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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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North Carolina Department of Labor 

Division of Occupational Safety and Health 

1101 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1101 

 

(919) 707-7806 

 

 

 

NOTICE OF VERBATIM ADOPTION OF FEDERAL STANDARDS 

 

 

In consideration of G.S. 150B-21.5(c) the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor hereby gives notice that: 

 

- Rule changes have been submitted to update the North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC 07F .0101 to 

incorporate by reference the occupational safety and health related provisions of Title 29 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations Parts 1910 promulgated as of July 3, 2018, except as specifically described, and  

 

- The North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC 07A .0301 automatically adopts subsequent amendments to 

certain parts of the Code of Federal Regulations.  Title 29, Part 1910—General Industry Standards does not 

automatically include subsequent amendments. 

 

 

This update encompasses the following recent verbatim adoption:  

  

- Occupational Safety and Health Standards, Revising the Beryllium Standard for General Industry, 29 CFR § 1910 

(83 FR 31045, July 3, 2018) 

 

The final rule, published in the Federal Register on July 3, 2018 (83 FR 31045), confirms the effective date of the direct final rule (DFR) 

published May 7, 2018 adopting a number of clarifying amendments to the beryllium standard for general industry to address the 

application of the standard to materials containing trace amounts of beryllium.  Since no significant comments were received, OSHA’s 

final rule was effective July 6, 2018. 

 

 

For additional information, please contact: 

 

  Bureau of Education, Training and Technical Assistance 

  Occupational Safety and Health Division 

  North Carolina Department of Labor 

  1101 Mail Service Center 

  Raleigh, North Carolina   27699-1101 

 

For additional information regarding North Carolina’s process of adopting federal OSHA Standards verbatim, please contact: 

  

  Jill F. Cramer, Agency Rulemaking Coordinator 

  North Carolina Department of Labor 

Legal Affairs Division 

  1101 Mail Service Center 

  Raleigh, North Carolina   27699-1101 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10A .1501; 10D 

.0106, amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0202; 10C .0401, 

.0402, .0407; 10D .0103; 10E .0104, and readopt with substantive 

changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10A .1001; 10B .0116; 

.0124, .0206, .0207, .0303; 10C .0205, .0211, .0305, .0306, .0313, 

.0314, and .0316. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.ncwildlife.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 8, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Auditorium, Bladen Community College, 7418 NC 

Hwy 41W, Dublin, NC 28332 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 9, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Old Alamance County CTHS, 1 SE Court Square, 

Graham, NC 27253 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 10, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Stanly County Agri-Civic Center, 26032 Newt Rd., 

Albermarle, NC 28001 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 15, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Haywood Community College, 185 Freedlander Dr., 

Clyde, NC 28721 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 16, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Western Piedmont Community College, 1001 

Burkemont Ave., Morganton, NC 28655 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 17, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Elkin High School, 334 Elk Spur Street, Elkin NC 

28621 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 22, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Chowan County Public Safety Center, 305 W. 

Freemason St., Edenton, NC 27932 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 23, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Craven Community College, 800 College Court, New 

Bern, NC 28562 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 24, 2019 

Time: 7:00 p.m. 

Location: Nash Community College, 522 N. Old Carriage Rd., 

Rocky Mount, NC 27804 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Every year the NC Wildlife 

Resources Commission reviews the need to adjust seasons, bag 

limits, and the management of land in order to achieve 

conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, 

and respond to constituent requests. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1701, email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends: February 1, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 
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 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 15A 

NCAC 10B .0124 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .1000 - WARNING TICKETS 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1001 PARTICULAR OFFENSES 

(a)  Warning Tickets Prohibited. Wildlife Enforcement Officers 

shall not issue warning tickets for the following offenses, classes 

of offenses or offenses committed in a particular manner: offenses 

and classes of offenses: 

(1) second offense of a similar charge; 

(2) hunting, fishing, or trapping without a license, 

except as listed in this Rule; 

(3)(2) exceeding bag or creel limits; 

(4)(3) unlawful taking of fish or wildlife by use of 

drugs, poison, explosives, or electricity; 

(5)(4) hunting, fishing, or trapping in closed season; 

(6) hunting on Game Lands during closed days; 

(7) firelighting deer; 

(8)(5) unlawful taking or possession of antlerless deer 

or fox; 

(9)(6) unlawful taking or possession of bear or wild 

turkey; 

(10)(7) unlawful purchase or sale of wildlife; wildlife, 

except when possession of a Trophy Wildlife 

Sale Permit would otherwise make purchase or 

sale lawful; and 

(11) unlawful taking of fox; or 

(12)(8) taking wildlife with the aid of or from a motor 

vehicle or boat under power or while in motion. 

(b)  Warning Tickets Permitted. In accordance with the conditions 

provided in G.S. 113-140(c) and where there is a 

contemporaneous occurrence of more than three violations of the 

motorboat statutes or administrative rules, Wildlife Enforcement 

Officers may issue a citation on the two most serious violations 

and a warning ticket on the lesser violation(s).In addition, 

Wildlife Enforcement Officers may issue warning tickets for the 

following offenses: 

(1) Boating Violations: 

(A) number missing, lack of contrast, not 

properly spaced or less than three 

inches in height; 

(B) no validation decal affixed or incorrect 

placement; 

(C) fire extinguisher not charged or 

non-approved; 

(D) no fire extinguisher on boats with false 

bottoms not completely sealed to hull 

or filled with flotation material; 

(E) failure to notify North Carolina 

Wildlife Resources Commission of 

change of address of boat owner; 

(F) personal flotation device not Coast 

Guard approved; 

(G) failure to display navigation lights 

when there is evidence that lights 

malfunctioned while underway; 

(H) no sound device; 

(I) muffler not adequate; 

(J) loaded firearm on access area; 

(K) parking on access area in other than 

designated parking area, provided 

traffic to ramp not impeded; 

(L) motorboat registration expired 10 days 

or less; 

(M) no Type IV throwable personal 

flotation device on board, but other 

personal flotation device requirements 

met; 

(N) violation of no-wake speed zone when 

mitigating circumstances present; 

(O) running lights on motorboat are 

obstructed, not visible or improperly 

configured; 

(P) personal flotation device is not readily 

accessible on board motorboat; 

(Q) failure to wear a kill-switch lanyard on 

personal watercraft; 

(R) exceeding capacity of personal 

watercraft while towing a skier; 

(S) allowing youth under the age of 12 to 

operate a personal watercraft while 

accompanied by an adult; 

(T) wearing an inflatable personal 

flotation device while operating a 

personal watercraft; or 

(U) No light available on board a manually 

propelled vessel. 

(2) License Violations: 

(A) persons under 16 hunting, trapping, or 

trout fishing without meeting statutory 

requirements; 

(B) senior citizens hunting or fishing 

without valid license(s)(Senior 

citizens are those persons 65 years old 

or older); 

(C) when it appears evident that the wrong 

license was purchased or issued by 

mistake; 

(D) failure to carry required license or 

identification on person, if positive 

identification can be established; 

(E) non-resident hunting, fishing, or 

trapping with resident license, if 

domicile is established, but not 60 

days; 

(F) hunting, fishing, or trapping on Game 

Lands or fishing in Designated Trout 
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Waters that are not properly posted or 

have been posted for no more than 30 

days; 

(G) persons who are 18 years or older or 

who do not reside with their parents, 

when such persons are taking wildlife 

upon their parent's land without a 

license as required by G.S. 113-270.2, 

113-270.3(b) except for subdivision 

(5), 113-270.5, 113-271, or 113-272; 

(H) failure to comply with a statutorily 

enacted license requirement that has 

been in effect for less than a year; or 

(I) license expiration of 10 days or less. 

(3) Game Lands Violations: 

(A) camping on Game Lands in other than 

designated area; or 

(B) possession of weapons readily 

available for use while on game land 

thoroughfare, during closed season. 

(4) Trapping Violations: 

(A) improper chain length at dry land sets; 

(B) trap tag not legible; 

(C) trap tag missing, but with a group of 

properly tagged traps; 

(D) trap tag missing, but evidence that 

animal destroyed; 

(E) improper jawsize; 

(F) failure to comply with "offset" jaw 

requirement for traps with jaw spread 

of more than 5 ½ inches; 

(G) failure to attend traps daily, during 

severe weather (ice, high water, heavy 

snow); or 

(H) no written permission, but on 

right-of-way of public road. 

(5) Miscellaneous Violations: 

(A) allowing dogs, not under the control of 

the owner to chase deer during closed 

season; 

(B) attempting to take deer with dogs, or 

allowing dogs to chase deer in 

restricted areas; 

(C) using dogs to track wounded deer 

during primitive weapon season; 

(D) failure to report big game kill to 

nearest cooperator agent, when game 

is tagged and subject is enroute to 

another agent; 

(E) training dogs or permitting them to run 

unleashed on Game Lands west of I-95 

during the period of April 1 through 

August 15; 

(F) violation of newly adopted rules, when 

not readily available to the public; 

(G) violation of local laws, when 

information not available to the 

public; 

(H) all permits (except for fox depredation 

permit); 

(I) closed season, if misprinted in digest 

or suddenly changed; 

(J) minor record violation (taxidermist); 

(K) failure to put name and address on 

marker (trotline); or 

(L) failure to put name and address on 

nets. 

(c)  Special Consideration. Special consideration may be given in 

local areas where the offender is hunting or fishing out of his 

normal locality and is unfamiliar with the local law. Consideration 

may also be given for violations on newly opened or established 

Game Lands and on reclassified or newly Designated Mountain 

Trout Waters. Special consideration may be given to offenders 

under 18 years of age. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-140. 

 

SECTION .1500 - EVIDENCE 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1501 SUMMARY DISPOSITION  

The Executive Director or his or her designee may determine the 

summary disposition of fish or wildlife seized by the 

Commission. Summary disposition shall be determined in 

accordance with G.S. 113-137(d), on a case-by-case basis, taking 

into consideration factors that may include public health and 

safety, conservation objectives of the Commission, and the health 

or genetic integrity of native wildlife resources. Summary 

disposition may include release, relocation, or euthanasia. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-137. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0116 PERMITTED ARCHERY 

EQUIPMENT 

(a)  "Archery equipment" means any device that has a solid, 

stationary handle, two limbs, and a string, that uses non-

pneumatic means to propel a single arrow or bolt and may be used 

to take game and nongame species. 

(a)(b)  Only longbows Longbows and recurved bows having a 

minimum pull of 40 pounds, compound bows having a minimum 

pull of 35 pounds, and crossbows having a minimum pull of 100 

pounds shall be used for taking game. bear, deer, elk, wild turkey, 

alligator, and feral swine. 

(c)  Archery equipment utilizing an elastic string and having a 

minimum pull of 40 pounds may be used to take wild turkey, 

small game animals, nongame animals, and nongame fish. 

(b)(d)  Only arrows and bolts with a fixed minimum broadhead 

width of seven-eighths of an inch or a mechanically opening 

broadhead with a width of at least seven-eighths of an inch in the 

open position shall be used for taking bear, deer, elk, or wild 

turkey. turkey, alligator, and feral swine. 

(e)  Blunt-type arrow heads may be used in taking small animals 

and birds including rabbits, squirrels, quail, grouse, and 

pheasants. 
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(f)  Poisonous, drugged, barbed, or explosive arrowheads shall not 

be used for taking any game. wildlife. 

(c)  Crossbows shall have a minimum pull rated at least 100 

pounds. Heads on bolts used with crossbows shall conform to 

those described for arrows in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1(a). 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0124 IMPORTATION OF ANIMAL 

PARTS 

(a)  Unless otherwise provided in this Rule, it shall be unlawful to 

import, transport, or possess a No cervid carcass or carcass part 

part(s) originating from any state or province where Chronic 

Wasting Disease occurs as identified by the Chronic Wasting 

Disease Alliance on the Internet at http://www.cwd-

info.org/index.php/fuseaction/about.map shall be imported, 

transported, or possessed in outside of North Carolina except as 

provided herein: except: 

(1) meat that is cut and wrapped; 

(2) quarters or other portions of meat with no part 

of the spinal column or head attached; 

(3)(1) meat that has been boned out; out such that no 

pieces or fragments of bone remain; 

(4)(2) caped hides; hides with no part of the skull or 

spinal column attached; 

(5)(3) antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates; 

plates, or skulls free from meat or brain tissue; 

(6) antlers; 

(7)(4) cleaned lower jawbone(s) with teeth or cleaned 

teeth; or 

(8)(5) finished taxidermy products. products and 

tanned hides. 

(b)  Pursuant to G.S. 113-291.2, any Any cervid carcass, carcass 

part, part(s), or container of cervid meat or carcass parts processed 

and packaged cervid meat imported as in (a) listed in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) through (4) of this Rule above from a state or 

province where Chronic Wasting Disease is known to occur as 

identified by the Chronic Wasting Disease Alliance on the 

Internet at http://www.cwd-

info.org/index.php/fuseaction/about.map shall be tagged 

identifying: labeled or identified with the following information: 

(1) Hunter's the individual's name and address; 

(2) State or province the state, Canadian province, 

or foreign country of origin of any cervid 

carcass, carcass part, or container of processed 

and packaged cervid meat; origin; and 

(3) Date the date the cervid was killed and the 

hunter's individual's hunting license number 

number, permit number, or equivalent 

identification from the state or province state, 

Canadian province, or foreign country of origin 

of any cervid carcass, carcass part, or container 

of processed and packaged cervid meat; and 

origin. 

(4) Destination of the cervid carcass, carcass part 

or container of processed and packaged cervid 

meat within North Carolina. 

(c)  It shall be lawful to import, transport, or possess a caped hide 

with only the head attached from a white-tailed deer lawfully 

taken in South Carolina, if delivered to a licensed North Carolina 

taxidermist within 24 hours of entering the State. The hide and 

head shall be double plastic bagged and labeled or identified with 

the information required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule and the 

name of the county in South Carolina where the white-tailed deer 

was killed. This Paragraph shall expire on August 1, 2020 or upon 

confirmation of Chronic Wasting Disease in a cervid from South 

Carolina, whichever occurs first. Upon expiration, all restrictions 

and requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall apply. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-291.2. 

 

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0202 BEAR 

(a)  Open Seasons for hunting bear shall be from the: 

(1) Monday on or nearest October 15 through the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving and the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving through January 1 

in and west of Surry, Wilkes, Caldwell, Burke, 

and Cleveland counties; 

(2) Second Monday in November through January 

1 in Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, 

Cumberland, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, 

Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson 

counties; 

(3) Second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Beaufort, Bertie, Craven, 

Hertford, Jones, Martin, and Washington 

counties; 

(4) Second Saturday in November through the first 

third Sunday after Thanksgiving thereafter and 

the third Saturday after Thanksgiving through 

the fifth Sunday after Thanksgiving in Dare, 

Hyde, and Tyrrell counties; 

(5) Second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Currituck, Gates, and 

Perquimans counties; 

(6) Second Sunday in November through the 

following Sunday and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Camden, Chowan, and 

Pasquotank counties; 

(7) Third Saturday in November though the fifth 

Sunday thereafter in Edgecombe, Greene, 

Halifax, Lenoir, Nash, Northampton, Pitt, 

Wayne, and Wilson counties; and 

(8) Concurrent with the open season for all lawful 

weapons for hunting deer as specified in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0203(a)(1) in Alamance, 

Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, 

Catawba, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Durham, 

Franklin, Forsyth, Gaston, Granville, Guilford, 

Harnett, Hoke, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, 
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Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, 

Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Union, 

Vance, Wake, Warren, and Yadkin counties. 

(b)  Restrictions 

(1) For purposes of this Paragraph, "bait" means 

any natural, unprocessed food product that is a 

grain, fruit, nut, vegetable, or other material 

harvested from a plant crop that is not modified 

from its raw components. 

(2) Bears shall not be taken with the use or aid of: 

(A) any processed food product as defined 

in G.S. 113-294(r), any animal, animal 

part or product, salt, salt lick, honey, 

sugar, sugar-based material, syrups, 

candy, pastry, gum, candy block, oils, 

spices, peanut butter, or grease; 

(B) any extracts of substances identified in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph; 

(C) any substances modified by 

substances identified in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph, including any extracts 

of those substances; or 

(D) any bear bait attractant, including 

sprays, aerosols, scent balls, and scent 

powders. 

(3) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait from the 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving in the counties in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(4) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait during 

the entire open season in the counties identified 

in Subparagraphs (a)(2) through (a)(6) of this 

Rule. 

(5) Bears shall not be taken while in the act of 

consuming bait. 

(6) Hunters shall not take bears using dogs in the 

following counties: Alamance south of 

Interstate 85, Anson west of N.C. Hwy 742, 

Cabarrus, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Franklin, 

Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Lee, Lincoln, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange south of 

Interstate 85, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, 

Stanly, Union, and Wake south of N.C. Hwy 

98. In all other counties and parts of counties, 

hunters may take bears using dogs and may 

release dogs in the vicinity of bait. 

(c)  No Open Season. There is no open season in those parts of 

counties included in the following posted bear sanctuaries. It shall 

be unlawful to take bear on posted bear sanctuaries except when 

authorized by permit issued by the Commission. See 15A NCAC 

10D .0106 for posted bear sanctuaries. 

Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties--Daniel Boone 

bear sanctuary except by permit only 

Beaufort, Bertie, and Washington counties--Bachelor 

Bay bear sanctuary 

Bladen County--Suggs Mill Pond bear sanctuary 

Brunswick County--Green Swamp bear sanctuary 

Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson, and Transylvania 

counties--Pisgah bear sanctuary 

Carteret, Craven, and Jones counties--Croatan bear 

sanctuary 

Clay County--Fires Creek bear sanctuary 

Columbus County--Columbus County bear sanctuary 

Currituck County--North River bear sanctuary 

Dare County--Bombing Range bear sanctuary except by 

permit only 

Haywood County--Harmon Den bear sanctuary 

Haywood County--Sherwood bear sanctuary 

Hyde County--Gull Rock bear sanctuary 

Hyde County--Pungo River bear sanctuary 

Jackson County--Panthertown-Bonas Defeat bear 

sanctuary 

Macon County--Standing Indian bear sanctuary 

Macon County--Wayah bear sanctuary 

Madison County--Rich Mountain bear sanctuary 

McDowell and Yancey counties--Mt. Mitchell bear 

sanctuary except by permit only 

Mitchell and Yancey counties--Flat Top bear sanctuary 

Wilkes County--Thurmond Chatham bear sanctuary 

(d)  The daily bag limit for bear is one, the possession limit is one, 

and the season limit is one. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.7; 113-

305. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0206 SQUIRRELS 

(a)  Squirrel Open Seasons: 

(1) Gray and red squirrels may be taken by hunting 

on the Monday on or closest to October 15 to 

the last day of February. 

(2) Fox squirrels may be taken by hunting on the 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to December 

31 in the counties of Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, 

Bladen, Brunswick, Cumberland, Duplin, 

Edgecombe, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, 

Jones, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, 

Pender, Pitt, Richmond, Sampson, Scotland, 

Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wayne and Wilkes. 

January 31. 

(b)  Squirrel Bag Limits: 

(1) The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is 

eight and there are no season and no possession 

limits. 

(2) In those counties listed in Subparagraph (a)(2) 

of this Rule, the The daily bag limit for fox 

squirrels is one; the possession limit is two, 

two; and the season limit is 10. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0207 RABBITS 

(a)  Rabbit Open Season: The open season for taking rabbits shall 

be from the Saturday before Thanksgiving Day Monday on or 

nearest October 15 through the last day of February. 

(b)  Rabbit Bag Limits: The daily bag limit for rabbits is five and 

there are no season and no possession limits. 

(c)  Rabbit Box-traps: During the hunting season specified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule and subject to the bag limits set forth in 
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Paragraph (b) of this Rule, rabbits may be taken with box-traps. 

A valid hunting license shall serve as a transportation permit for 

live rabbits taken pursuant to this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-291.1; 113-291.2. 

 

SECTION .0300 - TRAPPING 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0303 OPEN SEASONS 

(a)  General. Following are the seasons for The open season for 

the taking by trapping of fur-bearing animals as those animals are 

defined in G.S. 113-129(7a), including coyotes, armadillos, and 

groundhogs, all dates being inclusive: shall be November 1 

through the last day of February, subject to the following 

restrictions: 

(1) November 1 through the last day of February 

except for that part of the state described in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph.  

(2) December 1 through the last day of February in 

and east of Hertford, Bertie, Martin, Pitt, 

Greene, Lenoir, Duplin, Pender and New 

Hanover counties. 

(3)(1) Trapping trapping coyotes is allowed during 

times and with methods described by local laws 

in counties where local laws have established 

fox trapping seasons even when those seasons 

fall outside the regular trapping seasons 

described above. in Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

and 

(4)(2) Nutria nutria may be trapped east of I-77 at any 

time. 

(b)  Feral Swine. There is no closed season for trapping feral 

swine swine, subject to the following restrictions: 

(1) In in addition to a hunting or trapping license, a 

permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission is required to trap feral swine. 

Individuals exempted from license 

requirements under the provisions specified in 

G.S. 113-276 may trap feral swine without a 

hunting or trapping license, but must acquire 

the permit. permit; 

(2) Feral feral swine may be live-trapped using 

only corral or box traps. Corral and box traps 

must be constructed in a manner such that a 

non-target animal can be easily released or can 

escape without harm. The permit number must 

be displayed on all traps. traps; and 

(3) Feral feral swine must be euthanized while in 

the trap and may not be removed alive from any 

trap. 

 

Note: See 15A NCAC 10D .0102(f) for other trapping restrictions 

on game lands. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 

WATERS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Natural bait" means any living or dead 

organism (plant or animal), or parts thereof, or 

prepared substances designed to attract fish by 

the sense of taste or smell. 

(2) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 

neither contains nor has been treated by any 

substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 

or smell. 

(3) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years 

of age. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply: 

(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are all waters 

included in this Rule and so designated in 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release/Artificial Flies Only Trout 

Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters 

where only artificial flies having one single 

hook may be used. No trout may be possessed 

or harvested while fishing these streams. 

Waters designated as such include tributaries 

unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Catch and Release/Artificial Lures Only Trout 

Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters 

where only artificial lures having one single 

hook may be used. No trout may be possessed 

or harvested while fishing these streams. 

Waters designated as such include tributaries 

unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where between October 

1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 

before the first Saturday of the following June 

June, it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use 

more than one single hook on an artificial lure, 

or harvest or possess trout while fishing. From 

6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 

noon that same day day, only youth anglers may 

fish and these waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. From noon on the first Saturday in 

June until October 1 October 1, anglers of all 

ages may fish and these waters have no bait or 

lure restrictions. Waters designated as such do 

not include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(5) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(6) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-

specific regulations apply. Waters designated 

as such do not include tributaries unless 

otherwise noted. 

(7) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 

Waters which are identified as such in this Rule 

or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures 
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having only one single hook may be used. No 

person shall possess natural bait while fishing 

these waters. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(8) "Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where all artificial lures 

and natural baits, except live fish, may be used 

provided they are fished using only one single 

hook. Waters designated as such include 

tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(9) "Undesignated Waters" are all other waters in 

the State. These waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Trout may not be possessed while 

fishing these waters from March 1 until 7:00 

a.m. on the first Saturday in April. 

(c)  Seasons, creel creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel creel, and 

size limits for trout in all waters are listed in Rule .0316 of this 

Subchapter. 

(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 

county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 

are so designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 

indicated in this Paragraph. All other waters are classified as 

Undesignated Waters. 

(1) Alleghany 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

 Little River (S.R. 1133 bridge to 275 

yards downstream of the intersection 

of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 1129 [marked 

by a sign on each bank]) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

 Big Pine Creek 

 Bledsoe Creek 

 Brush Creek (N.C. 21 bridge to 

confluence with Little River, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

 Cranberry Creek 

(Big) Glade Creek 

 Little River (275 yards downstream 

from the intersection of S.R. 1128 and 

S.R. 1129 [marked by a sign on each 

bank] to McCann Dam) 

 Meadow Fork 

 Pine Swamp Creek 

 Piney Fork 

 Prathers Creek 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

 All waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park 

(2) Ashe County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

 Big Horse Creek (Virginia state line to 

Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, excluding 

tributaries) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

 Big Horse Creek (S.R. 1324 bridge to 

North Fork New River) 

 Helton Creek (Virginia State line (SR 

1372 bridge to North Fork New River) 

 South Fork New River (upstream end 

of Todd Island to the SR 1351 bridge) 

 Trout Lake 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

 Beaver Creek (N.C. 221 to confluence 

of Beaver Creek and South Beaver 

Creek) 

 Big Horse Creek (Mud Creek at S.R. 

1363 to S.R. 1324 bridge) 

 Big Laurel Creek (S.R. 1315 bridge to 

confluence with North Fork New 

River) 

 Buffalo Creek (S.R. 1133 bridge to 

N.C. 194-88 bridge) 

 Cranberry Creek (Alleghany Co. line 

to South Fork New River) 

 Nathans Creek 

 North Fork New River (Watauga Co. 

line to Sharp Dam) 

 Old Fields Creek (N.C. 221 to South 

Fork New River) 

 Peak Creek (headwaters to Trout 

Lake, except Blue Ridge Parkway 

waters) 

Roan Creek 

Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

 Elk River (portion on Lees-McRae 

College property, excluding the 

millpond) 

 Lost Cove Creek (game land portion, 

excluding Gragg Prong and 

Rockhouse Creek) 

(B) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

 Wilson Creek (game land portion) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

 Boyde Coffey Lake 

 Elk River (S.R. 1305 crossing 

immediately upstream of Big Falls to 

the Tennessee state line) 

 Linville River (Land Harbor line 

[below dam] to the Blue Ridge 

Parkway boundary line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

 Milltimber Creek 

 North Toe River — upper (Watauga 

St. to Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 

Family Recreational Park, except 

where posted against trespassing) 
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 North Toe River — lower (S.R. 1164 

to Mitchell Co. line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

 Squirrel Creek 

 Wildcat Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

 Birchfield Creek 

 Cow Camp Creek 

Cranberry Creek (headwaters to U.S. 

19E/N.C. 194 bridge) 

Gragg Prong 

Horse Creek 

Kentucky Creek 

North Harper Creek 

Plumtree Creek 

Roaring Creek 

Rockhouse Creek 

Shawneehaw Creek (portion adjacent 

to Banner Elk Greenway) 

South Harper Creek 

Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

 Carter Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

 Bent Creek (headwaters to N.C. 

Arboretum boundary line) 

 Cane Creek (headwaters to S.R. 3138 

bridge) 

 Corner Rock Creek (Little Andy 

Creek to confluence with Walker 

Branch) 

 Dillingham Creek (Corner Rock 

Creek to Ivy Creek) 

 Ivy Creek (Ivy River)(Dillingham 

Creek to U.S. 19-23 bridge) 

 Lake Powhatan 

 Reems Creek (Sugar Camp Fork to 

U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

 Rich Branch (downstream from the 

confluence with Rocky Branch) 

 Stony Creek 

 Swannanoa (S.R. 2702 bridge near 

Ridgecrest to Wood Avenue bridge 

[intersection of N.C. 81 and U.S. 74A 

in Asheville], except where posted 

against trespassing) 

(5) Burke County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Henry Fork (portion on South 

Mountains State Park) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Jacob Fork (Shinny Creek to lower 

South Mountains State Park 

boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Carroll Creek (game land portion 

above S.R. 1405) 

Henry Fork (lower South Mountain 

State Park line downstream 

to S.R. 1919 at Ivy Creek) 

Linville River portion within Linville 

Gorge Wilderness area and 

portion below Lake James 

powerhouse from upstream 

bridge on S.R. 1223 to 

Muddy Creek) 

(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Catawba River (Muddy Creek to City 

of Morganton water intake 

dam) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on South 

Mountains State Park, except 

those waters identified in 

parts Parts A and B of this 

Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Wilson Creek (game land portion 

below Lost Cove Creek to 

Philips Branch) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boone Fork Pond 

Buffalo Creek (mouth of Joes Creek to 

McCloud Branch) 

Joes Creek (first falls upstream of S.R. 

1574 to confluence with 

Buffalo Creek) 

Wilson Creek (Phillips Branch to 

Brown Mountain Beach 

Dam, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

Yadkin River (Happy Valley Ruritan 

Community Park to S.R. 

1515) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Buffalo Creek (Watauga Co. line to 

Long Ridge Branch 

including game land 

tributaries) 

Joes Creek (Watauga Co. line to first 

falls upstream of the end of 

S.R. 1574) 

Rockhouse Creek 

(7) Cherokee County 
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(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davis Creek (confluence of Bald and 

Dockery creeks to Hanging 

Dog Creek) 

Hyatt Creek (Big Dam Branch to 

Valley River) 

Junaluska Creek (Ashturn Creek to 

Valley River) 

Shuler Creek (Joe Brown Hwy [S.R. 

1325] bridge to Tennessee 

state line) 

Valley River (S.R. 1359 to U.S. 19 

Business bridge in Murphy) 

(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Apalachia Reservoir 

(B)(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Bald Creek (game land portion) 

Dockery Creek (game land portion) 

North Shoal Creek (game land 

portion) 

(8) Clay County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Fires Creek (USFS Rd. 340A to the 

foot bridge in the USFS Fires 

Creek Picnic Area) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Buck Creek (game land portion 

downstream of U.S. 64 

bridge) 

Fires Creek (foot bridge in the USFS 

Fires Creek Picnic Area to 

S.R. 1300) 

Tusquitee Creek (Compass Creek to 

lower S.R. 1300 bridge) 

(9) Graham County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS 

footbridge at the old railroad junction 

to USFS Rd. 2579) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 

to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Panther Creek (confluence of Stand 

Creek and Rock Creek to 

Lake Fontana) 

Santeetlah Creek (Johns Branch to 

Lake Santeetlah) 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS Road 

2579 to S.R. 1127 bridge) 

Stecoah Creek (upper game land 

boundary to Lake Fontana) 

Tulula Creek (S.R. 1201 to lower 

bridge on S.R. 1275) 

West Buffalo Creek 

Yellow Creek (Lake Santeetlah 

hydropower pipeline to 

Cheoah River) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Little Buffalo Creek 

South Fork Squally Creek 

Squally Creek 

(D) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Deep Creek 

Franks Creek 

Long Creek (game land portion) 

(10) Haywood County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

West Fork Pigeon River (Queen Creek 

to the first game land 

boundary upstream of Lake 

Logan) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Cold Springs Creek (Fall Branch to 

Pigeon River) 

Jonathan Creek (upstream S.R. 1302 

bridge to Pigeon River, 

except where posted against 

trespassing) 

Pigeon River (Stamey Cove Branch to 

upstream U.S. 19-23 bridge) 

Richland Creek (Russ Avenue [U.S. 

276] bridge to U.S. 19 

bridge) 

 West Fork Pigeon River (Tom Creek 

to Queen Creek, including portions on 

game lands, except Middle Prong) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Hemphill Creek 

Hurricane Creek 

(11) Henderson County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

North Fork Mills River (game land 

portion below the 

Hendersonville watershed 

dam) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

(Rocky) Broad River (end of S.R. 

1611 to Rutherford County line) 

Cane Creek (railroad bridge upstream 

of S.R. 1551 bridge to U.S. 

25 bridge) 

Clear Creek (Laurel Fork to S.R. 

1582) 
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Green River (Lake Summit 

powerhouse to game land 

boundary) 

(Big) Hungry River (S.R. 1885 to 

Green River) 

(12) Jackson County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Flat Creek 

Tuckasegee River (upstream from the 

Clark property) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

 Tuckasegee River (downstream N.C. 

107 bridge to the falls located 275 

yards upstream of the U.S. 23-441 

bridge [marked by a sign on each 

bank]) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Balsam Lake 

Bear Creek Lake 

Cedar Cliff Lake 

Cullowhee Creek (Tilley Creek to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Dark Ridge Creek (Jones Creek to 

Scott Creek) 

Greens Creek (Greens Creek Baptist 

Church on S.R. 1370 to 

Savannah Creek) 

Savannah Creek (Shell Branch to 

Cagle Branch) 

Scott Creek (Dark Ridge Creek to 

Tuckasegee River, except 

where posted against 

trespassing) 

Tanasee Creek Lake 

Tuckasegee River — upper (John 

Brown Branch to the 

downstream N.C. 107 

bridge) 

Tuckasegee River — lower (falls 

located 275 yards upstream 

of U.S. 23-441 bridge 

[marked by a sign on each 

bank] to S.R. 1534 bridge at 

Wilmot) 

Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Gage Creek 

North Fork Scott Creek 

Tanasee Creek 

Whitewater River (downstream from 

Silver Run Creek to South 

Carolina state line) 

Wolf Creek (except Balsam Lake and 

Wolf Creek Lake) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Buff Creek 

Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

the South Carolina state line) 

Lower Fowler Creek (game land 

portion) 

Scotsman Creek (game land portion) 

(13) Macon County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Nantahala River (Whiteoak Creek to 

Nantahala hydropower 

discharge canal) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Burningtown Creek (Left Prong to 

Little Tennessee River) 

Cartoogechaye Creek (downstream 

U.S. 64 bridge to Little 

Tennessee River) 

Cliffside Lake 

Cullasaja River (Sequoyah Dam to 

U.S. 64 bridge near junction 

of S.R. 1672) 

Nantahala River — upper (Dicks 

Creek to Whiteoak Creek) 

Nantahala River — lower (Nantahala 

hydropower discharge canal 

to Swain Co. line) 

Queens Creek Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

South Carolina state line) 

Jarrett Creek (game land portion) 

Kimsey Creek 

Overflow Creek (game land portion) 

Park Creek 

Tellico Creek (game land portion) 

Turtle Pond Creek (game land portion) 

(14) Madison County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge to 

the U.S. 25-70 bridge) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge 

at Belva to the confluence 

with Big Laurel Creek) 

Spring Creek (N.C. 209 bridge at Hot 

Springs city limits to iron 

bridge at end of Andrews 

Ave.) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

 Big Laurel Creek (Mars Hill 

watershed boundary (Puncheon Fork 

to the S.R. 1318 [Big Laurel Rd.] 

bridge downstream of Bearpen 

Branch) 
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Big Pine Creek (S.R. 1151 bridge to 

French Broad River) 

 Little Ivy Creek (confluence of Middle 

Fork and Paint Fork at Beech Glen to 

confluence with Ivy Creek at Forks of 

Ivy) 

Max Patch Pond 

Meadow Fork Creek (S.R. 1165 

(Meadow Fork Campground 

to Spring Creek) 

Puncheon Fork (Hampton Creek to 

Big Laurel Creek) 

Roaring Fork (Fall Branch to Meadow 

Fork) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (confluence of 

Big Creek and Mill Creek to 

N.C. 208 bridge at Belva) 

Shut-in Creek 

Spillcorn Creek 

Spring Creek (junction of N.C. 209 

and N.C. 63 to USFS Rd. 

223) 

West Fork Shut-in Creek (lower game 

land boundary to confluence 

with East Fork Shut-in 

Creek) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Big Creek (headwaters to the lower 

game land boundary) 

(15) McDowell County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Newberry Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Catawba River (portion adjacent to 

Marion Greenway) 

Curtis Creek (game land portion 

downstream of the USFS 

boundary at Deep Branch) 

Mill Creek (U.S. 70 bridge to I-40 

bridge) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Armstrong Creek (Cato Holler line 

downstream to upper 

Greenlee line) 

Catawba River (Catawba Falls 

Campground to Old Fort 

Recreation Park) 

Little Buck Creek (game land portion) 

Mill Creek (upper railroad bridge to 

U.S. 70 bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

North Fork Catawba River 

(headwaters to North Cove 

School at S.R. 1569 bridge) 

(16) Mitchell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane Creek (N.C. 226 bridge to S.R. 

1189 bridge) 

North Toe River (U.S. 19E bridge to 

N.C. 226 bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Rock Creek (headwaters to N.C. 

226 bridge at S.R. 1307 

intersection) 

Cane Creek (S.R. 1219 to N.C. 226 

bridge) 

East Fork Grassy Creek 

Grassy Creek (East Fork Grassy Creek 

to mouth) 

Little Rock Creek (Green Creek 

bridge to Big Rock Creek, 

except where posted against 

trespassing) 

North Toe River (Avery Co. line to 

S.R. 1121 bridge) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Green Creek (headwaters to Green 

Creek bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

 Little Rock Creek (above Green Creek 

bridge, including all tributaries, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Wiles Creek (game land boundary to 

mouth) 

(17) Polk County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Green River (Fishtop Falls Access 

Area to the confluence with 

Cove Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Green River (Mouth of Cove Creek to 

the natural gas pipeline 

crossing) 

North Pacolet River (Joels Creek to 

N.C. 108 bridge) 

(18) Rutherford County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

(Rocky) Broad River (Henderson Co. 

line to U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

(19) Stokes County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Dan River (Virginia state line 

downstream to a point 200 

yards below the end of S.R. 

1421) 

(20) Surry County 
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(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Ararat River (portion adjacent to the 

Ararat River Greenway) 

Mitchell River (.6 mile upstream of 

the end of S.R. 1333 to the 

S.R. 1330 bridge below 

Kapps Mill Dam) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Ararat River (S.R. 1727 bridge 

downstream to the N.C. 103 

bridge) 

Big Elkin Creek (dam 440 yards 

upstream of N.C. 268 bridge 

to a point 265 yards 

downstream of N.C. 268 

[marked by a sign on each 

bank]) 

Fisher River (Cooper Creek)(Virginia 

state line to I-77 bridge) 

Little Fisher River (Virginia state line 

to N.C. 89 bridge) 

Lovills Creek (U.S. 52 Business 

bridge to Ararat River) 

Pauls Creek (Virginia state line to .3 

miles below S.R. 1625 

bridge) 

(21) Swain County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 

Tuckasegee River (U.S. 19 bridge to 

Slope Street bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Alarka Creek (game land boundary to 

Fontana Reservoir) 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 

to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Connelly Creek (Camp Branch to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Deep Creek (Great Smoky Mountains 

National Park Boundary line 

to Tuckasegee River) 

Nantahala River (Macon Co. line to 

existing Fontana Lake water 

level) 

(22) Transylvania County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

 Davidson River (headwaters to Avery 

Creek, excluding Avery Creek, 

Looking Glass Creek and Grogan 

Creek) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 

 East Fork French Broad River (East 

Fork Baptist Church to French Broad 

River) the downstream S.R. 1107 

bridge) 

Little River (confluence of Lake 

Dense to 100 yards 

downstream of Hooker Falls) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davidson River (Avery Creek to lower 

USFS boundary) 

 French Broad River (confluence of 

North Fork French Broad River and 

West Fork) French Broad River to the 

Island Ford Rd. [S.R. 1110] Access 

Area 

Middle Fork French Broad River 

(upstream U.S. 178 bridge to 

French Broad River) 

 West Fork French Broad River (Camp 

Cove Branch to confluence with North 

Fork French Broad River) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Gorges State 

Park 

Whitewater River (downstream from 

Silver Run Creek to South 

Carolina state line) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

North Fork French Broad River (game 

land portion downstream of 

S.R. 1326) 

Thompson River (S.R. 1152 to South 

Carolina state line, except 

where posted against 

trespassing) 

(23) Watauga County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Laurel Creek (confluence of North and 

South Fork Laurel creeks to 

Elk Creek, excluding 

tributaries) 

Pond Creek (headwaters to Locust 

Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding 

the pond adjacent to Coffee 

Lake) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Lake Coffey 

 Watauga River (adjacent to 

intersection of S.R. 1557 and S.R. 

1558 to N.C. 105 bridge and S.R. 1114 

bridge to N.C. 194 bridge at the Valle 

Crucis) Crucis Community Park lower 

boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

 Beaverdam Creek (confluence of 

Beaverdam Creek and Little 
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Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 

tributary adjacent to the intersection of 

S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203) 

Beech Creek 

Buckeye Creek (Buckeye Creek 

Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap 

Creek) 

Buckeye Creek Reservoir 

Cove Creek (S.R. 1233 bridge at 

Zionville to S.R. 1214 bridge 

at Sherwood) 

Dutch Creek (second bridge on S.R. 

1134 to mouth) 

Elk Creek (S.R. 1510 bridge at Triplett 

to Wilkes Co. line, except 

where posted against 

trespassing) 

Laurel Creek (S.R. 1123 bridge at S.R. 

1157 intersection to Watauga 

River) 

Meat Camp Creek (S.R. 1340 bridge at 

S.R. 1384 intersection to 

N.C. 194) 

Middle Fork New River (adjacent to 

intersection of S.R. 1539 and 

U.S. 321 to South Fork New 

River) 

Norris Fork Creek 

 South Fork New River (canoe launch 

70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 bridge 

to lower boundary of Brookshire Park) 

Stony Fork (S.R. 1500 bridge at S.R. 

1505 intersection to Wilkes 

Co. line) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Dutch Creek (headwaters to second 

bridge on S.R. 1134) 

Howard Creek 

Maine Branch (headwaters to North 

Fork New River) 

North Fork New River (from 

confluence with Maine and 

Mine branches to Ashe Co. 

line) 

Watauga River (Avery Co. line to S.R. 

1580 bridge) 

Winkler Creek (lower bridge on S.R. 

1549 to confluence with 

South Fork New River) 

(24) Wilkes County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Prong Roaring River (Bullhead 

Creek downstream to Stone 

Mountain State Park lower 

boundary) 

Elk Creek — upper (Watauga Co. line 

to lower boundary of the 

Blue Ridge Mountain Club) 

Elk Creek — lower (portion on 

Leatherwood Mountains 

development) 

Reddies River (Town of North 

Wilkesboro water intake dam 

to confluence with the 

Yadkin River) 

 Stone Mountain Creek (from falls at 

Alleghany Co. line to confluence with 

East Prong Roaring River and 

Bullhead Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Basin Creek (S.R. 1730 bridge to 

confluence with Lovelace 

Creek) 

Bell Branch Pond 

Cub Creek (.5 mile upstream of S.R. 

2460 bridge to S.R. 1001 

bridge) 

 Darnell Creek (North Prong Reddies 

River)(downstream ford on S.R. 1569 

to confluence with North Fork 

Reddies River) 

East Prong Roaring River (Stone 

Mountain State Park lower 

boundary to S.R. 1002 

bridge) 

 Fall Creek (S.R. 1300 bridge to 

confluence with South Prong Lewis 

Fork, except where posted against 

trespassing) 

Middle Fork Reddies River (Clear 

Prong)(headwaters to bridge 

on S.R. 1580) 

Middle Prong Roaring River 

(headwaters to bridge on S.R. 

1736) 

North Fork Reddies River (Vannoy 

Creek)(headwaters to Union 

School bridge on S.R. 1559) 

Pike Creek 

Pike Creek Pond 

South Fork Reddies River (S.R. 1355 

bridge to confluence with 

Middle Fork Reddies River) 

South Prong Lewis Fork (Fall Creek to 

S.R. 1155 bridge) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

 All waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park, except East Prong Roaring 

River from Bullhead Creek 

downstream to the Stone Mountain 

State Park lower boundary where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply, and Stone Mountain 

Creek from falls at Alleghany County 

line to confluence with East Prong 

Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 
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Stone Mountain State Park where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

South Toe River (headwaters to Upper 

Creek) 

Upper Creek 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane River (Blackberry Ridge Rd. to 

downstream boundary of 

Cane River County Park) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Bald Mountain Creek (except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Cane River (Bee Branch [S.R. 1110] 

to Bowlens Creek) 

Price Creek (junction of S.R. 1120 and 

S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek) 

 South Toe River (Clear Creek to lower 

boundary line of Yancey Co. 

Recreation Park, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Cattail Creek (bridge at Mountain 

Farm Community Rd. to 

N.C. 197 bridge) 

Lickskillet Creek 

Middle Creek (game land boundary to 

mouth) 

 

Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0211 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN 

FISHES 

(a)  It is shall be unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, sell or 

stock in the public or private waters of North Carolina any live 

individuals of: 

(1) piranha, piranha; 

(2) "walking catfish" (Clarias batrachus), 

batrachus); 

(3) snakehead fish (from the Family Channidae, 

formerly Ophiocephalidae), Ophiocephalidae); 

(4) black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus), piceus); 

(5) bighead carp (Hypophthalmichthys nobilis), 

nobilis); 

(6) silver carp (Hypophthalmichthys molitrix), 

molitrix); 

(7) rudd (Scardinius erythropthalomus), 

erythropthalomus); 

(8) round goby (Neogobius melanostomus), 

melanostomus); 

(9) tubenose goby (Proterorhinus marmoratus), 

marmoratus); 

(10) ruffe (Gymnocephalus cernuus), cernuus); 

(11) Japanese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

japonica), japonica); 

(12) Chinese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

chinensis malleata), malleata); 

(13) red-rim melania (Melanoides tuberculatus), 

tuberculatus); 

(14) virile crayfish (Orconectes (Gremicambarus) 

virilis), virilis); 

(15) rusty crayfish (Orconectes (Procericambarus) 

rusticus), rusticus); 

(16) Australian red claw crayfish or "red claw" 

(Cherax quadricarinatus, or other species of 

"giant" crayfish species in the genus Cherax), 

Cherax); 

(17) white amur or "grass carp" (Ctenopharyngodon 

idella), idella); 

(18) swamp or "rice" eel (Monopterus albus), albus); 

(19) red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis), lutrensis); 

(20) zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha) 

polymorpha); or 

(21) quagga mussel (Dreissena rostriformis 

bugensis) or any mussel in the family 

Dreissenidae. 

(b)  A person may buy, possess possess, or stock triploid grass 

carp carp, which have been certified to be triploid or sterile, only 

for the purpose of controlling aquatic vegetation under a permit 

issued by the Executive Director or his or her designee when the 

director determines that conditions of such possession or stocking 

provide minimal probability of escape based on an evaluation of 

the potential for escapement and threat to sensitive aquatic habitat 

and that the carp is certified to be sterile by genetic testing at a 

federal, state, or university laboratory. habitats. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live river 

herring, also known as alewife or blueback herring, in the waters 

of the Little Tennessee River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah 

and Cedar Cliff Lake, including all the tributaries and 

impoundments thereof, and on adjacent shorelines, docks, access 

ramps, and bridge crossings. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274(c)(1c); 113-292. 

 

SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0305 BLACK BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth, Smallmouth, and 

Spotted Bass - collectively known as Black Bass - is five fish, 

except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and (n)(m) 

of this Rule. There is no minimum size limit for these fish, but 

only two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters 

identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), 

(l), (m), and (n) and (m) of this Rule. There is no closed season, 

except for waters identified in Paragraphs Paragraph (l) and 

(n)(m) of this Rule. 

(b)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 

Granville County the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 

fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 

possessed. 
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(c)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Black Bass less than 14 inches. The daily creel limit for 

Black Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish. 

(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Black Bass is 10 fish, the minimum size limit for Largemouth 

Bass is 12 inches, and there is no minimum size limit for 

Smallmouth Bass and Spotted Bass. 

(e)  The minimum size limit for Black Bass is 14 inches in the 

following: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 

(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 

(2)(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 

(3)(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 

(4)(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and all their tributaries including 

Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim 

River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, 

Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 

Northwest River, Scuppernong River, and 

Alligator River (including the Alligator/Pungo 

Canal east of the NC Hwy 264/45 bridge). 

bridge, and all other associated tributaries and 

canals in these river systems. 

(f)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn Reservoir 

in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 

(g)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 

minimum size limit is 14 inches, and no fish between 16 and 20 

inches may be possessed. 

(h)  In Shearon Harris Reservoir and Lake Hampton in Yadkin 

County, there is no minimum size limit for Black Bass, but only 

two Black Bass less than 14 inches and no Black Bass between 16 

and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(i)  In Randleman Reservoir, there is no minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass, but only two Largemouth Bass less than 14 

inches and only one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may 

be possessed. 

(j)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum size 

limit for Black Bass is 18 inches. 

(k)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia) there is no minimum 

size limit for Black Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in 

length may be possessed and only one Black Bass greater than 22 

inches may be possessed. 

(l)  In Sutton Lake, the minimum size limit for Black Bass is 14 

inches and no Black Bass may be possessed from December 1 

through March 31. 

(m)(l)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde 

County, the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches 

and only one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be 

possessed. 

(n)(m)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town 

of Southern Shores, Dare County, no Black Bass may be 

possessed. 

(o)(n)  For purposes of this Rule, creel limits apply to 

Largemouth, Smallmouth, and Spotted Bass in aggregate unless 

otherwise specified. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0306 CRAPPIE 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and (e)(e), and (f) of this 

Rule. There is no minimum size limit for these fish, except for 

waters identified in Paragraphs (d) and (e). (d), (e), and (f). There 

is no closed season. 

(b)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the daily 

creel limit is 20 fish. 

(c)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 

fish. 

(d)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is 10 inches: 

(1) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir; 

(2)(1) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream 

of Roanoke Rapids dam; 

(3)(2) Cashie River and its tributaries; 

(4)(3) Middle River and its tributaries; 

(5)(4) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and 

(6)(5) Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in 

Hyde County. 

(e)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is eight inches: 

(1) Pee Dee River from Blewett Falls Dam to the 

South Carolina state line; 

(2) Badin Lake; 

(3) Falls Lake (Stanly and Montgomery counties); 

(4) Lake Tillery; 

(5) Blewett Falls Lake; 

(6) Lake Norman; 

(7) Lake Hyco; 

(8) Lake Ramseur; 

(9) Cane Creek Lake; 

(10) Lake Hampton (Yadkin County);  

(11) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir; 

(11)(12) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir 

Dam; Dam and all tributaries; 

(12)(13) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 

Dam and all tributaries; 

(13)(14) Haw River downstream of Jordan Lake Dam; 

Dam and all tributaries; 

(14)(15) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam; 

Dam and all tributaries; 

(15)(16) Cape Fear River; River and all tributaries; 

(16)(17) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake 

Waccamaw Dam; Dam and all tributaries; 

(17)(18) Lumber River including Drowning Creek; 

Creek and all tributaries; 

(18)(19) all other public fishing waters east of Interstate 

95, except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, 

Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and 

waters listed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and 

(19)(20) all public waters west of Interstate 77, except 

Lake Chatuge. 

For waters in Subparagraphs (11) through (19), the restrictions 

apply to all tributaries. 

(f)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish and 

the minimum size limit is nine inches. 
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0313 SHAD (AMERICAN AND 

HICKORY) 

(a)  The daily creel limit for American and Hickory Shad in the 

aggregate is 10 fish, only one of which may be an American Shad, 

except for waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c) and (d) of this 

Rule. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. There is no 

closed season, except for waters identified in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  In the inland waters of Roanoke River, Neuse River, the Tar-

Pamlico River, Pungo River, Pee Dee River, and their tributaries, 

the daily creel limit for American and Hickory Shad is 10 in the 

aggregate, only one of which may be an American Shad. 

aggregate. 

(c)  In the inland waters of the Cape Fear River and its tributaries, 

the daily creel limit for American and Hickory Shad is 10 in the 

aggregate, only five of which may be American Shad. 

(d)  In Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr 

Reservoir, no American Shad may be possessed. 

(e)  The season for taking American and Hickory Shad with bow 

nets is March 1 through April 30. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four 

fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), 

(e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit 

for these fish is 20 inches, except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. 

There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraphs (g), (h), (i), (j), and (k) of this Rule. 

(b)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 

River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 

Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 24 

20 inches from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through 

September 30, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids 

is four in the aggregate with no minimum size limit. 

(c)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 

size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from 

October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for 

these fish from June 1 through September 30. 

(d)  In Lake Norman, Arrowhead Lake (Anson Co.), High Rock 

Pond (Caswell Co.), Moss Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, Oak 

Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake Townsend, and Salem 

Lake the minimum size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 

16 inches. 

(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 

the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may 

be greater than 22 inches. 

(f)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 

tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 

is 18 inches. 

(g)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 

rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 

impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 

in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 

in Paragraphs (f), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule, the daily creel limit 

for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. The 

minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season for 

taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed from May 1 through 

September 30. 

(h)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 

tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam, the season for taking 

and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-round. 

(i)  In the inland and joint fishing waters [as identified in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0107(1)(e)] of the Roanoke River Striped Bass 

Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 10C .0110 and 

identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which includes the Roanoke, 

Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and their tributaries, the open 

season for taking and possessing Striped Bass and its hybrids is 

March 1 through April 30 from the joint-coastal fishing waters 

boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to Roanoke Rapids Lake 

dam. During the open season, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass 

and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size 

limit is 18 inches. No fish between 22 inches and 27 inches in 

length shall be possessed in the daily creel limit. Only one fish 

larger than 27 inches may be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(j)  In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, 

Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck 

Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries 

(excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their 

tributaries), the Striped Bass fishing season, size limits limits, and 

creel limits are the same as those established by rules or 

proclamations of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent 

joint or coastal fishing waters. 

(k)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, 

by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for 

Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and 

their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions of any 

proclamation issued under this authority. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0316 TROUT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for trout in Hatchery-Supported Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The open season is from 7 a.m. on the first Saturday in April 

until March 1, except for waters designated in Paragraphs (d) and 

(g) Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(b)  The daily creel limit for trout in Wild Trout Waters and Wild 

Trout/Natural Bait Trout Waters is four fish. The minimum size 

limit for these fish is seven inches. There is no closed season. 

(c)  No trout may be harvested from Catch and Release/Artificial 

Lures Only Trout Waters or Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters. Trout may not be possessed while fishing 

these waters. 

(d)  The daily creel limit for trout in Delayed Harvest Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The Youth-only Delayed Harvest Trout Water Season is 

from 6 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 12 p.m. that same 

day. During this season only individuals under the age of 18 may 

fish. From 12 p.m. on the first Saturday in June until September 

30, the Delayed Harvest Trout Waters Season is open for all 
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anglers. From October 1 to one-half hour after sunset on the 

Friday before the first Saturday in June, trout may not be 

harvested or possessed while fishing these waters. Delayed 

Harvest Trout Waters are closed to all fishing from one-half hour 

after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday in June to 6 

a.m. on the first Saturday in June. 

(e)  The daily creel limits, size limits, and seasons for trout in 

Special Regulation Trout Waters are as follows: in the  

(1)  Apalachia Reservoir (Cherokee County) the 

daily creel limit is three trout. There is no 

minimum size limit, but only one may be 

greater than 14 inches. There is no closed 

season. 

(2)  Catawba River (Burke County) from Muddy 

Creek to the City of Morganton water intake 

dam the daily creel limit is two fish. The 

minimum size limit is 14 inches. There is no 

closed season. 

(f)  The daily creel limit for trout in undesignated trout waters is 

seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. 

(g)  There is no closed season on taking trout from Linville River 

within Linville Gorge Wilderness Area and the impounded waters 

of power reservoirs and municipally-owned water supply 

reservoirs open to the public for fishing. 

(h)  In designated Public Mountain Trout Waters the season for 

taking all species of fish is the same as the trout fishing season. 

(i)  All trout water designations and manners of take are set forth 

in 15A NCAC 10C .0205. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

SECTION .0400 – JURISDICTION OF AGENCIES: 

CLASSIFICATION OF WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0401 MANNER OF TAKING 

NONGAME FISHES : PURCHASE AND SALE 

(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, it is unlawful 

to take nongame fishes from the inland fishing waters of North 

Carolina in any manner other than with hook and line or 

grabbling. line, grabbling, or special device with a special device 

fishing license. 

(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken by hook and line or grabbling 

line, grabbling, or special device with a special device fishing 

license at any time without restriction as to size limits or creel 

limits, with the following exceptions: limits, except as designated 

in this Rule. 

(1) Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace 

width of five inches (point to point) and it is 

unlawful to possess more than 50 crabs per 

person per day or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel 

per day. 

(2) While boating on or fishing in the following 

inland fishing waters, no person shall take river 

herring (alewife and blueback) that are greater 

than six inches in length, or possess such 

herring regardless of origin in: 

(A) Roanoke River downstream of 

Roanoke Rapids Dam; 

(B) Tar River downstream of Rocky 

Mount Mill Dam; 

(C) Neuse River downstream of Milburnie 

Dam; 

(D) Cape Fear River downstream of 

Buckhorn Dam; 

(E) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett 

Falls Dam; 

(F) Lumber River including Drowning 

Creek; 

(G) all the tributaries to the rivers listed 

above; and 

(H) all other inland fishing waters east of 

I-95. 

(3) Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on 

Lake James, Lookout Shoals Lake, Lake 

Norman, Mountain Island Reservoir, Lake 

Wylie, and John H. Kerr Reservoir, except that 

one fish per day may be taken with archery 

equipment. 

(4) No trotlines or set-hooks shall be used in the 

impounded waters located on the Sandhills 

Game Land or in designated public mountain 

trout waters. 

(5) In Lake Waccamaw, trotlines or set-hooks may 

be used only from October 1 through April 30. 

(6) In inland fishing waters, gray trout (weakfish) 

recreational seasons, size limits, and creel limits 

are the same as those established by Marine 

Fisheries Commission rule or proclamations 

issued by the Fisheries Director in adjacent 

joint or coastal fishing waters. 

(b)  The season for taking nongame fishes by other hook and line 

methods in designated public mountain trout waters is the same 

as the trout fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0316. 

(c)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 

licensed special devices may be sold, with the following 

exceptions: 

(1) alewife and blueback herring, excluding those 

less than six inches in length collected from 

Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, and Warren 

counties); 

(2) blue crab; and 

(3) bowfin. 

(c)  Special devices may only be used to take nongame fishes with 

a special device fishing license in those counties and waters with 

open season designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0407. 

(d)  Archery equipment may only be used for the take of catfish 

on Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line and all tributaries. 

(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take 

nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206. 

(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in 

designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout 

fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0316. 
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(d)(g)  Freshwater mussels, including the Asiatic clam (Corbicula 

fluminea), may be taken only from impounded waters, except 

mussels shall not be taken in in: 

(1) Lake Waccamaw in Columbus County, 

County; and in 

(2) University Lake in Orange County. 

The daily possession limit for freshwater mussels is 200 in the 

aggregate, except there is no daily possession limit for the Asiatic 

clam (Corbicula fluminea).  

(h)  Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace width of five 

inches (point to point) and it is unlawful to possess more than 50 

crabs per person per day or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel per day. 

(i)  While boating on or fishing in the following inland fishing 

waters, no person shall take river herring (alewife and blueback 

herring) that are greater than six inches in length, or possess such 

herring regardless of origin in: 

(1) Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam; 

(2) Tar River downstream of Rocky Mount Mill 

Dam; 

(3) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 

(4) Cape Fear River downstream of Buckhorn 

Dam; 

(5) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(6) Lumber River, including Drowning Creek; 

(7) all the tributaries to the rivers listed above; and 

(8) all other inland fishing waters east of I-95. 

(e)(j)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and 

located on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, it is unlawful to take channel, white, or blue 

catfish by means other than hook and line; the daily creel limit is 

six catfish in aggregate. Waters where this creel limit applies shall 

be posted on-site with signs indicating the creel limit. 

(f)(k)  The daily creel limit for blue catfish greater than 32 inches 

is one fish in the following reservoirs: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Mountain Island Lake; 

(3) Lake Wylie; 

(4) Badin Lake; 

(5) Lake Tillery; 

(6) John H. Kerr Reservoir (North Carolina 

portion); 

(7) Lake Gaston (North Carolina portion); and 

(8) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir. 

(l)  The daily creel limit is five catfish in aggregate on the Pee Dee 

River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina 

state line and all tributaries. 

(g)(m)  The daily creel limit for American eels taken from or 

possessed, regardless or origin, while boating on or fishing in 

inland fishing waters is 25, and the minimum size limit is 9 inches. 

(n)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake James, 

Lookout Shoals Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, and Lake 

Wylie, except that one fish per day may be taken with archery 

equipment. 

(o)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake Norman 

and the North Carolina portion of John H. Kerr Reservoir, except 

for scientific study by permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(p)  In inland fishing waters, gray trout (weakfish) recreational 

seasons, size limits, and creel limits are the same as those 

established by Marine Fisheries Commission rule or 

proclamations issued by the Fisheries Director in adjacent joint or 

coastal fishing waters. 

(h)(q)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish specified 

in Paragraphs (h), (i), (k), (m), and (p) of this Rule having a size 

limit so as to render it impracticable impractical to measure its 

total original length. No person while fishing shall change the 

appearance of any nongame fish specified in Paragraphs (g), (h), 

(j), (k), (l), (m), (n), (o), and (p) of this Rule having a daily creel 

limit so as to obscure its identification or render it impracticable 

impractical to count the number of fish in possession. 

(r)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 

special device with a special device fishing license may be sold, 

with the following exceptions: 

(1) alewife and blueback herring, excluding those 

less than six inches in length collected from 

Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, and Warren 

counties); 

(2) blue crab; and 

(3) bowfin. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0402 TAKING NONGAME FISHES 

FOR BAIT OR PERSONAL CONSUMPTION 

(a)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait or personal 

consumption in the inland waters of North Carolina using 

equipment other than: 

(1) a net of dip net design not greater than six feet 

across; 

(2) a seine of not greater than 12 feet in length 

(except in Lake Waccamaw in Columbus 

County where there is no length limitation) and 

with a bar mesh measure of not more than one-

fourth inch; 

(3) a cast net; 

(4) a bow net for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of bow nets is authorized in 15A NCAC 

10C .0407; 

(5) a dip net when used in conjunction with a 

licensed hand-crank electrofisher; 

(6) a gig (except in Public Mountain Trout Waters); 

(7) up to three traps for the seasons and waters in 

which the use of traps is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(8) up to two eel pots; 

(9) a spear gun for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of a spear gun is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(10) minnow traps not exceeding 12 inches in 

diameter and 24 inches in length, with funnel 

openings not exceeding one inch in diameter, 

from which all fish and animals are removed 

daily, and that are labeled with the user's 
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Wildlife Resources Commission customer 

number or name and address; 

(11) a hand-held line with a single bait attached; 

(12) a single, multiple-bait line for taking crabs not 

to exceed 100 feet in length, marked on each 

end with a solid float no less than five inches in 

diameter, bearing legible and indelible 

identification of the user's name and address, 

and under the immediate control and attendance 

of the person using the device, with a limit of 

one line per person and no more than one line 

per vessel; or 

(13) a collapsible crab trap with the largest open 

dimension not greater than 18 inches and that 

by design is collapsed at all times when in the 

water, except when it is being retrieved or 

lowered to the bottom, with a limit of one trap 

per person. 

(b)  The use of equipment under this Rule requires a valid license 

that provides basic inland fishing privileges. 

(c)  It is unlawful to sell nongame fishes or aquatic animals taken 

under this Rule. 

(d)  Game fishes taken while netting for bait shall be returned 

unharmed to the water, except white perch may be taken when 

captured in a cast net being used to collect nongame fishes for bait 

or personal consumption in all impounded waters west of I-95 and 

in the Tar River Reservoir (Nash County). 

(e)  No person shall take or possess during one day more than 200 

nongame fish in aggregate for bait or personal consumption 

subject to the following restrictions: size and creel limits 

identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401. 

(1) No more than 25 eels, none of which may be 

less than 9 inches in length, shall be taken from 

or possessed, regardless of origin, while boating 

on or fishing in inland fishing waters; 

(2) While boating on or fishing in the following 

inland fishing waters, no river herring (alewife 

and blueback) that are greater than six inches in 

total length shall be taken, and no such river 

herring shall be possessed regardless of origin: 

(A) Roanoke River downstream of 

Roanoke Rapids Dam; 

(B) Tar River downstream of Rocky 

Mount Mill Dam; 

(C) Neuse River downstream of Milburnie 

Dam; 

(D) Cape Fear River downstream of 

Buckhorn Dam; 

(E) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett 

Falls Dam; 

(F) Lumber River including Drowning 

Creek; 

(G) the tributaries to the rivers listed 

above; and 

(H) all other inland fishing waters east of 

Interstate 95. 

(3) No more than 50 crabs per person per day or 

100 per vessel per day with a minimum 

carapace width of five inches (point to point) 

shall be taken. 

(f)  Any fishes taken for bait purposes are included within the 

daily possession limit for that species. 

(g)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait or any other fish 

bait from the following waters: 

(1) Public Mountain Trout Waters (except in 

impounded waters of power reservoirs and 

municipally-owned water supply reservoirs); 

(2) Bear Creek in Chatham County; 

(3) Deep River in Chatham, Lee, and Moore 

counties and downstream of Coleridge Dam in 

Randolph County; 

(4) Fork Creek in Randolph County; and 

(5) Rocky River in Chatham County. 

(h)  In the waters of the Little Tennessee River, including all the 

tributaries and impoundments thereof, and on adjacent shorelines, 

docks, access ramps, and bridge crossings, it is unlawful to 

transport, possess, or release live river herring (alewife and 

blueblack). 

(i)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish having a 

size limit identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 so as to render it 

impracticable impractical to measure its total original length. No 

person while fishing shall change the appearance of any nongame 

fish having a daily creel limit identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 

so as to obscure its identification or render it impracticable 

impractical to count the number of fish in possession. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 113-272; 113-

272.3; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0407 PERMITTED SPECIAL 

DEVICES AND OPEN SEASONS 

Except in designated public mountain trout waters, and in 

impounded waters located on the Sandhills Game Land, there is a 

year-round open season for the licensed taking of nongame fishes 

by bow and arrow. The use of special fishing devices, including 

crab pots in impoundments located entirely on game lands lands, 

is shall be prohibited. Seasons and waters in which the use of other 

special devices is authorized are indicated by counties below: 

(1) Alamance: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Alamance Creek below NC 49 bridge 

and Haw River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(2) Alexander: July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs 

in all public waters; and with spear guns in Lake 

Hickory and Lookout Shoals Reservoir; 

(3) Alleghany: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in New 

River, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(4) Anson: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Pee Dee River below Blewett Falls 

Dam; 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1128 

(c) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Pee Dee 

River from Blewett Falls downstream 

to the Seaboard Coast Line Railroad 

trestle; 

(5) Ashe: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in New River 

(both forks), except designated public mountain 

trout waters; 

(6) Beaufort: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Pungo River, and in the Tar and 

Pamlico Rivers above Norfolk and 

Southern Railroad bridge; and with 

gigs in all inland public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters; 

(7) Bertie: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Broad Creek (tributary of Roanoke); 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(8) Bladen: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Black River; 

(b) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Cape Fear 

River between Lock and Dam 1 and 3 

and in Black River, except that hand-

crank electrofishing is prohibited 

within 400 yards of Lock and Dam 1, 

2, and 3 on Cape Fear River; 

(9) Brunswick: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets 

in Alligator Creek, Hoods Creek, Indian Creek, 

Orton Creek below Orton Pond, Rices Creek, 

Sturgeon Creek and Town Creek; 

(10) Buncombe: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(11) Burke: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Johns 

River and designated public mountain 

trout waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters and Lake James; 

(12) Cabarrus: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(13) Caldwell: July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(14) Camden: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(15) Carteret: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters except South River and 

the tributaries of the White Oak River; 

(16) Caswell: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Moons 

Creek; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Hyco 

Reservoir; 

(17) Catawba: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

Catawba River below Lookout Dam; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, spear 

guns, and gigs in all public waters; 

(18) Chatham: 

(a) December 1 to April 15 with dip and 

gill nets in the Cape Fear River, Deep 

River, Haw River and Rocky River 

(local law); 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Cape Fear River, and Haw River; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Deep 

River; and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(19) Cherokee: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(20) Chowan: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland public waters, excluding except 

public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(21) Clay: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(22) Cleveland: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs, traps and 

spear guns in all public waters; 

(23) Columbus: 

(a) December 1 to March 1 with gigs in all 

inland public waters, except Lake 

Waccamaw and its tributaries; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Livingston Creek; 
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(c) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in 

Waccamaw and Lumber rivers; 

(24) Craven: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the main 

run of the Trent and Neuse Rivers; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except Pitch 

Kettle, Grindle, Slocum (downstream 

of the US 70 bridge), Spring Spring, 

and Hancock Creeks and their 

tributaries; and with seines in the 

Neuse River; 

(25) Currituck: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Tulls 

Creek and Northwest River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(26) Dare: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Mashoes Creek, Milltail Creek, East 

Lake Lake, and South Lake; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(27) Davidson: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, and with traps in all public 

waters except Leonard's Creek, 

Abbott's Creek below Lake 

Thom-A-Lex dam, and the Abbott's 

Creek arm of High Rock Lake 

upstream from the NC 8 bridge; 

(28) Davie: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 for taking only 

carp and suckers with seines in 

Dutchmans Creek from US 601 to 

Yadkin River and in Hunting Creek 

from SR 1338 to South Yadkin River; 

(29) Duplin: 

(a) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

the main run of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River downstream from a point 

one mile above Serecta Bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the main run of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River downstream from a point 

one mile above Serecta Bridge; 

(30) Durham: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Neuse River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(31) Edgecombe: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets 

in all public waters; 

(32) Forsyth: July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters, except traps may not be used 

in Belews Creek Reservoir; 

(33) Franklin: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Tar 

River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Parrish, Laurel Mill, 

Jackson, Clifton, Moore's Moore's, 

and Perry's Ponds, and in the 

Franklinton City ponds; 

(34) Gaston: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs, traps traps, 

and spear guns in all public waters; 

(35) Gates: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in all 

inland public waters, excluding except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded waters; 

(36) Graham: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(37) Granville: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Kerr Reservoir; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Tar River below US 158 bridge; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(38) Greene: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets and 

reels in Contentnea Creek; 

(39) Guilford: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Haw 

River, Deep River below Jamestown 

Dam, and Reedy Fork Creek below 

US 29 bridge; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(40) Halifax: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Beech Swamp, Clarks Canal, Conoconnara 

Swamp, Fishing Creek below the Fishing Creek 

Mill Dam, Kehukee Swamp, Looking Glass 

Gut, Quankey Creek, and White's Mill Pond 

Run; 

(41) Harnett: 

(a) January 1 to May 31 with gigs in Cape 

Fear River and tributaries; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Cape Fear River; 

(42) Haywood: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except Lake Junaluska and 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(43) Henderson: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 
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(44) Hertford: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Wiccacon Creek; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(45) Hyde: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(46) Iredell: July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; and with spear guns in 

Lookout Shoals Reservoir and Lake Norman; 

(47) Jackson: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(48) Johnston: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Black Creek, Little River, Middle Creek, Mill 

Creek, Neuse River and Swift Creek; 

(49) Jones: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Trent River below US 17 bridge and 

White Oak River below US 17 bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except the 

tributaries to the White Oak River; 

(50) Lee: 

(a) December 1 to April 15 with dip and 

gill nets (local law) in Cape Fear River 

and Deep River; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Cape Fear River; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Deep 

River, and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(51) Lenoir: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Neuse 

River below US 70 bridge at Kinston; 

(b) March 1 to April 30with 30 with bow 

nets in Neuse River and Contentnea 

Creek upstream from NC 118 bridge at 

Grifton; and with seines in Neuse 

River; 

(52) Lincoln: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs gigs, 

and spear guns in all public waters; 

(53) McDowell: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters and Lake James; 

(54) Macon: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(55) Madison: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(56) Martin: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding except 

public lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(57) Mecklenburg: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs gigs, 

and spear guns in all public waters 

except Freedom Park Pond and 

Hornet's Nest Ponds; 

(58) Montgomery: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except that part 

of the Pee Dee River between the Lake 

Tillery dam at Hydro and the mouth of 

Rocky River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(59) Moore: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters except in Deep 

River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except lakes located on the 

Sandhills Game Land; and with traps 

in Deep River and its tributaries; 

(60) Nash: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Tar River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Tar River below Harris' Landing 

and Fishing Creek below the Fishing 

Creek Mill Dam; 

(61) New Hanover: March 1 to April 30with 30 with 

bow nets in all inland public waters, except 

Sutton (Catfish) Lake; 

(62) Northampton: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Gaston and Roanoke 

Rapids Reservoirs and the Roanoke 

River above the US 301 bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30with 30 with bow 

nets in Occoneechee Creek, Old River 

Landing Gut Gut, and Vaughans 

Creek below Watsons Mill; 

(63) Onslow: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in White 

Oak River below US 17 bridge; 

(b) August 1 to March 31 with eel pots in 

the main run of New River between 
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US 17 bridge and the mouth of 

Hawkins Creek; 

(c) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the main run of New River and in the 

main run of the White Oak River; 

(d) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Grant's Creek; 

(64) Orange: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Haw 

River, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(65) Pamlico: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except Dawson Creek; 

(66) Pasquotank: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(67) Pender: 

(a) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

the main run of Northeast Cape Fear 

River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Northeast Cape Fear River, Long 

Creek, Moore's Creek approximately 

one mile upstream to New Moon 

Fishing Camp, and Black River; 

(c) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Black 

River; 

(68) Perquimans: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except public lakes, ponds, and other 

impounded waters; 

(69) Person: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Hyco Creek and Mayo Creek; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters. 

(70) Pitt: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Neuse 

River and in Tar River below the 

mouth of Hardee Creek east of 

Greenville; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except 

Grindle Creek, and Contentnea Creek 

between NC 118 bridge at Grifton and 

the Neuse River; 

(c) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

Tar River; 

(71) Polk: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(72) Randolph: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Deep River above the Coleridge Dam 

and Uwharrie River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(73) Richmond: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Pee Dee 

River from Blewett Falls downstream 

to the Seaboard Coast Line Railroad 

trestle; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters, except lakes located 

on the Sandhills Game Land; 

(c) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Pee Dee River below Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(74) Robeson: December 1 to March 1 with gigs in 

all inland public waters. 

(75) Rockingham: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Dan 

River and Haw River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Dan 

River; and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(76) Rowan: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(77) Rutherford: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(78) Sampson: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Big Coharie Creek, Black River and 

Six Runs Creek; 

(b) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Black 

River downstream of NC 1105 bridge; 

(79) Stanly: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except that part 

of the Pee Dee River between the Lake 

Tillery dam at Hydro and the mouth of 

Rocky River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 
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(80) Stokes: July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters, and traps may not be 

used in Belews Creek Reservoir; 

(81) Surry: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; and with traps in the main stem of 

Yadkin River; 

(82) Swain: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(83) Transylvania: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(84) Tyrrell: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Scuppernong River and Alligator 

Creek; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, excluding 

except Lake Phelps, the drainage 

canals that connect Lake Phelps and 

Scuppernong River, public lakes, 

ponds and other impounded waters; 

(85) Union: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(86) Vance: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Tar River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Rolands, Faulkners, 

Southerlands, and Weldon Ponds, City 

Lake, and Kerr Reservoir; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(87) Wake: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Sunset, Benson, 

Wheeler, Raleigh, and Johnson Lakes; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Neuse River below Milburnie Falls 

Lake Dam, and Swift Creek below 

Lake Benson Dam; 

(88) Warren: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Fishing Creek, Shocco Creek, and 

Walker Creek; excluding except Duck 

and Hammes Mill Ponds; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Duck and Hammes Mill 

Ponds, Kerr Reservoir, and Gaston 

Reservoir; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(89) Washington: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets 

in all inland public waters, excluding except 

Lake Phelps, the drainage canals that connect 

Lake Phelps and Scuppernong River, public 

lakes, ponds ponds, and other impoundments. 

(90) Wayne: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Little River, Mill Creek and Neuse River. 

(91) Wilkes: July 1 to June 30 with traps in Yadkin 

River below W. Kerr Scott Reservoir; and with 

gigs and spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(92) Wilson: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in 

Contentnea Creek (except Buckhorn 

Reservoir), including unnamed 

tributaries between Flowers Mill and 

SR 1163 (Deans) bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Contentnea Creek below US 301 

bridge and in Toisnot Swamp 

downstream from the Lake Toisnot 

Dam; and 

(93) Yadkin: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, and with traps in the main stem of 

Yadkin River. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-276; 113-292. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 

(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 

designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 

any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 

the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 

Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 

lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 

prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 

(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 

purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 

screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 

herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 

portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 

in or attached to the tree. 

(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 

lands only during the open season for game animals and game 

birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 

or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 

dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 

lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons. On 

managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 

(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 

than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 

(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates; 

(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 

(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; and 

(5) not operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1133 

On designated youth waterfowl days occurring after the end of the 

regular waterfowl seasons only, youths may hunt on managed 

waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset. 

Restrictions (1), (3), and (5) in this Paragraph shall apply. On 

waterfowl impoundments that have a posted "Scouting-only 

Zone," trapping during the trapping season and waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days are the only activities 

allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside of the posted 

"Scouting-only Zone." No person shall attempt to obscure the sex 

or age of any bird or animal taken by severing the head or any 

other part thereof, or possess any bird or animal that has been so 

mutilated. No person shall place, or cause to be placed on any 

game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written 

authorization of the Commission or its agent. A decision to grant 

or deny authorization shall be made based on the best 

management practices for the wildlife species in question. No 

person shall take or attempt to take any game birds or game 

animals attracted to such foods. 

(e)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 

refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 

taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 

the federally-announced season. 

(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken during the open seasons 

and hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 

for game lands in this Rule that specifically 

allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 

Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 

Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 

either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 

each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 

may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 

7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 

Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken on the open days of 

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 

Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 

with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 

where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0109. 

(g)  Bear Sanctuaries. On Three Days per Week Areas and Six 

Days per Week Areas, bears shall not be taken on lands designated 

and posted as bear sanctuaries except when authorized by permit 

only pursuant to this Chapter. Feral Swine shall not be taken with 

the use of dogs on bear sanctuaries. Dogs shall not be trained or 

allowed to run unleashed between March 1 and the Monday on or 

nearest October 15 on bear sanctuaries in and west of the counties 

and parts of counties described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109. 

(h)(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 

game lands: 

(1) Alcoa Game Land in Davidson, Davie, 

Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter in that 

portion in Montgomery county, and 

deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season in those 

portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 

and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 

hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 

(A) Six Day per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(5) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(6) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 

rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 

shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 

of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 

Lake Tract is by permit only. 
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(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31through May 14 in areas both 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 

foxes is prohibited March 15 through 

July 15. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(8) Brunswick County Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(9) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(10) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days of the second week of the 

December Bear Season. If any of these 

days falls on a Tuesday, Friday or 

Saturday, bear hunting is allowed on 

those days. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(11) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 

Wilkes Counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. and during the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season. Deer with visible 

antlers may be taken with archery 

equipment the Monday immediately 

following the closing of the Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season, as described in 

this Part, through January 1. Deer may 

be taken with blackpowder firearms 

on open days beginning the Monday 

on or nearest October 1 through the 

Saturday of the second week 

thereafter, and during the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 

Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(12) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 

Lands in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(13) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 

Granville, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

 On the posted waterfowl 

impoundments a special permit is 

required for all waterfowl hunting 

after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on that portion west of NC 

50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. On designated bicycle riding 

areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 

from May 15 through August 31, and 
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on Sundays only from September 1 

through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 

designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 

Camping Area and shall not exceed a 

maximum stay of two consecutive 

nights. Campfires are prohibited in 

this camping area. 

(14) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

first open day days of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

Season through the first Friday 

thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(15) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 

that portion known as the Roan Island 

Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the portion of the game 

land that is west of the Black River, 

north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 

Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 

south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(16) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(17) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 

Caswell County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August, and on 

Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. Horseback riding is 

allowed only on roads opened to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails that are posted for 

equestrian use. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 

following roads is permit-only for all 

quail and woodcock hunting, and all 

bird dog training: From Yanceyville 

south on NC 62 to the intersection of 

SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 

intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 

1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 

east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 

NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 

intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 

1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 

east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 

NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 

by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 

Shooting Range. 

(18) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August; and on 

Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(19) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(20) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 

and Hertford counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 

three hunting days during the 

November bear season and the first 

three hunting days during the second 
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week of the December bear season 

except that portion of Chowan Swamp 

Game Land in Gates County that is 

east of Highway 158/13, south of 

Highway 158, west of Highway 32, 

and north of Catherine Creek and the 

Chowan River where the bear season 

is the same as the season dates for the 

Gates County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

during May 16 through August 31 and 

on Sundays only September 1 through 

May 15 on those roads that are open to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails posted for equestrian 

use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited 

prohibited. on the Sand Banks tract in 

Gates County, the area west of Sand 

Banks Road, east of the Chowan River 

and north of US 13/158 to the NC-VA 

state line. 

(21) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day Saturday of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 

Season. 

(22) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 

County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(23) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 

Jones counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

day in October through the end of the 

waterfowl season, waterfowl hunting 

from designated Disabled Sportsmen 

blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl 

Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 

first two open days of dove season on 

posted areas. During the rest of dove 

season, no permit is required to hunt 

doves. 

(24) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 

shall be hunted by permit only from 

November 1 through the end of the 

waterfowl season. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 

accompany the permitted individual or 

party provided the guides do not use a 

firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 

extend 5 yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 

hunting by permitted waterfowl 

hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(25) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(B)(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted for equestrian 

use. People age 16 or older horseback 

riding on this game land must possess 

a Game Lands license. 

(C)(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(26) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 

of bombing range. 
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(D) The use and training of dogs is 

prohibited from March 1 through June 

30. 

(27) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(28) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 

and Transylvania counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 

hunt permit holders during scheduled 

permit hunts. 

(29) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(30) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(31) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 

Pamlico counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October and through the 

end of the waterfowl season, 

waterfowl hunting is by permit only on 

the following waterfowl 

impoundments: Pamlico Point, 

Campbell Creek, Hunting Creek, 

Spring Creek, Smith Creek, and 

Hobucken. 

(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 

Waterfowl Impoundments all 

activities, except waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days 

and trapping during the trapping 

season, are restricted to the posted 

Scouting-only Zone during the period 

November 1 through March 15. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 

September 1 through January 1 and 

April 1 through May 15 to individuals 

that possess a valid hunting 

opportunity permit. 

(32) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 

Polk counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(33) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) On that portion north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road, 

hunting and trapping for bear, deer, 

and turkey is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on that portion of 

the game land that is north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road. 

(34) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments shall be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
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(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season, except for that 

portion designated as bear sanctuary. 

(35) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 

Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(36) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 

Transylvania County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season 

(37) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(38) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) On that portion north of the Bear 

Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 

Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 

Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 

west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 

hunting are permit only. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 

bear is prohibited: 

(i) all open days on that portion 

of the game land that is south 

of Baby Branch extending 

west to Stag Park Road, west 

of Shaw Road, north of 

Meeks Road extending west 

to Stag Park Road and east of 

Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Fridays, with the exception 

of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's days, and 

except for the area north of 

Bear Garden Road, west of 

Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 

east of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River, south of NC 53 

and west of NC 50, where the 

use of dogs for deer and bear 

hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 

September 1 to the last day of 

February and April 1 to May 15 to 

individuals that possess valid hunting 

opportunity permits, unless otherwise 

authorized by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 

Access Permit may operate an All 

Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 

yards of trails designated for Disabled 

Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(39) Hyco Game land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
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With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(40) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- Permit Only Area. 

(41) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 

holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is prohibited October 1 

through March 31, except by lawful 

waterfowl hunting permit holders and 

only on those days written on the 

permits. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas is limited to August 31 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14. 

(42) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 

Orange, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 

(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted as American 

Tobacco Trail and other areas posted 

for equestrian use. Unless otherwise 

posted, horseback riding is permitted 

on posted portions of the American 

Tobacco Trail anytime the trail is open 

for use. On all other trails posted for 

equestrian use, horseback riding is 

allowed only during June, July, and 

August, and on Sundays the remainder 

of the year except during open turkey 

and deer seasons. People age 16 or 

older who ride horseback on trails 

occurring entirely within the game 

land boundaries shall possess a Game 

Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. 

(43) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(44) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 

during the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 

and no screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 

turkey is prohibited. 

(45) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 

waterfowl impoundments is by permit 

only. 

(46) Lee Game Land in Lee County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(47) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(48) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(49) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 

Edgecombe and Halifax counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(50) Mayo Game Land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Christmas and New Year's 

Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(51) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(52) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 

Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 

that portion located in Transylvania 

County. 

(53) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 

counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 

on the opening day of dove season is 

by permit only. 

(54) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 

100 yards of the Neuse River on that 

portion of the game land that lies west 

of NC-43. 

(55) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(56) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through the Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 

activities are prohibited: 

(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine; 

and 

(ii) Swimming. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(57) North River Game Land in Camden and 

Currituck counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 

impoundment is by permit only. 

(58) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 

Currituck County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(59) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 

Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 

that portion in Anson and Richmond 

counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(E) Horseback riding is allowed only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 

only during the following times: 

(i) during June, July, and 

August; and 

(ii) on Sundays during the other 

months or parts of months 

when deer and turkey seasons 

are closed. 

(60) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(61) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 

Watauga, and Yancey counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 

Black Bear (McDowell County), 

Linville River (Burke County), and 

Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 

McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(62) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails from May 16 

through August 31 and Sundays from 

September 1 through October 31. All 

horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through May 15. 

(63) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(64) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 

in Wilkes County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 

(65) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(66) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 

Martin, and Northampton counties 

(A) Hunting is by Permit only. 

(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 

Commission business or by permit 

holders. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas, provided, however, 

that camping is allowed at any time 

within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 

on the state-owned portion of the game 

land. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(67) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 

(68) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(69) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 to the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 
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(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(70) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 

Hunting is by permit only. 

(71) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(72) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 

Richmond, and Scotland counties 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 

October 22 through March 31 except 

as follows: 

(i) deer of either-sex may be 

taken with archery 

equipment on all the open 

days of the archery season 

through the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

with blackpowder firearms 

and archery equipment all the 

open days of the 

blackpowder firearms season 

through the third Wednesday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

and only deer with visible 

antlers may be taken with all 

legal weapons from the 

second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(ii) dove may be taken all open 

days from the opening day of 

the dove season through the 

third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 

be taken all the open days 

from second Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 

days from the second 

Saturday preceding 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 

open days during any 

waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 

may be taken as part of a 

Disabled Sportsmen Program 

Permit Hunt; and 

(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 

taken on open days from 

sunrise Monday on or nearest 

October 15 through the last 

day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

is the open hunting days from the 

second Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day through the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 

Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 

from the Saturday on or nearest to 

Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 

Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 

J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 

the third Monday after Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1. Deer may be 

taken with archery equipment on all 

open hunting days during the archery 

season, the Deer with Visible antlers 

season, and the blackpowder firearms 

season as stated in this Subparagraph. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 

open days from the fourth Saturday 

preceding Thanksgiving Day through 

the Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1. Deer may be taken 

with blackpowder firearms on all open 

hunting days during the blackpowder 

firearms season and the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 

by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 

waterfowl may be taken on the 

opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 
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(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 

prohibited unless participating in 

authorized field trials. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 

Complex. 

(73) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 

Counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(74) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 

Madison counties. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 

and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 

10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 

the opening day through the second 

Saturday of dove season. 

(75) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 

(76) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(77) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. and during the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season. Deer with visible 

antlers may be taken with archery 

equipment the Monday immediately 

following the closing of the Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season, as described in 

this Part, through January 1. Deer may 

be taken with blackpowder firearms 

on open days beginning the Monday 

on or nearest October 1 through the 

Saturday of the second week 

thereafter, and during the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 

Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(78) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six - Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 

and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments may be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
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(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(79) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 

Cumberland counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 

or trapping days except for: 

(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 

permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 

Road to access Suggs Mill 

Pond Lake at the dam. 

(D) During the period of November 1 

through January 31, except on 

Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 

Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 

Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 

only by waterfowl hunters possessing 

a valid and current Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(E) During the period of November 1 

through March 15, the use of vessels 

on managed waterfowl impoundments 

is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 

waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 

and current Hunting Opportunity 

Permit issued by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission pursuant to 

G.S. 113-264(d). 

(80) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 

Brunswick counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(81) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County – 

hunting is by permit only. 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(82) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting is by permit only. 

(83) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(84) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 

overnight camping at any designated 

campground is 14 days within any 30 

day period from May 1 through 

August 31. After 14 consecutive days 

of camping all personal belongings 

must be removed from the game land. 

(85) Tillery game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(86) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(87) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 

Montgomery, and Randolph counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl may be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 
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(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 

Range. 

(88) Vance Game Land in Vance County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 

handguns for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 

tract. 

(89) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(90) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 

County - hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow 

County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October and through the 

end of the waterfowl season, a permit 

is required for hunting posted 

waterfowl impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 

have the following restrictions: 

(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 

requires a valid Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by 

the Wildlife Resources 

Commission pursuant to G.S. 

113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 

and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 

deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(92) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen 

County and Pender counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Long 

Ridge Tract. 

(93) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(i)(h) On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 

the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 

shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 

September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 

issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 

permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 

making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 

cooperator agent or by phone. 

(j)(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all 

hunting except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and 

current permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 

River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 

Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 

Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 

Refuge; 

(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 

of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 

Lands; and 

(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—

DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 
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(k)(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in 

Davie County requires written permission from the Commission. 

Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 

Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 

entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 

agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 

need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 

investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 

public interest. 

(l)(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the 

open season for any game animal or game bird using any legal 

manner of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be 

used to hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use 

of dogs for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or 

bear season. 

(m)(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 

Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 

game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 

permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(n)(m)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 

Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 

disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 

schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 

and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 

hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 

stated on each permit. 

(o)(n)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 

species. 

(p)(o)  When waterfowl hunting is specifically permitted 

authorized in this Rule on Christmas and New Years' Day and 

those days fall on Sundays, the open waterfowl hunting day shall 

be the following day. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0106 BEAR SANCTUARIES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted bear sanctuaries as 

set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, except when authorized by 

permit issued by the Commission on sanctuaries specified in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(b)  The following shall be posted bear sanctuaries: 

Bachelor Bay bear sanctuary – Bertie and Washington 

counties 

Columbus County bear sanctuary – Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 

Croatan bear sanctuary – Carteret, Craven, and Jones 

counties 

Daniel Boone bear sanctuary – Avery, Burke, and 

Caldwell counties 

Dare bear sanctuary – Dare and Hyde counties, 

Fires Creek bear sanctuary – Clay County 

Flat Top bear sanctuary – Mitchell and Yancey counties 

Green Swamp bear sanctuary – Brunswick County 

Gull Rock bear sanctuary – Hyde County 

Harmon Den bear sanctuary – Haywood County 

Juniper Creek bear sanctuary – Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 

Mt. Mitchell bear sanctuary – McDowell and Yancey 

counties 

North River bear sanctuary – Camden and Currituck 

counties 

Panthertown – Bonas Defeat bear sanctuary – Jackson 

County 

Pisgah Bear Sanctuary – Buncombe, Haywood, 

Henderson and Transylvania 

Pungo River bear sanctuary – Hyde County 

Rich Mountain bear sanctuary – Madison County 

Sherwood bear sanctuary – Haywood County 

Suggs Mill Pond bear sanctuary – Bladen and 

Cumberland counties 

Standing Indian bear sanctuary – Macon County 

Thurmond Chatham bear sanctuary – Allegheny and 

Wilkes counties 

Wayah bear sanctuary – Macon County 

(c)  It shall be lawful to take bear on the following sanctuaries 

when authorized by permit issued by the Commission: 

Daniel Boone bear sanctuary – Avery, Burke, and 

Caldwell counties 

Dare bear sanctuary – Dare and Hyde counties 

Mt. Mitchell bear sanctuary – McDowell and Yancey 

counties 

(d)  Feral Swine shall not be taken with the use of dogs on bear 

sanctuaries. 

(e)  Dogs shall not be trained or allowed to run unleashed between 

March 1 and the Monday on or nearest October 15 on bear 

sanctuaries located in and west of the counties and parts of 

counties described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.7; 113-

305. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10E - FISHING AND BOATING ACCESS 

AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 10E .0104 USE OF AREAS REGULATED 

(a)  No person shall leave any vehicle, boat trailer or other 

obstruction on any public fishing or boating access area in such a 

location, position or condition that it will prevent or impede the 

use by other persons of any ramp or other facility constructed for 

the purpose of launching or landing boats or fishing. No person 

shall leave parked any vehicle, boat, boat trailer or other object at 

any place on any public fishing or boating access area other than 

on such place or zone as is designated as an authorized parking 

zone and posted or marked as such. 

(b)  No person shall possess a loaded firearm on any public fishing 

or boating access area, except that a handgun may be carried by 

an individual with a valid concealed handgun permit. The 

individual carrying a handgun must adhere to the requirements set 

forth in North Carolina G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing 

the concealed handgun permit is not North Carolina. The 

permission to carry a handgun does not apply to access areas on 

the following game lands: 

(1) Bladen Lakes State Forest 

(2) Buckhorn 
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(3) Butner-Falls of Neuse 

(4) Chatham 

(5) DuPont State Forest 

(6) Harris 

(7) Hyco 

(8) Jordan 

(9) Kerr Scott 

(10) Lee 

(11) Mayo 

(12) Pee Dee River north of U.S 74 

(13) Sutton Lake 

(14) Vance 

(15) the portion of R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell that is 

located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119 

No person shall operate a vehicle on any public fishing or boating 

access area in a manner so as to endanger life or property. 

(c)  No person, when using any public fishing or boating access 

area, shall deposit any debris or refuse anywhere on the grounds 

of the area. No person, when using any public fishing or boating 

access area, shall do any act which is prohibited or neglect to do 

any act which is required by signs or markings placed on such area 

under authority of this Rule for the purpose of regulating the use 

of the area. At any time when all designated parking zones on any 

public fishing or boating access area are full, any person may enter 

and use such facilities, provided such person makes other 

arrangements for parking and violates none of the provisions of 

this Rule or the signs or markings made or posted pursuant hereto. 

(d)  No person shall operate a motorboat in the public waters of 

North Carolina within 50 yards of a Commission-owned or 

managed boat launching ramp at greater than "no wake" speed. 

For the purpose of this Rule, "no wake" speed means idling speed 

or a slow speed creating no appreciable wake. 

(e)  Except where facilities are provided, it is unlawful to use any 

boating access area for purposes other than the launching of boats 

and parking vehicles and boat trailers. All other uses—including 

swimming, skiing, camping, building fires, operating concessions 

or other activities not directly involved with launching of boats—

are prohibited, except that those activities including fish weigh-

ins and for which a permit has been issued may be conducted, 

provided that the permit authorizing such activity is available for 

inspection by wildlife enforcement officers at the time the activity 

is taking place. 

(f)  Except where facilities are provided and approved uses are 

posted, it is unlawful to use any public fishing area for purposes 

other than fishing. All prohibited uses and activities shall be 

posted including possession of loaded firearms (except as allowed 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule), swimming, launching or mooring 

jet skis or boats, skiing, building fires, operating concessions, or 

other activities not directly associated with fishing. 

(g)  It is unlawful to feed or release animals or birds, domesticated 

animals and feral animals on public fishing or boating access areas 

without prior written authorization of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. Written authorization will only be granted to 

persons acting on behalf of the Commission, to persons 

conducting scientific investigations or surveys, and for release of 

rehabilitated wildlife. Written authorization will not be granted 

for any feeding or release that is inimical to the conservation of 

native wildlife resources. For the purpose of enforcing this 

Paragraph, "domesticated animals" does not include pets under 

the control of the owner and raptors or hunting dogs where 

otherwise permitted for hunting or training purposes. 

(h)  The use of gasoline powered motors on Ethridge Pond Public 

Fishing Area and Newbold Pond Public Fishing Area in 

Edgecombe County is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-14; 113-134; 113-264. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18C .0503, amend 

rules cited as 15A NCAC 18C .0703, .0904, .1508, .1509, .1511, 

.1512, .1519, .1525, .1532, .1535, .1537, .1538, .1804, .2001, 

.2002, .2005 .2008, repeal the rule cited as 15A NCAC 18C .0715, 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

18C .0102, .0202, .0203, .0305, .0307, .0402-.0406, .0408, .0409, 

.0601, .0707, .0711, .0713, .0714, .0906, .1002-.1004, .1406, 

.1507, .1515, .1516, .1523, .1524, .1527-.1529 and readopt 

without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18C 

.0706, .0708, and .0803. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

https://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 15, 2019 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: 512 N Salisbury St., Archdale Building, Ground floor 

hearing room, Raleigh, NC 27604 

 

Reason for Proposed Action: 

  

15A NCAC 18C .0102 

No substantive change.  Definitions were updated to fit the rules.  

Correct (b) to adopt only what is not in statute or federally 

defined.  Use AWWA M-14 Backflow Prevention and Cross 

Connection Control for backflow-prevention related definitions. 

(b)(1) and (c)(7) - “Disinfection” is federally defined, and no 

alternate state-specific definition is needed or appropriate. 

(b)(1)-(5) - “Contaminant”, “Maximum contaminant level”, 

“Person”, “Public Water System”, and “Supplier of Water” “are 

defined in statute and are therefore not in rule.   

Note: “Department” does not need a definition in this section 

because it is also defined in statute. 

(c)(2) - Removes the definition of air gap from the definition of 

cross-connection and parallels the language in AWWA M-14. 

(c)(3), (4), (12), and (13) - “Backflow”, “backflow preventer”, 

“high health hazard” and “low health hazard” are from AWWA 

M-14 and are needed for Rule .0406. 
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(c)(8) - “Cross-connection” definition is adjusted to reflect the 

air gap definition in (c)(2).   

(c)(11) - “Fecal coliform” definition is corrected in that E.coli 

are one type of fecal coliforms , as opposed to fecal coliforms 

being a type of E.coli. 

(c)(17) - “Non-regulated public water system” is defined for its 

relevance in Rule .0406, where cross-connection control 

approved by the department is required for provision of water by 

a supplier of water to a customer who in turn serves 15 or more 

connections or 25 or more individuals, and thereby meets the 

statutory definition of a public water system, but who also meets 

the statutory criteria for exclusions for regulation in G.S. 130A-

314.  The definition is created to simplify the language for this 

type of situation in Rule .0406.  

(c)(21) - “Service connection” is amended to include the point at 

which the ownership changes from the supplier of water to the 

customer for metered and unmetered service.  This change was 

requested by stakeholders. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0202 

The physical watershed survey to identify potential sources of 

pollution has been replaced for many years by the availability of 

Source Water Assessment Plans created and updated by the 

Department and available to all suppliers of water listing all 

known sources of pollution in the watershed, as a more 

comprehensive analysis including unseen sources of pollution.  

The source protection text being deleted in this rule has been 

logically replaced by the more detailed requirement in G.S. 130A-

320(c) for each supplier of water treating raw surface water to 

create and implement a source protection plan to respond to the 

known sources of pollution.  Source water protection planning 

rules will be included in this Subchapter as Rule .1305 and are 

ahead of this rule set in the rule development process.  Aligning 

these two rules is required to avoid unnecessary duplication.  

Section .0400 contains details on how the source availability 

relates to demand places and the non-specific, deleted sentence 

on the capacity of the sources is unnecessary in this rule.  

 

15A NCAC 18C .0203 

(a)(2)(L) - Includes a provision for a new 650 ft separation from 

fracking operations.  This separation was chosen to be consistent 

with the setback in the fracking rules: 15A NCAC 05H .1601 

SETBACK DISTANCES. 

(a)(2)(M) – Includes a new clarification that backup generators 

and fuel needed to supply power to a well may by necessity be 

stored onsite during the time that the well needs the generator to 

function.  

(a)(3) - Specifically allows permanent fuel storage on a well site 

for critical emergencies with secondary containment.   

(a)(5) – Revising rule language from “not subject to flooding” to 

“have a greater than 1 percent annual chance of flooding”.  Risk 

of flooding is corrected from the lot to the well.  This change will 

provide more clarity as to how the rule is applied and will limit 

consideration of sites which are not approvable.  

(a)(6) – Deleting text regarding temporary use means that the 

State can approve a permanent variance.  As the paragraph only 

applies when no other approvable source can be identified, the 

ability to use the source permanently is needed.  Allowing reduced 

separation distances increases the risk of contamination of the 

well, therefore the ability to mitigate the increased risk by 

increasing monitoring for contaminants that are now more 

proximate to the well is needed.  Other than the ability to approve 

permanently, the text changes match current implementation. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0305 

(a) - Amended to address stakeholder request to make 

Authorizations to Construct valid for 36 months from the date of 

the letter.  Extensions are routinely requested and granted, and 

this should reduce burden on the applicants and the state.  After 

16 years of implementation, no negative impacts are anticipated. 

In addition, having the Authorization to Construct available for 

review during construction was the intent, not that it posted before 

construction (when there may be nowhere to post), and then 

potentially removed. 

(c) – Clarifying change to reference the rule section that allows 

local governments to adopt a local plan approval program for 

system extensions and other small changes to make current 

language more uniform.  In (7), clarification was added that the 

annual submittal to the state of projects the supplier of water had 

approved under their delegated authority is submitted for 

information and not, in fact, approval. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0307 

(c)(2)(D) – Sentence restructured to address existing lack of 

needed punctuation.  

(c)(6) – The reference to Rule .1526 is deleted, as references to 

keeping and compiling records are throughout the Subchapter. 

(c)(7)(C) is added to simplify the financial plans required to 

obtain plan approval for existing, compliant non-transient non-

community water systems.  Minimizing the detail of the updated 

financial plan to cover only the anticipated impact of the project 

on the ability to finance compliance with the Subchapter should 

streamline the process without compromising capacity 

development review.  

(c)(7)(D) – Typographical corrections and clarifying language 

suggested by stakeholders. 

(e) – Since the rule was adopted, there has been great national 

standardization for emergency response within the National 

Incident Management System (NIMS).  This rule does not require 

that the Emergency Management Plan actually follow NIMS, as it 

may not be appropriate for all systems, however, if a different 

model is used, a decision is made that the national model is not 

appropriate.   

(e)(2) - The requirements for Source Water Protection Plans 

required in accordance with G.S. 130A-320 are in the rulemaking 

process under new Rule .1305.  The requirements for community 

public water systems listed in (e)(1) have been incorporated into 

Rule .1305 and therefore its redundancy with (e) is being 

eliminated.  Rule .1305 is ahead of this rules package. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0402 

Minor technical changes.  

(g)(3) – Fix language inconsistency between this rule and the 

referenced .0409. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0403 

(b) – Removed and relocated to .0601, as the two sections covered 

off stream pre-settling reservoirs.  Paragraphs are re-lettered. 
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15A NCAC 18C .0404 

This rule was opened to address an obsolete rule citation in 

former (k). 

(c)(1) - Fix punctuation. 

(e) - Deleted, as OSHA covers health and safety for confined 

spaces. 

(j) - Deleted as state building codes cover restroom facilities for 

staffed facilities.  Water treatment facilities for a well are neither 

staffed, nor permitted to have restroom facilities on the well lot. 

(i)(2)(C) – Obsolete regulatory reference has been deleted and 

text corrected to maintain the purpose and intent. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0405 

Fix typos and standardize language. 

(a)(6) and (b)(4) - Clarify that the drain valves must not only be 

installed, but must be capable of draining. 

(b)(1) - Update references 

(b)(3) - Short circuiting or dead zones in storage tanks leads to 

bacterial growth and disinfection byproduct formation.  Either 

problem can decrease the safety of the water provided to 

consumers.  The state of practice currently includes at a minimum 

separate inlets and outlets, but this change will ensure analysis is 

presented on the initial submittal to reduce the number of 

comments and response. 

(c)(5) - 13 NCAC 13 covers construction and inspection 

requirements of the N.C. Dept. of Labor and the text has been 

corrected to reflect this. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0406 

.0406(b) - Substantial rewording to what has been a confusing 

rule for the regulated community.  The changes are designed to 

more explicitly explain what potential cross connections require 

state review, and their requirements.  The implementation of the 

state plumbing code at the local level is the primary means by 

which backflow prevention is regulated.  The revised rule defers 

to AWWA Manual of Supply Practices: M-14 recommended 

Practice for Backflow Prevention and Cross-Connection Control 

(M-14) for any situations where backflow prevention assemblies 

in a building under the plumbing code do not provide protection 

to the water system.  The supplier of water has the responsibility 

to ensure that its distribution system is protected from the hazards 

that may be created if allowing a cross connection.  

(a) – Updates text to the current and appropriate standards.  

Disallows the use of new asbestos cement pipe due to asbestos 

concerns. 

(b) – With so many editing changes and text relocations, to aid 

with review, the entire section is stricken and the entirety of the 

amended text is added.  (b) provides the introductory requirement 

from which the rest of Paragraph (b) follows.  The second 

sentence is verbatim from stricken .0406(b)(2). 

(1) – The North Carolina Plumbing Code has requirements 

designed to protect the building from cross connections between 

hazards and the consumers of water.  The placement of the 

backflow prevention assembly for compliance with the NC 

Plumbing Code will protect both the consumers of water as well 

as the distribution system of the supplier of water.  Review for 

plumbing code compliance is handled outside of DEQ and does 

not need duplicative DEQ review.  This is consistent with current 

paragraph (b)(1). 

(2) – Clarifies the types of connections that require Departmental 

review, as the existing rule language is confusing.  The focus of 

state review is on connections where there is another source of 

supply or large service area.  A non-public community water 

system is defined in Rule .0102.  This clarification is consistent 

with current practice, except AWWA-M14 was not explicitly 

allowed in lieu of case-specific state review.  This clarifies 

portions of current paragraphs (b)(1), (2), (3) and (4). 

(3) – This section covers both the standards applicable to 

situations where the plumbing code does not apply, as well as 

cross connection situations needing backflow prevention but 

where state review is not needed.  The current rules were not 

sufficiently explicit for situations that are not covered by the 

plumbing code, but are handled as part of typical daily 

management of the distribution system and do not require 

Departmental review.  This part clarifies and includes portions of 

paragraphs (b)(3) and (7). 

(3)(A) – Specifies the standards that backflow prevention 

assemblies must meet.   

(3)(B) – Specifies the standards which must be followed for 

installation.  Several AWWA and ASSE standards are given, 

which apply to different types of backflow prevention assemblies.  

The supplier of water must follow the appropriate standard that 

corresponds to the backflow prevention assembly they are 

installing. 

(3)(C) – Covers hazards related to the water treatment process.  

The supplier of water must ensure that the appropriate assembly 

is provided in accordance with AWWA M-14. 

(3)(D) – This paragraph is similar in wording and unchanged in 

intent from the existing rule in .0406(b)(7) 

(3)(E) – This paragraph is similar in wording and unchanged in 

intent from the existing rule in .0406(b)(3) except that installation 

requirements have been relocated to (3)(F). 

(3)(F) – Covers installation, taking some language that was 

included in the prior rule and in Appendix B, and centralizing. 

(3)(G) – Covers installation, incorporating Appendix B, Figure 2, 

and adding the flexibility of using pressure vacuum breaker 

assemblies, as allowable for backsiphonage-only situations. 

(4) – Specifies that no connections shall be made to a distribution 

system without the approval and authorization of the supplier of 

water.  The supplier of water cannot protect against cross 

connections if connections are made without their knowledge and 

consent.  From former (b)(4). 

(5) – A new section on record-keeping ensures that the work that 

is done to protect the distribution system from cross connections 

on an ongoing basis is documented.  Record-keeping 

requirements apply to any supplier of water that has five or more 

testable assemblies required by the rule, regardless of the 

ownership or control of each assembly, for any activity listed 

which the supplier of water performs.  If the activity is not 

performed, the supplier of water shall document that fact within 

their record-keeping.  Record-keeping requirements include 

documenting implementation aspects of a cross connection 

control program.  

(6) – A new requirement for the supplier of water to alert the state 

if there is a known backflow incident into the public water system, 

and to prepare a report for the state about the incident if 

requested.  This notification has typically occurred, but as 

backflow has the potential to cause serious harm to the consuming 
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public, it is important for the state to be aware, in case additional 

public notifications are deemed warranted. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0408 

Amends the definition of “lead free” to match the new federal 

definition that took effect January 4, 2014.  The federal definition 

is currently in effect and legally applicable.  Fixtures may not be 

sold for drinking water use which do not meet this criterion.  The 

state rule is being updated to match the federal definition. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0409 

Changes to this section explicitly include the criteria needed to 

request a variance from the Rule that has been done historically 

under Rule .0502 on a case-by-case basis, thereby streamlining 

the permitting process, and making the availability of a variance 

process clearer to all. 

 (b)(2) - Changed wording to address inconsistent terminology 

between the text and the Table and allows the calculation to be 

used for systems with only one type of service connection without 

extra work to request the flexibilities of current Rule .0502. 

(c) - Clarifies that Table 1 is not intended for residential 

connections with in-ground irrigation systems or multifamily 

resort homes, and alerts design engineers to ensure that flows are 

sufficient for the intended connections.  There have been several 

instances where resort rental homes or homes with in-ground 

irrigation have caused serious pressure problems for a system 

when the flow rates were calculated only using Table 1.  Such 

problems are much more difficult and expensive to address later.  

(d) - Clarifies existing procedures which allows a supplier of 

water to recalculate demands and recover yield for additional 

development once sufficient data on the actual demands is on 

hand to update the calculations with site-specific data. 

(e) - Rule allows suppliers of water to use low flow fixtures or 

other flow reduction technologies to calculate more efficient 

water use than given in Table 1, if designed and sealed by a PE.  

This change was required in accordance with 2017 Regulatory 

Reform Bill (Session Law 2017-10 – Senate Bill 131).  The 

requirement of the paragraph is substantively identical, however, 

the language has been simplified from what was in the bill, as 

there were unclarified redundancies which would have been 

difficult for the regulated community to follow.  Session Law 

2018-34 also directed changes be made to accommodate lower 

flow fixtures in new construction. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0503  

Rule .0715 has been deleted and the text relocated to new Rule 

.0503, including updated citations for the referenced standards.  

By changing the applicability of the rule language from the .0700 

Section to the overall Supplemental Criteria, the regulated 

community may use the familiar and nationally accepted AWWA 

and 10 States’ Standards for infrastructure design for other 

sections of the rules than just those in Section .0700.  The new 

wording also allows use of these national standards in lieu of the 

specific state standard, and not only when state standards do not 

exist.  This rule change is paired with the repeal of Rule .0715.   

Design engineers always could propose the use of alternate 

standards under Rule .0502, but this change makes that 

availability clearer to the regulated community. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0601 

(a) - Relocated from .0403 to have all the rules related to pre-

settling reservoirs in one place.  Redundancy is removed. 

(b) - Added to allow for the consideration of engineered solution 

alternatives to pre-treatment reservoirs. 

(c) – Allows a supplier of water who is increasing the treatment 

capacity at an existing treatment facility to demonstrate the ability 

of the treatment facility to treat the water effectively without a 

corresponding increase to the size of the pre-settling reservoir. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0703 

Because design consistent with 10 States Standards is explicitly 

allowed, the theoretical detention period is relaxed slightly for 

consistency.  These flexibilities have been permitted under Rule 

.0502, but this explicit addition makes it clearer to the regulated 

community. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0706  

Rule was opened to allow for public comment.  No change is made 

to the rule.  To address any concerns regarding allowed use of 

new technologies, Rule .0503 has been added (primarily from 

previous Rule .0715), in combination with Rule .0502, to clarify 

the availability of flexibility. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0707 

(b) and (c) - Amended for consistency with 10 States Standards: 

the weir loading rate is relaxed slightly for consistency and the 

exclusion for WS-IV in Rule .0711 is removed.  These flexibilities 

have been permitted under Rule .0502, but this explicit addition 

makes it clearer to the regulated community. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0708  

Rule was opened to allow for public comment.  No substantive 

change is made to the rule.  To address any concerns regarding 

allowed use of new technologies, Rule .0502 currently exists, and 

Rule .0503 has been added to clarify the availability of flexibility. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0711 

(1) - Amended consistent with the changes in Rule .0202, whereby 

statutorily mandated source water protection planning under 

proposed Rule .1305 for surface waters is required, and 

eliminates the need for additional sanitary survey of the 

watershed.  Reference is made to the proposed Rule .1305, which 

is being adopted pursuant to G.S. 130A-320. 

To address any concerns regarding allowed use of new 

technologies, Rule .0502 exists and Rule .0503 has been added to 

clarify the availability of flexibility. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0713 

This rule removes the prohibition against use of pressure filters 

in treating surface water, and instead allows pressure filters in 

treatment of surface waters following coagulation and 

flocculation.  Membranes have become a proven technology since 

the rule was passed in 1994 and have already been approved 

under the general flexibility of Rule .0502 and Rule .0715. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0714 

Changed to reflect compliance data that are needed to conclude 

the treatment meets regulatory criteria. 
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(c) The rule is updated to reference all the removal and 

removal/inactivation criteria necessary for compliance under 

Section .2000.  The change maintains the concept that the purpose 

of a pilot study is to ensure that the plant is capable of meeting all 

the established regulatory performance criteria for surface water 

treatment.   

(e) Rule .1507 requires a study be conducted when changing 

source or treatment to determine if adjustment to the corrosion 

control strategy is warranted.  This paragraph ensures the 

regulated community is aware of the provision and that the pilot 

study will yield the complete data set necessary for final 

determination.   

 

15A NCAC 18C .0715 

This rule is deleted and the text is relocated to a new .0503 rule. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0803 

No change proposed.  Rule was opened for public review.   

 

15A NCAC 18C .0904 

Changes to this section explicitly include the criteria needed to 

request a variance from the Rule that has been done historically 

under Rule .0502 on a case-by-case basis, thereby streamlining 

the permitting process, and making the availability of a variance 

process known to all. 

(a) - Adds a provision to allow engineering solutions to be applied 

for a deviation from the requirement to maintain 30 inches of 

cover.  This will allow additional flexibility when 30 inches of 

cover is not possible but an engineering solution is available.  

Such deviations have been approvable on a case-by-case basis 

under .0502, however explicit rule language clarifies the 

requirement and availability of such deviation. 

(b) Ensures that 12 inches of separation in all directions from 

other utilities is maintained around the water pipe such that the 

other utilities can be accessed and maintained without causing 

damage or disruption to the water line.  This is what is currently 

included in Standard Specifications 

(c) - Specifies the data and criteria that must be submitted to 

justify a deviation. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0906 

Changes to this section explicitly include the criteria needed to 

request a variance from the Rule that has been done historically 

under Rule .0502 on a case-by-case basis, thereby streamlining 

the permitting process, and making the availability of a variance 

process known to all. 

(a) – Defines sewer to exclude reclaimed water lines and storm 

sewers from the definition of sewer, and clarify the applicability 

of the sewer separations. 

(c) – Paragraphs (b) and (c) have been replaced with new 

Paragraph (c) for crossings.  The requirement for crossings is 

streamlined and the requirement to center ferrous material sewer 

pipes at the crossing has been removed, as it predates widespread 

and acceptable use of plastic pipe.   The requirement now contains 

an 18-inch pipe separation and a centering of the water pipe 

across the sewer.  Water systems have often requested and been 

granted such deviation historically.  This change formalizes what 

has been common practice. 

(d)- Storm sewer pipes are separated from the definition of 

“sewer” and are subject to requirements for ground cover and 

protective radius for water lines from other utilities as covered in 

Rule .0904.  Storm drainage pipes are not seen as fundamentally 

riskier than drainage ditches which are prevalent in road rights-

of-way, where water pipes are typically located. 

(e) – Reclaimed water distribution lines are separated from the 

definition of “sewer”.  Standard separation distances are 

specified, consistent with prior regulation.  The language from the 

reclaimed water rules is paralleled for when separation can’t be 

maintained.  Paragraph (f) is available for special conditions.  

(f) – This Paragraph allows the engineer to demonstrate how they 

have used alternative design/ construction criteria to protect 

public health when separation distances cannot be maintained.  

Separation distances under the current rule have been very 

difficult to obtain in some instances and deviations have 

commonly been sought and granted under the authority of Rule 

.0502.  The new language is designed to simplify the rule in 

accordance with typical deviations granted and explicitly address 

the applicability of storm sewers and reclaimed water lines to 

separation requirements. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1002 

Provides additional clarity regarding how to disinfect wells, while 

lowering the amount of chlorine needed to adequately disinfect a 

well.  Reducing chlorine levels to only what is needed for 

disinfection will result in less highly chlorinated water needing 

disposal. Revised text references standards which will help keep 

the rule up-to-date.  Maintaining records for three years will 

allow state inspectors to review materials during routine 

inspections. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1003 

Reducing chlorine levels to only what is needed for disinfection 

when water in tanks and pipes could have been exposed to 

pathogenic organisms will result in less highly chlorinated water 

needing disposal.  The new rule matches and uses by reference 

national American Water Works Association standards.  

Reference to the AWWA standards will keep the rule up-to-date.  

Maintaining records for three years will allow state inspectors to 

review materials during routine inspections. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1004 

The new rule matches and uses by reference national American 

Water Works Association standards.  Reference to the AWWA 

standards will keep the rule up-to-date.  Plants disinfect and filter 

to waste now, and the AWWA standard provides additional 

flexibility. The new language includes not just filters, which often 

cannot be disinfected without negatively affecting the filter media, 

but ensures that anytime activity is undertaken which may allow 

the introduction of pathogens into the treatment works, proper 

disinfection occurs.  Maintaining records for three years will 

allow state inspectors to review materials during routine 

inspections. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1406 

Stakeholders have requested monthly reporting and reduction in 

the current rule requirement of 1.0 mg/l of fluoride to match CDC 

guidance.  The prior rule left uncertainly as to what decisions the 
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state might make.  This rule addresses the uncertainly by outlining 

the typical decisions.  It also allows other certified labs to be used 

if the supplier of water so chooses. 

(a) Rule changes accommodate the CDC conclusions regarding 

safe fluoride levels in drinking water by reducing the target 

amount from 1.0 mg/l to 0.7 mg/l.  As it is extremely difficult to 

maintain exact and unchanging levels of any feed chemical, a 

small allowable operational range is added, consistent with CDC 

recommendations.  DEQ allowed the dose reduction to the new 

recommended level by formal policy when CDC initially released 

their conclusions.   

(c) Where the prior rule was non-specific as to the actual 

sampling requirements, and left the requirement to state decision-

making, this rule details the sampling requirements.  These 

criteria reflect practice, but provide the regulated community with 

clarity and specificity regarding the requirement.   

(c)(2) Current rules require split sampling even when the system 

uses a certified lab to analyze the samples.  This requirement is 

deleted.  In addition, the change allows a system needing to 

perform split sampling to use any certified lab of their choice, and 

not only the State Lab. 

(c)(3) Historically, some distribution system monitoring was 

required.  Fluoride is often used in tracer studies because of the 

consistency of the readings in the system.  Thus, distribution 

system monitoring to ensure the operating range is maintained is 

only indicated where the entry point samples would not be 

reflective of the fluoride levels in the distribution system.   

(c)(4) An annual raw water sample is included as recommended 

by the CDC to help ensure that informed decisions on dosing are 

made. 

(c)(5) The intent of split sampling is to ensure that the field test 

methods are reading accurately by comparing against certified 

lab results.  If the field results are inaccurate, the water system 

must investigate and come to resolution. 

(e) This change allows most the reporting to be done monthly 

within the eMOR (electronic monthly reporting) instead of weekly 

by paper, and should greatly simplify reporting.  As with all 

sampling in 18C, sampling required to be reported by certified 

labs must be submitted by the laboratory.   

(f) To ensure proper response to a fluoride overfeed, which 

creates acute health concern, the rule adds a requirement for 

reporting of elevated levels to the state within 24 hours instead of 

the 48 hours otherwise required. 

(h) This paragraph adds a new requirement to provide 

notification regarding the decision to stop feeding fluoride in the 

same manner notification was provided to initiate the fluoride 

addition.  It is important that the public health community is 

aware of the status of fluoride feed for all public water systems so 

they can respond appropriately to the change. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1507 

(a) - This paragraph has been revised to address a perceived lack 

of clarity on how a pH of 6.5 in this rule and a pH of 7.0 in federal 

Subpart I relate.  EPA has requested this clarifying change. 

(d) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language. 

15A NCAC 18C .1508 

(b) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language.   

 

15A NCAC 18C .1509 

(a), (b), (d) - Replaces rule text with adoption by reference of the 

federal rule, which is substantively identical.  

(c) Renumbered to (b). 

(e) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1511 

(b) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1512 

(b) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1515 

Text is revised to match the federal rule, which does not require 3 

additional samples.  Program review has showed the state has 

been following federal rule implementation, and has not been 

requiring 3 samples, with no known detriment. 

(b) - Rule .1517 no longer exists and its reference has been 

deleted.  Reporting in Paragraph (b) refers to results for the list 

of analytes in Paragraph (a)  

 

15A NCAC 18C .1516 

(a) and (b) - Text is revised to update the citation to match the 

federal rule.  40 C.F.R 141.40(n)(10) no longer exists and its 

reference is deleted.  EPA has historically implemented the 

Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule, and therefore the 

requirements to the public water systems have matched the 

current federal regulations.   

(c) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1519 

The current rule both defines the federal rule by reference in (a), 

but also describes the federal rule in text in (c).  That redundancy 

is removed.  Dates specified in the federal rule were for initial 

rule implementation, which is long since passed. 
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 (b) - The schedule set forth in (c) is the same requirement as in 

the federal law adopted by reference, negating the need for listing 

redundant criteria for adjacent systems. 

 (c) - Not applied as it is redundant with and superseded by the 

federal regulations.  There is no need to maintain this language. 

(d) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1523 

(a) - 141.32 no longer exists.  Replaces text with the current EPA 

citation for Public Notification Requirements, combines former 

paragraphs (a) and (b), and re-letters the paragraphs.  No change 

in the requirement. 

(b) - Adds schools and daycares to the residences notified under 

current rule, simplifies the language, and clarifies the special 

notification requirement is for samples that must be reported to 

the state.  Special samples, other than lead or copper special 

samples, are not included in this notification requirement.  

Federal rules require that all lead and copper samples be 

reported to the state and owner of the tap.  Special samples may 

or may not follow all required sampling criteria or analytical 

methods and there is no reasonable way for the state to provide 

oversight.   

The individual to be notified is amended from the person 

authorizing the sample to the billing customer at the sampled 

address, to ensure that those being exposed to the water are the 

ones receiving the notification. 

The proposed changes the special public notice for coliform 

bacteria to E. coli only, because under the Revised Total Coliform 

Rule, EPA has eliminated the total coliform MCL due to the lack 

of negative health impact.  Positive samples are instead used as a 

trigger for additional evaluation. 

(b)(1) - Clarifies that if proper written contact is completed within 

24 hours, the supplier of water does not also need to call. 

(b)(2) - Redundant language is deleted, as language above 

already states who receives the results. 

The state has never received a waiver request and granting of a 

waiver could allow a landlord to hide from their tenants a 

potential health risk.   

 

15A NCAC 18C .1524 

The federal rule had been adopted by text instead of by reference.  

This changes the rule to an adoption by reference of the current 

federal requirements.  EPA has historically implemented the 

Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule (UCMR), and 

therefore the requirements to the public water systems have 

matched the current federal regulations.  The federal language 

has been updated to cover the next round of unregulated 

contaminant monitoring (UCMR4).  Updating this rule allows the 

State to enter into agreements with EPA to assist with 

implementation. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1525 

Since the rule was last amended, all labs report all analytical 

results electronically in accordance with G.S. 130A-329, greatly 

streamlining and simplifying the reporting process.  Data that is 

uploaded is available for viewing by the water utility and the 

public within 15 minutes of the data upload.  This allows not only 

full transparency of the data as soon as it is available, but allows 

the public water systems to verify that the data has been uploaded 

by the certified laboratory during the compliance period, and 

thereby ensure they remain in compliance.  Several labs now 

report data more frequently than the 10th of the month following 

the completion of the analysis, but some still perform only one 

data upload once per month.  For example, for any sample over a 

regulatory threshold, labs have a maximum of 48 hours to report.  

As the public water system is ultimately responsible for the 

timeliness of the submittal, having data submitted more quickly is 

critical to giving water systems real-time ability to view submitted 

data before the end of the compliance period and provide the 

ability to avoid unnecessary monitoring or reporting violations 

due to failures of the lab to report in a timely fashion.  When 

submittals were by paper and tracked manually, it would have 

been a burden to report on a weekly basis.  Now that all labs 

submit analyses electronically, files can be uploaded once per 

week instead of once per month, with a negligible impact on 

resources. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1527 

Changes the rule to an adoption of the federal text by reference 

with exceptions.  As allowed by federal rules, the rule clarifies 

that a certified operator or other person instructed by the 

department or certified lab in sample collection is allowed to 

collect samples for certain contaminants that do not require 

analysis by a certified laboratory. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1528  

The federal rule had been adopted by text instead of by reference.  

This change instead adopts the federal rule by reference. Wording 

is substantively identical. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1529 

(a) - The federal rule had been adopted by text instead of by 

reference.  This change instead adopts the federal rule by 

reference.  Wording is substantively identical. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1532 

The rule is amended to use the current appropriate language for 

an adoption by reference and delete the reference to a repealed 

rule.  While G.S. 150B-21.6 provides the context for the current, 

outdated citation to remain, we believe it is clearer to remove 

repealed rules and update with the appropriate language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1535 

The rule is amended to use the current appropriate language for 

an adoption by reference and delete the reference to a repealed 

rule.  While G.S. 150B-21.6 provides the context for the current, 

outdated citation to remain, we believe it is clearer to remove 

repealed rules and update with the appropriate language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1537 

Conversations with staff at ANSI/NSF resulted in their 

recommendation that small changes were made for greater 

technical accuracy and clarification.  These changes reflect the 

small clarifying changes they recommended. 
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15A NCAC 18C .1538 

(b) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1804 

This rule is amended to no longer require a supplier of water with 

delegated local approval authority for plan approval to submit 

each approved set of plans to the state.  Instead, an annual notice 

will be provided listing plans which constructed or altered the 

distribution system.  If the state has need to review a specific set 

of plans, they will be provided upon request.  As the state does not 

typically have need for the actual plans, most systems got out of 

the habit of submitting them.  This change, therefore, reflects the 

general state of practice.  

 

15A NCAC 18C .2001 

The rule is amended to use the current appropriate language for 

an adoption by reference and delete the reference to a repealed 

rule.  While G.S. 150B-21.6 provides the context for the current, 

outdated citation to remain, we believe it is clearer to remove 

repealed rules and update with the appropriate language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2002 

If more systems introduce alternative disinfection methods into 

their treatment process under the flexibilities of Rule .0503, in 

accordance with EPA guidance, a minimum of 0.5 log removal 

for Giardia shall continue to be provided from chemical 

disinfection to ensure multiple barriers to contamination exist.  

The 0.5 log Giardia removal has been met by the needed chemical 

disinfection for viruses.  As Section 18C is amended to enhance 

engineers’ ability to use alternative designs when they can 

demonstrate treatment effectiveness, adding this provision will 

ensure design engineers continue to maintain chemical 

disinfection as part of the primary treatment system. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2005 

The rule is amended to use the current appropriate language for 

an adoption by reference and delete the reference to a repealed 

rule.  While G.S. 150B-21.6 provides the context for the current, 

outdated citation to remain, we believe it is clearer to remove 

repealed rules and update with the appropriate language. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2008 

(a)-(e) - Citations for reference materials are updated to include 

review through the Department or through EPA. 

(f) - Deleted to conform to a statutory relaxation in the definition 

of a public water system to match the federal definition.  The 

program has been implemented in accordance with the statute 

since its passage, and this change will clean up the unnecessary 

residual rule language. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Frick, Public Water 

Supply Section, 1634 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1634, phone (919) 707-9102, email jay.frick@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends: February 1, 2019 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18C - WATER SUPPLIES 

 

SECTION .0100 - PROTECTION OF PUBLIC WATER 

SUPPLIES 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0102 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The definitions contained in G.S. 130A-2, G.S. 130A-290, 

and G.S. 130A-313 are hereby incorporated by reference 

including any subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are 

available for public inspection at the principal address of the 

Division of Water Resources at 512 North Salisbury Street, 

Raleigh NC 27604-1170; 1634 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 

27699-1634; or at the website of the Division at 

www.ncwater.org. 

(b)  The definitions contained in 40 C.F.R. 141.2 are hereby 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions except the following definitions are not adopted: 

(1) "Disinfection;" "Contaminant;" 

(2) "Maximum containment contaminant level;" 

(3) "Person;" 

(4) "Public Water System;" and  

(5) "Supplier of water." 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 18C 

.0102 Paragraph (a) of this Section. Rule. In addition, copies of 

governing federal regulations may be obtained from the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency's (USEPA) homepage at 

http://water.epa.gov/lawsregs/rulesregs/sdwa/index.cfm or from 

the USEPA's Drinking Water Hotline at 1-800-426-4791. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1155 

(c)  In addition to the definitions incorporated by reference as set 

forth in Paragraph (a), (a) of this Rule, the following definitions 

shall apply to this Subchapter: 

(1) "Act" means the North Carolina Drinking 

Water Act. 

(2) "Air gap" means the unobstructed vertical 

distance through free atmosphere between the 

lowest effective opening from any pipe or 

faucet conveying a water or waste to a tank, 

plumbing fixture, receptor, or any other 

assembly and the flood level of the receptacle 

where the vertical, physical separation is at least 

twice the effective inside opening of the water 

supply outlet and never less than one inch (25 

mm) above the receiving vessel flood rim. 

(3) "Backflow" means the undesirable reversal of 

flow of a liquid, gas, or other substance in a 

potable water distribution piping system as a 

result of a cross-connection. 

(4) "Backflow preventer" means an assembly, 

device, or method designed to prevent the 

backflow of water into potable water supply 

systems. The definitions of specific backflow 

preventer types provided in the AWWA 

Manual of Water Supply Practices M14: 

Recommended Practice for Backflow 

Prevention and Cross Connection Control are 

hereby incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. An 

approved backflow prevention assembly is a 

backflow prevention device which has been 

designed and constructed by the manufacturer 

as a complete assembly with no field 

modifications and consists of internally loaded, 

independently operating check valves located 

between fully ported, tightly closing, resilient 

seated shutoff valves, and resilient-seated test 

cocks. 

(2)(5) "Class I reservoir" means a reservoir from 

which water flows by gravity or is pumped 

directly to a treatment plant or to a small 

intervening storage basin and thence to a 

treatment plant. 

(3)(6) "Class II reservoir" means a reservoir from 

which the water flows by gravity or is pumped 

to a Class I reservoir prior to final entrance to a 

water treatment plant. 

(4)(7) "Class III reservoir" means an impoundment 

used for electric power generation, flood 

control, and similar purposes, and that serves as 

a source of raw water for a community water 

system. 

(5)(8) "Cross-connection" means: 

(A) any physical connection between a 

potable water supply system and any 

other piping system, sewer fixture, 

container, or device, whereby water or 

other liquids, mixtures, or substances 

may flow into or enter the potable 

water supply system; 

(B) any potable water supply outlet which 

is submerged or is designed or 

intended to be submerged in non-

potable water or in any source of 

contamination; or 

(C) an air gap, providing a space between 

the potable water pipe outlet and the 

flood level rim of a receiving vessel of 

less than twice the diameter of the 

potable water pipe. required in 

Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule. 

(6)(9) "Community Water System intake" means the 

structure at the head of a conduit into which 

water is diverted from a stream or reservoir for 

transmission to water treatment facilities. 

(7) "Disinfection" means a process that inactivates 

pathogenic organisms in water. 

(10) "Division" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of Water 

Resources. 

(8)(11) "Fecal Coliform" means bacteria found in the 

intestine of humans and other warm blooded 

warm-blooded animals that are not normally 

disease producing but serve as indicators of 

recent fecal contamination. Fecal Coliforms 

include the Family Enterobacteriaceae, Genus 

Escherichia Escherichia, Species Coli. coli. 

(12) High-Health Hazard: An actual or potential 

cross-connection involving any substance that 

could cause illness, death, spread disease, or 

would be a danger to the public health if 

introduced into the potable water supply. 

(13) Low-Health Hazard: An actual or potential 

cross-connection involving any substance that 

could negatively affect the aesthetics of the 

public water system. 

(9)(14) "Mobile Home Park" means a site or tract of 

land where spaces are provided for lease or 

rental only to mobile home occupants. 

(10)(15) "Mobile home subdivision" means a subdivided 

site or tract of land in which lots are sold for use 

by mobile home occupants. 

(11)(16) "Non-potable water supply" means waters not 

approved for drinking or and other household 

uses. 

(17) "Non-regulated public water system" means a 

system for the provision to the public of water 

for human consumption through pipes or other 

constructed conveyances if the system serves 

15 or more service connections or which 

regularly serves 25 or more individuals, but to 

which the scope of the Article 10- North 

Carolina Drinking Water Act does not apply 

due to the regulatory exclusion criteria in G.S. 

130A-314. 

(12)(18) "Potable water supply" means water approved 

for drinking or and other household uses. 
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(13)(19) "Raw water" means surface water or 

groundwater that because of bacteriological 

quality, chemical quality, turbidity, color, or 

mineral content makes it unsatisfactory as a 

source for a community water system without 

treatment. 

(14)(20) "Raw water reservoir" means a natural or 

artificial impoundment used for the primary 

purpose of storing raw water to be subsequently 

treated for use as a source for a community 

water system. 

(15)(21) "Service connection" means a piped connection 

from a water main for the purpose of conveying 

water to a building or onto a premise for human 

use. 

(A) For metered service, the service 

connection begins at the point 

immediately downstream of the meter. 

(B) For unmetered service, the service 

connection begins at the point of 

connection to the potable water supply 

system. 

(16)(22) "Water supply product" means any chemical or 

substance added to a public water system in 

conjunction with a treatment technique or 

material used in construction of a public water 

system. The term includes any material used in 

the manufacture of public water system 

components, appurtenances, any pipe, storage 

tank or valve that comes in contact with water 

intended for use in a public water system. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-311 through 130A-327; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141.2. 

 

SECTION .0200 – LOCATION OF SOURCES OF PUBLIC 

WATER SUPPLIES 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0202 REMOVAL OF DISSOLVED 

MATTER AND SUSPENDED MATTER SURFACE 

SUPPLIES FROM CLASSIFIED WATERSHEDS 

Any surface water that is to receive treatment for removal of 

dissolved matter or suspended matter in order to be used for a 

public water system shall be obtained from a source that meets the 

WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V stream classification 

standards established by the Environmental Management 

Commission codified in 15A NCAC 02B. Copies are available for 

public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 .0102(a) of this 

Subchapter. The source shall be protected from potential sources 

of pollution as determined by a sanitary survey of the watershed 

made by an authorized representative of the Department. The 

source supply shall be sufficient in capacity to satisfy the 

anticipated needs of the users for the period of design. A supplier 

of water initiating a new surface water supply shall complete the 

contaminant source inventory of their source water protection 

plan in accordance with Rule .1305(c)(1) of this Subchapter prior 

to designing the treatment processes. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-318; P.L. 93-523. 

15A NCAC 18C .0203 PUBLIC WELL WATER 

SUPPLIES 

(a)  Any site or sites for any water supply well to be used as a 

community or non-transient, non-community water system shall 

be investigated by an authorized representative of the Division of 

Water Resources. Department. Approval by the Division 

Department is required in addition to any approval or permit 

issued by any other state agency. The site shall meet the following 

requirements at the time of approval: 

(1) The well shall be located on a lot so that the area 

within 100 feet of the well shall be owned or 

controlled by the person supplying the water. 

The supplier of water shall be able to protect the 

well lot from potential sources of pollution and 

to construct landscape features for drainage and 

diversion of pollution. 

(2) The minimum horizontal separation between 

the well and known potential sources of 

pollution shall be as follows: 

(A) 100 feet from any sanitary sewage 

disposal system, sewer, or a sewer 

pipe unless the sewer is constructed of 

water main materials and joints, in 

which case the sewer pipe shall be at 

least 50 feet from the well; 

(B) 200 feet from a subsurface sanitary 

sewage treatment and disposal system 

designed for 3000 or more gallons of 

wastewater a day flows, unless it is 

determined that the well water source 

utilizes a confined aquifer; 

(C) 500 feet from a septage disposal site; 

(D) 100 feet from buildings, mobile 

homes, permanent structures, animal 

houses or lots, or cultivated areas to 

which chemicals are applied; 

(E) 100 feet from surface water; 

(F) 100 feet from a chemical or petroleum 

fuel underground storage tank with 

secondary containment; 

(G) 500 feet from a chemical or petroleum 

fuel underground storage tank without 

secondary containment; 

(H) 500 feet from the boundary of a 

ground water contamination area; 

(I) 500 feet from a sanitary landfill or 

non-permitted non-hazardous solid 

waste disposal site; 

(J) 1000 feet from a hazardous waste 

disposal site or in any location which 

conflicts with the North Carolina 

Hazardous Waste Management Rules 

cited as 15A NCAC 13A; 

(K) 300 feet from a cemetery or burial 

ground; and 

(L) 650 feet from any site used for 

underground gas exploration or 

hydraulic fracturing, including wells, 
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discharges, materials or vehicle 

storage or transport; and 

(L)(M) 100 feet from any other potential 

source of pollution. pollution, except 

that backup generators and fuel to 

power the well may be stored 

temporarily onsite during a period of 

power outage. 

(3) The Department may approve a permanent 

variance for back-up generators and generator 

fuel storage with secondary containment within 

the well lot when the well is critical to 

maintaining emergency supplies, is periodically 

subject to loss of power during emergencies, 

and the supplier of water is unable to provide 

storage outside of the 100-foot radius of the 

well while maintaining emergency capabilities 

of the well. 

(3)(4) The Department may require greater separation 

distances or impose other protective measures 

when necessary to protect the well from 

pollution; the Department shall consider as 

follows: 

(A) The hazard or health risk associated 

with the source of pollution; 

(B) The proximity of the potential source 

to the well; 

(C) The type of material, facility or 

circumstance that poses the source or 

potential source of pollution; 

(D) The volume or size of the source or 

potential source of pollution; 

(E) Hydrogeological features of the site 

which could affect the movement of 

contaminants to the source water; 

(F) The effect that well operation might 

have on the movement of 

contamination; and 

(G) The feasibility of providing additional 

separation distances or protective 

measures. 

(4)(5) The lot shall be graded or sloped so that surface 

water is diverted away from the wellhead. The 

lot well shall not have greater than a one percent 

annual chance of flooding. be subject to 

flooding. 

(5)(6) When the supplier of water is unable to locate 

water from any other approved source and 

when an existing well can no longer provide 

water that meets the requirements of this 

Subchapter, a representative of the Division 

may approve a variance for a smaller well lot 

and reduced separation distances for temporary 

use. to meet existing demands. Additional 

monitoring under this Part or other conditions 

may be imposed to mitigate the increased risk 

from the variance. 

(b)  The Division of Water Resources may grant a variance from 

the minimum horizontal separation distances for public water 

supply wells set out in 15A NCAC 18C .0203(a)(2)(D) and 15A 

NCAC 18C .0203(a)(2)(E) Parts (a)(2)(D) and (E) of this Rule. 

(1) Such variance shall require the following 

findings: 

(A) The well supplies water to a non-

community water system as defined in 

G.S. 130A-313(10)(b) or supplies 

water to a business or institution, such 

as a school, that has become a non-

community water system through an 

increase in the number of people 

served by the well. 

(B) It is impracticable, taking into 

consideration feasibility and cost, for 

the public water system to comply 

with the minimum horizontal 

separation distance set out in the 

applicable sub-subpart of 15A NCAC 

18C .0203 Subparagraph (a)(2) of this 

Rule. 

(C) There is no reasonable alternative 

source of drinking water available to 

the public water supply system. 

(D) The granting of the variance will not 

result in an unreasonable risk to public 

health. 

(2) Such variance shall require that the non-

community public water supply well meet the 

following requirements: 

(A) The well shall comply with the 

minimum horizontal separation 

distances set out in 15A NCAC 18C 

.0203(a)(2)(D) and 15A NCAC 18C 

.0203(a)(2)(E)  Parts (a)(2)(D) and (E) 

of this Rule to the maximum extent 

practicable. 

(B) The well shall meet a minimum 

horizontal separation distance of 25 

feet from a building, mobile home, or 

other permanent structure that is not 

used primarily to house animals. 

(C) The well shall meet a minimum 

horizontal separation distance of 100 

feet from any animal house or feedlot 

and from cultivated areas to which 

chemicals are applied. 

(D) The well shall meet a minimum 

horizontal separation distance of 50 

feet from surface water. 

(E) The well shall comply with all other 

requirements for public well water 

supplies set out in 15A NCAC 18C 

.0203(a) Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-318; P.L. 93-523; S.L. 2011-394. 

 

SECTION .0300 - SUBMISSION OF PLANS: 

SPECIFICATIONS: AND REPORTS  
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15A NCAC 18C .0305 APPROVALS NECESSARY 

BEFORE CONTRACTING OR CONSTRUCTING 

(a)  No construction shall be undertaken, and no contract for 

construction, alteration, or installation shall be entered into unless 

the Department determines the system complies with G.S. 130A-

317(c) and the Department issues the authorization to construct 

letter. This authorization shall be issued following completion and 

submittal of the Engineer=s Engineer's Report and Water System 

Management Plan and approval of the engineering plans and 

specifications by the Department. Authorization to construct from 

the Department shall be valid for twenty-four 36 months from the 

date of the letter. Authorization to construct may only be extended 

if the rules governing a public water supply and site conditions 

have not changed. The authorization to construct and approval 

letter for engineering plans and specifications from the 

Department shall be posted at the primary entrance of the job site 

before construction begins. during construction. 

(b)  Upon request, permission to drill test wells at approved sites 

in order to establish quality and quantity may be granted by the 

Department prior to completion and submittal of the Engineer's 

Report and Water System Management Plan and approval of 

engineering plans and specifications. All wells abandoned, either 

temporarily or permanently, shall be abandoned in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 02C 2C .0113 (Well Construction Standards) 

and all local ordinances. 

(c)  Units of local government which have an adopted water 

system extension policy, program under Section .1800 of this 

Subchapter, upon submission to and approval of a copy of their 

policy by the Department, may be excluded from the requirements 

of submitting engineering plans and specifications for water main 

extensions, and that extensions which would not have adverse 

effect upon the existing system supply or pressure, provided the 

following requirements are met: 

(1) Engineering plans and specifications for all 

such extensions shall be prepared by or under 

the direct supervision of an engineer licensed to 

practice in the State of North Carolina. 

(2) All engineering plans shall be approved by the 

units unit of local government government's 

engineering department or its consulting 

engineers prior to the commencement of 

construction. 

(3) The Department shall have approved the 

extension policy program submitted by the unit 

of local government prior to construction 

commencing. 

(4) The extension policy program submitted for 

review and approval by the Department shall 

provide for establishing ownership, operation 

and maintenance of water system extensions, 

and shall constitute prior notice of proposed 

construction. 

(5) Where design is to be based on a local 

government's standard specifications in lieu of 

written separate specifications for each 

extension project, the standard specifications 

shall have been previously approved by the 

Department. 

(6) The local government shall have obtained from 

the Department a letter stating they have met 

the aforementioned requirement requirements 

and are excluded from the requirement for 

submitting detailed engineering plans and 

specifications for each minor extension in 

keeping with the intent of this Rule. 

(7) Where such minor additions or extensions have 

been made, an annual up-to-date plan of the 

entire public water system shall be submitted 

for review and approval maintained by the 

supplier of water and made available on request 

by the Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0307 ENGINEER'S REPORT, WATER 

SYSTEM MANAGEMENT PLAN AND 

OTHER PLANS 

(a) The applicant shall submit to the Department an Engineer=s 

Engineer's Report and Water System Management Plan covering 

the basic factors and principles considered in planning of the 

project. 

(b) Engineer's Report. The Engineer's Report shall contain a 

system description for the entire project, including scheduled 

phase development and the following information, where 

applicable: 

(1) description of any existing water system related 

to this project; 

(2) identification of the municipality, community, 

area, or facility to be served by the proposed 

water system; 

(3) the name and address of the applicant; 

(4) a description of the nature of the establishments 

and of the area to be served by the proposed 

water system; 

(5) a description of the future service areas of the 

public water system for 5, 10, 15 and 20 years; 

(6) consideration of alternative plans for meeting 

the water supply requirements of the area, 

including, for new systems, obtaining water 

service from an existing system; 

(7) for applicants seeking State loan or grant 

support for the project, financial considerations, 

including: 

(A) any technical alternatives; 

(B) costs of integral units; and 

(C) total costs. 

(8) population records and trends, present and 

anticipated future water demands, present and 

future yield of source or sources of water 

supply, including provisions to supply water to 

other systems; 

(9) character of source or sources of water supply, 

including: 

(A) hydrological or hydrogeological data; 

(B) stream flow rates or well yields; 
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(C) for surface sources, analytical results 

for chemical, mineral, bacteriological, 

and physical qualities; and 

(D) location and nature of sources of 

pollution. 

(10) proposed water treatment processes, including: 

(A) criteria and basis of design of units; 

(B) methods or procedures used in 

arriving at recommendations; and 

(C) reasons or justifications for any 

deviations from conventional or 

indicated process or method. 

(11) for purchased water, a copy of the agreement 

with the supplier and the hydraulic analysis 

showing the supplier's capabilities for 

supplying the purchased water; 

(12) a description of the design basis of the source, 

treatment, and distribution system, and the 

useful life of all sources, treatment, and 

transmission facilities including pipes, 

pumping stations, and storage facilities; 

(13) for existing system projects intending to alter or 

expand a distribution system, provide a 

statement of maximum daily treated water 

supply and maximum daily demand. Provide 

supporting documentation and calculations; 

and 

(14) for existing systems, a prioritized list of 

infrastructure improvements. 

(c) Water System Management Plan. The Water System 

Management Plan shall document, where applicable, the ability to 

finance, operate, and manage the system in accordance with this 

Subchapter for the current owner and for any entity that assumes 

ownership of the water system within the first 24 months of 

operation: 

(1) Organization: 

(A) description of organizational structure 

or a chart showing all aspects of water 

system management and operation; 

(B) identification of positions responsible 

for policy decisions ensuring 

compliance with State rules and the 

day-to-day operation of the system; 

and 

(C) copies of any contracts for 

management or operation of the water 

system by persons or agencies other 

than the system's owner. 

(2) Ownership: 

(A) identify the ownership structure (sole 

proprietor, partnership, corporation, 

limited liability company, homeowner 

association, nonprofit organization, 

local government unit, state or federal 

agency, or other legal entity) and 

disclose if the ownership of the system 

is expected to change once the system 

is constructed, and if known, identify 

the future owners; 

(B) provide mailing address and street 

address of the owner, and physical 

location of the water system; 

(C) disclose any encumbrances, trust 

indentures, bankruptcy decrees, legal 

orders or proceedings, or other items 

that may affect or limit the owner's 

control over the system and describe 

how compliance with the 

requirements of this Subchapter will 

still be maintained; and 

(D) describe the legal authority, such 

authority (such as ownership, leases or 

recorded easements easements) 

allowing inspection repair inspection, 

repair, and maintenance of system 

components. 

(3) Management qualifications: 

(A) describe the qualifications of the 

owners and managers of the water 

system, including any training and 

experience in owning or managing a 

water system; and 

(B) provide the name and Public Water 

Supply Identification Number of all 

public water systems owned within the 

last five years as well as any systems 

operated under contract for another 

owner within the last five years. For 

systems with penalties assessed, 

describe how the owner will prevent 

similar violations at this system. 

(4) Management training. Describe plans to keep 

management current with regulatory 

requirements for managing and operating a 

public water system. 

(5) Policies. At a minimum, the system shall have 

policies regarding the following procedures: 

(A) cross-connection control; 

(B) customer information, complaints, and 

public education; 

(C) budget development and rate 

structure; 

(D) response and notification if water 

quality violations occur; 

(E) customer connection, disconnection, 

billing, and collection; and 

(F) safety procedures. 

(6) System monitoring, reporting and record 

keeping. At a minimum minimum, the applicant 

shall provide: 

(A) A summary of the applicable system 

monitoring and reporting 

requirements; and 

(B) A description of procedures for 

keeping and compiling records and 

reports in accordance with Rule .1526 

of this Subchapter. 
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(7) Financial Plans. The plan shall contain the 

following financial information, where 

applicable: 

(A) Units of Local Government: 

(i) For projects that require the 

unit of local government to 

incur debt, the unit of local 

government shall submit a 

statement from the Local 

Government Commission 

stating that debt issue has 

been approved; or 

(ii) For projects that do not 

require the unit of local 

government to incur debt, the 

unit of local government 

shall submit the following: 

(I) a statement from the 

unit of local 

government 

documenting that 

they are in 

compliance with G. 

S. 159, Article 3, 

The Local 

Government Budget 

and Fiscal Control 

Act; and 

(II) estimated revenues, 

expenditures and 

rate structure for the 

construction, 

operation and 

maintenance, 

administration and 

reasonable 

expansion of the 

project. This 

information shall be 

provided on a form 

designated by the 

Department and 

shall demonstrate 

that revenues are 

greater than 

expenses. 

(B) The North Carolina Utilities 

Commission's financial determination 

may be used as the financial plan for 

systems subject to its regulations: 

(i) submit a copy of the Order 

Granting Franchise and 

Approving Rates from the 

North Carolina Utility 

Commission; or 

(ii) submit a copy of the Order 

Recognizing Continuous 

Extension and Approving 

Rates from the North 

Carolina Utilities 

Commission. 

(C) Non-transient non-community water 

systems. Owners of existing non-

transient non-community water 

system(s) which receive no violation 

of this Subchapter in the preceding 

three years shall provide a description 

of any negative impact the project 

would have on the financial ability to 

comply with this Subchapter. The 

owner of either a proposed new or 

existing non-transient non-community 

water system with any violation of this 

Subchapter within the prior three years 

shall follow the requirements in Part 

(c)(7)(D) of this Rule. 

(C)(D) All other community and non-

transient non-community water 

systems shall document the following: 

(i) analysis that compares 

anticipated revenues with 

planned expenditures for a 

five year five-year period that 

demonstrates a positive cash 

flow in each year, and a 20-

year equipment replacement 

cost plan documenting the 

method(s) to finance 

equipment replacement; 

(ii) the creation and funding of a 

continuous operating cash 

reserve greater than or equal 

to one-eighth of the annual 

operating, maintenance and 

administrative expenses for 

the water system. The 

operating cash reserve shall 

be fully funded by the end of 

the first year of operation; 

(iii) the creation and funding of 

an emergency cash reserve 

greater than or equal the cost 

of replacing the largest 

capacity pump. The 

emergency cash reserve shall 

be fully funded by the end of 

the fifth year of operation; 

(iv) a description of the budget 

and expenditure control 

procedures that assure budget 

control for the applicant 

which includes procedures or 

policies to prevent misuse of 

funds and a demonstration 

that the system has adopted 

generally accepted 

accounting procedures; and 
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(v) in lieu of Sub-Items (ii) and 

(iii) of this Paragraph, 

substitute documentation 

may be accepted in the 

following instances: 

(I) an applicant with 

multiple water 

systems showing 

reserves affording 

greater or equal 

capabilities; or 

(II) an applicant 

showing equivalent 

financial capacity to 

comply with 

requirements of this 

Section. 

(8) One Water System Management Plan may be 

submitted on behalf of an applicant owning and 

operating multiple water systems or an 

applicant pursuing multiple alterations or 

expansions and may include future projected 

construction or system acquisitions. The 

applicant shall submit a new Water System 

Management Plan for a project not covered 

under the existing Water System Management 

Plan or when violations of this Subchapter 

occur or continue at a system under an 

applicant's ownership or control. 

(d) Operation and Maintenance Plan. The plan does not have to 

be submitted to the Department but shall be completed prior to 

submitting the applicant's certification in accordance with 

Paragraph (c) of Rule .0303 .0303(c) of this Section. This plan 

shall be accessible to the operator on duty at all times and 

available to the Department upon request. The Operation and 

Maintenance Plan shall include, at a minimum, a description of 

the location and routine operation and maintenance procedures 

for: 

(1) components of the treatment facility; 

(2) pumps, meters, valves, blowoffs, and hydrants; 

(3) backflow devices; 

(4) storage tanks; and 

(5) all other appurtenances requiring routine 

operation and maintenance. 

(e) Emergency Management Plan. The plan The Emergency 

Management Plan does not have to be submitted to the 

Department, but shall be completed prior to submitting the 

applicant certification required in Paragraph (c) of Rule .0303 

.0303(c) of this Section. The Emergency Management Plan shall 

be available to personnel responsible for emergency management 

and operator on duty at all times and available to the Department 

upon request. The supplier of water shall consider using the 

principles, practices, forms, nomenclature, structure, and 

definitions found in the National Incident Management System, 

and The plan shall contain the following information where 

applicable: 

(1) For community water systems, a plan with the 

following elements is required: 

(A) identification and phone numbers of 

personnel responsible for emergency 

management, including public water 

system, local, state, and federal 

emergency contacts; 

(B) identification of foreseeable natural 

and human-caused emergency event 

including water shortages and 

outages; 

(C) description of the emergency response 

plan for each identified event; 

(D) description of the notification 

procedures; and 

(E) identification and evaluation of all 

facilities and equipment whose failure 

would result in a water outage or water 

quality violations. 

(2) For a supplier of water who treats and furnishes 

water from a surface water source, completion 

of the Source Water Protection Plan in 

accordance with Rule .1305 of this Subchapter 

shall fulfill the Emergency Management Plan 

requirement. 

(2)(3) For non-transient, non-community water 

systems, the plan shall contain the positions and 

phone numbers of responsible persons to 

contact in the event of an emergency, including 

public water system, local, state, and federal 

emergency contacts. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

SECTION .0400 – WATER SUPPLY DESIGN CRITERIA 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0402 WATER SUPPLY WELLS 

(a)  Well Construction. The construction of water supply wells 

shall conform to well construction regulations and standards of 

the Division of Water Resources, Department of Environment and 

Natural Resources, Department, codified in 15A NCAC 02C. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 .0102(a) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Upper Terminal of Well. The well casing shall neither 

terminate below ground nor in a pit. The pump pedestal for above 

ground pumps of every water supply well shall project not less 

than six inches above the concrete floor of the well house, or the 

concrete slab surrounding the well. The well casing shall project 

at least one inch above the pump pedestal. For submersible pumps 

pumps, the casing shall project at least six inches above the 

concrete floor or slab surrounding the well head. 

(c)  Sanitary Seal. The upper terminal of the well casing shall be 

sealed watertight with the exception of a vent pipe or vent tube 

having a downward-directed, screened opening. 

(d)  Concrete Slab or Well House Floor. Every water supply well 

shall have a continuous bond concrete slab or well house concrete 

floor extending at least three feet horizontally around the outside 

of the well casing. Minimum thickness for the concrete slab or 

floor shall be four inches. 

(e)  Sample Tap and Waste Discharge Pipe. Faucets or spigots 

shall be provided for sampling both raw water prior to treatment 
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and treated water prior to delivery to the first customer. Sample 

spigots shall not be threaded for hose connection. Threaded hose 

bibs shall be equipped with anti-siphon devices. A water sample 

tap and piping arrangement for discharge of water to waste shall 

be provided. 

(f)  Physical Security and Well Protection. A water supply well 

shall be secured against unauthorized access and protected from 

the weather. One of the following structures shall be provided: 

(1) Well house. A well house shall be constructed 

as follows: 

(A) structures shall comply with 

applicable provisions of state and local 

building codes; 

(B) drainage shall be provided by floor 

drain, wall drain, or and/or slope to 

door; 

(C) access into the structure shall be a 

doorway with minimum dimensions 

of 36 inches wide and 80 inches high; 

(D) the structure shall have adequate space 

for the use and maintenance of the 

piping and appurtenances. If treatment 

is provided at the well, the provisions 

of Rule .0404(a) of this Section shall 

apply; and 

(E) the structure shall be secured with lock 

and key. 

(2) Prefabricated structures. A prefabricated 

structure shall be constructed as follows: 

(A) a well-head cover shall be hinged and 

constructed so that it can be lifted by 

one person; 

(B) a locking mechanism shall be 

provided; and 

(C) permanent fastening to the slab (such 

as with bolts) shall not be permitted. 

(3) Fencing and temperature protection. Fencing 

and temperature protection shall be constructed 

as follows: 

(A) the fence height shall be a minimum of 

six feet; 

(B) the fence shall be constructed of chain 

link with locked access; 

(C) the fence shall enclose the well, 

hydropneumatic tank, and associated 

equipment; 

(D) access shall be provided for 

maintenance and operation; and 

(E) the well, piping, treatment equipment, 

and electrical controls shall be 

protected against freezing. Wrapping 

with insulation is acceptable for 

appurtenances such as the air vent, 

meter, valves, and sample taps 

provided they are visible and 

accessible. Insulation shall be 

jacketed. 

(g)  Yield: 

(1) Wells shall be tested for yield and drawdown. 

A report or log of at least a 24-hour drawdown 

test to determine yield shall be submitted to the 

Division of Water Resources Department for 

each well. 

(2) Wells shall be located so that the drawdown of 

any well shall not interfere with the required 

yield of another well. 

(3) The combined yield of all wells of a public 

water system shall provide in 12 hours 12-hours 

pumping time the average daily demand daily 

flow requirements as determined in Rule .0409 

of this Section. 

(4) The capacity of the permanent pump to be 

installed in each well shall not exceed the yield 

of the well as determined by the drawdown test. 

(5) A residential community water system using 

well water as its source of supply and designed 

to serve 50 or more connections shall provide at 

least two wells. A travel trailer park or 

campground designed to serve 100 or more 

connections shall provide at least two wells. In 

lieu of a second well, another approved water 

supply source may be accepted. 

(6) A totalizing meter shall be installed in the 

piping system from each well. 

(h)  Initial Disinfection of Water Supply Well. All new wells, and 

wells that have been repaired or reconditioned reconditioned, 

shall be cleaned of foreign substances such as soil, grease, and oil, 

and then shall be disinfected. disinfected in accordance with Rule 

.1002 of this Subchapter. A representative sample or samples of 

the water (free of chlorine) shall be collected and submitted to a 

certified laboratory for bacteriological analyses. The water supply 

shall not be placed into service after disinfection until 

bacteriological test results of representative water samples 

analyzed in a certified laboratory are found to be free of 

bacteriological contamination. 

(i)  Initial Chemical Analyses. A representative sample of water 

from every new water supply well shall be collected and 

submitted for chemical analyses to the Division of Laboratory 

Services State Laboratory of Public Health or to a certified 

laboratory. The results of the analysis shall demonstrate the water 

is treatable to meet water quality standards in Section .1500 of this 

Subchapter and needed treatment shall be provided before the 

well is placed into service. 

(j)  Continuous Disinfection. Continuous application of chlorine, 

hypochlorite solution, or some other approved and equally 

efficient disinfectant shall be provided for all well water supplies 

introduced on or after January 1, 1972. Equipment for 

determining residual chlorine concentration in the water shall be 

included in the plans and specifications. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0403 SURFACE WATER FACILITIES 

(a)  Unimpounded Stream. Both the minimum daily flow of record 

of the stream and the estimated minimum flow calculated from 

rainfall and run-off shall exceed the maximum daily draft for 

which the water treatment plant is designed with due 
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consideration given to requirements for future expansion of the 

treatment plant. The Department may approve a water plant 

capacity greater than the minimum daily flow of record of the 

stream when rules of other government agencies will not be 

violated. The maximum allowable system expansion shall be 

based on the minimum daily flow of record of the stream. 

(b)  Pre-settling Reservoirs. Construction of a pre-settling or pre-

treatment reservoir shall be required where wide and rapid 

variations in turbidity, bacterial concentrations or chemical 

qualities occur or where the following raw water quality standards 

are not met: turbidity - 150 NTU, coliform bacteria - 3000/100 ml, 

fecal coliform bacteria - 300/100 ml, color - 75 CU. 

(c)(b)  Impoundments. Raw water storage capacity shall be 

sufficient to reasonably satisfy the designed water supply demand 

during periods of drought. 

(d)(c)  Clearing of Land for Impoundment. The area in and around 

the proposed impoundment of class I and class II reservoirs shall 

be cleared as follows: 

(1) The area from normal full level to five feet 

below the normal pool elevation of the 

impoundment shall be cleared and grubbed of 

all vegetation and shall be kept cleared until the 

reservoir is filled. Secondary growth shall be 

removed prior to flooding. 

(2) The entire area below the five foot five-foot 

water depth shall be cleared and shall be kept 

cleared of all growth of less than six inches in 

diameter until the reservoir is filled. Stumps 

greater than six inches in diameter may be cut 

off at ground level. 

(3) All brush, trees, and stumps shall be burned or 

removed from the proposed reservoir. 

(e)(d)  Existing Impoundments. Existing impoundments may be 

approved as raw water sources as follows: 

(1) The requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 

and Section .0200 of this Subchapter shall be 

met; 

(2) A class I or class II reservoir shall meet the 

requirements of Section .1200 of this 

Subchapter; and 

(3) The supplier of water shall have an engineer 

along with other qualified consultants as needed 

conduct a study of the impoundment and 

provide the Department information to 

determine whether the requirements of this 

Subchapter are met. The study shall include as 

follows: 

(A) Plans and specifications of the 

impounding structure; 

(B) Information concerning clearing of the 

land for impoundment as provided in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule; 

(C) Information concerning sources of 

pollution on the watershed; 

(D) Documentation of control by the 

supplier of water of the impoundment 

and 50 foot 50-foot margin around the 

impoundment measured from the 

normal pool elevation; 

(E) Information concerning the quality of 

the water and sediments which could 

cause water quality fluctuations such 

as lake stratification, turnover and 

algae bloom; and 

(F) Other information necessary to show 

the proposed source will meet the 

requirements of this Subchapter. 

(f)(e)  A margin of at least 50 feet around a class I and class II 

reservoir measured from the normal pool elevation shall be owned 

or controlled by the water supplier. supplier of water. 

(g)(f)  Intakes, Pumps, Treatment Units, and Equipment. Raw 

water intakes, pumps, treatment units and equipment shall be 

designed to provide water of potable quality meeting the water 

quality requirements stated in Section .1500 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0404 WATER TREATMENT 

FACILITIES 

(a)  Physical Security and Facility Protection. Treatment 

equipment and chemicals shall be secured against unauthorized 

access and shall be protected against the weather as follows: 

(1) Structures shall comply with provisions of state 

and local building codes; 

(2) Drainage shall be provided by floor drain, wall 

drain, or and/or slope to door; 

(3) Access to the structure shall be a doorway with 

minimum dimensions of 36 inches wide and 80 

inches high or larger. The doorway shall be 

large enough to accommodate installation or 

removal of equipment; and 

(4) The structure shall have space to facilitate 

operation and maintenance of treatment 

equipment, storage of chemicals, required 

piping and appurtenances, electrical controls, 

and laboratory testing. 

(b)  Mixing and Dispersion of Chemicals. Provisions shall be 

made for mixing and dispersion of chlorine and other chemicals 

applied to the water. All facilities treating surface water or ground 

water influenced by surface water shall comply with the 

disinfection requirements in Rule .2002 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Chemical Feed Machines 

(1) Durable chemical feed machines designed for 

adjustable accurate control of feed rates shall be 

installed for application of all chemicals 

necessary for appropriate treatment of the 

water. Sufficient stand-by units to assure 

uninterrupted operation of the treatment 

processes shall be provided. Continuous 

chemical application must be protected from 

electrical circuit interruption which could result 

in overfeed, underfeed overfeed or underfeed, 

or otherwise interrupt the feed of chemicals. 

(2) Chemical feed lines from the feeders to the 

points of application shall be of material sized 

for the design flow rate, corrosion resistant, 

easily accessible for cleaning and protected 
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against freezing. Length and the number of 

bends shall be reduced to a minimum. 

(3) Piping and appurtenances shall be constructed 

of suitable material for the chemical being 

added and the specific application. 

(4) A separate feeder shall be used for each 

chemical applied. 

(d)  Disinfection Equipment: 

(1) Equipment designed for application of chlorine, 

or some other approved, equally efficient 

disinfectant shall be provided. Stand-by units 

shall be provided. The plans and specifications 

shall describe the equipment in detail. 

(2) Chlorinators shall be installed in tightly 

constructed, above ground rooms with 

mechanical ventilation to the outside air. The 

capacity of exhaust fans shall be sufficient to 

discharge all air in the rooms every 30 seconds 

to 1 one minute. The fans or their suction ducts 

shall be located not more than eight inches 

above floor level. Provisions for entrance of 

fresh air shall be made. The point of discharge 

shall be so located as not to contaminate the air 

in any building or inhabited areas. Electrical 

switches for operation of fans shall be located 

outside the chlorinator rooms. Rooms used for 

storage of chlorine cylinders shall be designed 

as described above. 

(e)  Safety Breathing Apparatus. Self-contained emergency 

breathing apparatus for operators shall be stored outside rooms 

where gaseous chlorine is used or stored. 

(f)(e)  Meters and Gauges. Meters and gauges, including raw and 

finished water meters, shall be installed to indicate and record 

water flow entering the treatment plant facility and water pumped 

or conducted to the distribution system. 

(g)(f)  Prevention of Backflow and Back-Siphonage. 

Backsiphonage. Submerged inlets and interconnections whereby 

non-potable water, or water of questionable quality, or other 

liquids may be siphoned or forced into or otherwise allowed to 

enter the finished water supply shall not be permitted. 

(h)(g)  Chemical Storage. Separate space for storing at least a 30-

day 30 days supply of chemicals shall be provided. A separate 

room or partitioned space shall be provided for storage of dry 

fluoride chemicals or liquid fluoride chemicals in portable 

containers. 

(i)(h)  Laboratory. Adequate space, equipment, and supplies shall 

be provided for daily, routine chemical and bacteriological tests. 

A layout of laboratory furniture and equipment shall be included 

in the plans. 

(j)  Toilet Facilities. Toilet facilities shall be provided for the plant 

personnel. 

(k)(i)  Waste Handling and Disposal. 

(1) Provisions must be made for disposal of water 

treatment plant wastes such as clarification 

sludge, softening sludge, iron-manganese 

sludge, filter backwash water and brines. 

Untreated waste shall not be returned to the 

head of the water treatment plant. 

(2) Recycling of supernatant or filtrate from waste 

treatment facilities treating filter wash water, 

sedimentation basin sludge or clarifier basin 

sludge to the head of the water treatment plant 

may be allowed when the following conditions 

are met: 

(A) The water recycled shall be less than 

10 percent by volume of the raw water 

entering the water treatment plant. 

plant; 

(B) A permit has been issued by the 

appropriate regulatory authority for 

discharge of wastes to sanitary sewer, 

stream, lagoon or spray irrigation. 

irrigation; and 

(C) The raw water does not contain 

excessive algae, finished water taste 

and odor problems are not 

encountered encountered, and 

trihalomethane contaminant levels in 

the distribution system do not exceed 

allowable levels in Rule .1517 in this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0405 STORAGE OF FINISHED 

WATER 

(a)  Ground Level Storage 

(1) Finished Water Ground Storage Tank. Finished 

water ground storage tanks shall be provided 

with a light-proof and insect-proof cover of 

concrete, steel, or equivalent material approved 

by the Division. Department. The construction 

joints between side walls and the covers of 

concrete tanks or reservoirs shall be above 

ground level and above flood level; except that 

clearwells constructed below filters may be 

excepted from this requirement when total 

design, including waterproof joints, gives equal 

protection from flooding. 

(2) Access Manholes. The access manholes for 

finished water ground storage tanks or 

reservoirs shall be framed at least four inches 

above the tank or reservoir covers at the 

opening and shall be fitted with solid covers of 

materials that overlap the framed openings and 

extend down around the frames at least two 

inches. The covers for the openings shall be 

hinged at one side and fitted with a locking 

device. 

(3) Venting. Finished water ground storage tanks 

or reservoirs shall have vents with screened, 

downward directed openings. The vent and 

screen shall be of corrosion resistant material. 

(4) Overflow. The overflow pipes for finished 

water ground storage tanks or reservoirs shall 

not be connected directly to sewers or storm 

drains. Screens or other devices to prevent 
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access by rodents, insects, etc. shall be provided 

in the overflow pipe. 

(5) Inlets and Outlets. Water supply inlets and 

outlets of finished water ground storage tanks 

and reservoirs shall be located and designed to 

provide circulation of the water and to meet the 

CT requirements in Section .2000 of this 

Subchapter. Baffles shall be constructed where 

necessary to provide thorough circulation of the 

water. 

(6) Drain Valves. All finished water ground storage 

tanks and reservoirs shall be equipped with 

drain valves. valves which allow for 

unobstructed emptying of the tank. 

(b)  Elevated Storage Tanks: 

(1) Standards. The specifications for elevated 

tanks, stand-pipes, towers, paints, coatings, and 

other appurtenances shall meet the appropriate 

ANSI/AWWA Standards D 100 84 and D 101-

53(R86) D100 11, D102 17, and D103 09 of the 

American Water Works Association, Inc. that 

are hereby incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set 

forth in Rule .0102 .0102(a) of this Subchapter. 

(2) Elevation of Storage Tanks. The elevation of 

storage tanks shall be sufficient to produce a 

designed minimum distribution system 

pressure of 20 pounds per square inch at peak 

demand (fire flow) and 30 pounds per square 

inch during peak flow. 

(3) Elevated storage tanks shall be designed to 

minimize water age by avoiding short-

circuiting of flows and dead-zones. 

(3)(4) Drain. Elevated storage tanks shall be equipped 

with drain valves. valves which allow for 

unobstructed emptying of the tank. 

(c)  Hydropneumatic Storage Tanks (Pressure Tanks) 

(1) Use of Pressure Tanks. Where well yields and 

pumping capacities are sufficient, 

hydropneumatic (pressure) tanks may be used 

to control pumps, stabilize pressures, and 

provide a minimum of storage. Pressure tanks 

shall have the capacity to maintain a minimum 

pressure of 30 pounds per square inch 

throughout periods of peak flow. Pressure tanks 

shall not be considered acceptable for meeting 

total storage requirements for public water 

systems of over 300 connections, except as 

provided in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(2) Corrosion Control. Pressure tanks shall be 

galvanized after fabrication, provided with an 

ANSI/NSF approved liner or coating in 

accordance with Rule .1537 of this Subchapter. 

(3) Required Parts. Pressure tanks shall have access 

manholes, bottom drains, pressure gauges, and 

properly sized safety and vacuum relief valves. 

(4) Controls. Automatic pressure and start-stop 

controls for operation of pumps shall be 

provided. 

(5) Hydropneumatic Storage Tanks. 

Hydropneumatic storage tanks shall conform to 

the construction and inspection requirements 

for pressure vessels adopted by the North 

Carolina Department of Labor and codified in 

13 NCAC 13 that is hereby incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies are available 

for public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 

.0102(a) of this Subchapter. 

(6) Appurtenances to hydropneumatic storage 

tanks such as valves, drains, gauges, sight 

tubes, safety devices, air-water volume 

controls, and chemical feed lines shall be 

protected against freezing. 

(d)  High Yield Aquifers: 

(1) Equipment. In lieu of providing elevated 

storage for public water systems over 300 

connections in areas where aquifers are known 

to produce high yields, e.g., 400-500 gpm from 

an eight-inch well, a system of extra well 

pumping capacity, auxiliary power generating 

equipment, hydropneumatic tanks, controls, 

alarms, and monitoring systems may be 

provided. The design and installation of such 

system shall assure that reliable, continuous 

service is provided. 

(2) Auxiliary Power. Such a system shall have an 

adequate number of wells equipped with 

sufficient pumping capacity so that the required 

flow rate may be maintained with the single 

largest capacity well and pump out of operation. 

Auxiliary power generating equipment shall be 

provided for each well sufficient to operate the 

pump, lights, controls, chemical feeders, 

alarms, and other electrical equipment as may 

be necessary. 

(3) Pump Control. Hydropneumatic tanks designed 

in accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

and Section .0800 of this Subchapter shall be 

provided to maintain pressure and control the 

pump operation. 

(4) Alarm System. An alarm system shall be 

provided that will send a visual or audible 

signal to a constantly monitored location so that 

the water system operator will be advised of a 

primary power failure. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0406 DISTRIBUTION SYSTEMS 

(a)  Water Pipe Materials. Distribution mains Water pipes shall be 

cast iron, ductile iron, asbestos-cement, reinforced concrete, 

plastic, or other material designed for potable water system 

service and shall be the appropriate AWWA standards, section C, 

or NSF Standards No. 14 and No. 15 that is certified as meeting 
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the specifications of NSF/ANSI Standard 61 Drinking Water 

System Components – Health Effects, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. Copies are available for public inspection as set forth 

in Rule .0102 .0102(a) of this Subchapter. The pressure rating 

class of the pipe shall be in excess of the maximum design 

pressure within that section of the water distribution system. The 

quality of pipe to be used shall be stated in the project 

specifications. 

(b)  Cross-Connections 

(1) No potable water supply shall be connected by 

any means to another source of water supply or 

to a storage facility unless such connection has 

been previously approved by the Department. 

No connection shall be made to any plumbing 

system that does not comply with the North 

Carolina State Building Code, volume II, or any 

applicable local plumbing code. 

(2) No person shall introduce any water into the 

distribution system of a public water supply 

through any means other than from a source of 

supply duly approved by the Department or its 

representatives, or make a physical connection 

between an approved supply and unapproved 

supply unless authorized in an emergency by 

the Department or its representative. 

(3) In cases where storage capacity is used only for 

non-potable purposes and there is installed 

either an elevated or ground tank or a ground 

reservoir, the following precautions shall be 

taken: 

(A) When the reservoir or tank is filled 

from a supply other than a public 

water supply and the public water 

supply is used as a supplemental 

supply, the pipeline from the public 

water supply shall be installed in such 

a manner that the water will be 

discharged over the top or rim of the 

reservoir or tank. There shall be a 

complete physical break between the 

outlet end of the fill pipe and the top 

or overflow rim of the tank of at least 

twice the inside diameter of the inlet 

pipe. 

(B) When the reservoir or tank is filled 

entirely by water from a public water 

supply: 

(i) If a covered ground reservoir 

or covered elevated tank is 

used, an approved reduced 

pressure back-flow preventor 

or an approved double check 

valve assembly may be used. 

The back-flow prevention 

device shall be installed in 

such a manner as to afford 

adequate protection, be easily 

accessible, and include all 

necessary pressure gauges 

and drains for testing. Gate 

valves shall be installed in 

the line at both ends of the 

back-flow prevention device. 

(ii) If an uncovered ground 

reservoir or uncovered 

elevated tank is used, a 

complete physical break shall 

be provided between the 

reservoir or elevated tank and 

the public supply. The 

physical break between the 

inlet pipe and the top or 

overflow rim of the reservoir 

shall be at least twice the 

diameter of the inlet pipe. 

(4) All cross-connections between potable water 

supplies and non-potable or unprotected 

supplies that are not specifically covered in the 

categories in this Paragraph will be considered 

special problems and the protective devices 

required shall be determined by the Department 

on the basis of the degree of health hazard 

involved. 

(5) Persons desiring to install non-potable water 

supplies in conjunction with a public water 

supply shall submit detailed plans and 

specifications in triplicate showing the non-

potable water supply and its relation to the 

potable water supply to the Department in 

accordance with Rule .0302(a) of this 

Subchapter. 

(6) Any such interconnection to a potable water 

system is subject to the approval of the water 

supplier and shall not be made until authorized 

by the water supplier in addition to the 

Department. 

(7) No person shall fill special use tanks or tankers 

containing pesticides, fertilizers, other toxic 

chemicals, or their residues from a public water 

system except at a location equipped with an 

over-the-rim free discharge of water or a 

reduced pressure backflow preventer properly 

installed on the public water supply that has 

been approved by the Department. No supplier 

of water shall permit the filling of such special 

use tanks or tankers except at locations so 

equipped. 

(b)  Cross-Connections: No person shall construct, maintain or 

operate a physical arrangement whereby a public water system 

has a cross-connection without the use of proper backflow 

protection. No person shall introduce any water into the 

distribution system of a public water supply through any means 

other than from a source of supply duly approved by the 

Department or its representatives, or make any physical 

connection between an approved supply and unapproved supply 

unless authorized in an emergency by the Department or its 

representative. 
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(1) Service Connection Relation to Plumbing 

Code. No supplier of water shall provide a 

service connection to any plumbing system that 

does not comply with the North Carolina State 

Building Code, Volume II, and any applicable 

local plumbing code, as determined by local 

plumbing code officials. The supplier of water 

shall install or require to be installed the 

appropriate testable backflow prevention 

assembly prior to making the service 

connection. Design of backflow prevention 

assemblies for service connections do not 

require Department review. 

(2) Connections Requiring Departmental Review. 

Connections between a public water system and 

the following connection types require review 

and approval by the Department prior to 

making the connection. Installation of a testable 

backflow prevention assembly or air gap is 

required when the connection is non-potable or 

unapproved. Engineering plans and 

specifications shall be submitted in accordance 

with Section .0300 of this Subchapter. 

(A) Any regulated public water system; 

(B) Any community non-regulated public 

water system. Before providing 

connection, a supplier of water shall 

ensure that the construction of the non-

regulated public water system either 

was approved in accordance with Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter or that 

proper backflow prevention is 

provided to protect the quality of the 

water in the public water system; 

(C) Non-potable water treatment 

processes within a potable water 

treatment plant; and 

(D) All cross-connections between potable 

water supplies and non-potable or 

unprotected supplies that are not 

specifically addressed in this Rule or 

AWWA M-14 Backflow Prevention 

and Cross Connection Control, which 

are considered special problems for 

which the degree of health hazard 

involved shall be determined by the 

Department. 

(3) Backflow Prevention Not Addressed by the 

Plumbing Code. 

(A) Testable backflow prevention 

assemblies shall meet American 

Society of Sanitary Engineering 

(ASSE) standards and carry an ASSE 

seal, be on the University of Southern 

California approval list for testable 

backflow prevention assemblies, or be 

on the North Carolina State Plumbing 

Code approval list for approved 

testable backflow prevention 

assemblies. 

(B) Each assembly must be installed in 

accordance with the standard AWWA 

C510, AWWA C511, ASSE 1013, 

ASSE 1015, ASSE 1020, ASSE 1047, 

ASSE 1048, or ASSE 1056 applicable 

to the selected backflow prevention 

assembly, or Rule .0102(c)(2) of this 

Subchapter for an air gap. 

(C) For each identified water treatment 

process related hazard, the supplier of 

water shall provide the appropriate 

backflow prevention assembly or 

method to protect the water supply and 

water treatment employees in 

accordance with AWWA M-14 

Backflow Prevention and Cross 

Connection Control. 

(D) Filling stations for special use tanks or 

tankers containing pesticides, 

fertilizers, other toxic chemicals, or 

their residues. No person shall fill 

special use tanks or tankers containing 

pesticides, fertilizers, other toxic 

chemicals, or their residues from a 

public water system except at a 

location equipped with an over-the-

rim free discharge of water or a 

reduced pressure backflow preventer 

properly installed on the public water 

supply. No supplier of water shall 

permit the filling of such special use 

tanks or tankers except at locations so 

equipped. 

(E) A supplier of water shall not authorize 

for construction or other temporary, 

non-emergency use; connections to 

hydrants not equipped with an 

approved air gap; or a properly 

installed reduced pressure principle 

backflow prevention assembly. 

(F) Non-potable Storage. In cases where 

storage capacity is used only for non-

potable purposes and there is installed 

either an elevated or ground tank or a 

ground reservoir, the following 

precautions shall be taken: 

(i) When the reservoir or tank is 

filled from a supply other 

than a public water supply 

and the public water supply is 

used as a supplemental 

supply, the pipeline from the 

public water supply shall be 

installed with an air gap. 

(ii) When the reservoir or tank is 

filled entirely by water from 

a public water supply: 
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(I) If a covered ground 

reservoir or covered 

elevated tank is 

used, an approved 

reduced pressure 

back-flow preventer 

or an approved 

double check valve 

assembly may be 

used. 

(II) If an uncovered 

ground reservoir or 

uncovered elevated 

tank is used, an air 

gap is required. 

(G) Installation. 

(i) Backflow prevention 

assemblies shall be installed 

in accordance with 

manufacturers' 

recommendations and 

specifications and be free 

from any field modifications. 

(ii) Back-flow prevention 

assemblies shall be located 

and installed in such a 

manner as to afford adequate 

protection; be easily 

accessible for regular testing, 

maintenance, and inspection; 

and include all necessary test 

cocks and drains for testing. 

Valves shall be installed in 

the line at both ends of the 

back-flow prevention device 

to provide for replacement 

and maintenance. 

(iii) Bypass lines parallel to a 

backflow prevention 

assembly shall have an 

approved backflow 

prevention assembly 

installed that is equal to that 

on the main line. 

(iv) Reduced Pressure Principle 

Assemblies shall be installed 

above ground or below 

ground in a vault with 

positive gravity drainage to 

atmosphere employing a 

drain of sufficient size to 

handle the full flow of 

discharge from a discharging 

assembly, 12-inch minimum 

clearance from vault walls 

and floor, and in accordance 

with manufacturers 

recommendations. A reduced 

pressure principle assembly 

may be installed as protection 

for either a high-health or 

low-health hazard. 

(v) Double Check Valve 

Assemblies shall be installed 

either vertically or horizontal 

and above ground, or below 

ground in a vault with 

positive gravity drainage to 

atmosphere. A double check 

valve assembly shall be 

installed as protection for a 

low-health hazard only. 

(vi) Pressure Vacuum Breaker 

Assemblies shall be installed 

only where there is no means 

or potential means of a 

pressure higher than the 

supply pressure caused by a 

pump, elevated tank, boiler, 

air/steam pressure, or any 

other means which may 

cause backflow, and in 

accordance with 

manufacturers 

recommendations. A 

pressure vacuum breaker 

shall be installed as 

protection for a high-health 

or low-health hazard that is 

subject to backsiphonage 

only, and with no 

backpressure. 

(4) Supplier of Water Shall Authorize 

Connections. Interconnection to a public water 

system is subject to the approval of the supplier 

of water and shall not be made until authorized 

by the supplier of water. 

(5) Recordkeeping. A community or non-transient 

non-community public water system with five 

or more testable backflow prevention 

assemblies protecting the distribution system as 

required under this Rule shall maintain the 

following records beginning on January 1, 

2020: 

(A) Records of the location, type, 

installation date, and size of backflow 

prevention devices whose failure 

would create a high-health hazard or a 

low-health hazard and the associated 

hazards; 

(B) A description of specific ongoing 

plans, actions, or schedules to 

inventory existing backflow 

prevention devices under Part 

(b)(5)(A) of this Rule and to identify 

and address any uncontrolled cross-

connection hazards; 
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(C) Final results of all backflow 

prevention assembly field testing and 

air gap inspections; and 

(D) Review of new service connections 

and existing service connections 

during change of account owner to 

ensure any required backflow 

prevention devices are properly 

installed and tested. 

(E) A supplier of water which contracts 

with a third-party to implement any 

part of their cross-connection program 

may allow records required by this 

Paragraph to be maintained on the 

premises of the third-party, as long as 

the records are available on demand by 

the supplier of water. 

(F) Program records under Part (b)(5)(C) 

of this Rule shall be maintained for a 

minimum of four years. Remaining 

records in this Paragraph shall be 

maintained while still current and/or in 

use. 

(6) Reporting. Each supplier of water shall notify 

the Department of any known incident of 

backflow into the public water system that 

creates a risk of contamination as soon as 

possible upon discovery of the incident but no 

later than the end of the next business day. If 

requested by the Department, the supplier of 

water shall submit a written report of the 

incident describing the nature and severity of 

the backflow, the actions taken by the supplier 

of water in response to the incident, and the 

action plan intended to prevent such incidents 

in the future. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0408 LEAD FREE CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  Any pipe, pipe fitting, solder or flux used after June 19, 1988 

in the installation or repair of any public water system shall be 

lead free. 

(b)  "Lead free" means that solders and flux shall not contain more 

than 0.2 percent lead, and pipes and pipe fittings shall not contain 

more than 8.0 percent lead. means: 

(1) not containing more than 0.2 percent lead when 

used with respect to solder and flux; and 

(2) not more than a weighted average of 0.25 

percent lead when used with respect to the 

wetted surfaces of pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing 

fittings, and fixtures. 

(c)  This Rule shall not apply to leaded joints necessary for the 

repair of cast iron pipes. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0409 SERVICE CONNECTIONS 

(a)  Local Water Supply Plan. Units of local government which 

are operating under a local water supply plan in accordance with 

G.S. 143-355(l) shall not be limited in the number of service 

connections. 

(b)  No local water supply plan. A public water system which does 

not have a local water supply plan as stated in Paragraph (a) shall 

limit its number of service connections as follows: 

(1) A public water system shall meet the daily flow 

requirements specified in Table 1: 

 

 

 Table 1: Daily Flow Requirements 

 

 Type of Service Connection  Daily Flow for Design 

 Residential 400 gallon/connection 

 Mobile Home Parks 250 gallon/connection 

 Campgrounds and Travel Trailer Parks 100 gallon/space 

 Marina 10 gallon/boat slip 

 Marina with bathhouse 30 gallon/boat slip 

 Rest Homes and Nursing Homes  

  with laundry 120 gallon/bed 

  without laundry 60 gallon/bed 

 Schools 15 gallon/student 

 Day Care Facilities 15 gallon/student 

 Construction, work, or summer camps 60 gallon/person 

 Business, office, factory (exclusive of industrial use) 

  without showers 25 gallon/person/shift 

  with showers 35 gallon/person/shift 

 Hospitals 300 gallon/bed 

or; 

 

(2) A public water system serving different types 

of service connections shall meet the maximum 

daily demand daily flow requirements 

calculated as follows: 

(A) Where records of the previous year are 

available that reflect daily usage, the 

average of the two highest consecutive 

days of record of the water treated 
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shall be the value used to determine if 

there is capacity to serve additional 

service connections (unusual events 

such as massive line breaks or line 

flushings shall not be considered). 

(B) Where complete daily records of water 

treated are not available, the public 

water system shall multiply the daily 

average use based on the amount of 

water treated during the previous year 

of record by the appropriate factor to 

determine maximum daily demand, as 

follows: 

(i) A system serving a 

population of 10,000 or less 

shall multiply the daily 

average use by 2.5; or 

(ii) A system serving a 

population greater than 

10,000 shall multiply the 

daily average use by 2.0. 

(c)  A supplier of water shall include the impact that demands 

from any anticipated in-ground irrigation systems, multi-family 

units or large vacation rental homes will have on the daily flow 

needs determined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  Once two years of metered usage data exists, a supplier of 

water may recalculate the daily flow requirements based on the 

actual usage. If actual demands are lower than the projected 

demand, any recovered supply can be used to support additional 

connections in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(e)  A supplier of water may use lower flows than given in Table 

1 for determining the daily flow requirements for the public water 

system in certain instances. A supplier of water shall be exempt 

from using Table 1, and any other design flow standards 

established by the Department or the Commission to determine 

the daily flow requirements, provided that a professional engineer 

licensed pursuant to Chapter 89C of the General Statutes prepares, 

seals, and signs documentation supporting alternative daily flow 

requirements which are sufficient to sustain the water usage 

required in the engineering design by using low-flow fixtures 

and/or flow reduction technologies. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 103A-317; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

SECTION .0500 - SUPPLEMENTAL DESIGN CRITERIA  

 

15A NCAC 18C .0503 OTHER DESIGN STANDARDS 

In evaluation of public water systems or water system design 

features, in addition to the Rules in this Subchapter, the 

Department shall consider standards from the American Water 

Works Association or Recommended Standards for Water Works 

– Policies for the Review and Approval of Plans and 

Specifications for Public Water Supplies by the Great Lakes – 

Upper Mississippi River Board of State and Provincial Public 

Health and Environmental Managers, which are hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. Copies are available for public inspection as set forth 

in Rule .0102(a) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

SECTION .0600 - RAW SURFACE WATER FACILITIES  

 

15A NCAC 18C .0601 IMPOUNDMENTS: PRE-

SETTLING RESERVOIRS 

(a)  Pre-settling Reservoirs. Construction of a pre-settling 

reservoir shall be required where wide and rapid variations in 

turbidity, bacterial concentrations, or chemical qualities occur, or 

where the following raw water quality standards are not met: 

turbidity - 150 NTU, coliform bacteria - 3000/100 ml, fecal 

coliform bacteria - 300/100 ml, color - 75 CU. Where 

impoundment of the water supply stream does not or will not 

provide a raw water of acceptable quality, a pre-settling or pre-

treatment reservoir located outside the watershed or catchment 

area may be required. 

(b)  The Department may approve alternatives to pre-settling 

reservoirs if a supplier of water can demonstrate that engineered 

pretreatment providing an additional treatment barrier to low raw 

water quality will be installed and that the overall designed 

treatment process is capable of compliance with this Subchapter. 

Pilot plant studies under Rule .0714 of this Subchapter will be 

required to demonstrate treatment effectiveness unless 

operational data demonstrating treatment effectiveness for the 

variety of water quality that is experienced at the treatment facility 

are already available. 

(c)  The Department may approve capacity increases at existing 

surface water treatment facilities without addition or up-sizing of 

pre-settling reservoirs where: 

(1) historical data or full-scale pilot studies can 

demonstrate the plant can provide treatment in 

accordance with this Subchapter without 

additional pre-settling, or 

(2) the use of alternative technology alleviates the 

need for additional pre-settling. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

SECTION .0700 - SURFACE WATER TREATMENT 

FACILITIES  

 

15A NCAC 18C .0703 MECHANICAL 

FLOCCULATION 

(a)  Basin Inlet and Outlet. The design of inlets and outlets of 

flocculation basins shall prevent short circuiting of the water and 

destruction or deterioration of the floc. 

(b)  Detention Period. The flocculation basins shall have a 

theoretical detention period of not less than 20 30 minutes. 

(c)  Agitator Control. The agitators of flocculation basins shall be 

equipped with variable speed controls. 

(d)  Paddles. Peripheral speed and paddle configuration shall be 

designed to obtain optimum velocity gradient. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0706 SEDIMENTATION BASIN 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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15A NCAC 18C .0707 SOLIDS CONTACT OR UP-

FLOW UNITS 

(a)  Approval of Solids Contact or Up-Flow Units. Solids contact 

or up-flow clarification units shall be approved only where raw 

water characteristics are substantially constant and shall not be 

approved for raw waters that have wide and rapid variations in 

turbidity or other qualities that would adversely affect the 

treatment process. 

(b)  Water Rise Rate. The rise rate shall not exceed 1.0 gallon per 

minute per square foot of clarification area. area unless the 

requirements of Rule .0711 of this Section have been satisfied. 

(c)  Weir Loading. Weir loading shall not exceed seven 10 gallons 

per minute per foot of weir length. Horizontal flow to the 

collection trough shall not exceed 10 feet. 

(d)  Speed Agitator Equipment. Mixing and flocculation shall be 

accomplished by means of adjustable, variable speed agitator 

equipment. 

(e)  Sludge Withdrawal. Sludge withdrawal equipment shall 

include an intermittent sludge removal mechanism controlled by 

an adjustable automatic timer. 

(f)  Basin Drain. The basin shall be provided with a bottom drain 

that is of sufficient size to empty the basin in two hours or less. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 
15A NCAC 18C .0708 GRAVITY FILTERS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0711 ALTERNATIVE FILTRATION 

TREATMENT TECHNOLOGIES 

A public water system may propose an alternative filtration 

treatment technology as provided in Rule .2003 of this 

Subchapter. The following conditions shall apply: 

(1) The source waters shall be derived from WS-I, 

WS-II or WS-III watersheds and shall be 

protected from sources of pollution as 

determined from a sanitary survey in 

accordance with Rule .0202 .1305 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) The raw water quality standards and 

fluctuations shall be as specified in Rule .0710 

Item (6) .0710(6) of this Section, except that the 

following maximum concentrations shall be 

allowed in the influent water to the water 

treatment plant: Turbidity - 20 NTU, coliform - 

500/100 ml, fecal coliform - 50/100 ml, color - 

20 CU. 

(3) Off-stream pre-treatment/storage shall be 

provided as specified in Rule .0710 of this 

Section except that the raw water quality 

standards of Item (2) of this Rule shall be 

maintained in the water treatment plant influent 

water. 

(4) If the Department determines that the proposed 

water treatment plant employs treatment 

techniques that are consistent with this 

Subchapter, a pilot study shall be conducted in 

accordance with Rule .0714 of this Section. 

(5) If the pilot study demonstrates to the 

Department that the proposed water treatment 

plant can consistently produce water which 

complies with all requirements of this 

Subchapter, detailed engineering plans and 

specifications for the proposed plant and 

appurtenances shall be presented to the 

Department for review and approval prior to 

construction or letting a contract. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0713 PRESSURE FILTERS 

Pressure filters shall not be used in treatment of surface waters. 

waters without prior coagulation and flocculation. Pressure filters 

may be approved for treatment of existing groundwater sources 

under the influence of surface water under the following 

conditions: 

(1) Design standards for gravity filters in Rule 

.0708 of this Section shall apply. 

(2) Overall plant design shall comply with Rule 

.0404 of this Subchapter. 

(3) Special design or operational features or 

modifications shall be provided when needed 

due to water quality or design of the proposed 

filter. 

(4) If the Department determines that the proposed 

water treatment plant employs treatment 

techniques that are consistent with this 

Subchapter, a pilot plant study shall be 

conducted in accordance with Rule .0714 of this 

Section. 

(5) If the pilot study demonstrates to the 

Department that the proposed plant can 

consistently produce water which complies 

with all requirements of this Subchapter, 

detailed engineering plans and specifications 

for the proposed plant and appurtenances shall 

be presented to the Department for review and 

approval prior to construction or letting a 

contract. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0714 PILOT PLANT STUDIES 

(a)  A pilot plant study proposal shall be submitted to the 

Department for approval before the study is conducted. 

The following conditions shall apply: 

(1) An engineering report shall describe the 

proposed study and shall include the 

information and data to justify use of the 

particular plant to treat the source water; 

(2) The proposed plant shall employ treatment 

techniques that are consistent with this 

Subchapter; 

(3) The pilot plant shall be of the same design and 

operation as the proposed plant; 

(4) A protocol for conducting the study shall be 

submitted which includes the duration, testing 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1172 

procedures, reporting procedures, plant scale 

and other factors which affect the proposed 

plant operation; and 

(5) The study shall be conducted over a time 

sufficient to treat all worst case worst-case 

source water conditions expected through the 

year. 

(b)  Pilot plant finished water shall not be introduced to a public 

water system unless approved by the Department. 

(c)  When the proposed plant or pilot plant has been tested under 

worst case conditions on similar water and achieved 3.0 log 

removal of Giardia cysts and water; achieved the required log 

inactivation/removal under Section .2000 for Giardia, 

Cryptosporidium, and viruses; and achieved and a maximum of 

0.3 NTU turbidity levels 95 percent of the time in filtered effluent, 

the particular model plant may be proposed without on-site 

testing. 

(d)  The pilot plant shall comply with the provisions of Section 

.2000 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  If the proposal includes a change of treatment as defined in 

Rule .1507 of this Subchapter, the pilot study shall consider the 

effect of the proposed changes on lead, copper, and water quality 

parameter compliance. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0715 OTHER DESIGN STANDARDS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

SECTION .0800 - HYDROPNEUMATIC STORAGE 

TANKS RULES 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0803 CAPACITIES: DETERMINING 

TOTAL VOLUME (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
 

SECTION .0900 - DISTRIBUTION SYSTEMS  

 

15A NCAC 18C .0904 PIPE LAYING 

(a)  Trenching, pipe laying, and backfilling shall be accomplished 

in a manner to prevent damage and mis-alignment misalignment 

of the pipe. Water mains shall be buried to a depth below the 

frostline frost line or to a depth sufficient to provide a minimum 

of 30 inches cover, whichever is greater. In cases where it is 

impracticable taking into consideration feasibility and cost to 

provide 30 inches of cover, a deviation may be approved on a 

case-by-case basis, when supported by data from the design 

engineer including, but not limited to, consideration of pipe 

material, cover material, land cover, land use, land slope, depth of 

frost line, and location of other utilities. 

(b)  To allow for construction and repair, a minimum distance of 

12 inches must be maintained between the outside of the water 

main and the outside of other utilities. 

(c)  Special Conditions. In cases where the engineer demonstrates 

it is impractical to maintain a separation distances in this Rule 

when taking into consideration feasibility and cost, a deviation 

may be approved on a case-by-case basis. Such deviation must be 

supported by data and alterative construction criteria submitted by 

the design engineer. Data and alterative construction criteria 

submitted by the design engineer to justify the deviation must 

describe the: 

(1) rationale for determining that separation criteria 

described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule 

are impracticable; 

(2) extent of the deviation from separation criteria 

in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule; 

(3) consideration of pipe materials, pressure 

ratings, type of joints for water main and non-

potable water line, and soil conditions; 

(4) ability to provide adequate work space to repair 

or replace pipe segments or other utility 

infrastructure without causing damage to or 

otherwise compromising the integrity of pipes; 

and 

(5) rationale for determining that the deviation will 

not result in unreasonable risk to public health. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0906 RELATION OF WATER MAINS 

TO SEWERS NON-POTABLE WATER LINES 

(a)  For this rule, sewer shall mean any existing or proposed 

gravity or force main used to convey sanitary or industrial process 

waste. 

(a)(b)  Lateral Separation of Sewers and Water Mains. Water 

mains shall be laid at least 10 feet laterally from existing or 

proposed sewers, unless local conditions or barriers prevent a 10-

foot lateral separation--in which case: 

(1) The water main is laid in a separate trench, with 

the elevation of the bottom of the water main at 

least 18 inches above the top of the sewer; or 

(2) The water main is laid in the same trench as the 

sewer with the water main located at one side 

on a bench of undisturbed earth, and with the 

elevation of the bottom of the water main at 

least 18 inches above the top of the sewer. 

(b)  Crossing a Water Main Over a Sewer. Whenever it is 

necessary for a water main to cross over a sewer, the water main 

shall be laid at such an elevation that the bottom of the water main 

is at least 18 inches above the top of the sewer, unless local 

conditions or barriers prevent an 18 inch vertical separation--in 

which case both the water main and sewer shall be constructed of 

ferrous materials and with joints that are equivalent to water main 

standards for a distance of 10 feet on each side of the point of 

crossing. 

(c)  Crossing a Water Main Under a Sewer. Whenever it is 

necessary for a water main to cross under a sewer, both the water 

main and the sewer shall be constructed of ferrous materials and 

with joints equivalent to water main standards for a distance of 10 

feet on each side of the point of crossing. A section of water main 

pipe shall be centered at the point of crossing. 

(c)  Crossings. Water mains crossing sewers shall be laid to 

provide a minimum vertical distance of 18 inches between the 

outside of the water main and the outside of the sewer. This shall 

be the case where the water main is either above or below the 

sewer with preference to the water main located above the sewer. 
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One full length of water pipe shall be located so both joints will 

be as far from the sewer as possible. 

(d)  Water Mains and Storm Sewer Pipes. Pipes carrying storm 

drainage shall be separated from water lines in accordance with 

Rule .0904 of this Section. 

(e)  Water Mains and Reclaimed Water Distribution Lines. Water 

lines shall be located at least 10 feet horizontally from and at least 

18 inches above water pipes carrying treated and disinfected 

wastewater in reclaimed water distribution lines. Crossings shall 

be made in accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(f)  Special Conditions. In cases where the engineer demonstrates 

it is impracticable, taking into consideration feasibility and cost, 

to maintain the separation distances in this Rule, a deviation may 

be approved on a case-by-case basis, when supported by data and 

alternative construction criteria provided by the design engineer. 

Data and alternative construction criteria submitted by the design 

engineer to justify the deviation must describe the: 

(1) rationale for determining that separation criteria 

described in this Rule are impracticable; 

(2) extent of the deviation from separation criteria 

in this Rule; 

(3) consideration of pipe materials, pressure 

ratings, type of joints for water main and non-

potable water line, and soil conditions; 

(4) ability to provide adequate work space to repair 

or replace pipe segments or other utility 

infrastructure without causing damage to or 

otherwise compromising the integrity of pipes; 

and 

(5) rationale for determining that the deviation will 

not result in unreasonable risk to public health. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

SECTION .1000 - DISINFECTION OF WATER SUPPLY 

SYSTEMS  

 

15A NCAC 18C .1002 DISINFECTION AND 

VERIFICATION OF WELLS 

(a)  After water supply wells have been cleaned of foreign 

substances, including sediment, grease and oil, the wells shall be 

disinfected by the addition of chlorine solution in concentrations 

sufficient to produce a minimum chlorine residual of 100 

milligrams per liter (or ppm) in the entire water column within the 

well casing. Water supply wells. Following construction, 

servicing, maintenance, or any other activity or event that might 

lead to contamination of the water, water supply wells shall 

undergo disinfection and verification in accordance with 

ANSI/AWWA Standard C654-13, Disinfection of Wells. Copies 

are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102(a) of 

this Subchapter. The disinfection procedures covered are for the 

gravel pack, well casing, pump, and appurtenant piping. 

(b)  The chlorine solution shall remain in the well for a period of 

24 hours. The well shall then be pumped until the water is free of 

chlorine. For disinfection of existing wells following general 

servicing or maintenance, plans or specifications do not need 

Departmental review or approval. 

(c)  A representative sample or samples of the water shall be 

collected and analyzed by a certified laboratory. The absence of 

total coliform bacteria in addition to the documented use of proper 

disinfection techniques provides verification that the disinfection 

process has been accomplished in compliance with the standard. 

If bacteriological tests indicate verify that the water is free of 

bacteriological contamination, the well may be placed in service. 

(d)  Records demonstrating compliance with ANSI/AWWA 

Standard C654-13 shall be available for three years for state 

inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1003 DISINFECTION AND 

VERIFICATION OF STORAGE TANKS AND 

DISTRIBUTION SYSTEMS 

(a)  Water distribution systems, including storage tanks and water 

mains, after flushing to remove sediment and other foreign matter, 

and after testing for leaks, shall be disinfected by the addition and 

thorough dispersion of a chlorine solution in concentrations 

sufficient to produce a chlorine residual of at least 50 milligrams 

per liter (or ppm) in the water throughout the distribution system, 

including all water mains and storage tanks. Distribution systems. 

After flushing to remove sediment and other foreign matter and 

after checking for leaks, distribution systems shall undergo 

disinfection and verification in accordance with ANSI/AWWA 

Standard C651-14, Disinfection of Water Mains, if they have been 

newly constructed; have been removed from service for planned 

repairs or for maintenance that exposes them to contamination; 

have undergone emergency repairs because of physical failure; or 

under normal operation, continue to show the presence of 

coliform bacteria. Copies are available for public inspection as set 

forth in Rule .0102(a) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The chlorine solution shall remain in contact with interior 

surfaces of the water system for a period of 24 hours. Then the 

water system shall be flushed with fresh water from an approved 

water source until the chlorine solution is dispelled. Water storage 

facilities. Water storage facilities, including storage tanks and 

clearwells, shall undergo disinfection and verification in 

accordance with ANSI/AWWA Standard C652-11 if they have 

been newly constructed, have been entered for construction or 

inspection purposes, or continue to show the presence of coliform 

bacteria during normal operations. Copies are available for public 

inspection as set forth in Rule .0102(a) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Representative After disinfection under Paragraphs (a) and (b) 

of this Rule, representative samples of the water shall then be 

collected. collected and analyzed for coliform bacteria. The 

absence of total coliform bacteria in addition to the documented 

use of proper disinfection techniques provides verification that the 

disinfection process has been accomplished in compliance with 

the standard. If bacteriological tests of the samples indicate that 

the water quality is satisfactory, the water mains and storage tanks 

may be placed in service. New storage tanks and distribution 

system water lines may be placed into service after bacteriological 

tests of the samples indicate that the water quality is free from 

contamination. 

(d)  Disinfection of existing storage tanks and distribution systems 

following general servicing or maintenance do not require 

Departmental plans or specifications review or approval under 

Section .0300 of this Subchapter. 
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(d)(e)  In unusual situations where large volume tanks are 

involved and where there is not sufficient water available to fill 

the tank or there is not available a suitable drainage area for the 

chlorinated water, an alternate disinfection procedure for tanks 

may be proposed. Such proposal must be submitted in writing 

completely describing the proposed disinfection procedure and 

substantiating the need for an alternate procedure in the particular 

circumstance. Such alternate procedure must be approved before 

being implemented. The conclusion of the department 

Department shall be final. 

(f)  Records demonstrating compliance with ANSI/AWWA 

Standards C651-14 and C652-11 shall be available for three years 

for state inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1004 DISINFECTION AND 

VERIFICATION OF FILTERS WATER TREATMENT 

FACILITIES 

(a)  After filters have been thoroughly backwashed to remove 

dust, silt and other foreign matter the entire filter (including filter 

media, supporting material and underdrain system) shall be 

disinfected by application of a chlorine solution having a 

minimum concentration of 50 milligrams per liter (or ppm). 

(b)  The solution shall be dispersed throughout the filter bed and 

remain in contact for a minimum of 24 hours. 

(a)  New treatment facilities and existing water treatment facilities 

temporarily taken out of service for cleaning, inspection, 

maintenance, painting, repair, or any other activity or event that 

might lead to the contamination of water must undergo 

disinfection and verification in accordance with ANSI/AWWA 

Standard C653-13, Disinfection of Water Treatment Plants. This 

standard applies to treatment components, including filter basins, 

filter media, pump suction wells, and associated piping and 

appurtenances located downstream from the filter influent or from 

the first point of application of disinfectant in the treatment 

process. Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in 

Rule .0102(a) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Filters (including filter media, supporting material and 

underdrain system) must be thoroughly backwashed to remove 

dust, silt and other foreign matter from the entire filter prior to 

disinfection and verification. 

(c)  A representative sample or samples of the water shall be 

collected and analyzed by a certified laboratory. The absence of 

total coliform bacteria in addition to the documented use of proper 

disinfection techniques provides verification that the disinfection 

process has been accomplished in compliance with the standard. 

If bacteriological tests verify that the water is free of 

bacteriological contamination, the facility may be placed in 

service. 

(c)(d)  For treatment equipment that cannot tolerate chlorine, 

alternate disinfection procedures as recommended by the 

equipment manufacturer may be used if equivalent to the 

disinfection procedure using chlorine. 

(e)  Records demonstrating compliance with ANSI/AWWA 

Standard C653-13 shall be available for three years for state 

inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-523. 

SECTION .1400 - FLUORIDATION OF PUBLIC WATER 

SUPPLIES  

 

15A NCAC 18C .1406 CONTROL OF TREATMENT 

FLUORIDE PROCESS 

(a)  The treatment process shall result in the adjustment of fluoride 

ion (F-) in the treated water to 1.0 mg/liter. 

Fluoride Levels. To maintain as close to an optimal fluoride level 

of 0.7 mg/l as possible, a supplier of water which is adding 

fluoride to the treated water shall maintain the following fluoride 

levels: 

(1) An operational control range for fluoride of 0.6 

mg/l to 1.0 mg/l is established, 

(2) The monthly average of the daily measurements 

at the entry point to the distribution system shall 

be within the operational control range, and 

(3) Eighty percent of the daily measurements at the 

entry point to the distribution system shall be 

within the operational control range. 

(4) Fluoride levels shall not exceed the MCL in 

Rule .1510 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A water treatment plant operator certified under 15A NCAC 

18D shall conduct the necessary chemical analyses and supervise 

application of the fluoride. 

(c)  Samples shall be collected and analyzed from points before 

and after fluoridation and from one or more points in the 

distribution system. The minimum number of control tests 

required and the number of check samples to be collected and 

submitted to the North Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health 

for analysis shall be determined by the Department in conjunction 

with the State Health Director, based on guidance from the Center 

for Disease Control, and considering recommendations from the 

local health department and the supplier of water. 

(c)  Sample Location and Frequency. 

(1) Daily Monitoring. A supplier of water shall 

measure the fluoride concentration at least once 

per day at each entry point to the distribution 

system with fluoridated water. 

(2) Split Samples. One entry point sample collected 

under Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, per 

month shall be split equally and one portion 

analyzed by water system personnel and the 

other portion analyzed by the North Carolina 

State Laboratory for Public Health or other 

laboratory certified to analyze drinking water 

samples for fluoride by the North Carolina State 

Laboratory of Public Health. A supplier of 

water which has all fluoride samples under this 

Rule analyzed by a laboratory certified to 

analyze drinking water samples for fluoride by 

the North Carolina State Laboratory for Public 

Health is not required to conduct split sampling. 

(3) Distribution System Monitoring. Where a 

public water system has multiple entry points 

and either not all are fluoridated or the fluoride 

level at an entry point to the distribution system 

is not within the range in Paragraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule the supplier of water shall measure the 

fluoride concentration in the distribution 
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system at least two times per month. One 

sample per month shall be a split sample and 

analyzed in accordance with Subparagraph 

(c)(2) of this Rule. Sample sites shall be rotated 

throughout the distribution system at 

monitoring locations approved for coliform 

compliance sampling. These sample results are 

not required to be submitted to the Department, 

but must be available for review by the 

Department upon request. 

(4) Annual Raw Water Sample. A supplier of water 

shall measure the fluoride concentration of the 

raw water at least annually by a laboratory 

certified to analyze fluoride in drinking water 

by the North Carolina State Laboratory of 

Public Health. 

(5) Discrepancies. A supplier of water shall 

compare the results of the split samples and 

shall consult with the North Carolina State 

Laboratory of Public Health to investigate and 

resolve any discrepancy greater than 15 percent 

within 30 days. 

(d)  Analysis Methods. The fluoride content of the water shall be 

determined in accordance with methods in Rule .1508 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  Monthly Reporting. Accurate records of the amount of 

fluoride applied to the water and the results of all fluoride analyses 

performed in accordance with Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, 

shall be recorded on forms approved by the Department and 

submitted to the Department weekly. monthly. Fluoride results 

performed by certified laboratories in accordance with 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, shall be reported by the certified 

laboratory electronically in a format prescribed by the 

Department. 

(f)  Reporting Exceedances. Any fluoride result above the MCL 

in Rule .1510 of this Subchapter shall be reported to the 

Department as soon as possible, but in all cases within 24 hours 

after receipt of the analysis. 

(f)(g)  Fluoride Products. Any fluoridation product used by a 

public water system shall meet the requirements of Rule .1537 of 

this Subchapter. 

(h)  Discontinuation of Fluoridation. Prior to the discontinuation 

of fluoride addition, a supplier of water shall provide to the 

Department and the Department of Health and Human Services 

Oral Health Section copies of documentation by the unit of local 

government or the governing body operating the community 

water system that: 

(1) the resolution provided in the formal 

application to add fluoride has been rescinded 

or replaced, and 

(2) the local board of health has been notified. 

 

Authority G.S. 90A-29; 130A-316. 

 

SECTION .1500 - WATER QUALITY STANDARDS 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1507 CORROSION CONTROL AND 

LEAD AND COPPER MONITORING 

(a)  Control and adjustment of pH shall be provided for 

community water systems having water with a pH below 6.5; such 

control and adjustment to be approved by the Department. Most 

waters are corrosive in varying degrees at pH 6.5 and slightly 

above, and such waters may have pH adjustment. If the 

community water system is also required to install corrosion 

control treatment to comply with this Rule, it shall meet the 

minimum pH level required under this Rule. 

(b)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.42 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart I - Control of Lead 

and Copper are hereby incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are available for 

public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this 

Subchapter. 

(d)  Travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and marina slips that are 

community water systems as defined by G.S. 130A-313(10), but 

do not serve 25 or more of the same persons more than six months 

per year, shall be exempt from the provisions of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1508 INORGANIC CHEMICAL 

SAMPLING AND ANALYSIS 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.23 are hereby incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102. 0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. In addition, two or more 

water systems that are adjacent and are owned or operated by the 

same supplier of water and that together serve 15 or more service 

connections or 25 or more persons shall conform to the following 

sampling schedule: submit samples every three years from each 

section of the water system supplied from a separate source. 

(a) a water supplier shall submit samples 

every three years from each section of 

the water system supplied from a 

separate source, and 

(b) travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and 

marina slips that are community water 

systems as defined by G.S. 130A-

313(10), but do not serve 25 or more 

of the same people more than six 

months per year shall monitor as 

specified for transient non-community 

water systems. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1509 SPECIAL MONITORING FOR 

SODIUM 

(a)  Suppliers of water for community water systems shall collect 

and analyze one sample per plant at the entry point of the 

distribution system for the determination of sodium concentration 

levels. Samples must be collected and analyzed annually for 

systems utilizing surface water sources in whole or in part, and at 
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least every three years for systems utilizing solely ground water 

sources. The minimum number of samples required to be taken by 

the system shall be based on the number of treatment plants used 

by the system, except that multiple wells drawing raw water from 

a single aquifer may, with Department approval, be considered 

one treatment plant for determining the minimum number of 

samples. The supplier of water may be required by the 

Department to collect and analyze water samples for sodium more 

frequently in locations where the sodium content is variable. 

(b)  Suppliers of water for community water systems shall report 

to the Department the results of the analyses for sodium within 

the first 10 days of the month following the month in which the 

sample results were received or within the first 10 days following 

the end of the required monitoring period as stipulated by the 

Department, whichever is first. If more than annual sampling is 

required, the supplier shall report the average sodium 

concentration within 10 days of the month following the month in 

which the analytical results of the last sample used for the annual 

average was received. 

(c)  The Department shall notify appropriate local health officials 

of the sodium levels found in community water systems. 

(d)  Analyses conducted to determine compliance with this Rule 

shall be made in accordance with methods adopted by the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency and codified as 40 

C.F.R. 141.41(d) that are hereby incorporated by reference 

including any subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are 

available for public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  Travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and marina slips that are 

community water systems as defined by G.S. 130A-313(10), but 

do not serve 25 or more of the same persons more than six months 

per year shall be exempt from the provisions of this Rule. 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.41 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  In accordance with 40 C.F.R. 141.41(c), the supplier of water 

shall notify appropriate local health officials of the sodium levels 

found in community water systems. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1511 CONCENTRATION OF IRON 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule apply only to community water 

systems. A community water system which has an iron 

concentration in excess of 0.30 mg/l shall provide treatment to 

control the water quality. Analysis of samples shall be made on 

an as needed basis determined by the Department. Such need basis 

shall include, but not be limited to, addition of a new well or other 

raw water source, approval of a new community water system, 

approval of an existing system not previously approved, or 

problems and complaints of water quality normally associated 

with iron concentration. 

(b)  Travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and marina slips that are 

community water systems as defined by G.S. 130A-313(10), but 

do not serve 25 or more of the same persons more than six months 

per year shall be exempt from the provisions of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

15A NCAC 18C .1512 CONCENTRATION OF 

MANGANESE 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule apply only to community water 

systems. A community water system which has a manganese 

concentration in excess of 0.05 mg/l shall provide treatment to 

control the water quality. Analysis of samples shall be made on 

an as needed basis determined by the Department. Such need basis 

shall include, but not be limited to, addition of a new well or other 

raw water source, approval of a new community water system, 

approval of an existing system not previously approved, or 

problems and complaints of water quality normally associated 

with manganese concentration. 

(b)  Travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and marina slips that are 

community water systems as defined by G.S. 130A-313(10), but 

do not serve 25 or more of the same persons more than six months 

per year shall be exempt from the provisions of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1515 ORGANIC CHEMICALS OTHER 

THAN TTHM, SAMPLING AND ANALYSIS 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to community and 

non-transient non-community water systems. The provisions of 

40 C.F.R. 141.24 are hereby incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are available for 

public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this 

Subchapter. Any dates set forth in the federal rule shall be 

applicable. 

(b)  If the result of an analysis made pursuant to Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule indicates that the level of any contaminant listed in Rule 

.1517 of this Subchapter regulated under this Subchapter exceeds 

the maximum contaminant level, the supplier of water shall report 

to the Department within 48 hours and initiate three additional 

analyses within one month. hours of receipt of the analytical 

result. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1516 SPECIAL MONITORING FOR 

INORGANIC AND ORGANIC CHEMICALS 

UNREGULATED CONTAMINANTS 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.40 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that 40 C.F.R. 141.40(n)(10) is not adopted. editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  To comply with the monitoring requirements of this Rule, a 

community water system or non-transient, non-community water 

system serving fewer than 150 service connections shall take a 

single water sample to be analyzed for inorganic and organic 

chemicals. 

(c)  Travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and marina slips that are 

community water systems as defined by G.S. 130A-313(10), but 

do not serve 25 or more of the same persons more than six months 

per year shall be exempt from the provisions of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-313; 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1177 

15A NCAC 18C .1519 MONITORING FREQUENCY 

FOR RADIOACTIVITY 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to community water 

systems. systems and community adjacent water systems, as 

defined in G.S. 130A-315(b2). The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 

141.26 are hereby incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are available for 

public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this 

Subchapter. Any dates set forth in the federal rule shall be 

applicable. 

(b)  An adjacent water system as defined in G.S. 130A-315(b2) 

shall conform to the sampling schedule as set in Paragraph (c) of 

this rule rather than the schedule set forth in 40 C.F.R. 141.26(a) 

and (b). 

(c)  When the Secretary determines that the system is in an area 

subject to radiological contamination, a water supplier shall take 

samples for the following contaminants: 

(1) gross alpha particle activity; 

(2) radium-226; 

(3) radium-228; 

(4) uranium; and 

(5) man-made radioactivity from the water system. 

When the sampling is required, a water supplier shall submit 

samples every four years from each section of the water system 

supplied from a separate source. 

(d)  Travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and marina slips that are 

community water systems as defined by G.S. 130A-313(10), but 

do not serve 25 or more of the same persons more than six months 

per year shall monitor the same as required by adjacent systems 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-313; 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1523 PUBLIC NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.32 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that multi-lingual notice shall be given if 30 percent or 

more of the consumers served by the system are non-English 

speaking. Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in 

Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(b)(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Q – Public 

Notification of Drinking Water Violations are hereby 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. editions, except that under 40 C.F.R. 141.205(c)(2), 

multi-lingual notice shall be given if 30 percent or more of the 

consumers served by the system are non-English speaking. Copies 

are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(c)(b)  Special notification for distribution system samples. The 

requirements of this Paragraph shall be in addition additional to 

the public notice requirements in Paragraphs (a) and (b) Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule and to the reporting requirements contained in 

Rule .1525 of this Subchapter. When a distribution sample which 

is required to be reported to the Division is taken from the 

plumbing of a school or daycare, place of residence, or location 

supplying permanent or temporary housing, the supplier of water 

shall notify the billing customer at the sampled address is taken 

on property not owned or controlled by the supplier of water, the 

supplier of water shall notify the person authorizing the sample if 

any individual water sample exceeds an action level, maximum 

contaminant level, or maximum residual disinfectant level 

established in this Subchapter, or if any individual sample is 

positive for coliform bacteria. E. coli or any other fecal indicator 

as follows: 

(1) For a contaminant listed as Tier 1 in Appendix 

A to 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Q, notice shall be 

provided by telephone within 24 hours of 

receipt of analytical results. If the initial contact 

is by telephone, results and shall be followed by 

written notice by mail or direct delivery shall 

also be provided within 48 hours of receipt. The 

written notice shall include the analytical 

results and appropriate health effects language. 

(2) For a contaminant listed as Tier 2 or Tier 3 in 

Appendix A to 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Q, notice 

shall be provided within 48 hours of receipt of 

analytical results. Written notice shall be 

provided by mail or direct delivery to the person 

authorizing the sample and shall include the 

analytical results and appropriate health effects 

language. 

(3) The supplier of water shall submit a copy of the 

written notice and certification of delivery to 

the Department within 10 days of completing 

notification. 

The person authorizing the sample may waive the notification 

required by this Paragraph. The waiver shall be documented in 

writing and signed by the authorizing person. The waiver is valid 

for five years and is renewable. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1524 REPORTING FOR ORGANIC 

CHEMICALS REPORTING FOR UNREGULATED 

CONTAMINANT MONITORING RESULTS 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule only apply to the contaminants 

listed in 15A NCAC 18C .1516. 

`(b) The water supplier for a community water system or non-

transient, non-community water system who is required to 

monitor under 15A NCAC 18C .1516 shall send a copy of the 

results of such monitoring within 30 days of receipt and any 

public notice under Paragraph (d) of this Rule to the Department. 

(c)  The Department shall furnish the following information to the 

administrator for each sample analyzed: 

(1) Results of all analytical methods, including 

negatives; 

(2) Name and address of the system that supplied 

the sample; 

(3) Contaminants; 

(4) Analytical methods used; 

(5) Date of sample; 

(6) Date of analysis. 

(d)  The water supplier shall notify persons served by the system 

of the availability of the results of sampling by including a notice 

in the first set of water bills issued after the receipt of the results, 

or by written or newspaper notice, within three months. The notice 

shall identify a person and telephone number to contact for 
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information on the monitoring results. For surface water systems, 

public notice is required only after the first quarter's monitoring 

and shall include a statement that additional monitoring will be 

conducted for three more quarters with the results available upon 

request. 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.35 are hereby incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1525 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all public water 

systems. The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.31 are hereby 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. Copies are available for public inspection as set forth 

in Rule .0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. Any dates set 

forth in the federal rule shall be applicable. 

(b)  When a certified laboratory analyzes a compliance sample for 

a supplier of water, the certified laboratory shall report the results 

to both the Department and to the supplier of water or his 

designated representative within the required periods as set forth 

in 40 C.F.R. 141.31. 141.31, except that electronic reporting 

conducted in accordance with 40 C.F.R. 141.31(a) shall be 

completed within seven days of completion of the analysis. The 

laboratory reporting to the Department shall include analytical 

results for any maximum contaminant level exceedence 

exceedance within the timeframes applicable to the system owner. 

Reporting shall be in a format, to include electronic reporting, 

provided by the Department and shall be filled out completely. 

Should a certified laboratory fail to properly report a compliance 

sample result, it shall be the responsibility of the supplier of water 

to report results to the Department as required by this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-324; 130A-329; 40 C.F.R 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1527 CERTIFIED LABORATORIES 

(a)  For the purpose of determining compliance with the 

requirements of this Section, samples may be considered only if 

they have been analyzed by a laboratory certified by the Division 

of Laboratory Services Laboratory Certification Branch. 

However, measurements for turbidity, free chlorine residual, 

temperature and pH may be performed by any person who has 

been instructed in the appropriate procedure by the Department or 

a certified laboratory. Measurements may also be performed by a 

person who holds a valid certificate issued by the North Carolina 

Water Treatment Facility Operators Board of Certification. 

(b)  Nothing in this Section shall be construed to preclude the 

Department or any duly designated representative from taking 

samples or from using the results from such samples to determine 

compliance by a supplier of water with the applicable 

requirements of this Section. 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.28 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions, 

with the following exceptions: 

(1) Laboratories analyzing samples under this 

Subchapter must be certified for that analytical 

method by the State Laboratory of Public 

Health in the Department of Health and Human 

Services; and 

(2) Measurements for alkalinity; bromide; calcium; 

daily chlorite samples at the entrance to the 

distribution system; conductivity; 

orthophosphate; pH; residual disinfectant 

concentrations for chlorine, chloramines, and 

chlorine dioxide; magnesium; silica; Specific 

Ultraviolet Absorbance (SUVA); temperature; 

Total Organic Carbon (TOC); and turbidity 

may be performed by any person who holds a 

valid certificate issued by the North Carolina 

Water Treatment Facility Operators Board of 

Certification, or by any person who has been 

instructed in the appropriate procedure by the 

Department or a certified laboratory. 

(b)  Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1528 ALTERNATE ANALYTICAL 

TECHNIQUES 

With the written permission of the Secretary, concurred in by the 

Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, an 

alternate analytical technique may be employed. An alternate 

technique shall be acceptable only if it is substantially equivalent 

to the prescribed test in both precision and accuracy as it relates 

to the determination of compliance with any maximum 

contaminant level. The use of the alternate analytical technique 

shall not decrease the frequency of monitoring required by this 

Section. 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.27 are hereby incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1529 POINT-OF-ENTRY POINT-OF-

ENTRY, BOTTLED WATER, AND OTHER TREATMENT 

DEVICES 

(d)  Effective technology shall be properly applied under a plan 

approved by the Department and the microbiological safety of the 

water must be maintained as follows: 

(1) Certification of performance, field testing, and, 

if not included in the certification process, an 

engineering design review of the point-of-entry 

devices shall be provided; and 

(2) The tendency for increase in heterotrophic 

bacteria concentrations in water treated with 

activated carbon shall be considered in the 

design and application of the point-of-entry 

devices. Frequent backwashing, post-contactor 

disinfection, and Heterotrophic Plate Count 

monitoring shall be used when necessary to 

ensure that the microbiological safety of the 

water is not compromised. 
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(e)  Every building connected to the system shall have a point-of-

entry device installed, maintained, and adequately monitored. The 

rights and responsibilities of the public water system consumer 

shall be conveyed with title upon sale of property. 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141 Subpart J – Use of Non-

Centralized Treatment Devices are hereby incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(f)(b)  Public water systems shall not use bottled water or point-

of-use devices to achieve compliance with a maximum 

contaminant level. Bottled water or point-of-use devices may be 

used on a temporary basis to avoid an unreasonable risk to health. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1532 VARIANCES AND 

EXEMPTIONS 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.4 are hereby adopted by 

reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-14(c). incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1535 MAXIMUM CONTAMINANT 

LEVELS FOR COLIFORM BACTERIA 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.63 are hereby adopted by 

reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-14(c). incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 (a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.52 are hereby adopted by 

reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-14(c). incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 (a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141.52; 40 

C.F.R. 141.63. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1537 DRINKING WATER ADDITIVES 

TREATMENT CHEMICALS AND SYSTEM 

COMPONENTS 

(a)  The standards set forth in by American National Standards 

Institute/NSF International, codified at as ANSI/NSF Standard 60 

and ANSI/NSF Standard 61, are hereby incorporated by reference 

including any subsequent amendments and editions. ANSI/NSF 

Standard 60 applies to drinking water treatment chemicals. 

ANSI/NSF Standard 61 applies to drinking water system 

components. Copies are available for public inspection as set forth 

in Rule .0102 .0102(a) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A water supply product used in a public water system shall 

meet the standards incorporated by reference in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. A product certified by an organization having a third-

party certification program accredited by the American National 

Standards Institute to test and certify such products is acceptable 

for use in a public water system. 

(c)  A supplier of water shall maintain a list of all water supply 

products used in a public water system for inspection by the 

Department. Prior to using a product not previously listed, a 

supplier of water shall either determine the product is certified as 

required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule or notify the Department of 

the type, name and manufacturer of a product. 

(d)  A supplier of water shall not introduce or permit the 

introduction of a water supply product into a public water system 

which does not meet the requirements of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1538 CONSUMER CONFIDENCE 

REPORT 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart O - Consumer 

Confidence Reports are hereby incorporated by reference 

including any subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are 

available for public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 .0102(a) 

and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and marina slips that are 

community water systems as defined by G.S. 130A-313(10), but 

do not serve 25 or more of the same persons more than six months 

per year shall be exempt from the provisions of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-313; 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

SECTION .1800 - LOCAL PLAN APPROVAL 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1804 NOTICE 

(a)  A local approval program shall submit an annual notice to the 

Department to identify of each approval of the construction or 

alteration of the distribution system of a community water system. 

The local approval program shall retain a copy of the application 

and approved engineering plans, and shall provide a copy to the 

Department upon request. The notice shall consist of one copy of 

the application with construction plans, any revisions made to the 

plans and the final approval letter. 

(b)  The local approval program shall provide notice to the 

department within 10 days of any change in staff, budget or other 

resources which may affect the ability to effectively carry out the 

plan review program. 

(c)  Upon completion of the construction or alteration of the 

distribution system, the applicant shall submit a statement to the 

local approval program signed by a registered professional 

engineer stating that construction was completed in substantial 

accordance with approved plans and specifications and revised 

only in accordance with 15A NCAC 18C Rule .0306 of this 

Subchapter. The statement shall be based upon adequate 

observations during and upon completion of construction by the 

engineer or a representative of the engineer's office supervised by 

the engineer. The local approval program shall provide a copy of 

the statement to the Department. Department upon request. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-317; 1985 S.L., c. 697, s. 3. 

 

SECTION .2000 - FILTRATION AND DISINFECTION 
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15A NCAC 18C .2001 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.70 are hereby adopted by 

reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-14(c). incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141.70. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2002 DISINFECTION 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.72 are hereby adopted by 

reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.6 including 

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are available for 

public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

These provisions are adopted with the following exceptions: 

(1) Water entering the distribution system. In 40 

C.F.R. 141.72 (a)(2), (a)(3), and (b)(2), "0.2 

mg/l" of residual disinfectant concentration 

shall be replaced with "0.2 mg/l measured as 

free chlorine when chlorine is the singular 

applied disinfectant and 1.0 mg/l measured as 

total chlorine when ammonia and chlorine are 

applied disinfectants." 

(2) Water in the distribution system at coliform 

sampling sites. In 40 C.F.R. 141.72(a)(4) and 

(b)(3), "undetectable" shall be replaced with 

"less than 0.2 mg/1 measured as free chlorine 

when chlorine is the singular applied 

disinfectant and less than 1.0 mg/l measured as 

total chlorine when ammonia and chlorine are 

applied disinfectants." 

(3) Water in the distribution system at maximum 

residence time sites. For samples collected at 

maximum residence time sites or at other 

locations with high water age as required by 

Rule .1302(a)(2) of this Subchapter, residual 

disinfectant concentrations shall be at 

detectable levels as set forth and calculated in 

40 C.F.R. 141.72(a)(4) and (b)(3). 

(4) All surface water treatment facilities shall 

include chemical disinfection for a minimum 

0.5 log Giardia inactivation. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141.72. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2005 CRITERIA FOR AVOIDING 

FILTRATION 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.71 are hereby adopted by 

reference in accordance with G.S. 150B-14(c). incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141.71. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2008 DISINFECTANTS AND 

DISINFECTION BYPRODUCTS 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.53 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.54 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.64 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(d)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.65 are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart L- Disinfectant 

Residuals, Disinfection Byproducts, and Disinfection Byproduct 

Precursors, and the provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subparts U-

Initial Distribution System Evaluations and Subpart V - Stage 2 

Disinfection Byproducts Requirements are hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies are available for public inspection as set forth in Rule 

.0102 .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

(f)  Travel trailer parks, campgrounds, and marina slips that are 

community water systems as defined by G.S. 130A-313(10), but 

do not serve 25 or more of the same persons more than six months 

per year shall be regulated as transient non-community water 

systems for the purpose of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-313; 130A-315; P.L. 93-525; 40 C.F.R. 141. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS  

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Barber Examiners intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 06F .0113 and .0127. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://www.ncbarbers.com/news.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: December 18, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: 5809 Departure Drive, Ste 102, Raleigh, NC 27616 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

The amendment to 21 NCAC 06F .0113 would allow schools to 

enroll students once the student permit is issued and establishes 

time frames for the board staff to issue student permits. 

 

The amendment to 21 NCAC 06F .0127 would make technical 

changes to conform to the new paragraph letters in the amended 

version of Rule .0113. 
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Comments may be submitted to:  Dennis Seavers, NC Board of 

Barber Examiners, 5809 Departure Dr., Ste 102, Raleigh, NC 

27616, phone (919)814-0641, fax (919)981-5068, email 

dseavers@ncbarbers.com 

 

Comment period ends: February 1, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06F – BARBER SCHOOL 

 

SECTION .0100 – BARBER SCHOOL 

 

21 NCAC 06F .0113 STUDENT PERMIT 

(a)  The barber school shall submit an application as required by 

21 NCAC 06N .0104 for a student permit to the Board at least 10 

days prior to the student beginning classes. Board at an address 

listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102. 

(b)  The Board shall issue the student permit within: 

(1) Five business days for applications submitted 

online; or 

(2) Ten calendar days for applications submitted by 

mail or in person. 

(b)(c)  A student cannot be enrolled in the school until the Board 

issues the student permit. The student shall receive no credit for 

training received in barber school until a student permit has been 

issued for the student and received by the school. student. 

(c)(d)  Within five business days of the date on which any student 

completes his or her course of study, drops out of school, or 

transfers to another school, the barber school shall return the 

student permit to the Board. 

(d)(e)  The Board issues a student permit only for the specific 

application. Once a student permit is issued, the Board shall not 

refund the fee. 

Authority G.S. 86A-22. 

21 NCAC 06F .0127 STATE AUTHORIZATION AS A 

POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTION 

(a)  If a barber school seeks to be authorized by the Board as a 

postsecondary educational institution as set forth in 34 C.F.R. 

600.9: 

(1) the school handbooks and enrollment 

agreements required by 21 NCAC 06F .0125 

shall require prospective students to have a high 

school diploma or equivalent; and 

(2) the school shall submit a copy of the student's 

high school diploma or equivalency 

documentation with each Form BAR-3 required 

by 21 NCAC 06N .0104 within the time frame 

as set forth in 21 NCAC 06F .0113(a). 21 

NCAC 06F .0113. 

(b)  If a barber school meets the requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Board shall include the phrase 

"Postsecondary Institution" on the barber school permit issued 

under G.S. 86A-13. If the school already holds a school permit 

issued by the Board, the Board shall issue the permit with the 

phrase "Postsecondary Institution" at no additional cost, and the 

school shall relinquish the permit without the phrase to the Board. 

(c)  The Board shall determine that a school no longer complies 

with Paragraph (a) based on an inspection or investigation, 

notification to the Board by the school, or a failure by the school 

to comply with Paragraph (a)(2) of this Rule. If the Board makes 

this determination: 

(1) the Board shall issue at no charge a duplicate 

copy of the permit without the phrase 

"Postsecondary Institution"; 

(2) the school shall relinquish to the Board the 

permit with the phrase "Postsecondary 

Institution"; and 

(3) the Board shall notify the federal Department of 

Education of the school's change in 

postsecondary status. 

(d)  This Rule shall not be construed to authorize the Board to 

delay issuing a permit without the phrase "Postsecondary 

Institution" to a school that otherwise meets the requirements of 

the North Carolina General Statutes and the rules of the Board. 

Authority G.S. 86A-13; 86A-22; 20 U.S.C. 1001; 20 U.S.C. 1002; 

34 C.F.R. 600.9. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 28 – LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board intends to adopt the 

rules cited as 21 NCAC 28B .0104, .0303, and .0901, and amend 

the rules cited as 21 NCAC 28B .0103, .0201, .0202, .0402, .0403, 

.0501, .0507, .0601, and .0803. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.nclclb.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2019 
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Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 20, 2018 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  3901 Barrett Drive, Suite 202, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 28B .0103 Provide clarity on when and how 

license number is to be displayed. 

21 NCAC 28B .0104 Required per G.S. 93B-2; establish 

manner in which annual reports are filed and escrow account 

maintained.  

21 NCAC 28B .0201 Provide clarity on length of time of 

exam authorization. 

21 NCAC 28B .0202 Clarify who must present evidence of 

licensure from other jurisdiction. 

21 NCAC 28B .0303 Establish rule regarding definition of 

qualifier and use of assumed names. 

21 NCAC 28B .0402 Provide clarity on CEU credits, who is 

responsible for taking CEU, etc. 

21 NCAC 28B .0403 Clarify that failure to comply with 

CEU requirements will impact license status. 

21 NCAC 28B .0501 Clarify how Board will review 

contracts in determining whether licensure is required. 

21 NCAC 28B .0507 Clarify definition of “garden pool.” 

21 NCAC 28B .0601 Clarify fees for types of licenses 

(licensing and reinstatement). 

21 NCAC 28B .0803 Include copy costs for subpoenaed 

documents. 

21 NCAC 28B .0901 Required per G.S. 150B-20; establish 

process for rulemaking petitions. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Calvin M. Kirven, The North 

Carolina Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board, 3901 Barrett 

Drive, Suite 202, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Comment period ends:  February 1, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

SUBCHAPTER 28B – LICENSING BOARD RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 – STATUTORY AND ADMINISTRATIVE 

PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0103 PRACTICE OF LANDSCAPE 

CONTRACTING CONTRACTING; DISPLAY OF 

LICENSE NUMBER 

(a)  An individual who is "readily available to exercise 

supervision over the landscape construction and contracting 

work" as set forth in G.S. 89D-12(a) and G.S. 89D-17(f) is an 

individual who is physically located no more than 100 miles from 

where the construction or contract project is located or who is 

available electronically with the ability to view the construction 

or contract project. 

(b)  The contractor's license number shall be displayed in 

accordance with G.S. 89D-12(3). License numbers displayed on 

vehicles used in the contractor's landscaping business shall be a 

minimum of one inch in height. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-12(a); 89D-12(a) and (e); 89D-15(2). 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0104 ANNUAL REPORTS 

(a)  On or before October 31 of each year, the Board shall prepare 

and file reports required pursuant to G.S. 93B-2. The Board shall 

file reports in the manner requested by receiving agency or 

committee. 

(b)  The Board shall maintain an escrow account at the financial 

institution used regularly for deposits and checks. Fees tendered 

during a period of suspension under G.S. 93B-2(d) shall be 

deposited into this escrow account. 

 

Authority G.S. 93B-2. 

 

SECTION .0200 – LICENSURE; RECIPROCITY 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0201 APPLICATIONS FOR 

LICENSURE 

(a)  All applicants for licensure or examination shall submit an 

application to the Board. The application form shall be available 

on the Board website or may be obtained by contacting the Board 

office. The application shall require the following: 

(1) The Social Security Number of applicant; 

(2) The applicant's contact information; 

(3) The name of business under which licensee will 

be operating, if any; 

(4) Information about all crimes of which the 

applicant has been convicted; 

(5) Documentation regarding all crimes of which 

the applicant has been convicted; 

(6) Information indicating whether the applicant 

has any disciplinary history with any other 

occupational licensing, registration or 

certification board or agency; 

(7) Three personal letters of reference; 
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(8) Two professional letters of reference; 

(9) The corporate surety bond or an irrevocable 

letter of credit as prescribed by G.S. 89D-

16(a)(4); 

(10) The application fee as set forth in Rule .0601 of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  All letters of reference as required by Subparagraphs (a)(7) 

and (a)(8) of this Rule shall include the following information for 

the person providing the reference: 

(1) Name; 

(2) Address; 

(3) Phone number; and 

(4) Email address. 

(c)  Once an applicant has submitted a complete application and 

has been determined to have met the minimum qualifications set 

forth in G.S. 89D-16(a), the Board will notify the applicant that 

the applicant applicant's qualifier is permitted to take an 

examination. Prior to taking the examination, the applicant shall 

submit an examination fee as set out in this Subchapter. In order 

for a qualifier to be permitted to take an examination, an applicant 

shall submit a complete application no less than 30 days prior to 

a scheduled examination date. 

(d)  All applications shall be notarized. Incomplete applications 

shall not be processed. Application fees are non-refundable. 

(e)  A qualifier has one year from the date an application is 

approved by the Board to take and pass an examination. If a 

license expires pursuant to G.S. 89D-20(a) and is not renewed 

within one year of the date of expiration, the licensee must submit 

a new application pursuant to this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-16; 89D-20. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0202 RECIPROCITY 

(a)  All applicants for licensure by reciprocity shall submit an 

application to the Board. The application form shall be available 

on the Board website or may be obtained by contacting the Board 

office located as described in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  All applications shall include the following: 

(1) The license by reciprocity application fee as set 

forth in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter; 

(2) Documentation establishing that the qualifier 

for the applicant holds an active license, 

certification, or registration as a landscape 

contractor in another state or country; 

(3) Information indicating whether the applicant or 

qualifier has any disciplinary history with any 

other occupational licensing, registration or 

certification board or agency; 

(4) The corporate surety bond or an irrevocable 

letter of credit as prescribed by G.S. 89D-

16(a)(4); 

(5) Contact information for three personal 

references; 

(6) Contact information for two professional 

references; and 

(7) Documentation regarding all crimes of which 

the applicant has been convicted. 

If there is any evidence to show that the applicant has committed 

any acts that would constitute a violation under G.S. 89D-22, the 

applicant shall not be licensed by reciprocity. 

(c)  Once an applicant has submitted a complete application and 

the Board has determined that the requirements for licensure, 

certification, or registration in the applicant's home jurisdiction 

are substantially equivalent to the requirements in G.S. 89D-16, 

the Board shall issue a license to the applicant. 

(d)  All applications shall be notarized. Incomplete applications 

shall not be processed. Application fees are non-refundable. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(3); 89D-15(4); 89D-16; 89D-

19; 89D-22. 

 

SECTION .0300 – LICENSE RENEWAL; 

REINSTATEMENT 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0303 QUALIFIER/QUALIFYING 

PARTY; USE OF ASSUMED NAME 

(a)  Each license shall have a person associated with the license 

who shall be deemed the "qualifier" or the "qualifying party." The 

qualifier shall be an individual who has passed the Board's 

examination in accordance with the Board's statutes and rules. 

(b)  If the license is an individual license, the qualifier shall be the 

same person as the person holding the individual license name. If 

the licensee is a legal entity authorized under the Board's practice 

act, the qualifier shall be as follows: 

(1) If a corporation, the qualifier shall be an officer 

or a full-time employee; 

(2) If a limited liability company, the qualifier shall 

be a manager as defined in G.S. 57D-1-03 or a 

full-time employee; 

(3) If a partnership, the qualifier shall be a general 

partner or full-time employee; and 

(4) If the holder of an assumed or designated trade 

name, the qualifier shall be an owner of no less 

than 50 percent of the business or a full-time 

employee. 

(c)  If a qualifier ceases his relationship with the licensee and 

pursuant to G.S. 89D-17(h) seeks additional time to acquire a 

qualifier, the licensee shall submit a written request to the Board. 

If more than 30 days pass without a qualifier and no written 

request is submitted, the license is automatically suspended. If 

more than one year passes and the license is not renewed, the 

license shall be revoked pursuant to G.S. 89D-20. 

(d)  "Full-time employee" means a person who is paid a salary or 

wage and is engaged in the work of the licensee a minimum of 20 

hours per week or a majority of the hours operated by the 

applicant, whichever is less. A qualifier shall not be an 

independent contractor. 

(e)  Any applicant or licensee seeking to operate under an assumed 

name shall submit to the Board a Certificate of Assumed Name 

filed in accordance with Chapter 66, Article 14A of the General 

Statutes. Applications submitted to the Board on behalf of 

corporations, limited liability companies and partnerships shall be 

accompanied by a copy of any documents required to be filed with 

the North Carolina Secretary of State's office, such as Articles of 

Incorporation or Certificate of Authority. 
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(f)  All licensees shall comply with the requirements of G.S. 66-

71.4 and shall notify the Board within 30 days of any change in 

the name in which the licensee is conducting business in the State 

of North Carolina. 

(g)  No applicant or licensee shall use or adopt an assumed name 

used by any other licensee, or any name so similar to an assumed 

name used by another licensee that could confuse or mislead the 

public. 

 

Authority G.S. 66-71-4; 89D-16; 89D-17; 89D-20. 

 

SECTION .0400 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0402 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

UNITS 

(a)  A licensee shall complete seven continuing education units 

(CEUs) during the year preceding renewal. Beginning with 

renewals filed after August 1, 2016, at least three of the seven 

CEUs must be technical credits and at least two of the seven CEUs 

must be business credits. If the information provided to the Board 

as required by this Section is unclear, the Board may request 

additional information from a licensee in order to assure 

compliance with continuing education requirements. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) "technical credits" are defined as credits 

relating directly to the subject matter of 

landscape contracting as described in G.S. 89D-

11(3); and 

(2) "business credits" are defined as credits relating 

to general business practices, including 

business planning, contracts, liability exposure, 

human resources, basic accounting, financial 

statements, and safety. 

(c)  CEUs shall be determined as follows: 

 

Type of Qualifying 

Activity 

Minimum time 

required for 1 CEU 

Live course 50 minutes 

Online course 50 minutes 

Trade Shows, Field Days, 

and Tours 

4 hours 

Green Industry Board 

Member Service 

1 hour 

Teaching or instructing 1 hour 

In-house or Green 

Industry training 

1 hour 

 

(d)  No more than two CEU credits will be given for qualifying 

teaching or instructing in one year. 

(e)  No more than four CEU credits will be given for pesticide 

credits issued by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services in a given year. 

(e)(f)  Credit shall not be given in increments of less than .5 CEUs. 

Breaks in courses shall not be counted towards CEU credit. 

(f)(g)  Requests for pre-approval shall be submitted at least 45 

days prior to the first day of the course or event. 

(h)  All continuing education shall be taken personally by the 

individual receiving credit. 

(i)  A licensee shall not take the same CEU course within two 

consecutive licensing years. 

(j)  A licensee licensed less than 12 months shall not be required 

to submit evidence of continuing education at the initial renewal 

date. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-15(12); 89D-20(b). 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0403 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECORDS; AUDIT 

(a)  A licensee shall maintain records of attendance at continuing 

education programs for which CEUs have been approved for two 

years following the processing date of the renewal application to 

which the CEUs were applied. 

(b)  Compliance with annual CEU requirements shall be 

determined through a random audit process conducted by the 

Board. Licensees selected for auditing shall provide the Board 

with the following documentation of the CEU activities claimed 

for the renewal period: 

(1) Attendance verification records; and 

(2) Information regarding course content, 

instructors, and sponsoring organization. 

(c)  Licensees selected for audit shall submit all requested 

information to the Board within 21 calendar days after the date 

the licensee was notified by the Board of the audit. 

(d)  Failure to maintain compliance with the Board's continuing 

education requirements will result in the licensee's status being 

automatically changed to inactive. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-15(12); 89D-20(b). 

 

SECTION .0500 - MINIUMUM STANDARDS 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0501 GENERAL 

(a)  Prior to commencing work, services performed by a licensed 

landscape contractor ("licensed contractor") that exceed five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) in value shall be described in a written 

agreement. This agreement may be authored by either party and 

shall contain: 

(1) The business name, license number, business 

address, and telephone number of the licensed 

contractor; 

(2) The name and address of client or customer; 

(3) The address or location of work to be 

performed, if different from the client or 

customer's address; 

(4) The date of the proposal; 

(5) The description of the work to be performed; 

(6) The total value in lump sum, unit price, or time 

and material price; 

(7) The estimated time of completion unless 

already identified in an original prime contract, 

if applicable; 

(8) The terms of payment; 

(9) The terms of warranty (if any); 

(10) The terms of maintenance, including the party 

responsible for maintenance; 

(11) The signatures of all parties by individuals 

legally authorized to act on behalf of the parties; 
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(12) Affixation of a seal described in G.S. 89D-

12(d) or a statement that the licensed contractor 

is licensed by the Board and the current address 

and phone number of the Board; and 

(13) The date of signing. 

Contracts that are lump sum and have no breakout of cost for 

services that are either covered or noncovered under G.S. 89D-11 

through G.S. 89D-13 shall be inclusive of covered services under 

G.S. 89D-13(5). 

(b)  All work performed by a licensed contractor shall meet all 

applicable building codes, local ordinances, and project 

specifications. All work performed by a licensed contractor shall 

meet manufacturer's specifications. 

(c)  If project plans or specifications prepared by someone other 

than the licensed contractor do not meet pertinent codes and 

ordinances, the licensed contractor shall bring this to the attention 

of the client or customer. 

(d)  If the licensed contractor observes a condition while the work 

is being performed that requires attention beyond the original 

scope of work, the contractor shall report the condition to a 

supervisor, the owner, or the person responsible for authorizing 

the work. 

(e)  The licensed contractor shall call for utility location services 

pursuant to the Underground Utility Safety and Damage 

Prevention Act, G.S. 87-115 et seq., also known as the N.C. 811 

law. 

(f)  The licensed contractor shall maintain a worksite that meets 

state and local standards for a safe workplace. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-13(5); 89D-15(2); 89D-15(16). 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0507 LOW-VOLTAGE LIGHTING; 

POOLS 

(a)  When installing low-voltage landscape lighting systems, the 

licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Insure that all wire connections are waterproof; 

(2) Only use weather-proof fixtures; 

(3) Supply lamps per the manufacturer's 

specifications with all fixtures; 

(4) Ensure that the total lamp wattage of each 

circuit does not exceed the National Electrical 

Code (NEC) standard for the size of wire being 

used; 

(5) Not load a wire to more than 80 percent of the 

wire's capacity; 

(6) Connect all exterior low-voltage wiring to a 

ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) circuit; 

(7) Mount transformers a minimum of 18 inches 

above grade; 

(8) Perform a post-installation inspection to verify 

that the lighting system is fully operational as 

intended per the manufacturer's 

recommendations; and 

(9) Provide literature to the client about the lighting 

components that lists lamps per the 

manufacturer's specifications for fixtures. 

(b)  All garden pools shall be installed in accordance with state 

and local codes. A garden pool is an ornamental water feature that 

is not defined as a swimming pool under any state or local code. 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(16). 

 

SECTION .0600 - FEES 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0601 FEE SCHEDULE 

(a)  The Board shall charge the following fees: 

(1) Application: $75.00; 

(2) Examination: $150.00; 

(3) License Individual license fee: $60.00; 

(4) Corporate license fee: $60.00; 

(4)(5) License renewal: $60.00; 

(5)(6) Late renewal: $25.00; 

(6)(7) Reinstatement: Individual license 

reinstatement: $100.00; 

(8) Corporate license reinstatement: $100.00; 

(7)(9) License by reciprocity: $100.00; and 

(8)(10) Duplicate license: $25.00. 

(b)  If the Board elects to use a testing service for the preparation, 

administration, or grading of examinations, the Board shall charge 

the applicant the actual cost of the examination services and a 

prorated portion of the examination fee. 

(c)  The late renewal and reinstatement fees shall be imposed for 

renewal applications submitted after August 1. All licenses shall 

expire on August 1 unless renewed. 

(c)(d)  All fees charged by the Board are non-refundable. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(10); 89D-21. 

 

SECTION .0800 - HEARINGS PROCESS; SUMMARY 

SUSPENSION 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0803 SUBPOENAS 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-39, the Board may issue subpoenas for 

the appearance of witnesses or the production of documents or 

information, either at the hearing or for the purposes of discovery. 

(b)  After a notice of hearing in a contested case has been issued 

and served upon a licensee or, in a case concerning an application 

for licensure, the applicant, the respondent may request subpoenas 

for the attendance of witnesses and the production of evidence. 

(c)  Requests by a licensee or applicant for subpoenas shall be 

made in writing to the Board and shall include the following: 

(1) the name and home or business address of all 

persons to be subpoenaed; and 

(2) the identification of any documents or 

information being sought. 

Upon submission of a written request containing the information 

in Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph, the Board shall 

issue the subpoenas to the requesting party within three business 

days of the Board's receipt of the request. 

(d)  Subpoenas shall be served by the party requesting the 

subpoena as provided by the Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A, 

Rule 45. The cost of service, fees, and expenses expenses, 

including copying costs, of any witnesses or documents 

subpoenaed is prescribed by G.S. 150B-39. 

 

Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(8); 150B-39; 150B-40(c). 

 

SECTION .0900 – RULEMAKING 
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21 NCAC 28B .0901 RULEMAKING PETITION 

(a)  Any person may petition the Board to adopt a rule by 

submitting to the Board a written request that shall include the 

following: 

(1) Petitioner's contact information including 

phone number and email address; 

(2) Proposed rule, proposed amendment, or rule to 

be repealed; and 

(3) An explanation of why the proposed adoption, 

amendment or repeal is being requested. 

The request shall be submitted in writing to the Board office as 

set out in 21 NCAC 28B .0101. 

(b)  The Board shall consider a petition at its next regularly 

scheduled meeting unless the petition is filed less than 15 days 

prior to such meeting. If a petition is filed less than 15 days prior 

to the next regularly scheduled Board meeting, the Board shall 

consider the petition at the next subsequent Board meeting. In all 

cases, the Board shall make its decision within the timeframe set 

out in G.S. 150B-20(b). 

(c)  If the Board denies a petition, a copy of the decision shall be 

served upon the petitioner by one of the methods for service of 

process under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5(b). If service is by registered, 

certified, or first-class mail, by signature confirmation as provided 

by the United States Postal Service, or by designated delivery 

service authorized pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 7502(f)(2) with delivery 

receipt, the copy shall be addressed to the petitioner at the latest 

address given by the petitioner to the Board. Service by one of the 

additional methods provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5(b), is effective 

as provided therein and shall be accompanied by a certificate of 

service as provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5(b)(1). 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-20. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on October 18, 2018 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

ELECTIONS AND ETHICS ENFORCEMENT, BOARD OF 

Modified Full-Time Offices 08 NCAC 05 .0111* 31:23 NCR 

Multipartisan Assistance Teams 08 NCAC 16 .0101* 31:23 NCR 

Team Members 08 NCAC 16 .0102* 31:23 NCR 

Visits by Multipartisan Assistance Teams 08 NCAC 16 .0104* 31:23 NCR 

In-Person Return of Absentee Ballots 08 NCAC 18 .0102* 31:23 NCR 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 

Safety Standards for Wind Turbine Tower Elevators 13 NCAC 15 .0208* 33:02 NCR 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Safety of Operation and Equipment 14B NCAC 07C .0101* 33:01 NCR 

Hazardous Materials 14B NCAC 07C .0102* 33:01 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Application for Certificate of Vessel Number 15A NCAC 10F .0102* 32:23 NCR 

Transfer of Ownership 15A NCAC 10F .0103* 32:23 NCR 

Certificate of Number 15A NCAC 10F .0104* 32:23 NCR 

Numbering Pattern 15A NCAC 10F .0105* 32:23 NCR 

Display of Vessel Numbers 15A NCAC 10F .0106* 32:23 NCR 

Validation Decal 15A NCAC 10F .0107 32:23 NCR 

Temporary Certificate of Number 15A NCAC 10F .0109* 32:23 NCR 

Abandoned Vessels 15A NCAC 10F .0110 32:23 NCR 

Safety Equipment 15A NCAC 10F .0201* 32:23 NCR 

Accident Reports 15A NCAC 10F .0202* 32:23 NCR 

General Provisions 15A NCAC 10F .0301* 32:23 NCR 

Chowan County 15A NCAC 10F .0325* 32:23 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Scope 15A NCAC 18A .1934* 32:21 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .1935* 32:21 NCR 

Permits 15A NCAC 18A .1937* 32:21 NCR 

Responsibilities 15A NCAC 18A .1938* 32:21 NCR 

Site Evaluation 15A NCAC 18A .1939* 32:21 NCR 

Topography and Landscape Position 15A NCAC 18A .1940* 32:21 NCR 

Soil Characteristics (Morphology) 15A NCAC 18A .1941* 32:21 NCR 

Soil Wetness Conditions 15A NCAC 18A .1942* 32:21 NCR 

Soil Depth 15A NCAC 18A .1943* 32:21 NCR 

Restrictive Horizons 15A NCAC 18A .1944* 32:21 NCR 

Available Space 15A NCAC 18A .1945* 32:21 NCR 
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Other Applicable Factors 15A NCAC 18A .1946* 32:21 NCR 

Determination of Overall Site Suitability 15A NCAC 18A .1947* 32:21 NCR 

Site Classification 15A NCAC 18A .1948* 32:21 NCR 

Sewage Flow Rates for Design Units 15A NCAC 18A .1949* 32:21 NCR 

Location of Sanitary Sewage Systems 15A NCAC 18A .1950* 32:21 NCR 

Applicability of Rules 15A NCAC 18A .1951* 32:21 NCR 

Septic Tank, Effluent Filter, Dosing Tank and Lift Statio... 15A NCAC 18A .1952* 32:21 NCR 

Prefabricated Septic Tanks and Pump Tanks 15A NCAC 18A .1953* 32:21 NCR 

Minimum Standards for Precast Reinforced Concrete Tanks 15A NCAC 18A .1954* 32:21 NCR 

Design Installation Criteria for Conventional Sewage Systems 15A NCAC 18A .1955* 32:21 NCR 

Modifications to Septic Tank Systems 15A NCAC 18A .1956* 32:21 NCR 

Criteria for Design of Alternative Sewage 15A NCAC 18A .1957* 32:21 NCR 

Non-Ground Absorption Sewage Treatment Systems 15A NCAC 18A .1958* 32:21 NCR 

Privy Construction 15A NCAC 18A .1959* 32:21 NCR 

Maintenance of Privies 15A NCAC 18A .1960* 32:21 NCR 

Maintenance of Sewage Systems 15A NCAC 18A .1961* 32:21 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 18A .1962* 32:21 NCR 

Interpretation and Technical Assistance 15A NCAC 18A .1964* 32:21 NCR 

Appeals Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .1965* 32:21 NCR 

Severability 15A NCAC 18A .1966* 32:21 NCR 

Injunctions 15A NCAC 18A .1967* 32:21 NCR 

Penalties 15A NCAC 18A .1968* 32:21 NCR 

Approval and Permitting of On-Site Subsurface Wastewater ... 15A NCAC 18A .1969* 32:21 NCR 

Advanced Wastewater Pretreatment System 15A NCAC 18A .1970* 32:21 NCR 

Engineered Option Permit 15A NCAC 18A .1971* 32:21 NCR 

Scope 15A NCAC 18E .0101* 32:21 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 18E .0102* 32:21 NCR 

Abbreviations 15A NCAC 18E .0104* 32:21 NCR 

General 15A NCAC 18E .0201* 32:21 NCR 

Application 15A NCAC 18E .0202* 32:21 NCR 

Improvement Permit 15A NCAC 18E .0203* 32:21 NCR 

Construction Authorization 15A NCAC 18E .0204* 32:21 NCR 

Operation Permit 15A NCAC 18E .0205* 32:21 NCR 

Existing System Approvals for Reconnections and Property 15A NCAC 18E .0206* 32:21 NCR 

Engineer Option Permit 15A NCAC 18E .0207* 32:21 NCR 

Owners 15A NCAC 18E .0301* 32:21 NCR 

Local Health Department of State 15A NCAC 18E .0302* 32:21 NCR 

Submittal Requirements for Plans, Specifications, and Rep... 15A NCAC 18E .0304* 32:21 NCR 

Submittal Requirements for Plans, Specifications, and Rep... 15A NCAC 18E .0305* 32:21 NCR 

Design Daily Flow 15A NCAC 18E .0401* 32:21 NCR 

Septic Tank Effluent Characteristics 15A NCAC 18E .0402* 32:21 NCR 

Adjustments to Design Daily Flow 15A NCAC 18E .0403* 32:21 NCR 

Site Evaluation 15A NCAC 18E .0501* 32:21 NCR 

Topography and Landscape Position 15A NCAC 18E .0502* 32:21 NCR 

Soil Morphology 15A NCAC 18E .0503* 32:21 NCR 

Soil Wetness Conditions 15A NCAC 18E .0504* 32:21 NCR 

Saprolite 15A NCAC 18E .0506* 32:21 NCR 
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Restrictive Horizons 15A NCAC 18E .0507* 32:21 NCR 

Site Suitability and Classification 15A NCAC 18E .0509* 32:21 NCR 

Special Site Evaluations 15A NCAC 18E .0510* 32:21 NCR 

Septic Tank Capacity Requirements 15A NCAC 18E .0801* 32:21 NCR 

Pump Tank Capacity Requirements 15A NCAC 18E .0802* 32:21 NCR 

Grease Tank Capacity Requirements 15A NCAC 18E .0803* 32:21 NCR 

Siphon Tank Capacity Requirements 15A NCAC 18E .0804* 32:21 NCR 

Tank Material Requirements 15A NCAC 18E .1403* 32:21 NCR 

Risers, Effluent Filters, Pipe Penetration Approval Renewal 15A NCAC 18E .1405* 32:21 NCR 

Modification, Suspension, and Revocation of Approvals 15A NCAC 18E .1406* 32:21 NCR 

General 15A NCAC 18E .1501* 32:21 NCR 

Application 15A NCAC 18E .1502* 32:21 NCR 

Design and Construction Standards 15A NCAC 18E .1503* 32:21 NCR 

Sampling Requirements for Residential Wastewater Treatment 15A NCAC 18E .1504* 32:21 NCR 

Residential Wastewater Treatment System Approval Renewal 15A NCAC 18E .1505* 32:21 NCR 

General 15A NCAC 18E .1601* 32:21 NCR 

Design and Construction Standards 15A NCAC 18E .1602* 32:21 NCR 

Drip Dispersal System Testing 15A NCAC 18E .1603* 32:21 NCR 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Continuing Education Required 21 NCAC 16R .0201* G.S. 150B-21.5(a)(5) 

LOCKSMITH LICENSING BOARD 

Fees 21 NCAC 29 .0404* 33:02 NCR 

Fair Business Practices 21 NCAC 29 .0502* 33:02 NCR 

Application Form 21 NCAC 29 .0701* 33:02 NCR 

Requirements 21 NCAC 29 .0802 33:02 NCR 

MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

Administrative Body and Definitions 21 NCAC 33 .0101* 33:01 NCR 

Fees 21 NCAC 33 .0102 33:01 NCR 

Application 21 NCAC 33 .0103* 33:01 NCR 

Physician Supervision 21 NCAC 33 .0104* 33:01 NCR 

Due Process 21 NCAC 33 .0105* 33:01 NCR 

Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 33 .0110 33:01 NCR 

Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 33 .0111* 33:01 NCR 

PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Applicant by Examination 21 NCAC 48E .0110* G.S. 150B-21.5(4) and (5) 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist by Endorsement 21 NCAC 48E .0111* G.S. 150B-21.5(4) 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Assistant Applicant 21 NCAC 48E .0112* G.S. 150B-21.5(4) 

 

The following Rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 18E .0103* 32:21 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18E .0105* 32:21 NCR 

Licensed or Certified Professionals 15A NCAC 18E .0303* 32:21 NCR 

Soil Depth 15A NCAC 18E .0505* 32:21 NCR 
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Tank Leak Testing and Installation Requirements 15A NCAC 18E .0805* 32:21 NCR 

Plans for Prefabricated Tanks 15A NCAC 18E .1401* 32:21 NCR 

Tank Design and Construction 15A NCAC 18E .1402* 32:21 NCR 

Plans and Specifications for Risers, Effluent Filters, an... 15A NCAC 18E .1404* 32:21 NCR 

MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF 

Change of Ownership 21 NCAC 30 .1009* 32:18 NCR 

Informing Board of Violations 21 NCAC 30 .1010* 32:18 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 08 - BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS 

ENFORCEMENT 

 

08 NCAC 05 .0111 MODIFIED FULL-TIME 

OFFICES 

County board of elections offices in counties with fewer than 

6,501 registered voters may operate office hours on Mondays, 

Wednesdays, and Fridays upon approval of the county board of 

elections. For the purposes of this Rule, office hours means hours 

consistent with the hours observed by county government of that 

county. 

 

History: Authority G.S. 163A-776; 

Eff. December 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

08 NCAC 16 .0101 MULTIPARTISAN ASSISTANCE 

TEAMS 

(a)  Each county board of elections shall assemble and provide 

training to a Multipartisan Assistance Team ("Team") to respond 

to requests for voter assistance for any primary, general election, 

referendum, or special election. 

(b)  For every primary or election listed in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, the Team shall be made available in each county to assist 

patients and residents in every covered facility in that county in 

requesting or casting absentee ballots as provided by Article 21 of 

Subchapter III of Chapter 163A of the General Statutes. For the 

purposes of this Chapter, a "covered facility" is any facility that 

provides residential or in-patient healthcare in the State that is 

licensed or operated pursuant to Chapter 122C, Chapter 131D, or 

Chapter 131E of the General Statutes, including, for example, a 

hospital, clinic, nursing home, or adult care home; or by the 

federal government or an Indian tribe. 

(c)  The Team may assist voters in requesting mail-in absentee 

ballots, serve as witnesses to mail-in absentee voting, and 

otherwise assist in the process of mail-in absentee voting as 

provided by Article 21 of Subchapter III of Chapter 163A of the 

General Statutes. Upon the voter's request, the Team shall assist 

voters who have affirmatively communicated, either verbally or 

nonverbally, a request for assistance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-1298(a)(4); S.L. 2013-

381, s. 4.6(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2014; 

Eff. October 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018. 

08 NCAC 16 .0102 TEAM MEMBERS 

(a)  For purposes of this Chapter, the county board of elections 

shall compose the Team as follows: 

(1) At least two registered voters shall be on each 

Team. The two political parties having the 

highest number of affiliated voters in the State, 

as reflected by the registration statistics 

published by the State Board on January 1 of 

the current year, shall each be represented by at 

least one Team member of the party's 

affiliation. If the Team consists of more than 

two members, voters who are unaffiliated or 

affiliated with other political parties recognized 

by the State of North Carolina may be Team 

members. 

(2) If a county board of elections finds an 

insufficient number of voters available to 

comply with Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, 

the county board, upon a unanimous vote of all 

of its sworn members, may appoint an 

unaffiliated Team member to serve instead of 

the Team member representing one of the two 

political parties as set out in Subparagraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule. 

(b)  Team members shall not be paid or provided travel 

reimbursement by any political party or candidate for work as 

Team members. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-1298(a)(4); S.L. 2013-

381, s. 4.6(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2014; 

Eff. October 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018. 

 

08 NCAC 16 .0104 VISITS BY MULTIPARTISAN 

ASSISTANCE TEAMS 

(a)  The State Board shall provide annual notice regarding 

availability of Teams in each county. The notice shall provide 

information for covered facilities, or patients or residents of the 

facilities, to contact the county board of elections to arrange a 

Team visit. 

(b)  If a facility, or a patient or resident of a facility, requests a 

visit by the Team, the county board of elections shall notify the 

Team and schedule the visit(s) within seven calendar days if it is 

able to do so. If the county board of elections is unable to schedule 

the visit within seven calendar days, the voter may obtain such 

assistance from any person other than: 
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(1) an owner, manager, director, employee of the 

hospital, clinic, nursing home, or rest home in 

which the voter is a patient or resident; 

(2) an individual who holds any elective office 

under the United States, this State, or any 

political subdivision of this State; 

(3) an individual who is a candidate for nomination 

or election to such office; or 

(4) an individual who holds any office in a State, 

congressional district, county, or precinct 

political party or organization, or who is a 

campaign manager or treasurer for any 

candidate or political party; provided that a 

delegate to a convention shall not be considered 

a party office. 

None of the persons listed in Subparagraphs (1) through (4) of this 

Paragraph may sign the application or certificate as a witness for 

the patient. 

(c)  On a facility visit, the composition of the visiting Team 

members shall comply with the requirements of Rule .0102(a)(1) 

or (a)(2) of this Section. 

(d)  All Team members shall remain within the presence of each 

other while visiting or assisting patients or residents. 

(e)  At each facility visit, the Team shall provide the following 

assistance to patients or residents who request it: 

(1) Assistance in requesting a mail-in absentee 

ballot: The Team shall collect any request 

forms submitted by voters and deliver those 

request forms to the county board of elections 

office upon leaving the facility. Upon the 

voter's request, the Team may also: 

(A) Assist the voter in completing the 

request form, provided that the voter 

signs or, if unable to sign, makes his or 

her mark or directs that his or her mark 

to be placed on the form; and 

(B) Coordinate a return visit to assist the 

voter in completing the absentee 

ballot. 

(2) Assistance in casting a mail-in absentee ballot: 

Before providing assistance in voting by mail-

in absentee ballot, a Team member shall be in 

the presence of another Team member whose 

registration is not affiliated with the same 

political party. Team members shall sign the 

return envelope as witnesses to the marking of 

the mail-in absentee ballot. If the Team 

members provide assistance in marking the 

mail-in absentee ballot, the Team members 

shall also sign the voter's return envelope to 

indicate that they provided assistance in 

marking the ballot. 

(f)  The Team shall make and keep a record containing the names 

of all voters who received assistance or cast an absentee ballot 

during a visit as directed by the county board of elections, and 

submit that record to the county board of elections. 

(g)  The Team shall assist patients or residents physically located 

in the Team's county, regardless of the voter's county of 

registration. If a patient or resident is registered to vote in another 

county, the county board of elections in the county where the voter 

is registered shall communicate any request for assistance to the 

county board of elections in the county where the voter is 

physically located. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-1298(a)(4); S.L. 2013-

381, s. 4.6(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2014; 

Eff. October 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

08 NCAC 18 .0102 IN-PERSON RETURN OF 

ABSENTEE BALLOTS 

Any person who returns an absentee ballot in person to a county 

board of elections office shall, upon delivery, provide the 

following information in writing: 

(1) Name of voter; 

(2) Name of person delivering ballot; 

(3) Relationship to voter; 

(4) Phone number (if available) and current address 

of person delivering ballot; 

(5) Date and time of delivery of ballot; and 

(6) Signature or mark of person delivering ballot 

certifying that the information provided is true 

and correct and that the person is the voter or 

the voter's near relative as defined in G.S. 

163A-1308(h) or verifiable legal guardian as 

defined in G.S. 163A-1295(e). 

At the absentee meeting held pursuant to G.S. 163A-1308(e) and 

G.S. 163A-1315, the county board of elections may consider the 

delivery of a ballot in accordance with this Rule in conjunction 

with other evidence in determining whether the container-return 

envelope has been properly executed according to the 

requirements in G.S. 163A-1310. Failure to comply with this Rule 

shall not constitute evidence sufficient in and of itself to establish 

that the voter did not lawfully vote his or her ballot. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-741; 163A-1298(a)(5); 

163A-1308(g); 163A-1310; 

Eff. December 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 13 - DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0208 SAFETY STANDARDS FOR 

WIND TURBINE TOWER ELEVATORS 

(a)  The design, construction, installation, alteration, repair, 

replacement, inspection, maintenance, and operation of all 

installations of wind turbine tower elevators shall conform to the 

rules in this Section and Standard A17.8-2016 of the American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers, incorporated by reference with 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(b)  The rules of this Chapter shall control if any conflict exists 

between these Rules and Standard A17.8-2016 of the American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers. 

(c)  Copies of Standard A17.8-2016 of the American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers are available for inspection at the offices 
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of the Division and may be obtained from the American Society 

of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) via U.S. Mail at ASME 

Headquarters, Two Park Avenue, New York, New York 10017; 

via telephone at (800) 843-2763; or via the internet at 

www.asme.org. The publication is available in print or digitally at 

a cost of fifty-eight dollars ($58.00) per copy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 95-110.5; 

Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 07C .0101 SAFETY OF OPERATION AND 

EQUIPMENT 

(a)  The regulations adopted by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation relating to safety of operation and equipment (49 

CFR Parts 390 through 397) apply to all for-hire motor carriers 

and all for-hire motor carrier vehicles, and all private motor 

carriers and all private motor carrier vehicles engaged in interstate 

commerce over the highways of the State if such vehicles are 

commercial motor vehicle(s) as defined in 49 CFR Part 390.5. 

(b)  The regulations adopted by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation relating to safety of operation and equipment (49 

CFR Parts 390 through 397) apply to all for-hire motor carriers 

and all for-hire motor carrier vehicles, and all private motor 

carriers and all private motor carrier vehicles engaged in intrastate 

commerce over the highways of the State if such vehicle(s): 

(1) have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR), 

gross combination weight rating (GCWR), 

gross vehicle weight (GVW), gross 

combination weight (GCW) of 26,001 pounds 

or more, whichever is greater; 

(2) is designed or used to transport 16 or more 

passengers, including the driver; or 

(3) is used in transporting a hazardous material in a 

quantity requiring placarding pursuant to 49 

C.F.R. Parts 170 through 185. 

(c)  The following exceptions also apply to all intrastate motor 

carriers: 

(1) An intrastate motor carrier driver shall not drive 

more than 12 hours following eight consecutive 

hours off duty; for any period after having been 

on duty 16 hours following eight consecutive 

hours off duty; after having been on duty 70 

hours in seven consecutive days; or more than 

80 hours in eight consecutive days. An 

intrastate driver shall be determined by his or 

her previous seven days of operation. 

(2) Persons who qualify medically to operate a 

commercial motor vehicle within the State are 

exempt from the provisions of Part 

391.11(b)(1) and may be exempt from 

provisions of Part 391.41(b)(1) through (11) 

where applicable and therefore are authorized 

for intrastate operation if approved by an 

Exemption Review Officer appointed by the 

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. These 

drivers shall continue to be exempt upon 

completion of a medical examination indicating 

the condition has not worsened or no new 

disqualifying conditions have been diagnosed 

and upon continued approval of an Exemption 

Review Officer. After a medical review by the 

Exemption Review Officer, a driver may be 

granted a waiver not to exceed a period of two 

years based on the type and severity of the 

condition. The Exemption Review Officer shall 

follow the guidelines established for variances 

from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations for intrastate commerce found in 

49 CFR 350.341. 

(d)  The regulations adopted by the U. S. Department of 

Transportation relating to inspection, repair, and maintenance of 

motor vehicles (49 CFR Part 396.17 through 396.23 and including 

Appendix G) apply to all for-hire motor carrier vehicles, and all 

private motor carrier vehicles engaged in intrastate commerce 

over the highways of the State if such vehicles have a GVWR of 

greater than 10,000 pounds. 

(e)  Every motor vehicle registered or required to be registered in 

North Carolina and subject to the inspection requirements of the 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (49 CFR Part 396), 

shall display a current federal inspection certificate when operated 

on the streets and highways of this State. On self-propelled 

vehicles, the federal inspection certificate shall be displayed on 

the driver's side of the vehicle, exclusive of the window or rear 

view mirror. On trailers and semitrailers, the federal inspection 

certificate shall be located on the left side as near as possible to 

the outside lower front of the vehicle. The inspection certificate 

shall contain at least the following information, legible for review 

by the public: 

(1) The date of inspection; 

(2) The name and address of the motor carrier or 

other entity where the inspection report 

required by 49 CFR 396.21(a) is maintained; 

(3) Information uniquely identifying the vehicle 

inspected, such as the VIN; and 

(4) A certification that the vehicle has passed an 

inspection in accordance with 49 CFR 396.17. 

(f)  The Secretary shall fine violators for out-of-service criteria as 

allowed by G.S. 20-17.7. The out-of-service maximum civil fine 

schedule does not apply to violations discovered during 

educational contacts. An "educational contact" for the purpose of 

this Subchapter means a pre-planned, public safety inspection 

activity, focusing on commercial motor vehicle safety awareness 

and compliance. 

(g)  Any fines assessed for a violation listed in the Commercial 

Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) North American Standard out-

of-service criteria shall be assessed against the motor carrier of 

the commercial motor vehicle. These standards are incorporated 

by reference and may be purchased at a range of prices beginning 

at forty-five dollars ($45.00) from the CVSA at 

https://cvsa.org/inspections/inspections/out-of-service-criteria/. 

(h)  Whenever a motor carrier of a vehicle has a defense to the 

enforcement of a fine or fines for violation(s) of the out-of-service 

criteria by the Department of Public Safety, it shall pay the penalty 

within 30 calendar days after the date the penalty was assessed or 

make a written request within this time limit to the Department 
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for a Departmental review of the penalty. A person who does not 

submit a request for review within the required time waives the 

right to a review and hearing on the penalty. 

(i)  All Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Parts cited in this Rule 

are incorporated herein by reference including any subsequent 

amendments. A copy of the CFR is available online without cost 

at http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/ or from the Office of 

Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, 

Washington, D.C. 20402 at a cost set by that office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-17.7; 20-381; 

Eff. December 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; October 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 1992 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on July 30, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 30, 1992 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on September 26, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; July 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 6, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Transferred and recodified from 19A NCAC 03D .0801 Eff. 

March 23, 2009; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2011; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09J .0101 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

14B NCAC 07C .0102 HAZARDOUS MATERIALS 

(a)  The regulations adopted by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation relating to hazardous materials, including the 

transportation of hazardous materials (49 CFR Parts 170-185) 

shall apply to all for-hire and all private motor carrier vehicles 

engaged in interstate commerce or intrastate commerce over the 

highways of the State of North Carolina. 

(b)  All Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Parts cited in this Rule 

are incorporated herein by reference including any subsequent 

amendments. A copy of the CFR is available online without cost 

at http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/ or from the Office of 

Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, 

Washington, D.C. 20402 at a cost set by that office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-2; 20-381; 

Eff. December 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; January 1, 1994; 

Transferred and recodified from 19A NCAC 03D .0802 Eff. 

March 23, 2009; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09J .0102 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0102 APPLICATION FOR 

CERTIFICATE OF VESSEL NUMBER 

(a)  Definitions. The definitions in G.S. 75A-2 shall apply 

throughout this Subchapter and to all forms prescribed pursuant 

to this Subchapter. As used in this Subchapter, the following 

definitions shall also apply: 

(1) "Boating Accident" means a collision, accident, 

casualty, or occurrence involving a vessel or its 

equipment and resulting in: 

(A) damage by or to the vessel, its 

equipment, or other property; 

(B) injury or loss of life to any person; or 

(C) the disappearance of any person from 

a vessel under circumstances that 

indicate the possibility of death or 

injury. 

A "boating accident" includes capsizing, 

collision, foundering, flooding, fire, explosion, 

and the disappearance of a vessel other than by 

theft. 

(2) "Certificate of Title" means a document that 

serves as evidence of ownership of a vessel. 

(3) "Dealer" means a person, firm, or corporation 

engaged in the business of offering vessels for 

sale at retail or wholesale from an established 

location. 

(4) "Government Agency Vessel" means a vessel 

owned and operated by the United States or a 

federal agency, a state, or a subdivision of a 

state. 

(5) "Livery Vessel" means a vessel that is rented or 

leased by the owners to an individual for a 

defined period of time. 

(6) "Manufacturer" means a person, firm, or 

corporation engaged in the business of 

manufacturing vessels either upon prior 

commission or for the purpose of sale after 

manufacture. 

(7) "Nonprofit Rescue Squad Vessel" means a 

vessel owned and operated by a nonprofit 

rescue squad exclusively for rescue purposes, 

including rescue training. 

(8) "Proof of Ownership Document" means a 

document that provides evidence of ownership, 

including a Certificate of Number or a 

Certificate of Title issued by the Commission 

or any similar document issued by another state 

or country, an affidavit, a bill of sale, a 

manufacturer's statement of origin, or any other 

document that establishes ownership. 

(9) "Vessel Agent" means an individual or business 

authorized by the Commission to conduct 

vessel transactions. 

(b)  General. The certificate of numbering and certificate of titling 

requirements of G.S. 75A-4, 75A-7, 75A-34, and 75A-35 shall 

apply to all vessels operated on the public waters of North 

Carolina, including livery vessels, commercial fishing vessels, 

and commercial passenger vessels. Vessels operated pursuant to 

a dealer's or manufacturer's certificate of number for 

demonstration or testing purposes, government agency vessels, 

and non-profit rescue squad vessels shall not be subject to the 

titling requirements of G.S. 75A-34 and G.S. 75A-35 but shall 

remain subject to the certificate of numbering requirements of 
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G.S. 75A-4 and G.S. 75A-7. Every owner applying for a 

certificate of number and certificate of title of a vessel, if 

applicable, shall apply to the Commission or to one of its vessel 

agents using an application available on the Commission website 

at www.ncwildlife.org. The application shall include the 

following information: 

(1) the name of the owners; 

(2) the address, telephone number, date of birth, 

and North Carolina driver license number of the 

owners; 

(3) the current or previous certificate of number, if 

applicable;  

(4) the desired period of certificate of number, 

either one or three years; 

(5) the primary use of the vessel: 

(A) pleasure; 

(B) livery; 

(C) demonstration; 

(D) commercial fishing; 

(E) commercial passenger; 

(F) other commercial; or 

(G) other; 

(6) the model of the vessel, if known; 

(7) the manufacturer, if known; 

(8) the year of manufacture or model year, if 

known; 

(9) the manufacturer's hull identification number, if 

any; 

(10) the length of the vessel in feet and inches; 

(11) the type of vessel: 

(A) open; 

(B) cabin; 

(C) houseboat; 

(D) personal watercraft; 

(E) pontoon; or 

(F) other; 

(12) the hull material: 

(A) wood; 

(B) metal; 

(C) fiberglass; 

(D) plastic; 

(E) inflatable; or 

(F) other; 

(13) the type of propulsion: 

(A) inboard; 

(B) outboard; 

(C) inboard outdrive; 

(D) sail; 

(E) auxiliary sail with inboard; 

(F) auxiliary sail with outboard; or 

(G) jet Drive; 

(14) the type of fuel: 

(A) gasoline; 

(B) diesel; 

(C) electric; or 

(D) other; 

(15) a proof of ownership document; 

(16) the signature of the owners; 

(17) the make of motor if over 25 horsepower, 

including serial number and purchase price of 

motor; 

(18) the lien holder name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(19) the effective lien date: 

(20) the county where vessel is taxed; and 

(21) proof of United States Coast Guard 

documentation, if applicable. 

(c)  Application for certificate of number and certificate of title. 

The owners shall complete and submit an application for a 

certificate of number, proof of ownership documents, and 

applicable fees to the Commission or one of its vessel agents for 

processing within 15 days of the date of sale. A new certificate of 

number shall be issued for new or never-before registered vessels. 

For a period of 60 days following the date of sale, the new owners 

may use a copy of the proof of ownership document as a 

temporary certificate of number pending receipt of the original 

certificate, provided it contains the date of sale. If required, a 

certificate of title shall be issued and all reported liens shall be 

recorded. 

(d)  Livery Vessel Owners. Upon receipt of a completed 

application and a copy of the lease or rental agreement form and 

fee, the Commission shall issue to the applicant a certificate of 

number and, if applicable, a certificate of title. 

(e)  Dealers and Manufacturers of Vessels. Upon receipt of a 

completed application and fee, the Commission shall issue to the 

applicant a certificate of number that may be used in connection 

with the operation of any vessel in the possession of the dealer or 

manufacturer when the vessel is being demonstrated. Dealer and 

manufacturer certificates of number shall not be transferred. A 

new certificate of number shall be issued upon sale or transfer. 

Demonstration vessels shall not be titled so long as the vessel is 

owned by the dealer or manufacturer. Vessels owned or possessed 

by dealers or manufacturers for personal use or for any use other 

than for demonstration and testing purposes shall be individually 

registered in the name of the dealer or manufacturer in accordance 

with the certificate of number requirements of Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. Additional dealer or manufacturer certificates of 

number may be obtained by making application in the same 

manner as prescribed for the initial certificate with payment of a 

fee for each additional certificate. Dealers and manufacturers may 

register individual vessels in accordance with Rule .0104(a) of 

this Section. 

(f)  Government Agency and Nonprofit Rescue Squad Vessels. 

Upon receipt of a completed application and proof of ownership 

documents from a government agency or non-profit rescue squad, 

the Commission shall issue to the applicant a permanent 

certificate of number. There shall be no fee for a permanent 

government agency or non-profit rescue squad certificate of 

number and the certificate shall be valid until the vessel is 

transferred to another government agency, an individual, a 

business, or a dealer. Government agency and nonprofit rescue 

squad registered vessels shall not be titled. 

(g)  Commercial Fishing Vessel. The standard application for a 

certificate of number shall be used for commercial fishing vessels 

with the term "commercial fishing" marked in the section 

designated for "primary use." Upon receipt of a completed 

application, proof of ownership document, and fee, the 
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Commission shall issue to the applicant a certificate of number 

and, if applicable, a certificate of title. 

(h)  Commercial Passenger Vessel. Upon receipt of a completed 

application, proof of ownership document, and fee, the 

Commission shall issue to the applicant a certificate of number 

and, if applicable, a certificate of title. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 75A-7; 75A-19; 

75A-34; 75A-35; 33 C.F.R. 174.17; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 31, 1980; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. December 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988 at ARRC request to cure referenced 

Legislative Objection; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2007; July 1, 1998; April 1, 

1997; November 1, 1993; August 1, 1988; July 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0103 TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP 

(a)  Transfer of previously registered and titled vessels. 

(1) Transfer of previously registered and titled 

vessels from one individual owners to another. 

(A) When the ownership of a titled vessel 

is transferred, the owners listed on the 

face of the certificate of title shall 

complete the Assignment of Title 

section on the reverse side of the 

certificate of title and surrender the 

title to the new owners. All 

outstanding liens shall be satisfied 

before the title is surrendered. If the 

ownership of a titled vessel is 

transferred by court order, will, 

settlement agreement, separation 

agreement, judgment, or other 

document and the original title is not 

available, the previous owners or 

estate representative shall provide the 

new owners with documents 

establishing ownership. 

(B) The new owners shall submit an 

application for a certificate of number 

and certificate of title, along with the 

properly assigned certificate of title 

and applicable fees, within 15 days of 

the date of sale to the Commission or 

one of its vessel agents for processing. 

The new owners shall indicate on the 

application whether or not any liens 

exist on the vessel. If applicable, a new 

certificate of title shall be issued and 

all reported liens shall be recorded. 

The original certificate of number 

shall be retained when a vessel that 

was previously registered in North 

Carolina is transferred to a new owner. 

A new certificate of number shall be 

issued to a vessel that was previously 

registered in another state or never 

before registered. 

(C) For 60 days following the transfer of 

ownership of a previously titled 

vessel, the new owner may use a copy 

of the properly assigned certificate of 

title as a temporary certificate of 

number pending receipt of his or her 

own certificate provided the certificate 

is validated in accordance with Part 

(b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 

(2) Transfer of previously registered and titled 

vessels through a dealer. 

(A) When the ownership of a titled vessel 

is transferred to a dealer, the owners 

listed on the face of the certificate of 

title shall complete the Assignment of 

Title section on the reverse side of the 

certificate of title and surrender the 

title to the dealer. All outstanding liens 

shall be satisfied before the certificate 

of title is surrendered to the dealer. 

(B) When the vessel is subsequently sold, 

the dealer shall, on the day of the sale, 

provide the new owners the original 

certificate of title completed by the 

previous owners and a dealer bill of 

sale. The dealer bill of sale shall 

include the dealer's name; the name of 

the new owners; the date of sale; the 

certificate of number; the 

manufacturer's hull identification 

number; and the model, year, and 

length of the vessel. The dealer bill of 

sale shall be signed by both the dealer 

and the new owners. 

(C) The new owners shall complete and 

submit an application for a certificate 

of number and certificate of title, 

along with the properly assigned 

certificate of title, dealer bill of Sale, 

and applicable fees, within 15 days of 

the date of sale to the Commission or 

one of its vessel agents for processing. 

If applicable, a new certificate of title 

shall be issued and all reported liens 

shall be recorded. The original 

certificate of number shall be retained 

when a vessel that was previously 

registered in North Carolina is 

transferred to a new owners. A new 

certificate of number shall be issued to 

a vessel that was previously registered 

in another state or never before 

registered. 

(D) For a period of 60 days following the 

transfer of ownership of a previously 

registered vessel, the new owner may 

use a copy of the dealer bill of sale as 
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a temporary certificate of number 

pending receipt of his or her own 

certificate provided the certificate is 

validated in accordance with Part 

(b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 

(b)  Transfer of previously registered, non-titled vessels. 

(1) Transfer of a previously registered, non-titled 

vessel from one individual owner to another. 

(A) If the ownership of a previously 

registered vessel is transferred by sale 

or gift, the previous owners shall 

complete a notarized bill of sale. The 

bill of sale shall be given to the new 

owners and shall include the previous 

owners' names; the new owners' 

names; the date of sale or gift; the 

certificate of number; the 

manufacturer's hull identification 

number; and the model, year, and 

length of the vessel. The previous 

owner's signature shall be notarized. If 

the ownership of a previously 

registered vessel is transferred by a 

court order, will, settlement 

agreement, separation agreement, 

judgment, or other document, the 

previous owners or representative of 

the estate shall provide the new 

owners with documents establishing 

ownership. 

(B) The new owner shall complete and 

submit an application for a certificate 

of number and certificate of title, 

along with the proof of ownership 

document and applicable fees, within 

15 days of the date of sale to the 

Commission or one of its vessel agents 

for processing. If applicable, a new 

certificate of title shall be issued and 

all reported liens shall be recorded. 

The original certificate of number 

shall be retained when a vessel 

previously registered in North 

Carolina is transferred to a new owner. 

A new certificate of number shall be 

issued to vessels previously registered 

in another State or never before 

registered. 

(C) For 60 days following the transfer of 

ownership of a previously registered 

vessel, the new owner may use a copy 

of the proof of ownership document as 

a temporary certificate of number 

pending receipt of his or her own 

certificate provided the certificate is 

validated in accordance with Part 

(b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 

(2) Transfer of a previously registered, non-titled 

vessel through a dealer. 

(A) The owners selling or transferring a 

previously registered vessel to a dealer 

shall complete a notarized bill of sale 

naming the dealer as the new owner. 

The bill of sale shall be given to the 

dealer and shall include the previous 

owners' names; the dealers name; the 

date of sale; the certificate of number; 

the manufacturer's hull identification 

number; and the model, year, and 

length of the vessel. The signature of 

the previous owners shall be notarized. 

(B) When the vessel is sold, the dealer 

shall provide the new owners a dealer 

bill of sale on the day of the sale. The 

dealer bill of sale shall include the 

dealer's name; the new owners' names; 

the date of sale; the certificate of 

number; the manufacturer's hull 

identification number; and the model, 

year, and length of the vessel. The 

dealer bill of sale shall be signed by 

both the dealer and the new owners. 

(C) The new owners shall complete and 

submit an application for a certificate 

of number and Certificate of Title, 

along with the proof of ownership 

document and applicable fees, within 

15 days of the date of sale to the 

Commission or one of its vessel agents 

for processing. If applicable, a new 

certificate of title shall be issued and 

all reported liens shall be recorded. 

The original certificate of number 

shall be retained when a vessel, 

previously registered in North 

Carolina, is transferred to a new 

owners. A new certificate of number 

shall be issued to vessels previously 

registered in another state or vessels 

never before registered. 

(D) For a period of 60 days following the 

transfer of ownership of a previously 

registered vessel, the new owner may 

use a copy of the dealer bill of sale as 

a temporary certificate of number 

pending receipt of his or her own 

certificate provided the certificate is 

validated in accordance with Part 

(b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 

(3) Transfer of a vessel individually-registered to a 

dealer or manufacturer. Vessels that have been 

individually numbered by dealers or 

manufacturers shall upon transfer of ownership 

be governed by the provisions of Subparagraph 

(b)(1) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 75A-19; 75A-37; 

33 C.F.R. 174.21; 
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Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2007; July 1, 1998; April 1, 

1997; February 1, 1995; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1988; April 

19, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0104 CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER 

(a)  General. Upon receipt of a completed application, a proof of 

ownership document, and the applicable fees as provided in G.S. 

75A-5(a1) and G.S. 75A-5.2(c), the Commission shall issue to the 

applicant a certificate of number authorizing the operation of the 

vessel. The certificate of number shall be carried while operating 

the vessel and shall be presented for inspection to any law 

enforcement officer upon request. The certificate of number shall 

include the following information: 

(1) the name of the owners, dealer, or 

manufacturer; 

(2) the address, including zip code, of the primary 

owners, dealer, or manufacturers; 

(3) the title indicator; 

(4) the certificate of number awarded to vessel; 

(5) the expiration date of the certificate of number; 

(6) vessel use type: 

(A) pleasure; 

(B) livery; 

(C) demonstration; 

(D) commercial fishing; 

(E) commercial passenger; 

(F) other commercial; or 

(G) other; 

(7) the model of vessel, if known; 

(8) the manufacturer, if known; 

(9) the year of manufacture or model year, if 

known; 

(10) the manufacturer's hull identification number, if 

any; 

(11) the overall length of vessel; 

(12) the type of vessel: 

(A) open; 

(B) cabin; 

(C) houseboat; 

(D) personal watercraft; 

(E) pontoon; or 

(F) other; 

(13) the hull material: 

(A) wood; 

(B) metal; 

(C) fiberglass; 

(D) plastic; 

(E) inflatable; or 

(F) other; 

(14) the type of Propulsion: 

(A) inboard; 

(B) outboard; 

(C)  inboard outdrive; 

(D) sail; 

(E) auxiliary sail with inboard; 

(F) auxiliary sail with outboard; 

(G) jet drive; 

(15) the type of fuel: 

(A) gasoline; 

(B) diesel; 

(C) electric; 

(D) other; 

(16) a notice to owner that he shall report within 30 

days changes of address or ownership, and 

destruction or abandonment of vessel; 

(17) the signature of the owners; and 

(18) a notice to the owner that the operator shall: 

(A) always carry this certificate on vessel 

when in use; 

(B) report any accident involving injury or 

death to persons or property damage in 

excess of two thousand dollars 

($2,000.00); and 

(C) stop and render assistance if involved 

in boating accident. 

(b)  Dealers and Manufacturers. A dealer or manufacturer 

demonstrating or testing a vessel may use a set of dealer numbers 

and the corresponding dealer certificate of number to operate a 

vessel held for sale, but only for demonstration or testing 

purposes. Vessels owned or possessed by dealers or 

manufacturers for personal use or for any use other than for 

demonstration and testing purposes shall be individually 

registered in the name of the dealer in accordance with Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Government agency. There shall be no title indicator or 

expiration date listed for permanent certificate of numbers. 

(d)  Vessel Agents. Vessel dealers, manufacturers, and other 

businesses that operate from locations within North Carolina may 

be appointed as vessel agents of the Commission and be 

authorized to issue temporary certificates of number for new 

registrations, transfers of ownership, renewals, and duplicate 

transactions. All official certificates of number shall be processed 

and mailed from the Commission headquarters. Rules governing 

the appointment and operations of vessel agents are contained in 

15A NCAC 10G .0400 WILDLIFE SERVICE AGENTS. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 75A-5.2; 75A-7; 

75A-19; 33 C.F.R. 174.19; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. December 16, 1980; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; July 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; July 1, 

1988; August 31, 1980; January 1, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0105 NUMBERING PATTERN 

(a)  General. A certificate of number assigned by the Commission 

shall consist of the abbreviation "NC" followed by a number 

consisting of not more than four Arabic numerals and a space or 

hyphen followed by not more than two capital letters, in 

accordance with the serials, numerically and alphabetically.  
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(b)  Prohibited Letters. The Letters "I", "O", and "Q" shall not be 

used in any certificate of number letter sequence. Letters or letters 

and numbers forming words or combinations shall not be used. 

(c)  Government Agency. The single letter "P" shall be used 

following the numerals of vessels owned by governmental 

entities. 

(d)  Dealers and Manufacturers. The single letter "X" shall be used 

following the numerals of vessels numbered for demonstration 

purposes by dealers and manufacturers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 75A-7; 75A-19; 

33 C.F.R. 174.23; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; July 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; 

September 1, 1996; August 31, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0106 DISPLAY OF VESSEL 

NUMBERS 

(a)  The vessel numbers shall be painted on or attached to each 

side of the forward half of the vessel for which the number was 

issued in a position that is visible and legible. The numbers shall 

read from left to right and shall be in block characters not less than 

three inches in height. The numbers shall be of a solid color that 

contrasts with the color of the background and maintained to be 

visible and legible. 

(b)  No other number, except the year date of the validation decal 

described in Rule .0107 of this Section, shall be carried on the 

bow of a numbered vessel. 

(c)  Manufacturers or dealers may have the vessel number printed 

upon or attached to a removable sign or signs to be temporarily 

attached to a vessel being demonstrated, so long as the display 

meets the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. If a currently 

or previously-numbered vessel is being demonstrated with dealer 

numbers, all permanent numbers painted on or attached to the bow 

shall be covered. 

(d)  A vessel registered to a governmental entity and bearing the 

letter "P" shall continue to display the assigned numbers for so 

long as the vessel belongs to a governmental entity. Upon transfer 

of ownership of a vessel registered to a government entity to a 

private individual or business, the new owner shall apply to the 

Commission for a new certificate of number as provided in 15A 

NCAC 10F .0104. 

(e)  A United States Coast Guard documented vessel registered in 

North Carolina shall not display the State vessel numbers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 75A-19; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2007; April 1, 1997; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0107 VALIDATION DECAL 

(a)  In addition to the certificate of number, the Commission shall 

supply to the owner of a numbered vessel two validation decals 

indicating the certificate's year of expiration. The owner shall 

affix one validation decal in a position that is visible and legible 

on each side of the bow following and within six inches of the 

vessel number.  

(b)  A United States Coast Guard documented vessel shall affix 

one validation decal in a position that is visible and legible on the 

forward half of the starboard bow and one validation decal on the 

forward half of the port side bow. 

(c)  A validation decal issued for a numbered vessel owned by a 

governmental entity shall contain no expiration date, shall bear 

the letter "P", and shall not be subject to renewal so long as the 

vessel remains the property of a governmental entity. When a 

vessel is transferred to private ownership, the decals shall be 

removed or destroyed by the transferring agency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 75A-7; 33 C.F.R. 

174.15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; April 1, 1997; 

August 31, 1980; January 1, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0109 TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE 

OF NUMBER 

(a)  When a vessel agent processes the final transaction to issue, 

renew, or transfer a certificate of number or to issue a duplicate 

certificate of number, the new owner shall be issued a temporary 

certificate of number. For a period not exceeding 60 days 

following the date of the transaction, the vessel may be operated 

with the temporary certificate of number. 

(b)  The temporary certificate of number shall contain the 

following: 

(1) the name of issuing wildlife service agent; 

(2) the name and address of the owners, dealer, or 

manufacturer; 

(3) the title indicator; 

(4) the certificate of number; 

(5) the vessel use type: 

(A) pleasure; 

(B) livery; 

(C) dealer or manufacturer; 

(D) permanent; 

(E) commercial fishing; 

(F) commercial passenger; 

(G) other commercial; or 

(F) other; 

(6) the model of vessel; 

(7) the manufacturer; 

(8) the year of manufacture or model year; 

(9) the manufacturer's hull identification number; 

(10) the length of vessel; 

(11) the type of vessel: 

(A) open; 

(B) cabin; 

(C) houseboat; 

(D) personal watercraft; 

(E) pontoon; or 

(F) other; 
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(12) the hull material: 

(A) wood; 

(B) metal; 

(C) fiberglass; 

(D) plastic; 

(E) inflatable; or 

(F) other; 

(13) the type of propulsion: 

(A) inboard; 

(B) outboard; 

(C) inboard outdrive; 

(D) sail; 

(E) auxiliary sail with inboard; 

(F) auxiliary sail with outboard; or 

(G) jet drive; 

(14) the type of fuel: 

(A) gasoline; 

(B) diesel; 

(C) electric; or 

(D) other; 

(15) the date the temporary certificate of number is 

issued; 

(16) the date the temporary certificate of number 

expires; 

(17) the type of transaction pending; and 

(18) the signature of the owners. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 33 C.F.R. 174.21; 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0110 ABANDONED VESSELS 

(a)  Any person may apply to the Commission to become the 

registered and titled owner of an abandoned vessel. The applicant 

shall:  

(1) send a certified letter with return receipt 

requested to the last registered owners. The 

applicant shall provide proof to the 

Commission that this letter was not deliverable 

or that the last registered owners failed to 

acknowledge or respond; 

(2) provide a written police report to the 

Commission stating that the abandoned vessel 

has not been reported missing or stolen in the 

area where it is listed as being moored; and 

(3) complete and submit to the Commission an 

application for a certificate of number and 

certificate of title and shall submit: 

(A) a notarized statement summarizing 

when and where the vessel was found; 

(B) documentation of all attempts to locate 

the owners; 

(C) all available evidence that the vessel is 

abandoned; 

(D) statements from any other persons 

knowledgeable about the history of the 

vessel; and 

(E) all applicable fees. 

(b)  The Commission shall consider the evidence and 

documentation presented when determining if a vessel has been 

abandoned. If the Commission determines that the vessel has been 

abandoned, the Commission shall issue a certificate of number 

and certificate of title to the applicant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-5(i2); 

Eff. May 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0201 SAFETY EQUIPMENT 

(a)  All vessels subject to the rules of this Section shall meet the 

vessel equipment requirements set forth in G.S. 75A-6(n), 46 CFR 

25, and 33 CFR 175. 46 CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175 are incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and 

can be found free of charge online at www.ecfr.gov. 

Notwithstanding the federal regulations incorporated in this 

Paragraph, Paragraphs (b) through (g) shall apply to vessels 

operating in State waters. To the extent these vessel equipment 

requirements conflict with the incorporated federal regulations, 

federal regulations shall supersede any and all State laws or 

regulations.  

(b)  Personal flotation devices (PFDs) shall be required as follows: 

(1) No person may operate a vessel unless, for each 

person on the vessel, at least one Type I, II, or 

III PFD is on board and readily accessible. 

(2) No person shall operate a vessel 16 feet or more 

in length unless one type IV PFD is on board 

and immediately available for use, in addition 

to the total number of PFDs required in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph. 

(3) No person shall operate a vessel while the 

vessel is underway with any child under 13 

years old aboard unless each child is: 

(A) wearing an appropriate PFD approved 

by the Coast Guard;  

(B) below decks; or 

(C) in an enclosed cabin. 

This Subparagraph shall not apply to a vessel 

that is registered as a commercial vessel. 

(4) A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any 

PFD required under Subparagraph (1) of this 

Paragraph provided: 

(A) the approval label for the Type V PFD 

indicates that the device is approved 

for the activity for which the vessel is 

being used; or 

(B) the Type V PFD is used in accordance 

with the requirements on the approval 

label and with the requirements in its 

owner's manual. 

(5) No person shall operate a vessel unless each 

required PFD is: 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1200 

(A) in serviceable condition; 

(B) of appropriate size and fit for the 

intended wearer; 

(C) United States Coast Guard approved; 

and 

(D) legibly marked with its approval 

number, as specified in 46 CFR 25 

Uninspected Vessels, Requirements 

and 33 CFR 175 Personal Flotation 

Devices. 

(6) Exemptions shall apply as follows: 

(A) Canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length 

and over shall be exempted from the 

requirements for carriage of the 

additional Type IV PFD as specified in 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(B) Sailboards, surfboards, tubes, 

swimming rafts, inflatable toys, and 

similar devices used as water toys or 

swimming aids shall be exempted 

from the requirements for carriage of 

any PFD required under this 

Paragraph. 

(C) Manually propelled vessels such as 

racing shells, rowing sculls, racing 

canoes, and racing kayaks that are 

recognized by national and 

international racing associations for 

use in competitive racing, that are not 

designed to carry any equipment not 

solely for competitive racing, and in 

which all occupants with the with 

exception of a coxswain, if one is 

present, row, scull, or paddle, shall be 

exempted from the requirements for 

carriage of any type PFD required 

under this Paragraph. 

(c)  Fire Extinguishers shall be required as follows: 

(1) All motorboats shall carry at least the minimum 

number of USCG-approved hand portable fire 

extinguishers specified in this Rule if: 

(A) the motorboat has closed 

compartments under thwarts and seats 

in which portable fuel tanks may be 

stored; 

(B) the motorboat has double bottoms that 

are not sealed to the hull or that are not 

completely filled with flotation 

material; 

(C) the motorboat has closed living 

spaces; 

(D) the motorboat has closed stowage 

compartments in which combustible 

or flammable materials are stowed; 

(E) the motorboat has permanently 

installed fuel tanks; or 

(F) the motorboat is Class 2 or longer. 

(2) Class A and Class 1 Motorboats less than 26 

feet in length shall carry one Type B-I 

extinguisher. 

(3) Class 2 Motorboats shall carry two Type B-I 

extinguisers. 

(4) Class 3 Motorboats shall carry three Type B-I 

extinguisers. 

(5) One Type B-II hand held fire extinguisher may 

be substituted for two B-I hand portable fire 

extinguishers. A fixed fire extinguishing 

system installed in the engine compartment 

shall be deemed equal to one Type B-I hand 

portable fire extinguisher. 

Open Vessels. Vessels less than 26 feet in length, propelled by 

outboard motors and not carrying passengers for hire, shall not be 

required to carry portable fire extinguishers if the construction of 

the vessels will not permit the entrapment of explosive or 

flammable gases or vapors. 

(d)  Every engine, except outboard motors, using gasoline as fuel 

and installed in a vessel shall be equipped with an acceptable 

means of backfire flame control that meets the requirements of 46 

CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175. 

(e)  Every vessel, except open vessels using liquid of a volatile 

nature as fuel, shall be equipped with an operable ventilation 

system as required by 33 CFR 175.201 and 46 CFR 25.40-1, to 

remove any explosive or flammable gases from the bilges of the 

engine and fuel tank compartments that meets the requirements of 

46 CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175. 

(f)  Sound devices shall be required as follows: 

(1) Vessels less than 12 meters or 39.4 feet in 

length shall be equipped with some means of 

making an efficient sound signal; and 

(2) Vessels equal to or greater than 12 meters or 

39.4 feet in length shall be equipped with a 

whistle and a bell that comply with 33 USC 

2033. 

(g)  Lights. The lights prescribed by this Paragraph shall be 

exhibited from sunset to sunrise and in fog, mist, falling snow, 

heavy rainstorms, sandstorms, or any other similar circumstances 

of restricted visibility. They may be exhibited in all other 

circumstances when deemed necessary. During such times no 

other lights shall be exhibited, except those that cannot be 

mistaken for the lights specified in these Rules, do not impair their 

visibility or distinctive character, or do not interfere with keeping 

a proper lookout. Lights shall be required as follows: 

(1) Vessels, other than those vessels described in 

Subparagraphs (g)(3)-(7) of this Rule, equal to 

or greater than 12 meters or 39.4 feet but less 

than 20 meters or 65.6 feet in length shall 

exhibit: 

(A) A masthead light forward visible for 

three miles; 

(B) Sidelights, green to starboard and red 

to port, visible for two miles; and 

(C) A stern light visible for two miles. 

(2) Vessels, other than those vessels described in 

Subparagraphs (g)(3)-(7) of this Rule, less than 

12 meters or 39.4 feet in length shall exhibit: 
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(A) An all-round white light visible for 

two miles; and 

(B) Sidelights, green to starboard and red 

to port, visible for 1 mile. 

(3) Sailing vessels underway that are seven meters 

or 23 feet in length or greater shall exhibit: 

(A) A stern light visible for two miles; and 

(B) Sidelights, green to starboard and red 

to port, visible for two miles. 

(4) In a sailing vessel less than 20 meters or 65.6 

feet in length, the lights prescribed in 

Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph may be 

combined in one lantern carried at or near the 

top of the mast where it can be best seen. 

(5) A sailing vessel of less than seven meters or 23 

feet in length shall, if practicable, exhibit the 

lights prescribed in Subparagraph (3) or (4) of 

this Paragraph; if not practicable the vessel 

shall have ready at hand an electric torch or 

lighted lantern showing a white light that shall 

be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent a 

collision. 

(6) A vessel under oars shall either: 

(A) exhibit the lights prescribed in 

Subparagraph (g)(5) of this Rule for 

sailing vessels; or 

(B) have ready at hand an electric torch or 

lighted lantern showing a white light 

that shall be exhibited in sufficient 

time to prevent a collision. 

(7) On public waters not subject to the jurisdiction 

of the United States, vessels propelled by 

machinery of 10 horsepower or less, in lieu of 

the foregoing requirements, may carry from 

one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour 

before sunrise a white light in the stern or have 

on board a hand flashlight in good working 

condition which shall be ready at hand and shall 

be temporarily displayed in sufficient time to 

prevent collision. The Subparagraph shall not 

apply to vessels in waters of this State that are 

subject to the jurisdiction of the United States. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-6; 113-307; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; April 1, 2009; March 1, 2008; 

April 1, 1999; August 1, 1988; May 1, 1976; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0202 ACCIDENT REPORTS 

(a)  Federal Regulations Incorporated. Reporting boating 

accidents and notification of death or disappearance of persons 

from vessels operating on the waters of this State shall be 

governed by 33 CFR 173 Subpart C, which is incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions. These 

federal regulations can be found free of charge online at 

www.ecfr.gov. 

(b)  Use of Report. The accident reports required by Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be used in developing statistical data as to the 

causes and frequency of boating accidents and in transmittal of 

information as required by G.S. 75A-12. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-11; 113-307; 33 

C.F.R. 174.101 et seq.; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1999; August 1, 1988; May 1, 1976; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0301 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  Definitions. The definitions used in G.S. 75A shall apply in 

this Subchapter. In addition, the following definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Commission" means the North Carolina 

Wildlife Resources Commission; 

(2) "Executive Director" means the Executive 

Director of the Commission; 

(3) "No wake speed" means idle speed or slow 

speed creating no appreciable wake; 

(4) "USATONS" means the U. S. Aids to 

Navigation System, which prescribes 

regulatory markers and aids to navigation that 

mark navigable waters of the United States, and 

is hereby incorporated by reference including 

all subsequent amendments and editions and 

can be found free of charge online at 

www.ecfr.gov; 

(5) "Designated agency" means a subdivision of 

the State that the Commission designates for 

placement of markers that conform to 

USATONS standards; 

(6) "Regulatory Marker" and "Information 

Marker" means markers with an orange 

geometric shape against a white background, 

used to alert a mariner to warnings or regulatory 

matters, as defined in 33 CFR 62.33; 

(7) "Swimming area" means an enclosed area on 

the water for swimming that is marked against 

entry by vessels; 

(8) "Mooring area" means an area on the water 

delineated by speed zone markers where vessels 

may be tied to objects anchored on the seabed; 

(9) "Restricted area" means an area on the water 

that is marked to limit recreational activity and 

vessel speed; and 

(10) "Safety Zone" means a water area or shore area 

where, for safety or environmental purposes, 

access is limited to authorized persons and 

vessels, as defined in 33 CFR 165.20. 

(b)  Formal application for water safety rulemaking. Any 

subdivision of the State may, after public notice, apply to the 

Commission for rules on waters within the subdivision's territorial 

limits on an application provided by the Commission at 

www.ncwildlife.org. The completed application and supporting 

documents shall be mailed to the No Wake Zone Coordinator at 

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, 1701 Mail 
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Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1701 or submitted 

via email to nowakezonecoordinator@ncwildlife.org. The 

application shall contain the following information: 

(1) the name of the subdivision of the State 

applying for water safety rulemaking; 

(2) the date of the application; 

(3) the contact person's name, telephone number, 

and mailing address; 

(4) descriptive information for the body of water; 

(5) location of the proposed no wake zone, marked 

swimming area, or other regulated area; 

(6) a statement that the subdivision of the State has 

given public notice of its intention to apply for 

rulemaking on waters within its territorial 

limits; 

(7) a resolution from the subdivision of the State 

requesting water safety rulemaking; and 

(8) an affirmation that the subdivision of the State 

or its designee will bear the cost for purchase 

and placement of markers that conform to 

USATONS standards. 

(c)  Marking Regulated Areas. The Commission may designate 

agencies for the placement of markers in areas established by rules 

in this Section. The designated agency or its designee shall be 

responsible for the purchase and placement of markers 

conforming to USATONS required to implement a water safety 

rule. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. Except where done by supervening 

federal authority, it shall be unlawful for anyone to place or 

maintain regulatory markers or navigational aids without 

authorization from the Commission; or to place information 

markers without permission from the Executive Director or his or 

her designee. 

(e)  Mooring Areas. The boundaries of mooring areas shall be 

defined by the placement of speed zone markers.  

(f)  Swimming Areas. No vessel entry shall be permitted in the 

waters of marked swimming areas. Marked swimming areas shall 

meet the following requirements: 

(1) the enclosed swimming area in the water shall 

not exceed 5,000 square feet; 

(2) the enclosed area shall be marked with float 

lines that, in conjunction with the shoreline, 

form an enclosed area; 

(3) the swimming area shall not extend into a 

navigational channel or interfere with 

navigation of vessels; 

(2) float lines shall have white, international 

orange, or alternating white and international 

orange floats along their length at intervals of 

not less than one every 10 feet; 

(3) floats shall be buoyant enough to float at the 

surface of the water while attached to the float 

line, and no float shall exceed a size of 18 

inches in length or diameter; 

(4) buoys or floating signs bearing the USATONS 

"boat exclusion area" symbol shall be attached 

to float lines to give warning to vessels 

approaching the swimming area from all 

directions; and 

(5) float lines and warning markers shall be 

anchored. 

(g)  Safety Zones. Markers prohibiting entry or use by vessels and 

swimmers in waters surrounding impoundment structures and 

powerhouses associated with hydroelectric generating facilities 

shall be buoys or floating signs placed in the water no greater than 

50 yards from the protected facility. Markers shall be sufficient in 

number and size to give warning of the restriction to vessels 

approaching from all directions. 

(h)  Enforcement. If an agent of the Commission discovers 

markers and navigational aids that do not conform to USATONS 

standards, that are placed without lawful authority or permission, 

or that fail to mark the defined regulated area, written notice shall 

be served upon the individuals responsible for the improper 

placement of the markers or navigational aids. Failure to take 

action to correct the deficiency within 10 days, in accordance with 

the written notice, shall be a violation of this Rule. 

(i)  Miscellaneous Restrictions. Except for mooring buoys or 

markers that are specifically permitted by State or federal law, it 

shall be unlawful to tie a vessel to any waterway marker, as 

specified in 33 CFR 70.05. It shall be unlawful for any 

unauthorized person to move, remove, damage, block, paint over, 

or tamper with any marker lawfully placed in the waters of North 

Carolina in conformity with these rules or USATONS standards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; March 25, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0325 CHOWAN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Chowan County: 

(1) the waters contained within the entrance canals 

and docking areas of Edenton Marina and 

Pembroke Marina; 

(2) Pembroke Creek in Edenton, from a line 50 

yards north of the W. Queen Street bridge on 

SR 1204 shore to shore, from a point on the east 

shore at 36.05861 N, 76.62584 W, to a point on 

the west shore at 36.051813 N, 76.62735 W, to 

a line 200 yards southeast of the bridge, shore 

to shore from a point on the east shore at 

36.05739 N, 76.62382 W to a point on the west 

shore at 36.05626 N, 76.62569 W;  

(3) the boat basin and all canals within Cape 

Colony Subdivision in Edenton; and 

(4) the swimming area located in Albemarle Sound 

adjacent to the Cape Colony Subdivision 

Recreation Area. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate any vessel at greater 

than no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1), (2), and (3) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of any vessel, surfboard, or water skis shall permit it to 

enter the swimming area described in Subparagraph (a)(4) of this 

Rule. 
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(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Chowan County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; June 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1934 SCOPE 

15A NCAC 18A .1935 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; December 1, 1990; January 1, 1990; 

August 1, 1988; April 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 24, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1937 PERMITS 

15A NCAC 18A .1938 RESPONSIBILITIES 

15A NCAC 18A .1939 SITE EVALUATION 

15A NCAC 18A .1940 TOPOGRAPHY AND 

LANDSCAPE POSITION 

15A NCAC 18A .1941 SOIL CHARACTERISTICS 

(MORPHOLOGY) 

15A NCAC 18A .1942 SOIL WETNESS CONDITIONS 

15A NCAC 18A .1943 SOIL DEPTH 

15A NCAC 18A .1944 RESTRICTIVE HORIZONS 

15A NCAC 18A .1945 AVAILABLE SPACE 

15A NCAC 18A .1946 OTHER APPLICABLE 

FACTORS 

15A NCAC 18A .1947 DETERMINATION OF 

OVERALL SITE SUITABILITY 

15A NCAC 18A .1948 SITE CLASSIFICATION 

15A NCAC 18A .1949 SEWAGE FLOW RATES FOR 

DESIGN UNITS 

15A NCAC 18A .1950 LOCATION OF SANITARY 

SEWAGE SYSTEMS 

15A NCAC 18A .1951 APPLICABILITY OF RULES 

15A NCAC 18A .1952 SEPTIC TANK, EFFLUENT 

FILTER, DOSING TANK AND LIFT STATION DESIGN 

15A NCAC 18A .1953 PREFABRICATED SEPTIC 

TANKS AND PUMP TANKS 

15A NCAC 18A .1954 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

PRECAST REINFORCED CONCRETE TANKS 

15A NCAC 18A .1955 DESIGN INSTALLATION 

CRITERIA FOR CONVENTIONAL SEWAGE SYSTEMS 

15A NCAC 18A .1956 MODIFICATIONS TO SEPTIC 

TANK SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1957 CRITERIA FOR DESIGN OF 

ALTERNATIVE SEWAGE SYSTEMS 

15A NCAC 18A .1958 NON-GROUND ABSORPTION 

SEWAGE TREATMENT SYSTEMS 

15A NCAC 18A .1959 PRIVY CONSTRUCTION 

15A NCAC 18A .1960 MAINTENANCE OF PRIVIES 

15A NCAC 18A .1961 MAINTENANCE OF SEWAGE 

SYSTEMS 

15A NCAC 18A .1962 APPLICABILITY 

 

History Note: Authority 89C; 89E; 89F; 90A; 130A-

335(e),(f),(f1); 130A-342; 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; February 1, 1987; 

April 1, 1985; January 1, 1984; October 1, 1983; July 1, 1983, 

January 1, 1983; October 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 30, 1990, for a period of 180 

days to expire on December 27, 1990; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1991; December 1, 1990; October 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 3, 1991, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on December 30, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; April 1, 1993; February 1, 1992; 

August 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 20, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 24, 2003; April 17, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2007; June 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1964 INTERPRETATION AND 

TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE 

15A NCAC 18A .1965 APPEALS PROCEDURE 

15A NCAC 18A .1966 SEVERABILITY 

15A NCAC 18A .1967 INJUNCTIONS 

15A NCAC 18A .1968 PENALTIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1990; February 1, 1987; January 1, 

1985; 

Repealed Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1969 APPROVAL AND PERMITTING 

OF ON-SITE SUBSURFACE WASTEWATER SYSTEMS, 

TECHNOLOGIES, COMPONENTS, OR DEVICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f); 130A-343; 

Eff. April 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 24, 2003; February 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2006; February 1, 2005; May 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1970 ADVANCED WASTEWATER 

PRETREATMENT SYSTEM 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335; 130A-

336; 130A-337; 130A-340; 130A-342; 130A-343; 
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Eff. June 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Repealed Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1971 ENGINEERED OPTION PERMIT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0101 SCOPE 

The rules contained in this Subchapter shall govern wastewater 

treatment and dispersal from wastewater systems, as defined in 

G.S. 130A-334(15), serving single or multiple-family residences, 

places of business, or places of public assembly. The wastewater 

system shall be designed to prevent the discharge of effluent to 

the land surface, surface waters, or into groundwater, except as 

allowed when used in conjunction with an RCW system as set 

forth in Rule .1002 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-333; 130A-334(15); 

130A-335(a),(b), and (e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0102 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  The rules of this Subchapter shall not apply to wastewater 

systems in use prior to July 1, 1977, unless the DDF or wastewater 

strength increases. 

(b)  Prior to any increase in DDF or wastewater strength for an 

existing facility, the owner shall submit an application in 

accordance with Rule .0202 of this Subchapter.  

(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, all wastewater 

systems shall comply with Section .1300 of this Subchapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0103 INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE 

For this Subchapter, the following rules, standards, and other materials are hereby incorporated by reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. Table I lists the agency, document title, contact information, and terms for access to referenced documents. 

 

Table I: Rules, standards, and other materials incorporated by reference 

 

United States Department of Agriculture – Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA-NRCS) 

Soil Survey Laboratory Information 

Manual, Soil Survey Investigations Report 

No. 45 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/main/soils/ref/ 

Kellogg Soil Survey Laboratory Methods 

Manual, Soil Survey Investigation Report 

No. 42 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/main/soils/ref/ 

Field Book for Describing and Sampling 

Soils 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/main/soils/ref/copy or 

U. S. Government Publishing Office, P. O. Box 979050, St. Louis, MO, 

63197-9000 

Guide to Soil Texture by Feel, Journal of 

Agronomic Education 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/detail/soils/edu/?cid=nrcs14

2p2_054311 

National Engineering Handbook, Part 624 

(Drainage), Chapter 10 (Water Table 

Control); Part 630 (Hydrology), Chapter 18; 

Part 650 (Engineering Field Handbook), 

Chapter 14 (Water Management, Drainage) 

Available at no charge at: 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/detail/mi/technical/engineer

ing  

National Electrical Manufacturers Association 

1300 North 17th Street, Suite 900, Arlington, VA 22209 

www.nema.org 

Standard 250 – Enclosures for Electrical 

Equipment 

One hundred twenty four dollars ($124.00) 

U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 

U. S. EPA/NSCEP 

P. O. Box 42419, Cincinnati, OH 45242-0419 

Method 9080 – Cation Exchange Capacity 

of Soils 

Available at no charge at: 

https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846/sw-846-test-method-9080-cation-

exchange-capacity-soils-ammonium-acetate 

ASTM International 

100 Barr Harbor Drive, P.O. Box C700, West Conshohocken, PA 19438-2959 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1205 

http://www.astm.org 

C564 – Standard Specifications for Rubber 

Gaskets for Cast Iron Soil Pipe and Fittings 

Forty one dollars ($41.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

C890 – Standard Practice for Minimum 

Structural Design Loading for Monolithic 

or Sectional Precast Concrete Water and 

Wastewater Structures 

Forty five dollars ($45.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

C923 – Standard Specifications for 

Resilient Connectors Between Reinforced 

Concrete Manhole Structures, Pipes, and 

Laterals 

Forty one dollars ($41.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

C990 – Standard Specifications for Joints 

for Concrete Pipe, Manholes, and Precast 

Box Sections Using Preformed Flexible 

Joint Sealants 

Forty dollars ($40.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

C1644 – Standard Specification for 

Resilient Connectors Between Reinforced 

Concrete On-Site Wastewater Tanks and 

Pipes 

Forty five dollars ($45.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D448 – Standard Classification for Sizes of 

Aggregate for Road and Bridge 

Construction 

Thirty nine dollars ($39.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D1784 – Standard Specification for Rigid 

Poly (Vinyl Chloride) (PVC) Compounds 

and Chlorinated Poly (Vinyl Chloride) 

(CPVC) Compounds 

Thirty nine ($39.00) dollars each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D1785 – Standard Specifications for Poly 

(Vinyl Chloride) (PVC) Plastic Pipe, 

Schedules 40, 80, and 120 

Fifty dollars ($50.00) plus six dollars and seventy five cents ($6.75) 

shipping and handling 

D2241 – Standard Specification for Poly 

(Vinyl Chloride) (PVC) Pressure-Rated 

Pipe (SDR Series) 

Forty four dollars ($44.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D2466 – Standard Specification for Poly 

(Vinyl Chloride) (PVC) Plastic Pipe 

Fittings, Schedule 40 

Forty four ($44.00) dollars each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D2564 – Standard Specification for Solvent 

Cements for Poly (Vinyl Chloride) (PVC) 

Plastic Piping Systems 

Forty four dollars ($44.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D2729 – Standard Specification for Poly 

(Vinyl Chloride) (PVC) Sewer Pipe and 

Fittings 

Forty five dollars ($45.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D2774 – Standard Practice for Underground 

Installation of Thermoplastic Pressure 

Piping 

Forty four dollars ($44.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D3034 – Standard Specification for Type 

PSM Poly (Vinyl Chloride) (PVC) Sewer 

Pipe and Fittings 

Fifty dollars ($50.00) each plus six dollars and seventyfive cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

D6913 – Standard Test Methods for 

Particle-Size Distribution (Gradation) of 

Soils Using Sieve Analysis 

Sixty five dollars ($65.00) each plus thirteen dollars and thirty five 

cents ($13.35) shipping and handling 

D7928 – Standard Test Method for Particle-

Size Distribution (Gradation) of Fine-

Grained Soils Using the Sedimentation 

(Hydrometer) Analysis 

Sixty five dollars ($65.00) each plus thirteen dollars and thirty five 

cents ($13.35) shipping and handling 

F667 – Standard Specification for 3 through 

24 in. Corrugated Polyethylene Pipe and 

Fittings 

Forty five dollars ($45.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 
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F810 – Standard Specification for 

Smoothwall Polyethylene (PE) Pipe for Use 

in Drainage and Waste Disposal Absorption 

Fields 

Forty one dollars ($41.00) each plus six dollars and seventy five cents 

($6.75) shipping and handling 

North Carolina Administrative Code 

15A NCAC 01O – Environmental Health Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2001%20-

%20departmental%20rules/subchapter%20o/subchapter%20o%20rule

s.html  

15A NCAC 02C – Well Construction 

Standards 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20c/subchapter%20

c%20rules.pdf  

15A NCAC 02H – Procedures for Permits: 

Approvals 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20h/15a%20ncac%2

002h%20.0101.pdf  

15A NCAC 02L – Groundwater 

Classification and Standards 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20l/subchapter%20l

%20rules.pdf  

15A NCAC 02T – Waste Not Discharged to 

Surface Waters 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20t/subchapter%20t

%20rules.pdf 

15A NCAC 02U – Reclaimed Water Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2002%20-

%20environmental%20management/subchapter%20u/subchapter%20

u%20rules.pdf  

15A NCAC 08G – Authority: Organization: 

Structure: Definitions 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2008%20-

%20water%20pollution%20control%20system%20operators%20certi

fication%20commission/subchapter%20g/subchapter%20g%20rules.p

df 

15A NCAC 13B – Solid Waste 

Management 

Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2013%20-

%20solid%20waste%20management/subchapter%20b/subchapter%20

b%20rules.pdf  

15A NCAC 18A – Water Supplies Available at no charge at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2018%20-

%20environmental%20health/subchapter%20c/subchapter%20c%20r

ules.pdf 

NSF International 

PO Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48105 

http://www.nsf.org/ 

Standard 40 – Residential Wastewater 

Systems 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

Standard 41 – Non-Liquid Saturated 

Treatment Systems 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 
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Standard 46 – Evaluation of Components 

and Devised Used in Wastewater Treatment 

Systems 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

Standard 245 – Wastewater Treatment 

Systems – Nitrogen Reduction 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

Standard 350 – Onsite Residential and 

Commercial Water Reuse Treatment 

One hundred five dollars ($105.00) each plus shipping and handling 

International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials 

4755 E Philadelphia St, Ontario, CA 91761 

http://www.iapmo.org/Pages/IAPMOgroup.aspx 

IAPMO/ANSI Z1000 – Prefabricated 

Septic Tanks 

One hundred dollars ($100.00) each 

Canadian Standards Association 

178 Rexdale Blvd, Toronto, ON Canada M9W 1R3 

http://www.csagroup.org/ 

B66 – Design, material, and manufacturing 

requirements for prefabricated septic tanks 

and sewage holding tanks 

One hundred eighty dollars ($180.00) each plus eighteen dollars 

($18.00) shipping and handling 

 2012 North Carolina Plumbing Code 

 Available at no charge at: 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/public/collections/nc 

2015 North Carolina Building Code 

 Available at no charge at: 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/public/collections/nc 

North Carolina Food Code Manual 

 Available at no charge at: 

http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/faf/docs/foodprot/NC-

FoodCodeManual-2009-FINAL.pdf 

U.S. Government Publishing Office 

732 North Capitol St, NW, Washington, DC 20401-0001 

https://bookstore.gpo.gov/ 

40 CFR 136 Sixty seven dollars ($67.00) each 

Forestry Suppliers, Inc 

PO Box 8397 

Jackson, MS 39284-8397 

https://www.forestry-suppliers.com/ 

Munsell® Soil Color Book One hundred ninety five dollars ($195.00) each plus shipping and 

handling 

National Technical Information Service 

5301 Shawnee Rd 

Alexandria, VA 22312 

https://www.ntis.gov/ 

DRAINMOD User's Guide Available at no charge at: 

https://ntrl.ntis.gov/NTRL/dashboard/searchResults/titleDetail/PB961

12438.xhtml 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0104 ABBREVIATIONS 

As used in this Subchapter, the following abbreviations refer to: 

(1) ABS: Acrylonitrile-Butadiene-Styrene; 

(2) ACEC: Apparent Cation Exchange Capacity; 

(3) ANSI: American National Standards Institute; 

(4) ASTM: American Society for Testing and 

Materials; 

(5) ATO: Authorization to Operate; 

(6) BOD5: Five Day Biochemical Oxygen 

Demand; 

(7) CA: Construction Authorization; 

(8) CBOD: Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen 

Demand; 

(9) CFR: Code of Federal Regulations; 

(10) CSA: Canadian Standards Association; 

(11) DDF: Design Daily Flow;  

(12) DEQ: Department of Environmental Quality; 
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(13) DIP: Ductile Iron Pipe; 

(14) DO: Dissolved Oxygen; 

(15) DOT: Department of Transportation; 

(16) DSE: Domestic Strength Effluent; 

(17) EOP: Engineered Option Permit; 

(18) FOG: Fats, Oil, and Grease; 

(19) gpd: Gallons per Day; 

(20) HSE: High Strength Effluent; 

(21) IAPMO: International Association of Plumbing 

and Mechanical Officials 

(22) IP: Improvement Permit; 

(23) IPWW: Industrial Process Wastewater; 

(24) LC: Limiting Condition; 

(25) LDP: Large Diameter Pipe; 

(26) LG: Licensed Geologist; 

(27) LHD: Local Health Department; 

(28) LPP: Low Pressure Pipe; 

(29) LSS: Licensed Soil Scientist; 

(30) LTAR: Long Term Acceptance Rate; 

(31) mg/L: Milligrams/Liter; 

(32) NEMA: National Electrical Manufacturers 

Association; 

(33) NH3: Total Ammonia Nitrogen; 

(34) NOI: Notice of Intent to Construct; 

(35) NOV: Notice of Violation; 

(36) NSF: NSF International; 

(37) OP: Operation Permit; 

(38) PE: Professional Engineer; 

(39) PIA: Provisional, Innovative, and Accepted; 

(40) PPBPS: Prefabricated Permeable Block Panel 

System; 

(41) psi: Pounds per Square Inch; 

(42) PVC: Polyvinyl Chloride; 

(43) RCW: Reclaimed Water; 

(44) RV: Recreational Vehicle; 

(45) RWTS: Residential Wastewater Treatment 

Systems; 

(46) SDR: Standard Dimension Ratio; 

(47) SPI: Standard Precipitation Index; 

(48) STEP: Septic Tank Effluent Pump; 

(49) SWC: Soil Wetness Condition; 

(50) TKN: Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen; 

(51) TL: Trench Length; 

(52) TN: Total Nitrogen; 

(53) TSS: Total Suspended Solids; 

(54) TW: Trench Width; 

(55) USDA-NRCS: United States Department of 

Agriculture – Natural Resources Conservation 

Service; 

(56) VIP: Visual Inspection Protocol; and 

(57) WS: Water Supply Class. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0105 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 130A-334, the 

following shall apply to the rules in this Subchapter: 

(1) "Aggregate" means naturally occurring 

inorganic material of a specific size or grade. 

An example of aggregate is clean, washed 

gravel or crushed stone which is graded or sized 

in accordance with size numbers 4, 5, or 6 of 

ASTM D446.  

(2) "Apparent Cation Exchange Capacity" means 

the sum of exchangeable bases plus total soil 

acidity at a pH of 7.0. ACEC is expressed in 

milliequivalents per 100 grams of soil 

(meq/100g of soil) or centimoles per kilogram 

of soil (cmols/kg of soil). The soil ACEC is 

calculated by determining the ACEC using the 

neutral normal ammonium acetate method, pH 

of 7.0 neutral normal, and then dividing by the 

percent clay as determined by particle size 

distribution (pipette method) and then 

multiplying by 100, as described in USDA-

NRCS Soil Survey Laboratory Information 

Manual, Soil Survey Investigations Report No. 

45 and Kellogg Soil Survey Laboratory 

Methods Manual, Soil Survey Investigation 

Report No. 42, page 229, or EPA Method 9080. 

(3) "Approved" means that which the State or LHD 

has determined is in accordance with this 

Subchapter and G.S. 130A, Article 11. 

(4) "Artificial drainage" means any man-made 

structure or device designed to overcome a 

SWC or intercept lateral flowing ground or 

surface water. Artificial drainage systems 

include groundwater lowering systems, 

interceptor drains, and surface water diversions. 

(5) "Authorized agent" means a person who has 

been authorized by the State in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-4 and 15A NCAC 01O .0100 to 

permit wastewater systems. 

(6) "Authorized designer" means a service provider 

authorized by the manufacturer who creates 

plans for the installation, expansion, or repair of 

a proprietary wastewater system. 

(7) "Bed" means an excavation with a width greater 

than three feet containing dispersal media and 

one or more laterals. 

(8) "Bedroom" means any room defined as a 

sleeping room in the North Carolina Building 

Code. 

(9) "Building drain" means the lowest piping of a 

drainage system that receives the discharge 

from waste pipes inside the design unit and 

extends to 10 ft beyond the walls of the building 

or five feet for a building with a foundation and 

conveys the sewage to a building sewer. 

(10) "Building sewer" means the part of a drainage 

system that extends from the end of the building 

drain and conveys the discharge to a wastewater 

system. 

(11) "Certified Inspector" means a person 

authorized to inspect a wastewater system in 

accordance with G.S. 90A, Article 5, and 
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applicable rules of the North Carolina On-Site 

Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors 

Certification Board. 

(12) "Collection sewer" means gravity flow 

pipelines, force mains, effluent supply lines, 

manholes, lift stations and all appurtenances 

used for conveying wastes from the building 

drain or building sewer to and within a 

wastewater system. A collection system is a 

collection sewer.  

(13) "Complete data set" means analytical results for 

all required influent and effluent constituents as 

specified in the effluent standard for a specific 

site on a specific date. A data set may include 

other constituents specified in an RWTS or PIA 

Approval, permit, or other document. 

(14) "Component" means a part of a wastewater 

system. The component may be any part of the 

wastewater system, such as a collection sewer, 

pretreatment, dispersal field, etc. 

(15) "Composite sample" means commingled 

individual samples collected from the same 

point at different times. Samples may be of 

equal volume or may be proportional to the 

flow at time of sampling. 

(16) "Demand dosing" means a configuration in 

which a specific volume of effluent is delivered 

to a component based upon patterns of 

wastewater generation from the source and 

liquid level detection device settings. 

(17) "Design daily flow" means the unadjusted 

quantity of wastewater a facility is projected to 

produce in a 24-hour period upon which 

wastewater system sizing and design are based 

as determined in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. 

(18) "Design unit" means a discrete connection such 

as an individual dwelling unit, place of 

business, or place of public assembly on which 

wastewater DDF is based. Multiple design units 

may comprise a facility. 

(19) "Dispersal field" means physical location 

where final treatment and dispersal of effluent 

occurs in the soil. 

(20) "Dispersal media" means the media used to 

provide void space through which effluent 

flows and may be stored prior to infiltration 

(e.g., washed gravel or crushed stone, products 

referenced in Section .0900 of this Subchapter, 

products approved pursuant to Section .1700 of 

this Subchapter, etc.). 

(21) "Dispersal system" means the dispersal field 

and associated components that distribute 

effluent to and within the dispersal field. This 

includes a pump, pump tank, pressure manifold, 

distribution box, drip box, lateral, dispersal 

media, etc. 

(22) "Dose volume" means an amount of effluent 

delivered during a dosing event as determined 

by the liquid level detection device settings in a 

demand dosing system or by a timer in a time 

dosing system. 

(23) "Dwelling unit" means any room or group of 

rooms located within a structure and forming a 

single, habitable unit with facilities which are 

used or intended to be used for living, sleeping, 

bathing, toilet usage, cooking, and eating. 

(24) "Effluent" means the liquid discharge from a 

pretreatment process, component, or system. 

(25) "Facility" means one or more design units 

located on a single or multiple lot(s) or tract(s) 

of land and served by a wastewater system 

comprised of one or more wastewater systems. 

(26) "Finished grade" means the final elevation of 

the land over the wastewater system after 

installation. 

(27) "Flood pool elevation" means the maximum 

water surface elevation of a reservoir, equal to 

the elevation of the spillway. 

(28) "Flow equalization" means a system 

configuration that includes sufficient storage 

capacity to allow for uniform flow to a 

subsequent component despite variable flow 

from the source. 

(29) "Full kitchen" means the appliances meet the 

requirements of North Carolina Food Code, 

Chapters 4-1 and 4-2.  

(30) "Grab sample" means a discrete sample 

collected at a specific time and location. 

(31) "Grease tank" means the tank located outside 

the facility that is used to reduce the amount of 

grease discharged to a wastewater system. 

(32) "Grease trap" means a device used inside the 

facility to reduce the amount of grease 

discharged to a wastewater system. 

(33) "Gravity distribution" means gravity flow of 

effluent to and within each lateral. 

(34) "Groundwater lowering system" means a type 

of artificial drainage system designed to lower 

the water table by gravity or, in conjunction 

with a pump, to maintain the vertical separation 

beneath a dispersal field. 

(35) "Horizon" means a layer of soil, parallel to the 

surface that has distinct physical, chemical, and 

biological properties or characteristics such as 

color, structure, texture, consistence, kinds and 

number of organisms present, degree of acidity 

or alkalinity, etc., resulting from soil forming 

processes. 

(36) "Infiltrative surface" means the designated 

interface where effluent moves from dispersal 

media or a distribution device into treatment 

media, naturally occurring soil, or fill. 

(37) "Influent" means the sewage discharged to a 

pretreatment component. 

(38) "Installer" means a person authorized to 

construct, install, or repair a wastewater system 

in accordance with G.S. 90A, Article 5 and 
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applicable rules of the North Carolina On-Site 

Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors 

Certification Board. 

(39) "Interceptor drain" means a type of artificial 

drainage designed to intercept and divert lateral 

moving groundwater or perched water away 

from the dispersal field or other system 

component to an effective outlet.  

(40) "Invert" means the lowest elevation of the 

internal cross-section of a pipe, fitting, or 

component. 

(41) "Jurisdictional wetland" means an area subject 

to the regulatory jurisdiction of the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers or DEQ. 

(42) "Ksat" or saturated hydraulic conductivity, 

means the rate of water flow through a unit 

cross sectional area of soil under saturated 

conditions. In-situ Ksat is measured in the field 

using clean water. Results of in-situ Ksat are 

used to simulate movement of effluent through 

the soil and may be used to field verify LTAR. 

(43) "Lateral water movement" means the 

movement of subsurface water downslope often 

associated with a less permeable horizon. 

Lateral water movement can be observed in a 

bore hole, excavation, or monitoring well on 

sloping sites. 

(44) "Lateral" means any pipe, tubing, or other 

device used to convey and distribute effluent in 

a dispersal field. 

(45) "Limiting condition" means soil conditions 

(morphology, depth, restrictive horizon, soil 

wetness, or organic matter content) or site 

features (topography, slope, landscape position, 

or available space) that determine wastewater 

system design options.  

(46) "Lithochromic feature" means soil mottle or 

matrix associated with variations of color due 

to weathering of parent materials. 

(47) "Long Term Acceptance Rate" means the rate 

of effluent absorption by the soil, existing fill, 

or saprolite in a wastewater system after long-

term use. The LTAR, in units of gallons per day 

per square foot (gpd/ft2), is assigned based upon 

soil textural class, structure, consistence, depth, 

percent coarse rock, landscape position, 

topography, and system type, and is used to 

determine the dispersal field sizing 

requirements, in accordance with applicable 

rules of this Subchapter. 

(48) "Local health department" means any county, 

district, or other health department authorized 

to be organized under the General Statutes of 

North Carolina. 

(49) "Management Entity" means the person, entity, 

company, or firm designated by the owner of 

the wastewater system who has primary 

responsibility for the operation of a wastewater 

system in accordance with this Subchapter, 

G.S. 90A, Article 3, and applicable rules of the 

Water Pollution Control System Operators 

Certification Commission. The Management 

Entity may be the owner, a public Management 

Entity, a certified operator, a management 

company, or an entity that employs certified 

operators. The Management Entity is or 

employs the operator in responsible charge for 

the wastewater system. 

(50) "Mass loading" means the total mass of one or 

more organic or inorganic effluent constituents 

delivered to the wastewater system over a 

specified period. It is computed by multiplying 

the total volume of flow during the specified 

period by the flow-weighted average 

constituent concentration in the same period. 

Units of measurement are pounds per day. 

(51) "Matrix" means a volume of soil equivalent to 

50 percent or greater of the total volume of a 

horizon. 

(52) "Mean high-water mark" or normal high-water 

mark, means, for coastal waters having six 

inches or more lunar tidal influence, the average 

height of the high-water over a 19-year period 

as may be ascertained from National Ocean 

Survey, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers tide 

stations data, or as otherwise determined under 

the provisions of the Coastal Area Management 

Act. The highest high-water mark as reported 

by the three agencies shall be applied. 

(53) "Media" means a solid material that can be 

described by shape, dimensions, surface area, 

void space, and application. 

(54) "Media filter" means a device that uses 

materials designed to treat effluent by reducing 

BOD5 and removing TSS in an unsaturated 

environment. Biological treatment is facilitated 

via microbial growth on the surface of the 

treatment media. 

(55) "Mottle" means subordinate color of a differing 

Munsell color system notation in a soil horizon. 

(56) "Naturally occurring soil" means soil formed in 

place due to natural formation processes that is 

unaltered by filling, removal, or other artificial 

modification other than tillage. 

(57) "NEMA 4X" means an enclosure for an 

electrical control panel or junction box that 

meets standards for protection of equipment 

due to the ingress of water (including rain and 

hose-directed water) and an additional level of 

protection against corrosion, as set forth in 

NEMA Standard 250. 

(58) "NSF-40 systems" means individual RWTS 

that are approved and listed in accordance with 

the standards adopted by NSF International for 

Class I residential wastewater treatment 

systems under NSF-ANSI Standard 40 and 

approved for use in accordance with G.S. 

130A-342 and the rules of this Subchapter. 
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(59) "Non-ground absorption system" means a 

system for waste treatment designed not to 

discharge to the soil, land surface, or surface 

waters, including approved vault privies, 

incinerating toilets, mechanical toilets, 

composting toilets, chemical toilets, and 

recycling systems. 

(60) "Off-site system" means a wastewater system 

where any system component is located on 

property other than the lot where the facility is 

located. 

(61) "Organic soils" means those organic mucks and 

peats consisting of more than 20 percent 

organic matter, by dry weight, and greater than 

or equal to 18 inches in thickness. 

(62) "Owner" means a person holding legal title to 

the facility, wastewater system, or property or 

his or her representative. The owner's 

representative is a person who holds power of 

attorney to act on an owner's behalf or an agent 

designated by letter or contract to act on the 

owner's behalf. 

(63) "Parallel distribution" means the distribution of 

effluent that proportionally loads multiple 

sections of a dispersal field at one time. 

(64) "Parent material" means the mineral and 

organic matter that is in its present position 

through deposition by water, wind, gravity or 

by decomposition of rock.  

(65) "Ped" means a unit of soil structure, such as 

blocky, granular, prismatic, or platy formed by 

natural processes, in contrast to a clod, which is 

a compact, coherent, mass of soil produced by 

digging, plowing, or other human land 

manipulation. 

(66) "Perched water table" means a zone of 

saturation held above the main groundwater 

body by a less permeable layer, impermeable 

rock, or sediment, which may or may not 

exhibit redoximorphic features. 

(67) "Person" means any individual, firm, 

association, organization, partnership, business 

trust, corporation, company, or unit of local 

government. 

(68) "Pressure dispersal" means a system utilizing 

an effluent pump or siphon to distribute effluent 

uniformly to the infiltrative surface in the 

dispersal field through a pressurized pipe 

network. 

(69) "Pressure dosed gravity distribution" means 

pressure delivery of effluent to a manifold, 

distribution box, or other splitter with 

subsequent gravity distribution within one or 

more laterals to the infiltrative surface. 

(70) "Public management entity" means a city (G.S. 

160A, Article 16), county (G.S. 153A, Article 

15), interlocal contract (G.S. 153A, Article 16), 

joint management agency (G.S. 160A, Articles 

461 and 462), county service district (G.S. 

153A, Article 16), county water and sewer 

district (G.S. 162A, Article 6), sanitary district 

(G.S. 130A, Article 2), water and sewer 

authority (G.S. 162A, Article 1), metropolitan 

water district (G.S. 162A, Article 4), 

metropolitan sewerage district (G.S. 162A, 

Article 5), public utility [G.S. 62-3(23)], county 

or district health department (G.S. 130A, 

Article 2), or other public entity legally 

authorized to operate and maintain wastewater 

systems. 

(71) "Raw sewage lift stations" means a dosing 

system that is designed to move untreated 

sewage from a lower elevation to a higher 

elevation. Raw sewage lift stations are installed 

prior to any wastewater treatment. 

(72) "RCW systems" means advanced pretreatment 

systems approved by the State in accordance 

with Section .1700 of this Subchapter to meet 

RCW effluent standards in Rule .1002 of this 

Subchapter. 

(73) "Redoximorphic features" means a color 

pattern of a horizon due to a loss (depletion) or 

gain (concentration) of pigment compared to 

the matrix color, formed by oxidation and 

reduction of iron (Fe) coupled with its removal, 

translocation, or accrual, or a soil matrix color 

controlled by the presence of Fe+2. Redox 

depletions are a type of redoximorphic feature. 

(74) "Repair area" means an area that has been 

classified suitable consistent with the rules in 

this Subchapter that is reserved for the 

extension, alteration, wastewater system 

relocation, or replacement of part or all of the 

initial wastewater system. The repair area shall 

be available to be used in the event of a 

malfunction or if a wastewater system is 

partially or totally destroyed. 

(75) "Residential Wastewater Treatment Systems" 

means approved individual advanced 

pretreatment systems that are covered under 

standards of NSF International, in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-342 and applicable rules in this 

Subchapter. 

(76) "Restrictive horizon" means a soil horizon that 

is capable of perching groundwater or effluent 

and that is brittle and strongly compacted or 

strongly cemented with iron, aluminum, silica, 

organic matter, or other compounds. Restrictive 

horizons may occur as fragipans, iron pans, or 

organic pans, and are recognized by their 

resistance in excavation or in using a soil auger.  

(77) "Rock" means the body of consolidated or 

partially consolidated material composed of 

minerals at or below the land surface. Rock 

includes bedrock and partially weathered rock 

that is hard and cannot be dug with hand tools. 

The upper boundary of rock is saprolite, soil, or 

the land surface. 
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(78) "Saprolite" means the body of porous material 

formed in place by weathering of rock that has 

a massive, rock-controlled structure and retains 

the fabric (arrangement of minerals) of its 

parent rock in a minimum of 50 percent of its 

volume. Saprolite can be dug with hand tools. 

The lower limit of saprolite is rock and its upper 

limit is soil or the land surface. 

(79) "Septic tank" means a structurally sound, 

water-tight, covered receptacle designed for 

primary treatment of wastewater that is 

constructed to: 

(a) receive the discharge of wastewater 

from a building; 

(b) separate settleable and floating solids 

from the liquid; 

(c) digest organic matter by anaerobic 

bacterial action; 

(d) store digested solids through a period 

of detention; and 

(e) allow effluent to discharge for 

additional treatment and final 

dispersal. 

(80) "Septic tank effluent pump" means a collection 

system that uses a septic tank to separate solids 

and incorporates a pump vault, pump, and 

associated devices to convey effluent under 

pressure to a subsequent component. 

(81) "Sequential distribution" means the distribution 

method in which effluent is loaded into one 

trench and fills it to a predetermined level 

before passing through a drop box or relief 

device to the succeeding trench at a lower 

elevation. All trenches are fed from the same 

side. 

(82) "Setback" means the minimum horizontal 

separation distance between the wastewater 

system and features listed in Section .0600 of 

this Subchapter. 

(83) "Settling tank" means a septic tank designed to 

be used in conjunction with a RWTS. A settling 

tank is not required to meet the design 

requirements of a septic tank. 

(84) "Serial distribution" means the distribution 

method in which effluent is loaded into one 

trench and fills it to a predetermined level 

before passing through a pipe to the succeeding 

trench at a lower elevation. 

(85) "Site" means the area in which the wastewater 

system is to be located, including the repair 

area. 

(86) "Soil" means the naturally occurring body of 

unconsolidated mineral and organic materials 

on the land surface. Soil is composed of sand-, 

silt-, and clay-sized particles that are mixed 

with varying amounts of larger fragments and 

some organic material. Soil contains less than 

50 percent of its volume as rock, saprolite, or 

coarse-earth fraction (mineral particles greater 

than 2.0 millimeters). The upper limit of the soil 

is the land surface, and its lower limit is rock, 

saprolite, or other parent materials. 

(87) "Soil consistence" means the degree and kind of 

cohesion and adhesion that a soil exhibits. 

(88) "Soil series" means an official series name 

established by USDA-NRCS. 

(89) "Soil structure" means the arrangement of 

primary soil particles into compound particles, 

peds, or clusters that are separated by natural 

planes of weakness from adjoining units. 

(90) "Soil textural classes" means soil classification 

based upon size distribution of mineral particles 

in the fine-earth fraction less than two 

millimeters in diameter. The fine-earth fraction 

includes sand (2.0 - 0.05 mm in size), silt (less 

than 0.05 mm or greater than 0.002 mm in size), 

and clay (less than 0.002 mm in size) particles. 

(91) "State" means the Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Public Health, 

Environmental Health Section, On-Site Water 

Protection Branch. The mailing address for the 

State is as follows: 1642 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1642. 

(92) "Stream" means a body of concentrated flowing 

water in a natural low area or natural or 

manmade channel on the land surface. This 

includes ephemeral, intermittent, and perennial 

streams as defined by DEQ, as well as streams 

which have been modified by channeling, 

culvert installation, or relocation. 

(93) "Structurally sound" means a tank that is able to 

withstand a uniform live loading of 150 pounds 

per square foot in addition to all loads to which 

an underground tank is normally subjected, 

such as dead weight of the material and soil 

cover, active soil pressure on tank walls, and the 

uplifting force of groundwater. 

(94) "Surface water diversion" means a natural or 

constructed drainage feature used to divert 

surface water, collect runoff, and direct it to an 

effective outlet. Surface water diversions 

include waterways, berms, swales, and ditches. 

Surface water diversions are a type of artificial 

drainage. 

(95) "TS-I systems" means advanced pretreatment 

systems approved by the State in accordance 

with Section .1700 of this Subchapter that meet 

TS-I effluent standards in Table XXIV of Rule 

.1201(a) of this Subchapter. 

(96) "TS-II systems" means advanced pretreatment 

systems approved by the State in accordance 

with Section .1700 of this Subchapter that meet 

TS-II effluent standards in Table XXIV of Rule 

.1201(a) of this Subchapter. 

(97) "Telemetry" means the ability to contact by 

phone, email, or another electronic medium. 

The telemetry unit shall continue alarm 

notifications to the designated party until the 
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alarm condition is remedied or the telemetry 

unit is physically turned off. 

(98) "Third-party" means a person or entity engaged 

in testing or evaluation that may be 

compensated for their work product that is 

independent of the parties for whom testing or 

evaluation is performed and does not otherwise 

benefit regardless of the outcome. The third-

party person or entity has knowledge of the 

subject area based upon relevant training and 

experience. 

(99) "Timed dosing" means a configuration in which 

a specific volume of effluent is delivered to a 

component based upon a prescribed interval, 

regardless of facility water use variation over 

time. 

(100) "Treatment media" means the media used for 

physical, chemical, and biological treatment in 

a wastewater treatment component. 

(101) "Trench" means an excavation with a width less 

than or equal to three feet containing dispersal 

media and one or more laterals. 

(102) "Unstable slopes" means areas showing 

indications of mass downslope movement such 

as debris flows, landslides, and rock falls. 

(103) "Vertical separation" means the depth beneath 

the dispersal field infiltrative surface to a LC. 

(104) "Warming kitchen" means a kitchen that does 

not meet the requirements of North Carolina 

Food Code, Chapters 4-1 and 4-2. 

(105) "Water main standards" means design criteria 

for pipe and pipe joints and associated 

installation procedures used in potable water 

systems and that have been approved by North 

Carolina DEQ Public Water Supply Section in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 18C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0201 GENERAL 

(a)  All wastewater in any facility containing water-using fixtures 

connected to a water supply source shall be discharged to a 

wastewater system approved by the Department in accordance 

with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  In order for a wastewater system to be approved: 

(1) the owner shall submit an application in 

accordance with Rule .0202 of this Section; 

(2) an IP shall be issued in accordance with Rule 

.0203 of this Section; 

(3) a CA shall be issued in accordance with Rule 

.0204 of this Section; and 

(4) the authorized agent shall inspect the 

installation and issue an OP in accordance with 

Rule .0205 of this Section. 

(c)  Upon issuance of the CA, the owner may obtain a permit for 

electrical, plumbing, heating, air conditioning, or other 

construction in accordance with G.S. 130A-338. 

(d) Notwithstanding Paragraph (b) of this Rule, an owner may 

choose to have a wastewater system approved under the EOP 

provisions of G.S. 130A-336.1 and in accordance with Rule .0207 

of this Section. 

(e)  All documentation related to a wastewater system shall be 

maintained by the LHD in the county where the permit is issued, 

and the property taxes are paid. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336; 130A-

337; 130A-338; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0202 APPLICATION 

(a)  An application for an IP, CA, and existing system 

authorization shall be submitted to the LHD, and approved in 

accordance with these Rules, for each site prior to the 

construction, location, or relocation of a residence, place of 

business, or place of public assembly.  

(b)  Prior to the repair of a wastewater system, an application for 

a CA shall be submitted to the LHD. 

(c)  A pending application for an IP, CA, or existing system 

authorization for which the LHD is waiting for action by the 

owner shall expire 12 months from the date of application. 

(d)  When an IP, CA, or existing system authorization expires or 

is revoked, or an application for an IP or CA expires, a new 

application shall be required. 

(e)  The application for an IP shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) owner's name, mailing address, and phone 

number; 

(2) type of permit requested: 

(A) new; 

(B) change of use; 

(C) expansion or increase in DDF; or 

(D) wastewater system relocation; 

(3) site plan or plat indicating the locations of the 

following: 

(A) existing and proposed facilities, 

structures, appurtenances, and 

wastewater systems; 

(B) proposed wastewater system showing 

setbacks to property line(s) or other 

fixed reference point(s); 

(C) existing and proposed vehicular traffic 

areas; 

(D) existing and proposed water supplies, 

wells, springs, and water lines; and 

(E) surface water, drainage features, and 

all existing and proposed artificial 

drainage, as applicable; 

(4) location, parcel identification number, other 

property identification, 911 address (if known), 

acreage, and general directions to the property; 

(5) description of existing and proposed facilities 

and wastewater systems; 

(6) information needed to determine DDF and 

effluent strength of the facility(s) served, 

including number and function of individual 

design units, number of bedrooms and 
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occupants per bedroom, or number of 

occupants; 

(7) whether wastewater other than DSE will be 

generated; 

(8) notification if the property includes, or is 

subject to, any of the following: 

(A) previously identified jurisdictional 

wetlands; 

(B) existing or proposed easements, 

rights-of-way, encroachments, or 

other areas subject to legal 

restrictions; or 

(C) approval by other public agencies, 

such as the Coastal Area Management 

Act, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers, 

etc.; and 

(9) signature of owner. 

(f)  The application for a CA shall contain: 

(1) the information required in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule. A site plan or plat shall not be required 

with the application to repair a permitted 

wastewater system when the repairs will be 

accomplished on property owned and 

controlled by the owner and for which property 

lines are identifiable in the field; 

(2) identification of the proposed use of a grinder 

pump or sewage pump; and 

(3) the location and type of the proposed 

wastewater system specified by the owner. 

(g)  The application for an existing system authorization shall 

contain: 

(1) the owner's name, mailing address, and phone 

number; 

(2) a site plan or plat indicating the locations of the 

existing and proposed facilities, existing 

wastewater systems and repair areas, existing 

and proposed water supplies, easements, rights-

of-way, encroachments, artificial drainage, and 

all appurtenances; 

(3) location, parcel identification number, other 

property identification, 911 address (if known), 

acreage, and directions to the property;  

(4) for reconnections, information needed to 

determine DDF of the facility served, including 

number and function of individual design units, 

number of bedrooms and occupants per 

bedroom, or number of occupants; and 

(5) signature of owner. 

(h)  Submittal of a signed application shall constitute right of entry 

to the property by an authorized agent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336; 130A-

337; 130A-338; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0203 IMPROVEMENT PERMIT 

(a)  Upon receipt of a complete application for an IP, an 

authorized agent shall evaluate the site to determine whether the 

site is suitable or unsuitable for the installation of a wastewater 

system in accordance with Section .0500 of this Subchapter. If the 

site is classified suitable, an IP shall be issued in accordance with 

this Subchapter. The authorized agent shall prepare dated, written 

documentation of the soil and site conditions required to be 

evaluated in Section .0500 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  When the site is classified suitable an authorized agent shall 

issue an IP for the site that includes the items contained in G.S. 

130A-336(a)(1) through (6) and the following information: 

(1) DDF, number of bedrooms, maximum number 

of occupants or people served, and wastewater 

strength in accordance with Section .0400 of 

this Subchapter; 

(2) required effluent standard - DSE, HSE, NSF-

40, TS-I, TS-II, or RCW in accordance with 

Table III of Rule .0402(a), Rule .1002, or Table 

XXIV of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter; 

(3) all applicable setbacks and requirements in 

accordance with Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter; 

(4) location and description of the facility, 

structures, vehicular traffic areas, and other 

proposed improvements; 

(5) location(s) of existing and proposed public or 

private water supplies, including private 

drinking water wells and springs and associated 

water lines; 

(6) a site plan or plat as defined in G.S. 130A-334 

showing the existing and proposed property 

lines with dimensions, the location of the 

facility and appurtenances, the site for the 

proposed wastewater system and repair area, 

and the location of water supplies and surface 

water; 

(7) the proposed initial wastewater system and 

repair system types, including LTARs for each 

system; 

(8) easements, rights-of-way, or encroachments 

agreements, as applicable; and 

(9) permit conditions, such as site-specific site 

modifications, installation requirements, 

maintenance of the groundwater lowering 

system, etc. 

(c)  When the site is classified unsuitable, a signed, written report 

shall be provided to the owner describing the unsuitable site 

characteristics and citing the applicable rule(s). If modifications 

or alternatives are available to support site reclassification to 

suitable this information shall be included in the report. 

(d)  The period of validity for the permit in accordance with G.S. 

130A-335(f) shall be stated on the IP. 

(e)  The IP shall be transferable subject to the conditions set forth 

in G.S. 130A-336(a). 

(f)  An IP shall be suspended or revoked if: 

(1) the information submitted in the application is 

found to be incomplete, false, or incorrect; 

(2) the site is altered and the permitted system 

cannot be installed or operated as permitted; 

(3) conditions of the IP or the rules of this 

Subchapter cannot be met; 
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(4) a new IP is issued for the same design unit on 

the same property; or 

(5) an NOI is issued for the same design unit on the 

same property. 

(g)  An IP shall be applicable to both initial and repair dispersal 

field areas identified and approved on the IP and only a CA shall 

be issued if wastewater system repairs are necessary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0204 CONSTRUCTION 

AUTHORIZATION 

(a)  The owner shall obtain a CA after an IP has been issued and 

prior to the construction, location, or relocation of a facility, or the 

construction or repair of a wastewater system.  

(b)  Conditions of an IP shall be completed prior to the issuance 

of a CA. A CA shall be issued by an authorized agent for 

wastewater system installation when it is found that the IP 

conditions and rules of this Subchapter are met. 

(c)  A CA may be issued at the same time as the IP if no conditions 

on the IP are required to be completed prior to CA issuance. 

(d)  The CA shall specify the following: 

(1) all information required in Rule .0203(b) of this 

Section; 

(2) the initial wastewater system type and layout, 

location of all initial wastewater system 

components, and design details and 

specifications for the following, as applicable; 

(A) tanks; 

(B) collection sewers; 

(C) pump requirements; 

(D) advanced pretreatment; 

(E) distribution devices; and 

(F) trench widths, lengths, and depth on 

the downslope side of the trench; 

(3) the nature of the Management Entity required 

and the minimum operation and maintenance 

requirements in accordance with Section .1300 

of this Subchapter; and 

(4) permit conditions, such as site-specific 

installation requirements, maintenance of the 

groundwater lowering system, etc. 

(e)  A CA shall be issued for each wastewater system serving a 

facility. Separate CAs may be issued for individual components. 

A building permit shall not be issued for a design unit until CAs 

for all components of the wastewater system serving that design 

unit have been issued. 

(f)  Prior to the issuance of a CA for a system where all or part of 

the system will be under common or joint control, a draft multi-

party agreement between the developer and an incorporated 

owners' association shall be submitted to and its conditions 

approved by the LHD. The draft multi-party agreement shall 

include and address the following, as applicable: 

(1) ownership; 

(2) transfer of ownership; 

(3) maintenance; 

(4) operation; 

(5) wastewater system repairs; and 

(6) designation of fiscal responsibility for the 

continued satisfactory performance of the 

wastewater system and repair or replacement of 

collection, treatment, dispersal, and other 

components. 

(g)  Systems or components under common or joint control 

include the following: 

(1) wastewater system serving a condominium or 

other multiple-ownership development; or 

(2) off-site systems serving two or more facilities 

where any components are under common or 

joint ownership or control. 

(h)  The CA shall be valid for a period equal to the period of 

validity of the IP and stated on the permit. 

(i)  The CA shall be transferable subject to the conditions set forth 

in G.S. 130A-336(a). 

(j)  A CA shall be suspended or revoked if: 

(1) the information submitted in the application is 

found to be incomplete, false, or incorrect; 

(2) the site is altered and the permitted system 

cannot be installed or operated as permitted; 

(3) conditions of the CA or the rules of this 

Subchapter cannot be met; 

(4) a new CA is issued for the same design unit on 

the same property; or 

(5) a NOI is issued for the same design unit on the 

same property. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336; 130A-

338; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0205 OPERATION PERMIT 

(a)  The owner shall obtain an OP after the wastewater system has 

been installed or repaired and the authorized agent has inspected 

the system. The inspection shall occur prior to the system being 

covered. The authorized agent shall determine that the system has 

been installed in accordance with this Subchapter and any 

conditions of the IP and CA.  

(b)  During the wastewater system inspection, the authorized 

agent shall notify the installer of items that do not meet the rules 

of this Subchapter and conditions described in the IP and CA. 

Corrections shall be made to bring the system into compliance 

with this Subchapter by the installer. If corrections cannot be 

made, an authorized agent shall not issue an OP and the system 

shall not be placed into use. The authorized agent making the 

determination shall prepare a written report referencing 

deficiencies in the system installation, citing the applicable rule(s) 

and IP and CA conditions, and include a letter of Intent to Suspend 

or Revoke the IP and CA or the CA. A copy of the report shall be 

provided to the owner and the installer. 

(c) The OP shall include: 

(1) the initial system and designated repair system 

type in accordance with Table XXXI of Rule 

.1301(b) of this Subchapter and the unique code 

assigned under Rule.1713(10) of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) facility description including number of 

bedrooms and maximum occupancy, maximum 
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number of occupants or people served, DDF, 

and wastewater strength; 

(3) a site plan or plat as defined in G.S. 130A-334 

showing the existing and proposed property 

lines with dimensions, the location of the 

facility and appurtenances, the site for the 

wastewater system and repair area including 

location and dimensions, and the location of 

water supplies and surface water; 

(4) dispersal field design including trench or bed 

length, width, depth, and location; 

(5) the tank(s) location, capacity, and ID numbers; 

(6) groundwater monitoring well locations, 

sampling frequency, and characteristics 

sampled, as applicable; 

(7) conditions for system performance, operation, 

monitoring, influent and effluent sampling 

requirements, and reporting, including the 

requirement for a contract with a Management 

Entity, as applicable; and 

(8) approved engineered plans, specifications, and 

record drawings if required in Rule .0303(g) of 

this Subchapter. 

(d) Prior to the issuance of an OP for a system requiring a multi-

party agreement, the multi-party agreement shall be executed 

between the developer and an incorporated owners' association 

and filed with the local register of deeds. 

(e) When a wastewater system is required to be designed by an 

authorized designer or PE, the PE or authorized designer shall 

provide a written statement to the owner and authorized agent 

specifying that construction is complete and in accordance with 

approved plans, specifications, and modifications. The written 

statement shall be provided prior to issuance of the OP. 

(f)  An OP shall be valid and remain in effect for a system 

provided: 

(1) wastewater strength and DDF remain 

unchanged; 

(2) the system is operated and maintained in 

accordance with this Subchapter; 

(3) no malfunction is found as defined in Rule 

.1303(a)(1) and (2) of this Subchapter; 

(4) the system has not been abandoned in 

accordance with Rule .1307 of this Subchapter; 

(5) the system complies with the condition(s) of the 

OP; and 

(6) OP has not expired or been revoked. 

(g)  For a Type V or VI system as specified in Table XXXI of 

Rule .1301(b) of this Subchapter, the OP shall expire five years 

after being issued. 

(h)  An authorized agent may modify, suspend, or revoke the OP 

or seek other remedies under G.S. 130A, Article 2, if it is 

determined that the system is not being operated and maintained 

in accordance with this Subchapter and all conditions imposed by 

the OP. 

(i)  When an OP expires in accordance with Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule a new application shall be required prior to issuance of a new 

OP to confirm that the previously approved facility has not 

changed and that the system remains in compliance with permit 

conditions. 

(j)  When an OP is revoked due to facility non-compliance, such 

as additional wastewater flow or increased wastewater strength, a 

new application shall be required prior to evaluation for a new IP, 

CA, and OP. 

(k)  An OP shall be revoked prior to an ATO being issued for the 

same design unit on the same property. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-337; 130A-

338; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0206 EXISTING SYSTEM 

APPROVALS FOR RECONNECTIONS AND PROPERTY 

ADDITIONS 

(a)  Approval by an authorized agent shall be issued prior to any 

of the following: 

(1) a facility being reconnected to an existing 

system; or 

(2) other site modifications as described in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(b)  Approvals for reconnecting a facility shall be issued upon 

determination of the following: 

(1) the site complies with its OP or the wastewater 

system was in use prior to July 1,1977;  

(2) there is no evidence or documentation of a 

current or past uncorrected malfunction of the 

system as described in Rule .1303(a)(1) and (2) 

of this Subchapter; 

(3) the DDF and wastewater strength for the 

proposed facility do not exceed that of the 

existing system; 

(4) the facility meets the setbacks in Section .0600 

of this Subchapter; and 

(5) the existing system is being operated and 

maintained as specified in G.S. 130A, Article 

11, this Subchapter, and permit conditions. 

(c)  Prior to construction, relocation of a structure, the expansion 

of an existing facility's footprint, or other site modifications that 

require the issuance of a building permit, but that do not increase 

DDF or wastewater strength, an authorization shall be issued upon 

determination of the compliance of the proposed structure with 

setback requirements in Section .0600 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  For authorizations issued in accordance with this Rule the 

authorized agent shall provide written documentation to the 

owner that describes the site modification, system use, DDF, 

wastewater strength, number of bedrooms, number of occupants, 

and includes a site plan showing the location, dimensions, and 

setbacks of existing and proposed structures to the existing system 

and repair area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-337(c) and (d); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0207 ENGINEER OPTION PERMIT 

(a)  An owner choosing to use an EOP for wastewater systems in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-336.1 shall employ the services of a 

PE to prepare signed and sealed drawings, specifications, plans, 

and reports for the design, construction, operation, and 

maintenance of the wastewater system. 
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(b)  Prior to the submittal of an NOI for an EOP system as required 

by G.S. 130A-336.1(b), an LSS shall conduct soil and site 

evaluations and, as applicable, an LG shall evaluate geologic and 

hydrogeologic conditions. These evaluations shall be in 

accordance with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The NOI for an EOP System shall be submitted by the owner 

or a PE, authorized as the legal representative of the owner, to the 

LHD in the county where the facility is located. The NOI shall be 

submitted on the common form provided by the State. The 

common form is available by accessing the State's website at 

http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/rules.htm#oswprules. It shall 

include all the information specified in G.S. 130A-336.1(b) and 

the following: 

(1) the LSS's, LG's, and installer's name, license 

number, address, e-mail address, and telephone 

number; 

(2) information required in Rule .0202 of this 

Section for IP and CA applications; 

(3) identification and location on the site plan of 

existing or proposed potable water supplies, 

geothermal heating and cooling wells, and 

groundwater monitoring wells for the proposed 

site. The PE shall reference any existing permit 

issued for a private drinking water well, public 

water system as defined in G.S. 130A-313(10), 

or a wastewater system on both the subject and 

adjoining properties to provide documentation 

of compliance with setback requirements in 

Section .0600 of this Subchapter; and 

(4) proof of insurance for the PE, LSS, LG, and 

installer, as applicable. 

(d)  The PE design shall incorporate findings and 

recommendations on soil and site conditions, limitations, site 

modifications, and geologic and hydrogeologic conditions 

specified by the LSS or LG, as applicable, and in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-336.1(b)(8). When the PE chooses to employ 

pretreatment technologies not approved in this State, the 

engineering report shall specify the proposed technology and the 

associated siting, installation, operation, maintenance, and 

monitoring requirements, including written manufacturer's 

endorsement of the proposed use. The PE shall allow for the use 

of Accepted Systems in accordance with G.S. 130A-336.1(e)(5). 

(e)  No building permit for construction, location, or relocation 

shall be issued until after a decision of completeness of the NOI 

is made by the LHD, or the LHD fails to act within 15 business 

days. 

(f)  If the owner chooses to increase the DDF or the wastewater 

strength discharging to the wastewater system prior to 

construction, a new NOI shall be submitted to the LHD. The 

owner shall request in writing that the PE invalidate the prior NOI 

with a signed and sealed letter sent to the owner and LHD. 

(g)  Construction of the wastewater system shall not commence 

until the system design plans and specifications have been 

provided to the installer and the signed and dated statement by the 

installer is provided to the owner. The owner shall be responsible 

for preventing modifications or alterations of the site for the 

wastewater system and the system repair area before, during, and 

after any construction activities for the facility. This includes 

before and after construction of the wastewater system, unless 

approved by the PE, LSS, or LG, as applicable. 

(h)  Prior to providing written confirmation for the ATO, the PE 

shall submit the following to the LHD: 

(1) documentation that all reporting requirements 

identified in G.S. 130A-336.1(l) have been met; 

(2) information set forth in Rule .0301(d) of this 

Subchapter; 

(3) system start-up documentation, including 

applicable baseline operating parameters for all 

components; 

(4) documentation by the owner that all necessary 

legal agreements, including easements, 

encroachments, multi-party agreements, and 

other documents have been prepared, executed, 

and recorded in accordance with Rule .0301(b) 

and (c) of this Subchapter; and 

(5) record drawings. 

The LHD shall use the common form for written confirmation. 

(i)  The owner of the wastewater system approved in accordance 

with the EOP shall be responsible for maintaining the wastewater 

system in accordance with the written operation and management 

program required in G.S. 130A-336.1(i)(1) and Section .1300 of 

this Subchapter. 

(j)  For repair of a malfunctioning EOP system, this Rule shall be 

followed in conjunction with Rule .1306 of this Subchapter. The 

Management Entity shall notify the LHD within 48 hours of the 

system malfunction. 

(k)  The owner of an EOP system who wishes to change the use 

of the facility shall contact the PE, LSS, LG, and installer, as 

applicable, to determine whether the current system would 

continue to meet the rules of this Subchapter for the proposed 

change of use. The PE, LSS, LG, or installer shall determine what, 

if any, modifications shall be necessary for the wastewater system 

to continue to meet the rules of this Subchapter following the 

proposed change of use. A NOI reflecting the change of use and 

any required modifications to the system shall be submitted to the 

LHD. The permitting process in accordance with this Rule shall 

be followed. 

(l)  With regard to the EOP system, the LHD shall: 

(1) file all EOP documentation consistent with 

current permit filing procedures at the LHD; 

(2) revoke an OP for a wastewater system prior to 

issuing written confirmation of an ATO for the 

same design unit on the same property, if 

applicable; 

(3) submit a copy to the State of the NOI common 

form and written confirmation of ATO; 

(4) participate in a post-construction conference in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-336.1(j); 

(5) review the performance and operation reports 

submitted and perform on-site compliance 

inspections of the wastewater system in 

accordance with Rule .1305(c) and Table XXXI 

of Rule .1301(b) of this Subchapter; 

(6) investigate complaints regarding EOP systems; 

(7) issue a NOV for systems determined to be 

malfunctioning in accordance with Rule 

.1303(a)(1) and (2) of this Subchapter. The 
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LHD shall direct the owner to contact the PE, 

LSS, LG, and installer, as applicable, for 

determination of the reason of the malfunction 

and development of a NOI for repairs; and 

(8) require an owner receiving a NOV to pump and 

haul sewage in accordance with Rule .1306 of 

this Subchapter. 

(m)  The Owner may contract with different licensed 

professionals than those originally identified on the initial NOI to 

complete an EOP project. A revised NOI shall be submitted to the 

LHD. 

(n)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed as allowing any 

licensed professional to provide services for which he or she has 

neither the educational background, expertise, or license to 

perform, or is beyond his or her scope of work as provided for in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-336.1 and the applicable statues for 

their respective professions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 130A-336.1; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0301 OWNERS 

(a)  The owner of a wastewater system shall: 

(1) apply in accordance with Section .0200 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) comply with the G.S. 130A, Article 11, the 

rules of this Subchapter, and permit conditions 

regarding wastewater system location, 

including repair area; 

(3) identify property lines and fixed reference 

points in the field prior to the LHD site 

evaluation; 

(4) make the site accessible for the site evaluation 

described in Rule .0501 of this Subchapter; 

(5) field stake or otherwise mark the proposed 

facility location and all associated 

appurtenances (such as vehicular traffic areas, 

garage, swimming pool, shed, entryways, 

decks, etc.); 

(6) provide for pits with excavated steps or a ramp 

in the pit that allow for ingress and egress when 

necessary for a soil and site evaluation at the 

site as determined by the LHD or the State in 

accordance with Rule .0501 of this Subchapter; 

(7) provide for system operation, maintenance, 

monitoring, and reporting, including access for 

system maintenance; 

(8) maintain artificial drainage systems, as 

applicable; 

(9) prevent encroachment on the initial wastewater 

system and repair area by utilities, structures, 

vehicular traffic areas, etc.; 

(10) provide documentation supporting an 

exemption from the minimum setback 

requirements in Rule .0601(a) of this 

Subchapter to the LHD;  

(11) establish and maintain site-specific vegetation 

over the dispersal field and repair area; and 

(12) repair a malfunctioning system as necessary in 

accordance with this Subchapter. 

(b)  The entire initial wastewater system and repair area shall be 

on property owned or controlled by the wastewater system owner. 

An easement or encroachment agreement shall be required for the 

permitting of any of the following installations: 

(1) the wastewater system is located in a common 

area with other wastewater systems; 

(2) the wastewater system is located in an area with 

multiple or third-party ownership or control; 

(3) the wastewater system is proposed to be in an 

off-site area; or 

(4) the wastewater system and the facility are 

located on different lots or tracts of land and 

cross a property line or right-of-way. 

(c)  Any necessary easements, rights-of-way, or encroachment 

agreements shall be obtained prior to the issuance of a CA. The 

easement, right-of-way, or encroachment agreement shall meet 

the following conditions: 

(1) be appurtenant to specifically described 

property and run with the land; 

(2) not be affected by change of ownership or 

control; 

(3) remain valid for as long as the wastewater 

system is required for the facility that it is 

designed to serve; 

(4) include a description of the uses being granted 

and shall include ingress, egress, and regress, 

system installation, operation, maintenance, 

monitoring, and repairs and any other activity 

required to remain in compliance with this 

Subchapter, including that the easement, right-

of-way, or encroachment remain free of 

structures, landscaping, or any other activities 

that would interfere with the use of the 

easement or encroachment for its intended 

purpose; 

(5) specify in a deed by metes and bounds 

description the area or site required for the 

wastewater system and repair area, including 

collections sewers, tanks, raw sewage lift 

stations, distribution devices and dispersal 

fields; and 

(6) be recorded with the register of deeds in the 

county where the system and facility are 

located. 

(d)  Prior to OP issuance for a system required to be designed by 

an authorized designer or PE, the owner shall submit to the LHD 

a statement signed by the authorized designer or PE specifying 

that the system has been installed in accordance with the permitted 

design. For systems designed by a PE, the statement shall be 

affixed with the PE seal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 
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15A NCAC 18E .0302 LOCAL HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT AND STATE 

(a)  The permitting of a wastewater system shall be the 

responsibility of agents authorized by the State in accordance with 

G.S. 130A, Article 4 and 15A NCAC 01O .0100, and registered 

with the North Carolina State Board of Environmental Health 

Specialist Examiners, as required in G.S. 90A, Article 4, unless 

the permit is issued in accordance with G.S. 130A-336.1 and Rule 

.0207 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  When the wastewater system crosses county lines or the 

facility is in one county and the wastewater system is in another 

county, the LHD in the county that assesses property taxes on the 

facility shall implement the requirements of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The State shall review and approve the wastewater system, 

including design, layout, plans, and specifications for all 

wastewater systems that serve a facility with a cumulative DDF 

greater than 3,000 gpd, as determined in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. The State shall also review and approve plans and 

specifications for the following: 

(1) IPWW systems required by this Section to be 

designed by a PE unless the wastewater has 

been determined to not be IPWW in accordance 

with Rule .0303(b)(17) of this Section; 

(2) advanced pretreatment or drip dispersal 

systems not previously approved by the State; 

and 

(3) any other system so specified by the authorized 

agent. 

(d)  State review shall not be required when the cumulative DDF 

for the facility is greater than 3,000 gpd as determined in Section 

.0400 of this Subchapter and: 

(1) the wastewater system is made up of an 

individual wastewater system that serves an 

individual dwelling unit or several individual 

wastewater systems, each serving an individual 

dwelling unit; or 

(2) the wastewater system meets the following 

criteria: 

(A) the individual wastewater system(s) 

serves individual design units with a 

DDF less than or equal to 1,500 gpd; 

(B) the initial and repair dispersal fields 

for each individual wastewater 

system(s) is, at a minimum, 20 feet 

from any other individual wastewater 

system; 

(C) the total DDF for all dispersal fields is 

less than or equal to 1,500 gpd per acre 

based on the portion of the land 

containing the dispersal fields; and 

(D) the wastewater is not HSE as 

identified in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  State review shall not be required when a PE calculates the 

proposed DDF to be less than or equal to 3,000 gpd based on 

engineering design utilizing low-flow fixtures and low-flow 

technologies in accordance with Rule .0403(e) of this Subchapter. 

Pursuant to S.L. 2013-413, s. 34, as revised by S.L. 2014-120, s. 

53, neither the State nor any LHD shall be liable for a system 

approved or permitted in accordance with this Paragraph. 

(f)  For systems that require State review and approval, an IP shall 

not be issued by the LHD until the site plan or plat and system 

layout, including details for any proposed site modifications, are 

approved by the State. A CA shall not be issued by the LHD until 

plans and specifications, submitted in accordance with Rule .0304 

of this Section, are approved by the State in accordance with these 

Rules and engineering practices. 

(g)  The State shall provide technical assistance to the LHD as 

needed for interpretation of this Subchapter, in accordance with 

the recognized principles and practices of soil science, geology, 

engineering, and public health. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0303 LICENSED OR CERTIFIED 

PROFESSIONALS 

(a)  A PE, in accordance with G.S. 89C, may propose an 

alternative design that shall include documentation that shows 

that the proposed system design will meet DSE in Table III of 

Rule .0402(a) of this Subchapter. The alternative design shall be 

reviewed by the State. 

(b)  Any wastewater system that meets one or more of the 

following conditions shall be designed by a PE if required in G.S. 

89C: 

(1) the system has a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd, 

as determined in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter, except where the system is limited 

to an individual wastewater system serving an 

individual dwelling unit or multiple individual 

wastewater systems, each serving an individual 

dwelling unit; 

(2) the system requires advanced pretreatment or 

drip dispersal and is not a system approved 

under Sections .1500, .1600, or .1700 of this 

Subchapter; 

(3) pressure dispersal systems that require pumping 

more than 500 feet horizontally or more than 50 

feet of net elevation head; 

(4) pressure dosed gravity distribution systems that 

require pumping more than 1,000 feet 

horizontally or more than 100 feet of net 

elevation head; 

(5) dosing systems or force mains that have one or 

more intermediate high points greater than five 

feet; 

(6) the system requires pumping downhill to a 

pressure dosed gravity or pressure dispersal 

field where the volume of the supply line that 

could drain to the dispersal field between doses 

exceeds 25 percent of the required dose 

volume; 

(7) pressure dispersal systems with a DDF greater 

than 600 gpd serving a single design unit; 

(8) pressure dispersal systems where there is more 

than 15 percent variation in line length. The 15 

percent variation shall be measured by 
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comparing the longest line length to the shortest 

line length in any dispersal field; 

(9) two or more septic tanks or advanced 

pretreatment units, each serving a separate 

design unit, and served by a common dosing 

tank; 

(10) a STEP system with a pressure sewer or other 

pressure sewer system receiving effluent from 

two or more pump tanks; 

(11) an adjusted DDF is proposed based on the use 

of low-flow fixtures or low-flow technologies 

in accordance with Rule .0403(e) of this 

Subchapter; 

(12) the system requires use of sewage pumps prior 

to the septic tank or other pretreatment system, 

except for systems governed by the North 

Carolina Plumbing Code or which consist of 

grinder pumps and associated pump basins that 

are approved and listed in accordance with 

standards adopted by NSF International; 

(13) an individual system is required to use more 

than one pump or siphon in a single pump tank. 

Examples include dual pumps as set for in Rule 

.1101(b) of this Subchapter; 

(14) the system includes a collection sewer prior to 

the septic tank or other pretreatment system 

serving two or more design units, except for 

systems governed by the North Carolina 

Plumbing Code; 

(15) the wastewater system includes structures that 

have not been pre-engineered; 

(16) the proposed pump model is not listed by a third 

party electrical testing and listing agency, such 

as Underwriter Laboratories; 

(17) the system is designed for the collection, 

treatment, and dispersal of IPWW, except under 

the following circumstances: 

(A) the State has determined that the 

wastewater generated by the proposed 

facility has a pollutant strength that is 

lower than or equal to DSE and does 

not require specialized treatment or 

management. This determination shall 

be made based on a review of the 

wastewater generating process, 

wastewater characteristic data, and 

material safety data sheets, as 

compared to DSE; or 

(B) the State has approved a treatment 

system or process and management 

method proposed by the facility owner 

that generates effluent with a pollutant 

strength which is lower than or equal 

to DSE. This approval shall be based 

on a review of documentation 

provided in conjunction with prior 

project specific review or a PIA 

approval. This approval shall be based 

on data from other facilities, 

management practices, and other 

information provided by the owner; 

(18) the wastewater system is designed for RCW; 

(19) any wastewater system designed by a licensed 

professional that has been determined to be 

within the practice of engineering in accordance 

with G.S. 89C-3(6) by the North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors; 

(20) any wastewater system approved in accordance 

with Sections .1500, .1600, and .1700 of this 

Subchapter that requires in the RWTS or PIA 

Approval that the system be designed by a PE; 

(21) any system or system component where the 

rules of this Subchapter provide for an engineer 

to propose alternative materials, capacity 

determination, or performance requirements; 

and 

(22) any other system so specified by the LHD, 

based on wastewater system complexity and 

LHD's experience with the proposed system 

type. 

(c)  Plans and specifications for the use of a groundwater lowering 

system to meet the vertical separation to a SWC shall be prepared 

by a licensed professional if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F. 

Prior to the issuance of an IP or CA, the plans and specifications 

shall be reviewed and approved by the authorized agent if the 

plans and specifications meet the requirements of Rules .0504 and 

.0910 of this Subchapter and accepted engineering practices. 

(d)  An installer shall construct, install, or repair wastewater 

systems as required by G.S. 90A, Article 5. The installer shall be 

responsible for the following: 

(1) certification at the required level according to 

the system design specifications as required by 

G.S. 90A-72; 

(2) notification to the LHD upon completion of the 

system installation and each stage requiring 

inspection as conditioned on a CA; 

(3) participation in a preconstruction conference 

when specified in the CA or by the RWTS or 

PIA Approval; 

(4) participation during the inspection of the 

wastewater system by the authorized agent; 

(5) participation during the post-construction 

conference and all other requirements when the 

wastewater system is permitted in accordance 

with Rule .0207 of this Subchapter; and 

(6) final cover of the system after LHD approval. 

The wastewater system shall be in the same 

condition when covered as when approved. 

(e)  The Management Entity, or its employees, shall hold a valid 

and current certificate or certifications as required for the system 

from the Water Pollution Control Systems Operators Certification 

Commission. Nothing in this Subchapter shall preclude any 

requirements for system Management Entities in accordance with 

G.S. 90A, Article 3. 

(f)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed as allowing any 

licensed professional to provide services for which he or she has 

neither the educational background, expertise, or license to 
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perform, or is beyond his or her scope of work and the applicable 

statues for their respective professions. 

(g)  The PE or authorized designer shall provide a written 

statement to the owner specifying that construction is complete 

and in accordance with approved plans, specifications, and 

modifications. This statement shall be based on periodic 

observations of construction and a final inspection for design 

compliance. Record drawings shall be provided to the owner and 

LHD when any change has been made to the wastewater system 

installation from the approved plans. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C; 89E; 89F; 90A; 130A-335; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0304 SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR PLANS, SPECIFICATIONS, AND REPORTS 

PREPARED BY LICENSED PROFESSIONALS FOR 

SYSTEMS OVER 3,000 GALLONS/DAY 

All wastewater systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd shall 

be designed by a PE, with site evaluation by an LSS, and LG, as 

applicable, in accordance with G.S. 89C, 89E, and 89F. The 

wastewater system plans, specifications, and reports shall contain 

the information necessary for construction of the wastewater 

system. Plans, specifications, and reports shall include the 

following information: 

(1) Applicant information and DDF determination: 

(a) the seal, signature, and the date on all 

plans, specifications, and reports 

prepared by the PE, LSS, and any 

other licensed or registered 

professionals who contributed to the 

plans, specifications, or reports; 

(b) name, address, and phone number for 

the owner and all licensed 

professionals who have prepared 

plans, specifications, and reports for 

the wastewater system; and 

(c) DDF and projected wastewater 

strength based on the application 

submitted to the LHD that includes 

calculations and the basis for the 

proposed DDF and wastewater 

strength. 

(2) Special Site Evaluation in accordance with Rule 

.0510 of this Subchapter, including soil and site 

evaluation, hydraulic and hydrologic 

assessment reports, and site plans: 

(a) soil and site evaluation report, written 

by the LSS, on the field evaluation of 

the soil conditions and site features 

within the proposed initial and repair 

dispersal field areas including the 

following: 

(i) vertical soil profile 

descriptions for pits and soil 

borings in accordance with 

Section .0500 of this 

Subchapter; 

(ii) recommended LTAR, system 

type, trench width, length, 

depth on downslope side of 

trench for proposed initial 

and repair dispersal field 

areas with justification; 

(iii) soil and site-based criteria for 

dispersal field design and site 

modifications; 

(iv) for sites originally classified 

unsuitable, written 

documentation indicating 

that the proposed system can 

be expected to function in 

accordance with Rule 

.0509(c) of this Subchapter; 

and 

(v) recommended effluent 

standard for proposed initial 

and repair dispersal field 

areas with justification; and 

(b) hydraulic assessment reports on site-

specific field information that shall 

include: 

(i) in-situ Ksat measurements at 

the proposed infiltrative 

surface elevation where 

possible and at each distinct 

horizon within and beneath 

the treatment zone to a depth 

of 48 inches below the 

ground surface or to a depth 

referenced in an associated 

hydraulic assessment, such as 

groundwater mounding 

analysis or lateral flow 

analysis; 

(ii) logs from deep borings 

identifying restrictive layers, 

changes in texture and 

density, and aquifer 

boundaries; 

(iii) groundwater mounding for 

level sites or lateral flow 

analysis for sloping sites in 

accordance with Rule 

.0510(e) of this Subchapter, 

as applicable; and 

(iv) contaminant transport 

analysis showing projected 

compliance with 

groundwater standards at 

property lines or at the 

required setback from water 

supply sources within the 

property, as applicable; 

(3) Site plan prepared by the PE based on a 

boundary survey prepared by a registered land 

surveyor with the following information: 
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(a) site topography, proposed site 

modifications, location of existing and 

proposed site features listed in Rule 

.0601 of this Subchapter, proposed 

facility location, location of proposed 

initial and repair dispersal field areas 

and types, and location of LSS soil 

pits, hand auger borings, deep borings, 

and in-situ Kats tests, as applicable; 

(b) existing and proposed public wells or 

water supply sources on the property 

or within 500 feet of any proposed 

initial and repair dispersal field areas; 

(c) existing and proposed private wells or 

water supply sources within 200 feet 

of existing or proposed system 

component locations; 

(d) other existing and proposed wells, 

existing and proposed water lines 

(including fire protection, irrigation, 

etc.) within the property boundaries 

and within 10 feet of any projected 

system component; 

(e) surface waters with water quality 

classification, jurisdictional wetlands, 

and existing and proposed stormwater 

management drainage features and 

groundwater drainage systems; 

(f) topographic map with two-foot 

contour intervals (or spot elevations 

when there is less than a two-foot 

elevation difference across the site) 

identifying areas evaluated for initial 

and repair dispersal field areas, 

proposed location of trenches, and pits 

and soil borings labeled to facilitate 

field identification; 

(g) location of tanks and advanced 

pretreatment components, including 

means of access for pumping and 

maintenance; and 

(h) any site modifications and site and 

slope stabilization plans. 

(4) System components design, installation, 

operation, and maintenance information: 

(a) collection systems and sewers: 

(i) plan and profile drawings, 

including location, pipe 

diameter, invert and ground 

surface elevations of 

manholes and cleanouts; 

(ii) proximity to utilities and site 

features listed in Rule .0601 

of this Subchapter; 

(iii) drawings of service 

connections, manholes, 

cleanouts, valves and other 

appurtenances, aerial 

crossings, road crossings, 

water lines, stormwater 

management drainage 

features, streams, or ditches; 

and 

(iv) installation and testing 

procedures and pass or fail 

criteria; 

(b) tank information: 

(i) plan and profile drawings of 

all tanks, including tank 

dimensions and all 

elevations; 

(ii) access riser, manhole, 

chamber interconnection, 

effluent filter, and inlet and 

outlet details; 

(iii) construction details for built-

in-place tanks, including 

dimensions, reinforcement 

details and calculations, and 

construction methods; 

(iv) identification number for 

State approved tanks; 

(v) installation criteria and water 

tightness testing procedures 

with pass or fail criteria; and 

(vi) anti-buoyancy calculations 

and provisions; 

(c) pump stations, including raw sewage 

lift stations and pump tanks: 

(i) information required in Sub-

item (4)(b) of this Rule; 

(ii) specifications for pumps, 

discharge piping, pump 

removal system, and all 

related appurtenances; 

(iii) dosing system total dynamic 

head calculations, pump 

specifications, pump curves 

and expected operating 

conditions (dosing, flushing, 

etc.); 

(iv) control panel, floats and 

settings, high-water alarm 

components, location, and 

operational description under 

normal and high-water 

conditions; 

(v) emergency storage capacity 

calculations, timer control 

settings, and provisions for 

stand-by power; and 

(vi) lighting, ventilation, if 

applicable, wash-down water 

supply with back siphon 

protection and protective 

fencing; 

(d) advanced pretreatment systems: 
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(i) information required in Sub-

items (4)(b) and (c) of this 

Rule; 

(ii) drawings and details showing 

all advanced pretreatment 

units and appurtenances 

(pumps, valves, vents, 

removal systems, floats, 

etc.), piping (size and type), 

disinfection unit, blowers if 

needed, location of control 

panels, height of control 

panels, etc.; and 

(iii) documentation from the 

manufacturer supporting the 

proposed design and use of 

the advanced pretreatment 

system to achieve specified 

effluent standards if not 

otherwise approved by the 

State in accordance with 

Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter; 

(e) dispersal field plans and specifications 

with design and construction details: 

(i) final field layout, including 

ground elevations based on 

field measurements at a 

maximum of two-foot 

intervals (or spot elevations 

when there is less than a two-

foot elevation difference 

across the site); 

(ii) trench plan and profile 

drawings, including cross 

sectional details, length, 

spacing, connection details, 

cleanouts, etc., and invert 

elevations for each lateral; 

(iii) manifolds, supply lines, pipe 

sizes, cleanouts and 

interconnection details and 

invert elevations; 

(iv) flow distribution device 

design; 

(v) artificial drainage system 

locations, elevations, 

discharge points, and design 

details, as applicable; 

(vi) site preparation procedures; 

(vii) construction phasing and 

wastewater system testing; 

and 

(viii) final landscaping and 

compliance with erosion 

control requirements, such as 

site stabilization procedures 

and drainage; 

(f) materials specification for all 

materials to be used, methods of 

construction, means for assuring the 

quality and integrity of the finished 

product; and 

(g) operation and maintenance procedures 

for the Management Entity, inspection 

schedules, and maintenance 

specifications for mechanical 

components and dispersal field 

vegetative cover; and 

(5) any other information determined to be 

applicable by the LHD or the State, such as the 

impact of projected wastewater constituents on 

the trench and receiving soil. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0305 SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR PLANS, SPECIFICATIONS, AND REPORTS 

PREPARED BY LICENSED PROFESSIONALS FOR 

SYSTEMS LESS THAN OR EQUAL TO 3,000 

GALLONS/DAY 

Plans, specifications, and reports for wastewater systems with a 

DDF less than or equal to 3,000 gpd that are required to be 

prepared by an LSS or PE, if required in G.S. 89C or 89E, shall 

include the information required by the following: 

(1) Rule .0304(1) of this Section; 

(2) Rule .0304(2) of this Section for Special Site 

Evaluations and submittals prepared under Rule 

.0510 of this Subchapter; and 

(3) Rule .0304(4)(d) of this Section for advanced 

pretreatment and IPWW. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0401 DESIGN DAILY FLOW 

(a) The minimum DDF for dwelling units shall be based on: 

(1) 175 gpd for a one bedroom dwelling unit with 

no more than two occupants and 400 square feet 

of living space or less; or 

(2) 120 gpd per bedroom with a minimum of 240 

gpd per dwelling unit or 60 gpd per person 

when occupancy exceeds two persons per 

bedroom, whichever is greater. 

(b) DDF for facilities other than dwelling units shall be in 

accordance with Table II as follows: 
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TABLE II. Design daily flow for Facilities 

Facility type Design daily flow 

Commercial  

Airport, railroad stations, bus, and ferry terminals, 

etc. 

5 gal/traveler, food preparation not included 

Barber shops 50 gal/chair 

Bars, cocktail lounges∞ 20 gal/seat, food preparation not included 

Beauty shops, style shops, hair salons 125 gal/chair 

Bed and breakfast homes and inns Dwelling unit DDF based on Paragraph (a) of this Rule plus 

120 gal/rented room which includes the following: 

Meals served to overnight guests 

Laundry for linens 

150 gal/room with cooking facilities in individual rooms 

Event Center∞ 5 gal/person with toilets and hand sinks up to 4 hours; 

10 gal/person with toilets and hand sinks up to 8 hours; 

15 gal/person with toilets and hand sinks greater than 8 hours; 

Add 5 gal/person with full kitchen 

Markets open less than four days/week, such as a flea 

market or farmers market 

30 gal/stall or vendor, food preparation not included 

Marinas with no holding tank discharge included 30 gal/boat slip, with bathhouse 

10 gal/boat slip, wet slips (slips on dock) 

5 gal/boat slip, dry storage (warehouse) 

Motels/hotels 

 

120 gal/room includes the following: 

No cooking facilities in individual rooms other than a 

microwave or other similar devices 

No food service or limited food service establishment 

Laundry for linens 

150 gal/room with cooking facilities in individual rooms 

Offices and factories with no IPWW included 12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hour for more than 8 hr shift 

Add 10 gal/employee for showers 

Stores, shopping centers, and malls 100 gal/1,000 ft2 of retail sales area, food preparation not 

included 

Warehouse (not retails sales warehouses) 100 gal/loading bay, or 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Storage warehouse including self-storage facilities 

and does not include caretaker residence 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Alcoholic beverage tasting areas with no process 

wastewater included 

200 gal/1,000 ft2 of tasting area floor space, food preparation 

not included 

Camps/Campgrounds  

Summer camps (overnight stay)* 60 gal/person, applied as follows: 

15 gal/person/food preparation 

20 gal/person/toilet facilities 

10 gal/person/bathing facilities 

15 gal/person/laundry facilities 

Day camps (not inclusive of swimming area 

bathhouse)* 

20 gal/person; and 

5 gal/meal served with multi use service; or 

3 gal/meal served with single-service articles 

Temporary Labor Camp or Migrant Housing Camp 

(overnight stay)* 

60 gal/person, applied as follows: 

15 gal/person/food preparation 

20 gal/person/toilet facilities 

10 gal/person/bathing facilities 

15 gal/person/laundry facilities 

Travel trailer/RV in an RV park* 100 gal/space 

Recreational Park Trailer (Park Model 400 ft2 or less) 

in an RV park* 

150 gal/space 
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Bathhouse for campsites and RV park sites with no 

water and sewer hook ups (maximum of four people 

per campsite) 

70 gal/campsite 

Food preparation facilities  

Food Establishments with multiuse articles* 25 gal/seat or 25 gal/15 ft2 of floor space open 6 hrs/day or 

less 

40 gal/seat or 40 gal/15 ft2 of floor space open 6 to 16 hrs/day 

Add 4 gpd/seat for every additional hour open beyond 16 

hours 

Food Establishments with single service articles* 20 gal/seat or 20 gal/15 ft2 of floor space open 6 hrs/day or 

less 

30 gal/seat or 30 gal/15 ft2 of floor space open 6 to 16 hrs/day 

Add 3 gpd/seat for every additional hour open beyond 16 

hours 

Food stand with up to eight seats, mobile food units, 

and commissary kitchens* 

50 gal/100 ft2 of food stand, food unit, or food prep floor 

space; and 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Other food service facilities* 5 gal/meal served with multiuse articles 

3 gal/meal served with single service articles 

Meat markets/fish markets with no process 

wastewater included* 

50 gal/100 ft2 of floor space and 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

Health care and other care institutions  

Hospitals* 300 gal/bed 

Rest homes, assisted living homes, and nursing 

homes* 

150 gal/bed with laundry 

75 gal/bed without laundry 

Add 60 gal/resident employee with laundry 

Day care facilities 15 gal/person open ≤ 12 hr shift without laundry 

Add 1 gal/person/hr open for more than 12 hrs per day 

Add 5 gal/person with full kitchen 

Group homes, drug rehabilitation, mental health, and 

other care institutions 

75 gal/person with laundry 

Orphanages 60 gal/student or resident employee with laundry 

Public access restrooms  

Convenience store, service station, truck stop* 250 gal/toilet or urinal meeting the following: 

Open less than 16 hours/day 

Food preparation not included 

Retail space not included 

325 gal/toilet or urinal meeting the following: 

Open 16 to 24 hours/day 

Food preparation not included 

Retail space not included 

Highway rest areas and visitor centers* 325 gal/toilet or urinal; or 

10 gal/parking space, whichever is greater 

Recreational facilities  

Bowling center 50 gal/lane, food preparation not included 

Community center, gym∞ 5 gal/person plus 12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift; or 

50 gal/100 ft2, whichever is larger 

Country club/golf course 10 gal/person 

12 gal/employee/≤ 8 hr shift 

Add 2 gal/employee/hr for more than 8 hr shift 

3 gal/person for convenience stations 

Food preparation not included 

Fairground 250 gal/toilet or urinal 

Fitness center, spas, karate, dance, exercise∞ 50 gal/100 ft2 of floor space used by clientele, food 

preparation not included 
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Recreational park, State park, county park, and other 

similar facilities with no sports facilities 

10 gal/parking space 

Outdoor sports facilities, mini golf, batting cages, 

driving ranges, motocross, athletic park, ball fields, 

stadium, and other similar facilities 

250 gal/toilet or urinal; 5 gal/seat; or 10 gal/parking space, 

whichever is greater 

food preparation not included 

Auditorium, theater, amphitheater, drive-in theater 2 gal/seat; or 

10 gal/parking space, whichever is greater 

Food preparation not included 

Swimming pools and bathhouses 5 gal/person domestic waste only, bathing load of pool as 

alternative method of sizing 

Sports facilities courts or other similar facilities 250 gal/toilet or urinal; or 50 gal/court, whichever is greater 

Institutions  

Church or other religious institution* 2 gal/seat sanctuary only 

3 gal/seat with warming kitchen in same structure as 

sanctuary 

5 gal/seat with full kitchen in same structure as sanctuary 

Public or private assembly halls used for recreation, 

regularly scheduled meetings, events, or 

amusement∞* (for churches, flow shall be in addition 

to sanctuary structure flow) 

2 gal/person with toilets and hand sinks; 

3 gal/person with addition of a warming kitchen; 

5 gal/person with full kitchen 

Schools  

Day schools* 6 gal/student with no cafeteria or gymnasium 

9 gal/student with cafeteria only 

12 gal/student with cafeteria and gymnasium 

After school program 5 gal/student in addition to flow for regular school day 

Boarding schools 60 gal/student and resident employee with laundry 

*Facility has potential to general HSE. 

∞Designer shall use the maximum building occupancy assigned by the local fire marshal in determining DDF unless another method 

for determining DDF is proposed, including the justification for not using the maximum building occupancy. 

 

(c)  The minimum DDF from any facility other than a dwelling 

unit shall be 100 gpd. For facilities with multiple design units, the 

minimum DDF shall be 100 gpd per design unit. The DDF of the 

facility shall be the sum of all design unit flows. 

(d)  DDF determination for wastewater systems with facilities not 

identified in this Rule shall be determined using available water 

use data, capacity of water-using fixtures, occupancy or operation 

patterns, and other measured data from the facility itself or a 

comparable facility. 

(e)  Where laundry is not specified for a facility in Table II, but is 

proposed to be provided, the DDF shall be adjusted to account for 

the proposed usage and machine water capacity. The owner shall 

provide cut-sheets for laundry machines proposed for use in 

facilities. 

(f)  HVAC unit or ice machine condensate, gutter or sump pump 

discharge, water treatment system back flush lines, or similar 

incidental flows shall not discharge to the wastewater system, 

unless a PE designs the wastewater system for these flows. 

(g)  Unless otherwise noted in Table II, the DDF per unit includes 

employees. 

(h)  Food service facilities and other facilities that are projected to 

generate wastewater with constituent levels greater than DSE, as 

defined in Rule .0402 of this Section, are identified in Table II 

with a single asterisk (*) as HSE. Any facility that has a food 

service component that contributes 50 percent or more of the DDF 

shall be considered to generate HSE. Determination of wastewater 

strength shall be based on projected or measured levels of one or 

more of the following: BOD, TSS, FOG, or TN. Table III of Rule 

.0402(a) of this Section identifies the constituent limits for DSE.  

(i)  Wastewater with constituents other than those listed in Table 

III of Rule .0402(a) of this Section may be classified as IPWW as 

defined in G.S. 130A-334(2a) of a site specific basis. 

(j)  A request for an adjusted DDF shall be made in accordance 

with Rule .0403 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0402 SEPTIC TANK EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

(a)  Septic tank effluent standards for DSE shall be as set forth in 

Table III of this Paragraph. Effluent that exceeds these standards 

for any constituent shall be considered HSE. When measured, 

effluent characteristics shall be based on at least two effluent 

samples collected during normal or above-normal operating 

periods. A normal period is when the occupancy, operation, or use 

of the facility is average when compared to the occupancy, 

operation, or use over a time frame of a minimum of one year. 

The samples shall be taken from the existing or a comparable 

facility on non-consecutive days of operation. A comparable 

facility is based on documentation showing that the hours of 

operation, floor plan, water use practices, water-using fixtures, 
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etc., are similar to the facility listed in the application. The 

samples should be analyzed for a minimum of BOD5, TSS, TN, 

and FOG. 

 

Table III. Septic tank effluent standards for DSE 

Constituent 
DSE (maximum) 

mg/L 

BOD ≤ 350 

TSS ≤ 100 

TN*  ≤ 100 

FOG ≤ 30 

*TN is the sum of TKN, nitrate nitrogen, and nitrite nitrogen 

 

(b)  Designs for facilities that generate HSE or propose an 

adjusted DDF in accordance with Rule .0403 shall address the 

issue of wastewater strength in accordance with one of the 

following: 

(1) Wastewater systems that meet one of the 

following criteria shall utilize advanced 

pretreatment, designed in accordance with Rule 

.1201(b) of this Subchapter, to produce DSE or 

better prior to dispersal: 

(A) DDF greater than 1,500 gpd and HSE; 

(B) any proposed flow reduction in 

accordance with Rule .0403 of this 

Section where the DDF is greater than 

1,500 gpd; or 

(C) any proposed flow reduction in 

accordance with Rule .0403 of this 

Section with projected or measured 

effluent characteristics that exceed 

DSE as set forth in Table III of this 

Rule; or 

(2) A licensed professional, in accordance with 

G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F, may justify not using 

advanced pretreatment by providing the 

following, as applicable: 

(A) the system design is determined based 

upon a mass loading adjusted LTAR 

calculated using site-specific 

projected or measured BOD5 and TSS 

values. The adjusted LTAR 

calculations shall be done as follows: 

 

MLAF = 300/(BOD5 + TSS) or one, whichever is smaller 

ALTAR = MLAF x LTAR 

 

Where  MLAF =     mass loading LTAR adjustment factor 

BOD5 = measured or projected 

TSS = measured or projected 

LTAR = LTAR assigned by the authorized agent for DSE in accordance with this Subchapter 

ALTAR = adjusted LTAR 

 

(B) site-specific nitrogen migration 

analysis when projected or measured 

effluent total nitrogen levels are 

greater than 100 mg/L. Analysis shall 

demonstrate that the nitrate-nitrogen 

concentration at the property line will 

not exceed 10 mg/L; and 

(C) additional pretreatment to reduce FOG 

to less than or equal to 30 mg/L, 

including justification for the 

proposed pretreatment method. 

(c)  The requirements of Paragraph (b) shall not apply if the 

effluent for a specific facility identified in Rule .0401 of this 

Section as having HSE has been measured in accordance with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule and shown to be DSE. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0403 ADJUSTMENTS TO DESIGN 

DAILY FLOW 

(a)  The authorized agent or the State shall approve an adjusted 

DDF relative to the values in Table II of Rule .0401(a) of this 

Section for new or existing facilities in accordance with this Rule. 

The water use information provided to support the proposed 

adjusted DDF shall meet the requirements of Paragraphs (b) or (c) 

of this Rule and may be provided by the owner, designer, or PE. 

All adjustments to DDF shall meet the requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(b)  Adjustments to DDF based on documented data from the 

facility or a comparable facility, as described in Rule .0402(a) of 

this Section, shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) the submitted data shall consist of a minimum 

of 12 consecutive monthly total water 

consumption readings, and 30 consecutive 

daily water consumption readings taken during 

a projected normal or above normal wastewater 

flow month. A normal or above normal month 

is when the average flow equals or exceeds the 

mean of the 12 consecutive monthly total water 

consumption readings. The following 

calculations shall be done with the submitted 

data: 

(A) a hydraulic peaking factor shall be 

calculated by dividing the highest 

monthly flow of the 12 monthly 

readings by the sum of the 30 

consecutive daily water consumption 

readings. The hydraulic peaking factor 

shall not be less than one; and 

(B) the adjusted DDF shall be calculated 

by multiplying the numerical average 
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of the greatest 10 percent of the daily 

readings by the hydraulic peaking 

factor; or 

(2) the adjusted DDF shall be calculated by 

multiplying the highest of the 12 monthly 

readings by 1.5 and then dividing by the 

number of days in the month. 

(c)  Adjustments to DDF based on the proposed use of extreme 

water-conserving fixtures, which use less water that the fixtures 

required by the North Carolina Plumbing Code, shall be based 

upon the capacity of fixtures and documentation of the amount of 

flow reduction to be expected from their use in the proposed 

facility. Cut sheets of the proposed fixtures shall be provided to 

the LHD and the State, as applicable. 

(d)  The proposed adjusted DDF shall account for projected 

increased constituent concentrations due to the reduction in water 

use. Calculations shall be provided to verify that the criteria in 

Rules .0402 and .1201 of this Subchapter are met. 

(e)  Pursuant to S.L. 2013-413, s. 34, as revised by S.L. 2014-120, 

s. 53, a PE may propose an adjusted DDF for new or existing 

dwelling units or facilities identified in Table II of Rule .0402(a) 

of this Section in accordance with the following: 

(1) DDF less than those listed in Rule .0401 of this 

Section that are achieved through engineering 

design that utilizes low-flow fixtures and low-

flow technologies; 

(2) comparison of flow from proposed fixtures and 

technologies to flow from conventional fixtures 

and technologies; 

(3) the signed and sealed proposal shall account for 

the site-specific impact on the wastewater 

system based on projected increased constituent 

concentrations resulting from reduction in 

water use in accordance with Rule .0402(b) of 

this Section; 

(4) inspection of the existing wastewater system 

and verification that the system meets the rules 

of this Subchapter and can accept the increase 

in constituent loading, as applicable; 

(5) proposed adjusted DDF for wastewater systems 

determined to be less than 3,000 gpd shall not 

require State review in accordance with Rule 

.0302(e) of this Subchapter unless requested by 

the LHD; and 

(6) neither the State nor any LHD shall be liable for 

any damages caused by a system approved or 

permitted in accordance with this Paragraph. 

(f)  A PE may propose, and the State shall approve an adjusted 

DDF for a facility made up of individual dwelling units in 

accordance with this Rule when the following criteria are met: 

(1) DDF calculated in accordance with this Section 

is greater than 3,000 gpd; 

(2) adjusted DDF is based on information in 

Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this Rule; and 

(3) increase in wastewater strength is accounted for 

in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(g)  Adjusted DDF based upon use of water-conserving fixtures 

shall apply only to design capacity requirements of the dosing 

system and dispersal fields. The DDF set forth in Rule .0401 of 

this Section shall be used to determine minimum tank and 

advanced pretreatment component capacities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0501 SITE EVALUATION 

(a)  Upon receipt of an application, an authorized agent shall 

investigate each proposed site in accordance with this Section to 

determine whether the site is suitable or unsuitable for the 

installation of a wastewater system. The field investigation shall 

include the evaluation of the following soil and site features with 

written field descriptions including: 

(1) topography, slope, and landscape position; 

(2) soil morphology: 

(A) depth of horizons; 

(B) texture; 

(C) structure; 

(D) consistence; 

(E) color; and 

(F) organic soils, as applicable; 

(3) SWC; 

(4) soil depth; 

(5) restrictive horizons; 

(6) the suitability for each profile description; 

(7) LTAR; and 

(8) available space. 

(b)  Soil profiles shall be evaluated at the site by borings, pits, or 

other means of excavation, and described to reflect variations in 

soil and site characteristics across both initial and repair areas. 

(c)  Soil profiles shall be evaluated and described to the following 

minimum depths: 

(1) 48 inches from the ground surface; or 

(2) to an unsuitable soil condition determined in 

accordance with this Section. 

(d)  Owners may be required to provide pits when necessary for 

evaluation of the site as determined by the authorized agent, such 

as for evaluation of saprolite or soil structure. 

(e)  Based on the evaluation of the soil conditions and site features 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, each soil profile shall be 

classified suitable or unsuitable. The authorized agent shall 

specify the overall site classification and suitability in accordance 

with Rule .0509 of this Section. 

(f)  The authorized agent shall specify the LTAR in accordance 

with Section .0900 of this Subchapter for sites classified suitable 

in accordance with Rule .0509 of this Section. 

(g)  A LC initially classified unsuitable may be reclassified 

suitable if the requirements of Rule .0509(b) or (c) of this Section 

are met. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0502 TOPOGRAPHY AND 

LANDSCAPE POSITION 

(a)  Uniform stable slopes less than or equal to 65 percent shall be 

suitable with respect to topography. 

(b)  The following shall be unsuitable with respect to topography:  

(1) slopes greater than 65 percent; and 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1229 

(2) areas subject to surface water convergence. The 

site shall be considered suitable when the 

surface water can be diverted from the site with 

berms or other surface water diversion devices; 

(c)  The following shall be unsuitable with respect to landscape 

position:  

(1) depressions, except when with site 

modifications in accordance with Rule .0910 of 

this Subchapter, the site complies with the 

requirements of this Section; 

(2) a jurisdictional wetland as determined by the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or DEQ, unless 

the proposed use is approved in writing by the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or DEQ; and 

(3) complex slope patterns, such as areas affected 

by erosion which have rills or evidence of 

drainage, and slopes dissected by gullies that 

prohibit the design, installation, maintenance, 

monitoring, or repair of the wastewater system. 

 

(d)  For all sites, except where a drip dispersal system is proposed, additional required soil depth (slope correction) shall be calculated 

using the following formula to determine site suitability for soil depth in accordance with Rule .0505 of this Section: 

 

SD = MSD + (TW x S) 

 

Where   SD =    soil depth required with slope correction (inches) 

MSD = minimum soil depth (inches) 

TW = proposed trench width (inches) 

S = percent slope (in decimal form) 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delated Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0503 SOIL MORPHOLOGY 

The soil morphology shall be evaluated in accordance with the following: 

(1) Texture – The texture of each soil horizon in a profile shall be classified into 12 soil textural classes based upon the 

relative proportions of sand, silt, and clay sized mineral particles. The soil textural class shall be determined in the 

field by hand texturing samples of each soil horizon in the soil profile in accordance with the criteria in Guide to Soil 

Texture by Feel, Journal of Agronomic Education, USDA, NRCS. Table IV identifies the Soil Groups that shall be 

suitable with respect to texture. 

 

Table IV. Soil Groups that are suitable with respect to texture 

 USDA Soil Textural Class 

I Sands Sand 

Loamy Sand 

II Coarse Loams Sandy Loam 

Loam 

III Fine Loams Silt 

Silt Loam 

Sandy Clay Loam 

Clay Loam 

Silty Clay Loam 

IV Clays Sandy Clay 

Silty Clay 

Clay 

 

 Laboratory testing of the soil textural class may be substituted for field testing when the laboratory testing is conducted 

in accordance with ASTM D6913 and D7928. When laboratory testing of soil texture is proposed, the LHD shall be 

notified a minimum of 48 hours before samples are to be taken by the licensed professional if required by G.S. 89C, 

89E, or 89F. The authorized agent and the licensed professional shall be present when the samples are collected. 

Samples shall be representative of the soil horizon being evaluated for texture. Split samples shall be made available 
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to the LHD when requested. The licensed professional shall document chain of custody and seal, sign, and date the 

first page of the report. 

(2) Structure – Soil structure shall be determined in the field for each soil horizon in the soil profile and shall be classified 

and suitability determined in accordance with Table V. If an authorized agent determines that the soil structure cannot 

be determined from auger borings, pits shall be required. 

 

Table V. Soil structure and associated suitability classification 

Structure Size (diameter) Classification 

Granular N/A suitable 

Blocky ≤ 1 inches (2.5 cm) suitable 

> 1 inches (2.5 cm) unsuitable 

Platy N/A unsuitable 

Prismatic ≤ 2 inches (5 cm) suitable 

> 2 inches (5 cm) unsuitable 

Absence of structure: 

Single Grain 

N/A suitable 

Absence of Structure: 

Massive 

(no structural peds) 

N/A unsuitable 

 

(3) Clay Mineralogy – Clay mineralogy shall be determined in the field by evaluation of moist and wet soil consistence 

in accordance with the USDA-NRCS Field Book for Describing and Sampling Soils. The clay mineralogy shall be 

classified and suitability determined in accordance with Table VI. 

 

Table VI. Clay mineralogy (consistence) field method results, associated mineralogy, and suitability classification 

Consistence Mineralogy Classification 

Moist 

Loose, very friable Slightly expansive suitable 

Friable, firm Slightly expansive suitable 

Very firm or extremely firm Expansive unsuitable* 

Wet 

Nonsticky, slightly sticky 

Nonplastic, slightly plastic 

Slightly expansive suitable 

Moderately sticky 

Moderately plastic 

Slightly expansive suitable 

Very sticky or very plastic Expansive unsuitable* 

*If either the moist consistence or wet consistence is unsuitable then clay mineralogy is classified unsuitable. 

 

(a) Laboratory testing of ACEC may be substituted for field testing to determine clay mineralogy. The laboratory 

testing shall be conducted in accordance with USDA-NRCS Soil Survey Laboratory Information Manual, 

Soil Survey Investigations Report No. 45, and Kellogg Soil Survey Laboratory Methods Manual, Soil Survey 

Investigation Report No. 42, page 229, or EPA Method 9080. Table VII shall be used to determine the clay 

mineralogy suitability when laboratory testing is used. When using laboratory testing to determine clay 

mineralogy, the clay content of the soil must be greater than 35 percent and the organic matter component 

must be less than 0.5 percent. 

 

Table VII. Clay mineralogy laboratory method results, mineralogy, and associated suitability classification 

ACEC (cmol/kg) Mineralogy Classification 

≤ 16.3 Slightly expansive suitable 

> 16.3 Expansive unsuitable 

 

(b) When laboratory testing of clay mineralogy is proposed, the LHD shall be notified a minimum of 48 hours 

before samples are to be taken by the licensed professional, if required by G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F. The 

authorized agent and the licensed professional shall be present when the samples are collected. Samples shall 

be representative of the soil horizon being evaluated for clay mineralogy. Split samples shall be made 

available to the LHD when requested. The licensed professional shall document chain of custody and seal, 

sign, and date the first page of the report. 

(4) Organic Soils - Organic soils shall be considered unsuitable.
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History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0504 SOIL WETNESS CONDITIONS 

(a)  SWC, such as those caused by a seasonal high-water table, a 

perched water table, tidal water, seasonally saturated soil, or by 

lateral water movement, shall be determined by field observations 

of soil wetness indicators as follows:  

(1) the presence of colors with a value 4 or more 

and a chroma 2 or less using the Munsell Soil 

Color Book at greater than or equal to two 

percent of soil volume as redox depletions or as 

the matrix of a horizon. Colors of chroma 2 or 

less that are lithochromic features shall not be 

considered indicative of a SWC; or 

(2) the observation or indication of saturated soils, 

a perched water table, or lateral water 

movement flowing into a bore hole, monitoring 

well, or open excavation above a less permeable 

horizon, that may occur without the presence of 

colors with a value 4 or more or chroma 2 or 

less at greater than or equal to two percent of 

soil volume as redox depletions or as the matrix 

of a horizon.  

(3) The shallowest depth to SWC determined in 

this Paragraph shall be used. 

(b)  Initial site suitability as to SWC shall be determined by field 

observations of soil wetness indicators in accordance with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Sites where the SWC is less than 12 

inches below the naturally occurring soil surface, or less than 18 

inches if more than six inches of Group I soils are present, shall 

be considered unsuitable with respect to SWC. 

(c)  Monitoring or modeling procedures as set forth in this Rule 

may be used to reclassify the site as suitable with respect to SWC.  

(d)  Monitoring or modeling procedures as set forth in this Rule 

shall be required when the owner proposes to use a wastewater 

system requiring a greater depth to a SWC than the depth 

observed by soil wetness indicators in accordance with Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Modeling procedures as set forth in this Rule shall be required 

when the owner proposes to use sites with Group III or IV soils 

within 36 inches of the naturally occurring soil surface with 

artificial drainage, or on sites when fill is proposed to be used in 

conjunction with an artificial drainage system. 

(f)  Monitoring or modeling procedures may include the 

following: 

(1) direct monitoring procedure as set forth in 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule; 

(2) modeling procedure as set forth in Paragragh 

(h) of this Rule; 

(3) monitoring and modeling procedure as set forth 

in Paragraph (i) of this Rule; or 

(4) other modeling procedures as set forth in 

Paragraph (j) of this Rule. 

(g)  The direct monitoring procedure involves determining the 

SWC by observation of water surface elevations in wells during 

periods of high-water in accordance with the following: 

(1) no later than 30 days prior to the start of the 

monitoring period, the owner shall notify the 

LHD of the intent to monitor water surface 

elevations by submitting a proposal prepared by 

a licensed professional, if required in G.S. 89C, 

89E, or 89F, that includes a site plan, well and 

soil profile at each monitoring site, and a 

monitoring plan as follows: 

(A) the site plan shall include the proposed 

sites for wastewater systems, the 

longitude and latitude of the site, the 

location of monitoring wells, and all 

drainage features that may influence 

the SWC. The site plan shall also 

specify any proposed fill and drainage 

modifications; and 

(B) the monitoring plan shall include the 

proposed number, installation depth, 

screening depth, soil and well profile, 

materials, and installation procedures 

for each monitoring well. A minimum 

of three water level monitoring wells 

shall be installed for water surface 

observation at each site. Sites handling 

systems with a DDF greater than 600 

gpd shall have one additional well per 

600 gpd increment. Well locations 

shall include portions of the initial and 

repair dispersal field areas containing 

the most limiting soil and site 

conditions; 

(2) prior to installation of the monitoring wells, the 

authorized agent shall approve the plan. Plan 

approval shall be based upon a site visit and 

compliance with this Rule. If the plan is denied, 

a signed, written report shall be provided to the 

owner that describes the reasons for denial and 

the changes necessary for approval of the plan; 

(3) wells shall extend a minimum of five feet below 

the naturally occurring soil surface, or existing 

ground surface for existing fill determined in 

accordance with Rule .0909(d) of this 

Subchapter, except that wells that extend down 

only 40 inches from the ground surface may be 

used if a continuous record of the water table is 

provided for a minimum of half of the 

monitoring period. One or more shallower 

wells may be required on sites where shallow 

lateral water movement or a perched SWC is 

anticipated based on the site investigation; 

(4) the water elevation in the monitoring wells shall 

be recorded daily from January 1 to April 30, 

taken at the same time during the day, plus or 

minus three hours. Rain gauges shall be located 

within two miles of the site; and 

(5) the owner's licensed professional shall 

determine the 120-day SPI for April 15 from the 

State Climate Office's website: 

http://climate.ncsu.edu/drought/map by 
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clicking on the map pixel that most closely 

corresponds with the monitored site's location. 

This shall be done when the 120-day 

cumulative rainfall for the monitoring period 

ending on April 15 equals or exceeds the site's 

historic rainfall for the same period with a 30 

percent recurrence frequency, based on data 

obtained from the State Climate Office of North 

Carolina at 

http://climate.ncsu.edu/drought/map for the 

monitored site. The licensed professional shall 

adjust the URL coordinates to ascertain results 

that are specific to the site's latitude and 

longitude. The State will provide assistance in 

obtaining this information. 

(6) The SWC shall be determined at the shallowest 

level that is continuously saturated for the 

number of consecutive days during the January 

through April well monitoring period shown in 

Table VII as follows: 

 

TABLE VIII. Rainfall SPI and exceedance probability during monitoring season related to number of consecutive days of continuous 

saturation 

SPI and recurrence frequency range 

120-day cumulative on April 15 rainfall 

Number of consecutive days of continuous 

saturation for SWC 

SPI -0.543 to 0 (30% to 49.9% duration) 3 days or 72 hours 

SPI 0 to 0.545 (50% to 69.9% duration) 6 days or 144 hours 

SPI 0.546 to 0.864 (70% to 79.9% duration) 9 days or 216 hours 

SPI ≥ 0.865 (80% to 100% duration) 14 days or 336 hours 

 

(7) If monitoring well data is collected during 

monitoring periods that span multiple years, the 

year that yields the shallowest SWC shall apply. 

(h)  The modeling procedure may be used to determine SWC by 

using DRAINMOD, a groundwater simulation model, to predict 

daily water levels over a minimum 30-year period using site-

specific input parameters as outlined in the DRAINMOD User's 

Guide. The SWC shall be determined as the shallowest level 

predicted by DRAINMOD to be saturated for a 14-day continuous 

period between January 1 and April 30 with a recurrence 

frequency of 30 percent, an average of a minimum of nine years 

in 30, and in accordance with the following: 

(1) weather input files shall consist of hourly 

rainfall and daily temperature data collected 

over the entire period of record but for a 

minimum of a 30-year period from a measuring 

station site, such as the National Weather 

Service or State Climate Office of North 

Carolina. The measuring station used shall be 

the station located closest to the owner's site; 

(2) soil and site inputs for DRAINMOD shall 

include the following: 

(A) soil input file with the soil moisture 

characteristic curve and data for the 

soil profile that is closest to the 

described soil profile that is present on 

the site; 

(B) soil horizon depths determined on site; 

(C) site measured or proposed drain depth 

and spacing, and drain outlet 

elevation; 

(D) in-situ Ksat measurements for a 

minimum of three representative 

locations on the site and at each 

location for the three most 

representative soil horizons within 

five feet of the surface. In-situ Ksat 

measurements shall be for one 

representative soil horizon at or above 

redoximorphic depletion features and 

two representative soil horizons at and 

below redoximorphic concentration 

features at each location on the site; 

(E) all other model parameters based upon 

the DRAINMOD User's Guide; and 

(F) a sensitivity analysis shall be 

conducted for the following model 

parameters: soil input files for a 

minimum of two other most closely 

related soil profiles; in-situ Ksat of 

each horizon; drain depth and spacing; 

and surface storage and depth of 

surface flow inputs. 

 The sensitivity analysis shall be used to 

evaluate the range of soil and site 

characteristics for choosing input parameters 

related to the soil profiles, Ksat input values 

based upon the range of in-situ Ksat values 

measured on the site, and inputs for surface and 

subsurface drainage features based upon the 

range of possible elevations and distances that 

occur or may occur after installation of 

improvements. The sensitivity analysis shall 

establish which parameters are most critical for 

determination of the depth to SWC. 

Conservative values for the most critical 

parameters shall be used in applying the model 

to the site; 

(3) for sites designed to receive over 600 gpd, the 

SWC determination using DRAINMOD shall 

take into consideration the impact of 

wastewater application on the projected water 

table surface; and 

(4) The groundwater simulation analysis shall be 

prepared and submitted to the LHD by licensed 

professionals, if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 

89F, qualified to use DRAINMOD by training 

and experience. The LHD shall submit the 
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groundwater simulation analysis to the State for 

technical review prior to approval of the SWC 

determination. 

(i)  The monitoring and modeling procedure is a combination of 

the direct monitoring procedure and the modeling procedure. The 

SWC shall be determined as the shallowest level predicted by 

DRAINMOD to be saturated for a 14-day continuous period 

between January 1 and April 30 with a recurrence frequency of 30 

percent, an average of a minimum of nine years in 30, and in 

accordance with the following: 

(1) the procedures set forth in Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule shall be used to monitor water surface 

elevation and precipitation. The rain gauge 

required by Subparagraph (g)(4) of this Rule 

shall use a recording device and a data file that 

is DRAINMOD compatible. The rain gauge 

shall record rainfall hourly or daily and well 

water levels daily. The data file shall be 

submitted with the report to the LHD; 

(2) DRAINMOD shall be used to predict daily 

water levels. The DRAINMOD modeling shall 

be in accordance with the following: 

(A) weather input files shall be developed 

from daily temperature and hourly or 

daily rainfall data collected over a 

minimum 30-year period from a 

measuring station, such as the 

National Weather Service or State 

Climate Office of North Carolina. The 

measuring station used shall be the 

station located closest to the site. Daily 

maximum and minimum temperature 

data for the December 1 through April 

30 monitoring period shall be obtained 

from the closest available weather 

station; 

(B) soil and site inputs for DRAINMOD, 

including a soils data file closest to the 

soil series identified, depths of soil 

horizons, in-situ Ksat of each horizon, 

depth and spacing of drainage 

features, and depression storage shall 

be selected in accordance with 

procedures outlined in the 

DRAINMOD User's Guide; 

(C) inputs shall be based upon site-

specific soil profile descriptions. Soil 

and site input factors shall be adjusted 

during the model calibration process 

to achieve the best possible fit as 

indicated by the least squares analysis 

of the daily observations over the 

whole monitoring period and to 

achieve the best possible match 

between the shallowest water table 

depth during the monitoring period, 

measured vs. predicted. The mean 

absolute deviation between measured 

and predicted values shall be no 

greater than six inches; 

(D) for sites intended to receive greater 

than 1,500 gpd, the SWC 

determination using DRAINMOD 

shall take into consideration the 

impact of wastewater application on 

the projected water table surface; and 

(E) the DRAINMOD analysis shall be 

prepared and submitted to the LHD by 

licensed professionals, if required in 

G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F, qualified to use 

DRAINMOD by training and 

experience. The LHD or owner may 

request a technical review by the State 

prior to approval of the SWC 

determination. 

 The monitoring and modeling procedure may 

also be used to re-evaluate a SWC that was 

previously evaluated by the direct monitoring 

procedure. 

(j)  Modeling procedures other than those set forth in this Rule 

may be used to determine SWC upon approval by the State. Other 

modeling procedures shall be approved if the following 

requirements are met: 

(1) the modeling procedures use daily water levels 

or weather records over a 30-year period to 

predict future daily water levels; 

(2) the proposed model and prediction are shown to 

be as accurate as the prediction from 

DRAINMOD, calculated in accordance with 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule; and 

(3) documentation is provided in accordance with 

Rule .0509(c) of this Section. 

(k)  A report of the investigations made for the direct monitoring 

procedure, modeling procedure, or monitoring and modeling 

procedure in accordance with Paragraphs (g), (h), or (i) of this 

Rule shall be prepared prior to approval of the SWC 

determination. A request for technical review of the report by the 

State shall include digital copies of monitoring data, model inputs, 

output data, and graphic results, as applicable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0505 SOIL DEPTH  

(a)  The soil depth shall be measured from the naturally occurring 

soil surface to rock, saprolite, or parent material. 

(b)  Soil depth to saprolite, rock, or parent material greater than or 

equal to 18 inches shall be suitable. 

(b)  Soil depth to unsuitable saprolite, rock, or parent material less 

than 18 inches shall be unsuitable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0506 SAPROLITE 

(a)  Sites classified unsuitable due to depth to saprolite or other 

LC may be reclassified suitable in accordance with this Rule. 
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(b)  Sites with saprolite shall be classified as suitable if an 

investigation of the site using pits at locations approved by the 

authorized agent confirms that the following conditions are met: 

(1) a 24-inch minimum vertical separation shall be 

maintained in saprolite from the infiltrative 

surface to an unsuitable LC, unless any of the 

vertical separation consists of suitable soils 

horizons, in which case, the 24-inch separation 

may be calculated based on one-inch of suitable 

soils being equivalent to two inches of 

saprolite; and 

(2) the following physical properties and 

characteristics shall be present in the saprolite 

below the proposed infiltrative surface: 

(A) the saprolite texture as determined in 

the field by hand texturing samples of 

each horizon, shall be sand, loamy 

sand, sandy loam, loam, or silt loam; 

(B) the clay mineralogy shall be suitable in 

accordance with Rule .0503(3) of this 

Section; 

(C) greater than 2/3 of the saprolite by 

volume shall have a moist consistence 

of loose, very friable, friable, or firm; 

(D) the saprolite wet consistence shall be 

nonsticky or slightly sticky and 

nonplastic or slightly plastic; 

(E) the saprolite shall be in an 

undisturbed, naturally occurring state; 

(F) the saprolite shall have no open and 

continuous joints, quartz veins, or 

fractures relic of parent rock; and 

(G) laboratory determinations may be 

used to supplement field 

determinations. Split samples shall be 

made available to the LHD. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0507 RESTRICTIVE HORIZONS 

(a)  Soils in which restrictive horizons are three inches or more in 

thickness and at depths greater than or equal to 18 inches below 

the naturally occurring soil surface shall be suitable. 

(b)  Soils in which restrictive horizons are three inches or more in 

thickness located at depths less than 18 inches below the naturally 

occurring soil surface shall be unsuitable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0509 SITE SUITABILITY AND 

CLASSIFICATION 

(a)  A determination that any parameter evaluated in accordance 

with Rules .0502 through .0508 of this Section is unsuitable shall 

result in an overall classification of unsuitable. 

(b)  Sites classified as unsuitable may be reclassified as suitable 

as follows: 

(1) when site modifications are made that meet the 

requirements in Sections .0900 or .1200 of this 

Subchapter for the minimum vertical separation 

to the SWC; 

(2) if installation of an interceptor drain will 

intercept and divert lateral water to prevent 

saturation of the wastewater system; 

(3) with the use of advanced pretreatment based on 

the modified siting and sizing criteria in Section 

.1200 of this Subchapter; or 

(4) with the use of a wastewater system identified 

or approved in Sections .0900 or .1700 of this 

Subchapter 

(c)  For sites that are classified as unsuitable in accordance with 

this Rule, a Special Site Evaluation in accordance with Rule .0510 

of this Section may be provided that demonstrates that the 

proposed wastewater system can be expected to overcome the 

unsuitable site conditions and function in accordance with this 

Subchapter. 

(d)  An IP shall not be issued for a site which is classified 

unsuitable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0510 SPECIAL SITE EVALUATIONS 

(a)  A Special Site Evaluation shall demonstrate that the proposed 

use of the site with a specific wastewater system design and 

configuration will not result in effluent discharge to the ground 

surface or contravention of groundwater and surface water 

standards. Special Site Evaluations shall be performed by a 

licensed professional if required in G.S. 89C, 89E, or 89F. 

(b)  The owner may submit a Special Site Evaluation for a site 

classified as unsuitable as set forth in Rule .0509(c) of this Section 

to an authorized agent. The Special Site Evaluation shall 

demonstrate that the proposed wastewater system can be expected 

to overcome the unsuitable site conditions and function in 

accordance with this Subchapter. 

(c)  Any site that is proposed with one or more of the following 

shall require a Special Site Evaluation: 

(1) proposal submitted in accordance with Rule 

.0504(e) of this Section; 

(2) proposal submitted in accordance with Rule 

.0509(c) of this Section; 

(3) sand lined trench systems when the texture of 

the receiving permeable horizon is sandy loam 

or loam and the DDF is greater than 600 gpd, or 

when the texture of the receiving permeable 

horizon is silt loam; 

(4) DSE drip dispersal systems meeting the 

following soil and site conditions: 

(A) depth from the naturally occurring soil 

surface to any LC is greater than or 

equal to 18 inches and the LTAR is 

proposed to exceed 0.5 gpd/ft2 for 

Group I, 0.35 gpd/ft2 for Group II, or 

0.2 gpd/ft2 for Group III soils; 

(B) depth from the naturally occurring soil 

surface to any SWC is less than 18 
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inches and the LTAR is proposed to 

exceed 0.5 gpd/ft2 for Group I, 0.3 

gpd/ft2 for Group II, or 0.15 gpd/ft2 for 

Group III soils; 

(C) Group IV soils are encountered within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface or within 12 inches of the 

infiltrative surface, whichever is 

deeper, and the LTAR is proposed to 

exceed 0.05 gpd/ft2; 

(D) Group IV soils are encountered within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface and depth from the 

naturally occurring soil surface to any 

LC is less than 24 inches; 

(E) Group IV soils are encountered within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface and driplines are installed 

in new fill material; 

(F) groundwater lowering system is used 

to meet soil depth and vertical 

separation requirements to a SWC; 

(G) proposed LTAR exceeds that assigned 

by the LHD; or 

(H) DDF is greater than 1,500 gpd; 

(5) advanced pretreatment systems meeting the 

following soil and site conditions: 

(A) vertical separation to a LC is proposed 

to be reduced. The vertical separation 

to rock or tidal water shall not be 

reduced to less than 12 inches; 

(B) less than 18 inches of naturally 

occurring soil to a LC, excluding 

SWC; 

(C) increased LTAR is proposed for a site 

with Group III or IV soils within three 

feet of the infiltrative surface; 

(D) increased LTAR is proposed for a site 

with Group II or III soils that requires 

a groundwater lowering system; 

(E) proposed use of a groundwater 

lowering system to meet vertical 

separation requirements to a SWC; 

(F) bed systems located beneath the 

advanced pretreatment unit on a site 

with uniform slope exceeding two 

percent except in Group I soils with a 

SWC greater than 36 inches; 

(G) bed systems with a DDF greater than 

1,500 gpd; or 

(H) increased LTAR is proposed on a site 

with a DDF greater than 1,500 gpd; 

(6) drip dispersal systems and Group IV soils are 

within 18 inches of the naturally occurring soil 

surface or within 12 inches of the infiltrative 

surface, whichever is deeper, and the LTAR is 

proposed to exceed 0.1 gpd/ft2 for NSF-40, 0.12 

gpd/ft2 for TS-I, or 0.15 gpd/ft2 for TS-II; 

(7) NSF-40 and drip dispersal systems when the 

LTAR is proposed to exceed 0.8 gpd/ft2 for 

Group I soils, 0.5 gpd/ft2 for Group II soils, 0.25 

gpd/ft2 for Group III soils, or 0.1 gpd/ft2 for 

Group IV soils; 

(8) TS-I and drip dispersal systems which meet the 

following criteria: 

(A) site has less than 18 inches of naturally 

occurring soil to any unsuitable LC; 

(B) Group III soils are present and a 

groundwater lowering system is used 

to meet the vertical separation 

requirements to a SWC; 

(C) Group IV soils are encountered within 

18 inches of the naturally occurring 

soil surface, the LTAR is proposed to 

exceed 0.05 gpd/ft2, and the system is 

proposed to be installed in new fill; or 

(D) LTAR is proposed to exceed 1.0 

gpd/ft2 for Group I soils, 0.6 gpd/ft2 for 

Group II soils, 0.3 gpd/ft2 for Group 

III soils, or 0.12 gpd/ft2 for Group IV 

soils; 

(9) TS-II and drip dispersal systems which meet the 

following criteria: 

(A) Subparagraphs (8)(A), (B), or (C) of 

this Rule; or 

(B) LTAR is proposed to exceed 1.2 

gpd/ft2 for Group I soils, 0.7 gpd/ft2 for 

Group II soils, 0.4 gpd/ft2 for Group 

III soils, or 0.15 gpd/ft2 for Group IV 

soils; 

(10) site-specific nitrogen migration analysis is 

required to verify that the nitrate-nitrogen 

concentration at the property line will not 

exceed groundwater standards; 

(11) LHD or State determines that the combination 

of soil conditions, site topography and 

landscape position, DDF, system layout and/or 

proposed stormwater appurtenances will 

potentially result in hydraulic overload; or 

(12) DDF greater than 3,000 gpd, unless the 

requirements of Rule .0302(d) of this 

Subchapter are met. 

(d)  The Special Site Evaluation shall include hydrologic or 

hydraulic testing, as applicable, and analysis, in accordance with 

Rule .0304(2)(b) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  For wastewater systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd, 

the Special Site Evaluation shall include sufficient site-specific 

data to predict the height of the water table mound that will 

develop beneath the field (level sites) and the rate of lateral and 

vertical flow away from the trenches (sloping sites), unless the 

conditions in Paragraph (f) of this Rule are met. The data 

submitted may include deep soil borings to an impermeable layer 

or to a depth to support the hydrologic testing and modeling, 

permeability, in-situ Ksat measurements, water level readings, 

and other information determined to be necessary by the LHD or 

the State, such as the impact of projected wastewater constituents 
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on the trench and receiving soil. The site shall be considered 

unsuitable if the data indicate any of the following: 

(1) the groundwater mound that will develop 

beneath the site cannot be maintained two feet 

or more below the bottom of the trenches; 

(2) effluent is likely to become exposed on the 

ground surface; or 

(3) contaminant transport analysis indicates that 

groundwater standards established in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02L are 

determined or projected to be violated at the 

property line. 

(f)  For wastewater systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd 

and dispersal fields designed for less than or equal to 1,500 gpd, 

in-situ Ksat measurements and groundwater mounding or lateral 

flow analysis shall not be required if a Special Site Evaluation 

demonstrates that the dispersal fields are in separate lateral flow 

windows or are shown to not be hydraulically connected. 

(g)  The State shall review the Special Site Evaluation if requested 

by the LHD or if required in accordance with Rule .0302(c) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89E; 89F; 130A-335(a1),(e) and 

(f); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0801 SEPTIC TANK CAPACITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Minimum liquid capacities for septic tanks shall be in 

accordance with the following: 

(1) The minimum capacity of any septic tank shall 

be 1,000 gallons unless otherwise provided for 

in this Rule. 

(2) The minimum capacity of any septic tank 

serving an individual dwelling unit with five 

bedrooms or less shall be sized as set forth in 

Table XIII. 

 

TABLE XIII. Minimum septic tank liquid capacity for 

dwelling units 

Number of 

bedrooms 

Minimum liquid 

capacity (gallons)  

4 or less 1,000 

5 1,250 

 

(3) Septic tanks for dwelling units greater than five 

bedrooms, multiple dwelling units, places of 

business, or places of public assembly shall be 

sized in accordance with Table XIV. 

(4) The minimum septic tank capacity serving two 

or more dwelling units shall be 1,500 gallons. 

 

TABLE XIV. Septic tank capacity for facilities not listed in 

Table XIII 

Design daily flow 

(gpd)(Q) 

Minimum septic tank liquid 

capacity (V) calculation 

(gallons) 

Q ≤ 600  V = 2Q 

600 < Q < 1,500 V = 1.17Q + 500 

1,500 ≤ Q ≤ 4,500 V = 0.75Q + 1,125 

Q > 4,500 V = Q 

 

(5) Septic tanks for RWTS and PIA Systems shall 

be sized in accordance with the RWTS or PIA 

Approval, pursuant to Sections .1500 and .1700 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The minimum liquid capacity requirements of Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be met by use of a single two compartment tank 

or by two tanks installed in series. The tanks in series may be 

constructed with or without a baffle wall. Each tank shall have a 

minimum liquid capacity of 1,000 gallons. 

(c)  When a grinder pump or sewage lift pump is installed prior to 

the septic tank, the required septic tank liquid capacity as set forth 

in this Rule shall be doubled. The minimum liquid capacity may 

be met by installing two or more septic tanks in series, each tank 

containing two compartments. The minimum liquid capacity of 

each tank shall be 1,000 gallons. 

(d)  The State shall review other septic tanks designed to receive 

wastewater from grinder pumps or sewage lift pumps if designed 

by a PE to ensure that effluent discharged from the septic tank 

meets DSE as set forth in Table III of Rule .0402(a) of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  An effluent filter approved in accordance with Rule .1404 of 

this Subchapter shall be in the outlet of the final compartment of 

the septic tank.  

(f)  When two or more tanks are used in series in accordance with 

Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this Rule, the following conditions shall 

be met: 

(1) approved effluent filter shall be in the outlet of 

the final compartment; and 

(2) the outlet of the initial tank shall consist of an 

outlet sanitary tee extending down 25 to 50 

percent of the liquid depth. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-334; 130A-335(e),(f), and 

(f1); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0802 PUMP TANK CAPACITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The minimum pump tank liquid capacity shall be greater than 

or equal to the required septic tank liquid capacity as set forth in 

Rule .0801 of this Section. 

(b)  For a flow equalization system, the minimum pump tank 

capacity shall be based upon the sum of the volumes of the 

parameters below: 

(1) volume is sufficient to ensure pump 

submergence or as recommended by the pump 

manufacturer; 

(2) minimum dose volume in accordance with Rule 

.1101(d) of this Subchapter; 

(3) flow equalization storage; and 

(4) emergency storage capacity in accordance with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 
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(c)  An alternate minimum pump tank liquid capacity may be 

proposed by the authorized designer or PE to the LHD based upon 

the sum of the volumes of the parameters below: 

(1) volume is sufficient to ensure pump 

submergence or as recommended by the pump 

manufacturer; 

(2) minimum dose volume in accordance with Rule 

.1101(d) of this Subchapter; 

(3) flow equalization storage, if applicable; and 

(4) emergency storage capacity in accordance with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(d)  A PE may propose an alternative design to the LHD to 

calculate the minimum pump tank liquid capacity required. The 

alternative method shall provide documentation of pump 

submergence, dose volume capacity, emergency storage capacity, 

and flow equalization storage, as applicable. The LHD shall 

approve the alternative design upon a showing that all required 

storage capacity is accounted for in the wastewater system 

without reducing the required septic tank or grease tank capacities 

specified in Rules .0801 and .0803 of this Section. 

(e)  The pump tank emergency storage capacity requirement shall 

be determined based on the following criteria and Table XV: 

(1) type of facility served; 

(2) classification of surface waters that would be 

impacted by a pump tank failure; and 

(3) availability of standby power devices and 

emergency maintenance personnel. 

 

TABLE XV. Pump tank emergency storage capacity requirements 

Facility Type Surface Water 

Classification 

of Watershed 

Standby Power and Emergency 

Maintenance Personnel Provisions 

Emergency Storage 

Capacity Period 

Requirement 

Residential 

systems and 

other systems in 

full time use 

WS-I, WS-II, 

WS-III, SA, 

SB, and B 

waters 

No standby power 24 hours 

Manually activated standby power and 

telemetry contacting a 24-hour maintenance 

service 

12 hours 

Automatically activated standby power and 

telemetry contacting a 24-hour maintenance 

service 

4 hours 

All other 

surface waters 

or no surface 

waters 

No standby power 12 hours 

Manually activated standby power and 

telemetry contacting a 24-hour maintenance 

service 

8 hours 

Automatically activated standby power and 

telemetry contacting a 24-hour maintenance 

service 

4 hours 

Non-residential 

systems not in 

full-time use 

and all other 

systems 

All surface 

waters 

No standby power 12 hours 

Manually activated standby power and 

telemetry contacting a 24-hour maintenance 

service 

8 hours 

Automatically activated standby power and 

telemetry contacting a 24-hour maintenance 

service 

4 hours 

 

(f)  Telemetry shall be demonstrated to be operational to the authorized agent and the Management Entity prior to issuance of the OP. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0803 GREASE TANK CAPACITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Grease tanks or grease tanks used with grease traps shall be 

required for food preparation facilities, food processing facilities, 

and meat markets; churches institutions, and places of public 

assembly that include a full kitchen; or other facilities expected to 

generate FOG levels that are higher than DSE as defined in Table 

III of Rule .0402(a) of this Subchapter. The grease tank shall be 

plumbed to receive all wastes associated with food handling, 

preparation, and cleanup. No toilet wastes shall be discharged to 

a grease tank. 

 

(b)  The minimum grease tank liquid capacity shall be 1,000 gallons or as calculated by one of the following, whichever is greater: 

(1) five gallons per meal served per day; 

(2) equal to the required septic tank liquid capacity calculated in accordance with Rule .0801 of this Section; or 

(3) equal to the capacity as determined in accordance with the following: 
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GLC =  D x GL x ST x HR/2 x LF 

 

Where GLC =     grease tank liquid capacity (gallons) 

D =  number of seats in dining area 

GL =  gallons of wastewater per meal (1.5 single-use; 2.5 multi-use) 

ST =  storage capacity factor (2.5) 

HR =  number of hours open 

LF =  loading factor 

 (1.25 if along an interstate highway; 

 1.0 if along US Highway or recreational areas; 

 0.8 if along other roads) 

 

(c)  When the required minimum grease tank capacity for a facility 

is less than or equal to 1,500 gallons, the grease tank may be a 

single tank with two compartments and a minimum 2:1 length to 

width ratio. 

(d)  When the required minimum grease tank capacity for a 

facility is greater than 1,500 gallons, the grease tank shall have a 

minimum 4:1 length to width ratio and four compartments. This 

requirement can be met by two or more tanks in series. Each tank 

shall have a minimum liquid capacity of 1,000 gallons and a 

minimum 2:1 length to width ratio. 

(e)  A grease rated effluent filter approved in accordance with 

Rule .1404 of this Subchapter shall be in the final compartment of 

the grease tank.  

(f)  When two or more grease tanks are used in series in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule, the following 

conditions shall be met: 

(1) approved grease rated effluent filter shall be in 

the final compartment; and 

(2) the outlet of the initial tank shall consist of a 

sanitary tee extending down 40 to 60 percent of 

the liquid depth. 

(g)  The grease tank liquid capacity requirements set forth in this 

Rule may be reduced by up to 50 percent when used in 

conjunction with a grease trap located inside the facility. The 

system shall be designed by a PE, if required by G.S. 89C, and 

approved by the State when review of documentation provided by 

the PE and manufacturer demonstrate that the grease trap is 

projected to reduce FOG concentration by at least 50 percent.  

(h)  Grease traps and grease tanks shall be maintained by a septage 

management firm permitted in accordance with G.S. 130A-291.1 

and the contents disposed of in accordance with 15A NCAC 13B 

.0800. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0804 SIPHON TANK CAPACITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

Siphon tanks shall be sized to provide the minimum dose 

requirements of Rule .1101(d) of this Subchapter, plus three 

inches of freeboard above the siphon trip level. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 

Eff. Pending Delated Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .0805 TANK LEAK TESTING AND 

INSTALLATION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All tanks installed under the following conditions shall be leak 

tested at the site: 

(1) when a SWC is present within five feet of the 

elevation of the top of a mid-seam pump tank; 

(2) with advanced pretreatment when required in 

the RWTS or PIA Approval; 

(3) when required in the approved plans and 

specifications for a wastewater system designed 

by a PE; 

(4) when the tank is constructed in place; or 

(5) as required by the authorized agent based upon 

site or system specific conditions, such as 

misaligned seams, exposed reinforcement, or 

damage observed that may have occurred 

during transport or installation. 

(b)  Tanks unable to pass a leak test or be repaired to pass a leak 

test shall be removed from the site and the imprint described in 

Rule .1402(d)(15) or (e)(8) of this Subchapter marked over. 

(c)  The tank outlet pipe shall be inserted through the outlet pipe 

penetration boot, creating a watertight joint, and extending a 

minimum of two feet beyond the tank outlet. 

(d)  The tank outlet pipe shall be placed on undisturbed soil or 

bedded in accordance with Rule .0703(b) of this Subchapter to 

prevent differential settling of the pipe. The pipe shall be level for 

a minimum of two feet after exiting the tank. 

(e)  The bottom of the tank shall be installed level in undisturbed 

or compacted soil, or bedded using sand, gravel, stone, or other 

aggregate. When rock or other protruding obstructions are 

encountered, the bottom of the tank excavation shall be backfilled 

with sand, gravel, stone, or other approved equivalent material to 

three inches above the rock or obstruction. 

(f)  The tank excavation shall be separated from the dispersal 

system by at least two feet of undisturbed soil. Piping from the 

tank to the next component shall be placed on undisturbed soil, 

compacted soil, or bedded using sand, gravel, stone, or other 

aggregate. 

(g)  Effluent filters and risers shall be installed in accordance with 

the design and construction criteria of Rule .1402(b) and (c) of 

this Subchapter. 

(h)  Any system serving a facility with a DDF greater than 3,000 

gpd shall have access manholes installed on the tank and 

extending at a minimum to finished grade. The access manholes 

shall be designed and maintained to prevent surface water inflow 

and sized to allow access for routine inspections, operation, and 

maintenance. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1401 PLANS FOR PREFABRICATED 

TANKS 

(a)  All tanks proposed for use in a wastewater system shall be 

approved by the State when the tank design, construction, and 

materials meet the criteria set forth in Rules .1402 and .1403 of 

this Section.  

(b)  The tank manufacturer shall submit three separate sets of 

plans and specifications for the initial design of each tank to the 

State for approval.  

(c)  Plans and specifications for tanks with a total liquid capacity 

less than or equal to 4,000 gallons shall include the following: 

(1) all tank dimensions in inches, including: 

(A) top, bottom, and sidewall thickness 

and variations; 

(B) minimum and maximum dimensions 

on tanks with tapered or ribbed walls; 

(C) baffle wall minimum and maximum 

thickness and variations; 

(D) location and dimension of all openings 

in baffle wall for gas and liquid 

movement; and 

(E) dimensions of all compartments; 

(2) material type and strength, including 

reinforcement material and location, as 

applicable, specified by the manufacturer; 

(3) liquid depth and operating capacity in gallons; 

(4) pipe penetration boot locations and pipe 

penetration boots approved in accordance with 

Rule .1404 of this Section; 

(5) methods and material for sealing sections and 

forming water tight joints in tanks with multiple 

sections; 

(6) drawings showing access openings, tank lids, 

access manhole risers, and other proposed 

appurtenances to the tank; and 

(7) tank manufacturer and PE requirements for 

installation, including bedding, additional 

sealing methods, and leak testing procedures. 

(d)  Plans and specifications for tanks with a total liquid capacity 

greater than 4,000 gallons and all tanks designed for traffic loads 

shall be designed by a PE in accordance with ASTM C890. Plans 

shall show the design, including all the information listed in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule and engineering calculations showing 

the minimum and maximum soil cover, water table, and traffic 

load the tank is designed to support. 

(e)  Plans for prefabricated tanks other than those approved for 

general use and issued an identification number under this Section 

shall be considered for tank approval on a case-by-case basis 

based on the information provided by the tank manufacturer or 

designer to the State. The information shall indicate the tank shall 

perform in accordance with Rules .1402 and .1403 of this Section.  

(f)  The State or LHD may inspect approved tanks at the place of 

manufacture, the inventoried sites of the distributors, or at the 

installation of the tank in a wastewater system for compliance 

with the approved plans and specifications. 

(g)  Tanks found to be out of compliance shall be brought back 

into compliance by the tank manufacturer or the installer as 

directed by the State or LHD. Tanks that are not or cannot brought 

into compliance shall not be used in a wastewater system. The 

imprints identified in Rule .1402(d)(15) or (e)(8) of this Section 

shall be permanently marked over by the authorized agent. 

(h)  All tanks approved by the State shall maintain the materials, 

design, and construction specified in the approved plans and shall 

comply with all rules of this Section. Any subsequent changes or 

modifications shall be approved by the State in accordance with 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1402 TANK DESIGN AND 

CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  Tanks shall be watertight, structurally sound, and not subject 

to corrosion or decay. 

(b)  Septic tanks and grease tanks shall have effluent filters and 

access devices approved in accordance with Rule .1404 of this 

Section. An effluent filter and support case shall be installed level 

in the outlet end of the septic tank or grease tank and shall meet 

the following criteria: 

(1) solvent welded to a minimum of three-inch 

PVC Schedule 40 outlet pipe; 

(2) installed in accordance with filter 

manufacturer's specifications and effluent filter 

approval; and 

(3) accessible and removable without entering the 

septic tank or grease tank. 

(c)  Septic tanks installed where the access openings on the top of 

the tank are deeper than six inches below finished grade shall have 

an access riser over each compartment with cover, extending to 

within six inches of the finished grade. The opening shall be 

adequate to accommodate the removal of the septic tank lid. When 

the top of the septic tank or access riser is below the finished 

grade, the location of the tank shall be visible at finished grade. 

Risers shall be installed in accordance with the rules of this 

Subchapter, the manufacturer's specifications, and a product 

specific approval. 

(d)  Septic tanks shall meet the following minimum design 

standards: 

(1) a minimum liquid depth of 36 inches; 

(2) a minimum of nine inches freeboard, measured 

as the air space between the top of the liquid and 

the bottom of the tank top. Venting of the tank 

shall be provided to prevent the buildup of 

gases; 

(3) the approved septic tank capacity shall be 

determined as the liquid volume below the 

outlet invert to the bottom of the tank; 

(4) the length of the tank shall be a minimum of 

twice as long as the width, as measured by the 

longest axis and widest axis based on the 

internal tank dimensions; 

(5) there shall be three inlet openings in the tank, 

one on the tank end and one on each sidewall of 

the inlet end of the tank; 
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(6) outlet openings shall have a cast or 

manufactured penetration point and include a 

watertight, sealed, non-corrodible, and flexible 

connective sleeve. A flexible connective sleeve 

shall be able to bend without breaking. The 

connective sleeve shall meet ASTM C1644 for 

precast concrete tanks or ASTM C1644, C923, 

or C564 for thermoplastic or glass-fiber-

reinforced polyester tanks and be approved by 

the State if it meets the requirements of this 

Subparagraph and Rule .1404 of this Section; 

(7) inlet penetrations shall be greater than or equal 

to four inches in diameter and outlet 

penetrations shall be greater than or equal to 

three inches in diameter; 

(8) there shall be no openings below the septic tank 

operating liquid level; 

(9) the outlet shall be through an effluent filter 

approved in accordance with Rule .1404 of this 

Section, and secured in place in an effluent 

filter support case. The effluent filter case inlet 

shall extend down to between 25 and 50 percent 

of the liquid depth measured from the top of the 

liquid level. Other methods of supporting the 

effluent filter case and for making pipe 

penetrations shall be approved by the State on a 

case-by-case basis upon a showing that the 

performance is identical to those designed in 

accordance with this Rule; 

(10) the invert of the outlet shall be a minimum of 

two inches lower in elevation than the invert of 

the inlet; 

(11) all septic tanks shall be designed with a 

partition so that the tank contains two 

compartments. The following conditions shall 

be met: 

(A) the partition shall be located at a point 

not less than two-thirds or more than 

three-fourths the length of the tank 

from the inlet end; 

(B) the partition shall be designed, 

manufactured, installed, and 

maintained to remain in position when 

subjected to a liquid capacity in one 

compartment that corresponds with 

the lowermost elevation of the water 

passage slot or holes; 

(C) the partition shall be designed to create 

a gas passage, not less than the area of 

the inlet pipe, and the passage shall not 

extend lower than seven inches from 

the bottom side of the tank top; 

(D) the top and bottom sections of the 

partition shall be designed to create a 

water passage slot four inches high for 

the full interior width of the tank; 

(E) a minimum of two four or five-inch 

openings, or one four or five-inch 

opening per 30 horizontal linear 

inches of baffle wall, whichever is 

greater, may be designed into the 

partition instead of the four-inch slot; 

(F) the entire liquid passage in the 

partition wall shall be located between 

25 and 50 percent of the liquid depth 

of the tank, as measured from the top 

of the liquid level; and 

(G) other methods for designing partition 

shall be approved by the State on a 

case-by-case basis upon a showing 

that the performance is identical to 

those designed in accordance with this 

Rule; 

(12) access openings shall be provided in the top of 

the tank, located over each compartment, and 

have a minimum opening of 15 inches by 15 

inches or 17 inches in diameter. The opening 

shall allow for maintenance and removal of 

internal devices of the septic tank; 

(13) access risers and covers shall be designed and 

maintained to prevent surface water infiltration; 

(14) tank lids and riser covers shall be locked, 

secured with fasteners, or weigh a minimum of 

40 pounds, but no more than 80 pounds; and 

(15) all septic tanks shall bear an imprint identifying 

the manufacturer, the septic tank serial number 

assigned to the manufacturer's plans and 

specifications approved by the State, and the 

liquid or working capacity of the tanks. The 

imprint shall be located to the right of the 

blockout made for the outlet pipe on the top or 

end of outlet end of the tank. 

(e)  Pump tanks shall meet the design requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule with the following modifications: 

(1) a watertight access riser with removable cover 

shall be located over the pump. The access riser 

shall extend to a minimum of six inches above 

finished grade, and be designed and maintained 

to prevent surface water infiltration; 

(2) the access opening over the pump shall have a 

minimum opening of 24 inches in diameter or 

other equidimensional opening; 

(3) when two or more pumps are required in 

accordance with Rule .1101(b) of this 

Subchapter the access openings shall be sized 

to allow for pump removal, operation, and 

maintenance; 

(4) tanks may be designed with a single 

compartment. If a partition is provided, the 

partition shall be designed to contain a 

minimum of two four-inch diameter circular 

openings, or equivalent, located no more than 

12 inches above the tank bottom; 

(5) there shall be no requirement as to tank length, 

width, or shape, provided the tank satisfies all 

other requirements of this Section; 
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(6) the invert of the inlet openings shall be located 

within 12 inches of the tank top. No freeboard 

shall be required in the pump tank; 

(7) tanks shall be vented if located more than 50 

feet from the facility, and accessible for routine 

maintenance; 

(8) all pump tanks shall bear an imprint identifying 

the manufacturer, the pump tank serial number 

assigned to the manufacturer's plans and 

specifications by the State, and the liquid or 

working capacity of the tank. The imprint shall 

be located to the left of the blockout made for 

the outlet pipe on the top or end of outlet end of 

the tank; and 

(9) the pump tank working capacity shall be the 

entire internal tank volume. 

(f)  Grease tanks shall be septic tanks approved in accordance with 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule with the following modifications: 

(1) the liquid passage between chambers shall be 

located between 40 and 60 percent of the 

operating liquid depth measured from the top of 

the liquid level. The liquid passage between 

chambers may be made using a sanitary tee 

extending down between 40 and 60 percent of 

the liquid depth measured from the top of the 

liquid level; 

(2) when sanitary tees are used as the liquid 

passage through an interior compartment 

partition, an access opening and riser to grade 

over the tees shall be provided for servicing and 

routine maintenance; 

(3) when two or more tanks are used in series a 

sanitary tee shall be provided in the outlet end 

of each interconnected tank extending down 

between 40 and 60 percent of the liquid depth; 

(4) the final chamber shall contain an effluent filter 

and case extending down between 40 and 60 

percent of the liquid depth. The effluent filter 

shall be approved by the State for use in grease 

tanks. The grease rated effluent filter shall be 

sized for the DDF and have openings of 1/32-

inch or less; and 

(5) access risers shall extend to finished grade and 

be capped with cast iron manhole rings and 

covers. Lockable aluminum hatches may be 

substituted for cast iron manhole rings and 

covers in non-traffic areas. Aluminum hatches 

or manhole rings and covers shall be designed 

and maintained to prevent surface water 

infiltration. Locks shall be the responsibility of 

the person owning or controlling the system. 

(g)  Siphon tanks shall meet the design requirements of Paragraph 

(e) of this Rule and shall: 

(1) be designed in accordance with the construction 

requirements of this Rule and Rule .0804 of this 

Section; 

(2) provide three inches of freeboard; 

(3) locate the inlet pipe three inches above the 

siphon trip level; and 

(4) tanks shall have a watertight access opening 

over each siphon with an opening of 24 inches, 

extending to finished grade, and designed to 

prevent surface water inflow. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 130A-

335.1; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1403 TANK MATERIAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Tanks designed to hold sewage shall be structurally sound and 

constructed with materials capable of resisting corrosion from 

sewage and sewage gases, and the active and passive loads on tank 

walls, such as concrete, thermoplastic, and glass-fiber-reinforced 

polyester. 

(b)  Reinforced precast concrete tanks shall meet the following 

minimum material and construction requirements: 

(1) the ends and sides of the tank shall have a 

minimum thickness of two and one-half inches. 

The top and bottom of the tanks shall be a 

minimum of three inches thick; 

(2) the top, bottom, end and sides of the concrete 

tank and tank lid shall be reinforced by using a 

minimum reinforcing of six-inch by six-inch 

No. 10 gage welded steel reinforcing wire. 

Reinforcement shall be placed to maximize the 

structural integrity of the tank; 

(3) alternative reinforcement designs may be used 

when shown to be equal to or greater than the 

reinforcement design in Subparagraph (2) of 

this Paragraph; 

(4) when the concrete tank, tank lid, riser, or riser 

cover are subjected to vehicular traffic, the tank 

shall be designed by a PE to handle the traffic 

load in accordance with ASTM C890; 

(5) any tank installed deeper than three feet shall be 

designed by a PE for the proposed tank burial 

depth. The tank design shall be submitted to the 

State for review. The design shall be approved 

when documentation is provided to show that 

the proposed tank design can withstand all 

active and passive loads on the tank, including 

the additional soil weight from a deeper burial 

depth. 

(6) the concrete shall achieve a minimum 28-day 

compressive strength of 3,500 psi. The concrete 

shall meet the compressive strength of 3,500 psi 

prior to removal of the tank from the place of 

manufacture. It shall be the responsibility of the 

manufacturer to certify that this condition has 

been met prior to shipment. A tank shall be 

subject to testing to ascertain the strength of the 

concrete prior to its being approved for 

installation. Testing shall be performed using a 

calibrated Schmidt Rebound Hammer or 

approved equal; 

(7) tanks manufactured in multiple sections shall be 

joined and sealed at the joint by using butyl 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1242 

rubber or other pliable sealant meeting ASTM 

C990 or other material that has been approved 

by the State when documentation has been 

provided to show that the material meets all 

performance requirements of ASTM C990. 

Documentation shall also be provided to show 

that the material is waterproof and corrosion 

resistant; and 

(8) tank lids and riser covers shall have a durable 

handle made of corrosion-resistant materials 

and capable of pull capacity sufficient for the 

weight of the lid or cover. 

(c)  Thermoplastic tanks shall either be IAPMO/ANSI Z1000 or 

CSA B66 certified and enrolled in a third-party quality assurance 

and quality control program, which includes material testing and 

unannounced annual audits. 

(d)  Glass-fiber-reinforced polyester tanks shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) top, bottom, ends, and sides of the tank shall 

have a minimum thickness of 1/5-inches. The 

baffle wall shall be a minimum of 3/16-inch 

thick; 

(2) material and laminate requirements specified in 

IAPMO/ANSI Z1000 for glass-fiber-reinforced 

polyester tanks; and 

(3) enrolled in a third-party quality assurance and 

quality control program, which include material 

testing and unannounced annual audits. 

(e)  Cast or manufactured in place tanks shall be designed by a 

PE, if required by G.S. 89C, and approved by the State when the 

tank design, construction, and materials meet the criteria set forth 

in this Rule and Rule .1402 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1404 PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS 

FOR RISERS, EFFLUENT FILTERS, AND PIPE 

PENETRATION BOOTS 

(a)  All risers, effluent filters, and pipe penetration boots proposed 

for use in a wastewater system shall be approved by the State prior 

to being offered for sale or use in North Carolina. All risers, 

effluent filters, and pipe penetration boots approved by the State 

shall maintain the materials, design, and construction specified in 

the approved plans and shall comply with all rules of this Section. 

(b)  Three separate sets of plans and specifications for the initial 

design of each riser, effluent filter, or pipe penetration boot shall 

be submitted to the State. Plans for risers, effluent filters, and pipe 

penetration boots shall be approved by the State and an approval 

letter issued when the design is found to comply with this Section. 

All changes or modifications to risers, effluent filters, or pipe 

penetration boots shall be approved by the State pursuant to this 

Rule. 

(c)  Risers and riser lids shall be able to withstand a uniform live 

loading of 150 pounds per square foot in addition to all loads to 

which a riser is normally subjected, such as dead weight of the 

material and soil cover and active soil pressure on riser walls. 

(d)  Riser plans and specifications submitted for review and 

approval shall show the design of the riser and include the 

following information: 

(1) manufacturer's name, address, phone, and fax 

numbers; 

(2) physical dimensions of the riser and riser cover, 

such as wall thickness, internal diameter, 

proposed casting or installation details and 

methods, and pipe penetrations; 

(3) material type and strength including 

reinforcement material and location as 

required; 

(4) documentation from a third party showing that 

the riser meets the load requirements specified 

in Paragraph (c) of this Rule; 

(5) plans for septic tank risers of a secondary lid, 

concrete plug, or other safety device that shall 

be provided inside the riser for security and to 

prevent accidental entry; 

(6) plans for pump tank risers of primary and 

secondary safety mechanisms that shall be 

provided with the riser. The primary safety 

mechanism shall be a locking riser lid, ring and 

lock, or other riser lid locking mechanism. The 

secondary safety mechanism shall be a 

secondary lid, concrete plug, or other safety 

device to be provided inside the pump tank 

riser; and 

(7) specifications for application, installation, 

operation, and maintenance for both new and 

retrofit applications for single and multiple riser 

sections. 

(e)  Effluent filter plans and specifications submitted for review 

and approval shall show the design of the effluent filter and 

include the following information: 

(1) manufacturer's name, address, phone, and fax 

numbers; 

(2) documentation and a written certification that 

the effluent filter is designed, constructed, and 

performs in compliance with G.S. 130A-

335.1(a); 

(3) capacity and wastewater strength for all models 

of proposed filters to be approved; and 

(4) specifications for application, installation, 

operation, and maintenance. 

(f)  Pipe penetration boot plans and specifications submitted for 

review and approval shall show the design of the pipe penetration 

boot and include the following information: 

(1) manufacturer's name, address, phone and fax 

numbers; 

(2) design specifications and materials used in the 

manufacture of pipe penetration boot 

components; 

(3) applicable testing results from third-party 

verification showing pull and flexibility testing; 

(4) testing for watertight seal around piping 

including any component or device included to 

ensure the seal, such as non-corrodible 

adjustable bands; 
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(5) documentation that the pipe penetration boot 

meets the requirements of ASTM C1644 for 

precast concrete tanks or ASTM C1644, C923, 

or C564 for thermoplastic or glass-fiber-

reinforced polyester tanks; and 

(6) specifications for application, installation, 

operation, and maintenance. 

(g)  Plans for prefabricated risers, effluent filters, and pipe 

penetration boots, other than those approved for general use and 

issued an approval letter under this Rule, shall be considered for 

approval on a case-by-case basis. The riser, effluent filter, or pipe 

penetration boot shall be approved if it is determined that it meets 

the requirements of this Rule, based on information provided by 

the manufacturer to the State. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 130A-

335.1; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1405 RISERS, EFFLUENT FILTERS, 

AND PIPE PENETRATION BOOTS APPROVAL 

RENEWAL 

(a)  All riser, effluent filter, and pipe penetration boots approvals 

shall expire on December 31 of each year. Riser, effluent filter, 

and pipe penetration boot manufacturers who wish to continue 

product approval shall submit annually a proprietary product 

renewal form provided by the State no later than November 30 of 

each year.  

(b)  The renewal form shall include the following updated 

information: 

(1) company's name, address, contact information, 

and contact name; 

(2) model number(s) approved; and 

(3) a notarized statement that the product has not 

changed from the previous year without prior 

approval. 

(c) The Department shall notify the manufacturer of the pending 

riser, effluent filter, and pipe penetration boot Approval 

expiration in writing no later than September 30 of each year. The 

notification shall include information on how to request riser, 

effluent filter, and pipe penetration boot renewal. 

(d) The riser, effluent filter, and pipe penetration boot approval 

shall be deemed to be renewed upon receipt of a completed 

renewal form in accordance with this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-343; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1406 MODIFICATION, SUSPENSION, 

AND REVOCATION OF APPROVALS 

The State shall modify, suspend, or revoke the approval for tanks, 

risers, effluent filters, or pipe penetration boots upon a finding 

that: 

(1) approval is determined to be based on false, 

incomplete, or misleading information; 

(2) the product has been altered; 

(3) the product fails to perform in compliance with 

performance standards established for the 

product in accordance with Rule .1404 of this 

Section; or 

(4) the product fails to meet conditions of its 

approval or comply with G.S. 130A, Article 11, 

Rule .1405 of this Section, this Subchapter, or 

conditions of the approval.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-335(e),(f), and (f1); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1501 GENERAL 

(a)  RWTS that comply with NSF International Standard 40 for 

Class I residential wastewater treatment systems shall be 

designed, constructed, and installed in accordance with this 

Section to serve facilities with a DDF less than or equal to 1,500 

gpd. 

(b)  RWTS shall only be used with DSE. 

(c)  RWTS shall bear one of the following to certify that the 

product is in accordance with NSF Standard 40: 

(1) the NSF mark and the NSF listed model 

number; or 

(2) the certification mark and listed model number 

of a third-party certification program accredited 

by ANSI to certify RWTS in accordance with 

NSF Standard 40. 

(d)  For approval of an RWTS as a PIA System, a manufacturer 

shall apply in accordance with Section .1700 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-342; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1502 APPLICATION 

An application shall be submitted for RWTS approval in writing 

to the State and shall include the following: 

(1) manufacturer's name, address, phone number, 

plant location(s), and contact information for 

distributors; 

(2) verification of NSF Standard 40 Class I system 

approval and listing by NSF International or 

other ANSI-accredited third-party certification 

program; 

(3) manufacturer's identifying name or logo, listed 

model number(s) and treatment capacity in gpd 

to be imprinted on unit; 

(4) three copies of plans and specifications, 

including information required to evaluate any 

tanks as required in accordance with Rule .1401 

of this Subchapter; and 

(5) fee payment as required by G.S. 130A-

343(k)(6), by corporate check, money order or 

cashier's check made payable to: North 

Carolina On-Site Water Protection Account or 

North Carolina OSWW System Account, and 

mailed to the State. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-342; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 
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15A NCAC 18E .1503 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 

STANDARDS 

RWTS shall meet the following design and construction 

standards: 

(1) No blockouts or openings shall be permitted 

below the liquid level of the RWTS. 

(2) RWTS shall be watertight, corrosion resistant 

structures, with all components requiring 

maintenance accessible to the Management 

Entity. Access openings shall be provided in the 

RWTS top. Access shall be provided for: 

(a) cleaning or rodding out the inlet pipe; 

(b) cleaning or clearing the air or gas 

passage space above any partition; 

(c) pumping of each compartment 

required to be pumped; 

(d) sampling the effluent; and 

(e) repairing and maintaining any system 

components. 

(3) Tanks used in RWTS designed to hold sewage 

or effluent shall comply with all tank 

requirements in accordance with Section .1400 

of this Subchapter. 

(4) RWTS shall bear an imprint identifying the 

manufacturer, the RWTS serial number 

assigned to the manufacturer's model approved 

by the State, and the liquid or working capacity 

of the unit. The imprint shall be located on the 

outlet end of the tank within 24 inches of the top 

of the tank. 

(5) The design, construction, and operation of 

RWTS shall prevent bypass of wastewater. 

(6) The manufacturer shall ensure that the system 

can be sampled in compliance with 40 CFR 136 

and shall specify the recommended method for 

effluent sampling. 

(7) Control panels provided by the manufacturer 

shall comply with the requirements for control 

panels in accordance with Rule .1103 of this 

Subchapter. 

(8) The RWTS shall have an alarm device or 

devices to warn the user or Management Entity 

of a unit malfunction or a high-water condition 

in accordance with Rule .1103 of this 

Subchapter. 

(9) The control panel shall include a method to 

automatically measure and record daily 

wastewater flow dispersed to the dispersal field 

in accordance with Rule .1702(a)(2)(I) of this 

Subchapter. 

(10) The blower location shall be shown on the plans 

and detail proposed corrosion-resistant blower 

enclosures, if applicable. 

(11) A settling tank shall be required prior to or as 

an integral part of the design of the RWTS. The 

liquid capacity of the settling tank shall be a 

minimum of half of the DDF of the RWTS, or 

as otherwise specified by the manufacturer, 

whichever is larger. The settling tank may 

either be an integral chamber of the RWTS 

tank, a septic tank approved in accordance with 

Section .1400 of this Subchapter, or another 

tank designed for an individual system and 

approved by the State as a part of the plans for 

the RWTS. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-342; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1504 SAMPLING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR RESIDENTIAL WASTEWATER TREATMENT 

SYSTEMS 

Effluent from an approved RWTS shall be grab or 24-hour 

composite sampled annually for all effluent standards listed in 

Table XXIV of Rule .1201(a) of this Subchapter for NSF-40 

systems, unless adjusted sampling requirements have been 

requested and granted in accordance with Rules .1302 and .1709 

of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-342; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1505 RESIDENTIAL WASTEWATER 

TREATMENT SYSTEM APPROVAL RENEWAL 

(a)  All RWTS Approvals shall expire on December 31 of each 

year. RWTS manufacturers who wish to continue product 

approval shall submit annually a proprietary product renewal 

form provided by the State no later than November 30 of each 

year.  

(b)  The renewal form shall include the following updated 

information: 

(1) company's name, address, contact information, 

and contact name; 

(2) model number(s) approved; 

(3) a notarized statement that the product has not 

changed from the previous year without prior 

approval; and 

(4) verification of the manufacturer's continued 

certification and listing by a nationally 

recognized certification body, including 

compliance with NSF Standard 40. 

(c)  The Department shall notify the manufacturer of the pending 

RWTS Approval expiration in writing no later than September 30 

of each year. The notification shall include information on how to 

request RWTS Approval renewal. 

(d)  The RWTS approval shall be deemed renewed upon receipt 

of the completed renewal form and verification of certification in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(e)  The State may suspend or revoke a system approval upon a 

finding that the system fails to perform in compliance with 

established effluent standards in Table XXIV of Rule .1201(a) of 

this Subchapter or as provided for in Rule .1708(b) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-342; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 
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15A NCAC 18E .1601 GENERAL 

(a)  Drip dispersal systems for DDF less than or equal to 3,000 

gpd shall be configured as a package and approved as a PIA 

System in accordance with Section .1700 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The integrated system package shall be provided from a single 

source manufacturer or system integrator, comprised of 

catalogued standardized design components that have been 

coordinated and tested by the manufacturer or integrator. 

Components shall include: 

(1) dispersal field pump(s) and floats; 

(2) headworks assemblies; 

(3) dispersal field piping network, drip tubing, and 

appurtenances; and 

(4) system controls that provide for automatic filter 

cleaning, timed field dosing, field flushing, 

alarm notification, and recording of system 

operation. 

(c)  All components shall be integrated and designed to work 

together for the operation of the drip dispersal system. The system 

manufacturer or integrator shall provide system design 

information including: 

(1) head loss charts, tables, or formulas for various 

drip tubing lateral lengths during a dosing and 

flushing cycle; 

(2) minimum and maximum zone size and design; 

(3) design plans and specifications for all 

components; 

(4) installation specifications; and 

(5) operation and maintenance manuals. 

(d)  The system manufacturer shall provide support to train and 

authorize designers, installers, Management Entities, regulators, 

and users. 

(e)  Drip dispersal system performance, siting, sizing, installation, 

operation, monitoring, maintenance and reporting requirements 

shall comply with Rules .0908, .1204, and Section .1300 of this 

Subchapter, as applicable, and this Section. 

(f)  Drip dispersal systems that are not pre-engineered packages 

approved in accordance with Section .1700 of this Subchapter 

shall be designed on a project specific basis by a PE. The drip 

dispersal system design shall comply with Rules .0908, .1204, 

Section .1300 of this Subchapter, as applicable, and this Section. 

(g)  Drip dispersal systems for DDF greater than 3,000 gpd shall 

comply with the design and performance requirements of this 

Section and shall be designed on a project specific basis by a PE. 

The system design shall be reviewed and approved by the State in 

accordance with Rule .0302 of this Subchapter, unless the system 

is permitted in accordance with Rule .0207 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-343; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1602 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Drip dispersal systems shall be preceded by pretreatment 

designed to meet one of the following effluent standards: DSE, 

NSF-40, TS-I, TS-II, or RCW as specified in Table III of Rule 

.0402(a), Rule .1002, or Table XXIV of Rule .1201(a) of this 

Subchapter, as applicable. 

(b)  The drip dispersal system pump tank shall meet the following 

conditions: 

(1) have a separate pump tank sized in accordance 

with Rule .0802 of this Subchapter; or 

(2) have a pump tank or compartment that is part of 

an advanced pretreatment system approved in 

accordance with Section .1700 of this 

Subchapter. Pump tank operating levels shall 

not result in effluent backing up into a part of 

any pretreatment component designed for free 

gravity flow drainage. All pump submergence, 

dose volume, flow equalization, and emergency 

storage capacity requirements for the dosing 

system shall be met without interfering in the 

performance of the pretreatment components. 

(c)  Pumps shall meet the following conditions: 

(1) have sufficient capacity to accommodate 

projected flow and total dynamic head 

conditions; 

(2) deliver 15 to 60 psi of pressure during dosing 

events; 

(3) provide minimum flow and pressure as required 

to backwash or forward flush headworks filter; 

(4) manufacturer requirements shall be followed to 

protect the pump intake from solids materials 

that may accumulate in the pump tank and for 

pump cooling during operation; 

(5) maintain velocities of two feet per second at the 

distal end of each drip lateral line during 

automatic field flushing for DSE; and 

(6) maintain velocities of one-foot per second at the 

distal end of each drip lateral line during 

automatic field flushing for advanced 

pretreatment effluent. Valving shall be 

provided to achieve flushing velocities of two 

feet per second at the distal end of each dripline 

with manual flushing. 

(d)  Headworks assemblies shall contain filtration, totalizing flow 

meter, provisions for filter cleaning, and field flushing valves. 

Zone and isolation valves may be located in the headworks 

assembly or in the drip dispersal field. The headworks assemblies 

shall meet the following conditions: 

(1) filters shall remove particles greater than 115 

microns at the peak operating flow rate, during 

network forward flushing. Filter number and 

size shall operate during both dosing and 

flushing conditions at a pump operating flow 

rate within the filter manufacturer's specified 

acceptable operating range; 

(2) filters for drip dispersal systems receiving DSE 

shall be configured with two independently 

backwashed disk filters; 

(3) for drip dispersal systems receiving advanced 

pretreatment effluent, single or multiple screens 

or disc filters may be used, designed to be 

cleaned by either backwashing or forward 

washing; 

(4) filter cleaning and field flushing residuals shall 

be returned to the head of the septic tank or 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1246 

settling tank prior to being returned to the 

pretreatment unit; 

(5) a totalizing flow meter shall be used to record 

total flow through the system. The meter shall 

also be used to monitor pump operating flow 

rates during dosing and flushing events; and 

(6) the headworks and associated components shall 

be in a separate enclosure that is freeze 

protected, UV and corrosion resistant, and 

accessible for routine operation, maintenance, 

monitoring and servicing. Design shall 

facilitate access to all internal components. 

(e)  The drip dispersal field shall consist of one or more separately 

dosed zones comprised of a supply and return manifold, manifold 

to lateral connections, laterals containing drip tubing with 

emitters, blank sections of tubing, and associated field 

appurtenances. Drip emitter and associated field appurtenances 

design shall meet the following: 

(1) drip emitters shall be designed and 

demonstrated to uniformly distribute 

wastewater effluent at a pre-determined rate 

when operated in accordance with 

manufacturer's specified pressure range for 

emitter operation. Emitter design coefficient of 

variation (Cv) shall be five percent or less. 

Emitters shall be designed to be self-cleaning 

and to resist root intrusion. Hydraulic design of 

a drip dispersal zone shall be based upon 

achieving no more than a 10 percent variation 

in flow from any emitter over the entire zone, 

regardless of emitter elevation or position along 

the lateral including any effluent redistribution 

due to drainback; 

(2) drip emitters shall be pressure compensating 

unless the manufacturer and designer provide 

documentation and calculations that a 

maximum 10 percent flow variance allowance 

can otherwise be achieved with non-pressure 

compensating emitters in a PIA Approval or on 

a project-specific basis. Drip tubing shall be 

marked to identify the emitter type and flow 

rate; 

(3) drip emitters shall be spaced at uniform 

intervals along the tubing on 24-inch centers or 

less, and drip tubing with emitters shall be 

spaced an average of 24 inches on centers or 

less, in accordance with the proposed system 

design. Spacing shall be chosen as needed to 

ensure a sufficient number and density of 

emitters are present to achieve uniform 

distribution and instantaneous emitter loading 

rates that do not exceed the hydraulic capacity 

of the receiving infiltrative surfaces; 

(4) connections between supply and return 

manifolds, and between runs or drip lateral 

sections installed at varying elevations or 

locations shall be made with solvent welded 

solid Schedule 40 PVC or flexible PVC; 

(5) blanking sections of tubing without drip 

emitters shall be used where unfavorable site 

conditions, such as rocks, trees, or roots, are 

encountered along a drip run. Blanking tubing 

shall be a different color from the drip tubing or 

marked tubing of the same material, 

specification, and diameter as the connecting 

dripline, or flexible PVC; 

(6) the manufacturer shall specify methods for 

drainback prevention; and 

(7) field appurtenances shall include the following: 

(A) air or vacuum relief valve at the 

highest elevation of each zone; 

(B) cleanout at both ends of the supply and 

return manifolds; 

(C) pressure monitoring fittings at the 

zone inlet and outlet points; 

(D) pressure regulating valve where 

needed; 

(E) for two or more zones: solenoid valves 

for each zone in the headworks or at 

the field, with an isolation valve on the 

supply line side; and a check valve 

with an isolation valve for each zone 

between the return manifold and the 

common return line; and 

(F) valves, vents, cleanouts, and pressure 

monitoring fittings shall be provided 

with protective vaults or boxes that are 

decay resistant, ultraviolet rated, and 

accessible to the Management Entity 

from the ground surface. 

(f)  An integrated controller shall be provided to manage the 

multifunction processes of drip dispersal systems and meet the 

following conditions: 

(1) enable each drip dispersal field or zone to be 

time-dosed at equal intervals throughout the 

day, at a projected average flow and to 

accommodate the DDF. The controller shall 

allow for adjustable and variable dose volumes 

between or among zones; 

(2) adjust pump dosing and resting cycles to meet 

system design and the projected range of 

operating conditions; 

(3) provide a minimum dose volume per zone that 

is a minimum of five times the liquid capacity 

of the drip laterals or so that 80 percent of each 

dose is delivered when the minimum pressure 

in the field network is 10 psi; 

(4) provide for automatic cleaning of headworks 

filter(s) at designer and manufacturer-specified 

frequency and duration; 

(5) provide for routine automatic forward flushing 

of the drip laterals (field flushing) with filtered 

effluent, at designer and manufacturer-

specified frequency and duration. Automatic 

forward flushing frequency and duration shall 

be adjustable; 
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(6) provide for monitoring of pump cycles and run 

times; 

(7) include telemetry, in accordance with Rule 

.1103(c) of this Subchapter, shall be provided 

for systems with a DDF greater than 1,500 gpd 

or as required in conjunction with an advanced 

pretreatment system; 

(8) for systems with a DDF greater than 3,000 gpd 

the controller shall monitor flow volume to 

each zone and provide a flow variance 

indication when flow is plus or minus 20 

percent of design. The telemetry system and 

alarm shall include an automatically 

rechargeable battery back-up power supply or 

be otherwise designed to be functional during 

power outages; 

(9) for multi-zone systems, the system controller 

shall provide for a zone to be rested or taken out 

of service manually. The controller shall have 

the capability to bypass the zones that have 

been taken out of service and dose the next 

available zone with the normal dosing sequence 

continuing; and 

(10) controls and floats in the pump tank are to be 

configured to ensure the minimum dose is 

available prior to initiating a dosing cycle to the 

dispersal field or zone and to ensure that a full 

dose is delivered. 

(g)  Alternatives to the design criteria in this Rule may be 

proposed by the manufacturer during the PIA approval process or 

by a PE on a project-specific basis. These alternatives shall be 

reviewed and approved by the State on a case-by-case basis when 

documentation is provided that the system will meet the 

performance standards of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-343; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 18E .1603 DRIP DISPERSAL SYSTEM 

TESTING 

(a)  The drip dispersal system field testing shall include the 

following items and any other requirements included by the 

system designer: 

(1) all leaks in the pipe network or from emitters 

exhibiting excessive emission rates, as 

evidenced by wet spots during dosing cycles 

comparable to normal operating conditions, 

shall be repaired; and 

(2) after the system is pressurized, dosing and 

flushing flow rates and pressures for each zone 

shall be measured and confirmed to be in 

accordance with the drip system design 

parameters as follows: 

(A) dosing pressure shall be measured at 

the lowest point in the supply manifold 

and highest point in the return 

manifold; 

(B) minimum and maximum emitter 

pressure shall be verified to be within 

emitter design parameters; 

(C) flushing pressures shall be measured 

at the ends of each supply and return 

manifold within each zone; 

(D) dosing and flushing flow rates shall be 

measured with the flow meter after the 

system is pressurized; and 

(E) all dosing and flushing flow rates and 

pressures shall be recorded. 

(b)  All mechanical components, pumps, pump cycling, filters, 

valves, vents, flushing, high-water alarm, and telemetry systems 

shall be demonstrated to be operable and in accordance with their 

design during the inspection by the LHD. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-343; 

Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 16R .0201 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIRED 

(a)  Except as permitted in Rule .0204 of this Section as a 

condition of license renewal, every dentist shall complete a 

minimum of 15 clock-hours of continuing education each 

calendar year. 

(b)  For licensees who prescribe controlled substances, one hour 

of the total required continuing education hours shall consist of a 

course designed to address prescribing practices, including 

instruction on controlled substance prescribing practices and 

controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain management. 

(c)  Each applicant who receives an Instructor's license or a license 

to practice general dentistry after January 1, 2019, and who is 

actively engaged in the practice or teaching of dentistry in North 

Carolina shall take a six-hour course in professionalism and ethics 

in the first year that the applicant is required to meet the 

continuing education requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(1) The six-hour professionalism and ethics course 

shall be included in the 15 clock-hour 

requirement of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) The professionalism and ethics Course shall 

include segments addressing coding and 

billing, record keeping, informed consent, 

patient and staff boundaries, office 

management, duties delegable to dental 

auxiliaries, the American Dental Association's 

Code of Ethics, and professionalism. 

(3) A dentist who receives a variance or exemption 

from continuing education requirements under 

21 NCAC 16R .0204(a)(1),(3), or (4) shall be 

exempt from taking the professionalism and 

ethics course until such time as he or she 

resumes full practice. A dentist classified as a 
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semi-retired Class II dentist shall complete the 

professionalism and ethics course. 

(d)  Any or all of the hours may be acquired through self-study 

courses, provided that the self-study courses are related to clinical 

patient care and offered by a Board-approved sponsor listed in 

Rule .0202 of this Section. The dentist shall pass a test following 

every self-study course and obtain a certificate of completion. 

(e)  Courses taken to maintain CPR certification shall not count 

toward the mandatory continuing education hours set forth in this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-31.1; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018; September 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 29 - LOCKSMITH LICENSING BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 29 .0404 FEES 

The license issuance fee shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00). 

The license issuance fee shall accompany the application for 

licensure. In the event the applicant is denied licensure, the fee 

shall be refunded. Replacement licenses shall be available upon 

written request and the fee for issuance of a replacement license 

shall be ten dollars ($10.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74F-6; 74F-7; 74F-9; 74F-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 17, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 29 .0502 FAIR BUSINESS PRACTICES 

(a)  Locksmiths shall conduct all business in compliance with all 

applicable local, State, and federal laws. 

(b)  Locksmiths shall analyze security problems and advance the 

best practicable solution for the protection of the client. 

(c)  Locksmiths shall refrain from associating themselves with or 

allowing the use of their name (personal or professional) by any 

enterprise that in any way supports fraud or misrepresentation. 

(d)  Locksmiths shall not misrepresent the features of any product 

or service they offer. Examples include the following: 

(1) Representing to a client that non-restricted or 

widely available keys (whether stamped "Do 

Not Duplicate" or not) provide any measure of 

assurance against unauthorized duplication; or 

(2) Selling a used product as new. 

(e)  Locksmiths shall avoid using any improper means of 

soliciting business. Examples of prohibited practices include: 

(1) Affixing stickers to permanent fixtures such as 

doors or door frames or in any way defacing the 

property of any person without his or her 

express written consent. 

(2) Installing stickers or any other promotions in 

such fashion that they falsely represent that the 

locksmith or company has previously serviced 

the hardware in that location. 

(3) Installing or supplying hardware that curtails 

the customer's ability to choose a different 

company or technician for product support or 

service, unless the locksmith obtains the 

customer's express written consent. 

(4) Modifying the customer's hardware in any 

fashion that will curtail the customer's ability to 

choose a different company or technician for 

later product support or service or cause him or 

her to incur additional expense by doing so, 

unless the locksmith obtains the customer's 

express written consent. 

(5) Direct solicitation in violation of a non-compete 

agreement, such as an employee offering 

competing bids to customers of his or her 

employer. 

(6) Using a name in advertising that is similar 

enough to a competitor's name to cause 

confusion among consumers. 

(f)  Locksmiths shall register with the Board the business name(s) 

that they utilize to engage in locksmith services. All advertising 

for locksmith services and documents related to locksmith 

services in North Carolina shall be in the registered name(s) of the 

licensed locksmith. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74F-6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 13, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 29 .0701 APPLICATION FORM 

All applications for license renewal shall be submitted on the form 

provided by the Board for this purpose and shall be accompanied 

by the following items: 

(1) two frontal photos of the applicant's face, taken 

within the preceding three months of 

submission of the application, size one inch by 

one inch; 

(2) consent to the performance of a nationwide 

criminal history check to be performed by the 

Department of Public Safety; 

(3) truthful explanations of affirmative responses 

to questions on the application regarding 

employment history, criminal history, and 

military service, if applicable; 

(4) payment in full of all applicable fees, by credit 

card, check, or money order; 

(5) a copy of the applicant's military discharge 

document (DD-214 or equivalent) if the 

applicant has actively served in the military 

since applying for his or her previously granted 

license; and 

(6) a log, in a format specified by the Board, of 

continuing education hours earned during the 

previous license period, including the sponsor 

of the program or course, the name of the 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1249 

instructor or lecturer, the date, the number of 

hours, and a description of the subject matter 

included in the course or program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74F-6; 74F-10; 

Eff. February 1, 2005; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 29 .0802 REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Every licensee shall obtain 16 contact hours of continuing 

education during each 3-year renewal cycle, except: 

(1) Persons exempted from eight contact hours in 

Rule .0805 of this Section; and 

(2) Persons who: 

(A) are at least 62 years of age; 

(B) have at least 15 years of experience as 

locksmiths; 

(C) have been North Carolina licensed 

locksmiths for at least nine years; and 

(D) are not subject to an investigation by 

the Board. 

(b)  The contact hours of continuing education shall be in 

technical and professional subjects related to the practice of 

locksmithing. 

(c)  Licensees shall not carry forward any contact hours of 

continuing education into the subsequent renewal period. 

(d)  Licensees shall verify completion of the contact hours of 

continuing education for the previous license period on their 

application for license renewal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74F-6; 

Eff. February 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 30 – BOARD OF MASSAGE AND 

BODYWORK THERAPY 

 

21 NCAC 30 .1009 TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP 

(a) When there is a transfer in the majority ownership interest of 

the business, the new majority owner shall submit a new 

application for licensure. The Board may issue temporary 

operating approval to the new majority owner for a period of 90 

days, if the establishment held a valid license prior to the change 

and the Board finds that the new majority owner will qualify for 

licensure upon preliminary review of the application. 

(b) When there is a transfer of ownership that does not involve a 

change in the majority ownership interest in the business, or a 

change in the ownership structure, the owner shall notify the 

Board of the changes within 30 days, and submit fingerprint cards 

as required by G.S. 90-632.11 for new persons with ownership 

interests. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-632.13(6); 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

21 NCAC 30 .1010 INFORMING BOARD OF 

VIOLATIONS 

(a)  Establishment licensees with knowledge of alleged violations 

of the rules of this Chapter or the Practice Act shall inform the 

Board within five business days, whether or not the alleged 

violations are also reported to a law enforcement agency. This 

shall include, but is not limited to, the following violations: 

(1) An LMBT or other employee or contractor of 

the establishment who has violated the 

prohibition on sexual activity, as defined in 

Rules .0508 and .0509 of this Chapter; 

(2) An LMBT who has engaged in behavior where 

there is a potential for malpractice as defined in 

Rule .0102(6) of this Chapter; or 

(3) Any person practicing massage and bodywork 

therapy without a license. 

(b)  Establishment licensees that have discharged an LMBT for 

cause, related to failure to uphold the Standards of Professional 

Conduct set forth in Section .0500 of this Chapter shall inform the 

Board within 10 business days of the action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 90-626(9)b.2; 90-

632.10; 90-632.15(a)(5); 90-632.17; 90-632.18; 90-633(a)(6); 

90-634(b3); 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 33 - MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0101 ADMINISTRATIVE BODY AND 

DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The responsibility for administering the provisions of G.S. 90, 

Article 10A, shall be assumed by an administrative body, the 

Midwifery Joint Committee, hereinafter referred to as the 

"Committee." The certified nurse midwife shall hereinafter be 

referred to as "midwife." 

(b)  Definitions: 

(1) "Primary Supervising Physician" means the 

licensed physician who, by signing the certified 

nurse-midwife application, shall be held 

accountable for the on-going supervision, 

consultation, collaboration, and evaluation of 

the medical acts performed by the certified 

nurse-midwife, as defined in the site specific 

written clinical practice guidelines. A physician 

in a graduate medical education program, 

whether fully licensed or holding only a 

resident's training license, shall not be named as 

a primary supervising physician. A physician in 

a graduate medical education program who is 

also practicing in a non-training situation may 

supervise a certified nurse-midwife in the non-

training situation if he or she is fully licensed. 

(2) "Back-up Primary Supervising Physician" 

means the licensed physician who, by signing 

an agreement with the certified nurse-midwife 
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and the primary supervising physician or 

physicians shall be held accountable for the 

supervision, consultation, collaboration and 

evaluation of medical acts by the certified-nurse 

midwife in accordance with the site specific 

written clinical practice guidelines when the 

Primary Supervising Physician is not available. 

The signed and dated agreements for each back-

up primary supervising physician or physicians 

shall be maintained at each practice site. A 

physician in a graduate medical education 

program, whether fully licensed or holding only 

a resident's training license, shall not be named 

as a back-up primary supervising physician. A 

physician in a graduate medical education 

program who is also practicing in a non-training 

situation may be a back-up primary supervising 

physician to a certified nurse-midwife in the 

non-training situation if he or she is fully 

licensed and has signed an agreement with the 

certified nurse-midwife and the primary 

supervising physician. 

(3) "Obstetrics" means a branch of medical science 

that deals with birth and with its antecedents 

and sequels, including prenatal, intrapartum, 

postpartum, newborn, gynecology, and 

otherwise unspecified primary health services 

for women. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.4; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0102 FEES 

(a)  The fee for a new application and initial approval shall be one 

hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(b)  The fee for annual renewal shall be fifty dollars ($50.00). 

(c)  The fee for reinstatement for a lapsed approval shall be five 

dollars ($5.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.4(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0103 APPLICATION 

(a)  The application to obtain approval to practice as a midwife is 

electronically available from the Committee on the North 

Carolina Board of Nursing website, www.ncbon.com. 

(b)  The application shall require information on the applicant's 

education, evidence of the applicant's certification by the 

American College of Nurse Midwives, identification of the 

physician or physicians who will supervise the applicant, and the 

sites where the applicant intends to practice midwifery. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.4(b); 90-178.5; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; January 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0104 PHYSICIAN SUPERVISION 

The applicant shall furnish the committee evidence that the 

applicant will perform the acts authorized by the Midwifery 

Practice Act under the supervision of a physician who is actively 

engaged in the practice of obstetrics in North Carolina. Such 

evidence shall include a description of the nature and extent of 

such supervision and a delineation of the procedures to be adopted 

and followed by each applicant and the supervising physician 

responsible for the acts of said applicant for rendering health care 

services at the sites at which such services will be provided. Such 

evidence shall include: 

(1) mutually agreed upon written clinical practice 

guidelines that define the individual and shared 

responsibilities of the midwife and the 

supervising physician or physicians in the 

delivery of health care services; 

(2) mutually agreed upon written clinical practice 

guidelines for ongoing communication that 

provide for and define appropriate consultation 

between the supervising physician or 

physicians and the midwife; 

(3) periodic and joint evaluation of services 

rendered, such as chart review, case review, 

patient evaluation, and review of outcome 

statistics; and 

(4) periodic and joint review and updating of the 

written medical clinical practice guidelines. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.4(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; October 1, 1988; April 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0105 DUE PROCESS 

(a)  Denial, revocation, or suspension of an approval to practice 

midwifery shall be governed by G.S. 90-178.6 and this Chapter. 

The applicant aggrieved by a decision of the Committee shall be 

entitled to a hearing pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 150B, 

Article 3A. 

(b)  Complaints. 

(1) A complaint regarding a violation of the 

Midwifery Practice Act or Rules shall be 

submitted in writing and document: 

(A) the name of the certified nurse-

midwife or other person involved; 

(B) a description of the alleged behavior or 

incident; and 

(C) the name, mailing address, and phone 

number of the person filing the 

complaint. 

(2) The complaint shall be delivered to the 

Committee administrative office by mail, 

private carrier, facsimile, electronic mail, or in 

person.  

(c)  Action on a Complaint. Action on a complaint shall consist of 

the following: 
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(1) The Committee shall receive and acknowledge 

complaints, open a file, and initiate complaint 

tracking. 

(2) Complaints shall be screened to determine 

jurisdiction and the type of response 

appropriate for the complaint. 

(3) Investigation: 

(A) If the facts clearly indicate a 

Midwifery Practice Act violation, the 

Committee shall commence an 

investigation. 

(B) A report of each investigation shall be 

prepared for the Committee's review. 

(4) Formal and Informal Hearings: 

(A) The Committee, after review of an 

investigative file and upon request by 

a licensee, shall schedule an informal 

meeting. 

(B) If the matter cannot be resolved 

informally, then a formal hearing shall 

be held. 

(C) No Committee member shall 

participate in more than one of the 

following steps in the enforcement 

process: 

(i) investigation; 

(ii) informal hearing; or 

(iii) formal hearing. 

(D) Members of the Committee shall not 

make ex-parte communication with 

parties to a hearing. 

(5) Final Orders: No later than 60 days after a 

hearing, the Committee shall issue its final 

decision, in writing, specifying the date on 

which it shall take effect. The Committee shall 

serve one copy of the decision on each party to 

the hearing. 

(6) Compliance: The Committee Chair shall cause 

a follow-up inquiry to determine that the orders 

of the Committee are being obeyed. 

(d)  Disciplinary Sanctions. 

(1) The following types of disciplinary sanctions 

may, among others, be used by the Committee 

when a violation of G.S. 90-178.6(a) is found: 

(A) Letter of reprimand; 

(B) probation; 

(C) suspension of approval; 

(D) nonrenewal of approval; 

(E) revocation of approval; and 

(F) injunction. 

(2) The Committee may request information from 

professional associations, professional review 

organizations (PROs), hospitals, clinics, or 

other institutions in which a certified nurse-

midwife performs professional services. 

(3) The Committee shall provide notice of sanction 

taken by it to other public entities as necessary 

to ensure that other state Boards and 

enforcement authorities receive the names of 

certified nurse midwives who have been 

disciplined. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.6; 

Eff. February 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0110 REPORTING CRITERIA 

(a)  The Department of Health and Human Services 

("Department") may report to the Committee information 

regarding the prescribing practices of those midwives 

("prescribers") whose prescribing: 

(1) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 morphine milligram 

equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or 

(2) falls within the top two of those prescribing 100 

MME's per patient per day in combination with 

any benzodiazepine and who are within the top 

one percent of all controlled substance 

prescribers by volume. 

(b)  In addition, the Department may report to the Committee 

information regarding midwives who have had two or more 

patient deaths in the preceding 12 months due to opioid poisoning 

where the prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets of an opioid 

to the decedent and the prescriptions were written within 60 days 

of the patient deaths. 

(c)  The Department may submit these reports to the Committee 

upon request and may include the information described in G.S. 

90-113.73(b). 

(d)  The reports and communications between the Department and 

the Committee shall remain confidential pursuant to G.S. 90-

113.74. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.74; 90-178.4; 

Eff. May 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0111 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 

In order to maintain approval to practice midwifery, a midwife 

shall meet the requirements of the Certificate Maintenance 

Program of the American College of Nurse-Midwives, including 

continuing education requirements. Every midwife who 

prescribes controlled substances shall complete at least one hour 

of continuing education (CE) hours annually consisting of CE 

designated specifically to address controlled substances 

prescribing practices, signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled 

substances, and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain 

management. Documentation of continuing education shall be 

maintained by the midwife for the previous five calendar years 

and made available upon request to the Committee. 

 

History Note: Authority: G.S. 90-5.1; 90-14(a)(15); 90-

178.5(2); S.L. 2015-241, s. 12F .16(b); 

Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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CHAPTER 48 – BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0110 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST APPLICANT BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-279(2), and does not hold an active 

license in another state or territory of the United States. 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be in 

English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational background to be determined 

substantially equivalent to that obtained by an applicant for 

licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.29(2), the applicant shall meet 

the standards of the Federation's most recent Coursework Tool 

(CWT) for Physical Therapists at 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/RegulatoryResources/Cour

seworkTools(CWT).aspx and for Physical Therapist Assistants at 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/RegulatoryResources/Cour

seworkTools(CWT).aspx. These coursework tools are 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. Individuals wishing to obtain a copy may call the 

Federation at 703-299-3100 or download a copy from the 

Federation's website at no cost. Copies of the coursework tools 

are on file at the Division located at 8300 Health Park Suite 233, 

Raleigh, NC 27615 and are available for public inspection during 

regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapists referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The 

Board shall review an applicant's educational program and shall 

consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language (TOEFL) score requirement as 

defined by the Federation. This test is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to register for the TOEFL 

shall contact Examination Testing Service 

(http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of this 

examination is posted on the ETS website. The 

TOEFL is an examination that is owned by ETS 

and is not available for public review; 

(2) proof that coursework was taught in the English 

language; or 

(3) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the Division located at 8300 

Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and 

is available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.26; 90-270.29; 90-

270.30; 90-270.31; 150B-21.6(2); 

Eff. December 30, 1985; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; August 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 21, 1995, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent Rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; December 1, 2006; November 1, 

2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; October 

1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0111 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST APPLICANT BY ENDORSEMENT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-279(2), and holds an active physical 

therapist license in another state or territory of the United States. 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be in 

English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational background to be determined 

substantially equivalent to an educational program accredited 

pursuant to G.S. 90-270.29(2), the applicant shall meet the 

standards of the Federation's Coursework Tool (CWT) 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/Regulatory 

Resources/CourseworkTools(CWT).aspx for the applicant's year 

of graduation. This coursework tool is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Individuals 

wishing to obtain a copy may call the Federation at 703-299-3100 

or download a copy from the Federation's website at no cost. A 

copy of the coursework tool is on file at the Division located at 

8300 Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available 

for public inspection during regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapists referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The 

Board shall review an applicant's educational program and shall 

consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) for examinations administered prior to August 

1, 1998, proof that a score of 210 on the TSE 

(Test of Spoken English) or the SPEAK 

(Speaking Proficiency English Assessment Kit) 
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examination was obtained 

(www.ets.org/toefl/ibt/); 

(2) for examinations administered on or after 

August 1, 1998, and prior to January 1, 2007, 

the following proof shall be provided: 

(A) minimum score of 50 on the TSE 

examination or the SPEAK 

examination; 

(B) minimum score on the Test of Written 

English (TWE) of 4.5; and 

(C) minimum score of 560 on the Test of 

English as a Foreign Language 

(TOEFL); 

(3) for examinations administered on or after 

January 1, 2007, proof shall be provided that the 

applicant obtained the following minimum 

standard scale scores in each of the four scoring 

domains (Listening, Reading, Writing, and 

Speaking), and the total score of the iBT/Next 

Generation TOEFL: 

(A) Writing: 24; 

(B) Speaking: 26; 

(C) Reading Comprehension: 21; 

(D) Listening Comprehension: 18; and 

(E) Total Score: 89; 

(4) proof that coursework was taught in the English 

language; or 

(5) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the Division located at 8300 

Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and 

is available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.26; 90-270.29; 90-

270.29(2); 90-270.30; 90-270.31; 150B-21.6(2); 

Eff. February 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0112 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST ASSISTANT APPLICANT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist assistant who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-279(2). 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be in 

English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  If the applicant does not meet the requirements of G.S. 90-

270.29(3), the Board shall examine the applicant's educational 

background to determine if the general and professional education 

is substantially equivalent to an educational program accredited 

pursuant to G.S. 90-270.29(2) and meets the requirements of the 

Federation's most recent Coursework Tool (CWT) for Physical 

Therapist Assistants at 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/RegulatoryResources/Cour

seworkTools(CWT).aspx. This coursework tool is incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy may call the Federation at 

703-299-3100 or download a copy from the Federation's website 

at no cost. A copy of this instrument is on file at the Division 

located at 8300 Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is 

available for public inspection during regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapist assistants referred to in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. The Board shall review an applicant's educational program 

and shall consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language TOEFL score requirement as defined 

by the Federation. This test is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Individuals wishing to register for 

the TOEFL shall contact Examination Testing 

Service (http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of 

this examination is posted on the ETS website. 

The TOEFL is an examination that is owned by 

ETS and is not available for public review; 

(2) proof that coursework was taught in the English 

language; or 

(3) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the 8300 Health Park Suite 

233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available for 

public inspection during regular business hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.26; 90-270.26(2); 90-

270.29; 90-270.30; 90-270.31; 150B-21.6(2); 

Eff. February 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2018. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission December 13, 2018 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell 
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Jason Thomas  (919)431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 December 13, 2018 January 17, 2019 
 February 21, 2019 March 21, 2019 
 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2018 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 
III. Follow-up matters 

A. Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement - 08 NCAC 02 .0112, .0113; 03 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, 
.0106, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302; 04 .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307; 06B .0103, .0104, .0105; 08 .0104; 
09 .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109; 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May) 

B. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Thomas) 
C. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission - 12 NCAC 09G .0103 (Reeder) 
D. Department of Public Safety - 14B NCAC 01C .0401, .0402; 07A .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 

.0110, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0118, .0119 (Reeder) 
E. Board of Nursing – 21 NCAC 36 .0109, .0112, .0113, .0120, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0207, .0208, .0211, .0213, 

.0217, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0223, .0224, .0225, .0226, .0228, .0232, .0233, .0302, .0303, .0309, .0317, 

.0318, .0320, .0321, .0322, .0323, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, 

.0507, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805, .0806, .0807, .0808, .0809, .0810, 

.0811, .0812, .0813, .0814, .0815 (Thomas) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed October 23, 2018 through November 20, 2018 

• Pre-Reviewed Rules 
▪ Medical Care Commission 
▪ Department of Public Safety 
▪ Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
▪ Environmental Management Commission 02K 
▪ Environmental Management Commission 13B 
▪ Commission for Public Health 
▪ Board of Dental Examiners 

▪ Non Pre-Reviewed Rules 
▪ North Carolina Housing Finance Agency 
▪ Child Care Commission 
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▪ Commission for Mental Health 
▪ Department of Insurance 
▪ Industrial Commission  
▪ Environmental Management Commission 02B 
▪ North Carolina Housing Finance Agency  

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Review of Reports 
1. 01 NCAC 41A - Department of Environmental Quality 
2. 01 NCAC 41C – Department of Environmental Quality 
3. 01 NCAC 41D – Department of Environmental Quality 
4. 01 NCAC 41E - Department of Environmental Quality 
5. 10A NCAC 13G - Medical Care Commission 
6. 10A NCAC 41C - Commission for Public Health 
7. 15A NCAC 01O - Department of Health and Human Services 
8. 15A NCAC 02G - Environmental Management Commission 
9. 15A NCAC 02I - Environmental Management Commission 
10. 15A NCAC 02J - Environmental Management Commission 
11. 15A NCAC 10A - Wildlife Resources Commission 
12. 15A NCAC 10D - Wildlife Resources Commission 
13. 15A NCAC 10E - Wildlife Resources Commission 
14. 15A NCAC 10G - Wildlife Resources Commission 
15. 15A NCAC 10I - Wildlife Resources Commission 
16. 15A NCAC 10J - Wildlife Resources Commission 
17. 15A NCAC 10K - Wildlife Resources Commission 

VII. Commission Business 
F. Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule 

• Next meeting: Thursday, January 17, 2019 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

October 23, 2018 through November 20, 2018 

NORTH CAROLINA HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY 

The rules in Chapter 19 concern rural economic development.  
 
The rules in Chapter 19A concern home regulations including general provisions (.0100); eligible and prohibited 
activities (.0200); threshold for direct HUD participation (.0300); home program fund distribution (.0400); community 
housing development organization category (.0500); home consortia category (.0600); housing project category (.0700); 
compliance requirements (.1000); and grant administration (.1100). 

Overview and Purpose 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0101 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0102 

Waiver 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0103 

Eligible Applicants 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0104 

Amendments Adopted by Reference 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0105 

Acts and Regulations Adopted by Reference 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0106 
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Eligible Activities and Costs 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0201 

Prohibited Costs 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0202 

Participation Threshold Amount 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0301 

Home Program Funding Distribution 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0401 

Size and Use of Home Awards Made to Recipients 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0402 

Program Category Allocation 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0403 

General Application Requirements 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0404 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0501 

Eligibility Requirements 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0502 

Selection Criteria 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0503 

Definition 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0601 

Eligibility Requirement 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0602 

Selection Criteria 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0603 

Definition 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0701 

Eligibility Requirements 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0702 

Selection Criteria 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0703 

Preliminary Awards 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .0704 

Equal Opportunity and Fair Housing 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1001 

Affirmative Marketing 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1002 

Environmental Review 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1003 

Displacement, Relocation, and Acquisition 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1004 

Labor Standards 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1005 

Lead-Based Paint 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1006 

Conflict of Interest 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1007 

National Flood Insurance Program 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1008 

Clearinghouse Review 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1009 
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Grant Agreement 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1101 

Method of Administration 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1102 

Audit 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1103 

Closeout 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1104 

Recordkeeping 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1105 

Performance Reports 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1106 

Performance Reviews 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1107 

Corrective and Remedial Actions 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1108 

Administrative Hearings and Sanctions 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1109 

Program Amendments 
Repeal* 

 04 NCAC 19S .1110 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are child care rules and include definitions (.0100); general provisions related to licensing (.0200); 
procedures for obtaining a license (.0300); issuance of provisional and temporary licenses (.0400); age and 
developmentally appropriate environments for centers (.0500); safety requirements for child care centers (.0600); staff 
qualifications (.0700); health standards for children (.0800); nutrition standards (.0900); transportation standards 
(.1000); continuing education and professional development (.1100); building code requirements for child care centers 
(.1300); space requirements (.1400); temporary care requirements (.1500); family child care home requirements (.1700); 
discipline (.1800); special procedures concerning abuse/neglect in child care (.1900); rulemaking and contested case 
procedures (.2000); religious-sponsored child care center requirements (.2100); administrative actions and civil 
penalties (.2200); forms (.2300); child care for mildly ill children (.2400); care for school-age children (.2500); child care 
for children who are medically fragile (.2600); criminal records checks (.2700); voluntary rated licenses (.2800); 
developmental day services (.2900); and NC pre-kindergarten services (.3000). 

Administrative Policies 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .0513 

Operational and Personnel Policies 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .0514 

Parent Participation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .0515 

Night Care 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .0516 

New Staff Orientation 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .1101 

Operational Policies 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .1715 

Additional Caregiver and Substitute Provider Qualifications 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .1729 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2701 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2702 

Criminal History Record Check Requirements for Child Care...  10A NCAC 09 .2703 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Criminal History Record Check Requirements for Nonlicense... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2704 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2801 

Application for a Two through Five Star Rated License 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2802 

Caregiving Activities for Preschool-Aged Children 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2806 

Enhanced Space Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2809 

Enhanced Program Standards for Child Care Centers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2817 

Enhanced Staff/Child Ratios for a Rated License for Child... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2818 

Enhanced Education Standards for On-site Administrators f... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2819 

Enhanced Education Standards for Lead Teachers for a Rate... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2820 

Enhanced Education Standards for Teachers for Rated Licen... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2821 

Enhanced Education Standards for Program Coordinators for... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2822 

Enhanced Education Standards for Group Leaders and Assist... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2823 

Enhanced Education Standards for a Rated License for Admi... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2824 

Enhanced Education Standards for Program Coordinators for... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2825 

Education Standards for Group Leaders and Assistant Group... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2826 

Enhanced Education Standards for Operators for a Rated Li... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2827 

Enhanced Program Standards for a Rated License for Family... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2828 

Quality Points Options 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2829 

Maintaining the Star Rating 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2830 

How an Operator May Request or Appeal A Change in Rating 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2831 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 14A concern rulemaking (.0100); contested cases (.0200); and hearings, transfers and 
discharges (.0300). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14A .0301 

General 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14A .0302 

Initiating a Hearing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14A .0303 
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MENTAL HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 26 are from the Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services 
Commission. The rules in Subchapter 26F concern controlled substances including schedules of controlled substances 
(.0100). 

Schedule V 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 26F .0106 

 
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 7 are from the state property fire insurance fund division including general provisions (.0100); plan 
approval for state buildings (.0200); the state property fire insurance fund (.0300); and aerial adventure park financial 
responsibility (.0400). 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 07 .0401 

Proof of Insurance Coverage 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 07 .0402 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 23A concern workers' compensation rules including administration (.0100); notice of act (.0200); 
insurance (.0300); disability, compensation, fees (.0400); agreements (.0500); claims administration and procedures 
(.0600); appeals (.0700); rules of the commission (.0800); report of earnings (.0900); and preauthorization for medical 
treatment (.1000). 

Contact Information 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0109 

Compromise Settlement Agreements 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0502 

Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0604 

Motions Practice 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0609 

Attorneys Retained for Proceedings 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0617 

Foreign Language and Sign Language Interpreters 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0619 

Written Communications with the Commission 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0620 

Review by the Full Commission 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0701 

Review of Administrative Decisions 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0702 

Waiver of Rules 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23A .0801 

The rules in Subchapter 23B concern tort claims including administration (.0100); claims procedures (.0200); appeals 
to full commission (.0300); appeals to the court of appeals (.0400); and rules of the commission (.0500). 

Hearings 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0206 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 3, 2018 

1260 

Hearings of Claims by Prison Inmates 
Repeal* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0207 

Sanctions 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0503 

The rules in Subchapter 23H are the rules of the Industrial Commission relating to the public safety of employees' death 
benefits act. 

Determination of Claims by the Commission 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23H .0201 

Hearings Before the Commission 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23H .0202 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 5 concern the governor's crime commission including the grant application process (.0200); grant 
application and administration (.0300); penalties (.0400); and appeal (.0500), 

Notice Of Availability Of Funds 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0201 

Consistency with State or Federal Grant Programs 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0202 

Request for Preapplication Forms 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0203 

Grant Preapplication Form 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0204 

Preapplication Submission Procedures 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0205 

Incomplete Preapplications 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0206 

Review of Preapplications 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0207 

Notification to Preapplications 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0208 

Application Form and Requirements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0301 

Application Submission Procedures 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0302 

Application Due Date 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0303 

Grant Application Process 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0304 

Grant Period 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0305 

Time Limitation on Federal Funding 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0306 

Grant Award Contracts 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0307 

Continuation Funds 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0310 

Adjustments to Grants 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0311 

Grant Termination or Suspension 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0401 
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Loss of Grantee Eligibility 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0402 

Appeal 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 05 .0501 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 15A concern organization rules: policies and procedures including general provisions (.0100); 
structure (.0200); publications, records, copies (.0300); rule-making (.0400); emergency rules (.0500); declaratory 
rulings (.0600); personnel policies: commission (.0700); adjudication: contested cases (.0800); fiscal rules for local 
boards (.0900); local abc board: personnel policies (.1000); local abc boards: relationship with state commission (.1100); 
openings and discontinuance of stores (.1200); storage and distribution of spirituous liquors: commercial transportation 
(.1300); purchase of alcoholic beverages by local boards (.1400); pricing of spirituous liquor (.1500); warehouse storage 
of spirituous liquors (.1600); retail sales of alcoholic beverages (.1700); purchase transportation permits for individuals 
and mixed beverages permittees (.1800); sales of liquor to mixed beverages permittees (.1900); local board training 
(.2000); distillery permit holders' sale of spirituous liquor distilled on premises to visitors of the distillery for consumption 
off the premises (.2100); special one-time permits (.2200); and homemade wine and malt beverage events (.2300). 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .2301 

Competitions 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .2302 

Exhibitions 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .2303 

Organized Affairs 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .2304 

Home Product Production Education Meeting 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .2305 

Possession, Consumption, Transportation, and Disposition ... 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .2306 

Allowable Fees 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .2307 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2B pertain to surface water standards and monitoring including procedures for assignment of 
water quality standards (.0100); the standards used to classify the waters of the state (.0200); stream classifications 
(.0300); effluent limitations (.0400); monitoring and reporting requirements (.0500); and water quality management plans 
(.0600). 

French Broad River Basin 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0304 

The rules in Subchapter 2K concern dam safety including general provisions (.0100); obtaining approval for dam 
construction: repair: or removal (.0200); inspections: dam safety orders (.0300); and minimum stream flows to maintain 
aquatic habitat (.0500). 

Additional Requirements for Dams that Impound Coal Combus... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02K .0224 

 
The rules in Chapter 13 concern Solid Waste Management. The rules in Subchapter 13B concern Solid Waste 
Management including general provisions (.0100); permits for solid waste management facilities (.0200); treatment and 
processing facilities (.0300); transfer facilities (.0400); disposal sites (.0500); monitoring requirements (.0600); 
administrative penalty procedures (.0700); septage management (.0800); yard waste facilities (.0900); solid waste 
management loan program (.1000); scrap tire management (.1100); medical waste management (.1200); disposition of 
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remains of terminated pregnancies (.1300); municipal solid waste compost facilities (.1400); standards for special tax 
treatment of recycling and resource recovery equipment and facilities (.1500); requirements for municipal solid waste 
landfill facilities (.1600); and requirements for beneficial use of coal combustion by-products (.1700).  

Incorporation by Reference 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0830 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0831 

General Provisions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0832 

Septage Management Firm Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0833 

Permit Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0834 

Septage Land Application Site Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0835 

Septage Detention and Treatment Facility Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0836 

Location of Septage Land Application Sites 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0837 

Management of Septage Land Application Sites 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0838 

Record Keeping for Septage Management Firms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0839 

Sampling and Analysis 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0840 

Standards for Septage Detention and Treatment Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0841 

Innovative or Alternative Treatment or Storage Methods 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0842 

Land Use and Site Closure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0843 

Transportation of Septage 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0844 

Revocation of Permits 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0845 

Appeals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 13B .0846 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 18 are from the Commission for Health Services and cover environmental aspects of health such 
as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 18C are water supply rules including their protection and location (.0100-.0200), submission of 
plans, etc. (.0300), design criteria (.0400-.0500), raw surface water facilities (.0600), surface water treatment facilities 
(.0700), hydropneumatic storage tanks (.0800), distribution systems (.0900), disinfection (.1000), protection of unfiltered 
and filtered supplies (.1100-.1200), variances (.1300), fluoridation (.1400), water quality standards and variances (.1500-
.1600), systems grants (.1700), local plan approval (.1800), administrative penalties (.1900), filtration and disinfection 
(.2000); operating permits (.2100); and ground water systems (.2200).q 

Source Water Protection Planning 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1305 
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DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16T concern patient records. 

Record Content 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 16T .0101 

Informed Consent 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16T .0103 

NORTH CAROLINA HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY 

The rules in Subchapter 1N concern housing counseling including training for reverse mortgage counselors (.0200). 

Fees 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 24 NCAC 01N .0204 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    PUBLISHED     

 

17 ABC 06296 10/24/2018; 

10/25/2018 

NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Bees Town Inc T/A Bees Town Ward 

  
          

 

17 DHR 04630 8/6/2018; 

10/9/2018 

Managed Health 

Resources, 

IncMHR), controlled 

by The Charlotte 

Mecklenburg 

Hospital Authority 

(CMHA) d/b/a 

Atrium Heatlh 

v. Cardinal Innovations Healthcare 

Solutions 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 01530 10/22/2018 Juaneza Kay Gooch v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services DSS Program 

Integrity Food Stamps 

Ward 

18 DHR 02146 10/26/2018 Emma P Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

18 DHR 02983 10/10/2018 Carla Denise Cook v. Department of Healh and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 00592 10/10/2018 Jeffrey Laine 

Guyton 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 02968 10/30/2018 Robert O Laney Jr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

18 DOJ 02974 10/30/2018 Tyler Stockton v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

  
    

 
    

 

18 DOL 01666 10/8/2018 Signature Payroll 

Services LLC D/B/A 

v. NC Department of Labor Ward 
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Signature Payroll 

Services 
  

    
 

    
 

  
    UNPUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 03296 10/24/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Diversified Corp T/A Mansion Elkins 

  
          

 

18 BOG 05185 10/23/2018 Donald Bruce 

Nothdurft 

v. North Carolina Board for Licensing of 

Geologists 

Malherbe 

  
    

 
  

 
  

18 CPS 04672 10/19/2018 Patricia Nevins v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Mann 

  
            

18 CRA 04538 10/8/2018 Clinton Driggers Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

  
            

18 CSE 03326 10/3/2018 Derrick Nicholson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

18 CSE 03671 10/23/2018 William O Martin v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DHR 03320 10/23/2018 Kezmit Howard v. The Division of Child Development and 

Early Education- Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 03448 10/24/2018 Joyce Sykes Fitch v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Public Health 

Environmental Health Section 

Overby 

18 DHR 03872 10/11/2018 Jennifer R Lewis 

Executive Director 

Youth Focus Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure and 

Certification 

May 

18 DHR 04155 10/5/2018 Luis Reyes v. NC Office of EMS/Dept of Health & 

Human Services 

Mann 

18 DHR 04248 10/16/2018 Vanessa Diane 

Bradley 

v. DHHS Healthcare Registry Jacobs 

18 DHR 04614 10/11/2018 Sharpe and Williams 

Kesha Spaulding 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

18 DHR 04728 10/19/2018 Christopher D Quick v. Medicaid Mann 

18 DHR 04880 10/4/2018 Jesusito Rondon 

Guzman Tienda 

Mexicana La 

Posadita 2 

v. WIC Agency Elkins 

18 DHR 05125 10/24/2018 Paulette Powell v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

18 DHR 05140 10/3/2018 Dianne Clark v. Dept of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Health Service 

Overby 

18 DHR 05220 10/25/2018 Daniel J Hall v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 
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18 DHR 05228 10/24/2018 Paradigm Inc Jason 

T Barnett Jeannette 

Barnett 

v. NCDHHS/ Office of Admin Hearing Jacobs 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 04889 10/10/2018 John Edward Suttles 

Jr. 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

18 DOJ 05016 10/10/2018 Derrick Demond Lee v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

18 DOJ 05261 10/19/2018 Stephen D Watson v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

  
          

 

18 DOT 02605 10/5/2018 Jannett Stickland 

Smith 

v. NC Department of Transportation Mann 

  
          

 

18 INS 04329 10/26/2018 Jennifer Weider v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees 

Overby 

18 INS 05085 10/31/2018 Robert Michael 

Absher 

v. State Health Plan of NC May 

  
          

 

18 OSP 04572 10/19/2018 Sanita Jefferies v. Murdoch Developmental Center Mann 
  

          
 

18 SOS 04165 10/5/2018 Paul Edward Nichols v. State of North Carolina Department of 

the Secretary of State 

Jacobs 

  
          

 

18 UNC 03931 10/5/2018 Lisa M Seaton v. UNC Hospital Patient Account Services Mann 

 

 


