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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Public Notice 

North Carolina Environmental Management Commission 

Division of Water Resources/Water Quality Permitting Section 

1617 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC  27699-1617 

Notice of Intent to Reissue an NPDES General Wastewater Permit 

 

The North Carolina Environmental Management Commission proposes to reissue the following NPDES wastewater general permit: 

 

NPDES General Permit No. NCG500000 for the discharge of non-contact cooling water, cooling tower and boiler blowdown, 

condensate, exempt stormwater, cooling waters associated with hydroelectric operations and similar wastewaters. 

 

Written comments regarding the proposed general permit will be accepted until 30 days after the publish date of this notice. The Director 

of the NC Division of Water Resources (DWR) may hold a public hearing should there be a significant degree of public interest. Please 

mail comments and/or information requests to DWR at the above address. Interested persons may visit the DWR at 512 N. Salisbury 

Street, Raleigh, NC to review information on file. Additional information on this notice may be found on our website: 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-permits/wastewater-branch/npdes-wastewater/public-notices 

 

For questions or comments about NPDES General Permit NCG500000, please contact Sydney Carpenter at (919) 707-3712 or via e-

mail: sydney.carpenter@ncdenr.gov. 
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PUBLIC NOTICE 
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 
 
 
The Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources (DEMLR) invites public comment on, or objections to, the following NPDES 
Industrial Stormwater General Permits to be revised and re-issued.  The public comment period begins at 9:00 am on 07/15/2020 
and ends at 5:00 pm on 08/14/2020. 
 
Persons wishing to comment on or object may submit written comments to the address below during the public comment period.  
All comments received during the public comment period will be considered in the final determinations regarding permit issuance.  
Public comments may result in changes to the proposed permitting actions.  All comments should reference the specific permit 
number listed below. 
 

• NCG020000 for Mining Operations, proposed issuance date 10/01/2020 

• NCG190000 for Marinas, proposed issuance date 10/01/2020 

• NCG250000 for Construction Activities not subject to the NC Sediment Pollution Control Act, proposed issuance date 
10/01/2020 (a new NPDES Industrial Stormwater General Permit) 

 
The General Permits and Fact Sheets may be viewed at:  https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/energy-mineral-and-land-
resources/stormwater/stormwater-program/stormwater-public 
 
Please direct comments or questions to: 
 
Annette Lucas 
Stormwater Program  
NC Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources 
1612 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC  27699-1612 
Telephone number: (919) 707-3639 
annette.lucas@ncdenr.gov  
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Public Notice  
North Carolina Environmental Management Commission  

Division of Water Resources/Water Quality Permitting Section  
1617 Mail Service Center  
Raleigh, NC  27699-1617  

Notice of Intent to Reissue an NPDES General Wastewater Permit  

 

  
The North Carolina Environmental Management Commission proposes to reissue the following NPDES wastewater general permit:  
  
NPDES General Permit No. NCG520000 for the discharge of in-stream sand mining wastewater, associated storm water and similar 

wastewaters. 
  
Written comments regarding the proposed general permit will be accepted until 30 days after the publish date of this notice. The 

Director of the NC Division of Water Resources (DWR) may hold a public hearing should there be a significant degree of public 

interest. Please mail comments and/or information requests to DWR at the above address. Interested persons may visit the DWR at 

512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC to review information on file. Additional information on this notice may be found on our 

website:  
http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-permits/wastewater-branch/npdes-wastewater/public-notices  
  
For questions or comments about NPDES General Permit NCG520000 for the discharge of in-stream sand mining wastewater, 

associated storm water and similar wastewaters, please contact Emily Phillips at (919) 707-3621 or via e-

mail: emily.phillips@ncdenr.gov.  
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Health and Human 

Services/Division of Health Service Regulation intends to readopt 

with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 14C .0202, 

.0203, .0205, .0303, .2101, .2103, .2201, .2203, .3901 and .3903. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 25, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 14C, Certificate 

of Need Regulations, these 10 proposed rules for readoption were 

part of the 39 rules determined as “Necessary With Substantive 

Public Interest,” requiring readoption.  With input from 

stakeholders, substantive changes have been made to these 

proposed rules.  

 

Definitions revise listed terms that apply throughout this 

Subchapter in the filing of Certificate of Need (CON) applications 

with the agency, and terms that apply to CON application 

performance standards for dialysis services and new 

gastrointestinal endoscopy rooms. References to the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan are updated in the proposed rules.  

 

The proposed rules clearly define the circumstances that a non-

expedited review may be extended for a CON application and add 

the requirement for applicant notification when the review period 

has been extended. The replacement equipment exemption 

requirements are clarified with terms defined and criteria listed 

for when replacement equipment would not be comparable.  

 

The performance standards are revised in proposed rule 10A 

NCAC 14C .2103 to be in compliance with the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan for applicants proposing to increase 

operating rooms.  

 

The proposed rules revise performance standards criteria for 

establishing a new dialysis facility for in-center services and 

increasing the number of in-center dialysis stations. Rule 10A 

NCAC 14C .2203 was amended with temporary procedures Eff. 

February 1, 2020 and published in 34:16 NCR 2/17/20. Criteria 

was added to the performance standards for new facilities for 

home hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis services and increasing 

the number of home hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis facility 

stations.  

 
Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14C – CERTIFICATE OF NEED 

REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0200 – APPLICATION AND REVIEW 

PROCESS 

 

10A NCAC 14C .0202 DETERMINATION OF REVIEW 

DEFINITIONS 

(a)  After receipt of a letter of intent, the agency shall determine 

whether the proposed project requires a certificate of need. 
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(b)  When any of the equipment listed in G.S. 131E-176(16)(f1) 

or (p) is acquired in parts or piecemeal fashion, the acquisition 

shall be determined to require a certificate of need on the date that 

the components are assembled. 

(c)  If the agency determines that the project requires a certificate 

of need, the agency shall determine the appropriate review 

category or categories for the proposed project, the type or types 

of application forms to be submitted, the number of separate 

applications to be submitted, the applicable review period for each 

application, and the deadline date for submitting each application, 

as contained in this Subchapter. 

(d)  Copies of the application forms may be obtained from the 

agency. 

(e)  Proposals requiring review shall be reviewed according to the 

categories and schedule set forth in the duly adopted State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect at the time the scheduled review 

period commences, as contained in this Subchapter. 

(f)  Applications are competitive if they, in whole or in part, are 

for the same or similar services and the agency determines that 

the approval of one or more of the applications may result in the 

denial of another application reviewed in the same review period. 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Applicant" means each person identified in 

Section A of the application forms listed in 10A 

NCAC 14C .0203(a). 

(2) "Application deadline" means no later than 5:00 

p.m. on the 15th day of the month preceding the 

month that the review period begins. If the 15th 

day of the month falls on a weekend or a State 

holiday as set forth in 25 NCAC 01E .0901, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions, 

the application deadline is the next business 

day. 

(3) "Competitive review" means two or more 

applications submitted to begin review in the 

same review period proposing the same new 

institutional health service in the same service 

area and the CON Section determines that 

approval of one application may require denial 

of another application included in the same 

review period. 

(4) "CON Section" means the Healthcare Planning 

and Certificate of Need Section of the Division 

of Health Service Regulation. 

(5) "Full fiscal year" means the 12-month period 

used by the applicant to track and report 

revenues and operating expenses for the 

services proposed in the application. 

(6) "Health service" shall have the same meaning 

as defined in G.S. 131E-176(9a). 

(7) "New institutional health service" shall have 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(16). 

(8) "Person" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in G.S. 131E-176(19). 

(9) "Proposal" means a new institutional health 

service that requires a certificate of need. 

(10) "Related entity" means a person that: 

(a) shares the same parent corporation or 

holding company with the applicant; 

(b) is a subsidiary of the same parent 

corporation or holding company as the 

applicant; or 

(c) participates with the applicant in a 

joint venture that provides the same 

type of health services proposed in the 

application. 

(11) "Review category" means the categories 

described in Chapter 3 of the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan. 

(12) "Review period" means the 90 to 150 days that 

the CON Section has to review a certificate of 

need application and issue a decision pursuant 

to G.S. 131E-185 and G.S. 131E-186. There are 

eleven review periods each calendar year. Each 

review period starts on the first day of the 

month and the first review period starts on 

February 1. There is no review period 

beginning January 1. 

(13) "State Medical Facilities Plan" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(25). 

For purposes of this Subchapter, the annual 

State Medical Facilities Plan is hereby 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. This document is 

available at no cost at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ncsmfp/index.htm

l. 

(14) "USB flash drive" means a device used for data 

storage that includes a flash memory and an 

integrated universal serial bus interface. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .0203 FILING APPLICATIONS 

(a)  A certificate of need application shall not be reviewed by the 

Certificate of Need Section until it is filed in accordance with this 

Rule. 

(b)  An original and a copy of the application shall be file-stamped 

as received by the agency no later than 5:30 p.m. on the 15th day 

of the month preceding the scheduled review period. In instances 

when the 15th of the month falls on a weekend or holiday, the 

filing deadline is 5:30 p.m. on the next business day. An 

application shall not be included in a scheduled review if it is not 

received by the agency by this deadline. Each applicant shall 

transmit, with the application, a fee to be determined according to 

the formula as stated in G.S. 131E-182(c). 

(c)  After an application is filed, the agency shall determine 

whether it is complete for review. An application shall not be 

considered complete if: 

(1) the requisite fee has not been received by the 

agency; or 

(2) a signed original and copy of the application 

have not been submitted to the agency on the 

appropriate application form. 

(d)  If the agency determines the application is not complete for 

review, it shall mail notice of such determination to the applicant 
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within five business days after the application is filed and shall 

specify what is necessary to complete the application. If the 

agency determines the application is complete, it shall mail notice 

of such determination to the applicant prior to the beginning of 

the applicable review period. 

(e)  Information requested by the agency to complete the 

application must be received by the agency no later than 5:30 p.m. 

on the last working day before the first day of the scheduled 

review period. The review of an application shall commence in 

the next applicable review period that commences after the 

application has been determined to be complete. 

(a)  "Application form" refers to one of the following: 

(1) the Certificate of Need Application form; or 

(2) the Dialysis or End Stage Renal Disease 

Services Application form. 

(b)  An application form may be obtained from the CON Section 

by: 

(1) sending an email to 

DHSR.CON.Applications@dhhs.nc.gov; or 

(2) calling (919) 855-3873. 

(c)  An email request for an application form shall: 

(1) describe the proposal; 

(2) identify the city or county where the proposal 

would be located; and 

(3) include the estimated capital cost for the 

proposal. 

(d)  For each proposal, the CON Section shall determine based on 

Chapter 3 of the annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect at 

the time the review begins the: 

(1) review category; and 

(2) review period. 

(e)  An application is complete for inclusion in the review period 

if the CON Section determines that all of the following are true: 

(1) the original application is printed, placed 

between a front and back cover, and bound 

using metal paper fasteners; 

(2) the original and one copy of the application 

were received by the CON Section on or before 

the application deadline for the review period; 

(3) the entire application fee required by G.S. 

131E-182(c) was received by the CON Section; 

and 

(4) each applicant identified in Section A of the 

application form signed the certification page 

that asks the applicant to certify that the 

information in the application is correct and 

they intend to develop and offer the project as 

described in the application. 

(f)  The copy of the application shall be printed and bound 

consistent with Paragraph (d)(1) of this Rule or in an electronic 

format saved on a USB flash drive. The files on the USB flash 

drive shall not be encrypted or password protected. 

(g)  No later than the fifth business day following the application 

deadline, the CON Section shall notify the contact individual 

identified in Section A of the application if the application is 

complete. 

(h)  If the application is not complete pursuant to Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule, the CON Section shall notify the contact individual 

identified in Section A of the application of what is missing or 

incorrect. The applicant shall only provide the items listed below 

in order to complete the application after the application deadline: 

(1) a signed certification page; or 

(2) the copy of the application. 

(i)  Signed certification pages or the copy of the application shall 

be received by the CON Section no later than 5:00 p.m. on the last 

business day of the month preceding the first day of the review 

period. 

(j)  The CON Section shall not include the application in the 

review period if it is not complete pursuant to Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule by 5:00 p.m. on the last business day of the month 

preceding the first day of the review period. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-182. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .0205 EXTENSION OF REVIEW 

PERIOD 

(a)  The review of an application for a certificate of need shall be 

completed within 90 days from the beginning date of the review 

period for the application, except as provided in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  Except in the case of an expedited review, the period for 

review may be extended for up to 60 days by the agency if it 

determines that, for one or more of the following reasons, it 

cannot complete the review within 90 days: 

(1) the extension is necessary to consider 

conflicting, contradictory, or otherwise relevant 

matters; 

(2) the total number of applications assigned to the 

project analyst for review, including those in 

other review periods, preclude the project 

analyst from completing the review within 90 

days; 

(3) the complexity of the application or 

applications to be reviewed make it necessary 

to extend the review period; 

(4) the review of an applicant's response to the 

agency's request for additional information has 

not been completed; 

(5) the timing of the public hearing which was held 

for the application or applications under review 

does not allow sufficient time to consider the 

information presented; 

(6) extension of previous reviews necessitated that 

the project analyst delay the commencement of 

the review; or 

(7) the unavailability of the project analyst due to 

illness, annual leave, litigation associated with 

other reviews, or other duties and 

responsibilities. 

(c)  In the case of an expedited review, the review period may be 

extended only if the Agency has requested additional substantive 

information from the applicant in accordance with G.S. 131E-

185(c). 

(d)  Applicants will be provided written notice of the extension of 

the review period after the agency determines that an extension is 

necessary. Failure to receive such notice prior to the last day of 

the scheduled review period, however, does not entitle an 
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applicant to a certificate of need nor authorize an applicant to 

proceed with a project without one. 

(a)  If the review is not expedited, the review may be extended for 

the following reasons: 

(1) the total number of applications, including 

those in other review periods, prevents the CON 

Section from completing the review in 90 days; 

(2) the applicant has not submitted a response to a 

request from the CON Section for clarifying 

information; or 

(3) the CON Section received clarifying 

information from the applicant but is not able to 

complete the review in 90 days. 

(b)  The CON Section shall notify the contact individual identified 

in Section A of the application if the review period is extended. 

Failure to receive such notice prior to the last day of the review 

period does not entitle the applicant to a certificate of need nor 

authorize the applicant to proceed with the proposal in the 

application without a certificate of need. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-185. 

 

SECTION .0300 - EXEMPTIONS 

 

10A NCAC 14C .0303 REPLACEMENT EQUIPMENT 

(a)  The purpose of this Rule is to define the terms used in the 

definition of "replacement equipment" set forth in G.S. 131E-

176(22a). 

(b)  "Activities essential to acquiring and making operational the 

replacement equipment" means those activities which are 

indispensable and requisite, absent which the replacement 

equipment could not be acquired or made operational. 

(c)  "Comparable medical equipment" means equipment which is 

functionally similar and which is used for the same diagnostic or 

treatment purposes. 

(d)  Replacement equipment is comparable to the equipment being 

replaced if: 

(1) it has the same technology as the equipment 

currently in use, although it may possess 

expanded capabilities due to technological 

improvements; and 

(2) it is functionally similar and is used for the 

same diagnostic or treatment purposes as the 

equipment currently in use and is not used to 

provide a new health service; and 

(3) the acquisition of the equipment does not result 

in more than a 10% increase in patient charges 

or per procedure operating expenses within the 

first twelve months after the replacement 

equipment is acquired. 

(e)  Replacement equipment is not comparable to the equipment 

being replaced if: 

(1) the replacement equipment is new or 

reconditioned, the existing equipment was 

purchased second-hand, and the replacement 

equipment is purchased less than three years 

after the acquisition of the existing equipment; 

or 

(2) the replacement equipment is new, the existing 

equipment was reconditioned when purchased, 

and the replacement equipment is purchased 

less than three years after the acquisition of the 

existing equipment; or 

(3) the replacement equipment is capable of 

performing procedures that could result in the 

provision of a new health service or type of 

procedure that has not been provided with the 

existing equipment; or 

(4) the replacement equipment is purchased and the 

existing equipment is leased, unless the lease is 

a capital lease; or 

(5) the replacement equipment is a dedicated PET 

scanner and the existing equipment is: 

(A) a gamma camera with coincidence 

capability; or 

(B) nuclear medicine equipment that was 

designed, built, or modified to detect 

only the single photon emitted from 

nuclear events other than positron 

annihilation. 

(a)  This Rule defines the terms used in the definition of 

"replacement equipment" set forth in G.S. 131E-176(22a). 

(b)  "Currently in use" means that the equipment to be replaced 

has been used by the person requesting the exemption at least 10 

times to provide a health service during the 12 months prior to the 

date the written notice required by G.S. 131E-184(a) is submitted 

to the CON Section. 

(c)  Replacement equipment is not "comparable" if: 

(1) the replacement equipment to be acquired is 

capable of providing a health service that the 

equipment to be replaced cannot provide; or 

(2) the equipment to be replaced was acquired less 

than 12 months prior to the date the written 

notice required by G.S. 131E-184(a) is 

submitted to the CON Section and it was 

refurbished or reconditioned when it was 

acquired by the person requesting the 

exemption. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1). 

 

SECTION .2100 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

SURGICAL SERVICES AND OPERATING ROOMS 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved operating rooms" means those 

operating rooms that were approved for a 

certificate of need by the Healthcare Planning 

and Certificate of Need Section (Agency) CON 

Section prior to the date on which the 

applicant's proposed project was submitted to 

the Agency, but that have not been licensed. 

(2) "Dedicated C-section operating room" means 

an operating room as defined in Chapter 6 in the 

2018 annual State Medical Facilities Plan. For 

purposes of this Section, Chapter 6 in the 2018 
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State Medical Facilities Plan is hereby 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. This document is 

available at no cost at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ncsmfp/index.ht

ml. 

(3) "Existing operating rooms" means those 

operating rooms in ambulatory surgical 

facilities and hospitals that were reported in the 

Ambulatory Surgical Facility License Renewal 

Application Form or in the Hospital License 

Renewal Application Form submitted to the 

Acute and Home Care Licensure and 

Certification Section of the Division of Health 

Service Regulation, and that were licensed prior 

to the beginning of the review period. 

(4) "Health System" shall have the same meaning 

as defined in Chapter 6 in the 2018 annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan. 

(5) "Operating room" means a room as defined in 

G.S. 131E-176(18c). 

(6) "Operating Room Need Methodology" means 

the Methodology for Projecting Operating 

Room Need in Chapter 6 in the 2018 annual 

State Medical Facilities Plan. 

(7) "Service area" means the Operating Room 

Service Area as defined in Chapter 6 in the 

2018 annual State Medical Facilities Plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2103 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to increase the number of operating 

rooms (excluding dedicated C-section operating rooms) 

excluding dedicated C-section operating rooms in a service area 

shall demonstrate the need for the number of proposed operating 

rooms in addition to the existing and approved operating rooms in 

the applicant's health system in the applicant's third full fiscal year 

following completion of the proposed project based on the 

Operating Room Need Methodology set forth in the 2018 annual 

State Medical Facilities Plan. Plan in effect at the time the review 

began. The applicant is not required to use the population growth 

factor. 

(b)  The applicant shall document provide the assumptions and 

provide data supporting the methodology used for each projection 

in the projected utilization required by this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .2200 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

END-STAGE RENAL DISEASE SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2201 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in this Rule will apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "End stage renal disease (ESRD) services" 

means those dialysis or transplantation services 

necessary for the treatment of patients with end 

stage renal disease provided by transplantation 

centers, dialysis centers or dialysis facilities. 

(2) "Renal transplantation center" means a hospital 

unit which furnishes directly rental 

transplantation and other medical and surgical 

specialty services required for transplant 

candidates or patients. 

(3) "Renal dialysis center" is a hospital unit which 

furnishes the full spectrum of diagnostic, 

therapeutic, and rehabilitative services. 

(4) "Renal dialysis facility" is a unit, usually 

freestanding, which furnishes dialysis service 

to ESRD patients. 

(5) "Dialysis" means the artificially aided process 

of transferring body wastes from a person's 

blood to a dialysis fluid to permit discharge of 

the wastes from the body. 

(6) "Hemodialysis" means the form of dialysis in 

which the blood is circulated outside the body 

through an apparatus which permits transfer of 

waste through synthetic membranes. 

(7) "Peritoneal dialysis" means the form of dialysis 

in which a dialysis fluid is introduced into the 

person's peritoneal cavity and is subsequently 

withdrawn. 

(8) "Maintenance dialysis" is the term used to 

describe routine repetitive dialysis treatments 

necessary to sustain life of patients with ESRD. 

(9) "Self-care dialysis or home dialysis training" 

means the systematic training of patients and 

their helpers in the techniques of self-care 

dialysis. 

(10) "Self-care dialysis" means the self 

administration of maintenance dialysis 

treatments in ESRD facility or elsewhere and 

may be assisted by an aide who is either a 

family member or a non-family member 

assistant. 

(11) "Dialysis station" means a unit in an ESRD 

facility equipped with the apparatus for 

performing hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis 

on a single patient. Stations may designated for 

maintenance dialysis, self-care dialysis, 

self-care training, or isolation. 

(12) "Isolation station" means a dialysis station 

located apart from other maintenance dialysis 

stations to serve patients who either have or are 

suspected to have an infectious disease, i.e., 

hepatitis. 

(13) "Shift" means the scheduled time when a group 

of patients are provided their dialysis treatment. 

(14) "Transplantation" means a surgical procedure 

in which a functioning kidney is removed from 

a donor and implanted in the patient with 

ESRD. 

(15) "Organ procurement" means the process of 

acquiring kidneys for transplantation from 

potential donors. 

(16) "Histocompatability testing" means laboratory 

testing procedures which determine 
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compatability between a potential donor organ 

and a potential organ transplant recipient. 

The following definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Dialysis" means the artificially aided process 

of transferring body wastes from a person's 

blood to a dialysis fluid to permit discharge of 

the wastes from the body. 

(2) "Dialysis facility" means a kidney disease 

treatment center as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(14e). 

(3) "Dialysis station" means the treatment area 

used to accommodate the equipment and 

supplies needed to perform dialysis on a single 

patient. 

(4) "Hemodialysis" means the form of dialysis in 

which the blood is circulated outside the body 

through equipment that permits transfer of 

waste through synthetic membranes. 

(5) "Home hemodialysis" means hemodialysis 

performed in the patient's home by the patient 

after the patient is trained in a dialysis facility 

to perform the hemodialysis. 

(6) "In-center hemodialysis" means hemodialysis 

performed in a dialysis facility. 

(7) "Peritoneal dialysis" means the form of dialysis 

in which a dialysis fluid is introduced into the 

person's peritoneal cavity and is subsequently 

withdrawn. This form of dialysis is performed 

in the patient's home after the patient is trained 

in a dialysis facility to perform the peritoneal 

dialysis. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2203 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to establish a new End Stage Renal 

Disease facility shall document the need for at least 10 stations 

based on utilization of 3.2 patients per station per week as of the 

end of the first operating year of the facility, with the exception 

that the performance standard shall be waived for a need in the 

State Medical Facilities Plan that is based on an adjusted need 

determination. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to increase the number of dialysis 

stations in an existing End Stage Renal Disease facility or one that 

was not operational prior to the beginning of the review period but 

which had been issued a certificate of need shall document the 

need for the additional stations based on utilization of 3.2 patients 

per station per week as of the end of the first operating year of the 

additional stations. 

(c)  An applicant shall provide all assumptions, including the 

methodology by which patient utilization is projected. 

(a)  An applicant proposing to establish a new dialysis facility for 

in-center hemodialysis services shall document the need for at 

least 10 dialysis stations based on utilization of 2.8 in-center 

patients per station per week as of the end of the first full fiscal 

year of operation following certification of the facility. An 

applicant may document the need for fewer than 10 stations if the 

application is submitted in response to an adjusted need 

determination in the State Medical Facilities Plan for fewer than 

10 stations. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to increase the number of in-center 

dialysis stations in: 

(1) an existing dialysis facility; or 

(2) a dialysis facility that is not operational as of the 

date the certificate of need application is 

submitted but has been issued a certificate of 

need; 

shall document the need for the total number of dialysis stations 

in the facility based on 2.8 in-center patients per station per week 

as of the end of the first full fiscal year of operation following 

certification of the additional stations. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to establish a new dialysis facility 

dedicated to home hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis services 

shall document the need for the total number of home 

hemodialysis stations in the facility based on six home 

hemodialysis patients per station per year as of the end of the first 

full fiscal year of operation following certification of the facility. 

(d)  An applicant proposing to increase the number of home 

hemodialysis stations in a dialysis facility dedicated to home 

hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis services shall document the 

need for the total number of home hemodialysis stations in the 

facility based on six home hemodialysis patients per station per 

year as of the end of the first full fiscal year of operation following 

certification of the additional stations. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the assumptions and methodology 

used for the projected utilization required by this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .3900 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

GASTROINTESTINAL ENDOSCOPY PROCEDURE 

ROOMS IN LICENSED HEALTH SERVICE FACILTIES 

 

10A NCAC 14C .3901 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Ambulatory surgical facility" means a facility 

as defined in G.S. 131E-176(1b). 

(2) "Gastrointestinal (GI) endoscopy room" means 

a room as defined in G.S. 131E-176(7d) that is 

used to perform one or more GI endoscopy 

procedures. 

(3) "Gastrointestinal (GI) endoscopy procedure" 

means a single procedure, identified by CPT 

code or ICD-9-CM procedure code, performed 

on a patient during a single visit to the facility 

for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. 

(4) "Operating room" means a room as defined in 

G.S. 131E-176(18c). ) 

(5) "Related entity" means the parent company of 

the applicant, a subsidiary company of the 

applicant (i.e., the applicant owns 50 percent or 

more of another company), a joint venture in 

which the applicant is a member, or a company 

that shares common ownership with the 

applicant (i.e., the applicant and another 

company are owned by some of the same 

persons). 
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(6) "Service area" means the geographical area, as 

defined by the applicant using county lines, 

from which the applicant projects to serve 

patients. 

(1) "Approved gastrointestinal (GI) endoscopy 

rooms" means GI endoscopy rooms that were 

approved for a certificate of need by the CON 

Section prior to the date the application was 

submitted but that are not licensed as of the date 

the application is submitted. 

(2) "Existing GI endoscopy rooms" means GI 

endoscopy rooms that were licensed prior to the 

beginning of the review period. 

(3) "GI endoscopy procedure" means each upper 

endoscopy, esophagoscopy, or colonoscopy 

procedure performed on a patient during a 

single visit to the licensed health service 

facility. 

(4) "Licensed health service facility" means either 

a hospital as defined in G.S. 131E-176(13) or 

an ambulatory surgical facility as defined in 

G.S. 131E-176(1b). 

(5) "New GI endoscopy room" means a GI 

endoscopy room that is not included in the 

inventory of GI endoscopy rooms in the State 

Medical Facilities Plan as of the date the 

application is submitted. 

(6) "Service area" means the county where the 

proposed GI endoscopy room will be 

developed. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .3903 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  In providing projections for operating rooms, as required in 

this rule, the operating rooms shall be considered to be available 

for use 250 days per year, which is five days per week, 52 weeks 

per year, excluding ten days for holidays. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to establish a new licensed 

ambulatory surgical facility for performance of GI endoscopy 

procedures or develop a GI endoscopy room in an existing 

licensed health service facility shall reasonably project to perform 

an average of at least 1,500 GI endoscopy procedures only per GI 

endoscopy room in each licensed facility the applicant or a related 

entity owns in the proposed service area, during the second year 

of operation following completion of the project. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to establish a new licensed ambulatory 

surgical facility for performance of GI endoscopy procedures or 

develop a GI endoscopy room in an existing licensed health 

service facility shall demonstrate that at least the following types 

of GI endoscopy procedures will be provided in the proposed 

facility or GI endoscopy room: upper endoscopy procedures, 

esophagoscopy procedures, and colonoscopy procedures. 

(d)  If an applicant, which proposes to establish a new licensed 

ambulatory surgical facility for performance of GI endoscopy 

procedures or develop a GI endoscopy room in an existing 

licensed health service facility, or a related entity to the applicant 

owns operating rooms located in the proposed service area, the 

applicant shall meet one of the following criteria: 

(1) if the applicant or a related entity performs GI 

endoscopy procedures in any of its surgical 

operating rooms in the proposed service area, 

reasonably project that during the second 

operating year of the project the average 

number of surgical and GI endoscopy cases per 

operating room, for each category of operating 

room in which these cases will be performed, 

shall be at least: 4.8 cases per day for each 

facility for the outpatient or ambulatory surgical 

operating rooms and 3.2 cases per day for each 

facility for the shared operating rooms; or 

(2) demonstrate that GI endoscopy procedures 

were not performed in the applicant's or related 

entity's inpatient operating rooms, outpatient 

operating rooms, or shared operating rooms in 

the last 12 months and will not be performed in 

those rooms in the future. 

(e)  An applicant proposing to establish a new licensed ambulatory 

surgical facility for performance of GI endoscopy procedures or 

develop an additional GI endoscopy room in an existing licensed 

health service facility shall describe all assumptions and the 

methodology used for each projection in this Rule. 

An applicant proposing to develop a new GI endoscopy room in 

a licensed health service facility shall: 

(1) identify the proposed service area; 

(2) identify all existing and approved GI endoscopy 

rooms owned or operated by the applicant or a 

related entity located in the proposed service 

area; 

(3) provide projected utilization for each of the first 

three full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project for all GI endoscopy 

rooms identified in Item (2) of this Rule; 

(4) project to perform an average of at least 1,500 

GI endoscopy procedures per GI endoscopy 

room during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project in 

the GI endoscopy rooms identified in Item (2) 

of this Rule; and 

(5) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b). 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Environmental Management 

Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02I 

.0105, repeal the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02I .0104, .0301, 

.0402; 02J .0101, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 02I .0101-.0103, .0203, .0501-.0503, .0601-.0603, 

and repeal through readoption the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02I 

.0106, .0302, .0504; 02J .0102-.0104 and .0106-.0111. 

 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 15, 2020 

107 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact by email: 

jennifer.everett@ncdenr.gov; Or by mail: Jennifer Everett, 

NCDEQ, 1601 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1601 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Agencies are required to review 

their rules every 10 years pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A.  

 

15A NCAC 02I addresses the requirements for hearings, petitions 

for rulemaking, and declaratory rulings by the North Carolina 

Environmental Management Commission (EMC) and 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) divisions. The 

scope of these rules includes all of the EMC’s regulatory 

programs. Of the 17 rules in the proposed rulemaking, 11 are 

proposed for readoption with changes and 6 are proposed for 

repeal. The rules proposed for repeal are either obsolete or 

duplicative of North Carolina General Statutes and, therefore, 

unnecessary. 

 

15A NCAC 02J addresses the assessment, remission, mitigation 

and appeal of civil penalties by the EMC and DEQ divisions. The 

scope of these rules includes penalties for violations of water 

quality, oil, air, water capacity use areas, solid waste, dry 

cleaning, dam safety, and well construction requirements. All 

rules in 15A NCAC 02J are proposed for repeal because they are 

duplicative of North Carolina General Statutes and, therefore, 

unnecessary. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jennifer Everett, NCDEQ, 

1601 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1601; 

jennifer.everett@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02I - HEARINGS 

 

SECTION .0100 - SCOPE: DEFINITIONS: 

DELEGATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0101 PURPOSE OF THIS 

SUBCHAPTER 

These rules and regulations In instances where Rules related to 

hearings conducted by a Division are not codified, these Rules 

authorize the designation of certain employees of the Department 

of Natural Resources and Community Development as hearing 

officers, sets out the types of hearings which the designated 

employees are authorized to conduct, and delineates and 

references the rules of procedure for conducting rule making, 

rulemaking or other hearings. administrative, and special 

hearings. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(3). 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0102 DEFINITIONS 

The terms used herein shall be as defined in G.S. 143-213 and 

150B-2 and as follows: 

(1) "Commission" means the North Carolina 

Environmental Management Commission. 

(2) "Department" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Natural Resources and 

Community Development, and its successor. 

(3) "Director" means the Director, Division of 

Environmental Management. Director of the 

Division of Air Quality, Director of the 

Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land 

Resources, Director of the Division of 

Mitigation Services, Director of the Division of 

Water Resources or Director of the Division of 

Waste Management and their successors. 

(4) "Division" means the Division of 

environmental management Air Quality, the 

Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land 

Resources, the Division of Mitigation Services, 

the Division of Water Resources or the Division 

of Waste Management and its their successor. 

successors. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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15A NCAC 02I .0103 DELEGATIONS 

Unless otherwise directed by the Chair of the Commission, 

pursuant to Rule .0105 of this Section, the The Director is 

authorized to designate hearing officers, establish the hearings, 

issue notices and perform other administrative functions in 

accordance with these Rules. regulations. The Director shall 

advise the Commission at its regularly scheduled meetings of any 

public hearings held or scheduled since the Commission's last 

meeting. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(3),(4); 150B-32. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0104 AUTHORIZED HEARING 

OFFICERS 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.4(e); 150B-32. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0105 REQUIREMENTS OF HEARING 

OFFICER OR PANEL 

One or more hearing officers may be designated to sit as a hearing 

panel for all hearings. Notwithstanding Rule .0103 of this Section, 

the Chair of the Commission may designate one or more of 

Commission members as hearing officer(s) for any hearing. The 

Commission may, in its discretion, sit as a whole or designate one 

or more of its members to sit as hearing officers for any hearing. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(3). 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0106 DEPARTMENT HEARING 

RULES 

 

Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-92; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.4; 

150B-14. 

 

SECTION .0200 - RULE MAKING HEARINGS: NOTICE: 

PROCEDURES 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0203 PROCEDURES 

(a)  Any person desiring to comment on the proposed action may 

do so either in writing or by oral presentation. Any person may 

file a written statement or argument concerning the proposed 

action prior to the close of the hearing record. 

(b)  The hearing officer(s) shall consider all written and oral 

submissions and submit recommendations concerning the 

proposed action to the Commission following the close of the 

hearing record. 

(c)  Requests for reasons for or against adoption shall be 

responded to in accordance with G.S. 150B-12(e). 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-12; 143-214.1(e); 143-215.13(c); 87-87. 

 

SECTION .0300 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0301 OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING 

 

Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-92; 143-215.3(a); 143-215.4; 150B-2. 

 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0302 REQUEST FOR HEARING 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 150B-23. 

 

SECTION .0400 - SPECIAL HEARINGS 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0402 WATER QUALITY DISCHARGE 

PERMITS: NOTICE: PROCEDURES 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.1(c)(3). 

 

SECTION .0500 - PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0501 FORM AND CONTENTS OF 

PETITION 

(a)  Any person wishing to request the adoption, amendment, or 

repeal of a rule of the Environmental Management Commission 

(hereinafter referred to as the Commission) shall make the request 

in a petition addressed to the Director of the appropriate division 

of the Department of Environmental Quality, and a copy in 

electronic or digital form shall also be sent to the Recording Clerk 

of the Commission: 

 

Director 

Division of Air Quality 

1641 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1641 

 

Director 

Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources 

1612 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1612 

 

Director 

Division of Mitigation Services 

1652 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1652 

 

Director 

Division of Waste Management 

1646 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646 

 

 

Director 

Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1611 

 

Recording Clerk of the Commission 

Directors Office 

Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1611 

EMCclerk@ncdenr.gov 

 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) the text of the proposed rule(s) for adoption or 

amendment; 
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(2) a statement of the reasons for adoption or 

amendment of the proposed rule(s), or the 

repeal of an existing rule(s); 

(3) a statement of the effect on existing rules or 

orders; 

(4) the name(s) and address(es) of the petitioner(s); 

and 

(5) a request to present the petition to the 

committee in accordance with Rule .0502 of 

this Section, if desired. 

(c)  In its review of the proposed rule, the Commission shall 

consider whether it has authority to adopt the rule; the effect of 

the proposed rule on existing rules, programs, and practices; 

probable costs and cost factors of the proposed rule; and the 

impact of the rule on the public and regulated entities. The 

petitioner may include the following information within the 

request: 

(1) the statutory authority for the agency to 

promulgate the rules(s); rule(s); 

(2) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s) 

on existing practices in the area involved, 

including cost factors for persons affected by 

the proposed rule(s); 

(3) a statement explaining the computation of the 

cost factors; 

(4) a description, including the names and 

addresses, if known, of those most likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule(s); and 

(5) documents and data supporting the proposed 

rule(s). 

(d)  Petitions that do not contain the information required by 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be returned to the petitioner by the 

Director on behalf of the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0502 REVIEW BY A COMMITTEE OF 

THE COMMISSION 

(a)  The Chairman Chair of the Commission shall may refer 

complete petitions to the appropriate subject area committee of 

the Commission for review and recommended action. Copies of 

Petitions petitions for Rulemaking rulemaking shall be distributed 

to the Commission members when referred to a committee of the 

Commission. 

(b)  Within 10 days of the assignment of the complete petition, the 

chairman Chair of the committee Committee assigned to review a 

submitted petition for rulemaking shall announce the date of a 

meeting to consider the petition. 

(c)  At least 15 days before the committee meeting, notice of the 

committee meeting shall be sent to the petitioner, members of the 

Commission, and persons who have requested notice of petitions 

for rulemaking. 

(d)  If the petition is referred to a Committee, The the petitioner 

shall be afforded the opportunity to present the petition for 

rulemaking to the committee. The Director, Director, division 

staff or their legal counsel through staff, may make a presentation 

to the committee. Committee. 

(e)  The Chairman Chair of the committee Committee shall allow 

one interested person to present the viewpoint of those who 

oppose initiating rulemaking. The Chairman Chair of the 

committee Committee may determine whether additional 

interested persons shall make oral presentations before the 

committee. Committee. At least 10 days before the Committee 

meeting, interested Interested persons must shall request the 

opportunity to make a presentation to the committee Committee 

through the Director. The request shall: 

(1) state the interest of the person; 

(2) state the person's position on the petition for 

rulemaking; and 

(3) be accompanied by supporting materials. 

(f)  During the committee's Committee's review, members of the 

Commission, other than committee members, who are present 

may participate as a member of the committee Committee in 

discussions of the petition but may not vote on the recommended 

action on the petition. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0503 PRESENTATION TO THE 

COMMISSION 

(a)  Petitions for rulemaking Rulemaking, after review by the 

appropriate committee under 15A NCAC 02I .0502, shall be 

presented to the Environmental Management Commission for its 

consideration and determination at a regularly scheduled meeting 

of the Commission within 120 days following the date of referral 

submittal of the petition to the appropriate committee. Division 

pursuant to Rule .0501 of this Section. If the petition for 

rulemaking was reviewed by a Committee pursuant to Rule .0502 

of this Section, the The Petition petition for Rulemaking and the 

committee's Committee's recommended action shall be presented 

through the committee chairman Chair of the Committee or other 

designated member of the committee Committee during the 

business session of the Commission. Unless the Chairman Chair 

of the Commission rules otherwise, discussion on the petition 

shall be limited to the members of the Commission, counsel to the 

Commission, and the Director. Director, or the Division's legal 

counsel and the petitioner or its legal counsel. 

(b)  For petitions not referred to a Committee, the Chair of the 

Commission shall allow one interested person to present the 

viewpoint of those who oppose initiating rulemaking. The Chair 

of the Commission may determine whether additional interested 

persons shall make oral presentations before the Commission. At 

least 10 days before the Commission meeting, interested persons 

shall request the opportunity to make a presentation to the 

Commission through the Director. The request shall: 

(1) state the interest of the person; 

(2) state the person's position on the petition for 

rulemaking; and 

(3) be accompanied by supporting materials. 

(b)(c)  Within 120 days following submittal referral of the petition 

to the appropriate committee, Division the Environmental 

Management Commission shall: 

(1) grant the petition in writing, notify the 

petitioner and initiate rulemaking proceedings 

in accordance with G.S. 150B-20; and notify 

the person(s) who submitted the petition of the 

decision in writing; or 
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(2) deny the petition in writing, stating the reason 

or reasons for the denial, and send the written 

denial to the person(s) who submitted the 

petition. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0504 RECOURSE TO DENIAL OF 

PETITION 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20. 

 

SECTION .0600 - DECLARATORY RULINGS 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0601 ISSUANCE OF DECLARATORY 

RULING 

At the request of any person aggrieved, as defined in G.S. 150B-

2(6), the Environmental Management Commission shall may 

issue a declaratory ruling as provided in G.S. 150B-4. 150B-4 and 

the rules of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-4. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0602 PROCEDURE FOR SUBMISSION 

OF PETITION 

(a)  All requests for a declaratory ruling shall be filed with the 

Director of the appropriate Division of the Department of 

Environment and Natural Resources, and 25 complete copies shall 

also be sent to the and a copy in electronic or digital form shall 

also be sent to the Recording Clerk of the Commission: 

 

Director 

Division of Air Quality 

1641 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1641 

 

Director 

Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources 

1612 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1612 

 

Director 

Division of Water Quality Mitigation Services 

1617 1652 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1617 27699-1652 

Director 

Division of Waste Management 

1646 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646 

 

Director 

Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1611 

 

EMC Recording Clerk 

1617 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1617 

 

Recording Clerk of the Commission 

Directors Office 

Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1611 

EMCclerk@ncdenr.gov 

 

(b)  All requests shall include the following: 

(1) name and address of petitioner(s); 

(2) the rule, statute or order upon which a ruling is 

desired; 

(3) a concise statement as to whether the request is 

for a ruling on on: 

(A) the validity of a rule or rule or; 

(B) on the applicability of a rule, order or 

statute to a given factual situation; or 

(C) a conflict or inconsistency within the 

Commission or the Department 

regarding interpretation of a law or 

rule adopted by the Commission; 

(4) arguments or data which demonstrate that the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute or 

its potential application to him; the petitioner; 

(5) a statement of the consequences of a failure to 

issue a declaratory ruling in favor of the 

petitioner; 

(6) a draft of the proposed ruling; and 

(7) a statement of whether an oral argument is 

desired, and, if so, the reason(s) for requesting 

such an oral argument. 

(c)  A request for a ruling on the applicability of a rule, order, or 

statute must shall include a statement of the specific facts to a 

given factual situation and documentation supporting those facts. 

A request for a ruling on the validity of a Commission rule must 

shall state the aggrieved person's reason(s) for questioning the 

validity of the rule and a brief or legal memorandum supporting 

the aggrieved person's position. A request for a ruling to resolve a 

conflict or inconsistency within the Commission or the 

Department regarding interpretation of a law or rule adopted by 

the Commission shall include a written description identifying the 

conflict or inconsistency, the relevant Division(s) and program 

area(s), the interpretation provided by the agency, and the law or 

rule in question. A person may ask for multiple or both types of 

declaratory rulings in a single request. 

(d)  In the manner provided in G.S. 150B-23(d), any other person 

may request to intervene in the request for declaratory ruling. The 

request to intervene shall be determined by the Chairman. Chair 

of the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-4. 

 

15A NCAC 02I .0603 DISPOSITION OF REQUEST 

(a)  The Commission Chairman Chair of the Commission shall 

make a determination on the completeness of the request for 

declaratory ruling based on the requirements of this Section, 

Section. and he shall make a recommendation to the Commission 

on whether to issue or decline to issue a declaratory ruling. 

(b)  Before the Commission decides deciding the merits of the 

request, the Chair of the Commission may: 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 15, 2020 

111 

(1) request additional written submissions from the 

petitioner(s);  

(2) request a written response from the Department 

staff or any other person; and 

(3) allow the petitioner to file a reply to the 

response submitted in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph; or 

(3)(4) request hear oral arguments from the 

petitioner(s) and Department staff or their legal 

counsel. 

(c)  The Commission shall deny the request upon making any of 

the following findings: 

(1) the request is not complete; 

(2) the petitioner is not a person aggrieved; 

(3) there has been a similar determination in a 

previous contested case or declaratory ruling; 

(4) the matter is the subject of a pending contested 

case hearing or litigation in any North Carolina 

or federal court; 

(5) no genuine controversy exists as to the 

application of a statute, order or rule to the 

specific factual situation presented; 

(6) the factual context put forward as the subject of 

the declaratory ruling was specifically 

considered upon the adoption of the rule being 

questioned, as evidenced by the rulemaking 

record; 

(7) the information provided by the petitioner, the 

Department and any interveners does not 

support a determination that a rule is invalid; or 

(8) there is no material conflict or inconsistency 

within the Commission or Department 

regarding the law or rule identified by the 

petitioner. 

(c)  Whenever the Commission believes for "good cause" that the 

issuance of a declaratory ruling is undesirable, the Commission 

may refuse to issue such ruling. The Commission shall notify in 

writing the person requesting the ruling, stating the reasons for the 

refusal to issue a ruling on the request. 

(d)  "Good cause" as set out in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall 

include: 

(1) finding that there has been a similar 

determination in a previous contested case or 

declaratory ruling; 

(2) finding that the matter is the subject of a 

pending contested case hearing or litigation in 

any North Carolina or federal court; 

(3) finding that no genuine controversy exists as to 

the application of a statute, order or rule to the 

specific factual situation presented; or 

(4) finding that the factual context put forward as 

the subject of the declaratory ruling was 

specifically considered upon the adoption of the 

rule being questioned, as evidenced by the 

rulemaking record. 

(c)  The Commission shall respond to a request of a declaratory 

ruling in accordance with G.S. 150B-4(a1). 

(d)  The Commission shall make a decision to grant or deny the 

request according to G.S. 150B-4. 

(e)  The Commission shall keep a record of each declaratory 

ruling, which shall include at a minimum the following items: 

(1) the request for a ruling; 

(2) any written submission by a party; 

(3) the given state of facts on which the ruling was 

based; 

(4) any transcripts of oral proceedings, or, in the 

absence of a transcript, a summary of all 

arguments; 

(5) any other matter considered by the Commission 

in making the decision; and 

(6) the declaratory ruling, or the decision to refuse 

to issue a declaratory ruling, together with the 

reasons therefore. 

(f)  For purposes of this Section, a declaratory ruling shall be 

deemed to be in effect until: 

(1) the statute or rule interpreted by the declaratory 

ruling is repealed or the relevant provisions of 

the statute or rule are amended or altered; 

(2) any court of the Appellate Division of the 

General Court of Justice shall construe the 

statute or rule which is the subject of the 

declaratory ruling in a manner plainly 

irreconcilable with the declaratory ruling; 

(3) the Commission changes the declaratory ruling 

prospectively; or, 

(4) any court sets aside the declaratory ruling in 

litigation between the Commission or 

Department of Environment and Natural 

Resources and the party requesting the ruling. 

(h)  The requesting party may agree to allow the Commission to 

issue a ruling on the merits of the request beyond the 60 days 

allowed by G.S. 150B-4. 

(i)  A declaratory ruling is subject to judicial review in the same 

manner as an agency final decision or order in a contested case. 

Unless the requesting party consents to the delay, failure of the 

Commission to issue a ruling on the merits within 60 days of the 

request for such ruling shall constitute a denial of the request as 

well as a denial of the merits of the request and shall be subject to 

judicial review. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-4. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02J - CIVIL PENALTIES 

15A NCAC 02J .0101 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0102 DEFINITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 143-212(6); 143-213(18); 143-214.2; 

143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0103 WHO MAY ASSESS 

 

Authority G.S. 87-94; 143-215.3(a)(4); 143-215.6(A); 

143-215.17(b); 143-215.36(b); 143-215.88A; 143-215.114(a). 
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15A NCAC 02J .0104 WHEN ASSESSABLE 

 

Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-94; 143-215.3(a); 143-215.6(a); 

143-215.17(b); 143-215.36(b); 143-215.91(a); 143-215.114(a). 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0106 STANDARDS 

 

Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-94; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.6(a); 

143-215.17(b); 143-215.36(b); 143-215.91(a); 143-215.114(a). 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0107 PROPOSED ASSESSMENT: 

ASSESSMENT: MODIFICATION 

 

Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-94; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.6(a); 

143-215.17(b); 143-215.36(b); 143-215.91(a); 143-215.114(a). 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0108 PAYMENT: HEARING: 

REMISSION/MITIGATION 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.6(a); 143-215.91(a); 

143-215.114(a). 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0109 TENDERS OF PAYMENT: 

REMISSION/MITIGATION: HEARING REQUEST 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(3). 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0110 REFERRAL 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(3); 143-215.6(a); 143-215.17(b); 

143-215.36(b); 143-215.91(a); 143-215.114(a). 

 

15A NCAC 02J .0111 REPORTS TO THE 

COMMISSION 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Nursing intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 NCAC 36 

.0121, .0122 and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 36 .0226, 

.0228 and .0323. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbon.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 20, 2020 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  NC Board of Nursing, 4516 Lake Boone Trail, 

Raleigh, NC 27607 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 36 .0121 Petitioning for Rulemaking: In accordance 

with G.S. 150B-20(a), "Each agency must establish by rule the 

procedure for submitting a rule-making petition to it and the 

procedure the agency follows in considering a rule-making 

petition.". In reviewing Chapter 36 Board of Nursing, it was 

determined the Board needs to promulgate a rule on Petitioning 

for Rulemaking. 

21 NCAC 36 .0122 Petitions for Declaratory Rulings: In 

accordance with G.S. 150B-4(a), "The agency shall prescribe in 

its rules the procedure for requesting a declaratory ruling and the 

circumstances in which rulings shall or shall not be issued." In 

reviewing Chapter 36 Board of Nursing, it was determined the 

Board needs to promulgate a rule on Petitions for Declaratory 

Rulings. 

21 NCAC 36 .0226 Amendments to this Rule include: addition of 

language regarding eligibility for recognition as a nurse 

anesthetist, change in title of national certifying body, and 

modernization of language. 

21 NCAC 36 .0228 Amendments to this Rule includes: 

modernization of language and clarification regarding 

requirements for approval to practice. 

21 NCAC 36 .0323 Amendment to this Rule updates language 

regarding program completion. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129 

Raleigh NC 27602-2129, email public.comment@ncbon.com 

 

Comment period ends:  September 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 
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21 NCAC 36 .0121 PETITIONING FOR 

RULEMAKING 

(a)  Any person wishing to submit a petition to the Board 

requesting the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule shall file 

the petition with the Board's chief executive officer. 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) a proposed draft of the rule to be adopted or 

amended or a citation to the rule to be repealed; 

(2) a statement of the reason for the proposal, 

including statutory authority; 

(3) effect of the proposed rule change on the 

practice of nursing; 

(4) any data supporting the proposal including cost 

factors; and 

(5) name, address, and telephone number of each 

petitioner. 

(c)  The Board will determine whether the public interest would 

be served by the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the requested 

rule. Prior to making this determination, the Board may: 

(1) request additional information from the 

petitioner; 

(2) contact interested persons or those likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule and request 

comments; and 

(3) it may use any other appropriate method for 

obtaining information on which to base its 

determination. It will consider all the contents 

of the petition submitted plus any other 

information obtained by the means described 

herein. 

(d)  The Board shall act on a petition within the timeframe 

outlined in G.S. 150B-20. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b); 150B-20. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0122 PETITIONS FOR 

DECLARATORY RULINGS 

(a)  All requests for declaratory rulings shall be written and mailed 

to the Board at Post Office Box 2129, Raleigh, NC 27602-2129. 

The envelope containing the request shall bear the notation: 

"REQUEST FOR DECLARATORY RULING." 

(b)  Each Request for Declaratory Ruling shall include the 

following information: 

(1) the name and address of the person requesting 

the ruling; 

(2) the statute or rule to which the request relates; 

(3) a concise statement of the manner in which the 

requesting person is affected by the statute or 

rule or its potential application to that person; 

(4) a statement whether an oral hearing is desired 

and, if so, the reason. 

(c)  Upon receipt of a Request for Declaratory Ruling, the Board 

shall determine whether a ruling is appropriate under the facts 

stated. 

(d)  When the Board determines that the issuance of a declaratory 

ruling is inappropriate, the Board shall notify, in writing, the 

person requesting the ruling, stating the reasons for the denial of 

the request. 

(e)  The Board shall decline to issue a declaratory ruling where: 

(1) there has been a similar controlling factual 

determination made by the Board in a contested 

case; 

(2) the rule-making record shows that the factual 

issues raised by the request were specifically 

considered prior to adoption of the rule; 

(3) the subject-matter of the request is involved in 

pending litigation in any state or federal court 

in North Carolina; or 

(4) the petitioner fails to show that the 

circumstances are so changed since the 

adoption of the statute or rule that a ruling is 

warranted. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b); 150B-4. 

 

SECTION .0200 – LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0226 NURSE ANESTHESIA 

PRACTICE 

(a)  To be eligible for recognition as a nurse anesthetist, a nurse 

shall: 

(1) have an active unencumbered license to 

practice as a registered nurse in North Carolina 

or privilege to practice pursuant to licensure in 

a compact state and, when applicable, an active 

unencumbered recognition, approval, 

registration, or license as a nurse anesthetist in 

another state, territory, or possession of the 

United States; 

(2) submit a completed application for recognition, 

attesting under oath or affirmation that the 

information on the application is true and 

complete and authorizing the release to the 

Board of all information pertaining to the 

application. Application for Examination is 

posted on the Board's website at 

www.ncbon.com; 

(3) have successfully completed a nurse anesthetist 

education program accredited by the Council on 

Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational 

Programs (CANAEP); 

(4) be credentialed as a certified registered nurse 

anesthetist by the CANAEP; and 

(5) supply additional information necessary to 

evaluate the application as requested. 

In the event any of the above required information indicates a 

concern about the applicant's qualifications, an applicant may be 

required to appear in person for an interview with the Board if the 

Board determines in its discretion that more information is needed 

to evaluate the application. 

(a)(b)  Only a registered nurse who completes a program 

accredited by the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia 

Educational Programs, is credentialed as a certified registered 

nurse anesthetist by the Council on Certification of Nurse 

Anesthetists, National Board of Certification and Recertification 

for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA), and who maintains 

recertification through the Council on Certification of Nurse 

Anesthetists, NBCRNA, shall perform nurse anesthesia activities 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

35:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 15, 2020 

114 

in collaboration with a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or other 

lawfully qualified health care provider. A certified registered 

nurse anesthetist shall not prescribe a medical treatment regimen 

or make a medical diagnosis except under the supervision of a 

licensed physician. diagnosis. 

(b)(c)  For the purpose of this Rule, collaboration means a process 

by which the certified registered nurse anesthetist works with one 

or more qualified health care providers, each contributing his or 

her respective area of expertise consistent with the appropriate 

occupational licensure laws of the State and according to the 

established policies, procedures, practices, and channels of 

communication that lend support to nurse anesthesia services and 

that define the roles and responsibilities of the qualified certified 

registered nurse anesthetist within the practice setting. The 

individual certified registered nurse anesthetist shall be 

accountable for the outcome of his or her actions. 

(c)(d)  Nurse Anesthesia activities and responsibilities that the 

appropriately qualified certified registered nurse anesthetist may 

safely accept perform shall depend upon the individual's 

knowledge, skills, and other variables in each practice setting as 

outlined in 21 NCAC 36 .0224(a), including: 

(1) Preanesthesia preparation and evaluation of the 

client, including: 

(A) performing a pre-operative health 

assessment; 

(B) recommending, requesting, and 

evaluating pertinent diagnostic 

studies; and 

(C) selecting and administering 

preanesthetic medications. 

(2) Anesthesia induction, maintenance, and 

emergence of the client to include: 

(A) securing, preparing, and providing 

safety checks on all equipment, 

monitors, supplies, and 

pharmaceutical agents used for the 

administration of anesthesia; 

(B) selecting, implementing, and 

managing general anesthesia; 

monitored anesthesia care; and 

regional anesthesia modalities, 

including administering anesthetic and 

related pharmaceutical agents, 

consistent with the client's needs and 

procedural requirements; 

(C) performing tracheal intubation, 

extubation, and providing mechanical 

ventilation; 

(D) providing perianesthetic invasive and 

non-invasive monitoring, recognizing 

abnormal findings, implementing 

corrective action, and requesting 

consultation with appropriately 

qualified health care providers as 

necessary; 

(E) managing the client's fluid, blood, 

electrolyte, and acid-base balance; and 

(F) evaluating the client's response during 

emergence from anesthesia and 

implementing pharmaceutical and 

supportive treatment to ensure the 

adequacy of client recovery from 

anesthesia. 

(3) Postanesthesia Care of the client, including: 

(A) providing postanesthesia follow-up 

care, including evaluating the client's 

response to anesthesia, recognizing 

potential anesthetic complications, 

implementing corrective actions, and 

requesting consultation with 

appropriately qualified health care 

professionals as necessary; 

(B) initiating and administering 

respiratory support to ensure adequate 

ventilation and oxygenation in the 

immediate postanesthesia period; 

(C) initiating and administering 

pharmacological or fluid support of 

the cardiovascular system during the 

immediate postanesthesia period; 

(D) documenting all aspects of nurse 

anesthesia care and reporting the 

client's status, perianesthetic course, 

and anticipated problems to an 

appropriately qualified postanesthetic 

health care provider who assumes the 

client's care following anesthesia, 

consistent with 21 NCAC 36 .0224(f); 

and 

(E) releasing clients from the 

postanesthesia care or surgical setting 

in compliance with established agency 

policy. 

(d)(e)  Other clinical activities for which the qualified certified 

registered nurse anesthetist may accept responsibility shall 

include: 

(1) inserting central vascular access catheters and 

epidural catheters; 

(2) identifying, responding to, and managing 

emergency situations, including initiating and 

participating in cardiopulmonary resuscitation; 

(3) providing consultation related to respiratory 

and ventilatory care and implementing such 

care according to established policies within the 

practice setting; and 

(4) initiating and managing pain relief therapy 

using pharmaceutical agents, regional 

anesthetic techniques, and other accepted pain 

relief modalities according to established 

policies and protocols within the practice 

setting. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-171.20(4); 90-171.20(7); 90-171.21; 90-

171.23; 90-171.42(b). 
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21 NCAC 36 .0228 CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST 

PRACTICE 

(a)  Effective July 1, 2015, only Only a registered nurse who meets 

the qualifications outlined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

recognized approved by the Board as a clinical nurse specialist to 

perform advanced practice registered nursing activities listed in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(b)  The Board shall recognize approve an applicant who: 

(1) has an active, unencumbered license to practice 

as a registered nurse in North Carolina or a state 

that has adopted the Nurse Licensure Compact; 

(2) has an unrestricted previous approval, 

registration, or license as a clinical nurse 

specialist if previously approved, registered, or 

licensed as a clinical nurse specialist in another 

state, territory, or possession of the United 

States; 

(3) has successfully completed a master's or higher 

level degree program that is accredited by a 

nursing accrediting body approved by the 

United States Secretary of Education or the 

Council for Higher Education Accreditation 

and meets the qualifications for clinical nurse 

specialist certification by an approved national 

credentialing body under Part (b)(4)(A) of this 

Rule; and 

(4) either: 

(A) has current certification as a clinical 

nurse specialist from a national 

credentialing body approved by the 

Board, as defined in Paragraph (h) of 

this Rule and 21 NCAC 36 .0120(26); 

or 

(B) meets requirements that are equivalent 

to national certification if no clinical 

nurse specialist certification is 

available in the specialty, meets 

requirements that are equivalent to 

national certification. specialty. The 

Board shall determine equivalence 

based on consideration of an official 

transcript and course descriptions 

validating Subparagraph (b)(3) of this 

Rule, a current curriculum vitae, work 

history, professional 

recommendations indicating evidence 

of at least 1,000 hours of clinical nurse 

specialist practice, and documentation 

of certificates indicating 75 contact 

hours of continuing education 

applicable to clinical nurse specialist 

practice during the previous five years. 

(c)  An applicant certified as a clinical nurse specialist by a 

national credentialing body prior to January 1, 2007, and who has 

maintained that certification and active clinical nurse specialist 

practice and holds a master's or higher degree in nursing or a 

related field shall be recognized approved by the Board as a 

clinical nurse specialist. 

(d)  New graduates seeking first-time clinical nurse specialist 

recognition approval in North Carolina shall hold a master's or 

doctoral degree or a post-master's certificate from a clinical nurse 

specialist program accredited by a nursing accrediting body 

approved by the U.S. Secretary of Education or the Council for 

Higher Education Accreditation and shall meet all requirements 

in Subparagraph (b)(1) and Part (g)(3)(A) of this Rule. 

(e)  A clinical nurse specialist seeking Board recognition approval 

who has not never practiced as a clinical nurse specialist or has 

not practiced in more than two years shall complete a clinical 

nurse specialist refresher course approved by the Board in 

accordance with 21 NCAC 36 .0220(o) and (p), consisting of 

common conditions and their management related to the clinical 

nurse specialist's area of education and certification. A clinical 

nurse specialist refresher course participant shall be granted 

limited clinical nurse specialist recognition that is limited specific 

to clinical activities taught in the refresher course. 

(f)  The scope of practice of a clinical nurse specialist shall 

incorporate the basic components of nursing practice as defined 

in Rule .0224 of this Section as well as the understanding and 

application of nursing principles at an advanced practice 

registered nurse level in the area of clinical nursing specialization 

in which the clinical nurse specialist is educationally prepared and 

for which competency is maintained, including: 

(1) assessing clients' health status, synthesizing and 

analyzing multiple sources of data, and 

identifying alternative possibilities as to the 

nature of a healthcare problem; 

(2) diagnosing and managing clients' acute and 

chronic health problems within an advanced 

practice nursing framework; 

(3) assessing for and monitoring the usage and 

effect of pharmacologic agents within an 

advanced practice nursing framework; 

(4) formulating strategies to promote wellness and 

prevent illness; 

(5) prescribing and implementing therapeutic and 

corrective non-pharmacologic nursing 

interventions; 

(6) planning for situations beyond the clinical nurse 

specialist's expertise and consulting with or 

referring clients to other health care providers 

as appropriate; 

(7) promoting and practicing in collegial and 

collaborative relationships with clients, 

families, other health care professionals, and 

individuals whose decisions influence the 

health of individual clients, families, and 

communities; 

(8) initiating, establishing, and using measures to 

evaluate health care outcomes and modify 

nursing practice decisions; 

(9) assuming leadership for the application of 

research findings for the improvement of health 

care outcomes; and 

(10) integrating education, consultation, 

management, leadership, and research into the 

clinical nurse specialist role. 
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(g)  A registered nurse seeking recognition by the Board as a 

clinical nurse specialist shall: 

(1) complete the appropriate application that 

includes the following: 

(A) evidence of a master's or doctoral 

degree or a post-master's certificate, as 

set out in Subparagraph (b)(3) or 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and either 

(B) evidence of current certification in a 

clinical nursing specialty from a 

national credentialing body, set out in 

Part (b)(4)(A) of this Rule; or 

(C) meet requirements set out in Part 

(b)(4)(B) of this Rule; 

(2) renew the recognition every two years at the 

time of registered nurse renewal; and 

(3) either: 

(A) submit evidence of initial certification 

and re-certification by a national 

credentialing body at the time such 

occurs in order to maintain Board 

recognition, consistent with 

Paragraphs (b) and (h) of this Rule; or 

(B) if subject to Part (b)(4)(B) of this Rule, 

submit evidence of at least 1,000 hours 

of practice and 75 contact hours of 

continuing education every five years. 

(h)  The Board shall approve those national credentialing bodies 

offering certification and recertification in a clinical nursing 

specialty that have established the following minimum 

requirements: 

(1) unrestricted active unencumbered licensure as a 

registered nurse; and 

(2) certification as a clinical nurse specialist that is 

limited to applicant prepared with a master's or 

doctoral degree or a post-master's certificate. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-171.20(4); 90-171.20(7); 90-171.21(d)(4); 90-

171.23(b); 90-171.27(b); 90-171.42(b). 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPROVAL OF NURSING PROGRAMS 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0323 RECORDS AND REPORTS 

(a)  The controlling institution's publications describing the 

nursing program shall be current and accurate. 

(b)  The controlling institution shall maintain a system for 

maintaining official records. Current and permanent student 

records shall be stored in a secure manner that prevents physical 

damage and unauthorized access. 

(c)  Both permanent and current records shall be available for 

review by Board staff. 

(d)  The official permanent record for each graduate shall include 

documentation of graduation from the program and a transcript of 

the individual's achievement in the program. 

(e)  The record for each currently enrolled student shall contain 

up-to-date and complete information, including the following: 

(1) documentation of admission criteria met by the 

student; 

(2) documentation of high school graduation, high 

school equivalent, or earned credits from 

post-secondary institution approved pursuant to 

G.S. 90-171.38(a); and 

(3) a transcript of credit hours achieved in the 

classroom, laboratory, and clinical instruction 

for each course that reflects progression 

consistent with program policies. 

(f)  The nursing program shall file with the Board records, data, 

and reports in order to furnish information concerning operation 

of the program as prescribed in the rules in this Section, including: 

(1) an annual report to be filed with the Board by 

November 1 of each year; 

(2) a program description report for non-accredited 

programs filed with the Board at least 30 days 

prior to a scheduled review by the Board; and 

(3) notification by institution administration of any 

change of the nursing program director. This 

notification shall include a curriculum vitae for 

the new director and shall be submitted no later 

than 10 business days before the effective date 

of the change. 

(g)  All communications relevant to accreditation shall be 

submitted to the Board at the same time that the communications 

are submitted to the accrediting body. 

(h)  The Board may require additional records and reports for 

review at any time to provide evidence and substantiate 

compliance with the rules in this Section by a program and its 

controlling institutions. 

(i)  The part of the application for licensure by examination to be 

submitted to the Board by the nursing program shall include a 

statement verifying satisfactory completion of all requirements 

for graduation program completion and the date of completion. 

The nursing program director shall verify completion of 

requirements to the Board no later than one month following 

completion of the Board-approved nursing program. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 40 – BOARD OF OPTICIANS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Opticians intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 40 .0202 and .0206. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.opticiansboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 4, 2020 

Time:  10:30 a.m. 

Location:  3809 Computer Drive, Suite 102, Raleigh, NC 27609 
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Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 40 .0202 - Changes to the Board's fee structure includes 

a separate registration for optician-in-charge at an optical place 

of business.  

21 NCAC 40 .0206 - With numerous requirements associated with 

COVID-19 and the implications for mass gatherings, and to allow 

availability to an array of educational opportunities, changes 

were sought to allow the Board's regulated audience access and 

education credits via online resources. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Sue Hodgin, Board of 

Opticians, PO Box 675, Raleigh, NC 27628 

 

Comment period ends:  September 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 - CONDUCT OF REGISTRANTS 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0202 REGISTRATION OF OPTICAL 

PLACE OF BUSINESS AND OPTICIAN IN CHARGE 

(a)  As used in this Rule, "optical place of business" means the 

principal office as well as each branch office of such a business. 

(1) Every optical place of business shall be 

registered with the Board within 10 days 

following its opening for business and 

thereafter annually and in the event of 

relocation or change of ownership. The 

registration fee shall be paid for each 

registration. 

(2) Registration of an optical place of business 

automatically expires on the last day of June of 

each year, and it shall not engage in business 

until it is registered for the next annual period. 

(3) An optical place of business registration is the 

responsibility of the owner. Any business 

which violates the registration requirements of 

this Rule shall be subject to the Board's 

disciplinary authority under G.S. 90-249.1, 

G.S. 90-252, and G.S. 90-254. An injunction 

closing an unregistered optical place of 

business may also be obtained. 

(4) An optical place of business registered in 

compliance with this Rule is eligible to be a 

training establishment when the requirements 

of Rules .0314 and .0321 of this Chapter are 

met. 

(b)  Every optical place of business shall have register a licensed 

optician in charge, who shall serve as the registered license in 

charge of only one optical place of business. 

(1) Every optician in charge shall be registered 

with the Board within 10 days of a business 

opening, or change of optician in charge. The 

registration fee shall be paid for each 

registration. 

(2) Registration of an optician in charge 

automatically expires on the last day of June of 

each year, and the optical business shall not 

engage in dispensing activities under G.S. 90-

236 until it has a registered optician in charge 

for the next annual period. 

(3) An optician in charge registration is the 

responsibility of both the licensed optician in 

charge and the owner. Any optician in charge 

of an optical place of business which violates 

the registration requirements of this Rule shall 

be subject to the Board's disciplinary authority 

under G.S. 90-249.1 and G.S. 90-252. 

(c)  Every optical place of business shall be registered with the 

Board within 10 days following its opening for business and 

thereafter annually and in the event of relocation, change of 

ownership or change of licensed optician in charge. The 

registration fee shall be paid for each registration. 

(d)  Registration of an optical place of business automatically 

expires on the first day of July of each year, and it shall not engage 

in business until it is registered for the next annual period. 

(e)  Registration is the responsibility of both the licensed optician 

in charge and the owner. Any licensed optician in charge of an 

optical place of business which violates the registration 

requirements of this Rule shall be subject to the Board's 

disciplinary authority under G.S. 90-249.1. An injunction closing 

an unregistered optical place of business may also be obtained. 

(f)  An optical place of business registered in compliance with this 

Rule is eligible to be a training establishment when the 

requirements of Rules .0314 and .0321 of this Chapter are met. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-239; 90-243; 90-249(5); 90-252; 90-253. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0206 PROFESSIONAL 

RESPONSIBILITY; CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  With the goal of keeping the vision health and welfare of the 

client uppermost at all times, promoting optimal public health for 

North Carolina's citizens, striving to continuously develop 

educational and technical proficiency, and informing himself or 
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herself as to new developments within the profession, a licensed 

optician shall: 

(1) maintain adequate equipment and instruments 

in his or her office at all times to assure 

professional service to the public; public, and 

for use in training apprentices and interns as set 

forth in 21 NCAC 40 .0321; 

(2) assist his or her clients in whatever manner 

possible in obtaining further care when, in his 

or her opinion, additional care is needed; make 

a referral to other healthcare provider when, in 

the licensee's professional opinion, such 

referral would benefit the client; 

(3) maintain records; 

(4)(3) treat all information concerning his or her 

clients as privileged and not to be 

communicated to others except when 

authorized or required by a law or rule, or with 

express consent of the client; 

(5)(4) take annual courses of study in subjects related 

and essential to the practice of opticianry for the 

purpose of enhancing his or her scientific 

knowledge and professional skills, gaining the 

benefits of new techniques, and acquiring 

increased knowledge of laws and rules 

governing the practice of opticianry. opticianry, 

as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  Licenses issued after July 1 shall be exempt from the 

continuing education requirement for renewal by December 31 of 

the same year. Otherwise, each Each North Carolina-licensed 

optician shall take a total of at least eight hours of continuing 

education each calendar year as follows: 

(1) three hours of study on the practice of contact 

lens fitting; fitting and dispensing; in lieu 

thereof, two hours of study on contact lens 

fitting and dispensing, and one hour of study 

may be on either: optical business management 

or management, consumer protection; and 

either: protection, or ethics: 

(A) When there have been no amendments 

or changes to the North Carolina 

opticianry laws or rules during the 

previous year, five hours of study on 

eyeglass fitting and dispensing; in lieu 

thereof, four hours of a study on 

eyeglass fitting and dispensing and 

one hour of study may be on laws and 

rules affecting North Carolina 

opticians, or ethics; or 

(B) When there has been an amendment or 

change to North Carolina opticianry 

laws or rules during the previous year, 

all licensed opticians practicing 

opticianry in the state shall take one 

hour of continuing education on the 

laws and rules relating to such 

amendment or change and four hours 

of study as described in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph. The Board shall notify 

licensees when amendments or 

changes are made that would require 

each licensee's attendance at law/rule 

continuing education. 

(2) four hours of study on eyeglass fitting and 

dispensing; 

(3) one hour of education on the laws and rules 

affecting North Carolina opticians. 

(c)  All hours shall be currently-approved by the American Board 

of Opticianry or the National Contact Lens Examiners. 

(d)  Courses of self-study, meant to be taken by individuals 

through journal articles or online, where organized material is 

presented and written evaluations are made prior to or after 

completing the course(s), are eligible for credit provided the 

vendor or sponsor has submitted the course or courses for 

approval to the Board as described in Paragraph (k) of this Rule 

prior to its being offered to licensed opticians. However, no 

licensee shall receive credit for more than four hours of continuing 

education credit by this self-study means in any calendar year. 

(2)(e) Any licensed optician who is not practicing opticianry in 

the state shall annually obtain a total of at least eight hours of 

courses of study: three hours shall be essential to on the practice 

of contact lens fitting, fitting and dispensing, and five hours shall 

be essential to on eyeglass fitting and dispensing. One In lieu 

thereof, one of the eight hours may be on optical business 

management or management, consumer protection. protection, or 

ethics. No other state's hours pertaining to its laws or rules shall 

be allowed as credit. All hours shall be currently-approved by the 

American Board of Opticianry or the National Contact Lens 

Examiners. 

(f)  All hours must be taken within the prior or current calendar 

year for which credit is sought, and a licensee shall not receive 

continuing education credit for any course that the licensee 

already has completed during the same calendar year. 

(g)  Continuing education hours in excess of the number required 

at the time of renewal shall not be applied to future requirements. 

(h)  Submission of fraudulent statements or certificates 

concerning continuing education shall subject the licensee to 

disciplinary action. 

(i)  The hours of study set forth in this Rule may not be waived, 

except by: upon presentation of evidence of illness rendering the 

licensee's attendance impossible, or by presentation of active-duty 

orders for the licensee serving in a branch of the US armed forces. 

(1) declared Board waiver as defined in 21 NCAC 

40 .0113; 

(2) presentation of evidence of illness, or residency 

outside the United States, rendering the 

licensee's attendance impossible; or 

(3) presentation of active-duty orders for the 

licensee serving in a branch of the US armed 

forces. 

(c)(j)  Courses of study for which a licensee desires continuing 

education credit must be approved by the Board, meeting the 

following criteria: 

(1) Courses must be directly related to the practice 

of a dispensing optician as defined in G.S. 90-

235 and G.S. 90-236. The education of 

opticians must be the primary and customary 

objective of the education provider. 
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(2) Each course must be made available to all NC 

licensed opticians. 

(3) The following information shall be submitted to 

the Board office no later than 45 days prior to 

the date the course to be presented. is to be 

made available for presentation. The following 

information is required for course submission 

and consideration: 

(A) Location and scheduled time for 

Method of course presentation; if on-

site presentation, the location and 

scheduled time; 

(B) Title of course; 

(C) Instructor's name, address and 

qualifications. Instructors must be 

qualified by education and experience 

to provide instruction in the course 

subject; 

(D) Course description, including course 

length, instructional objectives, or 

course outline; 

(E) Indication of course's approval status 

with the American Board of 

Opticianry or National Contact Lens 

Examiners; 

(F) Name and address of provider agency, 

and primary contact information; 

(G) Description of the provider's 

attendance certification process; and 

(H) Agreement to provide electronic 

attendance roster to Board, and 

certified attendance documentation to 

attendees. 

(4) Course content shall be presented in an 

objective a manner that does not promote the 

sale or marketing of one company's products or 

services over another. Presentations on new 

optical technology shall not include a specific 

brand/manufacturer of the technology in the 

title or content. Product-specific "info-

mercials" and sales pitches shall not be 

approved. 

(5) Courses shall consist of a minimum 50 minutes' 

education for each hour credit. 

(6) Online courses may not exceed two hours in 

length, and on-site instructors Instructors may 

not present more than four two consecutive 

hours of continuing education. 

(d)(k)  Each course to be presented on-site shall be submitted for 

approval separately and completely each time credit is sought. 

(l)  Post-presentation approval of continuing education courses 

will not be granted. 

(e)(m)  All approved courses for on-site presentation shall allow 

complimentary on-site review by representatives from the Board. 

(f)(n)  Course sponsors shall: shall, no later than 30 days following 

the presentation of on-site courses: 

(1) Certify opticians' attendance for the requisite 

period; 

(2) Submit to the Board an electronic attendance 

roster, including names and credit hours 

received; and documentation of attendance in a 

format provided by the Board for compatibility 

to its data management system to include: 

(A) Course title and classification 

verification; 

(B) Vendor or sponsor identification; 

(C) Name of and license number of North 

Carolina licensee; 

(D) Sponsor's attestation or verification of 

attendance. 

(3) Certify attendance documentation by the 

provider agency. 

(o)  Any licensee may submit completed online hours directly to 

the Board, provided that the attendance is documented by the 

vendor or sponsor of the education, on a form given the licensee 

attending the course(s) attesting to their attendance, and the 

original form, not a photocopy or facsimile, is submitted to the 

Board. 

(p)  Course sponsors shall maintain for three years records of the 

names of those attendants who complete continuing education 

hours. 

(g)(q)  Opticians and course attendees shall: 

(1) Retain documentation for a minimum 2-year 

period beginning with the next renewal year 

immediately following the date the courses 

were taken; and 

(2) Present the documentation to Board as required 

during the license renewal process. process, or 

at any time if in the Board's opinion such 

documentation is necessary. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-235; 90-236; 90-249; 90-249.1. 



 EMERGENCY RULES 

 

 

35:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 15, 2020 

120 

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of Commerce, Division of 

Employment Security 

 

Rule Citation:  04 NCAC 24G .0104 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  The Emergency rule is needed because of a 

serious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety and 

welfare, recent act of the U.S. Congress with the passage of eh 

Families First Coronavirus Response Act, Pub. L. No. 116-127, 

Division D 1402 (2020); Executive Order 118 issued by Governor 

Roy Cooper on March 17, 2020; and guidance from the U.S. 

Department of Labor in Unemployment Insurance Program 

Letter (UIPL) Nos. 16-20 (issued April 5, 2020); 13-20 (issued 

March 22, 2020) and 10-20 (issued March 12, 2020).  

 

On March 10. 2020, the Governor of North Carolina issued 

Executive Order No. 116 and declared a state of emergency to 

coordinate a response and enact protective measures to help 

prevent the spread of Coronavirus Disease 201 9 (CO VID - 1 9), 

a respiratory disease that results from the coronavirus. On March 

11, 2020, the World Health Organization declared the 

coronavirus an international pandemic. The World Health 

Organization, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

 

On March 17, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina issued 

Executive Order No. 118 and directed the Secretary of Commerce 

and Assistant Secretary for the Division of Employment Security 

to ensure that individuals who are separated from employment, 

had hours reduced, or are prevented from working due to a 

medical condition caused by COVID-19 or due to communicable 

disease control measures are eligible for unemployment bene fits 

to the maximum amount  permitted by federal law. 

 

On March 1 8, 2020, the President of the United States signed the 

Families First Coronavirus Response Act (Pub. L. 116-127). The 

legislation makes emergency supplemental  appropriations in 

response to the spread of COVID-19 and includes the Emergency 

Unemployment Insurance Stabilization and Access Act of 2020 

(EUISAA) at Division D. EUISSA sets forth requirements for 

emergency administrative grants to states, and authorizes 

emergency flexibility allowing states to temporarily modify 

certain aspects of their unemployment compensation laws, a 

short-term waiver of interest on state trust fund advances, and full 

federal funding during extended benefit periods through 

December 31, 2020. 

 

The Governor’s Executive Order No. 121 ordered that all non-

essential businesses and operations cease operating effective 

March 30, 2020.  The employer entities ceased operations and 

laid off its employees pursuant to the Governor’s Executive 

Order. Currently, the Governor is reopening the state’s economy 

in phases and easing COVID-19 restrictions; the employer 

entities are reopening and are recalling employees to return to 

work. This rule is necessary for the determination of whether to 

continue unemployment insurance benefits for individuals who 

refuse to return to work after being recalled by the employer.  

Furthermore, N.C. Session Law 2020-3 made changes to Chapter 

96 of the North Carolina statutes. Part of the law, codified as G.S. 

96-14.15, provides for flexibility to DES to administer the 

unemployment compensation to unemployed individuals in 

response to the coronavirus emergency. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 24G – UNEMPLOYMENT 

COMPENSATION DUE TO PUBLIC HEALTH 

EMERGENCY OR DISASTER DECLARATION 

 

SECTION .0100 - UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION 

DUE TO CORONAVIRUS AND COVID-19 

 

04 NCAC 24G .0104 TEMPORARY COVD-19 

SUITABLE WORK PROVISIONS 

A claimant who has refused suitable work for one of the following 

COVID-19 related reasons will be deemed to have a legally 

sufficient reason for the refusal, and may continue to be eligible 

for unemployment benefits: 

(1) The claimant has been diagnosed with COVID-

19 or is experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 

and has been advised by a medical professional 

to not attend work. 

(2) A member of the claimant's household has been 

diagnosed with COVID-19 or the claimant is 

providing care for a family member who has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19. 

(3) The claimant is high risk of severe illness from 

COVID-19. The Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC) defines a high-risk 

individual as a person 65 years of age or older, 

or a person of any age, who has serious 

underlying medical conditions including being 

immunocompromised, or has chronic lung 

disease, moderate-to-severe asthma, serious 

heart conditions, severe obesity, diabetes, 

chronic kidney disease and undergoing dialysis, 

or liver disease. 
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(4) The claimant is the primary caregiver of a child 

or person in the claimant's household who is 

unable to attend school or another facility that 

is closed as a direct result of the COVID-19 

public health emergency, and the school or 

facility is required for the claimant to work. 

(5) The claimant is unable to report to the 

claimant's place of employment because of a 

quarantine imposed as a direct result of the 

COVID-19 public health emergency or the 

claimant has been advised by a health care 

provider to self-quarantine due to concerns 

related to COVID-19. 

(6) In order to comply with any governmental order 

regarding travel, business operations and mass 

gatherings, the claimant must refuse an offer of 

suitable work. 

(7) The claimant reasonably believe there is a valid 

degree of risk to the claimant's health and safety 

due to a significant risk of exposure or infection 

to COVID-19 at the employer's place of 

business due to a failure of the employer to 

comply with guidelines as set out by the CDC, 

other governmental authorities or industry 

groups as may be found in CDC guidance, the 

Governor's Executive Orders, or other binding 

authority; or due to objective reasons that the 

employer's facility is not safe for the claimant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-2; 96-4; 96-15(a); 150B-

21.1A; 166A-19.30; Families First Coronavirus Response Act. 

Pub. L. No. 116-27; Division D, 1402 (2020); E.O. 118, Governor 

Roy Cooper, 2020; E.O. 121, Governor Roy Cooper, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 30 – BOARD OF MASSAGE AND 

BODYWORK THERAPY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Massage and Bodywork 

Therapy 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 30 .0704, .0804 

 

Effective Date:  June 30, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  June 22, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare has arisen with the coronavirus outbreak 

in North Carolina.  The Governor declared a state of emergency 

on March 10, 2020, to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. On March 12, 

2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC Department 

Health and Human Services recommended high risk persons stay 

at home, the schools implement plans for distance or e-learning, 

that employers and employees use teleworking technologies, and 

that mass gatherings should cancel, postpone and modify these 

events or offer online services. On March 14, 2020, the Governor 

of North Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited 

mass gatherings, closed schools and urged social distancing. On 

March 23, 2020, the Governor issued Executive Order No. 120 

that required certain establishments to close. To allow massage 

and bodywork therapists to continue taking continuing education 

courses to renew their license, the Board proposes to waive the 

in-classroom requirement and allow all hours to be completed by 

distance learning. 

 

SECTION .0700 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 30 .0704 WAIVER OF REQUIREMENTS 

DURING DISASTER OR EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the governor declares a state of emergency, the Board may 

waive or extend the continuing education requirement set forth in 

21 NCAC 30 .0701(b) to allow all hours of the required 

continuing education to be by distance learning. 

(b)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply during the 

effective period of the state of emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. June 30, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0800 - RULES 

 

21 NCAC 30 .0804 WAIVER OR EXTENSION 

The Board may waive or extend any rule in this Chapter that is 

not statutorily required if a licensee submits a written request. 

The Board may also waive or extend any rule in this Chapter 

that is not statutorily required upon its own initiative. Factors the 

Board shall use in determining whether to grant the waiver or 

extension are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver or extension; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver or extension; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers or extensions 

submitted from the requesting party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. June 30, 2020. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Medical Care Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 13O .0301 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The World Health Organization, the Center for Disease 

Control and Prevention, and the United States Department of 

Health and Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public 

health threat and emergency.  In conjunction with government 

guidance, on March 16, the state-approved vendor, Pearson 

VUE, suspended all nurse aide testing in North Carolina until 

conditions are deemed safe to re-open.  In order to assist the 

healthcare work force and the citizens of North Carolina who 

need medical care, the Division of Health Service Regulation 

seeks to amend 10A NCAC 13O .0301 under temporary 

procedures by requesting reciprocity for out-of-state nurse aides 

who are active and in good standing on another state's Nurse Aide 

I Registry. 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13O – HEALTHCARE PERSONNEL 

REGISTRY 

 

SECTION .0300 - NURSE AIDE I REGISTRY 

 

10A NCAC 13O .0301 NURSE AIDE I TRAINING AND 

COMPETENCY EVALUATION 

(a)  To be eligible to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry by 

the Health Care Personnel Education and Credentialing Section, 

a person shall shall: 

(1) pass a Nurse Aide I training program approved 

by the Department in accordance with 42 CFR 

Part 483.151 through Part 483.152 and the State 

of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam. exam; or 

(2) apply to the Department for approval to be 

listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry by 

reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or 

registration from another State to North 

Carolina. 

(b)  In applying for reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or 

registration to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry pursuant 

to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, the applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application to the 

Department that includes the following: 

(A) first, middle, and last name; 

(B) the applicant's prior name(s), if any; 

(C) mother's maiden name; 

(D) gender; 

(E) social security number; 

(F) date of birth; 

(G) mailing address; 

(H) email address; 

(I) home telephone number; 

(J) any other State registries of nurse 

aides upon which the applicant is 

listed; 

(K) certification or registration numbers 

for any State nurse aide registries 

identified in Part (b)(1)(J) of this Rule; 

(L) original issue dates for any 

certifications or registrations 

identified in Part (b)(1)(K) of this 

Rule; 

(M) expiration dates for any certifications 

or registrations identified in Part 

(b)(1)(K) of this Rule; and 

(N) employment history; 

(2) provide documentation verifying that his or her 

registry listing is active and in good standing in 

the State(s) of reciprocity, dated no older than 

30 calendar days prior to the date the 

application is received by the Department; and 

(3) provide a copy of his or her Social Security card 

and an unexpired government-issued 

identification containing a photograph and 

signature. 

(c)  For the applicant to be approved for reciprocity of a nurse aide 

certification or registration and be listed on the NC Nurse Aide I 

Registry, the Department shall verify the following: 

(1) the applicant has completed an application in 

accordance with Subparagraph (b)(1) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the applicant is listed on another State's registry 

of nurse aides as active and in good standing; 

(3) the applicant has no pending or substantiated 

findings of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or 

misappropriation of resident or patient property 

recorded on other State registries of nurse aides; 
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(4) if the applicant has been employed as a nurse 

aide for monetary compensation consisting of 

at least a total of eight hours of time worked 

performing nursing or nursing-related tasks 

delegated and supervised by a Registered 

Nurse, then the applicant shall provide the 

employer name, employer address, and dates of 

employment for the previous 24 consecutive 

months; 

(5) the name listed on the Social Security card and 

government-issued identification containing a 

photograph and signature submitted with the 

application matches the name listed on another 

State's registry of nurse aides or that the 

applicant has submitted additional 

documentation verifying any name changes; 

and 

(6) the applicant completed a State-approved nurse 

aide training and competency evaluation 

program that meets the requirements of 42 CFR 

483.152 or a State-approved competency 

evaluation program that meets the requirements 

of 42 CFR 483.154. 

(d)  The Department shall within 10 business days of receipt of an 

application for reciprocity transfer of a nurse aide certification or 

registration or receipt of additional information from the 

applicant: 

(1) inform the applicant by letter whether he or she 

has been approved; or 

(2) request additional information from the 

applicant. 

The applicant shall be added to the NC Nurse Aide I Registry 

within three business days of Department approval. 

(b)(e)  This Rule incorporates 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart D by 

reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies of the Code of Federal Regulations may be accessed 

electronically free of charge from 

www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode

=CFR. 

(c)(f)  The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam shall include each course requirement specified in the 

Department-approved Nurse Aide I training program as provided 

for in 42 CFR Part 483.152. 

(d)(g)  The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam shall be administered and evaluated only by the Department 

or its contracted testing agent as provided for in 42 CFR Part 

483.154. 

(e)(h)  The Department shall include a record of completion of the 

State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam in the 

NC Nurse Aide I Registry within 30 business days of passing the 

written or oral exam and the skills demonstration as provided for 

in 42 CFR Part 483.154. 

(f)(i)  If the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam candidate does not pass the written or oral exam and the 

skills demonstration as provided for in 42 CFR Part 483.154, the 

candidate shall be advised by the Department of the areas that the 

individual did not pass. 

(g)(j)  Every North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam 

candidate shall have, as provided for in 42 CFR Part 483.154, 

have the opportunity to take the exam at maximum three times 

before being required to retake and pass a Nurse Aide I training 

program. 

(h)(k)  A person who is currently listed on any state's Nurse Aide 

I Registry shall not be required to take the Department-approved 

Nurse Aide I training program to be listed or, if his or her 24-

month listing period has expired, relisted on the NC Nurse Aide I 

Registry, unless the person fails to pass the State of North 

Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam after three attempts. 

(i)(l)  U.S. military personnel who have completed medical 

corpsman training and retired or non-practicing nurses shall not 

be required to take the Department-approved Nurse Aide I 

training program to be listed or relisted on the Nurse Aide I 

Registry, unless the person fails to pass the State of North 

Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam after three attempts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-255; 42 CFR Part 483; 

483.150; 42 CFR 483.151; 42 CFR 483.152; 42 CFR 483.154; 42 

CFR 483.156; 42 CFR 483.158; 

Eff. January 1, 2016;  

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 20, 2020. 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Rule-making Agency:  DHHS/Division of Health Benefits 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 21A .0304 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily from person 

to person that can result in serious illness or death.  Once an 

outbreak of the COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The 

World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a global 

pandemic on March 11, 2020.  On March 27, 2020, the Governor 

issued Executive Order No. 121 directing Essential Business and 

Operations to have employees utilize telework to the greatest 

extent possible.  The temporary rule is needed to permit 

conducting county appeals hearings by phone or other electronic 

means to ensure the health and safety of our beneficiaries, county 

staff and state staff while continuing to adjudicate appeals.  This 

measure is in the public interest and promotes the ends of justice 

as delaying appeal hearings would be detrimental in a time of 

greater health needs and economic fragility of North Carolinians. 

 

CHAPTER 21 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

ADMINISTRATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 21A - GENERAL PROGRAM 

ADMINISTRATION 
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SECTION .0300 - APPEALS 

 

10A NCAC 21A .0304 CONDUCTING DEPARTMENT 

IN COUNTY APPEAL HEARINGS BY TELEPHONE OR 

ELECTRONIC MEANS 

For public assistance and social services de novo appeals appeals, 

including appeals of cases involving disability filed pursuant to 

G.S. 108A-79(i): 

(1) The Department may shall require conducting 

in county such conduct the appeal hearings by 

telephone or feasible electronic means feasible 

to the appellant and Department during a public 

health emergency declared under section 319 of 

the Public Health Service Act, Pub. L. 98-49, or 

a state of emergency declared pursuant to G.S. 

166A-19.20. 

(2) The Department shall notify the appellant when 

in county such the hearings are required to be 

conducted in this manner by First Class U.S. 

Mail and make hearing arrangements 

considering the technology medium telephone 

or electronic means available to the appellant. 

(3) The Department shall continue such appeal 

hearings as necessary to fulfill procedural rights 

of the appellant as defined by 42 C.F.R. 

431.242, which is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions, 

and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov. 

 

History note: Authority G.S. 108A-54;108A-79; 42 C.F.R. 

431.205; 42 C.F.R. 431.240; 42 C.F.R. 431.242; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 4, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Code Officials Qualification Board 

 

Rule Citation:  11 NCAC 08 .0735 

 

Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare.  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of 

North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a 

state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily form person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing. 

 

CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0700 - QUALIFICATION BOARD-STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0735 TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE 

(a)  A temporary certificate shall be issued without examination 

or additional application to any code enforcement official (CEO) 

who currently possesses a probationary certificate that expires 

between March 12, 2020 and December 31, 2020. The application 

the CEO initially submitted to obtain the probationary certificate 

shall provide the basis for issuing the temporary certificate. 

(b)  A temporary certificate shall authorize the CEO, during the 

effective period of the certificate, to hold the position of the type, 

level, and location that corresponds to the probationary certificate 

the applicant previously received. The certificate shall specify the 

type and level of code enforcement in which the CEO may engage 

and may be conditioned upon his or her having supervision from 

an official with the specified certification or qualifications 

included on the CEO's probationary certificate application. 

(c)  The temporary certificate shall be effective for one year only 

for the period of March 12, 2020 through March 12, 2021 and 

shall not be renewed. During the one-year period, the official shall 

complete the requirements set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 to 

qualify for the appropriate standard certificate. 

(d)  A CEO who is issued a temporary certificate that the CEO no 

longer needs or wants shall return the temporary certificate, within 

30 days, to the Engineering and Codes Division of Department of 

Insurance for cancellation. 

(e)  A temporary certificate shall remain valid only so long as the 

person certified is employed by the State or a local government as 

a code enforcement official of the type and level indicated on the 

certificate. If the person certified leaves such employment for any 

reason, he or she shall return the certificate to the Board. 

(f)  A CEO with only a temporary certificate and no standard or 

limited certificate is not required to complete any continuing 

education courses. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 20, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 18 – DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF 

STATE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of the Secretary of State 
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Rule Citation:  18 NCAC 06A .2120 

 

Effective Date:  July 1, 2020, to expire on April 1, 2026 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A Local Public Offering (LPO) is a kind of 

"crowdfunding" for the benefit of North Carolina businesses.  

North Carolina is currently the only state offering the LPO path.  

Although LPO crowdfunding is similar to Kickstarter and other 

types of crowdfunding, LPOs involve the offer and sale of 

securities (debt or equity).  An LPO is a securities offering issued 

by a North Carolina business to North Carolina investors.  The 

issuer has 12 months to raise up to $250,000 in capital.  LPO 

crowdfunding is a way for businesses to raise small amounts of 

money from a large number of investors. 

 

North Carolina businesses asked for the LPO rules.  The rules 

allow for responsible capital formation exclusively for NC 

businesses.  The rules included a sunset designed to allow 

evaluation of the innovative LPOs.  There are two Paragraphs in 

Rule 18 NCAC 06A .2120, "Sunset Provision."  Paragraph (a) 

permits the Secretary to accept new LPO filings and Paragraph 

(b) sets the date for the expiration for all of the LPO rules.  There 

is a 12 month difference between these two dates because 12 

months is the period of time in which a business using the LPO 

rules would solicit investors to invest in the business. 

In January 2020, the Department was considering whether or not 

to extend the Sunset Provision.  At about that time, the 

Department began to receive inquiries regarding the sunset 

provision from the NC business community.  The inquirers were 

supportive of the LPO rules.  They urged the Department to extend 

the LPO rules. 

The Department began work on an extension of the Sunset 

Provision.  Then the COVID-19 pandemic was declared.  The 

Department could not have foreseen the devastating effects of 

COVID-19 on businesses in March 2020 and since that time.  

COVID-19 has caused, and will continue to cause, substantial 

economic disruption to businesses.  The Department is seeking to 

alleviate some of the burdens on small businesses that would avail 

themselves of LPOs to sustain themselves during these 

challenging economic times. 

 

CHAPTER 06 - SECURITIES DIVISION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06A – RECODIFIED RULES 

 

SECTION .2100 – RULES FOR LOCAL PUBLIC 

OFFERINGS (LPO) 

 

18 NCAC 06A .2120 SUNSET PROVISION 

(a)  The Administrator shall not accept any new Form NCE-LPO 

or other filing related to a new LPO after April 1, 2020 2025. 

(b)  The rules in this Section shall expire on April 1, 2021 2026. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 78A-17.1(a)(5); 78A-17.1(f); 

78A-49(a); 78A-49(d); 78A-64; S.L. 2016-103, s.4.(a); 

Eff. April 1, 2017 to expire on April 1, 2021; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2020, to expire on April 1, 

2026. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 25 - INTERPRETER AND 

TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing 

Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 25 .0501 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  COVID-19 is 

a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  

COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans spreads easily 

from person to person.  Once an outbreak of COVID-19 begins, it 

is difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, the Center 

for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  Through 

several additional Executive Orders, the Governor of North 

Carolina has prohibited mass gatherings, closed schools, urged 

social distancing, ordered North Carolinians to stay at home, with 

exceptions, and placed limitations on travel because of the 

COVID-19 public health threat and emergency.  These Orders 

and declarations prohibit or discourage in-person continuing 

education offerings.  In compliance with the Governor's Executive 

Orders, the NCITLB, through a temporary Rule, seeks to lift the 

in-person continuing education requirements solely for the 2019-

20 licensure year and allow licensees to take all of their 

continuing education requirements electronically. 

 

SECTION .0500 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 25 .0501 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A licensee shall earn at least two continuing education units 

("CEUs") each licensure year. At least 1.0 of those CEUs shall be 

earned in professional studies and at least 1.0 of those CEUs shall 

be earned in a setting in which three or more persons come 

together at the same location at the same time as a group to listen 

to a lecture, to view a demonstration, to participate in group 

discussions, or to learn through any combination of these or 

similar activities. 

(b)  A licensee may carry over up to two surplus CEUs earned in 

one licensure year to the next licensure year to meet the 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The licensee shall 

demonstrate that he or she earned the CEU credits sought to be 
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carried over in the licensee's license renewal application packet 

submitted for the carry over year in order to receive credit 

therefore. Except as specifically provided hereby, surplus CEUs 

shall only be carried forward from the licensure year in which they 

were earned to the next subsequent licensure year and not beyond. 

(c)  A licensee may not earn CEUs while interpreting, whether or 

not the licensee is compensated for his or her services. 

(d)  The Board shall waive the continuing education requirements 

in this Section for any individual who is currently licensed by and 

in good standing with the Board if the individual is serving in the 

armed forces of the United States and if G.S. 105-249.2 grants the 

individual an extension of time to file a tax return. The waiver 

shall be in effect for any period that is disregarded under Section 

7508 of the Internal Revenue Code in determining the taxpayer's 

liability for a federal tax.  

(e)  For the 2019-20 licensure year only, the Board waives the in-

person course requirements of Paragraph (a) and licensees may 

take all of their CEUs for the 2019-20 licensure year 

electronically. However, this waiver shall not apply to any surplus 

CEUs earned during the 2019-20 licensure year and sought by the 

licensee to be carried over to the 2020-21 licensure year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-8; 90D-11; 93B-15; 

Eff. March 21, 2005; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2011; August 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 28 - LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 28B .0406 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  In accordance with Executive Order No. 116 

declaring that a state of emergency exists and to coordinate a 

response and enact protective measures to help prevent the 

spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in 

humans, spreads easily from person to person is a respiratory 

disease that can result in serious illness or death.  The World 

Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and the United States Department of Health and 

Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public health threat 

and emergency and have encouraged social distancing to reduce 

infection rates.  The North Carolina Landscape Contractors' 

Licensing Board seeks to assist licensed landscape contractors 

who are unable to locate a sufficient number of hours of in person 

continuing education classes that are required by 21 NCAC 28B 

.0400 by granting a one-time extension of the annual requirement 

set forth in that rule under the authority of G.S. 87D-20(b).  In 

addition, the North Carolina Landscape Contractors' Licensing 

Board seeks to actively support the social isolation efforts that 

have been directed by the Federal and State Government for its 

licensed landscape contractors by this action. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 28B – LICENSING BOARD RULES 

 

SECTION .0400 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0406 EMERGENCY EXTENSIONS OF 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: 

LICENSED LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS 

(a)  All active licensees shall be granted a one year one-year 

extension of all continuing education requirements for the license 

year ending July 31, 2020. The required hours shall be reported 

no later than July 31, 2021. 

(b)  The Board shall accept Board-approved continuing education 

credits previously obtained in compliance for the license year 

ending July 31, 2020 and shall apply those credits to the license 

year ending July 31, 2021. 

(c)  This rule Rule does not affect any other licensure renewal 

requirements set forth in G.S. 89D and the rules set forth in this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-

15(12); 89D-20(b); 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 16, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Medical Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 32B .1707, .1708; and 32M .0119 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:   

21 NCAC 32B .1707 – On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  COVID-19 is 

a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  

COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily 

from person to person.  Since the COVID-19 outbreak began, it 

has been difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, the 

Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services have declared the 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  Section 16 of 

Executive Order No. 116 temporarily waived licensure 

requirements for health care providers licensed in other states, 

territories, and the District of Columbia.  The Medical Board 

seeks to help increase the pool of qualified health care providers 

who can provide assistance with a COVID-19 outbreak by 

creating an expedited process by which physicians and physician 
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assistants with inactive North Carolina medical licenses may 

obtain a temporary emergency license.  The adoption of the 

Medical Baord's Emergency rule has helped alleviate health care 

provider shortages resulting from the COVID-19 outbreak in 

North Carolina and the Medical Board wishes to extend the health 

care provider's assistance. 

21 NCAC 32B .1708 - On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  COVID-19 is 

a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  

COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily 

from person to person.  Once an outbreak of COVID-19 begins, it 

is difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, the Center 

for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  The search for 

potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs.  On March 

24, 2020, the North Carolina Secretary of Health and Human 

Services and the State Health Director requested that the Medical 

Board and the Board of Pharmacy adopt the COVID-19 Drug 

Preservation Rule in order to alleviate shortages and ensure that 

these drugs are available to patients who need them.  They 

subsequently asked the Board of Nursing to adopt the same rule. 

21 NCAC 32M .0119 - On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  COVID-19 is 

a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  

COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily 

from person to person.  Once an outbreak of COVID-19 begins, it 

is difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, the Center 

for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  The search for 

potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs.  On March 

24, 2020, the North Carolina State Health Director requested that 

the Medical Board and the Board of Pharmacy adopt the COVID-

19 Drug Preservation Rule in order to alleviate shortages and 

ensure that these drugs are available to patients who need them. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32B – LICENSE TO PRACTICE 

MEDICINE 

 

SECTION .1700 – OTHER LICENSES 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1707 LIMITED LICENSE FOR 

DISASTERS AND EMERGENCIES FOR PHYSICIANS 

AND PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS WITH INACTIVE 

NORTH CAROLINA LICENSES. 

(a)  The Board shall waive the requirements for licensure in the 

circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5. 

(b)  Limited Emergency License: Physicians and physician 

assistants who do not have an active medical license issued by any 

jurisdiction, but who at one time had a full and unrestricted North 

Carolina medical license, may apply for a limited emergency 

license on the following conditions: 

(1) The applicant must certify and provide 

information sufficient to prove that he or she 

has practiced clinical medicine for at least 

eighty hours within the past two years; 

(2) The applicant must have maintained an active 

and unrestricted medical license continuously 

for the ten-year period prior to going inactive; 

(3) The applicant shall not have received any 

public discipline or inactivated his or her 

license while under investigation with such 

inactivation being reported to the National 

Practitioner Data Bank; and 

(4) During the declared state of emergency, the 

physician or physician assistant shall limit his 

or her medical practice to the area of practice 

that he or she engaged in prior to going inactive 

or another area in which he or she is competent 

to provide medical care. 

(c)  The applicant must complete a limited emergency license 

application. 

(d)(c)  The Board may shall verify that the applicant practiced 

clinical medicine for at least eighty hours in the immediate two-

year period complied with  Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule. 

(e)(d)  In response to a declared disaster or state of emergency and 

in order to best serve the public interest, the Board may limit the 

physician's or physician assistant's scope of practice. The 

physician or physician assistant shall practice within his or her 

scope of practice. In response to a complaint, the Board may 

initiate disciplinary proceedings and limit the individual's scope 

of practice to best serve the public interest. 

(f)(e)  The Board shall have jurisdiction over all physicians and 

physician assistants practicing under this Emergency Rule for all 

purposes set forth in or related to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the 

North Carolina General Statutes, and such this jurisdiction shall 

continue in effect even after such physician and physician 

assistant has stopped practicing medicine under this Emergency 

Rule or the Limited Emergency License has expired. 

(g)(f)  This license shall be in effect for the shorter of: 

(1) ninety days from the date it is issued; or 

(2) thirty days after a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the state of emergency 

emergency or disaster declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended ended. and, at such time, 

the license issued shall become inactive. 

(h)(g)  The physician assistant must practice under the direct 

supervision of an on-site physician and the supervising physician 

must be who is licensed in this State, State or approved to practice 

in this State during a disaster or state of emergency pursuant to 

G.S. 90-12.5, G.S. 90-12.5. or approved under this Rule; For the 

purposes of this Rule, "direct supervision" is defined as having 

immediate access, either in person or electronically, to a physician 

who is physically on the premises. 

(i)(h)  Physician assistants and physicians practicing pursuant to 

this Rule are not required to maintain documentation describing 

supervisory arrangements and instructions for prescriptive 

authority as otherwise required by 21 NCAC 32S .0213. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-12.5;  

Emergency Adoption Eff. March 20, 2020; 
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Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1708 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Oseltamivir; 

(6) Darunavir; and 

(7) Azithromycin. 

(b)  A physician or physician assistant shall prescribe a Restricted 

Drug only if that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the 

prescriber consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a fourteen-day 14-

day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A physician or physician assistant shall not prescribe a 

Restricted Drug for the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the 

contraction of COVID-19 by someone who has not yet been 

diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the physician or the physician's agent, and that 

information is recorded in writing in accordance with 21 NCAC 

46 .1819(e). by the pharmacy along with the identity of the 

physician or physician's agent transmitting the prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3), 90-12.5; 90-

5.1(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 6, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL OF NURSE 

PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0119 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Oseltamivir; 

(6) Darunavir; and 

(7) Azithromycin. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if 

that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber 

consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a fourteen-day 14-

day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for 

the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-

19 by someone who has not yet been diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the nurse practitioner or nurse practitioner's agent, 

and that information is recorded in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 

.1819(e). writing by the pharmacy along with the identity of the 

nurse practitioner or the nurse practitioner's agent transmitting the 

prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18.2; 90-12.5. 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 21, 2020. 2020;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Nursing 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 36 .0817 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The search 

for potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs. 

 

SECTION .0800 - APPROVAL AND PRACTICE 

PARAMETERS FOR NURSE PRACTITIONERS 
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21 NCAC 36 .0817 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Oseltamivir; 

(6) Darunavir; and 

(7) Azithromycin. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if 

that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber 

consistent with the evidence of its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than 14-day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for 

the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-

19 by someone who has not yet been diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the nurse practitioner, or the nurse practitioner's 

agent, and that information is recorded in writing in accordance 

with 21 NCAC 46 .1819(e). 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23; 90-5.1; 90-8.2; 

Emergency Adoption Eff April 21, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Pharmacy 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 46 .1819 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  COVID-19 is 

a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  

COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily 

from person to person.  Once an outbreak of COVID-19 begins, it 

is difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, the Center 

for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  The search for 

potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs.  On March 

24, 2020, the North Carolina Secretary of Health and Human 

Services and the State Health Director requested that the Medical 

Board and the Board of Pharmacy adopt the COVID-19 Drug 

Preservation Rule in order to alleviate shortages and ensure that 

these drugs are available to patients who need them.  They 

subsequently asked the Board of Nursing to adopt the same rule. 

 

SECTION .1800 - PRESCRIPTIONS 

 

21 NCAC 46 .1819 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Oseltamivir; 

(6) Darunavir; and 

(7) Azithromycin. 

(b)  A pharmacist shall fill or refill a prescription for a Restricted 

Drug only if that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the 

prescriber consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription order that the 

patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a fourteen (14) day 

14-day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription order 

is issued in conformance with this Rule, 

including not being refilled through an 

emergency prescription refill. 

(d)  A pharmacist shall not fill or refill a prescription for a 

Restricted Drug for the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the 

contraction of COVID-19 by someone who has not yet been 

diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the physician or the physician's agent, and that 

information is recorded in writing by the pharmacy, along with 

the identity of the physician or physician's agent transmitting the 

prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.26; 90-85.32; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 1, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Real Estate Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 58G .0104 and .0105 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Humans Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On May 4, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina signed S.L. 

2020-3, Section 4.38, that authorized state agencies to exercise 

regulatory flexibility during the Coronavirus emergency in order 

to protect the economic well-being of the citizens and businesses 

of the State. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 58G – NORTH CAROLINA REAL 

ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 58G .0104 LIMITED EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

(a)  Until June 30, 2020, schools and course sponsors may offer 

synchronous distance-learning for prelicensing and postlicensing 

courses. "Synchronous distance-learning" means the instructor 

and students are separated only by distance and not time, allowing 

for real-time monitoring of student participation. 

(b)  Schools shall allow students to make-up prelicensing and 

postlicensing course hours by attending another course of the 

same type offered by the same school. The make-up hours 

attended by the student shall be for the same content that the 

student missed. 

(c)  An applicant who is unable to take the licensing examination 

within 180 days pursuant to 21 NCAC 58A .0401 due to illness or 

the testing service locations being closed shall make a written 

request using the Commission's website. The Commission shall 

grant each applicant an extension of 90 days to take the licensing 

examination. 

(d)  A broker requiring an extension of time to complete the 12-

hour Broker-in-Charge Course pursuant to 21 NCAC 58A 

.0110(e) and .1712(b)(5) shall make a written request using the 

Commission's website prior to the licensee's original 120 day 

deadline. The Commission shall grant each broker an extension 

of 90 days to complete the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge Course. 

(e)  The Commission shall grant all brokers an extension of time 

of 90 days to complete postlicensing or continuing education 

courses. 

(f)  The Commission shall waive the prelicensing and 

postlicensing course examination requirements of 21 NCAC 58H 

.0207(a)(2), .0207(b)(2) and .0207(c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1(c); 93A-38.5; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. March 26, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff June 26, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58G .0105 LIMITED INSTRUCTOR 

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR PUBLIC HEALTH 

EMERGENCY 

Instructors shall not be required to comply with 21 NCAC 58H 

.0306(b)(4) prior to June 30, 2020, to renew instructor approval. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1(c); 93A-38.5; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. March 26, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 62 – BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

HEALTH SPECIALIST EXAMINERS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Environmental Health 

Specialist Examiners 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 62 .0407 and .0411 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  Due to the serious and unforeseen threat to 

the public health and safety caused by COVID-19, the State Board 

of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners adopted 

temporary rules simultaneously adopted as emergency rules.  The 

Board adopted emergency rules without prior notice or hearing 

or upon any abbreviated notice or hearing the agency found 

practical, because adherence to the notice and hearing 

requirements of this part would be contrary to the public interest, 

and the immediate adoption of the rules required by a serious and 

unforeseen threat to the public health, safety, or welfare.  On 

March 10, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina issued Executive 

Order No. 116, declaring a state of emergency to coordinate a 

response and enact protective measures to help prevent the 

spread of COVID-19. Additional Executive Orders prohibited 

mass gatherings and implemented a stay-at-home order for NC 

residents from March 20, 2020 until April 29, 2020, at the 

earliest.  COVID-19, a respiratory disease, spreads easily from 

person to person and can result in serious illness or death.  The 

Board seeks to contribute towards social isolation efforts directed 
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by the Federal and State Government and assist registrants who 

are unable to complete required training within the timelines 

outlined in 21 NCAC 62 .0407(e), 21 NCAC 62 .0407(k) and 21 

NCAC 62 .0411.  

 

SECTION .0400 - RULES OF OPERATION 

 

21 NCAC 62 .0407 RENEWAL 

(a)  Applications for renewal shall be filed with the Board on a 

form provided by the Board and available from the Board website 

at: www.rsboard.com or from the Division of Environmental 

Health, 1630 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1630. The 

renewal form may also be generated by the Registered Sanitarian 

Training and Authorization (RSTAS) computer system at: 

http://apps.bluelizard.com/RSTAS/. 

https://rstas.dhhs.state.nc.us/. 

(b)  The renewal application shall be completed and signed by the 

applicant. 

(c)  Renewal fees shall be paid in accordance with Rule 

.0405(a)(5) of this Section. The renewal application shall be 

posted on the Board's website at www.rsboard.com by October 1 

of each year. The individual shall download and submit the 

application for renewal to the Board. Individuals may also contact 

the Board at the Division of Environmental Health, 1630 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1630 for a copy. 

(d)  Registered environmental health specialists or registered 

environmental health specialists interns who fail to renew by 

December 31 shall be notified by the Board that their registration 

has expired and that they may not practice as a registered 

environmental health specialist or a registered environmental 

health specialists intern until they have met the requirements for 

renewal. 

(e)  Environmental health specialist interns and other persons 

applying for new registrations with the board shall take An an 

environmental health law course based on North Carolina laws 

and rules with at least 15 contact hours approved by the Board 

shall be completed within the first four years of the date of most 

recent registration by the Board. This timeframe shall be extended 

by one additional year for anyone whose fourth year occurs in 

2020. 

(f)  Registered environmental health specialists or and registered 

environmental health specialists interns shall complete a 

minimum of 15 instructional clock contact hours of continuing 

education acceptable to the Board each year, except the 15 hours 

shall not be required for the year ending December 31, 2020. 

Continuing education acceptable to the Board includes: 

(1) the specialized training course required in Rule 

.0411 of this Section; 

(2) District Environmental Health Section 

Educational meetings; 

(3) professional association courses and 

educational meetings; 

(4) seminars or courses offered by the North 

Carolina State of Practice Committee; 

(5) completion of a job related job-related course 

offered by a college or university accredited by 

the Council of Higher Education Accreditation 

with the hours credited for the year that the 

course is completed; 

(6) successful completion of a job related job-

related course offered by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention, the Food and 

Drug Administration, or the Environmental 

Protection Agency; 

(7) other practice-related training which: 

(A) is technical in nature, related to the 

environment, environmental health or 

improving the practice of 

environmental health; 

(B) is relevant to the actual job being 

performed by the participants or 

applicant; 

(C) includes a method for determining the 

number of hours spent; 

(D) includes a method of documentation 

for verification of completion; 

(E) is available to all registered 

environmental health specialists and 

environmental health specialist 

interns; and 

(F) has been granted approval by the 

Board based on the above standards; 

and 

(g)  Registrations that have expired may be renewed within 12 

months after expiration upon submittal of application and 

payment of the renewal fee. The applicant shall provide 

verification to the Board that continuing education clock hours 

were obtained during the year since the expiration to comply with 

the requirements of this Section. Registrations that have expired 

for more than 12 months may not be renewed. 

(h)  Interns that are no longer employed in the field of 

environmental health in North Carolina may not renew. 

(i)  A registered environmental health specialist or a registered 

environmental health specialist intern in good standing whose 

active military service has impaired their ability to obtain the 

continuing education requirements in Paragraph (f) of this Rule 

are exempt from the continuing education requirement if written 

orders from their military unit are provided to the Board. In 

addition, the renewal fee is waived for each calendar year the 

environmental health specialist is on active duty. 

(j)  A registered environmental health specialist or registered 

environmental health specialist intern who is disabled may 

request a variance in continuing education hours during the period 

of the disability. The Board may grant or deny requests for 

variance in continuing education hours based on a disabling 

condition on a case by case basis, taking into consideration the 

particular disabling condition involved and its effect on the 

registered environmental health specialist or registered 

environmental health specialist's specialist intern's ability to 

complete the required hours. In considering the request, the Board 

may require additional documentation substantiating any 

specified disability. 

(k)  A maximum of five clock contact hours of approved 

continuing education, that is in excess of the required 15 clock 

hours, may be applied toward the continuing education 

requirements for the following year. Up to five hours of approved 

continuing education completed in the year ending December 31, 
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2020 may be applied toward the continuing education 

requirements for the following year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-57; 90A-63; 90A-67; 93B-

15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 22, 1978; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; November 1, 1994; May 1, 1990; April 

1, 1989; February 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 28, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 62 .0411 SPECIALIZED TRAINING 

Every applicant for registration as a registered environmental 

health specialist intern shall complete the course entitled 

"Orientation and Initial Internship Training for Environmental 

Health Interns" offered by the Division of Environmental Health 

at the centralized training site within 12 18 months of registration 

as a registered environmental health specialist intern. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-50; 90A-51; 90A-53; 

90A-57; 

Eff. February 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; November 1, 1994; May 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 28, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 63 - SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND 

LICENSURE BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Social Work Certification and Licensure 

Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 63 .0810 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

Reason for Action:  In light of the State of National Emergency 

declared by President Trump as a result of the COVID-19 Virus, 

and the urgent need to have licensed clinical social workers 

available to provide clinical social work services to clients and 

associate licensees impacted by the COVID-19 Virus, the Board 

has determined to waive certain provisions in its rules, as set forth 

below, and during the effective period of this Temporary Rule. 

 

SECTION .0800 - DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 63 .0810 WAIVER 

In light of the State of National Emergency declared by President 

Trump as a result of the COVID-19 Virus, and the urgent need to 

have licensed clinical social workers available to provide clinical 

social work services to clients and associate licensees impacted 

by the COVID-19 Virus, the Board has determined to waive 

certain provisions in its rules, rules during a disaster declaration 

by the President of the United States or the Governor, a National 

Emergency declaration by the President of the United States, or a 

state of emergency declaration issued under G.S. 166A-19.3(19), 

as set forth in this below, and during the effective period of this 

Temporary Rule: 

(1) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0211(a)(4) 

that requires preapproval by the Board to 

engage in more than 20 hours of supervision 

provided through the use of technology. This 

waiver will allow for up to half of the required 

supervision hours to be provided through the 

use of technology. This expanded definition 

will only apply until the state of emergency is 

lifted. All supervision provided through the use 

of technology shall be synchronous, involve 

visual and audio interactions throughout the 

entire session, and shall take place in such a 

manner as to maintain the confidentiality of the 

communication; 

(2) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0301 that 

requires applicants for licensure to pass the 

qualifying examination within two years of the 

initial application. An applicant who is unable 

to take the licensing examination prior to the 

expiration of the associate license due to the 

testing service locations being closed shall 

make a written request to the Board. Board for 

an extension of time to take the licensing 

examination. The Board shall provide a limited 

extension of the licensee's associate license and 

grant each associate licensee an extension to 

take the licensing examination until not to 

surpass December 31, 2020. 

(3) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0401(c)(4) 

that allows for half of the required continuing 

education accepted as distance learning to and 

shall permit all hours for renewal to be accepted 

through distance learning that meet the 

requirements of 21 NCAC 63 .0401. .0401 and 

to include a A minimum of four contact hours 

of distance learning continuing education shall 

be focused on ethics related to social work 

practice and ethical decision making. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90B-6; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 8, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 64 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH 

AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND 

AUDIOLOGISTS 
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Rule-making Agency:  Board of Examiners for Speech and 

Language Pathologists and Audiologists 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 64 .0108, .0219, and .1101-.1105 

 

Effective Date:  June 26, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 18, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Humans Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Humans Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  Additionally, it is in the public's best interest 

to expand the pool of healthcare providers, especially in settings 

where there are high risk individuals (nursing homes, assisted 

living facilities, etc.) and allow audiology assistants to perform 

limited tasks that are generally performed by audiologists.  This 

rule alleviates access to health care concerns during the COVID-

19 outbreak and promotes the public safety of patients. 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 64 .0108 WAIVER 

(a)  The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee submits a written request. The 

Board may also waive any rule in 21 NCAC 64 that is not 

statutorily required upon its own initiative. Factors the Board shall 

use in determining whether to grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

(b)  The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required upon its own initiative during a disaster 

declaration by the President of the United States or the Governor, 

a national emergency declaration by the President of the United 

States, or a state of emergency declaration issued under G.S. 

166A-19.3(19), based on the factors set forth in Paragraph (a)(1), 

(2), (3), (5) and (6) of this Rule. If the Board wishes to waive a 

rule, it shall provide notice by posting a link on their website and 

sending out information to their interested persons mailing list. 

(c)  Any waiver granted by the Board in accordance with this Rule 

based upon a declared state of emergency shall include a date 

certain upon which the waiver will expire, not to exceed 12 

months from the date that the waiver is granted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-304; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0200 - INTERPRETATIVE RULES 

 

21 NCAC 64 .0219 TELEPRACTICE 

(a)  In light of the State of Emergency declared by Executive 

Order No. 116, issued March 10, 2020, the Board shall 

temporarily waive the requirement for licensure for telepractice in 

order to allow speech and language pathologists to delegate 

authorized tasks allowed pursuant to 21 NCAC 64 .0114 by 

telepractice to speech and language pathology-assistants under the 

same level of direct supervision as required by 21 NCAC 64 

.1003(e)(1),(2) and (6). This temporary waiver of licensure shall 

apply only to speech and language pathology-assistants and shall 

continue for the duration of the declared emergency as set forth in 

Executive Order No. 116 issued March 10, 2020. 

(a)(b)  For purposes of this Rule the following words shall have 

the following meanings: 

(1) "Patient site" means the patient's physical 

location at the time of the receipt of the 

telepractice services. 

(2) "Provider" means a licensed speech and 

language pathologist or audiologist who 

provides telepractice services. 

(3) "Provider site" means the licensee's physical 

location at the time of the provision of the 

telepractice services. 

(4) "Telepractice" means the use of 

telecommunications and information 

technologies for the exchange of encrypted 

patient data, obtained through real-time 

interaction, from patient site to provider site for 

the provision of speech and language pathology 

and audiology services to patients through 

hardwire or internet connection. Telepractice 

also includes the interpretation of patient 

information provided to the licensee via store 

and forward techniques. 

(b)(c)  Telepractice shall be obtained in real time and in a manner 

sufficient to shall ensure patient confidentiality. 

(c)(d)  Telepractice is subject to the same standard of practice 

stated in Rules .0205 and .0216 of this Chapter as if the person 

being treated were physically present with the licensee. 

Telepractice is the responsibility of the licensee. licensee and shall 

not be delegated. 

(d)(e)  Telepractice constitutes the practice of Speech and 

Language Pathology and Audiology in both the patient site and 

provider site. Providers must hold a license in the state of the 
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provider site and shall be in compliance with the statutory and 

regulatory requirements of the patient site. 

(e)(f)  Licensees and staff involved in telepractice must be trained 

in the use of telepractice equipment. 

(f)(g)  Notification of telepractice services shall be provided to the 

patient and guardian if the patient is a minor. The notification shall 

include the right to refuse telepractice services and options for 

alternate service delivery. 

(g)(h)  Telepractice constitutes the practice of Speech and 

Language Pathology and Audiology in both the patient site and 

provider site. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-304(a)(3) 

Eff. July 1, 2020 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 2016; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. March 27, 2020. 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

SECTION .1100 - REQUIREMENTS FOR THE USE OF 

AUDIOLOGY ASSISTANTS IN DIRECT SERVICE 

DELIVERY 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1101 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  "Board" means the North Carolina Board of Examiners for 

Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists. 

(b)  "Licensee" means an individual who holds a current 

permanent license in audiology from the North Carolina Board of 

Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and 

Audiologists. 

(1) "Primary Supervising Licensee" means the 

Licensee who supervises the majority of the 

Assistant's work, who is responsible for the 

Assistant's registration with the Board, and who 

bears the responsibility for all supervision 

requirements and notification responsibility to 

the Board of any changes in registration 

information set forth in the rules of this Section. 

(2) "Secondary Supervising Licensee" means a 

Licensee who may supervise supervises the 

Assistant in the absence of the Primary 

Supervising Licensee to cover variations in 

work hours. 

(c)  "Assistant" means an Audiology Assistant who is registered 

by a Primary Supervising Licensee with the Board. 

(d)  "Registration" means the process through which an Assistant 

is approved by the Board to work with a Licensee to provide 

services to the public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1102 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  For registration, Assistants must present: 

(1) Evidence of high school diploma or equivalent; 

and 

(2) A letter certification of the Assistant's 

competency Evidence of training provided by a 

supervising audiologist that attests to one of the 

following: or education including specific 

instruction and demonstration of each task the 

assistant is to perform. 

(A) the supervising audiologist has trained 

the Assistant in tasks allowed in Rule 

.1104 of this Section; 

(B) the Assistant has provided the 

supervising audiologist with evidence 

that he or she has completed training 

in the tasks allowed in Rule .1104 of 

this Section; or 

(C) the supervising audiologist has 

assessed and is satisfied with the 

competency of the Assistant to 

perform the tasks allowed in Rule 

.1104 of this Section. 

(b)  Authority to approve the curriculum or the equivalent courses 

for audiology assistants is vested in the Board of Examiners. 

(c)(b)  Assistants who conduct pure tone audiometry under 

general supervision by the licensee must have completed a board 

approved certificate program such as Certified Occupational 

Hearing Conservationists (COHC) or a program with equivalent 

certification requirements. 

(d)(c)  A Licensee who is employed full-time (30 hours/week or 

more) may register to be primary supervisor of no more than two 

Assistants at any one time. A Licensee who is employed part-time 

(less than 30 hours/week) may register to supervise no more than 

one Assistant at any one time. The Primary Supervising Licensee 

shall be responsible for assuring ensure that the Assistant 

complies compliance with this Section, the registration process, 

these rules, and with ethical standards. standards set forth in the 

Board's Practice Act and rules. Secondary Supervising Licensees 

in the same practice may also supervise the Assistant, allowing 

for flexibility in scheduling. provided that such supervision is 

conducted in accordance with the rules set forth in this Section. 

(e)(d)  The Primary Supervising Licensee must keep the Board 

appraised of any changes in registration information as follows: 

information. 

(1) Changes of supervising licensee(s) will shall 

require prior written approval of the Board and 

should be requested the Primary Supervising 

Licensee must submit the request in writing at 

least 10 days prior to the effective date. 

(2) The Primary Supervising Licensee must submit 

changes Changes that do not directly relate to 

patient care, such as change of address, must be 

reported to the Board in writing within 10 

business days of the effective change. Such 

changes do not require pre-approval from the 

Board. 

(f)(e)  The Primary Supervising Licensee shall remit to the Board 

an annual registration fee for the Assistant in an amount of forty 

dollars ($40.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 2020; 
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Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1103 LICENSEE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Licensees who register an Assistant must have held a current, 

permanent license in North Carolina for two years or equivalent 

qualifications from another state. Licensees who register an 

Assistant shall be licensed in North Carolina, or hold equivalent 

qualifications from another state, for the previous two years prior 

to registering an Assistant with the Board. Temporary license 

holders shall not register Assistants. 

(b)  Licensees who register an Assistant shall attest to the 

Assistant's must demonstrate understanding and review of the 

basic elements of the registration and supervision process (scope 

of practice, ethics, written protocols, record keeping), keeping) set 

forth in the rules of this Section. and should satisfactorily 

complete a demonstration of knowledge and skills of tasks on the 

registration/supervision process. 

(c)  Licensees must submit the application and annual fee for 

registration of the Assistant to the Board. 

(d)  Licensees must assure that patients are informed shall inform 

all patients when services are being provided by an Assistant and 

the Assistant must wear a badge that includes the job title: 

"Audiology Assistant." 

(e)  Tasks and duties that are within the scope of responsibilities 

for an Assistant are listed in Rules .1104 and .1105 of this Section. 

The standards for all patient services provided by the Assistant are 

the full responsibility of the Supervising Licensee and cannot be 

delegated. The Supervising Licensee shall be responsible for all 

patient services performed by the Assistant. Therefore, the 

assignment of tasks and the amount and type of supervision must 

be determined by the Supervising Licensee to ensure quality of 

care considering: the skills of the Assistant, needs of the patient, 

the service-setting, the tasks assigned, and any other relevant 

factors. The Supervising Licensee shall determine the assignment 

of tasks and the amount and type of supervision to ensure quality 

of care considering relevant factors such as the skills of the 

Assistant, the needs of the patient, and the service setting. Before 

assigning treatment tasks to an Assistant, the Licensee must have 

first evaluated shall evaluate the patient files and developed 

develop a plan for the care and/or follow an established protocol. 

(f)  For every patient encounter (screening or treatment) in which 

an Assistant provides service, there must be documentation of the 

Assistant's services provided in the patient's medical record and 

co-signed by a Supervising Licensee 100% of the time. Any time 

an Assistant provides services during a patient encounter 

(screening or treatment), the Supervising Licensee or Assistant 

shall document the Assistant's services in the patient's medical 

record. If the Assistant documents the services, the Supervising 

Licensee shall sign co-sign the medical record. The Supervising 

Licensee has full responsibility shall be responsible for the 

accuracy and compliance of the documentation. These signed and 

dated patient encounter records must be retained as part of the 

patient's file for the time period specified in Rule .0209 of this 

Chapter and may be requested by the Board. 

(g)  The Board may do random audits of records to determine 

compliance with the rules in this Chapter. its rules. 

(h)  When patient services are being rendered by an Assistant, the 

Supervising Licensee must be available to observe and supervise 

the Assistant, when necessary. accessible to the Assistant in order 

to assure that direct observation and supervision can occur when 

necessary. 

(i)  The Primary Supervising Licensee shall assess the Assistant's 

competencies during the initial 60 days of employment using a 

performance-based competency assessment. The completed 

assessment shall be submitted to the Board within 90 days of 

registration. A new competency assessment must be completed 

and filed within 90 days each time the Primary Supervising 

Licensee changes. 

(j)  Any attempt to engage in those activities and responsibilities 

reserved solely for the Supervising Licensee Assistants shall only 

engage in those activities related to the practice of Audiology as 

set forth in Rules .1104 and .1105 of this Section. An Assistant's 

activities related to the practice of Audiology not set forth therein 

shall be regarded as the unlicensed practice of Audiology. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3) 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020; 2020. 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1104 AUTHORIZED TASKS OF 

AUDIOLOGY ASSISTANTS 

(a)  Direct Patient Services: An audiology assistant may engage 

in the following direct patient services: 

(1) Obtaining partial or selected case history 

information from patients and and/or families; 

families. 

(2) Administering audiologic screening protocols, 

as directed by the supervising audiologist. 

These screening procedures, including tests and 

checklists or parts of tests and checklists, will 

shall have the purpose of determining the need 

for further diagnostic (diagnostic) testing by the 

supervising audiologist and must meet the 

following criteria: 

(A) Have have unambiguous 

administration protocols and methods; 

methods. 

(B) Consist consist of test items that which 

require no more than a binary 

judgment (i.e., yes-no, present-

absent); present-absent). 

(C) Require require no more than a 

specifically-elicited single response; 

and response. 

(D) Require require no clinical 

interpretation by the assistant; 

assistant. 

(3) Preparing or positioning patients for evaluation 

or treatment following specific guidelines of the 

supervising audiologist and of the facility; 

facility. 

(4) Direct patient services for evaluation are not 

within the approved scope of responsibilities 

for assistants who are not Certified 

Occupational Hearing Conservationists 

(COHC). Audiology assistants who are not 

COHC may assist in the evaluation of both 

pediatric and adult patients, but only under the 
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direct supervision of the supervising 

audiologist who is present in the room and 

attending to the assistant's activities 100 percent 

of the time. Audiology Assistants who are 

COHC may conduct unmasked pure-tone 

audiometry under general supervision by the 

licensee for adult patients. Direct patient 

services to children under the age of 21 years 

old are not within the approved scope of 

activities for assistants unless under the direct 

supervision of the supervising audiologist who 

is physically present in the room and attending 

to 100 percent of the assistant's activities; 

activities. 

(5) Basic hearing device repair and trouble 

shooting; shooting. 

(6) Assistance with procedures related to the fitting 

and dispensing of hearing devices; devices. 

(7) Instructing patients in care and use of devices 

dispensed by the supervising audiologist; and 

audiologist. 

(8) Providing services previously mentioned 

through telehealth to extend access to clinical 

care. 

(b)  Indirect Patient Services: An audiology assistant may engage 

in the following indirect patient services: 

(1) Respecting the rights and dignity of all 

individuals. 

(1)(2) Reporting any workplace conduct that which 

appears to be unethical in violation of Section 

.0300 of this Chapter or illegal to the 

supervising audiologist or to the Board of 

Examiners; Examiners. 

(2)(3) Requesting assistance from the supervising 

audiologist, as needed, in order to ensure 

continuous service quality; quality. 

(3)(4) Observing universal precautions and safety 

procedures; procedures. 

(4)(5) Releasing patients only to the care of 

appropriate care-givers of record; and care-

givers. 

(5)(6) Participating in research activities as approved 

by an the institution's Institutional Review 

Board and oversight committees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1105 SUPERVISION AND 

CONTINUING COMPETENCE REQUIREMENTS 

Following registration by a supervising audiologist, a registered 

assistant shall: 

(1) Discussing discuss job expectations with the 

supervising audiologist(s) in order to have a and 

having mutual understanding of job scope and 

specific responsibilities. responsibilities; 

(1)(2) Participating participate in a specified amount 

of supervised training according to a written 

plan for all tests and clinical equipment which 

that will be used for assessment and treatment. 

treatment of the patient; 

(2)(3) Receiving receive regular, formal employment 

evaluations on a scheduled basis from the 

supervising audiologist(s) to assess one's the 

assistant's performance, strengths, and 

weaknesses of the assistant and to establish 

development goals for continuous performance 

improvement. improvement; 

(3)(4) requesting request assistance, additional 

instruction, and/or and additional supervision 

from the supervising audiologist, when needed. 

needed; 

(4)(5) participating participate in various types of 

educational activities in order to enhance skill 

and knowledge, as assigned by the supervising 

audiologist. audiologist; and 

(5)(6) Reading read information assigned by the 

audiologist. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission June 18, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
Karlene Turrentine   984-236-1948 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

       July 16, 2020 August 20, 2020 
 September 17, 2020         October 15, 2020 

 

 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

June 18, 2020 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, June 18, 2020 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting to ensure compliance 
with Executive Order 121, other orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting 
was conducted in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.   
 
Commissioners Jeff Hyde and Tommy Tucker were present in the Commission Room, and Commissioners present 
via teleconference were Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi,  Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth 
Dunklin, Brian LiVecchi, and Paul Powell.  
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel Ashley Snyder and Amanda Reeder; and Alex Burgos. Commission 
Counsel Amber Cronk May and Karlene Turrentine were present via WebEx. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Hyde presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty 
to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Hyde asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the May 21, 2020 
meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None.   
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The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following item on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end 
of the agenda: Temporary rules for: DHHS-Division of Health Benefits, Code Officials Qualification Board, and Medical 
Board - 21 NCAC 32M .0119. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
 
Pesticide Board 
The agency is addressing the technical changes for 02 NCAC 09L .0101, .0102, .0103, .0308, .0310, .0317,.0318, 
.0402 , .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0509, .0515, .0516, .0519, .0520, .0522, .0523, .0524, .0525, .0526, .0527, .0529, 
.0602, .0603, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0705, .0707, .0810, .1001, .1002, .1003, .1005, .1006, .1009, .1102, .1103, .1104, 
.1105, .1107, .1108, .1109, .1111, .1201, .1202, .1302, .1303, .1305, .1306, .1401, .1402, .1404, .1805, .1806, .1901, 
.1902, .1905, .1906, .1907, .1908, .1909,.1914, .2001, .2002, .2003, .2004, .2201, .2202, and .2203. No action was 
required by the Commission.  
 
The agency is addressing the objection for 02 NCAC 09L .1913. No action was required by the Commission.  
 
Executive Director of the Board of Elections/Temporary Rule  
08 NCAC 01 .0106 – The agency responded to the objection in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-21.1(b2) 
on June 11, 2020 and stated that the agency will not be submitting a new statement or additional findings regarding 
this Rule.  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(b2), the rule was returned to the agency.  No further action will be taken by the 
Rules Review Commission on this Temporary Rule. 
 
Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required 
by the Commission. 
 
Department of Insurance 
11 NCAC 12 .0321, and .0514 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 
as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. 
Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Auctioneer Licensing Board 
21 NCAC 04B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, 
.0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, .0701, .0801, .0802, .0803, 
.0804, .0805, .0806, .0807, .0808, .0809, .0810, .0811, .0812, .0813, .0814, .0815, .0816, .0817, .0818, and .0819 - 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors  
21 NCAC 56 .0303, .0304, .0501, .0503, .0601, .0603, .0804, .0902, .1301, .1302, .1403, .1603, .1604, and, .1607 - 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Real Estate Commission 
21 NCAC 58H .0401 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule wase approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Real Estate Commission, Commissioner Dunklin recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because he practices before the NC Real Estate Commission 
and has been involved in discussions regarding these Rules. 
 
Building Code Council  
Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202; and Energy Conservation Code R406.2. – 
The agency is addressing the objections.  No action was required by the Commission.  
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LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
 
Department of Administration 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Pesticide Board  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Medical Care Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Department of Health and Human Services 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Commission for Public Health  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
State Registrar 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Crime Victims Compensation Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended for the following rules to by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 
0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
The Commission extended the period of review for 14B NCAC 09 .0301, .0302, and .0305 in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.10. They did so in response to a request from the Crime Victims Compensation Commission to extend the 
period in order to allow the agency to address the requested technical changes and submit the revised rules at a later 
meeting. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 14B NCAC 09 .0303 and .0304 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 
0 as follows:  
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Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
The Commission objected to 14B NCAC 09 .0303 for lack of statutory authority, clarity, and necessity.  The agency 
did not provide authority for Paragraph (b), which allows the Director to “poll the members of the Commission regarding 
any matter requiring the Commission’s attention.”  (emphasis added).  G.S. 15B-3(e) states “a majority of the 
Commission constitutes a quorum to transact business.”  Further, North Carolina’s Open Meetings Laws provide “. . . 
each official meeting of a public body shall be open to the public, and any person is entitled to attend such a meeting.”  
G.S. 143-318.10(a).  As a result, the agency lacks statutory authority to make decisions regarding “any matter” without 
a quorum present at an open meeting.   
 
Paragraph (b) allows the Director to poll Commission members “at such times as it is not practicable for the members 
to meet as a body.”  The rule does not clarify under what circumstances it is considered “not practicable” for the 
Commission to meet.  Paragraph (b) is therefore ambiguous as written. 
 
Paragraphs (a) and (d) govern conduct of Commission members at meetings.  These statements concern only the 
internal management of the agency and do not meet the definition of a “Rule.” G.S. 150B-2(8a)(a).  Therefore, 
Paragraphs (a) and (d) are unnecessary.  The first sentence of Paragraph (c) refers to public notice requirements 
established in statute for Commission meetings and is also unnecessary.   
 
The Commission objected to 14B NCAC 09 .0304 for lack of statutory authority and necessity.  Paragraphs (b) and 
(c) follow a process that allowed agencies to issue a “final decision” after a “recommended decision” from the Office 
of Administrative Hearings in contested cases.  This process of appealing agency decisions was changed in 2012 by 
S.L. 2012-187. The Administrative Procedure Act no longer allows the Crime Victims Compensation Commission to 
review decisions from Administrative Law Judges.    Additionally, the Commission objected for lack of necessity 
because G.S. 15B-10(d) and G.S. 150B, Article 3 provide the process for commencing a contested case. 
 
Will Polk, with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Private Protective Services Board  
Upon the call of the Chair, all rules except 14B NCAC 16 .1001, .1002, .1003, .1207, .1304, and .1404 were approved 
by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 

 
The Commission objected to 14B NCAC 16 .1001, .1002, and .1003 for lack of statutory authority.  Specifically, these 
three Rules comprise the entirety of 14B NCAC 16 .1000, the Section named Recovery Fund.”  These Rules address 
the process for an individual to apply to the Board for recovery of funds when he or she believes a member of the 
regulated public harmed them. All three Rules cite to G.S. 74C-31 as sole authority for the rules.  G.S. 74C-31 was 
repealed by Session Law 2009-328.  That Session Law further eliminated the Recovery Fund that was previously 
addressed in G.S. 74C, Article 2 and created an Education Fund. The roles of those funds do not appear to be similar.  
The Commission found that the Board does not have any statutory authority to regulate this now defunct fund. 
 
The Commission objected to 14B NCAC 16 .1207 for lack of necessity.  The Commission found that this Rule simply 
repeated the requirements of Rule 14B NCAC 16 .1205(b) and was therefore unnecessary. 
 
The Commission objected to 14B NCAC 16 .1304 and .1404 for lack of statutory authority and ambiguity.  Specifically, 
the Commission found that the use of the term “administrator” throughout the Rules was ambiguous, as changes to 
G.S. 74C through Session Law 2001-487 established a new position of “Director” and it does not appear that the 
administrator position exists anymore.  
 
In addition, Paragraph (a) of each Rule states that there shall be “such further investigation of the applicant as deemed 
necessary.”  The rules do not say who will deem the investigation necessary, nor how the necessity will be determined.  
The Commission found that this language was ambiguous.  
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In Paragraph (b), the rules state that any denial of the registration by the administrator will be subject to review of the 
Board.  However, G.S. 74C-12 states that any denial of an application will be made by the Board.  The agency did not 
cite to any authority for the administrator to issue a denial such that it is reviewable by the Board, nor any authority of 
the Board to delegate this decision.  Therefore, the Commission found that the agency lacks statutory authority for 
this Paragraph in each rule.  
 
Coastal Resources Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None.  Commissioner LiVecchi was not present for the vote or discussion on these Rules. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Board of Barber Examiners  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Barber Examiners, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal services to the Board. 
 
Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
State Human Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Medical Care Commission 
10A NCAC 13O .0301 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
DHHS-Division of Health Benefits 
10A NCAC 21A .0304 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
The rule was approved contingent upon a technical change to Item (2) of the rule to replace the phrase “technology 
medium” with “telephone or electronic means.” The Commission voted to require the rewritten rule by 5 p.m. on 
Monday, June 22, 2020.  That technical change was subsequently received before the deadline.   
 
Shazia Keller, with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
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Matthew Jordan Cochran, with Ott, Cone & Redpath, PA, addressed the Commission.  
 
Code Officials Qualification Board 
11 NCAC 08 .0735 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Thomas Felling, with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Secretary of State  
18 NCAC 06A .2120 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
North Carolina Interpreter & Transliterator Licensing Board 
21 NCAC 25 .0501 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Landscape Contractors’ Licensing Board 
21 NCAC 28B .0406 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes, 8. noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Landscape Contractors’ Licensing Board, Commissioner Choi recused herself 
and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal services to 
the Board. 
 
Medical Board  
21 NCAC 32B .1707 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Medical Board 
21 NCAC 32B .1708 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Medical Board 
21 NCAC 32M .0119 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Midwifery Joint Committee  
21 NCAC 33 .0113 – The rule was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Nursing 
21 NCAC 36 .0817 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Board of Nursing, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides legal services to the Board. 
 
Board Pharmacy  
21 NCAC 46 .1819 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
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Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Real Estate Commission  
21 NCAC 58G .0104 and .0105 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 
as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Real Estate Commission, Commissioner Dunklin recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because he practices before the NC Real Estate Commission 
and have been involved in discussions regarding these Rules. 
 
Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners 
21 NCAC 62 .0407 and .0411 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 
as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Social Work Certification and Licensure Board  
21 NCAC 63 .0810 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from Social Work Certification and Licensure Board, Commissioner Choi recused herself 
and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides legal services to 
the Board. 
 
State Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists  
21 NCAC 64 .0108, .0219, .1101, .1102, .1103, .1104, and .1105 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved 
by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from State Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 
Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because 
her law firm provides legal services to the Board. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The meeting adjourned at 10:43 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeff Hyde, Chair 
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   Rules Review Commission Meeting June 18, 2020 
      Held Via WebEx 
 
Name      Agency 
Ann Wall     Secretary of State 
Loretta Peace-Bunch    Insurance 
Thomas Felling     Code Officials  
Donna Coffey     Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners 
Shazia A. Keller     Division of Health Benefits 
Marcus Jimison     Medical Board 
Denise Mazza     Office of State Human Resources 
Gina Cammarano    Industrial Commission 
Melissa A. Vuotto    Real Estate Commission 
Will Polk      Crime Victims Compensation Commission 
Jennifer Everett     DEQ 
Matthew Cochran    Ott Cone & Redpath, P.A.  
John F. Maddrey    DOA 
Christina L. Waggett    Pesticide Board 
Nadine Pfeiffer     Medical Care Commission  
Virginia Niehaus    CPH 
Charminique Williams    CJETS 
Diane Konopka     SHETS 
Charles McDarris      Private Protective Services Board 
Carrie Ruhlman     Wildlife 
Dennis Seavers     Barber Examiners 
Charles Wilkins     Massage and Bodywork 
Caitlin Schwab     Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing 
Calvin Kirven     Landscape Contractors' 
Angela H. Ellis     Midwifery Joint Committee/Nursing 
Clinton R. Pinyan    Pharmacy Board 
Elizabeth Pope     Social Work 
Nahale Kalfas     Speech and Language Pathologists 
Allan Russ      Secretary of State 
Jim Burnette      Pesticide Board 
Pat Jones     Pesticide Board 
Jessica Montie     DEQ 
John Hoomani     Insurance 
Christine Ryan     OSHR 
Carl Dean     OSHR 
Lynne Taylor     Medical Board 
Amy Fitzhugh     Midwifery/Nursing 
John Barkley     Environmental Health Specialist Examiners 
John Green     Attorney General 
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LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

June 18, 2020 Meeting 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Nurse Aide I Training and Competency Evaluation 10A NCAC 13O .0301 

 
HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF 

Conducting in County Appeal Hearings by Telephone or Elec... 10A NCAC 21A .0304 

 
CODE OFFICIALS QUALIFICATION BOARD 

Temporary Certificate 11 NCAC 08 .0735 

 
SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE 

Sunset Provision 18 NCAC 06A .2120 

 
INTERPRETER AND TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD 

Continuing Education Requirements 21 NCAC 25 .0501 

 
LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

Emergency Extensions of Continuing Education Requirements... 21 NCAC 28B .0406 

 
MEDICAL BOARD 

Limited License for Disasters and Emergencies for Physici... 21 NCAC 32B .1707 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32B .1708 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32M .0119 

 
NURSING, BOARD OF 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 36 .0817 

 
PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 46 .1819 

 
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Limited Education Requirements for Public Health Emergency 21 NCAC 58G .0104 

Limited Instructor Education Requirements for Public Heal... 21 NCAC 58G .0105 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SPECIALIST EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Renewal 21 NCAC 62 .0407 

Specialized Training 21 NCAC 62 .0411 

 
SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE BOARD 

Waiver 21 NCAC 63 .0810 

 
SPEECH AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

Waiver 21 NCAC 64 .0108 

Telepractice 21 NCAC 64 .0219 

Definitions 21 NCAC 64 .1101 

General Requirements 21 NCAC 64 .1102 

Licensee Requirements 21 NCAC 64 .1103 
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Authorized Tasks of Audiology Assistants 21 NCAC 64 .1104 

Supervision and Continuing Competence Requirements 21 NCAC 64 .1105 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

June 18, 2020 Meeting 

 
ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Negotiation 01 NCAC 05B .0503 

 
PESTICIDE BOARD 

Red-Winged Blackbird 02 NCAC 09L .0706 

 
MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Governing Body 10A NCAC 13B .3501 

Required Facility Bylaws, Policies, Rules, and Regulations 10A NCAC 13B .3502 

Functions 10A NCAC 13B .3503 

General Provisions 10A NCAC 13B .3701 

Establishment 10A NCAC 13B .3702 

Appointment 10A NCAC 13B .3703 

Establishment and Categories of Medical Staff Membership 10A NCAC 13B .3704 

Medical Staff Bylaws, Rules, and Regulations 10A NCAC 13B .3705 

Organization and Responsibilities of the Medical Staff 10A NCAC 13B .3706 

Medical Orders 10A NCAC 13B .3707 

Medical Staff Responsibilities for Quality Improvement Re... 10A NCAC 13B .3708 

 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Payment Due 10A NCAC 15 .1102 

Radioactive Materials and Accelerator Fee Amounts 10A NCAC 15 .1106 

 
PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Reportable Diseases and Conditions 10A NCAC 41A .0101 

 
STATE REGISTRAR 

Registration of Graves Removed 10A NCAC 41H .1201 

 
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Rate Filing: HMO 11 NCAC 12 .0321 

Coordination: Group A/H Contract Benefits: Group Coverages 11 NCAC 12 .0514 

 
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 12 NCAC 09A .0205 

Responsibilities of the School Director 12 NCAC 09B .0202 

Admission of Trainees 12 NCAC 09B .0203 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0303 

Instructors: Annual In-Service Training 12 NCAC 09E .0104 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 12 NCAC 09E .0105 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0309 

Minimum Training Specifications 12 NCAC 09H .0102 
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SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Certification of a Former Sheriff 12 NCAC 10B .0407 

 
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Determination of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .0905 

Pre-Delivery Report for Firearms Training Courses 14B NCAC 16 .0907 

Post-Delivery Report for Firearms Training Courses 14B NCAC 16 .0908 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1101 

Training and Supervision Required in Level One 14B NCAC 16 .1102 

Training and Supervision Required in Level Two 14B NCAC 16 .1103 

Training and Supervision Required in Level Three 14B NCAC 16 .1104 

Educational Degrees and Non-Degreed Training 14B NCAC 16 .1105 

Consideration of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .1106 

Enforcement 14B NCAC 16 .1107 

Transferability of Training Hours 14B NCAC 16 .1108 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1201 

Required Continuing Education Hours 14B NCAC 16 .1202 

Accreditation Standards 14B NCAC 16 .1203 

Non-Resident Licensee Continuing Education Credits 14B NCAC 16 .1204 

Recording and Reporting Continuing Education Credits 14B NCAC 16 .1205 

Non-Compliance 14B NCAC 16 .1206 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard R... 14B NCAC 16 .1303 

Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration Identifica... 14B NCAC 16 .1305 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Car Service Guards 14B NCAC 16 .1307 

Uniforms and Equipment 14B NCAC 16 .1308 

Minimum Stds/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Regi... 14B NCAC 16 .1403 

Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Registration Perm... 14B NCAC 16 .1405 

Training Requirements for Armed Armored Car Service Guards 14B NCAC 16 .1407 

Uniforms and Equipment 14B NCAC 16 .1408 

 
COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Application of Erosion Rate Setback Factors 15A NCAC 07H .0104 

Effective Date of Rule Amendments 15A NCAC 07H .0105 

General Definitions 15A NCAC 07H .0106 

Estuarine and Ocean System Categories 15A NCAC 07H .0201 

Management Objective of the Estuarine and Ocean Systems 15A NCAC 07H .0203 

Coastal Wetlands 15A NCAC 07H .0205 

Estuarine Waters 15A NCAC 07H .0206 

Public Trust Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0207 

Use Standards 15A NCAC 07H .0208 

Coastal Shorelines 15A NCAC 07H .0209 

 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

License Fees 15A NCAC 10A .1601 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

General 15A NCAC 13A .0101 
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Standards for the Management of Specific Hazardous Wastes... 15A NCAC 13A .0111 

Financial Assurance Requirements for C&DLF Facilities and... 15A NCAC 13B .0546 

Permit Required 15A NCAC 13B .1105 

nancial Responsibility Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1111 

Financial Assurance Requirements for MSWLF Facilities and... 15A NCAC 13B .1628 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1801 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Closure 15A NCAC 13B .1802 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Post-C... 15A NCAC 13B .1803 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Correc... 15A NCAC 13B .1804 

Allowable Mechanisms for Financial Assurance 15A NCAC 13B .1805 

Language of Mechanisms for Financial Assurance 15A NCAC 13B .1806 

Definitions 15A NCAC 13C .0301 

General Provisions 15A NCAC 13C .0302 

Approval of Registered Environmental Consultants 15A NCAC 13C .0303 

Minimum Qualifications for Registered Environmental Consu... 15A NCAC 13C .0304 

Standards of Conduct for Registered Environmental Consult... 15A NCAC 13C .0305 

Technical Standards for Registered Environmental Consultants 15A NCAC 13C .0306 

Departmental Audits and Inspections 15A NCAC 13C .0307 

Cleanup Levels 15A NCAC 13C .0308 

 
AUCTIONEER LICENSING BOARD 

Purpose 21 NCAC 04B .0101 

Board Office 21 NCAC 04B .0102 

Definitions 21 NCAC 04B .0103 

Administrative Law Procedures 21 NCAC 04B .0104 

Application Forms 21 NCAC 04B .0201 

Filing and Fees 21 NCAC 04B .0202 

Extensions for Members of the Armed Forces 21 NCAC 04B .0203 

Subject Matter 21 NCAC 04B .0301 

Re-Examination/Refund of Fees 21 NCAC 04B .0302 

Exam: Review: Papers and Content 21 NCAC 04B .0303 

License Number: Display of License and Pocket Card 21 NCAC 04B .0401 

License Renewal 21 NCAC 04B .0402 

Apprentice Auctioneer License 21 NCAC 04B .0403 

Grounds for License Denial or Discipline 21 NCAC 04B .0404 

Involvement in Court Action or Administrative Hearing 21 NCAC 04B .0405 

Application for Course Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0501 

Requirements for Approval/Minimum Standards 21 NCAC 04B .0502 

Certification of Course Completion 21 NCAC 04B .0503 

Records Must Be Maintained 21 NCAC 04B .0504 

Grounds for Approval, Suspension, or Revocation 21 NCAC 04B .0505 

Allowing Unlicensed Bid Callers: Exception 21 NCAC 04B .0506 

Change of Address or Business Name or Ownership 21 NCAC 04B .0601 

Advertising 21 NCAC 04B .0602 

Sale Proceeds, Accounting and Escrow Accounts 21 NCAC 04B .0603 

Contracts, Consignment Records, Sales Records, and Bidder... 21 NCAC 04B .0604 

Bidding 21 NCAC 04B .0605 

Auction Firms 21 NCAC 04B .0606 
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Sole Proprietor Auction Businesses 21 NCAC 04B .0607 

Applications 21 NCAC 04B .0701 

Continuing Education Course 21 NCAC 04B .0801 

Application for Original Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0802 

Student Fee for Courses 21 NCAC 04B .0803 

Approval of Continuing Education Instructors 21 NCAC 04B .0804 

Sponsor Requirements 21 NCAC 04B .0805 

Course Completion Reporting 21 NCAC 04B .0806 

Change in Ownership and Other Information 21 NCAC 04B .0807 

Course Records 21 NCAC 04B .0808 

Renewal of Course and Sponsor Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0809 

Denial or Withdrawal of Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0810 

Minimum Class Size 21 NCAC 04B .0811 

Scheduling and Notice of Scheduled Courses 21 NCAC 04B .0812 

Advertising; Providing Course Information 21 NCAC 04B .0813 

Conduct of Classes 21 NCAC 04B .0814 

Instructor Conduct and Performance 21 NCAC 04B .0815 

Monitoring Attendance 21 NCAC 04B .0816 

Student Participation Standards 21 NCAC 04B .0817 

Additional Sponsor Requirements 21 NCAC 04B .0818 

Alternative Compliance 21 NCAC 04B .0819 

 
BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Predetermination for Individuals with Criminal Records 21 NCAC 06C .0913 

Failure to Notify Board of Change of Barber Shop or Schoo... 21 NCAC 06O .0122 

General Examination Instructions 21 NCAC 06S .0101 

 
MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF 

Fees 21 NCAC 30 .1014 

 
ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

Disbursement of Funds 21 NCAC 56 .0303 

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 21 NCAC 56 .0304 

Requirements for Licensing 21 NCAC 56 .0501 

Examinations 21 NCAC 56 .0503 

Requirements for Licensing 21 NCAC 56 .0601 

Examinations 21 NCAC 56 .0603 

Annual Renewal and 30-Day Reporting of Violations and Cha... 21 NCAC 56 .0804 

Business Titles 21 NCAC 56 .0902 

Improper Practice by a Licensee 21 NCAC 56 .1301 

Unlawful Practice by and Unlicensed Person 21 NCAC 56 .1302 

Notice of Contemplated Board Action to Applicant: Request... 21 NCAC 56 .1403 

Classification of Boundary Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1603 

Mapping Requirements for Boundary Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1604 

Global Positioning Systems Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1607 

 
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Approval of a Real Estate Education Course 21 NCAC 58H .0401 
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STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Separation 25 NCAC 01E .0311 

Back Pay 25 NCAC 01J .1306 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 DHR 02961 4/28/2020 Learning Early 

Childhood Center 

LLC 

v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education- Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Ward 

19 DHR 06158 4/22/2020 Bridges of Hope Inc v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Benefits 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 06607 4/15/2020 Marika Bright v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

        

19 DOJ 04778 4/9/2020 Stephanie McGhee v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 05064 4/27/2020 Lamar Krider v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

19 DOJ 06722 4/17/2020 Matthew Joseph 

Jankowski 

v. North Carolina Alarm Systems 

Licensing Board 

Jacobs 

        

19 INS 04536 4/13/2020 Kelly Kavit v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees 

Jacobs 

19 INS 05717 4/22/2020 Elizabeth Nickels v. North Carolina State Health Plan Lassiter 

        

19 OSP 05480 4/1/2020 Wei Wen Gou v. North Carolina State University Bawtinhimer 

19 OSP 05604 4/8/2020 Amie Roberts v. Transylvania County Department of 

Social Services Director Darrell 

Renfroe 

Sutton 

        

19 SOS 06198 4/17/2020 Linda Verdi Rice v. NC Department of the Secretary of State Lassiter 

19 SOS 06568 4/21/2020 Gardenia Johnson v. NC Department of the Secretary of State 

Attn: Ann Wall General Counsel 

Malherbe 

        

19 UNC 03351 4/16/2020 Kim Smith v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Ward 
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    Unpublished    

20 ABC 00178 4/3/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Casey Lynn Smith T/A Caseys Cove May 

20 ABC 00402 4/3/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Naeem Ahmed Bhatti T/A Washington 

Quick Mart 

May 

        

20 CPS 00358 4/14/2020 Tina B Cline v. North Carolina Crime Victims 

Compensation Commission 

Malherbe 

        

19 CSE 05598 4/7/2020 Nathan J Trautman v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05719 4/27/2020 Christopher Harrell v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

19 CSE 05796 4/27/2020 Fritz S Chevalier v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05805 4/28/2020 Aslam Tawhid v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05833 4/21/2020 David L Wright v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05906 4/22/2020 Ian Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05955 4/3/2020 James Scott 

Whitaker 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05964 4/15/2020 Ariel J Moreiras v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06001 3/19/2020; 

4/30/2020 

Geoffrey R Vincent v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06004 4/21/2020 Jeffrey B Sluder v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06005 4/6/2020 William J Matson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Service 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06023 4/2/2020 Kenneth J Wolford v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06024 4/15/2020 Joshua C Nelson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06055 4/6/2020 Fredrick L Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06128 4/21/2020 Thomas J Weaver v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 
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19 CSE 06131 4/30/2020 Marcel A Pestano Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06134 4/22/2020 Calop Thomason v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06177 4/23/2020; 

4/27/2020 

Jermaine A McNair v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06253 4/27/2020 Johan Rosario v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 06261 4/3/2020 Fernando A rivera v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06343 4/7/2020 William E Smith v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06382 4/13/2020 Howard Michael 

Stein Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06475 4/8/2020 Joe Nelms v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

        

19 DCS 06057 4/16/2020 Ronald L Waterman v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

        

19 DHR 06026 4/8/2020 Lori Ann Buie v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

20 DHR 00728 4/22/2020 Dr Edward A 

Patterson 

v. DOCD Mann 

20 DHR 00729 4/1/2020 Aqcrevcia Japhuer 

Jones 

v. Golden Year Nursing Home 

Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

20 DHR 01242 4/17/2020 Jeffrey Levenbook v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

        

20 EHR 00470 4/8/2020 KG Plaza LLC v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality 

Jacobs 

20 EHR 00761 4/24/2020 Derrick Stroud v. North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality 

Overby 

        

20 OAH 00087 4/22/2020 Cheryl A Jenkins v. Office of Administrative Hearings Mann 

        

20 SOS 00426 4/21/2020 Rhondra Simpson v. Department of the Secretary of State Malherbe 

20 SOS 00548 4/21/2020 Samantha E Foster v. North Carolina Department of the 

Secretary of State Notary Public 

Division 

Malherbe 

 

 




