certified approval of the remedial action plan pursuant to Part 

(b)(5)(B) of this Rule. Remedial action progress reporting shall 

continue until remedial action is complete. Remedial action 

progress reports shall be submitted quarterly until one year after 
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the construction of the remedy is complete. After the first year of 

progress reporting or if a remedy that includes no construction 

component is being implemented, remedial action progress 

reports shall be submitted annually until remedial action is 

complete. Remedial action progress reports shall include, for the 

reporting period, an update on meeting the deadlines in Rule 

.0302(h) of this Section and the remediating party's agreement 

with the Department and the following: 

(1) a description of the results of all site 

characterization, pilot studies, or treatability 

studies completed since certification of the 

remedial action plan; 

(2) the final engineering design report, including a 

narrative description of process design, final 

plans and specifications, and an updated project 

schedule; 

(3) copies of any final registrations, permits, and 

approvals; 

(4) "as built" plans and specifications; 

(5) a summary of all problems encountered during 

construction; 

(6) operation and maintenance results of the 

treatment technology utilized, such as 

summaries of remedial action operating and 

maintenance requirements and a discussion of 

problems encountered; 

(7) performance evaluation results, including 

tabulated and graphical presentations of 

monitoring data and a comparison of remedial 

action performance to design goals; 

(8) a description of all field and laboratory quality 

control and quality assurance procedures 

followed during all sampling and analysis; 

(9) tabulation of analytical results for all sampling 

and copies of all laboratory reports including 

quality assurance and quality control 

documentation; 

(10) a map, drawn to scale, showing all soil sample 

and monitoring well locations; 

(11) if contaminants exceed cleanup levels pursuant 

to Rule .0308 of this Section, current soil, 

groundwater, surface water, and sediment 

contaminant delineation maps for each primary 

contaminant of concern, including scale and 

sampling points with contaminant 

concentrations; 

(12) if groundwater contamination exists at the site 

in excess of cleanup levels established pursuant 

to Rule .0308 of this Section, upon construction 

completion certification by the REC and at least 

every five years thereafter until remedial action 

is complete, an update of the information 

required pursuant to Subparagraphs (h)(6) and 

(7) of this Rule shall be included. The update 

shall also include an evaluation of the necessity 

to implement additional remedial action, and a 

remedial action plan if the REC determines a 

need exists, to address a risk of contaminant 

migration in any environmental media to any of 

the following: 

(A) identified wells, springs, and surface-

water intakes; 

(B) identified sensitive environments, 

sensitive populations, or property 

uses; and 

(C) above and below ground structures or 

utilities; and 

(13) sampling and analytical results that 

demonstrate progress toward achieving 

remedial goals. 

(r)  The REC shall prepare, certify, and submit final remedial 

action completion reports that contain the following, unless 

provided in a previous progress report: 

(1) a final progress report that includes all the 

information required pursuant to Paragraph (q) 

of this Rule; 

(2) a summary of remedial action operating 

experience and effectiveness in meeting design 

goals, based on all performance monitoring 

data and progress reporting to date; and 

(3) a discussion of criteria for completing the 

remedial action and a demonstration, supported 

by confirmatory sampling data, that such 

criteria have been satisfied.  

(s)  In the performance of its role pursuant to the rules in this 

Section, the REC shall manage investigation and remedial action 

derived wastes to provide for the protection of human health and 

the environment and comply with all applicable federal, State, and 

local laws, rules, and regulations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-310.12(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13C .0307 DEPARTMENTAL AUDITS AND 

INSPECTIONS 

(a)  The Department may conduct random or targeted audits of 

any REC, remediating party, response action or site that is subject 

to this Section. 

(b)  During Departmental audits of voluntary remedial actions, the 

Department may: 

(1) request that the person who has performed the 

response action provide a written explanation or 

other supporting evidence, to demonstrate 

compliance with this Section and other 

applicable requirements; 

(2) request that the person who has performed the 

response action or who is the subject of the 

audit appear at one of the Department's offices 

for an interview to provide an oral explanation 

or other evidence to demonstrate compliance 

with this Section and other applicable 

requirements. Any person requested to appear 

for an interview may be accompanied by an 

attorney or other representative; 

(3) visit a site or other location to determine 

whether an REC, remediating party, response 
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action, or site is in compliance with this Section 

and other applicable requirements; 

(4) investigate, take samples at a site, and inspect 

records, conditions, equipment, or practices 

material to the response action or property 

related to the site; or 

(5) take any other action to determine whether 

response actions have been performed in 

compliance with this Section and the 

requirements of Part 9 of Article 9 of Chapter 

130A of the General Statutes. 

(c)  In order to participate in the voluntary remedial action 

program governed by this Section, remediating parties shall 

provide financial assurance by paying an annual administrative 

fee. The fee shall be set by the Department based on the expected 

cost of auditing voluntary remedial actions and shall be used to 

offset that cost. Remediating parties who pay this fee shall also 

annually pay any shortfall or be reimbursed any remainder not 

expended by the Department annually. 

(d)  Based on audit findings, the Department may terminate a site's 

eligibility for voluntary remedial action under the REC program, 

disqualify an RSM or REC from work on a site or from the 

program or take other applicable enforcement action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-310.9(b); 130A-

310.12(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 13C .0308 CLEANUP LEVELS 

(a)  RECs shall demonstrate that the Department's ascertainment 

of the most nearly applicable cleanup standards as would be 

applied pursuant to CERCLA/SARA are met. 

(b)  Characterization of risks to health, safety, public welfare, and 

the environment is not required pursuant to this Section for a 

disposal site, environmental medium, or chemical for which 

response actions have reduced concentrations of hazardous 

substances to on-site natural background levels. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-310.3(d); 130A-

310.12(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 04 – AUCTIONEER LICENSING BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0101 PURPOSE 

(a)  It is the responsibility of the Board to license auctioneers, 

apprentice auctioneers, and auction firms and ensure that the 

qualifications and activities of those engaged in auctioneering 

activities comply with G.S. 85B. 

(b)  The Board is not a board of arbitration and has no jurisdiction 

to settle disputes between parties concerning  

the rate of commissions, the division of commissions, or pay of 

assistants. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0102 BOARD OFFICE 

(a)  The administrative offices of the Board are located at: 

108 Ber Creek Drive 

Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina 27526 

Telephone: (919) 567-2844 

(b)  The Board's website is www.ncalb.org. 

(c)  Office hours are 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., Monday through 

Friday, excluding State holidays as set forth in 25 NCAC 01E 

.0901, which is hereby incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2003; June 1, 1999; July 1, 1995; April 1, 

1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0103 DEFINITIONS 

Whenever used in this Chapter: 

(1) "Auction house," "auction barn," or "auction 

gallery" shall mean an auction business that 

conducts auctions at a single location and where 

consignments are brought to the location by 

either the auctioneer/auction firm or the public 

to be sold at auction. 

(2) "Auctioneers Law" or "licensing law" shall 

refer to G.S. 85B. 

(3) "Board" shall mean the North Carolina 

Auctioneers Commission. 

(4) "Buyer's Premium" shall mean any additional 

charge owed by a buyer to the auctioneer, 

auction firm, or to the seller above the highest 

accepted bid amount. 

(5) "Course" shall mean the curriculum, 

instruction, and activities of schools of 

auctioneering subject to the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(6) "Minimum Bid" shall mean minimum opening 

bids. 

(7) "Principal(s)" as it pertains to auction firms 

shall mean director(s), officer(s), owner(s), and 

partner(s). 

(8) "Sole Proprietor Auction Business" shall mean 

a licensed auctioneer whose business is not 

defined as an "Auction Firm" as set forth in G.S. 

85B-1(6). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 85B-4; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; April 1, 1996; January 

1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 04B .0104 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

PROCEDURES 

(a)  Contested Cases. Administrative hearings in contested cases 

conducted by the Board or an administrative law judge as 

authorized in G.S. 150B-40(e) shall be governed by: 

(1) Article 3A of G.S. 150B; 

(2) the Rules of Civil Procedure as contained in 

G.S. 1A-1; and 

(3) the General Rules of Practice for the Superior 

and District Courts as authorized by G.S. 7A-34 

and found in the Rules Volume of the North 

Carolina General Statutes. 

The General Rules of Practice for the Superior and 

District Courts are hereby incorporated by reference for 

contested cases for which the Board has authority to 

adopt rules under G.S. 150B-38(h). These incorporations 

shall include any later amendments and editions of the 

incorporated matter. 

(b)  Declaratory Rulings. Petitions for declaratory rulings shall be 

submitted to the Board and shall contain: 

(1) the petitioner's name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(2) the statute, rule, or order to which the request 

relates; 

(3) all facts and information that the petitioner 

considers relevant to the request; 

(4) a statement of the manner in which petitioner 

has been aggrieved; and 

(5) a statement as to whether the petitioner desires 

to present oral argument, not to exceed 30 

minutes, to the Board prior to its decision. 

The Board shall refuse to issue a declaratory ruling 

when: 

(A) the petition does not comply with this 

Rule; 

(B) the Board has issued a declaratory 

ruling on the same facts; 

(C) the Board has issued a final agency 

decision in a contested case on the 

same facts; 

(D) the facts underlying the request for a 

declaratory ruling were considered at 

the time of the adoption of a rule or 

order in question; or 

(E) the subject matter of the request is 

involved in pending litigation. 

(c)  Petitions For Rule-Making. In addition to the procedures set 

out in G.S. 150B-20, petitions for rule-making shall be submitted 

to the Board and shall contain: 

(1) the petitioner's name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(2) a draft of the proposed rule adoption or 

amendment; and 

(3) the effect of the proposal on existing rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 150B-4; 150B-20; 

150B-38(h); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; January 1, 1995; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0201 APPLICATION FORMS 

(a)  Auctioneer. Each applicant for an auctioneer license shall 

make application on a form prescribed by the Board, which may 

be obtained from the Board using the information in Rule .0102 

of this Subchapter.  

(1) The application form requires: 

(A) the applicant's legal name; 

(B) the applicant's physical, postal mail, 

and email addresses; 

(C) the applicant's telephone number(s); 

(D) the county, state, and country of the 

applicant's legal residence; 

(E) the applicant's social security number; 

(F) the applicant's date of birth; 

(G) the applicant's qualification for 

licensure as set forth in G.S. 85B-4(b); 

(H) the places of residence within the 

previous five years for the applicant; 

(I) the applicant's current employment (if 

any); 

(J) any places of employment within the 

previous five years for the applicant; 

(K) two character endorsements for the 

applicant; 

(L) any doing business names for the 

applicant; and 

(M) the applicant's notarized signature. 

(2) This application shall be submitted to the Board 

and shall be accompanied by: 

(A) one forward facing, 2" x 2" color 

photograph of the applicant's head and 

shoulders taken within the previous 

six months for identification; 

(B) the completed fingerprint cards 

provided by a law enforcement agency 

and the form signed by the applicant 

consenting to the check of the criminal 

history and to the use of fingerprints 

and other identifying information; 

(C) a copy of the applicant's high school 

diploma or proof of equivalency; 

(D) an employee classification form 

provided by the Board; 

(E) the applicable fees, as set forth in 21 

NCAC 04B .0202; and 

(F) documentation of required auctioneer 

schooling or auctioneer experience, as 

follows: 

(i) Applicants who base their 

application upon their 

completion of a school of 

auctioneering with its 

curriculum and instructors 

approved by the Board as set 

forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0500 

shall submit a final transcript. 

If the applicant has 
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completed this school more 

than the five years preceding 

the date of his or her 

application, the applicant 

shall submit documentation 

of the applicant's lawful 

participation in auctions 

within the two years 

preceding the date of 

application. The above-

referenced participation in 

auctions is defined as 

"Auctioneering" as set forth 

in G.S. 85B-1(8); or 

(ii) Applicants who base their 

application upon their 

successful completion of an 

apprenticeship shall submit a 

log maintained and 

completed during the 

apprenticeship period that 

lists the hours and dates when 

they obtained apprenticeship 

experience, with each entry 

being verified and signed by 

their supervising 

auctioneer(s). At least 100 

hours of experience during 

the apprenticeship two-year 

period shall be obtained. Not 

less than 25 of the total hours 

accumulated shall be 

attributable to bid calling. 

Not less than 50 hours shall 

be attributable to working as 

a ring person, drafting and 

negotiating contracts, 

evaluating merchandise, 

advertising, clerking, and 

cashiering, with not less than 

five hours of accumulated 

experience documented for 

each activity. An apprentice 

who applies for an auctioneer 

license under this Part shall 

submit his or her application 

and supporting 

documentation and obtain a 

passing score on the 

auctioneer exam prior to the 

expiration of his or her 

apprentice auctioneer 

license. 

(b)  Non-Resident Reciprocal Auctioneer. Each non-resident 

applicant for an auctioneer license who applies for a North 

Carolina license pursuant to G.S. 85B-5 shall make application on 

a form prescribed by the Board, as set forth in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. This form shall be submitted to the Board and shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) one forward facing, 2" x 2" color photograph of 

the applicant's head and shoulders taken within 

the previous six months for identification; 

(2) the completed fingerprint cards provided by a 

law enforcement agency and the form signed by 

the applicant consenting to the check of the 

criminal history and to the use of fingerprints 

and other identifying information; 

(3) a copy of the applicant's high school diploma or 

proof of equivalency; 

(4) an employee classification form provided by 

the Board; 

(5) the applicable fees, as set forth in 21 NCAC 

04B .0202; 

(6) a statement of good standing from the licensing 

board or Commission of each jurisdiction 

where the applicant holds an auctioneer, 

apprentice auctioneer, or auction firm license; 

and 

(7) irrevocable consent of the applicant that service 

to the Board shall be sufficient service of 

process for actions against the applicant by a 

resident of this State arising out of his or her 

auctioneering activities with notarized 

signature and notarial seal affixed. 

(c)  Apprentice Auctioneer. Each applicant for an apprentice 

auctioneer license shall make application on a form prescribed by 

the Board, as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. This form 

shall be submitted to the Board and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one forward facing, 2" x 2" color photograph of 

the applicant's head and shoulders taken within 

the previous six months for identification; 

(2) the completed fingerprint cards provided by a 

law enforcement agency and the form signed by 

the applicant consenting to the check of the 

criminal history and to the use of fingerprints 

and other identifying information; 

(3) a copy of the applicant's high school diploma or 

proof of equivalency; 

(4) an employee classification form provided by 

the Board; 

(5) the applicable fees, as set forth in 21 NCAC 

04B .0202; 

(6) the signature, as designated on the apprentice 

applicant form, of the licensed auctioneer(s) 

who will be supervising the apprentice 

auctioneer; and 

(7) a written statement of each proposed 

supervisor's background and experience in the 

auction profession, including the number and 

types of auctions conducted or participated in 

annually, as set forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0403. 

(d)  Auction Firms. An applicant for an auction firm shall be a 

principal within the firm. Each applicant for an auction firm 

license shall make application on a form prescribed by the Board, 

which may be obtained from the Board using the information in 

Rule .0102 of this Subchapter.  

(1) The application form requires: 
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(A) the firm's legal name, and any 

assumed names or trade names; 

(B) the firm's type of business entity; 

(C) the names, addresses, telephone 

numbers, and titles of each owner, 

officer, and partner of the firm; 

(D) the firm's physical, postal mail, and 

email addresses; 

(E) the firm's website address (if any); 

(F) the firm's telephone number(s); 

(G) the applicant's name, which shall be an 

owner of the firm; 

(H) the applicant's physical, postal mail, 

and email addresses; 

(I) the county, state, and country of the 

applicant's legal residence; 

(J) the applicant's social security number; 

(K) the applicant's qualification for 

licensure as set forth in G.S. 85B-4(b); 

(L) the designated person(s) of the firm as 

set forth in G.S. 85B-4(g) and 21 

NCAC 04B .0607; 

(M) two character endorsements for the 

applicant; and 

(N) the applicant's notarized signature. 

(2) This form shall be submitted to the Board and 

shall be accompanied by: 

(A) each of the principal's and proposed 

designated person's of the auction firm 

completed fingerprint cards provided 

by a law enforcement agency and the 

form signed by each consenting to the 

check of the criminal history and to the 

use of fingerprints and other 

identifying information; 

(B) a copy of each principal's and 

proposed designated person's high 

school diploma or proof of 

equivalency; 

(C) the applicable fees, as set forth in 21 

NCAC 04B .0202; 

(D) a certified copy of any applicable 

Articles of Incorporation, Articles of 

Organization, Partnership Agreement, 

or Assumed Name Certificate; and 

(E) a statement of good standing from the 

licensing board or Commission of 

each jurisdiction where the applicant 

firm and any principal and proposed 

designated person of such firm holds 

an auctioneer license of any type; and  

(F) an employment classification form 

provided by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; ; 85B-3.2; 85B-

4; 85B-5; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996; January 1, 1995; June 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0202 FILING AND FEES 

(a)  Completed applications shall be received in the Board office 

at least seven days prior to a published Board meeting date, or in 

the case of an application for auctioneer examination, at least 10 

days prior to a scheduled examination as published on the Board's 

website, and shall be accompanied by all required documents. 

(b)  License fees are as follows: 

(1) New auctioneer license for an applicant who 

did not serve an apprenticeship  $250.00 

This includes a $150.00 annual license fee; 

$50.00 application fee; and  

$50.00 examination fee. 

(2) New auctioneer license for an applicant who 

served an apprenticeship  $200.00 

This includes a $150.00 annual license fee; and 

$50.00 examination fee. 

(3) Renewal of auctioneer license $150.00 

(4) New apprentice auctioneer license $150.00 

This includes a $100.00 license fee and a 

$50.00 application fee. 

(5) Renewal of apprentice auctioneer license 

    $100.00 

(6) New auction firm license (no examination) 

    $200.00 

This includes a $150.00 annual license fee; and 

$50.00 application fee. 

(7) New auction firm license (examination) 

    $250.00 

This includes a $150.00 annual license fee; 

$50.00 application fee; and  

$50.00 examination fee. 

(8) Renewal of an auction firm license $150.00 

(9) Application and processing fee for conversion 

of non-resident reciprocal license to $50.00 

in-state license 

(10) Reinstatement of lapsed license $50.00 

(11) Fingerprint card background check fee 

    $38.00 

(c)  The renewal fee for a non-resident reciprocal licensee under 

G.S. 85B-5 shall be calculated in the same manner as the initial 

application fee pursuant to G.S. 85B-6. 

(d)  Fees may be paid in the form of cash or a check, cashier's 

check, certified check, or money order made payable to the North 

Carolina Auctioneer Licensing Board. Checks drawn on escrow 

or trust accounts shall not be accepted. License renewal fees and 

reinstatement of license fees may be paid by credit card or debit 

card only when a license renewal fee (and when applicable, a 

reinstatement of license fee) is submitted by the licensee through 

the Board's website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.2(g); 85B-4.1; 85B-5(i); 

85B-6; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; January 1, 2000; April 1, 1996; 

January 1, 1995; April 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 19, 2001; 
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Temporary Amendment Expired August 12, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0203 EXTENSIONS FOR MEMBERS 

OF THE ARMED FORCES 

The Board shall waive the license renewal fee and shall grant an 

extension of time for up to one year for completing and reporting 

continuing education credits for those licensees currently licensed 

and in good standing with the Board who are serving in the Armed 

Services of the United States, and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants 

an extension of time to file a tax return. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0301 SUBJECT MATTER 

(a)  The auctioneer license examination shall test the applicant's 

knowledge of the following subjects: 

(1) a working knowledge of the auction business 

including conduct of auctions, auctioneering 

ethics, contract drafting, bid calling, basic 

mathematical computations and percentages, 

advertising, settlement statements, and laws 

and rules that relate to the auctioneering 

profession; 

(2) the provisions of the licensing law; and 

(3) the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The auction firm license examinations shall test the applicants 

knowledge of the following; 

(1) the provisions of the licensing law; and 

(2) the rules of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(d); 85B-4(g); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; January 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0302 RE-EXAMINATION/REFUND OF 

FEES 

If the applicant does not appear at the initial examination for 

which he or she has been scheduled or fails to pass such 

examination, he or she will be re-scheduled for the next scheduled 

examination. If the applicant again does not appear or fails to pass 

this examination, the Board shall refund the licensure fee, but not 

the application or examination fee. A new application and 

appropriate fees shall be required if the person wishes to reapply. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4; 85B-6; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0303 EXAM: REVIEW: PAPERS AND 

CONTENTS 

(a)  Any applicant who fails to obtain a passing score of 75 percent 

or higher on an examination may request an appointment with the 

Board staff to review his or her examination. 

(b)  All examination papers shall remain the property of the Board. 

The contents thereof shall not be divulged, except by express 

written authorization of the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4; 93B-8; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0401 LICENSE NUMBER: DISPLAY 

OF LICENSE AND POCKET CARD 

(a)  The Board shall issue to each individual or firm a non-

transferable license number. If the number is retired for any 

reason such as death, failure to continue in the auction business, 

or failure to renew his or her license, the Board shall not reissue 

the number. 

(b)  A pocket card shall be issued by the Board with the 

auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or auction firm's name, license 

number, and date of expiration. The pocket card shall be carried 

when auctioneering activities are being conducted by the licensee, 

and in the case of auction firms, each of the designated persons, 

and shall be available for inspection by the Executive Director or 

designated agent of the Board.  

(c)  An auction firm shall display its license in its premises, so as 

to be visible for inspection by patrons of the firm. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; January 1, 1995; April 

1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0402 LICENSE RENEWAL 

(a)  Any licensee seeking the renewal of a license that is in good 

standing shall submit the required fees, records, and 

documentation as set forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0801(a) and G.S. 

143-788(a)(5) to verify the licensee's compliance with G.S. 85B 

and the rules in this Chapter.  

(b)  Applications for renewal of licenses shall only be processed 

by the Board upon receipt of the required fee and any records, 

documents, or information required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Any person or entity who engages in any auctioneering 

activities governed by the auctioneers law while the license is 

lapsed shall be subject to the penalties pursuant to G.S. 85B-9. 

(d)  Persons or firms whose license has been lapsed or suspended 

in excess of 24 months and who desire to be licensed shall apply 

for a new license and shall meet all the requirements in effect at 

that time. Persons or firms whose license has been lapsed or 

suspended in excess of 24 months and who desire to be licensed 

shall be exempt from the auctioneer school or the apprenticeship 

requirements if the continuing education requirements have been 

met for all lapsed or suspended years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4; 
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Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; January 1, 1995; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0403 APPRENTICE AUCTIONEER 

LICENSE 

(a)  An apprentice auctioneer's license shall be valid only while 

he or she is associated with and supervised by a licensed 

auctioneer approved by the Board. In order to be approved by the 

Board as a supervisor, the Board shall receive a written notice, 

signed by the prospective supervisor and the apprentice, 

requesting that the licensed auctioneer be approved as a 

supervisor for the apprentice. Upon receipt of such a request, the 

Board shall review the requested approval. The requested 

approval shall be denied by the Board if the prospective 

supervisor fails to possess a minimum of five years of active 

experience in the auctioneering profession or has committed any 

act that resulted in license suspension or revocation under the 

rules of this Subchapter or under G.S. 85B.  

(b)  The supervising auctioneer shall be on the premises of the sale 

location and supervise the apprentice auctioneer at all times that 

an apprentice auctioneer is engaged in bid calling. Additionally, 

the supervising auctioneer shall supervise the apprentice and 

ensure that the apprentice auctioneer conforms with the auctioneer 

law and the rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Any licensed auctioneer who undertakes the supervision of an 

apprentice auctioneer shall provide the apprentice with training 

and supervision in the following: 

(1) a working knowledge of the auction business 

including conduct of auctions, auctioneering 

ethics, contract drafting, bid calling, basic 

mathematical computations, advertising, and 

settlement statements; 

(2) the provisions of the licensing law; 

(3) the rules of this Subchapter; and 

(4) the preparation and maintenance of written 

agreements, record books, and other sales 

records as required by G.S. 85B-7. 

(d)  Apprentices shall not conduct or contract to conduct any 

auction without the prior express written consent of the 

supervisor(s). No supervisor shall authorize an apprentice to 

conduct or contract to conduct an auction, to act as principal 

auctioneer, or handle any funds related to an auction unless the 

supervisor has determined that the apprentice has received the 

training to do so. An apprentice auctioneer may work under more 

than one Board-approved licensed auctioneer at any given time. 

(e)  The supervisor(s) shall ensure that the apprentice complies 

with all of the laws and Rules as they apply to any auction-related 

transaction approved by the supervisor. 

(f)  An apprentice auctioneer shall notify the Board, in writing, 

within 10 days of termination of his or her association with his or 

her supervising auctioneer, at which time his or her license shall 

be placed in an invalid status. If an apprentice auctioneer's 

supervising auctioneer's license has been suspended or revoked, 

the apprentice auctioneer's license shall be placed in an invalid 

status. Once in an invalid status, an apprentice auctioneer shall not 

conduct or contract to conduct any auction. If an apprentice's 

license is invalid greater than 90 days due to a lack of an approved 

sponsor, the apprentice upon securing an approved sponsor shall 

be required to submit a reinstatement fee as set forth in 21 NCAC 

04B .0202(b)(10). Upon termination of the association between a 

supervisor and the apprentice, both licensees shall notify the 

Board in writing within 10 days, specifying the date and cause of 

termination. At this time the apprentice auctioneer's license shall 

be placed in an invalid status, unless at least one Board-approved 

supervisor remains in place for the apprentice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4; 85B-7; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; April 1, 1996; January 1, 1995; June 

1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0404 GROUNDS FOR LICENSE 

DENIAL OR DISCIPLINE 

(a)  The Board may assess a civil penalty in accordance with G.S. 

85B-3.1(b) or deny, suspend, or revoke a license, or issue a letter 

of reprimand to a licensee, upon any of the following grounds: 

(1) violation of any provision of G.S. 85B; 

(2) violation of any rule in this Subchapter; 

(3) a check given to the Board in payment of fees 

is returned unpaid; 

(4) allowing an unlicensed person to call a bid at a 

sale, except as authorized in 21 NCAC 04B 

.0506; 

(5) auctioneering at an unlicensed auction firm 

sale; 

(6) failure to complete an application or making 

any false statement or giving any false 

information in connection with an application 

for a license, renewal, or reinstatement of a 

license including: 

(A) failure to cooperate with any 

investigation; or 

(B) making any false statement or giving 

any false information in connection 

with any investigation by the Board or 

the Board's staff; 

(7) being adjudicated mentally incompetent by a 

court; 

(8) being convicted of a crime that meets the 

requirements of G.S. 93B-8.1(b); 

(9) violation of any federal or state statute, rule, or 

regulation that relates to the auctioneering 

profession; 

(10) practicing the profession for which the 

individual is licensed while his or her ability to 

practice was impaired by alcohol or other drugs 

or physical or mental disability or disease; 

(11) being incompetent in practice. In this 

Subparagraph, "being incompetent in practice" 

means the licensee has engaged in conduct that 

shows a lack of ability, fitness, or knowledge to 

apply principles or skills of the auctioneering 

profession; 

(12) engaging in unprofessional conduct. In this 

Subparagraph, "unprofessional conduct" means 
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the licensee has committed any prohibited act 

as set forth in G.S. 85B-8(a); 

(13) obtaining or attempting to obtain compensation 

by fraud or deceit; 

(14) violation of any order of the Auctioneer 

Licensing Board requiring a licensee to comply 

with any provision of the Board's law or 

administrative rules; 

(15) failure to possess truth, honesty, and integrity 

sufficient to be entitled to the high regard and 

confidence of the public. In this Subparagraph, 

"a lack of truth, honesty, and integrity" shall be 

shown by proof that the applicant or licensee is 

in violation of other provisions of the Board's 

law and administrative rules that demonstrate 

that the applicant or licensee fails to meet this 

standard; or 

(16) failure to make the disclosures required by 21 

NCAC 04B .0405. 

(b)  When applying the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

to auction firms or their applications, the requirements shall apply 

to the firm, all the principals, and all of the designated persons of 

the firm. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-8; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0405 INVOLVEMENT IN COURT 

ACTION OR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

(a)  All auctioneers, apprentice auctioneers, and auction firms, 

including their principals and designated person(s), shall report to 

the Board all criminal arrests for, charges of, or convictions of a 

misdemeanor that has as an element dishonesty, deceit, fraud, or 

misrepresentation, or any arrests, charges, or convictions of any 

felony. Convictions include findings of guilt, guilty pleas, and 

pleas of nolo contendere. The Board shall receive written notice 

of any such arrest, charge, or criminal conviction within 30 days 

of the occurrence of any or all of these events. 

(b)  All auctioneers, apprentice auctioneers, and auction firms, 

including their principals and designated person(s), shall report to 

the Board all civil suits involving them that are based upon any 

allegation of gross negligence, dishonesty, fraud, 

misrepresentation, or incompetency, or that in any way involve an 

auction sale or a transaction related to an auction matter or 

auctioneering. The Board shall receive written notice of any such 

civil suit within 30 days of the date the complaint in the suit is 

served on the defendant in the action, or the date a pleading 

containing one or more of these allegations is served on a party. 

(c)  All auctioneers, apprentice auctioneers, and auction firms, 

including their principals and designated person(s), shall report to 

the Board all administrative proceedings commenced against 

them that involve any potential revocation or suspension of, or 

other disciplinary action against, any auction license or auctioneer 

license that they hold in another state. The Board shall receive 

written notice of any such administrative proceeding within 30 

days of the date the auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or auction 

firm, including its principals and designated person(s), is notified 

of the administrative proceeding. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; January 1, 1995; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0501 APPLICATION FOR COURSE 

APPROVAL 

(a)  Schools of auctioneering seeking approval of its curriculum 

and instructors by the Board shall make application on a form 

prescribed by the Board, which may be obtained from the Board 

using the information in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. The 

application form requires: 

(1) the school name; 

(2) the name of the school director; 

(3) the school's physical, postal mail, and email 

addresses; 

(4) the school's website address (if any); 

(5) the school's telephone number(s); 

(6) the name, education and experience 

qualifications, and hours to be taught for each 

instructor; 

(7) the instructor(s) for, and hours to be taught in 

each Essential Core Curriculum topic; 

(8) the instructor(s) for, and hours to be taught in 

each supplemental Instruction topic; and 

(9) the school director's signature. 

(b)  The school shall notify the Board within 30 days of any 

change in the information required by the application form set 

forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. This requirement shall 

continue as long as the school's curriculum and instructors remain 

approved by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4(d); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; March 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0502 REQUIREMENTS FOR APPROVAL/MINIMUM STANDARDS 

(a)  The course curriculum shall contain classroom instruction in the following subjects for the minimum number of hours shown: 

(1) Essential Core Curriculum (minimum 50 hours): 

15 Hours - Bid Calling, Voice Control, Proper Breathing Techniques, 

and Use and Sequence of Numbers; 

4 Hours - Advertising and Marketing; 

8 Hours - Auctioneers Law and Rules and Regulations; 

2 Hours - Uniform Commercial Code and Bulk Transfers; 
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2 Hours - Drafting and Negotiating Contracts; 

2 Hours - Closing Statements and Settlements; 

8 Hours - Accounting and Mathematics; 

2 Hours - Auctioneering Ethics; 

2 Hours - Handling Sale Proceeds and Escrow Accounts; 

2 Hours - Auction Preparation and Setup; and 

3 Hours - Review and Testing (End of Course). 

(2) Supplemental Instruction Areas (minimum 30 hours): 

Antiques     Heavy Equipment 

Real Estate     Automobiles 

Technology     Cattle and Livestock 

Environmental Issues   Public Speaking 

Computers     Estate Sales 

Firearms      Appraising 

Foreclosure and Bankruptcy Sales  Sales Tax Requirements 

Art, Rugs, Jewelry   Ring Work 

Body Language    Consignment Auctions 

Farm Machinery 

Cyber Security and Client Property Protection 

Each Supplemental Instruction Area shall be addressed in the school. 

(3) Schools that include students that have expressed to the school an interest to become North Carolina applicants shall 

provide a minimum of 2 hours of instruction on the North Carolina Auctioneers Law and Rules, G.S. 85B and 21 

NCAC 04B. This instruction shall be included within the minimum required 8 hours instruction of Auctioneers Law 

and Rules and Regulations. 

 

(b)  Students attending an approved course shall attend and 

complete a minimum of 80 hours of classroom instruction 

according to the list of subjects and minimum hours of instruction 

in each subject specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. An hour of 

creditable instruction is defined as 50 minutes of classroom 

instruction or practical exercise accompanied by a 10 minute 

break. 

(c)  Each school's curriculum shall include instruction by a 

minimum of five different instructors, at least two of whom shall 

be professional auctioneers. Regardless of the total number of 

hours taught by any given instructor, no more than 20 hours of an 

individual's instruction may be counted to satisfy the requirements 

of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  The school shall establish standards for all persons who 

instruct in an approved school with minimum training or 

experience, or a combination thereof, in the particular field in 

which they are instructing. 

(e)  The instructors shall exhibit truth, honesty, and integrity as set 

forth in Rule 21 NCAC 04B .0404(a)(15). 

(f)  The school shall provide or make available facilities, 

equipment, materials, and supplies necessary for the course, 

including: 

(1) a climate-controlled classroom with a seating 

capacity sufficient to accommodate all 

students; and 

(2) audio-visual equipment and other instructional 

devices and aids necessary and beneficial to the 

delivery of training. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4(d); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; March 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0503 CERTIFICATION OF COURSE 

COMPLETION 

Schools shall furnish each student who completes his or her 

course a transcript containing the student's name, the date the 

course was completed, and the total number of hours completed 

by that student.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(d); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0504 RECORDS MUST BE 

MAINTAINED 

Each school shall maintain for five years, and make available 

upon request of the Board or its staff, records containing the 

following information: 

(1) the dates, times of instruction, and location of 

every course offered; 

(2) for each student, the names, address(es), and 

numbers of hours completed; 

(3) a list of all instructors used by the school, the 

qualifications of each, and their addresses; and 

(4) for each course offered, the names of all 

instructors used, the subject(s) taught, the 

number of hours that each instructor devoted to 

each subject, and the dates and times of the 

instruction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(d); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 04B .0505 GROUNDS FOR APPROVAL, 

DENIAL, SUSPENSION, OR REVOCATION 

(a)  The approval of a school's curriculum and intstructors by the 

Board shall be valid for a period of two years. Each approval shall 

be evaluated for reapproval by the Board prior to the expiration of 

the two-year period. 

(b)  The Board may deny, suspend, or revoke the approval of any 

school's curriculum and instructors when it finds that the school 

has failed to meet or to maintain any requirement of this Section. 

The Board may deny, suspend, or revoke the approval of any 

school's curriculum and instructors upon a finding that any 

information required under this Section was falsified or 

misrepresented. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3(f); 85B-4(d); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0506 ALLOWING UNLICENSED BID 

CALLERS: EXCEPTION 

A person enrolled in a class at a school of auctioneering with 

Board-approved curriculum and instructors may call bids without 

a license if it is done for the purpose of training and receiving 

instruction. The bid calling by an unlicensed individual shall be 

done under the direct supervision of a licensed auctioneer who is 

also an instructor in the school and who further assumes 

responsibility for the activities of the student in the matter 

involving bid calling. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(d); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0601 CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR 

BUSINESS NAME OR OWNERSHIP 

(a)  All licensees shall notify the Board in writing of each change 

or addition of residence or business address, including mailing 

address, and change of trade name, assumed name, or 

combination of names under which the licensee conducts business 

related to auctions. 

(b)  In the case of a corporate license, the licensee shall notify the 

Board of any change in the directors or officers of the corporation. 

The new director(s) or officer(s) shall comply with the provisions 

of 21 NCAC 04B .0201(d)(2)(A), (B), (D), (E), and (F). If the new 

directors or officers have a 51% or greater controlling interest in 

the corporation, the firm license shall be retired and the firm shall 

apply for a new license. 

(c)  In the case of a partnership license, the licensee shall notify 

the Board of any change in partners and such new partners shall 

comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 04B .0201(d)(2)(A), (B), 

(D), (E), and (F). 

(d)  In the case of an auction firm license, the licensee shall notify 

the Board of any change in a designated person(s). If the 

designated person is a currently licensed auctioneer under G.S 

85B, the designated person shall be required to comply with the 

provisions of 21 NCAC 04B .0201(d)(2)(A), (B), (D), (E), and 

(F). If the designated person is not a currently licensed auctioneer 

under G.S. 85B, the designated person shall be required to comply 

with the provisions of  21 NCAC 04B .0201(d)(2)(A), (B), (D), 

(E), and (F). 

(e)  Any changes of reported information required by this Rule 

shall be reported within 10 days of the occurrence of such change. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996; January 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0602 ADVERTISING 

(a)  In all advertisements relating to an auction, the auctioneer's, 

apprentice auctioneer's, or auction firm's name and license 

number shall be given. If an auctioneer is working for or in 

conjunction with an auction firm, the relationship shall be 

disclosed and both license numbers shall be given. A general 

advertisement that does not concern a specific sale or specific 

sales and that does not list sale dates, times, or locations, referred 

to as "trolling" or "holding" advertisements, shall not be subject 

to any identification requirement. A licensee may advertise under 

a name, assumed name, trade name, or combination of names, 

only if written notice has been filed with the Board. 

(b)  Any licensee who advertises an "Estate Sale" shall disclose, 

in all advertisement materials, whether it is the estate of a living 

or deceased person. Before conducting an auction as an "estate 

sale," the majority of items in the sale shall come from the estate 

of the living or deceased person(s). Other items not related to or 

in an estate may be sold with an estate if disclosed at or before the 

time of the auction. 

(c)  It shall be a violation of this Rule to advertise a "Bankruptcy 

Sale" unless the item(s) offered for sale, whether real or personal, 

are from an active bankruptcy action. Before conducting an 

auction as a "bankruptcy sale," the majority of the items in the sale 

shall come from the bankruptcy of one or more parties. Other 

items not related to or from a bankruptcy action may be sold with 

items from a bankruptcy action if disclosed at or before the time 

of the auction. 

(d)  It shall be a violation of this Rule to advertise an item, either 

real or personal, as "Absolute" or "Without Reserve" if the item is 

subject to confirmation, minimum bid, or any other condition of 

sale. Before advertising an auction as absolute or without reserve, 

the majority of items in the sale shall be offered for sale absolute 

or without reserve. Items that are not absolute may be included in 

the auction provided they are designated as such in all 

announcements and advertisements. 

(e)  It shall be a violation of this Rule to advertise any auction 

using such descriptive words as "Urgent," "Emergency," 

"Distress" or any other word that connotes liquidation of assets or 

that the buyers will be in a position to reap some unusual bargain 

without disclosing, in the written advertisement in a print size 

equal to the descriptive word, the reason that the sale is "urgent," 

the nature of the "emergency," or the cause of the "distress."  

(f)  It shall be a violation of this Rule to advertise any auction 

using such descriptive words as "Seized," "Confiscated," 

"Forfeited," or any other word that connotes a governmental 

action whereby items are seized or taken by a government 

department, agency, or commission and released or sold or that 
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the buyers will, for some governmental reason, be in a position to 

reap some unusual bargain without disclosing, in the written 

advertisement in a print size equal to the descriptive word, the 

exact nature of the government action. 

(g)  It shall be a violation of this Rule to advertise any items as 

being from an "estate" or a "bankruptcy," or from an "urgent," 

"emergency," "distress," "seized," "confiscated," "forfeited," or 

similar sale, unless the consignor of the item(s) to be sold is the 

original owner of the item(s), the designated representative of the 

owner, or a federal, state, or local department, agency, or 

commission charged with disposing of the item(s), and consigned 

the item(s) directly to the advertised sale. 

(h)  It shall be a violation of this Rule to: 

(1) Reference the U.C.C. or any other uniform act 

or federal or state law in any advertisement 

unless the act or law is required, by law, to be 

referenced; 

(2) Reference or mention any federal, state, or local 

department, agency, or commission in any 

advertisement unless required by law to do so 

or unless prior written approval is received 

from such department, agency, or commission; 

or 

(3) Otherwise connote in any advertisement that 

the auction is under the auspices of, at the 

direction of, or required by federal or state law 

or act or a federal, state, or local department, 

agency, or commission and that the buyers will, 

for some legal or governmental reason, be in a 

position to reap some unusual bargain. 

(i)  It shall be a violation of this Rule to advertise for sale items 

that the auctioneer/firm does not intend to offer for sale at the 

advertised auction. 

(j)  It shall be a violation of this Rule for an auctioneer or auction 

firm to permit its name or license number to appear on any 

advertisement for an auction without reviewing the contents of the 

advertisement prior to its publication to ascertain its compliance 

with G.S. 85B and this Subchapter. 

(k)  It shall be a violation of this Rule to advertise any auction 

using such descriptive words as "Contents," "Stock," "Inventory," 

"Liquidation," or any other word that connotes that the items to 

be auctioned are present on the premises of a residence, business, 

building, or establishment unless the items were physically 

present without interruption for 30 days prior to the signing of the 

contract or written agreement. Before conducting an auction using 

any of the descriptive words, the majority of the items in the sale 

shall be from the premises. Other items not related to or from the 

contents of the residence or business may be included in the 

auction provided they are designated as such in all advertisements 

previous to the sale. The 30-day requirement shall not apply to 

items used in direct conjunction with the residence or business 

and brought to the site solely for the purpose of sale at auction. 

(l)  At all auctions that include a buyer's premium, the amount of 

the buyer's premium shall be announced at the beginning of the 

auction and a written notice of this information shall be displayed 

or distributed to the public at the auction site. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 85B-8(a)(4); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; April 1, 1996; January 

1, 1995; June 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0603 SALE PROCEEDS, 

ACCOUNTING AND ESCROW ACCOUNTS 

(a)  Each payment made payable to the auctioneer/firm of which 

any portion belongs to others, and not disbursed to the seller on 

auction day, shall be deposited in an escrow account for the 

benefit of the owner or seller of such property within three 

business days after receipt of same. 

(b)  Any licensee who disburses any funds on auction day shall 

prepare a receipt or settlement statement in compliance with G.S. 

85B-7.1(a) and maintain records in compliance with G.S. 85B-

7.1(b). 

(c)  Every auctioneer/firm that does not disburse all funds to the 

seller on auction day shall establish and maintain a separate bank 

account designated as "Custodial Account for Sellers Proceeds" 

or some similar identifying designation, to disclose that the 

depositor is acting as a fiduciary and that the funds in the account 

are trust funds. 

(d)  Custodial accounts created pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule shall be established and maintained in banks, credit unions, 

or savings and loan associations located in North Carolina whose 

deposits are insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance 

Corporation, or comparable state or federal recognized insurance 

agency or program. 

(e)  The custodial account created pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule shall be drawn on only for payment of: 

(1) the net proceeds to the seller, or to any person 

that the auctioneer/firm knows is entitled to 

payment; 

(2) to pay charges against the property that the 

auctioneer/firm in its agency capacity is 

required to pay; and 

(3) to obtain any sums due the auctioneer/firm as 

compensation for its services. 

(f)  In the event of a dispute between the seller and buyer of goods 

or property or between the licensee and any person in whose name 

trust or escrow funds are held, the licensee shall retain the monies 

in his or her trust or escrow account until he or she has obtained a 

written release from the parties consenting to its disposition or 

until disbursement is ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

(g)  Each auctioneer/firm shall keep accounts and records that 

document the handling of funds in a custodial account created 

pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Accounts and records shall 

disclose the names of buyers and the amount of purchase and 

payment from each, the names of the sellers, and the amount due 

and payable to each from funds in the custodial account created 

pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The names of the buyers 

and amount of purchase and payment from each buyer related to 

an individual seller shall be delivered to the seller within 14 days 

of a written request made within 90 days of settlement of a 

specific auction. 

(h)  All trust or escrow account records and records of 

disbursement shall be available for inspection by the Board staff 

without advance notice, and copies shall be provided to the Board 

upon request. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-7.1; 85B-8(a); 

Eff. June 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; January 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0604 CONTRACTS, CONSIGNMENT 

RECORDS, SALES RECORDS, AND BIDDER 

REGISTRATION RECORDS 

(a)  All written agreements for auctions and registration, sales, and 

accounting records shall be maintained at the site during the 

conduct of the auction and, upon request, shall be made available 

to the Board or its staff. 

(b)  An auction house, auction barn, or auction gallery business 

may enter into a written agreement with repeat dealers or sellers 

for an extended period of time, not to exceed one year. 

(c)  The consignment records and sales records shall be kept by 

the licensee for a period of two years from the date of the auction. 

(d)  At an auction house, auction barn, or auction gallery, when 

consignments are brought to the location by the public during that 

specific auction sale, the sales records and the consignment 

records may be the same. 

(e)  The bidder registration records shall contain the bidders' 

names, addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses. The 

bidder registration records shall be kept by the licensee for a 

period of two years from the date of the auction. 

(f)  All required records shall be open for inspection by the Board 

or its designated agent at reasonable times, or copies of the same 

shall be provided to the Board or its designated agent upon written 

request. 

(g)  In auctions of consigned property, any buyer's premium shall 

be calculated, collected, and distributed according to terms 

authorized by the consignor in a written auction contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-7; 85B-7.1; 85B-8; 

Eff. January 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0605 BIDDING 

(a)  No auctioneer/auction firm shall bid on items in a sale he or 

she is conducting or procure the bid without the intent to purchase 

the item. However, in a sale with reserve, the auctioneer/auction 

firm may bid on the reserve item up to, and including, the amount 

of the reserve price without the intent to purchase the item. In any 

auction where the auctioneer/auction firm bids or such 

auctioneer/auction firm procures such a bid, the auctioneer shall 

announce such bidding in advance of the auction. 

(b)  A minimum opening bid shall not be required in an absolute 

auction. Following an opening bid, the auctioneer may set 

reasonable minimum bid increments. Such a policy shall be 

disclosed in the auctioneer's/auction firm's spoken, posted, and 

written terms and conditions of the sale. In this Paragraph 

"reasonable minimum bid increments" shall be determined by the 

auctioneer or auction firm, based on the type and value of the 

property being offered at an auction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 25-2-328(4); 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 

Eff. January 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0606 AUCTION FIRMS 

(a)  All licensed auction firms shall have at least one Board-

approved designated person as defined by G.S. 85B-1(10). If a 

licensed auction firm does not have at least one Board-approved 

designated person, it shall not engage in auctioneering activity. 

(b)  Only Board-approved designated person(s) for an auction 

firm shall have the authority to transact business under the firm 

license. This includes arranging, managing, soliciting, and 

contracting auctions; the supervision of the auction staff; the 

supervision of the acceptance of consignments of items for sale at 

auction; the supervision of the advertising of an auction; and the 

supervision of the acceptance of payment and disbursement of 

monies for items sold at auction. 

(c)  At least one designated person shall be on the premises of an 

auction firm's auction sale location while the auction sale is 

conducted. 

(d)  Any auctioneer licensed under G.S. 85B may call bids for a 

licensed auction firm without being a designated person. 

(e)  Any apprentice auctioneer licensed under G.S. 85B and 

supervised by his or her supervising auctioneer may call bids for 

a licensed auction firm without being a designated person. 

(f)  Individuals that hold a currently valid real estate broker license 

shall be exempt from the auction firm examination. Their 

authority to transact business as a designated person under the 

auction firm license is limited to real estate sales at auction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 85B-4; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0607 SOLE PROPRIETOR AUCTION 

BUSINESSES 

(a)  A licensed auctioneer who owns and operates a sole proprietor 

auction business has the responsibility for arranging, managing, 

soliciting, and contracting auctions; the supervision of the auction 

staff; the supervision of the acceptance of consignments of items 

for sale at auction; the supervision of the advertising of an auction; 

and the supervision of the acceptance of payment and 

disbursement of monies for items sold at auction. 

(b)  A licensed auctioneer or an apprentice auctioneer who is 

employed or contracted by another licensed auctioneer who owns 

and operates a sole proprietor auction business shall only be 

responsible for calling bids and performing duties that a non-

auctioneer is allowed to perform. 

(c)  A licensed auctioneer who owns and operates a sole proprietor 

auction business shall be on the premises of his or her businesses' 

auction sale location while the auction sale is conducted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0701 APPLICATIONS 

All verified applications will be served upon the Commission in 

accordance with the procedures set forth in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 

4(j)(4). 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4.2; 

Eff. January 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0801 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE 

(a)  To renew a license in active status, an auctioneer, apprentice 

auctioneer, or designated person(s) in an auction firm shall 

complete Board-approved course(s) consisting of the hours of 

instruction as established as in Paragraph (d) of this Rule and shall 

provide documentation of completion of Board-approved 

course(s) to the Board.  

(1) An auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or 

designated person(s) in an auction firm shall 

provide documentation on required continuing 

education courses to the Board by May 15th of 

the current renewal period. 

(2) The Board shall not process a license renewal 

until the licensee has complied with this Rule. 

(b)  The Board shall approve courses that shall be conducted by 

sponsors approved by the Board under the rules of this Section. 

The subject matter of this course shall be determined by the course 

sponsor. The course sponsor shall provide instructor and student 

materials. The course shall be conducted as prescribed by the rules 

in this Section.  

(c)  The sponsor may conduct the course at any location as often 

as desired during the approval period. Approval of a sponsor to 

conduct a course authorizes the sponsor to conduct the course 

using an instructor who has been approved by the Board as a 

course instructor under Rule .0804 of this Section. 

(d)  The minimum classroom hours of instruction for each year 

shall be four.  

(e)  An auctioneer, an apprentice auctioneer, or a designated 

person(s) in an auction firm shall complete the continuing 

education requirements for each renewal period that his or her 

license was lapsed or suspended. 

(f)  Credit hours applied to the current renewal of a license shall 

not be used for future renewals. 

(g)  Excess continuing education hours may be carried forward as 

credits for a maximum of one renewal year. 

(h)  No part of any prelicensing course curriculum shall count as 

continuing education credit hours. 

(i)  Continuing education shall not be required until the second 

renewal after initial licensing pursuant to G.S. 85B-4(e). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 12, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Expired July 29, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0802 APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL 

APPROVAL 

(a)  An entity seeking original approval to sponsor a course shall 

make application on a form prescribed by the Board, which may 

be obtained from the Board using the information in Rule .0102 

of this Subchapter. The application form requires:  

(1) the sponsor's legal name, and any assumed 

names or trade names; 

(2) the sponsor's physical, postal mail, and email 

addresses; 

(3) the sponsor's website address (if any); 

(4) the sponsor's telephone number(s); 

(5) the applicant's name, which must be an owner 

of the sponsor; 

(6) the applicant's physical, postal mail, and email 

addresses; 

(7) the applicant's telephone number(s); 

(8) the course name; 

(9) the credit hours of the course; 

(10) a description of the content and subject matter 

of the course; 

(11) the name of the course instructor(s); 

(12) the name of the sponsor's continuing education 

coordinator; and 

(13) the applicant's signature. 

An applying entity that is not based in North Carolina shall also 

file with the application a consent to service of process and 

pleadings.  

(b)  Approval to sponsor a course shall be granted to an applicant 

upon showing to the Board that: 

(1) The applicant has submitted all information 

required by the Board in the application; 

(2) The applicant satisfies all of the requirements of 

Rule .0805 of this Section relating to 

qualifications or eligibility of course sponsors; 

(3) The continuing education coordinator required 

by Rule .0805(e) shall exhibit truth, honesty, 

and integrity as set forth in 21 NCAC 04B 

.0404(a)(15). The Board shall consider the 

reputation and character of any owner, officer, 

or director of any corporation, association, or 

organization applying for sponsor approval; 

and 

(4) The applicant has at least one proposed 

instructor who meets the requirements for 

Board approval as a course instructor under 

Rule .0804 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 12, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Expired July 29, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0803 STUDENT FEE FOR COURSES 

Sponsors of a course may establish the amount of the fee to be 

charged to students taking the course. However, the established 

fee shall be an all-inclusive fee and no separate or additional fee 

may be charged to students for providing course materials, 

providing course completion certificates, reporting course 

completion to the Board, or for recouping other administrative 

expenses. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0804 APPROVAL OF CONTINUING 

EDUCATION INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  Approval of course instructors shall occur at the time of the 

approval of the course sponsor. Approval of a course instructor 

authorizes the instructor to teach the course only for the approved 

course sponsor. An approved course instructor may not conduct a 

course unless the instructor is conducting the course under the 

supervision of an approved course sponsor. 

(b)  An entity seeking original approval as a course sponsor shall 

submit an application for each instructor for the course on a form 

prescribed by the Board, which may be obtained from the Board 

using the information in Rule .0102 of this Chapter. The 

application requires: 

(1) the instructor's name; 

(2) the instructor's postal mail and email addresses; 

(3) the instructor's telephone number; 

(4) the instructor's education and experience; and 

(5) the instructor's signature. 

No additional application fee is required.  

(c)  The instructor(s) shall exhibit truth, honesty, and integrity as 

set forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0404(a)(15). 

(d)  The instructor(s) shall be qualified under one or more of the 

following standards: 

(1) Possession of a baccalaureate or higher degree 

with a major in the field of marketing, finance, 

or business administration; 

(2) Possession of a current North Carolina 

auctioneer or auction firm license, three years 

experience in auctioneering within the previous 

10 years, and 30 classroom hours of auction 

education, excluding prelicensing education, 

within the past three years, such education 

covering topics that are in compliance with 

these Rules; 

(3) Possession of a current North Carolina real 

estate broker license, three years experience in 

the real estate business within the previous 10 

years, and experience teaching real estate 

prelicensing and continuing education courses; 

(4) Possession of a license to practice law in North 

Carolina and three years experience in law 

practice within the previous 10 years; or 

(5) Possession of qualifications found by the Board 

to be equivalent to one or more of the standards 

set forth in this Rule. 

(e)  The Board shall deny or withdraw approval of any course 

instructor upon finding that: 

(1) The course sponsor or the instructor made any 

false statements or presented false information 

in connection with an application for approval; 

(2) The instructor failed to meet the criteria for 

approval described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule 

or refused or failed to comply with any other 

provisions of this Subchapter; 

(3) The instructor failed to demonstrate, during the 

teaching of courses, teaching skills described in 

Rule .0815 of this Section; or 

(4) The instructor provided false or incorrect 

information in connection with any reports a 

course sponsor submitted to the Board. 

(f)  If a licensee who is an approved course instructor engages in 

any dishonest, fraudulent, or improper conduct in connection with 

the licensee's activities as an instructor, the licensee shall be 

subject to disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 85B-8 and G.S. 

85B-9. 

(g)  Upon the written request of the Board, an approved course 

instructor shall submit to the Board a video recording depicting 

the instructor teaching the course. The video recording shall have 

been made within 12 months of the date of submission, shall be 

in electronic format, and shall identify the instructor and the date 

of the presentation. 

(h)  An approved instructor who is a licensee of the Board shall 

receive continuing education credit hours for instruction at a rate 

of one hour for every one-half hour of approved course taught. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 12, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Expired July 29, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0805 SPONSOR REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An entity is eligible to seek approval as a sponsor of 

continuing education courses, provided that the entity seeking 

approval is either the owner of the proprietary rights to the course 

or has acquired from the course owner the right to seek course 

approval from the Board and to conduct the course. 

(b)  The official name used by any course sponsor in connection 

with the offering of an approved continuing education course shall 

distinguish the sponsor from any other approved continuing 

education course sponsor. Unless the sponsor is an auction school 

with approved curriculum and instructors pursuant to G.S. 85B-

4(d) that is proposing to operate continuing education courses in 

its own name, the official name also shall distinguish the sponsor 

from any auction school with approved curriculum and 

instructors. Sponsor applicants proposing to use a sponsor name 

that does not comply with this Paragraph shall be required to 

adopt a different name as a condition of approval. 

(c)  Any advertisement or promotional material utilized by an 

approved course sponsor shall include the course sponsor's 

official name and shall not include any other name for the sponsor. 

(d)  All sponsors shall obtain written approval from the Board 

prior to advertising a course or conducting a course and shall not 

advertise that a course is or may be approved for continuing 

education credit in North Carolina prior to Board approval. No 

retroactive approval to conduct a course shall be granted for any 

reason. 

(e)  A sponsor of a course shall designate one person to serve as 

the continuing education coordinator for all Board-approved 

continuing education courses offered by the sponsor. The 

designated coordinator shall serve as the contact person for the 

sponsor and shall be responsible for the following: 
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(1) Supervising the sponsor's Board-approved 

continuing education courses; 

(2) Signing the course completion certificates 

provided by the sponsor to licensees completing 

courses; and 

(3) Submitting to the Board all required rosters, 

reports and other information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0806 COURSE COMPLETION 

REPORTING 

(a)  Course sponsors shall prepare and submit to the Board reports 

verifying the student's completion of each continuing education 

course conducted. Sponsors shall submit these reports to the 

Board within 30 calendar days following the course, but in no case 

later than May 15 for courses conducted prior to that date. Reports 

shall include the following: 

(1) the course name; 

(2) the sponsor and coordinator name, mailing 

address, and telephone number; 

(3) the coordinator signature certifying that the 

information is correct; 

(4) the name, address, and North Carolina license 

number of each licensee who completed the 

course and who desires continuing education 

credit for the course; 

(5) the physical location where the course was 

conducted; 

(6) the date(s) and starting and ending times of each 

course; and 

(7) the number of credit hours. 

(b)  Course sponsors shall provide each licensee who completes 

an approved continuing education course a course completion 

certificate. Sponsors shall provide the certificates to licensees 

within 30 calendar days following the course, but in no case later 

than May 15 for any course completed prior to that date. Course 

completion certificates shall include the following: 

(1) the course name; 

(2) the name of the licensee who completed the 

course; 

(3) the date(s) of attendance; 

(4) the number of credit hours; and 

(5) the coordinator signature certifying that the 

information is correct. 

(d)  When a licensee in attendance at a continuing education 

course does not comply with the student participation standards 

of Rule .0817 of this Section, the course sponsor shall inform the 

Board in writing at the time reports verifying completion of 

continuing education for the course are submitted. A sponsor who 

determines that a licensee failed to comply with either the Board's 

attendance standards of Rule .0816(a) of this Section or the 

student participation standards of Rule .0817 of this Section shall 

not provide the licensee with a course completion certificate, nor 

shall the sponsor include the licensee's name on the reports 

verifying completion of continuing education. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0807 CHANGE IN SPONSOR 

OWNERSHIP AND OTHER INFORMATION 

(a)  The approval granted to a course sponsor may be transferred 

to a new or different entity only with the advance approval of the 

Board. 

(b)  Course sponsors shall notify the Board in writing prior to any 

change in business name, continuing education coordinator, 

address, or business telephone number. 

(c)  Course sponsors shall obtain advance approval from the Board 

for any changes to be made in the content or number of hours for 

courses. However, changes in course content made for the 

purpose of assuring that information provided in a course is 

current and accurate do not require approval during the approval 

period, but shall be reported at the time the sponsor requests 

renewal of course approval. Requests for approval of changes 

shall be in writing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0808 COURSE RECORDS 

All course sponsors shall retain on file for two years records of 

student registration and attendance for each session of a 

continuing education course that is conducted and shall make such 

records available to the Board, or its staff, upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0809 RENEWAL OF COURSE AND 

SPONSOR APPROVAL 

Board approval of all continuing education course sponsors shall 

expire on the next June 30 following the date of issuance. A 

completed renewal application prescribed by the Board shall be 

submitted to the Board annually on or before April 30. Applicants 

for renewal as a continuing education course sponsor shall make 

application on a form prescribed by the Board, which may be 

obtained from the Board using the information in Rule .0102 of 

this Subchapter. The application form requires: 

(1) the sponsor's legal name, and any assumed 

names or trade names; 

(2) the sponsor's physical, postal mail, and email 

addresses; 

(3) the sponsor's website address (if any); 

(4) the sponsor's telephone number(s); 

(5) the applicant's name, which must be an owner 

of the sponsor; 

(6) the applicant's physical, postal mail, and email 

addresses; 
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(7) the applicant's telephone number(s); 

(8) the name(s) of any new course(s); 

(9) the credit hours of any new course(s); 

(10) a description of the content and subject matter 

of any new course(s); 

(11) the name of the course instructor(s) for any new 

course(s); 

(12) the name of the sponsor's continuing education 

coordinator; and 

(13) the applicant's signature. 

Any continuing education course sponsor's renewal applications 

that are not received or that are not complete on or before April 

30 shall not have met the requirements for renewal and in order to 

conduct continuing education shall seek approval pursuant to 

Rule .0802 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0810 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

APPROVAL 

(a)  The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any course or 

course sponsor upon finding that: 

(1) The course sponsor has made any false 

statements or presented any false information in 

connection with an application for course or 

sponsor approval or renewal of approval; 

(2) The course sponsor or any instructor in the 

employ of the course sponsor has refused or 

failed to comply with any of the provisions of 

the rules of this Section; 

(3) The course sponsor or any instructor in the 

employ of the course sponsor has provided false 

or incorrect information in connection with any 

reports the course sponsor is required to submit 

to the Board; 

(4) An instructor in the employ of the course 

sponsor fails to conduct approved courses in 

accordance with the teaching skills described in 

Rule .0815 of this Section; or 

(5) Any court of competent jurisdiction has found 

the course sponsor, any instructor, or any 

person in the employ of the course sponsor to 

have violated, in connection with the offering 

of continuing education courses, any applicable 

federal or state law or regulation prohibiting 

discrimination on the basis of disability, 

requiring places of public accommodation to be 

in compliance with prescribed accessibility 

standards, or requiring that courses related to 

licensing or certification for professional or 

trade purposes be offered in a place and manner 

accessible to persons with disabilities. 

(b)  If a licensee who is an approved course sponsor or an 

instructor in the employ of an approved course sponsor engages 

in any dishonest, fraudulent, or unlawful conduct in connection 

with the licensee's activities as a course sponsor or instructor, the 

licensee shall be subject to disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 

85B-8 and G.S. 85B-9. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0811 MINIMUM CLASS SIZE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0812 SCHEDULING AND NOTICE OF 

SCHEDULED COURSES 

(a)  An hour of creditable instruction is defined as 50 minutes of 

instruction or practical exercise accompanied by a break of up to 

10 minutes. 

(b)  Sponsors shall provide the Board written notice of all 

scheduled course offerings not later than 10 days prior to a 

scheduled course date. The notice shall include the name of the 

sponsor and, for each scheduled course, the name of the course, 

the scheduled date and time, specific location, and name of the 

instructor(s). 

(c)  Sponsors shall notify the Board of any schedule changes or 

course cancellations at least five days prior to the original 

scheduled course date. If a change or cancellation is necessary 

five or less days before the course date due to weather, staffing, 

or other unforeseen circumstance, then notice shall be provided to 

the Board as soon as possible, and in no event more than 10 days 

later. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0813 ADVERTISING; PROVIDING 

COURSE INFORMATION 

(a)  Course sponsors shall not utilize advertising of any type that 

is false or misleading. In any advertisement for a course, the 

sponsor shall state the total number of hours of the course and the 

number of those hours that are Board-approved for continuing 

education credit. 

(b)  Any flyers, brochures, or similar materials utilized to promote 

a continuing education course shall state the fee to be charged and 

the sponsor's cancellation and fee refund policies. 

(c)  Upon course approval, course sponsors shall include in course 

descriptions and promotional materials the information contained 

in the following illustration: This course [seminar or program] has 

been approved by the Board for continuing education credit in the 

amount of __ hours. This course is not sponsored by the Board. 

(d)  Course sponsors of any course shall provide to any 

prospective student, upon request, a description of the course 

content.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 
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Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0814 CONDUCT OF CLASSES 

(a)  All class sessions of approved continuing education courses 

shall be open to all licensees on a first-come/first-served basis. 

The sponsor of a course that has an education or experience 

prerequisite, such as an advanced course leading to a special 

auctioneer designation, may refuse admission to a licensee not 

satisfying such prerequisite. 

(b)  Courses not conducted by electronic means shall be conducted 

in a facility that provides a learning environment as set forth in 21 

NCAC 04B .0502(f). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0815 INSTRUCTOR CONDUCT AND 

PERFORMANCE 

(a)  All instructors shall ensure that class sessions are conducted 

at the scheduled time and for the full amount of time that is 

scheduled.  

(b)  Instructors shall conduct courses in accordance with the 

Board's rules, and shall demonstrate the ability to: 

(1) present accurate and relevant information; 

(2) communicate using correct grammar and 

vocabulary; 

(3) present instruction in an organized manner, 

utilize illustrative examples, and respond to 

questions from students; 

(4) utilize a variety of instructional techniques that 

require students to analyze and apply course 

content, including teacher-centered approaches, 

such as lecture discussion, reading, group 

problem solving, case studies, and scenarios; 

(5) utilize instructional aids; 

(6) identify key concepts and correct student 

misconceptions; 

(7) maintain control of a class; and 

(8) avoid criticism of any other person, agency, or 

organization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0816 MONITORING ATTENDANCE 

(a)  Sponsors and instructors shall monitor attendance for the 

duration of each class session to ensure that all students reported 

as completing a course according to these Rules have attended at 

least 90 percent of the scheduled classroom hours. Sponsors shall 

not admit students to a class session after 10 percent of the 

scheduled classroom hours have been conducted. Unless a student 

satisfies the attendance requirement in this Paragraph, the sponsor 

shall not allow the student to sign a course completion card, issue 

a course completion certificate to a student, or report to the Board 

that the student completed the course. Sponsors and instructors 

shall not make any exceptions to the attendance requirement for 

any reason. 

(b)  Sponsors shall provide adequate personnel, in addition to the 

instructor, during all class sessions to assist the instructor in 

monitoring attendance and performing the administrative tasks 

associated with conducting a course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0817 STUDENT PARTICIPATION 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Students shall comply with the following student participation 

standards: 

(1) A student shall direct his or her attention to the 

instruction being provided and refrain from 

engaging in activities unrelated to the 

instruction. 

(2) A student shall refrain from engaging in any 

activities that are disruptive to other students or 

the instructor, or that otherwise disrupt the 

conduct of a class. 

(3) A student shall comply with all instructions 

provided by the sponsor or instructor related to 

providing information needed to report 

completion of a course by the student. 

(b)  Instructors and sponsors may dismiss from a class any student 

who fails to comply with the student participation standards in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Sponsors shall not issue a course completion certificate to any 

student who fails to comply with the student participation 

standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, nor shall sponsors 

include the name of such student on their reports verifying 

completion of a continuing education course. Sponsors shall 

submit to the Board with their reports for the class session a 

written statement that includes the name and license number of 

the student for whom the sponsor does not report course credit, 

details concerning the student's failure to comply with the student 

participation standards, and names of other persons in attendance 

at the class who witnessed the student's conduct. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0818 ADDITIONAL SPONSOR 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Sponsors and instructors may make available for purchase by 

continuing education students materials that belong to the sponsor 

or instructor. Class time may not be used to promote or sell any 

materials or to solicit affiliation or membership in any business, 

organization, or association. 

(b)  Course sponsors shall administer course cancellation and fee 

refund policies in a consistent and non-discriminatory manner. In 
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the event a scheduled course is canceled, the course sponsor shall 

attempt to notify preregistered students of the cancellation and all 

prepaid fees received from such preregistered students shall be 

refunded within 30 days of the date of cancellation or, with the 

student's permission, applied toward the fees for another course. 

(c)  Course sponsors shall admit the Board's authorized 

representative to monitor any continuing education class without 

prior notice. The representative shall not be required to register or 

pay any fee and shall not be reported as having completed the 

course. 

(d)  Course sponsors may deviate from the rules of this Section 

concerning the conduct of continuing education courses, such as 

rules addressing classroom facilities and instructional methods, as 

may be necessary in order for the sponsor to comply with the 

Americans with Disabilities Act or other laws requiring such 

sponsors to accommodate persons with disabilities. A sponsor 

providing a special accommodation for a licensee with a disability 

that requires the sponsor to deviate from these Rules shall notify 

the Board in writing of the accommodation at the time reports are 

submitted for the class session attended by the licensee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0819 ALTERNATIVE COMPLIANCE 

(a)  An auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or designated person of 

an auction firm who is unable to attend a Board-approved course 

and obtain the requisite hours of instruction established by the 

Board may submit evidence of alternative compliance. 

(b)  A written submission of alternative compliance shall be 

received by the Board by May 15 of the year when the requisite 

hours of instruction are to be completed. 

(c)  The course of instruction submitted as alternative compliance 

shall be completed prior to license renewal.  

(d)  Alternative compliance shall include: 

(1) Academic courses at a community college, 

junior college, college, or university accredited 

by an agency recognized by the United States 

Department of Education in any of the 

following topics: 

(A) Accounting; 

(B) Finance; 

(C) Business Management; 

(D) Business Law; 

(E) Economics; 

(F) Marketing; 

(G) Computer Science; or 

(H) Sales. 

(2) Completion of any real estate course accredited 

by a state real estate licensing body. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 06C .0913 PREDETERMINATIONS FOR 

INDIVIDUALS WITH CRIMINAL RECORDS 

(a)  An individual who wishes to request a predetermination under 

G.S. 93B-8.1(b6) shall submit a petition with the following: 

(1) The person's full name; 

(2) The person's social security number; 

(3) The person's date of birth; 

(4) The person's current address; 

(5) A complete and accurate criminal history 

record from the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation; 

(6) Three character references from individuals 

chosen by the petitioner; 

(7) A notarized affirmation under oath that the 

information in the petition is accurate and true 

to the best of the petitioner's knowledge; and 

(8) For each offense in the criminal history record, 

the following information: 

(A) Whether the crime was a felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(B) The date that the person was convicted 

of the offense; 

(C) The sentence imposed for the crime; 

(D) If the petitioner has completed the 

sentence, documentation from the 

appropriate court showing that the 

petitioner has met all court-imposed 

sentencing conditions or that records 

pertaining to the applicant either do 

not exist or have been purged; 

(E) If the petitioner has not completed the 

sentence, either a statement written by 

the petitioner describing, or 

documentation from the sentencing 

court showing, the status of the 

petitioner's efforts toward meeting the 

sentencing requirements, including 

the expected date of completion; 

(F) If applicable, evidence of a Certificate 

of Relief granted under G.S. 15A-

173.2; 

(G) If applicable, evidence of completion 

of or active participation in 

rehabilitative measures, such as drug 

or alcohol treatment, domestic-

violence or anger-management 

counseling, or Drug Court programs; 

and 

(H) A statement by petitioner that 

describes the circumstances 

surrounding the commission of the 

crime. 

(b)  The petition shall be accompanied by a non-refundable 

petition fee of forty-five dollars ($45.00). 
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(c)  The Board delegates authority to make predeterminations to 

the Executive Director, who shall issue a response as required by 

G.S. 93B-8.1(b6). 

 

History: Authority G.S. 93B-8.1; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 06O .0122 FAILURE TO NOTIFY BOARD 

OF CHANGE OF BARBER SHOP OR SCHOOL 

MANAGER 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for the failure of a barber shop 

or barber school to notify the Board of a change of barber shop 

manager: 

(1) 1st offense $50.00 

(2) 2nd offense $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense $200.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for an individual manager for 

the failure to notify the Board of a change of manager of a barber 

shop or barber school: 

(1) 1st offense $50.00 

(2) 2nd offense $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense $200.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-5(a)(6); 86A-22; 

86A-27; 

Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 06S .0101 GENERAL EXAMINATION 

INSTRUCTIONS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, "test center" means those rooms 

where the Board administers written and practical examinations 

while the examinations are being conducted. 

(b)  All candidates scheduled for an examination conducted by the 

Board shall: 

(1) provide two forms of identification, one of 

which shall have a photo of the candidate; 

(2) submit a signed copy of the exam instructions 

that the Board sent to the candidate; 

(3) wear closed-toed shoes and barber smocks or 

jackets, if they are taking a practical exam; 

(4) bring tools and supplies as required by the 

Board in its exam instructions; and 

(5) bring a hygienically clean model with natural 

hair and beard of sufficient length to 

demonstrate practical barbering proficiency as 

determined by the Board in its qualifying model 

policy. 

(c)  The following shall be prohibited in the test center during 

examinations: 

(1) briefcases, bags, books, papers, or study 

materials; 

(2) cell phones, calculators, or other electronic 

devices; 

(3) eating, drinking, smoking, or chewing gum; 

(4) visitors, children, or pets; 

(5) talking by candidates; or 

(6) wearing or carrying any school identification on 

uniforms or equipment. 

(d)  The Board shall not be responsible for lost or misplaced items. 

(e)  No extra time for the examination shall be permitted unless 

mandated by State or federal law, such as the Americans with 

Disabilities Act. 

(f)  No candidate shall leave the test center during the 

examination. Candidates may visit the restroom with the Board 

staff's permission but shall not receive any additional time for the 

examination. 

(g)  No candidate may give or receive assistance during the 

examination. If a candidate gives or receives assistance during the 

examination, the Board staff shall stop the candidate's 

examination and the candidate shall be dismissed from the test 

center. The Board staff shall not score the examination and shall 

report the candidate to the Board, which shall make any decisions 

regarding discipline. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-5(a)(4); 86A-8; 86A-9; 

86A-24; 

Eff. September 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 30 – BOARD OF MASSAGE AND 

BODYWORK THERAPY 

 

21 NCAC 30 .1014 FEES 

Fees for massage and bodywork therapy establishments shall be 

as follows: 

(1) Application for license  $20.00 

(2) Initial license fee   150.00 

(3) License Renewal   100.00 

(4) Late renewal penalty  75.00 

(5) Duplicate license   25.00 

(6) Inspection of establishment 150.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-632.14; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 56 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0303 DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS 

The Board shall dispense funds for educational programs in the 

following manner: 

(1) The Board shall dispense funds after Board 

Committees, as organized, study each specific 

committee-related request and recommend 

funding.  

(2) The Board shall consider requests for funds 

only from the following entities: community 

colleges, public or private institutions of higher 

learning, State and county boards of education, 

or governing authorities for any industrial 

education center. 
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(3) The Board shall consider educational programs 

to establish instructional programs for 

individuals currently licensed and those seeking 

to become licensed. 

(4) Approved entities shall request funds in writing 

and provide the following information: 

(a) The amount needed;  

(b) The intended use of the funds; 

(c) Subject material to be presented and 

qualifications of instructors to be 

employed; 

(d) Itemized breakdown of the amount 

needed and the total expected costs; 

(e) Source and amount of assistance being 

given by any other person or 

organization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10(g);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1989; January 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0304 SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY 

TO EXPEND FUNDS 

In the event that the Board's authority to expend funds is 

suspended pursuant to G.S. 93B-2(d), the Board shall continue to 

issue and renew licenses and collect all fees set forth in G.S. 89C-

14, 89C-17, and 89C-24. The Board shall maintain an escrow 

account into which any fees tendered during the Board's period of 

suspension shall be deposited. Once the Board's authority is 

restored, the funds shall be moved from the escrow account into 

the general operating account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-11; 93B-2; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0501 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

LICENSING 

(a)  Education. The Board shall consider the education of an 

applicant in determining eligibility for licensing as a Professional 

Engineer. The terms used by the Board for the educational 

requirements in G.S. 89C-13(a1) to be eligible to be licensed as a 

Professional Engineer are defined as follows: 

(1) "Engineering curriculum of four or more years 

approved by the Board" is defined as a program 

that has been accredited by the Engineering 

Accreditation Commission (EAC) of the 

Accreditation Board for Engineering and 

Technology (ABET). This program is 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. This material is 

available at www.abet.org/accreditation-

criteria-policies-documents/ at no cost, or for 

inspection at the office of the North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors. Copies may be obtained at the Board 

office at a cost of five dollars ($5.00) per copy. 

(2) "Engineering or related science curriculum of 

four or more years other than ones approved by 

the Board" is defined as a curriculum, although 

not accredited by ABET, of technical courses 

that contains engineering or scientific 

principles. 

(3) "Equivalent education satisfactory to the board" 

is defined as: 

(A) A graduate degree in Engineering 

from an institution where the same 

discipline undergraduate engineering 

program has been accredited by ABET 

(EAC) shall be considered equivalent 

to an engineering curriculum of four or 

more years approved by the Board. 

(B) A bachelor's degree in Engineering 

Technology, whether or not accredited 

by the Technology Accreditation 

Commission (TAC) of ABET, shall be 

considered equivalent to an 

engineering or related science 

curriculum of four or more years other 

than one approved by the Board. 

(C) Foreign degrees shall be considered 

equivalent only after receipt of an 

evaluation report that the degree is 

substantially equivalent to an 

EAC/ABET accredited engineering 

curriculum from the Center for 

Professional Engineering Education 

Services, an affiliate of the National 

Council of Examiners for Engineering 

and Surveying (NCEES), or from the 

American Association of Collegiate 

Registrars and Admissions Officers 

(AACRAO). The Board shall equate 

the degree to an EAC/ABET 

accredited engineering curriculum of 

four or more years approved by the 

Board in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule if it receives a substantially 

equivalent evaluation. 

(b)  Experience. The experience of an applicant shall be 

considered in determining whether an applicant is eligible to be 

licensed as a Professional Engineer. 

(1) Required Experience. In evaluating the work 

experience required, the Board shall consider 

the total experience record and the progressive 

nature of the record. Experience shall be of a 

progressive engineering nature obtained after 

graduation from a program that meets the 

criteria set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

Not less than half of required engineering 

experience shall be of a professional grade and 

character, and shall be performed under the 

responsible charge of a licensed Professional 

Engineer, or if not, the applicant shall submit a 
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written explanation to the Board explaining 

why the experience should be considered 

acceptable. The Board shall approve the 

experience on a case-by-case basis if it is 

satisfied of the grade and character of the 

progressive experience. Experience gained 

under the technical supervision of an unlicensed 

individual shall be considered based upon the 

engineering education and experience 

credentials of the unlicensed supervisor. 

Experience gained in the armed services, 

typically while serving in an engineering or 

engineering related group, shall be accepted 

only if substantially equivalent to civilian work. 

(2) Definition. The word "progressive" in the terms 

"progressive nature of the record," "progressive 

engineering experience," "progressive land 

surveying," "progressive engineering nature," 

or "progressive experience on engineering 

projects" means that during the period of time 

that an applicant made a practical utilization of 

acquired knowledge and continuous 

improvement, growth, and development have 

been shown in the utilization of that knowledge 

as revealed in the complexity and technical 

detail of the work product or work record. The 

applicant shall show continuous assumption of 

greater individual responsibility for the work 

product over that period of time. The 

progressive experience on engineering projects 

shall be of a grade and a character that shows 

the Board that the applicant is competent to 

practice engineering. 

(3) Credit for Experience. In evaluating 

progressive engineering experience, the Board 

shall give credit for experience in the following 

areas of work: 

(A) Graduate schooling or research in an 

engineering program resulting in 

award of a master's degree from an 

institution that offers EAC/ABET-

accredited programs – one year; 

(B) Graduate schooling or research in an 

engineering program resulting in 

award of an earned doctoral degree in 

engineering from an institution that 

offers EAC/ABET-accredited 

programs – two years, with or without 

a master's degree, but this includes the 

one year for the master's degree, if 

obtained; 

(C) Progressive land surveying - 

maximum two years; and 

(D) Teaching of engineering subjects at 

the university level in an engineering 

program offering a four-year or more 

degree approved by the Board. 

The Board shall not accept combinations of the categories in this 

Subparagraph as fulfilling all the necessary statutory experience 

requirements. Every applicant for licensure as a Professional 

Engineer, as part of the total experience requirement, shall show 

a minimum of one year experience of a progressive engineering 

nature in industry, government, or under a licensed Professional 

Engineer offering service to the public. 

Full-time engineering faculty members who teach in an 

engineering program offering a four-year or more degree 

approved by the Board may request and shall be granted waiver 

of the minimum one year experience in industry, government, or 

private practice if they demonstrate consulting or research work 

of at least one year's duration, which was pursued to completion 

of the project, and that is of a progressive engineering nature. The 

faculty applicant shall document the work to evidence that the 

work meets the Board's requirement. 

(4) An exception to the requirement in 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule that 

experience be obtained after graduation is for 

long-established practice of 20 years or more, 

as provided for in G.S. 89C-13(a3). 

(5) Other experience is considered if it is: 

(A) Experience obtained prior to 

graduation as part of an ABET 

accredited engineering program 

shown on the transcript, with a 

maximum credit of one year; or 

(B) Experience obtained in a foreign 

country that is performed under direct 

supervision of a Professional Engineer 

licensed with a member Board of the 

National Council of Examiners for 

Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009; 

August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; November 2, 

1992; April 1, 1989; January 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0503 EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  The Board offers the following examinations that are the 

national examinations of the National Council of Examiners for 

Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) with application made 

directly to NCEES to take the exam: 

(1) Fundamentals of Engineering (FE): This 

examination is designed to test the applicant's 

proficiency and knowledge of the fundamentals 

of engineering; and 

(2) Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE): 

This examination is designed to test the 

applicant's proficiency and knowledge of 

engineering principles and practices. 

(b)  Examination Aids. Examinees may utilize examination aids 

as specified and published by NCEES. 

(c)  Examination Sequence. Before the applicant shall be 

permitted to be examined on the principles and practice of 
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engineering, the applicant shall pass the examination on the 

fundamentals of engineering, unless the applicant can provide 

evidence of 20 years of progressive engineering experience, or is 

a full-time engineering faculty member, or possesses an earned 

doctoral degree in engineering. NCEES administers the 

fundamentals of engineering examination as a computer-based 

exam.  

(d)  Only those applicants who have met the education 

requirements as set forth in Rule .0501(a) of this Section, and have 

passed the FE exam may sit for the PE exam prior to gaining the 

required experience. Upon gaining the required experience, as set 

forth in Rule .0501(b) of this Section, an applicant may apply for 

the PE license.  

(e)  Reasonable Accommodation. An applicant may make a 

written request to NCEES, before the application deadline, for 

reasonable accommodation for the exam. Reasonable 

accommodation shall be granted based upon meeting the 

Guidelines for Requesting Religious and ADA Accommodations 

published by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering 

and Surveying (NCEES). 

(f)  Exam Results. Exam results shall be supplied in writing as 

pass or fail. No results will be given in any other manner. 

(g)  Review of Failed Exams. An applicant who fails to make a 

passing score on an exam shall receive an exam analysis by 

NCEES. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13; 89C-14; 89C-

15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; September 1, 2009; May 1, 2009; 

April 1, 2001; August 1, 1998; November 2, 1992; April 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0601 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

LICENSING 

(a)  Education. The terms used by the Board for the specific 

education requirements to be eligible to be licensed as a 

Professional Land Surveyor are defined as follows: 

(1) "B.S. in surveying or other equivalent 

curriculum." These degrees shall contain a 

minimum of 45 semester hours, or their 

quarter-hour equivalents. Of the 45 semester 

hours, a minimum of 12 semester hours of 

surveying fundamentals, 12 semester hours of 

applied surveying practice, and 12 semester 

hours of advanced or theoretical surveying 

courses are required. The remainder of the 

required surveying courses may be 

elective-type courses in any of the categories; 

and 

(2) "Associate degree in surveying technology." 

This degree shall contain a minimum of 20 

semester hours, or quarter-hour equivalents. 

Courses shall be in surveying fundamentals, 

applied surveying practice and advanced or 

theoretical surveying courses, including 

courses in surveying practices, subdivision 

design and planning, surface drainage, and 

photogrammetry which must be completed with 

a passing grade. 

(b)  Experience: 

(1) Definition. As used in the North Carolina 

Engineering and Land Surveying Act, the term 

"progressive practical experience" means that 

during the period of time in which an applicant 

made a practical utilization of the knowledge of 

the principles of geometry and trigonometry in 

determining the shape, boundaries, position, 

and extent of the earth's surface, such that 

continuous improvement, growth, and 

development in the utilization of that 

knowledge have been shown. In addition, the 

applicant shall show the continuous assumption 

of greater individual responsibility for the work 

product over that period of time. 

(2) Required Experience. In evaluating the work 

experience required, the Board shall consider 

the total experience record and the progressive 

nature of the record. Not less than half of the 

required land surveying experience shall be of 

a professional grade and character, and shall be 

performed under the responsible charge of a 

Professional Land Surveyor. If the work was 

not under the responsible charge of a 

Professional Land Surveyor, the applicant shall 

submit a written explanation to the Board 

explaining why the experience should be 

considered. The Board shall approve the 

experience on a case-by-case basis if it is 

satisfied of the grade and character of the 

progressive experience. Experience gained 

under the technical supervision of an unlicensed 

individual shall be considered based upon the 

engineering education and experience 

credential of the unlicensed supervisor. 

Experience gained in the armed services, 

typically while serving in an engineering or 

surveying related group, shall be accepted only 

if substantially equivalent to that which would 

have been gained in civilian work. 

(3) Other Experience. The applicant shall 

document the nature and details of the work 

done in the following areas to evidence to the 

Board its equivalency to land surveying: 

(A) construction layout; 

(B) engineering surveying; or 

(C) part-time surveying work. 

(c)  Exhibits, Drawings, Maps: 

(1) Required Exhibit Before Principles and 

Practice of Surveying Examination: 

(A) General. The applicant shall submit, 

along with the application, an actual 

map of a boundary survey of an actual 

project prepared under the direct 
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supervision and responsible charge of 

a Professional Land Surveyor who 

states that the applicant did the 

preparatory work of the survey; that 

shows, by its conformance, that the 

applicant is knowledgeable of the 

contents of the Standards of Practice 

for Land Surveying in North Carolina 

as set forth in Section .1600 of this 

Chapter; and that shows that the 

applicant is able to apply this 

knowledge by preparing a map in 

accordance with the various legal and 

professional requirements of land 

surveying. 

(B) Physical Requirement. The map 

submitted shall be a clean, clear, 

legible print of an original map in the 

file of a Professional Land Surveyor. 

(2) Specific Requirements. The details that shall be 

evaluated are those applicable to the particular 

project as described in the Standards of Practice 

for Land Surveying in North Carolina as set 

forth in Section .1600 of this Chapter, and as 

described in G.S. 47-30. In addition, the exhibit 

shall contain a statement that the field work, 

calculation, and mapping were performed by 

the applicant under the supervision of a 

Professional Land Surveyor, attested to by that 

Professional Land Surveyor. 

(3) Requirements for Comity Applicant. The map 

submitted by an applicant under comity may be 

a representative map of an actual survey of a 

project or work performed in the state of 

licensure that is modified to meet the 

requirements in Subparagraph (c)(2) of this 

Rule and shall be evaluated in accordance with 

the requirements applicable to the particular 

project as described in the Standards of Practice 

for Land Surveying in North Carolina as set 

forth in Section .1600 of this Chapter, and as 

described in G.S. 47-30. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 47-30; 89C-10; 89C-13; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; November 2, 1992; April 1, 1989; December 1, 

1984; January 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0603 EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  The Board offers the following examinations that are the 

national examinations of the National Council of Examiners for 

Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) with application made 

directly to NCEES to take the exam: 

(1) Fundamentals of Surveying (FS): This 

examination is designed to test the applicant's 

proficiency and knowledge of the fundamentals 

of surveying. (Reference to Fundamentals of 

Surveying is the revised name of the national 

exam that is the Fundamentals of Land 

Surveying in G.S. 89C); and 

(2) Principles and Practice of Surveying. This 

examination is designed to test the applicant's 

proficiency and knowledge of land surveying 

practices and procedures generally and 

specifically within North Carolina. (Reference 

to Principles and Practice of Surveying is the 

revised name of the national exam that is the 

Principles and Practice of Land Surveying in 

G.S. 89C). 

(b)  State-Specific Exam. The State-specific portion of the 

principles and practice of surveying examination shall be 

provided by the Board. 

(1) Examination Filing Deadline. The applicant 

who wishes to take the State-specific portion of 

the principles and practice of surveying 

examination shall deliver the completed 

application, including all necessary references, 

transcripts, and verifications, to the Board 

office at least 60 days prior to the date for taking 

the exam. 

(2) Unexcused Absences. For the State-specific 

portion of the principles and practices of 

surveying examination, after a seating notice 

for a scheduled examination has been issued, if 

applicant fails to appear, the applicant's record 

shall reflect "unexcused absence," unless the 

absence was for jury duty or the applicant was 

not physically able to be present, as indicated 

by a doctor's certificate. The examination fee 

shall be forfeited if the applicant's record 

reflects an unexcused absence. 

(3) Re-Examination. A person who failed the State-

specific portion of the principles and practices 

of surveying examination may apply to take the 

examination again at the after a six-month 

waiting period by making written request and 

submitting the required exam fee. A person 

having a combined record of three failures shall 

be eligible only after submitting a new 

application with appropriate application fee, 

and shall be considered by the Board for re-

examination at the end of 12 months after the 

last failure. 

(c)  Examination Aids. Examinees may utilize examination aids 

as specified and published by NCEES or the Board. 

(d)  Preparation of Examination. NCEES administers the 

fundamentals of surveying examination and the examination in 

the principles and practice of surveying as computer-based exams.  

(e)  Reasonable Accommodation. An applicant may make a 

written request to NCEES, before the application deadline, for 

reasonable accommodation for the exam. Reasonable 

accommodation shall be granted based upon meeting the 
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Guidelines for Requesting Religious and ADA Accommodations 

published by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering 

and Surveying (NCEES). 

(f)  Exam Results. Exam results shall be supplied in writing as 

pass or fail. No results shall be given in any other manner. 

(g)  Review of Failed Exams. An applicant who fails to make a 

passing score on an NCEES exam shall receive an exam analysis 

by NCEES. An applicant who fails to make a passing score on the 

two-hour state-specific portion of the exam may request in writing 

within 30 days of receiving the result to have an opportunity to 

review that portion of the exam. The review shall be done in the 

Board office under supervision of staff and is limited to one hour. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; April 1, 2001; August 

1, 1998; November 2, 1992; April 1, 1989; January 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0804 ANNUAL RENEWAL AND 30-

DAY REPORTING OF VIOLATIONS AND CHANGE OF 

ADDRESS 

(a)  Renewal. The certificate of licensure for a business shall be 

renewed annually. 

(b)  Expiration. The certificate of licensure expires on the last day 

of June following its issuance by the Board and becomes invalid 

on that date unless renewed. 

(c)  Written Application. The applicant shall submit a written 

application on a renewal form provided by the Board that requires 

the physical place of business address and report of disciplinary 

actions, accompanied by a fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00). 

The Board shall renew the certificate of licensure, providing that 

the business has complied with all rules of the Board and 

applicable General Statutes of North Carolina. The form shall be 

provided to all licensees in good standing no later than June 1st. 

(d)  Reporting. The business shall give notice to the Board on a 

change form within 30 days of any change of: 

(1) business address and branch locations; 

(2) resident professional or licensee in responsible 

charge; 

(3) business name; 

(4) officers, directors, or owners; or 

(5) the services being offered.  

The business shall give notice to the Board of any disciplinary 

actions or conviction of any crime, in any jurisdiction on any 

license within 30 days of the disciplinary action or conviction. 

(e)  If a business fails to renew its certificate of licensure within 

one year of the expiration date, the business shall submit a new 

application for a new certificate of licensure in accordance with 

all requirements of 21 NCAC 56 .0802. 

(f)  If any business that holds a current certificate of licensure 

ceases business because the professional licensee receives a 

waiver from paying the individual renewal fee under 21 NCAC 

56 .0506 or 21 NCAC 56 .0607, the annual renewal fee for the 

business shall be waived for the same time period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-11; 57D-2-01; 89C-10; 

89C-14; 89C-17; 89C-24; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2011; July 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; 

December 4, 2002; April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; May 1, 

1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0902 BUSINESS TITLES  

(a)  Companies, partnerships, corporations, limited liability 

companies, or any other business providing professional 

engineering or land surveying services in North Carolina shall not 

practice under a name that is misleading. Except as provided in 

Paragraph (b), for purposes of this Rule, "misleading" means that 

the titles of engineering or land surveying companies, 

partnerships, corporations, limited liability companies, or any 

other business organized for the primary purpose of providing 

such professional services shall not contain the name of an 

individual: 

(1) who is not licensed to provide the professional 

services offered in North Carolina;  

(2) who is not eligible for licensure by comity to 

provide the professional services offered in 

North Carolina under the provisions of G.S. 

89C-13; or 

(3) who is licensed to provide the professional 

services, offered in North Carolina, in a state 

where the business (or of a successor to that 

business or business created to comply with 

G.S. 55B), is incorporated, organized, or is 

authorized to transact business. 

(b)  A business may include in its title the name or names of one 

or more deceased or retired former members of the business, or of 

a successor to that business or a business created to comply with 

G.S. 55B, provided that the business submits a letter of request 

and explanation with its application to the Board, and that the 

Board finds that the use of the name is not misleading. 

(c)  A business shall not change its title, or operate under an 

assumed name, without first applying to the Board for a 

determination that the proposed title meets the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) or (b) of this Rule. Requests for name changes shall 

be made in writing on the change forms referenced in 21 NCAC 

56 .0804(d). Requests to operate under an assumed name shall be 

made in writing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-5; 57D-2.01; 89C-10; 

89C-24; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; May 1, 1994; April 

1, 1989; April 1, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 56 .1301 IMPROPER PRACTICE BY A 

LICENSEE 

(a)  General. Licensee practice that may violate the rules of this 

Chapter or G.S. 89C is subject to Board investigation and 

disciplinary action by the Board. 

(b)  Preferring Charges. Any person who believes that any 

licensed Professional Engineer, Professional Land Surveyor, or 

business holding a certificate of licensure is in violation of the 

provisions of G.S. 89C or the rules in this Chapter may prefer 

charges against that person or business, in the form of a complaint, 

completed to the best of that individual's knowledge and belief, 

along with providing corroborative evidence that helps support 

the charges. An optional complaint form is provided by the Board 

to aid in filing the complaint.  

(c)  Preliminary Review: 

(1) Upon receipt of a filed charge that meets 

requirements of G.S. 89C and the rules of the 

Board a case shall be opened. Other information 

indicating that a licensee is in violation of the 

provisions of G.S. 89C or the rules of the Board 

may be a basis for opening a case by the Board. 

(2) A field investigation may be performed if 

determined necessary by the Executive Director 

in order to obtain additional information and 

evidence. 

(3) If the Executive Director determines that the 

charges are corroborated by evidence, a written 

notice and explanation of the charge shall be 

forwarded to the person or business against 

whom the charge is made and a response 

requested, within 15 days, to show compliance 

with G.S. 89C and the rules of the Board for 

retention of the license. Notice of the charge 

and of the alleged facts or alleged conduct shall 

be given personally or by certified mail, return 

receipt request. 

(4) After preliminary evidence has been obtained, 

the matter shall be referred to the Board's 

review committee, made up of the following 

individuals: 

(A) one member of the Board who is 

licensed in the respective profession; 

(B) the legal counsel of the Board; and 

(C) the Executive Director of the Board or 

Assistant Executive Director if 

designated by the Executive Director. 

(5) Upon review of the evidence, the review 

committee shall: 

(A) recommend that the Board dismiss the 

charge as unfounded or trivial; 

(B) when the charge is admitted as true, 

recommend that the Board accept the 

admission of guilt by the person 

charged and order that person not to 

commit in the future the specific act or 

acts admitted and also not to violate 

any of the provisions of the Board 

rules or the statutes at any time in the 

future; 

(C) present the charge, whether admitted 

or denied, to the full Board for a 

hearing and determination by the 

Board on the merits of the charge in 

accordance with the substantive and 

procedural requirements of the 

provisions of Section .1400 of this 

Chapter and the provisions of G.S. 

150B; or 

(D) whether the charge is admitted or 

denied, give written notice to the 

licensee that: 

(i) sufficient evidence exists 

which, if not rebutted or 

explained, would justify the 

Board in taking an action set 

out in Rule .1402(4) through 

(12) of this Chapter; 

(ii) stating the nature of the 

evidence; and 

(iii) that unless the licensee, 

within 20 days after service 

of said notice, deposits in the 

mail a certified letter 

addressed to the Board and 

containing a request for a 

hearing or settlement 

conference, that it will 

recommend that the Board 

take the action(s) specified in 

the notice, set out in Rule 

.1402(4) through (12) of this 

Chapter. 

(d)  Consultant. A consultant to the review committee shall be 

designated by the Board Chair if a board member is a 

complainant, witness, or respondent in a case. The consultant shall 

be a licensed professional engineer or professional land surveyor, 

depending on the nature of the case. The consultant shall review 

all case materials and make a recommendation for consideration 

by the review committee as to the merits of the case. The 

consultant shall review any new information presented in the 

event of a settlement conference and make a recommendation to 

the settlement conference committee. 

(e)  Board Decision. When the review committee proceeds 

pursuant to Parts (c)(5)(A) or (B) of this Rule, upon approval of 

the Board, notice shall be given to the party against whom the 

charges have been brought and the party submitting the charge. 

The Board is not required to notify the parties of the reasons of 

the Board in making its decision. 

(f)  Settlement Conference. When the review committee proceeds 

pursuant to Parts (c)(5)(C) or (D) of this Rule, the licensee may 

request in writing a settlement conference to pursue resolution of 

the issue(s) through informal procedures. If, after the completion 

of a settlement conference, the licensee and Board's settlement 

committee do not agree to a resolution of the dispute for the full 

Board's consideration, the original administrative proceeding 

shall commence. During the course of the settlement conference, 

no sworn testimony shall be taken, nor shall any witnesses be 

cross-examined. 
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(1) The Board's settlement committee shall be 

made up of the following individuals: 

(A) the member of the Board who served 

on the review committee or a 

replacement member if the member is 

not available; 

(B) one public member from the Board; 

(C) the legal counsel of the Board; and 

(D) the Executive Director of the Board or 

Assistant Executive Director if 

designated by the Executive Director. 

(2) Upon review of the evidence, the settlement 

committee shall: 

(A) recommend that the Board dismiss the 

charge as unfounded or trivial; 

(B) when the charge is admitted as true, 

recommend the Board accept the 

admission of guilt by the person 

charged and order the person not to 

commit in the future the specific act or 

acts admitted and, also, not to violate 

any provisions of the Board Rules or 

the statutes at any time in the future; 

(C) direct that the charge, whether 

admitted or denied, be presented to the 

full Board for a hearing and 

determination by the Board on the 

merits of the charge in accordance 

with the substantive and procedural 

requirements of the provisions of 

Section .1400 of this Chapter and the 

provisions of G.S. 150B; or 

(D) recommend that the Board approve a 

settlement agreed to by the licensee 

and proposed by the settlement 

conference committee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-21; 89C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2011; July 1, 2009; May 1, 2009; August 

1, 2000; August 1, 1998; March 1, 1996; April 1, 1989; December 

1, 1984; January 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1302 UNLAWFUL PRACTICE BY AN 

UNLICENSED PERSON 

(a)  General. Alleged unlawful practice by an unlicensed person 

shall be subject to Board investigation and enforcement, to 

include applying for relief by injunction or referral to an agency 

of the State for appropriate legal action. 

(b)  Preferring Charges. Any person who believes that any person 

or business (party) is in violation of the acts specified in G.S. 89C 

may prefer charges against that person or business, in the form of 

a complaint, completed to the best of that individual's knowledge 

and belief, in the form of a complaint, along with providing 

corroborative evidence that helps support the charges. An optional 

complaint form is provided by the Board to aid in filing the 

complaint.  

(c)  Preliminary Determination: 

(1) Upon receipt of a filed charge that meets 

requirements of G.S. 89C and the rules of the 

Board a case shall be opened. Other information 

indicating that a party is in violation of the 

provisions of G.S. 89C or the rules of the Board 

may be a basis for opening a case by the Board. 

(2) A field investigation may be performed if 

determined necessary by the Executive Director 

in order to obtain additional information and 

evidence. 

(3) If the Executive Director determines that 

charges are corroborated by evidence, a written 

notice and explanation of the charge shall be 

forwarded to the person or business against 

whom the charge is made and a response is 

requested, within 15 days, to show compliance 

with G.S. 89C. Notice of the charge and of the 

alleged facts or alleged conduct shall be given 

personally or by certified mail, return receipt 

requested. 

(4) After preliminary evidence has been obtained, 

the matter shall be referred to the Board's 

review committee, which is made up of the 

following individuals: 

(A) one member of the Board; 

(B) the legal counsel of the Board; and 

(C) the Executive Director of the Board or 

Assistant Executive Director if 

designated by the Executive Director. 

(5) Upon review of the available evidence, the 

review committee shall recommend to the 

Board that: 

(A) the investigation be continued and the 

party be notified with an explanation 

of the charge(s) and given an 

opportunity to provide a response to 

show compliance with G.S. 89C; 

(B) the charge be dismissed as unfounded 

or trivial;  

(C) a letter be issued informing of the 

possible violation of G.S. 89C and that 

further action may be pursued under 

G.S. 89C-23; or 

(D) the matter be referred to an appropriate 

agency for necessary legal action. 

(d)  Board Decision. Notice of decision by the Board on 

recommendations of the review committee shall be given to the 

party submitting the charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-23; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2011; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; 

May 1, 1994; April 1, 1989; January 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 
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Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1403 NOTICE OF CONTEMPLATED 

BOARD ACTION TO APPLICANT: REQUEST FOR 

HEARING 

When the Board takes an action specified in Subparagraphs (1), 

(2) or (3) of Rule .1402 of this Section, it shall give the applicant 

a written statement: 

(1) that the applicant failed to meet the 

qualifications to be examined or to be issued a 

license; 

(2) stating the specific deficiencies as to why the 

applicant failed; and 

(3) that unless the applicant, within 20 days after 

service of the notice, deposits in the mail a 

certified letter addressed to the Board and 

containing a request for a hearing, the Board's 

action will become final. 

In any Board proceeding involving the denial of an application to 

take an examination, or refusal to issue a license after an applicant 

has taken and passed an examination, the burden of satisfying the 

Board of the applicant's qualifications shall be upon the applicant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-21; 89C-22; 

150B-38; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; December 1, 1984; January 1, 

1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1603 CLASSIFICATION OF 

BOUNDARY SURVEYS 

General. "Boundary surveys" are defined as surveys made to 

establish or to retrace a boundary line on the ground, or to obtain 

data for constructing a map, plat, or report showing a boundary 

line. For the purpose of this Rule, the term refers to all surveys, 

including "loan" or "physical" surveys, that involve the 

determination or depiction of property lines. For the purpose of 

specifying minimum allowable surveying standards for boundary 

surveys, the following four general classifications of lands in 

North Carolina are established from the standpoint of their real 

value, tax value, or location. Each map shall contain a statement 

of the calculated ratio of precision before adjustments or a 

statement of positional accuracy. 

(1) Local Control Network Surveys (Class AA). 

Local control network surveys are traverse 

networks utilizing permanent points for the 

purpose of establishing local horizontal control 

networks for future use by local surveyors. For 

Class AA boundary surveys in North Carolina, 

the angular error of closure shall not exceed ten 

seconds times the square root of the number of 

angles turned. The ratio of precision shall not 

exceed an error of closure of one foot per 

20,000 feet of perimeter of the parcel of land 

(1:20,000). When using positional accuracy 

standards for Class AA control and boundary 

surveys, neither axis of the 95 percent 

confidence level error ellipse for any control 

point or property corner shall exceed 0.05 feet 

or 0.015 meters plus 30 ppm measured relative 

to the position(s) of the horizontal control 

points used and referenced on the survey. 

(2) Urban Land Surveys (Class A). Urban surveys 

include lands that normally lie within a town or 

city. For Class A boundary surveys in North 

Carolina, the angular error of closure shall not 

exceed 20 seconds times the square root of the 

number of angles turned. The ratio of precision 

shall not exceed an error of closure of one foot 

per 10,000 feet of perimeter of the parcel of 

land (1:10,000). When using positional 

accuracy standards for Class A control and 

boundary surveys, neither axis of the 95 percent 

confidence level error ellipse for any control 

point or property corner shall exceed 0.10 feet 

or 0.030 meters plus 50 ppm measured relative 

to the position(s) of the horizontal control 

points or property corners used and referenced 

on the survey. 

(3) Suburban Land Surveys (Class B). Suburban 

surveys include lands in or surrounding the 

urban properties of a town or city. For Class B 

boundary surveys in North Carolina, the 

angular error of closure shall not exceed 25 

seconds times the square root of the number of 

angles turned. The ratio of precision shall not 

exceed an error of closure of one foot per 7,500 

feet of perimeter of the parcel of land (1:7,500). 

When using positional accuracy standards for 

Class B control and boundary surveys, neither 

axis of the 95 percent confidence level error 

ellipse for any control point or property corner 

shall exceed 0.12 feet or 0.037 meters plus 90 

ppm measured relative to the position(s) of the 

horizontal control points or property corners 

used and referenced on the survey. 

(4) Rural and Farmland Surveys (Class C). Rural 

and farmland surveys include lands located in 

rural areas of North Carolina and generally 

outside the suburban properties. For Class C 

boundary surveys in North Carolina, the 

angular error of closure shall not exceed 30 

seconds times the square root of the number of 

angles turned. The ratio of precision shall not 

exceed an error of closure of one foot per 5,000 

feet of perimeter of the parcel of land (1:5,000). 

When using positional accuracy standards for 

Class C control and boundary surveys, neither 

axis of the 95 percent confidence level error 

ellipse for any control point or property corner 

shall exceed 0.15 feet or 0.046 meters plus 150 

ppm measured relative to the position(s) of the 

horizontal control points or property corners 

used and referenced on the survey. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; November 2, 1992; January 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1604 MAPPING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR BOUNDARY SURVEYS 

(a)  The size of a map shall be such that all details are legible on 

a copy. 

(b)  Any lines that are not actually surveyed shall be indicated on 

the map and a statement included revealing the source of 

information from which the line is derived. 

(c)  All surveys based on the North Carolina grid system shall 

contain a statement identifying the coordinate system referenced 

datum used. 

(d)  All plats (maps), unless marked as "Preliminary Plat - Not for 

recordation, conveyances, or sales" shall be sealed, signed, and 

dated by the Professional Land Surveyor and shall contain the 

following: 

(1) An accurately positioned north arrow 

coordinated with any bearings shown on the 

plat. Indication shall be made as to whether the 

north index is true, magnetic, North Carolina 

grid ('NAD 83' and realization (date of 

adjustment of coordinate system) or 'NAD27'), 

or is referenced to old recorded deed or 

recorded plat bearings. If the north index is 

magnetic or referenced to old recorded deed or 

recorded plat bearings, the date and the source 

(note if not determined) shall be indicated. 

(2) The azimuth or courses and distances of every 

property line surveyed shall be shown. 

Distances shall be in feet or meters and 

decimals thereof. The number of decimal places 

shall be appropriate to the class of survey 

required in Rule .1603 of this Section. 

(3) All plat lines shall be horizontal or grid 

measurements. All lines shown on the plat shall 

be correctly plotted to the scale shown. 

Enlargements of portions of a plat are not 

required to be to scale. Where the North 

Carolina grid system is used, the combined grid 

factor shall be shown on the face of the plat. If 

grid distances are used, they shall be shown on 

the plat. 

(4) Where a boundary is formed by a curved line, 

the following data shall be given: actual survey 

data or a series of subchords with bearings and 

distances around the curve. If standard curve 

data is used, the bearing and distance of the long 

chord (from point of curvature to point of 

tangency) shall be shown on the face of the plat. 

(5) Where a subdivision of land is set out on the 

plat, all streets and lots shall be accurately 

plotted with dimension lines indicating widths 

and all other information pertinent to retracing 

all lines in the field. This shall include bearings 

and distances to form a continuous closure of 

the entire perimeter. 

(6) Control corners, and all other corners that are 

marked by monument or natural object shall be 

identified on all plats, and all corners of 

adjacent owners along the boundary lines of the 

subject tract that are marked by monument or 

natural object shall be shown. 

(7) The surveyor shall show one of the following 

(or note if could not be determined): 

(A) The names of adjacent land owners; 

(B) The lot, block, parcel, and subdivision 

designations; or 

(C) Other legal reference. 

(8) All visible and apparent rights-of-way, 

easements, watercourses, utilities, roadways, 

and other such improvements shall be 

accurately located where crossing or forming 

any boundary line of the property shown. 

(9) Tie lines as required and defined in Rule 

.1602(g) of this Section shall be accurately 

shown on the face of the plat, whether or not the 

plat is to be recorded. 

(10) A vicinity map (location map) shall appear on 

the face of the plat. 

(11) Each map shall contain: 

(A) the property designation; 

(B) the name of owner or prospective 

owner; 

(C) the location (including township, 

county, and State); 

(D) the date or dates the survey was 

conducted; 

(E) a scale of the drawing listed in words 

or figures; 

(F) a bargraph; 

(G) the title source; and 

(H) a legend depicting nomenclature or 

symbols not otherwise labeled. 

(12) Any map not certified for recording under G.S. 

47-30, and all reports of survey, shall contain 

this certificate signed by the Professional Land 

Surveyor in substantially the following form: 

 

"I certify that this map was drawn under my supervision from an actual survey made under my supervision (deed description recorded 

in Book ______, page ______ or other reference source ____________________); that the boundaries not surveyed are indicated as 

drawn from information in Book ______, page ______ or other reference source ____________________; that the ratio of precision or 

positional accuracy is ___________________; and that this map meets the requirements of The Standards of Practice for Land Surveying 

in North Carolina (21 NCAC 56. 1600)." 

This ______ day of _______________, 2_____. 
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Seal     __________________________________________ 

Professional Land Surveyor 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-16; 89C-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; November 2, 1992; January 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1607 GLOBAL POSITIONING 

SYSTEMS SURVEYS 

(a)  General. Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) is the 

generic name of navigation and positioning systems with global 

coverage that is comprised of GPS (Global Positioning System, 

United States, originally Navstar), GLONASS (Global 

Navigation Satellite System, Russia), Galileo (Europe), BDS 

(BeiDou Navigation Satellite System, China, also known as 

COMPASS), and any other satellite-based navigation and 

positioning systems that provide global coverage. 

(b)  The Professional Land Surveyor in responsible charge of the 

GPS survey shall certify all prepared documents. When a map or 

document consists of more than one sheet, only one sheet must 

contain the certificate and all others must be certified. The 

certificate or metadata notes shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Class of GPS survey as defined in the Standards 

of Practice (or list the sections); 

(2) Type of GPS field procedure, such as Static, 

Kinematic, Pseudo-Kinematic, Real-time 

Kinematic, Real-time Kinematic networks, and 

Online Position User Service; 

(3) Positional accuracy; 

(4) Dates of survey; 

(5) What datum and epoch coordinates or 

geographic positions are based on; 

(6) Designation of fixed-control stations and their 

positional data; 

(7) Geoid model used; 

(8) Combined grid factor(s); and 

(9) Units. 

The certificate shall be substantially in the following form: 

 

"I, ____________________, certify that this map was drawn under my supervision from an actual GPS survey made under my 

supervision and the following information was used to perform the survey: 

(1) Class of survey: _____________________________________________________ 

(2) Positional accuracy: _________________________________________________ 

(3) Type of GPS field procedure: __________________________________________ 

(4) Dates of survey: ____________________________________________________ 

(5) Datum/Epoch: ______________________________________________________ 

(6) Published/Fixed-control use: ___________________________________________ 

(7) Geoid model: ______________________________________________________ 

(8) Combined grid factor(s): ______________________________________________ 

(9) Units: ___________________________________________________________" 

 

(c)  GPS surveys to provide control networks shall be performed 

in such a manner that it meets a 95 percent confidence level of the 

positional accuracy of each point relative to the published 

positions of the control points used and shall meet the accuracy 

standards of a Class AA survey as set out in Rule .1603. 

(d)  GPS surveys performed to provide local horizontal or vertical 

Grid control on a parcel of land where the boundary or topography 

of that parcel will be shown relative to NC Grid horizontal or 

vertical datum shall be performed using techniques that will 

provide the standards of accuracy for the class of survey being 

performed while determining the horizontal or vertical positions 

of objects as set out in Rule .1603 or Rule .1606 as applicable. 

(e)  Fixed station(s) used for the project shall appear on the map, 

plat, or report. The minimum data shown for each fixed station 

shall be station name, horizontal position (northing and easting) 

or latitude, longitude, elevation (ellipsoid or orthometric), and 

datum and epoch. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-20; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

August 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0401 APPROVAL OF A REAL 

ESTATE EDUCATION COURSE 

(a)  Prior to obtaining the Commission's written approval of a real 

estate education course, education providers shall not offer, 

advertise, or otherwise represent that any real estate education 

course is, or may be, approved for credit in North Carolina. 

(b)  An education provider seeking original approval of a 

proposed course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website that requires the applicant to set 

forth the: 

(1) title of the proposed course; 
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(2) education provider's legal name, address, and 

telephone number; 

(3) education director's legal name; 

(4) education provider's number; 

(5) credit hours awarded for completing the course; 

(6) subject matter of the course; 

(7) identity of the course owner; 

(8) written permission of the course owner, if other 

than the applicant; 

(9) identity of prospective instructors; 

(10) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will proctor the end-of-

course examination for Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses; and 

(11) education director's signature. 

(c)  The application for original approval shall be accompanied by 

a copy of the course guide, which shall include: 

(1) course objectives; 

(2) learning objectives for each topic; 

(3) a timed outline; 

(4) instructional methods and aids to be employed; 

and 

(5) all materials that will be provided to students. 

(d)  An applicant seeking approval to offer a distance education, 

synchronous distance-learning, or blended learning course shall 

submit an application for original approval as well as: 

(1) a full copy of the course on the medium to be 

utilized for instruction, except for synchronous 

distance-learning; 

(2) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will verify and record 

student attendance; 

(3) a list of hardware and software or other 

equipment necessary to both offer and complete 

the course; 

(4) the contact information for the technical 

support service for the course; 

(5) a copy of the student orientation and course 

tutorial information; and 

(6) all hardware and software necessary to review 

the submitted course at the expense of the 

applicant, except for synchronous distance-

learning; 

(e)  An education provider seeking approval to offer an already 

approved course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website that requires the applicant to set 

forth the: 

(1) title of the course; 

(2) applicant's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) applicant's education director's legal name; 

(4) applicant's education provider number; 

(5) identity of the course owner; 

(6) written permission of the course owner, if other 

than the applicant; 

(7) identity of prospective instructors, if 

applicable; 

(8) certification that the originally approved course 

will not be altered; and 

(9) education director's signature. 

(f)  An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar 

($100.00) fee for each application submitted pursuant to 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule for any continuing education course. 

The application shall be deemed approved ten business days after 

the Commission has received the application and fee, unless the 

Commission notifies the applicant otherwise. 

(g)  An education provider shall submit a forty dollar ($40.00) fee 

per Prelicensing or Postlicensing course offered at any of its 

branch locations. No fee shall be required for public education 

providers or an agency of federal, state, or local government. 

(h)  An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar 

($100.00) fee per elective course. No fee shall be required for 

public education providers or an agency of federal, state, or local 

government. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-

34; 93A-38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 25 - STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0311 SEPARATION 

Unused sick leave is not paid when an employee separates from 

State service except as provided in Rule .0210 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2007; July 1, 1995; January 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

25 NCAC 01J .1306 BACK PAY 

In grievances: 

(1) Back pay may be awarded as allowed by G.S. 

Chapter 126. 

(2) Full or partial back pay shall not be dependent 

upon whether reinstatement is ordered. 

(3) Gross back pay shall always be reduced by any 

gross interim earnings, except that interim 

earnings from employment that was approved 

secondary employment prior to dismissal shall 

not be set off against gross back pay. Any 

unemployment insurance benefits paid to the 

employee shall also be deducted from the gross 

back pay amount due. 

(4) All applicable State and federal withholding 

taxes, including social security taxes, shall be 

paid from the reduced gross back pay due. 

"Reduced gross back pay" is gross back pay due 

minus interim earnings and unemployment 

insurance benefits received. 

(5) The employee's regular retirement contribution 

shall be paid on the total, unreduced amount of 

gross back pay due. 
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(6) Back pay shall include payment for all holidays 

that the grievant would have been paid for 

except for the interruption in employment 

status. Holiday premium pay shall not be a part 

of any back pay award. 

(7) Shift pay shall be a part of a back pay award if 

the grievant would have been entitled to the pay 

in the absence of the interruption in 

employment. This benefit shall not be 

applicable in cases involving a failure to hire or 

a failure to promote. 

(8) Employees shall not be entitled to any 

discretionary pay that may or may not have 

been awarded to them in the absence of the 

interruption in employment, including merit 

increments. 

(9) Back pay shall include any across-the-board 

compensation that would have been included in 

the grievant's regular salary except for the 

interruption in employment. This includes one 

time "bonuses," and across-the-board 

legislative pay increases. 

(10) If the grievant's longevity eligibility date 

occurred during the period of interrupted 

employment, back pay shall include the 

difference between the prorated longevity 

payment made at dismissal and the amount of 

longevity pay that would have been payable had 

employment not been interrupted. If the 

grievant is reinstated prior to his or her 

longevity date, no adjustment for longevity pay 

shall be made in the back pay award. The 

prorated longevity payment made at the time of 

dismissal shall be deducted from the full 

amount otherwise payable on the next longevity 

eligibility date. 

(11) Back pay shall be applied for on the Office of 

State Human Resources form, available on the 

Office of State Human Resources website, 

www.oshr.nc.gov. The back pay application 

form requires the following information: 

(a) agency or university name; 

(b) division, department or school; 

(c) employee name; 

(d) employee social security number; 

(e) position classification; 

(f) position number; and 

(g) a notarized sworn statement verifying 

the following information for a total 

earnings calculation: 

(i) gross interim income, not 

including secondary 

employment approved prior 

to adverse action; and 

(ii) unemployment 

compensation. 

(12) The decision to award back pay shall include 

evidence, if any, of the grievant's efforts to 

obtain available employment following 

separation from State government. The burden 

of proof that an employee mitigated his or her 

lost wages by seeking employment following 

separation shall be on the employee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4(9); 126-34.01; 126 -

34.02; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 23, 2014; 

Eff. April 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission August 20, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) Andrew P. Atkins 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Paul Powell 
Margaret Currin Garth Dunklin 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr.  
  
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
Karlene Turrentine   984-236-1948 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

  August 20, 2020 September 17, 2020 
 October 15, 2020 November 19, 2020 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, AUGUST 20, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Pesticide Board - 02 NCAC 09L .0101, .0515, .0529 (Snyder) 
B. Crime Victims Compensation Commission – 14B NCAC 09 .0301, .0302, 0303, .0304, .0305 (Snyder) 
C. Private Protective Services Board - 14B NCAC 16 .1001, .1002, .1003, .1207, .1304, .1404 (Reeder) 
D. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06B .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114 (Snyder) 
E. State Board of Education - 16 NCAC 06C .0334, .0335, .0336, .0337, .0338, .0339, .0340, .0341, .0342, 

.0343, .0344, .0345, .0346, .0347, .0348, .0349, .0350, .0351., .0352, .0353, .0354, .0355, .0356, .0357, 

.0358, .0359, .0360, .0361, .0362, .0363, .0364, .0365, .0366, .0367, .0368, .0369, .0370, .0371. .0372, 

.0373, .0374, .0375, .0376, .0377, .0378, .0379, .0380, .0381, .0382, .0383, .0384, .0385, .0386, .0387, 

.0388, .0389, .0390, .0391, .0392, .0393, .0394, .0395, .0396, .0397, .0701 (May) 
F. State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06D .0211, .0212, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0313; 06E 

.0106, .0107, .0204, .0205, .0206; 06G .0314, .0315, .0316, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, 

.0509, .0510, .0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515, .0516, .0517, .0518, .0519, .0520, .0521, .0522, .0523, 

.0524 (Snyder) 
G. State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06H .0113. .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117; 06K .0101, .0103, .0104, .0105 

(Reeder) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between June 23, 2020 through July 20, 2020 

• Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02B (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02D .0400, .0500, .0600 (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02D .0900, .1400, .1700, .2600 (Reeder) 
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• Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 13B (Snyder) 

• Licensing Board for General Contractors (May) 

• Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners (May) 

• Board of Dental Examiners (Snyder) 

• Medical Board (May) 

• State Human Resources Commission (Snyder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

• Readoptions 

• Not Scheduled for Review this month  
1. 10A NCAC 70,71 – Social Services Commission (May) 
2. 11 NCAC 04 – Department of Insurance (May 

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, September 17, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

June 23, 2020 through July 20, 2020 
 

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Subchapter 13B concern parks and recreation areas including general provisions (.0100); preservation of 
the park (.0200); bathing (.0300); refuse and rubbish (.0400); traffic and parking (.0500); boating and camping (.0600); 
sports and games (.0700); hunting and fishing (.0800); firearms, explosives, fires, etc. (.0900); disorderly conduct, public 
nuisance, etc. (.1000); commercial enterprises, advertising, meetings, exhibitions, etc. (.1100); and miscellaneous 
(.1200). 

Alcoholic Beverages and Controlled Substances 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
07 NCAC 13B .1003 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2B pertain to surface water standards and monitoring including procedures for assignment of 
water quality standards (.0100); the standards used to classify the waters of the state (.0200); stream classifications 
(.0300); effluent limitations (.0400); monitoring and reporting requirements (.0500); and water quality management plans 
(.0600). 

French Broad River Basin 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0304 

The rules in Subchapter 2D are air pollution control requirements including definitions and references (.0100); air 
pollution sources (.0200); air pollution emergencies (.0300); ambient air quality standards (.0400); emission control 
standards (.0500); monitoring: recordkeeping: reporting (.0600); volatile organic compounds (.0900); motor vehicle 
emission control standard (.1000); control of toxic air pollutants (.1100); control of emissions from incinerators and 
combustion units (.1200); nitrogen oxides (.1400); municipal solid waste landfills (.1700); control of odors (.1800); open 
burning (.1900); transportation conformity (.2000); risk management program (.2100); special orders (.2200); banking 
emission reduction credits (.2300); and source testing (.2600). 

Total Suspended Particulates 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0403 

Compliance with Emission Control Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0501 

Purpose  15A NCAC 02D .0502 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Particulates from Fuel Burning Indirect Heat Exchangers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0503 

Particulates from Wood Burning Indirect Heat Exchangers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0504 

Particulates from Hot Mix Asphalt Plants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0506 

Particulates from Chemical Fertilizer Manufacturing Plants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0507 

Particulates from Pulp and Paper Mills 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0508 

Particulates from MICA or Feldspar Processing Plants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0509 

Particulates from Sand, Gravel, or Crushed Stone Operations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0510 

Particulates from Lightweight Aggregate Processes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0511 

Particulates from Wood Products Finishing Plants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0512 

Particulates from Portland Cement Plants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0513 

Particulates from Ferrous Jobbing Foundries 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0514 

Particulates from Miscellaneous Industrial Processes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0515 

Sulfur Dioxide Emissions from Combustion Sources 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0516 

Emissions from Plants Producing Sulfuric Acid 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0517 

Control of Nitrogen Dioxide and Nitrogen Oxides 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0519 

Control of Visible Emissions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0521 

New Source Performance Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0524 

Emissions from Spodumene Ore Roasting 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0527 

Total Reduced Sulfur from Kraft Pulp Mills 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0528 

Fluoride Emissions from Primary Aluminum Reduction Plants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0529 

Prevention of Significant Deterioration 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0530 

Sources in Nonattainment Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0531 

Sources Contributing to an Ambient Violation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0532 

Stack Height 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0533 

Flouride Emissions from Phosphate Fertilizer Industry 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0534 

Excess Emissions Reporting and Malfunctions  15A NCAC 02D .0535 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Particulate Emissions from Electric Utility Boilers 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0536 

Control of Mercury Emissions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0537 

Control of Ethylene Oxide Emissions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0538 

Odor Control of Feed Ingredient Manufacturing Plants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0539 

Control of Emissions from Abrasive Blasting 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0541 

Control of Particulate Emissions from Cotton Ginning Oper... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0542 

Best Available Retrofit Technology 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0543 

Prevention of Significant Deterioration Requirements for ... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0544 

Delegation 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0615 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0901 

Applicability 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0902 

Recordkeeping: Reporting: Monitoring 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0903 

Circumvention 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0906 

Compliance Schedules for Sources In Ozone Nonattainment a... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0909 

General Provisions on Test Methods and Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0912 

Can Coating 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0918 

Coil Coating 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0919 

Metal Furniture Coatings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0922 

Surface Coating of Large Appliance Parts 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0923 

Magnet Wire Coating 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0924 

Petroleum Liquid Storage in Fixed Roof Tanks 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0925 

Bulk Gasoline Plants 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0926 

Bulk Gasoline Terminals 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0927 

Gasoline Service Stations Stage 1 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0928 

Solvent Metal Cleaning 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0930 

Cutback Asphalt  15A NCAC 02D .0931 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Gasoline Truck Tanks and Vapor Collection Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0932 

Petroleum Liquid Storage in External Floating Roof Tanks 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0933 

Factory Surface Coating of Flat Wood Paneling 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0935 

Manufacture of Pneumatic Rubber Tires 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0937 

Synthetic Organic Chemical and Polymer Manufacturing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0943 

Manufacture of Polyethylene: Polypropylene and Polystyrene 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0944 

Petroleum Dry Cleaning 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0945 

Manufacture of Synthesized Pharmaceutical Products 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0947 

VOC Emissions from Transfer Operations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0948 

Storage of Miscellaneous Volatile Organic Compounds 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0949 

RACT for Sources of Volatile Organic Compounds 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0951 

Petition for Alternative Controls for RACT 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0952 

Thread Bonding Manufacturing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0955 

Glass Christmas Ornament Manufacturing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0956 

Commercial Bakeries 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0957 

Work Practices for Sources of Volatile Organic Compounds 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0958 

Petition for Superior Alternative Controls 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0959 

Cargo Tank Leak Tester Report 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0960 

Offset Lithographic Printing and Letterpress Printing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0961 

Industrial Cleaning Solvents 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0962 

Fiberglass Boat Manufacturing Materials 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0963 

Miscellaneous Industrial Adhesives 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0964 

Flexible Package Printing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0965 

Paper, Film and Foil Coatings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0966 

Miscellaneous Metal and Plastic Parts Coatings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0967 

Automobile and Light Duty Truck Assembly Coatings  15A NCAC 02D .0968 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1401 

Applicability 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1402 

Compliance Schedules 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1403 

Recordkeeping: Reporting: Monitoring 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1404 

Circumvention 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1405 

Boilers and Indirect-Fired Process Heaters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1407 

Stationary Combustion Turbines 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1408 

Stationary Internal Combustion Engines 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1409 

Emissions Averaging 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1410 

Seasonal Fuel Switching 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1411 

Petition for Alternative Limitations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1412 

Sources not Otherwise Listed in this Section 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1413 

Tune-Up Requirement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1414 

Test Methods and Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1415 

New Electric Generating Units, Boilers, Combustion Turbin... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1418 

Large Internal Combustion Engines 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1423 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1701 

Applicability 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1702 

Emission Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1703 

Test Methods and Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1704 

Operational Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1705 

Compliance Provisions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1706 

Monitoring Provisions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1707 

Reporting Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1708 

Recordkeeping Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .1709 

Compliance Schedule  15A NCAC 02D .1710 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Determination of Leak Tightness and Vapor Leaks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 02D .2615 

The rules in Chapter 13 concern Solid Waste Management. The rules in Subchapter 13B concern Solid Waste 
Management including general provisions (.0100); permits for solid waste management facilities (.0200); treatment and 
processing facilities (.0300); transfer facilities (.0400); disposal sites (.0500); monitoring requirements (.0600); 
administrative penalty procedures (.0700); septage management (.0800); yard waste facilities (.0900); solid waste 
management loan program (.1000); scrap tire management (.1100); medical waste management (.1200); disposition of 
remains of terminated pregnancies (.1300); municipal solid waste compost facilities (.1400); standards for special tax 
treatment of recycling and resource recovery equipment and facilities (.1500); requirements for municipal solid waste 
landfill facilities (.1600); requirements for beneficial use of coal combustion by-products (.1700); and financial assurance 
requirements for solid waste management facilities (.1800).  

Purpose and Applicability for Construction and Demolition... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0531 

Definitions for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0532 

General Application Requirements and Processing for C&DLF... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0533 

General Requirements for C&DLF Facilities and Units 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0534 

Application Requirements for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0535 

Site Study for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0536 

Facility Plan for C&DLFs 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0537 

Geologic and Hydrogeologic Investigations for C&DLF Facil... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0538 

Engineering Plan for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0539 

Construction Requirements for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0540 

Construction Quality Assurance for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0541 

Operation Plan and Requirements for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0542 

Closure and Post-Closure Requirements for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0543 

Monitoring Plans and Requirments for C&DLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0544 

Assessment and Corrective Action Program for C&DLF Facili... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0545 

Existing C&DLF Units as of January 1, 2007 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0547 

Purpose and Applicability 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1601 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1602 

General Application and Requirements and Processing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1603 

General Requirements for MSWLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1604 
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Application Requirements for MSWLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1617 

Site Study for MSWLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1618 

Facility Plan 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1619 

Engineering Plan 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1620 

Construction Quality Assurance Plan 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1621 

Location Restrictions for MSWLF Facility Siting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1622 

Geologic and Hydrogeologic Investigations for MSWLF Facil... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1623 

Construction Requirements for SMWLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1624 

Operation Plan for MSWLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1625 

Operational Requirements for MSWLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1626 

Closure and Post-Closure Requirements for MSWLF Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1627 

Closure and Post-Closure Plan 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1629 

Applicability of Groundwater Monitoring Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1630 

Groundwater Monitoring Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1631 

GroundWater Sampling and Analysis Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1632 

Detection Monitoring Program 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1633 

Assessment Monitoring Program 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1634 

Assessment of Corrective Measures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1635 

Selection of Remedy 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1636 

Implementation of the Corrective Action Program 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1637 

Leachate Storage Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1680 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 12A concern general provisions including organization and responsibilities of the board (.0100); 
licensing requirements (.0200); application procedure (.0300); examination (.0400); license (.0500); board disciplinary 
procedures (.0700); contested cases (.0800); and homeowners recovery fund (.0900). 

Fees 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 12A .0304 

Renewal of License 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 12A .0503 
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The rules in Subchapter 12B concern the general provisions (.0100); providers (.0200); courses (.0300); and instructors 
(.0400) for continuing education. 

General 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0101 

Continuing Education Credit 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0102 

Continuing Education Records; Audit 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0103 

Extension of Time 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0104 

Inactive Status 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0105 

Application for Initial Approval of Continuing Education ... 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0201 

Expiration and Renewal of Provider Approval 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0202 

Denial or Withdrawal of Provider Approval 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0203 

Attendance; Roster Reports and Certificates 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0204 

Course Scheduling 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0205 

Records and Board Review 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0206 

Course Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0301 

Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0302 

Mandatory Course 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0303 

Application Criteria for Initial Instructor Approval 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0401 

Renewal and Expiration of Instructor Approval 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0402 

Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 12B .0403 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14H are sanitation rules for both operators and facilities including sanitation (.0100); shop 
licensing and physical dimensions (.0200); cosmetic art shop and equipment (.0300); sanitation procedures and 
practices (.0400); and enforcement, maintenance of licensure (.0500). 

Licensees and Students 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14H .0401 

Disinfection Procedures 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14H .0403 

First Aid 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14H .0404 

The rules in Subchapter 14T concern cosmetic art schools including the scope of the rules and school applications 
(.0100); physical requirements for cosmetic art schools (.0200); school equipment and supplies (.0300); student 
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equipment (.0400); record keeping (.0500); curricula for all cosmetic art disciplines (.0600); school licensure, operations, 
closing and relocating schools (.0700); school inspections (.0800); and disciplinary actions (.0900). 

Cosmetology and Apprentice Student Equipment 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14T .0401 

Permanent Records, Forms and Documentation 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14T .0502 

Cosmetology Curriculum 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14T .0602 

Apprentice Cosmetology Curriculum 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14T .0603 

Esthetics Curriculum 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14T .0604 

Manicuring Curriculum 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14T .0605 

Natural Hair Care Curriculum 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14T .0606 

Field Trips 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 14T .0615 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 16 cover the licensing of dentists and dental hygienists.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 16B concern licensure examination for dentists including examination required (.0100); 
qualifications (.0200); application (.0300); Board conducted examinations (.0400); licensure by credentials (.0500); 
limited volunteer dental license (.0600); instructor's license (.0700); temporary volunteer dental license (.0800); and 
exemptions for active military (.0900). 

Application for Reinstatement and Proof of Competency 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16B .1101 

The rules in Subchapter 16C are dental hygienist licensure rules including general provisions (.0100); qualifications 
(.0200); application (.0300); Board conducted examinations (.0400); and licensure by credentials (.0500). 

Board Approved Examinations 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16C .0303 

Application for Reinstatement and Proof of Competency 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16C .0601 

The rules in Subchapter 16F concern professional corporations. 

Certificate of Registration 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16F .0104 

Application for Renewal 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16F .0105 

The rules in Subchapter 16G concern dental hygienists. 

Procedures Prohibited 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16G .0103 

The rules in Subchapter 16H concern dental assistants including classification and training (.0100); and permitted 
functions of dental assistant (.0200). 

Approved Education and Training Programs 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16H .0104 
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The rules in Subchapter 16I concern the annual renewal of the dental hygienist license.  

Applications 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16I .0101 

The rules in Subchapter 16N concern rule-making and administrative hearing procedures including petitions for 
rulemaking (.0100); notice of rule-making hearings (.0200); rule-making hearings (.0300); declaratory rulings (.0400); 
administrative hearing procedures (.0500); and administrative hearings, decisions, related rights and procedures 
(.0600). 

Disposition of Requests 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16N .0403 

The rules in Subchapter 16R concern continuing education requirements of dentists (.0100 and .0200). 

Applications 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16R .0101 

Fee for Late Filing and Duplicate License 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16R .0102 

License Void Upon Failure to Timely Renew 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 16R .0108 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32R concern Continuing Medical Education (CME) Requirements. 

Approved Categories of CME 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32R .0102 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 1 are from the State Personnel Commission. The rules in Subchapter 1C concern personnel 
administration including employment (.0100); general employment policies (.0200); personnel records and reports 
(.0300); appointment (.0400); work schedule (.0500); competitive service (.0600); secondary employment (.0700); 
requirements for teleworking programs (.0800); employee recognition programs (.0900); and separation (.1000). 

Covered Employees 
Amend* 

 
25 NCAC 01C .0802 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 DHR 00549 6/12/2020 Wake Radiology 

Diagnostic Imaging 

LLC 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Health Care Planning and 

Certificate of Need 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DOJ 01619 6/3/2020 Maurice A Devalle v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 02493 6/11/2020 Craig Dana Malton v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Culpepper 

19 DOJ 06336 6/2/2020 Jason Thomas 

Potter 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

        

19 EHR 06050 6/30/2020 Glade/Winding 

Woods 

Homeowners Group 

v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality 

May 

        

19 OSP 06277 6/12/2020 Juanita Cantrell v. Avery County Dept of Social Services Sutton 

        

    Unpublished    

20 ABC 01067 6/18/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Young Seung Lee T/A Golden Kings 

Market 

Malherbe 

20 ABC 01458 6/22/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Fidel Torres T/A Texas Discotheque May 

        

20 BOE 01232 6/18/2020 Penny Wynne 

McGhee 

v. North Carolina Board of Elections Bawtinhimer 
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20 BOE 01394 6/19/2020 Citizens to Elect 

Rena Turner 

Committee Rena W 

Turner 

v. NC State Board of Elections Sutton 

        

20 CPS 01106 6/22/2020 Shirlene N Best v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Ward 

        

19 CRA 06778 6/17/2020 Devonte Morris v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 CSE 05840 6/24/2020 Paul Ronald Brown 

Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05933 6/22/2020 Prince Haynes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05965 6/19/2020 Jeron R Howie v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05975 6/30/2020 Raishad F Dobie v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 05977 6/30/2020 Raishad F Dobie v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 05979 6/30/2020 Raishad F Dobie v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06008 6/17/2020 Mark Anthony M 

Buright 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06060 6/17/2020 Richard Bevan v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06331 6/30/2020 Christine L Barnes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

19 CSE 06348 6/1/2020 Todd J Rutledge v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06360 6/12/2020 Robert L Holmes Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06473 6/22/2020 Benjamin C Pratt v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

19 CSE 06586 6/2/2020 Jacob E Lofton Sr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06587 6/22/2020 Vincent A Izediuno v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 06589 6/11/2020 Christopher A 

Ketchum 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Overby 
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19 CSE 06610 6/2/2020 Jacob E Lofton Sr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06636 6/2/2020 Arthur Burke v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 00530 6/23/2020 Paul Adae-Mensah v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 01606 6/10/2020 William C Whitaker v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DCS 06117 6/3/2020 Joseph H McIntosh v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

        

19 DHR 04918 6/29/2020 Steven Wayne 

Lentz 

v. Central Regional Hospital Mann 

19 DHR 06791 6/10/2020 Hugs R Precious 

Child Enrichment 

Center 

v. DHHS Ward 

20 DHR 00359 6/15/2020 Kaleik Henderson v. NC DOHSR NC Healthcare Registry Ward 

20 DHR 00659 6/23/2020 Self Determination 

LLC Anne Jeffries 

v. Mental Health Licensure and 

Certification Section NC Division of 

Health Service Regulation 

Sutton 

20 DHR 00811 6/26/2020 International 

Healthcare Services 

v. State of North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services NC Tracks 

Operations Center 

Jacobs 

20 DHR 00935 6/9/2020 Bert Elaine Crisco v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education 

Sutton 

20 DHR 00953 6/26/2020 Toryana Baldwin v. DHSR Adult Care Licensure Ward 

20 DHR 01095 6/10/2020 Brueggers Bagels 

David Cohen 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Public Health 

Malherbe 

20 DHR 01336 6/4/2020 Coastal Community 

Action Inc (Godette 

CDC-2555067) 

Catissa Sullivan-

Head  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Lassiter 

20 DHR 01852 6/30/2020 Jareh Healthcare Inc 

Deloris Young 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Medical 

Assistance 

Mann 

20 DHR 02024 6/22/2020 Stella Peartree v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Lassiter 

        

20 INS 01551 6/18/2020 Alcione Laskowski v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees 

Malherbe 

        

20 OSP 01408 6/11/2020 Tiffany M 

Rochester 

v. NC Department of Public Safety 

Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice 

Sutton 

20 OSP 01587 6/17/2020 Richard McKenzie v. Jane Ammons Gilchrist, General 

Counsel NC Dept of Public Safety 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 SAP 06718 6/11/2020 North Carolina 

Substance Abuse 

v. Rafael Berry Sutton 
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Professional 

Practice Board 

20 SAP 00634 6/10/2020 North Carolina 

Addictions 

Specialist 

Professional 

Practice Board 

v. Shawn Gross CADC No. 20332 Malherbe 

20 SAP 00671 6/23/2020 North Carolina 

Addictions 

Specialist 

Professional 

Practice Board 

v. Percy Rivers CADC No 2838 Malherbe 

        

20 UNC 02073 6/30/2020 Cynthia Mayes 

Taylor 

v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Mann 

 

 


