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Contact List for Rulemaking Questions or Concerns 
 
For questions or concerns regarding the Administrative Procedure Act or any of its components, consult 
with the agencies below.  The bolded headings are typical issues which the given agency can address, 
but are not inclusive. 
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Raleigh, North Carolina 27603 
contact:  Amy Bason    amy.bason@ncacc.org 

 
NC League of Municipalities   (919) 715-4000 
215 North Dawson Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27603 

  contact:  Erin L. Wynia    ewynia@nclm.org 
 
 
 

Legislative Process Concerning Rule-making 
Joint Legislative Administrative Procedure Oversight Committee 
545 Legislative Office Building 
300 North Salisbury Street    (919) 733-2578 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611   (919) 715-5460 FAX 

 

contact:  Karen Cochrane-Brown,  Staff Attorney  Karen.cochrane-brown@ncleg.net 
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public hearing 

End of required 
comment 
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Deadline to submit 
to RRC 
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  
 
This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 
 

GENERAL 
 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) notices of rule-making proceedings; 
(3) text of proposed rules; 
(4) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(5) notices of receipt of a petition for municipal 

incorporation, as required by G.S. 120-165; 
(6) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(7) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; 

(8) orders of the Tax Review Board issued under 
G.S. 105-241.2; and 

(9) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the 
schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina 
Register is not included.  The last day of the period so 
computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, 
or State holiday, in which event the period runs until 
the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first 
and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of 
the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday 
for employees mandated by the State Personnel 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is 
a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State 
employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 
the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public hearings held 
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
 
FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT REGULAR 
SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY:  This date is 
the first legislative day of the next regular session of 
the General Assembly following approval of the rule 
by the Rules Review Commission.  See G.S. 150B-
21.3, Effective date of rules. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a 
later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published 
notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 
days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

 
TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend 
the rule cited as 04 NCAC 02S .0228. 
 
Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification: 

  OSBM certified on: October 19, 2012 
  RRC certified on:       
  Not Required 

 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
http://abc.nc.gov/legal/statutes_regulations.aspx 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2013 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 16, 2013 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  NC ABC Commission's Office, 400 East Tryon Road, 
Raleigh, NC  27610 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule changes 
would amend the rule to add to the acceptable types of 
containers that malt beverage, wine and mixed beverages can be 
served in.  The proposed rule changes would also define and add 
requirements for multi-use containers.  Permittees have 
previously used the additional containers without administrative 
action by the Commission.  The changes were necessary to 
alleviate the questions regarding the serving of alcoholic 
beverage containers that are not within the guidelines of G.S. 
130A-248(a) and the FDA Food Code 2009. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Interested persons may present oral or written 
comments at the Rule-Making Hearing.  In addition, the record 
will be open for receipt of written comments from December 3, 
2012 to February 1, 2013.  Written comments not presented at 
the hearing should be directed to Robert Hamilton.  The 
proposed rules are available for public inspection and copies 
may be obtained at the Commission's office at:  400 East Tryon 
Road, Raleigh, NC  27610 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Robert A. Hamilton, 4307 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4307, phone (919)779-
0700 x 436, fax (919)661-5927, email 
robert.hamilton@abc.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013 
 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
 
Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 
 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 
 Local funds affected 

 Date submitted to OSBM:       
 Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 
CHAPTER 02 – ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 
 

SUBCHAPTER 02S - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED 
BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING: 

SPECIAL PERMITS 
 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL RULES AFFECTING 
RETAILERS AND BROWNBAGGING PERMITTEES 

 
04 NCAC 02S .0228 DISPENSING ALCOHOLIC  
BEVERAGES: PRODUCT IDENTIFICATION 
(a)  Malt Beverages; On-Premises.  Malt beverages may be sold 
by persons holding on-premise permits in the original containers, 
by the glass, or by the pitcher.mug, by the pitcher or a single-
service and single-use container.  The brand name of draught 
malt beverages dispensed in retail outlets shall be shown on the 
knobs of draught faucets.  Covers for these faucets bearing a 
brand name may be used if the brand name appearing on the 
cover corresponds with the brand name on the knob of the 
faucets that are to be used for that brand. 
(b)  Malt Beverages; Off-Premises.  Malt beverages may be sold 
by persons holding a retail off-premise permit only in the 
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unopened original container that was filled by the product 
manufacturer. 
(c)  Wine; On-premise.  A person holding an on-premises wine 
permit may sell wine in the unopened original container, by the 
carafe, by the glass, or mixed with non-alcoholic beverages.glass 
or a single-service and single-use container.  A person holding 
an on-premises wine permit may sell wine mixed with non-
alcoholic beverages by the carafe, by the glass or a single-
service and single-use container.  Wine served in carafes or 
carafes, by the glass or single-service and single-use containers 
may be dispensed under pressure from nitrogen from sealed bulk 
containers provided the containers and dispensing systems have 
been approved by the Commission and the State Commissioner 
of Health Services. 
The vintner, brand and type of wine dispensed by the carafe or 
carafe,glass, glass or single-service and single-use container 
except for the house wine, shall appear on the wine list; and 
where the wine is dispensed from bulk containers, the vintner, 
brand and type shall be shown on the knobs of draught faucets. 
(d)  Use of Siphons.  The use of siphons or other types of 
dispensers is allowed if the malt beverage or wine contents are 
dispensed directly from the original containers. 
(e)  Mixed Beverages.  A person holding a mixed beverages 
permit may sell mixed beverages in a glass, in a pitcher or in a 
single-service and single-use container. 
(f) Multi-Use Containers.  All multi-use containers used by 
permittees to serve any alcoholic beverages shall meet the 
requirements as referenced by FDA Food Code 2009, 3-
304.11(a). Multi-use containers include glassware, mugs, 
pitchers and carafes. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206; 18B-207; 130A-248(a); FDA 
Food Code 2009, 3-304.11(a). 
 
 
TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONEMENT AND 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend 
the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02D .0530-.0531. 
 
Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification: 

  OSBM certified on: October 10, 2012 
  RRC certified on:       
  Not Required 

 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
http://www.ncair.org//rules/hearing 
 
Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2013 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 15, 2013 
Time:  6:00 p.m. 
Location:  Kannapolis Train Station, 201 South Main Street, 
Kannapolis, NC 28081 
 

Reason for Proposed Action:  15A NCAC 02D .0530 – 
Prevention of Significant Deterioration, and 15A NCAC 02D 
.0531, Sources in Nonattainment Areas, to revise North 
Carolina's nitrogen oxides (NOx) significance level from 140 
tons per year (tpy) to 40 tpy.  The Unites States Environmental 
Protection Agency (USEPA) determined that the state 
significance level for NOx for fine particulate matter (PM2.5) 
must be revised to reflect the federal 40 tpy significance level in 
the federal implementation rule. 
15A NCAC 02D .0530 is also proposed to be amended to update 
the federal cross-reference to incorporate the new 24 hour and 
annual PM2.5 increments as promulgated on October 20, 2010 
(75 FR 64864). 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  If you have any objections to the proposed rule, 
please mail a letter including your specific reasons to: Ms. 
Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Joelle Burleson, Division of 
Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1641, phone (919)707-8720, fax (919)707-8720, email 
joelle.burleson@ncdenr.gov. 
 
Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
 
Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 
 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 
 Local funds affected 

 Date submitted to OSBM:       
 Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 
CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 
SUBCHAPTER 02D - AIR POLLUTION CONTROL 

REQUIREMENTS 
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SECTION .0500 – EMISSION CONTROL STANDARDS 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0530 PREVENTION OF SIGNIFICANT  
DETERIORATION 
(a)  The purpose of the Rule is to implement a program for the 
prevention of significant deterioration of air quality as required 
by 40 CFR 51.166.  
(b)  For the purposes of this Rule the definitions contained in 40 
CFR 51.166(b) and 40 CFR 51.301 apply except the definition 
of "baseline actual emissions." For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) "Baseline actual emissions" means the rate of 
emissions, in tons per year, of a regulated new 
source review (NSR) pollutant, as determined 
in accordance with Parts (A) through (C) of 
this Subparagraph: 
(A) For an existing emissions unit, 

baseline actual emissions means the 
average rate, in tons per year, at 
which the emissions unit actually 
emitted the pollutant during any 
consecutive 24-month period selected 
by the owner or operator within the 5-
year period immediately preceding 
the date that a complete permit 
application is received by the 
Division for a permit required under 
this Rule. The Director shall allow a 
different time period, not to exceed 
10 years immediately preceding the 
date that a complete permit 
application is received by the 
Division, if the owner or operator 
demonstrates that it is more 
representative of normal source 
operation. For the purpose of 
determining baseline actual 
emissions, the following apply: 
(i) The average rate shall 

include fugitive emissions to 
the extent quantifiable, and 
emissions associated with 
startups, shutdowns, and 
malfunctions; 

(ii) The average rate shall be 
adjusted downward to 
exclude any non-compliant 
emissions that occurred 
while the source was 
operating above any 
emission limitation that was 
legally enforceable during 
the consecutive 24-month 
period; 

(iii) For an existing emission unit 
(other than an electric utility 
steam generating unit), the 
average rate shall be 
adjusted downward to 
exclude any emissions that 

would have exceeded an 
emission limitation with 
which the major stationary 
source must currently 
comply. However, if the 
State has taken credit in an 
attainment demonstration or 
maintenance plan consistent 
with the requirements of 40 
CFR 51.165(a)(3)(ii)(G) for 
an emission limitation that is 
part of a maximum 
achievable control 
technology standard that the 
Administrator proposed or 
promulgated under part 63 
of the Code of Federal 
Regulations, the baseline 
actual emissions shall be 
adjusted to account for such 
emission reductions; 

(iv) For an electric utility steam 
generating unit, the average 
rate shall be adjusted 
downward to reflect any 
emissions reductions under 
G.S. 143-215.107D and for 
which cost recovery is 
sought pursuant to G.S. 62-
133.6; 

(v) For a regulated NSR 
pollutant, when a project 
involves multiple emissions 
units, only one consecutive 
24-month period shall be 
used to determine the 
baseline actual emissions for 
all the emissions units being 
changed. A different 
consecutive 24-month period 
for each regulated NSR 
pollutant can be used for 
each regulated NSR 
pollutant; and 

(vi) The average rate shall not be 
based on any consecutive 
24-month period for which 
there is inadequate 
information for determining 
annual emissions, in tons per 
year, and for adjusting this 
amount if required by 
Subparts (ii) and (iii) of this 
Part; 

(B) For a new emissions unit, the baseline 
actual emissions for purposes of 
determining the emissions increase 
that will result from the initial 
construction and operation of such 
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unit shall equal zero; and thereafter, 
for all other purposes, shall equal the 
unit's potential to emit; and 

(C) For a plantwide applicability limit 
(PAL) for a stationary source, the 
baseline actual emissions shall be 
calculated for existing emissions units 
in accordance with the procedures 
contained in Part (A) of this 
Subparagraph, and for a new 
emissions unit in accordance with the 
procedures contained in Part (B) of 
this Subparagraph; 

(2) In the definition of "net emissions increase," 
the reasonable period specified in 40 CFR 
51.166(b)(3)(ii) is seven years; 

(3) The limitation specified in 40 CFR 
51.166(b)(15)(ii) does not apply; and 

(4) Particulate matter PM2.5 significant levels in 
40 CFR 51.166(b)(23)(i) are incorporated by 
reference except as otherwise provided in this 
Rule. A net emission increase or the potential 
of a source to emit nitrogen oxide emissions 
shall be significant if the rate of emissions 
would equal or exceed 140 tons per year. 
Sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxides are 
precursor to PM2.5

 in all attainment and 
unclassifiable areas. Volatile organic 
compounds and ammonia are not significant 
precursors to PM2.5. 

(c)  All areas of the State are classified as Class II except that the 
following areas are Class I: 

(1) Great Smoky Mountains National Park; 
(2) Joyce Kilmer Slickrock National Wilderness 

Area; 
(3) Linville Gorge National Wilderness Area; 
(4) Shining Rock National Wilderness Area; and 
(5) Swanquarter National Wilderness Area. 

(d)  Redesignations of areas to Class I or II may be submitted as 
state proposals to the Administrator of the Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA), if the requirements of 40 CFR 
51.166(g)(2) are met. Areas may be proposed to be redesignated 
as Class III, if the requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(g)(3) are met. 
Redesignations may not, however, be proposed which would 
violate the restrictions of 40 CFR 51.166(e). Lands within the 
boundaries of Indian Reservations may be redesignated only by 
the appropriate Indian Governing Body. 
(e)  In areas designated as Class I, II, or III, increases in 
pollutant concentration over the baseline concentration shall be 
limited to the values set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(c). However, 
concentration of the pollutant shall not exceed standards set forth 
in 40 CFR 51.166(d). 
(f)  Concentrations attributable to the conditions described in 40 
CFR 51.166(f)(1) shall be excluded in determining compliance 
with a maximum allowable increase. However, the exclusions 
referred to in 40 CFR 51.166(f)(1)(i) or (ii) shall be limited to 
five years as described in 40 CFR 51.166(f)(2). 
(g)  Major stationary sources and major modifications shall 
comply with the requirements contained in 40 CFR 51.166(i) 

and (a)(7) and by extension in 40 CFR 51.166(j) through (o) and 
(w). The transition provisions allowed by 40 CFR 52.21 
(i)(11)(i) and (ii) and (m)(1)(vii) and (viii) are hereby adopted 
under this Rule. The minimum requirements described in the 
portions of 40 CFR 51.166 referenced in this Paragraph are 
hereby adopted as the requirements to be used under this Rule, 
except as otherwise provided in this Rule. Wherever the 
language of the portions of 40 CFR 51.166 referenced in this 
Paragraph speaks of the "plan," the requirements described 
therein shall apply to the source to which they pertain, except as 
otherwise provided in this Rule. Whenever the portions of 40 
CFR 51.166 referenced in this Paragraph provide that the State 
plan may exempt or not apply certain requirements in certain 
circumstances, those exemptions and provisions of 
nonapplicability are also hereby adopted under this Rule. 
However, this provision shall not be interpreted so as to limit 
information that may be requested from the owner or operator by 
the Director as specified in 40 CFR 51.166(n)(2). 
(h)  New natural gas-fired electrical utility generating units for 
which cost recovery is sought pursuant to G. S. 62-133.6 shall 
install best available control technology for NOX and SO2, 
regardless of applicability of the rest of this Rule. 
(i)  40 CFR 51.166(w)(10)(iv)(a) is changed to read: "If the 
emissions level calculated in accordance with Paragraph (w)(6) 
of this Section is equal to or greater than 80 percent of the PAL 
[plant wide applicability limit] level, the Director shall renew the 
PAL at the same level." 40 CFR 51.166(w)(10)(iv)(b) is not 
incorporated by reference. 
(j)  15A NCAC 02Q .0102 and .0302 are not applicable to any 
source to which this Rule applies. The owner or operator of the 
sources to which this Rule applies shall apply for and receive a 
permit as required in 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500. 
(k)  When a particular source or modification becomes a major 
stationary source or major modification solely by virtue of a 
relaxation in any enforceable limitation which was established 
after August 7, 1980, on the capacity of the source or 
modification to emit a pollutant, such as a restriction on hours of 
operation, then the provisions of this Rule shall apply to the 
source or modification as though construction had not yet begun 
on the source or modification. 
(l)  The provisions of 40 CFR 52.21(r)(2) regarding the period of 
validity of approval to construct are incorporated by reference 
except that the term "Administrator" is replaced with "Director". 
(m)  Volatile organic compounds exempted from coverage in 40 
CFR 51.100(s) shall be exempted when calculating source 
applicability and control requirements under this Rule. 
(n)  The degree of emission limitation required for control of any 
air pollutant under this Rule shall not be affected by: 

(1) that amount of a stack height, not in existence 
before December 31, 1970, that exceeds good 
engineering practice; or 

(2) any other dispersion technique not 
implemented before then. 

(o)  A substitution or modification of a model as provided for in 
40 CFR 51.166(l) is subject to public comment procedures in 
accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 51.102. 
(p)  Permits may be issued on the basis of innovative control 
technology as set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(s)(1) if the 
requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(s)(2) have been met, subject to 
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the condition of 40 CFR 51.166(s)(3), and with the allowance set 
forth in 40 CFR 51.166(s)(4). 
(q)  If a source to which this Rule applies impacts an area 
designated Class I by requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(e), notice 
to EPA shall be provided as set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(p)(1). If 
the Federal Land Manager presents a demonstration described in 
40 CFR 51.166(p)(3) during the public comment period or 
public hearing to the Director and if the Director concurs with 
this demonstration, the permit application shall be denied. 
Permits may be issued on the basis that the requirements for 
variances as set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(p)(4), (p)(5) and (p)(7), 
or (p)(6) and (p)(7) have been satisfied. 
(r)  A permit application subject to this Rule shall be processed 
in accordance with the procedures and requirements of 40 CFR 
51.166(q). Within 30 days of receipt of the application, 
applicants shall be notified if the application is complete as to 
initial information submitted. Commencement of construction 
before full prevention of significant deterioration approval is 
obtained constitutes a violation of this Rule. 
(s)  Approval of an application with regard to the requirements 
of this Rule does not relieve the owner or operator of the 
responsibility to comply with applicable provisions of other 
rules of this Subchapter or Subchapter 02Q of this Title and any 
other requirements under local, state, or federal law. 
(t)  When a source or modification is subject to this Rule the 
following procedures apply: 

(1)  Notwithstanding any other provisions of this 
Paragraph, the Director shall, no later than 60 
days after receipt of an application, notify the 
Federal Land Manager with the U.S. 
Department of Interior and U.S. Department of 
Agriculture of an application from a source or 
modification subject to this Rule; 

(2) When a source or modification may affect 
visibility of a Class I area the Director shall 
provide written notification to all affected 
Federal Land Managers within 30 days of 
receiving the permit application or within 30 
days of receiving advance notification of an 
application. The notification shall be at least 
30 days prior to the publication of notice for 
public comment on the application. The 
notification shall include a copy of all 
information relevant to the permit application 
including an analysis provided by the source 
of the potential impact of the proposed source 
on visibility; 

(3) The Director shall consider any analysis 
concerning visibility impairment performed by 
the Federal Land Manager if the analysis is 
received within 30 days of notification. If the 
Director finds that the analysis of the Federal 
Land Manager fails to demonstrate to his 
satisfaction that an adverse impact on visibility 
will result in the Class I area, the Director shall 
provide in the notice of public hearing on the 
application, an explanation of his decision or 
notice as to where the explanation can be 
obtained; and 

(4) The Director may require monitoring of 
visibility in or around any Class I area by the 
proposed new source or modification when the 
visibility impact analysis indicates possible 
visibility impairment. 

(u)  If the owner or operator of a source is using projected actual 
emissions to avoid applicability of prevention of significant 
deterioration requirements, the owner or operator shall notify the 
Director of the modification before beginning actual 
construction. The notification shall include: 

(1) a description of the project; 
(2) identification of sources whose emissions 

could be affected by the project; 
(3) the calculated projected actual emissions and 

an explanation of how the projected actual 
emissions were calculated, including 
identification of emissions excluded by 40 
CFR 51.166(b)(40)(ii)(c); 

(4) the calculated baseline actual emissions and an 
explanation of how the baseline actual 
emissions were calculated; and 

(5) any netting calculations if applicable. 
If upon reviewing the notification, the Director finds that the 
project will cause a prevention of significant deterioration 
evaluation, then the Director shall notify the owner or operator 
of his findings. The owner or operator shall not make the 
modification until it has received a permit issued pursuant to this 
Rule. If a permit revision is not required pursuant to this rule, the 
owner or operator shall maintain records of annual emissions in 
tons per year, on a calendar year basis related to the 
modifications for 10 years following resumption of regular 
operations after the change if the project involves increasing the 
emissions unit's design capacity or its potential to emit the 
regulated NSR pollutant; otherwise these records shall be 
maintained for five years following resumption of regular 
operations after the change. The owner or operator shall submit a 
report to the director within 60 days after the end of each year 
during which these records must be generated. The report shall 
contain the items listed in 40 CFR 51.166(r)(6)(v)(a) through (c). 
The owner or operator shall make the information documented 
and maintained under this Paragraph available to the Director or 
the general public pursuant to the requirements in 40 CFR 
70.4(b)(3)(viii). 
(v)  The references to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in 
this Rule are incorporated by reference unless a specific 
reference states otherwise. The version of the CFR incorporated 
in this Rule is that as of May 16, 2008 October 20, 2010 at 
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2010-10-20/pdf/2010-
25132.pdf and does not include any subsequent amendments or 
editions to the referenced material.  
 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(3); 143-
215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(7); 143-215.108(b); 150B-21.6. 
 
 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0531 SOURCES IN  
NONATTAINMENT AREAS 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2010-10-20/pdf/2010-25132.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2010-10-20/pdf/2010-25132.pdf
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(a)  For the purpose of this Rule the definitions contained in 40 
CFR 51.165(a)(1) and 40 CFR 51.301 apply except the 
definition of "baseline actual emissions."  For the purposes of 
this Rule: 

(1) "Baseline actual emissions" means the rate of 
emissions, in tons per year, of a regulated new 
source review (NSR) pollutant, as determined 
in accordance with Parts (A) through (C) of 
this Subparagraph: 
(A) For an existing emissions unit, 

baseline actual emissions means the 
average rate, in tons per year, at 
which the emissions unit actually 
emitted the pollutant during any 
consecutive 24-month period selected 
by the owner or operator within the 5-
year period immediately preceding 
the date that a complete permit 
application is received by the 
Division for a permit required under 
this Rule. The Director shall allow a 
different time period, not to exceed 
10 years immediately preceding the 
date that a complete permit 
application is received by the 
Division, if the owner or operator 
demonstrates that it is more 
representative of normal source 
operation. For the purpose of 
determining baseline actual 
emissions, the following apply: 
(i) The average rate shall 

include fugitive emissions to 
the extent quantifiable, and 
emissions associated with 
startups, shutdowns, and 
malfunctions; 

(ii) The average rate shall be 
adjusted downward to 
exclude any non-compliant 
emissions that occurred 
while the source was 
operating above any 
emission limitation that was 
legally enforceable during 
the consecutive 24-month 
period; 

(iii) For an existing emission unit 
(other than an electric utility 
steam generating unit), the 
average rate shall be 
adjusted downward to 
exclude any emissions that 
would have exceeded an 
emission limitation with 
which the major stationary 
source must currently 
comply. However, if the 
State has taken credit in an 

attainment demonstration or 
maintenance plan consistent 
with the requirements of 40 
CFR 51.165(a)(3)(ii)(G) for 
an emission limitation that is 
part of a maximum 
achievable control 
technology standard that the 
Administrator proposed or 
promulgated under part 63 
of the Code of Federal 
Regulations, the baseline 
actual emissions shall be 
adjusted to account for such 
emission reductions; 

(iv) For an electric utility steam 
generating unit, the average 
rate shall be adjusted 
downward to reflect any 
emissions reductions under 
G.S. 143-215.107D and for 
which cost recovery is 
sought pursuant to G.S. 62-
133.6; 

(v) For a regulated NSR 
pollutant, when a project 
involves multiple emissions 
units, only one consecutive 
24-month period shall be 
used to determine the 
baseline actual emissions for 
all the emissions units being 
changed. A different 
consecutive 24-month period 
for each regulated NSR 
pollutant; and 

(vi) The average rate shall not be 
based on any consecutive 
24-month period for which 
there is inadequate 
information for determining 
annual emissions, in tons per 
year, and for adjusting this 
amount if required by 
Subparts (ii) and (iii) of this 
Part; 

(B) For a new emissions unit, the baseline 
actual emissions for purposes of 
determining the emissions increase 
that will result from the initial 
construction and operation of such 
unit shall equal zero; and thereafter, 
for all other purposes, shall equal the 
unit's potential to emit; and 

(C) For a plantwide applicability limit 
(PAL) for a stationary source, the 
baseline actual emissions shall be 
calculated for existing emissions units 
in accordance with the procedures 
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contained in Part (A) of this 
Subparagraph, and for a new 
emissions unit in accordance with the 
procedures contained in Part (B) of 
this Subparagraph; 

(2) In the definition of "net emissions increase," 
the reasonable period specified in 40 CFR 
51.165(a)(1)(vi)(C)(1) is seven years; and 

(3) Particulate matter PM2.5 significant levels in 
40 CFR 51.165(a)(1)(x)(A) are incorporated 
by reference except as otherwise provided in 
this Rule. A net emission increase or the 
potential of a source to emit nitrogen oxide 
emissions shall be significant if the rate of 
emissions would equal or exceed 140 tpy. 
Sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxides are 
precursor to PM2.5 in all nonattainment areas. 
Volatile organic compounds and ammonia are 
not significant precursors to PM2.5. 

(b)  Redesignation to Attainment.  If any county or part of a 
county to which this Rule applies is later designated in 40 CFR 
81.334 as attainment, all sources in that county subject to this 
Rule before the redesignation date shall continue to comply with 
this Rule. 
(c)  Applicability. 40 CFR 51.165(a)(2) is incorporated by 
reference.  This Rule applies to areas designated as 
nonattainment in 40 CFR 81.334, including any subsequent 
amendments or editions.   
(d)  This Rule is not applicable to: 

(1) complex sources of air pollution regulated 
only under Section .0800 of this Subchapter 
and not under any other rule in this 
Subchapter; 

(2) emission of pollutants at the new major 
stationary source or major modification 
located in the nonattainment area that are 
pollutants other than the pollutant or pollutants 
for which the area is nonattainment.  (A major 
stationary source or major modification that is 
major for volatile organic compounds or 
nitrogen oxides is also major for ozone.); 

(3) emission of pollutants for which the source or 
modification is not major; 

(4) a new source or modification that qualifies for 
exemption under the provision of 40 CFR 
51.165(a)(4); or 

(5) emission of compounds listed under 40 CFR 
51.100(s) as having been determined to have 
negligible photochemical reactivity except 
carbon monoxide.  

(e)  15A NCAC 02Q .0102 and .0302 are not applicable to any 
source to which this Rule applies.  The owner or operator of the 
source shall apply for and receive a permit as required in 15A 
NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500. 
(f)  To issue a permit to a source to which this Rule applies, the 
Director shall determine that the source meets the following 
requirements: 

(1) The new major stationary source or major 
modification will emit the nonattainment 

pollutant at a rate no more than the lowest 
achievable emission rate; 

(2) The owner or operator of the proposed new 
major stationary source or major modification 
has demonstrated that all major stationary 
sources in the State that are owned or operated 
by this person (or any entity controlling, 
controlled by, or under common control with 
this person) are subject to emission limitations 
and are in compliance, or on a schedule for 
compliance that is federally enforceable or 
contained in a court decree, with all applicable 
emission limitations and standards of this 
Subchapter that EPA has authority to approve 
as elements of the North Carolina State 
Implementation Plan for Air Quality; 

(3) The owner or operator of the proposed new 
major stationary source or major modification 
will obtain sufficient emission reductions of 
the nonattainment pollutant from other sources 
in the nonattainment area so that the emissions 
from the new major source and associated new 
minor sources will be less than the emissions 
reductions by a ratio of at least 1.00 to 1.15 for 
volatile organic compounds and nitrogen 
oxides and by a ratio of less than one to one 
for carbon monoxide.  The baseline for this 
emission offset shall be the actual emissions of 
the source from which offset credit is obtained.  
Emission reductions shall not include any 
reductions resulting from compliance (or 
scheduled compliance) with applicable rules in 
effect before the application. The difference 
between the emissions from the new major 
source and associated new minor sources of 
carbon monoxide and the emission reductions 
shall be sufficient to represent reasonable 
further progress toward attaining the National 
Ambient Air Quality Standards.  The 
emissions reduction credits shall also conform 
to the provisions of 40 CFR 
51.165(a)(3)(ii)(A) through (G) and (J); and 

(4) The North Carolina State Implementation Plan 
for Air Quality is being carried out for the 
nonattainment area in which the proposed 
source is located. 

(g)  New natural gas-fired electrical utility generating units for 
which cost recovery is sought pursuant to G. S. 62-133.6 shall 
install lowest achievable emission rate technology for NOX and 
SO2, regardless of the applicability of the rest of this Rule. 
(h)  40 CFR 51.165(f) is incorporated by reference except that 
40 CFR 51.165(f)(10)(iv)(A) is changed to read: "If the 
emissions level calculated in accordance with Paragraph (f)(6) of 
this Section is equal to or greater than 80 percent of the PAL 
level, the Director shall renew the PAL at the same level." 40 
CFR 51.165(f)(10)(iv)(B) is not incorporated by reference. 
(i)  When a particular source or modification becomes a major 
stationary source or major modification solely by virtue of a 
relaxation in any enforceable limitation established after 
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August 7, 1980, on the capacity of the source or modification to 
emit a pollutant, such as a restriction on hours of operation, then 
the provisions of this Rule shall apply to the source or 
modification as though construction had not yet begun on the 
source or modification. 
(j)  To issue a permit to a source of a nonattainment pollutant, 
the Director shall determine, in accordance with Section 
173(a)(5) of the Clean Air Act and in addition to the other 
requirements of this Rule, that an analysis (produced by the 
permit applicant) of alternative sites, sizes, production processes, 
and environmental control techniques for the source 
demonstrates that the benefits of the source significantly 
outweigh the environmental and social costs imposed as a result 
of its location, construction, or modification.  
(k)  The provisions of 40 CFR 52.21(r)(2) regarding the period 
of validity of approval to construct are incorporated by reference 
except that the term "Administrator" is replaced with "Director". 
(l)  Approval of an application regarding the requirements of this 
Rule does not relieve the owner or operator of the responsibility 
to comply with applicable provisions of other rules of this 
Chapter and any other requirements under local, state, or federal 
law. 
(m)  Except as provided in 40 CFR 52.28(c)(6), for a source or 
modification subject to this Rule the following procedures shall 
be followed:  

(1)  Notwithstanding any other provisions of this 
Paragraph, the Director shall, no later than 60 
days after receipt of an application, notify the 
Federal Land Manager with the U.S. 
Department of Interior and U.S. Department of 
Agriculture of an application from a source or 
modification subject to this Rule; 

(2) The owner or operator of the source shall 
provide an analysis of the impairment to 
visibility that would occur because of the 
source or modification and general 
commercial, industrial and other growth 
associated with the source or modification; 

(3) When a source or modification may affect the 
visibility of a Class I area the Director shall 
provide written notification to all affected 
Federal Land Managers within 30 days of 
receiving the permit application or within 30 
days of receiving advance notification of an 
application.  The notification shall be at least 
30 days before the publication of the notice for 
public comment on the application.  The 
notification shall include a copy of all 
information relevant to the permit application 
including an analysis provided by the source 
of the potential impact of the proposed source 
on visibility; 

(4) The Director shall consider any analysis 
concerning visibility impairment performed by 
the Federal Land Manager if the analysis is 
received within 30 days of notification.  If the 
Director finds that the analysis of the Federal 
Land Manager fails to demonstrate to his 
satisfaction that an adverse impact on visibility 

will result in the Class I area, the Director shall 
provide in the notice of public hearing on the 
application, an explanation of his decision or 
notice where the explanation can be obtained; 

(5) The Director shall issue permits only to those 
sources whose emissions will be consistent 
with making reasonable progress, as defined in 
Section 169A of the Clean Air Act, toward the 
national goal of preventing any future, and 
remedying any existing, impairment of 
visibility in mandatory Class I areas when the 
impairment results from manmade air 
pollution.  In making the decision to issue a 
permit, the Director shall consider the cost of 
compliance, the time necessary for 
compliance, the energy and nonair quality 
environmental impacts of compliance, and the 
useful life of the source; and 

(6) The Director may require monitoring of 
visibility in or around any Class I area by the 
proposed new source or modification when the 
visibility impact analysis indicates possible 
visibility impairment. 

The requirements of this Paragraph do not apply to nonprofit 
health or nonprofit educational institutions. 
(n)  If the owner or operator of a source is using projected actual 
emissions to avoid applicability of nonattainment new source 
review, the owner or operator shall notify the director of the 
modification before beginning actual construction. The 
notification shall include: 

(1) a description of the project; 
(2) identification of sources whose emissions 

could be affected by the project; 
(3) the calculated projected actual emissions and 

an explanation of how the projected actual 
emissions were calculated, including 
identification of emissions excluded by 40 
CFR  51.165(a)(1)(xxviii)(B)(3); 

(4) the calculated baseline actual emissions and an 
explanation of how the baseline actual 
emissions were calculated; and  

(5) any netting calculations if applicable. 
If upon reviewing the notification, the Director finds that the 
project will cause a nonattainment new source review 
evaluation, then the Director shall notify the owner or operator 
of his findings. The owner or operator shall not make the 
modification until it has received a permit issued pursuant to this 
Rule. If a permit revision is not required pursuant to this Rule, 
the owner or operator shall maintain records of annual emissions 
in tons per year on a calendar year basis related to the 
modifications for 10 years following resumption of regular 
operations after the change if the project involves increasing the 
emissions unit's design capacity or its potential to emit the 
regulated NSR pollutant; otherwise these records shall be 
maintained for five years following resumption of regular 
operations after the change. The owner or operator shall submit a 
report to the director within 60 days after the end of each year 
during which these records must be generated. The report shall 
contain the items listed in 40 CFR 51.165(a)(6)(v)(A) through 
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(C). The owner or operator shall make the information 
documented and maintained under this Paragraph available to 
the Director or the general public pursuant to the requirements in 
40 CFR 70.4(b)(3)(viii). 
(o)  The reference to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in 
this Rule are incorporated by reference unless a specific 
reference states otherwise. Except for 40 CFR 81.334, the 
version of the CFR incorporated in this Rule is that as of May 
16, 2008 and does not include any subsequent amendments or 
editions to the referenced material.  
 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-
215.108(b). 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend 
the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02D .0902,-.0903, .0909, .0951, 
.0961-.0962; 02Q .0102. 
 
Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification: 

  OSBM certified on: November 5, 2012 
  RRC certified on:  
  Not Required 

 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
http://www.ncair.org/rules/hearing/ 
 
Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2013 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 15, 2013 
Time:  6:00 p.m. 
Location:  Kannapolis Train Station, 201 South Main Street, 
Kannapolis, NC 28081 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
The proposed amendments are in response to United States 
Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) comments on North 
Carolina’s redesignation demonstration and maintenance plan 
for the North Carolina portion of the Charlotte-Gastonia, NC-
Rock Hill, SC 1997 8-hour Ozone National Ambient Air Quality 
Standard (NAAQS) Nonattainment Area. USEPA identified the 
need for adjustment of applicability of the state’s Reasonably 
Available Control Technology (RACT) rules to meet the 
requirements of Section 182(b)(2) of the Clean Air Act which 
requires RACT for all sources addressed by Control Technique 
Guidelines (CTGs) in nonattainment areas classified moderate 
and above. The current RACT rules’ applicability is structured 
such that the RACT requirement for sources in CTG categories 
applies to major sources with 100 tons of volatile organic 
compounds or more per year. Amendments to printing related 
and industrial solvent cleaning RACT rules are in response to 
industry associations’ requests for language clarifications and 
flexibilities consistent with the CTGs on which they are based. 
15A NCAC 02D .0902 - Applicability, to reflect applicability to 
all sources in a CTG category in order to meet the Clean Air Act 
requirement and thus facilitate the redesignation process and 

include provisions allowing for the shift of requirements to 
contingency measures upon redesignation of the area consistent 
with EPA procedures. 
15A NCAC 02D .0909 - Compliance Schedules For Sources In 
Ozone Nonattainment And Maintenance Areas, to update the 
compliance schedule corresponding to the adjustment in 
applicability. 
15A NCAC 02D .0951 - RACT For Sources of Volatile Organic 
Compounds, to provide flexibility to comply via the category 
specific rules in the Section or through approved site specific 
alternative determinations. 
15A NCAC 02D .0961 - Offset Lithographic Printing and 
Letterpress Printing, in response to industry associations’ 
comments and requests for language clarification and 
flexibilities consistent with the CTGs on which it is based 
including an equivalent rolling, consecutive 12 month 
applicability threshold consistent with the CTG to provide some 
relief from a recordkeeping standpoint, clarifying language, and 
addition of some specificity with respect to recordkeeping.  
15A NCAC 18A 02D .0962 - Industrial Cleaning Solvents, in 
response to industry associations’ comments and requests for 
language clarification and flexibilities consistent with the CTGs 
on which it is are based including an alternate VOC content 
level and compliance options for industrial solvents used for 
cleaning resins, inks, and coatings manufacturing equipment 
consistent with the CTG recommendations. 
15A NCAC 02D .0903 - Recordkeeping: Reporting: Monitoring, 
to update cross-references. 
15A NCAC 02Q .0102 - Exemptions, to update cross-references. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  If you have any objections to the proposed 
rules, please mail a letter including your specific reasons to: Ms. 
Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Joelle Burleson, Division of 
Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1641, phone (919)707-8720, fax (919)707-8720, email 
joelle.burleson@ncdenr.gov. 
 
Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
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Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 
 State funds affected 
 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 
 Local funds affected 

 Date submitted to OSBM:       
 Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 
CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 
SUBCHAPTER 02D - AIR POLLUTION CONTROL 

REQUIREMENTS 
 

SECTION .0900 - VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUNDS 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0902 APPLICABILITY 
(a)  The rules in this Section do not apply except as specifically 
set out in this Rule. 
(b)  This Section applies to sources that emit greater than or 
equal to 15 pounds of volatile organic compounds per day. day 
unless specified otherwise in this Section. 
(c)  Rules .0925, .0926, .0927, .0928, .0931, .0932, .0933, and 
.0958 of this Section apply regardless of the level of emissions 
of volatile organic compounds. compounds unless provisions 
specified in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule are applied.  
(d)  This Section does not apply to: 

(1) sources that emit less than 800 pounds of 
volatile organic compounds per calendar 
month and that are: 
(A) bench-scale, on-site equipment used 

exclusively for chemical or physical 
analysis for quality control purposes, 
staff instruction, water or wastewater 
analyses, or non-production 
environmental compliance 
assessments; 

(B) bench-scale experimentation, 
chemical or physical analyses, 
training or instruction from not-for-
profit, non-production educational 
laboratories; 

(C) bench-scale experimentation, 
chemical or physical analyses, 
training or instruction from hospitals 
or health laboratories pursuant to the 
determination or diagnoses of illness; 
or 

(D) research and development laboratory 
activities provided the activity 
produces no commercial product or 
feedstock material; or 

(2) emissions of volatile organic compounds 
during startup or shutdown operations from 
sources which use incineration or other types 
of combustion to control emissions of volatile 
organic compounds whenever the off-gas 
contains an explosive mixture during the 

startup or shutdown operation if the exemption 
is approved by the Director as meeting the 
requirements of this Subparagraph. 

(e)  The following rules of this Section apply to facilities located 
statewide: 

(1) .0925, Petroleum Liquid Storage in Fixed Roof 
Tanks, for fixed roof tanks at gasoline bulk 
plants and gasoline bulk terminals; 

(2) .0926, Bulk Gasoline Plants; 
(3) .0927, Bulk Gasoline Terminals; 
(4) .0928, Gasoline Service Stations Stage I; 
(5) .0932, Gasoline Truck Tanks and Vapor 

Collection Systems; 
(6) .0933, Petroleum Liquid Storage in External 

Floating Roof Tanks, for external floating roof 
tanks at bulk gasoline plants and bulk gasoline 
terminals; 

(7) .0948, VOC Emissions from Transfer 
Operations; 

(8) .0949, Storage of Miscellaneous Volatile 
Organic Compounds; and  

(9) .0958, Work Practices for Sources of Volatile 
Organic Compounds. 

(f)  Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, Thethe 
Rules in this Section apply to facilities subject to Section 
182(b)(2) of the Clean Air Act with potential to emit 100 or 
more tons per year of VOC and to facilities with potential to 
emit less than 100 tons per year of volatile organic compounds 
in categories for which the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency has issued Control Technique Guidelines 
with the potential to emit greater than or equal to 100 tons of 
volatile organic compounds per yearthat are located in the 
following moderate nonattainment areas:areas for the 1997 8-
hour ozone standard as designated in 40 CFR 81.334:  

(1) Cabarrus County; 
(2) Gaston County; 
(3) Lincoln County; 
(4) Mecklenburg County; 
(5) Rowan County; 
(6) Union County; and 
(7) Davidson Township and Coddle Creek 

Township in Iredell County. 
These facilities are subject to reasonably available control 
technology requirements under this Section and shall comply in 
accordance with Rule .0909 of this Section through use of Rule 
.0951 of this Section. 
(g)  If any county or part of a county to which this Section 
applies is later designated in 40 CFR 81.334 as 
attainment,attainment and becomes a maintenance area for the 
1997 8-hour ozone standard , all sources in that county or part of 
county subject to Paragraph (f) of this Rule that achieved 
compliance in accordance with Rule .0909 of this Sectionsubject 
to this Section before the redesignation to attainment shall 
continue to comply with this Section. Facilities with potential to 
emit less than 100 tons of volatile organic compounds per year 
for which the compliance date in Rule  .0909 of this Section has 
not passed before redesignation of the area to attainment for the 
1997 ozone standard shall comply in accordance with Paragraph 
(h) of this Rule.      
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(h)  If EPA reclassifies a violation of the 1997 ambient air 
quality standard for ozone occurs in the Charlotte-Gastonia-
Rock Hill ozone nonattainment maintenancearea as serious for 
ozone under Section 182 of the federal Clean Air Act, the rules 
in this Section shall apply to facilities in Cabarrus, Gaston, 
Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, and Union Counties and 
Davidson and Coddle Creek townships in Iredell County with 
the potential to emit at least 50 tons of volatile organic 
compounds per year. Within 60 days of the reclassification, area, 
the Director shall initiate technical analysis to determine the 
control measures needed to attain and maintain the 1997 8-hour 
ambient air quality standard for ozone. By the following May 1, 
the Director shall implement the specific stationary source 
control measures contained in this Section that are required as 
part of the control strategy necessary to bring the area into 
compliance and to maintain compliance with the 1997 8-hour 
ambient air quality standard for ozone. The Director shall 
implement the rules in this Section identified as being necessary 
by the analysis by notice in the North Carolina Register. The 
notice shall identify the rules that are to be implemented and 
shall identify whether the rules implemented are to apply in the 
areas listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. At least one week 
before the scheduled publication date of the North Carolina 
Register containing the Director's notice implementing rules in 
this Section,the Director shall notice the applicability of these 
Rules to these facilities in the North Carolina Register and shall 
send written notification to all permitted facilities within the 
counties in which the rules are being implemented that are or 
may be subject to the requirements of this Section informing 
them that they are or may be subject to the requirements of this 
Section.  (For Mecklenburg County, "Director" means for the 
purpose of notifying permitted facilities in Mecklenburg County, 
the Director of the Mecklenburg County local air pollution 
control program.)  Compliance shall be according to Rule .0909 
of this Section. 
(i)  Sources whose emissions of volatile organic compounds are 
not subject to limitation under this Section may still be subject to 
emission limits on volatile organic compounds in Rules .0524, 
.1110, or .1111 of this Subchapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5). 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0903 RECORDKEEPING:  
REPORTING: MONITORING 
(a)  The owner or operator of any volatile organic compound 
emission source or control equipment shall: 

(1) install, operate, and maintain process and 
control equipment monitoring instruments or 
procedures as necessary to comply with the 
requirements of this Section; and 

(2) maintain, in writing, data and reports relating 
to monitoring instruments or procedures which 
will, upon review, document the compliance 
status of the volatile organic compound 
emission source or control  equipment; such 
data and reports shall, as a minimum, be 
maintained daily.daily unless otherwise 
specified in this Section.  

(b)  The owner or operator of any volatile organic compound 
emission source or control equipment subject to the 
requirements of this Section shall comply with the monitoring, 
recordkeeping, and reporting requirements in Section .0600 of 
this Subchapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5). 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0909 COMPLIANCE SCHEDULES  
FOR SOURCES IN OZONE NONATTAINMENT AND  
MAINTENANCE AREAS 
(a)  Applicability.  With the exceptions in Paragraph (b) of this 
Rule, this Rule applies to all sources located at any facility 
covered by Paragraph Paragraphs (f) or and (h) of Rule .0902 of 
this Section. 
(b)  Exceptions.  This Rule does not apply to sources 
facilitiesrequired to comply with the requirements subject to 
rules listedof this Section under Paragraph (e) of in Rule .0902 
of this Section. Facilities subject to rules listed in Paragraph (e) 
of Rule .0902 shall comply in accordance with the provisions 
defined in those rules rather than the schedule in Paragraphs (c) 
and (d) of this Rule. 
(c)  Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone nonattainment area 
contingency plan.  The owner or operator of any source subject 
to this Rule because of the application of Paragraph (h) of Rule 
.0902 of this Section Paragraph (a) in this Rule shall adhere to 
the following increments of progress and schedules: 

(1) if compliance with applicable rules in this 
Section is to be achieved by installing 
emission control equipment, replacing process 
equipment, or modifying existing process 
equipment: 
(A) The owner or operator shall submit a 

permit application and a compliance 
schedule within six months after the 
Director notices the implementation 
of rules in the North Carolina 
Register that resolves a violation of 
the ambient air quality standard for 
ozone; 

(B) The compliance schedule shall 
contain the following increments of 
progress: 
(i) a date by which contracts for 

the emission control system 
and process equipment shall 
be awarded or orders shall 
be issued for purchase of 
component parts; 

(ii) a date by which on-site 
construction or installation 
of the emission control and 
process equipment shall 
begin; and 

(iii) a date by which on-site 
construction or installation 
of the emission control and 
process equipment shall be 
completed; and 
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(C) Final compliance with applicable 
rules in this Section shall be achieved 
within three years after the Director 
notices the implementation of rules in 
the North Carolina Register that 
resolves a violation of the ambient air 
quality standard for ozone. 

(2) if compliance with applicable rules in this 
Section is to be achieved by using low solvent 
content coating technology: 
(A) The owner or operator shall submit a 

permit application and a compliance 
schedule within six months after the 
Director notices the implementation 
of rules in the North Carolina 
Register that resolves a violation of 
the ambient air quality standard for 
ozone; 

(B) The compliance schedule shall 
contain the following increments: 
(i) a date by which research and 

development of low solvent 
content coating shall be 
completed if the Director 
determines that low solvent 
content coating technology 
has not been sufficiently 
researched and developed to 
assure compliance; 

(ii) a date by which evaluation 
of product quality and 
commercial acceptance shall 
be completed; 

(iii)(i) a date by which purchase 
orders shall be issued for 
low solvent content coatings 
and process modifications; 

(iv)(ii) a date by which process 
modifications shall be 
initiated; and 

(v)(iii) a date by which process 
modifications shall be 
completed and use of low 
solvent content coatings 
shall begin; and 

(C) Final compliance with applicable 
rules in this Section shall be achieved 
within three years two years after the 
Director notices the implementation 
of rules in the North Carolina 
Register that resolves a violation of 
the ambient air quality standard for 
ozone. 

(3) The owner or operator shall certify to the 
Director within five days after each increment 
deadline of progress defined in this Paragraph, 
whether the required increment of progress has 
been met. 

(d)  Moderate Nonattainment nonattainment areas.  The owner 
or operator of any source subject to this Rule because of the 
application of Paragraph (f) of Rule .0902 of this Section 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall adhere to the following 
increments of progress and schedules: 

(1) if compliance with applicable rules in this 
Section is to be achieved by installing 
emission control equipment, replacing process 
equipment, or modifying existing process 
equipment:   
(A) The owner or operator shall submit a 

permit application and a compliance 
schedule by 

August 1, 2007; 
(B) The compliance schedule shall 

contain the following increments of 
progress: 
(i) a date by which contracts for 

the emission control system 
and process equipment shall 
be awarded or orders shall 
be issued for purchase of 
component parts; 

(ii) a date by which on-site 
construction or installation 
of the emission control and 
process equipment shall 
begin; and 

(iii) a date by which on-site 
construction or installation 
of the emission control and 
process equipment shall be 
completed; and  

(C) For facilities with potential to emit 
100 tons or more of volatile organic 
compounds per year, Finalfinal 
compliance with applicable rules in 
this Section shall be achieved no later 
than April 1, 2009;2009. 

(D) For facilities with potential to emit 
less than 100 tons of volatile organic 
compounds per year, final compliance 
with applicable rules in this Section 
shall be achieved no later than May 1, 
2016. 

(2) if compliance with applicable rules in this 
Section is to be achieved by using low solvent 
content coating technology: 
(A) The owner or operator shall submit a 

permit application and a compliance 
schedule by August 1, 2007;  

(B) The compliance schedule shall 
contain the following increments: 
(i) a date by which research and 

development of low solvent 
content coating shall be 
completed if the Director 
determines that low solvent 
content coating technology 
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has not been sufficiently 
researched and developed; 

(ii) a date by which evaluation 
of product quality and 
commercial acceptance shall 
be completed; 

(iii)(i) a date by which purchase 
orders shall be issued for 
low solvent content coatings 
and process modifications; 

(iv)(ii) a date by which process 
modifications shall be 
initiated; and 

(v)(iii) a date by which process 
modifications shall be 
completed and use of low 
solvent content coatings 
shall begin; and 

(C) Final compliance with applicable 
rules in this Section shall be achieved 
no later than April 1, 2009.2009; 

(D) For facilities with potential to emit 
less than 100 tons of volatile organic 
compounds per year, final compliance 
with applicable rules in this Section 
shall be achieved no later than May 1, 
2015. 

(3) The owner or operator shall certify to the 
Director within five days after the deadline, for 
each increment of progress defined in this 
Paragraph, whether the required increment of 
progress has been met. 

(e)  If the Director requires a test to demonstrate that compliance 
has been achieved, the owner or operator of sources subject to 
this Rule shall conduct a test and submit a final test report within 
six months after the stated date of final compliance. 
(f)  Sources already in compliance. 

(1) Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone 
nonattainment area contingency plan.  
Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall not apply to 
sources any source subject to Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule that is in compliance with applicable 
rules of this Section when the Director notices 
the implementation of rules in the North 
Carolina Register that resolves a violation of 
the ambient air quality standard for ozone and 
that have determined and certified compliance 
to the satisfaction of the Director within six 
months after the Director notices the 
implementation of rules in the North Carolina 
Register that resolves a violation of the 
ambient air quality standard for ozone. 

(2) Moderate Nonattainment nonattainment areas. 
Paragraphs Paragraph (d) of this Rule does not 
apply to sources in an area named in Paragraph 
(f) of Rule .0902 of this Section that subject to 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule if they are in 
compliance with applicable rules of this 
Section on March 1, 2007.  

(g)  New sources. 
(1) Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone 

nonattainment area contingency plan.  The 
owner or operator of any new source of 
volatile organic compounds subject to 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule not in existence or 
under construction before the date that the 
Director notices in the North Carolina Register 
in accordance with Paragraph (h) of Rule 
.0902 of this Section the implementation of 
rules in the North Carolina Register that 
resolves a violation of the ambient air quality 
standard for ozone, shall comply with all 
applicable rules in this Section upon start-up 
of the source. 

(2) Moderate Nonattainment nonattainment areas. 
The owner or operator of any new source of 
volatile organic compounds subject to 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule not in existence or 
under construction before March 1, 2007 in an 
area identified in Paragraph (f) of Rule .0902 
shall comply with all applicable rules in this 
Section upon start-up of the source.  

 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5). 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0951 RACT FOR SOURCES OF  
VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUNDS 
(a) Facilities required to install RACT pursuant to Rule .0902 of 
this Section shall determine the emissions control level 
according to this Rule. With the exceptions in Paragraph (b) of 
this Rule, this Rule applies to all facilities that use volatile 
organic compounds as solvents, carriers, material processing 
media, or industrial chemical reactants, or in other similar uses, 
or that mix, blend, or manufacture volatile organic compounds 
for which there is no other applicable emissions control rule in 
this Section except Rule .0958 of this Section. If the only other 
applicable emissions control rule for the facility in this Section is 
Rule .0958, then both this Rule and Rule .0958 apply. 
(b)  This Rule does not apply to architectural or maintenance 
coating. 
(c)  The owner or operator of any facility to which this Rule 
applies shall:shall comply by either of the following: 

(1) install and operate reasonable available control 
technology;technology as defined by category 
specific emission standards defined in this 
Section; or 

(2) limit emissions of volatile organic compounds 
from coating lines not covered by Rules .0922, 
.0923, .0924, .0934, .0935, .0936, or .0961 
through .0968 from this Section to no more 
than 6.7 pounds of volatile organic compounds 
per gallon of solids delivered to the coating 
applicator.install and operate reasonable 
available control technology demonstrated to 
the Director and the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency to advance attainment. 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
27:11                                                              NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 DECEMBER 3, 2012 

1025 

(d)  If the owner or operator of a facility chooses to install 
reasonable available control technology under Subparagraph 
(c)(1) (c)(2) of this Rule, the owner or operator shall submit: 

(1) the name and location of the facility; 
(2) information identifying the source for which a 

reasonable available control technology 
limitation or standard is being proposed; 

(3) a demonstration that shows the proposed 
reasonable available control technology 
limitation or standard satisfies the 
requirements for reasonable available control 
technology; and  

(4) a proposal for demonstrating compliance with 
the proposed reasonable control technology 
limitation or standard. 

 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5). 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0961 OFFSET LITHOGRAPHIC  
PRINTING AND LETTERPRESS PRINTING 
(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions listed 
in Rules .0101, 0902 of this Sectionapply: and in Paragraph 
(a)(1) through (10) of this Rule shall apply. 

(1) "Composite partial vapor pressure" means the 
sum of the partial pressure of the compounds 
defined as volatile organic compounds.  
Volatile organic compounds composite partial 
vapor pressure is calculated as follows: 

∑
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Where: 
Wi = Weight of the "i" volatile organic 
compound, in grams 
Ww = Weight of water, in grams 
Wc = Weight of exempt compound, in grams 
MWi = Molecular weight of the "i" volatile 
organic compound, in g/g-mole 
MWw = Molecular weight of water, in g/g-
mole 
MWc = Molecular weight of exempt 
compound, in g/g-mole 
PPc = Volatile organic compounds composite 
partial vapor pressure at 20 degrees Celsius 
(68 degrees Fahrenheit), in mm Hg 
VPi = Vapor pressure of the "i" volatile 
organic compound at 20 degrees Celsius (68 
degrees Fahrenheit), in mm Hg 

(2) "First installation date" means the actual date 
when this control device becomes operational.  
This date does not change if the control device 
is later redirected to a new press. 

(3) "Fountain solution" means water-based 
solution that applies to lithographic plate to 
render the non-image areas unreceptive to the 
ink. 

(4) "Heatset" means any operation in which heat is 
required to evaporate ink oils from the printing 
ink, excluding ultraviolet (UV) curing, 
electron beam curing and infrared drying. 

(5) "Letterpress printing" means a printing process 
in which the image area is raised relative to the 
non-image area and the paste ink is transferred 
to the substrate directly from the image 
surface. 

(6) "Non-heatset" means a lithographic printing 
process where the printing inks are set by 
absorption or oxidation of the ink oil, not by 
evaporation of the ink oils in a dryer.  For the 
purposes of this Rule, use of an infrared heater 
or printing conducted using ultraviolet-cured 
or electron beam-cured inks is considered non-
heatset. 

(7) "Offset lithography" means an indirect method 
of a printing process that uses sheet-fed or web 
method of press feedingwhen and transfers 
inktransferred from the lithographic plate to a 
rubber-covered intermediate "blanket" cylinder 
and then transferred from the blanket cylinder 
to the substrate. 

(8) "Press" means a printing production assembly 
composed of one or more units used to 
produce a printed substrate including any 
associated coating, spray powder application, 
heatset web dryer, ultraviolet or electron beam 
curing units, or infrared heating units. 

(9) "Sheet-fed printing" means indirect method of 
offset lithographic printing when ink 
transferred from the lithographic plate to a 
rubber-covered intermediate "blanket" cylinder 
and then transferred from the blanket cylinder 
to the substrate. individual sheets of paper or 
other substrate are fed to the press. 

(10) "Web printing" means offset lithographic 
printing when continuous rolls of substrate 
material are fed to the press and rewound or 
cut to size after printing. 

(b)  This Rule applies to any offset lithographic and any 
letterpress printing operations sources that are not covered by 
Subparagraph (c)(1) of Rule .0966 of this Section and whose 
emissions of volatile organic compounds exceed the threshold 
established in Paragraphs (b) and (f) of Rule .0902 of this 
Section and is not covered by Subparagraph (c)(1) of Rule .0966 
of this Section. exceed: 

(1) the threshold established in Paragraphs (b) and 
(f) of Rule .0902 of this Section; or 

(2) an equivalent level of three tons per 12-
consecutive month rolling period. 

(c)  Volatile organic compounds content in the fountain solution 
fromfor on-press (as-applied) for heatset web offset lithographic 
printing shall not exceed 1.6 percent alcohol (by weight) in the 
fountain solution or equivalent.  This level of control for volatile 
organic compounds shall be achieved by:meet one of the 
following requirements or equivalent level of control as 
determined in permit conditions: 
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(1) reducing the on-press (as-applied) alcohol 
content tocontain 1.6 percent alcohol or 
lessless, (by weight);by weight, as applied, in 
the fountain solution: or 

(2) usecontain three percent alcohol or less (by 
weight) less, by weight, the on-press (as-
applied) in the fountain solution if the fountain 
solution is refrigerated to below 60 degrees 
Fahrenheit; or 

(3) usecontain five percent alcohol substitute or 
less (by weight)less, by weight,  the on-press 
(as-applied) and no alcohol in the fountain 
solution. 

(d)  Volatile organic compounds content in the fountain solution 
fromfor on-press (as-applied) sheet-fed lithographic printing 
shall not exceed five percent alcohol (by weight) in the fountain 
or equivalent.  This level of control for volatile organic 
compounds shall be achieved by:meet one of the following 
requirements or equivalent level of control as determined in  
permit conditions: 

(1) reducing the on-press (as-applied) alcohol 
content tocontain five percent alcohol or less 
(by weight);less, by weight, on-press (as-
applied) in the fountain solution; or 

(2) usecontain 8.5 percent alcohol or less (by 
weight) the less, by weight,on-press (as-
applied) in the fountain solution if the fountain 
solution is refrigerated to below 60 degrees 
Fahrenheit; or 

(3) usecontain five percent alcohol substitute or 
less (by weight) theless, by weight, on-press 
(as-applied) and no alcohol in the fountain 
solution. 

(e)  Volatile organic compounds content emissions from 
fountain solution from on-press (as-applied) for non-heatset web 
offset lithographic printing shall not exceed five percent alcohol 
substitute (by weight) on-press (as-applied) and no alcohol in the 
fountain solution. 
(f) Emissions of volatile organic compounds from any single 
letterpress printing heatset press subject to this Rule shall not 
exceed 25 tons per year. This level of control shall be achieved 
by using petroleum ink oil with volatile organic compounds 
content 31.25 tons per year volatile organic compounds or less 
because of the 20 percent ink oil retention. 
(g) EPA Method 25A (40CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7) shall be 
used to determine the volatile organic compounds content of the 
materials used at offset lithographic printing and letterpress 
printing facilities unless the facility maintains records to 
document the volatile organic compounds content of the 
materials from the manufacturer. 
(h) Any single letterpress printing heatset dryer owner or 
operator subject to this Rule, who has chosen to use add-on 
control for letterpress printing operation rather than to comply 
with the emission limits established in Paragraph (f) of this Rule 
shall install control equipment with: 

(1)  90 percent control efficiency for a control 
device whose first installation date was prior 
to July 1, 2010; 

(2)  95 percent control efficiency for a control 
device whose first installation date was on or 
after July1,2010. 

(i)  When the inlet of volatile organic compounds concentration 
is low or there is no identifiable measurable inlet, the control 
device outlet concentration shall be reduced to 20 parts per 
million by volume as hexane on a dry basis. 
(j)  Volatile organic compounds capture efficiency can be 
demonstrated by showing that the dryer is operating at negative 
pressure relative to the surrounding pressroom.  The capture 
efficiency for volatile organic compounds can be assumed to be 
100 percent of the volatile organic compounds (ink oils) 
volatilized in the dryer.  Capture efficiency test is not required in 
this situation. 
(f)  An  owner or operator of an individual web offset 
lithographic printing press dryer or letterpressprinting heatset 
press subject to this Rule that emits 25 or more tons per year 
potential emissions of volatile organic compounds  shall: 

(1) use an enforceable limitation on potential 
emissions to keep individual heatset press 
below 25 tons per year potential to emit 
volatile organic compounds threshold, which 
can be achieved by using inks and coatings 
that contain less than 31.25 tons per year 
volatile organic compound where 20 percent 
retention factor of petroleum ink oil applies, or 
by using other methods established by permit 
conditions; or 

(2) use an add-on control system for web offset 
lithographic printing or letterpress printing 
operations that meets one of the following 
requirements: 
(A) reduces volatile organic compounds 

emissions from each dryer by at least 
90 percent volatile organic 
compounds emissions control 
efficiency established by procedures 
defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule 
for a control device from heatset 
dryers whose first installation date 
was prior to July 1, 2010; or 

(B) reduce volatile organic compounds 
emissions from each dryer by at least 
95 percent volatile organic 
compounds emissions control 
efficiency established by procedures 
defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule 
for a control device from heatset 
dryers whose first installation date 
was on or after July 1, 2010; or 

(C) maintain a maximum volatile organic 
compounds outlet concentration of 20 
parts per million by volume (ppmv), 
as hexane (C6H14) on a dry basis. 

(k)(g)  The control limits established in: 
(1) Paragraphs (c), (d), and (e), shall not be 

applied to any press with total fountain 
solution reservoir of less than one gallon; and 
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(2) Paragraph (d) shall not be applied to sheet-fed 
presses with maximum sheet size 11x 17 
inches or smaller; and 

(3) Paragraph (f) Subparagraph (f)(2)shall not be 
applied to a heatset press used for book 
printing, andor to a headset heatset press with 
maximum web width of 22 inches or less. 

(h)  If the owner or operator of a printing press is required by 
permit conditions to determine: 

(1) the volatile organic compounds content, the 
EPA test Method 24 or approved alternative 
methods shall be used; 

(2) the control efficiency by measuring volatile 
organic compounds at the control device inlet 
and outlet, the EPA test Methods 18, 25, 25A, 
or approved alternative methods shall be used. 

(l) All cleaning materials used in amount more than 110 gallons 
per year for cleaning a press, press parts, or to remove dried ink 
from areas around the press shall contain less than 70 weight 
percent volatile organic compounds or have volatile organic 
compounds composite vapor pressure less than 10 mm Hg at 20 
degrees Celsius. 
(i) All test methods defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, shall 
be conducted at typical operating conditions and flow rates. 
(j)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule 
shall demonstrate compliance with RACT applicability 
requirements by calculating volatile organic compounds 
emissions and keep records of the basis of the calculations 
required by the Rules .0605 and .0903 of this Subchapter. 
Volatile organic compounds emissions from offset lithographic 
printing and letterpress printing shall be determined by permit 
condition requirements or by using the following retention and 
capture efficiency factors: 

(1) retention factors are: 
(A) 20 percent for heatset petroleum ink 

oils;  
(B) 100 percent for heatset vegetable ink 

oils; 
(C) 95 percent for sheet-fed and coldset 

web petroleum ink oils;   
(D) 100 percent for sheet-fed and coldset 

web vegetable ink oils. 
(2) retention factor is 50 percent for low volatile 

organic compounds composite vapor pressure 
cleaning materials in shop towels where: 
(A) volatile organic compounds 

composite vapor pressure of the 
cleaning material is less than 10 mm 
Hg at 20 ºC; and 

(B) cleaning materials and used shop 
towels are kept in closed containers.  

(3) Carryover (capture) factors of volatile organic 
compounds from automatic blanket wash and 
fountain solution to offset lithographic heatset 
dryers are: 
(A) 40 percent VOC carryover (capture) 

factor for automatic blanket washing 
when the volatile organic compounds 
composite vapor pressure of the 

cleaning material is less than 10mm 
Hg at 20°C. 

(B) 70 percent VOC carryover (capture) 
factor for alcohol substitutes in 
fountain solution. 

(4) Capture efficiency for volatile organic 
compounds (petroleum ink oils) from oil-
based paste inks and oil-based paste varnishes 
(coatings) in heatset web offset lithographic 
presses and heatset web letterpress presses 
shall be demonstrated by showing that the 
dryer is operating at negative pressure relative 
to the surrounding pressroom. As long as the 
dryer is operated at negative pressure, the 
capture efficiency for VOC from the heatset 
lithographic inks and varnishes (coatings) 
formulated with low volatility ink oils is 100 
percent of the VOC (ink oils) volatilized in the 
dryer. Capture efficiency test is not required in 
this situation. 

(k) Except as specified in this Paragraph, all cleaning materials 
used for cleaning a press, press parts, or to remove dried ink 
from areas around the press shall meet one of the following 
requirements: 

(1) The volatile organic compounds content shall 
be less than 70 percent by weight, or;  

(2) Composite partial vapor pressure of volatile 
organic compounds shall be less than 10 mm 
Hg at 20 degrees Celsius. 

No more than 110 gallons per year of cleaning materials that do 
not meet the requirements of Subparagraph (1) or (2) of this 
Paragraph shall be used during any twelve consecutive months. 
(l)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule 
shall maintain the following records for a minimum of five 
years: 

 (1) parametric monitoring for processes and 
control devices as determined and at the 
frequency specified in the permit or by 
Paragraph (f) of this Rule; and 

(2) the total amount of each individual or class of 
fountain solution and ink used monthly for the 
printing operations and the percentage of 
volatile organic compounds, alcohol, and 
alcohol substitute as applied in it; and 

(3) the total amount of each individual or class of 
cleaning solutions used monthly with vapor 
pressure and the percentage of volatile organic 
compounds as applied in it; and 

(4) the total amount of cleaning solutions used 
monthly with vapor pressure and the 
percentage of volatile organic compounds as 
applied which does not meet the vapor 
pressure or percentage of volatile organic 
compounds requirements of Paragraph (k) of 
this Rule; and 

(5) temperature of fountain solutions for 
lithographic printing presses using alcohol at 
the frequency specified in the permit; and 
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(6) any other parameters required by the permit in 
accordance with the Rules .0903 and .0605 of 
this Subchapter. 

(m)  The owner or operator of any source subject to this Rule 
shall comply with Rules .0903, and .0958 of this Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5). 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0962 INDUSTRIAL CLEANING  
SOLVENTS 
(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Organic solvent" means a liquid hydrocarbon, 
such as methyl ethyl ketone or toluene, used to 
dissolve paints, varnishes, grease, oil, or other 
hydrocarbons. 

(2) "Solvent cleaning" means the process of 
removing the excess penetrant from the 
surface or a part by wiping, flushing, or 
spraying with a solvent for the penetrant. 

(3) “Wipe cleaning” The method of cleaning 
which utilizes a material such as a rag wetted 
with a solvent, prior to a physical rubbing 
process to remove contaminants from surfaces. 

(b)  This Rule applies applies, with exemptions defined in 
Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, to sources whose volatile 
organic compound emissions exceed the threshold established in 
Paragraph (b) of Rule .0902 of this Section from the following 
cleaning operations: 

(1) spray gun cleaning; 
(2) spray booth cleaning; 
(3) large manufactured components cleaning; 
(4) parts cleaning; 
(5) equipment cleaning; 
(6) line cleaning; 
(7) floor cleaning; 
(8) tank cleaning; and 
(9) small manufactured components cleaning. 

(c)  Paragraph (e) of this Rule does not apply to any cleaning 
material used fo r: cleaning operations covered by Rules .0918, 
.0919, .0921, .0923, .0924, .0930, .0934, .0935, .0936, .0961, 
.0963, .0964, .0965, .0966, .0967, and .0968 of this Section.  
(d)  Cleaning operations of portable or stationary mixing vats, 
high dispersion mills, grinding mills, tote tanks and roller mills 
for manufacturing of coating, ink, or adhesive shall apply one or 
more of the following methods: 

(1) use industrial cleaning solvents that either 
contains less than 1.67 pounds VOC per gallon 
or has an initial boiling point greater than 120 
degrees Celsius, and where the initial boiling 
point exceeds the maximum operating 
temperature by at least 100 degrees Celsius. 
The industrial cleaning solvents shall be 
collected and stored in closed containers; or 

(2) implement the following work practices: 
(A) maintain the equipment being cleaned 

as leak free; and 
(B) drain volatile organic compounds 

containing cleaning materials from 

the cleaned equipment upon 
completion of cleaning; and 

(C) store or dispose of volatile organic 
compounds containing cleaning 
materials, including waste solvent, in 
a manner that will prevent 
evaporation into atmosphere; and 

(D) store all volatile organic containing 
cleaning materials in closed 
containers; or  

(3) collect and vent the emissions from equipment 
cleaning to an add-on control system defined 
in Paragraph (g) of this Rule; or  

(4) use organic solvents other than those defined 
in Paragraph (d)(1) of this Rule if no more 
than 60 gallons of fresh solvent shall be used 
per month (organic solvent that is reused or 
recycled either onsite or offsite for further use 
in equipment cleaning or the manufacture of 
coating, ink, or adhesive shall not be included 
in this limit). 

(c)  Cleaning operations covered by Rules .0918, .0919,.0921, 
.0923, .0924,.0930, .0934, .0935, .0936, .0961, .0963, .0964, 
.0965, .0966, .0967, and .0968 of this Section are exempted from 
the requirements of this Rule.  
(d)(e)  Any cleaning material of the nine cleaning operations 
listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall have: 

(1) volatile organic compounds content that does 
not exceed 0.42 pounds per gallon; or 

(2) composite vapor limit of eight millimeters of 
mercury (mmHg) at 20 degrees Celsius. 

(e)(f)  EPA Method 24 (40CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7) shall be 
used to determine the volatile organic compounds content of 
coating materials used in industrial cleaning solvents operations 
unless the facility maintains records to document the volatile 
organic compounds content of coating materials from the 
manufacturer. 
(f)(g)  Facilities which have chosen to use add-on control rather 
than to comply with the emission limits established in Paragraph 
(e) of this Rule shall install control equipment with 85 percent 
overall efficiency. 
(g)(h)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule 
shall comply with the Rules .0903 and .0958 of this Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5). 
 

SUBCHAPTER 02Q - AIR QUALITY PERMITS 
PROCEDURES 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
15A NCAC 02Q .0102 ACTIVITIES EXEMPTED FROM  
PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  This Rule does not apply to facilities required to have a 
permit under Section .0500 of this Subchapter.  This Rule 
applies only to permits issued under Section .0300 of this 
Subchapter. 
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(b)  If a source is subject to any of the following rules, then the 
source is not exempted from permit requirements, and the 
exemptions in Paragraph (c) of this Rule do not apply: 

(1) new source performance standards under 15A 
NCAC 02D .0524 or 40 CFR Part 60, except 
when the following activities are eligible for 
exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule: 
(A) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Dc, 

industrial, commercial, and 
institutional steam generating units; 

(B) 40 CFR Part 60, Subparts K, Ka, or 
Kb, volatile organic liquid storage 
vessels;  

(C) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart AAA, new 
residential wood heaters;  

(D) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart JJJ, 
petroleum dry cleaners;  

(E) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart WWW, 
municipal solid waste landfills;  

(F) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart IIII, 
stationary compression ignition 
internal combustion engines; or 

(G) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart JJJJ, 
stationary spark ignition internal 
combustion engines; 

(2) national emission standards for hazardous air 
pollutants under 15A NCAC 02D .1110 or 40 
CFR Part 61, except asbestos demolition and 
renovation activities, which are eligible for 
exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule; 

(3) prevention of significant deterioration under 
15A NCAC 02D .0530; 

(4) new source review under 15A NCAC 02D 
.0531 or .0532; 

(5) sources of volatile organic compounds subject 
to the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0900 
Section .0900,Volatile Organic Compounds, 
that are located in Mecklenburg County 
according to 15A NCAC 02D .0902 (d); 15A 
NCAC 02D .0902(f). 

(6) sources required to apply maximum 
achievable control technology (MACT) for 
hazardous air pollutants under 15A NCAC 
02D .1109, .1111, .1112, or 40 CFR Part 63 
that are required to have a permit under 
Section .0500 of this Subchapter; 

(7) sources at facilities subject to 15A NCAC 02D 
.1100.  (If a source does not emit a toxic air 
pollutant for which the facility at which it is 
located has been modeled, it shall be exempted 
from needing a permit if it qualifies for one of 
the exemptions in Paragraph (c) of this Rule). 

(c)  The following activities do not need a permit or permit 
modification under Section .0300 of this Subchapter; however, 
the Director may require the owner or operator of these activities 
to register them under 15A NCAC 02D .0200: 

(1) activities exempted because of category: 
(A) maintenance, upkeep, and 

replacement: 

(i) maintenance, structural 
changes, or repairs which do 
not change the capacity of 
such process, fuel-burning, 
refuse-burning, or control 
equipment, and do not 
involve any change in 
quality or nature or increase 
in quantity of emission of 
regulated air pollutants; 

(ii) housekeeping activities or 
building maintenance 
procedures, including 
painting buildings, 
resurfacing floors, roof 
repair, washing, portable 
vacuum cleaners, sweeping, 
use and associated storage of 
janitorial products, or 
insulation removal; 

(iii) use of office supplies, 
supplies to maintain copying 
equipment, or blueprint 
machines;  

(iv) use of fire fighting 
equipment; 

(v) paving parking lots; or 
(vi) replacement of existing 

equipment with equipment 
of the same size, type, and 
function that does not result 
in an increase to the actual 
or potential emission of 
regulated air pollutants and 
that does not affect the 
compliance status, and with 
replacement equipment that 
fits the description of the 
existing equipment in the 
permit, including the 
application, such that the 
replacement equipment can 
be operated under that 
permit without any changes 
in the permit; 

(B) air conditioning or ventilation: 
comfort air conditioning or comfort 
ventilating systems that do not 
transport, remove, or exhaust 
regulated air pollutants to the 
atmosphere; 

(C) laboratory activities: 
(i) bench-scale, on-site 

equipment used exclusively 
for chemical or physical 
analysis for quality control 
purposes, staff instruction, 
water or wastewater 
analyses, or non-production 
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environmental compliance 
assessments; 

(ii) bench-scale 
experimentation, chemical or 
physical analyses, training or 
instruction from not-for-
profit, non-production 
educational laboratories; 

(iii) bench-scale 
experimentation, chemical or 
physical analyses, training or 
instruction from hospitals or 
health laboratories pursuant 
to the determination or 
diagnoses of illness; or 

(iv) research and development 
laboratory activities 
provided the activity 
produces no commercial 
product or feedstock 
material; 

(D) storage tanks: 
(i) storage tanks used solely to 

store fuel oils, kerosene, 
diesel, crude oil, used motor 
oil, lubricants, cooling oils, 
natural gas or liquefied 
petroleum gas; 

(ii) storage tanks used to store 
gasoline or ethanol-based 
fuels for which there are no 
applicable requirements 
except Stage I controls under 
15A NCAC 02D .0928; 

(iii) storage tanks used solely to 
store inorganic liquids; or 

(iv) storage tanks or vessels used 
for the temporary 
containment of materials 
resulting from an emergency 
response to an unanticipated 
release of hazardous 
materials; 

(E) combustion and heat transfer 
equipment: 
(i) space heaters burning 

distillate oil, kerosene, 
natural gas, or liquefied 
petroleum gas operating by 
direct heat transfer and used 
solely for comfort heat; 

(ii) residential wood stoves, 
heaters, or fireplaces; 

(iii) hot water heaters which are 
used for domestic purposes 
only and are not used to heat 
process water; 

(F) wastewater treatment processes: 
industrial wastewater treatment 

processes or municipal wastewater 
treatment processes for which there 
are no applicable requirements; 

(G) gasoline distribution: gasoline service 
stations or gasoline dispensing 
facilities; 

(H) dispensing equipment: equipment 
used solely to dispense diesel fuel, 
kerosene, lubricants or cooling oils; 

(I) solvent recycling: portable solvent 
distillation systems used for on-site 
solvent recycling if: 
(i) The portable solvent 

distillation system is not: 
(I) owned by the 

facility, and 
(II) operated at the 

facility for more 
than seven 
consecutive days; 
and 

(ii) The material recycled is 
recycled at the site of origin; 

(J) processes: 
(i) electric motor burn-out 

ovens with secondary 
combustion chambers or 
afterburners; 

(ii) electric motor bake-on 
ovens; 

(iii) burn-off ovens for paint-line 
hangers with afterburners; 

(iv) hosiery knitting machines 
and associated lint screens, 
hosiery dryers and 
associated lint screens, and 
hosiery dyeing processes 
where bleach or solvent dyes 
are not used; 

(v) blade wood planers planing 
only green wood; 

(K) solid waste landfills: municipal solid 
waste landfills (This Part does not 
apply to flares and other sources of 
combustion at solid waste landfills; 
these flares and other combustion 
sources are required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 unless 
they qualify for another exemption 
under this Paragraph.);  

(L) miscellaneous: 
(i) motor vehicles, aircraft, 

marine vessels, locomotives, 
tractors or other self-
propelled vehicles with 
internal combustion engines; 

(ii) non-self-propelled non-road 
engines, except generators, 
regulated by rules adopted 
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under Title II of the Federal 
Clean Air Act (Generators 
are required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless they qualify for 
another exemption under this 
Paragraph.); 

(iii) portable generators regulated 
by rules adopted under Title 
II of the Federal Clean Air 
Act; 

(iv) equipment used for the 
preparation of food for direct 
on-site human consumption; 

(v) a source whose emissions 
are regulated only under 
Section 112(r) or Title VI of 
the Federal Clean Air Act; 

(vi) exit gases from in-line 
process analyzers; 

(vii) stacks or vents to prevent 
escape of sewer gases from 
domestic waste through 
plumbing traps; 

(viii) refrigeration equipment that 
is consistent with Section 
601 through 618 of Title VI 
(Stratospheric Ozone 
Protection) of the Federal 
Clean Air Act, 40 CFR Part 
82, and any other regulations 
promulgated by EPA under 
Title VI for stratospheric 
ozone protection, except 
those units used as or in 
conjunction with air 
pollution control equipment 
(A unit used as or in 
conjunction with air 
pollution control equipment 
is required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless it qualifies for 
another exemption under this 
Paragraph); 

(ix) equipment not vented to the 
outdoor atmosphere with the 
exception of equipment that 
emits volatile organic 
compounds (Equipment that 
emits volatile organic 
compounds is required to be 
permitted under 15A NCAC 
02Q .0300 unless it qualifies 
for another exemption under 
this Paragraph); 

(x) equipment that does not emit 
any regulated air pollutants; 

(xi) facilities subject only to a 
requirement under 40 CFR 
Part 63 (This Subpart does 
not apply when a control 
device is used to meet a 
MACT or GACT emission 
standard; a control device 
used to meet a MACT or 
GACT emission standard is 
required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless it qualifies for 
another exemption under this 
Paragraph); 

(xii) sources for which there are 
no applicable requirements; 

(xiii) animal operations not 
required to have control 
technology under 15A 
NCAC 02D .1800 (If an 
animal operation is required 
to have control technology, 
it shall be required to have a 
permit under this 
Subchapter). 

(2) activities exempted because of size or 
production rate: 
(A) storage tanks: 

(i) above-ground storage tanks 
with a storage capacity of no 
more than 1100 gallons 
storing organic liquids with 
a true vapor pressure of no 
more than 10.8 pounds per 
square inch absolute at 
70o F; or 

(ii) underground storage tanks 
with a storage capacity of no 
more than 2500 gallons 
storing organic liquids with 
a true vapor pressure of no 
more than 10.8 psi absolute 
at 70o F; 

(B) combustion and heat transfer 
equipment: 
(i) fuel combustion equipment, 

except for internal 
combustion engines, firing 
exclusively kerosene, No. 1 
fuel oil, No. 2 fuel oil, 
equivalent unadulterated 
fuels, or a mixture of these 
fuels or one or more of these 
fuels mixed with natural gas 
or liquefied petroleum gas 
with a heat input of less 
than: 
(I) 10 million Btu per 

hour for which 
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construction, 
modification, or 
reconstruction 
commenced after 
June 9, 1989; or 

(II) 30 million Btu per 
hour for which 
construction, 
modification, or 
reconstruction 
commenced before 
June 10, 1989;  

(Internal combustion engines are 
required to be permitted under 15A 
NCAC 02Q .0300 unless they qualify 
for another exemption under this 
Paragraph); 
(ii) fuel combustion equipment, 

except for internal 
combustion engines, firing 
exclusively natural gas or 
liquefied petroleum gas or a 
mixture of these fuels with a 
heat input rating less than 65 
million Btu per hour 
(Internal combustion engines 
are required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless they qualify for 
another exemption under this 
Paragraph); 

(iii) space heaters burning waste 
oil if: 
(I) The heater burns 

only oil that the 
owner or operator 
generates or used 
oil from do-it-
yourself oil 
changers who 
generate used oil as 
household wastes; 

(II) The heater is 
designed to have a 
maximum capacity 
of not more than 
500,000 Btu per 
hour; and 

(III) The combustion 
gases from the 
heater are vented to 
the ambient air; 

(iv) fuel combustion equipment 
with a heat input rating less 
than 10 million Btu per hour 
that is used solely for space 
heating except: 

(I) space heaters 
burning waste oil, 
or 

(II) internal combustion 
engines; 

(v) emergency use generators 
and other internal 
combustion engines not 
regulated by rules adopted 
under Title II of the Federal 
Clean Air Act, except self-
propelled vehicles, that have 
a rated capacity of no more 
than: 
(I) 680 kilowatts 
(electric) or 1000 
horsepower for natural gas-
fired engines; 
(II) 1800 kilowatts 
(electric) or 2510 
horsepower for liquefied 
petroleum gas-fired engines; 
(III) 590 kilowatts 
(electric) or 900 horsepower 
for diesel-fired or kerosene-
fired engines; or 
(IV) 21 kilowatts 
(electric) or 31 horsepower 
for gasoline-fired engines;  
(Self-propelled vehicles with 
internal combustion engines 
are exempted under  Subpart 
(1)(c)(L)(i) of this 
Paragraph.) 

(vi) portable generators and other 
portable equipment with 
internal combustion engines 
not regulated by rules 
adopted under Title II of the 
Federal Clean Air Act, 
except self-propelled 
vehicles, that operate at the 
facility no more than a 
combined 350 hours for any 
365-day period provided the 
generators or engines have a 
rated capacity of no more 
than 750 kilowatt (electric) 
or 1100 horsepower each 
and provided records are 
maintained to verify the 
hours of operation (Self-
propelled vehicles with 
internal combustion engines 
are exempted under Subpart 
(1)(c)(L)(i) of this 
Paragraph.); 

(vii) peak shaving generators that 
produce no more than 
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325,000 kilowatt-hours of 
electrical energy for any 12-
month period provided 
records are maintained to 
verify the energy production 
on a monthly basis and on a 
12-month basis; 

(C) gasoline distribution: bulk gasoline 
plants with an average daily 
throughput of less than 4000 gallons; 

(D) processes: 
(i) graphic arts operations, paint 

spray booths or other 
painting or coating 
operations without air 
pollution control devices 
(water wash and filters that 
are an integral part of the 
paint spray booth are not 
considered air pollution 
control devices), and solvent 
cleaning operations located 
at a facility whose facility-
wide actual emissions of 
volatile organic compounds 
are less than five tons per 
year (Graphic arts 
operations, coating 
operations, and solvent 
cleaning operations are 
defined in 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0803); 

(ii) sawmills that saw no more 
than 2,000,000 board feet 
per year provided only green 
wood is sawed; 

(iii) perchloroethylene dry 
cleaners that emit less than 
13,000 pounds of 
perchloroethylene per year; 

(iv) electrostatic dry powder 
coating operations with 
filters or powder recovery 
systems including 
electrostatic dry powder 
coating operations equipped 
with curing ovens with a 
heat input of less than 
10,000,000 Btu per hour; 

(E) miscellaneous: 
(i) any source whose emissions 

would not violate any 
applicable emissions 
standard and whose potential 
emissions of particulate, 
sulfur dioxide, nitrogen 
oxides, volatile organic 
compounds, and carbon 
monoxide before air 

pollution control devices, 
i.e., potential uncontrolled 
emissions, are each no more 
than five tons per year and 
whose potential emissions of 
hazardous air pollutants are 
below their lesser quantity 
cutoff except: 
(I) storage tanks, 
(II) fuel combustion 

equipment, 
(III) space heaters 

burning waste oil, 
(IV) generators, 

excluding 
emergency 
generators, or other 
non-self-propelled 
internal combustion 
engines, 

(V) bulk gasoline 
plants, 

(VI) printing, paint spray 
booths, or other 
painting or coating 
operations, 

(VII) sawmills, 
(VIII) perchloroethylene 

dry cleaners, or 
(IX) electrostatic dry 

powder coating 
operations, 
provided that the 
total potential 
emissions of 
particulate, sulfur 
dioxide, nitrogen 
oxides, volatile 
organic 
compounds, and 
carbon monoxide 
from the facility are 
each less than 40 
tons per year and 
the total potential 
emissions of all 
hazardous air 
pollutants are 
below their lesser 
quantity cutoff 
emission rates or 
provided that the 
facility has an air 
quality permit.  (A 
source identified in 
Sub-subpart (I) 
through (IX) of this 
Part is required to 
be permitted under 
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15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless it 
qualifies for 
another exemption 
under this 
Paragraph); 

(ii) any facility whose actual 
emissions of particulate, 
sulfur dioxide, nitrogen 
oxides, volatile organic 
compounds, and carbon 
monoxide before air 
pollution control devices, 
i.e., uncontrolled emissions, 
are each less than five tons 
per year, whose potential 
emissions of all hazardous 
air pollutants are below their 
lesser quantity cutoff 
emission rate, and none of 
whose sources would violate 
an applicable emissions 
standard;  

(iii) any source that only emits 
hazardous air pollutants that 
are not also a particulate or a 
volatile organic compound 
and whose potential 
emissions of hazardous air 
pollutants are below their 
lesser quantity cutoff 
emission rates; or 

(iv) any incinerator covered 
under Subparagraph (c)(4) of 
15A NCAC 02D .1201; 

(F) case-by-case exemption: activities 
that the applicant demonstrates to the 
satisfaction of the Director: 
(i) to be negligible in their air 

quality impacts; 
(ii) not to have any air pollution 

control device; and 
(iii) not to violate any applicable 

emission control standard 
when operating at maximum 
design capacity or maximum 
operating rate, whichever is 
greater.  

(d)  Because an activity is exempted from being required to have 
a permit does not mean that the activity is exempted from any 
applicable requirement or that the owner or operator of the 
source is exempted from demonstrating compliance with any 
applicable requirement. 
(e)  Emissions from stationary source activities identified in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be included in determining 
compliance with the toxic air pollutant requirements under 15A 
NCAC 02D .1100 or 02Q .0700 according to 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0702 (exemptions from air toxic permitting). 

(f)  The owner or operator of a facility or source claiming an 
exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall provide the 
Director documentation upon request that the facility or source is 
qualified for that exemption. 
(g)  If the Director finds that an activity exempted under 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule is in violation of or has violated a rule 
in 15A NCAC 02D, he shall revoke the permit exemption for 
that activity and require that activity to be permitted under this 
Subchapter if necessary to obtain or maintain compliance. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(4); 
143-215.108. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend 
the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02Q .0102. 
 
Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification: 

  OSBM certified on: March 22, 2012 
  RRC certified on:       
  Not Required 

 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 
http://www.ncair.org/rules/hearing/ 
 
Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2013 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 15, 2013 
Time:  6:00 p.m. 
Location:  Kannapolis Train Station, 201 South Main Street, 
Kannapolis, NC  28081 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To amend 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0102, Exemptions, to clarify the interaction between Rules 02Q 
.0102, Exemptions and 02Q .0702, Exemptions.  The amendment 
is necessary to clarify the interaction between the air toxics rule 
for specific exemptions and the more broadly applicable rules 
regarding sources that are exempt from general permit 
requirements. If the rule clarification is not made, the language 
could be interpreted such that small sources not required to be 
included in an air toxics demonstration or permit would have to 
obtain an air quality permit even though they are already 
exempt from and air toxics demonstration.  Subparagraph (b)(7) 
of this rule is proposed for amendment to clarify this interaction. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  If you have any objections to the proposed rule, 
please mail a letter including your specific reasons to: Ms. 
Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1641. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Joelle Burleson, Division of 
Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-
1641, phone (919)707-8720, fax (919)707-8720, email 
joelle.burleson@ncdenr.gov 
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Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
 
Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 
 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 
 Local funds affected 

 Date submitted to OSBM:       
 Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 
SUBCHAPTER 02Q - AIR QUALITY PERMITS 

PROCEDURES 
 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
15A NCAC 02Q .0102 ACTIVITIES EXEMPTED FROM  
PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  This Rule does not apply to facilities required to have a 
permit under Section .0500 of this Subchapter.  This Rule 
applies only to permits issued under Section .0300 of this 
Subchapter. 
(b)  If a source is subject to any of the following rules, then the 
source is not exempted from permit requirements, and the 
exemptions in Paragraph (c) of this Rule do not apply: 

(1) new source performance standards under 15A 
NCAC 02D .0524 or 40 CFR Part 60, except 
when the following activities are eligible for 
exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule: 
(A) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Dc, 

industrial, commercial, and 
institutional steam generating units; 

(B) 40 CFR Part 60, Subparts K, Ka, or 
Kb, volatile organic liquid storage 
vessels;  

(C) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart AAA, new 
residential wood heaters;  

(D) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart JJJ, 
petroleum dry cleaners;  

(E) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart WWW, 
municipal solid waste landfills;  

(F) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart IIII, 
stationary compression ignition 
internal combustion engines; or 

(G) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart JJJJ, 
stationary spark ignition internal 
combustion engines; 

(2) national emission standards for hazardous air 
pollutants under 15A NCAC 02D .1110 or 40 
CFR Part 61, except asbestos demolition and 
renovation activities, which are eligible for 
exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule; 

(3) prevention of significant deterioration under 
15A NCAC 02D .0530; 

(4) new source review under 15A NCAC 02D 
.0531 or .0532; 

(5) sources of volatile organic compounds subject 
to the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0900 
that are located in Mecklenburg County 
according to 15A NCAC 02D .0902 (d);  

(6) sources required to apply maximum 
achievable control technology (MACT) for 
hazardous air pollutants under 15A NCAC 
02D .1109, .1111, .1112, or 40 CFR Part 63 
that are required to have a permit under 
Section .0500 of this Subchapter; 

(7) sources at facilities subject to 15A NCAC 02D 
.1100.  (If a source qualifies for an exemption 
in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(24) of 
Rule 15A NCAC 02Q .0702, or does not emit 
a toxic air pollutant for which the facility at 
which it is located has been modeled, it shall 
be exempted from needing a permit if it 
qualifies for one of the exemptions in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule). 

(c)  The following activities do not need a permit or permit 
modification under Section .0300 of this Subchapter; however, 
the Director may require the owner or operator of these activities 
to register them under 15A NCAC 02D .0200: 

(1) activities exempted because of category: 
(A) maintenance, upkeep, and 

replacement: 
(i) maintenance, structural 

changes, or repairs which do 
not change the capacity of 
such process, fuel-burning, 
refuse-burning, or control 
equipment, and do not 
involve any change in 
quality or nature or increase 
in quantity of emission of 
regulated air pollutants; 

(ii) housekeeping activities or 
building maintenance 
procedures, including 
painting buildings, 
resurfacing floors, roof 
repair, washing, portable 
vacuum cleaners, sweeping, 
use and associated storage of 
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janitorial products, or 
insulation removal; 

(iii) use of office supplies, 
supplies to maintain copying 
equipment, or blueprint 
machines;  

(iv) use of fire fighting 
equipment; 

(v) paving parking lots; or 
(vi) replacement of existing 

equipment with equipment 
of the same size, type, and 
function that does not result 
in an increase to the actual 
or potential emission of 
regulated air pollutants and 
that does not affect the 
compliance status, and with 
replacement equipment that 
fits the description of the 
existing equipment in the 
permit, including the 
application, such that the 
replacement equipment can 
be operated under that 
permit without any changes 
in the permit; 

(B) air conditioning or ventilation: 
comfort air conditioning or comfort 
ventilating systems that do not 
transport, remove, or exhaust 
regulated air pollutants to the 
atmosphere; 

(C) laboratory activities: 
(i) bench-scale, on-site 

equipment used exclusively 
for chemical or physical 
analysis for quality control 
purposes, staff instruction, 
water or wastewater 
analyses, or non-production 
environmental compliance 
assessments; 

(ii) bench-scale 
experimentation, chemical or 
physical analyses, training or 
instruction from not-for-
profit, non-production 
educational laboratories; 

(iii) bench-scale 
experimentation, chemical or 
physical analyses, training or 
instruction from hospitals or 
health laboratories pursuant 
to the determination or 
diagnoses of illness; or 

(iv) research and development 
laboratory activities 
provided the activity 

produces no commercial 
product or feedstock 
material; 

(D) storage tanks: 
(i) storage tanks used solely to 

store fuel oils, kerosene, 
diesel, crude oil, used motor 
oil, lubricants, cooling oils, 
natural gas or liquefied 
petroleum gas; 

(ii) storage tanks used to store 
gasoline or ethanol-based 
fuels for which there are no 
applicable requirements 
except Stage I controls under 
15A NCAC 02D .0928; 

(iii) storage tanks used solely to 
store inorganic liquids; or 

(iv) storage tanks or vessels used 
for the temporary 
containment of materials 
resulting from an emergency 
response to an unanticipated 
release of hazardous 
materials; 

(E) combustion and heat transfer 
equipment: 
(i) space heaters burning 

distillate oil, kerosene, 
natural gas, or liquefied 
petroleum gas operating by 
direct heat transfer and used 
solely for comfort heat; 

(ii) residential wood stoves, 
heaters, or fireplaces; 

(iii) hot water heaters which are 
used for domestic purposes 
only and are not used to heat 
process water; 

(F) wastewater treatment processes: 
industrial wastewater treatment 
processes or municipal wastewater 
treatment processes for which there 
are no applicable requirements; 

(G) gasoline distribution: gasoline service 
stations or gasoline dispensing 
facilities; 

(H) dispensing equipment: equipment 
used solely to dispense diesel fuel, 
kerosene, lubricants or cooling oils; 

(I) solvent recycling: portable solvent 
distillation systems used for on-site 
solvent recycling if: 
(i) The portable solvent 

distillation system is not: 
(I) owned by the 

facility, and 
(II) operated at the 

facility for more 
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than seven 
consecutive days; 
and 

(ii) The material recycled is 
recycled at the site of origin; 

(J) processes: 
(i) electric motor burn-out 

ovens with secondary 
combustion chambers or 
afterburners; 

(ii) electric motor bake-on 
ovens; 

(iii) burn-off ovens for paint-line 
hangers with afterburners; 

(iv) hosiery knitting machines 
and associated lint screens, 
hosiery dryers and 
associated lint screens, and 
hosiery dyeing processes 
where bleach or solvent dyes 
are not used; 

(v) blade wood planers planing 
only green wood; 

(K) solid waste landfills: municipal solid 
waste landfills (This Part does not 
apply to flares and other sources of 
combustion at solid waste landfills; 
these flares and other combustion 
sources are required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 unless 
they qualify for another exemption 
under this Paragraph.);  

(L) miscellaneous: 
(i) motor vehicles, aircraft, 

marine vessels, locomotives, 
tractors or other self-
propelled vehicles with 
internal combustion engines; 

(ii) non-self-propelled non-road 
engines, except generators, 
regulated by rules adopted 
under Title II of the Federal 
Clean Air Act (Generators 
are required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless they qualify for 
another exemption under this 
Paragraph.); 

(iii) portable generators regulated 
by rules adopted under Title 
II of the Federal Clean Air 
Act; 

(iv) equipment used for the 
preparation of food for direct 
on-site human consumption; 

(v) a source whose emissions 
are regulated only under 
Section 112(r) or Title VI of 
the Federal Clean Air Act; 

(vi) exit gases from in-line 
process analyzers; 

(vii) stacks or vents to prevent 
escape of sewer gases from 
domestic waste through 
plumbing traps; 

(viii) refrigeration equipment that 
is consistent with Section 
601 through 618 of Title VI 
(Stratospheric Ozone 
Protection) of the Federal 
Clean Air Act, 40 CFR Part 
82, and any other regulations 
promulgated by EPA under 
Title VI for stratospheric 
ozone protection, except 
those units used as or in 
conjunction with air 
pollution control equipment 
(A unit used as or in 
conjunction with air 
pollution control equipment 
is required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless it qualifies for 
another exemption under this 
Paragraph); 

(ix) equipment not vented to the 
outdoor atmosphere with the 
exception of equipment that 
emits volatile organic 
compounds (Equipment that 
emits volatile organic 
compounds is required to be 
permitted under 15A NCAC 
02Q .0300 unless it qualifies 
for another exemption under 
this Paragraph); 

(x) equipment that does not emit 
any regulated air pollutants; 

(xi) facilities subject only to a 
requirement under 40 CFR 
Part 63 (This Subpart does 
not apply when a control 
device is used to meet a 
MACT or GACT emission 
standard; a control device 
used to meet a MACT or 
GACT emission standard is 
required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless it qualifies for 
another exemption under this 
Paragraph); 

(xii) sources for which there are 
no applicable requirements; 

(xiii) animal operations not 
required to have control 
technology under 15A 
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NCAC 02D .1800 (If an 
animal operation is required 
to have control technology, 
it shall be required to have a 
permit under this 
Subchapter). 

(2) activities exempted because of size or 
production rate: 
(A) storage tanks: 

(i) above-ground storage tanks 
with a storage capacity of no 
more than 1100 gallons 
storing organic liquids with 
a true vapor pressure of no 
more than 10.8 pounds per 
square inch absolute at 
70o F; or 

(ii) underground storage tanks 
with a storage capacity of no 
more than 2500 gallons 
storing organic liquids with 
a true vapor pressure of no 
more than 10.8 psi absolute 
at 70o F; 

(B) combustion and heat transfer 
equipment: 
(i) fuel combustion equipment, 

except for internal 
combustion engines, firing 
exclusively kerosene, No. 1 
fuel oil, No. 2 fuel oil, 
equivalent unadulterated 
fuels, or a mixture of these 
fuels or one or more of these 
fuels mixed with natural gas 
or liquefied petroleum gas 
with a heat input of less 
than: 
(I) 10 million Btu per 

hour for which 
construction, 
modification, or 
reconstruction 
commenced after 
June 9, 1989; or 

(II) 30 million Btu per 
hour for which 
construction, 
modification, or 
reconstruction 
commenced before 
June 10, 1989;  

(Internal combustion engines are 
required to be permitted under 15A 
NCAC 02Q .0300 unless they qualify 
for another exemption under this 
Paragraph); 
(ii) fuel combustion equipment, 

except for internal 

combustion engines, firing 
exclusively natural gas or 
liquefied petroleum gas or a 
mixture of these fuels with a 
heat input rating less than 65 
million Btu per hour 
(Internal combustion engines 
are required to be permitted 
under 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless they qualify for 
another exemption under this 
Paragraph); 

(iii) space heaters burning waste 
oil if: 
(I) The heater burns 

only oil that the 
owner or operator 
generates or used 
oil from do-it-
yourself oil 
changers who 
generate used oil as 
household wastes; 

(II) The heater is 
designed to have a 
maximum capacity 
of not more than 
500,000 Btu per 
hour; and 

(III) The combustion 
gases from the 
heater are vented to 
the ambient air; 

(iv) fuel combustion equipment 
with a heat input rating less 
than 10 million Btu per hour 
that is used solely for space 
heating except: 
(I) space heaters 

burning waste oil, 
or 

(II) internal combustion 
engines; 

(v) emergency use generators 
and other internal 
combustion engines not 
regulated by rules adopted 
under Title II of the Federal 
Clean Air Act, except self-
propelled vehicles, that have 
a rated capacity of no more 
than: 
(I) 680 kilowatts 

(electric) or 1000 
horsepower for 
natural gas-fired 
engines; 

(II) 1800 kilowatts 
(electric) or 2510 
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horsepower for 
liquefied petroleum 
gas-fired engines; 

(III) 590 kilowatts 
(electric) or 900 
horsepower for 
diesel-fired or 
kerosene-fired 
engines; or 

(IV) 21 kilowatts 
(electric) or 31 
horsepower for 
gasoline-fired 
engines;  

(Self-propelled vehicles with 
internal combustion engines 
are exempted under Subpart 
(1)(c)(L)(i) of this 
Paragraph.) 

(vi) portable generators and other 
portable equipment with 
internal combustion engines 
not regulated by rules 
adopted under Title II of the 
Federal Clean Air Act, 
except self-propelled 
vehicles, that operate at the 
facility no more than a 
combined 350 hours for any 
365-day period provided the 
generators or engines have a 
rated capacity of no more 
than 750 kilowatt (electric) 
or 1100 horsepower each 
and provided records are 
maintained to verify the 
hours of operation (Self-
propelled vehicles with 
internal combustion engines 
are exempted under Subpart 
(1)(c)(L)(i) of this 
Paragraph.); 

(vii) peak shaving generators that 
produce no more than 
325,000 kilowatt-hours of 
electrical energy for any 12-
month period provided 
records are maintained to 
verify the energy production 
on a monthly basis and on a 
12-month basis; 

(C) gasoline distribution: bulk gasoline 
plants with an average daily 
throughput of less than 4000 gallons; 

(D) processes: 
(i) graphic arts operations, paint 

spray booths or other 
painting or coating 
operations without air 

pollution control devices 
(water wash and filters that 
are an integral part of the 
paint spray booth are not 
considered air pollution 
control devices), and solvent 
cleaning operations located 
at a facility whose facility-
wide actual emissions of 
volatile organic compounds 
are less than five tons per 
year (Graphic arts 
operations, coating 
operations, and solvent 
cleaning operations are 
defined in 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0803); 

(ii) sawmills that saw no more 
than 2,000,000 board feet 
per year provided only green 
wood is sawed; 

(iii) perchloroethylene dry 
cleaners that emit less than 
13,000 pounds of 
perchloroethylene per year; 

(iv) electrostatic dry powder 
coating operations with 
filters or powder recovery 
systems including 
electrostatic dry powder 
coating operations equipped 
with curing ovens with a 
heat input of less than 
10,000,000 Btu per hour; 

(E) miscellaneous: 
(i) any source whose emissions 

would not violate any 
applicable emissions 
standard and whose potential 
emissions of particulate, 
sulfur dioxide, nitrogen 
oxides, volatile organic 
compounds, and carbon 
monoxide before air 
pollution control devices, 
i.e., potential uncontrolled 
emissions, are each no more 
than five tons per year and 
whose potential emissions of 
hazardous air pollutants are 
below their lesser quantity 
cutoff except: 
(I) storage tanks, 
(II) fuel combustion 

equipment, 
(III) space heaters 

burning waste oil, 
(IV) generators, 

excluding 
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emergency 
generators, or other 
non-self-propelled 
internal combustion 
engines, 

(V) bulk gasoline 
plants, 

(VI) printing, paint spray 
booths, or other 
painting or coating 
operations, 

(VII) sawmills, 
(VIII) perchloroethylene 

dry cleaners, or 
(IX) electrostatic dry 

powder coating 
operations, 
provided that the 
total potential 
emissions of 
particulate, sulfur 
dioxide, nitrogen 
oxides, volatile 
organic 
compounds, and 
carbon monoxide 
from the facility are 
each less than 40 
tons per year and 
the total potential 
emissions of all 
hazardous air 
pollutants are 
below their lesser 
quantity cutoff 
emission rates or 
provided that the 
facility has an air 
quality permit.  (A 
source identified in 
Sub-subpart (I) 
through (IX) of this 
Part is required to 
be permitted under 
15A NCAC 02Q 
.0300 unless it 
qualifies for 
another exemption 
under this 
Paragraph); 

(ii) any facility whose actual 
emissions of particulate, 
sulfur dioxide, nitrogen 
oxides, volatile organic 
compounds, and carbon 
monoxide before air 
pollution control devices, 
i.e., uncontrolled emissions, 
are each less than five tons 

per year, whose potential 
emissions of all hazardous 
air pollutants are below their 
lesser quantity cutoff 
emission rate, and none of 
whose sources would violate 
an applicable emissions 
standard;  

(iii) any source that only emits 
hazardous air pollutants that 
are not also a particulate or a 
volatile organic compound 
and whose potential 
emissions of hazardous air 
pollutants are below their 
lesser quantity cutoff 
emission rates; or 

(iv) any incinerator covered 
under Subparagraph (c)(4) of 
15A NCAC 02D .1201; 

(F) case-by-case exemption: activities 
that the applicant demonstrates to the 
satisfaction of the Director: 
(i) to be negligible in their air 

quality impacts; 
(ii) not to have any air pollution 

control device; and 
(iii) not to violate any applicable 

emission control standard 
when operating at maximum 
design capacity or maximum 
operating rate, whichever is 
greater.  

(d)  Because an activity is exempted from being required to have 
a permit does not mean that the activity is exempted from any 
applicable requirement or that the owner or operator of the 
source is exempted from demonstrating compliance with any 
applicable requirement. 
(e)  Emissions from stationary source activities identified in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be included in determining 
compliance with the toxic air pollutant requirements under 15A 
NCAC 02D .1100 or 02Q .0700 according to 15A NCAC 02Q 
.0702 (exemptions from air toxic permitting). 
(f)  The owner or operator of a facility or source claiming an 
exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall provide the 
Director documentation upon request that the facility or source is 
qualified for that exemption. 
(g)  If the Director finds that an activity exempted under 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule is in violation of or has violated a rule 
in 15A NCAC 02D, he shall revoke the permit exemption for 
that activity and require that activity to be permitted under this 
Subchapter if necessary to obtain or maintain compliance. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(4); 
143-215.108. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Commission for Public Health intends to adopt the rule cited 
as 15A NCAC 18A .2544 and amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 
18A .2508. 
 
Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification: 

  OSBM certified on: September 27, 2012 
  RRC certified on:       
  Not Required 

 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
http://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2012 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 9, 2013 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  Cardinal Room, located at 5605 Six Forks Road, 
Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
15A NCAC 18A .2508 – the amendment adds the definition 
special purpose therapy pools to accompany the proposed 
adoption of Rule 15A NCAC 18A .2544 Special Purpose 
Therapy Pools. 
15A NCAC 18A .2544 – the proposed rule will enable the 
application of certain therapeutic uses of captive water to public 
places outside the medical field for physical fitness, athletic 
training and mental relaxation and will facilitate the marketing 
of therapy pools and athletic training tools, which is currently 
prohibited or restricted to medical uses through public venues. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Objections may be submitted in writing to Chris 
G. Hoke, JD, the Rule-Making Coordinator, during the public 
comment period.  Additionally, objections may be made verbally 
and/or in writing at the public hearing for these rules. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Chris G. Hoke, JD, 1931 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1931, phone (919)707-
5006, email chris.hoke@dhhs.nc.gov. 
 
Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
 
Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 
 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 
 Local funds affected 

 Date submitted to OSBM:       
 Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 
CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 
SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 
SECTION .2500 - PUBLIC SWIMMING POOLS  

 
15A NCAC 18A .2508 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions apply throughout this Section: 

(1) Equipment replacement means replacement of 
individual components of the hydraulic and 
disinfection systems such as pumps, filters, 
and automatic chemical feeders. 

(2) Public swimming pool means public 
swimming pool as defined in G.S. 130A-280.  
Public swimming pools are divided into four 
five types: 
(a) Swimming pools are public 

swimming pools used primarily for 
swimming. 

(b) Spas are public swimming pools 
designed for recreational and 
therapeutic use that are not drained, 
cleaned, or refilled after each 
individual use.  Spas may include 
units designed for hydrojet 
circulation, hot water, cold water 
mineral bath, air induction bubbles, 
or any combination thereof.  
Common terminology for spas 
includes "therapeutic pool", 
"hydrotherapy pool", "whirlpool", 
"hot spa", and "hot tub". 

(c) Wading pools are public swimming 
pools designed for use by children, 
including wading pools for toddlers 
and children's activity pools designed 
for casual water play ranging from 
splashing activity to the use of 
interactive water features placed in 
the pool. 

(d) Specialized water recreation 
attractions are pools designed for 
special purposes that differentiate 
them from swimming pools, wading 
pools and spas.  They include: 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
27:11                                                              NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 DECEMBER 3, 2012 

1042 

(i) water slide plunge pools and 
run out lanes; 

(ii) wave pools; 
(iii) rapid rides; 
(iv) lazy rivers; 
(v) interactive play attractions 

that incorporate devices 
using sprayed, jetted, or 
other water sources 
contacting the users and that 
do not incorporate standing 
or captured water as part of 
the user activity area; and 

(vi) training pools deeper than a 
24 inch deep wading pool 
and shallower than a 36 inch 
deep swimming pool. 

(e) Special purpose therapy pools are 
pools designed and used for 
therapeutic treatments or physical 
training and fitness outside of a 
licensed medical facility or practice 
of a licensed physical therapist.  They 
include: 

(i) float tanks used for float therapy in a 
salt brine solution; 
(ii) swim spa training pools 

which use jetted water for 
stationary swimming against 
a water current; 

(iii) exercise therapy and 
treadmill pools equipped for 
water resistance exercise 
therapy; and 

(iv) scuba pools designed and 
used for training swimmers 
to use self-contained 
underwater breathing 
apparatus. 

(3) Registered Design Professional means an 
individual who is registered or licensed to 
practice engineering as defined by G.S. 89C or 
architecture as defined by G.S. 83A. 

(4) Remodeled means renovations requiring 
disruption of the majority of the pool shell or 
deck, changes in the pool profile, or redesign 
of the pool hydraulic system. 

(5) Repair means returning existing equipment to 
working order, replastering or repainting of the 
pool interior, replacement of tiles or coping 
and similar maintenance activities.  This term 
includes replacement of pool decks where the 
Department has determined that no changes 
are needed to underlying pipes or other pool 
structures. 

(6) Safety vacuum release system means a system 
or device capable of providing vacuum release 
at a suction outlet caused by a high vacuum 

occurrence due to suction outlet flow 
blockage. 

(7) Splash zone means the area of an interactive 
play attraction that sheds water to a surge tank 
or container to be recirculated. 

(8) Unblockable drain means a drain of any size 
and shape that a human body cannot 
sufficiently block to create a suction 
entrapment hazard. 

 
Authority G.S. 130A-282. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2544 SPECIAL PURPOSE THERAPY  
POOLS 
(a)  Special purpose pools shall comply with the requirements 
for public swimming pools and spas except as specified in this 
rule. 
(b)  Float tanks 

(1) The requirement in Rule .2522 of this Section 
for a deck or walkway continuous with the top 
of the pool wall does not apply to isolation 
float tanks where a clear floor space of at least 
eight feet by four feet is provided adjacent to 
the entrance to the tank. 

(2) The requirement in Rule .2532 of this Section 
for the minimum ceiling height of 7 ½ feet 
above the rim of the pool does not preclude 
use of a canopy of a lower height to enclose an 
isolation float tank provided the canopy can be 
opened to allow users a standing entry and exit 
from the float tank. 

(3) The minimum lighting requirement in Rule 
.2524 of this Section does not apply to float 
tanks provided lighting is available for 
cleaning and is sufficient to provide visibility 
for entry and exit from the float tank. 

(4) The requirements in Rule .2518 of this Section 
that recirculation pumps operate 24 hours per 
day do not preclude turning off the pump 
during float sessions where a sanitizing cycle 
is provided that filters and disinfects the entire 
capacity of the float tank system at least twice 
before every user enters the pool.  When the 
float tank is not being used the pump shall 
either operate continuously or intermittently to 
filter and disinfect the capacity of the pool 
twice every hour. 

(5) The requirement in Rule .2518 of this Section 
that pool pumps three horsepower or smaller 
meet NSF/ANSI Standard 50 is not applicable 
where the mineral content of the brine in a 
float tank is incompatible with standard pool 
pumps.  Pumps that do not meet NSF/ANSI 
standard 50 shall be approved on where the 
viscosity of the mineral solution in the float 
tank requires a pump impeller or magnetic 
coupling designed to pump viscous liquids.  
Electrical safety of such pumps shall be 
verified by an independent third-party testing 
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lab to meet applicable Underwriters 
Laboratories (UL) Standards. 

(6) The requirement in Rule .2532 of this Section 
for a caution sign at spas with a water 
temperature above 90 degrees Fahrenheit is 
not applicable to float tanks that do not exceed 
an operating temperature of 95 degrees 
Fahrenheit.  Float tanks that exceed an 
operation temperature of 95 degrees 
Fahrenheit shall have a posted sign with the 
same warnings required for hot spas except 
references to spas may be reworded to 
reference float tanks or float spas. 

(c)  Swim Spas 
(1) Irrespective of Rule .2522(k) of this section 

swim spa training pools that use jetted water 
for training swimmer athletes under constant 
supervision of a swim coach may be located 
above deck level.  Swim spa training pools 
located above deck level shall be in an 
enclosure secured against unauthorized access 
or use when a swim coach is not present. 

(2) The maximum operational water depth of 4 
feet required for spas in Rule .2532 of this 
Section does not apply to swim spas. 

(3) Ladders, steps or stairs required by Rule .2521 
of this Section are not required for an above-
ground swim spa where a handhold or handrail 

is provided to facilitate transfer over the pool 
wall. 

(d)  Exercise Therapy and Treadmill Pools 
(1) The maximum operational water depth of 4 

feet required for spas in Rule .2532 of this 
Section does not apply to exercise therapy and 
treadmill pools. 

(2) The 30 minute turnover rate required for spa 
recirculation systems in Rule .2532 of this 
Section does not apply to exercise therapy or 
treadmill pools with a water capacity 
exceeding 1,000 gallons provided that the 
turnover time does not exceed two hours. 

(e)  Scuba Training Pools 
(1) The prohibition of underwater ledges in Rule 

.2516(b) of this Section does not preclude 
drop-off ledges to the deep-diving portion of 
pools designed and used for training swimmers 
to use self-contained underwater breathing 
apparatus. 

(2) Scuba pools shall comply the requirements for 
swimming pools and are not required to meet 
the requirements for spas in Rule .2532 of this 
Section. 

 
Authority G.S. 130A-282. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The 
rules that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was 
required to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-
21.17. 

 
Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on October 18, 2012. 
 
                  REGISTER CITATION TO THE 
                         NOTICE OF TEXT 
 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 
Guest Room Cabinets; Inventory and Records 04 NCAC 02S .0525* 27:02 NCR 
Types of Permits Required 04 NCAC 02S .0708 27:02 NCR 
Tastings Held by Retailers for Consumers 04 NCAC 02S .0901 27:02 NCR 
Advertising of Spirituous Liquors 04 NCAC 02S .1011 27:02 NCR 
Wine Product Brand 04  NCAC 02T .0104* 27:02 NCR 
Transactions with Government and Special One-Time… 04 NCAC 02T .0714 27:02 NCR 
Tournaments 04 NCAC 02T .0715 27:02 NCR 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 
Note from Codifier: 
04 NCAC 10 – Due to the number of Industrial Commission rules submitted and reviewed by RRC, approved by RRC, 
approved by RRC, but pending legislative review, and objections by RRC.  The Rules Division will publish a listing and 
text in a later issue.  For questions, please contact the Rules Division, (919)431-3000 or email oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 
Scope 10A NCAC 09 .3001* 26:23 NCR 
Facility Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .3002* 26:23 NCR 
Program Attendance Policy 10A NCAC 09 .3003* 26:23 NCR 
Child Health Assessments 10A NCAC 09 .3005* 26:23 NCR 
Developmental Screening 10A NCAC 09 .3006* 26:23 NCR 
Staff-to-Child Ratio and Class Size 10A NCAC 09 .3009* 26:23 NCR 
Family Engagement 10A NCAC 09 .3010* 26:23 NCR 
NC Pre-K Site-Level 10A NCAC 09 .3011* 26:23 NCR 
NC Pre-K Teacher Education, Licensure and Credentials 10A NCAC 09 .3012* 26:23 NCR 
NC Pre-K Teacher Assistant Education and Credentials 10A NCAC 09 .3013* 26:23 NCR 
NC Pre-K Substitute Staff 10A NCAC 09 .3014 26:23 NCR 
Instructional Staff Standards 10A NCAC 09 .3015* 26:23 NCR 
Professional Development Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .3016* 26:23 NCR 

MENTAL HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 
Waiver of Licensure Rules 10A NCAC 27G .0813* 26:23 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 
Roanoke River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0313* 26:21 NCR 
Form and Contents of Petition 15A NCAC 02I .0501* 26:21 NCR 
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WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Open Seasons 15A NCAC 10B .0303 26:24 NCR 
Bag Limits 15A NCAC 10B .0304 26:24 NCR 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 
Revocation of Outdoor Advertising Permit 19A NCAC 02E .0210* 27:02 NCR 
Denial of Permit 19A NCAC 02E .0211 27:02 NCR 
Permit to Remove Vegetation 19A NCAC 02E .0601 27:02 NCR 
Requests for Permits for a Facility 19A NCAC 02E .0602 27:02 NCR 
Issuance or Denial of Permit for a Facility 19A NCAC 02E .0603* 27:02 NCR 
Conditions of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit for Fac... 19A NCAC 02E .0604* 27:02 NCR 
Requests for Selective Vegetation Removal Permits for Out... 19A NCAC 02E .0608* 27:02 NCR 
Requirements for Beautification and Replanting Conditions... 19A NCAC 02E .0611* 27:02 NCR 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 
Eligibility 21 NCAC 12 .0204* 26:20 NCR 

ONSITE WASTEWATER CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION BOARD 
Definitions 21 NCAC 39 .0101* 26:24 NCR 
Business Succession 21 NCAC 39 .0202* 26:24 NCR 
Requirements 21 NCAC 39 .0601* 26:24 NCR 
On-Site Wastewater System Components 21 NCAC 39 .1005* 26:24 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 
Pharmacy Permits 21 NCAC 46 .1601* 27:02 NCR 

APPRAISAL BOARD 
Qualifications for Trainee Registration and Appraiser Cer... 21 NCAC 57A .0201* 26:20 NCR 
Fitness for Registration or Certification 21 NCAC 57A .0202* 26:20 NCR 
Registration, License and Certificate Renewal 21 NCAC 57A .0203 26:20 NCR 
Continuing Education 21 NCAC 57A .0204* 26:20 NCR 
Applicants Certified in Another State 21 NCAC 57A .0211* 26:20 NCR 
Time and Place 21 NCAC 57A .0301 26:20 NCR 
Subject Matter and Passing Scores 21 NCAC 57A .0302 26:20 NCR 
Re-examination 21 NCAC 57A .0303 26:20 NCR 
Cleaning and Related Misconduct 21 NCAC 57A .0304 26:20 NCR 
Supervision of Trainees 21 NCAC 57A .0407* 26:20 NCR 
Appraisal Standards 21 NCAC 57A .0501 26:20 NCR 
Registered Trainee Course Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0101 26:20 NCR 
Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser Course Requir... 21 NCAC 57B .0102* 26:20 NCR 
Certified General Real Estate Appraiser Course 
Requirements 

21 NCAC 57B .0103* 26:20 NCR 

Course Records 21 NCAC 57B .0210 26:20 NCR 
Continuing Education Credit Hours 21 NCAC 57B .0605* 26:20 NCR 
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Course Operational Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0606 26:20 NCR 
Certification of Course Completion 21 NCAC 57B .0607 26:20 NCR 
Renewal of Approval and Fees 21 NCAC 57B .0611* 26:20 NCR 
Filing and Fees 21 NCAC 57D .0102* 26:20 NCR 
Removal of an Appraiser from an Appraiser Panel 21 NCAC 57D .0311* 26:20 NCR 
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TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
 
04 NCAC 02S .0525 GUEST ROOM CABINETS;  
INVENTORY AND RECORDS 
A guest room cabinet permittee shall maintain on the premises 
an accurate inventory and sales records of all liquor purchased 
for resale in cabinets in accordance with the following 
requirements: 

(1) Sales records of guest room cabinet liquor 
shall be kept on a monthly basis in accordance 
with the requirements of Rule .0520 of this 
Section; and 

(2) Purchase-transportation permits for liquor to 
be sold from guest room cabinets shall be 
maintained by the permittee on the premises 
for a period of three years. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-
1001(13); 
Eff. July 1, 1992; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 

04 NCAC 02S .0708 TYPES OF PERMITS  
REQUIRED 
The owner or operator of any commercial facility or commercial 
establishment renting or furnishing the premises thereof for a 
private function where the host of the function will possess more 
than eight liters of fortified wine or spirituous liquor, or eight 
liters of the two combined, shall either: 

(1) apply for and obtain a Special Occasion 
Permit, as required by G.S. 18B-1001(8) and 
G.S. 18B-902; or 

(2) require the person in charge of the private 
function to apply for and obtain a Limited 
Special Occasion Permit under the provisions 
of G.S. 18B-1001(9) and 18B-902. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-
301(b),(c); 18B-1001(8),(9); 
Eff. July 1, 1992; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
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04 NCAC 02S .0901 TASTINGS HELD BY  
RETAILERS FOR CONSUMERS 
(a)  General. A retail wine or malt beverage permittee may 
conduct tastings of wine or malt beverages for consumers. A 
tasting held on the retailer's premises requires the appropriate 
permit.  Any retailer conducting a wine or malt beverage tasting 
shall: 

(1) Provide training to its employees conducting 
and supervising any tasting, including: 
(A) identification of potential underage 

customers; 
(B) recognition of fictitious 

identification; 
(C) identification of potentially 

intoxicated customers; and 
(D) service of correct sample sizes; and 

(2) Prominently display in the area where the 
tasting is being conducted a sign informing 
customers that they must be 21 years of age to 
participate in the tasting. 

(b)  Tastings Assisted by Industry Member. For the purposes of 
this Rule, "industry member" means any manufacturer, bottler, 
importer, vendor, representative or wholesaler of alcoholic 
beverages. An industry member may assist with wine or malt 
beverage tastings for consumers in conjunction with, or on the 
licensed premises of, a retailer provided that: 

(1) The wine or malt beverage is taken directly 
from the retailer's existing inventory; 

(2) The industry member makes no payment to or 
on behalf of the retailer for promoting or 
advertising the tasting; 

(3) The retailer provides instruction to any 
participating industry member outlining how 
the tasting will be conducted prior to the 
tasting; 

(4) The retailer designates one of its employees to 
supervise the tasting. The retail supervisor 
shall: 
(A) be physically present, actively 

supervise and be readily available to 
any participating industry member at 
all times during the tasting; 

(B) wear visible identification; 
(C) physically check-in with any 

participating industry member at each 
tasting station at least once per hour; 

(D) make a final determination on the 
eligibility of a consumer to 
participate in a tasting in the event 
such a question arises; 

(E) maintain an accurate accounting of all 
wine or malt beverages purchased for 
and consumed at the tasting; and 

(F) dispose of any opened wine or malt 
beverage containers remaining after 
the tasting, unless the remaining wine 
is retained by a wine shop permittee. 

(c)  Unlawful Inducements Prohibited. No industry member shall 
require a retailer, and no retailer shall require an industry 
member, to conduct a wine or malt beverage tasting. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-
1001(15); 18B-1001(18); 
Eff. January 1, 1982; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; January 1, 2011; May 1, 1984. 
 
04 NCAC 02S .1011 ADVERTISING OF SPIRITUOUS  
LIQUORS 
(a)  ABC Stores.  An ABC store may have one or more outside 
signs located on the premises for the purpose of identifying the 
outlet if the sign is not prohibited by local ordinance and it has 
been approved by the Commission. During the approval process 
the Commission shall consider the following factors: 

(1) the proximity of the ABC store to schools and 
churches; 

(2) the number and size of the signs requested; 
(3) the text and graphics on the sign; 
(4) the materials that make up the sign; and 
(5) the public concern in matters of the public's 

welfare. 
(b)  Aerial Displays.  No distiller, importer, or rectifier of 
spirituous liquor, or representative thereof, nor any retail 
permittee, shall advertise by means of an aerial display or 
inflatable the brand name or availability of spirituous liquor. 
(c)  Billboards; Media.  Industry members may advertise 
spirituous liquor on outdoor billboards, by radio, television, 
newspaper, magazine or internet, and by other similar means.  
Outdoor billboards or signs shall not be displayed on the 
premises of any retail permittee's establishment nor in areas 
where sale of that product is unlawful. 
(d)  Point-of-Sale.  Point-of-sale and advertising specialties for 
spirituous liquor may be used in ABC stores.  Advertising used 
in ABC stores shall conform to the provisions of Rule .1005 of 
this Section, and in addition shall not: 

(1) incorporate the use of any present or former 
athlete or athletic team; or 

(2) refer to the availability of or offer any 
alcoholic beverages by mail. 

All point-of-sale advertising material, advertising specialties, 
and recipes, booklets or brochures intended for use and display 
in ABC stores shall first be submitted to the Commission prior to 
their display in an ABC store. 
(e)  Local ABC Boards.  Local ABC boards may advertise on 
their web site or social networking page the following 
information: 

(1) general information such as the history of the 
ABC board, locations, hours of operation, 
contact information, employment 
opportunities, alcohol enforcement, alcohol 
education, underage drinking education and 
other local government information; and 

(2) liquor products and prices, as long as: 
(A) no logos are shown; 
(B) when a product is listed, all products 

that are offered are listed; 
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(C) when a product's regular price is 
listed, all products' regular prices 
offered by the board are listed; and 

(D) when a special price is listed for a 
product, all products with special 
prices offered by the board are listed. 

(f)  Local boards may join local chambers of commerce or 
visitor's bureaus and may provide them general board 
information which includes store locations and hours to be 
distributed through the chambers of commerces' or visitor's 
bureaus' media information. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-105; 18B-207; 
18B-801; 
Eff. January 1, 1982; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; November 1, 2011; January 1, 
2011; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984. 
 
04 NCAC 02T .0104 WINE PRODUCT BRAND 
(a)  Determination of a product's brand shall be made by the 
Commission at the time the product is approved for sale in North 
Carolina and shall not be affected by later changes in the 
manufacturer's advertising strategy or labeling. Differences in 
packaging, such as different style, type or size of container, do 
not establish different brands. 
(b)  For purposes of Bordeaux Chateau wine brought into North 
Carolina under the French negociant system only, "brand" as 
defined in 04 NCAC 02T .0101(1) shall be determined based on 
the nonresident wine vendor or importer's name as reflected on 
the back of the product label.  For purposes of Bordeaux 
Chateau wines only, wines manufactured and marketed under a 
common identifying trade name such as "Chateau Domaine," but 
which may be imported into the United States through multiple 
channels based on written authorizations from French 
negociants, would not be considered to be the same brand; e.g., 
the "Chateau Domaine" brought into the United States by 
Importer A would be considered to be a different brand than the 
"Chateau Domaine" brought into the United States by Importer 
B.  Such written authorization(s) must be provided to the 
Commission upon request prior to product approval or brand 
registration on a form provided by the Commission. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1203; 
Eff. April 1, 2011; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 2012. 
 
04 NCAC 02T .0714 TRANSACTIONS WITH  
GOVERNMENT AND SPECIAL ONE-TIME  
PERMITTEES 
(a)  Permitted Activities.  Notwithstanding the restrictions 
contained in 04 NCAC 02T .0711, the following activities by 
alcoholic beverage (which includes malt beverages, wines and 
spirituous liquors) industry members are allowed, as described in 
this Rule, in transactions with cities, counties, the state, or in 
transactions with nonprofit or political organizations that have 
obtained a Special One-Time permit under the provisions of G.S. 
18B-1002(a)(2) or (5), or nonprofit organizations that do not 
hold an ABC permit: 

(1) sponsorships of festivals, concerts, fundraisers 
or special events cosponsored by the local 
government, the state or nonprofit or political 
organizations, including payments of 
advertising fees; 

(2) loaning or renting portable equipment to a 
local government, the state or a nonprofit or 
political organization so long as the equipment 
loaned or rented is for a single event of limited 
duration; 

(3) contracts to provide payment for permanent 
advertising on signs or scoreboards when the 
industry member has submitted a request for 
and received an exemption pursuant to G.S. 
18B-1116(b); 

(4) providing labor or employees to assist in the 
setting up or changing of draft beer kegs and 
equipment which has been loaned or rented 
pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; 

(5) loaning or renting previously approved aerial 
displays or outdoor inflatables for the duration 
of a special event; 

(6) loaning or allowing the use of refrigerated 
vehicles; 

(7) providing novelties, prizes or prize money to 
nonprofit organizations that have obtained a 
Special One-Time Permit; 

(8) providing cash contributions, product 
donations and other consumer goods, provided 
that any donated product remaining after the 
event is not supplied by the Special One-Time 
Permittee to a regular retail permittee; 

(9) participation with a local government or the 
state in the advertising of events cosponsored 
by the local government or state; and 

(10) accepting the return of alcoholic beverages not 
sold, for cash or credit, after the event is over. 

(b)  Sponsorship/Advertising Agreements Restricted.  No 
sponsorship agreement or advertising contract between an 
industry member and a city, county, the state, or a Special One-
Time permittee shall contain any agreement, either express or 
implied, that the industry member's products will be sold to the 
exclusion, in whole or in part, of other brands of alcoholic 
beverages offered by competitors. 
(c)  Cosponsorship with Retail Permittee.  In any promotion by 
an industry member with a local government, the state, or a 
nonprofit organization in which there is cosponsorship by a 
retailer other than the local government or the state, the industry 
member shall obtain prior written approval from the 
Commission as provided in 04 NCAC 02T .0717. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-
1116(b); 
Eff. July 1, 1992; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; April 1, 2011. 
 
04 NCAC 02T .0715 TOURNAMENTS 
(a)  General.  Sponsorship by an industry member of a regional, 
statewide or national sports tournament, when the tournament is 
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held on the property or premises of a retail permittee, is 
permissible only if all of the following conditions are met: 

(1) The tournament is promoted or sanctioned by 
the official governing body of the sport, or is 
promoted and sponsored by a bona fide 
nonprofit organization for the purpose of 
raising funds for a civic, scientific, charitable 
or educational cause; 

(2) No money, novelty items or other prohibited 
services or things of value are given, rented or 
loaned by an industry member to the retailer; 
and 

(3) All sponsorship money or fees and other 
things of value from the industry member are 
given to the official governing body of the 
sport or the nonprofit organization. 

(b)  Advertising.  An industry member may advertise via mass 
media or pay for the advertising of a tournament when the 
primary theme of the advertisement is the tournament and its 
purpose.  The naming of the retailer's premises as the location of 
a tournament shall not be construed to be cooperative advertising 
in violation of 04 NCAC 02S .1007 of this Chapter when the 
retailer's tradename is stated in substantially smaller typeface. 
(c)  Sponsorship/Advertising Agreements Restricted.  No 
industry member agreeing to sponsor a tournament shall enter 
into any agreement or contract, either express or implied, that a 
retailer or special one-time permittee will sell that industry 
member's products to the exclusion, in whole or in part, of other 
brands of alcoholic beverages offered by competitors. 
(d)  Joint Sponsorships.  An industry member shall not agree to 
cosponsor any tournament with any retail permittee unless the 
proceeds from the tournament are paid to a nonprofit civic, 
scientific, charitable or educational organization. 
(e)  Prohibited Sponsorships.  An industry member shall not 
sponsor or aid a retailer in the promotion of any tournament held 
primarily to benefit the retailer, its employees, members or 
guests. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-
1116(b); 
Eff. July 1, 1992; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
 
TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 
 

10A NCAC 09 .3001 SCOPE 
The rules in this Section apply to all licensed programs that 
serve children in the North Carolina Pre-Kindergarten (NC Pre-
K) program. The NC Pre-K program is intended to provide high-
quality educational experiences to enhance school readiness for 
at-risk-four-year olds.  All rules in this Chapter shall apply 
except as provided in this Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a)-(f); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 

10A NCAC 09 .3002 FACILITY REQUIREMENTS  
(a)  Programs serving NC Pre-K children shall maintain a four or 
five star rated license. 
(b)  All NC Pre-K licensed programs shall have an assessment 
completed every three years using the Early Childhood 
Environment Rating Scale-Revised Edition assessment tool as a 
part of the rated license reassessment process. Classrooms that 
score below the "good level," as defined by the tool, shall be 
reassessed the following year and a minimum "good level" must 
be achieved in order to continue to be approved as a NC Pre-K 
site.  At least one NC Pre-K classroom will be chosen for an 
assessment during the reassessment process. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3003 PROGRAM ATTENDANCE  
POLICY 
When a child is absent for more than three consecutive days, the 
site-level administrator shall contact the family and determine 
the child's participation status.  The site-level administrator must 
document attempts to contact the family and any specified 
decisions regarding the child's continued participation in the 
program.  The site-level administrator shall contact the local NC 
Pre-K contractor to share information related to the child's 
absence and to determine what further actions may be necessary 
to maintain the child's attendance in the program. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3005 CHILD HEALTH ASSESSMENTS  
(a)  A health assessment is required to be on file at the NC Pre-K 
site within 30 days after a child enters the NC Pre-K program 
and the assessment may be no more than 12 months old at the 
time of program entry.  The health assessment must include the 
following: 

(1) Physical examination; 
(2) Updated immunizations; 
(3) Vision screening; 
(4) Hearing screening; and 
(5) Dental screening. 

(b)  Site-level administrators shall review all health assessment 
results and shall share results with families. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3006 DEVELOPMENTAL  
SCREENING 
(a)  All children enrolled in the NC Pre-K program must receive 
a developmental screening, unless the child has an existing 
Individualized Education Program (IEP).  The developmental 
screening shall be conducted by a person trained in 
administering the screening.  Children must be screened within 
90 days after the first day of attendance in the program or within 
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six months prior to the first day of attendance.  The screenings 
shall be used solely for the purpose of identifying children who 
should be referred for further evaluation and testing based on 
concerns in one or more developmental domains. 
(b)  Site-level administrators shall review all developmental 
screening results and shall share results with families. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3009 STAFF-TO-CHILD RATIO AND  
CLASS SIZE 
The classroom shall not exceed a maximum staff-to-child ratio 
of one to nine with a maximum class size of 18 children, with at 
least one teacher and one assistant teacher per classroom. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3010 FAMILY ENGAGEMENT 
NC Pre-Kindergarten programs shall develop a comprehensive 
plan for family engagement consisting of strategies designed to 
develop partnerships with families and build reciprocal 
relationships that promote shared decision-making. Examples of 
meaningful opportunities for families to be engaged in their 
child's education include, but are not limited to: 

(1) Allowing Pre-K program teachers the 
opportunity for home visits; 

(2) Formal and informal parent/teacher 
conferences; 

(3) Classroom visits and options for parents and 
families to participate in classroom activities; 

(4) Parent education; 
(5) Allowing family members the opportunity for 

involvement in decision making about their 
own child and about their child's early 
childhood program; and 

(6) Opportunities to engage families outside of the 
regular service day. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3011 NC PRE-K SITE-LEVEL  
ADMINISTRATOR QUALIFICATIONS  
(a)  Administrators of NC Pre-K sites must have either: 

(1) A NC Principal License, or 
(2) A North Carolina Early Childhood 

Administrator Credential (NCECAC) Level 
III.  If the site-level administrator has not yet 
earned the NCECAC Level III, the following 
shall apply: 
(A) Provisional approval shall be given 

for four years from the time the site 
began participation with the NC Pre-
K program for the administrator with 

NCECAC I or II to obtain the 
NCECAC Level III; and  

(B) Progress toward NCECAC Level III 
shall be considered a minimum of six 
documented semester hours per year. 

(b)  Administrators of NC Pre-K sites shall not serve as the NC 
Pre-K teacher or teacher assistant. 
(c)  Long term vacancies shall not exceed 12 weeks. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3012 NC PRE-K TEACHER  
EDUCATION, LICENSURE AND CREDENTIALS 
(a)  All teachers shall hold, or be working toward a North 
Carolina (NC) Birth through Kindergarten (B-K) Standard 
Professional II or Preschool Add-on licensures.  Teachers 
working toward the required education and license shall hold a 
minimum of a BA/BS degree and the following requirements: 

(1) NC Initial Provisional Lateral Entry B-K 
License, or 

(2) A North Carolina K-6 license and a 
provisional Preschool Add-on license, or  

(3) Another North Carolina or other state's license 
and an NC Provisional B-K license, or 

(4) A BA/BS degree in early childhood education, 
child development, or a related field, and be 
eligible for a NC Initial Provisional Lateral 
Entry B-K License. 

(b)  All Pre-K teachers must be enrolled with the Early Educator 
Support, Licensure & Professional Development Unit of the 
Division of Child Development and Early Education. 
(c)  Pre-K teachers with a BA/BS degree shall make progress 
toward B-K licensure by completing a minimum of six 
documented semester hours per year, and achieve the B-K 
license within three years.  The site-level administrator shall 
maintain documentation available for review by the Division, of 
the progress toward the required standard. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3013 NC PRE-K TEACHER  
ASSISTANT EDUCATION AND CREDENTIALS 
All teacher assistants shall: 

(1) have a high school diploma or GED and shall 
hold, or be working toward, a minimum of an 
Associate Degree in early childhood education 
or child development (ECE/CD) or a Child 
Development Associate (CDA) credential.  
Teacher assistants working toward the 
Associate Degree or CDA shall make progress 
by completing a minimum of six documented 
semester hours per year; or 

(2) meet the employment requirements outlined 
by the federal "No Child Left Behind" (NCLB) 
legislation, and have one of the following: 
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(a) Six documented semester hours of 
coursework in early childhood 
education, or 

(b) Two years of work experience in an 
early childhood setting. 

The site-level administrator shall maintain documentation 
available for review by the Division of the progress toward the 
required standard. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3014 NC PRE-K SUBSTITUTE STAFF 
(a)  When a member of the NC Pre-K teaching staff is unable to 
work, a substitute staff person must be provided to maintain the 
staff-to-child ratio as specified in Rule .3009 of this Section and 
must be able to implement the program in accordance with this 
Section.  Substitute staff must be at least 18 years of age and 
meet the following minimum qualifications:  

(1) Requirements for short-term vacancies, when 
teachers are absent from the Pre-K classroom 
for 15 or fewer days, include the following: 
(A) Nonpublic Schools (Private Child 

Care/Pre-K Settings): Substitutes in 
private settings must have at least a 
high school diploma or a GED, and 
completed at least one course in early 
childhood education or child 
development, such as the North 
Carolina Early Childhood Credential; 
or 

(B) Public School Settings: Substitutes 
must meet the requirements of the 
substitute policy consistent with the 
local education agency (LEA). 

(2) Requirements for long-term vacancies, when 
teachers are absent from the Pre-K classroom 
for 16 or more attendance days, are for 
substitute staff to hold at least an Associate's 
Degree in early childhood education/child 
development or a four year degree in a related 
field. 

(b)  Substitutes for teacher assistants must be at least 18 years of 
age and have a minimum of a high school diploma or a GED. 
(c)  Long term vacancies shall not exceed 12 weeks. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3015 INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF  
STANDARDS  
Instructional staff shall work in direct contact with children in 
the Pre-K program for at least a 32.5 hour work week. In 
addition to these direct, day-to-day instructional experiences, the 
Pre-K program must provide adequate additional time for the 
instructional staff for related instructional activities, including 
time for planning, scheduling and conducting home visits, 

meeting with children's families, or attending required 
professional development activities. These related activities shall 
take place outside of the six and a half hour day of direct 
teacher-child contact. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .3016 PROFESSIONAL  
DEVELOPMENT REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Licensed Administrators, Teachers, and Teacher Assistants 
in non-public and public schools shall participate in professional 
development consistent with the NC State Board of Education 
policy.  The policy can be found on the Department of Public 
Instruction's website at 
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/licensure. 
(b)  Administrators, Teachers, and Teacher Assistants in non-
public school settings, working toward Pre-K qualifications shall 
participate in a minimum of six documented semester hours per 
year. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
s. 10.7(a); 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
10A NCAC 27G .0813 WAIVER OF LICENSURE  
RULES 
(a)  The Secretary may waive any of these Rules related to 
licensure requirements.  The decision to grant or deny the waiver 
request shall be based on the following: 

(1) the nature and extent of the request; 
(2) the existence of safeguards to ensure that the 

health, safety, or welfare of the clients residing 
in the facility will not be threatened; 

(3) the determination that the waiver will not 
affect the health, safety, or welfare of clients 
residing in the facility; 

(4) the existence of good cause; and 
(5) documentation of Local Management Entity 

(LME) or Local Management Entity – 
Managed Care Organization (LME-MCO) 
governing body approval when requests are 
from an LME or LME-MCO or contract 
agencies of an LME or LME-MCO or 
documentation of governing body approval of 
the facility when requests are from private 
facilities not contracting with an LME or 
LME-MCO. 

(b)  Requests for waivers shall be sent to the Director, Division 
of Health Service Regulation, 2718 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2718. 
(c)  The request shall be in writing and shall contain: 

(1) the name, address and telephone number of the 
requester; 

(2) the name, address and telephone number of the 
facility for which the waiver is requested; 
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(3) the rule number and title of the rule or 
requirements for which waiver is being sought; 

(4) a statement of facts showing: 
(A) the reason for, and the nature and 

extent of, the request; and 
(B) that the health, safety or welfare of 

clients will not be threatened; 
(5) documentation of LME or LME-MCO 

governing body approval when requests are 
from an LME or LME-MCO or contract 
agencies of an LME or LME-MCO or 
documentation of governing body approval of 
the facility when requests are from private 
facilities not contracting with an LME or 
LME-MCO. 

(d)  Prior to issuing a decision on the waiver request, the 
Director of DHSR shall consult with the Director of 
DMH/DD/SAS, and may also request additional information or 
consult with additional parties as appropriate. 
(e)  A decision regarding the waiver request shall be issued in 
writing by the Director of DHSR and shall state the reasons why 
the request was granted or denied and any special conditions 
relating to the request.  A copy of the decision shall be sent to 
the Director of DMH/DD/SAS.  If the rule in question was 
adopted by the Commission, the Director of DMH/DD/SAS 
shall send a copy of the decision to all Commission members. 
(f)  Waivers related to physical building design and equipment 
shall remain in effect for 10 years. 
(g)  Waivers other than those identified in Paragraph (f) of this 
Rule shall not exceed the expiration date of the current license 
and shall be subject to renewal consideration upon the request of 
the licensee. 
(h)  Renewal requests pursuant to this Rule may be considered 
prior to the facility's application for licensure renewal being 
finalized when the requesting party has submitted the required 
application materials and fee.  A waiver granted prior to 
licensure renewal being finalized shall be contingent upon 
licensure renewal being granted.  A waiver granted prior to the 
licensure renewal shall become effective upon the date of the 
license renewal and is not retroactive. 
(i)  If a facility closes or undergoes a change of ownership, the 
waiver expires with the effective date of the closure or change of 
ownership. 
(j)  The decision of the Secretary regarding a waiver request may 
be appealed to the Office of Administrative Hearings through the 
contested case process set out in G.S. 150B, Article 3.  The 
appeal shall be in writing and shall be filed within 60 days of 
receipt of the decision regarding the waiver request. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122C-23(f); 122C-26(4); 122C-
27(9); 143B-147; 
Eff. May 1, 1996; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; October 1, 2007. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0313 ROANOKE RIVER BASIN 
(a)  Effective February 1, 1976, the adopted classifications 
assigned to the waters within the Roanoke River Basin are set 
forth in the Roanoke River Basin Schedule of Classifications and 
Water Quality Standards, which may be inspected at the 
following places: 

(1) the Internet at http://h2o.enr.state.nc.us/csu/; 
and  

(2) the North Carolina Department of 
Environment and Natural Resources: 
(A) Raleigh Regional Office 
 3800 Barrett Drive 
 Raleigh, North Carolina 
(B) Washington Regional Office 
 943 Washington Square Mall 
 Washington, North Carolina 
(C) Winston-Salem Regional Office 
 585 Waughtown Street Winston-

Salem, North Carolina  
(D) Division of Water Quality 
 Regional Office 
 512 North Salisbury Street 
 Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed Streams.  Such streams entering Virginia are 
classified "C", except that all backwaters of John H. Kerr 
Reservoir and the North Carolina portion of streams tributary 
thereto not otherwise named or described shall carry the 
classification "B," and all backwaters of Lake Gaston and the 
North Carolina portion of streams tributary thereto not otherwise 
named or described shall carry the classification "C and B". 
(c)  The Roanoke River Basin Schedule of Classification and 
Water Quality Standards was amended effective: 

(1) May 18, 1977; 
(2) July 9, 1978; 
(3) July 18, 1979; 
(4) July 13, 1980; 
(5) March 1, 1983; 
(6) August 1, 1985; 
(7) February 1, 1986.  

(d)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality 
Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective 
July 1, 1991 with the reclassification of Hyco Lake (Index No. 
22-58) from Class C to Class B. 
(e)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality 
Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective 
August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all water supply 
waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-I, WS-II or 
WS-III).  These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-II, WS-
III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules, (15A NCAC 2B .0100, .0200 and .0300) which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters.  In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(f)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 
for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective August 1, 
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1998 with the reclassification of Cascade Creek (Camp Creek) 
[Index No. 22-12] and its tributaries from its source to the 
backwaters at the swimming lake from Class B to Class B ORW, 
and reclassification of Indian Creek [index No. 22-13] and its 
tributaries from its source to Window Falls from Class C to 
Class C ORW. 
(g)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality 
Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective 
August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of Dan River and Mayo 
River WS-IV Protected Areas.  The Protected Areas were 
reduced in size. 
(h)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality 
Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective 
April 1, 1999 as follows: 

(1) Hyco River, including Hyco Lake below 
elevation 410 [Index No. 22-58-(0.5)] was 
reclassified from Class B to Class WS-V B. 

(2) Mayo Creek (Maho Creek) (Mayo Reservoir) 
[Index No. 22-58-15] was reclassified from its 
source to the dam of Mayo Reservoir from 
Class C to Class WS-V. 

(i)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 
for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective April 1, 
2001 as follows: 

(1) Fullers Creek from source to a point 0.8 mile 
upstream of Yanceyville water supply dam 
[Index No. 22-56-4-(1)] was reclassified from 
Class WS-II to Class WS-III. 

(2) Fullers Creek from a point 0.8 mile upstream 
of Yanceyville water supply dam to 
Yanceyville water supply dam [Index No. 22-
56-4-(2)] was reclassified from Class WS-II 
CA to Class WS-III CA. 

(j)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 
for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective November 
1, 2007 with the reclassification of Hanging Rock Hillside 
Seepage Bog near Cascade Creek [Index No. 22-12-(2)] to Class 
WL UWL as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101.  The Division of 
Water Quality maintains a Geographic Information Systems data 
layer of the UWL. 
(k)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality 
Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective 
July 3, 2012 as follows: 

(1)  a portion of the Dan River [Index No. 22-(39)] 
(including tributaries) from the City of 
Roxboro's intake, located approximately 0.7 
mile upstream of NC Highway 62, to a point 
approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the City of 
Roxboro's intake from Class C to Class WS-IV 
CA. 

(2)  a portion of the Dan River [Index No. 22-(39)] 
(including tributaries) from a point 
approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the City of 
Roxboro's intake to the North Carolina-
Virginia state line from Class C to Class WS-
IV. 

(l)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 
for the Roanoke River Basin is amended effective January 1, 
2013 as follows:  

(1) a portion of the Roanoke River [Index No. 23-
(26)] (including tributaries) from the Martin 
County Regional Water And Sewer 
Authority's intake, located approximately 0.3 
mile upstream of US 13/US 17, to a point 
approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the Martin 
County Regional Water And Sewer 
Authority's intake from Class C to Class WS-
IV CA. 

(2) a portion of the Roanoke River [Index No. 23-
(26)] (including tributaries) from a point 
approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the Martin 
County Regional Water And Sewer 
Authority's intake to a point approximately 1 
mile downstream of Coniott Creek (Town 
Swamp) from Class C to Class WS-IV. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-
215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 3, 2012; November 1, 2007; 
April 1, 2001; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; August 3, 1992; 
July 1, 1991; February 1, 1986; August 1, 1985. 
 
15A NCAC 02I .0501 FORM AND CONTENTS OF  
PETITION 
(a)  Any person wishing to request the adoption, amendment, or 
repeal of a rule of the Environmental Management Commission 
(hereinafter referred to as the Commission) shall make his 
request in a petition addressed to the Director of the appropriate 
division of the Department of Environment and Natural 
Resources, and a copy in electronic or digital form shall also be 
sent to the Recording Clerk of the Commission: 
 

Director 
Division of Air Quality 

1641 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-1641 

 
Director 

Division of Water Quality 
1617 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-1617 
 

Director 
Division of Water Resources 

1611 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-1611 

 
Recording Clerk of the Commission 

Directors Office 
Division of Water Quality 
1617 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1617 
EMCclerk@ncdenr.gov 

 
(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) the text of the proposed rule(s) conforming to 
the Codifier of Rules' requirements for 



APPROVED RULES 
 

 
27:11                                                              NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 DECEMBER 3, 2012 

1056 

publication of proposed rules in the North 
Carolina Register; 

(2) the statutory authority for the agency to 
promulgate the rule(s); 

(3) a statement of the reasons for adoption of the 
proposed rule(s); 

(4) a statement of the effect on existing rules or 
orders; 

(5) copies of any documents and data supporting 
the proposed rule(s); 

(6) a statement of the effect of the proposed 
rule(s) on existing practices in the area 
involved, including cost factors for persons 
affected by the proposed rule(s); 

(7) a statement explaining the computation of the 
cost factors; 

(8) a description, including the names and 
addresses, if known, of those most likely to be 
affected by the proposed rule(s); and 

(9) the name(s) and address(es) of the 
petitioner(s). 

(c)  Petitions failing to contain the required information shall be 
returned by the Director on behalf of the Chairman. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-282; 150B-20; 
Eff. April 1, 2003; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0303 OPEN SEASONS 
(a)  General.  Following are the seasons for taking by trapping 
fur-bearing animals as defined in G.S. 113-129(7a), coyotes, 
armadillos, and groundhogs, all dates being inclusive: 

(1) November 1 through the last day of February 
except for that part of the state described in 
Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph. 

(2) December 1 through the last day of February 
in and east of Hertford, Bertie, Martin, Pitt, 
Greene, Lenoir, Duplin, Pender and New 
Hanover counties. 

(3) Trapping coyotes is allowed during times and 
with methods described by local laws in 
counties where local laws have established fox 
trapping seasons even when those seasons fall 
outside the regular trapping seasons described 
above. 

(4) Nutria may be trapped east of I-77 at any time. 
(b)  Feral Swine.  There is no closed season for trapping feral 
swine subject to the following restrictions: 

(1) In addition to a hunting or trapping license, a 
permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission is required to trap feral swine.  
Individuals exempted from license 
requirements under the provisions specified in 
G.S. 113-276 may trap feral swine without a 
hunting or trapping license, but must acquire 
the permit. 

(2) Feral swine may be live-trapped using only 
corral or box traps.  Corral and box traps must 
be constructed in a manner such that a non-
target animal can be easily released or can 
escape without harm.  The permit number 
must be displayed on all traps. 

(3) Feral swine must be euthanized while in the 
trap and may not be removed alive from any 
trap. 

 
Note:  See 15A NCAC 10D .0102(f) for other trapping 
restrictions on game lands. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-
291.2; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; July 1, 1984; July 1, 1983; August 1, 
1982; August 1, 1981; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; November 1, 2008; 
May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; August 
1, 2004; 
Recodified from Rule 10B .0302 Eff. January 1, 2011; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 29, 2011; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0304 BAG LIMITS 
There are no restrictions on bag limits of furbearers, coyotes, 
groundhogs, and feral swine. 
Note:  Where local laws govern trapping, or are in conflict with 
these regulations, the local law shall prevail. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 
Eff. August 1, 1977; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; June 1, 2005; July 1, 
1996; July 1, 1984; 
Recodified from Rule 10B .0303 Eff. January 1, 2011; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 29, 2011; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
 

TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
19A NCAC 02E .0210 REVOCATION OF OUTDOOR  
ADVERTISING PERMIT 
The appropriate district engineer shall revoke a permit for a 
lawful outdoor advertising structure based on any of the 
following: 

(1) mistake of facts by the issuing District 
Engineer for which had the correct facts been 
known, he would not have issued the outdoor 
advertising permit; 

(2) misrepresentations of any facts made by the 
permit holder or sign owner and on which the 
District Engineer relied in approving the 
outdoor advertising permit application; 
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(3) misrepresentation of facts to any regulatory 
authority with jurisdiction over the sign by the 
permit holder or sign owner, the permit 
applicant or the owner of property on which 
the outdoor advertising structure is located; 

(4) failure to pay annual renewal fees or provide 
the documentation requested under Rule 
.0207(c) of this Section; 

(5) failure to construct the outdoor advertising 
structure except all sign faces within 180 days 
from the date of issuance of the outdoor 
advertising permit; 

(6) a determination upon inspection of an outdoor 
advertising structure that it fails to comply 
with the Outdoor Advertising Control Act or 
the rules in this Section; 

(7) any alteration of an outdoor advertising 
structure for which a permit has previously 
been issued which would cause that outdoor 
advertising structure to fail to comply with the 
provisions of the Outdoor Advertising Control 
Act or the rules adopted pursuant thereto; 

(8) alterations to a nonconforming sign or a sign 
conforming by virtue of the grandfather clause 
other than reasonable repair and maintenance 
as defined in Rule .0225(c).  For purposes of 
this Rule, alterations include: 
(a) enlarging a dimension of the sign 

facing or raising the height of the 
sign; 

(b) changing the material of the sign 
structure's support; 

(c) adding a pole or poles; or 
(d) adding illumination;  

(9) failure to affix the emblem as required by Rule 
.0208 of this Section or failure to maintain the 
emblem so that it is visible and readable from 
the main-traveled way or controlled route; 

(10) failure to affix the name of the person, firm, or 
corporation owning or maintaining the outdoor 
advertising sign to the sign structure in 
sufficient size to be visible as required by Rule 
.0208 of this Section; 

(11) unlawful destruction or illegal cutting of trees, 
shrubs or other vegetation within the right-of-
way of any State-owned or State-maintained 
highway as specified in G.S. 136-133.1(i); 

(12) unlawful use of a controlled access facility for 
purposes of repairing, maintaining or servicing 
an outdoor advertising sign where an 
investigation reveals that the unlawful 
violation was conducted actually or by design 
by the sign owner or permit holder, the lessee 
or advertiser employing the sign, the owner of 
the property upon which the sign is located, or 
any of their employees, agents, or assigns, 
including independent contractors hired by any 
of the above persons; and 

(a) involved the use of highway right of 
way for the purpose of repairing, 
servicing, or maintaining a sign 
including stopping, parking, or 
leaving any vehicle whether attended 
or unattended, on any part or portion 
of the right of way except as 
authorized by the Department of 
Transportation, including activities 
authorized by the Department for 
selective vegetation removal pursuant 
to G.S. 136-131.1, G.S. 136-131.2 
and G.S. 136-133.4. Access from the 
highway main travel way shall be 
allowed only for surveying or 
delineation work in preparation for 
and in the processing of an 
application for a selective vegetation 
removal permit; or 

(b) involved crossing the control of 
access fence to reach the sign 
structure, except as authorized by the 
Department, including those activities 
referenced in Sub-Item (a) of this 
Item; 

(13) maintaining a blank sign for a period of 12 
consecutive months; 

(14) maintaining an abandoned, dilapidated, or 
discontinued sign; 

(15) a sign that has been destroyed or significantly 
damaged as determined by Rule .0201(8) and 
(29) of this Section; 

(16) moving or relocating a nonconforming sign or 
a sign conforming by virtue of the grandfather 
clause which changes the location of the sign 
as determined by Rule .0201(27) of this 
Section; 

(17) failure to erect, maintain, or alter an outdoor 
advertising sign structure in accordance with 
the North Carolina Outdoor Advertising 
Control Act, codified in G.S. 136, Article 11, 
and the rules adopted pursuant thereto; and 

(18) willful failure to substantially comply with all 
the requirements specified in a vegetation 
removal permit if such willful failure meets 
the standards of G.S. 136-133.1(i) as specified 
in G.S. 136-133.4(e). 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 136-93; 136-130; 136-133; 
136-133.1(i); 136-133.4(e); 
Eff. July 1, 1978; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; May 1, 1997; November 1, 1993; 
March 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; December 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
19A NCAC 02E .0211 DENIAL OF PERMIT 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 
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Eff. July 1, 1978; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; December 1, 
1990; June 15, 1981; 
Temporary Repeal Eff. March 1, 2012; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
19A NCAC 02E .0601 PERMIT TO REMOVE  
VEGETATION 
(a)  In recognition of the State of North Carolina's desire to 
assure that high quality and aesthetically pleasing views are 
provided highway users, along with recognizing that, within 
certain specified limitations, business facilities, hereinafter 
referred to as facilities, defined as office, institutional, 
commercial, and industrial buildings, and certain outdoor 
advertising are legitimate commercial uses of property adjacent 
to the highways and are an integral part of the State's business 
and marketing economy, selective vegetation removal permits 
for opening views to facilities and legally erected forms of 
outdoor advertising, which border State highways, are provided 
by this Section. 
(b)  Selective cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of 
vegetation within highway rights of way may be permitted only 
for opening views to a facility building and legally erected forms 
of outdoor advertising which are located directly adjacent to 
State highway rights of way.  For purposes of selective 
vegetation removal permitting, facilities shall include at least 
one structural building.  The building must have all required 
local and State permits, be related to the facility's function, and 
be open and operational on a year-round basis.  When such 
cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of vegetation is allowed, it 
shall be performed by the permittee or his agent at no cost to the 
Department of Transportation and shall comply with this 
Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-
18(9); 
Temporary Rule Eff. April 13, 1982 for a Period of 48 Days to 
Expire on June 1, 1982; 
Eff. June 1, 1982; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; June 2, 1982. 
 
19A NCAC 02E .0602 REQUESTS FOR PERMITS FOR  
A FACILITY 
(a)  Applications for selective vegetation cutting, thinning, 
pruning, or removal (exclusive of grasses) at a facility shall be 
made by the owner of the facility to the appropriate Division 
Engineer of the North Carolina Department of Transportation, 
Division of Highways.  Applications with all required 
documentation shall be submitted in both printed and electronic 
form.  A non-refundable fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00) 
must accompany each application. 
(b)  Selective vegetation cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal 
for opening views to facilities shall be permitted only for the 
permittee's facilities adjacent to highway right of way at 
locations where such facilities have been constructed. Complete 
removal of all trees and other vegetation shall not be permitted. 
Dogwood trees and redbud trees shall be preserved. Other trees, 
which are not screening the facility from view and are four 
caliper inches and greater in diameter, measured six inches from 

the ground, shall be preserved.  Trees, shrubs, and other 
vegetation less than four caliper inches in diameter may be 
removed.  Trees, shrubs, and other vegetation, which are four 
caliper inches or greater in diameter as measured six inches from 
the ground and not to be preserved, may be cut, thinned, pruned, 
or removed according to approval of Department personnel 
designated by the Division Engineer.  All vegetation cutting, 
thinning, pruning, or removal shall be in accordance with 
accepted International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) standards. 
(c)  The provisions in this Rule shall not be used to provide 
visibility to undeveloped property or to on-premise signs. 
(d)  Applications must be accompanied by a sketch showing the 
requested limits of the selective cutting, thinning, pruning, or 
removal of vegetation.  For commercial, industrial, institutional, 
and office facilities, the limits of selective cutting, thinning, 
pruning, or removal shall be restricted to the area of right-of-way 
immediately adjacent to frontage property of the facility but not 
to exceed 1,000 contiguous linear feet.  The permitted limits of 
the selective vegetation removal permit shall not be altered for 
subsequent applications.  The applicant shall also include on the 
sketch the location, species, and caliper inches of all trees with a 
diameter of four caliper inches and greater, as measured six 
inches above ground level, at the time of the application and 
desired to be cut, thinned, pruned, or removed. 
(e)  The applicant must certify that permission has been obtained 
from the adjoining landowner(s) to access their private property, 
if applicable, for the purpose of conducting activities related to 
the selective vegetation removal permit application. 
(f)  The selective vegetation removal request may be 
investigated on site by Department personnel and a 
representative of the applicant. 
(g)  If the application for vegetation cutting is for a site located 
within the corporate limits of a municipality and if the 
municipality has previously advised the Division Engineer in 
writing of its desire to review such applications, the applicant 
shall deliver the application to the municipality at least 30 days 
prior to submitting the application to the Department, so that 
local officials shall be given the opportunity to review the 
application. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-
18(9); 136-18.7; 136-93; 136-130; 
Temporary Rule Eff. April 13, 1982 for a Period of 48 Days to 
Expire on June 1, 1982; 
Eff. June 1, 1982; 
Amended Eff. November 16, 1991; December 1, 1990; August 1, 
1985; June 2, 1982; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. November 16, 1999; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
19A NCAC 02E .0603 ISSUANCE OR DENIAL OF  
PERMIT FOR A FACILITY 
(a)  The applicant, as part of the application, shall state in 
writing the date that he has delivered a copy of the application 
with required attachments to a municipality which has 
previously advised the Department in writing that it seeks to 
review such applications.  After the 30-day municipal review 
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period has concluded and all required documentation has been 
received by the Department, including the fee set out in G.S. 
136-18.7, the Division Engineer shall have 30 days to approve or 
deny the application.  If written notice of approval or denial is 
not given to the applicant within the 30-day Department review 
period, the application shall be deemed approved.  If the 
application is denied, the Division Engineer shall advise the 
applicant, in writing, of the reasons for denial. 
(b)  The application shall be denied by the Division Engineer if: 

(1) The application is for the opening of view to a 
facility which has been declared illegal or is 
currently involved in litigation with Local, 
State, or Federal governments; 

(2) It is determined by Departmental personnel 
that the facility is not screened from view; 

(3) The application is for the opening of view to 
undeveloped property or to a facility that, due 
to obstructions off the right of way, is screened 
from view from the travel way regardless of 
the presence or absence of trees and other 
vegetation on the highway right of way; 

(4) Removal of vegetation will adversely affect 
the safety of the traveling public; 

(5) The application is solely for providing 
visibility to on-premise signs; 

(6) The application is for the removal of 
vegetation planted in accordance with a local, 
State, or Federal beautification project. 
However, if a mitigation replanting plan which 
is related to the site for which the vegetation 
permit request is made (as set forth in 19A 
NCAC 02E .0611 except for the provisions in 
Paragraph (d) and Subparagraph (g)(11)) is 
approved by the applicant, the Department, 
and if applicable, the Federal Highway 
Administration then this subsection does not 
apply; 

(7) On two previous occasions, the applicant has 
failed to meet the requirements of a selective 
vegetation removal permit.  This is not cause 
for denial if the applicant engages a landscape 
contractor to perform the current work; 

(8) It involves opening of views to junkyards; 
(9) The applicant fails to provide all 

documentation required by statute and rule; 
(10) If any cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of 

vegetation encompassing the entirety of the 
maximum vegetation cutting or removal zone 
is prohibited due to conservation easements or 
conditions affecting the right of way to which 
the State is subjected or agrees in writing to 
subject itself and other restrictions agreed 
upon by the State in writing in the right of 
way; or State or Federal rules, statutes, or 
permits; 

(11) If unlawful destruction or illegal cutting of 
vegetation has occurred within the highway 
right-of-way to create, increase, or improve a 
view to the facility from the travel way 

including acceleration and deceleration ramps, 
the Department shall not issue a selective 
vegetation removal permit for a period of five 
years.  For the purposes of this Section, 
unlawful destruction or illegal cutting is 
defined as the destruction or cutting of trees, 
shrubs, or other vegetation on the State-owned 
or State-maintained rights-of-way by anyone 
other than the Department or its authorized 
agents, or without written permission of the 
Department. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-
18(9); 136-93; 136-130; 
Temporary Rule Eff. April 13, 1982 for a Period of 48 Days to 
Expire on June 1, 1982; 
Eff. June 1, 1982; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1991; December 1, 
1990; August 1, 1985; June 2, 1982; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
19A NCAC 02E .0604 CONDITIONS OF SELECTIVE  
VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMIT FOR FACILITIES  
OR PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 
The following apply to the conditions of selective vegetation 
removal permit for facilities or permit requirements: 

(1) Selected vegetation, within the approved limits 
may be cut, thinned, pruned or removed by the 
permittee in accordance with the standards set 
out in G.S. 136-133.4; 

(2) The permittee shall indemnify and hold 
harmless the North Carolina Department of 
Transportation, and its employees, attorneys, 
agents, and contractors against any and all 
claims or causes of action, and all losses 
therefrom, arising out of or in any way related 
to the permittee's operation; 

(3) The permittee shall furnish a Performance and 
Indemnity Bond or certified check or cashier's 
check made payable to North Carolina 
Department of Transportation for the 
minimum sum of two thousand dollars 
($2,000).  The bond, certified check or 
cashier's check shall cover all restoration of 
the right of way to the condition prior to the 
occurrence of the damage caused by the 
permittee or the permittee's agent, if damage 
occurs during the permitted selective 
vegetation removal.  The bond or certified 
check or cashier's check is required before 
each permit to cut vegetation is issued.  The 
bond shall run concurrently with the permit.  
The bond shall be released after a final 
inspection of the work by NCDOT reveals that 
all work provided for and specified by the 
permit is found to be completed and all 
damages to the right of way, including damage 
to fencing and other structures within the 
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right-of-way, have been repaired or restored to 
the condition prior to the occurrence of the 
damage caused by the permittee or the 
permittee's agent; 

(4) Companies that plan to apply for two or more 
permits may provide continuing bonds for a 
minimum of one hundred thousand dollars 
($100,000) and this type of bond shall be kept 
on file by the Department; 

(5) If the work is to be performed by any entity 
other than the sign owner or permittee, either 
the permittee or the other entity must furnish 
the required bonding, as described in this 
Section, for all work provided for and 
specified by the permit.  Required forms for all 
bonds are available upon request from the 
Department.  Bonds are to be furnished with 
the Selective Vegetation Removal application 
form to the appropriate official assigned to 
receive selective vegetation removal 
applications at the local NCDOT Division of 
Highways Office; 

(6) The permittee shall also provide proof of 
liability insurance of a minimum coverage of 
five million dollars ($5,000,000). Whoever 
performs the work, the permittee, his 
contractor or agent, shall maintain all legally 
required insurance coverage, including 
worker's compensation and vehicle liability in 
the amounts required by and according to 
North Carolina law.  The permittee, his 
contractor and agent, are liable for any losses 
due to the negligence or willful misconduct of 
his agents, assigns, and employees.  The 
permittee may, in lieu of providing proof of 
liability insurance as described in this 
paragraph, be shown as an additional insured 
on the general liability policy of the approved 
contractor or agent to perform the permitted 
work on condition that the contractor or 
agent's policy is for a minimum coverage of 
five million dollars ($5,000,000) and the 
permittee provides proof to the Department of 
the coverage.  The permittee or contractor or 
agent providing the coverage shall also name 
the Department as an additional insured on its 
general liability policy and provide the 
Department with a copy of the certificate 
showing the Department named as an 
additional insured. Regardless of which entity 
provides the proof of general liability 
insurance, the required limit of insurance may 
be obtained by a single general liability policy 
or the combination of a general liability and 
excess liability or umbrella policy; 

(7) The permittee shall provide a document 
verifying the requested selective vegetation 
removal site location in relationship to 
corporate limits of a municipality.  The 

document shall be a current geographic 
information system map of the nearest 
municipality, with color-coded boundary lines 
and a corresponding key or legend indicating 
corporate limit and territorial jurisdiction 
boundaries and indicating the precise location 
of the business facility.  The permittee shall 
also provide the property tax identification 
number for the parcel on which the facility is 
located.  The Department may require 
additional information if the boundary or 
facility location remains in question; 

(8) Access from the highway main travel way 
shall be allowed only for surveying or 
delineation work in preparation for and in the 
processing of an application for a selective 
vegetation removal permit; 

(9) The permittee shall perform site marking of 
the maximum vegetation cut or removal zone. 
The applicant shall mark the permitted cutting 
distances according to 19A NCAC 02E 
.0602(d). The two maximum points along the 
right-of-way boundary (or fence if there is a 
control of access fence) shall be marked with 
visible flagging tape.  The two maximum 
points, corresponding to the actual beginning 
point and the actual ending point, along the 
edge of the pavement of the travel way, 
perpendicular to the maximum points marked 
along the right-of-way boundary, shall be 
marked with spray paint.  If the facility is 
located next to an acceleration or deceleration 
ramp, the two corresponding maximum points 
shall be marked along the edge of the 
pavement of the travel way of the ramp instead 
of the mainline of the roadway; 

(10) The permittee shall tag, with visible material 
or flagging, those trees with a diameter of four 
caliper inches and larger, as measured six 
inches above ground level, at the time of the 
application that are requested to be cut, 
thinned, pruned, or removed within the 
maximum vegetation cut or removal zone.  
Trees tagged for cutting, thinning, pruning, or 
removal shall match with the trees shown on 
the required sketch of the requested vegetation 
cut or removal zone; 

(11) The Department may disapprove the requested 
cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of 
selected trees of four caliper inches or greater 
in diameter, as measured six inches above 
ground level, which are not screening the 
facility from view from the roadway.  The 
Department will make this determination by 
allowing selective thinning of tree density 
which opens the view to the facility across the 
entire length of the maximum cut or removal 
zone, without complete removal of all trees 
and other vegetation.  The Department shall 
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disapprove cutting, thinning, pruning, or 
removal of dogwood and redbud trees that 
may have been tagged in error. If trees are 
disapproved for cutting, thinning, pruning or 
removal, the Department shall specify those 
trees to the applicant during the site 
investigation.  The applicant shall remove the 
tree flagging for the disapproved trees and 
submit to the Department by electronic means 
an amended version of the original sketch of 
the site by indicating the changes on the sketch 
and initialing and dating the changes thereon.  
Failure to amend the sketch of the site 
according to this rule shall be considered 
failure to provide required documentation; 

(12) If any cutting, thinning, pruning, or  removal 
of vegetation from any portion but less than 
the entirety of the maximum vegetation cutting 
or removal zone is prohibited due to 
conservation easements or conditions affecting 
the right of way to which the State is subjected 
or agrees in writing to subject itself and other 
restrictions agreed upon by the State in writing 
in the right of way or State or Federal rules, 
statutes, or permits, the permittee shall comply 
with applicable easements, rules, statutes, or 
permits for those portions of vegetation.  If 
applicable conservation easements, or 
conditions affecting the right of way to which 
the State is subjected or agrees in writing to 
subject itself and other restrictions agreed 
upon by the State in writing in the right of 
way, State or Federal rules, statutes, or permits 
allow certain degrees and methods of cutting, 
thinning, pruning, or removal for portions of 
vegetation, the permittee shall comply with 
applicable easements, State or Federal rules, 
statutes, or permits including equipment type 
for those portions of vegetation.  Portions of 
the maximum cutting or removal zone not 
within a conservation easement nor applicable 
to conditions affecting the right of way to 
which the State is subjected or agrees in 
writing to subject itself and other restrictions 
agreed upon by the State in writing in the right 
of way, nor regulated by State or Federal rules, 
statutes, or permits regulating vegetation 
removal and other activities shall be governed 
by standards set out in G.S. 136-93; 

(13) The permittee must adhere to erosion control 
requirements, according to the North Carolina 
General Statutes, Article 4, Chapter 113A 
entitled:  Sedimentation Pollution Control Act 
of 1973; 

(14) A Division of Highways Inspector may be 
present while work is underway.  The presence 
or absence of a Division of Highways 
inspector at the work site does not lessen the 
permittee's responsibility for conformity with 

the requirements of the permit and all 
applicable statutes and rules. Should the 
inspector fail to point out work that does not 
conform with the requirements, it does not 
prevent later notification to the permittee that 
the work is not in compliance with the permit; 

(15) A selective vegetation removal permit must be 
secured for each applicable facility site prior to 
performing any vegetation removal work.  The 
Permittee or its contractor or agent must have 
a copy of the Selective Vegetation Removal 
Permit on the work site at all times during any 
phase of selective vegetation cutting, thinning, 
trimming, pruning, removal, or planting 
operations; 

(16) Should the Division Engineer ("Engineer") or 
his representative observe unsafe operations, 
activities or conditions, he shall suspend work.  
Work shall not resume until the unsafe 
conditions or activities have been eliminated 
or corrected.  Failure to comply with any of 
the requirements for safety and traffic control 
of this permit shall result in suspension of 
work; 

(17) The permittee or its contractor or agent shall 
take appropriate measures to locate and protect 
utilities within the highway right-of-way 
within the work area of the selective 
vegetation removal zone. The permittee shall 
be responsible for restoration of any losses or 
damages to utilities caused by any actions of 
the permittee or its contractors or agents to the 
satisfaction of the utility owner; 

(18) Permits are valid for a period of one year and 
the permittee may cut, thin, prune, or remove 
vegetation more than one time during the 
permit year.  If the applicant applies for and is 
approved for another permit during an existing 
permit year, the previous permit shall become 
null and void at the same time the new permit 
is issued; 

(19) The permittee shall provide to the appropriate 
Department official a 48-hour notification 
before entering the right-of-way for any work 
covered by the conditions of the permit. The 
permittee shall schedule all work with the 
appropriate Department official.  The 
permittee shall notify the Department in 
advance of work scheduled for nights, 
weekends, and holidays.  The Department 
reserves the right to modify the permittee's 
work schedule for nights, weekends, and 
holidays.  When the Department restricts 
construction in work zones for the safety of the 
traveling public, the Department shall deny 
access to the right-of-way for selective 
vegetation removal; 

(20) If work is planned in an active work zone, the 
permittee shall receive written permission 
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from the contractor or the Department (if the 
Department's employees are performing the 
work). The permittee shall provide the 
Division Engineer with a copy of the written 
permission; 

(21) Sites with vegetation not presenting a hazard 
from falling tree parts and follow-up work 
shall be restricted to individual and manual-
operated power equipment and hand-held 
tools; 

(22) The Department may allow use of power-
driven vegetation removal equipment (such as 
excavator-based land clearing attachments, 
skid-steer cutters, and bucket trucks) and 
access from the private property side to the 
right-of-way.  Tree removal, which presents a 
hazard from falling tree parts, shall be 
performed in accordance with International 
Society of Arboriculture standards. Written 
authorization must be obtained from the 
Department for use of power-driven vegetation 
removal equipment as well as for access to 
move resources from the private property to 
the right-of-way. The applicant must provide 
information on the permit application for 
which type(s) of equipment and access is 
requested.  The applicant shall also provide 
contractor qualifications to the Department; 

(23) The Department shall determine the traffic 
control signage that is required.  The permittee 
shall furnish, erect, and maintain the required 
signs as directed by the Department; 

(24) The height of stumps remaining after tree 
removal shall not exceed four inches above the 
surrounding ground level. The work site shall 
be left in a clean and orderly appearance at the 
end of each workday; 

(25) An applicant for a selective vegetation 
removal permit for a facility issued pursuant to 
19A NCAC 02E .0602 may appeal a decision 
of the Department pertaining to the denial or 
conditioning of a permit for selective 
vegetation removal pursuant to the provisions 
of this section. Such an appeal shall be in 
accordance with the provisions of G.S. 136-
133.3; 

(26) Upon completion of all work, the Department 
shall notify the Division Engineer who shall 
notify the Permittee in writing of acceptance, 
terminate the permit, and return the 
Performance and Indemnity Bond or certified 
or cashier's check to the permittee; 

(27) Pursuant to 136-133.4(e), willful failure to 
substantially comply with all the requirements 
specified in the permit, unless otherwise 
mutually resolved, shall result in immediate 
and summary revocation of the selective 
vegetation removal permit and forfeiture of 
any or all of the Performance and Indemnity 

Bond or check as determined by the Division 
Engineer based on conditions stated in this 
Rule. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-
18(9); 
Temporary Rule Eff. April 13, 1982 for a Period of 48 Days to 
Expire on June 1, 1982; 
Eff. June 1, 1982; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; August 1, 2000; November 1, 
1991; August 1, 1985; August 1, 1982; June 2, 1982.  
 
19A NCAC 02E .0608 REQUESTS FOR SELECTIVE  
VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS FOR OUTDOOR  
ADVERTISING 
(a)  Applications for selective vegetation cutting, thinning, 
pruning, or removal (exclusive of grasses) shall be made by the 
owner of an outdoor advertising sign permitted under G.S. 136-
129(4) or (5) to the appropriate Division Engineer of the North 
Carolina Department of Transportation, Division of Highways.  
Applications with all required documentation shall be submitted 
in both printed and electronic form.  For sites within the 
corporate limits of a municipality which has previously advised 
the Department in writing that it seeks to review such 
applications, the applicant shall deliver the application to the 
municipality at least 30 days prior to submitting the application 
to the Department.  A non-refundable fee of two hundred dollars 
($200.00) must accompany each application. 
(b)  Applications which include existing trees to be cut, thinned, 
pruned or removed, must be accompanied by a site plan in 
accordance with G.S. 136-133.1(c). 
(c)  For signs eligible for municipal review the applicant must 
include on the application and, as a prerequisite to applicable 
municipal review submittal, the year the outdoor advertising sign 
was originally erected.  Upon request, the Department will 
furnish the year of sign erection to the applicant.  The 
Department reserves the right to require additional proof if the 
year of the sign erection remains in question. 
(d)  The selective vegetation removal request may be 
investigated on site by Department personnel and a 
representative of the applicant. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-
18(9); 136-18.7; 136-93;136-129(4); 136-129(5); 136-130; 136-
133.1; 136-133.2; 
Temporary Rule Eff. March 1, 2012; 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
19A NCAC 02E .0611 REQUIREMENTS FOR  
BEAUTIFICATION AND REPLANTING CONDITIONS  
OF SELECTIVE VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS  
FOR OUTDOOR ADVERTISING AND BUSINESS  
FACILITIES 
(a)  Any site qualifies for a beautification and replanting plan. 
(b)  For future selective vegetation removal applications at 
replanted sites, replanted materials may be removed only if 
partially blocking the view to a sign face.  In this case, the 
Department will require plant substitutions on a one for one 
basis. All requests for plant substitutions shall be approved by 
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the Department and installed according to the rules in this 
Section. 
(c)  Submittal of a selective vegetation removal application shall 
be in accordance with G.S. 136.133.1(c). 
(d)  This Paragraph applies to all replanting plans except 
mitigating replanting plans as specified in 19A NCAC 02E 
.0603(b)(6) and .0609(b)(4).  The caliper inches of existing trees 
to be removed, according to the applicant's site plan shall equal 
the caliper inches to be replanted by the applicant at the outdoor 
advertising site from which existing trees are requested to be 
removed.  If the caliper inches of existing trees from the site plan 
exceed the density of the Departments replanting site design, the 
excess caliper inches of trees shall be delivered by the applicant 
to the Department according to the schedule described in 
Subparagraph (g)(6) of this Rule.  If plant material other than 
trees is proposed, the Department may consider such substitution 
for the required caliper inches.  The excess trees shall be planted 
and maintained by the Department at sites to be determined by 
the Department. 
(e)  For sites that qualify according to the replanting criteria 
described in this Rule, the Department shall consult with the 
applicant and any local government that has requested to review 
and provide comments on selective vegetation removal 
applications pursuant to G.S. 136-93(d) or has notified the 
Department of its desire to review and provide comments on 
beautification and replanting plans.  The local government shall 
be given 15 days to review and provide comments on 
beautification and replanting plans.  If the local government does 
provide comments on a beautification and replanting plan, the 
Department shall take the comments into consideration.  If the 
local government does not make appropriate request for a 
review, the criteria stated in the rules in this section shall be 
followed for replanting determination. 
(f)  In consideration of differences in outdoor advertising sign 
structure heights, the Department shall maintain on file 
regionalized landscape design plans and plant lists as a guide for 
applicants.  The applicant may submit one of the Department's 
plans or a proposed beautification and replanting plan prepared 
and sealed by a North Carolina licensed landscape architect.  
The Department's written approval, based on the American 
Standard for Nursery Stock for a minimum of a 1.5 caliper inch 
replanted tree, of the beautification, replanting, and maintenance 
plan shall allow the applicant to proceed with requested 
vegetation cutting, thinning, pruning or removal at the outdoor 
advertising site. If plant material other than trees is proposed, the 
Department may consider such substitution for the required 
caliper inches. 
(g)  The approved beautification and replanting plan becomes a 
part of the selective vegetation removal permit pursuant to G.S. 
136-93(b) and 136-133.1(e).  All applicable requirements of the 
permit, including the performance bond and insurance, shall 
continue to apply until all replanting and establishment 
requirements are satisfied and accepted in writing by the 
Department.  The Department shall approve the replanting 
portion of the selective vegetation removal permit in writing 
detailing the requirements of the beautification and replanting 
plan.  The requirements include the following: 

(1) The work for initial plantings and all future 
replacements must be adhered to by the 

permittee or any or their employees, agents, or 
assigns according to International Society of 
Arboriculture standards except as stipulated in 
the rules in this Section. Initial and 
replacement planting will be considered 
acceptable when the plants have been placed 
in the plant hole, backfilled, watered, mulched, 
staked, and guyed.  All plants of one species, 
which are shown on the plans to be planted 
within a bed, shall be planted concurrently and 
the entire group shall be completed before any 
plant therein is considered acceptable.  
Replacement planting consists of replacing 
those plants which are not in a living and 
healthy condition as defined in these Rules; 

(2) The permittee must adhere to erosion control 
requirements, according to North Carolina 
General Statutes, Article 4, Chapter 113A 
entitled:  Sedimentation Pollution Control Act 
of 1973; 

(3) All plant materials shall be approved in 
writing by the Department prior to arrival at 
the outdoor advertising site or prior to excess 
trees being furnished and delivered to the 
Department. The approval shall be based on 
the American Standard for Nursery Stock; 

(4) All work is subject to NCDOT Division of 
Highways inspection and shall be scheduled 
with the Department.  A minimum 48-hour 
notification shall be provided to the 
Department by the permittee before entering 
the right-of-way for any beautification and 
replanting plan requirements; 

(5) Grinding of all cut stumps (to a minimum 
depth of four inches below ground level) must 
be completed in the area of replanting during 
the preparation of the site, prior to initial 
planting; 

(6) All initial and replacement plantings shall be 
installed during the first planting season 
(November 1 to March 15) contemporaneous 
with or following the selective vegetation 
removal.  If replanting cannot be completed by 
the March 15 deadline, the replanting shall 
occur during the next planting season. The 
same dates (November 1 to March 15) apply 
when the permittee provides the Department 
with excess plant material at a site where 
existing caliper inches exceeds the site design 
capacity; 

(7) The permittee shall contact the Department to 
schedule a final replanting acceptance 
inspection upon completion of any plant 
material installation.  For one year from the 
date of the initial planting acceptance for the 
entire replanting plan, the permittee must 
establish all plant materials according to these 
provisions.  Establishment for all initial or 
replacement plants shall begin immediately 
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after they are planted.  The permittee shall be 
responsible for the area around plantings for a 
distance of six feet beyond the outside edges 
of the mulch.  Establishment shall include 
cutting of grass and weeds; watering; 
replacement of mulch; repair or replacement of 
guy stakes, guy wires, and water rings; and 
other work to encourage the survival and 
growth of plant material.  The permittee shall 
remove and dispose of dead plants from the 
replanting plan site during the establishment 
period.  Prior to the end of the one-year 
establishment period, the permittee is 
responsible for contacting the Department to 
schedule a site meeting with Departmental 
officials to identify plants to be replaced that 
are not in a living and healthy condition.  
Plants do not meet the living and healthy 
condition requirement and need replacement if 
25 percent or more of the crown is dead, if the 
main leader is dead, or if an area of the plant 
has died leaving the character of its form 
compromised, lopsided, or disfigured. The 
permittee shall replace, during the planting 
period, plant material needed to restore the 
planting to the original quantity, size, and 
species of plant material.  Any desired changes 
in plant material proposed by the permittee 
must be requested in writing to the 
Department.  The Department shall notify the 
permittee in writing of the replacement 
plantings; 

(8) At the conclusion of the one-year 
establishment period, the Department shall 
issue a written acceptance of the permittee's 
work and release the applicable bond.  Then a 
one-year observation period shall begin in 
which the permittee or sign owner shall 
maintain stability of the original and 
replacement plantings to promote their 
continued livability and healthy growth.  The 
sign owner is responsible for replacement of 
plants not meeting the living and healthy 
condition requirement during the observation 
period and in accordance with the dates of 
planting as stated in the rules in this Section; 

(9) After the one-year observation period 
concludes, the Department shall notify the sign 
owner if the permit requirement conditions 
have been met successfully; 

(10) Replanted materials may be pruned according 
to the International Society of Arboriculture 
standards; however, topping of trees or other 
vegetation is not allowed; 

(11) This Paragraph applies to all replanting plans 
except mitigating replanting plans as specified 
in 19A NCAC 02E .0609(b)(4).  Excess plants 
or trees furnished and delivered to the 
Department, shall receive care and handling in 

accordance with the following:  In digging, 
loading, transporting, unloading, planting, or 
otherwise handling plants, the permittee shall 
exercise care to prevent windburn; injury to or 
drying out of the trunk, branches, or roots; and 
to prevent freezing of the plant roots.  The 
solidity of the plant ball shall be preserved.  
Delivery of excess plant material shall be 
scheduled with the Department, allowing a 
minimum three days notification for each 
delivery. The permittee's responsibility for the 
furnished excess plants or trees ends at the 
time the plant material is delivered to, 
inspected by, and accepted by the Department; 

(12) For mitigating replanting plans according to 
19A NCAC 02E .0609(b)(4), trees and other 
plant material for a proposed beautification 
and replanting plan taken from the 
Department's landscape design plans and plant 
lists or prepared and sealed by a North 
Carolina licensed landscape architect, may be 
of a projected mature height to reduce 
visibility limitations to outdoor advertising 
sign faces; 

(13) Should the outdoor advertising structure 
related to the selective vegetation permit be 
sold or transferred, the new owner or permit 
holder is subject to the requirements in the 
General Statutes and rules in this section, 
including those regarding planting, 
establishment, replacement or renovation 
plantings, minimum living and healthy 
condition, and observation; and 

(14) Willful failure to substantially comply with the 
requirements of this Paragraph for the 
beautification and replanting plan shall subject 
the permittee to penalties prescribed in G.S. 
136-133.4. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 136-93; 136-130; 136-133.4; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. March 1, 2012; 
Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
 
TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 12 - LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 
CONTRACTORS 

 
21 NCAC 12 .0204 ELIGIBILITY 
(a)  Limited License.  The applicant for a limited license must: 

(1) Be entitled to be admitted to the examination 
given by the Board in light of the requirements 
set out in G.S. 87-10 and Section .0400 of this 
Chapter; 

(2) Be financially stable to the extent that the total 
current assets of the applicant or the firm or 
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corporation he represents exceed the total 
current liabilities by at least seventeen 
thousand dollars ($17,000) or the total net 
worth of the applicant or firm is at least eighty 
thousand dollars ($80,000); 

(3) Successfully complete 70 percent of the 
examination given the applicant by the Board 
dealing with the specified contracting 
classification chosen by the applicant; and 

(4) Provide to the Board an audited financial 
statement with a classified balance sheet as 
part of the application, if the applicant or any 
owner, principal, or qualifier is in bankruptcy 
or has been in bankruptcy within seven years 
prior to the filing of the application.  This 
requirement does not apply to shareholders of 
an applicant that is a publicly traded 
corporation. 

(b)  Intermediate License.  The applicant for an intermediate 
license must: 

(1) Be entitled to be admitted to the examination 
given by the Board in light of the requirements 
set out in G.S. 87-10 and Section .0400 of this 
Chapter; 

(2) Be financially stable to the extent that the total 
current assets of the applicant or the firm or 
corporation he represents exceed the total 
current liabilities by at least seventy-five 
thousand dollars ($75,000), as reflected in an 
audited financial statement prepared by a 
certified public accountant or an independent 
accountant who is engaged in the public 
practice of accountancy; and 

(3) Successfully complete 70 percent of the 
examination given the applicant by the Board 
dealing with the specified contracting 
classification chosen by the applicant. 

(c)  Unlimited License.  The applicant for an unlimited license 
must: 

(1) Be entitled to be admitted to the examination 
given by the Board in light of the requirements 
set out in G.S. 87-10 and Section .0400 of this 
Chapter; 

(2) Be financially stable to the extent that the total 
current assets of the applicant or the firm or 
corporation he represents exceed the total 
current liabilities by at least one hundred fifty 
thousand dollars ($150,000), as reflected in an 
audited financial statement prepared by a 
certified public accountant or an independent 
accountant who is engaged in the public 
practice of accountancy; 

(3) Successfully complete 70 percent of the 
examination given the applicant by the Board 
dealing with the specified contracting 
classification chosen by the applicant. 

(d)  In lieu of demonstrating the required level of working 
capital or net worth under Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, an 
applicant may obtain a surety bond from a surety authorized to 

transact surety business in North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 58 
Articles 7, 16, 21, or 22.  The surety shall maintain a rating from 
A.M. Best, or its successor rating organization, of either 
Superior (A++ or A+) or Excellent (A or A-).  The bond shall be 
continuous in form and shall be maintained in effect for as long 
as the applicant maintains a license to practice general 
contracting in North Carolina or until the applicant demonstrates 
the required level of working capital. The application form and 
subsequent annual license renewal forms shall require proof of a 
surety bond meeting the requirements of this Rule.  The 
applicant shall maintain the bond in the amount of three hundred 
fifty thousand dollars ($350,000) for a limited license, one 
million dollars ($1,000,000) for an intermediate license, and two 
million dollars ($2,000,000) for an unlimited license.  The bond 
shall list State of North Carolina as obligee and be for the benefit 
of any person who is damaged by an act or omission of the 
applicant constituting breach of a construction contract or breach 
of a contract for the furnishing of labor, materials, or 
professional services to construction undertaken by the 
applicant, or by an unlawful act or omission of the applicant in 
the performance of a construction contract.  The bond required 
by this Rule shall be in addition to and not in lieu of any other 
bond required of the applicant by law, regulation, or any party to 
a contract with the applicant.  Should the surety cancel the bond, 
the surety and the applicant both shall notify the Board 
immediately in writing.  If the applicant fails to provide written 
proof of financial responsibility in compliance with this Rule 
within 30 days of the bond's cancellation, then the applicant's 
license shall be suspended until written proof of compliance is 
provided.  After a suspension of two years, the applicant shall 
fulfill all requirements of a new applicant for licensure.  The 
practice of general contracting by an applicant whose license has 
been suspended pursuant to this Rule shall subject the applicant 
to additional disciplinary action by the Board. 
(e)  Reciprocity.  If an applicant is licensed as a general 
contractor in another state, the Board, in its discretion, need not 
require the applicant to successfully complete the written 
examination as provided by G.S.87-15.1.  However, the 
applicant must comply with all other requirements of the rules in 
this Chapter to be eligible to be licensed in North Carolina as a 
general contractor. 
(f)  Accounting and reporting standards.  Financial statements 
submitted by applicants to the Board shall conform to United 
States "generally accepted accounting principles" (GAAP).  The 
Board shall accept non-GAAP financial statements from 
individual applicants wherein the only exception to GAAP is 
that assets and liabilities are classified as "current" and 
"noncurrent."  The Board shall accept non-GAAP financial 
statements from applicants wherein the only exception to GAAP 
is that the applicant is not combined with a related entity into 
one financial statement pursuant to FIN 46R.  The terminologies, 
working capital, balance sheet with current and fixed assets, and 
current and long term liabilities, used herein shall be construed 
in accordance with those standards referred to as "generally 
accepted accounting principles" (GAAP) as promulgated by the 
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB).  The 
terminologies, audited financial statements and unqualified 
opinion, used herein shall be construed in accordance with those 



APPROVED RULES 
 

 
27:11                                                              NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 DECEMBER 3, 2012 

1066 

standards referred to as "generally accepted auditing standards" 
(GAAS).  
  
History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; 
ARRC Objection March 19, 1987; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; August 1, 1987; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 28, 1989 for a Period of 155 
Days to Expire on December 1, 1989; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 1989; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 31, 1996;  
RRC Removed Objection Eff. October 17, 1996; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 24, 1998; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2013; August 1, 2008; April 1, 2006; 
March 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 39 - ON-SITE WASTEWATER 
CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION 

BOARD 
 
21 NCAC 39 .0101 DEFINITIONS 
As used in Article 5 of Chapter 90A of the General Statutes and 
the rules in this Chapter: 

(1) "Ancillary" means an on-site wastewater 
system that is included in a primary 
construction project. 

(2) "College course" means a semester unit or 
quarter based unit of instruction given at a 
college or university, that is relevant to on-site 
wastewater contractor or inspector activities 
and is pre-approved by the board as set out in 
these Rules. 

(3) "Course/activity" means any course or activity 
with a clear purpose and objective that will 
maintain, improve or expand skills and 
knowledge relevant to the practice of on-site 
wastewater contractor or inspector activities 
and pre-approved by the board. 

(4) "Employee" means a person who receives an 
Internal Revenue Service W2 form as a record 
of compensation. 

(5) "Inspection" means an inspection as defined in 
G.S. 90A-71(4A). 

(6) "Personally supervise" means to direct and 
control all on-site wastewater contractor or 
inspector activities during the time those 
activities are being conducted. 

(7) "Professional development hour" or "PDH" 
means an hour of instruction or presentation 
and is the basic unit of credit for all courses or 
activities related to satisfying continuing 
education requirements. 

(8) "Repair" means repair construction activity or 
alteration to an existing on-site wastewater 

system that is necessary to comply with a 
Construction Authorization for a repair permit 
issued by the Local Health Department. 

(9) "Wastewater Treatment Facility" means a 
wastewater treatment facility as defined in 
G.S. 90A-71(8). 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-71; 90A-72; 90A-74; 
Eff. February 1, 2011; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013. 
 
21 NCAC 39 .0202 BUSINESS SUCCESSION 
(a)  A person may be certified pursuant to G.S. 90A-77(c) by: 

(1) Providing the Board documentation of being 
supervised by and employed full time with a 
certified contractor or inspector for the past 
three years; 

(2) Providing the Board three affidavits from local 
health department, engineers, or customers 
that show integral involvement with the 
installation of on-site wastewater systems; 

(3) Providing the Board with an application for 
certification, including appropriate initial fees; 

(4) Providing the Board with proof of attendance 
at approved continuing education courses for a 
minimum of two years; and 

(5) Passing the applicable test for the level 
requested. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-74; 90A-77; 
Eff. January 1, 2013. 
 
21 NCAC 39 .0601 REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Every certified on-site wastewater contractor or inspector 
shall obtain Professional Development Hours (PDH) units 
during the renewal period as described in the following Table: 
 

Level Annual PDH Units 
Required 

I 3 
II (3) 
III (6) 
IV (6) 

Inspector (6) 
Inspector/Grade 

IV Combo 
(6) 

 
(b)  The certified on-site wastewater contractor shall select 
courses and activities that have been approved as set out in 21 
NCAC 39 .0602. 
(c)  Professional Development Hours (PDH) shall be accepted 
by the Board for approved courses pursuant to 21 NCAC 39 
.0603.  Hours for all other courses must be submitted by 
providers to the Board for approval.  If not approved, no PDH 
shall be granted for the course. 
(d)  The class provider or authorized representative of the class 
provider must certify that each class attendee was present for at 
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least 85 percent of the class.  Any attendee present for less time 
shall not receive credit for the class. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 90A-77; 90A-
78; 90A-79; 
Eff. February 1, 2011; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013. 
 
21 NCAC 39 .1005 ON-SITE WASTEWATER  
SYSTEM COMPONENTS 
(a)  When inspecting an on-site wastewater system the inspector 
shall inspect and describe: 

(1) Any part of the system located more than five 
feet from the primary structure that is part of 
the operations permit; 

(2) Septic tanks; 
(3) Pump tanks; 
(4) Distribution devices;  
(5) Dispersal fields; 
(6) Treatment units; 
(7) Control panels; 
(8) Any other components required as part of on-

site wastewater system permit, including 
drainage; and 

(9) Any vegetation and grading with respect only 
to their effect on the condition of the system or 
system components. 

(b)  The inspector shall: 
(1) Uncover tank lids and distribution devices so 

as to gain access, unless blocked as described 
in Rule .1004(b)(5) of this Section. The 
distribution box may remain covered if the 
inspector has an alternate method of observing 
its condition; 

(2) Probe system components where deterioration 
is suspected; 

(3) Report the methods used to inspect the on-site 
wastewater system; 

(4) Open readily accessible and readily openable 
components; and 

(5) Report signs of abnormal or harmful water 
entry into or out of the system or components. 

(c)  The inspector is not required to: 
(1) Conduct dosing volume calculations; 
(2) Evaluate soil conditions beyond saturation or 

ponding; 
(3) Evaluate for the presence or condition of 

buried fuel storage tanks; 
(4) Evaluate the system for proper sizing, design, 

or use of proper materials; or 
(5) Perform a hydraulic load test on the system. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 
Eff. October 1, 2011; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 46 - BOARD OF PHARMACY 

21 NCAC 46 .1601 PHARMACY PERMITS 
(a)  Applications for pharmacy permits, whether original or 
renewal, shall be made upon forms provided by the Board. The 
Board shall not issue any original or annual renewal pharmacy 
permit until the Board is satisfied that: 

(1) The pharmacist-manager is sure that at all 
times adequate qualified personnel have been 
secured by the management of the store to 
properly render pharmaceutical service in the 
manner prescribed by law. 

(2) The pharmacy posts in a location conspicuous 
to the public the specific hours that a 
pharmacist is on duty in the pharmacy. This 
requirement does not apply to hospitals, 
nursing homes, and similar institutions subject 
to the provisions of Section .1400 of this 
Chapter. 

(3) The pharmacist-manager shall be responsible 
for obtaining and maintaining equipment in the 
pharmacy adequate to meet the pharmaceutical 
care needs of the pharmacy's patients.  

(4) The pharmacist-manager shall be responsible 
for obtaining and maintaining a reference 
library in the pharmacy.  The library shall 
include current references, either hard copy or 
electronically accessible, covering: 
(A) State and federal statutes and rules 

relating to the practice of pharmacy 
and the legal distribution of drugs; 

(B) Drug interactions, adverse effects, 
therapeutic use, dosing and 
toxicology; 

(C) Patient-oriented reference materials 
for counseling in proper drug usage 
as specified in 21 NCAC 46 .2504; 

(D) Equivalent drug products as defined 
in G.S. 90-85.27; and 

(E) Any reference materials otherwise 
required by state or federal law, 
including any otherwise required in 
these Rules. 

(5) The pharmacy is equipped with sanitary 
appliances including lavatory facilities with 
hot and cold running water; is well lighted; 
and is kept in a clean, orderly, and sanitary 
condition. 

(6) All prescription medications are labeled in 
accordance with G.S. 106-134 and 106-134.1. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements for issuance and renewal of a 
pharmacy permit imposed by statute and rules of the Board, a 
permit shall not be issued or renewed to any person to operate a 
pharmacy wherein the prescriptions of medical practitioners are 
compounded or dispensed and distributed when such distribution 
is effected by mail and the practitioner-pharmacist-patient 
relationship does not exist, until the Board is satisfied that: 

(1) The pharmacy maintains records of 
prescriptions compounded or dispensed and 
distributed in manner that is readily 
retrievable; 
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(2) During the pharmacy's regular hours of 
operation but not less than six days per week, 
for a minimum of forty hours per week, a toll-
free telephone service is provided to facilitate 
communication between patients and a 
pharmacist at the pharmacy who has access to 
the patient's records. This toll-free number 
must be disclosed on the label affixed to each 
container of dispensed drugs; 

(3) The pharmacy complies with all lawful orders, 
directions, and requests for information from 
the Boards of pharmacy of all states in which 
it is licensed and all states into which it 
distributes prescription drugs; 

(4) The pharmacy complies with all United States 
Pharmacopeia and Food and Drug 
Administration requirements regarding the 
storage, packaging, and shipping of 
prescription medications. The pharmacist-
manager and all other pharmacists employed 
in the pharmacies permitted pursuant to this 
Paragraph shall be subject to all Federal and 
State statutes and regulations concerning the 
dispensing of prescription medications 
including 21 NCAC 46 .1801 and .1805 and 
21 CFR 1306.01, 1306.05, and 1306.21. 

(c)  The Board shall not issue an original or renewal permit to 
any person to operate a drugstore or pharmacy as a department 
in or a part of any other business serving the general public 
(except hospitals, nursing homes, and similar institutions subject 
to the provisions of Section .1400 of this Chapter) unless such 
pharmacy facility: 

(1) is physically separated from such other 
business; 

(2) is separately identified to the public both as to 
name and any advertising; 

(3) completes all transactions relative to such 
pharmacy within the registered facility; and 

(4) meets the same requirements for registration as 
all other pharmacies. 

(d)  In addition to all of the other requirements for issuance and 
renewal of a pharmacy permit imposed by statute and rules of 
the Board, the Board shall not issue any original or annual 
renewal pharmacy permit to any Internet pharmacy until the 
Board is satisfied that: 

(1) The Internet pharmacy is certified by the 
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 
as a Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Site 
(VIPPS); 

(2) The Internet pharmacy has certified the 
percentage of its annual business conducted 
via the Internet on a form provided by the 
Board, when it applies for permit or renewal; 
and 

(3) The Internet pharmacy has provided the Board 
with the names, addresses, social security 
numbers, phone numbers, facsimile numbers, 
email addresses, and titles of all principal 
corporate officers of the Internet pharmacy; 

the names, addresses, social security numbers, 
phone numbers, facsimile numbers, email 
addresses, and titles of all principal officers of 
any company, partnership, association, or 
other business entity holding any ownership 
interest in the Internet pharmacy; the names, 
addresses, social security numbers, phone 
numbers, facsimile numbers, email addresses, 
and titles of any individual holding any 
ownership interest in the Internet pharmacy. 

This Paragraph does not relieve an out-of-state pharmacy from 
compliance with all provisions of 21 NCAC 46 .1607 governing 
out-of-state pharmacies. 
(e)  Permits to operate pharmacies, whether original or renewal, 
shall be issued to the pharmacist-manager of such pharmacy 
pursuant to a joint application of the owner and pharmacist-
manager for the conduct and management of said pharmacy. The 
issuance of said permit shall not be complete and the permit 
shall not be valid until it has been countersigned by the 
pharmacist-manager as represented in the application. The 
permit so issued is valid only so long as the pharmacist-manager 
to whom it was issued assumes the duties and responsibilities of 
pharmacist-manager. Permits may be reissued at any time to a 
successor pharmacist-manager pursuant to the proper 
amendment of the application for the permit. 
(f)  Upon application, the Board may issue and renew separate 
permits for pharmacies operating at one location. Records for 
each permitted pharmacy must be maintained separately. Prior to 
issuance of an original permit, each pharmacy shall submit a 
plan to the Board that shall assure accountability for the actions 
of each pharmacy at the location. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21; 132-1.10; 
Eff. April 1, 1983; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; April 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 
April 1, 1999; October 29, 1998; July 1, 1996; September 1, 
1995; May 1, 1989; August 1, 1988; March 1, 1984. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 57 –APPRASIAL BOARD 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0201 QUALIFICATIONS FOR  
TRAINEE REGISTRATION, APPRAISER LICENSURE  
AND CERTIFICATION 
(a)  Applicants for trainee registration and for certification as a 
certified real estate appraiser must satisfy the qualification 
requirements stated in G.S. 93E-1-6 and in this Section.   
(b)  Applicants for trainee registration shall have completed, 
within the five-year period immediately preceding the date 
application is made, 90 hours of education as set forth in 21 
NCAC 57B .0101 or education found by the Board to be 
equivalent to such courses.  Applicants for trainee registration 
must possess a high school diploma or its equivalent. 
(c)  Applicants for certification as a certified residential real 
estate appraiser shall have completed 200 hours of education as 
set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0102 or education found by the 
Board to be equivalent to such courses.  In addition, applicants 
for certification as a certified residential real estate appraiser 
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must hold an Associate's degree, or higher, from an accredited 
college, junior college, community college, or university. In lieu 
of the Associate's degree requirements, applicants shall have 
successfully completed 21 semester credit hours in the following 
collegiate subject matter courses from an accredited college or 
university: English composition; principles of economics (macro 
or micro); finance; algebra; geometry or higher mathematics; 
statistics; introduction of computers, including word processing 
and spreadsheets; and business or real estate law. Applicants 
shall have obtained at least 2,500 hours of appraisal experience 
acquired over a minimum period of two calendar years.  
Applicants must have been engaged in real estate appraising for 
at least two calendar years prior to the date application is made.  
At least 50 percent of this appraisal experience must have been 
of one to four family residential properties in which the sales 
comparison approach was utilized in the appraisal process.  
(d)  Applicants for certification as a certified general real estate 
appraiser shall have completed 300 hours of education  as set 
forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0103 or education found by the Board to 
be equivalent to such courses. In addition, applicants for 
certification as a certified general estate appraiser must hold a 
Bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or 
university.  In lieu of the Bachelor's degree requirements, 
applicants shall have successfully completed 30 semester credit 
hours in the following collegiate subject matter courses from an 
accredited college university: English composition, micro 
economics, macro economics, finance, algebra, geometry or 
higher mathematics, statistics, introduction of computers, 
including word processing and spreadsheets, business or real 
estate law, and two elective courses in accounting, geography, 
business management or real estate.  Applicants shall have 
obtained at least 3,000 hours of appraisal experience acquired 
over a minimum period of two and a half calendar years of 
which at least 50 percent must have been in appraising non-
residential real estate.  Applicants must have been engaged in 
real estate appraising for at least two and one-half calendar years 
prior to the date application is made.  At least 50 percent of the 
non-residential appraisal experience must have been of special 
use properties such as schools, churches, or hospitals in which 
the income approach is not applicable or of improved properties 
in which the income approach was utilized in the appraisal 
process.  
(e)  Applicants for certification who are currently registered 
trainees must submit a copy of their complete appraisal log.  
Applicants for certification who are currently licensed or 
certified appraisers must submit an appraisal log showing that 
they possess the requisite amount and length of experience as set 
forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule.  All applicants shall 
provide to the Board copies of appraisal reports and work files in 
support of experience credit.  In order for an appraisal to be 
given experience credit, it must comply with the Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) and with 
any applicable state statutes or rules. 
(f)  When a trainee or a licensed real estate appraiser becomes a 
certified real estate appraiser, his previous registration or 
licensure shall be immediately canceled by the Board.  When a 
certified residential real estate appraiser becomes certified as a 
general real estate appraiser, his previous certification shall be 
immediately canceled by the Board.  

(g)  In the event that the Board asks an applicant to submit 
updated information or provide further information necessary to 
complete the application and the applicant fails to submit such 
information within 90 days following the Board's request, the 
Board shall cancel the applicant's application and the application 
fee shall be retained by the Board. An applicant whose 
application has been cancelled and who wishes to obtain a 
registration or certificate must start the licensing process over by 
filing a complete application with the Board and paying all 
required fees. 
(h)  An applicant may request that his or her application be 
withdrawn at any time before final action is taken by the 
Appraisal Board on the application.   
(i)  If an applicant has a current open complaint before the North 
Carolina Appraisal Board or an appraiser licensing board from 
any other state, or if the applicant has pending criminal charges 
in this or any state, the application shall be accepted but no 
further action shall be taken on the application until the 
complaint or criminal charges are resolved. For the purposes of 
this Section, criminal charges do not include speeding tickets or 
traffic infractions. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; 
January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; April 1, 2006, July 1, 2005; 
August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0202 FITNESS FOR REGISTRATION  
OR CERTIFICATION 
(a)  The Appraisal Board shall consider the fitness for 
registration or certification of each applicant.  When the fitness 
of an applicant is in question, action by the Board shall be 
deferred until the applicant has affirmatively demonstrated that 
the applicant possesses the requisite competency, truthfulness, 
honesty and integrity. 
(b)  When the application is deferred, the Board shall notify the 
applicant and the applicant shall be entitled to demonstrate his or 
her competency or fitness for registration or certification at a 
hearing before the Board. 
(c)  The inquiry into fitness for registration or certification may 
include consideration of whether the applicant has: 

(1) had disciplinary action taken against any 
professional license in North Carolina or any 
other state; 

(2) committed or done any act which, if 
committed or done by any real estate trainee or 
appraiser, would be grounds under the 
provisions hereinafter set forth for disciplinary 
action including the suspension or revocation 
of registration, licensure, or certification; or 

(3) been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any 
criminal act, or whether any such actions or 
charges are pending.  

(d)  All applicants for registration or certification shall obtain a 
criminal records check from Carolina Investigative Research, 
Inc., an agency designated by the Appraisal Board to provide 
criminal record reports.  This records check must have been 
performed within 60 days of the date the completed application 
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for registration or certification is received by the Board. 
Applicants shall pay the designated reporting service for the cost 
of these reports. 
(e) Notice to the applicant that his or her competency or fitness 
for registration or certification is in question shall be sent by the 
Board in writing, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to 
the address shown upon the application.  The applicant shall 
have 60 days from the date of receipt of this notice to request a 
hearing before the Board.  Failure to request a hearing within 
this time constitutes a waiver of the applicant's right to a hearing 
on his or her application for registration or certification, and the 
application shall be deemed denied.  Nothing in this Rule shall 
be interpreted to prevent an applicant from reapplying for 
registration or certification. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008; July 1, 2005; 
August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0203 REGISTRATION, LICENSE AND  
CERTIFICATE RENEWAL 
(a)  All registrations, licenses and certificates expire on June 30 
of each year unless renewed before that time. 
(b)  A holder of a trainee registration, an appraiser license or 
certificate desiring the renewal of such registration, license or 
certificate shall apply for same in writing upon the form 
provided by the Board and shall forward the renewal fee as 
prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-7(a).  Forms are available upon request 
to the Board.  The renewal fee is not refundable under any 
circumstances. 
(c)  All trainees, licensees and certificate holders, either resident 
or non-resident, who are required by G.S. 93E-1-7 to complete 
continuing education as a condition of renewal, must satisfy the 
continuing education requirements set forth in Rule .0204 of this 
Section. 
(d)  An applicant for renewal who initially qualified for his 
license or certificate by licensure or certification with another 
state may keep that license or certificate even if the applicant has 
moved to a different state, as long as the North Carolina license 
or certificate is continuously renewed pursuant to this section. 
Such an applicant for renewal does not have to maintain 
licensure with the appraiser regulatory authority of the state 
upon whose qualification requirements the license or certificate 
was granted. 
(e)  Any person who acts or holds himself out as a registered 
trainee, licensed or certified real estate appraiser while his 
trainee registration, appraiser license or certificate is expired 
shall be subject to disciplinary action and penalties as prescribed 
in G.S. 93E. 
 
History Note Authority G.S. 93E-1-7(a),(b); 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; January 1, 2008; March 1, 
2007; March 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION 
(a)  All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees and 
certificate holders shall, upon the renewal of their registration, 

license or certificate in every odd-numbered year, present 
evidence satisfactory to the Board of having obtained continuing 
education as required by this Section. Trainees and appraisers 
who initially registered with the Board after January 1 of an odd 
numbered year are not required to show continuing education 
credit for renewal of their registration in that odd numbered year. 
(b)  Each trainee, licensee and certificate holder who must 
complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule must complete 28 hours of continuing education before 
June 1 of every odd numbered year.  Except as provided in 
Paragraphs (g) and (h) of this Rule, such education must have 
been obtained by taking courses approved by the Board for 
continuing education purposes, at schools approved by the Board 
to offer such courses.  Such education must relate to real estate 
appraisal and must contribute to the goal of improving the 
knowledge, skill and competence of trainees, and licensed and 
certified real estate appraisers.  There is no exemption from the 
continuing education requirement for trainees or appraisers 
whose registered, licensed or certified status has been upgraded 
to the level of licensed residential, certified residential or 
certified general appraiser since the issuance or most recent 
renewal of their registration, license or certificate, and courses 
taken to satisfy the requirements of a higher level of certification 
shall not be applied toward the continuing education 
requirement.  Trainees, licensees and certificate holders shall not 
take the same continuing education course more than once 
during the two year continuing education cycle. 
(c)  Each appraisal continuing education course must involve a 
minimum of three and one-half classroom hours of instruction 
on real estate appraisal or related topics such as the application 
of appraisal concepts and methodology to the appraisal of 
various types of property; specialized appraisal techniques; laws, 
rules or guidelines relating to appraisal; standards of practice and 
ethics; building construction; financial or investment analysis; 
land use planning or controls; feasibility analysis; statistics; 
accounting; or similar topics.  The trainee, license or certificate 
holder must have attended at least 90 percent of the scheduled 
classroom hours for the course in order to receive credit for the 
course. 
(d)  Each trainee, licensee and certificate holder who is required 
to complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule must, as part of the 28 hours of continuing education 
required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, complete the seven hour 
National USPAP update course between October 1 of an odd-
numbered year and June 1 of an even numbered year, as required 
by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 
Foundation, or its equivalent.  USPAP is updated every even 
numbered year, and each trainee, licensee and certificate holder 
shall take the most recent USPAP update course prior to June 1 
of every even numbered year. 
(e)  A licensee who elects to take approved continuing education 
courses in excess of the requirement shall not carry over into the 
subsequent years any continuing education credit. 
(f)  Course sponsors must provide a certificate of course 
completion to each trainee, licensee and certificate holder 
successfully completing a course.  In addition, course sponsors 
must send directly to the Board a certified roster of all who 
successfully completed the course.  This roster must be sent 
within 15 days of completion of the course, but not later than 



APPROVED RULES 
 

 
27:11                                                              NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 DECEMBER 3, 2012 

1071 

June 15 of each year.  In order to renew a registration, license or 
certificate in a timely manner, the Board must receive proper 
proof of satisfaction of the continuing education requirement 
prior to processing a registration, license or certificate renewal 
application.  If proper proof of having satisfied the continuing 
education requirement is not provided, the registration, license 
or certificate shall expire and the trainee, licensee or certificate 
holder shall be subject to the provisions of Rules .0203(e) and 
.0206 of this Section. 
(g)  A current or former trainee, licensee or certificate holder 
may request that the Board grant continuing education credit for 
a course taken by the trainee, licensee or certificate holder that is 
not approved by the Board, or for appraisal education activity 
equivalent to a Board-approved course, by making such request 
and submitting a non-refundable fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) as 
set out in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course or type of appraisal 
education activity to be evaluated. Continuing education credit 
for a non-approved course shall be granted only if the trainee, 
licensee or certificate holder provides satisfactory proof of 
course completion and the Board finds that the course satisfies 
the requirements for approval of appraisal continuing education 
courses with regard to subject matter, course length, instructor 
qualifications, and student attendance.  Appraisal education 
activities for which credit may be awarded include teaching 
appraisal courses, authorship of appraisal textbooks, and 
development of instructional materials on appraisal subjects.  Up 
to 14 hours of continuing education credit may be granted in 
each continuing education cycle for participation in appraisal 
education activities. Trainees or licensed or certified appraisers 
who have taught an appraisal course or courses approved by the 
Board for continuing education credit are deemed to have taken 
an equivalent course and are not subject to the fee prescribed in 
G.S. 93E-1-8 (d), provided they submit verification satisfactory 
to the Board of having taught the course(s). A trainee, licensee 
or certificate holder who teaches a Board-approved continuing 
education course may not receive continuing education credit for 
the same course more than once every two years, regardless of 
how often he teaches the course. Requests for equivalent 
approval for continuing education credit must be received before 
June 15 of an odd-numbered year to be credited towards the 
continuing education requirement for that odd-numbered year. 
Equivalent approval shall be granted only for courses that are 7 
hours or longer, and shall only be granted for a minimum of 7 
hours.  
(h)  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder may receive 
continuing education credit by taking any of the Board-approved 
precertification courses, other than Basic Appraisal Principles 
and Basic Appraisal Procedures, or their approved equivalents.  
Trainee, licensees and certificate holders who wish to use a 
precertification course for continuing education credit must 
comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0604. 
(i)  A certificate holder who resides in another state, is currently 
credentialed in another state and is active on the National 
Registry in another state may satisfy the requirements of this 
section by providing a current letter of good standing from 
another state showing that the licensee has met all continuing 
education requirements in the other state, including the most 
recent edition of USPAP. A licensee or certificate holder who 
became licensed in North Carolina by licensure or certification 

with another state and now resides in North Carolina may renew 
by letter of good standing for his or her first renewal as a 
resident of North Carolina only if the appraiser moved to North 
Carolina on or after January 1 of an odd numbered year. If an 
appraiser was a resident of this state before January 1 of an odd-
numbered year, the appraiser must comply with the requirements 
of this section regardless of how the license or certificate was 
obtained. 
(j)  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder who returns from 
active military duty on or after February 1 of an odd-numbered 
year is allowed to renew his or her registration, license or 
certificate in that odd-numbered year even if the required 
continuing education is not completed before June 1 of that year.  
All required continuing education must be completed within 180 
days of when the trainee, licensee or certificate holder returns 
from active duty.  Failure to complete the required continuing 
education within 180 days is grounds for revocation.  This Rule 
applies to an individual who is serving in the armed forces of the 
United States and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension 
of time to file a tax return. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-15; 93E-1-7(a); 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2011; July 1, 2010; 
January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; 
July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999  
 
21 NCAC 57A .0211 APPLICANTS CERTIFIED IN  
ANOTHER STATE 
(a)  Applicants for certification who are not residents of North 
Carolina must file an application as stated in Rule .0101 of this 
Subchapter. In addition, nonresident applicants must also 
consent to service of process in this state and file an affidavit of 
residency with the application. If the applicant is licensed by the 
appraiser licensing board of the applicant's resident state, the 
applicant must also file with the application a letter of good 
standing from the appraiser licensing board of the resident, 
which was issued under seal by that licensing board no later than 
30 days prior to the date application is made in this state. 
(b)  Applicants for certification who are residents of North 
Carolina and who are certified in another state may file an 
application as stated in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. The 
applicant must file a letter of good standing from the other state, 
which was issued under seal by that licensing board no later than 
30 days prior to the date application is made in this state. 
(c)  Applicants for registration or certification shall obtain a 
criminal records check from Carolina Investigative Research, 
Inc., an agency designated by the Appraisal Board to provide 
criminal record reports.  This records check must have been 
performed within 60 days of the date the completed application 
for registration or certification is received by the Board. 
Applicants shall pay the designated reporting service for the cost 
of these reports. 
(d)  An appraiser whose certification is suspended in North 
Carolina may not apply for certification in this state under this 
Rule while the certification is suspended. An appraiser whose 
certification was revoked in North Carolina may not apply for 
certification in this state under this Rule for five years after the 
date of revocation. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-9(a) and (b); 93E-1-10; 
Title XI, Section 1122(a); 12 U.S.C. 3351(a); 
Eff. March 1, 2007; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008; January 1, 
2008. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0301 TIME AND PLACE 
(a)  Applicants who have completed the education and 
experience requirements for certification as set forth in 21 
NCAC 57A .0201 shall be issued an examination approval form. 
The examination approval form is valid for three attempts at the 
examination or for one year from date of issuance, whichever 
comes first. 
(b)  Examinations for appraiser certificates shall be scheduled at 
such times and places as determined by the Executive Director 
and the Board-approved private testing service.  Applicants for 
the examination shall be scheduled for examination based on 
their successful completion of appraiser educational 
qualification requirements stated in G.S. 93E-1-6 and filing an 
application with the Board.  Violation of examination procedures 
and instructions is grounds for denial, suspension or revocation 
of a certificate. 
(c)  Examination results are valid for 24 months from the date 
the examination is successfully completed. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013;  September 1, 2008; January 1, 
2008; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 
1999. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0302 SUBJECT MATTER AND  
PASSING SCORES 
(a)  The examination for certification as a certified residential 
real estate appraiser shall test applicants on the following subject 
areas: 

(1) Influences on Real Estate Value; 
(2) Legal Considerations in Appraisal; 
(3) Types of Value; 
(4) Economic Principles; 
(5) Real Estate Markets and Analysis; 
(6) Valuation Process;  
(7) Property Description;  
(8) Highest and Best Use Analysis; 
(9) Appraisal Statistical Concepts; 
(10) Sales Comparison approach;  
(11) Site Value; 
(12) Cost Approach; 
(13) Income Approach (Gross Rent Multipliers, 

Estimation of Income and Expenses, Operating 
Expense ratios);   

(14) Valuation of Partial Interests; and 
(15) Appraisal Standards and Ethics. 

(b)  In addition to the subject areas listed in Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule, the examination for certification as a certified general real 
estate appraiser shall test applicants on the following subject 
areas: 

(1) Direct Capitalization; 

(2) Cash Flow Estimates; 
(3) Measures of Cash Flow; and 
(4) Discounted Cash Flow Analysis. 

(c)  The testing service shall inform applicants whether they 
have passed the examination, and shall inform them of their 
actual score only if they fail the examination. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008; March 1, 
2007; April 1, 1999. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0303 RE-EXAMINATION 
(a)  Applicants for an appraiser certificate who fail to pass or 
appear for any examination for which the applicant has been 
scheduled by the Board-approved private testing service, may 
schedule a subsequent examination and shall pay the prescribed 
examination testing fees to the Board-approved private testing 
service. 
(b)  Applicants may take the examination no more than three 
times per application.  If an applicant fails the examination, the 
applicant must wait a minimum of 30 days before retaking the 
examination.  If the applicant does not pass the examination by 
the third attempt at the examination or within one year of the 
date of issuance of the examination approval form, the 
application is cancelled.   
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008; July 1, 2005; 
August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0304 CHEATING AND RELATED  
MISCONDUCT 
Applicants shall not cheat or attempt to cheat on an examination 
by any means, including both giving and receiving assistance, 
and shall not communicate in any manner for any purpose with 
any person other than an examination supervisor during an 
examination.  Violation of this Rule shall be grounds for 
dismissal from an examination, invalidation of examination 
scores, and denial of an appraiser certificate, as well as for 
disciplinary action if the applicant holds a trainee registration, an 
appraiser license or certificate. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999.  
 
21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES 
(a)  A certified real estate appraiser may engage a registered 
trainee to assist in the performance of real estate appraisals, 
provided that the appraiser: 

(1) has been certified for at least three years; 
(2) has no more than three trainees working under 

him at any one time.  A certified residential 
appraiser may have two trainees working 
under his or her supervision at any one time. 
Once at least one of those trainees has 
completed 50 percent of the required appraisal 
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experience to upgrade, a certified residential 
appraiser may add another trainee. A certified 
general appraiser may have three trainees 
working under his or her supervision. Prior to 
the date any trainee begins performing 
appraisals under his or her supervision, the 
supervisor must inform the Board of the name 
of the trainee. The supervisor must also inform 
the Board when a trainee is no longer working 
under his or her supervision;  

(3) actively and personally supervises the trainee 
on all appraisal reports and appraisal related 
activities until the trainee is no longer under 
his or her supervision;  

(4) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting 
data used in connection with appraisals in 
which the services of a trainee is utilized, and 
assures that research of general and specific 
data has been adequately conducted and 
properly reported, application of appraisal 
principles and methodologies has been 
properly applied, that the analysis is sound and 
adequately reported, and that any analysis, 
opinions, or conclusions are adequately 
developed and reported so that the appraisal 
report is not misleading; 

(5) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 of 
this Section regarding appraisal reports;   

(6) reviews and signs the trainee's log of 
appraisals, which must be updated at least 
every 30 days. In addition, the supervisor must 
make available to the trainee a copy of every 
appraisal report where the trainee performs 
more than 75 percent of the work on the 
appraisal; and 

(7) has not received any disciplinary action 
regarding his or her appraisal license or 
certificate from the State of North Carolina or 
any other state within the previous three years. 
For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary 
action means an active suspension, a 
downgrade of a credential, a revocation or any 
other action that affects a supervisor's ability 
to engage in appraisal practice. 

(b)  Active and personal supervision includes direction, 
guidance, and support from the supervisor.  The supervising 
appraiser shall have input into and full knowledge of the 
appraisal report prior to its completion, and shall make any 
necessary and appropriate changes to the report before it is 
transmitted to the client.  In addition, the supervisor must 
accompany the trainee on the inspections of the subject property 
on the first 50 appraisal assignments or the first 1500 hours of 
experience, whichever comes first, for which the trainee will 
perform more than 75 percent of the work.  After that point, the 
trainee may perform the inspections without the presence of the 
supervisor provided that the trainee is competent to perform 
those inspections, and provided that the subject property is less 
than 50 miles from the supervisor's primary business location. 
The supervisor must accompany the trainee on all inspections of 

subject properties that are located more than 50 miles from the 
supervisor's primary business location. 
(c)  The trainee must maintain a log on a form that includes each 
appraisal performed by the trainee, the type of property 
appraised, type of appraisal performed, complete street address 
of the subject property, the date the report was signed, the 
experience hours claimed, the name of the supervisor for that 
appraisal, the supervisor's license or certificate number, and 
whether the supervisor accompanied the trainee on the 
inspection of the subject. The log must show all appraisals 
performed by the trainee and must be updated at least every 30 
days. 
(d)  An appraiser who wishes to supervise a trainee must attend 
an education program offered by the Appraisal Board regarding 
the role of a supervisor either before such supervision begins, or 
within 90 days after such supervision begins. If the supervisor 
does not take the class within 90 days after the supervision 
begins, a trainee may no longer work under the supervision of 
that supervisor until the class is taken. 
(e)  Trainees must assure that the supervisor has completed and 
sent the Supervisor Declaration Form to the Appraisal Board on 
or before the day the trainee begins assisting the supervising 
appraiser.  Trainees shall not receive appraisal experience credit 
for appraisals performed in violation of this Paragraph. 
(f)  Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee or 
by a company, firm or partnership in which the trainee has a 
controlling interest. 
(g)  If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides significant 
professional assistance in the appraisal process and thus is noted 
in the report as having provided such assistance, the appraiser 
signing the report must have notified the Appraisal Board before 
the appraisal is signed that he or she is the supervisor for the 
trainee.  If more than one appraiser signs the report, the appraiser 
with the highest level of credential must be the declared 
supervisor for the trainee. If all appraisers signing the report 
have the same level of credential, at least one of them must be 
declared as the trainee's supervisor before the report is signed. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1.6.1; 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1,2010; September 1, 2008; 
January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; 
August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0501 APPRAISAL STANDARDS 
Every registered trainee, and licensed and certified real estate 
appraiser shall, in performing the acts and services of a 
registered trainee, or licensed or certified real estate appraiser, 
comply with the following provisions of the "Uniform Standards 
of Professional Appraisal Practice" promulgated by the 
Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation: 
Definitions, Preamble, Ethics Rule, Record Keeping Rule, 
Competency Rule, Scope of Work Rule, Jurisdictional Exception 
Rule, Statements on Appraisal Standards, and Standards Rules 1, 
2 and 3, all of which are hereby incorporated by reference. This 
incorporation by reference includes subsequent amendments and 
editions of those provisions.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 
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Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2005; 
August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0101  REGISTERED TRAINEE  
COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Each applicant for registration as a trainee shall complete a 
minimum of 90 hours of precertification education, consisting of 
the following; 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Principles; 

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Procedures;  

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Market 
Analysis and Highest and Best Use or 30 hours 
in General Appraiser Market Analysis and 
Highest and Best Use; and 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP). 

(b)  Credit for these courses must be earned from a Board-
approved course sponsor or school and all course content shall 
be approved by the Appraisal Board in accordance with the rules 
in this Subchapter. These courses must be completed within the 
five-year period immediately preceding the date when 
application for registration is made to the Board. 
(c)  Basic Appraisal Principles shall be a prerequisite to taking 
Basic Appraisal Procedures, and Basic Appraisal Procedures 
shall be a prerequisite to taking either Residential or General 
Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use.  The 15 hour 
USPAP course may be taken any time after the successful 
completion of Basic Appraisal Procedures.    
(d)  These four courses must have been obtained in a classroom 
setting.  No credit will be given for these courses taken by any 
other method, such as correspondence school courses or on-line 
courses.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-
10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; 
January 1, 2008; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0102 CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL  
REAL ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS     
(a)  Each applicant for certification as a certified residential real 
estate appraiser shall complete a minimum of 200 hours of 
precertification education, consisting of the following: 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Principles;  

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Procedures;  

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Market 
Analysis and Highest and Best Use;   

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(5) A minimum of30 Hours in Residential Sales 
Comparison and Income Approaches; 

(6) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Report 
Writing and Case Studies;  

(7) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP); 

(8) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(9) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 
Residential Applications and Case Studies; 
and 

(10) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

Credit for these courses must be earned from a Board-approved 
course sponsor or school. 
(b)  An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as a 
trainee shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a 
certified residential real estate appraiser by completing the 
following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(2) A minimum of 30 Hours in Residential Sales 
Comparison and Income Approaches; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Report 
Writing and Case Studies; 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(5) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 
Residential Applications and Case Studies; 
and 

(6) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(c)  An applicant who is currently a licensed residential appraiser 
shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a certified 
residential real estate appraiser by completing the following 
education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 
Residential Applications and Case Studies; 
and 

(3) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(d)  An applicant who is not currently registered by the Board as 
a trainee or who is not currently licensed by the Board as a 
licensed residential real estate appraiser must have completed all 
required courses no earlier than January 1, 2008. 
(e)  An applicant who is currently registered by the Board as a 
trainee or who is currently licensed by the Board as a licensed 
residential real estate appraiser must have completed all courses 
required beyond those required for his current registration, 
licensure or certification no earlier than January 1, 2008. 
(f)  The Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal Procedures, 
Residential Market Analysis, USPAP and Residential Sales 
Comparison and Income Approach classes must have been 
obtained in a classroom setting. All other courses in this section 
may be taken on-line via the Internet. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-
10;  
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Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; 
January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0103 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL  
ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  An applicant for certification as a certified general real estate 
appraiser shall complete the following precertification courses; 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Principles; 

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Procedures; 

(3) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 
Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use;  

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(5) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 
Sales Comparison Approach; 

(6) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 
Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(7) A minimum of 60 hours in General Appraiser 
Income Approach; 

(8) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 
Report Writing and Case Studies; 

(9) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives; and  

(10) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP). 

Credit for all courses must be earned from a Board-approved 
course sponsor or school, and all courses shall comply with the 
course content standards prescribed in Rule .0302 of this 
Subchapter. 
(b)  An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as a 
trainee shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a 
general real estate appraiser by completing the following 
education: 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 
Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(3) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 
Sales Comparison Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 
Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(5) A minimum of 60 hours in General Appraiser 
Income Approach; and 

(6) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 
Report Writing and Case Studies; and 

(7) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(c)  An applicant who is currently licensed with the Board as a 
licensed residential real estate appraiser shall satisfy the 
educational requirements to become a general real estate 
appraiser by completing the following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 
Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 
Sales Comparison Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 
Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(5) A minimum of 45 hours in General Appraiser 
Income Approach;  

(6) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 
Report Writing and Case Studies; and 

(7) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(d)  An applicant who is currently certified with the Board as a 
certified residential real estate appraiser shall satisfy the 
educational requirements to become a general real estate 
appraiser by completing the following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 
Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 
Sales Comparison Approach; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 
Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 45 hours in General Appraiser 
Income Approach; and 

(5) A minimum of 10 hours in General Appraiser 
Report Writing and Case Studies. 

(e)  An applicant who is not currently registered by the Board as 
a trainee or who is not currently licensed or certified by the 
Board as a licensed residential or certified residential real estate 
appraiser must have completed all the required courses no earlier 
than January 1, 2008. 
(f)  An applicant who is currently registered by the Board as a 
trainee or who is not currently licensed or certified by the Board 
as a licensed residential or certified residential real estate 
appraiser must have completed all courses required beyond those 
required for his current registration, licensure or certification no 
earlier than January 1, 2008. 
(g)  The Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal Procedures, 
USPAP, and General Appraiser Income Approach classes must 
have been obtained in a classroom setting. All other courses in 
this section may be taken on-line via the Internet.   
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-
10;  
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; 
January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0210 COURSE RECORDS 
Schools and course sponsors must: 

(1) retain on file for five years copies of all grade 
and attendance records for each approved 
course and must make such records available 
to the Board upon request; 

(2) retain on file for two years a master copy of 
each final course examination, and such file 
copy shall indicate the answer key, course 
title, course dates and name of instructor. 
Examination file copies shall be made 
available to the Board upon request; 
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(3) within 15 days of course completion, but not 
later than June 15 of each year, submit to the 
Board a roster of all students who 
satisfactorily completed the course; and  

(4) provide each student with contact information 
for the Appraisal Board so that students may 
contact the Board with questions or concerns 
regarding the course. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; January 1, 2008; March 1, 
2007; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002. 
21 NCAC 57B .0605 CONTINUING EDUCATION  
CREDIT HOURS 
The course approval issued to a course sponsor shall include the 
number of hours of continuing education credit that will be 
awarded for the course.  The minimum number of continuing 
education credit hours awarded for a course shall be three and 
one-half hours, and the maximum number of continuing 
education credit hours awarded for a course, regardless of its 
length, shall be thirty hours.  Continuing education credit hours 
shall not be carried forward into subsequent licensing periods. 
No continuing education credit shall be given for courses taken 
before the most recent registration, license or certification the 
applicant has attained.   
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10;  
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; August 1, 2002. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0606 COURSE OPERATIONAL  
REQUIREMENTS 
Course sponsors must at all times assure compliance with the 
criteria for course approval stated in Rule .0603 of this Section 
and must also comply with the following requirements relating 
to scheduling, advertising and conducting approved appraisal 
continuing education courses: 

(1) Courses must be scheduled and conducted in a 
manner that limits class sessions to a 
maximum of eight classroom hours in any 
given day and that includes appropriate breaks 
for each class session.  A classroom hour 
consists of 50 minutes of classroom instruction 
and ten minutes of break time.  For any class 
meeting that exceeds 50 minutes in duration, 
breaks at the rate of ten minutes per hour must 
be scheduled and taken at reasonable times.  

(2) Course sponsors must not utilize advertising of 
any type that is false or misleading in any 
respect.  If the number of continuing education 
credit hours awarded by the Board for a course 
is less than the number of scheduled classroom 
hours for the course, any course advertisement 
or promotional materials which indicate that 
the course is approved for appraiser continuing 
education credit in North Carolina must 
specify the number of continuing education 

credit hours awarded by the Board for the 
course. 

(3) Course sponsors must, upon request, provide 
any prospective student a description of the 
course content sufficient to give the 
prospective student a general understanding of 
the instruction to be provided in the course. 

(4) Courses must be conducted in a facility that 
provides an appropriate learning environment. 
At a minimum, the classroom must be of 
sufficient size to accommodate comfortably all 
enrolled students, must contain a student desk 
or sufficient worktable space for each student, 
must have adequate light, heat, cooling and 
ventilation, and must be free of distractions 
that would disrupt class sessions.  Sponsors are 
required to comply with all applicable local, 
state and federal laws and regulations 
regarding safety, health and sanitation. 
Sponsors shall furnish the Board with 
inspection reports from appropriate local 
building, health and fire inspectors upon the 
request of the Board. Sponsors must supply 
separate restroom facilities for males and 
females. Classes may not be held in a personal 
residence under any circumstances. 

(5) The course sponsor must require students to 
attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 
classroom hours in order to satisfactorily 
complete the course, even if the number of 
continuing education credit hours awarded by 
the Board for the course is less than the 
number of scheduled classroom hours. 
Attendance must be monitored during all class 
sessions to assure compliance with the 
attendance requirement. Instruction must be 
given for the number of hours for which credit 
is given. Instructors may not accumulate 
unused break time to end the class early. 

(6) Instructors must require reasonable student 
attentiveness during class sessions.  Students 
must not be permitted to engage in activities 
that are not related to the instruction being 
provided. 

(7) Course sponsors for which an application fee 
is required by Rules .0602(b) and .0611(b) of 
this Section must fairly administer course 
cancellation and fee refund policies.  In the 
event a scheduled course is canceled, 
reasonable efforts must be made to notify 
preregistered students of the cancellation and 
all prepaid fees received from such 
preregistered students must be refunded within 
30 days of the date of cancellation or, with the 
student's permission, applied toward the fees 
for another course. 

(8) Upon request of the Board, the course sponsor 
must submit to the Board a videotape in a 
manner and format which depicts the 
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instructor teaching portions of any continuing 
education course specified by the Board and 
which demonstrates that the instructor 
possesses the basic teaching skills described in 
Rule .0306(c) of this Section. 

(9) Course sponsors shall provide the Board with 
the dates and locations of all classes the 
sponsor is or will be offering in the State of 
North Carolina at least 30 calendar days before 
such class is offered, unless circumstances 
beyond the control of the course sponsor 
require that the course be rescheduled. If the 
dates or location of the classes change after 
such information is provided to the Board, the 
course sponsor must notify the Board of such 
changes. 

(10) Course sponsors shall provide each student 
with contact information for the Appraisal 
Board so that students may contact the Board 
with questions or concerns regarding the 
course.  

(11) If an instructor has any disciplinary action 
taken on his or her appraisal license or any 
other professional license in North Carolina or 
any other state, or if the instructor has been 
convicted of or pleaded guilty to any criminal 
act, the school or course sponsor must report 
that fact to the Board within 15 business days.  

(12) All courses, except those taught on-line via the 
Internet, must have a minimum number of five 
students enrolled in the course. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; January 1, 2008; 
March 1, 2007; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0607 CERTIFICATION OF COURSE  
COMPLETION 
Course sponsors must issue a certificate of course completion 
within 15 days of completion of the course to all students who 
satisfactorily complete an approved course.  If the course 
sponsor is located in North Carolina, the certificate, which the 
student must retain for a period of two years, must bear the 
signature or signature stamp of a person designated by the 
course sponsor to sign such certificate.  North Carolina-based 
course sponsors must notify the Board in advance of the 
person(s) designated to sign certificates of course completion for 
courses conducted in North Carolina.  If the course sponsor is 
not located in North Carolina, the certificate of course 
completion must show the name of the course sponsor, the name 
of the course, the number of classroom hours, the course dates, 
the state or city where the course was conducted, and the full 
name of the student. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2003; 
August 1, 2002. 

 
21 NCAC 57B .0611 RENEWAL OF APPROVAL AND  
FEES 
(a)  Board approval of appraisal continuing education courses 
(except the seven hour National USPAP update course) expires 
on the next December 31 following the date of issuance.  In 
order to assure continuous approval, applications for renewal of 
Board approval, accompanied by the prescribed renewal fee, 
must be filed with the Board annually on or before December 1.  
All applications for renewal of course approval received on or 
before December 1, which are incomplete as of that date, as well 
as all applications for renewal of course approval submitted after 
December 1, shall be treated as original applications for 
approval of continuing education courses. Schools and course 
sponsors must send a copy of all course materials every third 
renewal of a continuing education course.  
(b)  The annual fee for renewal of Board approval shall be that 
specified in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course for which renewal 
of approval is requested, provided that no fee is required for 
course sponsors that are exempted from original application fees 
by Rule .0602(b) of this Section.  The fee is non-refundable.  
(c)  Application for approval of the even-numbered year edition 
of the seven hour National USPAP update course shall be made 
when the instructor for the course has been certified by the 
Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation to 
teach that edition of USPAP. Such approval shall expire on 
December 31 of the following even numbered year.  This course 
approval may be renewed in the fall of the even-numbered year, 
and shall expire on September 30 of the following odd-
numbered year.   
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c),(d); 93E-1-10;  
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; January 1, 2008; 
March 1, 2007; August 1, 2002. 
 
21 NCAC 57D .0102 FILING AND FEES 
(a)  Each application for registration shall be accompanied by 
the required application fee.  The Board shall reject and return to 
the applicant any application which is incomplete or not 
accompanied by the required fee or fees.  Application fees 
accompanying complete applications are not refundable. 
(b)  The application fee shall be thirty-five hundred dollars 
($3,500). 
(c)  Payment of application fees shall be made by certified 
check, bank check or money order payable to the North Carolina 
Appraisal Board. 
(d)  In the event that the Board asks an applicant to submit 
updated information or provide further information necessary to 
complete the application and the applicant fails to submit such 
information within 90 days following the Board's request, the 
Board shall cancel the applicant's application and the application 
fee shall be retained by the Board. An applicant whose 
application has been cancelled and who wishes to obtain a 
registration must start the process over by filing a complete 
application with the Board and paying all required fees. 
(e)  An applicant may request that its application be withdrawn 
at any time before final action is taken by the Appraisal Board 
on the application. The application fee shall not be refunded.   
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History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-4; 93E-2-6;  
Eff. January 1, 2011; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013. 
 
21 NCAC 57D .0311 REMOVAL OF AN APPRAISER  
FROM AN APPRAISAL PANEL 
(a)  If an appraisal management company decides to remove an 
independent appraiser from its list of qualified appraisers, the 
appraisal management company shall notify the appraiser in 
writing of the reason for removal.  
(b)  Such notice shall be sent to the appraiser by any established 
method that provides proof of delivery, including but not limited 
to registered mail, return receipt requested. 
(c)  If applicable, the notice shall include a description of the 
appraiser's illegal conduct, substandard performance, or 
otherwise improper or unprofessional behavior, or of any 
violation of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice or state licensing standards.  
(d)  The appraisal management company shall also notify the 
appraiser of any dispute resolution process that it may have in 
place through which the appraiser may dispute the removal.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-7(a); 
Eff. January 1, 2011; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013. 
 
21 NCAC 57D .0312 REQUESTING ADDITIONAL  
INFORMATION FROM AN APPRAISER 
An appraisal management company may request that a real 
estate appraiser who performs an appraisal for the appraisal 
management company provide additional information as 
follows: 

(1) An appraisal management company may 
request that the appraiser consider additional 
appropriate property information including 
relevant sales data and property characteristics. 
Such request shall be made within 30 days of 
the date the appraisal is first transmitted by the 
appraiser to the appraisal management 
company. 

(2) An appraisal management company may 
request that the appraiser provide further 
detail, substantiation, or explanation for the 
appraiser's value conclusion, or to correct 
errors in an appraisal report. There is no time 
limit on such requests. 

(3) Any request under this Rule shall be sent to 
the appraiser in writing or by electronic means.   

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-7; 
Eff. January 1, 2011; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013. 
 
24 NCAC 01F .0101 PURPOSE OF ASSISTANCE 
24 NCAC 01F .0102 BACKGROUND OF  
ASSISTANCE 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 

Eff. May 28, 1976; 
Amended Eff. June 16, 1978; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01F .0201 PROJECT PLANNING LOANS 
24 NCAC 01F .0202 SITE DEVELOPMENT AND  
OFF-SITE IMPROVEMENTS GRANTS 
24 NCAC 01F .0203 TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE  
GRANTS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 
Eff. June 16, 1978; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01F .0301 ELIGIBLE HOUSING  
PROGRAMS 
24 NCAC 01F .0302 ELIGIBLE COUNTIES 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 
Eff. June 16, 1978; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01F .0401 STATE APPALACHIAN  
DEVELOPMENT PLAN 
24 NCAC 01F .0402 IDENTIFICATION IN ANNUAL  
INVESTMENT PROGRAM 
24 NCAC 01F .0403 APPROVAL OF INDIVIDUAL  
PROJECTS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 
Eff. June 16, 1978; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01F .0501 DUTIES AND FUNCTIONS OF  
STATE IMPLEMENTING  
AGENCY 
24 NCAC 01F .0502 REQUIREMENTS FOR  
ACCOUNTING: AUDITS: AND  
REPORTS 
24 NCAC 01F .0503 REPORTS ON DISPOSITION OF  
FUNDS 
24 NCAC 01F .0504 WAIVER OF LOAN  
REPAYMENT 
24 NCAC 01F .0505 AGREEMENT BETWEEN  
AGENCY AND SPONSOR 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 
Eff. June 16, 1978; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
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24 NCAC 01H .0101 OBJECTIVES 
24 NCAC 01H .0102 PERSONS AND FAMILIES OF  
LOWER INCOME 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-2; 122A-5; 
Eff. September 26, 1980; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
 
 
 
24 NCAC 01H .0103 PERSONS AND FAMILIES OF  
MODERATE INCOME 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-3; 122A-5; 122A-5.4; 
Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; June 1, 1987; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01H .0104 METHOD 
24 NCAC 01H .0105 NOTICE OF FUNDS  
AVAILABILITY 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-2; 122A-3; 122A-5; 
122A-5.1; 122A-5.4; 
Eff. September 26, 1980; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Recodified from .0103; Recodified from .0104; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01H .0201 ELIGIBLE PROJECTS 
24 NCAC 01H .0202 APPLICATION PROCEDURE 
24 NCAC 01H .0203 FAIR MARKET RENTS 
24 NCAC 01H .0204 LOCAL GOVERNMENT  
REQUEST 
24 NCAC 01H .0205 PUBLIC HOUSING AGENCY 
24 NCAC 01H .0206 MORTGAGE INSURANCE  
COMMITMENT 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 
Eff. September 26, 1980; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01H .0301 FUNDS AVAILABILITY 
24 NCAC 01H .0302 PROJECT FEASIBILITY 
24 NCAC 01H .0303 AGENCY APPROVAL 
24 NCAC 01H .0304 FEDERAL APPROVAL 
24 NCAC 01H .0305 PROJECT EVALUATION 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 
Eff. September 26, 1980; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 

24 NCAC 01H .0401 INTERIM FINANCING 
24 NCAC 01H .0403 MORTGAGE PURCHASE  
PROCEDURE 
24 NCAC 01H .0403 MORTGAGE PURCHASE  
PROCEDURE 
24 NCAC 01H .0404 MORTGAGE LOAN SERVICING 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5.1; 
Eff. September 26, 1980; 
Transferred from T15: 14 Eff. December 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01H .0501 CREATION OF FUND 
24 NCAC 01H .0502 ELIGIBILITY 
24 NCAC 01H .0503 FUND OPERATION AND  
ADMINISTRATION 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5(2); 122A-5(3); 122A-
5.1; S.L. 1983, c.971, s.133; S.L. 1984, c.971, s.133; 
Eff. August 1, 1985; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 1989; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01J .0101 OBJECTIVES 
24 NCAC 01J .0102 INCOME ELIGIBLE PERSONS  
AND FAMILIE 
24 NCAC 01J .0103 ELIGIBLE BORROWER 
24 NCAC 01J .0104 ELIGIBLE PROPERTY 
24 NCAC 01J .0105 ELIGIBLE LOAN 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-2; 122A-3; 122A-5; 
122A-5.1; 122A-5.2; 122A-5.5; 122A-8; 
Temporary Rule Eff. March 29, 1982, for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on July 27, 1982; 
Eff. July 1, 1982; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 17, 1983, for a Period of 76 
Days to Expire on April 2, 1983; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1987; June 1, 1987; March 1, 1984; May 
1, 1983; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01J .0107 COMPLIANCE WITH TAX ACT 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5.5; 
Eff. June 1, 1987; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01J .0201 ELIGIBLE LENDER CONTRACT  
FORMS 
24 NCAC 01J .0202 SERVICING AGREEMENT 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 122A-5.5; 
Temporary Rule Eff. March 29, 1982, for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on July 27, 1982; 
Eff. July 1, 1982; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 1987; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
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24 NCAC 01K .0101 OBJECTIVES 
24 NCAC 01K .0102 DEFINITIONS 
24 NCAC 01K .0103 METHOD 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A; 122A-2; 122A-5; 122A-
5(12); 122A-5.1; 
Eff. January 1, 1983; 
Recodified from .0103; Recodified from .0102; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
 
 
24 NCAC 01K .0201 ELIGIBLE PROJECTS 
24 NCAC 01K .0202 LOCAL GOVERNMENT  
REQUEST 
24 NCAC 01K .0203 RESIDENT CERTIFICATION 
24 NCAC 01K .0204 RENT REQUIREMENTS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 
Eff. January 1, 1983; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01K .0301 INTERIM FINANCING 
24 NCAC 01K .0302 FINANCING 
24 NCAC 01K .0303 MORTGAGE PURCHASE  
PROCEDURE 
24 NCAC 01K .0304 MORTGAGE LOAN SERVICING 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1;  
Eff. January 1, 1983; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01K .0401 NOTIFICATION OF PROPOSED  
FINANCING 
24 NCAC 01K .0402 APPLICATION PROCEDURE 
24 NCAC 01K .0403 PROJECT FEASIBILITY 
24 NCAC 01K .0404 PROJECT EVALUATION 
24 NCAC 01K .0405 AGENCY APPROVAL 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-4; 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 
Eff. January 1, 1983; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01K .0501 PURPOSE 
24 NCAC 01K .0502 DISTRESSED RENTAL  
HOUSING PROJECT DEFINED 
24 NCAC 01K .0503 DETERMINATION BY BOARD  
OF DIRECTORS 
24 NCAC 01K .0504 PROCEDURE 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 122A-5.4; 
Temporary Rule Eff. September 9, 1987 for a Period of 120 
Days to Expire on January 7, 1988; 
Eff. January 1, 1988; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 

24 NCAC 01K .0601 GENERAL INFORMATION 
24 NCAC 01K .0602 OBJECTIVES 
24 NCAC 01K .0603 TYPES OF ASSISTANCE 
24 NCAC 01K .0604 REQUIREMENTS 
24 NCAC 01K .0605 PROCEDURES 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 122A-5.4; 
Temporary Rule Eff. April 22, 1988 for a Period of 180 Days to 
Expire on October 19, 1988; 
Eff. September 1, 1988; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01L .0101 OBJECTIVES 
24 NCAC 01L .0102 ADMINISTRATION BY THE  
AGENCY 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5(1); 
Temporary Rule Eff. March 18, 1985 for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on July 18, 1985; 
Eff. July 1, 1985; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01L .0201 ADOPTION OF HUD PROGRAM  
BY REFERENCE 
24 NCAC 01L .0202 MEMORANDUM OF  
UNDERSTANDING 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5(1); 150B-14(c); 
Temporary Rule Eff. March 18, 1985 for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on July 18, 1985; 
Eff. July 1, 1985; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1989; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01O .0101 PURPOSE 
24 NCAC 01O .0102 ELIGIBILITY 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; S.L. 1991, c. 
582, s. 1; 
Eff. November 30, 1992; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01O .0201 APPLICATION PROCEDURES 
24 NCAC 01O .0202 SELECTION PROCEDURES 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; S.L. 1991, c. 
582, s. 1; 
Eff. November 30, 1992; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
24 NCAC 01P .0101 PURPOSE 
24 NCAC 01P .0102 ELIGIBILITY 
24 NCAC 01P .0103 TYPES OF ASSISTANCE 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 122A-5.13; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 1996; 
Eff. August 1, 1998; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
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24 NCAC 01P .0201 APPLICATION PROCEDURES 
24 NCAC 01P .0202 SELECTION PROCEDURE 
24 NCAC 01P .0203 DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 122A-5.13; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 1996; 
Eff. August 1, 1998; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
 
TITLE 26 – OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
26 NCAC 01 .0104 EMPLOYEE INSURANCE  
COMMITTEE 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751(a); 58-31-60; 
Eff. February 1, 1987; 
Recodified from 26 NCAC 1 .0003 Eff. January 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 1999; April 1, 1991; January 1, 
1991; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
26 NCAC 01 .0202 DECLARATORY RULINGS:  
AVAILABILITY 
(a)  The Director or his designee may issue declaratory rulings.  
All requests for declaratory rulings shall be in writing and 
submitted to: 

Office of Administrative Hearings 
1711 New Hope Church Road 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609 

 
(b)  Every request for a declaratory ruling must include the 
following information: 

(1) the name and address of the petitioner, 
(2) the reference to the statute or rule in question, 
(3) a statement as to why the petitioner is a person 

aggrieved, and 
(4) the consequences of a failure to issue a 

declaratory ruling. 
(c)  A declaratory ruling shall not be issued on a matter requiring 
an evidentiary proceeding. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-4; 
Eff. January 1, 1987; 
Recodified from 26 NCAC 1 .0002 Eff. January 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; August 2, 1993. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0101 GENERAL 
(a)  The rules in this Chapter in effect on January 1, 2012 shall 
apply to contested cases commenced on or after January 1, 2012. 
The rules in this Chapter in effect on December 31, 2011 shall 
apply to contested cases commenced on or before December 31, 
2011. 
(b)  The Rules of Civil Procedure as contained in G.S. 1A-1 and 
the General Rules of Practice for the Superior and District 
Courts as authorized by G.S. 7A-34 and found in the Rules 

Volume of the North Carolina General Statutes shall apply in 
contested cases in the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) 
unless another specific statute or rule of the Office of 
Administrative Hearings provides otherwise. 
(c)  The Office of Administrative Hearings shall supply forms 
for use in contested cases.  These forms shall conform to the 
format of the Administrative Office of the Courts' Judicial 
Department Forms Manual. 
(d)  The Office of Administrative Hearings shall permit the 
filing of contested case documents and other pleadings by 
facsimile (fax) or electronic mail by an attached file either in 
PDF format or a document compatible with Microsoft Word 
2007. Electronic mail with attachment shall be sent by electronic 
transmission to:  oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov. The faxed or electronic 
documents shall be deemed a "filing" within the meaning of 26 
NCAC 03 .0102(a)(2) provided the original signed document, 
one copy and the appropriate filing fee (if a fee is required by 
G.S. 150B-23.2) is received by OAH within seven business days 
following the faxed or electronic transmission.  Other electronic 
transmissions, for example, electronic mail without attached file 
as specified in this Paragraph, shall not constitute a valid filing 
with the Office of Administrative Hearings. 
(e)  Every pleading and other documents filed with OAH shall 
be signed by the attorney who prepared the document, if it was 
prepared by an attorney, and shall contain his name, address, 
telephone number, and North Carolina State Bar number. An 
original and one copy of each document shall be filed. 
(f)  Except as otherwise provided by statutes or by rules adopted 
under G.S. 150B-38(h), the rules contained in this Chapter shall 
govern the conduct of contested case hearings under G.S. 150B-
40 when an Administrative Law Judge has been assigned to 
preside in the contested case. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-750; 7A-751(a); 150B-23.2; 
150B-40(c); 
Eff. August 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; January 1, 2006; April 1, 2004; 
April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; February 1, 1994; July 1, 1992; 
May 1, 1989; January 1, 1989; 
Emergency Amendment Eff. October 1, 2009; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 2009; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0102 DEFINITIONS AND  
CONSTRUCTION 
(a)  The definitions contained in G.S. 150B-2 are incorporated 
herein by reference.  In addition, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Chief Administrative Law Judge" means the 
person appointed according to G.S. 7A-752. 

(2) "File or Filing" means to place the paper or 
item to be filed into the care and custody of the 
chief hearings clerk of the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, and acceptance 
thereof by him, except that the administrative 
law judge may permit the papers to be filed 
with him in which event the administrative law 
judge shall note thereon the filing date.  All 
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documents filed with the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, except exhibits, shall 
be in duplicate in letter size 8 1/2" by 11". 

(3) "Service or Serve" means: 
(A) delivery by electronic mail with an 

attached file in a format that is readily 
accessible to the recipient; 

(B) facsimile (fax); 
(C) personal delivery; 
(D) delivery by first class United States 

Postal Service mail; or 
(E) delivery by overnight express mail 

service. 
(b)  A Certificate of Service by the person making the service 
shall be appended to every document requiring service under 
these Rules. 
(c)  Service by mail is complete upon placing the item to be 
served, enclosed in a wrapper addressed to the person to be 
served, in an official depository of the United States Postal 
Service. 
(d)  Service by overnight express mail is complete upon placing 
the item to be served, enclosed in a wrapper addressed to the 
person to be served, in the custody of an overnight express mail 
service. 
(e)  Service by electronic mail or fax is deemed to occur one 
hour after it is sent, provided that: 

(1) documents sent after 5 pm are deemed sent at 
8 am the following day; and 

(2) documents sent by electronic mail that are not 
in a format in which the content is readily 
accessible to the recipient are not deemed 
served until actually received in a form in 
which the content is readily accessible to the 
receiving party.  Within five days of receipt, 
the receiving party shall notify the sending 
party that the document sent by electronic mail 
is not in a format readily accessible to the 
recipient. 

Service by electronic mail or fax is treated the same as service 
by mail for the purpose of adding three days to the prescribed 
period to respond under N.C.R. Civ.P.6(e). 
(f)  The rules of statutory construction contained in Chapter 12 
of the General Statutes shall be applied in the construction of 
these Rules. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-752; 150B-23; 
Eff. August 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1991; January 1, 1989; November 1, 
1987; September 1, 1986; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0105 DUTIES OF THE  
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 
In conjunction with the powers of administrative law judges 
prescribed by G.S. 150B-33 and G.S. 150B-34, the 
administrative law judge shall perform the following duties, 
consistent with law: 

(1) Hear and rule on motions; 

(2) Grant or deny continuances; 
(3) Issue orders regarding prehearing matters, 

including directing the appearance of the 
parties at a prehearing conference; 

(4) Examine witnesses when deemed necessary to 
make a complete record and to aid in the full 
development of material facts in the case; 

(5) Make preliminary, interlocutory, or other 
orders as deemed appropriate; 

(6) Grant dismissal when the case or any part 
thereof has become moot or for other reasons; 

(7) Order the State of North Carolina, when it is 
the losing party as determined by the presiding 
Administrative Law Judge, to reimburse the 
filing fee to the petitioner; and 

(8) Apply sanctions in accordance with Rule 
.0114 of this Section. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751(a); 8C-1, Rule 614; 
150B-23.2; 150B-33; 150B-34; 
Eff. August 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1994; November 1, 
1987; 
Emergency Amendment Eff. October 1, 2009; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 2009; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0127 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW  
JUDGE'S DECISION 
(a)  An administrative law judge shall issue a final decision or 
order in a contested case within 45 days after the later of the date 
the administrative law judge receives any proposed findings of 
fact and written arguments submitted by the parties and the date 
the contested case hearing ends. 
(b)  An administrative law judge's final decision shall be based 
exclusively on: 

(1) competent evidence and arguments presented 
during the hearing and made a part of the 
official record; 

(2) stipulations of fact; 
(3) matters officially noticed; 
(4) any proposed findings of fact and written 

arguments submitted by the parties under 
Paragraph (g) of Rule .0119 of this Section; 
and 

(5) other items in the official record that are not 
excluded by G.S. 150B-29(b). 

(c)  An administrative law judge's final decision shall fully 
dispose of all issues required to resolve the case and shall 
contain: 

(1) a caption; 
(2) the appearances of the parties; 
(3) a statement of the issues; 
(4) references to specific statutes or rules at issue; 
(5) findings of fact; 
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(6) conclusions of law based on the findings of 
fact and applicable constitutional principles, 
statutes, rules, or federal regulations; 

(7) in the discretion of the administrative law 
judge, a memorandum giving reasons for his 
findings of fact and conclusions of law; and 

(8) a statement that each party has the right to file 
an appeal of the administrative law judge's 
final decision by filing a Petition for Judicial 
Review in the Superior Court of Wake County 
or in the Superior Court of the county in which 
the party resides, or, where applicable pursuant 
to G.S. 7A-29(a), a Notice of Appeal to the 
Court of Appeals. 

(d)  The chief administrative law judge may extend the 45-day 
time limit for issuing a decision.  An administrative law judge 
who needs an extension must submit a request for extension to 
the chief administrative law judge before the 45-day period has 
expired. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751(a); 150B-34; 150B-47; 
Eff. August 1, 1986; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 26, 1987 For a Period of 
120 Days to Expire on December 24, 1987; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 24, 1987 For a Period of 
8 Days to Expire on January 1, 1988; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1994; October 1, 1991; April 1, 1990; 
January 1, 1989; 
Recodified from Rule .0126 Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0131 FINAL DECISIONS IN  
CONTESTED CASES 
A copy of a final decision issued by an administrative law judge 
shall be served on each party in accordance with Rule 
.0102(a)(3) and (b) through (f) of this Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-45; 
ARRC Objection Lodged November 17, 1988; 
Eff. April 1, 1989; 
ARRC Objection Removed Eff. April 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1991; April 1, 1990; 
Recodified from Rule .0130 Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0301 ORDER DESIGNATING  
COMPLEX CONTESTED CASES 
26 NCAC 03 .0302 FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED 
26 NCAC 03 .0303 VENUE 
26 NCAC 03 .0304 EXPEDITED HEARING  
PROCEDURES FOR COMPLEX CONTESTED CASES 
26 NCAC 03 .0305 RULES AND PROCEDURES 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-31(b); 
Eff. April 1, 1997; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 

26 NCAC 03 .0401 MEDICAID HEARING  
PROCEDURES RULES 
(a)  The rules in 26 NCAC 03 .0100 apply to contested Medicaid 
cases commenced by Medicaid applicants or recipients under 
S.L. 2008-107, s. 10.15A.(h1) as rewritten by S.L. 2008-118, s. 
3.13 except: 

(1) 26 NCAC 03 .0101(a); 
(2) 26 NCAC 03 .0102(a)(3), (b) – (e); 
(3) 26 NCAC 03 .0103(a); 
(4) 26 NCAC 03 .0104; 
(5) 26 NCAC 03 .0107; 
(6) 26 NCAC 03 .0108; 
(7) 26 NCAC 03 .0109; 
(8) 26 NCAC 03 .0112(b), (c), (e), (f), (g); 
(9) 26 NCAC 03 .0115; 
(10) 26 NCAC 03 .0117; 
(11) 26 NCAC 03 .0118; 
(12) 26 NCAC 03 .0120(e); 
(13) 26 NCAC 03 .0123; 
(14) 26 NCAC 03 .0124; 
(15) 26 NCAC 03 .0125; and 
(16) 26 NCAC 03 .0127(a). 

(b)  Nothing in this Section affects discretionary powers granted 
to an administrative law judge as set out in G.S. 150B-33(b). 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751(a); S.L. 2008-107, s. 
10.15A.(h1) as rewritten by S.L. 2008-118, s. 3.13; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. December 2, 2008; 
Eff. August 1, 2009; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0403 EXPEDITED HEARINGS  
PROCEDURES FOR COMPLEX CONTESTED CASES 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751(a); S.L. 2008-107, s. 
10.15A.(h1) as rewritten by S.L. 2008-118, s. 3.13; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. December 2, 2008; 
Eff. August 1, 2009; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
26 NCAC 04 .0101 INTRODUCTION 
The Civil Rights Division shall investigate all charges filed 
under G.S. 7A-759 and deferred charges from the Equal 
Employment Opportunity Commission in accordance with the 
Federal regulations implementing Title VII of the Civil Rights 
Act of 1964, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, and 
the Americans with Disabilities Act which are published in 29 
C.F.R., Parts 1600 through 1699, and are hereby incorporated by 
reference to include subsequent amendments. Copies of 29 
C.F.R., Parts 1600 through 1699 are available at no cost from the 
Government Printing Office website at www.gpoaccess.gov. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751; 7A-759; 
Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. October 15, 1986 for a period of 
120 days to expire on February 11, 1987; 
Eff. February 1, 1987; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1989; 

http://www.gpoaccess.gov/
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Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1998; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; August 1, 1998. 
 
26 NCAC 04 .0102 CONTENT AND PROCEDURE 
(a)  Any person wishing to file a complaint of alleged 
employment discrimination under G.S. 7A-759 with the Civil 
Rights Division shall complete the preliminary intake form 
found at www.ncoah.com; or submit the complaint in writing or 
by telephone to: 

Director of Civil Rights Division 
Office of Administrative Hearings 

6714 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC  27699-6714 

(919) 431-3036 
(b)  The complaint shall include the following information: 

(1) The full name, address, telephone number 
(work and home), and email address of person 
making the complaint; 

(2) The full name and address of the person or 
agency against whom the complaint is made 
(the respondent); 

(3) A statement of the alleged employment 
discrimination including pertinent dates; 

(4) A statement of the specific employment issues 
(e.g. discharge, discipline, promotion) 
including the name and job title of the decision 
maker; 

(5) A statement of the act, policy or practice 
which is alleged to be unlawful; 

(6) For each act, policy or practice alleged, a 
statement of the facts which lead the person to 
believe the act, policy or practice is 
discriminatory; and 

(7) The approximate number of employees of the 
respondent employer. 

(c)  A complaint is considered a charge when the Equal 
Employment Opportunity Commission's Charge of 
Discrimination form is signed and dated and received by the 
Civil Rights Division. 
(d)  The Civil Rights Division shall assess the charge to 
determine if it is within the jurisdiction of the Office of 
Administrative Hearings and if so, it shall be assigned a charge 
number.  If the charge is not within the jurisdiction of the Office 
of Administrative Hearings, it shall be transferred to the Equal 
Employment Opportunity Commission. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-759; 
Temporary Rule Eff. October 15, 1986 for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on February 11, 1987; 
Eff. February 1, 1987; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; December 1, 1999; April 1, 
1991; April 1, 1989. 
 
26 NCAC 04 .0103 NOTIFICATION OF  
INVESTIGATION 
(a)  When a charge of employment discrimination is filed, the 
Civil Rights Division shall notify the charging party and 
respondent that an investigation will commence.  Notice shall be 
served by registered U.S. mail. 

(b)  Any correspondence related to a charge must include the 
name of the charging party and the respondent and the Civil 
Rights Division's charge number and be submitted to: 
 

Director of Civil Rights Division 
Office of Administrative Hearings 

6714 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC  27699-6714 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-759; 
Temporary Rule Eff. October 15, 1986 for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on February 11, 1987; 
Eff. February 1, 1987; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; December 1, 1999; April 1, 
1991; April 1, 1989. 
 
26 NCAC 04 .0104 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
26 NCAC 04 .0105 INVESTIGATION 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-759; 150B-11; 
Temporary Rule Eff. October 15, 1986 For a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on February 11, 1987; 
Eff. February 1, 1987; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 1999; April 1, 1991; April 1, 1989; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
 
26 NCAC 04 .0106 INVESTIGATION REPORT 
(a)  The Civil Rights Division shall investigate all charges filed 
pursuant to this Section. 
(b)  A civil rights investigator shall prepare an investigative 
memorandum setting out the findings and the conclusions of the 
Civil Rights Division's investigation based on the allegations and 
appropriate statutes. 
(c)  The Civil Rights Division shall determine whether there is 
probable cause to believe the alleged discrimination has 
occurred. 
(d)  A civil rights investigator shall conduct a pre-decision 
interview with the charging party prior to the issuance of the 
Civil Rights Division's decision.  
(e)  Upon completion of the investigation the civil rights director 
shall issue a decision that shall be served on the charging party 
and respondent by US mail. 
(f)  If the investigation results in a determination that there is no 
probable cause to believe the alleged discrimination has 
occurred, the Civil Rights Division's director shall inform the 
charging party of the rights of appeal to the Equal Employment 
Opportunity Commission. 
(g)  If the investigation results in a determination that there is 
probable cause to believe the alleged discrimination has 
occurred, the civil rights director shall invite the parties to 
participate in pre-settlement discussions and attempt 
conciliation. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-759; 
Temporary Rule Eff. October 15, 1986 for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on February 11, 1987; 
Eff. February 1, 1987; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; April 1, 1989. 
 

http://www.ncoah.com/
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26 NCAC 04 .0107 CONCILIATION AND  
SETTLEMENT 
(a)  A civil rights investigator shall contact the charging party 
and the respondent to schedule a settlement conference with the 
Civil Rights Division director and compliance manager within 
10 days of the service of the decision that there is probable cause 
to believe discrimination has occurred upon the parties. 
(b)  Where a settlement is reached among the charging party, the 
respondent and the Civil Rights Division, an agreement shall be 
prepared by the investigator and executed by the parties. 
(c)  Upon notification to the Civil Rights Division by the 
respondent that all provisions of the settlement agreement have 
been met, the compliance manager shall close the charge. 
(d)  The compliance manager shall forward the settlement 
documents to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 
and the Civil Rights Division director shall notify the parties that 
the charge is closed. 
(e)  If conciliation is unsuccessful the charging party must make 
a declaration of intent within seven days of how to proceed with 
the charge.  The charging party may: 

(1) File a petition for a contested case hearing 
with the Hearings Division of the Office of 
Administrative Hearings; 

(2) Request that the case be forwarded to the 
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 
for further conciliation; 

(3) Request a notice of right-to-sue from the Equal 
Employment Opportunity Commission for the 
purpose of filing in Federal District Court; or 

(4) Choose not to pursue the matter any further. 
(f)  Upon receipt of the signed and dated declaration of intent, 
the Civil Rights Division shall close the charge and forward the 
case file to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. 
(g)  If no declaration of intent is received after seven days, the 
Civil Rights Division shall close the charge and forward the case 
file to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-759; 

Temporary Rule Eff. October 15, 1986 for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on February 11, 1987; 
Eff. February 1, 1987; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; April 1, 1989. 
 
26 NCAC 04 .0108 CONTESTED CASE HEARING 
(a)  Any determination of probable cause that has not resulted in 
conciliation may be heard by an Administrative Law Judge. The 
charging party shall commence the proceedings by filing a 
petition for a contested case hearing. 
(b)  The Administrative Law Judge shall enter a stay in contested 
cases where there is a companion employment discrimination 
charge under investigation by the Civil Rights Division.  The 
Civil Rights Division director shall notify the judge's assistant 
when the companion case is closed. 
(c)  The Civil Rights Division's investigative file, shall be made 
available to all parties, upon request, as provided in Section 83 
of the EEOC Compliance Manual, Volume 1 (October, 1987) 
incorporated herein by reference as well as subsequent 
amendments thereto. Copies of Section 83 are available upon 
request from the Office of Administrative Hearings, 6714 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6714 at no charge. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-759; 150B-21.6; 150B-26; 
150B-33; 
Temporary Rule Eff. October 15, 1986 for a Period of 120 Days 
to Expire on February 11, 1987; 
Eff. February 1, 1987; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2012; December 1, 1999; August 2, 
1993; July 1, 1989. 
 
26 NCAC 04 .0109 AUTHORITY TO ADMINISTER  
OATHS OR AFFIRMATIONS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-759; 150B-11; 
Eff. April 1, 1989; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2012. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on Thursday October 18 and November 
15, 2012 at 1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written 
comment on any rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual 
Commissioners.  Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  
Anyone wishing to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd 
business day before the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Addison Bell Ralph A. Walker 
Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 

Pete Osborne Jeanette Doran 
Bob Rippy Garth K. Dunklin 

Faylene Whitaker Stephanie Simpson 
 

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Joe Deluca (919)431-3081 
Bobby Bryan (919)431-3079 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

December 20, 2012 January 17, 2013 
February 17, 2013 March 21, 2013 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

Thursday, December 20, 2012 10:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

 
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-Up Matters: 

A. Department of Administration – 01 NCAC 09 .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406 (Bryan) 

B. Department of Administration – 01 NCAC 11 .2102, .2103, .2104, .2105, .2111, .2116, .2201, .2202, .2203, .2204 
(Bryan) 

C. Department of Administration – 01 NCAC 19A .0103 (Bryan) 

D. Department of Administration – 01 NCAC 22 .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0208, 
.0209, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, 
.0605, .0606, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0704, .0801, .0802, .0901, .0902, .0903, .0904, .0905, .0906, .1001, .1002, .1101, 
.1102, .1103 (Bryan) 

E. Industrial Commission – 04 NCAC 10J .0101 (Bryan) 

F. Department of Cultural Resources – 07 NCAC 04N .0202 (Bryan) 

G. Child Care Commission – 10A NCAC 09 .3004, .3007, .3008 (DeLuca) 

H. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission – 12 NCAC 10B .2004, .2102 (Bryan) 

I. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 01C .0201 (DeLuca) 

J. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 02D .0414, .0704 (DeLuca) 

K. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 02E .0609, .0610 (DeLuca) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between October 23, 2012 and November 20, 2012 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days of the RRC Meeting 
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VI. G.S. 150B-19.1 Certification 

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting:  January 17, 2012 
 
 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

October 23, 2012 through November 20, 2012 

BANKS, OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF 

The rules in Subchapter 3C concern banks including organization and chartering (.0100); branches and limited service 
facilities (.0200); change of location (.0300); consolidation of banks (.0400); work week (.0500); examination of banks 
(.0600); reports required by commissioners of banks (.0700); miscellaneous reports and approvals (.0800); operations 
(.0900); loan administration and leasing (.1000); capital (.1100); deposits (.1200); bank personnel (.1300); legal reserve 
(.1400); automation and data processing (.1500); fees (.1600); nonresident banks (.1700); and courier service (.1800). 

Application 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0101 

Report to Banking Commission 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0103 

Review by Banking Commission 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0104 

Bank Certificate 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0107 

Organizational Expenses 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0110 

National Bank Conversion 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0111 

Elimination of Director Liability 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0112 

Establishment of Branches and Limited Service Facilities 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0201 

Discontinuance 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0202 

Discontinuance of a Limited Service Facility 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0203 

Conversion of Branch to Limited Service Facility 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0204 

Change of Location of Main Office or Branch 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0301 

Application 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0401 

Investigation 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0403 

Report 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0404 

Review by the Banking Commission 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0405 

Filing with Secretary of State 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0406 

Waiver by Commissioner  04 NCAC 03C .0407 

http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39657
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39657
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39657
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39657
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39658
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39658
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39658
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39658
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39659
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39659
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39659
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39659
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39660
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39660
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39660
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39660
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39652
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39652
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39652
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39652
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39661
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39661
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39661
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39661
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39662
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39662
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39662
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39662
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39663
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39663
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39663
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39663
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39653
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39653
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39653
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39653
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39654
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39654
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39654
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39654
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39655
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39655
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39655
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39655
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39664
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39664
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39664
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39664
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39665
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39665
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39665
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39665
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39666
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39666
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39666
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39666
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39667
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39667
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39667
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39667
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39668
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39668
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39668
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39668
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39669
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39669
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39669
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39669
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39670
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39670
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39670
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39670
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Amend/* 
Days and Hours of Regular Operation 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0503 

Oath of Directors 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0801 

Depository Banks 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0802 

Other Real Estate 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0803 

Suspension of Investment and Loan Limitation 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0804 

Subsidiary Investment Approval 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0807 

Retention: Reproduction and Disposition of Bank Records 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .0903 

Leasing of Personal Property 
Amend/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1002 

Capital Stock 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1103 

Maintenance of Capital Surplus 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1104 

Notice of Impairment 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1105 

School of Thrift or Savings Plan 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1201 

Resume of the Plan 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1202 

Share Purchase and Option Plans 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1302 

Reserve Fund Defined 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1403 

Definitions 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1701 

Establishment of Lockbox Services 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1703 

Establishment of a Trust Representative Office (TRO) 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03C .1704 

The rules in Subchapter 3L concern check-cashing businesses including administrative (.0100); application (.0200); 
licensing (.0300); operations (.0400); books and records examinations (.0500); and reporting and notification 
requirements (.0600). 

Cash-Out Transactions 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03L .0404 

Limitation on Delayed Deposit Check Cashing 
Repeal/*  

04 NCAC 03L .0405 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 13 are from the NC Medical Care Commission.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 13D are rules from the licensing of nursing homes including general information (.2000); 

http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39656
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39656
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39656
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39656
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39671
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39671
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39671
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39671
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39672
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39672
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39672
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39672
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39673
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39673
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39673
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39673
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39674
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39674
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39674
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39674
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39675
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39675
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39675
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39675
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39676
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39676
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39676
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39676
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39677
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39677
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39677
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39677
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39678
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39678
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39678
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39678
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39679
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39679
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39679
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39679
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39680
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39680
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39680
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39680
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39681
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39681
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39681
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39681
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39682
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39682
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39682
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39682
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39683
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39683
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39683
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39683
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39684
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39684
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39684
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39684
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39685
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39685
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39685
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39685
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39686
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39686
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39686
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39686
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39687
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39687
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39687
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39687
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39688
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39688
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39688
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39688
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39689
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39689
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39689
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=39689
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licensure (.2100); general standards of administration (.2200); patient and resident care and services (.2300); medical 
records (.2400); physician's services (.2500); pharmaceutical services (.2600); dietary services (.2700); activities, 
recreation and social services (.2800); special requirements (.2900); specially designated units (.3000); design and 
construction (.3100); functional requirements (.3200); fire and safety requirements (.3300); and mechanical electrical 
plumbing (.3400). 

Temporary Change in Bed Capacity 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2105 

Denial, Amendment, or Revocation of License 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2106 

Suspension of Admissions 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2107 

General Standards of Administration 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2202 

Patients Not to be Admitted 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2203 

Reporting and Investigating Abuse, Neglect or Misappropri... 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2210 

Patient Assessment and Plan of Care 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2301 

Nursing Staffing Requirements 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2303 

Medication Administration 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2306 

Drug Procurement 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13D .2604 

Specialized Rehabilitative and Habilitative Services 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3001 

Quality of Specialized Rehabilitation Services 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3002 

HIV Designated Unit Policies and Procedures 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3011 

Physician in an HIV Designated Unit 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3012 

Special Nursing Requirements for an HIV Designated Unit 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3013 

Specialized Staff Education for HIV Designated Units 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3014 

Use of Investigational Drugs for HIV Designated Units 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3015 

Additional Social Work Requirements for HIV Designated Units 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3016 

Physician Requirements for Inpatient Rehabilitation Facil... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3021 

Admission Criteria for Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilitie... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3022 

Comprehensive Inpatient Rehabilitation Evaluation 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3023 

Comprehensive Inpatient Rehabilitation Interdisciplinary ... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3024 

Discharge Criteria for Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilitie... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3025 

http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28999
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28999
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28999
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28999
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29000
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29000
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29000
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29000
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29001
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29001
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29001
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29001
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29002
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29002
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29002
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29002
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29003
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29003
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29003
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29003
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29004
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29004
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29004
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29004
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29005
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29005
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29005
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29005
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29006
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29006
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29006
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29006
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29007
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29007
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29007
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29007
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29008
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29008
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29008
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29008
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29009
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29009
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29009
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29009
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29010
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29010
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29010
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29010
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29011
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29011
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29011
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29011
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29012
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29012
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29012
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29012
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29013
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29013
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29013
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29013
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29014
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29014
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29014
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29014
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29015
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29015
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29015
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29015
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29016
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29016
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29016
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29016
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29017
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29017
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29017
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29017
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29018
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29018
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29018
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29018
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29019
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29019
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29019
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29019
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29020
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29020
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29020
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29020
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29021
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29021
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29021
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29021
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Comprehensive Rehabilitation Personnel Administration 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3026 

Comprehensive Inpatient Rehabilitation Program Staffing R... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3027 

Staff Training for Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilities or... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3028 

Equipment Reqs/Comprehensive Inpatient Rehabilitation Pro... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3029 

Physical Facility Reqs/Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilitie... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3030 

Deemed Status for Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilities or ... 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13D .3033 

The rules in Subchapter 13P concern emergency medical services and trauma including definitions (.0100); ems 
systems (.0200); specialty care transport programs (.0300); medical oversight (.0400); ems personnel (.0500); ems 
educational institutions (.0600); enforcement (.0700); trauma system definitions (.0800); trauma center standards and 
approval (.0900); trauma center designation enforcement (.1000); trauma system design (.1100); and recovery and 
rehabilitation of chemically dependent ems personnel (.1400). 

Criminal Histories 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 13P .0511 

Denial, Suspension, Amendment or Revocation 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13P .0701 

Procedures for Denial, Suspension, Amendment, or Revocation 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 13P .0702 

Denial, Suspension, Amendment, or Revocation 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1501 

Licensed EMS Providers 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1502 

Specialty Care Transport Programs 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1503 

Trauma Centers 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1504 

EMS Educational Institutions 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1505 

EMS Vehicle Permits 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1506 

Personnel Credentials 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1507 

Summary Suspension 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1508 

Procedures for Denial, Suspension, Amendment, or Revocation 
Adopt/*  

10A NCAC 13P .1509 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 
The rules in Chapter 14 concern services provided by the Division of Health Service Regulation.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 14C are Certificate of Need regulations including general provisions (.0100); applications and 
review process (.0200); exemptions (.0300); appeal process (.0400); enforcement and sanctions (.0500); and criteria 
and standards for nursing facility or adult care home services (.1100); intensive care services (.1200); pediatric 
intensive care services (.1300); neonatal services (.1400); hospices, hospice inpatient facilities, and hospice residential 
care facilities (.1500); cardiac catheterization equipment and cardiac angioplasty equipment (.1600); open heart surgery 

http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29022
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29022
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29022
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29022
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29023
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29023
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29023
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29023
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29024
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29024
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29024
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29024
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29025
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29025
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29025
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29025
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29026
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29026
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29026
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29026
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29027
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29027
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29027
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=29027
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28631
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28631
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28631
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28631
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28997
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28997
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28997
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28997
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28998
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28998
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28998
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28998
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28988
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28988
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28988
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28988
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28989
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28989
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28989
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28989
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28990
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28990
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=28990
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services and heart-lung bypass machines (.1700); diagnostic centers (.1800); radiation therapy equipment (.1900); 
home health services (.2000); surgical services and operating rooms (.2100); end stage renal disease services (.2200); 
computed tomography equipment (.2300); immediate care facility/mentally retarded (ICF/MR) (.2400); substance 
abuse/chemical dependency treatment beds (.2500); psychiatric beds (.2600); magnetic resonance imaging scanner 
(.2700); rehabilitation services (.2800); bone marrow transplantation services (.2900); solid organ transplantation 
services (.3000); major medical equipment (.3100); lithotriptor equipment (.3200); air ambulance (.3300); burn intensive 
care services (.3400); oncology treatment centers (.3500); gamma knife (.3600); positron emission tomography scanner 
(.3700); acute care beds (.3800); gastrointestinal endoscopy procedure rooms in licensed health service facilities 
(.3900); and hospice inpatient facilities and hospice residential care facilities (.4000). 

Location of the Agency 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 14C .0102 

Health Maintenance Organizations 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 14C .0302 

Definitions 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 14C .1701 

Information Required of Applicant 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 14C .1702 

Performance Standards 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 14C .1703 

Support Services 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 14C .1704 

Staffing and Staff Training 
Amend/*  

10A NCAC 14C .1705 

Definitions 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 14C .3301 

Information Required of Applicant 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 14C .3302 

Performance Standards 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 14C .3303 

Staffing and Staff Training 
Repeal/*  

10A NCAC 14C .3305 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 7D cover organization and general provisions (.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); 
security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator and counterintelligence (.0400); polygraph 
(.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security guard registration (.0700); armed security 
guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery fund (.1000); training and supervision for 
private investigator associates (.1100); courier (.1200); continuing education (.1300); unarmed armored car service 
guard registration requirements (.1400); and armed armored car service guard registration permit requirements (.1500). 

Uniform and Equipment 
Amend/*  

12 NCAC 07D .0105 

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .0114 

Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Amend/*  

12 NCAC 07D .0902 

Renewal of Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Amend/*  

12 NCAC 07D .0904 

Unarmed Trainer Certificate 
Amend/*  

12 NCAC 07D .0909 

Application for an Unarmed Trainer Certificate 
Amend/*  

12 NCAC 07D .0910 
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Renewal of an Unarmed Trainer Certificate 
Amend/*  

12 NCAC 07D .0911 

Rosters of Unarmed Trainer Classes 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .0912 

Time Limits of Experience 
Amend/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1106 

Grandfather Clause 
Repeal/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1108 

Application for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registr... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1401 

Fees for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1402 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard R... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1403 

Investigation for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Regis... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1404 

Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration Identifica... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1405 

Renewal or Reissue of Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard R... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1406 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guards 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1407 

Application/Armed Car Service Guard Firearms Registration... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1501 

Fees for Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Registra... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1502 

Minimum Standards for Armed Armored Car Service Guard Fir... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1503 

Investigation for Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1504 

Armed Armored Car Service Guard Registration Identificati... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1505 

Renewal of Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Regist... 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1506 

Training Requirement for Armed Armored are Service Guards 
Adopt/*  

12 NCAC 07D .1507 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and 
water safety.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), and tagging furs (.0400). 

Wildlife Taken for Depredations 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10B .0106 

Dog Training and Field Trials 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10B .0114 

Wildlife Collectors 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10B .0119 

Possession of Wildlife Killed Accidentally or Found Dead 
Adopt/*  

15A NCAC 10B .0127 
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Deer (White Tailed) 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10B .0203 

Squirrels 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10B .0206 

Wild Turkey 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10B .0209 

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries 
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish (.0300); non-game fish (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500); 
and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600). 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10C .0205 

Trotlines and Set-Hooks 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10C .0206 

Possession of Certain Fishes 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10C .0211 

Open Seasons: Creel and Size Limits 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10C .0305 

Manner of Taking Non-game Fishes: Purchase and Sale 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10C .0401 

Taking Non-game Fishes for Bait or Personal Consumption 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10C .0402 

The rules in Subchapter 10D are game lands rules.  

General Regulations Regarding Use 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10D .0102 

Hunting On Game Lands 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10D .0103 

The rules in Subchapter 10I concern endangered and threatened species. 

Protection of Endangered/Threatened/Special Concern 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10I .0102 

The rules in Subchapter 10J cover wildlife conservation areas. 

General Regulations Regarding Use of Conservation Areas 
Amend/*  

15A NCAC 10J .0102 

LOCKSMITH LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 29 include general rules (.0100); rules about examinations (.0200); licensing requirements (.0400); 
code of ethics (.0500); administrative law procedures (.0600); license renewal requirements (.0700); and continuing 
education (.0800). 

Due Date 
Amend/*  

21 NCAC 29 .0702 

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 61 are from the Respiratory Care Board and concern organization and definitions (.0100); 
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application for license (.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education requirements for license holders (.0400); 
miscellaneous provisions (.0500); rules (.0600); and administrative hearing procedures (.0700). 

Exemptions 
Amend/*  

21 NCAC 61 .0202 

SPEECH AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

The rules in Chapter 64 are from the Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists and 
include general provisions (.0100); interpretative rules (.0200); code of ethics (.0300); rulemaking petitions (.0400); 
notice of rulemaking (.0500); conduct of rulemaking hearings (.0600); declaratory rulings (.0700); contested case 
hearings (.0800); other matters relating to administrative hearings (.0900); and use of speech/language pathology 
assistants (.1000). 

Standards for Audiologists Who Dispense Hearing Aids 
Adopt/*  

21 NCAC 64 .0220 

Subpoenas 
Amend/*  

21 NCAC 64 .0903 
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This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to 
all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act.  Copies of the 
decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, (919) 431-3000.  Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at 
http://www.ncoah.com/hearings. 

 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 
 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 
FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 
 Beecher R. Gray    Randall May 
 Selina Brooks    A. B. Elkins II 
 Melissa Owens Lassiter   Joe Webster 
 Don Overby 

 

 

AGENCY CASE 
NUMBER DATE 

PUBLISHED 
DECISION 
REGISTER 
CITATION 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION    
James Ivery Smith, Ivy Lee Armstrong v. ABC Commission 11 ABC 08266 04/12/12  
Trawick Enterprises LLC v. ABC Commission 11 ABC 08901 05/11/12 27:01 NCR 39 
Dawson Street Mini Mart Lovell Glover v. ABC Commission 11 ABC 12597 05/23/12  
ABC Commission v. Christian Broome Hunt T/A Ricky's Sports Bar and Grill 11 ABC 13161 05/03/12  
Alabarati Brothers, LLC T/A Day N Nite Food Mart, v. ABC Commission 11 ABC 13545 05/01/12  
Playground LLC, T/A Playground v. ABC Commission 11 ABC 14031 05/16/12 27:01 NCR 64 
ABC Commission v. Quick Quality, Inc., T/A Rock Star Grill and Bar 11 ABC 14036 07/05/12  
    
ABC Commission v. D's Drive Thru Inc. T/A D's Drive Thru 12 ABC 00060 05/29/12  
ABC Commission v. Choudhary, LLC T/A Speedway 12 ABC 00721 05/01/12  
ABC Commission v. Dos Perros Restaurant LLC T/A Dos Perros Resturant 12 ABC 05312 09/25/12  
ABC Commission v. Tecleab Maasho 12 ABC 01294 07/05/12 27:09 NCR 902 
    
DEPARTMENT OF CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY    
Alexander R. Hayes v. Division of Crime Victim Compensation Services 12 CPS 00195 06/25/12 27:09 NCR 908 
Teresa Herbin v. Department of Public Safety Victim Services 12 CPS 03680 08/10/12  
    
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES    
Bright Haven Residential and Community Care d/b/a New Directions Group Home v. 
 Division of Medical Assistance, DHHS 

10 DHR 00232 04/27/12  

Warren W Gold, Gold Care Inc. d/b/a Hill Forest Rest Home, v. DHHS/Division of Health 
 Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure Section 

10 DHR 01666 05/18/12  

Warren W Gold, Gold Care Inc. d/b/a Hill Forest Rest Home v. DHHS, Division of Health 
 Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure and Certification Section 

10 DHR 05801 05/18/12  

Gold Care Inc. Licensee Hill Forest Rest Home Warren W. Gold v. DHHS, Adult Care 
 Licensure Section 

10 DHR 05861 05/18/12  

    
Mary Ann Barnes v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, Health Care Personnel 
 Registry 

11 DHR 6488 07/16/12  

Powell's Medical Facility and Eddie N. Powell, M.D., v. DHHS, Division of Medical 
 Assistance 

11 DHR 01451 03/05/12 27:01 NCR 75 

Julie Sadowski v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation 11 DHR 01955 04/03/12  
Cherry's Group Home, Alphonso Cherry v. DHSR Michelle Elliot 11 DHR 09590 07/12/12  
Teresa Diane Marsh v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation 11 DHR 11456 04/27/12  
Betty Parks v. Division of Child Development, DHHS 11 DHR 11738 06/20/12  
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Lorrie Ann Varner v. DHHS, Regulation Health Care Personnel Registry Section 11 DHR 11867 08/02/12  
Timothy John Murray v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation 11 DHR 12594 06/15/12  
Holly Springs Hospital II, LLC v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, CON 
 Section and Rex Hospital, Inc., Harnett Health System, Inc. and WakeMed 
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	TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 04 NCAC 02S .0228.
	Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
	OSBM certified on: October 19, 2012
	RRC certified on:      
	Not Required
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  http://abc.nc.gov/legal/statutes_regulations.aspx
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2013
	Public Hearing:
	Date:  January 16, 2013
	Time:  10:00 a.m.
	Location:  NC ABC Commission's Office, 400 East Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC  27610
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule changes would amend the rule to add to the acceptable types of containers that malt beverage, wine and mixed beverages can be served in.  The proposed rule changes would also define and add requirements f...
	Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a proposed rule:  Interested persons may present oral or written comments at the Rule-Making Hearing.  In addition, the record will be open for receipt of written comments from December 3, 2012 t...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Robert A. Hamilton, 4307 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4307, phone (919)779-0700 x 436, fax (919)661-5927, email robert.hamilton@abc.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact (check all that apply).
	State funds affected
	Environmental permitting of DOT affected
	Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
	Local funds affected
	Date submitted to OSBM:      
	Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

	CHAPTER 02 – ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION
	SUBCHAPTER 02S - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING: SPECIAL PERMITS
	section .0200 - GENERAL RULES AFFECTING RETAILERS AND BROWNBAGGING PERMITTEES
	04 NCAC 02S .0228 DISPENSING ALCOHOLIC
	BEVERAGES: PRODUCT IDENTIFICATION
	(a)  Malt Beverages; On-Premises.  Malt beverages may be sold by persons holding on-premise permits in the original containers, by the glass, or by the pitcher.mug, by the pitcher or a single-service and single-use container.  The brand name of draugh...
	(b)  Malt Beverages; Off-Premises.  Malt beverages may be sold by persons holding a retail off-premise permit only in the unopened original container that was filled by the product manufacturer.
	(c)  Wine; On-premise.  A person holding an on-premises wine permit may sell wine in the unopened original container, by the carafe, by the glass, or mixed with non-alcoholic beverages.glass or a single-service and single-use container.  A person hold...
	The vintner, brand and type of wine dispensed by the carafe or carafe,glass, glass or single-service and single-use container except for the house wine, shall appear on the wine list; and where the wine is dispensed from bulk containers, the vintner, ...
	(d)  Use of Siphons.  The use of siphons or other types of dispensers is allowed if the malt beverage or wine contents are dispensed directly from the original containers.
	(e)  Mixed Beverages.  A person holding a mixed beverages permit may sell mixed beverages in a glass, in a pitcher or in a single-service and single-use container.
	(f) Multi-Use Containers.  All multi-use containers used by permittees to serve any alcoholic beverages shall meet the requirements as referenced by FDA Food Code 2009, 3-304.11(a). Multi-use containers include glassware, mugs, pitchers and carafes.




	TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONEMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02D .0530-.0531.
	Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
	OSBM certified on: October 10, 2012
	RRC certified on:      
	Not Required
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  http://www.ncair.org//rules/hearing
	Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2013
	Public Hearing:
	Date:  January 15, 2013
	Time:  6:00 p.m.
	Location:  Kannapolis Train Station, 201 South Main Street, Kannapolis, NC 28081
	Reason for Proposed Action:  15A NCAC 02D .0530 – Prevention of Significant Deterioration, and 15A NCAC 02D .0531, Sources in Nonattainment Areas, to revise North Carolina's nitrogen oxides (NOx) significance level from 140 tons per year (tpy) to 40 t...
	15A NCAC 02D .0530 is also proposed to be amended to update the federal cross-reference to incorporate the new 24 hour and annual PM2.5 increments as promulgated on October 20, 2010 (75 FR 64864).
	Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a proposed rule:  If you have any objections to the proposed rule, please mail a letter including your specific reasons to: Ms. Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center,...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641, phone (919)707-8720, fax (919)707-8720, email joelle.burleson@ncdenr.gov.
	Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact (check all that apply).
	State funds affected
	Environmental permitting of DOT affected
	Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
	Local funds affected
	Date submitted to OSBM:      
	Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

	CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT
	SUBCHAPTER 02D - AIR POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIREMENTS
	SECTION .0500 – emission control standards
	15A NCAC 02D .0530 PREVENTION OF SIGNIFICANT
	DETERIORATION
	(a)  The purpose of the Rule is to implement a program for the prevention of significant deterioration of air quality as required by 40 CFR 51.166.
	(b)  For the purposes of this Rule the definitions contained in 40 CFR 51.166(b) and 40 CFR 51.301 apply except the definition of "baseline actual emissions." For the purposes of this Rule:
	(1) "Baseline actual emissions" means the rate of emissions, in tons per year, of a regulated new source review (NSR) pollutant, as determined in accordance with Parts (A) through (C) of this Subparagraph:
	(2) In the definition of "net emissions increase," the reasonable period specified in 40 CFR 51.166(b)(3)(ii) is seven years;
	(3) The limitation specified in 40 CFR 51.166(b)(15)(ii) does not apply; and
	(4) Particulate matter PM2.5 significant levels in 40 CFR 51.166(b)(23)(i) are incorporated by reference except as otherwise provided in this Rule. A net emission increase or the potential of a source to emit nitrogen oxide emissions shall be signific...

	(c)  All areas of the State are classified as Class II except that the following areas are Class I:
	(1) Great Smoky Mountains National Park;
	(2) Joyce Kilmer Slickrock National Wilderness Area;
	(3) Linville Gorge National Wilderness Area;
	(4) Shining Rock National Wilderness Area; and
	(5) Swanquarter National Wilderness Area.

	(d)  Redesignations of areas to Class I or II may be submitted as state proposals to the Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), if the requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(g)(2) are met. Areas may be proposed to be redesignated as Class ...
	(e)  In areas designated as Class I, II, or III, increases in pollutant concentration over the baseline concentration shall be limited to the values set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(c). However, concentration of the pollutant shall not exceed standards set ...
	(f)  Concentrations attributable to the conditions described in 40 CFR 51.166(f)(1) shall be excluded in determining compliance with a maximum allowable increase. However, the exclusions referred to in 40 CFR 51.166(f)(1)(i) or (ii) shall be limited t...
	(g)  Major stationary sources and major modifications shall comply with the requirements contained in 40 CFR 51.166(i) and (a)(7) and by extension in 40 CFR 51.166(j) through (o) and (w). The transition provisions allowed by 40 CFR 52.21 (i)(11)(i) an...
	(h)  New natural gas-fired electrical utility generating units for which cost recovery is sought pursuant to G. S. 62-133.6 shall install best available control technology for NOX and SO2, regardless of applicability of the rest of this Rule.
	(i)  40 CFR 51.166(w)(10)(iv)(a) is changed to read: "If the emissions level calculated in accordance with Paragraph (w)(6) of this Section is equal to or greater than 80 percent of the PAL [plant wide applicability limit] level, the Director shall re...
	(j)  15A NCAC 02Q .0102 and .0302 are not applicable to any source to which this Rule applies. The owner or operator of the sources to which this Rule applies shall apply for and receive a permit as required in 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500.
	(k)  When a particular source or modification becomes a major stationary source or major modification solely by virtue of a relaxation in any enforceable limitation which was established after August 7, 1980, on the capacity of the source or modificat...
	(l)  The provisions of 40 CFR 52.21(r)(2) regarding the period of validity of approval to construct are incorporated by reference except that the term "Administrator" is replaced with "Director".
	(m)  Volatile organic compounds exempted from coverage in 40 CFR 51.100(s) shall be exempted when calculating source applicability and control requirements under this Rule.
	(n)  The degree of emission limitation required for control of any air pollutant under this Rule shall not be affected by:
	(1) that amount of a stack height, not in existence before December 31, 1970, that exceeds good engineering practice; or
	(2) any other dispersion technique not implemented before then.

	(o)  A substitution or modification of a model as provided for in 40 CFR 51.166(l) is subject to public comment procedures in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 51.102.
	(p)  Permits may be issued on the basis of innovative control technology as set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(s)(1) if the requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(s)(2) have been met, subject to the condition of 40 CFR 51.166(s)(3), and with the allowance set forth in...
	(q)  If a source to which this Rule applies impacts an area designated Class I by requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(e), notice to EPA shall be provided as set forth in 40 CFR 51.166(p)(1). If the Federal Land Manager presents a demonstration described in ...
	(r)  A permit application subject to this Rule shall be processed in accordance with the procedures and requirements of 40 CFR 51.166(q). Within 30 days of receipt of the application, applicants shall be notified if the application is complete as to i...
	(s)  Approval of an application with regard to the requirements of this Rule does not relieve the owner or operator of the responsibility to comply with applicable provisions of other rules of this Subchapter or Subchapter 02Q of this Title and any ot...
	(t)  When a source or modification is subject to this Rule the following procedures apply:
	(1)  Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Paragraph, the Director shall, no later than 60 days after receipt of an application, notify the Federal Land Manager with the U.S. Department of Interior and U.S. Department of Agriculture of an appli...
	(2) When a source or modification may affect visibility of a Class I area the Director shall provide written notification to all affected Federal Land Managers within 30 days of receiving the permit application or within 30 days of receiving advance n...
	(3) The Director shall consider any analysis concerning visibility impairment performed by the Federal Land Manager if the analysis is received within 30 days of notification. If the Director finds that the analysis of the Federal Land Manager fails t...
	(4) The Director may require monitoring of visibility in or around any Class I area by the proposed new source or modification when the visibility impact analysis indicates possible visibility impairment.

	(u)  If the owner or operator of a source is using projected actual emissions to avoid applicability of prevention of significant deterioration requirements, the owner or operator shall notify the Director of the modification before beginning actual c...
	(1) a description of the project;
	(2) identification of sources whose emissions could be affected by the project;
	(3) the calculated projected actual emissions and an explanation of how the projected actual emissions were calculated, including identification of emissions excluded by 40 CFR 51.166(b)(40)(ii)(c);
	(4) the calculated baseline actual emissions and an explanation of how the baseline actual emissions were calculated; and
	(5) any netting calculations if applicable.

	If upon reviewing the notification, the Director finds that the project will cause a prevention of significant deterioration evaluation, then the Director shall notify the owner or operator of his findings. The owner or operator shall not make the mod...
	(v)  The references to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in this Rule are incorporated by reference unless a specific reference states otherwise. The version of the CFR incorporated in this Rule is that as of May 16, 2008 October 20, 2010 at http:...

	15A NCAC 02D .0531 SOURCES IN
	NONATTAINMENT AREAS
	(a)  For the purpose of this Rule the definitions contained in 40 CFR 51.165(a)(1) and 40 CFR 51.301 apply except the definition of "baseline actual emissions."  For the purposes of this Rule:
	(1) "Baseline actual emissions" means the rate of emissions, in tons per year, of a regulated new source review (NSR) pollutant, as determined in accordance with Parts (A) through (C) of this Subparagraph:
	(2) In the definition of "net emissions increase," the reasonable period specified in 40 CFR 51.165(a)(1)(vi)(C)(1) is seven years; and
	(3) Particulate matter PM2.5 significant levels in 40 CFR 51.165(a)(1)(x)(A) are incorporated by reference except as otherwise provided in this Rule. A net emission increase or the potential of a source to emit nitrogen oxide emissions shall be signif...

	(b)  Redesignation to Attainment.  If any county or part of a county to which this Rule applies is later designated in 40 CFR 81.334 as attainment, all sources in that county subject to this Rule before the redesignation date shall continue to comply ...
	(c)  Applicability. 40 CFR 51.165(a)(2) is incorporated by reference.  This Rule applies to areas designated as nonattainment in 40 CFR 81.334, including any subsequent amendments or editions.
	(d)  This Rule is not applicable to:
	(1) complex sources of air pollution regulated only under Section .0800 of this Subchapter and not under any other rule in this Subchapter;
	(2) emission of pollutants at the new major stationary source or major modification located in the nonattainment area that are pollutants other than the pollutant or pollutants for which the area is nonattainment.  (A major stationary source or major ...
	(3) emission of pollutants for which the source or modification is not major;
	(4) a new source or modification that qualifies for exemption under the provision of 40 CFR 51.165(a)(4); or
	(5) emission of compounds listed under 40 CFR 51.100(s) as having been determined to have negligible photochemical reactivity except carbon monoxide.

	(e)  15A NCAC 02Q .0102 and .0302 are not applicable to any source to which this Rule applies.  The owner or operator of the source shall apply for and receive a permit as required in 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500.
	(f)  To issue a permit to a source to which this Rule applies, the Director shall determine that the source meets the following requirements:
	(1) The new major stationary source or major modification will emit the nonattainment pollutant at a rate no more than the lowest achievable emission rate;
	(2) The owner or operator of the proposed new major stationary source or major modification has demonstrated that all major stationary sources in the State that are owned or operated by this person (or any entity controlling, controlled by, or under c...
	(3) The owner or operator of the proposed new major stationary source or major modification will obtain sufficient emission reductions of the nonattainment pollutant from other sources in the nonattainment area so that the emissions from the new major...
	(4) The North Carolina State Implementation Plan for Air Quality is being carried out for the nonattainment area in which the proposed source is located.

	(g)  New natural gas-fired electrical utility generating units for which cost recovery is sought pursuant to G. S. 62-133.6 shall install lowest achievable emission rate technology for NOX and SO2, regardless of the applicability of the rest of this R...
	(h)  40 CFR 51.165(f) is incorporated by reference except that 40 CFR 51.165(f)(10)(iv)(A) is changed to read: "If the emissions level calculated in accordance with Paragraph (f)(6) of this Section is equal to or greater than 80 percent of the PAL lev...
	(i)  When a particular source or modification becomes a major stationary source or major modification solely by virtue of a relaxation in any enforceable limitation established after August(7, 1980, on the capacity of the source or modification to emi...
	(j)  To issue a permit to a source of a nonattainment pollutant, the Director shall determine, in accordance with Section 173(a)(5) of the Clean Air Act and in addition to the other requirements of this Rule, that an analysis (produced by the permit a...
	(k)  The provisions of 40 CFR 52.21(r)(2) regarding the period of validity of approval to construct are incorporated by reference except that the term "Administrator" is replaced with "Director".
	(l)  Approval of an application regarding the requirements of this Rule does not relieve the owner or operator of the responsibility to comply with applicable provisions of other rules of this Chapter and any other requirements under local, state, or ...
	(m)  Except as provided in 40 CFR 52.28(c)(6), for a source or modification subject to this Rule the following procedures shall be followed:
	(1)  Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Paragraph, the Director shall, no later than 60 days after receipt of an application, notify the Federal Land Manager with the U.S. Department of Interior and U.S. Department of Agriculture of an appli...
	(2) The owner or operator of the source shall provide an analysis of the impairment to visibility that would occur because of the source or modification and general commercial, industrial and other growth associated with the source or modification;
	(3) When a source or modification may affect the visibility of a Class I area the Director shall provide written notification to all affected Federal Land Managers within 30 days of receiving the permit application or within 30 days of receiving advan...
	(4) The Director shall consider any analysis concerning visibility impairment performed by the Federal Land Manager if the analysis is received within 30 days of notification.  If the Director finds that the analysis of the Federal Land Manager fails ...
	(5) The Director shall issue permits only to those sources whose emissions will be consistent with making reasonable progress, as defined in Section 169A of the Clean Air Act, toward the national goal of preventing any future, and remedying any existi...
	(6) The Director may require monitoring of visibility in or around any Class I area by the proposed new source or modification when the visibility impact analysis indicates possible visibility impairment.

	The requirements of this Paragraph do not apply to nonprofit health or nonprofit educational institutions.
	(n)  If the owner or operator of a source is using projected actual emissions to avoid applicability of nonattainment new source review, the owner or operator shall notify the director of the modification before beginning actual construction. The noti...
	(1) a description of the project;
	(2) identification of sources whose emissions could be affected by the project;
	(3) the calculated projected actual emissions and an explanation of how the projected actual emissions were calculated, including identification of emissions excluded by 40 CFR  51.165(a)(1)(xxviii)(B)(3);
	(4) the calculated baseline actual emissions and an explanation of how the baseline actual emissions were calculated; and
	(5) any netting calculations if applicable.

	If upon reviewing the notification, the Director finds that the project will cause a nonattainment new source review evaluation, then the Director shall notify the owner or operator of his findings. The owner or operator shall not make the modificatio...
	(o)  The reference to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in this Rule are incorporated by reference unless a specific reference states otherwise. Except for 40 CFR 81.334, the version of the CFR incorporated in this Rule is that as of May 16, 2008 ...
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	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02D .0902,-.0903, .0909, .0951, .0961-.0962; 02Q .0102.
	Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
	OSBM certified on: November 5, 2012
	RRC certified on:
	Not Required
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  http://www.ncair.org/rules/hearing/
	Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2013
	Public Hearing:
	Date:  January 15, 2013
	Time:  6:00 p.m.
	Location:  Kannapolis Train Station, 201 South Main Street, Kannapolis, NC 28081
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	The proposed amendments are in response to United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) comments on North Carolina’s redesignation demonstration and maintenance plan for the North Carolina portion of the Charlotte-Gastonia, NC-Rock Hill, SC 1...
	15A NCAC 02D .0902 - Applicability, to reflect applicability to all sources in a CTG category in order to meet the Clean Air Act requirement and thus facilitate the redesignation process and include provisions allowing for the shift of requirements to...
	15A NCAC 02D .0909 - Compliance Schedules For Sources In Ozone Nonattainment And Maintenance Areas, to update the compliance schedule corresponding to the adjustment in applicability.
	15A NCAC 02D .0951 - RACT For Sources of Volatile Organic Compounds, to provide flexibility to comply via the category specific rules in the Section or through approved site specific alternative determinations.
	15A NCAC 02D .0961 - Offset Lithographic Printing and Letterpress Printing, in response to industry associations’ comments and requests for language clarification and flexibilities consistent with the CTGs on which it is based including an equivalent ...
	15A NCAC 18A 02D .0962 - Industrial Cleaning Solvents, in response to industry associations’ comments and requests for language clarification and flexibilities consistent with the CTGs on which it is are based including an alternate VOC content level ...
	15A NCAC 02D .0903 - Recordkeeping: Reporting: Monitoring, to update cross-references.
	15A NCAC 02Q .0102 - Exemptions, to update cross-references.
	Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a proposed rule:  If you have any objections to the proposed rules, please mail a letter including your specific reasons to: Ms. Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641, phone (919)707-8720, fax (919)707-8720, email joelle.burleson@ncdenr.gov.
	Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact (check all that apply).
	State funds affected
	Environmental permitting of DOT affected
	Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
	Local funds affected
	Date submitted to OSBM:      
	Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

	CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT
	SUBCHAPTER 02D - AIR POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIREMENTS
	SECTION .0900 - VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUNDS
	15A NCAC 02D .0902 APPLICABILITY
	(a)  The rules in this Section do not apply except as specifically set out in this Rule.
	(b)  This Section applies to sources that emit greater than or equal to 15 pounds of volatile organic compounds per day. day unless specified otherwise in this Section.
	(c)  Rules .0925, .0926, .0927, .0928, .0931, .0932, .0933, and .0958 of this Section apply regardless of the level of emissions of volatile organic compounds. compounds unless provisions specified in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule are applied.
	(d)  This Section does not apply to:
	(1) sources that emit less than 800 pounds of volatile organic compounds per calendar month and that are:
	(2) emissions of volatile organic compounds during startup or shutdown operations from sources which use incineration or other types of combustion to control emissions of volatile organic compounds whenever the off-gas contains an explosive mixture du...

	(e)  The following rules of this Section apply to facilities located statewide:
	(1) .0925, Petroleum Liquid Storage in Fixed Roof Tanks, for fixed roof tanks at gasoline bulk plants and gasoline bulk terminals;
	(2) .0926, Bulk Gasoline Plants;
	(3) .0927, Bulk Gasoline Terminals;
	(4) .0928, Gasoline Service Stations Stage I;
	(5) .0932, Gasoline Truck Tanks and Vapor Collection Systems;
	(6) .0933, Petroleum Liquid Storage in External Floating Roof Tanks, for external floating roof tanks at bulk gasoline plants and bulk gasoline terminals;
	(7) .0948, VOC Emissions from Transfer Operations;
	(8) .0949, Storage of Miscellaneous Volatile Organic Compounds; and
	(9) .0958, Work Practices for Sources of Volatile Organic Compounds.

	(f)  Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, Thethe Rules in this Section apply to facilities subject to Section 182(b)(2) of the Clean Air Act with potential to emit 100 or more tons per year of VOC and to facilities with potential to emit ...
	(1) Cabarrus County;
	(2) Gaston County;
	(3) Lincoln County;
	(4) Mecklenburg County;
	(5) Rowan County;
	(6) Union County; and
	(7) Davidson Township and Coddle Creek Township in Iredell County.

	These facilities are subject to reasonably available control technology requirements under this Section and shall comply in accordance with Rule .0909 of this Section through use of Rule .0951 of this Section.
	(g)  If any county or part of a county to which this Section applies is later designated in 40 CFR 81.334 as attainment,attainment and becomes a maintenance area for the 1997 8-hour ozone standard , all sources in that county or part of county subject...
	(h)  If EPA reclassifies a violation of the 1997 ambient air quality standard for ozone occurs in the Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill ozone nonattainment maintenancearea as serious for ozone under Section 182 of the federal Clean Air Act, the rules in th...
	(i)  Sources whose emissions of volatile organic compounds are not subject to limitation under this Section may still be subject to emission limits on volatile organic compounds in Rules .0524, .1110, or .1111 of this Subchapter.

	15A NCAC 02D .0903 RECORDKEEPING:
	REPORTING: MONITORING
	(a)  The owner or operator of any volatile organic compound emission source or control equipment shall:
	(1) install, operate, and maintain process and control equipment monitoring instruments or procedures as necessary to comply with the requirements of this Section; and
	(2) maintain, in writing, data and reports relating to monitoring instruments or procedures which will, upon review, document the compliance status of the volatile organic compound emission source or control  equipment; such data and reports shall, as...


	15A NCAC 02D .0909 COMPLIANCE SCHEDULES
	FOR SOURCES IN OZONE NONATTAINMENT AND
	MAINTENANCE AREAS
	(a)  Applicability.  With the exceptions in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, this Rule applies to all sources located at any facility covered by Paragraph Paragraphs (f) or and (h) of Rule .0902 of this Section.
	(b)  Exceptions.  This Rule does not apply to sources facilitiesrequired to comply with the requirements subject to rules listedof this Section under Paragraph (e) of in Rule .0902 of this Section. Facilities subject to rules listed in Paragraph (e) o...
	(c)  Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone nonattainment area contingency plan.  The owner or operator of any source subject to this Rule because of the application of Paragraph (h) of Rule .0902 of this Section Paragraph (a) in this Rule shall adhere ...
	(1) if compliance with applicable rules in this Section is to be achieved by installing emission control equipment, replacing process equipment, or modifying existing process equipment:
	(2) if compliance with applicable rules in this Section is to be achieved by using low solvent content coating technology:
	(3) The owner or operator shall certify to the Director within five days after each increment deadline of progress defined in this Paragraph, whether the required increment of progress has been met.

	(d)  Moderate Nonattainment nonattainment areas.  The owner or operator of any source subject to this Rule because of the application of Paragraph (f) of Rule .0902 of this Section Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall adhere to the following increments of...
	(1) if compliance with applicable rules in this Section is to be achieved by installing emission control equipment, replacing process equipment, or modifying existing process equipment:
	(2) if compliance with applicable rules in this Section is to be achieved by using low solvent content coating technology:
	(3) The owner or operator shall certify to the Director within five days after the deadline, for each increment of progress defined in this Paragraph, whether the required increment of progress has been met.

	(e)  If the Director requires a test to demonstrate that compliance has been achieved, the owner or operator of sources subject to this Rule shall conduct a test and submit a final test report within six months after the stated date of final compliance.
	(f)  Sources already in compliance.
	(1) Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone nonattainment area contingency plan.  Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall not apply to sources any source subject to Paragraph (a) of this Rule that is in compliance with applicable rules of this Section when the ...
	(2) Moderate Nonattainment nonattainment areas. Paragraphs Paragraph (d) of this Rule does not apply to sources in an area named in Paragraph (f) of Rule .0902 of this Section that subject to Paragraph (a) of this Rule if they are in compliance with a...

	(g)  New sources.
	(1) Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone nonattainment area contingency plan.  The owner or operator of any new source of volatile organic compounds subject to Paragraph (a) of this Rule not in existence or under construction before the date that the ...
	(2) Moderate Nonattainment nonattainment areas. The owner or operator of any new source of volatile organic compounds subject to Paragraph (a) of this Rule not in existence or under construction before March 1, 2007 in an area identified in Paragraph ...


	15A NCAC 02D .0951 RACT FOR SOURCES OF
	VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUNDS
	(a) Facilities required to install RACT pursuant to Rule .0902 of this Section shall determine the emissions control level according to this Rule. With the exceptions in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, this Rule applies to all facilities that use volatile...
	(b)  This Rule does not apply to architectural or maintenance coating.
	(c)  The owner or operator of any facility to which this Rule applies shall:shall comply by either of the following:
	(1) install and operate reasonable available control technology;technology as defined by category specific emission standards defined in this Section; or
	(2) limit emissions of volatile organic compounds from coating lines not covered by Rules .0922, .0923, .0924, .0934, .0935, .0936, or .0961 through .0968 from this Section to no more than 6.7 pounds of volatile organic compounds per gallon of solids ...

	(d)  If the owner or operator of a facility chooses to install reasonable available control technology under Subparagraph (c)(1) (c)(2) of this Rule, the owner or operator shall submit:
	(1) the name and location of the facility;
	(2) information identifying the source for which a reasonable available control technology limitation or standard is being proposed;
	(3) a demonstration that shows the proposed reasonable available control technology limitation or standard satisfies the requirements for reasonable available control technology; and
	(4) a proposal for demonstrating compliance with the proposed reasonable control technology limitation or standard.


	15A NCAC 02D .0961 OFFSET LITHOGRAPHIC
	PRINTING AND LETTERPRESS PRINTING
	(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions listed in Rules .0101, 0902 of this Sectionapply: and in Paragraph (a)(1) through (10) of this Rule shall apply.
	(1) "Composite partial vapor pressure" means the sum of the partial pressure of the compounds defined as volatile organic compounds.  Volatile organic compounds composite partial vapor pressure is calculated as follows:
	(2) "First installation date" means the actual date when this control device becomes operational.  This date does not change if the control device is later redirected to a new press.
	(3) "Fountain solution" means water-based solution that applies to lithographic plate to render the non-image areas unreceptive to the ink.
	(4) "Heatset" means any operation in which heat is required to evaporate ink oils from the printing ink, excluding ultraviolet (UV) curing, electron beam curing and infrared drying.
	(5) "Letterpress printing" means a printing process in which the image area is raised relative to the non-image area and the paste ink is transferred to the substrate directly from the image surface.
	(6) "Non-heatset" means a lithographic printing process where the printing inks are set by absorption or oxidation of the ink oil, not by evaporation of the ink oils in a dryer.  For the purposes of this Rule, use of an infrared heater or printing con...
	(7) "Offset lithography" means an indirect method of a printing process that uses sheet-fed or web method of press feedingwhen and transfers inktransferred from the lithographic plate to a rubber-covered intermediate "blanket" cylinder and then transf...
	(8) "Press" means a printing production assembly composed of one or more units used to produce a printed substrate including any associated coating, spray powder application, heatset web dryer, ultraviolet or electron beam curing units, or infrared he...
	(9) "Sheet-fed printing" means indirect method of offset lithographic printing when ink transferred from the lithographic plate to a rubber-covered intermediate "blanket" cylinder and then transferred from the blanket cylinder to the substrate. indivi...
	(10) "Web printing" means offset lithographic printing when continuous rolls of substrate material are fed to the press and rewound or cut to size after printing.

	(b)  This Rule applies to any offset lithographic and any letterpress printing operations sources that are not covered by Subparagraph (c)(1) of Rule .0966 of this Section and whose emissions of volatile organic compounds exceed the threshold establis...
	(1) the threshold established in Paragraphs (b) and (f) of Rule .0902 of this Section; or
	(2) an equivalent level of three tons per 12-consecutive month rolling period.

	(c)  Volatile organic compounds content in the fountain solution fromfor on-press (as-applied) for heatset web offset lithographic printing shall not exceed 1.6 percent alcohol (by weight) in the fountain solution or equivalent.  This level of control...
	(1) reducing the on-press (as-applied) alcohol content tocontain 1.6 percent alcohol or lessless, (by weight);by weight, as applied, in the fountain solution: or
	(2) usecontain three percent alcohol or less (by weight) less, by weight, the on-press (as-applied) in the fountain solution if the fountain solution is refrigerated to below 60 degrees Fahrenheit; or
	(3) usecontain five percent alcohol substitute or less (by weight)less, by weight,  the on-press (as-applied) and no alcohol in the fountain solution.

	(d)  Volatile organic compounds content in the fountain solution fromfor on-press (as-applied) sheet-fed lithographic printing shall not exceed five percent alcohol (by weight) in the fountain or equivalent.  This level of control for volatile organic...
	(1) reducing the on-press (as-applied) alcohol content tocontain five percent alcohol or less (by weight);less, by weight, on-press (as-applied) in the fountain solution; or
	(2) usecontain 8.5 percent alcohol or less (by weight) the less, by weight,on-press (as-applied) in the fountain solution if the fountain solution is refrigerated to below 60 degrees Fahrenheit; or
	(3) usecontain five percent alcohol substitute or less (by weight) theless, by weight, on-press (as-applied) and no alcohol in the fountain solution.

	(e)  Volatile organic compounds content emissions from fountain solution from on-press (as-applied) for non-heatset web offset lithographic printing shall not exceed five percent alcohol substitute (by weight) on-press (as-applied) and no alcohol in t...
	(f) Emissions of volatile organic compounds from any single letterpress printing heatset press subject to this Rule shall not exceed 25 tons per year. This level of control shall be achieved by using petroleum ink oil with volatile organic compounds c...
	(g) EPA Method 25A (40CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7) shall be used to determine the volatile organic compounds content of the materials used at offset lithographic printing and letterpress printing facilities unless the facility maintains records to docum...
	(h) Any single letterpress printing heatset dryer owner or operator subject to this Rule, who has chosen to use add-on control for letterpress printing operation rather than to comply with the emission limits established in Paragraph (f) of this Rule ...
	(1)  90 percent control efficiency for a control device whose first installation date was prior to July 1, 2010;
	(2)  95 percent control efficiency for a control device whose first installation date was on or after July1,2010.

	(i)  When the inlet of volatile organic compounds concentration is low or there is no identifiable measurable inlet, the control device outlet concentration shall be reduced to 20 parts per million by volume as hexane on a dry basis.
	(j)  Volatile organic compounds capture efficiency can be demonstrated by showing that the dryer is operating at negative pressure relative to the surrounding pressroom.  The capture efficiency for volatile organic compounds can be assumed to be 100 p...
	(f)  An  owner or operator of an individual web offset lithographic printing press dryer or letterpressprinting heatset press subject to this Rule that emits 25 or more tons per year potential emissions of volatile organic compounds  shall:
	(1) use an enforceable limitation on potential emissions to keep individual heatset press below 25 tons per year potential to emit volatile organic compounds threshold, which can be achieved by using inks and coatings that contain less than 31.25 tons...
	(2) use an add-on control system for web offset lithographic printing or letterpress printing operations that meets one of the following requirements:

	(k)(g)  The control limits established in:
	(1) Paragraphs (c), (d), and (e), shall not be applied to any press with total fountain solution reservoir of less than one gallon; and
	(2) Paragraph (d) shall not be applied to sheet-fed presses with maximum sheet size 11x 17 inches or smaller; and
	(3) Paragraph (f) Subparagraph (f)(2)shall not be applied to a heatset press used for book printing, andor to a headset heatset press with maximum web width of 22 inches or less.

	(h)  If the owner or operator of a printing press is required by permit conditions to determine:
	(1) the volatile organic compounds content, the EPA test Method 24 or approved alternative methods shall be used;
	(2) the control efficiency by measuring volatile organic compounds at the control device inlet and outlet, the EPA test Methods 18, 25, 25A, or approved alternative methods shall be used.

	(l) All cleaning materials used in amount more than 110 gallons per year for cleaning a press, press parts, or to remove dried ink from areas around the press shall contain less than 70 weight percent volatile organic compounds or have volatile organi...
	(i) All test methods defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, shall be conducted at typical operating conditions and flow rates.
	(j)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule shall demonstrate compliance with RACT applicability requirements by calculating volatile organic compounds emissions and keep records of the basis of the calculations required by the Rul...
	(1) retention factors are:
	(2) retention factor is 50 percent for low volatile organic compounds composite vapor pressure cleaning materials in shop towels where:
	(3) Carryover (capture) factors of volatile organic compounds from automatic blanket wash and fountain solution to offset lithographic heatset dryers are:
	(4) Capture efficiency for volatile organic compounds (petroleum ink oils) from oil-based paste inks and oil-based paste varnishes (coatings) in heatset web offset lithographic presses and heatset web letterpress presses shall be demonstrated by showi...

	(k) Except as specified in this Paragraph, all cleaning materials used for cleaning a press, press parts, or to remove dried ink from areas around the press shall meet one of the following requirements:
	(1) The volatile organic compounds content shall be less than 70 percent by weight, or;
	(2) Composite partial vapor pressure of volatile organic compounds shall be less than 10 mm Hg at 20 degrees Celsius.

	No more than 110 gallons per year of cleaning materials that do not meet the requirements of Subparagraph (1) or (2) of this Paragraph shall be used during any twelve consecutive months.
	(l)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule shall maintain the following records for a minimum of five years:
	(1) parametric monitoring for processes and control devices as determined and at the frequency specified in the permit or by Paragraph (f) of this Rule; and
	(2) the total amount of each individual or class of fountain solution and ink used monthly for the printing operations and the percentage of volatile organic compounds, alcohol, and alcohol substitute as applied in it; and
	(3) the total amount of each individual or class of cleaning solutions used monthly with vapor pressure and the percentage of volatile organic compounds as applied in it; and
	(4) the total amount of cleaning solutions used monthly with vapor pressure and the percentage of volatile organic compounds as applied which does not meet the vapor pressure or percentage of volatile organic compounds requirements of Paragraph (k) of...
	(5) temperature of fountain solutions for lithographic printing presses using alcohol at the frequency specified in the permit; and
	(6) any other parameters required by the permit in accordance with the Rules .0903 and .0605 of this Subchapter.

	(m)  The owner or operator of any source subject to this Rule shall comply with Rules .0903, and .0958 of this Section.

	15A NCAC 02D .0962 INDUSTRIAL CLEANING
	SOLVENTS
	(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Organic solvent" means a liquid hydrocarbon, such as methyl ethyl ketone or toluene, used to dissolve paints, varnishes, grease, oil, or other hydrocarbons.
	(2) "Solvent cleaning" means the process of removing the excess penetrant from the surface or a part by wiping, flushing, or spraying with a solvent for the penetrant.
	(3) “Wipe cleaning” The method of cleaning which utilizes a material such as a rag wetted with a solvent, prior to a physical rubbing process to remove contaminants from surfaces.

	(b)  This Rule applies applies, with exemptions defined in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, to sources whose volatile organic compound emissions exceed the threshold established in Paragraph (b) of Rule .0902 of this Section from the following cle...
	(1) spray gun cleaning;
	(2) spray booth cleaning;
	(3) large manufactured components cleaning;
	(4) parts cleaning;
	(5) equipment cleaning;
	(6) line cleaning;
	(7) floor cleaning;
	(8) tank cleaning; and
	(9) small manufactured components cleaning.

	(c)  Paragraph (e) of this Rule does not apply to any cleaning material used fo r: cleaning operations covered by Rules .0918, .0919, .0921, .0923, .0924, .0930, .0934, .0935, .0936, .0961, .0963, .0964, .0965, .0966, .0967, and .0968 of this Section.
	(d)  Cleaning operations of portable or stationary mixing vats, high dispersion mills, grinding mills, tote tanks and roller mills for manufacturing of coating, ink, or adhesive shall apply one or more of the following methods:
	(1) use industrial cleaning solvents that either contains less than 1.67 pounds VOC per gallon or has an initial boiling point greater than 120 degrees Celsius, and where the initial boiling point exceeds the maximum operating temperature by at least ...
	(2) implement the following work practices:
	(3) collect and vent the emissions from equipment cleaning to an add-on control system defined in Paragraph (g) of this Rule; or
	(4) use organic solvents other than those defined in Paragraph (d)(1) of this Rule if no more than 60 gallons of fresh solvent shall be used per month (organic solvent that is reused or recycled either onsite or offsite for further use in equipment cl...

	(c)  Cleaning operations covered by Rules .0918, .0919,.0921, .0923, .0924,.0930, .0934, .0935, .0936, .0961, .0963, .0964, .0965, .0966, .0967, and .0968 of this Section are exempted from the requirements of this Rule.
	(d)(e)  Any cleaning material of the nine cleaning operations listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall have:
	(1) volatile organic compounds content that does not exceed 0.42 pounds per gallon; or
	(2) composite vapor limit of eight millimeters of mercury (mmHg) at 20 degrees Celsius.

	(e)(f)  EPA Method 24 (40CFR Part 60, Appendix A-7) shall be used to determine the volatile organic compounds content of coating materials used in industrial cleaning solvents operations unless the facility maintains records to document the volatile o...
	(f)(g)  Facilities which have chosen to use add-on control rather than to comply with the emission limits established in Paragraph (e) of this Rule shall install control equipment with 85 percent overall efficiency.
	(g)(h)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule shall comply with the Rules .0903 and .0958 of this Section.



	SUBCHAPTER 02Q - AIR QUALITY PERMITS PROCEDURES
	SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS
	15A NCAC 02Q .0102 ACTIVITIES EXEMPTED FROM
	PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
	(a)  This Rule does not apply to facilities required to have a permit under Section .0500 of this Subchapter.  This Rule applies only to permits issued under Section .0300 of this Subchapter.
	(b)  If a source is subject to any of the following rules, then the source is not exempted from permit requirements, and the exemptions in Paragraph (c) of this Rule do not apply:
	(1) new source performance standards under 15A NCAC 02D .0524 or 40 CFR Part 60, except when the following activities are eligible for exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule:
	(2) national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants under 15A NCAC 02D .1110 or 40 CFR Part 61, except asbestos demolition and renovation activities, which are eligible for exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule;
	(3) prevention of significant deterioration under 15A NCAC 02D .0530;
	(4) new source review under 15A NCAC 02D .0531 or .0532;
	(5) sources of volatile organic compounds subject to the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0900 Section .0900,Volatile Organic Compounds, that are located in Mecklenburg County according to 15A NCAC 02D .0902 (d); 15A NCAC 02D .0902(f).
	(6) sources required to apply maximum achievable control technology (MACT) for hazardous air pollutants under 15A NCAC 02D .1109, .1111, .1112, or 40 CFR Part 63 that are required to have a permit under Section .0500 of this Subchapter;
	(7) sources at facilities subject to 15A NCAC 02D .1100.  (If a source does not emit a toxic air pollutant for which the facility at which it is located has been modeled, it shall be exempted from needing a permit if it qualifies for one of the exempt...

	(c)  The following activities do not need a permit or permit modification under Section .0300 of this Subchapter; however, the Director may require the owner or operator of these activities to register them under 15A NCAC 02D .0200:
	(1) activities exempted because of category:
	(2) activities exempted because of size or production rate:

	(d)  Because an activity is exempted from being required to have a permit does not mean that the activity is exempted from any applicable requirement or that the owner or operator of the source is exempted from demonstrating compliance with any applic...
	(e)  Emissions from stationary source activities identified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be included in determining compliance with the toxic air pollutant requirements under 15A NCAC 02D .1100 or 02Q .0700 according to 15A NCAC 02Q .0702 (exem...
	(f)  The owner or operator of a facility or source claiming an exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall provide the Director documentation upon request that the facility or source is qualified for that exemption.
	(g)  If the Director finds that an activity exempted under Paragraph (c) of this Rule is in violation of or has violated a rule in 15A NCAC 02D, he shall revoke the permit exemption for that activity and require that activity to be permitted under thi...




	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02Q .0102.
	Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
	OSBM certified on: March 22, 2012
	RRC certified on:      
	Not Required
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): http://www.ncair.org/rules/hearing/
	Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2013
	Public Hearing:
	Date:  January 15, 2013
	Time:  6:00 p.m.
	Location:  Kannapolis Train Station, 201 South Main Street, Kannapolis, NC  28081
	Reason for Proposed Action:  To amend 15A NCAC 02Q .0102, Exemptions, to clarify the interaction between Rules 02Q .0102, Exemptions and 02Q .0702, Exemptions.  The amendment is necessary to clarify the interaction between the air toxics rule for spec...
	Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a proposed rule:  If you have any objections to the proposed rule, please mail a letter including your specific reasons to: Ms. Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center,...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Joelle Burleson, Division of Air Quality, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1641, phone (919)707-8720, fax (919)707-8720, email joelle.burleson@ncdenr.gov
	Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact (check all that apply).
	State funds affected
	Environmental permitting of DOT affected
	Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
	Local funds affected
	Date submitted to OSBM:      
	Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4
	SUBCHAPTER 02Q - AIR QUALITY PERMITS PROCEDURES
	SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS
	15A NCAC 02Q .0102 ACTIVITIES EXEMPTED FROM
	PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
	(a)  This Rule does not apply to facilities required to have a permit under Section .0500 of this Subchapter.  This Rule applies only to permits issued under Section .0300 of this Subchapter.
	(b)  If a source is subject to any of the following rules, then the source is not exempted from permit requirements, and the exemptions in Paragraph (c) of this Rule do not apply:
	(1) new source performance standards under 15A NCAC 02D .0524 or 40 CFR Part 60, except when the following activities are eligible for exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule:
	(2) national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants under 15A NCAC 02D .1110 or 40 CFR Part 61, except asbestos demolition and renovation activities, which are eligible for exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule;
	(3) prevention of significant deterioration under 15A NCAC 02D .0530;
	(4) new source review under 15A NCAC 02D .0531 or .0532;
	(5) sources of volatile organic compounds subject to the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0900 that are located in Mecklenburg County according to 15A NCAC 02D .0902 (d);
	(6) sources required to apply maximum achievable control technology (MACT) for hazardous air pollutants under 15A NCAC 02D .1109, .1111, .1112, or 40 CFR Part 63 that are required to have a permit under Section .0500 of this Subchapter;
	(7) sources at facilities subject to 15A NCAC 02D .1100.  (If a source qualifies for an exemption in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(24) of Rule 15A NCAC 02Q .0702, or does not emit a toxic air pollutant for which the facility at which it is located ...

	(c)  The following activities do not need a permit or permit modification under Section .0300 of this Subchapter; however, the Director may require the owner or operator of these activities to register them under 15A NCAC 02D .0200:
	(1) activities exempted because of category:
	(2) activities exempted because of size or production rate:

	(d)  Because an activity is exempted from being required to have a permit does not mean that the activity is exempted from any applicable requirement or that the owner or operator of the source is exempted from demonstrating compliance with any applic...
	(e)  Emissions from stationary source activities identified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be included in determining compliance with the toxic air pollutant requirements under 15A NCAC 02D .1100 or 02Q .0700 according to 15A NCAC 02Q .0702 (exem...
	(f)  The owner or operator of a facility or source claiming an exemption under Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall provide the Director documentation upon request that the facility or source is qualified for that exemption.
	(g)  If the Director finds that an activity exempted under Paragraph (c) of this Rule is in violation of or has violated a rule in 15A NCAC 02D, he shall revoke the permit exemption for that activity and require that activity to be permitted under thi...




	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Commission for Public Health intends to adopt the rule cited as 15A NCAC 18A .2544 and amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 18A .2508.
	Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification:
	OSBM certified on: September 27, 2012
	RRC certified on:      
	Not Required
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  http://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/
	Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2012
	Public Hearing:
	Date:  January 9, 2013
	Time:  10:00 a.m.
	Location:  Cardinal Room, located at 5605 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	15A NCAC 18A .2508 – the amendment adds the definition special purpose therapy pools to accompany the proposed adoption of Rule 15A NCAC 18A .2544 Special Purpose Therapy Pools.
	15A NCAC 18A .2544 – the proposed rule will enable the application of certain therapeutic uses of captive water to public places outside the medical field for physical fitness, athletic training and mental relaxation and will facilitate the marketing ...
	Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a proposed rule:  Objections may be submitted in writing to Chris G. Hoke, JD, the Rule-Making Coordinator, during the public comment period.  Additionally, objections may be made verbally and/or...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Chris G. Hoke, JD, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1931, phone (919)707-5006, email chris.hoke@dhhs.nc.gov.
	Comment period ends:  February 1, 2013
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact (check all that apply).
	State funds affected
	Environmental permitting of DOT affected
	Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation
	Local funds affected
	Date submitted to OSBM:      
	Substantial economic impact (≥$500,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

	CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
	SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION
	SECTION .2500 - PUBLIC SWIMMING POOLS
	15a ncac 18a .2508 DEFINITIONS
	The following definitions apply throughout this Section:

	15A NCAC 18A .2544 SPECIAL PURPOSE THERAPy
	POOLS
	(a)  Special purpose pools shall comply with the requirements for public swimming pools and spas except as specified in this rule.
	(b)  Float tanks
	(1) The requirement in Rule .2522 of this Section for a deck or walkway continuous with the top of the pool wall does not apply to isolation float tanks where a clear floor space of at least eight feet by four feet is provided adjacent to the entrance...
	(2) The requirement in Rule .2532 of this Section for the minimum ceiling height of 7 ½ feet above the rim of the pool does not preclude use of a canopy of a lower height to enclose an isolation float tank provided the canopy can be opened to allow us...
	(3) The minimum lighting requirement in Rule .2524 of this Section does not apply to float tanks provided lighting is available for cleaning and is sufficient to provide visibility for entry and exit from the float tank.
	(4) The requirements in Rule .2518 of this Section that recirculation pumps operate 24 hours per day do not preclude turning off the pump during float sessions where a sanitizing cycle is provided that filters and disinfects the entire capacity of the...
	(5) The requirement in Rule .2518 of this Section that pool pumps three horsepower or smaller meet NSF/ANSI Standard 50 is not applicable where the mineral content of the brine in a float tank is incompatible with standard pool pumps.  Pumps that do n...
	(6) The requirement in Rule .2532 of this Section for a caution sign at spas with a water temperature above 90 degrees Fahrenheit is not applicable to float tanks that do not exceed an operating temperature of 95 degrees Fahrenheit.  Float tanks that ...

	(c)  Swim Spas
	(1) Irrespective of Rule .2522(k) of this section swim spa training pools that use jetted water for training swimmer athletes under constant supervision of a swim coach may be located above deck level.  Swim spa training pools located above deck level...
	(2) The maximum operational water depth of 4 feet required for spas in Rule .2532 of this Section does not apply to swim spas.
	(3) Ladders, steps or stairs required by Rule .2521 of this Section are not required for an above-ground swim spa where a handhold or handrail is provided to facilitate transfer over the pool wall.

	(d)  Exercise Therapy and Treadmill Pools
	(1) The maximum operational water depth of 4 feet required for spas in Rule .2532 of this Section does not apply to exercise therapy and treadmill pools.
	(2) The 30 minute turnover rate required for spa recirculation systems in Rule .2532 of this Section does not apply to exercise therapy or treadmill pools with a water capacity exceeding 1,000 gallons provided that the turnover time does not exceed tw...

	(e)  Scuba Training Pools
	(1) The prohibition of underwater ledges in Rule .2516(b) of this Section does not preclude drop-off ledges to the deep-diving portion of pools designed and used for training swimmers to use self-contained underwater breathing apparatus.
	(2) Scuba pools shall comply the requirements for swimming pools and are not required to meet the requirements for spas in Rule .2532 of this Section.





	TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
	04 NCAC 02S .0525 GUEST ROOM CABINETS;
	INVENTORY AND RECORDS
	A guest room cabinet permittee shall maintain on the premises an accurate inventory and sales records of all liquor purchased for resale in cabinets in accordance with the following requirements:

	04 NCAC 02S .0708 TYPES OF PERMITS
	REQUIRED
	The owner or operator of any commercial facility or commercial establishment renting or furnishing the premises thereof for a private function where the host of the function will possess more than eight liters of fortified wine or spirituous liquor, o...

	04 NCAC 02S .0901 TASTINGS HELD BY
	RETAILERS FOR CONSUMERS
	(a)  General. A retail wine or malt beverage permittee may conduct tastings of wine or malt beverages for consumers. A tasting held on the retailer's premises requires the appropriate permit.  Any retailer conducting a wine or malt beverage tasting sh...
	(1) Provide training to its employees conducting and supervising any tasting, including:
	(2) Prominently display in the area where the tasting is being conducted a sign informing customers that they must be 21 years of age to participate in the tasting.

	(b)  Tastings Assisted by Industry Member. For the purposes of this Rule, "industry member" means any manufacturer, bottler, importer, vendor, representative or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages. An industry member may assist with wine or malt beverag...
	(1) The wine or malt beverage is taken directly from the retailer's existing inventory;
	(2) The industry member makes no payment to or on behalf of the retailer for promoting or advertising the tasting;
	(3) The retailer provides instruction to any participating industry member outlining how the tasting will be conducted prior to the tasting;
	(4) The retailer designates one of its employees to supervise the tasting. The retail supervisor shall:

	(c)  Unlawful Inducements Prohibited. No industry member shall require a retailer, and no retailer shall require an industry member, to conduct a wine or malt beverage tasting.

	04 NCAC 02S .1011 ADVERTISING OF SPIRITUOUS
	LIQUORS
	(a)  ABC Stores.  An ABC store may have one or more outside signs located on the premises for the purpose of identifying the outlet if the sign is not prohibited by local ordinance and it has been approved by the Commission. During the approval proces...
	(1) the proximity of the ABC store to schools and churches;
	(2) the number and size of the signs requested;
	(3) the text and graphics on the sign;
	(4) the materials that make up the sign; and
	(5) the public concern in matters of the public's welfare.

	(b)  Aerial Displays.  No distiller, importer, or rectifier of spirituous liquor, or representative thereof, nor any retail permittee, shall advertise by means of an aerial display or inflatable the brand name or availability of spirituous liquor.
	(c)  Billboards; Media.  Industry members may advertise spirituous liquor on outdoor billboards, by radio, television, newspaper, magazine or internet, and by other similar means.  Outdoor billboards or signs shall not be displayed on the premises of ...
	(d)  Point-of-Sale.  Point-of-sale and advertising specialties for spirituous liquor may be used in ABC stores.  Advertising used in ABC stores shall conform to the provisions of Rule .1005 of this Section, and in addition shall not:
	(1) incorporate the use of any present or former athlete or athletic team; or
	(2) refer to the availability of or offer any alcoholic beverages by mail.

	All point-of-sale advertising material, advertising specialties, and recipes, booklets or brochures intended for use and display in ABC stores shall first be submitted to the Commission prior to their display in an ABC store.
	(e)  Local ABC Boards.  Local ABC boards may advertise on their web site or social networking page the following information:
	(1) general information such as the history of the ABC board, locations, hours of operation, contact information, employment opportunities, alcohol enforcement, alcohol education, underage drinking education and other local government information; and
	(2) liquor products and prices, as long as:

	(f)  Local boards may join local chambers of commerce or visitor's bureaus and may provide them general board information which includes store locations and hours to be distributed through the chambers of commerces' or visitor's bureaus' media informa...

	04 NCAC 02T .0104 WINE PRODUCT BRAND
	(a)  Determination of a product's brand shall be made by the Commission at the time the product is approved for sale in North Carolina and shall not be affected by later changes in the manufacturer's advertising strategy or labeling. Differences in pa...
	(b)  For purposes of Bordeaux Chateau wine brought into North Carolina under the French negociant system only, "brand" as defined in 04 NCAC 02T .0101(1) shall be determined based on the nonresident wine vendor or importer's name as reflected on the b...

	04 NCAC 02T .0714 TRANSACTIONS WITH
	GOVERNMENT AND SPECIAL ONE-TIME
	PERMITTEES
	(a)  Permitted Activities.  Notwithstanding the restrictions contained in 04 NCAC 02T .0711, the following activities by alcoholic beverage (which includes malt beverages, wines and spirituous liquors) industry members are allowed, as described in thi...
	(1) sponsorships of festivals, concerts, fundraisers or special events cosponsored by the local government, the state or nonprofit or political organizations, including payments of advertising fees;
	(2) loaning or renting portable equipment to a local government, the state or a nonprofit or political organization so long as the equipment loaned or rented is for a single event of limited duration;
	(3) contracts to provide payment for permanent advertising on signs or scoreboards when the industry member has submitted a request for and received an exemption pursuant to G.S. 18B-1116(b);
	(4) providing labor or employees to assist in the setting up or changing of draft beer kegs and equipment which has been loaned or rented pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule;
	(5) loaning or renting previously approved aerial displays or outdoor inflatables for the duration of a special event;
	(6) loaning or allowing the use of refrigerated vehicles;
	(7) providing novelties, prizes or prize money to nonprofit organizations that have obtained a Special One-Time Permit;
	(8) providing cash contributions, product donations and other consumer goods, provided that any donated product remaining after the event is not supplied by the Special One-Time Permittee to a regular retail permittee;
	(9) participation with a local government or the state in the advertising of events cosponsored by the local government or state; and
	(10) accepting the return of alcoholic beverages not sold, for cash or credit, after the event is over.

	(b)  Sponsorship/Advertising Agreements Restricted.  No sponsorship agreement or advertising contract between an industry member and a city, county, the state, or a Special One-Time permittee shall contain any agreement, either express or implied, tha...
	(c)  Cosponsorship with Retail Permittee.  In any promotion by an industry member with a local government, the state, or a nonprofit organization in which there is cosponsorship by a retailer other than the local government or the state, the industry ...

	04 NCAC 02T .0715 TOURNAMENTS
	(a)  General.  Sponsorship by an industry member of a regional, statewide or national sports tournament, when the tournament is held on the property or premises of a retail permittee, is permissible only if all of the following conditions are met:
	(1) The tournament is promoted or sanctioned by the official governing body of the sport, or is promoted and sponsored by a bona fide nonprofit organization for the purpose of raising funds for a civic, scientific, charitable or educational cause;
	(2) No money, novelty items or other prohibited services or things of value are given, rented or loaned by an industry member to the retailer; and
	(3) All sponsorship money or fees and other things of value from the industry member are given to the official governing body of the sport or the nonprofit organization.

	(b)  Advertising.  An industry member may advertise via mass media or pay for the advertising of a tournament when the primary theme of the advertisement is the tournament and its purpose.  The naming of the retailer's premises as the location of a to...
	(c)  Sponsorship/Advertising Agreements Restricted.  No industry member agreeing to sponsor a tournament shall enter into any agreement or contract, either express or implied, that a retailer or special one-time permittee will sell that industry membe...
	(d)  Joint Sponsorships.  An industry member shall not agree to cosponsor any tournament with any retail permittee unless the proceeds from the tournament are paid to a nonprofit civic, scientific, charitable or educational organization.
	(e)  Prohibited Sponsorships.  An industry member shall not sponsor or aid a retailer in the promotion of any tournament held primarily to benefit the retailer, its employees, members or guests.


	TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
	10A NCAC 09 .3001 SCOPE
	The rules in this Section apply to all licensed programs that serve children in the North Carolina Pre-Kindergarten (NC Pre-K) program. The NC Pre-K program is intended to provide high-quality educational experiences to enhance school readiness for at...

	10A NCAC 09 .3002 FACILITY REQUIREMENTS
	(a)  Programs serving NC Pre-K children shall maintain a four or five star rated license.
	(b)  All NC Pre-K licensed programs shall have an assessment completed every three years using the Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale-Revised Edition assessment tool as a part of the rated license reassessment process. Classrooms that score belo...

	10A NCAC 09 .3003 PROGRAM ATTENDANCE
	POLICY
	When a child is absent for more than three consecutive days, the site-level administrator shall contact the family and determine the child's participation status.  The site-level administrator must document attempts to contact the family and any speci...

	10A NCAC 09 .3005 CHILD HEALTH ASSESSMENTS
	(a)  A health assessment is required to be on file at the NC Pre-K site within 30 days after a child enters the NC Pre-K program and the assessment may be no more than 12 months old at the time of program entry.  The health assessment must include the...
	(1) Physical examination;
	(2) Updated immunizations;
	(3) Vision screening;
	(4) Hearing screening; and
	(5) Dental screening.

	(b)  Site-level administrators shall review all health assessment results and shall share results with families.

	10A NCAC 09 .3006 DEVELOPMENTAL
	SCREENING
	(a)  All children enrolled in the NC Pre-K program must receive a developmental screening, unless the child has an existing Individualized Education Program (IEP).  The developmental screening shall be conducted by a person trained in administering th...
	(b)  Site-level administrators shall review all developmental screening results and shall share results with families.

	10A NCAC 09 .3009 Staff-to-Child Ratio and
	Class Size
	The classroom shall not exceed a maximum staff-to-child ratio of one to nine with a maximum class size of 18 children, with at least one teacher and one assistant teacher per classroom.

	10A NCAC 09 .3010 Family Engagement
	NC Pre-Kindergarten programs shall develop a comprehensive plan for family engagement consisting of strategies designed to develop partnerships with families and build reciprocal relationships that promote shared decision-making. Examples of meaningfu...

	10A NCAC 09 .3011 NC PRE-K SITE-LEVEL
	Administrator Qualifications
	(a)  Administrators of NC Pre-K sites must have either:
	(1) A NC Principal License, or
	(2) A North Carolina Early Childhood Administrator Credential (NCECAC) Level III.  If the site-level administrator has not yet earned the NCECAC Level III, the following shall apply:

	(b)  Administrators of NC Pre-K sites shall not serve as the NC Pre-K teacher or teacher assistant.
	(c)  Long term vacancies shall not exceed 12 weeks.

	10A NCAC 09 .3012 NC PRE-K TEACHER
	EDUCATION, LICENSURE AND CREDENTIALS
	(a)  All teachers shall hold, or be working toward a North Carolina (NC) Birth through Kindergarten (B-K) Standard Professional II or Preschool Add-on licensures.  Teachers working toward the required education and license shall hold a minimum of a BA...
	(1) NC Initial Provisional Lateral Entry B-K License, or
	(2) A North Carolina K-6 license and a provisional Preschool Add-on license, or
	(3) Another North Carolina or other state's license and an NC Provisional B-K license, or
	(4) A BA/BS degree in early childhood education, child development, or a related field, and be eligible for a NC Initial Provisional Lateral Entry B-K License.

	(b)  All Pre-K teachers must be enrolled with the Early Educator Support, Licensure & Professional Development Unit of the Division of Child Development and Early Education.
	(c)  Pre-K teachers with a BA/BS degree shall make progress toward B-K licensure by completing a minimum of six documented semester hours per year, and achieve the B-K license within three years.  The site-level administrator shall maintain documentat...

	10A NCAC 09 .3013 NC PRE-K Teacher
	Assistant Education and Credentials
	All teacher assistants shall:
	The site-level administrator shall maintain documentation available for review by the Division of the progress toward the required standard.

	10A NCAC 09 .3014 NC PRE-K Substitute Staff
	(a)  When a member of the NC Pre-K teaching staff is unable to work, a substitute staff person must be provided to maintain the staff-to-child ratio as specified in Rule .3009 of this Section and must be able to implement the program in accordance wit...
	(1) Requirements for short-term vacancies, when teachers are absent from the Pre-K classroom for 15 or fewer days, include the following:
	(2) Requirements for long-term vacancies, when teachers are absent from the Pre-K classroom for 16 or more attendance days, are for substitute staff to hold at least an Associate's Degree in early childhood education/child development or a four year d...

	(b)  Substitutes for teacher assistants must be at least 18 years of age and have a minimum of a high school diploma or a GED.
	(c)  Long term vacancies shall not exceed 12 weeks.

	10A NCAC 09 .3015 Instructional Staff
	Standards
	Instructional staff shall work in direct contact with children in the Pre-K program for at least a 32.5 hour work week. In addition to these direct, day-to-day instructional experiences, the Pre-K program must provide adequate additional time for the ...

	10A NCAC 09 .3016 Professional
	Development Requirements
	(a)  Licensed Administrators, Teachers, and Teacher Assistants in non-public and public schools shall participate in professional development consistent with the NC State Board of Education policy.  The policy can be found on the Department of Public ...
	(b)  Administrators, Teachers, and Teacher Assistants in non-public school settings, working toward Pre-K qualifications shall participate in a minimum of six documented semester hours per year.

	10a NCAC 27g .0813 WAIVER OF LICENSURE
	RULES
	(a)  The Secretary may waive any of these Rules related to licensure requirements.  The decision to grant or deny the waiver request shall be based on the following:
	(1) the nature and extent of the request;
	(2) the existence of safeguards to ensure that the health, safety, or welfare of the clients residing in the facility will not be threatened;
	(3) the determination that the waiver will not affect the health, safety, or welfare of clients residing in the facility;
	(4) the existence of good cause; and
	(5) documentation of Local Management Entity (LME) or Local Management Entity – Managed Care Organization (LME-MCO) governing body approval when requests are from an LME or LME-MCO or contract agencies of an LME or LME-MCO or documentation of governin...

	(b)  Requests for waivers shall be sent to the Director, Division of Health Service Regulation, 2718 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2718.
	(c)  The request shall be in writing and shall contain:
	(1) the name, address and telephone number of the requester;
	(2) the name, address and telephone number of the facility for which the waiver is requested;
	(3) the rule number and title of the rule or requirements for which waiver is being sought;
	(4) a statement of facts showing:
	(5) documentation of LME or LME-MCO governing body approval when requests are from an LME or LME-MCO or contract agencies of an LME or LME-MCO or documentation of governing body approval of the facility when requests are from private facilities not co...

	(d)  Prior to issuing a decision on the waiver request, the Director of DHSR shall consult with the Director of DMH/DD/SAS, and may also request additional information or consult with additional parties as appropriate.
	(e)  A decision regarding the waiver request shall be issued in writing by the Director of DHSR and shall state the reasons why the request was granted or denied and any special conditions relating to the request.  A copy of the decision shall be sent...
	(f)  Waivers related to physical building design and equipment shall remain in effect for 10 years.
	(g)  Waivers other than those identified in Paragraph (f) of this Rule shall not exceed the expiration date of the current license and shall be subject to renewal consideration upon the request of the licensee.
	(h)  Renewal requests pursuant to this Rule may be considered prior to the facility's application for licensure renewal being finalized when the requesting party has submitted the required application materials and fee.  A waiver granted prior to lice...
	(i)  If a facility closes or undergoes a change of ownership, the waiver expires with the effective date of the closure or change of ownership.
	(j)  The decision of the Secretary regarding a waiver request may be appealed to the Office of Administrative Hearings through the contested case process set out in G.S. 150B, Article 3.  The appeal shall be in writing and shall be filed within 60 day...


	TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES
	15A NCAC 02B .0313 ROANOKE RIVER BASIN
	(a)  Effective February 1, 1976, the adopted classifications assigned to the waters within the Roanoke River Basin are set forth in the Roanoke River Basin Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards, which may be inspected at the followin...
	(1) the Internet at http://h2o.enr.state.nc.us/csu/; and
	(2) the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources:

	(b)  Unnamed Streams.  Such streams entering Virginia are classified "C", except that all backwaters of John H. Kerr Reservoir and the North Carolina portion of streams tributary thereto not otherwise named or described shall carry the classification ...
	(c)  The Roanoke River Basin Schedule of Classification and Water Quality Standards was amended effective:
	(1) May 18, 1977;
	(2) July 9, 1978;
	(3) July 18, 1979;
	(4) July 13, 1980;
	(5) March 1, 1983;
	(6) August 1, 1985;
	(7) February 1, 1986.

	(d)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective July 1, 1991 with the reclassification of Hyco Lake (Index No. 22-58) from Class C to Class B.
	(e)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-I, WS-II or WS-III).  Th...
	(f)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of Cascade Creek (Camp Creek) [Index No. 22-12] and its tributaries from its source to the back...
	(g)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of Dan River and Mayo River WS-IV Protected Areas.  The Protected Areas were reduced in size.
	(h)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective April 1, 1999 as follows:
	(1) Hyco River, including Hyco Lake below elevation 410 [Index No. 22-58-(0.5)] was reclassified from Class B to Class WS-V B.
	(2) Mayo Creek (Maho Creek) (Mayo Reservoir) [Index No. 22-58-15] was reclassified from its source to the dam of Mayo Reservoir from Class C to Class WS-V.

	(i)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective April 1, 2001 as follows:
	(1) Fullers Creek from source to a point 0.8 mile upstream of Yanceyville water supply dam [Index No. 22-56-4-(1)] was reclassified from Class WS-II to Class WS-III.
	(2) Fullers Creek from a point 0.8 mile upstream of Yanceyville water supply dam to Yanceyville water supply dam [Index No. 22-56-4-(2)] was reclassified from Class WS-II CA to Class WS-III CA.

	(j)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of Hanging Rock Hillside Seepage Bog near Cascade Creek [Index No. 22-12-(2)] to Class WL UWL...
	(k)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin was amended effective July 3, 2012 as follows:
	(1)  a portion of the Dan River [Index No. 22-(39)] (including tributaries) from the City of Roxboro's intake, located approximately 0.7 mile upstream of NC Highway 62, to a point approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the City of Roxboro's intake from Cl...
	(2)  a portion of the Dan River [Index No. 22-(39)] (including tributaries) from a point approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the City of Roxboro's intake to the North Carolina-Virginia state line from Class C to Class WS-IV.

	(l)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards for the Roanoke River Basin is amended effective January 1, 2013 as follows:
	(1) a portion of the Roanoke River [Index No. 23-(26)] (including tributaries) from the Martin County Regional Water And Sewer Authority's intake, located approximately 0.3 mile upstream of US 13/US 17, to a point approximately 0.5 mile upstream of th...
	(2) a portion of the Roanoke River [Index No. 23-(26)] (including tributaries) from a point approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the Martin County Regional Water And Sewer Authority's intake to a point approximately 1 mile downstream of Coniott Creek (T...


	15A NCAC 02I .0501 FORM AND CONTENTS OF
	PETITION
	(a)  Any person wishing to request the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule of the Environmental Management Commission (hereinafter referred to as the Commission) shall make his request in a petition addressed to the Director of the appropriate di...
	Director
	Division of Air Quality
	1641 Mail Service Center
	Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-1641
	Director
	Division of Water Quality
	1617 Mail Service Center
	Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-1617
	Director
	Division of Water Resources
	1611 Mail Service Center
	Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-1611
	Recording Clerk of the Commission
	Directors Office
	Division of Water Quality
	1617 Mail Service Center
	Raleigh, NC 27699-1617
	EMCclerk@ncdenr.gov
	(b)  The petition shall contain the following information:
	(1) the text of the proposed rule(s) conforming to the Codifier of Rules' requirements for publication of proposed rules in the North Carolina Register;
	(2) the statutory authority for the agency to promulgate the rule(s);
	(3) a statement of the reasons for adoption of the proposed rule(s);
	(4) a statement of the effect on existing rules or orders;
	(5) copies of any documents and data supporting the proposed rule(s);
	(6) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s) on existing practices in the area involved, including cost factors for persons affected by the proposed rule(s);
	(7) a statement explaining the computation of the cost factors;
	(8) a description, including the names and addresses, if known, of those most likely to be affected by the proposed rule(s); and
	(9) the name(s) and address(es) of the petitioner(s).

	(c)  Petitions failing to contain the required information shall be returned by the Director on behalf of the Chairman.

	15A NCAC 10B .0303 OPEN SEASONS
	(a)  General.  Following are the seasons for taking by trapping fur-bearing animals as defined in G.S. 113-129(7a), coyotes, armadillos, and groundhogs, all dates being inclusive:
	(1) November 1 through the last day of February except for that part of the state described in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph.
	(2) December 1 through the last day of February in and east of Hertford, Bertie, Martin, Pitt, Greene, Lenoir, Duplin, Pender and New Hanover counties.
	(3) Trapping coyotes is allowed during times and with methods described by local laws in counties where local laws have established fox trapping seasons even when those seasons fall outside the regular trapping seasons described above.
	(4) Nutria may be trapped east of I-77 at any time.

	(b)  Feral Swine.  There is no closed season for trapping feral swine subject to the following restrictions:
	(1) In addition to a hunting or trapping license, a permit issued by the Wildlife Resources Commission is required to trap feral swine.  Individuals exempted from license requirements under the provisions specified in G.S. 113-276 may trap feral swine...
	(2) Feral swine may be live-trapped using only corral or box traps.  Corral and box traps must be constructed in a manner such that a non-target animal can be easily released or can escape without harm.  The permit number must be displayed on all traps.
	(3) Feral swine must be euthanized while in the trap and may not be removed alive from any trap.

	Note:  See 15A NCAC 10D .0102(f) for other trapping restrictions on game lands.

	15A NCAC 10B .0304 BAG LIMITS
	There are no restrictions on bag limits of furbearers, coyotes, groundhogs, and feral swine.
	Note:  Where local laws govern trapping, or are in conflict with these regulations, the local law shall prevail.


	TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
	19A NCAC 02E .0210 REVOCATION OF OUTDOOR
	ADVERTISING PERMIT
	The appropriate district engineer shall revoke a permit for a lawful outdoor advertising structure based on any of the following:

	19A NCAC 02E .0211 DENIAL OF PERMIT
	19A NCAC 02E .0601 PERMIT TO REMOVE
	VEGETATION
	(a)  In recognition of the State of North Carolina's desire to assure that high quality and aesthetically pleasing views are provided highway users, along with recognizing that, within certain specified limitations, business facilities, hereinafter re...
	(b)  Selective cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of vegetation within highway rights of way may be permitted only for opening views to a facility building and legally erected forms of outdoor advertising which are located directly adjacent to Sta...

	19A NCAC 02E .0602 REQUESTS FOR PERMITS For
	A Facility
	(a)  Applications for selective vegetation cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal (exclusive of grasses) at a facility shall be made by the owner of the facility to the appropriate Division Engineer of the North Carolina Department of Transportation, ...
	(b)  Selective vegetation cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal for opening views to facilities shall be permitted only for the permittee's facilities adjacent to highway right of way at locations where such facilities have been constructed. Complete...
	(c)  The provisions in this Rule shall not be used to provide visibility to undeveloped property or to on-premise signs.
	(d)  Applications must be accompanied by a sketch showing the requested limits of the selective cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of vegetation.  For commercial, industrial, institutional, and office facilities, the limits of selective cutting, t...
	(e)  The applicant must certify that permission has been obtained from the adjoining landowner(s) to access their private property, if applicable, for the purpose of conducting activities related to the selective vegetation removal permit application.
	(f)  The selective vegetation removal request may be investigated on site by Department personnel and a representative of the applicant.
	(g)  If the application for vegetation cutting is for a site located within the corporate limits of a municipality and if the municipality has previously advised the Division Engineer in writing of its desire to review such applications, the applicant...

	19A NCAC 02E .0603 ISSUANCE OR DENIAL OF
	PERMIT For a facility
	(a)  The applicant, as part of the application, shall state in writing the date that he has delivered a copy of the application with required attachments to a municipality which has previously advised the Department in writing that it seeks to review ...
	(b)  The application shall be denied by the Division Engineer if:
	(1) The application is for the opening of view to a facility which has been declared illegal or is currently involved in litigation with Local, State, or Federal governments;
	(2) It is determined by Departmental personnel that the facility is not screened from view;
	(3) The application is for the opening of view to undeveloped property or to a facility that, due to obstructions off the right of way, is screened from view from the travel way regardless of the presence or absence of trees and other vegetation on th...
	(4) Removal of vegetation will adversely affect the safety of the traveling public;
	(5) The application is solely for providing visibility to on-premise signs;
	(6) The application is for the removal of vegetation planted in accordance with a local, State, or Federal beautification project. However, if a mitigation replanting plan which is related to the site for which the vegetation permit request is made (a...
	(7) On two previous occasions, the applicant has failed to meet the requirements of a selective vegetation removal permit.  This is not cause for denial if the applicant engages a landscape contractor to perform the current work;
	(8) It involves opening of views to junkyards;
	(9) The applicant fails to provide all documentation required by statute and rule;
	(10) If any cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of vegetation encompassing the entirety of the maximum vegetation cutting or removal zone is prohibited due to conservation easements or conditions affecting the right of way to which the State is sub...
	(11) If unlawful destruction or illegal cutting of vegetation has occurred within the highway right-of-way to create, increase, or improve a view to the facility from the travel way including acceleration and deceleration ramps, the Department shall n...


	19A NCAC 02E .0604 CONDITIONS OF selective
	vegetation removal permit for facilities
	or Permit Requirements
	The following apply to the conditions of selective vegetation removal permit for facilities or permit requirements:

	19A NCAC 02E .0608 REQUESTS FOR SELECTIVE
	VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS FOR OUTDOOR
	ADVERTISING
	(a)  Applications for selective vegetation cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal (exclusive of grasses) shall be made by the owner of an outdoor advertising sign permitted under G.S. 136-129(4) or (5) to the appropriate Division Engineer of the North...
	(b)  Applications which include existing trees to be cut, thinned, pruned or removed, must be accompanied by a site plan in accordance with G.S. 136-133.1(c).
	(c)  For signs eligible for municipal review the applicant must include on the application and, as a prerequisite to applicable municipal review submittal, the year the outdoor advertising sign was originally erected.  Upon request, the Department wil...
	(d)  The selective vegetation removal request may be investigated on site by Department personnel and a representative of the applicant.

	19A NCAC 02E .0611 REQUIREMENTS FOR
	BEAUTIFICATION AND REPLANTING CONDITIONS
	OF SELECTIVE VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITs
	For OUTDOOR ADVERTISING AND Business
	fAcilities
	(a)  Any site qualifies for a beautification and replanting plan.
	(b)  For future selective vegetation removal applications at replanted sites, replanted materials may be removed only if partially blocking the view to a sign face.  In this case, the Department will require plant substitutions on a one for one basis....
	(c)  Submittal of a selective vegetation removal application shall be in accordance with G.S. 136.133.1(c).
	(d)  This Paragraph applies to all replanting plans except mitigating replanting plans as specified in 19A NCAC 02E .0603(b)(6) and .0609(b)(4).  The caliper inches of existing trees to be removed, according to the applicant's site plan shall equal th...
	(e)  For sites that qualify according to the replanting criteria described in this Rule, the Department shall consult with the applicant and any local government that has requested to review and provide comments on selective vegetation removal applica...
	(f)  In consideration of differences in outdoor advertising sign structure heights, the Department shall maintain on file regionalized landscape design plans and plant lists as a guide for applicants.  The applicant may submit one of the Department's ...
	(g)  The approved beautification and replanting plan becomes a part of the selective vegetation removal permit pursuant to G.S. 136-93(b) and 136-133.1(e).  All applicable requirements of the permit, including the performance bond and insurance, shall...
	(1) The work for initial plantings and all future replacements must be adhered to by the permittee or any or their employees, agents, or assigns according to International Society of Arboriculture standards except as stipulated in the rules in this Se...
	(2) The permittee must adhere to erosion control requirements, according to North Carolina General Statutes, Article 4, Chapter 113A entitled:  Sedimentation Pollution Control Act of 1973;
	(3) All plant materials shall be approved in writing by the Department prior to arrival at the outdoor advertising site or prior to excess trees being furnished and delivered to the Department. The approval shall be based on the American Standard for ...
	(4) All work is subject to NCDOT Division of Highways inspection and shall be scheduled with the Department.  A minimum 48-hour notification shall be provided to the Department by the permittee before entering the right-of-way for any beautification a...
	(5) Grinding of all cut stumps (to a minimum depth of four inches below ground level) must be completed in the area of replanting during the preparation of the site, prior to initial planting;
	(6) All initial and replacement plantings shall be installed during the first planting season (November 1 to March 15) contemporaneous with or following the selective vegetation removal.  If replanting cannot be completed by the March 15 deadline, the...
	(7) The permittee shall contact the Department to schedule a final replanting acceptance inspection upon completion of any plant material installation.  For one year from the date of the initial planting acceptance for the entire replanting plan, the ...
	(8) At the conclusion of the one-year establishment period, the Department shall issue a written acceptance of the permittee's work and release the applicable bond.  Then a one-year observation period shall begin in which the permittee or sign owner s...
	(9) After the one-year observation period concludes, the Department shall notify the sign owner if the permit requirement conditions have been met successfully;
	(10) Replanted materials may be pruned according to the International Society of Arboriculture standards; however, topping of trees or other vegetation is not allowed;
	(11) This Paragraph applies to all replanting plans except mitigating replanting plans as specified in 19A NCAC 02E .0609(b)(4).  Excess plants or trees furnished and delivered to the Department, shall receive care and handling in accordance with the ...
	(12) For mitigating replanting plans according to 19A NCAC 02E .0609(b)(4), trees and other plant material for a proposed beautification and replanting plan taken from the Department's landscape design plans and plant lists or prepared and sealed by a...
	(13) Should the outdoor advertising structure related to the selective vegetation permit be sold or transferred, the new owner or permit holder is subject to the requirements in the General Statutes and rules in this section, including those regarding...
	(14) Willful failure to substantially comply with the requirements of this Paragraph for the beautification and replanting plan shall subject the permittee to penalties prescribed in G.S. 136-133.4.



	TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS
	CHAPTER 12 - LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL CONTRACTORS
	21 NCAC 12 .0204 ELIGIBILITY
	(a)  Limited License.  The applicant for a limited license must:
	(1) Be entitled to be admitted to the examination given by the Board in light of the requirements set out in G.S. 87-10 and Section .0400 of this Chapter;
	(2) Be financially stable to the extent that the total current assets of the applicant or the firm or corporation he represents exceed the total current liabilities by at least seventeen thousand dollars ($17,000) or the total net worth of the applica...
	(3) Successfully complete 70 percent of the examination given the applicant by the Board dealing with the specified contracting classification chosen by the applicant; and
	(4) Provide to the Board an audited financial statement with a classified balance sheet as part of the application, if the applicant or any owner, principal, or qualifier is in bankruptcy or has been in bankruptcy within seven years prior to the filin...

	(b)  Intermediate License.  The applicant for an intermediate license must:
	(1) Be entitled to be admitted to the examination given by the Board in light of the requirements set out in G.S. 87-10 and Section .0400 of this Chapter;
	(2) Be financially stable to the extent that the total current assets of the applicant or the firm or corporation he represents exceed the total current liabilities by at least seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000), as reflected in an audited financ...
	(3) Successfully complete 70 percent of the examination given the applicant by the Board dealing with the specified contracting classification chosen by the applicant.

	(c)  Unlimited License.  The applicant for an unlimited license must:
	(1) Be entitled to be admitted to the examination given by the Board in light of the requirements set out in G.S. 87-10 and Section .0400 of this Chapter;
	(2) Be financially stable to the extent that the total current assets of the applicant or the firm or corporation he represents exceed the total current liabilities by at least one hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000), as reflected in an audited ...
	(3) Successfully complete 70 percent of the examination given the applicant by the Board dealing with the specified contracting classification chosen by the applicant.

	(d)  In lieu of demonstrating the required level of working capital or net worth under Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, an applicant may obtain a surety bond from a surety authorized to transact surety business in North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 58 A...
	(e)  Reciprocity.  If an applicant is licensed as a general contractor in another state, the Board, in its discretion, need not require the applicant to successfully complete the written examination as provided by G.S.87-15.1.  However, the applicant ...
	(f)  Accounting and reporting standards.  Financial statements submitted by applicants to the Board shall conform to United States "generally accepted accounting principles" (GAAP).  The Board shall accept non-GAAP financial statements from individual...


	CHAPTER 39 - ON-SITE WASTEWATER CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION BOARD
	21 NCAC 39 .0101 DEFINITIONS
	As used in Article 5 of Chapter 90A of the General Statutes and the rules in this Chapter:

	21 NCAC 39 .0202 business succession
	(a)  A person may be certified pursuant to G.S. 90A-77(c) by:

	21 NCAC 39 .0601 REQUIREMENTS
	(a)  Every certified on-site wastewater contractor or inspector shall obtain Professional Development Hours (PDH) units during the renewal period as described in the following Table:
	(b)  The certified on-site wastewater contractor shall select courses and activities that have been approved as set out in 21 NCAC 39 .0602.
	(c)  Professional Development Hours (PDH) shall be accepted by the Board for approved courses pursuant to 21 NCAC 39 .0603.  Hours for all other courses must be submitted by providers to the Board for approval.  If not approved, no PDH shall be grante...
	(d)  The class provider or authorized representative of the class provider must certify that each class attendee was present for at least 85 percent of the class.  Any attendee present for less time shall not receive credit for the class.

	21 NCAC 39 .1005 ON-SITE WASTEWATER
	SYSTEM COMPONENTS
	(a)  When inspecting an on-site wastewater system the inspector shall inspect and describe:
	(1) Any part of the system located more than five feet from the primary structure that is part of the operations permit;
	(2) Septic tanks;
	(3) Pump tanks;
	(4) Distribution devices;
	(5) Dispersal fields;
	(6) Treatment units;
	(7) Control panels;
	(8) Any other components required as part of on-site wastewater system permit, including drainage; and
	(9) Any vegetation and grading with respect only to their effect on the condition of the system or system components.

	(b)  The inspector shall:
	(1) Uncover tank lids and distribution devices so as to gain access, unless blocked as described in Rule .1004(b)(5) of this Section. The distribution box may remain covered if the inspector has an alternate method of observing its condition;
	(2) Probe system components where deterioration is suspected;
	(3) Report the methods used to inspect the on-site wastewater system;
	(4) Open readily accessible and readily openable components; and
	(5) Report signs of abnormal or harmful water entry into or out of the system or components.

	(c)  The inspector is not required to:
	(1) Conduct dosing volume calculations;
	(2) Evaluate soil conditions beyond saturation or ponding;
	(3) Evaluate for the presence or condition of buried fuel storage tanks;
	(4) Evaluate the system for proper sizing, design, or use of proper materials; or
	(5) Perform a hydraulic load test on the system.



	CHAPTER 46 - BOARD OF PHARMACY
	21 NCAC 46 .1601 PHARMACY PERMITS
	(a)  Applications for pharmacy permits, whether original or renewal, shall be made upon forms provided by the Board. The Board shall not issue any original or annual renewal pharmacy permit until the Board is satisfied that:
	(1) The pharmacist-manager is sure that at all times adequate qualified personnel have been secured by the management of the store to properly render pharmaceutical service in the manner prescribed by law.
	(2) The pharmacy posts in a location conspicuous to the public the specific hours that a pharmacist is on duty in the pharmacy. This requirement does not apply to hospitals, nursing homes, and similar institutions subject to the provisions of Section ...
	(3) The pharmacist-manager shall be responsible for obtaining and maintaining equipment in the pharmacy adequate to meet the pharmaceutical care needs of the pharmacy's patients.
	(4) The pharmacist-manager shall be responsible for obtaining and maintaining a reference library in the pharmacy.  The library shall include current references, either hard copy or electronically accessible, covering:
	(5) The pharmacy is equipped with sanitary appliances including lavatory facilities with hot and cold running water; is well lighted; and is kept in a clean, orderly, and sanitary condition.
	(6) All prescription medications are labeled in accordance with G.S. 106-134 and 106-134.1.

	(b)  In addition to the requirements for issuance and renewal of a pharmacy permit imposed by statute and rules of the Board, a permit shall not be issued or renewed to any person to operate a pharmacy wherein the prescriptions of medical practitioner...
	(1) The pharmacy maintains records of prescriptions compounded or dispensed and distributed in manner that is readily retrievable;
	(2) During the pharmacy's regular hours of operation but not less than six days per week, for a minimum of forty hours per week, a toll-free telephone service is provided to facilitate communication between patients and a pharmacist at the pharmacy wh...
	(3) The pharmacy complies with all lawful orders, directions, and requests for information from the Boards of pharmacy of all states in which it is licensed and all states into which it distributes prescription drugs;
	(4) The pharmacy complies with all United States Pharmacopeia and Food and Drug Administration requirements regarding the storage, packaging, and shipping of prescription medications. The pharmacist-manager and all other pharmacists employed in the ph...

	(c)  The Board shall not issue an original or renewal permit to any person to operate a drugstore or pharmacy as a department in or a part of any other business serving the general public (except hospitals, nursing homes, and similar institutions subj...
	(1) is physically separated from such other business;
	(2) is separately identified to the public both as to name and any advertising;
	(3) completes all transactions relative to such pharmacy within the registered facility; and
	(4) meets the same requirements for registration as all other pharmacies.

	(d)  In addition to all of the other requirements for issuance and renewal of a pharmacy permit imposed by statute and rules of the Board, the Board shall not issue any original or annual renewal pharmacy permit to any Internet pharmacy until the Boar...
	(1) The Internet pharmacy is certified by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy as a Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Site (VIPPS);
	(2) The Internet pharmacy has certified the percentage of its annual business conducted via the Internet on a form provided by the Board, when it applies for permit or renewal; and
	(3) The Internet pharmacy has provided the Board with the names, addresses, social security numbers, phone numbers, facsimile numbers, email addresses, and titles of all principal corporate officers of the Internet pharmacy; the names, addresses, soci...

	This Paragraph does not relieve an out-of-state pharmacy from compliance with all provisions of 21 NCAC 46 .1607 governing out-of-state pharmacies.
	(e)  Permits to operate pharmacies, whether original or renewal, shall be issued to the pharmacist-manager of such pharmacy pursuant to a joint application of the owner and pharmacist-manager for the conduct and management of said pharmacy. The issuan...
	(f)  Upon application, the Board may issue and renew separate permits for pharmacies operating at one location. Records for each permitted pharmacy must be maintained separately. Prior to issuance of an original permit, each pharmacy shall submit a pl...


	CHAPTER 57 –APPRASIAL BOARD
	21 NCAC 57A .0201 Qualifications for
	Trainee Registration, Appraiser Licensure
	and Certification
	(a)  Applicants for trainee registration and for certification as a certified real estate appraiser must satisfy the qualification requirements stated in G.S. 93E-1-6 and in this Section.
	(b)  Applicants for trainee registration shall have completed, within the five-year period immediately preceding the date application is made, 90 hours of education as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0101 or education found by the Board to be equivalent to ...
	(c)  Applicants for certification as a certified residential real estate appraiser shall have completed 200 hours of education as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0102 or education found by the Board to be equivalent to such courses.  In addition, applicants...
	(d)  Applicants for certification as a certified general real estate appraiser shall have completed 300 hours of education  as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0103 or education found by the Board to be equivalent to such courses. In addition, applicants for...
	(e)  Applicants for certification who are currently registered trainees must submit a copy of their complete appraisal log.  Applicants for certification who are currently licensed or certified appraisers must submit an appraisal log showing that they...
	(f)  When a trainee or a licensed real estate appraiser becomes a certified real estate appraiser, his previous registration or licensure shall be immediately canceled by the Board.  When a certified residential real estate appraiser becomes certified...
	(g)  In the event that the Board asks an applicant to submit updated information or provide further information necessary to complete the application and the applicant fails to submit such information within 90 days following the Board's request, the ...
	(h)  An applicant may request that his or her application be withdrawn at any time before final action is taken by the Appraisal Board on the application.
	(i)  If an applicant has a current open complaint before the North Carolina Appraisal Board or an appraiser licensing board from any other state, or if the applicant has pending criminal charges in this or any state, the application shall be accepted ...

	21 NCAC 57A .0202 Fitness for Registration
	or Certification
	(a)  The Appraisal Board shall consider the fitness for registration or certification of each applicant.  When the fitness of an applicant is in question, action by the Board shall be deferred until the applicant has affirmatively demonstrated that th...
	(b)  When the application is deferred, the Board shall notify the applicant and the applicant shall be entitled to demonstrate his or her competency or fitness for registration or certification at a hearing before the Board.
	(c)  The inquiry into fitness for registration or certification may include consideration of whether the applicant has:
	(1) had disciplinary action taken against any professional license in North Carolina or any other state;
	(2) committed or done any act which, if committed or done by any real estate trainee or appraiser, would be grounds under the provisions hereinafter set forth for disciplinary action including the suspension or revocation of registration, licensure, o...
	(3) been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any criminal act, or whether any such actions or charges are pending.

	(d)  All applicants for registration or certification shall obtain a criminal records check from Carolina Investigative Research, Inc., an agency designated by the Appraisal Board to provide criminal record reports.  This records check must have been ...
	(e) Notice to the applicant that his or her competency or fitness for registration or certification is in question shall be sent by the Board in writing, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address shown upon the application.  The appl...

	21 NCAC 57A .0203 Registration, License and
	Certificate Renewal
	(a)  All registrations, licenses and certificates expire on June 30 of each year unless renewed before that time.
	(b)  A holder of a trainee registration, an appraiser license or certificate desiring the renewal of such registration, license or certificate shall apply for same in writing upon the form provided by the Board and shall forward the renewal fee as pre...
	(c)  All trainees, licensees and certificate holders, either resident or non-resident, who are required by G.S. 93E-1-7 to complete continuing education as a condition of renewal, must satisfy the continuing education requirements set forth in Rule .0...
	(d)  An applicant for renewal who initially qualified for his license or certificate by licensure or certification with another state may keep that license or certificate even if the applicant has moved to a different state, as long as the North Carol...
	(e)  Any person who acts or holds himself out as a registered trainee, licensed or certified real estate appraiser while his trainee registration, appraiser license or certificate is expired shall be subject to disciplinary action and penalties as pre...

	21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION
	(a)  All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees and certificate holders shall, upon the renewal of their registration, license or certificate in every odd-numbered year, present evidence satisfactory to the Board of having obtained conti...
	(b)  Each trainee, licensee and certificate holder who must complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule must complete 28 hours of continuing education before June 1 of every odd numbered year.  Except as provided in Paragraphs...
	(c)  Each appraisal continuing education course must involve a minimum of three and one-half classroom hours of instruction on real estate appraisal or related topics such as the application of appraisal concepts and methodology to the appraisal of va...
	(d)  Each trainee, licensee and certificate holder who is required to complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule must, as part of the 28 hours of continuing education required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, complete the seven...
	(e)  A licensee who elects to take approved continuing education courses in excess of the requirement shall not carry over into the subsequent years any continuing education credit.
	(f)  Course sponsors must provide a certificate of course completion to each trainee, licensee and certificate holder successfully completing a course.  In addition, course sponsors must send directly to the Board a certified roster of all who success...
	(g)  A current or former trainee, licensee or certificate holder may request that the Board grant continuing education credit for a course taken by the trainee, licensee or certificate holder that is not approved by the Board, or for appraisal educati...
	(h)  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder may receive continuing education credit by taking any of the Board-approved precertification courses, other than Basic Appraisal Principles and Basic Appraisal Procedures, or their approved equivalents.  ...
	(i)  A certificate holder who resides in another state, is currently credentialed in another state and is active on the National Registry in another state may satisfy the requirements of this section by providing a current letter of good standing from...
	(j)  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder who returns from active military duty on or after February 1 of an odd-numbered year is allowed to renew his or her registration, license or certificate in that odd-numbered year even if the required cont...

	21 NCAC 57A .0211 APPLICANTS CERTIFIED IN
	ANOTHER STATE
	(a)  Applicants for certification who are not residents of North Carolina must file an application as stated in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. In addition, nonresident applicants must also consent to service of process in this state and file an affida...
	(b)  Applicants for certification who are residents of North Carolina and who are certified in another state may file an application as stated in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. The applicant must file a letter of good standing from the other state, wh...
	(c)  Applicants for registration or certification shall obtain a criminal records check from Carolina Investigative Research, Inc., an agency designated by the Appraisal Board to provide criminal record reports.  This records check must have been perf...
	(d)  An appraiser whose certification is suspended in North Carolina may not apply for certification in this state under this Rule while the certification is suspended. An appraiser whose certification was revoked in North Carolina may not apply for c...

	21 NCAC 57A .0301 TIME AND PLACE
	(a)  Applicants who have completed the education and experience requirements for certification as set forth in 21 NCAC 57A .0201 shall be issued an examination approval form. The examination approval form is valid for three attempts at the examination...
	(b)  Examinations for appraiser certificates shall be scheduled at such times and places as determined by the Executive Director and the Board-approved private testing service.  Applicants for the examination shall be scheduled for examination based o...
	(c)  Examination results are valid for 24 months from the date the examination is successfully completed.

	21 NCAC 57A .0302 SUBJECT MATTER AND
	PASSING SCORES
	(a)  The examination for certification as a certified residential real estate appraiser shall test applicants on the following subject areas:
	(1) Influences on Real Estate Value;
	(2) Legal Considerations in Appraisal;
	(3) Types of Value;
	(4) Economic Principles;
	(5) Real Estate Markets and Analysis;
	(6) Valuation Process;
	(7) Property Description;
	(8) Highest and Best Use Analysis;
	(9) Appraisal Statistical Concepts;
	(10) Sales Comparison approach;
	(11) Site Value;
	(12) Cost Approach;
	(13) Income Approach (Gross Rent Multipliers, Estimation of Income and Expenses, Operating Expense ratios);
	(14) Valuation of Partial Interests; and
	(15) Appraisal Standards and Ethics.

	(b)  In addition to the subject areas listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the examination for certification as a certified general real estate appraiser shall test applicants on the following subject areas:
	(1) Direct Capitalization;
	(2) Cash Flow Estimates;
	(3) Measures of Cash Flow; and
	(4) Discounted Cash Flow Analysis.

	(c)  The testing service shall inform applicants whether they have passed the examination, and shall inform them of their actual score only if they fail the examination.

	21 NCAC 57A .0303 Re-examination
	(a)  Applicants for an appraiser certificate who fail to pass or appear for any examination for which the applicant has been scheduled by the Board-approved private testing service, may schedule a subsequent examination and shall pay the prescribed ex...
	(b)  Applicants may take the examination no more than three times per application.  If an applicant fails the examination, the applicant must wait a minimum of 30 days before retaking the examination.  If the applicant does not pass the examination by...

	21 NCAC 57A .0304 Cheating and Related
	Misconduct
	Applicants shall not cheat or attempt to cheat on an examination by any means, including both giving and receiving assistance, and shall not communicate in any manner for any purpose with any person other than an examination supervisor during an exami...

	21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES
	(a)  A certified real estate appraiser may engage a registered trainee to assist in the performance of real estate appraisals, provided that the appraiser:
	(1) has been certified for at least three years;
	(2) has no more than three trainees working under him at any one time.  A certified residential appraiser may have two trainees working under his or her supervision at any one time. Once at least one of those trainees has completed 50 percent of the r...
	(3) actively and personally supervises the trainee on all appraisal reports and appraisal related activities until the trainee is no longer under his or her supervision;
	(4) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting data used in connection with appraisals in which the services of a trainee is utilized, and assures that research of general and specific data has been adequately conducted and properly reported, applic...
	(5) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 of this Section regarding appraisal reports;
	(6) reviews and signs the trainee's log of appraisals, which must be updated at least every 30 days. In addition, the supervisor must make available to the trainee a copy of every appraisal report where the trainee performs more than 75 percent of the...
	(7) has not received any disciplinary action regarding his or her appraisal license or certificate from the State of North Carolina or any other state within the previous three years. For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary action means an acti...

	(b)  Active and personal supervision includes direction, guidance, and support from the supervisor.  The supervising appraiser shall have input into and full knowledge of the appraisal report prior to its completion, and shall make any necessary and a...
	(c)  The trainee must maintain a log on a form that includes each appraisal performed by the trainee, the type of property appraised, type of appraisal performed, complete street address of the subject property, the date the report was signed, the exp...
	(d)  An appraiser who wishes to supervise a trainee must attend an education program offered by the Appraisal Board regarding the role of a supervisor either before such supervision begins, or within 90 days after such supervision begins. If the super...
	(e)  Trainees must assure that the supervisor has completed and sent the Supervisor Declaration Form to the Appraisal Board on or before the day the trainee begins assisting the supervising appraiser.  Trainees shall not receive appraisal experience c...
	(f)  Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee or by a company, firm or partnership in which the trainee has a controlling interest.
	(g)  If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides significant professional assistance in the appraisal process and thus is noted in the report as having provided such assistance, the appraiser signing the report must have notified the Appraisal ...

	21 NCAC 57A .0501 APPRAISAL STANDARDS
	Every registered trainee, and licensed and certified real estate appraiser shall, in performing the acts and services of a registered trainee, or licensed or certified real estate appraiser, comply with the following provisions of the "Uniform Standar...

	21 NCAC 57B .0101  REGISTERED TRAINEE
	COURSE REQUIREMENTS
	(a)  Each applicant for registration as a trainee shall complete a minimum of 90 hours of precertification education, consisting of the following;
	(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles;
	(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures;
	(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use or 30 hours in General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; and
	(4) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).

	(b)  Credit for these courses must be earned from a Board-approved course sponsor or school and all course content shall be approved by the Appraisal Board in accordance with the rules in this Subchapter. These courses must be completed within the fiv...
	(c)  Basic Appraisal Principles shall be a prerequisite to taking Basic Appraisal Procedures, and Basic Appraisal Procedures shall be a prerequisite to taking either Residential or General Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use.  The 15 hour USPAP c...
	(d)  These four courses must have been obtained in a classroom setting.  No credit will be given for these courses taken by any other method, such as correspondence school courses or on-line courses.

	21 NCAC 57B .0102 CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL
	REAL ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS
	(a)  Each applicant for certification as a certified residential real estate appraiser shall complete a minimum of 200 hours of precertification education, consisting of the following:
	(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles;
	(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures;
	(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use;
	(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach;
	(5) A minimum of30 Hours in Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches;
	(6) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Report Writing and Case Studies;
	(7) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP);
	(8) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling and Finance;
	(9) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies; and
	(10) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.

	Credit for these courses must be earned from a Board-approved course sponsor or school.
	(b)  An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as a trainee shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a certified residential real estate appraiser by completing the following education:
	(1) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach;
	(2) A minimum of 30 Hours in Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches;
	(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Report Writing and Case Studies;
	(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling and Finance;
	(5) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies; and
	(6) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.

	(c)  An applicant who is currently a licensed residential appraiser shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a certified residential real estate appraiser by completing the following education:
	(1) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling and Finance;
	(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies; and
	(3) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.

	(d)  An applicant who is not currently registered by the Board as a trainee or who is not currently licensed by the Board as a licensed residential real estate appraiser must have completed all required courses no earlier than January 1, 2008.
	(e)  An applicant who is currently registered by the Board as a trainee or who is currently licensed by the Board as a licensed residential real estate appraiser must have completed all courses required beyond those required for his current registrati...
	(f)  The Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal Procedures, Residential Market Analysis, USPAP and Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach classes must have been obtained in a classroom setting. All other courses in this section may be t...

	21 NCAC 57B .0103 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL
	ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS
	(a)  An applicant for certification as a certified general real estate appraiser shall complete the following precertification courses;
	(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles;
	(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures;
	(3) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use;
	(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling and Finance;
	(5) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach;
	(6) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach;
	(7) A minimum of 60 hours in General Appraiser Income Approach;
	(8) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies;
	(9) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject matter electives; and
	(10) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).

	Credit for all courses must be earned from a Board-approved course sponsor or school, and all courses shall comply with the course content standards prescribed in Rule .0302 of this Subchapter.
	(b)  An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as a trainee shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a general real estate appraiser by completing the following education:
	(1) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use;
	(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling and Finance;
	(3) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach;
	(4) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach;
	(5) A minimum of 60 hours in General Appraiser Income Approach; and
	(6) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies; and
	(7) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.

	(c)  An applicant who is currently licensed with the Board as a licensed residential real estate appraiser shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a general real estate appraiser by completing the following education:
	(1) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use;
	(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling and Finance;
	(3) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach;
	(4) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach;
	(5) A minimum of 45 hours in General Appraiser Income Approach;
	(6) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies; and
	(7) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject matter electives.

	(d)  An applicant who is currently certified with the Board as a certified residential real estate appraiser shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a general real estate appraiser by completing the following education:
	(1) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use;
	(2) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach;
	(3) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach;
	(4) A minimum of 45 hours in General Appraiser Income Approach; and
	(5) A minimum of 10 hours in General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies.

	(e)  An applicant who is not currently registered by the Board as a trainee or who is not currently licensed or certified by the Board as a licensed residential or certified residential real estate appraiser must have completed all the required course...
	(f)  An applicant who is currently registered by the Board as a trainee or who is not currently licensed or certified by the Board as a licensed residential or certified residential real estate appraiser must have completed all courses required beyond...
	(g)  The Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal Procedures, USPAP, and General Appraiser Income Approach classes must have been obtained in a classroom setting. All other courses in this section may be taken on-line via the Internet.

	21 NCAC 57B .0210 Course Records
	Schools and course sponsors must:
	(1) retain on file for five years copies of all grade and attendance records for each approved course and must make such records available to the Board upon request;
	(2) retain on file for two years a master copy of each final course examination, and such file copy shall indicate the answer key, course title, course dates and name of instructor. Examination file copies shall be made available to the Board upon req...
	(3) within 15 days of course completion, but not later than June 15 of each year, submit to the Board a roster of all students who satisfactorily completed the course; and
	(4) provide each student with contact information for the Appraisal Board so that students may contact the Board with questions or concerns regarding the course.


	21 NCAC 57B .0605 Continuing Education
	Credit Hours
	The course approval issued to a course sponsor shall include the number of hours of continuing education credit that will be awarded for the course.  The minimum number of continuing education credit hours awarded for a course shall be three and one-h...

	21 NCAC 57B .0606 COURSE OPERATIONAL
	REQUIREMENTS
	Course sponsors must at all times assure compliance with the criteria for course approval stated in Rule .0603 of this Section and must also comply with the following requirements relating to scheduling, advertising and conducting approved appraisal c...
	(1) Courses must be scheduled and conducted in a manner that limits class sessions to a maximum of eight classroom hours in any given day and that includes appropriate breaks for each class session.  A classroom hour consists of 50 minutes of classroo...
	(2) Course sponsors must not utilize advertising of any type that is false or misleading in any respect.  If the number of continuing education credit hours awarded by the Board for a course is less than the number of scheduled classroom hours for the...
	(3) Course sponsors must, upon request, provide any prospective student a description of the course content sufficient to give the prospective student a general understanding of the instruction to be provided in the course.
	(4) Courses must be conducted in a facility that provides an appropriate learning environment. At a minimum, the classroom must be of sufficient size to accommodate comfortably all enrolled students, must contain a student desk or sufficient worktable...
	(5) The course sponsor must require students to attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled classroom hours in order to satisfactorily complete the course, even if the number of continuing education credit hours awarded by the Board for the course is ...
	(6) Instructors must require reasonable student attentiveness during class sessions.  Students must not be permitted to engage in activities that are not related to the instruction being provided.
	(7) Course sponsors for which an application fee is required by Rules .0602(b) and .0611(b) of this Section must fairly administer course cancellation and fee refund policies.  In the event a scheduled course is canceled, reasonable efforts must be ma...
	(8) Upon request of the Board, the course sponsor must submit to the Board a videotape in a manner and format which depicts the instructor teaching portions of any continuing education course specified by the Board and which demonstrates that the inst...
	(9) Course sponsors shall provide the Board with the dates and locations of all classes the sponsor is or will be offering in the State of North Carolina at least 30 calendar days before such class is offered, unless circumstances beyond the control o...
	(10) Course sponsors shall provide each student with contact information for the Appraisal Board so that students may contact the Board with questions or concerns regarding the course.
	(11) If an instructor has any disciplinary action taken on his or her appraisal license or any other professional license in North Carolina or any other state, or if the instructor has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any criminal act, the schoo...
	(12) All courses, except those taught on-line via the Internet, must have a minimum number of five students enrolled in the course.


	21 NCAC 57B .0607 Certification of Course
	Completion
	Course sponsors must issue a certificate of course completion within 15 days of completion of the course to all students who satisfactorily complete an approved course.  If the course sponsor is located in North Carolina, the certificate, which the st...

	21 NCAC 57B .0611 Renewal of Approval and
	Fees
	(a)  Board approval of appraisal continuing education courses (except the seven hour National USPAP update course) expires on the next December 31 following the date of issuance.  In order to assure continuous approval, applications for renewal of Boa...
	(b)  The annual fee for renewal of Board approval shall be that specified in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course for which renewal of approval is requested, provided that no fee is required for course sponsors that are exempted from original application f...
	(c)  Application for approval of the even-numbered year edition of the seven hour National USPAP update course shall be made when the instructor for the course has been certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation to tea...

	21 NCAC 57D .0102 Filing and Fees
	(a)  Each application for registration shall be accompanied by the required application fee.  The Board shall reject and return to the applicant any application which is incomplete or not accompanied by the required fee or fees.  Application fees acco...
	(b)  The application fee shall be thirty-five hundred dollars ($3,500).
	(c)  Payment of application fees shall be made by certified check, bank check or money order payable to the North Carolina Appraisal Board.
	(d)  In the event that the Board asks an applicant to submit updated information or provide further information necessary to complete the application and the applicant fails to submit such information within 90 days following the Board's request, the ...
	(e)  An applicant may request that its application be withdrawn at any time before final action is taken by the Appraisal Board on the application. The application fee shall not be refunded.

	21 NCAC 57D .0311 Removal of an Appraiser
	from an Appraisal Panel
	(a)  If an appraisal management company decides to remove an independent appraiser from its list of qualified appraisers, the appraisal management company shall notify the appraiser in writing of the reason for removal.
	(b)  Such notice shall be sent to the appraiser by any established method that provides proof of delivery, including but not limited to registered mail, return receipt requested.
	(c)  If applicable, the notice shall include a description of the appraiser's illegal conduct, substandard performance, or otherwise improper or unprofessional behavior, or of any violation of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice o...
	(d)  The appraisal management company shall also notify the appraiser of any dispute resolution process that it may have in place through which the appraiser may dispute the removal.

	21 NCAC 57D .0312 Requesting Additional
	Information from an Appraiser
	An appraisal management company may request that a real estate appraiser who performs an appraisal for the appraisal management company provide additional information as follows:
	(1) An appraisal management company may request that the appraiser consider additional appropriate property information including relevant sales data and property characteristics. Such request shall be made within 30 days of the date the appraisal is ...
	(2) An appraisal management company may request that the appraiser provide further detail, substantiation, or explanation for the appraiser's value conclusion, or to correct errors in an appraisal report. There is no time limit on such requests.
	(3) Any request under this Rule shall be sent to the appraiser in writing or by electronic means.
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	24 NCAC 01P .0202 SELECTION PROCEDURE
	24 NCAC 01P .0203 DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS

	TITLE 26 – OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
	26 NCAC 01 .0104 EMPLOYEE INSURANCE
	COMMITTEE
	26 NCAC 01 .0202 DECLARATORY RULINGS:
	AVAILABILITY
	(a)  The Director or his designee may issue declaratory rulings.  All requests for declaratory rulings shall be in writing and submitted to:
	Office of Administrative Hearings
	1711 New Hope Church Road
	Raleigh, North Carolina 27609
	(b)  Every request for a declaratory ruling must include the following information:
	(1) the name and address of the petitioner,
	(2) the reference to the statute or rule in question,
	(3) a statement as to why the petitioner is a person aggrieved, and
	(4) the consequences of a failure to issue a declaratory ruling.

	(c)  A declaratory ruling shall not be issued on a matter requiring an evidentiary proceeding.

	26 NCAC 03 .0101 GENERAL
	(a)  The rules in this Chapter in effect on January 1, 2012 shall apply to contested cases commenced on or after January 1, 2012. The rules in this Chapter in effect on December 31, 2011 shall apply to contested cases commenced on or before December 3...
	(b)  The Rules of Civil Procedure as contained in G.S. 1A-1 and the General Rules of Practice for the Superior and District Courts as authorized by G.S. 7A-34 and found in the Rules Volume of the North Carolina General Statutes shall apply in conteste...
	(c)  The Office of Administrative Hearings shall supply forms for use in contested cases.  These forms shall conform to the format of the Administrative Office of the Courts' Judicial Department Forms Manual.
	(d)  The Office of Administrative Hearings shall permit the filing of contested case documents and other pleadings by facsimile (fax) or electronic mail by an attached file either in PDF format or a document compatible with Microsoft Word 2007. Electr...
	(e)  Every pleading and other documents filed with OAH shall be signed by the attorney who prepared the document, if it was prepared by an attorney, and shall contain his name, address, telephone number, and North Carolina State Bar number. An origina...
	(f)  Except as otherwise provided by statutes or by rules adopted under G.S. 150B-38(h), the rules contained in this Chapter shall govern the conduct of contested case hearings under G.S. 150B-40 when an Administrative Law Judge has been assigned to p...

	26 NCAC 03 .0102 DEFINITIONS AND
	CONSTRUCTION
	(a)  The definitions contained in G.S. 150B-2 are incorporated herein by reference.  In addition, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Chief Administrative Law Judge" means the person appointed according to G.S. 7A-752.
	(2) "File or Filing" means to place the paper or item to be filed into the care and custody of the chief hearings clerk of the Office of Administrative Hearings, and acceptance thereof by him, except that the administrative law judge may permit the pa...
	(3) "Service or Serve" means:

	(b)  A Certificate of Service by the person making the service shall be appended to every document requiring service under these Rules.
	(c)  Service by mail is complete upon placing the item to be served, enclosed in a wrapper addressed to the person to be served, in an official depository of the United States Postal Service.
	(d)  Service by overnight express mail is complete upon placing the item to be served, enclosed in a wrapper addressed to the person to be served, in the custody of an overnight express mail service.
	(e)  Service by electronic mail or fax is deemed to occur one hour after it is sent, provided that:
	(1) documents sent after 5 pm are deemed sent at 8 am the following day; and
	(2) documents sent by electronic mail that are not in a format in which the content is readily accessible to the recipient are not deemed served until actually received in a form in which the content is readily accessible to the receiving party.  With...

	Service by electronic mail or fax is treated the same as service by mail for the purpose of adding three days to the prescribed period to respond under N.C.R. Civ.P.6(e).
	(f)  The rules of statutory construction contained in Chapter 12 of the General Statutes shall be applied in the construction of these Rules.

	26 NCAC 03 .0105 DUTIES OF THE
	ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
	In conjunction with the powers of administrative law judges prescribed by G.S. 150B-33 and G.S. 150B-34, the administrative law judge shall perform the following duties, consistent with law:

	26 NCAC 03 .0127 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
	JUDGE'S DECISION
	(a)  An administrative law judge shall issue a final decision or order in a contested case within 45 days after the later of the date the administrative law judge receives any proposed findings of fact and written arguments submitted by the parties an...
	(b)  An administrative law judge's final decision shall be based exclusively on:
	(1) competent evidence and arguments presented during the hearing and made a part of the official record;
	(2) stipulations of fact;
	(3) matters officially noticed;
	(4) any proposed findings of fact and written arguments submitted by the parties under Paragraph (g) of Rule .0119 of this Section; and
	(5) other items in the official record that are not excluded by G.S. 150B-29(b).

	(c)  An administrative law judge's final decision shall fully dispose of all issues required to resolve the case and shall contain:
	(1) a caption;
	(2) the appearances of the parties;
	(3) a statement of the issues;
	(4) references to specific statutes or rules at issue;
	(5) findings of fact;
	(6) conclusions of law based on the findings of fact and applicable constitutional principles, statutes, rules, or federal regulations;
	(7) in the discretion of the administrative law judge, a memorandum giving reasons for his findings of fact and conclusions of law; and
	(8) a statement that each party has the right to file an appeal of the administrative law judge's final decision by filing a Petition for Judicial Review in the Superior Court of Wake County or in the Superior Court of the county in which the party re...

	(d)  The chief administrative law judge may extend the 45-day time limit for issuing a decision.  An administrative law judge who needs an extension must submit a request for extension to the chief administrative law judge before the 45-day period has...

	26 NCAC 03 .0131 FINAL DECISIONS IN
	CONTESTED CASES
	A copy of a final decision issued by an administrative law judge shall be served on each party in accordance with Rule .0102(a)(3) and (b) through (f) of this Section.

	26 NCAC 03 .0301 ORDER DESIGNATING
	COMPLEX CONTESTED CASES
	26 NCAC 03 .0302 FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED
	26 NCAC 03 .0303 VENUE
	26 NCAC 03 .0304 EXPEDITED HEARING
	PROCEDURES FOR COMPLEX CONTESTED CASES
	26 NCAC 03 .0305 RULES AND PROCEDURES
	26 NCAC 03 .0401 MEDICAID hearing
	procedures rules
	(a)  The rules in 26 NCAC 03 .0100 apply to contested Medicaid cases commenced by Medicaid applicants or recipients under S.L. 2008-107, s. 10.15A.(h1) as rewritten by S.L. 2008-118, s. 3.13 except:
	(1) 26 NCAC 03 .0101(a);
	(2) 26 NCAC 03 .0102(a)(3), (b) – (e);
	(3) 26 NCAC 03 .0103(a);
	(4) 26 NCAC 03 .0104;
	(5) 26 NCAC 03 .0107;
	(6) 26 NCAC 03 .0108;
	(7) 26 NCAC 03 .0109;
	(8) 26 NCAC 03 .0112(b), (c), (e), (f), (g);
	(9) 26 NCAC 03 .0115;
	(10) 26 NCAC 03 .0117;
	(11) 26 NCAC 03 .0118;
	(12) 26 NCAC 03 .0120(e);
	(13) 26 NCAC 03 .0123;
	(14) 26 NCAC 03 .0124;
	(15) 26 NCAC 03 .0125; and
	(16) 26 NCAC 03 .0127(a).

	(b)  Nothing in this Section affects discretionary powers granted to an administrative law judge as set out in G.S. 150B-33(b).

	26 NCAC 03 .0403 expedited hearings
	procedures for complex contested cases
	26 NCAC 04 .0101 INTRODUCTION
	The Civil Rights Division shall investigate all charges filed under G.S. 7A-759 and deferred charges from the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission in accordance with the Federal regulations implementing Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, th...

	26 NCAC 04 .0102 CONTENT AND PROCEDURE
	(a)  Any person wishing to file a complaint of alleged employment discrimination under G.S. 7A-759 with the Civil Rights Division shall complete the preliminary intake form found at www.ncoah.com; or submit the complaint in writing or by telephone to:
	Director of Civil Rights Division
	Office of Administrative Hearings
	6714 Mail Service Center
	Raleigh, NC  27699-6714
	(919) 431-3036
	(b)  The complaint shall include the following information:
	(1) The full name, address, telephone number (work and home), and email address of person making the complaint;
	(2) The full name and address of the person or agency against whom the complaint is made (the respondent);
	(3) A statement of the alleged employment discrimination including pertinent dates;
	(4) A statement of the specific employment issues (e.g. discharge, discipline, promotion) including the name and job title of the decision maker;
	(5) A statement of the act, policy or practice which is alleged to be unlawful;
	(6) For each act, policy or practice alleged, a statement of the facts which lead the person to believe the act, policy or practice is discriminatory; and
	(7) The approximate number of employees of the respondent employer.

	(c)  A complaint is considered a charge when the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission's Charge of Discrimination form is signed and dated and received by the Civil Rights Division.
	(d)  The Civil Rights Division shall assess the charge to determine if it is within the jurisdiction of the Office of Administrative Hearings and if so, it shall be assigned a charge number.  If the charge is not within the jurisdiction of the Office ...

	26 NCAC 04 .0103 NOTIFICATION OF
	INVESTIGATION
	(a)  When a charge of employment discrimination is filed, the Civil Rights Division shall notify the charging party and respondent that an investigation will commence.  Notice shall be served by registered U.S. mail.
	(b)  Any correspondence related to a charge must include the name of the charging party and the respondent and the Civil Rights Division's charge number and be submitted to:
	Director of Civil Rights Division
	Office of Administrative Hearings
	6714 Mail Service Center
	Raleigh, NC  27699-6714

	26 NCAC 04 .0104 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
	26 NCAC 04 .0105 INVESTIGATION
	26 NCAC 04 .0106 INVESTIGATION REPORT
	(a)  The Civil Rights Division shall investigate all charges filed pursuant to this Section.
	(b)  A civil rights investigator shall prepare an investigative memorandum setting out the findings and the conclusions of the Civil Rights Division's investigation based on the allegations and appropriate statutes.
	(c)  The Civil Rights Division shall determine whether there is probable cause to believe the alleged discrimination has occurred.
	(d)  A civil rights investigator shall conduct a pre-decision interview with the charging party prior to the issuance of the Civil Rights Division's decision.
	(e)  Upon completion of the investigation the civil rights director shall issue a decision that shall be served on the charging party and respondent by US mail.
	(f)  If the investigation results in a determination that there is no probable cause to believe the alleged discrimination has occurred, the Civil Rights Division's director shall inform the charging party of the rights of appeal to the Equal Employme...
	(g)  If the investigation results in a determination that there is probable cause to believe the alleged discrimination has occurred, the civil rights director shall invite the parties to participate in pre-settlement discussions and attempt conciliat...

	26 NCAC 04 .0107 CONCILIATION AND
	SETTLEMENT
	(a)  A civil rights investigator shall contact the charging party and the respondent to schedule a settlement conference with the Civil Rights Division director and compliance manager within 10 days of the service of the decision that there is probabl...
	(b)  Where a settlement is reached among the charging party, the respondent and the Civil Rights Division, an agreement shall be prepared by the investigator and executed by the parties.
	(c)  Upon notification to the Civil Rights Division by the respondent that all provisions of the settlement agreement have been met, the compliance manager shall close the charge.
	(d)  The compliance manager shall forward the settlement documents to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and the Civil Rights Division director shall notify the parties that the charge is closed.
	(e)  If conciliation is unsuccessful the charging party must make a declaration of intent within seven days of how to proceed with the charge.  The charging party may:
	(1) File a petition for a contested case hearing with the Hearings Division of the Office of Administrative Hearings;
	(2) Request that the case be forwarded to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission for further conciliation;
	(3) Request a notice of right-to-sue from the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission for the purpose of filing in Federal District Court; or
	(4) Choose not to pursue the matter any further.

	(f)  Upon receipt of the signed and dated declaration of intent, the Civil Rights Division shall close the charge and forward the case file to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.
	(g)  If no declaration of intent is received after seven days, the Civil Rights Division shall close the charge and forward the case file to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

	26 NCAC 04 .0108 CONTESTED CASE HEARING
	(a)  Any determination of probable cause that has not resulted in conciliation may be heard by an Administrative Law Judge. The charging party shall commence the proceedings by filing a petition for a contested case hearing.
	(b)  The Administrative Law Judge shall enter a stay in contested cases where there is a companion employment discrimination charge under investigation by the Civil Rights Division.  The Civil Rights Division director shall notify the judge's assistan...
	(c)  The Civil Rights Division's investigative file, shall be made available to all parties, upon request, as provided in Section 83 of the EEOC Compliance Manual, Volume 1 (October, 1987) incorporated herein by reference as well as subsequent amendme...

	26 NCAC 04 .0109 AUTHORITY TO ADMINISTER
	OATHS OR AFFIRMATIONS
	AGENDA
	RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

	Thursday, December 20, 2012 10:00 A.M.
	1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609
	I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
	II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting
	III. Follow-Up Matters:
	A. Department of Administration – 01 NCAC 09 .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406 (Bryan)
	B. Department of Administration – 01 NCAC 11 .2102, .2103, .2104, .2105, .2111, .2116, .2201, .2202, .2203, .2204 (Bryan)
	C. Department of Administration – 01 NCAC 19A .0103 (Bryan)
	D. Department of Administration – 01 NCAC 22 .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606, .07...
	E. Industrial Commission – 04 NCAC 10J .0101 (Bryan)
	F. Department of Cultural Resources – 07 NCAC 04N .0202 (Bryan)
	G. Child Care Commission – 10A NCAC 09 .3004, .3007, .3008 (DeLuca)
	H. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission – 12 NCAC 10B .2004, .2102 (Bryan)
	I. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 01C .0201 (DeLuca)
	J. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 02D .0414, .0704 (DeLuca)
	K. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 02E .0609, .0610 (DeLuca)

	IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between October 23, 2012 and November 20, 2012
	V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days of the RRC Meeting
	VI. G.S. 150B-19.1 Certification
	VII. Commission Business
	 Next meeting:  January 17, 2012
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