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Contact List for Rulemaking Questions or Concerns
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inclusive.
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Rules Division
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Dana Vojtko, Publications Coordinator dana.vojtko@oah.nc.gov (919) 431-3075
Tammara Chalmers, Editorial Assistant tammara.chalmers@oah.nc.gov  (919) 431-3083
Lindsay Woy, Editorial Assistant lindsay.woy@oah.nc.gov (919) 431-3078
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Julie Brincefield, Administrative Assistant julie.brincefield@oah.nc.gov (919) 431-3073
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215 North Dawson Street (919) 715-2893
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215 North Dawson Street
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Legislative Process Concerning Rule-making
Joint Legislative Administrative Procedure Oversight Committee
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the
schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina
Register is not included. The last day of the period so
computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday,
or State holiday, in which event the period runs until
the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first
and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of
the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday
for employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is
a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State
employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.

FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT REGULAR
SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY: This date is
the first legislative day of the next regular session of
the General Assembly following approval of the rule
by the Rules Review Commission. See G.S. 150B-
21.3, Effective date of rules.
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of Nortlh Carolina

PAT McCRORY
GOVERNOR

June 30, 2014
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 55
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY (EEO)

WHEREAS, the State of North Carolina is committed to providing equal employment
opportunities to all employees and applicants for employment without regard to race, religion,
color, national origin, sex, age, disability, genetic information; and

WHEREAS, the State recognizes that effective and efficient government requires the
talents, skills, and abilities of all available human resources; and

WHEREAS, the State acknowledges the need for a diverse workforce; and

WHEREAS, this administration endorses a positive approach to ensure equal
employment opportunity; and

WHEREAS, this administration believes that the Human Resources practices of state
government should be nondiscriminatory and promote confidence in the fairness and integrity of
government; and

WHEREAS, fair and impartial treatment of all employees in all terms and conditions of
employment is in the best interest of the State; and

WHEREAS, this administration believes in fairness in the State work environment and
that employees should be valued for their individual strengths and encouraged to achieve their
fullest potential.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution
and the laws of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. EEO Policies and Programs.

The policies and programs that have been adopted by the State Human Resources Commission
and approved by the Governor represent the commitment of the State and shall be adhered to by
every state agency, department, and university.

Section 2. Administration.

Each Agency Head, Department Head, and University Chancellor is responsible for the
successful implementation of these policies, programs, and this Order, and shall:

(1) Designate an EEO Director(s) who is responsible for the operation and
implementation of their EEO plan and provide the resources to implement the EEO Plan
and goals. The Director may report to the Agency Head, Department Head, Chancellor or
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

HR Director as long as there is access to the Agency Head, Department Head, or
University Chancellor on EEO matters;

(2) Ensure that the agencies, departments, or university’s commitment to EEQ is clearly
communicated to all employees;

(3) Ensure that Human Resources policies and employment practices are implemented
consistently and fairly;

(4) Ensure that each supervisory and management employee has, as a part of his or her
performance plan, the responsibility to comply with EEO laws and policies and assist in
achieving EEO goals;

(5) Provide reasonable accommodations for otherwise qualified individuals with
disabilities who can perform the essential functions of the job in question if such
accommodations are made;

(6) Provide development and training opportunities for employees on a fair and consistent
basis to enhance their skills which help the state operate more efficiently and effectively.

Section 3. Office of State Human Resources.
The Office of State Human Resources Director shall:

(1) Develop state-wide EEO policies and procedures for State Human Resource
Comimission approval,

(2) Provide technical assistance, programs, tools, monitoring, and evaluation to assist
agencies, departments, and universities in achieving their EEO plan, including
consultation on staffing the EEO function;

(3) Review, approve and monitor all EEO plans and updates;

(4) Design and implement monitoring and reporting systems to measure the effectiveness
of agency, department, and university EEO plans;

(5) Provide EEO training for managers, supervisors, and employees; review and approve
EEO training programs agencies, departments and universities submit as equivalent to the
EEO offered by the State Office of Human Resources; and

(6) Develop and promote EEO programs and best practices to encourage consistent and
fair treatment of all state employees;

(7) Ensure procedures for determining reasonable accommodations that result in a
uniform and fair process for applicants and employees with disabilities are in place;

(8) Develop a state government wide EEO plan to ensure commitment to and
accountability for EEOQ;

(9) Meet with agency heads, department heads, and university chancellors, Human
Resources Directors and EEO Director annually to discuss the progress made toward
reaching program goals;

(10) Report annually to the Human Resources Commission and the Governor on EEO
Plans and progress by agencies, departments, universities and state government.

Section 4. Effect and Duration.

All other Executive Orders or portions of Executive Orders inconsistent with this Order are
hereby rescinded. This Order specifically rescinds Executive Order No.14 signed on May 7,
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

2009 in the year of our Lord two thousand and nine. This Executive Order shall be effective
immediately and shall remain in effect until rescinded.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, 1 have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this thirtieth day of June in
the year of our Lord two thousand and fourteen and of the Independence of the United States of
America the two hundred and thirty-eight.

(oo, —

Pat McCrory
Governor

ATTEST:

s Elaine F. Marshall

Secretary of State
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Qarolina

PAT McCRORY
GOVERNOR

July 1, 2014
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 56

DISASTER DECLARATION FOR THE TOWN OF WOODFIN

WHEREAS, the North Carolina Emergency Management Act, Chapter 166A of the
North Carolina General Statutes authorizes the issuance of a disaster declaration for an
emergency area as defined in N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.3(7) and categorizing the disaster as a
Type L, Type IT or Type I1I disaster as defined in N.C.G.5. § 166A-19.21(b); and

WHEREAS, the Town of Woodfin in Buncombe County, North Carolina was
impacted by severe weather including high winds and flooding on April 29, 2014 which
caused heavy amounts of damage consisting of uprooted trees and damages to town-owned
roads; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor of the Town of Woodfin declared a local state of emergency
on April 29, 2014; and

WHEREAS, due the impact of the severe weather, a joint preliminary damage
assessment was done by local and state emergency management officials starting on or about
May 15, 2014 and is on-going; and

WHEREAS, I have determined that a Type I disaster, as defined in N.C.G.S. § 166A-
19.21(b)(1), exists in the State of North Carolina, specifically in the Town of Woodfin in
Buncombe County; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.21(b)(1), the criteria for a Type 1
disaster are met if: (1) the Secretary of the Department of Public Safety has provided a
preliminary damage assessment to the Governor and the General Assembly; (2) the Town of
Woodfin declared a local state of emergency pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.22; (3) the
preliminary damage assessment meets or exceeds the State infrastructure criteria set out in
N.C.G.S. §166A-19.41(b)(2)a; and (4) a major disaster declaration by the President of the
United States pursuant to the Stafford Act has not been declared; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.41(b), if a disaster is declared, the
Governor may make State funds available for emergency assistance in the form of individual
assistance and public assistance for recovery from those disasters for which federal assistance
under the Stafford Act is either not available or does not adequately meet the needs of the
citizens of the State in the emergency area.

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor by the
Constitution and the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.21(b)(1), a Type 1 disaster is hereby declared for
the Town of Woodfin in Buncombe County, North Carolina.
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Section 2. I authorize state disaster assistance in the form of public assistance grants to
eligible governments located within the emergency area that meet the terms and conditions
under N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.41(b)(2). The public assistance grants are for the following:

a. Debris clearance.
b. Emergency protective measures.
c. Roads and bridges.

Section 3. I hereby order this declaration: (a) to be distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; (b) to be
promptly filed with the Secretary of Public Safety, the Secretary of State, and the clerks of
superior court in the counties to which it applies; and (c) to be distributed to others as
necessary to ensure proper implementation of this declaration.

Section 4. This Type I disaster declaration shall expire 60 days after issuance unless renewed
by the Governor or the General Assembly. Such renewals may be made in increments of 30
days each, not to exceed a total of 120 days from the date of first issuance.

IN WITNESS WHEREOQOF, 1 have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great
Seal of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 1st day of July in

the year of our Lord two thousand and fourteen, and of the Independence of the United States
of America the two hundred and thirty-eight.

Pat McCro
Governor
ATTEST:

é Elaine F. éerhall

Secretary of State
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State of North Carolina

PAT McCRORY
GOVERNOR

July 2, 2014
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 57

DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY
BY THE GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

Section 1.

I hereby declare that a state of emergency as defined in N.C.G.S. §§ 166A-19.3(6) and
166A-19.3(19) exists in the State of North Carolina due to the approach of Tropical
Storm Arthur. The emergency area as defined in N.C.G.S. §§ 166A-19.3(7) and
N.C.G.S. 166A-19.20(b) is Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret,
Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Jones,
Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell,
and Washington counties.

Section 2.

I order all state and local government entities and agencies to cooperate in the
implementation of the provisions of this declaration and the provisions of the North
Carolina Emergency Operations Plan.

Section 3.

I delegate to Frank L. Perry, the Secretary of Public Safety, or his designee, all power
and authority granted to me and required of me by Article 1A of Chapter 166A of the
General Statutes for the purpose of implementing the State’s Emergency Operations
Plan and deploying the State Emergency Response Team to take the appropriate actions
as is necessary to promote and secure the safety and protection of the populace in North
Carolina.

Section 4.

Further, Secretary Perry, as chief coordinating officer for the State of North Carolina,
shall exercise the powers prescribed in N.C.G.S.§ 143B-602.
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ATTEST:

Section 5.

I further direct Secretary Perry or his designee to seek assistance from any and all
agencies of the United States Government as may be needed to meet the emergency and
seek reimbursement for costs incurred by the State in responding to this emergency.

Section 6.

I hereby order this declaration: (a) to be distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; (b)
unless the circumstances of the state of emergency prevent or impede, to be promptly
filed with the Secretary of Public Safety, the Secretary of State, and the clerks of
superior court in the counties to which it applies; and (c) to be distributed to others as
necessary to assure proper implementation of this declaration.

Section 7.

This declaration does not prohibit or restrict lawfully possessed firearms or ammunition
or impose any limitation on the consumption, transportation, sale or purchase of
alcoholic beverages as provided in N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.30(c).

Section 8.

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.23, this declaration triggers the prohibition against
excessive pricing as provided in N.C.G.S. § 75-37 and 75-38 in the declared emergency

area.
Section 9.
This declaration is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until rescinded.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 2™ day of July
in the year of our Lord two thousand and fourteen, and of the Independence of the
United States of America the two hundred and thirty-eight.

Pat McC
Governor

N3

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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PAT McCRORY
GOVERNOR

July 2, 2014
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 58

TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OF MOTOR VEHICLE REGULATIONS TO ENSURE
RESTORATION OF UTILITY SERVICES AND TRANSPORTING ESSENTIALS

WHEREAS, due to the approach of Tropical Storm Arthur, vehicles bearing equipment and
supplies for utility restoration, debris removal, and carrying essentials such as food and
medicine, need to be moved on the highways of North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, I have declared that a state of emergency as defined in N.C.G.S. §§ 166A-19.3(6)
and 166A-19.3(19) exists in portions of North Carolina due likely impact of Tropical Storm
Arthur; and

WHEREAS, the prompt restoration of utility services and uninterrupted supply of electricity,
gasoline and other essentials in commerce to citizens of North Carolina is essential to their safety
and well-being; and

WHEREAS, under the provisions of N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.30(b)(3) the Governor, with the
concurrence of the Council of State, may regulate and control the flow of vehicular traffic and
the operation of transportation services; and

WHEREAS, with the concurrence of the Council of State, I have found that vehicles bearing
equipment and supplies for utility restoration, carrying essentials and for debris removal must
adhere o the registration requirements of N.C.G.S. § 20-86.1 and 20-382, fuel tax requirements
of N.C.G.S. § 105-449.47, and the size and weight requirements of N.C.G.S. §§ 20-116 and 20-
118. I have further found that citizens in this State may suffer imminent widespread damage
within the meaning of N.C.G.S § 166A-19.3(3) and N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.21(b); and

WHEREAS, 49 CFR § 390.23 allows the Governor of a state to suspend the rules and
regulations under 49 CFR Parts 390-399 for up to 30 days if the Governor determines that an
emergency condition exists; and

WHEREAS, under N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.70, the Governor may declare that the health, safety, or
economic well-being of persons or property requires that the maximum hours of service for
drivers prescribed by N.C.G.S. § 20-381 should be waived for persons transporting essential
fuels, food, water, medical supplies, and vehicles used in the restoration of utility services.

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution
and the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:
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Section 1.

The Department of Public Safety in conjunction with the North Carolina Department of
Transportation shall waive the maximum hours of service for drivers prescribed by the
Department of Public Safety pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 20-381.

Section 2.

The Department of Public Safety in conjunction with the Department of Transportation shall
waive certain size and weight restrictions and penalties arising under N.C.G.S. §§ 20-116 and
20-118, and certain registration requirements and penalties arising under N.C.G.S. §§ 20-86.1,
20-382, 105-449.47, and 105-449.49 for vehicles transporting equipment and supplies for the
restoration of utility services, carrying essentials and for equipment for any debris removal.

Section 3.

Notwithstanding the waivers set forth above, size and weight restrictions and penalties have not
been waived under the following conditions:

a. When the vehicle weight exceeds the maximum gross weight criteria established by the
manufacturer (GVWR) or 90,000 pounds gross weight, whichever is less.

b. When the tandem axle weight exceeds 42,000 pounds and the single axle weight exceeds
22,000 pounds.

c¢. When a vehicle and vehicle combination exceeds 12 feet in width and a total overall vehicle
combination length of 75 feet from bumper to bumper.

d. Vehicles and vehicle combinations subject to exemptions or permits by authority of this
Executive Order shall not be exempt from the requirement of having a yellow banner on the front
and rear measuring a total length of 7 feet by 18 inches bearing the legend “Oversized Load” in
10 inch black letters 1.5 inches wide and red flags measuring 18 inches square to be displayed on
all sides at the widest point of the load. In addition, when operating between sunset and sunrise, a
certified escort shall be required for loads exceeding 8 feet 6 inches in width.

Section 4.

Vehicles referenced under Sections 2 and 3 shall be exempt from the following registration
requirements:

a. The $50.00 fee listed in N.C.G.S. § 105-449.49 for a temporary trip permit is waived for the
vehicles described above. No quarterly fuel tax is required because the exception in N.C.G.S. §
105-449.45(a)(1) applies.

b. The registration requirements under N.C.G.S. § 20-382.1 concerning intrastate and interstate
for-hire authority is waived; however, vehicles shall maintain the required limits of insurance as
required.

¢. Non-participants in North Carolina’s International Registration Plan will be permitted into
North Carolina in accordance with the exemptions identified by this Executive Order.

Section 5.

The size and weight exemption for vehicles will be allowed on all routes designated by the North
Carolina Department of Transportation, except those routes designated as light traffic roads
under N.C.G.S. § 20-118. This order shall not be in effect on bridges posted pursuant to
N.C.G.S. § 136-72.
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Section 6.

The waiver of regulations under Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations (Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations) does not apply to the CDL and Insurance Requirements. This waiver
shall be in effect for 30 days or the duration of the emergency, whichever is less.

Section 7.

The North Carolina State Highway Patrol shall enforce the conditions set forth in Sections 1
through 6 of this Executive Order in a manner which will implement these provisions without
endangering motorists in North Carolina.

Section 8.

Upon request by law enforcement officers, exempted vehicles must produce documentation
sufficient to establish that their loads are being used for bearing equipment and supplies for
utility restoration, debris removal, and carrying essentials in commerce in the State of North
Carolina.

Section 9.

This Executive Order does not prohibit or restrict lawfully possessed firearms or ammunition or
impose any limitation on the consumption, transportation, sale or purchase of alcoholic
beverages as provided in N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.30(c).

Section 10,

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.23, this declaration triggers the prohibition against excessive
pricing as provided in N.C.G.S. § 75-37 and 75-38 in the declared emergency area.

Section 11.

This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect for thirty (30) days or
the duration of the emergency, whichever is less.

IN WITNESS WHEREOYF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of the
State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 2™ day of July in the year of
our Lord two thousand and fourteen, and of the Independence of the United States of America
the two hundred and thirty-eight.

Pat McCror,
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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State of North Carolina

PAT McCRORY
GOVERNOR

July 2, 2014
EXECUTIVE ORDER 59
AMENDMENT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER 58

TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OF MOTOR VEHICLE REGULATIONS RELATED TO
AGRICULTURAL VEHICLES

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.70(g) on the recommendation of the
Commissioner of Agriculture, upon a finding that there is an imminent threat of severe economic
loss of livestock, poultry or crops, the Governor shall direct the Department of Public Safety to
temporarily suspend weighing those vehicles used to transport livestock, poultry and crops in the
emergency area designated in Executive Order No. 57; and

WHEREAS, under N.C.G.S. § 166A-19.70, the Governor may declare that the health, safety, or
economic well-being of persons or property requires that the maximum hours of service for
drivers prescribed by N.C.G.S. § 20-381 should be waived for persons transporting essential
fuels, food, water, medical supplies, feed for livestock and poultry, transporting livestock and
poultry and for vehicles used in the restoration of utility services; and

WHEREAS, there is an imminent threat of severe economic loss of livestock, poultry and/or
widespread or severe damage to crops without amending Executive Order No. 58.

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution
and the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.
Executive Order No. 58 issued July 2, 2014 is amended by adding the following Section 1A;
Section 1A.

The maximum hours of service waiver includes vehicles used to transport or bring feed to
livestock, poultry and move crops to a save shelter in the emergency area.

Section 2.
Executive Order No. 58 issued July 2, 2014 is amended by adding the following Section 2A:
Section 2A.

The Department of Public Safety shall suspend weighing, pursuant to N.C.G.S § 20-
118.1, those vehicles used to transport livestock, poultry and crops in the emergency area
during the duration of the emergency.
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Section 3.

This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect for thirty (30) days or
the duration of the emergency, whichever is less.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunio signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of the
State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 2™ day of July in the year of
our Lord two thousand and fourteen, and of the Independence of the United States of America

the two hundred and thirty-eight.

Pat McCrory
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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days.
Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a
later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published
notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the Private Protective Services Board intends to adopt the rules
cited as 12 NCAC 07D .0116, .1408, .1508 and amend the rules
cited as 12 NCAC 07D .0105 and .0809.

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
] OSBM certified on:
XI RRC certified on: June 18, 2014
] Not Required

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncdoj.gov/pps.aspx

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2014

Public Hearing:

Date: August 27, 2014

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: 4901 Glenwood Avenue, Suite 200, Raleigh, NC
27612

Reason for Proposed Action: One rule amendment and two
rule adoptions are to conform the Board's new rules regarding
armed and unarmed armored car guards to the remainder of the
rules. One rule amendment is to clarify the wording in the rule
governing the caliber and type of weapon that can be carried by
licensees and registrants. The fourth rule amendment makes
provision for the agency to close application files based on the
in-action of the applicant.

Comments may be submitted to: Anthony Bonapart, PPSB
Deputy Director, 4901 Glenwood Avenue, Suite 200, Raleigh,
NC 27612

Comment period ends: September 30, 2014

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(bl). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or

facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

State funds affected

Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>$1,000,000)

No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

[

X0

CHAPTER 07 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 07D - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE
SERVICES BOARD

SECTION .0100 — ORGANIZATION AND GENERAL
PROVISIONS

12 NCAC 07D .0105 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT
(@) No holder of a license, trainee permit, unarmed security
guard registration, armed security guard registration, unarmed
armored car service guard, armed armored car service guard, or
firearms trainer certificate while engaged in private protective
services, shall wear or display any badge, insignia, device,
shield, patch or pattern that indicates or tends to indicate that the
individual is a sworn law enforcement officer or that contains or
includes the word "police" or the equivalent thereof, or is similar
in wording to any law enforcement agency in the local area of
the licensee's operations.

(b) No holder, while performing any private security service,
shall have or utilize any vehicle or equipment displaying the
words "law enforcement officer," "police," or the equivalent
thereof, or have any sign, shield, marking, accessory or insignia
that indicates that the vehicle is a vehicle of a law enforcement
agency.

(c) A holder who is required to wear a military style uniform
while in the performance of private security services shall have:

1) affixed over the left breast pocket of the
uniform and on all caps or hats worn by the
individual, badges or patches, distinct in
design from those used by law enforcement
agencies within the local area of the licensee's
operations;

2 affixed over the right breast pocket of the
uniform a metal, plastic, or cloth tag not less
than three inches nor more than five inches in
length and not less than three-fourths inch nor
more than one inch in height containing the
words * i i i
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"Security  Guard,"  "Security  Officer,"
"Armored Car Guard,"” or "Armored Car
Officer" in capital letters approximately one-
half inch in height; and

©) affixed over the “Seeurity-Guard"or-"Security
Officer" "Security Guard," "Security Officer,”

SECTION .1400 - ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD
REGISTRATION (UNARMED)

12 NCAC 07D .1408 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT
The provisions of 12 NCAC 07D .0105 apply to unarmed
armored car service guards.

"Armored Car Guard," or "Armored Car
Officer" tag, a metal, plastic, or cloth tag
bearing the name of the wearer. The name tag
may be smaller than the"Seeurity-Guard“—or
“Security-Officer™ "Security Guard," "Security

Officer," "Armored Car Guard," or "Armored
Car Officer” tag if it is displayed in capital
letters five-sixteenth inch to one-half inch in
height.
(d) The wearing of the armed or unarmed private protective
services card visible on the outermost garment (except foul
weather clothing) satisfies the requirements of Subparagraphs
(c)(2), (2) and (3) of this Rule.
(e) All holders who perform the duties of a security guard or
security officer and who are not required to wear a military style
uniform shall have affixed over the right or left breast pocket of
the outermost garment (except for rainwear or other foul weather
clothing) a tag as described in (c)(2) of this Rule.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 74C-15.

12 NCAC 07D .0116
DEADLINE

All necessary photographs, record checks, proof of insurance,
explanations, interviews or requested documents must be
submitted by any applicant for a permit, license, registration or
certificate within 60 days of the Board's receipt of the
application form or a request from Board staff, whichever is
later. Any failure to submit required or requested documents to
complete the application process within this 60-day period shall
void the application and require re-application.

APPLICATION COMPLETION

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-12.

SECTION .0800 — ARMED SECURITY GUARD
FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT

12 NCAC 07D .0809 AUTHORIZED FIREARMS

Armed—security—officers Armed licensees or registrants are
authorized, while in the performance of official duties or
traveling directly to and from work, to carry a standard -38
caliber—32-caliber—or—-357caliberrevelver; revolver from .32
caliber to .357 caliber, erany a standard semi-automatic pistol of
from .354 caliber and-higher; to .45 caliber or any standard 12
gauge shotgun, as long as the officer licensee or registrant has

been properly trained en-his-respective-duty-weapen asreguired
pursuant to 12 NCAC 07D .0807. For purposes of this Section,

“standard-weapen- a "standard" firearm means a weapen-firearm
which has not been modified or altered from its original

manufactured design.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 74C-15.

SECTION .1500 - ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE
GUARDS FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT

12 NCAC 07D .1508 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT
The provisions of 12 NCAC 07D .0105 apply to armed armored
car service guards.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 74C-15.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND
NATURAL RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend
the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02D .0101, .1901-.1903; 02Q
.0101, .0103-.0104, .0203, .0308 and repeal the rules cited as
15A NCAC 02D .0801-.0802, .0804-.0806; 02Q .0601-.0607.

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
X] OSBM certified on: January 10, 2014 (15A NCAC
02D .0101, .0801-.0801, .0804-.0806; 15A NCAC 02Q
.0101, .0103, .0104, .0203, .0601-.0607);
June 3, 2014 (15A NCAC 02D .1901-.1903);
June 20, 2014 (15A NCAC 02Q .0308)
[] RRC certified on:
] Not Required

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://www.ncair.org/rules/hearing/

Proposed Effective Date:
NCAC .02D .1903);
January 1, 2015 (all other rules).

Pending legislative review (15A

Public Hearing:

Date: September 3, 2014

Time: 3:00 p.m.

Location: DENR Green Square Office Building, 217 West
Jones Street, Training Room #1210, Raleigh, NC 27603

Reason for Proposed Action:

15A NCAC 02D .0101 — Rule 15A NCAC 02D .0101 is proposed
to be amended to remove obsolete cross references that would
remain due to the transportation facility permitting rules being
proposed for repeal.

15A NCAC 02D .0801-.0802, .0804-.0806 — To repeal Rules in
Sections 15A NCAC 02D .0800 and 02Q .0600 repeal to the
transportation facility permitting requirements in Sections 15A
NCAC 02D .0800 and 02Q .0600.
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15A NCAC 02D .1901, .1902 — Rules 15A NCAC 02D .1901 and
.1902 are also proposed for amendment to update the references
to the General Statute and the name of the former Division of
Forest Resources to reflect its current name, the North Carolina
Forest Service.

15A NCAC 02D .1903 — To amend Rule 15A NCAC 02D .1903,
Open Burning without an Air Quality Permit, to incorporate
requirements in Section 28(b) of S.L. 2013-413 which also
allows transporting of land clearing materials over public roads
for open burning to locations other than facilities permitted by
the provisions of the Rule 15A NCAC 02D .1904 if the specific
requirements defined in the Section 28(b) are met.

15A NCAC 02Q .0101, .0103, .0104, .0203 — Rules 15A NCAC
02Q .0101, .0103, .0104 and .0203 are proposed to be amended
to remove obsolete cross references that would remain due to
the transportation facility permitting rules being proposed for
repeal.

15A NCAC 02Q .0308 — To amend Rule 15A NCAC 02Q .0308,
Final Action on Permit Applications, to revise the permit term
for non-Title V air quality permits from five years to eight years
to reflect changes to G.S. 143-215.108 enacted by Session Law
2013-413.

15A NCAC 02Q .0601-.0607 — To repeal Rules in Sections 15A
NCAC 02D .0800 and 02Q .0600 repeal to the transportation
facility permitting requirements in Sections 15A NCAC 02D
.0800 and 02Q .0600.

Comments may be submitted to: Joelle Burleson, Division of
Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1641; phone (919) 707-8720; fax (919) 707-8720; email
dag.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov (Please type "Transportation
Facilities, Open Burning or Permit Term™ in the subject line)

Comment period ends: September 30, 2014

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(bl). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

State funds affected 15A NCAC 02Q .0308

Environmental permitting of DOT affected

Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation

X Local funds affected 15A NCAC 02Q .0308

X Substantial economic impact (=$1,000,000)
15A NCAC 02Q .0308

X

X No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 15A
NCAC 02D .0101, .0801, .0802, .0804-.0806; 15A NCAC 02Q
.0101, .0103, .0104, .0203, .0601-.0607

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 02D — AIR POLLUTION CONTROL
REQUIREMENTS

SECTION .0100 — DEFINITIONS AND REFERENCES

15ANCAC 02D .0101  DEFINITIONS

The definition of any word or phrase used in Rules of this
Subchapter is the same as given in Article 21, G.S. 143, as
amended. The following words and phrases, which are not
defined in the article, have the following meaning:

(D) "Act" means "The North Carolina Water and
Air Resources Act."”
2 "Administrator" means when it appears in any

Code of Federal Regulation incorporated by

reference in this Subchapter, the Director of

the Division of Air Quality unless:

@) a specific rule in this Subchapter
specifies otherwise, or

(b) the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency in its delegation or approval
specifically states that a specific
authority of the Administrator of the
Environmental Protection Agency is
not included in its delegation or
approval.

3 "Air pollutant" means an air pollution agent or
combination of such agents, including any
physical, chemical, biological, radioactive
substance or matter emitted into or otherwise
entering the ambient air.

(@) "Ambient air" means that portion of the
atmosphere outside buildings or other enclosed
structures, stacks or ducts, and that surrounds
human, animal or plant life, or property.

5) "Approved” means approved by the Director
of the Division of Air Quality according to
these Rules.

(6) "Capture system" means the equipment

(including hoods, ducts, fans, etc.) used to
contain, capture, or transport a pollutant to a
control device.

@) "CFR" means "Code of Federal Regulations."

8) "Combustible material" means any substance
that, when ignited, will burn in air.

©)] "Construction” means change in method of
operation or any physical change, including
on-site  fabrication, erection, installation,

replacement, demolition, or modification of a
source, that results in a change in emissions or
affects the compliance status.

(10) "Control device" means equipment (fume
incinerator, adsorber, absorber, scrubber, filter
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(11)
(12)
(13)
(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)
(18)

(19)

(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

(26)

media, cyclone, electrostatic precipitator, or
the like) used to destroy or remove air
pollutant(s) before discharge to the ambient
air.

"Day" means a 24-hour period beginning at
midnight.

"Director" means the Director of the Division
of Air Quality unless otherwise specified.
"Division" means Division of Air Quality.
"Dustfall" means particulate matter that settles
out of the air and is expressed in units of
grams per square meter per 30-day period.
"Emission" means the release or discharge,
whether directly or indirectly, of any air
pollutant into the ambient air from any source.
"Facility" means all of the pollutant emitting

activities, except transportation—facilities—as

transportation facilities, that are located on one
or more adjacent properties under common
control.

"FR" means Federal Register.

"Fugitive emission" means those emissions
that could not reasonably pass through a stack,
chimney, vent, or other functionally equivalent
opening.

"Fuel burning equipment” means equipment
whose primary purpose is the production of
energy or power from the combustion of any
fuel. The equipment is generally used for, but
not limited to, heating water, generating or
circulating steam, heating air as in warm air
furnace, or furnishing process heat by
transferring energy by fluids or through
process vessel walls.

"Garbage" means any animal and vegetable
waste resulting from the handling, preparation,
cooking and serving of food.

"Incinerator" means a device designed to burn
solid, liquid, or gaseous waste material.
"Opacity" means that property of a substance
tending to obscure vision and is measured as
percent obscuration.

"Open burning” means any fire whose
products of combustion are emitted directly
into the outdoor atmosphere without passing
through a stack or chimney, approved
incinerator, or other similar device.

"Owner or operator" means any person who
owns, leases, operates, controls, or supervises
a facility, source, or air pollution control
equipment.

"Particulate matter" means any material except
uncombined water that exists in a finely
divided form as a liquid or solid at standard
conditions.

"Particulate matter emissions" means all finely
divided solid or liquid material, other than
uncombined water, emitted to the ambient air

(@7)

(28)

(29)

(30)

(1)

(32)

(33)

(34)

(3%)

(36)

@37)

(38)

as measured by methods specified in this
Subchapter.

"Permitted” means any source subject to a
permit under this Subchapter or Subchapter
15A NCAC 02Q.

"Person" as defined in G.S. 143-212 includes
any individual, partnership, co-partnership,
firm, company, corporation, association, joint
stock company, trust, estate, political
subdivision, or any other legal entity, or its
legal representative, agent or assigns.

"PM10" means particulate matter with an
aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a
nominal 10 micrometers as measured by
methods specified in this Subchapter.

"PM10 emissions" means finely divided solid
or liquid material, with an aerodynamic
diameter less than or equal to a nominal 10
micrometers emitted to the ambient air as
measured by methods specified in this
Subchapter.

PM2.5" means particulate matter with an
aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a
nominal 2.5 micrometers as measured by
methods specified in this Subchapter.

"Refuse" means any garbage, rubbish, or trade
waste.

"Rubbish” means solid or liquid wastes from
residences, commercial establishments, or
institutions.

"Rural area” means an area that is primarily
devoted to, but not necessarily limited to, the
following uses: agriculture, recreation, wildlife
management, state park, or any area of natural
cover.

"Salvage operation" means any business, trade,
or industry engaged in whole or in part in
salvaging or reclaiming any product or
material, including, but not limited to, metal,
chemicals, motor  vehicles, shipping
containers, or drums.

"Smoke"” means small gas-borne particles
resulting from incomplete  combustion,
consisting predominantly of carbon, ash, and
other burned or unburned residue of
combustible materials that form a visible
plume.

"Source” means any stationary article,
machine, process equipment, or other

contrivance; or any combination; or any tank-
truck, trailer, or railroad tank car; from which
air pollutants emanate or are emitted, either
directly or indirectly.

"Sulfur oxides" means sulfur dioxide, sulfur
trioxide, their acids and the salts of their acids.
The concentration of sulfur dioxide is
measured by the methods specified in this
Subchapter.
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(39) "Transportation facility” means a complex
source as defined in G.S. 143-213(22).
{39)(40) "Total suspended particulate™ means any finely
divided solid or liquid material, except water
in uncombined form, that is or has been
airborne as measured by methods specified in

this Subchapter.

{40)(41) "Trade wastes" means all solid, liquid, or
gaseous waste materials or rubbish resulting
from combustion, salvage operations, building
operations, or the operation of any business,
trade, or industry including, but not limited to,
plastic products, paper, wood, glass, metal,
paint, grease, oil and other petroleum products,
chemicals, and ashes.

{41)(42) "ug" means micrograms.

Authority G.S. 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(L).
SECTION .0800 - COMPLEX SOURCES

15A NCAC 02D .0801 = PURPOSE AND SCOPE
3y T £ this Section-i : . ‘

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.109.

15A NCAC 02D .0802 DEFINITIONS
| f thi ion. the-following-definiti e

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.109.

15A NCAC 02D .0804 AIRPORT FACILITIES

(8)—TFhis-Rule-dees-notapply-to-military-airfields:

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.109.

15A NCAC 02D .0805 PARKING FACILITIES
By T | ‘ ion_facili "
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Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.109.

15ANCAC 02D .0806 AMBIENT MONITORING AND
MODELING ANALYSIS

{&—TheDirector—may—require—the—owner—or—developer—of—a

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66; 143-215.109.

SECTION .1900 - OPEN BURNING

15A NCAC 02D .1901
SCOPE

(@) Open Burning Prohibited. A person shall not cause, allow,
or permit open burning of combustible material except as
allowed by Rule .1903 and Rule .1904 of this Section.

(b) Purpose. The purpose of this Section is to control air
pollution resulting from the open burning of combustible
materials and to protect the air quality in the immediate area of
the open burning.

(c) Scope. This Section applies to all operations involving open
burning. This Section does not authorize any open burning

which is a crime under G:S—14-136-through-G-S-14-140.1; G.S.

OPEN BURNING: PURPOSE:

14-136, G.S. 14-137, G.S. 14-138.1 and G.S. 14-140.1, or affect
the authority of the Bivision-ef North Carolina Forest Reseurees
Service to issue or deny permits for open burning in or adjacent
to woodlands as provided in G.S—113-60-21 G.S. 106-940
through G:S5—113-60:3%. G.S. 106-950. This Section does not
affect the authority of any local government to regulate open
burning through its fire codes or other ordinances. The issuance
of any open burning permit by the Bivision-ef North Carolina
Forest Resources Service or any local government does not
relieve any person from the necessity of complying with this
Section or any other air quality rule.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5).

15ANCAC 02D .1902 DEFINITIONS
For the purpose of this Section, the following definitions apply:
(D) "Air Curtain Burner" means a stationary or
portable combustion device that directs a plane
of high velocity forced draft air through a
manifold head into a pit or container with
vertical walls in such a manner as to maintain
a curtain of air over the surface of the pit and a
recirculating motion of air under the curtain.
2) "Air Quality Action Day Code 'Orange' or
above" means an air quality index greater than
100 as defined in 40 CFR Part 58, Appendix

G.
©) "Air quality forecast area” means for
(@) Asheville air quality forecast area:
Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson,
Jackson, Madison, Swain,
Transylvania, and Yancey Counties;
(b) Charlotte air quality forecast area:

Cabarrus, Gaston, Iredell South of
Interstate 40, Lincoln, Mecklenburg,
Rowan, and Union Counties;

(c) Hickory air quality forecast area:

Alexander, Burke, Caldwell, and
Catawba Counties;

(d) Fayetteville air quality forecast area:
Cumberland and Harnett Counties;

(e) Rocky Mount air quality forecast

area: Edgecombe and Nash Counties;

) Triad air quality forecast area:
Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie,
Forsyth, Guilford, Randolph,
Rockingham, and Stokes Counties;
and

(9) Triangle air quality forecast area:
Chatham, Durham, Franklin,
Granville, Johnston, Person, Orange,
Vance, and Wake Counties.

(@) "Smoke management plan" means the plan
developed following the North Carolina
Divisien-of Forest Reseureces: Service's smoke
management program and approved by the
North Carolina Bivisien-of Forest Resourees:
Service. The purpose of the smoke
management plan is to manage smoke from

29:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2014




PROPOSED RULES

(5)

(6)
(")
(8)

(9)
(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

prescribed burns of public and private forests
to minimize the impact of smoke on air quality
and visibility.

"Dangerous materials" means explosives or
containers used in the holding or transporting
of explosives.

"HHCB" means the Health Hazards Control
Branch of the Division of Epidemiology.
"Initiated" means start or ignite a fire or
reignite or rekindle a fire.

"Land clearing” means the uprooting or
clearing of wvegetation in connection with

construction  for  buildings; right-of-way
maintenance; agricultural, residential,
commercial, institutional, or industrial

development; mining activities; or the initial
clearing of vegetation to enhance property
value; but does not include routine
maintenance or property clean-up activities.
"Log" means any limb or trunk whose
diameter exceeds six inches.
"Nonattainment area" means an area identified
in 40 CFR 81.334 as nonattainment.
"Nuisance" means causing physical irritation
exacerbating a documented medical condition,
visibility impairment, or evidence of soot or
ash on property or structure other than the
property on which the burning is done.
"Occupied structure” means a building in
which people may live or work or one
intended for housing farm or other domestic
animals.
"Off-site" means any area not on the premises
of the land-clearing activities.
"Open burning” means the burning of any
matter in such a manner that the products of
combustion resulting from the burning are
emitted directly into the atmosphere without
passing through a stack, chimney, or a
permitted air pollution control device.
"Operator” as used in .1904(b)(6) and
.1904(b)(2)(D) of this Section, means the
person in operational control over the open
burning.
"Person™ as used in 02D .1901(c), means:
€)] the person in operational control over
the open burning; or
(b) the landowner or person in possession
or control of the land when he has
directly or indirectly allowed the
open burning or has benefited from it.
"Pile" means a quantity of combustible
material assembled together in a mass.
"Public pick-up™ means the removal of refuse,
yard trimmings, limbs, or other plant material
from a residence by a governmental agency,
private company contracted by a governmental
agency or municipal service.

(19)

(20)

(1)

(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

"Public road" means any road that is part of
the State highway system; or any road, street,
or right-of-way dedicated or maintained for
public use.

"RACM" means regulated ashestos containing
material as defined in 40 CFR 61.142.
"Refuse” means any garbage, rubbish, or trade
waste.

"Regional Office Supervisor" means the
supervisor of personnel of the Division of Air
Quality in a regional office of the Department
of Environment and Natural Resources.
"Salvageable items" means any product or
material that was first discarded or damaged
and then all, or part, was saved for future use,
and include insulated wire, electric motors,
and electric transformers.

"Synthetic  material* means man-made
material, including tires, asphalt materials such
as shingles or asphaltic roofing materials,
construction  materials,  packaging  for
construction  materials, wire, electrical
insulation, and treated or coated wood.
"Permanent site" means for an air curtain
burner, a place where an air curtain burner is
operated for more than nine months.

Authority G.S. 143-212; 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(L).

15A NCAC 02D .1903

OPEN BURNING WITHOUT AN

AIR QUALITY PERMIT

(a) All open burning is prohibited except open burning allowed
under Paragraph (b) of this Rule or Rule .1904 of this Section.
Except as allowed under Paragraphs (b)(3) through (b)(9) of this
Rule, open burning shall not be initiated in an air quality forecast
area that the Department, or the Forsyth County Environmental
Affairs Department for the Triad air quality forecast area, has
forecasted to be in an Air Quality Action Day Code "Orange" or
above during the time period covered by that forecast.

(b) The following types of open burning are permissible without
an air quality permit:

@)

open burning of leaves, tree branches or yard

trimmings, excluding logs and stumps, if the

following conditions are met:

(A) The material burned originates on the
premises of private residences and is
burned on those premises;

(B) There are no public pickup services
available;
© Non-vegetative materials, such as

household garbage, lumber, or any
other synthetic materials are not
burned;

(D) The burning is initiated no earlier
than 8:00 a.m. and no additional
combustible material is added to the
fire between 6:00 p.m. on one day
and 8:00 a.m. on the following day;
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)

(E)
(F)

The burning does not create a
nuisance; and

Material is not burned when the
North Carolina Forest Service has
banned burning for that area.

open burning for land clearing or right-of-way
maintenance if the following conditions are

met:
(A)

(B)

The wind direction at the time that
the burning is initiated and the wind
direction as forecasted by the
National Weather Service at the time
that the burning is initiated are away
from any area, including public roads
within 250 feet of the burning as
measured from the edge of the
pavement or other roadway surface,
which may be affected by smoke, ash,
or other air pollutants from the
burning;
The location of the burning is at least
500 feet from any dwelling, group of
dwellings, or  commercial or
institutional establishment, or other
occupied structure not located on the
property on which the burning is
conducted. The regional office
supervisor may grant exceptions to
the setback requirements if:

0] a signed, written statement
waiving objections to the
open burning associated with
the land clearing operation is
obtained and submitted to,
and the exception granted
by, the regional office
supervisor before the
burning begins from a
resident or an owner of each
dwelling, commercial or
institutional  establishment,
or other occupied structure
within 500 feet of the open
burning site. In the case of a
lease or rental agreement,
the lessee or renter shall be
the person from whom
permission shall be gained
prior to any burning; or

(i) an air curtain burner that
complies with Rule .1904 of
this Section, is utilized at the
open burning site.

Factors that the regional supervisor

shall consider in deciding to grant the

exception include: all the persons
who need to sign the statement
waiving the objection have signed it;
the location of the burn; and the type,

©

(D)

B

F

amount, and nature of the
combustible substances. The regional
supervisor shall not grant a waiver if
a college, school, licensed day care,
hospital, licensed rest home, or other
similar institution is less than 500 feet
from the proposed burn site when
such institution is occupied.
Only land-cleared plant growth is
burned. Heavy oils, asphaltic
materials such as shingles and other
roofing materials, items containing
natural or synthetic rubber, or any
materials other than plant growth
shall not be burned; however,
kerosene, distillate oil, or diesel fuel
may be used to start the fire;
Initial burning begins only between
the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m.,
and no combustible material is added
to the fire between 6:00 p.m. on one
day and 8:00 a.m. on the following
day;
No fires are initiated or vegetation
added to existing fires when the
North Carolina Forest Service has
banned burning for that area; and
Materials are not carried off-site or
transported over public roads for
open burning unless the materials are
carried off-site or transported ever
i ie; to:
(i) Facilities  permitted  in
accordance with 15A NCAC
02D .1904 (Air_Curtain

Burners) for the operation of

an air curtain burner at a

permanent site; or

(i) A location, where the
material is burned not more
than four times per year, that
meets all of the following
criteria:

()] At least 500 feet
from any dwelling,
group of dwellings,
or _commercial or

institutional

establishment,  or
other occupied
structure not

located on _ the
property on_which
the  burning is
conducted.
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3)

(4)

Q)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

(1 There are no more
than two piles, each
20 feet in diameter,
being burned at one
time.

(1n The location is not
a_permitted solid
waste management
facility.

camp fires and fires used solely for outdoor
cooking and other recreational purposes, or for
ceremonial occasions, or for human warmth
and comfort and which do not create a
nuisance and do not use synthetic materials or
refuse or salvageable materials for fuel,

fires purposely set to public or private forest
land for forest management practices for
which burning is acceptable to the North
Carolina Forest Service and which follow the
smoke management plan as outlined in the
North Carolina Forest Service's smoke
management program;

fires purposely set to agricultural lands for
disease and pest control and fires set for other
agricultural or apicultural practices for which
burning is currently acceptable to the
Department of Agriculture;

fires purposely set for wildlife management
practices for which burning is currently
acceptable to the Wildlife  Resource
Commission;

fires for the disposal of dangerous materials
when it is the safest and most practical method
of disposal;

fires purposely set by manufacturers of fire-
extinguishing materials or equipment, testing
laboratories, or other persons, for the purpose
of testing or developing these materials or
equipment in accordance with a standard
qualification program;

fires purposely set for the instruction and
training of fire-fighting personnel at
permanent fire-fighting training facilities;

fires purposely set for the instruction and
training of fire-fighting personnel when
conducted under the supervision of or with the
cooperation of one or more of the following
agencies:

(A) the North Carolina Forest Service;

(B) the  North  Carolina  Insurance
Department;
© North Carolina technical institutes; or
(D) North Carolina community colleges,
including:
(1) the North Carolina Fire
College; or
(i) the North Carolina Rescue
College;

(11)

(12)

fires not described in Subparagraphs (9) or
(10) of this Paragraph, purposely set for the
instruction and training of fire-fighting
personnel, provided that:
(A) The regional office supervisor of the
appropriate regional office and the
HHCB have been notified according
to the procedures and deadlines
contained in the appropriate regional
notification form. This form may be
obtained by writing the appropriate
regional office at the address in Rule
.1905 of this Section and requesting
it, and
(B) The regional office supervisor has
granted permission for the burning.
Factors that the regional office
supervisor shall consider in granting
permission for the burning include
type, amount, and nature of
combustible substances. The regional
office supervisor shall not grant
permission for the burning of
salvageable items, such as insulated
wire and electric motors or if the
primary purpose of the fire is to
dispose of synthetic materials or
refuse. The regional office supervisor
of the appropriate regional office
shall not consider previously
demolished structures as having
training value. However, the regional
office supervisor of the appropriate
regional office may allow an exercise
involving the burning of motor
vehicles burned over a period of time
by a training unit or by several related
training units. Any deviations from
the dates and times of exercises,
including additions, postponements,
and deletions, submitted in the
schedule in the approved plan shall be
communicated verbally to the
regional office supervisor of the
appropriate regional office at least
one hour before the burn s
scheduled; and
fires for the disposal of material generated as a
result of a natural disaster, such as tornado,
hurricane, or flood, if the regional office
supervisor grants permission for the burning.
The person desiring to do the burning shall
document and provide written notification to
the regional office supervisor of the
appropriate regional office that there is no
other practical method of disposal of the
waste. Factors that the regional office
supervisor shall consider in granting
permission for the burning include type,
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amount, location of the burning, and nature of
combustible substances. The regional office
supervisor shall not grant permission for the
burning if the primary purpose of the fire is to
dispose of synthetic materials or refuse or
recovery of salvageable materials. Fires
authorized under this Subparagraph shall
comply with the conditions of Subparagraph
(b)(2) of this Rule.
(c) The authority to conduct open burning under this Section
does not exempt or excuse any person from the consequences,
damages or injuries that may result from this conduct. It does not
excuse or exempt any person from complying with all applicable
laws, ordinances, rules or orders of any other governmental
entity having jurisdiction even though the open burning is
conducted in compliance with this Section.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); S.L. 2011-
394, s.2.

SUBCHAPTER 02Q — AIR QUALITY PERMITS
PROCEDURES

SECTION .0100 — GENERAL PROVISIONS

15A NCAC 02Q .0101
PERMITS

(@ No owner or operator shall do any of the following
activities, that is not otherwise exempted, without first applying
for and obtaining an air quality permit:

@ construct, operate, or modify a source subject
to an applicable standard, requirement, or rule
that emits any regulated pollutant or one or
more of the following:

REQUIRED AIR QUALITY

(A) sulfur dioxide,

(B) total suspended particulates,

© particulate matter (PM10),

(D) carbon monoxide,

(E) nitrogen oxides,

(F) volatile organic compounds,

(©)) lead and lead compounds,

(H) fluorides,

()] total reduced sulfur,

) reduced sulfur compounds,

(K) hydrogen sulfide,

(L) sulfuric acid mist,

(M) asbestos,

(N) arsenic and arsenic compounds,

(0)] beryllium and beryllium compounds,

(P) cadmium and cadmium compounds,

(Q chromium(VI) and chromium(VI)
compounds,

(R) mercury and mercury compounds,

(S) hydrogen chloride,

(M vinyl chloride,

(9)] benzene,

V) ethylene oxide,

(W) dioxins and furans,

(X) 0zone, or

) any toxic air pollutant listed in 15A
NCAC 02D .1104; or

construct, operate, or modify a facility that has
the potential to emit at least 10 tons per year of
any hazardous air pollutant or 25 tons per year
of all hazardous air pollutants combined or
that are subject to requirements established
under the following sections of the federal
Clean Air Act:

@

(A) Section 112(d), emissions standards;

(B) Section 112(f), standards to protect
public health and the environment;

© Section 112(g), construction and
reconstruction;

(D) Section 112(h), work practice
standards and other requirements;

(E) Section 112(i)(5), early reduction;

() Section 112(j), federal failure to
promulgate standards;

(G) Section 112(r), accidental releases.

(b) Fhere-aretwo-types-of-airquality-permits:

4R Stationary Source Construction and Operation
Permit: With the exception allowed by G.S.
143-215.108A, the owner or operator of a new,
modified, or existing facility or source shall
not begin construction or operation without
first obtaining a construction and operation
permit in accordance with the standard
procedures under Section .0300 of this
Subchapter. Title V facilities are subject to the
Title V procedures under Section .0500 of this
Subchapter including the acid rain procedures
under Section .0400 of this Subchapter. A
facility may also be subject to the air toxic
procedures under 15A NCAC 02Q .0700.

2 . ity C ; "
The—owner—or—operator—of—a—transportation
facili . . :

| it followi
(c) Fees shall be paid in accordance with the requirements of
Section .0200 of this Subchapter.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 143-215.109.

15A NCAC 02Q .0103 DEFINITIONS
For the purposes of this Subchapter, the definitions in G.S. 143-
212 and 6=S- G.S. 143-213 and the following definitions apply:
@ "Administrator" means when it appears in any
Code of Federal Regulation incorporated by
reference in this Subchapter, the Director of
the Division of Air Quality unless:

(@) a specific rule in this Subchapter
specifies otherwise, or
(b) the U.S. Environmental Protection

Agency in its delegation or approval
specifically states that a specific
authority of the Administrator of the
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)

3)

(4)
(5)

Environmental Protection Agency is

not included in its delegation or

approval.
"Air Pollutant”" means an air pollution agent or
combination of such agents, including any
physical, chemical, biological, radioactive
substance or matter which is emitted into or
otherwise enters the ambient air. Water vapor
is not considered to be an air pollutant.
"Allowable emissions" mean the maximum
emissions allowed by the applicable rules
contained in 15A NCAC 2D or by permit
conditions if the permit limits emissions to a
lesser amount.

"Alter or change" means to make a

modification.

"Applicable requirements™ means:

@ any requirement of Section .0500 of
this Subchapter;

(b) any standard or other requirement

provided for in the implementation
plan approved or promulgated by
EPA through rulemaking under Title
| of the federal Clean Air Act that
implements the relevant requirements
of the federal Clean Air Act including
any revisions to 40 CFR Part 52;

(© any term or condition of a
construction permit for a facility
covered under 15A NCAC 2D .0530,
.0531, or .0532;

(d) any standard or other requirement
under Section 111 or 112 of the
federal Clean Air Act, but not
including the contents of any risk
management plan required under
Section 112 of the federal Clean Air
Act;

(e) any standard or other
under Title 1V;

(j)] any standard or other requirement
governing solid waste incineration
under Section 129 of the federal
Clean Air Act;

(9) any standard or other requirement
under Section 183(e), 183(f), or 328
of the federal Clean Air Act;

(h) any standard or requirement under
Title VI of the federal Clean Air Act
unless a permit for such requirement
is not required under this Section;

requirement

(1) any requirement under Section 504(b)
or 114(a)(3) of the federal Clean Air
Act; or

()] any national ambient air quality

standard or increment or visibility
requirement under Part C of Title | of
the federal Clean Air Act, but only as
it would apply to temporary sources

(6)
U]

(8)
©)

(10)
(11)
(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

permitted pursuant to 504(e) of the

federal Clean Air Act.
"Applicant” means the person who is applying
for an air quality permit from the Division.
"Application package" means all elements or
documents needed to make an application
complete.
"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations.
"Construction" means change in the method of
operation or any physical change (including
on-site  fabrication, erection, installation,
replacement, demolition, or modification of a
source) that results in a change in emissions or
affects the compliance status. The following
activities are not construction:

(a) clearing and grading;
(b) building access roads, driveways, and
parking lots,—except—parking—lots
irod ; .
-0600; lots;
(c) building and installing underground

pipe work, including water, sewer,
electric, and telecommunications
utilities; or

(d) building ancillary structures,
including fences and office buildings
that are not a necessary component of
an air contaminant source, equipment,
or associated air cleaning device for
which a permit is required under G.S.
143-215.108.

"Director” means the Director of the Division

of Air Quality.

"Division" means the Division of Air Quality.

"EPA" means the United States Environmental

Protection Agency or the Administrator of the

Environmental Protection Agency.

"EPA approves" means full approval, interim

approval, or partial approval by EPA.

"Equivalent unadulterated fuels" means used

oils that have been refined such that the

content of toxic additives or contaminants in

the oil are no greater than those in

unadulterated fossil fuels.

"Facility" means all of the pollutant emitting

activities, except—transportation—facilities—as

transportation facilities, that are located on one
or more adjacent properties under common
control.

"Federally enforceable" or
"federal-enforceable” means enforceable by
EPA.

"Fuel combustion equipment” means any fuel
burning source covered under 15A NCAC 2D
.0503, .0504, .0536, or 40 CFR Part 60
Subpart D, Da, Db, or Dc.

"Green wood" means wood with a moisture
content of 18% or more.
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(19)

(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

(24)

"Hazardous air pollutant” means any pollutant
which has been listed pursuant to Section
112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act. Pollutants
listed only in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 (Toxic
Air Pollutant Guidelines), but not pursuant to
Section 112(b), are not included in this
definition.

"Insignificant activities" means activities
defined as insignificant activities because of
category or as insignificant activities because
of size or production rate under Rule .0503 of
this Subchapter.

"Lesser quantity cutoff" means:

€)] for a source subject to the

requirements of Section 112(d) or (j)

of the federal Clean Air Act, the level

of emissions of hazardous air
pollutants below which the following
are not required:

0] maximum achievable control
technology (MACT) or
generally available control
technology (GACT),
including  work  practice
standards, requirement under
Section 112(d) of the federal
Clean Air Act;

(i) a MACT standard
established under Section
112(j) of the federal Clean
Air Act; or

(iii) substitute MACT or GACT
adopted under Section 112(1)
of the federal Clean Air Act.

(b) for modification of a source subject
to, or may be subject to, the
requirements of Section 112(g) of the
federal Clean Air Act, the level of
emissions of hazardous air pollutants
below which MACT is not required
to be applied under Section 112(g) of
the federal Clean Air Act; or

(© for all other sources, potential
emissions of each hazardous air
pollutant below 10 tons per year and
the aggregate potential emissions of

all hazardous air pollutants below 25

tons per year.

"Major facility" means a major source as

defined under 40 CFR 70.2.

"Modification” means any physical change or

change in method of operation that results in a

change in emissions or affects compliance
status of the source or facility.

"Owner or operator" means any person who

owns, leases, operates, controls, or supervises

a facility, source, or air pollution control

equipment.

(25)

(26)

@7)

(28)

(29)

(30)

"Peak shaving generator" means a generator
that is located at a facility and is used only to
serve that facility's on-site electrical load
during peak demand periods for the purpose of
reducing the cost of electricity; it does not
generate electricity for resale. A peak shaving
generator may also be used for emergency
backup.
"Permit" means the legally binding written
document, including any revisions thereto,
issued pursuant to G.S. 143-215.108 to the
owner or operator of a facility or source that
emits one or more air pollutants and that
allows that facility or source to operate in
compliance with G.S. 143-215.108. This
document  specifies  the  requirements
applicable to the facility or source and to the
permittee.
"Permittee” means the person who has
received an air quality permit from the
Division.
"Potential emissions” means the rate of
emissions of any air pollutant that would occur
at the facility's maximum capacity to emit any
air pollutant under its physical and operational
design. Any physical or operational limitation
on the capacity of a facility to emit an air
pollutant shall be treated as a part of its design
if the limitation is federally enforceable. Such
physical or operational limitations include air
pollution control equipment and restrictions on
hours of operation or on the type or amount of
material combusted, stored, or processed.
Potential emissions include fugitive emissions
as specified in the definition of major source in
40 CFR 70.2. Potential emissions do not
include a facility's secondary emissions such
as those from motor vehicles associated with
the facility and do not include emissions from
insignificant activities because of category as
defined under Rule .0503 of this Section. If a
rule in 40 CFR Part 63 uses a different
methodology to calculate potential emissions,
that methodology shall be used for sources and
pollutants covered under that rule.
"Portable generator" means a generator
permanently mounted on a trailer or a frame
with wheels.
"Regulated air pollutant” means:
(@) nitrogen oxides or any volatile
organic compound as defined under
40 CFR 51.100;
(b) any pollutant for which there is an
ambient air quality standard under 40
CFR Part 50;
(c) any pollutant regulated under 15A
NCAC 02D .0524, .1110, or .1111 or
40 CFR Part 60, 61, or 63;
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(d) any pollutant subject to a standard
promulgated under Section 112 of the
federal Clean Air Act or other
requirements  established  under
Section 112 of the federal Clean Air
Act, including Section 112(g) (but
only for the facility subject to Section
112(g)(2) of the federal Clean Air
Act), (j), or (r) of the federal Clean

Air Act; or
(e) any Class | or Il substance listed
under Section 602 of the federal
Clean Air Act.
(31) "Sawmill" means a place or operation where

logs are sawed into lumber consisting of one
or more of these activities: debarking, sawing,
and sawdust handling. Activities that are not
considered part of a sawmill include chipping,

sanding, planning, routing, lathing, and
drilling.

(32) "Source" means any stationary article,
machine, process equipment, or other

contrivance, or combination thereof, from
which air pollutants emanate or are emitted,
either directly or indirectly.

(33) "Toxic air pollutant” means any of the
carcinogens, chronic toxicants, acute systemic
toxicants, or acute irritants that are listed in
15A NCAC 02D .1104.

(34) "Transportation facility” means a complex
source as defined at-G-S—143-213(22)-that-is

subjectio-the-requirements-o - IBA-NCAC-02D
-0800: in G.S. 143-213(22).

(35) "Unadulterated fossil fuel" means fuel oils,
coal, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas to
which no toxic additives have been added that
could result in the emissions of a toxic air
pollutant listed under 15A NCAC 02D .1104.

Authority G.S. 143-212; 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(L).

15A NCAC 02Q .0104 WHERE TO OBTAIN AND FILE
PERMIT APPLICATIONS

(@) Application forms for a permit or permit modification may
be obtained from and shall be filed with the Director, Division of
Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina
27699-1641 or any of the regional offices listed under Rule
.0105 of this Section.

(b) The number of copies of applications to be filed are
specified in Rules .0305 (construction and operation permit

procedures); procedures) and .0507 (Title V permit procedures);
. E . focili . - 7

procedures) of this Subchapter.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 143-215.109.

SECTION .0200 - PERMIT FEES

15A NCAC 02Q .0203 PERMIT AND APPLICATION
FEES
(a) The owner or operator of any facility holding a permit shall

pay the following permit fees:

ANNUAL PERMIT FEES

Facility Tonnage Basic Nonattainment
Category Factor Permit  Area Added Fee
Fee
$22.50 upon
Title V Rule effective ~ $6,500 $3,500
date;
$25.00 on
01/01/2009;
$27.50 on
01/01/2010;
$30.00 on
01/01/2011
and thereafter.
Synthetic $1,500
Minor
Small $250
Transportation $0
General 50% of the otherwise applicable fee

A facility, other than a Title V facility, which has been in
compliance is eligible for a 25 percent discount from the annual
permit fees as described in Paragraph (a) of Rule .0205 of this
Section. Annual permit fees for Title V facilities shall be
adjusted for inflation as described in Rule .0204 of this Section.
Annual permit fees for Title V facilities consist of the sum of the
applicable fee elements.

(b) In addition to the annual permit fee, a permit applicant shall
pay a non-refundable permit application fee as follows:

PERMIT APPLICATION FEES
(FEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 1994)

Facility New New or Minor Owners
Category or Significant  Modifica hip
Modifi  Modificati tion Change
cation on
Title V $7200 $700 $50
Title V (PSD $1090 50
or NSR/NAA) 0
Title V (PSD 21200 50
and NSR/NAA)
Synthetic 400 50
Minor
Small 50 25
Transportation 400 50
General 50% of the otherwise applicable 25
fee

Permit application fees for Title V facilities shall be adjusted for
inflation as described in Rule .0204 of this Section.
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(c) If a facility, other than a general facility, belongs to more
than one facility category, the fees shall be those of the
applicable category with the highest fees. If a permit application
belongs to more than one type of application, the fee shall be
that of the applicable permit application type with the highest
fee.
(d) The tonnage factor fee shall be applicable only to Title V
facilities. It shall be computed by multiplying the tonnage factor
indicated in the table in Paragraph (a) of this Rule by the
facility's combined total actual emissions of all regulated air
pollutants, rounded to the nearest ton, contained in the latest
emissions inventory that has been completed by the Division.
The calculation shall not include:
(1) carbon monoxide;
2 any pollutant that is regulated solely because it
is a Class | or Il substance listed under Section
602 of the federal Clean Air Act (ozone
depletors);
3 any pollutant that is regulated solely because it
is subject to a regulation or standard under
Section 112(r) of the federal Clean Air Act
(accidental releases); and
4) the amount of actual emissions of each
pollutant that exceeds 4,000 tons per year.
Even though a pollutant may be classified in more than one
pollutant category, the amount of pollutant emitted shall be
counted only once for tonnage factor fee purposes and in a
pollutant category chosen by the permittee. If a facility has more
than one permit, the tonnage factor fee for the facility's
combined total actual emissions as described in this Paragraph
shall be paid only on the permit whose anniversary date first
occurs on or after July 1.
(e) The nonattainment area added fee shall be applicable only to
Title V facilities required to comply with 15A NCAC 02D
.0531, 15A NCAC 02D .0900 (Volatile Organic Compounds), or
15A NCAC 02D .1400 (Nitrogen Oxides) and either:
(1) are in a area designated in 40 CFR 81.334 as
nonattainment, or
2 are covered by a nonattainment or
maintenance State Implementation Plan
submitted for approval or approved as part of
40 CFR Part 52, Subpart I1.
() A Title V (PSD or NSR/NAA) facility is a facility whose
application is subject to review under 15A NCAC 02D .0530
(Prevention of Significant Deterioration) or 15A NCAC 02D
.0531 (Sources in Nonattainment Areas).
(9) A Title V (PSD and NSR/NAA) facility is a facility whose
application is subject to review under 15A NCAC 02D .0530
(Prevention of Significant Deterioration) and 15A NCAC 02D
.0531 (Sources in Nonattainment Areas).
(h) Minor modification permit applications that are group
processed require the payment of only one permit application fee
per facility included in the group.
(i) No permit application fee is required for renewal of an
existing permit, for changes to an unexpired permit when the
only reason for the changes is initiated by the Director or the
Commission, for a name change with no ownership change, for a
change under Rule .0523 (Changes Not Requiring Permit
Revisions) of this Subchapter, or for a construction date change,

a test date change, a reporting procedure change, or a similar
change.

(j) The permit application fee paid for modifications under 15A
NCAC 02Q .0400, Acid Rain Procedures, shall be the fee for the
same modification if it were under 15A NCAC 02D .0500, Title
V Procedures.

(k) An applicant who files permit applications pursuant to Rule
.0504 of this Subchapter shall pay an application fee as would be
determined by the application fee for the permit required under
Section .0500 of this Subchapter; this fee will cover both
applications provided that the second application covers only
what is covered under the first application. If permit terms or
conditions in an existing or future permit issued under Section
.0500 of this Subchapter will be established or modified by an
application for a modification and if these terms or conditions
are enforceable by the Division only, then the applicant shall pay
the fee under the column entitled "02Q .0300 Only or Minor
Modification" in the table in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(1a),(1b),(1d); 150B-21.6.

SECTION .0300 - CONSTRUCTION AND OPERATION
PERMITS

FINAL ACTION ON PERMIT
APPLICATIONS

15A NCAC 02Q .0308

(a) The Director may:
(8] issue a permit, permit modification, or a
renewal containing the conditions necessary to
carry out the purposes of G.S. 143, Article

21B;
2 rescind a permit upon request by the permittee;
3 deny a permit application when necessary to
carry out the purposes of G.S. 143, Article
21B.

(b) Any person whose application for a permit, permit
modification, renewal or letter requesting change in name or
ownership, construction or test date, or reporting procedure, is
denied or is granted subject to conditions which are unacceptable
to him shall have the right to appeal the Director's decision under
Acrticle 3 of G.S. 150B. The person shall have 30 days following
receipt of the notice of the Director's decision on the application
or permit in which to appeal the Director's decision. The permit
becomes final if the applicant does not contest the permit within
this 30-day period.

(c) The Director shall issue or renew a permit for a period-of
) . ) lot odshall
notexceed-five.years: term of eight years.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108.

SECTION .0600 - TRANSPORTATION FACILITY
PROCEDURES

15A NCAC 02Q .0601 PURPOSE OF SECTION AND
REQUIREMENT FOR A PERMIT
ion facility. Y 9 l
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Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 143-215.109. may-request-that-the-applicant-provide-any-other-information-as
15A NCAC 02Q .0602 DEFINITIONS and—necessary—to—evaluate—thetransportation—facility-—Before
pOses 5..' this-Sectio .,t e-following de'.' Hho sappl.y acting-on-any permit applle'atle the-Director—may-request-any

&) Construction™means anyactivity Ig"g".“ g Hor atio from i applleal't and—conduct —any—inguiry o
land—clearing—orgrading thalengages—n—4  investigation—that —he —considers —necessary —to—determine

pﬁnegmm oF const uetﬁle_nl_spe_ellleally de_sng 'fd €9 .pl|a se-with-applicable-standardsinslucing-trafhic-level-of

2 ——Level of servicemeans-a-qualitative-measure  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 143-215.1009.
traffic-stream;—generally-described-interms—of  15A NCAC 02Q .0604 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION
such-factors-as-speed-and-travel-timefreedom a)—Before-approving-or-disapproving-apermit-to-construct o
to-manetive ’ tlalllan Eel'”"p“g Sreomiorand  moaily Fa transportatior I_ael Hity-the-Director shall provide publll_e

L 1 L i i i i i i
OWRS Iea_sesF _ell_euleleps oF —controls—a  (B)—Fhe pubﬁhe |et|e|e s aIII Be—given—by pubheatlle ' Ia
. | . . G2 1 . facility:
3)—the-name-and-address—of-the-person-to-wheom
Authority G.S. 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108. comments-and-requestsfor public-hearing-are
to-besent:
15A NCAC 02Q .0603 APPLICATION_S {4——the-name—address;—and-telephone-—number—of

29:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2014
247




PROPOSED RULES

GII) Fhe I;uleetm_s al “al e-available Iﬁeﬁ pub,he ' '5'3.99;'9' th-at ) II he pell ||_ttee| Fefuses to-allow the Director of
(9)—Any—persons requesting—copies—of material -ide |t|||led # Hsing-rease able-safety practices; tne
Subpaﬁag aph-{e)4)-of this l.“"le S '?.” Pay Ite e .ESI (30 1”93 2 permittees pnﬁe _|Is_es . WI ere—ne
: i '
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(3); 143-215.4(b); 143-215.108; the-permit;
143-215.109. {B}——to-have-access—atreasonable-times—to
any—copy—or—records—required—to—be
15A NCAC 02Q .0605 FINAL ACTION ON PERMIT kept—under—terms—and—conditions—of
APPLICATIONS the-permit;
. : ! , .
a)—Fhe Director-may . - - () to—inspect,at feasonable tu_nes,al d
& Issue & Permit containing the Gonditio S' . using feasonable-safety practices-the
eee,ssan_y Ite o ? Sutthe purposes oF G-S transportation —facHity —and—any
E : . . | - ’ rrocedures :Eq I-IFEE iH tqe pe:ﬂit; or
o (B)——to—sample—at—reasenable—times—and
) deny-a permit application "“_ |e. e’eessa_ yto using—reasonaple sa_le.ty; practices
2-]:3%“% outthe purposes oF C-S—143-Article emissions From the-facility; of
: . . . ) Fhe—Director —finds—that —modification —or
) I'FI'I ebi eeﬁtel shall-ssue a pﬁen_l_lt forthe o |s|t HGE'IG o evocatior eIFa;peE |t5|s |eees|sa|;5 to-carry-out

necessary-to—complete—construction,—but-such—period-shalbnot  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(1a),(1b); 143-215.108; 143-

exceed-five-years: 215.1009.
9 . " 6 .
faciity-that: 15A NCAC 02Q .0607 APPLICATION PROCESSING

{H—interferes-with-the attainment-or-maintenance SCHEDULE
‘ . . ¥ v R hall_adl followi ulei

processing-apphications-for HaRSPOFAtion source permits:

@) resullis-in-a-contravention-of apphcable &) Fhe Divistol sAall——send witter
portior s’eltne rplementation-plan control ae;ln_ewl_eelg ent—of I|_eee||at .gl F—the lpen 'E

i j j i j i i j v
) I5-de “le Istrated witl _sllspe||s_ ton-# elelell Eg o : eleelpt of the appllelat||le| . " .
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 143-215.109. application—is—complete—or—incomplete—for
- " The Divisi L rotif

15A NCAC 02Q .0606 TERMINATION, the-apphicant-by-letter:

MODIFICATION AND REVOCATION OF PERMITS A)—stating—that—the—application—as
(8)—Fhe Director-may-terminate. & e.d:'|5° oF-fevoke-and-feissue submitiec-is-coH plete’ and-speciiying
any permit issued under this Section if: . _— the completeness date _ .
& Fhe-information-contained in-tne-apphicatio 8 stating tnlat the—application—is
o Ip eseritad "; support-therentis-determined iRcomplete,—fequesting —anditional
- . . information—and-—speciiying —the
& Fhe—conditions 4 |5|9|; which-—tne-permit-was deadline date by which-ine-requested
granted have changed; . . inol _|at,|e i6-to-beteceived-by-the
) “'ela.“e ¥s—6F—60 d';ue s—contained —in—the : _— .
permit-have oceuired ¢ stating | that —the app_lleatlle s
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hall . 1ol b (a)-of thi
Rule-
_(e) FIE'IB' I;u_eeﬁte ay Feturh-at alw Hene ap_pllslanel S-coRtalnRing

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 143-215.109.

ESE R S S I S I S I I S S I

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend
the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02H .1002.

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
X] OSBM certified on: July 8, 2014
[] RRC certified on:
] Not Required

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/guest/event-calendar

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2015

Public Hearing:

Date: August 20, 2014

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: Archdale Building, 512 N. Salisbury St., Ground
Floor Hearing Room, Raleigh, NC 27604

Reason for Proposed Action: The purpose of this rule change
is threefold. First, some of the proposed changes to Rule 15A
NCAC 02H .1002 are necessary in order to align the Rule with
recent changes to G.S. 143-214.7. Section 51.(d) of North
Carolina Session Law 2013-413 amended G.S. 143-214.7 such
that "gravel" was excluded from the definition of "built-upon
area." The proposed rulemaking incorporates the amendments
to G.S. 143-214.7 into Rule 15A NCAC 02H .1002.

Second, the amendments to G.S. 143-214.7 excluded "gravel"
from the definition of "built-upon area,” but they did not provide
a definition of the term "gravel." This proposed rulemaking
defines the term "gravel” and includes other changes that are
technical in nature, such as renumbering and alphabetizing the
definitions. All of these changes provide clarity to the regulated
community on the implementation of stormwater rules that are
required by G.S. 143-214.7.

Third, the proposed rulemaking will replace a temporary rule
that was adopted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1 and published in
the North Carolina Register on April 15, 2014. The temporary
rule will expire unless a permanent rule is adopted by the
Environmental Management Commission and submitted to the
Rules Review Commission by January 10, 2015. The text,
purpose, and justification of the proposed rule are identical to
those of the temporary rule.

Comments may be submitted to: Julie Ventaloro, NCDENR-
Land Quality Section-Stormwater Permitting Program, 1612
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1612; phone (919)
807-6370; fax (919) 807-6494; email
julie.ventaloro@ncdenr.gov
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Comment period ends: September 30, 2014

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(bl). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

State funds affected

Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (=$1,000,000)

No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

[

OOX

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 02H — PROCEDURES FOR PERMITS:
APPROVALS

SECTION .1000 - STORMWATER MANAGEMENT

15A NCAC 02H .1002 DEFINITIONS
The definition of any word or phrase in this Section shall be the
same as given in Article 21, Chapter 143 of the General Statutes
of North Carolina, as amended. Other words and phrases used in
this Section are defined as follows:
(D) "Built-upon Area" means that—portion—ofa
| . I - |
impervious surface er and partially impervious
surface includingbut-nothmited-to-buildings;
pavement to the extent that the partially
impervious surface does not allow water to
infiltrate through the surface and gravel-areas
recreation-facilities-such-as-tennis—courts into
the subsoil. “Built-upen "Built-upon area” does
not include a wooden slatted deck, the water
area of a swimming pool, or pervious—er
partiathy-pervious-paving-materiat-to-the-extent
that—the—paving—material—absorbs—water—or
materiak: gravel.
2) "CAMA Major Development Permits" mean
those permits or revised permits required by

@)

(4)

®)

(6)

)

®)

©)

(10)

the Coastal Resources Commission aceording
to as set forth in 15A NCAC ZJ 07J Sections
.0100 and .0200.

"Certificate of Stormwater Compliance"
means the approval for activities that meet the
requirements for coverage under a stormwater
general permit for development activities that
are regulated by this Section.

"Coastal Counties" include are Beaufort,
Bertie, Brunswick, = Camden, Carteret,
Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates,
Hertford, Hyde, New Hanover, Onslow,
Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans,
Tyrrell, and Washington.

"Curb Outlet System" means curb and gutter
installed in a development which meets low
density criteria [Rule—set forth in Rule
.1003(d)(1) of this Seetion} Section with
breaks in the curb or other outlets used to
convey stormwater runoff to grassed swales or
vegetated or natural areas and designed in
accordance with Rule .1008(g) of this Section.
"Development” means any land disturbing
activity that increases the amount of built-upon
area or that otherwise decreases the infiltration
of precipitation into the soil.

"Drainage Area or Watershed" means the
entire area contributing surface runoff to a
single point.

"Forebay" means a device located at the head
of a wet detention pond to capture incoming
sediment before it reaches the main portion of
the pond. The forebay is typically an
excavated settling basin or a section separated
by a low weir.

"General Permit" means a “permit" permit
issued under G.S. 143-215.1(b)(3) and (4)
authorizing a category of similar activities or
discharges.

"Gravel" means a clean or washed, loose,

06)(11) "Infiltration

uniformly-graded aggregate of stones from a
lower limit of 0.08 inches to an upper limit of
3.0 inches in size.

Systems” mean stormwater
control systems designed to allow runoff to
pass or move (infiltrate/exfiltrate) into the soil.

£15(12) "Notice of Intent" means a written notification

(42)(13) "Off-site

to the Division that an activity or discharge is
intended to be covered by a general permit and
takes the place of the“application™ application
used with individual permits.

Stormwater ~ Systems"  mean
stormwater management systems that are
located outside the boundaries of the specific
project in question, but designed to control
stormwater drainage from that project and
other potential development sites.  These
systems shall designate responsible parties for
operation and maintenance and may be owned

29:03
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and operated as a duly licensed utility or by a
local government.

{24)(14) "One-year, 24-hour storm™ means a rainfall of
an intensity expected to be equaled or
exceeded, on average, once in 12 months and
with a duration of 24 hours.

{43)(15) "On-site  Stormwater Systems" mean the
systems necessary to control stormwater
within an individual development project and
located within the project boundaries.

{26)(16) "Permeable pavement" means paving material
that absorbs water or allows water to infiltrate
through the paving material.  Permeable
pavement materials include porous concrete,
permeable interlocking concrete pavers,
concrete grid pavers, porous asphalt, and any
other material with similar characteristics.

Compacted—gravel—shal—not—be—considered

permeable-pavement:

£4)(17) "Redevelopment™ means any land disturbing
activity that does not result in a net increase in
built-upon area and that provides greater or
equal stormwater control than the previous

development  development.  {stermwater

Stormwater controls shall not be allowed
where otherwise prehibited)- prohibited.

{25(18) "Residential development activities” has the
same meaning as in 15A NCAC 02B
.0202(54).

{45)(19) "Seasonal High Water Table” means the
highest level that groundwater, at atmospheric
pressure, reaches in the soil in most years.
The seasonal high water table is usually
detected by the mottling of the soil that results
from mineral leaching.

££6)(20) "Sedimentation/Erosion Control Plan" means
any plan, amended plan or revision to an
approved plan submitted to the Division of
Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources or
delegated authority in accordance with G.S.
113A-57.

&AH(21) "Stormwater” is defined in G.S. 143—-Article
21 143-213(16a).

£8)(22) "Stormwater Collection System" means any
conduit, pipe, channel, curb or gutter for the
primary purpose of transporting (not treating)
runoff. A stormwater collection system does
not include vegetated swales, swales stabilized
with armoring or alternative methods where
natural  topography or other physical

average, once in 10 years, and of a duration
which will produce the maximum peak rate of
runoff, for the watershed of interest under
average antecedent wetness conditions.

22)(24) "Vegetative Buffer" means an area of natural
or established vegetation directly adjacent to
surface waters through which stormwater
runoff flows in a diffuse manner to protect
surface waters from degradation due to
development activities. The width of the
buffer is measured horizontally from the
normal pool elevation of impounded
structures, from the bank of each side of
streams or rivers, and from the mean high
water line of tidal waters, perpendicular to the
shoreline.

Practice{28)(25) "Vegetative conveyance"

means a permanent, designed waterway lined
with vegetation that is used to convey
stormwater runoff at a non-erosive velocity
within or away from a developed area.

{23)(26) "Vegetative Filter" means an area of natural or
planted vegetation through which stormwater
runoff flows in a diffuse manner so that runoff
does not become channelized and which
provides for control of stormwater runoff
through infiltration of runoff and filtering of
pollutants. The defined length of the filter
shall be provided for in the direction of
stormwater flow.

20)(27) "Water Dependent  Structures” means a
structure for which the use requires access or
proximity to or siting within surface waters to
fulfill its basic purpose, such as boat ramps,
boat houses, docks, and bulkheads. Ancillary
facilities such as restaurants, outlets for boat
supplies, parking lots and boat storage areas
are not water dependent uses.

25(28) "Wet Detention Pond" means a structure that
provides for the storage and control of runoff
and includes a designed and maintained
permanent pool volume.

Authority G.S. 143-213; 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-215.3(a)(2).

EEE S S S S I S S I S I S
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*Note from the Codifier: The Office of Administrative Hearings

constraints prevents the use of vegetated inadvertently omitted 15A NCAC 05H .2103 from the notice of
swales (subject to case-by-case review), curb  text published in the NC Register on July 15, 2014, found on
outlet systems, or pipes used to carry drainage pages 106-162. The rule was properly filed by the Mining and
underneath built-upon surfaces that are Energy Commission. The Codifier apologizes for any
associated with development controlled by the inconvenience that this rule omission may have cause on the
provisions of Rule .1003(d)(1) in this Section. rulemaking agency and interested persons.
£9)(23) "10 Year Storm" means the surface runoff falaieiiaisiaiaiaiaiaiaisiaiaiaiaiaiaia
resulting from a rainfall of an intensity
expected to be equaled or exceeded, on the

29:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
251

AUGUST 1, 2014




PROPOSED RULES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the Mining and Energy Commission intends to adopt the rule
cited as 15A NCAC 05H .2103.

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
[] OSBM certified on:
[] RRC certified on:
X Not Required

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mining-and-energy-
commission/draft-rules

Proposed Effective Date: Pending legislative approval

Public Hearings:

Date: August 20, 2014

Time: 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.

Location: NCSU's McKimmon Center, 1101 Gorman St.,
Raleigh, NC 27606

Date: August 22, 2014

Time: 5:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.

Location: Wicker Civic Center, 1801 Nash St., Sanford, NC
27330

Date: August 25, 2014

Time: 5:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.

Location: Rockingham County High School, 180 High School
Road, Reidsville, NC 27320

Date: September 12, 2014

Time: 5:00 pm-9:00 p.m.

Location:  Western Carolina University's Bardo Fine and
Performing Arts Center, 199 Centennial Drive, Cullowhee, NC
28723

Reason for Proposed Action:  Session Law 2012-143
reconstituted the Mining Commission as the Mining and Energy
Commission (MEC) and directed the MEC to develop and adopt
a modern regulatory program for the management of oil and gas
exploration and development activities in the State, including the
use of horizontal drilling and hydraulic fracturing. As part of
that directive, the MEC was charged with adopting rules that
would protect public health and safety; protect public and
private property; protect and conserve the State's air, water, and
other natural resources; promote economic development and
expand employment opportunities; and provide for the
productive and efficient development of the State's oil and gas
resources. After reviewing the current regulations of the State,
the mandate in SL 2012-143, and information from studies about
the operation and potential impacts of modern oil and gas
exploration and production activities, the MEC is proposing to
adopt 126 new rules and to repeal 10 other rules in order to
appropriately regulate the oil and gas industry for the purpose
of oil and gas exploration and development.

Comments may be submitted to: Walt Haven, Division of
Energy, Mineral and Land Resources, 1612 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh, NC 27699-1612; email, Oil&Gas@ncdenr.gov

Comment period ends: September 30, 2014

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

] State funds affected

] Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation

] Local funds affected

U] Substantial economic impact (>$1,000,000)

X No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

CHAPTER 05 - MINING: MINERAL RESOURCES
SUBCHAPTER 05H — OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION
SECTION .2100 - WELL SITE RECLAMATION

15ANCAC 05H .2103
RECLAMATION

(a) The permittee shall complete reclamation of all disturbed
land within two years pursuant to G.S. 113-421(a3).

(b) The permittee shall notify the Department in writing within
30 calendar days following completing reclamation.

(¢) The Department shall monitor the well site for compliance
with the following standards:

1) the vegetative cover shall be maintained for a
period of one vyear after the notice has been
given before the disturbed land bond under
Rule .1404 shall be released by the surface
owner; and

2) the filled or graded areas shall be maintained
so as to avoid the formation of depressions or
standing pools of water.

TIMING AND NOTICE OF

Authority G.S. 113-391(a)(5)I.

B S I I S R

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the Department of Environment and Natural Resources intends
to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 28 .0302.

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
X OSBM certified on: June 25, 2014
[ ] RRC certified on:
] Not Required

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncaquariums.com

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2014
Public Hearing:

Date: August 20, 2014
Time: 2:00 p.m.
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Location: Aquarium Division Office, 3125 Poplarwood Court,
Raleigh, NC 27604

Reason for Proposed Action: This permanent rule amendment
is being proposed to replace the temporary rule increasing
admission fees at the Aquariums and Pier. The temporary rule
was approved by the Rules Review Commission on February 20,
2014,

The purpose of this amendment is to increase admission fees to
the North Carolina Aquariums and to Jennette's Pier to offset
the loss of appropriated funds resulting from Session Law 2013-
360, effective July 27, 2013, and increased costs associated with
transition of temporary employee positions to permanent status
in response to pending implementation of the Affordable Care
Act.

Admission fees to the Aquariums were last increased in 2006.
With state appropriation reductions since 2007 exceeding 35
percent, new funds are needed to continue to operate the
Aquariums and offer visitors valuable experiences.  This
admission fee increase will also continue the Aquariums' move
to be more self-sufficient.

Comments may be submitted to: David R. Griffin, 3125
Poplarwood Court, Raleigh, NC 27604; phone (919) 877-5500;
email david.griffin@ncaquariums.com

Comment period ends: September 30, 2014

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(bl). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

State funds affected

Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>$1,000,000)

No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

X

OXX

CHAPTER 28 -NORTH CAROLINA AQUARIUMS

SECTION .0300 - UNAUTHORIZED USE OF
FACILITIES: FEES

15A NCAC 28 .0302 FEE SCHEDULE
(@) The following schedule of fees is—applicable—to—gevern

governs admission to the North Carolina Aquariums:
(D) Roanoke Island:

Adult, ages 13 and over $8.00 $10.95
Senior, ages 62 and over $700% 9.95
Child, ages 3 through 12 $6:00 $ 8.95
Military $ 9.95
2 Fort Fisher:
Adult, ages 13 and over $8-00$10.95
Senior, ages 62 and over $700% 9.95
Child, ages 3 through 12 $6:00% 8.95
Military $ 9.95
3 Pine Knoll Shores:
Adult, ages 13 and over $8-00 $10.95
Senior, ages 62 and over $700% 9.95
Child, ages 3 through 12 $6:00 $ 8.95
Military $ 9.95

(b) Free admission to the North Carolina Aquariums on
Roanoke Island, at Pine Knoll Shores and at Fort Fisher is shall
be offered to the following groups:

1) Aquarium Society Members;

2) Preregistered North Carolina School groups;

3 Association of Zoos and  Aquariums'
reciprocals; and

(@) Children under the age of three.

Free admission is shall be offered to everyone on the following
days: Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday and Veteran's Day. Day
on-Nevember 11

(c) The following schedule of fees is—applicable—to—governs
governs admission forfishing on the educational fishing piers of
the North Carolina Aquariums:

@ Daily Fishing Pass
(maximum 24 hour
maximum;

(Ages 13 and over) $ 2.00
for each additional rod) each-rod-overtwo)

2 Youth Fishing Pass $ 6.00
(maximum 24 hour period, two rods
maximum;

(Ages 12 and under) $ 1.00

for each additional rod) eachrod-overtwo)

$12.00
period, two rods

(3) RinPin-Rig Fishing Rigs $ 3.00
addition to fishing pass fee per day
(live bait) bait fishing)

4) Three-Day Fishing Pass $30.00

(any three days in a seven day period from
date
(Ages 13 and over) purchased, two rod
maximum; $2.00 per day for each additional
rod)

(5) Youth Three-Day Fishing Pass $15.00
(any three days in a seven day period from
date
(Ages 12 and under) purchased, two rod
maximum; $2.00 per day for each additional
rod)

(6) Seven-Day Fishing Pass $65.00
(any seven days in a one month period from
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(Ages 13 and over) date purchased, two rod
maximum; $2.00 per day for each additional
rod)

(7 Youth Seven-Day Fishing Pass $32.50
(any seven days in a one month period from
(Ages 12 and under) date purchased, two rod
maximum; $2.00 per day for each additional
rod)

(8) Sightseeing Pass $2.00
(unlimited sightseeing for date of purchase)
(Ages 13 and over)

(9) Youth Sightseeing Pass $1.00
(unlimited sightseeing for date of purchase)
(Ages 12 and under)

Authority G.S. 143B-289.41(b); 143B-289.44.

EE R I S I I S R S S I I

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the NC Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the
rule cited as 15A NCAC 10F .0353.

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
X] OSBM certified on: June 6, 2014
[ ] RRC certified on:
] Not Required

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://www.ncwildlife.org/ProposedRegulations.aspx

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2014

Public Hearing:

Date: August 21, 2014

Time: 3:00 p.m.

Location: Cook's Memorial Presbyterian Church, 3413 Mt.
Holly-Huntersville Rd., Charlotte, NC 28216

Reason for Proposed Action: The proposed permanent
amendments to 15A NCAC 10F .0353 would codify into the rules
of the NC Wildlife Resources Commission three no-wake zones
that were established by the Mountain Island Lake Marine
Commission and create one new no-wake zone on the lake. In
September 2013, a meeting was held at Mountain Island Lake
with representatives from the Mountain Island Lake Marine
Commission, Duke Energy and the Wildlife Resources
Commission with the intention of assessing current no-wake
zone needs. Those in attendance toured the lake and determined
recommendations for existing no-wake zones and any need for
new no-wake zones. All agreed that due to safety issues, the
current no-wake zones at Neck Cove, Whispering Cove and Gar
Creek established by the Mountain Island Lake Marine
Commission should become Wildlife Resources Commission no-
wake zones and that a no-wake zone is needed at the NC Hwy 73
Bridge.

Comments may be submitted to: Kate Pipkin, 1701 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1722

Comment period ends: October 1, 2014

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

L] State funds affected

] Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation

] Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (=$1,000,000)

X No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER
SAFETY

SECTION .0300 — LOCAL WATER SAFETY
REGULATIONS

15A NCAC 10F .0353 MOUNTAIN ISLAND LAKE:
MECKLENBURG, GASTON AND LINCOLN COUNTIES
(a) Regulated Area. This Rule applies to Mountain Island Lake
which is located in Mecklenburg, Gaston and Lincoln counties.

(8] Latta Plantation Park - The cove lying north of
and adjacent to the Latta Plantation Park and
adjacent to the Mecklenburg County Park and
Duke Power Company properties.

2) Duck Cove - The waters of Duck Cove as
delineated by appropriate markers. Duck Cove
is adjacent to Mecklenburg County's Cowan's
Ford Wildlife Refuge and west of the portion
of Neck Road that runs through Cowan's Ford
Wildlife Refuge.

3 Nance Cove:

(A) The waters of the southern portion of
Nance Cove extending north from the
back of the cove, at or near
Shuffletown Landing, up the cove
toward the main channel of Mountain
Island Lake, extending to a point that
is roughly even with the boundary
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line between Lots 166 and 167 in the
Overlook subdivision, which lots are
just north of the Overlook Swim &
Tennis Club, and where the cove is
approximately 368 feet wide.

(B) The waters of the western arm or sub-
cove of Nance Cove, which lies west
of Shadow Cove Lane and the
northern-most portion of Nance Cove
Road and east of Haymarket Road.

4) North Carolina Highway 16 Bridge B - An
area extending approximately 50 yards in all
directions from the NC Highway 16 Bridge
also known as the Rozelles Ferry Bridge.

(5) Neck Cove beginning at a point on the western
shore at 35.367061 N, 80.932632 W to a point
on the eastern shore at 35.367085 N,
80.931129 W and extending the entire length
of the cove.

(6) Gar Creek east of a line from a point on the
north shore at 35.348851 N, 80.927461 W to a
point on the south shore at 35.348082 N,
80.927736 W to a line from a point on the
north shore at 35.348854 N, 80.926821 W to a
point on the south shore at 35.34844 N,
80.925803 W.

(7) Whispering Cove beginning at a point on the
western shore at 35.341223 N, 80.975715 W
to a point on the eastern shore at 35.340806 N,
80.974785 W and extending the entire length
of the cove.

(8) North Carolina Highway 73 Bridge - an area
extending approximately 50 yards in all
directions from the NC Highway 73 Bridge:
east of a line from a point on the north shore at
35.428079 N, 80.95799 W to a point on the
south shore at 35.427177 N, 80.957424 W to a
line from a point on the north shore at
35.427845 N, 80.955441 W to a point on the
south shore at 35.427008 N, 80.955422 W.

(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate any motorboat or
vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the regulated area
described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) Placement and Maintenance of Markers. Each of the boards
of Commissioners of the above-named counties is designated a
suitable agency for placement and maintenance of markers
implementing this Rule for regulated areas within their territorial
jurisdiction in accordance with the Uniform System.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

R I i I i e S S A I S

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the NC Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the
rule cited as 15A NCAC 10F .0355.

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
X OSBM certified on: June 6, 2014

[] RRC certified on:
] Not Required

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://www.ncwildlife.org/ProposedRegulations.aspx

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2014

Public Hearing:

Date: August 20, 2014

Time: 3:00 p.m.

Location: Perquimans 4-H Ag. Building, 601 S. Edenton St.,
Hertford, NC 27944

Reason for Proposed Action: The proposed permanent
amendment to 15A NCAC 10F .0355 would establish a no-wake
zone on Bethel Creek, a tributary to Yeopim River in
Perquimans County. Bethel Creek is a narrow creek
approximately 150 feet wide and receives a great deal of
activity. There are approximately six private boat docks that are
used for swimming, fishing, and boat storage at this time and a
proposed new subdivision on the North East side of the creek
will increase the number of docks and boating traffic. Also,
there are two boat ramps, one containing eight boat slips used to
store boats within this proposed no-wake zone. Law
Enforcement officers have already received multiple complaints
of near misses from boats running at greater than no-wake
speed and conclude that due to the safety concern of small
children and families swimming in this narrow waterway, and
possible hazards caused by duck blinds and fallen trees, a no-
wake zone is warranted.

Comments may be submitted to: Kate Pipkin, 1701 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1722

Comment period ends: October 1, 2014

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).
State funds affected
] Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
] Local funds affected
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] Substantial economic impact (>$1,000,000)
X No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER

SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER
SAFETY

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY
REGULATIONS

15A NCAC 10F .0355 PERQUIMANS COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule applies to the following waters:
(1) Perquimans River:
(A) The canals of
subdivision; and
(B) Town of Hertford: that part of the
Perquimans River beginning 75 yards
northeast of the Perquimans River
Bridge (Hertford S-shaped Bridge)
parallel to the bridge, shore to shore,
and ending approximately 550 yards
southwest, at a line from a point on
the north shore 36.19300 N, 76.46962
W to a point on the south shore
36.19150 N, 76.47099 W.
Yeopim River:
(A) The canal entrance between Navaho
Trail and Cherokee Trail;
The canal entrance between Cherokee
Trail and Ashe Street;
The boat ramp at Ashe and Pine
Street;
The canal entrance between Pine
Street and Linden Street;
The canal entrance and boat ramp
between Willow Street and Evergreen
Drive;
The canal entrance between Sago
Street and Alder Street; Street;-and
The swimming area at the Snug
Harbor Park and Beach; and Beaeh-
Bethel Creek north of a line from a
point on the west shore at 36.09552
N, 76.47958 W to a point on the east
shore at 36.095517 N, 76.47735 W to
a line from a point on the west shore
at 36.10532 N, 76.48080 W to a point
on the east shore at 36.10516 N,
76.48047 W.
Yeopim Creek:

Holiday Island

)

(B)
(©)
(D)
(E)

(F)
(©)
(H)

)

(A) The canal entrance between Mohave
Trail and lowa Trail;

(B) The canal entrance between lowa
Trail and Shawnee Trail;

© The area within 75 yards of the

Albemarle Plantation Marina Piers;
and

(D) The area of Beaver Cove as
delineated by appropriate markers.
(@) Little River: The entrance to the cove known

as "Muddy Gut Canal,"” which extends from
the waters known as "Deep Creek."
(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate any motorboat or
vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the regulated area
described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Board of
Commissioners of Perquimans County is designated a suitable
agency for placement and maintenance of markers implementing
this Rule.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the NC Appraisal Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21
NCAC 57A .0407; and 57B .0101, .0603.

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
[] OSBM certified on:
] RRC certified on:
X Not Required

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncappraisalboard.org

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2015

Public Hearing:

Date: August 26, 2014

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: 5830 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27609

Reason for Proposed Action: The Appraiser Qualifications
Board of the Appraisal Foundation has amended its criteria
effective January 1, 2015 to require that an applicant for trainee
registration must take a supervisor/trainee course before the
application may be granted. The agency has determined that
there is no reasonable basis for requiring half of the mandatory
continuing education hours to be taken in a classroom. The
language regarding activities not eligible for approval as a
continuing education course is superfluous as this is covered in
21 NCAC 57A .0204.

Comments may be submitted to: Roberta Ouellette, 5830 Six
Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 870-4854; fax
(919) 870-4859; Roberta@ncab.org

Comment period ends: September 30, 2014

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
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the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

State funds affected

Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (=$1,000,000)

No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

|

X

SUBCHAPTER 57A — REGISTRATION LICENSING,
CERTIFICATION AND PRACTICE

SECTION .0400 - GENERAL APPRAISAL PRACTICE

21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES

(@) A certified real estate appraiser may engage a registered
trainee to assist in the performance of real estate appraisals,
provided that the appraiser:

(1) has been certified for at least three years;

(2) has no more than three trainees working under
him or her at any one time. A certified
residential appraiser may have two trainees
working under his or her supervision at any
one time. Once at least one of those trainees
has completed 50 percent of the required
appraisal experience to upgrade, a certified
residential appraiser may add another trainee.
A certified general appraiser may have three
trainees working under his or her supervision.
Prior to the date any trainee begins performing
appraisals under his or her supervision, the
supervisor must shall inform the Board of the
name of the trainee by filing a Supervisor
Declaration Form with the Board. The form
may be found on the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org. The supervisor
must shall also inform the Board when a
trainee is no longer working under his or her
supervision by using the  Supervisor
Declaration Form;

3) actively and personally supervises the trainee
on all appraisal reports and appraisal related
activities until the trainee is no longer under
his or her supervision;

(@) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting
data used in connection with appraisals in
which the services of a trainee is utilized, and
assures that research of general and specific
data has been adequately conducted and
properly reported, application of appraisal
principles and methodologies has been
properly applied, that the analysis is sound and
adequately reported, and that any analysis,
opinions, or conclusions are adequately
developed and reported so that the appraisal
report is not misleading;

(5) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 of
this Section regarding appraisal reports;
(6) reviews and signs the trainee's log of

appraisals, which must be updated at least
every 30 days. In addition, the supervisor must
shall make available to the trainee a copy of
every appraisal report where the trainee
performs more than 75 percent of the work on
the appraisal; and
@) has not received any disciplinary action
regarding his or her appraisal license or
certificate from the State of North Carolina or
any other state within the previous three years.
For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary
action means an active suspension, a
downgrade of a credential, a revocation, or any
other action that affects a supervisor's ability
to engage in appraisal practice.
(b)  Active and personal supervision includes direction,
guidance, and support from the supervisor. The supervising
appraiser shall have input into and full knowledge of the
appraisal report prior to its completion, and shall make any
necessary and appropriate changes to the report before it is
transmitted to the client. In addition, the supervisor shall
accompany the trainee on the inspections of the subject property
on the first 50 appraisal assignments or the first 1500 hours of
experience, whichever comes first, for which the trainee will
perform more than 75 percent of the work. After that point, the
trainee may perform the inspections without the presence of the
supervisor provided that the trainee is competent to perform
those inspections, and provided that the subject property is less
than 50 miles from the supervisor's primary business location.
The supervisor must shall accompany the trainee on all
inspections of subject properties that are located more than 50
miles from the supervisor's primary business location.
(c) The trainee must shall maintain a log on a form that includes
each appraisal performed by the trainee, the type of property
appraised, type of appraisal performed, complete street address
of the subject property, the date the report was signed, the
experience hours claimed, the name of the supervisor for that
appraisal, the supervisor's license or certificate number, and
whether the supervisor accompanied the trainee on the
inspection of the subject. The log must shall show all appraisals
performed by the trainee and must shall be updated at least every
30 days. The log form is available on the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org.
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(d) Alltrainees-and-any An appraiser who wishes to supervise a

trainee must shall attend an education program regarding the role
of a supervisor before such supervision begins. This course shall
be taught only by instructors approved by the Board in
accordance with 21 NCAC 57B .0614. A—trainee—shallnot
: ) " cal : ! bof
trainee-hastakenthecourse:
(e) Trainees must-shall assure that the Appraisal Board has
received the Supervisor Declaration Form on or before the day
the trainee begins assisting the supervising appraiser. The form
may be found on the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org. Trainees shall not receive appraisal
experience credit for appraisals performed in violation of this
Paragraph.
(f) Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee or
by a company, firm, or partnership in which the trainee has a
controlling interest.
(g9) If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides significant
professional assistance in the appraisal process and thus is noted
in the report as having provided such assistance, the appraiser
signing the report shall have notified the Appraisal Board before
the appraisal is signed that he or she is the supervisor for the
trainee. If more than one appraiser signs the report, the appraiser
with the highest level of credential must shall be the declared
supervisor for the trainee. If all appraisers signing the report
have the same level of credential, at least one of them must shall
be declared as the trainee's supervisor before the report is signed.

Authority G.S. 93E-1.6.1; 93E-1-10.

SUBCHAPTER 57B — REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL
EDUCATION

SECTION .0100 - COURSES REQUIRED FOR
REGISTRATION, LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION

21 NCAC 57B .0101 REGISTERED TRAINEE
COURSE REQUIREMENTS

(a) Each applicant for registration as a trainee shall complete a
minimum of 90 hours of precertification education, consisting of
the following;

(D) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal
Principles;

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal
Procedures;

3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Market

Analysis and Highest and Best Use or 30 hours
in General Appraiser Market Analysis and
Highest and Best Use; and

4) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice
(USPAP).

(b) Credit for these courses must shall be earned from a Board-
approved course sponsor or school and all course content shall
be approved by the Appraisal Board in accordance with the rules
in this Subchapter. These courses must shall be completed
within the five-year period immediately preceding the date when
application for registration is made to the Board.

(c) Basic Appraisal Principles shall be a prerequisite to taking
Basic Appraisal Procedures, and Basic Appraisal Procedures
shall be a prerequisite to taking either Residential or General
Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use. The 15 hour
USPAP course may be taken any time after the successful
completion of Basic Appraisal Procedures.

(d) These four courses must shall have been obtained in a
classroom setting. No credit will be given for these courses
taken by any other method, such as correspondence school
courses or on-line courses.

(e) Before the application may be granted, the applicant shall
complete the supervisor/trainee course developed by the North
Carolina Appraisal Board.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10.
SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES

21 NCAC 57B .0603
APPROVAL
The following requirements must shall be satisfied in order for
course sponsors to obtain approval of a course for appraiser
continuing education credit:
1) The subject matter of the course must shall
comply with the requirements of Rule .0204 of

Subchapter 57A and the information to be

provided in the course must shall be both

accurate and current.
2 The course must shall involve a minimum of
three and one-half classroom hours of

instruction on acceptable subject matter. A

classroom hour consists of 50 minutes of

classroom instruction and 10 minutes of break
time. Instruction must shall be given for the
full number of hours for which credit is given.

Instructors may not accumulate unused break

time to end the class early.

3 The course instructor(s) rust shall:

(@) possess the fitness for licensure
required of applicants for trainee
registration, real estate appraiser
licensure licensure, or certification;
and

(b) either:

(i two years' full-time
experience that is directly
related to the subject matter
to be taught;

(i) a baccalaureate or higher
degree in a field that is
directly related to the subject
matter to be taught;

(iii) two years' full-time
experience teaching the
subject matter to be taught;

(iv) an equivalent combination of
such education and
experience; or

CRITERIA FOR COURSE
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(4)

(5)

(6)

(V) be approved by the Board
pursuant to 57B. 0606(11).

If two or more instructors shall be utilized to
teach a course during the approval period and
the course shall be taught in states other than
North Carolina, it is sufficient for the course
sponsor to show that it has minimum instructor
requirements comparable to these
requirements. The inquiry into fitness shall
include consideration of whether the instructor
has had any disciplinary action taken on his or
her appraisal license or any other professional
license in North Carolina or any other state, or
whether the instructor has been convicted of or
pleaded guilty to any criminal act.

The course must shall be one involving a
qualified instructor who, except as noted in
Item (6) of this Rule, shall be physically
present in the classroom at all times times, and
who shall personally provide the instruction
for the course. The course instructor may
utilize videotape instruction, remote television
instruetion instruction, or similar types of
instruction by other persons to enhance or
supplement his or _her personal instruction;
however, such other persons shall not be
considered to be the course instructor and the
course instructor must be physically present
when such indirect instruction by other
persons is being utilized. No portion of the
course may consist of correspondence
instruction. The instructor must comply with
Rule .0306(c) of this Subchapter. Instructors
for the National USPAP courses must be
certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board
of the Appraisal Foundation. Current
Appraisal Board members shall not teach
continuing education courses during their term
of office on the Board.
A-trainee of appraiseray receive up-to1
ouFs oi-eredit-every-two-years-in-the-period
eﬁ ding oR-June 1 ¢F-gadl eelelﬁ i Ise|e|_el yeat
the—tnternet-A sponsor seeking approval of a
computer-based education course must shall
provide the Board access to the course via the
internet at a date and time satisfactory to the
Board and the Board shall not be charged any
fee for such access. To be approved for credit,
an on-line course must shall meet all of the
conditions imposed by the Rules in this
Subchapter in advance, except where
otherwise noted. The course must be
interactive, permitting the participant to
communicate, via telephone, electronic mail,
or a website bulletin board, with the presenter
and other participants. The sponsor of an on-
line course must shall have a reliable method

U]

®)

9)

(10)

(11)

for recording and verifying attendance. A
participant may periodically log on and off of
an on-line continuing education course
provided the total time spent participating in
the course is equal to or exceeds the credit
hours assigned to the program. The course
design and delivery mechanism for an on-line
course offered on the Internet must shall have
received approval from the International
Distance Education Certification Center
(IDECC). Information about the IDECC may
be found on their website at www.idecc.org. A
course completion certificate must—shall be
forwarded to the student as stated in Rule
.0607 of this Section, and a course roster must
shall be sent to the Appraisal Board in
accordance with Rule .0608 of this Section.

The course must shall be an educational
program intended to improve the knowledge,
skill and competence of trainees, and licensed
and certified real estate appraisers. Activities

not—eligible—for—approval—as—a—continuing
educatior GFQH'SFQ. '7 chuce ~tA-Rouse —traink g’
The course sponsor must shall certify that the
course shall be conducted in accordance with
the operational requirements stated in Rule
.0606 of this Section and that the course
sponsor will comply with all other applicable
rules contained in this Section.

The course title may shall not include the
words "Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice" or "USPAP" unless the
course is either the 15 hour National USPAP
course or the 7 hour National USPAP update
course. If the course is the 7 hour National
USPAP course, the course title must shall state
which edition of USPAP will be taught in that
specific course.

Each course must shall utilize a textbook or
course materials that have been approved by
the Board.

If the course content is related to technology,
such as software, hardware, electronic devices,
manuals, or databases, the course shall be
developed specifically for utilization in the
real estate appraisal business in order to be
approved for continuing education credit. Such
courses shall not require the student to
purchase specific products, and shall not use
the course to sell or advertise particular
products or software.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10.
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EMERGENCY RULES

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of Rules
and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on the
OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days from
publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60" day from publication.

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-21.1A
and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements.

NORTH CAROLINA BUILDING CODE COUNCIL
Rule-making Agency: NC Building Code Council
Rule Citation: 2012 NC Energy Conservation and Residential Codes - Chapters 2, 4 and 11, Low Emissivity Fenestration Product
Effective Date: July 2, 2014
Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier: June 24, 2014
Reason for Action: Citizens of North Carolina, as well as other states, have been plagued by documented cases of intense reflective
energy from Low-E windows causing damage to vinyl siding on homes and plastic parts of automobiles. The Building Code Council
is now aware of four documented cases of fires being caused by similar reflective energy involving Four Seasons and Cardinal IG Co.
In these four cases, the Consumer Products Safety Commission, in cooperation with the manufacturer, issued a voluntary recall.
Given the prevalence of this problem and concern that intense reflective energy may have the potential to create a fire hazard, the
North Carolina Building Code Council seeks to remove the mandatory requirement for Low-E glass from the North Carolina
Residential Code until a solution can be found to eliminate this potential hazard.

Suggested language for low emissivity glazing emergency rule — One and Two family dwellings and townhouses

Add to the 2012 NCECC, in Chapter 2 the following definition:

Low Emissivity Fenestration Product. A fenestration product containing glass which has a transparent coating which acts as a
thermal mirror and is used to increase a window's insulating value, block or increase heat flow, and reduce fading.

For the 2012 NCECC, Chapter 4, modify Table 402.1.1 as follows:

TABLE 402.1.1
INSULATION AND FENESTRATION REQUIREMENTS BY COMPONENTa

CLIMATE | FENEST SKYLIGHTD GLAZED CEILING WOOD MASS FLOOR BASEMENTC SLABd CRAWL
ZONE RATION U-FACTOR FENESTR | R-VALUEk FRAME WALL R-VALUE WALL R-VALUE SPACEC
U- ATION WALL R-VALUEI R-VALUE & DEPTH WALL
FACTOR SHGC R-VALUE e R-VALUE
bl b,e,m
3 0.35 0.65 0.30 30 13 5/10 19 10/13f 0 5/13
4 0.35 0.60 0.30 38 or 30 15, 13+2.5" 5/10 19 10/13 10 10/13
cont.’
5 0.35 0.60 NR 380r30 19, 1345, or 13/17 30g 10/13 10 10/13
cont. ! 15+3°%"

|. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted for low

emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due to
reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum U-value of 0.55. When applying this
note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance with this requirement.

m. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted for low
emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due to
reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum solar heat gain coefficient of 0.80.
When applying this note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance with this requirement.

For the 2012 NCECC, Chapter 4, modify Table 402.1.3 as follows:
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TABLE 402.1.3
EQUIVALENT U-FACTORSa

CLIMATE | FENESTRATION | SKYLIGHT CEILING FRAME MASS WALL FLOOR BASEMENT CRAWL
ZONE U-FACTOR U-FACTOR U-FACTOR WALL U-FACTORDb U-FACTOR WALL SPACE
e U-FACTOR U-FACTORd WALL
U-FACTORc
3 0.35 0.65 0.035 0.082 0.141 0.047 0.059 0.136
4 0.35 0.60 0.030 0.077 0.141 0.047 0.059 0.065
5 0.35 0.60 0.030 0.061 0.082 0.033 0.059 0.065

e. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted for low
emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due to
reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum U-value of 0.55. When applying this
note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance. When applying this note and using REScheck, to allow
continued use of the software, the applicable fenestration product shall be modeled as meeting the U-factor of 0.35 and the SHGC of
0.30, as applicable, but the fenestration products actual U-value and SHGC shall be noted in the comments section of the software for
documentation of application of this note to the applicable products. Compliance for these subject products shall be verified compared
to the allowed substituted maximum U-value requirement and maximum SHGC requirement, as applicable.

For the 2012 NCECC, Chapter 4, add an exception to:
402.3.5 Thermally isolated conditioned sunroom U-factor and SHGC

Exception: For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted
for low emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due
to reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum U-value of 0.55 and, when cooling
is provided, a maximum SHGC of 0.80. When applying this note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance
with this requirement.

402.5 Maximum fenestration U-factor and SHGC (Mandatory)

Exception: For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted
for low emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due
to reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum U-value of 0.55 and a maximum
SHGC of 0.80. When applying this note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance.

Add to the 2012 NC Residential Code, in Chapter 2 the following definition:
Low Emissivity Fenestration Product. A fenestration product containing glass which has a transparent coating which acts as a
thermal mirror and is used to increase a window's insulating value, block or increase heat flow, and reduce fading.

For the 2012 NC Residential Code, Chapter 11, modify Table N1102.1as follows:

TABLE N1102.1
INSULATION AND FENESTRATION REQUIREMENTS BY COMPONENTa

CLIMATE | FENEST | SKYLIGHTb GLAZED CEILING WOOD MASS FLOOR BASEMENTGC SLABd CRAWL
ZONE RATION U-FACTOR FENESTR | R-VALUEk FRAME WALL R-VALUE WALL R-VALUE SPACEC
U- ATION WALL R-VALUEi R-VALUE & DEPTH WALL
FACTOR SHEC R-VALUE e R-VALUE
bl bem
3 0.35 0.65 0.30 30 13 5/10 19 10/13f 0 5/13
4 0.35 0.60 0.30 38 or 30 15, 13+2.5" 5/10 19 10/13 10 10/13
cont.!
5 0.35 0.60 NR 38 0r 30 19, 13+5, or 13/17 301 10/13 10 10/13
cont. ! 15+3°%"

|. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted for low

emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due to
reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum U-value of 0.55. When applying this
note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance with this requirement.
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m. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted for low
emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due to
reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum solar heat gain coefficient of 0.80.
When applying this note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance with this requirement.

For the 2012 NC Residential Code, Chapter 11, modify Table N1102.1.2 as follows:

TABLE N1102.1.2
EQUIVALENT U-FACTORSa

CLIMATE FENESTRATION SKYLIGHT CEILING FRAME MASS WALL FLOOR BASEMENT CRAWL
ZONE U-FACTOR U-FACTOR U-FACTOR WALL U-FACTORb U-FACTOR WALL SPACE
e U-FACTOR U-FACTORd WALL
U-FACTORCc
3 0.35 0.65 0.035 0.082 0.141 0.047 0.059 0.136
4 0.35 0.60 0.030 0.077 0.141 0.047 0.059 0.065
5 0.35 0.60 0.030 0.061 0.082 0.033 0.059 0.065

e. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted for low
emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due to
reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum U-value of 0.55. When applying this
note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance. When applying this note and using REScheck, to allow
continued use of the software, the applicable fenestration product shall be modeled as meeting the U-factor of 0.35 and the SHGC of
0.30, as applicable, but the fenestration products actual U-value and SHGC shall be noted in the comments section of the software for
documentation of application of this note to the applicable products. Compliance for these subject products shall be verified compared
to the allowed substituted maximum U-value requirement and maximum SHGC requirement, as applicable.

For the 2012 NC Residential Code, add an exception to:
N1102.3.5 Thermally isolated conditioned sunroom U-factor and SHGC

Exception: For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted
for low emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due
to reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum U-value of 0.55 and, when cooling
is provided, a maximum SHGC of 0.80. When applying this note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance
with this requirement.

N1102.5 Maximum fenestration U-factor and SHGC

Exception: For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, non-low emissivity glazed fenestration products may be substituted
for low emissivity glazed fenestration products without energy penalty where judged by the permit holder to be a safety concern due
to reflection of concentrated sunlight. The substitute fenestration products shall have a maximum U-value of 0.55 and a maximum
SHGC of 0.80. When applying this note, the use shall be documented to allow identification for compliance.

Commentary
The value for maximum U-value identified above for the substituted glazed fenestration products is extracted from the table for the

default glazed fenestration U-value properties for unlabeled glazed fenestration products identified in Table 303.1.3(1). The value for
maximum SHGC identified above for the substituted glazed fenestration products was originally extracted from the table for the
default glazed fenestration SHGC properties for unlabeled glazed fenestration products identified in Table 303.1.3(3) which was 0.70
maximum but was revised to 0.80 maximum based on reports of product availability in the marketplace. When applying this
exception, the use shall be documented by the permit holder to allow determination of compliance by the inspector for the substituted
fenestration product. Substitute fenestration products will be allowed to be modeled in the REScheck analyses as conforming to the
maximum table requirements for U-value and SHGC, as applicable, to allow continued use of the REScheck program without energy
penalty. When using the REScheck compliance program for the NC requirements, document the substitute glazed fenestration
products via the "Project” tab page under the "Notes" section and identify the applicable glazed fenestration as assigned by the
program for the substitute glazed fenestration products. Include the actual U-value and SHGC for the substitute products. This will
identify the exempted fenestration products on the program's "compliance certificate". Also, this information should be documented
in the "notes" cell for the particular fenestration product. This will identify the exempted fenestration product on the program's
"inspection checklist". Then verification of compliance for these subject substituted glazed fenestration products will verified
compared to the requirements of the substitute glazed fenestration product maximum U-value and SHGC requirements.
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APPROVED RULES

This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The
rules that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was
required to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-
21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on June 18, 2014,

REGISTER CITATION TO THE
NOTICE OF TEXT

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

Administrative Penalty Determination Process 10A NCAC 13D .2111* 28:12 NCR
Reporting and Investigating Abuse, Neglect or 10A NCAC 13D .2210* 28:07 NCR
Misappropti...

General Rules 10A NCAC 13D .3101* 28:12 NCR
Site 10A NCAC 13D .3103* 28:12 NCR
Plans and Specifications 10A NCAC 13D .3104* 28:12 NCR
Furnishings 10A NCAC 13D .3202* 28:12 NCR
New Facility Requirements 10A NCAC 13D .3301 28:12 NCR
Additions 10A NCAC 13D .3302 28:12 NCR
Heating and Air Conditioning 10A NCAC 13D .3401* 28:12 NCR
Emergency Electrical Service 10A NCAC 13D .3402* 28:12 NCR
General Electric 10A NCAC 13D .3403* 28:12 NCR
Other 10A NCAC 13D .3404* 28:12 NCR

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR

General 10A NCAC 39A .0201 28:12 NCR
Definitions 10A NCAC 39A .0202 28:12 NCR
Reimbursement Funds 10A NCAC 39A .0203 28:12 NCR
Patient Financial Eligibility 10A NCAC 39A .0204 28:12 NCR
Covered Services 10A NCAC 39A .0205 28:12 NCR
Billing the Program 10A NCAC 39A .0206 28:12 NCR
Rates of Reimbursement 10A NCAC 39A .0207 28:12 NCR
Reimbursement Funds: Third Party Payors 10A NCAC 39A .0208 28:12 NCR
Monitoring 10A NCAC 39A .0209 28:12 NCR
Audits 10A NCAC 39A .0210 28:12 NCR
Special Provision 10A NCAC 39A .0211 28:12 NCR
General 10A NCAC 39A .0801 28:12 NCR
Definitions 10A NCAC 39A .0802 28:12 NCR
Eligible Providers 10A NCAC 39A .0803 28:12 NCR
Financial Eligibility 10A NCAC 39A .0804 28:12 NCR
Medical Eligibility 10A NCAC 39A .0805 28:12 NCR
Billing the HIV Health Services Program 10A NCAC 39A .0806 28:12 NCR
Rates of Reimbursement 10A NCAC 39A .0807 28:12 NCR
Reimbursement Funds: Third Party Payors 10A NCAC 39A .0808 28:12 NCR
Monitoring 10A NCAC 39A .0809 28:12 NCR
Audits 10A NCAC 39A .0810 28:12 NCR
School Fluoridation Information 10A NCAC 40A .0104 28:12 NCR
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Definitions 10A NCAC 40A .0105 28:12 NCR
Water Supply 10A NCAC 40A .0206 28:12 NCR
Inspection 10A NCAC 40A .0207 28:12 NCR
Application and Approval 10A NCAC 40A .0208 28:12 NCR
Notification 10A NCAC 40A .0306 28:12 NCR
Renovation 10A NCAC 40A .0307 28:12 NCR
Equipment and Maintenance 10A NCAC 40A .0308 28:12 NCR
Training 10A NCAC 40A .0309 28:12 NCR
Surveillance 10A NCAC 40A .0310 28:12 NCR
School Fluoridation Agreement 10A NCAC 40A .0403 28:12 NCR
Water Analysis Form 10A NCAC 40A .0404 28:12 NCR
Dosage & Age Requirements for Immunization 10A NCAC 41A .0401* 28:15 NCR
Vaccine for Providers Other than Local Health 10A NCAC 41A .0502 28:12 NCR
Departments

Fees for Rabies, Tags, Links, and Rivets 10A NCAC 41G .0102 28:12 NCR
General 10A NCAC 43D .1201 28:12 NCR
Provider Eligibility 10A NCAC 43D .1202 28:12 NCR
Allocation of Funds 10A NCAC 43D .1203 28:12 NCR
Client Eligibility 10A NCAC 43D .1204 28:12 NCR
Scope of Services 10A NCAC 43D .1205 28:12 NCR
Service Provider Qualifications 10A NCAC 43D .1206 28:12 NCR
Payment for Reimbursable 10A NCAC 43D .1207 28:12 NCR
General 10A NCAC 43E .0301 28:12 NCR
Definitions 10A NCAC 43E .0302 28:12 NCR
Provider Eligibility 10A NCAC 43E .0303 28:12 NCR
Client Eligibility 10A NCAC 43E .0304 28:12 NCR
Application for Funds: Program Plan: Renewal 10A NCAC 43E .0305 28:12 NCR
Budgeting of Grant Funds 10A NCAC 43E .0306 28:12 NCR
Medical Records 10A NCAC 43E .0307 28:12 NCR
Client and Third Party Fees 10A NCAC 43E .0308 28:12 NCR
Monitoring and Evaluation 10A NCAC 43E .0309 28:12 NCR
Purpose 10A NCAC 43F .0101 28:12 NCR
Definitions 10A NCAC 43F .0102 28:12 NCR
Referral and Follow-Up 10A NCAC 43F .0201 28:12 NCR
Release of Medical Information 10A NCAC 43F .0202 28:12 NCR
Out-of-State Care 10A NCAC 43F .0203 28:12 NCR
Sponsored Clinics 10A NCAC 43F .0204 28:12 NCR
Participating Physicians, Orthodontists and 10A NCAC 43F .0205 28:12 NCR
Prosthodontists

New Clinic Directors and New Clinics 10A NCAC 43F .0206 28:12 NCR
Speech and Language Pathologists and 10A NCAC 43F .0207 28:12 NCR
Audiologists

Determination 10A NCAC 43F .0301 28:12 NCR
Age 10A NCAC 43F .0302 28:12 NCR
Medical Conditions Supported by the Program 10A NCAC 43F .0303 28:12 NCR
Medical Conditions or Procedures not Supported 10A NCAC 43F .0304 28:12 NCR
Appeals Procedure Concerning Eligibility 10A NCAC 43F .0305 28:12 NCR
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APPROVED RULES

Clinic Services 10A NCAC 43F .0401 28:12 NCR
Other Outpatient Services 10A NCAC 43F .0402 28:12 NCR
Hospitals 10A NCAC 43F .0403 28:12 NCR
Hospitalization 10A NCAC 43F .0404 28:12 NCR
Special Therapy 10A NCAC 43F .0405 28:12 NCR
Orthodontic and Prosthodontic Dental Care 10A NCAC 43F .0406 28:12 NCR
Appliances and Equipment 10A NCAC 43F .0407 28:12 NCR
Drugs 10A NCAC 43F .0408 28:12 NCR
Blood 10A NCAC 43F .0409 28:12 NCR
Staff Consultant and Advisory Services 10A NCAC 43F .0410 28:12 NCR
Authorization Policies 10A NCAC 43F .0501 28:12 NCR
Service Authorization 10A NCAC 43F .0502 28:12 NCR
Cancellations 10A NCAC 43F .0503 28:12 NCR
Special Therapy Requests 10A NCAC 43F .0504 28:12 NCR
Billing Policies 10A NCAC 43F .0505 28:12 NCR
Physicians' Billing Policies 10A NCAC 43F .0506 28:12 NCR
Other Professional Services 10A NCAC 43F .0507 28:12 NCR
Clinic Charges and Qutpatient Charges 10A NCAC 43F .0508 28:12 NCR
Clerical Charges 10A NCAC 43F .0509 28:12 NCR
Authorized Hospitalization 10A NCAC 43F .0510 28:12 NCR
Authorized Appliances 10A NCAC 43F .0511 28:12 NCR
Authorized Drugs for Outpatients 10A NCAC 43F .0512 28:12 NCR
Reimbursement Rates 10A NCAC 43F .0513 28:12 NCR
Appeals Procedure 10A NCAC 43F .0514 28:12 NCR
Requests for Forms 10A NCAC 43F .0601 28:12 NCR
Request Form for Cost Services 10A NCAC 43F .0602 28:12 NCR
Financial Eligibility Form 10A NCAC 43F .0603 28:12 NCR
Forms for Denial of Requests for Services 10A NCAC 43F .0604 28:12 NCR
Clinic Notes Form 10A NCAC 43F .0605 28:12 NCR
Clinic Record 10A NCAC 43F .0606 28:12 NCR
Clerical Services 10A NCAC 43F .0607 28:12 NCR
Qualifications 10A NCAC 43F .0701 28:12 NCR
Further Information 10A NCAC 43F .0702 28:12 NCR
Appeals Procedure 10A NCAC 43F .0703 28:12 NCR
Administrative Requirements 10A NCAC 43F .0704 28:12 NCR
General Provision 10A NCAC 43F .0801 28:12 NCR
Requirements for the Adoptive Child 10A NCAC 43F .0802 28:12 NCR
Application for Coverage After Adoption 10A NCAC 43F .0804 28:12 NCR
Agreement with Vocational Rehabilitation 10A NCAC 43F .0901 28:12 NCR
Outpatient Clinic Services 10A NCAC 43F .1001 28:12 NCR
Definitions 10A NCAC 43F .1002 28:12 NCR
Provider Eligibility 10A NCAC 43F .1003 28:12 NCR
Client Eligibility 10A NCAC 43F .1004 28:12 NCR
Scope of Services 10A NCAC 43F .1005 28:12 NCR
Allocation of Funds: Contract 10A NCAC 43F .1006 28:12 NCR
Reporting Requirements 10A NCAC 43F .1007 28:12 NCR
Client and Third Party Fees 10A NCAC 43F .1008 28:12 NCR
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APPROVED RULES

Application for Funds 10A NCAC 43F .1009 28:12 NCR
Budgeting of Grant Funds 10A NCAC 43F .1010 28:12 NCR
Annual Plan 10A NCAC 43F .1011 28:12 NCR
Renewal of Grant Funds 10A NCAC 43F .1012 28:12 NCR

JUSTICE, DEPARTMENT OF - DIVISION OF CRIMINAL INFORMATION

Scope 12 NCAC 04H .0101* 28:10 NCR
Definitions 12 NCAC 04H .0102* 28:10 NCR
Function of DCIN 12 NCAC O04H .0103* 28:10 NCR
Eligibility for Access to DCIN 12 NCAC 04H .0201* 28:10 NCR
Management Control Requirements 12 NCAC 04H .0202* 28:10 NCR
Non-Terminal Access 12 NCAC 04H .0203* 28:10 NCR
User Agreement 12 NCAC 04H .0301 28:10 NCR
Servicing Agreement 12 NCAC 04H .0302* 28:10 NCR
Control Agreements 12 NCAC 04H .0303 28:10 NCR
Disclosure Agreement 12 NCAC 04H .0304* 28:10 NCR
DCIN Users 12 NCAC 04H .0401* 28:10 NCR
Certification and Recertification of DCIN Users 12 NCAC 04H .0402* 28:10 NCR
Enrollment 12 NCAC 04H .0403* 28:10 NCR
Security of DCIN Devices 12 NCAC 041 .0101* 28:10 NCR
Official Use of DCIN 12 NCAC 041 .0102* 28:10 NCR
Personnel Security 12 NCAC 041 .0103 28:10 NCR
Security Awareness Training 12 NCAC 041 .0104* 28:10 NCR
Documentation and Accuracy 12 NCAC 041 .0201* 28:10 NCR
Timeliness 12 NCAC 041 .0202* 28:10 NCR
Validations 12 NCAC 041 .0203* 28:10 NCR
Hit Confirmation 12 NCAC 041 .0204* 28:10 NCR
Arrest Fingerprint Card 12 NCAC 041 .0301* 28:10 NCR
Final Disposition Information 12 NCAC 041 .0302 28:10 NCR
Incarceration Information 12 NCAC 041 .0303 28:10 NCR
Dissemination and Logging of CHRI and NICS 12 NCAC 041 .0401* 28:10 NCR
Records

Accessing of CCH Records 12 NCAC 041 .0402* 28:10 NCR
Use of CHRI for Criminal Justice Employment 12 NCAC 041 .0403* 28:10 NCR
Right to Review 12 NCAC 041 .0404* 28:10 NCR
CCH Use in Licensing and Non-Criminal Justice 12 NCAC 041 .0405* 28:10 NCR
Employment ...

Restrictive Use of CCH for Employment Purposes 12 NCAC 041 .0406 28:10 NCR
Research Use and Access of CCH Records 12 NCAC 041 .0407 28:10 NCR
Limitation Requirements 12 NCAC 041 .0408* 28:10 NCR
Access to CHRI by Attorneys 12 NCAC 041 .0409* 28:10 NCR
Access to CHRI in Civil Proceedings 12 NCAC 041 .0410 28:10 NCR
Expungements 12 NCAC 041 .0501 28:10 NCR
Statewide Automated Fingerprint Identification 12 NCAC 041 .0601* 28:10 NCR
System

Available Data 12 NCAC 041 .0602* 28:10 NCR
Fingerprinting of Convicted Sex Offenders 12 NCAC 041 .0603 28:10 NCR
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APPROVED RULES

Dissemination of Division of Motor Vehicles 12 NCAC 041 .0701* 28:10 NCR
Information

Audits 12 NCAC 041 .0801* 28:10 NCR
Definitions 12 NCAC 04J .0101* 28:10 NCR
Sanctions for Violations by Individuals 12 NCAC 04J .0102 28:10 NCR
Sanctions for Violations by Agencies 12 NCAC 04J .0103 28:10 NCR
Notice of Violation 12 NCAC 04J .0201 28:10 NCR
Informal Hearing Procedure 12 NCAC 04J .0301* 28:10 NCR

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD
Reguirements for a Firearms Trainer Certificate 12 NCAC 07D .0901* 28:15 NCR

ARCHITECTURE, BOARD OF

Forms 21 NCAC 02 .0107* 28:18 NCR
Fees 21 NCAC 02 .0108* 28:18 NCR
Applicability of Board Rules 21 NCAC 02 .0202* 28:18 NCR
Firm Practice of Architecture 21 NCAC 02 .0214* 28:18 NCR
Examination 21 NCAC 02 .0302* 28:18 NCR
Licensure by Reciprocity 21 NCAC 02 .0303 28:18 NCR

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF
Licensure 21 NCAC 10 .0204* 28:16 NCR
Certification of Clinical Assistants 21 NCAC 10 .0213 28:16 NCR

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR

Authority: Name & Location of Board 21 NCAC 37B .0101* 28:18 NCR
Initial Licensure Fee 21 NCAC 37D .0202* 28:18 NCR
Application to Become Administrator-In-Training 21 NCAC 37D .0402* 28:18 NCR
State Examination Administration 21 NCAC 37D .0703* 28:18 NCR
Application Contents 21 NCAC 37E .0102* 28:18 NCR
Issuance of Temporary License 21 NCAC 37F .0102* 28:18 NCR
Renewal Fee 21 NCAC 37G .0102* 28:18 NCR
Inactive Requirements 21 NCAC 37G .0201* 28:18 NCR
Continuing Education Programs of Study 21 NCAC 37H .0102* 28:18 NCR

LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS, BOARD OF

Professional Ethics 21 NCAC 53 .0102* 28:18 NCR
Professional Disclosure Statement Requirements 21 NCAC 53 .0204* 28:18 NCR
for LPCA a...

Counseling Experience 21 NCAC 53 .0205 28:18 NCR
Graduate Counseling Experience 21 NCAC 53 .0206* 28:18 NCR
Supervised Professional Practice 21 NCAC 53 .0208* 28:18 NCR
Qualified Clinical Supervisor 21 NCAC 53 .0209* 28:18 NCR
Individual Clinical Supervision 21 NCAC 53 .0210* 28:18 NCR
Group Clinical Supervision 21 NCAC 53 .0211* 28:18 NCR
Face to Face Supervision Defined 21 NCAC 53 .0212* 28:18 NCR
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APPROVED RULES

Applications 21 NCAC 53 .0301* 28:18 NCR
Transcripts 21 NCAC 53 .0302* 28:18 NCR
Applicants Licensed in Other States, Military 21 NCAC 53 .0304* 28:18 NCR
Personnel a...

Examination 21 NCAC 53 .0305* 28:18 NCR
Retaking of Examination 21 NCAC 53 .0307* 28:18 NCR
Receipt of Application 21 NCAC 53 .0308* 28:18 NCR
Foreign Degree Applicants 21 NCAC 53 .0310% 28:18 NCR
Requirements for Candidate for Licensure Pending 21 NCAC 53 .0311* 28:18 NCR
Status

Alleged Violations 21 NCAC 53 .0403* 28:18 NCR
Application Fee 21 NCAC 53 .0501* 28:18 NCR
Renewal and Other Fees 21 NCAC 53 .0503* 28:18 NCR
Renewal Period 21 NCAC 53 .0601 28:18 NCR
Renewal for Licensure Form; Address Change; 21 NCAC 53 .0602* 28:18 NCR
Name Change

Continuing Education 21 NCAC 53 .0603* 28:18 NCR
Failure to Secure Sufficient Continuing 21 NCAC 53 .0604* 28:18 NCR
Education/Renewal...

Licensed Professional Counselor Associate 21 NCAC 53 .0701* 28:18 NCR
Supervised Practice for Licensed Professional 21 NCAC 53 .0702* 28:18 NCR
Counselor A...

Licensed Professional Counselor Supervisor 21 NCAC 53 .0801* 28:18 NCR
Cetrtificate of Registration for Professional Entity 21 NCAC 53 .0901* 28:18 NCR
Renewal of Certificate of Reqistration for a 21 NCAC 53 .0902 28:18 NCR

Professional...

APPRAISAL BOARD

Form 21 NCAC 57A .0101* 28:17 NCR
Filing and Fees 21 NCAC 57A .0102* 28:17 NCR
Quialifications for Trainee Registration and 21 NCAC 57A .0201* 28:17 NCR
Appraiser Lic...

Continuing Education 21 NCAC 57A .0204* 28:17 NCR
Expired Registration, License or Certificate 21 NCAC 57A .0206* 28:17 NCR
Temporary Practice 21 NCAC 57A .0210* 28:17 NCR
Time and Place 21 NCAC 57A .0301* 28:17 NCR
Subject Matter and Passing Scores 21 NCAC 57A .0302 28:17 NCR
Re-examination 21 NCAC 57A .0303* 28:17 NCR
Supervision of Trainees 21 NCAC 57A .0407* 28:17 NCR
Licensed Residential and Certified Residential 21 NCAC 57B .0102 28:17 NCR
Real Estat...

Course Exemptions for Equivalent Education 21 NCAC 57B .0104 28:17 NCR
Purpose and Applicability 21 NCAC 57B .0201 28:17 NCR
Application for Approval 21 NCAC 57B .0202* 28:17 NCR
Criteria for Approval 21 NCAC 57B .0203* 28:17 NCR
Administration 21 NCAC 57B .0207* 28:17 NCR
Accommodations for Persons With Disabilities 21 NCAC 57B .0208 28:17 NCR
Certificate of Course Completion 21 NCAC 57B .0209 28:17 NCR
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APPROVED RULES

Purpose 21 NCAC 57B .0301 28:17 NCR
Course Content 21 NCAC 57B .0302* 28:17 NCR
Course Completion Standards 21 NCAC 57B .0303* 28:17 NCR
Instructor Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0306* 28:17 NCR
Criteria for Course Recognition 21 NCAC 57B .0307* 28:17 NCR
Applicability 21 NCAC 57B .0401 28:17 NCR
Qualifying Courses 21 NCAC 57B .0604* 28:17 NCR
Continuing Education Credit Hours 21 NCAC 57B .0605 28:17 NCR
Instructors for the Trainee/Supervisor Course 21 NCAC 57B .0614* 28:17 NCR
Required by...

Form of Complaints and Pleadings 21 NCAC 57C .0101* 28:17 NCR
Form 21 NCAC 57D .0101* 28:17 NCR
Registration Renewal 21 NCAC 57D .0202 28:17 NCR
Compliance Manager 21 NCAC 57D .0303* 28:17 NCR
Payment of Fees to Appraisers 21 NCAC 57D .0310% 28:17 NCR

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Agency Agreements and Disclosure 21 NCAC 58A .0104* 28:15 NCR
Broker-In-Charge 21 NCAC 58A .0110* 28:15 NCR
Offers and Sales Contracts 21 NCAC 58A .0112* 28:15 NCR
Residential Property and Owners' Association 21 NCAC 58A .0114* 28:15 NCR
Disclosure S...

Accounting for Trust Money 21 NCAC 58A .0117* 28:15 NCR
Trust Money Belonging to Property Owners' 21 NCAC 58A .0118* 28:15 NCR
Associations

Cheating and Related Misconduct 21 NCAC 58A .0404* 28:15 NCR
Business Entities 21 NCAC 58A .0502* 28:15 NCR
License Renewal; Penalty for Operating While 21 NCAC 58A .0503* 28:15 NCR
License Expired

Continuing Education Requirement 21 NCAC 58A .1702* 28:15 NCR
Trust Monies 21 NCAC 58A .1808* 28:15 NCR
Enrollment Procedure and Contracts 21 NCAC 58C .0209* 28:15 NCR
Transfer of School Ownership 21 NCAC 58C .0221* 28:15 NCR
Course Completion Reporting 21 NCAC 58C .0309* 28:15 NCR
Course Records 21 NCAC 58C .0310* 28:15 NCR
Update Course Component 21 NCAC 58E .0102* 28:15 NCR
Nature and Scope of Approval 21 NCAC 58E .0202* 28:15 NCR
Application and Criteria for Original Approval 21 NCAC 58E .0203* 28:15 NCR
Active and Inactive Status: Renewal of Approval 21 NCAC 58E .0204* 28:15 NCR
Criteria for Elective Course Approval 21 NCAC 58E .0304* 28:15 NCR
Change in Sponsor Ownership 21 NCAC 58E .0408* 28:15 NCR
Purpose and Applicability 21 NCAC 58E .0601 28:15 NCR
Course Description 21 NCAC 58E .0602 28:15 NCR
Authority to Conduct Course 21 NCAC 58E .0603 28:15 NCR
Course Operational Requirements 21 NCAC 58E .0604 28:15 NCR
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APPROVED RULES

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

10A NCAC 13D .2111  ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY
DETERMINATION PROCESS

(@) The surveyor shall identify and notify the facility of areas of
noncompliance resulting from a survey which may be violations
of patients' rights contained in G.S. 131E-117 or rules contained
in this Subchapter. The facility may submit additional written
information which was not available at the time of the visit for
evaluation by the surveyor. The surveyor shall notify the facility
if a decision is made, based on information received, not to
recommend a penalty. If the decision is to recommend a penalty,
the surveyor shall complete and submit an administrative penalty
proposal, which includes the classification of the violation and
penalty assessed in compliance with G.S. 131E-129, to the
Nursing Home Licensure & Certification Section designee. The
designee shall determine the type and amount of the penalty to
be submitted for consideration. The penalty proposal shall then
be submitted to the Section administrative penalty monitor for
processing.

(b) The Nursing Home Licensure & Certification Section shall
notify the licensee by certified mail within 10 working days
from the time the penalty proposal is received by the Section
administrative penalty monitor that an administrative penalty is
being considered.

(c) The licensee shall have 10 working days from receipt of the
penalty proposal notification to provide the Section with any
additional written information relating to the proposed
administrative penalty.

(d) If the penalty recommendation is classified as a Type B
violation and is not a repeat violation as defined by G.S. 131E-
129, the licensee shall be notified of the type and amount of
penalty and may accept the recommendation instead of review
by the Penalty Review Committee. If the penalty
recommendation is accepted, the licensee shall notify the
administrative penalty monitor by certified mail within five
working days following receipt of the recommendation. The
licensee must include payment of the penalty with the
notification. If payment is not received, the recommendation
shall be forwarded to the Penalty Review Committee.

(e The Penalty Review Committee shall review a
recommended penalty proposal when it is a: Type Al violation;
Type A2 violation that has not been corrected; Type B violation
that has been cited during the previous 12 months or within the
time period of the previous licensure inspection, whichever time
period is longer; or a Type B violation as provided in Paragraph
(d) of this Rule which is not accepted by the licensee.

(f) If the Penalty Review Committee determines that the
licensee has violated applicable rules or statutes, the Penalty
Review Committee shall recommend an administrative penalty
type and amount for each violation pursuant to G.S. 131E- 129.
Recommendations for nursing home penalties shall be submitted
to the Chief of the Nursing Home Licensure & Certification
Section who shall have five working days from the date of the
Penalty Review Committee meeting to determine and impose
administrative penalties for each violation and notify the
licensee of his or her final decision by certified mail.

(g) The licensee shall have 60 days from receipt of the
notification of the Section Chief's final decision to pay the
penalty as provided by G.S. 131E-129 or shall file a petition for
contested case with the Office of Administrative Hearings within
30 days of the mailing of the notice of penalty imposition as
provided by G.S. 131E-2.

History Note:
165;

Eff. August 3, 1992;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1995; July 1, 2014;

Transferred and recodified from 10 NCAC 03H .0221 Eff.
January 10, 1996;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 131D-34; 131E-104; 143B-

10A NCAC 13D .2210 REPORTING AND
INVESTIGATING ABUSE, NEGLECT OR
MISAPPROPRIATION
(a) A facility shall take measures to prevent patient abuse,
patient neglect, or misappropriation of patient property,
including orientation and instruction of facility staff on patients'
rights, and the screening of and requesting of references for all
prospective employees.
(b) The facility shall ensure that the Health Care Personnel
Registry Section of the Division of Health Service Regulation is
notified within 24 hours of the facility's becoming aware of any
allegation against health care personnel as defined in G.S. 131E-
256(a)(1).
(c) The facility shall investigate allegations as defined in G.S.
131E-256(a)(1) and shall document all relevant information
pertaining to such investigation and shall take the necessary
steps to prevent further incidents of abuse, neglect or
misappropriation of patient property while the investigation is in
progress.
(d) The facility shall ensure that the report of investigation is
printed or typed and postmarked to the Health Care Personnel
Registry Section of the Division of Health Service Regulation
within five working days of the allegation. The report shall
include:

(8] the date and time of the alleged incident;

2 the patient's full name and room number;

3) details of the allegation and any injury;

4) names of the accused and any witnesses;

5) names of the facility staff who investigated the
allegation;

(6) results of the investigation; and

@) any corrective action that may have been taken

by the facility.

History Note:
255; 131E-256;
Eff. January 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; February 1, 2013; August 1, 2008;
October 1, 1998.

Authority G.S. 131E-104; 131E-131; 131E-

10A NCAC 13D .3101 GENERAL RULES
(a) Each facility shall be planned, constructed, equipped, and
maintained to provide the services offered in the facility.
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(b) A new facility or remodeling of an existing facility shall
meet the requirements of the North Carolina State Building
Codes which are incorporated by reference, including all
subsequent amendments.  Copies of these codes may be
purchased from the International Code Council online at
http://www.iccsafe.org/Store/Pages/default.aspx at a cost of five
hundred  twenty-seven dollars ($527.00) or accessed
electronically free of charge at
http://www.ecodes.biz/ecodes_support/Free_Resources/2012Nor
thCarolina/12NorthCarolina_main.html. Existing  licensed
facilities shall meet the requirements of the North Carolina State
Building Codes in effect at the time of construction or
remodeling.

(c) Any existing building converted from another use to a
nursing facility shall meet all requirements of a new facility.

(d) The sanitation, water supply, sewage disposal, and dietary
facilities shall comply with the rules of the North Carolina
Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Services
Section, which are incorporated by reference, including all
subsequent amendments. The "Rules Governing the Sanitation
of Hospitals, Nursing Homes, Adult Care Homes and Other
Institutions”, 15A NCAC 18A .1300 are available for inspection
at the North Carolina Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health
Services Section 5605 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, North Carolina
27509.

Copies may be obtained from the Environmental Health Services
Section, 1632 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1632 at
no. cost, or can accessed electronically free of charge at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp?folderName=\Title 15A -
Environment and Natural Resources\Chapter 18 - Environmental
Health.

(e) The adult care home portion of a combination facility shall
meet the rules for a nursing facility contained in Sections .3100,
.3200, and .3400 of this Subchapter, except when separated by
two-hour fire resistive construction. When separated by two-
hour fire-resistive construction, the adult care home portion of
the facility shall meet the rules for adult care homes in 10A
NCAC 13F, Licensing of Adult Care Homes, which are
incorporated by reference, including all subsequent amendments;
and adult care home resident areas must be located in the adult
care home section of the facility. Copies of 10A NCAC 13F can
be obtained free of charge from the Division of Health Service
Regulation, Adult Care Licensure Section, 2708 Mail Service
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2708, or accessed electronically free
of charge at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-
%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2013%20-
%20nc%20medical%20care%20commission/subchapter%20d/su
bchapter%20d%20rules.html.

(f) An addition to an existing facility shall meet the same
requirements as a new facility.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 13D .3103 SITE
The site of a proposed facility must be approved by the
Department prior to construction as:

@ accessible by public roads;

2 accessible to fire fighting services;

3 having a water supply, sewage disposal
system, garbage disposal system system, and
trash disposal system approved by the local
health department having jurisdiction;

4 meeting all local ordinances and zoning laws;
and

(5) being free from exposure to hazards and
pollutants.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 13D .3104 PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS
(&) When construction or remodeling of a facility is planned,
one copy of construction documents and specifications shall be
submitted by the owner or owner's appointed representative to
the Department for review and approval. As a preliminary step
to avoid last minute difficulty with construction documents
approval, schematic design drawings and design development
drawings may be submitted for approval prior to the required
submission of construction documents.

(b) Approval of construction documents and specifications shall
be obtained from the Department prior to licensure. Approval of
construction documents and specifications shall expire one year
after the date of approval unless a building permit for the
construction has been obtained prior to the expiration date of the
approval of construction documents and specifications.

(c) If an approval expires, renewed approval shall be issued by
the Department, provided revised construction documents and
specifications meeting the standards established in Sections
.3100, .3200, and .3400 of this Subchapter are submitted by the
owner or owner's appointed representative and reviewed by the
Department.

(d) Any changes made during construction shall require the
approval of the Department in order to maintain compliance with
the standards established in Sections .3100, .3200, and .3400 of
this Subchapter.

(e) Completed construction or remodeling shall conform to the
standards established in Sections .3100, .3200, and .3400 of this
Subchapter. Construction documents and building construction
including the operation of all building systems shall be approved
in writing by the Department prior to licensure or patient and
resident occupancy.

(f) The owner or owner's appointed representative shall notify
the Department in writing either by U.S. Mail or e-mail when
actual construction or remodeling is complete.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

10ANCAC 13D .3202 FURNISHINGS

(@) A facility shall provide handgrips at all toilet and bath
facilities used by residents. Handrails shall be provided on both
sides of all corridors where corridors are defined by walls and
used by residents.
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(b) A facility shall provide flame resistant privacy screens or 10A NCAC 13D

3402 EMERGENCY ELECTRICAL

curtains in multi-bedded rooms. SERVICE

A facility shall provide an emergency electrical service for use in
History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104; the event of failure of the normal electrical service. This
Eff. January 1, 1996; emergency electrical service shall consist of the following:
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014, (D) In any existing facility:

10ANCAC 13D .3301 NEW FACILITY
REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 13D .3302 ADDITIONS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 13D .3401 HEATING AND AIR

CONDITIONING

(@ A facility shall provide heating and cooling systems

complying with the following:

@ The American National Standards Institute and
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating,
and Air Conditioning Engineers Standard 170:
Ventilation of Health Care Facilities, which is
incorporated by reference, including all
subsequent amendments and editions, and may
be purchased for a cost of fifty-four dollars
($54.00) online at )
http://www.techstreet.com/ashrae/lists/ashrae_
standards.tmpl.
This incorporation does not apply to Section
7.1, Table 7-1 Design Temperature for Skilled
Nursing  Facility.  The  environmental
temperature control systems shall be capable
of maintaining temperatures in the facility at
71 degrees F. minimum in the heating season
and a maximum of 81 degrees F. during the
non-heating season; and
(2) The National Fire Protection Association 90A:

Standard for the Installation of Air-
Conditioning and Ventilating Systems, which
is incorporated by reference, including all
subsequent amendments and editions, and may

be purchased at a cost of thirty-nine dollars 3)
($39.00) from the National Fire Protection
Association online at

http://www.nfpa.org/catalog/ or  accessed
electronically free of charge at
http://www.nfpa.org/aboutthecodes/AboutThe
Codes.asp?DocNum=90A. 4)

(b) In a facility, the windows in dining, activity and living

spaces, and bedrooms shall be openable from the inside. To

inhibit patient and resident elopement from any window, the

facility may restrict the window opening to a six-inch opening.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

(a) type 1 or 2 emergency lights as
required by the North Carolina State
Building Codes: Electrical Code;

(b) additional emergency lights for all
control points required by Rule
.3201()(9) of this Subchapter,
medication preparation areas required
by Rule .3201(1)(1) of this Subchapter
and storage areas, and for the
telephone switchboard, if applicable;

(c) one or more portable battery-powered
lamps at each control point required
by Rule .3201()(9) of this
Subchapter; and

(d) a source of emergency power for life-
sustaining equipment, if the facility
admits or cares for occupants needing
such equipment, to ensure continuous
operation with on-site fuel storage for
a minimum of 72 hours.

An emergency power generating set, including
the prime mover and generator, shall be
located on the premises and shall be reserved
exclusively for supplying the essential
electrical system. For the purposes of this
Rule, the "essential electrical system™ means a
system comprised of alternate sources of
power and all connected distribution systems
and ancillary equipment, designed to ensure
continuity of electrical power to designated
areas and functions of a facility during
disruption of normal power sources, and also
to minimize disruption within the internal
wiring system as defined by the North
Carolina State Building Codes: Electrical
Code.
Emergency electrical services shall be
provided as required by Rule .3101(b) of this
Subchapter with the following modification:
Section 517.10(B)(2) of the North Carolina
State Building Codes: Electrical Code shall not
apply to new facilities.
The following equipment, devices, and
systems which are essential to life safety and
the protection of important equipment or vital
materials shall be connected to the critical
branch of the essential electrical system as
follows:

(@) nurses' calling system;
(b) fire pump, if installed;
(c) one elevator, where elevators are used

for the transportation of patients;
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()

(6)

()

(8)

©)

(d) equipment such as burners and pumps
necessary for operation of one or
more boilers and their necessary
auxiliaries and controls, required for
heating and sterilization, if installed;

(e) equipment necessary for maintaining
telephone service; and

(j] task illumination of boiler rooms, if
applicable.

A dedicated critical branch circuit per bed for
ventilator-dependent patients is required. This
critical branch circuit shall be provided with
two duplex receptacles identified for
emergency use. When staff determines that the
electrical life support needs of the patient
exceed the requirements stated in this Item,
additional critical branch circuits and
receptacles shall be provided. For the
purposes of this Rule, a "critical branch
circuit” is a circuit of the critical branch
subsystem of the essential electrical system
which supplies energy to task lighting,
selected receptacles and special power circuits
serving patient care areas as defined by the
North  Carolina State Building Codes:
Electrical Code. This Item applies to both new
and existing facilities.

Heating equipment provided for ventilator
dependent patient bedrooms shall be
connected to the critical branch of the essential
electrical system and arranged for delayed
automatic or manual connection to the
emergency power source if the heating
equipment depends upon electricity for proper
operation. This Item applies to both new and
existing facilities.

Task lighting connected to the automatically
transferred critical branch of the essential
electrical system shall be provided for each
ventilator dependent patient bedroom. For the
purposes of this Item, task lighting is defined
as lighting needed to carry out necessary tasks
for the care of a ventilator dependent patient.
This Item applies to both new and existing
facilities.

Where electricity is the only source of power
normally used for the heating of space, an
essential electrical system shall provide for
heating of patient rooms. Emergency heating
of patient rooms shall not be required in areas
where the facility is supplied by at least two
separate generating sources or a network
distribution system with the facility feeders so
routed, connected, and protected that a fault
any place between the generating sources and
the facility will not cause an interruption of
more than one of the facility service feeders.
An essential electrical system shall be so
controlled that after interruption of the normal

electric power supply, the generator is brought
to full voltage and frequency and connected
within 10 seconds through one or more
primary automatic transfer switches to all
emergency lighting, alarms, nurses' call, and
equipment  necessary for  maintaining
telephone service.  All other lighting and
equipment required to be connected to the
essential electrical system shall either be
connected through the 10 second primary
automatic transfer switching or shall be
connected through delayed automatic or
manual transfer switching. If manual transfer
switching is provided, staff of the facility shall
operate the manual transfer switch.

(10) Sufficient fuel shall be stored for the operation
of the emergency power generator for a period
not less than 72 hours, on a 24-hour per day
operational basis with on-site fuel storage. The
generator system shall be tested and
maintained per National Fire Protection
Association Health Care Facilities Code,
NFPA 99, which is incorporated by reference,
including all subsequent amendments and
editions. Copies of this code may be obtained
from the National Fire Protection Association -
online at http://www.nfpa.org/catalog/ or
accessed electronically free of charge at
http://www.nfpa.org/aboutthecodes/AboutThe
Codes.asp?DocNum=99. The facility shall
maintain records of the generator system tests
and shall make these records available to the
Department for inspection upon request.

(11) The electrical emergency service at existing
facilities shall comply with the requirements
established in Sections .3100, and .3400 of this
Subchapter in effect at the time a license is
first issued. Any remodeling of an existing
facility that results in changes to the
emergency electrical service shall comply with
the requirements established in Sections .3100,
and .3400 of this Subchapter in effect at the
time of remodeling.

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 13D .3403 GENERAL ELECTRICAL

(@) In a facility, all main water supply shut off valves in the
sprinkler system shall be electronically supervised so that if any
valve is closed an alarm will sound at a central station manned
24 hours per day, seven days per week.

(b) No two adjacent emergency lighting fixtures shall be on the
same circuit.

(c) Receptacles in bathrooms shall have ground fault protection.
(d) Each patient bed location shall be provided with a minimum
of four single or two duplex receptacles. Two single receptacles
or one duplex receptacle shall be connected to the critical branch
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of the emergency power system at each bed location. Each
patient bed location shall also be provided with a minimum of
two single receptacles or one duplex receptacle connected to the
normal electrical system.

(e) Each patient bed location shall be supplied by at least two
branch circuits.

(f) The fire alarm system shall be installed to transmit an alarm
automatically to the fire department that is legally committed to
serve the area in which the facility is located. The alarm shall be
transmitted either to a fire department or to a third-party service
that shall transmit the alarm to the fire department. The method
used to transmit the alarm shall be approved by local ordinances.
(9) In patient areas, fire alarms shall be gongs or chimes rather
than horns or bells.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 13D .3404 OTHER

(@ In general patient areas of a facility, each room shall be
served by at least one calling station and each bed shall be
provided with a call button. Two call buttons serving adjacent
beds may be served by one calling station. Calls shall register
with the floor staff and shall activate a visible signal in the
corridor at the patient's or resident's door. On multi-corridor
nursing units, additional visible signals shall be installed at
corridor intersections. In rooms containing two or more calling
stations, indicating lights shall be provided at each station.
Nurses' calling systems that provide two-way voice
communication shall be equipped with an indicating light at each
calling station that lights and remains lighted as long as the voice
circuit is operating. A nurses' call emergency button shall be
provided for patients' and residents' use at each patient and
resident toilet, bath, and shower.

(b) A facility shall provide:

1) at least one telephone located to be accessible
by patients, residents, and families for making
local phone calls; and

2 cordless telephones or telephone jacks in
patient and resident rooms to allow access to a
telephone by patients and residents when
needed.

(c) Outdoor lighting shall be provided to illuminate walkways
and drives.
(d) A flow of hot water shall be within safety ranges specified
as follows:

1) Patient Areas - 6 1/2 gallons per hour per bed
and at a temperature of 100 to 116 degrees F;

2 Dietary Services - 4 gallons per hour per bed
and at a minimum temperature of 140 degrees
F; and

3) Laundry Area - 4 1/2 gallons per hour per bed
and at a minimum temperature of 140 degrees
F.

(e) If provided in a facility, medical gas and vacuum systems
shall be installed, tested, and maintained in accordance with the
National Fire Protection Association Health Care Facilities
Code, NFPA 99, which is incorporated by reference, including

all subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of this code
may be purchased for a cost of sixty-one dollars ($61.50) from
the National Fire Protection Association online at
http://www.nfpa.org/catalog/ or accessed electronically free of
charge at
http://www.nfpa.org/aboutthecodes/AboutTheCodes.asp?DocNu
m=99.

(f) Each facility shall have a control mechanism and staff
procedures for monitoring and managing patients who wander or
are disoriented. The control mechanism shall include egress
alarms and any of the following:

1) an electronic locking system;
2 manual locks; and
3 staff supervision.

This requirement applies to new and existing facilities.

(g) Sections of the National Fire Protection Association Life
Safety Code, NFPA 101, 2012 edition listed in this Paragraph
are adopted by reference.

(8] 18.2.3.4 with requirements for projections into
the means of egress corridor width of wheeled
equipment and fixed furniture;

2) 18.3.2.5 with requirements for the installation
of cook tops, ovens and ranges in rooms and
areas open to the corridors;

3) 18.5.2.3(2), (3) and (4) with requirements for
the installation of direct-vent gas and solid
fuel-burning fireplaces in smoke
compartments; and

4) 18.7.5.6 with requirements for the installation
of combustible decorations on walls, doors and
ceilings.

Smoke compartments where the requirements of these Sections
are applied must be protected throughout by an approved
automatic sprinkler system. For the purposes of this Rule,
"smoke compartments" are spaces within a building enclosed by
smoke barriers on all sides, including the top and bottom as
indicated in NFPA 101, 2012 edition. Where these Sections are
less stringent than requirements of the North Carolina State
Building Codes, the requirements of the North Carolina State
Building Codes shall apply. Where these Sections are more
stringent than the North Carolina State Building Codes, the
requirements of these Sections shall apply. Copies of this code
may be purchased for a cost of ninety-three dollars ($93.00)
from the National Fire Protection Association online at
http://www.nfpa.org/catalog/ or accessed electronically free of
charge at
http://www.nfpa.org/aboutthecodes/AboutTheCodes.asp?DocNu
m=101.

(h) Ovens, ranges, cook tops, and hot plates located in rooms or
areas accessible by patients or residents shall not be used by
patients or residents except under facility staff supervision. The
degree of staff supervision shall be based on the facility's
assessment of the capabilities of each patient and resident.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-102; 131E-104;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.
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10A NCAC 39A .0201
10A NCAC 39A .0202
10A NCAC 39A .0203
10A NCAC 39A .0204
ELIGIBILITY

10A NCAC 39A .0205
10A NCAC 39A .0206

GENERAL

DEFINITIONS
REIMBURSEMENT FUNDS
PATIENT FINANCIAL

COVERED SERVICES
BILLING THE PROGRAM

10A NCAC 39A .0207 RATES OF REIMBURSEMENT
10A NCAC 39A .0208 REIMBURSEMENT FUNDS:
THIRD PARTY PAYORS

10A NCAC 39A .0209 MONITORING

10A NCAC 39A.0210  AUDITS

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. October 1, 1990; September 1, 1990; January 1,
1986; July 1, 1985;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130A-223;

10A NCAC 39A .0211 SPECIAL PROVISION
History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130A-223;
Eff. August 1, 1991;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 39A .0801
10A NCAC 39A .0802
10A NCAC 39A .0803
10A NCAC 39A .0804
10A NCAC 39A .0805
10A NCAC 39A .0806
SERVICES PROGRAM
10A NCAC 39A .0807 RATES OF REIMBURSEMENT
10A NCAC 39A .0808 REIMBURSEMENT FUNDS:
THIRD PARTY PAYORS

10A NCAC 39A .0809 MONITORING

10A NCAC 39A .0810 AUDITS

GENERAL

DEFINITIONS

ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS
FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY
MEDICAL ELIGIBILITY
BILLING THE HIV HEALTH

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-223;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 7, 1991 for a period of 180
Days to Expire on July 6, 1991;

ARRC Objection Lodged January 18, 1991;

Eff. May 1, 1991;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

EE IR S S S I I S I S

10A NCAC 40A .0104
INFORMATION
10A NCAC 40A .0105

SCHOOL FLUORIDATION
DEFINITIONS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-366;
Eff. November 1, 1990;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 40A .0206
10A NCAC 40A .0207
10A NCAC 40A .0208

WATER SUPPLY
INSPECTION
APPLICATION AND APPROVAL

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-366;
Eff. November 1, 1990;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 40A .0306
10A NCAC 40A .0307
10A NCAC 40A .0308
MAINTENANCE

10A NCAC 40A .0309
10A NCAC 40A .0310

NOTIFICATION
RENOVATION
EQUIPMENT AND

TRAINING
SURVEILLANCE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-366;
Eff. November 1, 1990;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 40A .0403
AGREEMENT
10A NCAC 40A .0404

SCHOOL FLUORIDATION
WATER ANALYSIS FORM

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-366;
Eff. November 1, 1990;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

EE IR S I S I S I I S I

10A NCAC 41A .0401 DOSAGE AND AGE
REQUIREMENTS FOR IMMUNIZATION

(@ Every individual in North Carolina required to be
immunized pursuant to G.S. 130A-152 through 130A-157 shall
be immunized against the following diseases and have
documentation of age-appropriate vaccination in accordance
with the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
(ACIP).

@ Diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis (whooping
cough) - five doses: three doses by age seven
months; and 2 booster doses, the first by age
19 months and the second on or after the
fourth birthday and before entering school for
the first time. However:

(A) Individuals who receive the first
booster dose of
diphtheria/tetanus/pertussis  vaccine
on or after the fourth birthday are not
required to have a second booster.

(B) Individuals entering college or
university for the first time on or after
July 1, 2008 must have had three
doses of tetanus/diphtheria toxoid,;

one of which must be
tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis.
© A booster dose of

tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis vaccine is
required for individuals who have not
previously received it and are
entering the seventh grade or by 12
years of age, whichever comes first.
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()

3)

(4)

Poliomyelitis vaccine - four doses: two doses
of trivalent type by age five months; a third
dose trivalent type before age 19 months; and
a booster dose of trivalent type on or after his
or her fourth birthday and before entering
school for the first time. However:

(A) An individual attending school who
has attained his or her 18th birthday
is not required to receive a polio
vaccine.

(B) The requirements for the booster dose
on or after the fourth birthday do not
apply to individuals who began
school before July 1, 2015.

© Individuals who receive the third
dose of poliomyelitis vaccine on or
after the fourth birthday are not
required to receive a fourth dose if the
third dose is given at least six months
after the second dose.

Measles (rubeola) vaccine - two doses of live,

attenuated vaccine administered at least 28

days apart: the first dose on or after age 12

months and before age 16 months; and a

second dose before entering school for the first

time. However:

(A) An individual who has been
documented by serological testing to
have a protective antibody titer
against measles is not required to
receive measles vaccine.

(B) An individual who has been
diagnosed before January 1, 1994, by
a physician (or designee such as a
nurse practitioner or physician's
assistant) as having measles (rubeola)
disease is not required to receive
measles vaccine.

© An individual born before 1957 is not
required to receive measles vaccine
except in measles outbreak situations.

(D) The requirement for a second dose of
measles vaccine does not apply to
individuals who enter school or in
college or university for the first time
before July 1, 1994.

Rubella vaccine - one dose of live, attenuated

vaccine on or after age 12 months and before

age 16 months. However:

(A) An individual who has laboratory
confirmation of rubella disease or
who has been documented by
serological testing to have a
protective antibody titer against
rubella is not required to receive
rubella vaccine.

(B) An individual who has attained his or
her fiftieth birthday is not required to

®)

(6)

receive rubella vaccine except in
outbreak situations.

© An individual who entered a college
or university after his or her thirtieth
birthday and before February 1, 1989
is not required to meet the
requirement for rubella vaccine
except in outbreak situations.

Mumps vaccine — two doses: the first dose of

live, attenuated vaccine administered on or

after age 12 months and before age 16 months;
and a second dose before entering school,
college or university for the first time.

However:

(A) An individual who has laboratory
confirmation of disease, or has been
documented by serological testing to
have a protective antibody titer
against mumps is not required to
receive the mumps vaccine.

(B) An individual born before 1957 is not

required to receive the mumps
vaccine.
© The requirements for the mumps

vaccine do not apply to individuals
who entered the first grade for the
first time before July 1, 1987 or
college or university before July 1,
1994.

(D) An individual entering school,
college or university before July 1,
2008 is not required to receive a
second dose of mumps vaccine.

Haemophilus influenzae, b conjugate vaccine -

three doses of HbOC or PRP-T or two doses of

PRP-OMP before age 7 months and a booster

dose of any type on or after age 12 months and

by age 16 months. However:

(A) Individuals who receive the first dose
of Haemophilus influenzae, b vaccine
on or after 7 months of age and
before 12 months of age are required
to have two doses of HbOC, PRP-T
or PRP-OMP and a booster dose on
or after 12 months of age and by age
16 months.

(B) Individuals who receive the first dose
of Haemophilus influenzae, b vaccine
on or after 12 months of age and
before 15 months of age are required
to have only 2 doses of HbOC, PRP-
T or PRP-OMP and a booster dose
two months later.

© Individuals who receive the first dose
of Haemophilus influenzae, b vaccine
on or after 15 months of age are
required to have only one dose of any
of the Haemophilus influenzae b
conjugate vaccines.
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(")

(8)

©)

(D) No individual who has passed his or
her fifth birthday is required to be
vaccinated against Haemophilus
influenzae, b.

Hepatitis B vaccine — three doses: the first
dose by age 3 months, a second dose before
age 5 months and a third dose by age 19

months. However:

(A) The last dose of the hepatitis B
vaccine  series shall not be
administered before 24 weeks of age.

(B) Individuals born before July 1, 1994

are not required to be vaccinated

against hepatitis B.
Varicella vaccine — two doses administered at
least 28 days apart; one dose on or after age 12
months of age and before age 19 months; and
a second dose before entering school for the
first time. However:
(A) An individual who has laboratory
confirmation of wvaricella disease
immunity or has been documented by
serological testing to have a
protective antibody titer against
varicella is not required to varicella
vaccine.
An individual who has documentation
from a physician, nurse practitioner,
or physician's assistant verifying
history of varicella disease is not
required to receive varicella vaccine.
The documentation shall include the
name of the individual with a history
of varicella disease, the approximate
date or age of infection, and a
healthcare provider signature.
An individual born before April 1,
2001 is not required to receive
varicella vaccine.
The requirement for the second dose
of varicella vaccine shall not apply to
individuals who enter Kindergarten or
first grade for the first time before
July 1, 2015.
Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine — Four
doses; 3 doses by age 7 months and a booster
dose at 12 through 15 months of age.
However:
(A) Individuals who receive the first dose
of pneumococcal conjugate vaccine
on or after 7 months of age and
before 12 months of age are required
to have 2 doses at least 4 weeks apart;
and a booster dose at 12 through 15
months of age.
Individuals who receive the first dose
of pneumococcal conjugate vaccine
on or after 12 months of age and
before 24 months of age are required

(B)

(©)

(D)

(B)

to have 2 doses at least 8 weeks apart
to complete the series.

Individuals who receive the first dose
of pneumococcal conjugate vaccine
on or after 24 months of age and
before 5 years are required to have 1
dose to complete the series.

No individual who has passed his or
her fifth birthday shall be required to
be vaccinated against pneumococcal
disease.

An individual born before July 1,
2015 shall not be required to receive
pneumococcal conjugate vaccine.
Meningococcal conjugate vaccine — two doses:
one dose is required for individuals entering
the seventh grade or by 12 years of age,
whichever comes first, on or after July 1,
2015. A booster dose is required by 17 years
of age or by entering the 12th grade.
However:

(A) The first dose does not apply to
individuals who entered seventh
grade before July 1, 2015.

The booster dose does not apply to
individuals who entered the 12"
grade before August 1, 2020.

If the first dose is administered on or
after the 16™ birthday, a booster dose
is not required.

An individual born before January 1,
2003 shall not be required to receive a
meningococcal conjugate vaccine.

(b) The healthcare provider shall administer immunizations in
accordance with this Rule. However, if a healthcare provider
administers vaccine up to and including the fourth day prior to
the required minimum age, the individual dose is not required to
be repeated. Doses administered more than four days prior to
the requirements are considered invalid doses and shall be
repeated.

(c) The State Health Director may suspend temporarily any
portion of the requirements of this Rule due to emergency
conditions, such as the unavailability of vaccine.  The
Department shall give notice in writing to all local health
departments and other providers currently receiving vaccine
from the Department when the suspension takes effect and when
the suspension is lifted. When any vaccine series is disrupted by
such a suspension, the next dose shall be administered within 90
days of the lifting of the suspension and the series resumed in
accordance with intervals determined by the most recent
recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization
Practices. These recommendations may be accessed free of
charge at http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/acip/.

©

(D)

B)

(10)

(B)

©

(®)

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 130A-152(c); 130A-155.1;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1977;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;
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Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 1988, for a period of
180 days to expire on July 29, 1988;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; October 1, 1994; January 1,
1994; January 4, 1993;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 23, 2000; August 20,
1999; May 21, 1999;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 17, 2002; April 1, 2002;
February 18, 2002; August 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; January 1, 2008; November 1, 2005;
January 1, 2005; April 1, 2003.

10A NCAC 41A.0502 VACCINE FOR PROVIDERS
OTHER THAN LOCAL HEALTH DEPARTMENTS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-433;

Temporary Rule Eff. October 5, 1986 for a period of 120 days to
expire on February 1, 1987;

Temporary Rule Eff. February 1, 1987 for a period of 120 days
to expire on May 31, 1987;

Eff. March 1, 1987;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 1988, for a period of
180 days to expire on July 29, 1988;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 26, 1992, for a period 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1994, for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; January 1, 1995; January 4,
1994; January 4, 1993;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 2007;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 41G .0102
LINKS, AND RIVETS

FEES FOR RABIES TAGS,

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-190;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 22, 1997;
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 4, 2001;
Temporary Amendment Expired February 26, 2002;
Codifier Objected to findings of need on February 11, 2003;
Temporary Amendment Eff. February 24, 2003;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2004;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

R I i i S S A I I I G

10A NCAC 43D .1201
10A NCAC 43D .1202
10A NCAC 43D .1203
10A NCAC 43D .1204
10A NCAC 43D .1205

GENERAL

PROVIDER ELIGIBILITY
ALLOCATION OF FUNDS
CLIENT ELIGIBILITY
SCOPE OF SERVICES

10A NCAC 43D .1206
QUALIFICATIONS
10A NCAC 43D .1207 PAYMENT FOR
REIMBURSABLE SERVICES

SERVICE PROVIDER

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-361;
Eff. October 1, 1993;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43E .0301
10A NCAC 43E .0302
10A NCAC 43E .0303

GENERAL

DEFINITIONS

PROVIDER ELIGIBILITY

10A NCAC 43E .0304 CLIENT ELIGIBILITY

10A NCAC 43E .0305 APPLICATION FOR FUNDS:
PROGRAM PLAN: RENEWAL

10A NCAC 43E .0306 BUDGETING OF GRANT FUNDS
10A NCAC 43E .0307 MEDICAL RECORDS

10A NCAC 43E .0308 CLIENT AND THIRD PARTY
FEES

10A NCAC 43E .0309
EVALUATION

MONITORING AND

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. April 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1990; September 1, 1990; August 1,
1987; April 1, 1987; February 1, 1987;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0101
10A NCAC 43F .0102

PURPOSE
DEFINITIONS

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; September 1, 1990; July 1, 1986;
July 1, 1984; July 1, 1980;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0201
10A NCAC 43F .0202
INFORMATION

10A NCAC 43F .0203

REFERRAL AND FOLLOW-UP
RELEASE OF MEDICAL

OUT-OF-STATE CARE

10A NCAC 43F .0204 SPONSORED CLINICS

10A NCAC 43F .0205 PARTICIPATING PHYSICIANS,
ORTHODONTISTS AND PROSTHODONTISTS

10A NCAC 43F .0206 NEW CLINIC DIRECTORS AND
NEW CLINICS

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; November 1, 1989; August 1,
1988; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1984; April 1, 1981; July 1, 1980;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0207 SPEECH AND LANGUAGE
PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124;
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Eff. July 1, 1980;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1984;
December 1, 1980;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0301
10A NCAC 43F .0302 AGE

10A NCAC 43F .0303 MEDICAL CONDITIONS
SUPPORTED BY THE PROGRAM

10A NCAC 43F .0304 MEDICAL CONDITIONS OR
PROCEDURES NOT SUPPORTED

DETERMINATION

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; July 1, 1986; January 1, 1982;
July 1, 1981; July 1, 1980;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0305 APPEALS PROCEDURE
CONCERNING ELIGIBILITY

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1980;
Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; February 1, 1987; July 1,
1986;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 130A-124;

10A NCAC 43F .0401

10A NCAC 43F .0402
SERVICES

10A NCAC 43F .0403

10A NCAC 43F .0404

CLINIC SERVICES
OTHER OUTPATIENT

HOSPITALS
HOSPITALIZATION

10A NCAC 43F .0405 SPECIAL THERAPY

10A NCAC 43F .0406 ORTHODONTIC AND
PROSTHODONTIC DENTAL CARE

10A NCAC 43F .0407  APPLIANCES AND EQUIPMENT

10A NCAC 43F .0408 DRUGS
10A NCAC 43F .0409 BLOOD
10A NCAC 43F .0410 STAFF CONSULTANT AND

ADVISORY SERVICES

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977,

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; July 1, 1986;
July 1, 1984; April 1, 1984; October 1, 1983; July 1, 1983;
January 1, 1982; July 1, 1981; April 1, 1981; July 1, 1980;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1984;
April 1, 1984; April 1, 1982; July 1, 1981; December 1, 1980;
July 1, 1980;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0508 CLINIC CHARGES AND
OUTPATIENT CHARGES

10A NCAC 43F .0509 CLERICAL CHARGES
10A NCAC 43F .0510 AUTHORIZED
HOSPITALIZATION
10A NCAC 43F .0511
10A NCAC 43F .0512
OUTPATIENTS

AUTHORIZED APPLIANCES
AUTHORIZED DRUGS FOR

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1980;
Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; July 1, 1986; April 1, 1982;
July 1, 1981; December 1, 1980;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 130A-124;

10A NCAC 43F .0513 REIMBURSEMENT RATES
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Temporary Rule Eff. August 15, 1982, for a Period of 120 Days
to Expire on December 12, 1982;

Eff. October 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1986;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.
10A NCAC 43F .0514 APPEALS PROCEDURE
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1987;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0601
10A NCAC 43F .0602
SERVICES

10A NCAC 43F .0603
FORM

10A NCAC 43F .0604 FORMS FOR DENIAL OF
REQUESTS FOR SERVICE

10A NCAC 43F .0605 CLINIC NOTES FORM
10A NCAC 43F .0606  CLINIC RECORD

10A NCAC 43F .0607 CLERICAL SERVICES

REQUESTS FOR FORMS
REQUEST FORM FOR COST

FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY

10A NCAC 43F .0501 AUTHORIZATION POLICIES History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-124;

10A NCAC 43F .0502 SERVICE AUTHORIZATION Eff. February 1, 1976;

10A NCAC 43F .0503 CANCELLATIONS Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;

10A NCAC 43F .0504 SPECIAL THERAPY REQUESTS Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1984;
10A NCAC 43F .0505 BILLING POLICIES April 1, 1982; July 1, 1980;

10A NCAC 43F .0506  PHYSICIANS' BILLING Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

POLICIES

10A NCAC 43F .0507 OTHER PROFESSIONAL 10A NCAC 43F .0701  QUALIFICATIONS

SERVICES 10A NCAC 43F .0702 FURTHER INFORMATION
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1992; January 1, 1990; June 1, 1989; July
1, 1986; July 1, 1980;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.
10A NCAC 43F .0703  APPEALS PROCEDURE
History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1987;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0704
REQUIREMENTS

ADMINISTRATIVE

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1989;
Amended Eff. September 1, 1990;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 130A-124;

10A NCAC 43F .0801
10A NCAC 43F .0802
ADOPTIVE CHILD

GENERAL PROVISION
REQUIREMENTS FOR THE

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;

Amended Eff. January 4, 1993; June 1, 1990; July 1, 1986; July
1,1981; July 1, 1980;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

10A NCAC 43F .0804 APPLICATION FOR

10A NCAC 43F .1007
10A NCAC 43F .1008
FEES

10A NCAC 43F .1009
10A NCAC 43F .1010
10A NCAC 43F .1011
10A NCAC 43F .1012

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
CLIENT AND THIRD PAR TY

APPLICATION FOR FUNDS
BUDGETING OF GRANT FUNDS
ANNUAL PLAN

RENEWAL OF GRANT FUNDS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-124;

Eff. April 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; November 1, 1988; August 1,
1988; July 1, 1986;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

12 NCAC 04H .0101 SCOPE

(&) The rules in this Chapter are the rules of the North Carolina
State Bureau of Investigation, Division of Criminal Information
(DCI).

(b) The FBI Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS)
Security Policy is incorporated by reference herein and shall
automatically include any later amendments or editions that may
be published by the FBI. The policy is available at no charge on
the FBI website: http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/cjis-security-
policy-resource-center/view.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0102
As used in this Chapter:

DEFINITIONS

(8] "ACIIS" means Canada's Automated Criminal
COVERAGE AFTER ADOPTION Intelligence and Information System.
. . 2 "Administration of criminal justice” means
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-124; the:
Eff. February 1, 1976; (@) detection of accused persons or
Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; criminal offenders;
Amended Eff. January 4, 1993; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1980; (b) apprehension of accused persons or
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014. criminal offenders;
(c) detention of accused persons or
10A NCAC 43F .0901 AGREEMENT WITH criminal offenders;
VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION (d) pretrial release of accused persons or
. . criminal offenders;
History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-124; (e) post-trial release of accused persons
Eff. February 1, 1976; or criminal offenders;
Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; () prosecution of accused persons or
Amended Eff. July 1, 1986; July 1, 1980; criminal offenders;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014. (9) adjudication of accused persons or
criminal offenders;
10ANCAC 43F .1001 ~ OUTPATIENT CLINIC (h) correctional supervision of accused
SERVICES persons or criminal offenders;
10A NCAC 43F .1002  DEFINITIONS (i) rehabilitation of accused persons or
10A NCAC 43F .1003 PROVIDER ELIGIBILITY criminal offenders;
10A NCAC 43F .1004  CLIENT ELIGIBILITY 0) collection of criminal history record
10A NCAC 43F .1005 SCOPE OF SERVICES information;
10A NCAC 43F .1006 = ALLOCATION OF FUNDS: () storage of criminal history record
CONTRACT information;
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3)

(4)
Q)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(©)

M dissemination of criminal history
record information;

(m) screening of persons for the purpose
of criminal justice employment; or

(n) administration of crime prevention

programs to the extent access to
criminal history record information is
limited to law enforcement agencies
for law enforcement programs (e.g.
record checks of individuals who
participate in Neighborhood Watch or
safe house programs) and the result of
such checks will not be disseminated
outside the law enforcement agency.

"Advanced  authentication"  means an
alternative method of verifying the identity of
a computer system user. Examples include
software tokens, hardware tokens, and
biometric systems. These alternative methods
are used in conjunction with traditional
methods of verifying identity such as user
names and passwords.

"AOC" means the North

Administrative Office of the Courts.

"Authorized recipient" means any person or

organization who is authorized to receive state

and national criminal justice information by
virtue of being:

@ a member of a law
enforcement/criminal justice agency
approved pursuant to Rule .0201 of
this Subchapter; or

(b) a non-criminal  justice agency
authorized  pursuant  to  local
ordinance or a state or federal law.

"CCH" means computerized criminal history
record information. CCH can be obtained
through DCIN or through N-DEX.
"Certification" means documentation provided
by CIIS showing that a person has been trained
in the abilities of DCIN devices, and has
knowledge for accessing those programs that
are developed and administered by CIIS for
local law enforcement and criminal justice
agencies.
"CHRI" means criminal history record
information. CHRI is information collected by
and maintained in the files of criminal justice
agencies concerning individuals, consisting of
identifiable descriptions, notations of arrest,
detentions, indictments or other formal
criminal  charges. This includes any
disposition, sentencing, correctional
supervision, and release information.

"CIHIS" means Criminal Information and

Identification Section. CIIS is a section of

DCI that manages all CJIS programs within

North Carolina, including DCIN.

Carolina

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

"CJI" means criminal justice information. CJI
is all of the FBI CJIS provided data necessary
for law enforcement agencies to perform their
mission and enforce laws, including biometric
information,  identity  history  person,
organization, property, and case or incident
history data. In addition, CJI refers to FBI
CJIS provided data necessary for civil
agencies to perform their mission including
data used to make hiring decisions.

"CJIS" means Criminal Justice Information
Services. CIJIS is the FBI division responsible
for the collection, warehousing, and
dissemination of relevant criminal justice
information to the FBI and law enforcement,
criminal  justice, civilian, academic,
employment, and licensing agencies.

"CJIS Security Policy” means a document
published by the FBI CJIS Information
Security Officer that provides criminal justice
and non-criminal justice agencies with a set of
security requirements for the access to FBI
CJIS systems to protect and safeguard criminal
justice information whether in transit or at rest.
"Class B misdemeanor" includes any act
committed or omitted in violation of any
common law, duly enacted ordinance, criminal
statute, or criminal traffic code of any
jurisdiction other than North Carolina, either
civil or military, for which the maximum
punishment allowable for the designated
offense under the laws, statutes, or ordinances
of the jurisdiction in which the offense
occurred includes imprisonment for a term of
more than six months but not more than two
years. Specifically excluded are motor vehicle
or traffic offenses designated as being
misdemeanors under the laws of jurisdictions
other than the State of North Carolina with the
following exceptions: either first or
subsequent offenses of driving while impaired
if the maximum allowable punishment is for a
term of more than six months but not more
than two years, and driving while license
permanently  revoked or  permanently
suspended. "Class B Misdemeanor" shall also
include acts committed or omitted in North
Carolina prior to October 1, 1994 in violation
of any common law, duly enacted ordinance,
criminal statute, or criminal traffic code of this
state for which the maximum punishment
allowable for the designated offense included
imprisonment for a term of more than six
months but not more than two years.
"Convicted" or "conviction" means, for
purposes of DCIN user certification, the entry
of:

©) a plea of guilty;
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(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

(19)

(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury,
judge, magistrate, or other
adjudicating  body, tribunal, or
official, either civilian or military; or

(© a plea of no contest, nolo contendere,
or the equivalent.

"Criminal justice agency" means the courts, a

government agency, or any subunit thereof

which performs the administration of criminal
justice pursuant to statute or executive order
and which allocates more than 50 percent of its
annual budget to the administration of criminal
justice. State and federal Inspector General

Offices are included in this definition.

"Criminal justice board" means a board

composed of heads of law enforcement or

criminal  justice agencies that have
management control over a communications
center.

"CSA" means CJIS System Agency. The CSA

is a state, federal, international, tribal, or

territorial criminal justice agency on the CJIS
network providing statewide (or equivalent)
service to its criminal justice agency users
with respect to the CJIS data from various
systems managed by the FBI. In North

Carolina, the CSA is the SBI.

"CSO" means CJIS System Officer. The CSO

an individual located within the CSA

responsible for the administration of the CJIS
network on behalf of the CSA. In North

Carolina, the CSO is employed by the SBI.

"DCI" means the Division of Criminal

Information. DCI is the agency established by

the Attorney General of North Carolina in

accordance with Article 3 of Chapter 114 of
the North Carolina General Statutes. The

North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation's

Criminal Information and Identification

Section is a part of DCI.

"DCIN" means the Division of Criminal

Information Network. DCIN is the computer

network used to collect, maintain, correlate,

and disseminate information collected by CIIS
under Article 3 of Chapter 114 of the North

Carolina General Statutes. DCIN also

provides access to information collected by

other federal, state, and local entities necessary
for the administration of criminal justice.

"DCIN user" means a person who has been

certified through the DCIN certification

process.

"Device" means an electronic instrument used

by a DCIN user to accomplish message

switching, DMV inquiries, functional
messages, or DCIN, NCIC, Nlets on-line file
transactions.

"Direct access" means having the authority to:

(24)

(25)

(26)

@7)

(28)

(29)

(30)

(1)

(32)

(33)

(34)

(35)

(36)

(@) access systems managed by the FBI
CJIS Division, whether by manual or
automated means, not requiring the
assistance of, or intervention by, any
other party; or

(b) query or update national databases
maintained by the FBI CJIS Division
including national queries and

updates automatically or manually

generated by the CSA.
"Disposition" means information on any action
that results in termination or indeterminate
suspension of the prosecution of a criminal
charge.
"Dissemination” means any transfer of
information, whether orally, in writing, or by
electronic means.
"DMV" means the North Carolina Division of
Motor Vehicles.
"DMV information™ includes  vehicle
description and registration information, and
information maintained on individuals to
include name, address, date of birth, license
number, license issuance and expiration,
control number issuance, and moving vehicle
violation or convictions.
"DOC" means North Carolina Department of
Adult Correction.
"End user interface™ means software that is
utilized by a certified user to connect to DCIN
and perform message or file transactions.
"Expunge” means to remove criminal history
record information from the DCIN and FBI

computerized criminal history and
identification files pursuant to state statute.
"FBI" means the Federal Bureau of

Investigation.

"FFL" means federal firearm licensee. A FFL
is any individual, corporation, company,
association, firm, partnership, society, or joint
stock company that has been licensed by the
federal government to engage in the business
of importing, manufacturing, or dealing in
firearms or ammunition in accordance with 18
USC § 923.

"II" means Interstate Identification Index. IlI
is the FBI CJIS service that manages
automated submission and requests for
criminal history record information.
"Inappropriate message" means any message
that is not related to the administration of
criminal justice.

"Incident based reporting” or "l-Base" is a
system used to collect criminal offense and
arrest information for each criminal offense
reported.

"INTERPOL" means International Criminal
Police Organization.
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(37)

(38)

(39)

(40)

(41)

(42)

(43)

(44)

"N-DEX" means Law Enforcement National
Data Exchange. N-DEXx is the repository of
criminal justice records, available in a secure
online environment, managed by the FBI
Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS)
Division. N-DEx is available to criminal
justice agencies throughout North Carolina,
and its use is governed by federal regulations.
"NCIC" means National Crime Information
Center.  NCIC is an information system
maintained by the FBI that stores criminal
justice information which can be queried by
federal, state, and local law enforcement and
other criminal justice agencies.

"NFF" means the National Fingerprint File.
NFF is an FBI maintained enhancement to the
Interstate ldentification Index whereby only a
single fingerprint card is submitted per state to
the FBI for each offender at the national level.
"Need-to-know" means for purposes of the
administration of criminal justice, for purposes
of criminal justice agency employment, or for
some other purpose permitted by local
ordinance, state statute, or federal regulation.
"NICS" means the National Instant Criminal
Background Check System. NICS is the
system mandated by the Brady Handgun
Violence Protection Act of 1993 that is used
by FFLs to instantly determine via telephone
or other electronic means whether the transfer
of a firearm would be in violation of Section
922(g) or (n) of Title 18, United States Code,
or state law, by evaluating the prospective
buyer's criminal history. In North Carolina,
NICS is used by sheriff's offices throughout
the state to assist in determining an
individual's eligibility for either a permit to
purchase a firearm or a concealed handgun
permit.

"Nlets" means the International Justice and
Public Safety Network.

"Non-criminal justice agency" or "NCJA"
means any agency or sub-unit thereof whose
charter does not include the responsibility to
administer criminal justice, but may need to
process criminal justice information. A NCJA
may be public or private. An example isa 911
communications  center  that  performs
dispatching functions for a criminal justice
agency (government), a bank needing access
to criminal justice information for hiring
purposes (private), or a county school board
that uses criminal history record information to
assist in employee hiring decisions (public).
"Non-criminal justice information” means any
information or message that does not directly
pertain to the necessary operation of a law
enforcement or criminal justice agency.

(45)

(46)

(47)

(48)

(49)

(50)

(51)

(52)

Examples of messages that are non-criminal
justice include:
(@) accessing any DMV file for:
) political purposes;
(i) vehicle repossession
purposes; and
(iii) to obtain information on an
estranged spouse or romantic

interest;
(b) a message to confirm meal plans;
(c) a message to have a conversation; and
(d) a message to send well wishes during

a holiday or birthday.
"Official record holder" means the agency that
maintains the master documentation and all
investigative supplements of a restricted file
entry or unrestricted file entry.
"Ordinance" means a rule or law promulgated
by a governmental authority including one
adopted and enforced by a municipality or
other local authority.
"ORI" means Originating Agency ldentifier,
which is a unique alpha numeric identifier
assigned by NCIC to each authorized criminal
justice and non-criminal justice agency,
identifying that agency in all computer
transactions.
"Private  contractor” means any non-
governmental non-criminal justice agency that
has contracted with a government agency to
provide  services necessary to the
administration of criminal justice.
"Re-certification" means renewal of a user's
initial certification every two years.
"Restricted files" means those files maintained
by NCIC that are protected as criminal history
record information (CHRI), which s
consistent with Title 28, Part 20 of the United
States Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).
Restricted files consist of:
(@) Gang Files;
(b) Known or Appropriately Suspected
Terrorist (KST) Files;

(c) Supervised Release File;

(d) Immigration Violator Files;

(e) National Sex Offender Registry Files;

) Historical Protection Order Files of
the NCIC;

(9) Identity Theft Files;

) Protective Interest File; and

) Person With Information (PWI) data
within the Missing Person File.

"Right-to-review" means the right of an
individual to inspect his or her own criminal
history record information.

"SAFIS" means Statewide  Automated
Fingerprint Identification System. SAFIS is a
computer-based system for reading, encoding,
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History Note:

(53)

(54)

(55)

(56)

(57)

(58)

(59)

(60)

(61)

(62)

(63)

(64)

(65)

matching, storing, and retrieving fingerprint
minutiae and images.

"SBI" means the North Carolina State Bureau
of Investigation.

"Secondary dissemination" means the transfer
of CCH/CHRI information to anyone legally
entitled to receive such information that is
outside the initial user agency.

"SEND message" means messages that may be
used by DCIN certified users to exchange
official information of an administrative nature
between in-state law enforcement/criminal
justice agencies and out-of-state agencies by
means of Nlets.

"Servicing agreement” means an agreement
between a terminal agency and a non-terminal
agency to provide DCIN terminal services.
"State" means any state of the United States,
the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth
of Puerto Rico and any territory or possession
of the United States.

"Statute" means a law enacted by a state's
legislative branch of government.

"TAC" means Terminal Agency Coordinator.
A TAC is an individual who serves as a point
of contact at a local agency in matters relating
to DCIN or CJIS information systems. A TAC
administers CJIS and CIIS system programs
within the local agency and oversees the
agency's compliance with both CIIS rules and
CJIS system policies.

"Terminal agency" means any agency that has
a device under its management and control
that is capable of communicating with DCIN.
"Training module™ means a manual containing
guidelines for users on the operation of DCIN
and providing explanations as to what
information may be accessed through DCIN.
"UCR" means the Uniform Crime Reporting
program whose purpose it is to collect a
summary of criminal offense and arrest
information.

"Unrestricted files" means those files that are
maintained by NCIC that are not considered
"Restricted Files."

"User agreement” means an agreement
between a terminal agency and CIIS whereby
the agency agrees to comply with all CIIS
rules.

"User identifier" means a unique identifier
assigned by an agency's Terminal Agency
Coordinator to all certified DCIN users that is
used for gaining access to DCIN and for
identifying certified users.

Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;

Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0103

FUNCTION OF DCIN

Users of DCIN may:

)

@

®)
(4)

(®)
(6)

Y]

®)

9)

(10)

(11)

History Note:

transmit or receive any criminal justice related
message to or from any device connected to
DCIN;

enter into or retrieve information from North
Carolina's:

(a) recovered vehicle file;
(b) sex offender registry; and
(c) concealed handgun permit file

enter into or retrieve information from DCIN
user certification and class enrollment files;
enter into or retrieve information from NCIC's
restricted and unrestricted files;

access NCIC's criminal history data;

obtain, on a need-to-know basis, the criminal
record of an individual by inquiring into the
state Computerized Criminal History (CCH)
file maintained by CIIS, or CCH files
maintained by other states and the Federal
Bureau of Investigation (FBI) through Ill;
communicate with devices in other states
through Nlets with the capability to exchange
automobile registration information, driver's
license information, criminal history record
information, corrections information, and other
law enforcement related information;

obtain information on North Carolina
automobile registration, driver's license
information and driver's history by accessing
DMV maintained files;

obtain registration information on all North
Carolina registered boats, and inquire about
aircraft registration and aircraft tracking;
obtain information on those individuals under
the custody or supervision of DOC; and
access, enter, and modify information
contained within the National Instant Criminal
Background Check System (NICS).

Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;

Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0201

DCIN

ELIGIBILITY FOR ACCESS TO

(&) Only agencies that have obtained an ORI and have complied
with Rule .0202 of this Section may access DCIN.

(b) Any agency in North Carolina desiring an ORI shall make a
written request to DCI. DCI shall request an ORI from NCIC.
(c) If the request is denied by NCIC, DCI shall provide written
findings to the requesting agency detailing the reasons for the
denial and providing the requesting agency information on the
necessary elements to obtain an ORI.

History Note:

Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;

Eff. August 1, 2014.
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12 NCAC 04H .0202
REQUIREMENTS
Each device with access to DCIN and those personnel who
operate devices with DCIN access must be under the direct and
immediate management control of a criminal justice agency,
criminal justice board or an FBI approved non-criminal justice
agency. The degree of management control shall be such that
the agency head, board or approved agency has the authority to:

1) set policies and priorities concerning the use
and operation, configuration, or maintenance
of devices or computer networks accessing
DCIN;

(2) hire, supervise, suspend or dismiss those
personnel who will be connected with the
operation, configuration, maintenance, or use
of devices or computer networks accessing
DCIN;

3) restrict unauthorized personnel from access or
use of devices accessing DCIN; and

(@) assure compliance with all rules and
regulations of the FBI and SBI in the operation
of devices with access to DCIN or use of all
information received through DCIN.

MANAGEMENT CONTROL

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0203 NON-TERMINAL ACCESS

(@ A non-terminal criminal justice agency may gain access to
DCIN through a criminal justice agency that has direct access to
the network. The servicing agency (agency providing access)
shall enter into a servicing agreement with the non-terminal
agency (agency receiving service) as described in Rule .0303 of
this Subchapter.

(b) The agreement shall:

(1) authorize access to specific data;

(2) limit the use of data to purposes for which
given;

3 insure the security and confidentiality of the
data consistent with these procedures; and

(@) provide sanctions for violation thereof.

(c) Access shall be granted only if the terminal agency agrees.
(d) Any servicing agency which fails to enforce penalties that
are placed upon the non-terminal agency is in violation of this
Rule and subject to the provisions of 12 NCAC 04J .0102(e).

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0301 USER AGREEMENT

(a) Each agency receiving access to any data provided by FBI
CJIS through DCIN shall sign a user agreement certifying that
the agency head has read and understands DCIN, NCIC, CJIS,
and other applicable rules and regulations, and that the agency
head will uphold the agreement and abide by the rules and
regulations. This agreement shall be signed by the agency head
and by the North Carolina CJIS System Officer (CSO).

(b) When a new agency head is installed at an agency, a hew
user agreement shall be signed by the new agency head and the
CSO.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0302 SERVICING AGREEMENT

(@) Any agency authorized pursuant to Rule .0201 of this
Subchapter with a DCIN device that provides access to a non-
terminal agency shall enter into a written servicing agreement
with the serviced agency. The agreement shall include the
following information:

1) the necessity for wvalid and accurate
information being submitted for entry into
DCIN;

2 the necessity for documentation to substantiate
data entered into DCIN;

©) the necessity of adopting timely measures for
entering, correcting or canceling data in
DCIN;

@) validation requirements pursuant to Rule 04l

.0203 of this Chapter;

(5) the importance of confidentiality of
information provided via DCIN;

(6) liabilities;

) the ability to confirm a hit 24 hours a day;

(8) the necessity of using the ORI of the official
record holder in record entries and updates;
and

9 the necessity of using the ORI of the initial
user when making inquiries.

(b) The servicing agreement must be signed by the head of the
servicing agency and the head of the non-terminal agency,
notarized, and a copy must be forwarded to CIIS by the non-
terminal agency.

(c) DCI shall be notified of any cancellations or changes made
in servicing agreements by the party making the cancellation or
changes.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0303 CONTROL AGREEMENTS

(@ A non-criminal justice agency designated to perform
criminal justice functions for a criminal justice agency is eligible
for access to DCIN.

(b) A written management control agreement shall be entered
into between a law enforcement agency and a 911
communications center when management control of the
911communications center will be under an entity other than the
law enforcement agency. The agreement shall state that
requirements of Rule .0202 of this Subchapter are in effect, and
shall stipulate the management control of the criminal justice
function remains solely with the law enforcement agency.

(c) A written management control agreement shall be entered
into between a law enforcement agency and their governmental
information technology (IT) division when the information
technology role will be under an entity other than the law

29:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2014




APPROVED RULES

enforcement agency. The agreement shall state that the
requirements pursuant to Rule .0202 of this Subchapter are in
effect, and shall stipulate that the management control of the
criminal justice function remains solely with the law
enforcement agency.

(d) A written agreement shall be entered into between a law
enforcement agency and a private contractor when the private
contractor configures or supports any device or computer
network that stores, processes, or transmits criminal justice
information. The written agreement must incorporate the most
current version of the CJIS Security Addendum. The CJIS
Security Addendum may be found in the current CJIS Security
Policy.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0304 DISCLOSURE AGREEMENT

(&) A written disclosure agreement shall be entered into between
the SBI and any individual or agency seeking access to DCI-
maintained criminal justice information for purposes of research.
(b) The disclosure agreement shall state that each participant
and employee of every program of research with access to
computerized information is aware of the issues of privacy and
the limitations regarding the use of accessed information, and
that he or she is bound by CIIS rules concerning these issues
pursuant to Rule 041 .0407 of this Chapter.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0401 DCIN USERS

(@) Prior to receiving certification as a DCIN user, and as a
condition for maintaining certification as a DCIN user, each
applicant or user shall be a citizen of the United States.

(b) The applicant or certified user shall be at least 18 years of
age.

(c) An individual is eligible to attend certification class and
become a DCIN user only if employed by and under the
management control of an agency as described in Rule .0201 of
this Subchapter and only after the individual has had a
fingerprint-based criminal records search completed by the
employing agency indicating that the individual has not been
convicted of a criminal offense described in Paragraph (d) or (e)
of this Rule.

(d) A conviction of a felony renders an applicant or certified
DCIN user permanently ineligible to hold such certification.

(e) A conviction of a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B
misdemeanor renders an applicant ineligible to become certified
as a DCIN user when such conviction is within 10 years of the
applicant's date of request for DCIN certification. Existing
DCIN users convicted of a crime or unlawful act defined as a
Class B Misdemeanor while holding certification are ineligible
to maintain such certification for a period of 10 years following
such conviction. An applicant or certified DCIN user is
permanently ineligible to hold such certification upon conviction
of two or more Class B misdemeanors regardless of the date of
conviction.

(f) No applicant for certification as a DCIN user is eligible for
certification while the applicant is subject to pending or
outstanding criminal charges, that, if the applicant were
convicted, would disqualify the applicant from holding such
certification.

() No DCIN user is eligible to access DCIN while the user is
subject to pending or outstanding criminal charges, that, if the
applicant were convicted, would disqualify the user from access.
(h) An employee assigned as a DCIN user and who currently
holds valid certification as a sworn law enforcement officer with
the powers of arrest through either the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards Commission or the
North Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training Standards
Commission is not subject to the criminal history record and
background search provisions of this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0402 CERTIFICATION AND
RECERTIFICATION OF DCIN USERS

(a) Personnel who are assigned the duty of using a DCIN device
shall be certified within 120 days from employment or
assignment to user duties. Certification shall be awarded based
on achieving a test score of 80 percent or greater in each training
module for which the user is seeking certification.

(b) All DCIN users shall be certified by DCI. The initial
certification of a user shall be awarded upon attending the
"DCIN/NCIC General Inquiries” module class, and achieving a
passing score on the accompanying test offered through the
DCIN end user interface. A student may also take one or more
additional module training classes offered by DCI, which teach
the specific functions of DCIN applicable to their job duties. A
user may perform only those functions in which they have been
trained and certified.

(c) Tests for modules in which a student is seeking initial
certification shall be taken within 15 days of the end of the class,
and may be open-book. If a student fails the initial certification
test they shall have until the 15th day to pass the test, but shall
wait at least 24 hours between the failed test and the next
attempt. A student shall have a maximum of three attempts to
pass the test. If the student fails to achieve a passing score after
the third attempt the user shall re-take the module training class.
(d) Recertification requires achieving a test score of 80 percent
or higher on the test corresponding to the module for which the
user is seeking recertification, and may be accomplished by
taking the test through the DCIN end user interface.
Recertification is required every two years for each module in
which the user is certified and may be obtained any time 30 days
prior to or 90 days after expiration.

(e) Tests for modules in which the user is seeking recertification
shall be taken within 30 days prior to expiration or within 90
days after expiration, and may be open-book. If the user fails
the recertification test the user shall have up to the 90th day after
expiration to pass the test, but shall wait at least 24 hours
between the failed test and the next attempt. A user shall have a
maximum of three attempts to pass the test. If the user fails to
achieve a passing score after the third attempt the user shall re-
take the training module class. If a user fails to recertify in any
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module after the 90th day the user must attend the module
training class for the module in which the user seeks
recertification and achieve a passing score on the test.

(f) Personnel newly hired or assigned to duties of a terminal
user shall receive an indoctrination on the basic functions and
terminology of DCIN by their own agency prior to attending an
initial certification class. Such personnel may operate a DCIN
device during the indoctrination if they are directly supervised
by a certified user and are within the 120-day training period.

(9) Any user whose Module 1 certification has expired may
recertify up to 90 days after the user’s expiration. The individual
shall not use any device connected to DCIN during the time
between expiration and passing the recertification test(s). Any
user whose Module 1 certification has expired more than 90
days shall attend and successfully complete the "DCIN/NCIC
General Inquiries" class.

(h) When a DCIN certified user leaves the employment of an
agency, the TAC shall notify DCI within 24 hours, and disable
the user's user identifier. DCI shall move user's user identifier to
an inactive status until such time the user is employed by another
agency.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04H .0403 ENROLLMENT

(@ Enrollment is necessary for student attendance at any
training for DCIN users. Enrollment shall be requested and
approved by the agency TAC and personnel must meet the
management control requirements outlined in Section .0200 of
this Subchapter.

(b) DCI shall maintain enrollment for all certification classes.
(c) Enrollment shall be done by an automated method provided
by DCI.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0101 SECURITY OF DCIN DEVICES
Agencies that have management control of a DCIN device shall
institute controls for maintaining the sensitivity and
confidentiality of all criminal justice information (CJI) provided
through DCIN. These controls include the following:

(1) a DCIN device and any peripheral or network-
connected printer shall be within a physically
secure location, as defined by the FBI CJIS
Security Policy, accessible only to authorized
personnel. Any DCIN device not located
within a physically secured location shall have
advanced authentication measures installed
and enabled; and

2 DCIN training module documents shall be
located in a physically secure location
accessible only by authorized personnel.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0102 OFFICIAL USE OF DCIN

(a) DCIN shall be used for criminal justice and law enforcement
purposes only. All traffic generated over the network shall be
made in the performance of an employee's or agency's official
duties as they relate to the administration of criminal justice.

(b) Transmission of non-criminal justice information through
DCIN is prohibited.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0103 PERSONNEL SECURITY

(a) Agencies that have management control of DCIN devices
shall institute procedures to ensure those non-DCIN certified
individuals with direct access to their DCIN devices or any
network that stores, processes, or transmits criminal justice
information have been properly screened.

(b) This Rule includes:

(8] individuals employed by a municipality or
county government who configure or support
devices that:

(A) store criminal justice information;

(B) process criminal justice information;
or
© transmit criminal justice information;
and
2 individuals employed by private vendors or

private contractors who configure or support
devices that:
(A) store criminal justice -information;

B) process criminal justice information;
or
© transmit criminal justice information.

(c) To ensure proper background screening an agency shall
conduct both state of residence and national fingerprint-based
background checks for personnel described in Paragraphs (a)
and (b) of this Rule.

(d) Applicant fingerprint cards shall be submitted by an agency
to the SBI to conduct the check. Once the check has been
completed the SBI shall send notice to the submitting agency as
to the findings of the check.

(e) Personnel described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule
must meet the same requirements as those described in 12
NCAC 04H .0401(c).

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0104
TRAINING

(a) Security awareness training is required within six months of
initial assignment and every two years thereafter for any
personnel who have access to DCIN devices or any network that
stores, processes, or transmits criminal justice information.

(b) This Rule also applies to any individual described in Rule
.0103 of this Subchapter who is responsible for the configuration
or support of devices or computer networks that store, process,
or transmit criminal justice information.

(c) Security awareness training shall be facilitated by CIIS.

SECURITY AWARENESS
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(d) Records of security awareness training shall be documented,
kept current, and maintained by the criminal justice agency.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0201
ACCURACY
(@) Law enforcement and criminal justice agencies may enter
stolen property, recovered property, wanted persons, missing
persons, protection orders, or convicted sex offenders into NCIC
restricted and unrestricted files. Any record entered into NCIC
files must be documented. The documentation required is:

(1) a theft report of items of stolen property;

DOCUMENTATION AND

(2) an active warrant for arrest or order for arrest
for the entry of wanted persons;
3) a missing person report and, if a juvenile, a

written statement from a parent, spouse, family
member, or legal guardian verifying the date
of birth and confirming that a person is

missing;

4) a medical examiner's report for an unidentified
dead person entry;

(5) a protection order or ex parte order (for

"temporary orders") issued by a court of
competent jurisdiction for a protection order
entry; or

(6) a judgment from a court of competent
jurisdiction ordering an individual to register
as a sex offender.

(b) All NCIC file entries must be complete and accurately
reflect the information contained in the agency's investigative
documentation at the point of initial entry or modification. NCIC
file entries must be checked by a second party who shall initial
and date a copy of the record indicating accuracy has been
confirmed.

(c) The following key searchable fields shall be entered for
person-based NCIC file entries, if available, and shall accurately
reflect the information contained in the entering agency's
investigative documentation:

(D) Name (NAM);

2 Date of Birth (DOB);

3 Sex (SEX);

4) Race (RAC);

(5) Social Security Number (SOC), for any
person-based NCIC file entry other than sex
offenders;

(6) Aliases (AKA);

(7 FBI Number (FBI);

(8) State Identification Number (SID); and

9) Agency's file number (OCA).

Other data elements may be required for entry into the NCIC.
Those additional data elements shall accurately reflect an
agency's investigative file.

(d) Searchable fields that are required by the DCIN end user
interface shall be entered for property-based NCIC file entries,
and shall accurately reflect the information contained in the
entering agency's investigative documentation.

(e) An agency must enter any additional information that
becomes available later.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0202 TIMELINESS

(a) Law enforcement and criminal justice agencies shall enter
records within three days when conditions for entry are met
except when a federal law, state statute, or documentation exists
to support a delayed entry. Any decision to delay entry under
this exception shall be documented.

(b) Timeliness can be defined based on the type of record entry
being made:

@ Wanted Person File - entry of a wanted person
shall be made immediately after the decision
to arrest or to authorize arrest has been made,
and the decision to extradite has been made.
"Immediately” is defined as within three days.

2 Missing Person File - entry of a missing
person shall be made as soon as possible once
the minimum data required for entry (i.e., all
mandatory fields) and the appropriate record
documentation are available. For missing
persons under age 21, a NCIC Missing Person
File record shall be entered within two hours
of receiving the minimum data required for
entry.

©) Acrticle, Boat, Gun, License Plate, Securities,
Vehicle Part, Boat Part, Vehicle, Protection
Order, and Sex Offender Registry Files - entry
is made as soon as possible once the minimum
data required for entry (i.e., all mandatory
fields) and the record documentation are
available. Information about stolen license
plates and vehicles shall be verified through
the motor vehicle registration files prior to
record entry if possible. However, if motor
vehicle registration files are not accessible, the
record shall be entered into NCIC and
verification shall be completed when the
registration files become available.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0203 VALIDATIONS

(&) Law enforcement and criminal justice agencies shall validate
all record entries, with the exception of articles, made into the
NCIC restricted and unrestricted files.

(b) Validation shall be accomplished by reviewing the original
entry and current supporting documents. Stolen vehicle, stolen
boat, wanted person, missing person, protection order, and sex
offender file entries require consultation with any appropriate
complainant, victim, prosecutor, court, motor vehicle registry
files or other appropriate source or individual in addition to the
review of the original file entry and supporting documents.

(c) Validations shall be conducted through the CIIS automated
method.
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(d) Any records containing inaccurate data shall be modified
and records which are no longer current or cannot be
substantiated by a source document shall be removed from the
NCIC.

(e) Any agency that does not properly validate its records shall
have their records purged for that month by NCIC. An agency
shall be notified of the record purge through an NCIC-generated
message sent to the agency's main DCIN device. An agency
may re-enter the cancelled records once the records have been
validated.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0204 HIT CONFIRMATION

(@ Any agency entering record information into the NCIC
restricted and unrestricted files, or which has a servicing agency
enter record information for its agency, shall provide hit
confirmation 24 hours a day. Hit confirmation of NCIC records
means that an agency receiving a positive NCIC response from
an inquiry must communicate with the official record holder to
confirm the following before taking a person or property into
custody:

(1) the person or property inquired upon is the
same as the person or property identified in the
record;

)] the warrant, missing person report, theft
report, or protection order is still outstanding;
or

3 a decision regarding the extradition of a

wanted person has been made; the return of a
missing person to the appropriate authorities is
still desired; the return of stolen property to its
rightful owner is still desired; or the terms,
conditions, or service of a protection order still
exist.
(b) The official record holder must respond after receiving a hit
confirmation request with the desired information or a notice of
the amount of time necessary to confirm or reject the record.
(c) An agency that is the official record holder shall have 10
minutes to respond to a hit confirmation request with a priority
level of "urgent.” If the agency fails to respond after the initial
request, the requesting agency shall send a second hit
confirmation request to the official record holder. Any
subsequent hit confirmation requests shall also be at 10-minute
intervals.
(d) An agency shall have one hour to respond to a hit
confirmation request with a priority level of "routine.”" If the
agency fails to respond after the initial request, the requesting
agency shall send a second hit confirmation request to the
official record holder. Any subsequent hit confirmation requests
shall also be at one-hour intervals.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0301 ARREST FINGERPRINT CARD
(a) Fingerprint cards submitted in accordance with G.S. 15A -
502 must contain the following information on the arrestee in
order to be processed by the SBI or FBI:

(D) ORI number and address of arresting agency;

2 complete name;

?3) date of birth;

4 race;

(5) Sex;

(6) date of arrest;

@) criminal charges; and

(8) a set of fingerprint impressions and palm
prints if the agency is capable of capturing
palm prints.

(b) Any fingerprint cards physically received by the SBI that do
not meet these requirements shall be returned to the submitting
agency to be corrected and resubmitted. Any fingerprint cards
that have been submitted electronically to the SBI that do not
meet these standards shall not be accepted. The submitting
agency shall receive electronic notification that the prints did not
meet minimum standards through the agency's LiveScan device.
(c) The arrest and fingerprint information contained on the
arrest fingerprint card shall be added to the North Carolina's
CCH files, and electronically forwarded to the FBI's Interstate
Identification Index (111) for processing.

(d) Criminal fingerprint cards shall be submitted in the
following ways:

(8] electronically through the agency's LiveScan
device to North Carolina’s Statewide
Automated Fingerprint Identification System
(SAFIS); or

2 mail addressed to:

North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation
Criminal Information and Identification Section
3320 Garner Road
Raleigh, North Carolina 27626
Attention: AFIS & Technical Search Unit

History Note: Authority G.S. 15A-502; 15A-1383;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0302
INFORMATION
@) Final disposition information shall be submitted
electronically to DCI by the Administrative Office of the Courts
(AOC).

(b) The final disposition information shall be added to North
Carolina's CCH files, and shall be electronically transmitted to
the FBI's Interstate Identification Index (I11).

(c) Any final disposition rejected by DCI shall be returned to
the Clerk of Court in the county of the arresting agency for
correction and resubmission.

FINAL DISPOSITION

History Note:  Authority G.S. 15A-1381; 15A-1382; 15A-
1383; 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.
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12 NCAC 041 .0303
INFORMATION
(@) Incarceration information shall be electronically submitted
to DCI by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety
(DPS) on all subjects admitted to prison.

(b) The incarceration information shall be added to the North
Carolina CCH files, and shall be electronically transmitted to the
FBI’s Interstate Identification Index (III).

INCARCERATION

History Note:
114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 15A-502; 15A-1383; 114-10;

12 NCAC 041 .0401 DISSEMINATION AND
LOGGING OF CHRI AND NICS RECORDS
(@ Criminal history record information (CHRI) obtained from
or through DCIN, NCIC, N-DEx, or Nlets shall not be
disseminated to anyone outside of those agencies eligible under
12 NCAC 04H .0201(a) except as provided by Rules .0403,
.0405, .0406, and .0409 of this Section. Any agency assigned a
limited access ORI shall not obtain CHRI. Any agency
requesting CHRI that has not received an ORI pursuant to 12
NCAC 04H .0201(a) shall be denied access and referred to the
North Carolina CSO.
(b) CHRI is available to eligible agency personnel only on a
"need-to-know" basis as defined in 12 NCAC 04H .0104.
(c) The use or dissemination of CHRI obtained through DCIN
or N-DEX for unauthorized purposes is a violation of this Rule.
(d) CHIIS shall maintain an automated log of
CCH/CHRI/National Instant Criminal Background Check
System (NICS) inquiries for a period of not less than one year
from the date of inquiry. The automated log shall contain the
following information as supplied by the user on the inquiry
screen and shall be made available on-line to the inquiring
agency;

(1) date of inquiry;

(2) name of record subject;

(3) state identification number (SID) or FBI

number of the record subject;

(@) message key used to obtain information;

(5) purpose code;

(6) user's initials;

@) (Attention field) name of person and agency

requesting information who is the initial user
of the record,;

(8) (Attention 2 field) name of person and agency
requesting information who is outside of the
initial user agency. If there is not a second
individual ~ receiving  the  information,
information indicating why the information is
requested may be placed in this field; and

9) if applicable, NICS Transaction Number
(NTN) for NICS logs only.

(e) Criminal justice agencies making secondary disseminations
of CCH, CHRI, N-DEx, or NICS information obtained through
DCIN shall maintain a log of the dissemination in a case. This
log must identify the name of the recipient and their agency.

(f) Each criminal justice agency obtaining CHRI through a
DCIN device shall conduct an audit of their automated CCH log

as provided by DCIN once every month for the previous month.
The audit shall take place within 15 business days of the end of
the month being reviewed. This audit shall include a review for
unauthorized inquiries and disseminations, improper use of
agency ORI's, agency names, and purpose codes. These logs
must be maintained on file for one year from the date of the
inquiry, and may be maintained electronically by the criminal
justice agency. Any violation of CIIS rules must be reported by
an agency representative to CIIS within 20 business days of the
end of the month being reviewed. On those months that do not
contain 20 business days, any violations of CIIS rules must be
reported by an agency representative to CIIS by the first
business day of the following month, at the latest. If an agency
does not have a device connected to DCIN that can receive
CHRI, this audit is not required.

() Each criminal justice agency obtaining information from
NICS or N-DEXx shall conduct the same monthly audit as those
for CHRI logs. The audit shall take place within 15 business
days of the end of the month being reviewed. This audit shall
include a review for unauthorized inquiries or disseminations
and improper use of purpose codes. These logs must be
maintained on file for one year from the date of inquiry, and may
be maintained electronically by the criminal justice agency. Any
violation of CIIS rules must be reported by an agency
representative to CIIS within 20 business days of the end of the
month being reviewed. On those months that do not contain 20
business days, any violations of CIIS rules must be reported by
an agency representative to CIIS by the first business day of the
following month, at the latest.

(h) DCIN automated CCH logs, automated NICS logs, and any
secondary dissemination logs shall be available for audit or
inspection by the CSO or his designee as provided in 12 NCAC
041.0801.

(i) Out of state agencies requesting a statewide criminal record
check shall utilize NCIC.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0402 ACCESSING OF CCH RECORDS
Any accessing of or inquiry into CCH records must be made
with an applicable purpose code. An "applicable purpose code"
means a code that conveys the reason for which an inquiry is
made.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0403 USE OF CHRI FOR CRIMINAL
JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT

(a) Agencies must submit an applicant fingerprint card on each
individual seeking criminal justice employment, and the card
must contain the following information in order to be processed

by DCI and FBI:
@ complete name;
2 date of birth;
?3) race;
(@) sex;

(5) position applied for;
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(6) hiring agency; and

(7 a set of legible fingerprint impressions.
Any fingerprint cards that do not meet these requirements shall
be returned by DCI to the submitting agency for correction and
resubmitted.
(b) For sworn and telecommunicator positions the response and
the fingerprint card shall be forwarded to the appropriate training
and standards agency. For non-sworn positions, the response
shall be returned to the submitting agency. DCI shall not
maintain the cards or responses.
(c) Agencies may submit the information in Paragraph (a) of
this Rule in an electronic method to CIIS for processing. Any
fingerprints and associated information not meeting the
requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not be accepted.
An electronic notification shall be sent by DCI to the submitting
agency indicating the submitted information did not meet
minimum requirements.

History Note:
19;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 114-16; 114-

12 NCAC 041 .0404 RIGHT TO REVIEW

(@ An individual may obtain a copy of his or her own criminal
history record by submitting a written request to the North
Carolina State Bureau of Investigation Criminal Information and
Identification Section, Attention: Applicant Unit - Right to
Review, 3320 Garner Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27626. The
written request must be accompanied by a certified check or
money order in the amount of fourteen dollars ($14.00) payable
to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, and must
contain proof of identity to include:

(1) complete name and address;

(2) race;

(3) Sex;

4) date of birth;

(5) social security number; and

(6) a legible set of fingerprint impressions.

(b) The response shall be submitted only to the individual.
Copies of the response shall not be provided by DCI to a third
party.

(c) The accuracy or completeness of an individual's record may
be challenged by submitting the "Right to Review Request
Criminal History Written Exception™ form available from DCI.
(d) Upon receipt of the "Right to Review Request Criminal
History Written Exception”, the CIIS shall initiate an internal
record audit of the challenger's record to determine its accuracy.
If any potential inaccuracies or omissions are discovered, DCI
shall coordinate with the arresting agency to review the charge
information previously submitted by that agency. Appropriate
action shall be taken based on, in part, information provide by
the arresting agency. DCI shall inform the challenger in writing
of the results of the audit.

(e) If the audit fails to disclose any inaccuracies, or if the
challenger wishes to contest the results of the audit, he or she is
entitled to an administrative hearing pursuant to G.S. 150B-23.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 114-19.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0405 CCH USE IN LICENSING AND
NON-CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT PURPOSES
(a) Criminal justice agencies authorized under 12 NCAC 04H
.0201 which issue licenses or approve non-criminal justice
employment and want to use computerized criminal history
information maintained by DCI for licensing, permit, and non-
criminal justice employment purposes shall submit to CIIS a
written request listing the types of licenses, permits, and
employment for which they desire to use computerized criminal
history information. A copy of the local ordinance or a reference
to the North Carolina General Statute giving authority to issue a
particular permit or license must be included in the written
request.

(b)  Authorization to use computerized criminal history
information for licensing, permit, or employment purposes may
be given only after the DCI and the North Carolina Attorney
General's Office have evaluated and granted authorization based
upon the authority of the North Carolina General Statutes or
local ordinance pertaining to the issuance of that particular
license or permit for employment.

(c) Once authorization has been given, DCI shall provide the
agency an access agreement, which outlines the guidelines for
information usage. The access agreement shall also include
information on billing mechanisms. DCI shall bill the agency
fourteen dollars ($14.00) for a check of North Carolina
computerized criminal history files, and thirty-eight dollars
($38.00) for a search of both the North Carolina computerized
criminal history files and a search of the FBI's Interstate
Identification Index (I11) files. DCI shall send an invoice to the
requesting agency to collect these fees.

(d) The access agreement shall be signed by the requesting
agency's head, and returned to DCI.

(e) The agency's terminal, if applicable, shall receive the
capability to use the purpose code "E" in the purpose field of the
North Carolina CCH inquiry screens for employment or
licensing once the agency head has signed the access agreement
and returned it to DCI. Once an agency has received this
capability, it shall use the purpose code "E", the proper two
character code, and the name of the person receiving the record.
A log of all primary and any secondary dissemination must also
be kept for one year on all responses received from this type of
inquiry.

(f)  Criminal justice agencies may also gain access by
submission of non-criminal justice applicant fingerprint cards.
Approval must be obtained pursuant to the procedure in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule. One applicant fingerprint card must
be submitted on each individual. The fingerprint card must
contain the following information on the applicant in order to be
processed by DCI and the FBI:

@ complete name;
2 date of birth;
3 race;

(@) Sex;

(5) reason fingerprinted to include the N.C.G.S. or
local ordinance number;

(6) position applied for;

@) the licensing or employing agency; and

(8) a set of legible fingerprint impressions.
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DCI shall return the letter of fulfillment to the submitting agency
indicating the existence or absence of a criminal record.

(9) Requests from non-criminal justice agencies or individuals
to use criminal history information maintained by DCI for
licensing and employment purposes shall be treated as a fee for
service request pursuant to G.S. 114-19.1 or any other applicable
statute. The process for approval for non-criminal justice
agencies or individuals shall be the same process as in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule.

(h) Upon being approved, the requesting agency shall submit its
requests to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation,
Criminal Information and Identification Section, Special
Processing Unit, 3320 Garner Road, Raleigh, North Carolina
27626. Each request shall include a fee in the form of a certified
cashier's check, money order, or direct billing of ten dollars
($10.00) for a name-only check, fourteen dollars ($14.00) for a
state-only fingerprint based check, or thirty-eight dollars
($38.00) for a state and national fingerprint based check (if
applicable).

(i) Criminal history record information accessible pursuant to
this Rule shall be North Carolina criminal history record
information, and FBI 111 information if permitted by statute.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 114-19.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0406 RESTRICTIVE USE OF CCH
FOR EMPLOYMENT PURPOSES

@ Use of computerized criminal history information
maintained by the CIIS for licensing permits or non-criminal
justice employment purposes shall be authorized only for those
criminal justice and non-criminal justice agencies who have
complied with Rule .0405 of this Section.

(b) The following requirements and restrictions are applicable to
all agencies who have received approval to use computerized
criminal history information for licensing, permits, or non-
criminal justice employment purposes. Each such agency is
responsible for their implementation:

(D) computerized criminal history information
obtained shall not be used or disseminated for
any other purpose;

2 computerized criminal history information
obtained shall not be released to or reviewed
by anyone other than the agencies authorized
by CIIS;

3) the only data in the computerized criminal
history files which may be used in an agency's
determination of issuing or denying a license,
permit or employment are those crimes
stipulated in the referenced ordinance or
statutory  authority as  grounds  for
disqualification. All criminal history arrest
information held by CIIS shall be released
regardless of disposition status. Each agency
is responsible for reviewing each statutory
authority and knowing what data may be used
and what data shall not be used for grounds in
denying or issuing a particular license or
permit for employment;

(@) prior to denial of a license, permit, or
employment due to data contained in a
computerized criminal history record, a

fingerprint card of the applicant shall be
submitted to CIIS for verification that the
record belongs to the applicant;

(5) if the information in the record is used to
disqualify an applicant, the official making the
determination of suitability for licensing or
employment shall provide the applicant the
opportunity to correct, complete, or challenge
the accuracy of the information contained in
the record. The applicant must be afforded a
reasonable time to correct, complete or to
decline to correct or complete the information.
An applicant shall not be presumed to be
guilty of any charge/arrest for which there is
no final disposition stated on the record or
otherwise determined. Applicants wishing to
correct, complete or otherwise challenge a
record must avail themselves of the procedure
set forth in Rule .0404(c) of this Section.

(¢) A "no-record" response on a computerized criminal history
inquiry does not necessarily mean that the individual does not
have a record. If the requesting agency desires a more complete
check on an applicant, a fingerprint card of the applicant shall be
submitted to DCI.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 114-19.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0407
OF CCH RECORDS
(&) Researchers who wish to use criminal justice information
maintained by CIIS shall first submit to the North Carolina CJIS
System Officer (CSO) a completed research design that
guarantees protection of security and privacy. Authorization to
use computerized criminal history records shall be given after
the CSO has approved the research design.

(b) In making a determination to approve the submitted research
design, the CSO must ensure that:

RESEARCH USE AND ACCESS

(8] an individual's right to privacy will not be
violated by the research program;

2) the program is calculated to prevent injury or
embarrassment to any individual;

3 the results outweigh any disadvantages that are

created for the North Carolina criminal justice
system if the research information is provided;

()] the criminal justice community will benefit
from the research and use; and
(5) the requestor is responsible for cost.

(c) For purposes of this Rule, a researcher is defined as a non-
criminal justice or private agency or a criminal justice agency
wishing to access criminal history data for a statistical purpose.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 114-19.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.
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12 NCAC 041 .0408 LIMITATION REQUIREMENTS
Research designs must preserve the anonymity of all subjects.
The following requirements are applicable to all such programs
of research and each criminal justice agency or researcher is
responsible for their implementation:
1) Computerized  criminal  history  records
furnished for purposes of any program of
research shall not be used to the detriment of

the person(s) to whom such information
relates.
(2) Criminal  history records furnished for

purposes of any program of research shall not
be used for any other purpose; nor may such
information be used for any program of
research other than that authorized by the
North Carolina CJIS System Officer (CSO).

3) Each researcher or anyone having access to the
computerized criminal history shall, prior to
having such access, sign a Disclosure
Agreement with the CSO incorporating the
requirements of Rule 04H .0304 of this
Chapter.

4) The authorization for access to computerized
criminal history records shall assure that the
criminal justice agency and CIIS have rights to
monitor the program of research to assure
compliance with this Rule. Such monitoring
rights include the right of CIIS staff to audit
and review such monitoring activities and also
to pursue their own monitoring activities.

(5) CIIS and the criminal justice agency involved
may examine and verify the data generated as
a result of the program, and, if a material error
or omission is found to have occurred, may
order the data not be released for any purpose
unless corrected to the satisfaction of the
agency and CIIS.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 114-19.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0409
ATTORNEYS

(@ An attorney must have entered in to a proceeding in
accordance with G.S. 15A-141 in order to access CHRI. The
attorney may have access to the CHRI of only the defendant he
or she is representing. The prosecuting District Attorney must
approve the request.

(b) If, during a proceeding, an attorney desires CHRI of an
individual involved in the proceeding other than the attorney's
client, the attorney shall make a motion before the court
indicating the desire for the CHRI.

(¢) In order to maintain compliance with state and federal
requirements an attorney shall disclose the purpose for any
request of CHRI.

(d) CIIS shall provide a form to be utilized by any DCIN user
when fulfilling a request for CHRI by an attorney. This form
shall help ensure compliance with state and federal rules
regarding access to and dissemination of CHRI.

ACCESS TO CHRI BY

(e) The attorney must fill out all applicable fields of the form
and return it to the DCIN user to process the request. The
attorney shall provide:

(D) the client's name;

2 docket number for the matter;

?3) prosecutorial district in which the matter is
being tried; and

4 the next date on which the matter is being
heard.

(f) The attorney may submit requests for CHRI only within the
prosecutorial district of the District Attorney that is prosecuting
the defendant(s). If a change of venue has been granted during a
proceeding, this R\ule still applies, and the attorney must still
seek the CHRI from the prosecutorial district within which the
proceeding originated.

(9) Records of requests and dissemination to attorneys must be
kept by the disseminating agency for a period of one year.

(h) Requests for North Carolina-only CHRI may be notarized in
lieu of approval from the District Attorney.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 15A-141;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0410
PROCEEDINGS
(&) Access to CHRI is permitted in civil domestic violence and
civil stalking proceedings.

(b) Access to and dissemination of CHRI for civil proceedings
in this Rule shall be done in accordance with Rules .0401 and
.0402 of this Section.

(c) Access to and dissemination of CHRI for any other type of
civil proceeding is prohibited.

(d) Civil courts may be issued an Originating Agency ldentifier
(OR) for the purposes of this Rule. The ORI issuance must be
approved by the FBI and North Carolina's CJIS System Officer
(CS0).

ACCESS TO CHRI IN CIVIL

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0501 EXPUNGEMENTS

Upon the receipt of a valid court ordered expungement, CIIS
shall expunge the appropriate CHRI as directed by the court
order. An electronic notification regarding the expungement
shall be sent to the FBI for processing and all agencies that have
inquired on the record within the past 90 days shall be advised of
the court order.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 15A-145; 15A-146; 90-96; 90-
113.14; 114.10; 114-10.1; 150B-19(5)b. e.
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0601 STATEWIDE AUTOMATED
FINGERPRINT IDENTIFICATION SYSTEM

(a) Agencies which meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 04H
.0201(a) may access the North Carolina Statewide Automated
Fingerprint Identification System for criminal justice purposes.
(b) The acronym used for the Statewide Automated Fingerprint
Identification System shall be SAFIS.
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History Note:
114-16;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 15A-502; 114-10; 114-10.1;

12 NCAC 041 .0602 AVAILABLE DATA
(@ The following data is available through SAFIS and may be
used to make comparisons and obtain CCH data:

1) fingerprint images; and

(2) state identification number.
(b) When the state identification number is used to obtain CCH
data, dissemination requirements outlined in Rule .0401 of this
Subchapter must be followed.

History Note:
114-16;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 15A-502; 114-10; 114-10.1;

12 NCAC 041 .0603 FINGERPRINTING OF
CONVICTED SEX OFFENDERS
(@) Fingerprints submitted in accordance with G.S. 14-208.7
must contain the following information on the convicted sex
offender in order to be processed by the SBI:

1) ORI number;

(2) complete name;

(3) date of birth;

(@) race;

(5) sex;

(6) sex offender registration number (SRN); and

(8) a set of fingerprint impressions and palm
prints if the agency is capable of capturing
palm prints.

Submissions shall be made through the registering agency's
LiveScan device.

(b) Fingerprints submitted to CIIS that do not contain all of the
items in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not be accepted.

(c) The submitted fingerprint information shall be added to the
North Carolina Sex Offender Registry and to SAFIS.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0701 DISSEMINATION OF DIVISION
OF MOTOR VEHCILES INFORMATION

(@) DMV information obtained from or through DCIN shall not
be disseminated to anyone outside those agencies eligible under
12 NCAC 04H .0201(a) unless obtained for the following
purposes:

1) in the decision of issuing permits or licenses if
statutory authority stipulates the non-issuance
or denial of a permit or license to an individual
who is a habitual violator of traffic laws or
who has committed certain traffic offenses and
those licensing purposes have been authorized
by CIIS and the Attorney General's Office;

(2) by governmental agencies to evaluate
prospective or current employees for positions
involving the operation of publicly owned
vehicles; or

3 by a defendant's attorney of record in
accordance with G.S. 15A-141.

(b) Each agency disseminating driver history information to a

non-criminal justice agency for any of the purposes listed in

Paragraph (a) shall maintain a log of dissemination for one year

containing the following information:

(D) date of inquiry for obtaining driver's history;

2 name of terminal operator;

?3) name of record subject;

(@) driver's license number;

(5) name of individual and agency requesting or

receiving information; and
(6) purpose of inquiry.

(c) Driver history information obtained from or through DCIN
shall not be released to the individual named in the record. An
individual seeking his or her own driver history information
shall be instructed to contact DMV.
(d) DMV information obtained for any purpose listed in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be used for only that purpose and
shall not be redisseminated or released for any other purpose.
(e) Nothing in this Rule shall prevent an attorney from
discussing the contents of driver history information with the
individual named in the record if the attorney is representing the
individual in accordance with G.S. 15A-141.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 041 .0801 AUDITS

(@) CHS shall biennially audit criminal justice information
entered, modified, cancelled, cleared and disseminated by DCIN
users. Agencies subject to audit include all agencies that have
direct or indirect access to information obtained through DCIN.
(b) CIIS shall send designated representatives to selected law
enforcement and criminal justice agency sites to audit:

1) criminal history usage and dissemination logs;

2) NICS usage and dissemination logs;

3 driver history dissemination logs;

4) security safeguards and procedures adopted for
the filing, storage, dissemination, or

destruction of criminal history records;

5) physical security of DCIN devices in
accordance with the current FBI CJIS Security
Policy;

(6) documentation establishing the accuracy,

validity, and timeliness of the entry of records
entered into NCIC wanted person, missing
person, property, protection order, and DCIN
and NCIC sex offender files;

@) the technical security of devices and computer
networks connected to DCIN in accordance
with the current FBI CJIS Security Policy;

8) user certification, status, and background
screening;
©)] user agreements between the agency and North

Carolina's CSA,;

(10) servicing agreements between agencies with
DCIN devices and agencies without DCIN
devices (when applicable);

29:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2014




APPROVED RULES

(11) use of private contractors or governmental
information technology professionals for
information technology support along with the
proper training and screening of those
personnel; and

(12) control agreements between agencies and
entities providing information technology
support (when applicable).

(c) The audits shall be conducted to ensure that the agencies are
complying with state and federal regulations, as well as federal
and state statutes on security and privacy of criminal history
record information.

(d) CIIS shall provide notice to the audited agency as to the
findings of the audit. If discrepancies or deficiencies are
discovered during the audit they shall be noted in the findings
along with possible sanctions for any deficiencies or rule
violations.

(e) If applicable, CIIS shall also biennially audit agencies' N-
DEXx access and usage. CIIS shall audit:

@ network security;

(2) N-DEx transactions performed by agency
personnel; and

3) user certification and status

(f) Audits of N-DEx usage shall occur concurrently with an
agency's DCIN audit, and shall ensure compliance with state and
federal regulations on security and privacy of criminal justice
information contained within N-DEX.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04J .0101
As used in this Subchapter:

(1) "Revocation of certification" means a DCIN
user's certification is canceled for a period not
to exceed one year. At the end of the
revocation period the user must attend the
DCIN Module 1 certification class.
Notification of the revocation shall be sent by
DCI via certified mail to the DCIN user and
the user's agency head.

2 "Suspension of certification” means a DCIN
user is prohibited from operating a DCIN
device for a period not to exceed 90 days.
Notification of the suspension shall be sent by
DCI via certified mail to the DCIN user's
agency head and to the DCIN user. The
agency shall be audited within 90 days of
reinstatement of a user's certification.

3) "Suspension of services" means an agency's
direct access to DCIN is suspended for a
period not to exceed two weeks after the North
Carolina CSO's finding of fault, and the
agency head must then appear before the CSO
to respond to the cited violation. This
suspension may be limited to certain files or
may include a complete suspension of
services, depending on the administrative
procedure violated. The agency is subject to a

DEFINITIONS

re-audit after 90 days of reinstatement. Further
violations of the same regulation, within two
years from the date of the suspension, or
failure to appear before the CSO to respond to
the cited violation is grounds to cancel the user
agreement with the agency.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04J .0102
BY INDIVIDUALS
When any certified DCIN user is found to have knowingly and
willfully violated any provision of these Rules, DCI may take
action to correct the violation and to ensure the violation does
not re-occur, to include, but not limited to, the following:

SANCTIONS FOR VIOLATIONS

(D) issuing an oral warning and a request for
compliance;

2 issuing a written warning and a request for
compliance;

3 suspending the DCIN user's certification; or

(@) revoking the DCIN user's certification.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04J .0103
BY AGENCIES

When any agency who has entered in to an agreement in
accordance with 12 NCAC 04H .0301 is found to have
knowingly and willfully violated any provision of these Rules,
DCI may take action to correct the violation and to ensure the
violation does not re-occur, to include, but not limited to, the

SANCTIONS FOR VIOLATIONS

following:
1) issuing an oral warning and a request for
compliance;
2) issuing a written warning and a request for
compliance; or
3 suspending services to the violating agency.

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1;
Eff. August 1, 2014.

12 NCAC 04J .0201 NOTICE OF VIOLATION

DCI shall send a written notice via certified mail to the
offending agency or employee when DCI has determined that a
violation of a DCI rule has occurred. The notice shall inform the
party of appeal rights and shall also contain the citation of the
rule alleged to have been violated.

History Note:
150B-23(f);
Eff. August 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 150B-3(b);

12 NCAC 04J .0301 INFORMAL PROCEDURE

(&) In accordance with G.S. 150B-22 any agency or DCIN user
may request a hearing before the North Carolina CSO within 30
days after receipt of written notification from DCI of an adverse
action. A request for a hearing shall be made by certified mail to
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the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation Division of
Criminal Information, Post Office Box 29500, Raleigh, North
Carolina 27626.

(b) Upon receipt of a request for an informal hearing, the CSO
shall conduct a hearing and consider the positions of the parties.
The CSO shall notify the parties of his or her decision within
two weeks following the informal hearing and provide
information to the parties of their further appeal rights in
accordance with G.S. 150B-23.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 150B-3(b);
150B-22; 150B-23(f).
Eff. August 1, 2014.

EE A I i S S I I S S

12 NCAC 07D .0901 REQUIREMENTS FOR A
FIREARMS TRAINER CERTIFICATE
(a) Firearms trainer applicants shall:

@ meet the minimum standards established by
Rule .0703 of this Subchapter;
(2) have a minimum of one year of supervisory

experience in security with a contract security
company or proprietary security organization,
or one year of experience with any federal,
state, county or municipal law enforcement
agency;

3 attain a 90 percent score on a firearm's
prequalification course approved by the Board
and the Attorney General, with a copy of the
firearm's course certificate to be kept on file in
the administrator's office;

4) complete a training course approved by the
Board and the Attorney General which shall
consist of a minimum of 40 hours of classroom
and practical range training in handgun and
shotgun safety and maintenance, range
operations, night firearm training, control and
safety procedures, and methods of handgun
and shotgun firing;

(5) pay the certified trainer application fee
established in Rule .0903(a)(1) of this Section;
and

(6) successfully complete the requirements of the
Unarmed Trainer Certificate set forth in Rule
.0909 of this Section.

(b) The applicant's score on the prequalification course set forth
in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule is valid for 180 days after
completion of the course.

(¢) In lieu of completing the training course set forth in
Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the
Board a current Criminal Justice Specialized Law Enforcement
Firearms Instructor Certificate from the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.

(d) In lieu of Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (4) of this Rule, an
applicant may establish to the Board's satisfaction a military
occupational specialty and two years of verifiable experience
within the past five years in the U.S. Armed Forces as a firearms
instructor.

(e) All applicants subject to Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule
shall comply with the provisions of Subparagraph (a)(3), pay the
application amount as set forth in Rule .0903 of this Section, and
complete the eight hour course given by the Board on rules and
regulations.
(f) In addition to the requirement of 12 NCAC 07D .0200, an
applicant for a firearms trainer certificate who is the spouse of an
active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish to
the Board's satisfaction that:
1) the spouse holds a current license,
certification, or registration from another
jurisdiction and the other jurisdiction's
requirements are substantially equivalent to or
exceed the Board's requirements; and
2 the spouse has two years of verifiable
experience within the past five years as a
firearms instructor.
(g) A Firearms Trainer Certificate expires two years after the
date of issuance.

History Note:
15.1;

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; October 1, 2013; December 1, 2008;
January 1, 2008; August 1, 2004; November 1, 1991.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13; 93B-

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 02 - BOARD OF ARCHITECTURE

21 NCAC 02 .0107 FORMS
Any forms referred to or required by these rules are available on
the Board web site at www.ncbarch.org.

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 1989; November 1, 1979.

21 NCAC 02 .0108 FEES

Fees required by the Board, are payable in advance and are set
forth below:

Initial Registration Application by Exam

Residents and Non-Residents $ 50.00
Firm $ 75.00
Application to take the Architectural Registration Exam
$ 50.00
Annual license renewal
Individual $ 50.00
Firm $100.00
Late renewal Penalty $ 50.00
Reciprocal registration $150.00

Individual or Firm Reinstatement shall be the fee as set forth
G.S. 83A-11 and G.S. 55B-10.
All fees paid to the Board are non-refundable.
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Other publications and services provided by the Board are
available on the Board web site at www.ncbarch.org.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 83A-4; 83A-11;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; December 1, 2010; June 1, 1995;
December 1, 1992; May 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; July 1, 1987.

21 NCAC 02 .0202
RULES

The Executive Director shall make available on the Board web
site at www.ncbarch.org Chapter 83A of the North Carolina
General Statutes and the rules of the Board adopted hereunder.
Rules adopted and published by the Board under the provisions
of Chapter 83A and Chapter 150B shall be binding upon every
individual holding a license from the Board, and upon all
professional corporations legally authorized to offer or to
perform architectural services in this state. All licensees of the
Board are charged with having knowledge of the existence of the
Board rules and shall be deemed to be familiar with and have an
understanding of their provisions. Each licensed person and
entity shall affirm in their renewals that they have read the
current architectural laws and rules.

APPLICABILITY OF BOARD

History Note:  Authority G.S. 83A-6;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; June 1, 1995; May 1, 1989.

21 NCAC 02 .0214
ARCHITECTURE
(@) Registration. Prior to offering and rendering architectural
services as set forth in G.S. 83A and 21 NCAC 02 .0204(a), all
firms shall submit an application for firm registration and be
granted registration by the Board.  Application for firm
registration to practice of architecture within the State of North
Carolina shall be made upon forms provided on the Board web
site at www.ncbarch.org and include the required application fee
as set forth in Rule .0108 of this Chapter. Certificates for firm
practice shall be issued only under the provisions of the
Professional Corporation Act, G.S. 55B, except as provided in
Subsection (b) of this Rule and G.S 57C.
(b) Architectural Corporations Under G.S. 55, the Business
Corporation Act. Applications for certificate of registration as
exempt from the Professional Corporation Act under the
provisions of G.S. 55B-15 shall be made upon forms provided
by the Board. Completed applications shall be accompanied by
the corporate application fee. To be eligible as an exempt
corporation under the provisions of G.S. 55B-15, the following
conditions must exist:
1) The corporation must have been incorporated
prior to June 5, 1969 as a business corporation;
2 Prior to and since June 5, 1969, the
corporation must have been a bona fide
architectural or architectural-engineering firm
with services limited to the practice of
architecture or architecture-engineering and

FIRM PRACTICE OF

ancillary services within the State of North
Carolina; and
3 The corporation must have applied to be an

exempt corporation before October 1, 1979.
(c) Renewal of Certificate. Firm registration shall be renewed
on or before December 31st each year. If the Board has not
received the annual renewal fee and completed application on or
before December 31st each year, the firm license shall expire.
No less than 30 days prior to the renewal date, the Board shall
send a notice of renewal to each registered firm. Renewal
documentation shall be accompanied by the renewal fee. If the
accompanying draft or check in the amount of the renewal fee is
dishonored by the firm's drawee bank for any reason, the Board
shall suspend the firm registration until the renewal fees and
returned check charges are paid. When the annual renewal has
been complete according to the provision of G.S. 83A-11, the
Executive Director shall approve renewal for the firm
registration for the current renewal year. Upon completion of
the firm annual renewal, the Board may randomly audit the
compliance of firm registrations and require proof in the form of
corporate records maintained pursuant to North Carolina General
Statute 55B. Such records must be maintained for a period of
seven years after the renewal is submitted. Renewal fees are
non-refundable.
(d) Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. Within one year of the
expiration, the firm license may be renewed at any time, upon
the return of the completed renewal documents, the annual
renewal fee, and the late renewal fees. After one year from the
date of expiration for non-payment of the annual renewal fee the
licensee shall seek reinstatement, as allowed by G.S. 83A-11.
The Board may reinstate the firms' certificate of registration, as
allowed by G.S. 83A-11.
(e) Seal. Each registered corporation shall adopt a seal pursuant
to 21 NCAC 02 .0206(a)(3).
(f) Approval of Name. In addition to the requirements and
limitations of G.S. 55 and 55B, the firm name used by an
architectural corporation shall conform with Rule .0205 and be
approved by the Board before being used. This Rule shall not
prohibit the continued use of any firm name adopted in
conformity with the General Statutes of North Carolina and
Board Rules in effect at the date of such adoption.

History Note:
83A-8;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; December 1, 2010; July 1, 1993;
May 1, 1989; November 1, 1979.

Authority G.S. 55B-5; 55B-10; 55B-15; 83A-6;

21 NCAC 02 .0302 EXAMINATION

(a) Licensure Examination. All applicants for architectural
registration in North Carolina by examination shall pass the
Architectural Registration Examination (ARE), prepared by the
National Council of Architectural Registration Boards
(NCARB). Applicants who have never been registered in any
NCARB recognized jurisdiction may transfer credits for portions
of the examination previously passed in another jurisdiction if at
the time of initial approval to take the exam in said jurisdiction
they otherwise qualified for taking the exam under the rules in
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this Chapter. The qualifications necessary for eligibility to take
the ARE are as follows:

1) be of good moral character as defined in G.S.
83A-1(5);

2 be at least 18 years of age;

3) completion of a NAAB (National

Architectural Accrediting Board) accredited
professional degree in architecture;

4) all applicants who apply for architectural
registration by exam are required to be
enrolled in the Intern Development Program
(IDP) through NCARB or a program approved
as equivalent by the North Carolina Board of
Architecture as set forth in G.S. 83A-7(a)(2)

(5) The Board shall grant eligibility to take the
exam, to those individuals who have obtained
the required NAAB accredited degree and
have enrolled in the NCARB IDP. Upon
successful completion of all sections of the
ARE and fulfillment of all IDP requirements
an individual may submit the application and
fee for licensure by exam and may then be
granted a license to practice architecture. G.S.
83A-7(a)(1)a. shall be deemed satisfied
through completion of the requirements set
forth in this Paragraph.

(b) Retention of credit for purposes of licensure by examination
in North Carolina.

@ Passing scores received after July 1, 2006 on
any part of the ARE remain valid for a period
of time established by the exam provider,
NCARB and found on the web site at
www.ncarb.org.

(2) As of July 1, 2011, passing scores received on
any part of the ARE prior to July 1, 1996 are
invalid.

3) As of July 1, 2014, passing scores received on
any part of the ARE after July 1, 1996 and
prior to July 1, 2006 are invalid.

(c) Practical training as indicated in G.S. 83A-7(a)(2) means
practical experience and diversified training as defined by the
Intern Development Program through the NCARB. However,
the Board may judge each case on its own merits.

(d) Personal interview. During the application process, the
applicant may be interviewed by the Board members. The
purpose of the interview is to augment the evidence submitted in
an application with regard to qualifications required in
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule.

(e) The ARE shall be graded in accordance with the methods
and procedures recommended by NCARB. An exam candidate
shall receive a passing grade in each division of the
Architectural Registration Exam. Information regarding NCARB
grading methods and procedures is found on their web site at
www.ncarb.org.

(f) A person currently employed under the responsible control
of an architect, who holds a Professional Degree from a NAAB
accredited program, and who maintains an active NCARB IDP
record or has successfully completed the NCARB IDP may use

the title "Architectural Intern" or "Intern Architect" in
conjunction with his or her current employment.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 83A-1; 83A-6; 83A-7;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; November 1, 2010; July 1, 2006;
July 1, 2000; July 1, 1996; June 1, 1995; December 1, 1992;
July 1, 1991.

21 NCAC 02 .0303 LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY
(a) An individual who holds a current license in good standing
from a National Council of Architecture Registration Boards
(NCARB) recognized jurisdiction and a Certified Council
Certificate (also known as "Blue Cover") issued by NCARB
may qualify for licensure by reciprocity. Upon receipt of a
certified record from NCARB and the Board application for
licensure by reciprocity and fee, the Board may issue a license to
an applicant as provided in G.S. 83A-7(b). Revocation of the
certificate by NCARB shall automatically suspend the architect's
license to practice in North Carolina until such time as the
certificate is reinstated by NCARB.

(b) The Board may interview with the applicant to satisfy the
Board, or its designee that the applicant has had sufficient recent
architectural practice experience to be able to competently
practice architecture in this state.

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-7;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; November 1, 2010; July 1, 2006;
July 1, 2000; October 1, 1995; May 1, 1989; October 1, 1984;
September 1, 1982.

EE IR S S S S S I I S S I

CHAPTER 10 - BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC
EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 10 .0204 LICENSURE

(a) Initial Licensure. The initial license awarded to an applicant
who passed the examination shall be mailed to the address
appearing on the application form.

(b) Change of Address. It shall be the responsibility of the
licentiate to inform the Board of any change in his or her mailing
address. Updated address information shall be forwarded to the
secretary in writing within 30 days after any such change.

(c) Email and Facsimile. A licentiate who maintains an office
email address or office facsimile machine shall inform the Board
of his or her current email address or facsimile machine
telephone number. This contact information shall not be made
available to the public and shall be used only for expediting the
dissemination of official messages the Board deems high priority
or urgent.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-145; 90-148;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983;
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Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. February 28, 1983;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; December 1, 1988.

21 NCAC 10.0213
ASSISTANTS

(@) Classification of Applicants. The Board hereby establishes
the following categories of applicants for clinical assistant
competency certification. Different certification requirements
apply to each category.

(1) Grandfathered applicants. A "grandfathered
applicant" is an applicant who is currently
employed as a clinical assistant, who has been
trained by the applicant's employing physician
to perform the duties of a clinical assistant as
defined in G.S. 90-143.4(a), and who shall
have amassed at least 500 working hours in the
capacity of a clinical assistant as of the
effective date of this Rule. (Note: this category
is temporary; the opportunity to be
grandfathered shall expire 120 days after the
effective date of this Rule.)

(2) Reciprocity  applicants. A "reciprocity
applicant" is an applicant who is currently
certified or registered as a clinical assistant in
another state whose requirements  for
certification or registration are substantially
similar to or more stringent than the
requirements for certification in North
Carolina.

3 New applicants. A "new applicant” is any
applicant who is not a grandfathered applicant
or a reciprocity applicant.

(b) Requirements for Certification. Every applicant, regardless
of classification, shall complete an application form provided by
the Board (available at www.ncchiroboard.com) and submit
evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant is at least 18
years of age, a high school graduate or the equivalent, and
possessed of good moral character. A photocopy of the
applicant's birth certificate, driver's license or government-issued
identification card shall constitute prima facie evidence of the
applicant's age. A photocopy of the applicant's high school
diploma, transcript or general equivalency diploma (G.E.D.)
shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's
graduation from high school. An affidavit attesting to good
moral character and signed by a chiropractic physician or other
responsible party who knows the applicant and is not related to
the applicant shall constitute prima facie evidence of the
applicant's good moral character. Every applicant, regardless of
classification, shall pay to the Board an initial certification fee in
the amount of twenty dollars ($20.00). In addition to the
foregoing general requirements, an applicant shall satisfy the
requirements for the applicant’s individual category, as follows:

1) Grandfathered Applicants. A grandfathered
applicant shall submit, on a form provided by
the Board (available at
www.ncchiroboard.com), an attestation signed
by the applicant's employing physician
confirming that the applicant is currently

CERTIFICATION OF CLINICAL

employed as a clinical assistant, has received
sufficient on-the-job training, in the judgment
of the employer, to perform the duties of a
clinical assistant, and has amassed at least 500
hours of work experience in the capacity of a
clinical assistant as of the effective date of this
Rule. In addition, a grandfathered applicant
shall take and pass a refresher proficiency
examination administered by or under the
authority of the Board, as described in
Paragraph  (d) of this Rule. (Note:
grandfathered applications shall only be
accepted for 120 days after the effective date
of this Rule.)

2 Reciprocity ~ Applicants. A reciprocity
applicant shall submit a copy of the applicant's
current certification or registration as a clinical
assistant in a state with which North Carolina
reciprocates and shall also submit written
confirmation from the state’s certifying
authority or registrar that the applicant is in
good standing in said state.

3 New Applicants. A new applicant shall submit
evidence satisfactory to the Board that the
applicant has completed an approved clinical
assistant education program as described in
Paragraph (c) of this Rule. A certificate of
completion filed with the Board by the
program sponsor shall constitute prima facie
evidence that the applicant has obtained the
required education. A new applicant shall also
take and pass the standard proficiency
examination administered by or under the
authority of the Board, as described in
Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

(¢) Education Programs. In order to be approved by the Board, a
clinical assistant education program for new applicants shall be
at least 24 hours in length, of which at least six hours shall be in-
person didactic training with an instructor or instructors who,
based on education and experience, are deemed competent by
the Board to teach the portion of the curriculum they have been
assigned. Credit for online coursework shall not exceed 18
hours, and all online coursework shall precede didactic training.
At a minimum, the education program shall provide sufficient
instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 90-143.4(c) to
enable its graduates to satisfy all applicable standards of care. To
obtain approval of an education program, the program sponsor
shall submit to the Board, at least 30 days prior to the proposed
starting date, all instructional materials to be used in the
program, including a syllabus of the didactic training, and a
curriculum vitae for each instructor.

(d) Examinations. The refresher proficiency examination shall
emphasize the practical skills possessed by grandfathered
applicants and shall be available online. The standard
proficiency examination for new applicants shall assess both
academic knowledge and practical skills acquired through
education programs and shall be administered in person at least
four times per year on the fourth Saturday in January, April, July
and October. In its discretion, the Board may authorize
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additional testing sessions based on the number of applications
received. (Note: the refresher proficiency examination for
grandfathered applicants shall be discontinued 120 days after the
effective date of this Rule.)

(e) Certificate Expiration and Renewal. Unless renewed, a
certificate of competency shall expire on June 30" of the second
year following the year in which it was issued. A certificate
holder seeking to renew shall complete a renewal application
form provided by the Board (available at
www.ncchiroboard.com) and shall submit evidence satisfactory
to the Board that the applicant has completed six hours of Board-
approved continuing education. A certificate of attendance filed
with the Board by the program sponsor shall constitute prima
facie evidence that the applicant has completed the number of
hours recited in the certificate. The applicant shall pay to the
Board a renewal fee in the amount of ten dollars ($10.00).

(f) Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed
due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 12 months, the
certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by making up the
accrued deficiency in continuing education. If the lapse is greater
than 12 months, no make-up continuing education shall be
required, but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the
standard proficiency examination for new applicants. Regardless
of the length of lapse, a certificate holder seeking reinstatement
shall pay to the Board a renewal fee in the amount of ten dollars
($10.00).

(g) Exemptions. Graduates of accredited chiropractic colleges
and students enrolled in accredited chiropractic colleges who are
serving college-sponsored preceptorships in North Carolina are
deemed by the Board to have satisfied all requirements imposed
by this Rule and are declared competent to perform the duties of
a clinical assistant. Any person who qualifies for exemption and
who works as a clinical assistant in this state for more than 120
days shall submit an application form to the Board asserting
exempt status (form available at www.ncchiroboard.com) but
shall not be required to submit a certification fee.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.4;

R I i i S S T R G

CHAPTER 37 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR NURSING
HOME ADMINISTRATORS

21 NCAC 37B .0101 AUTHORITY: NAME &
LOCATION OF BOARD

The "North Carolina State Board of Examiners for Nursing
Home Administrators,”" subsequently herein referred to as the
"Board," is established and authorized by G.S. 90, Article 20.
The Board's physical location and mailing address is: 3733
National Drive, Suite 110, Raleigh, North Carolina 27612. The
Board's website address is www.ncbenha.org.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-277;
Eff. April 1, 1996;
Amend Eff. July 1, 2014,

21 NCAC 37D .0202 INITIAL LICENSURE FEE

Prior to licensure, the applicant shall send an initial licensure
non-refundable fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00) when the
applicant has successfully passed the examinations required by
the Board under Sections .0600 and .0700 of this Subchapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-280;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1977;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; December 15, 1977;

Amended Eff. December 30, 1981;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120
days to expire on November 9, 1982;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; October 1, 1982;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0302 Eff. April
1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.

21 NCAC 37D .0402 APPLICATION TO BECOME
ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING (AIT)

(@) The applicant shall submit to the Board an application
containing:

(8] name;

2 education;

©) employment history;

4) questions pertaining to moral character;
5) criminal history; and

(6) an affidavit stating that the applicant if granted
a license, shall obey the laws of the state and
the rules of the Board, and shall maintain the
honor and dignity of the profession.

(b) The applicant shall submit a resume.

(¢) The applicant shall submit three reference forms (one
employer and two character) as set forth in Rule .0203 of this
Subchapter:

(8] the Employer Reference Form shall include
the address of employment and duties
assigned; and

2 the Character Reference Form shall include
how this individual knows the applicant and
whether the applicant is capable to supervise
the care of residents of a skilled facility. No
character reference shall be from a relative of
the applicant.

(d) The applicant shall submit an official transcript issued by the
institution indicating the courses completed and hours earned,
specifying whether semester or quarter hours. The applicant
shall supply documentation of his or her supervisory experience
in a nursing home if the applicant is utilizing the experience
substitute for the education requirement as allowed by G.S. 90-
278(1)b.

(e) The applicant and the preceptor shall appear before the
Board for a personal interview.

(f) The preceptor shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to
the personal interview:
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1) a Facility Survey Form stating the facility
license number, address and the number of

beds;

2 a letter accepting individual as an AlT;

3) a Preceptor Disclosure Form stating number of
years the individual has served as an

administrator and number of AlITs precepted:;
4) a curriculum outline for the AIT program that
provides the AIT with job experience in each
department. A curriculum outline shall
include each department in the facility and the
information that will be covered, including the
recommended number of weeks in the
program as outlined on the AIT Curriculum
Request and Rationale Form;
(5) an AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale
Form shall be based on education and
experience of the AIT applicant. The preceptor
shall be responsible for providing a rationale
for all subject areas with the recommended
number of weeks for the AIT; and
(6) the directions to the facility.
(9) The owner or governing board of the facility shall submit to
the Board three weeks prior to the personal interview a letter of
approval for the AIT applicant to train in the facility.
(h) A non-refundable processing fee of two hundred fifty dollars
($250.00) shall be submitted with the application.
(i) An AIT applicant shall maintain at all times a current
residential mailing address with the Board office.
(i) The applicant may obtain an application and forms from the
Board's website or from the Board office.

History Note:
288.01;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977;

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1980;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1,
1991; May 1, 1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0502 Eff. April
1, 1996;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004; April 1, 1996.

Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-

21 NCAC 37D .0703
ADMINISTRATION
(@) The State Examination shall be administered on dates to be
determined and published by the Board on the State Examination
Application form located on the Board's website. It may also be
offered to reciprocity applicants and to AIT applicants who
passed the National Examination but previously failed the State
Examination on different dates if the applicants show good
cause, such as unavailability due to illness, inclement weather,
employment, or survey.

(b) An applicant shall pay a non-refundable processing fee of
one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) each time the applicant takes
the State Examination.

STATE EXAMINATION

(c) To sit for the State Examination, the applicant shall submit a
Test Confidentiality and Attestation Form, which is a release
form stating the applicant will keep test questions confidential.
This form is provided by the Board on the website and in the
information package.

(d) An applicant shall pass the State Exam within one year of
the date of completion of the AIT program.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285;
Eff. April 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004.

21 NCAC 37E .0102 APPLICATION CONTENTS

An applicant for reciprocity/endorsement shall submit the
following items that shall be received by the Board three weeks
prior to the next scheduled Board Meeting posted on the Board's
website:

(D) a completed application;

2 a resume;

©) certified college transcript(s);

(@) three reference forms (one employer and two

character) located on the Board's website as set

forth in Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203:

@) the Employer Reference Form shall
include the address of employment
and duties assigned; and

(b) the Character Reference Form shall
include how the individual knows the
applicant and whether the applicant is
capable of supervising the care of
residents of a skilled facility. No
character reference shall be from a
relative of the applicant.

5) a licensing questionnaire(s) from every state
where the applicant held a license. The
questionnaire is available on the Board's
website;

(6) a non-refundable processing fee of two
hundred fifty dollars ($250.00); and

@) a fingerprint card, necessary forms, and
required fee for criminal background check.
Information regarding the forms and fees for
the criminal background check is available in
the Board office.

History Note:
288.01;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1980;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1,
1991; May 1, 1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0912(b) Eff.
April 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.

Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-287; 90-
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21 NCAC 37F .0102
LICENSE

(@ An applicant for a temporary license shall submit the
following items:

ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY

1) a completed application;
2 a resume;
3) three reference forms (one employer and two

character) located on the Board's website as set

forth in Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203:

(A) the Employer Reference Form shall
include the address of employment
and duties assigned; and

(B) the Character Reference Form shall
include how the individual knows the
applicant and whether the applicant is
capable of supervising the care of
residents of a skilled facility. No
character reference shall be from a
relative of the applicant;

(@) a letter from the owner or regional manager
requesting the issuance of a Temporary

License for the facility stating the

circumstances necessitating the issuance of the

license; and
(5) the processing fee of three hundred dollars

($300.00).

(b) After an applicant is issued a temporary license he or she
shall submit a fingerprint card, necessary forms, and the required
fee for a criminal background check, and successfully pass the
state examination administered by the Board at the next exam
date to retain the temporary license. Information regarding the
forms and fees for the criminal background check is available in
the Board office.

(c) Atemporary license may be extended at the discretion of the
Board in accordance with the requirements of Rule .0101(d) of
this Section.

(d) A temporary license shall be issued to the applicant to
permit him or her to practice only in the nursing home to which
the applicant is assigned on the date of issuance.

(e) If the Board extends the temporary license, no further fee
shall be required.

History Note:
288.01;

Eff. February 1, 1980;

Amended Eff. April 15, 1980;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982;
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .1003 Eff. April
1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000.

Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-

21 NCAC 37G .0102 RENEWAL FEE
Upon making application for renewal, a licensee shall pay a
biennial licensure fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-286;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977;

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;

Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120
days to expire on November 9, 1982;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; December 1,
1983; October 1, 1982;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0904 Eff. April
1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.

21 NCAC 37G .0201 INACTIVE REQUIREMENTS

(&) An administrator who desires to be placed on the inactive
list shall make a written request on the biennial renewal form
provided by the Board and submit a non-refundable inactive fee
of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per year fee to the Board.

(b) A request to be placed on the inactive list shall be submitted
to the Board no later than 30 days after expiration of the license
under Rule .0101(a) of this Subchapter. Failure to submit the
request and payment of the fee within 30 days after expiration
shall result in automatic expiration of the license retroactive to
the expiration date.

(c) If an administrator makes a request to be placed on the
inactive list pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule, an
administrator may remain on the inactive list for a period not to
exceed four years provided the licensee pays an inactive fee of
one hundred dollars ($100.00) for each additional year prior to
expiration of the inactive period.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. April 8, 1977;

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;

Readopted with Change Eff. October 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. February 1, 1991;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0906 Eff. April
1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000.

21 NCAC 37H .0102 CONTINUING EDUCATION
PROGRAMS OF STUDY
(a) The Board shall certify and administer courses in continuing
education for the professional development of nursing home
administrators and to enable persons to meet the requirements of
the Rules in this Chapter. The licensee shall keep a record of his
or her continuing education hours. Certified courses, including
those sponsored by the Board, an accredited university, college
or community college, associations, professional societies, or
organizations shall:
1) contain a minimum of one classroom hour of
academic work and not more than eight
classroom hours within a 24-hour period; and
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2 include instruction in one or more of the
following general subject areas or their
equivalents:

(A) Resident Care and Quality of Life;
(B) Human Resources;

© Finance;

(D) Physical Environment and

Atmosphere; or
(E) Leadership and Management.
(b) In lieu of certifying each course offered by a provider, the
Board may certify the course provider for an annual fee not to
exceed four thousand dollars ($4,000.00). The Board Office
shall conduct a review annually of the number of courses each
provider presented in the prior year. The annual fee shall be set
at one hundred dollars ($100.00) for every course offered in the
prior year. The course provider shall submit a list of courses
offered for credit and agree to comply with the requirements of
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Certified courses not administered by the Board shall be:
@ submitted to the Board for approval 30 days
prior to the presentation of the program; and
(2) accompanied with a processing fee to cover
the cost of reviewing and maintaining records
associated by the continuing education
program. The fee schedule is as follows:

(A) any course submitted for review, up
to and including six hours, shall be
accompanied by a non-refundable fee
of one hundred dollars ($100.00); and

(B) the sponsor shall pay ten dollars
($10.00) for each additional hour for
any course submitted for review that
is greater than six hours.

(d) Courses shall be approved for a period of one year from the
date of initial presentation.
(e) In order to receive Board approval for distance learning
programs that are via printed material, cd, dvd, videotape, or
web-based, the course shall have tests before and after the
session. For every credit hour claimed, the course shall include
five questions on each test administered before and after the
course. These questions may be the same.
(f) Continuing education credit for licensees may include up to
10 hours for participation in distance learning courses only if:

1) the distance learning course is approved by the

Board or the National Association of Boards

of Examiners of Long Term Care

Administrators (NAB). The NAB is a

certifying association of continuing education

across the nation; and
2 the approved course sponsor sends to the

Board a verification of the individual's

completion of the distance learning course.

(9) The Board shall charge a fee covering the cost of continuing
education courses it sponsors, not to exceed five hundred dollars
($500.00).

History Note:
90-285; 90-286;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Authority G.S. 12-3.1(c)(3); 90-278; 90-280;

Amended Eff. April 8, 1977;

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;

Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989;
February 1, 1986;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0404 Eff. April
1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.

EE R S I i A ]

CHAPTER 53 - BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL
COUNSELORS

21 NCAC 53 .0102 PROFESSIONAL ETHICS

(a) The Board of Licensed Professional Counselors has adopted
the American Counseling Association (ACA) Code of Ethics
that are hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions. A free copy may be obtained from
the  American  Counseling  Association  online  at
www.counseling.org.

(b) In addition, the Board has adopted the Approved Clinical
Supervisor (ACS) Code of Ethics promulgated by the Center for
Credentialing and Education that are hereby incorporated by
reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. A
free copy may be obtained from the Center for Credentialing and
Education online at www.cce-global.org.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-334(h);

Temporary Rule Eff. February 21, 1984, for a Period of 120
Days to Expire on June 19, 1984;

Eff. July 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 2006; July
1, 1994.

21 NCAC 53 .0204 PROFESSIONAL DISCLOSURE
STATEMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR LPCA AND LPC

A Professional Disclosure Statement is a printed document that
includes the following information:

(8] name of licensee or applicant;

2 the licensee's or applicant's highest relevant
degree, year degree received, discipline of
degree (e.g., counseling, school counseling),
and name of institution granting the degree;

3 names and numbers of all relevant credentials
(licenses, certificates, or registrations);

4 number of years of counseling experience;

(5) description of services offered and clientele
(populations) served,;

(6) length of sessions, specific fee or range of fees

charged per session (if no fee is charged, a
statement to that effect), and methods of
payments for services, including information
about billing or insurance reimbursement;

@) an explanation of confidentiality, including
responsibilities and exceptions (e.g., child or
elder abuse, court order);
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(8) a statement of procedure for registering
complaints, including the full name, address,
and telephone number of the Board's office;

9) signature and date spaces for both the client
and licensee; and

(10) level of licensure and whether the licensee is
under supervision.  If under supervision,
include name of supervisor.

A current copy of this statement shall be provided to each client
prior to the performance of professional counseling services. An
updated Professional Disclosure Statement shall be submitted at
the time of renewal to the Board's office at 7-D Terrace Way,
Greenshoro, NC 27403. The counselor shall retain a file copy of
the Professional Disclosure Statement signed by each client.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 1995.

Authority G.S. 90-334; 90-334(h); 90-343;

21 NCAC 53 .0205 COUNSELING EXPERIENCE
The counseling experience required by G.S. 90-336(c)(2) shall
include a minimum of 2000 hours of supervised professional
practice hours of direct counseling experience. Direct
counseling experience consists of live contact with individuals,
groups, or families through counseling as defined in G.S. 90-
330(a)(3)a and b. Experience shall be gained at a rate of no
more than 40 hours per week. At least 100 hours of clinical
supervision, as defined in Rule .0210 and Rule .0211 of this
Section, shall be documented during the minimum of 3000 hours
of supervised professional practice, as defined in Rule .0208 of
this Section. No less than three-quarters of the hours of clinical
supervision shall be individual clinical supervision.

History Note:
336(c);

Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 2006.

Authority G.S. 90-330(a)(3); 90-334(h),(i); 90-

21 NCAC 53 .0206
EXPERIENCE
(@ Applicants enrolled in master's programs before July 1,
2015, a separate practicum and an internship shall be completed
as part of the graduate course of study with at least 17 hours of
graduate counseling supervision, as defined in Rules .0210 and
.0211 of this Section. Supervised graduate counseling shall be
verified by a university faculty member on forms available on
the Board's website, www.ncblpc.org, and shall consist of a
minimum of 300 hours of supervised graduate counseling
experience at a rate of not less than one hour of clinical
supervision per 40 hours of graduate counseling experience, as
defined by Rule .0701(2)(b) of this Chapter. At least 180 hours
of this counseling experience shall be direct counseling
experience as defined in Rule .0205 of this Section.

(b) Applicants who enroll in a master's program on or after July
1, 2015, graduate counseling experience shall consist of the
following separate courses:

GRADUATE COUNSELING

(1) one or more courses in practicum totaling at
least three semester hours or five quarter
hours;

2 one or more courses in internship totaling at
least three semester hours or five quarter
hours; and

?3) at least 17 hours of graduate counseling

supervision as defined in Rules .0210 and

.0211 of this Section.
Supervised graduate counseling shall be verified by a university
faculty member on forms available on the Board's website,
www.ncblpc.org, and shall consist of a minimum of 300 hours of
graduate counseling experience at a rate of not less than one
hour of clinical supervision per 40 hours of graduate counseling
experience, as defined by Rule .0701(2)(b) of this Chapter. At
least 180 hours of this counseling experience shall be direct
counseling experience as defined in Rule .0205 of this Section.

History Note:
336(b)(1);

Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010.

Authority 90-332.1(a)(3); 90-334(h),(i); 90-

21 NCAC 53 .0208
PRACTICE
"Supervised professional practice” means counseling experience
under the supervision of a qualified clinical supervisor, as
defined in Rule .0209 of this Section, and includes a minimum
of one hour of individual or two hours of group clinical
supervision per 40 hours of supervised professional counseling
practice. Individual clinical supervision hours do not count
towards the 40 hours of supervised professional practice. At
least three-quarters of the hours of clinical supervision shall be
individual. Persons who have met all licensure requirements
except the supervised professional practice who wish to counsel
as supervised counselors in supervised professional settings, as
defined in Rule .0207 of the Section, shall apply to become a
licensed professional counselor associate as defined in Rule
.07010f this Chapter. The focus of a supervision session shall be
on raw data from clinical work that is made available to the
supervisor through such means as live observation, co-therapy,
audio and video recordings, and live supervision. Written
materials and self-reports by the supervised counselor may
supplement the supervision process but shall not be the sole
basis of any supervision session.

SUPERVISED PROFESSIONAL

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 2006.

Authority 90-334(h),(i); 90-336(c)(2);

21 NCAC 53 .0209
SUPERVISOR
(a) A "qualified clinical supervisor" is:
@ A licensed professional counselor with the
following:
(A) a master's degree as defined in G.S.
90-336(b)(1);

QUALIFIED CLINICAL

(B) an independent license that is not
under supervision;

© the equivalent of three semester
graduate credits in clinical
supervision from a regionally
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accredited institution of higher
education as documented by an
official transcript or 45 contact hours
of continuing education in clinical
supervision as defined by Rule
.0603(c) in this Chapter; and

(D) a minimum of five years of post-
graduate counseling experience with
a minimum of two years of post
licensure experience; or

(2) An equivalently and actively licensed mental
health professional as defined in Paragraph (c)
of this Rule.

(b) As of July 1, 2017, all qualified clinical supervisors shall
hold the credential of licensed professional counselor supervisor
or be a licensed professional counselor or an equivalently and
actively licensed mental health professional, as defined in
Paragraph (c) of this Rule.

(c) "Equivalently and actively licensed” means that the mental
health professional shall have:

(1) at least a master's degree as defined in G.S. 90-
336(b)(1);
(2) an independent license that is not under

supervision and is in good standing with the
respective licensing board;

3) the equivalent of three semester graduate
credits in clinical supervision from a
regionally accredited institution of higher
education as documented by an official
transcript or 45 contact hours of continuing
education in clinical supervision, as defined by
Rule .0603(c) in this Chapter;

4) a minimum of five years of post-graduate
counseling experience, with a minimum of two
years of post licensure experience; and

(5) a minimum of 10 contact hours of continuing
education in professional knowledge and
competency in the field of counseling
supervision completed every two years and
submitted to the Board.

History Note:
336(d);

Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 2006.

Authority G.S. 90-330(a)(4); 90-334(h),(i); 90-

21 NCAC 53 .0210 INDIVIDUAL CLINICAL
SUPERVISION

"Individual clinical supervision" means face-to-face supervision,
as defined in Rule .0212 of this Section, of one or two
supervisees and a qualified clinical supervisor, as defined in
Rule .0209 of this Section, for a period not less than one hour of
clinical supervision per session, as defined in Rule .0208 of this
Section, per 40 hours of supervised professional practice, as
defined in Rule .0205 of this Section. Face-to-face hours with
the qualified clinical supervisor do not count toward the 40
hours of supervised professional practice.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-334(h),(i); 90-336(c)(2);

Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010.

21 NCAC 53 .0211
SUPERVISION

"Group clinical supervision" means face-to-face supervision, as
defined in Rule .0212 of this Section between groups of
supervisees, not to exceed 12 supervisees per group, and a
qualified clinical supervisor, for a period not less than two hours
of clinical supervision per session, per 40 hours of supervised
professional practice, as defined in Rule .0208 of this Section.

GROUP CLINICAL

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010.

Authority G.S. 90-334(h),(i); 90-336(c)(2);

21 NCAC 53 .0212
DEFINED
"Face-to-face” clinical supervision means supervision that is
live, interactive, and visual. Video supervision is permitted as
long as the session is synchronous and involves verbal and
visual interaction during the supervision. All supervision,
whether live or audio and video recordings, shall be done in a
confidential manner in accordance with the ACA Code of Ethics
as set forth in Rule .0102 of this Chapter.

FACE TO FACE SUPERVISON

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-334(h);
Eff. July 1, 2006;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010.

21 NCAC 53 .0301 APPLICATIONS

Applications shall be submitted only on forms obtained from the
Board's office at the address set forth in Rule .0204 of this
Chapter or website, www.ncblpc.org. Applications may be
submitted electronically or mailed in paper format to the Board's
office.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-334; 90-336(a);

Temporary Rule Eff. February 21, 1984, for a Period of 120
Days to Expire on June 19, 1984;

Eff. July 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 1995; July
1, 1994; April 1, 1989.

21 NCAC 53.0302 TRANSCRIPTS

The applicant shall have official transcripts sent either
electronically or in paper format, from institutions where
graduate credit was earned. If the transcript course titles are
ambiguous or do not convey the pertinent content of the courses,
the Board shall require additional documentation from the
applicant, such as a course description or syllabus from the same
time period that the applicant was enrolled.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-334; 90-336;

Temporary Rule Eff. February 21, 1984, for a Period of 120
Days to Expire on June 19, 1984;

Eff. July 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010.
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21 NCAC 53 .0304
OTHER STATES
If an applicant is licensed to practice counseling by a Board in
another state, the applicant shall apply for licensure with the
North Carolina Board and shall meet the following
requirements:

1) shall have a minimum of five years of full time
counseling experience, or eight years of part
time counseling experience, or a combination
of full time and part time counseling
experience equivalent to five years of full time
counseling experience, within 10 years directly
prior to application;

APPLICANTS LICENSED IN

(2) shall have a minimum of 2500 hours of direct
client contact;
3) shall have an active independent license that

does not require supervision, and be in good
standing as a licensed professional counselor
in another state for a minimum of two years
directly prior to application; and

4) shall comply with all other applicable rules for
licensure as a licensed professional counselor.

History Note:
S.5;
Temporary Rule Eff. February 21, 1984, for a Period of 120
Days to Expire on June 19, 1984;

Eff. July 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2006; July 1, 1994,

Authority G.S. 90-334; 90-337; S.L. 1993-514,

21 NCAC 53 .0305 EXAMINATION

(@ One of the following national exams shall be taken to
complete the examination requirement for licensure as a licensed
professional counselor associate and licensed professional

counselor:
(1) the National Counselor Examination (NCE);
(2) the National Clinical Mental Health Counselor
Examination (NCMHCE); or
3 the Certified Rehabilitation  Counselor

Examination (CRC).
(b) The Board shall accept examinations administered by other
state counselor licensing boards and professional counselor
credentialing associations if the Board determines that such
examinations are equivalent to the NCE, NCMHCE, or CRC
relative to content and minimum satisfactory performance levels
for counselors.
(c) The completion of a no fail jurisprudence exam, as selected
by the Board, is required for licensure application at each level
(licensed professional counselor associate, license professional
counselor, and licensed professional counselor supervisor) and
for each consecutive renewal period. Applicants and renewing
licensees shall submit documentation of completion of the no
fail jurisprudence exam, taken within six months prior to
application to the Board for licensure or within six months prior
to the date of expiration of the license.

History Note:
90-337;
Eff. July 1, 1995;

Authority G.S. 90-334(g),(h); 90-336(b)(3);

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 2006.

21 NCAC 53 .0307 RETAKING OF EXAMINATION
Applicants who do not pass one of the examinations as set forth
in Rule .0305 of this Section may retake it at the next regularly
scheduled examination date upon registering with and paying the
required examination fee to the National Board of Certified
Counselors or to the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor
Certification. Applicants who fail the examination a second
time during an application period shall have their application
denied. The applicants may reapply for licensure and shall be
subject to the requirements at the time of reapplication.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 90-334(g),(h),();

21 NCAC 53 .0308 RECEIPT OF APPLICATION

(@) All requirements for applications shall be satisfied in
accordance with Article 24 of G.S. 90 and the rules of this
Chapter within two years from the date of receipt of the
application or the application shall be denied by the Board. The
applicant may reapply for licensure and shall be subject to the
requirements at the time of reapplication.

(b) Change of Address. The applicant shall inform the Board of
any change in his or her mailing address within 60 days after any
change. Updated address information shall be submitted on
forms available on the Board's website, www.ncblpc.org.

(c) Change of Name. The applicant shall inform the Board of
any change in his or her name within 60 days after any change.
A name change form shall be submitted on forms available on
the Board's website, www.ncblpc.org and shall include any
required legal documentation, as a marriage certificate, divorce
decree, or court order.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 2006.

Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-336(a);

21 NCAC 53 .0310

APPLICANTS

(a) Applicants applying for licensure on the basis of a foreign

degree shall provide documentation, in addition to all other

documents required for licensure, that establishes the following:
@ the existence of the degree granting institution;
2 the authenticity of the degree, transcripts, and

any supporting documents;

FOREIGN DEGREE

3 the equivalence of the degree in terms of level
of training, content of curriculum, and course
credits; and

(@) the equivalence of any post-graduate

supervised experience obtained in the foreign
country.
(b) Documentation shall be in the form of a course-by-course
evaluation of credentials submitted directly to the Board from an
evaluation service that is a member of the National Association
of Credentials Evaluation Services, Inc. (www.naces.org).
(c) Except as described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, only
official documents shall be submitted in support of the
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application and shall be received directly from the institution or
individual involved.

(d) When an official document is not available directly from the
institution or individual involved, an original document
possessed by the applicant may be reviewed and copied by a
Board member or designee.

(e) Any document that is in a language other than English shall
be accompanied by a translation with notarized verification of
the translation's accuracy and completeness. This translation
shall be completed by an individual, other than the applicant,
and demonstrates no conflict of interest. The individual
providing the translation may be college or university language
faculty, a translation service, or an American consul.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 90-334;

21 NCAC 53 .0311 REQUIREMENTS FOR
CANDIDATE FOR LICENSURE PENDING STATUS

(@) Applicants for licensure may be designated as a "Candidate
for Licensure Pending" (CFL-P) if the application is missing one
or more of the following requirements:

(1) official exam score from the examining board,;

(2) official transcript from a regionally accredited
higher education institution; or

(3) Professional Disclosure Statement for the level
that they are applying.

(b) For the applicant to be listed as a CFL-P, the applicant shall
provide the following documentation:

@ a receipt showing the request and payment to
the examining board for an official exam score
to be sent to the Board; or

(2) a receipt showing the request and payment to
the educational institution for an official
transcript to be sent to the Board.

(c) The CFL-P designation allows the applicant's file to be
reviewed at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting for
approval so that a license may be issued upon receipt of the
missing documents. The CFL-P designation is effective for a
maximum of 60 days from the date of approval by the Board. If
the missing documents are not received within the 60 days, the
CFL-P designation shall revert to an application in review and
shall be presented at the next scheduled Board meeting upon
receipt of missing documents subject to the two-year period set
forth in Rule .0308 of this Section.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 90-334;

21 NCAC 53 .0403 ALLEGED VIOLATIONS

All complaints of alleged violations shall be submitted
electronically or in paper format on forms available on the
Board's website, www.ncblpc.org and shall be signed by the
complainant(s), unless submitted anonymously. Complaints of
violations of Article 24 of G.S. 90, the American Counseling
Association, (ACA) Code of Ethics, or the Center for
Credentialing and Education's Approved Clinical Supervisor
(ACS) Code of Ethics shall include:

@ the complainant's signature, unless submitted
anonymously;

2 the complainant's address and telephone
number, unless submitted anonymously;

?3) date and location of the alleged violation(s);

4 a description of the incident(s); and

(5) signed releases, unless submitted

anonymously.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010.

Authority G.S. 90-334; 90-340;

21 NCAC 53 .0501 APPLICATION FEE
The initial application fees are as follows:

(D) licensed professional counselor associate
application two hundred dollars ($200.00);

2 licensed professional counselor application
two hundred dollars ($200.00); and

©) licensed professional counselor supervisor

application two hundred dollars ($200.00).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-334;

Temporary Rule Eff. February 21, 1984, for a Period of 120
Days to Expire on June 19, 1984;

Eff. July 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; July 1, 1994.

21 NCAC 53 .0503 RENEWAL AND OTHER FEES
(a) The biennial renewal fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00) is
due and payable by June 20 of the renewal year. Checks shall be
made payable to the North Carolina Board of Licensed
Professional Counselors. Failure to pay the biennial renewal fee
within the time stated shall automatically suspend the right of
any licensee to practice while suspended. A suspended license
may be renewed within one year after non-payment of the
renewal fee, plus a late renewal fee of seventy-five dollars
($75.00).

(b) The cost of a returned check is actual cost.

(c) The registration fee for a Certificate of Registration for a
professional corporation or limited liability company is fifty
dollars ($50.00);

(d) The renewal fee for a professional corporation or limited
liability company is twenty-five dollars ($25.00); and

(e) The late renewal fee for a professional corporation or limited
liability company is ten dollars ($10.00).

(f) The cost of copies of public records shall be the "actual
cost" as defined in G.S. 132-6.2(b) and mailing cost, if
applicable. There shall be no charge if the request is for 10
pages or less.

History Note:
339; 132-6.2(b);
Temporary Rule Eff. February 21, 1984, for a Period of 120
Days to Expire on June 19, 1984;

Eff. July 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2006; July 1, 1994.

Authority G.S. 55B-10; 55B-11; 90-334; 90-
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21 NCAC 53 .0601 RENEWAL PERIOD

Newly issued licenses shall be effective upon the date of
issuance by the Board and shall expire on the second June 30
thereafter. The renewal period for a newly issued license may be
less than two years. Following the first renewal of a newly
issued license, the renewal period shall be two years and shall
run from July 1 in the first year through June 30 in the second
year. A licensee whose license has been suspended shall not
practice until the license is renewed.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-339;

21 NCAC 53 .0602 RENEWAL FOR LICENSURE
FORM; ADDRESS CHANGE; NAME CHANGE
(@ License renewal information shall be on the Renewal for
Licensure forms available on the Board's website
www.ncblpc.org, and submitted either electronically or mailed
in paper format to the Board's office as set forth in Rule .0204 of
this Chapter. The licensee shall provide general contact
information, licensure or credentials, and all continuing
counselor education information for the past two years. All
requested information shall be provided and the forms shall be
signed and dated. Documents that shall be included with the
renewal form are the following:
@ certificate of completion of the jurisprudence
examination for the level of license that is
being renewed;

)] the ethics attestation statement;

3 an updated Professional Disclosure Statement;
and

4) payment of renewal fee.

(b) Change of Address. The licensee shall inform the Board of
any change in his or her mailing address within 60 days after any
change. Updated address information shall be submitted on
forms available on the Board's website, www.ncblpc.org.

(c) Change of Name. The licensee shall inform the Board of
any change in his or her name within 60 days after any change.
A name change form shall be submitted on forms available on
the Board's website, www.ncblpc.org and shall include any
required legal documentation, as a marriage certificate, divorce
decree, or court order.

History Note:
339(b);

Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 90-334(g); 90-336(a); 90-

21 NCAC 53 .0603 CONTINUING EDUCATION

(a) Continuing education is required for the renewal of licenses
to ensure that licensed professional counselor associates,
licensed professional counselors, and licensed professional
counselor supervisors maintain their professional knowledge and
competency in the field of counseling. Continuing education
activities appropriate for the purpose of license renewal are those
that are directed toward professionals in the mental health field
and that focus on increasing knowledge and skills in the practice
of counseling in one or more of the following content areas:

@ counseling theory;
2 human growth and development;
3 social and cultural foundations;

4 the helping relationship;
(5) group dynamics;

(6) lifestyle and career development;

@) appraisal of individuals;

(8) diagnosis and treatment planning;

9 research and evaluation;

(10) professional counseling orientation; and
(17) ethics.

(b) Forty contact hours of continuing counselor education,
including a minimum of three contact hours of ethics, shall be
completed within the two-year license renewal period. However,
in the cases of newly issued licenses in which the initial renewal
period is less than two full years, 30 contact hours, including a
minimum of three contact hours of ethics, shall be completed.
Contact hours are defined as the number of actual clock hours
spent in direct participation in a structured education format as a
learner. Typically, one Continuing Education Unit (CEU) is
equivalent to 10 contact hours. In a college or university
graduate course, one semester hour of credit is equivalent to 15
contact hours and one quarter hour of credit is equivalent to 10
contact hours.

(c) Continuing counselor education provided by one of the
following national organizations, their affiliates, or by a vendor
approved by one of the following organizations shall be accepted
by the Board for renewal purposes:

(8] American Association of State Counseling
Boards (aasch.org)

2 American Counseling Association
(counseling.org);

3 Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor

Certification (crccertification.com); and
4 National Board for Certified Counselors

(nbcc.org).
(d) Continuing counselor education provided by one of the
following national organizations, their affiliates or by a vendor
approved by one of the following organizations shall be
approved for no more than 15 contact hours for any given
renewal period as defined in Rule .0601 of this Chapter:

(8] American Association of Christian Counselors
(www.aacc.net);
2) American Association of Marriage and Family

Therapy (www.aamft.org);

3) American Psychological
(www.apa.org);

4 Employee Assistance
Commission (www.eapassn.org);

Association

Certification

(5) International ~ Association of  Employee
Assistance  Professionals in  Education
(www.iaeape.org);

(6) National Area Health Education Center

Organization (www.nationalahec.org);
@) National Association for Pastoral Counseling
and Psychotherapy (www.napcp.ie);
(8) National Association of Social
(www.socialworkers.org);

Workers
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9) National Rehabilitation Association
(www.nationalrehab.org); and
(10) The Association for Addiction Professionals
(www.naadac.org).
(e) Evidence of completion of continuing counselor education
shall consist of a certificate of attendance signed by the
responsible officer of a continuing counselor education provider,
and shall include date(s) of attendance, number of contact hours,
name of attendee, name of course, and approved provider name
or number. Licensees shall maintain such information for seven
years following course completion; however, a licensee is only
required to submit such information if audited by the Board. On
the Renewal for Licensure Form, a licensee shall attest to having
completed the required continuing counselor education within
the current renewal cycle.
(f) The Board may conduct a random audit of a percentage of its
licensees' continuing counselor education documentation for
each renewal cycle, and licensees shall submit the requested
information upon request of the Board. Failure to submit the
required documentation shall result in disciplinary action by the
Board.
(9) Continuing counselor education activities also acceptable for
renewal of licensure are as follows:
(1) Contact hours shall be awarded for academic
credit gained during a renewal period from a
regionally accredited institution of higher
education for work done in a counseling or
counseling-related subject. A copy of a
transcript or grade report is the required
documentation. Documentation must contain
the following information:
(A) date(s) of attendance;

(B) number of semester or quarter hours
earned;

© name of attendee; and

(D) name or number of course.

Contact hours are as defined in Paragraph (b)
of this Rule. Completion dates must fall within
the renewal period.

2 Contact hours shall be awarded for publication
activities limited to articles written by the
licensee and published in peer reviewed
journals, editing of a chapter in a book based
on counseling or counseling related material,
or authoring or co-authoring a published book
on counseling or counseling-related material.
Publication dates must fall within the renewal
period. Required documentation is a copy of
the cover page of the article(s) or book; copy
of the copyright page denoting date of
publication; or for a chapter in an edited book,
a copy of the table of contents listing the
chapter is also required. Ten contact hours
shall be approved for each publication activity,
and only 10. The maximum contact hours
allowed during a renewal period is 10. Contact
hours awarded for publication activities shall
not be applied to the three contact hour
requirement for ethics.

®)

(4)

©)

Contact hours shall be awarded for academic
credit granted during a renewal period from a
regionally accredited institution of higher
education for work done toward the
completion of a dissertation. "Required
documentation" means a copy of a transcript
or grade report showing credit earned during
the renewal period. The maximum contact
hours allowed during a renewal period is 10.
Contact hours are as defined in Paragraph (b)
of this Rule. Completion dates must fall within
the renewal period. Contact hours awarded for
dissertation shall not be applied to the three
contact hour requirement for ethics.
Contact hours shall be awarded for supervised
professional practice, as defined by Rule .0208
of this Chapter, that was received by the
licensee during the renewal period. Contact
hours shall not be granted for clinical
supervision provided by the licensee to others.
The maximum contact hours allowed during a
renewal period for supervised professional
practice is 10. "Contact hours" means the
number of actual clock hours spent in direct,
supervised professional practice.  Required
documentation is a letter from the qualified
clinical supervisor, as defined by Rule .0209
of this Chapter, who provided the supervised
professional practice verifying a licensee's
participation in the activity. The letter shall
confirm the dates of the activity, the number of
participation hours, and the position or title
and credential of the provider. Dates of
activity must fall within the renewal period.
Contact hours awarded for clinical supervision
shall not be applied to the three contact hour
requirement for ethics. Supervision quarterly
reports as set forth in Rule .0702 of this
Chapter may be submitted as supporting
documentation.
Contact hours shall be awarded for the
following leadership positions:
(A) officer of state, regional, or national
counseling organization;
(B) editor or editorial board member of a
professional counseling journal;
© member of a state, regional, or
national ~ counseling  committee
producing a written product; or
(D) chair of a major state, regional, or
national counseling conference or
convention.
The leadership position must be occupied for a
minimum of six months, and dates must fall
within the renewal period. The required
documentation is a letter of confirmation of
the leadership position, the nature of the
position or service rendered, and the signature
of an officer of the organization. Ten contact
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hours shall be approved for each leadership
position held, and only 10 contact hours are
allowed during a renewal period. Contact
hours awarded for leadership shall not be
applied to the three contact hour requirement
for ethics.

(6) Contact hours shall be awarded for hours
obtained in activities or workshops for which
the licensee was a presenter. The dates of
activities presented must fall within renewal
period and focus on one or more of the
approved content areas as set forth in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The maximum
contact hours awarded for presenting
professional activities or workshops is five.
Required documentation means an official
letter of confirmation from the organization for
which the licensee presented and shall contain
the following information:

(A) date(s) of presentation;

(B) name of presentation; and

© length of presentation.

"Contact hours" means the number of actual

clock hours spent presenting. Contact hours

awarded for presenting shall not be applied to

the three contact hour requirement for ethics.
(h) If documentation for continuing counselor education is not
identifiable as dealing with counseling, the Board shall request a
written description of the continuing counselor education and
how it applies to the professional practice of counseling. If the
Board determines that the education is not appropriate, the
licensee shall be given 45 days from the date of notification to
replace the hours not approved. Those hours shall be considered
replacement hours and shall not be applied to the next renewal
period.
(i) Licensed professional counselor supervisors shall meet all of
the continuing counselor education requirements outlined in
Paragraphs (a) through (h) of this Rule and in addition as part of
those requirements, shall provide documentation of a minimum
of 10 contact hours of continuing counselor education related to
professional knowledge and competency in the field of
counseling  supervision. Continuing counselor education
appropriate for the purpose of licensed professional counselor
supervisor renewal is education directed toward professionals in
the mental health field that focus on increasing knowledge and
skills in the practice of counseling supervision, and that is
completed during the renewal period.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; February 1, 2010.

Authority 90-334(g),(h); 90-339(b);

21 NCAC 53 .0604 FAILURE TO SECURE
SUFFICIENT CONTINUING EDUCATION/RENEWAL
OF LICENSE

Licensed professional counselor associates, licensed professional
counselors, and licensed professional counselor supervisors who
fail to document sufficient continuing counselor education to
renew their licenses by the expiration date of June 30 shall be

notified in writing by the Board of the deficiencies, that their
licenses have expired, and that the licensee shall not practice
until it is renewed. Licensed professional counselor associates,
licensed professional counselors, and licensed professional
counselor supervisors who are unable to provide documentation
of sufficient continuing counselor education to renew their
licenses have the following options:

(D) Within one year of expiration, licensed
professional counselor associates, licensed
professional ~ counselors, and licensed
professional  counselor  supervisors shall

complete the required hours of continuing
counselor education and an additional 20 hours
of continuing counselor education for the
purpose of renewal of the expired license.
Continuing counselor education acquired
during this additional time period for the
purpose of renewal of an expired license shall
not applied to the next renewal period. Once
these requirements have been met, the license
shall be renewed.
2) Request an extension in writing from the
Board. Requests shall be received by the
Board no later than May 1% of the year of
expiration. An extension shall be granted for:
@) military deployment;
(b) major illness lasting longer than three
months of self, partner, or child; or

(c) death of partner or child.
Extensions shall be granted for a period of up
to one year. If the extension is approved, any
continuing  counselor education acquired
during the extension shall not be applied to the
next renewal period. Once these requirements
have been met, the license shall be renewed
and the licensee may resume practice.

Failure to complete one of the above listed options shall mean

that a license shall be reissued only upon a new application for a

license, and all current licensure requirements shall apply to the

new application.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010.

Authority G.S. 90-334(g),(h); 90-339;

21 NCAC 53.0701 LICENSED PROFESSIONAL
COUNSELOR ASSOCIATE

A license as a licensed professional counselor associate shall be
granted by the Board to persons preparing for the practice of
counseling who have:

@ completed graduate training as defined in G.S.
90-336(b)(1);

2 completed a minimum of three semester hours
or five quarter hours in each of the required
coursework areas of study as follows:
©) Coursework in Helping Relationships

in Counseling. Studies in this area
provide an  understanding  of
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(b)

(©

counseling and consultation

processes, including the following:

(i counseling and consultation
theories, including both
individual and  systems
perspectives, as well as
coverage of relevant
research and factors
considered in applications;

(i) basic interviewing,
assessment, and counseling
skills;

(iii) counselor or  consultant
characteristics and behaviors
that influence professional
counseling relationships,
including age, gender, and
ethnic differences; verbal
and nonverbal behaviors;
personal  behaviors; and

personal characteristics,
orientations, and skills;
(iv) client or consultee

characteristics and behaviors
that influence professional
counseling relationships,
including age, gender, and
ethnic differences; verbal
and nonverbal behaviors;
and personal behaviors;
personal characteristics,
orientations and skills; and
(v) ethical considerations.
Coursework in  Practicum and
Internship. Practicum and internship
experience should be provided in a
supervised  graduate  counseling
experience in a regionally accredited
program of study. This graduate
counseling  experience shall be
completed as defined in Rule .0206 of
this Chapter.
Coursework in Professional
Orientation to Counseling. Studies in
this area provide an understanding of
all aspects of professional
functioning, including history, roles,
organizational  structures, ethics,

standards, and credentialing,

including the following:

(1) history of the counseling
profession, including
significant ~ factors  and
events;

(i) professional  roles  and

functions of counselors,
including similarities and
differences with other types
of professionals;

(d)

(iii) professional  organizations
(primarily the ACA, its
divisions,  branches and
affiliates), including
membership benefits,
activities, services to
members, and  current
emphases;

(iv) ethical standards of the
National Board for Certified
Counselors (NBCC) or ACA
and related ethical and legal
issues, and their applications
to  various professional
activities (e.g., appraisal,
group work);

(v) professional counselor
preparation standards, their
evolution, and  current
applications;

(vi) professional
credentialing, including
counselor certification,
licensure and accreditation
practices and standards, and
the effects of public policy
on these issues;

(vii) public policy processes,
including the role of the
professional counselor
advocating on behalf of the
profession and its clientele;
and

(viii)  ethical considerations.

Coursework in Human Growth and

Development Theories in Counseling.

Studies in this area provide an

understanding of the nature and needs

of individuals at all developmental
levels, relevant to counseling
practice, including the following:

(i) theories of individual and
family development, and
transitions across the life
span;

(i) theories of learning and
personality development;

(iii) human behavior, including
an understanding of
developmental crises,
disability, addictive
behavior, psychopathology,
and environmental factors as
they affect both normal and
abnormal behavior;

(iv) counseling  strategies  for
facilitating development
over the life span; and

v) ethical considerations.

counselor
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(€)

()

Coursework in Social and Cultural
Foundations in Counseling. Studies
in this area provide an understanding
of issues and trends in a multicultural
and diverse society that impact
professional counselors and the
counseling profession, including, the

following:
M multicultural and pluralistic
trends, including

characteristics and concerns
of counseling individuals
from diverse groups;

(ii) attitudes and behavior based
on factors such as age, race,
religious preferences,
physical disability, sexual
orientation, ethnicity and
culture, family patterns,
gender, socioeconomic
status, and intellectual
ability;

(iii) individual, family, and group
counseling strategies with
diverse populations; and

(iv) ethical considerations.
Coursework in Group Counseling
Theories and Processes. Studies in
this area provide an understanding of
group development, dynamics, and
counseling theories; group counseling
methods and skills; and other group
work approaches, including the
following:

(i) principals of group
dynamics, including group

counseling components,
developmental stage
theories, and group
members’ roles and
behaviors;

(i) group leadership styles and
approaches, including
characteristics of various

types of group leaders and
leadership styles;

(iii) theories of group counseling,
including  commonalities,
distinguishing
characteristics, and pertinent
research and literature;

(iv) group counseling methods,
including group counselor
orientations and behaviors,
ethical standards,
appropriate selection criteria,
and methods of evaluation of
effectiveness;

(9)

(h)

(v) approaches used for other
types of group work in
counseling, including task
groups, support groups, and
therapy groups; and

(vi) ethical considerations.

Coursework in Career Counseling

and Lifestyle Development. Studies

in this area provide an understanding
of career counseling, development,
and related life factors, including the

following:

) career-counseling  theories
and decision-making
process;

(i) career, avocational,
educational, and  labor
market information

resources; visual and print
media; and computer-based
career information systems;

(iii) career-counseling  program
planning, organization,
implementation,
administration, and
evaluation;

(iv) interrelationships among
work, family, and other life
roles and factors, including
multicultural and gender
issues as related to career
counseling;

v) career and  educational
placement counseling,
follow-up, and evaluation;

(vi) assessment instruments and
techniques relevant to career
counseling;

(vii) computer-based career-
development  applications
and strategies, including
computer-assisted  career-
counseling systems;

(viii)  career-counseling processes,

techniques and resources,

including those applicable to

specific populations; and
(ix) ethical considerations.
Coursework in  Assessment in
Counseling.  Studies in this area
provide an  understanding  of
individual and group approaches to
assessment and  evaluation in

counseling practice, including the

following:

Q) theoretical and historical
bases for assessment

techniques in counseling;
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(i) validity, including evidence
for establishing content,
construct, and empirical
validity;

(iii) reliability, including
methods of establishing
stability, internal, and

equivalence reliability;

(iv) appraisal methods, including
environmental — assessment,
performance assessment,
individual and group test and
inventory methods,
behavioral observations, and
computer-managed and
computer-assisted methods;

(v) psychometric statistics,
including types of
assessment scores, measures
of central tendency, indices
of  variability, standard
errors, and correlations;

(vi) age, gender, ethnicity,
language, disability, and
cultural factors related to the

use of assessment and
evaluation in  counseling
services;

(vii) strategies  for  selecting,

administering, interpreting
and using assessment and
evaluation instruments, and
techniques in counseling;
and

(viii)  ethical considerations.

(M Coursework in Research and Program
Evaluation.  Studies in this area
provide an understanding of types of
research methods, basic statistics, and
ethical and legal consideration in
research, including the following:

0] basic types of research
methods to include
qualitative and quantitative
research designs;

(i) basic parametric and
nonparametric statistics;

(iii) principles, practices, and
applications of needs

assessment and program
evaluation;

(iv) uses of computers for data
management and analysis;
and

(v) ethical and legal
considerations.

3) passed an examination as defined in Rule

.0305 of this Chapter; and

(@) submitted a complete application for licensed
professional counselor associate.

To prevent a lapse in licensure, licensed professional counselor
associates who desire to become licensed professional
counselors shall complete the application process for the
licensed professional counselor licensure no earlier than 60 days
prior to expiration of their licensed professional counselor
associate license or upon completion of the supervised
professional practice hours as set forth in Rule .0208 of this
Chapter to allow for administrative processing and Board action.

History Note:
336(b);

Eff. January 1, 2010;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2010.

Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-336(a); 90-

21 NCAC 53 .0702 SUPERVISED PRACTICE FOR
LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR ASSOCIATE
A licensed professional counselor associate shall not practice
unless the following requirements have been met:

1) The licensed professional counselor associate
shall submit a completed supervision contract,
on forms available on the Board's website,
www.ncblpc.org. A supervision contract form
shall document the following:

(@) the name of the qualified clinical
supervisor;

(b) contact information for the qualified
clinical supervisor;

(c) the modality of supervision to be
provided, such as live observation,
co-therapy, audio and video
recordings, and live supervision, as
defined by Rule .0208 of this
Chapter;

(d) the frequency of supervision; and

(e) the name and physical location of the
site where the proposed supervision
will take place.

A separate supervision contract form shall be
filed for each separate work setting.

2 If receiving supervision from more than one
supervisor, a separate supervision contract

form shall be filed for each individual
qualified clinical supervisor.

3 A supervisor shall document, on forms
available on the Board's  website,

www.ncblpc.org each quarter that supervision
has occurred and shall file a final report upon
termination or completion of supervision.

(@) If not receiving supervision, the licensed
professional counselor associate shall report
such to the Board. A report shall be submitted
to the Board within two weeks of termination
of supervision and within two weeks of a
change in the conditions specified in the
supervision contract form on file with the
Board.
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(5) A licensed professional counselor associate
shall only provide counseling while under the
supervision of a qualified clinical supervisor.

(6) A licensed professional counselor associate
shall renew his or her license as a licensed
professional counselor associate if the
supervision requirements to become a licensed
professional counselor have not been
completed prior to the expiration of the
license.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-336(c);
Eff. January 1, 2010;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

21 NCAC 53 .0801 LICENSED PROFESSIONAL
COUNSELOR SUPERVISOR

(@) The credential of licensed professional counselor supervisor
shall be granted by the Board to a licensed professional
counselor who has satisfied the following requirements:

(1) obtained an independent license that is not
under supervision as defined in G.S. 90-
336(d)(4);

(2) earned the equivalent of three semester

graduate credits in clinical supervision training
from a regionally accredited institution of
higher education as documented by an official
transcript, or 45 contact hours of continuing
education in clinical supervision;

3 documented licensed professional counseling
experience as defined in G.S. 90-336(d)(2);
and

4) submitted a complete application for licensed

professional counselor supervisor.
(b) The licensed professional counselor supervisor shall provide
supervisees with a copy of a Professional Disclosure Statement
specific to supervision that includes the following:

(1) business address and telephone number of the
licensed professional counselor supervisor;

2 the listing of degrees, credentials, and licenses
held by the licensed professional counselor
supervisor;

3 general areas of competence in mental health

practice for which the licensed professional
counselor supervisor may provide supervision

(e.9., addictions  counseling, school
counseling, career counseling);

4) a statement documenting training in
supervision and experience in providing
supervision;

(5) a general statement addressing the model of or

approach to supervision, including role of the
supervisor,  objectives and goals of
supervision, and modalities (e.g., tape review,
live observation);

(6) a description of the evaluation procedures used
in the supervisory relationship;

@) a statement defining the limits and scope of
confidentiality and privileged communication
within the supervisory relationship;

(8) a fee schedule, if applicable;

9 the emergency contact information for the
licensed professional counselor supervisor;
and

(10) a statement indicating that the licensed
professional counselor supervisor follows the
American Counseling Association's Code of
Ethics and the Center for Credentialing and
Education's Approved Clinical Supervisor
Code of Ethics as set forth in Rule .0102 of
this Chapter.

(c) The supervisor shall provide written or electronically
submitted reports, on forms provided by the Board on the
website  www.ncblpc.org each quarter that supervision has
occurred and shall file a final report upon termination or
completion of supervision. The supervisor shall be available for
consultation with the Board or its committees regarding the
supervisee's competence for licensure.

(d) A supervision contract form, as provided by the Board on
the website www.ncblpc.org shall document the following:

1) the name of the qualified clinical supervisor;

2) contact information for the qualified clinical
supervisor;

©) the modality of supervision to be provided,

such as live observation, co-therapy, audio and
video recordings, and live supervision, as
defined by Rule .0208 of this Chapter;

4) the frequency of supervision; and

5) the name and physical location of the site
where the proposed supervision will take
place.

A separate supervision contract form shall be filed for
each supervisee.

() The licensed professional counselor supervisor, in
collaboration with the supervisee, shall maintain a log of clinical
supervision hours that includes the following:

(8] the date;

2 supervision start and stop times;

3) the modality of supervision to be provided,
such as live observation, co-therapy, audio and
video recordings, and live supervision, as
defined by Rule .0208 of this Chapter; and

(@) notes on recommendations or interventions
used during the supervision.

The licensed professional counselor supervisor shall maintain
copies of these logs for a minimum of seven years beyond
termination or completion of supervision and shall provide
copies to the Board for inspection upon request.

History Note:
336(d);
Eff. January 1, 2010;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-336(a); 90-
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21 NCAC 53 .0901 CERTIFICATE OF
REGISTRATION FOR A PROFESSIONAL ENTITY
(@ The information required for an applicant to obtain a
Certificate of Registration for a professional corporation or
professional limited liability company organized to render
professional counseling services shall include the following:

1) typed, or legibly printed, notarized application

form;

2 proof of licensure as a licensed professional
counselor or licensed professional counselor
supervisor;

3) registration fee; and

4) a copy of the Articles of Incorporation or

Articles of Organization.
(b) This Certificate of Registration shall remain effective until
December 31 following the date of such registration.

History Note:
334(h);
Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 55B-10; 57D-2-01(c); 90-

21 NCAC 53 .0902 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE
OF REGISTRATION FOR A PROFESSIONAL ENTITY

A notification for renewal of professional corporation or
professional limited liability company shall be sent to each
registered entity a minimum of 60 days prior to the December 31
expiration date. The Board shall renew the certificate of
registration upon receipt of the completed written renewal
application of the holder and the renewal fee. Failure to renew
by the due date shall result in notification to the Secretary of
State's Office to suspend the Articles of Incorporation or Articles
of Organization.

History Note:
334(h);
Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 55B-11; 57D-2-01(c); 90-

EE R S S S I I S I S

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD

21 NCAC 57A .0101 FORM

A person who wishes to be registered as a trainee or to obtain
licensure as a licensed real estate appraiser or certification as a
certified real estate appraiser may obtain the required form upon
request to the Board or from the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org. The form calls for information such
as the applicant's name and address, the applicant's social
security number, a passport size photograph of the applicant,
places of residence and employment, education, and such other
information as may be necessary to identify the applicant and
determine his qualifications and fitness for registration,
licensure, or certification.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; April 1, 1999.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57A .0102 FILING AND FEES

(a) Each application for registration as a trainee, licensure as a
licensed real estate appraiser, or certification as a certified real
estate appraiser shall be accompanied by the required application
fee. An additional fee may be charged to defray the cost of any
competency examination administered by a private testing
service. This additional fee shall be no more than the fee set by
the private testing agency. The Board may reject and return to
the applicant any application which is incomplete or not
accompanied by the required fee or fees. Application fees
accompanying complete applications are not refundable.

(b) The application fee shall be that prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-
6(b).

(c) Payment of application fees shall be made by certified
check, bank check, or money order payable to the North
Carolina Appraisal Board.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008;
August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57A .0201 QUALIFICATIONS FOR
TRAINEE REGISTRATION AND APPRAISER
LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION

(&) Applicants for trainee registration, licensure as a licensed
residential real estate appraiser, and for certification as a
certified real estate appraiser must satisfy the qualification
requirements stated in G.S. 93E-1-6 and in this Section.

(b) Applicants for trainee registration shall have completed,
within the five-year period immediately preceding the date
application is made, 90 hours of education as set forth in 21
NCAC 57B .0101 or education found by the Board to be
equivalent to such courses. Applicants for trainee registration
must possess a high school diploma or its equivalent.

(c) Applicants for licensure as a licensed residential real estate
appraiser shall have completed 150 hours of education as set
forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0102 or education found by the Board to
be equivalent to such courses. In addition, applicant for licensure
as a licensed residential real estate appraiser must hold an
associate's degree, or higher, from an accredited college,
community college, or university. Applicants shall have obtained
at least 2,500 hours of appraisal experience acquired within the
eight year period immediately preceding the date application is
made and over a minimum period of two calendar years.
Applicants must have been engaged in real estate appraising for
at least two calendar years prior to the date application is made.
At least 50 percent of this appraisal experience must have been
of one to four family residential properties in which the sales
comparison approach was utilized in the appraisal process.

(d) Applicants for certification as a certified residential real
estate appraiser shall have completed 200 hours of education as
set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0102 or education found by the
Board to be equivalent to such courses. In addition, applicants
for certification as a certified residential real estate appraiser
must hold a bachelor's degree, or higher, from an accredited
college, community college, or university. Applicants shall have
obtained at least 2,500 hours of appraisal experience acquired
within the eight year period immediately preceding the date
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application is made and over a minimum period of two calendar
years. Applicants must have been engaged in real estate
appraising for at least two calendar years prior to the date
application is made. At least 50 percent of this appraisal
experience must have been of one to four family residential
properties in which the sales comparison approach was utilized
in the appraisal process.

(e) Applicants for certification as a certified general real estate
appraiser shall have completed 300 hours of education as set
forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0103 or education found by the Board to
be equivalent to such courses. In addition, applicants for
certification as a certified general real estate appraiser must hold
a Bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or
university. Applicants shall have obtained at least 3,000 hours of
appraisal experience acquired within the eight year period
immediately preceding the date application is made and over a
minimum period of two and a half calendar years of which at
least 50 percent must have been in appraising non-residential
real estate. Applicants must have been engaged in real estate
appraising for at least two and one-half calendar years prior to
the date application is made. At least 50 percent of the non-
residential appraisal experience must have been of special use
properties such as schools, churches, or hospitals in which the
income approach is not applicable or of improved properties in
which the income approach was utilized in the appraisal process.
(f) Applicants for licensure or certification who are currently
registered trainees must submit a copy of their complete
appraisal log. The log form may be found at the Board's
website, www.ncappraisalboard.org. Applicants for certification
who are currently licensed or certified appraisers must submit an
appraisal log showing that they possess the requisite amount and
length of experience as set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this
Rule. All applicants shall provide to the Board copies of
appraisal reports and work files in support of experience credit.
In order for an appraisal to be given experience credit, it must
comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal
Practice (USPAP) and with any applicable state statutes or rules.
(9) When a trainee or a licensed real estate appraiser becomes a
certified real estate appraiser, his or her previous registration or
licensure shall be canceled by the Board. When a certified
residential real estate appraiser becomes certified as a general
real estate appraiser, his or her previous certification shall be
immediately canceled by the Board.

(h) In the event that the Board asks an applicant to submit
updated information or provide further information necessary to
complete the application and the applicant fails to submit such
information within 90 days following the Board's request, the
Board shall cancel the applicant's application and the application
fee shall be retained by the Board. An applicant whose
application has been cancelled and who wishes to obtain a
registration, license, or certificate must start the licensing
process over by filing a complete application with the Board and
paying all required fees.

(i) An applicant may request that his or her application be
withdrawn at any time before final action is taken by the
Appraisal Board on the application.

(j) Ifan applicant has a current open complaint before the North
Carolina Appraisal Board or an appraiser licensing board from
any other state, or if the applicant has pending criminal charges

in this or any state, the application shall be accepted but no
further action shall be taken on the application until the
complaint or criminal charges are resolved. For the purposes of
this Section, criminal charges do not include speeding tickets or
traffic infractions.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010;
September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; April 1,
2006, July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION

(&) All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees, and
certificate holders shall, upon the renewal of their registration,
license, or certificate in every odd-numbered year, present
evidence satisfactory to the Board of having obtained continuing
education as required by this Section. Trainees and appraisers
who initially registered with the Board after January 1 of an odd
numbered year are not required to show continuing education
credit for renewal of their registration in that odd numbered year.
(b) Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who must
complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this
Rule must complete 28 hours of continuing education before
June 1 of every odd numbered year. Except as provided in
Paragraphs (g) and (h) of this Rule, such education must have
been obtained by taking courses approved by the Board for
continuing education purposes, at schools approved by the Board
to offer such courses. Such education must relate to real estate
appraisal and must contribute to the goal of improving the
knowledge, skill and competence of trainees, and licensed and
certified real estate appraisers. There is no exemption from the
continuing education requirement for trainees or appraisers
whose status has been upgraded to the level of licensed
residential, certified residential, or certified general appraiser
since the issuance or most recent renewal of their registration,
license, or certificate, and courses taken to satisfy the
requirements of a higher level of certification shall not be
applied toward the continuing education requirement. Trainees,
licensees, and certificate holders shall not take the same
continuing education course more than once during the two year
continuing education cycle.

(c) Each appraisal continuing education course must involve a
minimum of three and one-half classroom hours of instruction
on real estate appraisal or related topics such as the application
of appraisal concepts and methodology to the appraisal of
various types of property; specialized appraisal techniques; laws,
rules or guidelines relating to appraisal; standards of practice and
ethics; building construction; financial or investment analysis;
land use planning or controls; feasibility analysis; statistics;
accounting; or similar topics. The trainee, licensee, or certificate
holder must have attended at least 90 percent of the scheduled
classroom hours for the course in order to receive credit for the
course.

(d) Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who is required
to complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of
this Rule must, as part of the 28 hours of continuing education
required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, complete the seven hour
National USPAP update course between October 1 of an odd-
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numbered year and June 1 of an even numbered year, as required
by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal
Foundation, or its equivalent. USPAP is updated every even
numbered year, and each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder
shall take the most recent USPAP update course prior to June 1
of every even numbered year.

(e) A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who elects to take
approved continuing education courses in excess of the
requirement shall not carry over into the subsequent years any
continuing education credit.

(f) Course sponsors must provide a certificate of course
completion to each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder
successfully completing a course. In addition, course sponsors
must send directly to the Board a certified roster of all who
successfully completed the course. This roster must be sent
within 15 days of completion of the course, but not later than
June 15 of each year. In order to renew a registration, license, or
certificate in a timely manner, the Board must receive proof of
satisfaction of the continuing education requirement prior to
processing a registration, license, or certificate renewal
application. Proof of satisfaction shall be made by receipt of a
roster from a school or course sponsor showing the courses
completed by the applicant or by submission of an original
certificate of course completion. If proof of having satisfied the
continuing education requirement is not provided, the
registration, license, or certificate shall expire and the trainee,
licensee, or certificate holder shall be subject to the provisions of
Rules .0203(e) and .0206 of this Section.

() A current or former trainee, licensee, or certificate holder
may request that the Board grant continuing education credit for
a course taken by the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder that
is not approved by the Board, or for appraisal education activity
equivalent to a Board-approved course, by making such request
and submitting a non-refundable fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) as
set out in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course or type of appraisal
education activity to be evaluated. Continuing education credit
for a non-approved course shall be granted only if the trainee,
licensee, or certificate holder provides satisfactory proof of
course completion and the Board finds that the course satisfies
the requirements for approval of appraisal continuing education
courses with regard to subject matter, course length, instructor
qualifications, and student attendance. Appraisal education
activities for which credit may be awarded include teaching
appraisal courses, authorship of appraisal textbooks, and
development of instructional materials on appraisal subjects. Up
to 14 hours of continuing education credit may be granted in
each continuing education cycle for participation in appraisal
education activities. Trainees or licensed or certified appraisers
who have taught an appraisal course or courses approved by the
Board for continuing education credit are deemed to have taken
an equivalent course and are not subject to the fee prescribed in
G.S. 93E-1-8 (d), provided they submit verification satisfactory
to the Board of having taught the course(s). A trainee, licensee,
or certificate holder who teaches a Board-approved continuing
education course may not receive continuing education credit for
the same course more than once every two years, regardless of
how often he or she teaches the course. Requests for equivalent
approval for continuing education credit must be received before
June 15 of an odd-numbered year to be credited towards the

continuing education requirement for that odd-numbered year.
Equivalent approval shall be granted only for courses that are 7
hours or longer, and shall only be granted for a minimum of 7
hours.

(h) A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may receive
continuing education credit by taking any of the Board-approved
precertification courses, other than Basic Appraisal Principles
and Basic Appraisal Procedures, or their approved equivalents.
Trainee, licensees, and certificate holders who wish to use a
precertification course for continuing education credit must
comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0604.

(i) A licensee or certificate holder who resides in another state,
is currently credentialed in another state, and is active on the
National Registry in another state may satisfy the requirements
of this Section, other than the seven hour National USPAP
update course requirement in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, by
providing a current letter of good standing from another state
showing that the licensee or certificate holder has met all
continuing education requirements in the other state. A licensee
or certificate holder who became licensed in North Carolina by
licensure or certification with another state and now resides in
North Carolina may renew by letter of good standing for his or
her first renewal as a resident of North Carolina only if the
appraiser moved to North Carolina on or after January 1 of an
odd numbered year. If an appraiser was a resident of this state
before January 1 of an odd-numbered year, the appraiser must
comply with the requirements of this section regardless of how
the license or certificate was obtained.

(J) A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who returns from
active military duty on or after February 1 of an odd-numbered
year is allowed to renew his or her registration, license, or
certificate in that odd-numbered year even if the required
continuing education is not completed before June 1 of that year.
All required continuing education must be completed within 180
days of when the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder returns
from active duty. Failure to complete the required continuing
education within 180 days is grounds for revocation. This Rule
applies to an individual who is serving in the armed forces of the
United States and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension
of time to file a tax return.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; July 1, 2011; July
1, 2010; January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July
1, 2005; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999

Authority G.S. 93B-15; 93E-1-7(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57A .0206 EXPIRED REGISTRATION,
LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE

(a) Expired registrations, licenses, and certificates may be
reinstated within 12 months after expiration upon application,
payment to the Board of the renewal and late filing fees as set
out in G.S. 93E-1-7, and provision of proof of having obtained
the continuing education that would have been required had the
registration, license, or certificate been continuously renewed.
(b) If a registration, license, or certificate has been expired for
more than 12 months, but less than 24 months, an applicant may
apply for reinstatement. In order to be considered for
reinstatement, the applicant must pay the filing fee as set out in
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G.S. 93E-1-7 and include in the application proof that the
applicant has obtained the continuing education that would have
been required had the registration, license, or certificate been
continuously renewed. In addition, the Board may consider
whether the applicant for reinstatement has any prior or current
disciplinary actions, and may examine the applicant's fitness for
registration, licensure, or certification before granting the request
for reinstatement. A completed application for reinstatement
must be received by June 1 of the second 12 months or it shall
not be accepted.

(c) An application for reinstatement shall not be granted if the
registration, license, or certificate has been expired for more than
24 months.

(d) Reinstatement is effective the date it is issued by the Board.
It is not retroactive.

() A trainee or appraiser whose registration, license, or
certification has expired and who is returning from active
military duty may renew his or her registration, license, or
certificate when the trainee or appraiser returns from active duty
without payment of a late filing fee as long as the trainee or
appraiser renews the registration, license, or certificate within
180 days of when the trainee or appraiser returns from active
duty.

History Note

10;

Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2011; September 1, 2008;
March 1, 2007; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-7; 93E-1-

21 NCAC 57A .0210 TEMPORARY PRACTICE

(a) Areal estate appraiser who does not reside in North Carolina
and who is licensed or certified by the appraiser licensing or
certifying agency in another state may apply to receive
temporary appraiser licensing or certification privileges in this
State by filing a notarized application with the Board. The
application is available on the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org.

(b) Upon filing a completed application accompanied by the fee
prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-9(c), an applicant shall be granted a
temporary practice permit by the Board authorizing the applicant
to perform in this State the appraisal assignment described in
such application, provided that the length of time projected by
the applicant for completion of the assignment is reasonable
given the scope and complexity of the assignment. The fee must
be paid by money order, certified check, or cashier's check. The
Board may consider whether an applicant's trainee registration or
appraiser license or certification is or has been subject to
discipline in their resident state or any other state, and may
consider all other information outlined in Rule .0202 of this
Section.

(c) Privileges granted under the provisions of this Rule shall
expire upon the expiration date set forth in the temporary
practice permit. However, upon a showing by the permittee
satisfactory to the Appraisal Board that, notwithstanding the
permittee's attention to the appraisal assignment, additional time
is needed to complete the assignment, the Board shall extend the
temporary practice privileges granted under the permittee's
temporary practice permit to afford him additional time to

complete the appraisal assignment. Such request for extension
must be received before the original temporary practice permit
expires or it shall not be granted. The request shall be in writing
and shall include the temporary practice permit number, the
amount of additional time needed to complete the assignment,
and the reason the extension is necessary.

(d) Persons granted temporary practice privileges under this
Rule shall not advertise or otherwise hold themselves out as
being a North Carolina trainee or licensed or certified appraiser.
Any appraisal report for an appraisal of property located in
North Carolina must contain a copy of the temporary practice
number for that assignment.

(e) A trainee may not apply for a temporary practice permit. The
term “trainee" shall include apprentices and others who are
licensed and regulated by a state agency to perform real estate
appraisals under the supervision of a certified appraiser. If a
trainee does enter the state to inspect a property located in this
state, the trainee must be accompanied by the trainee's
supervising appraiser. The trainee's supervisor must be a North
Carolina licensed or certified real estate appraiser. If not, the
supervising appraiser must be licensed or certified as a real
estate appraiser in another state and must receive a temporary
practice permit for the assignment.

(f) An applicant for a temporary practice permit shall not begin
performing any appraisal work in this State until the temporary
practice permit has been issued by the Board. If an applicant
does begin work before the permit is issued, the temporary
practice permit shall be denied.

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-9(c) and (d); 93E-1-10;
Title X1, Section 1122(a); 12 U.S.C. 3351(a);

Eff. July 1, 1994;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008;
March 1, 2007; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002;
April 1, 1999.

21 NCAC 57A .0301 TIME AND PLACE

(@) Applicants who have completed the education and
experience requirements for licensure or certification as set forth
in 21 NCAC 57A .0201 shall be issued an examination approval
form. The examination approval form is valid for five attempts
at the examination or for one year from date of issuance,
whichever comes first.

(b) Examinations for appraiser licenses or certificates shall be
scheduled at such times and places as determined by the
Executive Director and the Board-approved private testing
service. Applicants for the examination shall be scheduled for
examination based on their successful completion of appraiser
educational qualification requirements stated in G.S. 93E-1-6
and filing an application with the Board. The application may
be found on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org.
Violation of examination procedures and instructions is grounds
for denial, suspension, or revocation of a certificate.

(c) Examination results are valid for 24 months from the date
the examination is successfully completed.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10;
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Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008;
January 1, 2008; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002;
April 1, 1999.

21 NCAC 57A .0302
PASSING SCORES
(@) The examination for licensure as a licensed residential real
estate appraiser or for certification as a certified residential real
estate appraiser shall test applicants on the following subject
areas:

SUBJECT MATTER AND

(1) Influences on Real Estate Value;
(2) Legal Considerations in Appraisal;
3) Types of Value;

4) Economic Principles;
(5) Real Estate Markets and Analysis;
(6) Valuation Process;

@) Property Description;

(8) Highest and Best Use Analysis;

9 Appraisal Statistical Concepts;

(10) Sales Comparison approach;

(11) Site Value;

(12) Cost Approach;

(13) Income Approach (Gross Rent Multipliers,

Estimation of Income and Expenses, Operating
Expense ratios);

(14) Valuation of Partial Interests; and

(15) Appraisal Standards and Ethics.
(b) In addition to the subject areas listed in Paragraph (a) of this
Rule, the examination for certification as a certified general real
estate appraiser shall test applicants on the following subject
areas:

@ Direct Capitalization;

(2) Cash Flow Estimates;

3) Measures of Cash Flow; and

4) Discounted Cash Flow Analysis.
(c) The testing service shall inform applicants whether they
have passed the examination, and shall inform them of their
actual score only if they fail the examination.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008;
March 1, 2007; April 1, 1999.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57A .0303 RE-EXAMINATION

(@) Applicants for an appraiser license or certificate who fail to
pass or appear for any examination for which the applicant has
been scheduled by the Board-approved private testing service,
may schedule a subsequent examination and shall pay the
prescribed examination testing fees to the Board-approved
private testing service.

(b) Applicants may take the examination no more than five
times per application. If an applicant fails the examination, the
applicant must wait a minimum of 30 days before retaking the
examination. If the applicant does not pass the examination by
the fifth attempt at the examination or within one year of the
date of issuance of the examination approval form, the
application shall be cancelled.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008;
July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES

(&) A certified real estate appraiser may engage a registered
trainee to assist in the performance of real estate appraisals,
provided that the appraiser:

1) has been certified for at least three years;

2 has no more than three trainees working under
him or her at any one time. A certified
residential appraiser may have two trainees
working under his or her supervision at any
one time. Once at least one of those trainees
has completed 50 percent of the required
appraisal experience to upgrade, a certified
residential appraiser may add another trainee.
A certified general appraiser may have three
trainees working under his or her supervision.
Prior to the date any trainee begins performing
appraisals under his or her supervision, the
supervisor must inform the Board of the name
of the trainee by filing a Supervisor
Declaration Form with the Board. The form
may be found on the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org.  The supervisor
must also inform the Board when a trainee is
no longer working under his or her supervision
by using the Supervisor Declaration Form;

©) actively and personally supervises the trainee
on all appraisal reports and appraisal related
activities until the trainee is no longer under
his or her supervision;

(@) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting
data used in connection with appraisals in
which the services of a trainee is utilized, and
assures that research of general and specific
data has been adequately conducted and
properly reported, application of appraisal
principles and methodologies has been
properly applied, that the analysis is sound and
adequately reported, and that any analysis,
opinions, or conclusions are adequately
developed and reported so that the appraisal
report is not misleading;

5) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 of
this Section regarding appraisal reports;
(6) reviews and signs the trainee's log of

appraisals, which must be updated at least
every 30 days. In addition, the supervisor must
make available to the trainee a copy of every
appraisal report where the trainee performs
more than 75 percent of the work on the
appraisal; and

@) has not received any disciplinary action
regarding his or her appraisal license or
certificate from the State of North Carolina or
any other state within the previous three years.
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For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary
action means an active suspension, a
downgrade of a credential, a revocation, or any
other action that affects a supervisor's ability
to engage in appraisal practice.
(b)  Active and personal supervision includes direction,
guidance, and support from the supervisor. The supervising
appraiser shall have input into and full knowledge of the
appraisal report prior to its completion, and shall make any
necessary and appropriate changes to the report before it is
transmitted to the client. In addition, the supervisor shall
accompany the trainee on the inspections of the subject property
on the first 50 appraisal assignments or the first 1500 hours of
experience, whichever comes first, for which the trainee will
perform more than 75 percent of the work. After that point, the
trainee may perform the inspections without the presence of the
supervisor provided that the trainee is competent to perform
those inspections, and provided that the subject property is less
than 50 miles from the supervisor's primary business location.
The supervisor must accompany the trainee on all inspections of
subject properties that are located more than 50 miles from the
supervisor's primary business location.
(c) The trainee must maintain a log on a form that includes each
appraisal performed by the trainee, the type of property
appraised, type of appraisal performed, complete street address
of the subject property, the date the report was signed, the
experience hours claimed, the name of the supervisor for that
appraisal, the supervisor's license or certificate number, and
whether the supervisor accompanied the trainee on the
inspection of the subject. The log must show all appraisals
performed by the trainee and must be updated at least every 30
days. The log form is available on the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org.
(d) All trainees and any appraiser who wishes to supervise a
trainee must attend an education program regarding the role of a
supervisor before such supervision begins. This course shall be
taught only by instructors approved by the Board in accordance
with 21 NCAC 57B .0614. A trainee shall not receive experience
credit for any appraisals performed before the trainee has taken
the course.
(e) Trainees must assure that the Appraisal Board has received
the Supervisor Declaration Form on or before the day the trainee
begins assisting the supervising appraiser. The form may be
found on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org.
Trainees shall not receive appraisal experience credit for
appraisals performed in violation of this Paragraph.
(f) Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee or
by a company, firm, or partnership in which the trainee has a
controlling interest.
() If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides significant
professional assistance in the appraisal process and thus is noted
in the report as having provided such assistance, the appraiser
signing the report shall have notified the Appraisal Board before
the appraisal is signed that he or she is the supervisor for the
trainee. If more than one appraiser signs the report, the appraiser
with the highest level of credential must be the declared
supervisor for the trainee. If all appraisers signing the report
have the same level of credential, at least one of them must be
declared as the trainee's supervisor before the report is signed.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; July 1,2010;
September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; March 1,
2006; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999.

Authority G.S. 93E-1.6.1; 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0102 LICENSED RESIDENTIAL AND
CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER
COURSE REQUIREMENTS

(a) Each applicant for licensure as a licensed residential real
estate appraiser or for certification as a certified residential real
estate appraiser shall complete a minimum of 200 hours of
qualifying education, consisting of the following:

1) A minimum of 30 hours in basic appraisal
principles;

2 A minimum of 30 hours in basic appraisal
procedures;

©) a minimum of 15 hours in residential market
analysis and highest and best use;

4 A minimum of 15 hours in Residential
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach;

(5) A minimum of 30 Hours in Residential Sales
Comparison and Income Approaches;

(6) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Report
Writing and Case Studies;

) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice
(USPAP);

(8) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics,
Modeling and Finance;

9 A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced
Residential Applications and Case Studies;
and

(10) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject
matter electives.
Credit for these courses must be earned from a Board-
approved course sponsor or school.
(b) An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as a
trainee shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a
licensed or certified residential real estate appraiser by
completing the following education:

(8] A minimum of 15 hours in Residential
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach;

2) A minimum of 30 Hours in Residential Sales
Comparison and Income Approaches;

3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Report
Writing and Case Studies;

4) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics,
Modeling and Finance;

(5) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced
Residential Applications and Case Studies;
and

(6) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject

matter electives.
(c) An applicant who was licensed as a licensed residential
appraiser before January 1, 2015 shall satisfy the educational
requirements to become a certified residential real estate
appraiser by completing the following education:
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1) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics,
Modeling and Finance;

2 A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced
Residential Applications and Case Studies;
and

3) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject

matter electives.
(d) An applicant who is not currently registered by the Board as
a trainee or who is not currently licensed by the Board as a
licensed residential real estate appraiser must have completed all
required courses no earlier than January 1, 2008.
(e) An applicant who is currently registered by the Board as a
trainee or who is currently licensed by the Board as a licensed
residential real estate appraiser must have completed all courses
required beyond those required for his current registration,
license, or certification no earlier than January 1, 2008.
(f) The Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal Procedures,
Residential Market Analysis, USPAP, and Residential Sales
Comparison and Income Approach classes must have been
obtained in a classroom setting. All other courses in this section
may be taken on-line via the Internet.

History Note:
10;

Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010;
September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; July 1,
2003; August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-

21 NCAC 57B .0104 COURSE EXEMPTIONS FOR
EQUIVALENT EDUCATION

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0201 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY
This Section establishes criteria for approval and operational
requirements for all real estate appraisal qualifying course
sponsors and schools. These standards shall be satisfied in order
for course sponsors and schools to obtain and maintain approval
of their courses for appraiser qualifying education credit.
Schools and course sponsors shall obtain course approval from
the Board prior to conducting qualifying courses and prior to
advertising or otherwise representing that a course is or may be
approved for credit in North Carolina.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0202 APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL
Schools and other course sponsors seeking approval to conduct
real estate appraisal qualifying courses shall make written
application to the Board. The application form may be found on
the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008.

21 NCAC 57B .0203 CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL
Approval to conduct real estate appraisal qualifying courses
shall be granted to a school or course sponsor when it is shown
to the satisfaction of the Board that:

(D) the school or course sponsor has submitted a
completed application form. The form may be
found at the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org;

2 the school or course sponsor complies with the
standards described in this Section; and

3) the courses to be conducted comply with the
standards described in Section .0300 of this
Subchapter.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0207 ADMINISTRATION

One person shall be designated as the Director for each approved
school or course sponsor and shall be responsible for
administrative matters such as program development, scheduling
of classes, advertising, maintenance of facilities and equipment,
record keeping, and general supervision of the instruction
program. The director shall ensure that the policies and general
operations of the school or course sponsor comply with the
provisions of Sections .0200 and .0300 of this Subchapter. The
Director shall meet the fitness standards for applicants for
trainee registration or appraiser licensure or certification. The
Director shall:

1) have a baccalaureate or higher degree in the
field of education; or
2) have at least two years full time experience

within the past 10 years as an instructor or
school administrator; or
3 meet the minimum appraisal education and
experience qualifications listed in 21 NCAC
57B .0306 to teach either the residential or
general appraisal precertification courses; or
4) possess qualifications which are found by the
Board to be substantially equivalent to ltem
(1), (2), or (3) of this Rule.
History Note:  Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; August 1, 2002.

21 NCAC 57B .0208 ACCOMMODATIONS FOR
PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

The Board may suspend, revoke, or deny renewal of approval of
a real estate school or course sponsor to conduct appraiser
qualifying courses upon finding that any court of competent
jurisdiction has found the school or course sponsor official or
instructor in the employ of the school or course sponsor to be in
violation of any applicable federal or state law or regulation
prohibiting discrimination on the basis of disability, requiring
that courses related to certification for professional or trade
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purposes be offered in a place and manner accessible to persons
with disabilities.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0209
COMPLETION
Approved schools or course sponsors must provide each passing
student with a course completion certificate. Certificates of
course completion shall be on a document bearing the letterhead
or insignia of the school or course sponsor and shall have the
signature or signature stamp of the school or course sponsor
director. A student who has taken a qualifying course, other
than the 15 hour National USPAP course, for continuing
education credit and who does not pass the examination shall not
be given a course completion certificate, but shall be given a
certificate of attendance for the course, provided that the student
complies with the provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0303. Either
certificate is valid to obtain continuing education credit, in
accordance with 21 NCAC 57B .0604.

CERTIFICATION OF COURSE

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008;
July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0301 PURPOSE
This Section establishes minimum standards for real estate
appraisal qualifying courses prescribed by G.S. 93E-1-6(a).

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0302 COURSE CONTENT

(@) All courses shall consist of instruction in the subject areas
outlined in the Appraiser Qualification Board's Guide Note 1.
Guide Note 1 may be accessed at the Appraisal Foundation
website at www.appraisafoundation.org.

(b) Courses may also include coverage of additional related
subject areas; however, any such course must provide additional
class time above the minimum required classroom hours
specified in 57B .0101, .0102, and .0103 and the minimum
requirement of 15 hours for USPAP for the coverage of such
additional subject areas.

(c) On or before the first class meeting day of the Basic
Appraisal Principles course, the instructor shall give to each
student material prepared by the Board regarding the trainee
registration process and the process to upgrade to a licensed or
certified appraiser. The student handout may be accessed on the
Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org.

History Note:
10;
Eff. July 1, 1994;

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008;
July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002.

21 NCAC 57B .0303
STANDARDS

(a) Academic standards for course completion shall assure that
students receiving a passing grade possess knowledge and
understanding of the subject areas prescribed for the course. A
student's grade shall be based solely on his or her performance
on examinations and on graded homework and class work
assignments.

(b) Course completion requirements shall include a
comprehensive final course examination which covers all
prescribed subject areas and which accounts for at least 50
percent of a student's grade for the course. Take-home or open-
book final course examinations are prohibited. In their
discretion, schools and course sponsors may, within 90 days of
the course ending date, allow a student one opportunity to make
up any missed course examination or to retake any failed course
examination without repeating the course; however, any make
up examination shall be comparable to the initial examination
with regard to the number of questions and overall difficulty,
and at least 75 percent of the questions in the makeup
examination shall be different from those used in the initial
examination.

(¢c) The minimum attendance required for satisfactory course
completion is 90 percent of all scheduled classroom hours for
the course.

(d) The instructor may offer additional hours of instruction so
that students can make up lost hours of instruction.

(e) Students who are taking a qualifying course, other than the
15 hour National USPAP course, for continuing education credit
may sit for the final course examination, but they are not
required to pass the examination in order to receive continuing
education credit. Students who take and pass the examination
and who comply with the provisions of this Rule shall be given a
course completion certificate. Students who do not take and pass
the examination but who otherwise comply with the provisions
of this Rule shall be given a certificate of attendance. Students
who are taking the course as a result of a conditional dismissal,
consent order, or order of the Board after a hearing must take
and pass the examination.

COURSE COMPLETION

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008;
July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0306 INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS
(&) Except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, all
qualifying courses or courses deemed equivalent by the Board
shall be taught by instructors who possess the fitness for
licensure required of applicants for trainee registration or real
estate appraiser licensure or certification and either the minimum
appraisal education and experience qualifications listed in this
Rule or other qualifications that are found by the Board to be
equivalent to those listed. These qualification requirements shall
be met on a continuing basis. The minimum qualifications are
as follows:
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1) Residential appraiser courses: 200 classroom
hours of real estate appraisal education
equivalent to the residential appraiser
education courses prescribed in Rules .0101
and .0102 of this Subchapter and two years'
full-time experience as a certified residential
or general real estate appraiser within the
previous five years. At least one-half of such
experience must be in residential property
appraising. Instructors must also be certified as
a residential or general real estate appraiser.
General appraiser courses: 300 classroom
hours of real estate appraisal education
equivalent to the general appraiser education
courses prescribed in Rules .0101, .0102 and
.0103 of this Subchapter and three years' full-
time experience as a general real estate
appraiser within the previous five years. At
least one-half of such experience must be in
income property appraising. Instructors must
also be a certified general real estate appraiser
and have been so certified for at least five
years.

USPAP: certification by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal
Foundation as an instructor for the National
USPAP Course. The instructor must be a
certified residential or a certified general
appraiser. If a USPAP instructor fails to renew
or loses his or her -certification by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board, the instructor
must immediately stop teaching and notify the
Appraisal Board of the loss of certification.
Statistics, modeling and finance: must have
previously completed this class, or must have
completed 3 semester hours of statistics in an
accredited college or university.

(b) Guest lecturers who do not possess the qualifications stated
in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be utilized to teach collectively
up to one-fourth of any course, provided that each guest lecturer
possesses education and experience directly related to the
particular subject area the lecturer is teaching.

(c) Instructors shall conduct themselves in a professional
manner when performing their instructional duties and shall
conduct their classes in a manner that demonstrates knowledge
of the subject matter being taught and mastery of the following
basic teaching skills:

(1) The ability to communicate -effectively
through speech, including the ability to speak
clearly at an appropriate rate of speed and with
appropriate grammar and vocabulary;

The ability to present instruction in an
accurate, logical, orderly, and understandable
manner, to utilize illustrative examples as
appropriate, and to respond appropriately to
questions from students;

The ability to effectively utilize varied
instructive techniques other than straight

@)

3)

(4)

()

©)

lecture, such as class discussion or other
techniques;

(@) The ability to effectively utilize instructional
aids to enhance learning;

(5) The ability to maintain an effective learning
environment and control of a class; and

(6) The ability to interact with adult students in a

manner that encourages students to learn, that
demonstrates an understanding of students'
backgrounds, that avoids offending the
sensibilities of students, and that avoids
personal criticism of any other person, agency
or organization.
(d) Upon request of the Board, an instructor or proposed
instructor must submit to the Board a videotape or DVD in a
manner and format which depicts the instructor teaching
portions of a qualifying course specified by the Board and which
demonstrates that the instructor possesses the basic teaching
skills described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule.
(e) The inquiry into fitness shall include consideration of
whether the instructor has ever had any disciplinary action taken
on his or her appraisal license or certificate or any other
professional license or certificate in North Carolina or any other
state, or whether the instructor has ever been convicted of or
pleaded guilty to any criminal act. This inquiry may include
consideration of whether disciplinary action or criminal charges
are pending.
(f) Instructors shall not have received any disciplinary action
regarding his or her appraisal license or certificate from the State
of North Carolina or any other state within the previous two
years. For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary action
means a reprimand, suspension (whether active or inactive), or a
revocation.
(9) Proposed qualifying course instructors who do not meet the
minimum appraisal education and experience qualifications
listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and who seek to have their
qualifications determined by the Board to be equivalent to the
qualifications listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, must supply
the Board with copies of sample appraisal reports or other
evidence of experience.
(h) Persons desiring to become instructors for qualifying
courses must file an application for approval with the Board. The
application may be accessed at the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org .
There is no fee for application for instructor approval. Once an
instructor has been approved to teach a specific qualifying
course, that person may teach the course at any school or for any
course sponsor approved by the Appraisal Board to offer
qualifying courses.
(i) Current Appraisal Board members shall not be eligible to
teach qualifying courses during their term of office on the Board.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008;
March 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003;
August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;
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21 NCAC 57B .0307
RECOGNITION
(@ Schools and course sponsors seeking to offer appraiser
qualifying courses shall make written application to the Board
and pay applicable fees as required by G.S. 93E-1-8(b). The
application may be accessed at the Board's website at
www.nappraisalboard.org .

(b) Appraisal subject matter electives offered for qualifying
credit shall meet all other requirements of this Chapter. The
content of these electives shall be directly related to the appraisal
of real property to be approved for credit. Appraisal subject
matter elective courses shall contain a minimum of 15 hours.

(c) Various combinations of courses may be recognized as
equivalent to the appraiser qualifying courses specified in 57B
.0101, .0102 and .0103.

(d) The 15 hour USPAP course shall be the 15-hour National
USPAP Course approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board
of the Appraisal Foundation, or its equivalent.

(e) The application shall state the name of the instructor for the
course. All instructors shall be approved by the Board pursuant
to 57B .0306(h). After the course is approved, if a school or
course sponsor wishes to change instructors, the school shall
notify the Board of the name of the new instructor at least seven
calendar days before the proposed change would take effect. If
the proposed instructor is not currently approved in accordance
with 57B .0306(h), the instructor shall be approved by the Board
before the school or course sponsor may change instructors.

(f) Course sponsors may offer all qualifying classes other than
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach class and
the General Appraiser Income Approach class on-line via the
Internet. The Board shall be provided access to the course via
the internet at a date and time satisfactory to the Board and shall
not be charged any fee for such access. To be approved for
credit, an on-line qualifying education course shall meet all of
the conditions imposed by the Rules in this Subchapter in
advance, except where otherwise noted. The course shall be
interactive, permitting the participant to communicate, via
telephone, electronic mail, or a website bulletin board, with the
presenter and other participants. The sponsor of an on-line
course shall have a method for recording and verifying
attendance. A participant may periodically log on and off of an
on-line course provided the total time spent participating in the
course is equal to or exceeds the credit hours assigned to the
program. The course design and delivery mechanism for an on-
line course offered on the Internet shall have received approval
from the International Distance Education Certification Center
(IDECC). Information about the IDECC may be found on their
website at www.idecc.org. A course completion certificate shall
be forwarded to the student as stated in Rule .0303(e) of this
Section.

CRITERIA FOR COURSE

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008;
January 1, 2008; August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0401 APPLICABILITY
This Section applies to private real estate appraisal schools
offering qualifying courses, appraisal trade organizations and to

all other course sponsors other than North Carolina colleges,
universities, community, or technical colleges accredited by the
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and agencies of
the federal, State or local government.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008;
August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a), (b); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0604 QUALIFYING COURSES

(&) Appraisal qualifying courses conducted by North Carolina
approved schools or by appraisal trade organizations which are
approved as equivalent to the North Carolina qualifying courses
may be separately approved as appraisal continuing education
courses. Trainees, licensed, and certified appraisers may obtain
continuing education credit for these courses only to the extent
permitted by Rule .0204 of Subchapter 57A. Appraisal trade
organizations shall at all times assure compliance with Rules
.0606, .0607, and .0608 of this Section in order to retain such
approval for these courses.

(b) It is presumed that any person taking any of the qualifying
courses is doing so for registration, licensure, or certification
purposes. If the person wishes to obtain continuing education
credit for the course, he or she shall request such credit in
writing and shall send the original course completion certificate
or course attendance certificate with the request.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; March 1, 2007;
July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0605
CREDIT HOURS
The course approval issued to a course sponsor shall include the
number of hours of continuing education credit that will be
awarded for the course. The minimum number of continuing
education credit hours awarded for a course shall be three and
one-half hours, and the maximum number of continuing
education credit hours awarded for a course, regardless of its
length, shall be thirty hours. Continuing education credit hours
shall not be carried forward into subsequent licensing periods.
No continuing education credit shall be given for courses taken
before the student was registered as a trainee or licensed or
certified as an appraiser in this state or any other state.

CONTINUING EDUCATION

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; August 1, 2002.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10;

21 NCAC 57B .0614 INSTRUCTORS FOR THE
TRAINEE/SUPERVISOR COURSE REQUIRED BY G.S.
93E-1-6.1

(a) Instructors for the trainee/supervisor course required by 21
NCAC 57A .0407(c) shall be real estate appraisers who have
been certified residential or certified general for at least three
years.
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(b) Instructors shall not have received any disciplinary action
regarding their appraisal certificate from the State of North
Carolina or any other state within the previous three years. In
addition, instructors shall not have been convicted of or pleaded
guilty to any criminal act. "Criminal act" does not include
speeding tickets or traffic infractions.

(c) All applicants for instructor of the trainee/supervisor course
shall obtain a criminal records check that is satisfactory to the
Board. This records check must have been performed within 60
days of the date the completed application for approval as an
instructor is received by the Board. Applicants shall pay the
vendor directly for the cost of these reports. In order to be
satisfactory to the Board, the records check must comply with
the provisions of 21 NCAC 57A .0202(e).

(d) Persons who wish to instruct the trainee/supervisor course
shall be approved by the Board before they may teach this
course. Approval of a trainee/supervisor course instructor
authorizes the instructor to teach the course for any approved
course sponsor.

(e) Applicants who wish to become instructors for the
trainee/supervisor course shall attend an educational workshop
sponsored by the Board before they may be approved.
Applicants may check the Board's website for information
regarding the date and location of the class. The website may be
accessed at www.ncappraislboard.org.

(f) Approval of trainee/supervisor course instructors shall run
from July 1 to June 30 of the next year. Applicants whose
approval is granted after July 1 will expire on June 30 of the next
year.

History Note:
10;
Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6.1; 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-

21 NCAC 57C .0101
OTHER PLEADINGS
(@ There is no specific form required for complaints. To be
sufficient, a complaint shall be in writing, identify the trainee,
appraiser, or appraisal management company, identify the
Complainant by name, provide a physical address and contact
information for the Complainant, and shall apprise the Board of
the facts which form the basis of the complaint.

(b)  When investigating a complaint, the scope of the
investigation is not limited to the persons or transactions
described or alleged in the complaint.

(c) Persons who make complaints are not parties to contested
cases heard by the Board, but may be witnesses in the cases.

(d) There is no specific form required for answers, motions, or
other pleadings relating to contested cases before the Board,
except they shall be in writing. To be sufficient, the document
must identify the case to which it refers and apprise the Board of
the matters it alleges, answers, or requests. In lieu of submission
in writing, motions, requests, and other pleadings may be made
on the record during the course of the hearing before the Board.
(e) During the course of an investigation of a licensee, the
Board, through its legal counsel or staff, may send a trainee,
appraiser, or appraisal management company one or more
Letters of Inquiry requesting the trainee, appraiser, or appraisal
management company to respond. The initial Letter of Inquiry,

FORM OF COMPLAINTS AND

or attachments thereto, shall set forth the subject matter being
investigated. Upon receipt of a Letter of Inquiry, the trainee,
appraiser, or appraisal management company shall respond
within thirty calendar days. The response shall include copies of
all documents requested in a Letter of Inquiry.

(f) Hearings in contested cases before the Board are governed
by the provisions of Article 3A of Chapter 150B of the General
Statutes.

(g9) A complaint shall not be accepted if the applicable time
period for retention of the work file for that appraisal assignment
pursuant to the Recordkeeping Rule of the Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice has expired. This Section does
not apply to complaints involving the actions outlined in G.S
93E-1-12(b)(1),(2),(4), and (5)

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; July 1, 2003;
August 1, 2002,

Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 93E-2-3; 93E-2-8;

21 NCAC 57D .0101 FORM
An appraisal management company that wishes to file an
application for an appraisal management company certificate of
registration may obtain the required form upon request to the
Board or on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org.
The form calls for information such as:
(8] the legal name of the applicant;
2 the name under which the applicant will do
business in North Carolina;
©) the type of business entity;
4) the address of its principal office;
5) the applicant's NC Secretary of State
Identification Number if required to be
registered with the Office of the NC Secretary

of State;

(6) a completed application for approval of the
compliance manager;

@) any past criminal conviction of and any

pending criminal charge against any person or
entity that owns ten percent or more of the
appraisal management company;

(8) any past revocation, suspension, or denial of
an appraisal license of any person or entity that
owns ten percent or more of the appraisal
management company;

(C)] if a general partnership, a description of the
applicant entity, including a copy of its written
partnership agreement or if no written
agreement exists, a written description of the
rights and duties of the several partners;

(10) if a business entity other than a corporation,
limited liability company, or partnership, a
description of the organization of the applicant
entity, including a copy of its organizational
documents;

(11) if a foreign business entity, a certificate of
authority to transact business in North
Carolina and an executed consent to service of
process and pleadings; and
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(12) a certification that the applicant has obtained a
surety bond as required by G.S. 93E-2-4(g).

Incomplete applications shall not be acted upon by the Board.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93E-2-4; S.L. 2013-403;
Eff. January 1, 2011;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

21 NCAC 57D .0202 REGISTRATION RENEWAL

(@) All registrations expire on June 30, 2012 and every June 30
of each year thereafter unless renewed before that time. The
renewal period shall be from May 1 through June 30 of each
year.

(b) A holder of an appraisal management company registration
desiring the renewal of such registration shall apply in writing
upon the form provided by the Board and shall forward the
renewal fee. The renewal fee shall be two thousand dollars
($2000). The renewal fee is not refundable under any
circumstances.

(c) Any company who acts or holds itself out as a registered
appraisal management company while its appraisal management
company registration is expired is subject to disciplinary action
and penalties as prescribed in G.S. 93E-2-8 and G.S. 93E-2-10.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-6;
Eff. January 1, 2011;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

21 NCAC 57D .0303 COMPLIANCE MANAGER

(@ A compliance manager shall be designated with the Board
for each appraisal management company. The compliance
manager shall be a certified real estate appraiser certified under
Article | of this chapter or in another state.

(b) An appraisal management company shall file an application
with the Board for approval of the designated compliance
manager. This application shall provide the Board with
information such as the compliance manager's name, mailing
and physical address, and phone and email contact information,
and shall be signed by the designated compliance manager. The
application may be accessed at the Board's website at
www.ncappraisalboard.org.

(c) The designated compliance manager shall obtain a criminal
records check pursuant to 93E-2-11. Applicants shall pay all
required fees to perform the check. This records check shall have
been performed within 60 days of the date the completed
application is received by the Board. The criminal records check
results must be attached to the application for approval as a
compliance manager.

(d) The designated compliance manager is responsible for:

1) the notification to the Board of any change of
trade name or contact information of the
appraisal management company and the
registration of any assumed business name
adopted by the appraisal management
company for its use;
the retention and maintenance of records
relating to appraisals conducted by or on
behalf of the appraisal management company;

()

3 the maintenance of a record of all appraisers in
North Carolina who perform appraisals for the
appraisal management company, including a
log of payments to appraisers; and

4 the conduct of advertising of appraisal

management services by or in the name of the
appraisal management company;
(e) If an appraisal management company intends to change its
compliance manager, it must submit an application for approval
of the new compliance manager at least 10 business days before
the effective date of the change. The form may be accessed at
the Board's website at www.appraisalboard.org.
(f) If a compliance manager leaves the appraisal management
company and the company is unable to give at least 10 days'
notice of the change, the company shall have 15 business days
from the date the compliance manager leaves to obtain a new
compliance manager.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-4(b); 93E-2-5;
Eff. January 1, 2011;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

21 NCAC 57D .0310
APPRAISERS

(@) Appraisal management companies shall pay fees to an
appraiser within 30 days of the date the appraisal is first
transmitted by the real estate appraiser to the company as
follows:

)

PAYMENT OF FEES TO

If payment is made by electronic means, the
funds for the fee shall be deposited into the
appraiser's account so that they are available to
the appraiser on the 31st day following the
date the appraisal is first transmitted to the
company.

If payment is made by check, the check shall
be postmarked no later than the 30th day
following the date the appraisal is first
transmitted to the company.

(b) If an appraisal management company decides that it will not
pay a fee to an appraiser for an appraisal, the appraisal
management company shall notify the appraiser in writing of the
reason for nonpayment. Such notice shall be sent to the appraiser
within 30 days after the date the appraiser first transmits the
appraisal to the appraisal management company by any
established method that provides proof of delivery, including
registered mail, return receipt requested. The notice shall state
the address of the subject property of the appraisal, the name of
the appraiser(s) signing the report, and the reason why the fee
shall not be paid. The notice shall also notify the appraiser of
any dispute resolution process that the appraisal management
company may have in place.

@

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-4(d);
Eff. January 1, 2011;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.
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CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

21 NCAC 58A .0104
DISCLOSURE

(@) Every agreement for brokerage services in a real estate
transaction and every agreement for services connected with the
management of a property owners association shall be in writing
and signed by the parties thereto. Every agreement for brokerage
services between a broker and an owner of the property to be the
subject of a transaction shall be in writing and signed by the
parties at the time of its formation. Every agreement for
brokerage services between a broker and a buyer or tenant shall
be express and shall be in writing and signed by the parties
thereto not later than the time one of the parties makes an offer
to purchase, sell, rent, lease, or exchange real estate to another.
However, every agreement between a broker and a buyer or
tenant which seeks to bind the buyer or tenant for a period of
time or to restrict the buyer's or tenant's right to work with other
agents or without an agent shall be in writing and signed by the
parties thereto from its formation. A broker shall not continue to
represent a buyer or tenant without a written, signed agreement
when such agreement is required by this Rule. Every written
agreement for brokerage services of any kind in a real estate
transaction shall be for a definite period of time, shall include
the broker's license number, and shall provide for its termination
without prior notice at the expiration of that period, except that
an agency agreement between a landlord and broker to procure
tenants or receive rents for the landlord's property may allow for
automatic renewal so long as the landlord may terminate with
notice at the end of any contract period and any subsequent
renewals. For the purposes of this Rule, an agreement between
brokers to cooperate or share compensation shall not be
considered an agreement for brokerage services and, except as
required by Rule .1807 of this Subchapter, need not be
memorialized in writing.

(b) Every listing agreement, written buyer agency agreement or
other written agreement for brokerage services in a real estate
transaction shall contain the following provision: "The broker
shall conduct all brokerage activities in regard to this agreement
without respect to the race, color, religion, sex, national origin,
handicap or familial status of any party or prospective party."
The provision shall be set forth in a clear and conspicuous
manner which shall distinguish it from other provisions of the
agreement. For the purposes of this Rule, the term, "familial
status" shall be defined as it is in G.S. 41A-3(1b).

() In every real estate sales transaction, a broker shall, at first
substantial contact with a prospective buyer or seller, provide the
prospective buyer or seller with a copy of the publication
"Working with Real Estate Agents," set forth the broker's name
and license number thereon, review the publication with the
buyer or seller, and determine whether the agent will act as the
agent of the buyer or seller in the transaction. If the first
substantial contact with a prospective buyer or seller occurs by
telephone or other electronic means of communication where it
is not practical to provide the "Working with Real Estate
Agents" publication, the broker shall at the earliest opportunity
thereafter, but in no event later than three days from the date of
first substantial contact, mail or otherwise transmit a copy of the
publication to the prospective buyer or seller and review it with

AGENCY AGREEMENTS AND

him or her at the earliest practicable opportunity thereafter. For
the purposes of this Rule, "first substantial contact™ shall include
contacts between a broker and a consumer where the consumer
or broker begins to act as though an agency relationship exists
and the consumer begins to disclose to the broker personal or
confidential information. The "Working with Real Estate
Agents" publication can be obtained on the Commission's
website at www.ncrec.gov or upon request to the Commission.
(d) A real estate broker representing one party in a transaction
shall not undertake to represent another party in the transaction
without the written authority of each party. The written
authority must be obtained upon the formation of the
relationship except when a buyer or tenant is represented by a
broker without a written agreement in conformity with the
requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Under such
circumstances, the written authority for dual agency must be
reduced to writing not later than the time that one of the parties
represented by the broker makes an offer to purchase, sell, rent,
lease, or exchange real estate to another party.

(e) In every real estate sales transaction, a broker working
directly with a prospective buyer as a seller's agent or subagent
shall disclose in writing to the prospective buyer at the first
substantial contact with the prospective buyer that the broker
represents the interests of the seller. The written disclosure shall
include the broker's license number. If the first substantial
contact occurs by telephone or by means of other electronic
communication where it is not practical to provide written
disclosure, the broker shall immediately disclose by similar
means whom he represents and shall immediately mail or
otherwise transmit a copy of the written disclosure to the buyer.
In no event shall the broker mail or transmit a copy of the
written disclosure to the buyer later than three days from the date
of first substantial contact with the buyer.

(f) In every real estate sales transaction, a broker representing a
buyer shall, at the initial contact with the seller or seller's agent,
disclose to the seller or seller's agent that the broker represents
the buyer's interests. In addition, in every real estate sales
transaction other than auctions, the broker shall, no later than the
time of delivery of an offer to the seller or seller's agent, provide
the seller or seller's agent with a written confirmation disclosing
that he or she represents the interests of the buyer. The written
confirmation may be made in the buyer's offer to purchase and
shall include the broker's license number.

(g) The provisions of Paragraphs (c), (d) and (e) of this Rule do
not apply to real estate brokers representing sellers in auction
sales transactions.

(h) A broker representing a buyer in an auction sale transaction
shall, no later than the time of execution of a written agreement
memorializing the buyer's contract to purchase, provide the
seller or seller's agent with a written confirmation disclosing that
he or she represents the interests of the buyer. The written
confirmation may be made in the written agreement.

(i) A firm that represents more than one party in the same real
estate transaction is a dual agent and, through the brokers
associated with the firm, shall disclose its dual agency to the
parties.

(1) When a firm represents both the buyer and seller in the same
real estate transaction, the firm may, with the prior express
approval of its buyer and seller clients, designate one or more
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individual brokers associated with the firm to represent only the
interests of the seller and one or more other individual brokers
associated with the firm to represent only the interests of the
buyer in the transaction. The authority for designated agency
must be reduced to writing not later than the time that the parties
are required to reduce their dual agency agreement to writing in
accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. An individual
broker shall not be so designated and shall not undertake to
represent only the interests of one party if the broker has actually
received confidential information concerning the other party in
connection with the transaction. A broker-in-charge shall not act
as a designated broker for a party in a real estate sales
transaction when a provisional broker under his or her
supervision will act as a designated broker for another party with
a competing interest.

(k) When a firm acting as a dual agent designates an individual
broker to represent the seller, the broker so designated shall
represent only the interest of the seller and shall not, without the
seller's permission, disclose to the buyer or a broker designated
to represent the buyer:

1) that the seller may agree to a price, terms, or
any conditions of sale other than those
established by the seller;

(2) the seller's motivation for engaging in the
transaction unless disclosure is otherwise
required by statute or rule; and

3 any information about the seller that the seller
has identified as confidential unless disclosure
of the information is otherwise required by
statute or rule.

() When a firm acting as a dual agent designates an individual
broker to represent the buyer, the broker so designated shall
represent only the interest of the buyer and shall not, without the
buyer's permission, disclose to the seller or a broker designated
to represent the seller:

1) that the buyer may agree to a price, terms, or
any conditions of sale other than those
established by the seller;

2 the buyer's motivation for engaging in the
transaction unless disclosure is otherwise
required by statute or rule; and

3 any information about the buyer that the buyer
has identified as confidential unless disclosure
of the information is otherwise required by
statute or rule.

(m) A broker designated to represent a buyer or seller in
accordance with Paragraph (j) of this Rule shall disclose the
identity of all of the brokers so designated to both the buyer and
the seller. The disclosure shall take place no later than the
presentation of the first offer to purchase or sell.

(n) When an individual broker represents both the buyer and
seller in the same real estate sales transaction pursuant to a
written agreement authorizing dual agency, the parties may
provide in the written agreement that the broker shall not
disclose the following information about one party to the other
without permission from the party about whom the information
pertains:

1) that a party may agree to a price, terms or any
conditions of sale other than those offered;

2 the motivation of a party for engaging in the
transaction, unless disclosure is otherwise
required by statute or rule; and

?3) any information about a party that the party
has identified as confidential, unless disclosure
is otherwise required by statute or rule.

(o) A broker who is selling property in which the broker has an
ownership interest shall not undertake to represent a buyer of
that property. A firm listing a property owned by a broker
affiliated with the firm may represent a buyer of that property so
long as any individual broker representing the buyer on behalf of
the firm does not have an ownership interest in the property and
the buyer consents to the representation after full disclosure of
the broker's ownership interest.

(p) A broker or firm with an existing listing agreement for a
property shall not enter into a contract to purchase that property
unless, prior to entering into the contract, the listing broker or
firm first discloses in writing to their seller-client that the listing
broker or firm may have a conflict of interest in the transaction
and that the seller-client may want to seek independent counsel
of an attorney or another licensed broker. Prior to the listing
broker entering into a contract to purchase the listed property,
the listing broker and firm shall either terminate the listing
agreement or transfer the listing to another broker affiliated with
the firm. Prior to the listing firm entering into a contract to
purchase the listed property, the listing broker and firm shall
disclose to the seller-client in writing that the seller-client has
the right to terminate the listing and the listing broker and firm
shall terminate the listing upon the request of the seller-client.

History Note:
93A-6(a);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; July 1, 2008; April 1,
2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2004; April 1, 2004; September 1,
2002; July 1, 2001; October 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; July 1,
1997; August 1, 1996; July 1, 1995.

Authority G.S. 41A-3(1b); 41A-4(a); 93A-3(c);

21 NCAC 58A .0110 BROKER-IN-CHARGE
(a) When used in this Rule, the term:

(8] "Office” means any place of business where
acts are performed for which a real estate
license is required or where monies received
by a broker acting in a fiduciary capacity are
handled or records for such trust monies are
maintained;

2) "Principal Office" means the office so
designated in the Commission's records by the
qualifying broker of a licensed firm or the
broker-in-charge of a sole proprietorship; and

3 "Branch Office" means any office in addition
to the principal office of a broker which is
operated in connection with the broker's real
estate business.

(b) Except as provided in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule,
every real estate firm, including a sole proprietorship, shall have
a broker designated by the Commission as provided in Paragraph
(f) of this Rule to serve as the broker-in-charge at its principal
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office and a broker to serve as broker-in-charge at any branch
office. No broker shall be broker-in-charge of more than one
office at a time. No office of a firm shall have more than one
designated broker-in-charge.

(c) If a firm shares office space with one or more other firms,
the same broker may serve as broker-in-charge of multiple firms
at that location. All firms at that location having the same
designated broker-in-charge shall maintain with the Commission
as a delivery address the same delivery address as that of the
single designated broker-in-charge.

(d) A licensed real estate firm is not required to have a broker-

in-charge if it:

(1) has been organized for the sole purpose of
receiving compensation for brokerage services
furnished by its qualifying broker through
another firm or broker;

2 is treated for tax purposes as a Subchapter S
corporation by the United States Internal
Revenue Service;

3 has no principal or branch office; and

4) has no licensed or unlicensed person
associated with it other than its qualifying
broker.

() A broker who is a sole proprietor shall obtain the

Commission's designation of himself or herself as a broker-in-
charge if the broker engages in any transaction where the broker
is required to deposit and maintain monies belonging to others in
a trust account, engages in advertising or promoting his or her
services as a broker in any manner, or has one or more other
brokers affiliated with him or her in the real estate business.
Maintenance of a trust or escrow account by a broker solely for
holding residential tenant security deposits received by the
broker on properties owned by the broker in compliance with
G.S. 42-50 shall not, standing alone, subject the broker to the
requirement to designate himself or herself as a broker-in-
charge.

(f) A broker desiring to be a broker-in-charge shall request in
writing his or her designation as broker-in-charge by the
Commission on a form provided by the Commission. The form
shall include the broker's name, license number, firm affiliation,
and a certification that he or she possesses the experience
described in Subparagraph (g)(2) of this Rule. Upon receipt of
notice from the Commission that the broker has been designated
as broker-in-charge, the broker shall assume the duties of
broker-in-charge.

(9) To qualify to become a broker-in-charge, a broker shall:

(1) have a license on active status but not on
provisional status;
(2) possess at least two years of full-time real

estate brokerage experience or equivalent four
years of part-time real estate brokerage
experience within the previous five years or
real estate education, such as the completion of
the North Carolina GRI program or other
education with a subject matter relating to
brokerage practice and the supervision of
brokers, or experience in real estate
transactions that the Commission finds
equivalent to such experience, such as a

licensed attorney with a practice that consisted
primarily of handling real estate closing and
related matters in North Carolina for three
years immediately preceding application or
full-time, lawful experience selling new homes
owned by a corporate homebuilder as a
bonafide employee of the corporate home
builder for three years immediately preceding
the application; and
complete the Commission's 12 classroom hour
broker-in-charge course either within three
years prior to designation as a broker-in-
charge or within 120 days following
designation as a broker-in-charge.
Upon the request of the Commission, a broker shall provide
evidence to the Commission that he or she possesses the
requisite experience. A broker-in-charge designation shall be
immediately terminated if a broker-in-charge fails to complete
the broker-in-charge course during the required time period or if
the Commission finds the broker-in-charge does not possess the
required experience. A broker who is removed as broker-in-
charge for failure to timely complete the Commission's 12 hour
broker-in-charge course must first complete the 12 hour broker-
in-charge course before he or she may again be designated as
broker-in-charge.
(h) By submission of a broker-in-charge designation request to
the Commission, a broker certifies that he or she possesses the
experience required to become a broker-in-charge and upon
designation by the Commission, the broker shall be authorized to
act as a broker-in-charge. Upon his or her designation as broker-
in-charge and completion of the broker-in-charge course within
the time period prescribed in Subparagraph (g)(3) of this Rule,
the designated broker-in-charge acquires the eligibility to be re-
designated as a broker-in-charge at any time in the future after a
period of not actively serving as a broker-in-charge without
having to again satisfy the qualification requirements for initial
designation stated in this Paragraph so long as the broker
continuously satisfies the requirements to retain such eligibility
described in Paragraph (k) of this Rule.
(i)  The broker-in-charge shall, in accordance with the
requirements of G.S. 93A and the rules adopted by the
Commission, assume the responsibility at his or her office for:
(8] the retention of current license renewal pocket
cards by all brokers employed at the office for
which he or she is broker-in-charge; the
display of licenses at such office in accordance
with Rule .0101 of this Section; and assuring
that each broker employed at the office has
complied with Rules .0503, .0504, and .0506
of this Subchapter;
the notification to the Commission of any
change of business address or trade name of
the firm and the registration of any assumed
business name adopted by the firm for its use;
the conduct of advertising by or in the name of
the firm at such office;
the maintenance at such office of the trust or
escrow account of the firm and the records
pertaining thereto;

®)

@

®)
(4)
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(5) the retention and maintenance of records
relating to transactions conducted by or on
behalf of the firm at such office, including
those required to be retained pursuant to Rule
.0108 of this Section;

(6) the supervision of provisional brokers
associated with or engaged on behalf of the
firm at such office in accordance with the
requirements of Rule .0506 of this Subchapter;

(7 the supervision of all brokers employed at the
office for which he or she is broker-in-charge
with respect to adherence to agency agreement
and disclosure requirements.

(J) A broker who was the broker-in-charge of a real estate office
on April 1, 2006, whose broker-in-charge declaration was
received by the Commission prior to that date, and who
completed the Commission's broker-in-charge course prior to
April 1, 2006 or within 120 days following designation as a
broker-in-charge, may continue to serve as a broker-in-charge
thereafter until his or her eligibility to serve as a broker-in-
charge is terminated as provided in Paragraph (1) of this Rule.

(k) Once a broker has been designated as a broker-in-charge and
completed the 12 hour broker-in-charge course as prescribed by
Paragraph (g) of this Rule, the broker may maintain broker-in-
charge eligibility by timely annual renewal of his or her broker
license and completion each license year of the four hour
mandatory continuing education update course for brokers-in-
charge known as the "Broker-In-Charge Update Course”
described in Rule 58E .0102(b), and any Commission-approved
four hour continuing education elective course described in Rule
58E .0305. The Broker-In-Charge Update Course shall be taken
initially by a broker-in-charge during the first full license year
following the license year in which the broker was designated as
a broker-in-charge and each license year thereafter in order for
the broker to maintain broker-in-charge eligibility. Enrollment in
the Broker-In-Charge Update Course shall be limited exclusively
to current brokers-in-charge, and brokers who are not currently
acting as a broker-in-charge but who desire to retain their
broker-in-charge eligibility. Only these brokers shall receive
continuing education credit for taking the Broker-In-Charge
Update Course. A broker-in-charge or broker who is broker-in-
charge eligible who takes the General Update Course described
in Rule .1702 of this Subchapter rather than the Broker-In-
Charge Update Course shall receive continuing education update
course credit for taking such course only for the purpose of
retaining his or her license on active status and shall not be
considered to have satisfied the requirement to take the Broker-
In-Charge Update Course in order to retain his or her broker-in-
charge status or eligibility.

() A broker's broker-in-charge eligibility and, if currently
designated as a broker-in-charge, his or her broker-in-charge
designation shall be terminated upon the occurrence of any of
the following events:

1) the broker's license expires or the broker's
license is suspended, revoked or surrendered;

(2) the broker's license is made inactive for any
reason;

3 the broker fails to complete the Broker-In-
Charge Update Course described in Paragraph
(k) of this Rule; or
4 the broker is found by the Commission to have

not possessed the experience required in

Paragraph (g) of this Rule at the time of either

initial designation as a broker-in-charge or re-

designation as a broker-in-charge.
(m) When a broker who is a former broker-in-charge desires to
be re-designated as a broker-in-charge following termination of
his or her broker-in-charge designation or eligibility, he or she
must first have a license on active status. The broker then must
satisfy the experience requirements for initial designation set
forth in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and the broker must complete
the 12 hour broker-in-charge course prior to re-designation as
broker-in charge.
(n) A broker-in-charge shall notify the Commission in writing
that he or she no longer is serving as broker-in-charge of a
particular office within 10 days following any such change.
(0) A non-resident broker who has been designated by the
Commission as the broker-in-charge of an office not located in
North Carolina is not required to complete the broker-in-charge
course or the Broker-In-Charge Update Course prescribed for
brokers-in-charge under Paragraph (k) of this Rule. However, if
such broker-in-charge either becomes a resident of North
Carolina or becomes broker-in-charge of an office located within
North Carolina, then he or she must take the 12 hour broker-in-
charge course within 120 days of such change, unless he or she
has taken the 12 hour course within the preceding three years.
Such broker-in-charge shall take the Broker-In-Charge Update
Course prescribed in Paragraph (k) of this Rule during the first
full license year following the change and each license year
thereafter so long as the broker-in-charge remains a resident of
North Carolina or continues to manage an office located in
North Carolina.
(p) A nonresident commercial real estate broker licensed under
the provisions of Section .1800 of this Subchapter shall not act
as or serve in the capacity of a broker-in-charge of a firm or
office in North Carolina.

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-
4.1; 93A-4.1(c)(8); 93A-4.1(e); 93A-4.2; 93A-9; 93A-9(a);

Eff. September 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; July 1,
2009; January 1, 2008; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1,
2004; April 1, 2004; September 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; October
1, 2000; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; July 1, 1995; July 1,
1994,

21 NCAC 58A .0112
CONTRACTS
(a) A broker acting as an agent in a real estate transaction shall
not use a preprinted offer or sales contract form unless the form
describes or specifically requires the entry of the following
information:
(D) the names of the buyer and seller;
2 a legal description of the real property
sufficient to identify and distinguish it from all
other property;

OFFERS AND SALES
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3)

(4)
(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

©)

(10)

(11)
(12)
(13)
(14)

an itemization of any personal property to be
included in the transaction;

the purchase price and manner of payment;
any portion of the purchase price that will be
paid by a promissory note, including the
amount, interest rate, payment terms, whether
or not the note is to be secured, and any other
terms contained in the promissory note
deemed material by the parties;

any portion of the purchase price that is to be
paid by the assumption of an existing loan,
including the amount of such loan, costs to be
paid by the buyer or seller, the interest rate and
number of discount points and a condition that
the buyer must be able to qualify for the
assumption of the loan and must make every
reasonable effort to quality for the assumption
of the loan;

the amount of earnest money, if any, the
method of payment, the name of the broker or
firm that will serve as escrow agent, an
acknowledgment of earnest money receipt by
the escrow agent, and the criteria for
determining disposition of the earnest money,
including disputed earnest money, consistent
with  Commission Rule .0116 of this
Subchapter;

any loan that must be obtained by the buyer as
a condition of the contract, including the
amount and type of loan, interest rate and
number of discount points, loan term, and who
shall pay loan closing costs, and a condition
that the buyer shall make every reasonable
effort to obtain the loan;

a general statement of the buyer's intended use
of the property and a condition that such use
must not be prohibited by private restriction or
governmental regulation;

the amount and purpose of any special
assessment to which the property is subject
and the responsibility of the parties for any
unpaid charges;

the date for closing and transfer of possession;
the signatures of the buyer and seller;

the date of offer and acceptance;

a provision that title to the property must be
delivered at closing by general warranty deed
and must be fee simple marketable title, free of
all encumbrances except ad valorem taxes for
the current year, utility easements, and any

other encumbrances specifically approved by
the buyer or a provision otherwise describing
the estate to be conveyed with encumbrances,
and the form of conveyance;

the items to be prorated or adjusted at closing;
who shall pay closing expenses;

the buyer's right to inspect the property prior to
closing and who shall pay for repairs and
improvements, if any;

a provision that the property shall at closing be
in substantially the same condition as on the
date of the offer (reasonable wear and tear
excepted), or a description of the required
property condition at closing;

a provision setting forth the identity of each
real estate agent and firm involved in the
transaction and disclosing the party each agent
and firm represents; and

any other provisions or disclosures required by
statute or rule.

(b) A broker acting as an agent in a real estate transaction shall
not use a preprinted offer or sales contract form containing:

(15)
(16)
17

(18)

(19)

(20)

1) any provision concerning the payment of a
commission or compensation, including the
forfeiture of earnest money, to any broker or
firm; or

2 any provision that attempts to disclaim the
liability of a broker for his or her
representations in  connection with the

transaction.

A broker or anyone acting for or at the direction of the broker
shall not insert or cause such provisions or terms to be inserted
into any such preprinted form, even at the direction of the parties
or their attorneys.

(c) The provisions of this Rule shall apply only to preprinted
offer and sales contract forms which a broker acting as an agent
in a real estate transaction proposes for use by the buyer and
seller. Nothing contained in this Rule shall be construed to
prohibit the buyer and seller in a real estate transaction from
altering, amending or deleting any provision in a form offer to
purchase or contract nor shall this Rule be construed to limit the
rights of the buyer and seller to draft their own offers or
contracts or to have the same drafted by an attorney at law.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1988;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; April 1,
2006; October 1, 2000; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1989; February 1,
1989.

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c);
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21 NCAC 58A .0114 RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY AND OWNERS' ASSOCIATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

(a) Every owner of real property subject to a transfer of the type governed by Chapter 47E of the General Statutes shall complete the
following Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement and furnish a copy of the complete statement to a
purchaser in accordance with the requirements of G.S. 47E-4. The form shall bear the seal of the North Carolina Real Estate
Commission and shall read as follows:

[N.C. REAL ESTATE COMMISSION SEAL]

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY AND OWNERS' ASSOCIATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Instructions to Property Owners

The Residential Property Disclosure Act (G.S. 47E) ("Disclosure Act") requires owners of residential real estate (single-
family homes, individual condominiums, townhouses, and the like, and buildings with up to four dwelling units) to furnish
purchasers a Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement ("Disclosure Statement™). This form is the
only one approved for this purpose. A disclosure statement must be furnished in connection with the sale, exchange, option,
and sale under a lease with option to purchase where the tenant does not occupy or intend to occupy the dwelling. A
disclosure statement is not required for some transactions, including the first sale of a dwelling which has never been
inhabited and transactions of residential property made pursuant to a lease with option to purchase where the lessee occupies
or intends to occupy the dwelling. For a complete list of exemptions, see G.S. 47E-2.

You must respond to each of the questions on the following pages of this form by filling in the requested information or by
placing a check (V) in the appropriate box. In responding to questions, you are only obligated to disclose information about
which you have actual knowledge.

If you check "Yes" for any question, you must explain your answer and either describe any problem or attach a report from
an attorney, engineer, contractor, pest control operator or other expert or public agency describing it. If you attach a report,
you will not be liable for any inaccurate or incomplete information contained in it so long as you were not grossly negligent
in obtaining or transmitting the information.

If you check "No," you are stating that you have no actual knowledge of any problem. If you check "No" and you know there
is a problem, you may be liable for making an intentional misstatement.

If you check "No Representation,” you are choosing not to disclose the conditions or characteristics of the property, even if
you have actual knowledge of them or should have known of them.

If you check "Yes" or "No" and something happens to the property to make your Disclosure Statement incorrect or inaccurate
(for example, the roof begins to leak), you must promptly give the purchaser a corrected Disclosure Statement or correct the
problem.

If you are assisted in the sale of your property by a licensed real estate broker, you are still responsible for completing and
delivering the Disclosure Statement to the purchasers; and the broker must disclose any material facts about your property
which he or she knows or reasonably should know, regardless of your responses on the Statement.

You must give the completed Disclosure Statement to the purchaser no later than the time the purchaser makes an offer to
purchase your property. If you do not, the purchaser can, under certain conditions, cancel any resulting contract (See ""Note
to Purchasers' below). You should give the purchaser a copy of the Disclosure Statement containing your signature and
keep a copy signed by the purchaser for your records.

If the owner does not give you a Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement by the
time you make your offer to purchase the property, you may under certain conditions cancel any resulting
contract without penalty to you as the purchaser. To cancel the contract, you must personally deliver or mail
written notice of your decision to cancel to the owner or the owner's agent within three calendar days
following your receipt of the Disclosure Statement, or three calendar days following the date of the contract,
whichever occurs first. However, in no event does the Disclosure Act permit you to cancel a contract after

Note to Purchasers
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settlement of the transaction or (in the case of a sale or exchange) after you have occupied the property,
whichever occurs first.

5. In the space below, type or print in ink the address of the property (sufficient to identify it) and your name. Then sign and
date.

Property Address:
Owner's Name(s):
Owner(s) acknowledge(s) having examined this Disclosure Statement before signing and that all
information is true and correct as of the date signed.

Owner Signature: Date ,

Owner Signature: Date ,
Purchasers acknowledge receipt of a copy of this Disclosure Statement; that they have examined it before
signing; that they understand that this is not a warranty by owners or owners' agents; that it is not a
substitute for any inspections they may wish to obtain; and that the representations are made by the owners
and not the owners' agents or subagents. Purchasers are strongly encouraged to obtain their own
inspections from a licensed home inspector or other professional. As used herein, words in the plural
include the singular, as appropriate.

Purchaser Signature: Date ,
Purchaser Signature: Date ,

Property Address/Description:

The following questions address the characteristics and condition of the property identified above about which the owner has
actual knowledge. Where the question refers to "dwelling," it is intended to refer to the dwelling unit, or units if more than
one, to be conveyed with the property. The term "dwelling unit" refers to any structure intended for human habitation.

No Repre-
Yes No sentation

1. Inwhat year was the dwelling constructed? m]
Explain if necessary:

2. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's foundation, slab,
fireplaces/chimneys, floors, windows (including storm windows and screens), doors,
ceilings, interior and exterior walls, attached garage, patio, deck or other structural o i a
components including any modifications to them?

3. The dwelling's exterior walls are made of what type of material? o Brick Veneer o Wood |
o Stone O Vinyl o Synthetic Stucco o Composition/Hardboard o Concrete o Fiber
Cement 0 Aluminum o Asbestos O Other
(Check all that apply)

4. In what year was the dwelling's roof covering installed? m]
(Approximate if no records are available.) Explain if  necessary:

5. Is there any leakage or other problem with the dwelling's roof? a i a

6. Is there any water seepage, leakage, dampness or standing water in the dwelling's
basement, crawl space, or slab? a i |

7. s there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's electrical system (outlets,
wiring, panel, switches, fixtures, generator, etc.)? o i |

8. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's plumbing system (pipes,
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fixtures, water heater, etc.)? o o
9. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's heating and/or air

conditioning? o o
10. What is the dwelling's heat source? o Furnace o Heat Pump o Baseboard

o Other (Check all that apply)

Age of system:
11. What is the dwelling's cooling source? o Central Forced Air o Wall/Window Unit(s)

o Other (Check all that apply)

Age of system:
12. What is the dwelling's fuel sources? o Electricity o Natural Gas o Propane o Oil

o Other (Check all that apply)

If the fuel source is stored in a tank, identify whether the tank is O above ground or O

below ground, and whether the tank is O leased by seller or 0 owned by seller.

(Check all that apply)
13. What is the dwelling's water supply source? o City/County 0 Community System

o Private Well o Shared Well o Other

(Check all that apply)
14. The dwelling's water pipes are made of what type of material? o Copper o Galvanized

o Plastic o Polybutylene o Other

(Check all that apply)
15. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's water supply (including

water quality, quantity or water pressure)? o i
16. What is the dwelling's sewage disposal system? O Septic Tank o0 Septic Tank with Pump

0 Community System 0 Connected to City/County System o0 City/County System

available

o Straight pipe (wastewater does not go into a septic or other sewer system [note: use of

this type of system violates State law]) o Other

(Check all that apply)
17. If the dwelling is serviced by a septic system, do you know how many bedrooms are

allowed by the septic system permit? If your answer is "Yes," how many bedrooms are O i

allowed? 0 No records available.
18. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's sewer and/or septic o i

system?
19. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's central vacuum, pool, hot

tub, spa, attic fan, exhaust fan, ceiling fans, sump pump, irrigation system, TV cable

wiring or satellite dish, garage door openers, gas logs, or other systems? o i
20. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with any appliances that may be included in

the conveyance (range/oven, attached microwave, hood/fan, dishwasher, disposal, etc.)? o i
21. Is there any problem with present infestation of the dwelling, or damage from past

infestation of wood destroying insects or organisms which has not been repaired? o i
22. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the drainage, grading or soil stability of

the property? a o
23. Are there any structural additions or other structural or mechanical changes to the

dwelling(s) to be conveyed with the property? o o
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24. Is the property to be conveyed in violation of any local zoning ordinances, restrictive
covenants, or other land-use restrictions, or building codes (including the failure to obtain
proper permits for room additions or other changes/improvements)? o o o

25. Are there any hazardous or toxic substances, materials, or products (such as asbestos,
formaldehyde, radon gas, methane gas, lead-based paint) which exceed government safety
standards, any debris (whether buried or covered) or underground storage tanks, or any
environmentally hazardous conditions (such as contaminated soil or water, or other
environmental contamination) which affect the property? o mi i

26. Is there any noise, odor, smoke, etc. from commercial, industrial or military sources which
affects the property? | o o

27. 1s the property subject to any utility or other easements, shared driveways, party walls or
encroachments from or on adjacent property? o o o

28. Is the property subject to any lawsuits, foreclosures, bankruptcy, leases or rental
agreements, judgments, tax liens, proposed assessments, mechanics' liens, materialmens'
liens, or notices from any governmental agency that could affect title to the property? o i ]

29. Is the property subject to a flood hazard or is the property located in a federally-designated
flood hazard area? o i |

30. Does the property abut or adjoin any private road(s) or street(s)? o i o
31. If there is a private road or street adjoining the property, is there in existence any owners'

association or maintenance agreements dealing with the maintenance of the road or street? o i ]

If you answered *"yes™ to any of the questions listed above (1-31) please explain (attach additional sheets if necessary):

In lieu of providing a written explanation, you may attach a written report to this Disclosure Statement by a public agency, or by an
attorney, engineer, land surveyor, geologist, pest control operator, contractor, home inspector, or other expert, dealing with matters
within the scope of that public agency's functions or the expert's license or expertise.

The following questions pertain to the property identified above, including the lot to be conveyed and any dwelling unit(s),
sheds, detached garages, or other buildings located thereon.

No Repre-
Yes No sentation

32. To your knowledge, is the property subject to regulation by one or more owners'
association(s) or governing documents which impose various mandatory covenants,
conditions, and restrictions upon the lot, including, but not limited to obligations to pay
regular assessment or dues and special assessments? If your answer is "yes," please 0O i a
provide the information requested below as to each owners' association to which the
property is subject [insert N/A into any blank that does not apply]:

(specify name) whose regular
assessments ("dues") are $ per . The name, address
and telephone number of the president of the owners' association or the association
manager are
(specify name) whose regular
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assessments ("dues") are $ per . The name, address
and telephone number of the president of the owners' association or the association
manager are

* If you answered "Yes'" to question 32 above, you must complete the remainder of this Disclosure Statement. If you
answered ""No" or ""No Representation' to question 32 above, you do not need to answer the remaining questions on this
Disclosure Statement. Skip to the bottom of the last page and initial and date the page.

No Repre-
Yes No sentation

33. Are any fees charged by the association or by the association's management company in
connection with the conveyance or transfer of the lot or property to a new owner? If o o o
your answer is  "yes," please state the amount of the fees:

34. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any dues, fees or special
assessment which have been duly approved as required by the applicable declaration or

by-laws, and that are payable to an association to which the lot is subject? If your o i o
answer is "yes," please state the nature and amount of the dues, fees or special
assessments to which the property is subject:

35. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any unsatisfied judgments
against or pending lawsuits involving the property or lot to be conveyed? If your answer O i ]
is "yes," please state the nature of each pending lawsuit and the amount of each
unsatisfied judgment:

36. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any unsatisfied judgments
against or pending lawsuits involving the planned community or the association to which
the property and lot are subject, with the exception of any action filed by the association
for the collection of delinquent assessments on lots other than the property and lot to be
conveyed? If your answer is "yes," please state the nature of each pending lawsuit and o i m]
the amount of each unsatisfied judgment:

37. Which of the following services and amenities are paid for by the owners' association(s) identified above out of the association's
regular assessments ("dues”)? (Check all that apply.)

No Repre-
Yes No sentation
Management Fees i mi i
Exterior Building Maintenance of Property to be Conveyed a i a
Exterior Yard/Landscaping Maintenance of Lot to be Conveyed o o o
Common Areas Maintenance o o o
Trash Removal ] m] |
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Recreational Amenity Maintenance (specify amenities covered) o o o
Pest Treatment/Extermination o o o
Street Lights o o o
Water O ] O
Sewer O ] O
Storm Water Management/Drainage/Ponds o o o
Internet Service O O O
Cable o o o
Private Road Maintenance o mi o
Parking Area Maintenance o mi o
Gate and/or Security | o |
Other: (specify) | o |

Owner Initials and Date Owner Initials and Date

Purchaser Initials and Date Purchaser Initials and Date

(b) The form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be reproduced, but the text of the form shall not be altered or amended in
any way.

(c) The form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule as amended effective July 1, 2014 applies to all properties placed on the market
on or after July 1, 2014. The form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule as amended effective January 1, 2013, applies to all
properties placed on the market prior to July 1, 2014. If a corrected disclosure statement required by G.S. 47E-7 is prepared on or
after July 1, 2014, for a property placed on the market prior to July 1, 2014, the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule as

amended effective July 1, 2014, shall be used.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 47E-4(b); 47E-4(b1); 93A-3(c); 93A-6;

Eff. October 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2006; September

1, 2002; July 1, 2000.

21 NCAC 58A .0117 ACCOUNTING FOR TRUST
MONEY

(@) A broker shall create, maintain and retain records sufficient
to identify the ownership of all funds belonging to others. Such
records shall be sufficient to show proper deposit and
disbursement of such funds into and from a trust or escrow
account and to verify the accuracy and proper use of the trust or
escrow account.

(b) A trust or escrow account shall satisfy the requirements of
G.S. 93A-6(g) and shall be designated as a "Trust Account" or
"Escrow Account." All bank statements, deposit tickets and
checks drawn on said account shall bear the words "Trust
Account" or "Escrow Account." A trust account shall provide
for the full withdrawal of funds on demand without prior notice
and without penalty or deduction to the funds.

(c) A broker shall create, maintain or retain, as required by Rule
.0108 of this Section, the following records:

1) bank statements;

2 canceled checks and other evidence or
memoranda of payments from the trust or
escrow account, whether by transfer between
accounts, wire payments, or payments by
electronic means, that shall be referenced to
the corresponding journal entry or check stub
entries and to the corresponding sales

transaction ledgers or for rental transactions,
the corresponding property or owner ledgers.
Checks and other evidence or memoranda of
payments from the account shall identify the
payee by name and shall bear a notation
identifying the purpose of the disbursement.
When a payment is used to disburse funds for
more than one sales transaction, owner, or
property, the check or other evidence or
memoranda of payment shall bear a notation
identifying each sales transaction, owner, or
property for which disbursement is made,
including the amount disbursed for each, and
the corresponding sales transaction, property,
or owner ledger entries. When necessary, the
check notation may refer to the required
information recorded on a supplemental
disbursement worksheet that shall be cross-
referenced to the corresponding check or
payment. In lieu of retaining canceled checks,
a broker may retain digitally imaged copies of
the canceled checks or substitute checks
provided that such images are legible
reproductions of the front and back of such
instruments with no smaller images than
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3)

1.1875 x 3.0 inches and provided that the
broker's bank retains for a period of at least
five years the original checks, "substitute
checks" as described in 12 C.F.R. 229.51 or
the capacity to provide substitute checks as
described in 12 C.F.R. 229.51 and makes the
original or substitute checks available to the
broker and the Commission upon request. The
description of "substitute checks" contained in

12 C.F.R. 22951 is incorporated by

referencing, including subsequent amendments

and additions. The regulation may be accessed
at www.gpo.gov at no charge.

deposit tickets or other evidence or

memoranda of deposits or payments into the

account, whether by transfer between
accounts, wire payments, or payments by
electronic means:

(A) for a sales transaction, the deposit
ticket or other evidence or
memoranda of deposits or payments
into the account shall identify the
purpose and remitter of the funds
deposited, the property, the parties
involved, and a reference to the
corresponding  sales  transaction

ledger;
(B) for a rental transaction, the deposit
ticket or other evidence or

memoranda of deposits or payments
into the account shall identify the
purpose and remitter of the funds
deposited, the tenant, and the
corresponding property or owner
ledger;

© for deposits of funds belonging to or
collected on behalf of a property
owner association, the deposit ticket
or other evidence or memoranda of
deposits or payments into the account
shall identify the property or property
interest for which the payment is
made, the property or interest owner,
the remitter, and the purpose of the
payment;

(D) when a single deposit ticket or
payment is used to deposit funds
collected for more than one sales
transaction, property owner, or
property, the required information
may either be recorded on the ticket
or other evidence or memoranda of
deposits or payments into the account
for each sales transaction, owner, or
property, or it may refer to the same
information recorded on a
supplemental deposit worksheet that
shall be cross-referenced to the
corresponding deposit ticket;

(4)

a separate ledger for each sales transaction, for

each property or owner of property managed

by the broker and for company funds held in
the trust account:

(A) the ledger for a sales transaction shall
identify the property, the parties to
the transaction, the amount, date, and
purpose of the deposits and from
whom received, the amount, date,
check number, and purpose of
disbursements and to whom paid, and
the running balance of funds on
deposit for each deposit and
disbursement entry;

(B) the ledger for a rental transaction
shall identify the particular property
or owner of property, the tenant, the
amount, date, and purpose of the
deposits and from whom received, the
amount, date, check number, and
purpose of disbursements and to
whom paid, and the running balance
of funds on deposit for each deposit
and disbursement entry. Monies held
as tenant security deposits in
connection with rental transactions
may be accounted for on a separate
tenant security deposit ledger for each
property or owner of property
managed by the broker. For each
security deposit, the tenant security
deposit ledger shall identify the
remitter, the date the deposit was
paid, the amount, the tenant, landlord,
and subject property as well as the
check number, amount, date, payee,
purpose and a running balance for
each disbursement. ~ When tenant
security deposit monies are accounted
for on a separate ledger as provided in
this Rule, deposit tickets, canceled
checks and supplemental worksheets
shall reference the corresponding
tenant security deposit ledger entries;

© a broker may maintain a maximum of
one hundred dollars ($100.00) in
company funds in a trust account for
the purpose of paying service charges
incurred by the account. In the event
that the services charges exceed one
hundred dollars ($100.00) monthly,
the broker may deposit an amount
each month sufficient to cover the
service charges. A broker shall
maintain a separate ledger for
company funds held in the trust
account identifying the date, amount
and running balance for each deposit
and disbursement;
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(5) a general journal, check register or check stubs
identifying in chronological order each bank
deposit and disbursement of monies to and
from the trust or escrow account, including the
amount and date of each deposit and a
reference to the corresponding deposit ticket
and any supplemental deposit worksheet, and
the amount, date, check number, and purpose
of disbursements and to whom paid. The
journal or check stubs shall also show a
running balance for each entry into the
account;

(6) a payment record for each property or interest
for which funds are collected and deposited
into a property owner association trust account
as required by Rule .0118 of this Section.
Payment record(s) shall identify the amount,
date, remitter, and purpose of payments
received, the amount and nature of the
obligation for which payments are made, and
the amount of any balance due or delinquency;

@) copies of earnest money checks, due diligence
fee checks, receipts for cash payments,
contracts, and closing statements in sales
transactions;

(8) copies of leases, security deposit checks,
property management agreements, property
management statements, and receipts for cash
payments in leasing transactions;

9 copies of covenants, bylaws, minutes,
management  agreements and  periodic
statements relating to the management of
property owner associations;

(10) copies of invoices, bills, and contracts paid
from the trust account; and

(112) copies of any documents not otherwise
described in this Rule that are necessary to
verify and explain record entries.

(d) Records of all receipts and disbursements of trust or escrow
monies shall be maintained in such a manner as to create an
audit trail from deposit tickets and canceled checks to check
stubs or journals and to the ledger sheets.

(e) Brokers shall reconcile their trust or escrow accounts
monthly. The trust account reconciliation shall be performed in
the following manner as of a specific cutoff date selected by the
broker:

1) a trial balance shall be prepared showing a list
of the property or owner ledgers, their
balances, and the total of all of the property or
owner ledger balances as of the cutoff date;

2 a bank statement shall be reconciled by
deducting from the statement's ending balance
the amount of any outstanding checks and then
adding to the balance the amount of any
deposits-in-transit as of the cutoff date; and

3) the trial balance, reconciled bank statement
balance, and the journal balance shall be
compared as of the cutoff date. If the amounts
on the trial balance, journal balance and

reconciled bank balance do not agree, the
broker shall investigate the reason for any
variation between the balances and make the
necessary corrections to bring the balances
into agreement.
A broker shall maintain and retain a worksheet for each monthly
trust account reconciliation showing the balance of the journal or
check stubs, the trial balance and the reconciled bank statement
balance to be in agreement as of the cutoff date.
(f) In addition to the records required by Paragraph (c) of this
Rule, a broker acting as agent for the landlord of a residential
property used for vacation rentals shall create and maintain
either a subsidiary ledger sheet for each property or owner of
such properties on which all funds collected and disbursed are
identified in categories by purpose or an accounts payable ledger
for each owner or property and each vendor to whom trust
monies are due. If a broker maintains a subsidiary ledger, the
broker shall reconcile the subsidiary ledgers to the
corresponding property or property owner ledger on a monthly
basis. If a broker maintains an accounts payable ledger, the
broker shall record on the ledger monies collected on behalf of
the owner or property identifying the date of receipt of the trust
monies, from whom the monies were received, rental dates, and
the corresponding property or owner ledger entry including the
amount to be disbursed for each and the purpose of the
disbursement. The broker may also maintain an accounts
payable ledger in the format described above for vacation rental
tenant security deposit monies and vacation rental advance
payments.
() Upon the written request of a client, a broker shall, no later
than ten days after receipt of the request, furnish the client with
copies of any records retained as required by Rule .0108 of this
Section that pertain to the transaction to which the client was a
party.
(h) All trust or escrow account records shall be made available
for inspection by the Commission or its authorized
representatives in accordance with Rule .0108 of this Section.

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-6;
Eff. April 1, 2013;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

21 NCAC 58A .0118 TRUST MONEY BELONGING
TO PROPERTY OWNERS' ASSOCIATIONS

(&) The funds of a property owners' association, when collected,
maintained, disbursed or otherwise controlled by a broker, are
trust money and shall be treated as such in the manner required
by Rules .0116 and .0117 of this Section. Such trust money shall
be deposited into and maintained in a trust or escrow account
dedicated exclusively for trust money belonging to a single
property owners' association and shall not be commingled with
funds belonging to other property owners' associations or other
persons or parties. A broker who undertakes to act as manager
of a property owners' association or as the custodian of trust
money belonging to a property owners' association shall provide
the association with periodic statements that report the balance
of association trust money in the broker's possession or control
and account for the trust money the broker has received and
disbursed on behalf of the association. Such statements must be
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made in accordance with the broker's agreement with the
association, but not less frequently than every 90 days.

(b) A broker who receives trust money belonging to a property
owners' association in his or her capacity as an officer of the
association in a residential development in which the broker is a
property owner and for which the broker receives no
compensation is exempt from the requirements of Rules .0116
and .0117 of this Section. However, the broker shall not convert
trust money belonging to the association to his or her own use,
apply such money or property to a purpose other than that for
which it was intended or permit or assist any other person in the
conversion or misapplication of such money or property.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-6;
Eff. April 1, 2013;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

21 NCAC 58A .0404
CONDUCT
(a) When taking a license examination, an applicant shall not:

(1) cheat or attempt to cheat on the examination
by any means, including giving or receiving
assistance or using notes of any type;

(2) communicate with any person other than an
examination supervisor for any purpose in any
manner;

3 have in his or her possession or utilize in any
manner study materials or notes or any device
that may be used to:

(A) communicate with others;

(B) access information; or

© record or store photographs, visual
images, audio or other information
about the examination;

4) have in his or her possession or utilize a
calculator that:

(A) permits the storage, entry or retrieval
of alphabetic characters; or

(B) is not silent, hand-held and either
battery-powered or solar-powered;

(5) have in his or her possession a wallet,
pocketbook, bag or similar item that can be
used to store materials prohibited by this Rule;

(6) refuse to demonstrate to the examination
supervisor that pockets on any item of clothing
do not contain materials prohibited by this
Rule;

@) leave or attempt to leave the testing area with
any materials provided for the purpose of
taking the examination or with any
information, notes or other information about
the content of the examination; or

(8) refuse to comply with the instructions of the
Commission and the Commission's test
provider for taking the examination; or

9) disrupt in any manner the administration of the
examination.

(b) Violation of this Rule shall result in dismissal from an
examination, invalidation of examination scores, forfeiture of

EXAMINATION RELATED

examination and application fees and denial of a real estate
license, as well as for disciplinary action if the applicant has
been issued a license.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93A-4(d);
Eff. December 1, 1985;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2000.

21 NCAC 58A .0502 BUSINESS ENTITIES

(a) Every business entity other than a sole proprietorship shall
apply for and obtain from the Commission a firm license prior to
engaging in business as a real estate broker. An entity that
changes its business form other than by conversion shall submit
a new license application upon making the change and obtain a
new firm license. An entity which converts to a different
business entity in conformity with and pursuant to applicable
North Carolina General Statutes is not required to apply for a
new license. However, such converted entity shall provide the
information required by this Paragraph in writing to the
Commission within 10 days of the conversion and shall include
the duplicate license fee prescribed in Rule .0509 of this Section
to have the firm license reissued in the legal name of the
converted entity. Incomplete applications shall not be acted upon
by the Commission.  Application forms for partnerships,
corporations, limited liability companies, associations and other
business entities required to be licensed as brokers shall be
available on the Commission's website at www.ncrec.gov or
upon request to the Commission and shall require the applicant
to set forth:

(8] the name of the entity;

2 the name under which the entity will do
business;

3 the type of business entity;

4 the address of its principal office;

5) the entity's NC Secretary of State
Identification Number if it is required to be
registered with the Office of the NC Secretary
of State;

(6) the name, real estate license number and
signature of the proposed qualifying broker for
the proposed firm;

@) the address of and name of the proposed
broker-in-charge for each office as defined in
Rule .0110(a) of this Subchapter, along with a
completed broker-in-charge declaration form
for each proposed broker-in-charge;

8) any past criminal conviction of and any
pending criminal charge against any principal
in the company or any proposed broker-in-

charge;
©)] any past revocation, suspension or denial of a
business or professional license of any

principal in the company or any proposed
broker-in-charge;

(10) if a general partnership, a full description of
the applicant entity, including a copy of its
written partnership agreement or if no written
agreement exists, a written description of the
rights and duties of the several partners;
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(11) if a business entity other than a corporation,
limited liability company or partnership, a
description of the organization of the applicant
entity, including a copy of its organizational
documents evidencing its authority to engage
in real estate brokerage;

(12) if a foreign business entity, a certificate of
authority to transact business in North
Carolina and an executed consent to service of
process and pleadings; and

(13) any other information required by this Rule.

When the authority of a business entity to engage in the real
estate business is unclear in the application or in law, the
Commission shall require the applicant to declare in the license
application that the applicant's organizational documents
authorize the firm to engage in the real estate business and to
submit organizational documents, addresses of affiliated persons
and similar information. For purposes of this Rule, the term
"principal,” when it refers to a person or entity, means any
person or entity owning 10 percent or more of the business
entity, or who is an officer, director, manager, member, partner
or who holds any other comparable position.

(b) After filing a written application with the Commission and
upon a showing to the Commission that one principal of the
business entity holds a broker license on active status and in
good standing who will serve as qualifying broker of the entity,
the entity shall be licensed provided it appears to the
Commission that the applicant entity employs and is directed by
personnel possessed of the requisite character and fitness
required of applicants for a broker license by G.S. 93A-4(b). The
qualifying broker of a partnership of any kind must be a general
partner of the partnership; the qualifying broker of a limited
liability company must be a manager of the company; and the
qualifying broker of a corporation must be an officer of the
corporation. A licensed business entity may serve as the
qualifying broker of another licensed business entity if the
qualifying broker-entity has as its qualifying broker a natural
person who is licensed as a broker. The natural person who is
qualifying broker shall assure to the Commission the
performance of the qualifying broker's duties with regard to both
entities. A provisional broker may not serve as a qualifying
broker.

(c) The licensing of a business entity shall not be construed to
extend to the licensing of its partners, managers, members,
directors, officers, employees or other persons acting for the
entity in their individual capacities regardless of whether they
are engaged in furthering the business of the licensed entity.

(d) The qualifying broker of a business entity shall assume
responsibility for:

1) designating and assuring that there is at all
times a broker-in-charge for each office and
branch office of the entity as "office"” and
"branch office" are defined in Rule .0110(a) of
this Subchapter;

2 renewing the real estate broker license of the
entity;
3) retaining the firm's renewal pocket card at the

firm and producing it as proof of firm
licensure upon request and maintaining a

photocopy of the firm license certificate and
pocket card at each branch office thereof;

(@) notifying the Commission of any change of
business address or trade name of the entity
and the registration of any assumed business
name adopted by the entity for its use;

(5) notifying the Commission in writing of any
change of his or her status as qualifying broker
within ten days following the change;

(6) securing and preserving the transaction and
trust account records of the firm whenever
there is a change of broker-in-charge at the
firm or any office thereof and notifying the
Commission if the trust account records are
out of balance or have not been reconciled as
required by Rule .0117 of this Subchapter;

@) retaining and preserving the transaction and
trust account records of the firm upon
termination of his or her status as qualifying
broker until a new qualifying broker has been
designated with the Commission or, if no new
qualifying broker is designated, for the period
of time records are required to be retained by
Rule .0108 of this Subchapter; and

8) notifying the Commission if, upon the
termination of his or her status as qualifying
broker, the firm's transaction and trust account
records cannot be retained or preserved or if
the trust account records are out of balance or
have not been reconciled as required by Rule
.0117 of this Subchapter.

(e) Every licensed business entity and every entity applying for
licensure shall conform to all the requirements imposed upon it
by the North Carolina General Statutes for its continued
existence and authority to do business in North Carolina. Failure
to conform to such requirements shall be grounds for
disciplinary action or denial of the entity's application for
licensure. Upon receipt of notice from an entity or agency of
this State that a licensed entity has ceased to exist or that its
authority to engage in business in this State has been terminated
by operation of law, the Commission shall cancel the license of
the entity.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 55-11A-04; 93A-3(c); 93A-
4(a); 93A-4(b); 93A-4(d);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2008; April
1, 2006; July 1, 2005; April 1, 2004; July 1, 2003; October 1,
2000; August 1, 1998; January 1, 1997; July 1, 1994; May 1,
1990.

21 NCAC 58A .0503 LICENSE RENEWAL; PENALTY
FOR OPERATING WHILE LICENSE EXPIRED

(a) All real estate licenses issued by the Commission under G.S.
93A, Article 1 shall expire on the 30th day of June following
issuance. Any broker desiring renewal of his or her license shall
apply for renewal within 45 days prior to license expiration by
submitting an electronic renewal application on the
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Commission's website at www.ncrec.gov and submitting with
the electronic application the required renewal fee of forty-five
dollars ($45.00). A broker who does not have the ability to
renew online may renew by calling the Commission's office
during normal business hours posted on the Commission's
website. Every individual broker shall provide on his or her
renewal application an email address to be used by the
Commission to communicate with the broker. The email
address may be designated by the broker as private in order to be
exempt from public records disclosures pursuant to G.S. 93A-
4(b2). A broker who does not have an email address shall so
state on the renewal application. A broker is not required to
obtain an email address to comply with this Rule.

(b) Any person desiring to renew his or her license on active
status shall, upon the second renewal of such license following
initial licensure, and upon each subsequent renewal, have
obtained all continuing education required by G.S. 93A-4.1 and
Rule .1702 of this Subchapter.

(c) A person renewing a license on inactive status shall not be
required to have obtained any continuing education in order to
renew such license; however, in order to change his or her
license from inactive status to active status, the broker must
satisfy the continuing education requirement prescribed in Rule
.1703 or .1711 of this Subchapter.

(d) Any person or firm that engages in the business of a real
estate broker while his, her, or its license is expired shall be
subject to the penalties prescribed in G.S. 93A-6.

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(b2); 93A-4(c);
93A-4(d); 93A-4.1; 93A-4.1(a); 93A-4.1(c)(8); 93A-6;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; February 1, 1991; February 1,
1989;

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 24, 1995 for a period of 180
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is
sooner;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; April 1, 2013; April 1, 2006;
January 1, 2006; July 1, 2004; December 4, 2002; April 1,
1997; July 1, 1996; August 1, 1995.

21 NCAC 58A .1702
REQUIREMENT

(@) Except as provided in Rules.1708 and .1711 of this Section,
in order to renew a broker license on active status, the person
requesting renewal of a license shall, upon the second renewal of
such license following initial licensure, and upon each
subsequent annual renewal, have completed, within one year
preceding license expiration, eight classroom hours of real estate
continuing education in courses approved by the Commission as
provided in Subchapter 58E. Four of the required eight
classroom hours must be obtained each license period by
completing a mandatory update course developed annually by
the Commission and known as the "General Update Course," the
subject matter of which is described in Rule 58E .0102, except
that a broker-in-charge or broker who is broker-in-charge
eligible shall complete the "Broker-In-Charge Update Course" in
lieu of the "General Update Course" as set forth in Rule .0110 of
this Subchapter. The remaining four hours shall be obtained by

CONTINUING EDUCATION

completing one or more Commission-approved elective courses
described in Rule .0305 of Subchapter 58E. The broker shall
provide upon request of the Commission, evidence of continuing
education course completion.

(b) No continuing education shall be required to renew a broker
license on inactive status. In order to change a license from
inactive status to active status, the broker must satisfy the
continuing education requirement described in Rule .1703 of this
Section.

(¢) No continuing education shall be required for a broker who
is a member of the U.S. Congress or the North Carolina General
Assembly in order to renew his or her license on active status.
(d) The terms "active status" and "inactive status" are defined in
Rule .0504 of this Subchapter. For continuing education
purposes, the term "initial licensure” shall include the first time
that a license of a particular type is issued to a person, the
reinstatement of a canceled, revoked or surrendered license, and
any license expired for more than six months.

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-
4.1(c)(7); 93A-4.1(c)(8);

Eff. July 1, 1994;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; April 1,
2004; October 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; July 1, 1996.

93A-3(C); 93A-4.1;

21 NCAC 58A .1808 TRUST MONIES

A nonresident commercial broker acting as real estate broker in
North Carolina shall deliver to the North Carolina resident
broker with whom he or she is affiliated all money belonging to
others received in connection with the nonresident commercial
broker's acts or services as a broker. Upon receipt of the funds,
the resident North Carolina broker shall cause the funds to be
deposited in a trust account in accordance with the provisions of
Rule .0116 of this Subchapter.

History Note:
93A-9;

Eff. July 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; April 1, 2006.

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-6(d); 93A-6(Q);

21 NCAC 58C .0209
AND CONTRACTS
(a) A school shall provide to a prospective student a copy of the
school's bulletin prior to the time that a student becomes
committed to payment of any portion of tuition or registration
deposit without the right to a full refund.
(b) A school shall execute a written enrollment contract with
each student after the school's bulletin has been provided to the
student but prior to the beginning of the course for which the
student is enrolling. The student shall be provided a copy of the
enrollment contract at the time of signing. The enrollment
contract shall be a separate document and shall not be combined
with the school's bulletin into a single document. A school may
utilize the school's copy of the enrollment contract to note a
record of student tuition payments.
(c) A school's student enrollment contract shall include:

1) the student's name;

2 the contract date;

ENROLLMENT PROCEDURES
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3) the title of the course(s) for which the student

is enrolling;

4) the course schedule (beginning date, end date
and meeting days and times);

(5) the amount of tuition and other required fees;

(6) a provision incorporating by reference the
school's policies as described in the school's
bulletin;

@) a provision whereby the school certifies that

the school's bulletin has been provided to the
student and that the student acknowledges
receipt of the bulletin;
(8) any provisions needed to address special
accommodations or arrangements applicable to
a particular student;
9) the signatures of both the student and a school
official; and
(10) the following prescribed text: "NOTICE:
Pursuant to North Carolina Real Estate
Commission Rule 21 NCAC 58A .1904, the
Commission may deny or withdraw credit for
a postlicensing course that a provisional broker
begins taking while already enrolled in another
postlicensing course at the same school or a
different school if participating in the two
courses concurrently results in the provisional
broker attending postlicensing course sessions
that total more than 21 classroom hours in any
given seven-day period.”
(d) Other than the amount of tuition and fees, an enrollment
contract shall not address other school policies that are addressed
in the school's bulletin.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33;

Eff. October 1, 1980;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 58A .1309 Eff.
November 27, 1989;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2008; April 1, 2006.

21 NCAC 58C .0221
OWNERSHIP

(@ When ownership of a licensed school is transferred to a
different legal entity, the school license is not transferable and
shall terminate on the effective date of the transfer.

(b) All courses shall be completed by the effective date of the
ownership transfer. The transferring owner shall report course
completion to the Commission.

(c) The entity acquiring ownership shall obtain an original
school license for each location where the school will conduct
courses as required by G.S. 93A-34 and Rule .0202 of this
Subchapter prior to advertising courses, registering students,
accepting tuition, conducting courses, or otherwise engaging in
any school operations.

TRANSFER OF SCHOOL

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 93A-33; 93A-34; 93A-35;

21 NCAC 58C .0309
REPORTING

(a) Schools shall provide a course completion certificate to each
student who completes a prelicensing or postlicensing course in
compliance with Commission rules and the school course
completion standards. Each course completion certificate shall
be on official school letterhead and identify the course, student
and instructor. The certificate shall be signed by the director,
dean or other school official responsible for supervising the
conduct of the course.

(b) Schools shall prepare and submit to the Commission
accurate reports verifying completion of a prelicensing or
postlicensing course for each student who completes a
prelicensing or postlicensing course in compliance with
Commission rules and school course completion standards. Such
reports shall include:

COURSE COMPLETION

(D) students' names (full legal name for
prelicensing course students);

2 students’ license numbers (for postlicensing
course students);

3 students' unique identification number (for
prelicensing course students);

(@) course dates;

(5) school and course code humbers;

(6) instructor's name and code number (for
prelicensing courses); and

) course information.

(c) The report shall be transmitted by uploading the information
to the Commission's website at www.ncrec.gov within seven
calendar days following the course. Schools shall electronically
submit with postlicensing course completion reports the per
student fee prescribed by G.S 93A-4(a2).

History Note:
4(d);93A-33;
Eff. September 1, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1989; September 1, 1984; January 1,
1981;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 58A .1111 Eff.
November 27, 1989;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2008; April
1, 2006; July 1, 1994; May 1, 1990.

Authority G.S. 93A-4(a); 93A-4(a2); 93A-

21 NCAC 58C .0310 COURSE RECORDS

(a) Schools shall retain on file for three years copies of all
enrollment, grade and attendance records and shall make such
records available to the Commission upon request.

(b) Schools shall retain on file for two years a master copy of
each final course examination that shall indicate the answer key,
course title, course dates and name of instructor. Examination
file copies shall be made available to the Commission upon
request.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93A-4(a),(d); 93A-33;

Eff. September 1, 1984;

Recodified from Rule 58A .1105 (d) and (e) Eff. January 6,
1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 58A .1113 Eff.
November 27, 1989;
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Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; October 1, 2000; May 1, 1990.

21 NCAC 58E .0102
COMPONENT

(@) To renew a license on active status, a real estate broker shall
complete, within one year preceding license expiration and in
addition to satisfying the continuing education elective
requirement described in Rule.0302 of this Subchapter, a
Commission-developed "General Update Course" described in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule consisting of four classroom hours of
instruction. A broker-in-charge or broker who is broker-in-
charge eligible who desires to retain his or her broker-in-charge
status or eligibility shall complete in lieu of the "General Update
Course" a Commission-developed "Broker-In-Charge Update
Course" consisting of four classroom hours of instruction,
described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule and prescribed in Rule
58A .0110.

(b) The Commission shall develop annually a General Update
Course and a Broker-In-Charge Update Course that shall be
conducted by sponsors approved by the Commission under this
Subchapter.  The subject matter of these courses shall be
determined by the Commission, and shall include instruction on
the duties and responsibilities required of brokers by the License
Law and Commission rules as well as current trends, standards,
or changes affecting the real estate brokerage practice. The
Broker-in-Charge Update Course shall also include instruction
on the duties and responsibilities required of brokers-in-charge
by the License Law and Commission rules. The Commission
shall produce instructor and student materials for use by course
sponsors, and shall prepare completely new courses for each
one-year period beginning July 1 and ending the next June 30.
Sponsors shall acquire the Commission-developed course
materials and utilize the materials to conduct the update courses.
The courses shall be conducted as prescribed by the rules in this
Subchapter and the course materials developed by the
Commission. All course materials developed by the
Commission for use in an update course and that are subject to
the protection of federal copyright laws are the property of the
Commission. Violation of the Commission's copyright with
regard to these materials shall be grounds for disciplinary action.
Sponsors shall provide brokers participating in their classes a
copy of the student materials developed by the Commission.
With advance approval from the Commission, course sponsors
and instructors may make modifications to the update course
when the update course is being promoted to and conducted for a
group of brokers that specialize in a particular area of real estate
brokerage, provided that the modifications relate to the same
general subject matter addressed in the prescribed update course
and the course as modified achieves the same educational
objectives as the unmodified course.

(c) Approved sponsors shall conduct update courses using an
instructor who has been approved by the Commission as an
update course instructor under Section .0200 of this Subchapter.
The sponsor may conduct the update course at any location as
frequently as is desired during the approval period; however, no
courses may be conducted between June 11 and June 30 of any
approval period.

UPDATE COURSE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1;

Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2000.

21 NCAC 58E .0202
APPROVAL
Update course instructors shall be approved by the Commission
in a separate process from approval for update course sponsors.
Approved update course instructors may teach the General
Update Course or Broker-In-Charge Update Course for any
approved update course sponsor for as long as his or her
approval is on active status. An approved update course
instructor may not independently conduct an update course
unless the instructor has also obtained approval as an update
course sponsor. An instructor shall obtain written approval from
the Commission prior to teaching an update course and prior to
representing to any sponsor or other party that he or she is
approved or may be approved as an update course instructor.

NATURE AND SCOPE OF

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000.

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1;

21 NCAC 58E .0203 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA
FOR ORIGINAL APPROVAL

(@ A person seeking initial approval as an update course
instructor must make application on a form provided by the
Commission.  An applicant who is not a resident of North
Carolina shall also file with the application a consent to service
of process and pleadings. No application fee is required. All
required information regarding the applicant's qualifications
shall be submitted.

(b) The applicant shall be truthful, honest and of high integrity.
(c) The applicant shall be qualified under one of the following
standards:

1) Possession of a current North Carolina real
estate broker license that is not on provisional
status, a current continuing education record,
and three years full-time experience on active
status in general real estate brokerage,
including substantial experience in real estate
sales and at least one year of general brokerage
experience in North Carolina, within the
previous seven years. For purposes of this
Rule, substantial experience is experience
which is material, valuable, and worthwhile
and not nominal, occasional, or intermittent; or

2) Possession of qualifications found by the
Commission to be equivalent to the standard
stated in Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule.

(d) The applicant shall possess good teaching skills as
demonstrated on a video recording portraying the instructor
teaching a live audience. The applicant shall submit the video
recording for Commission review on a digital video disc (DVD).
The video recording must be 45-60 minutes in length and shall
depict a continuous block of instruction on a single real estate or
directly related topic. The video recording shall be unedited,
show a portion of the audience, and have visual and sound
quality sufficient to enable reviewers to see and hear the
instructor. The video recording shall have been recorded within
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the previous calendar year. The video recording shall
demonstrate that the instructor possesses the teaching skills
described in Rule .0509 of this Subchapter.

(e) The applicant shall take the Commission's Update Instructor
Seminar for the real estate license year in which the applicant’s
approval would be effective prior to approval being issued. If
this seminar is not taken within six months after filing the
application for approval, the application shall be deemed
cancelled. The Update Instructor Seminar shall be a seven hour
course offered by the Commission multiple times each year to
demonstrate the General Update Course and Broker-in-Charge
Update Course materials described in Rule .0102(b) of this
Subchapter to approved instructors to prepare them to teach
those courses. Registration and available dates for the Update
Instructor Seminar are available online at the Commission's
website, www.ncrec.gov.

() An applicant shall be exempt from qualifying under
Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule if he or she is a Commission-
approved real estate prelicensing instructor who has satisfied all
requirements for an unconditional approval or possesses a
current North Carolina real estate broker license, a current
continuing education record, and a current designation as a
Distinguished Real Estate Instructor (DREI) granted by the Real
Estate Educators Association.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2008; April 1, 2004; July
1, 2003; September 1, 2002; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995.

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1;

21 NCAC 58E .0204 ACTIVE AND INACTIVE
STATUS; RENEWAL OF APPROVAL

(@ An instructor's initial approval shall be issued on active
status and shall remain on active status during the approval
period so long as the instructor takes the Commission's annual
Update Instructor Seminar, described in Rule .0203(e) of this
Section, before September 1 of each year. An instructor may
teach the General Update Course or Broker-In-Charge Update
Course while his or her license is on active status. When an
instructor fails to complete the Update Instructor Seminar by
September 1, the instructor's approval shall be placed on inactive
status and shall remain on inactive status until the seminar is
taken or until the expiration of the instructor's approval,
whichever occurs first. An instructor shall not teach any version
of the update course while his or her approval is on inactive
status.

(b) If an instructor whose approval is on active status is unable
to take the Update Instructor Seminar on any of the scheduled
seminar dates as shown on the Commission's website at
www.ncrec.gov before September 1 of any year due to a
personal hardship such as a personal or family illness or a
business conflict, the instructor may request and obtain from the
Commission an extension of time to take the seminar on a
seminar date following the September 1 deadline. The instructor
shall not complete the course later than December 1 of that year.
If an extension of time is granted, the instructor's approval shall
remain on active status during the extension period.

(c) Commission approval of update course instructors expires
on the third December 31 following issuance of approval.

Approved instructors shall file applications for renewal of
approval on a form provided by the Commission on its website
at www.ncrec.gov on or before the December 1 immediately
preceding expiration of approval. The form shall request
information pertaining to the applicant's qualifications under
Rule .0203(c) of this Section. In order to renew their approval,
applicants must satisfy the criteria for original approval, with the
exception of the requirement in Rule .0203(d) of this Section,
and their approval shall be on active status as described in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Applicants for renewal of approval
whose approval is on inactive status shall also take the
Commission's annual Update Instructor Seminar for the real
estate license year in which the applicant's renewal of approval
would be effective.

(d) In order to reinstate an expired instructor approval, the
former instructor must file an application on a form provided by
the Commission and shall satisfy the criteria for original
approval set forth in Rule .0203(b) and (c) of this Section. If the
applicant's prior instructor approval was on inactive status at the
time the approval expired, the applicant must additionally take
the Commission's annual Update Instructor Seminar for the real
estate license year in which the applicant's reinstated approval
would be effective. If the applicant's prior instructor approval
has been expired for more than one year, the applicant must also
satisfy the criteria for original approval set forth in Rule .0203(d)
of this Section.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2012; July 1, 2000; July
1, 1996; July 1, 1995.

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1;

21 NCAC 58E .0304
COURSE APPROVAL
(@) The following requirements shall be satisfied in order to
obtain approval of a proposed elective course:

1) The applicant shall submit the application
form and pay the application fee, both of
which are required in Rule .0303 of this
Section, including any additional application
fee set forth in Subparagraph (2)(12) of this
Rule if applicable;

2 The applicant shall satisfy the requirements of
Section .0400 of this Subchapter relating to the
qualifications or eligibility of course sponsors;

3 The subject matter of the course shall satisfy
the elective course subject matter requirements
set forth in Rule .0305 of this Section and all
information to be presented in the course shall
be current and accurate;

(@) The course shall involve a minimum of four
classroom hours of instruction on acceptable
subject matter, as defined in Rule .0305 of this
Section. A classroom hour consists of 50
minutes of instruction and 10 minutes of break
time;

(5) The applicant and the continuing education
coordinator required by Rule .0405 of this
Subchapter shall be truthful, honest and of

CRITERIA FOR ELECTIVE

29:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2014




APPROVED RULES

high integrity. To do this, the Commission

may consider the reputation and character of

any owner, officer and director of any
corporation, association or organization
applying for sponsor approval,

(6) The proposed instructor(s) for the course shall
possess the qualifications described in Rule
.0306 of this Section;

@) The instructional delivery methods to be
utilized in the course shall either involve live
instruction in a traditional classroom setting or
comply with the requirements described in
Rule .0310 of this Section;

(8) The applicant shall submit an instructor guide
that includes:

(A) a course outline describing the
subject matter and topics to be taught
in sufficient detail to permit an
evaluation by the Commission of the
depth and accuracy of the subject
matter and topics to be covered,;

(B) the amount of time to be devoted to
each major topic and to breaks;
© the learning objective(s) for each

major topic; and

(D) the instructional methods and
instructional aids that will be utilized
in the course.

9 The proposed time allotments shown in the
instructor guide shall be appropriate for the
proposed subject matter to be taught. Unless
the applicant can demonstrate that straight
lecture is the most effective instructional
method for the course, the instructor guide
must provide for the use of a variety of
instructional methods and instructional aids
intended to enhance student participation,
attentiveness, and learning.  Examples of
instructional methods that may be appropriate
include, but are not limited to, instructor-led
class discussion, role-playing, and in-class
individual or group work assignments.
Examples of instructional aids that may be
appropriate include, but are not limited to,
PowerPoint slides, overhead transparencies,
video recordings, and information from the
Internet displayed on a large screen;

(10) The course shall include handout materials for
students that provide, in narrative or text form,
all the information to be presented in the
course. This requirement shall not be satisfied
by using only copies of PowerPoint slides or a
detailed course outline.  All information
included in the student materials shall be up-
to-date, without error, explanatory of topics

covered, consistent with course learning
objectives, grammatically  correct, and
organized. The scope and depth of

information presented shall be appropriate in

view of course learning objectives and subject
matter time allotments, and the information
presented must, except for instruction on
changes in laws, rules, or practices, include
coverage of subject matter at a cognitive level
higher than that expected of entry-level real
estate brokers. The quality of reproduced
student materials shall be generally
comparable to that commonly seen in
education materials produced by professional
publishers.  These standards for student
materials also apply, to the extent they are
relevant, to student materials other than paper
materials such as material to be viewed by
computer that are provided for use by students
in distance education courses;

(11) If an applicant proposes to use copyrighted
materials in the course, such materials shall be
used in a form approved by the copyright
holder. If any copyrighted material is to be
duplicated by the applicant for use in the
course, the sponsor must have the specific
permission of the copyright holder; and

(12) When an applicant resubmits an elective
course approval application after a previous
application for the same course has been twice
reviewed and found unsatisfactory by the
Commission, the resubmitted application shall
be treated as an original application for
approval and shall be subject to the application
fee prescribed in Rule .0303 of this Section.

(b) An application for elective course approval shall be found
unsatisfactory if the applicant fails to fulfill one or more of the
requirements set forth in this Rule.

(c) Applicants requesting approval of distance education
courses shall also comply with the requirements described in
Rule .0310 of this Section.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2010; April 1, 2004; July 1,
2000; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995.

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1;

21 NCAC 58E .0408
OWNERSHIP
When ownership of an approved course sponsor is transferred to
a different legal entity, the sponsor approval is not transferable
and terminates on the effective date of the transfer. The sponsor
owner transferring ownership shall not conduct any course after
the effective date of the transfer. The entity acquiring sponsor
ownership shall obtain an original course sponsor approval as
required by G.S. 93A-4.1 and Rules .0103, .0303 and .0402 of
this Subchapter prior to advertising courses, registering students,
accepting tuition, conducting courses or otherwise engaging in
any sponsor activity.

CHANGE IN SPONSOR

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014.

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1;
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21 NCAC 58E .0601 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY History Note:  Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3; 93A-3(c); 93A-

21 NCAC 58E .0602 COURSE DESCRIPTION 4.1; 93A-4.2;
21 NCAC 58E .0603 AUTHORITY TO CONDUCT Eff. July 1, 2010;
COURSE Repealed Eff. July 1, 2014.

21 NCAC 58E .0604 COURSE OPERATIONAL
REQUIREMENTS
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on August 21, 2014 at 1711 New Hope
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000. Anyone wishing to
address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2™ business day before
the meeting. Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Margaret Currin (Chair) Garth Dunklin (1% Vice Chair)
Jeff Hyde Stefanie Simpson (2" Vice Chair)
Jay Hemphill Jeanette Doran
Faylene Whitaker Ralph A. Walker

Anna Baird Choi

COMMISSION COUNSEL

Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079
Abigail Hammond (919)431-3076
Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
August 21, 2014 September 18, 2014
October 16, 2014 November 20, 2014

AGENDA
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
THURSDAY, AUGUST 21, 2014 10:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609
l. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
Il. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting

M. Follow-up matters:

A. Commissioner of Agriculture — 02 NCAC 52K .0301, .0401, .0501 (Reeder)
B. Department of Public Safety — 14B NCAC 07A .0116 (Reeder)
C. Board of Dental Examiners — 21 NCAC 16B .0101, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0303, .0401, .0402, .0403,

.0404, .0405, .0406, .0501, .0601, .0701, .0801, .0901, .1002, .1101; 16C .0101, .0202, .0301, .0303,
.0311, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0601; 16Q .0303 (Reeder)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between June 23, 2014 and July 21, 2014.
Pesticide Board (Hammond)

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (Reeder)
Department of Labor (Reeder)

Environmental Management Commission (Reeder)
Board of Dental Examiners (Reeder)

Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors (Reeder)
Medical Board (May)

Board of Pharmacy (May)

Board of Podiatry Examiners (May)

Appraisal Board (May)

Building Code Council (May)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting
VI. G.S. 150B-19.1 Certification
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VIL. Existing Rules Review

04 NCAC 24 - Division of Employment Security (Reeder)

21 NCAC 08 — Certified Public Accountants (Hammond)

21 NCAC 52 — Podiatry Examiners (Hammond)

24 NCAC 02 — Agricultural Finance Authority (May)

25 NCAC 01A - State Human Resources Commission (Reeder)
25 NCAC 01B - State Human Resources Commission (Reeder)
25 NCAC 01C - State Human Resources Commission (Reeder)
25 NCAC 02 - Office of Americans with Disabilities Act (May)

VIII. Commission Business
e Next meeting: Thursday, September 18, 2014

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
June 23, 2014 through July 21, 2014

PESTICIDE BOARD

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Food and Drug Protection Division of the Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services.

The rules in Subchapter 9L are from the N.C. Pesticide Board and include organizational rules (.0100); registration
(.0300); samples and submissions (.0400); pesticide licenses (.0500); pesticide and pesticide container disposal
(.0600); declaration of pests and restrictions on their control (.0700); bulk distribution of pesticides (.0800); aerial
application of pesticides (.1000); private pesticide applicator certification (.1100); arsenic trioxide (.1200); availability of
restricted use pesticides (.1300); ground application of pesticides (.1400); worker protection standards for agricultural
pesticides (.1800); pesticide storage (.1900); chemigation (any process whereby pesticides are applied to land, crops,
or plants using an irrigation system) (.2000); hearing rules of the North Carolina pesticide board (.2100); and interim
protection measures for the Carolina heelsplitter mussel (.2200).

Duties of Pesticide Section 02 NCAC 09L .0101
Amend/*

Assignment of Duties 02 NCAC 09L .0103
Amend/*

Common and Chemical Names of Pesticides 02 NCAC 09L .0316
Amend/*

Registration of Pesticides to Meet with Special Local Needs 02 NCAC 09L .0317
Amend/*

Exemption of Agencies for Use of Pesticides in Emergencies 02 NCAC 09L .0318
Amend/*

Tolerances 02 NCAC 09L .0402
Amend/*

Governmental Workers 02 NCAC 09L .0506
Amend/*

Continuances 02 NCAC 09L .0516
Amend/*

Recertification Process 02 NCAC 09L .0522
Amend/*

Designations 02 NCAC 09L .0901
Amend/*

Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .1001
Amend/*

Exemptions 02 NCAC 09L .1006
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Amend/*
Single Purchase Emergency Certification Permit 02 NCAC 09L .1104
Amend/*
Definitions 02 NCAC 09L .1401
Amend/*
Adoption by Reference 02 NCAC 09L .1805
Amend/*
Copies of Contingency Plan 02 NCAC 09L .1909
Amend/*
Inspection: Maintenance and Modification 02 NCAC 09L .2004
Amend/*

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission.

The rules in Subchapter 2S concern retail beer, wine, mixed beverages, brownbagging, advertising, and special
permits. The rules include definitions and permit application procedures (.0100); general rules affecting retailers and
brownbagging permittees (.0200); malt beverages and the wine retailer/wholesaler relationship (.0300); additional
requirements for brownbagging permittees (.0400); additional requirements for mixed beverages permittees (.0500);
special requirements for convention centers, community theatres, sports clubs, and nonprofit and political organizations
(.0600); special occasions permits (.0700); culinary permits (.0800); wine and beer tastings (.0900); advertising (.1000);
and effect of administrative action, fines, and offers in compromise (.1100).

Applications for Permits: General Provisions 04 NCAC 02S .0102
Amend/*

The rules in Subchapter 2T concern industry members, retail/industry member relationships, ship chandlers, air
carriers, and fuel alcohol including definitions and application procedures (.0100); product approvals, listing procedures
and product lists (.0200); packaging and labeling of malt beverages and wine (.0300); standards of identity for wine
containers (.0400); general provisions for industry members (.0500); sales and deliveries of malt beverages and wine
(.0600); alcoholic beverages, retailer/industry member relationship and trade practices (.0700); ships chandler's permit
(.0800); distillers and representatives (.0900); air carriers (.1000); fuel alcohol permits (.1100); and administrative action
by commission (.1200).

Labels to be Submitted to Commission 04 NCAC 02T .0302
Amend/*
Label Contents: Malt Beverages 04 NCAC 02T .0303
Amend/*
Growlers 04 NCAC 02T .0308
Amend/*
Growlers: Cleaning, Sanitizing, Filling and Sealing 04 NCAC 02T .0309
Adopt/*

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 13 concern boiler and pressure vessel including definitions (.0100); administration (.0200);
enforcement of standards (.0300); general requirements (.0400); non-standard boilers and pressure vessels (.0500);
hot water vessels used for heating or for storage of hot water (.0600); nuclear energy systems (.0700); and forms
(.0800).

Design and Construction Standards 13 NCAC 13 .0401
Amend/*
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 2B pertain to surface water standards and monitoring including procedures for assignment of
water quality standards (.0100); the standards used to classify the waters of the state (.0200); stream classifications
(.0300); effluent limitations (.0400); monitoring and reporting requirements (.0500); and water quality management
plans (.0600).

Broad River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0306
Amend/*

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

The rules in Subchapter 16D concern provisional licensure for dentists including general provisions (.0100); and
examinations (.0200).

Patient Records 21 NCAC 16D .0103
Repeal/*
Application 21 NCAC 16D .0104
Amend/*

Consent for Board Investigation 21 NCAC 16D .0106
Adopt/*

The rules in Subchapter 16E concern provisional licensure for dental hygienists.

Application 21 NCAC 16E .0103
Amend/*
Examination 21 NCAC 16E .0104
Amend/*

EXAMINERS OF ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 18B are from the Board of Electrical Contractors including general provisions (.0100);
examinations and qualifications (.0200); terms and definitions applicable to licensing (.0300); licensing requirements
(.0400); reciprocal licensing agreements with other states (.0700); special restricted licenses (.0800); violations and
contested case hearings (.0900); forms, certificates, and publications of the board (.1000); and continuing education
courses and requirements (.1100).

Electrical Installation: Project: Project Value-Limitation 21 NCAC 18B .0303
Amend/*
Annual License Fees 21 NCAC 18B .0404
Amend/*

MEDICAL BOARD

The rules in Subchapter 32B concern license to practice medicine including prescribing (.1000); general (.1300);
resident's training license (.1400); faculty limited license (.1500); purpose license (.1600); other business (.1700); and
expedited license for physician license (.2000).

Reinstatement of Physician License 21 NCAC 32B .1350
Amend/*

Reactivation of Physician License 21 NCAC 32B .1360
Amend/*

Application for Resident's Training License 21 NCAC 32B .1402
Amend/*

29:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2014

351


http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41183
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41183
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41183
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41183
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41297
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41297
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41297
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41297
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41294
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41294
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41294
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41294
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41293
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41293
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41293
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41293
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41295
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41295
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41295
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41295
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41606
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41606
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41606
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41606
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41545
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41545
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41545
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41545
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=40458
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=40458
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=40458
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=40458
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41636
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41636
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41636
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41636
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41630
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41630
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41630
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41630
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41631
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41631
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41631
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=41631

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 32U cover the administration of vaccines by pharmacists.

Administration of Vaccines by Pharmacists 21 NCAC 32U .0101
Amend/*

PHARMACY, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other health
facilities (.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs dispensed by
nurse and physician assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions (.2000); elections
(.2100); continuing education (.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in health departments
(.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700); sterile parenteral
pharmaceuticals (.2800); product selection (.2900); disposal of unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner
(.3100); impaired pharmacist peer review program (.3200); and registry of pharmacist technicians (.3300).

Administration of Vaccines by Pharmacists 21 NCAC 46 .2507
Amend/*

PODIATRY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 52 concern Board of Podiatry Examiners including organization of the Board (.0100); examination
and licensing (.0200); professional corporations (.0300); revocation or suspension of license (.0400); certification of
podiatric assistants (.0500); general provisions (.0600); petitions for rules (.0700); notice of rulemaking hearings
(.0800); rulemaking hearings (.0900); declaratory rulings (.1000); administrative hearing procedures (.1100);
administrative hearings decisions related rights and procedures (.1200); nominations for podiatrist members of the
board of podiatry examiners; the board of podiatry examiners constituting a board of podiatry elections; and procedures
for holding an election (.1300); and scope of practice (.1400).

Temporary License for Clinical Residency/Fellowship 21 NCAC 52 .0213
Adopt/*
Forms and Applications 21 NCAC 52 .0611
Amend/*

APPRAISAL BOARD

The rules in Subchapter 57A cover licensing, certification and practice rules for appraisers including application
procedures (.0100); licensing and certification (.0200); examination (.0300); general practice requirements (.0400); and
appraisal standards (.0500).

Expired Registration, License or Certificate 21 NCAC 57A .0206
Amend/*

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

2012 NC Building Code/Automatic Sprinkler Systems 901.6.1
Amend/*

2012 NC Building Code/Fixture Calculations 2902.1.1
Amend/*

2012 NC Building Code Council/Means of Egress Capacity Fa... 3404.6
Amend/*

2012 NC Fuel Gas Code/Pipe Joints 403.10.1
Amend/*

2012 NC Mechanical Code/Makeup Air Required 505.2
Amend/*
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2012 NC Plumbing Code/Fixture Calculations 403.1.1

Amend/*

2012 NC Residential Code/Hazardous Locations R308.4

Amend/*

2012 NC Residential Code/Corrosion Resistance R4605.5

Amend/*

2012 NC Residential Code/Deck Attachment Appendix AM104.1

Amend/*
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to
all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of the
decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of
Administrative Hearings, (919) 431-3000. Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at
http://www.ncoah.com/hearings.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge
JULIAN MANN, 1l

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter A. B. Elkins I
Don Overby Selina Brooks
J. Randall May Craig Croom
J. Randolph Ward
PUBLISHED
CASE DECISION
AGENCY NUMBER 2ATE  RecIsTER
CITATION
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION
Melody Locklear McNair v. ABC Commission 14 ABC 02323  06/25/14
DEPARTMENT OF CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY
Carl John Perkinson v. Department of Public Safety 14 CPS 02245 06/24/14
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
AHB Psychological Services v. DHHS and Alliance Behavioral Healthcare 13DHR 00115 01/06/14 29:02 NCR 202
AHB Psychological Services v. DHHS and Alliance Behavioral Healthcare 13 DHR 08874  01/06/14  29:02 NCR 202
Kenneth Terrell Ford v. DHHS, Division of Facility Services 13DHR 10745  02/12/14  29:03 NCR 356
J. Mark Oliver DDS, PLLC v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance 13 DHR 14369  02/19/14  29:02 NCR 206
Genesis Project 1 Inc. v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance and its agent, Mecklink 13 DHR 17094  12/16/13  29:01 NCR 70
Behavioral Healthcare
Estate of Earlene W. Alston, Lewis E. Alston v. DHHS, DMA 13 DHR 17909  04/08/14 29:02 NCR 211
Susan Arrowood, OLPC v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance and its agent Partners 13 DHR 19981  01/08/14  29:03 NCR 366
Behavioral Health Management
Nadiah Porter v. Durham County Department of Social Services (DSS) (Formerly Durham's 14 DHR 01309  06/30/14
Alliance for Child Care Access, DACCA)
Elizabeth Mitchell v. Durham DSS 14 DHR 01982  06/23/14
Wayne Mitchell v. Durham DSS 14 DHR 02044  06/23/14
Peter K. Kagwanja, owner Lighthouse Foodmart v. DHHS, Division of Public Health 14 DHR 03335  07/03/14
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
William Dale Aaronson v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 13 D0OJ 11693 01/07/14  29:03 NCR 373
Jose Monserrate Acosta v. NC Private Protective Services 13 D0J 15271 12/11/13  29:02 NCR 213
Kent Patrick Locklear v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 13 DOJ 15368 01/03/14 29:01 NCR 74
Michael Tyler Nixon v. NC Alarm Systems Licensing Board 13 DOJ 16246 11/25/13  29:01 NCR 79
Garrett Dwayne Gwin v. NC Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 13 DOJ 17240 06/10/14
Commission
Howard Ron Simons v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 13 D0OJ 19148 06/20/14
Janet Staricha v. University of NC at Chapel Hill 13 DOJ 19693 06/06/14
Lisa Paulette Childress v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 14 DOJ 00869 07/07/14
Angela Renee Joyner v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 14 DOJ 00873 06/23/14
Jeremy Samuel Jordan v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 14 DOJ 01203 06/12/14
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER
Reza M. Salami v. NC A&T State University, Retirement Systems Division

Ozie L. Hall v. Department of State Treasurer, Retirement Systems Division, Teachers' and
State Employees Retirement System

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Certain Teed Corporation v. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Division of
Water Resources

Certain Teed Corporation v. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Division of
Water Resources

NC Coastal Federation, Cape Fear River Watch, Penderwatch and Conservancy, Sierra Club
v. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Division of Air Quality and
Carolinas Cement Company LLC

OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES (formerly OFFICE OF STATE
PERSONNEL)

Azlea Hubbard v. Department of Commerce, Division of Workforce Solutions

Chauncey John Ledford v. Department of Public Safety

Lenton Credelle Brown v. Department of Public Safety, W. Ellis Boyle General Counsel
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA A I IN THE OFFICE OF
P ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

COUNTY OF WAYNE e e 13 DHR 10745

KENNETH TERRELL FORD
PETITIONER
VS. FINAL DECISION
N. C. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES, DIVISION OF

FACILITY SERVICES
RESPONDENT

o

On October 25, 2013, Administrative Law Judge Melissa Owens Lassiter heard
this contested case in Goldsboro, North Carolina. On December 9, 2013, the
undersigned ruled that Respondent failed to present sufficient evidence to substantiate
the finding that Petitioner abused a resident of O’Berry Neuro-Medical Treatment Center
on August 13, 2012. On January 17, 2014, pursuant to the undersigned’s Order,
Petitioner filed a proposed Final Decision with the Office of Administrative Hearings.

APPEARANCES

For Petitioner: Dustin B. Pittman
Strickland, Lapas, Agner & Associates
112 North William Street
Goldsboro, North Carolina 27530

For Respondent:  Josephine N. Tetteh
Assistant Attorney General
N.C. Department of Justice
P.O. Box 629
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-0629

ISSUES

1. Whether Respondent failed to use proper procedure, or failed to act as
required by law or rule by failing to afford Petitioner the right to the hearing before
substantiating and entering a finding of abuse against Petitioner's name on the Health
Care Personnel Registry?

2. Whether Respondent acted erroneously, or acted arbitrarily and
capriciously when it entered a substantiated finding of abuse against Petitioner's name
on the Health Care Personnel Registry?
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APPLICABLE LAW

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 131E-256, and rules promulgated thereunder
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-22, et seq. and rules promulgated thereunder

PREHEARING MOTION

Before hearing, Petitioner made a Motion in Limine to exclude any reference to a
photo array and any and all photographic identification of Petitioner by the resident PH
as such identifications were unreliable and likely to confuse the trier of fact pursuant to
Rule 403 of the Rules of Evidence. The Court reserved ruling on the motion until
testimony was heard. Based on the preponderance of evidence heard at trial, the
undersigned hereby denies Petitioner's Motion.

EXHIBITS ADMITTED INTO EVIDENCE

For Petitioner: None
For Respondent.  Exhibits 1 - 31
WITNESSES
For Petitioner: No witnesses
For Respondent:  Kenneth Terrell Petitioner, Kim Brantham, Donna Trolinger,
Dr. Donald Statuto, Donna Ramsey, Tony Walters,

Gwendolyn Woods, Lynette Cox, Pamela Anderson

FINDINGS OF FACT

Procedural Background

1. On March 21, 2013, Respondent notified Petitioner that it was
substantiating an allegation of abuse against Petitioner for abusing a resident of O’Berry
Neuro-Medical Treatment Center, on August 13, 2012, in Goldsboro, North Carolina.
Respondent also advised Petitioner that it was listing the substantiated finding against
Petitioner's name on the Health Care Personnel Registry as follows:

On or about August 13, 2012, Kenneth Terrell Ford, a Health Care Personnel,
abused a resident (PH) by willfully kicking the resident in the groin and pushing
the resident’s head against a wall resulting in physical harm, pain, and mental
anguish.

(Respondent’s Exhibit 30)
2. Petitioner was employed at O’'Berry Neuro-Medical Treatment Center

(“O’Berry”) as a Health Care Technician | from May 15, 1999 until October 10, 2012. At
O’Berry, Petitioner was generally referred to as “Ken.” (T. p. 157)
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3. On August 13, 2012, PH was a 72 year old resident who was assigned to
Petitioner’s care on the “B” shift in Unit 6-3 at O’'Berry. PH had been diagnosed with
vascular dementia, moderate mental retardation, cardiovascular accident, contractures,
hypertension, atherosclerosis, and had a long time history of seizures. (Resp Exh 27)

a. PH was ambulatory, and walked with an unsteady or staggered gait due to
one leg being shorter than the other, and because he had a flat left foot. PH
wore custom insoles in his shoes to help with walking. Because of his leg and
foot issues, PH was considered a high risk for falls, and required assistance with
mobility at times. PH’s upper right arm was contracted. (Resp Exh 27, T. p.164)

b. PH functioned in the high or severe range of Mental Retardation
cognitively, and in the moderate range adaptively. He was verbal and able to
communicate, but also stuttered. According to PH’s Person Center Plan and
O’Berry staff, PH easily became confused and forgot things, would not recognize
familiar faces or objects, and forgot people’s names. “When he gets upset, he
starts rambling and talks very fast, and puts all kinds of stuff together. He may
put things that happened in the past with things now.” (Resp Exh 24) “He may
become irritable and curse or hit at staff.” When asked to do something, he may
have problems carrying out tasks. (Resp Exh 27) The unit staff provided supports
to PH that PH needed to minimize agitation associated with his dementia. (Resp
Exh 4)

c. The preponderance of the evidence established that resident PH would
get the present and future mixed up, and sometimes exaggerated. “He adds
the future with the present.” (Resp Exh 17) PH did not refer to individuals by
name, but called them “boy” or “girl.” (Resp Exh 17, T. p. 67))

4, In August of 2012, Petitioner was assighed to unit or group home 6-3 at
O’Berry where he generally worked the “B” Shift from 7:00 a.m. until 3:30 p.m.

5. On August 13, 2012, Petitioner arrived at work at approximately 7:00 a.m.
and attended a morning briefing until approximately 7:10 a.m. Petitioner was assigned
to care for resident PH. The employees on the “A” shift had already awakened and
dressed Petitioner’s patients. Health care tech Jerry McClarin had gotten resident PH
out of bed, and dressed. The “A” shift employees had completed the body check form
indicating no injury was noted to PH after the “A” shift had performed its body check of
PH.

6. At 7:00 a.m., resident PH asked health care tech Swindell Coley for his
money. Coley advised PH to wait until they finished with morning briefing.

7. After the morning briefing, Petitioner began walking down the hall, and
met PH. Petitioner and Jerry McClarin performed a superficial body check of PH’s arms
and legs since PH was already dressed, and wearing shorts. Petitioner did not see any
injuries on PH.
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8. At approximately 7:15 a.m., Petitioner began grooming his other patients.

9. About 7:15 a.m., Coley and Jerry McClarin gave PH $2.00 in the canteen
area. PH left the canteen room behind Coley and McClarin.

10. At approximately 7:30 a.m. on August 13, 2012, PH approached Donna
Trollinger (“Trollinger”), a licensed practical nurse who was distributing medications, to
obtain his medications. Trollinger thought PH appeared mad and upset. After Trollinger
asked PH what was wrong, PH told Trollinger that “Kent kicked me.” Trollinger gave PH
his meds, and turned away from PH to sign the medication book. When Trollinger
turned back around, she saw that PH had pulled his pants and underwear down, and
was pointing to his pelvic or groin area, above and to the left of his penis. PH advised
that “Kent kicked me.” PH told Trollinger that Kent kicked him two or three times.
(Resp Exhs 9, 10, 19, 21)

11.  Ms. Trollinger asked Petitioner to wait a minute, and asked Swindell Coley
for assistance. Trollinger explained to Coley what PH had told her. When Coley saw
PH, PH pointed to his groin, and explained that “that boy” banged or pushed his head
against the wall. PH stomped his foot, and hit himself in the stomach area. (Resp Exhs
9, 10, 19, 21)

12.  Mr. Coley notified Tony Walters, the Group Home Manager, of PH's
statements. Walters notified Wanda Medline, Administrator on Duty, who contacted
Kim Brantham, Chief Advocate. PH told Walters that “a boy” or “that boy” pushed PH's
head it against the wall. “He didn’'t say a name. He normally did not call names. |
never heard him call a staff name.” (Resp Exh 17)

13.  Around 7:40 a.m. or 7:50 a.m., Walters, Trollinger, Petitioner, and Jerry
McClarin, took PH to a private bathroom to perform a body check. Petitioner stood at
the door while Trollinger examined PH. Nurse Trollinger observed a quarter-size mark
in PH’s pelvic area, above and to the left of his penis. That area was tender to the
touch. It was difficult for Trollinger to see the bruise without the use of a flashlight.
Trollinger found no injury to PH’s head or shoulder. (Resp Exhs 10, 21)

14.  Mr. Walters had been on the unit hall that morning between 7:00 am and
7:30 am. He did not recall any commotion, or noise which was out of the ordinary. He
did not hear anything that would leave him to believe a patient had been kicked in the
scrotum. Walters never heard PH say the name “Kent,” or witnessed PH identify
Petitioner in any way as the person who kicked or pushed him. At hearing, Mr. Walters
acknowledged that the only way an injury is reported on the body check form is if a staff
member writes it on there. Walters also acknowledged that if he willfully injured a
patient, he would not report an injury on his body check form.

15.  Petitioner asked PH why he said Petitioner's name as the body who hit
him. PH told Petitioner that, “It wasn't you. It was another guy in short pants, and he
had something on his shoulder.” (Resp Exh 7)
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16. At approximately 11:30 a.m. on August 13, 2012, Dr. Donald Statuto
examined PH, and observed a bruise in PH’s pelvic area that was in the process of
diffusing over the pubic area. Dr. Statuto was employed at O’'Berry, and has been since
2006. His responsibilities included treating residents for injuries. Dr. Statuto’s
examination revealed that PH’s skin over the bruise was intact. In Statuto’s medical
experience, the bruise appeared like a “blunt force trauma,” and the injury occurred
within the last twenty-four hours. (Resp Exh 18, T. pp. 93-94) PH told Dr. Statuto that
someone hit him, but PH never told Statuto that he was kicked. PH never mentioned
any names to Statuto.

17.  On August 13, 2012, Petitioner left work at 1:30 P.M., and was off work on
August 14, 2012. On August 15, 2012, Petitioner returned to work, and was assigned to
a different unit until August 17, 2012. (T. p. 164) Petitioner had no interactions with PH
after the kicking incident was reported on August 13, 2012.

18.  Kim Brantham was responsible for the training of employees and the
investigation of allegations of abuse or neglect of residents. At some time prior to 8:00
a.m. on August 13, 2012, Brantham received notice of the allegation of abuse regarding
PH. Brantham was notified that PH was kicked by Kent in his bedroom.

19. At hearing, Brantham opined that the injury experienced by PH could have
been caused by an accident, or means other than abuse, but that possibility was not
examined during her investigation into the August 13, 2012 incident with PH.

20. Lynette Cox was a Unit Director at O’Berry, and was responsible for two
clusters, which comprise eight homes. She never witnessed PH personally identify
Petitioner as the individual who kicked him, but did indicate that PH identified Petitioner
from photographs. Petitioner consistently denied to her that he abused PH. Cox was
aware that PH had fallen and been injured in the past.

21.  On August 13, 2012, Nurse Donna Trollinger, Unit Director Lynette Cox,
and Chief Advocate Kim Brantham interviewed PH. The staff asked PH if there was
anything he wanted to share with them. PH “pointed to his groin area,” and stated “that
man kicked him and pushed his head into wall.” (Resp Exh 25) PH rambled from one
topic to another. PH could not remember the name of the man who kicked him, but he
told staff that the incident happened *last night in his bedroom.” As PH was preparing to
leave the office, Petitioner came to the door. PH said, “That’s the boy.” Staff asked PH
if Petitioner was the man who kicked, and pushed his head against the wall. PH stated
that Petitioner was the man that had kicked him, and pushed his head against the wall.
PH also told staff that Petitioner was the man with the yellow pants and his friend. PH
then said it was another man [who hit him]. (T. pp. 68-69) PH described the man who hit
him as wearing shorts with a striped shirt “like his.” PH was wearing a blue-striped polo
shirt. O’Berry staff determined during its investigation that another staff member was
wearing a striped shirt like PH's and shorts on August 13, 2012. (Resp Exh 25, p. 7 of
21)

22.  On August 17, 2012, O’Berry management placed Petitioner, and two
other staff members on administrative leave or investigative status.
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23.  Gwendolyn Woods (“Woods”) is the niece of PH. On August 13, 2012,
O’Berry nurse April Sprague telephoned Ms. Woods, and advised her of the incident
involving PH. The next day, August 14, 2012, Woods visited PH. PH toid Woods that
“Ken” kicked him in the private area.

24.  On August 17, 2012, Woods visited PH again at O’'Berry, and performed a
body check on PH. Woods observed red and purple whelps on PH’s side and buttocks,
which were not previously reported to her. She showed 3 nurses the whelps. The ones
on PH’s buttocks had not healed completely, and some were fresh. (T. pp. 140-141)
Because PH told Woods he was still hurting, Ms. Woods took PH to Lenoir Memorial
Hospital that day for an evaluation of his injuries. (Resp Exhs 11, 31)

25.  On August 22, 2012, Cox and Brantham interviewed PH again with Ms.
Woods present. Staff laid seven photographs of male staff members in front of PH.
They asked PH if he saw the man who kicked him. PH looked through the photos one
by one. Upon seeing Petitioner's photo, PH said, “That's the man.” When staff asked
PH if Petitioner was the man who kicked him, PH began talking about tapes, dogs, and
various other unrelated topics. Staff sporadically placed the photos in front of PH again,
and asked PH if he saw the person who kicked him. PH selected Petitioner’'s photo. PH
also identified another male staff member as the person who gave him his bath. (T. p.
49) When PH looked again at the photos, he pointed to Petitioner's photo, and said,
“That's the man. That’s my friend.”(T. p. 50) PH also identified Frankie Bellamy, another
health care tech, and talked about hitting Mr. Bellamy “beside the head with his belt.
PH stated that “a man had come in his room and got in his bed.” (Resp Exh 25)

26. On August 29, 2012, Cox and Brantham interviewed PH with Woods
present. PH claimed that a man who lives down the hall came to his room and got into
the bed with PH. PH identified Frank Bellamy, another staff member, by photograph as
the man who got into his bed, and hit him with a belt while he resided at O'Berry. PH
described how his head was slammed “up side that bed, my foot up, my head down, my
arm and my shoulders,” by that man. PH noted that the man who hit him doesn’t live
with him, but comes in the back door [of O’'Berry]l. PH described how that man drives
different cars, and works with PH at night. (Resp. Exh. 25) During this interview, PH
frequently became confused. PH made various statements wherein he mixed together
incidents from his past, including things that he experienced during his childhood, and
things his dad did to him, with things that occurred in his room at O’Berry.

27. Woods removed PH from O'Berry, and brought him to live with her and
her family. PH told Ms. Woods that “staff were hitting me, but he wouldn’t call any
names . . . he [PH] was telling me from 2012 that he didn’t want to be there, and he
said they were hitting him.” (Resp Exh 22) While staying with Woods, PH cried a lot,
had a lot of nightmares, and always talked about the incident over and over, saying that
Kent kicked him. (T. pp. 139-141) At times, PH would holler at Woods’ home, and she
would tell him not to yell, hit, or cuss her. PH responded to Woods that, “they hit, they
kick, they punch.” (T. p. 140)
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28. Pamela Anderson (“Anderson”) is a nurse investigator employed by
Respondent who investigates complaints of abuse and neglect at facilities regulated by
Respondent. Ms. Anderson supervised investigator Ann Groves who primarily
investigated the allegations of abuse against Petitioner.

29.  On March 4, 2013, almost six months after the alleged incident occurred,
Investigator Groves interviewed PH. PH remembered living at O’Berry and recalled
Petitioner. Groves asked PH, “Did you ever have an incident with Kenneth Ford?” PH’s
answer on the interview sheet was, “He put his hand over my eyes.” Ms. Groves asked
PH, “Where did the incident occur?” PH answered, “In the shower.” PH told Ms.
Groves that he got hit, and pointed to a bruise in his groin area.

a. Ms. Groves showed PH a photograph of Petitioner, and asked PH if he
knew who that was. PH said, “That was the man that did it.” PH called the man
Kenneth, and said he hit him with a belt, and poured water on his head. When
Groves asked who kicked him, PH took the picture of Petitioner and said, “He
did.” (Resp Exh 23)

b. At hearing, during cross-examination, Ms. Anderson acknowledged that
PH did not know that the photograph they showed him was Petitioner. She also
acknowledged that PH did not identify Petitioner as the man who kicked him until
Ms. Groves showed Petitioner’s photograph to PH. (T. pp. 206-207)

30. Based on Respondent’s investigation, Anderson opined that Petitioner
kicked PH in the groin on the morning of August 13, 2012. Anderson believed that PH
was standing behind Petitioner, and kicked PH “donkey style,” which resulted in PH'’s
injury. However, Anderson acknowledged that no person she interviewed in the course
of the investigation heard any commotion in the unit which would suggest Petitioner
kicked PH “donkey style” on August 13, 2012. (T. pp. 199-201)

31.  Anderson based her finding, in part, on what she described as
inconsistencies in the statements Petitioner gave to individuals during the O'Berry
investigation and the DHHS investigation. However, upon closer examination,
Anderson was unable to identify any inconsistent statements made by Petitioner.

32. Dr. Donna Ramsey (“Ramsey”) is a psychologist who treated PH from
January of 2013 until June of 2013. After conducting a clinical assessment of PH, Dr.
Ramsey diagnosed PH with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (“PTSD”). Ramsey
indicated that PH seemed to relive a trauma from his past that affected his behavior and
overall demeanor. Ramsey described PH’s statements about this incident as the “same
man, with the same belt, standing there at night.” Ramsey indicated that PH never
mentioned a kick, and it seemed to her like the event he was describing happened at
night. Ramsey was also aware from Ms. Woods that PH had experiences some
physical and sexual abuse. She “got many statements from him [PH] that there
absolutely was a trauma,” and that it impacted PH psychologically, physically, and
emotionally. (T.p. 104)
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33. A preponderance of evidence showed that Petitioner never worked the “A”
or night shift while he was employed at O’Berry.

34. At hearing, Statuto opined that based on his “logical medical opinion,”
PH’s injury was most likely caused by a fall into a curved object like the edge of a table.
He explained that:

| envision a curved surface. The corner of a table would be a — a good

way to explain how the blood vessel was probably broken. ... He could

have fallen. More likely than not, that’'s what it is.
(T. p. 95-97) In his medical opinion, the injury was not caused by a kick or a punch.

35. A preponderance of the evidence also established that PH suffered
bruises on his right buttocks and side, but the origin or source of such injury was
unknown and not determined by Respondent.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over the parties and
the subject matter pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. Chapters 131E and 150B. To the extent
the Findings of Fact contain Conclusions of Law, or that the Conclusions of Law are
Findings of Fact, they should be so considered without regard to the given labels.

2. All parties have been correctly designated, and there is no question of
misjoinder or nonjoinder.

3. Respondent has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the
evidence that Respondent acted erroneously, acted arbitrarily or capriciously, failed to
use proper procedure, or failed to act as required by law or by rule in violation of N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 150B-23.

4. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 131E-256(a)(1)(a) requires Respondent maintain a
registry containing the names of all health care personnel working in health care
facilities in North Carolina who have been subject to findings of abuse of a resident.
The Health Care Personnel Registry provides a process to protect residents from abuse
by preventing the future employment of personnel in health care faciliies who are
known to be abusive.

5. As a health care personnel working in a health care facility, Petitioner is
subject to the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 131E-256.

6. “Abuse” is defined by 42 CFR Part 488.301 to mean: “the willful infliction
of injury, unreasonable confinement, intimidation or punishment which resuits in
physical harm, pain, or mental anguish.”

7. A preponderance of the evidence showed that Respondent did not deny
Petitioner any due process rights to a hearing before substantiating and entering a
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finding of abuse against Petitioner's name on the Health Care Personnel Registry. This
contested case hearing afforded Petitioner the required due process rights to a hearing
before Respondent could implement any agency action against Petitioner.

8. A preponderance of the evidence clearly established that resident PH
suffered physical injury to his groin area on or about August 13, 2012. However,
Respondent failed to present sufficient evidence to prove by a preponderance of the
evidence that Petitioner was the person who abused resident PH on August 13, 2012,
at O’Berry, by kicking PH in the groin and pushing PH's head against a wall.

a. First, PH was the only person who identified Petitioner as the man who
kicked him in the groin on August 13, 2012, and there were no eyewitnesses to
the incident.

b. Secondly, a preponderance of the evidence proved that PH’s identification
of Petitioner as the perpetrator was not reliable. PH had dementia, and was
known to “mix together” events from the past with events in the present. During
the facility’s three interviews of PH, PH’s confusion of the past and present day
events was apparent and frequent. PH rambled in his answers. At the same time
that PH identified Petitioner, from a photograph, as the man who hit him, PH
pointed to Petitioner's photo and called Petitioner his friend. PH described the
man who kicked him as someone wearing shorts and striped shirt like he was
wearing on August 13, 2012. On August 13, 2012, PH similarly told Petitioner
that Petitioner wasn’t the man who kicked him, and “It was another guy in short
pants, and he had something on his shoulder.” (Resp Exh 7) During O’Berry’s
investigation, PH indicated he was hit while in his bedroom, and Respondent
determined that PH was kicked while in his bedroom. However, during
Respondent’s investigation of PH, PH said the hitting incident occurred in the
shower.

C. There was no evidence that Petitioner was wearing shorts and a striped
shirt at work on August 13, 2012. O’Berry management learned that another
staff member was wearing shorts and striped shirt like PH on August 13, 2012.
(Resp Exh 25) There was no evidence Respondent further investigated this
factor.

d. During O’Berry’s interview of PH, PH not only accused another staff
member of getting in the bed and sexually abusing him, but claimed that
someone hit him with a belt.

e. Contrary to Respondent’s determination that PH was kicked around 7:20
a.m. on August 13, 2012, PH claimed that he was hit at night.

f. Dr. Statuto’s logical medical opinion was that PH'’s injury was most likely
caused by a fall into a curved object like the edge of a table. Statuto examined
PH four hours after PH was injured, while there was no evidence that
Respondent physically examined PH, and Respondent did not interview PH until
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seven months after the injury occurred. Respohdent presented insufficient
medical evidence to rebut Dr. Statuto’s medical opinion.

9. The photographic evidence of PH’s bruised buttocks, combined with PH's
statements, and Dr. Ramsey’s statements undoubtedly proved that PH suffered
physical harm from being hit by a belt during the subject time period. Nevertheless,
since that issue was not part of the contested case before me, the undersigned will not
make any determination regarding that issue.

10. Based on a preponderance of the evidence in this case, Respondent erred
in substantiating a finding of abuse against Petitioner's name, and listing such finding
against Petitioner's name on the Health Care Personnel Registry.

FINAL DECISION

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the
undersigned hereby REVERSES Respondent's decision to place a finding of
substantiated abuse against Petitioner's name on the Health Care Personnel Registry,
and Orders such finding against Petitioner's name be removed from the Health Care
Personnel Registry.

NOTICE AND ORDER

This Final Decision is issued under the authority of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-36(c).
Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-45, any party wishing to appeal the Final Decision
of the Administrative Law Judge may commence such appeal by filing a Petition for
Judicial Review in the Superior Court of Wake County or in the Superior Court of the
county in which the party resides. The party seeking review must file the petition
within 30 days after being served with a written copy of the Administrative Law
Judge’s Decision and Order.

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-46 describes the contents of the Petition and requires
service of the Petition on all parties. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-47 requires the Office of
Administrative Hearings to file the official record in the contested case with the Clerk of
Superior Court within 30 days of receipt of the Petition for Judicial Review. To ensure
the timely filing of the record, the appealing party must send a copy of the Petition for
Judicial Review to the Office of Administrative Hearings when the appeal is initiated.

This M\ day of February, 2014.

Jm A uO&/ﬂ/)/ﬁ@%’ W

ssa Owens Lassiter
Ad {nistrative Law Judge

10
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA !

COUNTY OF WAKE

=1l IN THE OFFICE OF

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
13 DHR 19981

SUSAN ARROWOOD, OLPC, #.ivi
Petitioner,

v.

N.C. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

HUMAN SERVICES, DIVISION OF

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE and its Agent

PARTNERS BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
MANAGEMENT,

Respondents.

FINAL DECISION
ORDER OF DISMISSAL

THIS MATTER came on for hearing on December 30, 2013 before the undersigned
Administrative Law Judge, Augustus B. Elkins II, in Raleigh, North Carolina. A Petition for a
Contested Case Hearing was filed by Petitioner, Susan Arrowood, OLPC (“Petitioner”) with the
Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) on December 9, 2013 along with a Motion for Stay,
Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) and Preliminary Injunction. The Undersigned partially
granted the TRO on December 20, 2013. The Undersigned allowed Partners Behavioral Health
Management (“Partners”) and N.C. Department of Health and Human Services, Division of
Medical Assistance (DHHS/DMA) to present Motions to Dismiss for lack of subject matter
jurisdiction in writing inasmuch as the Motions had been made orally during the TRO hearing.
The Undersigned requested that all parties file supporting memoranda as to their positions on

whether the OAH has jurisdiction over the subject matter of Petitioner’s claims.

APPEARANCES

For Petitioner:

Knicole Emanuel

Williams Mullen
301 Fayetteville St., Suite 1700
Raleigh, NC 27601

For Respondent
DHHS/DMA:

Thomas J. Campbell

Assistant Attorney General
Public Assistance Section
N.C. Department of Justice

P.O. Box 629

Raleigh, NC 27602-0629
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For Respondent

Partners: Nancy B. Paschall
Mullen Holland & Cooper P.A.
PO Box 488

Gastonia, NC 28053-0488

AFTER CONSIDERING the Motions, Responses, Pleadings, Affidavits, Memoranda
and arguments of counsel and for good cause shown, the Undersigned makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Division of Medical Assistance section of Respondent State Agency,
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS/DMA), is responsible for administering and
managing North Carolina’s Medicaid plan and program. Pursuant to North Carolina General
Statutes § 108A-54, DHHS/DMA is authorized to adopt rules, regulations, and policy for
program operation.

2. Partners is a multi-county area mental health, developmental disabilities and
substance abuse authority established pursuant to North Carolina General Statutes § 122C-115.
Partners is a local management entity/managed care organization (LME/MCO) that is
responsible for the management and oversight of the public system of mental health,
developmental disabilities and substance abuse services at the communmity level. Partners
contracts with the DHHS/DMA to manage the Medicaid benefits of its consumers. In doing so,
Partners operates as a Prepaid Inpatient Health Plan (PTHP), receiving a finite amount of funding
from the State to manage the provision of Medicaid benefits to consumers in its catchment area.

3. Partners is the Department’s legally authorized agent and contractor, which,
acting within the scope of its authorized activities, assesses, authorizes, manages, reviews, audits,
and monitors services pursuant to the Social Security Act, the North Carolina State Plan of
Medical Assistance, and the waivers of the federal Medicaid Act granted by the United States
Department of Health and Human Services.

4. As a LME/MCO/PIHP, Partners is responsible for recruiting, developing, and
overseeing a comprehensive provider network within its area of authority that assures access to
care for all Medicaid enrollees in the applicable Medicaid waiver program. Because Partners
contracts with providers under the applicable Medicaid waiver program, if a provider does not
have a contract with Partners, that provider cannot participate in the Medicaid waiver that
Partners operates.

5. Petitioner Susan Arrowood, OLPC is a provider of mental health and substance
abuse services in Morganton, NC and surrounding areas. Petitioner assists consumers, including
Medicaid recipients, in preventing, overcoming, and managing deficits caused by mental health
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and/or substance abuse issues. Petitioner is a provider who serves Medicaid recipients inside
Partners’ catchment area pursuant to a contract with Partners.

6. Partners is a limited, local agent of DHHS/DMA and has general authority to
enter into contracts with both DHHS/DMA and Petitioner. The contract between DHHS/DMA
and Partners requires Partners to provide a process for provider appeals.

7. Petitioner and Partners entered into a contract setting forth conditions of the
contract including processes for disputing termination. Partners established its disputes policies
and procedures setting forth the review for properly and timely established grievances. The
Procurement Contract between Partners and Petitioner provides that the dispute resolution
process and appeals process is outlined in the Provider Manual.

8. In accordance with the contract, Partners established a Participating Provider
Disputes Policy and Procedure (“Policy”). The Provider Disputes Policy outlines the steps a
provider should take in order to review and contest a decision involving the provider’s status
within the network. Two levels of panel review are provided. The Policy states that written
notification of the panel decision will be sent to the provider. Included in the written notification
is information about the participating provider’s right to appeal to the State Appeals Panel and
the mechanism to request such reconsideration.

9. On November 25, 2013, Partners notified Petitioner in writing that it was
terminating its contract with Petitioner with cause on January 1, 2014,

10. Petitioner was informed in the November 25, 2013 letter that it could “dispute the
decision of Partners. . .”. Petitioner was informed that a formal written request to dispute the
decision must be submitted within twenty-one (21) calendar days. The letter further informed
Petitioner that the decision of Partners shall be considered final if a reconsideration request was
not received. The Participating Provider Disputes Policy and the Dispute Resolution Form was
included with the letter. '

11.  Petitioner did not submit a request for reconsideration or avail herself of the

Provider Disputes Policy prior to filing her case with OAHL At no point did Petitioner follow the

Provider Dispute Policy and Procedure. Petitioner did not complete the Provider Dispute
Resolution Form, nor did she appeal the contract termination in any manner at the Partners level.

12. DHHS/DMA did not independently take any action against the Petitioner.
DHHS/DMA incorporated the arguments made by Partners that Petitioner failed to exhaust all
administrative remedies at her disposal in the DHHS/DMA memorandum filed with the OAH.

13, Respondents Partners and DHHS/DMA presented written arguments that OAH
does not have jurisdiction over provider appeals for contractual termination from an LME/MCO
with references to North Carolina General Statutes § 150B and 108(C). The Undersigned, at the
beginning of oral arguments, stated these arguments would not be considered at this time as part
of its decision on the Motions to Dismiss, wishing to focus solely on the issue of Petitioner’s
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failure to exhaust her administrative remedies. Counsel for Partners requested that the arguments
made in writing be preserved as being made in the record and the Undersigned so noted.

BASED UPON the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Undersigned makes the following:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
1. The parties received proper notice of the motions and the hearing in this matter.
2. To the extent that the Findings of Fact contain Conclusions of Law, or that the

Conclusions of Law are Findings of Fact, they should be so considered without regard to the
given labels. Bonnie Ann F. v Callahan Indep. Sch. Bd., 835 F. Supp. 340 (1993). A court need
not make findings as to every fact that arises from the evidence and need only find those facts
which are material to the settlement of the dispute. Flanders v. Gabriel, 110 N.C. App. 438,
440, 429 S.E.2d 611, 612, aff’d, 335 N.C. 234, 436 S.E.2d 588 (1993).

3. “Questions of subject matter jurisdiction may properly be raised at any point,
even in the Supreme Court." Forsyth County Bd. of Social Services v. Division of Social
Services, 317 N.C. 689, 346 S.E.2d 414 (1986) (citations omitted). Williams v. New Hanover
County Bd. of Educ., 104 N.C.App. 425, 409 S.E.2d 753 (1991) (quoting Harrell v. Whisenant,

53 N.C.App. 615, 281 S.E.2d 453 (1981)).

4. The contractual provision which provides for a local reconsideration review is a
valid and binding provision within the contract. Such a provision is reasonable and is required of
both the LME/MCO/PIHP and the Petitioner.

5. North Carolina statutes require that providers exhaust the appeals process at the
area authority (LME/MCO) level and then proceed to the State Appeals Panel. North Carolina
General Statute § 122C-151.3 requires that an area authority establish written procedures for
resolving disputes over decisions of an area authority that may be appealed to the State
MH/DD/SA Appeals Panel.

6. North Carolina General Statute § 122C-151.4 describes the process of appeal for
contractors (providers) who: (i) claim that an area authority has not acted within applicable State
law or rules in imposing particular requirements; (ii) claim that a particular requirement of the
contract substantially compromises the ability of the contractor to fulfill the contract; or (iii) that
the area authority has acted arbitrarily or capriciously in reducing funding for the type of services
provided by the contractor.

7. North Carolina General Statute § 122C-151.4(f) further states that a person who is
dissatisfied with a decision of the State MH/DD/SA Appeals Panel may commence a contested
case under Chapter 150B. The statute further provides that : “If the need to first appeal to the
State ME/DD/SA Appeals Panel is waived by the Secretary, a contractor may appeal directly to
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the Office of Administrative Hearings affer having exhausted the appeals process at the
appropriate area authority. . .” (Emphasis added.)

8. The Petitioner failed to exhaust the appeals process at the area authority
(LME/MCO) level as required by N.C. General Statutes.

9. The OAH is a court of limited jurisdiction, and cannot exercise jurisdiction over
matters or entities unless specifically authorized by statute. Empire Power Co. v. N.C.
Department of Environment and Natural Resources, 337 N.C. 569, 586; 447 S.E.2d 768, 788
(1994) (“There is no inherent right to appeal from an administrative decision to either OAH or
the courts.”); Gummels v. N.C. Department of Human Resources, 98 N.C. App. 675, 677; 392
S.E.2d 113, 114 (1990) (“. . . because the right to appeal to an administrative agency is granted
by statute, compliance with statutory provisions is necessary to sustain the appeal.”)

10.  The Petitioner did not avail herself of the local appeals process as required by the
contract between the parties or the applicable statutes. Where a Petitioner does not follow
statutory requirements for submitting an appeal, the OAH does not acquire jurisdiction over the
subject matter of the case. See Nailing v. UNC-CH, 117 N.C. App. 318; 451 S.E.2d 351 (1994),
disc. rev. denied, 339 N.C. 614; 454 S.E.2d 255 (1995).

11. “An action is properly dismissed under Rule 12(b)(1) for lack of subject maﬁer
jurisdiction where the plaintiff has failed to exhaust administrative remedies.”  Johnson v.
University of N.C., 202 N.C. App. 355, 357; 688 S.E.2d 546, 548 (2010).

12. OAH lacks subject matter jurisdiction based upon (a) the contractual terms
between the parties; (b) the statutory requirements for provider disputes w1th LME/MCO area
authorities; and (c) the limited jurisdiction of OAH.

13. The local reconsideration review policy promotes efficiency by providing the
LME/MCO the opportunity to correct its own mistakes and further provides a process of
administrative remedies for the parties to try to resolve their controversy through informal
procedures at the lowest level possible.

14.  Asserting jurisdiction in a case were a petitioner has failed to exhaust
administrative remedies could open a flood gate of provider cases to OAH which could then
become the only arbiter of all contract terminations of LME/MCOs, contrary to systems set up
by the federal and state governments.

15. A court should dismiss an action for want of subject matter jurisdiction if the
moving party is entitled to prevail as a matter of law.” Evans v. B.F. Perkins Co., 166 F.3d 642,
647 (4th Cir.1999) (quoting Richmond, Fredericksburg & Potomac R. Co. v. United States, 945
F.2d 765, 768 (4th Cir.1991)).

16.  When reviewing a motion to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction
pursuant to Rule 12(b), a trial court may consider and weigh matters outside the pleadings. See
Department of Transportation v. Blue, 147 N.C. App. 596, 556 S.E.2d 609 (2001).

29:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2014

370



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

17.  Administrative tribunals only have such authority as is properly conferred upon
them by the Legislature. State ex rel. Utilities Comm’n v. Carolina Utility Customers Ass’n,
Inc., 336 N.C. 657, 446 S.E.2d 332 (1994); Meads v. N.C. Dep’t of Agriculture, 349 N.C. 656,
509 S.E.2d 165 (1998). '

18.  Where it is obvious that the Court lacks the authority to hear a matter, the Court is
precluded from exercising its jurisdiction and is therefore obliged to dismiss the case. Lovern v.
Edwards, 190 F.3d 648 (4th Cir.1999).

19.  Petitioner failed to exhaust her administrative remedies. The Respondent is
entitled to a dismissal of the Petition because of the Petitioner’s premature filing of his Petition.
Because dismissal has been found appropriate based on the lack of subject matter jurisdiction,
the Undersigned has no need to address any further basis of Respondent’s motion.

FINAL DECISION

NOW, THEREFORE, based on the foregoing, the Undersigned hereby finds proper
authoritative support of the Conclusions of Law noted above and grants the Respondent Partners
Behavioral Health Management’s Motion to Dismiss the whole of the Petition brought by
Petitioner. The North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings lacks subject matter
jurisdiction to hear the case and dismissal is appropriate and proper pursuant to N.C. GEN.
STAT. § 1A-1, Rule 12(b) of the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure. It is hereby
ORDERED that this contested case be DISMISSED without prejudice.

NOTICE

THIS IS A FINAL DECISION issued under the authority of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-33
and N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-34.

Under the provisions of North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 150B, Article 4, any
party wishing to appeal the Final Decision of the Administrative Law Judge must file a Petition
for Judicial Review in the Superior Court of the county in which the party resides. The
appealing party must file the petition within 30 days after being served with a written copy of the
Administrative Law Judge’s Final Decision. N.C. Gen. Stat. §150B-46 describes the contents of
the Petition and requires service of the Petition on all parties.

Tn conformity with the Office of Administrative Hearings’ Rules, and the Rules of Civil
Procedure, N.C. General Statute 1A-1, Article 2, this Final Decision was served on the parties
the date it was placed in the mail as indicated by the date on the Certificate of Service attached to
this Final Decision.
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Under N.C. Gen. Stat. §150B-47, the Office of Administrative Hearings is required to file
the official record in the contested case with the Clerk of Superior Court within 30 days of
receipt of the Petition for Judicial Review. Consequently, a copy of the Petition for Judicial
Review must be sent to the Office of Administrative Hearings at the time the appeal is initiated
in order to ensure the timely filing of the record.

IT IS SO ORDERED, nunc pro tunc, the 30t day of December, 2013.

Signed and entered this the 7th day of January, 20

. o
Wisty UL s E
Auguktué/B. Elkins, IT
Administrative Law Judge Presiding
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FILED
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
1/712014 9:31 AM
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
COUNTY OF MOORE 13DOJ11693
WILLIAM DALE AARONSON
PETITIONER,
V.
PROPOSAL FOR DECISION

N C SHERIFFS’ EDUCATION AND
TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
RESPONDENT.

L

On November 26, 2013, Administrative Law Judge J. Randall May heard this case in

High Point, North Carolina. This case was heard after Respondent requested, pursuant to

N.C.G.S. § 150B-40(e), the designation of an administrative Jaw judge to preside at the hearing
of a contested case under Article 3A, Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes.

APPEARANCES

Petitioner: William Dale Aaronson, Pro Se
10561 Doe Run Drive
Marston, North Carolina 28363

For Respondent: Matthew L. Boyatt, Assistant Attorney General
Attorney for Respondent
NC Department of Justice
9001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-9001

ISSUES
Has the Petitioner committed or been convicted of any combination of four (4) or more
crimes or unlawful acts defined as either Class A or Class B misdemeanors pursuant to the
Commissions’ Rules, such that Petitioner’s application for certification is subject to denial?

Has Petitioner committed the felony offense of Financial Card Fraud?

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Both parties are properly before this Administrative Law Judge, in that
Jurisdiction and venue are proper, both parties received notice of hearing, and that the Petitioner
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received by mail the proposed Denial of Justice Officer’s Certification letter mailed by
Respondent Sheriffs’ Commission on March 20, 2013.

2. The North Carolina Sheriffs’ Education and Training Standards Commission
(hereinafter referred to as the “Commission” or “Sheriffs’ Commission”) has the authority
granted under Chapter 17E of the North Carolina General Statutes and Title 12 of the North
Carolina Administrative Code, Chapter 10B, to certify justice officers and to deny, revoke, or
suspend such certification.

3. Petitioner is an applicant for justice officer certification through the Scotland
County Sheriff’s Office.

4. 12 NCAC 10B. 0204(d)(5) states the Sheriffs’ Commission may deny the
certification of a justice officer when the Commission finds that the applicant has committed or
been convicted of:

(5)  Any combination of four or more crimes or unlawful acts
defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0103 (10)(a) as a Class A misdemeanor
or defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0103 (10)(b) as a Class B
misdemeanor regardless of the date of commission or conviction.

5. 12 NCAC 10B. 0204(a)(1) further provides:

(a) The Commission shall revoke or deny the certification of a
justice officer when the Commission finds that the applicant for
certification or the certified officer has committed or been
convicted of:

1) a felony

6. The Petitioner testified at the administrative hearing and does not dispute that he
has been convicted of six (6) misdemeanor offenses, as set out in greater detail below.

7. On January 27, 1998, Petitioner was convicted of misdemeanor worthless check
in violation of N.C.G.S. § 14-107 (d)(1) in Richmond County, North Carolina; Case No. 1996
CR 005785. (Respondent’s Exhibit 3)

8. On August 8, 1996, Petitioner was convicted of misdemeanor worthless check in
violation of N.C.G.S. § 14-107 (d)(1) in Richmond County, North Carolina; Case No. 1996 CR
005043. (Respondent’s Exhibit 3)

9. On August 8, 1996, Petitioner was convicted of misdemeanor assault in violation
of N.C.G.S. § 14-33(a) in Richmond County, North Carolina; Case No. 1996 CR 005040.
(Respondent’s Exhibit 3) .
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10. On August 8, 1996, Petitioner was also convicted of misdemeanor carrying a
concealed gun in violation of N.C.G.S. § 14-269 (al) in Richmond County, North Carolina; Case
No. 1996 CR 005041. (Respondent’s Exhibit 3)

11. On August 8, 1996, Petitioner was also convicted of a second count of
misdemeanor assault in violation of N.C.G.S. § 14-33 (a) in Richmond County, North Carolina;
Case No. 1996 CR 005042. (Respondent’s Exhibit 3)

12. On April 8, 1994, Petitioner was convicted of misdemeanor financial card fraud in
violation of N.C.G.S. § 14-113.13 in Forsyth County, North Carolina; Case No. 1994 CR
001384. (Respondent’s Exhibit 3)

13. Petitioner was ordered by the court to pay restitution in the amount of $800.00 as
a result of Petitioner’s misdemeanor financial card fraud conviction in 1994 CR 001384. In
addition, Petitioner was placed on probation for 2 years and was ordered to pay attorney’s fees
and to obtain his high school diploma. Petitioner paid the $800.00 in restitution and complied
with the court’s remaining order.

14.  Pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0103 (10) (a), and the Class B Misdemeanor Manual
adopted by the Respondent, the criminal offenses of issuing a worthless check, simple assault,
and carrying a concealed gun are each classified as Class A misdemeanors.

15. Petitioner has been convicted of five (5) Class A misdemeanors: 1) misdemeanor
worthless check, 1996 CR 005785; 2) misdemeanor worthless check 1996 CR 005043; 3) simple
assault 1996 CR 005040; 4) carrying a concealed gun, 1996 CR 005041; and 5) simple assault,
1996 CR 005042.

16. Pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0103 (10) (b), and the Class B Misdemeanor Manual
adopted by the Respondent, the criminal offense of misdemeanor financial card fraud in violation
of N.C.G.S. § 14-133.13 constitutes a Class B misdemeanor. The record establishes that
Petitioner has been convicted of the Class B misdemeanor offense of financial card fraud in case
No. 1994 CR 001384.

17. Petitioner testified regarding the two simple assault convictions and the carrying a
concealed gun conviction set out above. These offenses arose out of the same incident.
Petitioner and his friends were fooling around and were throwing glass bottles at a sign.
Petitioner stated two (2) by standards were struck by glass as the bottles shattered. When the
police arrived, Petitioner was found to be in possession of a concealed handgun. Petitioner and
his friends were charged criminally. Petitioner accepted responsibility for his actions and
pleaded guilty when he appeared in court. The criminal charges against Petitioner’s friends were
later dismissed when the victims failed to appear in court on the second setting. Petitioner was
19 years old when these events occurred.

18. Regarding the two (2) worthless check convictions, Petitioner believes these were

an honest mistake on his part. Petitioner did not have funds sufficient to cover the checks when
Petitioner issued them. Petitioner accepted responsibility for his actions and paid restitution in

3
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full when he pleaded guilty to these two (2) charges. Petitioner was also 19 years old when he
issued the worthless checks.

19.  With regard to the financial card fraud, Petitioner was honest and forthright
regarding his unlawful activity. In August of 1993 Petitioner visited his step- grandparents,
Anthony and June Pierce, in Kernersville, North Carolina. Petitioner was staying with them for
approximately two (2) weeks. During this visit, June Pierce showed Petitioner how to use a debit
card. Petitioner admitted that the purpose of this was to show Petitioner how the card worked.
Petitioner was not given permission by either June or Anthony Pierce to take the ATM bank card
or to otherwise withdraw funds with the ATM bank card.

20.  On August 19, 1993, Petitioner snuck his step-grandparent’s ATM bank card
from a dresser in their home. Petitioner then went to the bank on his bicycle and proceeded to
withdraw $300.00 without the knowledge or consent of either Anthony or June Pierce. Petitioner
returned the card to the dresser undetected. At no point during his visit did Petitioner let either
June or Anthony Pierce know that Petitioner had taken their ATM bank card, or that he had
fraudulently withdrawn $300.00 from their account. Petitioner does not recall what he spent the
money on specifically, but Petitioner does admit that he used the money for various personal
items and that he spent all the money prior to getting caught.

21.  When Petitioner returned home from his August 1993 trip to visit his step-
grandparents, Petitioner concealed from his mother that he had fraudulently withdrawn $300.00
from Anthony and June Pierce’s bank account without their knowledge or consent. The
Petitioner continued to spend the $300.00 he stole after his return home and made no effort to
disclose this to his parents or step-grandparents.

22.  Five (5) months later, Petitioner visited Anthony and June Pierce again in
Kernersville during the month of January 1994. On January 3, 1994, Petitioner snuck his step-
grandparent’s ATM bank card for the second time without the knowledge or consent of either
June or Anthony Pierce. Petitioner went to the bank on his bicycle and withdrew $500.00 from
the Pierce’s bank account without the knowledge or consent of either June or Anthony Pierce.
Petitioner returned the ATM bank card to the dresser undetected. At no point during his January
1994 visit did Petitioner let either June or Anthony Pierce know that Petitioner had taken their
ATM bank card, or that he had fraudulently withdrawn $500.00 from their account. Petitioner
does not recall what he spent the $500.00 on specifically, but Petitioner does admit that he used
the money for various personal items and that he spent all the money prior to getting caught.

23. When DPetitioner returned home from his January 1994 visit at his step-
grandparents, Petitioner concealed from his mother that he had fraudulently withdrawn $500.00
from Anthony and June Pierce’s bank account without their knowledge or consent. The
Petitioner continued to spend the $500.00 he stole after his return home and made no effort to
disclose this to his parents or step-grandparents.

24. At some point following his January 1994 visit with his step-grandparents,
Petitioner left for Job Corps in Kentucky. It was not until his return home from Job Corps that
Petitioner learned that he had been caught stealing from his step-grandparents. Petitioner’s step-
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grandparents noticed the discrepancy in their bank account on the second $500.00 transaction,
and were able to identify Petitioner as the one who took the money through the video
surveillance from the ATM machine at their bank.

25.  Petitioner admits that he stole from his step-grandparents. Petitioner admits that
he stole a total of $800.00 through two (2) separate ATM transactions. Petitioner did not have
the consent of Anthony and/or June Pierce when these transactions were made, or any time
thereafter. Petitioner testified that Anthony Pierce pursued the criminal charges in order to teach
Petitioner a life lesson.

26. As a condition of Petitioner’s misdemeanor financial card fraud conviction,
Petitioner was ordered to pay restitution to his step-grandparents in the amount of $800.00 for
the two (2) fraudulent bank card withdrawals on August 19, 1993 and January 3, 1994,

27.  Petitioner regrets his actions and is remorseful that he stole $800.00 from his step-
grandparents in two fraudulent bank card transactions. Petitioner was 17 years old when he
engaged in this unlawful activity. At that time, Petitioner was living at home with his mother.
Petitioner did not pay rent at that time and Petitioner had no other expenses such as a car
payment or insurance premiums. Petitioner no longer has contact with his step-grandparents.

28.  Petitioner committed the felony offense of financial card fraud within the
meaning of N.C.G.S. § 14-133.13. Petitioner took the Pierce’s ATM bank card on August 19,
1993 and again on January 3, 1994 without their knowledge and without their consent. Within a
six-month period, Petitioner used the ATM bank card at a bank ATM on the two above-
referenced dates to fraudulently withdraw a total of $800.00. Petitioner took the money and
converted it to his own personal use without the knowledge or consent of the cardholders,
Anthony and June Pierce. Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 133.13 and N.C.G.S. § 113.17(b), Petitioner’s
fraudulent withdrawals constitute a felony because the amount of the two transactions was in

excess of $500.00.

29. Despite Petitioner’s criminal - record, Petitioner has been employed by the
Scotland County Sheriff’s Office in a probationary status for approximately 16 months. At the
administrative hearing, Petitioner introduced into the record a letter of support from Scotland
County Sheriff Shep Jones. Sheriff Jones believes Petitioner is an excellent and hard-working
officer who has provided exemplary service to the Sheriff’s Office. Sheriff Jones is hopeful
Petitioner can resolve his issues with the Sheriffs’ Commission in order to continue his service
with the Scotland County Sheriff’s Office.

30.  The Petitioner also has previous law enforcement experience. Petitioner has
previously received certification through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Commission. Petitioner worked for the Wagram Police Department for
approximately four (4) years. Petitioner introduced into the record a letter of support from Chief
of Police K. Locklear. Chief Locklear characterized Petitioner as an exceptional police officer
and recommended that the Sheriffs’ Commission issue Petitioner his General Certification in
order to become a sworn deputy.
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31. Based on the evidence presented at the administrative hearing, including
Petitioner’s sworn testimony and the exhibits introduced into the record, this court finds that
Petitioner has been convicted of four (4) or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as either Class
A or Class B misdemeanors pursuant to the Commission’s Rules, such that Petitioner’s
application for certification is subject to denial pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0204 (d)(5) and 12
NCAC 10B .0205. The court further finds that Petitioner committed the felony offense of
financial card fraud within the meaning of N.C.G.S. § 14-113.13, such that Petitioner’s
application for certification is subject to denial pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0204 (a)(1) and 12
NCAC 10B .0205.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Both parties are properly before this Administrative Law Judge, in that
jurisdiction and venue are proper, both parties received notice of hearing, and that the Petitioner
received by mail the proposed Denial of Justice Officer’s Certification letter mailed by
Respondent Sheriffs’ Commission on March 20, 2013.

2. Pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B. 0204(a)(1), the Commission shall deny the
certification of a justice officer when the Commission finds that the applicant for certification or
the certified officer has committed or been convicted of a felony.

3. Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 14-113.13, an individual commits the felony offense of
financial transaction card fraud when he obtains money, with the intent to defraud the lawful
card holder, by representing that he is the lawful holder of a financial transaction card when in
fact he does not have the consent of the lawful card holder and is not authorized to withdraw the
funds. If within a six (6) month period the individual unlawfully withdraws over $500.00, the
offense is classified as a Class I felony pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 14-113.13 and N.C.G.S. § 14-
113.17(b).

In the case at bar, Petitioner used the ATM bank card of Anthony and June Pierce
without their knowledge or consent to fraudulently withdraw a total of $800.00 from the bank
account of Anthony and June Pierce within a 5 month period. On August 19, 1993, Petitioner
fraudulently withdrew $300.00 from the Pierce’s bank account without their knowledge or
consent. Petitioner spent this money on himself and made no effort to disclose to his step-
grandparents that he had stolen money from them. On January 3, 1994, Petitioner again
fraudulently withdrew $500.00 from the Pierce’s bank account without their knowledge or
consent. Petitioner again spent this money on himself and made no effort to disclose to his step-
grandparents that he had stolen money from them. On each occasion, Petitioner snuck the
Pierce’s ATM bank card from a dresser within the Pierce home with the intent to fraudulently
withdraw money without permission for his personal use. Petitioner knew he was not entitled to
these funds. Petitioner admits that he stole from his step-grandparents and is remorseful for his
action. The record establishes Petitioner committed the class I felony offense of financial
transaction card fraud within the meaning of N.C.G.S. § 14-113.13 and Petitioner’s application
for certification should therefore be denied pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B. 0204(a)(1).
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4. Pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0204(d)(5), the Commission may revoke, suspend, or
deny the certification of a justice officer when the Commission finds that the applicant for
certification or certified officer has committed or been convicted of:

(5)  Any combination of four or more crimes or unlawful acts
defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(10)(a) as a Class A misdemeanor
or defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(10)(b) as a Class B
misdemeanor regardless of the date of commission or conviction.

5. Pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0103(2), “convicted” or “conviction” means and
includes, for purposes of that Chapter, the entry of (a) a plea of guilty; (b) a verdict or finding of
guilt by a jury, judge, magistrate, or other duly constituted, established, and recognized
adjudicating body, tribunal, or official, either civilian or military; or (c) a plea of no contest, nolo
contendere, or the equivalent.

_ 0. Pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0205(3)(d), when the Commission denies the
certification of a justice officer, the period of sanction shall be for an indefinite period, but
continuing so long as the stated deficiency, infraction, or impairment continues to exist, where
the cause of sanction is commission or conviction of offenses as specified in 12 NCAC 10B

0204(d)(5).

7. The criminal offenses of simple assault under N.C.G.S. § 14-33 (a), carrying a
concealed gun under N.C.G.S. § 14-269 (al), and misdemeanor worthless check under N.C.G.S.
§ 14-107 (d)(1), are each classified as Class A misdemeanors pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0103
(10)(a) and the Class B Misdemeanor Manual adopted by Respondent. The record in this case
establishes that Petitioner has been convicted of five (5) separate Class A misdemeanors as
follows: 1) misdemeanor worthless check, 1996 CR 005785; 2) misdemeanor worthless check
1996 CR 005043; 3) simple assault 1996 CR 005040; 4) carrying a concealed gun, 1996 CR
005041; and 5) simple assault, 1996 CR 005042.

8. The criminal offense of misdemeanor financial card fraud under N.C.G.S. § 14-
113.13 is classified as a Class B misdemeanor pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0103 (10)(b) and the
Class B Misdemeanor Manual adopted by the Respondent. The record in this case establishes
that Petitioner was convicted of misdemeanor financial card fraud on April 8, 1994; 1994 CR

001384.

9. Petitioner has a total of six (6) criminal convictions classified as Class A and/or
Class B misdemeanors pursuant to the Commission’s Rules, as set out in greater detail above.
Petitioner’s application for certification is therefore subject to denial pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B
.0204(d)(5). All convictions occurred over ten (10) years ago.

10.  Pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0205, the Respondent may, in its discretion, reduce or
suspend the period of sanction imposed for the Petitioner’s record of a combination of four or
more Class A or Class B misdemeanor convictions “when extenuating circumstances brought out
at the administrative hearing warrant such a reduction or suspension.” k
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PROPOSAL FOR DPECISION

Based upon the foregoing FINDINGS OF FACT and CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, the
undersigned finds that the Petitioner has committed the felony offense of financial transaction
card fraud and has been convicted of six (6) misdemeanor offenses as set out in greater detail
above. As to the felony offense [12 NCAC 10B. 0204(a)(1)] and because of the extenuating
circumstances regarding Petitioner’s relationship with the victims (his grandparents); Petitioner’s
age (17 years of age) at the time of the offense (1993); and his unblemished career as a police
officer; it is RECOMMENDED that the Commission consider waiving the requirement of a
permanent suspension and, instead, SUSPEND his suspension with a term of probation.

NOTICE AND ORDER

The North Carolina Sheriffs’ Education and Training Standards Commission is the
agency that will make the Final Decision in this contested case. As the final decision-maker, that
agency is required to give each party an opportunity to file exceptions to this proposal for
decision, to submit proposed findings of fact, and to present oral and written arguments to the
agency pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-40(e).

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the final decision on the Office of
Administrative Hearings, 6714 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-6714.

This the 7th day of January, 2014.

J. Randall May -
ninidtrative Law Judge
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA o IN THE OFFICE OF
w3 eer 5 o0 g~ ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
COUNTY OF MADISON 13 OSP 12223

CHAUNCEY JOHN LEDFORD
PETITIONER
V. FINAL DECISION

NC DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
RESPONDENT

N S o SN

This contested case was heard before Fred Gilbert Morrison Jr., Senior

Administrative Law Judge, in Raleigh, North Carolina, on December 2, 3, & 4, 2013. On
December 27, 2013, the parties filed proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law.

APPEARANCES

For Petitioner: Larry B. Leake
Jamie A. Stokes
LEAKE & STOKES
Attorneys at Law
1 West Pack Square, Suite 501
Asheville, NC 28801

For Respondent:  Joseph Finarelli
~ Special Deputy Attorney General
Jodi Harrison
Assistant Attorney General
NC Department of Justice
P. O. Box 629
Raleigh, NC 27602

ISSUE

Whether the termination of Petitioner's employment as an ALE Special Agent
was a result of discrimination based upon his political affiliation? .
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STATUTES AND RULES IN ISSUE

N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 126-34, 34.1 & 36

FINDINGS OF FACT

Petitioner Chauncey John Ledford was born on July 8, 1965, in Buncombe County,
North Carolina. He graduated from Madison County High School in 1983. Petitioner
registered as a Democrat at age 18. His father, also a Democrat, served as a member of
the Madison County Board of Commissioners for twenty years. Following high school,
Petitioner worked in his family’s business for several years before serving three years (April
1990-September 1993) as a Buncombe County Deputy Sheriff.

Petitioner served 5 years (September 1993-November 1998) as an ALE Special
Agent with then CCPS which is now DPS before being elected Sheriff of Madison County.
He served as sheriff from December 1998 to October 2009 when he was appointed
Director of ALE (policy-making exempt) by Governor Beverly Perdue (Democrat) upon the
recommendation of her appointed Secretary of Crime Control & Public Safety, Reuben
Young. During seven (2002-2009) of his eleven years as sheriff, Petitioner also was a
Special Agent Reserve with ALE.

In addition to his years of service as a deputy sheriff, ALE Special Agent, Sheriff,
ALE Reserve Agent, & ALE Director, Petitioner completed hundreds of hours of law
enforcement training, including at the FBI Academy, the Drug Enforcement School &
Academy, SWAT (SOG) & BLET. He was well-qualified to be an ALE Agent Advanced.

In late 2012 Petitioner decided that he would like to return to the field as an ALE
Special Agent. He discussed this desire with DPS Secretary Reuben Young and made a
written request to him on November 27, 2012. Secretary Young, pursuant to his statutory
authority in G. S. 18B-500, 143B-10, 126-5(e) & (f), approved the request by memo dated
December 19, 2012, after clearing it with his CEO/Chief Deputy Secretary, his Human

" Resources Director, Governor Perdue, and her chief of staff. The interim director at the

Office of State Personnel had also been contacted and approved the personnel action.
There was a position vacancy in Wilmington, an agent retiring in Asheville, a greater need
for an agent in Asheville, so the Petitioner was demoted from SG 83 to SG 72 and
reassigned to the Asheville District effective January 1, 2013, with a 41% reduction in pay
(from $110,000 to $65,887 annually, which was within limits allowed by policy ). Although
there was a continual posting for ALE agent, there was no need for a posting for this
transaction as it was a demotion/transfer/reassignment by Secretary Young and the agency
was not openly recruiting in this instance. Upon his return to the field, Petitioner performed
very well, leading in arrests and being recognized once as agent of the month. He was no
longer in a policy-making exempt position, rather he had become a probationary employee
in a non-exempt job who had to serve two years before being recognized as a career state
employee under the State Personnel Act. His supervisor had no concerns nor had he
received any complaints about how Petitioner performed his duties.
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Pat McCrory (Republican) was elected as governor in the November 2012 election.
When his transition team met with DPS officials they asked whether any exempt employees
were being placed in non-exempt positions and were told about the plans for Petitioner.
When he was told of a negative comment from a Republican state senator about Petitioner
being reassigned, new DPS Secretary Kieran Shanahan (Republican) remarked: “That
should not have happened.” Incoming officials were disappointed Petitioner was no longer
in a policy-making exempt position subject to dismissal without rights for another position.

On or about February 6 and February 16, 2013, two disgruntled ALE agents who .

had been disciplined (one by Petitioner) filed internal grievances complaining about salary
inequities and the manner in which Petitioner had been demoted and assigned to Asheville
at a salary higher than other agents. The first grievant had outside help in preparing his
grievance and shared it with the second grievant who filed the same. On March 4 and
March 12, 2013, DPS Secretary Shanahan advised the two agents that their appeals did
not contain any issue(s) that are grievable pursuant to State Law or Agency Policy. The
grievants did not seek a contested case hearing regarding Petitioner's demotion/transfer as
provided by G. S. 126-36.2 and there was no evidence that any other agent had.

DPS Commissioner of Law Enforcement Frank Perry by memo dated April 10, 2013,
advised Petitioner that he was being terminated from state service because his
participation in the events leading to the demotion could not be viewed as anything other
than unacceptable personal conduct. Commissioner Perry did not prepare the dismissal
memo, did not know who did, nor did he know why two different versions were prepared.
He cited the two grievances which had been dismissed by Secretary Shanahan as the
reason for his looking into the matter further. He had read about Petitioner's demotion in
the News & Observer’s political section (Under the Dome). He knew nothing about
Petitioner's qualifications, never sought information from him, Secretary Young, his
deputies, or his HR personnel. He signed an official criminal justice training and standards
form attesting that Petitioner had not been under investigation for any alleged misconduct.
Perry also ignored suggestions from employee relations and state personnel
representatives to maintain the status quo or move the position and Petitioner to
Wilmington. He was advised that Petitioner could appeal disciplinary action based upon
political affiliation, but did not so notify Petitioner in his termination memo.

Petitioner was not given notice of the charges against him; never afforded
an opportunity to tell his side of the story as to whether he had in fact violated any statutes,
rules or regulations; and his former superiors were not involved in Perry’s investigation. His
prior colleagues in DPS/ALE testified that they had never heard of an employee not being
offered these opportunities which were required by ALE's internal disciplinary policy. When
Secretary Shanahan received an email on April 17, 2013, with attached news story about
Petitioner’s dismissal, he forwarded it at 9:47pm to Governor McCrory’s chief of staff “to let
him and G” know that Petitioner had been fired, thus suggesting it was a political concern.
In Perry’s April memo, he related concerning a-new Department head and Petitioner: “—
inevitable that you would be separated from state service----." Petitioner was a marked
man politically following the 2012 election for governor.
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Petitioner’s evidence showed that over the years, including until he was terminated,
he had served the ALE Division with commitment, dedication and loyalty. His last
performance evaluation rated him as “Outstanding”, the highest possible for employees. He
has not been the subject of sanction by any law enforcement licensing board.

On May 8, 2013, Petitioner filed a Petition For A Contested Case Hearing claiming
therein that he had been wrongfully terminated because of his political affiliation.

The Respondent failed to produce discovery in a timely manner. Some was
produced on the evening of the last business day before hearing and during the hearing.
This was prejudicial to Petitioner as it required his counsel to spend excessive amounts of
time seeking production of the discovery and affected Petitioner’s ability to conduct follow-
up discovery and adequately prepare the case.

Petitioner has incurred $59,310.77 in attorneys’ fees/costs to date, having
contracted to pay Mr. Leake $375.00 per hour and Ms. Stokes $250.00 per hour, in
accordance with the Affidavit filed by Petitioner’s attorney on December 27, 2013. The
hours claimed by Mr. Leake (52) and Ms. Stokes (146.2) are reasonable. Reasonable
rates for them per hour would be: $275.00 for Mr. Leake and $225.00 for Ms. Stokes;
$137.50 per hour to Mr. Leake for travel time. Other fees/costs set forth in the affidavit are
found to be reasonable.

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, the undersigned makes the following:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The North Carolina General Assembly has provided in G. S. 126-36(a), 126-34.1
and 126-37 that State employees or former State employees who have reason to believe
that they have been terminated because of their political affiliation have a right to a
contested case hearing in the Office of Administrative Hearings, after which pursuant to
150B-34(a) an administrative law judge shall make a final decision or order that contains
findings of fact and conclusions of law.

To the extent that certain portions of the foregoing Findings of Fact constitute mixed
issues of law and fact, such Findings of Fact shall be deemed incorporated herein by
reference as Conclusions of Law.

A Court need not make findings as to every fact that arises from the evidence and
need only find those facts which are material to the settlement of the dispute. Flanders v.
Gabriel, 110 N.C.App.438,440, affd, 335 N.C.234(1993).
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North Carolina courts look to federal employment discrimination law for guidance in
establishing evidentiary standards for contested cases filed under the State Personnel Act.
North Carolina v. Gibson, 308 N.C. 130, 301 S.E.2d 78 (1983).

In order to prove a discrimination claim, Petitioner must first establish a prima facie
case of discrimination. See N.C. Department of Correction v. Hodge, 99 N.C. App. 602,
611, 394 S.E.2d 285 (1990) and Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc., 530 U.S.
133 (2000).

Petitioner has met his prima facie burden by establishing that he was a very
prominent Democrat non-policymaking employee of Respondent brought in during a
Democrat administration who was hoping to continue his State employment under an
incoming Republican administration. He has established that Respondent treated him
differently than other ALE Special Agents in failing to follow its own ALE internal
disciplinary policy by not providing him notice of his being investigated; not allowing him an
opportunity to respond to the charges against him by two disgruntled employees whom had

. been disciplined; not involving his immediate supervisors in an investigation and decision to

terminate his employment. He has also raised inferences by showing Respondent
focused upon holding him responsible for actions by his Democrat superiors in late 2012
and terminating him without regard to the very good job he was doing as a field agent in
2013; failing to provide a probationary employee with any counseling or suggestions
concerning how he could improve his job performance; ignoring suggestions from
personnel and legal professionals to let the matter rest or transfer the position with
Petitioner back to Wilmington. The Republican transition team had inquired about DPS
plans to move any exempt employees into non-exempt positions prior to the administration
change and were told of plans concerning Petitioner. When informed about a Republican
State Senator's negative remarks concerning the personnel transaction, Republican
Secretary appointee Shanahan remarked “That should not have happened”, indicating his
state of mind coincided with the senator's and transition team’s concerning Petitioner.

Finally, Secretary Shanahan thought it important to send an email at 9:47pm notifying the

governor and his chief of staff that Petitioner had been terminated, which suggests a
political purpose was behind it. Petitioner was a marked man politically.

To rebut this inference, the burden then shifts to Respondent to present evidence
that it terminated Petitioner's employment for a legitimate, non-discriminatory reason. This
burden is one of production, not persuasion. Reeves, 530 U.S. at 142.

The Respondent has met this burden of production by establishing that two
disgruntled, formerly disciplined agents filed grievances complaining about how Petitioner
became a field agent and his salary, which led to an investigation resulting in his
termination without following the ALE’s internal disciplinary procedures.

The burden then shifts back to the Petitioner to prove that Respondent's reason for
terminating Petitioner as it did was merely a pretext, and not a legitimate, nondiscriminatory
reason. “Although the intermediate burdens shift back and forth under this framework, the
ultimate burden of persuading the trier of fact that the defendant intentionally discriminated
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against the plaintiff remains at all times with the plaintiff.” /d. at 143. In attempting to
satisfy this burden, Petitioner must “prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the
legitimate reasons offered by the defendant were not its true reasons, but were a pretext for
discrimination.” Id. Petitioner met his ultimate burden in establishing to the undersigned
that his termination was the result of political discrimination. His prima facie evidence set
forth in my findings of fact was relied upon to reach this conclusion. Also, it did not seem
credible that Respondent’s action was not politically motivated. Petitioner had been
performing very well as a field agent. His background, training, and experience qualified
him very well for the advanced level position and approved salary. Itis more likely than not
that had he not been such a prominent, life-long Democrat from Madison County he would
not have been terminated, for the State needs such well-qualified ALE Special Agents.

Terminating Petitioner in disregard of ALE’s internal disciplinary policy and past
practices with other agents indicates that it is more likely than not that political affiliation

was a factor. Respondent ‘s primary concern appeared to be to reverse the decision by.

Secretary Young to demote/transfer Petitioner, with no regard to how he was performing
his duties as a field agent and without exploring fairly all alternatives to termination.
Secretary Young had exercised due diligence prior to deciding to demote/transfer/reassign
Petitioner who was at the time a policymaking employee whose consent was unnecessary.

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the undersigned
renders the following:

DECISION

Petitioner shall be reinstated to the position from which he was terminated at the
same salary/rate of pay. Petitioner is to be paid all compensation to which he would
otherwise have been entitled since the date of his dismissal, including but not limited to
back pay, leave, contributions into the State retirement system, and any and all benefits to
which he would have been entitled.

Petitioner shall be reimbursed for attorney fees to Mr. Leake in the amount of
$14,300.00 plus $1,375.00 for travel time. Petitioner shall be reimbursed for attorney fees
to Ms. Stokes in the amount of $32,895.00. Petitioner shall be reimbursed $1,385.77 for
other expenses/costs claimed in his attorney’s affidavit. Total Reimbursement: $49,955.77.

NOTICE
This is a Final Decision issued under the authority of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-34.

Under the provisions of North Carolina General Statute § 150B-45, any party wishing
to appeal the final decision of the Administrative Law Judge must file a Petition for Judicial
Review in the Superior Court of the county where the person aggrieved by the
administrative decision resides, or in the case of a person residing outside the State, the
county where the contested case which resulted in the final decision was filed. The
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appealing party must file the petition within 30 days after being served with a written
copy of the Administrative Law Judge’s Final Decision. In conformity with the Office of
Administrative Hearings’ rule, 26 N.C. Admin. Code 03.0102, and the Rules of Civil
Procedure, N.C. General Statute 1A-1, Article 2, this Final Decision was served on the
parties the date it was placed in the mail as indicated by the date on the Certificate of
Service attached to this Final Decision. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-46 describes the
contents of the Petition and requires service of the Petition on all parties. Under N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 150B-47, the Office of Administrative Hearings is required to file the official record in
the contested case with the Clerk of Superior Court within 30 days of receipt of the Petition
for Judicial Review. Consequently, a copy of the Petition for Judicial Review must be sent
to the Office of Administrative Hearings at the time the appeal is initiated in order to ensure
the timely filing of the record.

This the?%ay of December, 2013.

Fred Gilbert Morrison Jr.
Senior Administrative Law Judge
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FILED
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
2/12/2014 11:53 AM

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
COUNTY OF SURRY 1308P16230
BARBARA HINTON
PETITIONER,
V.
FINAL DECISION
SURRY COUNTY HEALTH AND '
NUTRITION CENTER
RESPONDENT.

This matter coming on to be heard and being before the undersigned presiding at the
January 6, 2014 contested case hearing conducted at the Surry County Judicial Center, Dobson,

North Carolina.
APPEARANCES
For Petitioner: Daniel C. Nash, Attorney at Law, High Point, NC
For Respondent: Edwin M. Woltz, Attorney at Law, Mount Airy, NC
EXHIBITS

The following Exhibits were admitted into évidence:

Petitioners:

Exhibit 1

Respondents:
Exhibit 1
Exhibit 2
Exhibit 3

 Exhibit 4

Exhibit 5
Exhibit 6

Exhibit 7

.Surry County Employee Performance Appraisal for Petitioner from

9/1/11-9/1/12.

Pre-disciplinary Conference notification dated June 4, 2013.

Dismissal letter dated June 6, 2013.

Coaching Document dated November 19, 2012 and subsequent Facebook
posting June 2013 by Ms. Hinton.

Digital Recorder Usage Policy and Digital Recorder Usage training
documentation.

Employee Confidentiality Acknowledgment.

Signed affidavit by Tiffany Bullins; related text messages from Ms.
Hinton; and text messages as produced from cell phone provider.

Surry County Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct.
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Exhibit 8 Appeal letter to County Manager Chris Knopf from Barbara Hinton dated
June 10, 2013 and supplement letter dated June 16, 2013.

Exhibit 9 County Manager Chris Knopf’s response letter dated July 1, 2013 to Ms.
Hinton’s termination of appeal.

Exhibit 10 Surry County Personnel Ordinance Article VII, Section 8 - Failure in

Personal Conduct.
Exhibit 11 Surry County Personnel Ordinance Article V, Section 7 - Workplace

Harassment Policy.
Exhibit 12 Administrative leave memo from David Stone dated May 25, 2007.

WITNESSES

Tiffany Bullins, Public Health Nurse Supervisor II
Holly York, Social Worker II, imbedded at Mount Airy OB-GYN
Samantha Ange, Health Director
Sandra Snow, Surry County Human Resources Officer
Barbara Hinton, Petitioner

ISSUE

Whether Petitioner was discharged .without just cause from her position as a Social
Worker II with Respondent.

APPLICABLE STATUTES, ORDINANCES, AND POLICIES

Chapter 126 N.C. Gen. Stat.
Surry County Personnel Ordinance
Surry County Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct
Employee Confidentiality Acknowledgment
Digital Recorder Usage Policy

BASED UPON careful consideration of the sworn testimony of the witnesses presented
at the hearing and the entire record in this proceeding, the undersigned makes the following
findings of fact. In making the findings of fact, the undersigned has weighed all the evidence, or
the lack thereof, and has assessed the credibility of the witnesses by taking into account the
appropriate factors for judging credibility; including, but not limited to, demeanor of the witness;
any interest, bias, or prejudice the witness may have; the opportunity of the witness to see, hear,
know, or remember the facts or occurrences about which the witness testified; whether the
testimony of the witness is reasonable; and whether the testimony is consistent with all other
believable evidence in the case. From the sworn testimony of witnesses and review of the
documents entered into evidence, the undersigned makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner was hired by Respondent on or about the 18th day of May 1998 and worked in
various capacities for Respondent, most recently in the position of Social Worker II.

2
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. That the Surry County Health and Nutrition Center is a unit of Surry County Government

and its employees are covered both by the Surry County Personnel Ordinance and by the
North Carolina State Personnel Act.

. That Petitioner’s immediate supervisor was Tiffany Bullins, Public Health Nurse

Supervisor, IT who supervised, in addition to Petitioner, approximately 23 people.

- That Petitioner worked at the Surry County Health and Nutrition Center and in the course

of her employment, worked with Holly York, also an employee of the Health and
Nutrition Center, who was “imbedded” to monitor prenatal client care at Mount Airy OB
GYN.

. That Petitioner received an Employee Performance Appraisal from Respondent covering

a period from September 1, 2011 to September 1, 2012, which was positive and which
reflected upon Ms. Hinton as a good and valued employee of Respondent’s organization.

. Samantha Ange, Surry County Health Director since 2008, became aware of negative

Facebook posts compiled and submitted by Petitioner, which came to the attention of
various personnel of Respondent, including Holly York. The Facebook postings
occurred in October 2012 and became the subject of a personnel action in November
2012.

. Petitioner’s supervisor, Tiffany Bullins, met with Petitioner to discuss the negative

Facebook posting on or about November 19, 2012, at which time a Coaching Document
was reviewed and signed by Petitioner and Ms. Bullins. Issues discussed included
negative comments on Facebook that could be linked to Respondent, and other concerns.
The Coaching Document included a discussion that Petitioner’s actions could very well
have led to a written warning, but administrative staff felt Petitioner understood the point
and would refrain from additional negative postings that could be related back to
Respondent.

. Coaching Document recommendations included:

A. Refrain from posting any negative comments on Facebook that can be linked back to
Respondent by fellow co-workers or the public in general, with the understanding that
there will be a zero tolerance; and

B. Strive to maintain a positive attitude during all times, even among ever-changing
circumstances; strive to make co-workers that have been moved to your area feel
welcome; and always share concerns with your supervisor appropriately.
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11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

That in late May or early June 2013, Petitioner again posted on F acebook in a manner
that Respondent’s management deemed to be a violation of the zero tolerance policy
outlined in the Coaching Document from November 2012,

Petitioner contended the posting occurred on her personal time and was in conflict with
the Coaching Document, but was in response to a newspaper article about the potential
merger of Respondent with another County department.

The 2013 Facebook posting included many personal complaints by Petitioner about her
working conditions, furnishings and having to use her own phone and car for work
purposes.

That in the course of her employment, Petitioner received ongoing education and training
on Surry County’s Policies and Procedures concerning the Health and Insurance
Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA), including: Privacy concerns, protected health
information, and the consequences of a HIPAA violation. All of Respondent’s
employees, including Petitioner, received ongoing training on HIPAA concerns.

All of Respondent’s employees, including Petitioner, reviewed and executed an
Employee Confidentiality Acknowledgment, a component of which acknowledged that
she would never remove confidential and/or sensitive and/or PHI (Protected Health
Information) from the work area without authorization.

Public Health nurses, social workers, and other staff employed by Respondent, including
Petitioner, received ongoing training; and executed and agreed to be bound by the Surry
County Health and Nutrition Center Digital Recorder Usage Policy and Procedure. It
prohibited recording of telephone conversations except on specially designated,
Respondent-owned devices; and its use was limited to incidences of threatening or
harassing phone calls, and required permission, or consent of, Petitioner’s supervisor.

Petitioner recorded a client telephone conversation on her cell phone in order to provide
evidence to her supervisor of disruptive background noise. That Petitioner failed to
delete the recording of the telephone conversation with the client and caused her
telephone, including the un-erased client recording, to be surrendered to a telephone
company in connection with the trade-in of her phone for another model.

Petitioner and all other County employees received ongoing training and executed a
document entitled Surry County Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct where, among
other things, Petitioner agreed to maintain a respectful attitude toward fellow employees,
public officials, colleagues, and associates.
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19.

20.

21.

22,

23.

24.

25.

All Surry County employees, including Petitioner, are subject to a Personnel Ordinance
adopted by Surry County Board of Commissioners. Article VII, Section 8 of the
ordinance deals with failure of personal conduct. In accordance with that ordinance, an
employee may be reprimanded, suspended, demoted, or dismissed for causes relating to
personal conduct detrimental to County service: (1) in order to avoid undue disruption at
the workplace; (2) to protect the safety of persons or property; or (3) for other serious

reasomns.

Employees of Respondent are covered by the North Carolina State Human Resources Act
(NCSHRA).

Section 25 NCAC 011.2304 of the North Carolina Annotated Code states that employees
covered by NCSHRA may be dismissed for a current incident of unacceptable personal
conduct including: (1) conduct for which no reasonable person should expect to receive
prior warning; or ... (4) the willful violation of known or written work rules; or (5)
conduct unbecoming an employee that is detrimental to the agency’s service... .

Petitioner was subject to Article V, Section 7 of the Surry County Personnel Ordinance
regarding Workplace Harassment which prohibits, among other things, an employee
engaging in conduct that falls under the definition of creating a hostile work environment.

That on or about June 3, 2013, around midnight, beginning at approximately 12:07 AM,
Petitioner texted her supervisor, Tiffany Bullins, 37 times over approximately a one-hour
period with a combination of work-related and personal grievances, which caused alarm
and discomfort to Petitioner’s supervisor. ’

That on or about June 3, 2013, Petitioner’s supervisor, Tiffany Bullins, provided notice to
Samantha Ange, Health Director, of receipt of 37 text messages from Petitioner after
midnight. One of the texts included Petitioner’s assertion that she had recorded a client
telephone conversation on her cell phone, a violation of the Digital Recorder Usage
Policy.

On or about June 4, 2013, Samantha Ange compiled a letter to Petitioner notifying her of
a pre-disciplinary conference on Wednesday June 5™ at 8:30 AM. The letter provided
notice that the purpose of the conference was to discuss a recommendation of disciplinary
action, up to and including dismissal, due to Petitioner’s personal conduct. The following
personal conduct issues were outlined in the letter:

A. Blatant disregard for the County 11/19/12 Coaching Document instructions that
state: “Refrain from posting any negative comments on Facebook that can be
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26.

27.

28.

29.

30.
31.

32.

33.

linked back to SCHNC by fellow co-workers or the public in general with the
understanding that there will be a zero tolerance”.

B. Self-admitted HIPAA violation and violation of the Digital Recorder Usage
Policy and Procedure.

C. Creation of a hostile workplace.

D. Violation of Surry County Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct.

That a pre-disciplinary conference was conducted on June 5, 2013, at which time the
Health Director, Petitioner’s supervisor, and the Surry County Human Resources Officer
were in attendance with Petitioner.

At the pre-disciplinary conference, Petitioner admitted making negative comments on her
Facebook page regarding her employment, notwithstanding receipt of the Coaching
Document from November 19, 2012, stating a zero tolerance for further negative
Facebook postings.

At the pre-disciplinary conference, Petitioner acknowledged ongoing training on the
Digital Recorder Usage Policy, and admitted recording a client’s telephone conversation
on her personal cell phone to demonstrate background noisé. Petitioner also admitted
that the phone was surrendered with the recording in place to her cell phone carrier and
she made a trip back to the telephone company to retrieve the phone or erase the call, but
was unsuccessful.

Petitioner admitted that the texting to Tiffany Bullins, and the 2013 Facebook posting,
were her efforts to “vent” as a result of stress and other matters, including financial

difficulty and health problems.

A violation of a written Coaching Document subjects a Surry County employee to
disciplinary action, up to and including dismissal.

A violation of HIPAA Policies and Procedures by a Surry County employee subjects the
employee to disciplinary actions, up to and including dismissal.

A violation of the Digital Recorder Usage Policy by an employee of the Surry County
Health Department subjects the employee to disciplinary action, up to and including

dismissal.

It is a violation of the Surry County Personnel Ordinance for an employee to engage in
conduct that falls under the definition of unlawful workplace harassment, which subjects
the employee to disciplinary action, up to and including dismissal.

29:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2014

393



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

34.

35.

36.

37.

38.

At the pre-disciplinary hearing, Petitioner was presented with a copy of the Surry County
Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct and admitted to a violation of item #7, which
states “I will maintain a respectful attitude toward fellow employees, public officials,
colleagues and associates.” ’

That the letter of termination compiled by Samantha Ange provided notice to Petitioner
of a right to appeal her dismissal under the Surry County Personnel Ordinance, Article
VIII, Section 3.

That Petitioner appealed her termination to the Surry County Manager by letters dated
June 10, 2013, and June 16, 2013, in which she admitted to recording a conversation with
a client and that she may have disrespected her supervisor. The County Manager found
Petitioner’s dismissal to be consistent with the criteria of “failure in personal conduct” as
outlined in the Surry County Personnel Ordinance.

The Surry County Manager provided written notice to Petitioner that employees subject
to the State Human Resources Act may appeal grievances to the Office of State Personnel
(Personnel Commission) in accordance with “Personnel Policies, State of North Carolina,
Local Government Employees Subject to the State Personnel Act.”

Petitioner presented evidence of a positive Surry County Employee Performance
Appraisal; that she did not intend to use the recording of the client’s phone conversation
for any purpose but to demonstrate the level of background noise she was required to
endure at work; and that she was a good, dedicated employee.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

That the Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over the parties and the
subject matter pursuant to Chapter 126 and Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General
Statutes.

The parties are properly before this tribunal and they received adequate notice of the
hearing and all parties have been correctly designated and there is no question as to
misjoinder or nonjoinder.

. Petitioner’s termination was justified as a dismissal for failure in personal conduct

consistent with Article VII, Section 8 of the Surry County Personnel Ordinance and
Section 126-35 of the North Carolina General Statutes.

Petitioner’s conduct complained of by Respondent occurred substantially as alleged and
that given the totality of the circumstances, Petitioner’s conduct constituted just cause for
the disciplinary action taken.
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10.

12.

13.

Petitioner is a career state employee as defined by N.C. G.S. § 126-1.1.

Administrative regulations provide two grounds for discipline or dismissal based on just
cause: Unsatisfactory job performance; and unacceptable personal conduct. 25 NCAC
1J.0604.

Unacceptable personal conduct includes, infer alia, "conduct for which no reasonable
person should expect to receive prior warning;" “the willful violation of known or written
work rules;" and "conduct unbecoming a state employee that is detrimental to state
service." 25 NCAC 017 .0614.

In determining whether a public employer has just cause to discipline its employees
requires two separate inquiries: Whether the employee engaged in the conduct the
employer alleges; and secondly, whether that conduct constitutes just cause for the
disciplinary action taken. See Early v. County of Durham Dept. of Social Services, 172
N.C. App. 344, 616 S.E.2d 553 (2005) (quoting N.C. Dep 't of Env’t & Natural Res v.
Carroll, 358 N.C. 649, 599 S.E.2d 888 (2004)).

A single act of unacceptable personal conduct can constitute just cause for any discipline,
up to and including dismissal. Hilliard v. N.C. Dep't of Correction, 173 N.C. App. at
597, 620 S.E.2d 17 (2005).

In analyzing unacceptable personal conduct, Warren v. N.C. Dep't of Crime Control and
Pub. Safety, 726 S.E.2d 920, 924 (N.C. App. 2012) holds, “the proper analytical approach
is to first determine whether the employee engaged in the conduct the employer alleges.
The second inquiry is whether the employee's conduct falls within one of the categories
of unacceptable personal conduct provided by the Administrative Code. Unacceptable
personal conduct does not necessarily establish just cause for all types of discipline. If
the employee’s act qualifies as a type of unacceptable conduct, the tribunal proceeds to
the third inquiry: Whether that misconduct amounted to just cause for the disciplinary

action taken.”

In this case, the greater weight of the testimony and admitted exhibits supports the
conclusion that Respondent met its burden of proof, and established by a preponderance
of the evidence in the record that it had just cause to terminate its employment of
Petitioner for unacceptable personal conduct.

Respondent complied with the procedural requirements for dismissing Petitioner from
employment with the'Surry County Health and Nutrition Center.

FINAL DECISION

Based on the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the undersigned finds and holds

that the Respondent has carried its burden of proof by a greater weight of the evidence that the
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Petitioner’s dismissal from employment with Respondent for unacceptable personal conduct
should be and is UPHELD.

NOTICE
This is a Final Decision issued under the authority of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-34.

Under the provisions of North Carolina General Statute § 150B-45, any party wishing to
appeal the final decision of the Administrative Law Judge must file a Petition for Judicial
Review in the Superior Court of the county where the person aggrieved by the administrative
decision resides, or in the case of a person residing outside the State, the county where the
contested case which resulted in the final decision was filed. The appealing party must file the
petition within 30 days after being served with a written copy of the Administrative Law
Judge’s Final Decision. In conformity with the Office of Administrative Hearings’ rule, 26
N.C. Admin. Code 03.0102, and the Rules of Civil Procedure, N.C. General Statute 1A-1,
Article 2, this Final Decision was served on the parties the date it was placed in the mail as
indicated by the date on the Certificate of Service attached to this Final Decision. N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 150B-46 describes the contents of the Petition and requires service of the Petition on all
parties. Under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-47, the Office of Administrative Hearings is required to
file the official record in the contested case with the Clerk of Superior Court within 30 days of
receipt of the Petition for Judicial Review. Consequently, a copy of the Petition for Judicial
Review must be sent to the Office of Administrative Hearings at the time the appeal is initiated
in order to ensure the timely filing of the record. '

This the 12th day of February, 2014.
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