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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 01 – DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Administration 

intends to  amend the rules cited as 01 NCAC 05A .0112; 05B 

.0103, repeal the rule cited as 01 NCAC 05B .0210, readopt with 

substantive changes the rules cited as 01 NCAC 05B .0303-.0306, 

.0308-.0310, .0316, .0317, .0501, .0503, .1108, .1201, .1507, 

.1511, .1516, .1519-.1522, and repeal through readoption the 

rules cited as 01 NCAC 05B .0207, .0208, .0313, .0502, .1501, 

.1510; and 05D .0209. 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncadmin.nc.gov/about-doa/administrative-rules-

review/proposed-rules-and-public-comment 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 25, 2019 

Time:  9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, Capehart-Crocker House, 424 N. 

Blount Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Rules scheduled for readoption 

pursuant to the periodic review set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shanon M. Gerger, NC 

Department of Administration, 1301 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1301; phone (984) 236-0008; fax (919) 733-

9571; email adminrules@doa.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 05 - PURCHASE AND CONTRACT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 05A – DIVISION OF PURCHASE AND 

CONTRACT 

 

01 NCAC 05A .0112 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Chapter, agency is defined as all 

departments, institutions, boards, commissions, universities, or 

other units of the State (including the Division of Purchase and 

Contract), and community colleges and local school 

administrative units, unless specifically exempted herein by 

reference. For the purpose of identifying a special responsibility 

constituent institution, as designated by the University Board of 

Governors, just the name "university(ies)" shall be used to 

distinguish any differences in the rules. 

(b)  A service contract shall mean any agreement in which an 

independent contractor performs services requiring specialized 

knowledge, experience, expertise or similar capabilities for a state 

agency for compensation involving an expenditure of public 

funds. The services may include (by way of illustration, not 

limitation) services such as maintenance of buildings or 

equipment, auditing, film production, employee training and food 

services, provided that the service is not primarily for review, 

analysis or advice in formulating or implementing improvements 

in programs or services (in which case rules relating to consultants 

shall be applicable). 

(c)  Where the term "Offer" is used, it refers to a bid, proposal or 

Offer submitted in response to an Invitation for Bids, Request for 

Proposals, Negotiation, or Request for Quotations. 

(d)  For the purpose of this Chapter, commodity(ies) is defined as 

any equipment, materials or supplies. It does not include services 

or printing. 

For the purpose of this Chapter: 

(1) "Agency" means all departments, institutions, 

boards, commissions, universities, community 

colleges or other units of the State, unless 

specifically exempted by statute. 

(2) "Best and Final Offer" ("BAFO") is a document 

that memorializes the details of Negotiations 
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between the State and a Vendor and mutually 

modifies the Vendor's Offer. 

(3) "Best Value Procurement" means the selection 

of a Vendor based on a determination of which 

Offer provides the best trade-off between price 

and performance, where quality is considered 

an integral performance factor as defined in 

G.S. 143-135.9. 

(4) "Bid Value Benchmark" or "General 

Delegation" means the maximum authorized 

expenditure for which an agency may contract 

to purchase Goods or Services without 

obtaining prior approval for the purchase from 

the Division. 

(5) "Consultant Services" means contracted work 

or tasks performed by a Vendor or independent 

contractor possessing specialized knowledge, 

experience, expertise and professional 

qualifications to investigate assigned problems 

or projects and to provide counsel, review, 

analysis or advice in formulating or 

implementing improvements in programs or 

Services. This includes improvements related 

to the organization, planning, directing, control, 

evaluation and operation of a program, Agency 

or department. 

(6) "Clarification" means communications 

between the State and a Vendor that may occur 

after receipt of Vendor's Offer made for the 

purpose of eliminating irregularities, 

informalities, or apparent clerical mistakes in 

an Offer. A Clarification may also be used to 

allow the State's reasonable interpretation of an 

Offer or Offers or to facilitate the State's 

evaluation of all Offers. A Clarification shall 

not be used to cure material deficiencies in an 

Offer, alter the scope of an Offer, or to 

negotiate. 

(7) "Competition" in purchasing exists when the 

available market for the Goods or Services to be 

acquired consists of more than one Responsible 

Vendor that is technically qualified and willing 

to submit an Offer. 

(8) "Competitive Range" means a rational 

grouping of the most competitive Offers as 

determined by the Purchasing Agency. 

(9) "Contract" means any type of agreement 

entered into by State Agencies, regardless of 

what it may be titled or called, setting out the 

obligations of the parties concerning a 

Procurement of Goods or Services. 

(10) "Deficiency" means either a failure to meet a 

stated requirement or a combination of 

weaknesses in an Offer that materially increases 

the risk of unsuccessful contract performance. 

(11) "Division" means the Division of Purchase and 

Contract. 

(12) "Electronic" means electrical, digital, magnetic, 

optical, electromagnetic or any other similar 

technology. 

(13) "Electronic Bid System" means the Division's 

Electronic system used variously to advertise 

Solicitations, notify Vendors, conduct Reverse 

Auctions, and post contract awards. 

(14) "Emergency Situations" means unforeseen 

circumstances that endanger lives, property, or 

the continuation of a vital program, as 

determined by the purchasing Agency Director, 

and that can be rectified only by immediate 

purchases or rental of Goods or Services. 

(15) "Goods" means any tangible property, 

including all equipment, materials, supplies and 

commodities. Unless the context requires 

otherwise, acquisition of printing shall be 

considered the purchase of Goods under these 

Rules. 

(16) "Goods Contract" means any agreement 

predominantly involving the Procurement of 

Goods from a Vendor, but which may also have 

ancillary Services aspects. 

(17) "Negotiation" means oral or written 

communications in a waived or open 

competitive Procurement between the State and 

Vendor undertaken with the intent of allowing 

Vendor to revise their Offers. Revisions may 

apply to price, schedule, technical 

requirements, or other terms of the proposed 

contract. Negotiations are specific to each Offer 

and shall be conducted to maximize the State's 

ability to obtain best value based on the 

evaluation factors set forth in the Solicitation. 

Negotiations shall be memorialized in any 

resulting Contract. 

(18) "Offer" means a bid, proposal, BAFO or other 

proposition submitted in response to any 

Solicitation, Negotiation, or other approved 

acquisition process, as well as responses to 

solution-based Solicitations and government-

Vendor partnerships. 

(19) "Personal Service Contract" means a Contract 

for defined Services provided by a professional 

individual, corporation, or independent 

contractor on a temporary or occasional basis, 

including those provided by a doctor, dentist, 

attorney, architect, professional engineer, 

scientist or performer of the fine arts or similar 

professions. Personal Services Contracts are a 

type of Services Contract. 

(20) "Pressing Need" means a need arising from 

unforeseen causes outside the State's control, 

including delay by contractors, delay in 

transportation, breakdown in machinery, or 

unanticipated volume of work, which can be 

satisfied only by immediate purchase or rental 

of Goods or Services. 
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(21) "Price" means the amount paid by the State to a 

Vendor for Goods or Services. 

(22) "Procurement" means the process of acquiring 

Goods or Services. 

(23) "Progressive Award" means an award of 

portions of a definite quantity requirement to 

more than one Vendor. Each portion is for a 

definite quantity and the sum of the portions is 

the total quantity procured. A Progressive 

Award may be in the Purchasing Agency's best 

interest when awards to more than one Vendor 

for different amounts of the same item are 

needed to obtain the total quantity or the time 

or times of delivery required. 

(24) "Public Funds" means any amount received, 

held, disbursed or otherwise subject to or 

accounted for in accordance with the State 

Budget Act and amounts used to acquire Goods 

and Services that are required to be purchased 

in accordance with Article 3 of Chapter 143 of 

the General Statutes. 

(25) "Purchasing Agency" or "Purchaser" means the 

Agency that issues a purchase order or 

otherwise acquires Goods or Services through a 

purchasing process. 

(26) "Responsible Vendor" means a Vendor who 

demonstrates in its Offer that it has the 

capability to perform fully the requirements of 

the Solicitation and who shows sufficient 

integrity, financial stability and reliability to 

perform its contract obligations in a satisfactory 

manner. 

(27) "Responsive Offer" means an Offer that 

conforms to the Requirements of the 

Solicitation in all material respects to be 

considered by the State for award. 

(28) "Requirement" is a provision of a Solicitation 

and any resulting Contract which prescribes the 

nature or details of a standard, process or 

procedure that must be complied with by the 

Vendor before any further evaluation of the 

Offer is conducted by the State. 

(29) "Sealed Offer" means an Offer that remains 

unopened until the public opening time stated 

in the Solicitation. 

(30) "Secretary" means the Secretary of the NC 

Department of Administration. 

(31) "Service Contract" means any agreement for 

compensation involving Services and requiring 

a particular or specialized knowledge, 

experience, expertise or similar capabilities in 

the Vendor. Contracts for Consultant Services 

and Personal Services are also types of Service 

Contracts. A Service Contract may also involve 

the ancillary purchase of Goods. 

(32) "Services" means the tasks and duties 

undertaken by a Vendor in a Service Contract 

to fulfill the requirements and Specifications of 

the Contract. 

(33) "Signature" means a manual autograph, an 

Electronic identifier or the Electronic result or 

an authentication technique, which is attached 

to or logically associated with a record and that 

is intended by the person using it to have the 

same force and effect as a manual signature. 

(34) "Small Purchase" means the purchase of Goods 

and Services not covered by a Term Contract 

where the expenditure of Public Funds is less 

than a Small Purchase Benchmark amount set 

and published by the SPO on the Division's 

website. 

(35) "Solicitation" means a Written or Electronic 

Invitation for Bids (IFB), Request for 

Quotations (RFQ), Request for Proposals 

(RFP), Best and Final Offer (BAFO), Request 

for Information (RFI) or other such documents 

approved by the SPO and expressly used to 

solicit or invite Vendor Offers, or to request 

information regarding the acquisition of Goods 

and Services, including all mutually agreed 

attachments and items incorporated by 

reference. 

(36) "Specification" means any description of the 

physical or functional characteristics of, or the 

nature of, the Goods or Services to be procured. 

(37) "SPO" means the State Procurement Officer. 

(38) "Tabulation" means a publicly available list of 

Vendors submitting Offers in response to a 

particular Solicitation and, if applicable, the 

prices Offered by each. 

(39) "Total Cost of Ownership" means a summation 

of all purchase, operating, and related costs to 

be expended during the projected lifetime of a 

Good or Service or both. 

(40) "Vendor" means a contractor, supplier, bidder, 

company, independent contractor, firm, 

corporation, partnership, individual or other 

entity submitting a response to a Solicitation. 

(41) "Voided Bid" means an Electronic bid that was 

submitted by a Vendor in connection with an 

Electronic Solicitation that has been cancelled 

and the unopened bids voided. 

(42) "Weakness" means a flaw in the Offer that 

increases the risk of unsuccessful contract 

performance. 

(43) "Written" or "Writing" means a communication 

recorded in a medium of expression that can be 

preserved, read, retrieved, and reproduced for 

an indefinite period of time, including 

information in a form that is electronically 

transmitted and stored. 

 

Authority G.S. 116-31.10; 143-48.3; 143-48.6; 143-49; 143-53; 

143-53.1; 143-57; 143-135.9. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 05B - PURCHASE PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0100 - REQUISITIONING 
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01 NCAC 05B .0103 CONFIDENTIALITY 

(a)  All information and documentation in whatever authorized 

form, (e.g. Electronic, Written, and verbal) relative to the 

development of a contractual document (Request for Quotation, 

Invitation for Bids, Request for Proposals, Waiver of 

Competition, Negotiation, etc.) Solicitation for a proposed or 

pending Procurement procurement or contract shall be deemed 

remain confidential in nature, except as deemed necessary by the 

purchaser to develop a complete contractual document. Such 

material shall remain confidential until the award of contract or 

action has been taken by the Purchasing Agency to cancel the 

Procurement. (See Rules .0210, .0309, .1501 and .1518 of this 

Subchapter). 

(b)  All information and documentation relative to the 

development of a Specification shall be confidential until a 

contract is entered into by the Purchasing Agency and the Vendor 

in accordance with G.S. 143-52(a). 

(c)  Trade secrets that the Vendor does not wish disclosed shall be 

identified as follows: 

(1) each page shall be identified in boldface at the 

top and bottom as "CONFIDENTIAL". 

(2) if only a portion of a page marked 

"CONFIDENTIAL" contains trade secret 

information, the trade secret information shall 

be designated with a contrasting color or by a 

box around such information. 

Cost information shall not be confidential. 

 

Authority G.S. 132-1.1; 133-33; 143-52; 143-53; 143-60. 

 

SECTION .0200 - SPECIFICATIONS 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0207 COPIES OF SPECIFICATIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49(2); 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0208 QUALIFIED PRODUCTS LIST 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49(2); 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0210 CONFIDENTIALITY 

 

Authority G.S. 133-33; 143-53; 143-60. 

 

SECTION .0300 - PROCUREMENT AUTHORIZATION 

AND PROCEDURES 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0303 TELEGRAPH ELECTRONIC, 

FACSIMILE, AND TELEPHONE OFFERS 

E-mail, Telegraph, facsimile, and telephone offers Offers shall not 

be accepted in response to solicitations Solicitation that are 

required to be sealed pursuant to Rule .0301 of this Section. The 

use of digital or Electronic Signatures on Electronic Offers must 

be consistent with G.S. 66-312. 

 

Authority G.S. 66-312; 143-49; 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0304 RECALL OF OFFERS 

Offers may be recalled prior to opening upon Written and signed 

request from an authorized agent of the company. Vendor to the 

Purchasing Agency. A record of the recall shall be maintained in 

the bid file. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0305 PUBLIC OPENING 

(a)  The Purchasing Agency shall publicly open and tabulate all 

Offers (except those that have been previously withdrawn, or 

Voided Bids) Advertised procurements shall be publicly opened 

at the time, date, and place identified in the procurement 

document. Solicitation. The Tabulation shall be made public at 

the time it is created unless otherwise confidential pursuant to 

Rule .0103 of this Section. There shall be at least two Purchasing 

Agency employees present at the opening when a Sealed Offer is 

required. At the time of opening, the names of the companies, the 

manufacturer(s) and catalog number(s) of the item(s) they have 

offered and the prices, deliveries and payment terms they have 

submitted shall be tabulated and this tabulation shall become 

public record, except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  When Negotiation after receipt of Offers is authorized, only 

the names of offerors and the Goods and Services offered shall be 

tabulated at the time of opening. The price Offer shall become 

available for public inspection at the time of the award. 

(b)(c)  Under the two-step process, the responsive technical Offers 

will be evaluated and, if acceptable, only the cost/price Offers for 

such acceptable Offers will then be publicly opened. At least two 

days prior notification will be given to such offerors of the time 

and place of the opening. Under a two step process, the cost/price 

offer(s) shall not become public record until the technical offer(s) 

has been evaluated (first step) and then only those offerors 

determined by the agency which issued the solicitation document 

to have acceptable technical offers shall have their cost/price 

offers opened (second step). The cost/price offers from offerors 

whose technical offers were deemed unacceptable shall remain 

unopened. The remaining cost/price offers shall be publicly 

opened, and the offeror(s) with the acceptable technical offer(s) 

notified of the time and place for the opening. At least two agency 

working days notice shall be given prior to the opening. In 

addition, there shall be at least two agency employees present at 

the opening. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0306 LATE OFFERS, 

MODIFICATIONS, OR WITHDRAWALS 

No late offer, late modification, or late withdrawal shall be 

considered unless received before contract award, and the offer, 

modification, or withdrawal would have been timely but for the 

action or inaction of agency personnel directly serving the 

procurement process. The offeror shall have his offer delivered on 

time, regardless of the mode of delivery used, including the U.S. 

Postal Service or any other delivery services available. All Offers 

or modifications must be received by the due date, time and 

location as specified in the Solicitation document. Any Offer or 

modification received after the specified time shall not be 
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considered. Withdrawal must be requested in writing prior to the 

contract award. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0308 EXTENSION OF ACCEPTANCE 

TIME 

When in the public interest, companies Vendors may be requested 

to extend the time offered for the acceptance of offers. within 

which an Offer is to be accepted. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0309 EVALUATION 

(a)  In determining the award of contract, Contract, bona fide 

offers Responsive Offers shall be considered and evaluated as 

provided by statute and applicable rules. The evaluation criteria 

to be used in determining the award of contract Contract shall be 

identified in the procurement Solicitation document. 

(b)  An unexecuted offer or an offer without a delivery time shall 

be rejected. 

(c)(b)  During the period of evaluation and prior to award, only 

the information provided in the tabulation is public record. 

Possession of Offers, offers, including any accompanying 

information submitted with the offers Offers, shall be limited to 

persons in the agency Purchasing Agency who are responsible for 

handling the offers Offers and accompanying information, and to 

others determined necessary by the agency Purchasing Agency 

which issued the solicitation document, for the purpose of 

evaluation and award of Contracts. contract. No Vendor shall 

participate in the evaluation process nor submit any additional 

information or materials during the period of evaluation, unless 

requested by the Purchasing Agency. Offeror participation in the 

evaluation process shall not be permitted. Any communication 

with an offeror that may be necessary for purpose of clarification 

of its offer shall be conducted by the agency which issued the 

solicitation document. After award of the contract or when the 

need for the item or service is canceled, the complete file shall be 

available to any interested party with the exception of trade secrets 

subject to the provisions of Rules .1501 and .1518 of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  Evaluation of Offers shall be conducted in accordance with 

the following requirements: 

(1) following evaluation of the Offers, the 

Purchasing Agency shall submit a 

recommendation to the Division; 

(2) evaluation scoring sheets, and other materials 

utilized to determine the ranking or assessment 

of the Responsive Offers shall be retained in the 

Agency Procurement file; and 

(d)  If a Vendor is determined to be non-responsive, a written 

determination of such status shall be made, including the reason(s) 

therefore with any supporting documentation in the Procurement 

file. The failure of a Vendor to provide requested information to 

the Purchasing Agency in connection to a Clarification or 

mandatory addendum shall be sufficient justification for a 

determination of non-responsiveness. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53. 

01 NCAC 05B .0310 NOTIFICATION OF AWARD 

If a solicitation is required to be advertised through the Division 

of Purchase and Contract, then notice of the resulting contract 

award shall be posted via the Division of Purchase and Contract's 

home page by the agency issuing the solicitation document in 

accordance with Rule .0316 of this Section. In addition, after 

contracts are awarded, successful companies shall be notified in 

writing or electronically by the agency issuing the solicitation 

document. 

(a)  Following the award of a Contract in accordance with Rule 

.0301 of this Section, the Purchasing Agency shall notify the 

winning Vendor in writing. Written notifications may include 

Electronic means such as posting on the Electronic Bid System, 

letter or e-mail. 

(b)  Purchasing Agencies shall post Contract awards in the same 

manner described in Rule .0316 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0313 TABULATIONS AND 

ABSTRACTS 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0316 ADVERTISEMENT 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Unless already required by statute, all advertisements required 

by rule shall be through the Division of Purchase and Contract via 

the Division's home page on the internet. If advertisement is 

required by rule, the solicitation shall be advertised at least once 

and at least 10 days prior to the date designated for opening. This 

Rule does not prevent solicitation of offers by additional direct 

mailings or additional advertisement by an agency. 

(a)  Unless otherwise directed by statute or excepted pursuant to 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule, all advertisements required by Rule 

.0301 of this Section shall advertise through the Division's 

Electronic Bid System for at least 10 calendar days, unless a 

memo requesting a waiver is received by the Division and 

approved by the SPO in accordance with the Rule .1401 of the 

Section. This Rules does not prevent Solicitation of Offers by 

additional direct mailings or additional advertisement by a 

Purchasing Agency. 

(b)  Agencies required by rule to advertise their solicitations shall 

electronically transmit the required data directly to the Division's 

home page. The required data shall include the complete 

solicitation Solicitation document (specifications, requirements, 

terms and conditions, etc.), with agency name, buyer name, phone 

number and address for accessing hard copies of the solicitation 

Solicitation, solicitation identification number, title (a short 

description of the commodity, service or printing requirement), 

and the opening date, time and place. If the solicitation requires 

potential offerors to attend a mandatory conference or mandatory 

site visit, this information shall also be furnished with the 

advertisement, to include date, time, location, contact person and 

the contact person's phone number. 

(c)  Within three agency working days from the award of a 

contract that has been advertised through the Division, Division's 

Electronic Bid System, agencies Purchasing Agencies shall 

electronically transmit an award notice directly to the Division's 
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Electronic Bid System. home page on the internet. The award 

notice shall be posted for at least 30 consecutive calendar days. 

This award notice shall identify the contract and award 

information. 

(d)  Exceptions to this Rule are as follows: 

(1) When it is deemed by the agency's executive 

officer or the officer's designee that there is a 

valid reason for the agency not If the 

Purchasing Agency is unable to transmit the 

advertisement or award notice electronically, 

that agency may submit the data to the Division, 

so the Division may Division to transmit it 

electronically, or the agency may place the 

advertisement (excluding the complete 

solicitation Solicitation document) via 

newspaper. If advertised via newspaper, the 

agency which issued the solicitation document 

shall be responsible for the advertisement and 

the award notice shall not be required. Some 

valid reasons include computer equipment 

failure, networking difficulties, or insufficient 

copies of samples for a printing job. 

(2) If there is an attachment to a solicitation that the 

agency determines will not be electronically 

transmitted, then the solicitation document, 

when it is electronically transmitted, shall 

include instructions to contact the agency which 

issued the solicitation to obtain the attachment. 

If a Purchasing Agency is unable to 

electronically transmit an attachment to the 

Solicitation, the Purchasing Agency shall 

include instructions to obtain the attachment in 

the advertisement. 

(3) If an agency determines that it is not feasible to 

electronically transmit a particular solicitation 

document through the Division's home page, 

then the agency shall electronically transmit a 

summary notice in the same way as if it had 

electronically transmitted the solicitation 

document. The summary notice will instruct 

anyone inquiring about the solicitation on the 

Division's home page to contact the agency for 

a hard copy. If a Purchasing Agency is 

unable to electronically transmit a Solicitation, 

the Purchasing Agency shall electronically 

transmit a summary notice which will provide 

interested Vendors with instructions to obtain a 

copy of the Solicitation. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0317 MANDATORY 

CONFERENCES/SITE VISITS 

(a)  It is recommended, except in unusual cases, for agencies only 

to urge and caution potential offerors to attend scheduled 

conferences or site visits. 

(a)(b)  When a solicitation Solicitation requires potential offerors 

Vendors to attend a mandatory conference or mandatory site visit, 

the date, time, location, and other pertinent details of the 

conference or site visit shall be given in the solicitation document, 

Solicitation, and in the advertisement (if required by rule). when 

required by Rule .0316 of this Section. 

(b)(c)  If only one potential offeror Vendor attends the mandatory 

conference or mandatory site visit, the conference or site visit may 

continue to be conducted, but the solicitation shall be canceled 

immediately following the Purchasing Agency may conduct or 

postpone the conference or site visit. If this occurs, the agency 

shall investigate why The Purchasing Agency shall review the 

Solicitation and factors set out in Rule .1401 of this Section to 

determine whether any Competition is available and why only one 

potential Vendor attended. offeror was in attendance and ascertain 

if there is any competition available. If it is determined that 

competition is available, the agency shall again attempt to obtain 

competition by following the rules of this Subchapter, unless 

otherwise permitted by rule. The Purchasing Agency may 

schedule another conference or site visit if it determines that 

Competition is available, and it would be in the best interest of the 

State. If it is determined that there is no competition Competition 

available, then the procurement Procurement may be handled as a 

subject to approval for a waiver of Competition as permitted by 

rule pursuant to Rule .1402 of this Section. 

(c)  The Purchasing Agency shall document details of the 

conference or site visit as part of the official Procurement records. 

(d)  Any and all questions or Clarifications by a potential offeror 

Vendor regarding a solicitation document Solicitation shall be 

addressed to the purchaser Purchasing Agency named on the 

Solicitation. document. Any and all revisions to the solicitation 

document Solicitation shall be made only by written addendum 

from the purchaser. Purchasing Agency. Verbal communications 

from whatever source are of no effect. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53. 

 

SECTION .0500 - REJECTION OF OFFERS 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0501 BASIS FOR REJECTION OR 

CANCELLATION OF OFFERS 

(a)  In soliciting offers, any and all offers received may be rejected 

in whole or in part. Basis for rejection shall include, but not be 

limited to, the offer being deemed unsatisfactory as to quantity, 

quality, delivery, price or service offered; the offer not complying 

with conditions of the procurement document or with the intent of 

the proposed contract; lack of competitiveness by reason of 

collusion or otherwise or knowledge that reasonably available 

competition was not received; error(s) in specifications or 

indication that revision(s) would be to the state's advantage; 

cancellation of or changes in the intended project or other 

determination that the proposed requirement is no longer needed; 

limitation or lack of available funds; circumstances which prevent 

determination of the lowest responsible or most advantageous 

offer; any determination that rejection would be to the best interest 

of the state. 

(a)  Any Offers received in response to a Solicitation may be 

rejected. The basis for rejection may include the following: 

(1) the Offer does not address the requirements in 

the Solicitation for bid regarding quantity, 

quality, delivery, price or service; 
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(2) the Offer does not comply with the conditions 

set forth in the Solicitation for bid; 

(3) the Purchasing Agency determines there is a 

lack of Competition; 

(4) the Solicitation contains errors; 

(5) cancellation of or changes to the project 

reference in the Solicitation; 

(6) dual or similar Offers which prevent a Best 

Value Procurement to be determined; or 

(7) limitation or lack of available funds of the 

Purchasing Agency. 

(b)  Negotiation may be utilized if permitted by Rule .0503 of this 

Section. 

(c)  If all Offers are rejected, a Solicitation may be cancelled in its 

entirety or otherwise handled in accordance with the provisions of 

this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0502 PUBLIC RECORD 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0503 NEGOTIATION 

If an agency does not receive a satisfactory offer in response to a 

solicitation and all offers are rejected, negotiations may be 

conducted with all known sources of supply that may be capable 

of satisfying the requirement, if it is determined by the agency that 

issued the solicitation document that soliciting offers again would 

serve no purpose. The negotiations shall be conducted by that 

agency if under their benchmark or delegation. Negotiations shall 

be conducted in writing and shall include standard language and 

terms and conditions issued by the Division of Purchase and 

Contract, unless otherwise provided by rule. If the negotiations 

are conducted with only one source or if only one source responds 

to the negotiations, the reason for lack of competition shall be 

documented in writing for public record. Negotiations may also 

be conducted under conditions that merit a waiver of competition, 

or in other situations that are advantageous as determined by the 

SPO. 

(a)  If the Purchasing Agency does not receive a Responsive Offer 

to a Solicitation and determines that soliciting Offers again would 

not yield a difference result, the Purchasing Agency may negotiate 

with Vendors in the Competitive Range or reject all Offers and 

negotiated with one or more sources of supply that may be capable 

of satisfying the requirement. Negotiations may also be conducted 

under conditions that merit a waiver of Competition pursuant to 

Rule .1401 of this Section. 

(b)  Negotiations shall be conducted by the Purchasing Agency if 

under its Bid Value Benchmark or General Delegation. A 

Purchasing Agency may request the participation of the Division 

in any Negotiation. 

(c)  Negotiations shall be memorialized by a mutually satisfactory 

document, executed by the parties and issued by the Division. 

(d)  All Negotiation results shall be documented in writing for 

public record. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53; 143-60. 

 

SECTION .1100 - TERM CONTRACTS 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1108 EXTENSION OF CONTRACT 

TERMINATION DATES 

When in the public interest, best interest of the State, Vendors 

contractors may be requested to extend the scheduled termination 

dates of contracts. Extensions shall not result in a change in the 

prices stated in the original contract unless agreed to by the 

Purchasing Agency in writing. Extensions that result in an annual 

contract value exceeding a Purchasing Agency's delegation must 

be submitted to the Division for approval based on the 

determining factors set forth in Rule .1102 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-49. 

 

SECTION .1200 - PARTIAL AND MULTIPLE AWARDS 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1201 USE 

(a)  Partial, progressive or multiple awards may be made by reason 

of insufficient funds, legislative mandates, where it is 

advantageous to award separately by items or where more than 

one supplier is needed to provide the contemplated requirements 

as to quantity, quality, delivery, service(s) or geographical areas. 

(b)  Notwithstanding the necessity for awards to more than one 

supplier in the case of some indefinite quantity contracts, such 

awards shall be limited to the number of suppliers deemed 

necessary to reasonably satisfy the intended requirements. 

Extreme care shall be exercised to protect the character and 

principles of competition. Quantities shall not be divided among 

companies on definite quantity requirements unless and except as 

provided in the procurement document. 

(a)  The Purchasing Agency may make a partial, multiple or 

Progressive award for the following reasons: 

(1) there are insufficient funds to make a full 

award; 

(2) a legislative mandate; 

(3) if the Purchasing Agency determines that it is in 

the best interests of the State to award 

separately by items; or 

(4) if more than one supplier is needed to meet the 

Specifications as to quantity, quality, delivery, 

services, or geographical areas as set forth in 

the Solicitation. 

(b)  Multiple awards shall be made consistent with the applicable 

provisions of G.S. 143-52.3(5). 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52.3; 143-53(6). 

 

SECTION .1500 - MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1501 CONFIDENTIALITY 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1507 CHANGE IN CORPORATE 

STRUCTURE 

Any Contract following an award to a Vendor are not instruments 

for sale and shall not be assigned. In cases where contractors are 

If a Vendor is involved in corporate consolidations, acquisitions 
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or mergers, the Purchasing Agency agency which issued the 

solicitation document resulting in the contract may negotiate 

agreements for the transfer of contractual obligations and the 

continuance of contracts Contracts if the Purchasing Agency 

determines that it is in the best interest of the State. within the 

framework of the new corporate structures but with the 

understanding that the state's contracts are not instruments for sale 

and shall not be assigned. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1510 USE OF PURCHASING POWER 

FOR PRIVATE GAIN 

 

Authority G.S. 143-53; 143-58.1. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1511 ANTITRUST VIOLATIONS 

ANTICOMPETITIVE, DECEPTIVE, AND FRAUDULENT 

PRACTICES 

In instances of identical offers or where there are otherwise 

indications of collusion, awards may be made in a manner 

intended to discourage or prevent its continuance as deemed to 

represent the state's best interest. Instances of suspected antitrust 

violation shall be reported to appropriate law enforcement 

authorities by the agency which issued the solicitation document. 

(a)  A Purchasing Agency shall act to prevent the continuance of 

anticompetitive, deceptive, or fraudulent practices. 

Anticompetitive practices include actions involving Vendors that 

restrain trade or commerce or eliminate Competition. 

(b)  Anticompetitive, deceptive, or fraudulent practices may be 

evidenced by one or more of the following: 

(1) conspiracy in restraint of trade or commerce; 

(2) combination bidding in restraint of trade or 

commerce; 

(3) price fixing which may include reliance upon 

an industry price list; 

(4) collusion; 

(5) identical bidding; or 

(6) agreements to: 

(A) rotate Offers; 

(B) share the profits with a Vendor who is 

not the low Vendor; 

(C) sublet work in advance of bidding as a 

means of preventing Competition; 

(D) refrain from bidding; 

(E) submit prearranged Offers; 

(F) submit complementary Offers; 

(G) set up territories to restrict 

Competition; 

(H) alternate bidding; or 

(I) any other unlawful act in restraint of 

trade or commerce. 

(c)  Agency actions to discourage or prevent the continuance of 

anticompetitive, deceptive, or fraudulent practices may include 

the following: 

(1) rejecting the Vendor's Offer; 

(2) awarding a bid to a Vendor with a cost or 

technical proposal that is evaluated lower than 

the offending Vendor's proposal; and 

(3) recommending that the SPO debar a Vendor 

from doing business with the State in 

accordance with Rule .1520 of this Section. 

(d)  The Purchasing Agency shall report evidence of 

anticompetitive, deceptive or fraudulent practices to the Attorney 

General's office and any other appropriate law enforcement 

authority. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-53; 143-54. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1516 ADVERTISING 

No contract shall be used for any advertising by the contractor. 

No Vendor shall advertise or otherwise use any Contract for 

marketing purposes. A Vendor may only include the State on a 

listing of existing customers. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-53; 143-60. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1519 PROTEST PROCEDURES 

(a)  To insure fairness to all offerors and to promote open 

competition, agencies and the Division of Purchase and Contract 

shall actively follow-up and be consistent in responding to an 

offeror's protest over contract awards  

(b)  This Rule applies only to contracts with an actual or estimated 

dollar value over ten thousand dollars ($10,000). Agencies may 

establish procedures to handle an offeror's concerns for contracts 

with less dollar value. 

(c)  When an offeror wants to protest a contract awarded by an 

agency over ten thousand dollars ($10,000) in value, the agency 

and the offeror shall comply with the following: 

(1) The offeror shall submit a written request for a 

protest meeting to the agency's executive 

officer which shall be received by the agency's 

executive officer's office within 30 consecutive 

calendar days from the date of the contract 

award. The executive officer shall furnish a 

copy of this letter to the SPO within five 

consecutive calendar days of receipt. The 

offeror's letter shall contain specific reasons 

and any supporting documentation for why it 

has a concern with the award. If the letter does 

not contain this information, or if the executive 

officer determines that a meeting would serve 

no purpose, then the executive officer may, 

within 10 consecutive calendar days from the 

date of receipt of the letter, respond in writing 

to the offeror and refuse the protest meeting 

request. A copy of the executive officer's letter 

shall be forwarded to the SPO. 

(2) If the protest meeting is granted, the executive 

officer shall attempt to schedule the meeting 

within 30 consecutive calendar days after 

receipt of the letter, or as soon as possible 

thereafter. Within 10 consecutive calendar days 

from the date of the protest meeting, the 

executive officer shall respond to the offeror in 

writing with the executive officer's decision. A 

copy of the executive officer's letter shall be 

forwarded to the SPO. 
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(3) The agency shall notify the SPO in writing of 

any further administrative or judicial review of 

the contract award. 

(4) The executive officer may appoint a designee to 

act on the executive officer's behalf under this 

Rule. 

(d)  When an offeror wants to protest a contract awarded by the 

Secretary over ten thousand dollars ($10,000) in value, the SPO 

and the offeror shall comply with the following: 

(1) The offeror shall submit a written request for a 

protest meeting to the SPO which shall be 

received by the Division within 30 consecutive 

calendar days from the date of the contract 

award. The offeror's letter shall contain specific 

reasons and any supporting documentation for 

why it has a concern with the award. If the letter 

does not contain this information, or if the SPO 

determines that a meeting would serve no 

purpose, then the SPO may, within 10 

consecutive calendar days from the date of 

receipt of the letter, respond in writing to the 

offeror and refuse the protest meeting request. 

(2) If the protest meeting is granted, the SPO shall 

attempt to schedule the meeting within 30 

consecutive calendar days after receipt of the 

letter, or as soon as possible thereafter. Within 

10 consecutive calendar days from the date of 

the protest meeting, the SPO shall respond to 

the offeror in writing with the SPO's decision. 

(a)  When a Vendor wants to protest a Contract awarded by a 

Purchasing Agency valued at less than the amount set forth in G.S. 

143-53, the Purchasing Agency and Vendor shall comply with the 

following: 

(1) The Vendor shall submit a written request for a 

protest meeting to the Agency's executive 

officer or his or her designee within 30 calendar 

day from the date of the Contract award. The 

executive officer shall furnish a copy of this 

letter to the SPO within five calendar days of 

receipt. The Vendor's request shall contain 

reasons why it has a concern with the award and 

any supporting documentation. If the request 

does not contain this information, or if the 

executive officer determines that the protest is 

meritless so that a meeting would serve no 

purpose, then the executive officer may, within 

10 calendar days from the date of receipt of the 

request, respond in writing to the Vendor and 

refuse the protest meeting request. A copy of 

the executive officer's decision letter shall be 

forwarded to the SPO. 

(2) If the protest meeting is granted, the executive 

officer shall schedule the meeting within 30 

calendar days after receipt of the request, or as 

soon as possible thereafter. Within 10 calendar 

days from the date of the protest meeting, the 

executive officer shall respond to the Vendor in 

writing with the executive officer's decision and 

appeal rights. A copy of the executive officer's 

decision letter shall be forwarded to the SPO. 

(3) The Purchasing Agency shall notify the SPO in 

writing of any further administrative or judicial 

review of the Contract award. 

(b)  When a Vendor wants to protest a Contract awarded by the 

Secretary valued over the amount set forth in G.S. 143-53, the 

SPO and Vendor shall comply with the following: 

(1) The Vendor shall submit a written request for a 

protest meeting to the SPO within 30 calendar 

days from the date of the Contract award. The 

Vendor's request shall contain reasons why it 

has a concern with the award and any 

supporting documentation. If the request does 

not contain this information, or if the SPO 

determines that the protest is meritless so that a 

meeting would serve no purpose, then the SPO 

may, within 10 calendar days from the date of 

receipt of the request, respond in writing to the 

Vendor and refuse the protest meeting request. 

(2) If the protest meeting is granted, the SPO shall 

schedule the meeting within 30 calendar days 

after receipt of the request, or as soon as 

possible thereafter. Within 10 calendar days 

from the date of the protest meeting, the SPO 

shall respond to the Vendor in writing with the 

SPO's decision and appeal rights. 

(3) The SPO shall notify the Secretary of any 

further administrative or judicial review of the 

Contract award. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-2; 150B-22; 150B-23; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1520 DEFAULT PROCEEDINGS; 

DEBARMENT 

(a)  The agency which issued the solicitation document resulting 

in the contract may find a contractor in default of contract for 

failing to perform in accordance with the contract requirements, 

terms and conditions. If a contractor is found in default of 

contract, the agency which issued the solicitation document 

resulting in the contract may take action, immediate if necessary, 

to purchase the needed commodities, printing or services on the 

open market and charge any additional cost for the commodities, 

printing or services and expense for doing so to the defaulting 

contractor. If an agency finds a contractor in default, such action 

and the circumstances shall be reported by the agency to the 

Division of Purchase and Contract in writing. This does not limit 

any other remedies that may be available to the State or agency. 

(a)  In addition to any civil or criminal remedies available to the 

State, the SPO may debar the Vendor from receiving an award 

under a State Contract or conducting future business with the State 

for up to a one year term in accordance with this Rule. 

(b)  Cause for initial or successive debarment may include: 

(1) deliberate failure without good cause to 

perform a Contract in accordance with the 

terms and conditions of the Contract; 

(2) substantiated or uncured complaints; 

(3) the Vendor or any officer, director, owner, 

project manager, Procurement manager or chief 
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financial officer is convicted under a State or 

Federal statute of embezzlement, theft, forgery, 

bribery, falsifaction or destruction of records, 

receiving stolen property, or any other offense 

indicating a lack of business integrity which 

currently, seriously, and directly affects 

responsibility as a State Vendor; 

(4) the Vendor or any officer, director, or owner is 

debarred from bidding or contracting with the 

federal government; 

(5) conviction under State or Federal antitrust 

statutes arising out of the submission of bids or 

proposals; and 

(6) violation of the State Government Ethics Act or 

the Lobbying laws. 

(c)(b)  Upon finding cause to debar a Vendor, the SPO The 

Division may remove the contractor Vendor from any mailing 

distribution lists which may be utilized for up to a one year term. 

and debar the contractor from doing business with the agency, or 

any agency, for a period of time at the discretion of the Division. 

(d)  The SPO shall notify a Vendor of any debarment and appeal 

rights, in writing, which may include an Electronic form. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53; 143-60; 143-64.b(c)(21); 

143-746. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1521 FAITHFUL PERFORMANCE 

(a)  A bond, or other suitable means of insuring faithful 

performance, may be required of the contractor at the contractor's 

expense. 

(b)  Liquidated damages, in the form of a monetary penalty for 

late delivery, may be provided for in the contract, as a means of 

ensuring faithful performance from the contractor. 

A Solicitation and Contract may include terms ensuring a 

Vendor's performance such as: 

(1) a bond, or similar assurance; 

(2) liquidated damages; 

(3) a percentage of the Contract value held as a 

retainage; 

(4) withholding final payment contingent on 

acceptance of the final deliverable; and 

(5) any other provision which assures performance 

of the Vendor. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53. 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1522 RECIPROCAL PREFERENCE 

(a)  Each Solicitation document used to obtain contracts for 

equipment, materials, supplies, Goods and services Services that 

exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) in value thresholds 

mandated in G.S. 143-59(b) shall include space for a bidder to 

give their principal place of business address if it is different than 

the address given in the execution section of the solicitation 

document. Solicitation. This shall not prevent the agency 

Purchasing Agency that issued the solicitation document 

Solicitation from investigating this information and concluding 

that the principal place of business is different, according to their 

the Agency's interpretation of G.S. 143-59(c). 

(b)  A reciprocal preference shall not be used when procurements 

are being made Procurement are exempted under G.S. 143-

53(a)(5) and G.S. 143-57. G.S. 143-59(d). 

(c)  For the purpose of this Section, a bidder and offeror, as well 

as bid and proposal, are interchangeable. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-59. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 05D - CONSULTANT CONTRACTS 

 

SECTION .0200 - CONTRACTING PROCEDURE FOR 

CONSULTANTS 

 

01 NCAC 05D .0209 RELATIONSHIP OF 

CONSULTANT TO STATE 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.21. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 14B NCAC 15B .1013. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://abc.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 10, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To update allowable procedures 

for filing refund offer redemptions for spirituous liquor purchases 

to include filing electronically. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh NC, 27601; phone (919) 779-8367; fax 

(919) 661-6165; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 13, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
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further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15B - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED 

BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING: 

SPECIAL PERMITS 

 

SECTION .1000 - ADVERTISING 

 

14B NCAC 15B .1013 REFUND OFFERS 

(a)  General. Refund offers may be used to advertise spirituous 

liquor. Refund offers may be advertised by newspaper, magazine, 

direct mail, internet or other electronic means. 

(b)  Conditions. A refund offer is an offer to a consumer purchaser 

for a rebate of money or merchandise from a liquor industry 

member, obtained by mailing submitting a form. A refund offer is 

allowed under the following conditions: 

(1) A refund may be offered only by a 

manufacturer, importer, distiller, rectifier or 

bottler of spirituous liquor. 

(2) A refund may be offered only to purchasers of 

the manufacturer's original unopened container 

of liquor that is purchased from a local ABC 

store. 

(3) A refund may be offered only in any of the 

following ways: 

(A) when When the redemption form is a 

part of or attached to the package or 

container, or when the forms are 

available on tear-off pads displayed in 

the store. Any offer that is a part of or 

attached to the package or container 

shall be placed there by the industry 

member who offers the refund. 

(B) When the redemption form is part of 

an electronic refund procedure or 

software application made available 

by the industry member or its 

designated redemption agent. 

(4) The redemption form shall include a statement 

that the person redeeming the refund must be at 

least 21 years of age. 

(4)(5) A refund offer shall apply throughout the state. 

State. 

(5)(6) A refund offer shall include an expiration date. 

(6)(7) A refund offer shall include a statement 

explaining the redemption procedure including 

the expiration date and length of time before the 

refund is sent to the purchaser. Refund offers 

shall be redeemed by mailing submitting the 

redemption form to the industry member who 

offers the refund or its designated redemption 

agent. agent in the manner required by the 

industry member, either by mail or 

electronically. Such an agent shall not be a 

retail or wholesale permittee in the state. State. 

(7)(8) An industry member shall notify the 

commission Commission at least 10 days 

before it offers a refund on liquor. The notice 

shall state the proposed amount of the refund, 

its expiration date, to whom redemption forms 

must be mailed submitted and the name, 

address and phone number of the redemption 

agent. The notice shall also include a sample of 

the redemption form. form or the redemption 

procedure. 

(8)(9) An ABC A local board member or board 

employee shall not receive refunds on offers 

obtained from liquor packages or containers 

before sale at retail. submit a redemption form 

for a refund under this Rule except for lawful 

purchases of spirituous liquor the local board 

member or board employee has made. 

(c)  Commercial Bribery; Cooperative Advertising. No local ABC 

board member, board employee, retailer or retailer employee shall 

accept and no industry member shall pay any fee for the display 

or use of refund offers. The name of a retail business or retail 

permittee shall not appear on any refund offer. 

(d)  Advertising Refund Offers. Refund offers may be advertised 

by newspapers, magazines or direct mail but no redemption form 

may appear in such advertisement. Limits. No refund offer for 

liquor may be advertised on the premises of any retail permittee. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-105(b); 18B-207. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10H .0905-.0907, 

.1101, .1104, .1107, .1301, .1302, readopt with substantive 

changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10H .0901, .0903, .0904, 

.1106, and repeal the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10H .1102, .1103, 

.1105, and .1108. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined that 

publication of the complete text of the rules proposed for repeal 

is impractical. The text of the repealed rules is accessible on the 

OAH Website: http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncwildlife.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2019 
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Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 19, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  WRC Headquarters, 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 

27606 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to 150B-21.3A, the 

agency is required to review all existing rules on a schedule 

determined by the Rules Review Commission.  These rules were 

updated as part of the review process and include technical and 

organizational changes.  Additionally, several rules are proposed 

for repeal through readoption, with the substantive provisions of 

the proposed repealed rules being combined into other rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rule-making Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10H - REGULATED ACTIVITIES 

 

SECTION .0900 – GAME BIRD PROPAGATORS 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0901 GAME BIRD PROPAGATION 

LICENSE 

(a)  The game bird propagation license authorizes shall authorize 

the purchase, possession, propagation, sale, transportation 

transportation, transfer, and release of propagated upland game 

birds, except wild turkey, and migratory game birds and their 

eggs, subject to the following limitations and conditions: 

(1) The sale of dead pen-raised quail for food is 

governed by the regulations of the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture; and 

(2) The purchase, possession, sale, transportation, 

and transfer of migratory game birds and their 

eggs is subject to additional requirements 

contained in Title 50 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. 

(3) No propagation license shall be issued for wild 

turkeys. 

(b)  Application for a game bird propagation license shall be made 

on a form available from the Commission at www.ncwildlife.org 

or at the Commission headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27606-2576. Information required from the applicant 

shall include: 

(1) The applicant's name, mailing address, 

residence address, telephone number, and date 

of birth; 

(2) The facility site address; 

(3) Any organizational affiliation, if applicable; 

and 

(3) The species of animal to be propagated. 

(c)  The game bird propagation license shall be conspicuously 

posted and displayed at the propagation facility at all times. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-549.94; 113-134; 113-273; 50 C.F.R., Part 

21. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0903 ACQUISITION OF GAME BIRDS 

OR GAME BIRD EGGS 

(a)  A game bird propagator license under this Section propagation 

license holder shall not take no game birds or game bird eggs from 

the wild for the purpose of propagation or sale, sale. but 

(b)  License holders may purchase or acquire live game birds, or 

the eggs thereof, birds or game bird eggs from any other licensed 

game bird propagator. propagators. Upon such acquisition, he 

(c)  The license holder shall obtain a copy of a receipt or other 

written evidence of the transaction showing the date, the names 

names, and license numbers of both parties, and parties as well as 

the species and quantity of the game birds, or eggs, so birds or 

game bird eggs acquired. This receipt shall be retained by the 

licensee as part of his records license holder as provided by Rule 

.0906 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0904 DISPOSITION OF GAME BIRDS 

OR GAME BIRD EGGS 

(a)  Diseased Birds. No game bird propagator licensed under this 

Section shall It shall be unlawful for a game bird propagation 

license holder to knowingly sell or otherwise transfer possession 

of any live game bird that shows evidence of any a communicable 

disease, except that such transfer may be made for transfers to a 

veterinarian or pathologist for examination and diagnosis. 

diagnostic purposes. Disposition of any game bird having with a 

communicable disease in a manner not likely to infect wild game 

bird populations is shall be the responsibility of the licensee. 

license holder. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2252 

(b)  Sale of Live Birds or Eggs. Subject to the limitations set forth 

in Rule .0901 of this Section, any healthy game birds which that 

are authorized to be propagated under this Section, or the eggs 

thereof, may be sold or transferred alive by any a licensed game 

bird propagator to any other another licensed game bird 

propagator. propagator or Licensed game bird propagators may 

also sell or transfer healthy live game birds to licensed controlled 

shooting preserve operators operator or to any person who that 

holds a valid state license or permit to possess the same. that 

authorizes possession. 

(c)  Receipt Required. Upon any such sale or transfer, a written 

receipt or other written evidence of the transaction shall be 

prepared in duplicate showing the date, the names and license or 

permit numbers of both parties, and the species and quantity of 

the game birds or game bird eggs transferred. A copy of such the 

receipt or writing shall be retained by each of the parties as a part 

of his records as provided by Rule .0906 of this Section. 

(d)  Bird Marking. Any live migratory waterfowl sold or 

transferred to any person for use in training retrievers or 

conducting retriever trials must shall be marked by one of the 

methods provided by 50 C.F.R. 21.13. 50 CFR 21.13. Each 

pheasant All other domestically raised game birds sold or 

transferred for such the same purposes shall be banded prior to the 

transfer with a metal leg band which is shall be individually 

marked on one leg with a band imprinted with the number of the 

propagator's license. license number. 

(c)(e)  Sale of Dead Game Birds as Food. Subject to the 

limitations and conditions indicated in Rule .0901 of this Section 

Section and to any applicable laws and regulations relating to pure 

foods, public health health, and advertising, game birds produced 

by licensed game bird propagators licensed under this Section 

may be killed at any time in any manner, except by shooting 

during the closed season on the species concerned, and season. 

Dead game birds, except for dead pen-raised quail, and game bird 

eggs may be sold for food purposes as provided by the following 

Subparagraphs: as follows: 

(1) Sale Direct to Consumer. Unprocessed dead 

game birds may be sold directly to a consumer 

when accompanied by a receipt showing the 

name of the consumer, the name and license 

number of the propagator, and the quantity and 

species of the game birds sold. A copy of such 

the receipt shall be retained by the propagator 

as part of his records. propagator for at least one 

year after the transaction. No such bird shall be 

resold by any such consumer. It shall be 

unlawful for the consumer to resell unprocessed 

dead game birds. 

(2) Sale to or Through a Processor. 

(A) Unprocessed dead Game game birds 

may be sold to any a commercial food 

processor who that holds a permit to 

possess them or delivered transferred 

to such a commercial food processor 

for processing and packaging prior to 

sale. In either case, the transfer Sale or 

transfer shall be evidenced by a 

duplicate receipt written receipt 

retained by each party for a year after 

the sale or transfer, that includes the 

following information: 

(i) identifying the processor by 

the processor's name and 

permit number and number; 

(ii) the propagator by 

propagator's name and 

license number, number; and 

(iii) indicating the number and 

species of game birds 

transferred. sold or 

transferred. A copy of such 

receipt shall be retained by 

each of the parties as part of 

his records. 

(B) The processed carcasses of the birds 

Game bird carcasses processed by a 

commercial food processor for 

wholesale or retail sale shall be 

enclosed in a wrapper or container 

marked with the following: 

(i) the number and species of 

game birds contained; 

(ii) the license number of the 

propagator; and 

(iii) the words "domestically 

raised". 

on the outside of which is indicated the number 

and species of birds contained, the license 

number of the propagator, and the fact that such 

birds were domestically raised. When so 

packaged, such processed game birds may be 

sold at wholesale or at retail through ordinary 

channels of commerce. 

This Paragraph does not apply to dead quail 

marketed for food purposes under the 

regulations of the North Carolina Department 

of Agriculture. 

(3) The eggs of propagated game birds may 

Propagated game bird eggs shall not be sold for 

food or food purposes. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 50 C.F.R., Part 21.13. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0905 TRANSPORTATION 

(a)  Live Game Birds or Game Bird Eggs 

(1) Private Carriers. Live propagated game birds or 

the eggs thereof game bird eggs may be 

transported by private carrier when 

accompanied by a copy of the receipt required 

by specified in Rule Rules .0903 or Rule 

.0904(b) or (c)(2) .0904 of this Section. 

(2) Common Carriers. When live propagated game 

birds or the eggs thereof game bird eggs are 

transported by common carrier, each separate 

container shall be tagged or labeled to show 

with the name, address address, and license 

number of the shipping propagator, propagator; 

the name, address address, and license or permit 
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number of the consignee, consignee; and the 

number and species of game birds or game bird 

eggs contained therein. 

(b)  Dead Game Birds 

(1) Private Consumers. Unprocessed dead game 

birds may be transported by consumers or 

hunters when accompanied by a copy of the 

receipt from a licensed game bird propagator 

required by Rule .0904(c)(1) .0904(e)(1) of this 

Section or by a copy of the receipt from a 

controlled shooting preserve operator as 

required by 15A NCAC 10H .0105. 

(2) Processed Game Birds. The carcasses of 

processed propagated game birds other than 

quail may be transported in any manner when 

packaged in a wrapper or container marked as 

required by Rule .0904(c)(2) .0904(e)(2) of this 

Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0906 RECORDS 

Each licensed (a)  Licensed game bird propagator propagators 

shall maintain a chronological file of receipts by calendar-year or 

copies thereof showing with the following information: 

(1) The dates and sources of acquisition of game 

birds and their eggs and game bird eggs; 

(2) the The species and quantities thereof of the 

game birds and game bird eggs, as required by 

Rule .0903 of this Section, Section; and 

(3) a chronological file of copies of receipts 

Receipts showing all transfers of propagated 

game birds, except dead quail sold for food 

purposes, and their game bird eggs as required 

by Rule .0904 of this Section. 

Such records shall be segregated as to each license year, 

(b)  Records shall be made available for inspection by any 

authorized agent at the request of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission, and Commission. 

(c)  Records shall be retained for at least one year following the 

close of the license year to which they pertain. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0907 QUAIL CALL-PEN TRAPS 

Any licensed game bird propagator who raises quail and who 

wishes to release live pen-raised quail on his premises for dog 

training purposes may use quail call-pen traps for the purpose of 

recovering such quail subject to the following restrictions: 

Licensed game bird propagators that raise and release pen-raised 

quail on his or her property for dog training shall be authorized to 

use quail call-pen traps to recover released quail, subject to the 

following requirements: 

(1) All traps shall have a weather-resistant 

permanent tag attached with the propagator's 

name and address written legibly on it; legibly; 

(2) No such trap shall be located with within 100 

yards of any outside boundary of the premises; 

property; and 

(3) All quail released for dog training shall be 

banded; and 

(4)(3) No trapped, unbanded quail caught in any such 

trap shall be retained. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-291.1. 

 

SECTION .1100 - FURBEARER PROPAGATION 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1101 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

FURBEARER PROPAGATION LICENSE 

Application for a license to propagate any species of furbearing 

animal or red foxes (Vulpes vulpes, including all color phases) for 

use as fur shall be made to the Wildlife Resources Commission 

on a form which is available from the Commission upon request. 

All pertinent information required on the application form shall 

be filled in to include the nature and name of the applying entity, 

mailing address, telephone number, species of animal to be 

propagated, and physical location of the propagation facility. The 

application must be accompanied by the annual license fee in the 

amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and mailed or otherwise 

delivered to the Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N. 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611. 

(a)  The furbearer propagation license shall authorize the 

propagation of furbearing animals and red foxes, including all 

color phases, for use as fur. Furbearer propagation license holders 

shall be authorized to do the following: 

(1) Breed the species of animal designated on the 

license; 

(2) Acquire live specimens authorized on the 

license from permitted ranch-raised breeding 

stock; 

(3) Raise live specimens for the production of 

marketable fur; 

(4) Sell domestically produced fur to a licensed fur 

dealer; and 

(5) Buy and sell live specimens from or to a 

furbearer propagation license holder, a 

captivity license holder, or a licensed non-

resident producer of ranch-raised breeding 

stock. 

(b)  Application for a furbearer propagation license shall be made 

on a form available from the Commission at www.ncwildlife.org 

or at the Commission headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27606-2576. Information required from the applicant 

shall include: 

(1) The applicant's name; 

(2) The applicant's residence or mailing address; 

(3) The physical address of the propagation 

facility; 

(4) The applicant's telephone number; and 

(5) The species of animal to be propagated. 

(c)  The furbearer propagation license shall be conspicuously 

posted at the propagation facility at all times. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 
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15A NCAC 10H .1102 LICENSE AUTHORIZATION 

The furbearer propagation license authorizes the breeding of the 

species designated thereon, the acquisition of live specimens 

obtained from lawful sources, the raising of same to maturity for 

the production of marketable fur, and the selling of domestically 

produced furs to licensed fur dealers. The furbearer propagation 

license authorizes the buying and selling of live specimens of the 

animals from or to a holder of either a furbearer propagation 

license or a captivity license. 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1103 POSTING AND DISPLAY OF 

LICENSE 

The furbearer propagation license shall be conspicuously posted 

and displayed at the propagation facility at all times during which 

the facility is in use for the propagation of furbearers. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1104 CAGES MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CAGING AND CARE 

(a)  Types of Cages. Cages for holding the animals being propagated shall be of two types: 

(1)(a)  Breeder cages shall be used to hold a pair of animals for breeding and to hold the female and her litter from the time the litter is 

born until weaning; 

(2)(b)  Pelter cages shall only be used only to hold single animals. 

(b)(c)  Sizes of Cages.  The minimum dimensions of cages in depth (d), width (w)(w), and height (h) measured in feet shall be as follows 

depending on the species of animals being held: 

 

SPECIES  BREEDER CAGE PELTER CAGE 

(d x w x h) (d x w x h) 

 

Beaver   3 x 6 x 2.5  3 x 4 x 2.5 

Bobcat   3 x 6 x 2.5  3 x 4 x 2.5 

Fox   3 x 6 x 2.5 5.0 x 3.0 x 3.0 2.5 x 4 x 2.5 2.5 x 3.0 x 3.0 

Mink   2 x 3 x 1.5 2.0 x 0.8 x 1.0 2 x 2 x 1.5 2.0 x 0.5 x 1.0 

Nutria   3 x 3 x 2.0  3 x 2 x 2.0 

Opossum  3 x 3 x 2.0  3 x 2 x 2.0 

Otter   3 x 5 x 1.5  3 x 3 x 1.5 

Raccoon   3 x 4 x 2.0  3 x 2 x 2.0 

Skunk   3 x 3 x 1.5  3 x 2 x 1.5 

Weasel   2 x 2 x 1.5  1 x 2 x 1.5 

 

(c)  Cage Construction. The cages must be sturdily constructed of 

appropriate materials sufficient to retain the animals without 

tethers or chains, which may be used to restrain the animals only 

during the transfer of the animals from one cage to another. Cages 

must be provided with den areas in which the animals can retire 

from view and which are large enough to permit the animals to 

turn around and lie down. 

(d)  Cage Arrangement. All cages must be maintained within a 

larger escape-proof enclosure that must also be designed to 

prevent access by domestic dogs and cats. The cages must provide 

protection of the animals from excess exposure to the son and 

inclement weather. The cages must be solidly based at least two 

feet above ground or floor level to facilitate cleaning. 

(d)  Each license holder shall comply with the following general 

cage requirements: 

(1) cages shall be constructed of non-toxic, 

corrosion-resistant materials sufficient to retain 

animals without tethers or chains; 

(2) cages shall have a den area large enough for all 

the animals in that cage to turn around and lie 

down; 

(3) cages shall be housed in an area that provides 

protection from direct sunlight, precipitation, 

wind, and other weather conditions; 

(4) cages shall be designed to minimize extreme 

heat build-up and provide sufficient light to 

maintain the animal's circadian rhythms; 

(5) caging shall be ventilated; 

(6) cages shall be solidly based at least two feet 

above ground or floor level to facilitate 

cleaning; 

(7) cages shall be arranged in rows to allow visual 

and physical inspection of all areas and all 

species and to allow space for operations and 

cleaning; and 

(8) a perimeter fence shall be maintained around 

the housing area and shall include a dig barrier 

designed to prevent escape and access by 

domestic and wild animals. 

(e)  Each license holder shall comply with the following general 

care requirements: 

(1) water: clean drinking water shall be provided. 

All pools, tanks, water areas, and water 

containers provided for swimming, wading, or 

drinking shall be clean. Enclosures shall 

provide drainage for surface water and runoff; 

(2) sanitation: water disposal and waste disposal 

shall be in accordance with all applicable local, 

State, and federal laws. 

(3) food: food shall be of a type and quantity that is 

appropriate for the particular species and shall 

be provided in an unspoiled and 

uncontaminated condition; and 
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(4) waste: fecal and food waste shall be removed 

from inside, under, and around enclosures and 

disposed of in a manner that prevents noxious 

odors or pests 

(5) ectoparasites: a program for the control of 

ectoparasites and vermin shall be established 

and maintained. Methods to control insects 

shall be employed and only EPA approved 

insecticides shall be used. Biological pest 

control methods may be used where 

appropriate. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1105 SANITATION AND CARE 

Clean water must be made available to the animals at all times. 

Fresh food shall be provided daily. An effective program for 

control of insects, ectoparasites, and odor shall be established and 

maintained. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1106 HUMANE TREATMENT 

No act or omission shall be allowed to occur nor any circumstance 

to continue which shall result in the infliction of unnecessary 

harassment or physical discomfort on any furbearing animals or 

fox. Animals shall be observed daily for signs of poor health or 

injury. Animals that are visibly sick, injured, in pain or suffering 

shall be provided prompt medical care or euthanized as soon as 

possible. The killing euthanization of the animal in preparation for 

marketing the fur shall be by a method which is quick and 

effective to the end that the animal is not subjected to prolonged 

harassment or physical abuse. designed to cause minimal distress 

and pain as well as rapid, irreversible loss of consciousness and 

cardiac arrest. The license holder shall confirm death by ensuring 

respiration has ceased. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1107 RECORDS AND INSPECTIONS 

(a)  The licensee Furbearer propagation license holders shall 

maintain accurate records reflecting records containing the 

following information: 

(1) the numbers and species of furbearing animals 

or foxes acquired, acquired; 

(2) the dates and sources of acquisition, 

acquisition; 

(3) the numbers of animals produced by breeding 

and the numbers successfully raised for market, 

market; and 

(4) the numbers of animals or pelts sold or 

otherwise disposed of of, together with the 

dates of disposition disposition, and the 

identities of the recipients. recipients, if sold 

alive. 

Such records shall be maintained on a calendar year basis 

concurrent with the license year and shall be retained on the 

licensed premises for at least one year following the year to which 

they pertain. 

(b)  The records required by this Rule shall be maintained by 

calendar-year and shall be retained for at least one year following 

the end of the calendar year to which they pertain. The records 

required pursuant to this rule shall be available for inspection at 

the request of the Commission. 

(c)  Representatives of the Commission shall be permitted to enter 

the premises of a license holder's furbearer propagation facility 

upon request or during business hours for inspection, 

enforcement, or scientific purposes. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1108 INSPECTIONS 

The records required by Rule .1107 of this Section and the 

physical facilities of the licensee shall be made available for 

inspection by authorized agents of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission at any time during business hours. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

SECTION .1300 – REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1301 COMMERCIAL TAKE OF 

CERTAIN TURTLES AND TERRAPINS PROHIBITED 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, "commercial taking" means the 

taking, possession, collection, transportation, purchase or sale of 

five or more individual turtles or any turtle part, per person in a 

calendar year. It is unlawful to engage in the commercial taking 

of any native turtle or terrapin species in the families Emydidae 

or Trionychidae, except the public may obtain possession permits 

from the Wildlife Resources Commission for possession, 

transportation, purchase or sale of these turtles and terrapins as 

described pursuant to Rule .1302 of this Section. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, "commercial taking" is defined as 

the taking, possession, collection, transportation, purchase or sale 

of five or more individual turtles or terrapins, or any part thereof, 

per person in any given year. It shall be unlawful to engage in the 

commercial taking of any native turtle species in the families 

Emydidae or Trionychidae. 

(c)  The prohibition on collection in this Rule shall not apply to 

the following: 

(1) A licensed veterinarian when holding for 

purposes of medical treatment; 

(2) A holder of a valid rehabilitation captivity 

permit for the purposes of rehabilitation; 

(3) A publicly-financed zoo, scientific research 

facility or institution of higher education, or any 

state or federal agency; 

(4) Any person who accidentally collects five or 

more turtles or terrapins incidental to any 

lawful activity, and who immediately returns 

them to the wild; or 

(5) Property owners who legally apply for and 

receive depredation permits from the Wildlife 

Resources Commission, or one of its Wildlife 

Damage Control Agents. 

(d)  Any person who was in lawful possession of five or more 

native turtles or terrapins in aggregate at the time of the effective 

date of this Rule shall apply for a possession permit to retain them. 
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The permit to retain these animals shall be applied for before 

January 1, 2008. No native turtles or terrapins turtle shall be 

purchased or sold without a permit. Permittees are subject to all 

requirements and conditions described in Rule .1302 of this 

Section. sold, except snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with 

a curved carapace length of 11 inches or greater. 

(e)  Violators are subject to a replacement cost per individual 

turtle that shall equal the replacement cost for "species with no 

open season" as set forth in 15A NCAC 10B.0117(c) until such 

time as replacement costs for each genus of turtle in these families 

is established by the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-333(a)(6). 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1302 POSSESSION OF REPTILES 

AND AMPHIBIANS 

(a)  Permits required. Possession permits are required for the 

possession, importation, transportation, purchase, and sale of: 

(1) 25 or more individuals of any combination of 

native amphibian species; or 

(2) five or more individuals of native reptile 

species. 

(b)  Permits not required. Possession permits are not shall not be 

required for the possession, importation, transportation, purchase, 

and sale of: 

(1) 24 or fewer individuals of any combination of 

native amphibian species; or 

(2) four or fewer individuals of native reptile 

species, except snapping turtles (Chelydra 

serpentina) less than 11 inches (curved carapace 

length) shall not be possessed. Individuals in 

possession of snapping turtles (Chelydra 

serpentina) less than 11 inches (curved carapace 

length) prior to May 1, 2017 are exempt from 

this restriction. species. 

(c)  Unauthorized activities. Nothing in this Rule shall be 

construed to authorize the collection of any wildlife resources 

from the wild or the taking, possession, transportation, sale, 

purchase, or release to the wild of any wildlife resources or their 

parts in violation of State or federal laws or regulations. 

(d)  At no time shall permitted animals be released to the wild, 

except under situations of research or rehabilitation with written 

permission from the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(e)  The sale of native turtles shall be unlawful, except for 

snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with a curved carapace 

length of 11 inches or greater. 

(d)(f)  Denial of possession permits. Circumstances for which, and 

persons to whom a  A possession permit shall not be issued 

include: for: 

(1) for the purpose of holding reptiles and 

amphibians that were acquired unlawfully; 

(2) for the purpose of holding reptiles and 

amphibians for unlawful sale or trade; 

(3) for the purpose of possessing or selling 

snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) less than 

11 inches (curved carapace length) length). 

however, individuals in possession of snapping 

turtles (Chelydra serpentina) less than 11 inches 

(curved carapace length) prior to May 1, 2017 

are exempt from this restriction; 

(4) to persons who collect collecting five or more 

individual native turtles or terrapins from the 

families Emydidae or Trionychidae from the 

wild in a given year, except those entities 

exempted from collection in Paragraph (c) of 

Rule .1301 of this Section; 

(5) to persons who collect collecting five or more 

individuals in aggregate from other native 

reptile families or 25 or more individual 

amphibians from the wild in a given year 

without first having secured a valid Collection 

License; 

(6) to persons individuals found to be in violation 

of Collection License, Endangered Species 

Permit, or Possession Permit requirements as 

provided in 15A NCAC 10B .0119, 10I .0100, 

and 10H .1300. 

(7) to persons individuals who do not first obtain 

possession permits prior to acquiring the 

following wildlife resources unless the 

acquisition of these animals was made prior to 

May 1, 2007 and a permit was acquired within 

12 months of that date: resources: 

(A) 25 or more individuals of any 

combination of native amphibian 

species; or 

(B) five or more individuals of native 

reptile species. 

(e)(g)  Term of Permit.  The permit shall be valid from January 1 

through December 31 of the applicable year. 

(f)(h)  Reports on Permitted Animals. Each individual  Individuals 

permitted under this Rule shall submit a report to the Wildlife 

Resources Commission within 15 days following the date of 

expiration of the permit. permit expiration. The report shall show 

contain the numbers of each species held under the permit and the 

use or disposition thereof. The Executive Director may require 

additional information for statistical purposes such as the source 

and date of acquisition of additional animals and the sex, size, 

weight, condition, reproductive success and approximate age of 

each animal in possession. 

(g)  Other Requirements and Restrictions. The Executive Director 

may, pursuant to G.S. 113-274(c), impose such other 

requirements and restrictions on persons permitted under this 

Rule as he may deem to be necessary to the efficient 

administration of the wildlife conservation statutes and rules. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-274(c)(1c). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to amend the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 18A .2816. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 
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Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 24, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Cardinal Conference Room, located at 5605 Six Forks 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Child care centers serve young 

children who are especially vulnerable to the negative effects of 

lead exposure.  Currently, there is no requirement for child care 

centers served by public water systems to investigate the presence 

of lead in their water at the point of use.  The proposed rule 

amendment requires that child care centers periodically test for 

lead in water from outlets used for drinking and food preparation 

and mitigate if testing reveals lead concentrations above the lead 

hazard level. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, Rulemaking 

Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1931; phone (919) 707-5006; email 

cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .2800 - SANITATION OF CHILD CARE 

CENTERS 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2816 LEAD POISONING HAZARDS IN 

CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  In child care centers, areas accessible to children shall be free 

of identified lead poisoning hazards as defined under G.S. 130A-

131.7(7). 

(b)  The following actions shall be taken to ensure that drinking 

water in child care centers is free of identified lead poisoning 

hazards as defined under G.S. 130A-131.7(7)(g). 

(1) Child care operators, as defined under G.S. 110-

86(7), shall test, at least once every three years, 

all water outlets used for drinking or food 

preparation. Samples shall also be collected and 

tested within 30 calendar days of completion of 

any renovations or repairs that may impact the 

facility's drinking water infrastructure, such as 

repair or replacement of all or part of drinking 

water service lines or faucets. The operator 

shall provide documentation of testing results 

for review by the Department of Health and 

Human Services (Department) during each 

unannounced routine sanitation inspection 

under Rule .2834(b) of this Section. 

(2) For centers that submit an application for 

licensure after the effective date of this Rule, 

initial samples shall be collected by the child 

care operator and tested in accordance with 

Subparagraph (b)(4) of this Rule during the 

license application process, in accordance with 

10A NCAC 09 .0302(b). 

(3) For all other centers, initial samples shall be 

collected by the child care operator and tested 

in accordance with Subparagraph (b)(4) of this 

Rule within one year of the effective date of this 

Rule. 

(4) Samples shall be collected and tested in 

accordance with guidance specified by the 

United States Environmental Protection 

Agency in its publication, 3Ts for Reducing 

Lead in Drinking Water in Schools and Child 

Care Facilities, which is incorporated by 

reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.epa.gov/dwreginfo/3ts-reducing-

lead-drinking-water-schools-and-child-care-

facilities. Notwithstanding the foregoing 

guidance, samples may be collected with a 

stagnation period of up to 72 hours. Samples 

shall be analyzed by a laboratory certified by 

the North Carolina State Laboratory of Public 

Health to analyze for lead in drinking water. 

(5) When a water sample is analyzed for lead 

content by a laboratory under this Rule, the 

laboratory shall notify the Department of the 

test results by electronic submission in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-131.8. 

(6) When a child care center receives test results 

from a laboratory indicating that a water sample 

collected by the child care operator contains a 

lead concentration at or above the lead 
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poisoning hazard level defined in G.S. 130A-

131.7(7)(g), the child care operator shall 

immediately: 

(A) restrict access to any water outlet(s) 

used for drinking or food preparation 

that have lead concentrations at or 

above the lead poisoning hazard level; 

and 

(B) ensure that all children and staff have 

access to water free of cost that does 

not contain lead concentrations at or 

above the lead poisoning hazard level 

for drinking and food preparation. 

(7) When notified of a water lead level at or above 

the lead poisoning hazard level, the Department 

shall conduct sampling at the water outlet 

identified to have a water lead level at or above 

the lead poisoning hazard level within seven 

calendar days of notification. 

(8) If a water sample collected by the Department 

reveals a water lead level at or above the lead 

poisoning hazard level, the child care operator 

shall continue to restrict access to water 

outlet(s) and provide alternate water as set out 

in Subparagraph (b)(6) of this Rule until the 

Department determines the water outlet(s) are 

not producing water lead levels at or above the 

lead poisoning hazard level and notifies the 

child care operator and the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education in writing of 

this determination. 

(9) Failure to comply with Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule or any one or more components of this 

Paragraph shall be deemed a violation of this 

Rule subject to demerits under Rule 

.2834(c)(20) of this Section. 

(10) Within three business days of receiving the test 

results of the Department's water analysis that 

indicate a water lead level at or above the lead 

poisoning hazard level, the child care operator 

shall provide written notification of the test 

results to the parents or legal guardians of the 

children attending the child care center and the 

staff of the child care center, in accordance with 

the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency guidance specified in Subparagraph 

(b)(4) of this Rule. 

(11) Within five business days of receiving the test 

results of the Department's water analysis that 

indicate a water lead level at or above the lead 

poisoning hazard level, the child care operator 

shall make the test results available to the 

public, free of charge. The child care operator 

may post test results to the child care center's 

website to satisfy the requirement to make the 

test results available to the public. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-91; 130A-131.5; 130A-131.7(7); 130A-131.8. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 40 - STATE BOARD OF OPTICIANS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Opticians intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 40 .0325, amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 40 .0101, 

.0104, .0109, .0209, .0212, .0302, .0303, .0314, .0319-.0321, 

.0323, and repeal the rule cited as 21 NCAC 40 .0108. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined that 

publication of the complete text of the rules proposed for repeal 

is impractical. The text of the repealed rules is accessible on the 

OAH Website: http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncopticiansboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 19, 2019 

Time:  1:00 pm 

Location:  3809 Computer Drive Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 40 .0101 - Updates the current address of the Board. 

21 NCAC 40 .0104 - Clarifies the types of applications that may 

be requested from the Board office and that applications must be 

received by the Board on or before the application deadline. 

21 NACA 40 .0108 - GS 90-246 was amended to set the exact 

amount of fees to be charged, rendering the rule redundant and 

subject to repeal. 

21 NCAC 40 .0109 - Eliminates requirement that Election 

Committee be comprised of Board members. 

21 NCAC 40 .0209 - Clarifies that optician in charge shall display 

his or her registration conspicuously in the optical places of 

business where he or she accepts responsibility. 

21 NCAC 40 .0212 - Updates the referenced statutory citation to 

accurately reflect the correct citation. 

21 NCAC 40 .0302 - Eliminates practice of applying a paid fee 

toward a future examination, if the licensee fails to take the 

examination for which the fee was paid. 

21 NCAC 40 .0303 - Amends the process by which examinations 

are administered, taken, and deemed passed; eliminates the 

process by which taken exams may be reviewed. 

21 NCAC 40 .0314 - Reduces the minimum hours of work required 

per week for the apprenticeship period. 

21 NCAC 40 .0319 - Establishes the deadline by which the 

applicant must register for his or her internship following 

notification from the Board concerning the applicant’s licensure 

eligibility. 

21 NCAC 40 .0320 - Establishes process by which licensee may 

obtain inactive status and return to active status from inactive 

status. 
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21 NCAC 40 .0321 - Eliminates notarization requirement from 

application for licensees who wish to train an apprentice or 

intern. 

21 NCAC 40 .0323 - Eliminates notarization requirement from 

Board applications. 

21 NCAC 40 .0325 - Implement the requirements of GS 93B-15.1 

related to military-trained applicants and military spouses. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Sue Hodgin, North Carolina 

State Board of Opticians, PO Box 6758, Raleigh, NC 27628-

6758; phone (919) 420-1390; fax (919) 420-1361; email 

shodgin@ncopticiansboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  August 2, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 - LOCATION 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0101 LOCATION AND FUNCTION 

The Board is physically located at 222 North Person Street, 3809 

Computer Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina 27601. 27609. Its 

mailing address is Post Office Box 25336, 6758, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27611-5336. 27628-6758. The State Board of Opticians 

is created and operated pursuant to Article 17, Chapter 90, of the 

General Statutes of North Carolina for the purpose of regulating 

the training, education, examination and practice of dispensing 

opticians. Its functions include the following: 

(1) monitoring the location and activities of 

apprentices, interns, licensees and places where 

dispensing takes place; 

(2) examining applicants for licenses with and 

without examination; and 

(3) investigating and prosecuting complaints 

against licensees and unlicensed persons. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-239. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0104 INFORMATION AND 

APPLICATION 

(a)  Any person desiring to become a North Carolina licensed 

optician may obtain information on licensure and an application 

form by download from the Board webpage. Application forms 

must be completed in order to be considered for licensure by 

waiver of the examination, or to sit for the licensure examination. 

(b)  Any person not able to download licensure information, or the 

licensure or examination application, or training or renewal 

application, may request that the Board office mail the materials 

which the Board will subsequently mail to the requesting person. 

(c)  When submitting an application for licensure or examination, 

the applicant shall submit all applicable fees as set out in 21 

NCAC 40 .0108. forth in G.S. 90-246. Additionally, the applicant 

shall provide: 

(1) information, including an affirmation regarding 

whether the applicant has violated G.S. 90, 

Article 17, or Title 21, Chapter 40, of the North 

Carolina Administrative Code, or been 

convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, 

misdemeanor; 

(2) information as to whether the applicant has 

been named as a defendant or respondent to a 

lawsuit involving fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation; malpractice, unethical 

conduct, gross negligence, or gross misconduct, 

misconduct; and 

(3) the applicant's age. 

(d)  Additionally, the applicant shall include the following when 

submitting the application: 

(1) evidence of qualifications to comply with G.S. 

90-237 or G.S. 90-241, whichever applicable, 

applicable; and 

(2) a passport-size photograph taken within six 

months of the date the application is submitted 

to the Board. 

(e)  Applications of any type must be received by the Board on or 

before any stated or printed deadline. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-237; 90-239; 90-240; 90-249(6); 

90-249.1(a)(8). 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0108 FEES 

 

Authority G.S. 90-246; 90-249(a)(9). 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0109 ELECTION OF MEMBERS 

(a)  Optician/licensee appointments to the Board are selected by 

election and gubernatorial appointment. By April 1 of each year, 

any licensed optician desiring his or her name to be placed in 

nomination shall forward a petition endorsed by five licensees to 

the Board. 

(b)  By April 10 of each year, the Board of Opticians shall prepare 

and distribute by mail to each North Carolina licensee eligible to 

vote: 

(1) a notice of the election, its dates and method of 

participation, participation; 
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(2) the name of each nominee, nominee; 

(3) biographical information on each nominee, 

nominee; 

(4) a ballot, ballot; and 

(5) a return envelope. 

(c)  The return envelope containing the ballot shall be postmarked 

no later than April 30. The enclosed ballot will not be valid unless 

the optician's signature, license number, and correct mailing 

address are on the left top corner of the return envelope. 

(d)  The Board Chair shall appoint an Election Committee of at 

least three Board members, who shall not be nominees. The 

Election Committee shall review all ballots that have been 

determined valid based on this Rule, and count all the valid 

ballots. 

(e)  Based upon the canvass by the Election Committee, the Board 

Chair shall submit to the Governor a list of three nominees which 

shall be listed from highest to lowest votes and percentages 

received for each nominee. 

(f)  The Governor shall complete the appointment process based 

on G.S. 90-238. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-238. 

 

SECTION .0200 - CONDUCT OF REGISTRANTS 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0209 DISPLAY OF REGISTRATION 

AND LICENSE 

(a)  Each registered optical place of business or training 

establishment shall display its registration certificate in a 

conspicuous and public area of the principal place of business. 

(b)  Each optician in charge shall display his or her registration 

certificate in a conspicuous and public part of the optical place of 

business for which he or she accepts responsibility. 

(b)(c)  Each apprentice and intern shall display his or her 

registration certificate in a conspicuous and public part of the 

training establishment wherein he or she is engaged as a trainee. 

(c)(d)  Each optician to whom a license has been granted shall 

display his or her license and current renewal seal in a 

conspicuous and public part of the office or establishment wherein 

he or she is engaged as a dispensing optician. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-244. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0212 DUTY TO PROVIDE DIRECT 

SUPERVISION 

The failure of an optical place of business or a licensed optician, 

who owns or has a controlling interest in an optical place of 

business or under whose name an optical place of business or 

branch thereof is registered, to provide direct supervision of an 

unlicensed person working at such business or branch and 

performing acts constituting the practice of opticianry shall 

constitute a violation of G.S. 90-249.1(a)(2). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-239; 90-249.1(a)(2); 90-253. 

 

SECTION .0300 - QUALIFICATIONS: APPLICATIONS: 

AND LICENSING 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0302 LICENSURE EXAMINATION 

FEES 

(a)  The full fee for licensure examination participation eligibility 

determination shall be remitted to the Board by cash, certified 

check or money order. There shall be no prorating of the fee. 

(b)  The full fee shall be paid for each examination date in which 

an applicant participates; there shall be no prorating of the fee. 

(c)(b)  Licensure examination fees shall not be returned due to the 

withdrawal of the applicant or failure to take the examination after 

the fee has been accepted by the Board. The Board shall, however, 

apply a remitted and accepted fee to a future examination, upon 

receipt of an updated and fully executed examination application. 

If, during its review of an application, the Board determines that 

information submitted is false, misleading or deceptive, the Board 

shall deny the application but retain any fees paid. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-245; 90-246. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0303 LICENSURE EXAMINATION 

AND RE-EXAMINATION 

(a)  A candidate who has met the qualifications as defined in G.S. 

90-237, and either 90-240 or 90-241(b) shall be admitted to a 

Practical component of the licensure examination upon the 

Board's receipt of a fully executed application and the 

examination fee. 

(b)  The examination shall be administered at least twice yearly, 

at a time and location specified by the Board. Board or any of its 

examination administration agents. 

(c)  Exam applications obtained by procedures outlined in Rule 

.0104 of this Chapter must be properly executed and received by 

the Board no later than 60 days prior to the Board-specified date 

of an examination. opening of the exam registration period 

specified by the Board or any of its examination administration 

agents. 

(d)  If, during its review of an application, the Board determines 

that a candidate has participated in a Practical exam without first 

having their qualifications examined by the Board, the Board shall 

deny any passing score obtained by the candidate and require 

subsequent re-examination in the Practical. 

(d)(e)  The licensure exam shall consist of written and practical 

components. An optician's license shall not be issued until a 

passing score has been achieved on all components within three 

years from the date one component is successfully completed. 

(e)(f)  A participant who is unsuccessful in passing an exam 

component may retake the failed components upon timely receipt 

of an updated and properly executed exam retake application 

registration and remittance of the examination fee. fee to the 

administration agent. 

(f)  A participant who is unsuccessful in passing an exam 

component may see the failed portion of his or her examination 

by registering for a Board-proctored exam review. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-240; 90-249; 93B-8. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0314 APPRENTICESHIP AND 

INTERNSHIP REQUIREMENTS: REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each apprentice or intern entering the apprenticeship or 

internship shall register with the Board and be issued a certificate 

of registration. Registration of the apprenticeship automatically 
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expires on the first day of July of each year, and, in order for the 

apprenticeship to continue, registration must be renewed each 

succeeding July 1 until the apprenticeship is completed. If the 

apprenticeship or internship is to be supervised by an 

ophthalmologist or optometrist, the supervisor shall provide a 

statement in which he agrees to abide by the same requirements 

as would an optician providing the same training. 

(b)  Part-time work or work as an optical salesman or consultant 

shall not apply toward completion of apprenticeship or internship. 

(c)  The work as an apprentice or intern shall be full time, defined 

as a minimum of 35 32 hours per week, under the supervision of 

a licensed optician, ophthalmologist, or optometrist. 

(d)  In addition to the work specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 

the curriculum for the apprentice shall include one of the 

following, as chosen by the apprentice: 

(1) an optical curriculum certificate program 

presented by a school of opticianry approved 

pursuant to 21 NCAC 40 .0312, Rule .0312 of 

this Chapter; or 

(2) the National Academy of Opticianry's home 

study career progression program, program; or 

(3) any apprenticeship program, approved by the 

Board, which is offered by an optical place of 

business registered with the Board pursuant to 

21 NCAC 40 .0202. Rule .0202 of this Chapter. 

The Board shall approve such apprenticeship 

program if the program's curriculum summary 

contains subject matter similar to the 

curriculum summary of the National Academy 

of Opticianry's home study career progression 

program. 

The classroom and laboratory time spent in the optical curriculum 

certificate program shall be credited as part of the apprenticeship 

period and its minimum of 35 32 hours per week. Certification 

that the apprentice has completed and passed one of the programs 

shall be required. Apprentices registered with the Board on or 

before March 1, 1996, shall not be subject to the provisions of this 

Paragraph and may satisfy the apprenticeship requirement by 

completing the training program in which they are then registered. 

(e)  No more than two persons, whether apprentices or interns or 

a combination, may be trained by an optician, ophthalmologist, or 

optometrist at the same time. 

(f)  An apprentice or intern shall be credited with training time 

only from the date of registration with the Board as an apprentice 

or intern. The apprenticeship or internship may not be interrupted 

for more than 12 months at the time. 

(g)  When registering to serve a six month internship, the applicant 

must have completed the three two and one-half years of 

apprenticeship as required by G.S. 90-240(a)(2) and (3) or have 

completed the course of training required by G.S. 90-240(a)(1). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-239; 90-240; 90-243; 90-249. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0319 APPLICANTS FROM OTHER 

STATES 

(a)  An applicant seeking licensure in North Carolina under G.S. 

90-241(a) shall tender an application to the Board accompanied 

by affidavits from two persons with whom the applicant worked 

as an optician for the previous four years. In addition, the 

applicant shall furnish affidavits from two licensed refractionists, 

either ophthalmologists or optometrists, that the applicant has 

practiced the profession of opticianry for four years in another 

state immediately prior to the application. An application under 

G.S. 90-241(a) must be filed with the Board not more than 90 days 

following the termination of the applicant's out-of-state opticianry 

work for which the applicant claims credit. 

(b)  An applicant seeking admission to an examination under G.S. 

90-241(b) shall tender an application to the Board accompanied 

by affidavits from two persons under whom or with whom the 

applicant lawfully worked in the practice of opticianry in the other 

state, either in one or multiple places of business. The application 

and the affidavits shall describe the tasks performed by the 

applicant in the other state and the dates the tasks were performed. 

(c)  An application under G.S. 90-241(a) must be filed with the 

Board not more than 90 days following the termination of the 

applicant's out-of-state opticianry work for which the applicant 

claims credit. 

(c)  An applicant seeking licensure in North Carolina under G.S. 

90-241 must register with the Board to serve a 6 month internship 

pursuant to Rule .0314 of this Chapter not more than 12 months 

following the date of notification from the Board concerning the 

applicant's licensure eligibility. The applicant shall reapply for 

licensure with the Board if the fully executed internship 

registration is not received in the Board office within the required 

timeframe. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-237; 90-239; 90-241; 90-249(12). 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0320 LICENSE RENEWAL 

INFORMATION 

(a)  Each registrant is sent an application to renew licensure 

yearly. The application application, required education 

documentation, and specified fee must be returned received in the 

Board office prior to renewal. 

(b)  A registrant may apply to the Board for change of status to 

inactive status. Application for any status change shall be made 

on the form provided by the Board. 

(c)  A registrant with an approval for inactive practice status shall 

not practice as a licensed optician. A registrant in inactive practice 

status may not remain in inactive status if found in practice. 

Registrants in inactive status shall pay the yearly renewal fee and 

complete a renewal form for inactive practice status but are not 

required to obtain annual continuing education hours during such 

periods of inactivity. 

(d)  A registrant in inactive status may apply to the Board to 

change to active status by: 

(1) completing the form provided by the Board; 

(2) attending the required continuing education 

hours for the current year as set forth in Rule 

.0206 of this Chapter; and 

(3) paying the license restoration fee as set forth in 

G.S. 90-246. 

(e)  The Board will notify registrants of receipt of yearly licensure 

renewal and of approval of status changes. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-244(b). 
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21 NCAC 40 .0321 TRAINING ESTABLISHMENT 

REQUIREMENTS 

Any North Carolina licensed optician, ophthalmologist, or 

optometrist as provided in G.S. 90-237 (4) and G.S. 90-240(a)(2) 

and (3) who proposes to train an apprentice or intern to become 

an optician shall fill out and sign under oath an application to do 

so. In addition, the training establishment must meet the 

requirements of the Board to train an apprentice or intern in 

opticianry. These requirements are: 

(1) providing the list of minimum equipment 

specified by the Board; 

(2) submitting a schedule of work processes and 

indicating the number of hours to be devoted to 

each work process for the apprentice and/or 

intern as outlined in the curriculum approved by 

the Board; 

(3) administering and returning any test required by 

the Board for trainees and submitting requested 

periodic statements regarding compliance; and 

(4) allowing on-site inspection of the training 

establishment by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-237(4); 90-240(3); 90-243; 90-249. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0323 AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 

(a)  Applicants for any Board process (training, examination, and 

licensure application) shall attest under oath to the completeness 

and accuracy of the information contained in applications. 

(b)  The Board may decide to conduct a criminal background 

check as a part of its application review. Application fees are 

inclusive of costs involved for such investigations, and no 

additional charges shall be assessed against the applicant. 

(c)  If an applicant submits incomplete, false, or misleading 

information, the Board shall bar any applicant from admission to 

examination, apprenticeship, internship, business business, or 

training establishment registrations or licensure. 

(d)  If any optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist submits 

incomplete, false false, or misleading information, then the Board 

shall bar them from training. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-243; 90-249. 

 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0325 LICENSURE FOR MILITARY-

TRAINED APPLICANT; LICENSURE FOR MILITARY 

SPOUSE 

(a)  Licensure for a military-trained applicant. Upon receipt of a 

request for licensure pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from a military-

trained applicant, the Board shall issue a license to the applicant 

who satisfies the following conditions: 

(1) submission of a complete Application for 

License to Practice Ophthalmic Dispensing, 

pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1, Military 

Training/Experience or Spouse of Military 

Personnel; 

(2) submission of a license fee as set forth in G.S. 

90-246; 

(3) providing documentation to satisfy conditions 

set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(a)(1) and (2); and 

(4) providing documentation that the applicant has 

not committed any act in any jurisdiction that 

would constitute grounds for refusal, 

suspension, or revocation of a license in North 

Carolina at the time the act was committed. 

(b)  Licensure for a military spouse. Upon receipt of a request for 

licensure pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from a military spouse, the 

Board shall issue a license to the applicant who satisfies the 

following conditions: 

(1) submission of a complete Application for 

License to Practice Ophthalmic Dispensing, 

pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1, Military 

Training/Experience or Spouse of Military 

Personnel; 

(2) submission of a license fee as set forth in G.S. 

90-246; 

(3) submission of written documentation 

demonstrating that the applicant is married to 

an active member of the U.S. military; 

(4) providing documentation to satisfy conditions 

set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(b)(1) and (2); 

(5) providing documentation that the applicant has 

not committed any act in any jurisdiction that 

would constitute grounds for refusal, 

suspension, or revocation of a license in North 

Carolina at the time the act was committed; and 

(6) is in good standing and has not been disciplined 

by the agency that had jurisdiction to issue the 

license, certification, or permit. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-234; 90-239; 93B-15.1. 
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TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0101 PURPOSE 

This Subchapter describes the operating procedures for the 

Division under the guidance of the Commission implementing the 

Agriculture Cost Share Program for Nonpoint Source Pollution 

Control, the Community Conservation Assistance Program for 
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Nonpoint Source Pollution Control, and the Agricultural Water 

Resources Assistance Program.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 106-860; 

139-4; 139-60; 

Eff. May 1, 1987; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 6E .0001 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 06E .0101 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0102 DEFINITIONS  

In addition to the definitions found in G.S. 106-850 and 139-3, the 

following terms used in this Subchapter have the following 

meanings: 

(1) "Agricultural Nonpoint Source (NPS) 

Pollution" means pollution originating from a 

diffuse source as a result of agricultural 

activities related to crop production, production 

and management of poultry, livestock and 

aquaculture, land application of waste 

materials, and management of forestland 

incidental to agricultural production. 

(2) "Agricultural purposes" means agricultural 

activities related to crop production, production 

and management of poultry and livestock, land 

application of waste materials, and 

management of forestland incidental to 

agricultural production. 

(3) "Allocation" means the annual share of the 

State's appropriation for each program to 

participating districts. 

(4) "Applicant" means a person(s) who applies for 

best management practice cost sharing monies 

from the district. An applicant may also be 

referred to as a "cooperator." All entities with 

which the applicant is associated, including 

those in other counties, shall be considered the 

same applicant. 

(5) "Average Costs" means the calculated cost, 

determined by averaging actual costs and 

current cost estimates for best management 

practice implementation. Actual costs include 

labor, supplies, and other costs required for 

physical installation of a practice. 

(6) "Best Management Practice (BMP)" means a 

structural or nonstructural management based 

practice used singularly or in combination to 

address natural resource needs. 

(a) For the Agriculture Cost Share 

Program and the Community 

Conservation Assistance Program, 

BMPs shall reduce nonpoint source 

inputs to receiving waters. 

(b) For the Agricultural Water Resources 

Assistance Program, BMPs shall 

increase the storage, availability, and 

use efficiency of water for agricultural 

purposes. 

(7) "Commission" means the Soil and Water 

Conservation Commission. 

(8) "Conservation Plan" means a written plan 

documenting the applicant's decisions 

concerning land use, and both cost shared and 

non-cost shared BMPs to be installed and 

maintained on the management unit. 

(9) "Cost Share Agreement" means an agreement 

between the applicant and the district that 

defines the BMPs to be cost shared, rate and 

amount of payment, minimum practice life, and 

date of BMP installation. The agreement shall 

state that the recipient shall maintain and repair 

the practice(s) for the specified minimum life of 

the practice. The Cost Share Agreement shall 

have a maximum contract life of three years for 

BMP installation. The district shall perform an 

annual status review during the installation 

period. 

(10) "Cost Share Incentive (CSI)" means a 

predetermined fixed payment paid to an 

applicant for implementing a BMP in lieu of 

cost share. 

(11) "Cost Share Rate" means a cost share 

percentage paid to an applicant for 

implementing BMPs. 

(12) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. 

(13) "Design practice" means an engineering 

practice as defined by the Natural Resources 

Conservation Service (NRCS) Technical Guide 

for North Carolina, which is incorporated by 

reference including all subsequent amendments 

and editions, and can be accessed for free at 

http://efotg.sc.egov.usda.gov/#/, or Soil and 

Water Conservation Commission list of BMPs 

that are acceptable for cost sharing. The list of 

BMPs shall be approved annually by the 

Commission and published in the Detailed 

Implementation Plan.  

(14) "Detailed Implementation Plan (DIP)" means 

the document published annually, including all 

Commission guidelines for each program for 

the current fiscal year including: 

(a) annual program goals; 

(b) district and Statewide allocations; 

(c) BMPs that will be eligible for cost 

sharing; and 

(d) the minimum life expectancy of those 

practices. 

(15) "District Allocation Pool" means the annual 

share of the State's appropriation for each 

program to be allocated to participating 

districts. 

(16) "District BMP" means a BMP requested by a 

district and approved by the Division for 

evaluation purposes.  



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2266 

(17) "Division" means the Division of Soil and 

Water Conservation. 

(18) "Encumbered Funds" means monies from a 

district's allocation that have been obligated by 

the district to a cost share agreement. 

(19) "In-kind Contribution" means a contribution by 

the applicant towards the implementation of 

BMPs. In-kind contributions shall be approved 

by the district and can include labor, fuel, 

machinery use, and supplies and materials for 

implementing the approved BMPs. 

(20) "Fiscal Year" means the period from July 1 

through June 30 for which funds are allocated 

to districts. 

(21) "Job Approval Authority" means the authority 

granted to individuals who are qualified to plan, 

design, and verify installation or 

implementation of specific practices per 

practice standards approved by the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service or the 

Commission. This authority is granted by the 

Natural Resources Conservation Service or the 

Commission. 

(22) "Landowner" means any natural person or other 

legal entity, including a governmental agency, 

who holds either an estate of freehold (such as 

a fee simple absolute or a life estate) or an estate 

for years or from year to year in land, but shall 

not include an estate at will or by sufferance in 

land. A governmental or quasi-governmental 

agency such as a drainage district or a soil and 

water conservation district, or any such agency, 

exercising similar powers for similar purposes, 

can be a landowner for the purposes of the rules 

of this Subchapter if the governmental agency 

holds an easement in land. 

(23) "Nonpoint Source (NPS) Pollution" means 

pollution originating from a diffuse source. 

(24) "Proper Maintenance" means that a practice(s) 

is being maintained such that the practice(s) is 

performing the function for which it was 

originally implemented, as determined by the 

technical representative of the district or 

Division based upon the best management 

practice design and standard. 

(25) "Regional Allocation Pool" means the annual 

share of the State's appropriation for each 

program allocated for applications ranked in the 

Division's three regions as specified in the 

annual Detailed Implementation Plan. 

(26) "Statewide Allocation Pool" means the annual 

share of the State's appropriation for 

applications ranked at the State level as 

specified in the annual Detailed 

Implementation Plan. 

(27) "Strategic Plan" means the annual plan for the 

N.C. Soil and Water Conservation Commission 

Cost Share Programs to be developed by each 

district. The plan identifies natural resource 

needs and the level of cost sharing and technical 

assistance monies required to address those 

annual needs in the respective district. 

(28) "Technical representative of the district" means 

a person designated by the district to act on their 

behalf who participates in the planning, design, 

implementation and inspection of BMPs.  

(29) "Unencumbered Funds" means the portion of 

the allocation to each district that has not been 

committed for cost sharing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 106-860; 

139-3; 139-4; 139-8; 139-60; 

Eff. May 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 1996; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 6E .0002 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 13, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2008; July 1, 2004; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 06E .0102 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0103 AGRICULTURE COST SHARE PROGRAM FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE ALLOCATION 

GUIDELINES AND PROCEDURES 

(a)  The Commission shall allocate cost share funds to districts for cost share payments and cost share incentive payments. In order to 

receive fund allocations, each district shall submit an annual strategic plan to the Commission by June 1 of each year.  

(b)  Funds shall be allocated to the districts at the beginning of the fiscal year and whenever the Commission determines that sufficient 

funds are available to justify a reallocation. District allocations shall be based on the identified level of agricultural nonpoint source 

pollution problems, the respective district's BMP installation goals as demonstrated in the district's annual strategic plan, and the district's 

record of performance to affect BMP installation by participating farmers. The allocation method used for disbursement of funds shall 

be based on the relative position of each respective district for those parameters approved by the Commission pursuant to Paragraph (g) 

of this Rule. Each district shall be assigned points for each parameter, and the points shall be totaled and proportioned to the total dollars 

available under the current program year funding according to the following formula: 

 

(1) Sum of Parameter Points  = Total Points 

(2) Percentage Total    Total    Dollars Available 

Points Each   x Dollars   = to 

District     Available   Each District 
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(3) The minimum allocated to a district shall be 

twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) per program 

year, unless the district requests less than 

twenty thousand dollars ($20,000). 

(4) If a district requests less than the dollars 

available to that district in Subparagraph (b)(2) 

of this Rule, then the excess funds shall be 

allocated to the districts who did not receive 

their full requested allocation using the same 

methodology described in Subparagraph (b)(2) 

of this Rule. 

(c)  In the initial allocation, 95 percent of the annual appropriation 

shall be allocated to district accounts administered by the 

Division. The Division shall retain five percent of the annual 

appropriation as a contingency to be used to respond to an 

emergency or natural disaster. If the contingency funds are not 

needed to respond to an emergency, then they shall be available 

for allocation after March 1. 

(d)  The Commission may recall funds allocated to a district that 

have not been encumbered to an agreement at any time if it 

determines the recalled funds are needed to respond to an 

emergency or natural disaster. 

(e)  At any time a district may submit a revised strategic plan to 

request additional funds from the Commission. 

(f)  Agreements that encumber funds under the current fiscal year 

shall be submitted to the Division by 5:00 p.m. on June 30. 

(g)  For the Agriculture Cost Share Program for Nonpoint Source 

Pollution Control, districts shall be allocated funds based on their 

respective data for each of the following parameters: 

(1) Percentage of total acres of agricultural land in 

North Carolina that are in the respective district 

as reported in the most recent edition of the 

North Carolina Census of Agriculture. This 

report is incorporated by reference with all 

subsequent amendments and editions and may 

be accessed at no charge at 

www.agcensus.usda.gov. The actual 

percentage shall be normalized to a 1-100 scale. 

(20%) 

(2) Percentage of total number of animal units in 

North Carolina that are in the respective district 

as reported in the most recent edition of the 

North Carolina Census of Agriculture and 

converted to animal units using the conversion 

factors approved by the USDA-Natural 

Resources Conservation Service. The actual 

percentage shall be normalized to a 1-100 scale. 

(20%) 

(3) Relative rank of the percentage of the county 

outside of municipal boundaries as defined by 

North Carolina Department of Transportation at 

https://gis11.services.ncdot.gov/arcgis/rest/ser

vices/NCDOT_CityBdy_Poly/MapServer/0, 

draining to waters identified as impaired or 

impacted on the most recent Integrated Report 

a produced by the North Carolina Division 

Water Resources. This report is incorporated by 

reference with subsequent amendments and 

editions, and may be accessed at no charge at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/planning/classification-

standards/classifications. (20%) 

(4) Relative rank of the percentage of the county 

draining to waters classified as Primary Nursery 

Areas, Outstanding Resource Waters, High 

Quality Waters, Trout Waters on the current 

schedule of Water Quality Standards and 

Classifications, Shellfish Harvesting Areas 

(open) as determined by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries, and North Carolina Drinking Water 

Assessment Areas as determined by the 

Division of Water Resources. All documents 

incorporated by reference may be accessed at 

no charge. The Classifications are incorporated 

by reference with subsequent amendments and 

editions, and may be accessed at no charge at 

http://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappvie

wr/index.html. The Shellfish Harvesting Areas 

may be accessed at 

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/shellfish-

closure-maps. The Drinking Water Assessment 

Areas may be accessed at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/drinking-water/drinking-water-

protection-program/mapping-applications. 

(10%) 

(5) Percentage of program funds allocated to a 

district that are expended for installed BMPs in 

the highest three of the most recent seven-year 

period as reported in the NC Cost Share 

Contracting System. (20%) 

(6) Relative rank of the number of acres of highly 

erodible land in the county as reported by the 

United States Department of Agriculture Farm 

Service Agency, unless the State 

Conservationist of the Natural Resources 

Conservation Service specifies that another 

information source would be more current and 

accurate. (10%) 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 106-860; 

139-4; 139-8; 139-60; 

Eff. May 1, 1987; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 06E .0003 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 06E .0103 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0104 COMMUNITY CONSERVATION 

ASSISTANCE PROGRAM ALLOCATION GUIDELINES 

AND PROCEDURES 

(a)  The Commission shall consider the total amount of funding 

available for allocation and relative needs for BMP 

implementation, local technical assistance, and education to 

determine the proportion of available funds to be allocated for 

each eligible purpose. This determination shall be done prior to 
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allocating funds to Statewide, regional, and district allocation 

pools and the Division. Funds may be allocated for any or all of 

the following purposes: 

(1) cost share and cost share incentive payments; 

(2) technical and administrative assistance; and 

(3) Statewide or local education and outreach 

activities. 

The percentage of funding available for each purpose and each 

allocation pool shall be specified in the annual Detailed 

Implementation Plan based upon the recommendation of the 

Division and the needs expressed by the districts. 

(b)  Based on the availability of funds, the Commission shall 

allocate cost share funds from the district allocation pool to the 

districts. To receive fund allocations, each district shall request 

funds in their strategic plan. 

(c)  Funds for cost share and cost share incentive payments shall 

be allocated to the districts at the beginning of the fiscal year and 

whenever the Commission determines that funds are available in 

the district allocation pool to justify a reallocation. Districts shall 

be allocated monies based on the identified level of nonpoint 

source pollution problems and the respective district's BMP 

installation goals as demonstrated in the district's annual strategic 

plan. The allocation method used for disbursement of funds shall 

be based upon the score of each respective district for those 

parameters approved by the Commission pursuant to 

Subparagraph (7) of this Paragraph. The points each district scores 

on each parameter shall be totaled and proportioned to the total 

dollars available for district allocation under the current fiscal 

year funding according to the following formula: 

 

(1) Sum of Parameter Points      = Total Points 

(2) Percentage Total   x  Total Dollars = Dollars Available 

Points Each District    Available  to Each District 

 

(3) 95 percent of the program funding designated 

for district allocations shall be allocated to the 

district accounts in the initial allocation. The 

Division shall retain five percent of the total 

funding in a contingency fund to respond to an 

emergency or natural disaster. 

(4) The Commission may recall funds allocated to 

a district that have not been encumbered to an 

agreement at any time if it determines the 

recalled funds are needed to respond to an 

emergency or natural disaster. 

(5) At any time a district may submit a revised 

strategic plan to request additional funds from 

the Commission. 

(6) Agreements that encumber funds under the 

current fiscal year must be submitted to the 

Division by 5:00 p.m. on June 30. 

(7) Districts shall be allocated funds based on their 

respective data for each of the following 

parameters: 

(A) Relative rank of the percentage of the 

county draining to waters identified as 

impaired or impacted on the most 

recent Integrated Report produced by 

the North Carolina Division of Water 

Resources. (20 percent). 

(B) Relative rank of the percentage of the 

county draining to waters classified as 

Outstanding Resource Waters, High 

Quality Waters and Trout Waters or on 

the current schedule of Water Quality 

Standards and Classifications, and 

Shellfish Harvesting Areas (open) as 

determined by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries. (20 percent) 

(C) The percentage of each county 

covered by National Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System Phase I 

and Phase II requirements found at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wat

er-resources/water-resources-permit-

guidance/npdes-phase-i-phase-ii-

stormwater-guidance. (20 percent) 

(D) Relative rank of population density for 

the county. (20 percent) 

(E) Relative rank of the percentage of a 

county's land area that is located 

within drinking water assessment 

areas, as delineated by the Public 

Water Supply Section of the Division 

of Water Resources. (20 percent) 

(F) The Commission may consider 

additional factors, such as data sources 

changes to the Subparagraphs in this 

Paragraph, as recommended by the 

Division when making its allocations. 

(d)  Based on the availability of funds, the Commission shall 

allocate cost share funds from the Statewide and regional 

allocation pools. To receive fund allocations, each district 

designated eligible by the Commission shall submit applications 

to respective pools when solicited by the Division. The Division 

shall rank each application and recommend to the Commission for 

its approval an amount to allocate to each district corresponding 

to the highest-ranking applications. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-860; 139-8; 139-8; 

Eff. May 1, 1987; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 6E .0004 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 06E .0104 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0105 AGRICULTURAL WATER 

RESOURCES ASSISTANCE PROGRAM FINANCIAL 

ASSISTANCE ALLOCATION GUIDELINES AND 

PROCEDURES 

(a)  The Commission shall consider the total amount of funding 

available for allocation and the relative needs for BMP 
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implementation to determine the proportion of available funds to 

be allocated to statewide, regional, and district allocation pools 

and the Division. The percentage of funding available for each 

purpose and each allocation pool shall be specified in the annual 

Detailed Implementation Plan based upon the recommendation of 

the Division and the needs expressed by the districts. 

(b)  Based on funding availability, the Commission shall allocate 

cost share funds from the district allocation pool to the districts. 

To receive fund allocations, each district shall request an 

allocation in their strategic plan. 

(c)  Funds for cost share and cost share incentive payments shall 

be allocated to the districts at the beginning of the fiscal year and 

whenever the Commission determines that funds are available in 

the district allocation pool to justify a reallocation. Districts shall 

be allocated monies based on the identified level of agricultural 

water use needs and the respective district's BMP installation 

goals as demonstrated in the district's annual strategic plan. The 

allocation method used for disbursement of funds shall be based 

on the relative position of each respective district for those 

parameters approved by the Commission pursuant to Paragraph 

(h) of this Rule. The points each district scores on each parameter 

shall be totaled and proportioned to the total dollars available for 

district allocation under the current fiscal year funding according 

to the following formula: 

 

(1) Sum of Parameter Points  = Total Points 

(2) Percentage Total    Total    Dollars Available 

Points Each   x Dollars   = to 

District     Available   Each District 

 

(3) The minimum district allocation shall be 

specified in the Detailed Implementation Plan. 

(4) If a district requests less than the dollars 

available to that district in Subparagraph (b)(2) 

of this Rule, then the excess funds shall be 

allocated to the districts who did not receive 

their full requested allocation using the same 

methodology described in Subparagraph (b)(2) 

of this Rule. 

(d)  In the initial allocation, 95 percent of the annual appropriation 

shall be allocated to district accounts administered by the 

Division. The Division shall retain five percent of the annual 

appropriation as a contingency to be used to respond to an 

emergency or natural disaster. If the contingency funds are not 

needed to respond to an emergency, then they shall be available 

for allocation after March 1. 

(e)  The Commission may recall funds allocated to a district that 

have not been encumbered to an agreement at any time if it 

determines the recalled funds are needed to respond to an 

emergency or natural disaster. 

(f)  At any time a district may submit a revised strategic plan to 

request additional funds from the Commission. 

(g)  Agreements that encumber funds under the current fiscal year 

must be submitted to the Division by 5:00 p.m. on June 30. 

(h)  For the Agricultural Water Resources Assistance Program, 

districts shall be allocated funds based on their respective data for 

each of the following parameters: 

(1) Relative rank of the number of farms (total 

operations) that are in the respective district as 

reported in the Census of Agriculture. (20%) 

(2) Relative rank of the total acres of land in farms 

that are in the respective district as reported in 

the Census of Agriculture. (20%) 

(3) Relative rank of the Market Value of Sales that 

are in the respective district as reported in the 

Census of Agriculture. (15%) 

(4) Relative rank of the amount of agricultural 

water use in the respective district as reported 

in the North Carolina Agricultural Water Use 

Survey (25%). Data from the most recent three 

surveys will be averaged to determine each 

district's rank. 

(5) Relative rank of population density as reported 

by the state demographer. (20%) 

(6) The Commission may consider additional 

factors, such as data sources changes to the 

Subparagraphs in this Paragraph, as 

recommended by the Division when making its 

allocations. 

(i)  Based upon funding availability, the Commission shall 

allocate cost share funds from the Statewide and regional 

allocation pools. To receive fund allocations, each district 

designated eligible by the Commission shall submit applications 

to respective pools when solicited by the Division. The Division 

shall rank each application and recommend to the Commission for 

its approval an amount to allocate to each district corresponding 

to the highest-ranking applications. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 106-860; 

139-4; 139-8; 139-60; 

Eff. May 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 1996; 

Recodified form 15A NCAC 06E .0005 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 13, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2008; July 1, 2004; April 1, 1999; 

January 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 06E .0105 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0106 BEST MANAGEMENT 

PRACTICES ELIGIBLE FOR COST SHARE PAYMENTS 

(a)  The Commission shall approve a list of BMPs that are 

acceptable for cost-sharing. The list of BMPs shall be approved 

annually and published in the DIP. The Commission may consider 

requests for additional BMPs at any time. The Commission shall 

consider the following criteria in approving BMPs: 

(1) all eligible BMPs shall be designed to meet the 

purpose of the program or shall be authorized 

by statute; 

(2) information establishing the average cost of the 

specified BMP shall be used, if available. 
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District BMPs may use actual costs as indicated 

by receipts, if average costs are not available; 

and 

(3) eligible BMPs shall follow technical 

specifications as set forth in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  BMP definitions and specifications shall be determined by the 

Commission or by the Division for District BMPs. For a contract 

to be eligible for payment, all cost-shared BMPs shall meet or 

exceed the specifications in effect at the time the contract was 

approved. Provisions for exceeding BMP design specifications by 

an applicant may be considered at the time of application with the 

district. The applicant shall assume responsibility for all costs 

associated with exceeding BMP design specifications. 

(c)  The Division has authority to approve District BMPs for 

evaluation purposes. The BMP shall be requested by a district and 

meet the program purpose. The Division shall determine it to be 

technically adequate prior to approving the agreement for 

funding. 

(d)  The minimum required maintenance of the BMPs shall be 

listed in the Detailed Implementation Plan or be established by the 

Division for District BMPs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 106-860; 

139-4; 139-8; 139-60; 

Eff. May 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 6E .0006 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2005; November 1, 1997; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 06E .0106 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0107 COST SHARE AND INCENTIVE 

PAYMENTS 

(a)  Cost share incentive (CSI) payments may be made through 

Cost Share Agreements between the district, Division, and the 

applicant. 

(b)  For all practices except those eligible for Cost Share 

Incentives (CSI), the State shall fund a percentage of the average 

cost for BMP installation not to exceed the maximum cost share 

percentages shown in G.S. 106-850(b)(6), (8), and (9), and the 

applicant shall fund the remainder of the cost. In-kind 

contributions by the applicant shall be included in the applicants' 

cost share contribution. In-kind contributions shall be approved 

by the district and Division. 

(c)  CSI payments shall be limited to a maximum of three years 

per entity. 

(d)  Average installation costs for each comparative area or region 

of the State and the amount of cost share incentive payments shall 

be updated and revised triennially by the Division for approval by 

the Commission. 

(e)  The total annual cost share payments to an applicant shall not 

exceed the maximum funding authorized in G.S. 106-850(b)(6) 

and (9). 

(f)  Use of cost share payments shall be restricted to land located 

within the county approved for funding by the Commission. 

However, in the situation where an applicant's farm is not located 

solely within a county, the entire farm, if contiguous, shall be 

eligible for cost share payments. 

(g)  Agriculture Cost Share Program and Agricultural Water 

Resources Assistance Program Cost Share Agreements used on or 

for local, State, or federal government land shall be approved by 

the Commission to avoid potential conflicts of interest and to 

ensure that such contracts are consistent with the purposes of these 

programs. 

(h)  The district Board of Supervisors may approve Cost Share 

Agreements with cost share percentages or amounts less than the 

maximum allowable in G.S. 106-850(b)(6), (8), and (9) if: 

(1) the Commission allocates insufficient cost 

share BMP funding to the district to enable it to 

award funding to all applicants; or 

(2) the district establishes other criteria in its 

annual strategic plan for cost sharing 

percentages or amounts less than those 

allowable in G.S. 106-850(b)(6), (8) and (9). 

(i)  For purposes of determining eligible payments under practice-

specific caps described in the Detailed Implementation Plan, the 

district board shall consider all entities with which the applicant 

is associated, including those in other counties, as the same 

applicant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-850;106-860; 139-4; 

139-8; 139-60; 

Eff. May 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 6E .0007 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; April 1, 1999; November 1, 1997; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 06E .0107 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0108 TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE 

FUNDS 

(a)  The funds available for technical assistance shall be allocated 

by the Commission based on the recommendation of the Division, 

the needs as expressed by the district, and the needs to accelerate 

the installation of BMPs in the respective district. The district 

shall provide at least 50 percent of the total matching funds for 

technical assistance. 

(b)  The Commission shall allocate technical assistance funds as 

described in its DIP. This allocation shall be made based on the 

implementation of conservation practices for which district 

employees provided technical assistance incorporating the 

following: 

(1) Commission Cost Share Programs funded 

practices will be weighted at 100 percent; 

(2) other local, State, federal, and grant funded 

practices that meet the purpose requirements as 

set forth in Rule .0101 of this Section will be 

weighted at a minimum of 25 percent as 

specified in the DIP; 

(3) districts shall submit information on funded 

practices as specified in Subparagraph (2) of 

this Paragraph through their annual strategic 

plan; 

(4) this allocation will be calculated using the 

highest three of the most recent seven years; 

and 
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(5) this allocation will be calculated once every 

three years, unless there is a change in technical 

assistance State appropriations. 

(c)  Technical assistance funds may be used for salary, benefits, 

social security, field equipment and supplies, office rent, office 

equipment and supplies, postage, telephone service, travel, 

mileage, and any other expense of the district in implementing 

Soil and Water Conservation Commission Cost Share Programs. 

(d)  Each district requesting technical assistance funding with the 

required 50 percent local match shall receive a minimum 

allocation of $20,000 each year. 

(e)  If a district is not spending more financial assistance funds on 

Commission Cost Share Programs than they receive for technical 

assistance, the district shall appeal to the Commission to receive 

technical assistance funding. 

(f)  All technical district employees shall obtain Job Approval 

Authority for two best management practices from the 

Commission or the United States Department of Agriculture 

Natural Resources Conservation Service within three years of 

being hired or three years of the effective date of this Rule, 

whichever is later. 

(1) One of the best management practices for 

which the employee has obtained Job Approval 

Authority shall be a design practice. "Design 

practice" means an engineering practice as 

defined by the Natural Resources Conservation 

Service of Soil and Water Conservation 

Commission in their Program Detailed 

Implementation Plan(s). 

(2) The District Board of Supervisors may request 

a one-year extension for their employees in 

meeting the Job Approval Authority 

requirement for extenuating circumstances 

outside of the employee's control. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 139-4; 

139-8; 

Eff. May 1, 1987; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 6E .0008 Eff. December 20, 1996; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2008; November 1, 1997; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 06E .0108 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0109 COST SHARE AGREEMENT 

(a)  The landowner shall be required to sign the agreement for all 

practices that affect change to the property. The agreement shall 

include a requirement for the landowner to be responsible for 

BMP maintenance and continuation. 

(b)  The technical representative of the district shall determine if 

the practice(s) implemented have been installed according to 

practice standards as defined for the respective program year in 

the USDA- Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) 

Technical Guide for North Carolina according to other 

specifications approved by the Commission, or according to 

standards approved by the Division for district BMPs based on the 

criteria established in 02 NCAC 59G .0103(c). 

(c)  The district shall be responsible for making an annual 

compliance visit of five percent of all the cost share agreements 

to ensure proper maintenance. The Commission may specify 

additional compliance visit requirements for specific BMPs in the 

Detailed Implementation Plan. 

(d)  If the technical representative of the district determines that a 

BMP for which program funds were received has been destroyed 

or has not been properly maintained, the applicant shall be 

notified that the BMP shall be repaired or re-implemented within 

30 business days. For vegetative practices, applicants shall be 

given one calendar year to re-establish the vegetation. The 

Division shall grant a one calendar year extension period if it 

determines compliance cannot be met due to circumstances 

beyond the . applicant's control, such as weather. 

(e)  If the practices are not repaired or reimplemented within the 

specified time, the applicant shall be required to repay to the 

Division a prorated refund for cost share BMPs as shown in Table 

1 and 100 percent of the cost share incentive payments received. 

 

Table 1 

PRORATED REFUND SCHEDULE FOR NONCOMPLIANCE 

OF COST SHARE PAYMENTS 

 

Percent Age of Practice Life Percent Refund 

0 100 

10 95 

20 89 

30 82 

40 74 

50 65 

60 55 

70 44 

80 31 

90 17 

100 0 

 

(f)  In the event that a Cost Share Agreement has been found to be 

noncompliant and the applicant does not agree to correct the non-

compliance, the Division shall invoke procedures to achieve 

resolution to the noncompliance. 

(g)  When land under cost share agreement changes ownership the 

new landowner shall be encouraged by the district to accept the 

remaining maintenance obligation. If the new landowner does not 

accept the maintenance requirements in writing, then the original 
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applicant shall be required to refund 100 percent of all CSI 

payments and a prorated portion of cost share payments in 

accordance with Table 1 in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-850; 139-4; 139-8; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 59D .0110 DISTRICT PROGRAM 

OPERATION 

(a)  Each district shall prioritize resource concerns for each 

program in its annual strategic plan. The district shall target 

technical and financial assistance to facilitate BMP 

implementation. 

(b)  The district shall give priority to implementing systems of 

BMPs that provide the most cost-effective conservation practice 

for addressing priority resource concerns. 

(c)  All applicants shall apply to the district in order to receive cost 

share payments. 

(d)  The district shall review each application and determine the 

feasibility of each application. The district shall review and 

approve the evaluation and assign priority for cost sharing. All 

applicants shall be informed of cost share application approval or 

denial. 

(e)  Upon approval of the application by the district, the applicant, 

district, and the Division shall enter into a cost share agreement. 

The Cost Share Agreement shall list the practices to be cost shared 

with State funds. The agreement shall also include the average 

cost of the recommended practice(s), cost incentive payment of 

the practice(s), and the expected implementation date of the 

practice(s). The District shall develop a conservation plan that 

shall become a part of the Cost Share Agreement. 

(f)  Upon completion of practice(s) implementation, the technical 

representative of the district shall notify the District Board of 

Supervisors of compliance with design specifications. 

(g)  Upon notification by the technical representative, the district 

shall review the agreement and request for payment. Upon 

approval, the district shall certify the practices in the agreement 

and notify the Division to make payment to the applicant. The 

District Board of Supervisors shall certify that the individual 

signing the conservation plan and request for payment has Job 

Approval Authority for the respective practice(s) before signing 

requests for payment for completed BMPs. 

(h)  The district shall be responsible for and approve all BMP 

inspections as set forth in Rule .0109(c) of this Section to ensure 

proper maintenance and continuation under the Cost Share 

Agreement. 

(i)  The district shall keep records dealing with the program per 

its document retention schedule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-850; 139-4; 

139-8; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0101 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions of G.S. 153A-217, the following 

definitions shall apply throughout Sections .0100 through .1300 

of this Subchapter: 

(1) "Addition" means an extension or increase in 

floor area or height of a building or structure. 

(2) "Alteration" means any change or modification 

in construction or use. 

(3) "Booking area" means an area where a person 

is admitted to a jail and procedures such as 

searching, fingerprinting, photographing, 

health screening, and collecting personal 

history data occur. 

(4) "Cell" means any confinement unit, except a 

dormitory. 

(5) "Cellblock" means a separate and identifiable 

grouping of cells. 

(6) "Communicable disease or condition" means an 

illness or condition as defined in G.S. 130A-2. 

(7) "Control center" means a room where jail 

personnel control the safety and security 

functions of the jail through the monitoring and 

operation of equipment that includes the 

communication systems, security systems, 

electronic surveillance systems, fire alarm 

system, and electronic door locking systems. 

(8) "Confinement unit" means a single segregation 

cell, a single cell, a multiple occupancy cell, or 

a dormitory, but shall not include a padded cell. 

(9) "Construction Section" means the Construction 

Section of the Division of Health Service 

Regulation. 

(10) "Contraband" means any item that a person is 

not authorized to possess in the jail because it is 

a violation of G.S. 14-258.1 and G.S. 14-258.2 

or it is not allowed by the sheriff or regional jail 

administrator. 

(11) "Dayroom" means an area accessible to a single 

cell or a multiple occupancy cell with access 

from the cell and space for activities such as 

dining, showers, physical exercise, and 

recreation. 

(12) "Department" means as defined in G.S. 153A-

217. 

(13) "Direct two-way voice communication" means 

the monitoring of inmate activity by an officer 

who is located within a cellblock, dayroom, or 

dormitory and who has oral communications 

with inmates without the use of a remote two-

way voice communication system. 

(14) "Direct visual observation" means the 

monitoring of inmate activity by an officer who 

has a direct visual view of the inmates without 

the use of video surveillance. A jail shall locate 

an officer either within the cellblock, dayroom, 

and dormitory or outside of the cellblock, 

dayroom, and dormitory separated by barriers 

with view panels. If the officer is separated by 

barriers from the cell block, dayroom, or 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2273 

dormitory, the view panels in the barriers shall 

be sized and located to provide the officer with 

a view into the interior of the cells. The front of 

these cells shall have bars or doors with view 

panels. 

(15) "Disaster plan" means an individual jail's plan 

with written policies and procedures that states 

what, how, and when actions shall be taken by 

a jail to maintain the security, welfare, and 

safety of inmates, staff, officers, and the public 

before and after the occurrence of an 

emergency event at the jail. This plan is created 

and written by the sheriff, regional jail 

administrator, or their designees. 

(16) "District confinement facility" means a 

building operated by two or more units of local 

government for the confinement of inmates as 

provided in G.S. 153A-219. 

(17) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(18) "Dormitory" means an area designed to house 

inmates that combines dayroom space with 

sleeping space. 

(19) "Emergency event" means an event caused by 

the occurrence of an emergency as defined by 

G.S. 166A-19.3(6) or the loss of a jail's utility 

service that includes electricity, water, gas, or 

communications. 

(20) "Emergency medical need" means a medical 

condition that requires medical treatment as 

soon as noticed and that may not be deferred 

until the next scheduled sick call or clinic. 

(21) "Fire evacuation training" means instructing 

officers and jail staff in procedures related to 

the evacuation or relocation of building 

occupants when there is a fire in the jail. The 

instruction shall simulate an actual fire and a 

rehearsal of actions needed by officers and jail 

staff for the evacuation or relocation of building 

occupants but may not require the actual 

relocation of inmates within the jail or to the 

outdoors. The local fire marshal and the sheriff 

or regional jail administrator shall determine 

whether the rehearsal shall include the actual 

relocation of inmates within the jail or to the 

outdoors. 

(22) "Footcandle" means the amount of light thrown 

on a surface one foot away from the light 

source. It is a unit for measuring the intensity of 

illumination. 

(23) "Flushing rim floor drain" means a plumbing 

fixture that uses water activated by a 

flushometer valve to flush sanitary waste from 

the fixture to a sanitary drainage system. It shall 

be mounted flush to the floor. 

(24) "Glazing" means any infill material in a 

window or view panel that includes transparent 

or translucent glass, polycarbonate, or a 

combination of glass and polycarbonate. 

(25) "Governing body" means as defined in G.S. 

153A-217. 

(26) "Holding area" means a place where inmates 

are held while awaiting processing, booking, 

court appearance, discharge, or transfer to a 

confinement unit. 

(27) "Holdover facility" means a facility as defined 

in G.S. 7B-1501. 

(28) "Inmate" means any person, whether pretrial, 

unsentenced, or sentenced, who is confined in a 

jail, a district confinement facility, or a county 

satellite jail/work release unit. 

(29) "Inmate processing area" means a location in a 

jail where the booking area and release 

functions for persons committed to the jail are 

performed. 

(30) "Interlocking security feature" means an 

electronic locking interface between two or 

more doors in a security vestibule that unlocks 

and opens one door while at the same time 

locking the other doors. 

(31) "Jail" means a building or part of a building 

operated by a county or group of counties for 

the confinement of inmates that includes county 

jails and district confinement facilities. It shall 

not include a county satellite jail/work release 

unit governed by Part 3 of Article 10 of Chapter 

153A of the General Statutes. 

(32) "Means of egress" means an unobstructed path 

of vertical and horizontal egress travel from any 

occupied portion of a building or structure to 

the outside of the building. 

(33) "Medical personnel" means persons who 

provide medical care to inmates. Medical 

personnel shall include a physician, Registered 

Nurse, and Licensed Practical Nurse. 

(34) "Medical record" means a record of medical 

problems, examinations, diagnoses, and 

treatments. 

(35) "Mental health personnel" means persons who 

provide mental health services to inmates. 

Mental health personnel shall include a 

psychiatrist, psychologist, Registered Nurse, 

and social worker. 

(36) "Multiple occupancy cell" means a cell 

designed to house more than one inmate. 

(37) "Officer" means a person, whether sworn or 

unsworn, who is involved in the supervision, 

control, or custody of inmates. 

(38) "Operations manual" means a set of written 

policies and procedures for the operation of a 

jail in compliance with the standards set forth in 

Sections .0100 through .1100 and Section .1300 

of this Subchapter. 

(39) "Program area" means a common area or room 

of a jail used by inmates, officers, or visitors for 
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religious, education, training, or recreation 

activities. 

(40) "Program services" means activities provided 

to inmates by the jail that includes jail 

orientation, academic and vocational training, 

problem solving and recreational skills, and life 

skills in parenting and maintaining employment 

after release from jail. 

(41) "Regional jail administrator" means a person 

who manages a local district confinement 

facility on behalf of two or more units of local 

government as provided in G.S. 153A-219. 

(42) "Remote two-way voice communication" 

means the monitoring of inmate activity with a 

two-way voice intercom system installed 

between a confinement unit and a 24-hour 

officer staffed location away from the 

confinement unit. 

(43) "Repair" means reconstruction or renewal of 

any part of an existing building for the purpose 

of its maintenance. 

(44) "Routine care" means medical care that 

includes physical examinations, health 

screenings, diagnostic testing, and treatment for 

an illness, a medical condition, or a mental 

health condition that is not an emergency 

medical need. 

(45) "Sally port" means an enclosed entry and exit 

area used either for vehicular or pedestrian 

traffic with gates or doors at both ends, only one 

of which opens at a time. 

(46) "Satellite jail/work release unit" means a unit as 

defined in G.S. 153A-230.1. 

(47) "Screenings of inmates" means a procedure for 

each newly-admitted inmate that combines 

visual observation with an interview to obtain 

information about the inmate prior to the 

inmate's placement in the general population of 

the jail. The procedure is set forth in Rule .1002 

of this Subchapter. 

(48) "Secretary" means as defined in G.S. 153A-

217. 

(49) "Security perimeter" means the outer portion of 

a jail that provides for the confinement of 

inmates and that prevents the entry of persons 

not authorized by the sheriff or regional jail 

administrator. 

(50) "Security-type" means a designation by a 

manufacturer that indicates the product is 

designed to withstand damage and destruction 

by inmates. 

(51) "Security vestibule" means a space that 

provides security by using two or more doors, 

with each door able to operate independently, 

and that permits an officer to observe those who 

pass through the space. 

(52) "Single cell" means a cell designed to house one 

inmate. 

(53) "Single segregation cell" means a cell designed 

to house one inmate who has been removed 

from the general inmate population for 

administrative segregation, disciplinary 

segregation, or protective custody. 

(54) "Special inmates" means an inmate that 

includes a geriatric inmate, an inmate with a 

mental health disorder, developmental 

disability, intellectual disability, or substance 

use disorder, and an inmate with a physical 

disability. 

(55) "Special watch rounds" means an in-person 

check of an inmate by an officer at time 

intervals set forth in Rule .0601(c) of this 

Subchapter. 

(56) "Supervision rounds" means an in-person check 

of inmates by an officer entering and walking 

through a cellblock, dayroom, or dormitory. For 

a cellblock or dayroom, the officer shall walk 

past and view into each cell and observe the 

inmate within the cell. If during the supervision 

rounds inmates are located in the dayroom and 

not in their cells, the officer shall observe each 

of the inmates located in the dayroom. For a 

dormitory, the officer shall walk through the 

dormitory and observe each inmate. An officer 

shall conduct the in-person check at time 

intervals specified in Rule .0601(a) of this 

Subchapter. 

(57) "Tamper-resistant" means a designation by a 

manufacturer that indicates the product is 

designed to withstand dismantling of the 

product, removal of the product, or interference 

with the operation of the product by inmates. 

(58) "Total design capacity" means the maximum 

number of inmates that can be housed in the 

confinement units of the jail based on the 

standards contained in Rule .0103 of this 

Section and Section .1200 of this Subchapter. 

(59) "Unit of local government" means as defined in 

G.S. 153A-217. 

(60) "Video surveillance" means the monitoring of 

inmate activity by a video camera installed in a 

cell block, dayroom, or dormitory with views of 

the confinement units. An officer in a location 

remote from the cell block, dayroom, or 

dormitory shall observe a live video image 

created by the video camera on a television 

monitor or computer monitor. 

(61) "View panel" means a transparent panel. 

(62) "Visitation area" means an area where inmates 

are permitted to receive visitors according to 

the jail's policies and procedures that govern 

visitation. 

(63) "Work release" means the release of a convicted 

inmate for employment in the community and 

the return to custody of the convicted inmate 

during nonworking hours. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-217; 153A-221;  

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0102 APPLICABILITY –  

OPERATIONS AND ENFORCEMENT AND 

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE 

(a)  The standards established in Section .0100 through .1100 and 

Section .1300 of this Subchapter shall apply to all jails. 

(b)  For the purposes of the rules in this Subchapter, the following 

Codes, Rule, and standard are incorporated herein by reference 

including all subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of 

these Codes, Rule, and standard may be obtained or accessed from 

the online addresses listed: 

(1) All volumes of the North Carolina State 

Building Codes. Copies of all volumes of the 

North Carolina State Building Code may be 

purchased from the International Code Council 

online at www.iccsafe.org at a cost of six 

hundred seventeen dollars ($617.00) or 

accessed electronically free of charge at 

www.iccsafe.org; 

(2) 15A NCAC 18A .1517; and 

(3) the National Fire Protection Association, 

National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code, 

NFPA 72. Copies may be purchased from the 

National Fire Protection Association online at 

http://catalog.nfpa.org/NFPA-72-National-

Fire-Alarm-and-Signaling-Code-2016-Edition-

P1198.aspx?order_src=C900&gclid=CJH4hoS

Fis8CFdQvgQod_y8Dig for a cost of ninety-six 

dollars and fifty cents ($96.50) or accessed 

electronically free of charge at 

http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standards/all-

codes-and-standards/list-of-codes-and-

standards?mode=code&code=72. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0103 APPLICABILITY – 

CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  A new jail or an addition or alteration to an existing jail I and 

II shall meet the requirements of the North Carolina State 

Building Codes. 

(b)  An existing jail I and II shall meet the requirements of the 

North Carolina State Building Codes in effect at the time of 

construction, addition, alteration, or repair. 

(c)  New jail construction or any additions or alterations to an 

existing jail I and II that have construction documents approved 

by the Construction Section on or after the readopted effective 

date of this Rule shall meet the requirements of this Rule and the 

rules of Section .1200 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Existing jail I construction is a jail that has construction 

documents approved by the Construction Section prior to June 1, 

1990 and shall meet the requirements of this Rule and the rules of 

Section .1500 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Existing jail II construction is a jail that has construction 

documents approved by the Construction Section on or after June 

1, 1990 and prior to the readopted effective date of this Rule and 

shall meet the requirements of: 

(1) this Rule; and 

(2) Rules .1202 through .1226 of this Subchapter 

that were in effect at the time the construction 

documents were approved by the Construction 

Section. 

(f)  Previous versions of the rules of Section .1200 of this 

Subchapter can be accessed online at 

https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/jail/index.html. 

(g)  A jail that is closed and later reopened shall meet the 

requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule. A jail is not closed if 

within the same 12-month period of time the jail has either: 

(1) housed inmates; or 

(2) been inspected by the Construction Section as 

required by G.S. 153A-222. 

(h)  Any existing building converted from another use to a new 

jail shall meet the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(i)  Prior to changing a jail's total design capacity by the addition 

or removal of bunks, the alteration of rooms, or a change in use of 

space, the governing body shall submit a written request of the 

change to the Construction Section and obtain a written approval 

of the change from the Construction Section. For a new jail or an 

existing jail I, changes to their total design capacity shall comply 

with the requirements for a new jail as set forth in Paragraph (c) 

of this Rule. For an existing jail II, changes to its total design 

capacity shall comply with the requirements of Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule. 

(j)  This Rule and the rules contained in Sections .1200, .1500, 

.1600, and .1700 of this Subchapter are minimum requirements 

and are not intended to prohibit jail construction, systems, or 

operational conditions that exceed these minimum requirements. 

(k)  The Division may grant an equivalency to allow an alternate 

design or functional variation from the requirements of this Rule 

and the rules contained in Sections .1200, .1500, .1600, and .1700 

of this Subchapter. The equivalency may be granted by the 

Division when a governing body submits a written equivalency 

request to the Division that states the following: 

(1) the rule citation and the rule requirement that 

will not be met; 

(2) the justification for the equivalency; and 

(3) how the proposed equivalency meets the intent 

of the corresponding rule requirement. 

In determining whether to grant an equivalency request the 

Division shall consider whether the request will reduce the safety 

and operational effectiveness of the jail design and layout. The 

governing body shall maintain a copy of the approved equivalence 

issued by the Division. 

(l)  If the rules, codes, or standards contained in this Subchapter 

conflict, the most restrictive requirement shall apply. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 
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10A NCAC 14J .0201 REQUIREMENT FOR 

OPERATIONS MANUAL 

The sheriff or the regional jail administrator shall develop an 

operations manual that meets the requirements of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0203 CONTENTS OF OPERATIONS 

MANUAL 

(a)  The operations manual shall include written policies and 

procedures that address the following areas: 

(1) administration and management of inmates; 

(2) admissions, transportation, and release; 

(3) classification for the placement and housing of 

inmates, as set forth in Rule .0301(a) of this 

Subchapter; 

(4) security and supervision; 

(5) inmate rules and discipline; 

(6) management of special inmates; 

(7) legal rights of inmates; 

(8) health, mental health, developmental disability, 

intellectual disability, and substance use 

disorder services; 

(9) food services; 

(10) program services; 

(11) work release; 

(12) opportunities for exercise; 

(13) access to legal assistance or legal materials; 

(14) grievance procedures; 

(15) visitation and mail policies; 

(16) religious activities; 

(17) sanitation procedures that comply with Rule 

.0701 of this Subchapter; 

(18) emergency plans for a fire or an emergency 

situation that includes rioting, bomb threats, 

escapes, and the taking of hostages; 

(19) a disaster plan as required by Rule .0403(d) of 

this Subchapter; 

(20) a suicide prevention program that includes 

identifying suicidal inmates, supervising 

suicidal inmates, and reviewing procedures and 

debriefing officers after an inmate suicide; 

(21) waiving any medical fees for indigent inmates, 

as required by G.S. 153A-225; 

(22) use of force; and 

(23) use of restraints. 

(b)  In compliance with G.S. 153A-220(1), the Construction 

Section shall provide consultation and technical assistance to a jail 

upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0204 REVIEW OF MANUAL 

The sheriff or regional jail administrator shall review and approve 

the operations manual in writing annually beginning on January 

1. If the operations manual has changed, it shall be updated during 

the review. The date of the most recent review and approval shall 

be stated in the operations manual. The operations manual and the 

written approval shall be made available to the Construction 

Section during an inspection upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0301 CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM 

AND TOTAL DESIGN CAPACITY 

(a)  Each jail shall have a written classification procedure for the 

placement and housing of inmates. The procedure shall include 

the following criteria for inmate placement: 

(1) the medical care needed by the inmate as 

required by Rules .1001 and .1003 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) the level of supervision needed by the inmate 

related to the inmate's assaultive or non-

assaultive behavior toward officers and other 

inmates;  

(3) the level of security needed by the inmate to 

prevent the inmate's escape; and 

(4) other criteria as determined by the sheriff or 

regional jail administrator. 

(b)  When a jail exceeds its total design capacity, the sheriff, 

regional jail administrator, or their designees shall relocate 

inmates to another jail or prison to bring the number of inmates 

confined into compliance with the total design capacity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0302 SEPARATION OF MALE AND 

FEMALE INMATES 

Pursuant to G.S. 153A-228, the jail shall not house female and 

male inmates in the same confinement unit, dayroom, dormitory, 

or program area. Inmates shall be housed in the jail where they 

cannot converse with, see, or be seen by inmates of the opposite 

sex. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 153A-228; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0303 CONFINEMENT OF INMATES 

UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE 

Inmates under 18 years of age shall be confined in separate cells 

from inmates who are 18 years of age and older during sleeping 

hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 
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Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0402 PORTABLE FIRE 

EXTINGUISHERS 

Each jail shall provide portable fire extinguishers that meet the 

requirements of the North Carolina State Fire Prevention Code. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0403 FIRE PLAN, FIRE 

EVACUATION TRAINING, AND DISASTER PLAN 

(a)  Each jail shall have a written plan for the evacuation and 

control of inmates in the event of a fire.  

(b)  Jail staff shall receive fire evacuation training as required by 

Section 405 of the North Carolina State Fire Prevention Code. The 

evacuation routes used in the fire evacuation training shall be 

posted in the jail for viewing by officers. The sheriff or regional 

jail administrator shall maintain written documentation of the fire 

evacuation training. The sheriff or regional jail administrator shall 

make this documentation available to the Construction Section 

during an inspection upon request. 

(c)  If the local fire department or fire marshal has not inspected 

the jail and approved the fire plan within 12 months of the date of 

their last inspection, the sheriff or regional jail administrator shall 

request in writing an inspection and approval of the plan from the 

local fire department or fire marshal. The sheriff or regional jail 

administrator shall maintain written documentation of either the 

inspection and the approved fire plan, or the written request for 

inspection and approval of the plan. The sheriff or regional jail 

administrator shall make this documentation available to the 

Construction Section during an inspection upon request. 

(d)  Each jail shall have a disaster plan that shall be documented 

as having been submitted to the local emergency management 

agency. The sheriff or regional jail administrator shall review the 

disaster plan in writing not less than once each year beginning on 

January 1. If the plan has changed, it will be updated during the 

review. The date of the most recent review shall be stated in the 

plan. The disaster plan shall be maintained at the jail and shall be 

made available to the Construction Section during an inspection 

upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0404 MATTRESSES 

Mattresses shall meet the requirements of the North Carolina State 

Fire Prevention Code. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0405 KEYS 

(a)  Each jail that is classified as an Institutional Group I-3 

occupancy shall have a key control system. For the purposes of 

this Rule, "Institutional Group I-3 occupancy" means an 

occupancy classification as defined in the North Carolina State 

Building Code. 

(b)  The key control system shall include the following elements: 

(1) a key control center that is inaccessible to 

unauthorized persons at all times; 

(2) a set of duplicate keys for emergency use stored 

outside the security perimeter of the jail in a 

location that is inaccessible to unauthorized 

persons at all times and accessible to 

emergency personnel at all times; 

(3) an accounting procedure for issuing and 

returning keys; and 

(4) a system of keys and matching locks that are 

color-coded and marked for identification by 

touch on both sides of doors installed in a 

means of egress. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0501 GENERAL SECURITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

Each jail shall meet the following security requirements: 

(1) provide for the confinement of inmates from the 

time of their passage through the security 

perimeter until release; 

(2) provide for the locked storage of firearms 

before persons enter the security perimeter; 

(3) prevent the passage of contraband; 

(4) prevent contact between inmates and persons 

from outside the jail, unless authorized by the 

sheriff, regional jail administrator, or their 

designees; 

(5) provide a ground-level perimeter exterior that is 

lighted; and 

(6) provide a communications link with outside 

agencies for use in emergencies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0601 SUPERVISION 

(a)  A jail shall have an officer make supervision rounds and 

observe each inmate at least two times within a 60 minute time 

period on an irregular basis with not more than 40 minutes 

between rounds. Supervision rounds shall be conducted 24 hours 

a day, 7 days per week. The supervision rounds shall be 

documented and maintained as written or electronic records. 

These records shall be made available to the Construction Section 

during an inspection upon request. The supplemental methods of 

supervision specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall not 

substitute for supervision rounds. 

(b)  A jail shall utilize one or more supplemental methods of 

supervision 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The supplemental 

methods of supervision are: 
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(1) direct two-way voice communication; 

(2) remote two-way voice communication; 

(3) direct visual observation; and 

(4) video surveillance. 

(c)  While an inmate is on special watch, as specified by this 

Paragraph, the jail shall have an officer conduct special watch 

rounds and observe the inmate not less than four times within a 

60 minute period on an irregular basis with not more than 20 

minutes between rounds. Special watch shall be conducted 24 

hours a day, 7 days a week. The special watch rounds shall be 

documented. The jail shall maintain written or electronic records 

of the special watch rounds and shall make these records available 

to the Construction Section during an inspection upon request. 

The supplemental methods of supervision specified in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule shall not substitute for a special watch. Special 

watch shall be used for the following reasons: 

(1) an inmate with a medical record maintained and 

preserved by the jail as required by Rule 

.1001(b)(7) of this Subchapter that indicates the 

inmate has attempted suicide at a previous time, 

unless the inmate is seen by a physician who 

determines a special watch is not needed; 

(2) an inmate who reports a previous suicide 

attempt or threatens to commit suicide during 

their initial screening upon admission required 

by Rule .1001(b)(1) of this Subchapter, unless 

the inmate is seen by a physician who 

determines a special watch is not needed; 

(3) an inmate who has been assigned to special 

watch by medical or mental health personnel of 

the jail or an officer; 

(4) an inmate who displays any of the following 

behavior: 

(A) physically hitting or trying to hit an 

officer; 

(B) verbal abuse of other people; 

(C) threatening other people, or 

threatening to or engaging in self-

injury; 

(D) screaming, crying, laughing 

uncontrollably, or refusing to talk; and 

(5) an inmate who is intoxicated by alcohol or drug 

use as determined at intake by one of the 

following: 

(A) a blood alcohol content level of .15 or 

greater as measured; 

(B) use of slurred speech; or 

(C) the inability to control body 

movement. 

(d)  A jail shall make sure that officers remain awake at all times 

while on duty. 

(e)  An officer or officers assigned to supervise inmates as 

required by Paragraph (a) and (c) of this Rule may be assigned 

other tasks if those tasks do not interfere with the completion of 

supervision and special watch rounds or are not performed at the 

same time as supervision and special watch rounds. These other 

tasks may include: 

(1) delivering food to inmates; 

(2) preparing inmates for and transporting inmates 

to court; 

(3) escorting inmates to medical appointments; 

(4) performing inmate booking and release 

functions; 

(5) supervising inmates working in the jail; and 

(6) exchanging inmate's soiled clothing, bed sheets, 

and blankets with clean clothing, bed sheets, 

and blankets. 

(f)  A jail shall have female officers on duty when female inmates 

are confined. 

(g)  The sheriff or the regional jail administrator shall develop 

contingency personnel plans for the supervision and control of 

inmates during a fire, an emergency event, or an emergency 

situation that includes rioting, bomb threats, escapes, and the 

taking of hostages. The contingency personnel plans shall provide 

for the availability of extra personnel. A contingency personnel 

plan shall be included in the emergency plans required by Rule 

.0203(18) of this Subchapter and the disaster plan required by 

Rule .0403(d) of this Subchapter. 

(h)  A jail shall not allow an inmate to supervise or assume control 

over other inmates. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0702 MATTRESSES AND BEDDING 

(a)  Mattresses, sheets, and blankets that are clean and are capable 

of being used for their intended purpose shall be supplied to 

inmates who are housed overnight. Clean sheets shall be issued at 

least once a week.  

(b)  Mattresses shall: 

(1) comply with G.S. 106.65.95 through 106.107 

and the requirements of 15A NCAC 18A .1517; 

(2) not be less than four inches thick; 

(3) be the same length and width as the jail bunks; 

(4) not have any metal, plastic, or other rigid 

framing component; and 

(5) have ticking that is water repellent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0705 PERSONAL HYGIENE ITEMS 

(a)  Every inmate detained over 24 hours shall be issued without 

charge the following items: 

(1) toothbrush; 

(2) toothpaste or tooth powder; 

(3) comb; 

(4) feminine hygiene products, if appropriate; 

(5) deodorant; and 

(6) shampoo. 

(b)  After an inmate has exhausted his or her initial supply of 

personal hygiene items listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, each 

jail shall make these items available either for inmate purchase or 

without charge, as determined by the jail. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .0904 MENUS 

(a)  A jail shall prepare menus in consultation with a dietitian or 

nutritionist. 

(b)  Menus shall be written and portion sizes shall be specified 

within the menu. 

(c)  Menus shall be dated and posted in the jail one week in 

advance of serving a meal. 

(d)  Menus shall be served to inmates as written, unless a 

substitution of comparable nutritional value is served as 

determined by the dietitian or nutritionist. Substitutions to the 

menu shall be made in consultation with a dietitian or nutritionist. 

(e)  The same menu shall not be served at lunch and dinner on the 

same day. 

(f)  Dated menus and records of any substitutions shall be retained 

for three years by the jail or the jail's food vendor, either at the jail 

or at a remote location. 

(g)  If requested during a Construction Section inspection, the jail 

shall make dated menus and records of substitutions available to 

the Construction Section within 30 days of the request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1001 MEDICAL PLAN 

(a)  A governing body shall develop and adopt a written medical 

plan in compliance with G.S. 153A-225. The medical plan shall 

be available for reference by jail personnel. The medical plan shall 

include a description of the health services available to inmates. 

(b)  The written plan shall include policies and procedures that 

address the following areas: 

(1) screening of inmates upon admission as set 

forth in Rule .1002(a) of this Section; 

(2) handling routine medical care; 

(3) handling routine care for an inmate's needs 

related to: 

(A) mental health; 

(B) a developmental or intellectual 

disability; and 

(C) a substance use disorder; 

(4) the handling of inmates with chronic illnesses 

or communicable diseases or conditions; 

(5) administration, dispensing, and control of 

prescription and non-prescription medications; 

(6) handling emergency medical needs, including 

dental care, substance use disorder, pregnancy, 

and mental health; 

(7) maintenance, preservation, and confidentiality 

of medical records; and 

(8) privacy during medical examinations and 

conferences with medical or mental health 

personnel. 

(c)  Inmates shall be provided an opportunity each day to 

communicate their health complaints to medical personnel, 

mental health personnel, or an officer. Medical personnel or 

mental health personnel shall be available to evaluate the needs of 

inmates related to medical care, mental health care, a substance 

use disorder, and a developmental or intellectual disability. A jail 

shall maintain a written record of an inmate's health complaints 

and the action taken by the jail. The jail shall make these records 

available to the Construction Section during an inspection upon 

request. 

(d)  Inmates shall not render medical care or routine care for 

mental health, substance use disorders, and developmental or 

intellectual disabilities to anyone in the jail. 

(e)  The local or district health director shall review the medical 

plan to determine if it needs to be updated not less than once each 

year beginning on January 1. If so, he or she shall update the 

medical plan in writing in accordance with G.S. 153A-225. The 

date of the most recent review shall be stated in the plan. The 

medical plan shall be maintained at the jail and shall be made 

available to the Construction Section during an inspection upon 

request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 153A-225; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1002 SCREENING OF INMATES 

(a)  Medical personnel, mental health personnel, or an officer shall 

conduct and document screenings of each inmate upon admission 

for the following: 

(1) medical care needs; 

(2) mental health care needs; 

(3) developmental and intellectual disabilities; 

(4) substance use disorders; and 

(5) risk of suicide. 

(b)  Medical personnel or mental health personnel shall maintain 

a record of the screening in each inmate's medical record. In 

compliance with G.S. 153A-222, documentation of the screening 

shall be made available to the Construction Section during an 

inspection upon request. 

(c)  Officers may access or use information from the screening in 

accordance with the confidentiality policy and procedures for 

medical records that is required by Rule .1001(b)(7) of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1201 APPLICABILITY –  

CONSTRUCTION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 
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10A NCAC 14J .1202 CONSULTATION AND 

TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE 

In compliance with G.S. 153A-220(1), the Construction Section 

shall provide consultation and technical assistance to a governing 

body in the planning and construction of a new jail or an addition, 

alteration, or repair of an existing jail I and II. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1203 COMPLIANCE REVIEW AND 

APPROVAL 

(a)  Prior to the construction of a new jail or the construction of 

an addition or alteration to an existing jail I and II, the governing 

body shall submit the following to the Construction Section for 

review and approval: 

(1) two sets of schematic drawings and outline 

specifications; 

(2) two sets of preliminary working drawings or 

design development drawings and outline 

specifications; and 

(3) two sets of construction documents and 

specifications. 

The Construction Section shall review one set of these drawings, 

documents, and specifications for compliance with the standards 

established in this Section and Rule .0103 of this Subchapter. The 

Construction Section shall have 45 days from receipt of these 

drawings, documents, and specifications to complete its review. 

(b)  Upon receipt of the drawings, documents, and specifications 

required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Construction Section 

shall send one set to the North Carolina Department of Insurance 

for plan review to confirm compliance with the North Carolina 

State Building Codes. The Construction Section's approval shall 

be contingent upon the approval by the North Carolina 

Department of Insurance and the local building code official. 

(c)  During its review, the Construction Section shall determine 

the total design capacity of the confinement units in the jail. The 

Construction Section's approval letter required by Paragraph (g) 

of this Rule shall state the total design capacity of the jail with a 

breakdown of the total design capacity as follows: 

(1) total capacity of confinement units designed for 

male inmates who are 18 years of age or older; 

(2) total capacity of confinement units designed for 

male inmates who are under 18 years of age; 

(3) total capacity of confinement units designed for 

female inmates who are 18 years of age or 

older; and 

(4) total capacity of confinement units designed for 

female inmates who are under 18 years of age. 

(d)  In order to maintain compliance with the standards established 

in this Section and Rule .0103 of this Subchapter, the governing 

body shall obtain written approval from the Construction Section 

for any changes made during the construction of the jail in the 

same manner as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Two weeks prior to the anticipated construction completion 

date, the governing body shall notify the Construction Section of 

the anticipated construction completion date in writing either by 

U.S. Mail at the Division of Health Service Regulation, 

Construction Section, 2705 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC, 

27699-2705 or by e-mail at 

DHSR.Construction.Admin@dhhs.nc.gov. 

(f)  Prior to inmate occupancy of the jail, the governing body shall 

obtain written approval of the completed construction from the 

Construction Section. 

(g)  When the Construction Section approves the construction 

documents and specifications, it shall provide the governing body 

with an approval letter. The Construction Section's approval of the 

construction documents and specifications shall expire 24 months 

after the issuance of the approval letter, unless the governing body 

has obtained a building permit for construction. If the 

Construction Section's approval has expired, the governing body 

may obtain a renewed approval of the construction documents and 

specifications from the Construction Section as follows: 

(1) If the standards established in this Section and 

Rule .0103 of this Subchapter have not 

changed, the governing body shall request a 

renewed approval of the construction 

documents and specifications from the 

Construction Section. 

(2) If the standards established in this Section and 

Rule .0103 of this Subchapter have changed, 

the governing body shall: 

(A) submit revised construction 

documents and specifications meeting 

the current standards established in 

this Section and Rule .0103 of this 

Subchapter to the Construction 

Section; and 

(B) receive written approval of the revised 

construction documents and 

specifications from the Construction 

Section. 

The Construction Section shall have 45 days from receipt of a 

request for a renewed approval to complete its review of the 

request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1207 INMATE PROCESSING AREA 

AND PADDED CELL 

(a)  Each jail that performs a booking and release function shall 

have an inmate processing area that includes the following: 

(1) a separate inmate entrance; 

(2) a holding area with seating and access to a 

toilet, lavatory, drinking fountain, and a 

shower; 

(3) a booking area that includes space for 

photographing and fingerprinting inmates; 

(4) a telephone for making local and collect 

long-distance calls; and 

(5) a sobriety testing area. 

(b)  A holding area may have a cell but it shall not be used as a 

confinement unit. 
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(c)  The inmate processing area may have a padded cell. The 

padded cell may be located in the medical area that is required by 

Rule .1209 of this Section. The padded cell shall: 

(1) be limited to one inmate; 

(2) contain a flushing rim floor drain that: 

(A) is capable of accepting solid waste; 

(B) has its flushing control located outside 

of the cell; and 

(C) has a tamper-resistant cover as rated 

by the manufacturer; 

(3) be located to allow observation of the cell by an 

officer 24 hours a day 7 days per week; 

(4) have not less than 50 square feet of floor area 

with no one floor dimension being less than 

seven feet; 

(5) have not less than an eight feet clear ceiling 

height; 

(6) provide a food pass with a lockable shutter; 

(7) have a door with a view panel large enough to 

permit observation of the entire cell or meet the 

requirements of Paragraph (f) of this Rule; 

(8) be equipped with a fire sprinkler rated as tamper 

resistant by the manufacturer; 

(9) have remote two-way voice communication; 

(10) be padded with padding material that meets the 

requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule; 

(11) be separated from the remainder of the jail as 

required by Paragraph (e) of this Rule; and 

(12) have a water hose connection outside the cell 

that is not accessible to an inmate. 

(d)  Cell padding shall meet the requirements of the North 

Carolina State Fire Prevention Code. Cell padding shall be: 

(1) not less than ½ inch thick; 

(2) of a unitary or laminated construction designed 

to prevent destruction by teeth, hand tearing, or 

small metal objects; 

(3) bonded to surfaces to prevent tearing or ripping; 

and 

(4) without exposed seams that can be ripped open. 

(e)  A padded cell shall be separated from the remainder of the jail 

with a 1-hour fire-resistance-rated fire barrier and a fire door with 

a fire protection rating of not less than 45 minutes as required by 

the North Carolina State Building Code. 

(f)  If the padded cell has a video camera that monitors the inmate, 

the door's view panel may have a cover. The video camera shall 

be inaccessible to the inmate. An officer at the remote location 

from the padded cell shall observe a live video image created by 

the video camera on a television monitor or computer monitor. 

The television monitor or computer monitor shall have live video 

images from not more than six padded or holding cells. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1210 OTHER AREAS 

(a)  Each jail that does not contract for meals shall have a kitchen. 

However, if a county or a region has more than one jail, it shall be 

required to provide only one kitchen if that kitchen meets the 

needs of the inmates in all of the jails. 

(b)  Each jail that does not contract for laundry services shall have 

a laundry. However, if a county or a regional jail has more than 

one jail, it shall be required to provide only one laundry if that 

laundry meets the needs of the inmates in all of the jails. 

(c)  Each jail shall have indoor and outdoor physical exercise 

areas. The indoor and outdoor exercise areas shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) An outdoor exercise area or areas shall: 

(A) be 15 square feet per inmate for the 

maximum number of inmates 

expected to use an exercise area at one 

time, as determined by the jail; 

(B) be not less than 100 square feet for 

each individual exercise area serving 

one inmate; 

(C) be not less than 300 square feet for 

each individual exercise area serving 

more than one inmate; 

(D) have a hard surface for the floor; 

(E) be enclosed by physical barriers that 

prevent inmate escape; 

(F) be out of sight from the public; and 

(G) if covered by a roof, be covered by 

noncombustible roof construction. 

(2) An indoor exercise area or areas shall: 

(A) be located in the dayroom, cellblock, 

dormitory, or a separate room located 

near the dayroom, cellblock, or 

dormitory. 

(B) be 15 square feet per inmate for the 

maximum number of inmates 

expected to use an exercise area at one 

time, as determined by the jail; 

(C) be not less than 100 square feet for 

each individual exercise area serving 

one inmate; 

(D) be not less than 300 square feet for 

each individual exercise area serving 

more than one inmate; and 

(E) if the exercise area is located in a 

dayroom or dormitory, be in addition 

to the floor area required by Rules 

.1225 and .1226 of this Section. 

(d)  Each jail shall provide areas with shelves that meet its storage 

needs.  

(e)  Each jail shall have a cleaning area that is equipped with a 

sink and that provides for the storage of cleaning supplies and 

equipment in a locked area. 

(f)  Each jail shall provide a separate locked storage area or areas 

for the storage of inmate personal property that includes storage 

for those inmates who are placed on work release. 

(g)  A control center shall have: 

(1) a security vestibule at its entrance; and 

(2) a room with a toilet and sink that is contiguous 

to the control room. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 
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Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1212 FLOORS, CEILINGS, AND 

WALLS 

(a)  Ceilings and walls in confinement units, cellblocks, 

dayrooms, the inmate processing area, and the medical area shall 

have a finished surface that is cleanable, nontoxic, and of light 

colors. 

(b)  Floors in confinement units, cellblocks, dayrooms, the inmate 

processing area, and the medical area shall have a finished surface 

that is cleanable and nontoxic. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1213 SHOWERS AND PLUMBING 

FIXTURES 

(a)  Each jail shall provide at least one shower for every eight 

inmates. 

(b)  A shower stall floor shall be sloped to a floor drain that 

prevents water from draining outside the shower stall. The floor 

used to access the shower stall that is outside of the stall but 

contiguous to the shower stall floor shall be sloped to a floor drain. 

(c)  In inmate accessible areas, the shower fixture and floor drain 

cover shall be security-type and tamper-resistant as rated by the 

manufacturer. 

(d)  In inmate accessible areas, plumbing fixtures shall be made 

of stainless steel or other similar materials that are rated as 

security-type and tamper-resistant by the manufacturer. 

(e)  All privacy partitions in showers and bathrooms shall be high 

enough to allow limited privacy for the inmates while still 

allowing supervision of the inmates by officers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1214 WINDOWS AND GLAZING 

(a)  If glazing affords persons from outside of the jail a view of 

inmates inside the jail, the glazing shall: 

(1) admit natural light into the confinement unit or 

dayroom; 

(2) be diffused or obscured to prevent persons from 

outside the jail from observing inmates inside 

the jail. 

(b)  A view panel used to observe a confinement unit shall have 

an area that permits observation of the entire unit. 

(c)  For a single segregation cell, a window to the outdoors shall 

be provided either in the cell or in the corridor that is contiguous 

to the cell. If the window is provided in the cell, it shall have a 

gross window area measuring not less than three square feet. If 

the window is provided in the corridor that is contiguous to the 

cell, the gross window area of the corridor shall be equivalent to 

the sum of two square feet per inmate whose segregation cell is 

contiguous to the corridor or 48 square feet, whichever is greater. 

The cell door shall have a window area measuring not less than 

96 square inches. 

(d)  Unless natural light is provided to a single cell or multiple 

occupancy cell from a dayroom as set forth in Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule, a cell shall have windows to the outdoors. The windows 

shall comply with the following: 

(1) a single cell shall have a gross window area 

measuring not less than three square feet; 

(2) a multiple occupancy cell with two inmates 

shall have a gross window area measuring not 

less than three square feet; and 

(3) a multiple occupancy cell with three or more 

inmates shall have a gross window area 

measuring not less than five square feet. 

(e)  Unless natural light is provided to a single cell or multiple 

occupancy cell as set forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, a 

dayroom contiguous to the single cell or multiple occupancy cell 

shall have windows to the outdoors. The gross window area of the 

dayroom shall be equivalent to the sum of two square feet per 

inmate whose single cell or multiple occupancy cell is contiguous 

to the dayroom or 48 square feet, whichever is greater. Unless the 

front of the cell has metal bars, each cell door of the dayroom shall 

have a view panel with: 

(1) an area measuring not less than three square 

feet; and 

(2) transparent glazing. 

(f)  A dormitory shall have windows to the outdoors with a gross 

window area measuring not less than two square feet per inmate 

or 48 square feet, whichever is greater. 

(g)  An exterior window that is less than 18 feet above finished 

floor in a room or area where inmates are located shall be designed 

and constructed with either the height or width of its framed or 

barred opening not more than 5 inches in length. For the purposes 

of this Paragraph, a "framed or barred opening" means the area 

available for escape after glazing is broken and removed from a 

window. 

(h)  Windows, skylights, or a combination of windows and 

skylights may be used in dormitories and dayrooms to comply 

with the requirements of this Rule. 

(i)  A solar tubular skylight shall not be used to comply with this 

Rule. For the purposes of this Rule, a "solar tubular skylight" 

means a tubular daylighting device that delivers natural light from 

the outdoors to an interior space that is unreachable by a window 

and skylight installed in an exterior wall or roof. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1215 DOORS, BUNKS, LOCKS, AND 

FASTENERS 

(a)  A jail shall provide doors, locks, and detention hardware that 

are rated by the manufacturer as security-type and as acceptable 

for use in correctional facilities. 

(b)  Fasteners used in inmate accessible areas shall be rated by the 

manufacturer as security-type and tamper-resistant. 

(c)  Doors to confinement units, cellblocks, inmate accessible 

corridors, and dayrooms shall have view panels. 
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(d)  A security vestibule and a sally port shall have: 

(1) one or more interior doors or gates and an 

entrance door or gate; 

(2) doors or gates provided with an interlocking 

security feature; 

(3) interior doors or gates arranged to be locked and 

unlocked by means located outside of the 

security vestibule, sally port, dormitory, 

dayroom, and cellblock; and 

(4) doors or gates provided with override capability 

to unlock all doors or gates in the event of an 

emergency. 

(e)  Doors and locks that are electronically controlled shall be 

equipped with manual override. 

(f)  Food passes in doors, if used, shall have openings large 

enough to permit the passage of a food tray. 

(g)  Single segregation cells and single cells shall have a single 

bunk. Multiple occupancy cells and dormitories shall have single 

bunks or double bunks. A bunk shall: 

(1) have dimensions large enough to accommodate 

a detention mattress; 

(2) be anchored not less than 15 inches above the 

floor, if a single bunk or a lower bunk of a 

double bunk; 

(3) be anchored not less than 50 inches above the 

floor, if an upper bunk of a double bunk; 

(4) be anchored flush to the wall; 

(5) have a lip to hold the mattress in place; and 

(6) have tamper-resistant construction. 

(h)  Cells required to be accessible for persons with disabilities as 

required by the North Carolina State Building Code shall not have 

an upper bunk. 

(i)  Inmate accessible areas of the jail shall be equipped or 

furnished in a manner that decreases suicide hazards within the 

jail. Jails shall provide items to reduce suicide hazards for 

inmates, including the following: 

(1) handrails or grab bars with a closure plate that 

is installed between the wall and the handrail or 

grab bar; 

(2) exposed door hinges with a sloped top and 

bottom; 

(3) non-vertical surfaces of door hardware with a 

slope; 

(4) holes in the bunk mattress platform that are no 

more than 1/8 inch in diameter; 

(5) shower heads that are not hand-held with a 

hose; and 

(6) heating, ventilating, and air conditioning supply 

and return grilles with openings not more than 

3/16 inches wide, if the supply and return grilles 

are located in a cell used to house inmates on 

special watch. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1218 PLUMBING SYSTEMS 

(a)  A jail shall have a hot water supply for lavatories and showers 

designed to meet the needs of the number of inmates confined in 

the jail, as determined by the governing body. The hot water 

temperature at lavatories and showers used by inmates shall be 

maintained at a minimum of 100 degrees F (38 degrees C) and 

shall not exceed 116 degrees F (46.7 degrees C). 

(b)  A jail shall not locate the following valves of the water supply 

system in rooms or areas accessible by inmates: 

(1) a shut-off valve for a supply branch line serving 

plumbing fixtures; 

(2) a shut-off valve for a riser pipe serving 

plumbing fixtures; and 

(3) a shut-off valve to a plumbing fixture. 

(c)  The shut-off valves listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

be accessible to officers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1219 ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS 

(a)  Each jail shall have an electrical system that provides artificial 

lighting of not less than: 

(1) 30 footcandles of light at floor level in 

confinement units and dayrooms that can be 

reduced during sleeping hours; and 

(2) 20 footcandles of light at floor level in 

corridors. 

(b)  In inmate accessible areas, lighting fixtures shall be security-

type and tamper-resistant as rated by the manufacturer. 

(c)  In inmate accessible areas, a fire alarm system notification 

appliance shall be rated as tamper-resistant by the manufacturer 

or enclosed in a metal guard. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"notification appliance" means a component of the fire alarm 

system as defined by the National Fire Protection Association, 

National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code, NFPA 72. 

(d)  A jail shall provide an electrical connection and an antenna or 

cable connection for a television in its dayroom areas. 

(e)  The main electrical distribution panel and electrical subpanels 

shall not be located in areas accessible by inmates and shall be 

accessible to officers during an emergency. 

(f)  A jail shall provide emergency power to areas, equipment, and 

systems as required by the North Carolina State Building Codes. 

A jail may provide additional emergency power to maintain jail 

operations and functions needed during a power outage. If the 

following functions are not provided with emergency power, the 

disaster plan required by Rule .0403 of this Subchapter shall 

indicate how these functions will be maintained during a power 

outage: 

(1) operating equipment and systems located in the 

control center; 

(2) heating, ventilation, and air conditioning of the 

jail; 

(3) heating of hot water for inmate lavatories and 

showers; and 

(4) preparing and cooking of inmate meals, if meals 

are prepared in the jail. 
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(g)  If the fire alarm control panel is not located in the control 

center, a jail may install a remote annunciator panel in the control 

center to provide officers with fire alarm status information from 

the fire alarm control panel. For the purposes of this Rule, the 

terms "fire alarm control panel" and "remote annunciator panel" 

mean a component of the fire alarm system as defined by the 

National Fire Protection Association, National Fire Alarm and 

Signaling Code, NFPA 72. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1225 STANDARDS FOR DAYROOMS 

Each dayroom shall have: 

(1) a security vestibule at its entrance; 

(2) a floor space of not less than 105 square feet or 

35 square feet per inmate, whichever is greater; 

(3) seating for the capacity of the cellblock; 

(4) table space for the capacity of the cellblock, 

unless each inmate has unrestricted access to 

their cell with a table and chair, in which case 

the dayroom shall have table space for 70 

percent of the capacity of the cellblock; 

(5) a telephone jack or access to a telephone 

provided within the dayroom; 

(6) a way for officers to observe the entire area;  

(7) one toilet, sink, and security mirror per eight 

inmates, unless the inmates have unrestricted 

access to their cell with a toilet, sink, and 

security mirror; and 

(8) one drinking fountain, unless the inmates have 

unrestricted access to their cell with a drinking 

fountain. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1993; December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 14J .1226 STANDARDS FOR 

DORMITORIES 

A dormitory shall meet the requirements of G.S. 153A-221(d). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-221; 

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1106 RADIOACTIVE MATERIALS AND ACCELERATOR FEE AMOUNTS 

(a)  Annual fees for persons licensed pursuant to the provisions of Section .0300 of this Chapter shall be: 

Type of Radioactive Material License    Annual Fee 

Specific license of broad scope including: 

-academic or research and development (R&D)   $ 5,180.00 

-manufacture or distribution     $ 6,100.00 

-medical        $ 6,760.00 

 

Specific license including: 

-educational institutions, R&D laboratories    $ 2,960.00 

-industrial radiography      $ 5,400.00 

-irradiator >10,000Ci      $ 19,140.00 

-irradiator ≤10,000Ci      $ 2,160.00 

-manufacture or distribution     $ 2,320.00 

-medical (human use), diagnostic     $ 2,940.00 

-medical (human use), therapeutic     $ 4,760.00 

-services, consultants, gauges (all types), or not specified above $ 1,860.00 

-well logging, subsurface tracer studies    $ 3,200.00 

 

General license including: 

-not subject to annual registration requirements   $ 200.00 

-subject to annual registration requirements    $ 325.00 

-possession of self-luminous devices under Rule .0309 of this Chapter no fee 

-possession of source material from water remediation activities under  

Rule .0307 of this Chapter     no fee 

 

(b)  Annual fees for persons licensed pursuant to the provisions of 

Section .0900 of this Chapter shall be four thousand seven 

hundred sixty dollars ($4,760.00). 

(c)  Fees for out-of-state persons granted permission to use 

sources of radiation in this State pursuant to Rule .0345 of this 

Chapter are the same as that provided for in the applicable 

category specified in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. The fees 

shall be due when the application for reciprocal recognition of 

out-of-state license is made. 

(d)  Each location listed on a license issued by the Agency that is 

not part of a contiguous property controlled by the licensee shall 

require an additional fee equal to the amount specified in 
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Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. Fees for client locations listed 

on mobile medical licenses shall be one-half of the amount 

specified in Paragraphs (a) or (b) of this Rule for each client site. 

(e)  Persons licensed to conduct activities subject to multiple 

categories of fees under Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 

required to pay only the highest fee category. 

(f)  Persons possessing Sealed Source and Device Registration 

(SS&D) certificates shall pay an annual fee of one thousand four 

hundred eighty dollars ($1,480.00) per active SS&D certificate 

issued by the Agency, in addition to any amounts specified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-9(a)(8); 104E-19(a); 

Eff. August 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1106 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1001 WARNING TICKETS 

Warning Tickets Prohibited. Wildlife Enforcement Officers shall 

not issue warning tickets for the following offenses and classes of 

offenses: 

(1) second offense of the same charge; 

(2) exceeding bag or creel limits; 

(3) unlawful taking of fish or wildlife by use of 

drugs, poison, explosives, or electricity; 

(4) hunting, fishing, or trapping in closed season; 

(5) unlawful taking of deer or fox; 

(6) unlawful taking or possession of bear or wild 

turkey; 

(7) unlawful purchase or sale of wildlife, except 

when possession of a Trophy Wildlife Sale 

Permit would otherwise make purchase or sale 

lawful; and 

(8) taking wildlife with the aid of or from a motor 

vehicle or boat under power or while in motion. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-140; 

Eff. April 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; May 1, 2004; November 2, 1992; 

November 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1501 SUMMARY DISPOSITION 

The Executive Director or his or her designee may determine the 

summary disposition of fish or wildlife seized by the 

Commission. Summary disposition shall be determined in 

accordance with G.S. 113-137(d), on a case-by-case basis, taking 

into consideration factors that may include public health and 

safety, conservation objectives of the Commission, and the health 

or genetic integrity of native wildlife resources. Summary 

disposition may include release, relocation, or euthanasia. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-137; 

Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0116 PERMITTED ARCHERY 

EQUIPMENT 

(a)  "Archery equipment" means any device that has a solid, 

stationary handle, two limbs, and a string, that uses non-

pneumatic means to propel a single arrow or bolt and may be used 

to take game and nongame species. 

(b)  Longbows and recurved bows having a minimum pull of 40 

pounds, compound bows having a minimum pull of 35 pounds, 

and crossbows having a minimum pull of 100 pounds shall be 

used for taking bear, deer, elk, wild turkey, alligator, and feral 

swine. 

(c)  Archery equipment utilizing an elastic string and having a 

minimum pull of 40 pounds may be used to take wild turkey, 

small game animals, nongame animals, and nongame fish. 

(d)  Only arrows and bolts with a fixed minimum broadhead width 

of seven-eighths of an inch or a mechanically opening broadhead 

with a width of at least seven-eighths of an inch in the open 

position shall be used for taking bear, deer, elk, wild turkey, 

alligator, and feral swine. 

(e)  Blunt-type arrow heads may be used in taking small animals 

and birds including rabbits, squirrels, quail, grouse, and 

pheasants. 

(f)  Poisonous, drugged, or explosive arrowheads shall not be used 

for taking any wildlife. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1(a); 

Eff. September 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2012; July 10, 2010; May 

1, 2007; August 1, 2002; July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; 

August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0124 IMPORTATION OF ANIMAL 

PARTS 

(a)  Unless otherwise provided in this Rule, it shall be unlawful to 

import, transport, or possess a cervid carcass or carcass part 

originating from outside of North Carolina except: 

(1) meat that has been boned out such that no 

pieces or fragments of bone remain; 

(2) caped hides with no part of the skull or spinal 

column attached; 

(3) antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates, 

or skulls free from meat or brain tissue; 

(4) cleaned lower jawbones with teeth or cleaned 

teeth; or 

(5) finished taxidermy products and tanned hides. 

(b)  Any cervid carcass, carcass part, or container of cervid meat 

or carcass parts listed in Subparagraph (a)(1) through (4) of this 

Rule shall be labeled or identified with the following information: 

(1) the individual's name and address; 

(2) the state, Canadian province, or foreign country 

of origin; and 

(3) the date the cervid was killed and the 

individual's hunting license number, permit 

number, or equivalent identification from the 

state, Canadian province, or foreign country of 

origin. 
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(c)  It shall be lawful to import, transport, or possess a caped hide 

with only the head attached from a white-tailed deer lawfully 

taken in South Carolina, if delivered to a licensed North Carolina 

taxidermist within 24 hours of entering the State. The hide and 

head shall be double plastic bagged and labeled or identified with 

the information required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule and the 

name of the county in South Carolina where the white-tailed deer 

was killed. This Paragraph shall expire on August 1, 2020 or upon 

the Commission's confirmation of the discovery of Chronic 

Wasting Disease in a cervid from South Carolina, whichever 

occurs first. Upon expiration, all restrictions and requirements of 

Paragraph (a) shall apply. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-291.2; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0202 BEAR 

(a)  Open Seasons for hunting bear shall be from the: 

(1) Monday on or nearest October 15 through the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving and the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving through January 1 

in and west of Surry, Wilkes, Caldwell, Burke, 

and Cleveland counties; 

(2) Second Monday in November through January 

1 in Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, 

Cumberland, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, 

Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson 

counties; 

(3) Second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Beaufort, Bertie, Craven, 

Hertford, Jones, Martin, and Washington 

counties; 

(4) Second Saturday in November through the third 

Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Dare, Hyde, and Tyrrell 

counties; 

(5) Second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Currituck, Gates, and 

Perquimans counties; 

(6) Second Sunday in November through the 

following Sunday and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Camden, Chowan, and 

Pasquotank counties; 

(7) Third Saturday in November though the fifth 

Sunday thereafter in Edgecombe, Greene, 

Halifax, Lenoir, Nash, Northampton, Pitt, 

Wayne, and Wilson counties; and 

(8) Concurrent with the open season for all lawful 

weapons for hunting deer as specified in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0203(a)(1) in Alamance, 

Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, 

Catawba, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Durham, 

Franklin, Forsyth, Gaston, Granville, Guilford, 

Harnett, Hoke, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, 

Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, 

Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Union, 

Vance, Wake, Warren, and Yadkin counties. 

(b)  Restrictions 

(1) For purposes of this Paragraph, "bait" means 

any natural, unprocessed food product that is a 

grain, fruit, nut, vegetable, or other material 

harvested from a plant crop that is not modified 

from its raw components. 

(2) Bears shall not be taken with the use or aid of: 

(A) any processed food product as defined 

in G.S. 113-294(r), any animal, animal 

part or product, salt, salt lick, honey, 

sugar, sugar-based material, syrups, 

candy, pastry, gum, candy block, oils, 

spices, peanut butter, or grease; 

(B) any extracts of substances identified in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph; 

(C) any substances modified by 

substances identified in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph, including any extracts 

of those substances; or 

(D) any bear bait attractant, including 

sprays, aerosols, scent balls, and scent 

powders. 

(3) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait from the 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving in the counties in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(4) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait during 

the entire open season in the counties identified 

in Subparagraphs (a)(2) through (a)(6) of this 

Rule. 

(5) Bears shall not be taken while in the act of 

consuming bait. 

(6) Hunters shall not take bears using dogs in the 

following counties: Alamance south of 

Interstate 85, Anson west of N.C. Hwy 742, 

Cabarrus, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Franklin, 

Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Lee, Lincoln, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange south of 

Interstate 85, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, 

Stanly, Union, and Wake south of N.C. Hwy 

98. In all other counties and parts of counties, 

hunters may take bears using dogs and may 

release dogs in the vicinity of bait. 

(c)  No Open Season. It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted 

bear sanctuaries except when authorized by permit issued by the 

Commission. See 15A NCAC 10D .0106 for posted bear 

sanctuaries. 

(d)  The daily bag limit for bear is one, the possession limit is one, 

and the season limit is one. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 

113-291.7; 113-305; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2287 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; September 1, 1995; July 1, 1995; July 

1, 1994; April 14, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amendment Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. December 27, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 

2006; June 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 31, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0206 SQUIRRELS 

(a)  Squirrel Open Seasons: 

(1) Gray and red squirrels may be taken by hunting 

on the Monday on or closest to October 15 to 

the last day of February. 

(2) Fox squirrels may be taken by hunting on the 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to January 31. 

(b)  Squirrel Bag Limits: 

(1) The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is 

eight and there are no season and no possession 

limits. 

(2) The daily bag limit for fox squirrels is one; the 

possession limit is two; and the season limit is 

10. 

 

History Note Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2013; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 

1, 2008; May 1, 2006; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; July 1, 1986; 

July 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0207 RABBITS 

(a)  Rabbit Open Season: The open season for taking rabbits shall 

be from the Monday on or nearest October 15 through the last day 

of February. 

(b)  Rabbit Bag Limits: The daily bag limit for rabbits is five and 

there are no season and no possession limits. 

(c)  Rabbit Box-traps: During the hunting season specified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule and subject to the bag limits set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, rabbits may be taken with box-traps. 

A valid hunting license shall serve as a transportation permit for 

live rabbits taken pursuant to this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-291.1; 

113-291.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1987; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1985; July 1, 

1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; May 1, 2008; April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

15A NCAC 10B .0303 OPEN SEASONS 

(a)  General. The open season for the taking by trapping of fur-

bearing animals as those animals are defined in G.S. 113-129(7a), 

as well as the taking by trapping of coyotes, armadillos, and 

groundhogs, shall be November 1 through the last day of 

February, subject to the following: 

(1) trapping coyotes shall also be allowed during 

local fox trapping seasons and in accordance 

with methods described by local law in counties 

that have established fox trapping seasons by 

law outside the regular trapping season 

described in Paragraph (a); and 

(2) nutria may be trapped east of I-77 at any time. 

(b)  Feral Swine. There is no closed season for trapping feral 

swine, subject to the following restrictions: 

(1) in addition to a hunting or trapping license, a 

permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission is required to trap feral swine. 

Individuals exempted from license 

requirements under the provisions specified in 

G.S. 113-276 may trap feral swine without a 

hunting or trapping license, but must acquire 

the permit; 

(2) feral swine may be live-trapped using only 

corral or box traps. Corral and box traps must 

be constructed in a manner such that a non-

target animal can be released or can escape 

without harm. The permit number must be 

displayed on all traps; and 

(3) feral swine must be euthanized while in the trap 

and may not be removed alive from any trap. 

 

Note: See 15A NCAC 10D .0102(f) for other trapping restrictions 

on game lands. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 

113-291.12; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; July 1, 1984; July 1, 1983; August 1, 

1982; August 1, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; November 1, 2008; 

May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; August 1, 

2004; 

Recodified from Rule 10B .0302 Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 29, 2011; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 

WATERS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Natural bait" means any living or dead 

organism (plant or animal), or parts thereof, or 

prepared substances designed to attract fish by 

the sense of taste or smell. 
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(2) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 

neither contains nor has been treated by any 

substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 

or smell. 

(3) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years 

of age. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply: 

(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are all waters 

included in this Rule and so designated in 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release/Artificial Flies Only Trout 

Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters 

where only artificial flies having one single 

hook may be used. No trout may be possessed 

or harvested while fishing these streams. 

Waters designated as such include tributaries 

unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Catch and Release/Artificial Lures Only Trout 

Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters 

where only artificial lures having one single 

hook may be used. No trout may be possessed 

or harvested while fishing these streams. 

Waters designated as such include tributaries 

unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where between October 

1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 

before the first Saturday of the following June, 

it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more 

than one single hook on an artificial lure, or 

harvest or possess trout while fishing. From 

6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 

noon that same day, only youth anglers may 

fish and these waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. From noon on the first Saturday in 

June until October 1, anglers of all ages may 

fish and these waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(5) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(6) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-

specific regulations apply. Waters designated 

as such do not include tributaries unless 

otherwise noted. 

(7) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 

Waters which are identified as such in this Rule 

or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures 

having only one single hook may be used. No 

person shall possess natural bait while fishing 

these waters. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(8) "Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where all artificial lures 

and natural baits, except live fish, may be used 

provided they are fished using only one single 

hook. Waters designated as such include 

tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(9) "Undesignated Waters" are all other waters in 

the State. These waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Trout may not be possessed while 

fishing these waters from March 1 until 7:00 

a.m. on the first Saturday in April. 

(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits 

for trout in all waters are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 

county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 

are so designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 

indicated in this Paragraph. All other waters are classified as 

Undesignated Waters. 

(1) Alleghany 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Little River (S.R. 1133 bridge to 275 

yards downstream of the intersection 

of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 1129 [marked 

by a sign on each bank]) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Pine Creek 

Bledsoe Creek 

Brush Creek (N.C. 21 bridge to 

confluence with Little River, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Cranberry Creek 

(Big) Glade Creek 

Little River (275 yards downstream 

from the intersection of S.R. 1128 and 

S.R. 1129 [marked by a sign on each 

bank] to McCann Dam) 

Meadow Fork 

Pine Swamp Creek 

Piney Fork 

Prathers Creek 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park 

(2) Ashe County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Big Horse Creek (Virginia state line to 

Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, excluding 

tributaries) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Horse Creek (S.R. 1324 bridge to 

North Fork New River) 

Helton Creek (SR 1372 bridge to 

North Fork New River) 

South Fork New River (upstream end 

of Todd Island to the SR 1351 bridge) 

Trout Lake 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
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Beaver Creek (N.C. 221 to confluence 

of Beaver Creek and South Beaver 

Creek) 

Big Horse Creek (Mud Creek at S.R. 

1363 to S.R. 1324 bridge) 

Big Laurel Creek (S.R. 1315 bridge to 

confluence with North Fork New 

River) 

Buffalo Creek (S.R. 1133 bridge to 

N.C. 194-88 bridge) 

Cranberry Creek (Alleghany Co. line 

to South Fork New River) 

Nathans Creek 

North Fork New River (Watauga Co. 

line to Sharp Dam) 

Old Fields Creek (N.C. 221 to South 

Fork New River) 

Peak Creek (headwaters to Trout 

Lake, except Blue Ridge Parkway 

waters) 

Roan Creek 

Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Elk River (portion on Lees-McRae 

College property, excluding the 

millpond) 

Lost Cove Creek (game land portion, 

excluding Gragg Prong and 

Rockhouse Creek) 

(B) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Wilson Creek (game land portion) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boyde Coffey Lake 

Elk River (S.R. 1305 crossing 

immediately upstream of Big Falls to 

the Tennessee state line) 

Linville River (Land Harbor line 

[below dam] to the Blue Ridge 

Parkway boundary line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Milltimber Creek 

North Toe River — upper (Watauga 

St. to Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 

Family Recreational Park, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

North Toe River — lower (S.R. 1164 

to Mitchell Co. line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Squirrel Creek 

Wildcat Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Birchfield Creek 

Cow Camp Creek 

Cranberry Creek (headwaters to U.S. 

19E/N.C. 194 bridge) 

Gragg Prong 

Horse Creek 

Kentucky Creek 

North Harper Creek 

Plumtree Creek 

Roaring Creek 

Rockhouse Creek 

Shawneehaw Creek (portion adjacent 

to Banner Elk Greenway) 

South Harper Creek 

Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Carter Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Bent Creek (headwaters to N.C. 

Arboretum boundary line) 

Cane Creek (headwaters to S.R. 3138 

bridge) 

Corner Rock Creek (Little Andy 

Creek to confluence with Walker 

Branch) 

Dillingham Creek (Corner Rock 

Creek to Ivy Creek) 

Ivy Creek (Ivy River)(Dillingham 

Creek to U.S. 19-23 bridge) 

Lake Powhatan 

Reems Creek (Sugar Camp Fork to 

U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Rich Branch (downstream from the 

confluence with Rocky Branch) 

Stony Creek 

Swannanoa (S.R. 2702 bridge near 

Ridgecrest to Wood Avenue bridge 

[intersection of N.C. 81 and U.S. 74A 

in Asheville], except where posted 

against trespassing) 

(5) Burke County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Henry Fork (portion on South 

Mountains State Park) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Jacob Fork (Shinny Creek to lower 

South Mountains State Park 

boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Carroll Creek (game land portion 

above S.R. 1405) 

Henry Fork (lower South Mountain 

State Park line downstream to S.R. 

1919 at Ivy Creek) 

Linville River portion within Linville 

Gorge Wilderness area and portion 
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below Lake James powerhouse from 

upstream bridge on S.R. 1223 to 

Muddy Creek) 

(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Catawba River (Muddy Creek to City 

of Morganton water intake dam) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on South 

Mountains State Park, except those 

waters identified in Parts A and B of 

this Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Wilson Creek (game land portion 

below Lost Cove Creek to Philips 

Branch) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boone Fork Pond 

Buffalo Creek (mouth of Joes Creek to 

McCloud Branch) 

Joes Creek (first falls upstream of S.R. 

1574 to confluence with Buffalo 

Creek) 

Wilson Creek (Phillips Branch to 

Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Yadkin River (Happy Valley Ruritan 

Community Park to S.R. 1515) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Buffalo Creek (Watauga Co. line to 

Long Ridge Branch including game 

land tributaries) 

Joes Creek (Watauga Co. line to first 

falls upstream of the end of S.R. 1574) 

Rockhouse Creek 

(7) Cherokee County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davis Creek (confluence of Bald and 

Dockery creeks to Hanging Dog 

Creek) 

Hyatt Creek (Big Dam Branch to 

Valley River) 

Junaluska Creek (Ashturn Creek to 

Valley River) 

Shuler Creek (Joe Brown Hwy [S.R. 

1325] bridge to Tennessee state line) 

Valley River (S.R. 1359 to U.S. 19 

Business bridge in Murphy) 

(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Apalachia Reservoir 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Bald Creek (game land portion) 

Dockery Creek (game land portion) 

North Shoal Creek (game land 

portion) 

(8) Clay County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Fires Creek (USFS Rd. 340A to the 

foot bridge in the USFS Fires Creek 

Picnic Area) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Buck Creek (game land portion 

downstream of U.S. 64 bridge) 

Fires Creek (foot bridge in the USFS 

Fires Creek Picnic Area to S.R. 1300) 

Tusquitee Creek (Compass Creek to 

lower S.R. 1300 bridge) 

(9) Graham County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS 

footbridge at the old railroad junction 

to USFS Rd. 2579) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 

to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Panther Creek (confluence of Stand 

Creek and Rock Creek to Lake 

Fontana) 

Santeetlah Creek (Johns Branch to 

Lake Santeetlah) 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS Road 

2579 to S.R. 1127 bridge) 

Stecoah Creek (upper game land 

boundary to Lake Fontana) 

Tulula Creek (S.R. 1201 to lower 

bridge on S.R. 1275) 

West Buffalo Creek 

Yellow Creek (Lake Santeetlah 

hydropower pipeline to Cheoah River) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Little Buffalo Creek 

South Fork Squally Creek 

Squally Creek 

(D) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Deep Creek 

Franks Creek 

Long Creek (game land portion) 

(10) Haywood County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

West Fork Pigeon River (Queen Creek 

to the first game land boundary 

upstream of Lake Logan) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
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Cold Springs Creek (Fall Branch to 

Pigeon River) 

Jonathan Creek (upstream S.R. 1302 

bridge to Pigeon River, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Pigeon River (Stamey Cove Branch to 

upstream U.S. 19-23 bridge) 

Richland Creek (Russ Avenue [U.S. 

276] bridge to U.S. 19 bridge) 

West Fork Pigeon River (Tom Creek 

to Queen Creek, including portions on 

game lands, except Middle Prong) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Hemphill Creek 

Hurricane Creek 

(11) Henderson County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

North Fork Mills River (game land 

portion below the Hendersonville 

watershed dam) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

(Rocky) Broad River (end of S.R. 

1611 to Rutherford County line) 

Cane Creek (railroad bridge upstream 

of S.R. 1551 bridge to U.S. 25 bridge) 

Clear Creek (Laurel Fork to S.R. 

1582) 

Green River (Lake Summit 

powerhouse to game land boundary) 

(Big) Hungry River (S.R. 1885 to 

Green River) 

(12) Jackson County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Flat Creek 

Tuckasegee River (upstream from the 

Clark property) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Tuckasegee River (downstream N.C. 

107 bridge to the falls located 275 

yards upstream of the U.S. 23-441 

bridge [marked by a sign on each 

bank]) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Balsam Lake 

Bear Creek Lake 

Cedar Cliff Lake 

Cullowhee Creek (Tilley Creek to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Dark Ridge Creek (Jones Creek to 

Scott Creek) 

Greens Creek (Greens Creek Baptist 

Church on S.R. 1370 to Savannah 

Creek) 

Savannah Creek (Shell Branch to 

Cagle Branch) 

Scott Creek (Dark Ridge Creek to 

Tuckasegee River, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Tanasee Creek Lake 

Tuckasegee River — upper (John 

Brown Branch to the downstream 

N.C. 107 bridge) 

Tuckasegee River — lower (falls 

located 275 yards upstream of U.S. 23-

441 bridge [marked by a sign on each 

bank] to S.R. 1534 bridge at Wilmot) 

Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Gage Creek 

North Fork Scott Creek 

Tanasee Creek 

Whitewater River (downstream from 

Silver Run Creek to South Carolina 

state line) 

Wolf Creek (except Balsam Lake and 

Wolf Creek Lake) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Buff Creek 

Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

the South Carolina state line) 

Lower Fowler Creek (game land 

portion) 

Scotsman Creek (game land portion) 

(13) Macon County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Nantahala River (Whiteoak Creek to 

Nantahala hydropower discharge 

canal) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Burningtown Creek (Left Prong to 

Little Tennessee River) 

Cartoogechaye Creek (downstream 

U.S. 64 bridge to Little Tennessee 

River) 

Cliffside Lake 

Cullasaja River (Sequoyah Dam to 

U.S. 64 bridge near junction of S.R. 

1672) 

Nantahala River — upper (Dicks 

Creek to Whiteoak Creek) 

Nantahala River — lower (Nantahala 

hydropower discharge canal to Swain 

Co. line) 

Queens Creek Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

South Carolina state line) 

Jarrett Creek (game land portion) 
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Kimsey Creek 

Overflow Creek (game land portion) 

Park Creek 

Tellico Creek (game land portion) 

Turtle Pond Creek (game land portion) 

(14) Madison County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge to 

the U.S. 25-70 bridge) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge 

at Belva to the confluence with Big 

Laurel Creek) 

Spring Creek (N.C. 209 bridge at Hot 

Springs city limits to iron bridge at end 

of Andrews Ave.) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Laurel Creek (Puncheon Fork to 

the S.R. 1318 [Big Laurel Rd.] bridge 

downstream of Bearpen Branch) 

Big Pine Creek (S.R. 1151 bridge to 

French Broad River) 

Little Ivy Creek (confluence of Middle 

Fork and Paint Fork at Beech Glen to 

confluence with Ivy Creek at Forks of 

Ivy) 

Max Patch Pond 

Meadow Fork Creek (Meadow Fork 

Campground to Spring Creek) 

Puncheon Fork (Hampton Creek to 

Big Laurel Creek) 

Roaring Fork (Fall Branch to Meadow 

Fork) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (confluence of 

Big Creek and Mill Creek to N.C. 208 

bridge at Belva) 

Shut-in Creek 

Spillcorn Creek 

Spring Creek (junction of N.C. 209 

and N.C. 63 to USFS Rd. 223) 

West Fork Shut-in Creek (lower game 

land boundary to confluence with East 

Fork Shut-in Creek) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Big Creek (headwaters to the lower 

game land boundary) 

(15) McDowell County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Newberry Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Catawba River (portion adjacent to 

Marion Greenway) 

Curtis Creek (game land portion 

downstream of the USFS boundary at 

Deep Branch) 

Mill Creek (U.S. 70 bridge to I-40 

bridge) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Armstrong Creek (Cato Holler line 

downstream to upper Greenlee line) 

Catawba River (Catawba Falls 

Campground to Old Fort Recreation 

Park) 

Little Buck Creek (game land portion) 

Mill Creek (upper railroad bridge to 

U.S. 70 bridge, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

North Fork Catawba River 

(headwaters to North Cove School at 

S.R. 1569 bridge) 

(16) Mitchell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane Creek (N.C. 226 bridge to S.R. 

1189 bridge) 

North Toe River (U.S. 19E bridge to 

N.C. 226 bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Rock Creek (headwaters to N.C. 

226 bridge at S.R. 1307 intersection) 

Cane Creek (S.R. 1219 to N.C. 226 

bridge) 

East Fork Grassy Creek 

Grassy Creek (East Fork Grassy Creek 

to mouth) 

Little Rock Creek (Green Creek 

bridge to Big Rock Creek, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

North Toe River (Avery Co. line to 

S.R. 1121 bridge) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Green Creek (headwaters to Green 

Creek bridge, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

Little Rock Creek (above Green Creek 

bridge, including all tributaries, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Wiles Creek (game land boundary to 

mouth) 

(17) Polk County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Green River (Fishtop Falls Access 

Area to the confluence with Cove 

Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Green River (Mouth of Cove Creek to 

the natural gas pipeline crossing) 

North Pacolet River (Joels Creek to 

N.C. 108 bridge) 

(18) Rutherford County 
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(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

(Rocky) Broad River (Henderson Co. 

line to U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

(19) Stokes County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Dan River (Virginia state line 

downstream to a point 200 yards 

below the end of S.R. 1421) 

(20) Surry County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Ararat River (portion adjacent to the 

Ararat River Greenway) 

Mitchell River (.6 mile upstream of 

the end of S.R. 1333 to the S.R. 1330 

bridge below Kapps Mill Dam) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Ararat River (S.R. 1727 bridge 

downstream to the N.C. 103 bridge) 

Big Elkin Creek (dam 440 yards 

upstream of N.C. 268 bridge to a point 

265 yards downstream of N.C. 268 

[marked by a sign on each bank]) 

Fisher River (Cooper Creek)(Virginia 

state line to I-77 bridge) 

Little Fisher River (Virginia state line 

to N.C. 89 bridge) 

Lovills Creek (U.S. 52 Business 

bridge to Ararat River) 

Pauls Creek (Virginia state line to .3 

miles below S.R. 1625 bridge) 

(21) Swain County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 

Tuckasegee River (U.S. 19 bridge to 

Slope Street bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Alarka Creek (game land boundary to 

Fontana Reservoir) 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 

to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Connelly Creek (Camp Branch to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Deep Creek (Great Smoky Mountains 

National Park Boundary line to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Nantahala River (Macon Co. line to 

existing Fontana Lake water level) 

(22) Transylvania County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Davidson River (headwaters to Avery 

Creek, excluding Avery Creek, 

Looking Glass Creek and Grogan 

Creek) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Fork French Broad River (East 

Fork Baptist Church to the 

downstream S.R. 1107 bridge) 

Little River (confluence of Lake 

Dense to 100 yards downstream of 

Hooker Falls) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davidson River (Avery Creek to lower 

USFS boundary) 

French Broad River (confluence of 

North Fork French Broad River and 

West Fork) French Broad River to the 

Island Ford Rd. [S.R. 1110] Access 

Area 

Middle Fork French Broad River 

(upstream U.S. 178 bridge to French 

Broad River) 

West Fork French Broad River (Camp 

Cove Branch to confluence with North 

Fork French Broad River) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Gorges State 

Park 

Whitewater River (downstream from 

Silver Run Creek to South Carolina 

state line) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

North Fork French Broad River (game 

land portion downstream of S.R. 

1326) 

Thompson River (S.R. 1152 to South 

Carolina state line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

(23) Watauga County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Laurel Creek (confluence of North and 

South Fork Laurel creeks to Elk 

Creek, excluding tributaries) 

Pond Creek (headwaters to Locust 

Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding the pond 

adjacent to Coffee Lake) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Lake Coffey 

Watauga River (adjacent to 

intersection of S.R. 1557 and S.R. 

1558 to N.C. 105 bridge and S.R. 1114 

bridge to the Valle Crucis Community 

Park lower boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
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Beaverdam Creek (confluence of 

Beaverdam Creek and Little 

Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 

tributary adjacent to the intersection of 

S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203) 

Beech Creek 

Buckeye Creek (Buckeye Creek 

Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap Creek) 

Buckeye Creek Reservoir 

Cove Creek (S.R. 1233 bridge at 

Zionville to S.R. 1214 bridge at 

Sherwood) 

Dutch Creek (second bridge on S.R. 

1134 to mouth) 

Elk Creek (S.R. 1510 bridge at Triplett 

to Wilkes Co. line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Laurel Creek (S.R. 1123 bridge at S.R. 

1157 intersection to Watauga River) 

Meat Camp Creek (S.R. 1340 bridge at 

S.R. 1384 intersection to N.C. 194) 

Middle Fork New River (adjacent to 

intersection of S.R. 1539 and U.S. 321 

to South Fork New River) 

Norris Fork Creek 

South Fork New River (canoe launch 

70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 bridge 

to lower boundary of Brookshire Park) 

Stony Fork (S.R. 1500 bridge at S.R. 

1505 intersection to Wilkes Co.line) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Dutch Creek (headwaters to second 

bridge on S.R. 1134) 

Howard Creek 

Maine Branch (headwaters to North 

Fork New River) 

North Fork New River (from 

confluence with Maine and Mine 

branches to Ashe Co. line) 

Watauga River (Avery Co. line to S.R. 

1580 bridge) 

Winkler Creek (lower bridge on S.R. 

1549 to confluence with South Fork 

New River) 

(24) Wilkes County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Prong Roaring River (Bullhead 

Creek downstream to Stone Mountain 

State Park lower boundary) 

Elk Creek — upper (Watauga Co. line 

to lower boundary of the Blue Ridge 

Mountain Club) 

Elk Creek — lower (portion on 

Leatherwood Mountains 

development) 

Reddies River (Town of North 

Wilkesboro water intake dam to 

confluence with the Yadkin River) 

Stone Mountain Creek (from falls at 

Alleghany Co. line to confluence with 

East Prong Roaring River and 

Bullhead Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Basin Creek (S.R. 1730 bridge to 

confluence with Lovelace Creek) 

Bell Branch Pond 

Cub Creek (.5 mile upstream of S.R. 

2460 bridge to S.R. 1001 bridge) 

Darnell Creek (North Prong Reddies 

River)(downstream ford on S.R. 1569 

to confluence with North Fork 

Reddies River) 

East Prong Roaring River (Stone 

Mountain State Park lower boundary 

to S.R. 1002 bridge) 

Fall Creek (S.R. 1300 bridge to 

confluence with South Prong Lewis 

Fork, except where posted against 

trespassing) 

Middle Fork Reddies River (Clear 

Prong)(headwaters to bridge on S.R. 

1580) 

Middle Prong Roaring River 

(headwaters to bridge on S.R. 1736) 

North Fork Reddies River (Vannoy 

Creek)(headwaters to Union School 

bridge on S.R. 1559) 

Pike Creek 

Pike Creek Pond 

South Fork Reddies River (S.R. 1355 

bridge to confluence with Middle Fork 

Reddies River) 

South Prong Lewis Fork (Fall Creek to 

S.R. 1155 bridge) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park, except East Prong Roaring 

River from Bullhead Creek 

downstream to the Stone Mountain 

State Park lower boundary where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply, and Stone Mountain 

Creek from falls at Alleghany County 

line to confluence with East Prong 

Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 

Stone Mountain State Park where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

South Toe River (headwaters to Upper 

Creek) 

Upper Creek 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
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Cane River (Blackberry Ridge Rd. to 

downstream boundary of Cane River 

County Park) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Bald Mountain Creek (except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Cane River (Bee Branch [S.R. 1110] 

to Bowlens Creek) 

Price Creek (junction of S.R. 1120 and 

S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek) 

South Toe River (Clear Creek to lower 

boundary line of Yancey Co. 

Recreation Park, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Cattail Creek (bridge at Mountain 

Farm Community Rd. to N.C. 197 

bridge) 

Lickskillet Creek 

Middle Creek (game land boundary to 

mouth) 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 6/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0211 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN 

FISHES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, sell, or 

stock in the public or private waters of North Carolina any live 

individuals of: 

(1) piranha; 

(2) "walking catfish" (Clarias batrachus); 

(3) snakehead fish (from the Family Channidae, 

formerly Ophiocephalidae); 

(4) black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus); 

(5) bighead carp (Hypophthalmichthys nobilis); 

(6) silver carp (Hypophthalmichthys molitrix); 

(7) rudd (Scardinius erythropthalomus); 

(8) round goby (Neogobius melanostomus); 

(9) tubenose goby (Proterorhinus marmoratus); 

(10) ruffe (Gymnocephalus cernuus); 

(11) Japanese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

japonica); 

(12) Chinese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

chinensis malleata); 

(13) red-rim melania (Melanoides tuberculatus); 

(14) virile crayfish (Orconectes (Gremicambarus) 

virilis); 

(15) rusty crayfish (Orconectes (Procericambarus) 

rusticus); 

(16) Australian red claw crayfish or "red claw" 

(Cherax quadricarinatus, or other species of 

"giant" crayfish species in the genus Cherax); 

(17) white amur or "grass carp" (Ctenopharyngodon 

idella); 

(18) swamp or "rice" eel (Monopterus albus); 

(19) red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis); 

(20) zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha); or 

(21) quagga mussel (Dreissena rostriformis 

bugensis) or any mussel in the family 

Dreissenidae. 

(b)  A person may buy, possess, or stock grass carp that have been 

certified to be triploid or sterile, only for the purpose of 

controlling aquatic vegetation under a permit issued by the 

Executive Director or his or her designee based on an evaluation 

of the potential for escapement and threat to sensitive aquatic 

habitats. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live river 

herring, also known as alewife or blueback herring, in the waters 

of the Little Tennessee River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah 

and Cedar Cliff Lake, including all the tributaries and 

impoundments thereof, and on adjacent shorelines, docks, access 

ramps, and bridge crossings. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274(c)(1c); 113-

292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2013; August 1, 2011; June 1, 2009, June 

1, 2005; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0305 BLACK BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth, Smallmouth, and 

Spotted Bass collectively known as Black Bass - is five fish, 

except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and (m) of 

this Rule. There is no minimum size limit for these fish, but only 

two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 

in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), and (m) 

of this Rule. There is no closed season, except for waters 

identified in Paragraph (m) of this Rule. 

(b)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 

Granville County the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 

fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 

possessed. 
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(c)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Black Bass less than 14 inches. The daily creel limit for 

Black Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish. 

(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Black Bass is 10 fish, the minimum size limit for Largemouth 

Bass is 12 inches, and there is no minimum size limit for 

Smallmouth Bass and Spotted Bass. 

(e)  The minimum size limit for Black Bass is 14 inches in the 

following: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 

(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 

(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 

(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 

(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and all their tributaries including 

Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim 

River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, 

Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 

Northwest River, Scuppernong River, Alligator 

River (including the Alligator/Pungo Canal east 

of the NC Hwy 264/45 bridge, and all other 

associated tributaries and canals in these river 

systems. 

(f)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn Reservoir 

in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 

(g)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 

minimum size limit is 14 inches, and no fish between 16 and 20 

inches may be possessed. 

(h)  In Shearon Harris Reservoir and Lake Hampton in Yadkin 

County, there is no minimum size limit for Black Bass, but only 

two Black Bass less than 14 inches and no Black Bass between 16 

and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(i)  In Randleman Reservoir, there is no minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass, but only two Largemouth Bass less than 14 

inches and only one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may 

be possessed. 

(j)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum size 

limit for Black Bass is 18 inches. 

(k)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia) there is no minimum 

size limit for Black Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in 

length may be possessed and only one Black Bass greater than 22 

inches may be possessed. 

(l)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde County, 

the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches and only 

one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be possessed. 

(m)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town 

of Southern Shores, Dare County, no Black Bass may be 

possessed. 

(n)  For purposes of this Rule, creel limits apply to Largemouth, 

Smallmouth, and Spotted Bass in aggregate unless otherwise 

specified. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 10, 1990, for a period of 180 

days to expire on November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 22, 1990, for a period of 168 

days to expire on November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 1991, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 8, 2002 [This rule replaces the 

rule proposed for permanent amendment effective July 1, 2002 

and approved by RRC in May 2001]; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC in April 2002); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

November 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; March 1, 2012; August 1, 

2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; July 1, 2008; May 1, 2008; 

May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0306 CRAPPIE 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f) of this Rule. There 

is no minimum size limit for these fish, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (d), (e), and (f). There is no closed season. 

(b)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the daily 

creel limit is 20 fish. 

(c)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 

fish. 

(d)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is 10 inches: 

(1) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir; 

(2) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream 

of Roanoke Rapids dam; 

(3) Cashie River and its tributaries; 

(4) Middle River and its tributaries; 

(5) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and 

(6) Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in 

Hyde County. 

(e)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is eight inches: 

(1) Pee Dee River from Blewett Falls Dam to the 

South Carolina state line; 

(2) Badin Lake; 

(3) Falls Lake (Stanly and Montgomery counties); 

(4) Lake Tillery; 

(5) Blewett Falls Lake; 

(6) Lake Norman; 

(7) Lake Hyco; 

(8) Lake Ramseur; 

(9) Cane Creek Lake; 
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(10) Lake Hampton (Yadkin County); 

(11) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir 

Dam and all tributaries; 

(12) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 

(13) Haw River downstream of Jordan Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 

(14) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam and 

all tributaries; 

(15) Cape Fear River and all tributaries; 

(16) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake 

Waccamaw Dam and all tributaries; 

(17) Lumber River including Drowning Creek and 

all tributaries; 

(18) all other public fishing waters east of Interstate 

95, except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, 

Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and 

waters listed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and 

(19) all public waters west of Interstate 77, except 

Lake Chatuge. 

(f)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish and 

the minimum size limit is nine inches. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0313 SHAD (AMERICAN AND 

HICKORY) 

(a)  The daily creel limit for American and Hickory Shad in the 

aggregate is 10 fish, only one of which may be an American Shad, 

except for waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c) and (d) of this 

Rule. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. There is no 

closed season, except for waters identified in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  In the inland waters of the Tar-Pamlico River, Pungo River, 

Pee Dee River, and their tributaries, the daily creel limit for 

American and Hickory Shad is 10 in the aggregate. 

(c)  In the inland waters of the Cape Fear River and its tributaries, 

the daily creel limit for American and Hickory Shad is 10 in the 

aggregate, only five of which may be American Shad. 

(d)  In Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr 

Reservoir, no American Shad may be possessed. 

(e)  The season for taking American and Hickory Shad with bow 

nets is March 1 through April 30. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292;  

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four 

fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), 

(e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit 

for these fish is 20 inches, except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. 

There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraphs (g), (h), (i), (j), and (k) of this Rule. 

(b)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 

River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 

Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 

inches from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through 

September 30, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids 

is four in the aggregate with no minimum size limit. 

(c)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 

size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from 

October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for 

these fish from June 1 through September 30. 

(d)  In Lake Norman, Arrowhead Lake (Anson Co.), High Rock 

Pond (Caswell Co.), Moss Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, Oak 

Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake Townsend, and Salem 

Lake the minimum size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 

16 inches. 

(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 

the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may 

be greater than 22 inches. 

(f)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 

tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 

is 18 inches. 

(g)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 

rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 

impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 

in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 

in Paragraphs (f), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule, the daily creel limit 

for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. The 

minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season for 

taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed from May 1 through 

September 30. 

(h)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 

tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam, the season for taking 

and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-round. 

(i)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which 

includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and 

their tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing Striped 

Bass and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-

coastal fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to 

Roanoke Rapids Lake dam. During the open season, the daily 

creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the 

aggregate, and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish 

between 22 inches and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in 

the daily creel limit. Only one fish larger than 27 inches may be 

possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(j)  In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, 

Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck 

Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries 

(excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their 

tributaries), the Striped Bass fishing season, size limits, and creel 

limits are the same as those established by rules or proclamations 

of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent joint or coastal 

fishing waters. 

(k)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, 

by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for 
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Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and 

their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions of any 

proclamation issued under this authority. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0316 TROUT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for trout in Hatchery-Supported Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The open season is from 7 a.m. on the first Saturday in April 

until March 1, except for waters designated in Paragraph (g) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  The daily creel limit for trout in Wild Trout Waters and Wild 

Trout/Natural Bait Trout Waters is four fish. The minimum size 

limit for these fish is seven inches. There is no closed season. 

(c)  No trout may be harvested from Catch and Release/Artificial 

Lures Only Trout Waters or Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters. Trout may not be possessed while fishing 

these waters. 

(d)  The daily creel limit for trout in Delayed Harvest Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The Youth-only Delayed Harvest Trout Water Season is 

from 6 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 12 p.m. that same 

day. During this season only individuals under the age of 18 may 

fish. From 12 p.m. on the first Saturday in June until September 

30, the Delayed Harvest Trout Waters Season is open for all 

anglers. From October 1 to one-half hour after sunset on the 

Friday before the first Saturday in June, trout may not be 

harvested or possessed while fishing these waters. Delayed 

Harvest Trout Waters are closed to all fishing from one-half hour 

after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday in June to 6 

a.m. on the first Saturday in June. 

(e)  The daily creel limits, size limits, and seasons for trout in 

Special Regulation Trout Waters are as follows:  

(1) Apalachia Reservoir (Cherokee County) the 

daily creel limit is three trout. There is no 

minimum size limit, but only one may be 

greater than 14 inches. There is no closed 

season. 

(2) Catawba River (Burke County) from Muddy 

Creek to the City of Morganton water intake 

dam the daily creel limit is two fish. The 

minimum size limit is 14 inches. There is no 

closed season. 

(f)  The daily creel limit for trout in undesignated trout waters is 

seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. 

(g)  There is no closed season on taking trout from Linville River 

within Linville Gorge Wilderness Area and the impounded waters 

of power reservoirs and municipally-owned water supply 

reservoirs open to the public for fishing. 

(h)  In designated Public Mountain Trout Waters the season for 

taking all species of fish is the same as the trout fishing season. 

(i)  All trout water designations and manners of take are set forth 

in 15A NCAC 10C .0205. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0402 TAKING NONGAME FISHES 

FOR BAIT OR PERSONAL CONSUMPTION 

(a)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait or personal 

consumption in the inland waters of North Carolina using 

equipment other than: 

(1) a net of dip net design not greater than six feet 

across; 

(2) a seine of not greater than 12 feet in length 

(except in Lake Waccamaw in Columbus 

County where there is no length limitation) and 

with a bar mesh measure of not more than one-

fourth inch; 

(3) a cast net; 

(4) a bow net for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of bow nets is authorized in 15A NCAC 

10C .0407; 

(5) a dip net when used in conjunction with a 

licensed hand-crank electrofisher; 

(6) a gig (except in Public Mountain Trout Waters); 

(7) up to three traps for the seasons and waters in 

which the use of traps is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(8) up to two eel pots; 

(9) a spear gun for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of a spear gun is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(10) minnow traps not exceeding 12 inches in 

diameter and 24 inches in length, with funnel 

openings not exceeding one inch in diameter, 

from which all fish and animals are removed 

daily, and that are labeled with the user's 

Wildlife Resources Commission customer 

number or name and address; 

(11) a hand-held line with a single bait attached; 

(12) a single, multiple-bait line for taking crabs not 

to exceed 100 feet in length, marked on each 

end with a solid float no less than five inches in 

diameter, bearing legible and indelible 

identification of the user's name and address, 

and under the immediate control and attendance 

of the person using the device, with a limit of 

one line per person and no more than one line 

per vessel; or 

(13) a collapsible crab trap with the largest open 

dimension not greater than 18 inches and that 

by design is collapsed at all times when in the 

water, except when it is being retrieved or 

lowered to the bottom, with a limit of one trap 

per person. 

(b)  The use of equipment under this Rule requires a valid license 

that provides basic inland fishing privileges. 

(c)  It is unlawful to sell nongame fishes or aquatic animals taken 

under this Rule. 
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(d)  Game fishes taken shall be returned unharmed to the water, 

except white perch may be taken when captured in a cast net being 

used to collect nongame fishes for bait or personal consumption 

in all impounded waters west of I-95 and in the Tar River 

Reservoir (Nash County). 

(e)  No person shall take or possess during one day more than 200 

nongame fish in aggregate for bait or personal consumption 

subject to the size and creel limits identified in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0401. 

(f)  Any fishes taken for bait purposes are included within the 

daily possession limit for that species. 

(g)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait from the following 

waters: 

(1) Public Mountain Trout Waters (except in 

impounded waters of power reservoirs and 

municipally-owned water supply reservoirs); 

(2) Bear Creek in Chatham County; 

(3) Deep River in Chatham, Lee, and Moore 

counties and downstream of Coleridge Dam in 

Randolph County; 

(4) Fork Creek in Randolph County; and 

(5) Rocky River in Chatham County. 

(i)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish having a 

size limit identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 so as to render it 

impractical to measure its total original length. No person while 

fishing shall change the appearance of any nongame fish having a 

daily creel limit identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 so as to 

obscure its identification or render it impractical to count the 

number of fish in possession. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-272.3; 

113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1993; July 1, 

1992; May 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; 

August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; 

August 1, 2010; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0407 PERMITTED SPECIAL 

DEVICES AND OPEN SEASONS 

Except in designated public mountain trout waters, and in 

impounded waters located on the Sandhills Game Land, there is a 

year-round open season for the licensed taking of nongame fishes 

by bow and arrow.  The use of special fishing devices, including 

crab pots in impoundments located entirely on game lands, shall 

be prohibited. Seasons and waters in which the use of other special 

devices is authorized are indicated by counties below: 

(1) Alamance: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Alamance Creek below NC 49 bridge 

and Haw River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(2) Alexander:  July 1 to June 30 with traps and 

gigs in all public waters; and with spear guns in 

Lake Hickory and Lookout Shoals Reservoir; 

(3) Alleghany:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in New 

River, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(4) Anson: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Pee Dee River below Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(c) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Pee Dee 

River from Blewett Falls downstream 

to the Seaboard Coast Line Railroad 

trestle; 

(5) Ashe:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in New River 

(both forks), except designated public mountain 

trout waters; 

(6) Beaufort: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Pungo River, and in the Tar and 

Pamlico Rivers above Norfolk and 

Southern Railroad bridge; and with 

gigs in all inland public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters; 

(7) Bertie: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Broad Creek (tributary of Roanoke); 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(8) Bladen: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Black River; 

(b) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Cape Fear 

River between Lock and Dam 1 and 3 

and in Black River, except that hand-

crank electrofishing is prohibited 

within 400 yards of Lock and Dam 1, 

2, and 3 on Cape Fear River; 

(9) Brunswick: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets 

in Alligator Creek, Hoods Creek, Indian Creek, 

Orton Creek below Orton Pond, Rices Creek, 

Sturgeon Creek and Town Creek; 

(10) Buncombe:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(11) Burke: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Johns 

River and designated public mountain 

trout waters; 
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(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters and Lake James; 

(12) Cabarrus: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(13) Caldwell:  July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(14) Camden: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(15) Carteret:  March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters except South River and 

the tributaries of the White Oak River; 

(16) Caswell: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Moons 

Creek; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Hyco 

Reservoir; 

(17) Catawba: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

Catawba River below Lookout Dam; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, spear 

guns, and gigs in all public waters; 

(18) Chatham: 

(a) December 1 to April 15 with dip and 

gill nets in the Cape Fear River, Deep 

River, Haw River and Rocky River 

(local law); 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Cape Fear River, and Haw River; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Deep 

River; and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(19) Cherokee:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(20) Chowan: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(21) Clay:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(22) Cleveland: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs, traps and 

spear guns in all public waters; 

(23) Columbus: 

(a) December 1 to March 1 with gigs in all 

inland public waters, except Lake 

Waccamaw and its tributaries; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Livingston Creek; 

(c) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in 

Waccamaw and Lumber rivers; 

(24) Craven: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the main 

run of the Trent and Neuse Rivers; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except Pitch 

Kettle, Grindle, Slocum (downstream 

of the US 70 bridge), Spring, and 

Hancock Creeks and their tributaries; 

and with seines in the Neuse River; 

(25) Currituck: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Tulls 

Creek and Northwest River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(26) Dare: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Mashoes Creek, Milltail Creek, East 

Lake, and South Lake; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(27) Davidson: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, and with traps in all public 

waters except Leonard's Creek, 

Abbott's Creek below Lake 

Thom-A-Lex dam, and the Abbott's 

Creek arm of High Rock Lake 

upstream from the NC 8 bridge; 

(28) Davie: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 for taking only 

carp and suckers with seines in 

Dutchmans Creek from US 601 to 

Yadkin River and in Hunting Creek 

from SR 1338 to South Yadkin River; 
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(29) Duplin: 

(a) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

the main run of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River downstream from a point 

one mile above Serecta Bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the main run of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River downstream from a point 

one mile above Serecta Bridge; 

(30) Durham: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Neuse River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(31) Edgecombe: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets 

in all public waters; 

(32) Forsyth:  July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs 

in all public waters, except traps may not be 

used in Belews Creek Reservoir; 

(33) Franklin: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Tar 

River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Parrish, Laurel Mill, 

Jackson, Clifton, Moore's, and Perry's 

Ponds, and in the Franklinton City 

ponds; 

(34) Gaston: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs, traps, and 

spear guns in all public waters; 

(35) Gates:  March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in all 

inland public waters except public lakes, ponds, 

and other impounded waters; 

(36) Graham:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(37) Granville: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Kerr Reservoir; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Tar River below US 158 bridge; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(38) Greene:  March 1 to April 30 with bow nets and 

reels in Contentnea Creek; 

(39) Guilford: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Haw 

River, Deep River below Jamestown 

Dam, and Reedy Fork Creek below 

US 29 bridge; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(40) Halifax:  March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Beech Swamp, Clarks Canal, Conoconnara 

Swamp, Fishing Creek below the Fishing Creek 

Mill Dam, Kehukee Swamp, Looking Glass 

Gut, Quankey Creek, and White's Mill Pond 

Run; 

(41) Harnett: 

(a) January 1 to May 31 with gigs in Cape 

Fear River and tributaries; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Cape Fear River; 

(42) Haywood:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except Lake Junaluska and 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(43) Henderson:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(44) Hertford: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Wiccacon Creek; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(45) Hyde: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(46) Iredell:  July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; and with spear guns in 

Lookout Shoals Reservoir and Lake Norman; 

(47) Jackson:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(48) Johnston: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Black Creek, Little River, Middle Creek, Mill 

Creek, Neuse River and Swift Creek; 

(49) Jones: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Trent River below US 17 bridge and 

White Oak River below US 17 bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except the 

tributaries to the White Oak River; 

(50) Lee: 

(a) December 1 to April 15 with dip and 

gill nets (local law) in Cape Fear River 

and Deep River; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Cape Fear River; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Deep 

River, and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(51) Lenoir: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Neuse 

River below US 70 bridge at Kinston; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Neuse River and Contentnea Creek 

upstream from NC 118 bridge at 
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Grifton; and with seines in Neuse 

River; 

(52) Lincoln: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters; 

(53) McDowell: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters and Lake James; 

(54) Macon:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(55) Madison:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(56) Martin:  March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public lakes, 

ponds, and other impounded waters; 

(57) Mecklenburg: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters except 

Freedom Park Pond and Hornet's Nest 

Ponds; 

(58) Montgomery: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except that part 

of the Pee Dee River between the Lake 

Tillery dam at Hydro and the mouth of 

Rocky River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(59) Moore: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters except in Deep 

River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except lakes located on the 

Sandhills Game Land; and with traps 

in Deep River and its tributaries; 

(60) Nash: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Tar River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Tar River below Harris' Landing 

and Fishing Creek below the Fishing 

Creek Mill Dam; 

(61) New Hanover:  March 1 to April 30 with bow 

nets in all inland public waters, except Sutton 

(Catfish) Lake; 

(62) Northampton: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Gaston and Roanoke 

Rapids Reservoirs and the Roanoke 

River above the US 301 bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Occoneechee Creek, Old River 

Landing Gut, and Vaughans Creek 

below Watsons Mill; 

(63) Onslow: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in White 

Oak River below US 17 bridge; 

(b) August 1 to March 31 with eel pots in 

the main run of New River between 

US 17 bridge and the mouth of 

Hawkins Creek; 

(c) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the main run of New River and in the 

main run of the White Oak River; 

(d) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Grant's Creek; 

(64) Orange: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Haw 

River, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(65) Pamlico:  March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except Dawson Creek; 

(66) Pasquotank: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(67) Pender: 

(a) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

the main run of Northeast Cape Fear 

River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Northeast Cape Fear River, Long 

Creek, Moore's Creek approximately 

one mile upstream to New Moon 

Fishing Camp, and Black River; 

(c) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Black 

River; 

(68) Perquimans: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(69) Person: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Hyco Creek and Mayo Creek; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters. 

(70) Pitt: 
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(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Neuse 

River and in Tar River below the 

mouth of Hardee Creek east of 

Greenville; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except 

Grindle Creek, and Contentnea Creek 

between NC 118 bridge at Grifton and 

the Neuse River; 

(c) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

Tar River; 

(71) Polk:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(72) Randolph: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Deep River above the Coleridge Dam 

and Uwharrie River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(73) Richmond: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Pee Dee 

River from Blewett Falls downstream 

to the Seaboard Coast Line Railroad 

trestle; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters, except lakes located 

on the Sandhills Game Land; 

(c) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Pee Dee River below Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(74) Robeson:  December 1 to March 1 with gigs in 

all inland public waters. 

(75) Rockingham: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Dan 

River and Haw River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Dan 

River; and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(76) Rowan: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(77) Rutherford: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(78) Sampson: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Big Coharie Creek, Black River and 

Six Runs Creek; 

(b) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Black 

River downstream of NC 1105 bridge; 

(79) Stanly: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except that part 

of the Pee Dee River between the Lake 

Tillery dam at Hydro and the mouth of 

Rocky River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(80) Stokes:  July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters, and traps may not be 

used in Belews Creek Reservoir; 

(81) Surry:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; and with traps in the main stem of 

Yadkin River; 

(82) Swain:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(83) Transylvania:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(84) Tyrrell: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Scuppernong River and Alligator 

Creek; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except Lake 

Phelps, the drainage canals that 

connect Lake Phelps and Scuppernong 

River, public lakes, ponds and other 

impounded waters; 

(85) Union: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(86) Vance: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Tar River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Rolands, Faulkners, 

Southerlands, and Weldon Ponds, City 

Lake, and Kerr Reservoir; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(87) Wake: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Sunset, Benson, 

Wheeler, Raleigh, and Johnson Lakes; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Neuse River below Falls Lake 

Dam, and Swift Creek below Lake 

Benson Dam; 

(88) Warren: 
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(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Fishing Creek, Shocco Creek, and 

Walker Creek; except Duck and 

Hammes Mill Ponds; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Duck and Hammes Mill 

Ponds, Kerr Reservoir, and Gaston 

Reservoir; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(89) Washington:  March 1 to April 30 with bow 

nets in all inland public waters, except Lake 

Phelps, the drainage canals that connect Lake 

Phelps and Scuppernong River, public lakes, 

ponds, and other impoundments. 

(90) Wayne:  March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Little River, Mill Creek and Neuse River. 

(91) Wilkes:  July 1 to June 30 with traps in Yadkin 

River below W. Kerr Scott Reservoir; and with 

gigs and spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(92) Wilson: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in 

Contentnea Creek (except Buckhorn 

Reservoir), including unnamed 

tributaries between Flowers Mill and 

SR 1163 (Deans) bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Contentnea Creek below US 301 

bridge and in Toisnot Swamp 

downstream from the Lake Toisnot 

Dam; and 

(93) Yadkin:  July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, and with traps in the main stem of 

Yadkin River. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-276; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 29, 1988; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; December 

1, 1995; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1994; June 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; June 

1, 2005; August 1, 2004. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 

(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 

designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 

any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 

the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 

Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 

lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 

prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 

(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 

purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 

screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 

herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 

portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 

in or attached to the tree. 

(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 

lands only during the open season for game animals and game 

birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 

or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 

dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 

lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons. On 

managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 

(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 

than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 

(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates; 

(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 

(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; and 

(5) not operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 

On designated youth waterfowl days occurring after the end of the 

regular waterfowl seasons only, youths may hunt on managed 

waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset. 

Restrictions (1), (3), and (5) in this Paragraph shall apply. On 

waterfowl impoundments that have a posted "Scouting-only 

Zone," trapping during the trapping season and waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days are the only activities 

allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside of the posted 

"Scouting-only Zone." No person shall attempt to obscure the sex 

or age of any bird or animal taken by severing the head or any 

other part thereof, or possess any bird or animal that has been so 

mutilated. No person shall place, or cause to be placed on any 

game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written 

authorization of the Commission or its agent. A decision to grant 

or deny authorization shall be made based on the best 

management practices for the wildlife species in question. No 

person shall take or attempt to take any game birds or game 

animals attracted to such foods. 

(e)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 

refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 

taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 

the federally-announced season. 

(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken during the open seasons 

and hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 

for game lands in this Rule that specifically 

allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 

Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 

Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 

either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 

each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 

may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 
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7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 

Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken on the open days of 

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 

Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 

with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 

where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0109. 

(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 

game lands: 

(1) Alcoa Game Land in Davidson, Davie, 

Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter in that 

portion in Montgomery county, and 

deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season in those 

portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 

and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 

hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 

(A) Six Day per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(5) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(6) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 

rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 

shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 

of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 

Lake Tract is by permit only. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31through May 14 in areas both 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 

foxes is prohibited March 15 through 

July 15. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(8) Brunswick County Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(9) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(10) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days of the second week of the 

December Bear Season. If any of these 

days falls on a Tuesday, Friday or 

Saturday, bear hunting is allowed on 

those days. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(11) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 

Wilkes Counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 
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equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer may be 

taken with blackpowder firearms on 

open days beginning the Monday on or 

nearest October 1 through the 

Saturday of the second week 

thereafter, and during the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 

Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(12) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 

Lands in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(13) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 

Granville, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

 On the posted waterfowl 

impoundments a special permit is 

required for all waterfowl hunting 

after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on that portion west of NC 

50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. On designated bicycle riding 

areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 

from May 15 through August 31, and 

on Sundays only from September 1 

through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 

designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 

Camping Area and shall not exceed a 

maximum stay of two consecutive 

nights. Campfires are prohibited in 

this camping area. 

(14) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(15) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 

that portion known as the Roan Island 

Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the portion of the game 

land that is west of the Black River, 

north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 

Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 

south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(16) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(17) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 

Caswell County 
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(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August, and on 

Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. Horseback riding is 

allowed only on roads opened to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails that are posted for 

equestrian use. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 

following roads is permit-only for all 

quail and woodcock hunting, and all 

bird dog training: From Yanceyville 

south on NC 62 to the intersection of 

SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 

intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 

1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 

east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 

NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 

intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 

1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 

east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 

NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 

by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 

Shooting Range. 

(18) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August; and on 

Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(19) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(20) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 

and Hertford counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 

three hunting days during the 

November bear season and the first 

three hunting days during the second 

week of the December bear season 

except that portion of Chowan Swamp 

Game Land in Gates County that is 

east of Highway 158/13, south of 

Highway 158, west of Highway 32, 

and north of Catherine Creek and the 

Chowan River where the bear season 

is the same as the season dates for the 

Gates County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

during May 16 through August 31 and 

on Sundays only September 1 through 

May 15 on those roads that are open to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails posted for equestrian 

use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(21) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(22) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 

County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(23) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 

Jones counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
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(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

day in October through the end of the 

waterfowl season, waterfowl hunting 

from designated Disabled Sportsmen 

blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl 

Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 

first two open days of dove season on 

posted areas. During the rest of dove 

season, no permit is required to hunt 

doves. 

(24) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 

shall be hunted by permit only from 

November 1 through the end of the 

waterfowl season. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 

accompany the permitted individual or 

party provided the guides do not use a 

firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 

extend 5 yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 

hunting by permitted waterfowl 

hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(25) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted for equestrian 

use. People age 16 or older horseback 

riding on this game land must possess 

a Game Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(26) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 

of bombing range. 

(D) The use and training of dogs is 

prohibited from March 1 through June 

30. 

(27) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(28) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 

and Transylvania counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 

hunt permit holders during scheduled 

permit hunts. 

(29) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(30) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(31) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 

Pamlico counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October and through the 

end of the waterfowl season, 

waterfowl hunting is by permit only on 
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the following waterfowl 

impoundments: Pamlico Point, 

Campbell Creek, Hunting Creek, 

Spring Creek, Smith Creek, and 

Hobucken. 

(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 

Waterfowl Impoundments all 

activities, except waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days 

and trapping during the trapping 

season, are restricted to the posted 

Scouting-only Zone during the period 

November 1 through March 15. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 

September 1 through January 1 and 

April 1 through May 15 to individuals 

that possess a valid hunting 

opportunity permit. 

(32) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 

Polk counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(33) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) On that portion north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road, 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on that portion of 

the game land that is north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road. 

(34) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments shall be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season, except for that 

portion designated as bear sanctuary. 

(35) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 

Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(36) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 

Transylvania County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season 

(37) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(38) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 

following days: 
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(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) On that portion north of the Bear 

Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 

Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 

Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 

west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 

hunting are permit only. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 

bear is prohibited: 

(i) all open days on that portion 

of the game land that is south 

of Baby Branch extending 

west to Stag Park Road, west 

of Shaw Road, north of 

Meeks Road extending west 

to Stag Park Road and east of 

Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Fridays, with the exception 

of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's days, and 

except for the area north of 

Bear Garden Road, west of 

Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 

east of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River, south of NC 53 

and west of NC 50, where the 

use of dogs for deer and bear 

hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 

September 1 to the last day of 

February and April 1 to May 15 to 

individuals that possess valid hunting 

opportunity permits, unless otherwise 

authorized by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 

Access Permit may operate an All 

Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 

yards of trails designated for Disabled 

Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(39) Hyco Game land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(40) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- Permit Only Area. 

(41) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 

holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is prohibited October 1 

through March 31, except by lawful 

waterfowl hunting permit holders and 

only on those days written on the 

permits. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas is limited to August 31 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14. 

(42) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 

Orange, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 

(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted as American 

Tobacco Trail and other areas posted 

for equestrian use. Unless otherwise 

posted, horseback riding is permitted 

on posted portions of the American 

Tobacco Trail anytime the trail is open 

for use. On all other trails posted for 

equestrian use, horseback riding is 

allowed only during June, July, and 

August, and on Sundays the remainder 

of the year except during open turkey 

and deer seasons. People age 16 or 

older who ride horseback on trails 
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occurring entirely within the game 

land boundaries shall possess a Game 

Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. 

(43) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(44) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 

during the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 

and no screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 

turkey is prohibited. 

(45) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 

waterfowl impoundments is by permit 

only. 

(46) Lee Game Land in Lee County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(47) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(48) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(49) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 

Edgecombe and Halifax counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(50) Mayo Game Land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Christmas and New Year's 

Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(51) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(52) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 

Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 
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that portion located in Transylvania 

County. 

(53) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 

counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 

on the opening day of dove season is 

by permit only. 

(54) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 

100 yards of the Neuse River on that 

portion of the game land that lies west 

of NC-43. 

(55) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(56) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through the Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 

activities are prohibited: 

(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine; 

and 

(ii) Swimming. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(57) North River Game Land in Camden and 

Currituck counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 

impoundment is by permit only. 

(58) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 

Currituck County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(59) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 

Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 

that portion in Anson and Richmond 

counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(E) Horseback riding is allowed only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 

only during the following times: 

(i) during June, July, and 

August; and 

(ii) on Sundays during the other 

months or parts of months 

when deer and turkey seasons 

are closed. 

(60) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(61) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 

Watauga, and Yancey counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 

Black Bear (McDowell County), 

Linville River (Burke County), and 
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Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 

McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(62) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails from May 16 

through August 31 and Sundays from 

September 1 through October 31. All 

horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through May 15. 

(63) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(64) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 

in Wilkes County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 

(65) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(66) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 

Martin, and Northampton counties 

(A) Hunting is by Permit only. 

(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 

Commission business or by permit 

holders. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas, provided, however, 

that camping is allowed at any time 

within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 

on the state-owned portion of the game 

land. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(67) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 

(68) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(69) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 to the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(70) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 

Hunting is by permit only. 

(71) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(72) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 

Richmond, and Scotland counties 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 

October 22 through March 31 except 

as follows: 

(i) deer of either-sex may be 

taken with archery 

equipment on all the open 

days of the archery season 

through the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

with blackpowder firearms 

and archery equipment all the 

open days of the 

blackpowder firearms season 

through the third Wednesday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

and only deer with visible 

antlers may be taken with all 

legal weapons from the 

second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(ii) dove may be taken all open 

days from the opening day of 
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the dove season through the 

third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 

be taken all the open days 

from second Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 

days from the second 

Saturday preceding 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 

open days during any 

waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 

may be taken as part of a 

Disabled Sportsmen Program 

Permit Hunt; and 

(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 

taken on open days from 

sunrise Monday on or nearest 

October 15 through the last 

day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

is the open hunting days from the 

second Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day through the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 

Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 

from the Saturday on or nearest to 

Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 

Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 

J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 

the third Monday after Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1. Deer may be 

taken with archery equipment on all 

open hunting days during the archery 

season, the Deer with Visible antlers 

season, and the blackpowder firearms 

season as stated in this Subparagraph. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 

open days from the fourth Saturday 

preceding Thanksgiving Day through 

the Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1. Deer may be taken 

with blackpowder firearms on all open 

hunting days during the blackpowder 

firearms season and the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 

by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 

waterfowl may be taken on the 

opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 

prohibited unless participating in 

authorized field trials. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 

Complex. 

(73) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 

Counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(74) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 

Madison counties. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 

and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 

10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 

the opening day through the second 

Saturday of dove season. 

(75) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 

(76) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
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March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(77) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer may be 

taken with blackpowder firearms on 

open days beginning the Monday on or 

nearest October 1 through the 

Saturday of the second week 

thereafter, and during the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 

Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(78) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 

and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments may be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(79) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 

Cumberland counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 

or trapping days except for: 

(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 

permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 

Road to access Suggs Mill 

Pond Lake at the dam. 

(D) During the period of November 1 

through January 31, except on 

Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 

Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 

Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 

only by waterfowl hunters possessing 

a valid and current Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(E) During the period of November 1 

through March 15, the use of vessels 

on managed waterfowl impoundments 

is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 

waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 

and current Hunting Opportunity 

Permit issued by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission pursuant to 

G.S. 113-264(d). 

(80) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 

Brunswick counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(81) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited 

(82) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting is by permit only. 

(83) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(84) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 

overnight camping at any designated 

campground is 14 days within any 30 

day period from May 1 through 

August 31. After 14 consecutive days 

of camping all personal belongings 

must be removed from the game land. 

(85) Tillery game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(86) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(87) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 

Montgomery, and Randolph counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl may be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 

Range. 

(88) Vance Game Land in Vance County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 

handguns for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 

tract. 

(89) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(90) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 

County 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow 

County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October and through the 

end of the waterfowl season, a permit 
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is required for hunting posted 

waterfowl impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 

have the following restrictions: 

(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 

requires a valid Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by 

the Wildlife Resources 

Commission pursuant to G.S. 

113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 

and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 

deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(92) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and 

Pender counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Long 

Ridge Tract. 

(93) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 

the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 

shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 

September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 

issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 

permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 

making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 

cooperator agent or by phone. 

(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting 

except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current 

permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 

River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 

Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 

Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 

Refuge; 

(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 

of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 

Lands; and 

(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—

DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 

County requires written permission from the Commission. 

Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 

Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 

entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 

agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 

need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 

investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 

public interest. 

(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 

season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner 

of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to 

hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs 

for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or bear 

season. 

(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 

Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 

game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 

permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(m)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 

Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 

disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 

schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 

and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 

hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 

stated on each permit. 

(n)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 

species. 

(o)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on 

Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, 

the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 

113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 3, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; September 

1, 1995; July 1, 1995; September 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this replaces the amendment 

approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

May 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; October 1, 2006; August 1, 2006; May 1, 2006; February 

1, 2006; June 1, 2005; October 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 10D .0106 BEAR SANCTUARIES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted bear sanctuaries as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this rule, except when authorized by 

permit issued by the Commission on sanctuaries specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(b)  The following shall be posted bear sanctuaries: 

Bachelor Bay bear sanctuary – Bertie and Washington counties 

Columbus County bear sanctuary – Brunswick and Columbus counties 

Croatan bear sanctuary – Carteret, Craven, and Jones counties 

Daniel Boone bear sanctuary – Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties 

Dare bear sanctuary – Dare and Hyde counties, 

Fires Creek bear sanctuary – Clay County 

Flat Top bear sanctuary – Mitchell and Yancey counties 

Green Swamp bear sanctuary – Brunswick County 

Gull Rock bear sanctuary – Hyde County 

Harmon Den bear sanctuary – Haywood County 

Juniper Creek bear sanctuary – Brunswick and Columbus counties 

Mt. Mitchell bear sanctuary – McDowell and Yancey counties 

North River bear sanctuary – Camden and Currituck counties 

Panthertown – Bonas Defeat bear sanctuary – Jackson County 

Pisgah Bear Sanctuary – Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania 

Pungo River bear sanctuary – Hyde County 

Rich Mountain bear sanctuary – Madison County 

Sherwood bear sanctuary – Haywood County 

Suggs Mill Pond bear sanctuary – Bladen and Cumberland counties 

Standing Indian bear sanctuary – Macon County 

Thurmond Chatham bear sanctuary – Allegheny and Wilkes counties 

Wayah bear sanctuary – Macon County 

(c)  It shall be lawful to take bear on the following sanctuaries when authorized by permit issued by the Commission: 

Daniel Boone bear sanctuary – Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties 

Dare bear sanctuary – Dare and Hyde counties 

Mt. Mitchell bear sanctuary – McDowell and Yancey counties 

(d)  Feral Swine shall not be taken with the use of dogs on bear sanctuaries. 

(e)  Dogs shall not be trained or allowed to run unleashed between March 1 and the Monday on or nearest October 15 on bear sanctuaries 

located in and west of the counties and parts of counties described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.7; 113-305; 

Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10E .0104 USE OF AREAS REGULATED 

(a)  No person shall leave any vehicle, boat trailer or other 

obstruction on any public fishing or boating access area in such a 

location, position or condition that prevents or impedes the use by 

other persons of any ramp or other facility constructed for the 

purpose of launching or landing boats or fishing. 

(b)  No person shall park a vehicle, boat, boat trailer, or other 

object at a public fishing or boating access area unless parking in 

a designated parking zone. Public fishing or boating access areas 

and facilities remain available for use when designated parking 

zones are at capacity. When designated parking zones are at 

capacity, any person may enter and use the areas or facilities, 

provided other arrangements for parking are made that do not 

violate this Rule or the regulations of this Subchapter, if 

applicable. No person shall operate a vehicle at a public fishing or 

boating access area in a manner that endangers life, limb, or 

property. 

(c)  No person shall possess a loaded firearm on any public fishing 

or boating access area, except that a handgun may be carried by 

an individual with a valid concealed handgun permit. The 

individual carrying a handgun must adhere to the requirements set 

forth in North Carolina G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing 

the concealed handgun permit is not North Carolina. The 

permission to carry a handgun does not apply to access areas on 

the following game lands: 

(1) Bladen Lakes State Forest 

(2) Buckhorn 

(3) Butner-Falls of Neuse 

(4) Chatham 

(5) DuPont State Forest 

(6) Harris 

(7) Hyco 

(8) Jordan 

(9) Kerr Scott 

(10) Lee 

(11) Mayo 

(12) Pee Dee River north of U.S 74 

(13) Sutton Lake 

(14) Vance 

(15) the portion of R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell that is 

located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119 

(d)  No person, when using any public fishing or boating access 

area, shall deposit debris or refuse anywhere on the grounds of the 

area. No person, when using any public fishing or boating access 
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area, shall do any act that is prohibited or neglect to do any act 

that is required by signs or markings placed on such area under 

authority of this Rule for the purpose of regulating the use of the 

area.  

(e)  No person shall operate a motorboat in the public waters of 

North Carolina within 50 yards of a Commission-owned or 

managed boat launching ramp at greater than "no wake" speed. 

For the purpose of this Rule, "no wake" speed means idling speed 

or a slow speed creating no appreciable wake. 

(f)  Except where facilities are provided, it is unlawful to use any 

boating access area for purposes other than the launching of boats 

and parking vehicles and boat trailers. All other uses, including 

swimming, skiing, camping, building fires, operating concessions 

or other activities not directly involved with launching of boats 

are prohibited, except those activities, including fish weigh-ins, 

for which a permit has been issued may be conducted, provided 

that the permit authorizing such activity is available for inspection 

by wildlife enforcement officers at the time the activity is taking 

place. 

(g)  Except where facilities are provided and approved uses are 

posted, it is unlawful to use any public fishing area for purposes 

other than fishing. All prohibited uses and activities shall be 

posted including possession of loaded firearms (except as allowed 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule), swimming, launching or mooring 

jet skis or boats, skiing, building fires, operating concessions, or 

other activities not directly associated with fishing. 

(h)  It is unlawful to feed or release animals or birds, domesticated 

animals and feral animals on public fishing or boating access areas 

without prior written authorization of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. Written authorization will only be granted to 

persons acting on behalf of the Commission, to persons 

conducting scientific investigations or surveys, and for release of 

rehabilitated wildlife. Written authorization will not be granted 

for any feeding or release that is inimical to the conservation of 

native wildlife resources. For the purpose of enforcing this 

Paragraph, "domesticated animals" does not include pets under 

the control of the owner and raptors or hunting dogs where 

otherwise permitted for hunting or training purposes. 

(i)  The use of gasoline powered motors on Ethridge Pond Public 

Fishing Area and Newbold Pond Public Fishing Area in 

Edgecombe County is prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-14; 113-134; 113-264; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2012; August 1, 2010; 

May 1, 2009; July 1, 1995; February 1, 1994; September 1, 1992; 

July 1, 1991. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0303 BEAUFORT COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Beaufort County: 

(1) the portion of Broad Creek south of a line from 

a point on the east shore at 35.49472 N, 

76.95693 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.49476 N, 76.96028 W and north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.48485 N, 

76.95178 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.48495 N, 76.95619 W; 

(2) the portion of Blounts Creek south of a line 100 

yards north of the Blounts Creek Boating 

Access Area, from a point on the east shore at 

35.40846 N, 76.96091 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.40834 N, 76.96355 W, and north of 

a line 100 yards south of Cotton Patch Landing, 

from a point on the east shore at 35.40211 N, 

76.96573 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.40231 N, 76.96702 W; 

(3) the waters of Battalina Creek, within the 

territorial limits of the Town of Belhaven; 

(4) the navigable portion of Nevil Creek extending 

upstream from its mouth at the Pamlico River; 

(5) the portion of Blounts Creek north of a line 35 

yards south-southeast of the Mouth of the Creek 

Bridge from a point on the east shore at 

35.43333 N, 76.96985 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.43267 N, 76.97196 W and south of 

a line 350 yards north-northeast of the Mouth of 

the Creek Bridge from a point on the east shore 

at 35.43553 N, 76.96962 W to a point on the 

west shore at 35.43679 N, 76.97011 W; 

(6) the portion of Tranters Creek east of a line from 

a point on the north shore at 35.56961 N, 

77.09159 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.56888 N, 77.09118 W and north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.56714 N, 

77.08941 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.56689 N, 77.09029 W; and 

(7) the waters of Little Creek beginning at a line 

near its mouth from a point on the east shore at 

35.41917 N, 76.97102 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.41900 N, 76.96940 W; and 

(8) the canals at the eastern end of the peninsula 

between Chocowinity Bay and the Pamlico 

River at Fork Point and Whichard Beach, 

beginning at the canal entrance off of 

Chocowinity Bay at a point a 35.50296 N, 

77.03043 W and beginning at the canal entrance 

off of the Pamlico River at a point at 35.50340 

N, 77.02364 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas identified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Beaufort County and the City Council of the City of Washington 

shall be the designated agencies for placement of the markers 

implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United 

States Coast Guard and United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; September 1, 2010; June 1, 

1998; April 1, 1997; June 1, 1989; March 1, 1987; April 1, 1986; 

March 4, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2019; October 1, 2018; November 1, 2017. 
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15A NCAC 10F .0333 MECKLENBURG AND GASTON 

COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

of Lake Wylie in Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties: 

(1) McDowell Park. The waters of the coves 

adjoining McDowell Park and the Southwest 

Nature Preserve in Mecklenburg County shore 

to shore, east of the mouth of the cove at a line 

from a point on the south shore at 35.10272 N, 

81.03026 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.10556 N, 80.02964 W; 

(2) Gaston County Wildlife Club Cove. The waters 

of the cove west of the Gaston County Wildlife 

Club on South Point Road in Belmont, north of 

a line at the mouth of the cove from a point on 

the east shore at 35.15628 N, 81.01427 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.15628 N, 

81.01615 W; 

(3) Buster Boyd Bridge. The waters from a point 

250 feet east of the Buster Boyd Bridge on N.C. 

Highway 49 in Mecklenburg County at 

35.10293 N, 81.03932 W, to a point 150 feet 

west of the Buster Boyd Bridge at 35.10242 N, 

81.04089 W; 

(4) N.C. Highway 27 bridge. The waters shore to 

shore, from a point 50 yards north of the N.C. 

Highway 27 bridge in Mecklenburg and Gaston 

counties at 35.29849 N, 81.00346 W to a point 

190 yards south of the N.C. Highway 27 bridge 

at 35.29635 N, 81.00424 W; 

(5) Brown's Cove. The area beginning at the mouth 

of Brown's Cove in Mecklenburg County shore 

to shore, at a point at 35.16453 N, 81.00474 W, 

west to a point at 35.16480 N, 81.00309 W; 

(6) Paradise Point Cove. The waters of Paradise 

Point Cove in Gaston County between Paradise 

Circle and Lake Front Drive, west of a line from 

a point on the south shore at 35.18853 N, 

81.04036 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.18991 N, 81.04136 W; 

(7) Withers Cove. The waters from a point 50 feet 

southeast of the Withers Bridge on SR 1116, 

otherwise known as Shopton Road W. in 

Mecklenburg County at 35.14576 N, 81.00187 

W, to a point 50 feet northwest of the bridge at 

35.14599 N, 81.00222 W; 

(8) Sadler Island. The waters shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on the west 

shore of Lake Wylie in Gaston County at 

35.27481 N, 81.0138 W east to a point on the 

east shore of the Lake in Mecklenburg County 

at 35.27423 N, 81.01111 W, extending south on 

the Lake west of Sadler Island to a line from a 

point on the west shore of the Lake in Gaston 

County at 35.27079 N, 81.01525 W, east to a 

point on the west side of Sadler Island in 

Mecklenburg County at 35.27051 N, 81.01396 

W, and the waters shore to shore east of Sadler 

Island in Mecklenburg County from a point at 

35.27441 N, 81.01185 W, south-southwest to a 

line from a point on the south shore of Sadler 

Island at 35.26635 N, 81.01432 W, south to a 

point on the Lake shore at 35.26494 N, 

81.01368 W;  

(9) Other bridges. The areas within 50 feet of any 

bridge in North Carolina that crosses the waters 

of Lake Wylie that is not otherwise specifically 

mentioned in this Paragraph; and 

(10) Yachtsman on Lake Wylie Community. The 

waters within 50 yards of the community piers 

near the terminus of Waterside Drive in 

Mecklenburg County, and northward to include 

the waters east of the island that is west of Point 

Lookout Road, ending at a line from a point on 

the northern end of the island at 35.12226 N, 

81.03306 W, east to a point on the shore at 

35.12253 N, 81.03190 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat-

launching ramp, dock, pier, marina, boat storage structure, or boat 

service area. 

(c)  Speed Limit Near Marked Swimming or Mooring Areas. No 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 

50 yards of any marked mooring area or marked swimming area. 

(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Wylie 

Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement 

and maintenance of markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. July 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; June 1, 1985; June 1, 1984; March 1, 

1983; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 4, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; June 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 48 – BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 48F .0102 FEES 

(a)  The following fees are charged by the Board: 

(1) application for physical therapist licensure, one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150.00); 

(2) application for physical therapist assistant 

licensure, one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00); 

(3) renewal for all persons, one hundred twenty 

dollars ($120.00); 

(4) revival of license lapsed less than five years, 

thirty dollars ($30.00) plus renewal fee; 
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(5) transfer of licensure information fee, including 

either the examination scores or licensure 

verification or both, thirty dollars ($30.00); 

(6) retake examination, sixty dollars ($60.00); 

(7) certificate replacement or duplicate, thirty 

dollars ($30.00); 

(8) licensee list or labels or any portion thereof for 

physical therapists, sixty dollars ($60.00); 

(9) licensee list or labels or any portion thereof for 

physical therapist assistants, sixty dollars 

($60.00); and 

(10) processing fee for returned checks, maximum 

allowed by G.S. 25-3-506. 

(b)  The application fee is not refundable. 

(c)  Payment of application fees listed in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 

(2) of this Rule may be made by certified check, cash, credit card, 

or debit card. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.100; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; October 1, 1995; October 1, 1994; 

November 1, 1991; August 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; July 1, 2013; December 1, 2006; 

August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000. 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 48F .0103 INVESTIGATIONS 

Any complaint alleging violations of the North Carolina Physical 

Therapy Practice Act must be made in writing, signed by the 

person submitting the complaint, and include the complainant's 

address and telephone number. Complaints must be sent to the 

Executive Director. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.102; 90-

270.103; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2006; February 1, 1996; May 1, 1988; 

October 28, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 48G .0504 COMPLAINTS AND 

INVESTIGATIONS 

(a)  In order to file a complaint with the Board, the following 

information shall be submitted to the Board in writing: 

(1) the name and address of person alleged to have 

violated the Physical Therapy Practice Act; 

(2) a statement of conduct that is the basis of the 

complaint; and 

(3) the name, address, and telephone number of 

complainant. 

(b)  Upon receipt of a written complaint alleging misconduct that 

may subject a licensee to disciplinary action, or upon the receipt 

of the information that a violation of the Physical Therapy 

Practice Act may have occurred, the Board shall investigate the 

matter to determine whether probable cause exists to institute 

disciplinary proceedings. 

(c)  The Executive Director of the Board and a member appointed 

by the Chair shall serve as an investigative committee. This 

investigative committee may be assisted by: 

(1) the Board's attorney; 

(2) an investigator; 

(3) a former member of the Board; or 

(4) a consultant retained by the investigative 

committee who possesses expertise that will 

assist the investigative committee in its 

investigation. 

(d)  The investigative committee shall investigate the complaint 

or information set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. In 

conducting its investigation, the Board Chair (or Executive 

Director, if designated by the Chair) may issue subpoenas in the 

investigative committee's name for the production of documents 

pursuant to the provisions of Rule .0512 of this Section. The 

investigative committee shall determine whether there is probable 

cause to believe that the licensee has violated any statute or Board 

rule that justifies a disciplinary hearing. If the investigative 

committee determines probable cause does not exist, the 

complaint shall be dismissed, and the complainant shall be 

notified of the investigative committee's action and its reasons. If 

the investigative committee determines that probable cause exists, 

the investigative committee shall offer to confer with the licensee 

in an attempt to settle the matter through informal means. If the 

investigative committee and the licensee reach an agreement on 

the disposition of the matter under investigation, the investigative 

committee shall cause to be drafted a proposed settlement 

agreement that shall include findings of fact, conclusions of law, 

and a consent order for presentation to and consideration by the 

Board. The settlement agreement shall be presented to and 

approved by the licensee before it is presented to the Board for 

consideration and approval. 

(e)  Prior to a decision rendered by the Board, any materials 

generated or obtained by the Board in conducting an investigation 

shall be considered confidential investigation records not subject 

to the Public Records Act, G.S. 132. However, copies of the 

materials may be provided to a licensee subject to disciplinary 

action, or to the licensee's attorney, so long as identifying 

information concerning the treatment or delivery of professional 

services to a patient who has not consented to its public disclosure 

shall be redacted. 

(f)  If the investigative committee and the licensee are not able to 

settle the matter under investigation by informal means, the 

licensee may request a contested case hearing pursuant to Rule 

.0502 of this Section or the Board shall give notice of a 

disciplinary or contested case hearing. 

(g)  If probable cause is found, but it is determined that license 

suspension or revocation is not warranted, the investigative 

committee shall recommend that the Board place the licensee on 

probation, or issue a warning to the licensee. In making this 

determination, the investigative committee shall consider such 

factors as harm to the public; nature of the conduct; and prior 

record of discipline. The investigative committee shall mail a 

copy of its recommendation to the licensee. 

(h)  Within 20 days after receipt of the recommendation, the 

licensee may refuse the probation or warning and request a 
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contested case hearing pursuant to this Rule. The refusal and 

request shall be filed with the Board. The legal counsel for the 

Board shall thereafter prepare, file, and serve a Notice of Hearing. 

(i)  In the alternative, within 20 days after receipt of the 

recommendation, the licensee may request an informal meeting 

with the Board to discuss the basis of the investigative 

committee's recommendation and present reasons why the Board 

should not follow the investigative committee's recommendation. 

There shall be no sworn testimony presented, nor shall there be a 

formal record of the proceedings. 

(j)  If the licensee does not request a contested case hearing or an 

informal meeting with the Board, the Board shall still determine 

whether to accept the investigative committee's recommendation. 

(k)  Participation by a current Board member in the investigation 

of a complaint shall disqualify that Board member from 

participating in the decision making process of a contested case 

hearing. 

(l)  Subsequent to the issuance of a notice of hearing, the attorney 

prosecuting the contested case for the Board may not 

communicate, directly or indirectly, in connection with any issue 

of fact or question of law, with any party, including the members 

of the Board assigned to make a decision or to make findings of 

fact and conclusions of law in the contested case, except on notice 

and opportunity for all parties to participate. However, the 

attorney prosecuting the matter for the Board may continue to 

communicate concerning the contested case with the members of 

the investigative committee who investigated the matter, with 

persons not parties to the contested case who may be called as 

witnesses including the person who filed the complaint, and with 

the Board members about other matters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 150B-38; 150B-39; 

150B-40; 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; July 1, 2013; August 1, 2002; 

August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission June 20, 2019 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell 
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

   June 20, 2019 July 18, 2019 
 August 15, 2019                September 19, 2019 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, JUNE 20, 2019 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 
III. Follow-up matters 

A. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May) 
B. DHHS/ Division of Health Benefits - 10A NCAC 23E .0105, .0202; 23G .0203, .0304; 23H .0109 (Reeder) 
C. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
D. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, 

.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 

.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, 

.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 
(May) 

E. Environmental Management Commission -15A NCAC 02H .0901, .0902, .0903, .0904, .0905, .0906, .0907, 
.0908, .0909, .0910, .0912, .0913, .0914, .0915, .0916, .0917, .0918, .0919, .0920, .0921, .0922 (Reeder) 

F. Marriage and Family Therapy Licensure Board - 21 NCAC 31 .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301, .0401, .0403, .0404, 
.0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0609, .0701, .0801, .0802, .1001, .1002 (Reeder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between April 23, 2019 through May 20, 2019 

• Board of Agriculture (Reeder) 

• DHHS - Division of Aging and Adult Services  

• Social Services Commission 

• Department of Health and Human Services (May) 

• Social Services Commission 

• Code Officials Qualification Board (Reeder) 

• Department of Justice (Reeder) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02C (Reeder) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02H (Reeder) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02T (Reeder) 

• Coastal Resources Commission May) 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2324 

• Commission for Public Health (May) 

• Department of Transportation (May) 

• Medical Board (Reeder) 

• Onsite Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors Certification Board (May)  

• State Human Resources Commission (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Review of Reports 
1. 10A NCAC 14E – DHHS-Division of Health Service Regulation 
2. 10A NCAC 28F – Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS - Section .0100; Rules .0201-.0209, .0212; 

Sections .0300, .0400, .0700 
3. 10A NCAC 28F – Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS/Division of Mental Health/DD/SAS - Rules .0210-

.0211, .0213; Sections .0500, .0600, .0800, .0900 
4. 10A NCAC 28G – Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS 
5. 10A NCAC 28H – Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS 
6. 10A NCAC 28I – DHHS - Division of Mental Health/DD/SAS - Sections .0100, .0400 
7. 10A NCAC 28I – Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS/Division of Mental Health/DD/SAS – Section .0200 
8. 10A NCAC 28I – Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS – Section .0300 
9. 10A NCAC 29C – DHHS - Division of Mental Health/DD/SAS  
10. 10A NCAC 29D – DHHS-Division for Mental Health/DD/SAS – Sections .0500, .0800 
11. 10A NCAC 29D – Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS – Sections .0600, .0700 

 
VII. Commission Business 

G.  Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule 

• Next meeting: Thursday, July 18, 2019 
 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
April 23, 2019 through May 20, 2019 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 38 are enforced by the standards division and include purpose and definitions (.0100); approval of 
weighing and measuring devices (.0200); package and labeling requirements (.0300); method of sale and commodities 
(.0400); leaf tobacco (.0500); sale of petroleum products (.0600); standards for storage, handling and installation of LP 
gas (.0700); and liquid fertilizers (.0800). 

Adoption by Reference 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 38 .0401 

The rules in Subchapter 52B cover animal diseases, treatment, and protection including quarantine (.0100), admission 
of livestock to North Carolina (.0200), brucellosis regulations (.0300), equine infectious anemia (.0400), poultry diseases 
(.0500), poultry hatcheries (.0600); and scrapie disease (.0700). 

Importation Requirements: Cattle 
Readopt with Changes* 

 02 NCAC 52B .0204 

Importation Requirements: Cattle Fever Tick and Scabies 
Repeal* 

 02 NCAC 52B .0205 

Importation Requirements: Swine 
Readopt with Changes* 

 02 NCAC 52B .0207 

Importation Requirements: Cervids 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 52B .0213 

The rules in Subchapter 52E concern marketing of livestock including definitions and general rules (.0100); public 
livestock market regulations (.0200); livestock market regulations (.0300); and livestock branding (.0400). 
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Style and Location of Brand 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 52E .0402 

The rules in Subchapter 52G concern biologics including definitions (.0100); licenses (.0200); inspection and record 
keeping (.0300); and registration of biologics (.0400). 

Protection of Confidential Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 52G .0303 

HHS - AGING AND ADULT SERVICES, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 6 concern aging program operations.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 6Q concern the scope (.0100) and requirements (.0200) for adult day care. 

Adult Day Care Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06Q .0101 

Maximum Reimbursement Rates 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06Q .0201 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 6R concern adult day care standards for certification and include introduction (.0100); definition 
of terms (.0200); administration (.0300); the facility (.0400); program operation (.0500); certification procedure (.0600); 
construction requirements for day care home (.0700); certification information (.0800); and special care for persons with 
alzheimer's disease or other dementias, mental health disabilities or other special needs diseases or conditions in adult 
day care centers (.0900). 

Certification Requirement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0101 

Corrective Action 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0102 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0201 

Program Goals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0302 

Insurance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0304 

Personnel: Centers: Home with Operator and Staff 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0305 

General Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0401 

Equipment and Furnishings 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0403 

Planning Program Activities 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0501 

Nutrition 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0502 

Transportation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0503 

Emergencies and First Aid 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0504 

Hours and Days of Operation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0506 
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Records 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0508 

Program Evaluation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0509 

Procedure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0601 

The Certificate 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0801 

Provisional Certificate 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0802 

Denial or Revocation of Certificate 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0804 

Procedure for Appeal 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0806 

Policies and Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0902 

Enrollment - Special Care Services 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06R .0904 

The rules in Subchapter 6S concern adult day health standards for certification and include introduction and definitions 
(.0100); administration (.0200); facility requirements for centers and homes (.0300); program operation (.0400); 
certification information (.0500); and special care for persons with alzheimer's disease or related disorders, mental 
health disabilities, or other special needs diseases or conditions in adult day care centers (.0600) 

Introductory Statement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0101 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0102 

Staffing Pattern 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0203 

Staff Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0204 

Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0301 

Construction Requirements for Day Health Homes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0302 

Additional Enrollment and Participation Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0402 

Health and Personal Care Services 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0403 

Transportation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0404 

Emergencies and First Aid 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0405 

Procedure 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0501 

Procedure for Appeal 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06S .0508 

The rules in Subchapter 6T are state adult day care fund rules.  

Nature and Purpose of State Adult Day Care Fund 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 06T .0201 
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HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14A concern rulemaking (.0100); contested cases (.0200); and hearings, transfers and 
discharges (.0300). 

Petitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14A .0101 

Rulemaking Procedures 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 14A .0102 

Declaratory Rulings 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14A .0103 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 67 concern social services procedures.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 67A concern general administration including administration (.0100); hearing policy (.0200); 
and regional social services departments (.0300). 

Contents 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0101 

Standards for Office Space and Facilities 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0103 

Administration and Agency Compliance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0105 

Civil Rights 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0106 

Forms 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0107 

Advisory to Counties Regarding Petition of Garnishment 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0108 

General 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0201 

Exceptions for Notification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0202 

Good Cause for Delayed Hearings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0203 

Attendance at the Hearing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0204 

Appeal of Decision 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0205 

Good Cause for Not Requesting Hearing and Required Time F... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0206 

The rules in Chapter 68 concern rulemaking for the Social Services Commission (.0100); and the Social Services 
Division Director (.0200). 

Petitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0101 

Notice 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0102 

Hearing Officer 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0103 
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Hearings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0104 

Statement of Reasons for and Against Rulemaking Decision 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0105 

Record of Rulemaking Proceedings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0106 

Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0107 

Declaratory Rulings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0108 

Notice 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0202 

Hearing Officer 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0203 

Hearings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0204 

Justification of Rulemaking Decision 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0205 

Record of Rulemaking Proceedings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0206 

Declaratory Rulings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0208 

Employment of Relatives of County Board Members 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0301 

Selection of County Board Members by Social Services Comm 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0302 

Delegation of Authority by County Boards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 68 .0303 

The rules in Chapter 69 concern confidentiality and access to client records including general provisions (.0100); 
safeguarding client information (.0200); client access to records (.0300); release of client information (.0400); disclosure 
of client information without client consent (.0500); and service providers (.0600). 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0101 

Information from Other Agencies 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0102 

Conflict of Laws 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0201 

Ownership of Records 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0202 

Security of Records 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0203 

Assurance of Confidentiality 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0204 

Liability of Persons with Access to Client Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0205 

Right of Access 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0301 

Prompt Response to Request 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0302 

Withholding Information from the Client 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0303 
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Procedures for Review of Records 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0304 

Contested Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0305 

Review of Record by Personal Representatives 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0306 

Procedures for Obtaining Consent for Release of Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0401 

Consent for Release of Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0402 

Persons Who May Consent to the Release of Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0403 

Informed Consent 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0404 

Persons Designated to Release Client Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0405 

Documentation of Release 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0406 

Disclosure within the Agency 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0501 

Disclosure for the Purpose of Research 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0502 

Disclosure for Purposes of Accountability 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0503 

Disclosure Pursuant to Other Laws 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0504 

Disclosure Pursuant to a Court Order 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0505 

Notice to Client 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0506 

Documentation of Disclosure 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0507 

Persons Designated to Disclose Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0508 

Information Needs of Service Providers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0601 

Contract Restriction 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0602 

Assurance of Confidentiality 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0603 

Ownership of Records 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0604 

Liability of Service Providers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 69 .0605 

The rules in Chapter 72 concern educational assistance including general rules (.0100); eligibility (.0200); and 
application (.0300). 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 72 .0101 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 72 .0102 

General Rule  10A NCAC 72 .0201 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Satisfactory Progress Requirement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 72 .0202 

Limitations of Award 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 72 .0203 

Scholarship Application Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 72 .0301 

CODE OFFICIALS QUALIFICATION BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 8 are the engineering and building codes including the approval of school maintenance electricians 
(.0400); qualification board-limited certificate (.0500); qualification board-probationary certificate (.0600); qualification 
board-standard certificate (.0700); disciplinary actions and other contested matters (.0800); manufactured housing 
board (.0900); NC Home Inspector Licensure Board (.1000); home inspector standards of practice and code of ethics 
(.1100); disciplinary actions (.1200); home inspector continuing education (.1300); Manufactured Housing Board 
continuing education (.1400); and alternate designs and construction appeals (.1500). 

Nature of Probationary Certificate 
Readopt with Changes* 

 11 NCAC 08 .0602 

Special Circumstances 
Readopt with Changes* 

 11 NCAC 08 .0707 

Certificate 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 08 .0708 

Inactive Code Enforcement Officials 
Readopt with Changes* 

 11 NCAC 08 .0714 

JUSTICE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Office of the Attorney General.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 02I concern company and railroad police including general provisions (.0100); commissioning 
(.0200); conduct of commissioner policemen (.0300); procedural rules (.0400) and agency record retention (.0500). 

Period of Suspension, Revocation or Denial 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 02I .0213 

Badges, Uniforms, Vehicles and Officer Identification 
Adopt* 

 12 NCAC 02I .0306 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 2 concern environmental management and are promulgated by the Environmental Management 
Commission or the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. The rules in Subchapter 02C concern well 
construction standards including criteria and standards applicable to water-supply and certain other type wells (.0100); 
criteria and standards applicable to injection wells (.0200); and permitting and inspection of private drinking water wells 
(.0300). 

General Provisions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0101 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0102 

Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0105 

Standards of Construction: Water Supply Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0107 
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Standards of Construction: Wells other than Water Supply 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0108 

Pumps and Pumping Equipment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0109 

Well Tests for Yield 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0110 

Disinfection of Water Supply Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0111 

Well Maintenance: Repair: Groundwater Resources 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0112 

Abandonment of Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0113 

Data and Records Required 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0114 

Designated Areas: Wells Cased to Less than 20 Feet 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0116 

Designated Areas: Water Supply Wells Cased to Minimum Dep... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0117 

Variance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0118 

Delegation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0119 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0201 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0202 

Conflict with other Laws, Rules, and Regulations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0203 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0204 

Corrective Action 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0206 

Mechanical Integrity 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0207 

Financial Responsibility 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0208 

Classification of Injection Wells 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0209 

Requirements: Wells Used to Inject Waste or Contaminants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0210 

General Permitting Requirements Applicable to all Injecti... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0211 

Permitting by Rule 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0217 

Aquifer Recharge Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0218 

Aquifer Storage and Recovery Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0219 

Aquifer Test Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0220 

Experimental Technology Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0221 
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Geothermal Aqueous Closed-Loop Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0222 

Geothermal Direct Expansion Closed-Loop Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0223 

Geothermal Heating/Cooling Water Return Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0224 

Groundwater Remediation Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0225 

Salinity Barrier Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0226 

Stormwater Drainage Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0227 

Subsidence Control Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0228 

Tracer Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0229 

Other Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0230 

Abandonment and Change-of-Status of Injection Wells and S... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0240 

Variance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0241 

Delegation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0242 

Scope and Purpose 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0301 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0302 

Application for Permit 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0303 

Permitting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0304 

Grout Inspection and Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0305 

Well Completion and Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0306 

Well Data and Records 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0307 

Appeal Procedure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0308 

Well Abandonment and Certification 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02C .0309 

The rules in Subchapter 2H concern procedures for permits: approvals including point source discharges to the surface 
waters (.0100); waste not discharged to surface waters (.0200); coastal waste treatment disposal (.0400); water quality 
certification (.0500); laboratory certification (.0800); local pretreatment programs (.0900); stormwater management 
(.1000); biological laboratory certification (.1100); special orders (.1200); and discharges to isolated wetlands and 
isolated waters (.1300). 

Purpose 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0801 

Scope 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0802 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2333 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0803 

Parameters for Which Certification May be Requested 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0804 

Certification and Renewal of Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0805 

Fees Associated with Certification Program 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0806 

Decertification and Civil Penalties 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0807 

Recertification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0808 

Reciprocity 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0809 

Administration 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0810 

Purpose 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1101 

Scope 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1102 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1103 

Fees Associated with Certification Program 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1104 

Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1105 

Decertification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1106 

Recertification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1107 

Reciprocity 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1108 

Administration 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1109 

Implementation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1110 

Biological Laboratory Certification and Quality Assurance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1111 

The rules in Subchapter 2T set out the requirements for the issuance of permits for waste systems that do not discharge 
to the surface waters of the state and include general requirements (.0100); and requirements for various systems 
including: wastewater pump and haul systems (.0200); sewer extensions (.0300); system-wide collection system 
permitting (.0400); wastewater irrigation systems (.0500); single-family residence wastewater irrigation systems (.0600); 
high rate infiltration systems (.0700); other non-discharge wastewater systems (.0800); reclaimed water systems 
(.0900); closed-loop recycle systems (.1000); residuals management (.1100); coal combustion products management 
(.1200); animal waste management systems (.1300); manure hauler operations (.1400); soil remediation (.1500); and 
groundwater remediation systems (.1600). 

Scope 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1601 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1602 

Application Submittal 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1604 
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Design Criteria 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1605 

Setbacks 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1606 

Monitoring and Reporting Requirements 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1607 

Requirements for Closure 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1608 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); 
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs (.1900); 
authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters and 
ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); replacement of 
existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal wetlands (.2300); 
placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement of structures; the 
reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, basins, channels, 
or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500); construction of wetland, stream and 
buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North Carolina Wetlands 
Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in estuarine and public trust 
waters (.2700).  

Purpose 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2701 

General Conditions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2704 

Specific Conditions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2705 

The rules in Subchapter 7J concern procedures for handling major development permits, variance requests, appeals 
from minor development permit decisions and declaratory rulings. They include definitions (.0100); permit application 
and procedures (.0200); hearing procedures (.0300); final approval and enforcement (.0400); general permits (.0500); 
declaratory rulings and petitions for rulemaking (.0600); procedures for considering variance petitions (.0700); general 
permit procedure (.1100); static vegetation line exception procedures (.1200); and development line procedures (.1300). 

Civil Penalties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0409 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 18C are water supply rules including their protection and location (.0100-.0200), submission of 
plans, etc. (.0300), design criteria (.0400-.0500), raw surface water facilities (.0600), surface water treatment facilities 
(.0700), hydropneumatic storage tanks (.0800), distribution systems (.0900), disinfection (.1000), protection of unfiltered 
and filtered supplies (.1100-.1200), variances (.1300), fluoridation (.1400), water quality standards and variances (.1500-
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.1600), systems grants (.1700), local plan approval (.1800), administrative penalties (.1900), filtration and disinfection 
(.2000); operating permits (.2100); and ground water systems (.2200).q 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0102 

Removal of Dissolved Matter and Suspended Matter 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0202 

Public Well Water Supplies 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0203 

Approvals Necessary Before Contracting or Constructing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0305 

Engineer's Report, Water System Management Plan and Other... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0307 

Water Supply Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0402 

Surface Water Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0403 

Water Treatment Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0404 

Storage of Finished Water 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0405 

Distribution Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0406 

Lead Free Construction 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0408 

Service Connections 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0409 

Other Design Standards 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0503 

Impoundments: Pre-Setting Reservoirs 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0601 

Mechanical Flocculation 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0703 

Sedimentation Basin 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0706 

Solids Contact or Up-Flow Units 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0707 

Gravity Filters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0708 

Alternative Filtration Treatment Technologies 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0711 

Pressure Filters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0713 

Pilot Plant Studies 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0714 

Other Design Standards 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0715 

Capacities: Determining Total Volume 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0803 

Pipe Laying 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .0904 

Relation of Water Mains to Sewers  15A NCAC 18C .0906 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Disinfection of Wells 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1002 

Disinfection of Storage Tanks and Distribution Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1003 

Disinfection of Filters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1004 

Control of Treatment Process 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1406 

Corrosion Control and Lead and Copper Monitoring 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1507 

Inorganic Chemical Sampling and Analysis 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1508 

Special Monitoring for Sodium 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1509 

Concentration of Iron 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1511 

Concentration of Manganese 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1512 

Organic Chemicals Other than TTHM, Sampling and Analysis 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1515 

Special Monitoring for Inorganic and Organic Chemicals 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1516 

Monitoring Frequency for Radioactivity 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1519 

Public Notification Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1523 

Reporting for Organic Chemicals 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1524 

Reporting Requirements 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1525 

Certified Laboratories 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1527 

Alternate Analytical Techniques 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1528 

Point-of-Entry, Bottled Water, and Other Treatment Devices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1529 

Variances and Exemptions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1532 

Maximum Containment Levels for Coliform Bacteria 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1535 

Drinking Water Additives 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1537 

Consumer Confidence Report 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1538 

Notice 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1804 

General Requirements 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .2001 

Disinfection 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .2002 

Criteria for Avoiding Filtration  15A NCAC 18C .2005 
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Amend* 

Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .2008 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Division of Highways.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 2D concern highway operations including standards for design and construction (.0100); 
landscape (.0200); field operations-maintenance and equipment (.0400); ferry operations (.0500); oversize-overweight 
permits (.0600); highway design branch (.0700); prequalification advertising and bidding regulations (.0800); regulations 
for informal construction and repair contracts (.0900); adopt-a-highway program (.1000); and disadvantaged business 
enterprise, minority business enterprise and women business enterprise programs for highway and bridge construction 
contracts (.1100). 

Maintenance within Municipalities 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0404 

Construction and Maintenance of Sidewalks 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0406 

Permits-Authority, Application and Enforcement 
Amend* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0601 

Permits-Issuance and Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0602 

Permits-Weight, Dimensions and Limitations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0607 

Permits - House Moves 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0612 

Denial: Revocation: Refusal to Review: Appeal: Invalidation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0633 

Escort Vehicle Driver Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0643 

Oversize-Overweight Load Escort Vehicle Operator Certific... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .0644 

The rules in Subchapter 2E concern miscellaneous operations including tort claims (.0100); outdoor advertising (.0200); 
junkyard control (.0300); general ordinances (.0400); selective vegetation removal policy (.0600); professional or 
specialized services (.0700); solicitation of contributions for religious purposes at rest areas (.0800); distribution of 
newspapers from dispensers at rest areas and welcome centers (.0900); scenic byways (.1000); tourist-oriented 
directional sign program (.1100); private property owners (.1200). 

Piling Obstructions on Highway or Within Right of Way 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0402 

Depositing Mud on State Highways 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0403 

Highway Obstructions Interfering with Traffic/Maintenance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0404 

Damage to State Highway System Surface or Shoulder 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0405 

Vehicles Served by Service Station 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0406 

Control and Regulation of Roadside Parks and Rest Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0407 

Fishing from Bridges 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0408 
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Operating Nonmotorized Vehicles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0409 

Hitchhiking on Interstate or Controlled Access Highways 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0410 

Jumping from Bridges 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0411 

Regulation of Airport Construction 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0423 

Access Routes for STAA Dimensioned Vehicles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0426 

Bicycle Trails 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0427 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32B concern license to practice medicine including prescribing (.1000); general (.1300); 
resident's training license (.1400); faculty limited license (.1500); purpose license (.1600); other business (.1700); and 
expedited license for physician license (.2000). 

Application for Physician License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32B .1303 

Reinstatement of Physician License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32B .1350 

Application for Medical School Faculty License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32B .1502 

Physician Practice and Limited License for Disasters and ... 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 32B .1706 

Expedited Application for Physician License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32B .2001 

The rules in Subchapter 32N concern formal and informal proceedings. 

Initiation of Disciplinary Hearings 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32N .0110 

Summary Suspension 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 32N .0114 

The rules in Subchapter 32S regulate physician assistants including physician assistant registration (.0200). 

Limited Physician Assistant Practice and Limited License ... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32S .0219 

The rules in Subchapter 32W concern the regulations of anesthesiologist assistants. 

Anesthesiologist Assistant Practice and Limited License f... 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 32W .0116 

ONSITE WASTEWATER CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 39 are from the Onsite Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors Certification Board and include 
definitions (.0100); certification of onsite wastewater contractors or inspectors (.0200); onsite wastewater contractor or 
inspector fees (.0300); certification by examination (.0400); certification renewal (.0500); continuing education 
requirements (.0600); procedures for disciplinary actions (.0700); onsite wastewater contractor or inspectors code of 
ethics (.0800) and rulemaking procedures (.0900). 

Annual Reports  21 NCAC 39 .0103 
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Adopt* 

Cooperation with Board Inquiry 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 39 .0802 

Delegating to Third-Party Service Providers 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 39 .0803 

Petition for Rule-Making 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 39 .0901 

Request for Declaratory Ruling 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 39 .0902 

Refusal to Issue Declaratory Ruling 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 39 .0903 

On-Site Wastewater System Components 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 39 .1005 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 1E cover employee benefits including general leave provisions (.0100); vacation leave (.0200); 
sick leave (.0300); workers compensation leave (.0700); military leave (.0800); holidays (.0900); miscellaneous leave 
(.1000); other types of leave without pay (.1100); community involvement (.1200); the voluntary shared leave program 
(.1300); family and medical leave (.1400); child involvement leave (.1500); community services leave (.1600); 
administrative leave (.1700) and incentive leave (.1800). 

Separation: Payment of Vacation Leave 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .0210 

Coverage 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .0704 

Administration 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .0705 

The rules in Subchapter 1I concern service to local government including local government employment policies (.1700); 
general provisions (.1800); recruitment and selection (.1900); appointment and separation (.2000); compensation 
(.2100); hours of work and overtime compensation (.2200); disciplinary action, suspension, dismissal and appeals 
(.2300); and basic requirements for a substantially equivalent personnel system (.2400). 

Employment of Relatives 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .1702 

Provisions for Tentative Temporary Classifications 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .1805 

Posting and Announcement of Vacancies 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .1902 

Applicant Information and Application 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .1903 

Selection 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .1905 

Promotion 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2003 

Other Pay 
Repeal* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2105 

Dismissal for Unsatisfactory Performance of Duties 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2302 

Dismissal for Grossly Inefficient Job Performance 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2303 

Dismissal for Unacceptable Personal Conduct 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2304 
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Written Warning 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2305 

Disciplinary Suspension Without Pay 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2306 

Demotion 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2307 

Appeals 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01I .2310 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    PUBLISHED     

 

18 CPS 03950 3/21/2019 Debra M Robinson v. State Department of Public Safety 

Victim Services 

May 

             

18 DHR 05124 3/15/2019 Michael Battle v. NC Nurse Aide Registry Lassiter 

18 DHR 06925 3/1/2019 Step by Step Care 

Inc Javondell 

Stallings 

v. Sandhills Center May 

             

18 DOJ 05615 3/8/2019 Franklin Hiller v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

18 DOJ 06015 3/7/2019 Charles Johnson 

Gray 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Overby 

18 DOJ 06378 3/8/2019 Shalom Yehu 

Williams 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Lassiter 

18 DOJ 06379 3/8/2019 Adonis Cantrell 

Mccoy 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Ward 

18 DOJ 06380 3/8/2019; 

3/13/2019 

Geoffrey Lawrence 

Jahn 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Overby 

18 DOJ 06382 3/22/2019 Stevie Earl Dunn Jr v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

18 DOJ 07523 3/21/2019 Matthew Wayne 

Carmichael 

v. NC Alarm Systems Licensing Board Bawtinhimer 

18 DOJ 07767 3/22/2019 Brandon Elyle 

Williams 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 00352 3/25/2019 Leroy Mcfadden Jr v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 00353 3/21/2019 Joseph Anthony 

Cina 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

        



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2342 

      UNPUBLISHED      

18 ABC 06861 3/8/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Furmas LLC T/A Tryon Food and Fuel Sutton 

             

18 BMT 06694 3/5/2019 James Yoo v. NC Board of Massage and Bodywork 

Therapy 

Elkins 

             

17 CSE 06917 3/6/2019 Dustin Gray Burton v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

17 CSE 07507 3/21/2019 Kelvin Jamison v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

17 CSE 07509 3/21/2019 Kelvin Jamison v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

17 CSE 07536 3/6/2019 Keith E Wood v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 07852 3/6/2019 Chauncey D Burgess v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

17 CSE 07854 3/6/2019 Carlo Cook v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

17 CSE 08056 3/6/2019 Antonio Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 02144 3/13/2019 Gregory A Lake v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 03034 3/21/2019 Janine Gerber v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 06145 3/28/2019 John Anthony 

McDonald II 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06411 3/6/2019 Edward Turner v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

18 CSE 06412 3/11/2019 Teesha Worrell v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06418 3/15/2019 Robert W Kreuger 

III 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Jacobs 

18 CSE 06480 3/13/2019 Lifang Cai v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06484 3/11/2019 Michael Adam Song v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06489 3/13/2019 Christopher Bibey v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2343 

18 CSE 06551 3/6/2019 Lonnie Melton 

Foster Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Jacobs 

18 CSE 06552 3/14/2019 Dion M Barber v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

18 CSE 06553 3/11/2019 Rolando Souffrain v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06603 3/26/2019 Maurice Jackson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

18 CSE 06605 3/19/2019 Brett Huntsinger v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06636 3/22/2019 Jose F Garcia v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

18 CSE 06645 3/4/2019 Jeanette Qalagari v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 06671 3/28/2019 Michael J Gentry v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 06712 3/26/2019 Lance O Chadwick v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Lassiter 

18 CSE 06713 3/13/2019 Johntia L Barnette v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06745 3/18/2019 Jason Lankford v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

18 CSE 06765 3/27/2019 Lloyd T Parson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

18 CSE 06767 3/28/2019 Joseph Eldridge v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

18 CSE 06865 3/8/2019 Fesseha B Mulugeta v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06875 3/26/2019 Robert Pierce v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

18 CSE 06910 3/13/2019 Stanley St Vilus v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06943 3/18/2019 Amos Teah v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Jacobs 

18 CSE 06949 3/27/2019 Rodney Jermaine 

Wilson 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Lassiter 

18 CSE 06952 3/28/2019 Stephen W Larose v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2344 

18 CSE 06958 3/18/2019 Mark E Champ Sr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

18 CSE 06959 3/28/2019 Charles Albert Loy v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

18 CSE 06961 3/12/2019 Robert Nimocks III v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

18 CSE 06963 3/1/2019 David Brownstein v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

18 CSE 06975 3/21/2019 Alfonso F Rivero Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

18 CSE 06981 3/21/2019 Richard Seagroves v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 06984 3/21/2019 Richard Seagroves v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 07763 3/21/2019 Carlos Anderson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 00075 3/21/2019 Danny Friddle v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

             

18 DHR 01772 3/5/2019 Carlotta Best v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Elkins 

18 DHR 05257 3/12/2019 HAL-0130-038 

Raintree Healthcare 

of Concord LLC 

DBA Concord 

House 

v. NC Division of Health Service 

Regulation NC Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 06642 3/8/2019 Sabrina Colson v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

18 DHR 06643 3/8/2019 Erica Terry v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

18 DHR 06886 3/8/2019 Sandra Ann Smith v. DHHS Overby 

19 DHR 00276 3/6/2019 Shirley Burgess v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Ward 

19 DHR 00363 3/11/2019 Edoualdo Fleurant v. Health Care Registry Malherbe 

19 DHR 00464 3/28/2019 Kendra Cooper v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 01106 3/26/2019 Ejate Houston v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

             

18 DOJ 05879 3/18/2019 Mario Jo Ellis v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Elkins 

18 DOJ 07301 3/11/2019 James Robert 

Morgan 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

33:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 3, 2019 

2345 

19 DOJ 00475 3/28/2019 Integrity Protection 

Services and Clifton 

Lamont Tinnen 

Qualifying Agent 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Elkins 

             

19 DST 00112 3/21/2019 Lloyd McRae 

Herring 

v. NC Department of State Treasurer, 

Retirement Systems Division 

Ward 

             

18 OSP 07731 3/5/2019 Andrea Y Murphy v. NC DHHS Office of Rural Health Elkins 

             

18 SOS 07647 3/1/2019 Tornello F Pierce El-

Bey Consular for 

Washitaw de 

Dugdahmoundyah 

Muur 

v. State of North Carolina Department of 

the Secretary of State-Ann Wall General 

Counsel 

May 

 

 


